Clear-Com Eclipse HX EHX User Guide
Below you will find brief information for Eclipse HX EHX. Use EHX to create groups and one-to-many calls (fixed groups), store complete system setups (configurations) on the EHX PC, apply and instantly implement a configuration on the matrix, store four complete configuration maps in the matrix on-board memory, any of which can be activated immediately from the front of the matrix with the push of a button.
Advertisement
Advertisement
User Guide
Eclipse 12.1 HX (EHX) Software
User Guide
Part Number: PUB-00043 Revision A
Date: January 19, 2021
Page 2
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Reference
Legal disclaimers
Copyright © 2021 HME Clear-Com Ltd
All rights reserved
Clear-Com, the Clear-Com logo, and Clear-Com Concert are trademarks or registered trademarks of HM Electronics, Inc.
The software described in this document is furnished under a license agreement and may be used only in accordance with the terms of the agreement.
The product described in this document is distributed under licenses restricting its use, copying, distribution, and decompilation / reverse engineering. No part of this document may be reproduced in any form by any means without prior written authorization of Clear-Com, an HME
Company.
Clear-Com Offices are located in California, USA; Cambridge, UK; Dubai, UAE; Montreal,
Canada; and Beijing, China. Specific addresses and contact information can be found on Clear-
Com’s corporate website: www.clearcom.com
Clear-Com Contacts:
Americas and Asia-Pacific Headquarters
California, United States
Tel: +1 510 337 6600
Email: [email protected]
Europe, Middle East, and Africa Headquarters
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Tel: +44 1223 815000
Email: [email protected]
China Office
Beijing Representative Office
Beijing, P.R. China
Tel: +8610 65811360/65815577
Page 3
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Table of Contents
1 Introduction to EHX Configuration Software
1.2 Setting Up an Eclipse HX Matrix System
Backing Up your Existing Projects and Configurations
Backing Up ECS 5.2.x Projects and Configuration
Backing Up EHX /8.x and above Projects and Configurations
Uninstalling and Reinstalling EHX - Configurations
2.5 Importing your Projects and Configurations into EHX
3.4 Selecting Ethernet or Serial Connection
Reconfiguring Network Settings in Windows
Checking Ethernet Connections with the Windows Ping Utility
Changing Matrix IP address using Matrix Event Log
4.1 Eclipse HX Configuration Software (EHX)
Page 4
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
5 Managing Configurations and Users
5.4 Password Protection Override
5.6 Importing and Exporting a Project
5.9 Importing/Exporting Configuration Keysets
5.11 Logging In and Out of EHX
5.14 The EHX Screen After a Project Has Been Loaded
6.4 Selecting Ports on the Card
6.12 System Configuration Limits
Page 5
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Apply Changes with Reset and Clear all Memory
7.3 Preserving Locally Assigned Keys
7.4 Apply Changes to all Matrices
7.5 Configuration Application Preferences
8 Adding and Configuring an MVX-A16 Card
8.1 Adding an MVX-A16 Card (Automatic Discovery)
8.2 Adding an MVX-A16 Card (Manual)
Voice Operated Switch (VOX) Options
9 Adding and Configuring an E-QUE Card
9.1 Adding an E-Que Card (Automatic Discovery)
9.2 Adding an E-Que Card (Manual)
Page 6
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 7
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
9.11 E-Que Antenna/E-Que FS II-TA Antenna
9.12 Configuring the Antenna on an E-Que Card
9.13 Configuring the Antenna for an E-Que FS II Card
9.14 E-Que Splitter/E-Que FS II-TA Splitter
9.15 Configuring an E-Que Card for Splitter
9.16 Configuring an E-Que FS II Card for Splitter
Page 8
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
10 Adding and Configuring an IVC-32 Card
10.1 Adding an IVC-32 Card (Automatic Discovery)
10.2 Adding an IVC-32 Card (Manual)
Setting IVC-32 Card Properties
10.4 Setting the Port Function
10.6 Adding and Configuring an IVC-32 Redundant Card
11 Adding and Configuring an LMC-64 Card
11.1 Adding an LMC-64 Card (Automatic Discovery)
11.2 Adding an LMC-64 Card (Manual)
Setting the LMC-64 Card Properties
12 Adding and Configuring an E-FIB Card
12.1 Adding an E-FIB Card (Automatic Discovery)
12.2 Adding an E-FIB Card (Manual)
13 Adding and Configuring an E-MADI64 Card
13.1 Adding an E-MADI64 Card (Automatic Discovery)
13.2 Adding an E-MADI64 Card (Manual)
13.3 Removing an E-MADI64 Card
13.4 Setting E-MADI64 Card Properties
13.5 Setting the Port Function
Page 9
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Identifying the E-MADI64 Card Version
13.8 Upgrading the E-MADI64 Card Firmware
14 Adding and Configuring an E-Dante64 Card
14.1 Adding an E-Dante64 Card (Automatic Discovery)
14.2 Adding an E-Dante64 Card (Manual)
14.3 Setting the E-Dante64 Card Properties
14.4 Setting the Port Function
14.8 Configuring the Dante Interface
Label Exchange Between Dante and Eclipse
How to Enable AES67 Flows in the Dante Controller
14.9 Upgrade your E-DANTE64-HX Card
Upgrade EHX E-DANTE64 Firmware
15 Adding and Configuring an E-IPA-HX Card
How Many E-IPA Cards in a Clear-Com Matrix?
Beltpack Roaming between E-IPA-HX Cards
15.3 Adding an E-IPA-HX Card (Automatic Discovery)
15.4 Adding an E-IPA-HX Card (Manual)
15.5 Network Setup for the E-IPA-HX Card
Network Setup for Clear-Com IVC Functionality (V Series Panels, Directs,
Network Setup for AoIP Functionality: FreeSpeak IPTs and Iris Panels
Network SetUp for both IVC and FSII Functionality
15.6 Configure the E-IPA-HX Card for IVC connections
Page 10
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
15.7 Configure the E-IPA-HX Card for FreeSpeak II
15.8 Configure the E-IPA-HX Card for V-Series Iris Panels
15.9 Converting from IVC-32 to IPA Card Mapping
15.10 Configure the E-IPA card in E1 mode
How to Configure the E-IPA-HX card in E1 Mode
15.11 Routing AES67 across subnets (IPT and Iris Panel)
How to route IPTs and IP panels over Layer 3
15.12 Local RF Scanning (FS Edge)
15.15 Upgrade the E-IPA-HX Card
15.16 Upgrade the IP Transceiver
15.17 Upgrade the V-Series Iris Panel
16.1 What is AES67/SMPTE 2110 (AoIP)?
Overview and some General Rules to Use when Setting Up a Network for
Use with Clear-Com AoIP Devices 263
16.3 Enable AoIP (SMPTE 2110) License 265
The E-IPA-HX Card CCM Password
16.4 AoIP Configuration in EHX
What is a Session Descriptor Protocol (SDP) File?
16.5 AES67/SMPTE 2110 Network and Switch Requirements
16.6 AES67/SMPTE 2110 Streams in the EHX System
Receiving an 8-Channel Stream in EHX
Mapping Channels to Ports in EHX
17 Configuring AES67/SMPTE 2110
17.1 E-IPA Card Protocol Settings
Page 11
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
17.4 Configuring Clear-Com to Clear-Com Trunk Ports
FreeSpeak IP Transceivers (FS II and Edge)
17.5 Joining Clear-Com to an Already Established Media Network.
Add a Stream with up to 3 Additional Channels (Tx)
Receive Third-Party Streams in EHX
Troubleshooting: Copy and Paste SDP File to Ensure Connection
17.8 Example of an SMPTE 2110 Configuration
Alternative Method to Configure Multiple Rx Streams for Assignment to
Assigning an Rx Session to the AoIP Port
18 General Purpose Inputs and Outputs
18.1 General Purpose Inputs (GPIs)
Adding and Removing GPI-6 Modules
18.2 General Purpose Outputs (GPOs)
Panel Auxiliary and Panel Mute
19.1 The Panel Programming Screen
Removing Labels from a Stacked Key
19.4 Panel Programming Preferences
19.5 Key Operation Preferences
Page 12
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
19.7 V-Series Panel Programming
Configuring V-Series Iris Panel Color Displays
I Want all Entities (Audio Routes and Panels) to/from Studio #1 to be
19.9 Concert Panel Programming
Using EHX to Set Up i-Series Fixed Group Membership Options
Using EHX to Set Up i-Series IFB Options
Using EHX to Set Up i-Series Partyline Membership Options
Fast Key Assign Restrictions (i-Series)
19.11 Assignment Panel Partyline Membership Options
19.12 Assignment Panel Fixed Group Membership Options
Keep Hidden Keys Active (i-Series Panels)
19.14 ICS-1008 and ICS-1016 Panels
Page 13
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Call Signal to a Telephony Interface
Half-Width Hiragana, Katakana and Kanji Compatible panels
20 Configuring Audio and Conference Routing
20.2 Adding and Deleting Partylines
20.3 Partyline Attached Controls
20.6 Partyline Fast Key Assign Options
Adding and Deleting Fixed Groups
Fixed Group Fast Assign Options
Sort Function on Fixed Groups Members
Panel Auxiliary and Panel Mute
Page 14
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Adding and Deleting Sort Groups
20.12 Speed Dials Using SIP and TEL-14
Adding and Deleting Key Groups
21 Virtual Interruptible Foldbacks (IFBs)
No ISO Checkboxes Selected (Default)
ISO Interrupts all Other Incoming Audio at the ISO
ISO Interrupts all Other Incoming Audio at the Caller
IFB Interrupts other Talks from Calling Panel (Only for IFBs that Are
Assign Multiple Sources to IFB from AP panel
21.2 Viewing and Creating Virtual IFBs
21.3 Configuring IFB Properties
22 Adding and Configuring Wireless Devices
22.1 FreeSpeak II® (FS II) Beltpacks
Control Audio on Beltpack Keys C & D Using Rotary Controllers
Page 15
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Headset and Microphone Options
How to Set AA battery Type: Nickel-Metal Hydride (NiMH) or Alkaline for
FreeSpeak II™ Beltpack Programming
Upgrading Beltpack and Antenna Firmware
22.3 FreeSpeak Edge™ Transceivers
22.4 Allowed Transceivers/Restricted Roaming (FreeSpeak Edge only)
23 Telephone Audio Routes in Eclipse Matrices 440
23.1 Telephone Calls Using LQ SIP
Making Outgoing Calls Using SIP
23.2 Telephone Calls Using TEL-14
24.1 Introduction to IP Panels
24.3 Key to Color Indicator States
24.4 The Identify Me Panel Feature
Page 16
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Start Identify Me from the Cards and Ports Screen
Start Identify Me from the IP Panels Screen
24.5 Allocate a Discovered Panel to a Card
Information Available in the IP Panels Screen
24.6 Panel Information Display (IVC Panels Only)
Edit IP Settings for IVC Connected Panels in EHX
24.7 Assigning a Panel in IVC Mode to a Card Port
Diagnosing Jitter Problems: IVC Connections
Changing Jitter Buffer Settings (IVC Connections)
24.9 IP Panel Network Statistics
Assigning a Concert User to an IVC-32 Port
25.1 Introduction to Audio Mixer
Save to EHX Configuration and Exit
26.1 Introduction to Go Live Mode
27.1 Network System Configuration
Page 17
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
27.4 Allocating a Configuration to a Matrix
27.5 Deleting a Matrix From the Project
27.6 Retrieving the Last Applied Configuration From the Matrix
27.7 Exporting a Binary Downloadable Version of the Configuration File
27.8 Intelligent Linking (Trunking)
Two or More Fiber Connected Systems via Trunk
Intelligent Linking Preferences
27.2.4 Intelligent Linking: Port Priority
Pre-Mix Intelligent Link Sharing Mode
LQ Trunks – Eclipse Omega/Median/Delta to PiCo
Intelligent Linking with PiCo-Link
27.9 Programming Remote Labels
27.15 Remote Secondary Actions
Crosspoint Settings and Averaging
Page 18
Interpreting the PTP Network Screen
Transceiver/Beltpack Association Grid
29.7 E-DANTE-HX Interface Card
29.9 Save Diagnostics Information Utility
29.11 Matrix Event Log and Save Diagnostics
31.3 Warranty Repairs and Returns
31.4 Non-Warranty Repairs and Returns
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 19
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Important Safety Instructions
1.
Read these instructions.
2.
Keep these instructions.
3.
Heed all warnings.
4.
Follow all instructions.
5.
Do not use this apparatus near water.
6.
Clean only with dry cloth.
7.
Do not block any ventilation openings. Install in accordance with the manufacturer’s instructions.
8.
Do not install near any heat sources such as radiators, heat registers, stoves, or other apparatus (including amplifiers) that produce heat.
9.
Do not defeat the safety purpose of the polarized or grounding-type plug. A polarized plug has two blades, with one wider than the other. A grounding-type plug has two blades and a third grounding prong. The wide blade or the third prong are provided for your safety. If the provided plug does not fit into your outlet, consult an electrician for replacement of the obsolete outlet.
10.
Protect the power cord from being walked on or pinched particularly at plugs, convenience receptacles, and the point where they exit from the apparatus.
11.
Only use attachments/accessories specified by the manufacturer.
12.
Use only with the cart, stand, tripod, bracket, or table specified by the manufacturer, or sold with the apparatus. When a cart is used, use caution when moving the cart/apparatus combination to avoid injury from tip-over.
13.
Unplug this apparatus during lightning storms or when unused for long periods of time.
14.
Refer all servicing to qualified service personnel. Servicing is required when the apparatus has been damaged in any way, such as power-supply cord or plug is damaged, liquid has been spilled or objects have fallen into the apparatus, the apparatus has been exposed to rain or moisture, does not operate normally, or has been dropped.
15.
WARNING : To reduce the risk of fire or electric shock, do not expose this product to rain or moisture.
Page 20
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Please familiarize yourself with the safety symbols in the image below. When you see these symbols on this product, they warn you of the potential danger of electric shock if the main station is used improperly. They also refer you to important operating and maintenance instructions in the manual.
EMC AND SAFETY
This Product's power supply meets all relevant CE, FCC, UL, and CSA specifications set out below:
EN55103-1 Electromagnetic compatibility. Product family standard for audio, video, audio-visual, and entertainment lighting control apparatus for professional use. Part
1: Emissions.
EN55103-2 Electromagnetic compatibility. Product family standard for audio, video, audio-visual, and entertainment lighting control apparatus for professional use. Part
2: Immunity.
UL 60065-7, CAN/CSA-C22.2 No.60065-3, IEC 60065-7 Safety requirements.
And thereby compliance with the requirement of Electromagnetic Compatibility
Directive 2004/108/EC and Low Voltage Directive 2006/95/EC
This device complies with Part 15 of the FCC Rules. Operation is subject to the following two conditions: (1) this device may not cause harmful interference, and (2) this device must accept any interference received, including interference that may cause undesired operation.
1
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Introduction to EHX Configuration Software
EHX Configuration Software (EHX) is used to create and manage communication pathways between your Eclipse HX devices, including matrices, interface cards, interface modules and user panels.
This guide describes the features of EHX and helps you to use the software to build and configure a matrix intercom system.
For example, use EHX software to: l
Create individual, point-to-point talk and listen paths between members of a matrix intercom system.
l
Create groups and one-to-many calls (fixed groups).
l
Store complete system setups (configurations) on the EHX PC.
l
Apply and instantly implement a configuration on the matrix.
l
Store four complete configuration maps in the matrix on-board memory, any of which can be activated immediately from the front of the matrix with the push of a button.
l
Communicate with FreeSpeak II
® beltpacks and FreeSpeak Edge™ beltpacks allowing direct communication between panels and roaming users.
l
Communicate with remote panels over IP.
l
Interface with the Clear-Com Concert ™ multi-user conferencing system over IP.
l
Interface with HelixNet Partyline™, the Clear-Com digital partyline system.
l
Interface with telephones, two-way radios, camera intercoms, and more.
l
Bring an outside audio source, such as program source, into the system’s audio stream and interrupt the program audio for announcements (IFBs).
l
Activate an applause light in a studio, a lock on a door, or other control functions each time an external device such as a switch is triggered.
l
Control, monitor, or run diagnostics on a matrix system remotely from anywhere, if the matrix is set up on a LAN network.
l
Link matrices worldwide.
Page 21
1.1
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
System Components
A complete Eclipse HX system comprises the Eclipse HX configuration software (EHX), a central hardware matrix, user panels and other remote devices - interfaces, four-wire equipment—connected to the matrix. A matrix and connected devices operate in a star configuration, with each device connecting back to the matrix directly. Audio signals are routed through the central matrix and out to the connected audio devices in accordance with the configuration created in EHX.
The following sections give a brief overview of the matrix system.
Central matrix
The matrix hardware assembly comprises the following components: l
The metal housing (sometimes called the chassis or frame).
l
The central processing unit (CPU).
l
The internal circuitry which controls the attached devices.
l
Power supplies.
l
The rear panel interfaces which link the matrix to user panels and remote devices.
Page 22
Chassis
The matrix chassis (frame) is a metal rectangular container which houses the matrix internal circuitry and power supplies, as follows: l
The Eclipse HX-Omega, Eclipse HX-Median and Eclipse HX-Delta are designed to host removable CPU cards, interface cards, and interface modules.
l
The Eclipse HX-PiCo contains fixed internal circuitry.
The larger matrices (Eclipse HX-Omega, Eclipse HX-Median and Eclipse HX-Delta) have removable power supplies, which can be exchanged when necessary.
1.2
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Central processing unit (CPU)
The central processing unit (CPU) provides the serial data and Ethernet connection to the PC hosting the EHX software. There are five serial or Ethernet data connection to the PC
The CPU also coordinates the data flow for other features of the system, such as generalpurpose outputs and inputs. The CPU stores four complete system configurations in its memory, which can be retrieved and activated directly from the matrix front-panel controls, even when the matrix is not connected to a computer.
Each matrix system contains at least one central processing unit, located either on its own removable CPU card, or in internal circuitry.
The Eclipse HX-Omega, Eclipse HX-Median and Eclipse HX-Delta are supplied with two CPU cards (in a master and slave relationship), ensuring fail-safe operation.
Interface cards/PiCo matrix
The matrix interface cards control the operation of the panels and interface modules connected to them. Panels and interfaces connect to the interface cards through an RJ-45 connector, or port, on the rear panel of the matrix. The interface card sends balanced duplex audio and RS-
422 data signals to and from connected audio equipment.
Power supplies
Each Eclipse HX-Median, Eclipse HX-Omega or Eclipse HX-Delta matrix can hold two independent power supplies. These may be connected to a main and backup power source for redundancy. If one of these power supplies fails, the second supply automatically takes over.
In the event of a complete power failure, a matrix can automatically restore itself to complete functioning by retrieving configuration information from its non-volatile operational memory.
The Eclipse HX-PiCo matrix has dual AC power supplies which can operate independently.
Eclipse HX configuration software (EHX)
The Eclipse HX configuration software (EHX) controls the operation of the system’s connected audio devices, using a configuration (sometimes called a configuration map) that is applied to the matrix.
EHX can also be used to monitor the matrix for faults and to log errors for analysis.
Setting Up an Eclipse HX Matrix System
The following procedure shows the basic steps for setting up an Eclipse HX matrix system. For more quick start information, see the Eclipse HX Quick Start Guide . For detailed installation information, see the Eclipse HX Installation Guide .
Page 23
1.3
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
To set up an Eclipse HX matrix system: l
Ensure that there is a working connection between the EHX PC and the matrix.
To import a saved project from an earlier version of EHX or ECS into EHX in Client-only mode:
1.
Open EHX. Select File > Open .
2.
Navigate to the project file ( *.hxn
or *.ccn
format) saved to your hard drive. Click Open .
Note : If you import a .ccn file, remember to save your imported project as an *.hxn format file.
To import a saved project from an earlier version of EHX or ECS into EHX in Client-Server mode:
1.
Open EHX. Select File > Import Project .
2.
Navigate to the project file ( *.hxn
or *.ccn
format) saved to your hard drive. To import the file, click Open .
Note : Remember to save your project, after opening it.
3.
Repeat the above procedure for all the projects you want to import.
See
Importing your Projects and Configuration into EHX
.
Further Information
For more information about the Eclipse HX matrix system, including matrices, interface cards, interface modules and user panels, see the complete Eclipse
®
HX documentation set, available from both the Clear-Com website (www.clearcom.com) and the Eclipse HX software and documentation DVDs and USB memory sticks.
Page 24
2
2.1
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Getting Started with EHX
System Requirements
EHX 12.1 runs on the following versions of Windows: l
Microsoft Windows 10 (32-bit and 64-bit) l
Microsoft Windows Server 2012 R2 (64-bit) l
Microsoft Windows Server 2016 (64-bit) l
Microsoft Windows Server 2019 (64-bit)
Notes: Operation on other platforms is no longer supported.
When running EHX on Windows OS, you can run the client and server on separate machines, connected over the network.
The minimum requirements for the PC hosting EHX are as follows:
Specification
Processor
Value / Description
Intel i7 6 th generation (late 2015)
Memory 4 GB RAM
Hard Disk Free Space 2 GB
Input Devices
Display Resolution
User Entry
Network
USB memory stick
SVGA
Keyboard, Mouse
IEEE 802.3 Ethernet card and serial port
The recommended requirements for the PC hosting EHX are:
Page 25
2.2
2.2.1
2.2.2
2.2.3
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Specification
Processor
GPU
Memory
Value / Description
Intel i7 10 th generation or equivalent
Dedicated GPU for Large Network systems
8 GB (16 GB for Large Networked Systems, Servers and heavily used
Dynam-EC clients)
2 GB Hard Disk Free
Space
Display
Resolution
Ports
1600 x 1200
One Ethernet port
Installing EHX
Note: If installing EHX on a system that uses a firewall, you must add specific exemptions for the EHX Server and Client in the firewall.
Backing Up your Existing Projects and Configurations
If you are upgrading from an earlier version of EHX/ECS, Clear-Com recommends backing up your projects and configurations before you install EHX.
Backing Up ECS 5.2.x Projects and Configuration
To back up and export your existing ECS 5.2.x projects and configurations:
1.
Open the project you want to export.
2.
Select File > Export Project .
3.
Save the project to a location on your hard drive. The project is saved as a *.ccn
format file, which you can import later into EHX.
Note : EHX can open *.ccn format files as well as its own *.hxn format files.
4.
Repeat the above procedure for all the projects you want to save.
Backing Up EHX /8.x and above Projects and Configurations
To back up and export your EHX 8.0 and above projects and configurations in Client Only mode:
Page 26
2.2.4
2.2.5
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
1.
Open the project you want to export.
2.
Select File > Save Project .
3.
Save the project to a location on your hard drive. The project is saved as a *.hxn
format file, which you can import later into EHX.
Note : EHX can open *.ccn format files as well as its own *.hxn format files.
4.
Repeat the above procedure for all the projects you want to save.
To back up and export your projects and configurations in Client Server mode:
1.
Open the project you want to export.
2.
Select File > Export Project .
3.
Save the project to a location on your hard drive. The project is saved as a *.hxn
format file, which you can import later into EHX.
Note : EHX can open *.ccn format files as well as its own *.hxn format files.
4.
Repeat the above procedure for all the projects you want to save.
Uninstalling and Reinstalling EHX - Configurations
If you are required to uninstall and re-install your EHX installation, ensure that you save your projects first for re-importing into EHX (see
Backing Up your Existing Projects and
and
Importing your Projects and Configurations into EHX
. You can uninstall EHX from your Windows All Programs menu.
If you are running EHX in Client-Server mode, export your projects to a secure location on your hard drive.
Installing the EHX Software
The Eclipse HX software USB or DVD contains the following executables for installing EHX.
Run the required installation file and follow the instructions that appear.
Page 27
2.3
2.4
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Installation *.exe
Description
EHXSetup.exe
EHXDynam-
ECSetup.exe
Installer for the 32-bit and 64-bit versions of the EHX client ( not including Dynam-EC ). Use the EHX client version to connect directly to the matrix in Client-only mode or to an EHX server in Client-
Server mode.
Installer for the 32-bit and 64-bit versions of the EHX client ( including
Dynam-EC ). Use the EHX client version to connect directly to the matrix in Client-only mode or to an EHX server in Client-Server mode.
EHXServerSetup.exe
Installer for the 32-bit server and 64-bit server versions of EHX. The
EHX server enables multiple EHX clients to work together when configuring an Eclipse HX system.
Note: Before Installing EHX Server, please see the Installing and Configuring IIS on the
Server sub-section of
.
Installing .NET Framework
Windows .NET is a software development framework. Some versions of Windows have .NET
pre-installed, but if this is not the case and the EHX installer ( EHXDynam-EC.exe or
EHXSetup.exe
) encounters a problem when installing .NET, you must manually install .NET
4.7.1
Logging into EHX
Client-only mode
1.
From the Windows Start menu, select All Programs > Clear-Com > Eclipse HX
Configuration System . The EHX user login screen is displayed (see below). If you are logging in for the first time, the default username (Administrator) is already entered for you.
No password is required on initial login
Page 28
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 29
2.
Click OK .
When logged in to EHX, you can use the User Management facility to change the password for the default user and add further users (see
Importing your Projects and Configurations into EHX .
To import a saved project from an earlier version of EHX or ECS into EHX in Client-Server mode:
1.
Open EHX. Select File > Import Project .
2.
Navigate to the project file (*.hxn
or *.ccn
format) saved to your hard drive. To import the file, click Open .
Note : Remember to save your project, after opening it.
3.
Repeat the above procedure for all the projects you want to import.
To import a saved project from an earlier version of EHX or ECS into EHX in Client-only mode:
1.
Open EHX. Select File > Open .
2.
Navigate to the project file ( *.hxn
or *.ccn
format) saved to your hard drive. Click Open .
Note : If you import a .ccn file, remember to save your imported project as an *.hxn
format file.
Client-Server mode
If you are running EHX in Client-Server mode, you must enter the address of the remote server before logging in.
To log into EHX in Client-Server mode:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
1.
From the Windows Start menu, select All Programs > Clear-Com > Eclipse HX
Configuration System . The EHX user login screen is displayed (see below). If you are logging in for the first time, the default username (Administrator) is already entered for you.
No password is required on initial login.
2.
Click Options .
3.
Enter the address of the remote server to log into (for example, http://RemoteHost:80/EclipseServer ). RemoteHost is the machine name or IP address of the machine running the EHX server software.
4.
Click OK .
Note: The same versions of EHX must be installed to both the client and the server.
First screen after log in
After successfully logging in (either locally or to a server) the EHX initial screen is displayed.
Page 30
Identifying the EHX version
2.5
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
1.
To identify the version of EHX, select Help > About on the Windows toolbar.
Note: The operational mode of EHX (Client-Only or Client-Server mode) is displayed, as well as the version of EHX.
Importing your Projects and Configurations into EHX
Client-only mode
1.
Open EHX. Select File > Open .
2.
Navigate to the project file (*.hxn
or *.ccn
format) saved to your hard drive. Click Open .
If you import a .ccn
file, remember to save your imported project as an *.hxn
format file.
Server-only mode
1.
Open EHX. Select File > Import Project .
2.
Navigate to the project file (*.hxn
or *.ccn
format) saved to your hard drive. To import the file, click Open .
Note : Remember to save your project, after opening it.
3.
Repeat the above procedure for all the projects you want to import.
Page 31
3
3.1
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Connecting a Matrix
Introduction
This section describes how to set up a new Eclipse HX matrix.
Notes: For more detailed guidance, see the User Guide for each matrix.
For information on setting the default IP address on Eclipse HX-Pico matrices, see the
Eclipse HX-PiCo User Guide.
New Eclipse Matrices are configured to look for a DHCP IP address once when powered on. If a
DHCP server is not found, it will default to the link local address 169.254.0.100.
To check the current IP address, press the ENG button on the CPU card which has the most
LEDs
1.
The matrix is fitted with two CPU cards, in a master and slave relationship. Remove the slave CPU card.
Page 32
Page 33
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
3.2
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
2.
Press and hold the ENG and FULL RESET front panel buttons simultaneously (bottom of card), and at the same time press and release the RESET button (top of card) on the master CPU card. Keep the ENG and FULL RESET buttons pressed and wait for the OK
LED to start flashing. Then release the ENG and FULL RESET buttons.
3.
Replace the slave CPU card.
4.
Ensure that the matrix and the EHX PC are connected directly using an Ethernet connection.
5.
Configure the Ethernet connection on the EHX PC, then create a configuration with the factory default IP address. Ensure that the PC is set to DHCP mode.
6.
Apply the complete configuration map to the matrix, using the factory default IP address.
7.
Clear-Com recommends that the matrix is given a fixed/static IP address after the initial configuration is applied. Contact your IP administrator.
Cabling Recommendations
The following table outlines Clear-Com’s recommendations about cabling.
Page 34
Page 35
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Clear-Com CAT5e/6a cable recommendations
Category (CAT) Higher CAT numbers will support a higher bandwidth. Therefore, by using a higher CAT number, you are future proofing your system to some extent.
Example: l
Cat5: up to 1G l
Cat6a: up to 10G.
Use CAT5e or higher.
American Wire
Gauge (AWG)
The lower the AWG number, the less temperature rise there will be in the cable when using PoE. This is particularly important for bundles. Local building regulations may rule out the use of 26AWG or higher, depending on the installation. Check with your local building regulations.
Use AWG 24 or lower.
Shielded Twisted
Pair (STP) or
Foiled Twisted
Pair (FTP)
Using shielded cable means less problems with interference from other sources. This means that your network will be more robust if you use shielded cables.
Overall
Recommendation
Use CAT6a 23 AWG STP cable.
Camera Control Unit (CCU) cabling
Most Camera Control Units enable connection of balanced or unbalanced audio to allow communication between Clear-Com devices and the camera operator.
Clear-Com recommends setting the CCU into 4-wire mode where two pins are used for: l
Transmit TX -/+ l
Receive RX -/+
Each CCU is wired independently (home run) to the Clear-Com IF4W4 MVX port
There is a list of known CCUs and their pinouts on our FAQ, this can be found by visiting CCU
Connections .
3.3
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Matrix Ethernet Operation
The Eclipse HX-Omega, Eclipse HX-Median and Eclipse HX-Delta CPU card Ethernet ports are normally connected to a LAN and used to communicate with clients such as EHX and Dynam-
EC. The Ethernet port functionality depends on the IP address setup.If an IP address of 0.0.0.0
is configured on the second Ethernet port, it is not used for Tx or Rx. This is the default setup if the default IP address is set as described above.
Ethernet is the recommended connection type for all applications. Serial connections are limited to a single matrix, have a limited range of functionality and should only be used for backup purposes.
If the redundant Ethernet mode is enabled, all matrix to matrix traffic is sent out on both Ethernet ports. This applies to both directed and broadcast packets. All matrix to matrix traffic is also received on both Ethernet ports. If the traffic is transaction related, the second (duplicate) message received is not consumed, but simply dropped.
The matrices listen for client connections on both Ethernet ports. Once the connection is made it is added to the list of connections to service. Broadcast type Tx data is duplicated out on each connection (for example, an HCI connection to the matrix from third-party applications).
The EHX PC makes a connection on either the main or backup Ethernet port of each system in the linked set. If both are up, this defaults to the primary port. If connection is lost to the currently active port on a matrix, EHX swaps over to using the other Ethernet port. If this connection is lost only on one matrix in a linked set, the others are not affected.
Note: Matrices are shipped DHCP enabled, and with a default address. If there is no valid
DHCP server, the address can be set manually. Right-click on the matrix (which can be connected either by a serial or Ethernet connection), select Change IP Settings, and enter the new IP details.
Page 36
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 37
Right-click the matrix and select Change IP Settings .
Configuration restrictions using dual LAN mode
The network ID (subnet) on the first Ethernet port must be different from that of the second port.
The network ID is defined by the IP address and the network mask for the port.
For example:
A network address of 172.16.2.1
and a mask of 255.255.0.0
give a network ID of 172.16
.
Therefore, in this scheme the second port could not have an IP address starting with 172.16
. (but could be 172.17.xx
)
If the network mask is extended to 255.255.255.0
the network ID becomes 172.16.2
. This means that the second port could have an address of 172.16.3.1
and a mask of 255.255.255.0
, giving a network ID of 172.16.3
for the second port.
Note: If both Ethernet ports are set up with the same network ID, this condition results in data loss on one or both Ethernet ports.
3.4
3.4.1
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Clear-Com does not recommend Ethernet redundancy and the use of a default gateway. An IP address and gateway combination on an Ethernet port means that all Tx traffic to any address is possible on the port. Traffic that matches the other Ethernet port can therefore be sent out on the wrong port.
If Ethernet redundancy mode is enabled, then no gateway settings should be entered for the matrix IP settings, and the network ID (subnet) on the first Ethernet port must be different from that of the second port.
Selecting Ethernet or Serial Connection
EHX can communicate with a matrix using one of the following methods: l
Ethernet connection.
l
Serial connection if the EHX PC is connected directly to the matrix via an RS-232 cable.
An Ethernet crossover cable should be used (though a straight-through CAT5 cable can be used with a switch and a modern PC manufactured after 2010). For more information, see
Ethernet Connection
To select an Ethernet connection:
Select Tools > Matrix Connection and select the Ethernet radio button.
Page 38
Note: You can also select the Enable Redundant Ethernet radio button.
The PC is usually connected to the matrix using:
3.4.2
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
The LAN1 connector (a standard RJ45 connector) on the rear of the Eclipse HX-
Median, Eclipse HX-Omega or Eclipse HX-Delta matrix.
LAN1 is the default connector on the matrix. LAN2 (also a standard
RJ45 connector) is not configured when it leaves the factory and must be enabled in EHX.
l
The LAN connector (a standard RJ45 connector) on the rear of the Eclipse HX-PiCo.
A ferrite core must be added to the socket end of each Ethernet cable to comply with European
EMC standards. A suitable ferrite core is Wurth Electronik part: 74271132. Shielded CAT5e/6 cable is recommended for Electro Magnetic Compliance in EU countries.
An Ethernet crossover cable should be used (though a straight-through CAT5 cable can be used with a switch and a modern PC manufactured after 2010).
Pin Function
Pin 1 Transmit data +
Pin 2 Transmit data -
Pin 3 Receive data +
Pin 4 N/C
Pin 5 N/C
Pin 6 Receive data -
Pin 7 N/C
Pin 8 N/C
To establish communication between the PC and the Eclipse HX matrix, the PC and the matrix must be set to the same subnet. Windows provides many different methods of reconfiguring network settings.
Reconfiguring Network Settings in Windows
Navigate to Start > Control Panel > Network and Internet > Network and Sharing
Center.
The following screen appears:
Page 39
Page 40
1.
Select Ethernet 3 . The following screen appears:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 41
2.
Select Properties . The following screen appears:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 42
3.
Select Internet Protocol Version 4 , and then select Properties . The following screen appears:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
3.4.3
4.
Select Use the following IP address , and then enter the correct IP address
( 169.254.0.10
) and Subnet mask ( 255.255.0.0
), and then click OK .
Notes: If your matrix has a fixed/static IP address, set your PC to be in the same IP address range.
To establish communication between the PC and the Eclipse HX matrix, the PC and the matrix must be set to the same subnet.
Checking Ethernet Connections with the Windows Ping Utility
If there is a problem connecting to the Eclipse HX matrix, you can use the Windows Ping utility on
Ethernet to verify that the cabling and IP settings are correct.
To check the connection to the matrix with Ping:
Page 43
3.4.4
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
1.
From the Windows Start menu, select Run .
The Run dialog is displayed.
2.
To open the command window, type cmd in the Open field and click OK .
3.
Type ping xxx.xxx.xx.xxx
, where the X’s represent the IP address of the Eclipse HX matrix.
4.
Press Enter .
If the ping was successful, a reply is received. If the ping was not successful check the cabling and IP settings.
Notes: When checking the connection, ensure that Network Bridging and any firewalls are disabled.
If you have an Omega, Median or Delta matrix, press and release the ENG button on the master CPU card to display its IP address on its dot matrix display.
If you have a PiCo matrix, go to Menu > System > Info to view the IP address of the matrix.
Changing Matrix IP address using Matrix Event Log
It may be necessary to change the IP address of a matrix. It is recommended that the following steps be followed when the right-click layout screen IP setting change is not available, for example when the serial interface is the only available interface. The sequence of steps to change the IP address of a matrix via the event log is:
1.
After starting EHX open the configuration.
2.
Ensure that the PC is connected to the matrix via Ethernet or a serial link.
3.
Open Matrix Event Log from the Diagnostics menu (see
Note : To display the Diagnostics menu at least one matrix must be configured on the layout pane.
4.
To connect to the matrix, press Play .
Page 44
Page 45
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
5.
When connection is established click on the Request Info button which is displayed beside the Play icon.
6.
Choose Change IP Address from the list in the left-hand pane and enter the desired values listed below.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 46 l
Select parameter 1 and enter the pin code.
l
Select parameter 2 and enter interface 1 and then enter the LAN1 port address.
l
Select parameter 2 and enter interface 2 and then enter the LAN2 port address
(Omega, Median and Delta matrix only).
l
Select parameter 3 and enter the subnet mask.
l
Select parameter 4 and enter the default gateway address.
7.
Click on Send to update the matrix.
8.
A message from the Matrix indicating that the change was successful is seen in the log, and the matrix resets.
9.
Close Matrix Event Log, and open Systems > Layout.
10.
Change the IP address in Systems > Layout to be the same as the new value in the matrix.
11.
Press File > Save .
Note: It may be necessary to change the IP address and subnet mask of the PC if the new matrix IP address is from a different network range.
3.4.5
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Serial Connection
Note: Ethernet is the recommended connection type for all applications. Serial connections are limited to a single matrix, have a limited range of functionality and should only be used for backup purposes.
To establish a serial connection between the EHX PC and the matrix the hardware must be connected first and then the software configured.
To establish the hardware connection, connect a serial (RS-232) cable between the computer's serial port and the connector labelled RS-232 on the rear of the Eclipse HX matrix.
To set up a serial connection between EHX and the Eclipse HX matrix:
1. From the EHX command line, open the Tools menu and select Matrix Connection. The
Matrix Connection dialog is displayed.
Page 47
Ethernet connection is the default.
2. Select the Serial radio button.
3. From the drop-down menu, select the COM port on the PC the serial cable is connected to.
Note : Click Only Show Available Ports to display the available COM ports on the computer.
4. Select OK.
3.5
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Note: When using a serial connection, the left-hand menu pane is highlighted in purple.
Adding a New Matrix
When a new project has been created, matrices can be added to the project. There are two ways to set up a new matrix: l
Adding an offline matrix l
Adding a discovered matrix
Note: Matrices that are added to a project are allocated the next available system number at the time that they are added to the project.
Adding a matrix that is offline or cannot be discovered on the local subnet.
If the matrix you want to configure is unavailable (for example, the matrix has yet to be installed), you can still add that matrix to the EHX project.
To add an offline matrix:
1.
Right-click the right-hand System pane.
2.
Click Add Matrix . A matrix, with generic information, is added to the layout pane.
Note : An offline matrix is always displayed gray on the layout pane.
3.
You can now configure the offline matrix with the relevant, specific configuration information (if known).
Configuring an offline matrix
The offline matrix, which is a shell at this stage, requires basic configuration, before you can start adding cards and panels.
Page 48
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
To configure the matrix:
1.
To enter a name for the matrix (optional), click New Matrix at the top of the matrix, and then enter a name.
2.
To set the matrix type, click Please choose a matrix type on the matrix.
From the drop-down menu, select the appropriate matrix type (Eclipse HX-Omega,
Eclipse HX-Median, Eclipse HX-Delta or Eclipse HX-PiCo).
Page 49
3.
The Hardware and Configuration menus for the matrix are now available from the sidebar menu for the matrix on the left of the screen. Click to open / view all menu options.
Note : The Configuration menu flashes amber because there is no connection with physical hardware.
4.
The default IP address ( 169.254.0.100
) is shown on the matrix on the layout pane. Type the IP address of the offline matrix into the IP address field, if known.
Adding a matrix that is discoverable on the local subnet
A matrix can only be discovered if:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
The Ethernet address of the matrix is accessible to the EHX PC.
l
The EHX PC can receive broadcast packets from the matrix.
To add a discovered matrix to the project:
1.
Select System > Layout . If there are active matrices on the network, EHX lists the discovered matrices left of center on the screen.
Page 50
2.
To add a matrix to the new project, either: l
Drag a discovered matrix into the right-hand pane (recommended). The matrix is added to the project and the Hardware, Configuration and Diagnostic menu links are displayed in the left-hand menu pane.
l
Click Add Matrix to System on the matrix icon. A dialog is displayed with the following options:
Page 51
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Option Description
Empty
Configuration
If this option is selected the matrix is added and the Hardware, Configuration and Diagnostic menu links are displayed in the menu pane. The Hardware link flashes amber if no cards or panels have been configured.
The matrix IP address and system preferences are set up as described below, after which the hardware should be configured manually.
Discover
Hardware
Select this option to fully and automatically populate the project with available cards and panels.
A progress bar is displayed while the hardware is being discovered (see below). The matrix is added to the project and the Hardware, Configuration and Diagnostic menu links are displayed in the left-hand menu pane.
Retrieve map from Matrix
This option is a backup facility that enables you to retrieve the last applied configuration from the matrix (provided one has been applied and retrieval is permitted).
Once the configuration has been loaded the Hardware, Configuration and
Diagnostics menu links are displayed and the configuration (which already contains the system and panel setups) can be edited. This is not possible if the matrix CPU and EHX software are incompatible.
4
4.1
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Using the EHX Menus
This section gives a brief overview of the different sections of the EHX Software configuration screen. It also briefly lists and describes the main menu commands and options, with references to more detailed information.
Eclipse HX Configuration Software (EHX)
The Eclipse HX configuration software (EHX) controls the operation of the system’s connected audio devices, using a configuration (sometimes called a configuration map) that is applied to the matrix.
A matrix and connected devices operate in a star configuration, with each device connecting back to the matrix directly. Audio signals are routed through the central matrix and out to the connected audio devices in accordance with the configuration created in EHX.
EHX can also be used to monitor the matrix for faults and to log errors for analysis.
The EHX software comprises a graphical user interface with a main screen that is divided into two parts: l
The Menu pane – This is located on the left of the EHX main screen. It contains the
System, Hardware, Configuration and Diagnostics dropdown menu lists.
l
The System pane – This is located on the right of the EHX main screen. It contains a graphical representation items selected from the Menu pane.
Page 52
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 53
Various menu items may be highlighted amber to indicate possible configuration issues:
System
Menu
Cards and Ports
IP Panels
Beltpacks
Panels
Controls
Highlighted when …
There is an open project, but not an open configuration.
There is an open configuration, but the matrix type is not set.
There are multiple matrices in the system but the fiber ring is judged to be incorrect.
There are no ports configured for a matrix.
There are IP cards which do not have any available ports
There are antennas but no beltpacks
There are key groups which do not have members
There are configured panels but no configured keys
There are speed dials but no controls.
Layout and monitoring key
The layout and monitoring key gives status information about:
l
Trunks l
Matrix firmware l
EHX to matrix connection l
EHX to matrix configuration matching
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 54
It is located in the System pane. To view the key, select Tools > Settings > Display Layout and Monitoring Key .
Status LEDs also appear next to the Matrix Name in the side bar. The Top LED replicates the colour shown in the layout screen. The Bottom LED replicates the colour in the monitoring screen.
Note: The Bottom LED only displays if the Monitoring screen is open.
In this instance the matrix has non-matching map and missing or errored hardware.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
4.2
Top Menu
The Top menu contains the following drop-down lists: l
File l
Tools l
View l
Help
File menu
Use this menu to: l
Create, open, save and close project files (configuration maps).
l
Import and export keysets l
Access the User Management facility l
Log out of, or exit EHX.
For more information, see
Managing Configurations and Users.
Tools menu
Use this menu to:
Page 55
Page 56
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
Open the last logged-in project on starting EHX l
Enable retrieving configurations from a connected matrix l
Enable ten-character labels. See
l
Specify configuration banks l
Specify matrix connection (serial or Ethernet). See
.
l
Load wireless beltpack or antenna (transceiver) firmware by USB connection. See
Upgrading Beltpack and Antenna Firmware .
l
Load firmware to matrices l
Apply EHX configuration changes to matrices. See
.
Tip: You can also press Ctrl + D to apply configuration changes.
View menu
Use this menu to: l
Browse back and forwards between the current screen and the previously viewed screen.
Tip: You can also press Alt + Left arrow and Alt + Right arrow.
l
Display the Layout and Monitoring Key.
Help menu
Use this menu to: l
Open a PDF file of the EHX Software User Guide
Tip: You can press F1 at any time to open a PDF of the User Guide l
Clear unused memory. See
.
l
Save diagnostics. See
Save Diagnostics Information .
Note: You can also save diagnostics by right-clicking on a matrix and selecting Save Diagnostics.
l
View release and version information about the software. See
4.3
4.4
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
System Menu
The System menu consists of the following items: l
Layout l
Monitoring l
Dynam-EC l
Go Live l
Apply Changes to all Matrices (when more than one matrix present)
Layout
This displays the System pane where you can view and configure matrices.
Monitoring
This displays the monitoring screen. For more information, see
Dynam-EC
This opens the Dynam-EC application. For more information, see the Dynam-EC User Guide .
Go live
This enables live mode. Choose between: l
Go Live (No Merge) l
Go Live (EHX To System) l
Go Live (System To EHX) l
Go Live (Visual Merge)
For more information, see
Hardware Menu
The Hardware menu consists of the following items: l
Cards and Ports l
IP Panels l
Beltpacks l
Transceivers
Page 57
4.5
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
GPOs l
GPIs
Cards and Ports
This displays the Cards and Ports screen, where you can add, remove and configure matrix cards.
IP Panels
This displays the IP Panels screen. For more information, see
This is only visible when an IVC-32 or E-IPA card is present.
Beltpacks
This displays the Beltpacks screen. For more information, see
This is only visible when an E-Que card is present.
Transceivers
This displays the FreeSpeak II transceivers that are connected to your system.
GPOs
This displays the GPO screen.
GPIs
This displays the GPI screen.
Configuration Menu
The Configuration menu consists of the following items:
Page 58
Page 59
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Panels
Partylines
Fixed Groups
Local Advanced
IFBS
Controls
Sort Groups
Routes
Speed Dials
Beltpack Roles
Key Groups
Logic
Preferences
Panels
This displays the Panel programming screen. For more information, see
Partylines
This displays the Partyline configuration screen.
Fixed Groups
This displays the Fixed Groups configuration screen. For more information, see
Local Advanced
This displays the Local Advanced screen. For more information, see
IFBs
This displays the IFB configuration screen. For more information, see
Controls
This displays the Controls configuration screen. For more information, see
Sort Groups
This display the Sort Groups configuration screen. For more information, see
Routes
This displays the Routes configuration screen. For more information, see
Speed Dials
This displays the Speed Dials configuration screen. For more information, see
4.6
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Beltpack Roles
This display the Beltpack Roles configuration screen. For more information, see
This is only visible when an E-Que card is present.
Key Groups
This displays the Key Groups configuration screen. For more information, see
Logic
This opens the Logic application. For more information, see the Logic Programming User
Guide .
Preferences
This displays the Preferences screen. Here, you can set preferences for the following:
Preference
Intelligent Linking
ISO and IFB
System Access Codes
Wireless Beltpacks
Key Operation
Panel Operation
IP Panels
System Visual Indicators
Dynam-EC
Apply Map
For more information …
Intelligent Linking Preferences
Configuring V-Series Iris Panel Color Displays
Configuration Application Preferences
Diagnostics Menu
The Diagnostics menu consists of the following items:
Page 60
4.7
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Menu item
Crosspoint Map
Event Log
Wireless status
PTP Network
Resource Chart
For more information
System Pane Menus
The menus described in this section are accessed either by: l
Right-clicking in an empty area of the System pane l
Right-clicking a matrix that is in the System pane
Right-clicking in an empty area of the System pane
The following items appear: l
Add Matrix – use this to add a new matrix to the System pane l
Restore Matrix Locations – use this to restore the original matrix positions in the System pane after you have relocated them l
Zoom – use this to adjust the magnification of the System pane view. You can choose between: l
Zoom To Fit – this adjust the System pane magnification so that all matrices are visible l
Zoom to 50, 75, 100, 125 or 150 per cent
Right-clicking a matrix
The following items appear:
Apply Map to Matrix
Configuration
Firmware
User Access Control
Change IP Settings
Show Matrix’s Redundant IP Address
Delete Matrix From Project
Filter Matrix
Save Diagnostics
Page 61
Page 62
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Apply Map to Matrix
Use this to apply configuration changes to the matrix.
Tip: You can also select Tools > Apply Changes To Matrix or from the Menu pane, select
Apply Map to Matrix or press Ctrl + D
Configuration
This opens the configuration drop-down list. For more information, see the relevant section in
Firmware
This opens the Firmware drop-down list. For more information, see the relevant section in
User Access Control
Use this to specify who can access each matrix. For more information, see the relevant section in
Change IP Settings
Use this to view and edit the matrix IP settings. For more information, see the relevant section in
Show Matrix’s Redundant IP Address
Use this to display the redundant IP address of the matrix under the IP address. For more information, see the relevant section in
Delete Matrix From Project
Use this to completely remove the matrix from your configuration.
Filter Matrix
If you have many matrices in your configuration, you can use this to determine which ones are visible in the System pane. For more information, see the relevant section in
Tip: You can also use Configure Filters at the top of the Menu pane.
Save Diagnostics
Use this to take a snapshot of the current state of your configuration, the EHX PC and the matrices, and store it as a compressed file on your computer.
This information can then be sent to Clear-Com support to assist with diagnosis.
For more information, see
Note: You can also save diagnostics from Help > Save Diagnostics.
4.8
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Keyboard Shortcuts
The table below lists the keyboard shortcuts that you can use instead of menus.
Menu
File
Function
New Project
Open Project
Shortcut
Ctrl + N
Ctrl + O
Tools
View
Help
Close Project
Save Project
Apply Changes To Matrix
Back (move back a screen)
Forward (move forward a screen)
Display help PDF file
Ctrl + F4
Ctrl + S
Ctrl + D
Alt + left arrow key
Alt + right arrow key
F1
Page 63
5
5.1
5.2
5.3
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Managing Configurations and Users
Introduction
Use the File menu to create, open and save projects.
You can also delete projects and export projects as *.hxn
files so that you can import them back into EHX later.
Creating a Project File
A project (stored and exported as an *.hxn
file) provides a container for your configurations and might consist of one or many configurations for one or many matrices.
A project can be used to define every aspect of a complex intercom system, including the connectivity between multiple, intelligently linked matrices and/or the configurations for individual matrices. An unlimited number of projects may be stored on the hard drive of the EHX PC or on a server.
A configuration determines the operating parameters of the Eclipse HX system.
When you first create a configuration, the file does not have any content. EHX populates the configuration with details of the system, including: l
The user panels, interface cards, interface modules and control devices associated with the matrix / matrices.
l
The labels (alphanumeric names) assigned to each device.
To create a project file:
1.
Select File > New Project (Control-N).
Note : Control-N can be used when in any EHX mode to start a new configuration map.
2.
If you are running EHX in Client-Server mode, enter a name for the project in the dialog.
Click Save .
The project name is displayed on the title bar at the top of the screen.
Opening a Project
1.
To open a project, select File > Open Project (Control-O)
In Client-Only mode, a standard Windows Open dialog is displayed.
Page 64
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
In Client-Server mode, a dialog is displayed with a list of available projects. Select the project and click Open .
5.4
5.5
5.6
2.
Navigate to the project file and click Open .
Note : A list of recently opened files is also available from the File menu. Select File
> Recent Projects .
Note : To automatically open the last configuration on starting EHX, enable Tools >
Open Last Project On Login .
Note : If a project is already open, EHX asks if the current project should be saved before opening the new project.
Password Protection Override
EHX users with Network Admin rights can open any configuration within a project, even if a configuration password has been set in the Configuration Manager. Users with Network Admin rights can also reset the password if required.
If an EHX user without Network Admin rights tries to open a password protected configuration within a project, they must enter the correct password.
Closing a Project
To close a project, select File > Close Project (Control-F4).
Note: If there are unsaved changes, EHX prompts you to save the project before closing.
Importing and Exporting a Project
In Client-Only mode, importing a project will open a normal windows dialogue screen. Navigate to the file location and select the project.
Page 65
5.7
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
1.
In Client-Server mode, to import a project / configuration (*.ccn
or *.hxn
file format) into
EHX select File > Import Project .
2.
Navigate to the project file you want to import. Select the file and click Open .
The project is then displayed in the normal project selection screen and you can select and load the required project, as described previously (see above).
Note : After a project file is imported from a previous version of EHX, it is advisable to ensure that the matrix type is set correctly.
If the imported configuration is currently active on the matrix, and has not been renamed, Clear-Com recommends applying the imported configuration to the matrix before entering Go Live mode.
3.
You can export a project (*.hxn file format only) from EHX by selecting File > Export
Project .
4.
Navigate to the desired folder location. Name the file and click Save .
Saving a Project
To save the project, select File > Save Project (Ctrl-S).
Save project as
1.
To change the name or details of a configuration you want to save, select File > Save
Project As .
2.
In Client-Only mode, a standard Windows Save As dialog is displayed. Enter a project name and click Save .
3.
In Client-Server mode, the Save Project dialog is displayed. Change the name and/ or description of the project and then click Save .
Note : Client-Server mode only: Save saves changes to the EHX database but does not apply the configuration to the Eclipse HX matrix.
Save Dynam-EC information
You can save a file that holds the project information required for Dynam-EC to link to frames in the project.
1.
Select File > Save Dynam-EC Information .
Page 66
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
5.8
5.9
2.
Select the required matrix or matrices.
Note : To select all the matrices in the configuration, click Select All .
Deleting a Project
In Client-Only mode, you can delete project files directly from the PC.
To delete a project:
1.
In Client-Server mode, select File > Delete Project .
2.
The delete project screen is displayed. Select the project to be deleted and click Delete .
3.
A confirmation dialog is displayed. To continue with the deletion, click Yes .
Importing/Exporting Configuration Keysets
You can use the Import/Export Configuration Keysets wizard ( File > Import/Export
Configuration Keysets ) to: l
Export all the keysets in the current configuration to an external file.
l
Import all the keysets from an external file and apply those keysets to the current configuration. Saved configuration keysets can be imported into other configurations avoiding the need to manually recreate panel setups.
Importing configuration keysets
To import configuration keysets:
Page 67
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
1.
Select File > Import/Export Configuration Keysets .
2.
The welcome screen of the wizard is displayed. Select Import keysets .
3.
Click Next .
4.
Click Browse… to navigate to the keyset file you want to import. To load the file into the dialog, select the file and click Open .
Note : The default file extension for the keyset files is *.KEYSET.
Page 68
6.
To import the keysets into the current configuration, click Finish .
Exporting configuration keysets
To export configuration keysets:
1.
Select File > Import/Export Configuration Keysets .
2.
The welcome screen of the wizard is displayed. Select Export keysets .
3.
Click Browse...
to select a folder to save the file to. Enter the required filename.
Note : The default file extension for the keyset files is *.KEYSET.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
5.10
4.
To export the keyset configurations, click Finish .
User Management
1.
To access the user management facility, select File > User Management .
Note : Only EHX users with network administrator rights (Network Admin) can access the user management facility.
The user management facility provides the tools necessary to administer EHX users and control the level of system access. It is possible to: l
Add or delete users l
Change passwords l
Assign access levels or roles
Currently EHX has four access levels: l
Network Admin l
Local Admin l
User l
Guest
Note : Guest user access is allowed on a matrix even if another user is already logged in. This means, for example, that a local admin can have exclusive write access to a matrix, while at the same time one or more guest users can also be logged in to the same matrix to perform online key changes
Note: EHX remembers the last used login. If you are not required to save the login, deselect the Save option in the dialog. EHX displays the name and role of the current user on the title bar of the EHX window.
Network admin access level
Page 69
Page 70
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
The network administrator role provides unrestricted access to all the configuration settings on all the systems in a linked set. Network administrator rights include: l
Configuration Management l
Configuration Allocation l
All configuration editing l
Digital Wireless setup l
IP Addressing l
Trunk Allocation l
User Management l
Live configuration l
Monitoring l
Live status under System l
Firmware update
Local-admin access level
The local administrator level provides unrestricted access to all configuration settings on the local system the user is logged in to. The network administrator can control which matrices the local administrator can access.
The local administrator has no access to user management and cannot change the configuration settings on other systems in a linked set using the layout pane but can view a linked set configuration. The local administrator can also view the live status of system components using the layout pane.
Local administrator rights include: l
Configuration Management l
Configuration Allocation l
All configuration editing l
Digital Wireless setup l
IP Addressing l
Live configuration l
Monitoring
Page 71
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
Live status under System l
Firmware update
User access level
The user level provides access to all configuration editing and downloading capability, including: l
Configuration Management l
Configuration Allocation l
All configuration editing l
Digital Wireless setup l
IP Addressing l
Live configuration
The user level has no access to user management or the layout pane and its associated functions.
Guest access level
The guest level provides a minimum level login and is the default role if the user is removed from all other groups.
The guest role only allows access to panel programming on the current system configuration.
The guest user can open more than one system configuration in a linked set but cannot modify any system parameters. The guest role does not allow access to user management.
Guest access to the matrix is allowed in parallel with other users.
The online additions to panel programming made via guest access are not stored in the EHX server configuration.
Managing user access levels
1.
To access the user management facility, select File > User Management .
Note : Only EHX users with network administrator rights (Network Admin) can access the user management facility.
