Adobe InDesign Tips Guide
Reklaam
Reklaam
25 Time-Saving
InDesign Tips
BONUS:
80
+
secret keyboard shortcuts
25 Time-Saving InDesign Tips from InDesignSecrets.com
©Copyright 2015 Creative Publishing Network, Inc. CPN.co
Also in the Creative Publishing Network:
M AG A Z I N E
25 Time-Saving InDesign Tips
iii
INDESIGNSECRETS.COM
Contents
Toggle the Find/Change Direction
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
1
Link to a Page in Another InDesign File
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
2
Use the Color Theme Tool to Sample Colors
4
Resize Tables Quickly
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
6
Turn Off Multiple Layers Simultaneously
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
7
Convert InDesign Notes to PDF Comments
8
Fast Ways to Add a Bunch of Files to a Book
10
Jump Between Masters from the Keyboard
11
PREV NEXT
Contents
25 Time-Saving InDesign Tips
Super Fast Style Editing
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
12
Secret Way to Create New Color Swatches
13
Delete Unwanted Text with Find/Change
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
14
Save and Close All Open Documents
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
15
Use a Duplicate Story Editor Window
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
16
Add Image Captions Fast with the Links Panel
17
Change the Presentation Mode Background Color
18
Duplicating Styles Instead of Basing On
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
19
Find Menu Items Quickly by Alphabetizing Them
20
Bypass the Swatches Panel: Color Shortcuts
21
Change Values in Panels with the Arrow Keys
22
Create Your Own Custom Glyph Sets
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
23
iv
INDESIGNSECRETS.COM
PREV NEXT
Contents
25 Time-Saving InDesign Tips
Spellcheck Capitalization in Your Added Words
24
Make Better-Looking Drop Shadows
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
25
Lock Objects to Protect Them
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
26
Revealing Hidden Objects with Preflight Profiles
27
Learn Useful Info with Print Dialog Box Previews
29
Contents
v
INDESIGNSECRETS.COM
PREV NEXT
Toggle the
Find/Change Direction
W
hen InDesign CC 2014 was released in June
2014, one of the cool new features was the ability to reverse the direction of a Find/
Change search. All you had to do was select Direction >
Backward in the Find/Change dialog box.
But if you’re someone who likes to keep your hands on the keyboard at all times for maximum efficiency, you might want to use a keyboard shortcut to toggle the direction of a search. And sure enough there is one: press Command+Option+Return (Mac) or
Ctrl+Alt+Enter (Windows) to switch between Forward
(Find Next) and Backward (Find Previous) searches.
By Mike Rankin
TIP
1
1
INDESIGNSECRETS.COM
Link to a Page in Another InDesign File
D
id you know that you can make a hyperlink to a page in another InDesign document?
This can be handy in several scenarios, but the one I use most is to create links between documents in an InDesign book that I output to interactive PDF. And unlike cross-references, this kind of link doesn’t have to depend on text anchors or paragraph formatting.
Start by selecting the text or page item you want as the source of the hyperlink.
Click on the New Hyperlink button in the Hyperlinks panel.
In the New Hyperlink dialog box, choose Link
To: Page, and then choose the document and page number you want as the destination of the hyperlink.
The Document pop-up menu will list all your currently open InDesign documents. You can also use the Browse command to locate and open another document.
Continued
2
INDESIGNSECRETS.COM
TIP
2
25 Time-Saving InDesign Tips
The Page option will default to whatever page is currently displayed in the destination document, but you can select any page from the menu.
Once the link has been created, you can use the
Hyperlinks panel to check the destination document’s name and page (via a tooltip), or single click on the source or destination buttons to jump to them. Doubleclicking the hyperlink listing (in this case <rectangle>) will open the Edit Hyperlink dialog box if you need to make changes.
By Mike Rankin
3
INDESIGNSECRETS.COM
PREV NEXT
Use the Color Theme
Tool to Sample Colors
A
dobe snuck a cool feature into InDesign CC
2014 called the Color Theme tool. You just select the tool in the Tool panel (it’s just above the Hand tool), then either click on an object (like an image) or drag the tool over a bunch of objects on the page. InDesign collects the most common colors from the selection and places them into the Color Theme panel that pops up. For example, in this image, I’ve dragged the tool over most of the page and its colors appear in the little floating panel:
Once the colors are in the floating panel, you can click the Add This Theme to Swatches button to create a new color group with those five color swatches in it. But here’s a secret shortcut: If you hold down the Q key when you click or drag with the Color Theme tool,
InDesign will automatically create a color group with five color swatches in it. No fuss, no muss!
