Esko 16 DeskPack Advanced User Manual
Tangazo
Tangazo
10 - 2016
DeskPack Advanced 16
User Manual
DeskPack Advanced ii
Contents
1. Copyright Notice ........................................................................................................................................
8
2. About DeskPack Advanced
....................................................................................................................
10
3. Data Exchange .........................................................................................................................................
11
3.1 Introduction to Data Exchange
.......................................................................................................
11
3.1.1 Data Exchange Preferences
..................................................................................................
11
3.2 The PDF Export Plug-In
....................................................................................................................
11
3.2.1 Introduction
............................................................................................................................
11
3.2.2 Saving a File as Normalized PDF
..........................................................................................
12
3.2.3 Linked ArtiosCAD Graphics
...................................................................................................
20
3.3 The Ink Manager Plug-in
.................................................................................................................
21
3.3.1 Using the Ink Manager palette
.............................................................................................
21
3.3.2 Ink Options
.............................................................................................................................
22
3.3.3 The Ink Manager flyout menu
..............................................................................................
23
3.3.4 Printing Method
.....................................................................................................................
25
3.3.5 Job Setup
................................................................................................................................
26
3.3.6 Ink Manager Preferences
......................................................................................................
27
3.3.7 Known limitations
..................................................................................................................
28
3.4 The Structural Design Plug-in
.........................................................................................................
29
3.4.1 Introduction
............................................................................................................................
29
3.4.2 Structural Design Import
.......................................................................................................
29
3.4.3 Structural Design Export
.......................................................................................................
41
3.5 The Page Box Plug-in
.......................................................................................................................
56
3.5.1 Introduction
............................................................................................................................
56
3.5.2 Trim Box and Media Box
.......................................................................................................
56
3.5.3 All Page Boxes
........................................................................................................................
60
3.6 The Inspection Setup Plug-In
..........................................................................................................
61
3.6.1 Adding and changing Inspection points
..............................................................................
62
3.6.2 Adding and changing Inspection boxes
...............................................................................
63
3.6.3 Dynamic Art Placeholders
.....................................................................................................
63
3.6.4 Import and Export
.................................................................................................................
63
3.7 Messages
...........................................................................................................................................
64
3.7.1 The Messages Palette
............................................................................................................
64
3.7.2 Filtering the Messages
...........................................................................................................
65
3.7.3 Saving the Messages
.............................................................................................................
66
3.7.4 Clearing the Messages
..........................................................................................................
67
3.8 Esko Document Setup
.....................................................................................................................
67
3.8.1 Distortion
................................................................................................................................
67
3.8.2 Screen Registration
................................................................................................................
67
Contents
3.9 Annotations
.......................................................................................................................................
68
3.9.1 Loading XFDF files
..................................................................................................................
68
3.9.2 The Annotations palette
........................................................................................................
69
3.9.3 Multipage PDF files with Annotations
..................................................................................
70
3.9.4 Updating
.................................................................................................................................
70
4. boostX ........................................................................................................................................................
71
4.1 Using boostX
.....................................................................................................................................
71
4.1.1 Starting boostX
.......................................................................................................................
71
4.1.2 Selecting Objects
....................................................................................................................
72
4.1.3 Collection
................................................................................................................................
81
4.1.4 Crosshair Tool
.........................................................................................................................
82
4.1.5 Crosshair Cut Tool
.................................................................................................................
86
4.2 Ink Mix
...............................................................................................................................................
87
4.2.1 Working with Document Inks
...............................................................................................
87
4.2.2 Using the Ink Mix palette
......................................................................................................
88
4.3 Split / Join Fill & Stroke
....................................................................................................................
90
4.4 Replacing Contour
............................................................................................................................
90
4.5 Inner Outer Stroke
...........................................................................................................................
91
4.6 Rotate Document
.............................................................................................................................
93
4.7 Dimension Lines
...............................................................................................................................
94
4.7.1 Dimension Lines Presets
.......................................................................................................
95
4.7.2 Dimension Lines Preferences
...............................................................................................
96
5. Channel Mapping .....................................................................................................................................
97
5.1 Inks remapping in Channel Mapping
.............................................................................................
97
5.2 Getting Started
.................................................................................................................................
97
5.3 The Channel Mapping Palette
.........................................................................................................
99
5.4 Remapping Inks
..............................................................................................................................
100
5.4.1 Remapping an Ink
................................................................................................................
100
5.4.2 Creating a New Ink for Remapping
....................................................................................
102
5.4.3 Removing an Ink from an Image
........................................................................................
102
5.5 Remapping Inks in Several Images
...............................................................................................
102
5.6 Remapping Images with Masks
....................................................................................................
103
5.6.1 Embedded Images
...............................................................................................................
103
5.6.2 Linked Images
......................................................................................................................
104
5.7 Making an Image Overprint
..........................................................................................................
105
5.8 Using Ink Tints
................................................................................................................................
106
6. Color Engine ...........................................................................................................................................
107
6.1 Introduction
....................................................................................................................................
107
6.2 Adding an ink from Ink Book
........................................................................................................
107
6.3 Replacing an Ink
.............................................................................................................................
108
6.4 Color Engine Plugin Preferences
..................................................................................................
111
6.5 Pantone+ ink books
.......................................................................................................................
111
iii
iv
DeskPack Advanced
7. Dynamic Barcodes .................................................................................................................................
112
7.1 What is a barcode ?
.......................................................................................................................
112
7.2 Getting Started with Dynamic Barcodes
......................................................................................
112
7.3 Using Dynamic Barcodes in Unlicensed Mode
............................................................................
114
7.4 Dynamic Barcodes Basics
..............................................................................................................
114
7.4.1 Creating a Barcode
..............................................................................................................
115
7.4.2 Editing a Barcode
.................................................................................................................
118
7.4.3 Setting Barcode Parameters to Default
.............................................................................
118
7.4.4 Barcode Placeholders
..........................................................................................................
119
7.5 Dynamic Barcodes Advanced
........................................................................................................
123
7.5.1 Choosing a Font Standard
..................................................................................................
123
7.5.2 Using Dynamic Content with Dynamic Barcodes
..............................................................
124
7.5.3 Barcode Protection
..............................................................................................................
124
7.5.4 Exporting Documents with Barcodes
.................................................................................
126
7.6 Barcode Types and Parameters
....................................................................................................
128
7.6.1 Supported Barcode Types
...................................................................................................
128
7.6.2 Barcode Types
......................................................................................................................
135
7.6.3 Barcode Parameters
............................................................................................................
172
7.7 Barcode Parameters from the Job Folder
....................................................................................
184
7.7.1 Connecting to a Job Folder
.................................................................................................
185
7.7.2 Connect Dynamic Barcodes to Job Setup
..........................................................................
186
7.7.3 Use Barcode parameters from Job Setup
..........................................................................
186
7.7.4 Updating barcode parameters from Job Setup
.................................................................
188
8. Dynamic Marks ......................................................................................................................................
189
8.1 Getting started
...............................................................................................................................
189
8.1.1 Creating a first Mark Set
.....................................................................................................
189
8.2 The Dynamic Marks palette
..........................................................................................................
190
8.2.1 Adding a Standard Mark
.....................................................................................................
191
8.2.2 Adding objects as Mark
.......................................................................................................
192
8.3 Dynamic Mark Properties
..............................................................................................................
192
8.3.1 Position
.................................................................................................................................
192
8.3.2 Color
......................................................................................................................................
195
8.3.3 Specific Mark Properties
.....................................................................................................
