Remote Automation Solutions FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
Remote Automation Solutions FBxDesigner is a powerful programming tool that allows you to create custom applications for your FB3000 RTU. With FBxDesigner, you can:
- Create custom logic using all five IEC61131 languages
- Use a library of pre-defined function blocks to simplify programming
- Create custom displays for operators to interact with your application
- Combine your FBxDesigner project with custom displays and user-defined objects to generate an application
- Download your application to the FB3000 RTU for execution
Advertisement
Advertisement
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
Part Number: D301860X012
August 2019
Remote Automation Solutions
Application Safety Considerations
Protecting Operating Processes
A failure of this application — for whatever reason -may leave an operating process without appropriate protection and could result in possible damage to property or injury to persons. To protect against this, you should review the need for additional backup equipment or provide alternate means of protection (such as alarm devices, output limiting, failsafe valves, relief valves, emergency shutoffs, emergency switches, etc.)
System Training
A well-trained workforce is critical to the success of your operation. Knowing how to correctly install, configure, program, calibrate, and trouble-shoot your Emerson equipment provides your engineers and technicians with the skills and confidence to optimize your investment. Remote Automation Solutions offers a variety of ways for your personnel to acquire essential system expertise. Our full-time professional instructors can conduct classroom training at several of our corporate offices, at your site, or even at your regional Emerson office. You can also receive the same quality training via our live, interactive Emerson Virtual Classroom and save on travel costs. For our complete schedule and further information, contact the Remote Automation Solutions Training
Department at 800-338-8158 or email us at [email protected]
.
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
Contents
Field Tools, FBxConnect, and FBxDesigner .................................................... 1
Configurations, Projects, Applications, and Solutions .................................... 3
Installing Field Tools Software including FBxDesigner .................................... 6
Creating a Simple FBxDesigner Project ........................................................ 15
i
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
Creating and Downloading an Application into the Connected RTU .............38
Packaging an Application for Reuse .............................................................40
Removing a Project/Application ..................................................................42
Downloading an Application to an RTU ........................................................42
ii
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
Introduction
This guide outlines the basic steps to create a simple FBxDesigner™ application for your FB3000
RTU, and also explains some relevant terminology used within FBxDesigner.
Field Tools, FBxConnect, and FBxDesigner
There are three PC-based software components used to configure an FB3000 RTU. They are represented as items 2, 3, and 4 in the figure, below.
1 FB3000 RTU
2 Field Tools
3 FBxConnect
4 FBxDesigner
1
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
Field Tools
The Field Tools software establishes communications with the RTU.
The Field Tools software suite also includes FBxConnect and FBxDesigner, and you must select them for installation when you install Field Tools.
Once Field Tools starts a communication connection with the FB3000 RTU, it automatically launches FBxConnect configuration software, so you can configure and monitor the RTU.
For each RTU you connect to, Field Tools creates a set of configuration folders at the PC for your activities in FBxConnect and FBxDesigner. This hierarchy of folders is called a solution and ultimately holds everything you create in FBxConnect, portions of what you create in
FBxDesigner, plus all the communication parameters for your connection to this particular RTU.
Depending upon how many RTUs you have, you might have several different solutions on your
PC, each with its own set of folders and files.
For full details on Field Tools, refer to the Field Tools Quick Start Guide (D301703X412) and the online help within the software.
FBxConnect
Once you establish communications through Field Tools, FBxConnect launches to allow you to configure the device. If you do not have an active communication connection, FBxConnect can also operate offline.
FBxConnect includes a series of standard menus which allow you to configure I/O, define meters and stations, set up historical data storage and alarming, and other common tasks for the RTU.
FBxConnect also supports a set of action, math, and effect blocks to allow you to perform common logic operations. Whether used offline or online, the menu entries you make in
FBxConnect are stored as the standard configuration for the RTU.
In addition, FBxConnect includes an integrated display builder (FBxVue™) to create customized graphical displays an operator can view within FBxConnect to monitor and control the RTU.
FBxConnect stores both the standard configuration and any custom displays as XML files in folders within the solution folder hierarchy.
For full details on FBxConnect, refer to the FBxConnect Configuration Software User Manual
(D301850X012) and the online help within the software.
FBxDesigner
For programming and control operations beyond what is offered in FBxConnect, you use
FBxDesigner software.
