Adobe InDesign CC, InDesign CS5.5, InDesign CS6 Desktop Publishing Software Help and tutorials
Below you will find brief information for InDesign CC, InDesign CS5.5, InDesign CS6. This document serves as a comprehensive guide for users of InDesign, covering essential aspects from creating new documents and managing workspaces to advanced layout and design techniques. It details features like text formatting, styles, tables, interactivity including hyperlinks and animation, and processes for drawing, coloring, and exporting content for various outputs like EPUB, HTML, and PDF, ensuring users can leverage InDesign for diverse publishing needs.
Advertisement
Advertisement
ADOBE® INDESIGN®
Help and tutorials
June 2013
Contents
What’s new................................................................................................................................................... 1
What’s new in InDesign CC.................................................................................................................................................... 2
EPUB enhancements in InDesign CC.................................................................................................................................... 8
What’s new in CS6............................................................................................................................................................... 12
What’s new in CS5.5............................................................................................................................................................ 20
InDesign getting started tutorials................................................................................................................ 24
Create new documents......................................................................................................................................................... 32
Create new documents (Chinese, Japanese, and Korean only).......................................................................................... 35
Create new documents......................................................................................................................................................... 39
Workspace and workflow............................................................................................................................ 42
Workspace basics.................................................................................................................................................................43
Customize menus and keyboard shortcuts...........................................................................................................................51
Toolbox................................................................................................................................................................................. 54
Viewing the workspace......................................................................................................................................................... 58
Setting preferences...............................................................................................................................................................61
Default keyboard shortcuts................................................................................................................................................... 63
Adjusting your workflow........................................................................................................................................................ 77
Assignment packages...........................................................................................................................................................79
Converting QuarkXPress and PageMaker documents......................................................................................................... 81
Create new documents......................................................................................................................................................... 85
PageMaker menu commands............................................................................................................................................... 88
Recovery and undo...............................................................................................................................................................95
Saving documents................................................................................................................................................................ 96
Sharing content...................................................................................................................................................................100
Understanding a basic managed-file workflow................................................................................................................... 104
Working with ConnectNow..................................................................................................................................................110
Working with files and templates........................................................................................................................................ 111
Working with managed files................................................................................................................................................ 115
Layout and design.................................................................................................................................... 119
Master pages...................................................................................................................................................................... 121
Creating documents............................................................................................................................................................127
Create new documents....................................................................................................................................................... 129
Generate QR codes | CC.................................................................................................................................................... 132
Rulers and measurement units........................................................................................................................................... 135
Grids................................................................................................................................................................................... 139
Liquid Layouts and Alternate Layouts | CC, CS6............................................................................................................... 141
About pages and spreads................................................................................................................................................... 146
Linked content | CC, CS6................................................................................................................................................... 149
Add basic page numbering................................................................................................................................................. 153
Create new documents (Chinese, Japanese, and Korean only)........................................................................................ 155
Aligning and distributing objects......................................................................................................................................... 159
Clipping paths..................................................................................................................................................................... 162
Create new documents....................................................................................................................................................... 165
Creating a table of contents................................................................................................................................................ 168
Creating an index................................................................................................................................................................173
Creating book files.............................................................................................................................................................. 182
Creating text and text frames..............................................................................................................................................187
Creating type on a path...................................................................................................................................................... 192
Text........................................................................................................................................................... 196
Creating text and text frames..............................................................................................................................................197
Adding text to frames.......................................................................................................................................................... 202
Threading text..................................................................................................................................................................... 208
Articles................................................................................................................................................................................ 212
Wrapping text around objects............................................................................................................................................. 214
Arabic and Hebrew features | CC, CS6.............................................................................................................................. 218
Text Frame fitting options | CC, CS6.................................................................................................................................. 226
Linked stories......................................................................................................................................................................228
Linked content | CC, CS6................................................................................................................................................... 230
Adding editorial notes in InDesign...................................................................................................................................... 234
Anchored objects................................................................................................................................................................ 236
Bullets and numbering........................................................................................................................................................ 243
Captions..............................................................................................................................................................................251
Creating type on a path...................................................................................................................................................... 253
Editing text.......................................................................................................................................................................... 257
Find/Change....................................................................................................................................................................... 266
Footnotes............................................................................................................................................................................ 278
Formatting CJK characters................................................................................................................................................. 281
Glyphs and special characters............................................................................................................................................286
Linked stories (CS5.5)........................................................................................................................................................ 291
Spell-checking and language dictionaries.......................................................................................................................... 293
Text variables..................................................................................................................................................................... 298
Tracking and reviewing changes........................................................................................................................................ 301
Styles........................................................................................................................................................ 304
Paragraph and character styles.......................................................................................................................................... 305
Drop caps and nested styles.............................................................................................................................................. 311
Object styles....................................................................................................................................................................... 317
Working with styles............................................................................................................................................................. 321
Typography............................................................................................................................................... 323
Formatting text.................................................................................................................................................................... 324
Formatting characters......................................................................................................................................................... 327
Formatting paragraphs....................................................................................................................................................... 333
Kerning and tracking........................................................................................................................................................... 337
Leading............................................................................................................................................................................... 339
Using fonts.......................................................................................................................................................................... 341
Arabic and Hebrew features | CC, CS6.............................................................................................................................. 346
Aligning text........................................................................................................................................................................ 354
Bullets and numbering........................................................................................................................................................ 358
Formatting CJK characters................................................................................................................................................. 366
Tabs and indents................................................................................................................................................................ 371
Text composition.................................................................................................................................................................377
Tables....................................................................................................................................................... 381
Creating tables....................................................................................................................................................................382
Selecting and editing tables................................................................................................................................................ 385
Formatting tables................................................................................................................................................................ 389
Table strokes and fills......................................................................................................................................................... 393
Table and cell styles........................................................................................................................................................... 396
Interactivity................................................................................................................................................ 400
Hyperlinks........................................................................................................................................................................... 401
Cross-references................................................................................................................................................................ 406
Bookmarks.......................................................................................................................................................................... 412
Dynamic PDF documents................................................................................................................................................... 414
Movies and sounds............................................................................................................................................................. 417
Animation............................................................................................................................................................................ 420
Forms | CC, CS6................................................................................................................................................................ 424
Buttons................................................................................................................................................................................426
Interactive web documents for Flash.................................................................................................................................. 433
Page transitions.................................................................................................................................................................. 439
Structuring PDFs................................................................................................................................................................ 440
Drawing and painting................................................................................................................................ 444
Understanding paths and shapes....................................................................................................................................... 445
Drawing with the line or shape tools................................................................................................................................... 448
Drawing with the Pencil tool................................................................................................................................................450
Drawing with the Pen tool................................................................................................................................................... 452
Editing paths....................................................................................................................................................................... 456
Applying line (stroke) settings............................................................................................................................................. 462
Change corner appearance................................................................................................................................................ 466
Compound paths and shapes............................................................................................................................................. 468
Color......................................................................................................................................................... 472
Tints.................................................................................................................................................................................... 473
Applying color..................................................................................................................................................................... 475
Understanding spot and process colors............................................................................................................................. 479
Working with swatches....................................................................................................................................................... 481
Gradients............................................................................................................................................................................ 486
Mixing inks.......................................................................................................................................................................... 490
Understanding color management......................................................................................................................................492
Using colors from imported graphics.................................................................................................................................. 494
Transparency............................................................................................................................................ 495
Adding transparency effects............................................................................................................................................... 496
Blending colors................................................................................................................................................................... 504
Flattening transparent artwork............................................................................................................................................ 506
Exporting and publishing.......................................................................................................................... 512
Exporting.............................................................................................................................................................................514
Export content for EPUB | CC............................................................................................................................................ 519
Export content to HTML | CC.............................................................................................................................................. 522
Exporting to Adobe PDF..................................................................................................................................................... 525
Export to JPEG format........................................................................................................................................................ 530
Export content for EPUB | CS6........................................................................................................................................... 531
Export content for EPUB | CS5.5........................................................................................................................................ 534
Export content to HTML | CS6 & CS5.5............................................................................................................................. 537
Adobe PDF options.............................................................................................................................................................540
Export content to HTML (CS5.5)........................................................................................................................................ 546
Export to JPEG format........................................................................................................................................................ 549
Exporting XML.................................................................................................................................................................... 550
Printing...................................................................................................................................................... 552
Printing documents............................................................................................................................................................. 553
Printing graphics and fonts................................................................................................................................................. 561
Printing booklets................................................................................................................................................................. 563
Printer s marks and bleeds................................................................................................................................................. 567
Preparing to print separations.............................................................................................................................................569
Adjusting ink options for trapping........................................................................................................................................573
Creating PostScript and EPS files...................................................................................................................................... 575
Inks, separations, and screen frequency............................................................................................................................ 579
Managing color................................................................................................................................................................... 584
Overprinting........................................................................................................................................................................ 587
Preflighting files before handoff.......................................................................................................................................... 590
Preparing PDFs for service providers................................................................................................................................. 595
Printing thumbnails and oversized documents................................................................................................................... 597
Trap presets........................................................................................................................................................................599
Trapping documents and books......................................................................................................................................... 604
Digital publications.................................................................................................................................... 608
Digital Publishing Suite overview........................................................................................................................................ 610
Export content for EPUB | CC............................................................................................................................................ 611
Liquid Layouts and Alternate Layouts | CC, CS6............................................................................................................... 614
Export content for EPUB | CS5.5........................................................................................................................................ 619
Export content for EPUB | CS6........................................................................................................................................... 622
Articles................................................................................................................................................................................ 625
Automation................................................................................................................................................ 627
Scripting.............................................................................................................................................................................. 628
Plug-ins............................................................................................................................................................................... 630
Data merge......................................................................................................................................................................... 631
Accessibility.............................................................................................................................................. 638
Structuring PDFs................................................................................................................................................................ 639
Articles................................................................................................................................................................................ 643
Forms | CC, CS6................................................................................................................................................................ 645
What's New
1
What's new in InDesign CC
User interface modernization
Platform enhancements
QR codes
Font menu enhancements
EPUB enhancements
Adobe Exchange panel
Other updates
To the top
User interface modernization
Enhanced in InDesign CC
InDesign, by default, is now available with a dark theme, which is in line with recent changes in other products such as Photoshop, Illustrator, and
Premiere Pro. This theme enables a more pleasant visual experience, especially while working with rich colors and designs. It also makes crossapplication work simpler than ever.
New vibrant color themes for user interface: Dark, medium light, light, and medium dark
You can easily vary the brightness of the user interface to a tone you prefer from the Interface option in the Preferences dialog. You can enable
Match Pasteboard to Theme Color to set the tone of the pasteboard area to match the brightness of the interface. If you prefer the classic (CS6 or
prior) InDesign pasteboard color, you can deselect this option.
For more information, see Tour the new interface (video).
To the top
Platform enhancements
Enhanced in InDesign CC
HiDPI support
2
To take advantage of advancements in high-resolution display technologies, InDesign now includes native support for high-resolution displays.
This feature is currently available for the Mac OS (for example, the MacBook Pro with Retina display). You can now enjoy working with a sharper
and clearer environment on these devices. You can view text and complex artwork in greater clarity, and in colors and hues that appear more
vibrant than before.
64-bit support on Mac and Windows
InDesign, InCopy, and InDesign Server are all now 64-bit applications to leverage RAM beyond 3GB on both Mac and Windows. All the features
of InDesign have been enabled to work in 64-bit mode. With support for 64-bit architecture, general processing is faster and more RAM can be
made available to the application. This speeds up processes, and makes it easier to work with several large files at a time.
To the top
QR codes
New in InDesign CC
You can now generate and edit high quality independent QR code graphics from within InDesign. The generated QR code is a high-fidelity graphic
object that behaves exactly like native vector art in InDesign. You can easily scale the object and fill it with colors. You can also apply effects,
transparency, and printing attributes such as overprinting, spot inks, and trappings to the object.
The Generate QR Code feature is accessible via Menu > Object, and via the right-click context menu when an empty frame is selected.
Once placed inside a document, the QR code is treated as a traditional EPS object, except that a tooltip appears on hovering over the object,
revealing the content details.
For more information, see Generate QR codes (video) or Generate QR codes (article).
To the top
Font menu enhancements
Enhanced in InDesign CC
Several enhancements have been made to the Font menu, including the way fonts are displayed, searched, and selected. You can now also
identify Favorite fonts for easy access, and apply fonts on selected text while browsing so that you can see how your fonts will look in the layout.
Major enhancements
Search fonts by any part of the name
Show fonts with families in a sub-menu
3
Apply font selection by arrow keys to the selected text
Manage your favorite fonts
New Fonts menu widget
The new fonts widget has been added in the Character panel and the Control panel. The widget has four elements.
1. Button control to toggle between the two available search modes
2. Text field to display selected font name or enter the search keyword
3. Clear search icon; appears only when some text is entered in the search field
4. Drop-down arrow button to display the font list – all fonts or search results
Clicking the drop-down arrow button without entering any search string displays a pop-up list of all installed fonts.
Search fonts made easy
You can now easily search for the fonts you are looking for. There are two modes for doing this:
Search Entire Font Name: Looks for a match anywhere in the Font Name. As you type in some text, matched font names are displayed in a
popup.
Search First Word Only: The first match begins with the entered text is suggested and the remaining portion of the font name is populated
automatically.
Using the new search
As you clear the font name and start typing, the search results start appearing in the popup. A Cross icon appears in the widget to help you clear
off the results quickly and start afresh. The search results are displayed as a flat list (without grouping of font and associated family). For example,
Ebrima is a family and has two styles – Regular and Bold. If you search for Ebrima, both Regular and Bold are displayed as separate entries and
are not grouped as Ebrima.
Browse and apply fonts
You can browse the fonts list with the Arrow keys. On selection, the font style is applied to the selected text in your layout or document for
preview. Clicking a font name or pressing the Enter key commits the font style and closes the Font List popup.
Manage your favorite fonts
You can add or remove a font from the Favorite list by clicking the Favorite icon (star) in the font list. When you click the drop-down arrow key, you
see the Favorite icon highlighted in Black for the fonts which are marked as favorite.
4
Adding or removing a font belonging to a family adds or removes the entire font family to the Favorite list.
For more information, see Font Menu Enhancements in Adobe InDesign CC (video).
To the top
EPUB enhancements
Enhanced in InDesign CC
EPUB Export workflows have been simplified: several improvements in the existing features, additional control while authoring, and a few brandnew features.
Support for table of contents (TOC) stories
TOC Story has been redone so that any existing, possibly edited TOC story is now exported like any other story. If portions of these TOC stories
are copied and pasted elsewhere, the hyperlinks back to the PDF page and the source paragraphs (in case of an EPUB Export) remain live.
The NCX (navigation) file, required in the EPUB package, cannot use an existing TOC and is generated using the TOC style as in CS6.
If you don’t want page numbers in the TOC, you can remove them manually or generate the TOC without page numbers.
TOC stories generated in CS6 and before must be regenerated in InDesign CC for the links to be live.
Support for Index stories
Index stories are now supported in the exported EPUB file. Live hyperlinks to indexed terms are displayed in the exported file. The terms retain
their references to content at paragraph level.
Export without CSS
While exporting an InDesign document or book to EPUB/HTML, if you decide not to generate the CSS, only the classes associated with the styles
are marked in the HTML tags; no overriding classes are created. The exported file is now much cleaner and ready for an external CSS.
EMIT CSS
The Emit CSS control has been added under the Export Tagging of the Paragraph, Character, and Object Style edit dialogs. If you want to include
this style in the CSS, select the Emit CSS check box. If you don’t select the check box, no CSS class will be generated for this style. If you have
two or more styles having the same class assigned, InDesign displays an error or warning message while exporting.
5
Tidier CSS
To map InDesign attributes with appropriate CSS properties, it is often necessary that we have to generate a sort of “override class” to adjust the
behavior of the CSS class generated from the style. Prior to this change, these were given obscure names. These names have now been changed
to reflect their purpose and give more clarity to the users regarding the applied overrides.
Object style to export tag mapping
Object Style Options now has the Export Tagging feature. In terms of mapping styles to classes and tags, the object styles now work more like
paragraph and character styles.
Object export options for object styles
Object Style Options now includes the Export Options for Alt Text, Tagged PDF, and EPUB & HTML. You can specify rasterization settings and
custom layout options. Objects with the applied style are handled based on the export options.
For more information, see:
InDesign_EPUB_Changes_from-CS6-to-CC.pdf
EPUB enhancements in InDesign CC (article)
EPUB enhancements (video)
EPUB gets convert-to-text improvements (video)
Map object styles to export tags (video)
To the top
Adobe Exchange panel
New in InDesign CC
The new Adobe Exchange panel is now an in-app experience for you to explore and discover content, plug-ins, and scripts that you can purchase
or download for free. If you produce scripts, templates, plug-ins, or anything that can enhance the functionality of Adobe’s Creative applications,
you can quickly package and submit and make them available to a larger community.
Adobe Exchange even lets you privately share products. For example, you can package up a series of images, InDesign templates, and other files.
Anyone with who you have privately shared the products can install the content and see any updates you make. The experience is very much like
an app store.
You can become a producer for free. Get started here: https://www.adobeexchange.com/producer
To open the Exchange panel, go to Windows > Extensions > Adobe Exchange.
6
For more information, see Explore the new Exchange panel (video).
To the top
Other updates
Enhanced in InDesign CC
New document dialog box
The New Document dialog now has the option of showing a preview of the new document. As you select new document options, you see the
impact of the selection or changes in the background at the same time.
Note: (Chinese, Japanese, and Korean only) The preview option is displayed in the New Layout Grid dialog box (New Document > Layout Grid
dialog).
Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
7
EPUB enhancements in InDesign CC
Style to class name mapping
Style class ownership - handling of CSS class name collisions
Clean markup for Ordered/Numbered Lists
Improved heuristic for determining bullet and numbering structure
Static ordered list removed from EPUB export
Improved HTML markup and CSS for Convert To Text list Export option
Version string metadata
Improved naming convention of CSS classes to match their purpose
CSS generated for Japanese ruby tag
Scripting support for EPUB book export
New export warning or error message dialog
Improved mapping of bullet character to list-style-type property
Break-before property mapping
Access to iBooks reader device fonts
Font embedding on iBooks reader now supported
‘EPUB 3.0 with Layout’ option removed from EPUB export
Mapping paragraph keeps attributes to CSS paragraph properties
Support for more than one CSS class name in 'Style To Tag/Class' fields of paragraph, character, and object styles
Empty <p> and <li> ranges are removed
To the top
Style to class name mapping
While generating a class name from a style name, InDesign now generates a fully qualified class name: <style group name>_<style name>.
Style class ownership - handling of CSS class name collisions
To the top
If you map two styles to the same class name, it results in a conflict when you decide to generate the CSS for the associated document. InDesign
now flags a warning and displays a message about the conflict while exporting.
To the top
Clean markup for Ordered/Numbered Lists
The generated markup for “Map to Unordered List” and “Map to Ordered List” options under the EBook Export > General > Text Options are now
free from any extra classes. InDesign no longer inserts any characters or creates any spans, and lets the browser or device be responsible for
composing the lists.
Improved heuristic for determining bullet and numbering structure
To the top
The heuristic for determining bullet and numbering structure has been improved significantly to detect the semantic structure of the bullets and
numbers, and properly expressing it in the HTML.
For bullets:
InDesign treats two paragraphs which share ALL the same bullet related attributes, including left indent, as being part of the same list.
A paragraph which is not a bullet but follows a bullet paragraph and has the same left indent, is now considered a “nested” paragraph and
becomes part of the list.
For numbers:
As designers can set the attribute for the “List” that it is part of, this setting has the highest priority relative to left indent or different number
8
related attributes.
Although InDesign supports setting the value attribute on the tag, it is not possible to express a numbered list, which crosses Table and Story
boundaries, in HTML.
For correct numbering, export to EPUB 3.0.
To the top
Static ordered list removed from EPUB export
As InDesign now offers a true (stripped) markup to lists respecting the starting number values, the Static Ordered List option is removed from the
EPUB Export dialog.
Improved HTML markup and CSS for Convert To Text list Export option
To the top
The HTML markup and CSS of the “Convert To Text” export option has been improved. InDesign now inserts necessary bullet or number
characters and overrides styling so that the overall look of the list option remains close to how it looks in InDesign.
To the top
Version string metadata
Version number has been added to the generator metadata:
<meta name=”generator” content=”Adobe InDesign 9.0” />
Improved naming convention of CSS classes to match their purpose
To the top
InDesign generates various extra classes for the purposes of improving the visual fidelity and conceptual mapping between InDesign and EPUB.
The classes are now renamed to match and clarify their purpose.
Generated CSS Class Prefix
Description
CharOverride-#
Mapping of user applied Character Attribute override to CSS
properties
ParaOverride
Mapping of user applied Paragraph Attribute override to CSS
properties
TableOverride-#
Mapping of user applied Table Attribute override to CSS
properties
CellOverride-#
Mapping of user applied Cell Attribute override to CSS properties
ObjectOverride-#
Mapping of user applied Object (PageItem) Attribute override to
CSS properties
_idGenParaOverride-#
Deal with CSS property inheritance (such as left indent)
_idGenCharOverride-#
Deal with CSS property inheritance (such as point size)
_idGenDropcap-#
Make the Dropcap look more like ID
_idGenBNMarker-#
Make the Bullet & Number characters look more like ID
_idGenRuby-#
Alter the Ruby CSS
_idGenStoryDirection
Support story direction
_idGenTableRowColumn
Support alternating table strokes and fills
_idGenPageitem-#
Carry the width and height of the PageItem/Object
To the top
CSS generated for Japanese ruby tag
InDesign now generates a separate CSS rule containing just the ruby related attributes.
To the top
Scripting support for EPUB book export
The scripting support was not available in CS6, and it is available now.
To the top
9
New export warning or error message dialog
The new dialog makes it easier to read multiple warning or error messages from the export.
Improved mapping of bullet character to list-style-type property
To the top
If any Unicode value is found other than the listed ones in the table below, the CSS will not specify it and leave it to the device or browser default
(typically “disc”).
ID Unicode value
CSS Property
0x2022 (bullet)
“disc”
0x25CB (white circle)
“circle”
0x25A0 (black square)
“square”
The various InDesign numbered list types are now mapped to the CSS properties as listed in the table below.
ITextAttrNumberingStyle
CSS Property
1,2,3,4
“decimal”
01,02,03,
“decimal--leading--zero”
I, II, III,
“upper--roman”
i, ii, iii,
“lower--roman”
A,B,C,D
“upper--alpha”
a,b,c,d
“lower--alpha”
001,002,003,
“decimal--leading--zero”
0001,0002,0003,
“decimal--leading--zero”
To the top
Break-before property mapping
The Keeps Option “Start Paragraph” attribute is now mapped correctly to a valid CSS property. Any value for this attribute other than
‘kStartAnywhere’ is mapped to 'pagebreak-before:always'.
Break characters remain unsupported at this time.
To the top
Access to iBooks reader device fonts
iBooks Reader supports a wide number of device fonts (http://iosfonts.com/), and these fonts are not enabled by default when referenced via
@font-face unless the special XML option file META-INF/com.apple.ibooks.display-options.xml is added to the package.
Now the option file is added to both the EPUB2.0 and EPUB3.0 packages.
To the top
Font embedding on iBooks reader now supported
EPUBCheck has been changed to accept the embedded font format as being acceptable for iBooks Reader.
‘EPUB 3.0 with Layout’ option removed from EPUB export
To the top
As the DPS Reader has decided not to support this format, the ‘EPUB 3.0 with Layout’ option is removed from the EPUB Export dialog box.
Mapping paragraph keeps attributes to CSS paragraph properties
Paragraph Attribute
CSS Property
Keep With Previous
page-break-before:avoid
Keep All Lines Together
orphans: 99
10
To the top
Keep First N
orphans: #
Keep Last N
window: #
Keep With Next N
page-break-after:avoid
In a previous change, the Start Paragraph was mapped to the CSS property 'page-break-before:avoid'. Since this attribute and Keep With Previous
share the same mapped property, in cases of conflict, the Start Paragraph will win, as it does in InDesign.
Note: Mapping of Keep With Next N ignores any values other than one. Also, break characters (goto Next N) remain unsupported at this time.
Support for more than one CSS class name in 'Style To Tag/Class' fields of paragraph,
character, and object styles
To the top
Multiple Class names must be separated by one or more spaces, and the first Class name will be used to generate the CSS for Style, if Emit CSS
is enabled for this Style.
For example, a Paragraph Style that says:
Class: InDesign is the best
Results in:
<p class=”InDesign is the best”>foo</p>
p.InDesign {…}
The intention of this feature is to allow designers to override or extend CSS properties via the “Additional CSS File” mechanism in the Advanced
tab of the EPUB Export dialog.
No additional checking is done for the values specified and during export InDesign simply carries them along for the purposes of markup and
otherwise ignores them.
To the top
Empty <p> and <li> ranges are removed
Empty Paragraphs in InDesign are not empty – they contain a carriage return and are composed with vertical height.
In HTML, InDesign maps Paragraphs to <p> and <li> tags as appropriate and the carriage return is not part of the mapping that can lead to empty
tags.
Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
11
What's new in CS6
Alternate layouts
Liquid layouts
Linked content
Digital publishing
EPUB and HTML5
Interactivity
Productivity enhancements
Language support
Extension Manager CS6
Use InDesign to create and publish engaging documents for print, online, or tablet devices. This release contains several enhancements and new
features that provide you with pixel-perfect control over design and typography for publishing to all media. With Adobe Digital Publishing Suite, you
can design and publish for tablet devices using the familiar InDesign workflows.
Alternate layouts and Liquid Layout page rules, give you the flexibility to design for multiple page sizes, orientations, or aspect ratios.
To the top
Alternate layouts
Use Alternate Layouts if you require different page sizes for print or digital publishing within the same document. You can use it to create different
sizes of a print advertisement. Or to design the horizontal and vertical layouts for devices such as the Apple iPad or Android tablets.
Alternate layouts and the updated Pages panel
Used in combination with Liquid Layout, you can significantly reduce the amount of manual work required to re-layout content for every new page
size and orientation. You can also redefine liquid page rules, create links to original stories, automatically copy text styles to a new style group, and
activate Smart Text Reflow to repaginate the story in the new page size.
To create an alternate layout, do one of the following:
Choose Layout > Create Alternate Layout
Choose Create Alternate Layout from the Pages panel menu
See also
Alternate layouts (video)
To the top
Liquid layouts
12
Liquid Layout
Liquid layouts make it easier to design content for multiple page sizes, orientations, or devices. Apply liquid page rules to determine how objects
on a page are adapted when you create an alternate layout and change the size, orientation, or aspect ratio.
Use Liquid page rules to adapt layouts when using the Alternate Layout feature. Select the Page tool
and click a page to select it. Then choose
a liquid page rule from the control bar. You can also use the Liquid Layouts panel (Window > Interactive > Liquid Layout).
Using the Page tool, you can drag the corners and center points of the page to preview the Liquid layout.
For more information see Alternate layouts (Article).
To the top
Linked content
Use linked content functionality to duplicate page items, and place them on other pages. Both inter-document and intra-document links are
supported. You can place and link stories, text frames, page items, interactive objects as well as groups. You can link content, with or without the
frames that they are contained in. You can customize the link options to control the update aspects.
While links are useful for all types of publications, they are almost essential when you're working on multi-device publications. Alternate Layouts
also use this functionality to link stories in the generated layouts.
To place and link page items, you can use the following:
Place and Link command (Edit > Place and Link)
Content Collector
and Content Placer
tools
For more information see Linked content.
For a quick overview, see Linked content video by Lynda.com.
Content collector and placer tools
Content Collector and Placer tools let you duplicate objects and place them on open InDesign documents. As content is collected, it is displayed in
the Content Conveyor. Use Content Conveyor to easily and quickly place and link multiple page items within and across any open documents.
Click
in the toolbox to open the Content Conveyor.
Use Content Collector tool
Use Content Placer
to select an item and add it to the conveyor
to place page items on a page
Content Conveyor
See also
Content Placer tools (video)
Custom style mapping
Text styles (paragraph, character, table, cell) or style groups can be mapped to different styles while linking. In the Link Options dialog box (Links
panel > Link Options), enable Define Custom Style Mapping and then click Settings.
Custom style mapping comes in handy, for example, when you want to use sans serif fonts for digital and serif fonts for print publications. Or if you
want, vary the text style between the horizontal and vertical layouts.
In the Link Options dialog box, enable Define Custom Style Mapping and then click Settings.
13
For more information, see Content Placer tools (Article).
Preserve local edits
Use Preserve Local Edits option to modify linked content. Often, you would like the linked item to differ slightly from the original item. For example,
if you place an image and then resize the frame or add a stroke to the frame, you can preserve these changes on updating the link.
In the Link Options dialog box (Links panel menu), select the options under preserve local edits.
For more information, see Custom style mapping.
To the top
Digital publishing
New document presets
In addition to the Web and Print intents, you can specify Digital Publishing intent while creating a document (File > New). You can specify sizes
(including custom sizes) and orientations for several common devices. When you choose the Digital Publishing intent, page size is set to that of
the chosen device size in pixels. The Primary Text Frame option is also enabled.
If you want more control on device size and orientation, create a Document Preset or specify a custom page size.
Primary text frame
You can now designate a text frame on the master page as the primary text frame. When you apply a new master page to a layout page, the story
in the primary text frame flows into the primary text frame. Primary Text Frames are automatically overridden on layout pages, so that you no
longer need to override them before adding text.
Primary text frame indicator
To designate a primary text frame, open a master page and do one of the following:
Click the symbol near the left-upper corner of the text frame
Right-click on text frame and choose Primary Text Frame
Note: Only a single text frame can be designated as primary on a master page.
Text frame fitting options
Flexible width columns
You can use the Flexible width option to adjust the number and width of columns as the text frame is resized. Columns are automatically added or
deleted when the maximum column width is reached as the text frame is resized.
Choose Flexible Width from the Columns drop down list in the Text Frame Options dialog box (Object > Text Frame Options)
Persistent text frame fitting options
Auto-size text frame options make it possible to set up a text frame so that it is automatically resized when you add, delete, or edit text.
To access the Auto-size options, do the following:
14
1. Select a text frame and choose Object > Text Frame Options
2. Click Auto-size.
Auto Size options
Packaging and preflight
The Package functionality (File > Package) now includes Digital Publishing Suite assets in Folio Overlays. If you've placed links from other
InDesign documents, they are included as well.
Additional preflight profile for Digital Publishing is also available (Window > Output > Preflight).
Discoverable Folio Builder and Folio Overlay panels
The Folio Builder and Folio Overlay panels are located under the Window menu.
Folio Builder: Choose Window > Folio Builder
Folio Overlay: Choose Window > Folio Overlay
Note: In InDesign CS5.5, Folio Overlay panel was called Overlay Creator, and these panels were available under the Windows > Extensions
menu.
Digital publishing workspace
Use the Digital Publishing workspace to display all the tools and panels required for working on digital publications. Select Digital Publishing
workspace from the workspace switcher in the Application bar.
To the top
EPUB and HTML5
EPUB Export workflows have been simplified, and you can now choose an EPUB version to export to. The Export to EPUB dialog box has been
reorganized and simplified.
Watch this video by Lynda.com for a quick overview of how to Export to EPUB.
EPUB2 enhancements
Several enhancements were made in the EPUB2 export in InDesign CS6, to provide better control and efficiencies while export. EPUB2 remains
the most dominant EPUB standard with a majority of devices and readers supporting it.
Specify options to float a frame either left or right. These options can be specified using the Object Export Options.
Additional inline and anchored text frame attributes are translated to the CSS: Size, border style and width, fill color, padding (inset on text
frame), and margin (on text wrap)
Specify different values for each margins in an EPUB
Link to multiple custom CSS files
Split an EPUB into smaller files based on export tags specified in paragraph styles.
New XHTML document is created when you link to an external eBook cover file
Support for converting InDesign table cell styles to CSS in the exported EPUB
EPUB table dimension includes attributes for column width and row minimum height
InDesign custom bullet and numbering marker strings now exported in EPUB
15
Added support for Japanese Ruby: font, size, and color
EPUB3
IDPF approved the EPUB3 standard in October, 2011. This format supports, among others, audio, video, JavaScript, and japanese vertical text.
EPUB3 export for InDesign supports the following:
EPUB3 package format
Linking to multiple external JavaScripts
Vertical Japanese text
Audio and video tags
Placed HTML and Adobe Edge HTML animations during export
For more information see, Export content for EPUB.
NOTE: EPUB3 validators may report errors if placed HTML or HTML animations are not fully XHTML-compliant. However, EPUB3 viewers may
still function correctly. Adobe Systems cannot guarantee how placed HTML or Adobe Edge animations will perform in third-party EPUB3 viewers.
EPUB3 with layout
EPUB3 with Layout is an experimental format that builds on the EPUB 3.0 specification. Support for alternate and adaptive layouts including:
multiple columns, text wrap, and liquid layouts has been added. Using this technology it is possible to create true adaptive layouts that look good
on all devices and screen sizes and minimizes autoflow issues.
Adobe has submitted this technology to the IDPF for consideration as an extension of the EPUB3 specification. At the time of CS6 launch, there
are no publicly available EPUB viewers that support this feature.
HTML
Enhanced Export to HTML supports the following:
External CSS files for style information
Fallback support using Adobe Flash Player for placed video
Placed HTML and Adobe Edge animations
Linking to multiple custom CSS files
Linking to multiple custom external javascripts
To the top
Interactivity
Create PDF forms
You can design forms in InDesign and export them directly to PDF. InDesign now supports form fields and additional form actions. The Buttons
and Forms library (Window > Interactive > Buttons and Forms) contains items that you can use to design interactive forms. You can also specify
tab orders and tool tips without post-processing in Adobe Acrobat. Accessibility tags are also added to the exported PDF form.
Watch Create PDF forms video by Lynda.com for a quick overview.
Buttons and Forms panel with PDF form components
1. Choose Window > Interactive > Buttons and Forms to display the form components, and place them on the page. You can then modify them
as desired, with custom labels, different colors, or different sizes.
2. From the Buttons and Forms panel, choose Actions to apply a form action to the form fields.
For more information on adding form fields and specifying tab order, see Forms.
16
Export interactive PDF as pages
You can now export interactive PDFs as either spreads or pages. In the Export to Interactive PDF dialog box (File > Export), choose either Pages
or Spreads. The default selection is spreads.
Place Adobe Edge designs
Use the new Adobe® Edge web motion and interaction design tool to bring animated content to websites, using web standards like HTML5,
JavaScript, and CSS3. You can place an Adobe Edge package on your layout to add interactivity and animation to your Folio or HTML export.
Choose File > Place and navigate to the file (.OAM) to place it. The design is placed and InDesign fetches a poster image.
When you preview the folio or export to HTML, the placed Edge design plays.
Older versions of Adobe Edge do not support exporting to OAM. Zip the output folder and rename the extension to OAM.
Embed HTML snippets
You can embed common HTML elements, such as embed codes for YouTube videos or Google Maps. You can copy the HTML embed code and
paste in into InDesign
Choose Object > Insert HTML, and paste the HTML code
Copy the code to the clipboard and paste it on your layout
InDesign automatically fetches a poster image. The embedded object is not interactive in the InDesign layout. Export the layout to HTML or
preview the folio (File > Folio Preview) to interact with the object.
To the top
Productivity enhancements
Split window
To compare two different layouts in the same document, you can split the active window. Use the two panes to view alternative layouts side by
side.
Split layout view
Click the button in the lower-right corner of the document window
Choose Window > Arrange > Split Window
From the Layout menu in the Pages panel, choose Split Window to Compare Layouts
Recently used fonts
To find fonts easily and reduce scrolling, view the recently used fonts at the top of the Font pop-up and Type > Fonts menus.
Specify the number of recent fonts to display under Edit > Preferences > Type > Number of recent fonts to display.
By default the recently used fonts are displayed in chronological order. To display them in alphabetical order, choose Edit > Preferences >
Type > Sort Recent Fonts List Alphabetically.
Align to key object
An additional option is available for distributing objects in the Align panel.
1. Select the objects to distribute, and in the Align panel (Windows > Align) choose Align To Key Object from the Align To list.
2. The key object appears with a thick border. Click another object to select it as the key object.
Save backward to earlier versions
To open an InDesign document in a previous version, or to send it to someone who has not upgraded yet, save the document in the InDesign
Markup Language (IDML) format. IDML files are supported by InDesign CS4 or later. Features not supported by the earlier version will not work.
17
The option to save documents to earlier versions is now available from the Save and Save As dialog boxes.
1. Choose File > Save As
2. From the Save As Type list, select InDesign CS4 or later (IDML)
Export and proof grayscale PDFs
You can now proof and export designs as grayscale PDFs. For example, use this feature to quickly export your layout for grayscale printing. The
digital publication remains full color, and you can avoid maintaining separate layouts for grayscale and color outputs.
Use Proof Setup (View > Proof Setup) to specify grayscale proof options, and choose a Dot Gain or Gamma destination. After you've setup the
proof, choose View > Proof Colors to toggle between grayscale and color output.
You can also export a grayscale PDF from within InDesign. All page items, irrespective of their original color space, are converted to grayscale
while exporting to PDF.
1. Choose File > Export and select Adobe PDF (Print).
2. In the export options dialog box, click the Output tab.
3. Under Color Conversion, choose Convert To Destination.
4. Under Destination, choose a Dot Gain or Gray Gamma destination.
Note: Grayscale destinations are not available under the PDF/X-1a standard. The standard supports only CMYK intents. Similarly, PDF/X-2 or
PDF/X-3 standards do not support Gamma Gray destinations.
Complex calculations in panels and dialog boxes
You can now perform complex calculations within the text fields in panels and dialog boxes. Enter a mathematical expression using mathematical
operators, for example, 120p0/2 + 10.
Export to PNG
To export a selection or a range of pages as an image, choose File > Export and then select PNG from the Save As Type list. Use the Export
Options dialog box to specify what to export and the export settings.
Export enhancements
SWF Export: The Export Options dialog box displays Font license information.
Export For: The File > Export For menu has been removed. All supported options are consolidated in the Save As Type list in the Export
dialog box.
Options for exporting to Buzzword, SVG and SVG compressed are no longer available.
To the top
Language support
Adobe World-Ready composers and support for open-source HunSpell dictionaries enable you to use several additional languages using
InDesign.
Placeholder text with specified alphabet
You can enter placeholder text Roman, Arabic, Hebrew, Chinese among others.
To specify the language of placeholder text, press Ctrl (Windows) or Command (Mac OS) when you choose Type > Fill With Placeholder Text. In
the Fill Options dialog box, choose an alphabet and click OK.
HunSpell enhancements
For most languages, InDesign ships with open-source HunSpell dictionaries and HunSpell is the default dictionary provider. You can download and
install additional spelling and hyphenation dictionaries for other languages from the OpenOffice website.
To use InDesign with additional languages, choose Edit > Preferences > Dictionary and then click HunSpell Info.
Indic support
Adobe World-Ready Composer (WRC) provides correct word shaping for many of the non-Western scripts, such as Devanagari. Adobe WorldReady composers in the International English version of InDesign, support several indian languages including Hindi, Marathi, Gujarati, Tamil,
Punjabi, Bengali, Telugu, Oriya, Malayalam, and Kannada.
Hunspell spelling and hyphenation dictionaries are inluded, and so is the Adobe Devanagari font family.
Enable the Adobe World-Ready Composer through a paragraph style (Paragraph Style > Justification > Composer) or using the Paragraph panel
menu.
18
Set indic preferences to work on indic scripts, and correctly import content into InDesign.
1. Choose Window > Utilities > Scripts
2. Double-click indicPreferences.js
3. Open a new document or restart InDesign
Middle Eastern support
InDesign CS6 is also available in middle eastern and north african editions. It adds support for Arabic and Hebrew, and provides several features
for working with right-to-left, bi-directional scripts, and other language-specific features. Enhanced functionality includes support for tables in the
Story Editor, improved Kashida justification, enhanced diacritic positioning, and other text-handling improvements.
See Working with Arabic and Hebrew for more details.
To the top
Extension Manager CS6
With Extension Manager CS6, you can create, edit, activate, import, and export extension sets. Extension Manager CS6 supports the following:
User-level extension installation
Search and filter extensions
MXP to ZXP conversion
Extension dependency support
Installing extensions when multiple languages of a product are installed
Display additional extension information
For more information on using Extension Manager CS6, see Extension Manager CS6
Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
19
What’s new in CS5.5
EPUBS
Usability and productivity
The CS5.5 Design Standard Feature Tour on Adobe TV contains several videos to show you the new features.
To the top
EPUBS
Articles
Articles provide an easy way to create relationships among page items. These relationships are used to define the content to export to EPUB,
HTML, or Accessible PDFs; and to define the order of the content.
Articles panel with the options pullout menu
For more details, see Articles (CS5.5)
Linked stories
Adobe InDesign CS5.5 linked stories makes it easier to manage multiple versions of the same story or text content in the same document.
For more details, see Linked content.
Object Export options
Object export options are used to specify export parameters required when you export to different formats such as EPUB, HTML, or accessible
PDFs. Object export options are applied to both text frames and graphic frames, as well as groups. Object export options are specified to
individual objects or groups and can override the global export settings. Choose Object > Object Export Options.
Object export options dialog box
For more details, see Object export options (CS5.5)
Map styles to export tags
The Paragraph and Character styles have a new subfeature—Export Tagging. Export Tagging lets you define how text with InDesign styles should
be marked up in HTML/EPUB or in the tagged PDF output.
20
Paragraph Style dialog box with Export Tagging options
See Map styles to export tags (CS5.5)
Integration with Adobe Digital Publishing Suite
To create richly designed, interactive publications for tablet devices, InDesign includes Folio Builder and Overlay Creator panels. You can use
these panels to create digital publications called folios.
InDesign and Digital Publishing Suite workflow
See Digital Publishing Suite overview for a bird’s eye view of the solution. For information on creating digital publications for mobile devices, see
www.adobe.com/go/learn_dps_help_en
Improved EPUB and HTML export
InDesign CS5.5 contains a re-engineered EPUB and HTML export solution that offers several improvements to the EPUB export workflow.
See Export content for EPUB and Export content to HTML.
Some of the features are listed below:
General export options: Define book margins, use article order to specify reading order.
Image export options: Define image resolution PPI settings, size, and added support for PNG images. You can also specify image alignment
settings, space before and after images, and insert page breaks.
Content export options: Break document by paragraph styles, enhancements to footnotes, remove soft returns.
21
EPUB Export Options
Audio and video tags in HTML: Placed audio and h.264 video files are enclosed in HTML5 <audio> and <video> tags. An increasing numbers
of hardware and software vendors now support HTML5 audio and video tags.
J-language features: Support for vertical text and Ruby characters.
Added support for sublists: Sublists formatted using the InDesign auto-bullet and auto-number features are represented as nested ordered
and unordered lists.
Table headers and footers: Table headers and footers are exported to EPUB and HTML.
Table of contents: InDesign table of content is now included in the EPUB export instead of the NCX manifest.
Publish date: Publish date metadata value is automatically inserted. Other data such as author and keywords, that you provide using the File
> File Info are also exported to the EPUB file.
To the top
Usability and productivity
PDF Enhancements
Support for PDF/X-4:2010 has been added. PDF/X-4:2010 is identical to the earlier PDF/X-4:2008, except that it relaxes certain restrictions on
how layers can be specified in the PDF. This change allows InDesign CS5.5 to allow creating layers in the exported PDF, and provides PDF 1.6
compatibility. Apart from layers support, PDF 1.6 also allows JPEG2000 compression as an option for the color and grayscale images.
If you earlier used PDF/X-4:2008 to certify files that you sent to printers, don’t expect any changes in your workflow.
Note: The default [PDF/X-4:2008] Adobe PDF preset has been retained, but updated to use the PDF/X-4:2010 specification, so that your existing
workflows do not break.
Drag and drop anchored objects
You can now drag an existing object into a text frame to anchor it. Drag the blue square near the top right corner to the location you want to
anchor it to.
Drag the blue square to anchor the object
See Working with anchored objects using drag-and-drop (CS5.5)
Better PDF tag support
Create accessible PDFs for Adobe Acrobat, Adobe Reader, or other software such as screen readers. InDesign automatically adds tags for the
following:
Tables and nested tables
22
Table tags in exported PDF
Lists and nested lists
List tags in exported PDF
Footnotes
Footnote tags in exported PDF
Hyperlinks
Hyperlink tags in exported PDF
Note: The THead, TBody, and TFoot tags are honored only if you export to PDF version 1.5 or higher
For information exporting as PDF, see Export to PDF for printing and Create interactive documents for PDF.
PDF enhancements
Support for PDF/X-4:2010 has been added. PDF/X-4:2010 is identical to the earlier PDF/X-4:2008, except that it relaxes certain restrictions on
how layers can be specified in the PDF. This change allows InDesign CS5.5 to allow creating layers in the exported PDF, and provides PDF 1.6
compatibility. Apart from layers support, PDF 1.6 also allows JPEG2000 compression as an option for the color and grayscale images.
If you earlier used PDF/X-4:2008 to certify files that you sent to printers, don’t expect any changes in your workflow.
Note: The default [PDF/X-4:2008] Adobe PDF preset has been retained, but updated to use the PDF/X-4:2010 specification, so that your existing
workflows do not break.
Keywords: novice user, new to InDesign, getting started videos
23
InDesign getting started tutorials
What is InDesign CC
Adobe TV (Jun. 13, 2013)
video-tutorial
Learn about Adobe InDesign, the industry-standard publishing application for print publications, interactive PDF documents, digital
magazines, and EPUBs.
Learn InDesign CC video tutorials
Adobe TV (May. 21, 2013)
video-tutorial
Learn the basics of InDesign CC with Getting Started and New Features tutorials by product experts.
10 Things Beginners Want To Know How To Do in InDesign
Terry White (Nov. 26, 2012)
video-tutorial
Terry will demonstrate 10 things beginners want to know how to do in Adobe InDesign CS6.
Linking Content
Anne-Marie Concepcion (May. 15, 2012)
video-tutorial
Watch this video tutorial to learn how to create and update links between objects in the same document and others.
Using the Content Collector and Content Placer too...
Anne-Marie Concepcion (May. 15, 2012)
video-tutorial
Learn about the Content Collector and Content Placer tools. See how to use the Conveyor and most of its options, such as navigating
and drilling down into groups.
Printing booklets using your desktop printer
Jeff Witchel (Oct. 15, 2012)
video-tutorial
Learn how to create a booklet and print it using your desktop printer
Creating and saving your own workspace
Jeff Witchel (Oct. 15, 2012)
video-tutorial
Learn how to personalize the workspace
Setting pagination (video 3:56)
David Blatner (Sep. 1, 2012)
video-tutorial
Learn how to automatically number pages and chapters in multiple documents.
Layers magazine video tutorials
video-tutorial (Aug. 1, 2012)
Visit Layers Magazine, to see the latest InDesign tutorials.
Applying guide-based Liquid Layout rules
Anne-Marie Concepcion (May. 15, 2012)
video-tutorial
Learn how guide-based Liquid Layout rules work, and how to create liquid guides and ruler guides.
Applying object-based Liquid Layout rules
Anne-Marie Concepcion (May. 15, 2012)
video-tutorial
Discover how the object-based Liquid Layout rules work, both on-object and via the Liquid Layout panel.
24
Building a Newsletter
Kelly McCathran (May. 15, 2012)
video-tutorial
This tutorial shows how to create a newsletter, which is one of the easiest, most inexpensive ways to reach customers and colleagues or
connect with family.
Creating a Letterhead
Kelly McCathran (May. 15, 2012)
video-tutorial
Letterhead is fundamental for branding, in this InDesign tutorial we will build one from scratch, complete with guides, logo, and contact
text.
Creating and previewing a basic form
Anne-Marie Concepcion (May. 15, 2012)
video-tutorial
A tutorial to show how to create a simple form using most of the different types of fields available in InDesign.
Exporting to EPUB 3 and fixed layout
Anne-Marie Concepcion (May. 15, 2012)
video-tutorial
This video demonstration helps you learn about the new EPUB3 option in the Export EPUB dialog box.
Reviewing the Forms tools
Anne-Marie Concepcion (May. 15, 2012)
video-tutorial
An overview of the form field-related buttons, dialog boxes and menu commands in InDesign. Compare the old and new ways of creating
interactive forms.
Testing a form in Acrobat
Anne-Marie Concepcion (May. 15, 2012)
video-tutorial
This tutorial shows you how InDesign form fields look in Acrobat or Reader. Then, learn how to continue modifying the interactive fields in
Acrobat for additional functionality, and how the form performs in Acrobat.
Understanding Liquid Layout rules
Anne-Marie Concepcion (May. 15, 2012)
video-tutorial
This tutorial defines and demonstrates Liquid Layout, and tours the location of Liquid Layout-related commands and dialog boxes.
Using advanced EPUB 2 export controls
Anne-Marie Concepcion (May. 15, 2012)
video-tutorial
This tutorial discusses the new paragraph style option for splitting a document for EPUB export.
Using basic Liquid Layout rules: Scale, Recenter, and Based on Master
Anne-Marie Concepcion (May. 15, 2012)
video-tutorial
Discover how to apply None, Scale, and Recenter rules when resizing a layout. Also learn the meaning behind "Based on Master."
What is InDesign CS6?
Adobe TV (May. 15, 2012)
video-tutorial
Learn about Adobe InDesign, the industry-standard publishing application for print publications, interactive PDF documents, digital
magazines, and EPUBs.
Working with Alternate Layouts
Anne-Marie Concepcion (May. 15, 2012)
video-tutorial
Learn how to use Alternate Layouts for both print and digital publishing.
25
Working with Frames
Kelly McCathran (May. 15, 2012)
video-tutorial
Everything that is placed into InDesign ends up in a frame. You can create frames from scratch, or if you "place" (import) text or images
into a document, InDesign automatically creates the frame for you.
Working with Graphics
Kelly McCathran (May. 15, 2012)
video-tutorial
In this video you'll learn about placing, which is how you import photos or text into your InDesign page. We'll go over the popular image
formats: PSD, AI, PSD, TIFF, and JPEG. You will also see how to scale, center, and crop photos.
Working with Tools
Kelly McCathran (May. 15, 2012)
video-tutorial
The InDesign toolbar contains a lot of tools, many of which are hidden or "nested" underneath the tools you see initially. In this video you
will see the primary tools used to select, rotate and size objects. You'll also learn how to use the Type tool to edit text and create frames
with or without borders, switch tools using your keyboard, and navigate with the Hand and Zoom tools.
Build digital magazines with InDesign CS5.5 and Adobe Digital Publishing Suite (video 09:06)
Terry White (May. 7, 2012)
video-tutorial
In this video, see you how to create immersive digital magazines for tablet devices using InDesign.
Create more compelling eBooks with InDesign CS5.5 (video 16:11)
Terry White (May. 7, 2012)
video-tutorial
In this video, see the new features in InDesign CS5.5 - including linked text, articles panel, and the ability to embed audio and video –
that will help you design more engaging eBooks than ever before.
Learn InDesign CS6 video tutorials
Adobe TV (May. 7, 2012)
video-tutorial
Learn the basics of InDesign CS6 with Getting Started and New Features tutorials by product experts.
Using the Control panel (video 2:14), CS3-CS6
Adam Pratt (Jan. 2, 2011)
video-tutorial
Learn how to use the context-sensitive Control panel in InDesign to access frequently used features.
Using the Links panel (video 5:23), CS4-CS6
Michael Ninness (Jan. 2, 2011)
video-tutorial
Watch and learn how to customize the Links panel to suit your needs.
Adding audio and video content to EPUB (video 02:46)
Colin Fleming (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
In this video tutorial, see how simple it is to embed audio and video content in InDesign CS5.5 and later, for export to EPUB.
Adding headers and footers to tables (video 3:18)
Anne-Marie Concepcion (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
Watch this video to learn how to add headers and footer to tables in your InDesign layout.
Adobe Creative Suite 5/5.5 Printing Guide (PDF, 21 MB)
article (Jan. 1, 2011)
Download this guide to learn how to set up Adobe documents for print. All the information you need for professional printing in one place.
Applying GREP styles (video 4:46)
Michael Ninness (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
26
This video tutorial shows you how to apply a character style to any text that matches the GREP expression you specify. Make the GREP
style part of a paragraph style.
Building a grid of objects quickly (PDF, 100 KB)
article (Jan. 1, 2011)
Tutorial to build a grid of objects in InDesign CS5 and later.
Classroom in a Book
Adobe Press (Jan. 1, 2011)
article
This completely revised CS6 edition covers the new tools for adding PDF form fields, linking content, and creating alternative layouts for
digital publishing. The companion CD includes all the lesson files that readers need to work along with the book.
Controlling order of content export from InDesign to EPUB without changing your layout (video 04:54)
Colin Fleming (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
Learn how to create and organize articles in the Articles panel for export to EPUB, without changing layout or writing code.
Creating a table of contents (video 4:15), CS3-CS6
David Blatner (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
In this video, see the basics of setting up a table of contents.
Creating accessible PDF documents (PDF, 2.6 MB)
article (Jan. 1, 2011)
Creating and editing motion presets (video 5:23)
Anne-Marie Concepcion (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
See how to edit and customize motion path presets, which allow you to animate images or text in InDesign.
Creating and formatting tables (video 6:29), CS3-CS6
Anne-Marie Concepcion (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
See how to create and format tables.
Creating bullets and numbering (video 12:16), CS3-CS6
Anne-Marie Concepcion (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
See how to create bullets and add them to your layout.
Creating conditional text (video 6:48), CS4-CS6
David Blatner (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
Learn how to use conditional text in InDesign.
Creating covers and title pages for EPUB (video 05:50)
Colin Fleming (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
Learn how to create covers and title pages for your EPUB titles.
Creating cross-references (video 5:45), CS4-CS6
David Blatner (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
Walk through the procedure of adding cross-references. Create cross-references that can be updated quickly when the target text or
pagination changes. Create a custom cross-reference format.
Creating documents with Interactive features (video 8:06)
Anne-Marie Concepcion (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
Learn how to use the Media panel, the Preview panel, and the Timing panel to determine what happens when.
27
Creating drop shadows (video 3:39), CS3-CS6
Anne-Marie Concepcion (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
In this short demo, see how to apply the Drop Shadow effect to objects in your layout.
Creating footnotes (video 2:44), CS3-CS6
David Blatner (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
In this short video, learn the essentials of adding footnotes.
Creating interactive documents in a snap (PDF, 201 KB)
article (Jan. 1, 2011)
A handy tutorial on how to add interactivity to your documents.
Creating multistate objects (PDF, 203 KB)
article (Jan. 1, 2011)
This short tutorial shows you how to create multi-state objects to add interactivity.
Creating rich interactive documents (PDF, 6.7 MB)
article (Jan. 1, 2011)
Learn how to create rich interactive documents using InDesign.
Creating running headers and footers (video 5:22), CS3-CS6
Anne-Marie Concepcion (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
Watch how to use variables to create running headers and footers.
Defining Sections (video 4:59), CS3-CS6
David Blatner (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
Learn how to define sections in an InDesign document.
Document installed fonts (video 2:29)
Michael Ninness (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
Learn how to use document installed fonts in your designs, in InDesign CS5 and later.
Enhanced eBook Authoring (video 1:10)
video-tutorial (Jan. 1, 2011)
Watch a quick a over view on the EPUB capabilities in InDesign CS5.5.
Exploring new FLA export options (video 6:26)
Anne-Marie Concepcion (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
See how to publish your InDesign project in a variety of Flash formats by using the enhanced Export dialog box in InDesign CS5 and
later.
Exporting documents to EPUB (PDF, 265 KB)
article (Jan. 1, 2011)
A short and quick overview on how to export your layouts to EPUB in InDesign CS5.
Exporting to EPUB for the Apple iBookstore (PDF, 2.5 MB)
article (Jan. 1, 2011)
Learn how to create an EPUB for the Apple iBook store
Finding and changing expressions, text and object formatting (video 6:38), CS3-CS6
Anne-Marie Concepcion (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
Watch how to use the Find/Change command to search for and replace characters, formats, and more.
28
Folio Producer Tools (video 1:04)
video-tutorial (Jan. 1, 2011)
An very short overview of Folio Producer tools for Digital Publishing.
Generating image captions with metadata (PDF, 148 KB)
article (Jan. 1, 2011)
A short tutorial on how to work with medata and auto-generate captions for images in your layout.
Grid Mode and Live Distribute (video 2:48)
Michael Ninness (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
Watch how you can quickly create grids on the fly using design tools that are "gridified".
Importing content into InDesign (video 8:37), CS3-CS6
Terry White (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
Learn how to import content from Word, Excel, Photoshop, and PDF files.
Layers panel (video 2:59)
Michael Ninness (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
See how the all new Layers panel lets you manage objects in complex documents with more control in InDesign CS5.
Linking text stories (PDF, 217 KB)
article (Jan. 1, 2011)
A short tutorial on the Place and Link Story feature in InDesign CS5.5.
Live captions (video 3:04)
Michael Ninness (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
See how InDesign CS5 and later allow you to take advantage of metadata embedded in an image to create live captions and then
automatically and flexibly place them in your layout.
Making shiny graphics (PDF, 203 KB)
Mike Rankin (Jan. 1, 2011)
article
This tutorial shows you how to apply a shiny, glossy effect on objects in your layout.
Managing documents with multiple page sizes (PDF, 136 KB)
article (Jan. 1, 2011)
A short tutorial on how to manage documents with multiple page sizes, in InDesign CS5 and later.
Managing pages (video 3:53), CS3-CS6
Mordy Golding (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
See how to manage pages in InDesign. Use the Pages panel to add, remove, and rearrange pages.
Mini Bridge: Getting access to your assets (PDF, 180 KB)
article (Jan. 1, 2011)
Use Bridge as a floating panel inside InDesign. yes Mini Bridge.
Mixing page sizes with the new Page tool (video 8:03)
Anne-Marie Concepcion (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
Create complete brochures and book covers along with text with the new ability to mix page sizes within a single file
New export options for EPUB (video 05:56), CS5.5
Colin Fleming (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
29
See an overview of all the new Export Options for EPUB in InDesign CS5.5, including the ordering panel and cover improvements.
Paragraphs that span and split columns (video 2:01)
Michael Ninness (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
See how to build complex layouts in less clicks with paragraphs that span or split columns in InDesign CS5 and later.
Placing images in tables (video 4:16), CS3-CS6
Anne-Marie Concepcion (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
Learn how to place an image into a table cell.
Preparing files for output (video 7:09), CS3-CS5
Colin Fleming (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
See how to prepare files for output.
Rotating Spread view (video 3:31), CS4-CS6
David Blatner (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
When one or more objects on a page is rotated, learn how to rotate the spread view to make easy edits. Discover a number of navigation
tips to save time.
Saving production time (PDF, 148 KB), CS5
article (Jan. 1, 2011)
Some small features that save you tons of time in CS5.
Selection tool, Gap tool & Live Corner effects (video 5:13)
Michael Ninness (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
Watch how you can make short work of everyday layout tasks using these intuitive productivity tools.
Setting object export options (PDF, 160 KB), CS5.5 and later
article (Jan. 1, 2011)
How to use the Object Export options to streamline your export workflow.
Setting opacity (video 2:31)
Anne-Marie Concepcion (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
See how to apply independent opacity settings for objects, fills, strokes, and text.
Spanning and Splitting columns (video 6:15)
Anne-Marie Concepcion (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
Set up spanning heads over any number of columns or split a group of columns into additional columns to save vertical space.
Styles mapped to tags in InDesign for improved EPUB export (video 05:13)
Colin Fleming (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
In InDesign CS5.5 and later, you can map paragraph and character styles directly to EPUB, HTML and PDF tags to ensure that styles
you define in InDesign are exported appropriately. You can also add CSS class names and type n your own custom tags.
Synchronizing master pages (video 2:54), CS3-CS6
David Blatner (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
See this video to learn how to synchronize master pages, styles, and swatches to maintain a consistent look and feel across several
documents.
Track text changes (video 2:01)
Michael Ninness (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
30
Learn how to collaborate with even greater efficiency using new Track Text Changes in InDesign CS5 and later.
Using Object Export options to customize how objects and images export to EPUB ( video 05:18)
Colin Fleming (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
Use Object Export Options to customize how objects and images are exported to EPUB to ensure best viewing results on any screen no matter what size.
Using keyboard shortcuts (video 8:36), CS3-CS6
Colin Fleming (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
See a demonstration of frequentl used keyboard shortcuts, and use Quick Apply.
Using object styles (video 3:54), CS3-CS6
Anne-Marie Concepcion (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
Watch and learn how to create object styles in InDesign, and use styles to apply the same set of attributes and effects to several objects.
Using table styles (video 7:23), CS3-CS6
Anne-Marie Concepcion (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
See this video see how to create and apply table styles and cell styles.
Using the Text Wrap panel (video 5:03)
David Blatner (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
Learn how to use the Text Wrap panel to make text automatically flow around pictures and objects.
Working with Microsoft Word and Excel tables in InDesign (video 9:36), CS3-CS6
David Blatner (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
Learn how to import or link tables from Word and Excel in InDesign. See how to import tables with or without formatting, and apply
formatting using styles in InDesign.
Working with Smart Guides (video 4:04), CS4-CS6
Michael Ninness (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
Take advantage of Smart Guides when creating, moving, rotating, and aligning objects. Learn how to avoid clutter in your layout.
Working with anchored objects (video 6:10), CS3-CS6
Anne-Marie Concepcion (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
In this video demonstration, see how to insert anchored objects into an InDesign text frame.
Working with master pages (video 3:00), CS3-CS6
Colin Fleming (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
See how to work with master pages, with the ability to override master page items, and text wrap on a master page.
Working with text (video 5:51), CS3-CS6
David Blatner (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
See how to control character and paragraph using the Control panel in InDesign.
Working with text styles (video 3:36)
Terry White (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
See how to work with text styles. Also learn how to use Quick Apply
31
Create new documents
Creating new documents
Create a new document
New Document options
Document window overview
Create custom page sizes
Define document presets
Create a document using a preset
Page design begins with the basics: starting a new document, setting up pages, and positioning margins and columns or changing grid settings.
To the top
Create a new document
1. Choose File > New > Document.
The New Document dialog box combines the Document Setup and the Margins And Columns dialog boxes, so that you can set up the page
size, margins, and page columns all in one place. You can change these settings at any time.
2. Specify document setup options. (See New Document options.)
To specify the dimensions of the bleed and slug areas, click the Arrow button before the Bleed and Slug label. The bleed and slug areas
extend out from the edges of the defined Page Size. To make the bleed or slug areas extend evenly on all sides, click the Make All Settings
The Same icon
.
3. (Only in InDesign CC) Select the Preview checkbox to see how your new document will look like. Make necessary changes if required.
4. Click OK to open the new document with the settings you specified.
To set default layout settings for all new documents, choose File > Document Setup or Layout > Margins And Columns, and set options when
no documents are open.
To the top
New Document options
Document Preset Choose a preset that you have saved earlier.
Intent If you are creating a document to be output to PDF or SWF for the web, choosing the Web option changes several options in the dialog
box, such as turning off Facing Pages, changing the orientation from portrait to landscape, and using a page size based on monitor resolution. You
can edit any of these settings after the document is created.
CS6 and later: Digital publishing intent has been added for publications aimed for the Digital Publishing Suite. You can also change the intent of
the document after it is created.
Number of pages Specify the number of pages to create in the new document.
Start Page # Specify which number the document starts on. If you specify an even number (such as 2) with Facing Pages selected, the first
spread in the document begins with a two-page spread. See Start a document with a two-page spread.
Facing Pages Select this option to make left and right pages face each other in a double-page spread, such as for books and magazines.
Deselect this option to let each page stand alone, such as when you’re printing flyers or posters or when you want objects to bleed in the binding.
After you’ve created a document, you can use the Pages panel to create spreads with more than two pages or force the first two pages to open as
a spread. (See Control spread pagination.)
Master Text Frame CS5.5 and earlier: Select this option to create a text frame the size of the area within the margin guides, matching the column
settings you specified. The master text frame is added to the A Master. (See Using text frames on master pages.)
The Master Text Frame option is available only when you’ve chosen File > New > Document.
Primary Text Frame CS6 and later: select this option to add a primary text frame on the master page. When you apply a new master page, the
story in the primary text frame automatically flows into the primary text frame of the new master page.
Page Size Choose a page size from the menu, or type values for Width and Height. Page size represents the final size you want after bleeds or
other marks outside the page are trimmed.
32
Orientation Click Portrait
(tall) or Landscape
(wide). These icons interact dynamically with the dimensions you enter in Page Size. When
Height is the larger value, the portrait icon is selected. When Width is the larger value, the landscape icon is selected. Clicking the deselected icon
switches the Height and Width values.
Tip: To specify the dimensions of the bleed and slug areas, click the Arrow button before the Bleed and Slug label in the New Document dialog
box. To make the bleed or slug areas extend evenly on all sides, click the Make All Settings The Same icon
.
Bleed The Bleed area allows you to print objects that are arranged at the outer edge of the defined page size. For a page of the required
dimensions, if an object is positioned at its edge, some white may appear at the edge of the printed area due to slight misalignment during printing
or trimming. For this reason, you should position an object that is at the edge of the page of the required dimensions a little beyond the edge, and
trim after printing. Bleed area is shown by a red line on the document. You can set bleed area settings from Bleed in the Print dialog box.
Slug The slug area is discarded when the document is trimmed to its final page size. The slug area holds printing information, customized color
bar information, or displays other instructions and descriptions for other information in the document. Objects (including text frames) positioned in
the slug area are printed but will disappear when the document is trimmed to its final page size.
Objects outside the bleed or slug area (whichever extends farther) do not print.
Preview (Only in InDesign CC) Select this checkbox to see how your new document will look like. Make necessary changes to the options if the
preview is not as desired.
Note: You can also click the Save Document Preset icon to save document settings for future use.
To the top
Document window overview
Each page or spread in your document has its own pasteboard and guides, which are visible in Normal View mode. (To switch to Normal View,
choose View > Screen Mode > Normal.) The pasteboard is replaced with a gray background when the document is viewed using one of the
Preview modes. (See Preview documents.) You can change the color of this preview background and guides in Guides & Pasteboard preferences.
Document and guides in Normal View Mode
A. Spread (black lines) B. Page (black lines) C. Margin guides (magenta lines) D. Column guides (violet lines) E. Bleed area (red lines) F. Slug
area (blue lines)
Document window notes:
Lines of other colors are ruler guides which, when present, appear in the layer color when selected. See Layers.
Column guides appear in front of margin guides. When a column guide is exactly in front of a margin guide, it hides the margin guide.
To the top
Create custom page sizes
You can create custom page sizes that appear in the Page Size menu in the New Document dialog box.
1. Choose File > New > Document.
2. Choose Custom Page Size from the Page Size menu.
3. Type a name for the page size, specify page size settings, and then click Add.
The New Doc Sizes.txt file that lets you create custom page sizes in previous version of InDesign is not available in InDesign CS5 or later.
To the top
Define document presets
You can save document settings for page size, columns, margins, and bleed and slug areas in a preset to save time and ensure consistency when
creating similar documents.
1. Choose File > Document Presets > Define.
33
2. Click New in the dialog box that appears.
3. Specify a name for the preset and select basic layout options in the New Document Preset dialog box. (See New Document options for a
description of each option.)
4. Click OK twice.
You can save a document preset to a separate file and distribute it to other users. To save and load document preset files, use the Save and
Load buttons in the Document Presets dialog box.
To the top
Create a document using a preset
1. Do one of the following:.
Choose File > Document Preset > [name of preset]. (Hold down Shift while choosing the preset to create a new document based on the
preset without opening the New Document dialog box.)
Choose File > New > Document, and then choose a preset from the Document Preset menu in the New Document dialog box.
The New Document dialog box displays the preset layout options.
2. Make changes to the options (if desired) and click OK.
To skip the New Document dialog box, press the Shift key as you select a preset from the Document Preset menu.
Recommended workflow for InDesign documents
Use document templates
Add documents to a book file
Change document setup, margins, and columns
Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
34
Create new documents (Chinese, Japanese, and Korean only)
Creating new documents
Create a new document
Create a new document with a layout grid
Create a new document with margins and columns
New Document options
Document window overview
Create custom page sizes
Define document presets
Create a document using a preset
Page design begins with the basics: starting a new document, setting up pages, and positioning margins and columns or changing grid settings.
When creating a document you can select from two workflows, either Layout Grid or Margins and Columns.
note: Whichever workflow you select, the file type of the document will be exactly the same. You can view a layout grid created in the document
using Margins and Columns, or hide a document layout grid created using the Layout Grid option by switching between views.
The workflow based on typesetting composition using Layout Grid is only available in Asian language versions. When you select Layout Grid, a
grid of squares will be displayed in the document. You can set the number of individual squares (number of rows or characters) from the page size
settings. Page margins will also be determined by this. By using a layout grid you can position an object accurately on a page using grid cell units.
The Margins and Columns workflow option is the same as in Western workflows. Western workflows are configured from Margins and Columns,
and objects are arranged on pages without layout grids. You can set the writing direction to horizontal or vertical using either the Margins and
Columns or Layout Grid workflow.
A document showing a layout grid (left) A document showing margins and columns (right)
To the top
Create a new document
1. Choose File > New > Document.
The New Document dialog box combines the Document Setup and the Margins And Columns dialog boxes, so that you can set up the page
size, margins, and page columns all in one place. You can change these settings at any time.
2. Specify document setup options. (See New Document options.)
To specify the dimensions of the bleed and slug areas, click More Options. The bleed and slug areas extend out from the edges of the
.
defined Page Size. To make the bleed or slug areas extend evenly on all sides, click the Make All Settings The Same icon
3. Click OK to open a new document with the settings you specified.
Note: To set default layout settings for all new documents, choose File > Document Setup or Layout > Margins And Columns, and set options
when no documents are open.
To the top
Create a new document with a layout grid
1. Choose File > New > Document.
2. Change the number of pages, page size, and other options. To specify the dimensions of the bleed and slug areas, click More Options.
3. Click Layout Grid Dialog, and then specify the layout grid settings. (See Layout Grid options.)
35
4. Click OK to open a new document with the settings you specified.
The layout grid is for layout purposes only. To add text to your document, add frame grids or text frames.
Create a new document with margins and columns
To the top
When creating a document with Western style workflow, use Margins and Columns. If the general layout settings such as margins and number of
columns in a document are already known, use the Margins and Columns dialog box as the simplest method.
1. Choose File > New > Document.
2. Specify options using the New Document dialog box. Each option is the same as when creating a document using a layout grid.
3. Click Margins and Columns and select your options using the New Margins and Columns dialog box. The options are the same as in the
Margins and Columns dialog box. (See Change document setup, margins, and columns.)
4. Click OK.
Even when a document has been created using Margins and Columns, you can view its layout grid by choosing View > Grids & Guides > Show
Layout Grid, and you can modify the layout grid settings by choosing Layout > Layout Grid.
To set the default settings for all new documents, choose File > Document Setup, Layout > Margins and Columns, or Layout > Layout Grid
Settings, and set options when no documents are open.
To the top
New Document options
Document Preset Choose a preset that you have saver earlier.
Intent If you are creating a document to be output to PDF or SWF for the web, choosing the Web option changes several options in the dialog
box, such as turning off Facing Pages, changing the orientation from portrait to landscape, and using a page size based on monitor resolution. You
can edit any of these settings, but you cannot change the Intent setting after the document is created.
CS6: Digital publishing intent has been added for publications aimed for the Digital Publishing Suite.
Number of pages Specify the number of pages to create in the new document.
Start Page # Specify which number the document starts on. If you specify an even number (such as 2) with Facing Pages selected, the first
spread in the document begins with a two-page spread. See Start a document with a two-page spread.
Facing Pages Select this option to make left and right pages face each other in a double-page spread, such as for books and magazines.
Deselect this option to let each page stand alone, such as when you’re printing flyers or posters or when you want objects to bleed in the binding.
After you’ve created a document, you can use the Pages panel to create spreads with more than two pages or force the first two pages to open as
a spread. (See Control spread pagination.)
Master Text Frame CS5.5 and earlier: Select this option to create a text frame the size of the area within the margin guides, matching the column
settings you specified. The master text frame is added to the A-Master. (See Using text frames on master pages.)
The Master Text Frame option is available only when you’ve chosen File > New > Document.
Primary Text Frame CS6 only: select this option to add a primary text frame on the master page. When you apply a new master page, the story
in the primary text frame automatically flows into the primary text frame of the new master page.
Page Size Choose a page size from the menu, or type values for Width and Height. Page size represents the final size you want after bleeds or
other marks outside the page are trimmed.
Orientation Click Portrait
(tall) or Landscape
(wide). These icons interact dynamically with the dimensions you enter in Page Size. When
Height is the larger value, the portrait icon is selected. When Width is the larger value, the landscape icon is selected. Clicking the deselected icon
switches the Height and Width values.
Tip: To specify the dimensions of the bleed and slug areas, click More Options in the New Document dialog box. To make the bleed or slug areas
extend evenly on all sides, click the Make All Settings The Same icon
.
Bleed The Bleed area allows you to print objects that are arranged at the outer edge of the defined page size. For a page of the required
dimensions, if an object is positioned at its edge, some white may appear at the edge of the printed area due to slight misalignment during printing
or trimming. For this reason, you should position an object that is at the edge of the page of the required dimensions a little beyond the edge, and
trim after printing. Bleed area is shown by a red line on the document. You can set bleed area settings from Bleed in the Print dialog box.
Slug The slug area is discarded when the document is trimmed to its final page size. The slug area holds printing information, customized color
bar information, or displays other instructions and descriptions for other information in the document. Objects (including text frames) positioned in
the slug area are printed but will disappear when the document is trimmed to its final page size.
36
Objects outside the bleed or slug area (whichever extends farther) do not print.
Note: You can also click the Save Document Preset icon to save document settings for future use.
To the top
Document window overview
Each page or spread in your document has its own pasteboard and guides, which are visible in Normal View mode. (To switch to Normal View,
choose View > Screen Mode > Normal.) The pasteboard is replaced with a gray background when the document is viewed using one of the
Preview modes. (See Preview documents.) You can change the color of this preview background and guides in Guides & Pasteboard preferences.
Document and guides in Normal View Mode
A. Spread (black lines) B. Page (black lines) C. Margin guides (magenta lines) D. Column guides (violet lines) E. Bleed area (red lines) F. Slug
area (blue lines)
Document window notes:
Lines of other colors are ruler guides which, when present, appear in the layer color when selected. See Layers.
Column guides appear in front of margin guides. When a column guide is exactly in front of a margin guide, it hides the margin guide.
To the top
Create custom page sizes
You can create custom page sizes that appear in the Page Size menu in the New Document dialog box.
1. Choose File > New > Document.
2. Choose Custom Page Size from the Page Size menu.
3. Type a name for the page size, specify page size settings, and then click Add.
The New Doc Sizes.txt file that lets you create custom page sizes in previous version of InDesign is not available in InDesign CS5 or later.
To the top
Define document presets
You can save document settings for page size, columns, margins, and bleed and slug areas in a preset to save time and ensure consistency when
creating similar documents.
1. Choose File > Document Presets > Define.
2. Click New in the dialog box that appears.
3. Specify a name for the preset and select basic layout options in the New Document Preset dialog box. (See New Document options for a
description of each option.)
4. Click OK twice.
You can save a document preset to a separate file and distribute it to other users. To save and load document preset files, use the Save and
Load buttons in the Document Presets dialog box.
To the top
Create a document using a preset
1. Do one of the following:.
Choose File > Document Preset > [name of preset]. (Hold down Shift while choosing the preset to create a new document based on the
preset without opening the New Document dialog box.)
37
Choose File > New > Document, and then choose a preset from the Document Preset menu in the New Document dialog box.
The New Document dialog box displays the preset layout options.
2. Make changes to the options (if desired) and click OK.
To skip the New Document dialog box, press the Shift key as you select a preset from the Document Preset menu.
Recommended workflow for InDesign documents
Use document templates
Add documents to a book file
Change document setup, margins, and columns
Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
38
Create new documents
Creating new documents
Create a new document
New Document options
Document window overview
Create custom page sizes
Define document presets
Create a document using a preset
Page design begins with the basics: starting a new document, setting up pages, and positioning margins and columns or changing grid settings.
To the top
Create a new document
1. Choose File > New > Document.
The New Document dialog box combines the Document Setup and the Margins And Columns dialog boxes, so that you can set up the page
size, margins, and page columns all in one place. You can change these settings at any time.
2. Specify document setup options. (See New Document options.)
To specify the dimensions of the bleed and slug areas, click the Arrow button before the Bleed and Slug label. The bleed and slug areas
extend out from the edges of the defined Page Size. To make the bleed or slug areas extend evenly on all sides, click the Make All Settings
The Same icon
.
3. Click OK to open the new document with the settings you specified.
To set default layout settings for all new documents, choose File > Document Setup or Layout > Margins And Columns, and set options when
no documents are open.
To the top
New Document options
Document Preset Choose a preset that you have saved earlier.
Intent If you are creating a document to be output to PDF or SWF for the web, choosing the Web option changes several options in the dialog
box, such as turning off Facing Pages, changing the orientation from portrait to landscape, and using a page size based on monitor resolution. You
can edit any of these settings after the document is created.
CS6 and later: Digital publishing intent has been added for publications aimed for the Digital Publishing Suite. You can also change the intent of
the document after it is created.
Number of pages Specify the number of pages to create in the new document.
Start Page # Specify which number the document starts on. If you specify an even number (such as 2) with Facing Pages selected, the first
spread in the document begins with a two-page spread. See Start a document with a two-page spread.
Facing Pages Select this option to make left and right pages face each other in a double-page spread, such as for books and magazines.
Deselect this option to let each page stand alone, such as when you’re printing flyers or posters or when you want objects to bleed in the binding.
After you’ve created a document, you can use the Pages panel to create spreads with more than two pages or force the first two pages to open as
a spread. (See Control spread pagination.)
Master Text Frame CS5.5 and earlier: Select this option to create a text frame the size of the area within the margin guides, matching the column
settings you specified. The master text frame is added to the A Master. (See Using text frames on master pages.)
The Master Text Frame option is available only when you’ve chosen File > New > Document.
Primary Text Frame CS6 and later: select this option to add a primary text frame on the master page. When you apply a new master page, the
story in the primary text frame automatically flows into the primary text frame of the new master page.
Page Size Choose a page size from the menu, or type values for Width and Height. Page size represents the final size you want after bleeds or
other marks outside the page are trimmed.
Orientation Click Portrait
(tall) or Landscape
(wide). These icons interact dynamically with the dimensions you enter in Page Size. When
Height is the larger value, the portrait icon is selected. When Width is the larger value, the landscape icon is selected. Clicking the deselected icon
39
switches the Height and Width values.
Tip: To specify the dimensions of the bleed and slug areas, click the Arrow button before the Bleed and Slug label in the New Document dialog
.
box. To make the bleed or slug areas extend evenly on all sides, click the Make All Settings The Same icon
Bleed The Bleed area allows you to print objects that are arranged at the outer edge of the defined page size. For a page of the required
dimensions, if an object is positioned at its edge, some white may appear at the edge of the printed area due to slight misalignment during printing
or trimming. For this reason, you should position an object that is at the edge of the page of the required dimensions a little beyond the edge, and
trim after printing. Bleed area is shown by a red line on the document. You can set bleed area settings from Bleed in the Print dialog box.
Slug The slug area is discarded when the document is trimmed to its final page size. The slug area holds printing information, customized color
bar information, or displays other instructions and descriptions for other information in the document. Objects (including text frames) positioned in
the slug area are printed but will disappear when the document is trimmed to its final page size.
Objects outside the bleed or slug area (whichever extends farther) do not print.
Note: You can also click the Save Document Preset icon to save document settings for future use.
To the top
Document window overview
Each page or spread in your document has its own pasteboard and guides, which are visible in Normal View mode. (To switch to Normal View,
choose View > Screen Mode > Normal.) The pasteboard is replaced with a gray background when the document is viewed using one of the
Preview modes. (See Preview documents.) You can change the color of this preview background and guides in Guides & Pasteboard preferences.
Document and guides in Normal View Mode
A. Spread (black lines) B. Page (black lines) C. Margin guides (magenta lines) D. Column guides (violet lines) E. Bleed area (red lines) F. Slug
area (blue lines)
Document window notes:
Lines of other colors are ruler guides which, when present, appear in the layer color when selected. See Layers.
Column guides appear in front of margin guides. When a column guide is exactly in front of a margin guide, it hides the margin guide.
To the top
Create custom page sizes
You can create custom page sizes that appear in the Page Size menu in the New Document dialog box.
1. Choose File > New > Document.
2. Choose Custom Page Size from the Page Size menu.
3. Type a name for the page size, specify page size settings, and then click Add.
The New Doc Sizes.txt file that lets you create custom page sizes in previous version of InDesign is not available in InDesign CS5 or later.
To the top
Define document presets
You can save document settings for page size, columns, margins, and bleed and slug areas in a preset to save time and ensure consistency when
creating similar documents.
1. Choose File > Document Presets > Define.
2. Click New in the dialog box that appears.
3. Specify a name for the preset and select basic layout options in the New Document Preset dialog box. (See New Document options for a
description of each option.)
40
4. Click OK twice.
You can save a document preset to a separate file and distribute it to other users. To save and load document preset files, use the Save and
Load buttons in the Document Presets dialog box.
To the top
Create a document using a preset
1. Do one of the following:.
Choose File > Document Preset > [name of preset]. (Hold down Shift while choosing the preset to create a new document based on the
preset without opening the New Document dialog box.)
Choose File > New > Document, and then choose a preset from the Document Preset menu in the New Document dialog box.
The New Document dialog box displays the preset layout options.
2. Make changes to the options (if desired) and click OK.
To skip the New Document dialog box, press the Shift key as you select a preset from the Document Preset menu.
Recommended workflow for InDesign documents
Use document templates
Add documents to a book file
Change document setup, margins, and columns
Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
41
Workspace and workflow
Creating and saving your own workspace
Jeff Witchel (Oct. 15, 2012)
video-tutorial
Learn how to personalize the workspace
Working with Tools
Kelly McCathran (May. 15, 2012)
video-tutorial
The InDesign toolbar contains a lot of tools, many of which are hidden or "nested" underneath the tools you see initially. In this video you
will see the primary tools used to select, rotate and size objects. You'll also learn how to use the Type tool to edit text and create frames
with or without borders, switch tools using your keyboard, and navigate with the Hand and Zoom tools.
Using keyboard shortcuts (video 8:36), CS3-CS6
Colin Fleming (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
See a demonstration of frequentl used keyboard shortcuts, and use Quick Apply.
42
Workspace basics
Workspace overview
Manage windows and panels
Save and switch workspaces
About view modes
Using the status bar
Control panel overview
About the Navigator panel
Use context menus
Change Interface preferences
Click the following links for more information.
To the top
Workspace overview
You create and manipulate your documents and files using various elements, such as panels, bars, and windows. Any arrangement of these
elements is called a workspace. The workspaces of the different applications in Adobe® Creative Suite® 5 share the same appearance so that you
can move between the applications easily. You can also adapt each application to the way you work by selecting from several preset workspaces
or by creating one of your own.
Although the default workspace layout varies in different products, you manipulate the elements much the same way in all of them.
Default Illustrator workspace
A. Tabbed Document windows B. Application bar C. Workspace switcher D. Panel title bar E. Control panel F. Tools panel G. Collapse To
Icons button H. Four panel groups in vertical dock
The Application bar across the top contains a workspace switcher, menus (Windows only), and other application controls. On the Mac for
certain products, you can show or hide it using the Window menu.
The Tools panel contains tools for creating and editing images, artwork, page elements, and so on. Related tools are grouped.
The Control panel displays options for the currently selected tool. In Illustrator, the Control panel displays options for the currently selected
object. (In Adobe Photoshop® this is known as the Options bar. In Adobe Flash®, Adobe Dreamweaver®, and Adobe Fireworks® this is
known as the Property Inspector and includes properties of the currently selected element.)
The Document window displays the file you’re working on. Document windows can be tabbed and, in certain cases, grouped and docked.
Panels help you monitor and modify your work. Examples include the Timeline in Flash, the Brush panel in Illustrator, the Layers panel in
Adobe Photoshop®, and the CSS Styles panel in Dreamweaver. Panels can be grouped, stacked, or docked.
43
The Application frame groups all the workspace elements in a single, integrated window that lets you treat the application as a single unit.
When you move or resize the Application frame or any of its elements, all the elements within it respond to each other so none overlap.
Panels don’t disappear when you switch applications or when you accidentally click out of the application. If you work with two or more
applications, you can position each application side by side on the screen or on multiple monitors.
If you are using a Mac and prefer the traditional, free-form user interface, you can turn off the Application frame. In Adobe Illustrator®, for
example, select Window > Application Frame to toggle it on or off. (In Flash, the Application frame is on permanently for Mac, and
Dreamweaver for Mac does not use an Application frame.)
Hide or show all panels
(Illustrator, Adobe InCopy®, Adobe InDesign®, Photoshop, Fireworks)To hide or show all panels, including the Tools panel and Control
panel, press Tab.
(Illustrator, InCopy, InDesign, Photoshop) To hide or show all panels except the Tools panel and Control panel, press Shift+Tab.
You can temporarily display hidden panels if Auto-Show Hidden Panels is selected in Interface preferences. It’s always on in Illustrator.
Move the pointer to the edge of the application window (Windows®) or to the edge of the monitor (Mac OS®) and hover over the strip that
appears.
(Flash, Dreamweaver, Fireworks) To hide or show all panels, press F4.
Display panel options
Click the panel menu icon
in the upper-right corner of the panel.
You can open a panel menu even when the panel is minimized.
In Photoshop, you can change the font size of the text in panels and tool tips. In the Interface preferences, choose a size from the UI Font Size
menu.
(Illustrator) Adjust panel brightness
In User Interface preferences, move the Brightness slider. This control affects all panels, including the Control panel.
Reconfigure the Tools panel
You can display the tools in the Tools panel in a single column, or side by side in two columns. (This feature is not available in the Tools panel in
Fireworks and Flash.)
In InDesign and InCopy, you also can switch from single-column to double-column (or single-row) display by setting an option in Interface
preferences.
Click the double arrow at the top of the Tools panel.
To the top
Manage windows and panels
You can create a custom workspace by moving and manipulating Document windows and panels. You can also save workspaces and switch
among them. For Fireworks, renaming custom workspaces can lead to unexpected behavior.
Note: The following examples use Photoshop for demonstration purposes. The workspace behaves the same in all the products.
Rearrange, dock, or float document windows
When you open more than one file, the Document windows are tabbed.
To rearrange the order of tabbed Document windows, drag a window’s tab to a new location in the group.
To undock (float or untab) a Document window from a group of windows, drag the window’s tab out of the group.
Note: In Photoshop you can also choose Window > Arrange > Float in Window to float a single Document window, or Window > Arrange >
Float All In Windows to float all of the Document windows at once. See tech note kb405298 for more information.
Note: Dreamweaver does not support docking and undocking Document windows. Use the Document window’s Minimize button to create
floating windows (Windows), or choose Window > Tile Vertically to create side-by-side Document windows. Search “Tile Vertically” in
Dreamweaver Help for more information on this topic. The workflow is slightly different for Macintosh users.
To dock a Document window to a separate group of Document windows, drag the window into the group.
To create groups of stacked or tiled documents, drag the window to one of the drop zones along the top, bottom, or sides of another window.
You can also select a layout for the group by using the Layout button on the Application bar.
Note: Some products do not support this functionality. However, your product may have Cascade and Tile commands in the Window menu
to help you lay out your documents.
To switch to another document in a tabbed group when dragging a selection, drag the selection over the document’s tab for a moment.
Note: Some products do not support this functionality.
44
Dock and undock panels
A dock is a collection of panels or panel groups displayed together, generally in a vertical orientation. You dock and undock panels by moving
them into and out of a dock.
To dock a panel, drag it by its tab into the dock, at the top, bottom, or in between other panels.
To dock a panel group, drag it by its title bar (the solid empty bar above the tabs) into the dock.
To remove a panel or panel group, drag it out of the dock by its tab or title bar. You can drag it into another dock or make it free-floating.
Navigator panel being dragged out to new dock, indicated by blue vertical highlight
Navigator panel now in its own dock
You can prevent panels from filling all the space in a dock. Drag the bottom edge of the dock up so it no longer meets the edge of the
workspace.
Move panels
As you move panels, you see blue highlighted drop zones, areas where you can move the panel. For example, you can move a panel up or down
in a dock by dragging it to the narrow blue drop zone above or below another panel. If you drag to an area that is not a drop zone, the panel floats
freely in the workspace.
Note: The position of the mouse (rather than the position of the panel), activates the drop zone, so if you can’t see the drop zone, try dragging
the mouse to the place where the drop zone should be.
To move a panel, drag it by its tab.
To move a panel group, drag the title bar.
Narrow blue drop zone indicates Color panel will be docked on its own above the Layers panel group.
45
A. Title bar B. Tab C. Drop zone
Press Ctrl (Windows) or Command (Mac OS) while moving a panel to prevent it from docking. Press Esc while moving the panel to cancel the
operation.
Add and remove panels
If you remove all panels from a dock, the dock disappears. You can create a dock by moving panels to the right edge of the workspace until a drop
zone appears.
To remove a panel, right-click (Windows) or Control-click (Mac) its tab and then select Close, or deselect it from the Window menu.
To add a panel, select it from the Window menu and dock it wherever you want.
Manipulate panel groups
To move a panel into a group, drag the panel’s tab to the highlighted drop zone in the group.
Adding a panel to a panel group
To rearrange panels in a group, drag a panel’s tab to a new location in the group.
To remove a panel from a group so that it floats freely, drag the panel by its tab outside the group.
To move a group, drag the title bar (the area above the tabs).
Stack floating panels
When you drag a panel out of its dock but not into a drop zone, the panel floats freely. The floating panel allows you to position it anywhere in the
workspace. You can stack floating panels or panel groups so that they move as a unit when you drag the topmost title bar.
Free-floating stacked panels
To stack floating panels, drag a panel by its tab to the drop zone at the bottom of another panel.
To change the stacking order, drag a panel up or down by its tab.
Note: Be sure to release the tab over the narrow drop zone between panels, rather than the broad drop zone in a title bar.
To remove a panel or panel group from the stack, so that it floats by itself, drag it out by its tab or title bar.
Resize panels
To minimize or maximize a panel, panel group, or stack of panels, double-click a tab. You can also double-click the tab area (the empty
space next to the tabs).
To resize a panel, drag any side of the panel. Some panels, such as the Color panel in Photoshop, cannot be resized by dragging.
Collapse and expand panel icons
You can collapse panels to icons to reduce clutter on the workspace. In some cases, panels are collapsed to icons in the default workspace.
46
Panels collapsed to icons
Panels expanded from icons
To collapse or expand all panel icons in a column, click the double arrow at the top of the dock.
To expand a single panel icon, click it.
To resize panel icons so that you see only the icons (and not the labels), adjust the width of the dock until the text disappears. To display the
icon text again, make the dock wider.
To collapse an expanded panel back to its icon, click its tab, its icon, or the double arrow in the panel’s title bar.
In some products, if you select Auto-Collapse Icon Panels from the Interface or User Interface Options preferences, an expanded panel
icon collapses automatically when you click away from it.
To add a floating panel or panel group to an icon dock, drag it in by its tab or title bar. (Panels are automatically collapsed to icons when
added to an icon dock.)
To move a panel icon (or panel icon group), drag the icon. You can drag panel icons up and down in the dock, into other docks (where they
appear in the panel style of that dock), or outside the dock (where they appear as floating icons).
To the top
Save and switch workspaces
By saving the current size and position of panels as a named workspace, you can restore that workspace even if you move or close a panel. The
names of saved workspaces appear in the workspace switcher in the Application bar.
Save a custom workspace
1. With the workspace in the configuration you want to save, do one of the following:
(Illustrator) Choose Window > Workspace > Save Workspace.
(Photoshop, InDesign, InCopy) Choose Window > Workspace > New Workspace.
(Dreamweaver) Choose Window > Workspace Layout > New Workspace.
(Flash) Choose New Workspace from the workspace switcher in the Application bar.
(Fireworks) Choose Save Current from the workspace switcher in the Application bar.
2. Type a name for the workspace.
3. (Photoshop, InDesign) Under Capture, select one or more options:
Panel Locations Saves the current panel locations (InDesign only).
Keyboard shortcuts Saves the current set of keyboard shortcuts (Photoshop only).
Menus or Menu Customization Saves the current set of menus.
47
Display or switch workspaces
Select a workspace from the workspace switcher in the Application bar.
In Photoshop, you can assign keyboard shortcuts to each workspace to navigate among them quickly.
Delete a custom workspace
Select Manage Workspaces from the workspace switcher in the Application bar, select the workspace, and then click Delete. (The option is
not available in Fireworks.)
(Photoshop, InDesign, InCopy) Select Delete Workspace from the workspace switcher.
(Illustrator) Choose Window > Workspace > Manage Workspaces, select the workspace, and then click the Delete icon.
(Photoshop, InDesign) Choose Window > Workspace >Delete Workspace, select the workspace, and then click Delete.
Restore the default workspace
1. Select the Default or Essentials workspace from the workspace switcher in the application bar. For Fireworks, see the article
http://www.adobe.com/devnet/fireworks/articles/workspace_manager_panel.html.
Note: In Dreamweaver, Designer is the default workspace.
2. For Fireworks (Windows), delete these folders:
Windows Vista \\Users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Fireworks CS4\
Windows XP \\Documents and Settings\<username>\Application Data\Adobe\Fireworks CS4
3. (Photoshop, InDesign, InCopy) Select Window > Workspace > Reset [Workspace Name].
(Photoshop) Restore a saved workspace arrangement
In Photoshop, workspaces automatically appear as you last arranged them, but you can restore the original, saved arrangement of panels.
To restore an individual workspace, choose Window > Workspace > Reset Workspace Name.
To restore all the workspaces installed with Photoshop, click Restore Default Workspaces in the Interface preferences.
To rearrange the order of workspaces in the application bar, drag them.
To the top
About view modes
You can change the visibility of the document window using the Mode buttons at the bottom of the toolbox or by choosing commands from the
View > Screen Mode menu. When the toolbox is displayed in a single column, you can select view modes by clicking the current mode button and
selecting a different mode from the menu that appears.
Displays artwork in a standard window with all visible grids and guides showing, non-printing objects showing, and a white
Normal Mode
pasteboard.
Preview Mode
Displays artwork as if it were output, with all non-printing elements suppressed (grids, guides, non-printing objects), and the
pasteboard set to the preview background color defined in Preferences.
Bleed Mode
Displays artwork as if it were output, with all non-printing elements suppressed (grids, guides, non-printing objects), the pasteboard
set to the preview background color defined in Preferences, and any printing elements within the document's bleed area (defined in Document
Setup) showing.
Slug Mode
Displays artwork as if it were output, with all non-printing elements suppressed (grids, guides, non-printing objects), the pasteboard
set to the preview background color defined in Preferences, and any printing elements within the document's slug area (defined inDocument
Setup) showing.
Presentation Mode
Mode.
Displays artwork as if it were a slideshow presentation, with no menus, panels, or tools displayed. See Use Presentation
To the top
Using the status bar
The status bar (at the lower left of a document window) shows information about the status of a file and lets you turn to a different page. Click the
status bar menu to do any of the following:
Show the current file in the file system by choosing Reveal In Explorer (Windows®) or Reveal In Finder (Mac OS®).
Show the current file in Adobe® Bridge® by choosing Reveal in Bridge.
Show the current file in Adobe Mini Bridge by choosing Reveal in Mini Bridge.
In Mac OS, you can display the zoom percentage in the status bar by hiding the application bar (Window > Application Bar). In Windows, you
cannot hide the application bar.
48
To the top
Control panel overview
The Control panel (Window > Control) offers quick access to options, commands, and other panels related to the current page item or objects you
select. By default, the Control panel is docked to the top of the document window; however, you can dock it to the bottom of the window, convert it
to a floating panel, or hide it altogether.
Options displayed in the Control panel vary depending on the type of object you select:
When you select a frame, the Control panel displays options for resizing, repositioning, skewing, and rotating the frame, or applying an object
style.
When you select text inside a frame, the Control panel displays either character or paragraph options. Click the paragraph and character
icons on the left side of the Control panel to determine whether paragraph or character options are displayed. If your monitor size and
resolution allows, the Control panel displays additional options. For example, if the character icon is selected, all the character options are
displayed, and some paragraph options appear on the right of the Control panel. If you click the paragraph icon, all paragraph options are
displayed, and some character options appear on the right.
When you select a table cell, the Control panel displays options for adjusting row and column dimensions, merging cells, aligning text, and
adding strokes.
As the options in the Control panel change, you can get more information about each option by using tool tips—pop-up descriptions that appear
when you hover over an icon or option label with the pointer.
Control panel with tool tip displayed
Control panel menu
To open dialog boxes associated with Control panel icons, Alt-click (Windows) or Option-click (Mac OS) as you click a Control panel icon. For
example, when a frame is selected, hold down Alt or Option and click the Rotation Angle icon
to open the Rotate dialog box.
For a video tutorial on using the Control panel, see www.adobe.com/go/vid0064.
Display the panel menu
Click the icon
to the right of the Control panel.
Dock or float the Control panel
Do one of the following:
Drag the vertical bar on the left side of the Control panel until the toolbar is docked to the top or bottom of the application window (Windows)
or screen (Mac OS).
Choose Dock At Top, Dock At Bottom, or Float from the Control panel menu.
Customize the Control panel
1. Choose Customize from the Control panel menu locatedd on the right side of the Control panel.
2. Specify options that you want to display or hide, and then click OK.
To the top
About the Navigator panel
49
If you’re familiar with previous versions of InDesign, you may wonder why you can’t find the Navigator panel. The Navigator panel does not appear
in InDesign CS5. The Power Zoom feature effectively replaces the Navigator panel. See Use power zoom.
To the top
Use context menus
Unlike the menus that appear at the top of your screen, context-sensitive menus display commands related to the active tool or selection. You can
use context menus as a quick way to choose commonly used commands.
1. Position the pointer over the document, object, or panel.
2. Click the right mouse button.
Note: (Mac OS) If you don’t have a two-button mouse, you can display a context menu by pressing the Control key as you click with the mouse.
To the top
Change Interface preferences
1. Choose Edit > Preferences > Interface (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > Interface (Mac OS).
2. Choose the settings you want to specify, and click OK.
Tool Tips Tool tips appear when you hold the mouse pointer over interface items such as tools in the toolbar and options in the Control panel.
Choose None to turn off tool tips.
Show Thumbnails On Place When you place a graphic, a thumbnail of the image appears in the loaded graphics cursor. Similarly, a thumbnail of
the first few lines of text appears in the loaded text cursor. Deselect this option if you don’t want thumbnails to appear when placing graphics or
text.
Show Transformation Values When you’re creating, sizing, or rotating an object, the cursor displays the [x,y] coordinates, width and height, or
rotation information.
Enable Multi-Touch Gestures Select this option to allow Windows and Mac OS multi-touch mouse gestures to work in InDesign. For example,
when you use the Magic Mouse in Mac OS, the swipe gesture scrolls up or down or moves to the previous or next page or spread, and the rotate
gesture rotates the spread.
Highlight Object Under Selection Tool Select this option to highlight the frame edges of objects when the direct selection tool is moved over it.
Floating Tools Panel Specify whether the toolbar appears as a single column, double column, or single row.
Auto-Collapse Icon Panels When this option is selected, clicking the document window closes the open panel automatically.
Auto-Show Hidden Panels When you hide panels by pressing Tab, holding the mouse pointer over the side of the document window temporarily
reveals the panels if this option is selected. If this option is not selected, you must press Tab again to display panels.
Open Documents As Tabs When this option is deselected, documents you create or open appear as floating windows rather than tabbed
windows.
Enable Floating Document Window Docking If this option is selected, you can dock floating documents with each other as tabbed windows. If
this option is deselected, floating document windows aren’t docked with other document windows, unless you hold down Ctrl (Windows) or
Command (Mac OS) while dragging.
Hand Tool To control whether to greek text and images when you scroll a document, drag the Hand Tool slider to the desired level of
performance versus quality.
Live Screen Drawing Select an option to determine whether the image redraws as you drag an object. If Immediate is selected, the image
redraws while you drag. If Never is selected, dragging an image moves only the frame, and then image is moved when you release the mouse
button. If Delayed is selected, the image redraws only if you pause before dragging. Delayed offers the same behavior as in InDesign CS4.
More Help topics
Control Panel video
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
50
Customize menus and keyboard shortcuts
Customize menus
Missing menu commands
Use keyboard shortcut sets
To the top
Customize menus
Hiding and colorizing menu commands is a way to remove menu clutter and emphasize commands you frequently use. Note that hiding menu
commands simply removes the menu command from view; it doesn’t disable any features. At any time, you can view hidden commands by
selecting the Show All Menu Items command at the bottom of a menu, or you can choose Window > Workspace > Show Full Menus to show all
the menus for the selected workspace. You can include customized menus in workspaces you save.
You can customize the main menu, context menus, and panel menus. Context menus appear when you right-click (Windows) or Control-click
(Mac OS) an area. Panel menus appear when you click the icon in the upper right of a panel.
Note: If you select a different workspace, such as Getting Started, some menu commands are hidden. To display menu commands, choose
Show All Menu Items at the bottom of the menu, or choose a different workspace, such as Advanced.
Create a custom menu set
1. Choose Edit > Menus.
You cannot edit the default menu set.
2. Click Save As, type the name of the menu set, and click OK.
3. From the Category menu, choose Application Menus or Context & Panel Menus to determine which menus are customized.
4. Click the arrows to the left of the menu categories to display subcategories or menu commands. For each command you want to customize,
click the eye icon under Visibility to show or hide the command; click None under Color to select a color from the menu.
5. Click Save, and then click OK.
Select a custom menu set
1. Choose Edit > Menus.
2. Choose the menu set from the Set menu, and then click OK.
Edit or delete a custom menu set
1. Choose Edit > Menus.
2. Choose the menu set from the Set menu, and then do one of the following:
To edit a menu set, change the visibility or color of menu commands, click Save, and then click OK.
To delete a menu set, click Delete and then click Yes. If you’ve modified the menu set without saving it, you’re prompted to save the
current menu set. Click Yes to save the menu set, or click No to discard changes.
Show hidden menu items
Choose Window > Workspace > Show Full Menus. This command turns on all menus for the selected workspace. You can hide the menus
again by resetting the workspace.
Choose Show All Menu Items at the bottom of the menu that includes hidden commands.
Holding down Ctrl (Windows) or Command (Mac OS) and clicking a menu name temporarily displays any menu commands you’ve hidden by
customizing menus.
To the top
Missing menu commands
If you can’t find a menu command, it may be hidden. If you select a workspace other than Advanced, some menu commands are hidden. It’s also
possible that you or someone else used the Menus command to hide menu items.
