KNOWHOW CLOUD - KINDLE FIRE OS USER GUIDE Rating 3out of 5 2168 Views This guide will show you how to get started with the Knowhow Cloud app on your Kindle Fire OS device. WHAT YOU'LL NEED The Knowhow Kindle App User Guide Login A Knowhow Cloud account is required to use the Kindle app. When first run, a login screen with ask you for your account username and password. If you have forgotten your password, you can reset it by click on the "forgot my password" button below the login box. A password reset email will then be sent to the email address connected to your Knowhow Cloud account. Main Menu On opening the app you will be presented with the main menu. The menu can be accessed at any time by swiping right from the left edge of the screen or pressing the menu icon on the top bar. Devices The Devices screen lists all the computers that you have backed up. Clicking on a computer will enable you to see the files and folders that have been backed up. The Search function in the menu bar allows the user to search for a file name within all backups. Pressing the Kindle menu button will show a context sensitive menu, including the following functions: "Sort by" allows sorting by file name or modified date. "View slideshow" will show tiled thumbnails of all the images in the current folder. Selecting one will open the image full screen and then all the images can be viewed by swiping left or right. "Add to playlist" will add all audio files in the current folder to the music playlist. "Select items" allows the selection of multiple items to download, add to the playlist or send to another application. The user can delete (unlink) a computer from the account. Simply select the "x" to the side of the device name. This will not delete the backup. Once the device is unlinked its files can be permanently removed by selecting "x" again. Briefcase The Briefcase tab on the main menu enables you to view all the files you have placed in your Knowhow Cloud briefcase. Files are shown with file type icons or thumbnails for images. Clicking on a folder will let you view its content and clicking the Kindle back button will take you back to the previous view. Pressing the Kindle menu button will display the context sensitive menu shown above, including the following functions: "Sort by" allows sorting by file name or modified date. "View slideshow" will show tiled thumbnails of all the images in the current folder. Selecting one will open the image full screen and then all the images can be viewed by swiping left or right. "Add to playlist" will add all audio files in the current folder to the music playlist. "Upload" allows you to select one or multiple files from the gallery or other applications on your phone or tablet. "Take photo" will allow you to upload directly from the camera. "Select items" allows the selection of multiple items to download, delete, add to the playlist or send to another application. Selecting any file will bring up the properties of the file, including any previous versions if applicable: Selecting an older version will prompt the user to revert to that version. Long pressing on a file will show a context menu with the additional options Open, Edit, Share, Download, Rename and Delete. Long pressing on a music file shows the same menu with the addition of "Add to Playlist". Long pressing on a video file will give the additional option “Stream” which will start playing the video immediately: Mobile Backup Mobile Backup enables you to automatically upload the photos and videos on your Kindle to a dedicated folder in your Knowhow Cloud Briefcase. The first time you open the Mobile Backup menu the app will guide you through setting up your backup. Simply choose a name for your backup and then start backing up. The main Mobile Backup screen then appears which starts uploading photos and videos and displays the progress of the backup. It also provides options to cancel the current backup, disable backup over mobile networks or disable the feature altogether. After the backup is complete the screen shows the time of the next scheduled backup along with the number of files uploaded. A backup can always be triggered immediately by pressing refresh icon at the top of the screen. Selecting “View backup” will jump to the Mobile Backup section of the Briefcase. The Mobile Backup files will be stored in the Briefcase folder "Knowhow Mobile Backup". If you have multiple mobile devices their backups will all be found here in separate folders named after the device. The uploaded files are accessible in the Briefcase from other devices as normal. Unlike backups from computers, these files can be deleted or overwritten like any other Briefcase file, so care should be taken when accessing from other devices. Sharing If another Knowhow Cloud, Geek Squad Cloud, or Livedrive customer has shared files with you they will appear in the "Sharing menu." Local Storage This option allows the user to browse the files on your Kindle and any files on a memory card in your device. Any files in the local storage can be uploaded to your Knowhow Cloud Briefcase. Multiple files can be selected from the same folder. Note that it is also possible to send files to your Briefcase from many other apps on your Kindle. In most cases the other apps will have an option called send or share, which will bring up a selection of apps on your device. By selection Knowhow cloud from that menu, you will be able to add the file to your Knowhow Cloud Briefcase. Music Playlist The "Music & Playlist" tab enables you to create playlists from the songs in your Briefcase. The Artists, Albums, Years and Genres menus will enable you to search for songs in your Briefcase. Simply find the songs you want to add, hold your finger over the file until the file is highlighted in green and then press the music note button at the top right of the screen. Your songs will now be added to your playlist. Next, go back to the main Music and Playlist menu and click on ‘Start playlist’. Your songs will now automatically start to play. The music menu enables you to skip tracks repeat or shuffle the songs. Logout Logout will close the app and log the user out of their account. The next time the app is run, a password will be required.