Emerson ControlWave Quick Setup Guide
Reklamë
Reklamë
User Manual
Document: D5084
Part: D301415X012
November, 2010
ControlWave
®
Quick Setup Guide
ControlWave
Remote Automation Solutions www.EmersonProcess.com/Remote
IMPORTANT! READ INSTRUCTIONS BEFORE STARTING!
Be sure that these instructions are carefully read and understood before any operation is attempted. Improper use of this device in some applications may result in damage or injury. The user is urged to keep this book filed in a convenient location for future reference.
These instructions may not cover all details or variations in equipment or cover every possible situation to be met in connection with installation, operation or maintenance. Should problems arise that are not covered sufficiently in the text, the purchaser is advised to contact Emerson Process
Management, Remote Automation Solutions division (RAS) for further information.
EQUIPMENT APPLICATION WARNING
The customer should note that a failure of this instrument or system, for whatever reason, may leave an operating process without protection. Depending upon the application, this could result in possible damage to property or injury to persons. It is suggested that the purchaser review the need for additional backup equipment or provide alternate means of protection such as alarm devices, output limiting, fail-safe valves, relief valves, emergency shutoffs, emergency switches, etc. If additional information is required, the purchaser is advised to contact RAS.
RETURNED EQUIPMENT WARNING
When returning any equipment to RAS for repairs or evaluation, please note the following: The party sending such materials is responsible to ensure that the materials returned to RAS are clean to safe levels, as such levels are defined and/or determined by applicable federal, state and/or local law regulations or codes. Such party agrees to indemnify RAS and save RAS harmless from any liability or damage which RAS may incur or suffer due to such party's failure to so act.
ELECTRICAL GROUNDING
Metal enclosures and exposed metal parts of electrical instruments must be grounded in accordance with OSHA rules and regulations pertaining to "Design Safety Standards for Electrical
Systems," 29 CFR, Part 1910, Subpart S, dated: April 16, 1981 (OSHA rulings are in agreement with the National Electrical Code).
The grounding requirement is also applicable to mechanical or pneumatic instruments that include electrically operated devices such as lights, switches, relays, alarms, or chart drives.
EQUIPMENT DAMAGE FROM ELECTROSTATIC DISCHARGE VOLTAGE
This product contains sensitive electronic components that can be damaged by exposure to an electrostatic discharge (ESD) voltage. Depending on the magnitude and duration of the ESD, this can result in erratic operation or complete failure of the equipment. Read supplemental document
S14006 for proper care and handling of ESD-sensitive components.
Remote Automation Solutions
A Division of Emerson Process Management
1100 Buckingham Street, Watertown, CT 06795
Emerson Process Management
Training
GET THE MOST FROM YOUR EMERSON
INSTRUMENT OR SYSTEM
Avoid Delays and problems in getting your system on-line
Minimize installation, start-up and maintenance costs.
Make the most effective use of our hardware and software.
Know your system.
As you know, a well-trained staff is essential to your operation. Emerson offers a full schedule of classes conducted by full-time, professional instructors. Classes are offered throughout the year at various locations. By participating in our training, your personnel can learn how to install, calibrate, configure, program and maintain your Emerson products and realize the full potential of your system.
For information or to enroll in any class, go to http://www.EmersonProcess.com/Remote and click on “Educational Services” or contact our training department in Watertown at (860)
945-2200.
This page is intentionally left blank
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
Before You Begin
Thank you for choosing ControlWave!
We hope you will find ControlWave to be the best solution for your process automation needs.
From the start, we designed this unit to merge the simplicity and modularity of a programmable logic controller, with the full communication and programming capabilities of a remote process controller. The result - the ControlWave Process Automation
Controller, is a true PLC/RTU hybrid, incorporating the best features of both types of devices.
ControlWave features a low-power, modular design, which supports all five IEC 61131-3 programming languages: ladder logic (LD), sequential flow chart (SFC), function block diagram
(FBD), structured text (ST), and instruction list (IL). A full suite of
PC-based configuration wizards and programming tools is provided.
Stay Safe!
WARNING –
SHOCK
HAZARD
WARNING –
EXPLOSION
HAZARD
Throughout your configuration activities, please be aware of the following items:
Always follow accepted safety guidelines. As with all electronic devices, improper installation, grounding, or usage can cause an electrical shock. If you have any doubts about how to install, ground, and use this product safely, please consult a qualified electrician.
To ensure safe use of this product, please review and follow the instructions in the following supplemental documentation:
Supplement Guide - ControlWave Site Considerations for
Equipment Installation, Grounding, and Wiring (S1400CW)
ESDS Manual – Care and Handling of PC Boards and ESD
Sensitive Components (S14006)
Because ControlWave is sometimes used in Class I Division 2 hazardous locations, where there could be explosive vapors or other dangerous substances, you MUST observe and follow all regulations and warnings about proper installation, use, and repair in these environments. Failure to follow these instructions could result in an explosion, injury, or death.
Carefully review ALL warnings in the CI-ControlWave hardware manual, especially those from Underwriter’s Laboratories (see
Appendix A of CI-ControlWave).
Revised Nov-2010 Before You Begin v
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
How to use this guide
This guide is intended to help you get “up-and-running” with a minimal amount of effort. Chapter 1 talks about setting up the hardware, and the remaining chapters talk about installing and using ControlWave Designer software, and about how to configure certain parameters.
See this: For information on:
Chapter 1
Chapter 2
Setting up the hardware.
Software installation.
Chapter 3 Creating a ControlWave project in
ControlWave Designer.
Setting up RTU parameters. Chapter 4
This guide does NOT, however, tell you everything you need to know about setting up and configuring a ControlWave. We have included references throughout this book to other places in the documentation set, where you can get more details on a particular subject.
If you need help…
If you're having problems setting up and configuring your
ControlWave, please call our ControlWave Application Support team at (860) 945-2502 or (860) 945-2286 for assistance. Help is available Monday through Friday 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM Eastern
Time, excluding holidays, and scheduled factory shutdowns. vi Before You Begin Revised Nov-2010
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
Contents
Chapter 1 – Setting up the Hardware 1-1
Chapter 2 – Installing ControlWave Designer Software on the PC 2-1
Recommended Requirements for the OpenBSI Workstation: ......................................2-1
Chapter 3 – Creating a Simple Project in Ladder Language (LD) 3-1
Chapter 4 – Configuring RTU Parameters 4-1
Method 2: Starting from within NetView (ControlWave Already in a Network) .............4-3
Appendix A – Troubleshooting Tips A-1
Revised Nov-2010 Contents vii
This page is intentionally left blank
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
Chapter 1 – Setting up the Hardware
Note: Depending upon how you order it, your ControlWave may ship from the factory already assembled, or as a separate housing and modules you must install yourself. If you order it pre-assembled, you can omit those portions of this chapter that discuss installation of individual modules.
Hardware setup involves unpacking the ControlWave hardware, mounting the housing, installing I/O modules, wiring I/O terminations, making proper ground connections, connecting a communication cable to the PC workstation and setting switches.
The figure, below, shows a ControlWave in a ten-slot housing. The housing includes eight I/O slots. The unit has four serial ports and three Ethernet ports. Your unit may have different options. The full hardware installation process is described in detail in Chapter 2 and Chapter 3 of CI-ControlWave. An overview of the steps is included, below:
Bezel
(Plastic bezel covers the power supply sequencer module in slot 1 and CPU module in slot 2.)
Serial Port COM1
Chassis
Serial Port COM2
Port80
Display
RUN/REMOTE/LOCAL Key switch
Serial Port COM3 (Optional)
Serial Port COM4 (Optional)
Chassis
Ethernet Port 1
Bezel Door
(for access to power
switch and PSSM
LEDs)
Ethernet Port 3
(Optional)
Ethernet Port 2 (Optional)
Local I/O
Modules
(install in chassis slots 3 to 10)
Figure 1-1. ControlWave with Eight I/O Modules
Revised Nov-2010 Setting up the Hardware 1-1
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
1. Remove the housing from its carton and install it at its assigned work site. (See Section 2.3.1 of CI-ControlWave.)
2. Remove the Power Supply Sequencer Module (PSSM) from its carton and install it into slot 1, which is the first slot from the left end of the installed unit. (See Section 2.3.2 of CI-
ControlWave.)
3. Remove the CPU module from its carton and configure CPU module DIP switches. (See Section 2.3.3 of CI-ControlWave.)
Reset
Switch
Comm.
