Keypoint Consultants 7.0 Acrobat Forms User guide
Reklam
Reklam
Mastering Acrobat 7.0 Forms
…Upon this gifted age, in its dark hour
Falls from the sky a meteoric shower
Of facts… they lie unquestioned, uncombined.
Wisdom enough to leech us of our ill
Is daily spun; but there exists no loom
To weave it into fabric…
Sonnet from Huntsman, What Quarry? by Edna St. Vincent Millay
My struggle has been to discover the road, the pattern that leads to memory.
The junctures of road-to-road and path-to-path celebrate that connection. That connection is learning, and learning is remembering what you are interested in.
Richard Saul Wurman
919-562-2464 www.keypointconsultants.com
Session Notes
Session Notes
Follow-up Support
• As part of this session, you will also receive 30 days of follow-up support from Keypoint Consultants.
• Contact Ann-Marie Grissino at 919-562-2464 (office), 919-426-8515 (cell), or [email protected].
About Your Instructor
Ann-Marie Grissino is President of Keypoint Consultants, Inc., a technical writing firm specializing in communication design and delivery. Ann-Marie has provided services to small and large organizations, including University of Massachusetts, SAS Institute,
Carolina Power & Light, Tufts, Nortel, First Union University, BankBoston, Merant,
Siemens, Veritas, and Intel. Ann-Marie has won numerous awards from the Society for
Technical Communications (STC) for writing and designing technical information, including a Distinguished Award from Boston and Northern New England, an
Excellence and Best of Show Award for e-learning course development, and Merit and
Excellence awards in the STC International competition. For “excellence in graphic design, editorial content, and success in achieving overall communication effectiveness and excellence,” Ann-Marie received an Award of Excellence from APEX. She has judged international STC competitions and is a senior judge for Brandon-Hall e-learning national competitions. Ann-Marie teaches information architecture at Duke University, chairs the regional STC Online Communications Competition, and has spoken at several international conferences. Ann-Marie teaches FrameMaker, Dreamweaver, Acrobat, online help development, and e-learning development.
Additional Training Offerings
• Macromedia Dreamweaver
• Macromedia Captivate
• Adobe FrameMaker
• Adobe Acrobat
• Online Help Development
• Information Architecture
Creating Interactive PDF
Documents with Acrobat
Student Guide
This document includes:
What is Acrobat? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2
Creating Interactive PDF Forms . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3
General overview . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3
Using Adobe Designer vs Acrobat forms tools . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4
Setting up your toolbars . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4
Adding interactive fields . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5
Copying multiple fields . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6
Filling in forms . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6
Moving between field editing and user views . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6
Using the Document Message toolbar . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7
Capturing users’ contact information automatically . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9
Collecting form data via email . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11
Peeking at Adobe Designer . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 15
Opening Adobe Designer . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 15
Adding fields . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 15
Creating calculation buttons . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 16
Adjusting the tab order . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 16
Additional Resources . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 16
1
Creating Interactive PDF Documents with Acrobat What is Acrobat?
What is Acrobat?
Acrobat is a publishing application that lets you create Portable Document Format (PDF) documents that display documents as they were designed and formatted. You can create
PDFs, create interactive forms, conduct online documentation reviews, and distribute these documents online using Acrobat.
Acrobat has the following family of products:
♦
♦
♦
Acrobat Reader: Designed for free, read-only access to documents
Acrobat Standard: Designed for basic PDF editing
Acrobat Professional: Designed for advanced PDF editing
Another product, Acrobat Elements, lets you create and edit PDFs on an enterprise scale.
You can Adobe
Reader 7.0
Review PDFs with the highlighter, sticky note, pen, and some commenting tools. Professional user can enable more review options in PDF reviews.
Edit PDFs
Add and change bookmarks
Optimize PDFs (affects compression and resolution)
Work in layers (Windows only)
Build interactive forms with or without Adobe LiveCycle
Designer (Windows only)
Embed multimedia, sound, and 3D graphic files
Create PDF documents from any application that prints
Protect documents with password and apply security restrictions on printing, copying, and modifying
Combine PDFs into one PDF
Initiate email- and Web-based reviews (Email reviewers must have Standard; Web reviewers use Reader 7+)
Organize comments from multiple reviewers
Prepare PDFs for high quality printing
Catalog and build indexes of documents
Yes
Acrobat 7.0
Standard
Yes
Acrobat 7.0
Professional
Yes
Yes
No
No
No
No
No
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
No
No
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Comparison to Macromedia’s Flashpaper
Macromedia produces Flashpaper, which allows anyone to convert printable files into
Macromedia Flash documents or PDF files. Since Adobe acquired Macromedia, this is probably a moot point.