FBxDesigner is a licensed option in Field Tools which supports custom programming in accordance with the IEC61131 standard. FBxDesigner supports all five IEC61131 languages (FBD,
ST, LD, SFC, and IL) by incorporating the industry-standard MULTIPROG IEC 61131 programming tool.
2
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
FBxDesigner also includes a library of pre-defined function blocks tailored specifically to referencing data in the FB3000 RTU. For information on how the various function blocks work, refer to the online help in the software.
Configurations, Projects, Applications, and
Solutions
Configurations
As mentioned, before, all the choices you make in the standard FBxConnect menus are referred to as the standard configuration for the RTU. The configuration files are stored in a folder within the solution folder hierarchy for the RTU.
Projects
The programs you create and edit in FBxDesigner are stored as a project. Although the project consists of an .MWT file and associated sub-folders, we strongly recommend you save the project as a zipped file with an extension of *.ZWT; the ZWT includes all the source and related folders for the project.
When you finish creating your project, you must generate a machine-readable version of it, called a boot project, since that is the actual file that the FB3000 RTU executes.
The FBxDesigner project is a required component of any application.
Applications
An application consists of up to three components.
FBxDesigner Project
(REQUIRED)
User-Defined Objects
(OPTIONAL)
Displays (OPTIONAL)
A custom program (or programs) created in FBxDesigner that handle logic not available in the standard configuration for the RTU.
These are extensions to the RTU’s database which define a particular object. You might, for example, create an object called a pump, or a compressor. Comma separated variable (CSV) files define the parameters for these objects. Typically, these objects are created in a text editor by a third-party integrator such as an Emerson
Impact Partner to mimic field devices at a customer site.
You also use CSV files for localization allowing you to change the language used on screens.
You can use FBxVue to create displays for an operator to interact with the project.
3
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
You can combine the FBxDesigner project with any custom displays you create in FBxConnect and any user-defined objects to generate an application. Although display creation and user-defined objects are beyond the scope of this guide, their inclusion in an application can allow the application to be integrated seamlessly into FBxConnect, alongside the standard menus and functions.
The various components of an application can be exported as a single *.ZAP file (application package) and can be downloaded into any FB3000 RTU. An application package can be loaded by field technicians from FBxConnect, without the use of FBxDesigner programming software.
Solutions
The solution folders contain the standard configuration you define in FBxConnect, plus any applications you create which include an FBxDesigner project, and optionally displays and CSV files for custom objects and localization.
The entire set of folders for the solution can be compressed into a single zipped solution file
(*.ZSL) which you can use to distribute the same identical solution to multiple RTUs.
4
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
Overview of Steps
1.
Install the Field Tools software suite including FBxConnect and FBxDesigner.
2.
3.
Create an FBxDesigner Project (including a Boot Project).
4.
Create Displays (OPTIONAL – beyond the scope of this document).
5.
Create User Defined Objects (OPTIONAL – beyond the scope of this document).
6.
Create and Download an Application.
5
6
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
Installing Field Tools Software including
FBxDesigner
You install Field Tools 3.x software (which launches FBxConnect) on your PC to configure the device.
Important
Field Tools (including FBxConnect) is available as a free software download to registered SupportNet users. If you are not a registered SupportNet user, new accounts take up to 24 hours to process so plan accordingly.
Although you install it as part of the Field Tools installation, you must purchase a software license for FBxDesigner.
Both FBxDesigner and ControlWave Designer can co-exist on the same PC, however, you can only run one or the other at any given time.
Before beginning the installation, close all other applications.
Field Tools cannot reside on a computer running any component of
OpenEnterprise 2.x, OpenEnterprise 3.x, OpenEnterprise Client/Server, or
ObjectServer software.
TechView and other components of BSI_Config software cannot be installed on a computer running OpenBSI Network Edition versions older than 5.9 Service
Pack 2.
You must have administrative privileges to install Field Tools.
You must disable User Account Control (UAC) prior to installing Field Tools (you can re-enable it after a successful installation).
As part of the installation, software from Eltima is automatically installed.
Depending upon your permissions, Windows may require you to confirm this installation before the installation can proceed.
1.
Right click on the installer file, and choose Run as administrator from the pop-up menu.
2.
