Official Rules Clarifications and Frequently Asked Questions Page 1

Official Rules Clarifications and Frequently Asked Questions Page 1
Call of Cthulhu Living Card Game
Official Rules Clarifications and Frequently Asked Questions
(v2.0) Card States
If a card has an ability that triggers in response to
said card entering the discard pile, that effect does
not resolve or trigger if that character had blank
text, was attached to a domain as a resource, was
discarded from hand, or was insane before it
entered the discard pile.
Version 2.0
7/10/2008
This document contains the official rules clarifications, frequently asked questions, and errata for
the Call of Cthulhu Living Card Game. All official play and tournaments will use the most recent
version of this document to supplement the most
recent Call of Cthulhu LCG rulebook.
The version number will appear in front of every
entry so you can easily see which changes are
made with every revision of this document.
Call of Cthulhu ©2005, 2008 Fantasy Flight
Games. Call of Cthulhu Living Card Game, the
logo, Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. All rights
reserved. Permission is granted to distribute this
document electronically or by traditional publishing means as long as it is not altered in any way
and all copyright notices are attached.
Rules Clarifications
(v.1) Adding and Removing Subtypes
Players can only add existing subtypes (i.e., a
subtype that exists on any tournament-legal card)
to a card through card effects.
For example, a player cannot add the subtype
“Direwolf” to a card using M.U. Science Building.
(v1.8) Attached Cards
When a card becomes attached to another card
by card effects, that card is now considered a
support card (regardless of its normal type)
with the Attachment subtype. The card loses all
of its characteristics (such as skill value, icons,
and type) except for any text that relates to its
attached state. The card retains its faction identity and printed cost.
Any time an attachment has a requirement that is
not met, it is immediately discarded from play.
For example, if an attachment had the requirement “Attach to Servitor only,” and if the card to
which it was attached loses the Servitor subtype,
the attachment would leave play.
When a card changes type (character, support,
event, or story), any cards that are attached to it
are immediately discarded from play.
For example, Darrin controls Living Mummy
(ELD R163). His opponent Tommy has blanked
its text with Forgotten Isle (UT U69). Then,
Tommy plays Shotgun Blast (ARK C22).
Living Mummy takes 1 wound and is destroyed.
Once Living Mummy is placed in the discard
pile, both players have the option to trigger
responses from Living Mummy being placed in
the discard pile.
However, since Living Mummy’s text was
blanked, Darrin cannot trigger its response.
Both players have the option to respond, starting with the active player. Once both players
pass, play proceeds and that window to respond
is now closed.
Similarly, after a card is placed in the discard
pile, returned to a player’s hand, or leaves play
for any reason, any effects and/or wounds are
removed after all responses have resolved. Any
attachments attached to a card that left play are
discarded, unless otherwise stated in game text.
Note that some cards, like Local Sheriff, are not
triggered in response to entering your discard
pile, but have "Action:" effects that can be triggered from your discard pile. These effects can
be triggered from your discard pile even if the
card was blank, insane, discarded from hand, or
attached to a domain as a resource before it
entered the discard pile.
Tommy may choose to use Unstoppable Hound’s
Disrupt: action, which would return the Hound to
Tommy’s hand. Assuming both players subsequently pass, the Forced Entry now resolves, but
since the Hound is no longer in play and is thus
an illegal target, the Forced Entry is ignored.
(v.1) Committing to Stories
Once the active player has committed one or more
characters to a story, opponents are able to commit their own characters even if all of the active
player’s characters are somehow removed from
the story beforehand.
Furthermore, that story will resolve regardless of
whether any characters are at that story.
(v.1) Deckbuilding Clarifications
A player’s three domain cards do not count
toward his deck’s 50-card minimum.
(v1.8) Eligible Targets
In order to target a card with an effect, that card
must meet the targeting requirements. Any part of
the effect for which that character is ineligible is
simply ignored.
For example, with Driven by Madness (AE R106)
you may target any Cultist character, as per the
targeting requirement. If that character has
Willpower or a terror icon, it is ineligible for the
second part of the card’s effect (“At the end of the
phase, that character goes insane”), so that part of
the effect is ignored.
(v.1.8) End of Turn vs. End of Story Phase
If the active player commits no characters to a
story, the Story Phase ends immediately.
6.
5. Story Phase
• Actions may be taken
• You (active player) commit characters to stories.
(v1.8) Choosing Targets
A player cannot trigger a card effect that
requires him to choose a character, support
card, or story card if there is no such card to
choose.
For example, a player could not play Opening
the Limbo Gate (UT R99) if there were no
character cards in each player’s discard pile.
Further, a player cannot trigger a card effect
that requires him to choose a certain number of
targets if there are not enough valid targets
available.
Also note that if a card is targeted, but becomes
an illegal target (e.g., via a Disrupt: action), the
targeting effect is then ignored.
