EFI C9 Server Fiery C9 Server Printing Guide
Реклама
Реклама
Fiery® C9 Server
Printing
© 2016 Electronics For Imaging, Inc. The information in this publication is covered under Legal Notices for this product.
31 March 2016
45142379
*45142379*
Printing
Contents
3
Contents
Introduction
Windows for C9 Server
Mac OS for C9 Server
Printing
Contents
Other Printing Methods
4
Printing
Contents
Print Options
5
Printing
Contents
Index
6
Printing
Introduction
7
Introduction
Printing describes how to install the printer drivers on Windows and Mac OS computers for the Fiery® C9 Server.
This document covers the following topics:
•
Installing printer drivers on Windows computers
•
Setting up the printing connections on Windows computers
•
Printing from Windows computers
•
Installing printer drivers on Mac OS computers
•
Setting up Mac OS computers for printing
•
Printing from Mac OS computers
•
Fiery® C9 Server print options
•
Using printing methods other than the printer driver to print to the Fiery® C9 Server
For information about setting up network servers and client computers to use the Fiery® C9 Server, see Configuration
and Setup. For general information about using the printer, your computer, application software, or network, see the documentation that accompanies those products.
For information about supported operating systems and system requirements, see Configuration and Setup.
Terminology, conventions, and documentation resources
This document uses the following terminology and conventions to refer to the Fiery® C9 Server, printer, and supported operating systems.
Term or convention
Aero
Refers to
C9 Server (in illustrations and examples)
Command WorkStation Fiery Command WorkStation
Printer C931/C941/C942/Pro9431/Pro9541/Pro9542/ES9431/ES9541/ES9542
C9 Server Fiery® C9 Server
Note:
Also referred to as Model: SP30-14.
Mac OS All supported Mac operating systems. For a complete list, see System Requirements in
Configuration and Setup.
Printing
Introduction
8
Term or convention
Windows
Warning:
Caution:
Important:
Refers to
All supported Windows operating systems. For a complete list, see System Requirements in
Configuration and Setup.
A warning concerning operations that may lead to death or injury to persons if not performed correctly. To use the equipment safely, always pay attention to these warnings.
A caution concerning operations that may lead to injury to persons if not performed correctly. To use the equipment safely, always pay attention to these cautions.
Operational requirements and restrictions. Be sure to read these items carefully to operate the equipment correctly, and avoid damage to the equipment or property.
The following documentation resources are available for the Fiery® C9 Server.
Resource
User documentation
Description
Documents in this set: Color Printing, Configuration and Setup, Fiery Graphics Arts Package
Premium Edition, Printing, Utilities
Online help
•
Help can be accessed directly from each Fiery application or by going to help.efi.com
.
•
Each help system is available as a printable PDF, accessed from the PDF icon in the upper right corner of the Help window.
Additional reference material
•
Fiery Color Reference - help.efi.com/ref/colorref/en-us/
•
Variable Data Printing - help.efi.com/ref/vdp/en-us/
•
Workflow Examples - help.efi.com/ref/workflows/en-us/
•
Configure Help - help.efi.com/configure/3.0/en-us/
•
Fiery Ticker Help - help.efi.com/fieryticker/2.0/en-us/
User software for printing
You need to install user software to set up basic printing on the C9 Server.
Other documents may describe user software that can be used to print documents.
User software
Printer drivers (for Windows and
Mac OS)
Printer Delete Utility (for Windows)
Description
Provides information about the C9 Server and your particular printer model to your application and printer driver.
Uninstalls the Windows printer driver and associated printer driver files. (See
Uninstall printer drivers from Windows client computers
on page 18.)
Printing
Introduction
9
User software
Fiery Software Uninstaller Utility (for
Mac OS)
Description
Printing
Windows for C9 Server
10
Windows for C9 Server
The C9 Server can be set up as a printer on a Windows computer by installing the printer driver that corresponds to your printer and setting up the C9 Server for printing.
Printer drivers provide a way to communicate information about print jobs between your applications, the C9
Server, and the printer.
Installing Windows printer drivers
Installing the printer driver is the first step to set up the C9 Server as a printer.
The User Account Control (UAC) feature is available on computers with the Windows operating systems supported by the C9 Server. You must be the administrator or a user with Administrator privileges to install printer drivers. For information about supported operating systems, see Configuration and Setup.
Note:
If the C9 Server printer driver is already installed, you must uninstall it before you install a new driver. (See
Uninstall printer drivers from Windows client computers on page 18.)
Installing printer drivers with Point and Print
SMB printing (also known as Windows or WINS printing) allows you to install PostScript printer drivers on your computer from the C9 Server with Point and Print.
You can then print to a particular connection (Print queue, Hold queue, Direct connection or the name of the virtual printer).
If the Sequential Print queue is enabled on the C9 Server, then the sequential print connection is available.
Sequential Print allows the C9 Server to maintain the job order on certain jobs sent from the network. The workflow is 'First In, First Out' (FIFO), respecting the order in which the jobs were received over the network. For more information, see Command WorkStation Help.
Each connection requires a separate installation. Repeat the procedure for each connection.
When you install the printer driver using Point and Print, you cannot configure installable options manually. The
Before you begin, ask your administrator to do the following in Setup on the C9 Server:
•
Assign the C9 Server a valid IP address.
The IP address or DNS name is required in the following procedure.
•
Configure the C9 Server for SMB printing.
Note:
SMB printing is referred to as Windows Printing in Setup and on the Configuration page.
Printing
Windows for C9 Server
11
For more information, see Configuration and Setup or Command WorkStation Help.
Set up SMB printing on Windows computers for the C9 Server
Install the C9 Server printer driver with SMB printing on Windows computers.
1
To navigate to computers and devices on your network, do one of the following:
•
Windows 10: Press the Windows logo key on the keyboard to open the Start screen. From the desktop, rightclick the Start button in the lower-left corner of the screen. Click Control Panel. Click Hardware and Sound and then click Devices and Printers.
•
Windows 8.1/Server 2012 R2: Press the Windows logo key on the keyboard to open the Start screen. From the desktop, click the Start button in the lower-left corner of the screen. Click Control Panel and then click Devices and Printers
.
•
Windows 8/Server 2012: Press the Windows logo key on the keyboard to open the Start screen. Open the
Search
charm by moving the mouse pointer to the upper-right or lower-right corner of the screen, move it up or down, and click Search. Type Control Panel in the search box, click Apps, and then click Control Panel in the results. Click Devices and Printers.
•
Windows 7/Server 2008 R2: In Control Panel, click Network and Internet, and then click the View network computers and devices link from the Network and Sharing Center list.
•
Windows Vista/Server 2008: In Control Panel, double-click Network and Sharing Center, and then click the
View computers and devices
link.
2
Search for the C9 Server on the network using either its name or IP address.
If you cannot locate the C9 Server, contact your administrator.
3
Double-click the C9 Server icon to display active print connections.
Note:
For a description of each print connection, see Configuration and Setup.
Printing
Windows for C9 Server
12
4
Double-click the connection that you want to set up (print, hold, direct or the name of the virtual printer).
If the Sequential Print queue is enabled on the C9 Server, then the sequential print connection is available.
The files are installed on your computer.
Note:
You may receive a message that you are about to connect to a printer on the C9 Server, which will automatically install a printer driver on your computer. Click Yes to continue.
5
Navigate to the devices and printers on your network.
The printers are displayed in the Devices and Printers (or Printers and Faxes or Printers) folder.
6
Right-click the C9 Server icon and choose Printer properties or Properties.
7
Click Print Test Page on the General tab.
If the Test Page prints successfully, you are ready to print from the computer.
8
Repeat the previous steps for the other connections that you want to set up.
Download printer drivers with WebTools
WebTools allow you to download printer driver installers to your computer directly from the C9 Server, if your administrator has turned on access to WebTools.
For information about Setup, see Configuration and Setup.
For information about setting up and starting WebTools, see Utilities.
1
Start your Internet or intranet browser and type the DNS name or IP address of the C9 Server.
2
Click the Downloads tab.
3
Click the link for the item that you want to install.
For Windows printer drivers, click the Printer Files link under the Windows heading.
4
If a dialog box prompts you to open the file or save it to disk, save it to disk.
5
Browse to the location where you want to save the PRNTDRV.EXE file and click Save.
The file is downloaded from the C9 Server. This compressed file is an archive that contains multiple files.
6
Double-click the PRNTDRV.EXE file to extract the files.
Depending on your operating system, you might be prompted to select a location to extract the files.
After the files are copied to the specified location, the Fiery Driver Installer starts automatically.
Note:
The User Account Control (UAC) feature is available on computers with the Windows operating systems supported by the C9 Server. You must be the administrator or a user with Administrator privileges to install printer drivers. Right-click PRNTDRV.EXE and select Run as administrator. For information about supported operating systems, see Configuration and Setup.
7
Install the printer driver.
Follow the instructions for your operating system to install the printer driver. The procedures are the same as for installing from the DVD. (See
Install and complete the print connection for Windows
on page 13.)
Printing
Windows for C9 Server
13
Download printer drivers from the C9 Server
You can download the printer driver to your computer directly from the C9 Server over the network, and then follow the instructions for your operating system to install the printer driver.
The administrator must share the PC_User_SW folder over the network before you can perform the procedure. The procedures are the same as for installing from the User Software DVD or downloaded from WebTools.
1
To navigate to computers and devices on your network, do one of the following:
•
Windows 10: Press the Windows logo key on the keyboard to open the Start screen. From the desktop, rightclick the Start button in the lower-left corner of the screen. Click Control Panel, click Network and Sharing
Center
, and then click the View network computers and devices link from the Network and Sharing Center list.
•
Windows 8.1/Server 2012 R2: Press the Windows logo key on the keyboard to open the Start screen. From the desktop, click the Start button in the lower-left corner of the screen. Click Control Panel, click Network and
Sharing Center
, and then click the View network computers and devices link from the Network and Sharing
Center list.
•
Windows 8/Server 2012: Press the Windows logo key on the keyboard to open the Start screen. Open the
Search
charm by moving the mouse pointer to the upper-right or lower-right corner of the screen, move it up or down, and click Search. Type Control Panel in the search box, click Apps, and then click Control Panel in the results. Click Network and Sharing Center. Type network in the Search field to view all options. Click the
View network computers and devices
link from the Network and Sharing Center list.
•
Windows 7/Server 2008 R2: In Control Panel, click Network and Internet, and then click the View network computers and devices link from the Network and Sharing Center list.
•
Windows Vista/Server 2008: In Control Panel, double-click Network and Sharing Center, and then click the
View computers and devices
link.
2
Search for the C9 Server on the network using either its name or IP address.
If you cannot locate your C9 Server, contact your administrator.
3
Double-click the name of the C9 Server.
A folder called PC_User_SW is displayed along with the active print connections.
4
Double-click the PC_User_SW folder and browse to the Print Drivers\Ps_drvr folder.
5
Install the printer driver.
To complete the printer driver installation, follow the procedure in
Install and complete the print connection for
on page 13.
Install and complete the print connection for Windows
You can install the printer driver from the User Software DVD or download and install it from WebTools.
When you install the printer driver and complete the print connection, you are automatically creating a local printer
(Port 9100). You can modify the port connection later, according to your network type.
Printing
Windows for C9 Server
14
1
To install the printer driver, do one of the following:
•
Insert the User Software DVD into the DVD drive, type the name of the DVD drive (for example, D:\), browse to the Windows_User_SW\Print Drivers\Driver_Installer folder, and double-click setup.exe.
Note:
When you insert the User Software DVD into the DVD drive, the Fiery Driver Installer may start automatically.
•
From WebTools, after the printer driver is copied to the specified location, the Fiery Driver Installer starts automatically.
2
In the Fiery Driver Installer dialog box, select the printer driver language and click Next.
The Fiery Driver Installer - InstallShield Wizard appears.
3
Click Next in the Welcome to the InstallShield Wizard for Fiery Driver Installer dialog box.
4
Read the license agreement, click I accept the terms of the license agreement and click Next.
5
For these Windows operating systems, do the following:
•
Windows 10/8.1/8/Server 2012/Server 2012 R2: Click The printer that I want isn’t listed.
6
To add a local printer on the network, do one of the following:
•
Windows 10/8.1/8/Server 2012/Server 2012 R2: Select Add a local printer or network printer with manual settings
.
•
Windows 7/Server 2008 R2: Select Add a local printer.
•
Windows Vista/Server 2008: Select Add a local printer.
7
Select Create a new port, select Standard TCP/IP Port from the Type of port menu, and then click Next.
Note:
The WSD port is supported on Windows 7 or later.
8
Do one of the following:
•
Windows 10/8.1/8/Server 2012/Server 2012 R2: Type the host name or IP address of the C9 Server. Select the
Query the printer and automatically select the driver to use
check box. Click Next and proceed to step
.
•
Windows 7/Vista/Server 2008/Server 2008 R2: Type the host name or IP address of the C9 Server, and then click Next. Proceed to step
.
9
In the Printers box, select your printer and click Next.
Note:
Select the printer driver with "US" or without "EU" for North America (the default Document Size is
Letter) or without "US" or with "EU" for International (the default Document Size is A4).
10
Type a name for the C9 Server in the Printer name field, and click Next.
This name is used in the Devices and Printers (or Printers and Faxes or Printers) folder and the queues window.
11
Follow the on-screen instructions.
Indicate whether you want to make it the default printer. Do not share the printer and do not print a Test Page at this time.
Continue with the printer driver installation and at the last screen, click Finish.
The necessary files are installed on your hard disk drive.
Printing
Windows for C9 Server
15
12
Configure the installable options.
For more information, see
Configure installable options on Windows client computers
on page 24.
13
on page 19.
14
To use the printer driver, you must select the following options on the Advanced tab of the printer driver:
•
Spool print documents so program finishes printing faster
•
Start printing immediately
•
Print spooled documents first
15
Click Apply in the C9 Server Properties dialog box, and then click OK.
Install the printer driver on a 64-bit Windows computer from a 32-bit Windows Server 2008 computer
If your network users print to the C9 Server with Windows Server 2008 (32-bit) print sharing, and 64-bit Windows 7 users are also on your network, you must add the 64-bit printer driver to the Windows Server 2008 (32-bit) computer, so that users can install the printer driver on their computers using Point and Print.
We do not recommend installing the printer driver from a server (32-bit) to client computer (64-bit). When you install the 64-bit printer driver to the computer (32-bit), the Windows Server 2008 (64-bit) CD is required.
1
Install the C9 Server printer driver on the Windows Server 2008 computer.
For instructions, see
Install and complete the print connection for Windows
on page 13.
During the installation, when asked if you want to share the printer, select Yes.
2
In the Printers window, right-click the printer that you just installed and select Server Properties.
3
Click the Drivers tab, click Add and then click Next.
4
Select the x64 components check box.
5
Click Have Disk and browse to the Print Drivers\Ps_drvr folder on the User Software DVD, and select the oemsetup.inf
file.
6
If you are installing from the files you downloaded from the C9 Server using the Downloads tab in WebTools, browse to Print Drivers\Ps_drvr, make sure that oemsetup.inf is selected and click Open.
7
Follow the on-screen instructions to complete the printer driver installation.
Install and connect to a virtual printer
A virtual printer allows you to print to the C9 Server using a predefined set of job settings.
You do not have to set print options manually. Before you can print to a virtual printer, the administrator must create and configure the virtual printer using Command WorkStation. After the virtual printer is set up, you can install the printer driver and printer description files on your computer from the C9 Server using Point and Print.
For more information about setting up virtual printers, see Command WorkStation Help.
Printing
Windows for C9 Server
16
When you install the printer driver with Point and Print, you cannot configure installable options manually.
Installable options are configured automatically. The installed options are displayed in the printer driver when you select the Two-Way Communication option.
Set up a virtual printer on Windows computer with Point and Print
Complete the installation and setup of the virtual printer on a Windows computer with Point and Print.
1
To navigate to computers and devices on your network, do one of the following:
•
Windows 10: Press the Windows logo key on the keyboard to open the Start screen. From the desktop, rightclick the Start button in the lower-left corner of the screen. Click Control Panel. Click Hardware and Sound and then click Devices and Printers.
•
Windows 8.1/Server 2012 R2: Press the Windows logo key on the keyboard to open the Start screen. From the desktop, click the Start button in the lower-left corner of the screen. Click Control Panel and then click Devices and Printers
.
•
Windows 8/Server 2012: Press the Windows logo key on the keyboard to open the Start screen. Open the
Search
charm by moving the mouse pointer to the upper-right or lower-right corner of the screen, move it up or down, and click Search. Type Control Panel in the search box, click Apps, and then click Control Panel in the results. Click Devices and Printers.
•
Windows 7/Server 2008 R2: In Control Panel, click Network and Sharing Center, and then click the View network computers and devices link from the Network and Sharing Center list.
•
Windows Vista/Server 2008: In Control Panel, double-click Network and Sharing Center, and then click the
View computers and devices
link.
2
Search for the C9 Server on the network using either its name or IP address.
If you cannot locate the C9 Server, contact your administrator.
3
Double-click the C9 Server icon to display active print connections.
Virtual printers are listed along with the Print queue, Hold queue, and Direct connection (if those connections are active). Virtual printers are usually assigned names that indicate the type of job for which they are set up.
If the Sequential Print queue is enabled on the C9 Server, then the sequential print connection is available.
4
Right-click the virtual printer that you want and select Connect.
The files are installed on your computer.
5
Navigate to the devices and printers on your network.
The virtual printer is displayed in the Devices and Printers (or Printers and Faxes or Printers) folder.
You can print to a virtual printer as you would print to any other printer. Depending on how the virtual printer is configured, you may not be able to set some print options.
If you use Command WorkStation to import a PostScript file to a virtual printer and the file already specifies the number of copies, the setting for the number of copies in the PostScript file takes precedence over the number of copies set in the virtual printer.
Note:
When you print to a virtual printer installed with Point and Print, you must open the Printing Preferences window and click OK before the job is printed. This applies the virtual printer settings to the job.
Printing
Windows for C9 Server
17
Turn on Two-Way Communication on Windows client computers
You must turn on the Two-Way Communication option to automatically update your printer driver to reflect the options currently installed on the printer.
Note:
The User Account Control (UAC) feature is available on computers with the Windows OS supported by C9
Server. You must be the administrator or a user with Administrator privileges to add or change the installable
24.) For information about supported operating systems, see Configuration and Setup.