When EHX is initially installed a single network administrator account is preconfigured with the username Administrator. This account can then be used to set up other accounts as required.
When user management mode is entered, a complete list is shown of all the registered users.
Users can be added, deleted and edited from this screen.
Note: If the user is removed from all other groups, the user becomes a Guest user by default.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Creating a new EHX user
To create a new EHX user:
1.
Select File > User Management .
Note: Only EHX users with network administrator rights (Network Admin) can access the user management facility.
2.
The User Management screen is displayed. To add a new User ID, click New .
A new user is added. The default access level is Network Admin (see above).
Page 72
3.
Edit the Username, Description and Password fields. Double click to highlight the entry.
4.
To change the access level of the new user: l
Go to the Available Groups pane.
l
Select either Local Admin or User and use the right arrow ( >> ) to transfer that role into Group user is in.
Page 73
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
The previous access level is replaced by the new access level in the Group user is in pane.
5.
When you have completed your changes, click Close .
Editing an existing EHX user
To edit a user:
1.
Select File > User Management . The User Management screen is displayed.
Note : Only EHX users with network administrator rights (Network Admin) can access the user management facility.
2.
Select the user you want to edit from the list. To modify the Username, Password,
Description or access level groups the user belongs to, follow Steps 3 - 5 in Creating a
New EHX User above.
3.
When you have completed your changes, click Close .
Deleting a user
To delete a user:
1.
Select File > User Management . The User Management screen is displayed.
Note : EHX users with network administrator rights (Network Admin) Only can access the user management facility.
2.
Ensure that a network administrator is logged into EHX to access user management.
Select the user you want to delete and click Delete .
Note : A confirmation prompt is displayed. To continue with the removal of the user, click Yes .
3.
To exit the User Management screen, click Close .
Note : One valid network administrator account must always be available to allow login to EHX and to access User Management. You cannot delete either the default network administrator account or the currently logged in user account.
Note: If you delete a user from the User Management screen, the user will be highlighted in red in the Access Control Screen to indicate that the user previously had access permission. If you deselect the user, the user will no longer be visible in the Access Control
Screen.
5.11
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Logging In and Out of EHX
From within the EHX software, you can log in from: File > Log In
The Log In window appears:
Select Options to log into a server:
5.12
To log out of EHX, select File > Log Out . You will be prompted to save any changes.
Exiting EHX
To exit EHX, select File > Exit . You will be prompted to save any changes.
Page 74
5.13
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
System Access Codes
You can protect aspects of system functionality with access codes. To enter codes to unlock features, select Configuration > Preferences > System Access Codes .
Page 75
Use the DTMF Passcodes section to set the global access codes within the Eclipse HX System.
Eight DTMF codes are available for accessing the Eclipse HX System from a remote location
(using DTMF Inward Access).
When you assign a value to any of the eight available DTMF codes, that code becomes recognizable to any MVX-A16 port in the Eclipse HX System.
Note: For Eclipse HX-PiCo, only ports 17 to 32 can be configured for DTMF access codes.
You can configure a TEL-14 module that is connected to an MVX-A16 port, or an LQ SIP client that is connected to a matrix port with a setting that tells the port to recognize any, all, or none of the configured DTMF access codes.
If any MVX-A16 or IVC-32 port has been configured to recognize one or more of the DTMF access codes, then that port allows any caller to access the system who correctly enters a recognized access code.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Note: Access codes are formed of numeric characters and must be four digits long. EHX does not allow a password field containing fewer than four characters, and only accepts numerals.
5.14
Menu access code
Some menus can be PIN protected. The PIN protected menus on V-Series panels are: l
Sys Config Access l
Local Pref Menu access l
Diagnostic Menu Access
For FreeSpeak II beltpacks, the Admin Options menu is protected.
Features Passcode
You can enter a 16-digit passcode to enable Dynam-EC and/or Agent-IC Mobile Client to operate with the matrix. You can also enable the HCI (Host Computer Interface) for third-party applications. This passcode is purchased / obtained from Clear-Com. For more information, see your Clear-Com representative.
Note: If the passcode is changed, an apply with reset is required to implement the change.
The EHX Screen After a Project Has Been Loaded
When a project has been loaded for editing: l
The EHX menus are displayed on the left-hand side of the screen.
l
The Tools > Apply Map To Matrix link is enabled.
The Diagnostics menu is only displayed if a valid system configuration is present.
Page 76
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
5.15
Note: The Go Live button enables EHX to enter Live mode. This enables some matrix configuration items (highlighted in green) to be modified interactively without needing to apply a new configuration.
Configuration Options
You can configure each matrix using the matrix menu configuration options. To access these, right-click the matrix icon, and select Configuration. The options and sub menus are: l
Configuration Manager l
Create a New Configuration l
Retrieve a Configuration from Matrix Frame l
Configuration Banks l
Backup Key Status l
Restore Key Status
Configuration Manager
Page 77
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Use the Configuration Manager to save, load, import and export configurations. You can also protect configurations through password protection. A configuration contains details of matrix hardware setup, ports and audio routing. It does not contain details of the matrix IP address.
1.
In the System pane, right-click the matrix icon, and select Configuration >
Configuration Manager . The following screen appears:
Page 78
2.
Edit the name of the configuration map. You might also want to enter an optional description and configuration password.
Note : The configuration name can only contain alpha-numeric characters.
3.
Select the Read Only checkbox if this configuration is to be fixed as read-only.
4.
Select the Template checkbox if this configuration is to be used as a basis for creating new configurations, by opening the configuration and saving it as a new project.
The Profile column is color-coded: l
Green indicates the configuration can be applied without a reset.
l
Red indicates a full reset is required (clearing the matrix memory after applying a configuration). Such a reset may break trunk tables, and is undesirable in a multi-user multi matrix system.
The profile of a matrix describes how it interacts with other matrices in a linked system. This column indicates whether the selected configuration matches the existing matrix profile or whether it affects other matrices in the linked system.
5.
Click Update Details to update the configuration map details without closing the
Configuration Manager screen.
6.
If multiple configurations are available (if configurations have been copied or imported), select the configuration you wish to use or edit, then press Activate Configuration to confirm.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Note: Clear-Com recommends regular maintenance when using multiple configurations to ensure that configurations have the same matrix card sets.
Create new configuration
You can create a new configuration which may be empty, or which contains only the hardware discovered from the matrix.
To create a new configuration:
1.
In the System pane, right-click the matrix icon, and select Configuration > Create New
Configuration , and then select either Discover Hardware or Empty .
2.
Select Configuration > Create New Configuration and then either Discover
Hardware or Empty .
3.
If you select Discover Hardware , a warning message appears before the current hardware configuration is replaced (see below). To continue, click Yes . EHX interrogates the matrix to obtain the current hardware configuration.
Page 79
4.
If you select Empty , the configuration is created with no hardware or configured devices.
Retrieve or apply configuration from matrix
You can retrieve or apply the last retrieved configuration, including labels, from the matrix. This option is a backup facility that enables you to retrieve the last applied configuration from the matrix (provided one has been loaded).
To retrieve the last applied configuration from the matrix, in the System pane, right-click the matrix icon, and select Configuration > Retrieve Map from Matrix.
The following screen appears:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 80
The configuration uploads to EHX from the matrix.
Notes: When you retrieve a configuration, it will overwrite any currently active configuration.
This also applies to NEW EMPTY configuration and NEW DETECTED configuration.
In all three cases, the current configuration is removed and replaced with what you have requested.
Retrieving the configuration will NOT upload any Intelligent Link connections that were previously defined on the Layout Screen.
Back up key status
Use this option to upload and store a record of all panel talk and listen key states on the EHX matrix.
This function also saves the states of the panel microphones, panel headsets and panel loudspeakers. For example, you could use this facility to record the state of talk and listen keys prior to an Apply changes with reset and clear all memory of the matrix or as a known state prior to a production.
In the System pane, right-click the matrix icon, and select Configuration > Back up Key
Status.
This function is used in conjunction with the Restore Key Status function (see below).
Restore key status
Use this option to download a previously saved record of the state of talk and listen keys to the matrix to restore the talk and listen keys to their previous states.
This function also restores the states of the panel microphones, panel headsets and panel loudspeakers.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
In the System pane, right-click the matrix icon, and select Configuration >Restore Key
Status.
This function is used in conjunction with the Back up Key Status function (see above).
Firmware options
Use the Firmware options to: l
Update firmware on this matrix.
l
Request a firmware report that contains the details of all the firmware versions on the matrix cards and attached panels which support the function.
Note: You can also update the firmware from the Tools menu, by selecting Apply Firmware
To Matrices.
To display a firmware report, in the System pane, right-click the matrix icon, and select
Firmware > Firmware Report. The firmware report consists of a System Versions
Summary and a Detailed Firmware Version Listing.
The firmware versions are listed in a text window and can be exported to a *.csv file. This file type is usually opened by spreadsheet programs, such as Excel. An example of a firmware report is shown in the image below.
Page 81
The report provides a summary of the firmware versions, followed by a detailed list for all devices that provide this information.
Page 82
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Device
CPU card
Firmware information listed
CPU cards list the boot PROM version, the application version, the versions of the CPLDs and the current settings of the DIP switches.
MVX-A16 card
Fiber card
E-QUE, IVC-32,
LMC-64 cards
E-MADI64-HX
E-DANTE64-HX card
E-IPA-HX card
V-Series panel
MVX-A16 cards list the application version and HDLC version.
Fiber cards list the FPGA version.
Cards list the boot code version, the FPGA version and the application version.
E-MADI cards list the boot code version, the FPGA version, the DSP version, and the application version.
App, Boot, DSP and FPGA versions. Also, a combined Dante module file, .dnt
extension.
App, boot and FPGA.
V-Series main panels list the boot code version, the application version, panel kernel version and the file system version. V-Series expansion panels only list boot and application versions.
i-Series panels report the application version.
ICS-1008/16 panels report the application version.
i-Series panel
ICS-1008/16 panel
ICS-22 panel
Online FreeSpeak II beltpacks (since the last black reset)
ICS-22 panels report the application version.
FreeSpeak
Transceiver/antennas
App, boot, hardware version.
App, boot, hardware version, role.
User access control
Each matrix in a project can be protected from access by unauthorized user accounts. This is controlled using tick boxes listing the available users, and whether they are permitted to change the selected matrix. You can choose between access to the matrix for:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
Everyone l
Administrator l
Selected user
Change IP settings
You can use this feature to change the matrix IP settings. The following screen appears:
Click Edit to change the settings.
Show matrix redundant IP address
You can use this feature to display the matrix redundant IP address.
Delete matrix from project
You can remove matrices from the project using the right-click menu.
1.
In the System pane, right-click the matrix icon, and select Delete Matrix from Project.
The following warning appears:
Page 83
2.
To continue, click OK .
Page 84
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
When the operation is complete, the matrix icon is deleted from the System pane.
Matrix filtering
If there are many matrices in a project, it is possible to select which matrices are visible and configurable in the Palette. If there is more than one matrix in the project, the Configure Filters button is visible in the top left of the screen.
1.
Select Configure Filters , the following screen appears.
2.
Deselect any matrices that you do not wish to be visible in the Palette.
Note : You can also place the cursor over the matrix icon, right-click and then select to filter or unfilter a matrix.
3.
Select Apply . You return to the Palette.
Notes: Deselecting a matrix does not remove it from the project.
Entities from filtered out matrices do not show on screens for non-filtered frames. For example, if you filter matrix 2, then go to, say the fixed groups screen on matrix 1, you do not see any entities from matrix 2. This is only true for entities that are available to be assigned - you always see already assigned entities (existing group members) whether they are filtered or not. In addition, panel programming maintains a separate list of filters.
6
6.1
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Configuring Hardware
This section describes the general procedure for configuring hardware. For specific information about configuration cards, see the relevant section.
Matrix Hardware Setup
To begin configuring the matrix hardware, go to Hardware > Cards and Ports .
Page 85
If the matrix is available on the network (the correct firmware has been loaded and the IP address has been set up), the hardware can be auto-detected by clicking Detect New
Hardware at the top of the screen.
Note: Detect New Hardware is only visible if the Port List Options drop down list at the top of the screen is active.
From the Cards and Ports screen, you can add cards to the available slots on the matrix. You can choose between the following cards: l
MVX-A16 cards – used mainly to connect intercom panels and interface cards and fourwire devices to the matrix
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
E-Que cards – used to connect wireless intercom systems such as FreeSpeak II and for
E1/T1 connection between matrices.
l
E-IPA-HX cards – used to connect IVC ports, FSII IP transceivers (IPTs), FreeSpeak
Edge transceivers and V-Series Iris panels. This can be a combination of up to 64 IP ports or FreeSpeak II wireless beltpack connections (according to license).
l
This card can also be used to send and receive AES67 streams to and from third party SMPTE 2110 compatible devices.
l
This card can also be put into E1 mode and used for E1 transmission to
FreeSpeak II transceivers (card must have at least 32 ports licensed).
l
IVC-32 cards – used to connect IP-enabled V-Series panels, Concert, Agent-IC Mobile
Clients and LQ Series devices.
l
LMC-64 cards – used to allow audio level metering data to Dynam-EC clients over an IP network.
l
E-FIB cards – used to provide fiber trunking between matrices.
l
E-MADI cards – used to provide up to 64 duplex MADI channels or used to connect V-
Series panels over AES-3 (ProGrid) networks.
l
E-DANTE cards – used to provide up to 64 channels of audio networking using
Dante/AES67 network protocols and software, so that you can transport many channels of high-quality audio via a Clear-Com matrix to multiple Dante/AES67 enabled devices.
Note: When you add or remove a card in your configuration, the following message appears:
6.2
Matrix Hardware
The Hardware menu is used to build up the configuration of the Eclipse HX system.
Page 86
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
6.3
The Eclipse HX system combines hardware items with port functions. Hardware items may include configuration cards, interface cards, ports (panels or Interfaces) and RLY-6/GPI-6 modules. Port functions also use this link and provides access to the advanced settings for ports and where local preferences are configured.
Note: To build a configuration, at least one card of any type, apart from E-FIB (fiber only) must be configured in an Eclipse HX-Omega, Eclipse HX-Median or Eclipse HX-Delta matrix.
If no cards are fitted, the first available slot should be configured in EHX as if an MVX-
A16 card or E-QUE wireless card was present for the map to build.
Selecting Card Slots
When in the Cards and Ports menu, you have a list of card slots in the left-hand side of the
System Pane. You can select a slot by clicking on it. You can select multiple slots by pressing the
Shift key and clicking. You can also select and deselect non-adjacent slots by pressing the Ctrl key and clicking.
Page 87
6.4
6.5
6.5.1
6.5.2
6.5.3
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Selecting Ports on the Card
When you select a card in the list of Card Slots, you see all the card's ports, configured and unconfigured, in the System Pane.
Note: If you use the shift and Ctrl keys to select more than one card, only configured ports are shown.
Port List Options
Click Port Options at the top of the screen to hide or show the Show All Ports, Detect
New Hardware and Show Alt Text buttons, and the Search dialog.
Show all Ports
When you select this option, all the cards are selected, and all configured ports on any card are shown in the System pane.
Detect New Hardware
If the matrix is available on the network (the correct firmware has been loaded and the IP address has been set up), the hardware can be auto-detected by clicking Detect New
Hardware . It will detect new matrix cards, panels and interfaces.
Show Alt Text
There is an alternative text key called Alt Text that you can configure on panels to enable text to change between normal text and alternate text.
The Alt Text key can be placed anywhere on a panel. This key can be placed on all shift pages concurrently if desired to allow easy access.
When selected, it will turn red, and the panel will show the alternate text.
Dynam-EC (and third-party HCI clients) alias text labels will override whichever state the panel is in. For more information, see the Dynam-EC User Guide . You can enter alternate text on all the entity screens. You can toggle the Alt Text button to show or hide the alternate text.
One possible use of alternate text is to set up a dual language configuration on the panel, for example to allow panels to display Arabic by default in a Middle Eastern broadcast installation.
English speakers could then select the Alt Text key on a panel to see the English equivalents to the Arabic labels.
Another use could be that both the role name and user name could be configured for each panel or beltpack port. This would allow panel users to see either the name or the role depending on the Alt Text mode selected.
Page 88
6.6
6.7
6.8
6.9
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Click Alt Text to display or hide the alternative text column.
Port Number
The Port Number field is non-editable. Port numbering is presented in the format
<Card>.<Position> (<Absolute Position>) , where:
<Card> is the card slot of the interface card.
<Position> is the port number on the interface card.
<Absolute Position> is the port number that is achieved by counting through all the ports on the matrix (including all the ports on the cards that were installed to the matrix before this card).
Port Function
Each port in a system must be assigned a port function which specifies the port’s intended use, including what type of device is connected to the port.
The port’s intended use is important as the system treats a port differently if it is connected to a user panel rather than a telephony interface for example.
Port Function can be entered manually, or automatically detected by the Detect Hardware feature if devices that support the function are connected and powered.
The Port Function column displays each port’s functions in the current configuration. Each line in this column features a drop-down menu listing the available port type options. These options vary for different matrix cards.
Label
This is a label for the port used to assign the port to a path. The label has 10 characters, or can be split into two parts, each of maximum five characters. It is a global setting. To specify the label format: l
Select Tools > Enable Ten Character Labels for 10-character labels l
Deselect Tools > Enable Ten Character Labels for two five-character labels
Note: Individual ports can be set to 5-character mode using the split label option.
Description
This is an optional description of the port, up to 255 characters long.
Page 89
6.10
6.11
6.12
6.13
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Search Ports
Enter a key word to search for ports on the matrix.
Search Properties
Enter a key word to search for configuration options in the Properties drop-down menus.
System Configuration Limits
The configuration limits for the Eclipse HX matrix system are as follows:
Configuration item Limit (Max. number)
Fixed Groups
Partylines
999 (across whole linked set)
399 (across whole linked set)
Partyline members 64
IFBs 200
GPSF
Controls
Physical ports
Beltpack roles
3200
999
496 (36 on Eclipse HX-PiCos)
200
Matrices
Keys
Key Groups
Sort Groups
64
249600
100 (across whole linked set)
64 per frame
System Hardware Limits
The following limits apply:
Page 90
Page 91
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
IVC-32, E-Que and LMC-64 cards are high-power devices, and you can only install a total of four of these cards in an Eclipse Median or Delta frame. If more high-power cards are installed, the CPU only services the first four cards (based on lower slot numbers). In this case, a warning message is sent to the event log every 10 minutes.
l
This information is summarized in the table below:
Card
IVC-32
Maximum number with Power-One/Bel
Fuse PSU (720379Z)
Maximum number with another PSU
6 4
LMC-64
E-Que antenna/splitter
E-Que with EM signalling enabled
E-Que other
6
4
4
4
4
4
6 6
If you attempt to add a high-power card to a matrix that already has the maximum number installed, a warning displays.
If you add fifth or sixth high-power card to an Omega matrix the following message appears:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
6.14
To continue, add the model number of your PSU.
Note: Fitting a fan tray is recommended if you install more than four high-power cards.
Go Live Configuration
Go Live configuration allows the EHX user to directly access configuration information from the matrix and update the matrix configuration used by EHX. All the Live Configuration facilities require an Ethernet connection to the matrix.
Page 92
7
7.1
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Applying Eclipse HX Changes
When you create or edit a configuration or add hardware to the system, you must apply the changes to the Eclipse HX system before any changes can take effect.
Note: You can create and edit a configuration file and save it for later use without applying the map. However, you must apply the file to a matrix before the changes can take effect.
Do one of the following to apply the configuration: l
Select Tools > Apply Changes To Matrix .
l
From the Layout Pane, right-click the matrix and then select Apply Map To Matrix .
l
From the Main Menu, select Apply Map To Matrix .
l
From the keyboard, press CTRL+D . This is a shortcut for Apply Map To Matrix .
Apply Map to Matrix
1.
Select Tools > Apply Changes To Matrix.
When this function is selected, a dialog is displayed to confirm the action.
Page 93
2.
To continue, click OK . To cancel, click Cancel .
The options button displays a further dialog allowing the user to set up actions after the apply.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
7.1.1
3.
Select Merge to allow the current EHX configuration to be merged with the matrix configuration before applying the map. Use this facility if the rack configuration has been changed because of making changes in EHX Go Live mode or from assignment panels.
4.
Select the required option (or options) and then click OK to continue applying the map.
The configuration is built and applied to the matrix.
Apply Changes with Reset
1.
Select Apply changes with reset (to initialise new hardware or add trunks) to reset the matrix and any crosspoints. Talk/Listen paths are remade.
This type of reset is required for: l
Applying completely new configurations l
Hardware changes
Page 94
7.1.2
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
Any locally assigned keys are cleared.
l
Trunk changes
Apply Changes with Reset and Clear all Memory
1.
Select Apply changes with reset and clear all memory (overwrite matrix with EHX configuration) to clear down any active routes and reset the matrix to the EHX default configuration. Any local changes to groups, partylines or IFBs made through i-Series panels, V-Series panels and Dynam-EC are reset to the EHX map default.
This type of reset (also known as a Black reset) is used for: l
Correcting erroneous or spurious crosspoints.
l
Any locally assigned keys are also lost.
l
Crosspoints - all active keys are reset to off.
l
Crosspoint levels - all panel listen levels are rest to normal.
l
Locally assigned keys - any locally assigned keys are deleted, including Fast Assign
Keys.
l
Local panel microphone settings - all panel microphone settings are set to the EHX downloaded value.
l
Local panel sidetone gains are set to the EHX downloaded value.
l
Key status - all keys are unmade.
l
Any local changes to groups, party lines and IFBs made through i-Series panels, V-
Series panels and Dynam-EC are reset to the EHX map default.
l
Locally assigned fixed groups - all groups are reset to the EHX default.
l
Locally assigned partylines and Dynam-EC -all partylines are reset to the EHX default.
l
Locally assigned IFBs and Dynam-EC -all IFBs are reset to the EHX default.
l
Locally assigned forced listens and Dynam-EC -all Forced listens are reset to the EHX default.
l
Input levels - Matrix input levels are reset to the EHX download value.
l
Output levels - Matrix output levels are reset to the EHX download value.
l
OTA registration – OTA registration is cleared. Therefore, any registrations that have not been retrieved will be lost.
Page 95
7.2
7.3
7.4
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Apply to all Matrices
Select this option if the EHX operator: l
Is making the first download of a new linked set.
l
Has added or removed a Reserve Port.
l
Has added a remote member to a partyline.
l
Has added a remote key to a partyline.
l
Has changed the trunk lines of any type.
Preserving Locally Assigned Keys
When a map is applied, all the locally assigned keys (keys assigned from a panel rather than
EHX) are lost unless a merge operation is performed before the apply. If you wish to retain these keys in the new configuration:
Go into Go Live mode and merge the locally assigned keys with the new configuration before applying and then save the modified project.
The configuration can then be applied with the locally assigned keys preserved in the new configuration.
Apply Changes to all Matrices
1.
Select System > Apply Changes to all Matrices to apply a configuration to all matrices in the system. Clicking this function opens the following dialog. The dialog includes reset options.
Page 96
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
7.5
The reset options comprise: l
Apply with no reset . The configuration is applied without resetting the matrices in the system.
l
Apply and reset . The configuration and a red reset are applied to the matrices after applying (the matrices and any crosspoints are reset, and Talk/Listen paths are remade).
l
Apply and reset, clearing all talk paths and listen levels . The configuration and a black reset are applied to the matrices after applying the map (the configuration is applied, the matrices are reset, and active routes and local assignments are cleared).
2.
Select an option. To continue, click Apply Changes to all Matrices .
Note: When you apply changes to all matrices without a reset, the changed configuration is applied to each matrix in parallel. However, the configuration on each matrix is processed sequentially, from low matrix ID number to high matrix ID number.
Configuration Application Preferences
From Configuration > Preferences > Apply Map you can specify which of the options are selected by default when applying changes to matrix frames.
Page 97
Page 98
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
You can select (or deselect) one or more of the following options (the default is deselected): l
Delete all locally made key assignments (Key assignments that were made locally from either panel menus or in Go Live mode).
l
Delete all locally made Forced Listen or dynamic IFB assignments (IFBs or
Forced Listen assignments that were made locally from either panel menus, Dynam-EC or in Go Live mode).
l
Delete all locally made I/O level changes (Input and Output levels that were modified by panels or Dynam-EC. Crosspoint I/O levels are unaffected).
l
Delete all locally made Fixed Group member changes (Fixed Group members that were modified from a panel).
l
Delete all locally made Partyline member changes (Partyline members that were added locally from a panel).
Note: The following option only applies if an E-QUE FS II-TA Antenna/Splitter is configured.
l
Delete all un-fetched over-the-air beltpack registrations (Deletes all beltpacks registered over-the-air but not yet brought into the configuration using Hardware >
Beltpacks > Fetch Registered Beltpacks From Matrix .
8
8.1
8.2
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Adding and Configuring an MVX-A16 Card
The MVX-A16 is a 16-port matrix card designed to connect 16 intercom panels, interfaces or external four-wire devices to the Eclipse HX System (Eclipse HX-Omega, Eclipse HX-Median and Eclipse HX-Delta only). MVX-A16 cards can be added, removed and viewed in the matrix hardware screen.
Adding an MVX-A16 Card (Automatic Discovery)
The MVX-A16 card is automatically discovered when: l
You select the Discover Hardware option after the Matrix is placed on the System
Layout from the discovery pane.
l
You right-click a matrix on the System Layout screen, and then select Configuration
> Select New Configuration > Discover Hardware.
Adding an MVX-A16 Card (Manual)
To add an MVX-A16 card:
1.
In Hardware > Cards and Ports , navigate to an available slot number (marked Empty ).
Do either of the following: l
Double-click the slot.
l
Right-click the slot and select Set Card Type .
2.
A drop-down menu is displayed, listing the available card types. Select MVX-A16 .
Page 99
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 100
3.
Repeat this step for the number of required MVX cards.
Note : You can also change an existing card by right-clicking the slot and selecting Set
Card Type . (Changing the type of card deletes any ports, panels and keys that exist on the card).
Note : Clear-Com recommends that you place any card that is being used for trunking as close to the right-hand side of the frame as possible (highest slot number).
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
When you add or remove card to the matrix configuration, the following screen might appear unless the Hide this warning until EHX is restarted option has been selected:
4.
Click OK to continue.
If your configuration contains linked matrices, the following message might appear when you try to apply changes to the matrix:
8.3
5.
Click View Configuration Differences to see a list of possible interconnection issues.
6.
Click OK to continue or Cancel .
Removing an MVX-A16 Card
To remove an MVX-A16 card from the configuration:
1.
In Hardware > Cards and Ports , navigate to the slot number of the MVX-A16 card you want to delete.
2.
Right-click the slot and select Set Card Type .
3.
A drop-down menu is displayed, listing the available card types. Select Empty .
4.
A warning dialog is displayed. To confirm the deletion, click Yes .
Page 101
8.4
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
When you remove a card, the warning message (Hardware change – reset required) above might appear.
Setting the Port Function
To set the port function:
1.
Click the Port Function field. A drop-down menu is displayed.
Page 102
2.
From the drop-down menu, select the desired device (user panels and interfaces that may be connected to the port).
The available device types are listed below:
Page 103 l l
AES Mono l
CCI-22 l
HelixNet l
Empty
ICS-1008/ICS-22 l
ICS-1016 l
Direct (4 wire external) l
FOR-22 l
I-Station l
LQ-SIP l
Panel Aux l
Telephone (TEL-14) l
Trunk (matrix to matrix network trunk line)
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
V 1RU Lever l
V 1RU Push l
V 1RU Rotary l
V 2RU Lever
(24 Keys) l
V 2RU Lever
(32 Keys) l
V 2RU Push l
V 2RU Rotary l
V Desktop
Lever l
V Desktop
Push l
V Desktop
Rotary
Notes: You can configure a port for an ICS-22 panel. See
If you right-click on a port and select Find Usages, a list of other EHX entities which refer to the port is given.
8.4.1
Device Details
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 104
Page 105
CCI-22
HelixNet
ICS-1008/22
ICS-1016
Direct
FOR-22
AES Mono
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Used with the AES-6-RJ and
AES-6-CX interfaces providing a monaural connection to third party equipment.
Used with the CCI-22 interface card, or other interface to a physical 2-Wire
Party Line. Call signals are sent to and received from an external Clear-Com party line in the same way that they are sent between panels within the Eclipse HX System.
Analogue 4-wire connection to the Helixnet HLI-4W2 module.
Used with the 1RU ICS-1008 panel and the ICS-22 panel.
Used with the 1RU ICS-1016 panel.
Used to connect directly to an external 4 wire or balanced audio device.
Used with the FOR-22 interface card. This has several different functions.
The commonly used applications are:
Page 106
AES Mono
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Used with the AES-6-RJ and
AES-6-CX interfaces providing a monaural connection to third party equipment.
Two-Way Radio — When the 2-Way Radio port function is selected, the port is configured to operate a push-to-talk two-way radio system. The call signal output activates a relay to key the radio’s transmitter.
If the FOR-22 is to be used as a 2-Way Radio from remote systems, the FOR-22 relay should be added as a secondary action in
Attached Control Options .
When the FOR-22 is in 2-
Way Radio mode, the matrix has control of the relay and automatically fires it.
Page 107
I-Station
AES Mono
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Used with the AES-6-RJ and
AES-6-CX interfaces providing a monaural connection to third party equipment.
Four-wire —When the port is wired directly to an external device. Normally four-wire functions are only audio connections and do not use call signals. By default, when a four-wire port is connected to a FOR-22 four-wire Audio
Interface, a call signal sent to the port from the Eclipse HX
System activates the FOR-22 channel’s relay. Alternatively, this relay can be activated by attaching the relay name to a control label configured in the
Control Manager.
When the FOR-22 is in fourwire mode the relay will not automatically fire. To make the relay fire when a talk path to the FOR-22 is created a control must be created and added as a secondary action in the Attached Control
Options for the FOR-22.
When enabled in Partyline mode the FOR-22 allows panels to listen to all commands to/from the interface.
Used to connect an I-Station intercom panel.
Page 108
LQ SIP
Panel Aux
TEL-14
AES Mono
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Used with the AES-6-RJ and
AES-6-CX interfaces providing a monaural connection to third party equipment.
Used to connect a matrix to an LQ device SIP client.
Used with an AES-6-CX/RJ interface or 4-wire direct port to provide a binaural connection to a panel supporting split-ear operation. This port type must be configured as part of a pair of ports to provide a binaural connection to the panel. The first or master port of the pair is configured for the attached panel in the normal way and the Aux Port is the second port configured under Basic Settings.
Used to operate a TEL-14 telephony interface. The call signal output is used as a request from the Eclipse HX system for the interface to go off-hook. A call signal sent from the TEL-14 interface to the Eclipse HX indicates that the line is ringing or that the line is off-hook.
8.5
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Trunk
AES Mono
V 1RU Lever
V 1RU Push
V 1RU Rotary
V 2RU Lever (24 Key)
V 2RU Lever (32 Key)
V 2RU Push
V 2RU Rotary
V Desktop Lever
V Desktop Push
V Desktop Rotary
Used with the AES-6-RJ and
AES-6-CX interfaces providing a monaural connection to third party equipment.
Used to allow the port to function as an intelligent trunk line to a remote matrix. The linking network matrices must be configured in the System pane and cannot be configured from the Matrix
Hardware setup. The
Linking Options shown under the Advanced
Settings menu is for information only.
These options are all used with V-Series panels.
Port Properties
To edit port properties, go to Hardware > Cards and Ports , and then select the required port.
In the right-hand window, select the required property drop-down list.
Page 109
8.5.1
Basic Options
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 110
The following Basic Options are available:
Port number
The port number the device is configured on.
Note : Not available on Concert panels.
Alias (remote matrix)
Aliases allow labels to appear differently on a remote system compared to the local system
Alt Text
Provides an entry field for the alternative text label on this port.
Comment
Enter an optional comment about the port and what it is used for.
Description
Enter an optional description about the port and what it is used for.
Dial code
Provides information on the unique dial code for this port. This is used in fast key assign operations on a panel.
Module application
This option is only available if the MVX-A-16 card port is configured as:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
CCI-22 l
HelixNet l
Direct l
FOR-22
This allows you to select the application type for the interface: l
Partyline - this is used with a CCI-22 interface module to connect to an Encore Partyline system. See
l
Two-Way Radio – this is used with a FOR-22 interface module to connect to a thirdparty two-way radio system. See
l
Direct – this is used with a four-wire connection l
HelixNet – this is used with the HelixNet digital partyline system.
Notes: The Module Application selection is also available with the IVC-32 card when Port
Function is set to Hosted Direct. Hosted Direct is an option to enable up to two additional IP channels on an IVC-32 card.
If you select Partyline, Two-Way Radio or HelixNet on a second additional IP hosted direct sub-channel, the Mute Relay option for the parent channel is no longer active.
There is no DTMF support for the Module Applications.
Label
The port label specified in the port settings table (a combined Talk/Listen label is shown unless the option for 10 character labels is turned off).
Split label
Page 111
If Split Label is set, the first five characters and the last five characters of a label are displayed separately. This allows you to treat the input and output of a port as separately labeled entities. If this option is not set all ten characters are shown (on panels that support ten characters). The main label is colored red - for talk out to the port (destination) and the label is colored green - for listening to the port (source listen).
Reserve port
Reserves a unique trunk port for this label. This only applies to E-FIB trunks unless the trunking is between a two-matrix linked set, when it also applies to non-E-FIB trunks.
Note : Not available for AES Mono and Panel Aux.
8.5.2
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Panel Options
These options are only available on ports that are configured as V-Series or I-Station panels.
Page 112
Page 113
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
The following Panel options are available:
Reply tally auto clear time
The time a port name/tally LED shows on the reply key before it is cleared. To adjust the time, select and set the time as required. The time can be set from 1 to 60 seconds. Setting to off prevents the system from clearing the reply tally automatically. The default is 10 seconds.
Display brightness
Sets the display brightness on panels that have a suitable display. To adjust the display brightness, select the brightness box to display the adjustment slider and use the mouse to drag the slider to the required setting. The brightness is adjustable from 0 to 10. The default setting is
3.
Note : Not available on Concert Panel.
Display dim timer
Sets the time interval in minutes before the display on an inactive panel is dimmed to extend the display's longevity. To adjust the time setting select the timer box and adjust to the required setting. The timer is adjustable from five seconds to 120 seconds.
Note : Only available on V-Series Panels.
Dual reply keys
Select this option to add a second Reply key to a V-Series Panel. By default, the second Reply key is added immediately to the right of the first Reply key. If this position is in use, a message is displayed allowing you to overwrite this key or to select a new location for the second Reply key.
To select a new location, use the REPLY 2 special entity in panel programming.
Note : You can only reply to the last two calls. Calls are not stacked.
The following points apply: l
If neither Reply key has incoming calls, the first Reply key is always populated first.
l
If both Reply keys have incoming calls, another incoming call replaces the older of the two original incoming calls.
l
If a Reply is latched, it will not be replaced by another incoming call.
Page 114
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
If both Reply keys are latched, further incoming calls will be heard but will not appear on the Reply keys.
Note : Only available on V-Series Panels.
Eavesdropping (privacy)
When this is deselected, other panels cannot eavesdrop on a panel’s microphone input, unless that panel has an active talk key pressed to another port in the Eclipse HX System. If this box is checked, other panels can monitor a panel’s microphone input, even without any activated talk keys. By default, a panel’s microphone output is off until a talk key is pressed. The panel’s Mic
ON/OFF control always takes priority over eavesdropping.
The default setting is disabled.
Note: Eavesdropping must be enabled (checked) for a panel to act as an ISO destination so that the panel microphone can be remotely enabled by the ISO caller if it is not enabled at the destination.
Expansion panels
Some types of panels can support multiple expansion panels. If this option is available selecting the expansion panel number attached box opens a menu showing the type of expansion panels that can be fitted to the host panel. The types of expansion panels listed vary according to the main panel type.
Page 115
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Main Panel
V12LD
V24LD
V12PD
V24PD
V12RD
V24RD
V32LD
V12LDD
V12PDD
V12RDD i-Station
Expansion Panel
V12LDE
V12LDE
V12PDE
V12PDE
V12RDE
V12RDE
V16LDE
V12LDE
V12PDE
V12RDE
E Station, V Station
Note: V-Series Iris Panels only support V-Series Iris expansion Panels.
Headset mic type
The Headset Mic Type allows the type of headset microphone to be configured. To set the microphone type highlight the item to allow the drop-down menu to be displayed. The options for headset microphones are Dynamic Balanced, Dynamic Unbalanced (default) and Electret. This setting applies to headsets 1 and 2 on panels that support multiple headsets.
Note: Only available on V-Series Panels.
Headset PTT function
The Push To Talk (PTT) function allows the action for PTT to be selected. The options are: l
No Function l
Activate All Talk Keys l
Activate Two-Way Radio.
The default is No Function . This function is triggered by any of the PTT inputs on a panel.
Page 116
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
In the case of V-Series panels this function only relates to XLR-4 and XLR-5 type headsets that have been modified for PTT. V-Series XLR-7 headsets and headsets connected to the auxiliary audio connector use the logic 1 and 2 inputs (see
These functions are: l
No Function - PTT has no effect.
l
Activate All Talk Keys - PTT activates audio paths on all latched talk keys. Non-latching talk keys are not activated.
l
Activate Two-Way Radio - PTT activates audio paths on all latched talk keys connected to two-way radios (normally via a FOR-22 unit).
Note: Not available on Concert Panels.
Headset LS cut
When enabled this facility automatically cuts the audio to the panel loudspeaker if a headset is detected. The default setting is enabled.
Note: Only available on V-Series Panels.
Latchable Reply Key
This facility enables you to set the Reply Key as latchable. When it is latched, the Reply Key will not timeout. If you have stacked Reply Keys, a latched Reply Key is unlatched if you leave the
Reply Key when navigating stacked keys with the up and down volume keys. The key is also unlatched after doing a red reset.
Notes: If the incoming call is from a panel that has Global Options > Latch Disable checked, the Reply Key will not latch even if Latchable Reply Key is checked. If a different panel, without this setting, calls in this key can be latched.
Only available on V-Series Panels.
Listen again auto delete
The Listen again auto delete timeout sets the length of time in minutes before a message recorded in the listen again buffer is automatically deleted. It ranges from 1 to 100 minutes. It is possible to disable the autodelete.
Note : Only available on V-Series Panels.
LS cut button operation
Page 117
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
This configures the behavior of the V-Series Panel Loudspeaker (LS) Cut button. There are four settings available: l
Default – the LS Cut button toggles between on and off. When on, the loudspeaker and auxiliary loudspeaker audio is muted.
l
LS Cut ON & Btn disabled – The loudspeaker and auxiliary loudspeaker audio is permanently muted.
l
LS Cut OFF & Btn disabled - The loudspeaker and auxiliary loudspeaker audio is permanently available.
l
ON & Btn disabled if HS detected - The loudspeaker and auxiliary loudspeaker audio is cut if a headset is detected and cannot be uncut until the headset is removed.
Otherwise, the behavior is the same as Default.
Note : If the loudspeaker and auxiliary loudpeaker audio is cut, Page Override can temporarily enable it.
Note : Only available on V-Series Panels.
Mute relay
If this is enabled, the local panel GPO mute relay is fired when a Talk only key is pressed on that panel. The default setting is false.
Note: This function is not active if you configure the V-Series Panel with a second additional sub-channel that has function Two-Way Radio, Partyline or HelixNet.
Nearby panel partial
This attribute affects the way that Nearby Panels configured in Local Advanced operate.
The Nearby Panel Partial attribute is set to True to enable audio from nearby panels to be routed to the headset. If it is not set audio from nearby panels is cut completely to prevent audio feedback.
Page override allowed
The panel main volume audio can be overridden by paging audio from another panel. The default setting is disabled. For Page Override to operate this must be set to True on any destination panel where the local main volume setting may need to be overridden by a calling panel. This is used in conjunction with Page Gain.
Page 118
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page gain
Allows the Page Override gain to be set.
Select the required level. The level range is from 0 to 10. The default volume setting is 4.
This is used in conjunction with Page Override.
Note : Only available on Concert, V-Series and I-Series Panels.
Gooseneck mic type
The Gooseneck Mic Type allows you to select the panel microphone type.
There are three options: l
Dynamic Balanced l
Dynamic Unbalanced l
Electret (default)
To set the microphone type, select from the drop-down list.
Note : Only available on V-Series Panels.
Panel text orientation
Determines the orientation of label text on V-Series Panels. There are three options: l
Horizontal l
90 Degrees Anti-Clockwise l
90 Degrees Clockwise
Note : Only available on V-Series Panels.
Line release
Allows the panel to release the selected telephone line which may be held on by the incoming caller anywhere in the system. The default is disabled.
Note : Not available on Concert.
Enhanced Tallies
Enables the enhanced tallies for rotary panel displays.
Note : Only available on rotary V-Series Panels.
Page 119
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Keep hidden keys active
When enabled, the I-Station keeps calls on inactive shift pages alive. When disabled, any latched calls are ended when the user navigates away from the shift page. The default is disabled.
Note: Only available on i-Station Panels.
Screen saver timer
The screen saver timer facility sets the length of time before the screen saver is displayed on an inactive panel. The screen saver is used to prevent the display being damaged by being left for long periods with the same display. The time may be set to any value between 1 and 60 minutes.
It cannot be disabled.
If the dim timer is set to a value other than Always Dim the screen saver timer only starts after the screen has dimmed. For example, if the dim timer is set to 1 minute and the screen saver timer is set to 1 minute the screen saver starts after 2 minutes. If the dim timer is set to Always Dim the screen saver inactivity timer starts immediately.
Note : Only available on V-Series Panels.
Headset always ON
This option forces the panel H/S button to be permanently ON. This means that a panel user cannot use a connected gooseneck microphone, even when a headset is not connected.
Note : Only available on V-Series Panels
Disable call signal
This option prevents a panel user from sending a call signal to another destination port.
Note : Only available on V-Series Panels.
Disable send level
This option is only available on rotary panels. It prevents a panel user changing the send level by pressing and holding the talk key and simultaneously turning the rotary control key.
Speaker Dim
Sets the dim level for the speaker when a talk key is pressed on the panel.
Note : Only available on I-Series panels and V-Series Panels.
8.5.3
Assignment Panel (AP) Options
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
8.5.4
These options apply to V-Series and I-Series Panels only.
The Port Properties options for an AP panel (Assignment Panel) enable features that can be performed directly from the panel keys. They include: l
Fixed Group Assignment . Set to True or False (default False). Allows the panel operator to select ports to be assigned to a fixed group.
l
IFB Assignment . Set to True or False (default False). Allows the panel operator to select ports as sources to be assigned to an IFB.
l
Partyline Assignment . Set to True or False (default False). Allows the panel operator to select ports as fixed members of a party line.
Menu Options
These options apply only to V-Series and I-Station panels. For more details, see
Page 120
Local preferences access
Page 121
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Allow access to the local preferences menu via the local menu option. This allows access to audio level control, brightness settings, timeouts and crosspoint reset. Access may be enabled for all users (True), denied to all users (False) or controlled by the PIN number.
Select the option and click on the arrow to open the drop-down menu. Select the required access.
Diagnostic menu access
Allow access to the panel diagnostic menu via the local menu option. This allows some panel information to be displayed and access to panel reset and telephone line release functions.
Access may be enabled for all users (True), denied to all users (False) or controlled by the PIN number.
Select the option and click on the arrow to open the drop-down menu. Select the required access.
Note : Only on V-Series Panels.
Messaging enabled
Allows V-Series panels access to the Messaging facility. This enables panel users to record messages that other users can hear when they talk to the panel.
This is commonly used in the commissioning / setting up of a system, or as an "out of office" / away from desk message. This feature is enabled by default.
Note : Only on V-Series Panels.
Dial Mode Access
Enables access to dial mode, where the panel has a dial pad for DTMF dialing. This is enabled by default.
Note : Only on I-Station Panels.
System Information Menu Access
Enables access to the System information menu on the panel. This allows the panel user to view major system settings. This is enabled by default.
Note : Only on I-Station Panels.
System configuration menu access
8.5.5
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Allows access to the system configuration menu via the local menu option. This allows access to partyline, fixed group, remote panel, local panel, forced listen, input level and output level menus.
Access may be enabled for all users (True), denied to all users (False) or controlled by the PIN number.
1.
Select the option and click on the arrow to open the drop-down menu. Select the required access.
Note : Only on V-Series Panels.
Supervisor mode access
When 'Supervisor Mode Access' is enabled the panel has access to the Supervisor Mode via a new 'Supervise' key in the panel Menu. Alternatively, a special entity key 'SUPR' can be added directly to any page to access supervisor mode via the panel programming screen. For more information, see the V-Series Panels User Guide .
Note: The supervisor panel must be of the same key type as the panel it is controlling.
You can select whether the labels on a panel supervising or being supervised are inverted or not.
To do so:
1.
Go to Configuration > Preferences > Panel & Key Operation .
2.
Select or deselect: l
Disable Supervisee Label Text Inversion check box l
Disable Supervisor Label Text Inversion check box.
Note: Only available on V-Series Panels and V-Series Iris Panels.
Voice Operated Switch (VOX) Options
Page 122
Four settings are available under Port Properties > Voice Operated Switch . These settings determine how the audio gate operates.
8.5.6
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
Audio Detection Release Delay determines how quickly the audio gate closes when the operator stops speaking. Adjust this value so that the audio gate does not close too early and cut off words at the end of sentences or during small gaps.
l
Audio Gating turns the audio gate function on or off. By default, this setting is off. This function gates (performs a logical AND) on the crosspoint and the VOX detection threshold. If the crosspoint is made from the port and the input VOX level exceeds the detection threshold, then audio is passed to the port.
l
Audio Presence Tally (also known as VOX tally) causes a panel’s listen key to flash on a panel whenever audio above the set threshold level is detected.
l
Audio Detection Threshold sets the audio level at which the audio gate opens.
Typically, the threshold value is set at the level of a human voice, so that when a person speaks into the microphone, the audio gate switches open to allow audio onto the intercom line. When the person stops speaking, the gating delay passes and the gate closes, even if background noise is present.
Recommended levels are -3dB for panels and -20dB for interfaces.
If the VOX control option is configured, the control activates when the gate opens.
Global Options
Page 123
The following Global options are available:
Auto listen
Page 124
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
This function enables a port for auto-listen. When a panel activates a talk to a destination that is configured for auto-listen, a listen path from that destination back to the source panel is also activated automatically for the duration of the call. In this way, the source receives audio from the destination without the destination having to specifically activate a talk back to the source. It is generally used on interfaces and four-wires.
The default setting depends on the port type.
Note: For Auto Listen to work correctly on external four-wire ports the MVX-A16 port must have the destination TX/RX data pins looped together.
Auto signal tone (auto call signal)
This function enables a panel or interface port for automatic call signaling. If a talk path is activated to a destination that has been configured for auto-call signaling, the call signal is sent to the destination for the duration of the talk. Auto-call signals are most commonly used with external devices that require a control signal to activate them.
If a port set for auto-call signaling joins a partyline, or is preset to a partyline, an auto-call is not sent to the port if the talk is to the partyline.
The default setting is disabled.
For panels which support Auto Signal - Call Signal must be enabled.
Panel connected tally
This allows the system to set a tally (flashing LED) on a panel indicating that the corresponding panel is connected to the system. The default is disabled.
This is normally used on remotely connected panels where the panel to matrix communications may suffer from an occasional loss of service.
Not available for CCI-22, AES Mono, Panel Aux and Direct (no keys).
Global ISO
This function enables a panel or interface as a global ISO (Isolate) destination.
Any panel activating a talk to a global ISO destination creates a private, two-way talk path between that panel and the destination.
Page 125
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
All other communications are interrupted by any call from any Panel or Interface in the Eclipse
HX System. When the source terminates the call, its audio paths return to their previous state.
When all ISO paths to the destination are deactivated, the destinations’ audio paths return to their previous states. For ISO talks to also interrupt listens at the source, select the ISO Interrupts
All Other Listens check box in Configuration > Matrix Preferences . The default is disabled.
ISOs are always local to the matrix, so the source and destination must be devices on the same matrix. An ISO destination cannot be set to a remote matrix.
Note: If the destination of an ISO is a panel, then Eavesdropping must be enabled in Panel
Options to activate the panel microphone if it is not already activated. If the destination is not a panel but a device such as a four-wire port Eavesdropping does not need to be enabled for the destination device.
Hardware detection
This option enables the matrix to detect what kind of end device is connected to the port.
If you are using Optocore or BroaMan devices, ensure that this option is disabled.
Note : This option is only available for four-wire interfaces.
Global latch disable
This function prevents talk keys to the port latching. If a latch-disabled port is assigned to a talk key, the user can only talk to the port for as long as the operator physically holds down the key
(PTT action). A latch-disabled port can be included in a fixed group or party line without automatically latch disabling the entire fixed group or party line.
The default setting is global latch enabled.
Mute listen with talk
This option mutes incoming audio when the Talk key is pressed.
Note : This option is only available for interfaces and 4-wire directs.
Partyline turnaround
Any other ports that talk or listen to the port are automatically enrolled in a hidden partyline. This means that any other port that can listen to this port can hear every port that talks to this port.
Prevent reply signalization
Page 126
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Prevents key signalization for the port appearing on the reply key of any panels.
IF caller priority
Allows you to assign an IFB priority when the port is used as an IFB caller. Priorities range from 1
(lowest) to 5 (highest). The default is 3.
Note: When a port is added to an IFB as a source to the IFB, the routing will be applied at priority 1 regardless of the setting in the field.
IFB
Select this box to make the port an IFB destination. To configure the IFB source, use the IFB screen ( Configuration > IFBs ) or the Local Advanced screen ( Configuration >Local
Advanced ).
If you select the IFB box, the following screen appears:
8.5.7
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
You can: l
Choose to have an automatically generated name for the IFB (recommended).
l
Change all references to the physical port to refer to the IFB.
Telephone Options
These options apply to LQ SIP and Telephone (TEL-14) port functions.
The following telephone options are available:
Inhibit Panel Callout
This option prevents a panel from manually dialling out on a telephone line.
Off Hook Tally
This option enables a tally light that flashes when the phone is off the hook.
Disconnect by Remote Hangup Only
This option disconnects the telephone call only when incoming caller hangs up.
Page 127
8.5.8
Gain Options
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 128
The following Gain options are available:
Aux volume off limit
Sets the minimum limit for the auxiliary audio output so that the volume cannot be turned completely off. Default value is off, meaning the auxiliary audio can be turned off.
Note : Only available on V-Series panels.
Headset 1 sidetone permanently on
Turns the headset 1 sidetone permanently on.
Note : Only available on V-Series and i-Station panels.
Headset 2 sidetone permanently on
Turns the headset 2 sidetone permanently on.
Note : Only available on V-Series and i-Station panels.
Input gain
This adjusts the matrix input gain. Use the control to set the required gain from +15 dB to -45dB
(or type in the value). The default is 0dB.
8.5.9
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Main volume off limit
Sets the minimum limit for the main audio output so that the volume cannot be turned completely off.
The default value is -36dB.
Note : Only available on V-Series panels.
Output gain
This adjusts the matrix output gain. Use the control to set the required gain from +15 dB to -45dB
(or type in the value). The default is 0dB.
Sidetone gain
Sets the sidetone gain in dB for the panel. The default is -30dB.
Note : Only available on V-Series and i-Station panels.
Headset 2 mic gain
Sets the gain in dB for the panel headset 2 microphone.
Note : Only available on V-Series panels.
Headset mic gain
Sets the gain in dB for the panel headset microphone. The default value is 50dB for V-Series panels and -8dB for I-Station panels.
Note : Only available on V-Series and i-Station panels.
Gooseneck mic gain
Sets the gain in dB for the gooseneck (panel) microphone in dB.
Note : Only available on V-Series and i-Station panels.
Speaker dim
This is to prevent howlround. When a talk selector is activated on a panel, the speaker volume is attenuated by the value set within speaker dim.
To change the setting select the box with the current setting to display the slider and use the mouse to drag the slider to the new setting. The speaker dim can be adjusted from 0dB to speaker off. The default is -6 dB.
Note : Only available on V-Series panels and i-Stations.
Audible Alert Options
These options apply to Concert, V-Series Panels and I-Station Panels.
Page 129
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
The various configurable audible alerts on panels are as follows:
Call signal tone
When checked, the Call Signal Tone enables an audible tone when a call signal is received by the panel. The call signal can be used to signal an event on another panel. The default setting is disabled.
Change or error tones
When checked, the Change or Error Tones announce whenever the configuration for that panel has changed or when there is an error on the panel. When unchecked Change or Error Tones is disabled. The default setting is disabled.
8.5.10
Monitoring tones
When checked, enables the panel to emit a warning tone when another panel activates a listen to the first panel. If the box is unchecked the Monitoring tone is disabled. The default is disabled.
Tally Options
Page 130
The following Tally options are available:
Dimmed tallies
Page 131
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Enables dimmed Tally lights (the default is enabled). When enabled, keys will always show a dimmed state of the active state.
Note : Only available on V-Series Panels.
Inhibit amber tally
When enabled, prevents the tally light for Talk and Listen keys on V-Series panels from being lit amber . The tally light is only lit red .
Note : Only available on V-Series Panels.
In use tally
This allows the system to set a tally (flashing LED) on a panel key indicating that the port is currently in conversation with another panel or interface. The default is disabled.
Partyline Tally Brightness
Sets the brightness level for Partyline In Use Tallies on that panel. This can be set either dim or bright. The default value is dim.
Note : Only available on V-Series Panels.
Call Management Group In-Use Tally
Uses green LEDS to indicate that other groups are in active group-to-group calls.
Note : Only available on V-Series Panels.
Receiver Active Tally
When a two-way radio interface port is assigned to a talk selector, the red LED will flash once per second when that radio’s receiver is active. This tally must be enabled from the configuration program.
Note : For FOR-22 only.
8.5.11
Fast Key Assign Options
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 132
Enable assignment as a listen
Enables the port to be assigned locally as a listen key by another panel. If it is set to False it prevents a listen key being assigned to the panel using local or fast key assignment.
The default is True.
Note: This functionality only takes effect when making assignments on a V-Series Panel or
Concert Panel.
Enable assignment as talk
Enables the port to be assigned locally as a talk key by another panel. If it is set to False it prevents a Talk key being assigned to the panel using local or fast key assignment.
The default is True.
Note: This functionality only takes effect when making assignments on a V-Series Panel or
Concert Panel.
Default assign as talk and forced listen
Page 133
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
When enabled this forces any key assigned to this port to be a Talk and Forced Listen key. It is interlocked with the Enable Assignment as Listen and Enable Assignment as Talk settings so that whenever the Default Assign as Talk and Forced Listen setting is True, both Enable
Assignment as Listen and Enable Assignment as Talk are forced to the True state. If either or both of these settings is then changed to False the Default Assign as Talk and Forced
Listen setting is automatically changed to False.
When this setting is False the Enable Assignment as Listen and Enable Assignment as
Talk settings can be set normally.
The default setting is False.
Note: This functionality only takes effect when making assignments on a V-Series Panel.
Fast key assign
Enables the panel for Fast Key Assign mode. This facility allows the panel operator to locally assign panel keys to local or remote ports by direct input of the port number into the dial pad. The panel operator can also assign keys directly from sort groups.
The Eclipse HX scalable dialcode scheme for Fast Key Assign is as follows:
<matrix number><entity type><entity instance>
For example, Matrix 1 > Hardware ports > Port 1 would be dialed into the dial pad as
0101001 .
The entity types are:
Entity
Hardware port
Number
01
Partyline 02
Fixed Group
IFB
03
04
Local fast key assign shortcut
If you are using Fast Key Assign on the local system, you do not have to enter the matrix type and entity type.
To use Fast Key Assign on a local system:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
1.
On the V-Series panel dial pad, select # to enter Fast Key Assign mode.
2.
Enter the number of the port you want (for example, 001).
3.
To validate the entry, select * on the dial pad.
Note : For more information about Fast Key Assign, see the V-Series Panel Guide .
Note: Fast Key Assign can only be used on V-Series panels with dial pads (numeric keypads).
Protect port from assignment
Prevents this port from being locally assigned by another panel using local key assign or fast key assign.
8.5.12
Sort groups
Opens a drop-down menu so that sort group memberships can be edited and applied. Once a sort group has been created, you can select which sort groups the panel has access to when making local key assignments.
Note: Not on Concert, AES Mono and Panel Aux.
Logic Input Options
These options apply only to V-Series and I-Station panels.
Page 134
The Logic Inputs are used with GPI connections on panels that are fitted with local option cards, and with V-Series panels.
8.5.13
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
The logic inputs are also associated with PTT function on headset 1 and headset 2 on V-Series panels where the headset is either an XLR-7 type headset connected to the front panel or a headset connected to the auxiliary audio connector. In the case of V-Series panels, headset 1
PTT 1 or headset 2 PTT 1 active has the same effect as Logic 1 active. Headset 1 PTT 2 or headset 2 PTT 2 active has the same effect as Logic 2 active.
The PTT actions for XLR-4 and XLR-5 headsets connected to a V-Series panel are determined by the Headset PTT Function setting. You can find this setting at Hardware > Cards and
Ports > Panel Options .
The following actions are available for both Logic Input 1 and Logic Input 2: l
No Function l
Mic On/Off l
Mute Mic Output to Matrix l
Mic Off (Momentary) l
Activate Reply Key, then Clear Label l
Studio Announce l
Speaker Off l
Activate All Pre-Selected Talk Keys l
Activate Talk Switch 1 l
Activate Talk Switch 2 l
Listen Mode/Again l
Activate All Pre-Selected Two-Way Radio Talk Keys l
Activate Configured Action
The default setting is No Function.