For example, if Darrin plays Forced Entry (UT C11) on Tommy’s Unstoppable Hound (UT C96),
Page 1
• Actions may be taken
• Opponent (non-active player) commits characters to oppose
yours.
• Actions may be taken
Resolve each story, in order of your
choosing. For each story, resolve the following in order:
• Resolve Terror (@) Struggle
• Resolve Combat (#) Struggle
• Resolve Arcane ($) Struggle
• Resolve Investigation (%) Struggle
• Determine success
• Responses to struggle and success results may be played
• Actions may be taken
• Characters are uncommitted from stories
• The player on your left becomes the active player.
The End of the Turn is a separate phase that
occurs after the Story Phase. The End of the
Turn should have its own grey (non-interrupt)
box in the timing flowchart, as seen above.
Call of Cthulhu Living Card Game
Official Rules Clarifications and Frequently Asked Questions
(v1.9) Gaining Control
If a card effect allows you to take control of a
card, move that card into your playing area. If that
card is an attachment, immediately attach it to an
eligible card you control. (If you cannot, then you
may not take control of the attachment.)
actions to add an icon to one of their characters,
and they can each do this repeatedly), each
player can be assumed to do this an infinite
number of times, the two loops are assumed to
negate each other, and the game should proceed
under this assumption.
When you have taken control of a card, you are
considered to be that card’s controller, but not its
owner. When that card leaves play for any reason,
or at the end of the game, you must return it to its
owner. If it leaves play as the result of a game or
card effect, it defaults to the specified out of play
state of its owner. For example, Marius has taken
control of Travis’ Basil Elton (KD F13) card.
When Marius uses the card’s ability, Basil Elton is
shuffled, by default, back into its owner’s deck.
Infinite loops should never be abused to cause the
game to stall.
Note that if you already control a Heroic character, you cannot take control of a Villainous character, and vice versa.
When you gain control of a card, that card’s status
does not change. Thus, if you gain control of an
insane or exhausted character, they remain insane
or exhausted.
Any time a player gains control of a committed
character during a story, that character is removed
from the story.
You cannot gain control of or play a unique
card if you already control or own one in play.
(v1.2) Heroic and Villainous
If for any reason you ever have both a Heroic and
Villainous character under your control at the
same time, you must immediately choose one to
be discarded from play.
(v1.8) Insanity
If you control an insane character, that character
cannot be made insane again by either player until
restored.
Insane characters must be restored during your
refresh phase if you are able to do so.
An insane character’s skill, text box, cost, and
icons cannot be modified. Although it still
counts as a character under your control, it is
always treated as having 0 skill, 0 cost, no
icons, no traits, no text box, and no faction,
regardless of any effects in play. Insane characters may be targeted by any effect that targets a
character, but any part of the effect that would
modify the card’s basic statistics is ignored.
If a non-character card goes insane, it is treated
as a character while it remains insane. Once
restored, by any means, that card immediately
returns to its printed card type, and this does not
count as restoring a character. If the restored card
is an event card, it is immediately discarded.
If a non-character card leaves play while insane
(for example, by wounding), it is not considered
to be leaving play as a character, but rather as a
0-cost blank version of its printed card type.
(v2.0) Infinite Loops
It is possible, with certain card combinations, to
create an “infinite loop” (such has having two
cards exhaust to refresh each other indefinitely).
When executing an infinite loop, the resolving
player must follow these two steps:
(v.1) Multiple Lasting Effects
Even if not triggered at the same time, multiple
lasting effects may affect the same card at the
same time. The order in which the lasting effects
take place is irrelevant – the net sum result of all
lasting effects is applied to the card.
1. Clearly display the infinite loop to the opponent
(and tournament judge, if the opponent requires it).
Thus, the player must display, using all cards
involved, one full cycle of the infinite loop.
For example, a Young Deep One (with 0 skill) is
affected by three Clover Club Bouncers, lowering
that character’s skill by 3. The Young Deep One’s
controller then attaches the Key of Tawil at’Umr to
the character, increasing the Young Deep One’s
skill by 2. The net sum of these four lasting effects
is that the Young Deep One has a skill of -1.
2. State how many times he or she wishes to execute this loop. For example, the player could say
“I will now execute this loop seventeen million
times.” Then resolve the loop that many times
instantly. If the execution of this loop causes the
player to win the game, the game is over and the
executing player wins.
When both players have access to infinite loops
that are in direct conflict with one another (for
example, the players can alternate taking
Note, however, that a character’s skill is never
considered to be below zero for purposes of
resolving effects. Thus in the example above, the
Young Deep One’s skill would count as though it
were zero. However, if another lasting effect
would give the Deep One +1 skill, the net skill
would remain at zero.
Page 2
Lasting effects that affect other character attributes work in the same fashion.