Follow the on-screen instructions. For details on minimum hardware/software requirements as well as more details on the installation steps see the Field Tools
Quick Start Guide (D301703X412).
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
Note
During Field Tools installation, you must select the FBx support including
FBxConnect option and FBxDesigner -FBx Application Development.
3.
After software installation re-boot, start Field Tools from either the Windows
Start Programs menu or (if you created it) from the desktop icon.
4.
Log onto Field Tools.
Important
The very first time you login with Field Tools, use the default username of admin and leave the password field blank. Then assign a new password when prompted.
See the Field Tools Quick Start Guide for any questions you have on changing default passwords after installation.
7
8
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
Licensing FBxDesigner
If you start FBxDesigner and receive the message below, you must upgrade your license to include FBxDesigner.
1.
Click OpenEnterprise License Manager as shown in the prompt above.
2.
Click Get Upgrade in the License Manager; this takes you to the licensing website.
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
3.
Sign onto the licensing website using the License id and password you received when you purchased the software.
4.
From the choices presented click the Upgrade option.
5.
In the Upgrade Software Licenses section of the website, click Upgrade in the Field
Tools section.
9
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
6.
Right-click on Key File and save the .KEY file on your desktop.
7.
Now in the License Manager, click Include Upgrade to upgrade your Field Tools license to cover FBxDesigner; navigate to the KEY file on your desktop, and select it. The system validates the key file and licenses FBxDesigner.
Note: If you encounter a problem where registration fails due to a corrupt key file (which is possible when saving from some browsers) open the key file on the website, and copy its contents into any empty text (*.TXT) file in Notepad, then save it and rename it with an extension of *.KEY and include the key as described in Step 7 above.
10
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
Setting Up I/O in FBxConnect
Note
For purposes of this guide, we assume you have already used Field Tools to establish communications with the FB3000 which then launches FBxConnect.
For full details on I/O configuration in FBxConnect, consult the FBxConnect online help.
Now, we are going to configure some I/O points that we will use later. Our device has a single mixed I/O module in Slot 2 (IOConfig_2). Note: There can be no I/O module in Slot 1 because that’s where the CPU module resides.
1.
Click the Configure tab, then click IO Setup > AI.
2.
We are going to configure analog input #1 on the module (default tag of AI_2-1). It will represent the level of water in a tank. Refer to the screen shot, below, and change the following fields, as shown.
Enter T101_LVL for the Tag.
Choose Linear (short) for the Unit’s Type.
Choose Current for the Current/Voltage Selection.
11
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
3.
Click Save.
4.
Click IO Setup > DO.
12
5.
We are going to configure digital output #1 on the module (default tag of DO_2-1).
When turned ON, it’s intended to open a drain.
We give it a Tag name of OPEN_DRAIN.
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
Click Save to save the I/O configuration.
13
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
Starting FBxDesigner
To start FBxDesigner, click Start > Emerson Field Tools > FBxDesigner.
14
Note
If FBxDesigner immediately shuts down after you start it, you probably never licensed your copy of FBxDesigner. Please see Licensing FBxDesigner .
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
Creating a Simple FBxDesigner Project
In this example, we’re going to create a simple project using FBD (Function Block Diagram) which is one of the IEC 61131 languages. This project compares an analog value to a setpoint, and based on the value, opens or closes a valve.
Creating a New Project
Click File > New Project (or click the New Project icon ).
Choose Template for FB3000 in the New Project dialog box, then click OK.
FBxDesigner opens the Project Tree Window. The following table talks about some of the more important items in the Project Tree Window.
15
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
Important Items in the Project Tree
The project tree includes a series of folders and worksheets which define the various elements of your project. This table discusses some of the most important elements of the project tree.
Logical POUs Program Organization Units (POUs) hold the program code for your project. They are defined on three separate worksheets. One worksheet can optionally contain a textual description of the POU, a second worksheet lists the variables associated with the POU, and a third worksheet defines the POU code. POUs can be up to 640 K bytes in size, and there is an enforced limit of 512 POUs per project. There are three types of POUs:
Functions - Sometimes the term function is abbreviated as ‘FU’. These are the simplest type of POU. They can take multiple inputs, but they generate only one output. The memory allocated for a function’s data is not persistent; i.e. once the function completes execution, that memory is released. Functions are generally used to perform mathematical operations; an example of a function is R_INT which truncates a real number to an integer.