Note: Logic Inputs 3 and 4 are only available on V-Series Panels. Logic inputs 3 is preassigned to Reply Key. Logic input 4 is not currently used.
Attached Control Options
These options do not apply to ports configured as trunk.
Page 135
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
The Port Properties options for an Attached Control are as follows:
Secondary action
The Secondary action allows a Control to be attached to a Port. Whenever a talk route is made to the Port, the Control attachments such as Relays, Routes or Speed Dials, are activated.
8.5.14
Vox action
The VOX action allows a Control to be attached to a port. Whenever the audio level at the Port reaches the Audio Detection Threshold defined in Voice Operated Switch section of Advanced
Settings the Control attachments such as Relays, Routes or Speed Dials, are activated.
Note: Not available on Concert Panels.
DTMF Options
These options apply to Direct, CCI-22, FOR-22, TEL-14 interfaces and LQ SIP.
Page 136
This applies to all port types with the DTMF options, that is interfaces with a telephony element to them. They are also used to control access to the system by the external caller.
The setups for outgoing calls are configured on the MVX-A16 card which controls the outgoing
DTMF on TEL-14 interface modules.
Access prompt
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Controls whether the port sends DTMF access prompt tones and may be enabled or disabled.
This allows the incoming caller to receive access prompts. The default is disabled.
Assign DTMF codes
Assigns a DTMF selector code to a specific audio path. This allows the incoming caller to make various preselected links within the matrix by entering a specific code.
Enable DTMF passcodes
This enables the use of passcodes that are set up using the Configuration > Preferences >
System Access Codes tab. Up to eight DTMF passcodes can be set up for a system and each passcode can be enabled for a port using a drop-down menu.
When enabled incoming callers must enter a 4-digit passcode before being allowed access.
First code only
If this is enabled DTMF tone detection is disabled after the first valid DTMF code has been received. Default is disabled.
Note : Only on TEL-14.
Accumulate DTMF codes
This field controls whether only one DTMF selector code can be used (disabled) or whether multiple DTMF selector codes can be used. The default setting is disabled.
When enabled this allows the incoming caller to make multiple routes by dialing multiple codes.
8.5.15
One-digit codes
If this is set enabled DTMF selector codes are limited to a single digit or the hash (#) and asterisk
(*) characters. The default setting is disabled.
Auxiliary Relay Options
These options are only available on ports configured as Direct.
Page 137
The Port Properties options for an Auxiliary Relay are as follows:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
8.5.16
Has associated relay
The port device controls a relay (similar to secondary action).
For example, if an external device is connected to an MVX-A16 and that external device can control a relay the relay can be controlled through this setting.
Function Key Options
These options are only available on ports configured as V 32LD (32 Keys).
Use these options to specify how the function keys on 32 key V-Series Lever Panels operate.
The table below shows the default options.
For each of the four function keys (1 to 4), you can select from the following functions.
Page 138
Page 139
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Reset Panel
Crosspoint Gains to
OdB
Function
Activate All Pre-
Selected Talk Keys
Activate All Pre-
Selected Two-Way
Radio Talk Keys
Activate Configured
Action
Alternate Text
Description Function key LED behavior
When this option is selected, no configured audio routes are activated for latched keys until the associated function key is pressed
(and held).
LED is on while the key is pressed.
When this option is selected, no configured audio routes to two-way radios are activated until the associated function key is pressed (and held).
LED is on while the key is pressed.
This option allows the user to allocate a control sequence or macro to a function key. Use the EHX configuration software to generate control sequence.
LED is on while the key is activating the control sequence. Note: this is not the same as indicating when the control is active, if the control is activated via another means then the LED will not be lit.
Opens the Reset Xpts (Yes/No) dialogue box. Selecting Yes resets the volume adjustment on all incoming audio sources to 0dB.
LED is on while the
Reset Xpts menu is open.
Enables/disables the Alt Text mode on the panel. Pressing this key will cause the key displays to show alternative text. Press the key again to return to standard text.
LED is on while the Alt
Text mode is enabled.
Page 140
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Function Description Function key LED behavior
Scrolling Assignment When this option is selected, pressing the function key will result in all keys programmed with Sort Groups flashing.
You can then use the up and down keys on the Keyset controls to scroll through group members. When a group member is visible in the key display, Talk and Listen to that member.
LED is on while
Scrolling
Assignment mode is enabled. Pressing the function key again will exit from scrolling assignment mode. This key has a 10 second timeout.
Supervisor
Message Menu
When this option is allocated to a function key, pressing the key will enable the first stage of Supervisor
Supervise
User Guide.
mode. See mode in the Eclipse V-Series
LED is on while
Supervise mode is enabled. To exit
Supervise mode, press and hold the Menu key.
Access the menu that allows you to control message function options.
LED is on while the
Message Menu is open.
9
9.1
9.2
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Adding and Configuring an E-QUE Card
The E-Que card is used to connect wireless intercom systems such as FreeSpeak II and for
E1/T1 connection between matrices.
Adding an E-Que Card (Automatic Discovery)
The E-Que card is automatically discovered when: l
You select the Discover Hardware option after the Matrix is placed on the System
Layout from the discovery pane.
l
You right-click a matrix on the System Layout screen, and then select Configuration
> Select New Configuration > Discover Hardware.
Adding an E-Que Card (Manual)
To add an E-QUE card:
1.
In Hardware > Cards and Ports , navigate to an available slot number (marked Empty ).
Do either of the following: l
Double-click the slot.
l
Right-click the slot and select Set Card Type .
2.
A drop-down menu is displayed, listing the available card types.
Page 141
Page 142
3.
Select one of the following E-QUE card options: l
E-QUE (E1 Direct) l
E-QUE (T1 Direct) l
E-QUE (E1 Trunk) l
E-QUE (T1 Trunk)
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 143
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
E-QUE (E1 Direct/Trunk) l
E-QUE (T1 Direct/Trunk) l
E-QUE (Antenna) l
E-QUE (Splitter) l
E-QUE FS II-TA Antenna l
E-QUE FS II-TA Splitter
The following apply: l
The E-QUE entry selected should be correct for the intended use as the cards are configured differently by EHX. You cannot have both E-QUE Antenna/Splitter and E-
QUE FS II cards configured on the same matrix.
l
All E-QUE cards can have an IP address set. This is used for central upgrade.
l
The E-QUE card is a high-power device. For information about how many high-power devices you can install, see
l
When you add or remove a card in your configuration, the following message appears:
If your configuration contains linked matrices, the following message might appear when you apply changes to the matrix:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Click View Configuration Differences to see a list of possible interconnection issues.
1.
Click OK to continue or Cancel .
2.
The E-Que Card Properties (for E1/T1 card types) screen appears.
Page 144
Do one of the following: l
To accept the default settings, click Close .
l
Edit the Clock Recovery, Codec Top Half and Codec Bottom Half , and then click
Close .
Note : For more information about Card Properties, see the relevant section for each type of E-Que card.
Note: To view and edit the E-Que card properties at any time, double click on the E-Que Card
Slot or right-click and select Card Properties.
9.3
9.4
9.5
9.5.1
9.5.2
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Removing an E-Que Card
To remove an E-Que card from the configuration:
1.
In Hardware > Cards and Ports , navigate to the slot number of the E-Que card you want to delete.
2.
Right-click the slot and select Set Card Type .
3.
A drop-down menu is displayed, listing the available card types. Select Empty .
4.
A warning dialog is displayed. To confirm the deletion, click Yes .
When you remove a card, the warning message ( Hardware change – reset required ) above might appear.
Setting the Port Function
To set the port function:
1.
Click the Port Function field. A drop-down menu is displayed.
2.
From the drop-down menu, select the desired configuration. Choices include: l
Direct l
Trunk
Notes: The choice of port functions depends on which type of E-Que card is present.
If you right-click on a port and select Find Usages, a list of other EHX entities which refer to the port is given.
E-QUE E1 Direct
The E1 Direct is an E-QUE card that has been configured for 60 direct ports using E1 protocol.
Each E1 port can be used as an E1 communication line to another E1 device. The following section provides guidance on configuring an E1 Direct in Cards and Ports .
Port Function
This is always set to Direct .
Label
Label for the port used to assign the port to a path. The label has 10 characters, or can be split into two parts, each of maximum five characters.
Page 145
9.5.3
9.5.4
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Description
Optional port description, up to 255 characters long.
Card Properties
For an E-QUE card in E1 Direct mode the Clock Recovery mode and Codec should be set by clicking on the Card Properties link in the lower right of the hardware display. This displays the
Clock Recovery and Codec setup.
9.5.5
The data clock may be generated by the E-QUE card (Local Generated) or taken from the E1 line. The clock source must be determined before configuration. Select the correct configuration by clicking on the appropriate radio button.
Codec
E-QUE cards configured as E1 Direct use two cat5 cables plugged into ports 1 (top) and 5
(bottom) for the E-QUE card to provide E1 ports. The top cable (Top Half) provides the first 30 ports (1-30) and the bottom cable (Bottom Half) provides the second 30 ports (31 - 60). The top and bottom cables can be configured to use different Codecs. The Codecs available are: l
G711 - standard G711 conversion and compression.
l
G711 A-Law - uses an A-law algorithm to optimize the G711 codec. This is often used in
European systems.
l
G711 µ-Law - uses a µ-law algorithm to optimize the G711 codec. This is often used in
North America and Japan.
Click on the appropriate radio button to select the codec for top and bottom cables.
E-Que rear panel connectors
Page 146
Page 147
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
E-Que rear panel connectors
Feature Description
LAN port (RJ-45)
The LAN port is used for diagnostic purposes.
DECT sync ports (not used in the E1/T1 mode):
DECT Ref in
DECT Ref out
E1 / T1 Port 1 (RJ-45)
E1 / T1 Port 5 (RJ-45)
9.5.6
9.5.7
E & M Signalling
You can enable E & M Signalling by selecting the Enabled check box. E & M signalling is a standard for DC line signalling. For information about how to configure E & M signalling, see the
Eclipse HX Matrix Installation Guide .
Port Properties
To edit port properties, go to Hardware > Cards and Ports , and then select the required port.
In the right-hand window, select the required property drop-down list.
The following are available:
Page 148
9.6
9.6.1
9.6.2
9.6.3
9.6.4
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Menu item Section
Basic Options
Voice Operated Switch Options
Voice Operated Switch (VOX) Options
Global Options
Fast Key Assign Options
Gain Options
Tally Options
Attached Control Options
E-QUE T1 Direct
The T1 Direct is an E-QUE card that has been configured for 48 direct ports using T1 protocol.
Each T1 port can be used as an T1 communication line to another T1 device. The following section provides guidance on configuring a T1 Direct in Cards and Ports.
Port Function
This is always set to Direct .
Label
Label for the port used to assign the port to a path. The label has 10 characters, or can be split into two parts, each of maximum five characters.
Description
Optional port description, up to 255 characters long.
Card Properties
For an E-QUE card in T1 Direct mode the Clock Recovery mode and Codec should be set by clicking on the Card Properties link in the lower right of the hardware display. This displays the
Clock Recovery and Codec setup.
Page 149
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
9.6.5
9.6.6
The data clock may be generated by the E-QUE card (Local Generated) or taken from the T1 line. The clock source must be determined before configuration. Select the correct configuration by clicking on the appropriate radio button.
Codec
E-QUE cards configured as T1 Direct use two cables plugged into ports 1 (top) and 5 (bottom) for the E-QUE card to provide T1 ports. The top cable (Top Half) provides the first 24 ports (1-
24) and the bottom cable (Bottom Half) provides the second 24 ports (25 - 48). The top and bottom cables can be configured to use different Codecs. The Codecs available are: l
G711 - standard G711 conversion and compression.
l
G711 A-Law - uses an A-law algorithm to optimize the G711 Codec. This is often used in European systems.
l
G711 µ-Law - uses a µ-law algorithm to optimize the G711 Codec. This is often used in
North America and Japan.
Click on the appropriate radio button to select the Codec for top and bottom cables.
Port Properties
To edit port properties, go to Hardware > Cards and Ports , and then select the required port.
In the right-hand window, select the required property drop-down list.
The following are available.
Page 150
9.7
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Menu item Section
Basic Options
Voice Operated Switch Options
Global Options
Fast Key Assign Options
Gain Options
Tally Options
Attached Control Options
E-QUE E1 Trunk
An E-QUE card set to E1 Trunk is used to connect Eclipse HX matrices using E1 trunking protocol. The System Ports display shows two ports numbered 1 and 31.
9.7.1
9.7.2
9.7.3
9.7.4
Port 1 represents 30 virtual trunk ports 1 - 30 which are allocated automatically for communications. Port 31 represents a further 30 virtual trunk ports 31 - 60 that are automatically allocated.
Port Function
This is always set to E1 Trunk .
Label
Label for the E1 direct port used to assign the port to a path. The label has 10 characters, or can be split into two parts, each of maximum five characters.
Description
Option port description up to 255 characters long.
Card Properties
For an E-QUE card in E1 Trunk mode the Clock Recovery mode and Codec should be set by clicking on the Card Properties link in the lower right of the hardware display. This displays the
Clock Recovery and Codec setup.
Page 151
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
9.7.5
9.7.6
9.7.7
Clock Recovery
The data clock may be generated by the E-QUE card (Local Generated) or taken from the E1 line. Normally the card should be set to ‘Line Recovery’ for connection to a third-party device or
E1 network. For other devices, the clock source must be determined before configuration. Select the correct configuration by clicking on the appropriate radio button.
If connecting two Eclipse HX matrices back to back using E1: l
An E1 crossover cable is required.
l
One E-QUE card should be set to Local Generated clock and the other to Line
Recovery clock.
Codec
E-QUE cards configured as E1 Trunk use two cables plugged into ports 1 (top) and 5 (bottom) for the E-QUE card to provide E1 trunk ports. The top cable (Top Half) provides the first 30 ports
(1-30) and the bottom cable (Bottom Half) provides the second 30 ports (31 - 60). The top and bottom cables can be configured to use different Codecs.
The available Codecs comprise: l
G711 - standard G711 conversion and compression.
l
G711 A-Law - uses an A-law algorithm to optimize the G711 Codec. This is often used in European systems.
l
G711 µ-Law - uses a µ-law algorithm to optimize the G711 Codec. This is often used in
North America and Japan.
Click the appropriate radio button to select the Codec for top and bottom cables.
E-Que E1 Trunk Basic Settings
Port count
The port count specifies the number of virtual ports that are configured for the card. The port count (30 for E1, 24 for T1) is fixed.
Remote matrix
Page 152
9.8
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
The remote matrix that the E1 trunk is connected to.
E-QUE T1 Trunk
An E-QUE card set to T1 Trunk is used to connect Eclipse HX matrices using T1 trunking protocol. The System Ports display shows two ports numbered 1 and 25.
9.8.1
9.8.2
9.8.3
9.8.4
Port 1 represents 24 virtual ports 1 - 24 which are allocated automatically for communications.
Port 25 represents a further 24 virtual ports 25 - 48 that are automatically allocated.
Port Function
This is always set to T1 Trunk .
Label
Label for the port used to assign the port to a path. The label has 10 characters, or can be split into two parts, each of maximum five characters.
Description
Option port description up to 255 characters long.
Card Properties
For an E-QUE card in T1 Direct mode the Clock Recovery mode and Codec should be set by clicking on the Card Properties link in the lower right of the hardware display. This displays the
Clock Recovery and Codec setup.
Page 153
9.8.5
9.8.6
9.8.7
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Clock Recovery
The data clock may be generated by the E-QUE card (Local Generated) or taken from the T1 line. Normally the card should be set to ‘Line Recovery’ for connection to a third-party device or a
T1 network. For other devices, the clock source must be determined before configuration. Select the correct configuration by clicking on the appropriate radio button.
If connecting two Eclipse HX matrices back to back using T1: l
An E1 or T1 crossover cable is required.
l
One E-QUE card should be set to Local Generated clock and the other to Line
Recovery clock.
Codec
E-QUE cards configured as T1 Trunk use two cables plugged into ports 1 (top) and 5 (bottom) for the E-QUE card to provide T1 trunk ports.
The top cable (Top Half) provides the first 24 ports (1-24) and the bottom cable (Bottom Half) provides the second 24 ports (25 - 48). The top and bottom cables can be configured to use different Codecs. The Codecs that are available comprise: l
G711 - standard G711 conversion and compression.
l
G711 A-Law - uses an A-law algorithm to optimize the G711 Codec. This is often used in European systems.
l
G711 µ-Law - uses a µ-law algorithm to optimize the G711 Codec. This is often used in
North America and Japan.
Click the appropriate radio button to select the Codecs for top and bottom cables.
E-Que Trunk Basic Settings
Port count
The port count specifies the number of virtual ports that are configured for the card. The port count (24 for T1) is fixed.
Remote matrix
The remote matrix that the T1 trunk is connected to.
Page 154
9.9
9.9.1
9.9.2
9.9.3
9.9.4
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
E-QUE E1 Direct/Trunk
The E1 Direct/Trunk is an E-QUE card that has been configured for 60 ports using E1 protocol.
The first 30 are available to be set as E1 Directs, the second 30 are used for E1 trunk connection
(and shown only as Port 31 - as on an E1 trunking card).
Port Function
This is always set to Direct except for the last port which is set to Trunk.
Label
Label for the port used to assign the port to a path. The label has 10 characters, or can be split into two parts, each of maximum five characters.
Description
Option port description up to 255 characters long.
Card Properties
For an E-QUE card in E1 Direct/Trunk mode, the Clock Recovery mode and Codec should be set by clicking on the Card Properties link in the lower right of the hardware display. This displays the Clock Recovery and Codec setup.
9.9.5
Clock Recovery
The data clock may be generated by the E-QUE card (Local Generated) or taken from the E1 line. Normally the card should be set to Line Recovery for connection to a third-party device or an E1 network. For other devices, the clock source must be determined before configuration.
Select the correct configuration by clicking on the appropriate radio button.
If connecting two Eclipse HX matrices back to back using E1: l
An E1 crossover cable is required.
l
One E-QUE card should be set to Local Generated clock and the other to Line
Recovery clock.
Page 155
9.9.6
9.9.7
9.10
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Codec
E-QUE cards configured as E1 Direct/Trunk use two cables plugged into ports 1 (top) and 5
(bottom) for the E-QUE card to provide E1 trunk ports.
The top cable (Top Half) provides the first 16 ports (17-32) and the bottom cable (Bottom Half) provides the second 15 ports (33 - 48). The top and bottom cables can be configured to use different Codecs. The Codecs that are available comprise: l
G711 - standard G711 conversion and compression.
l
G711 A-Law - uses an A-law algorithm to optimize the G711 Codec. This is often used in European systems.
l
G711 µ-Law - uses a µ-law algorithm to optimize the G711 Codec. This is often used in
North America and Japan.
Click the appropriate radio button to select the Codecs for top and bottom cables.
Port Properties
To edit port properties, go to Hardware > Cards and Ports , and then select the required port.
In the right-hand window, select the required property drop-down list.
The following are available:
Menu item
Basic Options
Section
Voice Operated Switch Options
Voice Operated Switch (VOX) Options
Global Options
Fast Key Assign Options
Gain Options
Tally Options
Attached Control Options
E-QUE T1 Direct/Trunk
The T1 Direct/Trunk is an E-QUE card that has been configured for 48 ports using T1 protocol.
The first 24 are available to be set as T1 Directs, the second 24 are used for T1 trunk connection
(and shown only as Port 25 - as on a T1 trunking card).
Page 156
9.10.1
9.10.2
9.10.3
9.10.4
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Port Function
This is always set to Direct except for the last port which is set to Trunk.
Label
Label for the port used to assign the port to a path. The label has 10 characters, or can be split into two parts, each of maximum five characters.
Description
Option port description up to 255 characters long.
Card Properties
For an E-QUE card in T1 Direct/Trunk mode, the Clock Recovery mode and Codec should be set by clicking on the Card Properties link in the lower right of the hardware display. This displays the Clock Recovery and Codec setup.
9.10.5
9.10.6
Clock Recovery
The data clock may be generated by the E-QUE card (Local Generated) or taken from the T1 line. Normally the card should be set to Line Recovery for connection to a third-party device or a
T1 network. For other devices the clock source must be determined before configuration. Select the correct configuration by clicking on the appropriate radio button.
If connecting two Eclipse HX matrices back to back using T1: l
An T1 crossover cable is required.
l
One E-QUE card should be set to Local Generated clock and the other to Line
Recovery clock.
Codec
E-QUE cards configured as T1 Direct/Trunk use two cables plugged into ports 1 (top) and 5
(bottom) for the E-QUE card to provide T1 trunk ports.
The top cable (Top Half) provides the first 24 ports (1-24) and the bottom cable (Bottom Half) provides the second 24 ports (25 - 48). The top and bottom cables can be configured to use different Codecs. The Codecs that are available comprise:
Page 157
9.10.7
9.11
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
G711 - standard G711 conversion and compression.
l
G711 A-Law - uses an A-law algorithm to optimize the G711 Codec. This is often used in European systems.
l
G711 µ-Law - uses a µ-law algorithm to optimize the G711 Codec. This is often used in
North America and Japan.
Click the appropriate radio button to select the Codecs for top and bottom cables.
Port Properties
To edit port properties, go to Hardware > Cards and Ports , and then select the required port.
In the right-hand window, select the required property drop-down list.
The following are available.
Menu item Section
Basic Options
Voice Operated Switch Options
Voice Operated Switch (VOX) Options
Global Options
Fast Key Assign Options
Gain Options
Tally Options
Attached Control Options
E-Que Antenna/E-Que FS II-TA Antenna
Selecting this card type automatically configures an E-Que card with eight antenna ports (1 to 8 on the rear card). Each antenna provides five user ports and one control port. The hardware table shows the first user port number for each antenna rather than the E-Que port number. In the figure below the first antenna is shown as port 1 (the first antenna port) and the second antenna is shown as port 7 (previous first port number plus six), since beltpack ports 1-5 are on the first antenna. This is repeated for successive antennas.
Note: The E-Que card cannot power an antenna. The antennas require an external power source.
Page 158
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
9.11.1
9.11.2
9.11.3
9.12
9.12.1
Port Function
This is always set to Antenna .
Label
Used to differentiate between different Antennas. The label has 10 characters.
Description
An optional description for the port of up to 255 characters long.
Configuring the Antenna on an E-Que Card
To configure an Antenna on an E-Que card select the card in the Hardware->Cards and Ports list to display the configuration screen.
Each of the eight ports on the card is given a port number reflecting the total number of antenna connections that can be supported using the E-QUE card.
Antenna Connections
Page 159
Select the card port to be configured and open Basic Options under Port Properties to set up the port parameters.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Cable length
To set the cable length between the card and the antenna select the Cable Length option and open the drop-down list. Adjust the cable length setting from 0 - 129 to 2860 - 2989.
The length set is displayed next to the option after carrying out a site survey.
Description
Enter an optional description for the antenna such as position or function.
Comments
A scratchpad for engineers to record any relevant information about the port or antenna.
9.12.2
9.12.3
9.12.4
9.12.5
9.13
Label
Labels for antennas are only used for diagnostics purposes, such as antenna/role correlation.
Cable Length
To set the cable length between the card and the antenna select the Cable Length option and open the drop-down list. Adjust the cable length setting from 0 - 129 to 2860 - 2989.
The length set is displayed next to the option after carrying out a site survey.
Description
Enter an optional description for the antenna such as position or function.
Comments
A scratchpad for engineers to record any relevant information about the port or antenna.
Label
Labels for antennas are only used for diagnostics purposes, such as antenna/role correlation.
Configuring the Antenna for an E-Que FS II Card
To configure an E-Que FS II card for Antenna select the card on the hardware list to display the configuration screen.
Each of the eight ports on the card is given a port number reflecting the total number of antennas that can be supported using the E-Que FS II card.
Page 160
9.13.1
Antenna Connections
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
9.13.2
9.13.3
9.13.4
9.13.5
9.13.6
9.14
Select the card port to be configured and open Basic Options under Port Properties to set up the port parameters.
Cable Length Compensation
This sets the amount of compensation applied to the antenna to account for different cable lengths in the system.
To set the cable length between the card and the antenna select the Cable Length option and open the drop-down list. Adjust the cable length setting from 0 - 69 to 1540 - 1609.
The length set is displayed next to the option after carrying out a site survey.
Description
Enter an optional description for the antenna such as position or function.
Comments
A scratchpad for engineers to record any relevant information about the port or antenna.
Label
Listen labels for antennas are only used for diagnostics purposes, such as antenna/role correlation.
Antenna Group
Select an antenna group for DECT synchronization.
E-Que Splitter/E-Que FS II-TA Splitter
This option automatically adds an E-Que card with two splitter ports (1 and 5 on the rear card) configured. Each splitter can support up to five antennas and each antenna provides five beltpack ports. The hardware table shows ten antennas with the first port number for each antenna rather than the E-Que port number.
Page 161
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Therefore, the first antenna is shown as port 1 (the first antenna connection) and the second antenna is shown as port 7 (previous first port number plus six), since ports 1-6 are on the first antenna. This is repeated for successive antennas.
9.14.1
9.14.2
9.14.3
9.15
Notes: The splitter must be locally powered.
Antennas can be powered by the splitter up to 100m using CAT5/e 24AWG. If the distance from antenna to splitter is longer than 100m, then the antenna should be locally powered.
Port Function
This is always set to Antenna .
Label
Used to differentiate between different Antennas. The label has 10 characters.
Description
An optional description for the port of up to 255 characters long.
Configuring an E-Que Card for Splitter
Page 162
Select the card port to be configured and go to Port Properties > Basic Options to set up the port parameters.
9.15.1
9.15.2
9.15.3
9.15.4
9.16
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Cable Length
To set the cable length between the card and the antenna select the Cable Length option and open the drop-down list. User the mouse to adjust the cable length setting from 0 - 129 to 2860 -
2989.
The length set is displayed next to the option after carrying out a site survey.
Description
Enter an optional description for the antenna such as position or function.
Engineer Comments
A scratchpad for engineers to record any relevant information about the port or antenna.
Label
Label for the port used to assign the port to a path. The label has 10 characters, or can be split into two parts, each of maximum five characters.
To configure an E-Que card for Splitters select the card on the hardware list to display the configuration screen.
In this case ten antennas are displayed corresponding to the two splitters that can be connected to an E-Que card with each splitter supporting up to five antennas.
Configuring an E-Que FS II Card for Splitter
9.16.1
Select the card port to be configured and go to Port Properties > Basic Options to set up the port parameters.
Cable Length Compensation
To set the cable length between the card and the antenna select the Cable Length option and open the drop-down list. Use the mouse to adjust the cable length setting from 0 - 69 to 1540 -
1609.
The length set is displayed next to the option after carrying out a site survey.
Page 163
9.16.2
9.16.3
9.16.4
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Description
Enter an optional description for the antenna such as position or function.
Comments
A scratchpad for engineers to record any relevant information about the port or antenna.
Label
Label for the port used to assign the port to a path. The label has 10 characters. To configure an
E-Que card for Splitters select the card on the hardware list to display the configuration screen.
In this case ten antennas are displayed corresponding to the two splitters that can be connected to an E-Que card with each splitter supporting up to five antennas.
Page 164
10
10.1
10.2
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Adding and Configuring an IVC-32 Card
The IVC-32 card enables you to connect Eclipse HX matrices to, for example, Concert panels,
IP enabled V-Series panels, LQ devices and Agent-IC Mobile Client over a LAN, WAN or
Internet using IP.
Note: You can also centrally manage IVC-32 cards using the IP Panels option. Go to Hardware > IP Panels. See
Adding an IVC-32 Card (Automatic Discovery)
The IVC-32 card is automatically discovered when: l
You select the Discover Hardware option after the Matrix is placed on the System
Layout from the discovery pane.
l
You right-click a matrix on the System Layout screen, and then select Configuration
> Select New Configuration > Discover Hardware.
Adding an IVC-32 Card (Manual)
To add an IVC-32 card:
1.
In Hardware > Cards and Ports , navigate to an available slot number (marked Empty ).
Do either of the following: l
Double-click the slot.
l
Right-click the slot and select Set Card Type .
2. A drop-down menu is displayed, listing the available card types. Select IVC-32 or IVC-32
(Redundant).
Notes: The IVC-32 card is a high-power device. For information about how many highpower devices you can install, see
An IVC-32 card can be in redundant mode. If you select IVC-32 (Redundant), the card will operate as a redundant card, and you will not be able to configure any ports on this card.
Page 165
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 166
When you add or remove card to the matrix configuration, the following screen might appear unless the Hide this warning until EHX is restarted option has been selected:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
3.
Click OK to continue.
If your configuration contains linked matrices, the following message might appear when you try to apply changes to the matrix:
4.
Click View Configuration Differences to see a list of possible interconnection issues.
5.
Click OK to continue or Cancel .
6.
The IVC-32 Card Properties screen appears
Page 167
7.
Do one of the following:
10.2.1
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
To accept the default settings, click Close .
l
Change the edit fields as required, and then click Close .
Note: To view and edit the IVC-32 card properties at any time, double click on the IVC-32 Card
Slot or right-click and select Card Properties.
Setting IVC-32 Card Properties
General
Default ports used by the Eclipse HX system are 6001 for IP Panel communications, 42001 for
EHX communications and 1300 for the matrix event log. Ports 42001 and 1300 are used by the
UDP protocol.
Ports 42001 and 1300 are not user adjustable.
Port 6001 is user adjustable.
Eclipse HX system administrators are advised to check with network administrators or IT that these default ports may be used without causing a conflict with any other application on the network.
Each IVC-32 card requires a static IP address. It is recommended that these addresses are issued by IT or the Network Administrator to avoid conflicts with any other system on the network and are not part of the DHCP dynamically assigned range.
TCP/UDP Port
Sets the TCP/UDP port number to be used by the IVC-32 card when communicating over IP to
IP panels and Concert or Agent-IC clients. This parameter should not normally be changed from the default value unless all the IP Panels are also updated to use the new port number. If this is not done the IP end devices cannot communicate with the IVC-32 card.
Eclipse HX system administrators are advised to check with network administrators or IT that the default port may be used without causing a conflict with any other application on the network.
If the IP port number is changed ports 42001 and 1300 should not be used as these ports are already used by EHX. The Eclipse HX system administrator should check with the network administrator or IT to obtain a port number to use.
IP address
This is the static IP address of the IVC-32 card, assigned by IT or the Network Administrator.
This is used by IP Panels to communicate with the matrix via the IVC-32 card.
Page 168
10.3
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Note: It is important to ensure that the IVC-32 card IP address does not clash with any other IP address on the network (another device using the same IP address). If there is an IP address clash the IVC-32 card may repeatedly lose the connection with IP devices. If the
IVC-32 card IP address clashes it may also cause the IVC-32 card to reset.
It is recommended that the IVC-32 is given a static IP address. The V-Series panels, Concert clients and Agent-IC Mobile Client IP addresses can be assigned by a DHCP server.
Subnet mask
This is the subnet mask used by the IVC-32 card to define the address range the card can access. Typically, this is assigned by IT or the Network Administrator.
Default gateway
This is the address of the gateway (router) to be used to communicate with external devices such as IP panels and Concert clients over a wider IP network. This address is optional but if used must fall within the address range defined by the subnet mask.
External IP address
If the Matrix is operating behind a firewall, then port address forwarding can be used to expose a
LAN-connected device to the outside world. Typically, this is assigned by IT or the Network
Administrator.
This IP address must be manually entered on IP devices (Panel, concert, Agent-IC) that are connected to the outside of the firewall to communicate with the IVC-32 card via the Port forwarding rules setup in firewall / router. This address must be a unique address on the internet.
It is not affected by the subnet mask.
External TCP/UDP port
This is the TCP/UDP port used when communicating directly with the IVC-32 card using the
External IP address. The default port number is 6001 and this should not be changed unless the default port number on all external devices is also changed to the new port number.
Removing an IVC-32 Card
To remove an IVC-32 card from the configuration:
Page 169
10.4
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
1.
In Hardware > Cards and Ports , navigate to the slot number of the IVC-32 card you want to delete.
2.
Right-click the slot and select Set Card Type .
3.
A drop-down menu is displayed, listing the available card types. Select Empty .
4.
A warning dialog is displayed. To confirm the deletion, click Yes .
When you remove a card, the warning message (Hardware change – reset required ) above might appear.
Setting the Port Function
To set the port function:
1. Click the Port Function field. A drop-down menu is displayed.
2. From the drop-down menu, select the desired device (user panels and interfaces that may be connected to the port).
The available device types are listed below:
Page 170
Page 171
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
Concert panel l
Direct l
Empty l
Hosted
Direct l
LQ l
LQ SIP l
LQ Trunk l
Mobile
Client l
Trunk l
V 1RU
Lever l
V 1RU Push l
V 1RU Rotary l
V 2RU Lever
(24 keys) l
V-2RU Lever
(32 keys) l
V 2RU Push l
V 2RU Rotary l
V Desktop
Lever l
V Desktop
Push l
V Desktop
Rotary
Note: If you right-click on a port and select Find Usages, a list of other EHX entities which refer to the port is given.
If you add an IP-enabled V-Series panel, the following screen appears:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Select the number of additional channels you require. If you select one or two additional channels, these channels automatically appear as Hosted Direct in the Port Function column of the Cards and Ports screen, for example:
10.5
If you add an LQ port, a GPO is added to the EHX configuration. This appears in Hardware >
GPOs , and in the Interface relays tab of Configuration > Controls .
Note: Hosted direct ports are indented from their host ports in the Cards & Ports screen.
Port Properties
To edit port properties, go to Hardware > Cards and Ports , and then select the required port.
In the right-hand window, select the required property drop-down list.
The following are available.
Page 172
10.5.1
10.5.2
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Menu item
Basic Options
Panel Options
Assignment Panel Options
Menu Options
Section
Voice Operated Switch Options
Voice Operated Switch (VOX) Options
Global Options
Audible Alert Options
IP Port Options
Fast Key Assign Options
Telephone Options
Gain Options
Tally Options
Logic Input Options
Attached Control Options
Parent Port
Note: The Parent Port option is only available with the IVC-32 card when Port Function is set to Hosted Direct. This setting indicates which IVC32 port (on the same card) is the port number of the hosting V-Series panel.
For a Hosted Direct sub channel, you can select a parent port for the Hosted Direct sub channel.
This sub-channel is always grouped with the parent port. If you sort the list of ports according to
Port Number, each sub-channel is listed with its parent port.
To select a parent port:
1.
Select Hardware > Cards and Ports , and then select the required port. In the right-hand window, select Basic Options .
2.
Select a parent port from the drop-down list.
IP Port Options
Note: IP Port Options are only available for ports on IVC-32 cards that are not Hosted Direct.
Page 173
Page 174
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
UserID
ID required for the port to log in to the system via the IVC-32 card. The user ID is set in EHX and entered at the other end of the link. The User ID field must be unique for each port in the linked set of configurations.
Note: The UserID is 10 characters long (including spaces) and is case sensitive.
Network connection
Selects the network connection type for IP connection. Select from LAN (high speed), WAN
(intermediate) or Internet (low speed) from a drop-down menu. The default setting is LAN.
Audio codec
Allows the codec (G.722) to be selected for IP connections.
Password
Panel password required for the port to log in to the system via the IVC-32 card. The password is set in EHX and entered at the other end of the link.
Note: The Password is 10 characters long (including spaces) and is case sensitive. The password field can be left blank for convenience if security is not a concern.
VOIP caller
Enables the port as the initiator of the VOIP setting.
Note : Only available on IP Trunks and IP Directs.
Remote IP address
The IP address for the remote device.
Note : Only available on IP Directs.
UDP communication port
The UDP communication port for the remote device.
Note : Only available on IP Directs.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
10.6
Remote user ID
The unique user ID for the remote device. The maximum length for a user ID is ten characters including spaces.
Note: The Password is 10 characters long (including spaces) and is case sensitive.
Only available on IP Directs.
Remote password
The password for the remote device. The maximum length for the password is ten characters including spaces.
Notes: The Password is 10 characters long (including spaces) and is case sensitive.
Only available on IP Directs.
Adding and Configuring an IVC-32 Redundant Card
You can add an IVC-32 Redundant Card to provide fail-over redundancy for one or more IVC-32
Cards in the matrix. You cannot add an IVC-32 redundant card if you do not already have at least one IVC-32 card present.
1.
In Hardware > Cards and Ports , navigate to an available slot number (marked Empty ).
Do either of the following: l
Double-click the slot.
l
Right-click the slot and select Set Card Type .
A drop-down menu is displayed, listing the available card types. Select IVC-32
(Redundant) .
Page 175
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 176
When you add or remove card to the matrix configuration, the following screen might appear unless the Hide this warning until EHX is restarted option has been selected:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Click OK to continue.
If your configuration contains linked matrices, the following message might appear when you try to apply changes to the matrix:
Page 177
2.
Click View Configuration Differences to see a list of possible interconnection issues.
3.
Click OK to continue or Cancel .
Note : You can only configure IVC-32 redundant cards up to the maximum number of IVC-
32 Cards supported by the matrix.
Note : The IVC-32 Redundant card is a high-power device. For information about how many high-power devices you can instal, see
.
4.
The card properties screen appears. This allows you to specify which IVC-32 card to provide redundancy for:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
10.6.1
Do one of the following: l
To accept the default settings, click Close .
l
Change the edit fields as required, and then click Close .
Note: To view and edit the IVC-32 card properties at any time, double click on the IVC-32 Card
Slot.
Combinations of IVC-32 Cards
The following combinations of IVC-32 Cards and IVC-32 Redundant Cards are possible: l
One IVC-32 Card and one IVC-32 Redundant Card - the redundant card provides backup for the only card in the system l
Two IVC-32 Cards and one IVC-32 Redundant Card - you can either set the redundant card to provide redundancy backup for both IVC-32 Cards in event of failure, or specify that it is only backing up a particular card.
l
Two IVC-32 Cards and two IVC-32 Redundant Cards - you must specify which redundant card is providing redundancy for which IVC-32 card. It is not possible to have two redundant cards providing backup for the same IVC-32 Card.
l
Three IVC-32 Cards and one redundant card - you can either set the redundant card to provide redundancy backup for all three IVC-32 Cards in event of failure, or specify that it is only backing up a particular card.
An IVC-32 Card will fail-over to the IVC-32 Redundant Card under the following conditions: l
All configured VoIP ports are unconnected for longer than 90 seconds.
l
The IVC-32 Card is detected as absent from the VME backplane.
When a failover is detected, the following steps occur:
Page 178
10.6.2
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
1.
The Config card checks to see if there is a redundant card configured to take over from the failed card. If not then the card is placed into an error state and nothing else happens.
2.
If a redundant card is configured, then the failed card is placed into an error state.
3.
All port numbers and timeslots are turned over to the redundant card.
4.
The failed card has its IP details cleared. The IP address is changed to
169.254.0.<slotNum> and resets.
5.
The redundant card takes on the failed card’s pervious IP address and resets.
6.
On startup the redundant card is placed into the Initialising state and finally into the
Running States.
7.
The failed card stays in the Error state.
8.
The redundant card now establishes all VoIP calls that were previously configured on the failed card.
Once the switch over process has started the redundant card starts accepting and making VoIP connections within 40 seconds.
Switch-Back
A switch back from a redundant card back to a failed card only occurs under the following condition:
The redundant card has failed. If the original card is still in error, then it will switch back and forward until corrective action is taken.
Page 179
11
11.1
11.2
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Adding and Configuring an LMC-64 Card
The LMC-64 card allows Eclipse HX matrices to provide audio level metering data to Dynam-EC clients over an IP network.
Adding an LMC-64 Card (Automatic Discovery)
The LMC-64 card is automatically discovered when: l
You select the Discover Hardware option after the Matrix is placed on the System
Layout from the discovery pane.
l
You right-click a matrix on the System Layout screen, and then select Configuration
> Select New Configuration > Discover Hardware.
Adding an LMC-64 Card (Manual)
To add an LMC-64 card:
1.
In Hardware > Cards and Ports , navigate to an available slot number (marked Empty ).
Do either of the following: l
Double-click the slot.
l
Right-click the slot and select Set Card Type .
Page 180
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 181
A drop-down menu is displayed, listing the available card types. Select LMC-64 .
This action adds an LMC-64 card to be used for communication over IP between the LMC-64 card and a Dynam-EC PC client. Cards and Ports show a single port entry that can be configured for 16-64 meters.
Page 182
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Note : When you add or remove a card in your configuration, the following message appears:
If your configuration contains linked matrices, the following message might appear when you apply changes to the matrix:
2.
Click View Configuration Differences to see a list of possible interconnection issues.
3.
Click OK to continue or Cancel .
4.
The LMC-64 Card Properties screen appears:
11.2.1
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Do one of the following: l
To accept the default settings, click Close .
l
Change the edit fields as required, and then click Close .
Note: To view and edit the LMC-64 card properties at any time, double-click on the LMC-64
Card Slot or right-click and select Card Properties.
Setting the LMC-64 Card Properties
General
Default ports used by the Eclipse HX system are 6001 for IP Panel communications, 42001 for
EHX communications and 1300 for the matrix event log. Ports 42001 and 1300 are used by the
UDP/ protocol.
Ports 42001 and 1300 are not user adjustable.
Port 6001 is user adjustable.
Eclipse HX system administrators are advised to check with network administrators or IT that these default ports may be used without causing a conflict with any other application on the network.
It is recommended that each LMC-64 card uses a static IP address. It is recommended that these addresses are issued by IT or the Network Administrator to avoid conflicts with any other system on the network and are not part of the DHCP dynamically assigned range.
TCP/UDP port
Sets the TCP/UDP port number to be used by the LMC-64 card when communicating over IP.
This parameter should not normally be changed from the default value. Eclipse HX system administrators are advised to check with network administrators or IT that the default port may be used without causing a conflict with any other application on the network.
If the IP port number is changed ports 42001 and 1300 should not be used as these ports are already used by EHX. The Eclipse HX system administrator should check with the network administrator or IT to obtain a port number to use.
DHCP Enabled
The panel could obtain an address from a DHCP server, rather than use a static IP address. The use of a static IP address is the recommended method.
Page 183
11.3
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
IP address
This is the static IP address of the LMC-64 card, assigned by IT or the Network Administrator.
This is used by Dynam-EC clients to communicate with the LMC-64 card.
Important It is important to ensure that the LMC-64 card IP address does not clash with any other IP address on the network (another device is using the same IP address). If there is an IP address clash the Dynam-EC clients may lose audio meter data. If the LMC-64 card IP address clashes it may also cause the LMC-64 card to reset.
Subnet mask
Subnet mask used by the LMC-64 card to define the address range the card can access.
Typically, this is assigned by IT or the Network Administrator.
Default gateway
The address of the gateway (router) to be used to communicate with Dynam-EC clients over a wider IP network. This address is optional but if used must fall within the address range defined by the subnet mask.
External IP address
If the matrix is operating behind a firewall, then port address forwarding can be used to expose a
LAN-connected device to the outside world. Typically, this is assigned by IT or the Network
Administrator.
This IP address must be used by external Dynam-EC clients to communicate with the LMC-64 card. This address must be a unique address on the internet. It is not affected by the subnet mask.
External TCP/UDP port
IP port used when communicating directly with the LMC-64 card using the External IP address.
The default port number is 6001 and this should not be changed unless the default port number on all external devices is also changed to the new port number.
Removing an LMC-64 Card
To remove an LMC-64 card from the configuration:
Page 184
11.4
11.4.1
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
1.
In Hardware > Cards and Ports , navigate to the slot number of the LMC-064 card you want to delete.
2.
Right-click the slot and select Set Card Type .
3.
A drop-down menu is displayed, listing the available card types. Select Empty .
4.
A warning dialog is displayed. To confirm the deletion, click Yes .
When you remove a card, the warning message (Hardware change – reset required) above might appear.
Port Properties
To edit port properties, go to Hardware > Cards and Ports , and then select the required port.
In the right-hand window, select the required property drop-down list.
Basic Options
Page 185
Comments
Enter an optional comment about the port and what it is used for.
Description
Enter an optional description of the port, up to 255 characters long.
Label
Enter a label for the port used to assign the port to a path. The label has 10 characters, or can be split into two parts, each of maximum five characters.
Meter Count
Page 186
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Select the number of meters provided by the LMC-64 card. Each meter allows Dynam-EC to meter on audio source or destination.
12
12.1
12.2
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Adding and Configuring an E-FIB Card
The E-FIB fiber card is designed to provide fiber trunking between Eclipse HX-Omega, Eclipse
HX-Median and Eclipse HX-Delta matrices. The fiber cards can also be configured to provide redundancy in communications link between Eclipse HX matrices. Each card provides two fiber rings.
Adding an E-FIB Card (Automatic Discovery)
The E-FIB card is automatically discovered when: l
You select the Discover Hardware option after the Matrix is placed on the System
Layout from the discovery pane.
l
You right-click a matrix on the System Layout screen, and then select Configuration
> Select New Configuration > Discover Hardware.
Adding an E-FIB Card (Manual)
To add an E-FIB card:
1.
In Hardware > Cards and Ports , navigate to an available slot number (marked Empty ).
Do either of the following: l
Double-click the slot.
l
Right-click the slot and select Set Card Type .
2.
A drop-down menu is displayed, listing the available card types. Select either E-FIB
(Fiber) or E-FIB (Redundant).
Note : Only one E-FIB (Fiber) and one E-FIB (Redundant) card can be added.
Clear-Com recommends that E-FIB cards are fitted to slots 6 and/or 7 of Eclipse
HX-Median matrices, slots 14 and/or 15 of Eclipse HX-Omega matrices and slot 4 of Eclipse HX-Delta matrices.
Page 187
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 188
Note : When you add or remove a card in your configuration, the following message appears:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
If your configuration contains linked matrices, the following message might appear when you apply changes to the matrix:
12.3
3.
Click View Configuration Differences to see a list of possible interconnection issues.
4.
Click OK to continue or Cancel .
Removing an E-FIB Card
To remove an E-FIB card:
1.
In Hardware > Cards and Ports , navigate to the slot number of the E-FIB card you want to delete. Do either of the following: l
Double-click the slot.
l
Right-click the slot and select Set Card Type .
2.
A drop-down menu is displayed, listing the available card types. Select Empty .
A warning dialog is displayed.
3.
To confirm the deletion, click Yes .
Page 189
12.4
12.4.1
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Port Properties
To edit port properties, go to Hardware > Cards and Ports , and then select the required port.
In the right-hand window, select the required property drop-down list.
Basic Options
The E-FIB card provides a single fiber port that can be configured to have Talk and Listen labels and a description.
Note: If E-FIB Fiber (Redundant) is selected, no ports are displayed because the card parameters cannot be configured.
Page 190
Port Number
The port number is set to the next available port on the system. For example, if two MXV-A16 cards are installed before the fiber card the port number is set to 33 (16+16+1) .
The port number cannot be changed in Port Properties .
Comments
Enter an optional comment about the port and what it is used for.
Description
Enter an optional description of the port, up to 255 characters long.
Fiber port count
The Fiber port count specifies the number of unidirectional fiber channels that are configured for the fiber card. The port count may be set to a maximum of 224 ports in multiples of 16. As a general guide, the port count (fiber channels) can be set to the maximum of 224 ports in networks with four or fewer matrices as this does not use all the timeslots (but see note below).
Page 191
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
For networks with more than four matrices the port allocations must take account of the maximum number of simultaneous talks and listens across the network with a maximum of 1024 timeslots being available. The matrix event log can be used to help tailor the port counts for the matrices. Alternatively, contact Clear-Com support for assistance in configuring the network.
Note: The port count should not be set to an excessive number (significantly more that the number of panels available for connection via the fiber card) as this may reduce system performance. Different matrices can have different fiber port counts.
Label
Enter a label for the port used to assign the port to a path. The label has 10 characters, or can be split into two parts, each of maximum five characters.
Remote Matrix Rx
The system number of the frame that the remote matrix receives data from in the primary fiber loop.
Remote Matrix Tx
The system number of the frame that the remote matrix transmits data to in the primary fiber loop.
13
13.1
13.2
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Adding and Configuring an E-MADI64 Card
The E-MADI64 is a Multichannel Audio Digital Interface card (MADI), providing up to 64 duplex channels of AES3 digital audio over a coaxial cable or fiber pair between compatible devices.
Adding an E-MADI64 Card (Automatic Discovery)
The E-MADI64 card is automatically discovered when: l
You select the Discover Hardware option after the Matrix is placed on the System
Layout from the discovery pane.
l
You right-click a matrix on the System Layout screen, and then select Configuration
> Select New Configuration > Discover Hardware.
Adding an E-MADI64 Card (Manual)
To add an E-MADI64 card:
1.
In Hardware > Cards and Ports , navigate to an available slot number (marked Empty ).
Do either of the following: l
Double-click the slot.
l
Right-click the slot and select Set Card Type .
2.
A drop-down menu is displayed, listing the available card types. Select an E-MADI64 card.
The options are: l
E-MADI 32/32 l
E-MADI 56/56 l
E-MADI 64/64 l
E-MADI 64/32 l
E-MADI 64/16
Note : If you use an RME fiber transceiver, you must have at least 6dB of attenuation.
Note : When you add or remove a card in your configuration, the following message appears:
Page 192
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
If your configuration contains linked matrices, the following message might appear when you apply changes to the matrix:
3.
Click View Configuration Differences to see a list of possible interconnection issues.
4.
Click OK to continue or Cancel .
5.
The E-MADI64 Card Properties screen appears:
Page 193
Do one of the following:
13.3
13.4
13.5
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
To accept the default settings, click Close .
l
Change the edit fields as required, and then click Close .
Note: To view and edit the EMADI-64 card properties at any time, double click on the EMADI-
64 Card Slot or right-click and select Card Properties.
Removing an E-MADI64 Card
To remove an E-MADI64 card:
1.
In Hardware > Cards and Ports , navigate to the slot number of the EMADI-64 card you want to delete. Do either of the following: l
Double-click the slot.
l
Right-click the slot and select Set Card Type .
2.
A drop-down menu is displayed, listing the available card types. Select Empty. A warning dialog is displayed.
3. To confirm the deletion, click Yes.
Setting E-MADI64 Card Properties
Card Properties permits sample rate selection when synching to video signals. The E-MADI64 card must be configured before it can be used when not using the Word Clock Source Sync.
Card Properties always defaults to the E-MADI64 standard for the number of channels.
E-MADI channel mode Sample rate Configurable ports
32 96K 32
56
64
44.1K or 48K
44.1K or 48K
56
64, 32 or 16
Setting the Port Function
To set the port function:
Page 194
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
1.
Click the Port Function field. A drop-down menu is displayed.
2.
From the drop-down menu, select the desired device (user panels and interfaces that may be connected to the port).
The available device types are listed below: l
Empty l
Direct l
Panel Aux l
Trunk l
V 1RU
Lever l
V 1RU Push l
V 1RU
Rotary l
V 2RU
Lever (24 key) l
V 2RU
Lever (32 key) l
V 2RU Push l
V 2RU Rotary l
V Desktop Lever l
V Desktop Push l
V Desktop Rotary
13.6
Note: If you right-click on a port and select Find Usages, a list of other EHX entities which refer to the port is given.
Port Properties
To edit port properties, go to Hardware > Cards and Ports , and then select the required port.
In the right-hand window, select the required property drop-down list.
The following are available:
Page 195
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Menu item
Basic Options
Panel Options
Assignment Panel Options
Menu Options
Section
Voice Operated Switch Options
Voice Operated Switch (VOX) Options
Global Options
Gain Options
Audible Alert Options
Tally Options
Fast Key Assign Options
Logic Input Options
Attached Control Options
13.6.1
Note: The available port properties options depend on the selected Port Function.
E-MADI64 Channel Labeling
The 4-character channel ID for each MADI input channel can be taken from the provided embedded data bits. The channel ID for each MADI output channel can be enabled in EHX.
You can do any of the following: l
Use the 4-character , third party ID, provided from the input channel.
l
Use the Dynam-EC Alias.
l
Disable the ID and use the EHX port name for display on EHX Panels.
This means that supported user panels can automatically show: l
The MADI channel ID.
l
The Alias as supplied from Dynam-EC.
l
The Talk / Listen label as defined in EHX.
Page 196
13.7
13.7.1
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
E-MADI64 Clock Recovery
Note: Clock recovery is only possible with E-MADI64 Mark II cards. The E-MADI64 Mark I card does not support this.
Introduction
The E-MADI MKII card can be setup to recover the word clock from the incoming MADI audio stream or the dedicated word clock input BNC connector on the rear panel.
For most installations of E-MADI (MKI or MKII) the word clock is provided as separate input to the card. This enables the E-MADI card (MKI or MKII) to compare the MADI audio sample rate to the word clock sample rate and only synchronize if both are the same.
Page 197
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 198
The E-MADI MKII card now provides the option of syncing to the incoming MADI audio stream directly without needing the dedicated word clock input
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
13.7.2
Firstly, you need to identify which type of card you have.
Identifying the E-MADI64 Card Version
Use the EHX firmware report to identify your E-MADI64 card version.
To use the Firmware report tool:
1.
Go to EHX> System> Layout .
2.
Right-click the matrix icon.
3.
Select Firmware > Firmware report.
The report will state if you have a MKI or MKII card (both types can be fitted into the same matrix)
Examples are shown below:
Page 199
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
E-MADI64 Mark I
App code 0.23.9.0
Boot 0.20.8.0
DSP
FPGA
1.4.11
1.12.12.0
13.7.3
E-MADI64 Mark II
App code 0.23.9.0
Boot
DSP
FPGA
0.20.8.0
1.4.11
2.5.62.0
Setting the Card Properties
When you have identified your card type and the card you are using is an E-MADI MKII card, you can set the card properties from the EHX configuration software.
1.
Go to Hardware > Cards and Ports .
2.
Right-click your E-MADI64 card, and select Card Properties .
The following screen appears:
Page 200
3.
Select the required Madi channel sample rate
4.
Select the required clock recovery option (listed as future use):
13.8
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
Clock Received or Recovered: The MKII card will synchronize the incoming clock from the MADI stream or dedicated word clock input l
Master Clock Gen: The MKII card will transmit MADI audio out using its own internal sample rate clock
Upgrading the E-MADI64 Card Firmware
You can upgrade the following E-MADI64 code with EHX: l
H8 application code ( *.fwc
format file).
l
DSP code ( *.fwc
format file).
l
FPGA code ( *.fwc
format file).
The boot code file ( *.mot
) is upgraded using the Renesas Flash Development Toolkit 3.4 Basic
(FDT), not EHX. The FPGA code can also be upgraded using Xilinx iMPACT programming software.
Note: For detailed upgrade procedures and information, including upgrades that you cannot perform in EHX, see the Eclipse HX Upgrade Guide.
To upgrade E-MADI64 H8, DSP or FPGA code (for all the E-MADI64 cards) using EHX:
1.
Ensure that you have the following equipment:
Equipment Description / Notes
PC with an Ethernet or serial port
-
EHX software
Ethernet or serial connection
H8 application, DSP and FPGA code files
EHX must be installed and configured
For the matrix to PC connection
The appropriate application code, DSP code and FPGA code files
(*.fwc format) are available from the Eclipse HX DVDs:
Software DVD > Eclipse HX-Omega-Median-Delta > E-MADI
Application
Software DVD > Eclipse HX-Omega-Median-Delta > E-MADI
DSP
Hardware DVD > Eclipse HX-Omega-Median-Delta > E-MADI
FPGA.
Page 201
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
2.
Start EHX on the PC.
3.
Connect the matrix to the PC using either an Ethernet or serial port.
4.
In EHX, open the configuration. Select System > Layout .
5.
Right-click the matrix and then select Firmware> Update Firmware .
6.
The Update Firmware wizard dialog is displayed. Click Next .
7.
In the Select Hardware Type screen, ensure that the Card radio button is selected:
Page 202
8.
Click Next and then browse to the E-MADI64 code file (application, DSP or FPGA code files ( *.fwc
)).
9.
The folder contains the *.fwc
file and a Read Me file (*.txt) with version information. Select the *.fwc
file and click OK / Open .
Note : See Step 1 for the location of the *.fwc files on the Eclipse HX DVDs.
10.
Click Next and confirm that the details displayed are correct.
11.
Click Next and confirm that the download commences.
12.
When the download has completed, click Finish to close the update firmware wizard.
13.
Ensure that the E-MADI64 cards reset once the download is complete.
Code
H8 application
Approximate reset time
1 minute
DSP
FPGA
3 minutes
18 minutes
14. When the download has completed, click Finish to close the update firmware wizard.
Note: The download finished dialogue only shows the transfer of data from PC to the matrix .
The card will take the specified time to actually upgrade and complete the process.
14
14.1
14.2
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Adding and Configuring an E-Dante64 Card
Note: E-Dante64-HX card includes licence from Audinate Pty Ltd under U.S. patent number
(s) 7747725, 8005939, 7978696, 8171152 and other patents issued, see www.audinate.com/patents
The E-Dante64 interface card is a Clear-Com matrix interface card that works with Dante network protocols and software. You can transport many channels of high-quality audio using a
Clear-Com matrix connected to multiple Dante enabled devices using standard Ethernet network structure (up to 64 channels per E-Dante64 card).
For information about the Audinate Dante Controller/Dante Domain Manager, refer to the
Audinate Dante Controller User Guide and additional training materials on the Audinate website.
For information about the status LEDs, buttons and connectors that are present on the card, refer to the relevant Eclipse Matrix User Guide. You will also find example user cases for the E-
Dante card in the Clear-Com matrix user guides.
