Qoppa Software PDF Studio 6 PDF Studio User Guide
Reklama
Reklama
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Table of Contents
Getting Started with PDF Studio
....................................................................... 3
............................................................................................ 7
Apply Headers and Footers to a Batch ......................................................... 8
Apply Watermark to a Batch .................................................................... 10
Extract Images from a Batch .................................................................... 14
Remove a Bookmark ............................................................................... 32
Bookmark from Selected Text .................................................................. 34
Rename a Bookmark ............................................................................... 35
Edit Properties of a Bookmark .................................................................. 36
Automatically Create Bookmarks .............................................................. 38
Comments and Annotations ........................................................................ 39
Move or Resize an Annotation .................................................................. 43
Copy and Paste Annotations ..................................................................... 44
Paste a Clipboard Image as a Stamp ......................................................... 46
Paste Clipboard Text as a Text Box ........................................................... 46
Set a Status or Check mark ..................................................................... 46
Measurement Annotations ....................................................................... 58
Miscellaneous Annotations ....................................................................... 64
iii
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
................................................................................. 66
................................................................................. 66
Text Search, Extraction, Selection & Markup .............................................. 68
Merge and Split Documents ..................................................................... 79
Create a Digital Signature Field ................................................................ 85
Modify a Digital Signature Field ................................................................ 86
Manage Trusted Certificates ..................................................................... 92
View Current Security Settings ................................................................. 97
Change Current Security Settings ............................................................. 99
Save the attached file to your computer .................................................. 105
Creating and applying a new header and footer ........................................ 107
Header and footer options ..................................................................... 107
Apply an existing header and footer ........................................................ 110
Images Export and Import ....................................................................... 113
Import Images as Pages ........................................................................ 116
iv
Table of Contents
Import an Image as a Stamp ................................................................. 117
...................................................................... 119
.................................................................... 119
Download Documents ........................................................................... 141
Download Documents ........................................................................... 158
Fill and Save PDF Forms ........................................................................ 167
v
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Append Document ................................................................................ 175
Cut, Copy, and Paste Pages ................................................................... 179
Split a PDF document / Create a new split configuration ............................ 180
Split a PDF document using an existing split configuration ......................... 183
Create an image stamp ......................................................................... 188
Create a custom stamp ......................................................................... 191
Split a PDF document / Create a new split configuration ............................ 199
Split a PDF document using an existing split configuration ......................... 202
Text Search, Extraction, Selection & Markup .................................................. 205
Text Search, Extraction, Selection & Markup ............................................... 205
Squiggly Underline Text ........................................................................ 211
Open the Preferences dialog .................................................................. 215
vi
Table of Contents
Annotations Preferences ........................................................................ 217
Text To PDF Preferences ........................................................................ 221
Recent Comments ................................................................................ 223
Create and apply a new text or image watermark ..................................... 225
Apply an existing watermark .................................................................. 228
vii
Introduction
PDF Studio is an easy to use, yet powerful program to work with PDF documents within your workflow. You can start by creating your own PDF documents using the
scan-to-PDF feature, converting supported file types
option under File, or work with existing PDF documents created by other sources. PDF Studio then allows you to add annotations to the documents, headers and footers, bookmarks, stamp the documents with text and images, and to perform other functions such as splitting and merging, setting passwords and more...
PDF Studio uses Qoppa Software proprietary technology to view and modify PDF files so there is no need to purchase Adobe Acrobat® or any other software.
Written entirely in Java, it is also platform independent and can run on Windows,
Mac, Linux. Simply download, install and start working with PDF files immediately.
1
Getting Started with PDF Studio
To start using PDF studio, simply launch the program and open a PDF document using either the File>Open menu or the Open button on the toolbar. Once a document is loaded, you can print, save or navigate through the document at any time using the document toolbar.
Screenshot of PDF Studio Application with Thumbnails View on the left pane and Comments View on the bottom pane
•
The main menu toolbar
contains the following entries: o
File – Usual functions to work with PDF files, including opening, creating, saving, reverting, etc. o o o o
Edit – Search, tool selection, and Preferences.
View – Navigation panel selection, magnification options, and navigation.
Scan – Scan images into the current or a new document.
Document – Manipulate pages, split, merge, rotate, add headers and footers.
3
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
•
• o o o o o
Comments – Add new annotations and stamps, export, import or delete comments.
Forms – Export and import form data, reset fields and flatten fields.
Images – Export pages as images and import images.
Batch – Print a batch, apply actions to a batch, set security to a batch, etc...
Help – Access to documentation, send an email to support, information about PDF Studio.
The annotations toolbar
is used to add new annotations.
The left pane of the applications allows to switch back and forth between four different views available. It can be opened or closed by clicking the little arrow icons on the separator between the document view and the pane. The separator can also be moved to the left or to the right to decrease or increase the width of the pane. The views available are the
following:
•
1.
The Thumbnails Pane to view miniature versions of all the pages in the documents. By clicking on a thumbnail, the application will go to the corresponding page. This allows you to have easy, faster access to any page in the document.
Thumbnails can be dragged and dropped within a document to move pages, or across documents to copy pages into another document. You can also drag supported file types to the thumbnail pane to add them as PDF Pages. To see the thumbnail view, click on the Pages tab.
2.
The Bookmarks Pane to view bookmarks or the document's table of contents, if present. Bookmarks allow navigation by navigating through the bookmarked regions. To see the bookmarks view, click on the Bookmarks tab.
3.
The Signatures Pane to view digital signatures that have been applied to the document.
4.
The Layers Pane to view layers contained in the document, if any. You can turn layers on and off by checking them on or off.
4
Getting Started
•
•
On the right pane of the application, the Tool Chest Pane allows to
view and apply frequently used comments.
On the bottom pane of the application,
the Comments view allows t
o view comments / annotations added to the document, if any. This view allows navigation through the document by jumping from one annotation to another. To see the comments view, click on the
Comments button at the bottom of the left pane. The comments pane can be open or closed by clicking the little arrow icons on the separator between the document view and the pane. The separator can also be moved up or down to decrease or increase the height of the pane.
Screenshot of PDF Studio Frame with Bookmarks View
5
Batch Processing
Batch Processing
Batch processing is a simple, fast way to modify multiple documents. A batch
process is configured by choosing the documents to be modified ,
setting any necessary passwords , and configuring the job specific options:
Apply Headers and Footers to a Batch
Choose Batch Files
Files may be added, removed, and re-ordered using the file chooser table:
1. - Produces a file chooser that allows the user to add individual files to the list.
2. - Produces a file chooser that adds the contents of a directory to the list.
7
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
3. - Removes the selected file(s) from the list.
4. - Moves the selected file(s) up the list.
5. - Moves the selected file(s) down the list.
6. - When checked, all files from the default batch directory will be added to the file list each time a batch dialog is opened.
Set Open Passwords
Some files may require a password to be opened. The user can enter up to four passwords, which the batch process will use to attempt to open any password protected files.
Apply Headers and Footers to a Batch
This feature allows users to add a header or footer to a batch of documents. The processed documents are either saved to a new folder or saved over the previous files.
To apply a header and footer to a batch of PDF documents:
•
From the top toolbar, choose Batch > Apply Header to a Batch.
8
The application will open the Apply Header to a Batch dialog.
Batch Processing
•
Configure the Add Header/Footer Batch:
9
PDF Studio 6 User Guide o o o o
Select Header/Footer
– Select the header/footer to apply from the combo box in the upper left of the dialog.
Configure output –
In the "Save to Files" section, select either
"Overwrite Source Files" or "Destination Folder." If the "Overwrite
Source Files" is selected, output files will be saved over the corresponding source files. In the latter case, output files will be saved to the directory in the text field. If files are saved to a new folder, the user can check "Overwrite Files" to save over any files in that folder with the same name. If this option is not checked, a number will be appended to the output file name, to avoid naming collision.
Apply Watermark to a Batch
This feature allows users to add a watermark to a batch of documents. The processed documents are either saved to a new folder or saved over the previous files.
To apply a watermark to a batch of PDF documents:
•
From the top toolbar, choose Batch > Apply Watermark to a Batch.
10
The application will open the Apply Watermark to a Batch Dialog.
Batch Processing
•
Configure the Add Watermark Batch: o
Select Watermark
– Select the watermark to apply from the combo box in the upper left of the dialog. This combo box contains all the o o o watermarks in PDF Studio. The "Add" and "Edit" buttons next to this box will open the Create/Edit Watermark Dialog.
Configure output – in the "Save Files To" section, select either
"Overwrite Source Files" or "Destination Folder." If the "Overwrite
Source Files" is selected, output files will be saved over the corresponding source files. In the latter case, output files will be saved to the directory in the text field. If files are saved to a new folder, the user can check "Overwrite files" to save over any files in that folder with the same name. If this option is not checked, a number will be appended to the output file name, to avoid naming collision.
11
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Crop a Batch
This feature allows users to adjust the crop margins of a batch of documents. The processed documents are either saved to a new folder or saved over the previous files.
To crop a batch of documents
•
From the top toolbar, choose Batch > Crop a Batch.
The application will open the Crop Pages dialog.
12
Batch Processing
•
Configure the Crop Batch: o
Set Crop Margins
– Set the top, bottom, left, and/or right margins for the crop, bleed, trim, and/or art boxes. o o o
Configure output – In the "Save Files To" sections, select either
"Overwrite Source Files" or "Destination Folder." If the "Overwrite
Source Files" is selected, output files will be saved over the corresponding files. In the latter case, output files will be saved to the directory in the text field. If files are saved to a new folder, the user can check "Overwrite Files" to save over any files in that folder
13
PDF Studio 6 User Guide with the same name. If this option is not checked, a number will be appended to the output file name, to avoid naming collision.
Extract Images from a Batch
This feature extracts images from a batch of documents. Each page of each document will be saved as an image file.
To extract images from a batch of PDF documents:
•
From the top toolbar, choose Batch > Extract Images for Batch.
The application will open the Extract Images dialog.
14
Batch Processing
•
Configure the Extract Images Batch: o
Configure image options.
Image Format – Choose from JPEG, PNG, TIFF, GIF.
DPI Resolution – Set the resolution used to render the page.
JPEG quality – The quality of JPEG compression, ranges from 0 to 10. Generally 8 is high quality, 5 is medium quality, and 2 is low quality. o o o
Configure output – In the "Save Files To" section, select the directory to save output files to. If "overwrite files" is checked, any existent file in the output directory with the same name as an output
15
PDF Studio 6 User Guide file will be saved over. Otherwise, a number will be appended to the output file to avoid naming collision.
Extract Text from a Batch
This feature extracts text from multiple PDF documents in a single action. Each document will output a text file with the text content of that document.
To extract text from a batch of PDF documents:
•
From the top toolbar, choose Batch > Extract Text for Batch
The application will open the Extract Text dialog.
16
Batch Processing
•
Configure the Extract Text Batch: o o o
Configure output
– In the "Save Files To" section, select the directory to save output files to. If "Overwrite Files" is checked, any existent file in the output directory with the same name as an output file will be saved over. Otherwise, a number will be appended to the output file name to avoid name collision.
Merge a Batch
This feature allows users to merge multiple documents in a single action. It will
convert all supported non-PDF files into PDF.
To merge a batch of documents:
•
From the top toolbar, choose Batch > Merge a Batch.
17
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
The application will open the Batch Merge dialog.
18
•
Configure the Merge:
Batch Processing o o o
Configure output
•
In the "Results" section, select "Open" to open the document
• without saving, or enter a full path under "Save As".
Add a bookmark for each merged document - When selected, the output document will have a bookmark for each of the merged documents.
Preflight a Batch
This feature allows users to preflight a batch of documents. After the process completes, the results of the preflighting are displayed in a dialog:
To preflight a batch of PDF documents:
•
From the top toolbar, choose Batch > Preflight a Batch.
19
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
The application will open the Batch Preflight dialog.
20
Batch Processing
•
Configure the Preflight Batch: o
Set Preflight Profile
– Select a preflight compliance standard from:
PDF/X-1A:2001 o o o
PDF/X-1A:2003
PDF/X-3:2002
PDF/X-2:2003
Results
– In addition to displaying the preflight results dialog, results can be persisted in a variety of configurable ways. If preflighting encounters any errors, these errors can be added to the document as annotations and/or a report detailing the errors can be created. The report is either appended to the document or saved as a new document. The modified document and/or the new report document are saved to the destination folder.
Print a Batch
This feature allows users to print multiple PDF documents in a single action.
To print a batch of PDF documents:
•
From the top toolbar, choose Batch > Print a Batch.
The application will open the Batch Print dialog.
21
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
•
Configure the Print: o o
Set Initial View for a Batch
This feature allows users to modify the properties that determine how the document will be initially displayed of multiple PDF documents in a single action.
To set initial view on a batch of PDF documents:
•
From the top toolbar, choose Batch > Set Initial View for a Batch.
22
Batch Processing
The application will open the Set Initial View for a Batch dialog.
23
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
24
•
Configure the Initial View: o
Navigation Tab – Set which navigation tab if any is automatically opened when the document is opened.
•
•
• o
Page Layout – Set whether there will be a single page or two facing pages as the layout, and whether or not the layout will be continuous. o
Magnification – Set the initial magnification level for the document. o
Open To Page – Set the page the document is opened to.
Configure Output – In the "Save Files To" section, select either
"Overwrites Source Files" or "Destination Folder." If the former is selected, output files will be saved over the corresponding source files. In the latter
Batch Processing case, output files will be saved to the directory in the text field. If files are saved to a new folder, the user can check "Overwrite files" to save over any files in that folder with the same name. If this option is not checked, a number will be appended to the output file name, to avoid naming collision.
Set Security on a Batch
This feature allows users to modify the security settings (using the same passwords and permissions) of multiple PDF documents in a single action.
To set security settings on a batch of PDF documents:
•
From the top toolbar, choose Batch > Set Security to a Batch.
The application will open the Set Security to a Batch dialog.
25
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
26
•
Configure the Security Batch: o
Passwords
– Set passwords to protect the documents:
Password to Open Document – This is also known as the user password and it is the password that will be required when the
documents are opened. Check the box and enter the password twice if you want to set a user password.
Password to Change Permissions – This is also known as the permissions password or owner password and is the password that will be required when trying to change permissions and passwords on the documents. Check the box and enter the password twice to set a permissions password. o
Permissions – Set specific permissions for the documents:
Batch Processing
Allow Printing High Definition
– Check this box to allow printing the document at high resolution. Checking this box automatically grants the "Allow Printing" permission.
Allow Printing
– Check this box to allow printing the document.
Allow Text & Graphics Extraction
– Check this box to allow copying or extracting text and graphics from this document.
Checking this box automatically grants the "Allow Extraction for Accessibility" permission.
Allow Extraction for Accessibility
– Check this box to allow copying or extracting text and graphics from this document in support of accessibility to disabled or other purposes.
Allow Change Document
– Check this box to allow changes to this document, for instance by creating form fields.
When this permission is granted, the following 3 permissions
(Allow Document Assembly, Allow Annotations & Comments, and Allow Form Filling & Signing) are also automatically granted.
When this permission is not granted, the following 3 permissions (Allow Document Assembly, Allow Annotations &
Comments, and Allow Form Filling & Signing) can independently be granted.
Allow Document Assembly
– Check this box to allow assembling the document: inserting, rotation or deleting pages and creating bookmarks or thumbnail images.
Allow Annotations & Comments
– Check this box to allow adding or modifying text annotations.
If this permission is granted, the following permission, Allow
Form Filling & Signing, is also automatically granted.
If this permission is not granted, then the following permission,
Allow Form Filling & Signing, can be granted independently.
27
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
•
•
•
And if this permission is granted and the Allow Change
Document permission is also granted, creating or modifying interactive form fields (including signature fields) is allowed.
Allow Form Filling & Signing
– Check this box to allow filling in existing interactive form fields, including signature fields.
Configure Output
– In the "Save Files To" section, select either
"Overwrites Source Files" or "Destination Folder." If the former is selected, output files will be saved over the corresponding source files. In the latter case, output files will be saved to the directory in the text field. If files are saved to a new folder, the user can check "Overwrite files" to save over any files in that folder with the same name. If this option is not checked, a number will be appended to the output file name, to avoid naming collision.
Split a Batch
This feature allows users to split multiple PDF documents in a single action.