Functions can only call other functions. Functions can only be executed when included as part of a program POU.
Function Blocks - Sometimes the term function block is abbreviated as ‘FB’. Function blocks can take multiple inputs, and they can generate multiple outputs. Unlike functions, they can have persistent memory. User-defined function blocks can be created which consist of logical connections of various functions and function blocks. Function blocks can only be executed when included as part of a program POU.
Programs — Programs are essentially groups of functions and function blocks which have been logically connected together to perform some task. Programs are the only type of
POU which can actually be executed. Users can create more than one program in a project, and in fact, they can create multiple instances of the same program. Programs can contain persistent memory. The project tree includes a simple program called CYCLE_COUNT which just adds 1 to a total every time it executes.
Libraries There are two types of libraries: Firmware libraries are libraries of functions and function blocks created specifically for this controller model. The FBxRTU library is a firmware library containing functions and function blocks created specifically for the FB3000-series of controllers. It is automatically loaded when you choose the FB3000 Template in the New Project dialog box. User libraries are optionally created by the user. They are libraries of programs, functions, and function blocks called in from other previously saved projects.
Data Types The Data Type worksheets can be used to define customized data type structures.
For example, arrays of numbers. NOTE: The data entered here only defines the data type, it doesn’t actually set aside memory for storing the data - - that occurs in a variable declaration.
16
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
Important Items in the Project Tree (continued)
For reference, the right-most column of the table, below, shows the standard datatypes supported in FBxDesigner that can be part of custom datatypes you might create, and corresponding data types used in the RTU’s database.
IEC61131
Data
Type
Description Native Database
Data Type
SINT
INT
DINT
LINT
USINT
Short Integer
Integer
Double Integer
Long Long Integer
Unsigned Short Integer
INT8
INT16
INT32
INT64
UINT8, BIN8, BOOL
UINT
UDINT
REAL
LREAL
Unsigned Integer
Real Numbers
Long Real Numbers
UINT16, BIN16
Unsigned Double Integer UINT32, BIN32, TIME
FLOAT
DOUBLE
STRING String UC10, UC20, UC30, UC40
Physical Hardware Physical hardware defines details of the actual controller which will execute the project. It is divided into several sections:
CONFIGURATION is the type of code generation required for the controller. For FB3000, it is always FB3000 eCLR.
RESOURCE defines the type of run-time system used — in this case, it is always “FB3000” with the “ARM_LE_GCC3” processor.
Tasks are the actual mechanism by which programs are executed. When you have completely defined a program, you must associate a program instance with an executing task, and define the rate of execution.
Global_Variables is where any user-created global variables are defined.
IO_Configuration defines drivers used to communicate with the FB3000 database.
17
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
Important Items in the Project Tree (continued)
Additional worksheets are added to the project tree as you build your project. Some of these are added automatically, others must be manually added by the user.
Do not rename items in the project tree created automatically by FBxDesigner. FBxDesigner looks for worksheets under specific items of the tree, and if you rename those items,
FBxDesigner will be unable to locate those worksheets.
Creating a Program POU For Your Project
Right click on Logical POUs and choose Insert > Program.
18
In the Insert dialog box:
Enter Myprog in the Name.
Choose Program for the Type.
Choose FBD for the Language.
Click OK.
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
If you look at the Project Tree, you’ll see we have created a Myprog item in the Project Tree with three worksheets.
This is where you can enter a textual description of the program. (OPTIONAL)
This worksheet shows the variables used in the program.
This is where you enter program code.
Double-click on the third item which is where you enter program code and then click in the program code worksheet to set an insertion point for functions and function blocks.
19
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
First, double-click here
Next, move the cursor into the middle of the program worksheet to set an insertion point.
If it’s not already visible, click the Edit Wizard icon to open the Edit Wizard pane. The Edit
Wizard pane contains a list of functions and function blocks you can use in your program.
Click here to select which groups of functions and function blocks you want. In this case, we chose all of them
“<all FUs and FBs>”
If you click at the top of the wizard, you can select “<all FUs and FBs>” so all possible functions and function blocks will be available in the wizard. Use the scroll bar to locate the function or function block you want to insert.