If you can’t find a command you’re looking for, try any of these techniques:
Choose Show All Menu Items at the bottom of the menu.
Choose Window > Workspace > Show Full Menus.
51
Choose Window > Workspace, and select a different workspace (Advanced shows all menu items).
Choose Edit > Menus, locate the menu command, and make sure it isn’t hidden.
If menu commands are still missing, try restoring preferences.
To the top
Use keyboard shortcut sets
Tool tips provide an instantaneous reference for shortcuts. InDesign also provides a shortcut editor in which you can view and generate a list of all
shortcuts, and edit or create your own shortcuts. The shortcut editor includes all the commands that accept shortcuts, but some of these
commands are undefined in the Default shortcut set.
You can also associate keyboard shortcuts with paragraph or character styles (see Add paragraph and character styles) or scripts.
For a video tutorial on using keyboard shortcuts, see www.adobe.com/go/vid0066.
Mike Witherell provides a reference guide of keyboard shortcuts on Free keyboard shortcuts (English only).
Change the active shortcut set
1. If you want the shortcut set to be active for all documents, make sure that no documents are open.
2. Choose Edit > Keyboard Shortcuts.
3. Select a shortcut set in the Set menu. For example, select Shortcuts for QuarkXPress® 4.0.
4. Click OK.
View shortcuts
1. Choose Edit > Keyboard Shortcuts.
2. For Set, select a shortcut set.
3. For Product Area, select the area containing the commands you want to view.
4. From Commands, select a command. The shortcut is displayed in the Current Shortcut section.
Generate a list of shortcuts for printing
1. Choose Edit > Keyboard Shortcuts.
2. For Set, select a shortcut set.
3. Click Show Set.
A text file opens with all current and undefined shortcuts for that set.
Create a new shortcut set
1. Choose Edit > Keyboard Shortcuts.
2. Click New Set.
3. Type a name for the new set, select a shortcut set in the Based On Set menu, and click OK.
Create or redefine a shortcut
1. Choose Edit > Keyboard Shortcuts.
2. For Set, select a shortcut set or click New Set to create a new shortcut set.
Note: You cannot edit the Default or the QuarkXPress shortcut sets. Instead, create a new set based on one of these sets, and then edit
the new set.
3. For Product Area, select the area containing the command you want to define or redefine.
4. In the Commands list, select the command that you want to define or redefine.
5. In the New Shortcut box, press the keys for your new keyboard shortcut. If the key sequence is currently being used for another command,
InDesign displays that command under Current Shortcuts. You can choose to change the original shortcut also, or try another shortcut.
Note: Do not assign single-key shortcuts to menu commands, because they interfere with the typing of text. If an insertion point is active
when you type a single-key shortcut, InDesign actives the keyboard shortcut instead of inserting the character in the text.
6. In the Context list, select the context in which you want the keyboard shortcut to function. The context ensures that the shortcut performs the
way you intended. For example, you can assign Ctrl+G to merge table cells (Table context) and Ctrl+G to insert special characters (Text
context).
Note: Assign shortcuts in the Default context when you want them to function regardless of the current state of the document. Shortcuts
you assign in other contexts, such as Table or Text, override shortcuts assigned in the Default context.
7. Do one of the following:
Click Assign to create a new shortcut where none currently exists.
Click Assign to add another shortcut to a command. Menu commands can have multiple keyboard shortcuts.
52
8. Click OK to close the dialog box, or click Save to keep the dialog box open while you enter more shortcuts.
Copying keyboard shortcut sets
Keyboard shortcut sets (*.indk) are saved in two locations. The application preset shortcuts appear in the Presets folder in the main application
folder. The shortcut sets you create appear in the Shortcut Sets folder in the following locations:
Windows XP Documents and Settings\[username]\Application Data\Adobe\InDesign\[version]\[language]InDesign Shortcut Sets
Windows Vista and Windows 7 Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\InDesign\[Version]\[Language]\InDesign Shortcut Sets
Mac OS Users/[username]/Library/Preferences/Adobe InDesign/[version]/[language]/InDesign Shortcut Sets
If you created a keyboard shortcut set on one computer and want to use it on a different computer, copy the *.indk file to the same location on the
other computer.
You can move a keyboard set from the custom location to the application folder. Doing so makes the custom shortcuts available to all the users
sharing a computer. However, make sure that you do not have two sets with the same name, one in each place. Make sure that the application
keyboard sets and the custom sets have different names.
More Help topics
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
53
Toolbox
Toolbox overview
Tools overview
Gallery of selection tools
Gallery of drawing and type tools
Gallery of transformation tools
Gallery of modification and navigation tools
To the top
Toolbox overview
Some tools in the toolbox are for selecting, editing, and creating page elements. Other tools are for choosing type, shapes, lines, and gradients.
You can change the overall layout of the toolbox to fit your preferred window and panel layout. By default, the toolbox appears as a single vertical
column of tools. You can also set it up as a double vertical column or as one horizontal row. However, you can’t rearrange the positions of
individual tools in the toolbox. You can drag the top of the toolbox to move it.
Select a tool from the default toolbox by clicking it. The toolbox also contains several hidden tools related to the visible tools. Hidden tools are
indicated by arrows to the right of the tool icons. Select a hidden tool by clicking and holding the current tool in the toolbox and then selecting the
tool that you want.
The name of the tool and its keyboard shortcut appear when you hold the pointer over the tool—this text is called the tool tip. You can turn off tool
tips by choosing None from the Tool Tips menu in Interface preferences.
Open the Tool Hints panel (choose Window > Utilities > Tool Hints) to see which shortcut and modifier keys work with the selected tool.
Note: Content Collector and Content Placer tools are not available in CS5.5 or earlier.
Display the toolbox
Choose Window > Tools.
54
Display tool options
Double-click a tool in the toolbox.
This procedure works only for some tools, such as the Eyedropper, Pencil, and Polygon tools.
Display and select hidden tools
1. In the toolbox, position the pointer over a tool that has hidden tools and hold down the mouse button.
2. When the hidden tools appear, select a tool.
Select tools temporarily
1. When one tool is selected, hold down the keyboard shortcut of a different tool.
2. With the keyboard shortcut still held down, perform an action.
3. Release the keyboard shortcut to return to the previous tool.
For example, if the Gap tool is selected, hold down the V key to temporarily use the Selection tool. When you release the V key, the Gap tool is
selected.
View tool hints
The Tool Hints panel describes how modifier keys work with the selected tool.
1. Choose Window > Utilities > Tool Hints to display the Tool Hints panel.
2. Select a tool in the toolbox to view a description of that tool and its modifier keys and shortcuts.
Change the toolbox layout
1. Choose Edit > Preferences > Interface (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > Interface (Mac OS).
2. Choose a layout option from the Floating Tools Panel menu and click OK.
You can also click the double arrow icon at the top of the toolbox to change the toolbox layout.
To the top
Tools overview
Type tools Create and format type in standard or customized blocks or paths. (See Create text frames.)
Drawing tools Draw and style simple and complex objects, including rectangles, ellipses, polygons, freeform shapes. (See Drawing.)
Selection tools Select (activate) objects, points, or lines. (See Selecting objects.)
Transform tools Reshape, reorient, and resize objects. (See Transforming objects.)
Navigation tools Move around in, control the view of, and measure distances in a document. (See Zoom in and out and Rulers and measurement
units.)
The Scissors tool Splits paths and frames. (See Split a path.)
To the top
Gallery of selection tools
Selection tool lets you select
entire objects.
Direct Selection tool lets you
select points on a path or
contents within a frame.
Page tool lets you create
multiple page sizes within a
document.
Gap tool lets you adjust the
space between objects.
To the top
Gallery of drawing and type tools
55
Pen tool lets you draw straight
and curved paths.
Add Anchor Point tool lets you
add anchor points to a path.
Delete Anchor Point tool lets
you remove anchor points from
a path.
Convert Direction Point tool
lets you convert corner points
and smooth points.
Type tool lets you create text
frames and select text.
Type on a Path tool lets you
create and edit type on paths.
Pencil tool lets you draw a
freeform path.
Smooth tool lets you remove
excess angles from a path.
Erase tool lets you delete
points on a path.
Line tool lets you draw a line
segment.
Rectangle Frame tool lets you
create a square or rectangle
placeholder.
Ellipse Frame tool lets you
create a circle or oval
placeholder.
Polygon Frame tool lets you
create a multi-sided shape
placeholder.
Rectangle tool lets you create
a square or rectangle.
Ellipse tool lets you create a
circle or oval.
Polygon tool lets you create
multi-sided shape.
To the top
Gallery of transformation tools
Free Transform tool lets you
rotate, scale, or shear an
object.
Rotate tool lets you rotate
objects around a fixed point.
Scale tool lets you resize
objects around a fixed point.
56
Shear tool lets you skew
objects around a fixed point.
To the top
Gallery of modification and navigation tools
Eyedropper tool lets you
sample color or type attributes
from objects and apply them to
other objects.
Measure tool measures the
distance between two points.
Gradient Swatch tool lets you
adjust the beginning and
ending points and angle of
gradients within objects.
Gradient Feather tool lets you
fade an object into the
background.
Scissors tool cuts paths at
specified points.
Hand tool moves the page
view within the document
window.
Zoom tool increases and
decreases the view
magnification in the document
window.
Note tool lets you add
comments.
More Help topics
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
57
Viewing the workspace
Zoom in and out
Adjust the view
Turn pages
Work with additional windows
Use anti-aliasing for smoothing edges
Greek type
Calculate values in panels and dialog boxes
Enter values in panels and dialog boxes
To the top
Zoom in and out
Use the Zoom tool or the Zoom commands to magnify the size of documents.
Zoom in or out
To zoom in, select the Zoom tool
and click the area you want to magnify. Each click magnifies the view to the next preset percentage,
centering the display around the point you click. At maximum magnification, the center of the Zoom tool appears blank. To zoom out, hold
down Alt (Windows) or Option (Mac OS) and click the area you want to reduce. Each click reduces the view.
To magnify to the next preset percentage, activate the window you want to view and choose View > Zoom In. To reduce the view to the
previous preset percentage, choose View > Zoom Out.
To set a specific magnification level, type or choose a level in the Zoom Level box in the application bar.
In Mac OS, you can display the zoom percentage in the status bar by hiding the application bar (Window > Application Bar). In Windows,
you cannot hide the application bar.
To zoom in or out, press Alt (Windows) or Option (Mac OS) while using the mouse scroll wheel or sensor.
To magnify by dragging, select the Zoom tool and drag around the area you want to magnify.
Use power zoom
Power zoom offers a quick way to scroll through your document pages. Using the grabber hand, you can use zoom in or out and scroll through
your entire document. This feature is especially useful for long documents.
1. Click the Hand tool
.
To activate the grabber hand, you can also hold down the spacebar or hold down Alt/Option while in text mode.
2. With the grabber hand active, click and hold down the mouse button.
The document zooms out so that you can see more of the spread. A red box indicates the view area.
3. With the mouse button still held down, drag the red box to scroll through the document pages. Press arrow keys or use the mouse scroll
wheel to change the size of the red box.
4. Release the mouse button to zoom in on the new area of the document.
The document window returns to its original zoom percentage or to the size of the red box.
Zoom to Actual Size
Double-click the Zoom tool.
Choose View > Actual Size.
Type or choose a magnification level of 100 in the Zoom Level box in the application bar.
To the top
Adjust the view
Focus on the desired area of your document by fitting pages and spreads within the active window and by scrolling the view.
Fit the page, spread, or pasteboard within the active window
Choose View > Fit Page In Window.
Choose View > Fit Spread In Window.
58
Choose View > Entire Pasteboard.
Scroll the view
You can easily adjust the degree to which pages or objects are centered in the document window. These techniques are also useful for navigating
between pages.
Do any of the following:
Select the Hand tool
from the Tools panel, and then click and drag in the document window. Holding down Alt (Windows) or Option
(Mac OS) and pressing the spacebar temporarily activates the Hand tool.
Click the horizontal or vertical scroll bars or drag the scroll box.
Press Page Up or Page Down.
Use the mouse scroll wheel or sensor to scroll up and down. To pan left or right, press Ctrl (Windows) or Command (Mac OS) as you use
the mouse scroll wheel or sensor.
To the top
Turn pages
InDesign makes it easy to jump from page to page in a document. For example, just as most web browsers provide Back and Forward buttons to
navigate through pages you’ve visited, InDesign keeps track of the order in which you’ve viewed pages in a document.
Do any of the following:
To move through pages in the order in which you viewed them during the current session, choose Layout >Go Back or Go Forward.
To go to the next or previous page, click the Next Page button
Layout > Next Page or Previous Page.
To go to the first or last page, click the First Spread button
Layout > First Page or Last Page.
or Previous Page button
or Last Spread button
at the bottom of the document window, or choose
at the lower left of the document window, or choose
To go to a specific page, choose Layout > Go To Page, specify the page number, and click OK. Or, click the downward-facing arrow at the
right of the page box, and then choose a page.
Choose page from page box to go to specific page
To go to a master page, click in the page box at the lower left of the document window. Type the first few letters of the master page name,
and press Enter (Windows) or Return (Mac OS). Or, in the Pages panel, double-click a master page icon.
To the top
Work with additional windows
You can open additional windows for the same document or for other InDesign documents. With additional windows, you can compare different
spreads simultaneously, especially spreads that aren’t adjacent. You can also display different magnifications of the same page, so that you can
work closely on details while watching how the changes affect the overall layout. In addition, you can display a master page in one window, and
pages based on it in other windows, to see how editing the master page affects various parts of the document.
When you reopen the document, only the last-used window appears.
To create a new window for the same document, choose Window > Arrange > New Window.
To cascade or tile windows, choose Window > Arrange > Cascade to arrange all windows into a stack, with each window offset slightly. Or,
choose Window > Arrange > Tile to display all windows equally without overlapping.
To activate a window, click the window tab or title bar. Or, choose the name of the view in the Window menu. Multiple windows for a
document are numbered in the order they were created.
To close all windows for the active document, press Shift+Ctrl+W (Windows) or Shift+Command+W (Mac OS).
To close all windows for all open documents, press Shift+Ctrl+Alt+W (Windows) or Shift+Command+Option+W (Mac OS).
To the top
Use anti-aliasing for smoothing edges
59
Anti-aliasing smooths the jagged edges of type and bitmap images by softening the color transition between edge pixels and background pixels.
Since only the edge pixels change, no detail is lost.
1. Choose Edit > Preferences > Display Performance (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > Display Performance (Mac OS).
2. From the Adjust View Settings menu, choose the view setting for which you want to turn on anti-aliasing.
You can enable or disable anti-aliasing for each of the view settings. For example, you can enable anti-aliasing for High Quality view and
disable it for Fast view.
3. Select Enable Anti-aliasing.
To the top
Greek type
When display capabilities are insufficient to show text at a small size, InDesign displays the text as a dimmed bar. This behavior is called greeking
type. Any type at or below the specified type size is replaced on-screen with non-letterforms that act as placeholders.
1. Choose Edit > Preferences > Display Performance (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > Display Performance (Mac OS).
2. From the Adjust View Settings menu, choose the view setting for which you want to change the Greek Type setting.
You can specify different Greek Type values for each of the view settings.
3. For Greek Type Below, type a value, and then click OK.
To control whether to greek text and images when you scroll a document, open the Interface section of the Preferences dialog box, drag the Hand
Tool slider to the desired level of performance versus quality, and then click OK.
To the top
Calculate values in panels and dialog boxes
You can perform simple math in any numerical edit box. For example, if you want to move a selected object 3 units to the right using the current
measurement units, you don’t have to work out the new horizontal position—simply type +3 after the current value in the Transform panel.
Panels use the measurement system selected in the Preferences dialog box; however, you can specify values in another measurement instead.
1. In a text box that accepts numerical values, do one of the following:
To replace the entire current value with a mathematical expression, select the entire current value.
To use the current value as part of a mathematical expression, click before or after the current value.
2. Type a simple mathematical expression using a single mathematical operator, such as + (plus), - (minus), * (multiplication), / (division), or
% (percent).
For example, 0p0+3 or 5mm + 4.
3. Press Enter or Return to apply the calculation.
In the Control panel and the Transform panel, you can duplicate the selected object and apply the calculation to the duplicate (instead of the
original). Enter the calculation and press Alt+Enter (Windows) or Option+Return (Mac OS).
To the top
Enter values in panels and dialog boxes
Panels and dialog boxes use the measurement units and increments defined in the Edit > Preferences > Units & Increments (Windows) or
InDesign > Preferences > Units & Increments (Mac OS) dialog box. However, you can specify values using any of the supported measurement
units at any time by temporarily overriding the current preference settings.
Do any of the following:
Type a value in the box, and then press Enter or Return.
Drag the slider.
Drag the dial.
Click the arrow buttons in the panel to change the value.
Click in the box and then use the up or down arrow keys on the keyboard to change the value.
Select a value from the menu associated with the box.
Note: When you make a change using the arrow buttons, arrow keys, or pop-up menus, InDesign applies the change immediately.
More Help topics
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
60
Setting preferences
About preferences and defaults
Set general preferences
Set defaults
Restore all preferences and default settings
About InDesign styles and presets
To the top
About preferences and defaults
Preferences include settings such as panel positions, measurement options, and display options for graphics and typography. Preference settings
specify how InDesign documents and objects behave initially.
To the top
Set general preferences
This section covers preference settings in the General tab of the Preferences dialog box. For information on other preferences, search for the
appropriate setting.
1. Choose Edit > Preferences > General (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > General (Mac OS), and then choose the type of preferences
you want to specify.
2. In the Page Numbering section, choose a page numbering method from the View menu. (See Display absolute or section numbering in the
Pages panel.)
3. In the Font Downloading and Embedding section, specify a threshold to trigger font subsetting based on the number of glyphs a font
contains. This setting affects font downloading options in the Print and Export dialog boxes.
4. In the When Scaling section, you can determine how scaled objects are reflected in panels and how the content of scaled frames behaves.
Select Apply To Content if you want the point size to change when a text frame is scaled. (See Scale type.) If this option is selected
when a graphics frame is scaled, the percentage size of the image changes, but the frame reverts its percentage to 100%. (See Scale
objects.)
Select Adjust Scaling Percentage to display the original point size with the new point size in parentheses when you scale text. If this
option is selected when you scale graphics frames, the percentage size of both the frame and image changes.
5. Click Reset All Warning Dialogs to display all warnings, even the ones you’ve already checked not to display. (As warnings appear, you can
select a check box to prevent the warning from appearing again.)
To the top
Set defaults
If you change settings when no documents are open, your changes set the defaults for new documents. If a document is open when you change
settings, the changes affect only that document.
Similarly, if you change settings when no objects are selected, your changes set the defaults for new objects.
Change default settings for new documents
1. Close all documents.
2. Change any menu items or panel or dialog box settings.
If you use the same page size and language for most of your documents, you can change these defaults with no document open. For example,
to change the default page size, close all documents, choose File > Document Setup, and select a desired page size. To set a default
dictionary, close all documents, choose Edit > Preferences > Dictionary (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > Dictionary (Mac OS), and
select an option from the Language menu.
Specify default settings for new objects in a document
1. With document open, choose Edit >Deselect All.
2. Change any menu items or panel or dialog box settings.
To the top
Restore all preferences and default settings
61
When InDesign is behaving erratically, deleting preferences (also referred to as “trashing preferences” or “removing preferences”) often solves the
problem.
It’s a good idea to make a backup copy of the preference files called InDesign Defaults and InDesign SavedData. Instead of removing your
preferences, you can copy these backup files over the problematic corrupt preference files and not lose any customizations.
Mike Witherell provides a detailed list of which files are affected when you restore preferences in Adobe InDesign Presets (PDF, English only).
Do one of the following:
(Windows) Start InDesign, and then press Shift+Ctrl+Alt. Click Yes when asked if you want to delete preference files.
(Mac OS) While pressing Shift+Option+Command+Control, start InDesign. Click Yes when asked if you want to delete preference files.
Various program preferences and default settings are stored in the Adobe InDesign preferences files. These files, including the InDesign Defaults
file, are saved each time you exit from InDesign. For manual deletion or renaming, the locations of the preference files are as follows:
Mac OS
InDesign SavedData Users/[user]/Library/Caches/Adobe InDesign/Version [version]/InDesign SavedData
InDesign Defaults Users/[user]/Library/Preferences/Adobe InDesign/Version [version]/InDesign Defaults
Windows XP
InDesign SavedData \Documents and Settings\[username]\Local Settings\Application Data\Adobe\InDesign\Version [version]\Caches
InDesign Defaults \Documents and Settings\[username]\Application Data\Adobe\InDesign\Version [version]
Windows Vista or Windows 7
InDesign SavedData Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\InDesign\Version [version]\Caches\InDesign SavedData
InDesign Defaults C:\Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\InDesign\Version [version]\InDesign Defaults
To the top
About InDesign styles and presets
You can store settings for reuse, including settings for the following items:
Creating paragraph and character styles. (See Add paragraph and character styles.)
Creating object styles. (See Object styles.)
Creating table and cell styles. (See Table and cell styles.)
Creating PDF export presets. (See Customize Adobe PDF presets.)
Creating print presets. All the attributes in the Print dialog box are included in the style. (See Print a document or book.)
Creating trap presets. (See Trapping color.)
Creating transparency flattener presets. (See Flattening transparent artwork.)
Creating table of contents styles. (See Create TOC styles for multiple lists.)
Saving the workspace configuration.
Creating document presets. (See Define document presets.)
Creating stroke styles. (See Define custom stroke styles.)
In general, change the feature settings in the dialog box, and then save the settings. Styles and presets are stored in the document in which they
are created. You can use the settings from another document by importing or loading the styles and presets from that document. In addition, most
presets can be exported or saved to a separate file and distributed to other computers.
Mike Witherell provides a detailed list of presets in Adobe InDesign Presets (PDF, English only).
You can also share styles and presets across all documents in a book file. For more information, see Synchronize book documents.
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
62
Default keyboard shortcuts
Interactive Shortcuts Guide
Keys for tools
Keys for selecting and moving objects
Keys for transforming objects
Keys for editing paths and frames
Keys for tables
Keys for finding and changing text
Keys for working with type
Keys for navigating through and selecting text
Keys for viewing documents and document workspaces
Keys for working with XML
Keys for indexing
Keys for panels
Keys for the Control panel
Keys for type panels and dialog boxes
Keys for the character and paragraph styles
Keys for the Tabs panel
Keys for the Layers panel
Keys for the Pages panel
Keys for the Color panel
Keys for using the Separations Preview panel
Keys for the Swatches panel
Keys for the Transform panel
Keys for resolving conflicts between Mac OS 10.3x and 10.4
Adobe InDesign CS5 provides shortcuts to help you quickly work in documents without using the mouse. Many keyboard shortcuts appear next to
the command names in menus. You can use the default InDesign shortcut set, the QuarkXPress 4.0 or Adobe PageMaker 7.0 shortcut set, or a
shortcut set that you create. You can share shortcut shortcut sets with others using InDesign on the same platform.
InDesign provides shortcuts to help you quickly work in documents without using the mouse. Many keyboard shortcuts appear next to the
command names in menus. You can use the default InDesign shortcut set or a shortcut set that you create. You can share shortcut sets with
others using InDesign on the same platform.
To the top
Interactive Shortcuts Guide
An interactive Shortcuts guide that lets you
find shotcuts easily. View online or
download as an AIR application.... Read
More
by Marijan Tompa
http://tomaxxi.com/
Contribute your expertise to
Adobe Community Help
http://goo.gl/80wvo
To the top
Keys for tools
You can generate a list of the current keyboard set by choosing Show Set in the Keyboard Shortcuts dialog box. This option is especially useful
for printing a copy of your custom shortcuts.
This table isn’t a complete list of keyboard shortcuts. It lists only those shortcuts that aren’t displayed in menu commands or tool tips.
Choose Window > Utilities > Tool Hints, and then select a tool to view its shortcuts and modifier keys.
Tool
Windows
Mac OS
Selection tool
V, Esc
V, Esc
63
Direct Selection tool
A
A
Toggle Selection and Direct Selection tool
Ctrl+Tab
Command+Control+Tab
Page tool
Shift+P
Shift+P
Gap tool
U
U
Pen tool
P
P
Add Anchor Point tool
=
=
Add Anchor Point tool
=
= (on the numeric pad)
Delete Anchor Point tool
-
-
Delete Anchor Point tool
-
Convert Direction Point tool
Shift+C
Shift+C
Type tool
T
T
Type On A Path tool
Shift+T
Shift+T
Pencil tool (Note tool)
N
N
Line tool
\
\
Rectangle Frame tool
F
F
Rectangle tool
M
M
Ellipse tool
L
L
Rotate tool
R
R
Scale tool
S
S
Shear tool
O
O
Free Transform tool
E
E
Eyedropper tool
I
I
Measure tool
K
K
Gradient tool
G
G
Scissors tool
C
C
Hand tool
H
H
Temporarily selects Hand tool
Spacebar (Layout mode), Alt (Text mode),
or Alt+Spacebar (both)
Spacebar (Layout mode), Option (Text
mode), or Option+Spacebar (both)
Zoom tool
Z
Z
Temporarily selects Zoom In tool
Ctrl+Spacebar
Command+Spacebar
Toggle Fill and Stroke
X
X
Swap Fill and Stroke
Shift+X
Shift+X
Toggle between Formatting Affects
Container and Formatting Affects Text
J
J
Apply Color
, [comma]
, [comma]
64
Apply Gradient
. [period]
. [period]
Apply No Color
/
/
Switch between Normal View and Preview
Mode
W
W
Frame Grid tool (horizontal)
Y
Y
Frame Grid tool (vertical)
Q
Q
Gradient Feather tool
Shift+G
Shift+G
To the top
Keys for selecting and moving objects
This table isn’t a complete list of keyboard shortcuts. It lists only those shortcuts that aren’t displayed in menu commands or tool tips.
Result
Windows
Mac OS
Temporarily select Selection or Direct
Selection tool (last used)
Any tool (except selection tools)+Ctrl
Any tool (except selection tools)+
Command
Temporarily select Group Selection tool
Direct Selection tool+Alt; or Pen, Add
Anchor Point, or Delete Anchor Point
tool+Alt+Ctrl
Direct Selection tool+Option; or Pen, Add
Anchor Point, or Delete Anchor Point
tool+Option+Command
Select container of selected content
Esc or double-click
Esc or double-click
Select content of selected container
Shift+Esc or double-click
Shift+Esc or double-click
Add to or subtract from a selection
of multiple objects
Selection, Direct Selection, or Group
Selection tool+Shift–click (to deselect,
click center point)
Selection, Direct Selection, or Group
Selection tool+Shift–click (to deselect,
click center point)
Duplicate selection
Selection, Direct Selection, or Group
Selection tool+Alt–drag*
Selection, Direct Selection, or Group
Selection tool+ Option–drag*
Duplicate and offset selection
Alt+Left Arrow, Right Arrow, Up Arrow, or
Down Arrow key
Option+Left Arrow, Right Arrow, Up Arrow,
or Down Arrow key
Duplicate and offset selection by 10
times**
Alt+Shift+Left Arrow, Right Arrow, Up
Arrow, Down Arrow key
Option+Shift+Left Arrow, Right Arrow, Up
Arrow, Down Arrow key
Move selection**
Left Arrow, Right Arrow, Up Arrow, Down
Arrow key
Left Arrow, Right Arrow, Up Arrow, Down
Arrow key
Move selection by 10th**
Ctrl+Shift+Left Arrow, Right Arrow, Up
Arrow, Down arrow key
Command+Shift+Left Arrow, Right Arrow,
Up Arrow, Down arrow key
Move selection by 10 times**
Shift+Left Arrow, Right Arrow, Up Arrow,
Down Arrow key
Shift+Left Arrow, Right Arrow, Up Arrow,
Down Arrow key
Select master page item from
document page
Selection or Direct Selection
tool+Ctrl+Shift–click
Selection or Direct Selection tool+
Command+Shift–click
Select next object behind or in front
Selection tool+Ctrl–click, or Selection
tool+Alt+Ctrl–click
Selection tool+Command–click or
Selection tool+Option+ Command–click
Select next or previous frame in story
Alt+Ctrl+Page Down/ Alt+Ctrl+Page Up
Option+Command+Page Down/
Option+Command+Page Up
Select first or last frame in story
Shift+Alt+Ctrl+Page Down/
Shift+Alt+Ctrl+Page Up
Shift+Option+Command+Page Down/
Shift+Option+Command+Page Up
*Press Shift to constrain movement to 45° angles.
**Amount is set in Edit > Preferences > Units & Increments (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > Units & Increments (Mac OS).
65
To the top
Keys for transforming objects
This table isn’t a complete list of keyboard shortcuts. It lists only those shortcuts that aren’t displayed in menu commands or tool tips.
Result
Windows
Mac OS
Duplicate and transform selection
Transformation tool+Alt–drag*
Transformation tool+Option–drag*
Display Transform tool dialog box
Select object+double-click Scale tool,
Rotate tool, or Shear tool in Toolbox
Select object+double-click Scale tool,
Rotate tool, or Shear tool in Toolbox
Decrease scale by 1%
Ctrl+,
Command+,
Decrease scale by 5%
Ctrl+Alt+,
Command+Option+,
Increase scale by 1%
Ctrl+.
Command+.
Increase scale by 5%
Ctrl+Alt+.
Command+Option+.
Resize frame and content
Selection tool+Ctrl–drag
Selection tool+Command–drag
Resize frame and content proportionately
Selection tool+Shift+Ctrl–drag
Selection tool+Shift+Command–drag
Constrain proportion
Ellipse tool, Polygon tool, or Rectangle
tool+Shift–drag
Ellipse tool, Polygon tool, or Rectangle
tool+Shift–drag
Switch image from High Quality Display to
Fast Display
Ctrl+Alt+Shift+Z
Command+Option+Shift+Z
*After you select a transformation tool, hold down the mouse button, and then hold down Alt (Windows) or Option (Mac OS) and drag.
Press Shift to constrain movement to 45° angles.
To the top
Keys for editing paths and frames
This table isn’t a complete list of keyboard shortcuts. It lists only those shortcuts that aren’t displayed in menu commands or tool tips.
Result
Windows
Mac OS
Temporarily select Convert Direction Point
tool
Direct Selection tool+Alt+Ctrl, or Pen
tool+Alt
Direct Selection tool+Option+ Command,
or Pen tool+Option
Temporarily switch between Add Anchor
Point and Delete Anchor Point tool
Alt
Option
Temporarily select Add Anchor Point tool
Scissors tool+Alt
Scissors tool+Option
Keep Pen tool selected when pointer is
over path or anchor point
Pen tool+Shift
Pen tool+Shift
Move anchor point and handles while
drawing
Pen tool+spacebar
Pen tool+spacebar
Display the Stroke panel
F10
Command+F10
To the top
Keys for tables
This table isn’t a complete list of keyboard shortcuts. It lists only those shortcuts that aren’t displayed in menu commands or tool tips.
Result
Windows
Mac OS
66
Insert or delete rows or columns while
dragging
Begin dragging row or column border, and
then hold down Alt as you drag
Begin dragging row or column border, and
then hold down Option as you drag
Resize rows or columns without changing
the size of the table
Shift–drag interior row or column border
Shift–drag interior row or column border
Resize rows or columns proportionally
Shift–drag right or bottom table border
Shift–drag right or bottom table border
Move to next/previous cell
Tab/Shift+Tab
Tab/Shift+Tab
Move to first/last cell in column
Alt+Page Up/ Alt+Page Down
Option+Page Up/ Option+Page Down
Move to first/last cell in row
Alt+Home/ Alt+End
Option+Home/ Option+End
Move to first/last row in frame
Page Up/Page Down
Page Up/Page Down
Move up/down one cell
Up Arrow/Down Arrow
Up Arrow/Down Arrow
Move left/right one cell
Left Arrow/Right Arrow
Left Arrow/Right Arrow
Select cell above/below the current cell
Shift+Up Arrow/ Shift+Down Arrow
Shift+Up Arrow/ Shift+Down Arrow
Select cell to the right/left of the current
cell
Shift+Right Arrow/ Shift+Left Arrow
Shift+Right Arrow/ Shift+Left Arrow
Start row on next column
Enter (numeric keypad)
Enter (numeric keypad)
Start row on next frame
Shift+Enter (numeric keypad)
Shift+Enter (numeric keypad)
Toggle between text selection and cell
selection
Esc
Esc
To the top
Keys for finding and changing text
This table isn’t a complete list of keyboard shortcuts. It lists only those shortcuts that aren’t displayed in menu commands or tool tips.
Result
Windows
Mac OS
Insert selected text into Find What box
Ctrl+F1
Command+F1
Insert selected text into Find What box
and finds next
Shift+F1
Shift+F1
Find next occurrence of Find What text
Shift+F2 or Alt+Ctrl+F
Shift+F2 or Option+Command+F
Insert selected text into Change To box
Ctrl+F2
Command+F2
Replace selection with Change To text
Ctrl+F3
Command+F3
To the top
Keys for working with type
This table isn’t a complete list of keyboard shortcuts. It lists only those shortcuts that aren’t displayed in menu commands or tool tips.
Result
Windows
Mac OS
Bold (only for fonts with bold face)
Shift+Ctrl+B
Shift+Command+B
Italic (only for fonts with italic face)
Shift+Ctrl+I
Shift+Command+I
Normal
Shift+Ctrl+Y
Shift+Command+Y
Underline
Shift+Ctrl+U
Shift+Command+U
67
Strikethrough
Shift+Ctrl+/
Control+Shift+Command+/
All caps (on/off)
Shift+Ctrl+K
Shift+Command+K
Asian language hyphenation
Shift+Ctrl+K
Shift+Command+K
Small caps (on/off)
Shift+Ctrl+H
Shift+Command+H
Tate-chu-yoko setting
Shift+Ctrl+H
Shift+Command+H
Superscript
Shift+Ctrl+(+) [plus sign]
Shift+Command+(+) [plus sign]
Subscript
Shift+Alt+Ctrl+(+) [plus sign]
Shift+Option+Command+(+) [plus sign]
Reset horizontal or vertical scale to 100%
Shift+Ctrl+X or Shift+Alt+Ctrl+X
Shift+Command+X or
Shift+Option+Command+X
Basic letter group setting or detail setting
Shift+Ctrl+X or Shift+Alt+Ctrl+X
Shift+Command+X or
Shift+Option+Command+X
Align left, right, or center
Shift+Ctrl+L, R, or C
Shift+Command+L, R, or C
Justify all lines
Shift+Ctrl+F (all lines) or J (all but last line)
Shift+Command+F (all lines) or J (all but
last line)
Align both ends or equal spacing
Shift+Ctrl+F (align both end) or J (equal
spacing)
Shift+Command+F (align both ends) or J
(equal spacing)
Increase or decrease point size*
Shift+Ctrl+> or <
Shift+Command+> or <
Increase or decrease point size by five
times*
Shift+Ctrl+Alt+> or <
Shift+Command+ Option+> or <
Increase or decrease leading (horizontal
text)*
Alt+Up Arrow/ Alt+Down Arrow
Option+Up Arrow/ Option+Down Arrow
Increase or decrease leading (vertical
text)*
Alt+Right Arrow/ Alt+Left Arrow
Option+Right Arrow/ Option+Left Arrow
Increase or decrease leading by five times
(horizontal text)*
Alt+Ctrl+Up Arrow/ Alt+Ctrl+Down Arrow
Option+Command+Up Arrow/
Option+Command+Down Arrow
Increase or decrease leading by five times
(vertical text)*
Alt+Ctrl+Right Arrow/ Alt+Ctrl+Left Arrow
Option+Command+Right Arrow/
Option+Command+Left Arrow
Auto leading
Shift+Alt+Ctrl+A
Shift+Option+Command+A
Align to grid (on/off)
Shift+Alt+Ctrl+G
Shift+Option+Command+G
Auto-hyphenate (on/off)
Shift+Alt+Ctrl+H
Shift+Option+Command+H
Increase or decrease kerning and tracking
(horizontal text)
Alt+Left Arrow/Alt+Right Arrow
Option+Left Arrow/ Option+Right Arrow
Increase or decrease kerning and tracking
(vertical text)
Alt+Up Arrow/ Alt+Down Arrow
Option+Up Arrow/ Option+Down Arrow
Increase or decrease kerning and tracking
by five times (horizontal text)
Alt+Ctrl+Left Arrow/ Alt+Ctrl+Right Arrow
Option+Command+Left Arrow/
Option+Command+Right Arrow
Increase or decrease kerning and tracking
by five times (vertical text)
Alt+Ctrl+Up Arrow/ Alt+Ctrl+Down Arrow
Option+Command+Up Arrow/
Option+Command+Down Arrow
Increase kerning between words*
Alt+Ctrl+\
Option+Command+\
Decrease kerning between words*
Alt+Ctrl+Backspace
Option+Command+Delete
Clear all manual kerning and reset
tracking to 0
Alt+Ctrl+Q
Option+Command+Q
68
Increase or decrease baseline shift**
(horizontal text)
Shift+Alt+Up Arrow/ Shift+Alt+Down Arrow
Shift+Option+Up Arrow/ hift+Option+Down
Arrow
Increase or decrease baseline shift**
(vertical text)
Shift+Alt+Right Arrow/ Shift+Alt+Left
Arrow
Shift+Option+Right Arrow/
Shift+Option+Left Arrow
Increase or decrease baseline shift by five
times (horizontal text)
Shift+Alt+Ctrl+Up Arrow/
Shift+Alt+Ctrl+Down Arrow
Shift+Option+Command+Up Arrow/
Shift+Option+Command+Down Arrow
Increase or decrease baseline shift by five
times (vertical text)
Shift+Alt+Ctrl+Right Arrow/
Shift+Alt+Ctrl+Left Arrow
Shift+Option+Command+Right Arrow/
hift+Option+Command+Left Arrow
Automatically flow story
Shift–click loaded text icon
Shift–click loaded text icon
Semi-automatically flow story
Alt–click loaded text icon
Option–click loaded text icon
Recompose all stories
Alt+Ctrl+/
Option+Command+/
Insert current page number
Alt+Ctrl+N
Option+Command+N
*Press Shift to increase or decrease kerning between words by five times.
**Amount is set in Edit > Preferences > Units & Increments (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > Units & Increments (Mac OS).
To the top
Keys for navigating through and selecting text
This table isn’t a complete list of keyboard shortcuts. It lists only those shortcuts that aren’t displayed in menu commands or tool tips.
Result
Windows Action
Mac OS Action
Move to right or left one character
Right Arrow/ Left Arrow
Right Arrow/ Left Arrow
Move up or down one line
Up Arrow/ Down Arrow
Up Arrow/ Down Arrow
Move to right or left one word
Ctrl+Right Arrow/ Ctrl+Left Arrow
Command+Right Arrow/ Command+Left
Arrow
Move to start or end of line
Home/End
Home/End
Move to previous or next paragraph
Ctrl+Up Arrow/ Ctrl+Down Arrow
Command+Up Arrow/ Command+Down
Arrow
Move to start or end of story
Ctrl+Home/ Ctrl+End
Command+Home/ Command+End
Select one word
Double-click word
Double-click word
Select one character right or left
Shift+Right Arrow/ Shift+Left Arrow
Shift+Right Arrow/ Shift+Left Arrow
Select one line above or below
Shift+Up Arrow/ Shift+Down Arrow
Shift+Up Arrow/ Shift+Down Arrow
Select start or end of line
Shift+Home/ Shift+End
Shift+Home/ Shift+End
Select one paragraph
Triple-click or quadruple-click paragraph,
depending on Text Preferences setting
Triple-click or quadruple-click paragraph,
depending on Text Preferences setting
Select one paragraph before or after
Shift+Ctrl+Up Arrow/ Shift+Ctrl+Down
Arrow
Shift+Command+Up Arrow/
Shift+Command+Down Arrow
Select current line
Shift+Ctrl+\
Shift+Command+\
Select characters from insertion point
Shift–click
Shift–click
Select start or end of story
Shift+Ctrl+Home/ Shift+Ctrl+End
Shift+Command+Home/
Shift+Command+End
Select all in story
Ctrl+A
Command+A
69
Select first/last frame
Shift+Alt+Ctrl+Page Up/
Shift+Alt+Ctrl+Page Down
Shift+Option+ Command+Page Up/
Shift+Option+ Command+Page Down
Select previous/next frame
Alt+Ctrl+Page Up/ Alt+Ctrl+Page Down
Option+Command+Page Up/
Option+Command+Page Down
Delete word in front of insertion point
(Story Editor)
Ctrl+Backspace or Delete
Command+Delete or Del (numeric
keypad)
Update missing font list
Ctrl+Alt+Shift+/
Command+Option+Shift+/
To the top
Keys for viewing documents and document workspaces
This table isn’t a complete list of keyboard shortcuts. It lists only those shortcuts that aren’t displayed in menu commands or tool tips.
Result
Windows
Mac OS
Temporarily select Hand tool
Spacebar (with no text insertion point), Altdrag (with text insertion point), or
Alt+spacebar (in both text and non-text
modes)
Spacebar (with no text insertion point),
Option–drag (with text insertion point), or
Option+spacebar (in both text and nontext
modes)
Temporarily select Zoom In tool
Ctrl+spacebar
Command+spacebar
Temporarily select Zoom Out tool
Alt+Ctrl+spacebar or Alt+Zoom In tool
Option+Command+spacebar or
Option+Zoom Intool
Zoom to 50%, 200%, or 400%
Ctrl+5, 2, or 4
Command+5, 2, or 4
Redraw screen
Shift+F5
Shift+F5
Open new default document
Ctrl+Alt+N
Command+Option+N
Switch between current and previous
zoom levels
Alt+Ctrl+2
Option+Command+2
Switch to next/previous document window
Ctrl+~ [tilde]/ Shift+Ctrl+F6 or Ctrl+Shift+~
[tilde]
Command+F6 or Command+~ [tilde]/
Command+Shift+~ [tilde]
Scroll up/down one screen
Page Up/Page Down
Page Up/Page Down
Go back/forward to last-viewed page
Ctrl+Page Up/ Ctrl+Page Down
Command+Page Up/ Command+Page
Down
Go to previous/next spread
Alt+Page Up/ Alt+Page Down
Option+Page Up/ Option+Page Down
Fit spread in window
Double-click Hand tool
Double-click Hand tool
Activate the Go To command
Ctrl+J
Command+J
Fit selection in window
Ctrl+Alt+(+) [plus sign]
Command+Option+(+) [plus sign]
Display the entire object
Ctrl+Alt+(+) [plus sign]
Command+Option+(+) [plus sign]
Go to master page while \ panel is closed
Ctrl+J, type prefix of master, press Enter
Command+J, type prefix of master, press
Return
Cycle through units of measurement
Shift+Alt+Ctrl+U
Shift+Option+Command+U
Snap guide to ruler increments
Shift–drag guide
Shift–drag guide
Switch between page and spread guides
(creation only)
Ctrl–drag guide
Command–drag guide
Temporarily turn on/off snap to
Create vertical and horizontal ruler guides
Control-drag object
Ctrl–drag from zero point
70
Command–drag from zero point
for the spread
Select all guides
Alt+Ctrl+G
Option+Command+G
Lock or unlock zero point
Right-click zero point and choose an
option
Control–click zero point and choose an
option
Use current magnification for view
threshold of new guide
Alt–drag guide
Option–drag guide
Select buttons in alert dialog boxes
Press first letter of button name, if
underlined
Press first letter of button name
Show information on installed plug-ins and
InDesign components
Ctrl+Help > About Design
Command+InDesign menu > About
InDesign
To the top
Keys for working with XML
This table isn’t a complete list of keyboard shortcuts. It lists only those shortcuts that aren’t displayed in menu commands or tool tips.
Result
Windows
Mac OS
Expand/Collapse element
Right Arrow/Left Arrow
Right Arrow/Left Arrow
Expand/Collapse element and child
elements
Alt+Right Arrow/ Alt+Left Arrow
Option+Right Arrow/ Option+Left Arrow
Extend XML selection up/down
Shift+Up Arrow/ Shift+Down Arrow
Shift+Up Arrow/ Shift+Down Arrow
Move XML selection up/down
Up Arrow/ Down Arrow
Up Arrow/ Down Arrow
Scroll structure pane up/down one screen
Page Up/ Page Down
Page Up/ Page Down
Select first/last XML node
Home/ End
Home/ End
Extend selection to first/last XML node
Shift+Home/ Shift+End
Shift+Home/ Shift+End
Go to previous/next validation error
Ctrl+Left Arrow/ Ctrl+Right Arrow
Command+Left Arrow/ Command+Right
Arrow
Automatically tag text frames and tables
Ctrl+Alt+Shift+F7
Command+Option+Shift+F7
To the top
Keys for indexing
This table isn’t a complete list of keyboard shortcuts. It lists only those shortcuts that aren’t displayed in menu commands or tool tips.
Result
Windows
Mac OS
Create index entry without dialog box
Shift+Ctrl+Alt+[
Shift+Command+Option+[
Open index entry dialog box
Ctrl+7
Command+7
Create proper name index entry (last
name, first name)
Shift+Ctrl+Alt+]
Shift+Command+Option+]
(alphanumeric only)
To the top
Keys for panels
This table isn’t a complete list of keyboard shortcuts. It lists only those shortcuts that aren’t displayed in menu commands or tool tips.
71
Result
Windows
Mac OS
Delete without confirmation
Alt-click Delete icon
Option-click Delete icon
Create item and set options
Alt-click New button
Option-click New button
Apply value and keep focus on option
Shift+Enter
Shift+Enter
Activate last-used option in last-used
panel
Ctrl+Alt+~ [tilde]
Command+Option+~ [tilde]
Select range of styles, layers, links,
swatches, or library objects in a panel
Shift-click
Shift-click
Select nonadjacent styles, layers, links,
swatches, or library objects in a panel
Ctrl-click
Command-click
Apply value and select next value
Tab
Tab
Move focus to selected object, text, or
window
Esc
Esc
Show/Hide all panels, Toolbox, and
Control panel (with no insertion point)
Tab
Tab
Show/Hide all panels except the Toolbox
and Control panel (docked or not)
Shift+Tab
Shift+Tab
Open or close all stashed panels
Ctrl+Alt+Tab
Command+Option+Tab
Stash a panel group
Alt+drag any panel tab (in the group) to
edge of screen
Option+drag any panel tab (in the group)
to edge of window
Select item by name
Alt+Ctrl-click in list, and then use
keyboard to select item by name
Option+Command-click in list and then
use keyboard to select item by name
Open the Drop Shadow panel
Alt+Ctrl+M
Command+Option+M
To the top
Keys for the Control panel
This table isn’t a complete list of keyboard shortcuts. It lists only those shortcuts that aren’t displayed in menu commands or tool tips.
Result
Windows
Mac OS
Toggle focus to/from Control panel
Ctrl+6
Command+6
Toggle Character/Paragraph text attributes
mode
Ctrl+Alt+7
Command+Option+7
Change reference point when proxy has
focus
Any key on the numeric keypad or
keyboard numbers
Any key on the numeric keypad or
keyboard numbers
Display the pop-up menu that has focus
Alt+Down Arrow
Open Units & Increments Preferences
Alt-click Kerning icon
Option-click Kerning icon
Open the Text Frame Options dialog box
Alt-click Number Of Columns icon
Option-click Number of Columns icon
Open the Move dialog box
Alt-click X or Y icon
Option-click X or Y icon
Open the Rotate dialog box
Alt-click Angle icon
Option-click Angle icon
Open the Scale dialog box
Alt-click X or Y Scale icon
Option-click X or Y Scale icon
Open the Shear dialog box
Alt-click Shear icon
Option-click Shear icon
Open Text Preferences
Alt-click Superscript, Subscript, or Small
Option-click Superscript, Subscript, or
72
Caps button
Small Caps button
Open the Underline Options dialog box
Alt-click Underline button
Option-click Underline button
Open the Strikethrough Options dialog
box
Alt-click Strikethrough button
Option-click Strikethrough button
Open the Grids Preferences
Alt-click Align To Baseline Grid, or Do Not
Align To Baseline Grid button
Option-click Align To Baseline Grid, or Do
Not Align To Baseline Grid button
Open the Drop Caps & Nested Styles
dialog box
Alt-click Drop Cap Number Of Lines, or
Drop Cap One Or More Characters icon
Option-click Drop Cap Number Of Lines,
or Drop Cap One Or More Characters icon
Open the Justification dialog box
Alt-click Leading icon
Option-click Leading icon
Open Named Grid dialog box
Double-click Named Grid icon
Double-click Named Grid icon
Open New Named Grid Options dialog
box
Alt-click Named Grid icon
Option-click Named Grid icon
Open Frame Grid Options dialog box
Alt-click Number of characters Horizontal,
Number of Characters Vertical, Character
Aki, Line Aki, Vertical Scale, Horizontal
Scale, Grid View, Font Size, Number of
Columns, or Column Gutter icon
Option-click Number of characters
Horizontal, Number of Characters Vertical,
Character Aki, Line Aki, Vertical Scale,
Horizontal Scale, Grid View, Font Size,
Number of Columns, or Column Gutter
icon
To the top
Keys for type panels and dialog boxes
This table isn’t a complete list of keyboard shortcuts. It lists only those shortcuts that aren’t displayed in menu commands or tool tips.
Result
Windows
Mac OS
Open Justification dialog box
Alt+Ctrl+Shift+J
Option+Command+Shift+J
Open Paragraph Rules dialog box
Alt+Ctrl+J
Option+Command+J
Open Keep Options dialog box
Alt+Ctrl+K
Option+Command+K
Activate Character panel
Ctrl+T
Command+T
Activate Paragraph panel
Ctrl+Alt+T
Command+Option+T
To the top
Keys for the character and paragraph styles
This table isn’t a complete list of keyboard shortcuts. It lists only those shortcuts that aren’t displayed in menu commands or tool tips.
Result
Windows
Mac OS
Make character style definition match text
Select text and press Shift+Alt+Ctrl+C
Select text and press
Shift+Option+Command+C
Make paragraph style definition match text
Select text and press Shift+Alt+Ctrl+R
Select text and press
Shift+Option+Command+R
Change options without applying style
Shift+Alt+Ctrl-double-click style
Shift+Option+Command-double-click style
Remove style and local formatting
Alt-click paragraph style name
Option-click paragraph style name
Clear overrides from paragraph style
Alt+Shift-click paragraph style name
Option+Shift-click paragraph style name
Show/hide Paragraph and Character
Styles panels, respectively
F11, Shift+F11
Command+F11, Command+Shift+F11
73
To the top
Keys for the Tabs panel
This table isn’t a complete list of keyboard shortcuts. It lists only those shortcuts that aren’t displayed in menu commands or tool tips.
Result
Windows
Mac OS
Activate Tabs panel
Shift+Ctrl+T
Shift+Command+T
Switch between alignment options
Alt-click tab
Option-click tab
To the top
Keys for the Layers panel
This table isn’t a complete list of keyboard shortcuts. It lists only those shortcuts that aren’t displayed in menu commands or tool tips.
Result
Windows
Mac OS
Select all objects on layer
Alt-click layer
Option-click layer
Copy selection to new layer
Alt-drag small square to new layer
Option-drag small square to new layer
Add new layer below selected layer
Ctrl-click Create New Layer
Command-click Create New Layer
Add new layer to the top of the layer list
Shift+Ctrl-click Create New Layer
Shift+Command-click Create New Layer
Add new layer to the top of the layer list
and open New Layer dialog box
Shift+Alt+Ctrl-click Create New Layer
Cmd+Option+Shift-click Create New Layer
Add new layer and open New Layer
dialog box
Alt-click Create New Layer
Option-click Create New Layer
To the top
Keys for the Pages panel
This table isn’t a complete list of keyboard shortcuts. It lists only those shortcuts that aren’t displayed in menu commands or tool tips.
Result
Windows
Mac OS
Apply master to selected page
Alt-click master
Option-click master
Base another master page on selected
master
Alt-click the master you want to base the
selected master on
Option-click the master you want to base
the selected master on
Create master page
Ctrl-click Create New Page button
Command-click Create New Page button
Display Insert Pages dialog box
Alt-click New Page button
Option-click New Page button
Add new page after last page
Shift+Ctrl+P
Shift+Command+P
To the top
Keys for the Color panel
This table isn’t a complete list of keyboard shortcuts. It lists only those shortcuts that aren’t displayed in menu commands or tool tips.
Result
Windows
Mac OS
Move color sliders in tandem
Shift-drag slider
Shift-drag slider
Select a color for the nonactive fill or
Alt-click color bar
Option-click color bar
74
stroke
Switch between color modes (CMYK,
RGB, LAB)
Shift-click color bar
Shift-click color bar
To the top
Keys for using the Separations Preview panel
This table isn’t a complete list of keyboard shortcuts. It lists only those shortcuts that aren’t displayed in menu commands or tool tips.
Result
Windows Action
Mac OS Action
Turn on Overprint preview
Ctrl+Alt+Shift+Y
Command+Option+Shift+Y
Show all plates
Ctrl+Alt+Shift+~ [tilde]
Command+Option+Shift+~ [tilde]
Show Cyan plate
Ctrl+Alt+Shift+1
Command+Option+Shift+1
Show Magenta plate
Ctrl+Alt+Shift+2
Command+Option+Shift+2
Show Yellow plate
Ctrl+Alt+Shift+3
Command+Option+Shift+3
Show Black plate
Ctrl+Alt+Shift+4
Command+Option+Shift+4
Show 1st Spot plate
Ctrl+Alt+Shift+5
Command+Option+Shift+5
Show 2nd Spot plate
Ctrl+Alt+Shift+6
Command+Option+Shift+6
Show 3rd Spot plate
Ctrl+Alt+Shift+7
Command+Option+Shift+7
To the top
Keys for the Swatches panel
This table isn’t a complete list of keyboard shortcuts. It lists only those shortcuts that aren’t displayed in menu commands or tool tips.
Result
Windows
Mac OS
Create new swatch based on the current
swatch
Alt-click New Swatch button
Option-click New Swatch button
Create spot color swatch based on the
current swatch
Alt+Ctrl-click New Swatch button
Option+Command-click New Swatch
button
Change options without applying swatch
Shift+Alt+Ctrl-double-click swatch
Shift+Option+Command-double-click
swatch
To the top
Keys for the Transform panel
This table isn’t a complete list of keyboard shortcuts. It lists only those shortcuts that aren’t displayed in menu commands or tool tips.
Result
Windows
Mac OS
Apply value and copy object
Alt+Enter
Option+Enter
Apply width, height, or scale value
proportionally
Ctrl+Enter
Command+Enter
Keys for resolving conflicts between Mac OS 10.3x and 10.4
This table isn’t a complete list of keyboard shortcuts. It lists only those shortcuts that aren’t displayed in menu commands or tool tips.
75
To the top
Result
Mac OS
Open Preferences dialog box
Command+K
Open Paragraph Styles panel
Command+F11
Open Character Styles panel
Command+Shift+F11
Open Swatches panel
F5
Open Pages panel
Command+F12
Minimize active application window
Command+M
Hide application
Command+H
Use keyboard shortcut sets
Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
76
Adjusting your workflow
Move content between assignments (InDesign)
Delete assignments (InDesign)
Relink missing assignment files (InDesign)
Correct mistakes
Overriding locked files (InDesign)
Unlink content files (InDesign)
Placing InCopy files in InDesign documents
To the top
Move content between assignments (InDesign)
InDesign users can move content between existing assignments as well as from the Unassigned InCopy Content section of the Assignments
panel. You can also create a new assignment and move content to it.
1. Save the InDesign document.
2. In the Assignments panel, click the arrow to the left of the assignment name to display the contents of the assignment.
3. Select an item in an assignment.
4. Do one of the following:
Drag the content from one assignment to another.
To move content to an existing assignment, choose Add To Assignment from the Assignments panel menu, and then select the desired
assignment.
To create a new assignment as you move content, from the Assignments panel menu, choose Add To Assignment > New, and then
specify options in the New Assignment dialog box.
5. Choose Update All Assignments from the Assignments panel menu.
If the assignment lists are short, you might prefer dragging content items to and from assignments and the Unassigned InCopy Content section.
To the top
Delete assignments (InDesign)
In the Assignments panel, select one or more assignments and choose Delete Assignment in the panel menu.
Deleting assignments accomplishes the following:
Removes the assignment data from the document.
Deletes the assignment file from the file system.
Removes the assignment name from the list.
Moves any InCopy content to the Unassigned InCopy Content section in the Assignments panel.
Note: If an InCopy user has an assignment open when it is deleted in InDesign, an alert message notifies the InCopy user that the assignment
has been deleted. However, the content files are not deleted and can be updated without loss of changes.
To the top
Relink missing assignment files (InDesign)
If you move or delete an assignment file from disk, and then open the InDesign document from which it was created, InDesign won’t know where
the assignment file is located. You need to re-create the assignment file so InDesign can find it.
Re-create the assignment file in the original location
In the Assignments panel, do one of the following:
Select the missing assignment (it will still be listed in the panel) and choose Update Selected Assignments from the panel menu.
Choose Update All Assignments from the panel menu.
Change the assignment location
To re-create the assignment file in a new location, do one of the following in the Assignments panel:
Select the assignment and choose Change Assignment Location from the panel menu. Specify a location and name for the new file.
77
Double-click the assignment name. In the Assignment Options dialog box, click Change and specify a location and name for the new file.
To the top
Correct mistakes
If you make a mistake, you can discard changes made since the last Save command and restore the content from the file system.
Because InDesign automatically saves every editable InCopy content file when you save the InDesign document, the Cancel Checkout command
restores only versions since the last time the document was changed.
Do one of the following:
To undo the most recent change, choose Edit > Undo [action].
To undo all changes made since the last time you saved the document, choose File > Revert Content.
To undo changes since the last saved version and remove the lock file, select the content in the Assignments panel and choose Cancel
Check Out from the panel menu. This action makes the content read-only and available for others to check out.
To the top
Overriding locked files (InDesign)
Users might not immediately realize how their actions affect others in the workflow, and might accidentally create situations where conflicts exist
between content status and ownership. If necessary, the InDesign user can resolve conflicts by unlinking a locked file checked out to a different
user and taking control over the file. Unlinking a file stores the content in the InDesign document, but the content is no longer shared with InCopy.
To the top
Unlink content files (InDesign)
If necessary (because of a production deadline, for example), InDesign users can remove a content file from the managed workflow and from the
Links panel by unlinking it. If you want to make the content available again for editing, you must reexport it as InCopy content using a different file
name. This ensures that the old lock file won’t prevent users from editing the file.
Note: Unlinking your own checked-out file removes it from the workflow and deletes the lock file from disk. You can re-export the content and
overwrite the file name without conflict.
To unlink an InCopy content file, select the file (.icml or .incx extension) in the Links panel and choose Unlink from the panel menu. Unlinking
embeds the content into the document and removes the link to the InCopy file on disk.
To relink the file, choose Edit > Undo Unlink.
You can also unlink by deleting a frame, or using the InDesign Links panel to relink a content file to another file. You can also select the story in
the Assignments panel and drag it to the Trash icon.
To the top
Placing InCopy files in InDesign documents
Although a typical workflow begins in InDesign, where the basic layout and text and graphics placeholders are defined and exported to InCopy, a
different workflow can start with a stand-alone InCopy content file (.icml or .incx) that you place in InDesign using the File > Place command.
Consider the following dependencies when you place InCopy content files in an InDesign document:
Styles If the InCopy text file has styles applied, they are added to the InDesign list of styles for the document. In the event of a style-name
conflict, InDesign overwrites the imported style with its existing style.
Layout You can create the basic layout geometry for the content in InDesign, and then create or import the text and styles from a word-processing
application. (Text files placed within InCopy are embedded in the InCopy document and are not linked to any external file.)
Placing/Duplicating If you place an InCopy content file more than once, each instance of the content appears in the InDesign Links panel, but
they are all managed as one content file. The same is true for any exact copies of a content file (by any means of duplication).
Note: If you copy and paste some, but not all, of the text in a managed InCopy content file, the result is a new content file that is not connected to
the original and has no link to any external file (InCopy or otherwise). The original and the pasted portions can be edited independently of each
other.
Updates/Management Once multiple instances of a managed content file are present in an InDesign document, they behave as if they were open
in two applications. For example, checking out one instance of the content file locks all other instances so that you can edit only the checked-out
instance. In this case, you would use the appropriate Update command to refresh the other (open) instances of the content.
More Help topics
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
78
Assignment packages
Create and send packages (InDesign)
Receive packages (InCopy)
Receive return packages (InDesign)
To the top
Create and send packages (InDesign)
Under ideal circumstances, all InDesign and InCopy users on the team have access to a server where assignment files are stored. However, if
one or more users don’t have access to a common server, you can create and distribute compressed assignment packages. After working on the
assignment, the InCopy user repackages the assignment and returns it to be integrated into the InDesign document. Package files created in
InDesign include the .icap extension. The return package files created in InCopy include the .idap extension.
There are two commands for packaging files: Package For InCopy and Package And Email. Use Package For InCopy to create a compressed
package that you can distribute manually; use Package And Email to create a compressed package that is attached automatically to an e-mail
message.
Note: Do not confuse an assignment package with the File > Package command in InDesign that lets you bundle and send a document and its
assets to a printer.
Create a package for manual distribution
1. Create an assignment and add the content you want to include in the package.
Only content that is checked in can be included in the packaged assignment. If any content is checked out, you’re prompted to check in
content.
2. In the Assignments panel, select the assignment and choose Package For InCopy from the panel menu.
3. Specify a name and location for the package file, and click Save.
You can attach the package file to an e-mail message, upload it to an FTP server, or copy it to a disk or other external media.
Note: Choosing Edit > Undo after you create a package cancels the package and unlocks the items in the assignment, but it doesn’t delete the
package file from your computer or unsend the e-mail.
Create a package for e-mail (InDesign)
1. Create an assignment and add the content you want to include in the package.
Only content that is checked in is included in the packaged assignment. If any content is checked out, you’re prompted to check in content.
2. In the Assignments panel, select the assignment and choose Package For InCopy And Email from the panel menu.
A compressed assignment package is created and attached to an e-mail message of your default e-mail application.
Note: If you want to use a different e-mail application, change the default e-mail application. See your system documentation for details.
3. Edit the e-mail message by adding a recipient and providing any instructions. Send the message.
All items in the assignment are checked out to the assigned user. However, the contents of the package itself aren’t locked, so anyone can open
the package and edit them.
Cancel a package
In some cases, the package you send isn’t returned. For example, the message may have gotten lost, or the recipient may no longer work on the
project. In such a situation, you can cancel a package.
1. In the Assignments panel, select the packaged assignment, and choose Cancel Package from the panel menu.
2. Click OK to cancel the package.
Canceling a package doesn’t remove the package file from your computer.
When a package is cancelled, the package’s contents are available for editing. Be aware that if someone returns a package that has been
cancelled, conflicts may occur.
Update a package
After you create a package, you may want to add, remove, or resize items.
1. Add, remove, or resize one or more stories to the packaged assignment.
79
2. Select the assignment in the Assignments panel, and do one of the following:
Choose Update Package from the Assignments panel menu. Specify the name and location of the file. Make the updated package
available to users by placing it on a shared server or by e-mail. Remember to notify InCopy users that the package has been updated.
Choose Update Package And Email from the Assignments panel menu, and then send the message.
When InCopy users open the updated package, only new content is added automatically to the assignment; InCopy users can decide whether to
overwrite existing content, allowing them to preserve previous edits.
To the top
Receive packages (InCopy)
You may receive a package from an InDesign user who created the package or from an InCopy user who forwarded the package to you. When
you open an assignment package, the package is decompressed, and the contents are copied to a new subfolder in an InCopy Assignments
folder.
Open a package (InCopy)
To open an InCopy package (*.icap or *.incp), do any of the following:
Launch the package using the e-mail application. For example, double-click the attachment file.
Use Explorer or Finder to open the file. For example, double-click the file or drag it to the InCopy application icon.
In InCopy, choose File > Open, and double-click the packaged assignment file.
In InCopy, choose Open Package from the Assignments panel menu, and then double-click the package file.
You can now edit the stories in the package. When you begin editing a story, you’re prompted to check out the contents of the frame. When you’ve
finished editing, save all content and return or forward the package.
Return or forward a package (InCopy)
After you open and edit a package, you can send it to another InCopy user or you can return it to the InDesign user who created the package.
Package files created for other InCopy users include the .icap extension; return package files created for InDesign users include the .idap
extension.
1. Edit and check in the content you want to include in the package.
2. From the Assignments panel menu, choose one of the following:
Forward For InCopy Create a package for another InCopy user. Specify the name and location of the package file, and then make it
available to the InCopy user.
Forward For InCopy And Email Create and send a package for another InCopy user via e-mail. The package appears as an attachment in
a new message in your default e-mail application. Specify the recipient, provide instructions, and send the e-mail message.
Return For InDesign Create a package to return to the InDesign user.
Return For InDesign And Email Create and return a package to the InDesign user by e-mail. The package appears as an attachment in a
new message in your default e-mail application. Specify the recipient, provide instructions, and send the e-mail message.
To the top
Receive return packages (InDesign)
To open an InDesign package (*.idap or *.indp), do any of the following:
Launch the package using the e-mail application. For example, double-click the attachment file.
Use Explorer or Finder to open the file. For example, double-click the file or drag it to the InDesign application icon.
In InDesign, choose File > Open, and double-click the package file.
In InDesign, choose Open Package from the Assignments panel menu, and then double-click the package file.
You’re prompted to update all links when opening the package. If a story has been modified since the assignment was packaged, you can
determine whether to update or unlink the content in the InDesign file. When the stories in the files are returned and checked in, you can check out
and edit the content.
More Help topics
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
80
Converting QuarkXPress and PageMaker documents
Open QuarkXPress files in InDesign
Convert PageMaker documents
To the top
Open QuarkXPress files in InDesign
InDesign can convert document and template files from QuarkXPress 3.3 or 4.1x. InDesign can also convert document and template files from
multi-language QuarkXPress Passport 4.1x files, so there is no longer any need to save these files as single-language files first. (To convert
documents created with QuarkXPress 5.0 or later, reopen the documents in QuarkXPress and save them in 4.0 format.)
For more information, see the QuarkXPress Conversion Guide (PDF) at www.adobe.com/go/learn_quarkconv.
Open a QuarkXPress document or template
1. Make sure that the original application file is closed.
2. To ensure that all links are maintained, copy all linked files to the same QuarkXPress document folder.
3. In InDesign, choose File > Open.
4. In Windows, choose QuarkXPress (3.3-4.1x) or QuarkXPress Passport (4.1x) from the Files Of Type menu.
5. Select a file and click Open.
Note: If InDesign cannot convert a file or a specific part of a file, it displays a warning describing the reasons it cannot convert it and the
results of the conversion.
6. If a warning dialog box appears, do one of the following:
Click Save to save a copy of the warnings as a text file, and then open the file in InDesign.
Click Close to close the dialog box and open the file in InDesign.
7. To more accurately convert text wrap applied in QuarkXPress, do the following in InDesign:
Select Text Wrap Only Affects Objects Beneath in the Composition area of the Preferences dialog box.
Assign the Adobe Single-Line Composer in the Paragraph panel menu to one or more paragraphs.
If you’re experiencing problems with the converted QuarkXPress document, use the Export dialog box to save the document in InDesign
Markup (IDML) format. Then open the IDML file and save it as an InDesign document.
Save a QuarkXPress template as an InDesign template
1. Open the template in InDesign.
2. Choose File > Save As and specify a location and filename.
3. Choose InDesign Template for Save As Type (Windows) or Format (Mac OS), and then click Save.
What gets converted from QuarkXPress
When you open a QuarkXPress file, InDesign converts the original file information to native InDesign information:
Text boxes are converted to InDesign text frames.
To accurately convert text wrap applied in QuarkXPress, select Text Wrap Only Affects Text Beneath in the Composition area of the
Preferences dialog box.
Styles are converted to InDesign styles.
Because QuarkXPress uses different color profiles, they are ignored in InDesign.
Text and graphics links are preserved and appear in the Links panel.
Note: Embedded graphics—those added to the original document using the Paste command—are not converted. For more information on
embedded graphics, see About links and embedded graphics.
InDesign does not support OLE or Quark XTensions. Consequently, when you open files that contain OLE or Quark XTensions graphics,
those graphics will not appear in the InDesign document. If your QuarkXPress document does not convert, check the original and remove
any objects that were created by an XTension; then save, and try to convert again.
All master pages and layers are converted to InDesign masters and layers.
All master-page objects, as well as QuarkXPress guides, are placed on the corresponding InDesign master pages.
81
Grouped objects remain grouped except where nonprinting items are included in a group.
All strokes and lines (including paragraph rules) are converted to the stroke styles they most closely resemble. Custom strokes and dashes
are converted to custom strokes and dashes in InDesign.
Colors are converted exactly to InDesign colors, except in the following situations:
Multi-ink colors from QuarkXPress are mapped to mixed inks in InDesign, unless the multi-ink color does not contain at least one spot color.
In this case, the multi-ink color is converted to a process color instead.
QuarkXPress 4.1 colors from the color library are converted based on their CMYK values.
QuarkXPress 3.3 HSB colors are converted to RGB, and colors from the color library are converted based on their CMYK values.
QuarkXPress 4.1 HSB and LAB colors are converted to RGB, and colors from the color library are converted based on their RGB/CMYK
values.
For information about other conversion issues, check the support documents on the Adobe website at www.adobe.com/support.
To the top
Convert PageMaker documents
InDesign can convert document and template files from Adobe PageMaker 6.0 and later. When you open a PageMaker file, InDesign converts the
original file information to native InDesign information. InDesign files are saved with an .indd filename extension.
For more information, see the PageMaker Conversion Guide (PDF) at www.adobe.com/go/learn_pmconv.
Before opening the document in InDesign, you may want to do the following:
If the PageMaker file or its linked graphics are located on a network server, floppy disk, or removable drive, it may not open as expected if an
interruption in data transfer occurs. To prevent data transfer problems, copy documents and their links to the hard disk, preferably in the
same folder where the PageMaker publication is stored, before opening them in InDesign.
You may want to use Save As in PageMaker to clear unnecessary hidden data.
To ensure that all links are maintained, copy all linked files to the same folder where the PageMaker publication is stored.
Make sure that all necessary fonts are available in InDesign.
Repair broken graphics links in the PageMaker publication.
If you have a problem converting a large PageMaker document, convert portions of the PageMaker file separately to isolate the problem.
If you cannot open a corrupt PageMaker document in PageMaker, try opening it in InDesign. InDesign can recover most documents that
PageMaker cannot open.
Open a PageMaker document or template
1. Make sure that the original application file is closed.
2. In InDesign, choose File > Open.
3. In Windows, choose PageMaker (6.0-7.0) in the Files of Type menu.
4. Select a file and click Open.
Note: If InDesign cannot convert a file or a specific part of a file, it displays a warning describing the reasons it cannot convert it and the
results of the conversion attempt.
5. If a warning dialog box appears, do one of the following:
Click Save to save a copy of the warnings as a text file, and then open the file in InDesign.
Click Close to open the file in InDesign without saving the text file.
If you’re experiencing problems with the converted PageMaker document, use the Export dialog box to save the document in InDesign Markup
(IDML) format. Then open the IDML file and save it as an InDesign document.
Save a PageMaker template as an InDesign template
1. Open the template in InDesign.
2. Choose File > Save As and specify a location and filename.
3. Choose InDesign Template for Save As Type (Windows) or Format (Mac OS), and then click Save.
Common PageMaker conversion issues
Note the following:
All master pages and layers are converted to InDesign masters and layers. Master pages in PageMaker convert to master pages in InDesign
82
and retain all objects including page numbering and guides. To maintain the order of overlapping items, InDesign creates two layers when
converting a PageMaker publication: Default and Master Default. Master Default contains the Master page items.
PageMaker document guides are placed on the Default layer in InDesign.
All items on the PageMaker pasteboard appear on the pasteboard of the first spread in the InDesign document.
All objects designated in PageMaker as Non-Printing are converted with Nonprinting selected in the InDesign Attributes panel.
Grouped objects remain grouped except where nonprinting items are included in a group.
Text and tables conversion issues
Note the following:
Text is converted to InDesign text frames.
Tables in PageMaker files are converted to InDesign tables.
Styles are converted to InDesign styles. The [No style] in PageMaker is the equivalent of [No Paragraph Style] in InDesign. However, [No
Paragraph Style] picks up the attributes of a named style if that style was selected before any typing occurred in the PageMaker publication.
InDesign uses the Adobe Paragraph Composer for all paragraphs, causing some text to reflow. You can assign the Adobe Single-Line
Composer to one or more paragraphs to create line breaks more similarly to the PageMaker composition engine, but text may still reflow.
InDesign uses only Baseline leading. Proportional and Top of Caps leading in PageMaker convert to Baseline leading in InDesign, possibly
resulting in text shifting.
The First Baseline of converted text may appear different than text created in InDesign. The First Baseline of converted text is set to Leading,
but the First Baseline of text created in InDesign is set to Ascent by default.
InDesign uses a different hyphenation method than PageMaker, so line breaks may be different.
Shadow text converts as plain text. Outline text converts as text with a stroke of 0.25 inches and a fill of Paper.
Book, index, and TOC conversion issues
Note the following:
InDesign ignores Booklists when opening PageMaker publications. If you want to open all the publications on a Booklist together, run the
Build Booklet plug-in in PageMaker with a layout of None selected so that the booked publications are combined into one. Note that text
blocks and frames will no longer be threaded.
Index entries from a PageMaker publication appear in the InDesign Index panel. Text with cross-references that use the See Herein or See
Also Herein option are mapped as See or See Also.
Table of Contents text converts as a Table of Contents, with PageMaker TOC Style available in the style pop-up menu in the InDesign TOC
dialog box.
Linking and embedding conversion issues
Note the following:
Text and graphics links are preserved and appear in the Links panel.
If InDesign cannot locate the original link to a graphic, a warning appears asking you to repair the link in PageMaker.
InDesign does not support OLE (object linking and embedding). Consequently, when you open files that contain OLE graphics, those
graphics will not appear in the InDesign document.
Color and trapping conversion issues
Note the following:
Colors are converted exactly to InDesign colors. PageMaker HLS colors are converted to RGB colors, and colors from other color libraries
are converted based on their CMYK values.
Tints are converted as percentages of the parent color. If the parent color isn’t in the Swatches panel, it’s added during conversion. When an
object with a tint is selected, the parent color is selected in the Swatches panel, and the tint value appears in the pop-up menu.
Color profiles for PageMaker files are converted directly. All Hexachrome colors are converted to RGB values. Profiles that are not
ICC-compliant are replaced using the default CMS settings and profiles you specified for InDesign.
All strokes and lines (including paragraph rules) are converted to the default stroke styles they most closely resemble. Custom strokes and
dashes are converted to custom strokes and dashes in InDesign.
InDesign does not support screen patterns or angles applied to TIFF images in Image Control; it drops these from imported TIFF files.
When Auto-Overprint Black Strokes or Fills (or both) is selected in the Trapping Preferences dialog box in PageMaker, the setting carries
over to InDesign, but Overprint Stroke or Overprint Fill is deselected in the Attributes panel.
For information about other PageMaker conversion issues, check the support documents on the Adobe website.
83
More Help topics
PageMaker Conversion Guide
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
84
Create new documents
Creating new documents
Create a new document
New Document options
Document window overview
Create custom page sizes
Define document presets
Create a document using a preset
Page design begins with the basics: starting a new document, setting up pages, and positioning margins and columns or changing grid settings.
To the top
Create a new document
1. Choose File > New > Document.
The New Document dialog box combines the Document Setup and the Margins And Columns dialog boxes, so that you can set up the page
size, margins, and page columns all in one place. You can change these settings at any time.
2. Specify document setup options. (See New Document options.)
To specify the dimensions of the bleed and slug areas, click the Arrow button before the Bleed and Slug label. The bleed and slug areas
extend out from the edges of the defined Page Size. To make the bleed or slug areas extend evenly on all sides, click the Make All Settings
The Same icon
.
3. Click OK to open the new document with the settings you specified.
To set default layout settings for all new documents, choose File > Document Setup or Layout > Margins And Columns, and set options when
no documents are open.
To the top
New Document options
Document Preset Choose a preset that you have saved earlier.
Intent If you are creating a document to be output to PDF or SWF for the web, choosing the Web option changes several options in the dialog
box, such as turning off Facing Pages, changing the orientation from portrait to landscape, and using a page size based on monitor resolution. You
can edit any of these settings after the document is created.
CS6 and later: Digital publishing intent has been added for publications aimed for the Digital Publishing Suite. You can also change the intent of
the document after it is created.
Number of pages Specify the number of pages to create in the new document.
Start Page # Specify which number the document starts on. If you specify an even number (such as 2) with Facing Pages selected, the first
spread in the document begins with a two-page spread. See Start a document with a two-page spread.
Facing Pages Select this option to make left and right pages face each other in a double-page spread, such as for books and magazines.
Deselect this option to let each page stand alone, such as when you’re printing flyers or posters or when you want objects to bleed in the binding.
After you’ve created a document, you can use the Pages panel to create spreads with more than two pages or force the first two pages to open as
a spread. (See Control spread pagination.)
Master Text Frame CS5.5 and earlier: Select this option to create a text frame the size of the area within the margin guides, matching the column
settings you specified. The master text frame is added to the A Master. (See Using text frames on master pages.)
The Master Text Frame option is available only when you’ve chosen File > New > Document.
Primary Text Frame CS6 and later: select this option to add a primary text frame on the master page. When you apply a new master page, the
story in the primary text frame automatically flows into the primary text frame of the new master page.
Page Size Choose a page size from the menu, or type values for Width and Height. Page size represents the final size you want after bleeds or
other marks outside the page are trimmed.
Orientation Click Portrait
(tall) or Landscape
(wide). These icons interact dynamically with the dimensions you enter in Page Size. When
Height is the larger value, the portrait icon is selected. When Width is the larger value, the landscape icon is selected. Clicking the deselected icon
85
switches the Height and Width values.
Tip: To specify the dimensions of the bleed and slug areas, click the Arrow button before the Bleed and Slug label in the New Document dialog
.
box. To make the bleed or slug areas extend evenly on all sides, click the Make All Settings The Same icon
Bleed The Bleed area allows you to print objects that are arranged at the outer edge of the defined page size. For a page of the required
dimensions, if an object is positioned at its edge, some white may appear at the edge of the printed area due to slight misalignment during printing
or trimming. For this reason, you should position an object that is at the edge of the page of the required dimensions a little beyond the edge, and
trim after printing. Bleed area is shown by a red line on the document. You can set bleed area settings from Bleed in the Print dialog box.
Slug The slug area is discarded when the document is trimmed to its final page size. The slug area holds printing information, customized color
bar information, or displays other instructions and descriptions for other information in the document. Objects (including text frames) positioned in
the slug area are printed but will disappear when the document is trimmed to its final page size.
Objects outside the bleed or slug area (whichever extends farther) do not print.
Note: You can also click the Save Document Preset icon to save document settings for future use.
To the top
Document window overview
Each page or spread in your document has its own pasteboard and guides, which are visible in Normal View mode. (To switch to Normal View,
choose View > Screen Mode > Normal.) The pasteboard is replaced with a gray background when the document is viewed using one of the
Preview modes. (See Preview documents.) You can change the color of this preview background and guides in Guides & Pasteboard preferences.
Document and guides in Normal View Mode
A. Spread (black lines) B. Page (black lines) C. Margin guides (magenta lines) D. Column guides (violet lines) E. Bleed area (red lines) F. Slug
area (blue lines)
Document window notes:
Lines of other colors are ruler guides which, when present, appear in the layer color when selected. See Layers.
Column guides appear in front of margin guides. When a column guide is exactly in front of a margin guide, it hides the margin guide.
To the top
Create custom page sizes
You can create custom page sizes that appear in the Page Size menu in the New Document dialog box.
1. Choose File > New > Document.
2. Choose Custom Page Size from the Page Size menu.
3. Type a name for the page size, specify page size settings, and then click Add.
The New Doc Sizes.txt file that lets you create custom page sizes in previous version of InDesign is not available in InDesign CS5 or later.
To the top
Define document presets
You can save document settings for page size, columns, margins, and bleed and slug areas in a preset to save time and ensure consistency when
creating similar documents.
1. Choose File > Document Presets > Define.
2. Click New in the dialog box that appears.
3. Specify a name for the preset and select basic layout options in the New Document Preset dialog box. (See New Document options for a
description of each option.)
86
4. Click OK twice.
You can save a document preset to a separate file and distribute it to other users. To save and load document preset files, use the Save and
Load buttons in the Document Presets dialog box.
To the top
Create a document using a preset
1. Do one of the following:.
Choose File > Document Preset > [name of preset]. (Hold down Shift while choosing the preset to create a new document based on the
preset without opening the New Document dialog box.)
Choose File > New > Document, and then choose a preset from the Document Preset menu in the New Document dialog box.
The New Document dialog box displays the preset layout options.
2. Make changes to the options (if desired) and click OK.
To skip the New Document dialog box, press the Shift key as you select a preset from the Document Preset menu.
Recommended workflow for InDesign documents
Use document templates
Add documents to a book file
Change document setup, margins, and columns
Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
87
PageMaker menu commands
PageMaker File menu commands
PageMaker Edit menu commands
PageMaker Layout menu commands
PageMaker Type menu commands
PageMaker Element menu commands
PageMaker Utilities menu commands
PageMaker View menu commands
PageMaker Window menu commands
Browse through these tables to learn where Adobe PageMaker commands are found in AdobeInDesign CS5.
To the top
PageMaker File menu commands
PageMaker command
InDesign equivalent
Additional information
File > New
File > New > Document
File > Open
File > Open
File > Recent Publications
File > Open Recent (Windows®)
File > Close
File > Close
File > Save
File > Save
There is no preference in InDesign to
Save Smaller or Save Faster. Use Save to
perform a fast save and Save Asto
compact a document to the smallest
possible size.
File > Save As
File > Save As
See note above.
File > Revert
File > Revert
InDesign does not revert to “mini-saved”
versions of a document as PageMaker
does; instead, InDesign offers unlimited
levels of Undo.
File > Place
File > Place
File > Acquire
No equivalent
File > Export
File > Export
File > Links Manager
Window > Links
File > Document Setup
File > Document Setup
File > Printer Styles
File > Print Presets
File > Print
File > Print
File > Preferences > General
Edit > Preferences (Windows) or
InDesign > Preferences (Mac OS)
Equivalent settings can be found in
Composition, Units & Increments, Guides
& Pasteboard, and Display Performance
preferences.
File > Preferences > Online
No equivalent
You can drag objects from a web browser
to InDesign without configuring a proxy.
Scan images using the software that came
with your scanner, and then place the
images in InDesign.
88
File > Preferences > Layout Adjustment
Layout > Layout Adjustment
You specify layout adjustment options and
enable layout adjustment at the same
time. Settings in InDesign match those in
PageMaker almost exactly. Ruler guides
follow their associated column or margin
guides by default. To change this, deselect
Allow Ruler Guides To Move.
File > Preferences > Trapping
Window > Output > Trap Presets
To specify trapping preferences, create a
new Trap preset.
File > Exit (Windows) or File > Quit
(Mac OS)
File > Exit (Windows) or InDesign > Quit
InDesign (Mac OS)
To the top
PageMaker Edit menu commands
PageMaker command
InDesign equivalent
Additional information
Edit > Undo
Edit > Undo
InDesign allows unlimited levels of Undo.
Edit > Cut
Edit > Cut
Edit > Copy
Edit > Copy
Edit > Paste
Edit > Paste
Edit > Clear
Edit > Clear
Edit > Select All
Edit > Select All
Edit > Deselect All
Edit > Deselect All
Edit > Editions (Mac OS)
No equivalent
Edit > Paste Multiple
Edit > Step And Repeat
Edit > Paste Special
Edit > Paste Without Formatting
Edit > Insert Object (Windows)
File > Place
Edit > Edit Story
Edit > Edit In Story Editor
Edit > Edit Original
Edit > Edit Original
Edit > Show Clipboard (Mac OS)
No equivalent
InDesign does not support OLE; however,
you can set similar options in the Links
panel.
InDesign does not support
Publish/Subscribe; however, you can set
similar options in the Links panel.
You can also choose Edit Original in the
Links panel menu.
To the top
PageMaker Layout menu commands
PageMaker command
InDesign equivalent
Additional information
Layout > Go To Page
Layout > Go To Page
You can also double-click a page icon in
the Pages panel to jump to that page.
Layout > Insert Pages
Layout > Pages > Insert Pages
Layout > Remove Pages
Layout > Pages > Delete Pages
Layout > Sort Pages
Window > Pages
Click and drag pages in the Pages panel
to sort them.
89
Layout > Go Back
Layout > Go Back
Layout > Go Forward
Layout > Go Forward
Layout > Column Guides
Layout > Margins And Columns
Layout > Copy Master Guides
No equivalent
Layout > Autoflow
Press Shift when a loaded text icon
displayed.
InDesign master guides from any given
master are always copied to pages that
use that master.
is
You can flow text manually, automatically
(with autoflow), or semi-automatically.
To the top
PageMaker Type menu commands
PageMaker command
InDesign equivalent
Additional information
Type > Font
Type > Font
Type > Size
Type > Size
Type > Leading
Type > Character or Control panel in
Character mode (Window > Control)
InDesign uses baseline leading by default,
as opposed to proportional leading, which
is PageMaker’s default.
Type > Type Style
Type > Character or Control panel in
Character mode (Window > Control)
InDesign displays the type styles available
for the selected font. You can also use
Quick Apply.
Type > Expert Kerning
Type > Character or Control panel in
Character mode (Window > Control)
Expert kerning in PageMaker is similar to
optical kerning in InDesign.
Type > Horizontal Scale
Control panel in Character mode
(Window > Control)
Type > Character
Type > Character
Type > Paragraph
Type > Paragraph
Type > Indents/Tabs
Type > Tabs
Type > Hyphenation
Type > Paragraph
Type > Alignment
Type > Paragraph or Control panel in
Paragraph mode (Window > Control)
Type > Style
Type > Paragraph Styles or Type >
Character Styles
InDesign supports both paragraph and
character styles.
Type > Define Styles
Type > Paragraph Styles or Type >
Character Styles
Choose New Paragraph Style in the
Paragraph Styles panel to create a
paragraph style. Choose New Character
Style in the Character Styles panel to
create a character style.
Choose Hyphenation from the Paragraph
panel menu.
To the top
PageMaker Element menu commands
PageMaker command
InDesign equivalent
Additional information
Element > Fill
Window > Color > Swatches or Window >
Color > Color
InDesign does not support patterned fills.
The Swatches panel in InDesign is
equivalent to the Colors palette in
90
PageMaker.
Element > Stroke
Window > Stroke
Choose a stroke style in the Stroke panel
or define a custom stroke style.
Element > Fill And Stroke
Window > Color > Swatches, Window >
Stroke, and Window > Output > Attributes
Create tints using the Swatches panel.
Specify overprinting in the Attributes
panel.
Element > Frame > Attach Content
No equivalent
InDesign automatically creates a frame for
text files or graphics you import. To paste
content into an existing frame, select the
frame, and then place or paste the content
into it.
Element > Frame > Frame Options
Object > Text Frame Options (text frames
only) or Object > Fitting
For text frames, specify columns, vertical
alignment, and inset spacing in the Text
Frame Options dialog box. Set horizontal
alignment in the Paragraph panel (Type >
Paragraph). For graphics and text frames,
use subcommands on the Object > Fitting
menu to fit content to a frame (or vice
versa).
Element > Frame > Change To Frame
Object > Content > [content type]
Element > Frame > Next Frame
View > Extras > Show Text Threads
Element > Frame > Previous Frame
View > Extras > Show Text Threads
Element > Frame > Remove From
Threads
Double-click the in port or out port to
break a thread.
Element > Frame > Delete Content
Select content in the frame, and then
press Delete.
Element > Arrange
Object > Arrange
Element > Align Objects (Windows) or
Element > Align (Mac OS)
Window > Object & Layout > Align
Element > Text Wrap
Window > Text Wrap
Element > Group
Object > Group
Element > Ungroup
Object > Ungroup
Element > Lock Position
Object > Lock Position
Element > Unlock
Object > Unlock Position
Element > Mask
Object > Clipping Path
You can also mask a graphic by creating
the masking shape, copying the image
you want to mask, and then pasting it into
the shape (Edit > Paste Into), or by
adjusting its graphics frame.
Element > Unmask
Object > Clipping Path
See note above.
Element > Image > Image Control
No equivalent
Use the Edit Original command to change
image control settings in the original
application.
Element > Image > CMS Source
Object > Image Color Settings
Element > Image > Photoshop Effects
Object > Effects
Element > Polygon Settings
Double-click the Polygon tool in the
Toolbox
91
Select text with the Type tool. Select
graphics with the Direct Selection tool.
Element > Rounded Corners
Object > Corner Options
Element > Link Info
Window > Links
Choose Link Information on the Links
panel menu.
Element > Link Options
Type Preferences or Window > Links
In File Handling Preferences, select or
deselect Create Links When Placing Text
And Spreadsheet Files. Or, on the Links
panel menu, choose Unlink.
Element > Non-Printing
Window > Output > Attributes
Element > Remove Transformation
No equivalent
To the top
PageMaker Utilities menu commands
PageMaker command
InDesign equivalent
Additional information
Utilities > Plug-ins
Help > Configure Plug-ins (Windows) or
InDesign > Configure Plug-ins (Mac OS)
Utilities > Find
Edit > Find/Change
You can perform Find/Change operations
in Layout view or Story Editor.
Utilities > Find Next
Edit > Find Next
See note above.
Utilities > Change
Edit > Find/Change
See note above.
Utilities > Spelling
Edit > Spelling > Check Spelling
You can check spelling in Layout view or
Story Editor.
Utilities > Book
File > New > Book
You add, delete, and sort documents in a
book using the Book panel.
Utilities > Index Entry
Window > Type & Tables > Index
To add an index entry, click the New
button in the Index panel.
Utilities > Show Index
Index panel in Reference mode
(Window > Type & Tables > Index)
Utilities > Create Index
Window > Type & Tables > Index
Utilities > Create TOC
Layout > Table Of Contents
Utilities > Define Colors
Window > Color > Swatches
Choose Generate Index on the Index
panel menu.
Choose New Color Swatch in the
Swatches panel menu.
To the top
PageMaker View menu commands
PageMaker command
InDesign equivalent
Additional information
View > Display Master Items
Choose Hide/Show Master Items from the
Pages panel menu
View > Display Non-Printing Items
Select Normal View Mode
in the
Toolbox to view nonprinting items. To hide
nonprinting items, select Preview Mode .
View > Zoom In
View > Zoom In
View > Zoom Out
View > Zoom Out
View > Actual Size
View > Actual Size
92
You can also create a layer for objects you
do not want to print, and then show or
hide that layer when you print or export.
View > Fit In Window
View > Fit Page In Window or View > Fit
Spread In Window
View > Entire Pasteboard
View > Entire Pasteboard
View > Zoom To
Choose a magnification level from the
Zoom menu at the bottom of the
document window.
View > Hide/Show Rulers
View > Hide/Show Rulers
View > Snap To Rulers
No equivalent
View > Zero Lock
Right-click (Windows) or Control-click
(Mac OS) the zero point, and then choose
Lock Zero Point from the context menu
that appears.
View > Hide/Show Guides
View > Grids & Guides > Hide/Show
Guides
View > Snap To Guides
View > Grids & Guides > Snap To Guides
View > Lock Guides
View > Grids & Guides > Lock Guides
And View > Grids & Guides > Lock
Column Guides
View > Clear Ruler Guides
Using InDesign keyboard shortcuts, Press
Ctrl+Alt+G (Windows) or
Command+Option+G (Mac OS) to select
all guides on the current spread, and then
press Delete.
View > Send Guides To Back
Edit > Preferences > Guides &
Pasteboard (Windows) or InDesign >
Preferences > Guides & Pasteboard
(Mac OS)
View > Hide/Show Scroll Bars
No equivalent
Select the Guides In Back option.
To the top
PageMaker Window menu commands
PageMaker command
InDesign equivalent
Additional information
Window > Arrange Icons (Windows)
No equivalent
Window > Tile
Window > Arrange > Tile
Window > Cascade
Window > Arrange > Cascade
Window > Hide/Show Tools
Window > Tools
Window > Hide/Show Control Palette
Window > Control
Window > Hide/Show Colors
Window > Color > Swatches or Window >
Color > Color
Window > Hide/Show Styles
Window > Styles > Paragraph Styles or
Character Styles
Window > Hide/Show Layers
Window > Layers
Window > Hide/Show Master Pages
Window > Pages
Window > Hide/Show Hyperlinks
Window > Interactive > Hyperlinks
93
Window > Plug-in Palettes
No equivalent
Plug-ins appear as added options in
InDesign menus or panels, or in InDesign
dialog boxes.
Window > [name of open document]
Window > [name of open document]
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
94
Recovery and undo
Recover documents
Undo mistakes
To the top
Recover documents
InDesign guards your data against unexpected power or system failures using an automatic recovery feature. Automatically recovered data exists
in a temporary file that is separate from the original document file on disk. Under normal circumstances you don’t need to think about automatically
recovered data, because any document updates stored in the automatic recovery file are automatically added to the original document file when
you choose the Save or Save As command or exit from InDesign normally. Automatically recovered data is important only if you’re unable to save
successfully before an unexpected power or system failure.
Even though these features exist, you should save your files often and create backup files in case of unexpected power or system failures.
Find recovered documents
1. Restart your computer.
2. Start InDesign.
If automatically recovered data exists, InDesign automatically displays the recovered document. The word [Recovered] appears after the
filename in the title bar of the document window to indicate that the document contains unsaved changes that were automatically recovered.
Note: If InDesign fails after attempting to open a document using automatically recovered changes, the automatically recovered data may
be corrupted.
3. Do one of the following:
To save the recovered data, choose File >Save As, specify a location and a new filename, and click Save. The Save As command
keeps the recovered version that includes the automatically recovered data; the word [Recovered] disappears from the title bar.
To discard automatically recovered changes and use the most recent version of the document that was explicitly saved to disk before the
failure occurred, close the file without saving it and open the file on disk, or choose File > Revert.
Change the location of recovered documents
1. Choose Edit > Preferences > File Handling (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > File Handling (Mac OS).
2. Under Document Recovery Data, click Browse (Windows) or Choose (Mac OS).
3. Specify the new location for the recovered document, click Select (Windows) or Choose (Mac OS), and then click OK.
To the top
Undo mistakes
If necessary, you can cancel a lengthy operation before it’s completed, undo recent changes, or revert to a previously saved version. You can
undo or redo up to several hundred of the most recent actions (the amount is limited by the amount of RAM available and the kinds of actions you
performed). The series of actions is discarded when you choose the Save As command, close a document, or when you exit from the program.
Do one of the following:
To undo the most recent change, choose Edit > Undo [action]. (You cannot undo certain actions, such as scrolling.)
To redo an action, choose Edit > Redo [action].
To undo all changes made since the last time you saved the project, choose File > Revert (InDesign) or File > Revert Content (InCopy).
To close a dialog box without applying changes, click Cancel.
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
95
Saving documents
Save documents
Save backwards to the previous InDesign version
Work with metadata
To the top
Save documents
Saving a document saves the current layout, references to source files, which page is currently displayed, and the zoom level. Protect your work
by saving often. You can save a file as any of the following:
A regular document.
A copy of the document, which creates a duplicate of the document under a different name, leaving the original document active.
A template, which normally opens as an untitled document. A template can contain settings, text, and graphics that you preset as a starting
point for other documents.
Saving a document also updates the metadata (or file information) that is part of the InDesign document. This metadata includes a thumbnail
preview, fonts used in the document, color swatches, and all metadata in the File Info dialog box, all of which enable efficient searching. For
example, you might want to search for all documents that use a particular color.
You can view this metadata in Bridge and in the Advanced area of theFile Info dialog box. You can control whether to update the preview
when you save by using a preference setting. The other metadata (fonts, colors, and links) are updated whenever you save a document.
The Save, Save As, and Save a Copy commands store documents in the InDesign file format. For information about storing documents in
other file formats, see the Index.
If you’re saving a document in order to bring it to a prepress service provider for final output, InDesign can automatically collect all necessary
files, such as linked graphics and fonts, in one folder. (See Package files.)
Do one of the following:
To save a document under a new name, choose File > Save As, specify a location and filename, and click Save. The newly named file
becomes the active document. Using the Save As command might reduce the file size.
To save an existing document under the same name, choose File > Save.
To save all open documents to their existing locations and filenames, press Ctrl+Alt+Shift+S (Windows) or Command+Option+Shift+S
(Mac OS).
To save a copy of a document under a new name, choose File > Save a Copy, specify a location and filename, and click Save. The saved
copy does not become the active document.
Important: To avoid problems, avoid reserved characters that have special meanings in some operating systems. For example, avoid filenames
with spaces, tabs, or initial periods, or filenames that use these characters: / \ : ; * ? < > , $ %. Similarly, avoid using characters with accents (such
as ü, ñ, or é), even when using a non-English version of InDesign. Problems may occur if the file is opened in a different platform.
If you have frequently work with several documents open at the same time and want to save them all at once, use a keyboard shortcut. Choose
Edit > Keyboard Shortcuts, choose Views, Navigation from the Product Area menu, and select Save All in the Commands list. You can then
edit or add a shortcut. You can use Quick Apply to specify the Save All command.
Include previews in saved documents
Thumbnail previews of documents and templates provide easy identification of those files in Adobe Bridge and Adobe Mini Bridge. A preview is
created when you save a document or template. A document preview includes a JPEG image of only the first spread; a template preview includes
a JPEG image of each page in the template. You can control the size of the preview and the number of pages to suit your needs. For example,
Extra Large 1024x1024 enables you to quickly scan the contents of a page at high-resolution before you open the file.
You can enable the option in Preferences or in the Save As dialog box. Because previews increase both file size and the time it takes to save the
document, you may prefer to enable the option on demand using the Save Asdialog box.
1. Do one of the following:
To include a preview every time you save a document, choose Edit > Preferences > File Handling (Windows) or InDesign >
Preferences > File Handling (Mac OS).
To include a preview for a specific document, choose File >Save As.
2. Select Always Save Preview Images With Documents.
96
3. If you are setting the preview using the Preferences dialog box, choose the number of preview pages from the Pages menu, and choose an
option from the Preview Size menu.
Note: Selecting the preview option in the Save As dialog box also selects the option in the Preferences dialog box, and uses the default
Pages and Preview Size settings.
Save an InDesign Markup (IDML) document
In some cases you may want to save an InDesign in interchange markup format. It’s especially useful to save in this format when you open a
QuarkXPress or PageMaker publication in InDesign, when you open a document created in a previous version of InDesign, or when you’re
experiencing problems with your document, such as not being able to delete color swatches.
1. Choose File > Save (CS6) or File > Export (CS5).
2. From the Save As Type (Windows) or Format (Mac OS) menu, choose InDesign Markup (IDML).
3. Click Save.
You can open the saved IDML file in InDesign CS5 and InDesign CS4 but not in any previous version of InDesign.
For information on using IDML for development purposes, see www.adobe.com/go/learn_id_indesignmarkup_cs4_en.
To the top
Save backwards to the previous InDesign version
To open an InDesign CS6 document in InDesign CS5, in InDesign CS6, Save (File > Save) the document to the InDesign Markup Language
(IDML). (The IDML format replaces the Interchange INX format used for saving backwards in previous versions.)
To open an InDesign CS5 document in InDesign CS4, in InDesign CS5, export (File > Export) the document to the InDesign Markup Language
(IDML). (The IDML format replaces the Interchange INX format used for saving backwards in previous versions.)
Ensure that the computer running the previous version of InDesign is updated with the appropriate plug-ins so that it can open the exported IDML
file. The person running the previous version of InDesign can obtain the compatibility plug-ins by choosing Help > Updates and following the
prompts. Plug-ins can also be installed from the Adobe website: Visit Product updates page on the Adobe website, and choose InDesign from the
product list.
Opening a document in a previous version of InDesign is also referred to as “saving down.”
Note: Content created using features specific to the later version of InDesign may be modified or omitted when you open the document in a
previous version of InDesign.
1. Choose File > Save (CS6) or File > Export (CS5).
2. From the File Type (Windows) or Format (Mac OS) menu, choose InDesign Markup (IDML).
3. Click Save.
You can open the .idml file in previous version of InDesign to convert it to an untitled InDesign document.
Note: To open the InDesign CS5 document in InDesign CS3, open the exported IDML file in InDesign CS4, save it and export it to InDesign CS3
Interchange (INX), and then open the exported INX file in InDesign CS3. Make sure that all InDesign versions are up to date.
To the top
Work with metadata
Metadata is a set of standardized information about a file, such as author name, resolution, color space, copyright, and keywords applied to it. You
can use metadata to streamline your workflow and organize your files.
About the XMP standard
Metadata information is stored using the Extensible Metadata Platform (XMP) standard, on which Adobe Bridge , Adobe Illustrator, Adobe
InDesign, and Adobe Photoshop are built. XMP is built on XML, and in most cases the metadata is stored in the file. If it isn’t possible to store the
information in the file, metadata is stored in a separate file called a sidecar file. XMP facilitates the exchange of metadata between Adobe
applications and across publishing workflows. For example, you can save metadata from one file as a template, and then import the metadata into
other files.
Metadata that is stored in other formats, such as Exif, IPTC (IIM), GPS, and TIFF, is synchronized and described with XMP so that it can be more
easily viewed and managed. Other applications and features also use XMP to communicate and store information such as version comments,
which you can search using Adobe Bridge.
In most cases the metadata remains with the file even when the file format changes, for example, from PSD to JPG. Metadata is also retained
when files are placed in an Adobe document or project.
You can use the XMP Software Development Kit to customize the creation, processing, and interchange of metadata. For example, you can
use the XMP SDK to add fields to the File Infodialog box. For more information on XMP and the XMP SDK, visit the Adobe website.
Working with metadata in Adobe Bridge and Adobe Creative Suite components
Many of the powerful Adobe Bridge features that allow you to organize, search, and keep track of your files and versions depend on XMP
metadata in your files. Adobe Bridge provides two ways of working with metadata: through the Metadata panel and through the File Infodialog box
(InDesign) or the Content File Info dialog box (InCopy).
97
In some cases, multiple views exist for the same metadata property. For example, a property may be labeled Author in one view and Creator in
another, but both refer to the same underlying property. Even if you customize these views for specific workflows, they remain standardized
through XMP.
Add metadata using the File Info dialog box
The File Info dialog box displays camera data, file properties, an edit history, copyright, and author information of the current document. The File
Info dialog box also displays custom metadata panels. You can add metadata directly in the File Information dialog box. Any information you enter
in a field overrides existing metadata and applies the new value to all selected files.
1. Choose File > File Info (InDesign) or File > Content File Info (InCopy).
2. Select any of the following from the tabs at the top of the dialog box:
Use the Right and Left arrows to scroll the tabs, or click the down-pointing arrow and choose a category from the list.
