Understanding Defer Sharing Calculations

Understanding Defer Sharing Calculations
UNDERSTANDING DEFER SHARING
CALCULATIONS
What is Defer Sharing Calculation?
Defer Sharing Calculation lets an administrator suspend and resume sharing calculations. This permission affects group membership
calculation and sharing rule calculation. Performing a large number of configuration changes can lead to very long sharing rule evaluations
or time outs. To avoid these issues, an administrator can suspend these calculations and resume calculations during an organization's
maintenance period.
How can I enable Defer Sharing Calculation?
The Defer Sharing Calculation permission is not enabled by default. To enable Defer Sharing Calculation, please contact Salesforce.
When should I use Defer Sharing Calculation?
Administrators should plan to suspend/resume sharing calculations during maintenance windows to have minimal impact on users.
For example, you make large number of changes to criteria based sharing rules to allow access to specific groups and territories. Since
sharing rule calculation is enabled by default, those sharing rule changes are evaluated immediately and can take a very long time to
process and cause your organization to time out.
With Defer Sharing Calculation you can avoid this by suspending sharing rule calculations from evaluating immediately after you make
sharing rule changes. You can resume sharing rule calculations during maintenance windows to have minimal impact on users.
What is Group Membership Calculation?
Group membership calculates access any time you make changes to:
• Roles
• Territories
• Groups
• Users
• Portal Account Ownership
Group membership calculation is enabled by default.
To suspend or resume group membership calculation:
1. From Setup, enter Defer Sharing Calculations in the Quick Find box, then select Defer Sharing Calculations.
2. In the Group Membership Calculations related list, click Suspend.
Note: If sharing rule calculations are enabled, suspending group membership calculations also suspends sharing rule
calculations. Resuming group membership calculations also requires full sharing rule recalculation.
3. Make your changes to roles, territories, groups, users, or portal account ownership.
4. To enable group membership calculation, click Resume.
Last updated: March 11, 2017
Understanding Defer Sharing Calculations
What is Sharing Rule Calculation?
What is Sharing Rule Calculation?
Sharing rule calculates access any time you:
• Change an organization's default sharing model
• Create, edit, or delete sharing rules
• Create or transfer any records
• Update public group members
• Create or activate a user
• Change or re-parent roles
• Add or remove users from territories
• Re-parent territories
• Make changes to roles, territories, or public groups participating in sharing rules
Sharing rule calculation is enabled by default.
To suspend, resume, or recalculate sharing rule calculation:
1. From Setup, enter Defer Sharing Calculations in the Quick Find box, then select Defer Sharing Calculations.
2. In the Sharing Rule Calculations related list, click Suspend.
3. Make changes to sharing rules, roles, territories, or public groups participating in sharing rules.
Note: Any changes to sharing rules require a full recalculation.
To enable sharing rule calculation, click Resume.
4. To manually recalculate sharing rules, click Recalculate.
The sharing rule recalculation process may take a very long time depending on the size of the organization and the number of changes
performed.
When do I have to recalculate my sharing rules?
Use the Recalculate buttons on the Sharing Rules related lists only if sharing rule updates have failed or are not working as expected.
Recalculate only if your sharing rule updates have failed or if you have deferred (suspended and resumed) sharing rule calculations.
What happens when I suspend Group Membership or Sharing Rule
Calculations?
When you suspend group membership or sharing rule calculations, sharing evaluations are disabled. Any configuration changes made
to groups or sharing rules will not take effect until you resume group membership and sharing rule calculation.
Notification emails are sent to the administrator ONLY when group membership calculation and sharing rule recalculation is complete,
respectively.
How can I view the current Sharing status?
All sharing related changes are logged in the audit trail, including when an administrator suspends, resumes, or recalculates sharing
calculations.
To view setup audit trail
2
Understanding Defer Sharing Calculations
How can I view the current Sharing status?
1. From Setup, enter View Setup Audit Trail in the Quick Find box, then select View Setup Audit Trail.
2. To download your organization’s full setup history for the past 180 days, click the Download link.
3
Was this manual useful for you? yes no
Thank you for your participation!

* Your assessment is very important for improving the work of artificial intelligence, which forms the content of this project

Download PDF

advertising