To split a batch of PDF documents:
•
From the top toolbar, choose Batch > Split a Batch.
28
The application will open the Batch Split dialog.
Batch Processing
•
Configure the Split: o o o
Choose the split parameters: select a split configuration from the
"split document" drop down box. Or add a new split configuration with the "new" button.
29
Bookmarks & Outlines
Bookmarks & Outlines
Typically a bookmark will only have one action associated with it and will be a goto page action. By default, created bookmarks will be goto page actions for the current page view (the current page number, magnification, and scrollbar values). Upon clicking on the bookmark, the user is redirected to the bookmarked page and the scrollbars and scale are also set as they were when the bookmark was created.
However, in the PDF format definition, bookmarks can have many different actions associated with them: go to a page in another document, show or hide a form field, open a file, open a web link… If a bookmark has multiple actions associated with it, actions will be executed in the order they were added to the bookmark.
Automatically create bookmarks
Add a Bookmark
Bookmarks may be added as roots or as children to existent bookmarks. In both cases, the new bookmark is added as a goto action for the current page view. The
actions for the bookmark can be modified after creation: Editing actions of a bookmark.
To add a bookmark as a root,
choose Document > Create Bookmark, use the keyboard shortcut Ctrl+b), or click the new bookmark button at the top of the bookmark panel. If the bookmark panel is not visible (this happens when a document doesn't have any bookmarks defined), click on View > Bookmarks to display the bookmarks pane. If any text is selected on the document, it will be used as the name of the bookmark. If not, the bookmark name will be based on the page number.
31
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
To add a bookmark as a child,
right-click on a bookmark and select add child:
Remove a Bookmark
To remove bookmarks,
either select the bookmark and press delete on your keyboard or right-click (Mac: ctrl+ Left click) on the bookmark in the bookmark tree and choose the remove option in the mouse menu.
32
Bookmarks & Outlines
Move Bookmarks
Drag and Drop
can be used to move and reorganize bookmarks. When a bookmark is dragged to a target, a horizontal black line appears on the screen under the target bookmark. The length of the black line indicates whether the dragged bookmark will be inserted underneath the target bookmark, or added as a child to the target bookmark.
The bookmark will become a child of Page 20.
33
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
The bookmark will become a child of Page 18.
Cut and Paste
can also be used to reorganize bookmarks. You can cut a bookmark from the tree by right-clicking (Mac: Ctrl+Click) on it and selecting cut or by using the keyboard shortcut, Ctrl+x. Then paste the bookmark onto its new parent by right-clicking on an existent bookmark and selecting Paste or by using the keyboard shortcut, Ctrl+v.
Bookmark from Selected Text
If a bookmark is created while some text is selected in a document, the bookmark will be created for the current page view and the selected text will be used as its name.
34
Bookmarks & Outlines
Rename a Bookmark
To rename a bookmark
, double-click on the bookmark in the bookmark tree or right-click (Mac: Ctrl+Click) and select Rename. The bookmark label will become editable. You can enter the new name for the bookmark.
Set Destination
To set the destination of a bookmark to the current location
, right-click
(Mac: Ctrl+Click) on a bookmark in the tree and select Set Destination. This will remove any actions currently associated with the bookmark and replace them with a goto page action for the current page view.
35
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Edit Properties of a Bookmark
To edit actions of a bookmark
, right-click (Mac: Ctrl+Click) on the bookmark in the bookmark tree. Choose the Properties option in the bookmark menu. Select the
Action Tab in the dialog. The Bookmark Properties dialog will be displayed:
36
Selecting Add or Edit will show the action dialog:
Bookmarks & Outlines
To edit appearance of a bookmark
, right-click (Mac: Ctrl+Click) on the bookmark in the bookmark tree. Choose the Properties option in the bookmark menu. Select the Appearance Tab in the dialog. The Bookmark Properties dialog will be displayed:
This can be used to give the bookmark color and text style.
37
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Automatically Create Bookmarks
To automatically create bookmarks for a range of pages
, select Document >
Auto Create Bookmarks. This will display the Auto Create Bookmarks dialog.
Select the range of pages you wish to automatically create bookmarks on and click the start button. This will add goto action bookmarks for each page in the given range.
38
Comments and Annotations
Comments and Annotations
PDF Studio allows you to comment or annotate a document with text, graphics, sound and hyperlinks.
PDF Studio supports the following annotations:
Text Annotations
Free Text Annotation
Callout Annotation
Typewriter Annotation
39
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Sticky Note Annotation
Graphics Annotations
Circle Annotation
Line Annotation
Arrow Annotation
Square Annotation
Polygon Annotation
Cloud Annotation
40
Pencil Annotation
Measurement Annotations
Distance Annotation
Perimeter Annotation
Area Annotation
Miscellaneous
Sound Annotation
Hyperlink
Highlight
Comments and Annotations
41
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Create an Annotation
There are two ways to create a new annotation:
1. From the annotations toolbar, simply click on the appropriate annotation tool, then place the mouse on the desired location on the page and draw the annotation by dragging the mouse on the screen.
2. From the top toolbar, choose Comments > Add Comment, click on the appropriate annotation, place the mouse on the desired location on the page, and draw the annotation by dragging the mouse on the screen.
The selected tool's settings determine whether the annotation's property dialog is displayed after creating a new annotation and whether the tool remains selected.
42
Comments and Annotations
Set Tool Properties
The tool's properties determine its default appearance and how the tool behaves after the annotation is created. The properties can be accessed by right-clicking the tool icon in the toolbar or by navigating to Edit > Preferences to open the user preferences.
When the tool is "sticky added to the document.
," the tool remains selected after a new annotation is
The Always Show Dialog check box determines whether the annotation properties dialog will be displayed after each new annotation is added to the document.
Update an Annotation
PDF Studio allows the editing of any annotation, whether the annotation was created in PDF Studio or another software, such as Adobe Acrobat®.
To edit an annotation's properties, such as line width or color, right click (Mac:
Ctrl+Click) on the annotation and choose Properties in the mouse menu. The annotation's properties dialog will be displayed. Each type of annotation has its own
Move or Resize an Annotation
To move an annotation
, simply click on the annotation and move it to its new location on the page.
In the same way, to change the bounds or shape of an annotation, simply drag the mouse to change the bounds of the annotations to the new desired bounds.
43
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Delete an Annotation
To delete a specific annotation:
Click on the annotation with the hand tool, right-click on the annotation (CTRL +
Click on Mac), choose "Delete" in the context menu.
To delete all annotations:
From the top toolbar, choose Comments > Delete All Comments.
To delete all annotations on any given page:
From the top toolbar, choose Comments > Delete Page Comments.
Flatten an Annotation
Flattening annotations is the act of painting the annotations directly in the content page to which they belongs so they are not editable anymore (and in effect not annotations anymore). This can be useful to permanently paint an annotation on a document. For instance, a custom signature stamp can be flattened so the signature is added to the document itself and doesn't only sit on a document as an annotation anymore.
To flatten a specific annotation:
Click on an annotation with the hand tool, right-click on the annotation (CTRL +
Click on Mac), choose "Flatten" in the context menu.
To flatten all annotations on any given page:
From the top toolbar, choose Comments > Flatten Page Comments.
To flatten all annotations:
From the top toolbar, choose Comments > Flatten All Comments.
Copy and Paste Annotations
All annotations can be copied using Ctrl+c (Mac: Apple+c) and pasted using Ctrl+v
(Mac: Apple+v). The copy command will copy any selected annotation to the system clipboard. If an annotation is in the system clipboard when the paste command is pressed, a copy of that annotation will be placed in the center of the screen. On subsequent pastes at the same location, the annotation will be pasted at a slight offset.
To paste an annotation onto a different page:
1. Navigate to the page.
2. Click on the page with the mouse to select the page.
44
3. Paste the annotation using Ctrl+v (Mac: Apple+v).
Comments and Annotations
Group Annotations
45
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
A group of annotations is comprised of one parent annotations and one or more child annotations. Any operation (delete, move, etc) performed upon one annotation in a group, will also be performed on the rest of group. Also, all children will display their parent's comments.
A group may be formed by selecting two or more annotations, right-clicking (Mac: ctrl +click) on one of them, and choosing Group from the mouse context menu.
The annotation that was clicked will be the parent.
Annotations may be ungrouped by right-clicking (Mac: ctrl+click) on a grouped annotation and choosing Ungroup from the mouse context menu.
Note that the following annotations can not be included in a group: sound and text replace annotations.
Paste a Clipboard Image as a Stamp
When an image is on the system clipboard, it can be pasted onto a page by following the steps below:
1. Navigate to the page.
2. Click on the page with the mouse to select the page.
3. Paste the image using Ctrl+v (Mac: Apple+v) onto the page. Doing so will paste the image as a Rubber Stamp annotation that can be moved around or resized.
If Adjust To Zoom is selected in User Preferences, the initial size of the pasted image will depend on the zoom level of the document. Otherwise, the image will be initially pasted at its original size.
Paste Clipboard Text as a Text Box
When text is on the system clipboard, it can be pasted onto a page by following the steps below:
1. Navigate to the page.
2. Click on the page with the mouse to select the page.
3. Paste the text using Ctrl+v (Mac: Apple+v) onto the page. Doing so will paste the text as a Text Box annotation using default properties. The annotation can be moved around and resized.
Set a Status or Check mark
Setting the status or marking an annotation can be useful for keeping track of which annotations you have already reviewed. To set a status or checkmark, right click (Mac: Ctrl-Click) on the annotation and select Mark with Checkmark or select a status from the Review submenu.
46
Comments and Annotations viewed in the Status History
The review history is saved each time the annotation status is modified and can be
tab on the annotation property dialog.
Text Annotations
Free Text Annotation
Typewriter Annotation
Sticky Note Annotation
Text Box Annotation
To create a text box annotation (also called free text annotation), follow the
standard steps to create a new annotation . The application will then display the
Text Box Properties dialog where you can choose the options for your new annotation.
Text Box Annotation Properties:
•
•
Border Width
Border Color
•
•
Background Color
Text Color
47
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
•
•
•
•
•
Text Horizontal Alignment (left, center, right)
Text Vertical Alignment (top, center, bottom)
Text Size, Bold, Italic
Text Content
Author
Text on the System Clipboard can be pasted into a PDF document as a Text Box.
Callout Annotation
can choose the options for your new annotation.
Callout Annotation Properties:
•
•
Border Width
Border Color
•
•
•
•
•
•
Background Color
Text Color
Text Horizontal Alignment (left, center, right)
Text Vertical Alignment (top, center, bottom)
Text Size, Bold, Italic
Text Content
48
Comments and Annotations
•
Author
Typewriter Annotation
This feature is useful to add text to PDF documents that do not have interactive forms. The application has the following Typewriter Properties dialog where you can change the options for your annotation.
Typewriter Properties:
•
Text Color
•
•
Text Font, Size, Bold, Italic
Author
49
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Sticky Note Annotation
you can choose the options for this new annotation.
Sticky Note Properties:
•
Sticky Note Icon Color
•
Transparency Percentage (100% transparent is invisible, 0% is completely opaque)
•
•
•
‘Open Initially' Flag indicates whether the sticky note should be showing when the document is first open.
Author
Annotation Note or Comment (optional)
50
Comments and Annotations
Graphics Annotations
Circle Annotation
Line Annotation
Arrow Annotation
Square Annotation
Polygon Annotation
Cloud Annotation
Pencil Annotation
51
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Circle Annotation
where you can choose the options for your new annotation.
Circle Annotation Properties:
•
Line Width
•
Transparency Percentage (100% transparent is invisible, 0% is completely opaque)
•
•
Color of the circle border
Color of the inside of the circle
•
•
Author
Annotation note or comment (optional)
Line Annotation
To create a line annotation
, follow the standard steps to create a new annotation. The application will then display the Line Annotation Properties dialog where you can choose the options for your new annotation.
To draw horizontal, vertical, or lines at 45 degrees, press and hold the Shift key while drawing the annotation.
Line Annotation Properties:
52
Comments and Annotations
•
•
•
•
•
•
Line width
Transparency percentage (100% transparency is invisible, 0% is completely opaque)
Color of the line
Line Start Icon, none by default. Available icons are Square, Circle,
Diamond, Open Arrow, Closed Arrow
Line End Icon, none by default. Available icons are Square, Circle, Diamond,
Open Arrow, Closed Arrow.
Annotation note or comment (optional)
Arrow Annotation
where you can choose the options for your new annotation.
To draw horizontal, vertical, or lines at 45 degrees, press and hold the Shift key will drawing the annotation.
Arrow Annotation Properties:
•
Line Width
53
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
•
•
•
•
•
Transparency Percentage (100% transparent is invisible, 0% transparent is completely opaque)
Color of the Line
Line Start Icon, none by default. Available icons are Square, Circle,
Diamond, Open Arrow, Closed Arrow.
Line End Icon, an Open Arrow by default. Available icons are Square, Circle,
Diamond, Open Arrow, Closed Arrow.
Annotation Note or Comment (optional)
Square Annotation
dialog where you can choose the options for your new annotation.
Square Annotation Properties:
•
•
Line Width
Transparency Percentage (100% transparent is invisible, 0% is completely
•
•
• opaque)
Color of the border of the square.
Color of the inside of the square.
Annotation note or comment (optional)
54
Comments and Annotations
Polygon Annotation
dialog where you can choose the options for your yew annotation.
Polygon Annotation Properties:
•
Line Width
•
Transparent percentage (100% transparent is invisible, 0% is completely opaque)
•
•
•
Color of the border of the polygon
Color of the inside of the polygon
Annotation Note or Comment (Optional)
55
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Cloud Annotation
where you can choose the options for your new annotation.
Cloud Annotation Properties:
•
Line Width
•
Transparency percentage (100% transparent is invisible, 0% is opaque)
•
Color of the border of the cloud
•
Color of the inside of the cloud
•
Annotation note or comment (optional)
56
Comments and Annotations
Pencil Annotation
where you can choose the options for your new annotation.
Pencil annotations can consist of multiple marks or gestures. The Delay property on the pencil tool specifies the amount of time to wait before completing the pencil annotation.
Pencil Annotation Properties:
•
•
Line Width
Transparency (100% transparent is invisible, 0% is completely opaque)
•
•
Color of the pencil
Annotation note or comment
57
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Measurement Annotations
Distance Annotation
Perimeter Annotation
Area Annotation
Calibration
Distance Annotation
the scale and precision for the measurement. These values must be set prior to drawing the annotation. They may not be modified after the annotation is finished.
58
Comments and Annotations
To draw horizontal, vertical, or lines at 45 degrees, press and hold the Shift key while drawing the annotation.
To set scale from drawing, click Calibrate button and follow the steps to
Distance Annotation Properties:
•
Line Width
•
Transparency percentage (100% transparent is invisible, 0% is completely opaque)
•
•
•
•
Color of the line
Line Start Icon, none by default. Available icons are Square, Circle,
Diamond, Open Arrow, Closed Arrow.
Line End Icon, an Open Arrow by default. Available icons are Square, Circle,
Diamond, Open Arrow, Closed Arrow.
Annotation note or comment is disabled for distance annotations.
59
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Perimeter Annotation
set the scale and precision for the measurement. These values must be set prior to drawing the annotation. They may not be modified after the annotation is finished.
To draw horizontal, vertical, or lines at 45 degrees, press and hold the Shift key while drawing the annotation.
60
Comments and Annotations
To set scale from drawing, click Calibrate button and follow the steps to
Perimeter Annotation Properties:
•
Line Width
•
Transparency percentage (100% transparency is invisible, 0% is completely opaque)
•
•
Color of the line
Annotation note or comment is disabled for perimeter annotations.
Area Annotation
you can set the scale and precision for the area measurement. The scale must be set before the scale cannot be modified. The scale can be set using decimals or fractions.
you begin drawing the annotation. Once the area annotation is created,
61
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
To draw horizontal, vertical, or lines at 45 degrees, press and hold the Shift key while drawing the annotation.
To set scale from drawing, click Calibrate button and follow the steps to
Area Annotation Properties
•
Line Width
•
Transparency percentage (100% transparency is invisible, 0% is completely opaque)
•
•
Color of the line
Annotation note or comment is disabled for perimeter annotations
62
Comments and Annotations
Calibration
PDF Studio allows users to set the scale directly from measurement tools.
To calibrate:
1. Create a measurement annotation (Distance, Perimeter, or Area) and click
Calibrate button.