Description Lets you enter document information about the file, such as document title, author, description, and keywords that can be used
to search for the document. To specify copyright information, select Copyrighted from the Copyright Status pop-up menu. Then enter the
copyright owner, notice text, and the URL of the person or company holding the copyright.
IPTC Includes four areas: IPTC Content describes the visual content of the image. IPTC Contact lists the contact information for the
photographer. IPTC Image lists descriptive information for the image. IPTC Status lists workflow and copyright information.
Camera Data Includes two areas: Camera Data 1 displays read-only information about the camera and settings used to take the photo,
such as make, model, shutter speed, and f-stop. Camera Data 2 lists read-only file information about the photo, including pixel dimensions
and resolution
Video Data Lists information about the video file, including video frame width and height, and lets you enter information such as tape name
and scene name.
Audio Data Lets you enter information about the audio file, including the title, artist, bit rate, and loop settings.
Mobile SWF Lists information about mobile media files, including title, author, description, and content type.
Categories Lets you enter information based on Associated Presscategories.
Origin Lets you enter file information that is useful for news outlets, including when and where the file was created, transmission
information, special instructions, and headline information.
DICOM Lists patient, study, series, and equipment information for DICOM images.
History Displays Adobe Photoshop history log information for images saved with Photoshop. The History tab appears only if Adobe
Photoshop is installed.
Illustrator Lets you apply a document profile for print, web, or mobile output.
Advanced Displays fields and structures for storing metadata by using namespaces and properties, such as file format and XMP, Exif, and
PDF properties.
Raw Data Displays XMP text information about the file.
3. Type the information to add in any displayed field.
4. Click OK to apply the changes.
Export metadata as an XMP file
You can save metadata in an XMP file to share with other users. These XMP files can be used as templates for populating InDesign documents
and other documents created with XMP-enabled applications. Templates you export are stored in a shared location that all XMP-enabled
applications can access. They also appear in the pop-up menu at the bottom of the File Infodialog box.
1. Choose File >File Info (InDesign) or File > Content File Info (InCopy).
2. Choose Export from the pop-up menu at the bottom of the dialog box.
3. Type a filename, choose a location for the file, and click Save.
To view metadata templates in Explorer (Windows) or the Finder (Mac OS), click the pop-up menu at the bottom of the File Info dialog
box and choose Show Templates Folder.
Import metadata from an XMP file
When you import metadata into a document from an exported XMP template file, you can specify whether to clear all metadata in the current
document and add the new metadata, keep all but the matching metadata, or add matching metadata to the existing metadata.
Choose File >File Info (InDesign) or File > Content File Info (InCopy).
Choose an XMP file from the pop-up menu at the bottom of the dialog box, select an import option, and click OK.
Choose Import from the pop-up menu at the bottom of the dialog box, select an import option, and click OK. Then double-click the XMP
template file you want to import.
98
Edit metadata in image files
When you generate captions of placed images in InDesign, the metadata from the placed image is used. Although you can edit the metadata of
InDesign documents, you cannot edit the metadata of placed files in InDesign. Instead, change the metadata of placed images using their original
applications, using Finder or Explorer, or using Adobe Bridge or Adobe Mini Bridge.
1. In InDesign, right-click (Windows) or Control-click (Mac OS) the image, and then choose Edit Original.
You can also choose Edit With and then choose an application such as Adobe Illustrator or Adobe Photoshop.
2. In the original application, choose File > File Info.
3. Edit the metadata, and then click OK.
You can also select an image in Adobe Bridge and choose File > File Info to edit the image metadata. See Add metadata using the File Info dialog
box.
More Help topics
Work with metadata in Adobe
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
99
Sharing content
Exporting content from InDesign
Assignments panel overview
Assignment files
Create assignments and add content (InDesign)
Export content as separate InCopy files (InDesign)
To the top
Exporting content from InDesign
Exporting content from InDesign to InCopy establishes a link between the two applications. You export InDesign text frames, graphics frames, and
their contents to InCopy using either of two methods:
Create a container file (*.icma)—called an assignment—and add related groupings of document items (such as the text and graphics of a
story) to the assignment so they can be worked on together. Content within assignments is exported as *.icml files.
Export text and graphics frames separately (including placeholder frames) using the Edit > InCopy > Export menu commands. Exported
content is saved as *.icml files.
After content is exported, small icons appear at the top left of exported frames in InDesign and InCopy, and in the Assignments panel. A link to the
exported file appears in the Links panel. These icons indicate the status of managed frames and they differentiate managed frames from those that
aren’t part of the workflow. All exported content appears in the Assignments panel. Content exported using the Export menu commands appears in
the Unassigned InCopy Content section of the Assignments panel list. While both methods establish a controlled connection between InCopy
content and an InDesign document, the primary method is to use assignment files.
Exporting content makes the content available for users to check out while maintaining a link to the original InDesign document. (This link is made
from within InDesign; you cannot create the link from InCopy.)
Once the content is exported, InCopy users can see (but not change) the page layouts, styles, and so forth as they appear in the InDesign
document.
Note: You can also create text or anchored graphics using InCopy and then place them in InDesign.
To the top
Assignments panel overview
The primary tool for working with assignments is the Assignments panel (Window > Assignments in InCopy, Window > Editorial > Assignments in
InDesign). The Assignments panel displays the files exported from the currently active InDesign document, and an icon indicates their status. The
Assignments panel menu also contains commands that control import version and file-management functions between InCopy and InDesign.
When you open an assignment in InCopy, the assignment name and its contents appear in the Assignments panel. You can double-click text and
graphics frames in the Assignments panel to select them in the document window.
Note: All content exported to InCopy or added to an assignment is also listed in the Links panel. Although you can do some workflow
management tasks, such as checking out and checking in content, the recommended panel for these tasks is the Assignments panel.
InDesign Assignments panel
A. InCopy content names B. InDesign document name C. Assignment Out Of Date status D. Available And Text Up To Date status E. In Use
And Text Out Of Date status F. Editing And Text Up To Date status G. Unassigned content H. User name I. Update Content button J. Check
100
Out/Check In Selection button K. New Assignment button L. Delete Selected Assignments/Remove button
InCopy Assignments panel
A. InCopy content names B. Assignment Out Of Date status C. Assignment name D. Available And Text Up To Date status E. In Use And
Text Out Of Date status F. Editing And Text Up To Date status G. User name H. Update Design button I. Update Content button J. Check
Out/Check In Selection button
To the top
Assignment files
In InDesign, assignment files are containers for organizing collections of page items. For example, you might want to select all the items in a story
(headline, byline, copy, graphics, and captions), and then assign them to one InCopy user. Adding those items to an assignment provides a
convenient way for InCopy users to access only the content for which they are responsible. Assignment files (*.icma) appear in the file system, in
the InCopy story bar, and in status messages. Only InDesign users can create assignment files; only InCopy users can open them.
When you create an assignment, a folder is created in the same location as the InDesign document by default. This assignment folder includes the
*.icma assignment files and a content subfolder that contains any exported InCopy story files (in .icml format) that are part of images or other
resources. Once the assignment is created, store the project folder in a location where all users have access to it, or create and distribute an
assignment package. If content is exported before it’s added to an assignment, the files on disk are not moved to the content folder of the
assignment file.
Assignment files include the following:
Links or pointers to the associated page items, including placeholder frames. These elements let the InCopy user open a single file in InCopy
and have editorial access to multiple page items.
Any transformations on the graphics included in the assignment, such as moving, scaling, rotating, or shearing.
Page geometry, so InCopy users can see the layout of the frame and its content that they’re editing without opening the entire InDesign file.
Color-coding of assigned frames in the document.
Illustration of page in InCopy showing page geometry and color coding
To the top
Create assignments and add content (InDesign)
Only InDesign users can create assignments and add content to them. There are several ways to create assignments. The method you choose
usually depends on whether you have content to add at the time you create the assignment.
Create empty assignment files. From your InDesign document, you can create a series of empty assignments to act as templates for content
to come later.
101
Create assignments and add content at the same time.
Add content to an existing assignment file. You can add linked content—text and graphics that have already been exported as InCopy content
—or you can add selected page items to become linked InCopy content. If one or more of the selected frames already contain InCopy
content files, and none is part of an assignment, you can add them to a new or existing assignment file.
By default, the assignment folder you create is saved in the same folder as the InDesign document. You can then place this folder on a server or
create and send a package.
Note: If you don’t want InCopy users to place and fit graphics, don’t add graphics frames to an assignment.
Create empty assignment files (InDesign)
1. In InDesign, save the document.
2. In the Assignments panel, choose New Assignment from the panel menu.
3. In the New Assignment dialog box, specify assignment file options and click OK.
Simultaneously create assignments and add content (InDesign)
1. In InDesign, create a document that has one or more text frames, graphics frames, or placeholder items, and then save the document.
2. Select the text and graphics frames you want to add.
3. Do one of the following:
From the Assignments panel menu, choose Add To Assignment, and then select New.
Choose Edit > InCopy > Add [option] To Assignment > New.
4. In the New Assignment dialog box, specify assignment file options and click OK.
The newly created assignment file includes any frames selected in the document window.
Add content to existing assignments (InDesign)
1. Save the InDesign document.
2. Select the text and graphics frames you want to add.
3. Do one of the following:
From the Assignments panel menu, choose Add To Assignment, and then select the assignment.
Drag content from the Unassigned InCopy Content section of the Assignments panel into an existing assignment.
Select page items with the Selection tool and drag them to an existing Assignment in the Assignments panel.
Choose Edit > InCopy > Add [option] To Assignment, and then select the assignment.
4. Choose Update All Assignments from the Assignments panel menu to make the content files available to InCopy users.
Note: You can add content only to assignments in the same document. However, you can import the same content into multiple documents and
add it to an assignment in each of those documents.
Assignment file options (InDesign)
When you create or modify an assignment file, you can set the following options:
Assignment Name The unique identification of the assignment in the Assignments panel, for example “Ocean article.” This name must conform to
the file naming conventions of the operating system.
Assigned To The unique identification of the user assigned to the files. The user’s name appears in parentheses following the assignment name
in the Assignments panel. Entering a name here is for informational purposes only; it doesn’t grant special rights or permissions to the user.
Color Displays a list of colors for adding a distinctive highlight to the frames of the current assignment in the document window, and to the
assignment names in the Assignments panel. This color coding differentiates frames that belong to one assignment from frames that belong to
another, and it differentiates from unassigned frames. To toggle the display of this color coding, choose View > Extras > Show/Hide Assigned
Frames. In InCopy, the color coding is visible only in Layout view.
Note: If toggling the display of assigned frames produces unexpected results, those frames might be tagged for XML and View > Structure >
Show Tagged Frames might be enabled. You cannot show assigned frames and tagged frames at the same time.
Change Click the Change button to specify the location of the assignments folder. By default, the assignments folder is created in the same
location as the InDesign file.
Placeholder Frames Lets InCopy users see the text and graphics frames in the assignment as well as boxes (or other shapes) representing all
other frames on those InDesign pages. All frames and placeholders accurately reflect the size, shape, and location of the InDesign originals.
Placeholder frames are empty shapes that don’t show any of the content in the InDesign document. The Placeholder Frames option provides the
least amount of fidelity, and therefore provides the fastest performance. In InCopy, the placeholder frames are visible only in Layout view. InCopy
users cannot check out and edit placeholder frames.
Assigned Spreads Lets InCopy users see all assigned frames, as well as the entire contents of other frames that aren’t part of the assignment,
on the same spread. In InCopy, content in frames outside an assignment isn’t editable and is visible only in Layout view.
All Spreads Exports all content in the InDesign document to the assignment file. This option provides the maximum amount of fidelity; it also
102
provides the slowest performance because the assignment file displays the design and layout of every page, including pages not relevant to the
section a user is editing.
Linked Image Files When Packaging Includes a copy of linked images in the assignment package. Selecting this option gives InCopy users
access to images but increases the package’s file size. InCopy users can include images while returning a package.
Export content as separate InCopy files (InDesign)
To the top
If your workgroup prefers working with separate files rather than using assignments, you can export InCopy content without using an assignments
file. Compared with creating a single assignment file with references to multiple content files and layout information, this method creates a separate
file (.icml) for each text or graphics frame you specify in the document. To see the context of the content you are editing, you must also open the
associated InDesign document (.indd).
Cater the InDesign document to suit your workflow needs. For example, if you want all of the editor’s comments to be exported in a single file,
create a layer for the editor to make comments. You can then export all the content on the selected layer.
Note: A quick way to export content as separate InCopy files is to use the Selection tool to drag selected frames into the Unassigned InCopy
Content in the Assignments panel.
1. In InDesign, create a document with one or more text frames, graphics frames, or placeholder items.
2. Do either of the following:
Select the text or graphics frame of a single story, or Shift-click to select multiple frames.
Click an insertion point in a story, or select some text in a text frame.
3. Choose Edit > InCopy > Export, and then choose one of the following options:
Selection Exports all selected text and graphics frames.
Layer Exports all content on the selected layer.
All Stories Exports every story that has not been exported already.
All Graphics Exports every graphic that has not been exported already.
All Graphics And Stories Exports every story and graphic that has not been exported already.
If you export all content in the document, and then add more text or graphics frames to the same document, you can save time exporting
the new ones by using the Export > All Stories (or All Graphics or All Graphics And Stories) command again. InDesign exports only the
new content.
4. Enter a name and location for the files, and then click Save.
The file name you specify is used as a prefix for identifying each exported content file in the file system. If you export multiple text frames,
the first several characters of the text are automatically appended to the file name; for example, “mystory-Upcoming cycling events.icml.” For
multiple graphics frames, the file names are formed as “mystory-graphic,” “mystory-graphic-1,” and so on. The file name appears in the file
system, in the InCopy story bar, and in status messages.
5. When prompted, save your InDesign file.
The InCopy content is now managed, and is available to be checked out and edited by other users in the workflow.
Shared content appears in the Links panel just like imported graphics. If you move a shared file manually, you can use the Links panel to update
its link.
When you export content, you see the Available icon on the text frame (InDesign and InCopy), and in the Assignments panel (InCopy). The
word [Editing] appears in the story bar (InCopy).
More Help topics
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
103
Understanding a basic managed-file workflow
Sharing content
Ways to work with content in InCopy
Managed files
Best practices for working with managed files
Managed-file workflow examples
Enter user identification
Workflow icons
For detailed information and instructions, click the links below.
To the top
Sharing content
The Adobe InCopy LiveEdit Workflow plug-ins let writers and editors develop copy in InCopy at the same time as designers prepare layouts in
Adobe InDesign. This workflow includes container files, called assignments, for grouping related pieces of content, and file-locking and notification
tools for sharing and updating files in InCopy or InDesign over a shared network or in compressed packages that can be distributed via e-mail.
In the shared network workflow, InDesign users export text and graphics to a shared location on a file system, where the files become available to
InCopy users who will write and edit the content. Selected text frames and graphics frames are either exported to the assignment or exported as
separate InCopy files, where they become part of the managed process and are linked to the InDesign document. These shared files are referred
to as managed files. When users work in the assignment file or in the InDesign file on a local server, changes to the associated layout or content
are communicated to all users involved in the workflow for that document.
Multiple InCopy or InDesign users can open the same content file simultaneously, and multiple InCopy users can open the same assignment file
simultaneously. However, only one user at a time can check out the InCopy file for editing. Others can view the file on a read-only basis. The user
who checks out a managed InCopy file can share his or her work with other users by saving the file to the shared server or by returning the file to
the InDesign user; however, other users can’t make changes to the file until it’s checked back in. This system allows multiple users to access the
same file but prevents users from overwriting each other’s work.
For more information, see the InCopy LiveEdit Workflow guide (PDF) at www.adobe.com/go/learn_liveedit.
To the top
Ways to work with content in InCopy
Content is either a body of text that flows through one or more frames, or an imported graphic. There are five basic ways to work on content in
InCopy: open an assignment file, open an assignment package, open a linked InCopy file, open an InDesign file that has linked InCopy files, or
compose content entirely in InCopy.
Open assignment files created in InDesign
InDesign users can create an assignment file and designate content for sharing. This method lets the InDesign user associate related components
(heading, body, graphics, captions, and so on), and then assign them to different InCopy users for writing and editing. InCopy users open the
assignment file and work on only the components assigned to them. The live layout view shows how their edited copy relates to the InDesign
layout, without opening the entire InDesign document. However, if the layout changes, the InDesign user must update assignments to notify
InCopy users about the changes. You can share assignment files on a server or through assignment packages.
104
InDesign document (.indd) with assignment file (.icml) composed of three linked content files (.incx). Assignment and its components are listed in
Assignments panel and are opened in InCopy.
Open assignment packages
The assignment packages workflow is especially useful when designers and writers are working on the same project but don’t have access to a
local server. In such cases, the InDesign user can create one or more packages and send the compressed files to the assigned InCopy users via
e-mail. InCopy users can open the assignment packages, edit the contents, and return the packages to the InDesign user, who can then update
the document.
Open linked InCopy files exported from InDesign
In certain workflows, InDesign users might export text and graphics as separate files, rather than wrapping them inside an assignment file.
Exporting separate files is useful if you work on unrelated graphics or bodies of text. However, InCopy users aren’t able to see how the content fits
within the InDesign layout.
105
InDesign document (.indd) with three linked but unassigned content files (.icml) opened in InCopy
Open InDesign documents that have linked InCopy files
To see all page items in the context of an entire layout, InCopy users can open and edit an InDesign document in InCopy. This approach can be
useful for editing and copyfitting if seeing the overall layout is important, or for editing most of the stories in a document rather than a few. After
the InCopy user edits the stories, the InDesign user can then update the links to the modified files. If the InDesign user changes the layout, the
InCopy user is notified when the InDesign document is saved.
Compose content entirely in InCopy
You can create content in InCopy that isn’t associated with an InDesign file. In these stand-alone documents, you can type text, assign fonts and
styles, and import graphics from other applications (such as Adobe Illustrator and Adobe Photoshop) to enhance the text. You can also assign tags
for future XML use. This approach is a good option in an editorial workflow where the content precedes the design. You can also set up and
modify the text area, page size, and orientation for stand-alone InCopy documents. But if the story is later linked to an InDesign document, the
InDesign settings override the settings used in InCopy.
To the top
Managed files
For a file to be managed, it must be added to an assignment file, exported from InDesign as InCopy content, or placed as InCopy content into
InDesign. Managed files communicate both content status and ownership. With managed files, you can:
Lock and unlock stories to help preserve file integrity.
Notify InCopy users when the associated InDesign layout is outdated.
Identify the user working on a file.
Notify users when an InCopy content file is outdated, being used by someone, or available for editing. Notification methods include alert
messages, frame icons, status icons in the Links panel, and status icons in the Assignments panel.
Read-only files
106
Once a content file becomes managed, it’s read-only to all users in the workflow at all times, except to the person who has checked it out. The
software creates a lock file (*.idlk) when a user checks out a content file, giving that user exclusive editing control. Read-only files have the
following characteristics:
An InCopy user cannot manually format the text in it. However, if text has been assigned character or paragraph styles, an InDesign user
can change the definition of those styles, thereby changing the formatting of the text even when the file is checked out to someone else.
These style definition changes are reflected in the text once the InDesign user updates the file.
In general, neither an InCopy nor InDesign user can change objects, such as text and applied styles, in locked InCopy content. Some
objects, such as character and paragraph styles, are only used by the content. For example, you can’t change how a character style is
applied to objects in locked content, but you can change the character style itself, thereby changing the appearance of the text.
An InDesign user can change the margins and columns of the text content as well as the shape, location, and number of text frames the
story occupies.
An InDesign user can change the geometry and formatting of a graphics frame without checking out the graphic. An InCopy user cannot
change a graphics frame or any formatting on the frame. However, both InDesign and InCopy users have to check out the graphics frame in
order to modify the graphic itself (for example, to rotate or scale it).
To the top
Best practices for working with managed files
Use the following practices to make sure that you work with the most up-to-date content and don’t overwrite someone else’s work:
Store assignment files on a server where all team members have access. If team members don’t have access to a server, you can create
and distribute assignment packages.
When you create an assignment, a special folder is created to hold the assignment file and the content. Use these assignment folders to
maintain assignment and content files. They simplify managing the shared files across a workgroup and help ensure that users open the
correct files.
In InCopy, open the assignment file instead of an individual InCopy story. That way, you can see the copyfit and layout information in Galley
and Layout views. If you export content without using assignment files, you can see copyfit and layout information only by opening the
InDesign file.
As soon as you open an assignment file, open an InDesign document, or check out content in either InDesign or InCopy; make sure that
frame edges are showing (View > Extras > Show Frame Edges) so that you can see the frame icons when they appear.
In InDesign, if you must remove files from the workflow (because of a production deadline, for example), you can unlink them or cancel an
assignment package.
To the top
Managed-file workflow examples
When you establish workflow management between InCopy and InDesign, writers and editors can compose, rewrite, expand, and edit documents
at the same time that designers prepare the layout. Common workflows include managing files on a local server, sharing files via e-mail packages,
or using some combination of the two methods.
These workflows assume that you have a basic InDesign template with layout geometries, styles, and placeholder text. Layout geometries include
page dimensions as well as text and graphics frames. InCopy uses these items to show proper copyfit information.
Local server workflow
1. In InDesign, create assignments and add content to them.
This step incorporates exported text and graphics frames into the managed process, where they become available to InCopy users for writing and
editing.
2. Make the assignment files available to InCopy users.
Save the files to a server that all workflow users have access to.
3. In InCopy, open the assignment file, and check out and edit a story or graphic.
In InCopy, the files containing content assigned to you appear in the Assignments panel. Whenever you save the file on a local server, the
changes are saved on the file system and anyone working on that document (the InDesign layout or another managed content file in the
document) receives notification of the changes. Those users can update the content to view the latest changes. The content remains checked out
to you until you check it in.
4. In InDesign, work on the layout.
Regardless of whether the content files are being edited in InCopy, InDesign users can work on the document layout; they don’t have to check out
the document. Whenever the InCopy user saves the checked-out content, the InDesign user can update that content within the layout to see the
latest revisions.
107
5. In InCopy, continue working.
When finished with your edits, check in the content. Other users are then able to check out the content and work on it. If a user is modifying the
layout in InDesign simultaneously, you can update and view the layout geometry as you work.
6. In InDesign, make sure that all the content is checked in.
The managed workflow makes it possible to know who has checked out files. After content files are checked in, InDesign users can check out the
files to finalize the layout as necessary.
E-mail package workflow
1. In InDesign, create and send assignment packages.
Create assignment packages and assign contents to the appropriate InCopy users, and then send the packages to the InCopy users. The
packaged files are automatically checked out to help avoid editing conflicts.
2. In InCopy, open the assignment package, and check out and edit a story or graphic.
If you receive an assignment package in e-mail, double-click the package to open it in InCopy. Changes you make to the file are saved only
locally. Other users are not notified when you make changes.
3. In InDesign, work on the layout.
Regardless of whether the content files are packaged, InDesign users can work on the document layout; they don’t have to check out the
document. If you need to update the layout or assignments, you can send an updated package to the InCopy users.
4. In InCopy, return the edited package.
When finished with your edits, check in the content and return the modified package. Other users are then able to check out the content, view the
latest revisions, and work on the file.
5. In InDesign, make sure that all the content is checked in.
The managed workflow makes it possible to know who has checked out files. After assignment packages are returned, stories in assignment
packages are checked in. InDesign users can check out the files to finalize the layout as necessary.
To the top
Enter user identification
All users in the workflow must have a user name. This identification reveals who has checked out a particular file and makes this information
available to other users. It’s also required in order to check out a file for editing.
If you’ve already specified a user name and want to change it, you must check in any content you have checked out. Otherwise, changing user
identification during an editing session would forfeit your ability to edit content that you have checked out—it would be checked out to you under a
different name.
User identification is application-specific; no single user can have multiple user identifications per application.
Note: The InCopy Notes and Track Changes features also use the specified name to identify the author of a note or a tracked change.
1. Do either of the following:
Choose File > User.
Choose User from the Assignments panel menu.
2. Type a unique name and click OK.
If you forget to specify a user name using this method, you’re prompted to enter one when you attempt your first workflow action.
Note: The Color pop-up menu in this dialog box is for identifying editorial notes and tracked changes. You can choose the color now if you want,
but it doesn’t affect anything you do in a managed workflow.
To the top
Workflow icons
Icons can appear on text and graphics frames, the Assignments panel, and in the story bar (InCopy only). Edit status icons appear next to the
managed file in the Links panel and Assignments panel, and communicate content status. Icons appear on frames that contain a linked InCopy
story (in the Layout view in both InDesign and InCopy). These icons also communicate content status and can be used to differentiate between
managed and unmanaged content. The associated tool tip indicates editing status and ownership. To view the frame icons, make sure that frame
edges are showing in InDesign and InCopy (View > Extras > Show Frame Edges).
Note: (InDesign) The InDesign document window must be in Normal Mode for the frame edges to show. (Click the Normal Mode button
lower left of the toolbox.)
Icon
Name
Location
Available
Assignments panel (InDesign and InCopy),
108
at the
text frames, and graphics frames
In Use By [name]
Assignments panel, text frames, and
graphics frames
Editing
Assignments panel, text frames, and
graphics frames
Available And Out Of Date
Text and graphics frames
In Use By [name] And Out Of Date
Text and graphics frames
Editing And Out Of Date
Text and graphics frames
Out Of Date
Assignments panel
Text Content Out Of Date
Assignments panel and text frames
Text Content Up To Date
Assignments panel and text frames
Graphics Content Out Of Date
Assignments panel and graphics frames
Graphics Content Up To Date
Assignments panel and graphics frames
Packaged Content
Assignments panel
Note: The Out Of Date icon on the Available, In Use, Editing, Text Content, and Graphics Content icons indicates that the content is out of date;
that is, the version on the file system is newer than the version displayed on your computer.
More Help topics
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
109
Working with ConnectNow
Adobe® ConnectNow provides you with a secure, personal online meeting room where you can meet and collaborate with others via the web in
real time. With ConnectNow, you can share and annotate your computer screen, send chat messages, and communicate using integrated audio.
You can also broadcast live video, share files, capture meeting notes, and control an attendee's computer.
You can access ConnectNow directly from the application interface.
1. Choose File > Share My Screen.
2. In the Sign In to Adobe CS Live dialog box, enter your email address and password, and click Sign In. If you don’t have an Adobe ID, click
the Create Adobe ID button.
3. To share your screen, click the Share My Computer Screen button at the center of the ConnectNow application window.
For complete instructions on using ConnectNow, see Adobe ConnectNow Help.
For a video tutorial about using ConnectNow, see Using ConnectNow to share your screen (7:12). (This demonstration is in Dreamweaver.)
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
110
Working with files and templates
Recommended workflow for InDesign documents
Open InDesign documents
Convert earlier versions of InDesign documents
Using Adobe Bridge with InDesign
Adobe Version Cue
Use document templates
Reviewing InDesign documents
Designing calendars and business cards from templates
To the top
Recommended workflow for InDesign documents
You can improve performance and prevent many problems by establishing a good workflow to use with Adobe InDesign.
Maintain a clean computer system
Over time, changes occur to software and hardware that can lead to performance loss and system problems. Defragmenting the hard disk,
removing older versions of software, updating device drivers, optimizing memory, running virus protection utilities, and performing other
maintenance tasks can prevent applications and files from becoming damaged. Performing these tasks regularly helps ensure that InDesign opens,
displays, and prints documents as expected.
Create a project folder
Before you begin a project, determine which files you’ll need and how you’ll store them. If you’ve experienced problems with broken links, consider
storing your linked files in the same folder as your document. InDesign maintains links to files you place in a document, but if a link is broken,
InDesign looks for the file in the document’s folder. Storing a document and its linked files in the same folder makes it easy to move them from one
computer to another. Storing files in one folder also ensures that InDesign finds the original graphics when printing a document. If InDesign cannot
locate a linked graphic, it won’t reflect changes you make to the original graphic, and it may print the graphic poorly or not at all.
If your project consists of multiple documents (for example, chapters in a book), you may find it useful to create a project folder that contains a
folder for each document and its linked files.
Consider using a template
Use a template if you frequently create similar projects. Templates let you create consistent documents more quickly while protecting the original
file. For example, if you create a monthly newsletter, your template might include ruler guides, page numbers, the newsletter masthead, and styles
you want to use in each issue. (See Use document templates.)
Open documents locally
Before you open a document stored on a network volume or on removable media, copy the document and any linked graphics to your local hard
disk. The slower access time and data transfer rate of a network volume or removable media can cause data to become lost or corrupted, possibly
damaging the document. However, be aware of overriding someone else’s work if you copy the local files back to a network server.
Solve problems before converting a file
Damaged Adobe PageMaker or QuarkXPress® files usually remain damaged when opened in InDesign. If an error or other unexpected behavior
occurs with a converted file, open the original file in the source application and troubleshoot it for damage.
If the converted file has problems, export it to IDML format, and then open the IDML file and save it as an InDesign document.
Save documents
Save documents frequently, and create backup copies of important files. You can clear unnecessary data from a document by using the Save As
command. When you use the Save command, InDesign appends new information to the document but doesn’t remove outdated data, such as
information about a deleted graphic. When you use the Save As command, however, InDesign completely rewrites the document, including only
information about objects and pages currently in the document. A document that contains only necessary data occupies less hard drive space and
redraws and prints more quickly.
Practice good design habits
Create styles in a document. Creating styles with no documents open can cause duplicate styles to appear when you create a new
document. To share styles in documents, save the styles and load them.
Use appropriate fonts. When choosing fonts for a document, consider how you intend to format and print the text. InDesign works well with
OpenType®, Type 1 (also called PostScript), and TrueType fonts. Damaged or poorly constructed fonts can damage an InDesign document
111
or cause it to print with unexpected results, so use reliable fonts created by established font vendors. If you work with a service bureau, find
out its font requirements.
Avoid using too many text frames. Use as few text frames as possible to keep the document file size smaller and the layout easier to
manipulate.
Be smart with art
Use the appropriate graphics file format. When you create graphics for a project, consider how you plan to print the document. If you intend to
print the document at a service bureau, ask the service bureau which graphic formats work best with the output device it uses. The service
bureau can also advise you on the optimal resolution for images.
Store graphics externally. When you import a graphic file, InDesign creates a link to the graphic by default. Linking helps minimize the file size
of the document and improves the performance of InDesign. When you print the document, the original graphic file must be available and
linked. If InDesign can’t find the original, the graphic may print as a low resolution preview or as a gray box.
Verify links and fonts before you print
To ensure that a document prints correctly, verify that all links are intact and all fonts are available. A link becomes broken if you delete, move, or
rename the original graphic. Use the Preflight and Package features before handing off files to a service bureau.
For a video tutorial on creating documents, see www.adobe.com/go/lrvid4273_id.
To the top
Open InDesign documents
In general, you open document and template files the same way you do in other programs. When you open an InDesign template, it opens as a
new, untitled document by default. Document files use the extension .indd, template files use the extension .indt, snippet files use the extension
.idms, library files use the extension .indl, interchange files use the extension .inx, markup files use the extension .idml, and book files use the
extension .indb.
You can also use the File > Open command to open files from earlier versions of InDesign, InDesign Interchange (.inx) files, InDesign Markup
(.idml) files, Adobe PageMaker 6.0 and later, QuarkXPress 3.3 and 4.1, and QuarkXPress Passport 4.1 files. In addition, other software vendors
may make plug-in software that lets you open other file formats.
To view additional information about an InDesign document, hold down Ctrl and choose Help > About InDesign (Windows) or hold down
Command and choose InDesign > About InDesign (Mac OS).
Use the Open command
1. Choose File > Open and select one or more documents.
2. Do one of the following, and then click Open:
Select Normal (Windows) or Open Normal (Mac OS) to open the original document or a copy of a template.
Select Original (Windows) or Open Original (Mac OS) to open an original document or template.
Select Copy (Windows) or Open Copy (Mac OS) to open a copy of a document or template.
3. If a warning message appears telling you that the color settings in the document are different from the color settings in the application, select
an option, and click OK.
Note: Color warning messages are off by default, but you can show warnings if you change the default settings in the Color Settings dialog
box (Edit >Color Settings.)
4. If a warning message appears telling you that the document contains missing fonts, do one of the following:
Click OK. InDesign will automatically format the text with a substitute.
Click Find Font to search for and list fonts used throughout your document.
For more information on finding missing fonts, see Find and change fonts.
5. If a warning message appears telling you that the document contains missing or modified links, use the Links panel to fix the links. See
Update, restore, and replace links.
Open recent document
Choose File > Open Recent, and select one of the documents you saved recently.
To specify how many recent documents are displayed, choose Edit > Preferences > File Handling (Windows), or InDesign > Preferences > File
Handling, and then specify a number for Number Of Recent Items To Display. The maximum number is 30.
Choosing word lists when opening documents
When opening a document, you may see an alert message asking if you want to use the word list in the document or an exception word list in the
user dictionary. An exception word list includes words that were added to the User Dictionary while the document was worked on. If you know
112
which exception word list you use, click its button. If you’re not sure, click either button, choose Edit > Spelling > Dictionary to inspect the word
lists, and then, if necessary, choose Edit > Preferences > Dictionary (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > Dictionary (Mac OS) to reset the
word list used for composition. See Hyphenation and spelling dictionaries.
To the top
Convert earlier versions of InDesign documents
To convert previous versions of InDesign documents to the current version, choose File > Open and open the file.
Keep in mind the following points:
If you used third-party plug-ins to create an earlier version of a document, check with the manufacturer to make sure that they are installed
correctly for and are compatible with InDesign CS5 before you convert the document.
When you convert a document, you may see an alert message asking if you want to use the exception word list in the user dictionary or the
one in the document. For information about this alert message, see Choosing word lists when opening documents.
Library files created in earlier versions of InDesign will open and convert in InDesign CS5, even if the library is locked. You have to specify a
name and location for the converted library files; the default naming convention is filename-X.indl.
Previous versions of InDesign can’t open latest InDesign documents directly. For example, to open an InDesign CS5 document in InDesign
CS4, you must do two things. First, choose File > Export in InDesign CS5 to save the document in IDML format. Second, update InDesign
CS4 with special plug-ins that let you open the IDML file. (See Save backwards to the previous InDesign version.)
If you’re experiencing problems with a document that was created in a previous version of InDesign, use the Export dialog box in InDesign CS5
to save the document in InDesign Markup (IDML) format. Then open the IDML file and save it as an InDesign document.
To the top
Using Adobe Bridge with InDesign
Adobe Bridge is a cross-platform application included with AdobeCreative Suite components that helps you locate, organize, and browse the
assets you need to create print, web, video, and audio content. You can start Adobe Bridge from any Creative Suitecomponent (except Adobe
Acrobat®), and use it to access both Adobe and non-Adobe asset types.
From Adobe Bridge, you can:
Manage image, footage, and audio files: Preview, search, sort, and process files in Adobe Bridge without opening individual applications. You
can also edit metadata for files, and use Adobe Bridge to place files into your documents, projects, or compositions.
View the links inside an InDesign document as thumbnails while in Adobe Bridge, without actually having to open the InDesign document in
InDesign.
Drag assets from Adobe Bridge into the InDesign document window, or drag assets from the document window into Adobe Bridge to create
snippets. See Use snippets.
Perform automated tasks, such as batch commands.
Synchronize color settings across color-managed Creative Suite components.
Start a real-time web conference to share your desktop and review documents.
To the top
Adobe Version Cue
Adobe Version Cue® and Adobe Drive are not included in Adobe Creative Suite 5, nor any future version of the Creative Suite. Adobe continues to
invest in asset management enablement through open industry standards and partnerships. For more information, see
www.adobe.com/go/learn_vc_end_en.
To the top
Use document templates
Templates are useful starting points for standard documents because you can preset them with layout, graphics, and text. For example, if you
prepare a monthly magazine, you can create a template that contains the layout of a typical issue, including ruler guides, grids, master pages,
custom styles and swatches, placeholder frames, layers, and any standard graphics or text. That way you can simply open the template each
month and import new content.
You create a template the same way you create a regular document; the only difference occurs when you save the document. When you prepare a
template for others to use, you may want to add a layer containing instructions about the template; hide or delete the layer before printing the
document. See Layers.
Save a document as a template
1. Choose File > Save As, and specify a location and filename.
2. Choose InDesign CS5 Template for Save As Type (Windows) or Format (Mac OS), and then click Save.
113
Start a new document from a template
1. Choose File > Open.
2. Locate and select a template.
3. Select Normal (Windows) or Open Normal (Mac OS), and then click Open.
4. Save the new document with its own name.
Edit an existing template
1. Choose File > Open.
2. Locate and select a template.
3. Select Original (Windows) or Open Original (Mac OS), and then click Open.
To the top
Reviewing InDesign documents
Adobe offers several methods for reviewing InDesign documents.
Tracking editing changes
As you or another person edits text, InDesign highlights added text and strikes through deleted text when Track Changes is turned on. Use the
Story Editor to view changes. The document owner can go through the edits and accept or reject changes. See Tracking and reviewing changes.
Using Acrobat to review a PDF file
You can export the InDesign document to PDF and use Adobe Acrobat to set up an e-mail review or a shared review on Acrobat.com or another
server. Reviewers can add comments using the Sticky Note tool and other markup methods. The document owner can then go through the PDF
review comments and edit the original InDesign document. For more information, see Acrobat Help.
Using CS Review
CS Review is an online subscription service that lets you share your designs on the web so that others can provide immediate feedback. When
you create a review using the CS Review panel, you upload one or more snapshots of the file to the Acrobat.com workspace. Reviewers can then
add comments.
When you create a review, you can divide the review into parts that offer separate areas for review commenting. A review can consist of parts
from different files and applications. As the review progresses, you can add and remove review parts as part of a dynamic review process.
Designing calendars and business cards from templates
One way to create a calendars, business cards, resumes or CVs, and other specialized documents is to use templates.
Adobe provides several templates at the Adobe Marketplace and Exchange site:
www.adobe.com/go/exchange
Use search to locate additional resources for specialty documents.
More Help topics
Adobe Bridge
Mini Bridge
CS Review
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
114
To the top
Working with managed files
Open shared content
Check out content
Opening managed files (InCopy)
Update assignment files (InDesign)
Update content
Accidentally updating your work
Update the InDesign layout
Check in content
Save changes (InDesign)
Save changes (InCopy)
To the top
Open shared content
Only InCopy users can open assignment files (.inca). If an InCopy user opens an InDesign file that contains assignments, the user will have
access to all the managed content, regardless of assignments.
Do one of the following.
In InCopy, choose File > Open, select an assignment file (.icma or .inca), and click Open.
In InDesign or InCopy, choose File > Open, select an InDesign file (.indd) that contains assigned content, and click Open.
Open an assignment package. See Receive packages (InCopy).
The assignment names and their contents appear in the Assignments panel.
To the top
Check out content
When you check out an item, a hidden lock file (.idlk) is placed on the file system. Once the content is checked out, you have exclusive control
over its content, and others are locked out from making changes. You can check out InCopy content only; you cannot check out InDesign
documents with layout information.
If you attempt to close an InDesign document containing one or more InCopy content files that are checked out to you, an alert message appears,
prompting you to check in all content. If you close the document without checking in the content files, they will still be checked out to you the next
time you open the InDesign document. Saving the InDesign document automatically saves every editable InCopy content file.
Check out content (InDesign)
Do one of the following:
In the layout, select the text or graphics frames to edit and choose Edit > InCopy > Check Out.
In the Assignments panel, select the files and choose Check Out from the panel menu.
on the InDesign frame. In InCopy, the In Use icon
When you check out available content in InDesign, you see the Editing icon
the InCopy frame and in the Assignments panel if the assignment files are stored on a local server.
appears on
Check out content (InCopy)
1. Do one of the following:
If the content you want is part of an assignment, choose File > Open and select the assignment file (.icma or .inca).
If the content you want was exported as individual files, choose File > Open and select the InCopy file (.icml or .incx). To see the layout
so you can do copyfitting, select the InDesign document.
2. Do one of the following:
To check out a single InCopy content file, choose File > Check Out.
To check out all content in an assignment at once, select the assignment in the Assignments panel, and choose Check Out from the
panel menu.
To check out individual items in an assignment, open the assignments list in the Assignments panel, select an item or multiple items,
and choose Check Out from the panel menu.
115
The Editing icon
exclusive use.
appears next to the item or items in the Assignments panel, indicating that the content is checked out to you for your
3. If prompted to update the content with changes, click OK.
When you check out available content in InCopy, you see the Editing icon
In Use icon
on the InCopy frame, and in the Assignments panel. In InDesign, the
appears on the InDesign frame.
To the top
Opening managed files (InCopy)
Opening a managed content file (.icml or .incx) directly in InCopy and working with it in Story view may be more appropriate for quick writing and
editing. You do not have to check out an individual managed file to edit it; InCopy automatically checks it out. When you save and close the file,
InCopy automatically checks in the content. The Save commands are different when you open individual files.
To the top
Update assignment files (InDesign)
You can save changes to assignments manually or when you close the current document. Updating an assignment file is the only way to make
layout changes available to InCopy users.
Do one of the following:
To update selected assignments, select them in the Assignments panel and choose Update Selected Assignments from the Assignments
panel menu.
To update all out-of-date assignments in the current document, choose Update Out-Of-Date Assignments from the Assignments panel menu.
Only assignments that are out of date are updated.
To update all assignments in the current document, choose Update All Assignments from the Assignments panel menu.
Note: If an InCopy user has an assignment open when you update the assignment, the Out Of Date icon
the InCopy Assignments panel.
appears next to the assignment in
To the top
Update content
To make sure that you’re always working on the most up-to-date content, be sure to watch for Out Of Date icons in the Assignments panel, and
then update content accordingly. Updating an InCopy assignment file and its contents or updating individual content files copies data from the
latest file system copy so that the version displayed on your computer matches the one on the file system. Updating does not require checking in
or out and does not give you editing rights. However, updating can cause problems if another user has deleted your lock.
Note: Updating content does not update content in assignment packages that have not been returned.
A typical updating workflow is as follows:
1. The InCopy user opens an assignment file or checks out an individual content file and edits the content.
2. The InCopy user saves the content file, which updates the copy on the file system, and continues working.
in both the Assignments panel and the Links panel next to the selection, and the In Use
3. The InDesign user sees the Out Of Date icon
and Text Content Out Of Date icon
or Graphics Content Out Of Date icon
on the associated frame.
Assignments panel with In Use and Out Of Date icons (left) and Layout with out-of-date content (right)
4. The InDesign user updates the content.
Update content while opening a managed document (InDesign)
116
1. Choose File > Open, locate the file you want to open, and click Open.
2. Click Yes when prompted to update the document with the modified content on the file system.
3. Do one of the following:
To let InDesign update the links, click Fix Links Automatically.
To fix links manually, click Don’t Fix, and then, in the Links panel, select the file to update and choose Update Link from the panel menu.
Update content while working (InDesign)
Do one of the following:
Select the text or graphics frames in the layout and choose Edit > InCopy > Update Content.
Select the text or graphics frames in the Links panel, and click the Update Link button
panel menu.
or choose Update Link from the Assignments
Update content while working (InCopy)
Do one of the following:
Click an insertion point in the text frame to select it, and then choose File > Update Content.
Select the content in the Assignments panel, and then click the Update Content button
panel menu.
or choose Update Content from the Assignments
You can also update content using the Links panel.
To the top
Accidentally updating your work
In most cases, the update commands are disabled for content you have checked out, because that content would always be up to date. However,
an undesirable situation can occur if a different user deletes the lock on checked-out content (by dragging the lock file [.idlk] to the Recycle Bin
[Windows] or Trash [Mac OS]), and modifies the content. In this case, the update commands can become enabled even while the content is
checked out to you, essentially allowing two people to edit the content at the same time. Updating the content results in lost work. For best results,
do not delete the lock files.
To the top
Update the InDesign layout
InDesign users can modify the layout (for example, change the size or location of the text frames of a story) and save the changes while InCopy
users are modifying the text of these text frames. In a shared server workflow, the way InCopy users are notified about layout changes depends on
whether they have opened an assignment file or have checked out individual content files and also opened the linked InDesign file.
Consider the following:
If an InDesign user changes the layout of frames in an assignment, the user must update the assignment to make the design changes
available to InCopy users. InDesign does not automatically update assignment files when the document is saved.
Once the InDesign user updates the assignment stored on a shared server, the Out Of Date icon
InCopy Assignments panel. The InCopy user must update the design to see the current layout.
appears next to the assignment in the
If an InDesign user changes the layout of exported content that is not part of an assignment, the Out Of Date icon appears next to the
InDesign document name in the Assignments panel, and the document title bar indicates the layout is out-of-date. InCopy users can update
the currently active InDesign document with the latest layout and style changes.
Updating the layout in InCopy is useful for copyfitting tasks, because the latest appearance and line breaks are visible in Layout and Galley views.
Do one of the following:
If you have an assignment file open and the Assignments panel shows the Out Of Date icon
Update Design button , or choose File > Update Design. You cannot undo this command.
next to the assignment name, click the
If you are not working with assignment files and you have more than one InDesign document open, select the one you want to make active,
and choose File > Update Design.
To the top
Check in content
When you check in a managed content file, you save it to a shared location on a file system where it can be checked out by others for editing or
other changes. Exporting a text or graphics frame from InDesign also checks it in automatically.
Although a checked-in file is available for editing, it is not actually editable until it is checked out (unless you edit the content in stand-alone mode
in InCopy). Checking in content relinquishes editing control, but does not close the file. The content remains open on your screen, but in a readonly state.
117
The LiveEdit Workflow plug-ins do not create multiple file versions. Instead, files are overwritten when updated in either InCopy or InDesign.
If you are working on an assignment package, return or forward the assignment package after checking it in.
Check in managed content (InDesign)
Do one of the following:
Select the content in the layout and choose Edit > InCopy > Check In.
In the Assignments panel, select the content and choose Check In from the panel menu.
Check in managed content (InCopy)
Do one of the following:
Select the content in Layout view and choose File > Check In.
In the Assignments panel, select the content and choose Check In from the panel menu.
Note: You can undo the most recent changes before you check in content.
When you check in a file, the Available icon appears on the text or graphics frame in the InDesign layout, in the InCopy Layout view, in the
Assignments panel, and in the story bar (InCopy).
To the top
Save changes (InDesign)
As you work on content you have checked out, you can save your changes and update the file-system copy.
Do one of the following:
To save the selected content without saving changes to the InDesign document or any of its linked files, select the content in the layout and
choose Edit > InCopy > Save Content.
To save every content file checked out to you, choose File > Save. This type of save does not automatically update assignment files or
in the Assignments panel.
checked-out content files in InCopy. However, the checked-out files in InCopy will show the Out Of Date icon
To save the InDesign document under a new name with links to any existing InCopy files, choose File > Save As. This action causes the
assignments in the InDesign file to appear as missing until they are updated.
To save a copy of the currently active document, choose File > Save A Copy. You can choose to give the copy a new name and location
with links to any existing InCopy files.
To the top
Save changes (InCopy)
Do one of the following:
To save the InCopy file under the same name and location on the file system, choose File > Save Content. The file is still checked out to
you.
To save the InCopy content file under a new name, choose File > Save Content As. The newly created content file is not managed in the
workflow. The Save Content As command is available only if you have opened the InCopy content file (.icml or .incx) directly.
To save a copy of the currently active InCopy content file, choose File > Save Content Copy. You can choose to give the copy a new name
and location. The saved copy is not managed in the workflow. The Save Content Copy command is available only if you have opened the
InCopy content file (.icml or .incx) directly.
To save all currently open and checked-out InCopy content files, choose File > Save All Content. This saves all files to their current
locations. The Save All Content command is available only if you have opened an assignment or InDesign file.
More Help topics
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
118
Layout and design
Setting pagination (video 3:56)
David Blatner (Sep. 1, 2012)
video-tutorial
Learn how to automatically number pages and chapters in multiple documents.
Linking Content
Anne-Marie Concepcion (May. 15, 2012)
video-tutorial
Watch this video tutorial to learn how to create and update links between objects in the same document and others.
Reviewing the Forms tools
Anne-Marie Concepcion (May. 15, 2012)
video-tutorial
An overview of the form field-related buttons, dialog boxes and menu commands in InDesign. Compare the old and new ways of creating
interactive forms.
Testing a form in Acrobat
Anne-Marie Concepcion (May. 15, 2012)
video-tutorial
This tutorial shows you how InDesign form fields look in Acrobat or Reader. Then, learn how to continue modifying the interactive fields in
Acrobat for additional functionality, and how the form performs in Acrobat.
Working with Frames
Kelly McCathran (May. 15, 2012)
video-tutorial
Everything that is placed into InDesign ends up in a frame. You can create frames from scratch, or if you "place" (import) text or images
into a document, InDesign automatically creates the frame for you.
Apply feathering to objects (video 2:31), CS3-CS6
David Blatner (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
In this video, see how to apply feather effects.
Building a grid of objects quickly (PDF, 100 KB)
article (Jan. 1, 2011)
Tutorial to build a grid of objects in InDesign CS5 and later.
Creating a table of contents (video 4:15), CS3-CS6
David Blatner (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
In this video, see the basics of setting up a table of contents.
Creating bullets and numbering (video 12:16), CS3-CS6
Anne-Marie Concepcion (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
See how to create bullets and add them to your layout.
Creating cross-references (video 5:45), CS4-CS6
David Blatner (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
Walk through the procedure of adding cross-references. Create cross-references that can be updated quickly when the target text or
pagination changes. Create a custom cross-reference format.
Creating drop shadows (video 3:39), CS3-CS6
Anne-Marie Concepcion (Jan. 1, 2011)
119
video-tutorial
In this short demo, see how to apply the Drop Shadow effect to objects in your layout.
Creating footnotes (video 2:44), CS3-CS6
David Blatner (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
In this short video, learn the essentials of adding footnotes.
Creating running headers and footers (video 5:22), CS3-CS6
Anne-Marie Concepcion (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
Watch how to use variables to create running headers and footers.
Defining Sections (video 4:59), CS3-CS6
David Blatner (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
Learn how to define sections in an InDesign document.
120
Master pages
About masters, stacking order, and layers
Create masters
Apply master pages
Copy masters
Delete a master from a document
Override or detach master items
Import a master from another document
For detailed information and instructions, click the links below.
To the top
About masters, stacking order, and layers
A master is like a background that you can quickly apply to many pages. Objects on a master appear on all pages with that master applied.
Master items that appear on document pages are surrounded by a dotted border. Changes you make to a master are automatically applied to
associated pages. Masters commonly contain repeating logos, page numbers, headers, and footers. They can also contain empty text or graphic
frames that serve as placeholders on document pages. A master item cannot be selected on a document page unless the master item is
overridden.
Masters can have multiple layers, just like pages in your document. Objects on a single layer have their own stacking order within that layer.
Objects on a master page layer appear behind objects assigned to the same layer in the document page.
If you want a master item to appear in front of objects on the document page, assign a higher layer to the object on the master. A master item on a
higher layer appears in front of all objects on lower layers. Merging all layers will move master items behind document page objects.
Master items (top left) appear behind page objects on the same layer (bottom left); moving a master item to a higher layer (top right) moves it in
front of all objects on lower layers (bottom right).
Tips and guidelines for masters
You can compare alternative design ideas by creating a variety of masters and applying them in turn to sample pages containing typical
content.
To quickly lay out new documents, you can save a set of masters in a document template, along with paragraph and character styles, color
libraries, and other styles and presets.
If you change column or margin settings on a master, or apply a new master with different column and margin settings, you can force objects
on the page to adjust to the new layout automatically. (See About automatic layout adjustment.)
Automatic page numbers inserted on a master display the correct page number for each section of the document to which the master is
applied. (See Add basic page numbering.)
To the top
Create masters
By default, any document you create has a master page. You can create additional masters from scratch or from an existing master page or
document page. After you apply master pages to other pages, any changes made to the source master carry forward to the masters and
document pages that are based on it. With careful planning, this provides an easy way to make layout changes to multiple pages across your
document.
121
For a video tutorial on working with master pages, see www.adobe.com/go/vid0069.
Create a master from scratch
1. Choose New Master in the Pages panel menu.
2. Specify the following options, and click OK:
For Prefix, type a prefix that identifies the applied master for each page in the Pages panel. You can type as many as four characters.
For Name, type a name for the master spread.
For Based On Master, choose an existing master spread on which you’ll base this master spread, or choose None.
For Number Of Pages, type a value for the number of pages you want in the master spread (as many as ten).
Create a master from an existing page or spread
Drag an entire spread from the Pages section of the Pages panel to the Masters section.
Select a spread in the Pages panel and choose Save AsMaster from the Pages panel menu.
Any objects on the original page or spread become part of the new master. If the original page used a master, the new master is based on the
original page’s master.
Creating a new master spread based on another page or spread
Base one master on another
You can create a master variation that is based on and updates with another master (called the parent master) within the same document. The
master spreads based on the parent master are called child masters. For example, if your document has ten chapters that use master spreads that
vary only slightly, base all of them on a master spread that contains the layout and objects common to all ten. This way, a change to the basic
design requires editing just the parent master instead of editing all ten separately. Vary the formatting on your child masters. You can override
parent master items on a child master to create variations on a master, just as you can override master items on document pages. This is a
powerful way to keep a consistent yet varied design up to date.
Original parent and child masters (left); when the parent master is modified, the child masters are automatically updated (right)
To base one master on another, in the Masters section of the Pages panel, do either of the following:
Select a master spread, and choose Master Options for [master spread name] in the Pages panel menu. For Based On Master, choose a
different master, and click OK.
Select the name of the master spread you want to use as the base and drag it onto the name of another master to apply it.
B-Master based on A-Master
Edit the layout of a master
You can edit the layout of master pages at any time; changes you make are automatically reflected on all pages with that master applied. For
122
example, any text or graphic you add to a master will appear on document pages to which the master is applied.
Note: When you override or detach a master page object on a particular page, that object may not update to reflect changes made on the master
page.
1. In the Pages panel, double-click the icon for the master you want to edit, or select the master page from the text box list at the bottom of the
document window. The master spread appears in the document window.
2. Make changes to the master.
InDesign automatically updates any pages using that master.
To change the size of the master page, select it using the Page tool, and then use the options in the Control panel to change the dimension. See
Use multiple page sizes.
Use multiple views to see the results of master edits. Choose Window > Arrange > New Window, and then choose Window > Arrange > Tile.
Set one view to a page and the other view to the master applied to that page. Then edit the master and watch the page update.
Change master page options
You can edit master page options to change the name or prefix of the master, base the master on another master, or change the number of pages
in the master spread.
1. In the Pages panel, click the name of a master spread to select the master spread.
2. Choose Master Options For [master name] in the Pages panel menu.
3. Change any option, and then click OK.
To the top
Apply master pages
If your document contains custom spreads (such as a 3- or 4-page foldout in a magazine), any master you apply should contain the same number
of pages.
If your master page has a different page size than the layout page, applying the master page changes the size of the layout page. If the layout
page has a custom page size, you can specify whether to keep the custom layout page size or apply the size of the master page.
Note: Master items on a document page have a dotted border. If you cannot view master items on a document page, the master item may be
hidden on a lower layer or the master items may be hidden. Choose Show Master Items from the Pages panel menu.
Apply a master to a document page or spread
To apply a master to one page, drag the master page icon to a page icon in the Pages panel. When a black rectangle surrounds the desired
page, release the mouse button.
To apply a master to a spread, drag the master page icon to a corner of the spread in the Pages panel. When a black rectangle surrounds all
pages in the desired spread, release the mouse button.
Applying a master to a page (left) and applying a master to a spread (right)
Apply a master to multiple pages
Do one of the following:
In the Pages panel, select the pages to which you want to apply a new master. Then press Alt (Windows) or Option (Mac OS) as you click a
master.
Choose Apply Master To Pages from the Pages panel menu, select a master for Apply Master, make sure that the page ranges in the To
Pages option are the ones you want, and click OK. You can apply a master to multiple pages at once. For example, you can type 5, 7-9,
13-16 to apply the same master to pages 5, 7-9, and 13-16. (See Display absolute or section numbering in the Pages panel.)
Applying a master to a discontiguous range of pages
Unassign masters from document pages
123
Apply the None master from the Masters section of the Pages panel.
When you unassign a master from a page, its layout and items no longer apply to the page. If a master contains most of the elements you want,
but you need to customize the appearance of a few pages, you can override master items and edit or modify them on those document pages,
instead of unassigning the master.
To the top
Copy masters
You can copy masters within the same document or from one document to another to use as the starting point for a new master. You can also
copy masters to other documents when you synchronize documents in a book or import master pages from another document.
Copy a master within a document
In the Pages panel, do one of the following:
Drag the page name of a master spread to the New Page button at the bottom of the panel.
Select the page name of a master spread, and choose Duplicate Master Spread [spread name] in the panel menu.
When you copy a master, the page prefix of the copied master becomes the next letter in the alphabet.
Copy or move a master to another document
1. Open the document you want to add the master to. Then open the document with the master you want to copy.
2. In the Pages panel of the source document, do either of the following:
Click and drag the master spread to the destination document’s window to copy it.
Select the master you want to move or copy. Choose Layout > Pages > Move Master, and choose the destination document name from
the Move To menu. If you want to remove the page or pages from the source document, select Delete Pages After Moving, and then
click OK.
If the target document already has a master with the same prefix, the moved master is assigned the next available letter in the alphabet.
To the top
Delete a master from a document
1. In the Pages panel, select one or more master page icons.
To select all unused master pages, choose Select Unused Masters in the Page panel menu.
2. Do one of the following:
Drag a selected master page or spread icon to the Delete icon at the bottom of the panel.
Click the Delete icon at the bottom of the panel.
Choose Delete Master Spread [spread name] in the panel menu.
When you delete a master, the [None] master is applied to any document page to which the deleted master was applied.
To the top
Override or detach master items
When you apply a master page to a document page, all objects on the master, called master items, appear on the document page. Sometimes
you want a specific page to be only slightly different from a master. In this situation you don’t need to re-create the master layout on the page or
create a new master. You can override or detach the master item, and other master items on the document page will continue to update with the
master.
Note the difference between overriding and detaching master items on a document page:
Override master item attributes Overriding a master item puts a copy of it on the document page without breaking its association with the master
page. Once the item itself is overridden, you can selectively override one or more attributes of the item to customize it. For example, you can
change the fill color of the local copy. After that, changes to the fill color on the master page itself will not update to the local copy. However, other
attributes, such as size, will continue to update because they have not been overridden on the local copy. Overrides can be removed later to make
the object match the master.
Attributes you can override for a master page object include strokes, fills, contents of a frame, and any transformations (such as rotating, scaling,
shearing, or resizing), corner options, text frame options, lock state, transparency, and object effects.
Detach items from their master On a document page, you can detach (disassociate) a master item from its master. The item must be overridden
on the document page, creating a local copy, before you can detach it. A detached item does not update with the master because its association
with the master page is broken.
Override a master item
1. Make sure the master item can be overridden.
124
You can override a master item only if Allow Master Item Overrides On Selection is selected in the Pages panel menu for that item.
2. Do either of the following:
To override specific master items on a document page, press Ctrl+Shift (Windows) or Command+Shift (Mac OS) and click the item (or
drag to select multiple items). Change the selected master items as desired. The item can now be selected like any other page item, but
retains its association with the master page.
To override all master page items on a document spread, target the spread, and then choose Override All Master Page Items in the
Pages panel menu. You can now select and modify any and all master items as you wish.
Once you override any master item, its dotted bounding box becomes a solid line, to show that a local copy has been created.
Note: If you override a threaded text frame, all visible frames in that thread are overridden, even if they are on a different page in a spread.
Detach a master item
To detach a single master item from its master, first override it by pressing Ctrl+Shift (Windows) or Command+Shift (Mac OS) and clicking the
item on a document page. Then choose Detach Selection From Master in the Pages panel menu.
To detach all overridden master items on a spread, override the master page items you want to detach, and target that spread in the
document. (Don’t go to the original master page.) Choose Detach All Objects From Master from the Pages panel menu. If the command isn’t
available, there aren’t any overridden objects on that spread.
Prevent a master item from being overridden
In some instances, you want to override all but a few master items. For example, you may want to override master items such as background
images on a document page, but you want to prevent a page-numbering header from being overridden. By preventing the header from being
overridden, you can choose the Override All Master Items option to override all master items except for the header.
1. On the master page, select the item.
2. Deselect Allow Master Item Overrides On Selection on the Pages panel menu.
Master items that do not allow overrides have no frame edge when displayed on the document page. If you prevent a threaded text frame from
being overridden, all text frames in that thread have the same setting applied.
Reapply master items
If you’ve overridden master items, you can restore them to match the master page. When you do this, the object’s attributes revert to their state on
the corresponding master, and will once again update when you edit the master. The local copy of the object is removed, and the master item
cannot be selected, as indicated by its dotted border. You can remove overrides for selected objects or all objects on a spread, but not across an
entire document at once.
Do one of the following:
To remove master overrides from one or more objects, select objects that were originally master items. In the Pages panel, target a spread
and choose Remove Selected Local Overrides in the Pages panel menu.
To remove all master overrides from a spread, in the Pages panel, target the spread (or master spread) from which you want to remove all
master overrides. Choose Edit >Deselect All to make sure that no objects are selected. In the Pages panel, choose Remove All Local
Overrides in the Pages panel menu.
If you’ve detached master page objects, you cannot restore them to the master page; however, you can delete the detached objects and reapply
the master to the page.
If you reapply a master to a page that contains overridden master page objects, the objects with overrides are detached and all master page
objects reapplied. This may result in two copies of some objects on the page. You’ll need to delete the detached objects to exactly match the look
of the master.
Hide master items
Use the Hide Master Items to hide master page items on one or more pages in your document. Hidden master items are not printed or output.
1. In the Pages panel, select the pages and spreads on which you’d like the master items to be hidden.
2. From the Pages panel menu, choose Hide Master Items.
To display master items again, select the spreads in the Pages panel and choose Show Master Items from the Pages panel menu.
To the top
Import a master from another document
You can import masters from another InDesign document (any version) into the active document. If your destination document contains master
pages that have different names from any master page in the source document, those pages and their document page overrides will be
unchanged.
1. In the Pages panel menu, choose Load Master Pages.
125
2. Locate and double-click the InDesign document containing the master pages you want to import.
3. Determine what should occur if a loaded master has the same name as a master in the current document.
Choose Replace Master Pages if you want the masters from the source to override the destination document’s masters with the same
names. If your destination document does not have any overridden items, it is safe to Replace Master Pages on import.
Choose Rename Master Pages to change the page prefixes to the next available letter in the alphabet.
Once you have imported masters from a source document, a link is set up between the source document and the destination document. When you
subsequently load masters from the same source document, the association between overridden items and their parent items on reloaded master
pages is maintained. This association lets you keep master pages in different documents consistent without putting those documents into a book.
If you want to use this method of keeping master pages consistent, you should load the master pages from the source document before overriding
any objects on the master. If your document has overridden items and you have never imported masters from any source, those overridden items
become detached the first time you load from a source document and replace master pages with the same name as the parent master of the
overridden items.
If you subsequently import masters from a different source document, however, and choose Replace Master Pages, the overridden items may
become detached. Any same-named masters from the new source document will be applied to the document page containing overridden items,
creating two sets of objects.
More Help topics
Master Pages video
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
126
Creating documents
Customize the pasteboard and guides
Change document setup, margins, and columns
For detailed information and instructions, click the links below.
To the top
Customize the pasteboard and guides
You can control the colors used to display guides for page margins and columns, as well as the guides for the bleed and slug areas on the
pasteboard. To make it easier to distinguish between the Normal and Preview modes, you can change the color of the preview background.
InDesign also lets you control how close an object needs to be to snap to a guide, whether guides should be displayed in front of or behind
objects, as well as the size of the pasteboard.
1. Choose Edit > Preferences > Guides & Pasteboard (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > Guides & Pasteboard (Mac OS).
2. Under Color, choose the desired colors from each of the following menus, or choose Custom to specify a custom color using the color
picker.
Margins Sets the color of the page margins.
Columns Sets the color of the column guides for the page.
Bleed Sets the color of the bleed area (which is set in theDocument Setup dialog box).
Slug Sets the color of the slug area (which is set in theDocument Setup dialog box).
Preview Background Sets the color of the pasteboard when in the Preview mode.
3. To set how close an object must be to snap to a guide or grid, specify a value in pixels for Snap To Zone.
4. To display guides behind objects, select Guides In Back.
5. To specify how far the pasteboard extends out from the page or spread (or the bleed or slug area, if specified), enter values for Horizontal
Margins and Vertical Margins.
6. Click OK to close the Preferences dialog box.
You can change the on-screen color of your paper. With no text or objects selected, double-click the Paper color in the Swatches panel
(choose Window > Swatches). The Paper color appears on-screen only and does not affect output; it is intended only to simulate designing for
nonwhite paper.
To the top
Change document setup, margins, and columns
After you create a document, you may change your mind about how you want it set up. For example, you may want single pages instead of facing
pages, or you may want to change the page size or margin settings.
Change document setup
Changing options in the Document Setup dialog box affects every page in the document. If you change page size or orientation after objects have
been added to pages, you can use the Layout Adjustment feature to minimize the amount of time needed for arranging existing objects. See About
automatic layout adjustment.
1. Choose File > Document Setup.
2. Specify the document options, and then click OK. (See New Document options.)
Change page margin and column settings
You can change column and margin settings for pages and spreads. When you change the column and margin settings on a master page, you
change the setting for all pages to which the master is applied. Changing the columns and margins of regular pages affects only those pages
selected in the Pages panel.
Note: The Margins And Columns dialog box doesn’t alter columns inside text frames. Text frame columns exist only within individual text frames,
not on the page itself. You can set up columns within individual text frames by using the Text Frame Options dialog box. (See Add columns to a
text frame.) Text frame columns can also be affected by the Layout Adjustment feature.
1. Do one of the following:
To change margin and column settings for one spread or page, go to the spread you want to change, or select one spread or page in
127
the Pages panel.
To change margin and column settings for multiple pages, select those pages in the Pages panel, or select a master that controls the
pages you want to change.
2. Choose Layout > Margins And Columns, specify the following options, and then click OK.
Margins Type values to specify the distance between margin guides and each edge of the page. If Facing Pages is selected in the New
Document or Document Setup dialog box, the Left and Right margin option names change to Inside and Outside, so that you can specify
additional inside margin space to accommodate binding.
Columns Specify the number of columns.
Create unequal column widths
When you have more than one column on a page, the column guides in the middle appear in pairs. When you drag one column guide, the pair
moves. The space between the column guides is the gutter value you specified; the pair moves together to maintain that value.
Note: You cannot create unequal column widths for columns in a text frame. Instead, created threaded, side-by-side text frames with different
column widths.
1. Go to the master or spread you want to change.
2. If column guides are locked, choose View > Grids & Guides > Lock Column Guides to deselect it.
3. Using the Selection tool
, drag a column guide. You can’t drag it past an adjacent column guide or beyond the edge of the page.
Dragging a column guide to create unequal column widths
To create columns with unequal gutters, create evenly spaced ruler guides and then drag individual guides to the desired location. (See Create
ruler guides.)
More Help topics
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
128
Create new documents
Creating new documents
Create a new document
New Document options
Document window overview
Create custom page sizes
Define document presets
Create a document using a preset
Page design begins with the basics: starting a new document, setting up pages, and positioning margins and columns or changing grid settings.
To the top
Create a new document
1. Choose File > New > Document.
The New Document dialog box combines the Document Setup and the Margins And Columns dialog boxes, so that you can set up the page
size, margins, and page columns all in one place. You can change these settings at any time.
2. Specify document setup options. (See New Document options.)
To specify the dimensions of the bleed and slug areas, click the Arrow button before the Bleed and Slug label. The bleed and slug areas
extend out from the edges of the defined Page Size. To make the bleed or slug areas extend evenly on all sides, click the Make All Settings
The Same icon
.
3. (Only in InDesign CC) Select the Preview checkbox to see how your new document will look like. Make necessary changes if required.
4. Click OK to open the new document with the settings you specified.
To set default layout settings for all new documents, choose File > Document Setup or Layout > Margins And Columns, and set options when
no documents are open.
To the top
New Document options
Document Preset Choose a preset that you have saved earlier.
Intent If you are creating a document to be output to PDF or SWF for the web, choosing the Web option changes several options in the dialog
box, such as turning off Facing Pages, changing the orientation from portrait to landscape, and using a page size based on monitor resolution. You
can edit any of these settings after the document is created.
CS6 and later: Digital publishing intent has been added for publications aimed for the Digital Publishing Suite. You can also change the intent of
the document after it is created.
Number of pages Specify the number of pages to create in the new document.
Start Page # Specify which number the document starts on. If you specify an even number (such as 2) with Facing Pages selected, the first
spread in the document begins with a two-page spread. See Start a document with a two-page spread.
Facing Pages Select this option to make left and right pages face each other in a double-page spread, such as for books and magazines.
Deselect this option to let each page stand alone, such as when you’re printing flyers or posters or when you want objects to bleed in the binding.
After you’ve created a document, you can use the Pages panel to create spreads with more than two pages or force the first two pages to open as
a spread. (See Control spread pagination.)
Master Text Frame CS5.5 and earlier: Select this option to create a text frame the size of the area within the margin guides, matching the column
settings you specified. The master text frame is added to the A Master. (See Using text frames on master pages.)
The Master Text Frame option is available only when you’ve chosen File > New > Document.
Primary Text Frame CS6 and later: select this option to add a primary text frame on the master page. When you apply a new master page, the
story in the primary text frame automatically flows into the primary text frame of the new master page.
Page Size Choose a page size from the menu, or type values for Width and Height. Page size represents the final size you want after bleeds or
other marks outside the page are trimmed.
129
Orientation Click Portrait
(tall) or Landscape
(wide). These icons interact dynamically with the dimensions you enter in Page Size. When
Height is the larger value, the portrait icon is selected. When Width is the larger value, the landscape icon is selected. Clicking the deselected icon
switches the Height and Width values.
Tip: To specify the dimensions of the bleed and slug areas, click the Arrow button before the Bleed and Slug label in the New Document dialog
box. To make the bleed or slug areas extend evenly on all sides, click the Make All Settings The Same icon
.
Bleed The Bleed area allows you to print objects that are arranged at the outer edge of the defined page size. For a page of the required
dimensions, if an object is positioned at its edge, some white may appear at the edge of the printed area due to slight misalignment during printing
or trimming. For this reason, you should position an object that is at the edge of the page of the required dimensions a little beyond the edge, and
trim after printing. Bleed area is shown by a red line on the document. You can set bleed area settings from Bleed in the Print dialog box.
Slug The slug area is discarded when the document is trimmed to its final page size. The slug area holds printing information, customized color
bar information, or displays other instructions and descriptions for other information in the document. Objects (including text frames) positioned in
the slug area are printed but will disappear when the document is trimmed to its final page size.
Objects outside the bleed or slug area (whichever extends farther) do not print.
Preview (Only in InDesign CC) Select this checkbox to see how your new document will look like. Make necessary changes to the options if the
preview is not as desired.
Note: You can also click the Save Document Preset icon to save document settings for future use.
To the top
Document window overview
Each page or spread in your document has its own pasteboard and guides, which are visible in Normal View mode. (To switch to Normal View,
choose View > Screen Mode > Normal.) The pasteboard is replaced with a gray background when the document is viewed using one of the
Preview modes. (See Preview documents.) You can change the color of this preview background and guides in Guides & Pasteboard preferences.
Document and guides in Normal View Mode
A. Spread (black lines) B. Page (black lines) C. Margin guides (magenta lines) D. Column guides (violet lines) E. Bleed area (red lines) F. Slug
area (blue lines)
Document window notes:
Lines of other colors are ruler guides which, when present, appear in the layer color when selected. See Layers.
Column guides appear in front of margin guides. When a column guide is exactly in front of a margin guide, it hides the margin guide.
To the top
Create custom page sizes
You can create custom page sizes that appear in the Page Size menu in the New Document dialog box.
1. Choose File > New > Document.
2. Choose Custom Page Size from the Page Size menu.
3. Type a name for the page size, specify page size settings, and then click Add.
The New Doc Sizes.txt file that lets you create custom page sizes in previous version of InDesign is not available in InDesign CS5 or later.
To the top
Define document presets
You can save document settings for page size, columns, margins, and bleed and slug areas in a preset to save time and ensure consistency when
creating similar documents.
1. Choose File > Document Presets > Define.
130
2. Click New in the dialog box that appears.
3. Specify a name for the preset and select basic layout options in the New Document Preset dialog box. (See New Document options for a
description of each option.)
4. Click OK twice.
You can save a document preset to a separate file and distribute it to other users. To save and load document preset files, use the Save and
Load buttons in the Document Presets dialog box.
To the top
Create a document using a preset
1. Do one of the following:.
Choose File > Document Preset > [name of preset]. (Hold down Shift while choosing the preset to create a new document based on the
preset without opening the New Document dialog box.)
Choose File > New > Document, and then choose a preset from the Document Preset menu in the New Document dialog box.
The New Document dialog box displays the preset layout options.
2. Make changes to the options (if desired) and click OK.
To skip the New Document dialog box, press the Shift key as you select a preset from the Document Preset menu.
Recommended workflow for InDesign documents
Use document templates
Add documents to a book file
Change document setup, margins, and columns
Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
131
Generate QR codes | CC
About QR codes
Manage QR codes in InDesign
To the top
About QR codes
QR codes are machine readable printed representation of data for various industry uses. It has now become common in consumer advertising. A
consumer with a Smartphone can install an app with a QR code scanner that can read and decode the URL information and redirect the phone’s
browser to a company website.
After scanning QR codes, users may receive text, add a business card contact to their devices, open a Web hyperlink, or compose an email or
text message.
To the top
Manage QR codes in InDesign
You can now generate and edit high quality independent QR code graphics from within InDesign. The generated QR code is a high-fidelity graphic
object that behaves exactly like native vector art in InDesign. You can easily scale the object and fill it with colors. You can also apply effects,
transparency, and printing attributes, such as overprinting, spot inks, and trappings to the object. You can copy-paste the code graphic as a vector
graphic object into a standard graphics editor tool such as Adobe Illustrator.
Generate QR code
1. From the menu, choose Object > Generate QR Code. The Generate QR Code dialog box is displayed.
The Generate/Edit QR Code dialog box has two tabs – Content and Color.
2. In the Content tab, select any one of the following data types in the Type drop-down list:
Web Hyperlink
Plain Text
Text Message
Email
Business Card
Based on the selected type, one or more fields are displayed to provide the content for which you want to generate the QR code.
3. The Color tab shows Swatch List. If you want to apply a specific color to the QR code, switch to the Color tab and select a specific color. By
default, the generated QR code is Black with transparent background.
4. Click OK.
132
5. If you have selected a Frame before generating the QR code, the code is placed directly in the selected Frame replacing its content.
If you have not selected a frame, the QR code is loaded on the Place Gun and you can place it just like a traditional EPS object:
Clicking inside the document places the object in its original/default size – 30 X 30 (cm units).
Clicking into an existing frame places the code inside the frame with default size. (It replaces its existing content if you click in the frame
with the Alt key pressed.)
Click and dragging draws a new frame with fixed aspect ratio and releasing the mouse places the code inside the frame.
Once placed inside a document, the QR code is treated as a traditional EPS object, except that a tooltip appears on hovering over the object,
revealing the content details in the form of the embedded code.
Edit the content and color of the QR code
1. Select the QR code object or the frame: double-click inside the frame.
2. From the menu, choose Object > Edit QR Code. You can also right-click and choose Edit QR Code in the context menu.
3. The Edit QR Code dialog box is displayed with the existing content and color information.
4. In the Content tab, change the data type and content as appropriate.
5. To select a different color for the QR code, click Color tab and select an appropriate color.
6. Click OK.
Modify the QR code’s frame attribute
The default background of a QR code frame is transparent. However, you can change the Frame’s Fill and Stroke attributes such as the Color,
Line Style, and Thickness using the traditional controls.
Transform the QR code object
You can move, resize, or rotate the placed QR code object with the Selection tool. When you drag the frame’s box, only the frame resizes.
However, while dragging:
If you press the Shift key, the aspect ratio of the frame is preserved.
If you press the Ctrl (on Windows) or Command (on Mac) key, both the frame and the content scales with preserved aspect ratio.
If you press the Shift plus Alt (on Windows) or Option (on Mac) keys, the frame scales from its center with unpreserved aspect ratio. You can
press the Shift key to preserve the aspect ratio.
133
Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
134
Rulers and measurement units
Change rulers and measurement units
Change the zero point
Measure objects
Info panel overview
For detailed information and instructions, click the links below.
To the top
Change rulers and measurement units
You can change measurement units for the on-screen rulers and for use in panels and dialog boxes; you can also change these settings at
any time and temporarily override the current measurement units as you enter a value. By default, rulers begin measuring from the upper-left
corner of a page or spread. You can change this by moving the zero point. (See Change the zero point.)
Changing the measurement units doesn’t move guides, grids, and objects, so when ruler tick marks change, they might not line up with objects
aligned to the old tick marks.
Rulers in a document window
A. Labeled tick marks B. Major tick marks C. Minor tick marks
You can set up different measurement systems for horizontal and vertical rulers. The system you select for the horizontal ruler governs tabs,
margins, indents, and other measurements. Each spread has its own vertical ruler; however, all vertical rulers use the same settings you specify
in the Units & Increments preferences dialog box.
The default units of measure for the rulers are picas (a pica equals 12 points). However, you can change custom ruler units and control where the
major tick marks appear on a ruler. For example, if you change the custom ruler units for the vertical ruler to 12 points, a major ruler increment
appears every 12 points (if such display is possible in the current magnification). The tick mark labels include your customized major tick marks, so
when the ruler reads 3 in the same example, it marks the third instance of the 12-point increment, or 36 points.
Vertical ruler using inches (left), and custom 12-point increments (right)
Setting custom ruler increments in the vertical ruler is useful for lining up a ruler’s major tick marks with a baseline grid.
Show or hide rulers
In Normal View Mode (View > Screen Mode > Normal), choose View > Show Rulers or Hide Rulers.
Change measurement units and rulers
1. Choose Edit > Preferences > Units & Increments (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > Units & Increments (Mac OS).
2. To change the origin of the zero point, in the Origin menu under Ruler Units, do one of the following:
To set the ruler origin at the top-left corner of each spread, choose Spread. The horizontal ruler measures across the entire spread.
135
To set the ruler origin at the top-left corner of each page, choose Page. The horizontal ruler starts at zero for each page in a spread.
To set the ruler origin at the center of the spine, choose Spine. The horizontal ruler measures in negative numbers to the left of the spine
and positive numbers to the right of the spine.
3. To change the measurement system used for rulers, dialog boxes, and panels, choose the desired system for Horizontal and Vertical, or
choose Custom and type the number of points at which you want the ruler to display major tick marks.
If you specify a measurement system other than points, the Increment Every baseline grid value is still displayed in points. This makes it
easier to match text size and leading values, which are displayed in points.
4. To change the value you want used for text size, choose Points or Pixels from the Text Size menu. This option is especially useful when
you’re designing a document for the web.
5. To change the value you want used for stroke weight settings, choose Points, Millimeters, or Pixels from the Stroke menu. This option is
especially useful when you’re designing a document for the web.
6. To change the value you want used for calculating points, specify the desired point size per inch for Points/Inch.
7. Set any of the following Keyboard Increments:
Cursor Key Controls the increment for the arrow keys when nudging objects.
Size/Leading Controls the increment for increasing or decreasing the point size or leading using the keyboard shortcuts.
Baseline Shift Controls the increment for shifting the baseline using the keyboard shortcuts.
Kerning/Tracking Controls the increment for kerning and tracking using the keyboard shortcuts.
8. Click OK.
You can also change ruler units by right-clicking (Windows) or Control-clicking (Mac OS) a ruler and choosing the units from the context menu.
By right-clicking or Control-clicking at the intersection of the horizontal and vertical rulers, you can change the ruler units for both rulers at the
same time.
Override default measurement units
You can specify a unit of measurement that is different from the default.
Highlight the existing value in a panel or dialog box, and type the new value using the notation in the following table:
To specify:
Type these letters after the
value:
Examples
Result
Inches
i
5.25i
5 1/4 inches
in
5.25in
inch
5.25inch
"
5.25”
Millimeters
mm
48mm
48 millimeters
Centimeters
cm
12cm
12 centimeters
Picas
p
3p
3 picas
Points
pt
6pt
6 points
p (before value)
p6
Picas and points
p (between values)
3p6
3 picas, 6 points
Pixels
px
5px
5 pixels
Ciceros
c
5c
5 ciceros
Agates
ag
5ag
agates
To the top
Change the zero point
The zero point is the position at which the zeros on the horizontal and vertical rulers intersect. By default, the zero point is at the top left corner of
the first page of each spread. This means that the default position of the zero point is always the same relative to a spread, but may seem to vary
relative to the pasteboard.
136
The X and Y position coordinates in the Control panel, Info panel, and Transform panel are displayed relative to the zero point. You can move the
zero point to measure distances, to create a new reference point for measurement, or to tile oversized pages. By default, each spread has one
zero point at the upper left corner of the first page, but you can also locate it at the binding spine, or specify that each page in a spread has its
own zero point.
Adjust the zero point
When you move the zero point, it moves to the same relative location in all spreads. For example, if you move the zero point to the top left corner
of the second page of a page spread, it will appear in that position on the second page of all other spreads in the document.
Do one of the following:
To move the zero point, drag from the intersection of the horizontal and vertical rulers to the position on the layout where you want to set the
zero point.
Establishing a new zero point
To reset the zero point, double-click the intersection of the horizontal and vertical rulers
.
To lock or unlock the zero point, right-click (Windows) or Control-click (Mac OS) the zero point of the rulers, and choose Lock Zero Point in
the context menu.
Change the default zero point
Using the Origin setting in the Preferences dialog box, you can set the default zero point for rulers as well as the scope of the horizontal ruler. The
scope determines whether the ruler measures across the page, across the entire spread, or, for multipage spreads, from the center of the spine.
If you set the ruler origin at each spread’s binding spine, the origin becomes locked at the spine. You won’t be able to reposition the ruler origin by
dragging it from the intersection of the rulers unless you choose another origin option.
1. Choose Edit > Preferences > Units & Increments (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > Units & Increments (Mac OS).
2. In the Ruler Units section, in the Origin menu, do one of the following:
To set the ruler origin at the top-left corner of each spread, choose Spread. The horizontal ruler measures across the entire spread.
To set the ruler origin at the top-left corner of each page, choose Page. The horizontal ruler starts at zero for each page in a spread.
To set the ruler origin at the center of the spine, choose Spine. The horizontal ruler measures in negative numbers to the left of the spine
and positive numbers to the right of the spine.
You can also change horizontal ruler origin settings using the context menu that appears when you right-click (Windows) or Control-click
(Mac OS) the horizontal ruler.
To the top
Measure objects
The Measure tool calculates the distance between any two points in the document window. When you measure from one point to another, the
distance measured is displayed in the Info panel. All measurements except the angle are calculated in the units of measure currently set for the
document.
After you use the Measure tool to measure an item, the line or lines remain visible until you take another measurement or select a different tool.
Measure the distance between two points
1. Make sure the Info panel is visible (Window > Info).
2. Select the Measure tool
. (Click and hold the Eyedropper tool to display the Measure tool.)
3. Click the first point and drag to the second point. Shift-drag to constrain the tool’s motion to multiples of 45°. You cannot drag beyond a
single pasteboard and its spread.
The width and height measurements appear in the Info panel.
Measure angles
1. Make sure the Info panel is visible (Window > Info).
137
2. Select the Measure tool
. (Click and hold the Eyedropper tool to display the Measure tool.)
3. Do one of the following:
To measure an angle from the x axis, drag the tool.
To measure a custom angle, drag to create the first line of the angle. Position the tool over either end point of the measure line. To
create the second line of the angle, either double-click and drag, or press Alt (Windows) or Option (Mac OS) and drag.
When you measure a custom angle, the Info panel shows the length of the first line as D1 and the length of the second line as D2.
To the top
Info panel overview
The Info panel displays information for selected objects, the current document, or the area below the current tool, including values for position,
size, and rotation. When you move an object, the Info panel displays its position relative to its starting point as well.
The Info panel is also useful for determining word counts and character counts in stories.
Unlike other InDesign panels, the Info panel is for viewing only; you cannot enter or edit the values it displays. You can view additional information
about a selected object by choosing Show Options from the panel menu.
Info panel
A. Horizontal (X) position of the cursor B. Vertical (Y) position of the cursor C. Distance an object or tool has moved relative to its starting
position D. Width in current units E. Height in current units F. Degree of rotation
Display the Info panel
Choose Window > Info.
To change the current measurement system, click the small triangle next to the plus icon.
Determine the word count
1. Place the insertion point inside a text frame, or select text.
2. Choose Window > Info.
The Info panel displays the number of words and characters in the story or the selected text. If any text is overset, a “+” sign appears, followed by
a number representing the overset characters, words, or lines.
View additional Info panel options
Choose Show Options in the Info panel menu.
Depending on the object or tool selected, you may see the following:
Values for the fill and stroke colors of the selected object, and information about gradients
.
The names of any swatches. You can display color-space values instead by clicking the small triangle next to the fill or stroke icon.
Information about the current document, such as location, last modified date, author, and file size, when nothing in the document is selected.
Number of characters, words, lines, and paragraphs when you create a text insertion point or select text using one of the Type tools. (If any
text is overset, a “+” sign appears, followed by a number representing the overset characters, words, or lines.)
File type, resolution, and color space when a graphic file is selected. Resolution is displayed as both actual pixels per inch (the resolution of
the native graphic file) and effective pixels per inch (the resolution of the graphic after it has been resized in InDesign). If color management
has been enabled, the ICC color profile is also displayed.
The shear angle or horizontal and vertical scaling if the Shear tool, Scale tool, or the Free Transform tool is selected.
More Help topics
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
138
Grids
Use grids
Snapping objects to grids
To the top
Use grids
Two kinds of nonprinting grids are available: a baseline grid for aligning columns of text, and a document grid for aligning objects. On the screen,
a baseline grid resembles ruled notebook paper, and a document grid resembles graph paper. You can customize both kinds of grids.
Baseline grid (left) and document grid (right)
When a grid is visible, you can observe the following characteristics:
The baseline grid covers entire spreads, but the document grid covers the entire pasteboard.
Baseline grids and document grids appear on every spread and cannot be assigned to any master.
The document grid can appear in front of or behind all guides, layers, and objects, but cannot be assigned to any layer.
Set up a baseline grid
Use Grid Preferences to set up a baseline grid for the entire document.
You can set up a baseline grid for a frame by using the Text Frame Options. (See Change text frame properties.)
1. Choose Edit > Preferences > Grids (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > Grids (Mac OS).
2. Specify a baseline grid color by choosing a color in the Color menu. You can also choose Custom in the Color menu.
3. For Relative To, specify whether you want the grid to start at the top of the page or the top margin.
4. For Start, type a value to offset the grid from either the top of the page or the top margin of the page, depending on the option you choose
from the Relative To menu. If you have trouble aligning the vertical ruler to this grid, try starting with a value of zero.
5. For Increment Every, type a value for the spacing between grid lines. In most cases, type a value that equals your body text leading, so that
lines of text align perfectly to this grid.
Baseline grid in document window
A. First grid line B. Increment between grid lines
6. For View Threshold, type a value to specify the magnification below which the grid does not appear. Increase the view threshold to prevent
crowded grid lines at lower magnifications.
139
Baseline grid at magnification below view threshold (left) and above view threshold (right)
7. Click OK.
Note: The Snap To Guides command controls both snapping to guides and snapping to the baseline grid.
Set up a document grid
1. Choose Edit > Preferences > Grids (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > Grids (Mac OS).
2. Specify a document grid color by choosing a color in the Color menu. You can also choose Custom in the Color menu.
3. To set horizontal grid spacing, specify a value for Gridline Every in the Horizontal section of the Document Grid section, and then specify a
value for Subdivisions between each grid line.
4. To set vertical grid spacing, specify a value for Gridline Every in the Vertical section of the Document Grid section, and then specify a value
for Subdivisions between each grid line.
5. Do one of the following, and click OK:
To put the document and baseline grids behind all other objects, make sure that Grids In Back is selected.
To put the document and baseline grids in front of all other objects, deselect Grids In Back.
To put guides behind all other objects, you can also choose Guides In Back in the context menu that appears when you right-click (Windows)
or Control-click (Mac OS) an empty area of the document window.
Show or hide grids
To show or hide the baseline grid, choose View > Grids & Guides > Show/Hide Baseline Grid.
To show or hide the document grid, choose View > Grids & Guides > Show/Hide Document Grid.
To the top
Snapping objects to grids
When snapping is enabled, moving an object within the snap zone of a grid location will cause the object to snap to that location.
Snap objects to the document grid
1. Choose View > Grids & Guides and make sure that Snap To Document Grid is selected (checked). If it is not selected, click it.
Note: The Snap to Guides command controls both snapping to guides and snapping to the baseline grid.
2. To specify the snap-to zone, choose Edit > Preferences > Guides & Pasteboard (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > Guides &
Pasteboard (Mac OS), type a value for Snap to Zone, and click OK. The Snap to Zone value is always in pixels.
To snap an object to a grid, drag an object toward a grid until one or more of the object’s edges is within the grid’s snap-to zone.
More Help topics
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
140
Liquid Layouts and Alternate Layouts | CC, CS6
What's covered
Recommended workflow
Liquid layouts
Liquid page rules
Alternate layouts
Create Alternate Layouts
Alternate layouts and Liquid Layout page rules, give you the flexibility to efficiently design for multiple page sizes, orientations, or aspect ratios.
For publishing for multiple formats and sizes, you can choose a design strategy that suits a project best: Hand crafted, semi-automated, or fully
automated. The degree of design control decreases as you rely on automated workflows. InDesign provides several enhancements for your
adopted strategy to balance cost and control.
Note: Automatic Liquid Layout based-publishing is not possible yet, because of the unavailability of compliant viewer technologies.
To the top
Recommended workflow
A. Alternate layout workflow B. Alternate layout and liquid page rules
STEP 1: Choose a target device and its corresponding dimension and orientation. Then create your primary layout for all the pages.
STEP 2: Optionally, add Adobe Liquid Layout page rules to help adapt content to different aspect ratios and sizes. Liquid page rules are useful if
you're targeting multiple devices. Without Liquid page rules, you'll have to manually create a unique layout for every possible size and orientation.
See Liquid layouts.
STEP 3: Use the Create Alternate Layout feature to create new pages in the same document. Depending on your primary layout and the Liquid
page rules, you may need to manually tune the layout. Repeat this step for each new size and orientation. See Alternate layouts.
To the top
Liquid layouts
141
Liquid layouts
Liquid layouts make it easier to design content for multiple page sizes, orientations, or devices. Apply liquid page rules to determine how objects
on a page are adapted when you create alternate layouts and change the size, orientation, or aspect ratio.
You can apply different rules to different pages, depending on the layout and the goals; only one liquid page rule can be applied to a page at a
time. Liquid Layout is a general term that covers a set of specific liquid page rules: scale, re-center, guide-based, and object-based page rules.
Use Liquid page rules to adapt content for output sizes.
To adapt layouts when creating new pages in the same document using alternate layouts.
To adapt layouts when changing existing page sizes. This is more efficient than the previous Layout Adjustment feature.
To apply a liquid page rule, select the Page tool
Layout > Liquid Layouts.
and click a page. Then choose a liquid page rule from the control bar. You can also use the
To preview the effects of the applied rule, use the Page tool to drag the page handles to resize the page. The page snaps back to original size
when you release it.
To resize the page, press Alt (Windows) or Option (Mac OS) and then drag. Using the mouse, however, to resize the page could result in
pages that are slightly off the intended size. Its more accurate to resize the page with the Height and Width widgets in the control bar.
Liquid page rules
A. Page tool B. Liquid page rules from control bar C. Page handles D. Pins for object-based rules E. Liquid Layout panel
Liquid page rules
You can apply different rules to different pages. Only one liquid page rule can be applied to a page at a time.
What this video to discover how to apply None, Scale, and Recenter rules when resizing a layout. Also learn the meaning behind "Based on
Master." Using basic Liquid Layout rules: Scale, Recenter, and Based on Master.
Scale All content on the page is treated as a group, and as the page resizes, all the elements scale in proportion. The result is similar to
letterboxing or pillarboxing on HD television screens.
142
Liquid page rules: Scale
Re-center All content on the page is automatically recentered no matter the width. Unlike Scale, the content remains its original size. You can
achieve a similar result to video production safe zones using the Re-center rule with careful planning and layout.
Liquid page rules: Re-center
Guide-based Guides define a straight line across the page where content can adapt.
Whitespace can be added
Text frames are resized, and the text reflows (but not scale).
Placed image frames are resized and the cropping boundary dimension of the containing frame resizes.
To add a liquid guide, first select the page tool, then pull out the guides from the ruler.
Guide-based rules are similar to 3-slice and 9-slice scaling in Illustrator, Fireworks, and Flash. Watch this video on Applying guide-based Liquid
Layout rules.
To convert a ruler guide to a liquid guide select the page tool and click the Convert to liquid guide icon on the guide. The liquid guide is
displayed as a dashed line, while a ruler guide is a solid line.
Liquid page rules: Guide-based
143
Object-based You can specify liquid behavior for size and location relative to the page edge for each object, either fixed or relative.
Each side of an object's bounding box or frame can either be fixed, or relative to its corresponding page edge. For example, the left side of
the frame can have a relationship only with the left edge of the page.
The height and width can either be fixed, or resizable relative to the page.
Watch this video on Applying object-based Liquid Layout rules.
Liquid page rules: Object-based
To the top
Alternate layouts
Use Alternate Layouts if you require different page sizes for print or digital publishing within the same document. You can use it to create different
sizes of a print advertisement. Or to design the horizontal and vertical layouts for devices such as the Apple iPad or Android tablets.
Alternate layouts and Pages panel
Used in combination with Liquid Layout, you can significantly reduce the amount of manual work required to re-layout content for every new page
size and orientation.
For a quick overview see Alternate Layouts video by Lynda.com.
Create Alternate Layouts
To create an alternate layout, do one of the following:
Choose Layout > Create Alternate Layout
Choose Create Alternate Layout from the Pages panel menu
144
Create Alternate Layouts
In the Create Alternate Layouts dialog box, specify the following options:
Name Enter the name of the alternate layout.
From Source Pages Select the source layout where your content is located.
Page Size Select a page size or enter a custom size for the alternate layout.
Width and Height These fields display the size of the alternate layout. You can enter your own values, but that changes the Page Size to custom.
Orientation Choose an orientation for the alternate layout. If you switch between Portrait and Landscape, the Height and Width are updated.
Liquid Page Rule Choose a liquid page rule to apply to the alternate layout. Select Preserve Existing to inherit the liquid page rules applied to
the source pages. Select another rule to apply new liquid page rules.
Link Stories Enable this option to place objects and to link them to the original objects on the source layout. When you update the original object,
it is easier to manage updates for linked objects. See Linked Content.
Copy Text Styles to New Style Group Enable this option to copy all text styles, and place them in a new group. This option is useful if you need
to vary the text styles between various layouts.
Smart Text Reflow Enable this option to remove any forced line breaks and other style overrides to the text.
Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
145
About pages and spreads
Change the page and spread display
Target or select a page or spread
Add new pages to a document
Create color labels for page thumbnails
When you select the Facing Pages option in the File > Document Setup dialog box, document pages are arranged in spreads. A spread is a set
of pages viewed together, such as the two pages visible whenever you open a book or magazine. Every InDesign spread includes its own
pasteboard, which is an area outside a page where you can store objects that aren’t yet positioned on a page. Each spread’s pasteboard provides
space to accommodate objects that bleed, or extend past the edge of a page.
Pages panel
A. Page icons B. Page with master “A” applied C. Selected spread
When you set the Binding option to Right To Left in the Document Setup dialog box, numbers are attached to the page icons from right to left in
the Pages panel.
In a long document, you can move to a page quickly by choosing Layout > Go To Page.
To the top
Change the page and spread display
The Pages panel provides information about and control over pages, spreads, and masters (pages or spreads that automatically format other
pages or spreads). By default, the Pages panel displays thumbnail representations of each page’s content.
1. If the Pages panel isn’t visible, choose Window > Pages.
2. Choose Panel Options in the Pages panel menu.
3. In the Icons section, specify which icons appear next to the page thumbnails in the Pages panel. These icons indicate whether transparency
or page transitions have been added to a spread, and whether the spread view is rotated.
4. In the Pages and Masters sections:
Select an icon size for pages and masters.
Select Show Vertically to display spreads in one vertical column. Deselect this option to allow spreads to be displayed side-by-side.
Select Show Thumbnails to display thumbnail representations of the content of each page or master. (This option is not available if
certain options are selected for Icon Size.)
5. In the Panel Layout section, select Pages On Top to display the page icon section above the master icon section, or select Masters On Top
to display the master icon section above the page icon section.
6. Choose an option in the Resize menu to control how the sections are displayed when you resize the panel:
To resize both the Pages and Masters sections of the panel, choose Proportional.
To maintain the size of the Pages section and resize only the Masters section, choose Pages Fixed.
146
To maintain the size of the Masters section and resize only the Pages section, choose Masters Fixed.
To the top
Target or select a page or spread
You either select or target pages or spreads, depending on the task you are performing. Some commands affect the currently selected page or
spread, while others affect the target page or spread. For example, you can drag ruler guides only to the target page or spread, but page-related
commands, such as Duplicate Spread or Delete Page, affect the page or spread selected in the Pages panel. Targeting makes a page or spread
active and is helpful when, for example, several spreads are visible in the document window and you want to paste an object onto a specific
spread.
In the Pages panel:
To both target and select a page or spread, double-click its icon or the page numbers under the icon. If the page or spread is not visible
in the document window, it shifts into view.
Tip: You can also both target and select a page or spread by clicking a page, any object on the page, or its pasteboard in the document
window.
The vertical ruler is dimmed alongside all but the targeted page or spread.
To select a page, click its icon. (Don’t double-click unless you want to select it and move it into view.)
To select a spread, click the page numbers under the spread icon.
note: Some spread options, such as those in the Pages panel menu, are available only when an entire spread is selected.
Page 1 is targeted and page 5 is selected (left), and page 1 is targeted and entire spread is selected (right).
To the top
Add new pages to a document
Do any of the following:
To add a page after the active page or spread, click the New Page button in the Pages panel or choose Layout > Pages > Add Page.
The new page uses the same master as the existing active page.
To add multiple pages to the end of the document, choose File > Document Setup. In the Document Setup dialog box, specify the total
number of pages for the document. InDesign adds pages after the last page or spread.
To add pages and specify the document master, choose Insert Pages from the Pages panel menu or choose Layout > Pages > Insert
Pages. Choose where the pages will be added and select a master to apply.
To the top
Create color labels for page thumbnails
You can assign colored labels to the page thumbnails in the Pages panel. For example, you can use color labels to indicate the status of the
pages, such as a green label for complete spreads, a yellow label for spreads being worked on, and a red label for unstarted spreads.
147
1. In the Pages panel, select the pages to which you want to apply the color labels.
2. From the Pages panel menu, choose Color Label, and then choose the color to assign.
The color label appears below the thumbnail in the Pages panel.
Applying a color label to master pages affects all pages to which the master is applied. However, when you apply a color label to individual
document pages, the color label for the document pages is used. To use a color label for master pages, select the document pages you want to
change and choose Color Label > Use Master Color from the Pages panel menu.
Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
148
Linked content | CC, CS6
Content Collector tools
Place and link
Specify link options
Custom Style Mapping
Update a linked item
Replicating content across various pages is no easy task; copy-pasting can be cumbersome and time consuming. Use linked content features to
manage multiple versions of content. You can place and link content within the same document or even across different documents. Linked
content makes it easier to support emerging workflows, where for example, you design for vertical and horizontal layouts. Linked content also
works well for traditional print and publishing workflows, where you synchronize boilerplate text on different pages or documents.
Linked content behaves similar to traditional links. See Use the Links panel for an overview. You can designate an object as parent, and then place
it at other places as child objects. Whenever you update the parent object, the child objects are flagged and you can update them to synchronize
with the parent.
You can place and link objects using either the Content Collector tools, or choose Edit > Place and Link menu command.
The
icon displays on the upper-left corner of linked object. The item is displayed as linked object in the Links panel.
To the top
Content Collector tools
Content Collector and Placer tools let you duplicate page items and place them on open InDesign documents. As content is collected, it is
displayed in the Content Conveyor. Use Content Conveyor to easily and quickly place and link multiple page items within and across open
documents.
Click
in the toolbox to open the Content Conveyor.
Use Content Collector
Use Content Placer
tool to select an object and add it to the conveyor
to place page object on a page
Press B to toggle between Content Collector and Content Placer tool.
Content Conveyor
A. Content Collector tool B. Content placer tool C. Create link D. Map styles E. Edit Custom Style Mapping F. Place options G. Browse H. Collect
All Threaded Frames I. Load Conveyor
Content Collector Use the Content Collector to add page items to the Content Conveyor.
Content Placer Use the Content Placer to place the items from the Content Conveyor to the document. When you select this tool, the current
item is added to the place gun.
Create Link Enable Create Link to link the placed item to the original location of the collected item. You can manage the links using the Links
panel.
Map Styles Map paragraph, character, table, or cell styles, between the original and placed items. By default, style names are used for mapping.
See Custom style mapping.
Edit Custom Style Mapping Define custom style mapping between the original and placed items. Map the styles to automatically replace
original styles in the placed item.
149
Place Options Specify the Conveyor options while placing items.
Remove items from the conveyor after you place them
Place the current item multiple times. The item remains loaded in the place gun.
Place the item and move to the next item. The item is however kept in the conveyor.
Browse Navigate through the items in the Content Conveyor.
Collect All Threaded Frames Enable this option to collect all threaded frames. The story and all frames are collected. If this option is disabled,
the story is collected in a single frame.
Load Conveyor
Use
to load the conveyor with items.
Selection: Use this option to load all selected items
Pages: Use this option to load all items on the specified pages
All: Use this option to load items from all pages and pasteboard
Enable Create Single set to group all the items in a single set.
You can collect individual page items, or collect related items as "sets." In some cases InDesign automatically creates sets to preserve the
relational integrity of the page items.
The following are a few method of collecting items as sets, some manual and some automatic:
Marquee select a number of items
Use the Load Conveyor option and then select range of pages or all document content or selected items and items will be accordingly
collected in a set.
Collect an item that has related content such as a part of an interactive button that has other items and states associated with it, it will collect
all related items in a set (this set will always drop in one gesture)
Collect a text box with threaded text spanning into other objects and ’collect All Threaded Text Frames’ checkbox is checked on the
conveyor, it will pick all threaded text boxes into a set.
To the top
Place and link
1. Select a page item by either selecting the frame or place the insertion cursor in the text. You can also select multiple items by using
Shift+Click.
