lotr faq version 1.4 -- 2/27/2013

lotr faq version 1.4 -- 2/27/2013

LOTR FAQ VERSION 1.4 -- 2/27/2013

New Card Errata: Feint (CORE 34), Thicket of Spears (CORE 36), Narvi’s Belt (KD 3), Out of Sight (D 81),

Nori (OHUH 3), Thror’s Map (OHUH 13), Troll Purse (OHUH 42), Troll Key (OHUH 43), Master of Lore (HoN 16),

Blocking Wargs (HoN 29)

Updated Rules Content: Encounter Keywords (1.01), Two active locations (1.34), “Enters the staging area” (1.35),

Triggered abilities vs. Passive abilities (1.36), Timing of effect resolution (1.37), Control of attachments (1.38), Staging objective cards (1.39), The letter X (1.40), Attacks against a character (1.41), Frequently asked questions

®

© 2011 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved. No part of this product may be reproduced without specific permission. Middle-earth, The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings, and the characters, items, events and

Publishing, Inc. All Rights Reserved to their respective owners.

TM

2

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game

FAQ version 1.4

2/27/2013

New Content in

red

LOTR Errata

This section contains the official clarifications and errata that have been made on individual cards or sets in The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game. The card entries are ordered by the set in which the specified card was printed, with the most recent set in front. The errata on any individual card applies to all reprinted versions of that card.

LOTR Core Set Rulebook

Phase 3: Quest Page 14

The final sentence of the first paragraph in this section should read: “Players have the opportunity to take actions and play event cards at the beginning and ending of each step.”

LOTR Core Set Cards

Thalin CORE 6

When an enemy card is revealed from the encounter deck, Thalin’s ability resolves before any keyword or

“When Revealed” card effects on the encounter card.

TM

Eleanor

The replacement card is also revealed from the

8

encounter deck. Resolve any “When revealed” effects and keywords on the new card following the standard game rules.

Beravor CORE 12

Should read: “Action: Exhaust Beravor to choose a player. That player draws 2 cards. Limit once per round.”

CORE

Should read: “Combat Action: Choose an enemy engaged with a player. That enemy cannot attack that player this phase.”

Thicket of Spears CORE 36

Should read: “Action: Choose a player. That player’s engaged enemies cannot attack that player this phase.”

Protector of Lorien CORE 70

Should read: “Action: Discard a card from your hand to give attached hero +1 Ú or +1 Ò until the end of the phase. Limit 3 times per phase.”

Dol Guldur Beastmster CORE 91

Should read: “Forced: When Dol Guldur Beastmaster attacks...”

The additional shadow card is dealt when the Dol

Guldur Beastmaster is chosen during step 1 of enemy attack resolution.

Nazgûl of Dol Guldur

CORE 102

Should have the text: “No attachments can be played on Nazgûl of Dol Guldur.”

The Necromancer’s Tower 1A CORE 123

Should read: “... reveal and place them in the staging area.”

Out of the Dungeons 3B CORE 125

If a facedown Orc Guard would be returned to the staging area, it is instead placed in its owner’s discard pile.

Khazad-D m Expansion

Belt

Should read: “Action: Exhaust Narvi’s Belt to give attached hero a phase.”

Ì

,

Î

,

Ï

, or

Ê

icon until the end of the

Zigil Miner KD 9

Should read: “Action: Exhaust Zigil Miner and name a number to discard the top 2 cards of your deck. If at least one of those cards has cost equal to the named number, choose a hero you control. For each card that matches the named number, add 1 resource to that hero’s resource pool.”

Dwarrowdelf Expansion

Out of Sight

Over Hill and Under Hill Saga

Expansion

Should read: “Action: Enemies engaged with you cannot attack you this phase.”

Purse

D 81

Should read: “If Troll Purse is discarded, add it to the staging area. If Troll Purse is unattached and in the staging area, attach it to a Troll enemy, if able.”

Example: The rulebook (p. 15) reads: “Any progress tokens that would be placed on a quest card are instead placed on the active location.” Legolas (CORE 5) has an effect that reads, “...place 2 progress tokens on the current quest.” Legolas’ effect would place 2 progress tokens on the quest; the core rule from page 15 instead places those tokens on the active location. Thus, the

Legolas ability can successfully resolve, and the core

Map

Should read: “Travel Action: Exhaust Thrór’s Map to choose a location in the staging area...”

rule can be observed, without creating a golden rule

OHUH

Should read: “Response: After you play a Dwarf character from your hand, reduce your threat by 1.”