(v1.7) Passive Effects
Passive effects are ongoing effects that are not
optional, unless otherwise stated. Passive effects
and abilities do not have a trigger such as Action:,
Forced Response:, Response:, or Disrupt:
For example, Darrin controls Decrepit
Mausoleum. (R137 FR). The reduction it provides
is not optional.
Similarly, if Darrin attaches Feast of Locusts
(C117 ELD) to a character, that character is
immediately sacrificed when the conditions of
Feast of Locusts is met.
(v1.3) Paying Costs
If an effect is canceled, any costs that were paid
to trigger that effect are still lost. For example, if
Player A drains a domain to play Shotgun Blast,
but Player B plays Power Drain (which cancels
the Shotgun Blast), Player A’s domain remains
drained, even though the Shotgun Blast effects
were canceled.
Note that sacrificing a card to pay for an effect is
also considered paying a cost. For example, if a
player wishes to activate Dimensional Rift, he
must pay three and sacrifice the Rift. If the effect
were canceled, the Rift would still be sacrificed.
When any player has a sacrifice effect, that cost
must be paid, if able. If said sacrifice does not
happen, then the cost has not been paid and the
effect does not resolve.
Similarly, if the effect is a forced response, that
sacrifice must take place, if able.
For example: Darrin has Cthulhu, The Great
Old One (ARK R91) in play. During his draw
phase, Darrin chooses a character with Warded
Flesh (ARK R180) attached to be sacrificed.
The character with Warded Flesh is returned to
its owner’s hand, preventing the sacrifice. Thus,
the cost has not been paid. However, since
Cthulhu’s ability is a forced response, the cost
must be paid, if able.
Thus, Darrin must choose a character to be sacrificed. If Cthulhu was the only legal target,
then he must sacrifice Cthulhu.
Call of Cthulhu Living Card Game
(v1.2) Player Hand
A player only has a “hand” if said player has at
least one drawn card not currently in play.
Thus, if a player does not possess at least one
unplayed drawn card, he does not have a
“hand” for the purposes of triggering effects,
paying costs or being targeted by card effects
that require having a “hand.”
(v.1) Printed Icons
Printed icons refer only to the icons printed on the
left-hand side of characters. Thus, icons granted
to a character by card abilities would not be
removed by the event Binding.
(v1.5) “Put into Play”
“Put into Play” is a game mechanic that bypasses
all costs (including resource matches) and play
restrictions, with the exception of uniqueness.
For example, Darrin has Hired Gun (FR R4) in
his hand. The text states: “...Action: put Hired
Gun into play from your hand.” Thus, Darrin
may choose to trigger its text and put the Hired
Gun into play, without paying the cost.
(v.1) Resolving Stories
Resolving struggles and determining success at
all three story cards happens all within the same
“gray box” on the timing flowchart. Thus, no
actions or responses can be triggered between
one story’s resolution and the beginning of the
next story’s resolution.
Additionally, if a story card is won by any player before it is resolved (i.e., at any point during
the story resolution sequence), all success
tokens are removed from the story, and all characters are no longer committed to that story.
Any remaining steps of the sequence are not
resolved.
(v1.2) Simultaneous Effects
When card effects, passive abilities, or forced
responses simultaneously affect cards controlled
by a player, all cards that are affected resolve in
the order determined by the card’s controller, one
at a time. The player must fully resolve each
effect before the next effect takes place.
Official Rules Clarifications and Frequently Asked Questions
in any order. Then, his opponent would do the
same.
(v.1) Winning an Icon Struggle
A player wins an icon struggle even when his
opponent has committed no characters, or characters with that icon, to the struggle. For example,
a player would win a Terror struggle if he had
committed any characters with one or more
Terror icons and his opponent had committed
no characters.
(v2.0) Working Effects
In general, Support and Character card effects
can only be triggered (or affect the game) when
the card is in play. Event cards can be triggered
from your hand using an action. In general,
card effects on non-event cards in a player’s
hand, discard pile, and dead pile are not considered to be actionable unless the card specifically states that it can be triggered while in
its out-of-play state.
For example, Darrin has an Elder Thing
Scientist (FR R91) in his hand. Normally he
could not trigger the text on the card unless it
was already in play. However, since the text on
the card specifically states you may trigger its
effect from your hand, Darrin may choose to
use its ability.
Additionally, cards that are in play (or event
cards that are played) do not interact with cards
that are out of play unless they refer to the out
of play state with which they are interacting.
For example: Paranormal Specialist
(Unspeakable Tales U5) has the ability:
"Action: exhaust and pay 1 to choose a
Villianous character. Return that character to
its owner's hand." This ability could not choose
a character in a player's discard pile.
(v1.6) “X” (The Letter “X”)
Unless specified by a preceding card, card
effect, or granted player choice, the letter “X”
is always equal to 0.
Whenever a card effect affects both players simultaneously, the active player resolves his effects
first.