2. Choose Edit > Place and Link. The cursor is loaded with the items, and the items display in the Content Conveyor.
3. Click on a page or draw a frame to place the linked item.
To the top
Specify link options
1. In the Links panel, select the linked item.
2. From the Links panel menu, choose Link Options.
150
Press Alt (Windows) or Option (Mac OS) to change the Cancel button to Reset. Click Reset to revert to default options.
3. Select the options as required:
Update Link When Saving Document Enable this option to update the link when you save the document.
Warn if Link Update Will Overwrite Local Edits Enable this option to show a warning message if updating the link will overwrite any local
edits made to the linked object.
Preserve Local Edits while Updating Object Links Select from the available categories to preserve local edits while updating links.
Category
Examples
Object style attributes such as Stroke, Fill, Effects. This
excludes any text or text frame related attributes, such as
overprinting, non-printing settings etc
Appearance
Height, width, transforms, text frame attributes, and other
column size attributes
Size and Shape
Animation, object States, button actions
Interactivity
Image, video, content placed or pasted into frames, and
effects and settings applied directly to such objects.
Frame Content
Attributes excluded from other categories, such as text wrap
on frames, object export options; text frame attributes such as ,
baseline options, auto-size options, vertical justification and so
on.
Others
Remove Forced Line Breaks from Story Enable to remove any forced line breaks in the story. Removing line breaks lets the text reflow
smoothly in the linked frame if it is resized or reformatted.
Define Custom Style Mapping Enable this option if you want to map styles, and automatically apply another style to the linked content
instead. See Custom style mapping.
To specify default link options, with all documents closed, open the links panel menu and choose Link Options.
To the top
Custom Style Mapping
Text styles (paragraph, character, table, cell) or style groups can be mapped to different styles while linking. The mapped styles are automatically
applied to the linked content, instead of the original styles applied to the parent. Custom style mapping comes in handy, for example, when you
want to use sans serif fonts for digital and serif fonts for print publications. Or if you want, vary the text style between the horizontal and vertical
layouts.
To define custom style mapping, do one of the following:
In the Link Options dialog box (Links panel > Link Options), enable Define Custom Style Mapping and then click Settings.
Click
in the Content Conveyor.
151
Custom Style Mapping
1. Select a source document and Style type.
2. Click New Syle Mapping.
3. Choose source and mapped styles or style groups from the list
Press Alt (Windows) or Option (Mac OS) to change the Cancel button to Reset. Click Reset to revert to default options.
To the top
Update a linked item
If an original item is modified,
Click
symbol displays over the frame and in the Links panel. To update do one of the following:
near the top-left of the frame
In the Links panel, double-click
symbol
If you have made local edits to a child item, the edits are overwritten with content from the original item. If you set Warn if Link Update Will
Overwrite Local Edits, a warning message displays.
Use the Link Info pane to determine if you’ve made local edits to the story; story status displays “Text Modified” if you’ve made local edits.
Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
152
Add basic page numbering
Adding page numbering
Add a page number marker to a master page
Change the page numbering style
Common page numbering tasks
You can add a current page number marker to your pages to specify where a page number sits on a page and how it will look. Because a page
number marker updates automatically, the page number it displays is always correct—even as you add, remove, or rearrange pages in the
document. Page number markers can be formatted and styled as text.
To the top
Add a page number marker to a master page
Page number markers are commonly added to master pages. When master pages are applied to document pages, the page numbering is updated
automatically, similar to headers and footers.
Page number on master A (left) and page 5 based on same master (right)
If the automatic page number is on a master page, it displays the master page prefix. On a document page, the automatic page number displays
the page number. On a pasteboard, it displays PB.
1. In the Pages panel, double-click the master page to which you want to add your page number. To create master pages, see Create
masters.
2. Create a new text frame large enough to hold the longest page number and any text you want to appear next to it. Position the text frame
where you want the page number to appear.
If your document has facing pages, create separate text frames for the left and right master pages.
3. In the page number text frame, add any text that will come before or after the page number (such as “Page “).
4. Position the insertion point where you want the page number to appear, and then choose Type > Insert Special Character > Markers >
Current Page Number.
5. Apply the master page to the document pages on which you want the page numbering to appear. To apply master pages, see Apply master
pages.
To remove the page number from the first page in the document, you have two options. Either apply a different or the None master, or override
and delete the master text frame on the document page. Ctrl/Cmd+Shift-click a master text frame to override it.
To the top
Change the page numbering style
By default, pages are numbered using Arabic numerals (1, 2, 3...); however, you can number pages using upper or lowercase Roman (i, ii, iii...) or
alphanumeric (a, b, c...) numbering. You can also number pages using preceding zeros. Each part of the document that uses a different
numbering style is called a section. For more information on sections, see Define section numbering.
Page Numbering Gallery
A visual gallery and quick tips on how to
add page numbers.... Read More
by Bob Bringhurst
http://goo.gl/KKJvd
Contribute your expertise to
Adobe Community Help
153
In Japanese, Chinese, or Korean versions, by default, Arabic numerals are used for page numbers. However, if you use the Numbering & Section
Options command, you can specify the style of numbering, such as Roman numerals, Arabic numerals, Kanji, and so on. The Style option allows
you to select the number of digits in the page number, for example, 001 or 0001. Each part of the document that uses a different numbering style
is called a section. For more information on sections, see Define section numbering.
Use the Numbering & Section Options dialog box to change the page numbering style to use a different format. You can also use this dialog box to
restart page numbering or to start page numbering at a number you specify.
1. In the Pages panel, select the page where you want the new numbering style section to begin.
2. Choose Layout > Numbering & Section Options.
3. Specify options, and then click OK. See Document numbering options.
A section indicator icon
appears above the page icon in the Pages panel, indicating the start of a new section.
Note: If a number or letter appears before the current page number you inserted, it means a section prefix is included. If you don’t want this
prefix, deselect Include Prefix When Numbering Pages in the Numbering & Section Options dialog box.
To the top
Common page numbering tasks
InDesign offers several different features that help you create page numbering effects.
To do this:
Do this:
Add page numbering to documents in a book.
See Number pages, chapters, and paragraphs in a book.
Add section numbers and chapter numbers.
See Add section and chapter numbering.
Create running headers or running footers that use text variables
such as the create date, filename, or the current heading or title.
See Create headers and footers and Text variables.
Create a “Page x of y” effect in which x is the current page and y
is the total number of pages.
Insert a Current Page Number marker for x, and insert the Last
Page Number text variable for y (choose Type > Text Variables >
Insert Variable > Last Page Number).
Create a “Continued on page x” story jump.
See Add automatic page numbers for story jumps.
Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
154
Create new documents (Chinese, Japanese, and Korean only)
Creating new documents
Create a new document
Create a new document with a layout grid
Create a new document with margins and columns
New Document options
Document window overview
Create custom page sizes
Define document presets
Create a document using a preset
Page design begins with the basics: starting a new document, setting up pages, and positioning margins and columns or changing grid settings.
When creating a document you can select from two workflows, either Layout Grid or Margins and Columns.
note: Whichever workflow you select, the file type of the document will be exactly the same. You can view a layout grid created in the document
using Margins and Columns, or hide a document layout grid created using the Layout Grid option by switching between views.
The workflow based on typesetting composition using Layout Grid is only available in Asian language versions. When you select Layout Grid, a
grid of squares will be displayed in the document. You can set the number of individual squares (number of rows or characters) from the page size
settings. Page margins will also be determined by this. By using a layout grid you can position an object accurately on a page using grid cell units.
The Margins and Columns workflow option is the same as in Western workflows. Western workflows are configured from Margins and Columns,
and objects are arranged on pages without layout grids. You can set the writing direction to horizontal or vertical using either the Margins and
Columns or Layout Grid workflow.
A document showing a layout grid (left) A document showing margins and columns (right)
To the top
Create a new document
1. Choose File > New > Document.
The New Document dialog box combines the Document Setup and the Margins And Columns dialog boxes, so that you can set up the page
size, margins, and page columns all in one place. You can change these settings at any time.
2. Specify document setup options. (See New Document options.)
To specify the dimensions of the bleed and slug areas, click More Options. The bleed and slug areas extend out from the edges of the
.
defined Page Size. To make the bleed or slug areas extend evenly on all sides, click the Make All Settings The Same icon
3. Click OK to open a new document with the settings you specified.
Note: To set default layout settings for all new documents, choose File > Document Setup or Layout > Margins And Columns, and set options
when no documents are open.
To the top
Create a new document with a layout grid
1. Choose File > New > Document.
2. Change the number of pages, page size, and other options. To specify the dimensions of the bleed and slug areas, click More Options.
3. Click Layout Grid Dialog, and then specify the layout grid settings. (See Layout Grid options.)
155
4. Click OK to open a new document with the settings you specified.
The layout grid is for layout purposes only. To add text to your document, add frame grids or text frames.
Create a new document with margins and columns
To the top
When creating a document with Western style workflow, use Margins and Columns. If the general layout settings such as margins and number of
columns in a document are already known, use the Margins and Columns dialog box as the simplest method.
1. Choose File > New > Document.
2. Specify options using the New Document dialog box. Each option is the same as when creating a document using a layout grid.
3. Click Margins and Columns and select your options using the New Margins and Columns dialog box. The options are the same as in the
Margins and Columns dialog box. (See Change document setup, margins, and columns.)
4. Click OK.
Even when a document has been created using Margins and Columns, you can view its layout grid by choosing View > Grids & Guides > Show
Layout Grid, and you can modify the layout grid settings by choosing Layout > Layout Grid.
To set the default settings for all new documents, choose File > Document Setup, Layout > Margins and Columns, or Layout > Layout Grid
Settings, and set options when no documents are open.
To the top
New Document options
Document Preset Choose a preset that you have saver earlier.
Intent If you are creating a document to be output to PDF or SWF for the web, choosing the Web option changes several options in the dialog
box, such as turning off Facing Pages, changing the orientation from portrait to landscape, and using a page size based on monitor resolution. You
can edit any of these settings, but you cannot change the Intent setting after the document is created.
CS6: Digital publishing intent has been added for publications aimed for the Digital Publishing Suite.
Number of pages Specify the number of pages to create in the new document.
Start Page # Specify which number the document starts on. If you specify an even number (such as 2) with Facing Pages selected, the first
spread in the document begins with a two-page spread. See Start a document with a two-page spread.
Facing Pages Select this option to make left and right pages face each other in a double-page spread, such as for books and magazines.
Deselect this option to let each page stand alone, such as when you’re printing flyers or posters or when you want objects to bleed in the binding.
After you’ve created a document, you can use the Pages panel to create spreads with more than two pages or force the first two pages to open as
a spread. (See Control spread pagination.)
Master Text Frame CS5.5 and earlier: Select this option to create a text frame the size of the area within the margin guides, matching the column
settings you specified. The master text frame is added to the A-Master. (See Using text frames on master pages.)
The Master Text Frame option is available only when you’ve chosen File > New > Document.
Primary Text Frame CS6 only: select this option to add a primary text frame on the master page. When you apply a new master page, the story
in the primary text frame automatically flows into the primary text frame of the new master page.
Page Size Choose a page size from the menu, or type values for Width and Height. Page size represents the final size you want after bleeds or
other marks outside the page are trimmed.
Orientation Click Portrait
(tall) or Landscape
(wide). These icons interact dynamically with the dimensions you enter in Page Size. When
Height is the larger value, the portrait icon is selected. When Width is the larger value, the landscape icon is selected. Clicking the deselected icon
switches the Height and Width values.
Tip: To specify the dimensions of the bleed and slug areas, click More Options in the New Document dialog box. To make the bleed or slug areas
extend evenly on all sides, click the Make All Settings The Same icon
.
Bleed The Bleed area allows you to print objects that are arranged at the outer edge of the defined page size. For a page of the required
dimensions, if an object is positioned at its edge, some white may appear at the edge of the printed area due to slight misalignment during printing
or trimming. For this reason, you should position an object that is at the edge of the page of the required dimensions a little beyond the edge, and
trim after printing. Bleed area is shown by a red line on the document. You can set bleed area settings from Bleed in the Print dialog box.
Slug The slug area is discarded when the document is trimmed to its final page size. The slug area holds printing information, customized color
bar information, or displays other instructions and descriptions for other information in the document. Objects (including text frames) positioned in
the slug area are printed but will disappear when the document is trimmed to its final page size.
156
Objects outside the bleed or slug area (whichever extends farther) do not print.
Note: You can also click the Save Document Preset icon to save document settings for future use.
To the top
Document window overview
Each page or spread in your document has its own pasteboard and guides, which are visible in Normal View mode. (To switch to Normal View,
choose View > Screen Mode > Normal.) The pasteboard is replaced with a gray background when the document is viewed using one of the
Preview modes. (See Preview documents.) You can change the color of this preview background and guides in Guides & Pasteboard preferences.
Document and guides in Normal View Mode
A. Spread (black lines) B. Page (black lines) C. Margin guides (magenta lines) D. Column guides (violet lines) E. Bleed area (red lines) F. Slug
area (blue lines)
Document window notes:
Lines of other colors are ruler guides which, when present, appear in the layer color when selected. See Layers.
Column guides appear in front of margin guides. When a column guide is exactly in front of a margin guide, it hides the margin guide.
To the top
Create custom page sizes
You can create custom page sizes that appear in the Page Size menu in the New Document dialog box.
1. Choose File > New > Document.
2. Choose Custom Page Size from the Page Size menu.
3. Type a name for the page size, specify page size settings, and then click Add.
The New Doc Sizes.txt file that lets you create custom page sizes in previous version of InDesign is not available in InDesign CS5 or later.
To the top
Define document presets
You can save document settings for page size, columns, margins, and bleed and slug areas in a preset to save time and ensure consistency when
creating similar documents.
1. Choose File > Document Presets > Define.
2. Click New in the dialog box that appears.
3. Specify a name for the preset and select basic layout options in the New Document Preset dialog box. (See New Document options for a
description of each option.)
4. Click OK twice.
You can save a document preset to a separate file and distribute it to other users. To save and load document preset files, use the Save and
Load buttons in the Document Presets dialog box.
To the top
Create a document using a preset
1. Do one of the following:.
Choose File > Document Preset > [name of preset]. (Hold down Shift while choosing the preset to create a new document based on the
preset without opening the New Document dialog box.)
157
Choose File > New > Document, and then choose a preset from the Document Preset menu in the New Document dialog box.
The New Document dialog box displays the preset layout options.
2. Make changes to the options (if desired) and click OK.
To skip the New Document dialog box, press the Shift key as you select a preset from the Document Preset menu.
Recommended workflow for InDesign documents
Use document templates
Add documents to a book file
Change document setup, margins, and columns
Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
158
Aligning and distributing objects
Align panel overview
Align or distribute objects
Align objects using the Gap tool
Distribute objects using Live Distribute
To the top
Align panel overview
You use the Align panel (Window > Object & Layout > Align) to align or distribute objects horizontally or vertically along the selection, margins,
page, or spread. Consider the following when working with the Align panel:
The Align panel doesn’t affect objects to which you’ve applied the Lock Position command, and doesn’t change the alignment of text
paragraphs within their frames.
Text alignment is not affected by the Align Objects options. (See Align or justify text.)
You can use the Keyboard Shortcuts dialog box (Edit > Keyboard Shortcuts) to create custom align and distribute shortcuts. (Under Product
Area, select Object Editing.)
Align panel
A. Vertical alignment buttons B. Vertical distribution buttons C. Use Spacing distribution D. Horizontal alignment buttons E. Horizontal
distribution buttons F. Alignment location options
To the top
Align or distribute objects
You can use the Align panel to align or space selected objects horizontally or vertically to the selection, margins, page, or spread.
Objects distributed horizontally to selection (top) and to margins (bottom)
1. Select the objects to align or distribute.
2. Choose Window > Object & Layout > Align to display the Align panel.
To show or hide additional panel options, choose Show Options or Hide Options from the panel menu.
3. From the menu at the bottom of the panel, specify whether you want to align or distribute objects based on the selection, margins, page, or
159
spread.
4. Do one of the following:
To align objects, click the button for the type of alignment you want.
To distribute objects, click the button for the type of distribution you want. For example, if you click the Distribute Left Edges button when
Align To Selection is turned on, InDesign makes sure that there is an equal amount of space from left edge to left edge of each selected
object.
Using the Distribute Horizontal Centers option for even spacing
A. Creates even spacing between the centers of each object B. Keeps the overall width the same as before the transformation
To set the space between objects, either center to center or edge to matching edge, select Use Spacing under Distribute Objects, and
then type the amount of space you want to apply. Click a button to distribute the selected objects along their horizontal or vertical axes.
Using the Distribute Horizontal Centers option and adding a value for Use Spacing
A. Spaces the objects evenly from their centers by a specified value B. Changes the overall width of the objects as a whole
To set the space between objects (facing edge to facing edge), under Distribute Spacing, select Use Spacing and type the amount of
space you want between the objects. (If Distribute Spacing is not visible, choose Show Options in the Align Panel menu.) Then, click the
Distribute Spacing button to distribute the objects along their horizontal or vertical axes.
160
Using the Distribute Horizontal Space option and adding a value for Use Spacing
A. Creates spaces of a specified value between each object B. Changes the overall width of the objects as a whole
When you use spacing with vertical distribution, selected objects are spaced from top to bottom, starting with the top-most object. When you use
spacing with horizontal distribution, selected objects are spaced from left to right, starting from the left-most object.
You can also use the Smart Spacing feature to align or distribute objects while moving them. For example, if two vertical objects are 12 points
apart, moving a third object 12 points below the second object causes temporary guides to appear, allowing you to snap the object into
alignment.
To the top
Align objects using the Gap tool
The Gap tool provides a quick way to adjust the size of a gap between two or more objects. It also lets you resize several objects that have
commonly aligned edges simultaneously, while keeping the gaps between them fixed. It’s a one-step way to adjust your layout by directly
manipulating the space between objects.
The Gap tool ignores locked objects and master page items.
For a video tutorial on using the Gap Tool, see www.adobe.com/go/lrvid5155_id_en.
1. Select the Gap tool
.
2. Move the pointer between two objects, and do any of the following actions:
Drag to move the gap and resize all objects aligned along the gap.
Shift-drag to move the gap between only the two nearest objects.
Ctrl-drag (Windows) or Command-drag (Mac OS) to resize the gap instead of moving it. Adding the Shift key resizes the gap between
only the two nearest objects.
Alt-drag (Windows) or Option-drag (Mac OS) to move the gap and objects in the same direction. Adding the Shift key moves only the
two nearest objects.
Ctrl+Alt-drag (Windows) or Command+Option-drag (Mac OS) to resize the gap and move the objects. Adding the Shift key to resize the
gap and move only the two nearest objects.
To view hints on using the Gap tool, select the Gap tool and open the Tool Hints panel (Window > Utilities > Tool Hints).
To the top
Distribute objects using Live Distribute
When transforming multiple selected objects, you can resize the space between the selected objects proportionally instead of resizing the actual
objects. For example, if you want to change the spacing between five aligned rectangles, you can do so without using any Distribute commands.
For a video on using Live Distribute, see http://tv.adobe.com/go/4949/.
1. Select the objects.
2. Start dragging a selection handle and hold down the Spacebar while dragging. Continue dragging to change the spacing between the
objects.
More Help topics
161
Clipping paths
Clipping paths
Crop using a graphic’s path or alpha channel
Create a clipping path automatically
Clipping path options
Convert a clipping path to a graphics frame
To the top
Clipping paths
Clipping paths crop part of the artwork so that only a portion of the artwork appears through the shape or shapes you create. You can create
clipping paths to hide unwanted parts of an image, creating both a path for the image and a frame for the graphic. By keeping the clipping path
and graphics frame separate, you can freely modify the clipping path without affecting the graphics frame by using the Direct Selection tool and
other drawing tools in the toolbox.
You can create clipping paths in the following ways:
Place already-saved graphics with paths or alpha (mask) channels, which InDesign can use automatically. You can add paths and alpha
channels to graphics using a program such as Adobe Photoshop.
Use the Detect Edges option in the Clipping Path command to generate a clipping path for a graphic that was saved without one.
Use the Pen tool to draw a path in the shape you want, and then use the Paste Into command to paste the graphic into the path.
When you use one of InDesign’s automatic methods to generate a clipping path, the clipping path is attached to the image, resulting in an image
that is clipped by the path and cropped by the frame.
Note: The graphics frame displays the color of the layer it appears on, and the clipping path is drawn in the inverse color of the layer. For
example, if the layer color is blue, the graphics frame will appear as blue, and the clipping path will appear as orange.
To the top
Crop using a graphic’s path or alpha channel
InDesign can crop an imported EPS, TIFF, or Photoshop graphic using the clipping path or alpha channel saved with the file. When an imported
graphic includes more than one path or alpha channel, you can choose which path or alpha channel to use for the clipping path.
An alpha channel is an invisible channel that defines transparent areas of a graphic. It’s stored inside a graphic with the RGB or CMYK channels.
Alpha channels are commonly used in video-effects applications. InDesign automatically recognizes Photoshop’s default transparency (the
checkerboard background) as an alpha channel. If the graphic has an opaque background, you must use Photoshop to remove the background, or
create and save one or more alpha channels with the graphic. You can create alpha channels using background-removal features in Adobe
Photoshop, such as layer masks, the Channels panel, the Background Eraser, or the Magic Eraser.
Results of using alpha channels and embedded paths
A. Original graphic B. Alpha channel C. Placed graphic D. Original graphic E. Graphic with embedded path F. Placed graphic
When you place a Photoshop file, the Image Import Options dialog box lets you choose to use the default clipping path or select an alpha
channel for clipping.
1. Select an imported graphic, and choose Object > Clipping Path.
162
2. In the Clipping Path dialog box, choose either Photoshop Path or Alpha Channel from the Type menu.
3. Choose the desired path or alpha channel from either the Path or Alpha menu.
Note: If the Alpha Channel menu command is not available, no alpha channels were saved with the graphic.
4. To inset the clipping path, specify a value for Inset Frame.
5. To switch the visible and hidden areas, select Invert.
6. If you chose an alpha channel, specify any other desired clipping path options, and click OK.
To turn off the clipping path, select the imported graphic, and choose Object > Clipping Path. Choose None in the Type menu, and click OK.
To the top
Create a clipping path automatically
If you want to remove the background from a graphic that wasn’t saved with a clipping path, you can do it automatically using the Detect Edges
option in the Clipping Path dialog box. The Detect Edges option hides the lightest or darkest areas of a graphic, so it works best when the subject
is set against a solid white or black background.
Good (left) and bad (right) candidates for automatic clipping path
1. Select an imported graphic, and choose Object > Clipping Path.
2. In the Clipping Path dialog box, choose Detect Edges in the Type menu. By default, the lightest tones are excluded; to exclude the darkest
tones, also select the Invert option.
3. Specify the clipping path options, and click OK.
To the top
Clipping path options
Threshold Specifies the darkest pixel value that will define the resulting clipping path. Increasing this value makes more pixels transparent by
extending the range of lightness values added to the hidden area, starting from 0 (white). For example, if you want to remove a very light drop
shadow when using Detect Edges, try increasing the Threshold until the shadow disappears. If light pixels that should be visible are invisible, the
Threshold is too high.
Threshold levels at 25 (left) and 55 (right)
Tolerance Specifies how similar a pixel’s lightness value can be to the Threshold value before the pixel is hidden by the clipping path. Increasing
the Tolerance value is useful for removing unwanted bumps caused by stray pixels that are darker than, but close to the lightness value of, the
Threshold value. Higher Tolerance values usually create a smoother, looser clipping path, by increasing the range of values near the Tolerance
value within which stray darker pixels are included. Decreasing the Tolerance value is like tightening the clipping path around smaller variations in
value. Lower Tolerance values create a rougher clipping path by adding anchor points, which may make it harder to print the image.
Tolerance levels at 0 (left) and 5 (right)
163
Inset Frame Shrinks the resulting clipping path relative to the clipping path defined by the Threshold and Tolerance values. Unlike Threshold and
Tolerance, the Inset Frame value does not take lightness values into account; instead, it uniformly shrinks the shape of the clipping path. Adjusting
the Inset Frame value slightly may help hide stray pixels that could not be eliminated by using the Threshold and Tolerance values. Enter a
negative value to make the resulting clipping path larger than the clipping path defined by the Threshold and Tolerance values.
Inset frame at -0p1 (left) and 0p3 (right)
Invert Switches the visible and hidden areas, by starting the clipping path with the darkest tones.
Include Inside Edges Makes areas transparent if they exist inside the original clipping path, and if their lightness values are within the Threshold
and Tolerance ranges. By default, the Clipping Path command makes only the outer areas transparent, so use Include Inside Edges to correctly
represent “holes” in a graphic. This option works best when the brightness levels of areas you want to make transparent don’t match any areas
that must be visible. For example, if you choose Include Inside Edges for a graphic of silver eyeglasses, and the lenses become transparent, very
light areas of the eyeglass frame may also become transparent. If areas become transparent when that wasn’t your intent, try adjusting the
Threshold, Tolerance, and Inset Frame values.
Restrict to Frame Creates a clipping path that stops at the visible edge of the graphic. This can result in a simpler path when you use the
graphic’s frame to crop the graphic.
Use High Resolution Image Calculates transparent areas using the actual file, for maximum precision. Deselect this option to calculate
transparency based on the screen display resolution, which is faster but less precise. This option isn’t available if you chose Alpha Channel,
because InDesign always uses an alpha channel at its actual resolution. (See About transparency.)
To the top
Convert a clipping path to a graphics frame
Choose Object > Clipping Path > Convert Clipping Path To Frame.
More Help topics
Create and edit alpha channel masks
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
164
Create new documents
Creating new documents
Create a new document
New Document options
Document window overview
Create custom page sizes
Define document presets
Create a document using a preset
Page design begins with the basics: starting a new document, setting up pages, and positioning margins and columns or changing grid settings.
To the top
Create a new document
1. Choose File > New > Document.
The New Document dialog box combines the Document Setup and the Margins And Columns dialog boxes, so that you can set up the page
size, margins, and page columns all in one place. You can change these settings at any time.
2. Specify document setup options. (See New Document options.)
To specify the dimensions of the bleed and slug areas, click the Arrow button before the Bleed and Slug label. The bleed and slug areas
extend out from the edges of the defined Page Size. To make the bleed or slug areas extend evenly on all sides, click the Make All Settings
The Same icon
.
3. Click OK to open the new document with the settings you specified.
To set default layout settings for all new documents, choose File > Document Setup or Layout > Margins And Columns, and set options when
no documents are open.
To the top
New Document options
Document Preset Choose a preset that you have saved earlier.
Intent If you are creating a document to be output to PDF or SWF for the web, choosing the Web option changes several options in the dialog
box, such as turning off Facing Pages, changing the orientation from portrait to landscape, and using a page size based on monitor resolution. You
can edit any of these settings after the document is created.
CS6 and later: Digital publishing intent has been added for publications aimed for the Digital Publishing Suite. You can also change the intent of
the document after it is created.
Number of pages Specify the number of pages to create in the new document.
Start Page # Specify which number the document starts on. If you specify an even number (such as 2) with Facing Pages selected, the first
spread in the document begins with a two-page spread. See Start a document with a two-page spread.
Facing Pages Select this option to make left and right pages face each other in a double-page spread, such as for books and magazines.
Deselect this option to let each page stand alone, such as when you’re printing flyers or posters or when you want objects to bleed in the binding.
After you’ve created a document, you can use the Pages panel to create spreads with more than two pages or force the first two pages to open as
a spread. (See Control spread pagination.)
Master Text Frame CS5.5 and earlier: Select this option to create a text frame the size of the area within the margin guides, matching the column
settings you specified. The master text frame is added to the A Master. (See Using text frames on master pages.)
The Master Text Frame option is available only when you’ve chosen File > New > Document.
Primary Text Frame CS6 and later: select this option to add a primary text frame on the master page. When you apply a new master page, the
story in the primary text frame automatically flows into the primary text frame of the new master page.
Page Size Choose a page size from the menu, or type values for Width and Height. Page size represents the final size you want after bleeds or
other marks outside the page are trimmed.
Orientation Click Portrait
(tall) or Landscape
(wide). These icons interact dynamically with the dimensions you enter in Page Size. When
Height is the larger value, the portrait icon is selected. When Width is the larger value, the landscape icon is selected. Clicking the deselected icon
165
switches the Height and Width values.
Tip: To specify the dimensions of the bleed and slug areas, click the Arrow button before the Bleed and Slug label in the New Document dialog
.
box. To make the bleed or slug areas extend evenly on all sides, click the Make All Settings The Same icon
Bleed The Bleed area allows you to print objects that are arranged at the outer edge of the defined page size. For a page of the required
dimensions, if an object is positioned at its edge, some white may appear at the edge of the printed area due to slight misalignment during printing
or trimming. For this reason, you should position an object that is at the edge of the page of the required dimensions a little beyond the edge, and
trim after printing. Bleed area is shown by a red line on the document. You can set bleed area settings from Bleed in the Print dialog box.
Slug The slug area is discarded when the document is trimmed to its final page size. The slug area holds printing information, customized color
bar information, or displays other instructions and descriptions for other information in the document. Objects (including text frames) positioned in
the slug area are printed but will disappear when the document is trimmed to its final page size.
Objects outside the bleed or slug area (whichever extends farther) do not print.
Note: You can also click the Save Document Preset icon to save document settings for future use.
To the top
Document window overview
Each page or spread in your document has its own pasteboard and guides, which are visible in Normal View mode. (To switch to Normal View,
choose View > Screen Mode > Normal.) The pasteboard is replaced with a gray background when the document is viewed using one of the
Preview modes. (See Preview documents.) You can change the color of this preview background and guides in Guides & Pasteboard preferences.
Document and guides in Normal View Mode
A. Spread (black lines) B. Page (black lines) C. Margin guides (magenta lines) D. Column guides (violet lines) E. Bleed area (red lines) F. Slug
area (blue lines)
Document window notes:
Lines of other colors are ruler guides which, when present, appear in the layer color when selected. See Layers.
Column guides appear in front of margin guides. When a column guide is exactly in front of a margin guide, it hides the margin guide.
To the top
Create custom page sizes
You can create custom page sizes that appear in the Page Size menu in the New Document dialog box.
1. Choose File > New > Document.
2. Choose Custom Page Size from the Page Size menu.
3. Type a name for the page size, specify page size settings, and then click Add.
The New Doc Sizes.txt file that lets you create custom page sizes in previous version of InDesign is not available in InDesign CS5 or later.
To the top
Define document presets
You can save document settings for page size, columns, margins, and bleed and slug areas in a preset to save time and ensure consistency when
creating similar documents.
1. Choose File > Document Presets > Define.
2. Click New in the dialog box that appears.
3. Specify a name for the preset and select basic layout options in the New Document Preset dialog box. (See New Document options for a
description of each option.)
166
4. Click OK twice.
You can save a document preset to a separate file and distribute it to other users. To save and load document preset files, use the Save and
Load buttons in the Document Presets dialog box.
To the top
Create a document using a preset
1. Do one of the following:.
Choose File > Document Preset > [name of preset]. (Hold down Shift while choosing the preset to create a new document based on the
preset without opening the New Document dialog box.)
Choose File > New > Document, and then choose a preset from the Document Preset menu in the New Document dialog box.
The New Document dialog box displays the preset layout options.
2. Make changes to the options (if desired) and click OK.
To skip the New Document dialog box, press the Shift key as you select a preset from the Document Preset menu.
Recommended workflow for InDesign documents
Use document templates
Add documents to a book file
Change document setup, margins, and columns
Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
167
Creating a table of contents
About tables of contents
Creating tables of contents in books
Generate a table of contents
Create TOC styles for multiple lists
Options for formatting a table of contents
Create TOC entries with tab leaders
Create a paragraph style with a tab leader
Update and edit a table of contents
To the top
About tables of contents
A table of contents (TOC) can list the contents of a book, magazine, or other publication; display a list of illustrations, advertisers, or photo credits;
or include other information to help readers find information in a document or book file. One document may contain multiple tables of contents—for
example, a list of chapters and a list of illustrations.
Each table of contents is a separate story consisting of a heading and a list of entries sorted either by page number or alphabetically. Entries,
including page numbers, are pulled directly from content in your document and can be updated at any time—even across multiple documents in a
book file.
The process for creating a table of contents requires three main steps. First, create and apply the paragraph styles you’ll use as the basis for the
TOC. Second, specify which styles are used in the TOC and how the TOC is formatted. Third, flow the TOC into your document.
Table of contents entries can be automatically added to the Bookmarks panel for use in documents exported as Adobe PDF.
For a video tutorial on creating a table of contents, see www.adobe.com/go/vid0219.
Tips for planning a table of contents
Consider the following when planning a table of contents:
Some tables of contents are built from content that does not actually appear in the published document, such as a list of advertisers in a
magazine. To do this in InDesign, enter content on a hidden layer and include it when generating a TOC.
You can load TOC styles from other documents or books to build new tables of contents with the same settings and formatting. (You might
need to edit an imported TOC style if the names of paragraph styles in the document do not match those in the source document.)
You can create paragraph styles for the table of contents’ title and entries, including tab stops and leaders, if desired. You can then apply
these paragraph styles when you generate the table of contents.
You can create character styles to format the page numbers and the characters separating them from the entries. For example, if you want
the page numbers to be in bold, create a character style that includes the bold attribute, and then select that character style when you create
the table of contents.
To the top
Creating tables of contents in books
For best results, be sure to do the following before creating a table of contents for a book:
Before you create a table of contents, verify that the book list is complete, that all documents are listed in the correct order, and that all
headings have been formatted with the appropriate paragraph styles.
Be sure to use paragraph styles consistently throughout the book. Avoid creating documents with styles that have identical names but
different definitions. If multiple styles have the same name but different style definitions, InDesign uses the style definition in the current
document (if a definition exists there), or the first occurrence of the style in the book.
If the necessary styles do not appear in the pop-up menus in the Table of Contents dialog box, you may need to synchronize the book so
that the styles are copied to the document containing the table of contents.
If you want number prefixes (such as 1-1, 1-3, and so on) to appear in your table of contents, use section numbering rather than chapter
numbering. Section number prefixes can be included in a table of contents.
To the top
Generate a table of contents
Before you generate a table of contents, decide which paragraphs should be included (such as chapter titles and section headings), and then
168
define paragraph styles for each. Make sure that these styles are applied to all appropriate paragraphs in the document or booked documents.
When you generate the table of contents, you can also use paragraph and character styles to format the table of contents.
Table of contents without paragraph styles (left) and with paragraph styles applied to entries (right)
If paragraphs that are to be included in the table of contents appear in different stories on the same page, their order in the TOC is determined by
their position on the page.
1. Do one of the following:
If you’re creating a table of contents for a single document, you may want to add a new page at the beginning of the document.
If you’re creating a table of contents for multiple documents in a book, create or open the document to be used for the table of contents,
make sure that it’s included in the book, and then open the book file.
2. Choose Layout > Table Of Contents.
If you’ve defined a TOC style that has the appropriate settings for your TOC, you can choose it from the TOC Style menu.
3. In the Title box, type a title for your TOC (such as Contents or List of Figures). This title will appear at the top of the table of contents. To
format the title, choose a style from the Style menu.
4. Select Include Book Documents to create a single table of contents for all documents in the book list, and to renumber the book’s pages.
Deselect this option if you want to generate a table of contents for the current document only. (This option is dimmed if the current document
is not part of a book file.)
5. Determine which content you want to include in the table of contents by double-clicking paragraph styles in the Other Styles list to add them
to the Include Paragraph Styles list.
6. Select Replace Existing Table Of Contents to replace all existing table of contents stories in the document. Deselect this option if you want
to generate a new table of contents, such as a list of figures.
7. Specify options to determine how each paragraph style in the table of contents is formatted. (See Options for formatting a table of contents.)
It’s a good idea to define a TOC style that contains the formatting and other options for your table of contents, especially if you want to
include multiple TOCs in your document. To do so, click Save Style. You can also create TOC styles by choosing Layout > Table Of
Contents Styles.
8. Click OK.
A loaded text cursor
text.
appears. Before you click or drag, you can move to a different page or create a new page without losing the loaded
9. Click or drag the loaded text cursor on a page to place the new table of contents story.
Note: Avoid threading the TOC frame to other text frames in the document. If you replace the existing TOC, the entire story will be replaced by
the updated TOC.
To the top
Create TOC styles for multiple lists
Use TOC styles if you need to create different tables of contents in your document or book. For example, you can use one TOC style for a list of
contents and another for a list of advertisers, illustrations, or photo credits. Create a TOC style for each type of list.
Creating TOC styles are also useful if you want to use the same TOC formatting in another document.
Note: Don’t confuse TOC styles with paragraph styles that have a “TOC” prefix. TOC-prefixed paragraph styles (for example “TOC title”) are used
to format the table of contents entries themselves. In contrast, a TOC style is a collection of settings used to automatically create a table of
contents.
Create a TOC style
1. Choose Layout > Table Of Contents Styles.
2. Click New.
3. Type a name for the TOC style you are creating.
4. In the Title box, type a title for your TOC (such as Contents or List of Figures). This title will appear at the top of the table of contents. To
specify a title style, choose a style from the Style menu.
5. From the Other Styles list, select the paragraph styles that represent content you want to include in the table of contents, then click Add to
169
add them to the Include Paragraph Styles list.
6. Specify options to determine how each paragraph style is formatted. (See Options for formatting a table of contents.)
Import TOC styles from another document
1. Choose Layout > Table Of Contents Styles.
2. Click Load, select the InDesign file containing the TOC styles you want to copy, and then click Open.
3. Click OK.
Note: If the paragraph styles in your document do not match the paragraph styles in the TOC style you import, you’ll need to edit the TOC style
before generating a table of contents.
To the top
Options for formatting a table of contents
When generating or editing a table of contents, use these options to determine the appearance of the generated table of contents text. Some of
these options are available only when you click More Options in the dialog box.
Note: The settings in the Style section apply only to the style currently selected under Include Paragraph Styles. You can specify different
formatting options for each style.
Entry Style For each style in Include Paragraph Styles, choose a paragraph style to apply to the associated table of contents entries.
Page Number You might want to create a character style that formats the page number. You can then select this style in the Style pop-up list to
the right of Page Number. (See Add paragraph and character styles.)
If you want the page numbers of the TOC to include prefixes, or to use a different numbering convention, see Define section numbering.
Between Entry And Number Specify which characters you want between the table of contents entry and its page number. The default is ^t, which
tells InDesign to insert a tab. You can choose other special characters, such as Right Indent Tab or Em Space, in the pop-up list. For a complete
list of special characters and how to work with them, see Insert glyphs and special characters.
Select the existing text in the box before you choose a different special character, to make sure that you don’t include both characters.
You might want to create a character style that formats the space between the entry and the page number. You can then select this style in the
Style pop-up list to the right of Between Entry And Number. (See Add paragraph and character styles.)
If the entry’s paragraph style includes a tab leader setting, and if the tab character (^t) is selected, a tab leader appears in the generated table of
contents. For more information, see Create TOC entries with tab leaders.
You can specify a character that separates an entry and page number, as well as a style to apply to a character.
Sort Entries in Alphabetical Order Select this option to sort table of contents entries in the selected style alphabetically. This option is useful for
creating simple lists, such as lists of advertisers. Nested entries (Level 2 or 3) sort alphabetically within their group (Level 1 or 2, respectively).
Note: The sort order for a table of contents is determined by the document’s default language setting. To change the default language setting,
make sure nothing is selected and then choose a language from the Language menu in the Character panel.
Level By default, each item added to the Include Paragraph Styles box is set one level lower than the item immediately above it. You can change
this hierarchy by specifying a new level number for the selected paragraph style. This option adjusts only the display in the dialog box. It has no
effect on the final table of contents unless the list is alphabetized, in which case the entries are sorted by level.
Create PDF Bookmarks Select this option if you want the table of contents entries to appear in the Bookmarks panel of Adobe Acrobat or Adobe
Reader® when the document is exported to PDF.
Run-in Select this option if you want all TOC entries to be run into a single paragraph. A semicolon followed by a space (; ) separates the
entries.
Include Text On Hidden Layers Select this option only if you want the paragraphs on hidden layers to be included in your table of contents. This
170
is useful when creating a list of advertisers or illustrations that may not appear as visible text in the document itself. Deselect this option when
you’ve used layers to store various versions or translations of the same text.
Numbered Paragraphs If your table of contents includes a paragraph style that uses numbering, specify whether the TOC entry includes the full
paragraph (both number and text), only the numbers, or only the paragraph.
To the top
Create TOC entries with tab leaders
Entries in a table of contents are often formatted with dots or tab leaders separating the entry from its associated page number.
Table of contents with dot leaders
1. Create a paragraph style with a tab leader. (See Create a paragraph style with a tab leader.)
2. To update the table of contents settings, do one of the following:
Choose Layout > Table Of Contents Style. Select a TOC style, and click Edit.
Choose Layout > Table Of Contents (if you are not using a TOC style).
3. Under Include Paragraph Styles, select an item you want to appear with a tab leader in the table of contents.
4. For Entry Style, select the paragraph style that contains the tab leader.
5. Click More Options.
6. Verify that Between Entry And Number is set to ^t (representing a tab). Click OK or Save to exit.
7. Update the table of contents, if necessary, by choosing Layout > Update Table Of Contents. Otherwise, place the new table of contents
story.
To the top
Create a paragraph style with a tab leader
1. Choose Window > Styles > Paragraph Styles to display the Paragraph Styles panel.
2. In the Paragraph Styles panel, do one of the following:
Double-click the name of the paragraph style applied to entries in your table of contents.
From the panel menu, choose New Paragraph Style.
3. Enter a name, if necessary, for the paragraph style.
4. Click Tabs.
5. Select the right-justified tab icon
, and then click on the ruler to position the tab stop.
If the paragraphs you’re applying the style to include numbered list items, make sure that you include two tab settings — the first for the
indented number and the second for the tab leader.
6. For Leader, type a period (.).
7. Select other style options as desired, and click OK.
To the top
Update and edit a table of contents
The table of contents is like a snapshot of content in your document. If page numbers in your document change, or if you edit headings or other
elements associated with table of contents entries, you’ll need to regenerate the table of contents to update it.
Update a table of contents
1. Open the document containing the table of contents.
2. Do any of the following:
To make changes to table of contents entries, edit your document or booked documents, not the table of contents story itself.
To change the formatting applied to the table of contents title, entries, or page numbers, edit the paragraph or character styles
associated with these elements.
171
To change how pages are numbered (for example, 1, 2, 3 or i, ii, iii), change section numbering in the document or book. (See Number
pages, chapters, and paragraphs in a book.)
To specify a new title, include other paragraph styles in the table of contents, or further format table of contents entries, edit the TOC
style.
3. Select or place the insertion point in the text frame containing the table of contents, and then choose Layout > Update Table Of Contents.
4. If you have multiple tables of contents in your document, such as a list of figures and a list of advertisers, select the text frame containing a
different list, and then choose Layout > Update Table Of Contents.
Editing a table of contents
If your table of contents requires editing, edit the actual paragraphs in the document—not the table of contents story—and then generate a new
table of contents. If you edit the table of contents story, you’ll lose your revisions when you generate a new table of contents. For the same reason,
you should edit the styles used to format the table of contents entries, rather than formatting the table of contents directly.
More Help topics
Creating a Table of Contents video
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
172
Creating an index
About indexing
Index panel overview
Create a list of topics for an index
Add index entries
Page range options in indexes
Add “See” or “See also” cross-references to an index
Generate an index
Change the sort order of indexes
Manage an index
To the top
About indexing
You can create a simple keyword index or a comprehensive, detailed guide to the information in your book. You can create only one index for a
document or book. To create an index, you first place index markers in the text. You associate each index marker with the word, called a topic,
that you want to appear in the index.
When you generate the index, each topic is listed, along with the page on which it was found. The topics are sorted alphabetically, typically under
section headings (A, B, C, and so on). An index entry consists of a topic (the term readers look up) paired with either a page reference (page
number or range) or a cross-reference. A cross-reference, preceded by “See” or “See also,” points the reader to other entries in the index, rather
than to a page number.
Parts of an index
A. Title B. Section heading C. Index entry D. Subentry E. Topic F. Page reference G. Cross-reference
For a video tutorial on creating an index, see www.adobe.com/go/vid0220.
Tips for creating an index
Creating a well-planned and complete index can help make the information in your document immediately accessible to your readers. Here are a
few guidelines to consider:
Think about how you want your index to look. How many topic levels will it have? Will it refer the reader to other related topics? Will a simple
keyword index suffice, or do you want a more complex index with cross-references to related topics and a well-researched list of equivalent
terms?
Anticipate the variety of ways by which your readers might look up information. For instance, one reader may search for information on
animals by looking under beasts; another may look for wildlife or fauna.
Add index entries when the content of your document is fairly stable. If you delete large portions of your text later, you may lose some of
your indexing work.
A well-planned index presents topics consistently. Common indexing problems include mixing uppercase and lowercase (cats and Cats) and
singular and plural forms (cat and cats). Use a topic list to keep terms consistent.
Review your index several times before you generate the final index. Look for duplicate entries, weak subject areas, misspellings, and
inconsistencies in capitalization and wording; for example, InDesign treats Cheetah, cheetah, and cheetahs as separate entries.
Workflow for creating an index
To create an index, follow these basic steps:
1. Create a topic list (optional) A topic list helps you maintain consistency in your index entries. (See Create a list of topics for an index.)
2. Add index markers. Add index markers on the pages in your document that you want the index entries to refer to. (See Add index entries.)
173
3. Generate the index. Generating the index creates a set of entries for markers and their accompanying page numbers. (See Generate an
index.)
4. Flow the index story. Use the loaded text cursor to flow the index into a text frame. In most cases, you’ll want the index to start on a new
page. After you flow the index, you can format the pages and index.
You’ll likely repeat these steps several times as you refine your index prior to publication.
To the top
Index panel overview
You create, edit, and preview the index using the Index panel (Window > Type & Tables > Index). The panel includes two modes: Reference and
Topic. In Reference mode, the preview area displays complete index entries for the current document or book. In Topic mode, the preview area
displays only topics, not page numbers or cross-references. Topic mode is used primarily for creating the index structure, whereas Reference
mode is where you add your index entries.
In Reference mode, index entries are alphabetized and divided into sections by letter. Triangles next to entries let you expand or collapse the entry
to view subentries, page numbers, and cross-references.
The following codes appear in place of page references to indicate index entries that may not be included in the generated index. You may need
to choose Update Preview in the Index panel to view the codes.
PB
HL
HT
PN
Indicates index entries on the pasteboard. These entries will not appear in the generated index.
Indicates index entries on a hidden layer. When you generate the index, you have the option of including index entries on a hidden layer.
Indicates index entries in a hidden condition. Index entries in hidden conditions are not included in the index.
Indicates index entries in overset text. When you include these entries in the generated index, they appear without page numbers.
Master Indicates index entries on a master page. These entries will not appear in the generated index.
Click a triangle to expand or collapse an individual entry. Alt-click (Windows) or Option-click (Mac OS) a triangle to expand or collapse all
subentries under an entry. Ctrl-click (Windows) or Command-click (Mac OS) a triangle to expand or collapse all entries.
Choose Update Preview in the Index panel menu to update the preview area. This option is especially useful if you’ve edited your document
extensively or moved index markers in the document window.
To the top
Create a list of topics for an index
You can create or import a list of topics to use as a starting point when creating index entries. Later, when you add entries to the index, you can
select topics from the topic list (instead of typing them each time) to ensure that information is indexed consistently throughout your document or
book.
You create and edit a topic list using the Index panel in Topic mode. Note that Topic mode displays topics only; to preview index entries, with their
associated page numbers and cross-references, use Reference mode instead.
Index panel in Reference mode (left) and Topic mode (right)
Topics in the topic list appear in the New Page Reference dialog box as well. To create an index entry, simply select a topic and then associate it
with a page or cross-reference. Unused topics (those without page or cross-references) are excluded when you generate an index.
Creating a topic list before you add index entries is optional. Each time you create an index entry, its topic is automatically added to the topic list
for future use.
By default, topics you add to the Topics list do not appear in the Reference list, which displays only the topics that have been associated with a
page. However, to display the topics in the Reference list, you can choose Show Unused Topics from the Index panel menu in Reference
mode.
174
Add topics to the topics list
1. Choose Window > Type & Tables > Index to display the Index panel.
2. Select Topic.
3. Choose New Topic from the Index panel menu or click the Create New Index Entry icon at the bottom of the panel.
4. Do one of the following:
Under Topic Levels, type the topic name (for example, animals) in the first box. To create a subtopic, type a name (cats) in the second
box. In this example, “cats” is indented under “animals.” To create a subtopic under the subtopic, type a name (Calicos) in the third box,
and so on.
Select an existing topic. Enter subtopics in the second, third, and fourth boxes.
5. Click Add to add the topic, which will now appear in the New Topic dialog box as well as the Index panel.
6. Click Done when you’ve finished adding topics.
To delete a topic that you’ve just added, click Done, select the topic in the Index panel, and then click the Delete Selected Entry button.
Import topics from another InDesign document
1. Choose Import Topics in the Index panel menu.
2. Select the document containing the index topics you want to import, and then click Open.
Edit an index topic
Use the Index panel to edit entries before or after you generate an index. Changes you make to your entries in the Index panel will appear in the
next index that you generate, but changes that you make to the generated index story will be lost when you regenerate the index.
1. Open a document containing the index topics.
2. In the Index panel, select Topic.
3. In the preview area, double-click a topic to edit.
4. Edit the topic as desired, and then click OK.
To the top
Add index entries
You create index entries using the Index panel in Reference mode. An index entry consists of two parts: a topic and a reference. Topics can be
defined ahead of time using a topic list. References can be page numbers or cross-references to other topics.
Index panel in Reference mode
A. Entry B. Subentry C. Page reference D. Cross-reference
An index marker is inserted at the beginning of the word in which text is selected or at the insertion point. You can view index markers by choosing
Type > Show Hidden Characters.
Add an index entry
1. Using the Type tool , place the insertion point where you want the index marker to appear, or select text in the document to use as the
basis for an index reference.
When selected text contains inline graphics or special characters, some characters (such as index markers and inline graphics) are stripped
out in the Topic Level box. Other characters, such as em dashes and copyright symbols, are converted to metacharacters (for example, ^_
or ^2).
175
2. Choose Window > Type & Tables > Index to display the Index panel.
3. Select Reference.
If entries added to the Topic list do not appear in the Reference, choose Show Unused Topics from the Index panel menu. You can then
use those topics when adding entries.
4. To view index entries from any open documents in a book file, select Book.
5. Choose New Page Reference in the Index panel menu. (If this command does not appear, make sure Reference is selected and that there
is an insertion point or text selection in the document.)
6. To add text to the Topic Levels box, do any of the following:
To create a simple index entry (such as cats), type the entry in the first Topic Levels box. (If text was selected, that text appears in the
Topic Levels box.)
To create entries and subentries, type the parent name (for this example, animals) in the first Topic Levels box, and type subentries
(cats and Calicos) in subsequent boxes. If necessary, click the up and down arrows to change places with the item above or below the
selected item.
Index entry in the Topic Levels box (left) and resulting appearance in the Index (right)
Double-click any topic in the list box at the bottom of the dialog box.
7. To change the way an entry is sorted in the final index, use the Sort By boxes. For example, to sort the topic de la Vega under V (instead of
D), you would type Vega in the Sort By box and de la Vega in the Topic Level box.
You can also select the sort order of numbers, symbols, and languages, and you can edit sort information for Chinese characters. (See
Change the sort order of indexes.)
8. Specify the type of index entry:
To create index entries that have a page number or range (such as cats 82–87), choose an option that describes the span of the entry
in the Type pop-up menu. (See Page range options in indexes.)
To create an index entry without a page number, choose Suppress Page Range in the Type menu. Although no page number will
appear in the generated index, the page number appears in parentheses in the Index panel.
To create an index entry which refers to another entry, select one of the cross-reference options (such as See or See also) from the
Type pop-up menu, and input the entry name in the Referenced text box, or drag the existing entry from the list at the bottom to the
Referenced box. You can also customize the See and See also terms displayed in the cross-reference entries by selecting Custom
Cross Reference from the Type pop-up menu. (See Add “See” or “See also” cross-references to an index.)
9. To add emphasis to a particular index entry, select Number Style Override, and then specify a character style.
10. To add an entry to the index, do any of the following:
Click Add to add current entry and leave the dialog box open for additional entries.
Click Add All to locate all instances of the selected text in the document window and create an index marker for each one. Add All is
available only if text in the document is selected.
Click OK to add the index entry and close the dialog box.
Note: If you click Cancel after clicking Add, the entries you just added are not removed. Use the Undo command to remove these
entries.
11. To close the dialog box, click OK or Done.
Index a word, phrase, or list quickly
Using an indexing shortcut, you can quickly index individual words, a phrase, or a list of words or phrases. Adobe InDesign recognizes two
indexing shortcuts: one for standard index entries; the other for proper names. The proper name shortcut creates index entries by reversing the
order of a name so it is alphabetized by the last name. In this way, you can list a name with the first name first, but have it appear in the index
sorted by last name. For example, the name James Paul Carter would appear in the index as Carter, James Paul.
To prepare a list for indexing, separate each item you want to be indexed with any of the following: a return, a soft return (Shift + Return key), a
176
tab, a right-indent tab (Shift + Tab), a semicolon, or a comma. The indexing shortcut adds a marker in front of each entry and places all the items
into the index.
1. In the document window, select the word or words you want to index.
2. Do one of the following:
For standard words or phrases, press Shift+Alt+Ctrl+[ (Windows) or Shift+Option+Command+[ (Mac OS).
For proper names that you want indexed by the last name, press Shift+Alt+Ctrl+] (Windows) or Shift+Option+Command+] (Mac OS).
An index marker using the default settings is added at the beginning of the selection or to the beginning of each item selected.
To index compound last names or names with a title, include one or more nonbreaking spaces between the words. For example, if
you want to index “James Paul Carter Jr.” by “Carter” instead of “Jr.”, place a nonbreaking space between “Carter” and “Jr.” (To insert
a nonbreaking space, choose Type > Insert White Space > Nonbreaking Space.)
Create a new entry from an existing one
Often, a subject you’re indexing appears in multiple places in a document or book. When this happens, you can create multiple index entries
based on other entries already in your index to ensure consistency.
1. In the document window, click an insertion point, or select text where the index marker will appear.
2. In the Index panel, select Reference, and scroll the preview area to the entry you want to copy.
3. Do one of the following:
Drag an entry to the New Entry button
to insert an index marker at the insertion point, or at the beginning of the selection.
Select an entry in the panel preview area, and then hold down Alt (Windows) or Option (Mac OS) and click the New Entry button. The
New Page Reference dialog box appears, with information about the selected entry. Make any changes, and then click Add or OK.
Alternatively, you can create a topic list, and then select topics from the list as you create index entries.
Index every occurrence of a word automatically
Using the Add All option is an effective way to index all occurrences of a specified term in a document or a book. When you click Add All, InDesign
creates index markers at every occurrence of the words selected in the document—not the text specified in the dialog box. (You can later delete
entries that point to less significant information.)
When searching for occurrences of the selected text, InDesign considers only whole words, and searches are case-sensitive. For example, if
cheetah is selected, cheetahs and Cheetah will not be indexed.
1. In the document window, select the text you want to search for.
2. In the Index panel, select Reference.
3. To create index entries for any open documents in the book, select Book.
4. Choose New Page Reference in the Index panel menu.
5. Choose Add All. InDesign adds index markers to all text that matches the selected text, regardless of whether the text has been indexed, so
you may end up with multiple entries for the same word or phrase.
Edit an index entry
To change a topic (such as renaming it or applying a new sort order) and automatically update all entries that use that topic, use the Index panel
in Topic mode. To change one entry at a time, use Reference mode. In Reference mode, you can also add cross-references or locate the index
marker associated with a page reference.
1. Open the document containing the index entries.
2. In the Index panel, do one of the following:
Select Topic to edit a topic and automatically update all entries using that topic.
Select Reference to edit an individual entry.
3. In the preview area, select an entry or page reference. To select a page reference, select the page icon below the entry.
4. Double-click an entry or page reference to edit.
5. Edit the entry, and then click OK.
To the top
Page range options in indexes
You can create index entries that include a page range (such as cats 82–87) instead of a single page number. The Type pop-up menu in the New
Page Reference dialog box includes the following page-range options:
Current Page The page range does not extend beyond the current page.
To Next Style Change The page range extends from the index marker to the next change of paragraph style.
To Next Use Of Style The page range extends from the index marker to the page where the next occurrence of the paragraph style specified in
177
the adjacent paragraph style pop-up menu appears.
To End Of Story The page range extends from the index marker to the end of the current thread of text frames that contain text.
To End Of Document The page range extends from the index marker to the end of the document.
To End Of Section The page range extends from the index marker to the end of the current section as defined in the Pages panel. (See
Document numbering options.)
For Next # Of Paragraphs The page range extends from the index marker to the end of the number of paragraphs specified in the adjacent box,
or to the end of as many paragraphs as exist.
For Next # Of Pages The page range extends from the index marker to the end of the number of pages specified in the adjacent box, or to the
end of as many pages as exist.
Suppress Page Range Turn off page range.
Add “See” or “See also” cross-references to an index
To the top
Cross-references are index entries that point to related entries, instead of a page number. You create cross-references using the Index panel.
Cross-references can serve different purposes in an index:
Cross-references associate common terms with equivalents used in your document or book. For example, Fauna. See Animals. Entries with
such cross-references do not contain page references; they simply point to equivalent terms that are indexed more fully.
Cross-references point to other entries related to, but not equivalent to, a topic. For example, Cats. See also Wildcats. In this case, the index
entry containing the cross-reference also contains page numbers and/or subentries that are directly related to the entry’s topic.
Two types of cross-references
A. Cross-reference to related information (See also) B. Cross-reference to an equivalent term (See)
When you create a cross-reference in InDesign, you can also select a cross-reference prefix. “See” and “See also” are static text. When you
choose “See [also],” InDesign automatically assigns the correct prefix to the cross-reference each time the index is generated:
Entries with page numbers, subentries, or both are given “See also.”
Entries without page numbers or subentries are given “See.”
Using the “See [also]” option frees you from the task of manually updating cross-references as the contents of your index entries change.
1. Choose Window > Type & Tables > Index.
2. Select Reference.
3. (Optional) Select Book to view index entries from any open documents in a book file.
4. Choose New Page Reference in the Index panel menu.
5. Enter a topic or topics in the Topic Levels boxes.
6. In the Type menu, choose a cross-reference prefix (such as See also) from the bottom of the menu.
7. Type a topic in the Referenced box, or drag an existing topic from the topic list at the bottom.
8. Click Add to add the cross-reference to the index.
Cross-references appear in the Index panel and the generated index, but are not associated with index markers in the document itself.
Cross-references with “See [also]” appear as “See [also]” in the Index panel; however, the correct prefix will appear in the generated index story.
To the top
Generate an index
Once you’ve added index entries and previewed them in the Index panel, you’re ready to generate an index story to place in your document for
publication.
An index story can appear as a separate document or in an existing document. When you generate an index story, InDesign compiles index
entries and updates page numbers across your document or book. If you add or delete index entries or update numbering in your document,
however, you’ll need to regenerate the index to update it.
If an index marker appears in overset text when you generate the index, you are asked if you would like to include these markers in the index. If
you click Yes, the entry appears in the index without a page number. If an index marker appears in hidden conditional text, the entry is excluded
from the index.
For a video tutorial on creating an index, see www.adobe.com/go/vid0220.
178
1. Do one of the following:
If you’re creating an index for a single document, you may want to add a new page at the end of the document.
If you’re creating an index for multiple documents in a book, create or open the document to be used for the index, and make sure that
it’s included in the book.
2. Choose Generate Index in the Index panel menu. Specify settings for the following options:
For Title, type the text that will appear at the top of the index. To determine how the title is formatted, select a style in the Title Style
pop-up menu.
Select Replace Existing Index to update an existing index. This option is dimmed if you haven’t generated an index. Deselecting this
options lets you create multiple indexes.
Select Include Book Documents to create a single index for all documents in the current book list and to renumber the book’s pages.
Deselect this option if you want to generate an index for the current document only.
Select Include Entries On Hidden Layers if you want index markers on hidden layers to be included in your index.
To view additional index options, click More Options.
3. Click OK. If Replace Existing Index is deselected, a loaded text icon appears. Place the index story as you would any other text.
If you edit entries in the index story, these changes are overridden when you regenerate the index. For best results, edit the index in the Index
panel, and then generate the index again.
Index formatting options
When you click More Options in the Generate Index dialog box, formatting options appear that let you determine the style and appearance of the
generated index. InDesign includes a number of built-in paragraph and character styles that you can select to format the generated index, or you
can create and select your own styles. After you generate the index, you can edit these styles in the Paragraph Styles and Character Styles
panels.
Index with nested entries
A. Title B. Section heading C. Level 1 entry D. Level 2 subentry E. Topic F. Cross-reference
To replace the entry separators (such as the values for Following Topic or Between Entries), select the existing separator and then type or
choose a replacement character.
Nested or Run-in Select Nested if you want the index formatted in the default style, with subentries nested under an entry as separate indented
paragraphs. Select Run-in if you want all levels of an entry to appear in a single paragraph. The Between Entries option determines which
character separates the entries.
Include Index Section Headings Select this option to generate section headings consisting of alphabet characters (A, B, C, and so on)
representing the section that follows.
Include Empty Index Sections Select this option to generate section headings for all letters of the alphabet, even if the index lacks any first-level
entries that begin with a particular letter.
Level Style For each index level, choose a paragraph style to be applied to each level of index entries. You can edit these styles in the Paragraph
Styles panel after you generate the index.
Section Heading Select the paragraph style that determines the appearance of the section headings (A, B, C, and so on) in the generated
index.
Page Number Select the character style that determines the appearance of the page numbers in the generated index. This setting does not affect
index entries you formatted using the Number Style Override option.
Note: If you want the page numbers in the index to include prefixes, as in B-1 or II-1, see Define section numbering.
Cross-reference Select the character style that determines the appearance of cross-reference prefixes (such as See and See also) in the
generated index.
Cross-referenced Topic Select the character style that determines the appearance of the topic being referred to (such as beasts in See also
beasts) in the generated index.
Following Topic Type or select a special character to separate the entry from the page number (such as Animals 38). The default is two spaces.
Determine formatting for this character by editing the corresponding Level Style, or by selecting another.
Between Page Numbers Type or select a special character to separate one page number or range from another. The default is a comma
179
followed by an en space.
Between Entries If Run-in is selected, type or select a special character to determine how entries and subentries are separated. If Nested is
selected, this setting determines how two cross-references under a single entry are to be separated.
Before Cross-reference Type or select a special character that appears between a reference and a cross-reference, as in Animals. See also
beasts. The default is a period followed by a space. Determine formatting for this character by switching or editing the corresponding level style.
Page Range Type or select a special character to separate the first and last numbers in a page range (such as Animals 38–43). The default is an
en dash. Determine formatting for this character by switching or editing the Page Number style.
Entry End Type or select a special character to appear at the end of entries. If Run-in is selected, the specified character appears at the end of
the last cross-reference. The default is no character.
To the top
Change the sort order of indexes
You can change the sort order of languages and symbols. This is especially useful for Greek, Cyrillic, and Asian languages. It’s also useful if you
want to change where symbols appear in your index. If you want symbols at the end, you can move the Symbol category to the bottom of the
priority list.
Changing the sort order affects the sort order in the Index panel and in the index stories that are generated afterwards. You can create multiple
indexes with different sort orders. For example, you can generate an index in German, change the sort order, and then generate a separate index
in Swedish — just make sure Replace Existing Index isn’t selected when you generate the index.
1. Choose Sort Options from the Index panel menu.
2. Make sure the items you want sorted are selected.
3. To determine the type of language script used, click the item under Header Type and choose a different option from the menu.
For example, for Cyrillic, you can choose Russian, Belarusian, Bulgarian, or Ukrainian. For Chinese, you can choose Pinyin, which is
primarily used for Simplified Chinese, or Stroke Count, which is primarily used for Traditional Chinese.
4. To change the order of a language or symbol, select it in the list, and then click the Up or Down buttons in the lower right part of the list.
Items that are higher on the list are sorted before lower items. Any characters from languages that aren’t included in the Sort Options dialog
box are sorted under symbols. For example, if you have Greek text in your document but don’t include Greek under Sort Options, any
indexed Greek text will appear under Symbols.
Sort order of Japanese and Korean indexes
When creating index entries for Asian languages, note the following:
Asian languages use different sorting convention based on their specific typographic rules.
When making an index for Japanese text, the yomi for index entries in the Topic Level box should be entered in the Yomi box using full-width
hiragana and katakana. It is not necessary to input the yomi for full-width hiragana, katakana, alphanumeric characters, some symbols, halfwidth alphanumeric characters, or index entries that only have symbols in the Yomi box. Entries input in the Topic Level box are sorted. In
some cases, when full-width and half-width symbols are mixed in an entry, sorting may not take place as expected. An appropriate, yomi
should be entered in these cases.
Half-width katakana or kanji cannot be input in the Yomi text box. However, full-width symbols, such as
and
, can be input.
Hiragana and katakana are distinguished and hiragana is sorted before katakana. Upper- and lowercase alphabetic characters are also
distinguished, and uppercase characters are sorted before lowercase.
If the same characters are input in the Topic Level box, they are handled as separate index entries if a different yomi is entered. For example
if “Cat” is input as an index entry with a reading of “Neko” in katakana, and then input a second time with a reading of “Neko” in hiragana, two
index items for “Cat” will be generated. This feature can also be used to classify the same term under separate index topics. For example,
when entering the term “The Cats” in an index, if “Cats” is input in the Yomi text box and two index entries are created without any input, the
term “The Cats” will be generated under the T and C index topics.
For Korean sort order, you can specify Korean Consonant or Korean Consonant Plus Vowel.
Sort order of Chinese indexes
You determine the sort order of Chinese characters in two places -- in the Sort Options dialog box, and in the Sort By field when you create or edit
an index entry.
Sort Options dialog box Choosing Sort Options from the Index panel menu lets you change the sort order and specify whether to use Pinyin or
Stroke Count.
Sort By When you’re creating or editing an index entry, typing Chinese characters in the Topic Levels fields enables you to edit Chinese sort
information.
For Pinyin, if multiple words have the same Pinyin, the order is sorted by (1) tone and (2) stroke count in ascending order. For Stroke Count, each
character is sorted by (1) stroke count, (2) first stroke, and (3) second stroke. You can either edit the sort information directly in the Sort By field,
or you can click the arrow to the right of the Sort By field to open either the Pinyin Entry dialog box or Stroke Count Entry dialog box. You can edit
the fields and click OK. Repeat this process for each topic level.
180
To the top
Manage an index
After you set up your index and add index markers to your document, you can manage your index in a variety of ways. You can view all index
topics in a book, remove topics from the Topic list that aren’t used in the Reference list, find entries in either the Reference or Topics list, and
remove index markers from the document.
View all index topics in a book
When the Book option is selected, the Index panel displays entries from the entire book, not just the current document.
1. Open the book file and all of the documents it contains.
2. Select Book at the top of the Index panel.
If others need to access documents in the book while the index is being created, you can create a master list of topics in a separate document,
and then import topics from the master list to each document in the book. Note that if the master list changes, you will need to import topics to
each document again.
When you are indexing a book with multiple documents, you can display the index topics for all the documents listed by generating the book’s
index, including all the documents. Then you don’t have to use Import Topics in the Index menu to manually import the topics into each
document.
Remove unused topics from the Topic list
Once you have created your index, you can delete topics that weren’t included in the index.
1. Choose Window > Type & Tables > Index to display the Index panel.
2. Choose Remove Unused Topics in the Index panel menu. All topics that do not have page numbers associated with them are deleted.
Delete index markers
Do either of the following:
In the Index panel, select the entry or topic you want to delete. Click the Delete Selected Entry button
.
Note: If the selected entry is the heading for multiple subheadings, all subheadings are also deleted.
In the document window, select the index marker and press Backspace or Delete.
Note: To view index markers in the document window, choose Type > Show Hidden Characters.
Find an index entry in the Index panel
1. Choose Show Find Field in the Index panel menu.
2. In the Find box, type the name of the entry you want to locate, and then click the Up Arrow or Down Arrow.
Locate index markers in a document
1. Choose Type > Show Hidden Characters to display index markers in the document window.
2. In the Index panel, click Reference, and then select the entry you want to locate.
3. Choose Go To Selected Marker in the Index panel menu. The insertion point appears to the right of the index marker. You can then press
Shift+Left Arrow to select the marker for cutting, copying, or deleting.
Capitalize index entries
The Capitalize dialog box provides a global solution for editing the capitalization of index entries so that you don’t have to edit entries one by one.
For example, if you’ve indexed some of your entries as lowercase (cats) and others as uppercase (Cats), these entries will be considered separate
topics. You can fix this problem by capitalizing selected entries.
1. In the preview area of the Index panel, select an entry.
2. Choose Capitalize in the Index panel menu.
3. Select whether you want to capitalize only the selected topic, the selected topic and all subtopics, all Level 1 topics, or all topics, and then
click OK.
More Help topics
Creating an Index video
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
181
Creating book files
Create a book file
Add documents to a book file
Manage book files
Synchronize book documents
Convert book files from previous InDesign versions
Number pages, chapters, and paragraphs in a book
Print or output a book file
To the top
Create a book file
A book file is a collection of documents that can share styles, swatches, master pages, and other items. You can sequentially number pages in
booked documents, print selected documents in a book, or export them to PDF. One document can belong to multiple book files.
One of the documents added to a book file is the style source. By default, the style source is the first document in the book, but you can select a
new style source at any time. When you synchronize documents in a book, the specified styles and swatches from the style source replace those
in other booked documents.
Michael Murphy provides a video tutorial about creating books at Book Basics.
1. Choose File > New > Book.
2. Type a name for the book, specify a location, and then click Save.
The Book panel appears. The book file is saved with the file name extension .indb.
3. Add documents to the book file.
To the top
Add documents to a book file
When you create a book file, it opens in the Book panel. The Book panel is the working area of a book file, where you add, remove, or rearrange
documents.
1. Choose Add Document in the Book panel menu, or click the plus button
at the bottom of the Book panel.
2. Select the Adobe InDesign document or documents you want to add, and then click Open.
You can drag and drop files onto the Book panel from an Explorer (Windows) or Finder (Mac OS) window. You can also drag a document
from one book to another. Hold down Alt (Windows) or Option (Mac OS) to copy the document.
3. If you included documents created in earlier versions of InDesign, they will be converted to Adobe InDesign CS5 format when added to the
book. In the Save As dialog box, specify a new name for the converted document (or leave the name as is), and then click Save.
Note: You must convert Adobe PageMaker or QuarkXPress documents before adding them to the book file.
4. If necessary, change the order of the documents in the panel by dragging them up or down to the appropriate locations in the list.
5. To designate a document as the style source, click the box next to the document’s name in the panel.
To open a document in a book file, double-click the document name in the Book panel.
To the top
Manage book files
Each open book file appears on its own tab in the Book panel. If multiple books are open at the same time, click a tab to bring that book to the
front and access its panel menu.
Icons in the Book panel indicate a document’s current status, such as open
, missing
(the document was moved, renamed, or deleted),
modified
(the document was edited or its page or section numbers changed while the book was closed), or in use (if someone else has the
document open in a managed workflow). No icon appears next to closed documents.
To view the pathname of any document in a book, hold the mouse pointer over the document name until a tooltip appears. Or, choose
Document Information from the Book panel menu.
Save a book file
Book files are separate from document files. For example, when you choose the Save Book command, InDesign saves the changes to the book,
not the documents in the book.
182
Do one of the following:
To save a book under a new name, choose Save Book As in the Book panel menu, specify a location and filename, and click Save.
To save an existing book under the same name, choose Save Book in the Book panel menu, or click the Save button
Book panel.
at the bottom of the
Note: If you are sharing book files over a server, make sure that you have a file management system in place so that you don’t save over each
other’s changes accidentally.
Close a book file
To close a single book, choose Close Book in the book’s panel menu.
To close all open books docked together in the same panel, click the close button on the Book panel’s title bar.
Remove book documents
1. Select the document in the Book panel.
2. Choose Remove Document in the Book panel menu.
Removing the document from the book file doesn’t delete the file on disk; the document is removed only from the book file.
Replace book documents
1. Select the document in the Book panel.
2. Choose Replace Document in the Book panel menu, locate the document you want to replace it with, and then click Open.
Open a book file in Explorer or Finder
1. In the books panel, select a document.
2. From the books panel menu, choose Reveal In Explorer (Windows) or Reveal In Finder (Mac OS).
A browser window opens that displays the selected file.
To the top
Synchronize book documents
When you synchronize documents in a book, the items you specify—styles, variables, master pages, trap presets, cross-reference formats,
conditional text settings, numbered lists, and swatches—are copied from the style source to the specified documents in the book, replacing any
items that have identical names.
If items in the style source are not found in the documents being synchronized, they are added. Items that are not included in the style source are
left as is in the documents being synchronized.
For a video tutorial on synchronizing book documents, see www.adobe.com/go/vid0216.
Select items to synchronize
1. Choose Synchronize Options in the Book panel menu.
2. Select the items you want to copy from the style source to other book documents.
Be sure to select all styles included in the definition of other styles. For example, an object style may contain paragraph and character styles,
which in turn include swatches.
3. Select Smart Match Style Groups to avoid duplicating uniquely named styles that have been moved into or out of style groups.
Suppose the style source includes a character style in a style group, and the documents being synchronized include this same character
style outside the style group. If this option is selected, the character style is moved into the style group in synchronized documents.
If this option is not selected, a second instance of the character style is created in the style group with options that match the style source.
The character style outside the style group does not change.
Note: If a document contains multiple styles that have the same name (for example, Character Style 1 in a style group and Character Style
1 outside of a style group), InDesign behaves as if the option is not selected. For best results, create styles with unique names.
4. Click OK.
Synchronize documents in a book file
You can synchronize the book while documents in the book are closed. InDesign opens the closed documents, makes any changes, and then
saves and closes the documents. Documents that are open when you synchronize are changed but not saved.
1. In the Book panel, click the blank box next to the document that you want to be the style source; the style source icon
document is the style source.
183
indicates which
Selected style source
2. Make sure that the items you want copied from the style source are selected in the Synchronize Options dialog box.
3. In the Book panel, select the documents you want to synchronize with the style source document. If no document is selected, the entire
book will be synchronized.
To make sure that no documents are selected, click the blank gray area below the booked documents—you may need to scroll or resize
the Book panel. You can also hold down Ctrl (Windows) or Command (Mac OS) and click a selected document to deselect it.
4. Choose Synchronize Selected Documents or Synchronize Book from the Book panel menu, or click the Synchronize button
of the Book panel.
at the bottom
Note: Choosing Edit > Undo will undo changes only in documents that are open at the time synchronization occurs.
Synchronizing master pages
Master pages are synchronized in the same way as other items—master pages with the same name (such as A-Master) as those in the style
source are replaced. Synchronizing masters is useful for documents that use the same design elements, such as running headers and footers.
However, if you want to preserve page items on a master page in documents other than the style source, either don’t synchronize master pages or
create master pages with different names.
Any master page items that are overridden on document pages after you synchronize masters for the first time are detached from the master.
Therefore, if you plan on synchronizing master pages in your book, it’s a good idea to synchronize all the documents in your book at the start of
the design process. That way, overridden master page items will maintain their connection to the master page and will continue to be updated from
modified master page items in the style source.
It’s also a good idea to synchronize master pages using only one style source. If you synchronize from a different style source, overridden master
page items may become detached from the master page. If you need to synchronize using a different style source, deselect the Master Pages
option in the Synchronize Options dialog box before doing so.
Convert book files from previous InDesign versions
To the top
You can convert a book file created in a previous version of InDesign by opening and saving it in InDesign CS5. When you synchronize, update
numbering, print, package, or export a converted book, the documents it contains are also converted to InDesign CS5 format. You can decide
whether you want to overwrite or keep the original document files.
Convert a book file for use with InDesign CS5
1. In InDesign CS5, choose File > Open.
2. Select the book file created in a previous version of InDesign and click OK.
A warning appears if the book file contains documents saved in a previous InDesign format.
3. Choose Save Book As from the Book panel menu. Specify a new name for the converted book file, and click Save.
Convert documents in a book file
1. Open the book file in InDesign CS5.
2. In the Book panel menu:
If you want the original documents to be overwritten during conversion, select Automatic Document Conversion.
If you want to keep the original documents and save the converted documents with new names, deselect Automatic Document
Conversion. (The book list will be updated to include the converted files, not the originals.)
3. Do any of the following to convert the documents:
Choose Synchronize Book from the Book panel menu. (See Synchronize book documents.)
Choose Update Numbering > Update All Numbers from the Book panel menu.
4. If Automatic Document Conversion is not selected, InDesign prompts you to save each converted document with a new name.
Note: Documents are also converted when you print or export the book to Adobe PDF.
Number pages, chapters, and paragraphs in a book
184
To the top
You can determine how pages, chapters, and paragraphs are numbered in a book. In a book file, the numbering styles and starting numbers for
pages and chapters are determined by each document’s settings in the Numbering & Section Options dialog box or the Document Numbering
Options dialog box. You can open one of these dialog boxes by choosing Layout > Numbering & Section Options in the document or by choosing
Document Numbering Options in the Book panel menu.
For information on adding page numbering to a document, see Add basic page numbering.
For numbered paragraphs (such as lists of figures), numbering is determined by the numbered list style definition contained by the paragraph
style.
The page range appears beside each document name in the Book panel. By default, InDesign updates page and section numbering in the Book
panel when you add or remove pages in booked documents, or when you make changes to the book file, such as reordering, adding, or removing
documents. If you turn off the setting to automatically update page and section numbers, you can update numbering in a book manually.
If the book is updated and the numbering seems incorrect, the problem may be that absolute numbers are displayed instead of section numbers in
General preferences. See Display absolute or section numbering in the Pages panel.
If a document is missing or cannot be opened, the page range is shown as “?” from the place where the missing document should be to the end of
the book, indicating that the true page range is unknown. Remove or replace the missing document before you update numbering. If the In Use
icon appears, someone using a different computer has opened the document in a managed workflow; the person must close the document
before you can update numbering.
For a video tutorial on numbering pages in a book, see www.adobe.com/go/vid0217.
Change page and chapter numbering options for each document
1. Select the document in the Book panel.
2. Choose Document Numbering Options in the Book panel menu, or double-click the document’s page numbers in the Book panel.
3. Specify the page, section, and chapter numbering options. (See Document numbering options.)
4. Click OK.
Note: If you specify a starting page number in a booked document instead of selecting Automatic Page Numbering, the booked document will
begin on the specified page; all subsequent documents in the book will be renumbered accordingly.
Start numbering on an odd or even page
You can start document numbering on odd- or even-numbered pages in booked documents.
1. Choose Book Page Numbering Options in the Book panel menu.
2. Choose Continue On Next Odd Page or Continue On Next Even Page.
3. Select Insert Blank Page to add a blank page to the end of any document in which the subsequent document must begin on an odd- or
even-numbered page, and then click OK.
Turn off automatic page numbering in a book
1. Choose Book Page Numbering Options from the Book panel menu.
2. Deselect Automatically Update Page & Section Numbers, and then click OK.
3. To update page numbering manually, choose Update Numbering > Update All Numbers in the Book panel menu.
You can also update only page and section numbers or only chapter and paragraph numbers.
Use sequential paragraph numbering in books
To use sequential paragraph numbering for lists of figures, tables, or other items, you first define a numbered list that is used in a paragraph style.
The numbered list you define determines whether paragraph numbering maintains sequential numbering across documents in a book.
1. Open the document that is used as the style source for the book.
2. Choose Type > Bulleted And Numbered Lists > Define Lists.
3. Click New to define a list or select an existing list and choose Edit.
4. Select both Continue Numbers Across Stories and Continue Numbers From Previous Document In Book.
5. Click OK.
6. Define a paragraph style that uses a numbered list, and apply it to the text in each document that contains the list. (See Create a paragraph
style for running lists.)
To make sure the same numbered list setting is used across all documents in the book, select the Paragraph Styles and Numbered Lists
options in the Synchronize Options dialog box, and then synchronize the book.
To the top
Print or output a book file
One advantage of using a book file is that you can use a single command to output—for print, preflight, package, or export to EPUB or PDF—
selected booked documents or the entire book.
185
1. In the Book panel, do one of the following:
To output specific documents, select the desired documents.
To output the entire book, make sure no documents are selected.
2. Choose an output command (such as Print Book or Print Selected Documents) in the Book panel menu.
More Help topics
Synchronizing Book Documents video
Setting Pagination video
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
186
Creating text and text frames
Create text frames
Move and resize text frames
Using text frames on master pages
Change text frame properties
Determine word and character counts
Working with additional languages
To the top
Create text frames
Text in InDesign resides inside containers called text frames. (A text frame is similar to a text box in QuarkXPress and a text block in Adobe
PageMaker.) For a video tutorial on making a text frame, see www.adobe.com/go/lrvid4274_id.
Like graphics frames, text frames can be moved, resized, and changed. The tool with which you select a text frame determines the kind of changes
you can make:
Use the Type tool
to enter or edit text in a frame.
Use the Selection tool
for general layout tasks such as positioning and sizing a frame.
Use the Direct Selection tool
to alter a frame’s shape.
Text frames can also be connected to other text frames so that the text in one frame can flow into another frame. Frames that are connected in this
way are threaded. Text that flows through one or more threaded frames is called a story. When you place (import) a word-processing file, it comes
into your document as a single story, regardless of the number of frames it may occupy.
Text frames can have multiple columns. Text frames can be based on, yet independent of, page columns. In other words, a two-column text frame
can sit on a four-column page. Text frames can also be placed on master pages and still receive text on document pages.
If you use the same type of text frame repeatedly, you can create an object style that includes text frame formatting such as stroke and fill
colors, text frame options, and text wrap and transparency effects.
When you place or paste text, you don’t need to create a text frame; InDesign automatically adds frames based on the page’s column settings.
Do any of the following:
Select the Type tool , and then drag to define the width and height of a new text frame. Hold down Shift as you drag to constrain the frame
to a square. When you release the mouse button, a text insertion point appears in the frame.
Dragging to create new text frame
Using the Selection tool, click the in port or out port of another text frame, and then click or drag to create another frame.
Use the Place command to place a text file.
Using the Type tool , click inside any empty frame. If the Type Tool Converts Frames To Text Frames option is selected in Type
preferences, the empty frame is converted to a text frame.
To the top
Move and resize text frames
Use the Selection tool to move or resize text frames.
If you want to move or resize a text frame without switching from the Type tool to a selection tool, hold down Ctrl (Windows) or Command
(Mac OS), and then drag the frame.
187
Move a text frame
Using the Selection tool, drag the frame.
Using the Type tool, hold down Ctrl (Windows) or Command (Mac OS) and drag the frame. When you release the key, the Type tool is still
selected.
Resize a text frame
Do any of the following:
To resize using the Type tool , hold down Ctrl (Windows) or Command (Mac OS), and drag any frame handle. If you hold down the mouse
button for one second before you begin dragging, the text will recompose while you resize the frame.
Note: If you click the text frame instead of dragging it, you’ll lose your text selection or insertion point location.
To resize using the Selection tool , drag any of the frame handles on the frame’s border. Hold down Ctrl (Windows) or Command (Mac OS)
to scale the text within the frame. (See Scale type.)
To quickly fit the frame to its content, use the Selection tool to select the text frame, and double-click any handle. For example, if you doubleclick the center bottom handle, the bottom of the frame snaps to the bottom of the text. If you double-click the center right handle, the height
is preserved while the width narrows to fill the frame.
You can also double-click a handle on an overset text frame to expand the height or width to fit all text in the frame. If a text frame
includes more overset text than can reasonably fit on the page, the text frame isn’t resized.
Double-click handle to resize text frame.
To fit the text frame to the content, select the frame using the Selection tool, and choose Object > Fitting > Fit Frame to Content. The bottom
of the text frame fits the contents of the text. If a text frame includes more overset text than can reasonably fit on the page, the text frame isn’t
resized.
To resize using the Scale tool
, drag to resize the frame. (See Scale type.)
To the top
Using text frames on master pages
When you start a new document, you can select the Master Text Frame option so that an empty text frame is placed on the document’s default
master page. This frame has the column and margin attributes specified in the New Document dialog box.
Follow these guidelines for using text frames on master pages:
Set master text frames when you want each page in your document to contain a page-sized text frame into which you can flow or type your
text. If your document requires more variation, such as pages with different numbers of frames or frames of different lengths, leave the
Master Text Frame option deselected, and use the Type tool to create text frames on masters.
Whether or not you select the Master Text Frame option, you can add text frames to a master page to act as placeholders. You can thread
these empty placeholder frames together to establish a flow.
Flow text into master text frames using the same procedures you would use with frames created on document pages.
If you need to type text in a master text frame on a document page, hold down Ctrl+Shift (Windows) or Command+Shift (Mac OS) as you
click the text frame on the document page. Then click in the frame using the Type tool and begin typing.
You can use Smart Text Reflow to add or remove pages automatically as you type and edit text. By default, when you type text at the end of
a threaded text frame based on a master page, a new page is added, allowing you to continue typing in the new text frame. You can edit
Smart Text Reflow settings.
If you change the page margins, text frames adjust to the new margins only if the Enable Layout Adjustment option is selected.
Selecting the Master Text Frame option does not affect whether new pages are added when you autoflow text.
188
To the top
Change text frame properties
Use Text Frame Options to change settings such as the number of columns in the frame, the vertical alignment of text within the frame, or the
inset spacing, which is the distance of the margins between the text and the frame.
Before (left) and after (right) setting inset and creating two columns in a text frame
If you need to use the same text frame properties for multiple text frames, create an object style that you can apply to your text frames.
1. Using the Selection tool
, select a frame, or using the Type tool
, click inside the text frame or select text.
2. Choose Object > Text Frame Options, or hold down Alt (Windows) or Option (Mac OS) and then double-click the text frame using a
selection tool.
3. Change text frame options, and then click OK.
These text frame options are available when you’re defining an object style for text boxes. See Object styles.
Add columns to a text frame
You can create columns within a text frame by using the Text Frame Options dialog box.
You cannot create columns of unequal width in a text frame. To create columns of unequal width or height, add threaded text frames side-byside on either a document page or a master page.
1. Using the Selection tool, select a frame, or using the Type tool, click inside the text frame or select text.
2. Choose Object > Text Frame Options.
3. Specify the number of columns, the width of each column, and the spacing between each column (gutter) for the text frame.
4. (Optional) Select Fixed Column Width to maintain column width when you resize the frame. If this option is selected, resizing the frame can
change the number of columns, but not their width.
Fixed column width
A. Original 2-column text frame B. Resized with Fixed Column Width deselected (still 2 columns) C. Resized with Fixed Column Width
selected (4 columns)
5. (Optional) Select Balanced Columns to make text even at the bottom of a multi-column text frame.
189
Before and after balancing columns
Change text frame inset spacing (margins)
1. Using the Selection tool, select a frame, or using the Type tool, click inside the text frame or select text.
2. Choose Object > Text Frame Options.
3. In the Inset Spacing section on the General tab, type the offset distances you want for Top, Left, Bottom, and Right. (Click the Make All
Settings The Same icon to use the same spacing on all sides.)
If the frame you’ve selected has a non-rectangular shape, the Top, Left, Bottom, and Right options are dimmed, and an Inset option is available
instead.
First baseline offset options
To change the first baseline options of a selected text frame, choose Object > Text Frame Options, and click the Baseline Options tab. The
following options appear in the Offset menu under First Baseline:
Ascent The height of the “d” character in the font falls below the top inset of the text frame.
Cap Height The top of uppercase letters touch the top inset of the text frame.
Leading Use the text’s leading value as the distance between the baseline of the first line of text and the top inset of the frame.
X Height The height of the “x” character in the font falls below the top inset of the frame.
Fixed Specify the distance between the baseline of the first line of text and the top inset of the frame.
Min Select a minimum value for the baseline offset. For example, if Leading is selected and you specify a minimum value of 1p, InDesign uses the
leading value only when it’s greater than 1 pica.
If you want to snap the top of the text frame to a grid, choose either Leading or Fixed so that you can control the location of the first baseline of
text in text frames.
Set baseline grids for a text frame
In some cases, you might want to use a baseline grid for a frame rather than for the entire document. Use the Text Frame Options dialog box to
apply a baseline grid to a text frame. When you set up a baseline grid for a text frame, note the following:
The document baseline grid doesn’t appear behind or in front of text frames that use their own baseline grids.
If Grids In Back is selected in Grids Preferences, then frame-based baseline grids take precedence over document-based baseline grids. If
Grids In Back is not selected, then document-based baseline grids take precedence over frame-based baseline grids.
1. Choose View > Grids & Guides > Show Baseline Grid to display all baseline grids, including those in a text frame.
2. Select the text frame or place the insertion in a text frame, and then choose Object > Text Frame Options.
If you want the baseline grid to apply to all frames in a thread (even if one or more threaded frames do not include text), place the insertion
point in text, choose Edit > Select All, and then apply the baseline grid settings in the Text Frame Options dialog box.
3. Click the Baseline Options tab.
4. Under Baseline Grid, select Use Custom Baseline Grid, and do any of the following:
Start Type a value to offset the grid from the top of the page, the top margin of the page, the top of the frame, or the top inset of the frame,
depending on what you choose from the Relative To menu.
Relative To Specify whether you want the baseline grid to begin relative to the top of the page, the top margin of the page, the top of the
text frame, or the top of the text frame inset.
Increment Every Type a value for the spacing between grid lines. In most cases, type a value that equals your body text leading, so that
lines of text align perfectly to the grid.
Color Select a color for the grid lines, or choose (Layer Color) to use the same color as the layer on which the text frame appears.
If you can’t see the baseline grid in a text frame, choose View > Grids & Guides > Show Baseline Grid to make sure that baseline grids aren’t
hidden. If the baseline grid still doesn’t appear, check the threshold for viewing baseline grids in the Grids section of the Preferences dialog
box. To see the grid, you might need to zoom in on the frame or reduce the threshold level.
190
To the top
Determine word and character counts
1. Place the insertion point in a text frame to view counts for the entire thread of frames (the story), or select text to view counts only for the
selected text.
2. Choose Window > Info to display the Info panel.
The Info panel displays the number of characters, words, lines, and paragraphs in a text frame. The position of the insertion point within the text
frame also appears.
To the top
Working with additional languages
You can assign languages to different text. Assigning the appropriate language to text is especially useful for spell-checking and hyphenating. (See
Assign a language to text.)
If you need to work with Asian text, special versions of InDesign are available for Japanese, Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, and Korean.
These versions let you create layout grids and frame grids for composing multibyte characters, and they include a number of features for
formatting multibyte text, along with additional fonts.
Similarly, a special version of InDesign is available for formatting Middle Eastern languages, such as Hebrew, Arabic, Farsi, and Urdu, that use
right-to-left text formatting. This version is called InDesign ME.
For more information on purchasing InDesign ME or an Asian-language version of InDesign, see the Adobe website.
More Help topics
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
191
Creating type on a path
Create type on a path
Edit or delete type on a path
Adjust the type on a path position
Apply an effect to type on a path
Add anchored objects to type on a path
To the top
Create type on a path
You can format text to flow along the edge of an open or closed path of any shape. Apply options and effects to type on a path: Slide it along the
path, flip it over to the other side of the path, or use the shape of the path to distort the characters. Type on a path has an in port and an out port
just like other text frames, so you can thread text to and from it.
You can include only one line of type on a path, so any type that won’t fit on the path will be overset (hidden), unless you’ve threaded it to another
path or text frame. You can add inline or above line anchored objects to type on a path. You can’t create type on a path using compound paths,
such as those that result from using the Create Outlines command.
Type on a path
A. Start bracket B. In port C. Center bracket D. End bracket E. Out port indicating threaded text
1. Select the Type On A Path tool
. (Click and hold the Type tool to display a menu containing the Type On A Path tool.)
2. Position the pointer on the path until a small plus sign appears next to the pointer
, and then follow these steps:
To type using default settings, click the path. An insertion point appears at the start of the path by default. If the current default
paragraph settings specify an indent, or any alignment other than left, the insertion point may appear somewhere other than at the start
of the path.
To confine the text to a specific portion of the path, click the path where you would like the text to start, and drag along the path to
where you want the text to end, then release the mouse. (For information about changing the start and end position of text, see Adjust
the type on a path position.)
Changing location of type on path
Note: If neither clicking nor dragging seems to work, make sure that the small plus sign appears next to the Type On A Path tool.
3. Type the text you want. If you clicked to place the insertion point on the path, type will appear along the entire length of the path. If you
dragged, type will appear only along the length you dragged.
Note: If the path was originally visible, it remains visible after you add type to it. To hide the path, select it with the Selection or Direct Selection
tool, and then apply a fill and stroke of None.
To the top
Edit or delete type on a path
192
You can apply character and paragraph options to type on a path. However, paragraph rules and paragraph spacing options have no effect on
type on a path. The alignment setting in the Paragraph panel controls the alignment of type on a path.
Edit and format path-type characters
1. Using the Type On A Path tool, do one of the following:
To add an insertion point, click between any two characters in the type on a path.
To select characters, drag through the type on a path.
2. Edit and format the text as needed.
Delete type from a path
1. Using the Selection tool
or Direct Selection tool
, select one or more type-on-a-path objects.
2. Choose Type > Type on a Path > Delete Type From Path.
If the path text is threaded, type moves to the next threaded text frame or type-on-a-path object. If the path text isn’t threaded, text is deleted. The
path remains, but loses any type-on-a-path attributes—all brackets, in and out ports, and threading properties are removed.
Note: If the path’s fill and stroke are set to None, the path is invisible after you delete the type. To make the path visible, press the D key
immediately after you choose Type > Type on a Path > Delete Type From Path. This applies the default fill and stroke to the selected path.
Tighten character spacing around sharp turns and acute angles
1. Using the Selection tool or the Type tool, select the type on a path.
2. Choose Type > Type on a Path > Options, or double-click the Type On A Path tool.
3. For Spacing, type a value in points. Higher values remove the extra space from between characters positioned on sharp curves or angles.
Type on a path before (left) and after (right) applying spacing adjustment
Note: The Spacing value compensates for the way characters fan out around a curve or sharp angle. It has no effect on characters positioned on
straight segments. To change spacing of characters anywhere along the path, select them, and then apply kerning or tracking.
To the top
Adjust the type on a path position
You can change the start or end position of type on a path, slide type, and change the path position in other ways.
Change the start or end position of type on a path
1. Using the Selection tool
, select the type on a path.
2. Position the pointer over the path type’s start or end bracket until a small icon appears next to the pointer
bracket’s in port or out port.
Zoom in on the path to more easily select the bracket.
3. Drag the start or end bracket along the path.
Position the pointer on start or end bracket, and then drag to reposition boundary of type on a path.
193
. Do not position it over the
Note: If you apply a paragraph indent value, it’s measured from the start and end brackets.
Slide type along a path
1. Using the Selection tool
, select the type on a path.
2. Position the pointer over the path type’s center bracket until a center bracket icon appears next to the pointer
Zoom in on the path to more easily select the bracket.
.
3. Drag the center bracket along the path.
Note: The text won’t move if both the start and end brackets are at the ends of the path. To create some space for dragging text, drag the start
or end bracket away from the ends of the path.
Flip type on a path
1. Click the Selection tool
, and select the type on a path.
2. Position the pointer over the type’s center bracket until a center bracket icon appears next to the pointer
.
3. Drag the center bracket across the path.
Position pointer on center bracket, and then drag across path to flip type.
You can also flip type on a path using a dialog box. Using the Selection tool or the Type tool, select the type on a path. Choose Type >
Type on a Path > Options. Select the Flip option, and then click OK.
To the top
Apply an effect to type on a path
1. Using the Selection tool or the Type tool, select the type on a path.
2. Choose Type > Type on a Path > Options, or double-click the Type On A Path tool.
3. Choose one of the following in the Effect menu, and then click OK:
To keep the center of each character’s baseline parallel to the path’s tangent, choose Rainbow. This is the default setting.
Type on a path effects
A. Rainbow effect B. Skew effect C. 3D Ribbon effect D. Stair Step effect E. Gravity effect
194
To keep characters’ vertical edges perfectly vertical regardless of the path shape, while letting characters’ horizontal edges follow the
path, choose Skew. The resulting horizontal distortion is useful for text that appears to follow waves or go around a cylinder, as on a
beverage can label.
To keep characters’ horizontal edges perfectly horizontal regardless of the path shape, while keeping each character’s vertical edge
perpendicular to the path, choose 3D Ribbon.
To keep the left edge of each character’s baseline on the path without rotating any characters, choose Stair Step.
To keep the center of each character’s baseline on the path while keeping each vertical edge in line with the path’s center point, choose
Gravity. You can control this option’s perspective effect by adjusting the arc of the text’s path.
To the top
Add anchored objects to type on a path
1. Using the Type tool or the Type On A Path tool, click an insertion point in the text where you want the anchor for the object to appear.
2. Add the anchored object. You can add inline or above line anchored objects or frames to the path. (See Anchored objects.)
Note: The options available for above line anchored objects in a text path differ slightly from options for anchored objects in a regular text frame:
the Alignment option is relative to the anchored object marker and the Space Before option is not available.
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
195
Text
Creating bullets and numbering (video 12:16), CS3-CS6
Anne-Marie Concepcion (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
See how to create bullets and add them to your layout.
Creating conditional text (video 6:48), CS4-CS6
David Blatner (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
Learn how to use conditional text in InDesign.
Creating footnotes (video 2:44), CS3-CS6
David Blatner (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
In this short video, learn the essentials of adding footnotes.
Importing content into InDesign (video 8:37), CS3-CS6
Terry White (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
Learn how to import content from Word, Excel, Photoshop, and PDF files.
Linking text stories (PDF, 217 KB)
article (Jan. 1, 2011)
A short tutorial on the Place and Link Story feature in InDesign CS5.5.
Paragraphs that span and split columns (video 2:01)
Michael Ninness (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
See how to build complex layouts in less clicks with paragraphs that span or split columns in InDesign CS5 and later.
Track text changes (video 2:01)
Michael Ninness (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
Learn how to collaborate with even greater efficiency using new Track Text Changes in InDesign CS5 and later.
196
Creating text and text frames
Create text frames
Move and resize text frames
Using text frames on master pages
Change text frame properties
Determine word and character counts
Working with additional languages
To the top
Create text frames
Text in InDesign resides inside containers called text frames. (A text frame is similar to a text box in QuarkXPress and a text block in Adobe
PageMaker.) For a video tutorial on making a text frame, see www.adobe.com/go/lrvid4274_id.
Like graphics frames, text frames can be moved, resized, and changed. The tool with which you select a text frame determines the kind of changes
you can make:
Use the Type tool
to enter or edit text in a frame.
Use the Selection tool
for general layout tasks such as positioning and sizing a frame.
Use the Direct Selection tool
to alter a frame’s shape.
Text frames can also be connected to other text frames so that the text in one frame can flow into another frame. Frames that are connected in this
way are threaded. Text that flows through one or more threaded frames is called a story. When you place (import) a word-processing file, it comes
into your document as a single story, regardless of the number of frames it may occupy.
Text frames can have multiple columns. Text frames can be based on, yet independent of, page columns. In other words, a two-column text frame
can sit on a four-column page. Text frames can also be placed on master pages and still receive text on document pages.
If you use the same type of text frame repeatedly, you can create an object style that includes text frame formatting such as stroke and fill
colors, text frame options, and text wrap and transparency effects.
When you place or paste text, you don’t need to create a text frame; InDesign automatically adds frames based on the page’s column settings.
Do any of the following:
Select the Type tool , and then drag to define the width and height of a new text frame. Hold down Shift as you drag to constrain the frame
to a square. When you release the mouse button, a text insertion point appears in the frame.
Dragging to create new text frame
Using the Selection tool, click the in port or out port of another text frame, and then click or drag to create another frame.
Use the Place command to place a text file.
Using the Type tool , click inside any empty frame. If the Type Tool Converts Frames To Text Frames option is selected in Type
preferences, the empty frame is converted to a text frame.
To the top
Move and resize text frames
Use the Selection tool to move or resize text frames.
If you want to move or resize a text frame without switching from the Type tool to a selection tool, hold down Ctrl (Windows) or Command
(Mac OS), and then drag the frame.
197
Move a text frame
Using the Selection tool, drag the frame.
Using the Type tool, hold down Ctrl (Windows) or Command (Mac OS) and drag the frame. When you release the key, the Type tool is still
selected.
Resize a text frame
Do any of the following:
To resize using the Type tool , hold down Ctrl (Windows) or Command (Mac OS), and drag any frame handle. If you hold down the mouse
button for one second before you begin dragging, the text will recompose while you resize the frame.
Note: If you click the text frame instead of dragging it, you’ll lose your text selection or insertion point location.
To resize using the Selection tool , drag any of the frame handles on the frame’s border. Hold down Ctrl (Windows) or Command (Mac OS)
to scale the text within the frame. (See Scale type.)
To quickly fit the frame to its content, use the Selection tool to select the text frame, and double-click any handle. For example, if you doubleclick the center bottom handle, the bottom of the frame snaps to the bottom of the text. If you double-click the center right handle, the height
is preserved while the width narrows to fill the frame.
You can also double-click a handle on an overset text frame to expand the height or width to fit all text in the frame. If a text frame
includes more overset text than can reasonably fit on the page, the text frame isn’t resized.
Double-click handle to resize text frame.
To fit the text frame to the content, select the frame using the Selection tool, and choose Object > Fitting > Fit Frame to Content. The bottom
of the text frame fits the contents of the text. If a text frame includes more overset text than can reasonably fit on the page, the text frame isn’t
resized.
To resize using the Scale tool
, drag to resize the frame. (See Scale type.)
To the top
Using text frames on master pages
When you start a new document, you can select the Master Text Frame option so that an empty text frame is placed on the document’s default
master page. This frame has the column and margin attributes specified in the New Document dialog box.
Follow these guidelines for using text frames on master pages:
Set master text frames when you want each page in your document to contain a page-sized text frame into which you can flow or type your
text. If your document requires more variation, such as pages with different numbers of frames or frames of different lengths, leave the
Master Text Frame option deselected, and use the Type tool to create text frames on masters.
Whether or not you select the Master Text Frame option, you can add text frames to a master page to act as placeholders. You can thread
these empty placeholder frames together to establish a flow.
Flow text into master text frames using the same procedures you would use with frames created on document pages.
If you need to type text in a master text frame on a document page, hold down Ctrl+Shift (Windows) or Command+Shift (Mac OS) as you
click the text frame on the document page. Then click in the frame using the Type tool and begin typing.
You can use Smart Text Reflow to add or remove pages automatically as you type and edit text. By default, when you type text at the end of
a threaded text frame based on a master page, a new page is added, allowing you to continue typing in the new text frame. You can edit
Smart Text Reflow settings.
