academyX Illustrator User Guide
Below you will find brief information for Illustrator CC. This document covers interface basics, pen tool usage, typography features, color panels, layers, effects, and integrations with Creative Cloud. Learn about workspaces, creating documents, and manipulating objects.
Advertisement
Advertisement
Illustrator Cover
Illustrator
®
CC
academy
X
(800) 716-4324 [email protected]
Illustrator
®
Illustrator Cover . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .1
Copyright Notice . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . iv
Helpful Web Links
Kelly McCathran | Social Media
Illustrator Tools . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .1
Panel Shortcuts
Toolbar Layouts. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2
The Control Panel . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3
Default Workspace . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4
Collapsible Panel Layout. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5
Arranging & Expanding Panels . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6
Collapsing and Expanding Docked Panels . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7
User Interface (UI) Defaults . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8
Creating a New Document . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9
The Pen Tool . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10
Straight Lines . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10
Drawing Curves. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11
Pen States . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11
Pen Tips
Anchor and Handle Size Preference . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12
Pen Practice. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13
Type in Illustrator . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 14
Text Selection Tips . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 14
Type Preferences . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 15
Type Keyboard Shortcuts . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 16
WYSIWYG Font Display . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 16
Paragraph and Character Styles . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 17
Glyphs Panel . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 18
Columns, Rows, and Area Type Improvements
Optical Kerning . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 19
Hanging Punctuation . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 19
Tabs & Leaders . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 20
Better Hyphenation and Justification
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
Table of Contents
i
Illustrator
®
Expanded Language Support
Path Type Options . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 21
Find Font
Improved Text Linking . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .22
Color Panels & Swatches . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .23
Color Guide
Save Swatches as ASE. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .24
Gradients . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .26
Gradient Mesh . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .27
Layers . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .28
Guides . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .29
Lasso Tool . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .30
Scribble Effect. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .30
Creative Cloud Desktop . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 31
Creative Cloud Libraries . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .32
Creative Cloud Mobile Apps . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .33
Adobe Capture
Assigning Keyboard Shortcuts . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .34
Stroke Placement . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .35
3D Extrude & Bevel . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .36
3D Revolve . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .37
Wrapping Artwork Around a Shape
Drop Shadow Effect . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .39
Document Raster Effects Settings . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .40
Appearance Panel . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 41
Expanding Effects
Warping . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .42
Templates . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .43
Cut Path at Selected Points Feature . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .44
Image Trace . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .45
Image Trace Panel . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .46
Improved Live Paint Features . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .48
Live Paint Selection Tool. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .49
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
Table of Contents
ii
Illustrator
®
Offset Path . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .49
Magic Wand . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .49
Pathfinder . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 50
Page Tool . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 50
Eyedropper Tool . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 51
Colorize Grayscale Tiffs . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .52
Links . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .54
To EPS or Not to EPS
Document Info . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .55
Photoshop to Illustrator
Illustrator to Photoshop
PDF Font Embed Status . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .57
Font Embed Status
Acrobat & Adobe Reader Font Substitution . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .58
Loading PDF Settings
Direct Export to PDF . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .59
Bookmarks & Buttons in Richly Interactive PDFs
General PDF Settings . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 60
Compression Settings
Marks & Bleeds
Output
Advanced
PDF Security
PDF Summary
Save Preset
Printing a PDF . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .67
Printing Controls . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .68
Setup
Marks & Bleeds
Output
Graphics
Color Management
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
Table of Contents
iii
Copyright Notice
Copyright Notice
The information in this handout is furnished for instructional use and is subject to change without notice. No part of this handout may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical (including
photocopying) without the expressed written consent of Kelly McCathran.
The software described in this handout is furnished under license and may only be used or copied in accordance with the terms of such license. Creative Suite and Creative Cloud are trademarks of Adobe Systems Incorporated
(“Adobe”), registered in the United States and elsewhere. InDesign, Photoshop, Illustrator, Acrobat & Bridge are trademarks of Adobe Systems Incorporated.
The value of each printed copy of this material is $20 retail.* Reprint rights may be purchased at a discount, depending on the quantity.
Helpful Web Links
AdobeTV
tv.adobe.com
Thousands of free videos covering new features, introductory topics & workflow in the Creative Cloud
Adobe Forums
forums.adobe.com
Get feedback from Adobe staffers, vote on new features or changes you’d like to see in an application.
Creative Cloud Lovers
http://creativecloudlovers.com
Kelly’s Adobe® User Group
Kelly McCathran | Social Media
facebook.com/creativecloudlover
twitter.com/onlineinstruct
* Personal friends of Kelly can ask for a re-print discount.