196
8.3.4 Changing the Symbol of a Standard Mark
........................................................................
217
8.4 Mark Sets
........................................................................................................................................
217
8.4.1 Load Mark Set
......................................................................................................................
217
8.4.2 Save Mark Set
......................................................................................................................
218
8.4.3 Delete Mark Set
...................................................................................................................
219
8.4.4 Manage Mark Sets
...............................................................................................................
219
8.4.5 Export Mark Sets
.................................................................................................................
220
8.4.6 Dynamic Marks Preferences
...............................................................................................
221
8.4.7 Esko Mark Sets
.....................................................................................................................
221
8.5 Dynamic Marks Layer
....................................................................................................................
223
Contents
8.6 Dynamic Panels in Dynamic Marks
..............................................................................................
224
8.7 Tips and tricks
................................................................................................................................
225
9. Image Extractor .....................................................................................................................................
226
9.1 Introduction
....................................................................................................................................
226
9.2 Supported embedded raster image types
...................................................................................
226
9.3 Image Extractor for Illustrator workflow
......................................................................................
226
9.3.1 Export one image
................................................................................................................
227
9.3.2 Export of all images in the document
...............................................................................
228
9.4 Other features
................................................................................................................................
229
9.4.1 Placing (embedding/linking) of Esko CT files
.....................................................................
229
9.4.2 What Image Extractor for Illustrator does not support
....................................................
229
10. Instant Trapper ....................................................................................................................................
231
10.1 Introduction
..................................................................................................................................
231
10.2 Getting Started with Instant Trapper
.........................................................................................
231
10.3 The Instant Trapper Plug-in
........................................................................................................
234
10.4 Setting Instant Trapper Parameters
...........................................................................................
234
10.5 Trapping
........................................................................................................................................
236
10.5.1 Using the Trap to Objects Tool
.........................................................................................
236
10.5.2 Using the Trap to All Tool
.................................................................................................
239
10.5.3 Combined Traps
.................................................................................................................
242
10.6 Known Limitations
.......................................................................................................................
244
11. PDF Import ............................................................................................................................................
248
11.1 The PDF Import plug-in
...............................................................................................................
248
11.2 Opening a PDF file
.......................................................................................................................
248
11.3 High-level information preserved by PDF Import
.....................................................................
249
11.3.1 Layers
..................................................................................................................................
249
11.3.2 Named objects
...................................................................................................................
250
11.3.3 Inks
......................................................................................................................................
250
11.3.4 Object based screening
.....................................................................................................
250
11.3.5 Structural Design (CAD) data
............................................................................................
250
11.3.6 Page boxes
.........................................................................................................................
250
11.3.7 Text and fonts
....................................................................................................................
250
11.3.8 Linework with mixed (DeviceN) colors
.............................................................................
251
11.3.9 Linked images
....................................................................................................................
251
11.3.10 Dynamic Barcodes
...........................................................................................................
253
11.3.11 Notes
.................................................................................................................................
253
11.3.12 Inspection Points
.............................................................................................................
253
11.4 Working with Notes
.....................................................................................................................
253
12. Preflight .................................................................................................................................................
256
12.1 The Preflight for Illustrator Concept
..........................................................................................
256
12.1.1 What is Preflight for Illustrator ?
......................................................................................
256
v
vi
DeskPack Advanced
12.1.2 Import/Export of parameter sets
.....................................................................................
256
12.1.3 How Preflight for Illustrator works
...................................................................................
256
12.1.4 Units
....................................................................................................................................
257
12.2 The Window Submenu
................................................................................................................
257
12.3 The Preflight for Illustrator Parameter Tabsheet
......................................................................
258
12.3.1 Color
....................................................................................................................................
259
12.3.2 Image
..................................................................................................................................
261
12.3.3 Line
......................................................................................................................................
261
12.3.4 Font
.....................................................................................................................................
262
12.3.5 Other
...................................................................................................................................
263
12.3.6 Parameter options
.............................................................................................................
264
12.4 The Validator Tabsheet
................................................................................................................
265
12.4.1 The Validator Options Menu
............................................................................................
267
12.5 Select by Attributes
......................................................................................................................
267
12.5.1 Object Type
........................................................................................................................
268
12.5.2 General Attributes
.............................................................................................................
269
12.5.3 Fill and Stroke
....................................................................................................................
269
12.5.4 Appearance
.........................................................................................................................
270
12.5.5 Color
....................................................................................................................................
271
12.6 Collection
......................................................................................................................................
272
12.6.1 Modifying a Collection
.......................................................................................................
273
12.7 Thin parts
......................................................................................................................................
273
12.7.1 Fixing all Thin Parts
...........................................................................................................
274
12.7.2 Fix Thin Parts tool
..............................................................................................................
275
12.7.3 Thin Parts settings
.............................................................................................................
275
12.8 The Font List
.................................................................................................................................
276
12.8.1 Why would you use font classification?
...........................................................................
276
12.8.2 Parameter Fonts
................................................................................................................
277
12.8.3 Font List Options menu
....................................................................................................
277
12.9 Collect Files...
................................................................................................................................
279
13. Screening ...............................................................................................................................................
280
13.1 Introduction
..................................................................................................................................
280
13.2 Screening for Illustrator overview
..............................................................................................
280
13.3 Screening for Illustrator workflow
..............................................................................................
280
13.3.1 Use Properties from Job Setup
.........................................................................................
282
13.4 Added features of the InkManager table
..................................................................................
283
14. Viewer ....................................................................................................................................................
285
14.1 Welcome to Viewer
......................................................................................................................
285
14.2 Define Press Settings
...................................................................................................................
285
14.2.1 The Default Press Settings
................................................................................................
285
14.2.2 Creating a Press Setting
....................................................................................................
286
14.2.3 Copying a Press Setting
.....................................................................................................
286
Contents
14.2.4 Editing a Press Setting
.......................................................................................................
286
14.2.5 Deleting a Press Setting
....................................................................................................
286
14.2.6 Choosing a Press Setting
..................................................................................................
287
14.2.7 The Press Settings in Detail
..............................................................................................
287
14.3 Generate the Preview
..................................................................................................................
288
14.3.1 Navigating in the Preview
.................................................................................................
289
14.4 The Viewer window
......................................................................................................................
290
14.4.1 Viewing options
..................................................................................................................
290
14.4.2 Separations
.........................................................................................................................
292
14.4.3 Total Area Coverage
...........................................................................................................
293
14.4.4 Flexo Plate
..........................................................................................................................
294
14.4.5 Flexo Print
...........................................................................................................................
296
14.4.6 Registration Error
...............................................................................................................
296
14.4.7 Breakout
.............................................................................................................................
297
14.4.8 Moire Detection
.................................................................................................................
298
14.4.9 Technical inks in Viewer
....................................................................................................
299
14.5 Viewer Preferences
......................................................................................................................
299
14.6 Viewer Compare Tool
...................................................................................................................
300
14.6.1 The Viewer Compare window
...........................................................................................
301
14.6.2 Navigating the Viewer Compare window
.........................................................................
302
14.6.3 Compare modes
................................................................................................................
303
14.6.4 Alignment
............................................................................................................................
304
14.6.5 Viewer Compare Preferences
...........................................................................................
306
14.7 Ink Coverage
.................................................................................................................................
306
15. White Underprint ................................................................................................................................
308
15.1 White Underprint
.........................................................................................................................
308
15.2 Adding and Removing White Underprint
...................................................................................
308
15.3 White Underprint settings
...........................................................................................................
309
15.4 White Underprint Ink
...................................................................................................................