If you change the page margins, text frames adjust to the new margins only if the Enable Layout Adjustment option is selected.
Selecting the Master Text Frame option does not affect whether new pages are added when you autoflow text.
198
To the top
Change text frame properties
Use Text Frame Options to change settings such as the number of columns in the frame, the vertical alignment of text within the frame, or the
inset spacing, which is the distance of the margins between the text and the frame.
Before (left) and after (right) setting inset and creating two columns in a text frame
If you need to use the same text frame properties for multiple text frames, create an object style that you can apply to your text frames.
1. Using the Selection tool
, select a frame, or using the Type tool
, click inside the text frame or select text.
2. Choose Object > Text Frame Options, or hold down Alt (Windows) or Option (Mac OS) and then double-click the text frame using a
selection tool.
3. Change text frame options, and then click OK.
These text frame options are available when you’re defining an object style for text boxes. See Object styles.
Add columns to a text frame
You can create columns within a text frame by using the Text Frame Options dialog box.
You cannot create columns of unequal width in a text frame. To create columns of unequal width or height, add threaded text frames side-byside on either a document page or a master page.
1. Using the Selection tool, select a frame, or using the Type tool, click inside the text frame or select text.
2. Choose Object > Text Frame Options.
3. Specify the number of columns, the width of each column, and the spacing between each column (gutter) for the text frame.
4. (Optional) Select Fixed Column Width to maintain column width when you resize the frame. If this option is selected, resizing the frame can
change the number of columns, but not their width.
Fixed column width
A. Original 2-column text frame B. Resized with Fixed Column Width deselected (still 2 columns) C. Resized with Fixed Column Width
selected (4 columns)
5. (Optional) Select Balanced Columns to make text even at the bottom of a multi-column text frame.
199
Before and after balancing columns
Change text frame inset spacing (margins)
1. Using the Selection tool, select a frame, or using the Type tool, click inside the text frame or select text.
2. Choose Object > Text Frame Options.
3. In the Inset Spacing section on the General tab, type the offset distances you want for Top, Left, Bottom, and Right. (Click the Make All
Settings The Same icon to use the same spacing on all sides.)
If the frame you’ve selected has a non-rectangular shape, the Top, Left, Bottom, and Right options are dimmed, and an Inset option is available
instead.
First baseline offset options
To change the first baseline options of a selected text frame, choose Object > Text Frame Options, and click the Baseline Options tab. The
following options appear in the Offset menu under First Baseline:
Ascent The height of the “d” character in the font falls below the top inset of the text frame.
Cap Height The top of uppercase letters touch the top inset of the text frame.
Leading Use the text’s leading value as the distance between the baseline of the first line of text and the top inset of the frame.
X Height The height of the “x” character in the font falls below the top inset of the frame.
Fixed Specify the distance between the baseline of the first line of text and the top inset of the frame.
Min Select a minimum value for the baseline offset. For example, if Leading is selected and you specify a minimum value of 1p, InDesign uses the
leading value only when it’s greater than 1 pica.
If you want to snap the top of the text frame to a grid, choose either Leading or Fixed so that you can control the location of the first baseline of
text in text frames.
Set baseline grids for a text frame
In some cases, you might want to use a baseline grid for a frame rather than for the entire document. Use the Text Frame Options dialog box to
apply a baseline grid to a text frame. When you set up a baseline grid for a text frame, note the following:
The document baseline grid doesn’t appear behind or in front of text frames that use their own baseline grids.
If Grids In Back is selected in Grids Preferences, then frame-based baseline grids take precedence over document-based baseline grids. If
Grids In Back is not selected, then document-based baseline grids take precedence over frame-based baseline grids.
1. Choose View > Grids & Guides > Show Baseline Grid to display all baseline grids, including those in a text frame.
2. Select the text frame or place the insertion in a text frame, and then choose Object > Text Frame Options.
If you want the baseline grid to apply to all frames in a thread (even if one or more threaded frames do not include text), place the insertion
point in text, choose Edit > Select All, and then apply the baseline grid settings in the Text Frame Options dialog box.
3. Click the Baseline Options tab.
4. Under Baseline Grid, select Use Custom Baseline Grid, and do any of the following:
Start Type a value to offset the grid from the top of the page, the top margin of the page, the top of the frame, or the top inset of the frame,
depending on what you choose from the Relative To menu.
Relative To Specify whether you want the baseline grid to begin relative to the top of the page, the top margin of the page, the top of the
text frame, or the top of the text frame inset.
Increment Every Type a value for the spacing between grid lines. In most cases, type a value that equals your body text leading, so that
lines of text align perfectly to the grid.
Color Select a color for the grid lines, or choose (Layer Color) to use the same color as the layer on which the text frame appears.
If you can’t see the baseline grid in a text frame, choose View > Grids & Guides > Show Baseline Grid to make sure that baseline grids aren’t
hidden. If the baseline grid still doesn’t appear, check the threshold for viewing baseline grids in the Grids section of the Preferences dialog
box. To see the grid, you might need to zoom in on the frame or reduce the threshold level.
200
To the top
Determine word and character counts
1. Place the insertion point in a text frame to view counts for the entire thread of frames (the story), or select text to view counts only for the
selected text.
2. Choose Window > Info to display the Info panel.
The Info panel displays the number of characters, words, lines, and paragraphs in a text frame. The position of the insertion point within the text
frame also appears.
To the top
Working with additional languages
You can assign languages to different text. Assigning the appropriate language to text is especially useful for spell-checking and hyphenating. (See
Assign a language to text.)
If you need to work with Asian text, special versions of InDesign are available for Japanese, Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, and Korean.
These versions let you create layout grids and frame grids for composing multibyte characters, and they include a number of features for
formatting multibyte text, along with additional fonts.
Similarly, a special version of InDesign is available for formatting Middle Eastern languages, such as Hebrew, Arabic, Farsi, and Urdu, that use
right-to-left text formatting. This version is called InDesign ME.
For more information on purchasing InDesign ME or an Asian-language version of InDesign, see the Adobe website.
More Help topics
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
201
Adding text to frames
Add text to a document
Paste text
Drag and drop text
Place (import) text
Import Buzzword documents
Link or embed imported text files
To the top
Add text to a document
Add text to a document by typing or by pasting or placing text from a word-processing application. If your word-processing application supports
drag-and-drop, you can also drag text into InDesign frames. For large blocks of text, the Place command is an efficient, versatile way to add text
to your document. InDesign supports a variety of word-processing, spreadsheet, and text file formats.
When you place or paste text, you do not need to create a text frame first; InDesign will create one for you automatically.
When you place text, you can select Show Import Options to determine whether the imported text maintains its styles and formatting. Before you
paste text, you can select All Information or Text Only under Clipboard Handling Preferences to determine whether the pasted text includes
additional information such as swatches and styles.
If the text you import into your document includes pink, green, or another color of highlighting, you likely have one or more composition
preference options turned on. Open the Composition section of the Preferences dialog box, and notice which options are turned on under
Highlight. For example, if the pasted text is formatted with fonts not available, the text is highlighted in pink.
Type text in a document
1. To place the insertion point inside the text frame, do one of the following:
Using the Type tool
, drag to create a new text frame, or click in an existing text frame.
Using a selection tool, double-click inside an existing text frame. The Type tool is selected automatically.
2. Begin typing.
If you created a text frame on a master page, hold down Ctrl+Shift (Windows) or Command+Shift (Mac OS) as you click in the frame on your
document page. This makes a copy of the master page frame on the document page. You can then use the Type tool to add text to the selected
frame.
Type Asian text using inline input
1. Choose Edit > Preferences > Advanced Type (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > Advanced Type (Mac OS).
2. Select Use Inline Input For Non-Latin Text, and then click OK.
You can use a system input method, if available, for adding 2-byte and 4-byte characters. This method is especially useful for entering Asian
characters.
Insert placeholder text
InDesign can add placeholder text that you can easily replace with real text later. Adding placeholder text can give you a more complete sense of
your document’s design.
1. Use the Selection tool to select one or more text frames, or use the Type tool to click in a text frame.
2. Choose Type > Fill With Placeholder Text.
If you add placeholder text to a frame that’s threaded to other frames, the placeholder text is added at the start of the first text frame (if all frames
are empty) or at the end of the existing text (if some text is already in the threaded frames), through to the end of the last threaded frame.
To remove or replace placeholder text, double-click in any frame in the thread, choose Edit > Select All, and then delete the text.
To change the text that is used as placeholder text, create a text file with the text you wish to use, name it Placeholder.txt, and save it in the
application folder.
To the top
Paste text
If the insertion point is not inside a text frame when you paste text into InDesign, a new plain text frame will be created. If the insertion point is
202
inside a text frame, the text will be pasted inside that frame. If you have text selected when you paste, the pasted text will overwrite the selected
text.
Paste text from another application
1. To preserve formatting and information such as styles and index markers, open the Clipboard Handling section of the Preferences dialog
box, and select All Information under Paste. To remove these items and other formatting when pasting, select Text Only.
2. Cut or copy text in another application or in an InDesign document.
3. If you like, select text or click in a text frame. Otherwise, the text will be pasted into its own new frame.
4. Do one of the following:
Choose Edit > Paste. If the pasted text doesn’t include all the formatting, you may need to change settings in the Import Options dialog
box for RTF documents.
Choose Edit > Paste Without Formatting. (Paste Without Formatting is dimmed if you paste text from another application when Text Only
is selected in Clipboard Handling Preferences.)
You can also drag text from another application and drop it into an InDesign document, or you can insert a text file or word-processing file into
an InDesign document directly from Windows Explorer or Mac OS Finder. The text will be added to a new frame. Shift-dragging removes the
formatting. The option you select in the Clipboard Handling section of the Preferences dialog box determines whether information such as index
markers and swatches is preserved.
Adjust spacing automatically when pasting text
When you paste text, spaces can be automatically added or removed, depending on the context. For example, if you cut a word and then paste it
between two words, a space appears before and after the word. If you paste that word at the end of a sentence, before the period, a space is not
added.
1. Choose Edit > Preferences > Type (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > Type (Mac OS).
2. Select Adjust Spacing Automatically When Cutting And Pasting Words, and then click OK.
To the top
Drag and drop text
You can use the mouse to drag and drop text in the Story Editor or in the Layout View. You can even drag text from the Story Editor to the layout
window (or vice versa), or into some dialog boxes such as Find/Change. Dragging the text from a locked or checked-in story copies the text rather
than moves it. You can also copy text or create a new frame when dragging and dropping text.
Jeff Witchel provides a video tutorial about drag and drop at Using InDesign Drag and Drop Text.
1. To enable drag and drop, choose Edit > Preferences > Type (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > Type (Mac OS), select Enable In
Layout View, Enable In Story Editor (InDesign), or Enable In Galley/Story View (InCopy), and then click OK.
2. Select the text that you want to move or copy.
3. Hold the pointer over the selected text until the drag and drop icon
appears, and then drag the text.
As you drag, the selected text remains in place, but a vertical bar indicates where the text will appear when you release the mouse button.
The vertical bar appears in any text frame that you drag the mouse over.
4. Do any of the following:
To drop the text in a new location, position the vertical bar where you would like the text to appear and release the mouse button.
To drop the text in a new frame, hold down Ctrl (Windows) or Command (Mac OS) after you start dragging, and then release the mouse
button before releasing the key.
To drop the text without formatting, hold down Shift after you start dragging, and then release the mouse button before releasing the
key.
To copy the text, hold down Alt (Windows) or Option (Mac OS) after you start dragging, and then release the mouse button before
releasing the key.
You can also use a combination of these modifier keys. For example, to copy unformatted text to a new frame, hold down Alt+Shift+Ctrl
(Windows) or Option+Shift+Command (Mac OS) after you start dragging.
If the text you drop doesn’t have the proper spacing, select the Adjust Spacing Automatically option in Type Preferences.
To the top
Place (import) text
When you place a text or spreadsheet file, you can specify options to determine how the imported text is formatted.
For a video tutorial on importing content into InDesign, see www.adobe.com/go/vid0067. For a video tutorial on placing and flowing text, see
www.adobe.com/go/lrvid4278_id.
1. (Optional) To create links to the files being placed, click File Handling in the Preferences dialog box and select Create Links When Placing
203
Text And Spreadsheet Files.
Selecting this option creates a link to the placed file. You can use the Links panel to update, relink, or remove links to text files. However, if
you format linked text in InDesign, the formatting may not be preserved when you update the link. If this option isn’t selected, imported text
and spreadsheet files are embedded (not linked).
2. Do one of the following:
To create a new frame for the placed text, make sure that no insertion point is present and that no text or frames are selected.
To add text to a frame, use the Type tool
to select text or place the insertion point.
To replace the contents of an existing frame, use a selection tool to select the frame. If the frame is threaded, a loaded text cursor
appears.
If you accidentally replace a text file or graphic using this method, choose Edit > Undo Replace, and then click or drag to create a text
frame.
3. Choose File > Place.
4. Select Replace Selected Item if you want the imported file to replace the contents of a selected frame, to replace selected text, or to be
added to the text frame at the insertion point. Deselect this option to flow the imported file into a new frame.
5. Select Show Import Options, and then double-click the file you want to import.
6. Set import options, and then click OK.
If you haven’t already designated an existing frame to receive text, the pointer becomes a loaded text icon, ready to flow text wherever you click or
drag.
If you receive an alert that the requested filter wasn’t found, you may be trying to place a file from a different word-processing application or from
an earlier version of Microsoft® Word, such as Word 6. Open the file in its original application and save it as RTF, which preserves most
formatting.
If the imported Microsoft Excel document displays red dots in cells, adjust cell size or text attributes so that overset content becomes visible. You
can also place the file as unformatted tabbed text, and then convert the tabbed text to a table.
About import filters
InDesign imports most character and paragraph formatting attributes from text files but ignores most page-layout information, such as margin and
column settings (which you can set in InDesign). Note the following:
InDesign generally imports all formatting information specified in the word-processing application, except information for word-processing
features not available in InDesign.
InDesign can add imported styles to its list of styles for the document. A disk icon
styles to InDesign styles.)
appears next to imported styles. (See Convert Word
The import options appear when you select Show Import Options in the Place dialog box, or when you import an Excel file. If Show Import
Options is deselected, InDesign uses the import options last used for a similar document type. The options you set remain in effect until you
change them.
If InDesign cannot find a filter that recognizes a file by either its file type or file extension, an alert message appears. For best results in
Windows, use the standard extension (such as .doc, .docx, .txt, .rtf, .xls, or .xlsx) for the type of file you’re importing. You may need to open
the file in its original application and save it in a different format, such as RTF or text-only.
For more information on import filters, see the Filters ReadMe PDF file at www.adobe.com/go/lr_indesignfilters_cs5_en.
Microsoft Word and RTF import options
If you select Show Import Options when placing a Word file or an RTF file, you can choose from these options:
Table Of Contents Text Imports the table of contents as part of the text in the story. These entries are imported as text only.
Index Text Imports the index as part of the text in the story. These entries are imported as text only.
Footnotes Imports Word footnotes. Footnotes and references are preserved, but renumbered based on the document’s footnote settings. If the
Word footnotes are not imported properly, try saving the Word document in RTF format and importing the RTF file.
Endnotes Imports endnotes as part of the text at the end of the story.
Use Typographer’s Quotes Ensures that imported text includes left and right quotation marks (“ ”) and apostrophes (’) instead of straight
quotation marks (" ") and apostrophes (').
Remove Styles And Formatting From Text And Tables Removes formatting, such as typeface, type color, and type style, from the imported
text, including text in tables. Paragraph styles and inline graphics aren’t imported if this option is selected.
Preserve Local Overrides When you choose to remove styles and formatting from text and tables, you can select Preserve Local Overrides to
maintain character formatting, such as bold and italics, that is applied to part of a paragraph. Deselect this option to remove all formatting.
Convert Tables To When you choose to remove styles and formatting from text and tables, you can convert tables to either basic, unformatted
tables or unformatted, tab-delimited text.
If you want to import unformatted text and formatted tables, import the text without formatting, and then paste the tables from Word into InDesign.
204
Preserve Styles And Formatting From Text And Tables Preserves the Word document’s formatting in the InDesign or InCopy document. You
can use the other options in the Formatting section to determine how styles and formatting are preserved.
Manual Page Breaks Determines how page breaks from the Word file are formatted in InDesign or InCopy. Select Preserve Page Breaks to use
the same page breaks used in Word, or select Convert To Column Breaks or No Breaks.
Import Inline Graphics Preserves inline graphics from the Word document in InDesign.
Import Unused Styles Imports all styles from the Word document, even if the styles aren’t applied to text.
Convert Bullets & Numbers To Text Imports bullets and numbers as actual characters, preserving the look of the paragraph. However, in
numbered lists, the numbers are not automatically updated when the list items are changed.
Track Changes Selecting this option causes Track Changes markups from the Word document to appear in the InDesign document. In InDesign,
view track changes in Story Editor.
Import Styles Automatically Imports styles from the Word document into the InDesign or InCopy document. If a yellow warning triangle appears
next to Style Name Conflicts, then one or more paragraph or character styles from the Word document have the same name as an InDesign style.
To determine how these style name conflicts are resolved, select an option from the Paragraph Style Conflicts and Character Style Conflicts menu.
Choosing Use InDesign Style Definition causes the imported style text to be formatted based on the InDesign style. Choosing Redefine InDesign
Style causes the imported style text to be formatted based on the Word style, and changes existing InDesign text formatted with the Word style.
Choosing Auto Rename causes the imported Word styles to be renamed. For example, if InDesign and Word have a Subheading style, the
imported Word style is renamed Subheading_wrd_1 when Auto Rename is selected.
Note: InDesign converts paragraph and character styles but not bulleted and numbered list styles.
Customize Style Import Lets you use the Style Mapping dialog box to select which InDesign style should be used for each Word style in the
imported document.
Save Preset Stores the current Word Import Options for later reuse. Specify the import options, click Save Preset, type the name of the preset,
and click OK. The next time you import a Word style, you can select the preset you created from the Preset menu. Click Set As Default if you want
the selected preset to be used as the default for future imports of Word documents.
Text-file import options
If you select Show Import Options when placing a text file, you can choose from these options:
Character Set Specifies the computer language character set, such as ANSI, Unicode UTF8, or Windows CE, that was used to create the text file.
The default selection is the character set that corresponds to the default language and platform of InDesign or InCopy.
Platform Specifies whether the file was created in Windows or Mac OS.
Set Dictionary To Specifies the dictionary to be used by the imported text.
Extra Carriage Returns Specifies how extra paragraph returns are imported. Choose Remove At End Of Every Line or Remove Between
Paragraphs.
Replace Replaces the specified number of spaces with a tab.
Use Typographer’s Quotes Ensures that imported text includes left and right quotation marks (“ ”) and apostrophes (’) instead of straight
quotation marks (" ") and apostrophes (').
Microsoft Excel import options
You can choose from these options when importing an Excel file:
Sheet Specifies the worksheet you want to import.
View Specifies whether to import any stored custom or personal views, or to ignore the views.
Cell Range Specifies the range of cells, using a colon (:) to designate the range (such as A1:G15). If there are named ranges within the
worksheet, these names appear in the Cell Range menu.
Import Hidden Cells Not Saved In View Includes any cells formatted as hidden cells in the Excel spreadsheet.
Table Specifies how the spreadsheet information appears in the document.
Formatted Table InDesign tries to preserve the same formatting used in Excel, although the formatting of text within each cell may not be
preserved. If the spreadsheet is linked rather than embedded, updating the link will override any formatting applied to the table in
InDesign.
Unformatted Table The table is imported without any formatting from the spreadsheet. When this option is selected, you can apply a
table style to the imported table. If you format text using paragraph and characters styles, the formatting is preserved even if you update
the link to the spreadsheet.
Unformatted Tabbed Text The table is imported as tab-delimited text, which you can then convert to a table in InDesign or InCopy.
Formatted Only Once InDesign preserves the same formatting used in Excel during the initial import. If the spreadsheet is linked rather
than embedded, formatting changes made to the spreadsheet are ignored in the linked table when you update the link. This option isn’t
available in InCopy.
Table Style Applies the table style you specify to the imported document. This option is available only if Unformatted Table is selected.
Cell Alignment Specifies the cell alignment for the imported document.
Include Inline Graphics Preserves inline graphics from the Excel document in InDesign.
Number Of Decimal Places To Include Specifies the number of decimal places of spreadsheet figures.
Use Typographer’s Quotes Ensures that imported text includes left and right quotation marks (“ ”) and apostrophes (’) instead of straight
quotation marks (" ") and apostrophes (').
205
Tagged-text import options
You can import (or export) a text file capable of taking advantage of InDesign formatting capabilities by using the tagged text format. Tagged-text
files are text files containing information describing the formatting you want InDesign to apply. Properly tagged text can describe almost anything
that can appear in an InDesign story, including all paragraph-level attributes, character-level attributes, and special characters.
For information on specifying tags, view the Tagged Text PDF at www.adobe.com/go/learn_id_taggedtext_cs5_en (PDF).
The following options are available when you import a tagged-text file and select Show Import Options in the Place dialog box.
Use Typographer’s Quotes Ensures that imported text includes left and right quotation marks (“ ”) and apostrophes (’) instead of straight
quotation marks (" ") and apostrophes (').
Remove Text Formatting Removes formatting, such as typeface, type color, and type style, from the imported text.
Resolve Text Style Conflicts Using Specifies which character or paragraph style to apply when there is a conflict between the style in the
tagged-text file and the style in the InDesign document. Select Publication Definition to use the definition that already exists for that style in the
InDesign document. Select Tagged File Definition to use the style as defined in the tagged text.
Show List Of Problem Tags Before Place Displays a list of unrecognized tags. If a list appears, you can choose to cancel or continue the import.
If you continue, the file may not look as expected.
Save Word or RTF import options as presets
1. When placing a Word or RTF file, make sure that Show Import Options is selected, and choose Open.
2. In the Import Options dialog box, specify the desired settings.
3. Click Save Preset, type a preset name, and click OK.
4. (Optional) Click Set As Default to use the preset each time you import a file of that file type.
You can then select custom presets from the Preset menu in the Import Options dialog box whenever you open a Word or RTF file.
To the top
Import Buzzword documents
Buzzword is a web-based text editor that lets users create and store text files on a web server. In InDesign CS5, you can import and export text
from Buzzword documents.
When you import a Buzzword document, a URL-based link is created to the Buzzword document on the server. When the Buzzword document is
updated outside InDesign, you can use the Links panel to update the imported version in InDesign. However, doing so removes any changes to
the Buzzword text you’ve made in InDesign.
Note: The Acrobat.com Buzzword application is available only in English, French, and German.
1. Choose File > Place From Buzzword.
2. If you haven’t already signed in to CS Live, click Sign In, specify your e-mail address and password, and then click Sign In.
Once you sign in, the Place Buzzword Documents dialog box displays a list of the Buzzword documents you can import.
3. Select one or more documents you want to import, or paste the URL of the Buzzword document into the Paste URL field.
4. Select any of the following options, and then click OK.
Show Import Options If you select this option, the Buzzword Import Options dialog box appears before you place the file.
Replace Selected Item Select this option to replace the object currently selected in the document.
Link To Document Select this option to create a link between the Buzzword document and the placed text. If you establish a link and
update the Buzzword document, the Links panel indicates that the file has been modified. If you update the link, the text in InDesign is
updated. However, formatting changes you’ve made to this text in InDesign are lost.
5. If you selected Show Import Options, specify settings in the Buzzword Import Options dialog box.
This dialog box includes most of the same options found in the RTF Import Options dialog box. See Microsoft Word and RTF import options.
Buzzword currently does not have a styles feature, so none of the style options are valid at this time.
6. With the loaded text cursor, click or drag to create a text frame.
To the top
Link or embed imported text files
By default, text you place in InDesign is not linked to the original text file. However, if you select the Create Links When Placing Text And
Spreadsheet Files option in File Handling preferences before you place a file, the name of the text file appears in the Links panel. You can use the
Links panel to update and manage the file. When you update a linked text file, any editing or formatting changes applied within InDesign are lost.
Because of this risk, linked text files are not automatically updated when the original file is edited. However, you can easily use the Links panel to
update content or to unlink (embed) the file.
1. Do one of the following:
To apply this change to a document, open the document.
206
To apply this change to any new document you create, close all documents.
2. Choose Edit > Preferences > File Handling (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > File Handling (Mac OS).
3. To create links in placed files, select Create Links When Placing Text And Spreadsheet Files. If this option is turned on, use the Links panel
to update, relink, or remove links. If this option is turned off, text files are embedded (not linked).
To unlink (embed) a linked text file, select the file in the Links panel, and then choose Unlink from the Links panel menu.
More Help topics
Importing Content video
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
207
Threading text
Thread text frames
Cut or delete threaded text frames
Flow text manually or automatically
Use Smart Text Reflow
To the top
Thread text frames
The text in a frame can be independent of other frames, or it can flow between connected frames. To flow text between connected frames (also
called text boxes), you must first connect the frames. Connected frames can be on the same page or spread, or on another page in the document.
The process of connecting text among frames is called threading text. It is also referred to as linking text frames or linking text boxes.
Each text frame contains an in port and an out port, which are used to make connections to other text frames. An empty in port or out port
indicates the beginning or end of a story, respectively. An arrow in a port indicates that the frame is linked to another frame. A red plus sign (+) in
an out port indicates that there is more text in the story to be placed but no more text frames in which to place it. This remaining unseen text is
called overset text.
Threaded frames
A. In port at beginning of story B. Out port indicating thread to next frame C. Text thread D. In port indicating thread from previous frame E. Out
port indicating overset text
Choose View > Extras > Show Text Threads to see visual representatives of threaded frames. You can thread text frames whether or not they
contain text.
Add a new frame to the thread
1. Using the Selection tool , select a text frame, and then click the in port or out port to load a text icon.
Clicking the in port lets you add a frame before the selected frame; clicking the out port lets you add a frame after the selected frame.
2. Position the loaded text icon
where you want a new text frame to appear, and then click or drag to create a new text frame.
When the loaded text icon is active, you can perform many actions, including turning pages, creating new pages, and zooming in and out. If
you start to thread two frames and change your mind, you can cancel the thread by clicking any tool in the Toolbox. No text will be lost.
Add an existing frame to the thread
1. Using the Selection tool, select a text frame, and then click the in port or the out port to load a text icon.
2. Position the loaded text icon over the frame you want to connect to. The loaded text icon changes to the thread icon.
Adding existing frame to thread
3. Click inside the second frame to thread it to the first.
208
When you thread a frame grid to a plain text frame or to another frame grid with different grid settings, the text frame of the threaded frame is
redefined to match the settings of the frame grid threaded from
You can add automatic “continued on” or “continued from” jump lines that track threaded stories as they jump from frame to frame. (See Add
automatic page numbers for story jumps.)
Add a frame inside a sequence of threaded frames
1. Using the Selection tool, click the out port at the point in the story where you want to add a frame. When you release the mouse button, a
loaded text icon appears.
2. Drag to create a new frame, or select a different text frame. InDesign threads the frame into the series of linked frames containing the story.
Adding frame inside a thread (top) and result (bottom)
Unthread text frames
When you unthread a text frame, you break the connection between the frame and all subsequent frames in the thread. Any text that previously
appeared in the frames becomes overset text (no text is deleted). All subsequent frames are empty.
Using the Selection tool, do one of the following:
Double-click an in port or out port to break the connection between frames.
Click an in port or an out port that represents a thread to another frame. For example, in a two-framed thread, click either the out port of
the first frame or the in port of the second frame. Position the loaded text icon over the previous or next frame to display the unthread
icon . Click in the frame you want to remove from the thread.
Removing frame from thread
To break one story into two stories, cut the text that needs to go in the second story, break the connection between the frames, and then paste
the text into the first frame of the second story.
To the top
Cut or delete threaded text frames
Whenever you cut or delete text frames, no text is deleted; the text remains in the thread.
Cut a frame from a thread
You can cut a frame from a thread and paste the frame elsewhere. The frame is removed with a copy of the text, but no text is removed from the
original story. When you cut and paste a series of threaded text frames at once, the pasted frames maintain their connection to each other, but
lose connection to any other frames in the original story.
1. Using the Selection tool, select one or more frames (Shift-click to select multiple objects).
2. Choose Edit > Cut. The frame disappears, and any text contained in it flows to the next frame in the story. When you cut the last frame in a
story, the text is stored as overset text in the previous frame.
3. If you want to use the disconnected frame elsewhere in your document, go to the page where you want the disconnected text to appear and
choose Edit > Paste.
209
Delete a frame from a thread
When you delete a text frame that is part of a thread, no text is deleted: it is overset or it flows into the next frame in succession. If the text frame
isn’t connected to any other frame, the frame and text are deleted.
1. To select the text frame, do one of the following:
Using a selection tool, click the frame.
Using the Type tool, hold down Ctrl (Windows) or Command (Mac OS), and then click the frame.
2. Press Backspace or Delete.
To the top
Flow text manually or automatically
Your pointer becomes a loaded text icon
after you place text or click an in port or out port. The loaded text icon lets you flow text onto your
pages. By holding down a modifier key, you can determine how the text is flowed. The loaded text icon changes appearance, depending on where
it is placed.
When you position the loaded text icon over a text frame, parentheses enclose the icon
or grid snapping point, the black pointer becomes white
. When you position the loaded text icon next to a guide
.
You can flow text using four methods:
Method
What it does
Manual text flow
Adds text one frame at a time. You must reload the text icon to
continue flowing text.
by holding down Alt (Windows) or Option
Semi-autoflow
(Mac OS) when you click.
Works like manual text flow, except that the pointer becomes a
loaded text icon each time the end of a frame is reached, until all
text is flowed into your document.
Autoflow
by Shift-clicking.
Fixed-page autoflow
by holding down Shift+Alt (Windows) or
Shift+Option (Mac OS) when you click.
Adds pages and frames until all text is flowed into your
document.
Flows all text into the document, adding frames as necessary
without adding pages. Any remaining text is overset.
To flow text in frames, InDesign detects horizontal or vertical type. When text is flowed with semi-automatic or automatic flow, it is flowed
according to the frame type and direction set in the Story panel. The icon gives users visual feedback of which direction the text will flow.
For a video tutorial on placing and flowing text, see www.adobe.com/go/lrvid4278_id.
Flow text manually
1. Use the Place command to select a file, or click the out port
of a selected text frame.
2. Do one of the following:
Position the loaded text icon anywhere within an existing frame or path, and then click. The text flows into the frame and any other
frames linked to it. Note that text always starts filling the frame at the top of the leftmost column, even when you click in a different
column.
Position the loaded text icon in a column to create a text frame the width of that column. The top of the frame appears where you click.
Drag the loaded text icon to create a text frame the width and height of the area you define.
3. If there is more text to be placed, click the out port and repeat steps 1 and 2 until all text has been placed.
Note: When you place text in a frame that is threaded to other frames, text autoflows through the threaded frames, regardless of the text flow
method you choose.
Flow text semi-automatically
With a loaded text icon, Alt-click (Windows) or Option-click (Mac OS) a page or frame.
The text flows one column at a time, as in manual flow, but the loaded text icon automatically reloads after each column is placed.
Flow text automatically
With the loaded text icon displayed, hold down Shift as you do one of the following:
Click the loaded text icon in a column to create a frame the width of that column. InDesign creates new text frames and new document
pages until all text is added to the document.
210
Click inside a text frame that is based on a master text frame. The text autoflows into the document page frame and generates new
pages as needed, using the master frame’s attributes. (See About masters, stacking order, and layers.)
Flow text automatically without adding pages
With a loaded text icon, hold down Shift+Alt (Windows) or Shift+Option (Mac OS).
To the top
Use Smart Text Reflow
You can use the Smart Text Reflow feature to add or remove pages when you’re typing or editing text. This feature is useful when you’re using
InDesign as a text editor and you want a new page to be added whenever you type more text than can fit on the current page. It’s also useful in
avoiding overset text or empty pages for situations in which the text flow changes due to editing text, showing or hiding conditional text, or making
other changes to the text flow.
By default, Smart Text Reflow is limited to master text frames — text frames that are on a master page. If the document includes facing pages,
master text frames must appear on both left and right master pages, and the master text frames must be threaded for Smart Text Reflow to work.
You can change settings to allow pages to be added or removed when working in text frames that aren’t based on master pages. However, a text
frame must be threaded to at least one other text frame on a different page for Smart Text Reflow to work.
Smart Text Reflow settings appear in Type preferences. These settings apply to the current document. To change default settings for all new
documents, close all documents and specify the settings.
1. Choose Edit > Preferences > Type (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > Type (Mac OS).
2. Select Smart Text Reflow.
3. Select any of the following options and then click OK.
Add Pages To Use this option to determine where the new page is created. For example, suppose you have a three-page document with text
frames on the first two pages and a full-page graphic on the third page. If you’re typing to the end of page two, you can determine whether the
new page is added before or after the full-page graphic on the third page. Choose End Of Story to add a new page after the second page.
Choose End Of Document to add a new page after the page with the full-page graphic.
In a document with multiple sections, you can choose End Of Section to add the page at the end of the section.
Limit To Master Text Frames If this option is turned off, you can also add or remove pages when editing text frames that aren’t based on master
pages. To prevent unwanted text reflow from occurring, Smart Text Reflow takes effect only if the text frame you’re editing is threaded to at least
one other text frame on a different page.
note: When using Smart Text Reflow in text frames that aren’t based on master pages, pages are added with full-page, single-column text frames,
regardless of the attributes of the text frame to which the new frame is threaded.
Preserve Facing-Page Spreads This option determines whether facing-page spreads are preserved when text is reflowed in the middle of a
document. If this option is selected when text reflows in the middle of the document, a new two-page spread is added. If this option is not
selected, a single new page is added, and subsequent pages are “shuffled.”
If your layout includes design elements specific to the right or left side of the spread, turn on this option. If your left and right pages are
interchangeable, you can turn off this option. This option is dimmed if the document does not have facing pages.
Delete Empty Pages Select this option to delete pages when you edit text or hide conditions. Pages are deleted only if the emptied text frame is
the only object on the page.
To see how Smart Text Reflow can let you use InDesign as a text editor, create a document with Facing Pages turned off and Master Text
Frame selected. In Type preferences, make sure that Smart Text Reflow and Delete Empty Pages are selected. On the first page, hold down
Ctrl+Shift (Windows) or Command+Shift (Mac OS), and click the master text frame to override it. When you type enough text to fill this text
frame, a new page and text frame is added automatically. If you delete enough text, a page is removed.
Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
211
Articles (CS5.5)
Introduction to articles
Create an article and add content to it
Add all page items in a document to an article
Managing articles
Include articles for export
To the top
Introduction to articles
Articles provide an easy way to create relationships among page items. These relationships can be used to define the content to be exported to
EPUB, HTML, or Accessible PDFs; and to define the order of the content. You can create articles from a combination of existing page items within
a layout, including images, graphics, or text. Once an article has been created, page items can be added, removed, or reordered. Articles can be
created manually by dragging one or more page items to an article in the Articles panel.
You can also add bulk content to an article. Adding selected content to selected article, or adding an entire document content to an article is
supported.
Note: The XML structure panel provides another mechanism to decide the order of the content to be exported to the ePub, HTML, and Accessible
PDF exports workflows. The Articles panel is designed to be simpler, easier to use, and more accessible, for people without XML skills. However,
the ability to use the XML structure panel has not been removed; it is now an option alongside the use of the Articles panel during the export
process. See Structuring documents for XML.
To the top
Create an article and add content to it
1. Choose Window > Articles to open the Articles panel.
2. Select the page items to add to the article.
To create an empty article, don’t select a page item in the layout.
3. Do one of the following:
Choose New Article from the Articles panel menu.
Click Create New Article
at the bottom of the Articles panel.
Drag story or page element to the Articles panel.
4. In the New Article dialog box, enter a name for the article.
5. Select Include When Exporting to add the article to the EPUB/HTML export output.
To the top
Add all page items in a document to an article
To add all the page items to an article:
1. Choose Window > Articles to open the Articles panel.
2. Select an article to add the items to. If you don’t select an article, a new article is created.
3. Press Command (Mac OS) or Ctrl (Windows) and then click the
in the Articles panel.
4. If a New Article dialog box opens, enter a name for the article.
5. Select Include When Exporting to add the article to the EPUB/HTML export.
If you’ve selected an article, choose Add Document Content to Selected Articles from the articles panel menu.
To the top
Managing articles
You can manage articles using the Articles panel. You can drag page elements into the Articles panel to add them to an article. Drag items in the
Articles panel to change the order, or move them from one article to another.
The Articles panel pop-up menu also provides options to manage content.
212
To the top
Include articles for export
You can create articles and select which articles to include while exporting to EPUB or HTML. By default, all articles are selected for export.
To include an article while exporting, in the Articles panel, select the article and do one of the following:
Select the check box next to the article.
Choose Article Options from the Articles panel pop-up menu and then select Include When Exporting.
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
213
Wrapping text around objects
Wrap text around objects
Change the shape of a text wrap
Apply text wrap on master page items
Wrapping text around anchored objects
Suppress text wrap on hidden layers
Justify text next to wrap objects
Ignore text wrap in a text frame
To the top
Wrap text around objects
You can wrap text around any object, including text frames, imported images, and objects you draw in InDesign. When you apply a text wrap to an
object, InDesign creates a boundary around the object that repels text. The object that text wraps around is called the wrap object. Text wrap is
also referred to as runaround text.
Keep in mind that text wrap options apply to the object being wrapped, not the text itself. Any change to the wrap boundary will remain if you move
the wrap object near a different text frame.
For a video tutorial on using text wrap, see www.adobe.com/go/lrvid4280_id.
InDesign Magazine provides an article about text wrap at Take Control of Text Wrap.
Wrap text around simple objects
1. To display the Text Wrap panel, choose Window > Text Wrap.
2. Using the Selection tool
or Direct Selection tool
, select the object you want to wrap text around.
3. In the Text Wrap panel, click the desired wrap shape:
Wrap Around Bounding Box
Creates a rectangular wrap whose width and height are determined by the bounding box of the selected object, including any offset
distances you specify.
Wrap Around Object Shape
Also known as contour wrapping, creates a text wrap boundary that is the same shape as the frame you’ve selected (plus or minus any
offset distances you specify).
Wrap Around Bounding Box setting (left) compared to Wrap Around Object Shape setting (right)
Jump Object
Keeps text from appearing in any available space to the right or left of the frame.
Jump To Next Column
Forces the surrounding paragraph to the top of the next column or text frame.
4. From the Wrap To menu, specify whether the wrap is applied to a specific side (such as the right side or largest area) or towards or away
from the spine. (If you don’t see the Wrap To menu, choose Show Options from the Text Wrap panel menu.)
This option is available only if you selected Wrap Around Bounding Box or Wrap Around Object Shape.
214
Wrap To options
A. Both right and left sides B. Side towards spine C. Side away from spine
5. Specify offset values. Positive values move the wrap away from the frame; negative values move the wrap within the frame.
If you can’t get the text to wrap around an image, make sure that Ignore Text Wrap isn’t selected for the text frame that doesn’t wrap. Also, if Text
Wrap Only Affects Text Beneath is selected in Composition preferences, make sure that the text frame is beneath the wrap object.
Text frames inside a group aren’t affected by a text wrap you apply to the group.
To set default text wrap options for all new objects, deselect all objects and then specify text wrap settings.
Wrap text around imported images
To wrap text around an imported image, save the clipping path in the application where you created the image, if possible. When you place the
image in InDesign, select the Apply Photoshop Clipping Path option in the Image Import Options dialog box.
1. To display the Text Wrap panel, choose Window > Text Wrap.
2. Select an imported image, and in the Text Wrap panel, click Wrap Around Object Shape
.
3. Specify offset values. Positive values move the wrap away from the frame; negative values move the wrap within the frame.
4. Choose Show Options from the Text Wrap panel menu to display additional options.
5. From the Type menu, choose a contour option:
Bounding Box
Wraps text to the rectangle formed by the image’s height and width.
Detect Edges
Generates the boundary using automatic edge detection. (To adjust edge detection, select the object and choose Object > Clipping Path >
Options.)
Alpha Channel
Generates the boundary from an alpha channel saved with the image. If this option isn’t available, no alpha channels were saved with the
image. InDesign recognizes the default transparency in Adobe Photoshop (the checkerboard pattern) as an alpha channel; you must
otherwise use Photoshop to delete the background or create and save one or more alpha channels with the image.
Photoshop Path
Generates the boundary from a path saved with the image. Choose Photoshop Path, and then choose a path from the Path menu. If the
Photoshop Path option isn’t available, no named paths were saved with the image.
Graphic Frame
Generates the boundary from the container frame.
Same As Clipping
Generates the boundary from the imported image’s clipping path.
6. To let text appear inside “holes” of an image, such as the inside of a tire image, select Include Inside Edges.
Include Inside Edges off (left) and on (right)
215
Create an inverted text wrap
1. Using the Selection tool
or Direct Selection tool
, select an object, such as a compound path, that will allow text to wrap inside it.
2. To display the Text Wrap panel, choose Window > Text Wrap.
3. Apply a text wrap to an object, and select the Invert option. Invert is commonly used with the Object Shape text wrap.
Object Shape text wrap (left) and with Invert option selected (right)
To the top
Change the shape of a text wrap
1. Using the Direct Selection tool , select an object that has a text wrap applied to it. If the text wrap boundary is the same shape as the
object, the boundary is superimposed on the object.
2. Do any of the following:
To uniformly change the distance between the text and wrap object, specify offset values in the Text Wrap panel.
To edit the text wrap boundary, use the Pen tool
and Direct Selection tool.
Editing text wrap boundary
If you manually change the shape of a text wrap path, User-Modified Path is selected in the Type menu and remains dimmed in the menu. This
indicates that the path of the shape has changed.
If you want to use the original clipping path rather than the edited text wrap boundary, choose Same As Clipping from the Type menu in the
Text Wrap panel.
To the top
Apply text wrap on master page items
If the Apply To Master Page Only option is selected, you must override a master page item on a document page to wrap text around it. If this
option is deselected, text on both master pages and document pages can wrap around the master page items without the master page items
being overridden.
1. Select the object on the master page.
2. From the Text Wrap panel menu, select or deselect Apply To Master Page Only.
This option is available only when an object on a master page is selected and has a wrap applied to it.
To the top
Wrapping text around anchored objects
If you apply text wrap to an anchored object, the wrap affects the lines of text in the story that follow the anchor marker. However, the wrap
doesn’t affect the line of text that includes the anchor marker or any lines before it.
When you paste an object as an inline object, its text wrap boundaries are preserved.
To the top
Suppress text wrap on hidden layers
When you hide a layer that contains a wrap object, the text frames on other layers wrap around the object, unless you select the Suppress Text
Wrap When Layer Is Hidden option in the Layer Options dialog box. If this option is selected, hiding a layer can cause text on other layers to be
recomposed.
216
1. In the Layers panel, double-click the layer that contains the wrap object.
2. Select Suppress Text Wrap When Layer Is Hidden.
To the top
Justify text next to wrap objects
When you specify how text is justified next to wrap objects, the change applies to the entire document.
1. Choose Edit > Preferences > Composition (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > Composition (Mac OS).
2. Select one of the following options, and click OK:
Justify Text Next To An Object
Justifies text next to wrap objects that separate a column of text. This setting takes effect only when the text wrap completely interrupts lines
of text so that each line is divided into two or more parts.
Note: Text adjacent to an object is aligned to the left or top of the object when set to Align Left, to the right or bottom of the object when set
to Align Right, or evenly aligned to both edges when set to Full Justify.
Justify Text Next To An Object
Skip By Leading
Moves wrapped text to the next available leading increment below a text-wrapped object. If this option isn’t selected, lines of text may jump
below an object in a way that prevents text from lining up with text in neighboring columns or text frames. Selecting this option is especially
useful when you want to make sure that the text aligns to the baseline grid.
Text Wrap Only Affects Text Beneath
Text stacked above the wrapped object isn’t affected by the text wrap. Stacking order is determined by layer position in the Layers panel
and by the stacking order of objects on a layer.
To the top
Ignore text wrap in a text frame
In some cases, you’ll want to turn off text wrap in a text frame. For example, you may want one text frame to wrap around an image, but you may
want a different text frame to appear within the image.
1. Select the text frame, and choose Object > Text Frame Options.
2. Select Ignore Text Wrap, and click OK.
Compound paths and shapes
About masks and alpha channels
Master pages
217
Arabic and Hebrew features | CC, CS6
Adobe World-Ready Composers
Text direction
Story direction
Automatic Kashida insertion
Ligatures
Diacritical marks
Copy-paste from Microsoft Word
Default fonts
Legacy font support
Digit Types
Hyphenation
Find and replace
Glyphs
Justification Alternates
Special Middle East characters insertion
Table direction
Binding directions
Right to Left writing preferences
Page and chapter numbering
Writing direction in Gallery view and Story Editor
Diacritical coloring
New and improved features for working in Arabic and Hebrew are available in the Middle East and North African edition of this software.
To the top
Adobe World-Ready Composers
Adobe World-Ready composers enable you to create content in middle-eastern languages. You can type in, and mix between, Arabic, Hebrew,
English, French, German, Russian, and other Latin languages.
You can choose between available composers from the Paragraph panel menu (Windows > Paragraph > panel menu). For example, in InDesign,
you can use the Adobe World-Ready Paragraph Composer. Or, in Illustrator, you can use the Middle Eastern Single-line Composer.
Adobe World-Ready Composers
218
You can also save your files with Arabic and Hebrew names.
To the top
Text direction
To create content in Arabic and Hebrew, enable right-to-left (RTL) text direction. While RTL is the default direction of text, many documents also
include left-to-right (LTR) text. You can seamlessly switch between the two directions.
Select the paragraph direction from the Paragraph panel.
Paragraph direction selection
If you have a mix of languages in the same paragraph, you can specify the direction of text at a character level. Also, to insert dates or numbers,
specify the direction of text at the character level.
From the Character panel menu, choose Character Direction and then select a direction.
Character direction
To the top
Story direction
When you're working with Arabic and Hebrew languages, the story generally flows from the right to the left. The first column must be on right side
of the frame, and subsequent columns are added to the left. If your layout contains mixed content, then different stories need a different direction.
From the Story panel (Window > Type & Tables > Story), click a story direction.
Story direction
To the top
Automatic Kashida insertion
In Arabic, text is justified by adding Kashidas. Kashidas are added to arabic characters to lengthen them. Whitespace is not modified. Use
automatic Kashida insertion to justify paragraphs of arabic text.
Select the paragraph and from the Paragraph panel (Window > Type & Tables > Paragraph), choose a setting from the Insert Kashida drop-down
list. The options available are: None, Short, Medium, Long, or Stylistic. Kashidas are only inserted if the paragraph is justified. This setting is not
applicable for paragraphs that have alignment settings.
To apply Kashidas to a group of characters, select the characters and choose Kashidas from the Character panel menu.
219
Automatic Kashidas
To the top
Ligatures
You can automatically apply ligatures to character pairs in Arabic and Hebrew. Ligatures are typographic replacement characters for certain letter
pairs if they are available in a given Open Type font.
When you choose Ligatures from the Character panel menu or Control panel menu, a standard ligature defined in the font is produced.
1. Select text.
2. Choose Ligatures from the Character panel menu or the Control panel menu.
However, some Open Type fonts include more ornate, optional ligatures, which can be produced when you choose Discretionary Ligatures. These
ligatures are found at Character panel > OpenType > Discretionary Ligatures.
Enable automatic ligatures
To the top
Diacritical marks
In the Arabic script, a diacritic or a diacritical mark is a glyph used to indicate consonant length or short vowels. A diacritical mark is placed above
or below the script. For better styling of text, or improved readability of certain fonts, you can control the vertical or horizontal position of diacritical
marks:
1. Select text that has diacritical marks
2. In the Character panel, modify the position of the diacritic marks relative to the script. Values you can change are, Adjust Horizontal Diacritic
Position, and the Adjust Vertical Diacritic Position.
220
Change the position of diacritical marks
To the top
Copy-paste from Microsoft Word
You can copy text from Microsoft Word, and paste it directly into a document. The pasted text's alignment and direction is automatically set to that
of the arabic or hebrew text.
To the top
Default fonts
When you install a Middle Eastern or North African version, the default typing font is set to the installation-specific language, by default. For
example, if you have installed the English/Arabic-enabled version, the default typing font is set to Adobe Arabic. Similarly, if you have installed the
English/Hebrew-enabled version, the default typing font is set to Adobe Hebrew (or Myriad Hebrew in Photoshop).
To the top
Legacy font support
Fonts that have been traditionally used (for example, AXT fonts) can continue to be used in this release of the software. However, it is
recommended that newer Open Type fonts be used for text-based elements.
Missing Glyph Protection (Edit > Preferences > Advanced Type) is enabled by default. Text is handled automatically, where glyphs are not
available in the font you are using.
To the top
Digit Types
When you are working in Arabic or Hebrew, you can select the type of digits you want to use. You can choose between Arabic, Hindi, and Farsi.
By default, in Arabic, the Hindi version is auto-selected, and in case of Hebrew, the Arabic type digits are selected. However, you can switch to
Arabic digits, if necessary:
1. Select the digits in the text typed.
2. In the Character panel (Ctrl + T), use the Digits list to select the font that the digits must appear in.
You can ensure that Arabic digits are used by enabling the Use Native Digits when typing in Arabic Scripts option. To use this option, choose Edit
> Preferences > Advanced Type.
221
Digit type selection
To the top
Hyphenation
Sentences that have more words that can fit into one line of text automatically wrap into the next line. The type of text justification when wrapping
occurs sometimes causes unnecessary spaces to appear in the line that are not aesthetically pleasing or linguistically correct. Hyphenation
enables you to split the word at the end of a line, using a hyphen. This fragmentation causes the sentence to wrap into the next line in a better
way.
Mixed text: The Kashida insertion feature affects how hyphenation occurs in mixed text. When enabled, Kashidas are inserted where applicable,
and non-Arabic text is not hyphenated. When the Kashida feature is disabled, only non-Arabic text is considered for hyphenation.
Hebrew text: Hyphenation is allowed. To enable hyphenation and customize settings, choose Paragraph panel > Panel menu > Hyphenation
Settings.
Hyphenation options
To the top
Find and replace
Arabic and Hebrew users can perform full text search and replace. In addition to searching and replacing simple text, you can also search and
replace text with specific characteristics. These characteristics can include diacritical marks, Kashidas, special characters (for example, Alef), digits
in different languages (for example, digits in Hindi), and more.
To perform text find-and-replace:
InDesign: Edit > Find/Change
In InDesign, you can use the Transliterate tab (Edit > Find/Change) to find and replace digits between Arabic, Hindi, and Farsi. For example, you
can find digits typed in Hindi and convert them to Arabic.
To the top
Glyphs
222
Arabic and Hebrew users can apply glyphs from the default character set. However, to browse, select, and apply a glyph from the default
character set or a different language set, use the Glyphs panel:
InDesign: Window > Type & Tables > Glyphs
Illustrator: Window > Type > Glyphs
Browse, select, and apply glyphs
To the top
Justification Alternates
A font can have alternative shapes of certain letters of the alphabet. These variations of the font face for some letters are generally available for
stylistic or calligraphy purposes. In rare cases, justification alternates are used to justify and align paragraphs for specific needs.
Justification alternates can be turned on at a paragraph level, where alternates are used wherever possible. You can also turn on or off this feature
at a character level. Justification alternates are available only in those fonts that have this feature integrated. Therefore, the option to turn them on
or off is available only for supported fonts.
Arabic fonts that contain justification alternates: Adobe Arabic, Myriad Arabic, and Adobe Naskh. Hebrew fonts that contain justification alternates:
Adobe Hebrew and Myriad Hebrew.
InDesign
Paragraph-level: Window > Paragraph panel > panel menu > Justification, and then choose an option from the Justification list.
Character-level: Window > Character panel > panel menu > Justification Alternate option.
Photoshop
Character-level: Window > Character panel > Justification Alternates checkbox.
To the top
Special Middle East characters insertion
Some characters in Arabic and Hebrew are difficult to insert in text. Also, Arabic and Hebrew keyboard layouts make it difficult to type or include
these characters. To insert characters like a Hebrew apostrophe (Geresh) or Maqaf, select a character from Character panel > panel menu >
Insert Special ME Character.
Insert a special ME character
223
To the top
Table direction
Arabic and Hebrew users can set the direction of a table inserted in a document. Accordingly the order of cells and columns, default language, and
the alignment of text is set. For an Arabic user, the rightmost column is the first column, and any additional columns are added beyond the
leftmost column of the table. Table direction is also supported in the Story Editor (Ctrl + Y).
To set the direction of a new table:
1. Click Table > Insert Table
2. In the Insert Table dialog box, choose from the Direction list to select the table direction.
To change the direction of an existing table:
1. Place the cursor inside a table
2. Open the Table panel (Shift + F9), and click the Left-to-Right Table or Right-to-Left Table icons to set the direction of the table.
For Right-to-Left tables, the Arabic and North African versions default to Arabic language. The Hebrew version is set to Hebrew language. For
Left-to-Right tables, the Arabic and Hebrew versions default to English language. The North African version defaults to French.
To the top
Binding directions
Binding direction determines the edge along which a book is bound. Books written in a left-to-right language are left-bound. Documents written in
right-to-left language are bound along the rightmost edge of the book.
Page layout of a right-bound book
To the top
Right to Left writing preferences
Neutral characters
The direction of some characters in Arabic and Hebrew can appear ambiguous. Lack of clarity about the direction of characters can cause
confusion in the direction and order of strings. To ensure that the direction of such characters is clear and unambiguous:
1. Click Edit > Preferences > Right to Left
2. Select the Force Neutral Character Direction According to the Keyboard Input box.
Cursor Control
Arabic and Hebrew users can control the direction that the cursor moves, when they use the arrow keys on the keyboard. This Cursor Movement
list (Edit > Preferences > Right to Left) has two options that you can choose from:
Visual: The cursor moves in the direction of the arrow key. When the right arrow is pressed, the cursor on the screen moves to the right.
Logical: The cursor moves according to the direction of the language typed. In Arabic and Hebrew, when the right arrow is pressed, the
cursor moves left (to the next character in a right to left language).
224
To the top
Page and chapter numbering
Arabic and Hebrew users use the most commonly preferred numbering systems in the region. The most popular numbering systems are:
Arabic: Arabic Abjad and Alef-Ba-Tah
French: Hebrew Biblical Standard and Hebrew Non-Standard Decimal
To select or change the numbering system, go to Layout > Numbering & Section Options, and then select from the Style list.
Numbering pages, sections, and chapters
To the top
Writing direction in Gallery view and Story Editor
While in Arabic or Hebrew, you can indicate the direction in which you are writing. Go to Edit > Preferences > Story Editor Display, and select the
Indicate Writing Direction box, to enable this feature. When this feature is enabled, the cursor has an arrow that indicates the direction of writing.
To the top
Diacritical coloring
In Arabic text, diacritical marks can be colored differently for stylistic or other purposes. For example, diacritical marks can be lay emphasis on a
particular aspect of a word or sentence. You can find and change the color of diacritical marks using the Change Arabic Diacritic Color query.
1. Click Edit > Find/Change
2. From the Query list, select Change Arabic Diacritic Color
3. Use the Change, Change All, or Change/Find buttons to replace older diacritical marks with the new colored diacritical marks.
You can modify and save the query as per your requirements.
Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
225
Text Frame fitting options | CS6, CC
javax.jcr.AccessDeniedException:
/content/help/en/indesign/using/text-frame-fitting/jcr:content/jcr:title:
not allowed to add or modify item
Flexible width columns
Persistent text frame fitting options
To the top
Flexible width columns
You can use the Flexible width option to adjust the number and width of columns as the text frame is resized. Columns are automatically added or
deleted when the maximum column width is reached as the text frame is resized.
A. Original text frame B. Text frame width increases C. Column added to the Text Frame
Choose Flexible Width from the Columns drop down list in the Text Frame Options dialog box (Object > Text Frame Options)
Flexible width columns
To the top
Persistent text frame fitting options
Auto-size text frame options make it possible to set up a text frame so that it is automatically resized when you add, delete, or edit text. To access
the Auto-size options, do the following:
226
1. Select a text frame and choose Object > Text Frame Options
2. Click Auto-size.
Auto Size options
3. Select an auto size option to apply when text is added or deleted:
Off
Height only
Width only
Height and Width
Height and Width (Keep proportions)
4. From the anchor proxy, click a reference location to resize from. The anchor proxy also indicates how the text frame resizes.
5. Specify the constraints for minimum height and weight, and line breaks.
Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
227
Linked stories
Create a linked story
Specify linked story options
Update a linked story
Edit original story
Replicating content across various pages is no easy task; copy-pasting is error prone and time consuming. Use linked stories to manage multiple
versions of a story or text content in the same document. Linked stories make it easier to support emerging workflows, where for example, you
need to design for vertical and horizontal layouts. Linked stories also work well for traditional print and publishing workflows, where you might
need to synchronize boilerplate text on different pages.
Linked stories behave similar to traditional links. You can designate a story as the parent, and then place the same story at other places in the
document as child stories. Whenever you update the parent story, the child stories are flagged in the Links panel and you can update them to
synchronize with the parent story. You can create linked stories using regular stories or text on path stories. Anchored objects inside stories are
also supported.
Linked stories remain in sync when you update any applied styles InDesign styles.
Linked stories are flagged as out of sync in the Links panel, even though there are no visible changes. Global changes in the document that
causes InDesign to recompose the stories, flags the links. These global changes may be due to updates to options or definitions of the following:
Footnotes
Text variables
Conditional text
Swatches
XML Tags
Named grids
Additionally, if you replace all fonts, or replace all instances of an object, InDesign recomposes all the stories, and flags the links.
To the top
Create a linked story
1. Select a story by either selecting the text frame or place the insertion cursor in the text. You can also select multiple stories by using
Shift+Click if you’re selecting text frames.
2. Choose Edit > Place and Link Story. The cursor is loaded with the story.
3. Click in an existing empty text frame or draw a frame to place the linked story.
icon displays on the upper-left corner of linked story. The story is displayed as linked story in the Links panel. By default, the name of the
The
story in the Links panel is created using the first few characters of the original story.
You can also change the default name of linked story through Layers panel.
To the top
Specify linked story options
1. In the Links panel, select the linked story.
2. From the Links panel menu, choose Linked Story Options.
3. Select the options as required:
Update Link When Saving Document
Warn if Link Update will Overwrite Local Edits
Remove Forced Line Breaks
Tip: To specify default story options, with all documents closed, open the links panel menu and choose Linked Story Options.
Tip: To specify Linked Story Options while creating linked stories, press the Shift key when you choose Edit > Place and Link Story.
228
To the top
Update a linked story
If an original story is edited, the Links panel displays
In the Links panel, double-click
next to the linked story.
to update the child story.
If you have made local edits to a child story, the edits are overwritten with content from the original story. If you set Warn if Link Update Will
Overwrite Local Edits, a warning message displays.
Use the Link Info pane to determine if you’ve made local edits to the story; story status displays “Text Modified” if you’ve made local edits.
To the top
Edit original story
If you’re working on a linked story, and need to go to the original story, do the following:
1. In the Links panel, select the linked story.
2. Click
or choose Edit Original from the Links panel menu (
).
Focus shifts to the page that contains the original story.
Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
229
Linked content | CC, CS6
Content Collector tools
Place and link
Specify link options
Custom Style Mapping
Update a linked item
Replicating content across various pages is no easy task; copy-pasting can be cumbersome and time consuming. Use linked content features to
manage multiple versions of content. You can place and link content within the same document or even across different documents. Linked
content makes it easier to support emerging workflows, where for example, you design for vertical and horizontal layouts. Linked content also
works well for traditional print and publishing workflows, where you synchronize boilerplate text on different pages or documents.
Linked content behaves similar to traditional links. See Use the Links panel for an overview. You can designate an object as parent, and then place
it at other places as child objects. Whenever you update the parent object, the child objects are flagged and you can update them to synchronize
with the parent.
You can place and link objects using either the Content Collector tools, or choose Edit > Place and Link menu command.
The
icon displays on the upper-left corner of linked object. The item is displayed as linked object in the Links panel.
To the top
Content Collector tools
Content Collector and Placer tools let you duplicate page items and place them on open InDesign documents. As content is collected, it is
displayed in the Content Conveyor. Use Content Conveyor to easily and quickly place and link multiple page items within and across open
documents.
Click
in the toolbox to open the Content Conveyor.
Use Content Collector
Use Content Placer
tool to select an object and add it to the conveyor
to place page object on a page
Press B to toggle between Content Collector and Content Placer tool.
Content Conveyor
A. Content Collector tool B. Content placer tool C. Create link D. Map styles E. Edit Custom Style Mapping F. Place options G. Browse H. Collect
All Threaded Frames I. Load Conveyor
Content Collector Use the Content Collector to add page items to the Content Conveyor.
Content Placer Use the Content Placer to place the items from the Content Conveyor to the document. When you select this tool, the current
item is added to the place gun.
Create Link Enable Create Link to link the placed item to the original location of the collected item. You can manage the links using the Links
panel.
Map Styles Map paragraph, character, table, or cell styles, between the original and placed items. By default, style names are used for mapping.
See Custom style mapping.
Edit Custom Style Mapping Define custom style mapping between the original and placed items. Map the styles to automatically replace
original styles in the placed item.
230
Place Options Specify the Conveyor options while placing items.
Remove items from the conveyor after you place them
Place the current item multiple times. The item remains loaded in the place gun.
Place the item and move to the next item. The item is however kept in the conveyor.
Browse Navigate through the items in the Content Conveyor.
Collect All Threaded Frames Enable this option to collect all threaded frames. The story and all frames are collected. If this option is disabled,
the story is collected in a single frame.
Load Conveyor
Use
to load the conveyor with items.
Selection: Use this option to load all selected items
Pages: Use this option to load all items on the specified pages
All: Use this option to load items from all pages and pasteboard
Enable Create Single set to group all the items in a single set.
You can collect individual page items, or collect related items as "sets." In some cases InDesign automatically creates sets to preserve the
relational integrity of the page items.
The following are a few method of collecting items as sets, some manual and some automatic:
Marquee select a number of items
Use the Load Conveyor option and then select range of pages or all document content or selected items and items will be accordingly
collected in a set.
Collect an item that has related content such as a part of an interactive button that has other items and states associated with it, it will collect
all related items in a set (this set will always drop in one gesture)
Collect a text box with threaded text spanning into other objects and ’collect All Threaded Text Frames’ checkbox is checked on the
conveyor, it will pick all threaded text boxes into a set.
To the top
Place and link
1. Select a page item by either selecting the frame or place the insertion cursor in the text. You can also select multiple items by using
Shift+Click.
2. Choose Edit > Place and Link. The cursor is loaded with the items, and the items display in the Content Conveyor.
3. Click on a page or draw a frame to place the linked item.
To the top
Specify link options
1. In the Links panel, select the linked item.
2. From the Links panel menu, choose Link Options.
231
Press Alt (Windows) or Option (Mac OS) to change the Cancel button to Reset. Click Reset to revert to default options.
3. Select the options as required:
Update Link When Saving Document Enable this option to update the link when you save the document.
Warn if Link Update Will Overwrite Local Edits Enable this option to show a warning message if updating the link will overwrite any local
edits made to the linked object.
Preserve Local Edits while Updating Object Links Select from the available categories to preserve local edits while updating links.
Category
Examples
Object style attributes such as Stroke, Fill, Effects. This
excludes any text or text frame related attributes, such as
overprinting, non-printing settings etc
Appearance
Height, width, transforms, text frame attributes, and other
column size attributes
Size and Shape
Animation, object States, button actions
Interactivity
Image, video, content placed or pasted into frames, and
effects and settings applied directly to such objects.
Frame Content
Attributes excluded from other categories, such as text wrap
on frames, object export options; text frame attributes such as ,
baseline options, auto-size options, vertical justification and so
on.
Others
Remove Forced Line Breaks from Story Enable to remove any forced line breaks in the story. Removing line breaks lets the text reflow
smoothly in the linked frame if it is resized or reformatted.
Define Custom Style Mapping Enable this option if you want to map styles, and automatically apply another style to the linked content
instead. See Custom style mapping.
To specify default link options, with all documents closed, open the links panel menu and choose Link Options.
To the top
Custom Style Mapping
Text styles (paragraph, character, table, cell) or style groups can be mapped to different styles while linking. The mapped styles are automatically
applied to the linked content, instead of the original styles applied to the parent. Custom style mapping comes in handy, for example, when you
want to use sans serif fonts for digital and serif fonts for print publications. Or if you want, vary the text style between the horizontal and vertical
layouts.
To define custom style mapping, do one of the following:
In the Link Options dialog box (Links panel > Link Options), enable Define Custom Style Mapping and then click Settings.
Click
in the Content Conveyor.
232
Custom Style Mapping
1. Select a source document and Style type.
2. Click New Syle Mapping.
3. Choose source and mapped styles or style groups from the list
Press Alt (Windows) or Option (Mac OS) to change the Cancel button to Reset. Click Reset to revert to default options.
To the top
Update a linked item
If an original item is modified,
Click
symbol displays over the frame and in the Links panel. To update do one of the following:
near the top-left of the frame
In the Links panel, double-click
symbol
If you have made local edits to a child item, the edits are overwritten with content from the original item. If you set Warn if Link Update Will
Overwrite Local Edits, a warning message displays.
Use the Link Info pane to determine if you’ve made local edits to the story; story status displays “Text Modified” if you’ve made local edits.
Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
233
Adding editorial notes in InDesign
Add editorial notes
Use Notes mode
Manage notes
Edit Notes preferences
The Notes feature in InDesign uses the workflow user names to identify the author of a note or a tracked change. Notes and tracked changes are
color-coded for each user as defined in Notes preferences in InDesign or the User dialog box in InCopy (File > User).
Notes can appear only in text. In InDesign, they can be printed only from the Story Editor, and they cannot be exported to PDF.
To the top
Add editorial notes
When you add editorial notes to managed content in InDesign, these notes become available to others in the workflow. The notes are primarily
intended to be used with an InCopy workflow, but you can take advantage of them in InDesign. For example, you can place text in notes that you
might want to put into a story later. In InCopy, when you export to Adobe PDF, notes can be converted to PDF comments.
1. Using the Type tool, click where you want to place the note, and choose Type > Notes > New Note.
When editing in Story Editor, bookends appear. In Layout view, the Notes panel appears.
2. Type your note between the note bookends, or type your note in the Notes panel.
You can add as many notes as you want in any location. However, you cannot create a note within another note.
To show or hide notes, choose View > Extras > Show Notes or Hide Notes.
To the top
Use Notes mode
Notes Mode is a convenient way to add, split, or delete notes, depending on where the insertion point is located or what text is selected.
1. Do any of the following:
To create a new note, place the insertion point in text.
To convert text to a note, select the text.
To split a note, place the insertion point inside a note.
To convert the note to text, select the note bookends (in Story Editor).
To move the insertion point out of a note, place the insertion point at the beginning or end of the note.
2. Choose Type > Notes > Notes Mode.
To the top
Manage notes
A note anchor marks the location of a note. The Notes panel displays the contents of the note, along with specific information about the note.
To convert text to a note, select text and choose Type > Notes > Convert To Note. A new note is created. The selected text is removed from
the body of the story and pasted into the new note. The note anchor or bookend is located where the text you selected was cut.
To convert a note to text, select the text in the Notes panel that you want to add to the text of the document. Or, in Story Editor, select the
text in the inline note. Then choose Type > Notes > Convert To Text.
To split a note, place the insertion point in the note where you want it to be split and choose Type > Notes > Split Note.
To navigate among notes, click the insertion point in the story and choose Type > Notes > Previous Note or Notes > Next Note.
To the top
Edit Notes preferences
Preferences settings let you set the color for note anchors, bookends, and backgrounds when inline in the Story Editor. You can also choose to
display note info as a tool tip, as well as choose whether to include note content in Find/Change operations and spell checking in the Story Editor.
1. Choose Edit > Preferences > Notes (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > Notes (Mac OS).
234
2. Select a color for note anchors and note bookends from the Note Color menu. Select [User Color] to use the color specified in the User
dialog box. This is especially useful if more than one person is working on the file.
3. Select Show Note Tool Tips to display note information and some or all of the note content as a tool tip when the mouse pointer hovers over
a note anchor in Layout view or a note bookend in Story Editor.
4. Specify whether you want to include inline note content when using the Find/Change and Spell Check commands (in Story Editor only).
Note: In Layout view, you cannot use the Find/Change and Spell Check commands to search for the contents of notes, regardless of the
settings in the Preferences dialog box. However, Change All does edit the contents of notes.
5. Select either [None] or [Note Color] (the color you chose in step 2) to use for the background color of an inline note.
6. Click OK.
More Help topics
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
235
Anchored objects
About anchored objects
Create an anchored object
Position a custom-positioned anchored object
Working with anchored objects using drag-and-drop (CS5.5)
Selecting and copying anchored objects
View anchored object markers on the page
Reposition an anchored object on the page manually
Resize an anchored object
Release an anchored object
To the top
About anchored objects
Anchored objects are items, such as images or text boxes, that are attached—or anchored—to specific text. The anchored object travels with the
text containing the anchor as the text reflows. Use anchored objects for all objects that you want associated with a particular line or block of text,
for example, sidebars and callouts, figures, or icons associated with a specific word.
You can create an anchored object by pasting or placing an object (or frame) into text using the Type tool or by using the Insert Anchored Object
command. When you place the object, Adobe InDesign CS4 adds an anchor marker at the insertion point. Anchored objects inherit the rotation
and skew attributes of the text frame they’re anchored to—even when the object is positioned outside of the text frame. You can select the object
and change these attributes.
You can create anchored objects that use any of the following positions:
Inline Aligns the anchored object with the baseline of the insertion point. You can adjust the Y Offset to position the object above or below the
baseline. This is the default type of anchored object. In earlier versions of InDesign, these objects were called inline graphics.
Above Line Places the anchored object above the line with the following choices of alignment: Left, Center, Right, Towards Spine, Away From
Spine, and (Text Alignment). Text Alignment is the alignment applied to the paragraph that holds the anchor marker.
Custom Places the anchored object in the position that you define in the Anchored Object Options dialog box. You can position the object
anywhere inside or outside the text frame.
Note: You can use inline and above line positioned objects with type on a path. (See Add anchored objects to type on a path.)
Sample document with anchored objects
A. Inline position B. Above line position (aligned left) C. Custom position (aligned to the edge of the text frame)
For a video tutorial on working with anchored frames, see www.adobe.com/go/vid0073.
Tim Cole provided a shortcut on inserting anchored frames at Anchored Frames Productivity Shortcut.
To the top
Create an anchored object
If an object isn’t available to place into the document (for example, sidebar text that is not written yet), you can create an empty anchored frame as
a placeholder for content you can add later. You can resize the anchored frame at any time and the position settings for the frame update
automatically.
236
1. Do one of the following:
To add an anchored object, use the Type tool to position an insertion point where you want the object’s anchor to appear, and then
place or paste the object.
If the frame for the object is taller than the line of text in which it appears, text might overlap the imported image or you might see
increased space above the line. Consider selecting a different anchored object position, inserting a soft or hard line break, resizing
the inline object, or specifying a different leading value for the surrounding lines.
To anchor an existing object, select it and choose Edit > Cut. Then, using the Type tool, position the insertion point where you want the
object to appear, and choose Edit >Paste. By default, the anchored object’s position is inline.
To add a placeholder frame for an object that isn’t available (for example, text you have yet to write for a sidebar), use the Type tool to
position the insertion point where you want the object’s anchor to appear; then choose Object > Anchored Object > Insert.
You can anchor text characters by creating outlines of the text. Creating outlines automatically converts each character of text to an
inline anchored object.
2. To position the object, select it with a selection tool and choose Object > Anchored Object > Options. Specify options as desired.
To bypass the Anchored Object dialog box, use the Insert Anchored Object/Go To Anchor Marker keyboard shortcut. You’ll need to designate
keys for this shortcut in the Keyboard Shortcut Editor (it’s listed in the Text and Tables area). Pressing the shortcut twice deselects the object
and positions the cursor back in the main text. (See Use keyboard shortcut sets.)
Inserted Anchored Objects options
When you insert a placeholder for an anchored object, you can specify the following options for the contents:
Content Specifies the type of object the placeholder frame will contain.
Note: If you choose Text, an insertion point appears in the text frame; if you choose Graphic or Unassigned, InDesign selects the object frame.
Object Style Specifies the style you want to use to format the object. If you have defined and saved object styles, they will appear in this menu.
Paragraph Style Specifies the paragraph style you want to use to format the object. If you have defined and saved paragraph styles, they will
appear in this menu.
Note: If the object style has a paragraph style enabled and you choose a different style from the Paragraph Style menu, or if you make changes
to the Anchored Position options for a style, a plus sign (+) appears in the Object Style menu indicating that overrides have been made.
Height and Width Specify the dimensions of the placeholder frame.
Inline and Above Line position options
When you choose Inline or Above Line from the Position menu in the Anchored Object Options dialog box, the following options are available for
setting the position of the anchored object. (You can also access these options in the Insert Anchored Object dialog box.)
Inline Aligns the bottom of the anchored object to the baseline. Inline objects are subject to certain constraints when moving along the y axis: the
top of the object can’t go below the bottom leading slug and the bottom of the object can’t go above the top of the leading slug.
Y Offset Adjusts the position on the baseline. You can also use the mouse to drag the object vertically on the page.
Above Line Aligns the object above the text line containing the anchor marker and below the line of text above the anchor marker.
Alignment Choose from the following options:
Left, Right, and Center Align the object within the text column. These options ignore indent values applied to the paragraph and align the
object within the entire column.
Towards Spine and Away From Spine Align the object left or right depending on the side of the spread the object is on. These options
ignore indent values applied to the paragraph and align the object within the entire column.
(Text Alignment) Aligns the object based on the alignment defined by the paragraph. This option uses the paragraph indent values when
aligning the object.
Space Before Specifies the position of the object relative to the bottom of the leading slug in the preceding line of text. Positive values lower both
the object and the text below it. Negative values move the text below the object up toward the object. The maximum negative value is the height
of the object.
Space After Specifies the position of the object relative to the cap-height of the first character in the line below the object. A value of 0 aligns the
bottom of the object to the cap-height position. Positive values move the text below the object down (away from the bottom of the object). Negative
values move the text below the object up (toward the object).
237
Using the Space Before and Space After options
A. A Space Before value of 0P10 moves the object and it’s associated text further away from the text line above it. B. A Space After
value of 0p10 moves the object and the text line above it further away from its associated text line (below).
Note: Anchored objects set to Above Line will always remain with the line that holds the anchor; the text won’t compose such that the object is on
the bottom of one page and the anchor marker’s line is at the top of the next page.
Custom position options
You can use the following options when positioning a custom-positioned anchored object. You can specify these options in the Insert Anchored
Object dialog box or the Anchored Object Options dialog box. For step-by-step instructions for using these options, see Position a custompositioned anchored object.
Relative To Spine Specifies whether the object aligns relative to the document spine. When you select this option, the Anchored Object
Reference Point proxy displays as a two page spread. The two pages mirror each other. When selected, objects positioned on one side of a
spread, for instance the outside margin, remain on the outside margin even when the text reflows to a facing page.
Using the Relative To Spine option
A. Relative To Spine not selected: the object remains on the left side of the text frame when text reflows across to the right side of the
spread. B. Relative To Spine selected: the object remains on the outside edge of the page when the text reflows to the right side of the
spread.
Note: If, after you select Relative To Spine you adjust the X Offset value, the direction the object moves may change. This change occurs
because the direction of movement depends partly on the side of the spread the object is on.
Specifies the location on the object that you want to align to the location on the page (as specified by the
Anchored Object Reference Point
Anchored Position Reference Point). For example, if you want to align the right side of the object with a page item, such as a text frame, click a
rightmost point on this proxy. For more information on using this reference point, see Position a custom-positioned anchored object.
Anchored Position Reference Point
Specifies the location on the page (as defined by the X and Y Relative To options), to which you want to
align the object. For example, if you choose Text Frame for X Relative To and Line (Baseline) for Y Relative To, this proxy represents the
horizontal area of the text frame and the vertical area of the text line containing the object’s anchor marker. If you click the leftmost point on this
proxy, the object’s reference point
will align with the left edge of the text frame and the baseline of the text.
238
Right side of object aligned with left side of text frame
Note: Depending on what you choose for X Relative To and Y Relative To, the Anchored Position Reference Point proxy displays either three or
nine positions. Line options, such as Line (Baseline) provide only three options—middle left, center, and middle right—because the vertical
positioning is established by the anchor marker in the text.
X Relative To Specifies what you want to use as the basis for horizontal alignment. For instance, Text Frame lets you align the object to the left,
center, or right side of the text frame. Where exactly it aligns horizontally depends on the reference points you choose and any offset you specify
for X Offset.
For example, if you want the object to appear in the page margin with its right edge flush with the page margin, choose Page Margin for X Relative
To and specify a rightmost point on the Anchored Object Reference Point proxy and a leftmost point for the Anchored Position Reference Point
proxy.
The X Relative To option
A. Aligning the right side of the object to the left side of the text frame B. Aligning the right side of the object to the left side of the page
margin
X Offset Moves the object left or right. Whether it moves to the left or right depends on the reference point. If aligning to the center of the page
item, positive values move the object to the right. The direction of movement also depends on whether you’ve selected Relative To Spine.
Y Relative To Specifies what the object aligns with vertically. For example, Page Edge lets you use the edge of the page as the basis for aligning
the object to the top, center, or bottom of the page. The Anchored Position Reference Point specifies if the object aligns to the top, center, or
bottom of this page item. If you choose a line option, such as Line (Baseline), the Anchored Position Reference Point displays only the middle
horizontal row of points.
The Y Relative To option
A. Aligning the top of the object to the top page edge B. Aligning the bottom of the object to the bottom the page edge
Y Offset Moves the object up or down. Positive values move the object downward.
Keep Within Top/Bottom Column Boundaries Keeps the object inside the text column if reflowing text would otherwise cause it to move outside
of the boundaries. In such instances, the bottom of the object will align to the bottom inset, or the top of the object will align to the top inset. For
example, an anchored object off to the side of a line of text and in the middle of a column looks fine; however, without this option selected, if the
anchored marker flows to the bottom of the column, the object may drop below the column edge or partially off the page. When this option is
selected, you can’t drag the object above or below the column boundaries. If you resize the object, it will move back into alignment with the top or
bottom boundaries of the column, if necessary. This option is only available when you select a line option, such as Line (Baseline) for Y Relative
To.
Note: When InDesign overrides the object’s position to fall within the bounds of the column, the Y offset value you specify appears in the dialog
239
box with a plus sign (+).
Prevent Manual Positioning Ensures that you can’t move the anchored object by dragging or nudging it on the page.
Preview Displays the position adjustments on the page as you make them.
To the top
Position a custom-positioned anchored object
Note the following when using the Anchored Object Options dialog box to position custom-positioned anchored objects.
The custom position options include four main options: The two Reference Point proxies and the X and Y Relative To menus. These options
all work together to specify the object’s location. For instance, what you choose for X Relative To and Y Relative To determines what the
Anchored Position Reference Point represents—it could be a text frame, a text line within a column, or an entire page. The following image
represents how you can change the location of the object by choosing a different reference point while leaving the X and Y Relative To
options unchanged.
Changing the location of the anchored object (X Relative To set to Text Frame; Y Relative To set to Line (Baseline))
A. Choosing the lower right point on the Anchored Object proxy and left center point on Anchored Position proxy. B. Changing Anchored
Object proxy point to upper left corner and leaving the Anchored Position proxy point at center left C. Leaving the Anchored Object proxy at
top left and changing Anchored Position proxy point to center right
To create an anchored object that maintains its position on the page (such as the top left corner) as text reflows and moves only when the
text reflows to another page, anchor the object to the page margins or page edges. For example, set both X Relative To and Y Relative To to
Page Margin, click the top left reference point for the object
and the top left reference point for the page item
. As the text reflows, the
object remains in the top left corner, within the page margins. Only when the text line containing the anchor flows to another page does the
object move—to the top left corner of the next page.
Positioning anchored object to a specific location on the page
A. Position object using use Page Margin or Page Edge for X and Y Relative To B. When text reflows, object does not follow text until text
moves to another page.
240
To keep the object aligned with a specific line of text so that the object stays with that text when it reflows, choose a Line option from the Y
Relative To menu.
To keep the object within the text frame, but not with a specific line of text when text reflows, choose Text Frame from the X Relative To
menu.
To align the object relative to the margin (for example, to create a sidebar that stays in the outside margin as the text reflows from page to
page), select Relative To Spine.
1. Select the object and choose Object > Anchored Object > Options.
2. From the Position menu, choose Custom.
To see the object move on the page as you specify options, select Preview at the bottom of the dialog box.
3. To keep the object on the same side of the page, relative to the document spine, select Relative To Spine. For example, select this if you
want the object to always appear in the outside margin, no matter what side of the spread it is on.
4. Click the point on the Anchored Object Reference Point proxy
that represents the point on the object that you want to align to the page.
5. From the X Relative To menu, choose the page item that you want to use as the horizontal basis for alignment of the object. For example,
choose Text Frame to align the object to left, right, or center of the text frame.
6. From the Y Relative To menu, choose the page item that you want to use as the vertical basis for alignment of the object. For example, if
you want the object to align to the baseline of the text to which it’s anchored, choose Line (Baseline).
7. Click the point on the Anchored Position Reference Point proxy
Relative To menus that you want to align the object.
that represents where within the page items chosen from the X and Y
8. Specify an X Offset or Y Offset to nudge or move the object away from the alignment point.
9. To ensure that the object does not extend below or above a column edge as text reflows, select Keep within Top/Bottom Column
Boundaries. This option is only available when you select a line option, such as Line (Baseline), from the Y Relative To menu.
10. Click OK.
To the top
Working with anchored objects using drag-and-drop (CS5.5)
Working with anchored objects using drag-and-drop (CS5.5)
You can drag an existing object into a text frame to anchor it or move it. Use the Selection tool or Direct Selection tool
and then drag the blue square near the upper-right corner of the text frame. Do one of the following:
to select the object,
To anchor an existing object, drag the blue square to the position where you want the object’s anchor to appear.
To create an inline object, press Shift and drag the blue square to the position where you want the object to appear.
To specify anchored object options, press Alt (Windows) or Option (Mac OS) and drag the blue square to the position where you want the
object’s anchor to appear.
To the top
Selecting and copying anchored objects
Using the Selection tool, you can select only one anchored object at a time. Using the Type tool, you can select a range of text with multiple
anchored object markers. When you select multiple anchor markers with the Type tool, you can change the position options for all the anchored
objects at once.
Note: If you have more than one anchored object in the same position—for example, if one line of type holds the markers for two anchored
objects with the same anchoring attributes—the objects will overlap each other.
When you copy text containing an anchored object marker, you copy the anchored object as well. If you copy an anchored object and paste it
outside of text, the anchored object becomes an independent image that is not linked to text.
To the top
View anchored object markers on the page
To view anchors and their relationship to the text on the page, you can display object markers. Use any of the following methods:
To view the anchor markers
in the text, choose Type > Show Hidden Characters.
To view a dashed line from an anchor marker to its associated custom-positioned object, select the object and choose View > Extras > Show
Text Threads. The thread extends from the anchor marker to the current proxy point for the anchored object.
To view anchor symbols
on anchored objects, choose View > Extras > Show Frame Edges. Viewing anchor symbols is helpful when
determining which objects are anchored.
Reposition an anchored object on the page manually
241
To the top
Moving a frame moves its anchored objects, unless the object is positioned relative to margins or pages.
Note: Before moving an anchored object, make sure that you deselect the Prevent Manual Positioning option for the object in the Anchored
Objects dialog box or choose Object > Unlock Position.
Do one of the following:
To move inline anchored objects, use the Selection tool or Direct Selection tool to select the object, and then drag vertically. You can
move inline objects vertically only, not horizontally.
If you want to move an inline or above line object outside of the text frame, convert it to a custom-positioned object and then move it as
desired.
To move an inline anchored object parallel to the baseline, place the insertion point before or after the object and specify a new value for
kerning.
If you want to move an inline or above line object outside of the text frame, convert it to a custom-positioned object and then move it as
desired.
To move custom-positioned anchored objects, use the Selection tool
vertically or horizontally.
or Direct Selection tool
to select the object, and then drag
You can also rotate and transform an anchored object. (See Transform objects and Rotate objects.)
To the top
Resize an anchored object
Before resizing an anchored object, make sure that you deselect the Prevent Manual Positioning option in the Anchored Objects Options dialog
box.
Use the Selection tool or Direct Selection tool to select the object, and then drag the side or corner handle.
Note: Vertically resizing inline or above line anchor markers might result in the object becoming overset. If the anchor marker is overset, the
object will be overset as well.
Resizing an anchored object might also reposition the object. For example, if you’ve aligned the right side of an object to the left side of the text
frame, and then you drag the object’s right side handle 1 pica to the left (away from the text frame boundary), the object will resize and then move
back 1 pica to the right.
To the top
Release an anchored object
If you no longer want an object to move relative to its associated text, you can release it to remove its anchor.
Select the anchored object with a selection tool, and choose Object > Anchored Object > Release.
The object’s position on the page doesn’t move.
Note: Release doesn’t work for inline or above line objects. If you can’t use Release, select the anchored object and then cut and paste it. You
can also use the Type tool to select and cut the anchored object.
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
242
Bullets and numbering
Create bulleted or numbered lists
Format a bulleted or numbered list
Change bullet characters
Change numbered list options
Defining lists
Create a paragraph style for running lists
Create multi-level lists
Create running captions for figures and tables
Restart or continue numbering for a list
Convert list bullets or numbers to text
To the top
Create bulleted or numbered lists
In bulleted lists, each paragraph begins with a bullet character. In numbered lists, each paragraph begins with an expression that includes a
number or letter and a separator such as a period or parenthesis. The numbers in a numbered list are updated automatically when you add or
remove paragraphs in the list. You can change the type of bullet or numbering style, the separator, the font attributes and character styles, and the
type and amount of indent spacing.
You cannot use the Type tool to select the bullets or numbers in a list. Instead, edit their formatting and indent spacing using the Bullets And
Numbering dialog box, the Paragraph panel, or the Bullets And Numbering section of the Paragraph Styles dialog box (if the bullets or numbers
are part a style).
Bulleted list and numbered list
A quick way to create a bulleted or numbered list is to type the list, select it, and then click the Bulleted List or Numbered List button in the Control
panel. These buttons let you turn the list on or off and switch between bullets and numbers. You can also make bullets and numbering part of a
paragraph style and construct lists by assigning styles to paragraphs.
Note: Automatically generated bullet and number characters aren’t actually inserted in the text. Therefore, they cannot be found during a text
search or selected with the Type tool unless you convert them to text. In addition, bullets and numbering don’t appear in the story editor window
(except in the paragraph style column).
For a video tutorial on creating bulleted and numbered lists, see www.adobe.com/go/vid0077.
InDesign Docs provides a series of articles about using bullets and numbering to create outlines, multi-level lists, figure captions, and numbered
steps.
1. Select the set of paragraphs that will become the list, or click to place the insertion point where you want the list to begin.
2. Do any of the following:
Click the Bulleted List button
or the Numbered List button
in the Control panel (in Paragraph mode). Hold down Alt (Windows) or
Option (Mac OS) while clicking a button to display the Bullets And Numbering dialog box.
Choose Bullets And Numbering from the Paragraph panel or Command panel. For List Type, choose either Bullets or Numbers. Specify
the settings you want, and then click OK.
243
Apply a paragraph style that includes bullets or numbering.
3. To continue the list in the next paragraph, move the insertion point to the end of the list and press Enter or Return.
4. To end the list (or list segment, if the list is to be continued later in the story), click the Bulleted List or Numbered List button in the Control
panel again, or choose Bullets And Numbering from the Paragraph panel menu.
To the top
Format a bulleted or numbered list
1. Using the Type tool
, select the bulleted or numbered paragraphs you want to reformat.
2. Do any of the following to open the Bullets And Numbering dialog box:
Choose Bullets And Numbering from the Control panel menu (in Paragraph mode) or the Paragraph panel menu.
Alt-click (Windows) or Option-click (Mac OS) either the Bulleted List button
or the Numbered List button
.
3. In the Bullets And Numbering dialog box, do any of the following:
Change the bullet character.
Change the numbered list options.
Choose a style for the numbers or bullets from the Character Style list.
4. To change the position of the bullet or number, specify any of the following:
Alignment Left-aligns, centers, or right-aligns the bullets or numbers within the horizontal space allotted for numbers. (If this space is
narrow, the difference between the three options is negligible.)
Left Indent Specifies how far the lines after the first line are indented.
First Line Indent Controls where the bullet or number is positioned.
Increase the First Line Indent value if you want the punctuation in long lists to be aligned. For example, if you want “9.” and “10.” to be
aligned on the period, change the Alignment to Right and gradually increase the first line indent until the numbers align (make sure Preview
is turned on).
To create the hanging indent effect, specify a positive Left Indent value (such as 2p0), and then specify an equal negative value (such as 2p0) for First Line Indent.
Position settings
A. Hanging indent B. Left-aligned list
Note: The Left Indent, First Line Indent, and Tab Position settings in the Bullets And Numbering dialog box are paragraph attributes. For
that reason, changing these settings in the Paragraph panel also changes bulleted and numbered list formats.
Tab Position Activates the tab position to create space between the bullet or number and the start of the list item.
By default, bullets and numbers inherit some of their text formatting from the first character in the paragraph to which they’re attached. If the first
character in one paragraph is different from the first characters in other paragraphs, the numbering or bullet character may appear inconsistent with
the other list items. If this is not the formatting you desire, create a character style for numbers or bullets and apply it to your list by using the
Bullets And Numbering dialog box.
244
Italicized first word of step 3 causes numbering to be italicized as well, unless you create character style for numbers and apply it to list.
To the top
Change bullet characters
If you don’t want to use one of the existing bullet characters, you can add other bullet characters to the Bullet Character grid. A bullet character
that is available in one font may not be available in another font. You can choose whether the font is remembered with any bullet character you
add.
If you want to use a bullet found in a specific font (such as the pointing hand from Dingbats), be sure to set the bullet to remember that font. If you
use a basic bullet character, it’s probably best not to remember the font, because most fonts have their own version of that bullet character.
Depending on whether you select the Remember Font With Bullet option, a bullet you add can reference either a Unicode value and a specific font
family and style, or just a Unicode value.
Note: Bullets that reference only the Unicode value (without a remembered font) appear with a red “u” indicator.
Bullets And Numbering dialog box
A. Bullet without remembered font B. Bullet with remembered font
Change the bullet character
1. On the Control panel menu or Paragraph panel menu, select Bullets And Numbering.
2. In the Bullets And Numbering dialog box, select Bullets from the List Type menu.
3. Select a different bullet character, and then click OK.
Add a bullet character
1. In the Bullets And Numbering dialog box, select Bullets from the List Type menu, then click Add.
2. Select the glyph that you want to use as the bullet character. (Different font families and font styles contain different glyphs.)
3. If you want the new bullet to remember the currently chosen font and style, select Remember Font With Bullet.
4. Click Add.
Note: The list of bullet characters is stored in the document, like paragraph and character styles. When you paste or load paragraph styles from
another document, any bullet character used in those styles appears in the Bullets And Numbering dialog box, along with the other bullets defined
for the current document.
Remove a bullet character
1. In the Bullets And Numbering dialog box, select Bullets from the List Type menu.
2. Select the bullet character you want to remove, and click Delete. (The first preset bullet character cannot be deleted.)
245
To the top
Change numbered list options
In a numbered list, the numbers are updated automatically when you add or remove paragraphs in the list. Paragraphs that are part of the same
list are numbered sequentially. These paragraphs do not have to be consecutive to one another as long as you define a list for the paragraphs.
You can also create a multi-level list, in which list items are numbered in outline form and are indented by different degrees.
1. Open the Bullets And Numbering dialog box.
2. Under Numbering Style, select the type of numbering you want to use from the Format menu.
3. In the Number box, use the default expression—period (.) and tab space (^t)—or construct a number expression of your own. To enter a
number expression, delete the period after the number metacharacter (^#) and do one of the following:
Type a character (such as a closing parenthesis) or more than one character in place of the period.
Choose an item (such as Em Dash or Ellipses) from the Insert Special Character menu.
Type a word or character before the number metacharacter. For example, to number questions in a list, you can type the word Question.
4. Choose a character style for the expression. (The style you choose applies to the entire number expression, not just to the number.)
5. For Mode, choose one of the following options:
Continue From Previous Number Numbers lists sequentially.
Start At Starts numbering at a number or other value that you enter in the text box. Enter a number, not a letter, even if your list uses letters
or Roman numerals for numbering.
6. Specify any other options, and then click OK.
To the top
Defining lists
A defined list can be interrupted by other paragraphs and lists, and can span different stories and different documents in a book. For example, use
defined lists to create a multi-level outline, or to create a running list of numbered table names throughout your document. You can also define lists
for separately numbered or bulleted items that are mixed together. For example, in a list of questions and answers, define one list for numbering
the questions and another for numbering the answers.
Defined lists are often used to track paragraphs for numbering purposes. When you create a paragraph style for numbering, you can assign the
style to a defined list, and paragraphs are numbered in that style according to where they appear in the defined list. The first paragraph to appear
is given number 1 (“Table 1”), for example, and the next paragraph is given number 2 (“Table 2”), even if it appears several pages later. Because
both paragraphs belong to the same defined list, they can be numbered consecutively no matter how far apart they are in the document or book.
Define a new list for each type of item you want to number—step-by-step instructions, tables, and figures, for example. By defining multiple lists,
you can interrupt one list with another and maintain number sequences in each list.
If list items appear in unthreaded frames on the same page, items are numbered in the order in which the text frames are added to the page.
To reorder the items, cut and paste the text frames one by one in the order in which you want them to be listed.
246
Defined lists let you interrupt one list with another.
For a video tutorial on creating bulleted and numbered lists, see www.adobe.com/go/vid0077.
Define a list
1. Choose Type > Bulleted And Numbered Lists > Define Lists.
2. Click New in the Define Lists dialog box.
3. Enter a name for the list, choose whether you want to continue numbering across stories, and continue numbering from previous documents
in your book.
4. Click OK twice.
After you define a list, you can use it in a paragraph style, such as a style for tables, figures, or ordered lists, as well as apply it by way of the
Control panel and Paragraph panel.
Note: Some lists are defined automatically. For example, when you import a numbered list from a Microsoft Word document, InDesign defines a
list automatically for your document.
Edit a defined list
1. Choose Type > Bulleted And Numbered Lists > Define Lists.
2. Select a list and click Edit.
3. Enter a new name for the list or change your selection of Continue Numbers options.
Paragraph styles that are assigned to the list are reassigned to the list under its new name.
Delete a defined list
1. Choose Type > Bulleted And Numbered Lists > Define Lists.
2. Select a list.
3. Click Delete, and then select a different list or the [Default] list to replace your list with.
To the top
Create a paragraph style for running lists
247
To create a running list—a list that is interrupted by other paragraphs or that spans multiple stories or documents—create a paragraph style and
apply the style to paragraphs that you want to be part of the list. For example, to create a running list of the tables in your document, create a
paragraph style called Tables, make a defined list part of the style, and then apply the Tables paragraph style to all paragraphs you want in your
Table list.
InDesign Docs provides a series of articles about using bullets and numbering to create figure captions and numbered steps.
1. Choose New Paragraph Style from the Paragraph Styles panel menu.
2. Enter a style name.
3. On the left side of the New Paragraph Style dialog box, click Bullets And Numbering.
4. For List Type, select Bullets or Numbering.
5. If you are creating a style for numbered lists, choose a defined list from the List menu, or choose New List and define the list.
6. Specify the bullet or numbering characteristics.
7. Use the Bullet or Number Position section of the New Paragraph Style dialog box to change the indent spacing. For example, to create a
hanging indent, type 2p for Left Indent and -2p for First Line Indent.
8. Specify other paragraph style attributes for the style, and then click OK.
To the top
Create multi-level lists
A multi-level list is a list that describes hierarchical relationships between the list paragraphs. These lists are also called outline lists because they
resemble outlines. The list’s numbering scheme (as well as indentations) show rank as well as how items are subordinate to one another. You can
tell where each paragraph fits in the list with respect to the paragraphs before and after it. You can include up to nine levels in a multi-level list.
Multi-level list with numbers and letters marking hierarchy levels
To create a multi-level list, define the list and then create a paragraph style for each level you want. For example, a list with four levels requires
four paragraph styles (each one assigned the same defined list). As you create each style, you define its numbering format and paragraph
formatting.
Gabriel Powell provides a video tutorial about creating outlines and multi-level lists at Creating an automatic numbered list.
Bob Bringhurst provides a series of articles about using bullets and numbering to create outlines, multi-level lists, figure captions, and numbered
steps.
1. Choose New Paragraph Style from the Paragraph Styles panel menu.
2. Enter a style name.
3. If you already created a style for your multi-level list, choose the style you will assign to levels above this one from the Based On menu;
otherwise, choose No Paragraph Style or Basic Paragraph.
4. On the left side of the New Paragraph Style dialog box, click Bullets And Numbering.
5. Choose Numbers from the List Type menu.
6. Choose a list you defined from the List menu. If you haven’t yet defined your list, you can choose New List from the menu and define it now.
7. In the Level box, enter a number that describes which level of the multi-level list you’re creating a style for.
8. From the Format menu, choose the type of numbering you want to use.
9. In the Number box, enter metacharacters or select metacharacters from the menus to describe the number formatting you want for list items
at this level.
To include numbering prefixes from higher levels, enter text or click at the start of the Number box and choose Insert Number
248
Placeholder and then select a Level option (for example, Level 1), or enter ^ and then the list level (for example, enter ^1). In a list with
first levels numbered 1, 2, 3, and so on, and second levels numbered a, b, c, and so on, including the first-level prefix in the second level
renders second-level numbers as 1a, 1b, 1c; 2a, 2b, 2c; 3a, 3b, 3c.
To create a number expression, enter punctuation, enter metacharacters, or select options on the Insert Special Character list.
10. Select Restart Numbers At This Level After to renumber beginning at 1 when a paragraph at this level appears after a paragraph at a higher
level; deselect this option to number paragraphs at this level consecutively throughout the list without regard for where the paragraphs
appear in the list hierarchy.
To restart numbers after a specific level or range of levels, type the level number or range (such as 2-4) in the Restart Numbers At This
Level After field.
11. In the Bullet or Number Position area, choose Indent or Tab Position options to indent list items at this level farther than list items at higher
levels. Indenting helps subordinate items in lists stand out.
12. Click OK.
In some cases, such as with numbered steps, you may want to restart numbering within the same story. To avoid restarting the numbered list
manually, create a separate style that’s identical to the Level 1 style with one exception. For Mode, chose Start At, and then specify 1. Name this
style something like “Level 1 Restart.”
To the top
Create running captions for figures and tables
Running captions number figures, tables, and other items consecutively in a document. For example, the first figure caption starts with the words
“Figure 1,” the second with “Figure 2,” and so on. To make sure that figures, tables, or similar items are numbered consecutively, define a list for
the item, and then create a paragraph style that includes the list definition. You can also add descriptive words such as “Figure” or “Table” to the
numbering scheme of the paragraph style.
Bob Bringhurst provides an article about creating figure captions at Numbered Lists Part III - Figure Captions.
List items are numbered in the order in which they are added to the page. To reorder the items, cut and paste the items one by one in the
order in which you want them to be listed.
1. Create a new paragraph style and, in the Bullets And Numbering section of the Paragraph Style Options dialog box, choose Numbers from
the List Type menu.
2. Choose a defined list from the List menu (or choose New List to define a list).
3. Under Numbering Style, select the type of numbering you want to use from the Format menu.
For example, select the A, B, C, D... option to create a list for “Figure A,” “Figure B,” and so on.
4. In the Number box, enter a descriptive word and any spacing or punctuation (as needed) along with the numbering metacharacters.
For example, to create a “Figure A” effect, enter the word “Figure” and a space before the numbering metacharacters (such as Figure ^#.^t).
This adds the word “Figure” followed by a sequential number (^#), a period, and a tab (^t).
Note: To include chapter numbers in running captions, choose Insert Number Placeholder > Chapter Number from the Number list, or enter
^H where you want the chapter number to appear in the number scheme.
5. Finish creating the style and click OK.
After you create the style, apply it to text figure captions or table titles.
You can use the Table Of Contents feature to generate a list of tables or figures.
To the top
Restart or continue numbering for a list
InDesign offers commands for restarting a list and continuing a list:
Restarting a numbered list Place the insertion point in the paragraph and choose Restart Numbering from the context menu or choose Type >
Bulleted And Numbered Lists > Restart Numbering. In normal lists, this command assigns the number 1 (or letter A) to a paragraph and makes it
the first paragraph in a list. In multi-level lists, this command assigns the first lower-level number to a nested paragraph.
Continuing a numbered list Choose Continue Numbering from the context menu or choose Type > Bulleted And Numbered Lists > Continue
Numbering. This command resumes numbering a list that was interrupted by commentary, graphics, or nested list items. InDesign also offers
commands for numbering lists that begin in one story or book and cross into the next story or book.
Number a list from the previous or current story
Whether a list resumes numbering from the previous story or starts numbering anew in the current story depends on how the list is defined.
1. Choose Type > Bulleted And Numbered Lists > Define Lists.
2. Select a list and click the Edit button.
Don’t choose the Default list because it can’t run across stories.
3. Select Continue Numbers Across Stories to resume numbering the list from the previous story, or deselect this option to start the list in the
249
current story at 1 (or A).
4. Click OK twice.
Number a list from the previous or current document in a book
Whether a list resumes numbering from the previous document in a book or starts numbering anew in the current document depends on how the
list is defined.
1. Choose Type > Bulleted And Numbered Lists > Define Lists.
2. Select a list and click the Edit button.
3. Select Continue Numbers From Previous Document In Book to resume numbering the list from the previous document (you must choose
Continue Numbers Across Stories to activate this option), or deselect this option to start the list in the current document at 1 (or A).
4. Click OK twice.
To make sure that numbering is updated properly in a book, synchronize the documents in the book and choose Update Numbering > Update
All Numbers from the books panel menu.
To the top
Convert list bullets or numbers to text
1. Select the paragraphs containing the bulleted or numbered list.
2. Do one of the following:
From the Paragraph panel menu, choose Convert Numbering To Text or Convert Bullets To Text.
Right-click (Windows) or Command-click (Mac OS) the selection, and then choose Convert Numbering To Text or Convert Bullets To
Text.
Note: To remove the list numbers or bullets, click the Numbered List button or Bulleted List button to unapply list formatting to the selected
text.