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
Kelly McCathran [email protected]
San Francisco, CA
iv
Illustrator Tools
Selection (
v
)
Magic Wand (
y
)
Pen (
p
)
Type (
t
)
Rectangle (
m
)
Shaper (
Shift n
)
Rotate (
r
)
Width (
Shift w
)
Shape Builder (
Shift m
)
Mesh (
u
)
Eyedropper (
i
)
Symbol Sprayer (
Shift S
)
Artboard (
Shift o
)
Hand (
h
)
Default Colors (
d
)
Draw Mode (
Shift d
)
(Normal, Behind, Inside)
Direct Selection (
a
)
Lasso (
q
)
Curvature tool (
t
)
Line Tool (
\
)
Paintbrush Tool (
b
)
Eraser (
Shift e
)
Scale (
s
)
Free Transform (
e
)
Perspective Grid (
Shift p
)
Gradient (
g
)
Blend (
w
)
Column Graph (
j
)
Slice (
Shift k
)
Zoom (
z
)
Swap fill and stroke (
shift x
)
Panel Shortcuts
Tab:
Hide all panels
Shift Tab:
Hide all panels (except tools & control panel)
Color (
,
) None (
/
) Gradient (
.
)
Change Screen Mode (
f
)
Interface
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
1
Toolbar Layouts
Illustrator offers two toolbar layouts,
Single Column
or
Double Column
. I prefer the double column layout, it gives you a larger target for
fill
and
stroke
.
Shortcuts for Nested Tools
Nested tools are hidden under the main tools on your tools panel. You can tell which tools have nested tools underneath by looking at the lower right corner. A tiny arrow indicates if you click and hold on the tool, nested tools will pop up.
Add Anchor Point Tool (
+
)
Delete Anchor Point Tool (
–
)
Anchor Point Tool (
Shift c
)
Interface
Click for 2 columns
Click again to go back to 1 column
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
2
The Control Panel
The Control Panel
Window > Control
(at the top of your Illustrator screen) can be used to set the fill, stroke, typeface, size, and much more. It is context sensitive, when you change tools, different options will appear on the Control
Panel.
The
Control Panel
reduces the need for many panels on the right side of your screen — roughly 80% of tasks can be performed here (provided you have a higher screen resolution, such as 1600 x 900, or higher). The
higher
your
screen resolution
, the more options you will see on the Control Panel.
Clicking on a
blue
,
underlined link
in the control panel will display full panels, to show more options. If you have an object selected, with the
Selection
or
Direct Selection
tool look for the
Select Similar Objects
button and
Isolate Group
button on the Control panel.
Text Tool Active
In a text area
Extra Options
(with high enough screen resolution)
Set your type color
Click the blue underlined words to see full panels
Object Selected
Type of object
Isolate Group
Select Similar Objects
Placed Image Selected
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
Workspaces
3
Default Workspace
I prefer to load the
Layout
workspace before I start working in Illustrator. Do this by choosing
Window > Workspace > Layout
. Panel locations can be saved as custom workspaces (so Illustrator remembers which
panels you use if they get moved or out of order). Workspaces (saved panel arrangements) can be switched at any time, based on the task you are completing that day. The
default
workspace is
Essentials
.
Workspace Switcher
(upper right corner)
Workspaces
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
4
Collapsible Panel Layout
The technical term for a docked window on the right side of your screen is:
panel
. Panels can be docked in
collapsible Panel bays
and nested
Panel Groups
. Panels can be re-organized by grabbing the top of the Panel and dragging it to the desired location. One click on the name of the Panel will collapse or expand the panel.
Click here to change views
Click the
name
of the
panel
to
open
, click the
name again
to
close
the panel.
Workspaces
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
5
Arranging & Expanding Panels
Panels can be re-organized by grabbing the top of the
Panel
and
dragging it
to the desired location.
Drag the panel to a new location, look for the
blue highlight
, before you let go
Stretch by the edge to see panel names
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
Workspaces
6
Collapsing and Expanding Docked Panels
Panels have three types of views:
Expanded
,
Collapsed
(with names showing), and
Collapsed
(icons only).
Collapsed Panels Expanded Panels
to change views
Workspaces
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
7
User Interface (UI) Defaults
Illustrator, like most other Creative Cloud programs, defalut to the
Dark UI
(User Interface). Personally, I find the panel names easier to read with the
Brightness
set to
Light
and difficult to make out — with the Brightness set to the default
Medium Dark. For this handout, screen shots, eat up more black ink and toner if I don’t change the UI Brightness.
Choose
Illustrator > Preferences > User Interface
(Mac)
Edit > Preferences > User Interface (PC).
User Interface
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
8
Creating a New Document
To create a new file, choose
File > New
(
Command N
or
Ctrl N).
BLEED
is a
very
important feature added to Illustrator a few versions ago. If you are not creating documents for a
printing press
, you may never use bleed. In the new document window you can select your unit of measure (Pixels, Points, Inches, etc.) without changing your preferences. If you click the expand triangle next to
Advanced
you can select your color mode, such as:
CMYK
or
RGB
. RGB is used for the web and devices. CMYK for print (or press-ready) files.
New Documents
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
9
The Pen Tool
The heart of the Illustrator application is the Pen tool. All good computer artists should master it. Many find that a mouse is cumbersome to draw with, so they opt for a Stylus, such as a Wacom tablet. Once you let go of your natural instinct, when it comes to drawing, and accept the logic of Illustrator’s pen tool, it gets much easier.