310
15.5 Include White Objects
..................................................................................................................
310
vii
1
DeskPack Advanced
1. Copyright Notice
©
Copyright 2016 Esko Software BVBA, Gent, Belgium
All rights reserved. This material, information and instructions for use contained herein are the property of Esko Software BVBA. The material, information and instructions are provided on an AS IS basis without warranty of any kind. There are no warranties granted or extended by this document. Furthermore Esko Software BVBA does not warrant, guarantee or make any representations regarding the use, or the results of the use of the software or the information contained herein. Esko Software BVBA shall not be liable for any direct, indirect, consequential or incidental damages arising out of the use or inability to use the software or the information contained herein.
The information contained herein is subject to change without notice. Revisions may be issued from time to time to advise of such changes and/or additions.
No part of this document may be reproduced, stored in a data base or retrieval system, or published, in any form or in any way, electronically, mechanically, by print, photoprint, microfilm or any other means without prior written permission from Esko Software BVBA.
This document supersedes all previous dated versions.
PANTONE
®
, PantoneLIVE and other Pantone trademarks are the property of Pantone LLC.
All other trademarks or registered trademarks are the property of their respective owners.
Pantone is a wholly owned subsidiary of X-Rite, Incorporated.
©
Pantone LLC, 2015. All rights reserved.
This software is based in part on the work of the Independent JPEG Group.
Portions of this software are copyright
©
1996-2002 The FreeType Project (www.freetype.org).
All rights reserved.
Portions of this software are copyright 2006 Feeling Software, copyright 2005-2006 Autodesk
Media Entertainment.
Portions of this software are copyright
©
1998-2003 Daniel Veillard. All rights reserved.
Portions of this software are copyright
©
1999-2006 The Botan Project. All rights reserved.
Part of the software embedded in this product is gSOAP software. Portions created by gSOAP are Copyright
©
2001-2004 Robert A. van Engelen, Genivia inc. All rights reserved.
Portions of this software are copyright
©
1998-2008 The OpenSSL Project and
©
1995-1998 Eric
Young ([email protected]). All rights reserved.
This product includes software developed by the Apache Software Foundation (http:// www.apache.org/).
Adobe, the Adobe logo, Acrobat, the Acrobat logo, Adobe Creative Suite, Illustrator, InDesign,
PDF, Photoshop, PostScript, XMP and the Powered by XMP logo are either registered trademarks or trademarks of Adobe Systems Incorporated in the United States and/or other countries.
Microsoft and the Microsoft logo are registered trademarks of Microsoft Corporation in the
United States and other countries.
SolidWorks is a registered trademark of SolidWorks Corporation.
Portions of this software are owned by Spatial Corp. 1986 2003. All Rights Reserved.
8
DeskPack Advanced
JDF and the JDF logo are trademarks of the CIP4 Organisation. Copyright 2001 The International
Cooperation for the Integration of Processes in Prepress, Press and Postpress (CIP4). All rights reserved.
The Esko software contains the RSA Data Security, Inc. MD5 Message-Digest Algorithm.
Java and all Java-based trademarks and logos are trademarks or registered trademarks of Sun
Microsystems in the U.S. and other countries.
Part of this software uses technology by Best Color Technology (EFI). EFI and Bestcolor are registered trademarks of Electronics For Imaging GmbH in the U.S. Patent and Trademark
Office.
Contains PowerNest library Copyrighted and Licensed by Alma, 2005 – 2007.
Part of this software uses technology by Global Vision. ArtProof and ScanProof are registered trademarks of Global Vision Inc.
All other product names are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners.
Correspondence regarding this publication should be forwarded to:
Esko Software BVBA
Kortrijksesteenweg 1095
B – 9051 Gent [email protected]
1
9
2
DeskPack Advanced
2. About DeskPack Advanced
The ‘DeskPack Advanced for Illustrator’ bundle offers essential prepress functionality: adding barcodes, do preflighting, remap image channels, adding white underprint, trap your files, adding screening… Everything needed to make packaging artwork "ready to print".
It combines the following plug-ins:
•
•
•
•
on page 107
•
•
on page 189
•
on page 226
•
•
•
on page 256
•
•
on page 285
•
on page 308
10
DeskPack Advanced
3
3. Data Exchange
3.1 Introduction to Data Exchange
The Esko
Data Exchange
plug-in for Adobe
®
Illustrator
®
combines several plug-ins into one package for easier installation. The combined plug-ins are:
•
•
•
on page 21
•
on page 56
•
•
The WebCenter Connector Plug-In
Along with a combined installation, there are new features in the updated plug-ins:
• Support for OPI (Open Press Interface) server mapping in PDF Export
• A combined
Preferences
dialog for PDF Export, and TrimBox/MediaBox that also works with Shuttle and Launch Task in client-server configurations
• The ability to always save (or not save) XMP data in Illustrator documents when you save them.
• Esko Document Setup
3.1.1 Data Exchange Preferences
Update XMP on Document Save
directly on the
Preferences
>
Esko
menu controls if the document’s XMP data is updated when the document is saved in the .AI format or as Adobe
PDF with preserved Illustrator editing capabilities, and is turned on by default. Deselecting this option results in slightly faster document saves
3.2 The PDF Export Plug-In
3.2.1 Introduction
The
PDF Export
plug-in allows you to directly export your Illustrator files to the
Normalized
format.
11
3
DeskPack Advanced
The Normalized PDF format contains all the Esko metadata necessary to ensure compatibility with your Esko workflow:
• list of linked images,
• barcode information,
• placed CAD graphics metadata,
• inks information,
... and other document properties.
3.2.2 Saving a File as Normalized PDF
To save your Illustrator file as Normalized PDF using
PDF Export
:
1.
Go to
File
>
Export...
2.
In the dialog that opens, choose your file’s name and location, and choose the
Normalized
PDF (pdf)
format.
12
3.
Click
Export
.
4.
In the
PDF Export Settings
dialog that opens, fill in the export settings (see
on page 12).
5.
Click
OK
to export the file.
PDF Export Settings
When exporting your files to the Normalized PDF format, you need to set the PDF Export
Settings.
DeskPack Advanced
3
Preset
Using
Presets
you can store and reuse the settings for the PDF Export dialog.
You can save the current settings as a Preset by selecting
Save...
and entering a name. The
location for the Presets is defined in the PDF Export Preferences. See
on page 20
You can load a Preset by selecting it in the dropdown.
If you set the Preset to
Default
, the parameters as set in the
PDF Export Preferences
will be used. See
If the current settings are not saved as a setting, the
Preset
dropdown will show "Custom".
Images and Linked Files
1.
In the
Images and Linked Files
group, choose to either
Embed Images
in the Normalized
PDF, or
Save Links
to the images.
• If you choose to embed the images, you don’t have any more preferences to fill in and you can just click
OK
.
Note:
This doesn’t save the images’ link information (except for linked ArtiosCAD graphics, see
• If you choose to use linked images, fill in the other preferences of the dialog.
13
3
DeskPack Advanced
2.
Enable
Add Preview (max 72 DPI)
if you want your Normalized PDF to have a low resolution preview of the linked images.
This preview allows you to view the linked images when opening your file in Acrobat
™
for example.
3.
Choose where to copy the linked images:
• Choose
Copy Images Next To Output File
to copy them next to the folder in which you will save the Normalized PDF (so other applications like
ArtPro
or
PackEdge
can still open them when the links are broken).
• Choose
Use Links And Apply Server Mapping
to keep the images where they are but update the links (for example if the images are in a shared folder located on a different machine).