Continued
4
INDESIGNSECRETS.COM
TIP
3
25 Time-Saving InDesign Tips
By the way, you may notice that in the image at left, the colors are all defined as RGB. That is because the document was created with the Digital Publishing intent, which causes new swatches to be defined as RGB by default. If you create a document with Print intent, the Color Theme tool will add CMYK swatches by default.
You can override these defaults and force swatches to be created in RGB or CMYK by double-clicking on the Color Theme tool and selecting the color space you want from the Color Theme Options dialog box.
By David Blatner
5
INDESIGNSECRETS.COM
PREV NEXT
Resize Tables Quickly
Y
ou can resize a table with the Type tool by dragging the right or bottom edge. But if you want to resize all the rows, hold down the Shift key while you drag the bottom edge.
Note that resizing the table using these techniques does not scale the text in the table.
By David Blatner
TIP
4
To resize all the columns proportionally,
Shift-drag the right edge (above).
Or, to resize the table rows and heights at the same time, just drag the lower-right corner of the table (right) with the Type tool.
6
INDESIGNSECRETS.COM
Turn Off Multiple
Layers Simultaneously
I
nDesign’s layers are great, but sometimes you can end up with so many layers that it gets confusing.
To instantly hide all layers except one, hold the Option/Alt key and click the eye icon of the layer you want to remain visible.
By Sandee Cohen
TIP
5
7
INDESIGNSECRETS.COM
Convert InDesign Notes to PDF Comments
N
otes are a great tool for saving comments and questions alongside the content in your InDesign documents. And it would also be great if you could export those notes as PDF comments so other folks who didn’t have InDesign could read and respond to them as well. Unfortunately, there’s no command in
InDesign to convert notes to comments. But there is in
InCopy! And you can make use of it, even if you never use InCopy for anything else. Here’s how.
InCopy is part of Adobe’s Creative Cloud offerings, so if need be you can find and install it from the Apps tab in the Creative Cloud application.
Then just open your InDesign file in InCopy (use the
File > Open command). You’ll see an alert if you don’t have any InCopy content in the InDesign file. Just close it. In fact, you don’t need any InCopy content since we’re not going to edit the document.
Continued
8
INDESIGNSECRETS.COM
TIP
6
25 Time-Saving InDesign Tips
Your layout should look the same as it does in
InDesign but you won’t have any editing tools available.
Again, that’s okay.
All we want is a PDF so just as you would in
InDesign, choose File > Export > Adobe PDF (print).
Note that you won’t see anywhere near the number of choices of export formats that you would in InDesign.
Here’s where the “magic” happens. There’s an item in the export dialog that I have long wished was in
InDesign: Include Notes as Annotation.
Choose Export and when the PDF opens you’ll find your note(s) converted to comment(s):
By Bob Levine
9
INDESIGNSECRETS.COM
PREV NEXT
Fast Ways to Add a
Bunch of Files to a Book
I
n honor of the September 2014 issue of
InDesign
Magazine
, which is devoted to techniques and best practices for working with long documents, here’s a tip for adding files to an InDesign Book.
You can of course add InDesign files to a Book by going to the Book panel menu and choosing Add Document. Or click on the + sign at the bottom of the panel.
Then navigate to the file(s) and add them. You can also add multiple InDesign files to a Book just by drag and dropping them into the panel from the Mac’s Finder,
Windows Explorer, or Adobe Bridge. You can also drag and drop a folder, to add all the InDesign files in it (including ones in subfolders) to your Book.
By Mike Rankin
TIP
7
10
INDESIGNSECRETS.COM
Jump Between Masters from the Keyboard
W
hen you have lots of master pages in a document, it sure would be cool to jump from one to the next without having to make a detour to the Pages panel. And in fact, you can jump directly from one master to the next (or previous) one just by pressing Option/Alt+Page Down or Option/Alt+Page
Up. You can also choose Next Spread or Previous Spread from the Layout menu.