2. Users are prompted to choose two points on the document. Click OK and draw a line.
3. Enter the measurement in the following dialog.
63
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
4. The new scale will show up in the measurement dialog now
Miscellaneous Annotations
Sound Annotation
Hyperlink
Highlight
Sound Annotation
Sound Recording or Importing
64
Comments and Annotations
When you add a Sound Annotation to a page (by following the standard instructions
to create an annotation ), the Sound Recorder dialog pops up. You have the
following options to add the sound data:
•
Record an audio comment from a microphone:
Choose the microphone in the microphone combo box. Then click the arrow button to start
• recording from a microphone and the red circle button to stop the recording.
Load an audio comment from a file:
Click the load file button and browse to the appropriate sound file. Supported formats are .au, .aiff, .wav.
Sound Annotation Properties: Once the sound has been recorded or imported from a file, the application will open the Sound Annotations properties dialog. This dialog is also accessible by right-clicking (Mac: Ctrl-click) on an existing sound annotation and choosing the Properties option. The only option available for the
Sound Annotation is the color of the speaker icon. You can change it by clicking the color button.
Hyperlink
65
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Highlight
A highlight annotation is simply a square annotation with a transparent background and no border (line width = 0).
Add a highlight annotation to a page by following the standard instructions to
create an annotation . After the annotation is added, the Highlight Properties dialog
is displayed.
Highlight Properties are the same as the Square Properties.
Export Annotations
PDF Studio allows users to export comments from the current document into a file
in FDF or XFDF format. Comments from Text Annotations ,
will be exported. Hyperlinks are not considered comments
in PDF format and thus are not exported.
To export comments:
1. From the top toolbar, choose Comments > Export
2. Select whether to export in FDF or XFDF format
3. The application will open a file chooser dialog. Select the file you wish to export to.
Import Annotations
PDF Studio allows users to import data from a file into the current form fields. The
file can be in FDF or XFDF format. Comments from Text Annotations ,
will be imported. Hyperlinks are not
considered comments in PDF format and thus are not imported.
To import comments:
1. From the top toolbar, choose Comments > Import
2. Select whether to import in FDF or an XFDF format
3. The application will open a file chooser dialog. Select the file you wish to import from.
66
Comments and Annotations
Comments Panel
View the comments panel by selecting View > Comments.
From this panel, you can view, search, and modify all the comments in the document.
67
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Text Annotations
Text Search, Extraction, Selection & Markup
Search Text
With PDF Studio, you can search the text of a PDF document.
To open the Text Search dialog
: Click on the Text Search button – it's the button with the magnifying glass icon – on the toolbar or choose Edit > Text Search from the menu and the text search dialog will open.
To search for text
: Enter the text to search for in the text field, select the appropriate search options, and press the Enter key or click on the New Search button. All occurrences of the string in the document will appear in the occurrences list.
68
Comments and Annotations
To navigate through the list of occurrences
, you can either:
•
Use the Up arrow key (previous occurrence) and Down arrow key (next occurrence) on your keyboard.
•
Click on the Previous Occurrence or Next Occurrence buttons. These are the two buttons next to the New Search button with the Left and Right arrow icons.
•
Or use the F3 (next occurrence) and Shift F3 (previous occurrence) keys.
Searches can be customized with the following options:
•
•
•
Case-Sensitive: If checked, the search will be case sensitive. Searching for the string "The" will not return the same results as searching for the string
"the."
Whole words only: If checked, the search will only look for whole words. For instance, when checked, searching for "the" will not return occurrences of
"they." But when this option is left unchecked, all occurrences of "they" will appear in the occurrence list.
Include comments: If checked, the search will include annotation comments.
69
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Extract Text
To extract text
from the current document:
•
Click on the Document menu on the top toolbar
•
Choose the Extract Text option
•
The application will open a Save File dialog
•
Choose the name of the text file where the text will be extracted to
Select Text
To select text on the page, from the top toolbar, click on the Select text icon
then drag the mouse around the desired rectangle text area. All the text contained in the area will be selected. When right-clicking on the mouse (Mac:
Ctrl+Click), a menu will appear giving you the choice to:
•
Copy the selected text to the clipboard. Once the text is copied to the clipboard, you can paste it into any text or Word document by simply right-
•
• clicking (Mac: Ctrl+Click) on the mouse and choosing the paste option in the mouse menu.
Highlight the selected text.
Underline the selected text
•
•
•
•
Cross Out the selected text.
Squiggly underline the selected text.
Replace the selected text
Insert text after the selection.
To exit the selection mode
, simply click on the mouse icon.
70
Comments and Annotations
Highlight Text
To highlight text in a page, click on the highlight icon on the annotation toolbar
, then select the desired rectangular text area on the page by dragging the mouse. Once you release the mouse, a property dialog will open. Select the color of the highlight and add any comments in the content area then click on the Save button.
All text contained in the rectangular area will be highlighted.
71
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
To remove or edit a text highlight
, click on the mouse icon , select the highlight by clicking on it, and right click (Mac: Ctrl+Click). The mouse menu will give you the option to open the properties dialog for the highlight or to simply delete it.
Cross out text
To cross out text
on a page, click on the Cross Out icon on the annotation toolbar
, then select the desired rectangular text area on the page by dragging the mouse. Once you release the mouse, a property dialog will open. Select the color of the cross out and add any comment in the content area then click on the Save button.
All text contained in the rectangular area will be crossed out.
72
Comments and Annotations
To remove or edit a text cross out
, click on the mouse icon , select the cross out by clicking on it, and right-click (Mac: Ctrl+Click). The mouse menu will give you the option to open the properties dialog for the cross out or to simply delete it.
Underline Text
To underline text on a page, click on the Underline icon on the annotation toolbar
, the select the desired rectangular text area on the page by dragging the mouse. Once you release the mouse, a property dialog will open. Select the color of the underline and add any comment in the content area and then click on the save button.
73
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
All text contained in the rectangular area will be underlined.
To remove or edit a text underline
, click on the mouse icon , select the underline by clicking on it, and right-click (Mac: Ctrl+Click). The mouse menu will give you the option to open the properties dialog for the underline or to simply delete it.
Squiggly Underline Text
To underline text with a squiggly
on the page by dragging the mouse. Once you release the mouse, a property dialog will open. Select the color of the underline and add any comment in the content area then click on the Save button.
, click on the Squiggly Underline icon on the annotation toolbar (SQUIGGLY ICON), then select the desired rectangular text area
74
Comments and Annotations
All text contained in the rectangular area will be underlined with a squiggly.
To remove or edit a text squiggly underline
, click on the mouse icon , select the squiggly underline by clicking on it, and right-click (Mac: Ctrl+Click). The mouse menu will give you the option to open the properties dialog for the underline or to simply delete it.
Insert Text
To add an insert text annotation, click on the Insert Text icon on the toolbar.
The cursor will become a crosshair. Click the crosshair on the desired location for
75
PDF Studio 6 User Guide the insert text annotation. One placed, a property dialog will open. Select the color of the annotation and add any comment in the content area then click on the Save button.
To remove or edit an insert text annotation
, click on the mouse icon , select the annotation by clicking on it, and right-click (Mac: Ctrl+Click). The mouse menu will give you the option to open the properties dialog for the annotation or to simply delete it.
Replace Text
To add a replace text annotation
dragging the mouse. Once you release the mouse, a property dialog will open.
Select the color of the strikethrough and add any comment in the content area then click on the Save button.
, click on the Replace Text icon on the annotation toolbar then select the desired rectangular text area on the page by
76
Comments and Annotations
To remove or edit a replace text annotation
, click on the mouse icon , select the annotation by clicking on it, and right-click (Mac: Ctrl+Click). The mouse menu will give you the option to open the properties dialog for the annotation or to simply delete it.
77
Create PDF
Create PDF
There are many ways to create a PDF file in PDF Studio. Under the File menu, if you choose Create PDF, you will find the following options:
•
From File - This option opens a file dialog that filters in all supported file types. Any non-PDF file selected will be converted to PDF format and then opened.
•
From Multiple Files - This option opens the Create from Multiple Files dialog, which allows users to merge multiple documents in a single action. All supported non-PDF files are converted to PDF. The configuration options
include setting open passwords , and adding a bookmark for each merged
document in the output document. This can also be found at File >
Combine Files.
•
•
From Scanner - This option opens the Scan To PDF dialog.
From Blank Page - This allows the user to create a new PDF Document with no content.
Merge and Split Documents
PDF Documents can also be created by Merging and Spliting Existing Documents in several ways.
•
Drag and Drop - Documents of all supported file types can be inserted as new pages into an existing open document by dragging the file to the
Thumbnail Pane. Also pages can be dragged and dropped across multiple open documents.
NOTE:
Dropping a file onto the main document pane will open the
•
•
•
• document in a new frame.
an open document into a new PDF document (Document ->Extract Pages).
Create PDF from multiple files - The Create from Multiple Files dialog found under File->Create PDF -> From Multiple Files allows users to merge multiple documents in a single action. All supported non-PDF files will be converted to PDF.
Advanced Split - There is an option for creating Advanced Split
configurations (Document -> Split Pages).
Batch Merge - Multiple files can be combined into one PDF using the
Batch Merge option (Batch -> Merge a Batch).
79
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Supported File Types
PDF Studio supports converting certain non-PDF file types into PDF Documents. The current supported types are:
•
Image Files - files of type GIF, PNG, TIFF, and JPEG can be converted into
PDF.
•
Word Files - PDF Studio can convert Word (97-03) .doc files into PDF.
•
Text Files - .txt files can be converted to PDF. Users can also define Text To
PDF settings in the Preferences Dialog.
80
Crop Pages
Crop Pages
PDF Studio allows the user to adjust the crop box, bleed box, trim box and art box on your PDF document. Documents may be cropped using the cropping dialog or the cropping tool. Units can be specified in inches, points, centimeters or millimeters. Cropping can be applied to a single page, a range of pages, or all pages.
The Crop Pages Dialog
To open the Crop Pages dialog
, choose Document > Crop Pages from the top toolbar.
Crop Tool
To use the crop tool, select the crop tool icon from the toolbar.
81
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
After selecting the tool, drag the mouse over the page to select the area to be cropped.
When the mouse button is released, the page crop margins will be set such that only the selected area is visible and the crop dialog will open so that the cropping can be manually adjusted.
82
Crop Pages
83
Digital Signatures
Digital Signatures
Digital Signatures are a way of authenticating the contents of a document. A document with a valid signature is guaranteed not to have been changed since being signed. A valid signature has a digital ID issued by a trusted certificate authority. In order to sign documents, a digital ID may be imported or PDF Studio can create a self-signed digital ID.
Customize Signature Appearance
Create a Digital Signature Field
PDF Studio can create new, unsigned digital signature fields in a document. To do so, select Add Signature Field from the Security menu.
When the tool is started, the cursor will become a crosshair and will allow the user to mark the location for the new field on the document.
85
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
After the field is created, it can be clicked on to apply a digital signature.
Modify a Digital Signature Field
To modify a digital signature field, right-click on the signature field (Mac: Ctrl-
Click). A mouse context menu will appear.
If the field is signed, the only enabled menu options are Properties and Clear
Signature. The Properties option will display additional details about the signature:
86
Digital Signatures
The Clear Signature option will remove the signature from the signature field. In the context menu for an unsigned field, the other menu items will be enabled.
The Edit option will allow the empty field to be modified (moved or resized). The
Delete option will remove the field. The Apply Signature option will apply a digital signature.
Apply a Digital Signature
Digital signatures may be applied to documents using digital IDs contained within
PKCS#12 files. To apply a signature, click on a signature field or select Sign
Document from the Security menu. If PDF Studio has one or more digital IDs stored, the user will be prompted to pick from the existing IDs. Otherwise, the user will be prompted to either create or import an ID.
Create or import a digital ID
87
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
If there are no digital IDs saved in PDF Studio, the user will be prompted to either create a new ID or import an existing one.
Import digital ID from file
This option allows the user to import digital IDs in .pfx or .p12 format. Browse for the digital ID file and enter the password to add this digital ID to PDF Studio. You will be required to enter the password whenever you use the digital ID.
Digital ID files may be protected with a complex password that is difficult to remember. The Use my password option will allow you to create your own password. PDF Studio will prompt you for your password instead of the file's password when you sign documents. The digital ID file will not be modified, but the file's password will be securely stored and can only be retrieved with your password.
88
Digital Signatures
Create new digital ID
This option allows the user to create a self-signed digital ID.
The newly created ID will be added to PDF Studio's list of IDs and can be applied to the document.
89
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Select a Digital ID
If there are digital IDs saved in PDF Studio, the user will be prompted to select from these existing IDs. A new digital ID can be added with the New Digital ID... option in the list.
Pressing the Sign button will apply the selected signature.
Customize Signature Appearance
To modify the signature appearance that is created when the document is signed, select Create New Appearance... from the Appearance list. There are many options to customize the text that will display in the signature field. The certificate contains the information used to fill these fields. Additionally, an image can be used for the signature appearance.
90
Digital Signatures
Validate Digital Signatures
PDF Studio validates any digital signatures upon opening a document. PDF Studio will first check that the digital signatures in the document use valid certificates and that the document has not been changed. It will then check that the certificate used to issue the digital ID in the signature was issued by a trusted certificate authority.
Depending on the results of the validation, PDF Studio will display one of three icons on the signature:
indicates that the signature validated correctly, that there were no changes made to the document, and that the issuing certificate authority is trusted.
91
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
indicates that the signature validated correctly, but there might be some problems, such as the digital ID being issued by a certificate authority that is not trusted. indicates that there were problems validating the signature. The problems can include changes to the document after the signature was applied.
Manage Trusted Certificates
When PDF Studio validates digital IDs, it checks that the digital ID was issued by a trusted certificate authority. The user can manage which certificate authorities to trust. When a digital ID is created or imported, its issuing authority is automatically added to the list of trusted certificates. Open the Trusted Certificates dialog by selecting Security > Security Settings > Trusted Certificates from the top toolbar.
This will open the Trusted Certificates dialog.
92
Digital Signatures
Opens a dialog to import certificates
Displays details of the selected certificate
Removes the selected certificate
Manage Digital IDs
PDF Studio allows the user to manage the Digital IDs. To do so, open the Digital
IDs dialog by selecting Security > Security Settings > Digital IDs from the top toolbar.
This will open the Digital IDs dialog.
93
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Opens a dialog to create or import a digital ID
Changes the display name of the selected digital ID
Removes the selected digital ID
94
Document Properties
Document Properties
To open the Document Properties dialog, choose Document > Document Properties from the top tool bar. The application will display the Document Properties dialog.
This dialog has the following three tabs:
General
The general tab allows you to view and edit title, author, subject, and keywords. It allows you to view the producer, created date, modified date, and page size.
95
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Security
Set Security – Set passwords and permissions.
Initial View
Set Initial View – Modify the properties that determine how the document will be initially displayed.
96
Document Security
Document Security
PDF Studio allows the user to set or change passwords and permissions on PDF documents. Two passwords may be set for a document, an open password and a permissions password. If set, the open password must be entered properly to open the document. The permissions password prevents users from modifying the document's permissions. The document's permissions can be configured to restrict the ways a document may be modified and accessed.
View Security Settings – View passwords and permissions for the current PDF
document
Change Security Settings – Update passwords and permissions for the current PDF
Set Security on a Batch – Apply the same security settings to multiple files in a
single action
View Current Security Settings
To view current security settings
, click on Document > Security from the top toolbar. The application will open the Document Security Settings dialog, where you can view current security settings for the document.
97
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
•
•
Passwords o
Password to Open Document – This is also known as the user password. It is the password that is required to open the document. o
Password to Change Permissions – This is also known as the permissions password or owner password. It is the password that is o required when trying to change permissions and passwords on the document.
Permissions – Specific permissions for the document: o
Printing High Definition
– Permission to print the document at high resolution. When this permission is granted, the following permission
Printing is automatically granted.
Printing – Permission to print the document. o
Text & Graphics Extraction – Permission to copy or extract text and graphics from this document. When this permission is granted, the following permission Extraction for Accessibility is automatically granted.
98
Document Security o o o o o
Extraction for Accessibility
– Permission to extract text or graphics from this document in support of accessibility to the disabled or other purposes.
