Delaware General Health District Participation in Ohio’s Occupant Protection Program Ohio’s Occupant Protection Program is designed to reduce the number of traffic deaths in Ohio. This program is available in all 88 counties to help with car seats, booster seats, and seatbelts. Safety Points Restrain your child on every trip, every time. Keep your child in the back seat. Use the best safety restraint for your child's size. Use the child safety seats and seat belts correctly. The Occupant Protection Program is funded by The Ohio Department of Public Safety and the Ohio Traffic Safety Office with support from Ohio Department of Health. More than 90 percent of the car seats that have been checked by the Delaware General Health District since 2001 had been installed incorrectly. The Delaware General Health District provides free car seats for parents in the WIC program or with a medical card. Car seats are provided on a sliding-fee scale to county residents. To qualify for a seat you must be a resident of Delaware County; be the child’s legal guardian; AND attend a child passenger safety class with a certified Child Passenger Safety Technician. There is a limit of one seat per child per development stage. To have your car seat inspected or to obtain a car seat contact the Delaware General Health District at (740) 368-1700 For more information call: 740-368-1700 Understanding Ohio’s Booster Seat Law www.delawarehealth.org 1 West Winter Street P.O. Box 570 Delaware, OH 43015 740-368-1700 740-368-1736 fax www.delawarehealth.org Ohio Seatbelt Laws Ohio Revised Code 4511.81 Child Restraint Violation Ages 0 to 4 AND 40 lbs. Booster Seat Choices Backless Boosters May be used only if a child has head support from the vehicle’s seat back. A child must be in a car seat: • if child is younger than 4 years old AND • if a child weighs less than 40 lbs A child must be in a booster seat: • if child is under 8 years old OR • if child is under 4’9” tall Seat Belt Violation: Ages 8 to age 15 A child ages 8 to 15 must be in a seatbelt regardless of front or back seat occupancy. Children under 13 are safest in the back seat. Violations require: that the driver to be ticketed, not the child a fine of $25 minimum / $75 maximum a second offense fine up to $250 AND jail time to 30 days. Ohio Revised Code 4513.263 Q: My child is 8 years old and is only 4’2” Is he required to be in a booster seat? A: No, a child who is 8 years old is not subject to the booster law. Q: My child is 7 years old and is 4’9” tall. Is she required to be in a booster seat? A: No, a child who has reached 4’9” tall is not subject to the booster law. Booster Seat Violation: Ages 4 to 8 OR 4’ 9” tall • • • Frequently Asked Questions High-Back Boosters May be used only if a child’s ears are not above the booster back. Seat Belt Violation: Front seat occupants ages 15 and older applies to: • driver • passenger not wearing, but driver gets ticket • passenger not wearing and gets ticket • all parts of the seatbelts must be worn Ohio Revised Code 4507.071 Q: How do I know when my child is ready to be in just a seatbelt? A: It is safest to keep children in car seats or booster seats as long as possible. The use of a child passenger seat is recommended beyond the requirements of the law if a child cannot: • sit with his back flush to the vehicle seat back (able to bend his knees fully over the front of the seat without slouching). • fit the shoulder belt across the middle of his shoulder. • fit the lap belt low and snug across his hip bones (not across tummy). Probationary License Driver Ages 15-17 • The driver responsible for all occupant seatbelts • Cannot have passengers than seatbelts Ohio Revised Code 4511.51 Seat Belt Violation Pickup Truck Beds (cargo area) 0ccupants are not allowed if under age 16 and factory- installed seatbelts are not present. Tailgates cannot be open and no one can sit on tailgates, except public maintenance / street workers. All Booster seats must be used with lap AND shoulder belt. Q: What if wearing a seat belt is not possible, due to a medical condition? A: You must carry an affidavit from your doctor verifying your exemption.