20
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
How do I find out what a function / function block does?
For more information about what a function/function block does, right-click on it in the Edit Wizard and choose Help on
FB/FU in the pop-up menu to open up
FBxDesigner’s online help.You can also right-click on a function or function block that you’ve already placed in the worksheet to call up its associated online help page.
To start, we need to insert a GetByTag_REAL function block so scroll to that and double-click on it to insert it in the worksheet. (The reason we need a GetByTag_REAL function block is that we want to retrieve a REAL value (also known as a floating point value) from the RTU’s database — in this case, the tank level — and bring it into the application. If we were writing to the database, we’d use a SetByTag function block.)
Use the scroll bar to find the desired function/function block, then double-click on it to insert it into the worksheet.
21
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
The Variable Properties dialog box, shown below, opens.
You might ask at this point, ‘Why is the function block being called a variable?’ The reason is that
FBxDesigner doesn’t know it’s a function block yet, but the function block is referred to in the program by an instance name, which is like a variable name.
The instance name allows the program to distinguish between different instances of the same type of function block, for example, if you had two different GetByTag_REAL function blocks in the same POU. You can optionally enter a name of your choice for the function block, or just use the default. You can also enter a comment in the “Description” field, if you want to. Now click on the OK push button.
FBxDesigner inserts a graphical representation of the GetByTag_REAL function block into the program worksheet at the location of your cursor.
22
Once it’s inserted, you can drag it around with your mouse if you want to re-position it.
Double-click on the dot feeding into the Tag parameter of the GetByTag_REAL function block; alternatively, click once on the dot then go to the menu bar and click: Objects Variable.
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
The Variable Properties dialog box opens. A default variable name beginning with ‘V00’ appears as well.
However, the GetByTag_REAL function block must receive its input from the tank level tagT101_LVL pin on mixed I/O board (defined earlier in FBxConnect); that is the variable we want so type in T101_LVL. Also, for its Initial value, we want to reference the appropriate database parameter so enter ‘AI_2-1.LIVE and click OK.
23
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
The ‘T101_LVL’ variable will now be displayed on the Tag parameter of the GetByTag_REAL function block.
We want another value against which the tank level value gets compared to; we’ll call it LIMIT.
Typically, there would be a field on a display where an operator would enter such a value, however, creating displays is beyond the scope of this guide, so we’re going to just reference another value in the RTU’s database. In this case, we’ll reference the first user data point; which is one place a value someone enters from a screen might be stored. (The User Data screen in
FBxConnect is accessible by clicking IO Setup > User Data.)
24
So let’s add another GetByTag_REAL function block to retrieve that user data point. Notice that when you add a second GetByTag_REAL function block, it’s appended with a number two to distinguish it from the first instance of GetByTag_REAL.
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
Then we want to double-click on its Tag parameter and enter LIMIT as the name, and for the initial value, type in that “User Data_1.FLOAT_1” reference to the user data area in the RTU’s database.
That represents the user-entered limit or setpoint to which the T101_LVL parameter gets compared, then click OK.
25
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
Here’s what the result looks like:
26
Now the REAL values of the two function blocks, which get retrieved from the RTU are what we want to compare. They will serve as inputs to another function— the GE function.
The GE (for Greater than or Equal to) function compares two values and sets a BOOL value based on the comparison. Let’s add that function now.
To insert the GE function, click in an open area of the window pane. Again, in the Edit Wizard you must choose “<All FBs and
FUs>” for the Group to see all the choices, then scroll down to locate the GE function block, and double-click on it to place it at our insertion point in the worksheet.
Now we have two GetByTag_REAL function blocks and a GE function, but they are not connected.
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
We want to take the output of the top GetByTag_REAL function block (which is the tank level retrieved from the RTU’s database) and feed that into the input of the GE (greater than or equal to) function.
To do this; click on the green dot representing the Value parameter of the GetByTag_REAL function block. Move the mouse horizontally and you will notice that a line is drawn as you move the cursor.
27
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
Drag the mouse down to the level of one of the middle input points of the GE function, then without releasing the mouse, click once, and drag to the input point to form a connection.
28
Repeat this process with the Value output of the GetByTag_REAL2 function block, except this time, drag the mouse upwards to the level of the bottom-most input point on the GE function, and make that connection.