Change document
– Permission to make changes to this document, for instance by creating form fields.
When this permission is granted, the following 3 permissions
(Document Assembly, Comments, and Form Filling) are also
automatically granted.
When this permission is not granted, the following 3 permissions (Document Assembly, Comments, and Form
Filling) can be granted independently.
Document Assembly
– Permission to assemble the document: insert, rotate, or delete pages and create bookmarks or thumbnail images.
Annotations & Comments
– Permission to Add or Modify text annotations.
If this permission is granted, the following permission, Form
Filling and Signing, is also automatically granted.
If this permission is not granted, then the following permission,
Form Filling and Signing, can be granted independently.
And if this permission is granted and the Change Document permission is also granted, creating or modifying interactive form fields (including signature fields) is allowed.
Form Filling & Signing
– Fill in existing interactive form fields including signature fields.
Change Current Security Settings
To change current security settings:
1. Click on Document > Security from the top toolbar.
2. The application will open the Document Security Settings dialog, where you can view current security settings for the document.
3. Click on the Edit button
4. The Change Document Security dialog will open
5. Choose the desired options in the dialog (see options below)
6. Save the document to save the new security settings
99
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
• o o
Passwords
Password to Open Document – This is also known as the user password. It is the password that is required to open the document.
Password to Change Permissions – This is also known as the permissions password or owner password. It is the password that is required when trying to change permissions and passwords on the document.
•
Permissions – Specific permissions for the document: o
Printing High Definition
– Permission to print the document o at high resolution. When this permission is granted, the following permission Printing is automatically granted.
Printing – Permission to print the document. o
Text & Graphics Extraction – Permission to copy or extract text and graphics from this document. When this permission is granted, the following permission Extraction for Accessibility is automatically granted.
100
Document Security o o o o o
Extraction for Accessibility
– Permission to extract text or graphics from this document in support of accessibility to the disabled or other purposes.
Change document
– Permission to make changes to this document, for instance by creating form fields.
When this permission is granted, the following 3 permissions (Document Assembly, Comments, and Form
Filling) are also automatically granted.
When this permission is not granted, the following 3 permissions (Document Assembly, Comments, and Form
Filling) can be granted independently.
Document Assembly
– Permission to assemble the document: insert, rotate, or delete pages and create bookmarks or thumbnail images.
Annotations & Comments
– Permission to Add or Modify text annotations.
If this permission is granted, the following permission,
Form Filling and Signing, is also automatically granted.
If this permission is not granted, then the following permission, Form Filling and Signing, can be granted independently.
And if this permission is granted and the Change
Document permission is also granted, creating or modifying interactive form fields (including signature fields) is allowed.
Form Filling & Signing
– Fill in existing interactive form fields including signature fields.
Set Security on a Batch
To set security on a PDF document that is not opened in PDF Studio or to set security on multiple PDF documents in a single action, use the Set Security to a
Batch function. See our documentation of Setting Security on a Batch
101
File Attachments
PDF File Attachments
PDF Studio allows you to attach files to a PDF document.
Save an attached file on your computer
Attach a file
To attach a file to a document
, click on the small down-arrow icon next to the attach icon on the annotations toolbar. A menu will be displayed, giving you the choice to attach the file simply as an embedded file or as a comment. If the file is attached as an annotation, the cursor will become a cross cursor and you can choose a location on the page where the file should be attached.
You can also simply drag and drop files onto the attachments tab to attach them as an embedded file.
Note that the option chosen in the menu is remembered throughout the session.
When you click the attach icon (and not the down-arrow) in the session, PDF Studio will attach files according to your choice as an embedded file or as a comment.
Delete an attached file
103
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
To remove an attached file:
•
If the file is attached as a comment, select the file attachment comment on the page and click delete. You can also right-click (Mac: Ctrl+Click) on the
• file attachment comment and choose Delete.
If the file is attached as an embedded file, go to the attachments tab where the list of attached files is displayed, right-click (Mac: Ctrl+Click) on the attached file and choose the option Delete.
Open an attached file
To open an attached file:
•
If the file is attached as a comment, double-click on the file attachment comment on the page. You can also right-click (Mac: Ctrl+Click) on the file
• attachment comment and choose Open File
If the file is simply attached as an embedded file, go to the attachments tab where the list of attached files is displayed, and double-click on the attached file. You can also right-click (Mac: Ctrl+Click) on the attached file and choose Open File.
104
File Attachments
Note that PDF Studio simply sends the file to your operating system for opening. If your operating system doesn't recognize the type of file or doesn't have the appropriate application to open the file, nothing will happen.
Save the attached file to your computer
To save an attached file to a local drive on your computer:
•
•
•
If the file is attached as a comment, right-click (Mac: Ctrl+Click) on the file attachment comment on the page and choose Save File.
If the file is attached as an embedded file, go to the attachments tab where the list of attached files is displayed, right-click (Mac: Ctrl+Click) on the attached file and choose Save File.
A file dialog will open. Choose the location and name of the file you wish to save.
105
Headers and Footers
Headers and Footers
Create and apply a new header and footer
Fill header and footer options
Apply an existing header and footer
Apply an existing header and footer to a batch
Creating and applying a new header and footer
To create a new header and footer:
1. Open the document to which you would like to add a header and footer.
This is not a required step if you only wish to create a header and/or footer without applying it immediately. However, it is useful to be able to preview the header and footer on the document.
2. From the top toolbar, go to Document > Header & Footer > Create Header
& Footer to show the Create Header & Footer dialog. In the combo box the name for the new header and footer shoes as <New Item>.
3. Fill in the desired options for the header and footer.
4. As options are being changed, you can preview the header and footer on the document pages in the preview panes.
5. To apply the header and footer to the document, click on the Apply button at the bottom of the dialog. You do not need to save a header and footer before applying it to a document.
6. To save the header and footer for later reuse, click on the Save button below the name combo box. You will be prompted to enter a name for your new header.
All your previously saved headers and footers appear in the drop down list in the combo box. Headers & footers are saved as part of the user settings and can thus be accessed next time you launch a new session of PDF Studio.
Header and footer options
Headers and footers have a set of attributes that determine the properties of the text to add to the document. Attributes of the text include the font, size and style,
107
PDF Studio 6 User Guide foreground and background color, and more. It is also possible to add the header and footer to only a subset of pages in the document.
The options for a header and footer are as follows:
•
General – Options associated with the current header and footer configuration o
Name – Name of the header and footer. The name is used on the drop down combo boxes and in the Header & Footer menu.
• o
Show on Menu – Whether to show this header and footer on the
Header & Footer menu for easy access
Margins
108
Headers and Footers
•
•
• o
Units – What units to use when calculating the horizontal and vertical margins. This can be inches, centimeters, or points. Points are calculated in the PDF standard, 72 points per inch. o
Top, Bottom, Left and Right margins.
Appearance – Options that control the text o o o o o o
Font – Name of the font
Size – Font size in points
Color of the text
Bold/Italic – Use the B and I toggle buttons to make the text bold and/or italic
Border – Border of the text. If this is chosen, a box outline will be drawn around the text
Bgnd – Background color. Check this box and enter a background color to draw a box behind the text in the specified color.
Pages o
All – The header and footer will be placed on all pages in the document o
Even – The header and footer will be placed only on the evennumbered pages of the document o o
Odd – The header and footer will be placed only on the oddnumbered pages of the document
First – The header and footer will be placed only on the first page of the document o o
Last – The header and footer will be placed only on the last page of the document
Range – The header and footer will be placed only on the pages in the specified range (e.g. Pages 7-20)
From and To – The range of pages on which the header and footer will be placed
Header and footer – Text content for the different header and footer areas in the document o o o o o
Header Left
Header Middle
Header Right
Footer Left
Footer Middle
109
PDF Studio 6 User Guide o o o o
Footer Right
Click on the Date button to choose and insert a date form
Click on the Page Number button to choose and insert page numbers in a chosen format
Click on the Bates Number button to insert a Bates number
These are predefined keywords to allow users to refer to the current page, current date, etc.
$page – The page number
$author – The user logged in
$totalpages – The number of pages in the document
$filename – The file name that the document was opened from
$filepath – The full file path that the document was opened from
$date – The current date formatted as Nov 28, 2007
$shortdate – The current date formatted as 11/28/07
$time – The current time
$day – The day of the month
$month – The current month, using two digits
$year – The current year, using four digits
$shortyear – The current year, using two digits
$second – The current second
$minute – The current minute
$hour – The current hour, 1-12
$ampm – AM or PM
$longhour – The current hour, 0-23
Apply an existing header and footer
There are 2 ways to apply an existing header and/or footer:
•
From the Header and footer dialog. Open the document to which you'd like to apply a header and/or footer. Open the Header and Footer dialog from
Document > Header & Footer. Choose the header from the drop down list in the combo box and click the Apply button at the bottom of the dialog. You
• can preview the header and footer before you decide to apply it.
From the Header & Footer menu. Open the document to which you'd like to apply a header and footer. Under the Header & Footer menu, there is a list
110
Headers and Footers of all the Headers and Footers that you have previously created. Note that only the ones for which you chose the option Show On Menu will appear on this list. Click on the header and footer you'd like to apply from the list.
111
Images Export and Import
Images Export and Import
PDF Studio allows you to export the pages of the current document as images or to import images as pages in the current document. To do so, click Images from the top toolbar and then choose the appropriate option.
Export pages as JPEG – Exporting pages of the current document in JPEG format
Export pages as TIFF – Exporting pages of the current document in TIFF format
Export pages as PNG – Exporting pages of the current document in PNG format
Export pages as GIF – Exporting pages of the current document in GIF format
Import Images as Pages – Importing images as new pages in the current document
Import Image as Stamp – Importing an image as a stamp in the current document
Export pages as JPEG
To export pages as JPEG, choose Images > Export Pages as JPEG from the top toolbar. The application will display the Export Pages as JPEG Images dialog.
Choose the appropriate options in the dialog and click the OK button to start.
•
The options in the Export Pages as JPEG dialog box are as follows:
Destination Folder – Select the directory where you wish to save the images. Click on the browse button to browse to the desired directory or type in the directory in the text box.
113
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
•
•
•
File Name Pattern
– Enter the desired pattern for the output file names.
Current page number and file extension (.jpg) will be appended to the pattern to create the final file name.
DPI Resolution
– Choose the desired resolution in DPI used to render the page. 72 is the native PDF resolution.
JPG Quality
– Select the desired quality of JPG compression. Compression varies o o
From 0 – very high compression – very low quality
To 10 – low compression – very high quality
Based on the quality parameter. Some guidelines for the quality value: 8 high quality, 5 medium quality, 2 low quality.
Export Pages as TIFF
To export pages as TIFF, choose Images > Export Pages as TIFF from the top toolbar. The application will display the Export Pages as TIFF Images dialog. Choose the appropriate options in the dialog and click the OK button to start.
•
The options in the Export Pages as TIFF dialog are as follows:
Destination Folder
– Select the directory where you wish to save the images to. Click on the browse button to browse to the desired directory or type in the directory in the text box.
•
File Name Pattern – Enter the desired pattern for the output file name.
Current page number and file extension (.tif) will be appended to the pattern to create the final file name.
114
Images Export and Import
•
•
DPI Resolution
– Choose the desired resolution in DPI used to render the page. 72 is the PDF native resolution.
Compression
– Choose the compression to use. Available compressions are: CCIT RLE, Group 3 Fax, Group 4 Fax, Pack Bits, LZW, ZLib, Deflate, No
Compression. The most standard one is Group 4 Fax, which is optimized for faxing.
Export Pages as PNG
To export pages as PNG, choose Images > Export Pages as PNG from the top toolbar. The application will display the Export Pages as PNG Images dialog. Choose the appropriate options in the dialog and click the OK button to start.
•
The options in the Export Pages as PNG dialog are as follows:
Destination Folder
– Select the directory you wish to save the images to.
Click on the browse button to browse to the desired directory or type the directory in the text box.
•
•
File Name Pattern
– Enter the desired pattern for the output file names.
Current page number and file extension (.png) will be appended to the pattern to create the final file name.
DPI Resolution
– Choose the desired resolution in DPI used to render the page. 72 is the PDF native resolution.
Export Pages as GIF
To export pages as GIF, choose Images > Export Pages as GIF from the top toolbar. The application will display the Export Pages as GIF dialog. Choose the appropriate options in the dialog and click the OK button to start.
115
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
•
The options in the Export Pages as GIF dialog are as follows:
Destination Folder
– Select the directory you wish to save the images to.
Click on the browse button to browse to the desired directory or type in the directory in the text box.
•
•
File Name Pattern
– Enter the desired pattern for the output file names.
Current page number and file extension (.gif) will be appended to the pattern to create the final file name.
DPI Resolution
– Choose the desired resolution in DPI used to render the page. 72 is the PDF native resolution.
Import Images as Pages
Images of these types may be imported as pages: gif, jpeg, jpg, png, tif, and tiff.
To import images in the current PDF document, choose Images > Import Images as
Pages from the top toolbar. The application will display the Import Images as Pages dialog. Compile a list of images to import, and press the start button.
116
Images Export and Import
Import an Image as a Stamp
To import an image as a stamp in the current PDF document, choose Images >
Import Image as Stamp from the top toolbar. The application will display the File
Chooser dialog. Select an image file, the pointer changes to resemble the image, and then click the document where you would like to apply the stamp.
This can also be done by using the Image button on the annotation toolbar, or by choosing Comments > Add Image.
Once an image stamp has been applied to a page, it is possible to flatten it so the
image is painted directly into the content of the PDF document itself instead of being an annotation sitting on top of it.
To create an image stamp that can be reused instead of an "on-the-fly" stamp,
create a custom image stamp that will be saved as part of user preferences.
117
Integration with Acrobat.com
Integration with Acrobat.com
Our PDF editor PDF Studio seamlessly integrates with Acrobat.com
document services allowing users to access and manage PDF files from their Acrobat.com account.
Acrobat.com Login
The user will be prompted to sign in to their Acrobat.com account once per PDF
Studio session (a "session" begins when PDF Studio loads and ends when it closes).
After the user is signed in, the log in dialog will not appear for the rest of the
session. In order to switch Acrobat.com accounts the user may logout .
Logout
Pressing the logout button in the upper right of the dialog will log out the current user and the login dialog will be displayed the next time the user attempts to access the repository.
File Management
119
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Open the Acrobat.com file manager dialog by selecting: File->Acrobat.com File
Management.
Open a File
Open the Acrobat.com file chooser dialog by selecting: File->Open From-
>Acrobat.com.
Or by clicking the arrow on the open icon and selecting "Acrobat.com".
The Acrobat.com file chooser is displayed:
This dialog can be used to view all files in the user's Acrobat.com account. When the "open" button is pressed the selected file will be donwloaded and opened in PDF
Studio.
Save File
Documents may be saved directly to the Acrobat.com repository.
If an open document was loaded from the Acrobat.com repository, pressing the save button: will save over the source doucment, with no additional prompts.
Very similar to how changes to a document loaded from the local file system are saved when the save button is pressed.
120
Integration with Acrobat.com
The Acrobat.com save dialog may be used to save an open document to the
Acrobat.com repository. Open the save dialog with File->Save to->Acrobat.com.
Or by clicking the arrow on the save icon and selecting "Acrobat.com".
Either select a file from the file table or enter a new file name, and press save. If a file is selected, the user will be prompted to ensure that they would like to save over it.
Delete Files
Documents and may be deleted by right clicking on a selection and choosing
"Delete".
Upload Documents
File and directories can be easily uploaded from the local file system to the user's
Acrobat.com account.
Upload a List of Files
To upload a list of files and press either "Upload button" and choose either "Upload
Files" or the "Upload Direcotry".
The user can use the "Choose Files" dialog to build the list of files to upload:
121
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
The "Add files" button allows the user to add indiviudal Files to the List. The "Add folder" button allows the user to select a folder and add its entire contents to the list (if "Only add pdf files" is checked, only the pdf files in the selected folder will be added to the list). The trash and arrow keys allow the user to remove and reorder items. When the user hits the "ok" button the list of files is uploaded to the selected collection.
Upload a Directory
Alternatively, an entire directory structure may be uploaded. To upload a directory, select a collection node from the tree to upload to. Either right click on the node and select "Upload directory " or press the "Upload directory " button in the upper right of the dialog.