Port 1 (J2)
Lithium
Battery
3.6V
950mA-hr
½ AA Cell
Comm.
Port 2 (J3)
Ethernet
Port 1 (J4)
Port 80
Display
Run/
Remote/
Local
Key Switch
SW1
SW3
1-2
Enlarged detail of CPU switch banks
(CAPITALIZED entry
indicates ON position)
Bootproject ENABLE / disable
UNIT A / unit B
Redundancy DISABLE / enable static memory RETAIN / initialize
Updump DISABLE / enable
Soft switches USE / ignore
Soft switches write UNLOCK / lock
Watchdog circuit ENABLE/disable
Leave all SW3
CPU switches in default 'OFF' position, except for #4.
SW1
SW3
ENABLE/disable battery backup recovery mode ENABLE/disable
Unused
Unused
(CAPITALIZED entry
indicates ON position)
By default, SW1 switches should all be 'ON'
Figure 1-2. Configuring CPU Module DIP Switches
Setting Up the Hardware Revised Nov-2010
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
Notes:
For the initial configuration activities described in this manual, we recommend you leave most of the CPU switch settings in their default positions, as set at the factory: o Switch bank SW1: all switches in the ON position. o Switch bank SW3: all switches in the OFF position, except for SW3-4, which you should set ON to enable the backup battery when the ControlWave is ready to be put into service. If the ControlWave not going to be installed for an extended period of time, you can leave this off to avoid draining the battery.
4. Install the CPU module into slot 2 of the housing, which is the second slot from the left end of the installed unit.
5. For the configuration activities, described in this manual, we will use RS-232 serial communication port 2 (Comm Port 2) on the ControlWave, which is configured by default for 9600 baud. (For more information on RS-232 serial communication ports see Section 2.3.3 of CI-ControlWave).
Revised Nov-2010
Plug RS-232 null modem cable into
COM2
Figure 1-3. Plugging a Cable into COM2
6. Plug one end of an RS-232 null modem cable into one of your
PC communication ports.
Note: See Figure 2-17 in CI-ControlWave for a wiring diagram of an RS-232 null modem cable.
7. Plug the other end of the RS-232 null modem cable into serial communication port 2 (Comm Port 2) of the ControlWave.
Setting up the Hardware 1-3
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
8. Remove any I/O modules from their cartons and install them into the appropriate housing slots. I/O modules reside in slots 3 through 6, or 3 through 10 for units supporting 4, or 8 I/O modules respectively. Install I/O wiring to each I/O module.
(See Section 2.3.4 of CI-ControlWave.)
Note: In ControlWave Designer’s I/O Configurator, you must enter the I/O slot number for each I/O module and configure the module. The I/O slot number is not the same as the housing slot number. The housing slots which hold the power supply and CPU boards are not considered to be I/O slots, so the first I/O slot (I/O slot 1) is typically the third housing slot (housing slot 3).
9. Install a ground wire between the housing ground lug and a known good Earth ground (See Section 2.3.5 of CI-
ControlWave.)
10. Install Watchdog relay/MOSFET switch wiring (see Section
2.3.5 of CI-ControlWave). (OPTIONAL - perform this step only if you want to use this feature.)
11. Connect bulk DC power to the ControlWave’s PSSM module.
(See Section 2.3.5 of CI-ControlWave.)
Typical Configuration
+24Vdc Bulk Supply #1 Pos. Term.
+24Vdc Bulk Supply #1 Neg. Term.
Chassis Ground
1 +VIN
+VINF
-VIN
-VINF
5 CHASSIS
Shared +24Vdc Power Supply
1-4
Figure 1-4. Wiring for Bulk DC Power
12. Turn the RUN/REMOTE/LOCAL key switch to the LOCAL position.
Turn RUN/REMOTE/LOCAL key switch to the 'LOCAL' position. (Illustration shows it in 'RUN' position)
Figure 1-5. Setting the RUN/REMOTE/LOCAL Switch
Setting Up the Hardware Revised Nov-2010
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
13. Install the bezel so that it covers the PSSM and CPU modules.
(See Section 2.3.7 of CI-ControlWave.)
14. Open the bezel door, and apply power to the ControlWave controller by setting the power switch on the PSSM module to the “1” position. When the ControlWave completes its poweron sequence, the code “00” shows on the Port 80 display. The
“00” code indicates the ControlWave does not have any application program loaded. A list of possible status codes is included in Table 5-3 and Table 5-4 of CI-ControlWave.
Note: One code you may encounter is “86” which indicates the unit is set for recovery mode (switch SW3-3 is ON) which allows a field upgrade of system firmware.
You hardware is ready! Now you can install ControlWave
Designer software on the PC to create a project which you can download into the ControlWave.
Revised Nov-2010 Setting up the Hardware 1-5
This page is intentionally left blank
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
Chapter 2 – Installing ControlWave Designer Software on the PC
Note: This chapter outlines the basic steps in installing
ControlWave Designer software. For more detailed instructions, see Chapter 2 of the OpenBSI Utilities Manual
(D5081).
2.1.1 Recommended Requirements for the OpenBSI Workstation:
To run ControlWave Designer your PC workstation must meet the following minimum system requirements:
1 GHz processor
at least 200 MB free disk space for use by OpenBSI
512 MB RAM (more recommended)
CD-ROM drive
VGA Monitor (minimum 256 colors 800x600). Optimal screen resolution for OpenBSI web pages is 1024 x 768.
Mouse
Communication cable(s) to connect the PC to the
ControlWave.
Microsoft ®
Windows
®
2003 Server, 2008 Server, XP
Professional, 7.0, or Vista. OpenBSI only supports 32-bit operating systems. OpenBSI and ControlWave Designer do
not currently support 64-bit operating systems. We recommend you install the latest available service pack for your operating system.
Note: Emerson only tests OpenBSI and ControlWave Designer on the following platforms: Windows™ XP Professional,
Windows Vista/7.0 and Windows™ 2003/2008 Server including both dual core, and dual-core dual-processor computers.
Microsoft® Internet Explorer Version 5 or newer (Required for
ControlWave web pages).
Note: If you use Microsoft® Windows XP Service Pack 2 (or newer), you must change default operating system settings for certain OpenBSI features to work. Please see the Using
OpenBSI with Microsoft® Windows XP Service Pack 2 notes in Chapter 2 of the OpenBSI Utilities Manual
(D5081).
Revised Nov-2010 Installing ControlWave Designer 2-1
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
2.1.2 Before You Begin the Software Installation
ControlWave Designer software is installed from within Windows.
We recommend that all other Windows application programs you have running should be shut down before beginning installation.
Note: You must log in with Windows administrative privileges to install the software.
2.1.3 Installing the ControlWave Designer Software
1. Log into the workstation with administrative privileges.
2. Insert the OpenBSI CD-ROM in your CD-ROM drive.
3. If your CD-ROM drive has autorun enabled, skip to the next step. Otherwise, use Windows™ Explorer to locate the file
BROWSER.EXE in the root directory of the CD. Double-click on BROWSER.EXE. When the CD browser screen appears, choose the Install OpenBSI option.
4. A screen reminds you to close all other programs, and warns you that older OpenBSI versions will be removed. Click Next.
5. A license agreement screen opens. Review the agreement, using the scroll bar to bring it into view. Click I accept the
terms of the license agreement to proceed. Then click Next.
6. Now you must choose the installation directory on your computer for OpenBSI.. The default directory is \Program
Files\Bristol\OpenBSI. Either accept the default or click
Browse to specify a new directory. Then click Next.
7. On the next screen, use the check-boxes to select whichever package(s) you want to install. As a minimum, you must choose ControlWave Designer with ACCOL III.
2-2
Figure 2-1. Selecting Software Packages
Installing ControlWave Designer Revised Nov-2010
a Simple Project in Ladder Language (LD)
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
8. Once you make your choices, click Next.
9. On the next screen you can specify the user files folder. The system stores user files such as ControlWave projects, recipes, and network files in sub-folders of this folder. Note: If User
Account Control (UAC) is enabled in Windows, you must have write access to this folder. The default is C:\OpenBSI. Use the default or use Browse to specify a different user files folder.
When finished click Next.
10. This is your last opportunity to make any changes prior to starting the installation. If you want to make changes, you can click Back to go back to earlier pages. If you want to read the printed release notes for this version of OpenBSI, check the
View the Release Notes box.
11. If you are ready to perform the installation, click Install, and the installation process starts. Be patient, as it may take several minutes to install all of the different utilities, depending upon which you choose.