1
Navigate to the devices and printers on your network.
•
Windows 10: Press the Windows logo key on the keyboard to open the Start screen. From the desktop, rightclick the Start button in the lower-left corner of the screen. Click Control Panel. Click Hardware and Sound and then click Devices and Printers.
•
Windows 8.1/Server 2012 R2: Press the Windows logo key on the keyboard to open the Start screen. From the desktop, click the Start button in the lower-left corner of the screen. Click Control Panel and then click Devices and Printers
.
•
Windows 8/Server 2012: Press the Windows logo key on the keyboard to open the Start screen. Open the
Search
charm by moving the mouse pointer to the upper-right or lower-right corner of the screen, move it up or down, and click Search. Type Control Panel in the search box, click Apps, and then click Control Panel in the results. Click Devices and Printers.
•
Windows 7/Server 2008 R2: In Control Panel, click Network and Internet, and then click the View network computers and devices link from the Network and Sharing Center list.
•
Windows Vista/Server 2008: In Control Panel, double-click Network and Sharing Center, and then click the
View computers and devices
link.
The printers are displayed in the Devices and Printers (or Printers and Faxes or Printers) folder.
2
Right-click the C9 Server icon and choose Printer properties or Properties.
3
Click the Installable Options tab.
4
Select the Two-Way Communication check box.
5
Type the C9 Server IP address or DNS name.
6
Select Update Fiery Driver When Opened to display the current default settings for the printer when the printer driver is opened.
7
Click Update.
Note:
To confirm that Two-Way Communication is turned on, click the About tab and check that the C9 Server name and other server information are displayed.
8
Click Apply, and then click OK.
You must click OK for the printer driver to reflect the correct installable options.
Printing
Windows for C9 Server
18
Uninstall printer drivers from Windows client computers
The Printer Delete Utility is installed and used locally to uninstall printer drivers from a Windows client computer.
You do not need to connect to the C9 Server before you use the software.
1
Install the Fiery Printer Delete Utility using one of the following methods:
•
Download the Client Software Installer for Windows from WebTools.
Start your Internet or intranet browser and type the DNS name or IP address of the C9 Server. Click the
Downloads
tab. Click the link to install and follow the on-screen instructions.
•
Insert the User Software DVD into the DVD drive of the computer.
The Fiery User Software Installer starts automatically.
2
Select the Fiery Printer Delete Utility check box, and follow the on-screen installation instructions.
3
Click Start, select Programs or All Programs, and then select Fiery.
4
Select Printer Delete Utility.
Any C9 Server printer drivers found on your computer are listed.
Note:
All printer drivers installed on your computer are listed.
5
Do one of the following:
•
To delete a printer, select the check box next to the printer name and click Delete the Selected Printers.
•
To delete all of the installed printer drivers, select the Delete All Printer Drivers check box, and click OK.
6
When you finish deleting printer drivers, click Exit.
Printing
Windows for C9 Server
19
Setting up Windows computers for printing
After the printer driver is installed on the Windows client computer, you need to configure the proper connection for your networked C9 Server printer.
To print from Windows computers, you or the administrator must perform the following tasks to set up a connection:
•
Set up network servers, if any.
•
Set up the C9 Server to accept print jobs from your computer.
•
Configure a port on each Windows computer for the network type.
Setting up printing connections on Windows client computers
The print connections must be set up on the Windows client computers.
The C9 Server supports the following printing connections:
•
SMB
•
Standard TCP/IP (RAW or LPR)
•
IPP or IPP over SSL
•
FTP
•
WSD
Set up Standard TCP/IP Port (Raw or LPR) printing connections on Windows client computers
After you install the printer driver, you can add or configure the Setup for the Standard TCP/IP Port (Raw or LPR) connection on a Windows client computer.
To complete the Standard TCP/IP Port (Raw or LPR) connection, do the following:
•
Prepare the C9 Server to accept print jobs using Standard TCP/IP Port (Raw or LPR) protocols.
•
Turn on LPD or Port 9100 on the C9 Server.
•
Configure the computer for the TCP/IP connection.
For more information about Setup, see Command WorkStation Help.
Before you complete the following procedure, contact your administrator for the IP address assigned to the C9
Server.
The TCP/IP protocol should be installed as a default on the Windows computer. For Port 9100, you can set up the connection and install the printer driver in one procedure.
Note:
You can also set up the LPR Port connection by installing Print Services for UNIX, which is supplied as an add-on Windows component. For more information, see the documentation that accompanies Windows.
Printing
Windows for C9 Server
20
1
Navigate to the devices and printers on your network.
The printers are displayed in the Devices and Printers (or Printers and Faxes or Printers) folder.
2
Right-click the C9 Server icon and choose Printer properties or Properties.
3
Click the Ports tab.
4
To add a new port, click Add Port.
To change the port settings, proceed to step 10
.
5
In the Printer Ports dialog box specify the port type, do one of the following:
•
Select Standard TCP/IP Port from the list of Available port types and click New Port.
•
Double-click Standard TCP/IP Port in the list.
The Add Standard TCP/IP Printer Port Wizard dialog box appears.
Printing
Windows for C9 Server
21
6
Click Next.
7
Type the C9 Server IP address.
8
Click Next.
9
Click Finish to close the Add Standard TCP/IP Printer Port Wizard dialog box, and then click Close in the Printer
Ports
dialog box.
To change the default setting, proceed to step 10
.
If you do not want to change the default setting, the setting is now completed.
Note:
Port 9100 was set as the default setting in
Install and complete the print connection for Windows on page
13.
10
Click Configure Port on the Ports tab of the Properties dialog box.
Printing
Windows for C9 Server
22
11
To set up the port settings, do one of the following:
•
To use LPR printing, select LPR in the Protocol area and LPR Byte Counting Enabled in the LPR Settings area.
Note:
You can also proceed without selecting LPR Byte Counting Enabled.
•
To use Port 9100 printing, select Raw in the Protocol area.
The port number 9100 automatically appears in the Raw Settings area. This is the default port number. You can print to the printer connection selected for Port 9100 printing on the C9 Server.
To specify a specific port number, see step 12
.
12
Type the name of the print connection.
For LPR, type print, hold, direct or sequential for Queue Name or published virtual printer name.
For Port 9100, type the following port numbers for each print connection in the Raw Settings area:
•
C9 Server default: 9100
•
direct: 9101
•
print: 9102
•
hold: 9103
Note:
Type the number exactly as shown.
13
When the SNMP Status Enabled check box is selected, spooling is stopped if the printer driver or spooler detects an error status on the C9 Server.
Printing
Windows for C9 Server
23
14
Click OK to close the Configure Standard TCP/IP Port Monitor dialog box.
Note:
The C9 Server supports printing in the IPv6 environment on Windows operating systems. For information about supported operating systems, see Configuration and Setup.
15
Click Apply in the C9 Server Properties dialog box, and then click OK.
Complete IPP connections on Windows client computers
With Internet Printing Protocol (IPP), print jobs are sent to the C9 Server over the Internet from Windows computers.
Before you begin, perform the following tasks:
•
Make sure that the C9 Server is configured for TCP/IP printing and IPP printing. (See Command WorkStation
Help.)
•
Specify the printing destination on your computer.
IPP over SSL connections is supported.
Note:
Using IPP over SSL connection requires certificates on Windows operating systems. For information about supported operating systems and on certificate creation, see Configuration and Setup. You can manage certificates from Configure. (See Command WorkStation Help.)
1
Navigate to the devices and printers on your network.
The printers are displayed in the Devices and Printers (or Printers and Faxes or Printers) folder.
2
To add a printer, do one of the following:
•
Click Add a printer, and then select Add a network, wireless, or Bluetooth printer or Add a network printer.
•
Double-click the Add Printer icon, click Next, and then select Network printer and click Next.
3
To search for a printer on the network, do one of the following:
•
Windows 10: If the printer search takes a long time, click The printer that I want isn’t listed.
•
Windows 8.1/8/7/Server 2008 R2/Server 2012/Server 2012 R2: If the printer search takes a long time, click
Stop
, and then click The printer that I want isn’t listed.
•
Windows Vista: Select Connect to a printer on the Internet or your intranet.
Printing
Windows for C9 Server
24
4
To connect to a printer on the network, do one of the following:
•
Windows 10: Click Select a shared printer by name, and in the URL field, type the IP address or DNS name of the C9 Server, followed by the name of the connection (print, hold, or direct).
For example, http://10.10.10.150/ipp/print or http://DNS name of server/ipp/print sends the job to the
Print queue on the C9 Server.
Note:
The URL for the printer is not case-sensitive.
•
Windows 8.1/8/7/Server 2008 R2/ Server 2012/Server 2012 R2: Click Select a Shared printer by name, and in the URL field, type the IP address or DNS name of the C9 Server, followed by the name of the connection
(print, hold, or direct).
For example, http://10.10.10.150/ipp/print or http://DNS name of server/ipp/print sends the job to the
Print queue on the C9 Server.
Note:
The URL for the printer is not case-sensitive.
•
Windows Vista: In the URL field, type the IP address or DNS name of the C9 Server, followed by ipp/ and then the name of the connection (hold, direct, print, or name of virtual printer).
For example, http://10.10.10.150/ipp/print, http://DNS name of the server/ipp/print or ipp://10.10.10.150 sends the job to the Print queue on the C9 Server.
For IPP over SSL, type https, instead of http.
Note:
The ipp/print in the example is case-sensitive.
5
Click Next.
6
To install the printer driver, do one of the following:
•
Windows 10: Select the manufacturer and model of your printer and click OK.
•
Windows 8.1/8/7/Server 2008 R2/Server 2012/Server 2012 R2: Click Install driver.
•
Windows Vista: Click OK.
7
If you are installing the PostScript printer for the first time, follow the procedure
Install and complete the print connection for Windows
on page 13.
8
Indicate whether you want to make the C9 Server the default printer.
•
Windows 10: Click Finish.
•
Windows 8.1/8/7/Server 2008 R2/Server 2012/Server 2012 R2: Click Next.
•
Windows Vista: Click Next.
9
To complete the printer driver installation, click Finish.
Configure installable options on Windows client computers
After you complete the printer driver installation, you must configure the C9 Server for the options installed on the printer to allow the C9 Server to take advantage of the printer options.
Configure the options manually, or for TCP/IP network connections, use the Two-Way Communication option to configure the options automatically.
Printing
Windows for C9 Server
25
Note:
When you configure installable options manually, make sure to leave Two-Way Communication and Update
Fiery Driver When Opened
options unchecked.
For information about specifying installable options, see printer driver help.
Note:
The User Account Control (UAC) feature is available on computers with the Windows operating systems supported by the C9 Server. You must log on with Administrator privileges to add or change the installable options after the printer driver is installed. For more information about supported operating systems, see Configuration and
Setup.
1
Navigate to the devices and printers on your network.
The printers are displayed in the Devices and Printers (or Printers and Faxes or Printers) folder.
2
For Windows computers with User Account Control, right-click the C9 Server icon, select Run as administrator, and then select Printer properties or Properties.
The User Account Control dialog box opens.
3
Select the User that has administrator privileges, type the password, and then click OK.
4
Right-click the C9 Server icon and choose Printer properties or Properties.
5
Click the Installable Options tab and make your selections.
6
Click Apply, and then click OK.
You must click OK for the printer driver to reflect the correct installable options.
Note:
The Installed Options are not reflected correctly if you close the dialog box by clicking the Cancel key or the Close button.
Configure installable options for printer drivers installed with the Add Printer Wizard on Windows client computers
After you install the printer driver, you must configure the installable options.
If you install the printer driver from Add Printer Wizard and then use Two-Way Communication to configure the installable options, the installable options are not configured properly.
1
After you install the printer driver, right-click the C9 Server icon, select Printer properties, click the Installable
Options
tab, and then select your installable options.
2
Click Apply, and then click OK.
You must click OK for the printer driver to reflect the correct installable options.
Printing from Windows client computers
You can print to the C9 Server just as you would print to any other printer from a Windows application.
You can print from a networked Windows computer or a computer using Windows (WINS) printing. Select the C9
Server as the current printer in the Printer Name list, specify print options, and then print the document from the application.
Printing
Windows for C9 Server
26
The following list includes other methods to print to the C9 Server and describes where to find information about these features:
•
Downloading files to the C9 Server with the Docs tab in WebTools. (See Utilities.)
•
Printing documents with E-mail Services. (See E-mail Service
on page 60.)
•
Printing documents with Hot Folders. (See Hot Folders Help.)
•
Printing documents with Command WorkStation. (See Utilities.)
•
Printing with Windows servers connected to the C9 Server. (See Configuration and Setup.)
•
Printing documents with Web Services Device (WSD) printing. (See
Web Services for Devices printing
on page
66.)
The following list includes information about printing and saving files to the C9 Server and describes where to find information about these features:
•
Achieving optimal printing results from applications. (See Color Printing and Fiery Color Reference.)
•
Printing jobs from Windows applications. (See
Print jobs from Windows applications
on page 26.)
•
Specifying default print options. (See
Specify default print options for print jobs on Windows client computers
on page 29.)
•
Customize the Quick Access icon. (See
Customize the Quick Access icon in the Windows printer driver
on page
30.)
•
View the printer status. (See View the printer status
on page 31.)
•
Save files to print to a remote location. (See
Saving files to print at a remote location on page 31.)
•
Define and print custom page sizes. (See
Defining and printing custom page sizes on page 104.)
Print jobs from Windows applications
To print from Windows applications, install the PostScript printer driver, and then specify print options for a particular job before sending it to the C9 Server for printing.
Be sure to configure the options on the Advanced tab of the printer driver after installation is complete. (See
Installing Windows printer drivers on page 10.)
If you print to a virtual printer, you may not be able to set some print options, depending on how the virtual printer is configured.
Some print options that are selectable from an application are similar to print options that are specific to the C9
Server and the printer. In these cases, use the print options specific to the C9 Server and the printer. These options appear on the Fiery Printing tab. The application may not set up the file properly for printing on the C9 Server, resulting in unexpected finishing, printing errors, or longer processing time.
If you specify incompatible print settings when printing a document, the Conflict dialog box provides instructions to resolve the conflict.
Some print options, such as expert color settings, Paper Catalog, and VDP master information, are available only if
Two-Way Communication is turned on or a particular installable option is configured. For information about Two-
on page 24.)
Printing
Windows for C9 Server
27
If you select Printer’s default, the job prints according to the settings that the administrator specified in Setup. (See
Print options and default settings
on page 69.)
Set print options for a specific print job with the Windows printer driver
After you install the Windows printer driver on the client computer, you can set print options for a print job.
1
In your application, select File > Print, and select the C9 Server as your printer.
2
Click Properties.
3
Click the Fiery Printing tab.
1 Print option icons
2 Active area
3 Printer Status
4 Presets (Job Templates), see Help
5 Customize (Shortcuts), see Help
6 Job View
7 Help
The Fiery Printing tab serves as the control center for all frequently used printing functions.
Printing
Windows for C9 Server
28
When you save the print options in a preset, the following option settings are not reflected:
•
Job Info
options: Destination, File name, Schedule printing, Secure print, User authentication > Password,
Section name
, and Section password
•
Layout
option: Impose
For information about using presets, see printer driver help.
Note:
For a list of print options, see
Print options and default settings on page 69.
4
Specify print options and settings for your job.
The print options are grouped by categories. Each group or tab contains print options that are similar or complement one another.
•
Quick Access
- Contains duplicate print options from the other job properties groups. It is customizable, so any print option can be added or removed from the view. The Quick Access tab lets you find print options quickly
•
Job Info
- All information about the job, including user information that may be required for user
authentication and job handling. (See Job Info options on page 69.)
•
Media
- Attributes and sources of paper to print and insert. (See
on page 72.)
•
Layout
- Defines the imposition of the print job and the booklet process on the media/sheet, except for
positioning that compensates for finishing options, for example, Tray Alignment. (See Layout options
on page
75.)
•
Color
- Color settings and additional features (when turned on). (See
•
Specialty Color
- Print options related only to clear or white toner (when turned on). (See
Specialty Color tab options on page 89.)
•
Image
- All Image Quality settings supported by the connected C9 Server and printer. (See Image options
on page 90.)
•
Finishing
- Print options related only to finishing equipment on the printer, and also image shifting to compensate for finishing options. These options override settings in C9 Server Printer Setup but can be
changed from Command WorkStation. (See Finishing options on page 92.)
•
VDP
on page 94.)
•
Stamping
- All image stamping options that add or hide/remove any image on the job. This also includes
•
Printer
5
After you specify the print settings, click OK, and then click Print to send your print job.
Note:
When you use the Enable job tracking print option, a window is displayed for your job accounting information.
Printing
Windows for C9 Server
29
Specify default print options for print jobs on Windows client computers
You can set the default print options for Windows print jobs using the Windows printer driver.
1
Navigate to the devices and printers on your network.
•
Windows 10: Press the Windows button on the keyboard to open the Start screen. From the desktop, rightclick the Start button in the lower-left corner of the screen. Click Control Panel. Click Hardware and Sound and then click Devices and Printers.
•
Windows 8.1/Server 2012 R2: Press the Windows button on the keyboard to open the Start screen. From the desktop, click the Start button in the lower-left corner of the screen. Click Control Panel and then click Devices and Printers
.
•
Windows 8/Server 2012: Press the Windows button on the keyboard to open the Start screen. Open the Search charm by moving the mouse pointer to the upper-right or lower-right corner of the screen, move it up or down, and click Search. Type Control Panel in the search box, click Apps, and then click Control Panel in the results. Click Devices and Printers.
•
Windows 7/Server 2008 R2: In Control Panel, click Network and Sharing Center, and then click the View network computers and devices link from the Network and Sharing Center list.
•
Windows Vista/Server 2008: In Control Panel, double-click Network and Sharing Center, and then click the
View computers and devices
link.
The printers are displayed in the Devices and Printers (or Printers and Faxes or Printers) folder.
2
Right-click the C9 Server icon and select Printing Preferences.
3
If the Fiery Printing tab is not displayed, click it.
Printing
Windows for C9 Server
30
1 Print option icons
2 Active area
3 Printer Status
4 Presets (Job Templates), see Help
5 Customize (Shortcuts), see Help
6 Job View
7 Help
4
Specify the default settings for your print job. (See
Set print options for a specific print job with the Windows printer driver on page 27.)