Straight Lines
When you do
quick clicks
with the Pen tool, from point to point, Illustrator plays
connect the dots
. You are telling the application to create lines. If you click and drag, you are instructing Illustrator to create a curve.
Introduction
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
10
Introduction
Drawing Curves
If you click and hold the mouse down while dragging to start a path, then let go and move away and click & hold again, you are telling Illustrator to create a curve. The perfect example is an egg shape or a mountain.
click & drag up to start the path click & drag down look for the circle to close the loop and click & drag up
Pen States
Illustrator’s cursor will indicate what mode the pen tool is in. Here are some helpful icons:
*
Start a
New Path
or shape o
Close
a path or shape
Convert Anchor Point
(changes a curve to a corner or a corner to a curve)
/
Continue a Path
or shape that has not been closed
+
Add
an Anchor Point
–
Delete
an Anchor Point
Pen Tips
Option
or
Alt will convert direction while drawing.
Command
or
Ctrl will switch to the
Select
arrow or
Direct Select
arrow (which ever one you were
on before you started drawing
the shape).
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
11
Anchor and Handle Size Preference
Another setting I change before beginning work in Illustrator is to change the Selection and Anchor display, to display larger handles and anchors (they are sometimes impossible to grab when they are at the default size). Choose
Illustrator > Preferences > Selection & Anchor Display
(Mac)
Edit > Preferences > Selection & Anchor Display (PC). In this dialog you can also make Illustrator snap to your guides more carefully by increasing the
Selection Tolerance
and
Snap to Point distance
.
Introduction
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
12
Pen Practice
Try to use what you’ve learned about drawing lines (with quick clicks) and settings up curves (by clicking and drag-
ging) to draw this egg:
Introduction
For more practice, open
shapes.ai
and trace.
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
13
Type in Illustrator
The type features of Illustrator are some of it’s most powerful aspects, not to mention that the vector of the type is maintained throughout the design process. You can create columns or rows of text, flow text into a shape or along a path and turn letters into graphic objects.
Clicking on the blue underlined words for Character or Paragraph in the Control panel (the bar across the top) brings up the full panel.
Text Selection Tips
In order to quickly select text, these shortcuts are helpful:
Select a Word ......................................................................................................................................Double Click
Select a Line ..................................................................................................................................................3 Clicks
Select a Paragraph ......................................................................................................................................4 Clicks
Select All ........................................................................................................................................................ 5 Clicks
Select to the End of the Story ..............................................................................................
Command Shift End
..............................................................................................................................................................
Ctrl Shift End
Select to the Beginning of the Story .............................................................................
Command Shift Home
.............................................................................................................................................................
Ctrl Shift Home
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
Typography
14
Type Preferences
The default unit of measure for Illustrator (for print) is points. In the New document dialog you can change this to inches or choose pixels if you are doing web/device work. When you scale type using keyboard shortcuts,
Illustrator will increase or decrease the type in 2 point increments. To make type move 1 point at a time go to
InDesign > Preferences > Type
(Mac),
Edit > Preferences > Type (Windows).
Typography
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
15
Typography
Type Keyboard Shortcuts
Align Left ..........................................................................................................................................
Command Shift L
......................................................................................................................................................................
Ctrl Shift L
Align Center ...................................................................................................................................
Command Shift C
......................................................................................................................................................................
Ctrl Shift C
Align Right ........................................................................................................................................
Command Shift R
.....................................................................................................................................................................
Ctrl Shift R
Justify ................................................................................................................................................
Command Shift J
......................................................................................................................................................................
Ctrl Shift J
Increase Text Size ........................................................................................................................
Command Shift .>
....................................................................................................................................................................
Ctrl Shift .>
Decrease Text Size ......................................................................................................................
Command Shift <,
....................................................................................................................................................................
Ctrl Shift <,
Leading ....................................................................................................................
Option
up or down arrow
..........................................................................................................................................
Alt up or down arrow
Kerning/Tracking .............................................................................................
Option
left or right arrow
.....................................................................................................................................
Alt
left or right arrow
WYSIWYG Font Display
Illustrator has
WYSIWYG
(What You See Is What You Get) font menus, if you choose
Window > Type > Font
which means each font displays in it’s actual typeface.
Note: On Windows, this from
Type > Font
.
does not
show up on the
Character panel
, only
Note: Add the
Option
or
Alt key
to increase or decrease the text size in 5x greater increments than the setting in the Text
Preferences.
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
16
Paragraph and Character Styles
Paragraph
and
Character Styles
have finally been added to Illustrator. To open these panels go to
Window > Type > Paragraph Styles
or
Window > Type > Character Styles
. You can create a new style by clicking the tiny new style button at the bottom of the panel. All of the settings for the styles are on the left side of the dialog.
Typography
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
17
Glyphs Panel
The Glyphs panel in Illustrator offers Ornaments, Terminal Forms, Discretionary Ligatures, and more. Simply doubleclicking inserts the selected glyph.