4.
When choosing
Use Links And Apply Server Mapping
, fill in a Server Mapping if the share names on the client machine and on the other server do not match.
a) When checked,
Copy Links If Not On File Servers
verifies if linked images are already on fileservers and if they are not, copies them along with the exported Normalized PDF file. Choosing this option also enables the
File Servers...
button where you add the machines that store linked images so that Esko workflow servers can find them.
For more information, see
What is a Server Mapping?
and
Adding a Server Mapping
.
OPI and Server Mapping
When you click
Settings
in the
OPI and Server Mapping
group of the
PDF Export
Preferences
dialog of Data Exchange Preferences, the
OPI and Server Mapping
dialog
appears:
14
DeskPack Advanced
Note:
This dialog is available only when you have chosen to Save Links in exported Normalized
PDF files. When you export a Normalized PDF, OPI Mapping is applied first and then Server
Mapping.
Servers
The top pane of the dialog configures
Server Mappings
. You need to use Server Mappings when the Normalized PDF you output:
• has linked images that are located on a different machine (file server),
• will be used on another machine (not your local machine or the file server).
Server Mappings allow you to map the image links from one share name to another automatically on output. This ensures that the links are not broken when the Normalized PDF is used on another machine.
For example:
• the linked images are saved on a file server called “ Server ”, in a shared folder called
“
Images
”,
• your copy of Illustrator with PDF Export is on a Mac, and the shared folder containing the images is mounted as “ Hi-Res_Images ”.
• the Normalized PDF you export will be used on a PC, where the shared folder containing the images is mounted as “ Shared_Images ”.
3
The link to an image called “ My_Image.psd
” is “ Server/Hi-Res_Images/My_Image.psd
” on the Mac, and should be “ \\Server\Shared_Images\My_Image.psd
” on the PC.
15
3
DeskPack Advanced
When adding the Server Mapping in the
OPI And Server Mapping
dialog, you should enter the
Share Details
as follows by:
• name of the file server in
Server Name
,
• name of the shared folder containing the images as seen from your local Mac in
Local
Share
,
• name of the shared folder containing the images as seen from the other PC in
Server
Share
.
Note:
• You can use subfolders in a Server Mapping.
• You can also use Server Mappings to replace images (for example to swap low-resolution
for high-resolution images
when the low-resolution and high-resolution images have identical separations
).
16
To add the Server Mapping, do the following:
1.
In the
OPI And Server Mapping
dialog, click the plus sign button to the lower left of the
Servers pane. This opens the
Share Details
dialog.
DeskPack Advanced
3
2.
Enter or choose the name of the file server containing your linked images in
Server Name
.
3.
Enter or choose the name of the file server’s share containing your linked images
as it appears on your local machine
in
Local Share
.
4.
Enter the name of the file server’s share containing your linked images
as it appears on the other machine that will use your Normalized PDF
in
Server Share
.
5.
If you want to add another Server Mapping (to use your Normalized PDF on yet another machine), repeat steps 1 to 4.
To edit a Server Mapping, double-click it. To remove a Server Mapping, select it and click the minus button to the lower left of the Servers pane.
OPI Mapping
The lower half of the
OPI And Server Mapping
dialog configures
OPI Mapping
, which defines the rules for image substitution when exporting a Normalized PDF in a more specific way than
Server Mapping. OPI stands for Open Press Interface.
To add an OPI mapping, do the following:
1.
Click the plus sign to the lower left of the list pane. This opens the
OPI Rule Editor
dialog.
17
3
DeskPack Advanced
18
2.
After the word
If
, decide how many conditions that must be true for this mapping rule to take effect:
All
,
Any
, or
None
.
3.
For the condition In the top pane of the dialog, choose the element of the image file’s path to examine in the first field. Image paths are in URI (Uniform Resource Identifier) format, such as file://mymac/MacHD/images/lowres/tests/Spacebar_CMYK.eps
. As you select elements, further controls appear on the same line to refine the condition. For example, if you choose Full Path Is, you can click
...
to browse for a folder, or click
x
to revert to the previous folder. To add a condition, click
+
; to remove a condition, click
-
.
4.
Once you have defined the conditions, define the changes to the path in the lower pane of the window. Use the same process to define the changes as you did to define the conditions: choose the change, then set its options on the same line. To add a change, click
+
; to remove a change, click
-
.
5.
Click
OK
to finish defining the rule.
6.
To add another rule, click
+
; to remove a rule, click
-
.
Consider again this example URI file name: file://ImageServer/LOWRES/images/lowres/ tests/Spacebar_CMYK.eps
.
• The condition
Extension
,
Is Equal To
, EPS will match.
•
Folder Name
,
Starts With
, lowres/ will match. You can specify the text ending with / to state that it must be the entire Folder name and to make sure that directories starting with
(for example) lowres plus/ will not match.
•
Server Name
,
Is Equal To
, imageserver will also match as the case is not compared.
When you use more than one condition in a rule, the
Replace 1st Matching Part Of Path
and
Replace 2nd Part Of Matching Path
changes become effective.
Consider this file: file://Serv/SharedImg/LORESIMAGES/ANIMALS/LOWRES/ myimage.eps
• with conditions of
Folder Name
,
Contains
, LORESIMAGES , and
Folder Name
,
Contains
,
LOWRES .
DeskPack Advanced
• and changes of
Replace 1st Matching Part Of Path
,
HIGHRESIMAGES
, and
Replace 2nd
Part Of Matching Path
,
HIGHRES
.
The first change will replace LOWRESIMAGES with HIGHRESIMAGES (since it was first), and the second change will replace LOWRES with HIGHRES .
Notes and Restrictions
To copy the OPI settings between computers so they all are the same, copy
AE10-
OPISettings.prefs
. In Windows, that file can be at
C:\Documents and Settings
\username\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Adobe Illustrator CSx Settings
, but its exact location depends on the type of login (local or domain) and Illustrator version (CSx where x is a number). On the Mac, this file is normally in
Users/username/Library/Preferences/
Adobe illustrator CSx Settings/
. Copy the file to the same location on the target machines.
There are a few restrictions when using OPI Mapping:
• The high-resolution images must be accessible from the client workstation.
• Ink Manager will not show extra inks that are present in the high-resolution images.
• When exporting the file using Shuttle, only the inks from Ink Manager are shown, not any extra ones present in the high-resolution images.
• PDF Export, Viewer for Illustrator, and PowerTrapper Client and Standalone will use the high-resolution images and will know about any extra inks.
Trim Box and Other Settings
Trim Box
In the
Trim Box (Borders) group
of the
PDF Export Preferences
dialog, the
Trim Box
(Borders
) drop-down list lets you choose how the edge of the exported PDF file is chosen: using the
Trim Box from Document
, using the
Current Artboard
, or by using the
Artwork
Bounding Box
.
Fit Media Box to Artwork
expands or shrinks the Media Box as appropriate.
Other
Outline All Text
converts all text to outlines.
Include Hidden Objects and Layers
includes hidden objects when the PDF file is exported.
Include Notes
allows to include annotations in the PDF. This option is only available in combination with the PDF Import plug-in.
If
Expand Patterns
is selected, patterns will be replaced by actual objects. The path containing the pattern fill, will then be filled with the objects as defined in the pattern.
Contourize Bitmaps
will convert 1-bit images (linked or embedded) into vectors.
Convert Blended Objects to Images
will convert blended objects to images. You can set the resolution for this images to High (600dpi), Medium (300dpi) or Low (150dpi)
Note:
In case of converting blended objects with different oveprint setting (one is overprinting, the other is not), the convertion might change the final result. The following message is shown:
"Rasterized Blend combines art in overprint and not in overprint mode. Rasterization may have caused changed appearance."