5
Click OK to close the dialog box.
Customize the Quick Access icon in the Windows printer driver
The Quick Access icon can be customized with print options that you use frequently.
This saves time because you do not have to open all of the other print option icons to set the options that you placed in Quick Access.
When you place a print option in Quick Access, it still appears under its original print option icon. You can set the option from either location.
Printing
Windows for C9 Server
31
1
In your application, select File > Print and select the C9 Server as your printer.
2
Click Properties.
3
Click the Fiery Printing tab.
4
Click Customize to specify the options shown in the Customize Quick Access dialog box.
5
Add or remove a shortcut by selecting one and moving it from the Available Shortcuts list to/from the Current
Shortcuts
list.
6
Click OK to save your changes.
For more information about Quick Access, see printer driver help.
View the printer status
You can retrieve the status and levels of consumable materials of the printer from the C9 Server and display them in the printer driver with the Two-Way Communication option.
You can retrieve its color settings from the C9 Server and display them in the printer driver.
For information about monitoring the status of the printer, see printer driver help.
Saving files to print at a remote location
If you do not have an C9 Server on site and are preparing files for a service bureau or other location, print the final files to the File port (as opposed to one of the local ports).
You can also print to the File port to create a file to download using the Docs tab in WebTools. For instructions on printing to the File port, see the documentation that accompanies Windows.
Printing
Mac OS for C9 Server
32
Mac OS for C9 Server
The C9 Server can be set up as a printer on a Mac OS computer by installing the printer driver that correspond to your printer and setting up the C9 Server for printing.
Printer drivers provide a way to communicate information about print jobs between your applications, the C9
Server, and the printer.
Note:
Select the printer driver with “US” or without "EU" for North America (the default Document Size is Letter) or without “US” or with "EU" for International (the default Document Size is A4).
Installing printer driver on a Mac OS computer
Installing the printer driver is the first step to set up the C9 Server as a printer.
Note:
If the C9 Server printer driver is already installed, you must uninstall it before you install a new driver. (See
Uninstall printer driver from a Mac OS computer on page 34.)
Install Mac OS printer driver from the User Software DVD
The User Software DVD provides the software for Mac OS computers, such as the printer driver.
1
Quit all open applications.
2
Insert the User Software DVD into the DVD drive.
3
Open the Mac_User_SW folder.
4
Double-click Fiery Printer Driver.dmg.
5
Double-click Fiery Printer Driver.pkg and click Continue.
6
Read the license and click Continue.
7
Follow the on-screen instructions.
The Fiery Printer Driver Installer installs the printer driver that correspond to the C9 Server.
Note:
When the printer driver is added with the Bonjour connection, the last three bytes of the Mac OS address is added to the C9 Server name.
8
If you can find the C9 Server from the list of printers by Network Discovery, do one of the following:
•
Select the C9 Server, and continue to install the printer driver by specifying the Print queue. The printer uses the Bonjour connection.
•
If you specify the Direct or Hold queue, the printer uses the LPD (LPR) protocol.
Printing
Mac OS for C9 Server
33
9
If you cannot find the C9 Server (on a different subnet) and you want to use Port9100/LPR/ipp or want to connect to a virtual printer, then click Install Printer Driver Only.
You need to associate the printer driver from System Preferences > Printers & Scanners with the C9 Server.
Download printer drivers with WebTools
WebTools allow you to download printer driver installers to your computer directly from the C9 Server, if your administrator has configured access to WebTools.
For more information about setting up and starting WebTools, see Utilities.
1
Start your Internet or intranet browser and type the DNS name or IP address of the C9 Server.
2
Click the Downloads tab.
3
Click the Printer Files link for Mac OS X.
A file named Fiery Printer Driver.dmg is downloaded to your desktop.
Note:
If the file is not on the desktop, open the Downloads folder.
4
Double-click Fiery Printer Driver.dmg.
5
Double-click Fiery Printer Driver.pkg and click Continue.
6
Read the license and click Continue.
7
Follow the on-screen instructions.
Download Mac OS printer driver from the C9 Server
You can download the printer driver to your Mac OS computer directly from the C9 Server over the network.
1
In the Finder, select Go > Connect to Server.
2
Type SMB:// followed by the name or IP address of the C9 Server and click Connect.
If you cannot locate your C9 Server, contact your administrator.
3
Type the user name and password in the SMB/CIFS File System Authentication dialog box.
The “Guest” account can be used as the default. The Guest account does not require a password. If the Guest account cannot be used, ask your network administrator for an account.
4
Select the Mac_User_SW folder from the shared volume list and click OK.
5
Double-click the Fiery Printer Driver Installer icon to start installing the printer driver.
6
Follow the on-screen instructions.
Printing
Mac OS for C9 Server
34
Uninstall printer driver from a Mac OS computer
The Fiery Software Uninstaller utility is used to remove printer drivers from the Mac OS computer. It is installed and used locally on your Mac OS computer.
Install and use the Fiery Software Uninstaller utility
1
To copy the Fiery Software Uninstaller.dmg to your desktop, do one of the following:
•
Copy it from the User Software DVD.
•
Copy it from the Mac_User_SW folder from the shared volume list on the C9 Server.
2
Double-click Fiery Software Uninstaller.dmg.
The Fiery Software Uninstaller opens in the Finder, displaying the Fiery Software Uninstaller icon and an arrow pointing to a link to the Applications folder.
3
Drag the Fiery Software Uninstaller icon to the Applications folder.
4
Open the Applications folder and double-click the Fiery Software Uninstaller icon.
5
Click the Printers tab if it is not already selected.
6
Select a printer from the Installed Printers list.
7
Do one of the following:
•
Click Remove Printer and Driver to remove the printer along with its printer driver files.
If you want to remove the printer and the associated printer driver files, you can select only one printer at a time.
•
Click Remove Printer to remove the printer from the Installed Printers list only, but leave the printer driver files installed.
The utility can remove only printers that are not currently in use or open on the Dock.
Note:
If more than one printer uses the same printer driver file, removing the printer driver file also removes all printers using that printer driver.
8
To confirm that you want to delete the printer, type the password for your Mac OS computer in the dialog box and click OK.
9
Click the Drivers tab to view the installed printer drivers.
10
Close the Fiery Software Uninstaller dialog box.
Delete the Fiery Software Uninstaller utility
•
Delete the Fiery Software Uninstaller icon from the Applications folder.
Printing
Mac OS for C9 Server
35
Set up Mac OS computers for printing
After the printer driver that corresponds to your printer has been installed, you must set up the Mac OS computer for printing to the C9 Server.
Set up printing on a Mac OS X v10.11 client computer
After you have the C9 Server printer driver installed, you must set up printing to the C9 Server on a client computer running Mac OS X v10.11. You can add the printer with the LPR, Port 9100 or IPP connection.
Set up the C9 Server from the Print dialog box on a Mac OS X v10.11 client computer
1
Open a file in your application.
2
Select File > Print.
3
Select Add Printer from the Printer menu.
In the dialog box that appears, select a printer connection.
Set up the C9 Server with Printers & Scanners on a Mac OS X v10.11 client computer
1
Select Apple menu > System Preferences, and then select Printers & Scanners.
2
Click the + button to add a printer.
In the dialog box that appears, select one of the printer connections:
•
Default
•
IP Printer
Printing
Mac OS for C9 Server
36
Add a printer with the Default connection on a Mac OS X v10.11 client computer
You can add a printer with the Default connection on a Mac OS X v10.11 client computer.
1
Click the Default icon in the Add dialog box.
The names of printers with default connections are listed.
The names of the virtual printers appear as printer name : virtual printer name in the list of printers.
Any published virtual printer is available over LPR and FTP.
Note:
SMB printing is not supported for Mac OS X v10.11.
2
Select the C9 Server from the list.
The information about the selected printer appears at the bottom of the Default pane. The appropriate printer driver for the C9 Server is automatically selected.
3
Click Add.
The C9 Server name appears in the list of printers.
4
Select C9 Server.
5
Click Options & Supplies, and then click the Options tab.
6
Specify the installable option settings, and then click OK.
For information about configuring installable options, see printer driver help.
Printing
Mac OS for C9 Server
37
Obtain the IP address of the C9 Server on a Mac OS X v10.11 client computer
When the Bonjour connection is used for the C9 Server printer driver on a Mac OS X v10.11 client computer, you can find out the IP address of the C9 Server from the printer’s Webpage.
1
Select Apple menu > System Preferences, and then select Printers & Scanners.
2
Select the C9 Server from the list, and then click Options & Supplies.
3
Click the General tab, and then click Show Printer Webpage.
4
Click the Configure tab.
5
Scroll to Network Protocol Setup, locate the IP address for the C9 Server, and record it for future reference.
The IP address is needed to turn on Two-Way Communication in the printer driver.
For information about Two-Way Communication, see printer driver help.
6
Click the Close button to exit WebTools.
7
Click OK to close the Options & Supplies pane.
8
Close the Printers & Scanners dialog box.
Obtain the IP address of the C9 Server
When the Bonjour connection is used for the C9 Server printer driver on a Mac OS X client computer, you can find out the IP address from the C9 Server control panel.
1
From the C9 Server control panel, press the Menu button.
1 Up button
2 Menu button
3 Down button
4 Activity light
5 Display window
6 Line selection button #1-4, from top to bottom
2
Press the second button on the right side corresponding to IP address.
The IP address of the C9 Server appears.
Printing
Mac OS for C9 Server
38
Add a printer with the IP Printer connection on a Mac OS X v10.11 client computer
You can add a printer with the IP Printer connection on a Mac OS X v10.11 client computer.
1
Click the IP icon in the Add dialog box.
2
Do one of the following:
•
For LPD printing, select Line Printer Daemon - LPD from the Protocol list, type the C9 Server IP address or
DNS name in the Address field, and then type the print connection (print, hold or sequential) or published virtual printer name in the Queue field.
•
For Port 910x printing, select HP Jetdirect - Socket from the Protocol list, type the C9 Server IP address or DNS name in the Address field. The Queue field can be left empty.
3
Choose Select Software from the Use menu.
4
Locate the printer manufacturer or model in the list, select the printer driver, and then click OK.
5
Click Add.
6
Specify the installable option settings in the installable options pane in the Printers & Scanners dialog box, and then click OK.
The C9 Server with its IP address appears in the list of printers.
For information about configuring installable options, see printer driver help.
Printing
Mac OS for C9 Server
39
Set up printing on a Mac OS X v10.10 client computer
After you have the C9 Server printer driver installed, you must set up printing to the C9 Server on a client computer running Mac OS X v10.10. You can add the printer with the LPR, Port 9100 or IPP connection.
Set up the C9 Server from the Print dialog box on a Mac OS X v10.10 client computer
1
Open a file in your application.
2
Select File > Print.
3
Select Add Printer from the Printer menu.
In the dialog box that appears, select a printer connection.
Set up the C9 Server with Printers & Scanners on a Mac OS X v10.10 client computer
1
Select Apple menu > System Preferences, and then select Printers & Scanners.
2
Click the + button to add a printer.
In the dialog box that appears, select one of the printer connections:
•
Default
•
IP Printer
Printing
Mac OS for C9 Server
40
Add a printer with the Default connection on a Mac OS X v10.10 client computer
You can add a printer with the Default connection on a Mac OS X v10.10 client computer.
1
Click the Default icon in the Add dialog box.
The names of printers with default connections are listed.
The names of the virtual printers appear as printer name : virtual printer name in the list of printers.
Any published virtual printer is available over LPR and FTP.
Note:
SMB printing is not supported for Mac OS X v10.10.
2
Select the C9 Server from the list.
The information about the selected printer appears at the bottom of the Default pane. The appropriate printer driver for the C9 Server is automatically selected.
3
Click Add.
The C9 Server name appears in the list of printers.
4
Select C9 Server.
5
Click Options & Supplies, and then click the Options tab.
6
Specify the installable option settings, and then click OK.
For information about configuring installable options, see printer driver help.
Printing
Mac OS for C9 Server
41
Obtain the IP address of the C9 Server on a Mac OS X v10.10 client computer
When the Bonjour connection is used for the C9 Server printer driver on a Mac OS X v10.10 client computer, you can find out the IP address of the C9 Server from the printer’s Webpage.
1
Select Apple menu > System Preferences, and then select Printers & Scanners.
2
Select the C9 Server from the list, and then click Options & Supplies.
3
Click the General tab, and then click Show Printer Webpage.
4
Click the Configure tab.
5
Scroll to Network Protocol Setup, locate the IP address for the C9 Server, and record it for future reference.
The IP address is needed to turn on Two-Way Communication in the printer driver.
For information about Two-Way Communication, see printer driver help.
6
Click the Close button to exit WebTools.
7
Click OK to close the Options & Supplies pane.
8
Close the Printers & Scanners dialog box.
Obtain the IP address of the C9 Server
When the Bonjour connection is used for the C9 Server printer driver on a Mac OS X client computer, you can find out the IP address from the C9 Server control panel.
1
From the C9 Server control panel, press the Menu button.
1 Up button
2 Menu button
3 Down button
4 Activity light
5 Display window
6 Line selection button #1-4, from top to bottom
2
Press the second button on the right side corresponding to IP address.
The IP address of the C9 Server appears.
Printing
Mac OS for C9 Server
42
Add a printer with the IP Printer connection on a Mac OS X v10.10 client computer
You can add a printer with the IP Printer connection on a Mac OS X v10.10 client computer.
1
Click the IP icon in the Add dialog box.
2
Do one of the following:
•
For LPD printing, select Line Printer Daemon - LPD from the Protocol list, type the C9 Server IP address or
DNS name in the Address field, and then type the print connection (print, hold or sequential) or published virtual printer name in the Queue field.
•
For Port 910x printing, select HP Jetdirect - Socket from the Protocol list, type the C9 Server IP address or DNS name in the Address field. The Queue field can be left empty.
3
Choose Select Software from the Use menu.
4
Locate the printer manufacturer or model in the list, select the printer driver, and then click OK.
5
Click Add.
6
Specify the installable option settings in the installable options pane in the Printers & Scanners dialog box, and then click OK.
The C9 Server with its IP address appears in the list of printers.
For information about configuring installable options, see printer driver help.
Printing
Mac OS for C9 Server
43
Set up printing on a Mac OS X v10.9 client computer
After you have the C9 Server printer driver installed, you must set up printing to the C9 Server on a client computer running Mac OS X v10.9. You can add the printer with the LPR, Port 9100 or IPP connection.
Set up the C9 Server from the Print dialog box on a Mac OS X v10.9 client computer
1
Open a file in your application.
2
Select File > Print.
3
Select Add Printer from the Printer menu.
In the dialog box that appears, select a printer connection.
Set up the C9 Server with Printers & Scanners on a Mac OS X v10.9 client computer
1
Select Apple menu > System Preferences, and then select Printers & Scanners.
2
Click the + button to add a printer.
In the dialog box that appears, select one of the printer connections:
•
Default
•
IP Printer
Printing
Mac OS for C9 Server
44
Add a printer with the Default connection on a Mac OS X v10.9 client computer
You can add a printer with the Default connection on a Mac OS X v10.9 client computer.
1
Click the Default icon in the Add dialog box.
The names of printers with default connections are listed.
The names of the virtual printers appear as printer name : virtual printer name in the list of printers.
Any published virtual printer is available over LPR and FTP.
Note:
SMB printing is not supported for Mac OS X v10.9.
2
Select the C9 Server from the list.
The information about the selected printer appears at the bottom of the Default pane. The appropriate printer driver for the C9 Server is automatically selected.
3
Click Add.
The C9 Server name appears in the list of printers.
4
Select C9 Server.
5
Click Options & Supplies, and then click the Options tab.
6
Specify the installable option settings, and then click OK.
For information about configuring installable options, see printer driver help.
Printing
Mac OS for C9 Server
45
Obtain the IP address of the C9 Server on a Mac OS X v10.9 client computer
When the Bonjour connection is used for the C9 Server printer driver on a Mac OS X v10.9 client computer, you can find out the IP address of the C9 Server from the printer’s Webpage.
1
Select Apple menu > System Preferences, and then select Printers & Scanners.
2
Select the C9 Server from the list, and then click Options & Supplies.
3
Click the General tab, and then click Show Printer Webpage.
4
Click the Configure tab.
5
Scroll to Network Protocol Setup, locate the IP address for the C9 Server, and record it for future reference.
The IP address is needed to turn on Two-Way Communication in the printer driver.
For information about Two-Way Communication, see printer driver help.
6
Click File > Close Window to close WebTools.
7
Click OK to close the Options & Supplies pane.
8
Close the Printers & Scanners dialog box.
Obtain the IP address of the C9 Server
When the Bonjour connection is used for the C9 Server printer driver on a Mac OS X client computer, you can find out the IP address from the C9 Server control panel.
1
From the C9 Server control panel, press the Menu button.
1 Up button
2 Menu button
3 Down button
4 Activity light
5 Display window
6 Line selection button #1-4, from top to bottom
2
Press the second button on the right side corresponding to IP address.
The IP address of the C9 Server appears.
Printing
Mac OS for C9 Server
46
Add a printer with the IP Printer connection on a Mac OS X v10.9 client computer
You can add a printer with the IP Printer connection on a Mac OS X v10.9 client computer.
1
Click the IP icon in the Add dialog box.
2
Do one of the following:
•
For LPD printing, select Line Printer Daemon - LPD from the Protocol list, type the C9 Server IP address or
DNS name in the Address field, and then type the print connection (print, hold or sequential) or published virtual printer name in the Queue field.
•
For Port 910x printing, select HP Jetdirect - Socket from the Protocol list, type the C9 Server IP address or DNS name in the Address field. The Queue field can be left empty.
3
Choose Select Software from the Use menu.
4
Locate the printer manufacturer or model in the list, select the printer driver, and then click OK.
5
Click Add.
6
Specify the installable option settings in the installable options pane in the Printers & Scanners dialog box, and then click OK.
The C9 Server with its IP address appears in the list of printers.
For information about configuring installable options, see printer driver help.
Printing
Mac OS for C9 Server
47
Set up printing on a Mac OS X v10.8 client computer
After you have the C9 Server printer driver installed, you must set up printing to the C9 Server on a client computer running Mac OS X v10.8. You can add the printer with the LPR, Port 9100 or IPP connection.