For example, Darrin controls Slithering
Formless Spawn (ARK U194). His opponent,
Tommy, targets it with Forgotten Isle (UT
U69). Since the Slithering Formless Spawn has
a blank text box, it does not have a value
assigned to X. Thus, its skill is now zero.
Whenever character or support cards enter or
leave play at the same time, the controlling player
chooses the order in which they enter or leave
play. They are not required to follow the order in
which they originally entered or left play.
(v1.9) Playing Events
When you play an event (from your hand), it
doesn’t immediately go into your discard pile. It
is placed in your discard pile after the action is
complete.
For example, if a player wins The Secret of the
North Woods, the active player would resolves its
effects first, and may put his characters into play
When you play an event from your discard pile, it
does not remain in your discard pile, but rather is
placed back in your discard pile after the action is
complete.
Page 3
(v2.0) Multiple Effects and the word "Then"
Some cards have effects that would attempt to
do more than one thing. Generally, these effects
resolve independently of one another. (If the
first effect of the card does not or cannot
resolve, the second effect will still occur.)
For example: Y'Golonac's ability reads:
"Action: pay 1 to choose and ready a character. That character must commit to the same
story as Y'Golonac, if able." Y'Golonac can target a ready character with this ability, and even
though the first part (ready a character) does
not resolve, the second part of the effect does
resolve.
Any time two effects are linked by the word
"then," the first effect must resolve in order for
the second effect to occur.
For example: Balance of Thoth's card text
reads: "Action: remove a wound from a character. Then, place a success token at a story of
your choice." You must remove a wound from a
character in order to place a success token at a
story with this card.
Keyword Clarifications
(v1.8) Cost of 0
A card with a cost of 0 (including X=0) cannot be
reduced.
(v1.5) Day and Night
If at any time both Day and Night cards are both
in play, it is simply considered to be both Day and
Night for the purposes of triggering effects and
choosing targets.
(v2.0) Duration of Effects
If a triggered ability has no specified duration,
then the effects of that ability expire at the end of
the current phase. “Put into play,” “Remove from
play,” and “Take Control” effects are all an exceptions to this rule, and unless specified by a specific duration are considered to be permanent effects.
With "take control" effects, control of the card
in question is granted to the most recent "take
control" effect.
(v1.3) Forced Responses
A forced response must trigger, if able.
For example: Darrin has Temple of Ramasekva
(ARK R178) in play. During a story, Darrin’s
Hired Muscle (ARK C11) is wounded. Even
during the story resolution phase when normal
actions and responses cannot be used, Temple
of Ramasekva’s forced response must trigger.
Call of Cthulhu Living Card Game
(v1.2) Icon Boosters
Icon boosters are large struggle icons that add
an additional struggle of the same type. Story
cards with booster icons (either added by characters or support cards) are treated as having
two icons of that struggle.
Thus, if one icon was removed from the story
card by a card effect, there would be one fewer
struggle.
For example, if you commit an Elder Shoggoth
to a story (which adds a Terror struggle) and
your opponent plays Inside Information to
remove a Terror struggle, there would still be
one Terror struggle to be resolved.
Icon boosters are always resolved immediately
following the first struggle of the matching type
(i.e., if the booster icon was Terror, there would
be two Terror struggles before moving onto the
Combat struggle).
(v2.0) Paid, Overpaid, and Cost
The printed cost of a card is the cost that is
printed on that card. The actual cost of a card
or effect is the printed cost after any cost modifiers have been applied. The actual cost of a
card is also the amount that is paid to play the
card from your hand, or to trigger the effect.
Overpay is the difference between the number
of resources on the domain that was drained to
play the card or trigger the effect minus the
value that was paid for the card or effect, if that
difference is one or higher.
(v1.8) Icon Removal
If, after all modifiers have been applied, a character has a negative number of a specific icon, that
character is considered to have 0 icons of that
kind.
If a new modifier is added into the mix, all icon
modifiers must be re-applied to the printed number of icons in order to re-determine how many
icons of that type that character has.
You can “remove” an icon from a character who
does not have that icon, but the modified number
of icons that character possesses will still be 0.
(v1.8) “If Able”
Certain card effects contain the text “if able.”
For these cards all normal rules apply for
choosing targets and triggering effects, with one
exception: If there is no legal target during resolution, there is no effect.
For example, Darrin plays Deep One Rising
(ARK PS M4). Both players pass on using disrupt actions and the effect now resolves.
However, if there are no legal targets for Darrin
Official Rules Clarifications and Frequently Asked Questions
to choose, the text of Deep One Rising has no
effect.
If a player cannot fulfill the entire effect of an
“if able” clause, that effect is ignored. For
example, if you play Byakhee Attack, an opponent with only one card in hand cannot choose
and discard 2 cards, so they keep the card in
their hand. (You can still play Byakhee Attack
because of the “if able” clause, but since the
clause cannot be fulfilled its effect is ignored
by that opponent.)