(If a card effect read, “place a progress token on the current quest, bypassing any active location,” a direct contradiction between card text and rulebook would be created, and the golden rule would then take effect.)

(1.01) Encounter Keywords

Surge, Doomed, and Guarded keywords should be resolved any time the card on which they occur is revealed from the encounter deck, including during setup.

Key OHUH

Should read: “If Troll Key is discarded, add it to the staging area. If Troll Key is unattached and in the staging area, attach it to a Troll enemy, if able.”

(1.02) Simultaneous Effect Timing

If two or more conflicting effects would occur simultaneously, the first player decides the order in which the effects resolve.

Heirs of N menor Expansion

Master of Lore

Should read: “Action: Exhaust Master of Lore to name a card type. Lower the cost for you to play the next card of that type by 1 until the end of the phase (to a minimum of 1).”

Omit the parenthetical.

HoN 16

Î

Blocking HoN

to each character committed to the quest.”

29

Should read: “Surge. When Revealed: Deal 1 damage

Example: Tom plays Sneak Attack (CORE 23) to put Beorn (CORE 31) into play during the combat phase. Sneak Effect has the condition, “At the end of the phase, if that ally is still in play, return it to your hand.” During combat, Tom uses Beorn’s triggered effect, which has the condition, “At the end of the phase in which you trigger this effect, shuffle Beorn back into your deck.” At the end of the phase, a situation arises in which two conflicting effects are attempting to resolve simultaneously on Beorn. The first player determines which of the two effects resolves first. (The second effect no longer applies when Beorn leaves play.)

Rule Clarification

This section contains the official rule clarifications and enhancements for The Lord of the Rings: The Card

Game. Used in conjunction with the rulebook (found in the The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game core set), these clarifications and enhancements should enable a player to navigate through the most complex situations that can arise while playing the game.

(1.00) The Golden Rule

The Golden Rule reads: “If the game text of a card contradicts the text of the rulebook, the text on the card takes precedence.”

The Golden Rule applies when there is a direct contradiction between card text and rules text. If it is possible to observe both card text and the text of the rulebook, both are observed.

(1.03) Conflicting Effect Targeting

If an encounter or quest effect attempts to target a single player or card, and there are multiple eligible targets, the first player selects the target of the effect from among the eligible options.

Example: The card Caught in a Web (CORE 80) has an effect that reads, “The player with the highest threat level attaches this card to one of his heroes.” Tom and

Kris are tied for the highest threat level when Caught in a Web is revealed, so the first player determines whether the card affects Tom or Kris.

3

4

(1.04) Damage and Multiple Defenders

If a player uses card effects to declare multiple defenders against a single enemy attack, the defending player must assign all damage from that attack to a single defending character.

(1.05) Removing Progress Tokens from Quests

When a card effect removes progress tokens from a quest or quest card , the effect applies specifically to the quest card, and never to the active location.

(1.06) Control of Non-objective Encounter Cards

Players do not gain control of encounter cards unless control of the card is explicitly granted by a card effect. When an encounter card (such as Caught in a

Web, CORE 86) becomes an attachment and attaches to a character, that character’s controller does not gain control of the attachment.

(1.07) Control of Objective Cards

When a player claims an objective card, he gains control of that card unless otherwise directed by a card effect.

(1.08) Responses per Trigger

If a response or forced response is triggered, the effect can only occur once per trigger.

Example: Theodred (CORE 2) reads, “Response: After

Theodred commits to a quest....” This effect can only be triggered once each time Theodred commits to a quest.

(1.09) Forced Responses

Forced responses resolve immediately when their specified prerequisite occurs, and before any response effects that also can be triggered off the same prerequisite.

Example: Tower Gate (CORE 107) reads, “Forced:

After travelling to Tower Gate....” If a player wishes to play a response such as Strength of Will (CORE 47) after the players travel to Tower Gate, he must wait until after the forced response resolves.

(1.10) Limitations on Actions

Actions are only limited by whether or not a player can pay the cost of the action, or by built in limitations on the card itself, such as “limit once per round.”