Set up the C9 Server from the Print dialog box on a Mac OS X v10.8 client computer
1
Open a file in your application.
2
Select File > Print.
3
Select Add Printer from the Printer menu.
In the dialog box that appears, select a printer connection.
Set up the C9 Server with Print & Scan on a Mac OS X v10.8 client computer
1
Select Apple menu > System Preferences, and then select Print & Scan.
2
Click the + button to add a printer.
In the dialog box that appears, select one of the printer connections:
•
Default
•
IP Printer
Printing
Mac OS for C9 Server
48
Add a printer with the Default connection on a Mac OS X v10.8 client computer
You can add a printer with the Default connection on a Mac OS X v10.8 client computer.
1
Click the Default icon in the Add dialog box.
The names of printers with default connections are listed.
The names of the virtual printers appear as printer name : virtual printer name in the list of printers.
Any published virtual printer is available over LPR and FTP.
Note:
SMB printing is not supported for Mac OS X v10.8.
2
Select the C9 Server from the list.
The information about the selected printer appears at the bottom of the Default pane. The appropriate printer driver for the C9 Server is automatically selected.
3
Click Add.
The C9 Server name appears in the list of printers.
4
Select C9 Server.
5
Click Options & Supplies, and then click the Driver tab.
6
Specify the installable option settings, and then click OK.
For information about configuring installable options, see printer driver help.
Printing
Mac OS for C9 Server
49
Obtain the IP address of the C9 Server on a Mac OS X v10.8 client computer
When the Bonjour connection is used for the C9 Server printer driver on a Mac OS X v10.8 client computer, you can find out the IP address of the C9 Server from the printer’s Webpage.
1
Select Apple menu > System Preferences, and then select Print & Scan.
2
Select the C9 Server from the list, and then click Options & Supplies.
3
Click the General tab, and then click Show Printer Webpage.
4
Click the Configure tab.
5
Scroll to Network Protocol Setup, locate the IP address for the C9 Server, and record it for future reference.
The IP address is needed to turn on Two-Way Communication in the printer driver.
For information about Two-Way Communication, see printer driver help.
6
Click File > Close Window to close WebTools.
7
Click OK to close the Options & Supplies pane.
8
Close the Print & Scan dialog box.
Obtain the IP address of the C9 Server
When the Bonjour connection is used for the C9 Server printer driver on a Mac OS X client computer, you can find out the IP address from the C9 Server control panel.
1
From the C9 Server control panel, press the Menu button.
1 Up button
2 Menu button
3 Down button
4 Activity light
5 Display window
6 Line selection button #1-4, from top to bottom
2
Press the second button on the right side corresponding to IP address.
The IP address of the C9 Server appears.
Printing
Mac OS for C9 Server
50
Add a printer with the IP Printer connection on a Mac OS X v10.8 client computer
You can add a printer with the IP Printer connection on a Mac OS X v10.8 client computer.
1
Click the IP icon in the Add dialog box.
2
Do one of the following:
•
For LPD printing, select Line Printer Daemon - LPD from the Protocol list, type the C9 Server IP address or
DNS name in the Address field, and then type the print connection (print, hold or sequential) or published virtual printer name in the Queue field.
•
For Port 910x printing, select HP Jetdirect - Socket from the Protocol list, type the C9 Server IP address or
DNS name in the Address field. The Queue field can be left empty.
3
Choose Select Printer Software from the Use menu.
4
Locate the printer manufacturer or model in the list, select the printer driver, and then click OK.
5
Click Add.
6
Specify the installable option settings in the installable options pane in the Print & Scan dialog box, and then click
OK
.
The C9 Server with its IP address appears in the list of printers.
For information about configuring installable options, see printer driver help.
Set up printing on a Mac OS X v10.7 client computer
After you have the C9 Server printer driver installed, you must set up printing to the C9 Server on a client computer running Mac OS X v10.7. You can add the printer with the LPR, Port 9100 or IPP connection.
Printing
Mac OS for C9 Server
51
Set up the C9 Server from the Print dialog box on a Mac OS X v10.7 client computer
1
Open a file in your application.
2
Select File > Print.
3
Select Add Printer from the Printer menu.
In the dialog box that appears, select a printer connection.
Set up the C9 Server with Print & Scan on a Mac OS X v10.7 client computer
1
Select Apple menu > System Preferences, and then select Print & Scan.
2
Click the + button to add a printer.
In the dialog box that appears, select one of the printer connections:
•
Default
•
IP Printer
Printing
Mac OS for C9 Server
52
Add a printer with the Default connection on a Mac OS X v10.7 client computer
You can add a printer with the Default connection on a Mac OS X v10.7 client computer.
1
Click the Default icon in the Add Printer dialog box.
The names of printers with default connections are listed.
The names of the virtual printers appear as printer name : virtual printer name in the list of printers.
Any published virtual printer is available over LPR and FTP.
Note:
SMB printing is not supported for Mac OS X v10.7.
2
Select the C9 Server from the list.
The information about the selected printer appears at the bottom of the Default pane. The appropriate printer driver for the C9 Server is automatically selected.
3
Click Add.
The C9 Server name appears in the list of printers.
4
Select C9 Server.
5
Click Options & Supplies, and then click the Driver tab.
6
Specify the installable option settings, and then click OK.
For information about configuring installable options, see printer driver help.
Printing
Mac OS for C9 Server
53
Obtain the IP address of the C9 Server on a Mac OS X v10.7 client computer
When the Bonjour connection is used for the C9 Server printer driver on a Mac OS X v10.7 client computer, you can find out the IP address of the C9 Server from the printer’s Webpage.
1
Select Apple menu > System Preferences, and then select Print & Scan.
2
Select the C9 Server from the list, and then click Options & Supplies.
3
Click the General tab, and then click Show Printer Webpage.
4
Click the Configure tab.
5
Scroll to Network Protocol Setup, locate the IP address for the C9 Server, and record it for future reference.
The IP address is needed to turn on Two-Way Communication in the printer driver.
For information about Two-Way Communication, see printer driver help.
6
Click File > Close Window to close WebTools.
7
Click OK to close the Options & Supplies pane.
8
Close the Print & Scan dialog box.
Obtain the IP address of the C9 Server
When the Bonjour connection is used for the C9 Server printer driver on a Mac OS X client computer, you can find out the IP address from the C9 Server control panel.
1
From the C9 Server control panel, press the Menu button.
1 Up button
2 Menu button
3 Down button
4 Activity light
5 Display window
6 Line selection button #1-4, from top to bottom
2
Press the second button on the right side corresponding to IP address.
The IP address of the C9 Server appears.
Printing
Mac OS for C9 Server
54
Add a printer with the IP Printer connection on a Mac OS X v10.7 client computer
You can add a printer with the IP Printer connection on a Mac OS X v10.7 client computer.
1
Click the IP icon in the dialog box.
2
Do one of the following:
•
For LPD printing, select Line Printer Daemon - LPD from the Protocol list, type the C9 Server IP address or
DNS name in the Address field, and then type the print connection (print, hold or sequential) or published virtual printer name in the Queue field.
•
For Port 910x printing, select HP Jetdirect - Socket from the Protocol list, type the C9 Server IP address or DNS name in the Address field. The Queue field can be left empty.
3
Choose Select Printer Software from the Print Using menu.
4
Locate the printer manufacturer or model in the list, select the printer driver, and then click OK.
5
Click Add.
6
Click OK.
The C9 Server with its IP address appears in the list of printers.
7
Select C9 Server.
8
Click Options & Supplies, and then click the Driver tab.
9
Specify the installable option settings, and then click OK.
For information about configuring installable options, see printer driver help.
Printing
Mac OS for C9 Server
55
Configuring installable options on Mac OS client computers
To use the print options for the printer and C9 Server appropriately, you must configure the C9 Server from your computer for the options that are installed on the printer. Configure the options manually.
For information about configuring installable options, see printer driver help.
Using Desktop Printer
After adding the C9 Server to the list of printers in the Printers & Scanners (or Print & Scan) dialog box, you can create and use the Desktop Printer feature.
For information about the Desktop Printer feature, see printer driver help.
Printing from Mac OS client computers
You can print to the C9 Server just as you would print to any other printer from a Mac OS application.
Select the C9 Server as the default printer in the list of printers, specify print options, and then print the document from the application.
The following list includes other methods to print to the C9 Server and describes where to find information about these features:
•
Downloading files to the C9 Server with the Docs tab in WebTools. (See Utilities.)
•
Printing documents with Hot Folders. (See Hot Folders Help.)
•
Printing documents with Command WorkStation. (See Utilities.)
•
Achieving optimal printing results from applications. (See Color Printing and Fiery Color Reference.)
•
Selecting the C9 Server in the Printers list. (See
Select the C9 Server as the default printer on a Mac OS client computer
on page 55.)
•
Printing jobs from Mac OS applications. (See Set print options and printing from Mac OS applications
on page
56.)
•
Customizing the Quick Access view. (See
Customize the Quick Access pane in the Mac OS printer driver on page
58.)
•
Viewing the printer status. (See View the printer status on page 59.)
•
Defining and printing custom page sizes. (See
Defining and printing custom page sizes
on page 104.)
Select the C9 Server as the default printer on a Mac OS client computer
Before you print a job, you must set the C9 Server in the Printers list as your default printer.
1
Make sure that the C9 Server is connected to the network and turned on.
Printing
Mac OS for C9 Server
56
2
Select Apple menu > System Preferences, and then select Printers & Scanners (or Print & Scan).
The printers that are set up for printing are listed. The virtual printers that are configured at the C9 Server and set up for printing are also listed.
3
Select C9 Server from the Default Printer menu.
4
Close the window.
View queries in the Print Queue on client computers
When the printer driver establishes communication with the C9 Server on a Mac OS client computer, the queries are listed as jobs in the Print Queue.
To view the queries, open the Print Queue.
•
Select Apple menu > System Preferences > Print & Scanners (or Print & Scan), then select the C9 Server from the list of printers, and click Open Print Queue.
The queries are not real jobs and they will disappear from the Print Queue after they are completed.
Set print options and printing from Mac OS applications
To print from Mac OS client computers, install the printer driver that corresponds to your printer.
on page 32.)
Some print options that are selectable from an application are similar to print options that are specific to the C9
Server and the printer. In these cases, use the print options specific to the C9 Server and the printer. These options appear in the Fiery Features pane and/or in the Printing Preferences window. The application may not set up the file properly for printing on the C9 Server, resulting in unexpected finishing, printing errors, or longer processing time.
If you specify incompatible print settings when printing a document, the Conflict dialog box provides instructions to resolve the conflict.
Some print options are available only if Two-Way Communication is turned on or a particular installable option is configured.
You can retrieve its expert color settings from the C9 Server when Two-Way Communication is turned on and display them in the printer driver.
on page 55.)
If you select Printer’s default, the job prints according to the settings that the administrator specified in Setup. (See
Set print options and print a job from a Mac OS X client computer
on page 56.)
Set print options and print a job from a Mac OS X client computer
You use the printer driver to specify print options for a particular job and then print it to the C9 Server.
1
In your application, select File > Print, and select the C9 Server as your printer.
2
Select Fiery Features from the drop-down list.
Printing
Mac OS for C9 Server
57
1 Fiery Features
2 Customize (Shortcuts), see Help
3 Full Properties
4 Presets (Job Templates), see Help
5 Two-Way Communication
When you save the print options in a preset, the following option settings are not reflected:
•
Job Info
options: Destination, File name, Schedule printing, Secure print, User authentication > Password,
Section name
, and Section password
•
Layout
option: Impose
For information about using presets, see printer driver help.
Note:
You cannot import or export Local Presets to or from the Mac OS X v10.7 printer driver.
For a list of print options, see Print options and default settings
on page 69.
3
Click Full Properties in the Quick Access pane to specify print options and settings for your job.
Printing
Mac OS for C9 Server
58
The print options are grouped by categories. Each group or tab contains print options that are similar or complement one another.
•
Quick Access
- Contains duplicate print options from the other job properties groups. It is customizable, so any job override print option can be added or removed from the view. The Quick Access pane lets you find print options quickly without browsing through all of the Job Properties tabs. (See
Customize the Quick Access icon in the Windows printer driver on page 30.)
•
Job Info
- All information about the job, including user information that may be required for user
authentication and job handling. (See Job Info options on page 69.)
•
Media
- Attributes and sources of paper to print and insert. (See
on page 72.)
•
Layout
- Layout defines the imposition of the print job and the booklet process on the media/sheet, except for
75.)
•
Color
- Color settings and additional features (when turned on). (See
•
Specialty Color
- Print options related only to clear or white toner (when turned on). (See
Specialty Color tab options on page 89.)
•
Image
- All Image Quality settings supported by the connected C9 Server and printer. (See Image options
on page 90.)
•
Finishing
- Print options related only to finishing equipment on the printer, and also image shifting to compensate for finishing options. These options override settings in C9 Server Printer Setup but can be
changed from Command WorkStation. (See Finishing options on page 92.)
•
VDP
on page 92.)
•
Stamping
- All image stamping options that add or hide/remove any image on the job. This also includes
on page 96 or printer driver help.)
•
Printer
4
After you specify the print settings, click OK, and then click Print to send your print job.
Note:
When you use the Enable job tracking print option, a window is displayed for your job accounting information.
Customize the Quick Access pane in the Mac OS printer driver
The Quick Access pane can be customized with print options that you use frequently.
This saves time because you do not have to open all of the other print option icons to set the options that you placed in Quick Access.
When you place a print option in Quick Access, it still appears under its original print option icon. You can set the option from either location.
1
In your application, select File > Print and select the C9 Server as your printer.
2
Select Fiery Features from the drop-down list.
Printing
Mac OS for C9 Server
59
3
Click Customize to specify the options shown in the Quick Access pane.
4
Add or remove a shortcut by selecting one and moving it from the Available Shortcuts list to/from the Current
Shortcuts
list.
5
Click OK to save your changes.
For more information about Quick Access, see printer driver help.
View the printer status
You can retrieve the status and levels of consumable materials of the printer from the C9 Server and display them in the printer driver with the Two-Way Communication option.
You can retrieve its color settings from the C9 Server and display them in the printer driver.
For information about monitoring the status of the printer, see printer driver help.
Printing
Other Printing Methods
60
Other Printing Methods
You can print jobs with the C9 Server printer driver to the C9 Server, as well as other printing methods, such as
Command WorkStation.
E-mail Service
E-mail Service allows you to control the C9 Server using your current email infrastructure, print to remote locations, and bypass firewalls.
E-mail Service is not application-specific. You can use any email infrastructure.
To set up E-mail Service, see Configure Help.
Use E-mail Service in the following ways:
•
Print a job from an email application.
To print with an email client, you send a file as an email attachment. E-mail Service extracts the file and sends it to the C9 Server. The attachment can be in any file format the C9 Server recognizes (PS, PDF, EPS, VDP, or
TIFF).
Note:
E-mail Service does not process files with .vbs, .exe, or .bat extensions.
•
Manage jobs using an email application.
You can manage your print jobs by submitting email commands to the C9 Server using email.
Printing using an email client
You can submit print jobs to the C9 Server in the form of an email attachment using your email application.
When User Authentication is turned on at the C9 Server, the email attachment must have the appropriate user name and password when it is printed through email printing. As part of creating the email attachment with the C9 Server printer driver, type the appropriate user name and password on the Job Info tab of the printer driver. The user name and password must match those defined by the administrator in the Users and Groups section of Configure. For information about Users and Groups, see Command WorkStation Help.
Note:
The Direct connection is not supported by the email client feature.
When the attached job is printed, the email is also printed, which includes the typical header information, such as subject, date, sender, and so forth.
Printing
Other Printing Methods
61
Print an email attachment with an email client
You can print an email attachment with an email client.
1
Open your email application.
2
Type the C9 Server email address in the To: line.
3
Type text in the Subject line or leave the Subject line blank.
4
Attach the file that you want to print.
The attachment can be in any file format the C9 Server recognizes (PS, PDF, EPS, VDP, or TIFF).
Note:
If your attachment exceeds the file size limitation set by your email administrator, the email is not sent.
5
To identify the job or provide further processing instructions, type text in the body of the message.
Note:
HTML-formatted email messages are not supported, and might not print as they appear on the remote workstation. Send email messages in plain text format.
6
Send the email.
The file is sent to the C9 Server and the job is printed. After the C9 Server receives the job, you receive an email notification that the print job was accepted. The email provides a job identification (ID). Use job IDs to manage
After the job is printed, you receive a second email notification that indicates the job printed successfully.
Printing
Other Printing Methods
62
Manage print jobs with email commands
You can manage your print jobs by submitting commands to the C9 Server using email.
You can cancel a job, check job status, and get help on a job. When you send a command, the C9 Server sends an email response.
1
In your email application, type the C9 Server email address in the To: line.
2
Type one of the following commands in the Subject line:
•
To check the status of a job, type #JobStatus<job id> in the Subject line.
You receive a reply to your job status query. You can only get the status of the job if you sent the job or are an administrator.
•
To cancel a job, type #CancelJob<job id> in the Subject line.
You receive a notification indicating that the job has been canceled and did not print to the C9 Server. You can only cancel a job if you sent the job.
•
To get help, type #Help in the Subject line.
3
Send the email to the C9 Server.
FTP printing
You can send jobs to the C9 Server using FTP printing if the C9 Server is set up as an FTP server with FTP Services configured on it.
For more information about configuring FTP Services, see Command WorkStation Help.
You can use any FTP client application. Before you use FTP printing, the FTP client application requires the following information (see your administrator):
•
IP address or DNS name for the C9 Server
•
Directory or path to send the job to, such as the Print queue, Hold queue, or published virtual printers (if supported)
Note:
You cannot print to the Direct connection with FTP printing.
•
User name and password (if required)
You can send the following files to the C9 Server:
•
PostScript (PS)
•
Printer Control Language (PCL)
•
Tagged Image File Format (TIFF)
•
Portable Document Format (PDF)
Note:
Encapsulated PostScript (EPS) files are not supported for FTP printing.
Printing
Other Printing Methods
63
Print files to the C9 Server with the FTP protocol
You can use the FTP protocol to print files to the C9 Server.
1
Connect to the C9 Server with your FTP client application.
Folders corresponding to the Print queue, Hold queue, and any published virtual printers are displayed.
2
Navigate to the folder representing the print connection or published virtual printer.
3
Upload your job to the appropriate folder.