Typography
Columns, Rows, and Area Type Improvements
You can now define columns and rows in any text area. Specify the number of columns and rows, the width and height and set the size of the inset between the text and the object.
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
18
Optical Kerning
Optical kerning visually kerns text to produce better spacing. This is located under
Window > Type> Character
.
Typography
Hanging Punctuation
Optical margin alignment sets punctuation and text characters at either end of a line to hang and make the edges of a text block look more visually even. This is located on the Paragraph Panel,
Window > Type > Paragraph
, under the pop-up menu.
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
19
Tabs & Leaders
Now you can create custom dot leaders and set unlimited numbers of tabs through
Window > Type > Tabs
.
Better Hyphenation and Justification
Now you can control how long a word must be before Illustrator hyphenates it, whether Illustrator hyphenates capitalized words, and whether it favors better word and character spacing or fewer hyphens. Also, you can set minimum, maximum, and desired settings for word spacing, letter spacing, glyph scaling, and more.
Expanded Language Support
Illustrator documents support spell check and hyphenate in 29 languages.
Typography
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
20
Path Type Options
There are five new preset alignment options for text on a Path under
Type > Type on a Path > Type on a Path Options
.
Typography
Rainbow Skew 3D Ribbon Stair Step Gravity
Find Font
Through
Type > Find Font
(added in and earlier version of Illustrator) you can replace the missing fonts.
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
21
Improved Text Linking
Any text area, even type on a path, can be linked to any other text area. Plus, you can now delete a linked text block without also deleting any text it contains—the text will flow back into the previous box. Illustrator also now reduces clutter in your documents by automatically deleting empty text blocks that are created by clicking a type tool and not entering text.
In the example above, the 2nd umbrella was
automatically created
by clicking the
out port (red plus sign)
and clicking once anywhere on the page.
Typography
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
22
Color Panels & Swatches
The
Pantone®
libraries are under
Window > Swatch Libraries > Color Books > Pantone+ Solid Coated
. In order to search by number, click the
panel menu
and choose
Show Find Field
. In order for Illustrator to remember to leave the find field on click the pop-up menu and choose
Persistent
. The
Small List View
setting was lost in earlier versions of Illustrator, but is now remembered in newer versions of Illustrator.
Color & Swatches
Color Guide
The new Color guide panel gives shades of complementary colors for the object you have selected, or the document colors.
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
23
Save Swatches as ASE
Once the Swatches are created from the Tracing result they can be saved and pulled into other Creative Suite applications. This file is saved as an
ASE
(Adobe Swatch Exchange), which can be loaded into the Swatches panel in
Photoshop, InDesign and of course Illustrator.
1. Go to the
Swatches
panel
pop-up
menu and choose
Select All Unused
, then hit the trash can icon to delete the swatches that weren’t part of the tracing.
2. Then go back to the
Swatches
panel
pop-up
menu and choose
Save Swatch Library as ASE...
Color & Swatches
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
24
3. Once the swatches are saved, you can switch applications. In the example below the
InDesign Swatches Panel
is shown. To
load
the
Live Trace swatches
(created earlier) go to the
pop-up menu
and select
Load Swatches...
Color & Swatches
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
25
Gradients
The Gradient tool (
g
) can be use to set the angle of Gradients, but before we do that we’ll choose the colors to blend. When getting ready to apply gradients, it is helpful to dock the Color and Gradient panel together. gradient slider
To apply colors to the gradient, you can drag & drop colors from Swatches to Gradient, or choose one in the Color panel. To apply colors, first click the Gradient slider square (at the bottom of the panel), then click the
pop-up menu
on the Color panel and choose
CMYK.
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
Gradients
26
Gradient Mesh
The Mesh tool will create more realistic (and deeper gradient). To create a mesh:
1. Draw a circle with the Ellipse tool.
2. Click the Mesh tool in the tools panel (
u
).
3. Click off center on the circle.
4. Open your Swatches panel and click white, to set the highlight.
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
Gradients
27
Layers
When creating complex artwork, it can be difficult to keep track of all items without layers (
Window > Layers
). Smaller objects can get hidden under larger objects, and selecting individual pieces can be difficult. Layers let you organize your page elements in a manner that makes the most sense to you. By default, all items are placed in a single layer.
However, you can create new layers and move items between them at any time. .
toggles lock parent layer sublayer selected art show or hide layer
Command
or
Ctrl click to
switch between Preview &
Outline mode
clipping mask new sublayer new layer delete layer or selection
Layers
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
28
Guides
Double click on the spot on the Ruler (
View > Rulers > Show Rulers
)
Command R
or
Ctrl R, to place a guide. You can also click and drag in the ruler to the artboard to place a guide.
Extras
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
29
Lasso Tool
An easier way to select multiple points is with the new
Lasso
tool (
L
). Simply marquee (in a circular shape) the points you would like to grab.
Scribble Effect
The Scribble effect,
Effect > Stylize >Scribble
, is handy for making a design element look casual, masking images, creating scratch board style illustrations.