12. When the installation completes, re-boot your computer when prompted. This must be done in order for OpenBSI to function properly. If you choose not to re-boot now, you must do so before running OpenBSI. Click Finish, and the installation will be complete, and re-boot will proceed, if you chose to do it now.
After re-boot, an “OpenBSI Tools” menu selection is added to your Windows Start Programs menu through which you can access the various OpenBSI utilities. If you prefer, you can create Windows shortcuts to the tools to provide access through icons on the desktop. See your Windows documentation for information on how to do this.
Revised Nov-2010 Installing ControlWave Designer 2-3
This page is intentionally left blank
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
Chapter 3 – Creating a Simple Project in Ladder
Language (LD)
Now, let's create a very simple project to run in your ControlWave.
Let's say we have a water tank - when the water level in the tank goes below a certain level, a WATER_LOW signal is turned ON, and as a result, a START_PUMP signal needs to be turned ON to refill the tank. Similarly, we want to issue a START_PUMP signal any time the drain valve for the tank is open. Our project is so simple, we aren't going to handle turning off the pump, or what happens if the tank overflows; we just want to show how either of two conditions cause the pump to be started.
Note: We won't be defining the I/O for this project; we're keeping it as simple as possible.
3.1 Connect the PC Workstation to the ControlWave
1. Plug one end of a null modem cable into your PC serial port.
2. Plug the other end of the cable into one of the RS-232 serial communication ports on the ControlWave.
Note: Later in this chapter, you’ll need to know the baud rate of the ControlWave serial port. See Table 4-1 in CI-
ControlWave for details on factory default baud rates for the ControlWave serial ports.
3.2 Start ControlWave Designer:
Caution
Click Start>Programs>OpenBSI Tools> ControlWave
Tools>ControlWave Designer
If this is the very first time ControlWave Designer has been started on this particular computer, you will be reminded to register the software. Otherwise, the software can only be used for a maximum of
60 days. For more information on the registration process, see
Chapter 2 of the OpenBSI Utilities Manual (D5081).
Revised: Nov-2010 Creating a Simple Project 3-1
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
3.3 Open a New Project
1. Click File>New Project
Click File > New Project
Figure 3-1. Create a New Project
2. Double-click on the ControlWave icon to select a
ControlWave template.
Double-click on “ControlWave”
Figure 3-2. ControlWave Template
The left window pane of ControlWave Designer fills with a structure called the project tree.
3.4 Insert a new logical program organization unit (POU).
Right click Logical POUs in the project tree, and choose Insert >
Program from the pop-up menus.
3-2 Creating a Simple Project Revised: Nov-2010
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
Right-click on “Logical POUs” in the project tree, then choose “ Insert
> Program”.
Figure 3-3. Choose Program POU
3.5 Name the POU, and specify it as a program in ladder (LD).
1. Enter the name “SIMPLE”.
2. Choose "Program" as the type. (If not already chosen.)
3. Choose "LD" as the language.
4. Click OK.
Enter a “Name” for the program.
Choose “Program” as the “Type.”
Specify “LD” as the language.
When finished, click “OK.”
Figure 3-4. Insert dialog box
Revised: Nov-2010 Creating a Simple Project 3-3
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
3.6 Create a Contact Network
1. Double-click on the third SIMPLE item in the project tree (the code window).
2. Click in the right-most window pane.
Three new items show in the in project tree. Double-click on the third
SIMPLE item in the project tree, then click in the right window pane.
Figure 3-5. Project Tree
3. Click the “Network” icon.
Click the “Network” icon and a network of one contact and one coil shows in the right window pane.
3-4
Double-click the C000 contact to call up the Contact/Coil Properties dialog box.
Figure 3-6. Creating a Contact Network
Creating a Simple Project Revised: Nov-2010
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
Note : You may need to scroll through the right pane to view the rest of the network.
3.7 Define the “WATER_LOW” variable.
1. Double-click on the “C000” contact to call up the Contact/Coil
Properties dialog box (see Figure 3-6).
2. Enter the variable name “WATER_LOW” in place of “C000” in the "Name" field, then click OK.
Enter a variable name “WATER_LOW” then click “OK.”
Figure 3-7. Contact/Coil Properties dialog box
New name for the contact
Revised: Nov-2010
Figure 3-8. Assigning a Name to a Contact
Creating a Simple Project 3-5
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
3.8 Insert a parallel contact below, and define the “DRAIN_OPEN” variable
1. Click the WATER_LOW contact, then click the Parallel icon.
This adds a new contact called “C002” below the
WATER_LOW contact we defined earlier.
Click the WATER_LOW contact, then click the Parallel icon
…this adds a parallel branch contact below.
Figure 3-9. Adding a Parallel Branch
2. Double-click on the new contact “C002” to call up the Contact/
Coil Properties dialog box.
Double-click the C002 contact to call up the
Contact/Coil Properties dialog box.
Figure 3-10. Calling Up the Contact/Coil Properties dialog box
3. Enter “DRAIN_OPEN” in place of “C002” in the Name field of the Contact /Coil Properties dialog box, then click OK.
3-6 Creating a Simple Project Revised: Nov-2010
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
Enter “DRAIN_OPEN” as the variable name, then click “OK.”
Figure 3-11. Naming the Contact
3.9 Define the START_PUMP variable:
1. Double-click on the coil “C001” to call up the Contact/Coil
Properties dialog box.
Double-click on coil “C001” to call up the
Contact/Coil Properties dialog box.
Revised: Nov-2010
Figure 3-12. Naming the Coil
Creating a Simple Project 3-7
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
2. Enter ‘START_PUMP’ in place of ‘C001’ in the "Name" field, then click on [OK].
Enter “START_PUMP” for the variable name, then click “OK.”
Figure 3-13. Naming the Coil
3.10 Create a task, and associate the program with that task:
1. Right-click on the “Tasks” under RTU_RESOURCE in the project tree, then choose Insert > Task from the menu. The
Insert dialog box opens.
Under RTU_RESOURCE, right-click on
“Tasks” and choose “Insert>Task.”
3-8
Figure 3-14. Inserting a Task
2. Choose CYCLIC as the "Task Type".
Creating a Simple Project Revised: Nov-2010
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
3. Enter T1 in the "Name" field. (You could name it something else; this is just the name we chose for this example.)
4. Click OK.
Choose “CYCLIC” as the “Task type.”
Enter “T1” as the “Name.”
Click OK to exit the dialog box.
Figure 3-15. Defining a Task
5. Accept the defaults in the Task settings dialog box, and click
OK.
Click OK to accept the defaults and exit the dialog box.
Revised: Nov-2010
Figure 3-16. Task Settings dialog box
Creating a Simple Project 3-9
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
6. Right-click on the “T1” folder which is now in the project tree, and choose Insert>Program Instance from the pop-up menus.
The Insert dialog box opens.
Right-click on the “T1” task and choose
“Insert>Program Instance” from the pop-up menus.
Figure 3-17. Inserting a Program Instance
7. Enter “P1” as the "Program instance" name, then click OK.
Enter “P1” for the name of the “Program instance,” then click “OK.”
3-10
Figure 3-18. Naming the Program Instance
Creating a Simple Project Revised: Nov-2010
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
3.11 Compile the program:
To compile the program, click the “Make” icon. You should see a message saying there were “0 Errors” in the ‘Build’ window at the bottom left of the screen. Disregard any warnings you see at this time.
Click the “Make” icon to compile the program.
Figure 3-19. Compiling the Program
3.12 Download the project into the ControlWave
Warning
Never attempt to download an untested program into an RTU currently running an industrial process or plant. Prior to downloading, isolate the RTU from the process and disconnect I/O.
Failure to take such precautions could result in injury to persons or damage to property.
1. Right-click on the RTU_RESOURCE in the project tree, and choose Settings from the menu. The Resource Settings dialog box opens.
Revised: Nov-2010 Creating a Simple Project 3-11
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
Right-click on the resource, and choose “Settings” from the menu.
Figure 3-20. Specifying Resource Settings
2. In the Resource settings dialog box, choose DLL for the
“Port.”
3. Choose Serial in the “DLL” list box.
4. In the Parameter field, specify the PC communication port
(e.g. COM1), the baud rate, and the timeout in milliseconds.
For this example, we are using COM1, 9600 baud, 2000 millisecond timeout.
5. Click OK.
3-12 Creating a Simple Project Revised: Nov-2010
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
Choose “DLL.”