After the job is printed, it is deleted from the C9 Server.
Adobe PDF Print Engine (APPE)
The Adobe PDF Print Engine (APPE) is an additional interpreter that allows native PDF processing and rendering without requiring the C9 Server to convert the job from PDF to PostScript.
No special printer driver is required for printing APPE jobs, but the administrator must turn on related settings in
Setup. If APPE is not turned on, PDF files are processed with the PostScript interpreter of the C9 Server. All
PostScript files continue to be processed with the PostScript interpreter.
The APPE option is not available from the printer driver, but is included in Job Properties in Command
WorkStation. After the administrator turns on APPE as the default in Configure, you can turn on or turn off the
APPE option in Job Properties on a per-job basis.
To turn on the APPE workflow in the C9 Server, see Configuration and Setup.
Print with the APPE workflow
You can use the APPE workflow to print files to the C9 Server.
You can print with the APPE workflow using one of the following methods:
•
Command WorkStation
Import a job, or drag a job from your computer to the Job Center.
For more information, see Command WorkStation Help.
•
Hot Folders
Configure a hot folder for APPE.
For more information, see Hot Folders Help.
Printing
Other Printing Methods
64
Use APPE workflow in Command WorkStation
1
Double-click a PDF job in the Held or Printed list, or select the job and do one of the following:
•
Right-click to select Properties.
•
Select Job Center > Properties.
•
Select Properties from the Actions menu.
2
Select the Adobe PDF Print Engine Preferred check box.
1 Adobe PDF Print Engine Preferred option
3
Specify the print option settings, and then click Print.
Print multiple files with APPE workflow
You can print multiple files at the same time with the APPE workflow.
If you open Job Properties for files of different file types, the Adobe PDF Print Engine Preferred option is displayed only if one of the selected files is a PDF. The print option name is shown as Adobe PDF Print Engine Preferred
(Applies only to PDF Jobs)
and the check box indicates at least one of the PDF jobs selected has been processed through the APPE workflow.
1 Adobe PDF Print Engine Preferred (Applied only to PDF Jobs) option
For a multiple file selection containing non-PDF files, the Adobe PDF Print Engine Preferred option is not shown.
If a PDF file contains mixed page sizes when processed using APPE, the Paper size option reflects the size of the first page in the PDF. If you override the size in Job Properties, all of the pages in the PDF become the selected size.
Printing
Other Printing Methods
65
Access the properties of multiple jobs
You can specify print options for multiple jobs selected at one time.
1
Shift-click to select multiple, sequential jobs, or Ctrl-click to select multiple, non-sequential jobs, and then click
Properties
.
Menus for each available print option are displayed in the Job Properties dialog box.
2
After the multiple jobs have opened, specifying a value in the Job Properties dialog box applies it to all jobs.
The Summary tab allows a side-by-side comparison of the specified print options for multiple jobs.
Direct Mobile Printing
Direct Mobile Printing allows direct printing to the C9 Server from mobile devices, such as iPad, iPhone, and iPod touch.
The C9 Server must have certain networking options turned on in Setup. After Setup is complete, the C9 Server appears in the list of available printers on the mobile device.
In addition, observe the following configuration requirements:
•
Make sure that the C9 Server is connected to a wireless access point on the network.
•
Make sure that supported mobile devices are connected to the same wireless network as the C9 Server. The
Printer Default Paper Size is used for all Direct Mobile Printing jobs.
For information about configuring the settings in Setup on the C9 Server, see Configuration and Setup.
For a list of supported mobile devices, see Configuration and Setup.
Print from a mobile device
You can print files from your mobile device to the C9 Server.
1
On the mobile device, select the job, and then open the Print window.
For more information, see the documentation that accompanies your device.
2
Select C9 Server in the list of available printers.
3
Specify print settings, and click Print.
Print with Fiery JDF
Fiery JDF allows submission of JDF jobs to a C9 Server from applications that allow creation of JDF tickets.
Use Configure to specify JDF settings and to view the Fiery JDF version, the JDF Device ID, and the JMF URL. For more information, see Command WorkStation Help.
1
From Configure, choose Job Submission > JDF Settings.
Printing
Other Printing Methods
66
2
Select Enable JDF.
3
If a virtual printer is configured for the C9 Server, select one from the Use Job Settings from Virtual Printer option.
Note:
Specify this option only if it applies to your specific workflow.
4
Specify a default print queue action from Job Action.
5
Select Override JDF job with the above settings, if you want to override the settings specified in the JDF ticket.
6
Specify how you want the JDF jobs closed once they are printed.
7
Specify the items required for closing a JDF job. The items you select here must be filled out before the job can close automatically or manually.
8
Specify the network paths where the C9 Server searches for common resources.
9
Click Save.
Web Services for Devices printing
Web Services for Devices (WSD) allows printing from Windows 7, Windows 8, and Windows 10 computers, and
Windows 8-based tablets.
The WSD option on the C9 Server must be turned on in Setup. After Setup is complete, you can install the WSD printer driver for the C9 Server.
For information about configuring the settings in Setup on the C9 Server, see Configuration and Setup.
Install the WSD printer driver
You can install the WSD printer driver on Windows 7, Windows 8, and Windows 10 computers, and Windows 8based tablets.
1
Download the printer driver with WebTools.
For instructions on downloading the printer driver with WebTools, see
Download printer drivers with WebTools
on page 12.
2
In the Fiery Driver Installer dialog box, select the printer driver language and click Next.
3
Click Next in the Welcome to the InstallShield Wizard for Fiery Driver Installer dialog box.
4
Read the license agreement, click I accept the terms of the license agreement and click Next.
5
Select Add a network, wireless or Bluetooth printer.
6
Select the printer from the list of available printers and proceed to step 10
.
Note:
The WSD printer shows the C9 Server with the printer in parentheses for the name of the printer.
If the printer is not listed, proceed to step
.
7
Click The printer that I want isn’t listed.
Printing
Other Printing Methods
67
8
Click Add a printer using TCP/IP address or host name and click Next.
9
Select Web Services Device for Device type, type the IP address of the C9 Server, and click Next.
Connection to the printer is initiated and the printer driver is installed.
10
Click Next and follow the on-screen instructions.
Do not share the printer and do not print a Test Page at this time.
Printing
Print Options
68
Print Options
Print Options describes the C9 Server printer driver, available print options, and where to set print options to print your jobs successfully.
About the C9 Server printer driver
Windows and Mac OS computers communicate with the C9 Server by means of a printer driver and a PostScript
Printer Description (PPD) file. A PPD file contains information about the features and capabilities of a particular printer (for example, what paper sizes and media types are supported) and the C9 Server.
A printer driver manages printing communication between your application and the printer. It interprets the instructions generated by the application, merges those instructions with printer-specific options you set, and then translates all information into Adobe PostScript, a language the printer understands. In other words, the printer driver writes a PostScript file based on your original file and the options you set from the Print dialog box.
The C9 Server receives files from computers on the network, processes the files, and then sends them to the printer.
69.
Set print options for the job
Print options give you access to the special features of your printer and the C9 Server.
You can specify print options in these areas:
•
Setup
Some settings are specified during the initial C9 Server configuration by the administrator. For information about the current default server settings, contact the administrator or operator.
•
Applications
With the printer drivers provided, you can specify job settings when you print a job.
•
Color Setup
You can set the default CMYK/Grayscale Source, CMYK/Grayscale Processing Method, RGB Source, Separate
RGB/Lab to CMYK Source, Output Profile, RGB/Lab Rendering Intent, Spot Color Matching, Gray (CMYK),
Gray (RGB), Black Text and Graphics, and Black Overprint settings. (See Color Printing.)
Printing
Print Options
69
•
Hot Folders
You can assign a group of print options to a Hot Folder. When you specify print options for a Hot Folder, the print options are assigned to all jobs sent through that Hot Folder. These print options override any default options.
For information, see Hot Folders Help.
•
Overrides in Command WorkStation Job Properties
To change job settings from Command WorkStation, double-click a job to display the Properties dialog box.
For more information, see Command WorkStation Help.
Print option override hierarchy
Print option settings that were specified in the printer driver can be overridden in Command WorkStation Job
Properties.
The override hierarchy is as follows:
•
Settings from the user’s printer driver override the C9 Server Setup settings.
•
Settings assigned to Hot Folders override the user’s printer driver settings.
•
Settings made from the job management tools (Command WorkStation Job Properties) override the user’s printer driver settings.
Print options and default settings
You can use the printer driver interface to configure a particular print option to print a job. If you choose not to configure the print option, the C9 Server prints the job with the default setting.
For options that the administrator configures, choosing Printer’s default results in the C9 Server printing the job with the factory default.
For options that cannot be configured in Setup, the C9 Server prints the job with a preconfigured Printer’s default setting. When you select the printer driver for North America, the default Document size is Letter or for
International, the default Document size is A4.
To determine the current Setup defaults, print the Configuration page from Command WorkStation. (See
Configuration and Setup.)
Note:
A job uses the C9 Server default settings (unless otherwise specified) at the time it is processed for printing, not at the time it is sent to the C9 Server Hold queue.
The print options are organized according to the printer driver icons (tabs).
Job Info options
The Job Info tab shows all information about the job, including user information that may be required for user authentication and job handling.
Printing
Print Options
70
Copies
The maximum number of copies is 9999.
The maximum number of jobs in the Printing queue and Archived list is 9999.
Note: Copies is grayed out and cannot be changed from the Printing Preferences dialog box when Full Properties is clicked in the Mac OS printer driver. You can specify the number of copies in the application or Mac OS Print dialog box.
Print Range
The Print Range print option allows you to specify the page range or odd/even pages to print.
For variable data printing jobs, a range of Records is selected for printing. For imposed variable data printing jobs, a range of Records and Sheets is printed.
For imposed jobs, a range of Sheets is printed.
This option is only accessible from Command WorkStation Job Properties.
Destination
Specify the location to output the print job.
This option is only accessible from Mac OS X printer driver.
Destination: Schedule printing
Specify to perform advance print scheduling based on date and time. If you select the check box, then you can select the date and time for the print job.
The job is always printed at specified date and time regardless of the Print queue action selected, such as Print, Print and hold
, Process and hold, Hold, or Print and delete.
The job is printed based on the date and time set on the C9 Server, not the client computer.
If multiple jobs are selected and defined with the same date and time setting, job order is based on the alphabetical order of the file names.
Note:
This option is invalid if your job is sent to the Direct connection.
Job notes: Instructions
The Instructions print option allows you to specify instructions for the operator about the job.
This field accepts alphanumeric and special characters but does have a maximum limit.
Printing
Print Options
71
Job notes: Notes 1/Notes 2
Specify information about the job. The field accepts alphanumeric and special characters but does have a maximum limit.
Note:
If you enter < or = as the first character, the characters may not be printed in the Job Log, or the application in use may shut down.
Job notes: Print queue action
Select the job action associated with a published queue.
Select Print to send the file directly to printing.
Select Print and hold to save the raster file after printing.
Select Process and hold to process, but not print a job.
Select Hold to spool the job until the operator takes further action. Held jobs can exist in a preprocessed or processed state.
Select Print and delete to queue a job to be processed, printed, and then deleted. This action ensures that the printed job is not saved to the Printed list, which is often required for secure printing.
Note:
This option is invalid if your job is sent to the Direct connection.
Reporting: Control Bar
Select the check box to turn on the Control Bar feature to print a Control Bar (for print job identification) in the margin.
This option is available as part of Fiery Graphic Arts Package, Premium Edition. For more information, see Fiery
Graphic Arts Package, Premium Edition.
Printer’s default reflects the setting specified in Color Setup in Command WorkStation.
Reporting: Progressives
Select the check box to turn on the Progressives feature, a diagnostic tool used to show toner separations.
This feature uses the Progressives values specified in Color Setup in Command WorkStation.
This option is available as part of Fiery Graphic Arts Package, Premium Edition. (See Fiery Graphic Arts Package,
Premium Edition.)
The Progressives and Postflight features cannot be used at the same time.
Reporting: Postflight
Specify whether or not you want to use the Postflight feature, a diagnostic tool that allows you to analyze how data is processed by the C9 Server.
This option is available as part of the Fiery Graphic Arts Package, Premium Edition. For more information, see Fiery
Graphic Arts Package, Premium Edition.
The Progressives and Postflight features cannot be used at the same time.
Printing
Print Options
72
User authentication: I’m a Guest
The I'm a Guest print option, when selected, allows guest printing.
Guest printing must be turned on at the C9 Server.
In Command WorkStation, the management of jobs is determined by how you log on to the C9 Server.
User authentication: Password
If user authentication is configured on the C9 Server, specify your user Password to print a job. Type your local password or domain password for user authentication.
User authentication: User name
If user authentication is configured on the C9 Server, specify your User name to print a job. Type your user name or domain\user name for user authentication.
User authentication: Use Windows Login
If you are logged on to your Windows computer, select Use Windows Login for user authentication. This option appears when you log on to your domain on your Windows computer.
For more information, see Configuration and Setup.
Media options
The Media tab shows attributes and sources of paper to print and insert.
Document size
The Document size print option is the page size defined in your application’s Print setup (or Page setup) dialog box.
When printing one document page per sheet of paper, document size is usually the same as output paper size.
However, document size may differ when printing booklets or imposing multiple document pages on a single sheet.
Document size may also differ from output paper size when you use the Scale or Scale to fit options, in which case the document page size is scaled at a given percent to fit a certain paper size.
To assign document size, do one of the following:
•
Select the size from the available list.
SEF stands for Short Edge Feed; LEF stands for Long Edge Feed.
•
Click Custom to select a non-standard paper size.
Note:
The Document size option is grayed out and cannot be changed from the Mac OS printer driver. You can specify the document size with the Paper size option from the Mac OS printer driver.
Printing
Print Options
73
Handle as custom paper
The Handle as custom paper print option allows you to handle some defined paper sizes as custom size.
Input tray
Use the Input tray print option to specify the paper tray that contains the paper to use for your print job.
Input tray
allows you to select a specific tray for your job. If you select the Auto tray select setting, the printer prints from any tray containing the paper size necessary for the job. This setting also allows the printer to automatically switch between trays, if the current tray becomes empty, while continuing to print.
For information about setting your choice of media in one of the trays, see the documentation that accompanies the printer.
Media check (MPT)
The Media check (MPT) print option allows you to define the way to check the paper size in the MPT tray.
Media check (other tray)
The Media check (other tray) print option allows you to define the way to check the paper size in the other tray.
Media weight
The Media weight print option provides media weight settings to use for your print job.
Output paper size
Output paper size
defines the size of the sheet of paper on which your job prints. It is the size of the physical sheet of paper in the printer tray.
To assign paper size, do one of the following:
•
Select the size from the available list.
SEF stands for Short Edge Feed; LEF stands for Long Edge Feed.
•
Click Custom to select a non-standard paper size.
Paper Catalog
The Paper Catalog print option provides access to the Paper Catalog utility, which retrieves all paper information from the printer.
For information about Paper Catalog, see Utilities and Command WorkStation Help.
Note:
This option is invalid if your job is sent to the Direct connection.
Access to Paper Catalog requires Two-Way Communication. For information about selecting Two-Way
Communication, see printer driver help.
Printing
Print Options
74
Paper type
Use the Paper type print option to specify the type of paper used for your print job.
For information about media types and paper specifications, see the documentation that accompanies the printer.
Tray alignment
The Tray alignment print option should be selected when you need to adjust the image on the page to achieve alignment on both sides of a page when printing duplex.
For more information, see Command WorkStation Help.
Slip sheets: Slip sheet
The Slip sheet print option allows you to insert slip sheets for your print job.
Select Off to not insert slip sheets.
Select On to insert a slip sheet between copies or pages of multiple-copy jobs.
This option is effective only for non-sorted or collated jobs.
Slip sheets: Slip sheet paper source
The Slip sheet paper source print option specifies the paper tray to use for the slip sheet.
Slip sheets: Slip sheet page size
The Slip sheet page size print option allows you to specify the slip sheet page size by selecting from the list of available sizes.
SEF stands for Short Edge Feed; LEF stands for Long Edge Feed.
Slip sheets: Transparency interleaving
The Transparency interleaving print option is used to print multiple transparency sheets separated by blank, plain paper pages or printed pages.
Select Blank interleave to print multiple transparency sheets separated by blank, plain paper pages.
Select Printed interleave to print multiple transparency sheets separated by printed pages.
This option is supported with Letter or A4 size plain paper or transparencies only.
Printing
Print Options
75
Slip sheets: Cover page
The Cover page print option allows you to specify when to print the cover page for the print job.
The Cover page settings are:
•
Disable
– does not print a cover page.
•
Before Job
– inserts a cover page before the job.
•
After Job
– inserts a cover page after the job.
•
Before and after
– inserts a cover page before and after the job.
This option is only accessible from Command WorkStation Job Properties.
Mixed media
The Mixed media print option allows you to specify different media types and paper source to use within a print job.
For more information, see printer driver help.
For information about accessing and using Mixed media, see Command WorkStation Help. Features specific to the
C9 Server are described in Utilities.
Use set page device media mapping
The Set Page Device (SPD) feature commands are instructions within PostScript, VIPP, and VPS files that specify certain attributes of a print job.
The Set Page Device option must be turned on in Configure. (See Command WorkStation Help.)
Select the Use set page device media mapping check box in Job Properties to allow the C9 Server to recognize and apply certain attributes of a print job on a job-level basis, including:
•
Paper attributes (for example, media type)
•
Finishing attributes (for example, stapling or folding)
•
Generic attributes (for example, simplex or duplex, number of copies)
This option is accessible only from Command WorkStation Job Properties.
Layout options
The Layout tab defines the imposition of the print job and the booklet process on the media/sheet, except for positioning that compensates for finishing options, for example, Tray alignment.
The printer driver has the following layout modes:
•
Normal
•
Gangup
is used for speed printing imposition modes. (See
on page 78.)
Printing
Print Options
76
•
Booklet
is used for printing documents in booklet layout. (See Booklet options in the printer driver and Job
on page 79.)
•
Impose
on page 82.)
Normal layout options
Normal layout options are used for printing standard documents, from 1 to 16 document pages per sheet.
Duplex
The Duplex print option allows you to print a job with duplex (double-sided) pages.
Select Off for single-sided printing.
Specify Top-top or Top-bottom for duplex (double-sided) printing by specifying the orientation of printed images.