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
Now we have two inputs to the GE function. We want to open a drain valve on a tank when tank level value (T101_LVL) is greater than or equal to some specified value (LIMIT). The GE function turns an output of ON (TRUE), whenever T101_LVL ≥ LIMIT so we want to take that output (a
BOOL value) and send it to the RTU.
The database in the RTU, however, stores BOOL values as integer values 0 (FALSE or OFF) or 1
(TRUE or ON), so we have a little more work to do.
We have to take the output of the GE function, and convert it from a BOOL to an INT.
Luckily, there’s a function that does that for us called
BOOL_TO_INT so locate it in the Edit Wizard and insert it into our worksheet at our insertion point.
29
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
Once we add the BOOL_TO_INT, we need to connect the output of the GE function to the input of the BOOL_TO_INT function so it looks like this:
30
Now that we have a way to convert the BOOL to an INT, we need a way to get that converted value into the RTU’s database, so we need to add a
SetByTag_INT function block.
Locate the SetByTag_INT function in the Edit Wizard and double-click to add it to your insertion point in the worksheet.
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
Now connect the output of BOOL_TO_INT to the Value parameter of SetByTag_INT:
Now we need to specify the tag name in the RTU database that will receive the value — it’s called
OPEN_DRAIN, so double-click on the Tag parameter of SetByTag_INT and type in OPEN_DRAIN.
Also, you want to choose STRING as the Data Type since the tag name is treated as the STRING.
For the Initial value, we want to reference the correct database parameter, so enter ‘DO_2-
1.AUTO’ then click OK.
31
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
Now the worksheet looks like this:
32
Our program (POU) is done! In order to make it do anything, however, it has to be associated with a task.
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
Creating a Task to Execute the Program
Tasks determine how fast a program, or program(s) are executed. When a task is started, it reads all inputs from the input process I/O boards, it then performs all calculations in the programs of a task, and then it writes output data out through the output points on the process I/O boards.
Tasks are found below the “Physical Hardware” branch of the Project Tree. To create a task, right click on the “Tasks” icon in the project tree and choose “Insert” and “Task’ from the pop-up menu.
Right-click on
“Task” and choose
Insert > Task
The Insert dialog box opens.
Enter a Name for the task. In this case we have chosen “Task1’. If you enter “DEFAULT’ for the task type, the task will run whenever time is available - this is sometimes referred to as the “idle task.”
In general, “CYCLIC” should be chosen for the Task type. Click OK when finished.
Enter a Name for the task.
Choose “CYCLIC” as the Task type .
Finally click OK .
The Task Settings dialog box opens. Choose the rate of execution of the task by entering a value in the Interval field. The interval is measured in milliseconds. Generally, Watchdog Time is set to the same value as the Interval. A Watchdog condition is reported if the task does not execute within the watchdog time. This allows task slippage to be detected.
33
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
In a CYCLIC task the interval between task executions is measured in milliseconds.
0 is the highest priority
1 is the next highest priority, etc.
Click OK .
If desired, specify a Priority for the task. “0” is considered the highest priority. “1” is the next highest priority, and so on.
NOTE: If you chose “DEFAULT” as the task name, the task will not execute according to an interval, but instead, will be executed whenever time is available. It serves as the idle task.
When finished, click on OK and the task will have been defined.
Now that the task exists, however, it is necessary to associate the program that we wrote with the task. Otherwise we will just have an empty task executing. To associate the program with the task, right-click on the icon for the task in the project tree, and choose Insert>Program instance from the pop-up menu.
The Insert dialog box opens. Choose Program instance as the Type.
34
Make sure Program instance
Enter a unique name.
is selected
.
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
The Program type should be
“Myprog” since it this is an instance of that POU.
Click OK .
When we insert the program, we are actually creating something called a program instance. Each program instance must be assigned a unique name - in this case we chose ”Prog1”. The program instance is essentially a copy of the “Myprog” program POU we created, so we choose “Myprog” as the Program type. Copies are used because, theoretically, you might want to use the same program in different tasks, and if you didn’t use a copy there would not be available memory set aside for internal (local) variables for each separate copy.
All local variables created in a POU are only for a particular instance. This becomes very important if you want to create a user defined function block from one of your POUs.
Click OK when finished.
