City of Remnants Errata and FAQ Version 1.0

City of Remnants Errata and FAQ Version 1.0
City of Remnants Errata and FAQ
Version 1.0
Errata
Communication Device
Due to a previously unknown issue brought to our attention by a savvy gamer (MajMalfunction10 on
boardgamegeek) we are changing the way the Communication Device black market card can be used. It
will no longer let you shuffle your discard pile into your draw pile. Instead it will read as follows:
Search your draw pile or discard pile for a card of your choice. Place the chosen card into your
hand. If you searched your draw pile, shuffle it.
We apologize for this mistake and will do our best to continue to bring you games that excel in quality
and balance.
FAQ
Game Board
Q: What is the significance of the yellow/black spaces?
A. The yellow/black spaces on the 3-Player board are not usable. Players cannot occupy,
develop, or move into yellow/black spaces. Also, YCU tokens will not land on them.
Q: On the 3-player board, the white crosshair squares are not in the ‘center of the side’. Is that a
mistake?
A. No. The ‘center’ reference only refers to the 2- and 4-player side. In the 3-player game, the
players each choose a different entry square as is most convenient.
Q: What are the rules differences for the 3-player game?
A. Only the fact that you use the 3-player side of the board, and the 3-player coordinates on the
YCU coordinates cards.
Unit Cards
Q: Do ability cards count as unit cards?
A: No, they are just ability cards. Neither ability cards nor black market cards count in your total
of gang member cards, and are not affected when you lose a gang member.
Q: Does your gang leader count as a gang member?
A: Yes. Gang leaders are to be treated as gang members for all game effects. The only reason
they are labeled differently is that you are only allowed to have 1 gang leader in your gang.
Black Market Cards
Q: When you play a permanent black market card, do you play it to the table (where it stays
permanently) instead of to your discard pile?
A: You do not play permanent cards at all. Once you buy them they are placed on the table in
front of you, and their effects are in play the remainder of the game. They do not go to your hand or
discard pile.
Q: Do cards with permanent effects stack?
A: Yes. For example, if you have 3 Advanced Weapons roll 3 additional dice every time you are in
a battle.
Q: Does the Forbidden Knowledge card just take up space in my hand, or is it supposed to be labeled
‘Permanent’?
A: It is not permanent, so it is put into your hand. If you play it, it has no effect, but at the end of
the game it gives you extra renown – even more than the 1 renown that each black market card gives
you.
Game Setup
Q: Do you start the game with the gang leader in your hand plus the 4 cards, or do you shuffle your
gang leader into the deck just like any other card?
A: You shuffle the leader into the deck like any other card.
Resetting, and Drawing Cards
Q: What happens to gang member cards and black market cards that have not been drafted at the end
of the round?
A: In the reset phase at the start of the next round place any gang member cards or black
market cards that have not been drafted into their respective discard piles. If there is any point in the
game where you find you have run out of either of those decks, shuffle the cards in its discard pile to
form a new deck and continue the game. Remember that any cards removed from the game (e.g., from
battle) are not shuffled back in.
Q: Is there a hand size limit?
A: No, there is no hand size limit. However, during the Reset phase or a Refresh action, the
number of cards you may draw up to is equal to your influence.
Q: If I have more cards in my hand than my influence, do I have to discard cards in the reset phase?
A: No, you just won’t be able to draw any more, but you can keep cards over the level of your
influence.
Q: Computer Terminal lets me draw cards at the beginning of each round. Is that before the reset
phase?
A: No, the intention is that you reset your hand first, and then draw the extra cards. The same
applies to Recruitment District and Protection.
Q: What happens when my draw pile runs out?
A: Nothing. If you run out of cards you can't draw any more. You can take a Refresh action to
replenish your deck if you have any more actions, or wait until the round ends and everyone replenishes
their deck during the Reset Phase. Managing your cards is a very important part of the game, so always
pay attention to what is in your hand as well as to what you have left in your deck.
Taking Turns and Playing Cards
Q: Can a player pass during his turn, or does he have to choose one of the available actions?
A: You are not allowed to pass. If nothing else, you can always refresh or recruit.
Q: Can I play a card as soon as I get it?
A: Yes. As long as it is the right time to play that card, it doesn’t matter how recently you got it.
Q: How many abilities on cards can you use during a turn for a free action?
A: As many as you have available to play from your hand. They do not count as actions per se. Of
course, if the ability triggers conditionally (e.g., Battle abilities, or the Technician), you can only play the
ability when the text allows.