For more information, see
Print Duplex (double-sided) pages on page 109.
Mirror
The Mirror print option, when selected, prints the mirror image of the job.
This option is not available from the Mac OS X printer driver and Command WorkStation Job Properties.
Orientation override
The Orientation Override print option is used with jobs that do not have an orientation or that have incorrect orientation.
It specifies the orientation to use for finishing settings (for example, stapling) that interact with orientation and for flowing pages on N-up layouts. In some cases, the orientation of a job may be correct in print, but incorrect in preview.
This option is accessible only from Command WorkStation Job Properties.
Orientation
Specify Portrait or Landscape page orientation for the document.
This option is not available from the Mac OS X printer driver and Command WorkStation Job Properties.
N-up option: Print border
Select to turn on Print border to print borders around each page in your print job.
Printing
Print Options
77
N-up option: Pages per Sheet
Specify the number of document pages per sheet of paper for your print job.
This option cannot be used with the Create master or Use master options.
Note:
This option is invalid if your job is sent to the Direct connection.
N-up option: Page Order
Specify the layout direction when the Pages per Sheet option is set to 2-up or greater.
Rotate 180 (check box)
The Rotate 180 print option, when selected, rotates the pages of a job 180 degrees.
Scale to fit
Specify whether to scale your job to fit to a paper size. When using the Scale to fit option, you cannot use the manual Scale option.
The Scale to fit option allows you to scale a job to a paper size different from the document size. When you turn on this option, the image is increased or reduced in size to fit the imageable area of the paper size you select from the Paper size menu. The document size is scaled to the printable imageable area of the paper for edge-toedge printing. When you turn off this option, the original document size is printed without any scaling, even if you select a larger paper size.
Scale to fit option
Scale to fit
turned on
Document size - Letter Output paper size - 11x17
Scale to fit
turned off
Printing
Print Options
78
Scale
Specify an increase or decrease in the scale of your print job. When using the manual Scale option, you cannot specify Scale to fit.
The operator can specify a scaling override in Command WorkStation, but the override is applied to any scaling value already set in the active job. For example, if a user sends a job with a scaling value of 50% and the operator specifies a Scale override of 300%, the job is printed at 150% of the original document size, that is, 50% of 300%.
Gangup layout options
Gangup
layout options are used for speed printing imposition modes.
Note:
The Gang-up feature is not valid if your job is sent to the Direct connection.
Gangup
Select Gangup to specify options for speed printing imposition modes.
Gang-up type
Gangup booklet has two types used for speed printing imposition: Step & repeat and Cut & stack.
Select Step & repeat to speed print a job by printing two document pages on each sheet. When the printed sheets are cut in half, the result is two complete sets of the same document.
Select Cut & stack to speed print a job by printing two document pages side by side. When the printed sheets are cut in half and stacked together, the result is one complete set of the document (in faster printing time).
For more information, see
on page 105.
Page Alignment: Duplex
The Page Alignment: Duplex print option allows you to select the duplex (double-sided) setting to specify the orientation of printed images for gang-up printing.
Select Off for single-sided printing.
Specify Top-top for duplex (double-sided) printing by specifying the orientation of printed images.
For more information, see
Print Duplex (double-sided) pages on page 109.
Page Alignment: Increase gutter by
Increase gutter by
controls the amount of space between adjacent pages on a sheet to adjust for trimming or other finishing options.
You can specify the gutter value from -1.969 to 1.969 inch in 0.001 inch increments (-50.0 to 50.0 mm in 0.1 mm increments).
Specify a positive value to increase the amount of blank space between adjacent pages.
Specify a negative value to decrease the amount of blank space between adjacent pages.
For more information, see Booklet Maker Help.
Printing
Print Options
79
Paper size
The Paper size print option defines the size of the sheet of paper on which your job prints. It is the size of the physical sheet of paper.
To assign paper size, select one of the following:
•
Select the size from the available list.
SEF stands for Short Edge Feed; LEF stands for Long Edge Feed.
•
Select From Paper Catalog to access a dynamic database on the C9 Server that stores the media attributes of any paper available for printing.
•
Select Custom Paper Size to select a non-standard paper size.
•
Select Same as document size to print on a sheet of paper the same size as the original document page size.
For information about Document size and Paper size, see
on page 104.
For information about printing custom page sizes, see
Defining and printing custom page sizes on page 104.
For information about accessing Paper Catalog, see Utilities. For information about using Paper Catalog, see
Command WorkStation Help.
Paper Size: Shrink to fit
Automatically scales down or reduces the document page size to fit the imageable area of the selected paper size specified from the Paper size menu. Shrink to fit does not scale up or enlarge.
When Shrink to fit is turned off, page contents print at 100%.
Booklet options in the printer driver and Job Properties
Booklet layout options are used for printing documents in booklet layout.
The Booklet Maker print options accessible from the printer driver. For the Booklet Maker print options accessible
on page 100.
Note:
The Booklet Maker feature is not valid if your job is sent to the Direct connection.
You can use the Booklet Maker Wizard to specify booklet options by clicking Launch Wizard.
Booklet
Select Booklet to specify options for printing documents in Booklet layout.
Click Launch Wizard to specify how to arrange the pages of the job in special layouts for folding or cutting after printing.
Booklet Type
Booklet Type
is a combination of binding method, which determines how the signatures of the booklet are folded and imposed, and binding edge, which determines the location of the spine of the booklet.
For information about Booklet printing, see Booklet Maker Help.
Printing
Print Options
80
Cover: Back cover
When Front & Back Separately is selected for the Cover: Content input print option, use the Back cover option to define how the content of the back cover is printed.
Select Print on outside to print only on the outside of the back cover (the inside of the back cover is blank).
Select Print on inside to print only on the inside of the back cover (the outside of the back cover is blank).
Select Print on both sides to print on both the inside and outside of the back cover.
Select Do not print if you do not want any content printed on the back cover.
When you add a cover, blank pages may be inserted, depending on the allocation of pages to signatures in the job. For more information, see Booklet Maker Help.
Cover: Content input
The Content input print option provides cover type settings for your Saddle booklet.
Select Front & Back Separately to include cover content (individual pages in your document) as part of your booklet print job.
Select Pre-Printed (use insert) to insert a pre-printed cover that is added to the body pages from an inserter tray.
For more information, see Booklet Maker Help.
Cover: Define Cover (for Saddle books only)
Click Define Cover to specify the cover options.
Cover: Front cover
When Front & Back Separately is selected, use the Front cover option to define how the content of the front cover is printed.
Select Print on outside to print only on the outside of the front cover (the inside of the front cover is blank).
Select Print on inside to print only on the inside of the front cover (the outside of the front cover is blank).
Select Print on both sides to print on both the inside and outside of the front cover.
Select Do not print if you do not want any content printed on the front cover.
When you add a cover, blank pages may be inserted, depending on the allocation of pages to signatures. For more information, see Booklet Maker Help.
Page Alignment: Align pages
Align pages
positions page content in relation to the center of one-half the paper size or the spine, the center of the sheet where the fold occurs.
At the center
positions page content in the center of one-half the specified paper size.
At the spine
aligns page content with the spine or center fold of your booklet.
For more information, see Booklet Maker Help.
Printing
Print Options
81
Page Alignment: Compensate creep
Compensate creep
adjusts the position of the page content to counteract the shift that occurs when sheets are folded and combined to create Saddle and Nested Saddle booklets.
Select Plain when printing Saddle or Nested Saddle booklets with a large number of pages.
Select Thick when printing Saddle or Nested Saddle booklets on heavyweight paper.
For information about printing booklets, see Booklet Maker Help.
Page Alignment: Increase gutter by
Increase gutter by
controls the amount of space between adjacent pages on a sheet to adjust for trimming or other finishing options.
You can specify the gutter value from -1.969 to 1.969 inch in 0.001 inch increments (-50.0 to 50.0 mm in 0.1 mm increments).
Specify a positive value to increase the amount of blank space between adjacent pages.
Specify a negative value to decrease the amount of blank space between adjacent pages.
For more information, see Booklet Maker Help.
Paper size: Paper Size for 2-up
The Paper size: Paper Size for 2-up print option defines the size of the sheet of paper (unfolded) on which a booklet is printed. It is the size of the physical sheet of paper.
To assign a paper size for a booklet, select one of the following:
•
Select the size from the available list.
(SEF stands for Short Edge Feed; LEF stands for Long Edge Feed.)
•
Select From Paper Catalog to access a dynamic database on the C9 Server that stores the media attributes of any paper available for printing.
•
Select Custom Paper Size to select a non-standard paper size.
•
Select Same as document size to print on a sheet of paper the same size as the original document page size.
For information about Document size and Paper size, see Document size and Paper size on page 104.
For information about printing custom page sizes, see
Defining and printing custom page sizes on page 104.
For information about accessing Paper Catalog, see Utilities. For information about using Paper Catalog, see
Command WorkStation Help.
For more information about printing booklets, see Booklet Maker Help.
Paper Size: Shrink to fit
Automatically scales down or reduces the document page size to fit the imageable area of the selected paper size specified from the Paper size menu. Shrink to fit does not scale up or enlarge.
When Shrink to fit is turned off, page contents print at 100%.
Printing
Print Options
82
Subset Size: Number of sheets in a subset (saddle) (for Nested Saddle books only)
When Nested Saddle is selected for booklet type, use the Number of sheets in a subset (saddle) print option to specify the number of sheets in each subset.
Impose layout options
Fiery Impose provides several pre-defined imposition templates used for custom printing, binding, and trimming.
The Impose option is only accessible from Command WorkStation Job Properties.
For more information, see Command WorkStation Help.
Impose
Select Impose to specify an imposition layout for a job.
Templates
Specify an imposition layout template for a job.
The available templates are as follows:
•
Normal
: Default Template and 1-up full bleed
•
Booklet
: 2-up perfect, 2-up saddle, and 4-up head to head
•
Gangup
: 3-up trifold brochure, 4-up gate fold, and 4-up z fold
Edit Impose Template
You can edit the imposition template in Fiery Impose.
Click Edit Impose Template to open a template in Fiery Impose for editing.
For information about Impose, see Utilities. For information about using Impose, see Command WorkStation
Help.
Color options
The Color tab shows color settings and additional features (when turned on).
Color mode
Select the color mode for the current print job.
Specify the color mode for the print job by doing one of the following:
•
Select CMYK for a color document.
•
Select Grayscale for a grayscale or black-and-white document.
Printing
Print Options
83
Specify the color print options and settings by doing one of the following:
•
Select Basic Settings to specify color print options and settings. For more information, see
page 83.
•
Select Expert Settings to edit other color print options and settings, including Black overprint, Black text and graphics
, Gray (CMYK), and Gray (RGB). For more information, see
on page 85.
Basic color options
The basic color options can be accessed by clicking Basic Settings on the Color tab of the printer driver or Command
WorkStation Job Properties.
Basic Settings
are as follows:
•
CMYK/Grayscale Source
specifies the simulation profile for the print job.
•
RGB Source
specifies a source color space definition for printing RGB images, graphics, and text.
•
Spot Color
activates the PANTONE Lookup Table. The C9 Server uses a built-in table to generate the closest
CMYK matches of spot colors when the Spot color matching check box is selected.
•
Gray and Black
specifies the settings to use for the object types (Text/Graphics or Text/Graphics/Images) using black only.
•
Output Profile
uses selected profile for color conversion for the printer.
•
Calibration
shows the last date and time the calibration was updated for the printer.
2-color print mapping
The 2-color print mapping option can be used to replace spot colors and process colors to the generic colors.
Select the 2-color print mapping check box to replace spot colors and process colors with generic colors when you create a print job.
This option is available as part of Fiery Graphic Arts Package, Premium Edition. (See Fiery Graphic Arts Package,
Premium Edition.)
Auto trapping
Trapping is a technique to print some objects slightly larger or smaller than specified in an application, in order to prevent white edges around the objects.
These white edges, or “halos,” can be caused by factors such as misregistration, the physical properties of the inks, and the stiffness of the media. The Auto trapping feature provides you with advanced trapping settings and gives you full control over their values.
Select this option if the job should automatically reduce white gaps for text and graphics.
Turning on this option may result in graphics or text surrounded with borders.
This option is available as part of Fiery Graphic Arts Package, Premium Edition. For more information, see Fiery
Graphic Arts Package, Premium Edition.
Printing
Print Options
84
Combine separations
You can print the color separations in the job as a single page or as four individual pages.
When printing separations from supported desktop publishing applications, do one of the following:
•
Select the Combine separations check box to combine separations on a single page.
•
Clear the check box to view separations as individual black-and-white pages, each representing one color plate.
For more information, see Color Printing.
Composite overprint
Design applications are typically set to knock out objects.
To overprint, you must first change the settings in the source application. When the Composite overprint option is turned on, the overprinting attribute specified in the source application takes place, provided the output is in composite mode (not printed in separations) and/or is printed with CMYK or Grayscale color mode. (See Color
Printing).
Select this option to overprint objects that are specified in the source PostScript or PDF file.
ImageViewer Curves
The ImageViewer Curves print option lets you apply color curve edits from ImageViewer that have been saved on the server as a preset.
ImageViewer in Command WorkStation can be used to edit the CMYK curves of a job on the C9 Server. These curve edits can be saved as a preset and applied to other jobs. Use the Curves option to select a preset for your job.
Factory-supplied curve edits apply some typical color corrections:
•
Lighter highlights
•
Midtone boost
•
No correction
•
Shadow detail
•
Reduce C (cyan) cast
•
Reduce M (magenta) cast
•
Reduce Y (yellow) cast
After the job is processed, the edits become part of the job and are no longer visible as edits when you view the job in
ImageViewer.
For more information, see Color Printing.
Substitute colors
Select Substitute colors to use the substitute color values defined in Spot-On.
For more information, see Color Printing.
Printing
Print Options
85
Optimize RGB transparency
You can use the Optimize RGB transparency option to achieve correct color output for areas of overlapping transparent RGB or Lab colors (such as a drop shadow) in a PDF job.
Turn on to achieve correct color output for areas of overlapping transparent RGB or Lab colors (such as a drop shadow) in a PDF job.
If you turn on Optimize RGB Transparency, the C9 Server uses the correct RGB source profile and rendering intent when converting the overlapping RGB colors to CMYK during the PDF-to-PostScript conversion. If you turn off
Optimize RGB Transparency
, the area of overlapping colors might print with incorrect color or undesirable artifacts.
When Adobe PDF Print Engine Preferred is turned on, this option is to recognize blending color spaces in the job, which can improve output for some blend modes when RGB blending color spaces are used.
This option is only accessible from Command WorkStation Job Properties, Hot Folders, and Virtual Printers. (See
Color Printing).
Expert color options
The expert color options can be accessed by clicking Expert Settings on the Color tab of the printer driver or
Command WorkStation Job Properties, and then clicking the Color Input tab in the Advanced Edit dialog box.
Expert Settings
modes are as follows:
•
Color Input
is used for color printing. (See
Color Input options on page 85).
•
Gray & Black Processing
is used to specify how to print black text and graphics in the print job. (See
on page 87).
•
Output
is used to specify the output profile to use for printing a document. (See Output options
on page 89).
Color Input options
The Color Input options can be accessed by clicking Expert Settings on the Color tab of the printer driver or
Command WorkStationJob Properties, and then clicking the Color Input tab in the Advanced Edit dialog box.
Black point compensation
The Black point compensation option lets you control the output quality of shadow areas for CMYK source colors.
Use Black point compensation to enhance details in shadows when the CMYK source space is larger than the gamut of the printer. In proofing applications, when the CMYK source space is smaller than the gamut of the printer, do not use this option.
Note:
For RGB source colors, black point compensation is always applied.
Black point compensation works by scaling the source colors so that the darkest point in the source profile maps to the darkest point in the output profile.
For more information, see Color Printing.
Printing
Print Options
86
CMYK/Grayscale Processing method
Specify the CMYK/Grayscale Processing method for the print job.
Specify the simulation method for CMYK print jobs.
Do one of the following:
•
Select Full (Source GCR) for a more complete and accurate simulation. Full (Source GCR) applies colorimetric transformations that adjust hue as well as output density and produces output that maintains the same amount of black as the source document.
•
Select Full (Output GCR) to apply the same simulation method as Full (Source GCR), except that the output produced contains a black amount determined by the Output profile.
•
Select Pure Primaries to use one-dimensional transfer curves to adjust density output of individual color channels.
For more information, see Color Printing.
CMYK/Grayscale Source
Specify the simulation profile for the print job.
For more information, see Color Printing.
Paper simulation
Select the Paper simulation check box to adjust the color according to the shade of the paper stock specified in the selected CMYK/Grayscale source profile.
This option is available as part of Fiery Graphic Arts Package, Premium Edition. For more information, see Fiery
Graphic Arts Package, Premium Edition.
PDF/X output intent
Select the PDF/X output intent check box to use the embedded output intent for PDF/X compliant print jobs.
To use this option, you must turn on the Use Embedded Profile When Present (RGB) option.
This option is only accessible from Command WorkStation Job Properties. (See Color Printing)
RGB rendering intent
Specify a RGB rending intent for the print job.
Specify a default CRD (color rendering dictionary) for color conversion when printing RGB images, graphics, and text.
Do one of the following:
•
Select Presentation to print files with artwork, graphics, and text. The result is similar to Photographic, with well-rendered flesh tones and more saturated colors.
•
Select Photographic to print photographs, including scanned and digital camera images. The result is less saturated than Presentation style.
Printing
Print Options
87
•
Select Relative Colorimetric when color matching is important, but you also want to print white as paper white. The white point transformation eliminates borders between blank spaces and white objects.
•
Select Absolute Colorimetric when exact colors are required and visible borders are not distracting. There is no white point transformation.
Note:
If you experience tone reproduction problems, set this option to Photographic.
For more information, see Color Printing.
RGB Source
Specify a source color space definition for printing RGB images, graphics, and text.
For more information, see Color Printing.
Separate RGB/Lab to CMYK source
Select the Separate RGB/Lab to CMYK source option for RGB jobs to simulate an output printer other than the printer to which you are printing.
For more information, see Color Printing.
Spot color matching
Clear the Spot color matching check box to print specified PANTONE colors in your job using the alternate color space and values for the spot color specified in the source application.
Select to activate the PANTONE Lookup Table. The C9 Server uses a built-in table to generate the closest
CMYK matches of spot colors. (See Color Printing.)