2
Creating Interactive PDF Documents with Acrobat
Copyright 2006 Keypoint Consultants, Inc.
Creating Interactive PDF Forms
Creating Interactive PDF Forms
You can create a PDF form into which your users can enter data. You can create text boxes, radio buttons, buttons, checkboxes, drop-down lists, and more. You can have your users email the completed form back to you, print it, or submit the data from a Web site. For example, you can create a registration form PDF and send it to potential conference attendees. They can fill in the data and email the completed form back to you.
Do your users need Acrobat Reader, Standard, or Professional?
NOTE:
Although some experts say that the person completing the form needs Acrobat
7, PDFZone states you can save the interactive form as V5. However, if you include security features, you must set the Security options first, then complete a Save As V5.
From Adobe Designer’s Help: “Acrobat 7.0 Professional allows you to start Designer
7.0, create forms, and distribute them. Users can fill the forms using Acrobat or Adobe
Reader and email their form data back to you. Using Acrobat 7.0 Professional, you can extract the form data into a spreadsheet.”
♦
Adobe Reader:
Enables users to view, fill, submit data, and print basic PDF forms. Adobe Reader users can open a PDF form, complete it online, submit the data, and print it, or print and fill the form by hand. Adobe Reader users cannot save changes to PDF files. Even when Adobe Reader is used to view an interactive
PDF form, users can interact with form objects and enter data, but they will not be able to save the data to their local systems. But, they can submit data back to you.
♦
Acrobat (Standard or Professional)
: Enables users to view, fill, print, save data locally, and submit interactive PDF forms and data. Recipients can open the
PDF (from a network directory, an email message, or a Web site), fill it online, and save the data locally. Using Acrobat Professional, form designers can combine returned form data from different people who completed the form into a spreadsheet, such as Microsoft Excel.
NOTE:
An Adobe Reader Extensions application extends Reader to perform some options.
General overview
You create a fillable form by completing the following general tasks:
1.
Create a source document, for example, a registration form in FrameMaker. You could also create a form starting from a blank page or a form sample using Adobe’s
LiveCycle Designer, part of Acrobat 7.0 Professional.
2.
Convert the source document to a PDF.
3.
Do one of the following:
• Use Acrobat’s Forms toolbar to insert fields and make them interactive.
From Acrobat, select
Tools > Advanced Editing > Show Forms Toolbar
.
• Use Adobe LiveCycle Designer to insert fields.
From Acrobat’s Tasks toolbar, select
Forms > Create new form
.
Alternatively, from
Windows Start > Programs
, choose
Adobe Designer
.
4.
Add fields.
• Add fields to the form that let the user select options.
3
Creating Interactive PDF Documents with Acrobat Creating Interactive PDF Forms
• Add fields to the form that add costs from other fields.
• Add a button that allows users (who have Acrobat, not just Acrobat Reader) to insert their contact information automatically (called autocomplete).
• Add buttons that automate the process of users returning documents to you.
Using Adobe Designer vs Acrobat forms tools
There are two methods to creating forms using Acrobat 7 Professional:
♦
♦
Adobe LiveCycle Designer (for Windows only)
Adobe Acrobat Forms Tool
Adobe Designer, for short, is a separate application that comes with Acrobat 7
Professional (on the Windows platform only). Acrobat 6 provided a new way to do this using a single application called Adobe Designer. Acrobat 7 extends the features from version 6.
♦
♦
♦
♦
Adobe Designer has many more features than the Adobe Acrobat Forms toolbar. With
Adobe Designer, you can:
Create an interactive form from scratch or from a sample.
Create dynamic forms that allow for row expansion when users’ data expands beyond the designed form. For example, an invoice might have three items; however, a particular customer’s invoice might require eight items.
♦
Create forms that use two types of barcodes: a static bar code that identifies the form and a dynamic bar code that is updated with the user’s data.
Create an XML form for distribution as Adobe PDF or HTML forms.