Q: Do I completely resolve a card before discarding it, or discard it once I reveal it and then resolve it?
The yellow Disciple and the Communication Device more or less gave me an infinite loop.
A: You resolve a card before discarding it. In the particular case of the Communication Device,
see the Errata for the fix.
Q: Players can play cards from their hand ‘at any time during their turn’, but what defines the
beginning and end of a player's turn? Can I play a black market card right after buying it, or play a card
to sell goods right after producing them?
A: You declare when your turn is over. You may play cards both before and after you have taken
your 1 action for the turn.
Q: Does playing a card ‘at any time during [my] turn’ let me play cards during a battle?
A: No, it means you may play before or after your action, but not during it, and battles are part
of the move action. Exceptions are cards that are triggered by events, such as winning or losing a battle.
Q: When I discard a played black market or neutral gang member card, do they go to my discard pile
or the general pile?
A: They go to your discard pile. Any cards you acquire are part of your deck until they are
destroyed.
Q: Do I need to be in a battle to claim 5,000 ARCs from Mysterious Benefactor? Or, can I remove it
from play any time during my turn?
A: You can remove Mysterious Benefactor from play and gain 5,000 ARCs any time during your
turn, provided that no player is using the matching gang color. If an opponent is playing the matching
gang color, you may either a) play that Mysterious Benefactor for 1,000 ARCs, or b) remove the
Mysterious Benefactor from the game after winning a battle against that player, gaining 5 renown.
Yugai Patrol Cards and Tokens
Q: Are YCU tokens placed face up or face down, or does it depend on whether there are figures there?
A: YCU tokens are always placed face up.
Q: What happens to YCU cards after the coordinate cards have been read?
A: Place them into a discard pile. If there is ever a situation that you have run out of YCU cards
to draw, shuffle that discard pile to form a new deck and continue the game.
Q: I defeat a YCU Patrol and the following die roll result forces me to pay 3,000 ARCs. What should I
do if I have fewer than 3,000 ARCs?
A: You must pay as many ARCs as possible. No debt is incurred if you cannot fully pay 3,000
ARCs.
Q: If I win a battle against 2 YCU tokens, do I remove them both?
A: No, just 1 of them. You always confront 1 YCU token at a time, even though all the tokens in
the space add their attack values together. If there are more than 1, choose 1 token, bribe or battle it,
and if successful choose a token from the one(s) remaining, etc.
Q: If the YCU Alert die roll drops new Yugai on occupied spaces, when are the new conflicts resolved?
A: If another Yugai drop happens as the result of defeating a Yugai patrol, contested spaces are
resolved immediately in turn order via battles or bribes. You do not wait to resolve other conflicts first.
Q: If a Yugai is left alone in a development tile at some point, is the tile destroyed?
A: No, there is currently no way that a YCU can destroy a development.
Q: Do the Informer and Broadcast Equipment give renown in battles won against the YCU?
A. Yes. Fighting the YCU counts as a battle.
Awarding Renown
Q: If you control a development on a space that awards renown, do you still collect the renown that
the space gives you as well as the renown the development gives you?
A: Yes. As long as you control the space and the development on it you collect the renown for
both. References for the spaces that offer renown are included on the board’s corners to remind
players of their value.
Q: What do we do with discarded renown? Is it removed from the game or put back in the pool?
A: You put it back in the renown pool.
Recruiting
Q: When taking a recruit action can I up the bid before other players are able to bid?
A: No. By taking the recruitment action you are effectively making the bid of 0. You can never up
the bid at the beginning of the action.
Q: Can I recruit a gang member for free?
A: Yes. When a player initiates a Recruit action, he chooses a card and makes his opening bid of
0 ARCs. If each other player in the auction passes, the starting player recruits that gang member for free.
The opening bid in a Recruit auction is always 0 ARCs.
Q: Can the last player in a round always recruit for free?
A. Yes. Players must have actions available to participate in auctions. Therefore, the last player
with actions remaining may always choose to recruit a gang member for free--his successful opening bid
is 0 ARCs.
Q. Does the Technician guarantee a free recruitment?
A. Not necessarily. The Technician is played along with the player’s auction bid. After the
targeted player is prevented from any more bidding, bidding continues as normal. The winning bidder
pays for the gang member at the price of the last bid. The Technician may therefore enable a free
recruitment for the starting player, whose opening bid is 0 ARCs, if no-one else outbids him. Players
must bid to play the Technician card in an auction.