More Help topics
Bulleted and Numbered Lists video
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
250
Captions
Generate a caption from an image
Specify caption setup options
Create captions using variables
Define caption variables
A caption is descriptive text that appears below an image. InDesign provides several methods for creating captions that display the image
metadata you specify. InDesign provides a special caption variable that displays the specified metadata of an image. If a text frame containing the
variable is next to or grouped with the image, the variable displays the metadata of that image. You can generate a caption from an existing image
or while placing it, and you can create a text frame that contains a caption variable.
For video tutorials on generating captions from metadata, see www.adobe.com/go/lrvid5156_id_en and http://tv.adobe.com/go/4958/.
Caption generated from image metadata
To the top
Generate a caption from an image
When you generate a caption from an existing image, you can generate either a static caption, which can be modified only manually, or a live
caption, which is updated if the image or the image metadata changes. For example, if you move a live caption next to a different image, the
caption displays metadata from the different image.
When you choose Generate Live Caption, a new variable is generated automatically based on the current caption settings. For example, if the
Description metadata type is selected in the Caption Setup dialog box, a variable called “Live Metadata Caption: Description” is created.
1. To determine the content and appearance of the caption you generate, choose Object > Captions > Caption Settings, and specify settings.
See Specify caption setup options.
2. Choose Object > Captions > Generate Live Caption or Generate Static Caption.
Note: When you generate a live caption that displays a long string of text, such as a Description, the caption does not break across lines because
it is a variable. If a caption is compressed into a single line, consider converting a live caption to a static caption. To convert a live caption to a
static caption, select the live caption and choose Object > Captions > Convert To Static Caption.
You can also generate a static caption while placing an image. In the Place dialog box, select Create Static Captions, and then place the caption
text frame after placing the image.
To the top
Specify caption setup options
Use the Captions Settings dialog box to determine the content and formatting of captions you generate. These captions affect only future captions
you generate, not existing captions.
1. Choose Object > Captions > Caption Settings.
2. Choose the metadata you want to include, and specify the text that appears before and after the metadata.
3. To include multiple rows of metadata, click the plus sign icon.
4. Specify the following options, and click OK.
Text Before / Text After The text that appears before or after the specified metadata.
Metadata Choose the metadata option, such as Description or City, from the list.
Alignment Specify where to place the caption in relation to the image.
251
Offset Specify how far apart the caption text is from the edge of the text frame next to the image.
Paragraph Style Specify a paragraph style to apply to the caption text. If you want the caption to include automatic numbering, such as
“Figure 1,” “Figure 2,” and so on, include the numbering in the paragraph style. See Create running captions for figures and tables.
Layer Specify to which layer the caption belongs.
Group Caption With Image Indicate whether the image frame and caption text frame are grouped.
To the top
Create captions using variables
When a text frame containing a caption variable is adjacent to or grouped with an image, the caption variable displays the metadata of that image.
Caption variables
A. Text frame with caption variable not next to image B. Text frame moved next to image
1. If necessary, define the caption variable you want to use. See Define caption variables.
2. Create the text frame to be used for the caption.
3. With the insertion point in the text frame, choose Type > Text Variables > Insert Variable, and then choose the caption variable you want to
include. Insert as many caption variables as needed.
4. Move the caption text frame next to an image frame, or group the caption text frame with the image frame.
If the caption variable is blank, edit the image metadata, and then use the Links panel to update the image. To edit image metadata, see Edit
metadata in image files.
To the top
Define caption variables
Caption variables are updated automatically when a text frame containing a caption variable is moved next to an image. By default, the Name
metadata is used for the variable type when you choose Type > Text Variables > Insert Variable > Image Name. You can edit the Image Name
variable, or you can create new variables that specify image metadata.
1. Choose Type > Text Variables > Define.
2. Choose New to create a variable or Edit to edit an existing variable.
3. For Type, select Metadata Caption.
4. Choose an option from the Metadata menu.
5. Specify text that appears before or after the metadata, and then choose OK.
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
252
Creating type on a path
Create type on a path
Edit or delete type on a path
Adjust the type on a path position
Apply an effect to type on a path
Add anchored objects to type on a path
To the top
Create type on a path
You can format text to flow along the edge of an open or closed path of any shape. Apply options and effects to type on a path: Slide it along the
path, flip it over to the other side of the path, or use the shape of the path to distort the characters. Type on a path has an in port and an out port
just like other text frames, so you can thread text to and from it.
You can include only one line of type on a path, so any type that won’t fit on the path will be overset (hidden), unless you’ve threaded it to another
path or text frame. You can add inline or above line anchored objects to type on a path. You can’t create type on a path using compound paths,
such as those that result from using the Create Outlines command.
Type on a path
A. Start bracket B. In port C. Center bracket D. End bracket E. Out port indicating threaded text
1. Select the Type On A Path tool
. (Click and hold the Type tool to display a menu containing the Type On A Path tool.)
2. Position the pointer on the path until a small plus sign appears next to the pointer
, and then follow these steps:
To type using default settings, click the path. An insertion point appears at the start of the path by default. If the current default
paragraph settings specify an indent, or any alignment other than left, the insertion point may appear somewhere other than at the start
of the path.
To confine the text to a specific portion of the path, click the path where you would like the text to start, and drag along the path to
where you want the text to end, then release the mouse. (For information about changing the start and end position of text, see Adjust
the type on a path position.)
Changing location of type on path
Note: If neither clicking nor dragging seems to work, make sure that the small plus sign appears next to the Type On A Path tool.
3. Type the text you want. If you clicked to place the insertion point on the path, type will appear along the entire length of the path. If you
dragged, type will appear only along the length you dragged.
Note: If the path was originally visible, it remains visible after you add type to it. To hide the path, select it with the Selection or Direct Selection
tool, and then apply a fill and stroke of None.
To the top
Edit or delete type on a path
253
You can apply character and paragraph options to type on a path. However, paragraph rules and paragraph spacing options have no effect on
type on a path. The alignment setting in the Paragraph panel controls the alignment of type on a path.
Edit and format path-type characters
1. Using the Type On A Path tool, do one of the following:
To add an insertion point, click between any two characters in the type on a path.
To select characters, drag through the type on a path.
2. Edit and format the text as needed.
Delete type from a path
1. Using the Selection tool
or Direct Selection tool
, select one or more type-on-a-path objects.
2. Choose Type > Type on a Path > Delete Type From Path.
If the path text is threaded, type moves to the next threaded text frame or type-on-a-path object. If the path text isn’t threaded, text is deleted. The
path remains, but loses any type-on-a-path attributes—all brackets, in and out ports, and threading properties are removed.
Note: If the path’s fill and stroke are set to None, the path is invisible after you delete the type. To make the path visible, press the D key
immediately after you choose Type > Type on a Path > Delete Type From Path. This applies the default fill and stroke to the selected path.
Tighten character spacing around sharp turns and acute angles
1. Using the Selection tool or the Type tool, select the type on a path.
2. Choose Type > Type on a Path > Options, or double-click the Type On A Path tool.
3. For Spacing, type a value in points. Higher values remove the extra space from between characters positioned on sharp curves or angles.
Type on a path before (left) and after (right) applying spacing adjustment
Note: The Spacing value compensates for the way characters fan out around a curve or sharp angle. It has no effect on characters positioned on
straight segments. To change spacing of characters anywhere along the path, select them, and then apply kerning or tracking.
To the top
Adjust the type on a path position
You can change the start or end position of type on a path, slide type, and change the path position in other ways.
Change the start or end position of type on a path
1. Using the Selection tool
, select the type on a path.
2. Position the pointer over the path type’s start or end bracket until a small icon appears next to the pointer
bracket’s in port or out port.
Zoom in on the path to more easily select the bracket.
3. Drag the start or end bracket along the path.
Position the pointer on start or end bracket, and then drag to reposition boundary of type on a path.
254
. Do not position it over the
Note: If you apply a paragraph indent value, it’s measured from the start and end brackets.
Slide type along a path
1. Using the Selection tool
, select the type on a path.
2. Position the pointer over the path type’s center bracket until a center bracket icon appears next to the pointer
Zoom in on the path to more easily select the bracket.
.
3. Drag the center bracket along the path.
Note: The text won’t move if both the start and end brackets are at the ends of the path. To create some space for dragging text, drag the start
or end bracket away from the ends of the path.
Flip type on a path
1. Click the Selection tool
, and select the type on a path.
2. Position the pointer over the type’s center bracket until a center bracket icon appears next to the pointer
.
3. Drag the center bracket across the path.
Position pointer on center bracket, and then drag across path to flip type.
You can also flip type on a path using a dialog box. Using the Selection tool or the Type tool, select the type on a path. Choose Type >
Type on a Path > Options. Select the Flip option, and then click OK.
To the top
Apply an effect to type on a path
1. Using the Selection tool or the Type tool, select the type on a path.
2. Choose Type > Type on a Path > Options, or double-click the Type On A Path tool.
3. Choose one of the following in the Effect menu, and then click OK:
To keep the center of each character’s baseline parallel to the path’s tangent, choose Rainbow. This is the default setting.
Type on a path effects
A. Rainbow effect B. Skew effect C. 3D Ribbon effect D. Stair Step effect E. Gravity effect
255
To keep characters’ vertical edges perfectly vertical regardless of the path shape, while letting characters’ horizontal edges follow the
path, choose Skew. The resulting horizontal distortion is useful for text that appears to follow waves or go around a cylinder, as on a
beverage can label.
To keep characters’ horizontal edges perfectly horizontal regardless of the path shape, while keeping each character’s vertical edge
perpendicular to the path, choose 3D Ribbon.
To keep the left edge of each character’s baseline on the path without rotating any characters, choose Stair Step.
To keep the center of each character’s baseline on the path while keeping each vertical edge in line with the path’s center point, choose
Gravity. You can control this option’s perspective effect by adjusting the arc of the text’s path.
To the top
Add anchored objects to type on a path
1. Using the Type tool or the Type On A Path tool, click an insertion point in the text where you want the anchor for the object to appear.
2. Add the anchored object. You can add inline or above line anchored objects or frames to the path. (See Anchored objects.)
Note: The options available for above line anchored objects in a text path differ slightly from options for anchored objects in a regular text frame:
the Alignment option is relative to the anchored object marker and the Space Before option is not available.
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
256
Editing text
Select text
View hidden (nonprinting) characters
Add column, frame, and page breaks
Use the Story Editor
Use conditional text
To the top
Select text
Using the Type tool, do one of the following:
Drag the I-bar cursor over a character, word, or an entire text block to select it.
Double-click a word to select it. Spaces next to the word are not selected.
Triple-click anywhere in a line to select a line. If the Triple Click To Select A Line preferences option is deselected, triple-clicking selects the
entire paragraph.
If the Triple Click To Select A Line option is selected, quadruple-click anywhere in a paragraph to select the entire paragraph.
Quintuple-click to select the entire story, or click anywhere in a story and choose Edit > Select All.
If you cannot select text in a frame, the text frame could be on a locked layer or on a master page. Try unlocking the layer or going to the master
page. The text frame may also be beneath another text frame or transparent object. See Select text in a frame that is covered.
Change what triple-clicking does
1. Choose Edit > Preferences > Type (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > Type (Mac OS).
2. Select Triple Click To Select A Line to enable triple-clicking to select a line (this is the default). Deselect this option if you want triple-clicking
to select a paragraph.
Select text in a frame that is covered
1. Using the Selection tool
, hold down Ctrl (Windows) or Command (Mac OS) and click to select the text frame.
2. Select the Type tool, and then click inside the text frame or select text.
To the top
View hidden (nonprinting) characters
1. Choose Type > Show Hidden Characters.
2. If hidden characters still do not appear, turn off preview mode. Choose View > Screen Mode > Normal and choose View >Overprint Preview
to deselect it.
Nonprinting characters such as those for spaces, tabs, ends of paragraphs, index markers, and ends of stories appear. These special characters
are visible only in a document window and a story editor window; they don’t print or output to formats such as PDF and XML. The hidden
characters appear in the same color as the layer color.
Nonprinting characters hidden (top) and visible (bottom)
257
Anne Marie Concepcion provides a comprehensive list of special characters at Free Guide to InDesign Special Characters.
List of hidden characters
Hidden character
What it represents
End of Paragraph
Soft return (line break)
Space
End of Story
Discretionary Hyphen
Nonbreaking Hyphen
Tab
Right Indent Tab
Indent to Here
End Nested Style Here
Non-Joiner
Em Space
En Space
Nonbreaking Space
Nonbreaking Space (Fixed Width)
Hair Space
Sixth Space
Thin Space
Quarter Space
Third Space
Punctuation Space
Figure Space
Flush Space
Column Break
Frame Break
Page Break
Odd Page Break
Even Page Break
Forced Line Break
InCopy Note
258
InCopy Note (in Story Editor)
Position marker (InCopy only)
Index marker
Index marker (in Story Editor)
Hidden conditional text
Hidden conditional text (in Story Editor)
Bookmark or hyperlink destination marker (often a text anchor)
Bookmark or hyperlink destination marker (in Story Editor)
Hyperlink destination (in Story Editor)
Cross-referenced paragraph
Cross-reference hyperlink (in Story Editor)
Anchored object
Anchored object (in Story Editor)
XML tag
XML tag (in Story Editor)
Footnote (in Story Editor)
Table (in Story Editor)
Variable (in Story Editor)
Index marker (in Story Editor)
To the top
Add column, frame, and page breaks
Control column, frame, and page breaks by inserting special break characters in the text.
1. Using the Type tool, click to place the insertion point where you want the break to occur.
2. Choose Type > Insert Break Character, and then choose a break option from the submenu.
You can also create breaks by using the Enter key on the numeric keypad. For a column break, press Enter; for a frame break, press
Shift+Enter; and for a page break, press Ctrl+Enter (Windows) or Command+Return (Mac OS).
To remove a break character, choose Type > Show Hidden Characters so that you can see nonprinting characters, and then select and delete the
break character.
Note: If you create a break by changing paragraph settings (as in the Keep Options dialog box), the break precedes the paragraph that contains
the setting. If you create a break using a special character, the break occurs immediately after the special character.
Break options
The following options appear on the Type > Insert Break Character menu:
Column break Flows text to the next column in the current text frame. If the frame has only one column, the text goes to the next threaded
frame.
Frame break Flows text to the next threaded text frame, regardless of the current text frame’s column setup.
Page break Flows text to the next page with a text frame threaded to the current text frame.
Odd page break Flows text to the next odd-numbered page with a text frame threaded to the current text frame.
Even page break
Paragraph Return
Forced Line Break
Flows text to the next even-numbered page with a text frame threaded to the current text frame.
Inserts a paragraph return (the same as pressing Enter or Return).
Forces a line to break where the character is inserted, starting a new line without starting a new paragraph (the same as
259
pressing Shift+Enter or Shift+Return). A forced line break is also called a soft return.
Discretionary Line Break Indicates where a line of text should break if the line needs to break. A discretionary line break is similar to a
discretionary hyphen, only no hyphen is added where the line breaks.
Related break options are available in the Keep Options dialog box and in the Paragraph Style Options dialog box.
To the top
Use the Story Editor
You can edit text in InDesign either on the layout page or in the story editor window. Writing and editing in a story editor window allows the entire
story to appear in the typeface, size, and spacing that you specify in Preferences, without layout or formatting distractions. The Story Editor is also
where you can view track changes to text.
Each story appears in a different story editor window. All the text in the story appears in the story editor, including overset text. You can open
several story editor windows simultaneously, including multiple instances of the same story. A vertical depth ruler indicates how much text is filling
the frame, and a line indicates where text is overset.
When you edit a story, changes are reflected in the layout window. Open stories are listed in the Window menu. You cannot create a new story in
a story editor window.
Story Editor window
A. Paragraph styles B. Drag divider to adjust column width C. Vertical depth ruler D. Overset text indicator
You can view and edit tables in Story Editor, where text is displayed in sequential columns and rows for easy editing. Quickly expand or collapse
tables, and decide whether to view them by row or column.
The Story Editor also displays text that has been added, removed, or edited if you turn on Track Changes. See Tracking and reviewing changes.
Open the Story Editor
1. Select the text frame, click an insertion point in the text frame, or select multiple frames from different stories.
2. Choose Edit > Edit In Story Editor.
To open another instance of the same story editor window, make the story editor active, and choose Window > Arrange > New Window.
Return to the layout window
In Story Editor, do one of the following:
Choose Edit > Edit In Layout. When you use this method, the layout view displays the same text selection or insertion-point location as last
appeared in the story editor, and the story window remains open but moves behind the layout window.
Click in the layout window. The story window remains open but moves behind the layout window.
Close the story editor window.
Choose the document name from the bottom of the Window menu.
Show or hide Story Editor items
260
You can show or hide the style name column and the depth ruler, expand or collapse footnotes, and show or hide paragraph break marks to
indicate the start of new paragraphs. These settings affect all open story editor windows, as well as all subsequently opened windows.
With the story editor active, choose View > Story Editor > Show Style Name Column or Hide Style Name Column. You can also adjust the
width of the style name column by dragging the vertical bar. Subsequent story editor windows have the same column width.
With the Story Editor active, choose View > Story Editor > Show Depth Ruler or Hide Depth Ruler.
With the Story Editor active, choose View > Story Editor > Expand All Footnotes or Collapse AllFootnotes.
With the Story Editor active, choose View > Story Editor > Show Paragraph Break Marks or Hide Paragraph Break Marks.
Story Editor preferences
Use Story Editor Display preferences to change the appearance of the Story Editor. Although the Story Editor suppresses all but the most basic
text styling attributes, some objects and attributes are represented, including the following:
Attribute
Icon
Table
Inline objects
XML tags
Variables
Hyperlink sources
Hyperlink anchors
Cross-reference
Hidden conditional text
Note
Footnotes
Index markers
Deleted text
Added text
Moved text
Text Display Options Choose a display font, size, line spacing, text color, and background. You can also specify a different theme, such as
selecting Classic System to view yellow text on a black background. These settings affect the display of text in the story editor window, not how
they appear in layout view.
Enable Anti-Aliasing Smooth the jagged edges of type, and choose the Type of anti-aliasing: LCD Optimized, Soft, or the Default setting, which
uses shades of gray to smooth text. LCD Optimized uses colors, rather than shades of gray, to smooth text, and works best on light-colored
backgrounds with black text. Soft uses shades of gray, but produces a lighter, fuzzier appearance than Default.
Cursor Options Change the appearance of the text cursor. For example, select Blink if you want the cursor to blink.
Text from inline frames does not appear in the parent story editor window, but it can appear in its own story editor window.
To the top
Use conditional text
Conditional text is a way to create different versions of the same document. After you create conditions, you apply them to ranges of text. You can
then create different versions of documents by showing and hiding conditions. For example, if you’re creating a computer manual, you can create
separate conditions for Mac OS and Windows. Before you print the Mac OS version of the user guide, you can show all text to which the “Mac”
condition is applied and hide all text to which the “Windows” condition is applied. You can then reverse the condition states for printing the user
guide for Windows.
261
Conditional text shown
A. All conditions shown B. Conditional indicators
Conditional text hidden
A. “Mac” condition hidden B. Hidden condition symbols
Conditions can be applied only to text. You can make anchored objects conditional, but only by selecting the anchored object marker. You can
apply conditions to text within table cells, but you cannot apply conditions to table cells, columns, or rows. You cannot apply conditions to text in
locked InCopy stories.
For a video tutorial on using conditional text, see www.adobe.com/go/lrvid4026_id.
Planning conditional documents
When planning a project with conditional text, examine the nature of the material and look at how several people can take turns working with it if
the document is handed off. Plan to treat conditional text consistently to make the document easier to use and maintain. Use the following
guidelines.
Number of versions Define how many versions your finished project will contain. For example, if you’re creating a manual that describes a
program that runs on both Windows and Mac OS platforms, you might want to produce at least two versions: a Windows version and a Mac OS
version. If you want to produce these versions with editorial comments sprinkled in the text during the review process, you’ll want even more
versions: Mac OS with comments, Mac OS without comments, Windows with comments, and Windows without comments.
For documents with many conditions, you can define condition sets that can be applied to the document for quick versioning.
Number of condition tags required Decide how many condition tags you need to produce the desired versions. A version of a document is
defined by a unique set of condition tags. For example, a version of a finished Windows manual might be defined by having a Windows condition
tag showing, a Mac OS condition tag hidden, and a Comments condition tag hidden. In this example, you would need to decide whether to use
one condition tag for Windows comments and another for Mac OS comments, or whether to use a single condition tag for both Windows and Mac
OS comments.
Organization of content Evaluate the extent to which the document can be conditional and how you can organize the material to simplify
development and maintenance. For example, you might be able to organize a book so that conditional text is limited to a few documents. Or you
might choose to keep versions of a particular chapter in separate files rather than in conditional text, and then use a different book file for each
version of the book.
In some instances, such as when working with multiple languages, you may want to create separate layers that you can show or hide rather than
using conditions, with each layer including text from a different language.
Tagging strategy Determine the smallest unit of conditional text. For example, if a document will be translated to another language, a whole
sentence should be the smallest amount of text you make conditional. Because word order often changes during translation, using conditional text
for part of a sentence could complicate translation.
262
Inconsistency in applying conditions to spaces and punctuation can result in extra spacing or misspelled words. Decide whether to make spaces
and punctuation conditional. If conditional text begins or ends with punctuation, make the punctuation conditional too. This makes the text easier to
read when you're viewing more than one version.
To avoid word spacing problems, such as having an unconditional space followed by a conditional space, set standards for handling spaces
following conditional text (either always conditional or always unconditional).
To avoid confusion, decide the order in which conditional text will appear and use this order throughout the document.
Indexes and cross-references When indexing a document, pay attention to whether index markers are placed inside or outside conditional text.
Keep in mind that index markers in hidden conditional text are not included in the generated index.
If you create a cross-reference to conditional text, make sure that the source text has the same condition. For example, if you add a crossreference in a “Windows” paragraph and the text anchor appears in a “Mac” condition, the cross-reference is unresolved when the “Mac” condition
is hidden. “HT” appears next to the cross-reference in the Hyperlinks panel.
If you create a cross-reference to a paragraph in which some text is conditional and then change the visibility settings of that condition, update the
cross-reference.
Create conditions
Conditions you create are saved in the current document. If no documents are open when you create a condition, that condition appears in all new
documents you create.
You can make conditional text easy to identify by specifying condition indicators, such as wavy red underlines.
1. Choose Window > Type & Tables > Conditional Text to display the Conditional Text panel.
2. Choose New Condition from the Conditional Text panel menu, and type a name for the condition.
3. In the Indicator group, specify the appearance of the indicator to which the condition is applied.
By default, indicators (such as wavy red lines) are set to appear in the document but not be printed or output. You can choose an option
from the Indicators menu in the Conditional Text panel to hide indicators or to print and output them, which can be useful for review
purposes.
4. Click OK.
Apply conditions to text
You can apply multiple conditions to the same text. By default, condition indicators identify conditional text. However, if indicators are hidden, you
can use the Conditional Text panel to determine which conditions have been applied to the current text. A solid check mark indicates the condition
is applied to the current text. A dim check mark indicates that the condition is applied only to part of the selection.
1. Select the text to which you want to apply the condition.
2. In the Conditional Text panel (Windows > Type & Tables > Conditional Text), do any of the following:
To apply a condition, click the condition, or click the box next to the condition name.
To apply a condition and remove other conditions applied to the text, Alt-click (Windows) or Option-click (Mac OS) a condition.
To remove a condition, click the box next to the condition name to remove the check mark. Or, click [Unconditional] to remove all
conditions from the selected text.
Note: You cannot apply keyboard shortcuts to specific conditions. However, you can apply conditions using Quick Apply.
Show or hide conditions
When you hide a condition, all text to which that condition is applied is hidden. Hiding conditions often causes the page numbering to change in a
document or book. You can use the Smart Text Reflow feature to add and remove pages automatically as you hide and show conditions.
Hidden conditional text is generally ignored in the document. For example, hidden text is not printed or exported, index markers in hidden
conditional text are not included in a generated index, and hidden conditional text is not included when searching or spell-checking text.
When you hide a condition, the hidden text is stored in a hidden condition symbol . If you select text that contains a hidden condition symbol and
try to delete it, InDesign prompts you to confirm that you want to delete the hidden conditional text. You cannot apply other conditions, styles, or
formatting to hidden conditional text.
If text has several conditions applied to it and at least one of those conditions is shown while another is hidden, the text is not hidden.
To show or hide individual conditions, click the visibility box next to a condition name. The eye icon indicates the condition is shown.
To show or hide all conditions, choose Show All or Hide All from the Conditional Text panel menu.
Use condition sets
A condition set captures the visibility settings for all conditions so that you can quickly apply different document renditions. For example, suppose
you have a complex document with platform conditions for Mac OS, Windows XP, Vista, UNIX , language conditions for English, French, German,
and Spanish, and editorial conditions such as Editorial Review and Internal Comments. For reviewing the Vista version in French, you can create a
set that shows only the Vista, French, and Editorial Review conditions, and hides all the rest.
263
While sets aren’t necessary to do this, they help you quickly and reliably change different condition visibility settings.
1. Apply conditions to text as necessary.
2. If the Set menu doesn’t appear in the Conditional Text panel, choose Show Options from the Conditional Text panel menu.
3. In the Conditional Text panel, make the conditions visible or hidden as needed.
4. Choose Create New Set from the Set menu, specify a name for the set, and click OK.
The new set becomes the active set.
5. Do any of the following:
To apply the condition set to a document, choose the condition set name from the Set menu.
To override a condition set, select the set to make it active, and change the visibility setting of any condition. A plus sign (+) appears
next to the condition set. Choose the condition set again to remove overrides. Choose Redefine “[Condition Set]” to update the condition
set with the new visibility settings.
To delete a condition set, select the condition set, and then choose Delete “[Condition Set].” Deleting a condition set does not delete the
set’s conditions, nor does it remove the conditions from wherever they are applied.
Manage conditions
Do any of the following:
Delete a condition Select a condition and click the Delete Condition icon at the bottom of the Conditional Text panel. Specify a condition to
replace the deleted condition and click OK. The condition you specify is applied to all text to which the deleted condition was applied.
To delete multiple conditions, Shift-click to select contiguous conditions, or Ctrl-click (Windows) or Command-click (Mac OS) to select noncontiguous conditions, and then click the Delete Condition icon.
Remove a condition from text Removing a condition tag from text is different from deleting a tag from a document. When you remove a tag from
text, the tag remains in the document so it can be applied again later.
To remove a condition from text, select the text and click the box next to the condition to remove the check mark, or click [Unconditional] to
remove all conditions from the selected text.
Load (import) conditions Choose Load Conditions (to load only conditions) or Load Conditions And Sets from the Conditional Text panel menu.
Select the InDesign document from which you want to import the conditions, and click Open. Loaded conditions and sets replace any condition or
set that has an identical name.
You cannot load conditions from an InCopy file in InDesign, but you can load conditions from an InDesign file in both InDesign and InCopy.
Loaded sets ignore the visibility settings of the conditions currently in the Conditional Text panel.
Synchronize conditions in a book To make sure you’re using the same conditions in all documents in a book, create the conditions you want in
the style source document, select Conditional Text Settings in the Synchronize Options dialog box, and then synchronize the book.
Show or hide condition indicators Choose Show or Hide from the Indicators menu in the Conditional Text panel to show or hide condition
indicators. If you’re showing one version and want to see which areas are conditional, show the condition indicators. If you find the condition
indicators distracting while viewing the layout, hide the condition indicators. Choose Show And Print if you want the condition indicators to be
printed and output.
Change a condition name In the Conditional Text panel, click a condition, pause, and then click the condition name to select it. Type a different
name.
Edit condition indicators In the Conditional Text panel, double-click a condition, or select a condition and choose Condition Options from the
panel menu. Specify indicator settings, and click OK.
Find and change conditional text
Use the Find/Change dialog box to find text to which one or more conditions have been applied and replace it with one or more other conditions.
1. Show any conditional text you want included in the search.
Hidden text is excluded from the search.
2. Choose Edit > Find/Change.
3. If the Find Format and Change Format boxes don’t appear at the bottom of the dialog box, click More Options.
4. Click the Find Format box to display the Find Format Settings dialog box. Under Conditions, select [Any Condition] to search for text in
which any conditon is applied, [Unconditional] to search for text in which no condition is applied, or select the specific condition or conditions
you want to search for. Click OK.
This feature finds text that perfectly matches the selected conditions. For example, if you select both Condition 1 and Condition 2, text to
which only one of the conditions are applied isn’t found, nor is text found to which these two conditions and another is applied.
5. Click the Change Format box to display the Change Format Settings dialog box. Specify the different formatting option, such as a condition
or a character style, and then click OK.
If you select the Conditions section in the Change Format Settings dialog box, the [Any Condition] makes no changes to the found
conditional text. This option is useful if you want to apply different formatting, such as a character style. Select [Unconditional] to remove all
conditions from the found text. If you select a specific condition, specify whether you want it to replace any condition applied to the found text
264
or be added to it.
6. Click Find, and then use the Change, Change/Find, or Change All buttons to replace the condition.
More Help topics
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
265
Find/Change
Find/Change overview
Find and change text
Search using GREP expressions
Metacharacters for searching
Find and change objects
Find and change glyphs
Find and change fonts
Find/change items using queries
To the top
Find/Change overview
The Find/Change dialog box contains tabs that let you specify what you want to find and change.
Find/Change dialog box
A Find/Change tabs B. Find a tab character C. Replace with an em dash D. Search options E. Metacharacters menu
Text Search for and change specific occurrences of characters, words, groups of words, or text formatted a certain way. You can also search for
and replace special characters such as symbols, markers, and white space characters. Wildcard options help to broaden your search.
GREP Use advanced, pattern-based search techniques to search for and replace text and formatting.
Glyph Search for and replace glyphs using Unicode or GID/CID values, especially useful to search for and replace glyphs in Asian languages.
Object Search for and replace formatting effects and attributes in objects and frames. For example, you can find objects with a 4-pt stroke and
replace the stroke with a drop shadow.
For a video tutorial on finding and changing text, objects, and expressions, see www.adobe.com/go/vid0080.
To the top
Find and change text
If you want to list, find, and replace fonts in your document, you might want to use the Find Font command instead of the Find/Change command.
Find and change text
1. To search a range of text or a story, select the text or place the insertion point in the story. To search more than one document, open the
documents.
2. Choose Edit > Find/Change, and then click the Text tab.
3. Specify the range of your search from the Search menu, and click icons to include locked layers, master pages, footnotes, and other items in
the search.
4. In the Find What box, describe what you want to search for:
Type or paste the text you want to find.
266
To search for or replace tabs, spaces, or other special characters, select a representative character (metacharacter) from the pop-up
menu to the right of the Find What box. You can also choose wildcard options such as Any Digit or Any Character.
Use metacharacters to search for special characters, such as a tab.
Use a predefined query to find and replace text. (See Find/change items using queries.)
5. In the Change To box, type or paste the replacement text. You can also select a representative character from the pop-up menu to the right
of the Change To box.
6. Click Find.
7. To continue searching, click Find Next, Change (to change the current occurrence), Change All (a message indicates the total number of
changes), or Change/Find (to change the current occurrence and search for the next one).
8. Click Done.
If you don’t get the search results you expected, make sure that you clear any formatting you may have included in a previous search. You may
also need to expand your search. For example, you may be searching only a selection or a story instead of the document. Or, you may be
searching for text that appears on an item, such as a locked layer, footnote, or hidden conditional text, that is currently excluded from the search.
If you change your mind about replacing text, choose Edit > Undo Replace Text (or Undo Replace All Text).
To find the next occurrence of a previously searched-for phrase without having to open the Find/Change dialog box, choose Edit > Find Next. In
addition, previous search strings are stored in the Find/Change dialog box. You can select a search string from the menu to the right of the option.
Find and change formatted text
1. Choose Edit > Find/Change.
2. If the Find Format and Change Format options don’t appear, click More Options.
3. Click the Find Format box, or click the Specify Attributes To Find icon
to the right of the Find Format Settings section.
4. On the left side of the Find Format Settings dialog box, select a type of formatting, specify the format attributes, and then click OK.
Some OpenType formatting options appear in both the OpenType Options and Basic Character Formats (Position menu) sections. For
information on OpenType and other formatting attributes, search for the related topic in InDesign Help.
Note: To search for (or replace with) formatting only, leave the Find What or Change To box blank.
5. If you want to apply formatting to the text found, click the Change Format box, or click the Specify Attributes To Change icon
Change Format Settings section. Then select a type of formatting, specify the format attributes, and click OK.
in the
6. Use the Find and Change buttons to format the text.
If you specify formatting for your search criteria, info icons appear above the Find What or Change To boxes. These icons indicate that formatting
attributes have been set and that the find or change operation will be restricted accordingly.
To quickly remove all formatting attributes in the Find Format Settings or Change Format Settings sections, click the Clear button.
Common Find/Change techniques
Wildcard searches Specify wildcards, such as Any Digit or Any White Space, to broaden your search. For example, typing “s^?ng” in the Find
267
What box searches for words beginning with an “s” and ending with “ng,” such as “sing,” “sang,” “song,” and “sung.” You can either type wildcard
characters or choose an option from the Wildcards submenu in the pop-up menu next to the Find What text field.
Clipboard for metacharacter searches To search for metacharacters such as em dashes or bullet characters, you may want to select the text
first and paste it into the Find What box to spare the trouble of entering metacharacters. InDesign automatically converts pasted special characters
to their metacharacter equivalent.
Replace with clipboard contents You can replace search items with either formatted or unformatted content copied to the clipboard. You can
even replace text with a graphic you copied. Simply copy the item, and then, in the Find/Change dialog box, choose an option from the Other
submenu from the pop-up menu to the right of the Change To box.
Find and remove unwanted text To remove unwanted text, define the text you want to remove in the Find What box and leave the Change To
box empty (make sure that no formatting is set in this box).
XML tagging You can apply XML tags to text you search for.
Search options for finding and changing text
Search menu Contains options that determine the range of the search.
Documents Search the entire document or All Documents to search all open documents.
Story Search all text in the currently selected frame, including text in other threaded text frames and overset text. Select Stories to search
stories in all selected frames. This option appears only if a text frame is selected or an insertion point is placed.
To End Of Story Search from the insertion point. This option appears only if an insertion point is placed.
Selection Search only selected text. This option appears only if text is selected.
Include Locked Layers
Searches for text on layers that have been locked using the Layer Options dialog box. You cannot replace text on
locked layers.
Include Locked Stories
Searches for text in stories that have been checked out as part of an InCopy workflow. You cannot replace text in
locked stories.
Include Hidden Layers
Searches for text on layers that have been hidden using the Layer Options dialog box. When text on a hidden layer is
found, you can see highlighting where the text appears, but you cannot see the text. You can replace text on hidden layers.
Text in a hidden condition is always omitted from searching.
Searches for text on master pages.
Include Master Pages
Include Footnotes
Searches footnote text.
Case Sensitive
Searches for only the word or words that exactly match the capitalization of the text in the Find What box. For example, a
search for PrePress won’t find Prepress, prepress, or PREPRESS.
Whole Word
Disregards search characters if they are part of another word. For example, if you search for any as a whole word, InDesign
disregards many.
To the top
Search using GREP expressions
On the GREP tab of the Find/Change dialog box, you can construct GREP expressions to find alphanumeric strings and patterns in long
documents or many open documents. You can enter the GREP metacharacters manually or choose them from the Special Characters For Search
list. GREP searches are case-sensitive by default.
InDesign Secrets provides a list of GREP resources at InDesign GREP.
1. Choose Edit > Find/Change, and click the GREP tab.
2. At the bottom of the dialog box, specify the range of your search from the Search menu, and click icons to include locked layers, master
pages, footnotes, and other items in the search.
3. In the Find What box, do any of the following to construct a GREP expression:
Enter the search expression manually. (See Metacharacters for searching.)
Click the Special Characters For Search icon to the right of the Find What option and choose options from the Locations, Repeat, Match,
Modifiers, and Posix submenus to help construct the search expression.
4. In the Change To box, type or paste the replacement text.
5. Click Find.
6. To continue searching, click Find Next, Change (to change the current occurrence), Change All (a message indicates the total number of
changes), or Change/Find (to change the current occurrence and search for the next one.
You can also use GREP Styles to apply a character style to text that conforms to a GREP expression. In fact, the GREP Styles dialog box is a
good way to test your GREP expression. Add the examples you want to find to a paragraph, and then specify a character style and GREP
expression in the GREP Styles dialog box. When you turn on Preview, you can edit the expression until it affects all your examples properly.
Tips for constructing GREP searches
Here are some tips for constructing GREP expressions.
Many searches under the GREP tab are similar to those under the Text tab, but be aware that you need to insert different codes depending
268
on which tab you’re using. In general, the Text tab metacharacters begin with a ^ (such as ^t for a tab) and GREP tab metacharacters begin
with a \ (such as \t for a tab). However, not all metacharacters follow this rule. For example, a paragraph return is ^p in the Text tab and \r in
the GREP tab. For a list of the metacharacters used for the Text and GREP tabs, see Metacharacters for searching.
To search for a character that has symbolic meaning in GREP, enter a backslash (\) before the character to indicate that the character that
follows is literal. For example, a period ( . ) searches for any character in a GREP search; to search for an actual period, enter “\.”
Save the GREP search as a query if you intend to run it often or share it with someone else. (See Find/change items using queries.)
Use parentheses to divide your search into subexpressions. For example, if you want to search for “cat” or “cot,” you can use the c(a|o)t
string. Parentheses are especially useful to identify groupings. For example, searching for “the (cat) and the (dog)” identifies “cat” as Found
Text 1 and “dog” as Found Text 2. You can use the Found Text expressions (such as $1 for Found Text 1) to change only part of the found
text.
GREP search examples
Follow these examples to learn how to take advantage of GREP expressions.
Example 1: Finding text within quotation marks
Suppose you want to search for any word enclosed in quotation marks (such as “Spain”), and you want to remove the quotation marks and apply
a style to the word (so that it becomes Spain instead of “Spain”). The expression (")(\w+)(") includes three groupings, as indicated by parentheses (
). The first and third groupings search for any quotation mark, and the second grouping searches for one or more word characters.
You can use the Found Text expressions to refer to these groupings. For example, $0 refers to all found text, and $2 refers to only the second
grouping. By inserting $2 in the Change To field and specifying a character style in the Change Format field, you can search for a word within
quotation marks, and then replace the word with a character style. Because only $2 is specified, the $1 and $3 groupings are removed. (Specifying
$0 or $1$2$3 in the Change To field would apply the character style to the quotation marks as well.)
GREP example
A. Finds all word characters enclosed in quotation marks B. The character style is applied to the second grouping (the word) while the first and
third groupings (open and close quotes) are removed C. Character style specified
This example searches only for single words enclosed in quotation marks. If you want to search for phrases enclosed in parentheses, add wildcard
expressions, such as (\s*.*\w*\d*), which looks for spaces, characters, word characters, and digits.
Example 2: Phone numbers
InDesign includes a number of search presets that you can choose from the Queries menu. For example, you can choose the Phone Number
Conversion query, which looks like this:
\(?(\d\d\d)\)?[-. ]?(\d\d\d)[-. ]?(\d\d\d\d)
Phone numbers in the United States can appear in a variety of formats, such as 206-555-3982, (206) 555-3982, 206.555.3982, and 206 555 3982.
This string looks for any of these variations. The first three digits (\d\d\d) of the phone number may or may not be enclosed in parentheses, so a
question mark appears after the parentheses: \(? and \)?. Note that the backslash \ indicates that the actual parenthesis is being searched for and
that it’s not part of a subexpression. The brackets [ ] locate any character within them, so in this case, [-. ] finds either a hyphen, a period, or a
space. The question mark after the brackets indicate that the items within it are optional in the search. Finally, the digits are enclosed in
269
parentheses, which signify groupings that can be referred to in the Change To field.
You can edit the grouping references in the Change To field to suit your needs. For example, you could use these expressions:
206.555.3982 = $1.$2.$3
206-555-3982 = $1-$2-$3
(206) 555-3982 = ($1) $2-$3
206 555 3982 = $1 $2 $3
Additional GREP examples
Experiment with the examples in this table to learn more about GREP searches.
Expression
Search string
Sample text
Matches (in bold)
Class of characters
[abc]
Maria cuenta bien.
Mariacuentabien.
[]
Finds the letter a, b, or c.
Beginning of paragraph
^~_.+
^
This searches the beginning of
the paragraph (^) for an em
dash (~_) followed by any
character ( . ) one or more
times (+).
“We saw—or at least we think
we saw—a purple cow.”
“We saw—or at least we think
we saw—a purple cow.”
—Konrad Yoes
—Konrad Yoes
InDesign, InDesign 2.0,
InDesign CS, and InDesign
CS2
InDesign, InDesign 2.0,
InDesign CS, and InDesign
CS2
InDesign, InDesign 2.0,
InDesign CS, and InDesign
CS2
InDesign, InDesign 2.0,
InDesign CS, and InDesign
CS2
The quick brown fox jumps up
and down.
The quick brown fox jumps
up and down.
Negative lookahead
InDesign (?!CS.*?)
(?!pattern)
The negative lookahead
matches the search string only
if it is not followed by the
specified pattern.
Positive lookahead
InDesign (?=CS.*?)
(?=pattern)
The positive lookahead
matches the search string only
if it is followed by the specified
pattern.
Use similar patterns for
negative lookbehinds (?
<!pattern) and positive
lookbehinds (?<=pattern).
Groupings
(quick) (brown) (fox)
()
All found text = quick brown
fox; Found Text 1= quick;
Found Text 2 = brown; Found
Text 3= fox
Non-marking parentheses
(quick) ($:brown) (fox)
(?:expression)
The quick brown fox jumps up
and down.
The quick brown fox jumps
up and down.
All found text = quick brown
fox; Found Text 1= quick;
Found Text 2 = fox
Case-insensitive on
(?i)apple
Apple apple APPLE
AppleappleAPPLE
(?i)
You can also use (?i:apple)
Case-insensitive off
(?-i)apple
Apple apple APPLE
Apple apple APPLE
Multiline on
(?m)^\w+
(?m)
In this example, the expression
looks for one or more (+) word
characters (\w) at the
beginning of a line (^). The (?
m) expression allows all lines
within the found text to be
One Two Three Four Five Six
Seven Eight
One Two ThreeFour Five
SixSeven Eight
(?-i)
270
treated as separate lines.
(?m)^\w matches the
beginning of each paragraph.
(?-m)^\w matches only the
beginning of the story.
Multiline off
(?-m)^\w+
One Two Three Four Five Six
Seven Eight
One Two Three Four Five Six
Seven Eight
Single-line on
(?s)c.a
abc abc abc abc
abc abcabc abc
(?s)
The searches for any
character ( . ) between the
letters c and a. The (?s)
expression matches any
character, even if it falls on the
next line.
abc abc abc abc
(?-m)
(.) matches anything other
than a paragraph return. (?s)(.)
matches anything, including
paragraph returns.
Single-line off
(?-s)c.a
abc abc abc abc
Repeat number of times
b{3} matches exactly 3 times
abbc abbbc abbbbc abbbbbc
{}
b(3,} matches at least 3 times
abbc abbbc abbbbc abbbbbc
b{3,}? matches at least 3 times
(shortest match)
abbc abbbc abbbbc abbbbbc
abbc abbbc abbbbc abbbbbc
abbc abbbc abbbbc abbbbbc
b{2,3} matches at least 2 times
and not more than 3
abbc abbbc abbbbc abbbbbc
b{2,3}? matches at least 2
times and not more than 3
(shortest match)
To the top
Metacharacters for searching
Metacharacters represent a character or symbol in InDesign. Metacharacters in the Text section of the Find/Change dialog box begin with a
caret (^); metacharacters in the GREP section begin with a tilde (~) or backslash (\). You can type metacharacters in the Text tab or GREP tab of
the Find/Change dialog box.
Save time fixing punctuation errors by saving search strings as queries.
Character:
Text tab metacharacter:
GREP tab metacharacter:
Tab Character
^t
\t
End of Paragraph
^p
\r
Forced Line Break
^n
\n
Any Page Number
^#
~#
Current Page Number
^N
~N
Next Page Number
^X
~X
Previous Page Number
^V
~V
* Any Variable
^v
~v
Section Marker
^x
~x
* Anchored Object Marker
^a
~a
* Footnote Reference Marker
^F
~F
271
* Index Marker
^I
~I
Bullet Character
^8
~8
Caret Character
^^
\^
Backslash Character
\
\\
Copyright Symbol
^2
~2
Ellipsis
^e
~e
Tilde
~
\~
Paragraph Symbol
^7
~7
Registered Trademark Symbol
^r
~r
Section Symbol
^6
~6
Trademark Symbol
^d
~d
Open Parenthesis Character
(
\(
Close Parenthesis Character
)
\)
Open Brace Character
{
\{
Close Brace Character
}
\}
Open Bracket Character
[
\[
Close Bracket Character
]
\]
Em Dash
^_
~_
En Dash
^=
~=
Discretionary Hyphen
^-
~-
Nonbreaking Hyphen
^~
~~
Em Space
^m
~m
En Space
^>
~>
Third Space
^3
~3
Quarter Space
^4
~4
Sixth Space
^%
~%
Flush Space
^f
~f
Hair Space
^|
~|
Nonbreaking Space
^s
~s
Nonbreaking Space (fixed width)
^S
~S
Thin Space
^<
~<
Figure Space
^/
~/
Punctuation Space
^.
~.
^ Clipboard Contents, Formatted
^c
~c
^ Clipboard Contents, Unformatted
^C
~C
272
Any Double Quotation Mark
"
"
Any Single Quotation Mark
'
'
Straight Double Quotation Mark
^"
~"
Double Left Quotation Mark
^{
~{
Double Right Quotation Mark
^}
~}
Straight Single Quotation Mark
^'
~'
Single Left Quotation Mark
^[
~[
Single Right Quotation Mark
^]
~]
Standard carriage return
^b
~b
Column Break
^M
~M
Frame Break
^R
~R
Page Break
^P
~P
Odd Page Break
^L
~L
Even Page Break
^E
~E
Discretionary Line Break
^k
~k
Right Indent Tab
^y
~y
Indent to Here
^i
~i
End Nested Style Here
^h
~h
Nonjoiner
^j
~j
* Running header (paragraph style)
variable
^Y
~Y
* Running header (character style)
variable
^Z
~Z
* Custom text variable
^u
~u
* Last page number variable
^T
~T
* Chapter number variable
^H
~H
* Creation date variable
^S
~S
* Modification date variable
^o
~o
* Output date variable
^D
~D
* File name variable
^l (lowercase L)
~l (lowercase L)
* Any Digit
^9
\d
* Any character that is not a digit
\D
* Any Letter
^$
[\l\u]
* Any Character
^?
. (inserts period in Change To)
* White Space (any space or tab)
^w
\s (Inserts space in Change To)
* Any character that is not a white space
\S
273
* Any word character
\w
* Any character that is not a word
character
\W
* Any uppercase letter
\u
* Any character that is not an uppercase
letter
\U
* Any lowercase letter
\l
* Any character that is not a lowercase
letter
\L
^ All Found Text
$0
Found Text 1-9
$1 (specifies the number of the grouping
found, such as $3 for the third grouping;
groupings are enclosed in parentheses)
* Kanji
^K
~K
* Beginning of Word
\<
* End of Word
\>
* Word Boundary
\b
* Opposite of Word Boundary
\B
* Beginning of Paragraph
^
* End of Paragraph [location]
$
* Zero or One Time
?
* Zero or More Times
*
* One or More Times
+
* Zero or One Time (Shortest Match)
??
* Zero or More Times (Shortest Match)
*?
* One or More Times (Shortest Match)
+?
* Marking Subexpression
()
* Non-marking Subexpression
(?: )
* Character Set
[]
* Or
|
* Positive Lookbehind
(?<= )
* Negative Lookbehind
(?<! )
* Positive Lookahead
(?= )
* Negative Lookahead
(?! )
* Case-insensitive On
(?i)
* Case-insensitive Off
(?-i)
* Multiline On
(?m)
274
* Multiline Off
(?-m)
* Single-line On
(?s)
* Single-line Off
(?-s)
* Any alphanumeric character
[[:alnum:]]
* Any alphabetic character
[[:alpha:]]
* Any blank character, either space or tab
[[:blank:]]
* Any control character
[[:control:]]
* Any graphical character
[[:graph:]]
* Any printable character
[[:print:]]
* Any punctuation character
[[:punct:]]
* Any character whose code is greater
than 255 (applies only to the wide
character traits classes)
[[:unicode:]]
* Any hexadecimal digit character 0-9, a-f,
and A-F
[[:xdigit:]]
* Any character of a certain glyph set,
such as a, à, á, â, ã, ä, å, A, À, Á, Â, Ã, Ä
and Å
[[=a=]]
* Can be entered in the Find What box only, not the Change To box.
^ Can be entered in the Change To box, not the Find What box.
To the top
Find and change objects
You can use the Find/Change command to find and replace the attributes and effects applied to objects, graphics frames, and text frames. For
example, to give drop shadows a uniform color, transparency, and offset distance, you can use the Find/Change command to search for and
replace drop shadows throughout a document.
1. Choose Edit > Find/Change.
2. Click the Object tab.
3. Click the Find Object Format box, or click the Specify Attributes To Find icon
.
4. On the left side of the Find Object Format Options dialog box, select a type of formatting, specify the format attributes, and then click OK.
Make sure that the categories you want to search for are in the appropriate state. You can use one of three states for each Effects category:
turned on, turned off, or ignored. For example, setting Drop Shadow to On includes drop shadow formatting in the search; setting Drop
Shadow to Off searches for objects in which drop shadow formatting is turned off; setting Drop Shadow to Ignore leaves drop shadows out
of the search.
5. If you want to apply formatting to the object found, click the Change Object Format box, or click the Specify Attributes To Change icon
the Change Format Settings section. Then select a type of formatting, specify the format attributes, and click OK.
in
6. Click the Find and Change buttons to format the objects.
To the top
Find and change glyphs
The Glyph section of the Find/Change dialog box is especially useful for replacing glyphs that share the same unicode value with other similar
glyphs, such as alternate glyphs.
InDesign Secrets provides a clear example about finding and changing glyphs at Finding and Changing Glyphs.
1. Choose Edit > Find/Change.
2. At the bottom of the dialog box, specify a range from the Search menu, and click icons to determine whether items such as locked layers,
master pages, and footnotes are included in the search.
3. Under Find Glyph, select the Font Family and Font Style in which the glyph is located.
The Font Family menu displays only those fonts that are applied to text in the current document. Fonts in unused styles do not appear.
275
4. Do one of the following to enter the glyph you want to find in the Glyph box:
Click the button beside the Glyph box, and then double-click a glyph on the panel. This panel works like the Glyphs panel.
Choose Unicode or GID/CID, and enter the code for the glyph.
You can use other methods to enter the glyph you want to find in the Glyph box. Select a glyph in the document window and choose
Load Selected Glyph In Find from the context menu, or select a glyph in the Glyphs panel and choose Load Glyph In Find from the
context menu.
5. Under Change Glyph, enter the replacement glyph by using the same techniques you use to enter the glyph you’re searching for.
6. Click Find.
7. To continue searching, click Find Next, Change (to change the most recently found glyph), Change All (a message indicates the total
number of changes), or Change/Find (to change the current occurrence and search for the next one).
8. Click Done.
To the top
Find and change fonts
Use the Find Font command to search for and list the fonts used throughout your document. You can then replace any fonts (except those in
imported graphics) with any other fonts available on your system. You can even replace a font that’s part of a text style. Note the following:
A font name is listed once for its use in the layout and listed each time in imported graphics. For example, if you use the same font three
times in the layout and three times in imported graphics, it will be listed in the Find Font dialog box four times—once for all layout instances,
and three more times for each imported graphic. If fonts are not completely embedded in graphics, the font name may not be listed in the
Find Font dialog box.
Find Font is not available in a Story Editor window.
The Find Font dialog box displays icons to indicate the kinds of fonts or font conditions, such as Type 1 fonts
TrueType fonts
, OpenType fonts
, and missing fonts
, imported images
,
.
Use the Type > Find Font command to help ensure consistent output by analyzing font usage on pages and in imported graphics. To find
and change specific text attributes, characters, or styles, use the Edit > Find/Change command instead.
1. Choose Type > Find Font.
2. Select one or more font names in the Fonts In Document list.
3. Do one of the following:
To find the first occurrence in the layout of the font selected in the list, click Find First. The text using that font moves into view. The Find
First button is unavailable if the selected font is used in an imported graphic or if you selected multiple fonts in the list.
To select an imported graphic that uses a font marked in the list by an imported image icon , click Find Graphic. The graphic also
moves into view. The Find Graphic button isn’t available if the selected font is used only in the layout or if you selected multiple fonts in
the Fonts In Document list.
4. To see details about a selected font, click More Info. To hide the details, click Less Info. The Info area is blank if you selected multiple fonts
in the list.
A font may be listed as Unknown if the file of the selected graphic doesn’t supply information about it. Fonts in bitmap graphics (such as
TIFF images) won’t appear in the list at all because they aren’t true characters.
5. To replace a font, select the new font you want to use from the Replace With list, and do one of the following:
To change just one occurrence of the selected font, click Change. This option is not available if multiple fonts are selected.
To change the font in that occurrence, and then find the next instance, click Change/Find. This option is not available if multiple fonts
are selected.
To change all instances of the font selected in the list, click Change All. If you want any paragraph or character style that includes the
font being searched for to be redefined, select Redefine Style When Changing All.
When there are no more occurrences of a font in your file, its name is removed from the Fonts In Document list.
Note: To change fonts in imported graphics, use the program that originally exported the graphic, and then replace the graphic or update
the link using the Links panel.
6. If you clicked Change, click Find Next to locate the next instance of the font.
7. Click Done.
You can open the Find Font dialog box while preflighting a document. In the Preflight dialog box, switch to the Fonts tab and click Find Font.
To view the system folder in which a font appears, select the font in the Find Font dialog box and choose Reveal In Explorer (Windows) or
Reveal In Finder (Mac OS).
276
To the top
Find/change items using queries
You can find and change text, objects, and glyphs by using or constructing a query. A query is a defined find-and-change operation. InDesign
offers several preset queries for changing punctuation formats and other useful actions, such as changing telephone number formats. By saving a
query you constructed, you can run it again and share it with others.
Search using queries
1. Choose Edit > Find/Change.
2. Choose a query from the Query list.
The queries are grouped by type.
3. Specify a range to search on the Search menu.
The search range is not stored with the query.
4. Click Find.
5. To continue searching, click Find Next, Change (to change the most recently found text or punctuation mark), Change All (a message
indicates the total number of changes), or Change/Find (to change text or punctuation marks and continue your search).
After you select a search query, you can adjust the settings to fine-tune your search.
Save queries
Save a query in the Find/Change dialog box if you want to run it again or share it with others. The names of queries you save appear in the Query
list in the Find/Change dialog box.
1. Choose Edit > Find/Change.
2. Select Text, GREP, or a different tab to undertake the search you want.
3. Below the Search menu, click icons to determine whether items such as locked layers, master pages, and footnotes are included in the
search.
These items are included in the saved query. However, the range of the search isn’t saved with the query.
4. Define the Find What and Change To fields. (See Metacharacters for searching and Search using GREP expressions.)
5. Click the Save Query button in the Find/Change dialog box and enter a name for the query.
If you use the name of an existing query, you are asked to replace it. Click Yes if you want to update the existing query.
Delete queries
Select it on the Query list and click the Delete Query button.
Load queries
Customized queries are stored as XML files. The names of customized queries appear in the Query list in the Find/Change dialog box.
To load a query that was given to you so that it appears in the Query list, copy the query file to the appropriate location:
Mac OS Users\[username]\Library\Preferences\Adobe InDesign\[Version]\[Language]\Find-Change Queries\[query type]
Windows XP Documents and Settings\[username]\Application Data\Adobe\InDesign\[Version]\[Language]\Find-Change Queries\[query type]
Windows Vista and Windows 7 Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\InDesign\[Version]\[Language]\Find-Change Queries\[query type]
More Help topics
Find/Change video
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
277
Footnotes
Create footnotes
Change footnote numbering and layout
Delete footnotes
Work with footnote text
To the top
Create footnotes
A footnote consists of two linked parts: the footnote reference number that appears in text, and the footnote text that appears at the bottom of the
column. You can create footnotes or import them from Word or RTF documents. Footnotes are automatically numbered as they are added to a
document. Numbering restarts in each story. You can control the numbering style, appearance, and layout of footnotes. You cannot add footnotes
to tables or to footnote text.
The width of the footnote text is based on the width of the column containing the footnote reference marker. Footnotes cannot space columns in a
text frame.
You cannot create endnotes in InDesign. However, Bob Bringhurst provides a workaround for creating endnotes at Endnotes in InDesign.
Endnotes in converted Microsoft Word documents are formatted as text, not footnotes.
For a video tutorial on creating footnotes, see www.adobe.com/go/vid0218.
1. Place the insertion point where you want the footnote reference number to appear.
2. Choose Type > Insert Footnote.
3. Type the footnote text.
Footnote added to document
A. Reference number B. Footnote text
As you type, the footnote area expands while the text frame remains the same size. The footnote area continues to expand upward until it reaches
the line with the footnote reference. At that point, the footnote is split to the next text frame column or threaded frame, if possible. If the footnote
cannot be split and if more text is added than can fit in the footnote area, the line containing the footnote reference is moved to the next column, or
an overset icon appears. In such a case, you should resize the frame or change the text formatting.
When the insertion point is in a footnote, you can choose Type > Go To Footnote Reference to return to where you were typing. If you use this
option frequently, consider creating a keyboard shortcut.
To the top
Change footnote numbering and layout
Changes you make to footnote numbering and layout affect existing footnotes and all new ones.
1. Choose Type > Document Footnote Options.
2. In the Numbering And Formatting tab, select options that determine the numbering scheme and formatting appearance of the reference
number and footnote text.
3. Click the Layout tab, and select options that control the look of the footnote section on the page.
4. Click OK.
Footnote numbering and formatting options
The following options appear in the Numbering And Formatting section of the Footnote Options dialog box:
Numbering Style Choose the numbering style for footnote reference numbers.
278
Start At Specify the number used for the first footnote in the story. Each story in a document begins with the same Start At number. If you have
multiple documents in a book with continued page numbering, you may want to start the footnote numbering in each chapter to continue where the
last chapter left off.
The Start At option is especially useful for documents in a book. Footnote numbering is not continued across documents in a book.
Restart Numbering Every If you want numbering to restart within the document, select this option and choose Page, Spread, or Section to
determine when footnote numbering is restarted. Some numbering styles, such as asterisks (*), work best when reset every page.
Show Prefix/Suffix In Select this option to show prefixes or suffixes in the footnote reference, the footnote text, or both. Prefixes appear before
the number (such as [1) and suffixes appear after the number (such as 1]). This option is especially useful for placing footnotes within characters,
such as [1]. Type a character or characters or select an option for Prefix, Suffix, or both. To select special characters, click the icons next to the
Prefix and Suffix controls to display a menu.
If you think the footnote reference number is too close to the preceding text, adding one of the space characters as a prefix might improve the
appearance. You can also apply a character style to the reference number.
Position This option determines the appearance of the footnote reference number, which is superscript by default. If you prefer to format the
number using a character style (such as a character style that includes OpenType superscript settings), choose Apply Normal, and specify the
character style.
Character Style You may want to choose a character style to format the footnote reference number. For example, instead of using superscript,
you might want to use a character style at a normal position with an elevated baseline. The menu displays the character styles available in the
Character Styles panel.
Paragraph Style You may want to choose a paragraph style that formats the footnote text for all footnotes in the document. The menu displays
the paragraph styles available in the Paragraph Styles panel. By default, the [Basic Paragraph] style is used. Note that the [Basic Paragraph] style
may not have the same appearance as the default font settings for the document.
Separator The separator determines the white space that appears between the footnote number and the start of the footnote text. To change the
separator, first select or delete the existing separator, and then choose a new separator. You can include multiple characters. To insert white
space characters, use the appropriate metacharacter, such as ^m for em space.
Footnote layout options
The following options appear in the Layout section of the Footnote Options dialog box:
Minimum Space Before First Footnote This option determines the minimum amount of space between the bottom of the column and the first
footnote line. You cannot use a negative value. Any Space Before setting in the footnote paragraph is ignored.
Space Between Footnotes This option determines the distance between the last paragraph of one footnote and the first paragraph of the next
footnote in a column. You cannot use a negative value. The Space Before/Space After values in a footnote’s paragraph apply only if the footnote
includes multiple paragraphs.
First Baseline Offset This option determines the distance between the start of the footnote area (where the footnote divider appears by default)
and the first line of footnote text.
For information on the First Baseline options, see Change text frame properties.
Place End Of Story Footnotes At Bottom Of Text Select this option if you want the last column’s footnotes to appear just below the text in the
last frame of the story. If this option is not selected, any footnote in the last frame of the story appears at the bottom of the column.
Allow Split Footnotes Select this option if you want footnotes to break across a column when the footnote exceeds the amount of space
available for it in that column. If splitting is not allowed, the line containing the footnote reference number moves to the next column, or the text
becomes overset.
Footnote split across column.
If Allow Split Footnotes is turned on, you can still prevent an individual footnote from splitting by placing the insertion point in the footnote text,
choosing Keep Options from the Paragraph panel menu, and selecting the Keep Lines Together and All Lines In Paragraph options. If the
footnote contains multiple paragraphs, use the Keep With Next X Lines option in the first paragraph of the footnote text. You can choose
Type > Insert Break Character > Column Break to control where the footnote is split.
Rule Above Specify the location and appearance of the footnote divider line that appears above the footnote text. A divider line (also called a
“separator line”) also appears above any footnote text continued in a separate frame. The options you select apply to either the First Footnote In
Column or Continued Footnotes, whichever is selected in the menu. These options are similar to those that appear when you specify a paragraph
rule. If you want to remove the footnote divider line, deselect Rule On.
To the top
279
Delete footnotes
To delete a footnote, select the footnote reference number that appears in text, and then press Backspace or Delete. If you delete only the
footnote text, the footnote reference number and footnote structure remain.
To the top
Work with footnote text
As you edit footnote text, note the following:
When the insertion point is in footnote text, choosing Edit > Select All selects all the footnote text for that footnote, but no other footnote or
text.
Use the arrow keys to navigate among footnotes.
Footnote numbering is not continued across documents in a book. If you don’t want numbering to restart in each document with the book,
you need to change the Start At value manually in each document after the editing is final.
In Story Editor, you can click the footnote icon to expand or collapse a footnote. You can expand or collapse all footnotes by choosing View >
Story Editor > Expand All Footnotes or Collapse AllFootnotes.
You can select and apply character and paragraph formatting to footnote text. You can also select and change the appearance of the
footnote reference number, but the recommended method is using the Document Footnote Options dialog box.
When you cut or copy text that includes the footnote reference number, the footnote text is also added to the clipboard. If you copy the text to
a different document, the footnotes in that text use the characteristics of the new document’s numbering and layout appearance.
If you accidentally delete the footnote number at the start of the footnote text, you can add it back by placing the insertion point at the
beginning of the footnote text, right-clicking (Windows) or Control-clicking (Mac OS), and choosing Insert Special Character > Markers >
Footnote Number.
Text wrap has no effect on footnote text.
If you clear overrides and character styles on a paragraph that includes a footnote reference marker, the footnote reference numbers lose the
attributes you applied in the Document Footnote Options dialog box.
More Help topics
Creating Footnotes video
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
280
CJK 文字の書式設定
テキストに対する斜体の適用
文字の回転
文字の前後のアキ量の調整
縦中横の使用
テキストへのルビの追加
圏点の適用
サイズの異なる文字の揃え
トップへ戻る
テキストに対する斜体の適用
文字を斜めに傾ける場合、従来の写植技術では、字形をフィルムにセットしたまま、レンズを使用して歪めていました。この傾斜スタイルを斜
体と言います。斜体では、字形が拡大 / 縮小されるので、単純に字形を傾けたものとは異なります。InDesign の斜体機能を使用すると、字形の高
さを変えずに、傾斜させるテキストの中心点からの縮小率や角度を調整することができます。
斜体
A. 拡大 / 縮小の適用なし B. 縮小率 30 %、45 斜体 C. 「ツメの調整」オプションを選択 D. 「ライン揃え」オプションを選択
1. テキストを選択します。
2. 文字パネルメニューまたはコントロールパネルメニューから「斜体」を選択します。
3. 次のオプションを指定して、「OK」をクリックします。
「縮小率」で、字形の歪みの割合を指定します(従来の写植技術と対比した場合、10 %の縮小は 1 番レンズと同等で、40 %の縮小は 4
番レンズと同等です)。
「角度」で、30、45 または 60 度を指定して傾斜の角度を設定します。
横組みテキストで横組みの行が水平に表示され、縦組みテキストで縦組みの行が垂直に表示されるように、「ライン揃え」を選択して字
体を回転させます。
字送りを詰めるには「ツメの調整」を選択します。
斜体をテキストに適用した後、文字を個々に回転させて傾斜効果を微調整することもできます。
トップへ戻る
文字の回転
1. 文字を選択します。
2. 文字パネルで、「文字回転」
に値を入力します。マイナスの値を指定すると、文字が右回り(時計回り)に回転します。
トップへ戻る
文字の前後のアキ量の調整
1. 文字ツールを使用して、開く括弧類または閉じ括弧類を選択します。
2. 文字パネルの「文字前のアキ量」
または「文字後のアキ量」
で、追加するアキの量を選択します。
例えば、「二分」を指定すると 2 分の 1 の全角スペースに設定され、「四分」を指定すると 4 分の 1 の全角スペースに設定されます。行が両端揃
えに設定されている場合、このアキは調整されません。アキの調整は、「文字組みアキ量」の設定を特定の文字について変更する場合に特に役立
ちます。
281
開く括弧の前にアキを追加
トップへ戻る
縦中横の使用
「縦中横」(組文字または連文字とも呼びます)を使用すると、縦組みテキストの一部を横組みテキストにすることができます。縦組みテキスト
では、数字、日付、短い外国語の単語などの半角文字を縦中横にすると読みやすくなります。
縦中横の適用前と適用後
「縦中横設定」コマンドを使用すると、テキストを左、右、上、下に移動することができます。また、特定の半角文字に対して「自動縦中横」を
設定することもできます。「自動縦中横」は段落属性として設定するオプションです。
文字パネルの「文字ツメ」または字送りを使用して、縦中横の文字間隔を調整できます。
縦中横の適用
1. 縦中横を適用するテキストを選択します。
2. 次のいずれかの操作を行います。
文字パネルメニューまたはコントロールパネルメニューの「縦中横」を選択します。
文字パネルメニューまたはコントロールパネルメニューから「縦中横設定」を選択し、縦中横設定ダイアログボックスの「縦中横」を選
択して、「OK」をクリックします。
複数の縦中横の文字が連続する場合、それぞれを分離させるには結合なしの文字を使用します。書式/特殊文字を挿入/その他/結合なしを選
択します。
縦中横の削除
1. 縦中横を適用するテキストを選択します。
2. 次のいずれかの操作を行います。
文字パネルメニューまたはコントロールパネルメニューの「縦中横」を選択してキャンセルします。
文字パネルメニューから「縦中横設定」を選択して、縦中横設定ダイアログボックスの「縦中横」の選択を解除し、「OK」をクリック
します。
縦中横設定の変更
1. 文字パネルメニューの「縦中横設定」を選択します。
2. 「上下位置」で、テキストを上下方向に移動する値を指定します。プラスの値を指定するとテキストは上方向に移動し、マイナスの値を指定
すると下方向に移動します。
3. 「左右位置」で、テキストを左右の方向に移動する値を指定します。プラスの値を指定するとテキストは右方向に移動し、マイナスの値を指
定すると左方向に移動します。
特定の段落に対する自動縦中横の設定
1. 自動縦中横を設定するテキストを選択するか、段落にテキスト挿入点を置きます。
282
2. 段落パネルメニューから「自動縦中横設定」を選択します。
3. 「組数字」で、連続する半角文字を何文字まで縦方向に回転するかを桁数で指定します。例えば、2 と指定すると、「123」という文字列は
回転しませんが、「12」は回転します。
4. 縦中横を欧文テキストに適用したい場合は、「欧文も含める」を選択し、「OK」をクリックします。
トップへ戻る
テキストへのルビの追加
日本語では、ルビ(ふりがなとも言います)は、通常、漢字の読みをひらがなで表すために使用します。ルビは、簡体中国語ではピンインと呼ば
れ、繁体中国語ではチューインと呼ばれます。InDesign では、日本語のルビについては完全サポートを提供し、中国語のピンインとチューインに
ついては限定的にサポートしています。ルビの位置、サイズ、カラーを指定して、ルビ設定を調整することができます。また、ルビが親文字より
も長いときのルビの配置を指定することもできます。ルビに縦中横を適用することもできます。
横組みテキストにふられたルビ(左)と、縦組みテキストの右側にふられたルビ(右)
ルビをふる親文字が 2 行にわたっている場合、親文字は次の行に移動し、ルビが追加されます。
注意: 特定の状況(変数を含むスタイルを適用した場合など)では、ルビ文字が削除されることがあります。
1. ルビをふるテキストを選択します。選択したテキストに強制改行が含まれている場合は、ルビをふることはできません。
2. 文字パネルメニューまたはコントロールパネルメニューの「ルビ」から「ルビ」を選択します。
3. 「ルビ」にルビ文字を入力します。
4. ルビ設定を変更するには、ダイアログボックス左側のオプションを選択し、設定を指定します。
5. 「OK」をクリックします。
ルビ設定
ルビダイアログボックスの各パネルには次のオプションがあります。
ルビの位置と間隔
「種類」では、「モノルビ」または「グループルビ」を選択します。「モノルビ」を選択したときは、ルビ文字を入力する際に半角または全
角の空白を入力して、各親文字に割り当てるルビ文字列を区切ります。例えば、「白熱灯」にルビをふる場合、「はくねつとう」と入力しま
す。
ルビ
A. モノルビ B. グループルビ
「揃え」で、ルビ文字の位置を指定します。サンプルフィールドに表示されるグラフィックで位置を確認できます。
横組みテキストの上または縦組みテキストの右にルビを付けるには、「位置」で「親文字の上 / 右」を選択し、横組みテキストの下または縦
組みテキストの左にルビを付けるには、「親文字の下 / 左」を選択します。
「横組み左右 / 縦組み上下」と「横組み上下 / 縦組み左右」で、ルビと親文字の間隔を指定します。マイナスの値を入力すると、ルビが親文
字に近づきます。
ルビのフォントとサイズ
「フォント」で、フォントファミリとフォントスタイルを選択します。
「サイズ」で、ルビ文字のサイズを指定します。デフォルトのルビサイズは、親文字の半分です。
283
「水平比率」と「垂直比率」で、ルビ文字の高さと幅の比率を指定します。
ルビの異体字(利用できる場合)を使用するには、「OpenType Pro のルビ字形を使用」を選択します。一部の OpenType Pro フォントに
は、ルビ専用のかな文字が用意されている場合があります。このオプションを選択すると、標準のかな文字の字形ではなく、ルビ専用の字形
が使用されます。
「組数字」で、連続する半角文字を何文字まで縦方向に回転するかを桁数で指定します。例えば、2 と指定すると、「123」という文字列は
回転しませんが、「12」は回転します。
縦中横を欧文文字に適用する場合は、「欧文も含める」を選択します。
OpenType 機能を使用するか字形を拡大 / 縮小して、ルビ文字と同じサイズ(1 em 四方)を持つ縦中横に強制的に実行するには、「幅に合わ
せる」を選択します。
ルビが親文字より長ときの調整
ルビ文字全体の幅が親文字全体の幅より長い場合、「文字かけ処理」で指定した幅のルビが親文字の両隣の文字にかかります。日本語では、
文字かけ対象の文字種は JISx4051-1995 規格に準拠しています。
ルビをふるのに必要な親文字の間隔を「親文字間の調整」で指定します。サンプルフィールドに表示されているグラフィックは、別のオプ
ションを選択すると更新されます。
ルビの文字幅を自動的に調整するには、「ルビの文字幅を自動的に詰める」を選択して、ルビの文字幅を詰める比率を指定します。
親文字を行の先頭と最後に合わせるには、「自動行頭 / 行末揃え」を選択します。
ルビカラー
リストボックスでカラースウォッチを選択します。
必要に応じて、濃淡の割合と線幅を指定します。
ルビ文字の塗りまたは線のオーバープリントを設定するには、「塗りオーバープリント」または「線オーバープリント」を選択します
(オーバープリントを手動で使用するかどうかの判別を参照してください)。
トップへ戻る
圏点の適用
圏点(傍点とも言います)は、強調したい文字に付加する点のことです。既定の圏点の字体から点の種類を選択したり、カスタマイズした圏点文
字を指定したりすることができます。また、圏点の設定を調整して、位置、サイズ、カラーを指定することもできます。
小さい黒丸圏点、ゴマ圏点、小さい白丸圏点をテキストに適用
圏点の適用
1. 強調する文字を選択します。
2. 文字パネルメニューまたはコントロールパネルメニューの「圏点」から「蛇の目」や「白丸」など、圏点文字を選択します。
圏点の設定と色の変更
1. 文字パネルメニューまたはコントロールパネルメニューの「圏点」から「圏点」を選択します。
2. 「圏点設定」で、次のオプションを指定します。
圏点種類 「蛇の目」や「白丸」などの圏点文字を選択します。「カスタム」を選択して、カスタム文字を指定します。直接文字を入力する
ことも、特定の文字セットの文字コード値を指定することもできます。
位置 圏点と親文字との間の間隔を指定します。
表示される場所 横組みテキストの上または縦組みテキストの右に圏点を付けるには「上 / 右」、横組みテキストの下または縦組みテキスト
の左に圏点を付けるには「下 / 左」を選択します。
サイズ 圏点文字のサイズを指定します。
揃え 圏点を文字の仮想ボディの中央に表示する(「中付き」)か、左端(縦組みテキストの場合は上端)に表示する(「肩付き」)かを指
定します。
水平比率と垂直比率 圏点文字の高さと幅の比率を指定します。
284
3. 圏点のカラーを変更するには、リストボックスから「圏点カラー」を選択し、次のオプションを指定します。
リストボックスからカラースウォッチを選択します。
必要に応じて、濃淡の割合と線幅を指定します。
圏点文字の塗りまたは線のオーバープリントを設定するには、「塗りオーバープリント」または「線オーバープリント」を選択します
(オーバープリントを手動で使用するかどうかの判別を参照してください)。
4. 「OK」をクリックします。
トップへ戻る
サイズの異なる文字の揃え
異なるサイズの文字を 1 行に配置するとき、「文字揃え」設定を使用して、行内の最も大きい文字にテキストを揃える方法を指定することができ
ます。文字を仮想ボディの上、中央または下に揃えたり(縦組みフレームの場合は右、中央、左)、欧文ベースラインに揃えたり、平均字面の上
または下(縦組みフレームの場合は右または左)に揃えたりすることができます。平均字面(ICF)とは、フォントデザイナがフォントを構成する
全角文字をデザインするときに使用する標準の高さと幅です。
サイズの異なる文字の揃え
A. サイズの異なる文字を全角文字の上端に揃える B. サイズの異なる文字を全角文字の中央に揃える C. サイズの異なる文字を全角文字の下端に
揃える
注意: 行のすべての文字が同じサイズの場合は、「文字揃え」を適用しても効果はありません。
1. 文字を揃える行またはテキストの範囲を選択するか、選択ツールを使用してテキストフレームを選択します。
2. 文字パネルメニューまたはコントロールパネルメニューの「文字揃え」から、以下のいずれかのオプションを選択します。
「欧文ベースライン」は、行にある小さい文字を、大きい文字のベースライングリッドに揃えます。
「仮想ボディの上 / 右」、「仮想ボディの中央」または「仮想ボディの下 / 左」は、行にある小さい文字を、大きい文字の仮想ボディの
指定位置に揃えます。縦組みテキストでは、「仮想ボディの上 / 右」はテキストを仮想ボディの右側に揃え、「仮想ボディの下 / 左」は
段落を仮想ボディの左側に揃えます。
「平均字面の上 / 右」または「平均字面の下 / 左」は、行にある小さい文字を、大きい文字の指定平均字面に揃えます。縦組みテキスト
では、「平均字面の上 / 右」はテキストを平均字面の右側に揃え、「平均字面の下 / 左」はテキストを平均字面の左側に揃えます。
関連項目
|
285
Glyphs and special characters
Glyphs panel overview
Insert glyphs and special characters
Create and edit custom glyph sets
Use quotation marks
Insert white space characters
To the top
Glyphs panel overview
Enter glyphs by way of the Glyphs panel. The panel initially shows glyphs in the font where the cursor is located, but you can view a different font,
view a type style in the font (for example, Light, Regular, or Bold), and make the panel display a subset of glyphs in the font (for example, math
symbols, numbers, or punctuation symbols).
Glyphs panel
A. Show subset of glyphs B. Tool tip C. Font list D. Font style
By moving the pointer over a glyph, you can read its CID/GID value, Unicode value, and name in a tool tip.
Open the Glyphs panel
Choose Type > Glyphs or Window > Type & Tables > Glyphs.
Change the Glyphs panel view
Click the cycle widget (it’s located to the left of the word “Glyphs” on the Glyphs panel) to change views of the panel. Clicking the widget
presents these views in succession: the collapsed panel, the entire panel, and the panel without recently used glyphs.
Click the Zoom In or Zoom Out buttons in the lower-right corner of the Glyphs panel.
Resize the Glyphs panel by dragging the lower-right corner.
Filter the glyphs that appear
Do one of the following on the Show list to determine which glyphs appear on the Glyphs panel:
Choose Entire Font to display all glyphs available in the font.
Choose an option below Entire Font to narrow the list to a subset of glyphs. For example, Punctuation displays only punctuation glyphs; Math
Symbols narrows the choices to mathematical symbols.
Sort glyphs in the Glyphs panel
Choose By CID / GID or By Unicode to determine how glyphs are sorted in the Glyphs panel.
To the top
Insert glyphs and special characters
A glyph is a specific form of a character. For example, in certain fonts, the capital letter A is available in several forms, such as swash and small
286
cap. You can use the Glyphs panel to locate any glyph in a font.
OpenType fonts such as Adobe Caslon™ Pro provide multiple glyphs for many standard characters. Use the Glyphs panel when you want to insert
these alternate glyphs in your document. You can also use the Glyphs panel to view and insert OpenType attributes such as ornaments, swashes,
fractions, and ligatures.
Insert special characters
You can insert common characters such as em dashes and en dashes, registered trademark symbols, and ellipses.
1. Using the Type tool, position the insertion point where you want to insert a character.
2. Choose Type > Insert Special Character, and then select an option from any of the categories in the menu.
If special characters that you use repeatedly do not appear on the list of special characters, add them to a glyph set that you create.
Insert a glyph from a specified font
1. Using the Type tool, click to place the insertion point where you want to enter a character.
2. Choose Type > Glyphs to display the Glyphs panel.
3. To display a different set of characters in the Glyphs panel, do any of the following:
Select a different font and type style, if available. From the Show menu, choose Entire Font. Or, if you selected an OpenType font,
choose from a number of OpenType categories.
Choose a custom glyph set from the Show menu. (See Create and edit custom glyph sets.)
4. Scroll through the display of characters until you see the glyph you want to insert. If you selected an OpenType font, you can display a
pop-up menu of alternate glyphs by clicking and holding the glyph box.
5. Double-click the character you want to insert. The character appears at the text insertion point.
Insert a recently used glyph
InDesign tracks the previous 35 distinct glyphs you inserted and makes them available under Recently Used in the first row of the Glyphs panel
(you have to expand the panel to see all 35 glyphs on the first row).
Do one of the following:
Double-click a glyph under Recently Used.
Choose Recent Glyphs on the Show list to display all recently used glyphs in the main body of the Glyphs panel, and then double-click a
glyph.
Clear recently used glyphs
To clear a selected glyph from the Recently Used section, right-click (Windows®) or Control-click (Mac OS) a glyph in the Recently Used
section, and then choose Delete Glyph From Recently Used.
To clear all recently used glyphs, choose Clear All Recently Used.
Replace a character with an alternate glyph
When a character includes alternate glyphs, it appears in the Glyphs panel with a triangle icon in the lower-right corner. You can click and hold the
character in the Glyphs panel to display a pop-up menu of the alternate glyphs, or you can display alternate glyphs in the Glyphs panel.
Selecting alternate glyphs in OpenType font
1. Choose Type > Glyphs to display the Glyphs panel.
2. Select Alternates For Selection from the Show list.
3. Using the Type tool, select a character in your document.
4. Do one of the following to replace the selected character in the document:
Double-click a glyph in the Glyphs panel.
Select a glyph on the menu.
Display OpenType glyph attributes in the Glyphs panel
For easy selection, the Glyphs panel allows you to display characters for only the selected OpenType attributes. You can select various options
287
from the Show menu in the Glyphs panel.
Show menu options in the Glyphs panel
1. In the Glyphs panel, choose an OpenType font from the font list.
2. Choose an option from the Show menu.
The options displayed vary depending on which font is selected. For information on applying OpenType font attributes, see Apply OpenType font
attributes. For more information on OpenType fonts, see www.adobe.com/go/opentype.
Highlight alternate glyphs in the text
1. Choose Edit > Preferences > Composition (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > Composition (Mac OS).
2. Select Substituted Glyphs, and then click OK. Substituted glyphs in the text are highlighted in nonprinting yellow.
To the top
Create and edit custom glyph sets
A glyph set is a named collection of glyphs from one or more fonts. Saving commonly used glyphs in a glyph set prevents you from having to look
for them each time you need to use them. Glyph sets are not attached to any particular document; they are stored with other InDesign preferences
in a separate file that can be shared.
You can determine whether the font is remembered with the added glyph. Remembering fonts is useful, for example, when you are working with
dingbat characters that may not appear in other fonts. If a glyph’s font is remembered, but the font is missing, the font’s square appears in pink in
the Glyphs panel and the Edit Glyph Set dialog box. If a font is not remembered with an added glyph, a “u” appears next to the glyph, indicating
that the font’s unicode value determines the appearance of the glyph.
Create a custom glyph set
1. Choose Type > Glyphs.
2. Do one of the following:
From the Glyphs panel menu, choose New Glyph Set.
Open the context menu on the Glyphs panel and choose New Glyph Set.
3. Type the name of the glyph set.
4. Choose the insert order in which glyphs will be added to the glyph set, and click OK:
Insert At Front Each new glyph is listed first in the set.
Append At End Each new glyph is listed last in the set.
Unicode Order All glyphs are listed by the order of their unicode values.
5. To add glyphs to the custom set, select the font containing the glyph at the bottom of the Glyphs panel, click the glyph to select it, and then
choose the name of the custom glyph set from the Add To Glyph Set menu on the Glyphs panel menu.
View a custom glyph set
Do one of the following on the Glyphs panel:
Choose the glyph set on the Show list.
288
On the Glyphs panel menu, choose View Glyph Set, and then the name of the glyph set.
Edit custom glyph sets
1. Choose Edit Glyph Set from the Glyph panel menu, and then choose the custom glyph set.
2. Select the glyph you want to edit, do any of the following, and then click OK:
To bind the glyph to its font, select Remember Font With Glyph. A glyph that remembers its font ignores the font applied to the selected
text in the document when the glyph is inserted into that text. It also ignores the font specified in the Glyph panel itself. If you deselect
this option, the Unicode value of the current font is used.
To view additional glyphs, choose a different font or style. If the glyph is not defined with a font, you cannot select a different font.
To remove a glyph from the custom glyph set, choose Delete From Set.
To change the order in which glyphs are added to the set, choose an Insert Order option. Unicode Order is not available if Insert At
Front or Append At End was selected when the glyph set was created.
Delete glyphs from custom glyph sets
1. In the Glyphs panel, choose the Custom Glyph Set from the Show menu.
2. Right-click (Windows) or Control-click (Mac OS) a glyph, and then choose Delete Glyph From Set.
Delete custom glyph sets
1. Do one of the following:
From the Glyphs panel menu, choose Delete Glyph Set.
From the context menu, choose Delete Glyph Set.
2. Click the name of a custom glyph set.
3. Click Yes to confirm.
Save and load glyph sets
Custom glyph sets are stored in files kept in the Glyph Sets folder, a subfolder of the Presets folder. You can copy glyph set files to other
computers and in so doing make custom glyph sets available to others. Copy glyph set files to and from these folders to share them with others:
Mac OS Users\[username]\Library\Preferences\Adobe InDesign\[Version]\[Language]\Glyph Sets
Windows XP Documents and Settings\[username]\Application Data\Adobe\InDesign\[Version]\[Language]\Glyph Sets
Windows Vista and Windows 7 Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\InDesign\[Version]\[Language]\Glyph Sets
To the top
Use quotation marks
You can specify different quotation marks for different languages. These quotation mark characters appear automatically during typing if the Use
Typographer’s Quotes option is selected in the Type section of the Preferences dialog box.
Specify which quotation marks to use
1. Choose Edit > Preferences > Dictionary (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > Dictionary (Mac OS).
2. Choose a language from the Language menu.
3. Do any of the following, and then click OK:
For Double Quotes, select a pair of quotation marks, or type the pair of characters you want to use.
For Single Quotes, select a pair of quotation marks, or type the pair of characters you want to use.
Insert straight quotation marks
Do one of the following:
Choose Type > Insert Special Character > Quotation Marks > Straight Double Quotation Marks or Straight Single Quotation Mark
(Apostrophe).
Deselect the Use Typographer’s Quotes option in the Type section of the Preferences dialog box, and then type the quotation mark or
apostrophe.
Press Shift+Ctrl+Alt+' (Windows) or Shift+Command+Option+' (Mac OS) to switch between turning on and off the Use Typographer’s Quotes
preferences option.
The character frequently used to indicate feet, arcminutes, or minutes of time is the prime mark. It looks like a slanted apostrophe. The
character frequently used to indicate inches, arcseconds, or seconds of time is the double prime mark. These symbols are different from
apostrophes and double quotation marks. Some fonts include the prime and double prime marks. Use the Glyphs panel to insert these marks.
289
If the font doesn’t have a prime or double prime mark, insert the straight quotation mark, and italicize it.
To the top
Insert white space characters
A white space character is a blank space that appears between characters. You can use white-space characters for many different purposes, such
as preventing two words from being broken at the end of a line.
1. Using the Type tool, position the insertion point where you want to insert a certain amount of white space.
2. Choose Type > Insert White Space, and then select one of the spacing options (such as Em Space) in the context menu.
Representative symbols of the white-space characters appear when you choose Type > Show Hidden Characters.
White space options
The following options appear on the Type > Insert White Space menu:
Equal in width to the size of the type. In 12-point type, an em space is 12 points wide.
Em Space
En Space One-half the width of an em space.
Nonbreaking Space
The same flexible width as pressing the spacebar, but it prevents the line from being broken at the space character.
Nonbreaking Space (Fixed Width)
A fixed width space prevents the line from being broken at the space character, but does not expand or
compress in justified text. The fixed width space is identical to the Nonbreaking Space character inserted in InDesign CS2.
Third Space
One-third the width of an em space.
Quarter Space
Sixth Space
One-fourth the width of an em space.
One-sixth the width of an em space.
Flush Space
Adds a variable amount of space to the last line of a fully justified paragraph, useful for justifying text in the last line. (See Change
Justification settings.)
Hair Space
One-twenty-fourth the width of an em space.
Thin Space
One-eighth the width of an em space. You may want to use a thin space on either side of an em dash or en dash.
Same width as a number in the typeface. Use a figure space to help align numbers in financial tables.
Figure Space
Punctuation Space Same width as an exclamation point, period, or colon in the typeface.
More Help topics
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
290
Linked stories | CS5.5
Create a linked story
Specify linked story options
Update a linked story
Edit original story
Replicating content across various pages is no easy task; copy-pasting is error prone and time consuming. Use linked stories to manage multiple
versions of a story or text content in the same document. Linked stories make it easier to support emerging workflows, where for example, you
need to design for vertical and horizontal layouts. Linked stories also work well for traditional print and publishing workflows, where you might
need to synchronize boilerplate text on different pages.
Linked stories behave similar to traditional links. You can designate a story as the parent, and then place the same story at other places in the
document as child stories. Whenever you update the parent story, the child stories are flagged in the Links panel and you can update them to
synchronize with the parent story. You can create linked stories using regular stories or text on path stories. Anchored objects inside stories are
also supported.
Linked stories remain in sync when you update any applied styles InDesign styles.
Linked stories are flagged as out of sync in the Links panel, even though there are no visible changes. Global changes in the document that
causes InDesign to recompose the stories, flags the links. These global changes may be due to updates to options or definitions of the following:
Footnotes
Text variables
Conditional text
Swatches
XML Tags
Named grids
Additionally, if you replace all fonts, or replace all instances of an object, InDesign recomposes all the stories, and flags the links.
To the top
Create a linked story
1. Select a story by either selecting the text frame or place the insertion cursor in the text. You can also select multiple stories by using
Shift+Click if you’re selecting text frames.
2. Choose Edit > Place and Link Story. The cursor is loaded with the story.
3. Click in an existing empty text frame or draw a frame to place the linked story.
icon displays on the upper-left corner of linked story. The story is displayed as linked story in the Links panel. By default, the name of the
The
story in the Links panel is created using the first few characters of the original story.
You can also change the default name of linked story through Layers panel.
To the top
Specify linked story options
1. In the Links panel, select the linked story.
2. From the Links panel menu, choose Linked Story Options.
3. Select the options as required:
Update Link When Saving Document
Warn if Link Update will Overwrite Local Edits
Remove Forced Line Breaks
Tip: To specify default story options, with all documents closed, open the links panel menu and choose Linked Story Options.
Tip: To specify Linked Story Options while creating linked stories, press the Shift key when you choose Edit > Place and Link Story.
291
To the top
Update a linked story
If an original story is edited, the Links panel displays
In the Links panel, double-click
next to the linked story.
to update the child story.
If you have made local edits to a child story, the edits are overwritten with content from the original story. If you set Warn if Link Update Will
Overwrite Local Edits, a warning message displays.
Use the Link Info pane to determine if you’ve made local edits to the story; story status displays “Text Modified” if you’ve made local edits.
To the top
Edit original story
If you’re working on a linked story, and need to go to the original story, do the following:
1. In the Links panel, select the linked story.
2. Click
or choose Edit Original from the Links panel menu (
).
Focus shifts to the page that contains the original story.
Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
292
Spell-checking and language dictionaries
Check spelling
Hyphenation and spelling dictionaries
To the top
Check spelling
You can spell-check a selected range of text, in all of the text in a story, in all stories in a document, or in all stories in all open documents.
Misspelled or unknown words, words typed twice in a row (such as “the the”), and words with possible capitalization errors are highlighted. In
addition to checking the spelling in a document, you can also enable dynamic spelling so that potentially misspelled words are underlined while
you type.
When you check spelling, the dictionary for the languages you assigned to the text is used. You can quickly add words to the dictionary.
Set spelling preferences
1. Choose Edit > Preferences > Spelling (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > Spelling (Mac OS).
2. Do any of the following:
Select Misspelled Words to find words that do not appear in the language dictionary.
Select Repeated Words to find duplicate words such as “the the.”
Select Uncapitalized Words to find words (such as “germany”) that appear in the dictionary only as capitalized words (“Germany”).
Select Uncapitalized Sentences to find uncapitalized words following periods, exclamation points, and question marks.
3. Select Enable Dynamic Spelling to underline potentially misspelled words while you type.
4. Specify the underline color of misspelled words (words not found in the user dictionaries), repeated words (such as “the the”), uncapitalized
words (such as “nigeria” instead of “Nigeria”), and uncapitalized sentences (sentences that don’t begin with a capital letter).
Check spelling
1. If your document includes foreign-language text, select the text and use the Language menu on the Character panel to specify the language
for that text.
2. Choose Edit > Spelling > Check Spelling.
Spell-checking begins.
3. If you want to change the range of your spell-checking, do any of the following, and then click Start to begin checking the spelling:
Select Document to check the entire document.Select All Documents to check all open documents.
Select Story to check all text in the currently selected frame, including text in other threaded text frames and overset text. Select Stories
to check stories in all selected frames.
Select To End Of Story to check from the insertion point.
Select Selection to check only selected text. This option is available only if text is selected.
4. When unfamiliar or misspelled words or other possible errors are displayed, choose an option:
Click Skip to continue spell-checking without changing the highlighted word. Click Ignore All to ignore all occurrences of the highlighted
word, until InDesign is restarted.
Select a word from the Suggested Corrections list or type the correct word in the Change To box, and then click Change to change only
that occurrence of the misspelled word. You can also click Change All to change all occurrences of the misspelled word in your
document.
To add a word to a dictionary, select the dictionary from the Add To menu, and click Add.
Click Dictionary to display the Dictionary dialog box, where you can specify the target dictionary and language, and specify hyphenation
breaks in the added word. If you want to add the word to all languages, choose All Languages from the Language menu. Click Add.
Correct spelling errors as you type
By turning on Autocorrect, you can allow capitalization errors and common typing mistakes to be replaced while you type. Before Autocorrect will
work, you must create a list of commonly misspelled words and associate them with the correct spelling.
293
1. Choose Edit > Preferences > Autocorrect (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > Autocorrect (Mac OS).
2. Choose Enable Autocorrect. (You can also choose Edit > Spelling > Autocorrect to turn this feature on or off quickly.)
3. From the Language menu, choose which language the autocorrections are applied to.
4. To correct capitalization errors (such as typing “germany” instead of “Germany”), select Autocorrect Capitalization Errors. You don’t need to
add the capitalized words to the list of autocorrections.
5. To add a word that you commonly misspell, click Add, type the misspelled word (such as “teh”), type the correction (such as “the”), and then
click OK.
6. Continue to add words that you commonly misspell, and then click OK.
When you type any misspelled word you added to the list, the word is automatically replaced by the word you entered as the correction.
To remove autocorrect words you’ve added, select the word in the list and choose Remove. To edit autocorrect words, select the word, click Edit,
retype the correction, and click OK.
Use dynamic spelling
When dynamic spelling is enabled, you can correct spelling errors by using the context menu. Potentially misspelled words are underlined (based
on the dictionary associated with the language of the text). If you type text in different languages, select the text and assign the correct language.
1. To enable dynamic spelling, choose Edit > Spelling > Dynamic Spelling.
Potentially misspelled words are underlined in your document.
2. Right-click (Windows) or Control-click (Mac OS) the underlined word, and do one of the following:
Select a suggested correction. If a word is repeated or needs to be capitalized, you can choose Delete Repeated Word [word] or
Capitalize [word].
Select Add [word] To User Dictionary. This automatically adds the word to the current dictionary without opening the Dictionary dialog
box. The word remains unchanged in the text.
Select Dictionary. This opens the Dictionary dialog box where you can select the Target dictionary, change hyphenation breaks, and
specify a language. If you want to add the word to all languages, choose All Languages from the Language menu, and then click Add.
The word is added to the selected dictionary and remains unchanged in the text.
Select Ignore All to ignore occurrences of this word in all documents. When InDesign is restarted, the word is flagged again as a
misspelling.
Note: If you select Ignore All and then decide that you don’t want to ignore that word after all, Choose Ignored Words from the Dictionary List
menu in the Dictionary dialog box and remove the word from the list.
To the top
Hyphenation and spelling dictionaries
InDesign uses Proximity dictionaries for most languages to verify spelling and to hyphenate words. You can add words to each dictionary to
customize it. You can assign different languages to text, and InDesign uses the appropriate dictionary to handle spelling and hyphenation. You can
create additional user dictionaries, and you can import or export word lists saved in a plain text file.
When you customize the words in a dictionary, you actually create lists of added words (words that aren’t already in the dictionary) and removed
words (existing dictionary words that you want to be flagged as a potential misspelling). The Dictionary dialog box lets you display and edit added
words, removed words, and ignored words (words that are ignored for the current session because you clicked Ignore All). You can add words that
apply to all languages, which is especially useful for last names, street names, and other items that aren’t specific to a language.
If you want to use the language dictionaries from a previous version of InDesign or InCopy, use your system Find command to locate the user
dictionary files (.udc), and then add them to your list of dictionaries in Dictionary preferences.
Where dictionary words are stored
By default, hyphenation and spelling exceptions are located in user dictionary files stored outside the document on the computer where InDesign is
installed (dictionary file names end with a .clam or .not extension). However, you can also store exception lists inside any InDesign document. In
addition, you can store word lists in an external user dictionary, in the document, or in both. The location of existing dictionaries appears in the
Dictionary preferences.
Storing hyphenation and spelling exceptions inside a document makes it easier to treat text consistently when you move that document to other
computers. For this reason, you can merge the user dictionary into the document in Dictionary preferences. You can also control the location of
exceptions from the Create Package Folder dialog box (see Package files). In contrast, storing an exception list outside the document makes it
easier to use the same list of exceptions for multiple documents.
Note: If the user dictionary is merged into the exceptions list, the entire user dictionary is added to the document, even if the words are not used,
thereby increasing the document’s file size.
Applying languages to text
You can use the Language menu in the Control panel or Character panel to apply a language to selected text. You can also specify a default
language for an entire document, or for all new documents. (See Assign a language to text.)
294
Exception word lists
You can exclude words from being considered. For example, if you want to use an alternate spelling for a common word such as “bicycle,” which
you may need to spell in a different way for your company name or for a specific document, add the word to the list of excluded words so that it
will be flagged during a spell check. InDesign can maintain a separate set of added and removed words for each installed language.
Create or add user dictionaries
You can create a user dictionary, or you can add user dictionaries from previous InDesign or InCopy versions, from files that others have sent you,
or from a server where your workgroup’s user dictionary is stored. The dictionary you add is used for all your InDesign documents.
1. Choose Edit > Preferences > Dictionary (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > Dictionary (Mac OS).
2. From the Language menu, choose the language with which you want to associate the dictionary.
3. Do one of the following:
To create a new dictionary, click the New User Dictionary icon below the Language menu. Specify the name and location of the user
dictionary (which includes a .udc extension), and then click Save.
To add an existing dictionary, click the Add User Dictionary icon
extension, and then click Open.
, select the user dictionary file, which includes a .udc or .not
Note: If you can’t find the dictionary file, you might want to use your system Find command to locate the .udc files (try using *.udc), note the
location, and then try again.
The dictionary is added to the list under the Language menu. You can add words to the dictionary when checking spelling or by using the
Dictionary dialog box.
Set the default language dictionary for the current document
You can change the default language dictionary for a document or for all new documents you create. Changing the default dictionary in an existing
document doesn’t affect text that has already been created or text that you type into an existing text frame.
Use the Character Style or Paragraph Style panel to set a specific dictionary for a specific style. The Language menu appears in the Advanced
Character Formats section.
1. Open the document.
2. Select the Selection tool from the toolbar and make sure no items are selected in the document.
3. Choose Type > Character.
4. Choose the desired dictionary from the Language menu on the Character panel. If you cannot see the language option in the Character
panel, select Show Options and then select your language from the list.
Set the default language dictionary for all new documents
1. Start InDesign, but do not open a document.
2. Choose Type > Character.
3. Choose the desired dictionary from the Language pop-up menu on the Character panel. If you cannot see the language option in the
Character panel, select Show Options and then select your language from the list.
Remove, relink, and reorder user dictionaries
1. Choose Edit > Preferences > Dictionary (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > Dictionary (Mac OS).
2. From the Language menu, choose the language to which the dictionary belongs.
3. Do any of the following:
To remove a dictionary from the list, select it and click the Remove User Dictionary icon
language.
. You must have at least one dictionary per
If the language dictionary includes a question mark icon next to it, select the dictionary, click the Relink User Dictionary icon
then locate and open the user dictionary.
, and
To change the order of the user dictionaries, drag and drop them. The order of the dictionaries in the list is the order in which the
dictionaries are checked.
Add words to dictionaries
If, during a spell check, InDesign displays an unfamiliar word in the Check Spelling dialog box, select the dictionary from the Add To menu, and
then click Add. You can also use the Dictionary dialog box to let you specify the target dictionary and language, and to indicate how words are
added to an exception word list.
1. Choose Edit > Spelling > User Dictionary.
2. In the Language menu, choose a language. Each language contains at least one dictionary. If you want the word to be added to all
languages, choose All Languages.
3. In the Target menu, choose the dictionary where you want to store the word. The Target menu lets you store the changes in an external
295
user dictionary or in any open document.
4. In the Dictionary List menu, choose Added Words.
5. In the Word box, type or edit the word to be added to the word list.
6. Click Hyphenate to see the word’s default hyphenation. Tildes (~) indicate possible hyphenation points.
7. If you don’t like the hyphenation points, follow these guidelines to indicate your preferred hyphenation of the word:
Type one tilde (~) to indicate the best possible hyphenation points, or the only acceptable hyphenation point, in the word.
Type two tildes (~~) to indicate your second choice.
Type three tildes (~~~) to indicate a poor but acceptable hyphenation point.
If you want the word never to be hyphenated, type a tilde before its first letter.
If you need to include an actual tilde in a word, type a backslash before the tilde (\~).
8. Click Add, and then click Done. The word is added to the currently selected Dictionary List.
Note: Remember that hyphenation points interact with the hyphenation settings in your documents. As a result, the word might not break where
you expect it to. Control these settings by choosing Hyphenation in the Paragraph panel menu. (See Hyphenate text.)
Remove or edit words in dictionaries
1. Choose Edit > Spelling > User Dictionary.
2. In the Language menu, choose a language.
3. In the Target menu, choose the dictionary from which you want to remove the word. The Target menu lets you choose an external user
dictionary or any open document.
4. In the Dictionary List menu, do one of the following:
To modify the list of additions to the selected Target word list, choose Added Words.
To modify the list of words that are flagged as misspelled, choose Removed Words.
To modify the list of words that are being ignored during the current InDesign session, choose Ignored Words. This list includes all the
words for which you’ve chosen Ignore All.
5. In the word list, edit the word, or select the word and click Remove.
6. Click Done.
Export a word list
You can export word lists to a text file (.txt) and then import that list of words into a user dictionary in InDesign. The words in the text file must be
separated by a space, tab, or paragraph return. You can export added words and removed words, but you cannot export ignored words, which are
used only in the current session.
1. Choose Edit > Spelling > User Dictionary.
2. Choose the language from the Language menu and the dictionary from the Target menu that contains the list of words you want to export.
3. Click Export, specify the file name and location, and then click Save.
The list of words is saved in a text file. You can edit this list of words in any text editor, and then import the word list. You can also send the word
list to others, who can import it into their user dictionaries.
Import a word list
1. Choose Edit > Spelling > User Dictionary.
2. Choose the language from the Language menu and the dictionary from the Target menu.
3. Click Import, locate the text file containing your list of spelling exceptions, and then click Open.
Change dictionary preferences
Use Dictionary preferences to specify how InDesign handles hyphenation and spelling dictionaries. Most languages in InDesign use Proximity
dictionaries to verify spelling and to hyphenate words. If you have installed hyphenation or spelling components from a different company, you can
select a different vendor for each installed language.
Note: The Dictionary Preferences dialog box does not enable you to specify the language dictionary used for spell checking or hyphenating text.