Create objects, such as checkboxes and buttons, by dragging objects onto the form.
Form fields created with Acrobat Professional can be changed in Designer, but not the other way around.
Setting up your toolbars
Acrobat includes so many toolbars and options; it’s easy to get confused as to which toolbars do what. Before you begin designing forms, configure your toolbars.
1.
From the
Tools
menu, select
Advanced Editing > Show Forms Toolbar
. This toolbar lets you add fields and buttons to your forms.
2.
From the
Tools
menu, select
Advanced Editing > Show
Advanced Editing Toolbar
.
Alternatively, select
View > Toolbars > Advanced Editing
.
3.
Do the following:
• From the
View
menu, select
Toolbars > Tasks
.
This toolbar lets you create a PDF, send a document for review, mark up a document during a review, sign it, and create a form. This toolbar can also include a
Forms
button.
• From the
View
menu, select
Task Buttons > Show all task buttons
or choose the
Forms
task. This shows the Forms button on the Tasks toolbar.
The
Forms
button also includes links to online help about form design.
4
Creating Interactive PDF Documents with Acrobat Creating Interactive PDF Forms
Creating the source document
You can create the source document, for example, the registration form, in any publishing application that lets you convert the source document to PDF. So, you can use
Adobe FrameMaker, Microsoft Word, or other applications. Alternatively, you can create the source document directly in Adobe Designer.
Here are some tips:
♦
Do not draw the buttons or checkboxes in the source document. If you do, later you will need to draw rectangles or boxes over them in Acrobat.
♦
Insert field and button labels in the source document.
Adding interactive fields
You can add the following types of fields:
♦
♦
♦
♦
♦
♦
Text boxes: Lets the user enter free-form text.
Radio buttons: Lets the user choose one option from multiple options.
Check boxes: Lets the user choose one or more options.
Drop-down lists: Lets the user use scrollbars and make multiple selections.
Combo boxes: Lets the user make a single choice. No scrollbars.
Buttons: Lets the user click a button to activate an event.
You can also create a button that lets your Acrobat (not Reader) users collect their standard information and insert it automatically into the form.
Name your fields with a scheme of the button type and the content, for example, check_classrecords, check_tracking, text_name, text_city, etc.
1.
If you have not done this already, enable the Forms toolbar. From Acrobat, select
Tools > Advanced Editing > Show Forms Toolbar
.
2.
From the
Forms
toolbar, click an object, for example, the checkbox, that you want to insert in the form.
3.
Create the object. The way that you create the object differs depending on the object. For example, if you chose to make a checkbox, drag the crosshairs to the right and down to make a box.
4.
Change each field’s properties, for example, the checkbox properties.
Copyright 2006 Keypoint Consultants, Inc.
5
Creating Interactive PDF Documents with Acrobat Creating Interactive PDF Forms
Copying multiple fields
Rather than copying and pasting individual fields, you can copy a field multiple times at once. Acrobat names the copied fields with the name you used and adds a numeric suffix of .1, .2, etc. For example, if the field is called text_contact_name, the copied fields are named text_contact_name.1, text_contact_name.2, etc.
1.
Right-click on a field and select
Create Multiple Copies
.
2.
Enter information in the following fields:
• Copy selected fields down: Indicate the number of field rows you want.
• Copy selected fields across: Indicate the number of field columns you want.
• Size: To change the size of all boxes, enter a new width, height, or both.
• Position: To move all fields, click one of the directional buttons.
3.
Rename the copied fields to meaningful names by double-clicking on each field and changing the automatically assigned name.
4.
Click
OK
.
Aligning fields
There are several ways to align fields. For example, you can align them horizontally or vertically. You can distribute them so they are equally distributed from each other vertically. After you make multiple copies of fields, align them.
1.
Select a field.
2.
Right-click and select
Align
,
Center
, or
Distribute
and choose how.
Filling in forms
After entering fields, you can use them exactly how the user can use them. You do this by exiting the field editing mode.
1.
From the Acrobat toolbar, select the
Hand
tool to change to the selection mode.
2.
Select the field or button and double-click on it.
3.
When finished, click the
Submit Form
button (if one exists) or print the form.
Moving between field editing and user views
While you’re creating a form, you’ll find yourself editing fields and then testing them.
1.