Example: Protector of Lorien (CORE 70) reads,

Action: Discard a card from your hand to....” This action may be triggered three times per phase, as long as the card’s controller has cards in hand to discard.

(1.11) Limitations on Attacks

When a player is the active attacker during the combat phase, the game rules grant him the option to declare

1 attack against each enemy with which he is engaged.

If, through card effects such as ranged, a player is able to declare attacks against enemies with which he is not engaged, he is still only permitted a single attack against each of these enemies.

Characters are not limited as to how many times they can participate in attacks against the same enemy, provided each attack can be legally declared, and the character is ready and eligible to be declared as an attacker.

(1.12) Exhaustion and Attachments

Attachments and the card to which they are attached exhaust and ready independent of one another.

Example: Steward of Gondor (CORE 26) reads,

Action: Exhaust Steward of Gondor to....” Using this action only exhausts the Steward of Gondor card, not the hero to which it is attached. Additionally, exhausting the hero to which Steward of Gondor is attached does not exhaust the Steward of Gondor card.

(1.13) Characters and Enemies

“Character” refers to both hero and ally cards. Enemy cards are not considered characters.

(1.14) The word “cannot”

If a card effect uses the word “cannot”, then it is an absolute: that effect cannot be overridden by other effects.

(1.15) The word “then”

If a card effect uses the word “then,” then the preceding effect must resolve successfully for the subsequent dependent effect to resolve.

(1.16) The phrase “put into play”

If a card effect uses the phrase “put into play,” it means that the card enters play through a card effect instead of through the normal process of paying resources and playing the card from hand. “Put into play” effects are not considered to be playing the card, and will not trigger any effects that refer to a card being played.

“Put into play” will, however, trigger any effects that occur when a card “enters play”.

Example: The quest Through the Caverns (CORE 124) has the text, “The players, as a group, cannot play more than one ally card each round.” While this quest is active, a player can put an ally into play with Stand and Fight (CORE 51), even if an ally has already been played this round.

(1.17) Unclaimed Objectives

An unclaimed objective is one that is not currently claimed and under the control of a player. An unclaimed objective can be guarded or unguarded.

A guarded objective is treated like an attachment if guarded by an enemy or location, and remains attached to that card until it leaves play, at which point it will return to the staging area. Any unclaimed objective in the staging area that is not attached to a card is considered to be unguarded. If an objective is claimed at one point, and then returns to the staging area, it regains the status of unclaimed.

(1.18) Explored Locations Leaving Play

A location card is immediately discarded from play

any time it has as many progress tokens as it has quest points, whether it is active or not.

(1.19) Card Effects during Setup

When Revealed” effects are resolved if the cards are

revealed during setup. A player can trigger responses during setup, following the normal game rules. Players cannot take Actions during setup.

(1.20) Engaged Enemies

During the quest phase, engaged enemies do not count their threat for the staging area.

An enemy remains engaged with a player until it is defeated or until a card effect returns it to the staging area, engages it to another player, or removes it from play.

(1.21) Search Effects

Whenever a player searches through a deck, that player shuffles the deck after searching it unless a card effect says otherwise. Players do not shuffle or change the order of a discard pile after searching it.

(1.22) “When Revealed” Effects

A card is only considered to be revealed if the card or game effect causing the card to enter play specifically uses a form of the word “reveal”.

Example: If the players use the Stage 3b “Don’t Leave the Path!” (CORE 121) quest card effect to search for a King Spider and put it into play, the “When

Revealed” effect on the King Spider will not trigger, since the effect on “Don’t Leave the Path!” does not specifically use a form of the word “reveal.”

(1.23) Attachments

Any card that attaches to another card is treated as an

Attachment in addition to its other card types.

The “Attach to...” rules text on an attachment is only a play restriction, and is not taken into account after the card is already attached.

(1.24) Questing Successfully

Questing successfully and the physical placement of progress tokens are two separate game occurrences that happen in sequence during the Quest Resolution step. As soon as the players determine that the total committed Willpower is greater than the total Threat in the staging area, they are considered to have quested successfully. Any Forced or passive effects initiated by questing successfully resolve before physically placing progress tokens.