Q: If I recruit Odin Kester, do I get his figure right away or do I wait until I pick him up to collect his
figure?
A: When you recruit Odin you put his card in your hand and get his figure right away, after which
you can place the card next to your mat.
Q: Can I still recruit gang member cards if all 16 of my gang figures are on the board and/or in my gang
member pool?
A: No. You cannot recruit more gang members than the available figures. Your gang size is
limited to 16 members, including the leader. However, having the biggest gang doesn't always mean
victory. Remember that every time you recruit you are opting out of using your action in another way
that may have been a more efficient strategy. In CoR every decision you make has its tradeoffs.
Q: If I bid on a gang member during someone else’s recruit action, can I play cards from my hand?
A: Only if the card says ‘even if it isn’t your turn’, like a Technician or Recruiter.
Q: How does a Recruiter’s Added Incentive work? If the current bid is 3,000 ARCs, then must I bid
4,000 and the Recruiter makes it 6,000?
A: No, you can bid 2,000 to make it 4,000 total. Each Recruiter is like an extra 2,000 ARCs in
your account for the duration of that auction. Once that auction is over you discard any Recruiters
played whether you win or lose.
Q: If I win an auction with a bid of 1,000 ARCs while playing a Recruiter, do I get 1,000 ARCs change?
A: No. You have to be content with your free recruitment.
Buying
Q: Can cost-reducing cards effectively allow free purchases?
A: Yes. When taking a buy or produce >>> develop action, cards that reduce costs could reduce a
black market card or development’s price to 0 ARCs (but not lower).
Q: Sempento Roden’s card says ‘Reduce the cost of a black market card or a development by up to
2,000 ARCs and draw a card.’ Do I have to declare which card or development I intend to purchase
before drawing a card?
A: Yes. When playing Sempento for his cost-reducing ability (or a Worker, Trader, etc.), you must
declare which card or development you will Buy or Develop. You may continue to play cards, including
the one drawn via Sempento, up to the point of purchase.
Q: Can I buy renown without buying a black market card?
A: No, a buy action is always a purchase of 1 black market card, followed by an optional
purchase of renown.
Production
Q: Am I able to use the effects of my development if the space it is on becomes contested?
A: No, if a space is contested you no longer have control of the development and therefore
cannot use any of its effects.
Q: Does your influence affect how many goods you can produce?
A: No. The amount of product tokens you can produce is indicated on a development card (e.g.,
Junkyard produces 2 goods), or the card you play (e.g., Foreman produces 1 good).
Q: May a player choose to produce less than the maximum number of product tokens available to
them?
A: No. They must follow the development card’s instructions exactly.
Q: If I abandon or lose control of a development, do I discard any product tokens on it?
A: No, they stay there until someone sells them.
Q: How many product tokens can a development hold?
A: Developments can hold an infinite amount of product tokens. You can continue accumulating
them as long as you want. But remember: the more product tokens you accumulate, the more of a
target your development becomes.
Q: What happens at a Recruitment District if I have all 16 figures already?
A: Nothing. You can still do produce >>> develop actions, though.
Developments
Q: Can I build a development on the board where I don't have any figures?
A: Yes, but remember it is anyone's to claim at that point.
Q: Some 2-space development tiles can be placed in multiple zones. For example, Star Dust District
(Heavy) can be placed in red (Slums) or blue (Midtown). Can I place the tile across both zones?
A: Yes. For example, the double-space Star Dust District (Heavy) tile can be placed with both
spaces in red, or both in blue, or with one space in each zone.
Q: Do large development tiles need at least 1 figure on each space they occupy in order to be
considered controlled?
A: Yes, each development tile has a small water mark on the front side to remind players what
spaces need to be controlled. This is explained on page 4 of the rule book, under Anatomy of a
Development Tile.
Q: If you and another player each have a unit on different spaces of a large development, do both
players control the development or do neither?
A: Neither player controls the development. In order for a player to control a development they
must control all spaces a development occupies. In order for a development to have any effect that
player must control the development.
Q: When Garius destroys a development tile, is the tile removed from game?
A: Yes. Remove the affected development tile from the game when Garius uses his Destruction
ability.
Selling
Q: If I use a Foreman to put a product token on a development that doesn’t normally make a product,
how much do I sell it for?
A: You can’t sell it. In other words, use the Foreman only on developments that specify a sale
price. (The Forman card should say so.)
Q: When I remove gang member cards with Slave Trader, do I keep the figures?