Adding an E-Dante64 Card (Automatic Discovery)
The E-MADI64 card is automatically discovered when: l
You select the Discover Hardware option after the Matrix is placed on the System
Layout from the discovery pane.
l
You right-click a matrix on the System Layout screen, and then select Configuration
> Select New Configuration > Discover Hardware.
Adding an E-Dante64 Card (Manual)
To add an E-Dante64 card:
1.
In Hardware > Cards and Ports , navigate to an available slot number (marked Empty ).
Do either of the following: l
Double-click the slot.
l
Right-click the slot and select Set Card Type .
2.
A drop-down menu is displayed, listing the available card types. Select an E-Dante64 card.
The options are:
Page 203
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
E-Dante 16 l
E-Dante 32 l
E-Dante 64
Choose according to the number of channels you need.
Note : You can install a maximum of seven E-Dante64 cards on a matrix. Total ports allocated on these cards must not exceed 496. If you use a sample rate of 96k, this automatically limits the card to 32 channels, so if using this sample rate you should allocate only 32 channels to the card in EHX.
Note : When you add or remove a card in your configuration, the following message appears:
If your configuration contains linked matrices, the following message might appear when you apply changes to the matrix:
Page 204
3.
Click View Configuration Differences to see a list of possible interconnection issues.
4.
Click OK to continue or Cancel .
5.
The E-Dante64 Card Properties screen appears:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
14.3
14.4
14.5
6.
Do one of the following: l
To accept the default settings, click Close .
l
Change the edit fields as required, and then click Close .
Note: To view and edit the E-Dante64 card properties at any time, double click on the E-
Dante64 Card Slot or right-click and select Card Properties.
Setting the E-Dante64 Card Properties
Set primary and secondary network expectations. If you don’t do this, you may see the red error condition LED flash on the front of the Dante card. See the
section for a full explanation of this feature. The default setting is Primary LAN Expected only.
Setting the Port Function
To set the port function: l
Click the Port Function field. A drop-down menu is displayed.
l
From the drop-down menu, select Direct or Trunk . The most common port function is
Direct . Use Trunk to make an intelligent link to another Clear-Com matrix.
Dante Labels
There is no connection between labels in EHX and labels in the Dante network. However, it is advisable to use a similar label for connecting channels and devices in each context to avoid confusion.
Note: You can choose to see Dante labels in Eclipse using Auto Aliasing. See the Set Auto
Alias Updates to Show Dante Channel Names sub-section in
Page 205
14.6
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Hardware Name Detection
If an E-DANTE card hardware name does not match the expected name for a given slot in the matrix, the following error message appears:
14.7
Click OK to update the EHX map with the new hardware name. When you apply the map to the matrix, the error clears. Otherwise, insert the E-DANTE card with the expected hardware name into the matrix.
Note: This error message also appears in the Monitoring screen.
Port Properties
To edit port properties, go to Hardware > Cards and Ports , and then select the required port.
In the right-hand window, select the required property drop-down list.
The following are available.
Menu item Section
Basic Options
Voice Operated Switch Options
Voice Operated Switch (VOX) Options
Global Options
Fast Key Assign Options
Gain Options
Tally Options
Attached Control Options
Page 206
14.8
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Note: The available port properties options depend on the selected Port Function.
Configuring the Dante Interface
1. Open the Dante Controller software.
The Dante Controller will see all Dante enabled devices on its network and you should see the Clear-Com Dante card in the Routing page of the Controller
(assuming the network is connected and working).
2.
Label channels and device as required. Double-click on the device in the Dante Routing page to access device configuration options to change names and labels.
Page 207
3. Make connections (subscriptions) between devices by locating required crosspoints and clicking to connect.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
14.8.1
14.8.2
Note: The Dante interface will provide error messages if there is a settings mismatch.
Network Configuration
IP addressing is handled by the Dante software:
Automatic network configuration
A Dante-enabled device connected to a network will automatically setup its own network configuration, including its IP address.
If the network has a DHCP server, which may be the case for installed networks, it will receive its
IP configuration using the standard DHCP protocol.
On a network without a DHCP server, which may be the case for temporary or smaller networks, the Dante-enabled device will automatically assign itself and address using link local protocols, in the same way PCs and printers often do.
See Audinate Dante Controller User Guide , 2016 Audinate Pty Ltd.
Notes: DHCP is the preferred method of IP allocation when using Dante.
Clear-Com recommends that the Eclipse Matrix (CPU-LAN) IP address uses a fixed/static IP address.
Label Exchange Between Dante and Eclipse
Within the Dante network, Dante enabled devices and associated audio channels are identified by names (labels). This contributes to an interface that is easy to read and use. When interfacing an Eclipse system with Dante, you can show the Dante channel names on ports using Auto
Alias Updates . This makes redirecting or reconfiguring any networked audio set up much faster and easier.
Note: The E-DANTE card uses its own NIC Ethernet port. The IP address of the Ethernet port is set using the Dante controller software.
Page 208
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Choose from three different Auto Alias Update options:
Effect on labels seen on panels and in Dynam-EC Auto Alias
Update option
Disabled
RX Channel
Label
Source Tx
Channel
Label
Use EHX labels only.
Receive channel labels from Dante are used as the alias for that port.
Source transmit channel labels from Dante are used as the alias for that port.
If no current subscription is made, the receive channel label is shown.
Auto Alias Update option set to RX Channel Label :
Page 209
Auto Alias Update option set to Source Tx Channel Label with audio subscription:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Auto Alias Update set to Source Tx Channel Label , NO audio subscription:
Page 210
Set Auto Alias Updates to show Dante channel names:
14.8.3
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
1. In the EHX software, navigate to Cards and Ports > E-DANTE64 > Port > Port
Properties > Basic Options > Auto Alias Updates.
2. Click the small arrow on the right to access drop-down menu and select required option.
3. Click Apply Map to Matrix.
Notes: Auto Alias Updates only works on ports configured as Directs, Trunk labels will not show Dante labels.
Labels in EHX contain a maximum of 10 characters. Dante labels can use up to 30 characters, so only the first 10 characters of the Dante label will be shown in Eclipse.
If a port has a split label then only the listen and forced listen labels are overwritten by the alias.
Redundancy Options
Configure Primary and Secondary networks
Dante enabled devices can run audio on two networks simultaneously. This means that if one network fails for any reason (for example a cable is pulled out) the other network will take over with no interruptions to the audio.
To set up the redundant networks, first cable and test the Primary network and then connect alternative cables to the Secondary network connectors.
Ref: https://www.audinate.com/resources/videos/gs8-dante-redundancy-gettingstarted-dante-video-series last accessed 12 October 2016
Settings are automatically copied from the Primary network to the Secondary network, so no further configuration is necessary. Check that networks are working as expected in the Network
Status page of the Dante Controller.
Page 211
Set Primary and Secondary network expectations in EHX
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
The Eclipse-HX system and the E-DANTE64 card have diagnostic and error reporting facilities.
For these to work properly, it is necessary to specify whether you plan to use the Primary network only or both networks together. This prevents the system from reporting false connection flags.
You must specify which networks you expect to use when you configure the E-DANTE64 card in the EHX software.
The default setting is Primary LAN Expected only. Some Dante devices only have a primary network, so always use this network first.
1.
In the EHX configuration software, navigate to Cards and Ports . Right-click on the E-
Dante64 card and select Card Properties.
2.
Use the check box to specify which network or networks you expect to use and want to receive monitoring information on.
3.
If you check a LAN connection in this box, and the network is not physically connected, the red error LED on the front of the E-DANTE64 card will light.
In this dialog box you can also see the hardware name and device name for the card. The hardware name cannot be changed and uniquely identifies that card. The device name can be changed in the Dante Controller.
E-DANTE64 replacement card options
In addition to a backup network, you might want a replacement or backup of an E-DANTE64-HX interface card with your set-up map. In this case, you should save a copy of your configuration using the Dante Save Preset function, ready to apply to a replacement card if needed.
Page 212
Procedure for installing a replacement or backup card
14.8.4
14.8.5
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
When you remove an E-DANTE64-HX interface card from the Clear-Com matrix rack, any channel subscriptions (connections) that have been made in the Dante Controller are also removed as they are stored on the card. You need to re-apply these subscriptions in the Dante
Controller using the Load Preset function for the backup card.
1.
Make sure you have saved your configuration using Save Preset in the Dante controller.
2.
Remove the front E-DANTE64 card from the matrix rack by gently opening the side ejector tabs and pulling the card out of its slot.
3.
Carefully insert the new card and push it home, closing the side ejector tabs to secure it in the matrix.
Caution : The new card may have pre-existing configuration on it. Use the Dante controller to make sure that the configuration is as you want it.
4.
Open the Dante Controller and apply the required preset configuration ( File > Load
Preset ).
At this point, you can either use the card immediately, or you can check that audio is flowing as required and keep the replacement card aside for use when needed.
Note: Changing the E-DANTE64 rear card requires a power down of the matrix. The front card can be replaced without power-down (hot plugged).
AES67 Flow Configuration
The Dante card can also be configured to interface with third-party AES67 equipment.
The Dante card can support any mix of Dante and AES67 flows, up to the maximum supported on the device. Configuration persists over reboots.
The receive latency for AES67 Rx flows is set to 2ms. This latency setting is not affected by changing the latency setting in the Dante controller.
Note: Third party AES67 devices will need to be configured separately.
AES67 Guidelines
When connecting devices to route AES67 audio streams with your E-DANTE 64 card, the following general principles should be noted: l
AES67 uses IEEE1588-2008 Precision Time Protocol (PTP) to ensure synchronization between devices. All networked devices, including your network switch must support this standard.
Page 213
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
You need to disable any Energy Efficient Ethernet (EEE) switches, as these will disrupt the synchronization of audio streams.
l
All networked devices need to support multicast routing. The Dante system defaults to multicast when routing AES67 streams.
l
Multicast routing uses the Class D range of IP addresses (224.x.x.x – 239.x.x.x). For
AES67 streams, chose an IP range that does not conflict with other network traffic.
Consult your network administrator if necessary.
l
It is recommended that Internet Group Management Protocol (IGMP) snooping is enabled on your network switch. This will avoid the possibility of flooding your network.
l
Dante uses Session Announcement Protocol (SAP) to discover devices on a network. If any of your devices do not support SAP, the Dante Controller will not be able to see them. In this case, you must use a SAP conversion tool, such as the free Ravenna-2-
SAP converter available from the Ravenna website ( https://www.ravennanetwork.com/ ).
14.8.6
How to Enable AES67 Flows in the Dante Controller
1.
Open the Dante Controller. Double click the required device in the Network View . This opens Device View for that device.
Page 214
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
2.
Select the AES67 Config tab and enable AES67 mode. Reboot the device. When the device has rebooted, you will see that a multicast IP address has been allocated to the device.
3.
Click the Multicast button
4.
Create new AES67 flows as needed.
Page 215
5.
Once Flows are created, they can be seen in Network View>Device>Transmit in the
Dante controller.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Note : Each flow can contain up to 8 channels. You can create as many flows as you need, depending on the channel capacity of your device.
6.
The AES67 device can be seen in the Network View of the controller. It is shown in blue to mark its difference from the devices transmitting Dante channels.
14.9
Once available in the Dante interface, AES67 flows can be viewed and subscribed to in the usual way.
If you need more information on creating an AES67 interface, please refer to Audinate and your third-party AES67 device documentation.
Upgrade your E-DANTE64-HX Card
Upgrades for your E-DANTE64-HX card are available for both EHX and Dante firmware and are available from your Clear-Com representative.
The upgrade process for the two different modules on the card (1. EHX and 2. Dante) is different. The two processes are outlined below.
Notes: When upgrading your E-Dante64 card, only use the Clear-Com supplied upgrade files for both.
(A: EHX) ClearCom - App, Boot, DSP, FPGA: xxxxxx.FWC files
(B: Dante) ClearCom [Brooklyn]: xxxxxx.dnt file.
To check if your firmware is up to date, open the Firmware Report in EHX.
Page 216
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
In the EHX software, navigate to the Layout tab. Right-click on the required matrix and select
Firmware/Firmware Report .
14.9.1
Upgrade EHX E-DANTE64 Firmware
In the EHX software, navigate to the Layout tab.
Right-click on the matrix to be upgraded and select Firmware>Update Firmware>Card .
Navigate to where the E-Dante64 upgrade file is stored and click to upload.
There are 4 possible upgrade file types:
Upgrade file type
App.FWC
Approximate upgrade times
Boot.FWC
DSP.FWC
FPGA.FWC
2 min. This is the most common file to upgrade and is usually labeled
Clearcom.
1 min
3 min. Reset card on front panel after upgrade.
16 mins
While the E-DANTE64 card is being upgraded with EHX firmware, the active light (green) on the front of the device will flash at double its usual speed and the error light (red) will show. The card is ready for use when the error light is off, and the status light has returned to a steady 1Hz pulse.
Page 217
14.9.2
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Notes: The EHX component of the upgrade process for an E-DANTE64 card is the same as a
MADI card.
As with the MADI card, the FPGA file can be upgraded using Xilinx iMPACT programming software. For more detailed information, see Section 11 Upgrading E-
MADI64 Cards in the Eclipse Upgrade Guide (available from the Clear-Com website).
Upgrade Dante Firmware
Before updating the Dante component of your E-DANTE64 card, you must first download the
Dante Firmware Update Manager from the Audinate website.
Open the Dante Firmware Update Manager and follow the instructions on the screen.
The Dante firmware upgrade file (usually labeled ‘Brooklyn’) has a .dnt
extension.
Notes: Please disable any firewalls before upgrading the E-Dante combined Brooklyn file
(.dnt) via Dante Firmware Update Manager.
When upgrading firmware for the Dante component, the status light on the front of the
E-Dante64 card will not change.
Page 218
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
15 Adding and Configuring an E-IPA-HX Card
The E-IPA-HX card is a high-capacity multi-protocol card: l
IP connections l
E1 connections (when in E1 mode, the card no longer works with IP).
It provides up to 64 connections. In IP mode, these can be made up of a combination of up to 64
IP ports or FreeSpeak II wireless beltpack connections (according to license). In E1 mode you can have up to 10 FSII transceivers, and 50 beltpacks.
In IP mode, the card offers: l
IVC functionality and AES67 connectivity for Clear-Com FreeSpeak II IP Transceivers
(IPTs) and V-Series panels.
l
It also provides SMPTE 2110 connectivity.
IVC-32 functionality (V-series panels, Directs, LQ, and Agent-IC) runs at the same time as FSII beltpacks.
Note: You must have a 32 port license on your E-IPA card in order to put it into E1 mode.
Note: FSII Splitter daisy-chaining is not available when using E1 with an E-IPA card. The connection between matrix and splitter must be Fiber.
The E-IPA-HX card requires EHX software 10.0 and above.
E-IPA in E1 mode requires EHX software 12.1 and above.
Page 219
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
15.1
Note: The configuration of IP addresses when using the E-IPA card is important. See
Network Setup for the E-IPA-HX Card
Licenses
The card operates on a license basis.
There are two types of license available for an E-IPA card: l
Port licenses (up to 64) l
Feature licenses (up to 64)
For both types of license, you have the option to purchase a ready licensed card or to purchase additional licenses to upgrade a card you already have.
For how to obtain and install licenses see the E-IPA Card Licensing Guide .
Port licenses
Purchase your ready licensed card in increments of 16 ports.
Page 220
15.2
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Number of ports
16 ports
32 ports
48 ports
64 ports
Part number
E-IPA-16-HX (1 x 16)
E-IPA-32-HX (2 x 16)
E-IPA-48-HX (3 x 16)
E-IPA-64-HX (4 x 16)
Purchase an upgrade to your current card port capacity by 16 ports
16 additional ports E-IPA-UG-16-HX
When you install a new card and use the Detect New Hardware feature in the EHX software, the software automatically detects the number of ports that are licensed on the card. You can also select the appropriate number of ports in Card Properties .
The front lens of your card will always show how many ports you have licensed on that card.
Feature licenses
Currently, feature licenses audio over IP (AoIP) connection. They must be purchased additionally to the port licenses and are available as shown below.
Feature license: SMPTE 2110/AoIP channels
Number of channels Factory fitted licenses Customer self-fit licenses
8
16
32
48
64
E-IPA-AoIP-8-HX
E-IPA-AoIP-16-HX
E-IPA-AoIP-32-HX
E-IPA-AoIP-48-HX
E-IPA-AoIP-64-HX
E-IPA-AoIP-ADD-8-HX
E-IPA-AoIP-ADD-16-HX
E-IPA-AoIP-ADD-32-HX
E-IPA-AoIP-ADD-48-HX
E-IPA-AoIP-ADD-64-HX
Card Capacity
l
64 ports max l
64 feature licenses max l
64 RTP streams max
Streams are not licensed in EHX.
Page 221
Page 222
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
You must have ≥ 32 ports licensed on your E-IPA card before switching it to E1 mode.
Your card port capacity is consumed by these port types: l
V-series panels l
LQ l
LQ SIP l
Agent-IC l
Directs l
AoIP stream l
AoIP channel l
IVC l
LQ l
Trunks l
AoIP l
IVC l
LQ l
E1 transceivers (when card is put into E1 mode) l
Wireless beltpacks
Note: IP transceivers do NOT consume a port (beltpacks do).
Your stream capacity is consumed by these connection types: l
Direct AoIP stream (1) l
IP transceiver (1) l
Trunk AoIP (1 – 4 streams, depending on how many channels are grouped with this trunk).
EHX displays how many streams are in use per card. For example, if you have a 16-port card license and this card is configured to connect 8 beltpacks and 8 Iris panels (AoIP), then a maximum of 56 IPTs can be connected. This is because 8 AoIP streams are already being used. If you are nearing the stream capacity of your system, consider switching your Iris panels into IVC mode to free up some extra streams.
Concert is NOT supported on the E-IPA-HX card.
15.2.1
15.2.2
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
How Many E-IPA Cards in a Clear-Com Matrix?
l
Clear-Com Omega and Median matrices: up to four E-IPA cards per matrix l
Clear-Com Delta matrix: up to three E-IPA cards per matrix (one card for the Delta
Lite).
Note: This is an estimate for general guidance. For a more exact calculation, refer to the
Eclipse HX System Power Calculator (Excel spreadsheet) that comes with your EHX firmware. You can find this spreadsheet in the Documents folder on the firmware DVD or USB.
Beltpack Roaming between E-IPA-HX Cards
FreeSpeak beltpacks (FS II and FS Edge) cannot roam reliably between E-IPA cards. If they do you will lose audio. Therefore, if you have more than one E-IPA card, you must configure IP transceivers of the same type on one card. This eliminates the possibility of beltpacks roaming between cards.
When using a single E-IPA card, FS II and FS Edge transceivers can co-exist on the same card
(up to 64 transceivers on one card).
Transceivers can be allocated to particular E-IPA cards in the EHX software.
To do this, navigate to: Hardware>Transceivers>Host Card .
Page 223
15.3
15.4
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Adding an E-IPA-HX Card (Automatic Discovery)
The E-IPA-HX card is automatically discovered when: l
You select the Discover Hardware option after the Matrix is placed on the System
Layout from the discovery pane.
l
You right-click a matrix on the System Layout screen, and then select Configuration
> Create New Configuration > Discover Hardware.
Adding an E-IPA-HX Card (Manual)
To add an E-IPA-HX card:
1.
In Hardware > Cards and Ports , navigate to an available slot number (marked Empty ).
Do either of the following: l
Double-click the slot.
l
Right-click the slot and select Set Card Type .
2.
A drop-down menu is displayed, listing the available card types. Select E-IPA-HX .
3.
From the Card Properties screen, select the correct Port License.
It is not possible to have both E-IPA based FSII cards and EQue based FSII cards in the same Matrix. If you do so the following warning message appears:
Page 224
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 225
You can also use the Detect New Hardware feature in EHX to discover the card.
Use this feature if the hardware is installed before the software is configured. This feature auto-detects what was configured last and downloaded to the matrix. For example, if previous was 48 it will return 48.
Note : When you add or remove a card in your configuration, the following message appears:
Page 226
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
If your configuration contains linked matrices, the following message might appear when you apply changes to the matrix:
4.
Click View Configuration Differences to see a list of possible interconnection issues.
5.
Click OK to continue or Cancel .
6.
The E-IPA-HX Card Properties screen appears:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
15.5
7. Change the edit fields as required, and then click Close. The settings will be applied when the configuration is sent to the matrix.
Note: To view and edit the E-IPA-HX card properties at any time, double click on the E-IPA-
HX Card Slot or right-click and select Card Properties.
Network Setup for the E-IPA-HX Card
An E-IPA-HX card offers up to three available IP addresses. How these IP addresses are configured depends on how you intend to use the card.
The card properties dialog box indicates three different functions that can be spread over the 6 ports that are available on the back of the card.
1.
Admin: Used, for example, for firmware upgrade or diagnostic data extraction.
2.
IVC: V Series panels, Trunking, Directs, Agent-IC, LQ.
3.
AES67: data and audio connection between the E-IPA-HX card and the IP Transceivers
(IPTs), V-Series Iris panels, directs and trunks.
Page 227
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
15.5.1
Functionality and IP ports can be combined, but Clear-Com recommends certain rules for set up to avoid loss of functionality and IP clashes.
E-IPA Configuration rules l
Admin & IVC must be on different subnets if split (the default puts both Admin and IVC on the same LAN connector). The IVC connection must use a static IP address.
l
AES67 must not be connected to the same LAN/VLAN as Admin & IVC unless all three are sharing the same rear connection.
l
Do not connect more than one cable from the E-IPA to the same LAN/VLAN. If you do, a broadcast storm could occur.
l
The LAN connector on the CPU card of the matrix must be on the same network as the
E-IPA Admin port and the PC hosting the EHX software.
Network Setup for Clear-Com IVC Functionality (V Series Panels, Directs,
Trunks, LQ and Agent-IC)
When configuring IVC functionality you must allocate a static IP address to this connection.
Note: You must configure the subnet mask to match your network topology when using a static IP address. Contact your network administrator for more information.
When using IVC functionality, the recommended setup is to combine IVC and administration functions on the same IP address (default setting).
Page 228
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
15.5.2
You can separate Admin from IVC connectivity, but if you do this, you must put administration functions and IVC functionality on separate subnets.
In this case, the Admin connection can be given a DHCP IP setting, while the IVC connection must have a static IP address
Network Setup for AoIP Functionality: FreeSpeak IPTs and Iris Panels
Clear-Com AoIP devices need careful setup of IP settings as the E-IPA card uses up to three IP addresses. It also requires careful setup of network switches. For details see Clear-Com AoIP
Network Recommendations .
Page 229
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 230
AES67 connections connections can be on ports 1-6 (RJ45 or Fiber). Default: LAN 3 .
Note: When the IP address of the AES67 port changes, the E-IPA card automatically resets.
Page 231
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
Clear-Com recommends that AES67 ports are on a separate network from the Admin and IVC ports.
l
If you use more than three switches between the PTP master and the slave, Boundary or Transparent clocks must be used.
l
If the network contains only FreeSpeak and Iris panels, DHCP can be enabled for the
AoIP port.
l
When configuring an AES67 network, the network switch must have DiffServ Quality of
Service (QoS) switched on.
l
Multicast support must be enabled.
l
Internet Group Management Protocol (IGMP) snooping must be switched on and there must be an IGMP querier on the subnet.
l
Switch ports bandwidth must be 1 Gbps and it is recommended that ports connecting switches are 10 Gbps.
Network Setup for AoIP trunks and directs
When setting up these connections you must: l
Set a static IP address for the AoIP LAN connector l
Configure the card Protocol Settings
For more information see
15.5.3
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Network SetUp for both IVC and FSII Functionality
15.6
15.6.1
Note: If you select the LAN 5 or LAN 6 SFP ports, they replace the LAN 3 or LAN 4 RJ45 copper ports.
Configure the E-IPA-HX Card for IVC connections
Card Properties
This example shows how to configure IVC functionality.
Page 232
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Note: For more information, see
Network Setup for Clear-Com IVC Functionality
(V Series Panels, Directs, Trunks, LQ and Agent-IC)
15.6.2
Configure Ports
Page 233
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 234
Note: If you are adding more than one port, you can enter values in the Characters to Replace and Seed value fields to automatically generate labels. For example, if you enter Label 0 in the Label field, and then enter 0 in the Characters to replace and Seed value fields, this will automatically generate labels called Label 1, Label 2, Label 3 up to the specified number of labels.
Page 235
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
15.7
15.7.1
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Configure the E-IPA-HX Card for FreeSpeak II
Example Set Up
15.7.2
15.7.3
Set Card Properties
Configure the network settings in Card Properties.
Beltpacks
When using FreeSpeak II on E-IPA-HX with IPTs, each beltpack takes up a matrix port. Click
+Port. The following screen appears:
Page 236
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
15.7.4
Note: The ports that are allocated to beltpacks can be thought of as a pool of ports that can be used by any FSII beltpack. You only have to allocate for the number of beltpacks you intend to have connected to the system at any one time. No allocation for spare beltpacks is required.
When at least one beltpack has been allocated to the card, a Beltpacks button appears under
Hardware . Click this button to configure beltpacks in the usual way. (Registration and Roles).
For more information about configuring beltpacks, see
Transceivers
When at least one beltpack has been allocated to the system, a Transceivers button appears under Hardware . Click this button to add and remove IPTs.
Offline configuration
Use the + IP TCVR button to add transceivers to your configuration (offline configuration).
To connect the matrix and the transceiver, input the transceiver mDNS Hostname or IP address into transceiver Properties and click Apply Map to Matrix .
Note: Using the mDNS Hostname means that the IPTs remains connected if the IP address changes.
Page 237
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Use the - IP TCVR button to remove transceivers from your configuration.
Page 238
Note: You can find the transceiver mDNS name on the rear of the device.
Online configuration
Use Detect IP TCVR to find the IPTs on the network (the IPT must be on same network as IPA
AES67 port, and the EHX software PC must be on the same network as the IPA admin port.).
By default the E-IPA-HX and IPT are DHCP enabled and automatically receive an IP address.
Page 239
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Notes The Detect IP TCVR feature works even when the IPTs are not on the same subnet, but
: connected to the same Layer 2 network as the AES67 IP interface on the E-IPA-HX card. However, for connection between the transceiver and the card, the devices must be on the same subnet.
If you reset an IPT to default settings, the device reverts to DHCP. To reset the IPT, press and hold the Mode button on the transceiver base until the status light turns red
(approximately 12 seconds). This action defaults the Admin and AES67 IP addresses of the Transceiver to DHCP.
Page 240
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
From the AoIP Devices screen, use the up and down arrows to add or remove transceivers from your current configuration.
The color of the detected transceiver indicates: l
Blue: Transceiver is available.
l
Amber: Transceiver is configured, but not connected to the matrix. A download is required.
l
Green: Transceiver is connected to the matrix.
l
Gray: Transceiver is connected to another matrix, but it is not online.
l
Purple: Transceiver is already connected to another matrix.
Static configuration for the E-IPA card
By default, both the AES67 Admin port and the AES67 Audio ports are DHCP enabled.
However, you can allocate static IP addresses for an IPT.
Note: Both the AES67 Admin and AES67 Audio IP addresses must be set to static. You cannot mix DHCP and static IP addressing on the IPT.
1.
Navigate to Hardware > Cards and Ports , and then double-click the card slot containing the E-IPA-HX card. The Card Properties screen appears.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 241
2.
Select the AES67 tab, and then deselect DHCP Enabled .
3.
Set IP Address.
4.
Click Close .
Static configuration for IP transceivers
1.
Navigate to Hardware > Transceivers .
2.
Click the cog icon for the required transceiver. The Transceiver Properties screen appears.
3.
Select Edit , and then deselect DHCP Enabled for both AE67 Admin and AES67 Audio .
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 242
4.
Enter the required static IP addresses for AES67 Admin and AES67 Audio .
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
15.8
5.
Click or to accept or discard your changes.
6.
Click Close .
7.
Click Apply Map to Matrix .
Configure the E-IPA-HX Card for V-Series Iris Panels
This section describes how to connect an Iris panel to a matrix using an E-IPA interface card and an AES67/AoIP connection.
Note: The Iris panel will lock to any connection type. Therefore, if you need to change the connection type of your panel (for example, it has been previously connected via IVC and you want to connect via AoIP) you must power cycle the panel before starting the connection process. After a power cycle, the panel will be able to accept a new connection type.
Page 243
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
15.8.1
Overview
1.
Cable your devices as shown above (example set up). Note that Admin and AES67 are on separate subnets. The default IP setup is DHCP.
2.
Check the settings on the switch used for the AES67 network: l
1 GB minimum l
DiffServe QoS l
IGMP v2 + querier (1 querier per network) l
AES67 PTP profile (for PTP aware switches)
For more information, see Clear-Com AoIP Network Recommendations .
3.
Configure the EHX software. This involves adding a port to the E-IPA card, declaring the panel and setting the Connection Type to AoIP in port properties.
a.
Open the EHX software and navigate to Hardware > Cards and Ports.
b.
Click on the E-IPA card to select it c.
Add a port using the green + port button d.
Set the port function : click Port Function , then select the type of panel you have from the dropdown list e.
Set Connection Type to AoIP in Port Properties > IP Port Options
Page 244
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
4.
Initiate connection between the IP panel and the matrix. There are two possible connection methods: using the mDNS name of the panel (found on the device rear) or using the IP
Panels discovery feature.
5.
Connect using the device discovery method. Navigate to Hardware > IP Panels .
Page 245
Note : You can find the mDNS name on the rear of the device.
6.
When done, Apply Map to Matrix.
7.
Connect using mDNS name. Navigate to Port Properties > Port IP Options.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
15.8.2
15.9
Note : You can find the mDNS name on the rear of the device.
Connection Time
There are a number of variables involved in connection time. The data connection usually happens quickly (within a minute). However, the AES67 audio connection may take longer.
Successful PTP lock will depend on your network setup. During the connection process there will be connection status indicators visible in the panel front display. You can also check
Monitoring or the Event Log in the EHX software.
Notes: The panel will lock to any connection type. Therefore, if the panel has previously been connected to a different connection (MVX or IVC) it must be reset before it is able to establish an AES67 connection.
The AoIP devices (the IP transceiver and the Iris panel) can work in the link-local IP range (169.254.XXX.XXX). The devices will revert to link-local if they are set to DHCP and encounter no DHCP server on the network.
If the IP addresses of the AES67 ports change (IP panel, IP transceiver or E-IPA interface card), the devices will automatically reboot and reconnect. This can takeup to 5 minutes (depending on network set up).
The devices can also be allocated static IP addresses.
The default setting of the AES67 ports is DHCP. Use DHCP for fast and easy deployment of the AoIP devices.
Converting from IVC-32 to IPA Card Mapping
Clear-Com has a facility to convert a MAPPED IVC-32 card setup to an E-IPA card setup to allow the existing card configuration details to persist (with the exception of Concert panels).
Converting to IPA allows all ports configured on an IVC card (including key references, login and
IP details and so on) to be transferred to an E-IPA-HX card. This does not include Concert panels.
Page 246
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Note: This is a map conversion, not a hardware conversion.
15.10
Configure the E-IPA card in E1 mode
E1 connection to an E-IPA card is available with EHX v.12.1 and above.
Note: Once configured in E1 mode, IP connections are no longer available on the card.
Note: You must have 32 ports or above licensed on your E-IPA card in order to put the card into E1 mode.
To configure the card in E1 mode you must set the card type to E-IPA-HX E1 Mode in Cards and Ports. When you have done this, the system will automatically create slots for 50 beltpacks and 10 FreeSpeak II transceivers in the configuration software and the system can be set up and configured as usual.
For how to cable the E1 system see the Clear-Com matrix guides available from the Clear-Com website.
15.10.1
How to Configure the E-IPA-HX card in E1 Mode
1.
In the EHX software, navigate to Matrix > Hardware > Cards and Ports .
2.
Right click on the card slot to Set Card Type .
Page 247
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
3.
Select E-IPA-HX E1 Mode .
4.
When done, the system will prompt you to Apply Map to Matrix .
15.11
Routing AES67 across subnets (IPT and Iris Panel)
From EHX v.12.1 and above, it is possible to configure routing from the E-IPA-HX card to IP tranceivers and IP panels over a Layer 3 network. If you do this, you will need to enter a default gateway address on the E-IPA card. The devices must also have static IP addresses (with the exception of the E-IPA card admin address).
IP devices that can be routed over Layer 3 include: l
FreeSpeak II for Eclipse-HX transceivers l
EHX Configuration Software transceivers l
V-Series Iris panels
Note: The device discovery features in the EHX system use mDNS. Therefore, if you are routing your devices over Layer 3, the discovery features will not work (by default) and the IPTs and panels will not show up in the Discovery tabs in the EHX software. mDNS can be routed but the exact method will depend on your switch model.
Note: mDNS is not necessary for any other function so panel audio will work , it is only used for device
Discovery.
Note: You will need to check that your devices are connected in the Monitoring and Diagnostics pages.
Page 248
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
15.11.1
How to route IPTs and IP panels over Layer 3
1.
Obtain a static IP address (with a valid gateway address) for your IP transceiver or panel.
2.
Make sure the default gateway is set on the E-IPA card. To do this, navigate to:( EHX >
Matrix > Cards and Ports >E-IPA Card (right click on card) > Card Properties )
3.
Configure the IP address of your device and Apply Map to Matrix .
4.
Connection details can be seen in the Monitoring page.
Note: The Visible (mDNS) detail in Monitoring will say No , if mDNS is not routed.
Note: For how to configure an IP address for your IP transceivers and Iris panels, please see the relevant manuals available from the Clear-com website.
Page 249
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
15.12
Local RF Scanning (FS Edge)
EHX v.12.1 and above.
When you have EHX Configuration Software and IP transceivers connected to your system,
EHX has the capacity to conduct an RF scan of the local environment. This allows you to find out which channels are available and clear in order to optimize the performance of your 5 GHz transceivers.
You can: l
Scan all transceivers l
Scan a single transceiver
Note: Channel scan will take the transceivers offline and they will not be able to transmit audio for the duration of the scanning process (approximately 20 seconds per transceiver).
Note: If you have no FS Edge transceivers configured, channel scanning will not be available in EHX.
15.12.1
How run a local 5 GHz RF scan
1.
In EHX navigate to Matrix > Hardware > Transceivers . Click the pull-out arrow at the bottom of the screen: Edge Transceiver Channel Scan Results .
Page 250
2.
The channel scan page will appear.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
3.
Click the button you require to Scan All Transceivers or a single transceiver ( Refresh
Scan ).
4.
The page will be populated with channel scan data.
Page 251
Channels that are shown in blue are currently selected on a transceiver. You can use this information to make a quick check on how good the RF environment is for any individual transceiver.
The following variables can be seen: l
RF channel number l
% score (0 - 99%) l
The percentage score is calculated by an algorithm using Received Signal
Strength Indicator (RSSI), RF activity and the presence of access points.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
RSSI (signal strength 0 - 99%) l
Usage: the amount of RF activity that is detected in this channel l
#AP: the number of wireless access points that use this channel l
SSID: service set identifier (WiFi name) of the access points
Bar color
Blue
Green
Yellow
Red
Pink
Grey
Percentage score/indication
This channel is currently selected on this transceiver
Percentage score is over 66%
Percentage score is between 33 and 66 %
Percentage score is below 33%
Channel is being used by another transceiver
Channel is unavailable (regional regulations)
To change the channel on a transceiver, navigate to Matrix > Hardware > Tranceivers > [click to select transceiver] > Properties > Basic Options
15.13
System Monitoring
Note: For general information about system monitoring, see
.
Navigate to System > Monitoring to examine the status of each E-IPA card in your matrix.
Note: AoIP panels and hosted directs are displayed, but without the DECT synch information.
An example of the monitoring screen is shown below:
Page 252
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 253
The following information is shown: l
AES67 Subsystem Status (text is green when there are no errors) l
PTP Status (text is green when there are no errors) l
IP Interface details
For every IP Transceiver that is configured, the following information is shown:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
This includes: l
Status of AES67 Admin connection to Matrix. (text is green when there are no errors) l
A flag to indicate whether the IP Transceiver is visible on the network (via mDNS). (text is green when there are no errors) l
AES67 Subsystem Status (text is green when there are no errors) l
DECT Sync Status (text is green when there are no errors) l
PTP Status (text is green when there are no errors) l
IP Interface details, showing both AES67 Admin IP address and AES67 Audio IP
Address.
15.14
Troubleshooting
The table below gives an overview of possible error conditions, and how to solve them.
Page 254
Page 255
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Error Condition Solution
No data connection to
IP Transceiver
Check the following: l
Transceiver is powered on and connected to network.
l
E-IPA card is inserted, powered and connected to network.
l
The E-IPA-HX AES67 interface and the IP Transceiver are on the same IP subnet.
l
The switches between IPA and IP Transceiver are configured correctly.
l
Max 100m CAT5e cable distance between IP Transceiver and the nearest ethernet switch.
No connection between
Sitara and Minuet
FPGA inside the
Transceiver.
Transceiver is initializing. This can take up to two minutes from
Transceiver power up. If after this time it is still not ready, then try repowering the Transceiver. If after the second attempt it is still not initialized, then contact Clear-Com Technical Support.
PTP synchronization is not established.
PTP is not locked. This can take up to one minute to lock, please wait.
Use the PTP Status diagnostics screen to view the PTP clock synchronization status of all connected AoIP devices.
Please refer to the Clear-Com AoIP Network Recommendations document available from the Clear-Com website. This offers guidance on how to ensure smooth synchronization of your PTP network.
Tip : Use the PTP Status Diagnostics screen network grouping to detect issues that may be limited particular network segments.
No DECT sync The radio is not yet synchronized. This should only take up to 10 seconds after the PTP is locked. If after this time it is still not synchronized, then check: l
PTP master is configured with the PTP Profile set to the
AES67 Media Profile.
l
All ethernet switches have QoS and IGMP Snooping correctly configured.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Error Condition
The firmware versions of the Transceivers internal components are not in a consistent state.
Invalid IP address
IP conflict detected
Solution l
Re-power IP Transceiver and if it still does not sync after the second attempt, contact Clear-com tech support.
These instructions refer to a Clear-Com only network. If you require guidance for troubleshooting an established broadcast media network please see the Clear-Com AoIP Network
Recommendations Guide .
The firmware versions of the internal components within the IP
Transceiver are not compatible. Re-start the firmware upgrade via the CCM to bring the versions into sync. To do this you must open a browser to the IVC/Admin address shown above.
Note . To do this your PC must be on the same network as the IP
Transceiver and it must be accessible via IP.
EHX Firmware report will identify which internal components are not running the correct firmware.
Note : This particular upgrade fix must be carried out from the CCM.
It will not work with a central EHX upgrade .
The IP Addresses on the IP Transceiver are not valid and must be changed to adhere to the following rule:
Admin and AES67 IP Interfaces MUST be on the same subnet as each other.
One of the IP Addresses on the Transceiver conflicts with another
Transceiver. The other Transceiver will also be in the red error state.
Change the IP address to remove conflicts.
15.15
Upgrade the E-IPA-HX Card
The E-IPA card must be upgraded from the EHX software.
The admin port of the E-IPA card must be on the same subnet as the PC hosting the EHX software.
Page 256
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
15.16
Upgrade the IP Transceiver
1.
Right-click on the Frame in the Layout window, and then select Firmware > Update
Firmware . The Update Firmware Wizard appears.
2.
Select Next . The following screen appears:
Page 257
Note : For IP Transceivers, the Auto/Promoted radio button is always set to Auto .
3.
Select the Wireless radio button.
4.
Select Next , and then browse to the upgrade file (.fww) and select Open . The upgrade file is loaded to the transceiver, and the transceiver restarts.
You can track the status of the download in the EHX Event Log.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
You can also upgrade the IP Transceiver using a USB memory stick. For more information, see the FreeSpeak II Integra User Guide .
15.17
Upgrade the V-Series Iris Panel
The panel can only be upgraded using the EHX software if it is connected by AES67. If your panel is connected by analogue MVX or IVC IP, you must upgrade your panel by USB.
Page 258
16
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Introduction to SMPTE 2110
The Clear-Com E-IPA interface card is compatible with AES67/SMPTE 2110 standards. (Max.
64 streams per card).
Before setting up or connecting to AES67/SMPTE 2110 networks, Clear-Com recommends that users have a thorough understanding of IP and related technology.
Note: Clear-Com AoIP (SMPTE 2110) ports are licensed. You must buy a license from Clear-
Com before broadcasting AES67 streams to third party equipment.
Clear-Com AES67 trunks do not require a license.
Page 259
Note: Some networks will use a secondary media network for redundancy.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
16.1
What is AES67/SMPTE 2110 (AoIP)?
SMPTE 2110 is a suite of standards established by the Society of Motion Pictures and Television
Engineers (SMPTE). SMPTE 2110 uses the AES67 standard to define audio flows.
The 2110 standards allow you to synchronize video, audio and other relevant data over a network. In a broadcast environment this allows for: l
Live editing l
Remote production, minimising the need for specialised on-site equipment
The suite specifies standards related to the carriage, synchronization and description of streams over IP for real time production and playout. Using SMPTE standards, all traffic can go over a common interface. As data is packetized by type, it is possible to access the data by type for use in different contexts. Most administrators will continue to separate traffic by priority although at the time of writing (2019) newer switches have the ability to prioritize real time media streams.
SMPTE 2110 suite: l
SMPTE 2110 – 10 (system: RTP, SMPTE ST 2019, Session Descriptor Protocol
(SDP), Session Announcement Protocol (SAP).
l
SMPTE-2110 – 20 (uncompressed video: RFC 4175) l
SMPTE 2110 – 21 (performance of transmitters: packet pacing, bursts, gaps) l
SMPTE 2110 – 30 (uncompressed audio: AES67)
Page 260
l
SMPTE 2110 – 31 (compressed audio: AES3) l
SMPTE 2110 – 40 (ancillary data: IETF ANC 291)
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 261
The E-IPA-HX card works with the following specifications: l
SMPTE 2110-10 - PTP l
Uses existing standards SMPTE 2059-1 and SMPTE 2059-2 l
Defines the PTP signalization that is used to synchronize the audio, video and ancillary data at the source. This data can be used at the destination to play back.
l
Mandates that SDP shall be used to define the SMPTE 2110-30 stream of audio.
l
SMPTE 2110-30 - Audio l
Uncompressed Linear Audio l
48Khz Sample Rate l
16, 24 (EHX default) and 32 bit depth l
125us and 1ms packet timing l
Level A: 1-8 audio channels per stream @1ms (Mandatory)* l
Level B: 1-8 audio channels per stream @125us* l
Level C: Up to 64 audio channels per stream.
The E-IPA-HX card is compliant with Level A and Level B.
*The E-IPA card will transmit up to 4 Tx channels and receive up to 8 Rx channels in one stream.
16.2
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
AoIP Use Cases
When deploying Clear-Com AoIP devices, there are three main scenarios you will probably encounter: l
Clear-Com only l
Trunks and/or IP transceivers. Separate 125 µs network segment recommended. The E-IPA-HX card is the master clock.
l
Mixed media network without FreeSpeak II l
Clear-Com (panels and trunks) join a broadcast media network with its own master clock.
l
Mixed media network with FreeSpeak II o Clear-Com IP transceivers join a broadcast media network with its own master clock. Use PTP aware switches thoughout OR use two E-IPA-HX cards to create a separate network segment for IP transceivers.
Clear-Com to Clear-Com is relatively simple as you should be able to use the default protocol settings. In this context, the E-IPA card with the lowest MAC address will act as the master clock.
Joining an established media network requires more careful preparation and configuration of the
E-IPA card properties.
Joining an established media network and using wireless equipment in that network is a more complicated case again and will require either the use of PTP aware switches throughout or a separate E-IPA card.
For more information see Clear-Com AoIP/AES67 Network Recommendations , available from the Clear-Com website and also within the EHX software user interface.
Note: Where possible Clear-Com recommends that any equipment joining an established network is first tested and configured on a standalone TEST network before being connected to the main primary network. This is standard practice for adding equipment to any IP network.
Page 262
16.2.1
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Overview and some General Rules to Use when Setting Up a Network for
Use with Clear-Com AoIP Devices
Page 263
Page 264
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Network System
Small/Medium
Clear-Com only l
1-30 IPTs l
Up to 3 layer-2 hops between PTP Master and IPTs (must not trunk network with other
VLANs) l
Clear-Com AES67 Traffic Only l
125 µs packets
These figures are for guidance only; or instance: even a small system would require PTP-aware switches if the set up involved using more than 3 switches between the master clock and slave.
Large Clear-
Com only l
> 25 IPTs l
> 4 layer-2 hops between PTP Master and
IPTs l
Clear-Com AES67 Traffic Only l
125 µs packets
Switch
Requirements l
DiffServ
QoS l
IGMP
Snooping l
IGMP
Querier
Mixed Media without
FreeSpeak II l l l
PTP profile is defined by existing networked equipment
PTP GM is a dedicated device (likely a GPS
Master clock)
Packet time is either 125 µs or 1 ms l
DiffServ
QoS l
IGMP
Snooping l
IGMP
Querier l
PTP-aware
Transparent and/or
Boundary
Clocks l
DiffServ
QoS l
IGMP
Snooping l
IGMP
Querier
16.3
16.3.1
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Network
Mixed Media with
Freespeak II* l l l l
PTP profile is defined by existing networked equipment
PTP GM is a dedicated device (likely a GPS
Master clock)
Packet time is either 125 µs or 1 ms
1+ IPTs
System Switch
Requirements l
PTP-aware
Transparent and/or
Boundary
Clocks as required by network size l
DiffServ
QoS l
IGMP
Snooping l
IGMP
Querier l
All switches must be
PTP-aware
* When setting up mixed media with Freespeak, Clear-Com recommends isolating the
FreeSpeak wireless network using a second E-IPA card to reduce setup complexity.
Enable AoIP (SMPTE 2110) License
Your AoIP license must be purchased and activated on the E-IPA card before configuring
AES67 ports in the EHX software.
Licenses are activated from the E-IPA card Core Configuration Manager (CCM) using a ticket ID that will be sent to you when you buy a Clear-Com license. The E-IPA-HX card can also be purchased with the AoIP license factory installed.
For full instructions see E-IPA Licensing Guide available from the Clear-Com website.
The E-IPA-HX Card CCM Password
The default password for the CCM is based on the mDNS name of the device. The mDNS name can be found on a printed label on the card.
Example: CC-E-IPA-49WYF567. In this case, the default password is: 49WYF567
CCM username: admin .
Page 265
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
You can reset the password to one of your own choosing in the CCM. However, when you reset the E-IPA card, the password will also reset to the default, or to a value defined in the EHX >
Preferences > System Access Codes .
16.4
16.4.1
AoIP Configuration in EHX
The setting up of SMPTE streams involves setting parameters that relate to the Precision Time
Protocol (PTP) and the SMPTE/AES67 standards (such as sample rate, IGMP v.2, and packet time). These parameters are detailed in the SDP text file. It is important that the parameters are the same for connecting devices and in some cases, you will need to check the SDP content to ensure compatibility.
Clear-Com provides the means to export, import and manipulate SDP files as required.
In some cases you will be feeding Clear-Com SMPTE compatible audio into an existing SMPTE network. In this case, there is likely to be an established PTP domain (or domains) with a
Grandmaster clock (GM) that controls the synchronization of transmission packets. You will need to adjust PTP settings to match the Grandmaster clock before transmitting.
The E-IPA card has the capacity to act as a master clock, but Clear-Com does not recommend using the card as a master clock when joining an established media network.
What is a Session Descriptor Protocol (SDP) File?
An SDP contains stream formatting, synchronization and connection information in a human readable form. Each transmitter broadcasts an SDP file using Session Announcment Protocol
(SAP).
Other SAP enabled devices can ‘listen’ for the broadcast, and when conditions within the SDP file are recognised, an audio connection can be initiated.
Page 266
Page 267
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Notes: An SDP file can be manually edited in any text editor.
Devices in an SMPTE 2110 context may be SAP enabled. Streams from devices that are SAP enabled should appear in the Advertised tab of the SDP viewer.
Some parameters contained in the SDP file are found in the E-IPA card properties tab. If you change the values here, these changes are reflected in the SDP file.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
16.5
Note: The EHX configuration software will warn of incompatibilities in the SDP header.
AES67/SMPTE 2110 Network and Switch Requirements
SMPTE 2110 audio relies on a well-regulated PTP network. Therefore, you will need to take care with your network setup before trying to receive or transmit AoIP.
In the first case you need: l
IGMP snooping and a querier to allow multicast traffic to be routed through the network in a controlled manner
Page 268
16.6
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
QoS: PTP and audio packets must be set at a high priority (DSCP value, priority setting and position in switch queues).
l
AES67/SMPTE 2110 interface ports on the E-IPA card must have a static IP address l
AES67/SMPTE 2110 streams must be in the multicast IP range ( 239.0.0.0 –
239.255.255.255
)
For more information on setting up a well-regulated PTP network see: Clear-Com AoIP
Network Recommendations available from the Clear-Com website and within the EHX software user interface.
AES67/SMPTE 2110 Streams in the EHX System
Note: In EHX, a stream can carry up to 4 Tx and 8 Rx channels in total.
This topic aims to clarify the relationship between AES67 streams, channels and EHX ports.
An AES67 stream can be thought of as a unidirectional carrier of realtime, low latency audio channels.
EHX ports are designed to be bi-directional, historically, they are duplex (unlike a stream which is unidirectional). A single EHX port can host a single AES67 transmit (Tx) channel and a single listen (Rx) channel. When you add an AoIP port to your EHX configuration, a single Tx is automatically created (the Rx must be configured separately). If the port is deleted, both the Tx and the Rx are also deleted.
To add channels to the stream, you must configure the EHX ports labelled Direct (AoIP
Channels) . Up to three channels can be associated with each Direct (AoIP Stream ).
The diagram below illustrates an AoIP stream with four channels leaving the Clear-Com matrix:
Page 269
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
16.6.1
Receiving an 8-Channel Stream in EHX
When receiving an 8-channel stream from a third party device, the 8 channels must be mapped onto at least 2 AoIP Stream ports.
Page 270
Within the EHX software, this arrangement uses two of the total EHX stream allocation (64).
Once an AES67 channel (Rx) is received on an EHX port, the audio from that channel is available to the matrix and can be routed as desired by the user.
16.6.2
16.6.3
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Mapping Channels to Ports in EHX
You have some flexibility in how you map AES67 channels to ports. Once AoIP ports have been created in the EHX software, incoming channels can be allocated across ports in any way you require. Transmit channels can be re-ordered.
EHX Stream Capacity
E-IPA AES67 stream capacity: 64 x 64 maximum.
How much of the total allocation of streams you have used can be seen in the EHX user interface.
In the EHX software navigate to: Hardware>Cards and Ports>E-IPA-HX card.
When configuring AES67 transmission in the EHX system, stream capacity should be considered separately from ports.
l
Direct (AoIP Stream) port: 1 stream.
l
Trunk (AoIP): 1 stream l
Clear-Com IP transceivers (FSII and FS Edge):1 stream per transceiver l
Iris panels: 1 stream per panel
Note: Direct AoIP ports are subject to license. Streams are not subject to license.
Page 271
17
17.1
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Configuring AES67/SMPTE 2110
Note: This section provides a description of the general guidelines and procedures for configuring SMPTE 2110. For a detailed example, see
Example of an SMPTE 2110 Configuration.
In the first instance you need the following: l
A static IP address for the AES67 LAN connector. This should be from the IP range of your media network.
l
An address range from the multicast IP range. You need up to 64 multicast IP addresses for each E-IPA card to allow for the maximum number of streams. EHX will automatically define multicast IP addresses or you can set your own to suit an existing network.
Notes: Unique UDP ports can be used to reduce the number of unique multicast addresses required.
An established media network here refers to a network that is already transmitting video and other AoIP sources and may be connected to live broadcast equipment.
E-IPA Card Protocol Settings
These variables are found in the E-IPA card properties tab.
Page 272
Page 273
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Variable
PTP
Slave mode
Notes
When Slave mode is enabled, the card will always attempt to lock to an external master clock.
By default, the E-IPA acts as a master clock and will take over this function if a master clock is not found on the network. If you don’t want this to happen, enable
PTP Slave mode .
AES67 packet time
RTP
Payload
ID
The packet time on the devices to be connected must be the same. When joining an established media network you will configure a packet time in EHX to match the network you are joining.
Clear-Com default packet time: 125 µ.
This is a stream identifier that can be set by the user in EHX.
Commonly used values: l
97 – video l
98 – audio
PTP profile
PTP domain
SMPTE 2110 and AES67 media are the default profiles in the specifications.
The PTP profile will define Announce Interval, Sync Interva l and Domain .
You may need to change these values manually for interoperability with a particular third-party device.
AES67 = 0 (default)
SMPTE = 127 (default)
Connecting devices must be in the same PTP Domain, or they will not be able to sync to each other (no audio).
Priority A and B
These settings determine the E-IPA clock priority on the network when the card is not in PTP slave mode. The E-IPA default value is high to accomode the IP transceivers high need for clocking accuracy.
Announce
Interval
Defined by the PTP profile. *
17.2
17.3
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Variable Notes
Announce
Receipt
Time
Announce receipt time must be the same on connecting devices.*
Defined by the PTP profile.* Sync
Interval
* For more information on these properties, see
Recommendations .
Clear-Com AoIP Network
SDP viewer
This viewer is for information and diagnostics. Opening the viewer will give an overview of any streams that have been configured in your system.
You can select and configure Rx streams that are advertised on your network in the Live RX tab of the SDP viewer.
AoIP Port Types
These port types can be selected in the Cards and Ports page.
Port
Function
Notes
Trunk (AoIP) A Trunk is used when transmitting AES67 traffic between Clear-Com matrices.
An AoIP Trunk port can be grouped with up to 3 additional AoIP trunk ports (4 channels in total).
Direct (AoIP
Stream)
These ports are used to transmit AES67 audio between Clear-Com and thirdparty SMPTE devices.
An AoIP Stream port can parent up to 3 additional AoIP channel ports (4 channels in total).
Direct (AoIP
Channel)
These ports are used to associate AES67 channels to streams. In order to transmit, they must be associated with a stream port.
The SDP Viewer
The SDP viewer can be used to check streams and channels coming into and being transmitted out from your matrix. You can also copy SDP files here, and pull Rx streams into your matrix configuration.
Page 274
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
To see the SDP viewer, navigate to: Matrix>Hardware>Cards and Ports>E-IPA-HX card>Card Properties (right-click or double-click on the card icon )>Protocol Settings>Open
Viewer .
17.4
The Configured Tx and Rx tabs show streams as they are configured in the EHX software.
Once you download the map to the matrix the streams will become live.
Right-click on the stream icon. This opens the AoIP Properties tab where you can edit and copy
SDP details.
Click on the Advertised tab to see steams advertised with SAP on your network. Right-click on a stream to pull it into your EHX configuration.
Configuring Clear-Com to Clear-Com Trunk Ports
For each connecting device:
Set card properties
Configure the IP addresses of the E-IPA card. For the audio port (AES67), this includes: l
A static IP address l
Defining a multicast IP range (or use default setting)
For Clear-Com AoIP trunk connections you do not need to set any PTP protocol settings, you will work with the default settings.
Select a port on each matrix E-IPA card: Trunk AoIP
Use the Group Trunks feature to add channels to your streams
Page 275
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
When done: l
Connect devices in the Layout screen.
17.4.1
This step automatically populates the SDP details of the streams.
Apply map to matrix
Note: When connecting trunk ports your network must have IGMP snooping and one querier enabled.
FreeSpeak IP Transceivers (FS II and Edge)
For FreeSpeak IP transceivers see
Network Setup for the E-IPA-HX Card.
Page 276
17.5
17.6
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Joining Clear-Com to an Already Established Media Network.
When setting up AoIP ports to third party software, the card must have a Clear-Com AoIP port license.
Before connecting Clear-Com equipment to an established media network, you should read
Clear-Com AoIP Network Recommendations , available from the Clear-Com website and within the EHX Software.
Note: When setting up audio transmission to an existing PTP domain, you need to adjust PTP settings to match that domain.
PTP checklist
For the devices broadcasting on the media network that you wish to connect to, you need the following information: l
What is the PTP domain?
l
What is the PTP profile that transmitting devices use? (AES67 media or SMPTE 2110).
l
What is the packet time?
l
What is the bit depth?
l
How many channels are transmitted in a stream?
Note: The EHX configuration software will warn of incompatibilities in the SDP header.
Set Card Properties
Configure the IP addresses of the E-IPA card. For the audio port (AES67), this includes: l
A static IP address l
Defining a multicast IP range (or use default setting) l
PTP protocol settings
1.
Navigate to: Matrix>Hardware>Cards and Ports .
2.
Click the E-IPA card to select it and then right-click (or double-click) to see the card properties.
Page 277
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 278
For more information on setting the card Admin IP properties see
Network Set Up for the E-IPA-HX Card.
Note : You should set the default gateway for the Admin IP address.
3.
Click the AES67 tab. Make sure that the DHCP checkbox is unchecked.
4.
Insert a static IP address.
5.
If you have an allocated multicast IP range, insert the first number in the range in the
Multicast Start Addr field.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 279
The Multicast Start Addr field is automatically populated by EHX: l
239.[system number].[slot number].[.1]
The system will allocate an IP address to each stream in increments of .1 from this address. For example:
Stream 1 = 239.1.3.1
Stream 2 = 239.1.3.2…
6.
Click the Protocol Settings tab. You will set the PTP and some AES67 parameters here.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
17.7
17.7.1
7.
When you have adjusted the protocol settings, close E-IPA-HX Card Properties .
8.
You have now configured your E-IPA card properties. The next step is to set up the AoIP ports.
Note: Changing PTP and AES67 parameters requires a reset to the matrix.