3
19
3
DeskPack Advanced
PDF Export Preferences
You can open the PDF Export Preferences by choosing
Illustrator
>
Preferences
>
Esko
>
Export Preferences
The main part of the Preferences contain the same settings as the PDF Export Settings. These settings will be used if the "Default" preset is selected. See:
•
•
on page 14
•
on page 19
The
PDF Export Preset Settings Folder
defines the location where the Presets are saved: either the Default Preference Folder, or a custom folder you can select by clicking the
Browse...
on page 13
3.2.3 Linked ArtiosCAD Graphics
When you export a document with linked ArtiosCAD graphics to Normalized PDF, the graphics are treated slightly differently:
20
DeskPack Advanced
When choosing “Embed Images” in the Preferences:
• The ArtiosCAD graphics are embedded in your Normalized PDF.
• The original link information is
saved
in your Normalized PDF.
When choosing “Save Links” in the Preferences:
• The ArtiosCAD graphics are
embedded
in your Normalized PDF.
• They are also
copied
to the location you define:
Next To Output File
or on another server
(according to a
Server Mapping
if defined).
• The link to the copied graphics is saved in your Normalized PDF.
3.3 The Ink Manager Plug-in
3
3.3.1 Using the Ink Manager palette
The Ink Manager palette is a powerful pre-press color editing and proofing tool. Easily identify where Pantone colors are used within a document or where custom spot colors can be found, then convert these colors to a custom spot color or to process colors.
The Ink Manager palette also allows you to specify crucial ink parameters such as the ink type, angle and lineature. Once defined, these parameters are saved inside the Illustrator document.
Note:
Screening for Illustrator allows you to make exceptions to these ink parameters. With
Screening for Illustrator objects can have different settings for ruling, angle and dotshape.
Please refer to the Screening for Illustrator documentation for more information.
To use the Ink Manager palette, choose
Window
>
Esko
>
Ink Manager
. The Ink Manager palette appears.
Delete Ink Variant
. To delete an Ink Variant made with Screening for Illustrator, select the ink variant which needs to be removed and click the 'Delete Ink Variant' button. The objects will get the ink settings of the parent ink.
Refresh
. To update the lists of inks used within your document, click the Refresh button.
After modifying a document, click the refresh button to update the list of used inks.
21
3
DeskPack Advanced
Select
. To identify objects containing specific inks within a job, select the ink you wish to search for and click the 'Select' button. It is possible to select more than one ink at a time.
Convert to Other
. To convert a selected ink from your document Ink list to another ink, click 'Convert to other'. More than one ink can be selected at a time.
Note:
Converting an ink will affect only line art. However, if you have the Channel Mapping or Color
Engine plug-in installed and licensed, converting an ink will also result in the corresponding channel mapping for all images. See the Channel Mapping documentation for more information.
Convert to CMYK
. To convert a selected Spot Color from your document Ink list to a
Process Color Mix, CMYK, click 'Convert to CMYK'. More than one ink can be selected at a time.
Note:
Convert to Other and Convert to CMYK are only available if you have a license for boostX,
Channel Mapping or Color Engine Plugin.
3.3.2 Ink Options
22
Double-click an Ink from the list to open the associated Ink Options dialog. There you can specify the Ink Type, Lineature, Angle and Dotshape of the selected ink.
If you have multiple inks selected, you can change the properties of all the inks at the same time. The dialog will show "≠" for settings that have different values.
The
Ink Book
dropdown contains all Ink Books that have the current ink defined. By default the last used ink book is shown.
DeskPack Advanced
Available
Ink Types
are: Normal, Opaque, Varnish and Technical. The ink type for process inks cannot be changed. The ink type is always normal. The following Pantone inks are always opaque inks: Pantone 8003 C, Pantone 8021 C, Pantone 8062 C, Pantone 8100 C, Pantone 8201
C, Pantone 8281 C, Pantone 8321 C, Pantone 871 C, Pantone 872 C, Pantone 873 C, Pantone
874 C, Pantone 875 C, Pantone 876 C, Pantone 877 C. The ink type of these inks cannot be changed.
Note:
If you change an Ink to
Technical
or
Opaque
, the ink will be moved to the bottom of the Ink list. If you change the ink order afterwards, this new order will be respected.
Dotshape
shows a list of all dotshapes available for the FlexRip. However, it is possible to enter any dot that is available on your rip instead of the proposed dotshapes. Only use a dotshape that is installed on the rip that will be used to expose the document.
Note:
Entering a dotshape is not compatible with Nexus RIP.
These Ink options are stored in the Illustrator document and are used by other DeskPack plug-ins like PowerTrapper Client, PowerLayout Client, etc. For example, PowerTrapper Client will ignore varnish and technical inks and will take the opaqueness of inks in account when determining trap directions.
You can define the
Printing Method
. See
on page 25
Note:
Global swatches cannot be converted.
3
3.3.3 The Ink Manager flyout menu
•
Ink Options...
opens the ink options dialog.
•
Convert Ink to...
has the same functionality as the 'Convert to Other' button
23
3
DeskPack Advanced
•
Convert Ink to CMYK
has the same functionality as the 'Convert to CMYK' button
•
Convert all Spot Inks to CMYK
converts all the spot inks in the document to their CMYK equivalent.
Note:
Keep in mind that this function will also convert white objects created by the White
Underprint plugin, using a special spot ink.
•
Update Ink list
refreshes the ink list.
•
Process Inks In Images…
The plug-in uses Illustrator to determine which inks are used in external images. Illustrator has some limitations:
• With linked EPS images it is not possible to detect whether CMYK was used in the linked image. Ink Manager will assume that CMYK is present in the linked EPS images, unless the user has specified otherwise.
• TIFF images with spot channels always have CMYK channels, even if those channels are empty.
So with externally linked images, the plug-in doesn’t really know whether CMYK is used.
“Process Inks in Images” offers a manual solution. If you click this option, the “Process Inks in Images” dialog box appears:
24
By default all toggles are switched on, which means that the plug-in will assume that external images contain cyan, magenta, yellow and black.
If you know that there is no cyan in the externally placed images, you can switch Process
Cyan off. Click 'Apply' and at the bottom of the Ink Manager the indication “Disabled in
Images: C” will appear.
The plug-in will assume that only magenta, yellow and black were used in the externally placed images. If cyan is used in other objects of the document, it will be listed in ink manager.
• Using
Display Columns
you can set what columns of the Ink Manager should be shown: the Ink Type, Ink Book, Screening Details (LPI, Angle and dotshape), Printing Method (see
on page 25) and Job Setup (see
on page 26)
•
Reverse Ink Order
will turn the order of the inks upside down.
• By default, the process colors are in Cyan - Magenta - Yellow - Black order. If you change this order and apply
Save CMYK Ink Order as Default
, the changed order will be used
DeskPack Advanced
as default order. By selecting
Restore Default CMYK order
, the original default order is restored.
• By using
Sort Light To Dark
or
Sort Dark To Light
, you can rearrange the order of inks based on the luminocity. Note that Opaque and Technical inks are placed at the bottom of the list, but also sorted light to dark or dark to light.