Example: Tom has just successfully quested during stage 1B of The Hunt Begins (SoM 11), and he will be placing enough progress to advance to the next stage.

However, he must first resolve the Forced effect (which resolves immediately upon the occurence of “questing succesfully”) before placing progress tokens on the quest.

(1.25) Collecting Resources

Collecting resources refers to both collecting resources during the resource phase and gaining resources through other card effects. An effect that prevents a hero from collecting resources prevents both methods of acquiring new resources.

(1.26) The word “switch”

In order for a switch to occur, switched items must exist on both sides of the switch.

(1.27) Bypass the active location

The only time an active location does not act as a buffer for progress to be placed on a quest is when card text specifically instructs the players to “bypass” the active location.

(1.26) Enemy attacks outside of the combat phase

If an enemy attacks outside of the combat phase, it is still dealt a shadow card at the beginning of the attack.

Then follow the 4 steps under Phase 6 “Combat” in the rules.

5

6

(1.29) Victory Display

The victory display is a game area where victory points are tracked. Cards in the victory display are considered to be out of play, but are not considered to be a part of the encounter discard pile. Cards in the victory display are not considered “removed from game,” and some card effects may still interact with them.

(1.30) “First Player” elimination

If the player with the first player token is eliminated, the first player token immediately passes clockwise to the next eligible player.

(1.31) Self-referential effects

If a card refers to its own title in its text it should be read as referring only to that copy of the card. A card that refers to other copies of itself will use the language

“any copy of...” or “another copy of...” or “a card with the title...”

(1.32) Mid-Attack Control or Engagement Change

If a card involved in combat changes control, is returned to the staging area, or engages another player during the resolution of an attack, that attack still resolves with the card still participating from its new state.

(1.33) Attacks by non-engaged enemies

When an enemy attacks a player, that player may declare 1 defender whether the enemy is engaged with him or not. Sentinel may also be used to defend against such attacks.

(1.34) Two active locations

If a card effect causes two locations to be active at the same time, they are both considered to be the active location. However, when a card effect targets “the active location,” it does not target both active locations at the same time. The first player must choose which of the active locations the effect will target. Both active locations serve as buffers for the quest stage and when placing progress on the active location, the players may divide that progress among both active locations however they choose.

(1.35) “Enters the staging area”

Enters the staging area is a term that applies to a card

(enemy, location, objective, etc) that is placed in the staging area. This term applies whether the card in question has been revealed from the encounter deck, placed in the staging area from out of play, returned from the discard pile or from engaged with a player, or by other means.

(1.36) Triggered abilities vs. Passive abilities

Triggered abilities are abilities on cards that have a bold trigger word such as Action or Response. These abilities are only applied when they are triggered.

Passive abilities are abilities on cards that have an ongoing effect without a bold trigger word. Because passive abilities don’t have a trigger they are always active and cannot be “triggered”.

(1.37) Timing of effect resolution

When resolving multiple effects with a shared condition, players should use this order of resolution: passive abilities first, Forced effects second, Response actions third. When determining the order of effect resolution among abilities within those categories, players should first resolve abilities that use the word

“when” and then resolve abilities with the word “after”.

(1.38) Control of attachments

When a player plays an attachment on a character controlled by another player, that character’s controller gains control of the attachment. When a player plays an attachment into the staging area, or on an enemy or location, that player retains control of that attachment.

(1.39) Staging objective cards

When a player reveals an objective from the encounter deck, he adds it to the staging area unless that objective instructs the player to do something different.

(1.40) The letter X

Unless specified by a card effect, or granted player choice, the letter "X" is equal to 0.

(1.41) Attacks against a character

An attack made against a character works the same as an attack made against a player with one exception: undefended damage from an attack against a character must be assigned to that character.

For example: "Bilbo Baggins (OtD 1) has the most poison attached when Crazy Cob (OtD 29) is revealed from the encounter deck and its "When Revealed" effect triggers an attack against the character with the most poison attached. Even though the first player controls 3 other heroes, any undefended damage from this attack must be applied to Bilbo Baggins. Because

Bilbo is already exhausted from committing to the quest, he cannot exhaust to defend himself and will be killed if the attack is undefended. Knowing this, the first player chooses to exhaust one of his ready characters,

Bombur, to declare him as the defender for this attack.