Add Ports (AoIP)
Add a Stream with up to 3 Additional Channels (Tx)
In the EHX software navigate to: Matrix > Hardware > Cards and Ports.
1.
Click on the E-IPA card to select it.
2.
Click the green +Port button.
Page 280
Page 281
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
3.
From the dropdown menu, select Direct (AoIP Stream).
4.
Add a label.
5.
Add as many additional channels as you require for this stream (up to 3, giving 4 channels in this stream)
6.
Click Add , then Close .
7.
Click the port to select it (light blue highlight).
8.
In port properties, go to Tx AES67 Device Options .
9.
The system will automatically allocate a multicast IP address. You can change this now if
needed.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
17.7.2
10.
Apply Map to Matrix (with a reset if you have not yet committed the PTP and AES67 properties of the card to the matrix).
11.
Your card is now transmitting a single AES67stream with as many channels as you have configured.
The stream is now being broadcast onto the network and third party devices can be configured to receive it.
Receive Third-Party Streams in EHX
Once you have created AoIP ports in the EHX software, you can configure them to receive any streams being transmitted on your network. You can do this in Port properties.
Navigate to: Hardware > Cards and Ports > E-IPA Card > AoIP Port > Port Properties.
Page 282
17.7.3
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Troubleshooting: Copy and Paste SDP File to Ensure Connection
If connection is not successful, you can copy and paste the SDP file from a stream directly into the user interface. You can copy and paste or export an SDP file from: l
A third-party transmitting device into EHX l
From EHX to a third-party device.
Once obtained, the SDP file can be manually edited in any text file:
17.7.4
Copy an SDP File in EHX
Navigate to: Matrix>Hardware>Cards and Ports>E-IPA card>AoIP Port>Port
Properties>Tx AoIP Device Options .
Page 283
You will see the AoIP Properties tab:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 284
Click View AoIP SDP to view and copy the file. The file can be copied and pasted into any text editor:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
17.8
You can also use Export SDP to save the file to a convenient location.
The AoIP Stream Properties tab is also available from the SDP viewer in the Card
Properties tab.
Example of an SMPTE 2110 Configuration
This section describes an SMPTE 2110 configuration in detail.
There are two types of port associated with AoIP Directs (AES67/SMPTE2110-30): l
Direct (AoIP Stream) l
Direct (AoIP Channel)
The difference between these two port types relates to the concept of a stream and a channel. In
AoIP, a stream is the name for the audio data being sent from device A to device B. This is also known as a "Flow" in some manufacturer terminology (for example, Dante). Streams contain one or more channels.
Though a stream can contain only one channel, usually you will bundle multiple channels into one stream to achieve a higher efficiency in terms of network use and to maximize functionality.
The E-IPA-64-HX card has a capacity of 64 streams.
Page 285
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Note: This capacity is not dependent on any port license but might depend on the use of streams for a specific purpose.
Streams can be used for: l
FSII IPT l
FS Edge transceivers l
Iris Panels l
AoIP Trunks l
AoIP Directs
Each of these devices/port types uses one stream but may use up to four channels (depending on configuration).
In this example, there are only Directs. The following table explains the difference between the two types of AoIP Direct:
Port Type Tx Rx
Direct (AoIP Stream) Stream configuration and channel assignment Channel assignment
Direct (AoIP Channel) Channel assignment Channel assignment
The simplest case is the sending and receiving of a single channel stream to and from an IPA. In this case, you only need to use a Direct (AoIP Stream).
l
In EHX Cards and Ports , navigate to your IPA and click, and then select Direct (AoIP
Stream):
Page 286
Here you can see:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Which means there will be 1 Direct (AoIP Stream) port created with no addition channels.
This consumes: l
1 stream from the 64 available on the IPA l
1 port from the available ports (dependent on the port license of the IPA) l
1 third-party AoIP license
The properties (to the right-hand side of the display) that distinguish this port from other Direct port types are the AoIP Device options. These are split into two sections: Tx and Rx (transmit and receive).
When the port is created, the following screen appears:
Page 287
Because this port is a Stream, there is Tx stream configuration.
This is the main difference between the two Direct (AoIP) port types .
There is a multicast address, which is automatically populated based on the multicast start address found in the IPA card properties:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 288
Because this is the first stream, the first address is assigned.
Next, there is a Tx Session Name:
This is automatically assigned the name of the port label but must be unique in your network.
This is good practice but also essential to ensure correct functionality with all devices. This will be how you identify your stream in the configuration of your receiving device.
You can see that the stream contains only 1 channel:
You can see that the stream is 24 bit:
The Tx bit depth must match the Rx bit depth, and this should be assigned correctly before applying the map to avoid confusion. The default value is 24 bit but this can be set (per stream) to
16 or 32 bit.
The Tx Multicast (UDP) port is 5004:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
This is also automatically populated, and each stream will have a unique port. This port can be changed (as well as the multicast address) but the defaults are there to help ensure a unique address. The combination of multicast address and port must be unique in your network .
So, in this example 239.69.2.1:5004 should only be used for this stream.
Using the SDP record Edit , you can manually adjust certain parameters:
The available channels are fixed based on the port assignment. There is only 1 port (no additional channels) so only 1 channel.
The PTP Domain and packet time are set at the card level in the IPA Card properties.
You can also export a .txt file representation of our SDP file to use on a device without support for SAP (stream detection).
On the Rx side, the option is the same as would be seen in a Direct (AoIP Channel) port:
Page 289
You can select a configured Rx Stream and pull a (single) channel from that to be assigned to the port. You can also input the information manually or import a .txt file using the SDP record Edit option here:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
17.8.1
Alternative Method to Configure Multiple Rx Streams for Assignment to
Ports
1.
Double-click the card icon in cards and ports):
Page 290
2.
Navigate to Protocol Settings:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
3.
Select Open Viewer:
Page 291
There are several tabs: l
Configured - Tx shows the Tx streams configured (but not necessarily applied) on the
IPA card.
l
Live - Tx shows the Tx streams active on the IPA card (i.e. sending multicast audio)
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
Configured - Rx shows the Rx streams configured (but not necessarily applied) on the
IPA card.
l
Live - Rx shows the Rx streams currently being received by the card.
l
Advertised shows streams detected using SAP (Session Announcement Protocol).
In this example, there is one configured stream in Tx. This is the Direct (AoIP Stream) port and no streams in Live - Tx.
There are no streams in Configured - Rx or Live.
Navigate to Advertised streams, to see what is available on the network:
There is a single channel AES67 stream in an E-Dante card for this example, and you can see that in the Advertised page. Right-click the stream icon to add it to your configuration (Rx):
Navigate to the Configured - RX page, to see the stream:
Page 292
In this example, it is tinted red. This indicates a problem. Right-click the icon and open the edit menu:
Page 293
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
You can see a mismatch in packet time:
Packet time for stream to/from Dante AES67 must be 1 ms. Our card is configured as 125 us so the connection will not work. You must change the setting to 1 ms (for the whole IPA card).
Packet time is set in the Protocol settings menu (see above). When you do this, the following warning appears:
Note: EHX updates the Tx streams that you have configured; but does not change Rx streams.
It is important that you maintain the same packet time in your media network. All devices need to use the same standard to allow interoperability.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
The Tx stream you created is now 1 ms (automatically).
When you go back to the Configured - Rx page, you can see that the Dante stream is no longer tinted red:
17.8.2
In practice, more Rx streams would be added to the configuration.
Assigning an Rx Session to the AoIP Port
Page 294
Select the Rx Channel. Channel 1 is automatically assigned:
Page 295
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
If you try to select another channel, you will see that there is only one in this stream. So now you have configured a transmit stream with one channel and a receive stream with one channel onto one port of the E-IPA-HX card.
This is the most basic user case. If you apply the map to the matrix, you will see the Tx stream shows up in any SAP detection for a third-party device.
For example, you see it in Dante Controller:
17.8.3
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Direct (AoIP Channel)
This differs from a Direct (AoIP Stream) port in that no Tx stream configuration is available.
The port is only used for channel assignment and not for setting up a stream. Therefore, the
AoIP Device Options window looks different:
You can only select a predefined Tx Session (defined on a Direct (AoIP Stream) port) and channel.
The Rx configuration is the same.
For multichannel streams, the configuration would be to add a Direct (AoIP Stream) in the method described above, and to add the desired number of additional channels. For example, you can create a 4-channel stream (this is the maximum number of channels for a Tx stream):
Page 296
You now see that the Direct (AoIP Stream) is created with three Direct (AoIP Channels):
Page 297
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
The indentation means that these channel ports are linked to the stream port.
This is seen explicitly in the channel port(s) properties under the option Parent Port:
You can change the parent port after port creation, so that a stream channel count can be varied.
The channels made in this way are automatically assigned to the parent stream on the Tx side:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
In the Direct (AoIP Stream) Tx SDP record you can see there are four channels:
Page 298
The receive side behaves similarly concerning multichannel streams. You can detect these in the same way as above.
To configure the Rx stream, you can choose where each channel is assigned in the port properties. For example, the incoming Dante stream now has four channels:
Page 299
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Now the drop-down list contains these four channels and you can assign one to each of our AoIP ports. Typically, you would mirror the configuration of the Tx side so that you map the following:
IPA Port Tx Stream Rx Stream
Direct (AoIP Stream) Channel 1 Channel 1
Direct (AoIP Channel) Channel 2 Channel 2
Direct (AoIP Channel) Channel 3 Channel 3
Direct (AoIP Channel) Channel 4 Channel 4
You can receive a stream with up to eight channels. This can be split across 8 ports of either
Direct (AoIP Stream) or Direct (AoIP Channel) as desired.
The key reason for bundling channels into multichannel streams rather than using single channel streams is to conserve the streams on the IPA (which might be used for any of the applications listed above) and bandwidth considerations. In general, Device A needs to transmit 16 channels to Device B, it is best practice to send 4 x 4-channel stream rather than 16 x 1 channel streams.
Likewise, with receiving.
18
18.1
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
General Purpose Inputs and Outputs
General Purpose Inputs and Outputs (GPIOs) enable you to configure a matrix input or output that triggers an external device. For example, a switch could form an input to the matrix that triggered a matrix event, or a panel key could trigger an output that operated a warning light in a studio.
The Eclipse HX matrix has eight General Purpose Inputs (GPIs) and eight General Purpose
Outputs (GPOs) on the processor card and these are automatically added to EHX in the Matrix
Hardware screen as module 0. You can add further GPIs and GPOs to the system using GPI-6 and RLY-6 modules respectively. These interface modules fit into slots in the matrix frame.
General Purpose Inputs (GPIs)
To reach the GPI screen, select Hardware > GPIs .
18.1.1
Adding and Removing GPI-6 Modules
If you want to increase the number of GPIs, add one or more GPI-6 modules.
To add or remove GPI-6 modules:
1.
Open Hardware > GPIs .
Page 300
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
18.1.2
2.
The counter next to Number of External GPI-6 modules displays the current number of
GPI-6 modules. To display a drop-down list of numbers, click the counter.
3.
If you select a higher number than the current number, new GPI-6 modules are added. Six new GPIs are added per module.
If you select a lower number than the current number, GPI-6 modules and their associated GPIs are removed.
For more information about GPI-6 modules, see the GPI-6 Manual , available on the Clear-Com website.
Configuring GPIs
To configure either a matrix or GPI-6 input:
Page 301
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 302
1.
Identify the input number to be used from the GPIs screen.
2.
Click the row to highlight it.
3.
From the Available Controls list, select the required Talk label.
4.
To transfer the label to the Attached Controls list, do either of the following:
5.
Click the => arrow.
6.
Double click the label.
7.
To detach the Talk label from the GPI, select the required label in the Attached Controls list.
8.
To detach the label, do either of the following: l
Click the <= arrow.
l
Double click the label.
Notes: When using an IMF-3 frame the GPI-6 cable should be connected first to the matrix
GPI data connector on the rear of the CPU Card before connecting any RLY-6 cards.
For information about controls, see
.
18.2
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
General Purpose Outputs (GPOs)
Note: Panel Relays are also managed from this screen but are added and removed automatically when panels are managed from the cards and ports screen. Some of the panel relays of the IP V-Series are used by the V-Series application locally when the panel hosts secondary channels and the hosted port application is set to 2-way radio, HelixNet or Partyline. These GPIOs can additionally be used from this screen in which case the logic is OR'd with that of the V-Series application.
To reach the GPO screen, select Hardware > GPOs:
18.2.1
Adding RLY-6 Modules
If you want to increase the number of GPOs, add one or more RLY-6 modules.
To add or remove RLY-6 modules:
Page 303
18.2.2
18.2.3
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
1.
Open Hardware > GPOs .
2.
The counter next to Number of External RLY-6 modules displays the current number of
RLY-6 modules. To display a drop-down list of numbers, click the counter.
3.
If you select a higher number than the current number, new RLY-6 modules are added. Six new GPOs are added per module.
4.
If you select a lower number than the current number, RLY-6 modules and their associated
GPOs are removed.
Configuring GPOs
In Hardware > GPOs , use the checkboxes to set whether the relay output is activated with talk and or listen.
The control manager screen is used to create and configure controls that can trigger the relays.
Panel Auxiliary and Panel Mute
The Available and Attached windows have tabs for the various types of functions, allowing them to be filtered for ease of selection. Two of the tabs are Panel AUX relays and Panel mute relays .
These functions correspond to these relay outputs in the I-Station documentation. In the case of
V-Series panels the output relays are labelled as 1 and 2. The correspondence between the labels in EHX and the panel hardware is: l
Panel mute relay - Relay output 1 l
Panel AUX relay - Relay output 2
Page 304
19
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Panel Programming
From the Panel Programming screen (in the Configuration menu), you can assign talk and listen labels to panel keys, assign labels to expansion panel keys, configure assignment panels, stack keys and set key specific functions.
19.1
The Panel Programming Screen
The Panel Programming Screen is split into three areas.
Page 305
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
19.1.1
Top
The top area contains a ribbon that enables you to: l
Select from a scrollable list of connected intercom panels l
Sort the scrollable list alphabetically or numerically.
l
Select and name shift pages. You can also see how many keys are currently assigned to each shift page. Left and right arrows allow you to move between shift pages.
Page 306
Tip : You can also select shift pages by pressing Ctrl + shift page number.
Ctrl + 0 returns to the main page.
l
Zoom in and out l
Print key labels l
Save, load, clear, copy and paste key layouts l
Clear all keys l
Select the Audio Mixer l
Identify a panel (only in Go Live mode). This causes the panel currently being edited to flash the panel buttons or LEDs red and display IDENTIFYME in the bottom left display.
To use this facility, monitoring must be enabled using the Monitor button on the EHX toolbar. This facility is only available for V-Series panels. The Identify Panel button is greyed out for other panel types.
19.1.2
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
Enter Supervisor Mode to control a panel remotely (only for V-Series panels and
FreeSpeak II beltpacks).
l
Toggle Alt Text on or off to show or hide alternative text.
Middle
19.1.3
19.2
The middle area provides a mimic of the intercom panel, and is the area where labels are programmed onto the panel selectors. This area also provides access to configure Expansion
Panels to host Panels.
Note: Expansion panels can only be added or removed in Cards and Ports.
Lower
In the lower area, you can find: l
The Palette, consisting of a list of all the matrices currently in the project. Expand each matrix to list all the entities that it contains, such as panels, interfaces and partylines.
l
The Stacked Keys area. This can be expanded or collapsed. For more information about stacked keys, see
The Palette
The Palette lists all the entities that are present in the configuration.
Page 307
Click on the left arrow to expand the entity.
19.2.1
Filtering for Entities
You can also filter for any entity type. To do so:
1.
Select Entity Types .
A list of entity types displays:
Page 308
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
19.2.2
19.2.3
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
2.
Select the required entity to filter.
Note : You can use the CTRL key to filter for more than one entity.
A list of filter entities appears.
To remove all filter, click Filters Applied .
Note: You can also apply filters from the Configure Palette screen.
Searching for Entities
Enter a key word into the Search box. Use an asterisk (*) to denote a wild character.
Note : The search is not case sensitive.
Configuring the Palette
Click Configure Palette . A list of options displays.
Page 309
Palette Options l
Sort By Port Number - sorts entities by port number.
l
Sort By Label - sorts entities by label l
Group By Frame - groups entities by matrix first, then by entity type.
l
Group By Type - groups entities by type first, then by matrix.
Page 310
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
Show Descriptions - shows the entity description.
l
Show Port Numbers - shows the entity port number.
Assign Keys l
On Double Click - double-click an entity to assign it to the first free key on the panel. To determine the assignment mode, see
l
On Right-Click Menu - right-click an entity to display a menu. The menu displays the appropriate assignment types for the panel.
l
On Keyboard Enter - When searching entities, press Enter to assign the first search result to the first free key on the panel. To determine the assignment mode, see
Select Unique Search Result
This option automatically selects a search item, if that item is the only search result.
To determine the assignment mode, see
.
Default assignment: Mode
This option determines the key type for entities that are assigned to panel keys using: l
Talk - sets a talk from the panel to a destination with no automatic listen to the destination.
l
Listen - sets a key to listen to the source without talking to the destination at the same time.
l
Talk and Listen - sets a talk key with listen.
l
Dual Talk and Listen - sets a dual talk and listen key (only on pushbutton panel types).
This make the pushbutton activate a TALK on a press and hold and latches a LISTEN with a short press on the same pushbutton.
l
Forced Listen - sets a key with permanently made listen.
l
Talk and Forced Listen - sets a talk key with permanently made listen.
19.3
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Stacked Keys
Stacked Keys functionality is the ability to add more than one Talk label to a single selector of an intercom panel.
19.3.1
Creating a Stacked Key
To create a stacked key:
1.
Open the Panel Programming screen.
2.
Select the panel where the stacked key is to be created
3.
Either programme a Talk or Listen label to the panel or identify a Talk or Listen label that has already been programmed onto the panel.
4.
On the mimic of the panel, place the mouse cursor over the required Talk label.
5.
Double-click the Talk label.
6.
The Talk Label appears in the Stacked Key area (the bottom right window). Use the arrow to expand or collapse this area.
7.
Drag the mouse cursor over to the Talk Labels window
8.
Click the required label
9.
In the Stacked Key window, select the Add Label button.
10.
Repeat steps 7 to 9 for the all required Labels.
Page 311
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
19.3.2
The order of the labels on the stacked key runs from the last (bottom) key in the list to the first
(topmost) key in the list.
Removing Labels from a Stacked Key
19.4
1.
Double-click the Stacked Key on the mimic of the panel using the left mouse button. The
Stacked Key window displays all labels on the stack.
2.
Click the label to be removed.
3.
Click the Remove Label context box to remove the label.
Panel Programming Preferences
To configure the panel programming preferences, select Configuration > Preferences >
Panel Operation .
Page 312
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 313
V-Series specific settings
This option enables you to determine how the V-Series panel shift button operates: l
Selectable Shift Page – the shift button toggles between the Main page and the last selected shift page (short press) or displays a list of shift pages (long press).
l
Cyclic Shift Pages – the shift button cycles through consecutive shift pages (short press) or displays a list of shift pages (long press)
There are also check-boxes to: l
Disable the shift menu unless two or more shift pages are configured.
l
Delay the shift and main menu activation time to three seconds.
l
Disable supervisor and supervisee label text inversion.
Crosspoint settings
19.5
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
By default, there is a default crosspoint level (-72dB) that can be set by a V-Series panel. This prevents panels from being able to completely mute audio. The tickbox allows the user to remove this limitation and achieve a full cut for crosspoint levels at the panel.
i-Station specific settings
These settings enable you to determine whether I-station shift pages are selectable from the keypad or cyclic.
Key Operation Preferences
Page 314
Tally Settings
Use this section to change the incoming Tally light color (the default is red). The options are: l
Red. Tally light color is red l
Green. Tally light color is green.
There are three check-boxes:
19.6
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
Panels generate In Use Tallies on talk out AND receive l
Panels continue to receive incoming calling tally AFTER reply l
Set VOX/In Use LED tally on active keys only
Feedback settings
If you select the Forced listen appears in reply key option, the label of any Forced Listen port appears in the Reply / Answerback stack of the listening panel. This can be over-ridden by each individual port’s option to Prevent Reply Signalization.
The option is unchecked by default.
Single Reply key mode settings
Use this section to determine the order in which incoming calls to a panel are stacked on the
Reply Key.
l
If the New calls go to the BACK of the Reply Key Queue/Line option is selected then the calls are ordered on the basis of first in stays on top of the stack so the reply key answers the calls in the order they are received.
l
If the New calls go to the FRONT of the Reply Key Queue/Line option is selected, then the calls are ordered on the basis of last in goes to the top of the stack. This means that the Reply Key answers stacked calls by starting with the most recent call.
The default is that the first call is answered first.
Key customizations
You can allow third-party keys.
Note: When selected, special key entries that are configured on a panel key will be controlled by third-party applications (label displayed, key LED status and so on) and outside the control of the Eclipse HX system.
Expansion Panels
Host panels can support up to eight expansion panels.
To add an expansion panel:
Page 315
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
1.
Select Hardware > Cards and Ports and select the port for the host panel.
2.
Select Panel Options > Expansion Panels .
3.
Click + to add an expansion panel.
Note : Click X to remove an expansion panel.
To display the expansion panel mimic, from the panel programming screen, open the drop-down list (normally displaying Main Panel ) to show the list of all the expansion panels configured and select the required expansion panel.
Page 316
Labels are assigned to keys in the same way as main panels and the option menu is available.
Note: Supervisor mode does not work for expansion panels.
19.7
19.7.1
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
V-Series Panel Programming
This section covers the programming of the V-Series lever key, push button, and rotary panel types and their associated expansion panels.
V-Series Lever Key Panels
To select a connected V-Series lever key panel:
1.
From Configuration > Panels , select the required panel from the drop-down list or use the < > icons to step through the list of panels.
Page 317
2.
To assign keys, click on the required item in the list of available labels, and then drag the items to the required key and drop them over the display corresponding to the key. Click on the mouse to confirm the assignment.
Note: You can change the position of the Reply key by selecting REPLY in the Special Entities section and dragging it to the required key. You can also move the key by clicking and dragging it from its current location and dropping onto a new location.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Each blue display window is divided into an upper and lower section with the upper section being the listen label and the lower section being the talk label. This corresponds to the lever key action to activate the talk or listen routes (up to listen, down to talk).
If the mouse pointer is positioned over a key display/label the details of the label are displayed.
19.7.2
Action Menus
To display the action menu for a key, position the pointer over the label and right-click the mouse.
A list of options appears.
Visual indication override
This allows you to override the global color selection on the key entity. Select this option if you wish to change the color display of an individual key.
Page 318
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 319
Activation
The activation option determines how the key behaves when activated. To set the key activation type:
Right-click over the required key and then select Activation to display the activation options.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 320
Destination Listen (IFB Return)
Note : This option is only available for IFB keys.
This option enables the operator to listen to the audio from the IFB return port or audio going to the IFB destination port. If there are multiple IFB destinations/returns, the audio routed to the listener is the sum of all the audio heard at the destination/returns ports.
If Destination Listen is on, the operator can listen to the IFB destination audio (sources and interrupts).
If Destination Listen is off, the operator can listen to the IFB return audio.
Right-click over the required key and then select Destination Listen > On/Off .
Local assignment
This option enables local key assignment to overwrite the selected key or not. This allows you to limit the keys a panel operator can overwrite when locally assigning keys by Fast Key Assign (V-
Series only) or by Local Key Assignment (on panels supporting this facility).
Right-click over the required key and then select Local Assignment > Allow Local
Assignment/Disallow Local Assignment .
Interlock group
Page 321
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
This option assigns several keys on a panel into an interlock group and restricts the group so that only one key of the group can be activated at any one time. This function only refers to talk paths.
For example, if a panel had five keys programmed to talk to cameras 1 to 5 then by setting these into an interlocked group only one camera key can be selected at a time.
You can assign panel keys to a maximum of nine interlocked groups.
Note: The interlock groups are specific to the panel they are programmed for and do not affect interlock groups that may be set up on any other panel in the system.
To add a key to an interlocked group:
1.
From Panel Programming , select the desired panel.
2.
Right-click on the desired key to display the key options list.
3.
Select the Interlock Group entry to display the interlock group options list.
4.
Select the required interlock group or None if the key is not to be in any interlock group.
5.
The key may be added to other interlock groups as required.
6.
The key interlock groups are displayed in the key information popup.
Page 322
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Key Groups
If key groups have been assigned in Configuration > Key Groups , you can assign a key to one of the configured key groups.
Key groups also can be assigned as though they are normal keys.
Local advanced latch disable
When the mouse pointer is over this entry a second menu is displayed giving the options to set
Local Advanced Latch Disable to On, Off or Always Latch. Select and click on the required option. This performs the same function as Latch Disable in the Local Advanced facility. It allows or disallows a panel to latch a key to another device.
Latch
Option
OFF
Effect
ON
(Default)
A quick tap on a key will latch audio on and off. A long press will activate audio only for the duration of the key press.
The key will not latch, a long press will activate audio for the duration of the key press.
Always
Latch
The key will latch on and off on any key press, long or short.
Level Adjustment Applies To
You can select whether the level adjustment applies to: l
Crosspoint control l
Input (Global) level control l
Output (Global) level control
Go to key destination
Click the Go To Key Destination entry to display the editor screen for the type of destination the key refers to. For example if the destination is a panel then the panel is displayed on the
Panels screen. For a partyline key, the Partylines editor screen is displayed with the partyline highlighted.
Delete key
19.7.3
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Click the Delete Key entry in the menu to delete the assigned label (shown highlighted).
Note: Only the highlighted label is deleted. The green listen label for that key is not deleted.
V-Series Pushbutton Panels
1.
Select Panels from the Configuration menu to display the panel options toolbar and select the panel from the drop-down list or use the < > icons to step through the list of panels.
2.
To assign keys drag items from the list of available sources and destinations to the required key and drop them over the display corresponding to the key.
Note : You can change the position of the Reply key by selecting REPLY in the Special
Entities section and dragging it to the required key. You can also move the key by clicking and dragging it from its current location and dropping onto a new location.
Entities in the label palette appear differently for push button panels - they are split into left and right sections for talk and listen respectively.
3.
Click on the talk section for a talk key. Click on the listen section for a listen key
Unlike the lever key panels, only one label can be assigned to a key rather than two, but key activation can be assigned unlike lever key panels.
4.
Position the mouse pointer over a key display/label to display the details of the label.
Page 323
5.
To display the action menu for a key, position the pointer over the label and right-click the mouse.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
19.7.4
Action menus
See
V-Series Rotary Panels
1.
Select Panels from the Configuration menu to display the panel options toolbar and select the panel from the drop-down list or use the < > icons to step through the list of panels.
2.
To assign keys, click on the required item in the list of available talk and listen labels, and then drag the items to the required key and drop them over the display corresponding to the key. Right-click on the mouse to confirm the assignment.
Note : You can change the position of the Reply key by selecting REPLY in the Special
Entities section and dragging it to the required key. You can also move the key by clicking and dragging it from its current location and dropping onto a new location.
On rotary panels Listen and Talk are actioned by separate controls (rotary knob for
Listen, talk button for Talk) so different paths can be assigned for Talk and Listen on the same key.
It is also possible to assign other keys to the Reply key on V-Series panels.
Page 324
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 325
Each blue display window is divided into and upper and lower section with the upper section being the listen label and the lower section being the talk label. This corresponds to the rotary push action to activate the listen route and the talk button below the display to activate the talk route.
3.
Position the mouse pointer over a key display/label to display the details of the label.
4.
To display the action menu for a key, position the pointer over the label and right-click the mouse.
Note: For information on scrolling assignment setup, see the V-Series User Guide.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
19.8
19.8.1
Action menus
See
V-Series Iris Panels
V-Series Iris Panels are an extension of the V-Series range that have color OLED displays to allow you to quickly and easily monitor the panel. They can also connect to E-IPA-HX matrix cards using AES67 Audio over IP for low-latency, high-quality audio. To program a connected V-
Series panel from the EHX configuration software, see
Configuring V-Series Iris Panel Color Displays
The Iris panel contains a multi-colored display designed for quick visual identification of audio entities (for example IFB, Partyline).
Most users will work with the default color settings. However, the system is designed for maximum flexibility of color use, and this section gives some examples of individual color configuration below.
Note: Color functionality requires Eclipse-H 11.0 software and above, and is present for any V-
Series panel.
Page 326
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 327
Default OLED colors
Entity
Global default
Default color display
White
Panel No Override (displays the Global default color)
Interruptible Foldback (IFB) Purple
Partyline
Direct
Control
Fixed Group
Sort Group
Tel 14
Yellow
Pink
Red
Aqua
Dark Pink
Royal Blue
Changing OLED colors
OLED color settings can be changed according to: entity type, specific entity and individual key on a panel.
Page 328
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
Global system entity type (for instance, all the partylines, IFBs or controls in your system). Change system entity colors in System Preferences. Navigate to
Configuration>Preferences>System Visual Indicators .
l
Specific entity (for instance, color the key from a director panel to show red in all instances). Navigate to Hardware>Cards and Ports>Port>Visual Indication .
l
An Individual key on a particular panel. Navigate to Configuration>Panels and then right-click on the required panel key and select Visual Indication Override .
Priority:
1.
Individual key setting overrides specific entity setting.
2.
Specific entity setting overrides global color settings.
3.
Global color setting overrides Global Default.
To change the color display of any key, follow these steps:
1.
Change the key setting. Navigate to Configuration>Panels>Panel>Panel key (rightclick to see visual override status).
2.
Change the entity properties. For example, to change the color of an IFB navigate to:
Configuration>IFBs>IFB>Visual Indication .
3.
Check the system preferences to see the global settings. Navigate to:
Configuration>Preferences>System Visual Indicators .
4.
You can also set the whole system color displays back to the default settings. Navigate to
System Visual Indicators as in step 3) and click Reset Assignments to Default .
To change entity color displays, navigate to Configuration>Preferences>System Visual
Indicators .
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
19.8.2
Note: You can easily reset the colors back to default settings using the Reset Assignments to
Default button.
Examples
I want keyset #1 on my 1 RU rotary panel to be orange at all times.
Navigate to Configuration>Panels>Panel>Keyset (right-click).
Page 329
I want keys to/from the director’s panel to show yellow on all other panels.
Navigate to Hardware>Cards and Ports>Port>Visual Indication.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
I want all IFBs in my system to show as green rather than purple.
Navigate to Configuration>Preferences>System Visual Indicators.
19.8.3
I Want all Entities (Audio Routes and Panels) to/from Studio #1 to be Orange
For each entity, you must change the color preferences in the entity properties. For example, to change the color of all IFBs related to studio #1 change the IFB’s color properties by using the visual override feature.
Page 330
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Navigate to Configuration>IFBs>IFB>Properties>Visual Indication.
19.8.4
Repeat this process for each entity (for instance, partyline, group, panel) for studio #1.
EHX Supervisor Mode
EHX Supervisor mode enables you to take control of a V-Series panel or FreeSpeak II beltpack that is connected to the matrix. For example, if a panel user is having difficulty with a panel, EHX supervisor mode allows the EHX Configuration Software to remotely access and control the panel. The following apply: l
EHX supervisor mode is not possible if a panel is already in supervisor mode (activated from the front panel).
l
EHX supervisor mode cannot modify audio levels on a FreeSpeak II beltpack, and cannot enter menu mode or navigate the menus.
l
EHX supervisor mode cannot control latch disabled key.
To enable/disable supervisor mode, toggle the Supervisor Mode slider control on the righthand-side of the ribbon.
With supervisor mode enabled you can adjust volume levels and click on controls on the EHX software mimic to operates the panel or beltpack remotely. Any user activity on the panel is also visible on the EHX software mimic.
Note: Supervisor mode does not work with expansion panels.
Page 331
19.9
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Concert Panel Programming
A Concert panel is a virtual panel (or soft panel) that runs on a PC and provides the same functionality as a normal hardware panel such as a V-Series panel. Concert panels can connect to an Eclipse matrix via a Concert server.
Concert panel keys act as pushbuttons rather than lever keys and are operated using a mouse or other pointing device. Concert panels do not support any expansion panels.
The following section covers the programming of Concert panels.
1.
Select Panels from the Configuration menu to display the panel options toolbar and select the panel from the drop-down list or the < > icons to step through the list of panels.
Page 332
2.
To assign keys, drag items from the list of available sources and destinations to the required key and drop them over the display corresponding to the required key.
As with V-Series pushbutton panels only one label can be assigned to a key and key activation can be assigned.
3.
Position the mouse pointer over a key display/label to display the details of the label.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
4.
Position the mouse pointer over the label and right-click the mouse to display the action menu for a key.
19.9.1
Action Menus
See
19.10
i-Series Programming
This section deals with programming i-Series main panels and expansions panels.
Note: i-Series panels only display five characters per key.
Page 333
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
19.10.1
Assigning Labels
To assign a label to a given key:
1.
Locate the mimic of the panel to programme by either using the scroll arrows or the dropdown list box from the middle area of the screen.
2.
Keys are assigned in the normal way by clicking on the required item in the list of available labels, and then dragging the item to the required key and dropping them over the display corresponding to the key and clicking on the mouse to confirm the assignment.
3.
Drag the mouse cursor up the screen into the mimic area and position it over the required key.
4.
Repeat for all required Label programming.
5.
To program a Talk and Listen key, press and hold the keyboard Ctrl key and then select the
Talk label and place that onto the panel.
6.
To program a Talk and Forced Listen key press and hold the keyboard Alt key and then select the Talk label and place the label onto the panel.
Page 334
19.10.2
Re-assignment of Labels
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
To re-assign a label
1.
Select the required port and locate the label that is required to be re-assigned.
2.
To select the new Label, place the mouse cursor over the label.
3.
Left click and hold down the mouse button.
4.
Whilst holding down the mouse button drag slightly down the mouse until the label is free from the display.
5.
Position the Label over the new position and release the mouse button to drop the label into the new position.
19.10.3
Action Menus
See
Page 335
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
19.10.4
i-Series Advanced Functions
The i-Series operates in one of four modes: l
COM mode is the default mode. In this mode, the i-Series panel operates as a simple panel. Talk labels are assigned to destinations, and listen labels are assigned to sources.
l
IFB mode allows the i-Series to assign a program audio source or sources to an IFB
Global destination. For example, on-the-air audio can be assigned to the talent or announcer in a television studio application. It is called IFB mode because the program audio source that is routed to the IFB destination can be interrupted by an incoming intercom call to the IFB destination.
l
PL mode allows the panel operator to add and delete members of a partyline directly from the panel.
l
FG mode allows the panel operator to add and remove members of a fixed group directly from the panel.
For more details of how to use the i-Series advanced functions, see the i-Series Panels User
Guide .
19.10.5
Using EHX to Set Up i-Series Fixed Group Membership Options
A fixed group occurs when one source needs to call many destinations at one time. The panel operator can add and remove members of a fixed group in real time with the i-Series, provided that the feature has been enabled in EHX.
To enable the feature in EHX
1.
Open the required map configuration in EHX.
2.
From Cards and Ports screen, select the required panel.
3.
Select Port Properties > AP Panel Options > Fixed Group Assignment . Click the drop-down box to turn the feature on or off.
l
When the check box reads true the feature is on l
When the check box reads false the feature is off
4.
From Panel Programming, select the panel to which the i-Series is connected, and immediately below it, select the i-Series panel.
5.
Assign the fixed group source as a talk key on the i-Series panel on screen.
6.
Assign potential fixed group members as listen keys on the i-Series panel on the screen.
7.
From the Eclipse HX Downloads menu, click Apply and Reset.
Page 336
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
EHX uploads the information to the i-Series panel.
19.10.6
Using EHX to Set Up i-Series IFB Options
After a program audio source has been attached to a matrix port, the EHX operator can assign the audio source to an IFB destination with the i-Series Assignment Panel in panel programming.
To assign an audio source to an IFB destination
1.
In Cards and Ports select the i-Series panel.
Highlight the entire row when selecting the panel.
2.
Go to Port Properties > AP Panel Options > IFB assignment . Select True (the box is checked).
3.
From Panel Programming , select the i-Series panel.
4.
Assign the IFB destination as a talk label.
5.
Assign the IFB source or sources as a listen label.
6.
Click Apply Label Changes from the Eclipse HX Download menu to send information to the matrix.
19.10.7
Using EHX to Set Up i-Series Partyline Membership Options
The panel operator can add and remove members of a partyline in real time with the i-Series provided this feature has been enabled in EHX.
To enable the feature in EHX:
1.
Open the required map configuration in EHX.
2.
From the Cards and Ports screen, select the desired panel.
The Advanced Settings screen opens.
3.
From Port Properties, select Partyline Assignment from i-Series AP Panel Options. Click the drop-down box to turn the feature on or off.
l
When the check box reads true the feature is on l
When the check box reads false the feature is off
4.
From Panel Programming select the i-Series panel.
5.
Assign the partyline as a talk key on the on screen i-Series panel.
Page 337
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
6.
Assign potential partyline members as listen keys on the on screen i-Series panel.
7.
From the Eclipse Downloads menu, click Apply and Reset.
EHX uploads the information to the i-Series panel.
19.10.8
i-Series Panel Options
This functionality is limited to the current configuration and label sets cannot be transferred between configurations. The options for panel Save, Load, Copy, Paste, Upload and Clear are provided on the panel configuration toolbar above the panel mimic.
Page
1.
Select Page to display a list of pages for the panel as a drop-down list. Click the required page to update the mimic to the page.
Save
1.
Select Save on the Panel Programming toolbar to display the label file save dialog.
2.
Enter the name of the file which will default to the .ccl extension. The keys from all pages are saved (including shift pages where supported) but the keys from any expansion panels that may be fitted are not saved in the file.
Expansion panel labels must be saved separately.
Load
1.
Select Load on the Panel Programming toolbar to display the dialog for selecting and opening a panel label (.ccl) file.
2.
Select the required file and click Open to load the labels from the file. When a label load is performed all the labels on a panel (including shift pages) and cleared before the new labels are applied.
If the type of panel being loaded is not the same as the type of panel the label file was saved from this may result in labels being lost when the panel is loaded.
Copy
1.
Select Copy on the Panel Programming toolbar to copy the labels of the current panel page only into the scratch pad. You cannot copy labels from expansion panels.
Paste
Page 338
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
1.
Select Paste on the Panel Programming toolbar to paste the labels copied to the scratch pad onto the currently selected panel. All the labels currently on the page are lost. This allows single pages of labels to be pasted on to the panel.
If the type of panel being pasted to is not the same as the type of panel the labels were copied from this may result in labels being lost when the labels are pasted onto the new panel.
Clear
1.
Select Clear on the Panel Programming toolbar to clear all the labels from the current panel including shift pages but excluding any attached expansion panels.
19.10.9
Fast Key Assign Restrictions (i-Series)
The i-Series Advanced Settings area, located on the rightmost side of Cards and Ports offers three Soft Menu Restrictions: l
Dial Phone Mode Access l
Information Mode Access l
Key Assign Mode Access
By default, the panel operator has access to these options from an i-Series, but if the check box for any of these options is cleared, the panel operator cannot access the menus from the i-Series front panel.
19.11
Assignment Panel Partyline Membership Options
The panel operator can add and remove members of a partyline in real time from an assignment panel provided this feature has been enabled for the panel in EHX.
To enable this feature in EHX
1.
Open the required map configuration in EHX.
2.
From the Cards and Ports screen, select the desired panel.
3.
From Port Properties, select Partyline Assignment from AP Panel Options. Click the dropdown box to turn the feature on or off.
4.
When the check box reads true the feature is on.
5.
When the check box reads false the feature is off.
6.
From Panels in the Configuration menu select the required panel or the panel to which the
AP (Assignment Panel) mode is enabled.
Page 339
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Note : On the panel, the key will show the particular AP mode that is selected or the panel, for example INTERCOM, IFB Assign, PL Assign or FG Assign .
7.
Assign the partyline as a talk key on the on panel.
8.
Assign potential partyline members as listen keys on the on-screen panel.
9.
From the Eclipse HX Downloads menu, click Apply and Reset .
EHX uploads the information to the panel.
For more information, see the i-Series User Guide .
19.12
Assignment Panel Fixed Group Membership Options
A fixed group occurs when one source needs to call many destinations at one time. Members of a fixed group may be added or removed by the panel operator in real time with the assignment panel provided this feature is enabled for the panel in EHX. To enable the feature in EHX
1.
Open the required map configuration in EHX.
2.
From the Cards and ports screen, select the required panel.
3.
From Port Properties, select Fixed Group Assignment from AP Panel Options. Click the drop-down box to turn the feature on or off.
4.
When the check box reads true the feature is on.
5.
When the check box reads false the feature is off.
6.
From Panels in the Configuration menu select the required panel or the panel to which the
AP (Assignment Panel) mode is enabled.
Note : On the panel, the key will show the particular AP mode that is selected or the panel, for example INTERCOM , IFB Assign , PL Assign or FG Assign .
7.
Assign the fixed group source as a talk key on the assignment panel on screen.
8.
Assign potential fixed group members as listen keys on the assignment panel on the screen.
9.
From the Eclipse HX Downloads menu, click Apply and Reset.
EHX uploads the information to the assignment panel.
Page 340
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
19.12.1
Keep Hidden Keys Active (i-Series Panels)
1.
In Advanced Settings for i-Series panels, select the Keep Hidden Keys Active option.
When this option is selected, audio paths from an i-Series panel’s main page are maintained even when the panel operator switches to the shift (swap) page.
2.
Clear the check box to turn off this option. If this option is disabled the audio paths from the main page are cut when the panel operator switches to the swap page.
This option is not selected by default.
19.13
Agent-IC Mobile Client
To find out how many Agent-IC clients are licensed on a matrix, do the following:
1.
Select Diagnostics > Event Log.
2.
In the right-hand pane, select , and then select Request Info.
3.
From the Request Matrix Information screen, select Matrix Overview.
The Agent-IC licenses are listed on the Hardware ID line.
The following section covers the programming of the Mobile Client panel.
1.
Select Panels from the Configuration menu to display the panel options toolbar and select the Mobile Client from the drop-down list or the > icons to step through the list of panels.
Page 341
Page 342
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Note : The number of keys displayed on the Mobile Client screen depends on the target device that the Mobile Client is installed on.
5.
To assign keys, click on the required item in the list of available labels, and then drag the items to the required key and drop them over the display corresponding to the key. Click on the mouse to confirm the assignment.
Note : On Agent IC clients, Listen and Talk are actioned by separate controls (left hand side for Listen, right hand side for Talk) so different paths can be assigned for Talk and
Listen on the same key.
6. To display the action menu for a key, position the pointer over the label and right-click the mouse.
Page 343
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Destination listen
Note : This option is only available for IFB keys.
This option enables the listen key to feed all the audio that is routed to the IFB to the panel user. If there are multiple IFB destinations, the audio routed to the listener is the sum of all the audio heard at the destination ports.
Local assignment
1. Click the Local Assignment entry to display the available options for local key assignment.
The options are to allow local key assignment to overwrite the selected key or to disallow local key assignment to overwrite the selected key. This allows you to limit the keys a panel operator can overwrite when locally assigning keys by Fast Key Assign (V-Series only) or by Local Key Assignment (on panels supporting this facility).
Interlock group
You can assign several keys on a panel into an interlock group and restrict the group so that only one key of the group can be activated at any one time. This function only refers to talk paths.
For example, if a panel had five keys programmed to talk to cameras 1 to 5 then by setting these into an interlocked group only one camera key can be selected at a time.
There are nine available interlocked groups to which the EHX user can assign any or all panel keys.
The interlock groups are specific to the panel they are programmed for and do not affect interlock groups that may be set up on any other panel in the system.
To add a key to an interlocked group:
1.
From Panel Programming , select the desired panel.
2.
Right-click on the desired key to display the key options list.
3.
Select the Interlock Group entry to display the interlock group options list.
4.
Select the required interlock group or None if the key is not to be in any interlock group.
5.
The key may be added to other interlock groups as required.
6.
The key interlock groups are displayed in the key information popup.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Local advanced latch disable
When the mouse pointer is over this entry a second menu is displayed giving the options to set
Local Advanced Latch Disable to On or Off. Select and click on the required option. This performs the same function as Latch Disable in the Local Advanced facility. It allows or disallows a panel to latch a key to another device.
Go to key destination
Click the Go To Key Destination entry to display the editor screen for the type of destination the key refers to. For example, if the destination is a panel then the panel is displayed on the
Panels screen. For a partyline key the Partylines editor is displayed with the partyline highlighted.
Delete key
Click the Delete Key entry in the menu to delete the assigned label (shown highlighted).
Note: Only the highlighted label is deleted. The green listen label for that key is not deleted.
19.14
ICS-1008 and ICS-1016 Panels
Note: The illustrations in this section show an ICS-1008 panel. The procedure is identical for an ICS-1016 panel.
1.
Select Panels from the Configuration menu to display the panel options toolbar and select the panel from the drop-down list or use the > icons to step through the list of panels.
Page 344
Page 345
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
2.
To assign keys drag items from the list of available sources and destinations to the required key and drop them over the display corresponding to the key.
3.
Position the mouse pointer over a key display/label to display the details of the label.
4.
To display the action menu for a key, position the pointer over the label and right-click the mouse.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
19.14.1
Action Menus
See
19.14.2
Printing Key Labels
Note: Printing key labels applies to i-Stations and ICS-1008 and 1016 panels.
You can print the names of the keys assigned on the panels and attach the printout to the panel.
You can select and print key labels for one panel or print key labels for more than one panel.
1.
Select Print keys .
Page 346
2.
Select one of: l
Print as BMP – creates .bmp
file for the displayed panel.
l
Print as CSV – creates a .csv
file (Comma Separated Variables) for the displayed panel.
l
Print all as BMP – creates a .bmp
file for all connected ICS and i-Series panels.
l
Print all as CSV – creates a .
csv file for all connected ICS and i-Series panels.
3.
Save the file to the required location.
4.
Open the file in graphics software (or in the case of .csv
files, in a text editor) and edit as necessary before printing.
Note: To ensure correct spacing, do not scale the file either in the graphics software or on printing.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
19.15
ICS-22 Panels
To use an ICS-22 panel, it is configured as an ICS-1008 panel. See
Any Talk keys MUST be placed in the lower row to ensure that they control Talk routes, and that the panel Talk/Listen switch controls the Listen routes.
The image below shows a key labeled as S5-NO configured on channel A, and a key labeled as
T-Pan configured on channel B.
19.16
Local Advanced
The Local Advanced screen sets functions that determine how every panel and interface in the system interacts with each other at the device level. For example, IFB levels can be set for every individual device or Forced Listen can be enabled or disabled between any two specific system devices. To open the Local Advanced Screen:
1.
Select the Local Advanced entry in the Configuration menu.
Page 347
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 348
The configured devices are displayed to form a grid with each square displaying the attributes set for interactions between the devices as a colored dot or empty if the attributes are not set. Tabs on the toolbar allow the specific attributes to be selected.
Positioning the mouse pointer over a square displays a tooltip indicating the current status.
A key to the meaning of the colored dots that indicate status is shown in the top lefthand corner of the Local Advanced screen. The Sources are listed down the lefthand side and the Destinations are listed across the top.
Page 349
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
The type of source/destination is denoted by the color of the entry. These are: l
Grey - IFB l
Pink - Panel l
Yellow - Partyline l
Purple - Interface (Direct, FOR-22, Telephone, TEL-14, CCI-22) l
Blue - Fixed Group l
Green - Control
Note : IFBs are displayed on the Forced Listen tab.
The tabs allow the grid to be displayed for the various properties of the connections
(such as Forced Listen, Latch Disable and so on).
2.
Select one of the tabs to display a grid with sources and destinations which may have this property and the status of any connection between them. For example, selecting the
Blocked Listen tab only displays panels and interfaces to which this property can apply.
Where the property is enabled a colored dot is displayed in the square: red for local property assignment, black for global property assignment.
You can filter the items along the top by name using the text filter boxes on the righthand side of the EHX Control Bar. There is a separate Source and Destination filter box.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
3.
Enter the text to filter by and click on the filter icon to the right of the filter box left filter icon).
Only the destinations with names containing the filter text are displayed on the top row. The sources are not filtered. To turn off filtering click on the rightmost of the two filter icons.
Page 350
4.
By holding down the Control key whilst selecting the tabs, you can select multiple tabs. In this case any squares representing connections are colored red if any of the select properties are set.
Note : Only local settings are displayed when multiple tabs are selected. Global settings are not shown.
When the mouse pointer is positioned over one of the squares of the grid a tool tip gives details of the connection.
Note: By not touching the mouse the tooltip remains on the screen.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 351
1.
Place the pointer over the square that intersects the required source and destination.
The tooltip displays the current properties.
2.
Click the square. The square turns blue and the source and destination label backgrounds changes to white.
3.
To set or clear the current property (for example, Latch Disable) right-click the mouse to display the On/Off options.
4.
Use the pointer to select the required state and right-click or left-click on it to select it.
A red dot is displayed in the square if the function has been enabled in local mode.
Note: By holding down the Control key when assigning connection properties, it is possible to move from square to square and make multiple selections with a single mouse click. If the Shift key is held down a block of connections can be assigned by clicking on limits of the required block selecting all the points between the limits. This allows large numbers of connections to be set very quickly.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
The following sections contain a description of each option. Every option does not appear for every combination of source and destination.
The possible options are described in these sections.
19.16.1
Forced Listen
A forced listen is a permanently enabled audio path between a source and a destination that can only be interrupted by ISO calls. It does not have any association with a selector key.
On the forced listen tab, if the destination is an IFB the source is assigned as an IFB source to the
IFB rather than creating a forced listen. A violet dot signifies this, and corresponding dots are shown for any IFB destinations that are assigned to the IFB.
Note: This is not an online function. An Apply Changes is required to push these changes to the Matrix.
If panel eavesdropping is disabled for a panel, the forced listen is not effective until the panel has at least one talk path set. Panel eavesdropping is enabled from the Advanced Settings screen of
Cards and Ports for the source port. Forced listen audio is routed from the label on the left to the label on the top.
Page 352
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
19.16.2
Blocked Listen
If a listen is blocked between two ports, then an audio path from the source to that destination cannot be set under any circumstances. This is primarily used as a safety feature. For example, to prevent one studio’s program feed from being accidentally routed to a destination in another studio.
19.16.3
Local Latch Disable
This function prevents talks to any label from latching. If a latch-disabled (PTT) label is assigned to a selector key, the operator physically holds down the key to activate the route PTT. A latchdisabled port’s label can be included in a fixed group or partyline without automatically latch disabling the entire fixed group or partyline.
19.16.4
Local ISO
This function enables a panel or interface as a local ISO destination of the source panel or interface. When the source activates a talk to any of its local ISO destinations, that talk is a private, two-way path. All other talk paths from the source are interrupted. All existing talk and listen paths between the source and the destination are interrupted, except for other ISO talk paths. When the source terminates the talk, the destination’s audio paths resume; when all ISO paths to the destination are deactivated, the destination’s audio paths return to their previous states. If more than one panel activates an ISO path to the destination, both sources can talk and listen to the destination. For ISO talks to also interrupt listens at the source, check the ISO
Interrupts All Other Listens box in the Matrix Configuration Preferences ISO and IFB tab.
Note: If the destination of an ISO is a panel, then Eavesdropping must be enabled in Global
Settings (Advanced Settings section) in order to activate the panel microphone if it is not already activated. If the destination is not a panel but a device such as a four-wire port
Eavesdropping does not need to be enabled for the destination device.
19.16.5
Route Monitor
Enable monitoring of an audio route. This creates a key that is available for assignment from
Panel Programming. When the key is pressed, audio from the required crosspoint is routed to the panel with the key.
This allows panel C to monitor audio between ports A and B when Route Monitoring between A and B is enabled.
Page 353
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
19.16.6
Mute Relay
This function enables a panel's mute relay to activate automatically whenever the panel talks to a specific port or entity (PL, Group, IFB). The mute relay is a general purpose relay whose contacts are connected to the Control DB-25 connector on the panel’s rear panel. It is commonly used to mute a control room monitor speaker, but it can also be put to other uses, such as turning on a light or unlocking a door.
Note: The Mute Relay function is not available if you configure the V-Series panel with a second additional sub-channel that has function Two-Way Radio, Partyline or HelixNet.
19.16.7
Preset Talk
This option enables setting preset talk paths from an interface port to any other destination in either the local or a remote system.
Preset talks are like routes, except they can be configured to activate only when a call signal is received at this port from an external device, such as a radio or telephone or LQ-SIP or external partyline (CCI-22).
19.16.8
Preset Listen
This option enables setting preset listen paths from an interface port to any other destination in either the local or a remote system. Preset listens are similar to routes, except they can be configured to activate only when a call signal is received at this port from an external device, such as a radio, telephone or CCI-22.
19.16.9
Preset Call
Preset Call is used to send a call signal to a group or a port on either the local system or a remote system.
A panel receives the preset call signal as an incoming call tally but without the audio. If Audible
Alerts is set for the panel, then the panel receives three beeps at either its loudspeaker or headset speaker.
If the source interface is a TEL-14 telephone module, and Auto Answer is set to off, then the call signal is repeated every time a ring signal is received.
If the destination is a CCI-22 or FOR-22 module, the output is driven high during the call signal.
19.16.10
Call Signal to a Telephony Interface
To enable an audible warning when a call is made from an external telephone to the TEL-14 module, set Local Advanced > Preset Call .
Call signal tones must also be enabled at the destination panel in the Cards and Ports screen.
Page 354
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
While the phone is ringing, a call signal is sent to the panel. Call signal tones are sent to the panel every time a pulse is received from the TEL-14. The label for the TEL-14 port is placed in the
Answerback stack of the panel, and an incoming call tally is displayed on both the Reply key and any configured key to that port.
19.16.11
Nearby Panels
This function is used to prevent audio feedback (howlround) between panels located physically nearby each other. When enabled, audio from the source panel is prevented from reaching the destination panel, and signalization is also suppressed. The advanced setting Nearby Panel
Partial in Cards and Ports can be used to route audio from nearby panels to the headset rather than suppressing it.
19.17
Fonts
Many fonts are supported by Eclipse HX systems allowing suitable panels to display labels in
Latin and certain non-Latin scripts. The fonts supported by Eclipse HX systems are described below with the panel support.
Eclipse HX has additional font support for the V-Series panels and V-Series Iris panels: l
Basic Latin.
The backslash is a Yen character. This is a size-maximized font (no descenders, lower-case characters are not relative in size to upper-case characters).
This covers Unicode 32 to 127 (decimal), 0x20 to 0x7F (hex). The V-Series panel display supports ten characters.
l
Cyrillic . This is a normal, relatively-sized font. The V-Series panel display supports ten characters. Covers Unicode 1024 to 1279 (decimal), 0x400 to 0x4FF (hex) with some missing characters.
l
Hiragana . The V-Series panel display supports five characters. This covers the codepoint range 12352 to 12447 (decimal), 0x3040 to 0x309F (hex).
l
Full-width Katakana . The V-Series panel display supports five characters as this is a normal wide font. This covers the codepoint range 12448 to 12543 (decimal), 0x30A0 to
0x30FF (hex) with some missing characters.
l
Kanji . There are about 17,000 out of the 21,000 characters. The V-Series panel display supports five characters. This covers the codepoint range 19968 to 40895 (decimal),
0x4E00 to 0x9FBF (hex).
l
Hangul . The V-Series panel display supports five characters, codepoint range is 44032 to 55215 (decimal), 0xAC00 to 0xD7AF (hex).
Page 355
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
Half-width katakana . The V-Series panel supports ten characters. The codepoint range is 65376 to 65440 (decimal), 0xFF60 to 0xFFA0 (hex).
l
Arabic . The V-Series panel supports the Basic Arabic character set 0x0600 to 0x06FF.
l
Hebrew .
19.17.1
Basic Latin
Basic Latin labels can be displayed on all the panels with a display capability. The maximum number of characters displayed depends on the type of panel.
19.17.2
Cyrillic
Cyrillic labels require Russian language support to be installed in Windows and either an ASCII keyboard with Russian character support or a Cyrillic keyboard. Cyrillic is only supported on V-
Series panels.
19.17.3
Hangul
Hangul labels require Korean language support to be installed in Windows and either an ACSCII keyboard with Korean language support or a Korean language keyboard. Hangul is only supported on V-Series panels.
19.17.4
Hiragana, Katakana and Kanji
Hiragana, Katakana and Kanji labels require Japanese language support to be installed in
Windows and either an ASCII keyboard with Japanese character support or a Japanese language keyboard.
Hiragana, Katakana, half-width Katakana and Kanji labels can be displayed on V-Series panel only while some other panel types can support half-width Katakana. If an attempt is made to place a Hiragana, Katakana or Kanji label onto a panel with a display that is not compatible the label either fails to display correctly (may display question marks) or does not display at all.
19.17.5
Arabic
The V-Series panel supports the Basic Arabic character set 0x0600 to 0x06FF.The following are not supported: l
Arabic Extended-A l
Arabic Presentation Forms A l
Arabic Presentation Forms B l
Rumi Numeral Symbols l
Arabic Mathematical Alphabetic Symbols
Page 356
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
The Arabic characters are drawn right to left unless it is an Arabic number 0 to 9 (0x0660 to
0x669) which is written left to right.
The Unicode Characters in the General Punctuation Block characters 0x2000 to 0x206F are stripped out of the text string.
19.17.6
Half-Width Hiragana, Katakana and Kanji Compatible panels
The following panels can display half-width Katakana labels: l
V12LD l
V24LD l
V12LDD l
V12PD l
V24PD l
V12PDD l
V12RD l
V24RD l
V12RDD l
V12LDE l
V12PDE l
V12RDE
Katakana and Kanji labels may be entered in the same way as normal labels provided the prerequisite software and hardware is present.