If a player must choose between multiple “if
able” effects, he may not choose an option that
has no eligible targets unless no alternative is
available.
(v1.8) Invulnerability
If a character with Invulnerability ever has a
wound on it that would destroy that character, that
character is destroyed. (For example, if a character with Toughness is wounded, gains
Invulnerability, and then loses the Toughness, that
character is destroyed.)
(v1.3) Lowest Skill
A character is considered to be of lowest skill if it
is the only character in play.
At any time a card effect targets a character with
the lowest skill and there is a tie, the card effect’s
controller may choose which character is affected.
(v1.6) Loyal
When a player drains a domain in order to pay
the resource cost of a Loyal card, the domain
must contain enough resources that provide a
match of that card’s faction to pay the modified
cost of the card (normally just 1 resource match
is sufficient).
(v1.6) “Minimum of 1”
If an effect allows a player to reduce a card’s cost,
it cannot be further lowered if the reducing effect
has stipulation “to a minimum of 1.”
If a players uses a combination of effects to
reduce the cost of a card where one of the effects
has the “minimum of 1” stipulation, and the other
reducing effect does not, the “minimum of 1”
takes precedence.
For example, Darrin controls Man on the Inside
(ELD U8). He then plays Rite of Passage (ELD
R14) which reduces the cost of _cards by 1 (to a
minimum of 1).
Although Man on the Inside may be played for
free, Darrin’s Rite of Passage takes precedence
and Darrin must pay at least 1 to play Man on the
Inside.
Page 4
(v2.0) Moving Wounds
Moving a wound to a character is not considered
wounding that character, or choosing that character to be wounded, for the purposes of triggering
card effects. A character still suffers from a
wound that has been moved onto it.
You cannot move a wound onto a character
with Invulnerability.
(v1.6) Multiple Effects
If a card has multiple effects, all effects on the
card are resolved, if possible, independently of
whether any other effects of the card are successful (following targeting restrictions as normal), with the following important exception:
If a card uses the word “then,” then the preceding effect must have been resolved successfully
for the subsequent dependent effect to be
resolved.
For example, Darrin controls Mother’s Avenger
(ELD C183). His opponent, Tommy then plays
Sacrificial Offerings (UT U66), choosing
Mother’s Avenger to be wounded.
Darrin chooses to use Mother’s Avenger’s disrupt action to prevent the wound. Tommy
responds with Writhing Wall (ELD U142) to
cancel Mother’s Avenger’s ability. Since the
wound was not canceled, Darrin may not draw
a card.
(v1.5) Overpay
In order to “overpay” for a card or triggered
effect, that card must have at least 1 actual cost.
For example, Darrin has Seal of Isis (UT U102) in
his hand. If he chooses to play it, he cannot overpay since it currently has 0 cost. However his
opponent, Tommy, has Red Gate Mound (ARK
U177) in play. The actual cost to play the Seal of
Isis is raised by 1, and thus may now be overpaid
for.
(v1.6) Resource Match
Card effects which grant a resource match do not
affect other costs, such as Steadfast. Resource
match effects do, however, affect Loyal cards
unless otherwise stated in gam text.
(v1.2) Sacrifice and Destroy
“Sacrifice” and “Destroy” are not interchangeable
terms. Thus, a card that is “destroyed” is not considered to be “sacrificed,” and vice versa.
(v1.6) Steadfast
In order to play a Steadfast card from a player’s
hand, that player must control at least that many
resources found in the card’s title on any number
of domains he controls.
Call of Cthulhu Living Card Game
If a Steadfast card has a printed cost of zero, the
player must still control at least that many
resources, although that player does not need to
drain a domain.
(v1.4) Story Totals
A player has achieved victory if he or she has three
or more story cards in his “won” story card pile.
If any card effect shuffles a won story card back
into the story deck, that player no longer has that
story for the purposes of counting his victory
total.
For example, Darrin has won two story cards and
needs only one more to win the game. But his
opponent then wins the story card The Well (ARK
F9), and chooses to activate its effects, removing
one of Darrin’s won story cards and shuffling it
back into the story deck. Now Darrin needs two
stories to win the game.
(v1.6) Text box
A card’s text box consists of subtypes and game
text relevant to gameplay including keywords
such as Willpower and Fast.
A card’s cost, title, descriptors, faction symbol,
skill, printed card type (i.e., character, support),
collector information, and flavor text are not considered to be part of the text box.
A card attached to a domain as a resource does
not have a text box.
(v1.8) Toughness
Toughness +X is cumulative. Therefore, a character with Toughness + 1 that gains Toughness +2
can now take 3 additional wounds before being
destroyed.
(v1.6) Triggered Effects
A triggered effect is defined as any effect that follows the text: “Action:” “Response:” “Forced
Response:” or “Disrupt:” on a character, support,
or event card.
A triggered ability is a triggered effect printed on
a card already in play.