At this point, the attack resolves as normal and any damage from the attack is applied to Bombur.

Nightmare Variant

This section elaborates upon the “nightmare” play variant that is introduced on page 27 of the Core Set rulebook.

When playing the “nightmare” variant each player’s threat, wounds, and discard pile do not reset when setting up a new scenario.

To reset the other game elements at the beginning of a new “nightmare” scenario, perform the following steps in order:

1) All non-hero cards in play and in hand are shuffled into their owner’s decks. All encounter cards are returned to their encounter sets so they are available for the next scenario, if needed. This includes cards in players’ victory display.

2) All unspent resources are discarded from the heroes’ resource pools.

3) Each player draws a new starting hand per the regular setup rules of the game. A single mulligan may be taken by each player at this time.

4) A player cannot start a scenario with a threat level that is lower than the combined threat cost of his heroes. If a player’s threat is lower than the starting threat cost of his heroes, he must increase his threat to that value.

5) Follow all setup instructions for the new scenario.

Each scenario should be scored separately, and then all the scores added together at the end of the variant.

Scoring

This section introduces an additional element to the scoring system presented on page 22 of the core rulebook. This revised scoring will be implemented at all FFG sanctioned organized play events, and should be used on the LOTR LCG Quest Log available at

FantasyFlightGames.com.

In addition to all elements currently used to score a game, players also add an additional 10 points to their

“final group score” for each round of play that is taken to defeat a scenario. Players tally each round for their score at the end of the refresh phase.

A modified scoring sheet has been provided as the final page of this document. The tally of rounds can be tracked on the notes section of these sheets.

Frequently Asked Questions

This section applies to material covered in previous sections, in the core rulebook, and in Adventure Pack inserts. It answers some of the most frequently asked questions that arise while playing The Lord of the

Rings: The Card Game.

Q: If the players do not commit any characters to a

quest, does the staging area still count its threat against them?

A: Yes, the threat in the staging area still counts against the players, who have a combined committed willpower of 0.

Q: Does a player commit his characters to a quest at

once, or one character at a time? When can a player trigger responses to committing his characters to a quest?

A: A player commits all characters he wishes to commit to a quest at once. Responses to the characters committing (such as those on Aragorn and Theodred) can then be triggered in the order of that player’s choice. After a player has committed his characters

(and triggered any responses to those characters committing), the next player has the opportunity to commit his characters to the quest.

7

8

Q: Does the effect on Legolas (CORE 5) place progress tokens on an active location, if there is one?

A: Yes. Always place progress tokens on an active location instead of the quest, unless the ability specifically states to bypass any active location.

Q: When do “after this enemy attacks” Forced effects

like those on Chieftan Ufthak (CORE 90) and Wargs

(CORE 85) resolve?

A: These effects resolve immediately after step 4 of enemy attack resolution.

Q: Can a player have cards in his player deck from

a sphere that doesn’t match the sphere of one of his heroes?

A: There is nothing in the rules that disallows this, although a player will need to find clever card interactions to make use of such cards.

Q: Does Dungeon Jailer (CORE 101) shuffle guarded

objectives back into the encounter deck?

A: Yes. Dungeon Jailer will shuffle any unclaimed objective, whether or not it is guarded.

Q: Can a player use a response effect like the one on

Eleanor (CORE 8) during setup?

A: Yes. Responses can be triggered at any time they meet their specified prerequisite, including during setup.

Q: Do the Orc Guards generated by the effects of the

Tower Gate location card and the Out of the Dungeons quest card have the Orc Trait?

A: No. Face down cards do not have traits unless the trait is gained through a card effect.

Q: When should Feint (CORE 34) be played?

A: This card should be played any time before resolving step 1 of the target enemy’s attack during the combat phase. (Once the act of resolving an enemy’s attack begins, it is too late to prevent it from attacking with Feint.)

Q: In what order is players’ optional engagement handled?

A: The first player has the first opportunity to optionally engage an enemy, or pass. After that, each player, moving clockwise, has the option to engage one enemy. Once each player has had this opportunity, this step is complete.

Q: What happens to Banks of the Anduin (CORE 113) if it is drawn as a Shadow card?

A: It will be discarded from play at the end of the combat phase, like other Shadow cards. When a card is drawn as a Shadow card, only its Shadow text is considered to be active.