To select the field again for editing, from the
Advanced Editing
toolbar, click the
Select Object
tool.
2.
To display all the fields of the same kind, click the tool. For example, to see all the checkbox fields, click the
Checkbox
tool.
3.
To edit a field, right-click on it.
4.
To test a field, click the
Hand
tool.
6
Creating Interactive PDF Documents with Acrobat Creating Interactive PDF Forms
Inserting calculations on fields
You can create fields that will calculate data from other fields. You insert calculations on text fields only. Here is an example.
1.
Create two text box fields. On the Options tab, use a default of 0. On the Format tab, select Number and format it with two decimal places.
2.
Create a third text box field with a default of 0, formatted with two decimal places.
On the Calculate tab, choose to make a sum of two other fields.
Using the Document Message toolbar
Use a Document Message toolbar to let the person completing the form highlight fields so that they are more visible and to highlight fields that are required entry in red. The form filler can enable or disable the highlighting and can even disable the Document
Message toolbar.
1.
If not done already, enable the Tasks toolbar and the Forms button on the Tasks toolbar:
• From the
View
menu, select
Toolbars > Tasks
.
• From the
View
menu, select
Task Buttons > Forms
.
2.
To enable the Document Message bar, do the following:
• From the
Tasks
toolbar, click the
Forms
button.
Copyright 2006 Keypoint Consultants, Inc.
7
Creating Interactive PDF Documents with Acrobat Creating Interactive PDF Forms
• From the
Forms
button, disable
Always Hide Document Message Bar
.
Document
Message bar
3.
To hide the Document Message bar, right-click on it and select
Hide Document
Message Bar
.
4.
To highlight the fields so that it’s easier for your users to spot fields, check
Highlight Fields
in the Document Message bar to the right.
TIP: To always hide the Document Message bar, select
Edit > Preferences > Forms
and check the
Always hide forms document message bar
.
8
Creating Interactive PDF Documents with Acrobat Creating Interactive PDF Forms
Capturing users’ contact information automatically
You can create a button in a form that captures the form filler’s contact information and inserts it automatically in a form, saving users lots of keystrokes. The user must have
Acrobat (Standard or Professional, not Reader) to do this.
You create a Save button that saves the user’s information and then create a Load button that loads the user’s saved information into the next form.
This would be helpful if you created many forms that require the same basic information.
Users must be aware that they will save form data in a form data file (FDF file) on their local PCs and will need to identify a folder location where they will store and retrieve the form data.
Before you make these buttons, you will need to know the menu structure on the File menu. From the
File
menu, locate the
Form Data > Export Data from Form
and
Import Data from Form
options. You will need to know these File menu options.
To create a Save button
1.
From the
Forms
toolbar, select the
Button
tool.
2.
Draw a button and name it
button_save
.
3.
In the Button Properties box, select the
Options
tab and enter the button label.
4.
In the Button Properties box, select the
Actions
tab and do the following:
• From the Select Trigger box, leave the trigger to
Mouse Up
.
• From the Select Action box, choose
Execute a menu item
.
• Click
Add
.
• Pick the option from a replicated menu. So, choose
File > Form Data >
Export Data from Form
.
5.
Click
OK
.
To create the Load button
1.
From the
Forms
toolbar, select the
Button
tool.
2.
Draw a button and name it
button_load
.
Copyright 2006 Keypoint Consultants, Inc.
9
Creating Interactive PDF Documents with Acrobat Creating Interactive PDF Forms
3.
In the Button Properties box, select the
Options
tab and enter the button label.
4.
In the Button Properties box, select the
Actions
tab and do the following:
• From the Select Trigger box, leave the trigger to
Mouse Up
.
• From the Select Action box, choose
Execute a menu item
.
• Pick the option from a replicated menu. So, choose
File > Form Data >
Import Data to Form
.
5.
Click
OK
.
To test the Save and Load buttons
1.
From the Acrobat toolbar, select the
Hand
tool.
2.
Enter some data in some fields.
3.
Click
Save Data
. Save the FDF file to a file.
4.
Open the blank form.
5.
Click
Load Data
. Locate the FDF file.
What your form filler does
Send the PDF to your form fillers, for example, conference attendees. Form fillers must have Acrobat (Standard or Professional, not Reader) to complete the following steps.
NOTE:
An Adobe Extensions application extends Reader to perform some options.