The user is then prompted to select the direcotry to upload:
122
Integration with Acrobat.com
All the files and folders to be uploaded are presented as a tree, so the user can choose which files to upload:
123
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Initially, all files and folders are selected to be uploaded. The user may prevent items from being uploaded by de-selecting them. Also, the user can right click on a tree node and press "Select only pdf files", which will de-select any non-pdf files.
Finally, the user presses "ok" to start the upload.
Adobe, Acrobat, Acrobat Connect and Adobe AIR are either registered trademarks or trademarks of Adobe Systems, all rights reserved.
THIS PRODUCT IS NOT ENDORSED OR SPONSORED BY ADOBE SYSTEMS
INCORPORATED, PUBLISHER OF ACROBAT.COM.
124
Integration with Google Docs
Integration with Google Docs
Our PDF editor PDF Studio seamlessly integrates with Google Docs, allowing users to access and manage files from their Google Docs account.
Google Docs Login
The user will be prompted to sign in to their Google Account once per PDF Studio session (a "session" begins will PDF Studio loads and ends when it closes). After the user is signed in, the log in dialog will not appear for the rest of the session. In
order to switch Google Accounts the user may logout .
Logout
125
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Pressing the logout button in the upper right of the dialog will log out the current user and the login dialog will be displayed the next time the user attempts to access the repository.
File Management
Open the Google Docs file manager dialog by selecting: File->Google Docs File
Management:
The Google Docs file manager dialog is displayed:
126
Integration with Google Docs
Open a File
Open the Google Docs file chooser dialog by selecting: File->Open From->Google
Docs:
Or by clicking the arrow on the open icon and selecting "Google Docs":
127
128
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
The Google Docs file chooser is displayed:
Integration with Google Docs
This dialog can be used to view all files in the user's Google Docs account. When the "open" button is pressed the selected file will be donwloaded and opened in PDF
Studio.
Open a non-PDF File
Documents, spreadsheets, presnetations, and image files are converted and opened as PDFs.
Save a File
Documents may be saved directly to the Google Docs repository.
If an open document was loaded from the Google Docs repository, pressing the save button: will save over the source doucment, with no additional prompts.
Very similar to how changes to a document loaded from the local file system are saved when the save button is pressed.
The Google Docs save dialog may be used to save an open document to the Google
Docs repository. Open the save dialog with File->Save to->Google docs:
129
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Or by clicking the arrow on the save icon and selecting "Google Docs":
The Google Docs save dialog is displayed:
130
Integration with Google Docs
Either select a file from the file table or enter a new file name, and press save. If a file is selected, the user will be prompted to ensure that they would like to save over it.
Delete Files
Documents and Collections may be deleted by right clicking on a selection and choosing "Delete". Deleting a collection, whether the collection is selected from the tree or the table, will the collection's entire hierachy (all its sub-collectinos will also be deleted).
131
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
View Documents
When "My files" is selected, all documents owned by the user will be displayed in the files table. When "Shared files" is selected, all documents shared with the user will be diplayed in the files table. If a specific collection is selected from the collection tree, the collections and files belonging to the selected collection are dipslayed in the files table.
132
Integration with Google Docs
Search Files
Files can be filtered by typing in the search text field in the upper left of the dialog.
As text is typed, any file dispalyed in the file table that does not start with the entered text, will be removed from view. For example, when "test0" is entered, only files beginning with "test0" are displayed:
133
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Add Collections
To add a new collection, right click on either a node in the collection tree and select
"Create collection":
134
Integration with Google Docs
Enter a name for the new collection in the resulting input dialog. And a new collection with the inputted name will be created, as a child of the selected collection:
135
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Manage Collections
A file may belong to multiple collections or none. To manage which collections a file belongs to, right click on the file and select "Manage collections".
136
Integration with Google Docs
This will open the manage collections dialog:
This dialog displays all the user's collections as a tree. Use this dialog to select the collections the file should belong to:
137
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Press "ok" and the appropriate changes will be made:
Remove from Collections
To simply remove a document from the selected collection, right click on the document and select "Remove from collection".
138
Integration with Google Docs
Share
Documents and collections can be shared with other Google Docs users. To view who access to a document or collection, right click on the item and select "Share":
139
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
This will open a dialog which displays a list of users with access to the selected item:
To grant access to another user, click the "add user" button:
140
Integration with Google Docs
Enter a valid email address, select the permissions to grant, and hit ok:
Permissions may be modified for each user but selecting a new access level from the permissions drop down box:
Download Documents
141
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Documents and collections can be downloaded to the local file system. If a collection is selected, its entire contents (subcollections and documents) will be downloaded. Initate a download by right clicking on a selection of collection nodes or table rows and selecting "Save locally":
The user is prompted to select a directory to download to:
142
Integration with Google Docs
The download can be monitored and canceled via the progress dialog:
143
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Upload Documents
Upload a List of Files
To upload a list of files, select a collection node from the tree to upload to. Either right click on the node and select "Upload Files" or press the "Upload Files" button in the upper right of the dialog.
144
Integration with Google Docs
The user can use the "Choose Files" dialog to build the list of files to upload:
145
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
The "Add files" button allows the user to add indiviudal Files to the List. The "Add folder" button allows the user to select a folder and add its entire contents to the list (if "Only add pdf files" is checked, only the pdf files in the selected folder will be added to the list). The trash and arrow keys allow the user to remove and reorder items. When the user hits the "ok" button the list of files is uploaded to the selected collection.
Upload a Directory
Alternatively, an entire directory structure may be uploaded. To upload a directory, select a collection node from the tree to upload to. Either right click on the node and select "Upload directory " or press the "Upload directory " button in the upper right of the dialog.
The user is then prompted to select the directory to upload:
146
Integration with Google Docs
All the files and folders to be uploaded are presented as a tree, so the user can choose which files to upload:
147
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Initially, all files and folders are selected to be uploaded. The user may prevent items from being uploaded by de-selecting them. Also, the user can right click on a tree node and press "Select only pdf files", which will de-select any non-pdf files.
Finally, the user presses "ok" to start the upload.
Drag and Drop
Drag and drop is supported for reorganization of collections, adding documents to a collection, and uploading.
Reorganize Collections
The user may reorganize the collection hiearchy by dragging and dropping a selection of tree nodes:
148
Integration with Google Docs
Adding Documents to a Collection
Documents may be added to a collection by dragging a selection of file rows onto a tree node. All selected files will be added to the target collection:
Uploading
149
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
File uploads may be initiated by dragging files and folders from the local file system:
Dropping a selection of files/folders on a collection node will bring up the choose files tree, so that users can select which files to upload. This dialog has a checkbox, which allows users to prevent the dialog from being displayed in the future, when files are dropped from the local file system:
150
Integration with Google Docs
151
Integration with SharePoint
Integration with SharePoint
Our PDF editor PDF Studio seamlessly integrates with SharePoint, allowing users to access and manage files from their SharePoint account.
SharePoint Login
The user will be prompted to sign in to their SharePoint once per PDF Studio session (a "session" begins will PDF Studio loads and ends when it closes). After the user is signed in, the log in dialog will not appear for the rest of the session.
File Management
Open the SharePoint file manager dialog by selecting: File->SharePoint File
Management:
153
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
The SharePoint file manager may be used to browse, delete, upload, and open files in a user's sharepoint account.
Open a File
Open the SharePoint file chooser dialog by selecting: File->Open From->Sharepoint
154
Integration with SharePoint
The SharePoint file chooser is displayed:
This dialog can be used to view all files in the user's account. When the "open" button is pressed the selected file will be downloaded and opened in PDF Studio.
Save a File
155
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Documents may be saved directly to SharePoint
If a document was loaded from SharePoint, pressing the save button: will save over the source doucment, with no additional prompts. In the same way that changes to a document loaded from the local file system are saved when the save button is pressed.
The SharePoint save dialog may be used to save an open document to the
SharePoint repository. Open the save dialog with File->Save to->SharePoint :
The SharePoint save dialog is displayed:
156
Integration with SharePoint
Either select a file from the file table or enter a new file name, and press save. If a file is selected, the user will be prompted to ensure that they would like to save over it.
Delete Files
Documents and Folders may be deleted by right clicking on a selection and choosing "Delete". Deleting a folder, whether the collection is selected from the tree or the table, will the folder's entire hierachy (all its files and sub-folder will also be deleted).
157
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Download Documents
Documents and folder can be downloaded to the local file system. If a folder is selected, its entire contents (files and subfolders) will be downloaded. Initate a download by right clicking on a selection of folder nodes or table rows and selecting
"Save locally":
158
Integration with SharePoint
The user is prompted to select a directory to download to:
159
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
The download can be monitored and canceled via the progress dialog:
160
Integration with SharePoint
Upload Documents
Upload a List of Files
To upload a list of files, select a collection node from the tree to upload to. Either right click on the node and select "Upload Files" or press the "Upload Files" button in the upper right of the dialog.
161
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
The user can use the "Choose Files" dialog to build the list of files to upload:
162
Integration with SharePoint
The "Add files" button allows the user to add indiviudal Files to the List. The "Add folder" button allows the user to select a folder and add its entire contents to the list (if "Only add pdf files" is checked, only the pdf files in the selected folder will be added to the list). The trash and arrow keys allow the user to remove and reorder items. When the user hits the "ok" button the list of files is uploaded to the selected collection.
Upload a Directory
Alternatively, an entire directory structure may be uploaded. To upload a directory, select a collection node from the tree to upload to. Either right click on the node and select "Upload directory " or press the "Upload directory " button in the upper right of the dialog.
163
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
The user is then prompted to select the directory to upload:
164
Integration with SharePoint
All the files and folders to be uploaded are presented as a tree, so the user can choose which files to upload:
165
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Initially, all files and folders are selected to be uploaded. The user may prevent items from being uploaded by de-selecting them. Also, the user can right click on a tree node and press "Select only pdf files", which will de-select any non-pdf files.
Finally, the user presses "ok" to start the upload.
166
Interactive PDF Forms
Interactive PDF Forms
Fill and Save PDF Forms
To fill a PDF interactive form
, simply open the document by clicking File > Open and start filling it. PDF Studio works with the following form fields: text fields, combo boxes, check boxes, lists, radio buttons and signature fields. PDF Studio can display push buttons but does not support all actions associated with buttons (for instance, the action to submit a form is not supported yet). The ability to tab through fields makes it easy to fill the form.
To fill a non-interactive form, when the form is simply a scanned page and there
are no active fields on it, you can use the typewriter tool .
To save the PDF form, simply save the PDF document by clicking File > Save. This will save all the data you entered in the form.
Export Form Data
This feature allows you to export data from the current form into a file in FDF or
XFDF format.
To export form data:
1. From the top toolbar, choose Forms > Export Form
2. Select whether to export in FDF or XFDF format
3. The application will open a file chooser dialog. Select the file and location you wish to export to
Import Form Data
This feature allows you to import form data from a file into the current form. The file can be in FDF or XFDF format.
167
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
To import form data:
1. From the top toolbar, choose Forms > Import Form
2. Select whether to import in FDF or XFDF format
3. The application will open a file chooser dialog. Select the file you wish to import from
Reset Fields
This feature allows you to reset the data in all fields in the form. When resetting a field, data will be set to the field's default value or to null if the field has no default value.
To reset fields:
From the top toolbar, choose Forms > Reset Fields
Flatten Fields
This feature allows you to flatten all fields in the form. Fields will be painted directly in the content page to which they belong and will not be editable anymore.
To flatten fields:
From the top toolbar, choose Forms > Flatten Fields
Highlight Fields
This feature allows you to highlight all fields in the form, making them easier to locate.
To highlight fields:
From the top toolbar, choose Forms > Highlight Fields
This will add a checkmark next to the menu item Highlight Fields and the fields in the page will be highlighted with a light blue/purple color. To remove the highlighting, simply choose Forms > Highlight Fields again. This will remove the checkmark next to the menu item, and the fields will return to their original appearance.
168
Keyboard Shortcuts
General Shortcuts
Action
Close
Create blank PDF
Exit
Open
Save
Save as
Display complete folder path for document
Document Shortcut
s
Action
Create bookmark
Crop pages
Document properties
First Page
Last Page
Next view
Previous view
Rotate clockwise
Rotate counter-clockwise
Rotate pages
Text search
Zoom to actual size
Zoom to fit page
Zoom to fit width
Annotation Shortcuts
Annotation
Area
Windows/UNIX ctrl + w ctrl + n ctrl + q ctrl + o ctrl + p ctrl + s ctrl + shift + s n/a
Windows/UNIX ctrl + b ctrl + shift + t ctrl + d home end alt + → alt + ← ctrl + shift + → ctrl + shift + ← ctrl + shift + r ctrl + f ctrl + 1 ctrl + 0 ctrl + 2
Windows/UNIX ctrl + alt + e
Mac
⌘
+ w
⌘
+ n
⌘
+ q
⌘
+ o
⌘
+ p
⌘
+ s
⌘
+ shift + s
⌘
+ click or ctrl + click on window title
Mac
⌘
+ b
⌘
+ shift + t
⌘
+ d home end alt + → alt + ←
⌘
+ shift + →
⌘
+ shift + ←
⌘
+ shift + r
⌘
+ f
⌘
+ 1
⌘
+ 0
⌘
+ 2
Mac
⌘
+ alt + e
169
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Area Highlighter
Arrow
Attach File as Comment
Callout
Circle
Cloud
Cross out Text
Distance
Text Box
Highlight Text
Line
Pencil
Perimeter
Polygon
Polyline
Sound
Square
Sticky Note
Underline Text
Typewriter ctrl + alt + i ctrl + alt + a ctrl + alt + f ctrl + alt + v ctrl + alt + c ctrl + alt + d ctrl + alt + o ctrl + alt + d ctrl + alt + t ctrl + alt + h ctrl + alt + l ctrl + alt + p ctrl + alt + r ctrl + alt + g ctrl + alt + y ctrl + alt + s ctrl + alt + q ctrl + alt + n ctrl + alt + u ctrl + alt + w
⌘
+ alt + i
⌘
+ alt + a
⌘
+ alt + f
⌘
+ alt + v
⌘
+ alt + c
⌘
+ alt + d
⌘
+ alt + o
⌘
+ alt + d
⌘
+ alt + t
⌘
+ alt + h
⌘
+ alt + l
⌘
+ alt + p
⌘
+ alt + r
⌘
+ alt + g
⌘
+ alt + y
⌘
+ alt + w
⌘
+ alt + q
⌘
+ alt + n
⌘
+ alt + u
⌘
+ alt + w
170
Links
Links
Links may be automatically generated and removed.
Create a link
text (CTRL + Click on Mac), choose "Create Link" in the context menu. After the link annotation is added, the Link Properties dialog is displayed.
Link Properties:
•
Border Width
•
Border Color
171
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
•
•
•
•
Action o
Open a web link. Some examples of valid links:
http://www.qoppa.com
ftp://ftp.site.com file:c:\qoppa\temp.txt
mailto:[email protected]
Go to a page in this document.
Go to a page in another document.
Custom link. Allows you to add multiple actions from a list of available actions:
Auto create links
To automatically generate links for a document's content, select Comments->Links-
>Auto create links. This will present the below dialog. When the "find" button is pressed, the document will be searched text content that appears to be either a web link or an email link (depending on which "search for" options are selected).
The link to be created is displayed in the "Link" column of the table. This value may be edited. When the "Make" button is pressed, the selected links are created.
172
Links
Auto remove links
To automatically remove all links for a document, select Comments->Links->Auto remove links. The user will be prompted to confirm the removal. If confirmed, all links will be deleted.
173
Modify PDF Pages
Modify PDF Pages
To start working with pages of PDF documents, click on the Document menu on the top toolbar. You can choose among the available options:
•
•
Append Document – Append another PDF document to the current one.
Insert Pages – Insert pages from another PDF document into the current
•
• one.
Extract Pages – Extract pages from the current document into a new
document.
Replace Pages – Replace pages from the current document with pages from
•
•
• another document.
Delete Pages – Delete pages from the current document.
Rotate Pages – Rotate pages in the current document.
Reverse Pages – Reverse the page order in the current document.
•
•
Drag and Drop Pages - Drag pages within a document or across documents.
Cut, Copy, and Paste Pages - Cut/Copy and Paste pages within a document
or across documents.
Add Headers and Footers such as Page numbers, Dates, Bates Numbers.