Q. If Wolf Rider (CORE 81) is drawn as a Shadow card, when is it returned to the top of the encounter deck?

A: “After combat” refers to the end of the combat phase, when Shadow cards normally leave play.

Q. If I cancel the Shadow effect on a card dealt to the

Nazgûl of Dol Guldur (CORE 102), is the effect still considered to have resolved, making me discard a character?

A: No. Resolving an effect means that the effect triggered and resolved to the fullest extent possible.

Canceling the effect will prevent the Nazgûl of Dol

Guldur’s ability from triggering, just as if the card had no Shadow effect to begin with.

Q. Does a player with the Dungeon Torch (CORE 109) raise his threat by 2 or 3 during the refresh phase?

A: Dungeon Torch’s effect does not replace the regular

1 threat raise, but adds to it. So the player with the

Dungeon Torch raises his threat by 3.

Q. If Legolas has a Blade of Gondolin (CORE 39) and destroys an enemy, can he trigger his response, finish off a quest card, and still place progress tokens on the next quest with the Blade of Gondolin’s response?

A: Yes. Quest cards are immediately replaced as soon as players place enough progress on them, and this replacement does not interrupt the current round sequence. If the current quest card only needs

1 progress on it, then a player could also trigger the Blade’s effect first, and then Legolas’ in order to maximize the number of progress tokens placed. (There is no carry-over progress from an effect).

Q: How does a player resolve the situation in which a single hero has multiple copies of Caught in a Web

(CORE 80) attached?

A: The player must pay for each copy of Caught in a

Web before the hero can ready. Each copy of the card creates an independent condition that must be fulfilled before readying the attached hero, so if each condition is not fulfilled the hero cannot ready. End result, if a hero has two copies of Caught in a Web attached, the player will have to pay 4 resources from that hero’s resource pool in order to ready the card.

Q: If players have placed progress tokens on a quest equal to its quest points, but a game effect prevents them from advancing, can they continue to place progress tokens on the quest?

A: Yes. There is no upper limit to how many progress tokens may be placed on a quest.

Q: Can characters with the ranged keyword participate in an attack declared through the card Quick Strike

(CORE 35)?

A: No. There is no opportunity for other characters to join a Quick Strike attack. One character is exhausted to pay for the cost of Quick Strike, and the effect is that the exhausted character is immediately declared as an attacker against the target enemy. The card’s resolution does not allow for a standard declaration step in which other characters can declare.

Q: Wilyador (SoM 64) cannot be healed of more than

5 wounds by a single effect, so how do I resolve the

“when revealed” text on Return to Rhosgobel 3B (SoM

62)?

A: Heal 5 wounds from Wilyador for each Athelas objective card as its own separate action.

Q: Can Brand son of Bain (SoM 72) trigger his response if he participates in a ranged attack that defeats an enemy engaged with another player instead of declaring the attack himself ?

A: Yes. Declaring an attack and participating in an attack are both subsets of attacking. In both cases

Brand attacks and can trigger his response if the enemy is defeated.

Q: If a Sacked! (SoM 48) card is placed on a hero while that hero is questing is that hero removed from the quest?

A: No. Sacked! specifies only that the hero cannot commit to the quest, and the hero is already committed.

However, the hero cannot commit to quests on future rounds while Sacked! is attached.

Q: If Eleanor (CORE 8) is used to cancel the “when revealed” effects of a treachery card, are any surge or doomed keywords on that card also canceled?

A: No. Eleanor only cancels the “when revealed” effects of the treachery card. Any surge or doomed keywords on the card resolve before the new

(replacement) card is revealed.

Q: Is Against the Trolls (SoM 32) the final stage of

Conflict at the Carrock?

A: Yes.

Q: What happens if Wandering Took (CORE 43) changes control between players during combat after being declared as a defender?

A: As nothing removes Wandering Took from the combat or from play, it remains declared as a defender against the attack. (The “defending player” does not change, even though control of the defending character has changed.)

Q: If a player is eliminated during the staging step of the quest phase, before all encounter cards are revealed, does the elimination reduce the number of cards that should be revealed for staging?

A: The base number of cards to be revealed is determined at the beginning of the staging step, and does not change if a player is eliminated during staging.