Bonus Tip: You can also jump to a master by pressing
Command+J/Ctrl+J and typing in the master’s prefix, or by using the menu in the dialog box.
By Mike Rankin
TIP
8
11
INDESIGNSECRETS.COM
Super Fast Style Editing
W
ant a lightning fast way to edit a style? Just remember which InDesign feature has a lightning bolt symbol on it: Quick Apply!
To launch Quick Apply, press Command+Return
(Mac) or Ctrl+Enter (Windows). It doesn’t matter what other panels you have open, where you are in your document, or even if you have text selected or not.
Start typing the name of the style you wish to edit.
As soon as it is highlighted in Quick Apply, stop typing and press Command+Return or Ctrl+Enter again. The
Style Options dialog box opens, ready for you to make your changes.
Also, with the Style Options open, you can press
Command+1 (Mac) or Ctrl+1 (Windows) to put the focus on the list of options on the left side of the dialog box.
Then just use the down and up arrow keys on your keyboard to jump to the different sets of options.
By Mike Rankin
12
INDESIGNSECRETS.COM
TIP
9
Secret Way to Create
New Color Swatches
I
f you’re creating a new style (paragraph, character, or object) and you realize you don’t have the color you need in your Swatches panel, just double-click the fill or stroke color proxy to bring up the New Color
Swatch dialog box.
By Mike Rankin
TIP
10
13
INDESIGNSECRETS.COM
Delete Unwanted
Text with Find/Change
D
id you know that you can use InDesign’s Find/
Change to delete text? As long as you can isolate that text to a style, that is. You are using styles to format your text, right? That’s necessary for this trick to work
Say you want to delete all the text set in a particular paragraph or character style.
Open the Find/Change window and leave both the
Find What and Change To fields empty. Click in the Find
Format field, and use Style Options to choose a style.
Leave Change Format blank. By doing this, you’ve told
InDesign find anything set in that style and replace it with nothing.
Run the Find/Change and voila, all text set in that style (including inline and anchored items) is gone.
By Mike Rankin
TIP
11
14
INDESIGNSECRETS.COM
Save and Close All
Open Documents
Y
ou have ten modified InDesign documents open and your bus/train/significant other is about to leave without you.
What do you do?
Jump up and leave everything in an unsaved state and hope that the kids/cats/cleaning crew don’t mess up your work?
Nope. Just use the Save All and Close All features.
These are just two of the many “hidden” InDesign keyboard shortcuts. (Click the Show Set button in Edit >
Edit Keyboard Shortcuts to hunt down other ones!)
Press Command+Shift+Option+S (Mac) or
Ctrl+Shift+Alt+S (Windows) to save all open documents.
Then press Command+Shift+Option+W (Mac) or Ctrl+Shift+Alt+W (Windows) to close all open documents.
Then go, go, go!
By Mike Rankin
15
INDESIGNSECRETS.COM
TIP
12
Use a Duplicate
Story Editor Window
W
hen you’re working with long text using the Story Editor (Edit > Edit in Story Editor) it can feel like a single Story Editor window isn’t enough. Fortunately, you can add a second Story
Editor for the current story by first making sure the Story
Editor window is active and then choosing Window >
Arrange > New Window for [filename].
By Bart Van de Wiele
TIP
13
16
INDESIGNSECRETS.COM
Add Image Captions
Fast with the Links Panel
T
he dynamic captions feature in InDesign are cool, but if you already have dozens or even hundreds of images on multiple InDesign pages, you might be thinking, “Hmm, I need to select images if I want to add captions, so I guess I will be selecting all the images, page by page.” Right?
Wrong! Instead, there is one place in InDesign that allows you to target all the images in the file at the same time and apply captions to them: the Links panel.
First, set up the captions for your document (choose
Object > Captions > Caption Setup). This same command is also in the Links panel menu.
Then in the Links panel, select all the links you want to add captions to. You can click on one and Shift-click on the last one.
Finally, choose Captions > Generate Static Captions from the Links panel menu (or right-click on the images in the Links panel). Voilà, all the captions are added throughout the document!