A: No. Whenever a gang member card is removed from the game, you also must remove one of
your figures from the board or your gang member pool and place it in your pile of unused figures. The
number of gang member cards you have in your deck and the number of figures you control should
always be the same.
Refreshing the Hand
Q. When I refresh my hand do I get 2,000 ARCs like during the Reset Phase?
A. No.
Q: In a refresh action can I choose to discard zero cards?
A: Yes. But you still shuffle your discards into your draw pile and draw to make your hand size
equal your influence.
Moving Figures
Q: If I have an influence of 4, can I move the same figure 4 times, 3 spaces per move action?
A: No, you can move up to 4 different figures. No figure can move more than once per turn.
Q: Can my figure move through spaces containing two other figures?
A: Your figure may move through a space containing two friendly figures, although it may not
end its move there. If your figure enters a space containing enemy figures, it must stop immediately.
Q. Scout says ‘Move a figure’ instead of ‘Move a figure you control’. Can I move one of my opponent’s
figures with Scout?
A. No. The card should read ‘Move a figure you control’.
Q: What does it mean when a figure is ‘destroyed’ from moving onto the Stronghold?
A: Treat the moving figure that was destroyed just as you would if you had just lost a battle.
Place the figure back into your unused pool and select a gang member card to remove from the game –
from your discard pile if possible, otherwise from your draw pile or hand.
Q: When an opposing figure moves onto a controlled development, who controls the development:
the defender, neither player, or both?
A: Neither player controls the development. For example, if a Weapons Manufacturer tile is
contested, neither player receives the extra die in battle. Also, once a Stronghold tile is successfully
entered by one opposing figure, a second opposing figure may freely move onto the tile.
Q: In a move action, may I move each figure into a different enemy-occupied space?
A: No, just into one. A player cannot create more than 1 contested space per turn.
Battle
Q: If I and another player both have a unit on different spaces of a large development, is there a
battle?
A: No. You both have to be in the same space to have a battle.
Q: In battle, am I required to play cards?
A: No, you do not have to play cards in a battle. You can just leave the job to your figures and
battle dice. But if you lose the battle you will have to get rid of a card along with the figure, so keep that
in mind.
Q: In battle can I play non-gang cards (i.e. black market or ability cards) from my hand?
A: Yes, you may. They would be worthless in the battle, but might have a nice bluffing effect.
Q: In battle you can play as many cards into the battle as you have influence. However am I also
limited to the same amount of figures involved in the battle?
A: No, figures and cards are considered to be separate. Although they are both gained and lost
at the same time, think of figures more like the territory you control instead of the actual gang members
in your hand. Figures always add to battles you are involved in as long as they are in the same space or
adjacent spaces, no matter how many cards you play or how much influence you have.
Q: Are we required to trigger the ‘Battle’ abilities of the cards we play in battle?
A: Yes, you are required, but several of those abilities say you ‘may’ do something, and that part
of the abilities is optional.
Q: Can I use an Enforcer’s ability to add 4 or more to its attack value?
A: No, you may only use it once – in just one battle, on just one card (itself), and for just one
increase of 2.
Q: When players reveal cards in battle, whose battle effects take place first?
A: This is detailed in the rule book, (pages 16, and 17) but in the case of battle abilities that are
optional to activate refer to the following sequence of play:
1. Attacker declares number of cards
2. Defender declares number of cards
3. Attacker reveals cards
4. Defender reveals cards
5. Attacker declares and resolves own special abilities (if applicable)
6. Defender declares and resolves own special abilities (if applicable)
7. Attacker and defender roll battle dice simultaneously (if necessary), resolve as normal
If there are additional questions of timing with abilities, the attacker always must make his decisions
first.
(A special thanks to psytrooper on boardgamegeek for posting this sequence on the CoR forums.)
Q: Can you retreat from combat?
A: No, unless you have a card ability that allows you to do so. (ex: Smoke Bomb)
Q: Can Smoke Bomb really move you to any space?
A: Yes, as long as there are no other units on the space you move to. But remember that moving
to a space that is not close to the rest of your gang may put you in a more vulnerable position than you
were in. But feel free to experiment.
Q. Does ‘winning a battle’ refer to defeating one figure in a space, or all the opposing figures in a
space?
A: One figure. When a space is contested by several figures, multiple battles will occur until only
one gang controls the space.
Q: If I enter a battle and only play my gang leader and lose, do I remove his card from the game? Or
do I look elsewhere for a true "Gang Member" card?
