The Pantheon rules US
Antoine Bauza & Bruno Cathala
“Do not peer too closely at the secrets of the gods.”
• 1 Pantheon board
• 15 Divinity cards
• 1 Gate card
• 5 Grand Temple cards
• 2 Wonder cards
• 10 Mythology tokens
• 3 Offering tokens
• 1 Snake token
• 3 Progress tokens
• 1 Minerva pawn
• 1 Score notepad
• 1 Rulebook
• 1 Game Aid card
This expansion for 7 Wonders Duel offers players
the ability to invoke powerful Divinities to
benefit from their powers.
During Age I, the players will choose the
Divinities they will be
able to invoke during
Ages II and III.
Grands Temples make their
appearance and are substituted for
the Guilds.
Divinity Cards
Each divinity card represents a Divinity. These Divinities are separated into 5 different Mythologies each with a single focus: Greek
(civilian), Phoenician (commercial), Mesopotamian (scientific),
Egyptian (wonder), and Roman (military).
Gate Card
The last card to be placed in the Pantheon, the Gate offers special
access to the various Divinities.
Grand Temple Cards
The Grand Temples represent Buildings which are worth victory
points. They take the place of Guilds during Age III.
Pantheon Board
The board represents the Pantheon in which the various Divinities
are seated. On each space, 2 activation costs are printed - one for
each player.
Divinity card’s slot
Opponent’s coast
Your cost
Mythology Tokens
These represent the earthly link with the Divinities. They are placed
on top of some of Age I’s face-down cards and are used to determine the Divinities present in the Pantheon. Each token is linked to
a specific Mythology.
Offering Tokens
The Offering tokens are used to reduce the activation cost of the
Pantheon. They are placed on some face-down cards in Age II.
Snake Token
This token represents the power of the Divinity Nisaba.
Minerva Pawn
This pawn represents the power of the Divinity Minerva.
Wonder Cards and Progress tokens
The 2 new Wonder cards and the 3 Progress tokens should be added
to those already available.
Wonder Cards and Progress tokens have a star logo visible inext to
their name in order to sort them faster after your game.
Age I Setup
• Prepare the basic game and the Age I structure.
• Place 5 randomly-selected Mythology tokens face-down
on the indicated spaces of the structure, then reveal these
tokens. Return the remaining tokens to the box.
• Perform the Wonders selection phase.
• Place the Pantheon board above the base board.
• Shuffle each Mythology deck and place them in 5 draw piles
next to the Pantheon board.
• Place the Offering tokens, the Gate card, the Snake token,
and the Minerva pawn next to the Pantheon board.
Age II Setup
• Place the Gate card face-up in the empty space of the
• Reveal the Divinity cards present in the Pantheon.
• Prepare the structure of Age II and randomly place the
3 Offering tokens face-down on the spaces of the structure
as shown, then reveal the tokens.
Age III Setup
Return the Guilds and 3 other randomly-selected Age III cards to the
box. Randomly choose 3 Grand Temple cards and add them to the
Age III deck without looking at them. Return the remaining Grand
Temples to the box, also without looking at them.
The game plays out the same way as the base game. These rules only
describe elements specific to the expansion.
Flip over the face-down cards
If you must, at the end of your turn, flip over one or more face-down
cards from the structure which hold a Mythology or Offering token,
you must first place that token in front of yourself:
Effect of the Mythology tokens
When you place a Mythology token in front of yourself:
• You immediately draw the first two Divinity cards from the
corresponding Mythology deck.
• You then choose one of the two Divinity cards and place
it face-down on an empty space of your choice in the
• Finally, you place the remaining Divinity card face-down on
top of the corresponding Mythology deck.
Effect of the Offering tokens
The Offering is a single-use discount used when activating a card
from the Pantheon. Its value is defined by the number printed on
it. The token is discarded after use.
Grand Temple
If you have a Mythology token which has the symbol of a Grand Temple,
you may construct that card for free. The token isn’t discarded.
You can also construct a Grand Temple by paying its cost.