To use the Save and Load buttons
1.
Open the PDF in Acrobat Standard or Professional.
NOTE:
Acrobat Reader users cannot perform the Save and Load options, but can use the Email option to email data back to you.
2.
Enter the data in the form.
3.
Save the form’s data by clicking the
Save
button you created on the form. Save the data to the local hard drive.
4.
Send the form to you by email. See “Collecting form data via email” on page 11.
5.
Later, when you send the same form, say, to order additional products next month, users can just click the
Load
button and all their saved data appears on the form.
They do not have to retype their information.
10
Creating Interactive PDF Documents with Acrobat Creating Interactive PDF Forms
Collecting form data via email
Your users can enter their information in the form back to you by sending the entire PDF form or just the data to you. You can import received data in a spreadsheet.
Creating an Email button
You can have your users email the completed form or just the data back to you.
To create an Email button
This is the button your users will click to send either the completed form or just the data back to you.
1.
From the Forms toolbar, select the
Button
tool.
2.
Draw a button and name it
button_email
.
3.
In the Button Properties box select the
Actions
tab.
4.
Select or enter the following information:
• From the Select Action box, choose
Submit a form
.
• Enter a URL for this link: Enter
mailto:
and enter the email address where you want your users to email the form. For example, enter
mailto:[email protected]
• Export Format: Keep the default option to export the FDF. (Otherwise, to have the user send the completed PDF form rather than just the data, check the PDF
The Complete Document radio button.)
5.
Click
OK
.
6.
Click
Close
.
To test the Email button
1.
From the Acrobat toolbar, select the
Hand
tool.
2.
Click the
button.
You and your users might see different options next, depending on the applications that they use.
3.
Do one or both of the following:
• You might see a dialog box that lets you Send Data File or Print Form. In this case, click
Send Data File
, which launches your email application or shows the Select Email Client dialog box next.
• You might see a Select Email Client dialog box. To send email through your desktop email program, select
Desktop Email Application
and click
OK
.
4.
Acrobat automatically enters the To email address, subject, and attaches the data
(in an FDF file format) to the email. Click
Send
to send the email.
Copyright 2006 Keypoint Consultants, Inc.
11
Creating Interactive PDF Documents with Acrobat Creating Interactive PDF Forms
Collecting the emailed data
You can use Acrobat to initiate an email that distributes the form, lets you track recipients’ responses, and lets you organize received data into a spreadsheet. This process is referred to as initiating a data collection workflow.
You can have your users send you the entire PDF or just the data. If your users send just the form data to you, you need to collect the data. You can collect it back into a blank
Acrobat form or create a spreadsheet to collect data from several data files.
NOTE:
The Acrobat Tracker does not track these documents; the Tracker tracks only documents sent for review.
To initiate a data collection workflow
1.
Open the Acrobat form that has the form fields and an email-based Submit button.
2.
Select
File > Form Data > Initiate Data File Collection Workflow
.
Alternately, click the
Initiate Form Data Collection Workflow
button in the
Form Tasks drop-down menu in the Tasks toolbar.
3.
Click
Next
.
4.
Type the email address of each person that you want to receive the PDF form. To separate addresses, type a comma.
5.
Optionally, edit the text that the recipients will receive in the Preview Invitation box.
12
Creating Interactive PDF Documents with Acrobat
6.
Click
Send Invitation
.
Creating Interactive PDF Forms
7.
Preview the email. If OK, click
Send
. (The options might be different depending on your email application.)
USER: To fill out the form and send it back to the author
Users complete the form and send the information back to you. This procedure indicates what the user does.
1.
Open the PDF attachment in email.
2.
Enter the information in the form.
3.
Click the
button (or whatever button is used to submit the form back to the initiator).
4.
From the Select Email Client, select
Desktop Email Application
,
Internet
Copyright 2006 Keypoint Consultants, Inc.
13
Creating Interactive PDF Documents with Acrobat
, or
Other
and click
OK
.
Creating Interactive PDF Forms
The user’s email application sends the data to a preview email. Here’s a sample email that users might send.
14
5.
Click
Send
to continue sending the data to the email address you specified.
Remember, this is the form filler sending you email.
To collect the emailed data in a spreadsheet
Users complete the form and send the information back to you. This procedure tells how you collect the received data in a spreadsheet.