This dialog box is used to specify which hyphenation and spelling plug-ins InDesign uses for the language specified in the Language field. If you
use only the default hyphenation and spelling plug-in, you don't need to change any settings in the Dictionary Preferences dialog box. If you install
a different spelling or hyphenation plug-in provided by a third-party developer, it appears as an option in the Hyphenation Vendor and Spelling
Vendor menus in this dialog box. This would let you select one vendor's hyphenation or spelling engine for some languages and another vendor's
hyphenation or spelling engine for other languages.
1. Choose Edit > Preferences > Dictionary (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > Dictionary (Mac OS).
2. For Language, specify the language for which you want to edit settings or change the hyphenation or spelling vendor.
296
3. Create, add, or remove user dictionaries. (See Create or add user dictionaries.)
4. If you have installed a hyphenation component from a company other than Adobe, select it in the Hyphenation menu.
5. If you have installed a spelling dictionary component from a company other than Adobe, select it in the Spelling menu.
6. In the Compose Using menu in the Hyphenation Exceptions menu, do one of the following:
To compose text using the hyphenation exceptions list stored in the external user dictionary, choose User Dictionary.
To compose text using the hyphenation exceptions list stored inside the document, choose Document.
To compose text using both lists, choose User Dictionary And Document. This is the default setting.
7. To add the exceptions list stored in the external user dictionary to the exceptions list stored within the document, select Merge User
Dictionary Into Document.
Note: If you work with many different partners or clients, you might want to deselect the Merge User Dictionary Into Document option. For
example, if you’re a service provider, you probably don’t want your user dictionary merged with every customer’s file.
8. To recompose all stories when certain settings are changed, select Recompose All Stories When Modified. Selecting this option recomposes
stories when you change the Compose Using settings (see step 6) or when you use the Dictionary command to add or remove words.
Recomposing all stories can take some time, depending on the amount of text in the document.
9. Click OK.
Using dictionaries in a workgroup
Make sure that each station in your workgroup has the same customized user dictionaries installed and added, so that a document uses the same
spelling and hyphenation rules regardless of who is working on it. You can either make sure that everyone adds the same dictionaries to their
computer, or you can share a user dictionary over the network server.
A lock icon indicates that a dictionary is locked and can be used, but not edited. When a user dictionary is stored on a server, the first user to
load the dictionary locks the file; all subsequent users see that the dictionary is locked. Files can also be locked through the operating system,
when the file is made read-only. If you share a user dictionary over the network server, you may want to lock the file so that it’s read-only for all
users, allowing only the administrator to add words.
Make sure that everyone in the workgroup uses the customized user dictionary installed on the common network workstation, and not the
dictionary stored with a document. However, before you take a document to a service provider, you might want to merge the user dictionary into
the document.
If you don’t share a customized user dictionary on a common network workstation, locate user dictionary files and copy them from one workstation
to another. The location of user dictionaries appear in the Dictionary preferences.
After you update a shared workstation’s user dictionary, the changes don’t appear in individual workstations until a user restarts InDesign or
presses Ctrl+Alt+/ (Windows) or Command+ Option+/ (Mac OS) to recompose all text.
More Help topics
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
297
Text variables
Create and edit text variables
Insert text variables
Delete, convert, and import text variables
To the top
Create and edit text variables
A text variable is an item you insert in your document that varies according to the context. For example, the Last Page Number variable displays
the page number of the last page of the document. If you add or remove pages, the variable is updated accordingly.
InDesign includes several preset text variables that you can insert in your document. You can edit the format of these variables, or you can create
your own. Some variables, such as Running Header and Chapter Number, are especially useful for adding to master pages to ensure consistent
formatting and numbering. Other variables, such as Creation Date and File Name, are useful for adding to the slug area for printing.
Note: Adding too much text to a variable may cause overset or compressed text. Variable text does not break across lines.
Create or edit text variables
The options available for creating the variable depend on the type of variable you specify. For example, if you choose the Chapter Number type,
you can specify text to appear both before and after the number, and you can specify the numbering style. You can create several different
variables based on the same variable type. For example, you can create one variable that displays “Chapter 1” and another that displays “Ch. 1.”
Similarly, if you choose the Running Header type, you can specify which style is used as the basis for the header, and you can select options for
deleting end punctuation and changing the case.
1. If you want to create text variables for use in all new documents you create, close all documents. Otherwise, the text variables you create
appear only in the current document.
2. Choose Type > Text Variables > Define.
3. Click New, or select an existing variable and click Edit.
4. Type a name for the variable, such as “Full Chapter” or “Running Title.”
5. From the Type menu, choose a variable type, specify the options for that type, and then click OK.
Different options are available depending on the variable type you select.
Text Before / Text After For all variable types (except Custom Text), you can specify text that will be added before or after the variable. For
example, you can add the word “of” before the Last Page Number variable and the phrase “total pages” after the variable to create an “of 12
total pages” effect. You can also paste text into the boxes, but special characters such as tabs and auto page numbers are stripped out. To
insert special characters, click the triangle to the right of the text box.
Style For all numbered variable types, you can specify the numbering style. If [Current Numbering Style] is selected, the variable uses the
same numbering style selected in the document’s Numbering & Section Options dialog box.
Variable types
Chapter Number
A variable created with the Chapter Number type inserts the chapter number. You can insert text before or after the chapter number, and you can
specify a numbering style.
If the document’s chapter number is set to continue from the previous document in the book, you may need to update the book’s numbering in
order for the appropriate chapter number to appear.
Creation Date, Modification Date, and Output Date
Creation Date inserts the date or time the document is first saved; Modification Date inserts the date or time the document was last saved to disk;
Output Date inserts the date or time the document starts a print job, exports to PDF, or packages the document. You can insert text before and
after the date, and you can modify the date format for all date variables.
Date Format You can type date formats directly into the Date Format box, or you can choose format options by clicking the triangle to the right of
the box. For example, the date format “MM/dd/yy” displays as 12/22/07. By changing the format to “MMM. d, yyyy” the date will display as Dec. 22,
2007.
Date variables use the language applied to text. For example, the creation date may appear in Spanish text as “01 diciembre 2007” and in German
as “01 Dezember 2007.”
298
Abbreviation
Description
Example
M
Month number, no leading zero
8
MM
Month number, leading zero
08
MMM
Abbreviated month name
Aug
MMMM
Full month name
August
d
Day number, no leading zero
5
dd
Day number, leading zero
05
E
Weekday name, abbreviated
Fri
EEEE
Full weekday name
Friday
yy or YY
Year number, last two digits
07
y (Y) or yyyy (YYYY)
Full year number
2007
G or GGGG
Era, abbreviated or expanded
AD or Anno Domini
h
Hour, no leading zero
4
hh
Hour, leading zero
04
H
Hour, no leading zero, 24-hour format
16
HH
Hour, leading zero, 24-hour format
16
m
Minute, no leading zero
7
mm
Minute leading zero
07
s
Second, no leading zero
7
ss
Second, leading zero
07
a
AM or PM, two characters
PM
z or zzzz
Time zone, abbreviated or expanded
PST or Pacific Standard Time
File Name
This variable inserts the name of the current file into the document. It’s commonly added to the slug area of the document for printing or used in
headers and footers. In addition to Text Before and Text After, you can choose the following options.
Include Entire Folder Path Select to include the full folder path with the file name. The standard path conventions for either Windows or Mac OS
are used.
Include File Extension Select to include the file name extension.
The File Name variable is updated whenever you save the file with a new name or to a new location. The path or extension does not appear in the
document until it’s saved.
Image Name
The Image Name variable is useful for generating automatic captions from metadata. The Image Name variable includes a Metadata Caption
variable type. If a text frame containing this variable is adjacent to or grouped with an image, the variable displays the metadata of that image. You
can edit the Image Name variable to determine which metadata field is used.
See Define caption variables.
Last Page Number
The Last Page Number type is useful for adding the total number of pages in a document to headers and footers using the common “Page 3 of
12” format. In this case, the number 12 is generated by the Last Page Number, and it’s updated whenever pages are added or removed. You can
insert text before or after the last page number, and you can specify a numbering style. From the Scope menu, choose an option to determine
whether the last page number in the section or document is used.
Note that the Last Page Number variable does not count the pages in the document.
299
Running Header (Paragraph or Character Style)
The Running Header variables insert the first or last occurrence on the page of the text to which the specified style is applied. If no text on the
page is formatted with the specified style, the text from a previous page is used.
See Create variables for running headers and footers.
Custom Text
This variable is commonly used for inserting placeholder text, or a text string that may need to be changed quickly. For example, if you’re working
on a project that uses a code name for a company, you can create a custom text variable for the code name. When you are able to use the real
company name, you can simply change the variable to update all the occurrences.
To insert special characters in a text variable, click the triangle to the right of the text box.
To the top
Insert text variables
1. Place the insertion point where you want the variable to appear.
2. Choose Type > Text Variables > Insert Variable, and then choose the variable you want to insert.
The variable appears on the page as if you’d typed it in the document. For example, the Creation Date variable might appear as December 22,
2007. If you choose Type > Show Hidden Characters, the variable instance is surrounded by a box using the current layer color.
Note: Text variables do not break across lines.
To the top
Delete, convert, and import text variables
Use the Text Variables dialog box to delete, convert, and import text variables.
Delete text variables
If you want to delete an instance of a text variable inserted in a document, simply select the variable and press Backspace or Delete. You can also
delete the variable itself. When you do so, you can decide how to replace the variables inserted in the document.
1. Choose Type > Text Variables > Define.
2. Select the variable, and then click Delete.
3. Specify how the variable will be replaced by specifying a different variable, converting the variable instances to text, or deleting the variable
instances altogether.
Convert text variables to text
To convert a single instance, select the text variable in the document window, and then choose Type > Text Variables > Convert Variable To
Text.
To convert all instances of the text variable in the document, choose Type > Text Variables > Define, select the variable, and then click
Convert To Text.
Import text variables from another document
1. Choose Type > Text Variables > Define.
2. Click Load, and then double-click the document that has the variables you want to import.
3. In the Load Text Variables dialog box, make sure that a check mark appears next to the variables you want to import. If any existing variable
has the same name as one of the imported variables, choose one of the following options under Conflict With Existing Text Variable, and
then click OK:
Use Incoming Definition Overwrites the existing variable with the loaded variable and applies its new attributes to all text in the current
document that used the old variable. The definitions of the incoming and existing variables are displayed at the bottom of the Load Text
Variables dialog box so that you can view a comparison.
Auto-Rename Renames the loaded variable.
4. Choose OK, and then click Done.
You can also copy variables to other documents when you synchronize a book file.
More Help topics
300
Tracking and reviewing changes
Track changes
Accept and reject changes
Set Track Changes preferences
Change the user name and color
To the top
Track changes
A valuable feature is the ability to track changes made to a story by each contributor in the writing and editing process. Whenever anyone adds,
deletes, or moves text within an existing story, the change is marked in the Story Editor in InDesign or the Galley and Story views in InCopy. You
can then accept or reject the changes.
Use the Track Changes panel in InDesign or the Track Changes toolbar in InCopy to turn Track Changes on or off and to show, hide, accept, or
reject changes made by contributors.
Change tracking shown in Story Editor (InDesign)
A. Change bars B. Added text C. Deleted text D. Moved text (from) E. Moved text (to)
Turn on change tracking
1. Choose Window > Editorial > Track Changes to open the Track Changes panel (InDesign), or choose Window > Track Changes to open the
Track Changes toolbar (InCopy).
2. With the insertion point in text, do any of the following:
To enable change-tracking in only the current story, click the Enable Track Changes In Current Story icon
.
(InDesign) To enable tracking in all stories, choose Enable Track Changes In All Stories from the Track Changes panel menu.
(InCopy) To enable tracking in all open stories in a multistory document, choose Changes > Enable Tracking In All Stories.
3. Add, delete, or move text within the story as needed.
How change tracking is displayed
When Track Changes is turned on, each change is marked by default as follows in Story Editor (InDesign) or in Galley and Story views (InCopy):
The Track Changes section of the Preferences dialog box lets you choose a color to identify your changes. It also lets you select which
changes (adding, deleting, or moving text) you want tracked and the appearance of tracking.
Added text Highlighted.
Deleted text Highlighted and marked with a strikethrough.
Moved (cut-and-pasted) text Highlighted and marked with a strikethrough in its original location; highlighted and boxed in the new location.
Note: If you cut text from one document and paste it into another, it is displayed as deleted text in the document of its original location and as
added text in its new location.
301
Copied text Highlighted in the new location. The original text is unchanged.
Change bars A change bar is a vertical line that appears to the left of a line of text that has been changed. You can choose whether to show or
hide change bars as you work. You can also specify what color to use for displaying the change bars.
Show or hide changes
When changes are hidden, the text appears as it would with the change-tracking feature turned off. That is, added text is visible, deleted text is
invisible, and moved or pasted text appears where it has been inserted.
(InDesign) When change-tracking is turned on, editing is tracked regardless of whether you work in Story Editor or in the document layout. You
can view changes only in Story Editor, not in the layout.
(InCopy) When change-tracking is turned on, editing is tracked regardless of whether you work in Galley, Story, or Layout view. You can view
changes only in the Galley and Story views, not the Layout view.
In the Track Changes panel (InDesign) or the Track Changes toolbar (InCopy), click the Show/Hide Changes button
.
Turn off change tracking
With the insertion point in text, do any of the following:
To disable change-tracking in only the current story, click the Disable Track Changes In Current Story icon
.
(InDesign) To disable tracking in all stories, choose Disable Track Changes In All Stories from the Track Changes panel menu.
(InCopy) To disable tracking in all open stories in a multistory document, choose Changes > Disable Tracking In All Stories.
Note: If you disable tracking, no further changes are tracked. Previously tracked changes are not affected.
To the top
Accept and reject changes
When changes have been made to a story, whether by you or by others, the change-tracking feature enables you to review all changes and
decide whether to incorporate them into the story. You can accept or reject single changes, only portions of a tracked change, or all changes at
once.
When you accept a change, it becomes a normal part of the text flow and is no longer highlighted as a change. When you reject a change, the text
reverts to how it was before the change was made.
1. In Story Editor (InDesign) or Galley or Story view (InCopy), position the insertion point at the beginning of the story.
.
2. In the Track Changes panel (InDesign) or the Track Changes toolbar (InCopy), click the Next Change button
3. Do any of the following:
To accept the highlighted change and incorporate it into the text flow, click the Accept Change button
To reject the change and revert to the original text, click the Reject Change button
.
.
To accept or reject the highlighted change and go to the next change, Alt-click (Windows) or Option-click (Mac OS) the Accept
Change or Reject Change button.
To move back to the previous change or skip over a change and go to the next one, click the Previous Change button
Change button
.
To accept or reject all changes without reviewing, click the Accept All Changes In Story button
.
button
or Next
or the Reject All Changes In Story
To accept or reject all changes in the story or in the document, or to accept or reject all changes by a certain participant, choose the
appropriate option from the Track Changes panel menu (InDesign) or from the Changes menu (InCopy).
Note: If you change your mind about accepting or rejecting a change, you can undo the change by choosing Edit > Undo or pressing Ctrl+Z
(Windows) or Command+Z (Mac OS).
Choosing an Accept All Changes or Reject All Changes command also applies to hidden conditional text.
To the top
Set Track Changes preferences
Preference settings let you control many tracking options. You can choose a color to identify your changes and select what changes you want
tracked: adding, deleting, or moving text. You can also set the appearance of each type of tracked change, and you can have changes identified
with colored change bars in the margins.
1. Choose Edit > Preferences > Track Changes (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > Track Changes (Mac OS).
2. Select each type of change that you want to track.
3. For each type of change, specify the text color, background color, and marking method.
302
4. Select Prevent Duplicate User Colors to ensure that all users are assigned different colors.
5. To show change bars, select the Change Bars option. Choose a color from the Change Bar Color menu, and specify whether you want
change bars to appear in the left or right margin.
6. Select Include Deleted Text When Spellchecking if you want to spell-check text marked to be deleted.
7. Click OK.
To the top
Change the user name and color
1. Choose File > User.
2. Specify the user name and color to be used for change-tracking and notes, and then click OK.
More Help topics
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
303
Styles
Applying GREP styles (video 4:46)
Michael Ninness (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
This video tutorial shows you how to apply a character style to any text that matches the GREP expression you specify. Make the GREP
style part of a paragraph style.
Working with text styles (video 3:36)
Terry White (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
See how to work with text styles. Also learn how to use Quick Apply
304
Paragraph and character styles
About character and paragraph styles
Styles panel overview
Add paragraph and character styles
Map styles to export tags | CC, CS6, CS5.5
Convert Word styles to InDesign styles
Apply styles
Edit character and paragraph styles
Delete character or paragraph styles
Override character and paragraph styles
Convert style bullets and numbering to text
Find and replace character and paragraph styles
To the top
About character and paragraph styles
A character style is a collection of character formatting attributes that can be applied to text in a single step. A paragraph style includes both
character and paragraph formatting attributes, and can be applied to a paragraph or range of paragraphs. Paragraph styles and character styles
are found on separate panels. Paragraph and characters styles are sometimes called text styles.
When you change the formatting of a style, all text to which the style has been applied will be updated with the new format.
For a video tutorial on making a paragraph style, see www.adobe.com/go/lrvid4277_id. For a video tutorial on using text styles, see
www.adobe.com/go/vid0076.
Thomas Silkjaer provides samples of styles at Free InDesign Style Template.
[Basic Paragraph] styles
By default, each new document contains a [Basic Paragraph] style that is applied to text you type. You can edit this style, but you can’t rename or
delete it. You can rename and delete styles that you create. You can also select a different default style to apply to text.
Character style attributes
Unlike paragraph styles, character styles do not include all the formatting attributes of selected text. Instead, when you create a character style,
InDesign makes only those attributes that are different from the formatting of the selected text part of the style. That way, you can create a
character style that, when applied to text, changes only some attributes, such as the font family and size, ignoring all other character attributes. If
you want other attributes to be part of the style, add them when editing the style.
Next Style
You can automatically apply styles as you type text. If, for example, your document’s design calls for the style “body text” to follow a heading style
named “heading 1,” you can set the Next Style option for “heading 1” to “body text.” After you’ve typed a paragraph styled with “heading 1,”
pressing Enter or Return starts a new paragraph styled with “body text.”
If you use the context menu when applying a style to two or more paragraphs, you can cause the parent style to be applied to the first paragraph
and the Next Style to be applied to the additional paragraphs. (See Apply styles.)
To use the Next Style feature, choose a style from the Next Style menu when you’re creating or editing a style.
Jeff Witchel provides a video tutorial about using the Next Style feature at Using the Next Style feature.
To the top
Styles panel overview
Use the Character Styles panel to create, name, and apply character styles to text within a paragraph; use the Paragraph Styles panel to create,
name, and apply paragraph styles to entire paragraphs. Styles are saved with a document and display in the panel each time you open that
document.
When you select text or position the insertion point, any style that has been applied to that text is highlighted in either of the Styles panels, unless
the style is in a collapsed style group. If you select a range of text that contains multiple styles, no style is highlighted in the Styles panel. If you
select a range of text to which multiple styles are applied, the Styles panel displays “(Mixed).”
Open the Paragraph Styles panel
Choose Type > Paragraph Styles, or click the Paragraph Styles tab, which appears by default on the right side of the application window.
305
Open the Character Styles panel
Choose Type > Character Styles, or click the Character Styles tab on the right side of the application window.
To the top
Add paragraph and character styles
Define paragraph or character styles
1. If you want to base a new style on the formatting of existing text, select that text or place the insertion point in it.
If a group is selected in the Styles panel, the new style will be part of that group.
2. Choose New Paragraph Style from the Paragraph Styles panel menu, or choose New Character Style from the Character Styles panel
menu.
3. For Style Name, type a name for your new style.
4. For Based On, select which style the current style is based on.
Note: The Based On option lets you link styles to each other, so that changes in one style ripple through the styles that are based on it. By
default, new styles are based on [No Paragraph Style] for paragraph styles or [None] for character styles, or on the style of any currently
selected text.
5. For Next Style (Paragraph Styles panel only), specify which style is applied after the current style when you press Enter or Return.
6. To add a keyboard shortcut, position the insertion point in the Shortcut box, and make sure Num Lock is turned on. Then hold down any
combination of Shift, Alt, and Ctrl (Windows), or Shift, Option, and Command (Mac OS), and press a number on the numeric keypad. You
cannot use letters or non-keypad numbers for defining style shortcuts. If your keyboard does not have a Num Lock key, you cannot add
keyboard shortcuts to styles.
7. If you want the new style to be applied to the selected text, select Apply Style To Selection.
8. To specify the formatting attributes, click a category (such as Basic Character Formats) on the left, and specify the attributes you want to
add to your style.
When specifying a Character Color in the Style Options dialog box, you can create a new color by double-clicking the fill or stroke box.
9. For character styles, attributes you do not specify are ignored; when the style is applied, text will retain the paragraph style formatting for
that attribute. To remove an attribute setting from a character style:
From a setting’s menu, choose (Ignore).
In a text box, delete the option text.
In a check box, click until you see a small box (Windows) or a hyphen (-) (Mac OS).
For a character color, hold down Ctrl (Windows) or Command (Mac OS) and click the color swatch.
10. When you’ve finished specifying the formatting attributes, click OK.
Styles you create appear only in the current document. If no document is open, the styles you create will appear in all new documents.
Base one paragraph or character style on another
Many document designs feature hierarchies of styles sharing certain attributes. The headings and subheads, for example, often use the same font.
You can easily create links between similar styles by creating a base, or parent, style. When you edit the parent style, the child styles will change
as well. You can then edit the child styles to distinguish them from the parent style.
To create a style that’s nearly identical to another style, but without the parent-child relationship, use the Duplicate Style command and then
edit the copy.
1. Create a new style.
2. In the New Paragraph Style or New Character Style dialog box, select the parent style in the Based On menu. The new style becomes the
child style.
By default, new styles are based on [No Paragraph Style] or [None], or on the style of any currently selected text.
3. Specify formatting in the new style to distinguish it from the style on which it’s based. For example, you might want to make the font used in
a subheading slightly smaller than the one used in the heading (parent) style.
If you make changes to the formatting of a child style and decide you want to start over, click Reset To Base. That restores the child style’s
formatting to be identical to the style on which it’s based. Then you can specify new formatting. Similarly, if you change the Based On style of
the child style, the child style definition is updated to match its new parent style.
Import styles from other documents
You can import paragraph and character styles from another InDesign document (any version) into the active document. During import, you can
determine which styles are loaded and what should occur if a loaded style has the same name as a style in the current document. You can also
import styles from an InCopy document.
1. In the Character Styles or Paragraph Styles panel, do one of the following:
Choose Load Character Styles or Load Paragraph Styles in the Styles panel menu.
306
Choose Load All Text Styles in the Styles panel menu to load both character and paragraph styles.
2. Double-click the InDesign document containing the styles you want to import.
3. In the Load Styles dialog box, make sure that a check mark appears next to the styles you want to import. If any existing style has the same
name as one of the imported styles, choose one of the following options under Conflict With Existing Style, and then click OK:
Use Incoming Style Definition Overwrites the existing style with the loaded style and applies its new attributes to all text in the current
document that used the old style. The definitions of the incoming and existing styles are displayed at the bottom of the Load Styles dialog
box so that you can view a comparison.
Auto-Rename Renames the loaded style. For example, if both documents have a Subheading style, the loaded style is renamed
“Subheading copy” in the current document.
You can also use the Books feature to share styles. (See Synchronize book documents.)
To the top
Map styles to export tags | CC, CS6, CS5.5
Introduction to export tags
Use Export Tagging to define how text with InDesign styles is marked up in HTML, EPUB, or tagged PDF output.
You can also specify CSS class names to add to the exported content. In EPUB/HTML export, CSS classes can be used to differentiate between
slight variations in styling. It is not required that you enter a class name - InDesign automatically generates one based on the Style Name.
You cannot preview Export Tagging within the InDesign layout, as it only impacts the exported EPUB, HTML, or PDF file.
Edit All Export Tags lets you efficiently view and modify the mappings in a single dialog box.
Define style-tag mapping
1. For the style to map, open the paragraph, character, or Object Style Options dialog box.
2. Click Export Tagging in the left pane, and do one of the following:
Choose a Tag to map for EPUB and HTML output.
Specify a Class to map for EPUB and HTML output. Class names are used to generate style definitions for default tags.
If you want to include this style in the CSS, select the Emit CSS checkbox. If you don’t select the checkbox, no CSS class will be
generated for this style. If you have two or more styles having the same class assigned, InDesign displays an error/warning message
while exporting. This option is available only in InDesign CC.
Choose a Tag to map for PDF output. This option is available only for paragraph styles.
Edit all export tags
You can view and modify all export tags together in a single window.
1. Select Edit All Export Tags in the Paragraph, Character, or Object style panel menu.
2. Click EPUB and HTML, or PDF.
3. Click the tag corresponding to the style. It gets converted to a list; choose the new value.
To the top
Convert Word styles to InDesign styles
While importing a Microsoft Word document into InDesign or InCopy, you can map each style used in Word to a corresponding style in InDesign or
InCopy. By doing so, you specify which styles format the imported text. A disk icon
appears next to each imported Word style until you edit the
style in InDesign or InCopy.
1. Do one of the following:
To add the Word document to existing text in InDesign or InCopy, choose File > Place. Select Show Import Options, and then doubleclick the Word document.
To open the Word document in a stand-alone InCopy document, start InCopy, choose File > Open, and then double-click the Word file.
2. Select Preserve Styles And Formatting From Text And Tables.
3. Select Customized Style Import, and then click Style Mapping.
4. In the Style Mapping dialog box, select the Word style, and then select an option from the menu under InDesign style. You can choose the
following options:
If there is no style name conflict, choose New Paragraph Style, New Character Style, or choose an existing InDesign style.
If there is a style name conflict, choose Redefine InDesign Style to format the imported style text with the Word style. Choose an existing
InDesign style to format the imported style text with the InDesign style. Choose Auto Rename to rename the Word style.
307
5. Click OK to close the Style Mapping dialog box, and then click OK to import the document.
To the top
Apply styles
By default, applying a paragraph style won’t remove any existing character formatting or character styles applied to part of a paragraph, although
you have the option of removing existing formatting when you apply a style. A plus sign (+) appears next to the current paragraph style in the
Styles panel if the selected text uses a character or paragraph style and also uses additional formatting that isn’t part of the applied style. Such
additional formatting is called an override or local formatting.
Character styles remove or reset character attributes of existing text if those attributes are defined by the style.
Apply a character style
1. Select the characters to which you want to apply the style.
2. Do one of the following:
Click the character style name in the Character Styles panel.
Select the character style name from the drop-down list in the Control panel.
Press the keyboard shortcut you assigned to the style. (Make sure that Num Lock is on.)
Apply a paragraph style
1. Click in a paragraph, or select all or part of the paragraphs to which you want to apply the style.
2. Do one of the following:
Click the paragraph style name in the Paragraph Styles panel.
Select the paragraph style name from the menu in the Control panel.
Press the keyboard shortcut you assigned to the style. (Make sure that Num Lock is on.)
3. If any unwanted formatting remains in the text, choose Clear Overrides from the Paragraph Styles panel.
Apply sequential styles to multiple paragraphs
The Next Style option specifies which style will be automatically applied when you press Enter or Return after applying a particular style. It also
lets you apply different styles to multiple paragraphs in a single action.
For example, suppose you have three styles for formatting a newspaper column: Title, Byline, and Body. Title uses Byline for Next Style, Byline
uses Body for Next Style, and Body uses [Same Style] for Next Style. If you select an entire article, including the title, the author’s byline, and the
paragraphs in the article, and then apply the Title style using the special “Next Style” command in the context menu, the article’s first paragraph
will be formatted with the Title style, the second paragraph will be formatted with the Byline style, and all other paragraphs will be formatted with
the Body style.
Before and after applying a style with Next Style.
1. Select the paragraphs to which you want to apply the styles.
2. In the Paragraph Styles panel, right-click (Windows) or Control-click (Mac OS) the parent style, and then choose Apply [Style Name] Then
Next Style.
If the text includes formatting overrides or character styles, the context menu also lets you remove overrides, character styles, or both.
To the top
Edit character and paragraph styles
308
One of the advantages of using styles is that when you change the definition of a style, all of the text formatted with that style changes to match
the new style definition.
Note: If you edit styles in InCopy content that’s linked to an InDesign document, the modifications are overridden when the linked content is
updated.
Edit a style using the dialog box
1. Do one of the following:
If you don’t want the style to be applied to selected text, right-click (Windows) or Control-click (Mac OS) the style name in the Styles
panel, and choose Edit [style name].
In the Styles panel, double-click the style name, or select the style and choose Style Options in the Styles panel menu. Note that this
applies the style to any selected text or text frame or, if no text or text frame is selected, sets the style as the default style for any text
you type in new frames.
2. Adjust settings in the dialog box, and then click OK.
Redefine a style to match selected text
After you apply a style, you can override any of its settings. If you decide you like the changes you made, you can redefine the style so that it
matches the formatting of the text you changed.
Note: If you redefine styles in InCopy content linked to an InDesign document, the modifications are overridden when the linked content is
updated.
1. Using the Type tool
, select the text formatted with the style you want to redefine.
2. Make changes to the paragraph or character attributes as necessary.
3. Choose Redefine Style in the Styles panel menu.
To the top
Delete character or paragraph styles
When you delete a style, you can select a different style to replace it, and you can choose whether to preserve the formatting. When you delete a
style group, you delete all styles within the group. You are prompted to replace each style in the group one at a time.
1. Select the style name in the Styles panel.
2. Do one of the following:
Choose Delete Style in the panel menu or click the Delete icon
at the bottom of the panel.
Right-click (Windows) or Control-click (Mac OS) the style, and then choose Delete Style. This method is especially useful for deleting a
style without applying it to text.
3. In the Delete Paragraph Style dialog box, select the style to replace it.
If you select [No Paragraph Style] to replace a paragraph style or [None] to replace a character style, select Preserve Formatting to keep the
formatting of text to which the style is applied. The text preserves its formatting but is no longer associated with a style.
4. Click OK.
To delete all unused styles, choose Select All Unused in the Styles panel menu, and then click the Delete icon. When you delete an unused
style, you are not prompted to replace the style.
To the top
Override character and paragraph styles
When you apply a paragraph style, character styles and other previous formatting remain intact. After you apply a style, you can override any of its
settings by applying formatting that’s not part of the style. When formatting that is not part of a style is applied to text with that style applied, it is
called an override or local formatting. When you select text with an override, a plus sign (+) appears next to the style name. In character styles, an
override is displayed only if the applied attribute is part of the style. For example, if a character style only changes text color, applying a different
font size to the text does not appear as an override.
You can clear character styles and formatting overrides when you apply a style. You can also clear overrides from a paragraph to which a style has
been applied.
If a style has a plus sign (+) next to it, hold the mouse pointer over the style to view a description of the override attributes.
Preserve or remove overrides when applying paragraph styles
To apply a paragraph style and preserve character styles, but remove overrides, hold down Alt (Windows) or Option (Mac OS) as you click
the name of the style in the Paragraph Styles panel.
To apply a paragraph style and remove both character styles and overrides, hold down Alt+Shift (Windows) or Option+Shift (Mac OS) as you
click the name of the style in the Paragraph Styles panel.
309
Right-click (Windows) or Control-click (Mac OS) the style in the Paragraph Styles panel, and then choose an option from the context menu.
You can then clear overrides, character styles, or both while applying the style.
Clear paragraph style overrides
1. Select the text containing the overrides. You can even select multiple paragraphs with different styles.
2. In the Paragraph Styles panel, do any of the following:
To remove paragraph and character formatting, click the Clear Overrides icon
panel.
, or choose Clear Overrides from the Paragraph Styles
To remove character overrides, but preserve paragraph formatting overrides, hold down Ctrl (Windows) or Command (Mac OS) as you
click the Clear Overrides icon.
To remove paragraph-level overrides, but preserve character-level overrides, in the Paragraph Styles panel, hold down Shift+Ctrl
(Windows) or Shift+Command (Mac OS) as you click the Clear Overrides icon.
Note: When you clear overrides, paragraph-level overrides are removed from the entire paragraph, even if only part of the paragraph is
selected. Character-level overrides are removed only from the selection.
Clearing overrides does not remove character style formatting. To remove character style formatting, select the text containing the character
style, and then click [None] in the Character Styles panel.
Break the link between text and its style
When you break the link between text and its style, the text retains its current formatting. However, future changes to that style will not be reflected
in the text that was separated from the style.
1. Select the text that is marked with the style that you want to break from.
2. Choose Break Link To Style from the Styles panel menu.
If no text is selected when you choose Break Link To Style, any new text you type uses the same formatting as the selected style, but no style is
assigned to that text.
To the top
Convert style bullets and numbering to text
When you create a style that adds bullets or numbering to paragraphs, these bullets and numbers may be lost if the text is copied or exported to a
different application. To avoid this problem, convert the style bullets or numbering to text.
Note: If you convert style bullets in an InCopy story linked to an InDesign layout, the change may be overridden when the content is updated in
InDesign.
1. In the Paragraph Styles panel, select the style that contains the bullets and numbering.
2. In the Paragraph Styles panel menu, choose Convert “[style]” Bullets and Numbering to Text.
If you convert bullets and numbering to text in a style on which another style is based (a parent style), the bullets and numbering in the child style
are also converted to text.
After you convert numbering to text, you may need to update numbers manually if you edit the text.
To the top
Find and replace character and paragraph styles
Use the Find/Change dialog box to find instances of a particular style and replace it with another.
1. Choose Edit > Find/Change.
2. For Search, select Document to change the style throughout the document.
3. Leave the Find What and Change To options blank. If the Find Format and Change Format boxes don’t appear at the bottom of the dialog
box, click More Options.
4. Click the Find Format box to display the Find Format Settings dialog box. Under Style Options, select the character or paragraph style you
want to search for, and then click OK.
5. Click the Change Format box to display the Change Format Settings dialog box. Under Style Options, select the replacement character or
paragraph style, and then click OK.
6. Click Find, and then use the Change, Change/Find, or Change All buttons to replace the style.
More Help topics
EPUB Contents options
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
310
Drop caps and nested styles
Apply a character style to a drop cap
Create nested styles
Create GREP styles
There are three main ways to use Drop Caps and Nested Styles feature: to apply a character style to a drop cap, to apply a nested style to text at
the beginning of a paragraph, and to apply a nested line style to one or more lines in a paragraph.
To the top
Apply a character style to a drop cap
You can apply a character style to the drop-cap character or characters in a paragraph. For example, if you want a drop-cap character to have a
different color and font than the rest of the paragraph, you can define a character style that has these attributes. Then you can either apply the
character style directly to a paragraph, or you can nest the character style in a paragraph style.
Drop cap formatted automatically by nested character style
1. Create a character style that has the formatting you want to use for the drop-cap character.
2. Do one of the following:
To apply the drop cap to a single paragraph, choose Drop Caps And Nested Styles from the Paragraph panel menu.
To nest the character style in a paragraph style, double-click the paragraph style, and then click Drop Caps And Nested Styles.
3. Specify the number of drop-cap lines and characters, and then choose the character style.
4. If the drop cap is aligned too far away from the left edge, select Align Left Edge.
Selecting this option uses the original left side bearing of the drop-cap character rather than the larger value. It’s particularly useful for drop
caps formatted in sans serif fonts.
5. If the drop cap character overlaps the text below it, select Scale For Descenders.
6. Click OK.
If you want to apply a different nested style to any characters after the drop cap, use the New Nested Style option. (See Create nested styles.)
To the top
Create nested styles
You can specify character-level formatting for one or more ranges of text within a paragraph or line. You can also set up two or more nested styles
to work together, one taking over where the previous one ends. For paragraphs with repetitive and predictable formatting, you can even loop back
to the first style in the sequence.
Nested styles are especially useful for run-in headings. For example, you can apply one character style to the first letter in a paragraph and
another character style that takes effect through the first colon (:). For each nested style, you can define a character that ends the style, such as a
tab character or the end of a word.
311
In this example, the Number character style formats the first word, and the Run-in character style formats text through the first colon.
Michael Murphy provides an article on nested styles at InDesign's Nested Styles Auto-Format Multiple Paragraphs. He also provides a series of
video tutorials that starts at Nested Style Sheets.
Create one or more nested styles
1. Create one or more character styles that you want to use to format text.
2. Do one of the following:
To add nested styles to a paragraph style, double-click the paragraph style, and then click Drop Caps And Nested Styles.
To add nested styles to a single paragraph, choose Drop Caps And Nested Styles from the Paragraph panel menu.
Note: For best results, apply nested styles as part of paragraph styles. If you apply nested styles as local overrides to a paragraph,
subsequent editing or formatting changes in the nested style can produce unexpected character formatting in the styled text.
3. Click New Nested Style one or more times.
4. Do any of the following for each style, and then click OK:
Click the character style area, and then select a character style to determine the appearance of that section of the paragraph. If you
haven’t created a character style, choose New Character Style and specify the formatting you want to use.
Specify the item that ends the character style formatting. You can also type the character, such as a colon (:) or a specific letter or
number. You cannot type a word.
Specify how many instances of the selected item (such as characters, words, or sentences) are required.
Choose Through or Up To. Choosing Through includes the character that ends the nested style, while choosing Up To formats only
312
those characters that precede this character.
Select a style and click the up button or down button to change the order of the styles in the list. The order of the styles determines
the sequence in which the formatting is applied. The formatting defined by the second style begins where the formatting of the first style
concludes. If you apply a character style to the drop cap, the drop-cap character style acts as the first nested style.
Create nested line styles
You can apply a character style to a specified number of lines in a paragraph. As with nested styles, you can set up two or more nested line styles
to work together, and you can create a repeating sequence.
Attributes applied by nested line styles can co-exist with attributes applied by nested styles. For example, a nested line style can apply a color
while a nested style can apply italics. If both set conflicting settings of the same attribute, such as red and blue, the nested style takes precedence
over the nested line style.
1. Create one or more character styles that you want to use to format text.
2. Do one of the following:
To add nested line styles to a paragraph style, double-click the paragraph style, and then click Drop Caps And Nested Styles.
To add nested line styles to a single paragraph, choose Drop Caps And Nested Styles from the Paragraph panel menu.
3. Click New Nested Line Style one or more times.
4. Click the character style area, and then select a character style to determine the appearance of that section. If you haven’t created a
character style, choose New Character Style and specify the formatting you want to use.
5. Specify the number of paragraph lines you want the character style to affect.
Select a style and click the up button
which the formatting is applied.
or down button
to change the order of the styles in the list. The order determines the sequence in
6. Click OK.
Loop through nested styles
You can repeat a series of two or more nested styles throughout a paragraph. A simple example would be to alternate red and green words in a
paragraph. Or, in nested line styles you could alternate red and green lines in a paragraph. The repeating pattern remains intact even if you add or
remove words in the paragraph.
1. Create the character styles you want to use.
2. Edit or create a paragraph style, or place the insertion point in the paragraph you want to format.
3. In the Drop Caps And Nested Styles section or dialog box, click New Nested Style (or New Nested Line Style) at least twice and choose
settings for each style.
4. Do either of the following:
For nested styles, click New Nested Style again, choose [Repeat] in the character style area, and specify how many nested styles will be
repeated.
For nested line styles, click New Nested Line Style again, choose [Repeat] in the character style area, and specify how many lines will
be repeated.
In some cases, you may want to skip the first style or styles. For example, an events calendar paragraph may include “This Week’s Events”
followed by days of the week and their events. In this case, you could create five nested styles: one for “This Week’s Events,” one each for
the day, event, and event time, and a final style with a [Repeat] value of 3, thereby excluding the first nested style from the loop.
The [Repeat] item should be the last in the list. Any nested style below [Repeat] is ignored.
313
Looping through nested styles
5. Click OK.
Nested style character style options
To determine how a nested character style ends, select any of the following:
If you don’t want the character to be included in the nested style formatted, choose Up To instead of Through when you define the nested
style.
Sentences Periods, question marks, and exclamation points indicate the end of a sentence. If a quotation mark follows the punctuation, it is
included as part of the sentence.
Words Any space or white space character indicates the end of a word.
Characters Any character other than zero-width markers (for anchors, index markers, XML tags and so on) is included.
Note: If you select Characters, you can also type a character, such as a colon or a period, to end the nested style. If you type multiple characters,
any of those characters will end the style. For example, if your run-in headings end with a hyphen, colon, or question mark, you can type -:? to end
the nested style where any of these characters appears.
Letters Any character that does not include punctuation, white space, digits, and symbols.
Digits The Arabic numerals 0–9 are included.
End Nested Style Character Extends the nested style up to or through the appearance of the End Nested Style character you insert. To insert
this character, choose Type > Insert Special Character > Other > End Nested Style Here.
Tab Characters Extends the nested style up to or through the tab character (not the tab setting).
Forced Line Break Extends the nested style up to or through the forced line break. (Choose Type > Insert Break Character > Forced Line
Break.)
Indent To Here Character Extends the nested style up to or through the Indent To Here character. (Choose Type > Insert Special Character >
Other > Indent To Here.)
Em Spaces, En Spaces, or Non-breaking Spaces Extends the nested style up to or through the space character. (Choose Type > Insert White
Space > [space character].)
Anchored Object Marker Extends the nested style up to or through an inline graphic marker, which appears where an inline graphic is inserted.
Auto Page Number / Section Marker Extends the nested style up to or through the page number or section name marker.
End a nested style
In most cases, a nested style ends where the condition of the defined style is met, such as after three words or where a period appears. However,
you can also end a nested style before the condition is met using the End Nested Style Here character.
1. Place the insertion point where you want the nested style to end.
314
2. Choose Type > Insert Special Character > Other > End Nested Style Here.
This character ends the nested style at that point, regardless of the nested style definition.
Remove the formatting of a nested style
In the Drop Caps And Nested Styles dialog box, or in the Drop Caps And Nested Styles section of the Paragraph Style Options dialog box,
select the nested style and click Delete.
Apply a different paragraph style.
To the top
Create GREP styles
GREP is an advanced, pattern-based search technique. You can use GREP styles to apply a character style to text that conforms to the GREP
expression you specify. For example, suppose you want to apply a character style to all the phone numbers in text. When you create a GREP
style, you select the character style and specify the GREP expression. All paragraph text that matches the GREP expression is formatted with the
character style.
Using GREP style to format phone numbers with a character style
A. Character style B. GREP expression
For a video tutorial on creating GREP styles, see www.adobe.com/go/lrvid4028_id.
David Blatner provides real-world examples of GREP styles at 5 Cool Things You Can Do with GREP Styles. Cari Jansen provides a four-part
series about GREP styles that begins at Introducing GREP Styles.
1. Do one of the following:
To apply GREP styling to individual paragraphs, select the paragraphs and choose Grep Styles from the Paragraph or Control panel
menu.
To use GREP styles in a paragraph style, create or edit a paragraph style, and click the GREP Styling tab on the left side of the
Paragraph Style Options dialog box.
2. Click New GREP Style.
3. Click to the right of Apply Style, and then specify a character style. If you haven’t created a character style to use, choose New Character
Style and specify the formatting you want to use.
4. Click to the right of To Text and do any of the following to construct a GREP expression:
Enter the search expression manually. (See Metacharacters for searching.)
Click the Special Characters For Search icon to the right of the To Text field. Choose options from the Locations, Repeat, Match,
Modifiers, and Posix submenus to help construct the GREP expression.
5. Click OK.
More Help topics
315
GREP styles video
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
316
Object styles
About object styles
Object Styles panel overview
Define object styles
Apply object styles
Use default object styles
Clear object style overrides
Break the link to an object style
Rename an object style
Edit object styles
Delete an object style
Redefine an object style
Import object styles
To the top
About object styles
Just as you use paragraph and character styles to quickly format text, you can use object styles to quickly format graphics and frames. Object
styles include settings for stroke, color, transparency, drop shadows, paragraph styles, text wrap, and more. You can assign different transparency
effects for the object, fill, stroke, and text.
You can apply object styles to objects, groups, and frames (including text frames). A style can either clear and replace all object settings or it can
replace only specific settings, leaving other settings unchanged. You control which settings the style affects by including or excluding a category of
settings in the definition.
When creating styles, you might find that several styles share some of the same characteristics. Rather than setting those characteristics each
time you define the next style, you can base one object style on another. When you change the base style, any shared attributes that appear in the
“parent” style change in the “child” style as well.
For a video tutorial on using object styles, see www.adobe.com/go/vid0072.
To the top
Object Styles panel overview
Use the Object Styles panel to create, edit, and apply object styles. For each new document, the panel initially lists a default set of object styles.
Object styles are saved with a document and display in the panel each time you open that document. The Text Frame icon marks the default
style for text frames; the Graphics Frame icon marks the default style for graphics frames and drawn shapes.
Open the Object Style panel
Choose Window > Styles > Object Styles.
Change how object styles are listed in the panel
Select Small Panel Rows from the panel menu to display a more condensed version of the object styles.
Drag the object style to a different position. When a black line appears in the desired position, release the mouse button.
Select Sort By Name from the panel menu to list the object styles in alphabetical order.
To the top
Define object styles
You can define a style based on the settings you’ve already applied to an object, or you can create a style from scratch or based on another style.
1. Select the object or text frame that uses the settings you want the object style to include.
2. Choose New Object Style from the Object Styles panel menu, or Alt-click (Windows) or Option-click (Mac OS) the Create New Style button.
3. In the New Object Style dialog box, type a name for the style.
4. To base the style on another style, choose a style for Based On.
Note: The Based On option lets you link styles to each other, so that changes in one style ripple through the styles that are based on it. If
you make changes to the formatting of a child style and decide you want to start over, click Reset To Base. That restores the child style’s
formatting to be identical to the style on which it’s based.
5. To add a keyboard shortcut, position the insertion point in the Shortcut box, and make sure Num Lock is turned on. Then hold down any
combination of Shift, Alt, and Ctrl (Windows) or Shift, Option, and Command (Mac OS), and press a number on the numeric keypad. You
317
cannot use letters or non-keypad numbers for defining style shortcuts.
6. Under Basic Attributes, select any additional categories that contain options you want to define, and set the options as desired. Click the
check box to the left of each category to indicate whether it should be included or ignored in the style.
7. To apply effects, choose an option in Effects For (Object, Stroke, Fill, or Text), and then select categories of effects and specify their
settings. You can specify different effects for each category. Indicate which Effects categories should be turned on, turned off, or ignored in
the style.
8. Under Export Options, select an option and specify export parameters for the option. You can define Alt text for placed images and graphics.
For tagged PDFs, you can apply tags and actual text settings. For HTML and EPUB layouts, you can specify different conversion settings on
each object so that they render well on different screen sizes and pixel densities.
Note: Object export options are used to specify export parameters required when you export to different formats such as EPUB, HTML, or
accessible PDFs. Object export options are applied to both text frames and graphic frames, as well as groups. See Object export options |
CC, CS6, CS5.5.
9. Click OK.
Object style categories
If you want the style to apply only certain attributes, leaving any other settings untouched, make sure that the categories you want the style to
control are in the appropriate state. You can use any of three states for each category: turned on, turned off, or ignored. For example, checking the
Drop Shadow box will include drop shadow formatting in the object style. Deselecting the Drop Shadow box will indicate that drop shadow is
turned off as part of the style — any drop shadow applied to an object appears as an override. Setting the Drop Shadow box to “ignore” (a small
box in Windows or a hyphen in Mac OS) will leave drop shadow out of the style, so any drop shadow applied to the style does not appear as an
override.
Object style categories
A. Turned on B. Ignored C. Turned off
Note: Categories in which the settings can be turned on or off individually, such as Fill, Stroke, and Transparency, have only two states. They can
either be turned on or ignored.
The Paragraph Styles category is ignored by default, even if you’re creating a text frame. This category is applicable only if the object is an
unthreaded text frame.
To the top
Apply object styles
If you apply an object style to a group of objects, the object style is applied to each object in the group. To apply an object style to a group of
objects, nest the objects within a frame. (The Edit > Paste Into command is one way to paste an object into a frame.)
1. Select an object, frame, or group.
2. Click an object style in the Control panel or the Object Styles panel to apply a style.
If you choose Clear Overrides When Applying Style from the Object Styles panel, clicking an object style clears overrides by default. If this option
is not selected, you can Alt-click (Windows) or Option-click (Mac OS) the object style to clear overrides while applying the style.
You can also drag an object style onto an object to apply the style without first selecting the object.
If a group is selected when you apply an object style, the style is applied to each object in the group.
Once you apply a style, you can apply other settings to the object as needed. Although you may override a setting defined in the style, you do not
lose the connection to the style.
To the top
Use default object styles
For each new document, the Object Styles panel lists a default set of object styles. Whenever you create an object, an object style is applied to it.
By default, if you create a text frame, the [Basic Text Frame] object style is applied. If you draw a path or shape, the [Basic Graphics Frame]
object style is applied. If you place an image or draw a placeholder shape that has an X in it, the [None] object style is applied. You can select a
318
different object style to use as the default for text frames and graphics frames.
To change the default style for a text frame, choose Default Text Frame Style from the Object Styles panel menu, and then select the object
style.
To change the default style for a graphics frame, choose Default Graphics Frame Style from the Object Styles panel menu, and then select
the object style.
Graphic placeholder frames (with an X in them), always use the [None] style as default. You cannot specify an object style as default.
To change the default style for any object type, drag the icon that marks the default object type from one object style to another.
Note: If you select an object style when no frame is selected, that object style becomes the new default object style for text or graphics,
depending on which tool is selected in the toolbox.
You can edit the [Basic] styles, but you cannot delete them.
To the top
Clear object style overrides
When formatting is applied to an object that differs from part of the style definition applied to that object, it is called an override. When you select
an object with an override, a plus sign (+) appears next to the style name.
Use the Clear Overrides command to override any formatting that is either turned on or off in the object style; use the Clear Attributes Not Defined
By Style to clear ignored attributes.
Clear object style overrides
1. Select an object or group that you want to change.
2. In the Object Styles panel, click the Clear Overrides button
at the bottom of the Object Styles panel.
An override is displayed only if the applied attribute is part of the style.
Clear attributes ignored in an object style
You may want to remove attributes from an object, even if those attributes are ignored in a style. For example, if the Fill category is ignored in an
object style and you apply a red fill to a frame to which the object style is applied, choosing Clear Attributes Not Defined By Style removes the red
fill.
Note: If an object style category is turned off (unchecked) rather than ignored, use the Clear Overrides command to override the style.
1. Select an object or group that you want to change.
2. In the Object Styles panel, click the Clear Attributes Not Defined By Style button
at the bottom of the Object Styles panel.
To the top
Break the link to an object style
You can break the link between an object and the style applied to it. The object will retain the same attributes, but will no longer change if the style
is changed.
1. Select the object that has the object style applied to it.
2. Choose Break Link To Style from the Object Styles panel menu.
If you don’t want to retain the formatting of the object style, choose [None] in the Object Styles panel.
To the top
Rename an object style
1. Make sure no objects are currently selected so that a style isn’t mistakenly applied.
2. In the Object Styles panel, double-click the object style you want to rename.
3. In the Object Style Options dialog box, type a new name for the style, and click OK.
You can also edit an object style directly in the panel. Click the style, pause, and then click again to edit the style name.
To the top
Edit object styles
1. Do one of the following:
If you don’t want the style to be applied to the selected frame or set as the default, right-click (Windows) or Control-click (Mac OS) the
style name in the Object Styles panel, and choose Edit [style name].
In the Object Styles panel, double-click the style name, or select the style and choose Style Options in the Styles panel menu. Note that
this applies the style to any selected object or sets it as the default object type.
2. In the Object Style Options dialog box, select the category that contains the options you want to change, and change the desired settings.
3. Determine whether object style categories are turned on, turned off, or ignored.
319
4. Click OK.
To the top
Delete an object style
1. In the Object Styles panel, select an object style.
2. Choose Delete Style from the panel menu or drag the style to the Delete icon at the bottom of the Object Styles panel.
3. If you delete a style that is applied to objects or on which other styles are based, you will be prompted to specify a replacement style in the
Delete Object Style dialog box. Do one of the following:
To restyle objects that currently use the deleted style, choose the style you want to apply to the objects and click OK.
To leave objects unchanged, choose [None], make sure Preserve Formatting is checked, and click OK. Any objects that use the deleted
style retain the same attributes, but are no longer associated with a style.
To remove all attribute settings you’ve applied, choose [None], deselect Preserve Formatting, and click OK.
Note: To delete all styles not applied to objects, chooseSelect All Unused from the Object Styles panel menu, and then click the Delete icon.
To the top
Redefine an object style
After you apply an object style, you can override any of its settings. If you decide you like the changes you made to a particular object, you can
redefine the style so that it matches the formatting of the object you changed. Be aware that the Redefine Object Style command redefines only
categories that are turned on or turned off, but not categories that are ignored. If the object includes additional settings, you’ll need to add those
settings separately to the style, or simply create a new object style.
1. Select an object that is using the style you want to change.
2. Adjust the desired appearance attributes.
3. In the Object Styles panel, choose Redefine Style from the Object Styles panel menu.
The object style definition changes to match the override settings you applied. All occurrences of the object style in the document are updated to
use the new settings.
Note: If the Redefine Object Style option is not available, the attributes you set are not part of the object style definition. To change the style
definition directly, choose Object Style Options instead, or create a new style from the object.
To the top
Import object styles
You can import styles from other documents. In addition to object styles themselves, InDesign imports any swatches, custom strokes, character
styles, or paragraph styles that are used in the styles. If a swatch, stroke, or paragraph style that you import has the same name but different
values than an existing swatch or style, InDesign renames it.
1. Select Load Object Styles from the Object Styles panel menu.
2. Select the file from which you want to import object styles, and click Open.
3. In the Load Styles dialog box, make sure that a check mark appears next to the styles you want to import. If there is a style name conflict,
choose one of the following options under Conflict With Existing Style, and then click OK:
Use Incoming Style Definition Overwrites the existing style with the loaded style and applies its new attributes to all objects in the current
document that used the old style. The definitions of the incoming and existing styles are displayed at the bottom of the Load Styles dialog
box so that you can view a comparison.
Auto-Rename Renames the loaded style.
The object styles appear in the Object Styles panel.
More Help topics
Object Styles video
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
320
Working with styles
Duplicate styles or style groups
Group styles
Move and reorder styles
To the top
Duplicate styles or style groups
Right-click (Windows) or Control-click (Mac OS) a style or style group in the Styles panel, and then choose Duplicate Style.
A new style or group appears in the Styles panel, with the same name followed by “copy.” If you duplicated a group of styles, the style names
within the new group remain the same.
You can also duplicate styles by copying them to another group.
To the top
Group styles
You can organize styles by grouping them into separate folders in the Character Styles, Paragraph Styles, Object Styles, Table Styles, and Cell
Styles panels. You can even nest groups within groups. Styles do not need to be in a group; you can add them to a group or to the root level of
the panel.
Create a style group
1. In the Styles panel:
To create the group at the root level, deselect all styles.
To create a group within a group, select and open a group.
To include existing styles in the group, select the styles.
2. Choose New Style Group from the Styles panel menu, or choose New Group From Styles to move the selected styles into the new group.
3. Type the name of the group and click OK.
4. To move a style into the group, drag the style over the style group. When the style group is highlighted, release the mouse button.
Copy styles to a group
When you copy a style to a different group, the styles are not linked. Even though they have the same name, editing one style does not change
the attributes of the other style.
1. Select the style or group you want to copy.
2. Choose Copy To Group from the Styles panel menu.
3. Select the group (or [Root] level) that you want to copy the styles or group to, and then click OK.
If the group already contains style names identical to those being copied, incoming styles are renamed.
Expand or collapse style groups
To expand or collapse only one group, click the triangle icon next to it.
To expand or collapse the group and all its subgroups, Ctrl-click (Windows) or Command-click (Mac OS) the triangle icon.
Delete style groups
Deleting a style group deletes the group and everything inside it, including styles and other groups.
1. Select the group you want to delete.
2. Choose Delete Style Group from the Styles panel menu, and then click Yes.
3. For each style in the group, specify a replacement style or choose [None], and then click OK.
If you want to use the same replacement style for all styles, select Apply To All.
If you cancel the replacement of any style, the group is not deleted. You can recover deleted styles by choosing Edit > Undo Delete Styles.
To the top
Move and reorder styles
321
By default, styles you create appear at the bottom of the style group or panel.
To alphabetize all groups and styles within groups, choose Sort By Name from the Styles panel menu.
To move a single style, drag it to a new location. A black line indicates where the style will be moved to; a highlighted group folder indicates
that the style will be added to that group.
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
322
Typography
Document installed fonts (video 2:29)
Michael Ninness (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
Learn how to use document installed fonts in your designs, in InDesign CS5 and later.
323
Formatting text
Format text
Copy type attributes (Eyedropper)
Use Quick Apply
To the top
Format text
Use the Control panel to change the appearance of text. When text is selected or when the insertion point is placed in text, the Control panel
displays either the character formatting controls or the paragraph formatting controls, or a combination of both, depending on your monitor
resolution. These same text formatting controls appear in the Character panel and Paragraph panel. You can also use the Character panel and
Paragraphs panel to change the appearance of text.
For a video tutorial on formatting characters, see www.adobe.com/go/lrvid4275_id. For a video tutorial on formatting paragraphs, see
www.adobe.com/go/lrvid4276_id.
Note the following methods of formatting text:
To format characters, you can use the Type tool
option, and then begin typing.
to select characters, or you can click to place the insertion point, select a formatting
To format paragraphs, you don’t need to select an entire paragraph—selecting any word or character, or placing the insertion point in a
paragraph will do. You can also select text in a range of paragraphs.
To set the formatting for all future text frames that you’ll create in the current document, make sure that the insertion point is not active and
that nothing is selected, and then specify text formatting options. To set default text formatting for all new documents, close all documents,
and then specify the text settings. See Set defaults.
Select a frame to apply formatting to all text inside it. The frame cannot be part of a thread.
Use paragraph styles and character styles to format text quickly and consistently.
For a video tutorial on working with text, see www.adobe.com/go/vid0075.
1. Select the Type tool
.
2. Click to place an insertion point, or select the text that you want to format.
or the Paragraph Formatting Control icon
3. In the Control panel, click the Character Formatting Control icon
.
Control panel
A. Character formatting controls B. Paragraph formatting controls
4. Specify formatting options.
To the top
Copy type attributes (Eyedropper)
You can use the Eyedropper tool to copy type attributes such as character, paragraph, fill, and stroke settings, and then apply those attributes to
other type. By default, the Eyedropper tool copies all type attributes. To customize the attributes you want to copy with the Eyedropper tool, use
the Eyedropper Options dialog box.
Copy type attributes to unselected text
1. With the Eyedropper tool
, click the text that is formatted with the attributes you want to copy. (The text can be in another open
document.) The eyedropper pointer reverses direction, and appears full
, to indicate that it’s loaded with the attributes you copied. When
you position the eyedropper pointer over text, an I-beam appears next to the loaded eyedropper
.
2. With the Eyedropper tool, select the text you want to change.
The selected text takes on the attributes loaded in the eyedropper. As long as the Eyedropper tool is selected, you can continue to select
text to apply formatting.
3. To deselect the Eyedropper tool, click another tool.
To clear the formatting attributes currently held by the eyedropper tool, press Alt (Windows) or Option (Mac OS) while the Eyedropper tool is
324
loaded. The Eyedropper tool reverses direction and appears empty , to indicate that it’s ready to pick up new attributes. Click an object
containing the attributes you want to copy, and then drop the new attributes on another object.
The eyedropper is clicked on formatted text to copy its formatting (left), and then dragged across unformatted text (middle) to apply that formatting
(right).
If you use the Eyedropper tool to copy a paragraph style from text in one document to text in another, and the paragraph style has the same name
but different sets of attributes, any style differences will appear as local overrides to the destination style.
Copy type attributes to selected text
1. With the Type tool
or Path Type tool
, select the text to which you want to copy attributes.
2. Using the Eyedropper tool
, click the text from which you want to copy attributes. (The text from which you want to copy attributes must be
in the same InDesign document as the text you want to change.) The Eyedropper tool reverses direction and appears full
, to indicate that
it’s loaded with the attributes you copied. The attributes are applied to the text you selected in step 1.
Type attributes copied to selected text
Change which text attributes the Eyedropper tool copies
1. In the toolbox, double-click the Eyedropper tool.
2. Choose Character Settings or Paragraph Settings in the Eyedropper Options dialog box.
3. Select the attributes you want to copy with the Eyedropper tool, and then click OK.
To copy or apply paragraph attributes only without having to change settings in the Eyedropper Options dialog box, hold down Shift as you click
text with the Eyedropper tool.
To the top
Use Quick Apply
Use Quick Apply to find and apply styles, menu commands, scripts, variables, and most other commands that can be found in the Keyboard
Shortcuts dialog box.
1. Select the text or frame to which you want to apply the style, menu command, script, or variable.
2. Choose Edit > Quick Apply, or press Ctrl+Enter (Windows) or Command+Return (Mac OS).
3. Start typing the name of the item you want to apply.
The name you type doesn’t need to be an exact match. For example, typing he will locate styles such as Head 1, Head 2, and Subhead, as
well as Help menu commands such as Help Menu > InDesign Help.
325
Use Quick Apply to find styles, menu commands, scripts, and variables.
You can narrow the search to only a single category by typing the appropriate prefix at the beginning of the search, such as m: for menu
or p: for paragraph styles. To view a list of prefixes, click the down arrow to the left of the Quick Apply text box. You can deselect
categories in this list that you don’t want to appear.
4. Select the item you want to apply, and then:
To apply a style, menu command, or variable, press Enter or Return.
To apply a paragraph style and remove overrides, press Alt+Enter (Windows) or Option+Return (Mac OS).
To apply a paragraph style and remove overrides and character styles, press Alt+Shift+Enter (Windows) or Option+Shift+Return
(Mac OS).
To apply an item without closing the Quick Apply list, press Shift+Enter (Windows) or Shift+Return (Mac OS).
To close the Quick Apply list without applying an item, press Esc or click anywhere else in the document window.
To edit a style, press Ctrl+Enter (Windows) or Command+Return (Mac OS).
When the Quick Apply list is displayed, press the left and right arrow keys to scroll through the edit field; press the up and down arrow keys to
scroll through the list of items.
More Help topics
Working with Text video
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
326
Formatting characters
Apply baseline shift
Make characters superscript or subscript in a non-OpenType font
Apply underline or strikethrough
Apply ligatures to letter pairs
Change the color, gradient, or stroke of text
Add transparency effects to text
Assign a language to text
Change the case of type
Scale type
Skew type
For a video tutorial on formatting characters, see www.adobe.com/go/lrvid4275_id.
To the top
Apply baseline shift
Use Baseline Shift to move a selected character up or down relative to the baseline of the surrounding text. This option is especially useful when
you’re hand-setting fractions or adjusting the position of inline graphics.
Baseline shift values applied to text
1. Select text.
2. In the Character panel or Control panel, type a numeric value for Baseline Shift
baseline of the rest of the line; negative values move it below the baseline.
. Positive values move the character’s baseline above the
To increase or decrease the value, click in the Baseline Shift box, and then press the Up or Down Arrow key. Hold down Shift while you press
the Up or Down Arrow key to change the value in greater increments.
To change the default increment for baseline shift, specify a value for Baseline Shift in the Units & Increments section of the Preferences dialog
box.
Make characters superscript or subscript in a non-OpenType font
To the top
1. Select text.
2. Choose Superscript or Subscript in the Character panel menu or in the Control panel.
When you choose Superscript or Subscript, a predefined baseline shift value and type size are applied to the selected text.
The values applied are percentages of the current font size and leading, and are based on settings in the Type Preferences dialog box. These
values do not appear in the Baseline Shift or Size boxes of the Character panel when you select the text.
Note: You can change the default size and position of superscripts and subscripts using Advanced Type preferences.
To the top
Apply underline or strikethrough
The default weight of an underline and strikethrough depends on the size of the type.
Jeff Witchel provides a video tutorial about underlining at Custom Underlines in InDesign.
Apply underline or strikethrough
1. Select text.
2. Choose Underline or Strikethrough in the Character panel menu or the Control panel.
Change underline or strikethrough options
Creating custom underlining is especially useful when you want to create an even underline below characters of different sizes, or for creating
special effects, such as background highlighting.
327
Before and after adjusting underlines
1. From the Character panel menu or the Control panel menu, choose Underline Options or Strikethrough Options.
2. Do any of the following, and then click OK:
Select Underline On or Strikethrough On to turn on underline or strikethrough for the current text.
For Weight, choose a weight or type a value to determine the thickness of the underline or strikethrough line.
For Type, select one of the underline or strikethrough options.
For Offset, determine the vertical position of the line. The offset is measured from the baseline. Negative values move the underline
above the baseline and the strikethrough below the baseline.
Select Overprint Stroke when you want to make sure that the stroke doesn’t knock out underlying inks on a printing press.
Choose a color and tint. If you specified any line type other than solid, choose a gap color or gap tint to change the appearance of the
area between dashes, dots, or lines.
Select Overprint Stroke or Overprint Gap if the underline or strikethrough will be printed over another color, and you want to avoid errors
that can occur with printing misregistration.
To change the underline or strikethrough options in a paragraph or character style, use the Underline Options or Strikethrough Options section
of the dialog box that appears when you create or edit the style.
To the top
Apply ligatures to letter pairs
InDesign can automatically insert ligatures, which are typographic replacement characters for certain letter pairs, such as “fi” and “fl,” when they
are available in a given font. The characters that InDesign uses when the Ligature option is selected appear and print as ligatures, but are fully
editable, and do not cause the spell checker to flag a word erroneously.
Individual characters (top) and ligature combinations (bottom)
With OpenType fonts, when you choose Ligatures from the Character panel menu or Control panel menu, InDesign produces any standard ligature
defined in the font, as determined by the font designer. However, some fonts include more ornate, optional ligatures, which can be produced when
you choose the Discretionary Ligatures command.
1. Select text.
2. Choose Ligatures from the Character panel menu or the Control panel menu.
To the top
Change the color, gradient, or stroke of text
You can apply colors, gradients, and strokes to characters and continue to edit the text. Use the Swatches panel and Stroke panel to apply colors,
gradients, and strokes to text, or change Character Color settings when creating or editing a style.
328
Swatches
A. Swatch affects fill or stroke B. Swatch affects container or text C. Tint percentage
1. Do one of the following:
To apply color changes to text inside a frame, use the Type tool
to select text.
To apply color changes to all text in a frame, use the Selection tool to select the frame. When applying color to the text rather than the
container, make sure that you select the Formatting Affects Text icon in the Tools panel or in the Swatches panel.
2. In the Tools panel or in the Swatches panel, select whether you want to apply the color change to the fill or stroke. If you select Stroke, the
color change affects only the outline of characters.
3. Do any of the following:
In the Swatches panel, click a color or gradient swatch.
In the Stroke panel, specify a weight or other stroke options. (See Stroke panel options.)
You can also apply a gradient to text by dragging across the selected text using either the Gradient Swatch tool
.
or the Gradient Feather tool
To create reverse type, you can change the text fill color to white or [Paper] and the frame’s fill color to a dark color. You can also create
reverse type by using a paragraph rule behind text; however, if the rule is black, you’ll need to change the type to white.
To the top
Add transparency effects to text
Use the Effects panel to add transparency effects, such as drop shadows, to text.
Mike Rankin provides examples about transparency effects at InDesign Eye Candy, Part I.
1. Use the Selection tool
to select the text frame.
2. Choose Object > Effects > [effect].
3. Choose Text from the Settings For menu.
You can choose Object if you want the effects you choose to apply to the text frame’s stroke and fill as well as the text inside it.
4. Specify the effect attributes and click OK.
If you want to change the text’s blending mode or opacity settings, make these changes on the Effects panel.
To the top
Assign a language to text
Assigning a language to text determines which spelling and hyphenation dictionary is used. Assigning a language does not change the actual text.
1. Do any of the following:
To apply the language only to selected text, select the text.
To change the default dictionary used in InDesign, choose the language with no documents open.
To change the default dictionary for a specific document, open the document, choose Edit > Deselect All, and then choose the
language.
329
2. In the Character panel, choose the appropriate dictionary in the Language menu.
InDesign uses Proximity (and WinSoft for some languages) dictionaries for both spelling and hyphenation. These dictionaries let you specify a
different language for as little as a single character of text. Each dictionary contains hundreds of thousands of words with standard syllable breaks.
Changing the default language does not affect existing text frames or documents.
You can customize language dictionaries to ensure that any unique vocabulary you use is recognized and treated correctly.
How dictionaries affect hyphenation
A. “Glockenspiel” in English B. “Glockenspiel” in Traditional German C. “Glockenspiel” in Reformed German
To the top
Change the case of type
The All Caps or Small Caps commands change the appearance of text, but not the text itself. Conversely, the Change Case command changes
the case setting of selected text. This distinction is important when searching or spell-checking text. For example, suppose you type “spiders” in
your document and apply All Caps to the word. Using Find/Change (with Case Sensitive selected) to search for “SPIDERS” will not find the
instance of “spiders” to which All Caps was applied. To improve search and spell-check results, use the Change Case command rather than All
Caps.
Anne-Marie Concepcion provides an article about small caps at Small Caps vs OpenType All Small Caps.
Change text to All Caps or Small Caps
InDesign can automatically change the case of selected text. When you format text as small caps, InDesign automatically uses the small-cap
characters designed as part of the font, if available. Otherwise, InDesign synthesizes the small caps using scaled-down versions of the regular
capital letters. The size of synthesized small caps is set in the Type Preferences dialog box.
Before (top) and after (bottom) setting BC and AD in small caps to complement old-style numerals and surrounding text
If you select All Caps or Small Caps in an OpenType font, InDesign creates more elegant type. If you’re using an OpenType font, you can also
choose All Small Caps from the Character panel menu or the Control panel. (See Apply OpenType font attributes.)
1. Select text.
2. Choose All Caps or Small Caps in the Character panel menu or in the Control panel. If the text was originally typed in all caps, selecting
Small Caps will not change the text.
Specify the size for small caps
1. Choose Edit > Preferences > Advanced Type (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > Advanced Type (Mac OS).
2. For Small Caps, type a percentage of the original font size for text to be formatted as small caps. Then click OK.
Change capitalization
1. Select text.
2. Choose one of the following in the Type > Change Case submenu:
To change all characters to lowercase, choose Lowercase.
To capitalize the first letter of each word, choose Title Case.
To change all characters to uppercase, choose Uppercase.
330
To capitalize the first letter of each sentence, choose Sentence Case.
Note: The Sentence Case command assumes that the period (.), exclamation point (!), and question mark (?) characters mark the ends of
sentences. Applying Sentence Case may cause unexpected case changes when these characters are used in other ways, as in abbreviations, file
names, or Internet URLs. In addition, proper names may become lowercase when they should be uppercase.
To the top
Scale type
You can specify the proportion between the height and width of the type, relative to the original width and height of the characters. Unscaled
characters have a value of 100%. Some type families include a true expanded font, which is designed with a larger horizontal spread than the plain
type style. Scaling distorts the type, so it is generally preferable to use a font that is designed as condensed or expanded, if one is available.
Scaling fonts horizontally
A. Unscaled type B. Unscaled type in condensed font C. Scaled type in condensed font
Adjust vertical or horizontal scaling
1. Select text you want to scale.
2. In the Character panel or Control panel, type a numeric value to change the percentage of Vertical Scaling
or Horizontal Scaling
.
Scale text by resizing the text frame in InDesign
Do any of the following:
Using the Selection tool, hold down Ctrl (Windows) or Command (Mac OS), and then drag a corner of the text frame to resize it.
Using the Scale tool
, resize the frame.
(See Scale objects.)
Determine the appearance of scaled text values
When you change the scale of a frame, the text inside the frame is also scaled. For example, when you double the size of a text frame, the text
also doubles in size; 20-point text increases to 40 points.
David Blatner provides an article about scaled text frames at Making a Magnifying Glass Text Frame in InDesign.
You can change a preferences option to indicate how scaled text appears in panels:
By default, with Apply To Content selected, the Font Size boxes in the Control panel and Character panel list the new size of text (such as
40 pt). If you select the Adjust Scaling Percentage option, the Font Size boxes display both the original and the scaled size of the text, such
as “20 pt (40).”
The scaling values in the Transform panel tell you the horizontal and vertical percentage by which the frame was scaled. By default, with
Apply To Content selected, scaling values display at 100% after a text is scaled. If you select the Adjust Scaling Percentage option, the
scaling values reflect the scaled frame, so doubling the scale of a frame displays as 200%.
Tracking scale changes to frames is useful if you have to revert a frame and the text inside it to their original size. It’s useful as well for finding out
by how much you changed the size of a frame. To track scale changes to frames and the text inside these frames:
1. Choose Edit > Preferences > General (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > General (Mac OS).
331
2. Select Adjust Scaling Percentage, and then click OK.
Note the following:
The Adjust Scaling Percentage preference applies to frames that you scale after the preference is turned on, not to existing frames.
The Adjust Scaling Percentage preference stays with the text. The scaled point size continues to appear in parentheses even if you turn off
the Adjust Scaling Percentage preference and scale the frame again.
To remove the scaled point size from the Transform panel, choose Redefine Scaling as 100% in the Transform panel. Choosing this option
doesn’t change the appearance of the scaled frame.
If you edit the text or scale a frame within threaded frames when the Adjust Scaling Percentage preference is selected, the text is scaled,
even if it moves to a different frame. However, if Apply To Content is selected, any text that flows to a different frame as a result of editing is
no longer scaled.
To the top
Skew type
1. Select text.
2. In the Character panel, type a numeric value for Skewing
. Positive values slant type to the right; negative values slant type to the left.
Note that applying an angle to type does not produce true italic characters.
More Help topics
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
332
Formatting paragraphs
Adjust paragraph spacing
Use drop caps
Add rules (lines) above or below paragraphs
Ways to control paragraph breaks
Control paragraph breaks using Keep Options
Create hanging punctuation
For a video tutorial on formatting paragraphs, see www.adobe.com/go/lrvid4276_id.
To the top
Adjust paragraph spacing
You can control the amount of space between paragraphs. If a paragraph begins at the top of a column or frame, InDesign does not honor the
Space Before value. In such a case, you can increase the leading of the first line of the paragraph or increase the top inset of the text frame in
InDesign.
1. Select text.
2. In the Paragraph panel or the Control panel, adjust the appropriate values for Space Before
and Space After
.
To ensure formatting consistency, change paragraph spacing in the paragraph styles you define.
To the top
Use drop caps
You can add drop caps to one or more paragraphs at a time. The drop cap’s baseline sits one or more lines below the baseline of the first line of a
paragraph.
You can also create a character style that can be applied to the drop-cap characters. For example, you can create a tall cap (also called a raised
cap) by specifying a 1-line, 1-character drop cap and applying a character style that increases the size of the first letter.
One-character, three-line drop cap (left), and five-character, two-line drop cap (right)
Create a drop cap
1. With the Type tool
selected, click in the paragraph where you want the drop cap to appear.
2. In the Paragraph panel or Control panel, type a number for Drop Cap Number Of Lines
cap to occupy.
3. For Drop Cap One Or More Characters
to indicate the number of lines you want the drop
, type the number of drop cap characters you want.
4. To apply a character style to the drop cap character, choose Drop Caps And Nested Styles from the Paragraph panel menu, and then
choose the character style you created.
You can also use the Drop Caps And Nested Styles dialog box to align the drop cap to the text edge, reducing the amount of space on
the left side of the drop cap, and adjust for drop cap letters with descenders, such as “g” and “y.” If you want to resize, skew, or change
the typeface of the drop cap letter for added effect, select the letter or letters and make the formatting changes.
Remove a drop cap
1. With the Type tool
selected, click in the paragraph where the drop cap appears.
2. In the Paragraph panel or Control panel, type 0 for Drop Cap Number Of Lines or Drop Cap Number Of Characters.
To the top
Add rules (lines) above or below paragraphs
333
Rules are paragraph attributes that move and are resized along with the paragraph on the page. If you’re using a rule with headings in your
document, you may want to make the rule part of a paragraph style definition. The width of the rule is determined by the column width.
The offset for a rule above a paragraph is measured from the baseline of the top line of text to the bottom of the rule. The offset for a rule below a
paragraph is measured from the baseline of the last line of text to the top of the rule.
Placement of rules
A. Rule above paragraph B. Rule below paragraph
Michael Murphy provides a video tutorial about creating special effects using paragraph rules at Paragraph Rules Rule.
Creative Curio provides an article about creative uses of paragraph rules at Creative Uses for Paragraph Rules in InDesign, Pt 1.
Add a rule above or below a paragraph
1. Select text.
2. Choose Paragraph Rules from the Paragraph panel menu or Control panel menu.
3. At the top of the Paragraph Rule dialog box, select Rule Above or Rule Below.
4. Select Rule On.
Note: If you want both a rule above and below, make sure that Rule On is selected for both Rule Above and Rule Below.
5. Select Preview to see what the rule will look like.
6. For Weight, choose a weight or type a value to determine the thickness of the rule. For Rule Above, increasing the weight expands the rule
upwards. For Rule Below, increasing the weight expands the rule downward.
7. Select Overprint Stroke when you want to make sure that the stroke doesn’t knock out underlying inks on a printing press.
8. Do one or both of the following:
Choose a color. The available colors are those listed in the Swatches panel. Select the Text Color option to make the rule the same
color as the first character in the paragraph for Rule Above and the last character for Rule Below.
Choose a tint or specify a tint value. The tint is based on the color you specified. Note that you can’t create tints of the built-in colors
None, Paper, Registration, or Text Color.
If you specified any line type other than solid, choose a gap color or gap tint to change the appearance of the area between dashes,
dots, or lines.
9. Choose the width of the rule. You can choose either Text (from the left edge of text to the line end) or Column (from the left edge of the
column to the right edge of the column). If the left edge of the frame has a column inset, the rule begins at the inset.
10. To determine the vertical position of the rule, type a value for Offset.
11. To make sure that the rule above text is drawn within the text frame, select Keep In Frame. If this option isn’t selected, the rule can appear
outside the text frame.
To make sure the paragraph rule at the top of one column aligns with the text at the top of the adjacent column, select Keep In Frame.
12. Set left or right indents for the rule (not for text) by typing values for Left Indent and Right Indent.
13. Select Overprint Stroke if the paragraph rule will be printed over another color and you want to avoid errors that can occur with printing
misregistration. Then click OK.
Remove a paragraph rule
1. Using the Type tool
, click in the paragraph containing the paragraph rule.
2. Choose Paragraph Rules from the Paragraph panel menu or Control panel menu.
3. Deselect Rule On and click OK.
334
To the top
Ways to control paragraph breaks
You can eliminate orphans and widows, words or single lines of text that become separated from the other lines in a paragraph. Orphans fall at the
bottom of a column or page, and widows fall at the top of a column or page. Another typographic problem to avoid is a heading that stands alone
on a page with the following paragraph on the next page. You have several options for fixing widows, orphans, short exit lines, and other
paragraph break problems:
Discretionary hyphens A discretionary hyphen (Type > Insert Special Character > Hyphens And Dashes > Discretionary Hyphen) appears only if
the word breaks. This option prevents the common typographic problem of hyphenated words, such as “care-giver,” appearing in the middle of a
line after text reflows. Similarly, you can also add a discretionary line break character.
No Break Choose No Break from the Character panel menu to prevent selected text from breaking across a line.
Nonbreaking spaces Insert a nonbreaking space (Type > Insert White Space > [nonbreaking space]) between words you want to keep together.
Keep Options Choose Keep Options from the Paragraph panel menu to specify how many lines in the following paragraph remain with the current
paragraph.
Start Paragraph Use Start Paragraph in the Keep Options dialog box to force a paragraph (usually a title or heading) to appear at the top of a
page, column, or section. This option works especially well as part of a heading paragraph style.
Hyphenation Settings Choose Hyphenation from the Paragraph panel menu to change hyphenation settings.
Edit text Editing text may not be an option depending on the kind of document you work with. If you have license to rewrite, then subtle rewording
can often create a better line break.
Use a different composer In general, use Adobe Paragraph Composer to let InDesign compose paragraphs automatically. If a paragraph isn’t
composed the way you’d like, choose Adobe Single-line Composer from the Paragraph panel menu or Control panel menu and adjust selected
lines individually. See Compose text.
To the top
Control paragraph breaks using Keep Options
You can specify how many lines of the following paragraph remain with the current paragraph as it moves between frames—a convenient way to
ensure that headings don’t become isolated from the body text they introduce. InDesign can highlight the paragraphs that sometimes break in
violation of your settings.
You may not want to use Keep Options if your document does not require your columns to share the same last baseline.
To highlight paragraphs that violate Keep Options, choose Edit > Preferences > Composition (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences >
Composition (Mac OS), select Keep Violations, and click OK.
1. Select the paragraph or paragraphs you want to affect.
2. Choose Keep Options in the Paragraph panel menu or Control panel menu. (You can also change keep options when creating or editing a
paragraph style.)
3. Select any of these options and then click OK:
Select Keep With Previous to keep the first line of the current paragraph with the last line of the previous paragraph.
For Keep With Next _ Lines, specify the number of lines (up to five) of the subsequent paragraph that the last line of the current
paragraph stays with. This option is especially useful for making sure that a heading stays with the next few lines of the paragraph that
follows it.
Select the Keep Lines Together option and select All Lines In Paragraph to prevent the paragraph from breaking.
Select the Keep Lines Together option, select At Start/End Of Paragraph, and specify the number of lines that must appear at the
beginning or ending of the paragraph to prevent orphans and widows.
For Start Paragraph, choose an option to force InDesign to push the paragraph to the next column, frame, or page. If Anywhere is
selected, the start position is determined by the Keep Line Settings option. For other options, they will be forced to start from these
positions.
When you create paragraph styles for headings, use the Keep Options panel to make sure that your headings remain with the paragraph that
follows them.
To the top
Create hanging punctuation
Punctuation marks and letters such as “W” can make the left or right edges of a column appear to be misaligned. Optical Margin Alignment
controls whether punctuation marks (such as periods, commas, quotation marks, and dashes) and edges of letters (such as W and A) hang
outside the text margins, so that the type looks aligned.
335
Before (left) and after (right) applying Optical Margin Alignment
1. Select a text frame, or click anywhere in the story.
2. Choose Type > Story.
3. Select Optical Margin Alignment.
4. Select a font size to set the appropriate amount of overhang for the size of type in your story. For optimal results, use the same size as the
text.
To turn off Optical Margin Alignment for an individual paragraph, choose Ignore Optical Margin from the Paragraph panel menu or Control
panel menu.
More Help topics
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
336
Kerning and tracking
About kerning and tracking
Apply kerning to text
Adjust kerning between words
To the top
About kerning and tracking
Kerning is the process of adding or subtracting space between specific pairs of characters. Tracking is the process of loosening or tightening a
block of text.
Types of kerning
You can automatically kern type using metrics kerning or optical kerning. Metrics kerning uses kern pairs, which are included with most fonts. Kern
pairs contain information about the spacing of specific pairs of letters. Some of these are: LA, P., To, Tr, Ta, Tu, Te, Ty, Wa, WA, We, Wo, Ya,
and Yo.
InDesign uses metrics kerning by default so that specific pairs are automatically kerned when you import or type text. To disable metrics kerning,
select "0".
Optical kerning adjusts the spacing between adjacent characters based on their shapes. Some fonts include robust kern-pair specifications.
However, when a font includes only minimal built-in kerning or none at all, or if you use two different typefaces or sizes in one or more words on a
line, you may want to use the optical kerning option.
Before applying the optical kerning option to the “W” and “a” pair (top), and after (bottom)
You can also use manual kerning, which is ideal for adjusting the space between two letters. Tracking and manual kerning are cumulative, so you
can first adjust individual pairs of letters, and then tighten or loosen a block of text without affecting the relative kerning of the letter pairs.
Word kerning isn’t the same as the Word Spacing option in the Justification dialog box; word kerning changes the kerning value only between a
specific word’s first character and the word space preceding that character.
Kerning and tracking
A. Original B. Kerning applied between “W” and “a” C. Tracking applied
How kerning and tracking are measured
You can apply kerning, tracking, or both to selected text. Tracking and kerning are both measured in 1/1000 em, a unit of measure that is relative
to the current type size. In a 6-point font, 1 em equals 6 points; in a 10-point font, 1 em equals 10 points. Kerning and tracking are strictly
proportional to the current type size.
Tracking and manual kerning are cumulative, so you can first adjust individual pairs of letters, and then tighten or loosen a block of text without
337
affecting the relative kerning of the letter pairs.
When you click to place the insertion point between two letters, InDesign displays kerning values in the Character panel and the Control panel.
Metrics and optical kerning values (or defined kern pairs) appear in parentheses. Similarly, if you select a word or a range of text, InDesign
displays the tracking values in the Character panel and Control panel.
To the top
Apply kerning to text
You apply either of two types of automatic kerning: metrics kerning or optical kerning, or you can adjust the spacing between letters manually.
Use metrics kerning
1. Set the text insertion point between the characters you want to pair kern, or select text.
2. In the Character panel or Control panel, select Metrics in the Kerning
menu.
To avoid using the built-in kerning information of a font for selected text, choose “0” in the Kerning
menu.
Use optical kerning
1. Set the text insertion point between characters you want to pair kern or select the text you want to kern.
2. In the Character panel or Control panel, select Optical in the Kerning
menu.
Adjust kerning manually
1. Using the Type tool , click to place an insertion point between two characters.
Note: If a range of text is selected, you can’t manually kern the text (you can choose only Metrics, Optical, or 0). Instead, use tracking.
2. Do any of the following:
In the Character panel or the Control panel, type or select a numeric value in the Kerning menu.
Press Alt+Left/Right Arrow (Windows) or Option+Left/Right Arrow (Mac OS) to decrease or increase the kerning between two characters.
The amount of the word kerning adjustment is the same as the Kerning value in the Units & Increments Preferences dialog box. When you press
the shortcut and hold down the Ctrl or Command key, the kerning amount is the Kerning preferences value multiplied by 5.
Change the default kerning increment value
In the Units & Increments section of the Preferences dialog box, type a new value for the Kerning option and click OK.
Turn off kerning for selected text
1. Select text.
2. In the Character panel or Control panel, type or choose 0 in the Kerning menu.
You can also press Alt+Ctrl+Q (Windows) or Option+Command+Q (Mac OS) to reset kerning and tracking. When you do so, kerning is set to
Metrics regardless of which kerning option was previously applied.
Adjust tracking
1. Select a range of characters.
2. In the Character panel or Control panel, type or select a numeric value for Tracking
.
Highlight text containing custom kerning and tracking
In some instances, you’ll want to be aware of text that has custom tracking and kerning applied. If you select the Custom Tracking/Kerning
preferences option, green highlighting appears over text with custom tracking or kerning.
1. Choose Edit > Preferences > Composition (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > Composition (Mac OS).
2. Select Custom Tracking/Kerning, and then click OK.
To the top
Adjust kerning between words
With the Type tool
, select a range of text and do one of the following:
To add space between selected words, press Alt+Ctrl+\ (Windows) or Option+Command+\ (Mac OS).
To remove space between selected words, press Alt+Ctrl+Backspace (Windows) or Option+Command+Delete (Mac OS).
To multiply the kerning adjustment by 5, hold down Shift as you press the keyboard shortcut.
More Help topics
338
Leading
About leading
Change leading
To the top
About leading
The vertical space between lines of type is called leading. Leading is measured from the baseline of one line of text to the baseline of the line
above it. Baseline is the invisible line on which most letters—that is, those without descenders—sit.
The default auto-leading option sets the leading at 120% of the type size (for example, 12-point leading for 10-point type). When auto-leading is in
use, InDesign displays the leading value in parentheses in the Leading menu of the Character panel.
Leading
A. Leading B. Text height C. Larger text size of one word increases leading for that one line.
To the top
Change leading
By default, leading is a character attribute, which means that you can apply more than one leading value within the same paragraph. The largest
leading value in a line of type determines the leading for that line. However, you can select a preferences option so that leading applies to the
entire paragraph, instead of to text within a paragraph. This setting does not affect the leading in existing frames.
Change leading of selected text
1. Select the text you want to change.
2. Do any of the following:
In the Character panel or Control panel, choose the leading you want from the Leading menu
.
Select the existing leading value and type a new value.
While creating a paragraph style, change the leading using the Basic Character Formats panel.
If InDesign ignores the leading change, it may be due to Vertical Justification or Align To Baseline Grid being selected. Choose Object > Text
Frame Options and make sure Vertical Justification is set to Top, and make sure Do Not Align To Baseline Grid is selected in the Paragraph
panel, Control panel, or paragraph style.
You can also adjust vertical space by aligning text to the baseline grid. When baseline grid is set, the baseline grid setting takes precedence
over the leading value.
Change the default leading percentage
1. Select the paragraphs that you want to change.
2. Choose Justification from the Paragraph panel menu or from the Control panel menu.
3. For Auto Leading, specify a new default percentage. The minimum value is 0%, and the maximum value is 500%.
Apply leading to whole paragraphs
1. Choose Edit > Preferences > Type (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > Type (Mac OS).
2. Select Apply Leading To Entire Paragraph, and then click OK.
Note: When you use a character style to apply leading to text, the leading affects only the text to which the style is applied, not the entire
339
paragraph, regardless of whether the Apply Leading To Entire Paragraph option is selected.
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
340
Using fonts
About fonts
Installing fonts
Apply a font to text
Specify a typeface size
Previewing fonts
OpenType fonts
Installing OpenType fonts
Apply OpenType font attributes
Work with missing fonts
Document installed fonts
Multiple master fonts
To the top
About fonts
A font is a complete set of characters—letters, numbers, and symbols—that share a common weight, width, and style, such as 10 -pt Adobe
Garamond Bold.
Typefaces (often called type families or font families) are collections of fonts that share an overall appearance, and are designed to be used
together, such as Adobe Garamond.
A type style is a variant version of an individual font in a font family. Typically, the Roman or Plain (the actual name varies from family to family)
member of a font family is the base font, which may include type styles such as regular, bold, semibold, italic, and bold italic.
To the top
Installing fonts
When you install InDesign or Adobe Creative Suite, fonts are automatically installed in the system fonts folder.
Windows: On Windows the fonts are located in the “\Windows\Fonts” folder. For example, c:\Windows\Fonts\
Mac OS: On Mac, the fonts are located in the “/Library/Fonts”
For information on installing and activating fonts to be used in all applications, see your system documentation or your font manager
documentation.
You can make fonts available in InDesign by copying the font files into the Fonts folder inside the InDesign application folder on your hard drive.
However, fonts in this Fonts folder are available only to InDesign.
If two or more fonts are active in InDesign and use the same family name but have different Adobe PostScript names, the fonts are available in
InDesign. Duplicate fonts are listed in the menus with their font technologies abbreviated in parentheses. For example, a Helvetica TrueType font
appears as “Helvetica (TT),” a Helvetica PostScript Type 1 font appears as “Helvetica (T1),” and a Helvetica OpenType font appears as
“Helvetica (OTF).” If two fonts have the same PostScript name and one includes .dfont in its name, the other font is used.
Adobe recommends
Have a tutorial you would like to share?
Font Installation Instructions
Adobe Fonts
Learn how to install fonts on your computer.
Instructions available for most versions of
Windows and Mac OS.
To the top
Apply a font to text
When you specify a font, you can select the font family and its type style independently. When you change from one font family to another,
InDesign attempts to match the current style with the style available in the new font family. For example, Arial Bold would change to Times Bold
when you change from Arial to Times.
When you apply a bold or italic style to type, InDesign applies the typeface style specified by the font. In most cases, the specific version of bold or
341
italic is applied as expected. However, some fonts may apply a bold or italic variation that isn’t exactly labeled bold or italic, respectively. For
example, some font designers specify that when you apply bold to a font, the semibold variation is applied.
1. Select the text you want to change.
2. Do any of the following:
In the Character panel or Control panel, select a font in the Font Family menu or a style in the Type Style menu. (In Mac OS, you can
select type styles in the Font Family submenus.)
In the Character panel or Control panel, click in front of the font family name or type style name (or double-click its first word) and type
in the first few characters of the name you want. As you type, InDesign displays font family or type style names that match the
characters you’ve typed.
Choose a font in the Type > Font menu. Note that you choose both a font family and a type style when you use this menu.
To the top
Specify a typeface size
By default, typeface size is measured in points (a point equals 1/72 of an inch). You can specify any typeface size from 0.1 to 1296 points, in
0.001-point increments.
Note: In Fireworks, the typeface size is measured in pixels by default.
1. Select the characters or type objects you want to change. If you don’t select any text, the typeface size applies to new text you create.
2. Do one of the following:
In the Character panel or Control bar set the Font Size option.
Choose a size from the Type > Size menu. Choosing Other lets you type a new size in the Character panel.
You can change the unit of measurement for type in the Preferences dialog box. This option is not available in Fireworks.
To the top
Previewing fonts
You can view samples of a font in the font family and font style menus in the Character panel and other areas in the application from where you
can choose fonts. The following icons are used to indicate different kinds of fonts:
OpenType
Type 1
TrueType
Multiple Master
Composite
You can turn off the preview feature or change the point size of the font names or font samples in Type preferences.
To the top
OpenType fonts
OpenType fonts use a single font file for both Windows® and Macintosh® computers, so you can move files from one platform to another without
worrying about font substitution and other problems that cause text to reflow. They may include a number of features, such as swashes and
discretionary ligatures, that aren’t available in current PostScript and TrueType fonts.
OpenType fonts display the icon.
When working with an OpenType font, you can automatically substitute alternate glyphs, such as ligatures, small capitals, fractions, and old style
proportional figures, in your text.
Regular (left) and OpenType (right) fonts
A. Ordinals B. Discretionary ligatures C. Swashes
342
OpenType fonts may include an expanded character set and layout features to provide richer linguistic support and advanced typographic control.
OpenType fonts from Adobe that include support for central European (CE) languages include the word “Pro,” as part of the font name in
application font menus. OpenType fonts that don’t contain central European language support are labeled “Standard,” and have an “Std” suffix. All
OpenType fonts can also be installed and used alongside PostScript Type 1 and TrueType fonts.
For more information on OpenType fonts, see www.adobe.com/go/opentype.
To the top
Installing OpenType fonts
InDesign includes fonts from various OpenType families, including Adobe Garamond Pro, Adobe Caslon Pro, Trajan Pro, Caflisch Script Pro,
Myriad Pro, Lithos, and Adobe Jenson Pro.
OpenType fonts are installed automatically when you install InDesign or Adobe Creative Suite 4. Additional OpenType fonts are located in the
Adobe Fonts folder in the Goodies folder on the application DVD. For information on installing and using OpenType fonts, browse the application
DVD or see the Adobe website.
To the top
Apply OpenType font attributes
Use the Character panel or Control panel to apply OpenType font attributes, such as fractions and swashes to text.
For more information on OpenType fonts, see www.adobe.com/go/opentype.
Apply OpenType font attributes
1. Select text.
2. In the Character panel or Control panel, make sure that an OpenType font is selected.
3. Choose OpenType from the Character panel menu, and then select an OpenType attribute, such as Discretionary Ligatures or Fractions.
Features not supported in the current font appear in square brackets, such as [Swash].
You can also select OpenType font attributes when defining a paragraph or character style. Use the OpenType Features section of the Style
Options dialog box.
OpenType font attributes
When you use an OpenType font, you can select specific OpenType features from the Control panel or Character panel menu when formatting
text or when defining styles.
Note: OpenType fonts vary greatly in the number of type styles and kinds of features they offer. If an OpenType feature is unavailable, it’s
surrounded in square brackets (such as [Swash]) in the Control panel menu.
Discretionary Ligatures Font designers may include optional ligatures that shouldn’t be turned on in all circumstances. Selecting this option
allows these additional optional ligatures to be used, if they are present. For more information on ligatures, see Apply ligatures to letter pairs.
Fractions Numbers separated by a slash (such as 1/2) are converted to a fraction character, when fractions are available.
Ordinal Ordinal numbers such as 1st and 2nd are formatted with superscript letters (1 st and 2nd ) when ordinals are available. Letters such as the
superscript a and o in the Spanish words segunda (2 a ) and segundo (2 o ) are also typeset properly.
Swash When available, regular and contextual swashes, which may include alternate caps and end-of-word alternatives, are provided.
Titling Alternatives When available, characters used for uppercase titles are activated. In some fonts, selecting this option for text formatted in
both uppercase and lowercase letters can yield undesired effects.
Contextual Alternatives When available, contextual ligatures and connecting alternates are activated. Alternate characters are included in some
script typefaces to provide better joining behavior. For example, the letter pair “bl” in the word “bloom” can be joined so that it looks more like
handwriting. This option is selected by default.
All Small Caps For fonts that include real small caps, selecting this option turns characters into small caps. For more information, see Change the
case of type.
Slashed Zero Selecting this options displays the number 0 with a diagonal slash through it. In some fonts (especially condensed fonts), it can be
difficult to distinguish between the number 0 and the capital letter O.
Stylistic Sets Some OpenType fonts include alternate glyph sets designed for esthetic effect. A stylistic set is a group of glyph alternates that can
be applied one character at a time or to a range of text. If you select a different stylistic set, the glyphs defined in the set are used instead of the
font’s default glyphs. If a glyph character in a stylistic set is used in conjunction with another OpenType setting, the glyph from the individual
setting overrides the character set glyph. You can see the glyphs for each set using the Glyphs panel.
Positional Forms In some cursive scripts and in languages such as Arabic, what a character looks like can depend on its position inside a word.
The character may change form when it appears at the start (initial position), middle (medial position), or end (final position) of a word, and it may
change form as well when it appears alone (isolated position). Select a character and choose a Positional Forms option to format it correctly. The
General Form option inserts the common character; the Automatic Form option inserts a form of the character according to where the character is
located in the word and whether the character appears in isolation.
Superscript/Superior & Subscript/Inferior Some OpenType fonts include raised or lowered glyphs that are sized correctly relative to the
surrounding characters. If an OpenType font doesn’t include these glyphs for non-standard fractions, consider using the Numerator and
Denominator attributes.
343
Numerator & Denominator Some OpenType fonts convert only basic fractions (such as 1/2 or 1/4) to fraction glyphs, not non-standard fractions
(such as 4/13 or 99/100). Apply Numerator and Denominator attributes to these non-standard fractions in such cases.
Tabular Lining Same widths are provided for full-height figures. This option is appropriate in situations where numbers need to line up from one
line to the next, as in tables.
Proportional Oldstyle Varying-height figures with varying widths are provided. This option is recommended for a classic, sophisticated look in text
that doesn’t use all caps.
Proportional Lining Full-height figures with varying widths are provided. This option is recommended for text that uses all caps.
Tabular Oldstyle Varying-height figures with fixed, equal widths are provided. This option is recommended when you want the classic
appearance of old-style figures, but you need them to align in columns, as in an annual report.
Default Figure Style Figure glyphs use the default figure style of the current font.
To the top
Work with missing fonts
When you open or place documents that include fonts not installed on your system, an alert message appears, indicating which fonts are missing.
If you select text that uses a missing font, the Character panel or Control panel indicates that this font is missing by displaying it in brackets in the
font style pop-up menu.
InDesign substitutes missing fonts with an available font. When this happens, you can select the text and apply any other available font. Missing
fonts for which others have been substituted will appear at the top of the Type > Font menu in a section marked “Missing Fonts.” By default, text
formatted with missing fonts appears in pink highlighting.
If a TrueType font is installed and the document contains a Type 1 (T1) version of the same font, the font is displayed as missing.
You can choose Type > Find Font to find and change missing fonts. If a missing font is part of a style, you can update the font in that style by
changing its style definition.
Make missing fonts available
Do any of the following:
Install the missing fonts on your system.
Place the missing fonts in the Fonts folder, which is located in the InDesign application folder. Fonts in this folder are available only to
InDesign. See Installing fonts.
Activate the missing fonts using a font-management application.
If you don’t have access to the missing fonts, use the Find Font command to search for and replace missing fonts.
Highlight substituted fonts in your document
If the Select Substituted Fonts preferences option is selected, text formatted with missing fonts appears in pink highlighting so that you can easily
identify text formatted with a missing font.
1. Choose Edit > Preferences > Composition (Windows®) or InDesign > Preferences > Composition (Mac OS®).
2. Select Substituted Fonts, and then click OK.
To the top
Document installed fonts
Fonts in a Document Fonts folder that is in the same location as an InDesign document are temporarily installed when the document is opened.
The Package command can generate a Document Fonts folder when you want to share your document or move it to a different computer.
Fonts in the Document Fonts folder are not the same as fonts available from the standard operating system font locations. They are installed
when the document is opened and supersede any font of the same PostScript name. However, they supersede only fonts within the document.
Fonts installed by one document are not available to other documents. When you close the document, the fonts that were installed for the
document are uninstalled. Document installed fonts are listed in a submenu of the Font menu.
Some Type1 fonts are not available in the document. In addition, Mac OS fonts are not available when running InDesign in Windows.
For a video on using document installed fonts, see http://tv.adobe.com/go/4955/.
To the top
Multiple master fonts
Multiple master fonts are customizable Type 1 fonts whose typeface characteristics are described in terms of variable design axes, such as weight,
width, style, and optical size.
Some multiple master fonts include an optical size axis, which lets you use a font specifically designed for optimal readability at a particular size.
Generally, the optical size for a smaller font, such as 10 point, is designed with heavier serifs and stems, wider characters, less contrast between
thick and thin lines, taller x height, and looser spacing between letters than the optical size for a larger font, such as 72 point.
1. Choose Edit > Preferences > Type (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > Type (Mac OS).
344
2. Select Automatically Use Correct Optical Size, and click OK.
More Help topics
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
345
Arabic and Hebrew features | CC, CS6
Adobe World-Ready Composers
Text direction
Story direction
Automatic Kashida insertion
Ligatures
Diacritical marks
Copy-paste from Microsoft Word
Default fonts
Legacy font support
Digit Types
Hyphenation
Find and replace
Glyphs
Justification Alternates
Special Middle East characters insertion
Table direction
Binding directions
Right to Left writing preferences
Page and chapter numbering
Writing direction in Gallery view and Story Editor
Diacritical coloring
New and improved features for working in Arabic and Hebrew are available in the Middle East and North African edition of this software.
To the top
Adobe World-Ready Composers
Adobe World-Ready composers enable you to create content in middle-eastern languages. You can type in, and mix between, Arabic, Hebrew,
English, French, German, Russian, and other Latin languages.
You can choose between available composers from the Paragraph panel menu (Windows > Paragraph > panel menu). For example, in InDesign,
you can use the Adobe World-Ready Paragraph Composer. Or, in Illustrator, you can use the Middle Eastern Single-line Composer.
Adobe World-Ready Composers
346
You can also save your files with Arabic and Hebrew names.
To the top
Text direction
To create content in Arabic and Hebrew, enable right-to-left (RTL) text direction. While RTL is the default direction of text, many documents also
include left-to-right (LTR) text. You can seamlessly switch between the two directions.