(v1.9) Card Effect vs. Game Effect
All effects are either card effects or game effects.
Card effects are produced by cards, game effects
are produced by the rules of the game.
(v1.9) Exchange Control or Game Position
An exchange must involve 2 entities that are
changing their status or position. If one of the
entities is absent or cannot be changed, the
exchange attempt fails.
(v1.9)Transient and Steadfast
Official Rules Clarifications and Frequently Asked Questions
The play restriction on whether or not you can
play a Steadfast card is checked before you drain
a domain to pay for that card. Transients only
count as two resources when that domain is
drained to pay for a card. When checking faction
resources to see if you are able to play a Steadfast
card, Transient cards count as a single resource of
their faction.
(v2.0) "Cannot"
The word "cannot," when appearing in card
text, is absolute. Effects that attempt the
described action will not affect any card that
"cannot" be affected by such an effect.
Arkham Edition Errata
(v1.2) Behind the Pallid Mask
R135
Should read “Action: reveal and discard the top
X cards of your deck. For each ] card
revealed this way, each opponent must choose
to either discard that number of cards from
hand (or his entire hand) or discard the top four
cards of his deck.”
In accordance with the general “Player Hand”
rule (see page 2), a player may not choose the
first option unless he has a “hand.”
For example: If player A played Behind the
Pallid Mask and revealed four Hastur cards,
and player B only had two cards in hand, player
B may choose one of two options:
(v.1) The King in Yellow
U147
Should read: “...while The King in Yellow
remains exhausted.”
Thus, when The King in Yellow is readied (for
any reason, including its controller’s refresh
phase), any character that had been driven
insane by The King in Yellow can hereafter be
restored (unless chosen by The King in Yellow
again, of course).
Note that The King in Yellow can target already
insane characters, as "that character goes
insane" is not a part of the targetting restriction
on the card.
(v1.4) Mi-Go Scientist
R189
Should read: “...or returns that character to its
owner’s hand.”
(v.1) The Orient Express
R238
This card was mistakenly printed with the “R”
rarity label, but is in fact an Uncommon card.
(v1.2) Persuasive Friends
C81
Should read : “Action: lower the cost of the next
} character card...”
(v1.2) Power Drain
U139
Should read: “Disrupt: cancel an Action or
Response just triggered.”
(v1.2) Shadowed Reef
U117
This is a support card and should be indicated as
such in the bottom left.
1. He may choose the first option on Behind the
Pallid Mask, and discard his hand. Even though
he only has two cards, he has now satisfied the
game text and will not suffer any further ill
effects, such as being forced to discard anything from his deck.
(v.1) Shakedown!
R20
Should have the text: “Play during the Story
phase.”
2. He must discard 16 cards off the top of his
deck.
(v.1) True Magick
U240
Should read: “Response: after you succeed at a
story with at least double...”
A player may not however, choose to discard
just one card from his hand and then 12 from
his deck.
(v1.2) Dockside Speakeasy
R26
Should read “Action: exhaust and to choose a
resource attached to your Domain...”
(v2.0) Dream Messenger
R166
Should read: “Disrupt: before an Action or
Response resolves, choose a character or support card in play. Until the end of the phase,
that card gains a Subtype of your choice."
(v.1) Expedition Leader
U35
This card was mistakenly printed with the “U”
rarity label, but is in fact a Rare card.
Page 5
(v1.2) To See Another Day
R239
This is a support card and should be indicated as
such in the bottom left.
This card was mistakenly printed with the “U”
rarity label, but is in fact a Rare card.
Unspeakable Tales Errata
(v1.4) Cthulhu
R55
Cthulhu has the Invulnerability keyword. It is
misprinted as Invulnerable.
(v1.3) Lair of the Deep Ones
Should read: “...exhaust to choose and
destroy...”
R70
Call of Cthulhu Living Card Game
Official Rules Clarifications and Frequently Asked Questions
(v1.6) On Ice
R12
Success tokens remain on the story targeted by
On Ice.
Eldritch Edition Errata
(v1.4) Shub-Niggurath
R109
Shub-Niggurath has the Invulnerability keyword. It is misprinted as Invulnerable.
(v1.7) Auto-de-fe
R76
Should read: “...put into play all characters and
support cards with the printed subtype...”
(v1.4) Yog-Sothoth
R91
Yog-Sothoth has the Invulnerability keyword.
It is misprinted as Invulnerable.
(v1.7) Black Spawn from Below
U184
Should read “...Lower the cost to play Black
Spawn from Below by 1 for each resource type
other than > attached to the domain drained to
play Black Spawn from Below (to a minimum
of 1).”
(v2.0) Sacrificial Offerings
R91
Should read: "Action: Choose and wound an
opponent's character. Then, that character's controller may choose and wound a character."
Arkham Edition Premium Starter
(v1.5) Deep One Rising
M4
Should read: “...after Deep One Rising enters
play from your hand.”