Q: If all of a player’s heroes (except for the captured hero) are destroyed during the Escape from Dol Guldr scenario, is that player eliminated from the game?

A: Yes, the player is eliminated, and the players (as a group) have lost.

9

10

Q: When paying for a Creature with resources from Radagast’s (SoM 59) pool, is a resource match required?

A: No. Radagast’s ability breaks the need for a resource match if the resources are coming only from his pool.

(If combining his resources with resources from a hero’s pool, the hero’s sphere must match the sphere of the Creature being played.)

Q: If I can’t discard 3 resources from all of my heroes due to Bitter Wind (KD 56), do I have to partially fulfill the effect?

A: Yes, players should resolve as much of any

“discard” effect as they are able to.

Q: If a player does not declare any defenders against an attack, is he still considered the defending player?

A: Yes, the player an enemy is attacking is considered

to be the defending player. Whether or not he declares defenders, and whether or not any other player

declares defenders for him, does not change his status

as the defending player for the attack.

Q: If A Light in the Dark (CORE 52) is played midattack (e.g. after defender is declared), does the act of returning it to the staging area immediately end the attack because the enemy is no longer engaged with any player?

A: No. A Light in the Dark does not cancel or stop an attack that is already in the process of resolution. The only step in which the enemy needs to be engaged with the attacked player is step 1 of the Combat phase. So, in order to prevent an attack, A Light in the Dark must be played on an engaged enemy prior to choosing to resolve its attack during step 1.

Q: Can I use Son of Arnor (SoM 15) to engage The

Watcher (DD 72), even though The Watcher reads

“...cannot be optionally engaged”?

A: Yes. The ability on Son of Arnor does not count as optionally engaging The Watcher. Optional engagement only occurs during step 1 of the Encounter phase.

Q: If Caradhras (DD 15) is in my victory display when

I complete stage 2 of The Redhorn Gate, will it become the active location even though it is not in play?

A: Yes. You will remove Caradhras from your victory display and put it back into play as the active location.

Cards in the victory display are not removed from the game and can still be referenced by effects. If players get too far ahead of themselves via card effects, they’ll find a return journey is necessary!

Q: If there are two copies of Pelennor Fields (MaO

10) in the staging area and I travel to one of them, do

I still have to raise my threat by 3? What if I have the opportunity to travel and travel to neither of them?

A: If a card is self-referential, it refers only to that copy of itself. So if you travel to one copy of the Pelennor

Fields, the other copy will raise your threat by 3 because it only takes into account whether you traveled to that particular copy of the Pelennor Fields. So if you travel to neither copy, they both resolve and you must raise your threat by 6.

Q: When an enemy makes an attack against me from the staging area, can I declare a defender?

A: Yes. If an enemy attacks you, you can exhaust

1 character you control to declare it as a defender against that attack, whether that enemy is engaged with you or not.

Q: What is the difference between “adding” a card to the staging area versus “placing” a card in the staging area?

A: There is no difference between “adding” a card to the staging area versus “placing” a card in the staging area. These words are used interchangeably and mean the same thing in all instances.

Q: Are attachments already in play discarded when

Amon Lhaw (SoM 84) becomes the active location?

A: No. Attachments only check play restrictions when entering play. Attachments already in play will stay attached.

Q: When players have separate staging areas at stage 4 of Foundations of Stone, can there be multiple copies of unique cards in play?

A: No. Players must still respect the rules for playing unique cards when they are split up. For example, if a player has Gandalf (CORE 73) in play, then no other player can play Gandalf.

Q: How does the card Lost and Alone (DD 124) work?

What if the hero gets attached to a Nameless Thing

(DD 125) or was my last hero in play?

A: You only put the lost hero back into play if you draw the hero, whether during the resource phase or through a card effect. If the hero is discarded or attached to a card like a Nameless Thing, then treat it like any other card. In the latter situation, the value of the hero would be null, since it has no printed cost. If your last hero gets shuffled into your deck you are not eliminated from the game; heroes are not considered to be killed unless they are in your discard pile. You will continue playing until you either draw the hero, are eliminated through other means, or the game ends.

Q: When I play We Are Not Idle (D 129) and exhaust

Bombur (OtD 5), do I get 2 resources?