Extras
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
30
Creative Cloud Desktop
To install any Creative Cloud application, you need the desktop version of the Creative Cloud app.
Creative Cloud
Adobe
®
Creative Cloud
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
31
Creative Cloud Libraries
You can create personal (and shared) libraries to keep track of brand identity assets, icons for web & mobile layouts, video clips, brushes, and color themes. Library items are automatically synced to your Creative Cloud account using your Adobe ID and password on desktop and mobile.
Add assets created in Illustrator, Photoshop, InDesign, Premiere Pro, After Effects, Dreamweaver, Fuse CC (Preview), and Animate CC to a Creative Cloud Library. Also add assets created in Adobe mobile apps or downloaded from
Adobe Stock & Creative Cloud Market to make them available on your desktop.
Creative Cloud
Adobe
®
Creative Cloud
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
32
Creative Cloud Mobile Apps
All your apps and assets are connected through your desktop and mobile devices. Sketch, draw, paint, create layouts, edit photos and make videos with Adobe’s family of mobile apps.
Adobe Capture
All the features of Adobe Color CC, Shape CC, Brush CC and Hue CC are now available in Adobe Capture CC.
Creative Cloud
Adobe
®
Creative Cloud
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
33
Assigning Keyboard Shortcuts
If there are menu commands that don’t have an Illustrator shortcut you can assign your own through
Edit > Keyboard Shortcuts
. Simply locate the item you’d like to give a shortcut to, click on it, then click in the column below shortcut. Now hit the desired key or keys on your keyboard. The Function keys across the top of the keyboard are good for this. F1, F2, F3, F4, etc. If they aren’t taken for other panels or menu commands.
It is always a good idea to save a new Shortcut Set (Keyset) before changing or adding any shortcuts to Illustrator.
Keyboard Shortcuts
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
34
Stroke Options
Stroke Placement
Stroke placement was added to Illustrator CS2, strokes can now be aligned
Center
,
Inside
or
Outside
an object. To change the stroke alignment, go to the
Stroke Panel
and change the Align stroke placement (or do this on the Control
panel at the top of the screen).
(the default)
Inside Outside
Note: Changing the stroke placement does not affect
Illustrator’s trapping method, it will still perform a centerline trap. If your stroke weight is 2 points, you will get a 1 point trap when the stroke is set to overprint.
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
35
3D
3D Extrude & Bevel
Illustrator makes it very easy to add 3D effects to your artwork. Type and other shapes can be made into 3D objects, rotated in 3D wrap artwork around the shape.
1. Start by creating a simple shape, (in this example we built a 2 x 2 inch square).
2. Choose
Effect > 3D > Extrude & Bevel
. In the example below the
Extrude Depth
was increased to
120
, also
check Preview
to see the effect as you make changes. In the
lower left corner
under
Surface
you can choose
Wireframe
, instead of
Plastic Shading
.
3. To
Edit
the Effect choose
Window > Appearance
and
double click Extrude & Bevel
.
Warning: Do NOT
go back to
Effect > 3D > Extrude & Bevel
, this will apply the Effect again and
dramatically slow down your machine
.
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
36
3D
3D Revolve
In order to give depth to a custom shape use
Effect > 3D > Revolve
.
1. Start by creating a custom shape, then use the
Knife
tool to
cut the shape in half
(hold down
Option
or
Alt to create a line, use
Shift
to keep the line straight).
Note: the
Knife
tool is hidden under the Scissors tool.
Effect > 3D > Revolve
.
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
37
3D
Wrapping Artwork Around a Shape
3. Once the 3D Effect has been applied, click
Map Art
(in the Revolve dialog box). Make sure to click the
arrow
next to
Surface
until
red lines
appear around the base of the object.
Rotate
the art,
grab the cube
in the
Revolve dialog
box and as you drag the artwork will re-draw.
Illustrator
®
5. Once the Artwork is finished (and there are
no more changes
to be made) you may want to choose
Object > Expand Appearance
. This
Permanently applies
the 3D Effect.
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
38
Drop Shadow Effect
One of the most popular effects is a Drop Shadow
Effect > Stylize > Drop Shadow
. Be sure that your object is selected first and when you look at the Effect menu, there are two sections. The items at the top relate to Illustrator artwork and the ones below the Photoshop Effects line relate to placed raster images.
Effects
Click Preview on and use your up and down arrow keys on your keyboard to adjust the X & Y offset , Opacity or Blur.
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
39
Document Raster Effects Settings
Older versions of Illustrator used to default to a low resolution (72 ppi) raster effect setting, to speed up screen redraw on Effects or Filters. This caused some issues for designers who didn’t know to up the resolution before they printed the illustration. Newer versions default to 300 ppi for print documents. If you’re finding performance slow or you are doing web & mobile layout you can lower this resolution to 72 ppi, but remember to set it back to 300 ppi before you print.
Effects
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
40
Appearance Panel
If you run something under the
Effects menu
, to edit that Effect, choose
Window > Appearance
. Remember, Effects are editable, Filters are permanent.