(v1.6) Witch Tree
M13
Should read: “...If that card is a >card, attach
it to one of your Domains as a resource. If not,
place the revealed card on the top of its owner’s
deck.”
Forbidden Relics Errata
(v2.0) Brazier of Noden
R31
Brazier of Nodens can only be triggered in
response to your regular (as provided by the
framework of the draw phase) draw opportunity.
(v1.6) Chant of Thoth
R98
Should read: “...you may play those cards as
though you were playing them from your hand.
If any of the chosen cards are event cards, put
them on the bottom of your deck instead of
your discard pile after playing them.”
(v2.0) Shining Trapezohedron
R104
Should read: "Action: Exhaust and pay 1 to..."
(v1.6) Spawn from K’n-Yan
R112
Spawn from K’n-Yan is sacrificed at anytime
the controlling player controls neither an
Artifact or Environment card. A player does
not need to control both.
(v1.9) Watkins Family Plot
R125
Should read: “Response: after you overpay for a
triggered ability, exhaust Watkins family plot to
put into your hand from your discard pile a character with printed skill X or lower...”
(v1.7) Expatriate Reporter
U69
Should read “...Lower the cost to play
Expatriate Reporter by 1 for each resource type
other than } attached to the domain drained to
play Expatriate Reporter (to a minimum of 1).”
(v1.8) Ezbekiyeh Gardens
R208
The phrase “different type of icon” denotes two
things: The icon chosen is singular (i.e. you are
choosing a single type of icon that all the printed icons will become) and the icon chosen is
different from all the printed icons on the target
character.
(v1.8) Feasts of Locusts
C117
Should read: “Attach to a character. If, at any
time its controller controls 5 or more characters, they must sacrifice attached character.”
(v1.6) Ghoul Khanum
C187
Should read: “Response: after you win an icon
struggle by at least 2 icons, put a success token on
the story that Ghoul Khanum was committed.”
(v1.7) Man on the Inside
U8
Should read “Lower the cost to play Man on
the Inside by 1 for each resource type other
than _ attached to the domain drained to play
Man on the Inside (to a minimum of 1).”
(v1.7) Military Escort
U39
Should read “...Lower the cost to play Military
Escort by 1 for each resource type other than
{ attached to the domain drained to play
Military Escort (to a minimum of 1).”
(v1.7) Seduction of the Tombs
C50
Should read: “...or discard pile a non-Ancient
One { character. At the end of the phase, sacrifice that character.”
(v1.7) Spectral Hunter
U162
Should read “Lower the cost to play Spectral
Hunter by 1 for each resource type other than
< attached to the domain drained to play
Spectral Hunter (to a minimum of 1)...”
Page 6
(v1.7) Thing from the Stars
U132
Should read “...Lower the cost to play Thing
from the Stars by 1 for each resource type other
than ] attached to the domain drained to play
Thing from the Stars (to a minimum of 1)...”
(v1.9) The Mother’s Seed
U206
Should read: “Action: sacrifice attached character
to put into play a non-Ancient One > character
from your hand.
(v1.9) Police Sergeant
Miskatonic Administrator
Construction Crew
Shoggoth Slave
Moon-cursed Lycanthrope
Ruthless Fanatic
Mi-Go Explorer
C11
C40
C67
C100
C128
C160
C190
Should all read: “Disrupt: Before a card effect
resolves...”
(v2.0) Riddles
U169
Each player totals the cost of all of his cards
revealed by this effect, and then compares this
total with his opponent's. The player with the
lowest total cost discards his cards. The "lowest
total cost" is a single value, and if both players
meet this value, they must both discard the
revealed cards.
(v2.0) I Am It and It Is I
U225
Should read: "Action: Choose a story to which
at least one Ancient One character is committed. All non-Ancient One characters committed
to this story lose..."
Masks of Nyarlathotep Errata
(v1.8) Alchemist
R93
Chemist R40
Coral Infection
R58
Forgotten Ones
R79
Heterodox Physicist
R24
Interstellar Visitor
R114
Unexpected Ally
R8
Should all read: “Response: after an opponent
plays a Ritual event from his hand...”
(v1.8) Gang Boss
U42
Treat his ability as if it were a Disrupt: action.
(v2.0) Jackson Elias
R127
The ability should be an "Action:" instead of a
"Response:".
Call of Cthulhu Living Card Game
Forgotten Cities Errata
(v1.8) Absent-Minded Accountant
Should read: “... Then, Absent-Minded
Accountant goes insane.”
U22
(v1.8) Bureau Chief
C4
The cost of any triggered effect without a printed cost is assumed to be 0.
(v1.8) Richard Upton Pickman
R38
Should read: “...then, treat that character as
though its printed text box were blank until the
end of the phase.”
(v1.8) Starry Wisdom Deacon
U97
Should read: “Action: Sacrifice Starry Wisdom
Deacon to lower the cost of the next event card
you play this phase by 5.”