•
•
•
Split a Document into Multiple Documents Based on Bookmarks, Page
You can also move pages of a PDF document by dragging and dropping their
thumbnails.
Append Document
To append
another PDF document to the current one:
•
•
•
Click on the Document menu on the top toolbar
Choose the Append Document option
The application will open a file chooser dialog. Browse to the PDF file you wish to append
175
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
•
The document selected will be appended to the current one (all the pages from the document selected will be inserted at the end of the current document)
Insert Pages
To insert pages
from another PDF into the current one:
•
•
Click on the Document menu on the top toolbar
Choose the Insert Pages option
•
The application will open a file chooser dialog. Browse to the PDF file from which you wish to insert pages
•
•
The application will open the Insert Pages dialog
Fill in the options in the Insert Pages dialog
You can also insert pages from another PDF document by opening it and dragging the thumbnails of the desired pages into the current document.
Extract Pages
To extract pages
from the current document:
•
Click on the Document menu on the top toolbar
•
Choose the Extract Pages option
•
The application will open the Extract Pages dialog
•
Fill in the options in the Extract Pages dialog
176
Modify PDF Pages
Replace Pages
To replace pages
from the current document with pages from another document:
•
•
Click on the Document menu on the top toolbar
Choose the Replace Pages option
•
•
•
The application will open a file chooser dialog. Browse to the PDF file from which you wish to get new pages
The application will open the Replace Pages dialog
Fill in the options in the Replace Pages dialog
Delete Pages
To delete pages
from the current document:
•
•
Click on the Document menu on the top toolbar
Choose the Delete Pages option
•
•
The application will open the Delete Pages dialog
Fill in the options in the Delete Pages dialog
177
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
•
•
To overwrite the current document, simply save the current document
To create a new document, choose File > Save As and enter the name of the new document
Rotate Pages
To rotate pages
in the current document:
•
Click on the Document menu on the top toolbar
•
Choose the Rotate Pages option
•
The application will open the Rotate Pages dialog
•
Fill in the options in the Rotate Pages dialog
•
Note:
Save the document to save the rotation of the pages
This feature will update the rotation property for the pages rotated in the document itself and the rotation will be saved when the document is saved. To rotate pages temporarily in the current view only, use the Rotate Clockwise and
Rotate Counterclockwise buttons on the top toolbar.
Reverse Page Order
To reverse
the page order within the current document:
•
•
Click on the Document menu on the top toolbar
Choose the Reverse Pages option
•
The application will automatically reverse the order of the pages in the open document
178
Modify PDF Pages
Drag and Drop
Move and reorder pages within a document: Use the mouse to select thumbnails from the Thumbnail Pane and then Drag thumbnail pages at the desired location in the Thumbnail Pane.
Copy page across documents: Use the mouse to select thumbnails from the
Thumbnail Pane and drag thumbnail pages to the other document Thumbnail Pane to copy pages from a source document to a destination document.
Merge documents / insert documents: Documents of all supported file types can be inserted as new pages into a document by dragging files to the Thumbnail
Pane directly.
Cut, Copy, and Paste Pages
Use the mouse to select thumbnail pages from the Thumbnail Pane and then:
•
Right click (Mac: Ctrl+Click) or use keyboard shortcuts to cut or copy the
•
selected pages.
Right click (Mac: Ctrl+Click) or use keyboard shortcuts to paste the
selected pages in the same document or into another document.
179
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Split PDF documents
Split a PDF document / Create a new split configuration
Split a document using an existing split configuration
Split a PDF document / Create a new split configuration
To split a PDF document:
1. Open the document that you would like to split. This is not a required step if you only wish to create a split configuration without applying it immediately.
2. From the top toolbar, go to Document > Split Document to show the Split dialog. In the combo box the name for the new split configuration shows as
<New Item>.
3. Fill in the desired options for the current split configuration.
4. To split the current document , click on the Apply button at the bottom of the dialog. You do not need to save the split configuration before splitting a document.
5. To save the current split configuration for later reuse, click on the Save button below the name combo box. You will be prompted to enter a name for your new configuration.
All your previously split configurations appear in the drop down list in the combo box. Split configurations are saved as part of the user settings and can thus be accessed next time you launch a new session of PDF Studio.
Split Options
The Split Options dialog allows the user to set options when splitting a PDF document into multiple documents.
180
Modify PDF Pages
•
The dialog has the following sections:
General
– Options associated with the current split configuration. o
Name – Name of the configuration. The name is used on the drop down combo boxes and in the Split PDF menu.
• o
Show on Menu – Whether to show this split configuration on the Split
PDF menu for fast access.
Split Method
– Use this section to tell PDF Studio how to split the document into multiple documents. The available options in this section are: o
Split into documents of – Use this method to split the document into equal size documents of a given number of pages. Enter the page count in the text field.
181
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
182
•
• o o
Split by page range
– Use this method to split the document into multiple documents based on page range. Enter the page range in the text field. Dash is used for a page range, comma to separate pages within the same document, semicolon to separate documents.
So for instance, 1, 3-5; 7-10 will output two documents, the first document with pages 1, 3, 4, and 5, and the second document with pages 7, 8, 9, and 10.
Split by blank page
– Use this method to split the document when a white page is encountered. The white page will be used as a separator between documents and will be discarded. o o
Split by bookmarks
– Use this method to split the document based on bookmarks at level 1. You can also choose to split up to a higher level, for instance up to level 3. In this case, the document will be split at bookmark level 1, level 2, and level 3. In this method, we assume that the bookmarks contain goto page actions within the PDF document itself and that the bookmarks have been created in ascending page order.
Split by text
– Use this method to split the document when specific text in the document is encountered. When the text is encountered in a page, this page will become the first page of the next document.
Save Files To
– This section is about the output PDF files (the PDF documents obtained by splitting the incoming document) o
File Name Pattern
: This section is to determine the pattern of the output files.
Use Source filename
– When this option is selected, the original filename for the current PDF document (the document that is being split) will be used to name the output files.
New filename
– When this option is selected, you will need to enter a new filename used for the output files.
Append
– For each output PDF file, you can choose to append the page range or an incremental counter starting at any given number. PDF Studio will start with the original PDF file name
(note that the original PDF file name can first be altered using the Change the PDF File Name section below).
When the
Page Range option is chosen, PDF Studio will append a string containing the page range (for instance, test_p4-p6.pdf). When Split by
Modify PDF Pages
•
•
Page Range method was selected, the page range formula will be appended as a string (for instance, the page range formula 1,3,5-10 will create a new file with the name test_1_3_5-10.pdf). Note that an underscore character precedes the page range formula and commas are replaced with an underscore character.
When Incremental Counter option is chosen, PDF Studio will append an incremental counter. The counter will be reset for each new incoming PDF file.
Append Bookmark Name
– This option is only available when the Split by
Bookmarks method was selected. This will append the name of the starting bookmark to the output document names (for instance, if "Cover Page" is the first bookmark name, the first output document could be named test_p1-p1_CoverPage.pdf). Only letters, numbers, hyphen and underscore characters are preserved in the bookmark name to guarantee that all operating systems will accept this file name. Commas are replaced by underscores. o
Destination Folder
– This section determines the destination folder where the output PDF files will be saved.
Use Source Folder
– When this option is selected, the original folder for the current PDF document (the document that is being split) will be used to save the output files.
Destination Folder
– When this option is selected, you will need to enter the folder of your choice where output files should be saved. You can browse to a folder by clicking on the
Browse button.
Split a PDF document using an existing split configuration
There are 2 ways to apply an existing split configuration:
•
From the Split dialog. Open the document that you would like to split. Open the Split dialog from Document > Split Document. Choose the split configuration from the drop down list in the combo box, click on the Apply button at the bottom of the dialog.
•
From the Split Document menu. Open the document that you would like to split. Under the Document > Split Document menu, there is a list of all the split configurations that you have previously created. Note that only the
183
PDF Studio 6 User Guide ones for which you chose the Show on Menu option will appear on this list.
Click on the split configuration in the list you'd like to apply.
184
Preflight
Preflight
PDF Studio can verify document compliance with the following PDF/X standards:
•
•
PDF/X-1a:2001 – ISO 15930-1
PDF/X-1a:2003 – ISO 15930-4
•
PDF/X-3:2002 – ISO 15930-3
•
PDF/X-3:2003 – ISO 15930-6
Preflight a document
To start a preflight operation, choose Document > Preflight from the menu and choose the standard that you would like to use to check the document.
Alternatively, you can also press Ctrl+Shift+x to show the Preflight dialog:
From this dialog, you can choose the desired format and then press Execute to run compliance checking. When the Execute button is pressed, the application will check the document and then display the following dialog with the results:
185
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
This dialog lists any content in the document that is not compliant with the given specification. To add annotations to the PDF document where compliance problems were detected, check the Add as annotations box before closing the dialog.
186
Rubber Stamps
Rubber Stamps
Paste a clipboard image as a stamp
Apply a rubber stamp
There are three ways to apply a stamp:
1. From the top toolbar, choose Comments > Add Stamp, choose the appropriate stamp (the pointer changes to resemble the stamp's icon), then click the document where you would like to apply the stamp.
2. From the annotations toolbar, click on the down arrow on the Stamps button, choose the appropriate stamp (the pointer changes to resemble the stamp's icon), then click the document where you would like to apply the stamp.
3. From the annotations toolbar, click on the Stamps button, and then click the document where you would like to apply the stamp.
This method will change the pointer to the most recently used stamp, or the default stamp if one has been selected. Hovering the mouse over the
Stamps button will display a tooltip with the name of the stamp currently saved. If no stamp has been used, and no stamp is set as a default stamp, the tooltip will say "RubberStamp," and clicking on the button will display the drop down menu of stamps. A stamp can be set to default by editing the stamp from the Manage Stamps dialog, and selecting the 'Save as default' check box on the edit stamp dialog.
Manage stamps
To manage your custom stamps: From the top toolbar, go to Comments > Add
Stamp > Manage Stamps to show the Manage Stamps dialog. The dialog shows a
187
PDF Studio 6 User Guide tree of existing stamps and a stamp toolbar to work with the tree. The stamp toolbar has buttons to create, delete, and edit stamps and folders.
The tree will initially have a folder named standard which contains the following stamps: As Is, Approved, Confidential, Departmental Draft, Experimental,
Expired, Final, For Comment, For Public Release, Not Approved, Not for
Public Release, Sold and Top Secret
.
The stamp tree can be modified using the buttons in the stamp toolbar:
•
Adds a new stamp to the tree.
•
•
Adds a new folder to the tree.
Brings up the edit dialog for the currently selected stamp.
•
Deletes the currently selected node.
Create an image stamp
Users can create image stamps from any image (jpg or gif format) accessible from their computer, for instance their own signature stamp.
To create an image stamp:
1. Click on Comments > Add Stamp > Create Image Stamp from the top toolbar to open the Create Image Stamp dialog (see below)
2. Enter the options for the image stamp.
188
Rubber Stamps
•
•
The options for an image stamp are as follows:
Category – Category to add this stamp to.
Name – Name of the stamp. The name is used in the Stamps menu.
•
•
File – The full path to the image file used in the stamp.
Scale – Change the size of the original image to the size you want your stamp to be
•
Save as Default – Check this to set this stamp as the default stamp
New stamps are saved
as you go, so anytime you close the dialog or the program, all your stamps are automatically saved. Stamps are saved as part of the user settings and can thus be accessed next time you launch a new session of PDF
Studio.
Create a text stamp
Users can create text stamps with custom text or keywords that are populated when the stamp is applied to a document.
To create a text stamp:
189
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
1. Click on Comments > Add Stamp > Create Text Stamp from the top toolbar to open the Create Text Stamp dialog (see below)
2. Enter the options for the new stamp
•
•
The options for a text stamp are as follows:
Category – Category to add this stamp to.
Name – Name of the stamp. The name is used in the Stamps menu.
•
Text – Text to be displayed on the stamp.
There are predefined keywords to allow you to refer to the current page, current date, etc. o
$page – The page number o
$author – The user logged in o
$totalpages – The number of pages in the document o
$filename – The file name that the document was opened from o
$filepath – The full file page that the document was opened from o
$date – The current date formatted as Nov. 28, 2007 o
$shortdate – The current date formatted as 11/28/07 o
$time – The current time o
$day – The day of the month o
$month – The current month, using two digits
190
Rubber Stamps
•
• o
$year – The current year, using four digits o
$shortyear – The current year, using two digits o
$second – The current second o
$minute – The current minute o
$hour – The current hour, 1-12 o
$ampm – AM or PM o
$longhour -The current hour, 0-23
Color – Color of the stamp.
Transparency – Transparency of the stamp
Scale – Change the size of the original image to the size you want your
• stamp to be
•
Save as Default – Check this to set this stamp as the default stamp
New stamps are saved
as you go, so anytime you close the dialog or the program, all your stamps are automatically saved. Stamps are saved as part of the user settings and can thus be accessed next time you launch a new session of PDF Studio.
Create a custom stamp
Users can create custom stamps with images, shapes and custom text or keywords that are populated when the stamp is applied to a document.
To create a custom stamp:
1. Click on Comments > Add Stamp > Create Custom Stamp from the top toolbar to open the Create Custom Stamp dialog (see below)
2. Enter the options for the new stamp
191
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
The options for an image stamp are as follows:
•
Category – Category to add this stamp to.
•
Name – Name of the stamp. The name is used in the Stamps menu.
•
Units/Width/Height – Enter the size for the custom stamp.
•
Fill Color - Choose a color for your custom stamp background.
•
Transparency - Enter a transparency value for the stamp's fill color.
•
Save as Default – Check this to set this stamp as the default stamp
New stamps are saved
as you go, so anytime you close the dialog or the program, all your stamps are automatically saved. Stamps are saved as part of the user settings and can thus be accessed next time you launch a new session of PDF
Studio.
192
Scan to PDF
With PDF Studio, you can scan images using any TWAIN compliant scanner, straight into an existing or new PDF document.
To initiate scanning to PDF
1. Click on the scanner button on the toolbar, choose Document->Scan To
PDF, or File->Create PDF->From Scanner from the menu and the program will guide you through scanning the image and then inserting the scan into the current document or into a new document:
2. When the scanning function is invoked, the first step is to choose the
TWAIN source. TWAIN is the standard software interface to any scanner hardware. Most every scanner comes with TWAIN drivers that are installed automatically when you install the scanner in your computer. Please refer to your scanner documentation if the program reports that there are no
TWAIN sources available. After the scan button is pressed, the dialog box to let the user choose which scanner to use. The selection dialog will look something like this:
193
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
The choices in the dialog box will vary according to the scanner(s) installed on your system. Choose a scanner from the list and click on the OK button to proceed. If there is an error with the selected scanner, the dialog will appear again with the previously tried scanner highlighted so you can choose a new scanner. If the selected scanner had been a default option, you can use this dialog to change the default scanner.
3. When the OK button is pressed, the program will invoke your scanner's custom scanning user interface. This is a separate program that will normally allow you to preview the scan, choose a region to scan and other options such as scan resolution and then accept the scan.
4. Once the scan has been accepted and PDF Studio has received the data from the scanner software, PDF Studio will display a dialog box showing some information about the scan and will prompt you for a number of choices to determine how to insert the new image:
194 o
Insert At: This option tells the program where to insert the new image. The choices are:
End of Document: The image will be inserted at the end of the current document.
Current Page: The image will be inserted after the current page.
Scan to PDF o o o o
Beginning of Document: The image will be inserted as the first page in the current document.
New Document: The program creates a new PDF document and inserts the image in the first page.
Interleave: When scanning multiple images, this option can be used to insert them at every other page. This is especially useful for scanning two-sided documents. When selected, an option will appear to select after which page to start the interleaving.
Page Size: This option tells the program what size to use when creating a new page to hold the image. The options are:
Size to Image: The new page will be created the same size as
the scanned image.
Same as Document: The new page will be created the same size as the scanned image. If the document is empty or if the
Insert At choice is set to New Document
the new page will be created at the same size as the scanned image.
Resolution: This option tells the program what resolution to use when saving the image into the PDF document. The choices are:
PDF Resolution (72DPI): The image will be resized so that the resolution is 72 DPI. 72DPI is the standard resolution in PDF
documents.
Keep Original: The image will be inserted at the scanned resolution. Keep in mind that scanners can scan images at very high resolutions (600+ DPI). If images are kept at their original resolution, the resulting PDF documents can be extremely large.