Compile the Program, and if necessary, correct any errors
Now the program can be compiled. The compilation process takes your project (programs, function blocks, tasks, etc.) and generates machine-readable code from it, that can be run in the
FB3000.
The compilation process checks for any syntactical errors in your program, and also issues warnings about possible problems with the structure of the program. It does not check for logic errors in your control strategy, however.
To compile the program, click on the icon shown at left, or go to the menu bar, and click as follows: Build>Make
Various messages scroll by on the screen.
35
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
If there are errors or warnings, click on the
“Errors” or “Warnings” tabs.
If there are errors or warnings generated during the compilation, you can view them by clicking on the “Errors” or “Warnings” tabs, respectively.
Often, you can double-click on the error listed in the error window, and the compiler identifies its location in the project.
For more information about what a particular error message means, right-click on the error message, then choose Help on Message from the pop-up menu (if it is available.)
Note: Help is not available for all error messages, and in some cases, the error might not be located in the exact location if you’ve edited text above it and did not recompile the project.
Double-click on the message to jump to the location in the file where the compiler detects the error.
Right-click on the error and choose
“Help on Message” from the pop-up menu to view more information about the error.
Save Your Project
To save your project, click on File>Save Project As/Zip Project As and specify a path and filename for the project.
If you save the project “as is” i.e. uncompressed, it will have a file extension of *.Mwt, and will also have a sub-directory of files associated with it with the same name as the project. If you choose to zip the project (i.e. compress it), it will have a file extension of *.Zwt. To create an application package that you can download via FBxConnect, choose Mwt.
Notes
If you intend to copy the project to a different location, or a different PC, it is strongly recommended you zip the project first to ensure that all files are copied.
If, after unzipping a project, you try to save it and you encounter a message “Cannot copy file file_path\filename .TXT. Command aborted!”, go in Windows Explorer to the path and filename listed, and delete the named file(s). Then try to save the project again. If a similar message
36
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019 appears, repeat this process, as necessary. You will then be able to successfully save the project.
Creating the Boot Project
The FBxDesigner .MWT or .ZWT file cannot execute directly within the FB3000. You need to generate a machine-readable boot file that can run in the FB3000:
1.
Right-click on the RESOURCE and choose Create Bootproject.
2.
In the Bootproject Options dialog box, you can optionally select Include Sources and select individual elements of the project source files to include within the boot project.
Then click OK .
37
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
3.
FBxDesigner now reports various messages as it creates the boot project.
Creating and Downloading an Application into the
Connected RTU
There are eight software “slots” in the FB3000 RTU which can hold applications.
An application consists of the following items:
An FBxDesigner project (which must include the boot project)
Display file(s) created in FBxConnect ‐ OPTIONAL
User‐Defined Database Objects ‐ OPTIONAL
DANGER
Users should never attempt to download untested software into a controller if the controller is currently connected to a running plant or industrial process. Safeguards must be taken prior to downloading to ensure that the controller is isolated from the process and I/O is disconnected. Failure to take such precautions could result in injury to persons or damage to property.
1.
Connect to the RTU through Field Tools and when FBxConnect launches, click Applications
>Management
2.
Click an empty slot into which you want to download an application, then click Add
FBxDesigner Project
38
Name of currently connected RTU
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
Click an empty slot, then click
Add FBxDesigner project
3.
Browse to the appropriate folder and select the project’s .MWT file; this automatically also selects the Bootproject you created earlier. Note: If you only have a ZWT file, unzip it first to generate the MWT. If we had displays or user-created objects to include with the project, we would check those boxes and browse to those items as well but creating those is beyond the scope of this guide. Since we don’t have those, leave those boxes unchecked. Once the selected project is shown in the FBxDesigner project file field, click Add project.
The status pane now shows Project added successfully.
39
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
4.
Click Close to exit the dialog box and FBxConnect automatically begins to download the project into the RTU. The Application Management dialog box returns to show the download progress and reports Application added successfully when the download completes, and the project starts executing.
5.
Click Close to exit the Application management dialog box.
Packaging an Application for Reuse
Once you successfully download an application, you can package it into a .ZAP file that you can reuse on other RTUs.
1.
Connect to the RTU through Field Tools and when FBxConnect launches, click Applications
>Management
2.