Use embedded profile when present (RGB)
When the Use embedded profile when present (RGB) option is turned on, the C9 Server ignores the RGB Source option and uses the RGB profile embedded in the print job as the RGB source profile.
For more information, see Color Printing.
Use embedded profile when present (CMYK)
When the Use embedded profile when present (CMYK) option is turned on, the C9 Server ignores the CMYK/
Grayscale Source
option and uses the CMYK profile embedded in the print job as the CMYK source profile.
For more information, see Color Printing.
Gray & Black Processing options
The Gray & Black Processing options can be accessed by clicking Expert Settings on the Color tab of the printer driver or Command WorkStation Job Properties, and then clicking the Gray & Black Processing tab in the Advanced Edit dialog box.
Printing
Print Options
88
Black text and graphics
The Black text and graphics print option specifies how to print black text and graphics in the print job.
Do one of the following:
•
Select Normal to print black text and graphics as a four-color black using C, M, Y, and K, and to use normal
PostScript rendering.
•
Select Pure Black On to print black text and graphics as a one-color black, using black only.
•
Select Rich Black On to print black text and graphics as richer looking black, by layering a small amount of
Cyan underneath the black to make the black even darker.
This option is automatically set to Pure Black On if the Black overprint (for pure black) option is set to Text or
Text/Graphics
. (See Color Printing.)
Black overprint (for pure black)
The Black overprint (for pure black) print option provides settings for text or text/graphics to overprint in the job.
Do one of the following:
•
Select Off to use conventional processing by knocking out. May produce white halos around objects.
•
Select Text to overprint black text.
•
Select Text/Graphics to overprint black text and graphics.
For more information, see Color Printing.
Gray (RGB)
The Gray (RGB) print option provides settings to print an RGB job using black instead of process black.
This option renders the selected object types (Text/Graphics or Text/Graphics/Images) in grayscale using K-only black instead of CMYK black, when any RGB color has equal R, G, and B values. (Graphics refer to vector graphics; Images refer to raster images.)
This option is designed to use black efficiently, by using only black (rather than four-color process black). (See
Color Printing).
Gray (CMYK)
The Gray (CMYK) print option provides settings to print a CMYK job using black instead of process black.
This option renders the selected object types (Text/Graphics or Text/Graphics/Images) in grayscale using K-only black instead of CMYK black, when any CMYK color with C, M, and Y are 0 (zero), and K is any value is printed.
(Graphics refer to vector graphics; Images refer to raster images.)
This option is designed to use black efficiently, by using only black (rather than four-color process black). (See
Color Printing).
Printing
Print Options
89
Output options
The Output options can be accessed by clicking Expert Settings on the Color tab of the printer driver and Command
WorkStation Job Properties, and then clicking the Output tab in the Advanced Edit dialog box.
Default output profile
The Default output profile print option specifies the output profile used to process a job. Color data in a print job is converted to the color space of the printer, which is described by the output profile.
The Use media defined profile setting automatically selects the output profile associated with the media type used in a print job rather than a specific output profile. If a job uses media from Paper Catalog, the output profile specified for the media in Paper Catalog is used.
For more information, see Color Printing.
Specialty Color tab options
The Specialty Color tab provides print options to print a job with Clear or White toner that you have specified as a spot color in Adobe InDesign, QuarkXPress, or other design applications.
For the Clear Specialty color mode, select one of the following:
•
Do not print Clear
- Spot colors in the Clear specialty color group are ignored and Clear toner is not applied. The first time that you print a job, you might want to select this setting to print a test print without Clear toner. After you check the output and resolve any problems, you can reprint the job with Clear toner. This practice helps to conserve the Clear toner supply.
•
Apply Clear to 'Clear' spot color(s) and selected
- Spot colors in the Clear specialty color group are printed with
Clear toner and any objects of a selected type are overprinted with Clear toner. You can select Clear toner overprinting for Text, Graphics, Images, and/or any spot color areas, even if there are no "Clear" spot colors in the job.
•
Apply Clear to full page
- A layer of Clear toner is applied to the full page regardless of any spot colors defined in the job.
•
Use alternate color for 'Clear' spot color(s) if present
- Substitutes any color in the Clear specialty color group with the alternate spot color defined in the document. Clear toner is not applied. Use this setting to print a test print and check the placement of Clear toner in the output before you actually print with Clear toner.
•
Apply Clear specialty color to all areas printed with CMYK
- Any area printed with any amount of CMYK is overprinted with Clear toner.
•
Replace CMYK with Clear
- Any area printed with any amount of CMYK is replaced with Clear toner. No CMYK is printed.
•
High quality
- Provides the best print quality. Do not select High quality if you want to print at the fastest speed.
If you select High quality, you can also specify the Clear toner limit (30-100%). With a lower limit, less toner is applied. You can conserve toner by specifying a lower limit, if a lower limit still produces acceptable results.
•
All Pages
- Specify the pages or sheets to apply the Clear specialty color settings. Clear toner is not applied to any pages or sheets that are excluded from the selection. The range specified is applicable to only those pages or sheets that are printed based on thePage Range print option in the Job Info tab of Command WorkStation Job
Properties.
Printing
Print Options
90
For the White Specialty color mode, select one of the following:
•
Do not print White
- Spot colors in the White color group are ignored and White toner is not applied. The first time that you print a job, you might want to select this setting to print a test print without White toner. After you check the output and resolve any problems, you can reprint the job with White toner. This practice helps to conserve the White toner supply.
•
Apply White to 'White' spot color(s) and selected
- Spot colors in the White color group are printed with White toner. You can select White toner overprinting for any spot color areas, even if there are no "White" spot colors in the job. Select the pages or sheets to apply the White toner mode settings.
•
Apply White to full page
- A layer of White toner is applied to the full page regardless of any spot colors defined in the job. Select the pages or sheets to apply the White toner mode settings.
•
Use alternate color for 'White' spot color(s) if present
- Substitutes any color in the White color group with the alternate spot color defined in the document. White toner is not applied. Use this setting to print a test print and check the placement of White toner in the output before you actually print with White toner.
•
Apply White specialty color to all areas printed with CMYK
- White toner is applied to any area printed with any amount of CMYK.
•
Replace CMYK with White
- Any area printed with any amount of CMYK is replaced with White toner. No
CMYK is printed.
•
Print White Specialty color
- Defines whether White toner is printed first (under any CMYK areas) or last (over any CMYK areas).
Note:
The setting is available only for C941, Pro9541, and ES9541.
Note:
For all other printer models, White toner is always printed first.
•
All Pages
- Specify the pages or sheets to apply the White specialty color settings. White toner is not applied to any pages or sheets that are excluded from the selection. The range specified is applicable to only those pages or sheets that are printed based on thePage Range print option in the Job Info tab of Command WorkStation Job
Properties.
For more information about specialty colors, see Color Printing.
Image options
The Image tab shows all image quality settings supported by the connected C9 Server and printer.
For information about options specified in Setup, see Configuration and Setup.
Brightness
The Brightness print option allows you to specify the image brightness for the print job.
Select 85% lightest for a substantially lighter image, 115% darkest for a substantially darker image, or one of the settings in between.
Printing
Print Options
91
Halftone simulation
The Halftone simulation print option allows you specify a halftone screening method for your print job.
Do one of the following:
•
Select Off when you do not want halftone simulation applied. This will use the printer's native halftone.
•
Select Application defined to use the screening set by the application.
•
Select Newsprint if you want a look similar to that of a newspaper.
•
Select User defined screen 1-3 to use the screening set by the C9 Server. The User defined screen 1-3 settings reflect the setting specified in C9 Server Setup.
This option is available as part of Fiery Graphic Arts Package, Premium Edition. (See Fiery Graphic Arts Package,
Premium Edition.)
Note:
When this option is turned on, unnecessary patterns or moiré patterns may occur. If this happens, from
Command WorkStation, click Device Center > Color Setup, click Halftone Simulation, and change the Angle,
Frequency (LPI)
, and Dot Shape settings. The problem may also be minimized by changing the Resolution print option.
Image enhance: Apply image enhancement
Select the Apply image enhancement check box to apply photo enhancement to the job.
The supported file formats are PDF, PS, TIFF, and EPS.
This option is not valid for images under 72 dpi. Also, it is not applied to pages with a large number of images. For more information, see
on page 107.
Image enhance: Image enhancement range
Specify all pages, specific page(s), or sheets of the document to apply photo finishing enhancement.
Image smoothing
Select the Image smoothing option to minimize grainy output when printing low-resolution (up to 300 dpi) images.
This option is valid for images less than or equal to 150 dpi when the Resolution option is set to 600 dpi, and for images less than or equal to 300 dpi when the Resolution option is set to 1200 dpi. This option improves graphic and image types of gradients.
Image quality
The Image quality print option allows you to specify the type of image quality for the job.
This option affects the fineness of images in the job; there is a trade-off with processing speed.
Choose one of the following for the print job:
•
Normal
- to print quality images.
•
Best
- to print the highest quality for text and images.
Printing
Print Options
92
Resolution
The Resolution print option allows you to specify the resolution of the print job (specified in dots-per-inch).
The Resolution settings are 1200x600 dpi and 1200 dpi.
Note:
Calibration is affected by the resolution setting. When you create a custom calibration setting, be sure the resolution setting is the same setting that is used in jobs that are printed with the calibration setting. For more information, see Color Printing.
Use maximum printer density
The Use maximum printer density option is designed to create solid, saturated colors. It is typically used to print text and graphics, not photographic images.
Select this option to print 100% C, M, Y (or R, G, B) at the maximum density that the printer is capable of printing, regardless of calibration. C, M, Y (or R, G, B) values less than 100% still print at the calibrated density value.
For best results printing CMYK color, set CMYK/Grayscale Source to Bypass Conversion. For best results printing
RGB color, make sure the Use Embedded Profile When Present (RGB) option is selected.
Finishing options
The Finishing tab shows print options related only to finishing equipment on the printer, and also image shifting to compensate for finishing options.
These options override settings in C9 Server Printer Setup but can be changed from Command WorkStation.
Delivery Option: Offset jobs
The Offset jobs print option, when selected, offsets (shifts in output tray) the job.
Delivery Option: Output delivery
Specify the output delivery for the printed job.
Do one of the following for single-side printing:
•
Select Face down - normal order to print your document on the bottom of the sheet of paper (the document outputs from the printer with the text facing down) in normal (1-N) order.
•
Select Face up - normal order to print your document on the top of the sheet of paper in normal (1-N) order.
•
Select Face down - reverse order to print your document on the bottom of the sheet of paper (the document outputs from the printer with the text facing down) in reverse (N-1) order.
•
Select Face up - reverse order to print your document on the top of the sheet of paper in reverse (N-1) order.
Printing
Print Options
93
Do one of the following for 2-sided (duplex) printing:
•
Select Face down - normal order to print your document, for example 4 pages, with page 4/last page on the front of the sheet of paper and page 3 on the back, and page 2 on the front of the next sheet of paper and page 1 on the back in normal (1-N) order).
•
Select Face up - normal order to print your document, for example 4 pages, with page 1 on the front of the sheet of paper and page 2 on the back, and page 3 on the front of the next sheet of paper and page 4/last page on the back in normal (1-N) order).
•
Select Face down - reverse order to print your document, for example 4 pages, with page 2 on the front of the sheet of paper and page 1 on the back, and page 4/last page on the front of the next sheet of paper and page 3 on the back in reverse (N-1) order).
•
Select Face up - reverse order to print your document, for example 4 pages, with page 3 on the front of the sheet of paper and page 4/last page on the back, and page 1 on the front of the next sheet of paper and page 2 on the back in reverse (N-1) order).
For more information, see
Delivery Option: Output tray
The Output tray print option allows you to specify the output tray for the job.
Delivery Option: Sorter mode
The Sorter mode print option allows you to specify how to output multiple-page/multiple-copy jobs.
Sorting and collating is supported on the printer with a finisher attached.
•
Collate
: Copies of a complete job are collated and output in the same direction, arranged in this page order:
1-2-3, 1-2-3, 1-2-3.
•
Group
: Copies of a complete job are output in the same direction, arranged in this page order: 1-1-1, 2-2-2, 3-3-3.
•
Offset collate
: Copies of a complete job are collated and output in the same direction, arranged in this page order: 1-2-3, 1-2-3, 1-2-3 with offset stacking.
•
Offset group
: Copies of a complete job are output in the same direction, arranged in this page order: 1-1-1, 2-2-2,
3-3-3 with offset stacking.
Image shift
The Image shift print option check box, when selected, adjusts an image for duplex printing by shifting the image horizontally, in the direction of paper travel, relative to the leading edge.
This option affects the offsetting of the image for the entire job, not on a per-page-basis. However, you can specify alignment settings for the front (odd) and back (even) pages.
Image Shift
settings are not available from inside Mixed Media.
Image Shift
is not supported for Booklet Maker and Gang-up printing.
For more information, see printer driver help.
Printing
Print Options
94
Pad Printing: Enable pad printing
Select the Enable pad printing check box to print pads.
Pad is a collection of a single or multiple page job with multiple copies.
For more information, see
on page 108.
Pad Printing: Add pad back cover
Select the Add pad back cover check box to add a back cover at the end of the pad.
Pad Printing: Back cover paper source
Specify the paper source tray to use for the pad back cover.
Pad Printing: Job copies per pad
Specify the number of pad copies to print.
Pad Printing: Offset pads
Select the Offset pads check box to offset (shift in output tray) the pads.
Use set page device output bin tray mapping
Select to turn on Use set page device output bin tray mapping to allow the C9 Server to map the Output tray on a job-level basis.
The Set Page Device (SPD) feature must be turned on in Configure. (See Command WorkStation Help.)
This option is only accessible from Command WorkStation Job Properties.
Variable Data Printing (VDP) options
The VDP tab shows all Variable Data Printing (VDP) settings, such as FreeForm and advanced VDP settings.
The C9 Server is compatible with the following variable data printing languages:
•
FreeForm and FreeForm 2
•
Portable Document Format/Variable Transactional (PDF/VT)
•
Personalized Print Markup Language (PPML)
•
Creo Variable Print Specification (VPS)
For more information about VDP languages, see Variable Data Printing.
VDP documents using FreeForm must have the following settings for the master document and variable document match:
•
Color mode
•
Combine separations
Printing
Print Options
95
•
Duplex
•
Orientation
The following setting for the variable document overrides the corresponding settings in the master document:
•
Output paper size
•
Paper type
Cache PDF and PS objects
The Cache PDF and PS objects print option, when selected, recognizes objects (text, images, vectors) within a
PostScript or PDF file. PDF objects must be tagged as XObjects and PS objects must be in PS form to be cached, which reduces the need to re-process image data for faster printing.
This option is only accessible from Command WorkStation Job Properties.
For more information, see Variable Data Printing.
Create master
To create a FreeForm master from this job, specify a number to assign to the FreeForm master file.
Command WorkStation allows you to select up to 100 FreeForm masters.
For more information, see Variable Data Printing.
Enable enhanced FreeForm
Select to turn on Enable enhanced FreeForm to allow the mapping of select pages from the FreeForm master file in the desired order and merge with the variable file when the job is processed.
You cannot apply FreeForm settings to an imposed job.
For more information, see Variable Data Printing.
File search path
Some PPML and other types of jobs do not contain all of the variable data job resources in a single file. In these cases, on a job per job basis, specify the location of the variable data job external resources so that the C9 Server can access them.
For more information, see Variable Data Printing.
Preview Master
Click Preview Master to generate a low-resolution image of your master page.
This option is not available for the Mac OS X v10.7 or later printer drivers.
Printing
Print Options
96
Print master
Select Print Master to verify or confirm your Master page.
Printer’s default reflects the setting specified in C9 Server Setup.
For more information, see Variable Data Printing.
Remove white PPT background
Select to turn on Remove white PPT background when using Microsoft Office PowerPoint to create variable data in conjunction with FreeForm.
This option removes the white background from PowerPoint files.
Use master
For variable data print jobs, specify a FreeForm master number to be used for the job.
Command WorkStation allows you to select up to 100 FreeForm masters.
For more information, see Variable Data Printing.
Define record length: Define record length
Process a PDF or PostScript file like a variable data print job, and apply record-based finishing.
This option is used in connection with the Pages Per Record option.
For more information, see Variable Data Printing.
Define record length: Pages per record
Define record-based (rather than job-based) finishing, based on the number entered.
This option is used with the Define Record Length option.
For more information, see Variable Data Printing.
Stamping (Watermark) options
The Stamping tab shows all image stamping options that add or hide/remove any image on the job.
This also includes watermark properties that define the placement and style of the watermark. For information, see printer driver help.
Watermark
The Watermark print option allows you to select standard text for your watermark from the pull-down menu.
To create your own watermark, click New.
To modify a standard watermark, select it from the pull-down menu and click Edit.
Printing
Print Options
97
To remove a watermark from the list, select it from the pull-down menu and click Delete.
For more information about using watermarks, see printer driver help.
Note:
For Windows, do not select these fonts: AdobeSansMM and AdobeSerifMM.
Print Watermarks: First Page Only
The First Page Only print option check box, when selected, to specify how to print the watermark for the print job.
Select to turn on First Page Only to print a watermark only on the first page.
For more information about using watermarks, see printer driver help.
Override print option settings in Job Properties
Print option settings that were specified in the printer driver can be overridden in Command WorkStation Job
Properties.
1
In Command WorkStation, right-click a held job in the Job Center view.
2
Select Properties.
3
Specify the print option settings, and then click Print.
Exceptions to overriding print option settings in Job Properties
You can override most print options in the printer driver and Command WorkStation Job Properties.
The exceptions are listed in the table.
Printer driver tab
Job Info
Option
Destination
Job tracking: Enable job tracking
Print Range
Print queue action
Section name
Section password
User Authentication: User name
User Authentication: Password
User Authentication: Use Windows Login
User Authentication: I'm a Guest
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
Driver Win Driver Mac CWS
X X
X X
X
X
X
X
X
X
Printing
Print Options
98
Printer driver tab
Media
Layout: Normal
Color
Color: Expert Settings
Finishing
Variable Data Printing (VDP)
Stamping
All Tabs
(Watermark)
Option
Document size
Use set page device media mapping
Creep
Flip
Mirror
Orientation
Orientation override
Slip sheets: Cover page
Optimize RGB transparency
PDF/X output intent
Use set page device output bin tray mapping
Cache PDF and PS objects
Watermarks
Print Watermarks: First Page Only
Adobe PDF Print Engine Preferred
X
X
X
X
X
X
Driver Win Driver Mac CWS
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
Booklet Maker layouts in the printer driver and Command WorkStation Job Properties
Booklet Maker is the imposition tool that allows you to quickly print documents in booklet format, without the need for more involved page imposition programs.