Choose “Serial.”
Specify the PC COM port, baud rate, and timeout in msec.
Click “OK” when finished.
Figure 3-21. Resource Settings dialog box
Revised: Nov-2010 Creating a Simple Project 3-13
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
6. Click the “Project Control Dialog” icon, and the
RTU_RESOURCE dialog box opens.
Click the “Project Control dialog” icon.
Figure 3-22. Calling up the Project Control dialog box
7. Click Download in the RTU_RESOURCE dialog box. The
Download dialog box opens.
Click “Download.”
3-14
Figure 3-23. RTU_RESOURCE dialog box
8. Click Download in the Download dialog box.
Creating a Simple Project Revised: Nov-2010
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
Click “Download.”
Figure 3-24. Download dialog box
Note: We could, if we chose to, also download the project into the bootproject area of memory, by selecting “Include
Bootproject”, prior to clicking on Download. That causes a copy of the project to be stored in FLASH memory, where it would be preserved in case the unit suffers a power failure. Normally, you only do this when a project has been fully tested and debugged.
9. Log into the ControlWave by entering the username
"SYSTEM" and the password "666666" in response to the
Login prompt, then click OK. The download proceeds.
Revised: Nov-2010
Figure 3-25. Sign In dialog box
Creating a Simple Project 3-15
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
Note: SYSTEM is a default security account which is included in the ControlWave when it ships from the factory, so that you can access the ControlWave during initial configuration, before any other user accounts have been defined. After you complete your configuration activities, you should change the SYSTEM password, since anyone reading this manual would know it.
10. Look at the Port 80 status display and at this point, it should show “01” indicating that you downloaded a project but it is not running yet.
11. Click Cold to start the newly downloaded project; all six status
LEDs should now be OFF indicating that the project is now running.
Click “Cold.”
Figure 3-26. Cold Start
3-16 Creating a Simple Project Revised: Nov-2010
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
3.13 Test the logic of the program in Debug Mode
1. To enter Debug Mode, click the “Debug on/off” icon.
To enter Debug Mode, click the “Debug on/off” icon.
Figure 3-27. Entering Debug Mode
2. Currently, both contacts and the coil should have a value of 0
(FALSE). You can see the value by moving the cursor over the coil / contact. Also, FALSE items are highlighted in BLUE and
TRUE items are highlighted in RED .
Currently, all three variables are 0 (FALSE). You can see a variable’s value by moving the cursor over it.
Revised: Nov-2010
Figure 3-28. Viewing the Value of a Variable
3. Double-click on either one of the contacts (in this case we chose the WATER_LOW contact). The Debug RTU_Resource dialog box opens.
Creating a Simple Project 3-17
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
To force the value to true, click on TRUE, then click on the “Overwrite” button.
3-18
Figure 3-29. RTU_RESOURCE – Overwriting a Value
4. Click on TRUE for the “Value.”
5. Click Overwrite.
6. The START_PUMP coil should automatically turn TRUE
(VALUE of 1) based on the WATER_LOW contact being set to “1” (TRUE). To verify this, move the cursor over the
START_PUMP coil. (Another way to verify the change is to look and see that both these items appear highlighted in RED .)
If the logic in the ladder diagram is working correctly, the START_PUMP variable should now have a value of “1” (TRUE).
Figure 3-30. Coil Changes to “1”
Congratulations! You've just created and downloaded your first
ControlWave project!
Note: If you encountered problems, and weren't able to get this far, try to re-trace your steps, and see if you missed something. To help you further isolate problems, we have included some troubleshooting tips in an appendix, at the end of this manual. If, after reviewing the troubleshooting tips, you still encounter problems, call our ControlWave
Application Support Team for help.
Creating a Simple Project Revised: Nov-2010
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
Chapter 4 – Configuring RTU Parameters
Note: This chapter assumes you already have a communication cable connected between the OpenBSI workstation and the
ControlWave.
Now that you've created a project, and downloaded it successfully, it's time to learn more about configuring the ControlWave. The configuration in this part is performed using the Flash
Configuration Utility.
We’re going to talk about using the Flash Configuration Utility to set your ControlWave’s soft switches, configure its communication ports, set IP parameters, and configure security accounts for its users.
4.1 Starting the Flash Configuration Utility
The way you start the Flash Configuration Utility varies depending upon whether you use LocalView, NetView, or TechView to communicate with the ControlWave.
4.1.1 Method 1: Starting from within LocalView
First, choose “Local” as the mode.
1. Click as follows: Start > Programs > OpenBSI Tools >
LocalView
2. Choose Local for the mode, enter a name for the LocalView file, and click Create.
Next, enter a name for this
LocalView file.
Finally, click “Create.”
Revised: Nov-2010
Figure 4-1. LocalView Local Mode
Configuring RTU Parameters 4-1
4-2
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
3. Choose the communication port on the PC workstation which you will use to communicate with the ControlWave. Then, specify the baud rate for that port, and click Next.
Choose the communication port on the PC workstation
(not on the
ControlWave),
Specify the baud rate for the port.
Finally, click “Next.”
Figure 4-2. Communication Setup in LocalView
4. Turn off auto local address detection by answering No to the question. Then specify 1 as the local address, and
ControlWave as the RTU type. Finally, click Finish.
Choose “No” to turn off local address detection.
Use “1” as the local address. (This is the factory default.)
Choose “ControlWave.”
Finally, click “Finish.”
Figure 4-3. Specifying Local Address and RTU Type
Configuring RTU Parameters Revised: Nov-2010
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
5. At this point, LocalView creates a temporary network with a single ControlWave controller called, generically, “RTU.”
Right-click on the icon, then choose RTU> RTU
Configuration Parameters from the pop-up menus.
Right-click on “RTU” then choose RTU
> RTU Configuration Parameters.
Figure 4-4. Calling Up the Flash Configuration Utility
6.
The Flash Configuration Utility opens. See Using the Flash
later in this chapter.
4.1.2 Method 2: Starting from within NetView (ControlWave
Already in a Network)
Note: This method assumes that the ControlWave already exists in an OpenBSI network within the NetView program, and that it is configured to communicate over that network's communication line as described in the OpenBSI Utilities
Manual (D5081).
1. Click as follows: Start > Programs > OpenBSI Tools >
NetView.
2. Right-click on the ControlWave icon, in the NetView network tree, and choose RTU > RTU Configuration Parameters from the pop-up menus.
3.
The Flash Configuration Utility opens. See Using the Flash
later in this chapter.
Revised: Nov-2010 Configuring RTU Parameters 4-3
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
Right-click on the controller name then choose RTU > RTU Configuration
Figure 4-5. Calling Up the Flash Configuration Utility
4.1.3 Method 3: Starting from within TechView
Note: This method assumes that the ControlWave already exists in an OpenBSI network within the NetView program, and that it is configured to communicate over that network's communication line as described in the OpenBSI Utilities
Manual (D5081).
1. Click as follows: Start > Programs > OpenBSI Tools >
TechView.
2. Specify a name for the session file. The default, if you have no session files is temp.tvs. Click Save.
Specify a session file name, then click “Save.”
4-4
Figure 4-6. Create Session File dialog box in TechView
Configuring RTU Parameters Revised: Nov-2010
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
3. Right-click on the ControlWave icon, in the NetView network tree, and choose RTU > RTU Configuration Parameters from the pop-up menus.
4. In the Communication Setup dialog box, choose BSAP as the communication protocol, and use the default local address of 1.
Specify the COM port on the PC workstation, and the baud rate used to communicate with the ControlWave serial port. When you finish, click Next.
Choose “BSAP.”
Use the factory default local address of “1.”
Choose the communication port on the PC workstation
(not on the
ControlWave),
Specify the baud rate.
Click “Next.”
Figure 4-7. Communication Setup in TechView
5. Choose ControlWave as the “Node Type” then click Next.
Revised: Nov-2010 Configuring RTU Parameters 4-5
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
Choose “ControlWave.”
Click “Next.”
Figure 4-8. TechView Node Setup dialog box
6. In the Calibration Setup dialog box, specify “1” for the number of transmitters (TechView assumes you have at least one transmitter). Then click Finish.
First specify
“1” for the number of transmitters.
4-6
Click “Finish.”
Figure 4-9. Calling Up the Flash Configuration Utility
7. Now log into the ControlWave with your Username and
Password.
Configuring RTU Parameters Revised: Nov-2010
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
Figure 4-10. Logging onto the ControlWave
8. Within TechView, click the “Access Flash” icon to start the Flash Configuration Utility.
Click the “Access Flash” icon.