Objects can also have
multiple fills
and
strokes
. The Appearance panel is also used to modify anything done under the
Effects
menu. To keep the fill and stroke of the last object created,
de-select New Art Has Basic Appearance
by clicking be button in the lower left corner of the panel.
Object with two strokes
New Art Has Basic Appearance
Expanding Effects
After an Effect has been applied to an object, individual points can be edited through
Object > Expand Appearance.
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
Effects
41
Effects
Warping
Effect > Warp
or
Object >Envelope Distort > Make with Warp
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
42
Templates
Illustrator includes several document layout templates which can help you start projects quickly. Illustrator also has a template file format, so you can save your own corporate or design templates. To create a new document from a
Template Choose
File > New From Template
(
Command Shift N
or
Ctrl Shift N). The Tshirt.ait template is shown below.
Introduction
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
43
Cut Path at Selected Points Feature
When you select 2 points on a shape, you can now create a cut between them. This is located on the Control panel when you have two points selected with the Direct Selection tool.
Introduction
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
44
Image Trace
Live Trace and Live Paint were two of the most exciting new features of Creative Suite 2. The Live Paint feature was
improved
in Creative Suite 3.
Live Trace
automatically turns placed
raster
(pixel-based)
images
into
scalable vector
(point based)
graphics
. Many artists have not mastered the pen tool, and can create artwork more easily with pen and paper. If you have a scanner, virtually any image (color or black and white) can be turned into Illustrator artwork. The results of a Live Trace object can be easily manipulated with tools such as preprocessing, tracing gap options, and overlay settings.
1. To start, choose
File > Place
and locate a raster (scanned) image (it’s best to start with a black and white Line
Art drawing).
2. With your image selected, click on the
Live Trace button
, located on the new
Control Panel
. Once the image is traced the original placed image is gone from the page, there is no need to look for it or delete it.
Vector = Points
Introduction
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
45
Image Trace Panel
When tracing color images, the settings may need to be adjusted. The default settings work well for Line Art or
Bitmap images.
1. Choose
File > Place
and import a color raster image (you may also drag and drop from Bridge into an Illustrator
document).
2. Next to the
Live Trace button
on the
Control Panel
is a
downward-facing arrow
that you can use to change the default tracing options.
Introduction
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
46
3. If you are still not satisfied with the result, you can click the
Tracing Options button
on the
Control Panel
. This will allow you to customize your settings. You may want to change some of the settings then click
Preview
, on the right of the dialog box.
Introduction
4. By clicking
Output to Swatches
, the colors from the scan that were used to make the tracing are added to the
Swatches Panel as
Global Colors
.
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
47
Improved Live Paint Features
Once an object is traced, you can use the new
Live Paint tool
to fill the shapes.
5. Click on the
Live Paint
tool.
6. Select a
color
from the
Control Panel
,
Color Panel
or
Swatches Panel
.
7. Move over the object and
click
on the areas you would like to fill.
8. Select a new color and click on the area to fill with that color.
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
Introduction
48
Live Paint Selection Tool
If you use the Live Paint tool, the
Direct Select
and
Select
tool will not work for selecting a shape and changing the fill or stroke. You can tell that you have a Live Paint group by the Stars over the Selection points. If this is the case you can use the
Live Paint Selection Tool
, to grab a piece of the art and re-color it.
Offset Path
Sometimes you’d like an object to have a stroke that is set away from the fill, to do this, choose
Object > Path > Offset Path...
Magic Wand
The Magic Wand tool can select objects of the same color, or objects within 10% (for example) of that color.
Introduction
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
49
Pathfinder
In the Pathfinder panel,
avoid
the top row (shapes) and use the bottom row (pathfinders).
Page Tool
When you open a document that has been created on another machine, the printable area may be off. To reset the
Page tiling
Double click
the
Page
tool (located under the Hand tool) to re-set the 0 point to the lower left corner of the document.
Introduction
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
50
Eyedropper Tool
Adobe has dramatically changed how the eyedropper tool functions. To make it behave like the earlier version of
Illustrator, double click the tool for options.
Introduction
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
51
Introduction
Colorize Grayscale Tiffs
Now Illustrator can colorize Grayscale tiff images, even with Pantone® Swatches.
9. Start by going to
File > Place
, and select a Grayscale Tiff image.
10. Now choose
Window > Swatches
, you can select one of the built in CMYK or RGB swatches and you are finished at this step.
11. To select a Pantone® Color go to
Window > Swatch Libraries > Pantone Solid Coated
. The default view is icons, which makes it hard to select your desired color. To see the swatch numbers, go to the
pop-up menu
and choose
List View
.
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
52
12. This makes it slower to select the Pantone® number, you have to scroll until you come across the correct one. If you would like to type in a
PMS
(Pantone Matching System) number, go to the Pantone solid coated pop-up menu and choose
Show Find Field
Introduction
13. Now type the number of the Pantone you would like, I used
Pantone® 470
.
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
53
Links
Window > Links
shows all the placed or embedded images in your Illustrator file. The icon to the right of g4_front.psd means the image is
embedded
, not
linked
.