Click the Name of the application in its slot that you want to package, then click Export application to launch the Application Packager.
40
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
3.
In the Application Packager, the Application Path shows the location of the files you just selected, and the Select Destination Path field shows where the ZAP file will be created. (You can optionally specify a different path for the destination if you click Browse.) Also, you can optionally specify an Application Version different than the default shown to distinguish between different versions of the application.
4.
Click Package to generate the ZAP file. If you save it in the default location, you can find it at
\Users\Public\Documents\Emerson\FieldTools\FBx\Applications. You can copy it to a memory stick and use it on any PC with FBxConnect.
41
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
5.
Click Close. You can now download that ZAP file to any other FB3000 RTU.
Removing a Project/Application
If a slot is already occupied, you must remove the current application shown in the slot before you can download a different application into that slot. if you need to remove an existing application.
1.
Start FBxConnect and click Applications > Management.
2.
In the Application Management dialog box, click the application you want to remove, then click Remove Application.
3.
A prompt asks you to confirm you want to remove the application. If you click Yes ,
FBxDesigner deletes the application from the device; if you click No , the application remains untouched.
Downloading an Application to an RTU
DANGER
Users should never attempt to download untested software into a controller if the controller is currently connected to a running plant or industrial process. Safeguards must be taken prior to downloading to ensure that the controller is isolated from the process and I/O is disconnected. Failure to take such precautions could result in injury to persons or damage to property.
1.
Insert the memory stick containing your application(s) into the PC you use to communicate with the RTU.
42
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
2.
Connect to the RTU through Field Tools and when FBxConnect launches, click Applications
>Management
3.
Click an empty slot into which you want to download an application, then click Import application and browse to the appropriate folder on the memory stick and select the application, then click Open.
4.
FBxConnect automatically downloads the application into the RTU and starts it. Click Close to exit the dialog box.
43
FBxDesigner Quick Start Guide
D301860X012
August 2019
For customer service and technical support, visit www.Emerson.com/SupportNet
Global Headquarters,
North America, and Latin America:
Emerson Automation Solutions
Remote Automation Solutions
6005 Rogerdale Road
Houston, TX 77072 U.S.A.
T +1 281 879 2699 | F +1 281 988 4445 www.Emerson.com/Remote
Europe:
Emerson Automation Solutions
Remote Automation Solutions
Unit 1, Waterfront Business Park
Dudley Road, Brierley Hill
Dudley DY5 1LX UK
T +44 1384 487200 | F +44 1384 487258
Middle East/Africa:
Emerson Automation Solutions
Remote Automation Solutions
Emerson FZE
P.O. Box 17033
Jebel Ali Free Zone — South 2
Dubai U.A.E.
T +971 4 8118100 | F +971 4 8865465
Asia-Pacific:
Emerson Automation Solutions
Remote Automation Solutions
1 Pandan Crescent
Singapore 128461
T +65 6777 8211| F +65 6777 0947
© 2019 Remote Automation Solutions, a business unit of Emerson Automation Solutions. All rights reserved.
Portions of this software may use the following copyrighted material:
© 2016-2017, SafeNet, Inc. All rights reserved.
©1998-2016 The OpenSSL Project. All rights reserved. Open SSL
©2006-2015, ARM Limited, All Rights Reserved. mbed TLS
©2005-2014 Mike Pall. All rights reserved. Lua-jit
©2007-2015 Lua.org. Lpeg
©1994-2015 Lua.org. Lua-expat, Luafilesystem
©2014 codingnow.com. Sproto
©23 March 2010 Luiz Henrique de Figueiredo. Lbase 64
©1998, 1999, 2000 Thai Open Source Software Center Ltd and Clark Cooper. Expat
©2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006 Expat maintainers. Expat
©1995-1998 Eric Young ([email protected]).SSLeay
This publication is for informational purposes only. While every effort has been made to ensure accuracy, this publication shall not be read to include any warranty or guarantee, express or implied, including as regards the products or services described or their use or applicability.
Remote Automation Solutions (RAS) reserves the right to modify or improve the designs or specifications of its products at any time without notice. All sales are governed by RAS terms and conditions which are available upon request. RAS accepts no responsibility for proper selection, use or maintenance of any product, which remains solely with the purchaser and/or end-user.
Remote Automation Solutions
Download
Advertisement