Figure 4-11. Access Flash
9.
The Flash Configuration Utility opens. See Using the Flash
.
ng the Flash Configuration Utility
4.2 Using the Flash Configuration Utility
You can start the Flash Configuration Utility through NetView,
LocalView, or TechView. It allows you to specify all the major configuration parameters for the ControlWave. As part of this manual, we will only discuss those parts of the Flash Configuration
Utility which are important for a first-time ControlWave user to know in order to get a ControlWave “up and running.” The
OpenBSI Utilities Manual (D5081) includes more detailed instructions for using the Flash Configuration Utility.
Certain options in the Flash Configuration utility don’t require you to establish communications with the RTU, for example, writing flash data to the NETDEF file. If while the utility begins to establish communications you decide you want to use the utility offline, you can click Cancel Initialization and Continue to do that. If, for some reason, the utility cannot establish
Revised: Nov-2010 Configuring RTU Parameters 4-7
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084) communications, you can shut down the utility if you click on
Cancel Initialization and Abort.
Figure 4-12. Cancel Initialization dialog box
Once the Flash Configuration utility establishes communication with the RTU, you can optionally specify the source for the initial
parameters displayed in the utility Figure 4-13).
This prompts you to log into the RTU. The utility then loads the current parameters from the RTU into the Flash Configuration utility pages.
This prompts you to specify the location and filename of a Flash Configuration Profile
(FCP) file. FCP files are files you can use to store flash parameters on the OpenBSI workstation. This simplifies your configuration because once you store these parameters in an FCP file you can optionally re-use the FCP file to load the same flash parameters into a different RTU. That way, you don’t have to re-enter everything for each RTU.
This choice causes the utility to load flash parameters from the current NETDEF file into the pages of the utility. Note: Only choose this option if you start the Flash
Configuration utility from within NetView or
TechView, or LocalView in Configure mode with a specific NDF – don’t choose this if you are running LocalView in other modes (Local,
IP Comm, Flash) because LocalView uses its own temporary NETDEF file in those modes which only exists during the LocalView session.
This choice causes the utility to copy some basic flash parameters into the pages of the
Flash Configuration utility. These basic parameters are based on default settings for the type of RTU.
Figure 4-13. Flash Configuration Loading Options dialog box
After you click OK, the utility loads initial parameters from your chosen source.
4-8 Configuring RTU Parameters Revised: Nov-2010
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
The Flash Configuration utility includes different pages for different types of parameters. To access them, click on the tab for a particular page.
You must click here to sign-on with a username and password in order to access any flash parameters.
Click on any of these tabs to bring up other pages of the Flash
Configuration utility.
This is only useful when using NetView. It allows you to close the session with the current controller, while still leaving the current values on the various pages of the utility. This allows you to configure a different controller, without having to re-enter values in all the fields.
This button reads the current configuration from the controller into the utility.
This button saves
ALL changes to the controller.
This button reads the current configuration from the Flash
Configuration (FCP) file.
This button saves
ALL changes to the
FCP file.
This button reads the current configuration from the NETDEF files into the utility.
This button shuts down the Flash
Configuration utility.
Figure 4-14. Flash Configuration Utility - ControlWave
This button saves ALL changes to the NETDEF files.
4.2.1 Flash Configuration Utility Buttons
The Flash Configuration utility contains several buttons, primarily for read/write file operations. Some of these operations prompt you to sign on to the ControlWave before you can proceed. The Flash
Configuration utility buttons include:
Apply New Node Use this button only when you start the Flash
Configuration utility from within NetView (since you cannot access other nodes in the Select New Node dialog box within LocalView or TechView).
Revised: Nov-2010 Configuring RTU Parameters 4-9
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
Sign On
This option allows you to close the session with the current controller, and then select a different controller for configuration, in the Select New Node dialog box, without reinitializing the values in the pages of the utility. A definition for the new controller must exist within the
NETDEF files.
One application of this is for you to open a session with a new node, and then load configuration information from the NETDEF file(s) for a different node (via Read From
NDF). This is useful if you want multiple nodes to share similar configurations; you can load the common configuration into the utility, and then you only need to modify the portions unique to each individual controller.
You must use this to sign-on to the controller with a username and password prior to reading or writing flash parameters.
4-10
Set Password
Read From RTU
Note: If you do NOT sign on, the first time you attempt a read/write operation with the controller, the system prompts you to sign on.
(Ignore – does not apply to ControlWave series)
Click here to read the current configuration characteristics directly from the controller, and copy them into the pages of the Flash Configuration Utility. You can subsequently store these in the NETDEF using the Write To NDF button, to avoid the need to re-enter the same configuration details inside NetView.
Configuring RTU Parameters Revised: Nov-2010
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
Write To RTU
Note: LocalView prompts you to sign on when you click this button, if you did not sign on previously.
Click here to save all entries in all pages of the Flash
Configuration Utility to the controller. The utility prompt s you to confirm you want to write to the flash memory.
The Flash Configuration Utility displays the progress of the save operation.
Revised: Nov-2010
After the write operation to the ControlWave completes, the Flash Configuration Utility assesses whether or not the changes require you to reset the ControlWave. If the utility de termines that you must reset it prompts you to do so.
Warning
During the reset process, your controller performs no measurement or control of your process. Ensure you have backup control mechanisms in place during the reset process. Failure to take such pr ecautions could result in injury to persons or damage to prope rty
Configuring RTU Parameters 4-11
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
4-12
Read From FCP
Click Yes for OpenBSI to stop any currently running project and reboot the ControlWave unit immediately; changes then take effect. Click No if you want to manually reboot the unit later; changes do not take effect until the reboot.
Click here to read the current configuration of this controller, as specified in a Flash Configuration Profile file (*.FCP), and copy it into the pages of the Flash
Configuration Utility. You can then subsequently copy the configuration into the controller using the Write To
RTU button.
Caution
The Flash Configuration utility does not perform any validation checks on an FCP file when it opens it. Therefore, we recommend you do NOT attempt to edit the FCP file manually with a text editor, because you could corrupt the profile file. Recommended best practice is to edit the FCP only through the Flash Configuration utility.
Write To FCP Click here to copy all entries made in the Flash
Configuration Utility for the current controller into the Flash
Configuration Profile file (*.FCP).
Read From NDF If you click here, the utility reads the current configuration of this controller as specified in NetView's NETDEF files, and copies it into the pages of the Flash Configuration
Utility. This can be particularly useful in a situation where the CPU board of a controller fails, and you need to configure a replacement board. This option allows you to call up the configuration from the NETDEF, and subsequently copy it into the controller using the Write To
RTU button.
Note: Only choose this option if you start the Flash
Configuration utility from within NetView or TechView, or if you specify an NDF file in LocalView Configure mode
Don’t choose this if you are running LocalView in other modes (Flash, IP Comm, Local) because LocalView uses its own temporary NETDEF file which only exists during the LocalView session and disappears on program exit.
Configuring RTU Parameters Revised: Nov-2010
Revised: Nov-2010
Write To NDF
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
If you click here, the utility copies all entries you made in the Flash Configuration Utility for the current con troller into th e current NETDEF file. This avoids the need to re-enter the same configuration information in NetView.
Note: Only choose this option if you start the Flash
Configuration utility from within NetView or TechView, o r if you specify an NDF file in LocalView Configure mode.
Don’t choose this if you are running LocalView in other modes (Flash, IP Comm, Local) because LocalView uses it s own temporary NETDEF file which only exists during the LocalView session and disappears on program exit.
Click here to shut down the Flash Configuration Utility. Close
The various configuration settings are separated into different pages of the utility. You can access them by clicking on the tab for a particular page. The different pages include:
Soft Switches - the most important of these is the BS
AP local address of the controller.
Ports - this includes all communication ports on the
ControlWave - up to four serial ports (COM1 through COM4), and up to three Ethernet IP ports. Note:The number of ports varies depending upon the type of CPU module you purchased for your ControlWave.
IP Parameters - if this controller performs IP communications, certain parameters such as the IP address of the Network Host PC (NHP), UDP socket numbers, and the address of the default gateway must be configured. Som e of the parameters on this page are outside the scope of this manual.
Application Parameters - Most of these are “tuning” parameters which govern how the ControlWave executes its application (project). A discussion of application param eters is outside the scope of this manual.