• If you have to reuse the same Ink Parameters frequently, you can use
Save Ink Preset ...
to save all ink parameters, including Ink Name, Type, Ink Book, Ruling, Angle, Dotshape and
Printing Method. You can
Load Ink Preset...
to overwrite all ink parameters in the current document with the parameters you saved earlier. You can set the location for the saved Ink
Presets in the Preferences. See
on page 27
• By enabling
Use Properties from Job Setup
, the inks and ink parameters defined in the Job
Setup will be enforced. See
3.3.4 Printing Method
You can set the
Printing Method
for every ink.
The
Printing Method
information can be used in SmartNames, or for Automation Engine task that handle the printing method.
By default, the Printing Method column is hidden. By selecting
Show Printing Method
in the fly-out menu you can make it visible.
You can change the Printing Method in the Ink Manager palette.
You can select one of the predefined printing methods, or create a new printing method.
Presets
As from version 12.1.2, when connected to an Automation Engine Server, the list of Printing
Methods is loaded from the Automation Engine server.
Note:
This implies that Printing Methods saved in earlier versions of Deskpack are no longer visible and will need to be redefined.
Printing Methods can be saved in the Automation Engine Configure tool, or in the Ink Options by selecting
Save to presets
3
25
3
DeskPack Advanced
If there's no connection to an Automation Engine, the presets are saved locally in the Adobe
Illustrator Preferences.
3.3.5 Job Setup
•
When a document is opened from an Automation Engine Job using
File
>
Job Folder
>
Open from Job Folder ...
, you can force Ink Manager to use the ink parameters defined in the Job
Setup, overwriting the current Ink Paramters, by enabling
Use Properties from Job Setup
, either from the fly-out menu or by clicking the button in the Ink Manager palette
The
Job
column will appear automatically. You can change its visibility under
Display Columns
in the fly-out menu.
The column will give a status icon for every ink:
: the ink is defined in the Job Setup. The parameters defined in the Job Setup will be used.
•
: the ink is not in the Job Setup but is used in the document
•
•
: the ink is defined in the Job Setup but not used in the document. The line will be greyed out, and have no number.
If
Use Properties from Job Setup
is enabled, the Ink Options dialog for inks defined in the Job
Setup will show status icons for every paramter:
: the parameter is taken from the Job Setup, so it can't be modified.
26
DeskPack Advanced
•
: the parameter is not defined in the Job Setup, so it can be set freely.
3.3.6 Ink Manager Preferences
The Ink Manager Preferences can be opened from
Illustrator
>
Preferences
>
Esko
>
Ink Manager Preferences...
(Mac OS) or
Edit
>
Preferences
>
Esko
>
Ink Manager
Preferences...
(Windows)
3
In the Ink Manager Preferences, you can set the
Default Values
(angle and ruling) for CMYK inks.
You can also set the default angle and ruling to be used for new Spot inks. However, these defaults can be overruled when using a Spot ink that was used before, with a different Angle and Ruling value. The Angle and Ruling for all used spot inks are saved in the Preferences file
You can also define if inks that are only used in non-printable layers or hidden layers should be shown in the ink manager by setting the
Show inks of non-printable layers
and
Show inks of hidden layers
option.
Note:
The Remap Ink functionallity also takes the
Show inks of non-printable layers
and
Show inks of hidden layers
option into account: When switched off, inks on non-printable or hidden layers will not be remapped.
27
3
DeskPack Advanced
Enable
Use ClassicColors Ink Book
to use the ClassicColors Ink Book. When using a
ClassicColors Ink Book for your HP device, you can enable the Use ClassicColors Ink Book option, to avoid conflicts for inks using generic names, such as "White".
The
Preferred Ink Book
is the Ink book shown by default when opening the
Add Ink from Ink
Book
dialog.
You can set the location to store
Ink Manager Preset Settings
: either in the default preferences folder, or in a custom folder you choose.
3.3.7 Known limitations
Since DeskPack Suite 10.1 Assembly 6 InkManager has been using different method for the ink converting.
The new method uses Illustrator's Appearance allowing multiple fills and stroke in a single object instead of creating temporary inks (BG Inks). Beside many advantages it brings a couple of limitations, having connection with the Illustrator limitations or behavior.
Re-mapping process inks to spot inks.
As it is impossible to simply change one of the process inks to the spot ink, the only solution is adding a new fill to the object with the new spot ink and use overprint to mix these fills together.
• Adding a brand new fill is not possible on text objects on the character level. Text objects using various inks on separate characters aren't mapped and an operator is warned.
• Re-mapping of process to spot inks on paths, using Effects on fill or stroke, will raise a warning, because adding a new fill could change the visual appearance.
Re-mapping inks in gradients
Re-mapping of the process ink to the spot ink generates a new fill due to the same reason as before.
• Let's have an example that the gradient already contains the target spot ink on one of its stops and another stop contains the process color being transformed. The re-mapping one of the process inks will add a new fill with the same gradient but with the target spot inks on the place of the process ink. In other cases the overprint will blend these two fills and produce expected visual appearance. In this particular case Illustrator will not blend these fills because both contain the same spot ink and Illustrator then ignores the overprint. An operator is informed about that.
• Similar issue comes when the object already contains two gradient fills. An operator is again warned.
28
DeskPack Advanced
3
3.4 The Structural Design Plug-in
3.4.1 Introduction
Introducing Structural Design
Structural Design enables the Adobe Illustrator users to read in an ArtiosCAD ARD file, an Esko flexible .bag file and/or a Collada .dae or .zae file. This structural design can then be aligned to the graphics and this alignment will be maintained in the rest of the Esko workflow (e.g.
ArtiosCAD, Visualizer, PackEdge, ArtPro, Plato, RIPs). On top of that, you can create a varnish plate from the bleed outline, from the Illustrator artboard or from the bounding box of the structure automatically excluding the coating free areas.
Structural Design Export allows an Adobe Illustrator user to export contours from Illustrator to native ArtiosCAD .ard format. It also allows adding and modifying cutout windows to a loaded
ArtiosCAD file.
3.4.2 Structural Design Import
General Principles
The Structural Design plug-in enables you to open or place structural design files inside Adobe
Illustrator. The imported structural design files are linked to the Adobe Illustrator (.ai) files, but they are not embedded. After opening or placing a structural design file, the file appears in the
Adobe Illustrator layer palette. The structural design paths are special paths that cannot be modified accidentally.By default the structural design layer and its sublayers will be locked. You can unlock the structural design layers. This enables you to select individual structural design paths and use the illustrator alignment tools to align graphics to the structural design paths.
Open or Place an ARD, BAG, DAE, ZAE file
From Suite 10.0 onwards when the plug-in is present, a dedicated
Place File
showing only
Structural Design files is found in the
File
menu. Choose
File
>
Structural Design
>
Place
File....
The appropriate file types also appear in the Illustrator Open and Place dialogs:
29
3
DeskPack Advanced
After opening a structural design, the structural design objects are converted to special
Illustrator objects that cannot be modified accidentally.
The structural design layers are converted to locked Illustrator sublayers. You can unlock these layers. They are grouped under a layer that gets the name of the structural design file.
30
The different structural design line styles (cuts, creases, bleed) are translated to hard-coded custom colors. All ArtiosCAD line styles are supported.
DeskPack Advanced
3
In case a Collada file is placed, a check is performed to see if the Collada file has a printable part defined. A printable part is an Esko extension to the Collada format. Collada files with one or more printable parts can be created with ArtiosCAD, Studio Toolkit for Flexibles, Studio
Toolkit for Labels and Studio Toolkit for Shrinksleeves. For more information on the printable part in a Collada file please see the white paper which can be found:
• For Mac; in the extra folder of the installation disk.
• For PC; go to
Start
>
Programs
>
Esko
>
DeskPack Plug-ins
>
Data Exchange
>
Extra...