At the end of the game, you score 5, 12, or 21 victory points if you’ve
built 1, 2, or 3 Grand Temples.
Example: At the end of the game, Elodie has built 2 Grand Temples and
Jack has built 1. Elodie scores 12 victory points, and Jack 5.
Activating a card from the Pantheon
Starting in Age II, you now have a new action available.
You can:
--Construct a Building.
--Discard to gain Coins.
--Construct a Wonder.
--Activate a card from the Pantheon.
This new action doesn’t use a card from the structure!
When you wish to activate a card from the Pantheon:
• Pay the cost given by the space which contains the Divinity,
or by the Gate in coins and/or Offering tokens.
Be careful, each space shows two costs. One for you and
one for your opponent. You must always pay your cost, the
spaces further away from you will cost you more.
Be careful, the cost of the Gate is equal to twice its space.
• Take the Divinity or the Gate card, place it in front of
yourself, and immediately apply its effect.
Example: Elodie activates Mars. She pays 5 coins (3 thanks to the Offering token, and 2 with her City’s treasury). She places the Mars card in
front of herself and moves the Conflict token forward 2 spaces.
The end of the game is similar to that of the base game. Don’t forget to tally the victory points granted by the Divinities in the space
meant for it in the Score notepad.
Authors: Antoine Bauza and Bruno Cathala
Artwork: Miguel Coimbra
Development: “The Sombrero-wearing Belgians”
aka Cédrick Caumont & Thomas Provoost
Rules Writing: Théo Rivière
English translation: Eric Harlaux
English revision: Eric Franklin
Production Manager: Guillaume Pilon
Visual Manager: Alexis Vanmeerbeeck
Layout: Cédric Chevalier, Éric Azagury
22, Rue des comédiens 1000 Brussels - Belgium Tél.+32 471 95 41 32
The contents of this box may only be used for purposes
of private entertainment.
Antoine thanks the regulars from La
Cafetière, especially Bruno Goube
for his implication in this expansion
and his many numerous returns.
Bruno thanks Maël Cathala, François
Blanc, Christophe Mercier, Julien Gilles
& the players from Jeux au Boute.
Repos Production deeply thanks Dim
and Anne Cat for their precious returns,
Ben and the Snakes for the great
testing opportunities, and to all of
our testers who have put their sweat
in our labor, with a special thought
for Alain, Floriane, Horian, Justine,
Nelson and Yves.
Mesopotamian Mythology
When Enki is revealed, randomly draw 2 Progress
tokens from those discarded at the beginning
of the game. These tokens are placed face-up on Enki’s card. When
you invoke Enki, choose one of these two Progress tokens and gain
it. The other token is returned to the box with those discarded at
the beginning of the game.
This Divinity grants the shown scientific symbol (identical
to that of the Law Progress token).
Place the Snake token on an opponent’s green card.
Nisaba is worth the scientific symbol shown on the card.
Phoenician Mythology
Place 7 coins from the bank on Astarte’s card. These
are not part of your City’s Treasury, and so are thus
protected against coin losses. It’s possible to spend
them normally. At the end of the game, each coin still present on
Astarte’s card is worth 1 victory point for you.
Steal a brown or grey card built by your opponent, it
is added to the cards of your City.
Take 12 coins from the bank.
Greek Mythology
This Divinity is worth 9 victory points.
You take all cards discarded since the beginning of the
game, choose one, and construct it for free.
Put in the discard pile a card of your choice (face up
or down) from the structure, as well as any tokens
which may be present on that card.
Egyptian Mythology
Discard a card previously used to construct
a Wonder (an opposing one or one of your
own). The affected player doesn’t lose the instant effects previously
granted by that Wonder (shields, coins, progress tokens, constructed
or discarded card, replay effect).
It is possible to rebuild this Wonder and thus apply its effects once again.
Choose a card from the discard pile and
construct one of your Wonders for free
using that card.
Steal an opponent’s Wonder which has not yet been
constructed; it is added to your own Wonders.