Archive - Archive data is one portion of the historical capabilities of the ControlWave controller. It allows
‘snapshots’ of many variables to be saved at the same instant, to provide a detailed historical record of process variables at a particular moment in time. The archive data is saved at the controller, in structures called archive files and is configu red, in part, using the ARCHIVE function block in your
ControlWave project. Archive files may be collected by
OpenBSI Utilities such as DataView, or the Harvester. A discussion of archive configuration is outside the scope of this manual.
Configuring RTU Parameters 4-13
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
Audit - Audit data is one portion of the historical capab ilities of the ControlWave controller. It allows records to be kept of when certain variables change value, as well as recording all alarms in the system. The Audit page specifies various parameters used to set up the Audit s ystem. Configuration is also performed, in part, using the AUDIT function block in your ControlWave project. A discussion of audit configurati on is outside the scope of this manual.
IP Routes - Dynamic IP routes allow messages wh ich cannot successfully reach a particular destination address, to be rerouted throu gh a different path in the IP network. A discussion of t his subject is outside the scope of this manual.
Sec
urity - This page allows configuration of user accounts and privileges.
4.3 Setting Sof t Switches
The ControlWave controller, unlike earlier Network 300 0 controller models, does not have physical DIP switches for setting the BSAP local ad dress or EBSAP group number. Instead, you configure these fro m the Soft Switches tab of the Flash
Configuration Util ity.
Local Address The default "Local Address" for a ControlWave, when it ships from the factory, is 1. Local addresses are integer values from 1 to 127, and OpenBSI uses them to identify the location of a controller in a network. The local address of a particular controller must be unique within the network. The local address you enter here must match the local ad dress you define in NetView.
EBSAP Group
Note: If you change the local address, be sure to make note of the new address because you will nee d to know it to communicate with this ControlWave in subsequent communication sessions, and if you want to include this ControlWave in a BSAP network. If you’re just setting up a single
ControlWave to experiment with, you should l eave the local address at the default of 1.
Leave the "EBSAP Group" number at 0, unless your network is configured for Expanded Node Addressing
(EBSAP). EBSAP adds a level of complexity to network configuration, and is only necessary in very large networks where more than 127 slave controllers are defined underneath a given master controller, and for whatever reason, BSAP communica tion is required, instead of IP communication. For more information about Expanded Node
Addressing, see the ControlWave Designer Programmer’s
Handbook (D5125).
4-14 Configuring RTU Parameters Revised: Nov-2010
You can specify the
BSAP local address here. It must range from
1 to 127. The factory default is “1.”
If you’re not using
EBSAP, you must leave this at “0.”
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
Figure 4-15. Soft Switches tab
4.3.1 Saving Changes When You Finish
Click Write To RTU, and the utility sends the new configuration parameter values to FLASH memory in the ControlWave.
Depending upon which parameters you change, you may need to reset the unit for the changes to take effect.
4.4 Setting Up a BSAP Slave Port
You can configure any of the ControlWave’s serial COM ports as a BSAP Slave port. BSAP stands for Bristol Synchronous /
Asynchronous Protocol. It is a protocol used for communication by
ControlWave and Network 3000 controllers.
You can use a BSAP Slave Port to:
communicate with OpenBSI software on the PC (such as.
NetView, LocalView, DataView, and other programs)
communicate with ControlWave Designer software on the PC
communicate with another controller on a higher level of the
BSAP network, which has a BSAP Master Port that addresses this controller
To configure the BSAP slave port, follow these steps.
1. Click the Ports tab, if you haven't already.
2. Click the icon for the ControlWave port you want to configure as a BSAP Slave Port. Depending upon how many serial ports your ControlWave has, a valid choice could range from COM1 through COM4.
Revised: Nov-2010 Configuring RTU Parameters 4-15
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
First, choose the serial port
(COM1 to COM11) you want to configure as a BSAP slave.
Choose “BSAP Slave.” Choose the baud rate here; it must match the baud rate used at the other end of the communication line.
Figure 4-16. Configuring a BSAP Slave Port
3. Choose BSAP Slave from the "Mode" list box.
4. Choose the desired baud rate from the "Baud Rate" field. This must match the baud rate configured in whichever other software is communicating with this controller, for example, the BSAP communication line in OpenBSI, the serial DLL in
ControlWave Designer, or the BSAP Master Port in another controller.
5. At this point, you can proceed to configure other ports, or go to other pages of the Flash Configuration Utility.
Note: In a multi-level BSAP network, if you define more than one
BSAP Slave Port, or one or more BSAP Slave Ports and one or more Ethernet Ports (described later), you should remember than only one of those ports is considered to be the network slave port. The Network Slave Port is the only port, among all the serial Slave Ports and Ethernet ports. that serves as the upward route for message traffic to the
Network Master. To designate a port as the network slave port, you must specify the proper port number in the
_SLAVE_PORT system variable using the System Variable
Wizard. This subject is discussed in the ControlWave
Designer Programmer’s Handbook (D5125).
4-16 Configuring RTU Parameters Revised: Nov-2010
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
4.4.1 Saving Changes When You Finish
Click Write To RTU, and the utility sends the new configuration parameter values to FLASH memory in the ControlWave.
Depending upon which parameters you change, you may need to reset the unit for the changes to take effect.
4.5 Setting Up an Ethernet Port
A ControlWave can contain one or three Ethernet Ports, depending upon which communication options you purchase.
1. Click the Ports tab, if you haven't already.
2. Choose the Ethernet port (ENET1).
3. Specify an "IP ADDR A" and "IP MASK" for this port. IP addresses must be unique within your network. Conversely, IP masks are typically the same for all devices in the same portion of a network. Together, the IP Address and IP Mask define a range of addresses to which this port can send messages. (See
4.5.1 Recommended Ranges for IP Addresses.) Basically, a
non-zero value in any of the "IP MASK" fields indicates that the corresponding "IP ADDR A" field is specifying a portion of the IP address which must be identically matched with every destination IP address to which this port will send messages. A zero value in any of the "IP MASK" fields means that this communication port can send messages to addresses in which any integer from (0 to 255) is considered valid for that
corresponding portion of the destination IP address.
Scroll down and select the
ENET1 port.
Specify the IP address and the IP mask.
Figure 4-17. Setting the IP Address and Mask for the Ethernet Port
Revised: Nov-2010 Configuring RTU Parameters 4-17
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
In Figure 4-17, the "IP ADDR A" for the port is 10.23.19.1 and
the "IP MASK" is 255.255.0.0. This means that this port can send to any address in the format 10.23.y.z where y and z are any integer from 0 to 255. So, 10.23.127.76 and 10.23.35.93 would be valid destinations, but 24.1.1.1 would not because the 255 in the "IP
MASK" indicates that the corresponding portion of the "IP
ADDR A" MUST be 10.
Notes:
Leave the IP ADDR B field blank. It is reserved for redundant operations which we will not discuss in this manual.
There are other restrictions, for example, the non-zero mask entries must be all be in contiguous fields, and must begin in the left-most portion of the address. More details on these subjects are included in the OpenBSI Utilities Manual (D5081).
In newer ControlWave units, all Ethernet ports are preprogrammed at the factory with initial IP addresses and masks.
The default IP addresses and masks for these are:
ETH1 IP Address: 10.0.1.1 IP Mask: 255.255.255.0
ETH2 IP Address: 10.0.2.1 IP Mask: 255.255.255.0
ETH3 IP Address: 10.0.3.1 IP Mask: 255.255.255.0
Because each unit shipping from the factory has these initially pre-programmed, you should only use these addresses for
“bench” testing and configuration. You must change these addresses before putting the ControlWave unit on an actual network, since an address conflict would exist as soon you place the second ControlWave unit online.
4. At this point, you can proceed to configure other ports, or go to other pages of the Flash Configuration Utility.
4.5.1 Recommended Ranges for IP Addresses
If you are intend to connect your controller network directly to the global world-wide Internet, you must obtain a range of IP addresses from your Internet service provider (ISP) or from an
Internet governing body such as the Internet Assigned Numbers
Authority (IANA).
If you have no plans to connect your network to the global
Internet, there is no restriction on your choice of IP addresses, however, the Internet Engineering Task Force recommends that IP addresses for private networks should be assigned from the following ranges:
10.0.0.0 to 10.255.255.255
172.16.0.0 to 172.31.255.255
4-18 Configuring RTU Parameters Revised: Nov-2010
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
192.168.0.0 to 192.168.255.255
Note : For information on the Internet Engineering Task Force recommendation see Rekhter, et al, Best Current Practice memo - "Address Allocation for Private Internets", Internet
Engineering Task Force, RFC 1918, February, 1996. The full text of this memo is available at http://www.ietf.org.