To EPS or Not to EPS
In the past, most people worked with
EPS
as their primary format for placing Illustrator files into other applications.
This is now introducing some
issues
with
Transparency
and
Spot colors
, especially when using
InDesign
. If you are having problems, try
re-linking
to a native
AI
(Adobe Illustrator) file, instead of EPS. The
preferred formats
are
AI
,
PSD
or
TIF,
not
EPS
.
Output
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
54
Document Info
Illustrator has no built in Preflight, but one way to get some important information is with
Window > Document Info
.
In order to see all the fonts used in a document:
1.
Select All
(
Command A
or
Ctrl A).
2. Go to the
Document Info pop-up menu
and choose
Fonts
.
3. If you would like to save a
text file
with
all the document info
, go back to the
Document Info pop-up menu
and choose
Save
.
Output
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
55
Photoshop to Illustrator
When saving as
PSD
, be sure there is a
locked Background layer
, otherwise Illustrator may perform Transparency flattening and create
huge
files.
Illustrator to Photoshop
When exporting files from
Illustrator
to
Photoshop
,
Layers
may not always import properly. If this occurs, go to the
Transparency panel
and choose
Isolate Blending
.
Output
Illustrator
®
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
56
PDF Font Embed Status
The advantage of a PDF (Portable Document Format) is that you can
embed
the fonts that you use in your layouts, so you don’t have to use Arial or Times, or be dependent on the fonts the end user has loaded on their machine. Once a PDF has been created, it is important to check that the fonts made it into the document, fully. To do this, open the
PDF and choose
File > Properties
(
Command D
or
Ctrl D) then click the Fonts section at the top. Ideally it should say
(Embedded Subset)
or for high-end print
(Embedded)
next to every font in the list. In many cases, because of licensing restrictions, TrueType fonts may not fully embed (more often on a Windows machine than a Macintosh™). If you don’t see either. The font didn’t make it in. The Standard settings from Adobe don’t embed
ANY Microsoft Fonts
.
Font Embed Status
PDF & Fonts
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
57
Acrobat & Adobe Reader Font Substitution
In some cases, fonts may not be able to be embedded because of licensing restrictions. In this case, the person receiving the PDF will need to have the font installed on their machine for it to display properly. The text below can only be viewed on a PC with the TrueType Font loaded. The Mac and Unix users are out of luck, it is simply not available. Here is the example:
American Dream PDF on a Machine with the Font Loaded
Same PDF file on a Macintosh™
When a font is not fully embedded or subset, Acrobat or Adobe Reader will substitute
Adobe Sans MM
or
Adobe Serif MM
. They are loaded from a resource folder inside Acrobat and will not show up as a selection in any other application.
Loading PDF Settings
You can use the PDF settings on our class files page under
PDF Settings (.joboptions)
: onlineinstruct.com/class_files.html
Download the file, de-compress the zip and double click the .joboptions file to load (it will launch Distiller
and put the file in the proper place). Once you de-compress the zip file (from above), I recommend using the
Proof_UnFlattened.joboptions
as a good laser printer or email proof quality default PDF settings file. You might have to click Save As, then OK if you are on a PC (don’t change the location where it is saving).
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
PDF & Fonts
58
Direct Export to PDF
Users do not need to own Acrobat to create PDF (Portable Document Format) files, simply choose
File > Export
.
Choose
Adobe PDF (Print)
. Always check with the Print provider for recommended settings. The native export to a
PDF Document now supports Acrobat 6.0 (Adobe PDF 1.5). In this version,
document layers
are now maintained and
Multimedia
, such as movies and sounds, can be embedded.
PDF & Fonts
Bookmarks & Buttons in Richly Interactive PDFs
Bookmarks and interactive buttons can now be created that playback movies and sounds, turn pages and more.
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
59
General PDF Settings
In the
General
tab, PDF authors can select version
Compatibility
with Acrobat 4, 5 or 6. The current recommended setting is
Acrobat 4 (PDF 1.3)
. Most print shops and high-end production workflows are still based on Acrobat 4.
Additionally, web users viewing PDF links or email attachments, may not upgrade their software very often, this will ensure that most of the population can read the PDF that is being created.
Acrobat 4
compatibility also forces the
Transparency
to be
Flattened
, if you choose Acrobat 5, 6 or 7, your transparency is unflattened, which may produce unpredictable files.
When in doubt, most printers used to recommend using PDF/x-1a. This does 4 very important things to the file:
Acrobat 4 Compatibility
(which means the Transparency is flattened)
300 PPI resolution (not part of the spec)
All RGB is converted to CMYK and
Spot colors are preserved
Fonts are at least Subset
(but not fully Embedded)
PDF Settings
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
60
Compression Settings
For most office printers, a resolution of
150 – 225 ppi
(pixels per inch) is sufficient for color or grayscale photos. Line
Art (Monochrome or Bitmap meaning no shades of gray) is typically acceptable between
300 - 450 ppi
. For high end printing,
2 x lpi
(lines per inch) is the best resolution for color and grayscale, typically
600 - 1200
ppi is recommended for Line Art, always check with your print shop for recommended settings. For Web based PDFs
72 & 72 ppi
is standard and
300 ppi
is sufficient for Line Art.