1.
After receiving the data (in an FDF file) in an email, save the data with a unique name for each user to a specified location.
2.
In Acrobat, select
File > Form Data > Create Spreadsheet from Data Files
.
3.
To include the most recent files received for those files that you added previously, select
Include Most Recent List of Files to Export Data From
.
4.
Click
Add Files
and select the XML, FDF, PDF, or XFDF files.
5.
Click
Select
. Click
Export
.
NOTE:
These steps differ depending on the applications used.
6.
Click
Create Spreadsheet
.
7.
Select a location where you want to save the spreadsheet. Click
Save
.
8.
To view the spreadsheet now, click
View File Now
.
To collect the emailed data in a blank Acrobat form
1.
After receiving the data (in an FDF file) in an email, save the data with a unique name to a specified location.
2.
Open a blank Acrobat form. Select
File > Form Data > Import Data to Form
Creating Interactive PDF Documents with Acrobat Peeking at Adobe Designer
Peeking at Adobe Designer
Adobe LiveCycle Designer is a forms design application that is included with the purchase of Adobe Acrobat Professional. Adobe Designer opens as a separate application. You can import a Word document or a PDF into Designer.
Opening Adobe Designer
1.
Do one of the following:
• Access Adobe Designer from within Adobe Acrobat.
From Acrobat’s Tasks toolbar, select
Forms > Create new form
.
• Start Adobe Designer. From
Windows Start > Programs
, choose
Adobe
Designer
. Click
New Form
.
2.
In the New Form Assistant wizard, locate the form you want to import, if you’re starting with an existing document and click
Next
.
3.
Choose how you want data to be submitted to you. This choice determines the buttons that Designer will create for you.
• Fill, then Submit
• Fill, then Submit/Print
• Fill, then Print
4.
If you chose to include a Submit option, enter the email where users return forms.
5.
Click
Finish
.
Adding fields
Designer includes many more types of fields than Acrobat, such as bar codes, print and submit buttons already coded, and password fields.
1.
Add fields by doing one of the following:
• Drag the field from the Library palette onto the page.
• Click the field in the Library palette and click the point on the page where you want to place the object.
2.
Resize, change the font, or change font size.
Copyright 2006 Keypoint Consultants, Inc.
15
Creating Interactive PDF Documents with Acrobat Additional Resources
Creating calculation buttons
Add calculations and scripts to objects using Adobe’s FormCalc or JavaScript in the
Script Editor. The following instructions provide an example of adding a numeric field that will calculate costs from two other numeric fields: numeric_day1 and numeric_day2. The cost for Day 1 at a conference is $300 and the cost for Day 2 is $250.
1.
Add two numeric fields: numeric_day1 and numeric_day2. Allow the user to enter digits indicating the number of people attending Day 1 and Day 2.
2.
Add a third numeric field: numeric_totalcost.
3.
Show the Script Editor by doing the following:
• To show the Script Editor, from the
Window
menu, select
Script Editor
.
• To show a multiline Script Editor, double-click on the toolbar. To return to the single line editor, double-click on the Script Editor’s title bar.
4.
From the Show drop-down list, select
Enter
. This indicates that when the user enters the field, the cost will be calculated. Alternatively, select
Calculate
.
5.
In the Script Editor, type the following: numeric_totalcost=Sum(numeric_day1*300 + numeric_day2*250)
6.
Click
Enter Script Source Changes
(the + button) and close the Script Editor.
Adjusting the tab order
Adjust the sequence of the tab order of fields so that users can press Tab and move efficiently through your PDF document.
1.
From the
View
menu, select
Tab Order
. Digits next to each field represent the current tab order.
2.
Press
Shift
and click the object you want as first.
3.
Release the
Shift
key and click on the remaining objects in order. The digits change to reflect the new order.
4.
From the
View
menu, select
Tab Order
to return to normal editing mode.
Additional Resources
The following table lists additional resources related to Acrobat use.
Adobe Web Site
Adobe Users’ Forum
Acrobat Community
Resource Notes
www.adobe.com
http://www.adobeforums.com/
♦ www.microtype.com: An exceptional resource on
Acrobat. Also producer of TimeSavers
♦
♦ www.planetpdf.com: Home for the PDF community www.pdfzone.com: Resources for PDF professionals
16
İndir
Reklam