19.18
Dynam-EC Preferences
From Configuration > Preferences > Dynam-EC you can select the type of audio level metering to be used by the system.
The metering scale and ballistics options specify how the audio levels are scaled and displayed.
Page 357
Page 358
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
The Nordic N9 option displays the audio level as a peak program meter (PPM) and gives an accurate level reading. The scale is of the type used in Scandinavia.
The VU option displays the audio level as a Volume Unit (VU) meter and uses Root Mean
Square voltage to display the audio level. This is a commonly used type of audio metering but does not always give the most accurate reading.
The VU meter scale has zero point at +4dBu with a decibel scale ranging non-linearly from 20dB below this point to 3dB above.
20
20.1
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Configuring Audio and Conference Routing
Partylines
An EHX partyline is a virtual partyline. When assigned to panel keys, it enables anyone in the system who activates a talk or listen (or both) to that partyline label to talk/listen to anyone else who has joined the partyline at the same time.
A partyline is typically used when several users, such as beltpacks or camera intercoms, are engaged in a specific common activity and they need to talk and/or listen to each other all the time.
EHX permits the assignment of panels to a partyline.
However, this is normally completed in the Panel Programming screen by assigning the partyline label onto the panel.
Note: Because partylines and Fixed Groups are now viewed as a global item across all systems (they work inter-system), Partyline and Fixed Group alias names are no longer displayed in remote systems. All Partylines and Fixed Groups should be given a unique name and global number.
Page 359
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
20.2
Adding and Deleting Partylines
To create a partyline and assign permanent members to that party:
Page 360
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
1.
Select Configuration > Partylines . This opens the Partylines configuration screen.
Page 361
2.
Click New at the bottom left of the Partylines window.
3.
Change the Label, Description and Alt fields as required.
4.
To add or remove members, select the required member in the Available or Attached pane.
5.
To add members, click > in the section between the lower windows to transfer the members to the Attached window.
Note : Double-clicking on the required item transfers it to the Attached window. Also, right-clicking on a member of the Available group displays a menu allowing it to be attached.
The # button on the Available and Attached panes sorts the members by port number in ascending or descending order.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
The Label button sorts the members by name alphabetically and the Description button sorts the members alphabetically by description. The tabs above the
Available and Attached panes filter the members by type.
Note : If your configuration contains linked matrices, and you add or remove partyline members, you might see the following message when you apply changes to the matrix:
Page 362
Click View Configuration Differences to see a list of changes that affect the intercommunication between Matrices. You are advised to Apply Changes to all
Matrices.
Click OK to continue or Cancel .
6.
Right-click on a member in the Attached pane to open a configuration menu and select whether the attached member is Talk, Listen or Talk and Listen.
7.
Apply to all matrices.
The partyline label can now be programmed onto a panel key.
The Label button sorts the members by name alphabetically and the Description button sorts the members alphabetically by description.
The tabs above the Available and Attached panes filter the members by type.
When a partyline is created, the configuration must be applied to all linked matrices. It is not sufficient to only apply to the matrix that hosts the partyline, the new configuration must be applied to all matrices that wish to talk or listen to that partyline.
20.3
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
The recommended use of this feature is that all partylines are configured and then applied to all matrices. The Dynam-EC software can then be used to manipulate these partylines in an online fashion (for example, use Dynam-EC to assign members from the entire linked set to the partyline).
To delete a partyline:
1.
Select Configuration > Partylines . This opens the Partylines configuration screen.
2.
Select the partyline to delete and click Delete .
Partyline Attached Controls
Controls can be attached to partylines that allow a Route, Relay or Speed Dial to be activated via a secondary action.
1.
Select Configuration > Partylines.
2.
Create a partyline or select a partyline that was been previously created.
3.
Expand Attached Control in the Properties window.
4.
Select Secondary Action in the Attached Control list.
5.
Select the drop-down arrow and select the required control.
Page 363
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
20.4
Partyline Basic Options
To enable/disable Basic Options
1.
Select Configuration > Controls.
2.
Create a partyline or select a partyline that was been previously created
3.
From the Properties window, expand Basic Options.
4.
To edit an item in the Basic Options list, select the item in the left-hand column and edit the text in the right-hand column. You can edit the following: l
Description – An optional description of the port.
l
Engineer Comments – An optional comment.
l
Listen Alt Text – Alternative text that is shown when the ALT TEXT special key is activated.
l
Listen Label – A label used for identification that can be up to 10 characters long including spaces. For split labels, the maximum length is five characters.
Page 364
20.5
20.6
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
Talk Alt Text - Alternative text that is shown when the ALT TEXT special key is activated.
l
Talk Label - A label used for identification that can be up to 10 characters long including spaces. For split labels, the maximum length is five characters.
Partyline Global Options
To enable/disable Global Options
1.
Select Configuration > Controls.
2.
Create a partyline or select a partyline that was been previously created.
3.
From the Properties window, expand Global Options .
4.
To edit an item in the Global Options list, select the item in the left-hand column and edit the text in the right-hand column. You can edit the following: l
Auto Listen Any port that talks to a destination port automatically hears the audio from the destination port.
l
Dial Code Defines the dial code used in fast key assign operations.
l
Global Partyline Number - This is the unique number given to this partyline in the linked set.
Partylines are globally numbered, giving them a unique, global identity throughout the Eclipse HX system. If a partyline is assigned the number 001, then no subsequently created partyline will be given this number regardless of which matrix the partyline is created on.
l
Partylines are numbered based on local creation order.
l
Latch Disable The setting determines if the partyline panel key is latching or nonlatching.
l
Prevent Reply Signalization Prevents key signalization for the port appearing on the reply key of any panels.
Partyline Fast Key Assign Options
To enable/disable Local Key Assignment Mode Options
1.
Select Configuration > Controls.
2.
Create a partyline or select a partyline that was been previously created.
3.
From the Properties windows, expand Fast Key Assign Options .
Page 365
20.7
20.8
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
4.
To edit an item, select the item in the left-hand column and edit the text in the right-hand column. You can edit the following: l
Default Assign as Talk and Forced Listen . When true the default for a key assigned to this label is Talk and Forced Listen.
l
Enable Assignment as Listen . This must be enabled to allow a V-Series panel operator to assign a listen key to this label. If it is not enabled a V-Series panel operator cannot assign a listen key to the label.
l
Enable Assignment as Talk . This must be enabled to allow a V-Series panel operator to assign a talk key to this label. If it is not enabled a V-Series panel operator cannot assign a talk key to the label.
l
Protect Port from Assignment . When this option is enabled the port cannot be locally assigned as a talk/listen key by another panel.
Partyline Tallies
To enable/disable Tallies
1.
Select Configuration > Controls.
2.
Create a partyline or select a partyline that was been previously created.
3.
From the Properties window, expand Tally Options .
4.
Select In Use Tally in Tally Options.
5.
Select the drop-down arrow and select the required status.
This allows the system to set a tally (flashing LED) on all the panel keys that are assigned to the partyline whenever a talk is active on the partyline.
In the case of multiple matrices in a linked set the In Use tally is broadcast to all other systems in the linked set. In this way the feature is seamless over the matrices in a linked set.
The default is enabled.
Fixed Groups
A fixed group is a list of ports including panels, interfaces and IFBs that are represented by a single, fixed group label. The fixed group label can be assigned to selector keys on one or more panels, which when activated, simultaneously access all members of that fixed group.
Page 366
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Notes
:
For information about Call Management Groups, see
Because partylines and Fixed Groups are now viewed as a global item across all systems (they work inter-system), partyline and Fixed Group alias names are no longer displayed in remote systems.
All partylines and Fixed Groups should be given a unique name and global number.
20.8.1
Adding and Deleting Fixed Groups
To create a Fixed Group and assign members to that group, do the following:
Page 367
1.
Open Configuration > Fixed Groups .
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 368
2.
Select the New button at the bottom left of the Groups window (top left window of the screen).
3.
Change the Label and Description fields as required.
4.
To add members, select the required members from the Available window (bottom left of the screen) and click on the > in the section between the lower windows to transfer the members to the Attached window in the bottom right of the screen.
Alternatively double-clicking on the required item transfers it to the Attached window. Also right-clicking on a member of the Available group displays a menu allowing it to be attached.
The # button on the Available and Attached panes sorts the members by port number in ascending or descending order, preceded by non-port items such as controls.
The Label button sorts the members by name alphabetically and the Description button sorts the members alphabetically by description. The tabs above the Available and
Attached panes filter the members by type.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
5.
To remove members from the group select the members to be removed in the Attached window and click on the < symbol in the central section to return them to the Available window.
Alternatively double-clicking on the required member moves it back to the Available group. Also right-clicking on a member of the Attached group displays a menu allowing it to be detached.
Note: If you add or remove remote members in a fixed group, you might see the following message when you apply changes to the matrix:
20.8.2
Click View Configuration Differences to see a list of changes that affect the intercommunication between Matrices. You are advised to Apply Changes to all Matrices.
Click OK to continue or Cancel .
Fixed Groups can be made up of local and remote members.
Note: If you select a fixed group and select Find Usages in the Properties Pane, a list of panels or routes that are assigned to this fixed group appears.
To delete a group:
1.
Select Configuration > Fixed Groups . This opens the Fixed Groups configuration screen.
2.
Select the group to delete and click Delete .
Fixed Group Attached Controls
Attachments can be attached to Fixed Groups that allow a Route, Relay or Speed Dial to be activated via a secondary action.
Page 369
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
1.
Open Configuration > Fixed Groups.
2.
Create a Fixed Group or select a Fixed Group that was been previously created.
3.
From the Properties window, expand Attached Control .
4.
Select Secondary Action in the Attached Control list.
5.
Select the drop-down arrow and select the required control.
20.8.3
Fixed Group Basic Options
Basic Options displays the fixed information about a group and can be used to edit the group description, Talk and Listen, ALT Text and Talk and Listen labels.
To enable/disable Basic Options
Page 370
20.8.4
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
1.
Open Configuration > Fixed Groups.
2.
Create a Fixed Group or select a Fixed Group that was been previously created.
3.
From the Properties window, expand Basic Options .
4.
To edit an item in the Basic Options list select the item in the left-hand column and edit the text in the right-hand column. You can edit the following: l
Description – An optional description of the port.
l
Engineer Comments – An optional comment.
l
Listen Alt Text – Alternative text that is shown when the ALT TEXT special key is activated.
l
Listen Label – A label used for identification that can be up to 10 characters long including spaces. For split labels, the maximum length is five characters.
l
Talk Alt Text - Alternative text that is shown when the ALT TEXT special key is activated.
l
Talk Label - A label used for identification that can be up to 10 characters long including spaces. For split labels, the maximum length is five characters.
Call Management Group Options
Call Management Group options allow you to add extra functionality to a fixed group configuration. These features can be used when you need to treat a group as a pool of responders; where any group member can take a call. There are two modes of operation: l
Group to Group l
Group call pick up
Any member from a defined group can call another group, alerting all members of that group.
Any member of the group being called can pick up the incoming call and this creates a point-topoint audio connection.
Use this feature when members of separate groups or teams need to talk to each other, for example members of master transmission control room (a broadcasting scenario) need to contact members of a studio.
Page 371
Page 372
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 373
There are a number of set-up options available: l
A speaker port can be configured to broadcast incoming calls to a group.
l
An external line can be a participant caller.
l
An individual can be configured to call a group.
l
Once a point-to-point connection has been made, the connection can be set to persist for a specified time (0-60 secs) after the call has been released by users. This means that the call can be re-activated without having to be re-broadcast to the whole group.
When no speaker port is specified, and multiple members are calling multiple members, both groups MUST be local to the same matrix. Setting a speaker port in
Matrix>Configuration>Fixed Groups>Properties enables an external line.
Page 374
Configuring a call management group
To configure a call management group:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
1.
Open Configuration > Fixed Groups.
2.
Create a fixed group that contains all the panels to be included in the call management group.
3.
From the Properties window, expand Call Management Group Options .
4.
Ensure the Call Management Group option is enabled. Click the dropdown arrow to the right of this option to set it to True .
Page 375
This enables Call Management Group functionality .
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
5.
Set the Call Management Group Timeout as required (0-60 secs).
Configuring a loudspeaker port for a call management group:
Follow steps 1 – 4 above.
1.
Click the dropdown arrow to the right of Group Management Group Port to see available ports. Select port.
20.8.5
This enables Speaker Port to Group Call . To disable this option, ensure that this option field is blank (click the blank placeholder at the top of the list).
Note: You will need to enable this option if you wish to use an external line with the call management functionality.
Fixed Group Global Options
To enable/disable Global Settings
1.
Open Configuration > Fixed Groups.
2.
Create a Fixed Group or select a Fixed Group that was been previously created.
3.
Expand Global Options in the Properties window.
Page 376
20.8.6
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
4.
To edit an item in the Global Options, list select the item in the left-hand column and edit the text in the right-hand column. You can edit the following: l
Dial Code – This is used during fast key assign operations on the panel.
l
Global Group Number – A global identifier for the group. Fixed groups are globally numbered, giving them a unique, global identity throughout the Eclipse HX system. If a
Fixed Group is assigned the number 001, then no subsequently created group will be given this number regardless of which Matrix the Fixed Group is created on. Fixed
Groups are numbered based on local creation order.
l
Latch Disable – Disables key latching on the panel so that keys remain active only when they are held down or pressed.
l
Page Override – Enables you to override the headset or speaker levels when calling a group. This only works if group members have Page Override Allowed enabled.
5.
Select the drop-down arrow and select the required status.
Fixed Group Fast Assign Options
The Fast Key Assign Options list display items which relate to local key assignment and fast assign mode available on certain panel types. Fast key assign options can only be applied to a
Fixed group that is already attached to a Sort Group.
To enable/disable Fast Key Assign Options
1.
Open Configuration > Fixed Groups.
2.
Create a Fixed Group or select a Fixed Group that was been previously created.
3.
Make sure the Fixed Group is attached to a Sort Group then;
4.
From the Properties window, expand Fast Key Assign Options .
5.
Select the required options: l
Default Assign as Talk and Forced Listen . When true the default for a key assigned to this label is Talk and Forced Listen.
l
Enable Assignment as Listen . This must be enabled to allow a V-Series panel operator to assign a listen key to this label. If it is not enabled a V-Series panel operator cannot assign a listen key to the label.
l
Enable Assignment as Talk . This must be enabled to allow a V-Series panel operator to assign a talk key to this label. If it is not enabled a V-Series panel operator cannot assign a talk key to the label.
Page 377
20.8.7
20.8.8
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
Protect Port from Assignment . When this option is enabled the port cannot be locally assigned as a talk/listen key by another panel.
6.
Select the drop-down arrow and set the required status (True or False).
The status box is checked or unchecked to indicate True or False.
Fixed Group Tallies
To enable/disable Tallies
1.
Open Configuration > Fixed Groups.
2.
Create a Fixed Group or select a Fixed Group that was been previously create.
3.
From the Properties window, expand Tally Options .
4.
From the Tally Options , select In Use Tally .
5.
Select the drop-down arrow and select the required status.
This allows the system to set a tally (flashing LED) on all the panel keys that are assigned to the
Fixed Group whenever a talk is active on the Fixed Group. In the case of multiple matrices in a linked set the ‘In Use’ tally is broadcast to all other systems in the linked set. In this way the feature is seamless over the matrices in a linked set.
The default is disabled.
Sort Function on Fixed Groups Members
EHX provides a sort capability that allows the EHX user a quick and easy way of grouping common items such as FOR-22s together. The sort function has been implemented in both the
Attached window and Available window.
Page 378
20.9
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
1.
To operate the sort function, open Configuration > Fixed Groups.
2.
Use the All tab on the Attached window to display all the members of the groups, or the
Interfaces tab to display only the interfaces in the group or the Panels tab to list the panels in the group.
The # tab sorts the group members by ascending or descending port number.
Controls
From the Controls screen you can create and delete controls and configure them. You can then attach, for example, relays, routes and speed dials.
Relay options, routes and speed dials can only be accessed by being first placed inside a control.
A control can then be placed on a panel key for activation.
Page 379
20.9.1
Adding and Deleting Controls
1.
Select Configuration > Controls.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 380
2.
Select the New button at the bottom left of the Controls window (top left window of the screen).
3.
Change the Label and Description fields as required.
4.
To add members, select the required members from the Available window (bottom left of the screen) and click on the > in the section between the lower windows to transfer the members to the Attached window in the bottom right of the screen.
Alternatively double-clicking on the required item transfers it to the Attached window.
Also, right-clicking on a member of the Available group displays a menu allowing it to be attached.
The # button on the Available and Attached panes sorts the members by port number in ascending or descending order, preceded by non-port items such as controls.
20.9.2
20.9.3
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
The Label button sorts the members by name alphabetically and the Description button sorts the members alphabetically by description. The tabs above the Available and
Attached panes filter the members by type.
5.
To remove members from the group select the members to be removed in the Attached window and click on the < symbol in the central section to return them to the Available window.
To delete a Control:
1.
Select Configuration > Controls . This opens the Controls configuration screen.
2.
Select the Control to delete and click Delete .
Controls Basic Options
To enable/disable Basic Options:
1.
Select Configuration > Controls.
2.
Create a Control or select a Control that was been previously created.
3.
From the Properties window, expand Basic Options .
4.
To edit an item in the Basic Options list, select the item in the left-hand column and edit the text in the right-hand column. You can edit the following: l
Description – An optional description of the port.
l
Engineer Comments – An optional comment.
l
Listen Alt Text – Alternative text that is shown when the ALT TEXT special key is activated.
l
Listen Label – A label used for identification that can be up to 10 characters long including spaces. For split labels, the maximum length is five characters.
l
Talk Alt Text - Alternative text that is shown when the ALT TEXT special key is activated.
l
Talk Label - A label used for identification that can be up to 10 characters long including spaces. For split labels, the maximum length is five characters.
Global Options
To enable/disable Global Options
1.
Select Configuration > Controls.
2.
Create a Control or select a Control that was been previously created.
Page 381
20.9.4
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
3.
From the Properties window, expand Global Options .
4.
To edit an item in the Global Options list, select the item in the left-hand column and edit the text in the right-hand column. You can edit the following: l
Latch Disable - Disables key latching on the panel so that keys remain active only when they are held down or pressed.
l
Listen Control Identifier 2 – An identifier for the Control when used as a listen destination.
l
Talk Control Identifier 1 - An identifier for the Control when used as a talk destination.
l
Talk-Listen Control Identifier 0 - An identifier for the Control when used as a talk and listen destination.
Fast Key Assign Options
The Fast Key Assign Options list display items which relate to local key assignment and fast assign mode available on certain panel types.
To enable/disable Fast Key Assign Options
1.
Open Configuration > Controls.
2.
Create a Control or select one that was been previously created.
3.
From the Properties window, expand Fast Key Assign Options .
4.
Select the required options: l
Default Assign as Talk and Forced Listen . When true the default for a key assigned to this label is Talk and Forced Listen.
l
Enable Assignment as Listen . This must be enabled to allow a V-Series panel operator to assign a listen key to this label. If it is not enabled a V-Series panel operator cannot assign a listen key to the label.
l
Enable Assignment as Talk . This must be enabled to allow a V-Series panel operator to assign a talk key to this label. If it is not enabled a V-Series panel operator cannot assign a talk key to the label.
l
Protect Port from Assignment . When this option is enabled the port cannot be locally assigned as a talk/listen key by another panel.
5.
Select the drop-down arrow and set the required status (True or False).
6.
The status box is checked or unchecked to indicate True or False.
Page 382
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
20.9.5
Panel Auxiliary and Panel Mute
The Available and Attached windows have tabs for the various types of functions, allowing them to be filtered for ease of selection. Two of the tabs are Panel AUX relays and Panel mute relays .
These functions correspond to these relay outputs in the I-Station documentation. In the case of
V-Series panels the output relays are labelled as 1 and 2. The correspondence between the labels in EHX and the panel hardware is: l
Panel mute relay - relay output 1 l
Panel AUX relay - relay output 2
20.10
Sort Groups
Sort Groups are only available if a V-Series Panel is configured. Sort Groups are groups of other items such as controls, fixed groups, IFBs, interfaces, panels and partylines that can be treated as a single item and accessed in Key Assign mode to assign a member of the sort group to a key.
Selecting Sort Groups in the EHX Setup menu displays the sort group editor.
20.10.1
Adding and Deleting Sort Groups
1.
Select Configuration > Sort Groups.
Page 383
Page 384
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 385
2.
Select the New button at the bottom left of the Sort Group window (top left window of the screen).
3.
Change the Label and Description fields as required.
4.
To add members, select the required members from the Available window (bottom left of the screen) and click on the > in the section between the lower windows to transfer the members to the Attached window in the bottom right of the screen.
Alternatively double-clicking on the required item transfers it to the Attached window. Also right-clicking on a member of the Available group displays a menu allowing it to be attached.
The # button on the Available and Attached panes sorts the members by port number in ascending or descending order, preceded by non-port items such as controls.
The Label button sorts the members by name alphabetically and the Description button sorts the members alphabetically by description. The tabs above the Available and
Attached panes filter the members by type.
5.
To remove members from the group select the members to be removed in the Attached window and click on the < symbol in the central section to return them to the Available window.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
To delete a Sort Group:
1.
Select Configuration > Sort Groups . This opens the Sort Groups configuration screen.
2.
Select the Sort Group to delete and click Delete .
3.
To set the properties of the sort group open the Basic Settings menu in the Properties window (top right).
20.10.2
Basic Options
To enable/disable Basic Options
1.
Open Configuration > Sort Groups.
2.
Create a Sort Group or select a Sort Group that was been previously created.
3.
From the Properties window, expand Basic Options .
4.
To edit an item in the Basic Options, list select the item in the left-hand column and edit the text in the right-hand column. You can edit the following: l
Description – An optional description of the port.
l
Engineer Comments – An optional comment.
l
Listen Alt Text – Alternative text that is shown when the ALT TEXT special key is activated.
l
Listen Label – A label used for identification that can be up to 10 characters long including spaces. For split labels, the maximum length is five characters.
l
Talk Alt Text - Alternative text that is shown when the ALT TEXT special key is activated.
l
Talk Label - A label used for identification that can be up to 10 characters long including spaces. For split labels, the maximum length is five characters.
20.10.3
Scrolling Assignment
You can assign sort groups to panel keys from the panel programming screen. See
To assign sort groups:
Page 386
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
1.
From Palette > Special Entities , drag the ASSIGN label to one of the panel keys.
2.
Click on the required sort group in the palette, and then drag it to the required panel key and drop it over the display corresponding to the key. Click on the mouse to confirm the assignment.
Note : If there is no ASSIGN key, the following message appears:
When the sort group is assigned to the key, by default the first sort group entity is present on the key. You can select a different entity using the V-Series Panel rotary controller or up/down buttons.
20.11
Routes
A route is an audio path between two points in the matrix that can be activated by another intercom panel’s selector key. From the Routes screen you can:
Page 387
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
Define the route origin and route target for each route l
Determine whether each route is activated with a talk key, a listen key, or both l
Enable a reverse listen (a reversal of the route’s direction when it is activated by a Talk).
A route is defined by selecting a route origin, a route target, and providing a description. The origin can be any port in the local system.
An origin cannot be a non-port label, including a partyline or fixed group.
The target can be any audio label in the system including an IFB, partyline or a Group or remote ports, except a control label. When a route is activated, it sets a talk from the origin to the target.
To use a route, you must first create a control and add the route to the control. Then the control can be assigned to the panel or secondary action etc. to activate the control.
If the Action is set to Talk the route acts as a unidirectional audio path whenever a talk or listen to the route is activated. If the route action is set to Talk and Reverse Listen the route acts as a bidirectional audio path.
20.11.1
Adding and Deleting a Route
1.
Open Configuration > Routes .
Page 388
Page 389
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 390
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
2.
Select the New button at the bottom left of the Routes window (top left window of the screen), and then select either Activate with Listen or Activate with Talk or both.
3.
Change the Label and Description fields as required.
4.
Drag a source from the palette onto the Route Origin field.
5.
Drag a target from the palette onto the Route Target field.
6.
Assign a route action from the drop-down list: l
Talk -the route acts as a talk only route from the source to the destination. Signalization appears on the destination.
l
Talk and Reverse Listen – audio is routed from the source to the destination and signalization appears on the destination. Audio is also routed from the destination to the source.
l
Reverse Listen – the source can listen to audio form the destination. No signalization appears on the source.
l
Inhibit Talk – all audio from the source to the destination is blocked.
If an IFB is configured as the route target, the following are available: l
Calls (IFB) – audio from the route origin is sent to the route target as an IFB caller.
l
Inhibited from calling (IFB) – audio from the route origin is prevented from calling the route target IFB.
l
Routed as destination of (IFB) – the route origin becomes a target of the IFB, and hears audio from the route target IFB.
l
Routed as source to (IFB) – audio from the route origin is sent to the route target IFB as an IFB source.
l
Routed as return to (IFB) – audio from the route origin is sent to the route target IFB as an IFB return l
Listen to IFB Return – audio from the route target IFB returns is sent to the route origin.
l
Monitor audio at IFB destinations – the route target hears the same audio heard at the route target IFB destination.
After the route has been set up using this screen, it is possible to assign it to a label from the
Controls screen. Within the Panel Programming screen and the Stacked Keys area, with the
Control Label programmed onto a panel then double clicking this Label, the attachments to the
Label are displayed.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Activate with talk
When this box is checked, the route activates whenever the control which contain the route is activated by a talk key.
Activate with listen
When this box is checked, the route activates whenever the control which contain the route is activated by a listen key.
Note: Activating the route by a listen has exactly the same effect as activating it by a talk unless the Reverse Listen option is selected making a bi-directional audio path between the source and destination.
Deleting a route
To delete a route:
1.
Open Configuration > Routes .
2.
Select the route to be deleted.
3.
Click Delete .
20.12
Speed Dials Using SIP and TEL-14
Note: For more information about making and receiving telephone calls using SIP, see
20.12.1
Speed Dial (DTMF Sequences)
The MVX-A16 matrix card can generate DTMF Tones using the DTMF Daughter board fitted into the slots on the MVX-A16 card. DTMF Tones are the beeps made by a Touch Tone
Telephone.
The Speed Dial screen defines the name, activation type DTMF Sequence and the source of the sequence which is currently a telephony interface (including SIP clients). There is a 23-digit limit on a DTMF Sequence.
The currently allowable dial sequences are as follows: The numbers through 0 – 9 the pound (#) and asterisk (*) characters. A DTMF Sequence is defined as a sequence of these numbers.
Page 391
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
A Speed Dial must be attached to a control label, and then the control label is programmed onto the panel next to the label of the telephone. To Activate the Speed Dial activate the label to the telephony interface, and then activate the Control/Speed Dial label by latching the selector of the label.
20.12.2
Speed Dial Setup
To setup a speed dial:
1.
Select Configuration > Speed Dials .
Page 392
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
2.
To add a new speed dial, click New at the bottom left of the speed dial window. A new speed dial entry is created with the default description highlighted.
3.
Complete the Description, Activate with Listen, Activate with Talk, DTMF Auto Dial number and the Speed Dial Source fields (the port that the DTMF tones are sent from).
Note : A comma (,) may be placed in the DTMF sequence to add a pause of 500ms between digits or before the DTMF sequence if required.
4.
Create a control using the Controls link on the Configuration menu. Then attach the speed dial to the control by selecting the control so that it is highlighted. Then select the required speed dial from the Available members pane and click on the right arrow to transfer it to the
Attached members pane. The speed dial is now attached to the control.
5.
To detach a speed dial from a control simply select the control and then select the speed dial to be detached in the Attached members pane. Click the left arrow to move it back to the Available pane.
6.
Program the label of the telephony Interface and the Control to activate the Speed Dial from the panel Programming screen.
7.
Apply to the Matrix by an Apply Label Changes download.
8.
To activate the Speed Dial, select the Label of the telephony Interface, then select the label of the Speed Dial’s control.
20.12.3
Delete a Speed Dial
To delete a Speed Dial:
Page 393
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
1.
Select the Speed Dials link from the Configuration menu. This opens the Speed Dials configuration screen. Locate the Speed Dial you want to delete.
2.
Click the gray button next to the description field to highlight the row.
3.
Press Delete .
20.13
Key Groups
Key Groups provide a way of assigning a label to keys on multiple panels in a system or within a linked set. Once the key group members have been set up using EHX, the target of the key group can be changed with a single assignment in Dynam-EC.
Up to 100 key groups can be set up on a system. Dynam-EC uses the following Key Groups: l
4-Wire Port l
Panel Port l
Partyline l
IFB
20.13.1
Adding and Deleting Key Groups
To create a Key Group and assign members to that group:
1.
Select Configuration > Key Groups .
Page 394
Page 395
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
2.
Click New to create a new key group and select the group to configure it using the
Properties pane.
3.
Change the Label and Description fields as required.
4.
Open the Basic Settings menu to set up the key group properties.
To delete a Key Group:
1.
Select Configuration > Key Groups . This opens the Key Groups configuration screen.
2.
Select the Key Group to delete and click Delete .
20.13.2
Basic Options
To enable/disable basic options:
1.
Select Configuration > Key Groups .
2.
Create a Key Group or select a Key Group that was been previously created.
3.
From the Properties window, expand Basic Options .
4.
To edit an item in the Basic Options list, select the item in the left-hand column and edit the text in the right-hand column. You can edit the following:
Page 396
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
Activation - determines how the assigned keys of the key group behave when the key group is activated. You can select: l
Talk and Listen sets all the key group keys to talk with listen when the key group is active.
l
Talk sets all the key group keys to talk when the key group is active.
l
Listen sets all the key group keys to listen when the key group is active.
l
Talk and Forced Listen sets all the key group keys to talk key with permanently made listen when the key group is active.
l
Dual Talk and Listen sets all the key group keys to Dual talk and listen when the key group is active.
l
Forced Listen sets all the key group keys to Forced Listen.
l
Description – An optional description of the port.
l
Engineer Comments – An optional comment.
l
Listen Label – A label used for identification that can be up to 10 characters long including spaces. For split labels, the maximum length is five characters.
l
Talk Label - A label used for identification that can be up to 10 characters long including spaces. For split labels, the maximum length is five characters.
20.13.3
Key Group Members
The key group editor displays a list of all the panels currently assigned with the key group in the lower Attached pane.
Page 397
Page 398
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
1.
Drag the required key group from the palette and drop it on the required key.
2.
Panel keys are assigned to a key group from the Panel Programming tab. Select the required panel and key then right-click to display the properties menu.
3.
Select Key Groups to display a list of all the available key groups and select the destination key group. Left-click on the required key group to add the key to the key group.
The assignment is indicated by the addition of a white box round the key and a checkbox against the key group.
4.
To remove a key from a key group, select the key in panel programming and right-click on it and select Delete Key Group .
Note : If you add or remove key group members, you might see the following message when you apply changes to the matrix:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
5. Click View Configuration Differences to see a list of changes that affect the intercommunication between Matrices. You are advised to Apply Changes to all Matrices.
6. Click OK to continue or Cancel.
Panel keys may already be assigned to destinations before being added to a key group. In this case the key functions remain active until the key group is assigned to a partyline or four-wire port by Dynam-EC, at which point the key functions are overridden by the key group destination.
If the key group is de-assigned by Dynam-EC the keys revert to their previous states.
Note: An Apply Changes with reset (to initialize new hardware or add trunks) does not delete the destination assignment of a key group, while an Apply changes with reset and clear all memory (overwrite matrix with EHX configuration) will delete the destination assignment of a key group.
A key group can only be introduced to the Eclipse HX working configuration by applying a configuration (key groups cannot currently be applied to a system in Go Live mode).
The EHX software only includes a configured key group in the map for a particular system if the keygroup is in use on that system. This means that in a linked set configuration, you must apply the configuration to any system that utilizes a newly created keygroup.
20.14
Logic
The Logic link on the Configuration menu opens the Logic window. Logic allows the user to create complex controls using an interactive graphic editor.
Page 399
Page 400
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Logic operations are described in the Logic Programming manual .
21
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Virtual Interruptible Foldbacks (IFBs)
Eclipse HX offers a new, much-enhanced architecture for interruptible foldbacks (IFBs). IFBs are now created and configured as virtual software entities
This section explains how to: l
Display IFBs l
Interpret the IFB information available within Dynam-EC l
Dynamically control and configure IFBs
These virtual entities have a number of advantages over more traditionally configured interfaces.
They: l
Are easier to configure without the need for complicated cabling l
Support multiple sources, destinations and returns.
l
Support multiple callers. The callers to the IFB destination, typically the talent such as a news anchor, are given a priority level from 1 – 5 (level 5 has highest priority).
l
Allow members of a key group to trigger the IFBs.
l
Allow monitoring of program feeds anywhere in the system without the need for patch panels. This enables troubleshooting of audio feeds.
Note: A program feed is typically a mix of audio. Listeners at different locations hear different program feeds as required.
You create IFBs in the EHX Configuration Software.
Note: An IFB allows a caller to cut or dim the audio from a configured source to a configured destination. This is typically used in broadcasts where an anchor (destination) listening to a program feed (source) can be interrupted by a director (caller). The anchor will receive audio from the director while the program feed is either dimmed or muted. If the caller priority is set to 1, the audio is mixed with the program feed.
An IFB contains the following components: l
Source – the audio that is heard by the IFB destinations while the IFB is not activated
(not being called).
l
Destination – where the audio is routed.
l
Dim level – the extent to which the source audio is reduced.
Page 401
Page 402
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
Caller – an audio source that triggers the IFB. The IFB destination now hears the Caller audio, and the Source audio in dimmed or muted according to the Dim level setting.
Callers are prioritized from 1 (lowest) to 5 (highest) to determine who has precedence in the feed. The default priority is 3.
l
Return and Destination Listen: l
A return listen enables the caller to hear the anchor/talent (Pre-hear).
l
A destination listen can be used to monitor program feeds and/or any active callers. The destination listen allows a caller, for example a sound engineer, to monitor the audio sent to the anchor.
Typical IFB use in a broadcasting scenario is illustrated in the following diagrams.
Page 403
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Audio mix
The program feed usually consists of a mix minus combination of audio. This means different listeners in the broadcast location are fed different audio mixes as required. The diagram below shows a broadcasting application with audio mixing, where: l
Mix minus 1 is Anchor 1 + Anchor 2 minus Remote l
Mix minus 2 is Anchor 2 + Remote minus Anchor 1 l
Mix minus 3 is Anchor 1 + Remote minus Anchor 2
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
21.1
ISO and IFB Preferences
From Configuration > Preferences > ISO and IFB you can define how ISO and IFB operations are implemented on the Eclipse HX system.
Page 404
21.1.1
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
No ISO Checkboxes Selected (Default)
If neither of the ISO checkboxes is selected, then the default ISO behavior is that when a path between the source panel and an ISO destination becomes active, then any other listen paths at the ISO source and ISO destination (CAM-3) also remain active. This enables the ISO destination to hear both the caller (Source) and the other listens during the ISO conversation.
This default behavior is shown in the example in Figure 18-5, where the Source panel is calling
CAM-3.
21.1.2
l
The ISO destination (CAM-3) can only talk and listen to the ISO source (calling panel).
l
The ISO destination (CAM-3) continues to hear the other listens, but talk paths are turned off for the duration of the ISO conversation.
l
The ISO source continues to hear the other listens, but talk paths are turned off for the duration of the ISO conversation.
ISO Interrupts all Other Incoming Audio at the ISO
Page 405
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
21.1.3
l
The ISO source (calling panel) can only talk and listen to the ISO destination (CAM-3).
l
The ISO source continues to hear the other listens, but talk paths are turned off for the duration of the ISO conversation.
l
The ISO destination (CAM-3) can only talk and listen to the ISO Source. All other talk and listen paths are turned off.
ISO Interrupts all Other Incoming Audio at the Caller
Page 406 l
The ISO source (calling panel) can only talk and listen to the ISO destination (CAM-3).
All other talk and listen paths are turned off.
21.1.4
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
The ISO destination (CAM-3) continues to hear the other listens, but talk paths are turned off for the duration of the ISO conversation.
IFB Interrupts other Talks from Calling Panel (Only for IFBs that Are Owned by this Matrix)
21.1.5
If this checkbox is not selected (default), the default IFB behavior is that when an IFB path is active between a panel (the IFB caller) and a destination port, then none of the other talk paths are deactivated from that panel.
If the IFB Interrupts other talks from calling panel checkbox is selected however, all the other talk paths from the panel are interrupted (turned off) for the duration of the IFB talk.
This enables you to make a private call to a remote dialed-in IFB destination.
Assign Multiple Sources to IFB from AP panel
21.2
If you select this checkbox, an AP panel can assign multiple sources to an IFB destination. The
IFB hears all the incoming audio from the selected sources.
Viewing and Creating Virtual IFBs
To view or create IFBs, select Configuration > IFB .
Page 407
Page 408
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 409
Any IFBs already configured in the system are displayed in a grid with the following information: l
Label – a name for the IFB. To change the label, click the Label field and type a new label.
l
Description – a summary of the IFB function. To change the description, click the
Description field and type a new description.
l
Attenuation – the level by which the source audio is dimmed. This ranges from No Cut to Full Cut in 3 dB increments. To change the attenuation, click the drop-down arrow and select a new value.
l
Source – the IFB source.
l
Destination – the IFB destination.
l
Return – the IFB return.
You can change sources, destinations and returns by using the mouse to drag an entity from the pallet below the IFB grid onto the required source, destination or return field.
Select IFB List Options to display: l
Show/Hide ALT Text – Displays ALT text labels.
l
Auto Returns Enabled/Disabled – When enabled, automatically adds or removes
IFB returns when IFB destinations are added or removed.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 410
To remove an item from the source, destination or return field, right-click the field and select
Remove Item .
Note: If you add a port to the destination field, it is automatically added to the return field (if auto-returns is enabled).
You can have a maximum of six sources, destination and return for each IFB.
Notes: Sources, destinations and returns can be on a remote matrix. If a panel has keys to remote returns or destinations, their input and output levels can only be adjusted from the return/destination local matrix frame. They cannot be adjusted on the panel.
Remote sources and returns will be permanently routed to the IFB host frame. Therefore, to reduce intelligent linking resources, the IFB should be created on the same matrix frame as the destinations and or returns if possible.
To add multiple sources, destinations or return:
21.3
21.3.1
21.3.2
21.3.3
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
1.
Select the arrow to the left of the IFB label.
2.
Drag the extra source, destination or return onto the ADD + button.
Configuring IFB Properties
To configure IFB properties:
In the IFB screen, select the required IFB.
Note: You can use the Ctrl key to select more than one IFB.
The Properties screen appears on the right hand side of the window.
Global Properties
You can configure the following global properties:
IFB Number – This uniquely identifies the IFB.
Auto Listen – Any port that talks to the IFB destination port automatically hears the IFB return audio.
Latch Disable – Disables key latching so that keys are only active while they are held down or pressed. The default is for disabled key latching.
IFB Attenuation – Sets the dim level of the IFB from no cut to full cut in steps of 3dB.
Basic Options
You can configure the following basic options:
Alias (Remote Matrix) – Defines an alias for an entity on a remote matrix. The alias can have up to 10 characters including spaces.
Note: This feature is only available if Freely Editable is selected in Configuration > Preferences > Alias Labels.
Alt Text – Defines the text that appears when the ALT TEXT key is pressed.
Comments – Use this field to enter a comment about the port and its use.
Description – Use this field to enter a description of the field.
Dial Code – Defines the dial code used in fast key assign operations.
Label -Defines the identity label. This can have up to 10 characters including spaces.
Fast Key Assign Options
You can configure the following fast key assign options:
Page 411
21.3.4
21.3.5
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Enable Assignment as Listen – The IFB can be locally assigned to a listen key on another panel.
Enable Assignment as Talk – The IFB can be locally assigned to a talk key on another panel.
Default Assign as Talk and Forced Listen – If the IFB is locally assigned to a key on another panel, the default is talk and forced listen.
Protect Port from Assignment – Prevents a panel user from changing the default attributes of the key, for example changing a listen key to a talk key.
Note: This is only available if Enable Assignment as Talk and Enable Assignment as Listen have different values.
Tally Options
In Use Tally – The panel tally light flashes when another panel or entity talks to the IFB port. The default is ON.
Note: You can configure tally options in Configuration > Preferences > Panel & Key Operation.
Attached Control Options
Secondary Action – When a talk to the IFB is activated, the IFB is triggered along with the associated control.
Page 412
22
22.1
22.1.1
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Adding and Configuring Wireless Devices
This section describes how to add and configure FreeSpeak IP Transceivers and beltpacks to use with the FreeSpeak wireless partyline system. For more information, see the relevant
FreeSpeak II User Guides.
FreeSpeak II
®
(FS II) Beltpacks
Registering Beltpacks
Before a beltpack works, it must be registered to the system. There are two ways to do this: l
By using a USB connection between the beltpack and the computer hosting the EHX software l
By using Over The Air (OTA) registration.
Registering beltpacks using a USB cable
1.
Select Hardware > Cards and Ports , and then add an E-Que FS II-TA Antenna or an E-
Que FS II-TA Splitter card.
2.
Turn the beltpack on.
3.
Connect the beltpack to a USB port on the computer.
4.
From the Hardware menu, select Beltpacks .
5.
Click Register Beltpack . The following screen appears containing a list of instructions.
Page 413
6.
Click Register .
Page 414
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Registering beltpacks over the air
Over the Air (OTA) must be enabled before you can register a beltpack over the air.
You can do this either from the EHX software or from a beltpack that is already registered and has basic menu access or higher with the required admin code. For information about enabling
OTA registration from a beltpack, see the Enabling OTA Registration from a Beltpack section of the FreeSpeak II User Manual.
To enable OTA from the EHX software:
1.
From the Hardware menu, select Beltpacks .
Note : Beltpacks can be registered before they have a role. However, until they have a role assigned to them they cannot be logged in to the system. So it is a good idea to have roles for beltpacks assigned before registration. You may wish to register more beltpacks than you have roles for, to allow for spare beltpacks.
2.
Click Enable Registration Mode .
This opens registration or pairing mode for two minutes.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
3.
Once OTA registration is enabled it will be necessary to follow the OTA registration sequence from the beltpack to be registered.
Page 415
4.
Power on the beltpack.
5.
On the beltpack to be registered, hold the menu key for two seconds to enter MENU options. Scroll to SYSTEM CONNECT using the rotary controllers and select it using key
D. In menu mode the D key on the beltpack operates as SELECT and the C key exits the menu level and cancels the selection.
Note : On a new system there will be no previous connections at this point. However, if the beltpack has been connected previously, a confirmation screen will appear. Select Yes to connect to a new system or No to remain connected to the current system.
6.
Available systems will be visible on the beltpack menu screen.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 416
To connect the beltpack to the system, the system must be l
Visible ( V ) and l
In registration (pairing) mode ( P ) on the beltpack screen.
If the system is not in registration mode (P is not visible), registration should be reenabled on the matrix using the EHX screen.
Note : If a beltpack is connected to a system, ‘ C ’ will be visible in this screen. If a beltpack is not currently connected but has been in the past, ‘ R ’ will be visible. This shows that the beltpack has been previously registered with the system which will recognize it.
7.
Scroll to the system you want and press D (menu select) on the beltpack.
8.
You will be presented with a PIN code screen. Enter the four-digit pairing code for the system using both rotary controllers and the menu select key ( D ). The default code is 0000.
Use the right-hand controller (A) to scroll through numbers 0-9 and the left-hand controller
(B) to move through the square number boxes.
Note : To change the OTA registration pin code, go to: Configuration > Preferences >
Wireless Beltpacks.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
22.1.2
9.
After entering the correct pairing code on the beltpack screen, select D, and then select an available role from the list displayed.
10.
The beltpack is now registered and ready for operation.
11.
If required, the next beltpack can now be registered (Step 2).
Fetching Registered Beltpacks
Beltpacks registered over the air are not saved in the PC copy of the configuration map until they are fetched.
There are two situations where beltpacks do not need to be added to the configuration map: l
When the beltpack is for temporary use.
l
When the beltpack is already in the configuration map (previously registered and fetched).
Note: If OTA mode is initiated by EHX, not a beltpack, EHX will automatically fetch the list of beltpacks registered to the matrix that are not in the locally stored map. The user is presented with the option to add these to the map stored in EHX, to apply later.
To add the beltpack to the configuration map (fetch beltpack):
Page 417
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
1.
From the Hardware menu, select Beltpacks .
2.
Click Fetch Registered Beltpacks From Matrix.
Note: If beltpacks registered by OTA are not fetched and stored in the PC configuration file, the next apply will not include these beltpacks and they will appear as unregistered.
22.1.3
The EHX system will remind you to fetch registered beltpacks if this has not already been done.
Control Audio on Beltpack Keys C & D Using Rotary Controllers
Giving the menu button on a beltpack a quick tap can trigger Listen Again, as described in the
FreeSpeak User manuals (FreeSpeak Base and FreeSpeak II Integra, section 8.9). However, a quick tap on the menu button can also be configured to allow volume on beltpack keys C & D to be adjusted by the rotary controllers, instead of triggering Listen Again. The menu key can be configured to toggle between level controls for A & B/C & D.
The default setting for this key is Listen Again .
Page 418
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Note: This mode has a 5 second inactive time-out, after which time the rotary controllers will revert to controlling volume on keys A & B. To re-activate this mode in order to adjust C
& D, use another quick tap of the menu key. To switch quickly between A & B and C & D, tap the menu key to toggle.
How to set beltpack menu key behavior in EHX software:
1.
From the EHX software configuration editor, navigate to Configuration/Beltpack
Roles/Beltpack Role/Menu Options/Menu Key Operation.
2.
From the dropdown list, select Switch Encoders .
22.1.4
This change must be sent to the matrix before it takes effect. Click Apply Map to Matrix .
The beltpack user can now control audio volume on keys C & D using the rotary controllers (the same as for keys A & B) by giving the menu key on the beltpack a quick tap, instead of using this action to trigger Listen Again.
This menu key behavior option can also be set from the beltpack in Menu/Settings/Menu Key
Operation if the user has advanced beltpack options.
Beltpack Roles and Properties
Beltpack roles define the beltpack in the same way as a label defines a key on a panel so that assigning a role to a beltpack has the effect of creating a label for it that can be referenced by other devices in the system such as a panel. The Beltpack Roles screen is only available if an
FS II E-QUE antenna or splitter card has been configured in the matrix.
1.
To create and edit beltpack roles, select Configuration > Beltpack Roles .
Page 419
Page 420
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 421
2.
To create a new beltpack role, click New . This adds a new role entry.
3.
To edit the label and description, position the cursor in the description box and select the text to edit it.
4.
To delete a role, select the role and click Delete .
5.
To edit beltpack properties, select the beltpack role, and then select the required set of properties in the right-hand side of the display.
You can edit the following beltpack properties: l
Basic Options l
Panel Options l
Menu Options l
Fast Key Assign Options l
Gain Options l
Global Options
22.1.5
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
Alarm Options l
Headset and Microphone Options l
Logic Input Options l
Tally Options
Basic Options
Port Number
Use this option to specify a unique identifier for the port (role) on the matrix.
Alias (Remote Matrix)
Use this option to allow labels to appear differently on remote systems compared to the local system. The maximum number of characters including spaces is 10.
Note: You can only edit this if the Alias Label setting is set to Freely editable. Go to Configuration > Preferences > Intelligent Linking and then select Freely editable.
Alt Text
Use this option to specify alternative text for the label. For example, you can set the label and alias to contain the role name and the username respectively. Click Show Alt Text to display the alternative text.
Comments
Use this option to enter additional information about the beltpack role.
Description
Use this option to describe the port and what it is used for.
Dial Code
Use this option to enter a dial code that is used for panel fast key assign. See
Label
Use this option to identify the role. The maximum number of characters including spaces is 10.
Page 422
22.1.6
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Panel Options
Reply Tally Auto Clear Time
Use this option to set the period during which the Reply key will continue to flash after a call ends.
You can disable this feature, or select a period between from OFF to 60 seconds.
Brightness Level
Use this option to set the brightness level of the beltpack display. You can select the following: l
1 to 5 – the display is brighter up to the highest level (5).
Display Dim Timeout
Use this option to determine when the beltpack display dims if no buttons are pressed or no calls are received. You can select the following: l
Off – the display never dims l
5 to 120 seconds
Display Off Timer
Use this option to determine when the beltpack display switches off if no buttons are pressed or no calls are received. You can select the following: l
5 to 120 seconds after the Dim Timeout.
FS II configurable eavesdropping
Releases of FSII before 8.5.2 had the beltpack mic permanently open, meaning that audio coming from the beltpack could be listened to even if the user had no active talk routes. This feature can now be configured for each beltpack/Role in your wireless system. The default for
FS II 8.5.2 and above is Eavesdropping disabled . However, earlier versions will revert to
Eavesdropping enabled , the mic will remain open.
How to configure the eavesdropping feature
1.
From the EHX software navigate to Configuration > Beltpack Roles > Beltpack Role
> Panel Options > Eavesdropping .
Page 423
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
2.
If you tick the checkbox, the mic on the headset will remain open, even when the user has no talk routes active.
Listen Again Auto Delete
Use this option to determine when a Listen Again message is automatically deleted. Listen Again is a feature that allows you to replay an incoming message by tapping the beltpack Menu key.
You can select the following: l
Off – auto delete is disabled l
30 to 240 minutes
22.1.7
Listen Again Record Time
Use this option to determine the length of Listen Again messages. Listen Again is a feature that allows you to replay an incoming message by tapping the beltpack Menu key. You can select the following: l
Off – Listen Again is disabled l
1 to 15 seconds
Note: If the message exceeds the record time, the message wraps round to the start of the buffer and overwrites any previously recorded material.
Menu Options
Menu Access Level
Use this option to determine which menu options a beltpack user can access. You can select the following:
Page 424
Page 425
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
Advanced - all menu options are available.
l
Normal – all menu options are available except: l
Main > Volume Operation l
Main > Display Mode l
Main > Settings > Headset Options > Headset Limiter l
Basic – all menu options are available except: l
Main > Volume Level Control l
Main > Line In Volume Level l
Main > Admin Options l
Main > System Connect l
Main > Information l
None – no menu options are available except: l
Main > Admin Options (admin code required)
Persist Local Settings
By default, beltpack settings such as brightness and input gain are controlled by the EHX configuration software. By enabling this option, you to override EHX and control beltpack preferences from the device itself. When this option is checked, user selected beltpack preferences will persist over power cycles.
Partyline Display Mode
Use this option to determine whether the beltpack display is in display partyline mode or display intercom mode.
Both display modes show information including beltpack role, signal strength, battery status and
A and B channel volume levels. The intercom mode also shows key labels.
Master Volume Operation
Use this option to determine the behavior of the beltpack rotary controls. If you select this option, both rotary controls adjust the master volume of the beltpack. Otherwise, each rotary control (A and B) adjusts the volume of the crosspoint assigned on A or B.
22.1.8
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Menu Key Operation
Use this option to control how the Menu key behaves.
l
Listen Again – Replays up to 15 seconds of received audio l
Switch Volume Control – Switches the encoder volume controls from channels A and B to channels C and D.
Global Options
IFB Caller Priority
Sets the priority of the port when it is used as a caller in an IFB. Sources and other callers with lower priorities will be dimmed. When the port is used as an IFB source, its priority is always 1.
You can set the priority from No Cut to 5.
IFB
Select this checkbox to make the port an IFB destination. Sources are configured using the IFB
Configuration screen or the Local Advanced screen.
IFB Attenuation
This option sets the dim level applied when a port talks to the IFB destination port. To set a port as an IFB destination, select Global Options > IFB .
Latch Disable
Use this option to disable key latching on all calls to the port. Key will remain active only while they are pressed.
Always Latch . EHX v.12.1 and above. In this case, any key press, long or short will latch the key.
Latch Option
Default (no latch options selected)
Latch Disable
Effect
A quick tap on a key will latch audio on and off. A long press will activate audio only for the duration of the key press.
The key will not latch, a long press will activate audio for the duration of the key press.
The key will latch on and off on any key press, long or short.
Always Latch
Note: In the Beltpack Roles screen, you can select multiple beltpacks ([Shift] + click) in order to apply a latch setting to all of them at the same time.
Page 426
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Note: If you see a red square around the latch option when using multiple select, there is already latch configuration on one or more of the beltpacks you have selected. Clicking the checkbox when there is a red square will impose this configuration on all the beltpacks. If you do not want this to happen, check the existing latch configuration on each of the beltpacks and deselect as required.
Note:
To set key latch options on individual keys, navigate to: Matrix > Configuration > Panels >
Beltpack Roles to select the key you wish to configure on the beltpack mimic. Right click on the key to access latch options.
22.1.9
Fast Key Assign Options
Enable Assignment as Listen
Use this option to allow the port to be locally assigned to a listen key on a remote panel.
Enable Assignment as Talk
Use this option to allow the port to be locally assigned to a talk key on a remote panel.
Page 427
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Default Assignment as Talk and Forced Listen
Use this option to ensure that if the port is assigned to a remote panel, it will default to Talk and
Forced Listen.
Protect Port from Assignment
Use this option to ensure that a panel user cannot change the default attributes of a key, for example assigning a listen attribute to a talk key.
Note: This option is only available if Enable Assignment as Talk is enabled, and Enable
Assignment as Listen is disabled.
22.1.10
Gain Options
Input Gain
Use this option to set the volume level of the input to the matrix port. You can select values from
0dB to -45dB.
Output Gain
Use this option to set the volume level of the output from the matrix port. You can select values from 0dB to -45dB.
Line-In Level
Use this option to set the volume level on the 3.5 mm local program feed to connector on the bottom of the beltpack. You can select values from -15dB to 6dB.
Beltpack Master Gain
Use this option to adjust the beltpack master gain. You can select values from - 69.9dB to 0dB.
22.1.11
Alarm Options
Battery Alarm Mode
Use this option to determine how the beltpack behaves when the low battery alarm triggers. You can set the following alarm conditions.
l
Vibrate and audio warning l
Vibrate only
Page 428
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
Audio only l
Off – alarm disabled
Low Battery Threshold
Use this option to determine the battery level that triggers the low battery alarm. You can select values from 0% to 100%.
Call Alert Mode
Use this option to determine how the beltpack behaves when it receives a call. You can set the following alarm conditions.
l
Audio warning l
Vibrate l
Audio warning and vibrate l
Off – alarm disabled
Out of Range Alarm
Use this option to determine how the beltpack behaves when it moves out of antenna range. You can set the following alarm conditions.
l
Fade & Audio l
Fade Only l
Audio Only l
Off – alarm disabled
22.1.12
Tally Options
Enables dimmed Tally lights (the default is enabled). When enabled, keys will always show a dimmed state of the active state.
22.1.13
Headset and Microphone Options
Headset Limiter
Use this option to prevent the headset audio becoming too loud. You can limit the audio level from -12dB to 8dB.
Page 429
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Headset Master Volume Low Level Limit
This feature sets the low level limit on the beltpack master volume in order to stop the beltpack being turned down so low that it cannot be heard. How this feature is used depends on your preferred working practice; it is possible to turn the master volume on the beltpack down so low that all audio is inaudible. This can cause confusion among the unwary, although some users may want to turn the volume down completely on some occasions.
The low level limiter can be set from the configuration software, or from a beltpack menu (as long as the beltpack has advanced menu options).
Set the beltpack master volume low level limiter in EHX
Page 430
Note: Changes made to Roles in EHX must be sent down to the matrix before they take effect.
Click Apply Map to Matrix.
Set the beltpack master volume low level limiter in the beltpack menu (advanced menu options only)
From the beltpack, press and hold the menu button for 2 seconds to enter menu mode. Navigate to: Settings/Headset options/Low level limiter and select the required low level limit.
Sidetone Level
Use this option to determine how much audio from the headphone microphone feeds into the headphone. You can select a sidetone level from -69.9dB to 0dB.
Mic Echo Cancellation
Use this option to improve the quality of the microphone voice audio.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
22.1.14
How to Set AA battery Type: Nickel-Metal Hydride (NiMH) or Alkaline for
Wireless Beltpacks
FreeSpeak II wireless beltpacks are supplied with Li-ion batteries and battery charger.
However, in some cases you may wish to use AA batteries. Alkaline batteries can be used as a quick, easily available replacement. NiMH batteries can be used in environments (for instance, high atmospheric/hyperbaric) where Li-ion batteries are prohibited.
When using AA batteries of either kind, it is helpful to set battery type so that battery capacity can be monitored accurately. NiMH batteries and alkaline batteries have different discharge patterns and setting this option will allow for that.
AA Battery type must be set in the EHX software. It is a global setting and will apply to all beltpacks in your system.
1.
Select Preferences > Wireless Beltpacks > Battery type .
2.
Select required battery type, NiMHi or Alkaline.
Note : The default setting for AA battery type is Alkaline
You must send this change to the matrix before it takes effect. Click Apply Map to
Matrix in the EHX software.
22.1.15
Logic Input Options
FreeSpeak II beltpacks can use a 7-pin headset. These headphones have two PTT keys that you can configure to behave, for example, like a beltpack reply key or to activate a radio talk key.
Page 431
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
There are two logic inputs (1 and 2). For each one, you can choose between the following options: l
No Function – This disables the Logic PTT key.
l
Activate Reply Key – The Logic PTT key behaves like a FreeSpeak II beltpack Reply key.
l
Activate Configured Action – The Logic PTT key activates a specified audio port.