For
Image quality
in
Color
and
Grayscale
images, a setting of
High
or
Maximum
is recommended, so that too much data is not thrown away.
PDF Settings
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
61
Marks & Bleeds
If the print shop requests that marks & bleeds be included in the document, you can turn them on here. Be aware that including Slug Area may cause some problems with electronic imposition programs. For some reason Adobe keeps getting the offset value for marks wrong. Be sure if you include any marks they are offset at least p9 or 0.125.”
PDF Settings
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
62
Output
The
Output
tab was added to InDesign to enable you to select
Color Management
Policies. Color Management is on by default. If you are not familiar with the settings, it is safest to select
Convert to Destination (Preserve Numbers)
and select
Don’t Include Profiles
. In the shot below, I chose
No Color Conversion
, because I’m doing Print on Demand (POD) and the images do not need to be
CMYK
.
PDF Settings
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
63
Advanced
InDesign has an
RGB to CMYK conversion engine built in
, so in the Advanced section of you select CMYK all RGB images will be converted to CMYK in the final PDF file.
Subset
% refers to the maximum percentage of characters (glyphs) in a font that can be used before the entire font is Embedded instead of
Subset. The range is 1 through 100. For example, a value of 50 means that a font will be embedded in full (not subset) if more than 50% of characters are used; a value of 100 means all fonts will be subset no matter how many characters are used (because more than 100% of
characters can’t be used). For
Web based PDFs
, embedding all the fonts causes the file to become to large, therefore
Subset at 100%
is recommended. This means that InDesign will
Subset all fonts (write in the unique characters
used) and not fully Embed all characters in the font. This will keep the file size down.
The value for
Subset
should be
0%
to ensure that all fonts are
fully embedded
, not Subset. This means Subset 0% of the time.
Transparency Flattening also occurs here,
High Resolution
is recommended for all non webbased PDFs. If Acrobat 5, 6 or 7 is selected in general this option will not be available.
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
PDF Settings
64
PDF Security
To prevent content copying or extraction, users may want to enable PDF security. Security can not be saved in a set, it must be enabled every time you Export the PDF.
PDF Settings
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
65
PDF Settings
PDF Summary
Finally, InDesign provides a summary of all the selected PDF options.
Save Preset
For frequent PDF exports, you may save all the selected PDF options for quick access. These will be available for future use under the Preset menu at the top of the export dialog box.
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
66
Printing a PDF
When you choose
File > Print
, then click the
Advanced button
. Often, users will complain that the
color changes
from the
Original file
to the
and/or they have issues with
Transparency
when doing
digital proofs
. There are many reasons why this can happen. One of the most common causes is Acrobat’s default Printer/PostScript Color management setting and the
Simulate Overprint Setting
. To access this setting in the Print dialog,
click Advanced
.
PDF Settings
Click to check
Output Settings
Turn Off
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
Turn On
67
Printing Controls
In this dialog, you can
print Visible Guides
and
Baseline Grids
, Blank Pages or Non-printing objects.
Setup
In the Setup section of the print dialog, it is a good idea to choose
Custom
for
Page Size
when writing
PostScript
files.
This dialog also offers
Thumbnails
and
Tiling
.
PDF Settings
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
68
PDF Settings
Marks & Bleeds
In the
Marks
section dialog you can include
Bleed
and
Slug
area.
Output
In the
Output
section you can access the
Ink Manager
for
re-mapping
(aliasing) colors, set your
Line Screen
, choose color output options and more.
Ink Manager
The new Ink Manager is intended to control the number of separations without altering the document. In this dialog, print shops can re-map (which
InDesign calls alias) spot colors without touching the Swatches panel.
Spot colors can also be converted to process here. Finally, trapping characteristics of inks, including their type (Normal, Transparent, Opaque, and
Opaque Ignore), neutral density, and trapping sequence can be viewed and controlled.
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
69
Graphics
There are a few important items in the
Graphics
section. Always Download
Complete fonts
and
check Download PPD Fonts
. When writing PostScript files, you can choose Level 2 and Binary, unless there is a requirement for ASCII or Level 1 PostScript.
PDF Settings
Color Management
Color Management is off by default, if you are not working with
ColorSync™
or
ICC profiles
, leave this
off
.
©2016 — Kelly McCathran
70
Download
Advertisement
Key features
Pen tool mastery
Typography options
Creative Cloud Libraries
Image Trace Conversion
3D Effects
Appearance panel Editing
Frequently asked questions
Choose Illustrator > Preferences > User Interface (Mac) or Edit > Preferences > User Interface (PC) to adjust the Brightness setting.
You can create your own shortcut through Edit > Keyboard Shortcuts. Simply locate the item you’d like to give a shortcut to, click on it.
The heart of the Illustrator application is the Pen tool. All good computer artists should master it. It makes it easy to draw shapes.