These particular ranges of Internet addresses are reserved for private networks. Most Internet Service Providers (ISP) recognize any messages coming from these addresses as coming from private networks, and filter these messages out. This helps avoid addressing conflicts should an accidental connection occur between a private network, and the global Internet.
Devices (e.g. controllers, workstations) in our controller networks always use fixed IP addresses. This causes certain complexities if you choose to use Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (DHCP) in your network. Because DHCP assigns IP addresses dynamically, as they are needed, you must examine your DHCP server to determine the addresses which have been assigned for each controller or workstation, and then manually enter those addresses in NetView. You should then specify the longest possible lease time for the addresses, to help prevent the loss of a given address through a device failure.
It is also strongly recommended that you configure the DHCP server so that the addresses reserved for the controllers are permanently reserved (by tying them to the RTU MAC addresses within the DHCP configuration or by having them in a totally different address range). You should do the same when you configure RAS servers or other machines capable of providing dynamic addressing information. Otherwise, you could accidentally have duplicate IP addresses on your network.
4.5.2 Other Port Types:
There are several other possible port types which can be configured: “PPP,” “BSAP Master,” and others. These subjects are beyond the scope of this manual. See the online help in
ControlWave Designer as well as Chapter 5 of the OpenBSI
Utilities Manual (D5081) for more information.
4.5.3 Saving Changes When You Finish
Click Write To RTU, and the utility sends the new configuration parameter values to FLASH memory in the ControlWave.
Depending upon which parameters you change, you may need to reset the unit for the changes to take effect.
Revised: Nov-2010 Configuring RTU Parameters 4-19
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
Configuring IP Parameters
4.6 Setting IP Parameters
IP parameters determine how the ControlWave communicates over an IP (Internet Protocol) network.
Enter the primary IP address for this controller’s Network Host PC (NHP)
If the same NHP has a second IP address, or you have a redundant backup NHP, enter the address here. If neither of these situations apply, leave this at all zeroes.
4-20
These are socket numbers used for IP communications. All controllers and OpenBSI workstations on the network which are to communicate with one another must share the same IBP and Time Synch numbers. This is a security feature, so we recommend you alter the defaults shown here.
Any messages with destination IP addresses not reachable within this network are automatically sent to the default gateway address.
Figure 4-18. Specifying IP Parameters
NHPs The Network Host PC (NHP) is any PC workstation running OpenBSI (Version 3.0 or newer) which has a network of one or more controllers. A controller on an IP network will only accept time synchronization messages, node routing tables (NRT), and alarm destinations, from its
NHP's IP addresses.
Configuring RTU Parameters Revised: Nov-2010
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
IP ADDR A This is the primary IP address of the Network Host PC
(NHP) which has the network which includes this controller.
IP ADDR B If the NHP identified above (in IP ADDR A) has a second
IP address, that address may be entered here, in case the primary connection is broken. Alternatively, if there is a redundant backup NHP, its address should be entered here. If neither of these cases apply, "IP ADDR B" should be left at all zeroes.
UDP Ports
IBP
Time Synch
Gateway
Default G/W
UDP ports (sometimes referred to as sockets) have nothing to do with physical communication port hardware.
They actually refer to entry points within the UDP communication protocol software (which is an industry standard Internet Protocol). The underlying details of UDP are beyond the scope of this document, but the parameters are included here as a security feature.
IBP is the UDP port used by the IP driver software. Every
OpenBSI Workstation and controller in a given network, which need to communicate via IP, MUST share the same
IBP UDP socket number. For security purposes, we recommend you change the IBP port number to something other than the default value shown. This is particularly important if your network has a connection to the world-wide
Internet.
This is the UDP port used to send time synchronization messages to controllers. Every OpenBSI Workstation and controller in a given network, which needs to communicate via IP, must share the same time synch UDP socket number. For security purposes, it is recommended that you change the IBP port number to something other than the default value shown. This is particularly important if your network has a connection to the world-wide Internet.
If this controller receives any messages for which it cannot locate a direct route to a destination address, it sends them to the default gateway's IP address, as specified in this field. A default gateway is a device (PC workstation, remote process controller, router) which receives these messages, and attempts to route them to their destination.
SNMP, RIP Protocol, Dynamic IP Routing Ping, Challenge Protocol:
These IP parameters are used in more complicated network configurations, and to meet certain special IP security requirements. Explanations are beyond the scope of this document.
4.6.1 Saving Changes When You Finish
Click Write To RTU, and the utility sends the new configuration parameter values to FLASH memory in the ControlWave.
Revised: Nov-2010 Configuring RTU Parameters 4-21
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
Depending upon which parameters you change, you may need to reset the unit for the changes to take effect.
4.7 Configuring Usernames and Passwords
The Security page of the Flash Configuration Utility allows you to create usernames and passwords for ControlWave users, and to define privileges for the users. This allows you to restrict who has access to various features and functions of the ControlWave.
To access the Security page, click the Security tab.
4-22
Figure 4-19. Security Tab
4.7.1 Adding a New User
A ControlWave controller can support up to 240 different users.
To add a user, enter the user’s name (up to 16 characters long) in the “Username” field, and enter a password (up to 16 characters long) for the user in the “Password” and “Verify” fields. The password will not appear as you type it.
Note: Some OpenBSI programs such as DataView, Downloader, and others, which communicate with the ControlWave only support shorter usernames and passwords (ten characters or less for the username, six characters or less for the password) so you may want to reduce the length of each username and password to conform to these limits. Also, to communicate with this ControlWave using these programs, passwords must be UPPERCASE.
Configuring RTU Parameters Revised: Nov-2010
Revised: Nov-2010
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
Next, select the privileges for this user by clicking “Custom” and then select the individual privileges in the “Privileges” list box, so they are highlighted. Alternatively, you can choose "Operator,"
"Engineer" or "Administrator" for a particular user, which automatically highlights privileges associated with those user categories. The tables, on the next page, show the privileges associated with these user categories, and list what all the various privileges mean.
When you have selected all desired privileges, click the Add button to add the user to the system.
Note: Every ControlWave has a special user called RDB_Max.
This user account defines the maximum privileges allowed for RDB protocol messages coming into the ControlWave.
(Programs such as DataView, the Harvester, and others use
RDB messages to communicate.) You cannot delete the
RDB_Max user, or rename it, but you can change its privileges.
The table below shows the privileges associated with the Operator,
Engineer, and Administrator categories:
The table, below, shows the privileges associated with the
Operator, Engineer, and Administrator categories:
Table 5-2. Standard User Privileges
Read Data Value
Update Data Value
Read Flash Files via FTP
Change/Del Flash Files via
FTP
Read Historical Data
Change Last Read Pointers in
Audit Info
Change/Delete Historical
Definitions
Add / Change / Del User
Security Info
Modify Soft Switches
Run Diag to read Memory
Run Diag to write Memory
T
T
T
T
T
T
T
T
T
T
T
T
T
T
T
T
T
T
T
T
T
T
Configuring RTU Parameters 4-23
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
Read Stat / Diag Info
Read Stat / Crash Blocks
Read Application Values
Write Application Values
Full Application Access
T
T
T
T
T
T
T
T Add New Historical Definitions
The table, below, describes the meaning of each privilege:
Table 5-3. User Privileges
T
T
T
T
T
T
Privilege Description
Read Data Value Allows this user to read data values from this controller.
Update Data Value
Read Flash Files via FTP
Alows this user to change data values in this controller.
Allows this user read access (using File
Transfer Protocol) to files stored in this
ControlWave's flash memory. This includes the ControlWave boot project, source files (*.ZWT), etc.
Change/Del Flash Files via
FTP
Read Historical Data
Allows this user (using File Transfer
Protocol) to change or delete files stored in the ControlWave's flash memory. This could include the ControlWave boot project, source files (*.ZWT), etc.
Allows this user to view historical data
(Audit / Archive information) from the controller, using either web pages, or
DataView.
Change Last Read Pointers in
Audit Info
Allows this user to delete audit records from the controller.
Add New Historical Definitions Allows this user to create new archive file definitions, and / or to set up the alarm and event buffers for audit configuration using the Flash Configuration Utility.
Change/Delete Historical
Definitions
Allows this user to change or delete historical definitions via the Flash
Configuration Utility.