When Route is selected, you can specify the destination and the route type in the Route
Destination and Route Type fields.
l
Activate All Pre-Selected Talk Keys – The Logic PTT key must be pressed before beltpack talk keys can create audio routes.
l
Activate All Pre-Selected Two-Way Radio Talk Keys – The Logic PTT key must be pressed before beltpack two-way radio keys can create audio routes.
l
Activate Reply, then Clear Label – The microphone key behaves like a FreeSpeak II beltpack Reply key, however on key release the reply is removed from the stack.
22.1.16
FreeSpeak II™ Beltpack Programming
You can use the Panels configuration screen to configure beltpack roles to determine how they behave. For example, you can assign labels to keys and set beltpack operating parameters. The beltpack is treated as if it were a panel, allowing you to drag and drop labels onto keys. To program a beltpack:
1.
Select Configuration > Panels . The Beltpack Programming screen appears.
Page 432
Page 433
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
2.
From the drop-down list at the top-left of the screen, select the required beltpack.
3.
Drag and drop labels from the bottom of the screen onto the required beltpack keys.
Buttons A, B, C, D and the Reply Key can be assigned.
Note : When the cursor hovers over a key, the status of the key is displayed showing the key number and the key type.
4.
Right-click a key to open a key configuration menu allowing you to configure the key type, local assignment, interlock group and latch disable.
Activation
Use this option to determine how the key behaves when activated with the pushbutton
1.
Right-click the required key to display the options menu, and then select Activation .
2.
Select from the following options: l
Talk - sets a talk from the beltpack to a destination with no automatic listen to the destination l
Listen - sets a key to listen to the source without talking to the destination at the same time. Use the rotary control to increase listen level.
l
Talk and Listen - sets a talk key with listen Use the rotary control to increase listen level.
l
Talk and Forced Listen - sets a talk key with permanently made listen Use the rotary control to increase listen level.
l
Dual Talk and Listen - sets a dual talk and listen key. This makes the pushbutton activate a talk and listen on a press and hold or latch a Listen with a short press and release on the same pushbutton.
Local assignment
Use this option to enable or disable local key assignment.
1.
Right-click the required key to display the options menu, and then select Local
Assignment.
2.
Select between: l
Allow Local Assignment l
Disallow Local Assignment
Page 434
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Interlock group
Use this option to assign several keys on a beltpack into a selector group and restrict the group so that only one key of the group can be activated at any one time. This function only refers to talk paths.
For example, if a beltpack has three keys programmed to talk to cameras 1 to 3 then by setting these into an interlocked group only one camera key can be selected at a time.
You can assign any or all beltpack keys to nine available interlocked groups.
To add a key to an interlocked group
1.
Right-click the required key to display the options menu, and then select Interlock Group .
A list of Interlock Group options appears.
2.
Select the required interlock group or None if the key is not to be in any interlock group.
The key interlock groups appear in the key information popup shown when the cursor hovers over a key.
Note : You can also add the key to other interlock groups.
Local advanced latching
Use this option to set key latching:
1.
Right-click the required key to display the options menu, and then select Local Advanced
Latching .
2.
Select On,Off or Always Latch .
Latch
Option
OFF
Effect
ON
(Default)
A quick tap on a key will latch audio on and off. A long press will activate audio only for the duration of the key press.
The key will not latch, a long press will activate audio for the duration of the key press.
Always
Latch
The key will latch on and off on any key press, long or short.
Go to key destination
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Use this option to display the Matrix Hardware Editor screen with the destination the key refers to highlighted. Right-click the required key to display the options menu, and then select Go to
Key Destination .
Delete key
Use this option to remove a key label. Right-click the required key to display the options menu, and then select Delete .
22.1.17
Upgrading Beltpack and Antenna Firmware
You can upgrade the FreeSpeak II beltpack firmware by: l
Using a USB connection l
Using an Over The Air (OTA) upgrade.
You can upgrade the antenna firmware by: l
Using a USB connection l
Using central upgrade from the matrix to all connected antennas via the E-QUE card.
Upgrading FS-II beltpacks and antennas by USB connection
1.
Connect the beltpack or antenna to a USB port on the computer running the EHX software.
2.
Select Tools > Apply Wireless Firmware Via USB .
3.
Browse to the location of the upgrade file, and then select Update Firmware .
The upgrade file is applied to the beltpack or antenna.
Note: You can connect more than one beltpack or antenna to the computer if you have multiple
USB ports. The units will be upgraded sequentially
Upgrading beltpack firmware by Over The Air Upgrade
1.
Right-click on the Frame in the Layout window, and then select Firmware > Update
Firmware . The Update Firmware Wizard appears.
Page 435
2.
Select Next . The following screen appears:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 436
3.
Select the Wireless radio button. There are two further options: l
Automatic – select this option to automatically upgrade the beltpack when it is switched on.
l
Prompted – select this option to allow the beltpack user to confirm the upgrade.
4.
Select Next , and then browse to the upgrade file ( .fww
) and select Open . The upgrade file is loaded to the antenna. The upgrade file is applied to all the connected beltpacks, and the beltpacks automatically restart.
Note : The antennas store the beltpack upgrade files until they are power cycled or there is a black reset.
Note : You can track the status of the apply in the EHX Event Log, and for beltpack upgrades the upgrade status is also shown on the beltpack display.
Upgrading antenna firmware
1.
Right-click on the Frame in the Layout window, and then select Firmware > Update
Firmware . The Update Firmware Wizard appears.
2.
Select Next . The following screen appears:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
3.
Select the Wireless radio button.
4.
Select Next , and then browse to the upgrade file ( .fww
) and select Open . The upgrade file is loaded to the antenna, and the antenna restarts.
Note : You can track the status of the apply in the EHX Event Log.
22.1.18
Wireless Beltpack Preferences
From Configuration > Preferences > Wireless Beltpacks you can configure the system identifier and DECT parameters for FreeSpeak II wireless beltpacks.
Page 437
To configure the DECT frequency:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
1.
Click Configure , and enter the DECT configuration password to display the DECT configuration screen (Select Frequency Region).
22.2
22.3
The frequency range used by the wireless system can be set: l
Directly by entering the required value into the field.
l
By selecting the appropriate region, using the radio buttons.
l
By selecting the country where the wireless system is used from the drop-down menu.
If you use either of the last two options, the correct frequency range value is automatically inserted.
2.
To confirm the frequency range, click OK .
Over the air registration PIN code
Enter a four-digit PIN code to allow FreeSpeak II beltpacks to register wirelessly with antennas.
The default PIN code is 0000, but Clear-Com strongly recommends that you change this for security reasons.
AA Battery Type
Select between Alkaline and NiMH.
IP Transceivers (IPTs)
You can configure IPTs from the E-IPA-HX card. For more information about the E-IPA-HX card, see
Adding and Configuring an E-IPA-HX-Card
.
FreeSpeak Edge™ Transceivers
You can configure FreeSpeak Edge transceivers from the E-IPA-HX card. For more information, see the FreeSpeak Edge User Guide .
Page 438
22.4
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Allowed Transceivers/Restricted Roaming (FreeSpeak Edge only)
EHX v.12.1 and above
When configuring FreeSpeak Edge beltpack roles you can stop beltpacks from connecting to transceivers. You might want to do this in areas of high traffic, or where connecting to sensitive audio sources.
When a beltpack is not enabled on the Allowed Transceivers list, it will show Roam Blocked in the beltpack display screen when it is close to the blocked transceiver.
Default: all configured transceivers are Allowed .
To stop a beltpack or group of beltpacks from connecting to a configured transceiver, uncheck the checkbox in the Allowed Transceivers list in Beltpack Roles > Beltpack(s) >
Properties .
To select more than one beltpack, use [Shift] + click.
In this example, selected beltpacks will not connect to the transceiver labeled Canteen .
Page 439
23
23.1
23.1.1
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Telephone Audio Routes in Eclipse Matrices
You can send and receive telephone calls from an Eclipse matrix in two ways: l
Configure an LQ SIP port in either the MVX-A16 card or IVC-32 card. This enables you to send and receive SIP calls using a connected LQ device.
l
Configure a TEL-14 port in the MVX-A16 card. This enables you to send and receive call using a TEL-14 telephony Interface that is connected to the matrix.
Telephone Calls Using LQ SIP
Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) is an established technology that enables you to connect external telephones lines to your intercom system, expanding the reach of your communications.
Note: You must purchase a license to use LQ SIP connectivity. Please contact your Clear-
Com dealer for more information.
What is SIP?
SIP is an application layer (signaling) protocol that is used to create, modify and terminate sessions for voice, for one or more participants.
SIP User Agents l
SIP client: makes and terminates requests l
SIP server: accepts and administrates requests
Connect a SIP telephone line to your matrix. This allows you to talk to an external telephone from a panel.
You can set up LQ SIP connectivity in a matrix using: l
An IVC-32 card that creates an IP connection between an LQ device and a matrix.
l
An MVX card that creates a 4-wire plus data connection between an LQ device and the matrix.
l
An E-IPA-HX card that creates and IP connection between an LQ device and a matrix.
Note: The LQ device must be connected to the same network as the SIP server. The LQ unit must be able to see (contact) the SIP server, see your Network Administrator if you have any connectivity problems.
If connecting over separate networks, you must use port forwarding rules. For more information, see the LQ User Guide .
Page 440
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
23.1.2
Making Outgoing Calls Using SIP
The following methods are possible: l
Speed dials l
Prepared dialing l
Using Dynam-EC
Speed dials
Speed dials can be set up in the EHX software to work with a specific interface and number. A speed dial is created and attached to a control in the EHX software, the control is put on a key and then this key is put on a panel. To use a speed dial once it is configured, latch the interface key and then press the speed dial key. You can also press the speed dial key first, and then latch the interface key.
When configuring a speed dial, the interface and the control (the number to dial) can be stacked on the same key to reduce the number of keys used to dial a set number. See
and
.
23.1.3
Prepared dialing
When using prepared dialing, the number is dialed first (use the panel keypad or dial menu) and the interface (panel key) is selected second. This method of dialing is more flexible when it comes to possible numbers to dial and the dial route.
Once a SIP call has been initiated (using speed dial or prepared dialing), the dial pad (or dial menu) can be used to send digits to the exchange, for example to traverse remote PABX menus.
Accepting Incoming SIP Calls
When a call comes in on an interface, the LQ system will auto-answer the call.
Exactly how incoming calls behave depends on how the Off-Hook Tally and Line Release options are set.
If the Off-Hook Tally is set to ON, an incoming call configured to a panel will flash on the interface key. Use the panel keyset to monitor and talk back to the calling party. An incoming call can be ended by the caller. If the Line Release option is set in EHX then the call can also be released by the panel.
Page 441
23.1.4
23.1.5
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
DTMF Options
l
DTMF options can be used to set a passcode (for security) on an incoming call.
l
DTMF options can be used to add an extension on a dialed number.
l
You can set DTMF codes to Accumulate: Number [passcode] extension
For more information see
Configuring LQ SIP
1.
From the EHX software, navigate to Hardware > Cards and Ports.
2.
Select or add an MVX-A16 card, an IVC-32 card or an E-IPA-HX card . (See
or
Note: For IVC-32, navigate to IP Port Options , and make a note of the User ID and Password for each port. You need them to enable the connection between LQ and matrix card.
3.
From the Port Function drop-down, select LQ SIP .
4.
From Telephone Options , select any preferences, such as Off Hook Tally.
Page 442
5.
In the EHX software, navigate to Configuration > Panels .
6.
Assign a Talk and a Listen to a panel key. For more information, see
.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
23.2
23.2.1
23.2.2
7.
To apply changes to the matrix, click Apply Map to Matrix .
Note: You can dial an external number using the panel keypad. For convenience, you can also program a speed dial. For more information, see
.
Telephone Calls Using TEL-14
The TEL-14 module enables telephone calls directly from any panel in an Eclipse matrix to a
POTS line.
Configuring TEL-14
1.
Select Hardware > Cards and Ports .
2.
From an MVX card slot, create or select a TEL 14 port.
3.
Select DTMF Options.
4.
Select Access Prompt , and then select Enable DTMF Passcodes and open the dropdown menu listing the passcodes configured under Configuration > Preferences >
System Access Codes .
5.
Select the Passcode by placing a tick in the check box beside the required password.
6.
To apply the changes to the matrix, select Apply Map to Matrix .
The selected Passcode is then specific to that TEL-14 interface.
Inward DTMF Access
Note : DTMF tones are not supported on LQ SIP.
Page 443
Page 444
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
DTMF Access allows combinations of DTMF tones that are pre-assigned with specific meanings to have access to the Eclipse HX system. The Assign DTMF Codes option in Advanced Setting screen of a telephone screen allows you to set all parameters related to the DTMF-tone decoding. Each MVX-A16 Crosspoint Card provides sixteen ports. On each MVX card, DTMF
Daughter boards are fitted for DTMF-tone encoding and decoding. DTMF decoding is the ability to interpret DTMF tones. DTMF encoding is the ability to create DTMF tones.
Assign DTMF codes are numerical routing codes that outside callers use to access the system.
The codes initiate the specific audio paths when the system is accessed via DTMF inward access. If the [One Digit Codes] field is selected, only the ten single-digit codes [0] through [9] function as selector codes.
If the Accumulate DTMF Codes option is selected in DTMF Options, the inward DTMF stream may contain multiple routing codes, for example to activate more than one audio route/control. If this is the case it is advisable to separate the selector codes by placing a space in the source string to ensure that selector codes after the first are correctly identified.
Note: The characters used to specify a space or pause between codes may vary with the equipment calling into the Eclipse HX system. Consult the manufacturer’s instructions for details.
Specific Control codes perform specific functions, including: l
00 - Clear Last Entry —This code clears the paths that were activated by the last selector code entry. If [00] is entered twice, the paths that were activated by the last two selector code entries clear, and so on.
l
91 - Send Call Signal —This code sends a call from the port to the matrix as if a call signal was sent by an external device connected to the port.
l
92 - Disable DTMF Decoding —This code turns off DTMF decoding. This may be desirable because certain program sources may contain DTMF tones not intended to be interpreted as selector codes, and that can inadvertently reroute the audio path. For more information, see
Configuring DTMF Access Codes.
l
99 or 099 - Clear All—Either of these codes clear all currently active talk and listen paths.
Access Prompt tones are tone sequences that the MVX-A16 sends to the user. The MVX-A16 issues the following four distinct prompt tone sequences:
23.2.3
23.2.4
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
Access Code Request —Indicates that the system is ready for an access code to be entered. If the system does not recognize the entered access codes, it repeats the access code request prompt. The number of attempts to enter the access code is limitless. The prompt consists of a low tone followed quickly by a higher tone. The sequence is quickly repeated three times.
l
Access Granted —Indicates that the system has acknowledged the access code and that access to the Eclipse HX matrix has been granted. The prompt consists of four tones, each increasing in pitch and immediately followed by a ready prompt.
l
Ready —Signals that the system is ready for a selector code entry. It also indicates that it has acknowledged the last selector code entered. The prompt consists of a single high-pitched tone.
l
Error —Indicates that an invalid code has been entered. Error prompts result from: l
Selecting a code that is less than 10 or greater than 59 l
Selecting a code without talk or listen labels assigned to it l
Assigning a control code before a port has been activated.
Multiple Codes
If the Multiple Codes is set to false only one selector code can be active at a time. Entering a second selector code automatically deactivates any audio paths that were activated by the previous selector code. If this field is set to true, any number of selector codes can be active at the same time. To deactivate a selector code, either enter the selector code number preceded by a zero or enter a clear last or clear all control code.
One-Digit Codes
If One Digit Codes is set to true the selector codes are limited to one digit—0 to 9—plus the quick keys—pound (#) and asterisk (*). These codes are easier to remember and dial. However, they also have the following limitations: l
Only ten codes are available l
Control codes are not recognized l
The pound and asterisk keys can only be assigned a single digit code l
The system no longer recognizes the 0<selector code> form, which deactivates any established individual path. This means if multiple codes, has been enabled a previously established path cannot be deactivated.
Page 445
23.2.5
23.2.6
23.2.7
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
First Code Only
If the First Code Only is set to true the DTMF tone detection is disabled after the first valid code has been received. DTMF decoding can also be disabled by entering the disable DTMF decoding control code (92), described in the Control Codes section.
Certain circumstances may encourage the disabling of DTMF-tone detection. During normal operation, DTMF tones in the port’s audio input are decoded, at all times. However, certain audio program sources— such as telephone company commercials—may contain DTMF tones that are not intended to be interpreted as selector codes and can inadvertently reroute the audio path. Certain voices or musical instruments can also fool the DTMF tone detection circuitry into detecting false DTMF tones.
By disabling DTMF-tone detection after the program feed has been set up, the paths are not accidentally rerouted. To re-enable tone decoding, hang up and call back again.
Quick Codes
These menus define the Touch-Tone keypad’s asterisk (*) and pound (#) keys as quick keys using quick codes. If a two-digit pair (corresponding to one of the valid selector codes or control codes) is selected from the menus for the asterisk or the pound, the DTMF port translates the asterisks or pound’s DTMF tone into that two-digit code. For example, if the asterisk key is supposed to clear all paths, select [00] from the [*] menu. If the [One Digit Codes] box is checked, the quick keys cannot be assigned control codes.
Configuring DTMF Access Codes
Multiple code setup
Multiple codes enable an operator to stack multiple routes so that having called one destination a sequential call can be made to a further destination without ending the first call.
Assign DTMF codes
Page 446
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 447
1.
From the telephone’s Advanced Setting screen select Assign DTMF Codes to open the
DTMF Assignments screen.
2.
Select the desired destination label from the palette of available destinations, at the bottom of the screen.
3.
Find the desired code in the DTMF Codes column.
4.
The columns to the right of the DTMF Codes column allow assigning as many as three talk labels and one listen label for each key. Click in the column for the desired type of label for the desired code: Talk 1, Talk 2, Talk 3, or Listen. The selected label appears in the desired cell. If this cell has already been assigned a label, the new label displaces the old one.
5.
Apply the new configuration to the matrix with an Apply Label Changes.
Note: Although the above describes a single route, multiple routes can be attached to a control.
One-digit code setup
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
To assign the one-digit selector codes (numbered 0 through 9), set the [One Digit Codes] field in the Advanced Settings screen for a telephony interface to true.
1.
From the telephone’s Advanced Setting screen select Assign DTMF Codes to open the
DTMF Assignment screen.
Page 448
2.
Select the desired destination label from the palette of available destinations, at the bottom of the screen.
3.
Find the desired code in the DTMF Codes column.
4.
The columns to the right of the DTMF Codes column allow assigning as many as three talk labels and one listen label for each key. Click in the column for the desired type of label for the desired code: Talk 1, Talk 2, Talk 3, or Listen. The selected label appears in the desired cell. If this cell has already been assigned a label, the new label displaces the old one.
5.
Apply the new configuration to the matrix with an Apply Label Changes.
24
24.1
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
IP Panel Screen
Introduction to IP Panels
The IP Panels screen allows you to centrally manage IP panels.
To start IP Panels, select Hardware > IP Panels .
24.2
IP Panel Preferences
Use this tab to determine the default connection method for your cards.
Page 449
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
24.3
Jitter Buffer settings are configurable for IVC style connections only (not panels configured to
AoIP/AES67 type connections. To set jitter buffers, first click to disable the Use defaults check box.
Jitter buffer settings are related to Network Connection type (LAN, WAN or Internet); available in IP panel properties ( Hardware > Cards and Ports > Card > Port > IP Port Options ).
For more information on jitter settings see
Diagnosing Jitter Problems: IVC Connections .
Key to Color Indicator States
The panels listed are color coded according to status. The color codes are: l
Blue - panel has been discovered and is available for configuration. This panel does not have a login IP address, User ID or password configured.
l
Green - panel has been discovered and is logged in to the current configuration.
l
Amber - panel has been discovered that is configured in this configuration but is not logged in. Click Apply Map to Matrix to start the process of connecting this panel to the matrix.
Page 450
24.4
24.4.1
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
Gray - panel has been discovered with an IP address that is not for the matrix in this configuration. The panel may be configured for another matrix and may be logged in to that matrix.
l
Red – This panel has a duplicated User Name/ID.
l
Mauve - panel has been discovered but the panel status is undetermined. Panels may be displayed in this color briefly during discovery until the panel status is established and the color then changes to reflect the panel status.
l
Pink – This panel is connected to another matrix.
The Identify Me Panel Feature
The Identify Me feature allows you to select a panel and initiate a sequence of flashing lights on the panel, so you can see it quickly. This is useful if you have many panels in your intercom system.
The identify panel flashing sequence can be started and stopped from the Iris front panel menu system, the Cards and Ports screen and the IP Panels screen.
The Identify Me mode has a 20 second timeout.
Start Identify Me from the Cards and Ports Screen
Navigate to: Hardware>Card and Ports
Page 451
24.4.2
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
This feature can be used for any configured panel. To exit Identify Me, right-click again and select
Identify Panel again. This feature toggles on and off.
Start Identify Me from the IP Panels Screen
Navigate to: Hardware>IP Panels
24.5
This feature can be used on any discovered panel.
To exit Identify Me mode, right-click on the panel and click Identify Me again.
Allocate a Discovered Panel to a Card
Once a panel has been discovered, it can be allocated to a card by selecting the panel and then dragging it onto the required card slot.
For an AoIP connection, this action will fill in the Panel IP properties with the mDNS name of the panel. It will also fill in the panel label with the serial number of the panel.
For an IVC connection, this action will fill the Panel IP properties with the User Name and
Password credentials.
If you wish to change the label, edit it directly in the IP Panels screen or navigate to
Hardware>Cards and Ports .
After you have dragged and dropped you must Apply Map to Matrix to start the connection process.
This method can be used for either IVC or AoIP panels, but you must use the toggle between
IVC and AoIP to choose which panel type you wish to discover.
Page 452
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 453
If you drop a panel onto an existing panel on the card, the new panel takes the configuration of the old panel. This action will clone the configuration of the previous panel.
24.5.1
Filter Panel View
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
24.5.2
Information Available in the IP Panels Screen
Page 454
Note: To view the card information, you must double click the card icon.
24.6
24.6.1
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Panel Information Display (IVC Panels Only)
Click the cog icon on the panel for information and to edit the panel settings. The panel information displayed shows the following: l
Panel - panel type.
l
MAC - panel MAC address.
l
User ID – the panel user ID found in panel properties.
l
Connection - the protocol used in the panel connection.
l
Connected - the length of time the panel has been connected without a reset.
l
Powered - the length of time since the panel was last powered up.
The IP settings displayed are the same as those set on the panel using the panel IP setup menus
(see the V-Series Manual ).
l
Login IP - the IP address of the IVC-32 card that the panel tries to log in to.
l
Login Port - the port the panel uses to log in to the IVC-32 card.
l
DHCP Enabled - whether the panel should obtain an address from a DHCP server or use a preset address.
l
Connection - the type of connection: WAN, LAN or Internet.
l
IP Address - the IP address of the panel.
l
Netmask - the subnet mask for the network the panel is on.
l
Gateway - the IP address of the gateway to be used when connecting to the matrix.
l
DNS - the IP address of the Domain Name Server to be used by the panel to obtain an
IP address automatically if DHCP is enabled.
Edit IP Settings for IVC Connected Panels in EHX
Note: This method is available for IVC style connections only. To edit panel IP settings for an
Iris panel in AoIP mode, you must use the panel front screen menu.
Page 455
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
1.
In the IP panels screen, click the cog on a panel to view the panel information display.
2.
Click Edit to enable the IP settings to be changed.
Page 456
When the edits are completed click on the tick button to accept the changes or the cross button to cancel the changes.
If a parameter is set to an invalid state, such as part of an IP address being set to a number greater than 255 the error is flagged by a red border around the item when attempting to save it.
The invalid entry is not sent to the panel and the entry is reset to the original value if edit mode is cancelled.
Note: Care should be taken when making some changes as they may prevent the panel from logging in to the interface card, for example by changing the login IP or login port.
24.7
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Assigning a Panel in IVC Mode to a Card Port
To assign panels to ports on a card, drag the panel icon from the IP Panels pane to the assignment zone on the card. The following screen appears:
Page 457
Select the number of additional channels you require. If you select one or two additional channels, these channels automatically appear as Hosted Direct in the Port Function column of the Cards and Ports screen.
Panels can also be moved from one port to another. The results of the action depend on the status of the panel.
l
Moving (assigning) a panel to a port on the card only adjusts the current user ID in the panel if no user ID in the panel currently exists. In this case a unique user ID is used as the user ID of the connection. The password on the connection is left blank. This initial state of the panel represented by the blue color and indicates that the panel is known to be out of use and ready for assignment.
l
If a current user ID setting already exists on a panel it is not adjusted during an assignment. If the panel is used in another currently inactive Eclipse configuration this association would now have been broken.
l
When a panel is not used by the current configuration but has a user ID (even though this may be a stale configuration) and the matrix IP address is in the current configuration, the panel is shown as red. Take care before using this panel, for example, check its current usage before assigning it l
If a panel's matrix IP address is not in the current configuration and a user ID is set the panel is shown as grey to indicate it is configured for use on another system. In this state, only a user logged in as administrator (in EHX) may assign it to a card in the currently active configuration.
24.8
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
To un-assign a panel that has been assigned to a port on a card, simply drag the panel off the port and drop it in the blank area to the right of the cards.
IVC-32 IP Settings
Note: This feature is not available for an E-IPA card. To edit the E-IPA card settings you must navigate to Hardware>Cards and Ports>right-click on the card you wish to edit>Card Properties.
The IP Settings section displays the IP setup of the IVC-card.
1.
To make changes, click on the Edit button. The fields change from grey text to input boxes.
The external IP address and IP port are only enabled if the External IP Address box is checked.
24.8.1
IP Port
This is the port that the panel uses to log in to the interface card. This is the internal IP port if the panel is on the same LAN, or the external IP port if not.
Page 458
Page 459
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
This parameter should not normally be changed from the default value unless all the IP panels or
Concert server are also updated to use the new port number. If this is not done the IP panels or
Concert server cannot communicate with the IVC-32 card. Eclipse system administrators are advised to check with network administrators or IT that the default port may be used without causing a conflict with any other application on the network.
If the IP port number is changed ports 42001 and 1300 should not be used as these ports are already used by EHX. The Eclipse HX system administrator should check with the network administrator or IT to obtain a port number to use.
IP address
The IP address of the IVC-32 card that the panel tries to log in to. This is the internal IP address if the panel is on the same LAN, or the external IP address if not.
Subnet mask
Subnet mask used by the IVC-32 card to define the address range the card can access.
Commonly set to 255.255.0.0
or 255.255.255.0
.
Default gateway
The address of the gateway to be used to communicate with external devices such as IP panels and Concert clients over the IP network.
External IP address
Enable this checkbox to edit the external IP address and port number below the checkbox.
IP address
The external IP address that can be used to communicate directly with the IVC-32 card itself rather than the matrix via the IVC-32 card. This address is not used by IP panels etc.
IP port
The external IP port used when communicating directly with the IVC-32 card using the external
IP address.
24.8.2
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
When the edits are complete click on the tick button to save the changes. Alternatively click on the cross button to discard the changes. As soon as the changes are confirmed EHX sends them to the IVC-32 card.
Restart blocked connections
The Restart Blocked Connections button at the bottom of the Diagnostics screen is used to restart a call initiated using IP directs and trunks. For more information, see
Diagnosing Jitter Problems: IVC Connections
Page 460
Note: Click on the Get Diagnostic Info button to retrieve the current buffer overflow statistics.
If a significant number of buffer overflows are reported this may indicate network problems.
Where data is presented for both panel and port this can be used to diagnose whether any network problems are at the matrix or panel end of the link.
Jitter is a measure of the quality of the network connection. It represents the variation in the time period with which audio packets are received. For example, if an audio packet is expected every
10 milliseconds, but one audio packet is received 13 milliseconds after another, this represents a jitter of 3 milliseconds.
If the jitter gets too high the panel starts to experience audio dropouts.
24.8.3
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
WAN mode panels can deal with larger jitter than LAN mode panels, and Internet higher than
WAN mode, as they use larger jitter buffers to smooth out the uneven arrival of audio packets.
However, the downside of this is that the larger the jitter buffer, the longer the audio delay.
l
Average Jitter - the average packet interval in microseconds.
l
Max Jitter - the highest packet interval measured in milliseconds.
l
LAN mode panels can cope with jitter up to 80 milliseconds without audio dropout.
l
WAN mode panels can cope with jitter up to 120 milliseconds without audio dropout.
l
Internet mode panels can cope with jitter up to 200 milliseconds without audio dropout.
l
Forward Error Correction - this allows the IVC-32 to recover from corruption in audio packets caused by a poor network link, at the cost of slightly increased network traffic and slightly higher audio delay. Forward Error Correction is set to a HIGH level in internet mode, LOW level in WAN mode and is disabled in LAN mode.
l
Silence Suppression - this reduces the network traffic generated by a panel by stopping the transmission of packets when there is no audio input (that is, the microphone is turned off). It can cause a slight increase in audio delay. Silence suppression is enabled in WAN and Internet mode but disabled in LAN mode.
l
Rx Packets - this displays a count of the IP packets that a panel has received and can be used to check the network connection. When Silence Suppression is enabled the numbers may only increase when the panel microphone is enabled.
l
Tx Packets - this display a count of the IP packets that a panel has sent and can be used to check the network connection. When Silence Suppression is enabled the numbers may only increase when the panel microphone is enabled.
l
Rx Drops - The number of audio packets that have been lost. This can be due to network quality.
Changing Jitter Buffer Settings (IVC Connections)
To change the jitter buffer settings away from the default settings, navigate to
Configuration>Preferences>IP Panels .
Uncheck the Use Defaults checkbox before changing settings.
Page 461
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
24.9
IP Panel Network Statistics
Use the IP panel network statistics to diagnose IP network problems. You can obtain network statistics for any configured card slot in the IP Panels window.
Note: For V-Series Iris panels, you can only obtain network statistics information if the panel is connected to the E-IPA-HX card in IVC mode. No statistics are available if the panel is connected in AES67 mode.
The following statistics appear: l
Average jitter (us) l
Max jitter (ms) l
Forward error correction l
Silence suppression l
RX packets l
TX packets l
RX drops
To access this information:
Page 462
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
1.
From the IP Panels screen, click the cog icon in the top-left corner of the required card slot.
The Network statistics window appears:
2.
From the Network Statistics window, click Get Diagnostic Info .
The window is populated with diagnostics information.
Note : The diagnostics information shown is refreshed every 10 seconds.
24.10
Concert Users
The Concert Users pane obtains details of the Concert users on the specified Concert server.
The user list can be obtained for all partitions on the server or for only one partition.
Page 463
Page 464
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
1.
Click on the left-hand button to enter or edit the IP address for the Concert server to be searched for users.
2.
Click on the Edit button to input the correct server IP address.
3.
Enter the required address and optionally the port to be used. Normally the default port of
8003 should be accepted.
4.
Click on the tick button to accept the edit or the cross button to cancel the edit.
Note: The port would not normally be changed unless there was a specific reason for this and the Concert server setup was also changed. If the port number is changed to an incorrect value IP Manager cannot connect to the server for the user information.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
24.10.1
Concert Server Dialog
1.
Click on the discover button (top right) to obtain the server information. If All Partitions is selected then all the Concert users known to the server are listed. Clicking on the down arrow next to All Partition displays a list of the partitions and allows a specific partition to be selected.
Page 465
The Concert users are color coded according to the user status. The possible user codes are described below.
l
Blue - Concert user discovered, no configured login IP address or Eclipse ID or
Password.
l
Amber - Concert user discovered, configured in EHX to this configuration, but not logged in. This does not indicate whether or not it is configured in the matrix. The configuration of a port using the IP manager screen involves both the drag and drop in the UI and applying a map to the matrix.
l
Green - Concert user discovered, user is logged in to this configuration.
l
Gray - Concert user is discovered, login IP address set to the IP address of another matrix.
l
Red - Concert user discovered, user is not in any of the previous categories, may be used by other configuration on same matrix IP address or not in use but setup on the current matrix.
Clicking on the arrow button on the right side of a user entry displays the user details and diagnostics.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 466
The Concert user information fields provide the following details: l
ID - internal Concert identifier.
l
Username - Concert user name.
l
Eclipse Username - the name that is used to log in to the Eclipse / Eclipse HX system over IP. This is used in conjunction with the Concert panel. The Eclipse HX user name must be set up on the Eclipse HX system.
l
Keyname - the name by which the Concert user is assigned to keys on Eclipse HX panels.
l
Eclipse Enabled - whether the Concert user is allowed to log in to an Eclipse / Eclipse
HX system.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
Matrix IP Address - the IP address of the matrix that the Concert user is logged in to when communicating with an Eclipse / Eclipse HX system.
Concert user diagnostics
The diagnostic display for Concert users indicates user activity.
l
Software Version - the version of the Concert client in use. This field can only be displayed if the Concert user is logged in to the Concert server.
l
Online seconds - length of time in seconds that the user has been online to the
Concert server.
l
Tx Pkts - number of Ethernet packets transmitted to the user Concert client.
l
Tx Octets - number of 8-bit bytes transmitted.
l
Rx Pkts - number of Ethernet packets received from the user Concert client.
l
Rx Pkts Lost - number of Ethernet packets from the user client lost.
l
Rx Pkts Recovered - number of lost receive packets recovered.
l
Rx Pkts Out Of Order - number of Ethernet packets received from the user client in the wrong order.
The packet count diagnostics are to help diagnose network problems experienced by Concert clients such as excessive packet loss leading to lower audio quality.
24.10.2
Assigning a Concert User to an IVC-32 Port
1.
To associate a Concert user with an IVC-32 port, drag and drop a Concert user entry onto a port on an IVC-32 card. If the port is already in use the current entry is removed and replace by the Concert user. Concert clients can also be moved between ports on an IVC-
32 card by dragging and dropping.
The IVC32 port's talk label, listen label and description fields are updated with the information received from the EMS (Concert) server.
The connection ID is set as follows: l
If the Concert User already has a connection ID this is assigned to that port, otherwise a new unique connection ID is created and used by both concert user and port. One special case is when the Eclipse ID is already in use, a new unique ID is created for both concert user and port.
Page 467
Page 468
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
By default, a connection password is NOT set. A password is only used if the port has a password explicitly set on it in Matrix Hardware for added security. The password can be set in IP Panel Settings under Advanced Settings .
l
These changes are sent to the EMS server in real time during the drag and drop operation, so no separate action is required to update the Concert server.
25
25.1
25.2
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Audio Mixer
Introduction to Audio Mixer
The Audio Mixer facility is accessed from panel programming and is only available for V-Series panels. The Audio Mixer allows the audio input, output and crosspoint levels for the panel to be set by the use of the panel controls (main and auxiliary volume controls) or via the panel software. The audio mixer also allows audio input levels to be modified by means of threshold levels and compressors and for frequency based noise reduction filters to be applied.
Crosspoints which are attached to IFB controls can also have the IFB dim levels set by the audio mixer.
The layout of the audio mixer is determined by the panel interface selected. For some types of interface such as the D25 connector more options are available than with the basic RJ45 interface.
When the pointer is moved over the panel, tooltips are displayed whenever it is over an active item such as a button on the toolbar, a filter setting or a crosspoint. The tooltip displays the current setting of any audio processing element.
Audio Mixer Panel
The audio mixer panel is divided into three functional areas, Input, Crosspoint and Output. Each area has separate controls that function independently of controls in other areas. For example, the controls in the input area act on the input audio stream before it passes to the crosspoints.
The audio mixer areas are shown in image below:
Page 469
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
25.2.1
The audio mixer toolbar provides facilities to apply, save or configure the audio mixer.
Note: For multi-channel V-Series Panels the labels of the Hosted Directs will appear on the audio mixer if they are available.
Save to EHX Configuration and Exit
1.
Click on this button to save the audio mixer setup to the current EHX configuration. When in Go Live, mode clicking on this button also saves the audio mixer settings into the current
EHX configuration. After the setup has been saved the audio mixer automatically exits back to panel programming.
2.
Click on this button to allow audio mixer settings to be sent to the panel immediately without the need to save to the configuration and apply a new map.
Page 470
Page 471
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
When the Live mode button is pressed it flashes amber/green and the mixer pane background changes to amber while EHX contacts the matrix and uploads the current audio settings for the selected panel. If the button and audio mixer pane background remain amber (see the following image) this indicates that EHX was unable to obtain the current panel audio settings from the matrix (the panel may not be connected to the matrix).
It may take a few seconds for EHX to obtain the panel details from the matrix.
When the settings have been loaded the button and audio mixer pane background turns green to indicate that the settings may be adjusted (see the following image).
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
25.2.2
25.2.3
25.2.4
Whenever a setting is changed in Live mode it is sent to the matrix to be applied to the panel and a confirmation is returned. While EHX is waiting for confirmation that the change has been applied the Live mode button changes to amber and then to green when confirmation is received.
Restore to Default Values
Click on this button to reset all the mixer settings for the current layout to their default values. The user is asked to confirm the request. Click on Yes to replace the current settings with the default settings or No to cancel the action. This option can also be used when in Live mode.
Save to File
Click on this button to save the audio mixer settings to a file. The file save dialog requests a file name. If no filename extension is given it defaults to .amc. This feature is available when in Live mode.
Load from File
Click on this button to load audio mixer settings from a file previously created by the file save function. If this function is used in Live mode, the settings in the file is sent straight to the panel.
Page 472
25.2.5
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Layout Settings
Click on this button to display a drop-down menu of layout options. These options configure the audio mixer for V-Series panels that have their audio connected in different ways such as the
Matrix port, the 25-way D-type auxiliary audio and the AES3 interface.
Note : The layout cannot be changed while in Live mode.
Layout basic settings
This configures the audio mixer for the panel when using the matrix RJ-45 analog matrix connection.
Layout basic settings using D25
This configures the audio mixer for use with the analog RJ-45 and auxiliary audio connectors.
Layout binaural coax/AES
This configures the audio mixer for use with the AES3 digital option card. The AES3 option card has both RJ-45 and coax connectors and auto-detects which is in use. This option applies regardless of which connection on the AES3 card is used.
Layout binaural coax/AES using D25
This configures the audio mixer for use with the AES3 digital option card and the auxiliary audio connector or front headset (XLR-5 or XLR-7). The AES3 option card has both RJ-45 and coax connectors and auto-detects which is in use. This option applies regardless of which connection on the AES3 card is used.
IP Basic
This configures the audio mixer for use with the Ethernet connector.
IP One Sub-Channel
This configures the audio mixer for use with one additional IP channel.
IP Two Sub-Channels
This configures the audio mixer for use with two additional IP channels.
Page 473
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
25.2.6
IP with Binaural
This configures the audio mixer for use with a binaural headset using the front headset (XLR-5 or
XLR-7) or rear Headset #2 connector.
Input Area
This area contains a list of all the available audio sources and five columns for processes that can be applied to the audio before it is sent to the crosspoint audio mixers. Any processing applied at this point affects the audio supplied to all the downstream mixing.
Audio inputs
The first column in the input area lists all the inputs that may be available in the configuration. All of the possible inputs are listed below but some inputs may not be available depending on which input/output interface options have been selected.
HS1 Mic GN
This input takes audio from the headset1 microphone or gooseneck microphone.
HS2 Mic
This input takes audio from the headset2 microphone.
Matrix1
This input takes mono audio from the analog matrix connection if the Basic Layout is being used or one channel of stereo audio from the AES3 digital option card if this is fitted.
Matrix2
This input takes a second channel of stereo audio from the AES3 digital option card. This input is only available if the AES3 digital option is fitted.
Ext0
This is the port labelled as Matrix (Analog) and can be used as a local analog port when in IP .
Ext1
Page 474
Page 475
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
This input uses the External Input 1 on the auxiliary audio connector.
Ext2
This input uses the External Input 2 on the auxiliary audio connector.
Listen again
This input uses audio from the listen again facility.
Filter
The filter column shows a graphic representing the type of audio filtering that is being applied to the audio inputs. The graphic represents the frequency profile of the input filters.
Output area
The top row of the output area lists all the outputs that may be available in the configuration. All of the possible outputs are listed below but some outputs may not be available in specific configurations.
Main LS
This outputs audio to the main panel loudspeaker.
Aux o/p
This outputs audio to the auxiliary loudspeaker via the auxiliary audio connector.
Matrix1
This output sends either mono audio to the matrix via the analog matrix connection or one channel of stereo audio to the matrix via the AES3 digital connection.
Matrix2
This output sends one channel of stereo audio to the matrix via the AES3 digital matrix connection. It is also present if there are additional IP channels configured on an IP-enabled V-
Series panel.
Page 476
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Matrix3
This is present if there are an additional 2 IP channels configured on an IP-enabled V-Series panel.
HS1L
This output sends audio to the main panel headset left ear.
HS1R
This output sends audio to the main panel headset right ear.
HS2L
This output sends audio to the second headset left ear via the auxiliary audio connector.
HS2R
This output sends audio to the second headset right ear via the auxiliary audio connector.
Ext1
This sends audio output to the first external output via the auxiliary audio connector.
Ext2
This sends audio output to the second external output via the auxiliary audio connector.
Hot Mic
This sends audio output to the hot mic output via the auxiliary audio connector.
Voicerec
This output sends audio to the Listen Again voice recording facility.
Limiter/threshold/compressor
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
These settings are all linked together and provide a facility for controlling the overall level of the input audio. The settings allow the audio level to be limited to a maximum and audio above a threshold level to be modified as it approaches the maximum permissible level.
Page 477
Limiter
This sets the maximum audio level on the input that is passed to further stages of the audio mixer. The limiter settings are: l
Off l
-6dB l
-8db
Threshold
The threshold setting determines the level at which audio compression starts. When the audio input level passes the threshold, it begins to be compressed so that the output level from the compressor approaches the audio limit more slowly as the audio input level rises. The threshold settings are:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
Off l
-10dB l
-20dB
Compressor
The audio compressor reduces the audio level by compressing it whenever the audio level exceeds the threshold. This has the effect of allowing the audio level to rise but reducing it by a fixed ratio. The compressor settings are: l
Off l
Compression 5:1 l
Compression 3:1
For example, if the compressor is set to 5:1 with a threshold of -10dB this has the effect that for every 5dB increase in the input level above the threshold of -10dB the compressor outputs only
1dB of increase. So, if the input audio is 20dB above the threshold the output from the compressor only shows an increase of 4dB. If the limiter was set to +6dB then a 20dB increase would normally exceed the limiter (10dB + 20dB = 10dB) so the audio level would be cut off at
+6dB. With the compressor, the audio level would not reach the limit so the audio would still rise to mimic the input (-10dB + 4dB = -6dB).
Page 478
Input trim
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
The input trim sets the amount by which the output from the filter and compressor is modified before it is fed to the audio crosspoints. It is displayed as a color-coded dial indicating the trim action. To set the trim right-click over the dial to display the list of preset trim levels.
25.2.7
If the dial is colored blue, then no trim (0dB) is being applied. If the dial is green, then a negative trim is being applied to reduce the audio level. If the dial is red, then a positive trim is being applied to increase the audio level.
Crosspoints
The crosspoint area of the audio mixer displays all the crosspoints available for the current configuration and the status of the crosspoint.
Each crosspoint allows individual setting of the input and output audio between the audio source in the input section and the Asia destination in the output section. Each crosspoint is displayed as a dial with color coding to show the status of the crosspoint. The color codes are: l
Grey - crosspoint is muted so no audio passes through the crosspoint.
l
Blue - audio level gain is set to 0dB or controlled by a volume knob.
l
Green - audio level is reduced in the crosspoint (gain level is negative for example, -
3dB).
l
Red - audio level is increased in the crosspoint (gain level is positive for example,
+3dB).
l
Blank - no crosspoint.
Page 479
Page 480
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
The center of the dial is also color coded when appropriate to indicate whether the audio level is being controlled by software only or by the panel volume controls. The settings are: l
No colored center - audio levels are set in software only.
l
White center - audio level is set by main volume control knob.
l
Mauve center - audio level is set by auxiliary volume control knob.
Right-clicking on a crosspoint dial displays a list of options for setting the crosspoint.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
If an additional yellow ring is displayed on the crosspoint dial this indicates that the crosspoint is also used by locally generated panel IFBs. If the panel IFB is activated the audio output from the crosspoint mixer is reduced (dimmed) by the specified amount.
Page 481
The colored segment in the outer dial indicates the dim setting for the IFB (the amount by which the source audio is dimmed when the IFB control is activated). This is set by right-clicking on the dial and selecting the required IFB level. The panel IFB is activated using a control set up in
Control Manager.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 482
The level settings from +12dB to -30dB represent the levels set for audio through the crosspoint, and Mute stops all audio through the crosspoint. Below this are the IFB dim levels from 0dB to -
30dB and Mute (IFB completely interrupts audio feed).
Setting Up V-series panel audio mixing IFBs in imported configurations
When an EHX 4.2 map is imported the IFB control information V-Series panels is lost due to changes in the way the configuration data is organized. To restore the IFBs and restore the control information:
1.
Open Panel Programming from the Configuration menu.
2.
Select the V-Series panel that the IFB control was originally attached to.
25.2.8
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
3.
Open the Audio Mixer.
4.
Use Audio Mixer to set the IFB dimming for EXT1 and EXT2 crosspoints as required. This action creates Panel IFB relays IFB1 and IFB2 for that panel.
5.
Close the Audio Mixer.
6.
Open the Control Manager.
7.
Select the Panel IFB relays tab. The available IFBs are displayed.
8.
Select a control or create a new control.
9.
Use the Control Manager to attach the IFB to the control.
10.
Close the Control Manager.
11.
In panel programming the control is now available under the Controls tab to be assigned to a key on the panel in the normal way.
Output Area
The Output Area contains trim controllers for individual outputs displayed as dials. When these are set whatever audio is being sent to the output is changed by the specified amount. As before right-clicking the dial displays the audio settings available for that output. The dials are color coded to indicate the trim applied as described for the crosspoint.
Page 483
26
26.1
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Go Live Mode
Introduction to Go Live Mode
Go Live mode is a mode that allows changes to be made to the configuration of a live system without the need to apply a new configuration. The new configuration is held in the matrix and even if the matrix is reset the modified configuration is preserved rather than defaulting back to the original configuration map.
Note: This feature used to be called Online Mode.
The changes are not automatically added to the system configuration controlled by EHX until the modified configuration is saved either by clicking on the Save’ button in the File menu on exiting
Go Live mode, by applying a map to the matrix or by exiting EHX and selecting Yes to save the configuration.
Go Live mode allows: l
The labels on a key (including beltpacks) to be added, deleted or moved in Panel
Programming.
l
Forced Listen and Blocked Listens to be updated in Local Advanced.
The functions which can be used in Go Live mode are indicated by green color-coding of the menu entries and button text.
However, there is an important limitation when using Go Live mode on linked systems. If a label refers to a source or destination on a remote matrix (a matrix linked to the current matrix) it cannot be assigned in Go Live mode unless it is already present in the current map being modified. For such a label to be present in a configuration it must have been assigned at least once and then applied as part of a map.
So, it is recognized by the matrix if it is assigned in Go Live mode. Local sources and destinations
(on the current matrix) can be assigned for the first time in Go Live mode provided they have already been set up in the current map. For example, a local Party Line cannot be created in Go
Live mode, but it can be assigned to a key for the first time in Go Live mode.
If a remote source or destination is assigned to a key for the first time in Go Live mode, the label is initially displayed in the panel mimic and then disappear because the matrix rejects the assignment request. Further information on this limitation is given later in this section of the guide.
Go Live mode operates in a completely live mode so that as soon as a change is made in EHX the configuration in the matrix is updated. If a label on a key is changed for example, the panel affected is updated without any further user intervention.
Page 484
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
EHX is notified of any changes that are made live, so if EHX is running on any other PC which is also configuring the same matrix and in Go Live mode it is also updated with the changes.
Therefore, it is possible for more than one EHX to be editing a configuration with each change being displayed on all the copies of EHX connected and in Go Live mode. However, this mode of operation is not recommended due to the risk of the different copies of the configuration diverging later if one of the instances of EHX ceases to be online.
26.2
Entering Go Live Mode
1.
Select System > Go Live to open a drop-down menu of Go Live mode options.
Page 485
The live modes have the following effects: l
Go Live (No Merge) - go live without merging the current EHX configuration with the current matrix configuration.
Page 486
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
Go Live (EHX To System) - merge the current EHX configuration down to the matrix; the EHX configuration takes precedence.
l
Go Live (System To EHX) - merge the current matrix configuration up to EHX. The matrix configuration takes precedence.
l
Go Live (Visual Merge) - merge the configurations and offer the operator the option to decide which configuration takes precedence in the event of a conflict.
If the name of the configuration on the matrix is different to the configuration currently open in
EHX, Live mode displays an error message.
The user may continue with the operation by clicking on the Yes button, but it is generally not advisable. If the user does continue with the operation further errors may be reported.
EHX then compares the matrix configuration with the current EHX configuration. If inconsistencies are found between the current configuration in EHX and the information from the matrix informatory messages are displayed.
EHX displays any differences between the current configuration open in EHX and the information from the matrix. For example, if a key is present on a panel in the EHX configuration but not in the matrix configuration then it be reported as a difference.
The same approach applies to forced and blocked listens.
Beltpacks and panels attached to the matrix that are offline or disconnected are not considered when EHX is checking for differences between the matrix configuration and the EHX configuration.
The user is given the following options if the configurations cannot be merged: l
Upload On Matrix into EHX - overwrite the configuration in EHX with the current matrix configuration.
l
Download In EHX to matrix - overwrite the configuration in the matrix with the current
EHX configuration.
l
Export - export the Go Live mode error report as a text file for analysis.
l
Cancel - Cancel the live operation and exit Go Live mode.
Some conditions can cause the live merge to report errors. The most common conditions are: l
Panels present in the EHX configuration but not in the matrix configuration.
l
Panels present on the matrix but not in the EHX configuration.
l
Panels with locally assigned keys that are different to the keys set up in the EHX configuration.
26.3
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
In general merge errors arise when there are mismatches in the configuration through offline assignments in EHX or live assignments through a panel. The live error report that can be exported from EHX should be used to resolve conflicts if it is not desirable to overwrite either the
EHX configuration or the matrix configuration.
If the matrix configuration appears to merge without errors being reported but there are apparent changes in areas such as panel programming the user should check whether the map in EHX has been imported but not applied before entering Go Live mode.
Once the configurations have been synchronized the background on the menu pane turns green and live editing of panel setups may be carried out. The Go Live button now displays Go Offline.
Using Go Live Mode
In the example below keys are assigned to a panel in Go Live mode to take immediate effect.
Page 487
If the keys are changed on this panel the changes are sent to the matrix and then on to the panel.
The matrix returns a confirmation to EHX that the panel has been updated.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Forced and blocked listens on crosspoints in Local Advanced can also be set or cleared using Go
Live mode. It should be noted that the Forced Listens shown in Local Advanced can be IFB sources.
As with panel labels these changes take immediate effect.
26.4
Go Live Limitations
Go Live mode provides much of the functionality of Panel Programming, but it cannot be used to create new entities. This must be done in EHX. Specifically Go Live mode cannot: l
Create or edit a Party Line.
l
Create or edit a Fixed Group.
l
Create or edit a Control.
l
Create the first remote key to a Control.
l
Create a stacked key.
l
Create or edit an IFB.
Page 488
26.5
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Also, as noted previously Go Live cannot assign a label that refers to a remote system unless it is already present in the current map. For such a label to be present in a configuration it must have been assigned at least once and then applied as part of a map. In this way it is recognized by the matrix if it is assigned in Go Live mode.
Exiting Go Live Mode
To exit Go Live mode, click Exit Live Mode .
The background color of the menu pane returns to gray. The button text changes to Go Live .
At this point the configuration on EHX and on the matrix should be synchronized but the configuration is not saved in the database at this point. The configuration on the matrix is preserved in non-volatile memory in the event of a power failure but it is lost if a new configuration is applied. Therefore, it is highly recommended that after a configuration is updated in Go Live mode it should be saved in EHX either to the current project or as a new project to ensure that the changes are preserved.
Go Live mode can also be ended as a result of other actions that force EHX out of this Go Live mode.
Possible actions include: l
Changing to a different configuration while live. This action causes EHX to drop the connection to the matrix.
l
Closing the current project without exiting Go Live mode first.
l
Selecting Apply Map to Matrix to apply a new map to the matrix.
l
A physical reset of the matrix. In this case as well as dropping Go Live mode the background of the menu pane turns red to indicate that the connection to the matrix has been lost.
l
Loss of the Ethernet connection to the matrix. As with a reset the menu pane background changes to red to indicate that the connection has been lost.
Page 489
27
27.1
27.2
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Networking
Network System Configuration
Using the layout pane, you can create, delete, or edit matrices for a particular matrix system. You can also allocate configurations to Eclipse HX matrices, clear configurations and retrieve active current configurations.
The layout screen also allows you to manage Intelligent Linking Trunks. For more information, see
Intelligent Linking (Trunking) .
Configuration Passwords
Individual configurations can be password protected to prevent unintended or unauthorized changes to be made or the configuration to be applied to a matrix.
1.
To set the password on the current configuration right-click the matrix on the layout pane and select Configuration > Configuration Manager .
When the Configuration Manager is open the properties of any of the available configurations (on that matrix) can be viewed and edited.
Page 490
2.
To set or change the password for a configuration type the password into the Password field and then retype in the Confirm password field. Then click on the Update Details to add the password to the configuration. The configuration must be saved and closed before the password becomes operative.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
EHX users with Admin rights can always open a configuration regardless of whether a password has been set and reset the password if required. If an EHX user without Admin rights opens a password protected configuration they are asked for the password.
27.3
The correct password must be entered to open the configuration. Once the configuration has been opened by an EHX user with User rights that user may then change or remove the password.
The configuration password may be removed by opening the configuration properties and clearing both the Password and Confirm password fields and then saving the configuration.
The next time the configuration is opened it is no longer password protected.
Using the Layout Pane
The layout pane is accessed from the EHX menu pane. Below is a description of each option.
The commands available to the user depend on whether the user has Admin rights.
Page 491
Matrix status
27.4
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
The matrix icons in the layout pane are colored according to the status of the matrices: l
Amber - the EHX configuration is not the same as the current matrix configuration.
l
Red - wrong firmware on matrix for current version of EHX.
l
Grey - matrix unavailable or already connected to EHX.
l
Green - matrix is connected and available.
Protocols and port numbers
The Eclipse HX system components (Matrix and EHX) communicate using UDP and TCP protocols.
Rack to rack
The volume of traffic both exchanged rack to rack and rack to/from EHX is not large, there are however of course some points when this is at a peak. The racks use both directed and broadcast UDP traffic to communicate.
Broadcast: UDP Port 42001
Directed: UDP Port 42001
Rack to EHX
UDP Port 1300
TCP Port 52001 to TCP Port 52020 inclusive (Lifetime of out of sequence packets 1 sec).
Allocating a Configuration to a Matrix
To allocate a configuration to a matrix:
1.
Select the matrix by clicking over the matrix icon on the layout pane. The matrix is highlighted with a green border.
2.
Click Tools > Configuration Bank on the EHX toolbar to open the menu listing the configuration slots available (normally four). Select the bank for the configuration.
3.
Right-click the matrix to open the menu and select Configuration > Configuration
Manager .
4.
In Configuration Manager , select the configuration to be applied to the matrix and then click on the Activate button to apply the configuration to the matrix.
Page 492
27.5
27.6
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
5.
Close the Configuration Manager . The name of the selected configuration is displayed on the matrix.
Deleting a Matrix From the Project
To delete a matrix from the layout pane:
1.
Right-click the matrix.
2.
From the context menu, select Delete Matrix from Project .
The matrix is deleted from the current project and removed from the layout pane.
Retrieving the Last Applied Configuration From the Matrix
To retrieve the last applied configuration from the matrix:
1.
Right-click on the matrix.
2.
From the context menu, select Configuration > Retrieve Map from Matrix . The following message appears:
27.7
3.
Click Yes to continue. A confirmation message appears.
Note: The Retrieve Configuration functionality is not available over a serial connection between the Eclipse HX matrix and the EHX PC.
Exporting a Binary Downloadable Version of the Configuration
File
You can download a binary version of the matrix configuration file with applications that use the
HCI interface software. To do so:
Page 493
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
1.
From System Layout , click Configuration Manager on the Matrix icon
The Configuration Manager screen appears.
27.8
2.
Click Save Map Export File.
3.
Select a location to store the file.
For more information, see the HCI Reference User Guide .
Intelligent Linking (Trunking)
As many as 64 separate Eclipse HX-Omega, Eclipse HX-Median, Eclipse HX-Delta and Eclipse
HX-PiCo system matrices can be intelligently linked, using dedicated audio trunk lines and an
Ethernet network. Audio travels between the matrices on the dedicated trunk lines, while control data travels on the Ethernet network.
When intelligent linking is enabled, multiple sources from one matrix are mixed on one or more trunks that connect to the destination matrix. When intelligent linking is not enabled, multiple sources from one matrix are never mixed on trunks. Any mixing of audio takes place only on the destination matrix.
You can intelligently link Eclipse HX matrices using: l
Fiber-optic connections (using E-FIB fiber cards).
l
Four-wire connections (using MVX-A16 analog cards).
l
E1/T1 connections (using E-QUE cards).
Page 494
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
MADI connections (using E-MADI64 cards). When using E-MADI64 cards, ensure that
Trunk Port 1 on the first card is connected to Trunk Port 1 on the second card, and similarly for Trunk Port 2.
l
IP trunks/directs between two IVC-32 cards in separate matrices (see
l
IP to 4-wire trunks using IVC-32 cards and LQ devices.
l
IP trunk/direct between E-Dante cards on separate matrices (use E-Dante64-HX cards and Dante controller to set up connections.