Compression: This option tells the program what compression to use when saving the image into the PDF document. The choices are:
JPEG (recommended compression)
Deflate (similar to Zip)
Qual (for JPEG compression only): If using JPEG, the compression quality can be adjusted from 1 to 100%:
1 = very high compression – very low quality
100 = low compression – very high quality
195
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Suggested values are 80=high quality, 50=medium quality,
20=low quality
196
Snapshot Tool
The snapshot tool can be used to save a portion of the screen as an image.
To use the snapshot tool, select the snapshot tool icon from the toolbar.
After selecting the tool, drag the mouse over the page to select the snapshot area.
When the mouse button is released, an image will be created from the selected area. The image will be copied to the system clipboard and saved as a file.
197
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
The destination and format of the output image can be set in the user preferences.
198
Split PDF Documents
Split PDF documents
Split a PDF document / Create a new split configuration
Split a document using an existing split configuration
Split a PDF document / Create a new split configuration
To split a PDF document:
1. Open the document that you would like to split. This is not a required step if you only wish to create a split configuration without applying it immediately.
2. From the top toolbar, go to Document > Split Document to show the Split dialog. In the combo box the name for the new split configuration shows as
<New Item>.
3. Fill in the desired options for the current split configuration.
4. To split the current document , click on the Apply button at the bottom of the dialog. You do not need to save the split configuration before splitting a document.
5. To save the current split configuration for later reuse, click on the Save button below the name combo box. You will be prompted to enter a name for your new configuration.
All your previously split configurations appear in the drop down list in the combo box. Split configurations are saved as part of the user settings and can thus be accessed next time you launch a new session of PDF Studio.
Split Options
The Split Options dialog allows the user to set options when splitting a PDF document into multiple documents.
199
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
•
The dialog has the following sections:
General
– Options associated with the current split configuration. o
Name – Name of the configuration. The name is used on the drop down combo boxes and in the Split PDF menu.
• o
Show on Menu – Whether to show this split configuration on the Split
PDF menu for fast access.
Split Method
– Use this section to tell PDF Studio how to split the document into multiple documents. The available options in this section are: o
Split into documents of – Use this method to split the document into equal size documents of a given number of pages. Enter the page count in the text field.
200
Split PDF Documents
•
• o o
Split by page range
– Use this method to split the document into multiple documents based on page range. Enter the page range in the text field. Dash is used for a page range, comma to separate pages within the same document, semicolon to separate documents.
So for instance, 1, 3-5; 7-10 will output two documents, the first document with pages 1, 3, 4, and 5, and the second document with pages 7, 8, 9, and 10.
Split by blank page
– Use this method to split the document when a white page is encountered. The white page will be used as a separator between documents and will be discarded. o o
Split by bookmarks
– Use this method to split the document based on bookmarks at level 1. You can also choose to split up to a higher level, for instance up to level 3. In this case, the document will be split at bookmark level 1, level 2, and level 3. In this method, we assume that the bookmarks contain goto page actions within the PDF document itself and that the bookmarks have been created in ascending page order.
Split by text
– Use this method to split the document when specific text in the document is encountered. When the text is encountered in a page, this page will become the first page of the next document.
Save Files To
– This section is about the output PDF files (the PDF documents obtained by splitting the incoming document) o
File Name Pattern
: This section is to determine the pattern of the output files.
Use Source filename
– When this option is selected, the original filename for the current PDF document (the document that is being split) will be used to name the output files.
New filename
– When this option is selected, you will need to enter a new filename used for the output files.
Append
– For each output PDF file, you can choose to append the page range or an incremental counter starting at any given number. PDF Studio will start with the original PDF file name
(note that the original PDF file name can first be altered using the Change the PDF File Name section below).
When the
Page Range option is chosen, PDF Studio will append a string containing the page range (for instance, test_p4-p6.pdf). When Split by
201
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
•
•
Page Range method was selected, the page range formula will be appended as a string (for instance, the page range formula 1,3,5-10 will create a new file with the name test_1_3_5-10.pdf). Note that an underscore character precedes the page range formula and commas are replaced with an underscore character.
When Incremental Counter option is chosen, PDF Studio will append an incremental counter. The counter will be reset for each new incoming PDF file.
Append Bookmark Name
– This option is only available when the Split by
Bookmarks method was selected. This will append the name of the starting bookmark to the output document names (for instance, if "Cover Page" is the first bookmark name, the first output document could be named test_p1-p1_CoverPage.pdf). Only letters, numbers, hyphen and underscore characters are preserved in the bookmark name to guarantee that all operating systems will accept this file name. Commas are replaced by underscores. o
Destination Folder
– This section determines the destination folder where the output PDF files will be saved.
Use Source Folder
– When this option is selected, the original folder for the current PDF document (the document that is being split) will be used to save the output files.
Destination Folder
– When this option is selected, you will need to enter the folder of your choice where output files should be saved. You can browse to a folder by clicking on the
Browse button.
Split a PDF document using an existing split configuration
There are 2 ways to apply an existing split configuration:
•
From the Split dialog. Open the document that you would like to split. Open the Split dialog from Document > Split Document. Choose the split configuration from the drop down list in the combo box, click on the Apply button at the bottom of the dialog.
•
From the Split Document menu. Open the document that you would like to split. Under the Document > Split Document menu, there is a list of all the split configurations that you have previously created. Note that only the
202
Split PDF Documents ones for which you chose the Show on Menu option will appear on this list.
Click on the split configuration in the list you'd like to apply.
203
Text Search, Extraction, Selection & Markup
Text Search, Extraction, Selection & Markup
Search Text
With PDF Studio, you can search the text of a PDF document.
To open the Text Search dialog
: Click on the Text Search button – it's the button with the magnifying glass icon – on the toolbar or choose Edit > Text Search from the menu and the text search dialog will open.
To search for text
: Enter the text to search for in the text field, select the appropriate search options, and press the Enter key or click on the New Search button. All occurrences of the string in the document will appear in the occurrences list.
205
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
To navigate through the list of occurrences
, you can either:
•
Use the Up arrow key (previous occurrence) and Down arrow key (next occurrence) on your keyboard.
•
Click on the Previous Occurrence or Next Occurrence buttons. These are the two buttons next to the New Search button with the Left and Right arrow icons.
•
Or use the F3 (next occurrence) and Shift F3 (previous occurrence) keys.
Searches can be customized with the following options:
•
•
•
Case-Sensitive: If checked, the search will be case sensitive. Searching for the string "The" will not return the same results as searching for the string
"the."
Whole words only: If checked, the search will only look for whole words. For instance, when checked, searching for "the" will not return occurrences of
"they." But when this option is left unchecked, all occurrences of "they" will appear in the occurrence list.
Include comments: If checked, the search will include annotation comments.
206
Text Search, Extraction, Selection & Markup
Extract Text
To extract text
from the current document:
•
Click on the Document menu on the top toolbar
•
Choose the Extract Text option
•
The application will open a Save File dialog
•
Choose the name of the text file where the text will be extracted to
Select Text
To select text on the page, from the top toolbar, click on the Select text icon
then drag the mouse around the desired rectangle text area. All the text contained in the area will be selected. When right-clicking on the mouse (Mac:
Ctrl+Click), a menu will appear giving you the choice to:
•
Copy the selected text to the clipboard. Once the text is copied to the clipboard, you can paste it into any text or Word document by simply right-
•
• clicking (Mac: Ctrl+Click) on the mouse and choosing the paste option in the mouse menu.
Highlight the selected text.
Underline the selected text
•
•
•
•
Cross Out the selected text.
Squiggly underline the selected text.
Replace the selected text
Insert text after the selection.
To exit the selection mode
, simply click on the mouse icon.
207
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Highlight Text
To highlight text in a page, click on the highlight icon on the annotation toolbar
, then select the desired rectangular text area on the page by dragging the mouse. Once you release the mouse, a property dialog will open. Select the color of the highlight and add any comments in the content area then click on the Save button.
All text contained in the rectangular area will be highlighted.
208
Text Search, Extraction, Selection & Markup
To remove or edit a text highlight
, click on the mouse icon , select the highlight by clicking on it, and right click (Mac: Ctrl+Click). The mouse menu will give you the option to open the properties dialog for the highlight or to simply delete it.
Cross out text
To cross out text
on a page, click on the Cross Out icon on the annotation toolbar
, then select the desired rectangular text area on the page by dragging the mouse. Once you release the mouse, a property dialog will open. Select the color of the cross out and add any comment in the content area then click on the Save button.
All text contained in the rectangular area will be crossed out.
209
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
To remove or edit a text cross out
, click on the mouse icon , select the cross out by clicking on it, and right-click (Mac: Ctrl+Click). The mouse menu will give you the option to open the properties dialog for the cross out or to simply delete it.
Underline Text
To underline text on a page, click on the Underline icon on the annotation toolbar
, the select the desired rectangular text area on the page by dragging the mouse. Once you release the mouse, a property dialog will open. Select the color of the underline and add any comment in the content area and then click on the save button.
210
Text Search, Extraction, Selection & Markup
All text contained in the rectangular area will be underlined.
To remove or edit a text underline
, click on the mouse icon , select the underline by clicking on it, and right-click (Mac: Ctrl+Click). The mouse menu will give you the option to open the properties dialog for the underline or to simply delete it.
Squiggly Underline Text
To underline text with a squiggly
on the page by dragging the mouse. Once you release the mouse, a property dialog will open. Select the color of the underline and add any comment in the content area then click on the Save button.
, click on the Squiggly Underline icon on the annotation toolbar (SQUIGGLY ICON), then select the desired rectangular text area
211
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
All text contained in the rectangular area will be underlined with a squiggly.
To remove or edit a text squiggly underline
, click on the mouse icon , select the squiggly underline by clicking on it, and right-click (Mac: Ctrl+Click). The mouse menu will give you the option to open the properties dialog for the underline or to simply delete it.
Insert Text
To add an insert text annotation, click on the Insert Text icon on the toolbar.
The cursor will become a crosshair. Click the crosshair on the desired location for
212
Text Search, Extraction, Selection & Markup the insert text annotation. One placed, a property dialog will open. Select the color of the annotation and add any comment in the content area then click on the Save button.
To remove or edit an insert text annotation
, click on the mouse icon , select the annotation by clicking on it, and right-click (Mac: Ctrl+Click). The mouse menu will give you the option to open the properties dialog for the annotation or to simply delete it.
Replace Text
To add a replace text annotation
dragging the mouse. Once you release the mouse, a property dialog will open.
Select the color of the strikethrough and add any comment in the content area then click on the Save button.
, click on the Replace Text icon on the annotation toolbar then select the desired rectangular text area on the page by
213
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
To remove or edit a replace text annotation
, click on the mouse icon , select the annotation by clicking on it, and right-click (Mac: Ctrl+Click). The mouse menu will give you the option to open the properties dialog for the annotation or to simply delete it.
214
User Preferences
User Preferences
Open the Preferences dialog
To open the preferences dialog
, choose Edit > Preferences from the top toolbar.
The application will display the Preferences Dialog:
215
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
General Preferences
Language
Sets the preferred language. Languages available are
English, French, German, and Spanish. The default language will be determined from the language setting for the computer/operating system. After changing the language preference, the application will have to be restarted for the change to take effect.
Author
This is the author name to be associated with the annotations added to the document.
216
User Preferences
Default Page Sets the default page size.
Units
Users can define preferred measurement units (inches, centimeters, points, ..). Units will be used for the Crop dialog and in Document Properties when displaying the page size.
Paste Images Sets whether or not adjust to zoom for the pasted images.
Measurement
If Show Measuring Dialog is selected, a dialog with the measurement details will be displayed while measuring tools are in use. If Snap to Content is selected, annotation vertices will snap to lines in documents.
Snapshot
When Save As is selected, the snapshot too will save an image to the file system. The destination directory and format for the image will be determined from the extension selected in the textbox and the contents of the Folder text field.
Document Services Allows users to set the sources where PDF Studio can open files from.
File Dialog Allows users to switch between the Java file dialog and
System file dialog. This selection is available to Windows and
Linux/Unix users.
Annotations Preferences
217
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
PDF Studio allows users to set default properties for each tool. These default properties are used when creating new annotations using the tool. Click on a tool to open its properties dialog:
218
Display Preferences
Users can set the layout and magnification for displaying the documents.
Scan Preferences
User Preferences
219
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
PDF Studio allows users to set the default scanner.
Sign Preferences
Users can manage Trusted Certificates and Digital IDs in this tab.
Updates Preferences
220
User Preferences
Users can check for the updated version of PDF Studio and set the automatic check period.
Text To PDF Preferences
PDF Studio allows users to set the default Text To PDF settings. These default settings will be applied to the output PDF files when text files are converted.
221
Tool Chest
Tool Chest
PDF Studio can store frequently used comments and annotations in a tool chest. To show the tool chest, select View -> Tool Chest . To add an annotation from the tool chest to a document, click the annotation in the tool chest, and then click the location on the document to place the annotation.
My Comments
Users can maintain their preferred list of comments and annotations in the My
Comments section of the tool chest. To add an annotation to My Comments, select the annotation in the document by clicking on it, right-click (Mac: ctrl+click) to show the context menu and select Add to My Comments from the menu.
Recent Comments
The list of recently used annotations are maintained in the Recent Comments section of the tool chest. Annotations that are added to a document or modified on a document will automatically be added to this list. This list keeps the 30 most recently used annotations. To permanently keep an item from the Recent
223
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Comments list, right-click (Mac: ctrl+click) the annotation in the Recent Comments tool chest and select Add to My Comments from the context menu.
224
Watermarks
Watermarks
Apply an existing watermark to a batch
Create and apply a new text or image watermark
To create a new watermark:
1. Open the document that you would like to add a watermark to. This is not a required step if you only wish to create a watermark without applying it immediately. However, it is useful to be able to preview the watermark on the document.
2. From the top toolbar, go to Document > Watermark > Create Watermark to show the Create Watermark dialog. In the combo box the name for the new
Watermark shows as <New Item>.
3. Fill in the desired options for the watermark.
4. As options are being changed, you can preview the watermark on the document pages in the preview panes.
5. To apply the watermark to the document, click on the Apply button at the bottom of the dialog. You do not need to save a watermark before applying it to a document.
6. To save the watermark for later reuse, click on the Save button below the name combo box. You will be prompted to enter a name for your new watermark.
All your previously saved watermarks appear in the drop down list in the combo box. Watermarks are saved as part of the user settings and can thus be accessed next time you launch a new session of PDF Studio.
Fill watermark options
Watermarks have a set of attributes that indicated the watermark appearance on the document pages as well as what pages should be stamped.
225
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
The options for a watermark are as follows:
•
General – Options associated with the current watermark configuration. o
Name – Name of the watermark. The name is used on the drop down combo boxes and in the Watermark menu.
• o
Show on Menu – Whether to show this watermark on the Watermark menu for easy access.
Appearance – Options that control the appearance on the page. o
Units – What units to use when calculating the horizontal and vertical locations. This can be inches, centimeters or points. Points are o o o calculated in the PDF standard, 72 points per inch.
Horizontal Location – The horizontal location is relative to the left, right, or center of the page according to the choice in the drop down box. The number entered here is interpreted in units.
Vertical Location – The vertical location is relative to the top, bottom, or center of the page according to the choice in the drop down box.
The number entered here is interpreted in units.
Rotate – Rotate the watermark (text or image) by the given degrees clockwise.
226
Watermarks
•
• o
Transparency – Transparency of the watermark. 100% is invisible and 0% is opaque.
Pages o
All – Watermark will be placed in all pages in the document. o
Even – Watermark will only be placed in even pages of the document. o
Odd – Watermark will only be placed in odd pages of the document. o
First – Watermark will only be placed in the first page of the document. o o
Last – Watermark will only be placed in the last page of the document.
Range – Watermark will only be placed in the specified range of pages.
From and To – Range of pages where the watermark will be placed.
Text (when Text radio button is selected) – Options for a text watermark. o
Text for the watermark.
Click on the Date button to choose and insert a date format.
Click on the Page Number button to choose and insert page numbers in a chosen format.
Click on the Bates Number button to insert a Bates number.