(v1.8) K’n-yan
R136
The ability should have the clause, “if able.”
Spawn of Madness Errata
(v1.9) Torch the Joint
F2
Should not have the labeled type “Support.”
Should have the labeled type “Event.”
(v1.9) Danny O’Banion’s Cronie
F5
The ability should have the restriction: “Limit
once per phase.”
(v1.9) Glimpse of the Void
F14
Should not have the labeled type “Support.”
Should have the labeled type “Event.”
Kingsport Dreams Errata
(v1.9) Charles Dexter Ward
F9
This additional text applies to Charles Dexter
Ward: “Charles Dexter Ward can be chosen as the
target of an effect that would cause him to go
Insane, including a lost Terror struggle at a story
to which he is committed.
If Charles Dexter Ward is wounded, he is immediately destroyed, regardless of any toughness he
may possess.”
(v1.9) Visitor From the Spheres
F11
If a copied effect chooses a target, you may not
choose a new target when copying the effects with
this card.
(v2.0) Basil Elton
F13
If you are not the owner of Basil Elton, but you
control him and trigger his ability, he is shuffled into his owner's deck. (Whenever a card
Official Rules Clarifications and Frequently Asked Questions
leaves play, it automatically defaults to its owner's out of play state.) The effect will still
resolve.
Forced Responses should always trigger immediately, whenever the circumstances of their
text would indicate.
(v2.0) Thomas Olney
F3
Should read: "Response: After another character you control enters a discard pile from
play..."
Passive abilities take effect immediately, whenever the circumstances of their text would indicate. The main difference between a passive
ability and a forced response is that the Forced
Response can be cancelled.
Thomas Olney cannot use his ability to return
himself to play.
Conspiracies of Chaos Errata
(v2.0) Blood Magician.................................F11
A character must actually lose an icon (that it
possessed at the time the Blood Magician's
ability was triggered) in order for Blood
Magician to gain that icon.
Dunwich Denizens Errata
(v2.0) Wilbur Whateley
F13
Wilbur Whateley retains all success tokens
while he is insane.
Timing Clarifications
(v2.0) Actions, Disrupts, and Responses
Throughout the course of the game's action
windows, players alternate taking actions.
Actions consist of playing a card from hand, or
of triggering an action effect on a card already
in play.
Disrupt and Response effects are played as a
result of the actions that the players take, or as
a result of something that occurs because of a
game effect. (Such as a character being wounded as the result of a combat struggle, or a player drawing cards during the draw phase.)
Disrupts are played immediately whenever their
play requirement is met, and their resolution
precedes the resolution of the occurence that
allowed the disrupt to be triggered.
Responses are played after the resolution of the
action or framework game event that meets
their play requirement, but before the next player action is taken, or before the next game
event resolves. Any number of responses can be
played to any occurence that allows them to
trigger, with response opportunities passing
back and forth between players, starting with
the active player. Once both players pass a
response opportunity, play proceeds to the next
action or game effect.
Page 7
Note that once stories start resolving, the resolution of all stories is considered a single game
effect, and that all responses to anything that
occurs during story resolution will be played in
the same window of opportunity. Disrupts will
still interrupt story resolution and take place
immediately, as they precede the occurence that
is being disrupted.
For Example: The "Response:" effect on
Hastur reads: "Response: after Hastur enters
play, all characters go insane." After you play
Hastur from your hand, both players, starting
with the active player, will have the opportunity
to trigger responses to Hastur entering play,
and Hastur's response could be triggered at this
time. Once both players have passed their
response opportunity, play proceeds to the next
(non-response) player action. Once this action
has initiated, the opportunity to play responses
to the previous action has passed.
(v2.0) Responses on Cards Leaving Play
Some cards respond to leaving play, or to
effects that may cause them to leave play. Such
responses can be triggered as if the card were
still in play. Note that only Response or Forced
Response effects can be triggered in this manner, and they must respond to leaving play or
the effect that cauuses them to leave play. Cards
may not take "one last Action" before they
leave play.
For Example: The "Response:" effect on
Randolph Carter can be triggered in response
to a wound that destroys Randolph Carter.
Call of Cthulhu Collectible Card Game
Official Rules Clarifications and Frequently Asked Questions
Banned List
(v2.0) Banned Cards
The following cards are not legal for organized
tournament or league play:
ARKHAM EDITION
The Rip-off
R82
ELDRITCH EDITION
Rite of Passage
Secrets of Bubastis
Theosophist Meeting
Dream Summoning
Saturnalia
Born in the Spheres
Veneration of Apis
R14
R44
R74
R104
R134
R164
R194
Page
Was this manual useful for you? yes no
Thank you for your participation!

* Your assessment is very important for improving the work of artificial intelligence, which forms the content of this project

Download PDF

advertisement