Note: Fiber, E1/T1, MADI, DANTE and IP trunks/directs linking is only available to Eclipse HX-
Omega, Eclipse HX-Median and Eclipse HX-Delta matrices.
You can intelligently link Eclipse HX-PiCo matrices using: l
Four-wire connections.
l
The PiCo-link to PiCo-link.
l
Omega, Median, Delta matrices with IVC-32, and LQ devices.
Note: PiCo-link is only available for Eclipse HX-PiCo to Eclipse HX-PiCo connections. The
PiCo-link does not support hopping.
The sections below on Fiber trunking and Four-wire trunking provide a basic overview of the intelligent linking process. For more information, see: l
The relevant matrix user guide.
l
Eclipse HX Installation Guide.
If you add or remove trunk lines, you might see the following message:
Page 495
Click OK to continue.
If you add or remove intelligent links, and then apply your configuration to a matrix, you might see the following message when you apply changes to the matrix:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
27.8.1
Click View Configuration Differences to see a list of changes that affect the intercommunication between matrices. You are advised to Apply Changes to all matrices.
Click OK to continue or Cancel .
Two or More Fiber Connected Systems via Trunk
EHX Version 12 and above.
It is now possible to join two or more fiber connected systems of multiple matrices together via any trunk method (for example, IP, MADI). This is known as a Cross Ring IP Bridge system
(CRIB).
Limitations: l
Maximum of 7 hops from the caller to the destination matrix l
Reserve ports are not shared between linked CRIB systems l
Matrix system numbers must be unique across the linked system
Page 496
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
27.8.2
Trunk Grouping
If you require more than one trunk, instead of configuring each trunk separately, it might be quicker and more convenient to configure the trunks at the same time. This option is called trunk grouping.
When a trunk is allocated in Cards and Ports , if the card has available ports (defined as contiguous ports following the created port) creating a trunk bundle is permitted and the multichannel trunk dialog is displayed.
Page 497
You can select any value from the Available ports drop down list, and this number of trunks will be created in total. The default value is one. The Master Port is the port that you initially create.
It can also be done by selecting contiguous trunks and using the right-click context menu.
27.8.3
Intelligent Linking Preferences
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
27.8.4
From Configuration > Preferences > Intelligent Linking you can: l
Specify the format of Alias Labels . Aliases mean that labels can be displayed differently on a connected, remote system from the way they are displayed on the local system. Choose between the following: l
Same as the local label l
Local label prefixed with the system number l
Freely editable l
Define which ports are used for Comfort Tones (warning tones). Comfort tone ports are used to indicate a trunking failure to panel users.
l
Enable or disable intelligent link sharing. For more information, see
.
27.2.4 Intelligent Linking: Port Priority
Trunk selection prioritisation is as follows:
Page 498
27.8.5
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Priority
1
Description
Fibre – these trunks are given top rating i.e. they are used whenever possible. This is because the fibre card only exists to trunk matrices together.
2
3
4
5
MADI, Dante – Low latency, linear audio.
E1/T1 – G722 or G711 compressed, low latency audio.
MVX – Low latency good quality audio, however, typically, link detection is not supported. No link detection when 4-wire cabling used. See appropriate manual for cabling that supports link detection.
IVC32 – These are given the lowest rating as they have lower audio quality and increased audio latency.
Pre-Mix Intelligent Link Sharing Mode
When enabled, this option allows multiple audio sources to be mixed before being routed out of a matrix over an intelligent link for any route type (for example, talk to remote panel, talk to fixed group with remote members, call to remote IFB).
This pre-mixing of sources onto an intelligent link can reduce the number of intelligent links in use in the system at any one time. For example, if disabled and a panel latches four listen keys to ports on another matrix (matrix B) then four intelligent links will be used while these keys are activated. If the mode is enabled, then only one intelligent link will be used while these keys are activated.
This option is not enabled by default because it means that separate remote source level controls on the panel can affect each other when the sources are sharing the same audio transport. This is because the level control only adjusts the listen level of the intelligent link at the local matrix.
Notes: Pre-mixing onto intelligent links is always enabled for the routing to partylines as it has no adverse effects on level control, because when using partylines the levels from partyline members can’t be independently adjusted.
Projects imported into EHX that have been created using earlier versions of EHX will have this option automatically enabled.
To enable or disable intelligent link sharing:
1.
Select Configuration > Preferences > Intelligent Linking .
2.
Select or deselect the Enable Intelligent Link sharing check box.
Page 499
27.8.6
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Fiber Trunking
To enable fiber trunking, you must install and configure E-FIB fiber cards in the matrices you want to connect.
Fiber trunked matrix matrices are normally connected in a ring configuration. An example connection layout (the IP addresses increment to match the system numbers) is shown below.
Page 500
An example of matrices with trunks is shown below.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
27.8.7
To configure fiber trunks:
1.
Open Hardware > Cards and Ports , then add an E-FIB card on the first matrix where the trunks are to be configured.
2.
Open Hardware > Cards and Ports , then add an E-FIB card on the second matrix where the trunks are to be configured.
3.
The systems layout should be automatically updated with the trunk information on both matrices. The trunks have been added to the bottom of each matrix and the port number should be shown. From the System Layout Pane, use your mouse to draw a line joining the trunk ports of the matrices.
4.
To apply the configuration changes, Select Apply Map to Matrix in the System menu.
5.
Open the File menu and select Save project or Save Project As to save the updated project.
Four-Wire Trunks
To configure four-wire trunks:
1.
Open Hardware > Cards and Ports , then select the MVX card on the first matrix where the trunks are to be configured.
2.
Configure the required ports as Trunks .
3.
Switch to the MVX card on the second matrix, and configure the required ports as Trunks .
Page 501
27.8.8
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
4.
On the layout pane, ensure that the required systems layout is open
The systems layout should be automatically updated with the trunk information on both matrices. The trunks have been added to the bottom of each matrix and the port number should be shown. From the System Layout Pane, use your mouse to draw a line joining the trunk ports of the matrices.
5.
To apply the configuration changes, Select Apply Map to All Matrices in the System menu.
6.
Open the File menu and select Save project or Save Project As to save the updated project.
Note: User-configured trunk labels are ignored in Go Live mode and the default labels should be accepted. When changing the trunking information between matrices all of the matrices in the linked set should be reset. The option to reset matrices is available from the apply dialog.
IP Directs and Trunks
The Eclipse IVC-32 cards allow directs and trunks over IP network infrastructure. All IP trunks and directs can be compared directly to four-wire trunks and directs. They comprise: l
A single full duplex audio channel l
Known start and end points
Links have to be made over IP before the trunk/direct can be used.
One side calls the other to set up the link and is known as the VoIP caller. The other side receiving the call checks and decides if it can set up the link – this is the recipient.
If a recipient is not reachable: l
The caller tries three times to establish call l
After it stops trying, a background process checks to see if it’s reachable again l
Calls will start to try again if the process sees the recipient
Calls can be refused by the receiver, if: l
The caller is trying to use a non-existent user name l
The caller is using the wrong password l
The caller is not the expected port type (for example, Trunk calling a Panel) l
The call is refused three times, the caller stops calling
Page 502
Page 503
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
If the call is refused three times, to continue making the call you must select Restart Blocked
Connections at the bottom of the IVC-32 Diagnostics screen.
You can also access the Restart Blocked Connections button by selecting Detailed at the top right of the Monitoring screen.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Configuring an IP direct
1.
In the Cards and Ports screen, for each of the IVC-32 cards, right-click on the card and select Card Properties .
2.
From the IVC-32 Card Properties screen, enter valid IP addresses and gateways for the card.
3.
In the Cards and Ports screen , select the IP direct port.
4.
From the properties list, select IP Port Options .
Page 504
5.
For the caller IVC-32 card, select the VOIP Caller checkbox. The other card will be the recipient.
6.
Enter the IP address of the recipient’s IVC-32 card into the caller’s Remote IP Address so it can make setup the call.
7.
Enter a unique User ID and Password set which matches the IP Direct Port recipient to identify the port it is linking to.
8.
Navigate to the recipient IVC-32 IP Direct Port and ensure that the User ID and Password match what was set in the caller settings.
Note: The following settings can be ignored:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
Local User ID/Password can be ignored for caller l
Remote IP and User ID/Password can be ignored for recipient
Once set up, the IP Direct ports will behave in the same manner as all other Direct ports
As each caller can point to a unique IP address, IP directs on one IVC-32 can link to 32 different destination devices. IP directs cannot link back to a direct on the same card, but can link to other cards on the same Eclipse matrix.
Configuring an IP trunk
1.
In the Cards and Ports screen, for each of the IVC-32 cards, right-click on the card and select Card Properties .
2.
From the IVC-32 Card Properties screen, enter valid IP addresses and gateways for the card.
3.
In the Cards and Ports screen , select the trunk port.
4.
From the properties list, select IP Port Options , and enter valid settings for the Network
Connection, Audio Codec and VOIP Caller . The VoIP caller field will be automatically populated when the trunk lines are drawn on the layout screen.
Page 505
5.
Repeat for any matrices in the linked set you wish to link over IP (1 port per trunk link, point to point).
6.
In the Layout screen, drag the trunk links as required. The direction of the drag creates the link as Caller to Recipient.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Note: Right-clicking on the link and the ports allow you to change caller, network connection type and flip ports.
27.8.9
LQ Trunks – Eclipse Omega/Median/Delta to PiCo
You can configure a port on an IVC-32 card as an LQ trunk, and use this trunk to link to any 4-
Wire trunk port, including a PiCo matrix, via an LQ Series device, as shown below.
Page 506
To access and configure the IVC-32 port:
1.
On the PiCo matrix, go to Hardware > Cards and Ports .
2.
From the port drop-down list, select Trunk .
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
3.
On the Omega, Median or Delta matrix, Go to Hardware > Cards and Ports and select the IVC-32 card.
4.
From the drop-down list, select LQ Trunk .
Page 507
5.
Highlight the port, and expand the Basic Options and IP Port Options properties.
Page 508
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
6.
In Basic Options , you can enter an optional Comment and Description, and enter a Label to identify the LQ Trunk.
7.
In IP Port Options, enter or select: l
The User ID – a default ID is automatically generated that you can edit as required.
l
Password - a default password is automatically generated that you can edit as required.
l
Network Connection (LAN, WAN or Internet).
l
Audio Codec (G722).
8.
From the layout screen, link the trunk ports on the matrices together by dragging from one port to another.
Page 509
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
9.
Configure the LQ Trunk Ports on your LQ device from the External screen in the LQ Core
Configuration Manager.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
27.8.10
Intelligent Linking with PiCo-Link
Notes: You can create a high capacity CAT-5 connection between two Eclipse HX-PiCo matrix frames using the PiCo-Link connector on each device. Hopping is not supported.
The last four ports on an Eclipse HX-PiCo matrix frame are four-wire ports, and not available for panel connections, and are recommended as 4-wire trunks to other matrices.
Clear-Com recommends that you do not add other ports apart from the 4-W port to the
4-W trunk port on the matrix and the IVC-32 port that connects to the LQ trunk port on the other matrix. Otherwise, the intelligent link may contain undesired audio.
Page 510
Page 511
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
The 36 ports of the first matrix frame are intelligently linked to the 36 ports of the second, creating a 72-port non-blocking system.
You can create one non-blocking 72 port Eclipse HX system by connecting two Eclipse HX-PiCo matrix frames (matrices) together, using the PiCo-Link RJ-45 connectors on the matrices.
To make this connection, use a specially constructed screened CAT-5 cable of maximum length
1 meter (3.28 feet). The cable is wired as shown below:
Cable end 1 Wire color Cable end 2
Pin 1 White / orange Pin 3
Pin 2
Pin 3
Orange
White / green
Pin 6
Pin 1
Pin 4
Pin 5
Pin 6
Pin 7
Blue
White / blue
Green
White / brown
Pin 4
Pin 5
Pin 2
Pin 7
To transfer data between two linked Eclipse HX-PiCo matrices using the PiCo-Link also requires that the Ethernet ports are connected with either a cross-over shielded CAT-5 cable or a switch using conventional shielded CAT-5 cable.
Setting up a Pico link
To set up a Pico link:
1.
In the Layout screen, for each Pico matrix, select Hardware > Cards and Ports > PiCo-
Link .
2.
In the drop-down list, select PiCo-Link .
3.
In the Layout screen, using the mouse drag a link from one Pico matrix to the one you need to link to.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
If you want to disable the link:
1. On the Layout screen, click on the link connecting the two Pico matrices and press Delete .
27.9
Programming Remote Labels
1.
Select Configuration > Panels .
2.
From the Panel Programming area of the screen select the required panel to be programmed by either selecting the panel from the drop-down list or cycling through the panels by selecting the left or right arrows.
3.
To assign keys click on the required item in the list of available labels, drag the items to the required key and drop them over the display corresponding to the key and then click on the mouse to confirm the assignment.
4.
When the labels have been programmed onto the required panel or panels, apply the changes by selecting the Apply Changes To System link in the System menu. The newly programmed labels should appear in the required positions.
5.
To program labels onto the next matrix, switch between the configurations by selecting the required matrix from the layout pane.
27.10
Remote Fixed Groups
Remote Members from one system can be added to a Fixed Group of a local system.
To configure a remote member to a local Fixed group:
Page 512
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
1.
Select Fixed Groups from the Configuration menu.
2.
Create a Fixed Group by clicking on the New button.
3.
Enter the Talk and Listen labels for the new Fixed Group and a description if required.
4.
Set up the properties of the new Fixed Group using the properties dialog in the Properties pane.
5.
Select the members of the group from the Available pane and click on the > button to transfer them to the Attached pane. They are now members of the group. To remove members from the group select them in the Attached pane and click on the < to transfer them back to the Available pane.
6.
Click on the Apply Map to Matrix button to apply the new map to the matrix immediately or close the Fixed Groups dialog if other changes are to be made.
Note: The available members area is filtered according to the active matrix filters, but the attached area always shows all attached members, even if their matrices are filtered out.
27.11
Remote Partylines
To add remote partyline members from one system to the partyline of a local system:
1.
Select Partylines from the Configuration menu.
2.
Create a partyline by clicking on the New button.
3.
Enter the Talk and Listen labels for the new partyline and a description if required.
Page 513
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
4.
Set up the properties of the new partyline using the properties dialog in the Properties pane.
5.
Select the members of the partyline from the Available pane and click on the > button to transfer them to the Attached pane. They are now members of the partyline. To remove members from the partyline select them in the Attached pane and click on the < to transfer them back to the Available pane.
6.
Click Apply Changes to apply the new map to the matrix immediately or close the Partyline dialog if other changes are to be made.
Note: The available members area is filtered according to the active matrix filters, but the attached area always shows all attached members, even if their matrices are filtered out.
27.12
Remote 2-Way Radio
If a 2-way radio system is connected via a FOR-22, the 2-Way Radio can operate over an intelligently linked system.
To configure a remote 2-way radio:
Page 514
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
1.
Create a control. Attach the relay for the FOR-22 and set the control as a secondary action on the FOR-22.
2.
Apply and reset the first matrix.
3.
Switch matrices, and open Panels > Remote Interfaces . Locate the remote 2-way radio
4.
Program the 2-way radio onto the required panel and click Apply Label Changes .
When a 2-way radio contributes audio to a partyline, the VOX on the port will detect the audio and fire any other 2-way radio that is in the partyline but will NOT fire itself.
Note: The Vox timeout and activation level for the 2-way radio port should be set to the users preference.
The relay for a 2-way radio in a partyline is also activated by the key from a panel when the Audio
Presence tally is off in the properties for that panel.
If more than one 2-way radio contributes audio to the partyline then all 2-way radio relays including the contributors will turn on.
Notes: A call signal to a partyline will also trigger the Relay.
There may be some delay activating the 2-way radio relay when a partyline has multiple 2-way radios in because audio coming into the system on one radio will trigger the
VOX that will in turn activate the PTTs on the other radios in the partyline.
For information about radio interfacing with Clear-Com systems, see the Clear-Com Gateway product documentation.
27.13
Remote Telephone
Remote Telephone functionality enables you to configure a TEL-14 telephone module on one system to be available for use on another system. To make a remote telephone call, DTMF tone generation is required.
An Eclipse HX user panel (V-Series or i-Series) can make remote calls both manually (using the dial pad) and through speed dials.
Note: For more information about setting up and using the TEL-14 module, see the TEL-14
User Guide. For more information about user panels, see the V-Series User Guide and the i-Series Manual.
27.13.1
Remote Manual Dial
User panels can manually dial a remote telephone, using the dial pad. The panel registers as a dialer to the telephone as soon as the panel starts dialing the telephone through the dial pad.
Page 515
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
When the panel comes out of dial mode (ends the call), registration to the telephone port is released.
Note: Only one port at a time (local or remote) can dial the telephone.
27.13.2
Remote Speed Dial
To set up a speed dial to a remote telephone between two linked matrices:
1.
Open the Panels screen and locate the telephony interface in the label palette
2.
Program the telephony interface onto any required panel(s)
3.
In Controls, select the control for the speed dial and program next to the telephony interface
4.
Activate a talk for the telephone
5.
Activate the speed dial (make the call).
Alternatively:
1.
Set-up telephone and speed dial as above.
2.
Switch matrices
3.
Program the telephony interface onto any required panels
4.
Double click the talk label to the telephony interface
5.
Select controls and click on the speed dial control
6.
Add to the stacked key area.
7.
Apply to the matrix
Activating the talk to the telephone operate the speed dial and the call is made
27.13.3
Off Hook and Off Hook Tally
If a talk route is made to that telephone port from either a local or a remote system, the telephone is automatically placed off-hook.
Note : The TEL-14 interface port must be set to Auto-Answer.
The off hook tally state of a telephone port is broadcast to all the systems in a linked set.
To check if the telephone port has been configured as an off hook tally, see the entity table.
27.13.4
Auto Listen
In Eclipse HX, you can set Auto Listen for ports on both the local matrix and remote matrices.
Page 516
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
If a remote port on a matrix has Auto Listen set, any talk path made to it from anywhere in the system has a return listen route made.
27.14
Remote Controls
Controls from one system are made available for use in another system.
To configure remote controls
1.
Create the required controls on a local system
2.
Select Save Linked Configurations.
Page 517
3.
Switch matrices
4.
Open Panels . Select the Controls tab in the labels section of the window
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
5.
A complete list of controls is displayed. Locate the required control.
6.
Program onto any required panel, using drag and drop
7.
Apply to the matrix.
27.15
Remote Secondary Actions
Other functionality implemented is the remote secondary action where a control can be attached to a label as a secondary action.
27.16
Remote IFBs
Panels can have a key to an IFB configured on a remote matrix.
Page 518
28
28.1
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Client Server
Client/Server Operation
Client/Server operation enables multiple clients to share and apply configurations to one or more matrices using a central server which runs EHX.
The application ensures that while a user is editing a configuration, other users are prohibited from also making edits to the same configuration.
If client/server operation is being used, then all the EHX PCs on the network should be configured to run in this mode.
28.2
28.3
Client
EHX must be installed on each client that is used to make edits to configurations or update racks.
The user chooses the server to use when logging in as EHX starts up. The server distinguishes between clients by Username.
Server
The server controls all communications between the clients and the matrices. The server stores all of the projects and ensures that when one configuration is being edited by a client, no other client can edit that configuration at the same time.
The server must also be running IIS (Internet Information Services - a web server provided by
Microsoft).
Page 519
28.4
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
The EHX server provides the back-end services, such as map-building, configuration sharing, and access to the matrices. Clients access the server with an Ethernet connection.
Initial Setup
The following steps need to be completed in the specified order:
1.
Install and configure IIS on the server system.
2.
Install EHX Server.
3.
Install EHX Client on each client PC.
4.
Configure each client PC to access the server.
5.
Login to the server from a client machine.
Note: The default installation path is assumed to be C:\Program Files\ClearCom\Eclipse HX
Configuration Server.
Installing and Configuring IIS on the Server
Stage 1 - Verify IIS is installed
To verify that IIS has been installed:
1.
Go to the Windows Control Panel .
2.
Double-click Administrative Tools .
3.
Verify Internet Information Services exists and is at version 5.0 or above.
Notes: For more information about the options that are not selected by default, but which must be enabled for EHX to run successfully, see
IIS options that must be enabled
below.
If IIS does not exist on the server, complete Stage 1b . Otherwise, proceed to Stage 2.
Stage 1b - Install IIS
Note: The exact procedure may vary depending on the version of Microsoft Windows.
To install IIS:
1.
Open the Windows Control Panel .
2.
Double-click Programs and Features .
3.
Select Turn Windows features on and off .
4.
Select Internet Information Services and complete the install using the wizard.
Page 520
Page 521
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Note: For more information about the options that are not selected by default, but which must be enabled for EHX to run successfully, see
IIS options that must be enabled
below.
IIS options that must be enabled
When installing Internet Information Services, there are certain options which are not selected by default, and that must be enabled to allow EHX to run successfully. (You can select any other options in addition to these, without risk to the installation).
In Windows:
1.
Go to Control Panel.
2.
Select Programs > Turn Windows features on or off .
3.
Under Internet Information Services, make sure the following options are enabled: l
Web Management Tools o
IIS 6 Management Compatibility l
IIS 6 Management Console l
IIS6 Scripting Tools l
IIS6 WMI Compatibility l
IIS Metabase and IIS6 configuration compatibility o
IIS Management Console l
World Wide Web Services o
Application Development Features l
Net Extensibility l
ASP.NET
l
ISAPI Extensions l
ISAPI Filters o
Common HTTP Features l
Default Document l
Directory Browsing l
HTTP Errors l
Static Content
Page 522
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide o
Performance Features l
Static Content Compression o
Security l
Basic Authentication l
Windows Authentication
4.
Under Microsoft .Net Framework 3.0, make sure the following options are enabled: l
Windows Communication Foundation HTTP Activation l
Windows Communication Foundation Non-HTTP Activation
In Windows Server:
1.
Go to Server Manager.
2.
Click Add Roles .
3.
Select Web server (IIS) and click Next .
4.
Under Role Services, ensure the following options are enabled: l
Web Management Tools o
IIS 6 Management Compatibility l
IIS 6 Management Console l
IIS6 Scripting Tools l
IIS6 WMI Compatibility l
IIS Metabase and IIS6 configuration compatibility o
IIS Management Console l
World Wide Web Services o
Application Development Features l
Net Extensibility l
ASP.NET
l
ISAPI Extensions l
ISAPI Filters
Page 523
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide o
Common HTTP Features l
Default Document l
Directory Browsing l
HTTP Errors l
Static Content o
Performance Features l
Static Content Compression o
Security l
Basic Authentication l
Windows Authentication
5.
From Server Manager, click Add Features .
6.
Ensure that the following features are enabled: l
Net Framework 3.5.1 Features l
Net Framework 3.5.1
o WCF Activation l
HTTP Activation l
Non-HTTP Activation
In Windows 10:
1.
Go to Control Panel.
2.
Select Programs > Turn Windows features on or off .
3.
Under Internet Information Services , make sure the following options are enabled: l
Web Management Tools o
IIS 6 Management Compatibility l
IIS 6 Management Console l
IIS 6 Scripting Tools
Page 524
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
IIS 6 WMI Compatibility l
IIS Metabase and IIS 6 configuration compatibility o
IIS Management Console o
IIS Management Scripts and Tools l
World Wide Web Services o
Application Development Features l
NET Extensibility 3.5
l
NET Extensibility 4.5
l
ASP.NET 3.5
l
ASP.NET 4.7
l
ISAPI Extensions l
ISAPI Filters o
Common HTTP Features l
Default Document l
Directory Browsing l
HTTP Errors l
Static Content o Performance Features l
Static Content Compression o
Security l
Basic Authentication l
Windows Authentication
4.
Under .NET Framework 3.5 (includes .Net 2.0 and 3.0) l
Windows Communication Foundation HTTP Activation l
Windows Communication Foundation Non-HTTP Activation
5.
Under .NET Framework 4.7 Advanced n
ASP
Page 525
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide n
ASP.NET 4.7
6.
WCF Services o
HTTP Activation o
Message Queuing (MSMQ) Activation o
Named Pipe Activation o
TCP Activation o
TCP Port Sharing
Stage 2 - Install EHX Server
1.
Install EHX Server (Run the EHX server installation *.exe
file).
Client configuration
An EHX client installation is required on each client system.
Login to the server from a client machine
1.
At the EHX login dialog box click the Options button to display the Log on to field.
2.
Type the following string, replacing <Machine Name> with the name of the EHX server: http://<Machine Name>/EclipseServer/.
The client must able to connect to the server to login. If it cannot connect an appropriate error is displayed. This problem may even be encountered in the case where the client is on the same machine as the server when the machine is not connected to the network.
If the access to the server is required with the machine in this state, setting the EHX server as http://127.0.0.1/EclipseServer/ allows this (this is using the network loopback address).
Page 526
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Note: To determine the EHX Server Machine Name log in to the EHX Server. Click Start and then Run. Type cmd into the box and click OK. At the command prompt type ipconfig
/all. Use the listed Host Name as the EHX server name.
Using Client/Server
Username
Each user is distinguished by Username and users on different clients should always use different Usernames when logging in to the EHX Server.
Usernames on the EHX server are set up by logging in to the EHX Server and using the User
Management facility as described in the Connecting a Matrix section, to set up and manage users.
If a user on a client attempts to log in to the EHX Server with a Username that is already in use a warning is shown. If the new user continues, the existing user session is terminated, and the user who has now been logged out is informed.
Host name
When logging in to an EHX server running in client/server mode use the Options button to display the server that the user is logging on to and enter the server name explicitly instead of using the default local host name.
29
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Using the Diagnostic Tools
The Diagnostics menu accesses tools that display information about the state of the system’s hardware and software operation that is useful for diagnosing and preventing problems.
Note: The Save Diagnostics Information utility (Help > Save Diagnostics Information) enables you to take a snapshot of the current state of your project, the EHX PC and the matrices, and store this information as a zip file on your computer. This information can then be sent to Clear-Com support to assist with the diagnosis of issues.
For more information, see
Save Diagnostics Information Utility
.
29.1
Note: The Beltpack Status and Antenna Status options are only available if there is an E-Que
FS II-TA Antenna or an E-Que FS II-TA Splitter in the matrix.
Crosspoint Map
Use the Crosspoint map to give a visual display of all crosspoints or source-to-destination assignments in the matrix system. The crosspoint map is a graphical representation of all inputs and outputs in the system.
You can use this map to identify talk and listen assignments, forced listens and blocked listens.
You can also use it to make or cancel crosspoints and to override input and output levels set up in the map.
The grey triangles denote active crosspoints, pink half circles denote auto listen crosspoints, red crosses denote blocked listen crosspoints and violet half circles denote forced listen crosspoints.
The crosspoint map displays both the labels and the port numbers the labels are associated with for ease of identification.
1.
Select Diagnostics > Crosspoint Map
Page 527
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 528
The inputs are listed down the left-hand side of the table with the input gain settings, while the outputs are listed along the top of the table with the output gain settings.
2.
Right-click a cell representing a crosspoint to display a list of options. To toggle a crosspoint from the On state to the Off state click on the State option and then click on
Toggle in the next menu. Select the Kill option from the State menu to clear a crosspoint completely.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
3.
To set the crosspoint level, select the level option on the menu to display the crosspoint level slider and set the required level.
Page 529
Note : Leave signalization still active on the panel.
4.
Select the Refresh All option to update the display with the crosspoint settings current on the matrix.
5.
Use Ctrl+ (zoom in) and Ctrl(zoom out) to zoom in or out, producing clearer views of the map, or if a wheel mouse is available use Ctrl and the wheel to zoom.
6.
Click on the Refresh All Crosspoints button at the top of the crosspoint map to request the crosspoint information from the matrix and use it to update the crosspoint map.
When an input or output level is changed it affects all the crosspoints that are connected to the port. If an input level for a port is reduced the input level to all the crosspoints for that port is reduced (all the crosspoints in the column below the level). If an output level is changed all the crosspoints in that row are affected. Note that these levels only change the input and output levels for the ports. They do not change the crosspoint level settings.
7.
Right-click on an input or output setting (the cell next to the port information) to display a list of gain values.
Page 530
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Clicking a value in the list sets the input or output gain to the required level in the matrix. This value remains in force until it is either changed again using the
Crosspoint Monitor, or a new map is applied, and the matrix is reset to the default values in the map.
If the matrix is only reset without a new map applied the modified values set up using the Crosspoint Monitor remain in force.
The settable values are: +18, +15, 12, +9, +6, + 5, +4, +3, +2, +1, 0, -1, -2, -3, -4, -
5, -6, -7, -8, -9, -10, -12, -14, -16, -20, -35, -45 and -72dB.
The current value can also be reset to the default value set up in EHX from this list.
The input/output cells are color coded to show whether the level is higher (red) or lower (green) than 0dB.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 531
You can set the default port gain using the individual port settings on the Cards & Ports screen.
The setting is applied to the matrix as part of the map and is displayed by the crosspoint monitor.
1.
Right-click the port gain setting to display the gain levels and show this value as the default setting, so the port may be reset to the EHX value at any time without applying a new map and a reset.
If the port gain is set to a non-zero level in EHX and then set to zero using the crosspoint monitor the gain is shown highlighted in light blue to indicate that the zero value is not the default value in the map.
29.1.1
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Crosspoint Settings and Averaging
In some cases, the same port may be placed on a panel as different key more than once, for example on different shift pages (multiple instances of the port). If these instances of the port or keys have been set up with different audio levels then the level used on any of keys connected to the port is the average of the levels of all the instances on the panel. This is to prevent a situation where the audio level from the same port may vary greatly between different keys assigned to that port depending on how the different keys have been set up.
To improve the performance of the level averaging on i-Series panels the crosspoint range for these panels is larger than previously. The preset levels in the matrix for i-Series panels are: l
0 dB l
1.1 dB l
2.1 dB l
3.2 dB l
3.9 dB l
6.0 dB l
8.9 dB l
12.1 dB l
-30.2 dB l
-24.1 dB l
-18.1 dB l
-12.1 dB l
-9.2 dB l
-6.0 dB l
-3.9 dB l
-2.1 dB
The range for V-Series panels is -72 dB to +12 dB.
Page 532
29.2
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Matrix Event Log
In Live mode, messages are displayed in the Matrix Event Log as soon as they are generated by the matrix. In Historic mode, EHX makes a connection to the database. The user sets search criteria and the resulting messages are displayed on screen.
The Matrix Event Log gives the EHX user information about the state of the matrix that is helpful in diagnosing and repairing problems.
1.
Select Diagnostics > Event Log .
2.
Select the event types to be logged in the Properties pane by clicking on the required checkboxes. The message types that can be selected for logging are Critical, Warning and
Information.
3.
Set the logging mode to Live to report current messages, or Historic to display previous logged messages. In Historic mode the specific hour, minute, and second beginning and end dates to search can be set. Click Display when these parameters have been set to display the required log messages.
As soon as EHX is opened, it will log status messages in the background for any matrices in the active project.
Page 533
4.
Use the Export option in the Properties pane to export the log messages to a file for further processing.
29.2.1
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Note: The logging export file is an XML file and can be imported into Excel using the speech quotes (“) as the delimiter.
Request Info
1.
Select Request Info in the Properties pane to display a Request Matrix Information screen which allows a number of matrix parameters to be set or displayed.
Page 534
2.
Select the required function in the left pane and the click on the Send button to send the request or update.
The default functions are described below.
Matrix overview
Select this option to cause information about the current matrix status to be output to the matrix event log.
IP address dump
Select this option to output information on the current matrix IP address information to the event log.
Network status info
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Select this option to output the current network status of the matrix to the matrix event log.
Ethernet stats
Select this option to output the statistics of Ethernet transactions logged such as packet losses to the matrix event log.
Change IP address
1.
Select this option to allow the primary and redundant IP address of the target matrix to be set. These addresses correspond to the LAN1 and LAN2 connectors on the rear of the
CPU card (see the Eclipse HX-Omega User Guide, Eclipse HX-Median User Guide and Eclipse HX-Delta User Guide ) or the Eclipse HX-PiCo unit (LAN 1 only).
Page 535
2.
Select interface 1 or 2 (LAN1 or LAN2 port) and enter the required IP address, subnet mask and default gateway and click on Send to update the matrix.
Note : Changing the IP address parameters may result in the EHX PC losing contact with the matrix and may require the Ethernet configuration of the PC to be changed.
Custom
Select this option to allow request parameters to be entered manually for applying to the matrix.
29.2.2
29.3
29.4
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Audio Alerts
Select this option in the Properties pane to allow audio alert sounds to be set up for the three message types of Critical, Warning and Informatory. The audio alerts are .wav files, and the defaults are the standard Windows media files. You can configure other sound files if required.
Click to select one or all of the following categories of messages to cause an audio alert from the
EHX computer.
l
Critical l
Warning l
Info
If no option is selected, no event in this category of messages causes an audio alert.
Matrix CPU Time Sync
The CPU card will sync time from either system resets, or from the first HCI message after 2am each day.
PTP Diagnostics
If a matrix has an AoIP enabled device connected to it, such as an IP antenna or a V-Series Iris panel, you can use the PTP network screen to inspect AoIP statistics and help to solve networkrelated problems. To use the PTP network screen:
1.
Open the Diagnostics menu and select PTP Network .
Page 536
In the left-hand side of the PTP network screen, drop-down lists of devices are shown. You can display these devices as follows:
Page 537
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
Card – this displays all the devices connected to each E-IPA-HX card.
l
Network Group – this displays all the devices for each Network Group. For more information about Network Groups, see
.
l
Device Type – this displays all the devices according to device type, for example transceiver, E-IPA-HX card or Panel.
2.
Use the radio buttons to toggle between the different display modes.
3.
Select one or more devices, and view the PTP diagnostic data on the right-hand side of the screen. An example screen is shown below:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
29.4.1
Interpreting the PTP Network Screen
The PTP Network screen contains graphical information about: l
Mean path delay l
Mean path delay standard deviation l
Offset from master l
Maximum offset from master
Mean path delay
This is the average time delay for communication between the PTP grand master and the device. The following color-coded error conditions apply: l
Yellow: >1.7ms or >-1.7ms
l
Red: >1.9ns or >-1.9ns
Mean path delay standard deviation
The standard deviated for mean path delay. The following color-coded error conditions apply:
Page 538
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide l
Yellow: >1.7ms or >-1.7ms
l
Red: >1.9ns or >-1.9ns
Offset from master
This is equal to:
(Grand master clock timestamp minus Slave clock timestamp) minus mean path delay. The following color-coded error conditions apply: l
Yellow: >1.7ms or >-1.7ms
l
Red: >1.9ms or >-1.9ms
29.4.2
Maximum offset from master
This is the highest value for the offset from master that is measured during the previous eight second interval. The following color-coded error conditions apply: l
Yellow: >1.7ms or >-1.7ms
l
Red: >1.9ms or >-1.9ms
For an E-IPA-HX card that supports a FreeSpeak II system the following color-coded error conditions apply: l
Yellow: >500ns or >-500ns l
Red: >1000ns or >-1000ns
Network Groups
You can organize your IP panels and IP Transceivers in one or more Network Groups. This might make it easier to manage your network and to diagnose and correct any network-related problems. For example, if all your devices on one Network Group share the same router, failure of all these devices is likely to be a fault in that router.
If you create Network Groups, these groups and the devices they contain are visible in the PTP
Network screen. See
To add a device to a Network Group:
1.
From Hardware > Cards and Ports , select the device that you want to add to a Network
Group.
2.
Select Basic Options and then select Network Group .
Page 539
The Network Group window appears.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 540
If you have not yet created any Network Groups, a default group is shown.
4.
Change the Name and Description of the default group as required.
5.
Click Apply .
6.
If you require a new Network group, click New .
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
A new Network Group appears in the Network Groups window.
29.5
29.5.1
7.
Change the Name and Description of the new Network Group as required.
8.
To delete a Network Group, select the group, right-click and then select Delete .
9.
When you have finished editing the Network Groups window, click Close .
Wireless Status
The EHX Configuration Software now offers a wireless diagnostics screens that shows: l
Live transceiver/beltpack associations l
Live status and performance indicators (metrics) for beltpacks and transceivers.
Transceiver/Beltpack Association Grid
To see wireless diagnostics, navigate to Diagnostics>Wireless Status in the EHX
Configuration Software.
Page 541
Page 542
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 543
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 544
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Indicator
General status bar
Battery
Received Signal
Strength
Indicator (RSSI)
Frame Error Rate
(FER)
Indicator meaning
Turns amber/red on: l
Low battery l
Low signal strength l
High error rate
For lithium batteries: l
Amber: 16% battery, ~2 hours life remaining l
Red: 8% battery, ~1 hour life remaining l
Amber: RSSI below 40 l
Red: RSSI below 30
RSSI must be above 30 for audio to work reliably.
FER should be close to 0. Unsatisfactory FER is shown by a colored rectangle: l
Green, good: ≤10% l
Amber, warning: ≥10% l
Red, warning: ≥20%
Group, filter and search beltpacks
29.5.2
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Beltpack Telemetry Screen
Note: EHX must be connected to the system at all time to collect necessary data and avoid gaps in telemetry.
This screen shows a graphic representation (live and historic) of the beltpack Event Log . It can be used for both quick diagnosis of problems and advanced troubleshooting. Reach this screen by clicking on any beltpack row in the Wireless Diagnostics screen.
l
Use the mouse scroll wheel to zoom in. The zoom focus is located on the mouse pointer.
l
Left-click on any line for information about that data point (including transceiver slot).
l
Turn on Live Logging on an individual IPT for detailed RSSI and FER logging. The increased logging is not recommended for normal operation but can be useful during site survey and initial set up or for fault finding with a specific transceiver.
l
Use the Options button to change the display options.
Page 545
Live Logging
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
29.6
System Monitoring
System monitoring displays all the matrices in the current configuration and their status.
To start system monitoring:
1.
Select System > Monitoring .
The matrix monitoring state is also shown in the EHX sidebar if the monitoring screen is open.
Page 546
Page 547
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
On the monitoring screen, all trunks are coloured light blue. Trunk lines that are detected as being in error as coloured red, and those that are detected as being in use in are colored blue. If EHX detects that only one end of a trunk is in error (a trunk card has been pulled on one of the matrices), the trunk is coloured red, as is the node on the matrix that is in error.
Note : Using your mouse, you can float the Monitoring tab and then dock it to display it in a separate window, alongside your main window. You can dock it to the top, bottom, right or left of the main window.
Color coding is used to indicate system status, according to the following key:
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Page 548
An error summary is listed in the right-hand side of the Monitoring screen.
2.
Select the Detailed button in the top-right of the Monitoring screen to switch to an alternate view of the same information. This provides a detailed tree view of the system.
You can filter information for matrix, error type or error priority.
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
29.7
If an error is selected, the right-hand side of the monitoring screen shows detailed information about that error, including any additional details that might be available and a short troubleshooting guide. A history of the state of the error is also shown, so you can see when this fault happened and whether it has happened previously.
3.
You can ignore errors by right-clicking on them in the error list (in either overview or detailed view) and selecting Ignore from the context menu. There is also an Ignore button shown in the details for each error.
E-DANTE-HX Interface Card
This part of the monitoring screen gives you information about the E-DANTE-HX interface cards. It also shows you the LAN status of primary and secondary connections. Examples appear below:
Page 549
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
29.8
In this dialog box you can see the hardware name and device name for the card. The hardware name cannot be changed and uniquely identifies that card. The device name can be changed in the Dante Controller.
If a card is removed from the matrix, and another inserted with a different hardware or device name, an error will be indicated on the front of the card. This notifies the engineer that the Dante network routes have changed, and the routes may need to be reconfigured using the Dante controller.
For more information on related error reporting, see
.
Resource Chart
The Resource Chart allows you to view the system resources that would be used by your current configuration if it were to be applied to the matrices.
When you build the current configuration for the Resource Chart, the system resources are displayed as a percentage of the maximum permitted value.
Color coding indicates the different usage levels:
Page 550
Page 551 l
Green = Low usage.
l
Amber = Medium usage.
l
Red = High usage.
1.
Select Diagnostics > Resource Chart .
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
29.9
2.
Click Refresh to update the screen
3.
Click Save to save an image of the screen.
Save Diagnostics Information Utility
The Save Diagnostics Information utility ( Help > Save Diagnostics ) takes a snapshot of the current state of your configuration, the EHX PC and the matrices, and store this information as a compressed file on your computer.
This information can then be sent to Clear-Com support to assist with the diagnosis of issues.
The following information is captured:
Page 552
Page 553
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Information captured
EHX version information
Description / comments
The version of EHX that is being run, the address of the server that EHX is connected to, and the operational mode of EHX (Client-Only or
Client-Server).
EHX Project
(configuration)
EHX Database
Exported as a *.hxn
file.
A copy of the EHX database is provided, if available.
Matrix information The name, ID, description and IP address of the matrices in the current project, along with details of their active configurations.
Firmware report(s) A firmware report from each of the matrices in the current project.
Configurations currently running on the matrices
Copies of the configurations that are currently running on the matrices
(achieved by performing an upload from each of the matrices in the current project).
EHX PC system
Information.
EHX PC process information
Basic system information concerning the EHX PC, including OS and hardware information.
Information about the processes that are currently running on the EHX
PC.
Information about the services that are configured on the EHX PC.
EHX PC service information
EHX exception logs The exception logs from EHX
EHX event logs
Matrix diagnostics information
The event logs from EHX
A dump of engineering diagnostics information from the matrices
(including system information, fiber allocation, IP and Ethernet usage, and task performance history)
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
29.10
Clear Unused Memory
The .Net Framework used by EHX manages its own memory usage on the system, allocating and releasing memory when appropriate. In some circumstances, rather than release unused memory back to the operating system, it may choose to hold on to the memory allocation if it believes it will be used again in the near future. The Clear Unused Memory option under Help causes EHX to ask the .Net Framework to release any unused memory, even if it may be used in the future. In general, EHX and .Net manage the memory allocation without any issues - this option should only be used if you believe that EHX is leaking memory (progressively using more and more memory) and wishes to get a more accurate view of the memory usage.
29.11
Matrix Event Log and Save Diagnostics
The matrix event log is stored in a database file named EHXDataStore.sdf
. To prevent this file from filing all available storage it is scrubbed daily, by default removing all records older than 1 week.
These records are backed up to the user’s AppData folder: l
In client only mode : C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\Clearcom\EHX
Configuration System\logs .
l
In client server: C:\Users\EHXServer\AppData\Roaming\Clearcom\EHX
Configuration System\logs .
This folder will require intervention from time to time to control the size of the stored data. Save diagnostics will include these scrubbed records in any report, if they are available.
Page 554
30
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Glossary
The glossary gives a brief explanation of some of the main terms that you might encounter in this
User Guide.
Agent-IC remote client
An App that runs on iOS and Android phones and tablets as a remote panel.
Alias label
A label that is temporarily assigned and replaces a previously labeled port or conference.
Analog Port
Any of the Eclipse HX matrix’s analog input/output RJ-45 connectors that are used to connect cable from the matrix to panels and interfaces. Each port connects to a separate audio channel in the matrix intercom system.
Antenna/transceiver
A fixed unit that can receive and transmit RF signals to wireless beltpacks. Used in wireless partyline systems such as FreeSpeak II.
Bus
A bus is the channel or path between the components in the matrix along which electrical signals flow to carry information from one component to the next. In the Eclipse HX matrix the bus is located in the etched surface of the midplane.
Call Signal
A call signal is an electronic signal sent from one panel or interface to another. A call signal can be audible and/or visual. Typically, a call signal is sent to get the attention of a panel operator who may have turned down their intercom speaker’s volume or removed their headset. It can also be sent to activate an electronic relay.
Canvas
The assignment area of Dynam-EC which can have any user labeled background.
Category-5 cable
EIA/TIA 568 category specification relating to network cabling. Shielded category-5 cabling or above is required for Eclipse HX matrix wiring.
Central Matrix
Page 555
Page 556
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
The term central matrix is used to differentiate the central hardware and software of the intercom system from the connected audio devices. The central matrix consists of: l
The metal housing for the circuit cards and power supplies.
l
The circuit cards.
l
The power supplies.
l
The rear panel connectors which connect the matrix’s hardware to panels and interfaces.
Concert
Concert provides a secure and scalable solution for providing high quality voice communication between single or multi-site facilities over an IP infrastructure.
Conference
An internal matrix virtual party line or busbar where many panels and interfaces can talk onto or listen from the party line without talking to themselves.
Configuration
Determines the operating parameters of the Eclipse HX matrix system, including port functions, talk-and-listen audio routes, controls and other functions. Configurations are created and managed in EHX, for applying to the matrices.
Destination
A device such as an intercom panel, beltpack, or interface to which audio signals are sent. The device from which audio signals are sent is called a source.
Duplex
All real-time communication between individuals talking face to face is full duplex, meaning that they can both talk and listen simultaneously. The Eclipse HX matrices provide full-duplex audio.
E-DANTE64-HX
A matrix interface card that is enabled to work with Dante network protocols and software, allowing you to transport many channels of high quality audio via a Clear-Com matrix to multiple
Dante enabled devices using standard Ethernet network structure (up to 64 channels per E-
DANTE64 card).
EHX
Page 557
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Eclipse HX Configuration Software. Software program that guides the operation of the central matrix circuit cards and connected panels.
E-IPA-HX
A high capacity internet protocol (IP) audio card. It provides up to 64 connections, doubling the port/beltpack connections of the current IVC-32 card.
Ethernet
International standard which describes how information is transmitted across a network.
Provides for the efficient organization of network components.
Fiber-optic Cable
A fiber-optic cable consists of a glass core covered with a reflective material called cladding and several layers of buffer coating to protect the cable from the environment. A laser sends light pulses through the glass core to the other end of the cable.
FreeSpeak II
®
Advanced digital wireless communications product.
FreeSpeak Edge™
FreeSpeak Edge™ is a member of Clear-Com’s FreeSpeak™ family of digital wireless intercom solutions. It uses the 5 GHz radio frequency range.
Full Duplex
Refers to transmission of signals in two directions simultaneously.
Hosted Direct
An IVC-32 port function that is used when one or two additional IP ports are configured on a panel.
IFB
Interruptible Foldback. The term foldback refers to sending program audio, or some other audio mix, back to announcers while they are on the air. Doing so allows announcers to monitor themselves, other announcers, videotapes of commercials, or some mix of sources, while they on the air. This is typically found in television news and live broadcast events.
Page 558
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Announcers typically wear a small earpiece so they can hear the selected foldback audio mix.
When a director wants to give directions to an announcer on air, or to announce changes in the program, the director must interrupt the foldback. To do this, the director uses a channel specifically set up to interrupt the foldback audio.
Interface Module
A piece of electronic hardware designed to convert the four-wire signals of a central matrix port to some other form of communication, such as 2-wire party line, telephone, etc. The interface module is connected to a central matrix port. The external non-four-wire device is then connected to the interface module.
ISO
The ISO function, short for panel ISOlation, allows a panel operator to call a destination and interrupt all that destination’s other audio paths and establish a private conversation. When the call is completed the destination’s audio pathways are restored to their original state before the interruption.
Key Group
Key Groups provide a way of assigning a label to multiple panels simultaneously even within a networked matrix system. Once the Key Groups have been defined using EHX, all the keys within a Key Group can be changed with a single assignment in Dynam-EC.
Label
A label is an alphanumeric name of up to five characters that identifies a source, destination, or control function accessed by an intercom panel. Labels appear in the displays of the intercom panel. Labels can identify panels, ports interfaced to other external equipment, fixed groups, party lines, and special control functions.
Multiplexing
The process by which two or more signals are transmitted over a single communications channel. Examples include time division and wavelength division multiplexing.
Non-volatile Memory
Data stored in the CPU’s firmware (ROM) that is not lost when the power is turned off.
Over The Air Registration
A way to register a FreeSpeak II beltpack without requiring a wired connection.
Palette
Page 559
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
The port, keyGroup and Monitor selection screen in Dynam-EC.
Panel
Also referred to as station in some cases (usually older manuals). Any intelligent intercom device connected to the rear-panel analog ports of the central matrix. This term does not refer to devices connected through interface modules.
Partyline
A wired shared communication system based on a single screened pair of wires.
Port
Any of the input/output connections (RJ-45 connectors) on the back panel of the central matrix.
These connectors and the attached cables connect the central matrix to remote intercom devices. The term port emphasizes that the connection is a portal between the central matrix and the remote intercom devices.
Program
Any separate audio source that is fed into the intercom channels. In television applications, for example, program audio is the audio that is broadcast on air.
Project
A project (stored and exported as an *.hxn
file) provides a container for your configurations and may comprise one or many configurations for one or many matrices.
A project can be used to define every aspect of a complex intercom system, including the connectivity between multiple, intelligently linked matrices and/or the configurations for individual matrices.
Rack Unit or RU
Standardized unit of mounting space on a rack panel. Each rack unit is 1.75 inches (44.45 mm) of vertical mounting space. Therefore 1 RU is 1.75 inches (44.45 mm) of vertical mounting space, 2 RU is 3.5 inches (88.9 mm), 3 RU is 5.25 inches (133.35 mm), and so on.
Remote Panel
Any intelligent intercom device connected to the back-panel ports of the central matrix. This term does not refer to devices connected through interfaces.
Sidetone
The sound of the panel operator’s own voice heard in their own earphone as they speak.
Page 560
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
SIP Client
A SIP client is any network device that sends SIP requests and receives SIP responses.
Source
In this manual, the term source refers to a device—such as an intercom panel, interface, or beltpack —that sends audio into the matrix. The device to which audio is sent is called a destination.
TEL-14
A digital telephony interface module.
VOX
In the Eclipse HX system, when audio at a panel exceeds a threshold, a light switches on at the panel’s port card to visually cue the operator. The threshold level is set in the Eclipse HX
Configuration Software.
V-Series
Communications panels used with Eclipse HX systems providing advanced facilities. Available in rack mount and desktop formats.
V-Series Iris
Iris panels have a wide range of advanced features including color OLED displays and AES67 audio over IP (AoIP).
31
31.1
31.2
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Limited Warranty
Clear-Com warrants that at the time of purchase, the equipment supplied complies with any specification in the order confirmation when used under normal conditions and is free from defects in workmanship and materials during the warranty period.
During the warranty period Clear-Com, or any service company authorized by Clear-Com, will in a commercially reasonable time remedy defects in materials, design, and workmanship free of charge by repairing, or should Clear-Com in its discretion deem it necessary, replacing the product in accordance with this limited warranty. In no event will Clear-Com be responsible for incidental, consequential, or special loss or damage, however caused.
Warranty Period
The product may consist of several parts each covered by a different warranty period. The warranty periods are: l
Cables, accessories, components, and consumable items have a limited warranty of 90 days.
l
Headsets, handsets, microphones, and spare parts have a limited warranty of one year.
l
UHF wireless IFB products have a limited warranty of one year.
l
UHF wireless intercom systems have a limited warranty of three years.
l
All other Clear-Com and Drake brand systems and products, including beltpacks, have a limited warranty of two years.
The warranty starts at the time of the product’s original purchase. The warranty start date for contracts which include installation and commissioning will commence from the earlier of date of the Site Acceptance Test or three months from purchase.
Technical Support
To ensure complete and timely support to its customers, Clear-Com’s User Support Center is staffed by qualified technical personnel. Telephone and email technical support is offered worldwide by the User Support Center.
The User Support Center is available to Clear-Com’s customers during the full course of their warranty period. Telephone support during the warranty period will be offered at no charge between 09:00 and 17:00 according to the customer’s local time zone.
Page 561
31.3
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
In addition, for customers who purchase an Extended Warranty or Service Contract, 24-hour customer support is offered immediately upon purchase of such agreement. For more information, contact your authorized dealer, distributor, or sales representative.
Instructions for reaching Clear-Com’s User Support Centers are given below.
Americas and Asia-Pacific Headquarters California, United States
Tel: +1.510.337.6600
Email: [email protected]
Europe, Middle East, and Africa Headquarters Cambridge, United Kingdom
Tel: +44 1223 815000
Email: [email protected]
Canada Office Quebec, Canada
Tel: +1 (450) 653-9669
China Office Beijing Representative Office Beijing, P.R.China
Tel: +8610 65811360 / 65815577
Once the standard warranty period has expired, the User Support Center will continue to provide telephone support if you have purchased an Extended Warranty or Service Contract. In these cases, you will have access to telephone support 24 hours per day, 7 days per week.
Warranty Repairs and Returns
Before returning equipment for repair, contact a User Support Center to obtain a Return Material
Authorization (RMA). Clear-Com representatives will give you instructions and addresses for returning your equipment. You must ship the equipment at your expense, and the support center will return the equipment at Clear-Com’s expense.
For out-of-box failures, use the following contact information:
Americas and Asia-Pacific Headquarters California, United States
Tel: +1.510.337.6600
Page 562
31.4
31.5
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Email: [email protected]
Europe, Middle East, and Africa Headquarters Cambridge, United Kingdom
Tel: +44 1223 815000
Email: [email protected]
Canada Office Quebec, Canada
Tel: +1 (450) 653-9669
China Office Beijing Representative Office Beijing, P.R.China
Tel: +8610 65811360 / 65815577
Clear-Com has the right to inspect the equipment and/or installation or relevant packaging.
Non-Warranty Repairs and Returns
For items not under warranty, you must obtain an RMA by contacting the User Support Center.
Clear-Com representatives will give you instructions and addresses for returning your equipment.
You must pay all charges to have the equipment shipped to the support center and returned to you, in addition to the costs of the repair.
Extended Warranty
If you purchase an Extended Warranty, you are also given access free of charge to the User
Support Center 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
You can purchase an extended warranty at any time during the first two years of ownership of the product. The purchase of an extended warranty extends to five years the warranty of any product offered with a standard two-year warranty. The total warranty period will not extend beyond five years. Any purchase of an extended warranty provides 24 x 7 customer support in addition to the warranty immediately upon purchase of the warranty extension.
:
Note Clear-Com does not offer warranty extensions on UHF wireless intercom systems, or on any product with a 1-year or 90-day warranty.
Page 563
31.6
31.7
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
Service Contract
Clear-Com also offers service contracts that provide 24 x 7 telephone support, advance replacements, training, proactive maintenance, on-site visits, and no charge for repair or replacement of equipment. For more information, contact your authorized dealer, distributor, or sales representative.
Liability
THE FOREGOING WARRANTY IS CLEAR-COM'S SOLE AND EXCLUSIVE WARRANTY.
THE IMPLIED WARRANTY OF MERCHANTABILITY AND FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR
PURPOSE AND ANY OTHER REQUIRED IMPLIED WARRANTY SHALL EXPIRE AT THE
END OF THE WARRANTY PERIOD. THERE ARE NO OTHER WARRANTIES
(INCLUDING WITHOUT LIMITATION WARRANTIES FOR CONSUMABLES AND OTHER
SUPPLIES) OF ANY NATURE WHATSOEVER, WHETHER ARISING IN CONTRACT,
TORT, NEGLIGENCE OF ANY DEGREE, STRICT LIABILITY OR OTHERWISE, WITH
RESPECT TO THE PRODUCTS OR ANY PART THEREOF DELIVERED HEREUNDER,
OR FOR ANY DAMAGES AND/OR LOSSES (INCLUDING LOSS OF USE, REVENUE,
AND/OR PROFITS). SOME STATES DO NOT ALLOW THE EXCLUSION OR LIMITATION
OF INCIDENTAL OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES OR THE LIMITATION ON HOW LONG
AN IMPLIED WARRANTY LASTS, SO THE ABOVE LIMITATIONS MAY NOT APPLY TO
YOU. IN ANY EVENT, TO THE MAXIMUM EXTENT PERMITTED UNDER APPLICABLE
LAW, CLEAR-COM'S LIABILITY TO CUSTOMER HEREUNDER SHALL NOT UNDER ANY
CIRCUMSTANCES EXCEED THE COST OF REPAIRING OR REPLACING ANY PART(S)
FOUND TO BE DEFECTIVE WITHIN THE WARRANTY PERIOD AS AFORESAID.
This warranty does not cover any damage to a product resulting from cause other than part defect and malfunction. The Clear-Com warranty does not cover any defect, malfunction, or failure caused beyond the control of Clear-Com, including unreasonable or negligent operation, abuse, accident, failure to follow instructions in the manual, defective or improperly associated equipment, attempts at modification and repair not approved by Clear-Com, and shipping damage. Products with their serial numbers removed or defaced are not covered by this warranty.
This warranty does not include defects arising from installation (when not performed by Clear-
Com), lightning, power outages and fluctuations, air conditioning failure, improper integration with non-approved components, defects or failures of customer furnished components resulting in damage to Clear-Com provided product.
This limited warranty is not transferable and cannot be enforced by anyone other than the original consumer purchaser.
Page 564
Page 565
EHX Configuration Software | User Guide
This warranty gives you specific legal rights and you may have other rights which vary from country to country.
Download
Advertisement
Key features
Create groups and one-to-many calls.
Store complete system setups.
Apply and immediately implement configurations.
Communicate with FreeSpeak II® and FreeSpeak Edge™ beltpacks.
Communicate with remote panels over IP.
Interface with Clear-Com Concert™.
Link matrices worldwide.
Frequently asked questions
EHX Configuration Software is used to create and manage communication pathways between your Eclipse HX devices, including matrices, interface cards, interface modules and user panels.
With EHX you can create individual, point-to-point talk and listen paths between members of a matrix intercom system. Bring an outside audio source, such as program source, into the system’s audio stream and interrupt the program audio for announcements (IFBs).
The minimum PC requirements are Intel i7 6th generation processor, 4 GB RAM, 2 GB hard disk free space, USB memory stick, SVGA display resolution, keyboard and mouse.