Booklet Maker provides advanced settings, while streamlining the booklet-making process by displaying only the options and controls relevant to your selections. Booklet Maker is capable of imposing jobs from nearly any application.
Access Booklet Maker in the printer driver when you print a job, or in Command WorkStation Job Properties.
Note:
Mixed Media jobs and variable data printing jobs are not supported by Booklet Maker.
The following booklet layouts are available:
•
Saddle binding
: Signatures are folded together as a group, and then stapled or stitched along the center fold, which forms the spine of the booklet.
Printing
Print Options
99
1 Saddle (left) binding
2 Saddle (right) binding
3 Saddle (top) binding
•
Nested Saddle binding
: Combines saddle and perfect binding methods by stacking two or more saddles (also called “groups” or “subsets”) together along the common fold, then gluing them together at the fold to form the spine.
1 Nested Saddle (left) binding
2 Nested Saddle (right) binding
3 Nested Saddle (top) binding
•
Perfect binding
: Separate, folded pages are printed and stacked in booklet order. Finished pages are stitched adjacent to one another for trimming or gluing.
1 Perfect booklet
2 Front (2, 3, 6, 7) and Back (4, 1, 8, 5)
For more information, see Booklet Maker Help.
For more information, see
Booklet options in the printer driver and Job Properties on page 79.
Printing
Print Options
100
Booklet Maker in the printer driver and Command WorkStation Job Properties
You can access Booklet Maker in the printer driver and Command WorkStation Job Properties when you print a job.
You can work with Booklet Maker as follows:
•
Using the Booklet Maker wizard
Recommended for first-time or novice users.
•
Specifying settings in the main Booklet Maker dialog box
Recommended for experienced or advanced users.
For more information, see
Booklet options in the printer driver and Job Properties on page 79.
Access Booklet Maker from the Windows printer driver
1
In your application, select File > Print.
2
Select the C9 Server as your printer and click Properties.
3
In the printer driver, click the Layout icon and select the Booklet option.
For more information, see Booklet Maker Help.
Access Booklet Maker from the Mac OS X printer driver
1
In your application, select File > Print.
2
Select the C9 Server as your printer, and select Fiery Features from the drop-down list.
3
Click Full Properties in the Quick Access pane.
4
In the printer driver, click the Layout icon and select the Booklet option.
For more information, see Booklet Maker Help.
Access Booklet Maker from Command WorkStation
1
Double-click your print job in the Held or Printed list, or right-click the job and select Properties.
2
Click the Layout icon in the Job Properties window.
3
Select the Booklet option.
4
Specify the Booklet Maker settings or click Launch Wizard to specify the settings graphically.
For more information, see Command WorkStation Help.
Printing
Print Options
101
About Booklet Maker imposition
Imposition is the process of printing multiple pages on single sheets of paper.
When imposed sheets are folded together as signatures, the pages follow in sequential, or reading, order. Booklet
Maker is designed for 2-up imposition, which imposes four individual pages from your document on a single sheet that is printed duplex.
The order in which pages are imposed is determined by the binding method that you select.
Booklet Maker and Impose
Booklet Maker settings are supported by Impose, if turned on.
You can open a job with Booklet Maker settings in Impose to preview the imposition layout or further modify the imposition layout, if necessary.
Impose translates and maps all Booklet Maker settings to Impose commands.
Note:
When a job with Booklet Maker settings has been edited in the Impose window, the job can no longer be edited in Booklet Maker. Impose offers more settings that cannot be mapped to Booklet Maker settings.
For more information about Impose, see Utilities.
Create a booklet with the booklet options in the printer driver or Job Properties
Booklet Maker dynamically displays all of the controls applicable to creating a booklet in the main Booklet Maker window.
1
Select a Booklet Type: Saddle, Nested Saddle, or Perfect.
2
Select a binding edge: Left, Top, or Right.
3
Specify a Paper size.
4
Select Shrink to fit, if required.
5
Specify Page alignment.
6
Specify Creep compensation, if required.
Creep compensation is available for saddle and nested saddle booklets.
7
Specify cover settings, if you selected a saddle booklet.
Note:
8
Click OK to save your settings, Cancel to cancel the job, or Print to print your job.
Create a booklet with the Booklet Maker wizard
In the Booklet Maker wizard, accessed by clicking Launch Wizard, the windows display the steps in the bookletmaking process.
1
Click Launch Wizard.
Printing
Print Options
102
2
Specify the Booklet Type (binding method) and binding edge.
3
If Saddle was selected for Booklet Type, specify cover and content settings, and then click Next.
4
Specify paper size and media settings, and then click Next.
If Saddle was selected for Booklet Type, specify the paper settings for the cover, and then click Next.
If Nested Saddle was selected for Booklet Type, specify number of sheets in a subset.
5
Specify layout settings, and then click Next.
If Saddle or Nested Saddle was selected for Booklet Type, specify creep compensation.
6
View the settings summary.
7
Click Finish to save your booklet, Back to change any settings, or Cancel to cancel the job.
Adding a cover to a Saddle booklet
You can add covers (optional) for Saddle booklets only with the Booklet Maker wizard.
Add a pre-printed cover to a Saddle booklet
1
In the main Booklet Maker window, select Saddle for Booklet Type and a binding edge.
2
Specify the required settings for Paper Size and Page Alignment for the body of the booklet.
3
Select Pre-Printed from the Cover Content input menu.
4
Click Define Cover and specify the cover media settings.
5
Click OK.
Add an inline cover to a Saddle booklet
1
In the main Booklet Maker window, select Saddle for Booklet Type and a binding edge.
2
Specify the required settings for Paper Size and Page Alignment for the body of the booklet.
3
Select Front & Back Separately from the Cover Content input menu.
4
Specify the Front cover and Back cover settings.
5
Click Define Cover and specify the cover media settings.
6
Click OK.
Note:
When you print an inline cover with top-edge binding, the outside back cover automatically rotates 180 degrees to match the orientation of the front cover.
Printing
Print Options
103
Booklet Maker cover options for Saddle booklets
For Saddle only, Booklet Maker includes two cover options: pre-printed or inline, for which you can specify media.
You can specify additional options for an inline cover by specifying the following cover options:
•
Content input
: Select from Front & Back Separately or Pre-Printed.
•
Front & Back Separately
: Select this option to specify an inline cover that prints the cover pages and body pages as a single job. Separate pages from your document are imposed on a single sheet that forms the cover pages of your booklet.
You can specify an inline cover when your original document includes the cover pages and/or cover artwork for your booklet. The cover content may be the first and last pages of your document, or the first two and last two pages of your document, or any combination.
If you select this option, you can specify the Front cover and Back cover options.
•
Pre-Printed
: Select this option to insert a pre-printed cover that will be merged with the body pages of your booklet, which print separately.
If you select this option, the Front cover and Back cover options are disabled.
•
Front cover
and Back cover: These options allow you to quickly decide whether your front and back covers print duplex, single-sided, or both sides blank, without needing to add blank pages in your original document.
With top-edge binding that includes a cover, the outside of the back cover automatically rotates 180 degrees to match the orientation of the front cover.
•
Define Cover
: This option allows you to select cover media settings for your cover pages, which may be trimmed.
This option is available for both pre-printed and inline covers.
Printing Booklet Maker jobs
Booklet Maker does not support jobs sent to the Direct connection. Booklet Maker print jobs must be sent to the
queue or Hold queue.
Set measurement units in Command WorkStation
You can change the default unit of measurement for all input fields in the Command WorkStation Preferences dialog box.
Units specifies the units of measurement used to display attributes, such as page sizes and custom sizes, that you enter in the Job Properties dialog box. This setting does not affect predefined page-size values.
1
In Command WorkStation, select Edit > Preferences.
2
Click Regional Settings.
3
Select the unit of measurement (millimeters, points, or inches).
4
Click OK.
The changes are not effective until Command WorkStation is restarted.
Printing
Print Options
104
Defining and printing custom page sizes
With custom page sizes, you define the dimensions of a printed page. After you define a custom page size, you can use it from within an application without redefining it each time you print.
When you create custom page sizes, specify width dimensions to correspond with the shorter side of your job and specify height dimensions to correspond with the longer side of your job. Set custom page sizes in this way, regardless of the orientation settings in the application.
1 Portrait orientation
2 Landscape orientation
3 Height
4 Width
Note:
Custom page sizes are not supported with Imposition jobs.
For information about defining and printing custom page sizes, see printer driver help.
Document size and Paper size
Document size is the page size defined in your application’s Print setup (or Page setup) dialog box.
Paper size
is the size of the actual sheet of paper on which your job is printed. It may be useful to think of Document size
as digital input (the page size defined in your original document) and Paper size as the physical output (the actual size of the paper in the printer tray).
In cases when you print one document page per sheet of paper, Document size is usually the same as the Paper size.
However, Document size may differ from Paper size when you print booklets or impose multiple document pages on a single sheet.
Printing
Print Options
105
The illustrations show examples of possible relationships between Document size and Paper size. Note that the orientation of all pages shown is landscape.
Description
Document size is the same as Paper size. Scaling is 100%.
Document size (input) Paper size (output)
Letter Letter
Tabloid Document size scaled to fit on Letter Paper size. Scaling is 50%. Tabloid 11x17
Letter
A4 Document size scaled to fit on A3 Paper size. Scaling is 141%.
A4 A3
Document size
may also differ from Paper size when using the Scale or Scale to fit options. The Scale option reduces or enlarges the document page at a specified percent. The Scale to fit option automatically reduces or enlarges the document image to fit the selected paper size.
For information about Document size and Paper size in booklet printing, see Booklet Maker Help.
For more information, see
For more information, see
on page 77.
Gang-up printing
Gangup layout options are used for speed printing imposition modes.
The C9 Server includes two speed-printing options for gang-up printing:
•
Step & repeat
- Select this option to speed print a job so that the first page of your document is printed twice on the first sheet. The next sheet duplicates the data on the second page, the next sheet duplicates the data on the third page, and so on. When the printed sheets are cut in half, the result is two complete sets of the same document.
Printing
Print Options
106
2
1
2
1
3
1
3
1
4
2
4
2
1 Single-sided, front only
2 Duplex (double-sided), front (1, 3) and back (2, 4)
•
Cut & stack
- Select this option to speed print a job so that when the sheets are stacked and cut from the central position, the job is numbered in order and separated as two stacks. The print order is such that when the sheets are cut in half, you can combine them to form a single complete set of the document, in faster printing time.
2 4 3 7 4 8
1 3 1 5 2 6
1 Single-sided, front only
2 Duplex (double-sided), front (1, 3, 5, 7) and back (2, 4, 6, 8)
For more information, see
on page 78.
Access Gang-up print from the Windows printer driver
1
In your application, select File > Print.
2
Select the C9 Server as your printer and click Properties.
3
In the printer driver, click the Layout icon and select the Gangup option.
Access Gang-up print from the Mac OS X printer driver
1
In your application, select File > Print.
2
Select the C9 Server as your printer and select Fiery Features from the drop-down list.
3
Click Full Properties in the Quick Access pane.
4
In the printer driver, click the Layout icon and select the Gangup option.
Printing
Print Options
107
Image Enhance
The Image Enhance feature lets you apply photo finishing enhancement to color images on specified pages or sheets of a job. This feature affects only photographic images, not graphics such as logos or charts.
To turn on this feature, select the Apply image enhancement check box for a job and specify the pages or sheets to be affected. This option is located in the Image tab of the printer drivers and Command WorkStation Job Properties.
You can customize Image Enhance settings from Command WorkStation.
For more information, see Command WorkStation Help.
Output delivery
Output delivery
allows you to specify how the stack of copies is delivered in the output tray.
Do one of the following for single-side printing:
•
Select Face up for sheets delivered into the output tray with copies facing up, with normal order for the first sheet on the top of the stack, or reverse order for the first sheet on the bottom of the stack.
•
Select Face down for sheets delivered into the output tray with copies facing down, with normal order for the first sheet on the bottom of the stack, or reverse order for the first sheet on the top of the stack.
1 Face up - normal order
2 Face up - reverse order
3 Face down - normal order
4 Face down - reverse order
Printing
Print Options
108
Do one of the following for 2-sided (duplex) printing:
•
Select Face up for 2-sided sheets delivered into the output tray with copies facing up, with normal order for side
1 of the first sheet on the top of the stack, or reverse order for side 2 of the first sheet on the bottom of the stack.
•
Select Face down for 2-sided sheets delivered into the output tray with copies facing down, with normal order for side 2 of the last sheet on the top of the stack, or reverse order for side 1 of the last sheet on the bottom of the stack.
1 Face up - normal order
2 Face up - reverse order
3 Face down - normal order
4 Face down - reverse order
Note:
When using a finisher that reverses the order of the stack, you can specify normal order so that when the stack is fed through the finisher, the pages are delivered in the correct order.
Pad printing
Pad printing gives you control over printing multiple copies of a job without having to perform unnecessary mental calculations or requiring multiple steps every time.
With the Pad printing print options on the Finishing tab of the printer driver or Command WorkStation Job
Properties, you can specify pad-printing parameters. You can define the contents of each pad, including the number of times the job repeats within a pad.
It duplicates a single job as many times as defined in the Pad printing settings to create one finished or merged pad.
You can add a back cover or slip sheet between each pad.
Pad printing also allows you to simply assemble printed pads with a back cover, similar to sticky notes. When cover has been turned on for pad printing, the page size and orientation of the cover media should be the same as the main job.
Printing
Print Options
109
You can use the Job copies per pad print option to specify the number of pads in the job. Pad copy packs are offset in the output tray for easy separation for offline binding.
An example of a job printed with the Pad printing settings.
1 Each sheet of each pad is printed duplex (double-sided) and repeated 25 times.
2 A slip sheet is inserted after each pad. This slip sheet can be any choice of media.
3 A back cover is added.
Print Duplex (double-sided) pages
1
In your application, do one of the following:
•
On Mac OS X computers: Select File > Print, select the C9 Server as your printer, select Fiery Features from the drop-down list, click Full Properties in the Quick Access pane, and then select Normal on the Layout tab.
•
On Windows computers: Select File > Print, select the C9 Server as your printer, click Properties, and then click the Layout icon.
Printing
Print Options
110
2
Select one of the Duplex settings:
•
Top-top
: Prints the top of the image on Side 1 on the same edge of the page as the top of the image on Side 2.
•
Top-bottom
: Prints the top of the image on Side 1 on the opposite edge of the page from the top of the image on Side 2.
Orientation Top-top Top-bottom
2
Portrait
1 2 1
2
1 2 1
Landscape
3
Print the job.
User Authentication
If Users and Groups user authentication is configured in C9 Server Setup, you must enter a valid user name and password to send a print job to the C9 Server.
In Command WorkStation, the management of jobs is determined by how you log on to the C9 Server.
The print options associated with Users and Groups user authentication are as follows:
•
On Mac OS X computers: Select the Job Info icon and type logon information in the User name and Password fields.
•
On Windows computers: Set the following:
•
Use Windows Login
- Select this option if you are already logged on to a Windows computer. Otherwise, type your Windows network logon information in the User name and Password fields.
•
Validate
- Click to validate user authorization and to confirm printing privileges. To validate, Two-Way
Communication must be turned on. For information on establishing Two-Way Communication, see printer driver help.
•
I’m a guest
- Select this option to activate guest printing privileges. By default, guest printing is turned on.
For information about turning on Users and Groups user authentication in Configure, see Configuration and Setup and Command WorkStation Help.
Index
2-color print mapping option 83
A
Adobe PDF Print Engine option 63
B
Black overprint (for pure black) option 88
Black point compensation option 85
Black text and graphics option 88
Booklet Maker
reading layout 101 settings 101 wizard 100, 101
C
cover
custom page size, defining for Mac OS X 104
D
Default Browser connection 36, 40, 44, 48, 52
Duplex (double-sided) option 101, 103
F
Fiery Software Uninstaller Utility
deleting 34 installing and using 34
G
Gang-up print
H
Handle as custom paper option 73
I
installable options
installing
printer drivers using Point and Print 10
virtual printers using Point and Print 15
IP Printer connection 38, 42, 46, 50, 54
L
Line Printer Daemon - LPD 38, 42, 46, 50, 54
M
Mac OS X
Printing
Index
111
Default Browser connection 36, 40, 44, 48, 52
deleting the printer driver 34
Fiery Software Uninstaller utility 34
IP Printer connection 38, 42, 46, 50, 54
Line Printer Daemon - LPD 38, 42, 46, 50, 54
printing from applications 55 selecting printers 55
measurement unit, specifying 103
Media check (other tray) option 73
N
O
Orientation override option 76
P
Page Alignment: Duplex option 78
Paper size: Paper Size for 2-up option 81
PostScript Printer Description file, see PPD 68
PostScript printer driver
installing from User Software DVD 13
installing using Point and Print 10
PPD (PostScript Printer Description file)
Printer Delete Utility 8, 18, 34
printer drivers
installing 64-bit printer driver 15
printing
Printing
Index
112
with Web Services for Devices (WSD) 66
printing connections, supported types 19
Q
Quick Access, customizing 30, 58
R
S
selecting printers
Slip sheet page size option 74
Slip sheet paper source option 74
Slip sheets: Cover page option 75
Slip sheets: Slip sheet option 74
Slip sheets: Slip sheet page size option 74
Slip sheets: Slip sheet paper source option 74
Slip sheets: Transparency interleaving option 74
SMB printing
Specialty Colorant tab options 89
speed printing, see Gang-up print 105
T
Transparency interleaving option 74
Two-Way Communication 26, 31, 56, 59
U
Use embedded profile when present (CMYK) option 87
Use embedded profile when present (RGB) option 87
User Authentication
Users and Groups user authentication 110
Use Windows Login option 72, 110
User Software DVD, installing printer driver 32
V
virtual printers
installing using Point and Print 15
W
WebTools
Windows Server 2008
installing 64-bit printer driver 15
Printing
Index
113
Скачать
Реклама