By Conrad Chavez
17
INDESIGNSECRETS.COM
TIP
14
Change the Presentation
Mode Background Color
I
nDesign’s Presentation Mode gives you an instant, uncluttered preview of your layout. Just press
Shift+W to activate it. Even better: you can change
Presentation Mode’s background color to suit your layout.
Press W to set it to white, G to set it to neutral gray, and B to set it to black.
By Bart Van de Wiele
TIP
15
18
INDESIGNSECRETS.COM
Duplicating Styles
Instead of Basing On
T
he ability to base styles on one another is one of the most powerful and important features in
InDesign. However, there are times when you’ll want to use one style as the starting point for another, without making the new style based on the existing style. That way, the attributes of new style won’t change no matter how you change the existing style.
To do this, use the Duplicate Style feature: rightclick on a style in the panel and choose Duplicate Style
(or click on a style and choose Duplicate Style from the panel menu).
Your new style will start off with all the formatting of the existing style, but it will not be based on that style.
Instead, it will be based on No Paragraph Style or whatever style the existing style was based on.
By Mike Rankin
TIP
16
19
INDESIGNSECRETS.COM
Find Menu Items Quickly by Alphabetizing Them
E
ver have trouble finding a particular item in one of InDesign’s menus? Maybe you know the item is there somewhere, but can’t quickly locate it.
Or maybe you just think it was there, but you’re not really sure. In either case, you can track down the item faster by displaying menu items in alphabetical order.
To do that, just hold Command+Shift+Option/
Ctrl+Shift+Alt before clicking on the menu title. Alphabetizing a menu also removes the divider lines that group related items together.
Or you can just view a submenu in alphabetical order by pressing Command+Shift+Option/Ctrl+Shift+Alt before clicking on the submenu.
By Mike Rankin
TIP
17
BEFORE (ABOVE) AND AFTER (RIGHT)
20
INDESIGNSECRETS.COM
Bypass the Swatches
Panel: Color Shortcuts
S
watches are great and you should use them whenever possible to maintain consistent, easyto-manage colors in your documents. But sometimes the Swatches panel isn’t the quickest way to apply a color. You can use the keyboard shortcuts , (comma) and . (period) to instantly apply the last-used solid color and the last-used gradient. To change a stroke or fill to
None, press / (slash).
If you use a 2-column Tools panel, you can see these shortcuts (and buttons that perform the same functions) in a row near the bottom of the panel.
Note that these shortcuts will apply colors and gradients to either the fill or the stroke, depending on which is foremost in the Swatches and Tools panels. If the fill is foremost and you want to target the stroke (or vice versa), press X first. If you want to swap the stroke and fill of a selected object, press Shift+X.
By Mike Rankin
21
INDESIGNSECRETS.COM
TIP
18
Change Values in Panels with the Arrow Keys
W
hen you have a field highlighted in any panel or dialog box, pressing the up/down arrows on your keyboard increases or decreases the value in the field.
Holding Shift while you press the arrow keys multiplies the amount of change in most cases by a factor of ten (tracking and kerning are notable exceptions to this rule).
When you have a font list targeted, you can select a different font family or style by pressing your arrow keys.
And don’t forget this works in other Adobe apps like
Illustrator and Photoshop!
By Sandee Cohen
TIP
19
22
INDESIGNSECRETS.COM
Create Your Own
Custom Glyph Sets
Y
ou can create a library of often-used symbols or special characters—for instance, a collection of currency symbols—by creating a glyph set.
Open the Glyphs panel from the Type menu or the Window > Type and Tables submenu. Choose New
Glyph Set from the panel menu, and name it.
Then select a glyph in the panel, and choose Add to
Glyph Set from the panel menu or from the contextual menu (right-click on the glyph). You can include glyphs from different typefaces in the same glyph set.
Being able to load your custom-made sets (choose it from the top of the Show pop-up menu, or choose View
Glyph Set from the panel menu) in the Glyphs panel saves you from having to scroll through the entire font’s worth of glyphs just to find that one you need.