A: No. Bombur’s ability only works with cards that count the number of Dwarf characters you control. If you choose to exhaust Bombur with We Are Not Idle, you are still only exhausting 1 Dwarf character and will therefore only receive 1 resource.

Q: When I use the ability on Vilya (D 109) to play a card, do I still need a resource match?

A: No. Playing a card at “no cost” is different from playing a card for “0 cost.” A 0 cost card still requires a resource match, however, playing a card at “no cost” removes the need for a resource match.

Q: If an attachment gives a permanent stat bonus, does that bonus still apply when the attachment is exhausted?

A: Yes. Exhausting an attachment does not negate any permanent bonus that attachment grants to the attached character.

Q: If there is an active location with the text "Immune to player card effects" when Legolas participates in an attack that destroys an enemy, do I place 2 progress on the active location or the quest?

A: No. When Legolas' ability would put progress on the current quest, if there is an active location, it puts progress on that location instead. If that location is immune to player card effects, it ignores Legolas' ability. Therefore, no progress would be placed on the active location or the current quest.

Q: If an enemy does not attack or its attack is canceled, what happens to its shadow card(s)?

A: At the end of the combat phase, discard each unresolved shadow card in play. (Do not resolve the effects on these shadow cards)

Q: If a location is revealed after Treacherous Fog

(CORE 118) was revealed during the same quest phase,

does the revealed location get +1 $ from the “When

Revealed” effect on Treacherous Fog?

A: Yes. The “When Revealed” effect on Treacherous

Fog creates a lasting effect until the end of the phase that affects each location in the staging area. This is different from Driven by Shadow (CORE 92) which uses the language “currently in the staging area” when it is revealed and only affects enemies and locations in the staging area at the time it is revealed.

Q: Can I use Fortune or Fate (CORE 54) to put Beorn

(OHUH 5) into play from a player's discard pile, even though he is immune to player card effects?

A: Yes. A hero's ability is only active while it is in play.

Therefore, Beorn is not immune to player card effects

(such as Fortune or Fate) while he is in the discard pile.

Q: If there is an unattached Ranger Spikes (HoN17) in the staging area when an enemy with the ambush keyword is revealed from the deck, what happens?

A: The Ranger Spikes will attach to that enemy, preventing the players from making the engagement checks for the ambush keyword.

Q: When Oin (OtD 4) gains the tactics resource icon from his ability, does that count as the "printed" tactics resource icon?

A: No. The "printed" resource icon always refers to the icon that appears in the Resource Icon space as identified on page 8 in the rulebook.

Q: If there are no characters with poison attached when Crazy Cob (OtD 29) is revealed from the encounter deck, does it still make an attack?

A: Yes. Since each character has 0 poison, the first player will choose which character Crazy Cob attacks.

Q: If I give control of one of my heroes to another player with Desperate Alliance (OtD 10) and my other heroes are killed, am I eliminated from the game?

A: No. A player is not eliminated from the game unless each of his heroes is killed. The hero chosen by

Desperate Alliance is still in play and will return to your control at the end of the phase.

11

Scenario Name

Player

Names

Final Threat

Level

Threat Cost

Of Each Dead

Hero

Damage Tokens on Remaining

Heroes

Player

Subtotal

Number of Players

Notes

TM

Number of Rounds:

(tally)

Combined

Player Subtotals

Victory Points

Earned

10 Points per

Round

Final Group

Score

Scenario Name

Player

Names

Final Threat

Level

Threat Cost

Of Each Dead

Hero

Damage Tokens on Remaining

Heroes

Player

Subtotal

Number of Players

Notes

12

TM

Number of Rounds:

(tally)

Combined

Player Subtotals

Victory Points

Earned

10 Points per

Round

Final Group

Score

Scenario Name

Player

Names

Final Threat

Level

Threat Cost

Of Each Dead

Hero

Damage Tokens on Remaining

Heroes

Player

Subtotal

Number of Players

Notes

TM

Players may photocopy this page for their own personal use.

Number of Rounds:

(tally)

Combined

Player Subtotals

Victory Points

Earned

10 Points per

Round

Final Group

Score

Was this manual useful for you? yes no
Thank you for your participation!

* Your assessment is very important for improving the work of artificial intelligence, which forms the content of this project

Download PDF

advertisement