A: A gang leader is a true gang member, so if you only played your gang leader and lose a battle
you must remove his card from the game. Each deck may only have one card labeled ‘Gang Leader’, but
it doesn’t have to have a leader for the gang to play and win.
Q: If I play a Scrapper face down from my draw pile in a battle and win, where does the Scrapper go?
It says I may ‘return’ the card to my hand, but I didn’t play it from my hand.
A: He can be pulled into your hand then. ‘Battle’ abilities trigger in any battle, so even though
the card says ‘return’, any winning Scrappers may be taken into your hand no matter where they came
from.
Q: If Ret Onshadow wins a battle which kills a gang leader, can he use his Second Chances ability on
it?
A: No. Gang leaders are gang members for all game effects, except there can only be one leader
per deck.
Q: If I am in a combat that continues into a second battle, do cards I played in the first battle return to
my hand?
A: No. Any cards played in the first battle are discarded immediately. (Scrappers may return to
Red’s hand.) You may play cards into the subsequent battle(s), but those cards must come from your
hand or the top of your deck.
Losing Gang Members
Q: Whenever I lose a gang member, I must destroy both a gang member card and a gang figure,
correct?
A: Yes. Every time you lose a gang member you lose a figure. Every time you lose a figure you
lose a gang member card. No matter what the situation.
Q: When I lose a battle and must discard a card, must it be one of my original gang members?
A: No, it can be any gang member in your deck.
Q: If I lose a gang member and am not told which figure or which card to remove, where should they
come from?
A: If you are not told which figure to remove, you may choose any figure on the board or in your
pool. For cards, first choose a card played in battle; if none, choose one in your discard pile; if there are
none there, you may remove a card from either your hand or draw pile. You must then shuffle your
draw pile if you looked through it.
Q: If Odin Kester is next to my player mat, he would be the last choice for removing a gang card, right?
A: Right. If that happens, you may keep any ARCs on the card.
Q: Where do I put the figure and card for a lost gang member?
A: The figure is placed back in your pile of unused figures. The card is placed in the box, i.e. it is
removed from the game.
Q: What happens if we all kill off so many gang members that we completely run out of gang member
cards to bid on?
A: That sounds like your group has misunderstood the point of the game, which is not to wipe
out everyone but to earn the most renown. But in the unlikely event that the gang member deck and
discard pile are both empty, end the game at the end of the current round, and see who won.
Gaining Influence
Q: If I spend 12,000 ARCs for something, do I also get to increase my influence because of that?
A: No, you must pay 12,000 ARCs during your turn for the sole purpose of increasing your
influence. You can only do this once per game, and it does not count as an action.
Q: Please explain the influence achievement ‘Control 2+ Heights developments (green)’. Does it mean
controlling 2 green development tiles, or 2 tiles in the green part of the board?
A: It means controlling 2 or more green development tiles. The development’s location on the
board is irrelevant for the purposes of the achievement.
Q: If I gain an influence in the middle of an action, can I play the rest of that action at my new
influence level? For example, I have 9 figures on the board and 4 influence. If I take a move action and
move my tenth figure onto the board (reaching influence level 5), can I now move a total of 5 figures
with my action?
A: No. The amount of figures you can move during a move action is determined at the beginning
of the action. In this example, you are still limited to moving 4 figures during your move action.
End of Game
Q: Does the game end immediately when the renown pool is depleted?
A: The game can only end at the end of the Award Renown Phase. If the renown pool is
depleted before then, keep track of how much renown a player would earn beyond what his tokens
show. Once there are no renown tokens and players have reached the end of the Award Renown Phase,
the game ends.
Q: How do I score Forbidden Knowledge cards?
A: At the end of the game each player gets 1 point of renown for each black market card in their
deck. If you have 1 Forbidden Knowledge card it is worth 2 additional points for 3 total. If you have 2
Forbidden Knowledge cards, each one is worth 4 more points, making 10 renown (5 each). If you have
all 3 of them they are worth 7 renown each, or 21 points for all 3.
Q: If players tied for the highest renown are also tied for ARCs, is there another tie break condition?
A: No. In that condition, the game ends in a tie.
Acknowledgements
Thanks to Phillip Gross, Emmanuel Scholz, Bryan Stout, and the people on the BoardGameGeek.com
and PlaidHatGames.com forums for helping in the creation of this FAQ.
Was this manual useful for you? yes no
Thank you for your participation!

* Your assessment is very important for improving the work of artificial intelligence, which forms the content of this project

Download PDF

advertising