By Erica Gamet
TIP
20
23
INDESIGNSECRETS.COM
Spellcheck Capitalization in Your Added Words
S
elect the Case Sensitive option when you enter a word into a spelling dictionary (Edit > Spelling
> User Dictionary) if the word you’re adding is a trade name, proper name, or a word with intercaps, such as “InDesign.”
This way, if the word is used in your document with improper capitalization, it will be flagged as a spelling error.
By Keith Gilbert
TIP
21
24
INDESIGNSECRETS.COM
Make Better-Looking
Drop Shadows
E
ven in this age of Flat Design, you occasionally need to add a drop shadow or two to make items pop. When you do, add a little noise—just
3–5% is plenty in most cases—to create a more naturallooking effect.
By Mike Rankin
TIP
22
25
INDESIGNSECRETS.COM
Lock Objects to Protect Them
TIP
23
W
hen you want to prevent yourself from editing an object on the page, lock it by pressing Cmd/Ctrl+L. To unlock just the object, click the lock icon at the edge of its frame.
To unlock everything on the spread, press
Cmd+Opt+L (Ctrl+Alt+L). Another way to lock objects is to use InDesign’s Layers panel to individually lock any item on the page.
Bonus tip: If you want to just lock the position and size of objects, but still be able to change their appearance, open InDesign’s General preferences and de-select
Prevent Selection of Locked Objects.
By James Fritz
26
INDESIGNSECRETS.COM
Revealing Hidden Objects with Preflight Profiles
N
ormally, once you hide an object in an InDesign document (via Object > Hide, pressing
Command+3/Ctrl+3, or clicking the object’s
Show/Hide button in the Layers panel), it leaves few traces of its presence. Hidden objects aren’t printed or exported, and they won’t show up in a Find/Change.
They can, however, still affect other objects with text wrap.
But if you really want to give these objects nowhere to hide, use a preflight profile to reveal them.
From the Preflight Panel menu, choose Define Profiles. Click the + (plus) button to create a new preflight profile. Give your new profile a name, and in the IMAGES and OBJECTS options, select Hidden Page Items (plus whatever other conditions you want InDesign to check for).
Continued
27
INDESIGNSECRETS.COM
TIP
24
25 Time-Saving InDesign Tips
Click OK, and then select your new profile from the panel menu. If there are any hidden objects, they will be listed as errors and you can double-click them in the panel to jump to their location in the document.
But you still won’t see them until you show them (by pressing Command+Option+3/Ctrl+Alt+3, or choosing
Object > Show All on Spread, or clicking the object’s
Show/Hide button in the Layers panel).
With tools like these you can be the World Champion of Hide and Seek (at least inside InDesign).
By Mike Rankin
28
INDESIGNSECRETS.COM
PREV NEXT
Learn Useful Info with
Print Dialog Box Previews
A
t one time or another, we’ve all sent a document to print, only to find out that we specified the wrong paper size, orientation, etc. And while recycling is great, it’s a lot better to not use the paper in the first place.
So if you have to print a document, do yourself (and the trees) a favor, and check the print preview in the lower left of the Print dialog box. It offers three views that you can toggle by clicking the preview area.
The first one is Standard, which shows the relationship of your document page to the chosen paper size, plus things like bleed, slug area, page marks, tiling, and thumbnails. It’s the default preview.
TIP
25
Continued
29
INDESIGNSECRETS.COM
25 Time-Saving InDesign Tips
Click the preview area to toggle on the second preview type, Text, which shows the specific numerical values of your page and paper size, scaling, etc.
Click one more time on the preview section to see the third option, Custom Page/Cut Sheet view. This view shows effects of offset, gap, and transverse settings, plus the output mode using different color icons for Separations, Composite Grayscale, Composite CMYK, and Composite RGB.
By Mike Rankin
30
INDESIGNSECRETS.COM
PREV NEXT
25 Time-Saving InDesign Tips
31
INDESIGNSECRETS.COM
Published by
Creative Publishing Network
14241 NE Woodinville Duvall Rd #285
Woodinville WA 98072
+1-312-252-1292 • www.cpn.co
Notice of Rights
All rights reserved. No part of this book may be reproduced or transmitted in any form by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording, or otherwise, without the prior written permission of the publisher.