If a Collada file contains multiple printable parts a dialog will ask you to choose one. Choose that part of which you want to create the graphics in Adobe Illustrator.
When an Illustrator file is opened that contains CAD data, two checks are performed.
31
3
DeskPack Advanced
1.
First of all, the plug-in checks whether the structural design file still can be found in its original place. If that is not the case, the plug-in will look for the structural design file in the same directory where the Illustrator file is. If it finds the structural design file there, it will use this structural design file instead, otherwise, you will be asked to browse to the new location of the file.
2.
A second check is performed to see if the structural design file has been modified since it was originally embedded in this Illustrator file. If so, the Illustrator document will be updated.
Placing a structural design file:
If a structural design file is already loaded and you place a new structural design file, the new structural design file will replace the old structural design file. This implies that you can never have more than one structural design file in an Illustrator document.
The difference between placing and opening a structural design file:
When opening a structural design file, the artboard will adopt the size of the bounding box of the structure.
When placing a structural design file, the artboard will not be changed.
Open or Place from Shapes
You can open files from Shapes directly or place them into existing Illustrator files by using the commands in
File
>
Structural Design
.
32
DeskPack Advanced
You can choose a new Shape to download and purchase from the store or you can use an already-downloaded Shape from the library on your computer. In order to access the Shapes store, you must have already entered the Shapes server settings and your Shapes account information in the Shapes Preferences dialog in
Preferences
>
Esko
>
Shapes Preferences
.
3
Opening and placing a file from Shapes follows the same general workflow. This example will show you how to place a Shapes file.
1.
In an open Illustrator document, click
File
>
Structural Design
>
Place from Shapes...
. The
Shapes window appears in the state you last used it, either at your local computer’s Shapes
Library or at the online Shapes Store.
2.
If you want to use a new Shape, choose it and buy it. It gets downloaded to your local machine’s Shapes Library.
33
3
DeskPack Advanced
34
3.
If you bought a new Shape, the Shapes window should switch to the Shapes Library automatically. To use an existing Shape, click
Library
in the Shapes window. Select the
desired Shape and click
Place
.
4.
The Shape is either placed in the open Illustrator document or opened as a new document.
Only the printable area of the Shape is visible in Illustrator. If you have one of the Studio products, use the Studio palette to view the Shape with the printable area.
Shown below is a white wine bottle from Shapes with the label designed in Illustrator and with the 3D model shown in the Studio palette.
DeskPack Advanced
3
Update the Structural Design File
If the structural design file has been modified while still editing the Illustrator file, an update of the Structural Design file can be forced. A dedicated Update for Structural Design files is found in the
File
menu. Choose
File
>
Structural Design
>
Update
35
3
36
Align Structure and Graphics
Interactive Move Structural Design tool
DeskPack Advanced
DeskPack Advanced
The
Move Structural Design
tool has been added underneath the Illustrator select tool. Select this tool to move the structural design interactively without unlocking the structural design layers. Hold down the mouse button and drag to move the structural design.
Tip:
If you choose
View
>
Smart Guides
, the structural design will snap to the graphics.
3
Structural Design window
The Structural Design palette provides information on the structural design file's bleed and structure contours and it allows you to rotate or numerically move the contours. Open the palette by choosing
Window
>
Esko
>
Structural Design
>
Show Structural Design Window
.
The upper part gives you the coordinates of the (left, top) point of the bounding box around the structure contour. The coordinates are relative to the origin of the Illustrator file. You can choose to see the coordinates of nine points on the bounding box. You can also choose to see the position of the bounding box around the bleed contour.
By entering a new value in the X and Y entry fields, you move the selected point to the new position.
It is possible to flip the structural design so that you can add graphics to the back of the structural design. This feature is enabled for ArtiosCAD files and for Collada files with a placed printable part that can have graphics applied to the back side.
The lower part of the palette shows the width and height of the
Structure
and
Bleed
bounding boxes.
Bleed Offset
indicates the offset between the structure and the bleed contour.
The bottom part provides information whether or not fold angles and animation were defined in the structural design.
37
3
DeskPack Advanced
Click one of the
Rotation
icons to rotate the structural design contours. Rotation always happens around the center of the structure contour.
Create Varnish Plate
Choose
Window
>
Esko
>
Structural Design
>
Create Varnish Plate...
.
• If you choose
Use Bleed Outline
then the contour will be created from the bleed outline minus the coating free areas (if any).
• If you choose
Use Artboard
, then the contour will be created from the Artboard minus the coating free areas.
• If you choose
Use Bounding Box of Structure
, then the contour will be created from the Bounding Box of the structure minus the coating free areas.
When choosing
Use Artboard
or
Use Bounding Box of Structure
, you can specify a positive or negative offset. The resulting varnish plate will be enlarged or shrunk with the specified offset in relation to the artboard or the bounding box.
This tool outputs a contour filled with a light-yellow spot color. This contour will be put in a new layer named ‘Varnish’. This layer will be inserted directly under the structural design layers.
Note:
Create Varnish Plate will automatically exclude the coating free zones in the structural design file, if any.
38
DeskPack Advanced
3
Expand Structural Design Layer
Choose
Window
>
Esko
>
Structural Design
>
Expand Structural Design Layer...
.
Select the structural design layer that you want to expand into a new Illustrator layer.
All art on the structural design layer will be copied to the new Illustrator layer. The art on the new layer is no longer tagged as structural design objects. The resulting objects are in the technical structural design inks.
One common use where you would use this tool is when you are interested in creating a clipping path from the bleed outline of the structural design file.
Structural Design Preferences
If you open or place structural design files created by older versions of e.g. ArtiosCAD ( < 7.3), the structural design layer names might be visualized incorrectly. In the picture below, the ß and u in bemaßung are not visualized correctly.
39
3
DeskPack Advanced
This happens when the layer name that was saved in the structural design file used a different text encoding than the one that is used to visualize the layer name in Illustrator. As structural design files created by older versions of e.g. ArtiosCAD ( < 7.3) do not contain the used text encoding, the plug-in can only guess which text encoding was used. It will by default take the current language settings.
This should yield the correct result, unless you are for example trying to open a German structural design file on a Chinese system. If this is the case, you can overrule the text encoding in
Illustrator
>
Preferences
>
Esko
>
Structural Design Preferences…
on MAC or
File
>
Preferences
>
Esko
>
Structural Design Preferences…
on PC.
40
From ArtiosCAD file
: ARD files written from ArtiosCAD 7.3 onwards will contain the text encoding used for layer names. So for those files, the layer browser in Illustrator will always visualize the structural design layer names correctly, even if you are for example opening a
German text-encoded ARD file on a Chinese system. For ARD files written by older versions of
ArtiosCAD, the plug-in will use your current language settings for text encoding. In most cases it makes sense to click this option.
DeskPack Advanced
Current language settings
: If this option is selected, the plug-in will always use the text encoding of your system instead of the encoding that might be specified in the structural design file.
Other
: You can specify directly which text encoding should be used. In the example of a
German ARD file that is opened on a Chinese system, you should switch the text encoding to
Western European (Windows Latin 1). If you click OK, the layer palette will be refreshed using the new text encoding. For the example above, the layer palette shows:
3
3.4.3 Structural Design Export
Structural Design Save as
The Structural Design Save as... saves a copy of the linked Structural Design file which is placed in the Illustrator file to a new location, The Illustrator file will link to the newly saved Structural
Design file. Choose
File
>
Structural Design
>
Save as...