Select the paragraph direction from the Paragraph panel.
Paragraph direction selection
If you have a mix of languages in the same paragraph, you can specify the direction of text at a character level. Also, to insert dates or numbers,
specify the direction of text at the character level.
From the Character panel menu, choose Character Direction and then select a direction.
Character direction
To the top
Story direction
When you're working with Arabic and Hebrew languages, the story generally flows from the right to the left. The first column must be on right side
of the frame, and subsequent columns are added to the left. If your layout contains mixed content, then different stories need a different direction.
From the Story panel (Window > Type & Tables > Story), click a story direction.
Story direction
To the top
Automatic Kashida insertion
In Arabic, text is justified by adding Kashidas. Kashidas are added to arabic characters to lengthen them. Whitespace is not modified. Use
automatic Kashida insertion to justify paragraphs of arabic text.
Select the paragraph and from the Paragraph panel (Window > Type & Tables > Paragraph), choose a setting from the Insert Kashida drop-down
list. The options available are: None, Short, Medium, Long, or Stylistic. Kashidas are only inserted if the paragraph is justified. This setting is not
applicable for paragraphs that have alignment settings.
To apply Kashidas to a group of characters, select the characters and choose Kashidas from the Character panel menu.
347
Automatic Kashidas
To the top
Ligatures
You can automatically apply ligatures to character pairs in Arabic and Hebrew. Ligatures are typographic replacement characters for certain letter
pairs if they are available in a given Open Type font.
When you choose Ligatures from the Character panel menu or Control panel menu, a standard ligature defined in the font is produced.
1. Select text.
2. Choose Ligatures from the Character panel menu or the Control panel menu.
However, some Open Type fonts include more ornate, optional ligatures, which can be produced when you choose Discretionary Ligatures. These
ligatures are found at Character panel > OpenType > Discretionary Ligatures.
Enable automatic ligatures
To the top
Diacritical marks
In the Arabic script, a diacritic or a diacritical mark is a glyph used to indicate consonant length or short vowels. A diacritical mark is placed above
or below the script. For better styling of text, or improved readability of certain fonts, you can control the vertical or horizontal position of diacritical
marks:
1. Select text that has diacritical marks
2. In the Character panel, modify the position of the diacritic marks relative to the script. Values you can change are, Adjust Horizontal Diacritic
Position, and the Adjust Vertical Diacritic Position.
348
Change the position of diacritical marks
To the top
Copy-paste from Microsoft Word
You can copy text from Microsoft Word, and paste it directly into a document. The pasted text's alignment and direction is automatically set to that
of the arabic or hebrew text.
To the top
Default fonts
When you install a Middle Eastern or North African version, the default typing font is set to the installation-specific language, by default. For
example, if you have installed the English/Arabic-enabled version, the default typing font is set to Adobe Arabic. Similarly, if you have installed the
English/Hebrew-enabled version, the default typing font is set to Adobe Hebrew (or Myriad Hebrew in Photoshop).
To the top
Legacy font support
Fonts that have been traditionally used (for example, AXT fonts) can continue to be used in this release of the software. However, it is
recommended that newer Open Type fonts be used for text-based elements.
Missing Glyph Protection (Edit > Preferences > Advanced Type) is enabled by default. Text is handled automatically, where glyphs are not
available in the font you are using.
To the top
Digit Types
When you are working in Arabic or Hebrew, you can select the type of digits you want to use. You can choose between Arabic, Hindi, and Farsi.
By default, in Arabic, the Hindi version is auto-selected, and in case of Hebrew, the Arabic type digits are selected. However, you can switch to
Arabic digits, if necessary:
1. Select the digits in the text typed.
2. In the Character panel (Ctrl + T), use the Digits list to select the font that the digits must appear in.
You can ensure that Arabic digits are used by enabling the Use Native Digits when typing in Arabic Scripts option. To use this option, choose Edit
> Preferences > Advanced Type.
349
Digit type selection
To the top
Hyphenation
Sentences that have more words that can fit into one line of text automatically wrap into the next line. The type of text justification when wrapping
occurs sometimes causes unnecessary spaces to appear in the line that are not aesthetically pleasing or linguistically correct. Hyphenation
enables you to split the word at the end of a line, using a hyphen. This fragmentation causes the sentence to wrap into the next line in a better
way.
Mixed text: The Kashida insertion feature affects how hyphenation occurs in mixed text. When enabled, Kashidas are inserted where applicable,
and non-Arabic text is not hyphenated. When the Kashida feature is disabled, only non-Arabic text is considered for hyphenation.
Hebrew text: Hyphenation is allowed. To enable hyphenation and customize settings, choose Paragraph panel > Panel menu > Hyphenation
Settings.
Hyphenation options
To the top
Find and replace
Arabic and Hebrew users can perform full text search and replace. In addition to searching and replacing simple text, you can also search and
replace text with specific characteristics. These characteristics can include diacritical marks, Kashidas, special characters (for example, Alef), digits
in different languages (for example, digits in Hindi), and more.
To perform text find-and-replace:
InDesign: Edit > Find/Change
In InDesign, you can use the Transliterate tab (Edit > Find/Change) to find and replace digits between Arabic, Hindi, and Farsi. For example, you
can find digits typed in Hindi and convert them to Arabic.
To the top
Glyphs
350
Arabic and Hebrew users can apply glyphs from the default character set. However, to browse, select, and apply a glyph from the default
character set or a different language set, use the Glyphs panel:
InDesign: Window > Type & Tables > Glyphs
Illustrator: Window > Type > Glyphs
Browse, select, and apply glyphs
To the top
Justification Alternates
A font can have alternative shapes of certain letters of the alphabet. These variations of the font face for some letters are generally available for
stylistic or calligraphy purposes. In rare cases, justification alternates are used to justify and align paragraphs for specific needs.
Justification alternates can be turned on at a paragraph level, where alternates are used wherever possible. You can also turn on or off this feature
at a character level. Justification alternates are available only in those fonts that have this feature integrated. Therefore, the option to turn them on
or off is available only for supported fonts.
Arabic fonts that contain justification alternates: Adobe Arabic, Myriad Arabic, and Adobe Naskh. Hebrew fonts that contain justification alternates:
Adobe Hebrew and Myriad Hebrew.
InDesign
Paragraph-level: Window > Paragraph panel > panel menu > Justification, and then choose an option from the Justification list.
Character-level: Window > Character panel > panel menu > Justification Alternate option.
Photoshop
Character-level: Window > Character panel > Justification Alternates checkbox.
To the top
Special Middle East characters insertion
Some characters in Arabic and Hebrew are difficult to insert in text. Also, Arabic and Hebrew keyboard layouts make it difficult to type or include
these characters. To insert characters like a Hebrew apostrophe (Geresh) or Maqaf, select a character from Character panel > panel menu >
Insert Special ME Character.
Insert a special ME character
351
To the top
Table direction
Arabic and Hebrew users can set the direction of a table inserted in a document. Accordingly the order of cells and columns, default language, and
the alignment of text is set. For an Arabic user, the rightmost column is the first column, and any additional columns are added beyond the
leftmost column of the table. Table direction is also supported in the Story Editor (Ctrl + Y).
To set the direction of a new table:
1. Click Table > Insert Table
2. In the Insert Table dialog box, choose from the Direction list to select the table direction.
To change the direction of an existing table:
1. Place the cursor inside a table
2. Open the Table panel (Shift + F9), and click the Left-to-Right Table or Right-to-Left Table icons to set the direction of the table.
For Right-to-Left tables, the Arabic and North African versions default to Arabic language. The Hebrew version is set to Hebrew language. For
Left-to-Right tables, the Arabic and Hebrew versions default to English language. The North African version defaults to French.
To the top
Binding directions
Binding direction determines the edge along which a book is bound. Books written in a left-to-right language are left-bound. Documents written in
right-to-left language are bound along the rightmost edge of the book.
Page layout of a right-bound book
To the top
Right to Left writing preferences
Neutral characters
The direction of some characters in Arabic and Hebrew can appear ambiguous. Lack of clarity about the direction of characters can cause
confusion in the direction and order of strings. To ensure that the direction of such characters is clear and unambiguous:
1. Click Edit > Preferences > Right to Left
2. Select the Force Neutral Character Direction According to the Keyboard Input box.
Cursor Control
Arabic and Hebrew users can control the direction that the cursor moves, when they use the arrow keys on the keyboard. This Cursor Movement
list (Edit > Preferences > Right to Left) has two options that you can choose from:
Visual: The cursor moves in the direction of the arrow key. When the right arrow is pressed, the cursor on the screen moves to the right.
Logical: The cursor moves according to the direction of the language typed. In Arabic and Hebrew, when the right arrow is pressed, the
cursor moves left (to the next character in a right to left language).
352
To the top
Page and chapter numbering
Arabic and Hebrew users use the most commonly preferred numbering systems in the region. The most popular numbering systems are:
Arabic: Arabic Abjad and Alef-Ba-Tah
French: Hebrew Biblical Standard and Hebrew Non-Standard Decimal
To select or change the numbering system, go to Layout > Numbering & Section Options, and then select from the Style list.
Numbering pages, sections, and chapters
To the top
Writing direction in Gallery view and Story Editor
While in Arabic or Hebrew, you can indicate the direction in which you are writing. Go to Edit > Preferences > Story Editor Display, and select the
Indicate Writing Direction box, to enable this feature. When this feature is enabled, the cursor has an arrow that indicates the direction of writing.
To the top
Diacritical coloring
In Arabic text, diacritical marks can be colored differently for stylistic or other purposes. For example, diacritical marks can be lay emphasis on a
particular aspect of a word or sentence. You can find and change the color of diacritical marks using the Change Arabic Diacritic Color query.
1. Click Edit > Find/Change
2. From the Query list, select Change Arabic Diacritic Color
3. Use the Change, Change All, or Change/Find buttons to replace older diacritical marks with the new colored diacritical marks.
You can modify and save the query as per your requirements.
Twitter™ and Facebook posts are not covered under the terms of Creative Commons.
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
353
Aligning text
Align or justify text
Align paragraphs to a baseline grid
Create balanced headline text
Create paragraphs that span or split columns
Align or justify text vertically within a text frame
To the top
Align or justify text
Text can be aligned with one or both edges (or insets) of a text frame. Text is said to be justified when it is aligned with both edges. You can
choose to justify all text in a paragraph excluding the last line (Justify Left or Justify Right), or you can justify text in a paragraph including the last
line (Justify All). When you have only a few characters on the last line, you may want to use a special end-of-story character and create a flush
space.
Justify Left (left) and Justify All (right)
Note: When you justify all lines of text and you are using the Adobe Paragraph Composer, InDesign shifts text to ensure that the paragraph has
consistent text density and is visually appealing. You can fine-tune spacing in justified text.
1. Select text.
2. Click one of the Alignment buttons (Align Left, Align Center, Align Right, Left Justify, Center Justify, Right Justify and Full Justify) in the
Paragraph panel or Control panel.
3. (Optional) Click Align Towards Spine or Align Away From Spine.
When you apply Align Towards Spine to a paragraph, text on a left-hand page is right-aligned, but when the same text flows onto (or if the
frame is moved to) a right-hand page, it becomes left aligned. Similarly, when you apply Align Away From Spine to a paragraph, text on a
left-hand page is left aligned, while text on a right-hand page is right aligned.
If you want the left side of a line of text to be left-aligned and the right side to be right-aligned, position the insertion point where you want to
right-align the text, press Tab, and then right-align the rest of the line.
To the top
Align paragraphs to a baseline grid
The baseline grid represents the leading for body text in a document. You can use multiples of this leading value for all elements of the page to
ensure that text always lines up between columns and from page to page. For example, if the body text in your document has 12-point leading,
you could give your heading text 18-point leading and add 6 points of space before the paragraphs that follow the headings.
Using a baseline grid ensures consistency in the location of text elements on a page. You can adjust the leading for the paragraph to ensure that
its baselines align to the page’s underlying grid. This is useful if you want the baselines of text in multiple columns or adjacent text frames to align.
Change settings for the baseline grid by using the Grids section of the Preferences dialog box.
You can also align only the first line of a paragraph to the baseline grid, allowing the rest of the lines to follow the specified leading values.
To view the baseline grid, choose View > Grids & Guides > Show Baseline Grid.
Note: The baseline grid is visible only if the document zoom level is greater than the view threshold setting in Grids Preferences. You may need
to zoom in to view the baseline grid.
Align paragraphs to the baseline grid
1. Select text.
2. In the Paragraph panel or Control panel, click Align To Baseline Grid
354
.
To ensure that the leading of your text does not change, set the baseline grid leading to the same leading value as your text, or to a factor
thereof.
Align only the first line to the baseline grid
1. Select the paragraphs you want to align.
2. Choose Only Align First Line To Grid from the Paragraph menu or Control panel menu.
3. In the Paragraph panel or Control panel, click Align To Baseline Grid
.
To the top
Create balanced headline text
You can balance ragged aligned text across multiple lines. This feature is especially useful for multiline headings, pull-quotes, and centered
paragraphs.
Before and after applying Balance Ragged Lines to the title
1. Click in the paragraph you want to balance.
2. In the Paragraph panel or Control panel, choose Balance Ragged Lines from the menu.
This feature takes effect only when the Adobe Paragraph Composer is selected.
To the top
Create paragraphs that span or split columns
You can make a paragraph span across multiple columns in a text frame to create a straddle head effect. You can choose whether a paragraph
spans all columns or a specified number of columns. When a paragraph is set to span across columns in a multicolumn text frame, any text before
the spanning paragraph becomes balanced as a result.
You can also split a paragraph into multiple columns within the same text frame.
For a video tutorial on creating paragraphs that span or split columns, go to www.adobe.com/go/lrvid5151_id_en or http://tv.adobe.com/go/4952/.
Paragraph spanning and splitting multiple columns
A. Heading that spans columns B. Split column
Span a paragraph across columns
1. Place the insertion point inside the paragraph.
You can also make this feature part of a paragraph style, such as a heading style.
2. Choose Span Columns from the Control panel menu or a Paragraph panel menu.
3. Choose Span Columns from the Paragraph Layout menu.
355
4. Choose the number of columns you want the paragraph to span from the Span menu. Choose All if you want the paragraph to span across
all the columns.
5. To add extra space before or after the span paragraph, specify Space Before Span and Space After Span values, and then click OK.
Split a paragraph into columns
1. Place the insertion point inside the paragraph.
You can also make this feature part of a paragraph style, such as a heading style.
2. Choose Span Columns from the Control panel menu or a Paragraph panel menu.
3. Choose Split Columns from the Paragraph Layout menu.
4. Specify the following options, and then click OK:
Sub-columns Choose the number of columns you want the split the paragraph into.
Space Before Split / Space After Split Add space before or after the split paragraph.
Inside Gutter Determine the space between the split paragraphs.
Outside Gutter Determine the space between the outside of the split paragraphs and the margins.
To the top
Align or justify text vertically within a text frame
You can align or distribute lines of text in a frame along its vertical axis to help keep type vertically consistent among frames and their columns.
You can align text to the top, center, or bottom of the frame using each paragraph’s leading and paragraph spacing values. You can also justify
text vertically, which evenly spaces lines regardless of their leading and paragraph spacing values.
Vertical justification—Bottom (left) and Justify (right)
Vertical text alignment and justification is calculated from the baseline positions of each line of text in the frame. Keep the following in mind as you
adjust vertical alignment:
The top of the frame is defined as the baseline of the first line of top-aligned text. The First Baseline Offset option in the Text Frame Options
dialog box affects this value.
The bottom of the frame is defined as the baseline of the last line of bottom-aligned text. Footnote text is not justified.
When the Align to Baseline Grid option is applied to paragraphs with Top, Center, or Bottom alignment, all lines will be aligned to the
baseline grid. With the Justified option, only the first and last lines will be aligned to the baseline grid.
If you adjust a text frame’s Top or Bottom Inset values in the Text Frame Options dialog box, you change the location of the first or last
baseline, respectively.
1. Do one of the following:
With the Selection tool, select a text frame.
With the Type tool
, click in a text frame.
2. Choose Object > Text Frame Options.
3. In the Vertical Justification section of the Text Frame Options dialog box, choose one of the following options in the Align menu:
To vertically align text down from the top of the frame, choose Top. (This is the default setting.)
To center lines of text in the frame, choose Center.
To vertically align lines of text up from the bottom of the frame, choose Bottom.
To evenly distribute lines of text vertically between the top and bottom of the frame, choose Justify.
4. If you choose Justify and you want to prevent the leading value from becoming disproportionately larger than the paragraph spacing value,
specify a Paragraph Spacing Limit value. The space between paragraphs is expanded up to the value you specify; if the text still doesn’t fill
the frame, the space between lines is adjusted until the frame is filled. The paragraph spacing limit value is applied in addition to the Space
356
Before or Space After values entered on the Paragraph panel.
Paragraph spacing limit set to zero (left) and 1 pica (right)
Note: Be careful about vertically justifying multi-column text frames. If the last column contains only a few lines, too much white space may
appear between the lines.
5. Click OK.
An easy way to adjust the Paragraph Spacing Limit value is to select Preview, and then click the up or down arrow next to the Paragraph
Spacing Limit value until paragraph spacing appears to be balanced with leading.
More Help topics
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
357
Bullets and numbering
Create bulleted or numbered lists
Format a bulleted or numbered list
Change bullet characters
Change numbered list options
Defining lists
Create a paragraph style for running lists
Create multi-level lists
Create running captions for figures and tables
Restart or continue numbering for a list
Convert list bullets or numbers to text
To the top
Create bulleted or numbered lists
In bulleted lists, each paragraph begins with a bullet character. In numbered lists, each paragraph begins with an expression that includes a
number or letter and a separator such as a period or parenthesis. The numbers in a numbered list are updated automatically when you add or
remove paragraphs in the list. You can change the type of bullet or numbering style, the separator, the font attributes and character styles, and the
type and amount of indent spacing.
You cannot use the Type tool to select the bullets or numbers in a list. Instead, edit their formatting and indent spacing using the Bullets And
Numbering dialog box, the Paragraph panel, or the Bullets And Numbering section of the Paragraph Styles dialog box (if the bullets or numbers
are part a style).
Bulleted list and numbered list
A quick way to create a bulleted or numbered list is to type the list, select it, and then click the Bulleted List or Numbered List button in the Control
panel. These buttons let you turn the list on or off and switch between bullets and numbers. You can also make bullets and numbering part of a
paragraph style and construct lists by assigning styles to paragraphs.
Note: Automatically generated bullet and number characters aren’t actually inserted in the text. Therefore, they cannot be found during a text
search or selected with the Type tool unless you convert them to text. In addition, bullets and numbering don’t appear in the story editor window
(except in the paragraph style column).
For a video tutorial on creating bulleted and numbered lists, see www.adobe.com/go/vid0077.
InDesign Docs provides a series of articles about using bullets and numbering to create outlines, multi-level lists, figure captions, and numbered
steps.
1. Select the set of paragraphs that will become the list, or click to place the insertion point where you want the list to begin.
2. Do any of the following:
Click the Bulleted List button
or the Numbered List button
in the Control panel (in Paragraph mode). Hold down Alt (Windows) or
Option (Mac OS) while clicking a button to display the Bullets And Numbering dialog box.
Choose Bullets And Numbering from the Paragraph panel or Command panel. For List Type, choose either Bullets or Numbers. Specify
the settings you want, and then click OK.
358
Apply a paragraph style that includes bullets or numbering.
3. To continue the list in the next paragraph, move the insertion point to the end of the list and press Enter or Return.
4. To end the list (or list segment, if the list is to be continued later in the story), click the Bulleted List or Numbered List button in the Control
panel again, or choose Bullets And Numbering from the Paragraph panel menu.
To the top
Format a bulleted or numbered list
1. Using the Type tool
, select the bulleted or numbered paragraphs you want to reformat.
2. Do any of the following to open the Bullets And Numbering dialog box:
Choose Bullets And Numbering from the Control panel menu (in Paragraph mode) or the Paragraph panel menu.
Alt-click (Windows) or Option-click (Mac OS) either the Bulleted List button
or the Numbered List button
.
3. In the Bullets And Numbering dialog box, do any of the following:
Change the bullet character.
Change the numbered list options.
Choose a style for the numbers or bullets from the Character Style list.
4. To change the position of the bullet or number, specify any of the following:
Alignment Left-aligns, centers, or right-aligns the bullets or numbers within the horizontal space allotted for numbers. (If this space is
narrow, the difference between the three options is negligible.)
Left Indent Specifies how far the lines after the first line are indented.
First Line Indent Controls where the bullet or number is positioned.
Increase the First Line Indent value if you want the punctuation in long lists to be aligned. For example, if you want “9.” and “10.” to be
aligned on the period, change the Alignment to Right and gradually increase the first line indent until the numbers align (make sure Preview
is turned on).
To create the hanging indent effect, specify a positive Left Indent value (such as 2p0), and then specify an equal negative value (such as 2p0) for First Line Indent.
Position settings
A. Hanging indent B. Left-aligned list
Note: The Left Indent, First Line Indent, and Tab Position settings in the Bullets And Numbering dialog box are paragraph attributes. For
that reason, changing these settings in the Paragraph panel also changes bulleted and numbered list formats.
Tab Position Activates the tab position to create space between the bullet or number and the start of the list item.
By default, bullets and numbers inherit some of their text formatting from the first character in the paragraph to which they’re attached. If the first
character in one paragraph is different from the first characters in other paragraphs, the numbering or bullet character may appear inconsistent with
the other list items. If this is not the formatting you desire, create a character style for numbers or bullets and apply it to your list by using the
Bullets And Numbering dialog box.
359
Italicized first word of step 3 causes numbering to be italicized as well, unless you create character style for numbers and apply it to list.
To the top
Change bullet characters
If you don’t want to use one of the existing bullet characters, you can add other bullet characters to the Bullet Character grid. A bullet character
that is available in one font may not be available in another font. You can choose whether the font is remembered with any bullet character you
add.
If you want to use a bullet found in a specific font (such as the pointing hand from Dingbats), be sure to set the bullet to remember that font. If you
use a basic bullet character, it’s probably best not to remember the font, because most fonts have their own version of that bullet character.
Depending on whether you select the Remember Font With Bullet option, a bullet you add can reference either a Unicode value and a specific font
family and style, or just a Unicode value.
Note: Bullets that reference only the Unicode value (without a remembered font) appear with a red “u” indicator.
Bullets And Numbering dialog box
A. Bullet without remembered font B. Bullet with remembered font
Change the bullet character
1. On the Control panel menu or Paragraph panel menu, select Bullets And Numbering.
2. In the Bullets And Numbering dialog box, select Bullets from the List Type menu.
3. Select a different bullet character, and then click OK.
Add a bullet character
1. In the Bullets And Numbering dialog box, select Bullets from the List Type menu, then click Add.
2. Select the glyph that you want to use as the bullet character. (Different font families and font styles contain different glyphs.)
3. If you want the new bullet to remember the currently chosen font and style, select Remember Font With Bullet.
4. Click Add.
Note: The list of bullet characters is stored in the document, like paragraph and character styles. When you paste or load paragraph styles from
another document, any bullet character used in those styles appears in the Bullets And Numbering dialog box, along with the other bullets defined
for the current document.
Remove a bullet character
1. In the Bullets And Numbering dialog box, select Bullets from the List Type menu.
2. Select the bullet character you want to remove, and click Delete. (The first preset bullet character cannot be deleted.)
360
To the top
Change numbered list options
In a numbered list, the numbers are updated automatically when you add or remove paragraphs in the list. Paragraphs that are part of the same
list are numbered sequentially. These paragraphs do not have to be consecutive to one another as long as you define a list for the paragraphs.
You can also create a multi-level list, in which list items are numbered in outline form and are indented by different degrees.
1. Open the Bullets And Numbering dialog box.
2. Under Numbering Style, select the type of numbering you want to use from the Format menu.
3. In the Number box, use the default expression—period (.) and tab space (^t)—or construct a number expression of your own. To enter a
number expression, delete the period after the number metacharacter (^#) and do one of the following:
Type a character (such as a closing parenthesis) or more than one character in place of the period.
Choose an item (such as Em Dash or Ellipses) from the Insert Special Character menu.
Type a word or character before the number metacharacter. For example, to number questions in a list, you can type the word Question.
4. Choose a character style for the expression. (The style you choose applies to the entire number expression, not just to the number.)
5. For Mode, choose one of the following options:
Continue From Previous Number Numbers lists sequentially.
Start At Starts numbering at a number or other value that you enter in the text box. Enter a number, not a letter, even if your list uses letters
or Roman numerals for numbering.
6. Specify any other options, and then click OK.
To the top
Defining lists
A defined list can be interrupted by other paragraphs and lists, and can span different stories and different documents in a book. For example, use
defined lists to create a multi-level outline, or to create a running list of numbered table names throughout your document. You can also define lists
for separately numbered or bulleted items that are mixed together. For example, in a list of questions and answers, define one list for numbering
the questions and another for numbering the answers.
Defined lists are often used to track paragraphs for numbering purposes. When you create a paragraph style for numbering, you can assign the
style to a defined list, and paragraphs are numbered in that style according to where they appear in the defined list. The first paragraph to appear
is given number 1 (“Table 1”), for example, and the next paragraph is given number 2 (“Table 2”), even if it appears several pages later. Because
both paragraphs belong to the same defined list, they can be numbered consecutively no matter how far apart they are in the document or book.
Define a new list for each type of item you want to number—step-by-step instructions, tables, and figures, for example. By defining multiple lists,
you can interrupt one list with another and maintain number sequences in each list.
If list items appear in unthreaded frames on the same page, items are numbered in the order in which the text frames are added to the page.
To reorder the items, cut and paste the text frames one by one in the order in which you want them to be listed.
361
Defined lists let you interrupt one list with another.
For a video tutorial on creating bulleted and numbered lists, see www.adobe.com/go/vid0077.
Define a list
1. Choose Type > Bulleted And Numbered Lists > Define Lists.
2. Click New in the Define Lists dialog box.
3. Enter a name for the list, choose whether you want to continue numbering across stories, and continue numbering from previous documents
in your book.
4. Click OK twice.
After you define a list, you can use it in a paragraph style, such as a style for tables, figures, or ordered lists, as well as apply it by way of the
Control panel and Paragraph panel.
Note: Some lists are defined automatically. For example, when you import a numbered list from a Microsoft Word document, InDesign defines a
list automatically for your document.
Edit a defined list
1. Choose Type > Bulleted And Numbered Lists > Define Lists.
2. Select a list and click Edit.
3. Enter a new name for the list or change your selection of Continue Numbers options.
Paragraph styles that are assigned to the list are reassigned to the list under its new name.
Delete a defined list
1. Choose Type > Bulleted And Numbered Lists > Define Lists.
2. Select a list.
3. Click Delete, and then select a different list or the [Default] list to replace your list with.
To the top
Create a paragraph style for running lists
362
To create a running list—a list that is interrupted by other paragraphs or that spans multiple stories or documents—create a paragraph style and
apply the style to paragraphs that you want to be part of the list. For example, to create a running list of the tables in your document, create a
paragraph style called Tables, make a defined list part of the style, and then apply the Tables paragraph style to all paragraphs you want in your
Table list.
InDesign Docs provides a series of articles about using bullets and numbering to create figure captions and numbered steps.
1. Choose New Paragraph Style from the Paragraph Styles panel menu.
2. Enter a style name.
3. On the left side of the New Paragraph Style dialog box, click Bullets And Numbering.
4. For List Type, select Bullets or Numbering.
5. If you are creating a style for numbered lists, choose a defined list from the List menu, or choose New List and define the list.
6. Specify the bullet or numbering characteristics.
7. Use the Bullet or Number Position section of the New Paragraph Style dialog box to change the indent spacing. For example, to create a
hanging indent, type 2p for Left Indent and -2p for First Line Indent.
8. Specify other paragraph style attributes for the style, and then click OK.
To the top
Create multi-level lists
A multi-level list is a list that describes hierarchical relationships between the list paragraphs. These lists are also called outline lists because they
resemble outlines. The list’s numbering scheme (as well as indentations) show rank as well as how items are subordinate to one another. You can
tell where each paragraph fits in the list with respect to the paragraphs before and after it. You can include up to nine levels in a multi-level list.
Multi-level list with numbers and letters marking hierarchy levels
To create a multi-level list, define the list and then create a paragraph style for each level you want. For example, a list with four levels requires
four paragraph styles (each one assigned the same defined list). As you create each style, you define its numbering format and paragraph
formatting.
Gabriel Powell provides a video tutorial about creating outlines and multi-level lists at Creating an automatic numbered list.
Bob Bringhurst provides a series of articles about using bullets and numbering to create outlines, multi-level lists, figure captions, and numbered
steps.
1. Choose New Paragraph Style from the Paragraph Styles panel menu.
2. Enter a style name.
3. If you already created a style for your multi-level list, choose the style you will assign to levels above this one from the Based On menu;
otherwise, choose No Paragraph Style or Basic Paragraph.
4. On the left side of the New Paragraph Style dialog box, click Bullets And Numbering.
5. Choose Numbers from the List Type menu.
6. Choose a list you defined from the List menu. If you haven’t yet defined your list, you can choose New List from the menu and define it now.
7. In the Level box, enter a number that describes which level of the multi-level list you’re creating a style for.
8. From the Format menu, choose the type of numbering you want to use.
9. In the Number box, enter metacharacters or select metacharacters from the menus to describe the number formatting you want for list items
at this level.
To include numbering prefixes from higher levels, enter text or click at the start of the Number box and choose Insert Number
363
Placeholder and then select a Level option (for example, Level 1), or enter ^ and then the list level (for example, enter ^1). In a list with
first levels numbered 1, 2, 3, and so on, and second levels numbered a, b, c, and so on, including the first-level prefix in the second level
renders second-level numbers as 1a, 1b, 1c; 2a, 2b, 2c; 3a, 3b, 3c.
To create a number expression, enter punctuation, enter metacharacters, or select options on the Insert Special Character list.
10. Select Restart Numbers At This Level After to renumber beginning at 1 when a paragraph at this level appears after a paragraph at a higher
level; deselect this option to number paragraphs at this level consecutively throughout the list without regard for where the paragraphs
appear in the list hierarchy.
To restart numbers after a specific level or range of levels, type the level number or range (such as 2-4) in the Restart Numbers At This
Level After field.
11. In the Bullet or Number Position area, choose Indent or Tab Position options to indent list items at this level farther than list items at higher
levels. Indenting helps subordinate items in lists stand out.
12. Click OK.
In some cases, such as with numbered steps, you may want to restart numbering within the same story. To avoid restarting the numbered list
manually, create a separate style that’s identical to the Level 1 style with one exception. For Mode, chose Start At, and then specify 1. Name this
style something like “Level 1 Restart.”
To the top
Create running captions for figures and tables
Running captions number figures, tables, and other items consecutively in a document. For example, the first figure caption starts with the words
“Figure 1,” the second with “Figure 2,” and so on. To make sure that figures, tables, or similar items are numbered consecutively, define a list for
the item, and then create a paragraph style that includes the list definition. You can also add descriptive words such as “Figure” or “Table” to the
numbering scheme of the paragraph style.
Bob Bringhurst provides an article about creating figure captions at Numbered Lists Part III - Figure Captions.
List items are numbered in the order in which they are added to the page. To reorder the items, cut and paste the items one by one in the
order in which you want them to be listed.
1. Create a new paragraph style and, in the Bullets And Numbering section of the Paragraph Style Options dialog box, choose Numbers from
the List Type menu.
2. Choose a defined list from the List menu (or choose New List to define a list).
3. Under Numbering Style, select the type of numbering you want to use from the Format menu.
For example, select the A, B, C, D... option to create a list for “Figure A,” “Figure B,” and so on.
4. In the Number box, enter a descriptive word and any spacing or punctuation (as needed) along with the numbering metacharacters.
For example, to create a “Figure A” effect, enter the word “Figure” and a space before the numbering metacharacters (such as Figure ^#.^t).
This adds the word “Figure” followed by a sequential number (^#), a period, and a tab (^t).
Note: To include chapter numbers in running captions, choose Insert Number Placeholder > Chapter Number from the Number list, or enter
^H where you want the chapter number to appear in the number scheme.
5. Finish creating the style and click OK.
After you create the style, apply it to text figure captions or table titles.
You can use the Table Of Contents feature to generate a list of tables or figures.
To the top
Restart or continue numbering for a list
InDesign offers commands for restarting a list and continuing a list:
Restarting a numbered list Place the insertion point in the paragraph and choose Restart Numbering from the context menu or choose Type >
Bulleted And Numbered Lists > Restart Numbering. In normal lists, this command assigns the number 1 (or letter A) to a paragraph and makes it
the first paragraph in a list. In multi-level lists, this command assigns the first lower-level number to a nested paragraph.
Continuing a numbered list Choose Continue Numbering from the context menu or choose Type > Bulleted And Numbered Lists > Continue
Numbering. This command resumes numbering a list that was interrupted by commentary, graphics, or nested list items. InDesign also offers
commands for numbering lists that begin in one story or book and cross into the next story or book.
Number a list from the previous or current story
Whether a list resumes numbering from the previous story or starts numbering anew in the current story depends on how the list is defined.
1. Choose Type > Bulleted And Numbered Lists > Define Lists.
2. Select a list and click the Edit button.
Don’t choose the Default list because it can’t run across stories.
3. Select Continue Numbers Across Stories to resume numbering the list from the previous story, or deselect this option to start the list in the
364
current story at 1 (or A).
4. Click OK twice.
Number a list from the previous or current document in a book
Whether a list resumes numbering from the previous document in a book or starts numbering anew in the current document depends on how the
list is defined.
1. Choose Type > Bulleted And Numbered Lists > Define Lists.
2. Select a list and click the Edit button.
3. Select Continue Numbers From Previous Document In Book to resume numbering the list from the previous document (you must choose
Continue Numbers Across Stories to activate this option), or deselect this option to start the list in the current document at 1 (or A).
4. Click OK twice.
To make sure that numbering is updated properly in a book, synchronize the documents in the book and choose Update Numbering > Update
All Numbers from the books panel menu.
To the top
Convert list bullets or numbers to text
1. Select the paragraphs containing the bulleted or numbered list.
2. Do one of the following:
From the Paragraph panel menu, choose Convert Numbering To Text or Convert Bullets To Text.
Right-click (Windows) or Command-click (Mac OS) the selection, and then choose Convert Numbering To Text or Convert Bullets To
Text.
Note: To remove the list numbers or bullets, click the Numbered List button or Bulleted List button to unapply list formatting to the selected
text.
More Help topics
Bulleted and Numbered Lists video
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
365
CJK 文字の書式設定
テキストに対する斜体の適用
文字の回転
文字の前後のアキ量の調整
縦中横の使用
テキストへのルビの追加
圏点の適用
サイズの異なる文字の揃え
トップへ戻る
テキストに対する斜体の適用
文字を斜めに傾ける場合、従来の写植技術では、字形をフィルムにセットしたまま、レンズを使用して歪めていました。この傾斜スタイルを斜
体と言います。斜体では、字形が拡大 / 縮小されるので、単純に字形を傾けたものとは異なります。InDesign の斜体機能を使用すると、字形の高
さを変えずに、傾斜させるテキストの中心点からの縮小率や角度を調整することができます。
斜体
A. 拡大 / 縮小の適用なし B. 縮小率 30 %、45 斜体 C. 「ツメの調整」オプションを選択 D. 「ライン揃え」オプションを選択
1. テキストを選択します。
2. 文字パネルメニューまたはコントロールパネルメニューから「斜体」を選択します。
3. 次のオプションを指定して、「OK」をクリックします。
「縮小率」で、字形の歪みの割合を指定します(従来の写植技術と対比した場合、10 %の縮小は 1 番レンズと同等で、40 %の縮小は 4
番レンズと同等です)。
「角度」で、30、45 または 60 度を指定して傾斜の角度を設定します。
横組みテキストで横組みの行が水平に表示され、縦組みテキストで縦組みの行が垂直に表示されるように、「ライン揃え」を選択して字
体を回転させます。
字送りを詰めるには「ツメの調整」を選択します。
斜体をテキストに適用した後、文字を個々に回転させて傾斜効果を微調整することもできます。
トップへ戻る
文字の回転
1. 文字を選択します。
2. 文字パネルで、「文字回転」
に値を入力します。マイナスの値を指定すると、文字が右回り(時計回り)に回転します。
トップへ戻る
文字の前後のアキ量の調整
1. 文字ツールを使用して、開く括弧類または閉じ括弧類を選択します。
2. 文字パネルの「文字前のアキ量」
または「文字後のアキ量」
で、追加するアキの量を選択します。
例えば、「二分」を指定すると 2 分の 1 の全角スペースに設定され、「四分」を指定すると 4 分の 1 の全角スペースに設定されます。行が両端揃
えに設定されている場合、このアキは調整されません。アキの調整は、「文字組みアキ量」の設定を特定の文字について変更する場合に特に役立
ちます。
366
開く括弧の前にアキを追加
トップへ戻る
縦中横の使用
「縦中横」(組文字または連文字とも呼びます)を使用すると、縦組みテキストの一部を横組みテキストにすることができます。縦組みテキスト
では、数字、日付、短い外国語の単語などの半角文字を縦中横にすると読みやすくなります。
縦中横の適用前と適用後
「縦中横設定」コマンドを使用すると、テキストを左、右、上、下に移動することができます。また、特定の半角文字に対して「自動縦中横」を
設定することもできます。「自動縦中横」は段落属性として設定するオプションです。
文字パネルの「文字ツメ」または字送りを使用して、縦中横の文字間隔を調整できます。
縦中横の適用
1. 縦中横を適用するテキストを選択します。
2. 次のいずれかの操作を行います。
文字パネルメニューまたはコントロールパネルメニューの「縦中横」を選択します。
文字パネルメニューまたはコントロールパネルメニューから「縦中横設定」を選択し、縦中横設定ダイアログボックスの「縦中横」を選
択して、「OK」をクリックします。
複数の縦中横の文字が連続する場合、それぞれを分離させるには結合なしの文字を使用します。書式/特殊文字を挿入/その他/結合なしを選
択します。
縦中横の削除
1. 縦中横を適用するテキストを選択します。
2. 次のいずれかの操作を行います。
文字パネルメニューまたはコントロールパネルメニューの「縦中横」を選択してキャンセルします。
文字パネルメニューから「縦中横設定」を選択して、縦中横設定ダイアログボックスの「縦中横」の選択を解除し、「OK」をクリック
します。
縦中横設定の変更
1. 文字パネルメニューの「縦中横設定」を選択します。
2. 「上下位置」で、テキストを上下方向に移動する値を指定します。プラスの値を指定するとテキストは上方向に移動し、マイナスの値を指定
すると下方向に移動します。
3. 「左右位置」で、テキストを左右の方向に移動する値を指定します。プラスの値を指定するとテキストは右方向に移動し、マイナスの値を指
定すると左方向に移動します。
特定の段落に対する自動縦中横の設定
1. 自動縦中横を設定するテキストを選択するか、段落にテキスト挿入点を置きます。
367
2. 段落パネルメニューから「自動縦中横設定」を選択します。
3. 「組数字」で、連続する半角文字を何文字まで縦方向に回転するかを桁数で指定します。例えば、2 と指定すると、「123」という文字列は
回転しませんが、「12」は回転します。
4. 縦中横を欧文テキストに適用したい場合は、「欧文も含める」を選択し、「OK」をクリックします。
トップへ戻る
テキストへのルビの追加
日本語では、ルビ(ふりがなとも言います)は、通常、漢字の読みをひらがなで表すために使用します。ルビは、簡体中国語ではピンインと呼ば
れ、繁体中国語ではチューインと呼ばれます。InDesign では、日本語のルビについては完全サポートを提供し、中国語のピンインとチューインに
ついては限定的にサポートしています。ルビの位置、サイズ、カラーを指定して、ルビ設定を調整することができます。また、ルビが親文字より
も長いときのルビの配置を指定することもできます。ルビに縦中横を適用することもできます。
横組みテキストにふられたルビ(左)と、縦組みテキストの右側にふられたルビ(右)
ルビをふる親文字が 2 行にわたっている場合、親文字は次の行に移動し、ルビが追加されます。
注意: 特定の状況(変数を含むスタイルを適用した場合など)では、ルビ文字が削除されることがあります。
1. ルビをふるテキストを選択します。選択したテキストに強制改行が含まれている場合は、ルビをふることはできません。
2. 文字パネルメニューまたはコントロールパネルメニューの「ルビ」から「ルビ」を選択します。
3. 「ルビ」にルビ文字を入力します。
4. ルビ設定を変更するには、ダイアログボックス左側のオプションを選択し、設定を指定します。
5. 「OK」をクリックします。
ルビ設定
ルビダイアログボックスの各パネルには次のオプションがあります。
ルビの位置と間隔
「種類」では、「モノルビ」または「グループルビ」を選択します。「モノルビ」を選択したときは、ルビ文字を入力する際に半角または全
角の空白を入力して、各親文字に割り当てるルビ文字列を区切ります。例えば、「白熱灯」にルビをふる場合、「はくねつとう」と入力しま
す。
ルビ
A. モノルビ B. グループルビ
「揃え」で、ルビ文字の位置を指定します。サンプルフィールドに表示されるグラフィックで位置を確認できます。
横組みテキストの上または縦組みテキストの右にルビを付けるには、「位置」で「親文字の上 / 右」を選択し、横組みテキストの下または縦
組みテキストの左にルビを付けるには、「親文字の下 / 左」を選択します。
「横組み左右 / 縦組み上下」と「横組み上下 / 縦組み左右」で、ルビと親文字の間隔を指定します。マイナスの値を入力すると、ルビが親文
字に近づきます。
ルビのフォントとサイズ
「フォント」で、フォントファミリとフォントスタイルを選択します。
「サイズ」で、ルビ文字のサイズを指定します。デフォルトのルビサイズは、親文字の半分です。
368
「水平比率」と「垂直比率」で、ルビ文字の高さと幅の比率を指定します。
ルビの異体字(利用できる場合)を使用するには、「OpenType Pro のルビ字形を使用」を選択します。一部の OpenType Pro フォントに
は、ルビ専用のかな文字が用意されている場合があります。このオプションを選択すると、標準のかな文字の字形ではなく、ルビ専用の字形
が使用されます。
「組数字」で、連続する半角文字を何文字まで縦方向に回転するかを桁数で指定します。例えば、2 と指定すると、「123」という文字列は
回転しませんが、「12」は回転します。
縦中横を欧文文字に適用する場合は、「欧文も含める」を選択します。
OpenType 機能を使用するか字形を拡大 / 縮小して、ルビ文字と同じサイズ(1 em 四方)を持つ縦中横に強制的に実行するには、「幅に合わ
せる」を選択します。
ルビが親文字より長ときの調整
ルビ文字全体の幅が親文字全体の幅より長い場合、「文字かけ処理」で指定した幅のルビが親文字の両隣の文字にかかります。日本語では、
文字かけ対象の文字種は JISx4051-1995 規格に準拠しています。
ルビをふるのに必要な親文字の間隔を「親文字間の調整」で指定します。サンプルフィールドに表示されているグラフィックは、別のオプ
ションを選択すると更新されます。
ルビの文字幅を自動的に調整するには、「ルビの文字幅を自動的に詰める」を選択して、ルビの文字幅を詰める比率を指定します。
親文字を行の先頭と最後に合わせるには、「自動行頭 / 行末揃え」を選択します。
ルビカラー
リストボックスでカラースウォッチを選択します。
必要に応じて、濃淡の割合と線幅を指定します。
ルビ文字の塗りまたは線のオーバープリントを設定するには、「塗りオーバープリント」または「線オーバープリント」を選択します
(オーバープリントを手動で使用するかどうかの判別を参照してください)。
トップへ戻る
圏点の適用
圏点(傍点とも言います)は、強調したい文字に付加する点のことです。既定の圏点の字体から点の種類を選択したり、カスタマイズした圏点文
字を指定したりすることができます。また、圏点の設定を調整して、位置、サイズ、カラーを指定することもできます。
小さい黒丸圏点、ゴマ圏点、小さい白丸圏点をテキストに適用
圏点の適用
1. 強調する文字を選択します。
2. 文字パネルメニューまたはコントロールパネルメニューの「圏点」から「蛇の目」や「白丸」など、圏点文字を選択します。
圏点の設定と色の変更
1. 文字パネルメニューまたはコントロールパネルメニューの「圏点」から「圏点」を選択します。
2. 「圏点設定」で、次のオプションを指定します。
圏点種類 「蛇の目」や「白丸」などの圏点文字を選択します。「カスタム」を選択して、カスタム文字を指定します。直接文字を入力する
ことも、特定の文字セットの文字コード値を指定することもできます。
位置 圏点と親文字との間の間隔を指定します。
表示される場所 横組みテキストの上または縦組みテキストの右に圏点を付けるには「上 / 右」、横組みテキストの下または縦組みテキスト
の左に圏点を付けるには「下 / 左」を選択します。
サイズ 圏点文字のサイズを指定します。
揃え 圏点を文字の仮想ボディの中央に表示する(「中付き」)か、左端(縦組みテキストの場合は上端)に表示する(「肩付き」)かを指
定します。
水平比率と垂直比率 圏点文字の高さと幅の比率を指定します。
369
3. 圏点のカラーを変更するには、リストボックスから「圏点カラー」を選択し、次のオプションを指定します。
リストボックスからカラースウォッチを選択します。
必要に応じて、濃淡の割合と線幅を指定します。
圏点文字の塗りまたは線のオーバープリントを設定するには、「塗りオーバープリント」または「線オーバープリント」を選択します
(オーバープリントを手動で使用するかどうかの判別を参照してください)。
4. 「OK」をクリックします。
トップへ戻る
サイズの異なる文字の揃え
異なるサイズの文字を 1 行に配置するとき、「文字揃え」設定を使用して、行内の最も大きい文字にテキストを揃える方法を指定することができ
ます。文字を仮想ボディの上、中央または下に揃えたり(縦組みフレームの場合は右、中央、左)、欧文ベースラインに揃えたり、平均字面の上
または下(縦組みフレームの場合は右または左)に揃えたりすることができます。平均字面(ICF)とは、フォントデザイナがフォントを構成する
全角文字をデザインするときに使用する標準の高さと幅です。
サイズの異なる文字の揃え
A. サイズの異なる文字を全角文字の上端に揃える B. サイズの異なる文字を全角文字の中央に揃える C. サイズの異なる文字を全角文字の下端に
揃える
注意: 行のすべての文字が同じサイズの場合は、「文字揃え」を適用しても効果はありません。
1. 文字を揃える行またはテキストの範囲を選択するか、選択ツールを使用してテキストフレームを選択します。
2. 文字パネルメニューまたはコントロールパネルメニューの「文字揃え」から、以下のいずれかのオプションを選択します。
「欧文ベースライン」は、行にある小さい文字を、大きい文字のベースライングリッドに揃えます。
「仮想ボディの上 / 右」、「仮想ボディの中央」または「仮想ボディの下 / 左」は、行にある小さい文字を、大きい文字の仮想ボディの
指定位置に揃えます。縦組みテキストでは、「仮想ボディの上 / 右」はテキストを仮想ボディの右側に揃え、「仮想ボディの下 / 左」は
段落を仮想ボディの左側に揃えます。
「平均字面の上 / 右」または「平均字面の下 / 左」は、行にある小さい文字を、大きい文字の指定平均字面に揃えます。縦組みテキスト
では、「平均字面の上 / 右」はテキストを平均字面の右側に揃え、「平均字面の下 / 左」はテキストを平均字面の左側に揃えます。
関連項目
|
370
Tabs and indents
Tabs dialog box overview
Set tabs
Repeat tabs
Move, delete, and edit tab settings
Specify characters for decimal tabs
Add tab leaders
Insert right indent tabs
Set indents
To the top
Tabs dialog box overview
Tabs position text at specific horizontal locations in a frame. The default tab settings depend on the Horizontal ruler units setting in the Units &
Increments preferences dialog box.
Tabs apply to an entire paragraph. The first tab you set deletes all default tab stops to its left. Subsequent tabs delete all default tabs between the
tabs you set. You can set left, center, right, and decimal or special-character tabs.
You set tabs using the Tabs dialog box.
Tabs dialog box
A. Tab alignment buttons B. Tab position C. Tab Leader box D. Align On box E. Tab ruler F. Snap above frame
Open the Tabs dialog box
1. Using the Type tool, click in the text frame.
2. Choose Type > Tabs.
If the top of the frame is visible, the Tabs dialog box snaps to the current text frame and matches its width to the current column.
Align the Tabs dialog box ruler with your text
1. Scroll through your document to display the top of the text frame.
2. Click the magnet icon
insertion point.
on the Tabs dialog box. The Tabs dialog box snaps to the top of the column that includes the selection or the
To the top
Set tabs
You can set left, center, right, and decimal or special-character tabs. When you use the special-character tab, you can set a tab to align to any
character you choose, such as a colon or a dollar sign.
Bob Bringhurst provides an article about various tab and indent effects at Tabs and Indents Gallery.
1. Using the Type tool
, click an insertion point in the paragraph.
2. Press the Tab key. Add tabs in the paragraphs where you want to add horizontal space. (You can also add tabs after you create your tab
settings.)
371
Using tabs to align text
3. Choose Type > Tabs to display the Tabs dialog box.
4. To specify which paragraphs will be affected, select a paragraph or a group of paragraphs.
5. For the first tab, click a tab-alignment button (left, right, center, or decimal) in the Tabs dialog box to specify how text will align to the tab’s
position.
6. Do one of the following:
Click a location on the tab ruler to position a new tab.
Adding a new tab setting
Type a position in the X box and press Enter or Return. If the X value is selected, press the up or down arrow key to increase or
decrease the tab value by 1 point, respectively.
7. For subsequent tabs with different alignments, repeat steps 3 and 4.
The first tab setting is right-aligned; the second tab setting is left-aligned.
To insert a tab character in a table, choose Type > Insert Special Character > Other > Tab.
To the top
Repeat tabs
The Repeat Tab command creates multiple tabs based on the distance between the tab and the left indent or the previous tab stop.
1. Click an insertion point in the paragraph.
2. In the Tabs panel, select a tab stop on the ruler.
3. Choose Repeat Tab from the panel menu.
Repeated tabs
A. Tab-alignment buttons B. Tab stop on the ruler C. Panel menu
372
To the top
Move, delete, and edit tab settings
Use the Tabs dialog box to move, delete, and edit tab settings.
Move a tab setting
1. Using the Type tool
, click an insertion point in the paragraph.
2. In the Tabs dialog box, select a tab on the tab ruler.
3. Do one of the following:
Type a new location for X and press Enter or Return.
Drag the tab to a new location.
Delete a tab setting
1. Click an insertion point in the paragraph.
2. Do one of the following:
Drag the tab off the tab ruler.
Select the tab, and choose Delete Tab from the panel menu.
To return to the default tab stops, choose Clear All from the panel menu.
Change a tab from one alignment to another
1. In the Tabs dialog box, select a tab on the tab ruler.
2. Click a tab-alignment button.
You can also hold down Alt (Windows) or Option (Mac OS) while clicking the tab setting to cycle through the four alignment options.
To the top
Specify characters for decimal tabs
You use decimal tabs to align text with a character you specify, such as a period or a dollar sign.
1. In the Tabs panel, create or select a decimal tab
on the tab ruler.
2. In the Align On box, type the character to which you want to align. You can type or paste any character. Make sure that the paragraphs
you’re aligning contain that character.
Text aligned using a decimal tab
To the top
Add tab leaders
A tab leader is a repeated pattern of characters, such as a series of dots or dashes, between a tab and the following text.
1. In the Tabs panel, select a tab stop on the ruler.
2. Type a pattern of as many as eight characters in the Leader box, and then press Enter or Return. The characters you entered repeat across
the width of the tab.
3. To change the font or other formatting of the tab leader, select the tab character in the text frame, and use the Character panel or Type
menu to apply formatting.
To the top
Insert right indent tabs
In one step, you can add a right-aligned tab at the right indent, making it easier to prepare tabular text that spans an entire column. Right indent
373
tabs are slightly different from regular tabs. A right indent tab:
Aligns all subsequent text to the right edge of the text frame. If the same paragraph includes any tabs after the right indent tab, those tabs
and their text are pushed to the next line.
Is a special character located in the text, not in the Tabs dialog box. You add a right indent tab using a context menu, not the Tabs dialog
box. As a result, a right indent tab can’t be part of a paragraph style.
Is different from the Right Indent value in the Paragraph panel. The Right Indent value keeps the entire right edge of the paragraph away
from the right edge of the text frame.
Can be used with a tab leader. Right indent tabs use the tab leader of the first tab stop past the right margin, or, if there isn't one, the last tab
stop before the right margin.
1. Using the Type tool
, click on the line where you want to add the right indent tab.
2. Choose Type > Insert Special Character > Other > Right Indent Tab.
To the top
Set indents
Indents move text inward from the right and left edges of the frame. In general, use first-line indents, not spaces or tabs, to indent the first line of a
paragraph.
A first-line indent is positioned relative to the left-margin indent. For example, if a paragraph’s left edge is indented one pica, setting the first-line
indent to one pica indents the first line of the paragraph two picas from the left edge of the frame or inset.
You can set indents using the Tabs dialog box, the Paragraph panel, or the Control panel. You can also set indents when you create bulleted or
numbered lists.
Bob Bringhurst provides an article about various tab and indent effects at Tabs and Indents Gallery.
Set an indent using the Tabs dialog box
1. Using the Type tool
, click in the paragraph you want to indent.
2. Choose Type > Tabs to display the Tabs dialog box.
3. Do one of the following to the indent markers
in the Tabs dialog box:
Drag the top marker to indent the first line of text. Drag the bottom marker to move both markers and indent the entire paragraph.
First-line indent (left) and no indent (right)
Select the top marker and type a value for X to indent the first line of text. Select the bottom marker and type a value for X to move both
markers and indent the entire paragraph.
For more information on using the Tabs dialog box, see Tabs dialog box overview.
Set indents using the Paragraph panel or the Control panel
1. Using the Type tool
, click in the paragraph you want to indent.
2. Adjust the appropriate indent values in the Paragraph panel or Control panel. For example, do the following:
To indent the entire paragraph one pica, type a value (such as 1p) in the Left Indent box
.
To indent only the first line of a paragraph one pica, type a value (such as 1p) in the First Line Left Indent box
.
To create a hanging indent of one pica, type a positive value (such as 1p) in the Left Indent box and type a negative value (such as -1p)
in the First Line Left Indent box. See Set indents.
Reset indents
1. Click in the paragraph in which you want to reset indents to the zero mark.
2. Choose Reset Indents from the Tabs dialog box menu.
374
Create a hanging indent
In a hanging indent, all the lines in a paragraph are indented except for the first line. Hanging indents are especially useful when you want to add
inline graphics at the beginning of the paragraph.
No indent (left) and hanging indent (right)
1. Using the Type tool
, click in the paragraph you want to indent.
2. In the Tabs dialog box or the Control panel, specify a left indent value greater than zero.
3. To specify a negative first-line left indent value, do one of the following:
In the Control panel, type a negative value for the first-line left indent
.
In the Tabs dialog box, drag the top marker to the left, or select the marker and type a negative value for X.
In most cases, you’ll specify the negative equivalent of the value you entered in step 2; for instance, if you specified a left indent of 2 picas, your
first-line left indent will typically be –2 picas.
Right-indent the last line of a paragraph
You can use the Last Line Right Indent option to add a hanging indent on the right side of the last line in a paragraph. This option is especially
useful for right-aligning prices in a sales catalog.
Last line right indent
1. Type your paragraphs. In the last line of each paragraph, place the insertion point before the text to be indented, and choose Type > Insert
Special Character > Other > Right Indent Tab.
2. Select the paragraphs.
3. To create a right indent for paragraphs, specify a value (such as 2p) in the Right Indent field of the Paragraph panel or Control panel.
4. To offset the right indent value for the text that follows the tab, type a negative value (such as -2p) in the Last Line Right Indent field of the
Paragraph panel or Control panel.
Use Indent To Here
You can use the Indent To Here special character to indent lines in a paragraph independently of a paragraph’s left indent value. The Indent To
Here special character is different from the paragraph’s left indent in the following ways:
Indent To Here is part of the text flow, as if it were a visible character. If text reflows, the indent moves with it.
Indent To Here affects all lines after the line where you’ve added its special characters, so you can indent just some of the lines in a
375
paragraph.
When you choose Type > Show Hidden Characters, the Indent To Here character
Indent To Here special character
1. Using the Type tool
, click the insertion point where you would like to indent.
2. Choose Type > Insert Special Character > Other > Indent To Here.
More Help topics
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
376
is visible.
Text composition
Compose text
Hyphenate text
Prevent unwanted word breaks
Change Justification settings
To the top
Compose text
The appearance of text on your page depends on a complex interaction of processes called composition. Using the word spacing, letterspacing,
glyph scaling, and hyphenation options you’ve selected, InDesign composes your type in a way that best supports the specified parameters.
InDesign offers two composition methods: Adobe Paragraph Composer (the default) and Adobe Single-line Composer (both are available from the
Control panel menu). You can select which composer to use from the Paragraph panel menu, the Justification dialog box, or the Control panel
menu.
For a video tutorial on working with text, see www.adobe.com/go/vid0075.
InDesign Magazine provides an article about fixing composition problems at Mind the Gaps.
Composition methods
InDesign offers two composition methods: Adobe Paragraph Composer (the default) and Adobe Single-line Composer. Both composition methods
evaluate possible breaks, and choose those that best support the hyphenation and justification options you’ve specified for a given paragraph.
The Adobe Paragraph Composer
Considers a network of breakpoints for an entire paragraph, and thus can optimize earlier lines in the paragraph in order to eliminate especially
unattractive breaks later on. Paragraph composition results in more even spacing with fewer hyphens.
The Paragraph Composer approaches composition by identifying possible breakpoints, evaluating them, and assigning a weighted penalty to them
based on such principles as evenness of letterspacing, word spacing, and hyphenation.
You can use the Hyphenation dialog box to determine the relationship between better spacing and fewer hyphens. (See Hyphenate text.)
The Adobe Single-line Composer
Offers a traditional approach to composing text one line at a time. This option is useful if you want to restrict composition changes from late-stage
edits.
Choose a composition method for a paragraph
Do any of the following:
From the Paragraph panel menu, choose Adobe Paragraph Composer (the default) or Adobe Single-line Composer.
From the Paragraph panel menu or the Control panel menu, choose Justification, and then choose an option from the Composer menu.
Note: Additional composition engine plug-ins from other companies may be available, along with interfaces that let you customize an engine’s
parameters.
Set composition preferences
1. Choose Edit > Preferences > Composition (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > Composition (Mac OS).
2. To use on-screen highlighting to identify compositional problems, select Keep Violations And H&J Violations (hyphenation and justification).
3. To justify text that wraps around an object, select Justify Text Next To An Object.
4. Click OK.
To the top
Hyphenate text
The settings you choose for hyphenation and justification affect the horizontal spacing of lines and the aesthetic appeal of type on your pages.
Hyphenation options determine whether words can be hyphenated and, if they can, which breaks are allowable.
Justification is controlled by the alignment option you choose, the word spacing and letterspacing you specify, and whether or not you have used
glyph scaling. You can also justify single words in narrow columns of fully justified text.
377
Eda Warren provides an article about avoiding composition problems at Mind the Gaps.
Adjust hyphenation manually
You can hyphenate words manually or automatically, or you can use a combination of the two methods. The safest way to hyphenate manually is
to insert a discretionary hyphen, which is not visible unless the word needs to be broken at the end of a line. Placing a discretionary hyphen at the
beginning of a word prevents it from being broken.
1. Using the Type tool
, click where you want to insert the hyphen.
2. Do one of the following:
Choose Type > Insert Special Character > Hyphens And Dashes > Discretionary Hyphen.
Press Ctrl+Shift+- (Windows) or Command+Shift+- (Mac OS) to insert a discretionary hyphen.
Note: Entering a discretionary hyphen in a word does not guarantee that the word will be hyphenated. Whether or not the word breaks depends
on other hyphenation and composition settings. However, entering a discretionary hyphen in a word does guarantee that the word can be broken
only where the discretionary hyphen appears.
Adjust hyphenation automatically
Hyphenation is based on word lists that can be stored either in a separate user dictionary file on your computer, or in the document itself. To
ensure consistent hyphenation, you may want to specify which word list to refer to, especially if you will be taking your document to a service
provider or if you work in a workgroup.
To turn automatic hyphenation on or off for a paragraph, in the Paragraph panel or Control panel, select or deselect the Hyphenation option.
(You can also include this option in a paragraph style.)
When you set automatic hyphenation options, you can determine the relationship between better spacing and fewer hyphens. You can also
prevent capitalized words and the last word in a paragraph from being hyphenated.
Set automatic hyphenation options for a paragraph
1. Click in a paragraph or select the range of paragraphs you want to affect.
2. Choose Hyphenation from the Paragraph panel menu.
3. Select the Hyphenate option.
4. Make changes to the following settings as needed, and then click OK:
Words With At Least _ Letters Specify the minimum number of characters for hyphenated words.
After First _ Letters / Before Last _ Letters Specify the minimum number of characters at the beginning or end of a word that can be
broken by a hyphen. For example, by specifying 3 for these values, aromatic would be hyphenated as aro- matic instead of ar- omatic or
aromat- ic.
Hyphen Limit _ Hyphens Specify the maximum number of hyphens that can appear on consecutive lines. Zero means unlimited hyphens.
Hyphenation Zone Specify the amount of white space allowed at the end of a line of unjustified text before hyphenation begins. This option
applies only when you’re using the Single-line Composer with nonjustified text.
Better Spacing / Fewer Hyphens To alter the balance between these settings, adjust the slider at the bottom of the dialog box.
Hyphenate Capitalized Words To prevent capitalized words from being hyphenated, deselect this option.
Hyphenate Last Word To prevent last words in paragraphs from being hyphenated, deselect this option.
Hyphenate Across Column To prevent words from being hyphenated across a column, frame, or page, deselect this option.
To the top
Prevent unwanted word breaks
By using nonbreaking hyphens, you can prevent certain words from breaking at all—for example, proper names or words which, when broken,
become unattractive fragments. By using nonbreaking spaces, you can also keep multiple words from breaking—for example, clusters of initials
and a last name (P. T. Barnum).
Prevent text from breaking
1. Select the text you want to keep on the same line.
2. Choose No Break from the Character panel menu or the Control panel menu.
Another way to prevent a word from breaking is to place a discretionary hyphen at the beginning of the word. Press Ctrl+Shift+- (Windows) or
Command+Shift+- (Mac OS) to insert a discretionary hyphen.
Create a nonbreaking hyphen
1. Using the Type tool
, click where you want to insert the hyphen.
2. Choose Type > Insert Special Character > Hyphens And Dashes > Nonbreaking Hyphen.
378
Create a nonbreaking space
1. Using the Type tool
, click where you want to insert the space.
2. Choose Type > Insert White Space> Nonbreaking Space (or any other white space character).
The Nonbreaking Space varies in width depending on point size, the justification setting, and word space settings, whereas the Nonbreaking
Space (Fixed Width) character maintains the same width regardless of context.
To the top
Change Justification settings
Use the Justification panel to precisely control how word spacing, letterspacing, and glyph scaling. Adjusting spacing is especially useful with
justified type, although you can also adjust spacing for unjustified type.
Adjust word and letterspacing in justified text
1. Insert the cursor in the paragraph you want to change, or select a type object or frame to change all of its paragraphs.
2. Choose Justification from the Paragraph panel menu.
3. Enter values for Word Spacing, Letter Spacing, and Glyph Spacing. The Minimum and Maximum values define a range of acceptable
spacing for justified paragraphs only. The Desired value defines the desired spacing for both justified and unjustified paragraphs:
Word Spacing The space between words that results from pressing the spacebar. Word Spacing values can range from 0% to 1000%; at
100%, no additional space is added between words.
Letter Spacing The distance between letters, including kerning or tracking values. Letter Spacing values can range from -100% to 500%: at
0%, no space is added between letters; at 100%, an entire space width is added between letters.
Glyph Scaling The width of characters (a glyph is any font character). Glyph Scaling values can range from 50% to 200%.
Spacing options are always applied to an entire paragraph. To adjust the spacing in a few characters, but not an entire paragraph, use
the Tracking option.
4. Set the Single Word Justification option to specify how you want to justify single-word paragraphs.
In narrow columns, a single word can occasionally appear by itself on a line. If the paragraph is set to full justification, a single word on a line
may appear to be too stretched out. Instead of leaving such words fully justified, you can center them or align them to the left or right
margins.
Set glyph scaling in justified text
1. Click an insertion point in a paragraph or select the paragraphs you want to affect.
2. Choose Justification from the Paragraph panel menu.
3. Type values for Glyph Scaling Minimum, Desired, and Maximum. Then click OK.
Before (top) and after (bottom) glyph scaling in justified text
Glyph scaling can help in achieving even justification; however, values more than 3% from the 100% default value may result in distorted letter
shapes. Unless you’re striving for a special effect, it’s best to keep glyph scaling to subtle values, such as 97–100–103.
Use a flush space with justified text
Using a flush space character adds a variable amount of space to the last line of a fully justified paragraph—between the last word and an end-ofstory character from a decorative font. Used with nonjustified text, the flush space appears as a normal word space. In justified text, it expands to
absorb all available extra space on the last line. Using a flush space can make a dramatic difference in the way the entire paragraph is formatted
by the Adobe Paragraph Composer.
379
Before and after adding a flush space character
1. Using the Type tool
, click directly in front of the end-of-story character.
2. Choose Type > Insert White Space > Flush Space.
Note: The effect of a flush space isn’t apparent until you apply the Justify All Lines option to the paragraph.
Highlight lines that are too loose or tight
Because composing a line of type involves factors in addition to word spacing and letterspacing (hyphenation preferences, for example), InDesign
cannot always honor your settings for word spacing and letterspacing. However, compositional problems in lines of text can be highlighted in
yellow; the darkest of three shades indicates the most serious problems.
1. Choose Edit > Preferences > Composition (Windows) or InDesign > Preferences > Composition (Mac OS).
2. Select H&J Violations and click OK.
More Help topics
Working with Text video
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
380
Tables
Adding headers and footers to tables (video 3:18)
Anne-Marie Concepcion (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
Watch this video to learn how to add headers and footer to tables in your InDesign layout.
Creating and formatting tables (video 6:29), CS3-CS6
Anne-Marie Concepcion (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
See how to create and format tables.
Placing images in tables (video 4:16), CS3-CS6
Anne-Marie Concepcion (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
Learn how to place an image into a table cell.
Working with Microsoft Word and Excel tables in InDesign (video 9:36), CS3-CS6
David Blatner (Jan. 1, 2011)
video-tutorial
Learn how to import or link tables from Word and Excel in InDesign. See how to import tables with or without formatting, and apply
formatting using styles in InDesign.
381
Creating tables
Create tables
Add text to a table
Add graphics to a table
Add table headers and footers
A table consists of rows and columns of cells. A cell is like a text frame in which you can add text, anchored frames, or other tables. Create tables
in Adobe InDesign CS5 or export them from other applications.
To the top
Create tables
A table consists of rows and columns of cells. A cell is like a text frame in which you can add text, inline graphics, or other tables. You can create
tables from scratch or by converting them from existing text. You can also embed a table within a table.
When you create a table, the new table fills the width of the container text frame. A table is inserted on the same line when the insertion point is at
the beginning of the line, or on the next line, when the insertion point is in the middle of a line.
Tables flow with surrounding text just as inline graphics do. For example, a table moves through threaded frames when the text above it changes in
point size or when text is added or deleted. However, a table cannot appear on a text-on-path frame.
For a video tutorial on creating and formatting tables, see www.adobe.com/go/vid0081.
Michael Murphy provides an article on creating and formatting tables at Mind Your Table Manners.
Jeff Witchell from InfiniteSkills.com provides a video demonstration on The basics of setting up tables.
Create a table from scratch
The table you create fills the width of the text frame.
1. Using the Type tool
, place the insertion point where you want the table to appear.
2. Choose Table > Insert Table.
3. Specify the numbers of rows and columns.
4. If your table contents will continue on more than one column or frame, specify the number of header or footer rows in which you want the
information to be repeated.
5. (Optional) Specify a table style.
6. Click OK.
The row height of a table is determined by the specified table style. For example, a table style may use cell styles to format different parts of the
table. If any of these cell styles include paragraph styles, the leading value of the paragraph styles determines the row height of that area. If no
paragraph style is used, the document’s default slug determines the row height. (The slug is based on the leading value. In this context, a slug is
the approximate height of the highlighting in selected text.)
Create a table from existing text
Before you convert text to a table, make sure that you set up the text properly.
1. To prepare the text for conversion, insert tabs, commas, paragraph returns, or another character to separate columns. Insert tabs, commas,
paragraph returns, or another character to separate rows. (In many instances, text can be converted to a table without having to be edited.)
2. Using the Type tool
, select the text you want to convert to a table.
3. Choose Table > Convert Text To Table.
4. For both Column Separator and Row Separator, indicate where new rows and columns should begin. Choose Tab, Comma, or Paragraph,
or type the character, such as a semicolon (;), in the Column Separator and Row Separator field. (Any character you type appears in the
menu the next time you create a table from text.)
5. If you specify the same separator for columns and rows, indicate the number of columns you want the table to include.
6. (Optional) Specify a table style to format the table.
7. Click OK.
If any row has fewer items than the number of columns in a table, empty cells fill out the row.
Embed a table within a table
1. Do one of the following:
382
Select the cells or table you want to embed, and then choose Edit > Cut or Copy. Place the insertion point in the cell where you want
the table to appear, and then choose Edit > Paste.
Click inside a cell, choose Table > Insert Table, specify the number of rows and columns, and then click OK.
2. Adjust the cell inset as necessary. (See Format text within a table.)
If you create a table within a cell, you cannot use the mouse to select any part of the table that oversets the cell boundary. Instead, expand the
row or column; or place the insertion point in the first part of the table, and use keyboard shortcuts to move the insertion point and select text.
Importing tables from other applications
When you use the Place command to import a Microsoft Word document that includes tables, or a Microsoft Excel spreadsheet, imported data is
an editable table. You can use the Import Options dialog box to control the formatting.
You can also paste data from an Excel spreadsheet or a Word table into an InDesign or InCopy document. The Clipboard Handling preference
settings determine how text pasted from another application is formatted. If Text Only is selected, the information appears as unformatted tabbed
text, which you can then convert to a table. If All Information is selected, the pasted text appears in a formatted table.
If you’re pasting text from another application into an existing table, insert enough rows and columns to accommodate the pasted text, select the
Text Only option in Clipboard Handling preferences, and make sure that at least one cell is selected (unless you want to embed the pasted table
into a cell).
If you want more control over formatting the imported table, or if you want to maintain spreadsheet formatting, use the Place command to import
the table. If you want to maintain a link to the spreadsheet, select the Create Links When Placing Text And Spreadsheet Files option in File
Handling preference settings.
You can also copy and paste tabbed text across a selection of table cells. This technique is a great way to replace content while preserving
formatting. For example, suppose you want to update the content of a formatting table in a monthly magazine. One possibility is to link to an
Excel spreadsheet. However, if your content comes from a different source, you can copy the tabbed text containing the new content, select the
range of cells in the formatted InDesign table, and paste.
To the top
Add text to a table
You can add text, anchored objects, XML tags, and other tables to table cells. The height of a table row expands to accommodate additional lines
of text, unless you set a fixed row height. You cannot add footnotes to tables.
Using the Type tool
, do any of the following:
Position the insertion point in a cell, and type text. Press Enter or Return to create a new paragraph in the same cell. Press Tab to move
forward through cells (pressing Tab in the last cell inserts a new row). Press Shift+Tab to move backwards through cells.
Copy text, position the insertion point in a cell, and then choose Edit > Paste.
Position the insertion point in a cell where you want to add text, choose File > Place, and then double-click a text file.
To the top
Add graphics to a table
For a video tutorial on placing images into a table, see www.adobe.com/go/vid0083.
Do any of the following:
Position the insertion point where you want the graphic, choose File > Place, and then double-click the graphic’s filename.
Position the insertion point where you want the graphic, choose Object > Anchored Object > Insert, and then specify settings. You can later
add a graphic to the anchored object.
Copy a graphic or a frame, position the insertion point, and then choose Edit > Paste.
When you add a graphic that is larger than the cell, the cell height expands to accommodate the graphic, but the width of the cell doesn’t change
—the graphic may extend beyond the right side of the cell. If the row in which the graphic is placed is set to a fixed height, a graphic that is taller
than the row height causes the cell to be overset.
To avoid an overset cell, you may want to place the image outside the table, resize the image, and then paste it into the table cell.
To the top
Add table headers and footers
When you create a long table, the table may span more than one column, frame, or page. You can use headers or footers to repeat the
information at the top or bottom of each divided portion of the table.
You can add header and footer rows when you create the table. You can also use the Table Options dialog box to add header and footer rows and
change how they appear in the table. You can convert body rows to header or footer rows.
383
Header rows repeated once per frame
To number tables sequentially, such as Table 1A, Table 1B, and so on, add a variable to the table header or footer. (See Create running
captions for figures and tables.)
For a video tutorial on creating table headers and footers, see www.adobe.com/go/vid0082.
Convert existing rows to header or footer rows
1. Select the rows at the top of the table to create header rows, or at the bottom of the table to create footer rows.
2. Choose Table > Convert Rows > To Header or To Footer.
Change header or footer row options
1. Place the insertion point in the table, and then choose Table > Table Options > Headers And Footers.
2. Specify the number of header or footer rows. Blank rows may be added to the top or bottom of the table.
3. Specify whether the information in the header or footer appears in every text column (if text frames have more than one column), once per
frame, or only once per page.
4. Select Skip First if you don’t want the header information to appear in the first row of the table. Select Skip Last if you don’t want the footer
information to appear in the last row of the table.
The Skip First option is especially useful if you want to indicate that the header or footer is continued. For example, for a table that spans
multiple pages, you may want the header text to be “Table 2 (Continued).” Since you don't want “(Continued)” to appear at the beginning of
the table, select Skip First, and simply type Table 2 in the first row of the table.
5. Click OK.
Remove header or footer rows
Do any of the following:
Place the insertion point in the header or footer row, and then choose Table > Convert Rows > To Body.
Choose Table > Table Options > Headers And Footers, and then specify a different number of header rows or footer rows.
More Help topics
Creating and Formatting Tables video
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
384
Selecting and editing tables
Select table cells, rows, and columns
Insert rows and columns
Delete rows, columns, or tables
Change the alignment of a table within a frame
Navigate within a table
Cut, copy, and paste table contents
Move or copy a table
Convert tables to text
Combine tables
Working with tables in Story Editor
To the top
Select table cells, rows, and columns
When you select part or all of the text in a cell, that selection has the same appearance as would text selected outside a table. However, if the
selection spans more than one cell, the cells and their contents are both selected.
If a table spans more than one frame, holding the mouse pointer over any header or footer row that is not the first header or footer row causes a
lock icon to appear, indicating that you cannot select text or cells in that row. To select cells in a header or footer row, go to the beginning of the
table.
Select cells
Using the Type tool
, do any of the following:
To select a single cell, click inside a cell, or select text, and then choose Table > Select > Cell.
To select multiple cells, drag across a cell border. Be careful not to drag the column or row line so that you don’t resize the table.
To switch between selecting all of the text in a cell and selecting the cell, press Esc.
Select entire columns or rows
Using the Type tool
, do any of the following:
Click inside a cell, or select text, and then choose Table > Select > Column or Row.
Move the pointer over the top edge of a column or the left edge of a row so that the pointer becomes an arrow shape (
click to select the entire column or row.
or
), and then
Before and after selecting Row
Select all header, body, or footer rows
1. Click inside a table, or select text.
2. Choose Table > Select > Header Rows, Body Rows, or Footer Rows.
Select the entire table
Using the Type tool
, do any of the following:
Click inside a table, or select text, and then choose Table > Select > Table.
Move the pointer over the upper left corner of the table so that the pointer becomes an arrow shape
table.
385
, and then click to select the entire
Before and after selecting table
Drag the Type tool across the entire table.
You can also select a table in the same way you select an anchored graphic—place the insertion point immediately before or after a table, and
then hold down Shift while pressing the Right Arrow key or Left Arrow key, respectively, to select the table.
To the top
Insert rows and columns
You can insert rows and columns using a number of different methods.
Insert a row
1. Place the insertion point in a row below or above where you want the new row to appear.
2. Choose Table > Insert > Row.
3. Specify the number of rows you want.
4. Specify whether the new row or rows should appear before or after the current row, and then click OK.
The new cells have the same formatting as the text in the row in which the insertion point was placed.
You can also create a new row by pressing Tab when the insertion point is in the last cell.
Insert a column
1. Place the insertion point in a column next to where you want the new column to appear.
2. Choose Table > Insert > Column.
3. Specify the number of columns you want.
4. Specify whether the new column or columns should appear before or after the current column, and then click OK.
The new cells have the same formatting as the text in the column in which the insertion point was placed.
Insert multiple rows and columns
1. With the insertion point in a cell, choose Table > Table Options > Table Setup.
2. Specify a different number of rows and columns, and then click OK.
New rows are added to the bottom of the table; new columns are added to the right side of the table.
You can also change the number of rows and columns using the Table panel. To display the Table panel, choose Window > Type & Tables >
Table.
Insert a row or column by dragging
When adding columns, if you drag more than one and one-half times the width of the column being dragged, new columns are added that have
the same width as the original column. If you drag to insert only one column, that column can have a narrower or wider width than the column
from where you dragged. The same behavior is true of rows, unless the Row Height for the row being dragged is set to At Least. In this case, if
you drag to create only one row, InDesign will resize the new row, if necessary, so that it’s tall enough to contain text.
1. Position the Type tool
over the border of a column or row so that a double-arrow icon (
or ) appears.
2. Hold down the mouse button, and then hold down Alt (Windows) or Option (Mac OS) while dragging down to create a new row, or to the
right to create a new column. (If you press Alt or Option before holding down the mouse button, the Hand tool appears—so make sure you
begin dragging before you press Alt or Option.)
Note: Dragging to insert rows or columns doesn’t work at the top or left edges of a table. These fields are used to select rows or columns.
To the top
Delete rows, columns, or tables
To delete a row, column, or table, place the insertion point inside the table, or select text in the table, and then choose Table > Delete >
Row, Column, or Table.
To delete rows and columns by using the Table Options dialog box, choose Table > Table Options > Table Setup. Specify a different
number of rows and columns, and then click OK. Rows are deleted from the bottom of the table; columns are deleted from the right side of
the table.
386
To delete a row or column by using the mouse, position the pointer over the border of the bottom or right side of the table so that a doublearrow icon (
or ) appears; hold down the mouse button; and then hold down Alt (Windows) or Option (Mac OS) while dragging either up
to delete rows, or to the left to delete columns.
Note: If you press Alt or Option before holding down the mouse button, the Hand tool will appear—so press Alt or Option after you begin
dragging.
To delete cell contents without deleting cells, select the cells containing the text you want to delete, or use the Type tool
within the cells. Press Backspace or Delete, or choose Edit > Clear.
to select the text
To the top
Change the alignment of a table within a frame
A table assumes the width of the paragraph or table cell in which it is created. However, you can change the size of the text frame or table so that
the table is wider or narrower than the frame. In such a case, you can decide where you want the table to be aligned within the frame.
1. Place the insertion point to the right or left of the table. Make sure that the text insertion point is placed on the table paragraph and not
inside the table. The insertion point becomes as tall as the table in the frame.
2. Click an alignment button (such as Align Center) in the Paragraph panel or Control panel.
To the top
Navigate within a table
Use the Tab or arrow keys to move within a table. You can also jump to a specific row, especially useful in long tables.
Move within a table using Tab
Press Tab to move to the next cell. If you press Tab in the last table cell, a new row is created. For information on inserting tabs and indents
in a table, see Format text within a table.
Press Shift+Tab to move to the previous cell. If you press Shift+Tab in the first table cell, the insertion point moves to the last table cell.
Move within a table using arrow keys
Press the arrow keys to navigate within and between table cells. If you press the Right Arrow key when the insertion point is at the end of the
last cell in a row, the insertion point moves to the beginning of the first cell in the same row. Similarly, if you press the Down Arrow key when the
insertion point is at the end of the last cell in a column, the insertion point moves to the beginning of the first cell in the same column.
Jump to a specific row in a table
1. Choose Table > Go To Row.
2. Do any of the following:
Specify the row number you want to jump to, and then click OK.
If a header or footer row is defined in the current table, choose Header or Footer from the menu, and then click OK.
To the top
Cut, copy, and paste table contents
When text is selected within a cell, cutting, copying, and pasting actions are the same as for text selected outside a table. You can also cut, copy,
and paste cells and their contents. If the insertion point is in a table when you paste, multiple pasted cells appear as a table within a table. You
can also move or copy the entire table.
1. Select the cells you want to cut or copy, and then choose Edit > Cut or Copy.
2. Do any of the following:
To embed a table within a table, place the insertion point in the cell where you want the table to appear, and then choose Edit > Paste.
To replace existing cells, select one or more cells in the table—making sure that there are sufficient cells below and to the right of the
selected cell—and then choose Edit > Paste.
To the top
Move or copy a table
1. To select the entire table, place the insertion point in the table and choose Table > Select > Table.
2. Choose Edit > Cut or Copy, move the insertion point where you want the table to appear, and then choose Edit > Paste.
To the top
Convert tables to text
1. Using the Type tool
, place the insertion point inside the table, or select text in the table.
2. Choose Table > Convert Table To Text.
387
3. For both Column Separator and Row Separator, specify the separators you want to use.
For best results, use a different separator for columns and rows, such as tabs for columns and paragraphs for rows.
4. Click OK.
When you convert a table to text, the table lines are removed and the separator you specify is inserted at the end of each row and column.
To the top
Combine tables
Use the Paste command to merge two or more tables into a single table.
1. In the target table, insert at least as many blank rows as you’ll be pasting from the other tables. (If you insert fewer rows than are copied,
you cannot paste.)
2. In the source table, select the cells you want to copy. (If you copy more column cells than are available in the target table, you cannot
paste.)
3. Select at least one cell where you want the incoming rows to be inserted, and then choose Edit > Paste.
If the pasted rows use different formatting than the rest of the table, define one or more cell styles, and then apply the cell styles to the pasted
cells. Hold down Alt (Windows) or Option (Mac OS) while clicking the cell style to override existing formatting.
Anne-Marie Concepcion provides an article about combining tables at Joining Tables.
To the top
Working with tables in Story Editor
When you choose Edit > Edit In Story Editor, tables and their contents appear in Story Editor. You can edit tables in Story Editor.
Editing tables in Story Editor
A. Table icon C. Overset graphic
To expand or collapse the table in Story Editor, click the triangle to the left of the table icon at the top of the table.
To determine whether the table is sorted by rows or columns, right-click (Windows) or Ctrl-click (Mac OS) the table icon and choose Arrange
By Rows or Arrange By Columns.
Use Layout view to modify and format the table. You cannot select columns or rows in Story Editor.
More Help topics
388
Formatting tables
Formatting tables
Resize columns, rows, and tables
Change the spacing before or after a table
Break tables across frames
Add text before a table
Format text within a table
Merge and split cells
Work with overset cells
To the top
Formatting tables
Use the Control panel or Character panel to format text within a table—just like formatting text outside a table. In addition, two main dialog boxes
help you format the table itself: Table Options and Cell Options. Use these dialog boxes to change the number of rows and columns, to change
the appearance of the table border and fill, to determine the spacing above and below the table, to edit header and footer rows, and to add other
table formatting.
Use the Table panel, the Control panel, or the context menu to format the table structure. Select one or more cells and then right-click (Windows)
or Control-click (Mac OS) to display a context menu with table options.
For a video tutorial on creating and formatting tables, see www.adobe.com/go/vid0081.
To the top
Resize columns, rows, and tables
You can resize columns, rows, and tables using a number of different methods.
Resize columns and rows
1. Select cells in the columns and rows you want to resize.
2. Do one of the following:
In the Table panel, specify Column Width and Row Height settings.
Choose Table > Cell Options > Rows And Columns, specify Row Height and Column Width options, and then click OK.
Note: If you select At Least to set a minimum row height, rows increase in height as you add text or increase the point size. If you
select Exactly to set a fixed row height, the row height does not change when you add or remove text. A fixed row height often results in
an overset condition in the cell. (See Work with overset cells.)
Position the pointer over the edge of a column or row so that a double-arrow icon (
or ) appears, and then drag left or right to
increase or decrease the column width, or drag up or down to increase or decrease row height.
Before and after dragging to resize rows
By default, row height is determined by the slug height of the current font. Thus, row height also changes if you change the point size of type for
entire rows of text, or if you change the row height setting. The maximum row height is determined by the Maximum setting in the Rows And
Columns section of the Cell Options dialog box.
Resize rows or columns without changing the table width
Hold down Shift while dragging an inside row or column edge (not the table boundary). One row or column gets bigger as the other gets
smaller.
To resize rows or columns proportionally, hold down Shift while dragging the right table border or bottom table edge.
Holding down Shift while dragging the right table edge will resize all the columns proportionally; holding down Shift while dragging the bottom table
edge will resize all rows proportionally.
389
Resize the entire table
Using the Type tool , position the pointer over the lower-right corner of the table so that the pointer becomes an arrow shape
drag to increase or decrease the table size. Hold down Shift to maintain the table’s height and width proportions.
Note: If the table spans more than one frame in a story, you cannot use the pointer to resize the entire table.
, and then
Distribute columns and rows evenly
1. Select cells in the columns or rows that should be the same width or height.
2. Choose Table > Distribute Rows Evenly or Distribute Columns Evenly.
To the top
Change the spacing before or after a table
1. Place the insertion point in the table and choose Table > Table Options > Table Setup.
2. Under Table Spacing, specify different values for Space Before and Space After, and then click OK.
Note that changing the spacing before the table does not affect the spacing of a table row that falls at the top of a frame.
To the top
Break tables across frames
Use Keep options to determine how many rows should remain together, or to specify where a row breaks, such as at the top of a column or frame.
When you create a table that is taller than the frame in which it resides, the frame is overset. If you thread the frame to another frame, the table
continues in that frame. Rows move into threaded frames one at a time—you can’t break a single row across multiple frames. Specify header or
footer rows to repeat information in the new frame.
1. Position the insertion point in the appropriate row, or select a range of cells in the rows you want to keep together.
2. Choose Table > Cell Options > Rows And Columns.
3. To keep the selected rows together, select Keep With Next Row.
4. To cause the row to break in a specified location, select an option (such as In Next Frame) from the Start Row menu, and then click OK.
If you create a single table that spans both pages of a spread, you may want to add a blank column in the middle of the table to create inset
margins.
To the top
Add text before a table
A table is anchored to the paragraphs that immediately precede and follow it. If you insert a table at the beginning of the text frame, you can’t click
above the table to place an insertion point. Instead, use the arrow keys to move the insertion point before the table.
Place the insertion point at the beginning of the paragraph in the first cell, press the Left Arrow key, and begin typing.
To the top
Format text within a table
In general, use the same methods to format text in a table that you would use to format text that’s not in a table.
Insert tabs into a table cell
When the insertion point is in a table, pressing Tab moves the insertion point to the next cell. However, you can insert a tab within a table cell. Use
the Tabs panel to define tab settings in the table. Tab settings affect the paragraph in which the insertion point is placed.
1. Using the Type tool
, place the insertion point where you want to insert a tab.
2. Choose Type > Insert Special Character > Other > Tab.
To change tab settings, select the columns or cells you want to affect, choose Type > Tabs to display the Tabs panel, and then adjust tab
settings.
Note: When you use the Tabs ruler to apply a decimal tab to a cell or group of cells, you usually don’t need to press Tab at the beginning of each
paragraph to decimal-align the text in the cells. Paragraphs are automatically aligned on the decimal character, unless the paragraph contains
additional formatting, such as center alignment, that overrides the decimal tab.
Change the alignment of text within a table cell
1. Using the Type tool
, select the cell or cells you want to affect.
2. Choose Table > Cell Options > Text.
3. Under Vertical Justification, select an Align setting: Align Top, Align Center, Align Bottom, or Justify Vertically.
If you select Justify, specify the Paragraph Spacing Limit; this will set a maximum amount of space to be added between paragraphs. (See
Align or justify text vertically within a text frame.)
390
4. For First Baseline, select an option to determine how text is to be offset from the top of the cell.
The settings are the same as the corresponding settings in the Text Frame Options dialog box. (See Change text frame properties.)
5. Click OK.
Note: To change the horizontal alignment of text within a cell, use the alignment option in the Paragraph panel. To align text in a cell to a decimal
tab, use the Tabs panel to add a decimal tab setting.
Rotate text in a cell
1. Position the insertion point in the cell you want to rotate, or select the cells you want to affect.
2. Choose Table > Cell Options > Text, or display the Table panel.
3. Select a value for Rotation, and click OK.
Change cell inset spacing
1. Using the Type tool
, place the insertion point in or select the cell or cells you want to affect.
2. Choose Table > Cell Options > Text, or display the Table panel.
3. Under Cell Insets, specify values for Top, Bottom, Left, and Right, and then click OK.
In many cases, increasing the cell inset spacing will increase the row height. If the row height is set at a fixed value, make sure that you leave
enough room for the inset values, to avoid causing overset text.
To the top
Merge and split cells
You can merge (combine) or split (divide) cells in a table.
Merge cells
You can combine two or more cells in the same row or column into a single cell. For example, you can merge the cells in the top row of the table
to create a single cell to be used for the table title.
1. Using the Type tool
, select the cells you want to merge.
2. Choose Table > Merge Cells.
Unmerge cells
Place the insertion point in the merged cell and choose Table > Unmerge Cells.
Split cells
You can split cells horizontally or vertically, which is especially useful when creating form tables. You can select multiple cells and split them
vertically or horizontally.
1. Place the insertion point in the cell you want to split, or select a row, column, or block of cells.
2. Choose Table > Split Cell Vertically or Split Cell Horizontally.
To the top
Work with overset cells
In most cases, a table cell will expand vertically to accommodate new text and graphics being added. However, if you set a fixed row height and
add text or graphics that are too large for the cell, a small red dot appears in the lower-right corner of the cell, indicating that the cell is overset.
You cannot flow overset text into another cell. Instead, edit or resize the contents, or expand the cell or the text frame in which the table appears.
In the case of inline graphics or text with fixed leading, it is possible for the cell contents to extend beyond cell edges. You can select the Clip
Contents To Cell option, so that any text or inline graphics that otherwise extend beyond any cell edge are clipped to the cell boundary. However,
when inline graphics are overset to extend beyond cell bottom edges (Horizontal), this does not apply.
Display the contents of an overset cell
Do one of the following:
Increase the size of the cell.
Change the text formatting. To select the cell’s contents, click in the overset cell, press Esc, and then use the Control panel to format the
text.
Clip an image in a cell
If an image is too large for a cell, it extends beyond the cell borders. You can clip the parts of the image that extend beyond the cell borders.
1. Place the insertion point in the cell you want to clip, or select the cell or cells you want to affect.
391
2. Choose Table > Cell Options > Text.
3. Select Clip Contents To Cell, and then click OK.
More Help topics
Creating and Formatting Tables video
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
392
Table strokes and fills
About table strokes and fills
Change the table border
Add stroke and fill to cells
Add diagonal lines to a cell
Table stroke and fill options
Alternate strokes and fills in a table
To the top
About table strokes and fills
You can add strokes and fills to your tables in a number of ways. Use the Table Options dialog box to change the stroke of the table border, and
to add alternating strokes and fills to columns and rows. To change the strokes and fills of individual cells or header/footer cells, use the Cell
Options dialog box, or use the Swatches, Stroke, and Color panels.
By default, the formatting you select using the Table Options dialog box overrides any corresponding formatting previously applied to table cells.
However, if you select the Preserve Local Formatting option in the Table Options dialog box, the strokes and fills applied to individual cells are not
overridden.
If you use the same formatting repeatedly for tables or cells, create and apply table styles or cell styles.
To the top
Change the table border
You can change the table border by using either the Table Setup dialog box or the Stroke panel.
1. With the insertion point in a cell, choose Table > Table Options > Table Setup.
2. Under Table Border, specify the desired weight, type, color, tint, and gap settings. (See Table stroke and fill options.)
3. Under Stroke Drawing Order, select the drawing order from the following options:
Best Joins If selected, row strokes will appear to the front at the points where strokes of different colors cross. In addition, when strokes
such as double lines cross, the strokes are joined and the crossing points are connected.
Row Strokes In Front If selected, row strokes appear in front.
Column Strokes In Front If selected, column strokes appear in front.
InDesign 2.0 Compatibility If selected, row strokes appear in front. In addition, when strokes such as double lines cross, they are joined
and the crossing points are connected only at points where strokes cross in a T-shape.
4. If you do not want stroke formatting of individual cells to be overridden, select Preserve Local Formatting.
5. Click OK.
If you remove the stroke and fill from a table, choose View > Extras > Show Frame Edges to display the cell boundaries of a table.
To the top
Add stroke and fill to cells
You can add stroke and fill to cells using the Cell Options dialog box, Stroke panel, or Swatches panel.
Add stroke and fill using Cell Options
You can determine which cell lines are formatted with a stroke or fill by selecting or deselecting lines in the Preview proxy. If you want to change
the appearance of all rows or columns in the table, use an alternating stroke or fill pattern in which the second pattern is set to 0.
1. Using the Type tool , place the insertion point in or select the cell or cells in which you want to add a stroke or fill. To add a stroke or fill to
header/footer rows, select the header/footer cells at the beginning of the table.
2. Choose Table > Cell Options > Strokes And Fills.
3. In the proxy preview area, specify which lines will be affected by stroke changes. For example, if you want to add a heavy stroke to the
outside lines but not to the inside lines of the selected cells, click an inside line to deselect it. (Selected lines are blue; deselected lines are
gray.)
393
Select the lines you want to affect in proxy preview area.
In the proxy preview area, double-click any outside line to select the entire outer selection rectangle. Double-click any inside line to select
the inside lines. Triple-click anywhere in the proxy to select or deselect all lines.
4. For Cell Stroke, specify desired weight, type, color, tint, and gap settings. (See Table stroke and fill options.)
5. For Cell Fill, specify desired color and tint settings.
6. Select Overprint Stroke and Overprint Fill if desired, and then click OK.
Add a stroke to cells using the Stroke panel
1. Select the cell or cells you want to affect. To apply a stroke to header or footer cells, select the header or footer row.
2. Choose Window > Stroke to display the Stroke panel.
3. In the proxy preview area, specify which lines will be affected by stroke changes.
4. In the Tools panel, make sure the Object button
the cells.)
is selected. (If the Text button
is selected, the stroke changes will affect the text, not
5. Specify a weight value and stroke type.
Add a fill to cells using the Swatches panel
1. Select the cell or cells you want to affect. To apply a fill to header or footer cells, select the header or footer row.
2. Choose Window > Color > Swatches to display the Swatches panel.
3. Make sure the Object button
is selected. (If the Text button
is selected, the color changes will affect the text, not the cells.)
4. Select a swatch.
Add a gradient to cells using the Gradient panel
1. Select the cells you want to affect. To apply a gradient to header or footer cells, select the header or footer row.
2. Choose Window > Color > Gradient to display the Gradient panel.
3. Click in the Gradient Ramp to apply a gradient to the selected cells. Adjust the gradient settings as necessary.
To the top
Add diagonal lines to a cell
1. Using the Type tool
, place the insertion point in or select the cell or cells in which you want to add diagonal lines.
2. Choose Table > Cell Options > Diagonal Lines.
3. Click the button for the type of diagonal line you want to add.
4. Under Line Stroke, specify desired weight, type, color, and gap settings; specify a Tint percentage and Overprint options.
5. From the Draw menu, choose Diagonal In Front to place the diagonal line in front of the cell contents; choose Content In Front to place the
diagonal line behind the cell contents, and then click OK.
To the top
Table stroke and fill options
When selecting strokes and fills for the table or cells, use the following options:
Weight Specifies the line thickness for the table or cell border.
Type Specifies the line style, such as Thick - Thin.
Color Specifies the color of the table or cell border. The choices listed are those available in the Swatches panel.
Tint Specifies the percentage of ink of the specified color to be applied to the stroke or fill.
Gap Color Applies a color to the areas between the dashes, dots, or lines. This option is not available if Solid is selected for Type.
Gap Tint Applies tint to the areas between the dashes, dots, or lines. This option is not available if Solid is selected for Type.
Overprint When selected, causes the ink specified in the Color drop-down list to be applied over any underlying colors, rather than knocking out
those inks.
To the top
394
Alternate strokes and fills in a table
You can alternate strokes and fills to enhance readability or improve the appearance of your table. Alternating strokes and fills in table rows does
not affect header and footer rows. However, alternating strokes and fills in columns does affect header and footer rows.
Alternating stroke and fill settings override cell stroke formatting, unless you select the Preserve Local Formatting option in the Table Options
dialog box.
If you want to apply a fill or stroke to every body cell in the table, and not just alternating patterns, you can still use the alternating stroke and
fill settings to create such non-alternating patterns. To create such an effect, specify 0 for Next in the second pattern.
Before (left) and after (right) alternating fills in a table
Add alternating strokes to a table
1. With the insertion point in a cell, choose Table > Table Options > Alternating Row Strokes or Alternating Column Strokes.
2. For Alternating Pattern, select the type of pattern you want to use. Select Custom if you want to specify a pattern; for example, one column
with a thick black line followed by three columns with thin yellow lines.
3. Under Alternating, specify the fill options for both the first pattern and the next pattern. For example, you may want to add a solid stroke to
the first column and a Thick - Thin line to the next column, so that they alternate. Specify 0 for Next if you want the strokes to affect every
row or column.
Note: In tables that span multiple frames, alternating strokes and fills for rows do not restart at the beginning of additional frames in the
story. (See Break tables across frames.)
4. Select Preserve Local Formatting if you want formatted strokes previously applied to the table to remain in effect.
5. For Skip First and Skip Last, specify the number of rows or columns at the beginning and end of the table in which you do not want stroke
attributes to appear, and then click OK.
Add alternating fills to a table
1. With the insertion point in a cell, choose Table > Table Options > Alternating Fills.
2. For Alternating Pattern, select the type of pattern you want to use. Select Custom if you want to specify a pattern, such as one row shaded in
gray followed by three rows shaded in yellow.
3. Under Alternating, specify the fill options for both the first pattern and the subsequent pattern. For example, if you selected Every Second
Column for Alternating Pattern, you may want to shade the first two columns in a gray tint and leave the next two columns blank. Specify 0
for Next if you want the fill to apply to every row.
4. Select Preserve Local Formatting if you want previously formatted fills applied to the table to remain in effect.
5. For Skip First and Skip Last, specify the number of rows or columns at the beginning and end of the table in which you do not want fill
attributes to appear, and then click OK.
Turn off alternating strokes and fills in a table
1. Place the insertion point in the table.
2. Choose Table > Table Options > Alternating Row Strokes, Alternating Column Strokes, or Alternating Fills.
3. For Alternating Pattern, choose None, and then click OK.
More Help topics
Legal Notices | Online Privacy Policy
395
Table and cell styles
About table and cell styles
Table/Cell Styles panels overview
Define table and cell styles
Load (import) table styles from other documents
Apply table and cell styles
Base one table or cell style on another
Edit table and cell styles
Delete table and cell styles
Redefine table or cell styles based on current formatting
Override table and cell styles
Break the link to table or cell styles
To the top
About table and cell styles
Just as you use text styles to format text, you can use table and cell styles to format tables. A table style is a collection of table formatting
attributes, such as table borders and row and column strokes, that can be applied in a single step. A cell style includes formatting such as cell
insets, paragraph styles, and strokes and fills. When you edit a style, all tables or cells to which the style is applied are updated automatically.
Note: There is one important difference between text styles and table styles. While all character styles attributes can be part of a paragraph style,
cell style attributes are not part of the table style. For example, you cannot use a table style to change the border color of interior cells. Instead,
create a cell style and include it in the table style.
[Basic Table] and [None] styles
By default, each new document contains a [Basic Table] style that can be applied to tables you create and a [None] style that can be used to
remove cell styles applied to cells. You can edit the [Basic Table] style, but you can’t rename or delete either [Basic Table] or [None].
Using cell styles in table styles
When you create a table style, you can specify which cell styles are applied to different regions of the table: header and footer rows, left and right
columns, and body rows. For example, for the header row, you can assign a cell style that applies a paragraph style, and for the left and right
columns, you can assign different cell styles that apply shaded backgrounds.
Cell styles applied to regions in table style
A. Header row formatted with cell style that includes paragraph style B. Left column C. Body cells D. Right column
Cell style attributes
Cell styles do not necessarily include all the formatting attributes of a selected cell. When you create a cell style, you can determine which
attributes are included. That way, applying the cell style changes only the desired attributes, such as cell fill color, and ignores all other cell
attributes.
Formatting precedence in styles
If a conflict occurs in formatting applied to a table cell, the following order of precedence determines which formatting is used:
Cell style precedence 1. Header/Footer 2. Left column/Right column 3. Body rows. For example, if a cell appears in both the header and the left
column, the formatting from the header cell style is used.
Table style precedence 1. Cell overrides 2. Cell style 3. Cell styles applied from a table style 4. Table overrides 5. Table styles. For example, if
you apply one fill using the Cell Options dialog box and another fill using the cell style, the fil">
Download
Advertisement
Key features
Modernized user interface with adjustable dark/light themes.
Native HiDPI support for high-resolution displays (Mac OS).
64-bit application for faster processing and increased RAM access on Mac and Windows.
Generate and edit high-quality vector QR codes directly within InDesign.
Enhanced Font menu with search, sub-menus for families, live preview, and favorite font management.
Simplified and advanced EPUB export workflows with TOC and Index support.
Improved CSS generation for cleaner exported files with options for Emit CSS.
Object style to export tag mapping for consistent content handling.
New Adobe Exchange panel for discovering and installing content, plug-ins, and scripts.
Frequently asked questions
InDesign CC introduces a modernized user interface with dark, medium light, light, and medium dark themes. You can adjust the brightness from the Interface option in Preferences and match the pasteboard to the theme color.
With 64-bit support on both Mac and Windows, InDesign CC can leverage RAM beyond 3GB, resulting in faster general processing and the ability to work with several large files simultaneously.
You can generate and edit high-quality independent QR code graphics from within InDesign CC via Menu > Object > Generate QR Code, or by right-clicking an empty frame and selecting the option. The generated QR code behaves like native vector art.
The Font menu in InDesign CC allows searching fonts by any part of the name, showing fonts with families in a sub-menu, applying font selection to selected text using arrow keys for preview, and managing favorite fonts for easy access.
Yes, EPUB export workflows are simplified, supporting table of contents (TOC) and Index stories with live hyperlinks. There are options for exporting without CSS, more control over CSS emission, tidier CSS generation, and object style to export tag mapping.