Notice of Liability
The information in this book is distributed on an “As Is” basis without warranty. While every precaution has been taken in the preparation of the book, Creative Publishing Network, Inc. shall have no liability to any person or entity with respect to any loss or damage caused or alleged to be caused directly or indirectly by the instructions contained in this book or by the computer software and hardware products described in it.
Trademarks
Adobe InDesign, Adobe InCopy, Adobe Photoshop, Adobe Illustrator, and Adobe Acrobat are registered trademarks of Adobe Systems Incorporated in the United States and/or other countries. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.
PREV NEXT
Adobe InDesign CC
Secret Keyboard Shortcuts
Documents
New default document
Close all open documents
Rebuild Preferences (press during program launch until Alert appears)
Document History & Plug-in Info
Toggle Measurement System
Tools panel
Temporary Hand Tool
Temporary Zoom Tool
Apply default fill and stroke colors
Swap fill and stroke activation
Swap fill and stroke colors
Toggle color affects text/its frame
Preview mode on/off z U
N z U X
W
Ctrl z
U X
Ctrl
+
Alt
+
N
Ctrl
+
Shift
+
Alt
+
W
Ctrl
+
Shift
+
Alt z
About InDesign
Ctrl+About InDesign z
U X
U
Ctrl
+
Shift
+
Alt
+
U
U
Spacebar z
Spacebar
D
X
X
X
J
W
Text
Load Find and Find Next instance
Load Find with selected text
Load Replace with selected text
Replace Change To text and Find Next
Recompose all stories
Toggle Typographer’s Quotes Pref.
Create outlines (text remains)
Align to baseline grid
Auto-hyphenate on/off
Toggle Table Cell/Text Selection
X
F1 z
F1 z
F2
X
F3 z U
/
U X z
’ z U X
O z U X
G z
U X
H
Escape
Alt
+
Spacebar
Ctrl
+
Spacebar
D
X
Shift
+
X
J
W
Shift
+
F1
Ctrl
+
F1
Ctrl
+
F2
Shift
+
F3
Ctrl
+
Alt
+
/
Ctrl
+
Shift
+
Alt
+
’
Ctrl
+
Shift
+
Alt
+
O
Ctrl
+
Shift
+
Alt
+
G
Ctrl
+
Shift
+
Alt
+
H
Escape
The essential resource for all things InDesign www.indesignsecrets.com
Object editing
Edit Original
Decrease size / scale by 1% 5%
Increase size / scale by 1% 5%
Nudge by 1/10
Nudge by 10×
Toggle Live Corners Mode
Override Master Page item
Select Container, Content
Transform Sequence Again
Transform: Move Item
Hide
Show All On Spread
U
doubleclick z
, z U
, z
. z
U
.
z
X
Arrow Keys
X
Arrow Keys
4 z
X
click esc,
X esc z
U
4 z
X
M z
3 z U
3
Alt
+
doubleclick
Ctrl
+
, Ctrl
+
Alt
+
,
Ctrl
+
. Ctrl
+
Alt
+
.
Ctrl
+
Shift
+
Arrows
Shift
+
Arrow Keys
4
Ctrl
+
Shift
+
click
esc, Shift
+ esc
Ctrl
+
Alt
+
4
Ctrl
+
Shift
+
M
Ctrl
+
3
Ctrl
+
Alt
+
3
Text navigation
Move to the start of the line
Move to the end of the line
Move to beginning of story
Move to end of story
Select to end of story
Move to the next paragraph
Move to the previous paragraph
Go to first frame in thread
Go to last frame in thread
Go to next frame in thread
Go to previous frame in thread
Select current line
Home
End z
Home
Home
End
Ctrl
+
Home z
End z X
End z
Down Arrow z
Up Arrow
Ctrl
+
End
Ctrl
+
Shift+End
Ctrl
+
Down Arrow
Ctrl
+
Up Arrow z U X
Page Up
Ctrl
+
Shift
+
Alt
+
Pg Up z
U X
Page Down
Ctrl
+
Shift
+
Alt
+
Pg Dn z
U
Page Down z
U
Page Up
Ctrl
+
Alt
+
Page Down
Ctrl
+
Alt
+
Page Up z
X
\
Ctrl
+
Shift
+
\ z = Command (“Apple”),
U
= Option,
X
= Shift
© 2015 Creative Publishing Network, Inc. n
indesignsecrets.com n
indesignconference.com n
pepcon.com Designed and produced by David Blatner and Anne-Marie Concepción
Character formatting
Auto leading
Increase/Decrease Baseline shift
Increase/Decrease Baseline shift 5×
Increase/Decrease Kerning/Tracking
Increase/Decrease Kerning/Tracking
5×
Increase/Decrease Leading
Increase/Decrease Leading 5×
Increase/Decrease Text point size
Increase/Decrease Text point size 5×
Increase/Decrease Word space
Increase/Decrease Word space 5×
Reset font style (to “Regular”)
Reset kerning and tracking to 0
Reset horizontal text scale to 100%
Reset vertical text scale to 100% z
U X
A
Ctrl
+
Shift
+
Alt
+
A
U X
Up/Down Arrow
Alt
+
Shift
+
Up/Down Arr.