Add / Change / Del User
Security Info
Modify Soft Switches
Allows this user to add, change, or delete security configuration information via the
Flash Configuration Utility security page.
Allows this user to change soft switch
4-24 Configuring RTU Parameters Revised: Nov-2010
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
Privilege Description values in the soft switches page of the
Flash Configuration Utility.
Run Diag to read Memory
Run Diag to write Memory
Read Stat / Diag Info
Read Stat / Crash Blocks
Read Application Values
Write Application Values
Full Application Access
Allows this user to run diagnostics to read memory at the controller.
Allows this user to run diagnostics to write to memory at the controller.
Allows this user to view communication statistics and other information on the
Statistics web pages.
Allows this user to reset statistics and crash block areas on the Statistics web pages.
Allows this user to read values using the
ControlWave Designer OPC Server.
Allows this user to modify values using the
ControlWave Designer OPC Server.
Allows this user full privileges to perform debugging operations in ControlWave
Designer.
4.7.2 Modifying the Privileges of an Existing User
To change the privileges of an existing user:
1. Select the user’s name from the list of "Usernames."
2. Select / de-select privileges for that user in the “Privileges” list box.
3. When you finish making selections, click Modify to store the modified privileges for that user.
4.7.3 Deleting an Existing User
To delete a user from the system, select the user's name from the
"Usernames" list and click Delete.
Note: You cannot delete the RDB_Max user. You also cannot delete any user who is currently signed into the
ControlWave.
4.7.4 Saving Changes When You Finish
Click Write To RTU, and the utility sends the new configuration parameter values to FLASH memory in the ControlWave.
Depending upon which parameters you change, you may need to reset the unit for the changes to take effect.
Revised: Nov-2010 Configuring RTU Parameters 4-25
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
Unlike many of the other pages in the Flash Configuration Utility, once you click Write To RTU the changes take effect immediately.
Note: When you have finished configuring all of your user accounts, you should make sure the default switch (SW2-3) is turned ON; otherwise the special default security account
(SYSTEM) remains active.
What's Next?
4.8 What’s Next?
Now that you have completed your initial configuration, you can begin developing a real ControlWave project for your particular industrial automation/control application, configure historical data parameters, etc. The table, below, lists other places in the documentation set where you can find more information:
For more information on:
Installation of other kits, such as
OpenBSI Network Edition,
OpenBSI Harvester
Please refer to:
Chapter 2 of the OpenBSI Utilities
Manual (D5081)
Creating a project in ControlWave. Example in the Getting Started with
ControlWave Designer Manual
(D5085)
ControlWave Designer, IEC 61131 Online help in ControlWave terminology Designer
ACCOL3 Function Blocks Online help in ControlWave
Designer
I/O Configurator
OpenBSI
Flash Configuration Utility
Getting Started with ControlWave
Designer Manual (D5085) and the
ControlWave Designer
Programmer’s Handbook (D5125)
OpenBSI Utilities Manual (D5081)
Chapter 5 of the OpenBSI Utilities
Manual (D5081)
Historical System (audit/archive) ControlWave Designer
Programmer’s Handbook (D125)
Web page controls
ControlWave hardware
Web_BSI Manual (D5087)
CI-ControlWave
4-26 Configuring RTU Parameters Revised: Nov-2010
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
Appendix A – Troubleshooting Tips
Here are some common questions that arise when first using the
ControlWave:
I made changes to configuration parameters in the ControlWave
(such as the port type or the local address) but the old settings are still in effect. How come?
For certain new settings to take effect, you must first reset the unit (turn the unit off, then turn it back on). The other reason this can occur is if you still have the default switch (SW1-3) in the OFF position. Changes to soft switches are ignored when SW1-3 is OFF. If you're not sure whether SW1-3 is in the ON or OFF position, you can find out by resetting the unit, and looking at the Port 80 display; if you see the code
"FA" momentarily appear (for factory), this means SW1-3 is OFF.
When I try to download a project to the ControlWave, I get an “Access
locked by Switch” message in the Sign On dialog box. What does that mean?
This typically refers to the key switch which is just above COM port 1 on the ControlWave. In order to download a project, you must set this switch to either the “REMOTE” or “LOCAL” position, depending upon whether you are communicating serially, or using TCP/IP. (Serial communications from ControlWave Designer require the switch be in the “LOCAL” position; TCP/IP communications support either
“REMOTE” or “LOCAL”.) OpenBSI downloads can occur with the switch in either the “REMOTE” or “LOCAL” position.
If you see this message, check to see if the key switch is in the “RUN” position. If it is, you need to turn it to either
“LOCAL” or “REMOTE.”
Revised: Nov-2010
I am able to connect to the ControlWave, but Internet Explorer returns a “-404 File Not Found” error when I try to call up a web page.
Make sure you have the correct path and filename configured for the web page.
Troubleshooting Tips A-1
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide (D5084)
I tried to start ControlWave Designer to communicate with the
ControlWave, but I got the message “Could not attach to serial port.”
What causes that?
This can occur if some other program is already using the serial port on the PC. For example, while you run NetView to communicate with the
ControlWave, you cannot use the same PC port simultaneously to communicate directly, using ControlWave Designer. You can, however, start ControlWave Designer from within NetView; and let OpenBSI handle communications.
A-2 Troubleshooting Tips Revised: Nov-2010
This page is intentionally left blank
ControlWave Quick Setup Guide
User Manual
D5084
November, 2010
Emerson Process Management
Remote Automation Solutions
1100 Buckingham Street
Watertown, CT 06795
Phone: +1 (860) 945-2262
Fax: +1 (860) 945-2525 www.EmersonProcess.com/Remote
Emerson Process Management
Remote Automation Solutions
6338 Viscount Rd.
Mississauga, Ont. L4V 1H3
Canada
Phone: 905-362-0880
Fax: 905-362-0882 www.EmersonProcess.com/Remote
Emerson Process Management SA de CV
Calle 10 #145
Col. San Pedro de los Pinos
01180 Mexico, D.F.
Mexico
T +52 (55) 5809-5300
F +52 (55) 2614-8663 www.EmersonProcess.com/Remote
Emerson Process Management, Ltd.
Remote Automation Solutions
Blackpole Road
Worcester, WR3 8YB
United Kingdom
Phone: +44 1905 856950
Fax: +44 1905 856969 www.EmersonProcess.com/Remote
Emerson Process Management AP Pte Ltd.
Remote Automation Solutions Division
1 Pandan Crescent
Singapore 128461
Phone: +65-6770-8584
Fax: +65-6891-7841 www.EmersonProcess.com/Remote
NOTICE
“Remote Automation Solutions (“RAS”), division of Emerson Process
Management shall not be liable for technical or editorial errors in this manual or omissions from this manual. RAS MAKES NO WARRANTIES,
EXPRESSED OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING THE IMPLIED WARRANTIES OF
MERCHANTABILITY AND FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE WITH
RESPECT TO THIS MANUAL AND, IN NO EVENT SHALL RAS BE LIABLE
FOR ANY INCIDENTAL, PUNITIVE, SPECIAL OR CONSEQUENTIAL
DAMAGES INCLUDING, BUT NOT LIMITED TO, LOSS OF PRODUCTION,
LOSS OF PROFITS, LOSS OF REVENUE OR USE AND COSTS
INCURRED INCLUDING WITHOUT LIMITATION FOR CAPITAL, FUEL AND
POWER, AND CLAIMS OF THIRD PARTIES.
Bristol, Inc., Bristol Babcock Ltd, Bristol Canada, BBI SA de CV and the Flow
Computer Division are wholly owned subsidiaries of Emerson Electric Co. doing business as Remote Automation Solutions (“RAS”), a division of
Emerson Process Management. FloBoss, ROCLINK, Bristol, Bristol
Babcock, ControlWave, TeleFlow and Helicoid are trademarks of RAS. AMS,
PlantWeb and the PlantWeb logo are marks of Emerson Electric Co. The
Emerson logo is a trademark and service mark of the Emerson Electric Co.
All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.
The contents of this publication are presented for informational purposes only. While every effort has been made to ensure informational accuracy, they are not to be construed as warranties or guarantees, express or implied, regarding the products or services described herein or their use or applicability. RAS reserves the right to modify or improve the designs or specifications of such products at any time without notice. All sales are governed by RAS’ terms and conditions which are available upon request.
© 2010 Remote Automation Solutions, division of Emerson Process
Management. All rights reserved.
Shkarko
Reklamë