Roman Mythology
This Divinity grants 2 shields.
Place the Minerva pawn on any space of the Military
Track. If the Conflict pawn would enter the space which
contains the Minerva pawn, it instead stops moving and its movement ends. Then discard the Minerva pawn.
Reminder: The Conflict pawn only moves one space at a time.
Example: Elodie constructs a Courthouse. She moves the Conflict pawn
two spaces, then the Minerva pawn is discarded (the last Shield granted
by the Court House is lost).
Choose and discard a Military token without applying its effect. Then choose and
apply the effect of another Military token (which is then discarded).
Example: Elodie activates Neptune’s power, she discards the Military
token which could make her lose 5 coins. Then she applies the Military
token which makes Jack lose 5 coins. The token is discarded.
Be careful: the activation cost of the Gate corresponds to twice
the normal activation cost of its space.
Reveal the top Divinity card from each
Mythology deck. Then choose one of the
revealed Divinities and activate it for free.
Finally, replace the other Divinities facedown on their respective decks.
The Sanctuary
The activation costs of the Pantheon are reduced by 2 coins
for you.
Immediately play a second turn.
The Divine Theater
Reveal all of the cards from a Mythology deck of your
choice. Choose one of the Divinities revealed this way and
activate it for free. Then stack the unused cards, in the
order of their choice.
This Wonder is worth 2 victory points.
At the end of the game, you score 2 victory
point for each Mythology token and each
Offering token still in your possession.
Example: At the end of the game, Elodie owns
2 Divinity tokens and 1 Offering token. She
scores 6 victory points.
Each time you move the Conflict token forward
on the track, your opponent loses a coin for
each space moved.
Example: Elodie has the Poliorcetics token and
constructs a Courthouse (3 shields). She moves
the Conflict token 3 spaces towards her opponent’s capital. Her opponent loses 3 coins.
You can construct, for 1 coin, any card which
has, under its cost, a chaining symbol (white
symbol), even if your city doesn’t contain the
Building or the token which has that symbol.
Example: Elodie has the Engineering token
and wants to construct the Fortifications. She
doesn’t have the Palisade and thus pays 1 coin
to the bank to construct the Fortifications.
Q: Can a player activate a Divinity when the resolution of its power
is impossible?
A: Yes, the player can activate a Divinity while the resolution of its
power is impossible.
Q: Do the players regain coins when an Offering token is used?
A: No, the Offering tokens are only cost reductions.
Q: If a player steals a Wonder from their opponent using Ra’s power,
then they can construct 5 Wonders and their opponent 2?
A: Yes; the number of Wonders constructed by a player isn’t limited
to 4. However, there still can only be 7 Wonders built in all.
Q: 7 Wonders were constructed and Anubis has just been activated.
What happens to the 8th Wonder previously returned to the box?
A: The 8th Wonder remains in the box.
Q: Does the symbol copied by Nisaba and the one granted by Ishtar
allow the player to gain a Progress token?
A: Yes, these scientific symbols are treated like all of the others.
Q: Can a player place the Minerva pawn on their Capital space?
A: Yes, it’s a space on the Military Track.
Q: What happens if Enki isn’t chosen when the Gate or the Divine
Theater are activated?
A: The revealed Progress tokens are returned to the box with those
discarded at the beginning of the game.
Q: What happens with the Progress tokens returned to the box?
A: They are mixed with the other Progress tokens present in the box.
Q: What happens if a player makes a pair of scientific symbols and that
there are no longer any Progress tokens available on the board?
A: The player doesn’t earn anything.
Q: If a player owns the Engineering and Urbanism Progess does he
takes 4 coins when he build a building with the Engineering ?
A: No, this construction is not a considered has chain.
Q: With Neptune, can a player choose a military token from his side
of the board to have his opponent lose coins ?
A: Yes, Neptune allow you to take any two military tokens.
Was this manual useful for you? yes no
Thank you for your participation!

* Your assessment is very important for improving the work of artificial intelligence, which forms the content of this project

Download PDF