There are predefined keywords to allow users to refer to the current page, current date, etc. o
$page – The page number o
$author – The user logged in o
$totalpages – The number of pages in the document o
$filename – The file name that the document was opened from o
$filepath – The full file path that the document was opened from o o o o
$date – The current date formatted as Nov 28, 2007
$shortdate – The current date formatted as 11/28/07
$time – The current time
$day – The day of the month o o o
$month – The current month, using two digits
$year – The current year, using four digits
$shortyear – The current year, using two digits
227
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
• o o o o o o
$second – The current second o
$minute – The current minute o
$hour – The current hour, 1-12 o
$ampm – AM or PM o
$longhour – The current hour, 0-23
Font – Name of the font
Size – Font size in points
Color of the text
Bold/Italic – Use the B and I toggle buttons to make the text bold and/or italic
Border – Border of the text. If this is chosen, a box outline will be drawn around the text o o
Bgnd – Background color. Check this box and enter a background color to draw a box behind the text in the specified color
Justification – Left, Center, or Right. This only applies for multiline watermarks.
Image (when Image radio button is selected) – Options for an image watermark o
File: The path to the image file. Accepted formats are jpg, png, gif.
Scale – The scale to apply to the image (100% for the full-size image
Apply an existing watermark
There are two ways to apply an existing watermark:
•
From the Watermark dialog. Open the document that you would like to apply a watermark to. Open the Watermark dialog from Document >
Watermark > Create Watermark. Choose the watermark from the drop down list in the combo box, click on the Apply button at the bottom of the
• dialog. You can preview the watermark before you decided to apply it.
From the Watermark menu. Open the document that you would like to apply a watermark to. Under the Watermark menu, there is a list of all of the watermarks you have previously created. Note that only the ones for which you chose the option Show on Menu will appear in this list. Click on the watermark in the list that you would like to apply.
228
Watermarks
229
Index
.
.cer file ........................................ 85
A
Accessibility ............................. 7, 97
Allow Extraction .......................... 7
Extraction ................................. 97
Add Comment .............................. 39
Add files .................................... 127
Add Folder ................................. 127
Add Header ................................... 7
Configure ................................... 7
Add Stamp ................................. 193
Add Watermark Batch ..................... 7
Configure ................................... 7
Adding ....................................... 107
Header .................................... 107
Aiff .............................................. 39
Allow Annotations .......................... 7
Allow Change Document ................. 7
Allow Document Assembly .............. 7
Allow Extraction ............................. 7
Accessibility ................................ 7
Allow Form Filling ........................... 7
Allow Printing ................................ 7
Allow Printing High Definition ........... 7
Allow Text ..................................... 7
Always Show Dialog ...................... 39
Ampm ................................ 193, 231
Annotations & Comments ............... 97
Appearance ................................ 231
Appearance – Options .................. 107
Append Bookmark Name ....... 186, 205
Append Document ....................... 181
Appending .................................. 181
Document ............................... 181
Apply Header ................................. 7
Batch ......................................... 7
Batch dialog ............................... 7
Apply Signature ............................ 85
Apply Watermark ........................... 7
Batch ......................................... 7
Batch Dialog ............................... 7
Applying ...................................... 85
Digital Signature ........................ 85
Approved ................................... 193
Area Annotation ........................... 39
Arrow Annotation ......................... 39
Attaching .................................. 103
Files ....................................... 103
Automate .................................. 181
Automation ................................ 181
Using PDF Actions .................... 181
B
Background ........................ 107, 231
Background Color ......................... 39
Batch ................................... 3, 7, 97
Apply Header .............................. 7
Apply Watermark ......................... 7
Crop .......................................... 7
Extract Images ............................ 7
Extract Text ................................ 7
Merge ........................................ 7
Preflight ..................................... 7
Print .......................................... 7
Set Security ................................ 7
Batch dialog................................... 7
Apply Header .............................. 7
Apply Watermark ......................... 7
Set Security ................................ 7
Bates Number .............. 107, 181, 231
Bgnd .................................. 107, 231
Bold ............................................ 39
Bold/Italic .......................... 107, 231
Bookmarks ..................... 3, 186, 205
Bookmarks Pane ............................ 3
Bookmarks View ............................. 3
Border ............................... 107, 231
Border Color ................................ 39
Border Width ............................... 39
C
CCIT RLE ................................... 113
Change Document ........................ 97
Change Document Security dialog .. 97
Change Permissions .................. 7, 97
Changing ..................................... 97
Current Security Settings ........... 97
Check mark .......................... 39, 173 add ........................................ 173 remove .................................. 173
Choose Files .............................. 127
231
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Circle Annotation .......................... 39
Clear Signature ............................. 85
Cloud Annotation .......................... 39
Color ......................................... 193
Comments .............. 3, 7, 39, 97, 193
Exporting .................................. 39
Importing .................................. 39
Comments Panel ........................... 39
Comments View ............................. 3
Confidential ................................ 193
Configure ...................................... 7
Add Header ................................ 7
Add Watermark Batch .................. 7
Crop Batch ................................. 7
Extract Images Batch .................. 7
Extract Text Batch ....................... 7
Merge ........................................ 7
Preflight Batch ............................ 7
Print .......................................... 7
Security Batch ............................ 7
Configure Output ........................... 7
Create a custom stamp ................ 113
Create Collection ......................... 127
Create Custom Image Stamp ........ 193
Create Custom Text Stamp .......... 193
Create Header ............................ 107
Create Watermark ....................... 231
Creating .......................... 39, 85, 181
Digital Signature Field ................. 85
New Annotation ......................... 39
PDF Action............................... 181
Crop ........................................ 7, 81
Pages ....................................... 81
Crop Batch .................................... 7
Crop Pages ................................... 81
Crop Pages dialog .......................... 7
Cross Out ............................. 68, 211
Current Security Settings ............... 97
Changing .................................. 97
Viewing ..................................... 97
D
Deflate ...................................... 113
Delay .......................................... 39
Delete Pages .......................... 1, 181
Delete Pages dialog ..................... 181
Deleting .............................. 103, 181
Pages ..................................... 181
Departmental Draft ..................... 193
232
Destination Folder .... 7, 113, 186, 205
Digital IDs ................................... 85
Managing ................................. 85
Digital Signature Field ................... 85
Creating ................................... 85
Modifying.................................. 85
Digital Signatures ......................... 85
Applying ................................... 85
Validating ................................. 85
Display ...................................... 113
Export Pages ........................... 113
Import Images ........................ 113
Distance Annotation ...................... 39
Document ..................................... 3
Document Assembly ..................... 97
Document menu ......................... 181
Document Passwords .................... 97
Document Properties .................... 95
Document Properties dialog ........... 95
DPI .................................... 113, 199
DPI Resolution ........................... 113
E
Edit .............................................. 3
Edit Watermark Dialog .................... 7
Email ............................................ 3
Execute ..................................... 191
Existing Annotation ....................... 39
Updating .................................. 39
Experimental ............................. 193
Expired ..................................... 193
Export Form .............................. 173
Export Pages ............................. 113
Exporting ...................... 39, 113, 173
Comments ................................ 39
Form Data .............................. 173
Pages ..................................... 113
Extract Images .............................. 7
Batch ......................................... 7
Extract Pages ............................. 181
Extract Pages dialog ................... 181
Extract Text ...................... 7, 68, 211
Batch ......................................... 7
Extracting ...................... 68, 181, 211
Pages ..................................... 181
Text .................................. 68, 211
Extraction .................................... 97
Accessibility .............................. 97
F
Fax ........................................... 113
FDF ..................................... 39, 173
Fields ........................................ 173
Flattening ................................ 173
Highlighting ............................. 173
Resetting ................................ 173
File Management ......................... 127
Filepath ...................... 107, 193, 231
Files .......................................... 103
Attaching ................................ 103
Final .......................................... 193
Flatten Fields .............................. 173
Flattening .................................. 173
Fields ...................................... 173
Font ................................... 107, 231
Font Size ............................ 107, 231
Footer ................................... 7, 107
Footer Batch .................................. 7
Footer dialog .............................. 107
Footers ......................................... 3
For Comment ............................. 193
For Public Release ....................... 193
Form Data .................................. 173
Exporting ................................ 173
Importing ................................ 173
Form Filling .................................. 97
Forms .................................... 3, 173
Free Text Annotation ..................... 39
G
General Options ................... 107, 231
GIF ................................ 7, 113, 193
GIF dialog .................................. 113
Google Docs ............................... 127
Goto ................................... 186, 205
Graphics Annotations ..................... 39
Graphics Extraction ........................ 7
H
Header ...................................... 107
Help ............................................. 3
High Definition .............................. 97
Printing ..................................... 97
Highlight Fields ........................... 173
Highlighting ................... 68, 173, 211
Fields ...................................... 173
Text ................................. 68, 211
Horizontal Location ...................... 231
Hyperlink ..................................... 39
Index
Hyperlinks ................................... 39
I
Image Format ................................ 7
Image Watermarks ..................... 231
Images .................................. 3, 113
Importing ............................... 113
Import Form .............................. 173
Importing ...................... 39, 113, 173
Comments ................................ 39
Form Data .............................. 173
Images ................................... 113
Importing Images....................... 113
Incremental Counter ............ 186, 205
Insert At ................................... 199
Insert Pages .............................. 181
Insert Pages dialog ..................... 181
Inserting ................................... 181
Pages ..................................... 181
ISO 15930 ................................. 191
Italic ........................................... 39
J
Java ............................................. 1
JPEG .............................. 7, 113, 199
JPEG dialog ................................ 113
JPEG Images dialog .................... 113
Jpg ............................. 113, 193, 231
JPG Quality ................................ 113
Justification ............................... 231
K
Keep Original ............................. 199
L
Layers Pane ................................... 3
Line Annotation ............................ 39
Line End Icon ............................... 39
Line Start Icon ............................. 39
Link Properties ............................. 39
Links ......................................... 177
List
Upload a List of Files ................ 127
List Files .................................... 127
Longhour ..................... 107, 193, 231
LZW.......................................... 113
M
Manage Collections ..................... 127
Manage Digital IDs dialog .............. 85
Manage Stamps ......................... 193
Manage Trusted Certificates dialog . 85
Managing .................................... 85
233
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
Digital IDs ................................. 85
Trusted Certificates .................... 85
Measurement Annotations .............. 39
Merge ........................................... 7
Batch ......................................... 7
Miscellaneous Annotations .............. 39
Modifying ........................ 85, 97, 181
Digital Signature Field ................. 85
PDF Pages ............................... 181
Moving ........................................ 39
Annotation ................................ 39
My Files ..................................... 127
N
Name .................. 186, 193, 205, 231
Name Pattern .............. 113, 186, 205
New Annotation ............................ 39
Creating .................................... 39
New Search .......................... 68, 211
Next Occurrence ................... 68, 211
Not Approved ............................. 193
O
Only add PDF files ....................... 127
Open button ........................... 3, 127 toolbar ....................................... 3
Open Document ...................... 7, 127
Open From ................................. 127
Opening
Preferences dialog .................... 221
Overwrite ...................................... 7
Overwrite Files .............................. 7
Overwrite Source Files .................... 7
P
P12 ............................................. 85
Pack Bits .................................... 113
Page Number.............................. 107
Page Range ......................... 186, 205
Page Size ................................... 199
Pages ............................. 3, 113, 181
Deleting .................................. 181
Exporting ................................ 113
Extracting ............................... 181
Inserting ................................. 181
Replacing ................................ 181
Rotating .................................. 181
Pages dialog ............................... 113
Pasting Annotations ....................... 39
PDF Action ................................. 181 create ..................................... 181
234
PDF Resolution ........................... 199
PDF/X-1A ............................... 7, 191
PDF/X-2 ........................................ 7
PDF/X-3 ................................. 7, 191
PDF-To-Images and PDF From Images
............................................. 113
Pencil Annotation ......................... 39
Perimeter Annotation .................... 39
Permissions .......................... 97, 127
Pfx ............................................. 85
PKCS .......................................... 85
PNG ............................ 3, 7, 113, 231
PNG dialog ................................ 113
PNG Images dialog ..................... 113
Polygon Annotation ....................... 39
Preferences ...................... 3, 39, 221
Preflight Batch ............................... 7
Preflight dialog ........................... 191
Preflighting ............................. 7, 191
Previous Occurrence .............. 68, 211
Print ....................................... 7, 97
Batch ......................................... 7
High Definition .......................... 97
Print PDF ....................................... 1
Properties ............................... 31, 85
R
Range ....................................... 231
Remove .................................... 173 check mark ............................. 173
Renaming .................................... 31
Bookmark ................................. 31
Replace Pages ............................ 181
Replace Pages dialog .................. 181
Replacing .................................. 181
Pages ..................................... 181
Reset Fields ............................... 173
Resetting ................................... 173
Fields ..................................... 173
Resize ........................................... 1
Review ........................................ 39
Rotate ....................................... 231
Rotate Clockwise ........................ 181
Rotate Counterclockwise ............. 181
Rotate Pages ............................. 181
Rotate Pages dialog .................... 181
Rotating ................................. 1, 181
Pages ..................................... 181
Rubber Stamps .......................... 193
S
Save ......................................... 127
Save As ..................................... 221
Save File ....................... 68, 103, 211
Save Files To ................................. 7
Saving PDF Forms ....................... 173
Scan ...................................... 3, 199
PDF ........................................ 199
Searching ............................ 68, 211
Text ................................. 68, 211
Security ....................................... 97
Setting ...................................... 97
Security Batch ............................... 7
Selecting .............................. 68, 211
Text ................................. 68, 211
Set Crop Margins ........................... 7
Set Destination ............................. 31
Set Initial View ............................. 95
Set Preflight Profile ........................ 7
Set Security ............................. 7, 97
Batch ......................................... 7
Shared Files ............................... 127
SharePoint ................................. 157
Shortdate .................... 107, 193, 231
Shortyear .................... 107, 193, 231
Show Measuring Dialog ................ 221
Show On Menu ..... 107, 186, 205, 231
Sign button .................................. 85
Signatures Pane ............................. 3
Signing .................................... 7, 97
Size ............................................. 39
Snap ......................................... 221
Snapshot Tool ............................ 203
Sold .......................................... 193
Sound Annotation ......................... 39
Sound Recorder dialog ................... 39
Sound Recording ........................... 39
Spanish ..................................... 221
Split Document .................... 186, 205
Split Method ........................ 186, 205
Split Options ....................... 186, 205
Splitting .............................. 186, 205
PDF ................................. 186, 205
Square Annotation ........................ 39
Squiggly Underlining Text ...... 68, 211
Stamps button ............................ 193
Stamps menu ............................. 193
Start Preflight ............................. 191
Index
Status ......................................... 39
Setting ..................................... 39
Status History .............................. 39
Sticky Note Properties ................... 39
Subcollections ............................ 127
T
Text ...................... 68, 193, 211, 231
Adding ................................... 231
Extracting .......................... 68, 211
Highlighting ....................... 68, 211
Searching .......................... 68, 211
Selecting ........................... 68, 211
Underlining ........................ 68, 211
Text & Graphics Extraction ............ 97
Text Annotations .......................... 39
Text Color ................................... 39
Text Content ................................ 39
Text Font .................................... 39
Text Horizontal Alignment ............. 39
Text Markup Tools .......................... 1
Text Search .......................... 68, 211
Text Size ..................................... 39
Text Vertical Alignment ................. 39
Thumbnails Pane ............................ 3
Thumbnails View ............................ 3
TIFF ................................... 3, 7, 113
TIFF dialog ................................ 113
TIFF Images dialog ..................... 113
Tool Properties ............................. 39
Top Secret ................................. 193
Transparency ...................... 193, 231
Transparency Percentage .............. 39
Trusted Certificates ...................... 85
Managing ................................. 85
TWAIN ...................................... 199
Typewriter Annotation ................... 39
U
Underlining ........................... 68, 211
Text .................................. 68, 211
Units .................................. 107, 231
Updating ..................................... 39
Existing Annotation .................... 39
Upload a Directory ...................... 127
Upload Files ............................... 127
User Preferences ........................ 221
Using PDF Actions....................... 181
Automation ............................. 181
235
PDF Studio 6 User Guide
V
Validating .................................... 85
Digital Signatures ....................... 85
View ................................. 3, 31, 127
W
Watermark ................................. 231
Wav ............................................ 39
X
XFDF ................................... 39, 173
Z
ZLib .......................................... 113
236
Stáhnout
Reklama