z U X
Up/Down Arrow Ctrl
+
Shift
+
Alt
+
Up/Down
U
Right/Left Arrow
Alt
+
Right/Left Arrow z U
Right/Left Arrow
Ctrl
+
Alt
+
Right/Left Arrow
U
Down/Up Arrow
Alt
+
Down/Up Arrow z
U
Down/Up Arrow
Ctrl
+
Alt
+
Down/Up Arrow z
X
. or , z
U X
. or ,
Ctrl
+
Shift
+
. or ,
Ctrl
+
Shift
+
Alt
+
. or , z
U
\ or Delete Ctrl
+
Alt
+
\ or
Backspace z U X
\ or Delete Ctrl
+
Shift
+
Alt
+
\ or
Bckspc z
X
Y z
U
Q
Ctrl
+
Shift
+
Y
Ctrl
+
Alt
+
Q z
X
X z U X
X
Ctrl
+
Shift
+
X
Ctrl
+
Shift
+
Alt
+
X
Special characters
Bullet
Copyright Symbol
Registration Symbol
Em Dash
En Dash
Ellipsis
Right Indent Tab
New index page reference
Add new index entry
U
8
U
G
U
R
U X
–
U
–
U
;
X
Tab z
7 z U X
[ z
= Command (“Apple”),
U
=Option,
X
=Shift
Alt
+
8
Alt
+
G
Alt
+
R
Alt
+
Shift
+
–
Alt
+
–
Alt
+
;
Shift
+
Tab
Ctrl
+
7
Ctrl
+
Shift
+
Alt
+
[
Display views
Fit Selection in Window z
U
=
View Scale 50%, 200%, 400%
Toggle current/previous view scale
Force screen redraw
Clear Object-Level Settings z
5, z
2, z
4 z U
2
X
F5 z X
F2
Presentation Background: Black/White B or W
Show/Hide Conveyor
U
B
Page navigation
Next window
Previous window
First Spread
Last Spread
Next Spread
Previous Spread
Ctrl
+
Alt
+
=
Ctrl
+
5, Ctrl
+
2, Ctrl
+
4
Ctrl
+
Alt
+
2
Shift
+
F5
Ctrl
+
Shift
+
F2
B or W
Alt
+
B z
` z X
`
Ctrl
+
Tab, Ctrl
+ `
Ctrl
+
Shift
+
Tab
U X
Page Up, Home
Home
U X
Page Dn., End
End
U
Page Down
U
Page Up
Alt
+
Page Down
Alt
+
Page Up
Panel tricks
Show/Hide all panels
Show/Hide all panels except
Tools and Control
Open/Close all docked panels
Activate last-used field in panel
Jump to Control Panel
Switch Character and Paragraph
Modes in Control Panel
Tab
X
Tab z
U
Tab z
U
` z
6 z U
7
Tab
Shift
+
Tab
Ctrl
+
Alt
+
Tab
Ctrl
+
Alt
+
`
Ctrl
+
6
Ctrl
+
Alt
+
7
The essential resource for all things InDesign www.indesignsecrets.com
© 2015 Creative Publishing Network, Inc. n
indesignsecrets.com n
indesignconference.com n
pepcon.com Designed and produced by David Blatner and Anne-Marie Concepción
Laadi alla
Reklaam