41
3
DeskPack Advanced
42
Export Selected Objects to ArtiosCAD File
ArtiosCAD Export adds the item
Export Selected Objects to ArtiosCAD File
to the
Structural
Design
menu. Only ARD files can be included when exporting to a new ArtiosCAD file.
DeskPack Advanced
3
Select the contours to export to the ARD file and choose
File
>
Structural Design
>
Export
Selected Objects to ArtiosCAD File
.
The
Export Selected Objects to ArtiosCAD File
dialog opens.
43
3
DeskPack Advanced
44
Save selected objects in
You can choose to save the selected objects in the Main Design Layer or in Annotation Layers.
If you save them in Annotation Layers, an ARD file will be created with annotation layers with the same name as the illustrator layers.
Next to this, you can choose
Layers based on ArtiosCAD Line Type swatches
. If the selected objects are stroked with a swatch color with an ArtiosCAD line type name (e.g. cut, crease, bleed), then this option will create layers depending on the stroke color name:
• Cut and crease lines will go to a Main Layer
• Outside Bleed lines will go to an Outside Bleed Layer
• Outside Coating lines will go to an Outside Coating Layer
• Dimensions and text will go to a Dimension Layer
• All other linetypes will go to an Annotation Layer
For convenience, a swatch library ArtiosCAD Line Types is included with the plug-in. You can display the swatch library by selecting
Window
>
Swatch Libraries
>
ArtiosCAD Line Types
.
In this swatch library, all ArtiosCAD design line types have been predefined.
Include a copy of ****.ARD
You can choose to include a copy of the ARD file that was loaded in the Illustrator document.
The resulting ARD file will contain the selected objects AND what is in the CAD layers in
Illustrator.
Remove lines
It is possible to remove some lines of the original ArtiosCAD file. This is meant to modify cutout windows. Do not attempt to remove fold lines with this tool. If you do this, the original fold angles will be lost.
DeskPack Advanced
Place this ArtiosCAD file in the document
If you switch this option on, the resulting ARD file will be placed in the Illustrator document. It will replace the structural design file that was loaded originally.
Preview
In the preview window, you see a preview of what will be saved. You can highlight the selected contours by toggling on Highlight Selection. You then see the distinction between the contours that are newly added to the resulting ARD file and those contours that come from the original
ARD file.
If you click
Save As
, the
Save As
dialog opens.
3
If you have an ArtiosCAD file loaded in your Illustrator document, the software suggests as file name the name of the loaded ArtiosCAD file followed by _copy.
We recommend you not to overwrite the original ARD file as some functionality of the ARD file will be lost: graphics layers are not copied and it will not be possible to rebuild the created ARD file and text will be contourized.
Note:
Placed EPS objects and/or pixel-based objects cannot be copied to an ARD file. The fill color of the selected contours is not maintained in ArtiosCAD. Rather, the stroke color of the contour determines the line type in ArtiosCAD. If the selected contour is in the Main Design layer, the pointage of the contour will be 2. In all other cases, the pointage will be 0.
45
3
ArtiosCAD - Copy to Clipboard
Note:
This function is only available on PC.
It can be found on the
Edit
menu:
DeskPack Advanced
46
ArtiosCAD - Copy to Clipboard
copies the selected contours to the Windows Clipboard. They can directly be pasted into ArtiosCAD. If you have the same ArtiosCAD workspace open in
ArtiosCAD and have not modified it since opening it in Illustrator, when you paste the contents of the clipboard into ArtiosCAD, they use the same placement as was used in Illustrator. This function is useful for ArtiosCAD users who need shapes from the graphics to be added to the box design.
Copy to Clipboard
also offers you the possibility to add the ARD file that is currently loaded in the Illustrator document. Keep in mind that graphics layers are not copied. The resulting ARD file is also not rebuildable and text will be contourized.
DeskPack Advanced
3
Note:
Placed EPS objects and/or pixel-based objects cannot be copied to an ARD file. The fill color of the selected contours is not maintained in ArtiosCAD. The stroke color of the contour determines the line type in ArtiosCAD. If the selected contour is in the Main Design layer, the pointage of the contour will be 2. In all other cases, the pointage will be 0.
Relationship between stroke color in Illustrator and line type in ArtiosCAD
If the contours are stroked with a swatch color with an ArtiosCAD line type name (e.g. cut, crease), then the corresponding items in ArtiosCAD will have the corresponding line type. For example, if you give your contour a stroke color with as name 'Annotation', the contour will be in line type 'Annotation' in ArtiosCAD. If the name is not an ArtiosCAD line type name, the contour will be a cut line. For convenience, a swatch library ArtiosCAD Line Types is included with the plug-in. You can display the swatch library by selecting
Window
>
Swatch Libraries
>
ArtiosCAD Line Types
. In this swatch library, all ArtiosCAD design line types have been predefined.
How to add a cutout window to an existing ArtiosCAD file?
1.
Open or place an ARD file.
If you also have Studio Designer, you will see a 3D view of your folded box in the Studio window.
2.
Create and select the cutout shape that you want to add to the ArtiosCAD file.
47
3
DeskPack Advanced
48
3.
Choose
File
>
Structural Design
>
Export Selected Objects to ArtiosCAD File
.
The
Export Selected Objects to ArtiosCAD
File appears.
DeskPack Advanced
3
4.
Do one or more of the following:
• Save the selected objects in the Main Design Layer.
• Include a copy of the original ARD file.
• Place this ArtiosCAD file in the document.
For more information on the different options, please refer to
on page 42.
5.
Click
Save As...
.
The selected objects are saved in the
Main Design Layer
. They get the cut line type (which is the default if you did not specify a swatch with as name an ArtiosCAD line type). Apart from the selected objects, the original ARD file is copied in the resulting ARD file and the resulting ARD file is immediately placed in the Illustrator document. If you have
Studio
Designer
, you will automatically see the ARD file with the cutout folded in 3D:
49
3
DeskPack Advanced
How to modify a cutout window in an ArtiosCAD file?
1.
Open or Place an ARD file that already contains a cut-out window.
50
If you also have
Studio Designer
, you will see a 3D view of your folded box in the Studio window.
DeskPack Advanced
3
2.
Create and select the new cutout shape that you want to add to the ARD file.
3.
Choose
File
>
Structural Design
>
Export Selected Objects to ArtiosCAD File
.
The
Export Selected Objects to ArtiosCAD
File appears.
51
3
DeskPack Advanced
In the preview window you notice that you do not get the desired result. We need to remove the original cutout window.
4.
Click
Remove Lines
.
The
Remove Lines
dialog appears.
52
DeskPack Advanced
3
5.
In this dialog, you can select the lines you would like to remove. It will not be possible to select the new lines. You can choose to hide the new lines by enabling
Hide New Lines
.
6.
Click and drag a rectangle around the original cutout window.
This window will be grayed out. This means that it will be removed in the final ARD file.
53
3
DeskPack Advanced
54
7.
Click
OK
.
This bring you back to the
Export Selected Objects to ArtiosCAD File
dialog. In the preview window you notice that the original cutout has been removed.
DeskPack Advanced
3
8.
Click
Save As
.
9.
Specify a file name in the
Save As
dialog.
The software suggests the name of the loaded ArtiosCAD file followed by _copy.
10.
Click
Save
.
If you have
Studio Designer
, you will automatically see the ARD file with the new cutout folded in 3D.
55
3
DeskPack Advanced
3.5 The Page Box Plug-in
3.5.1 Introduction
Page Boxes are used to define the outside borders and margins of your document, and it is used in the Esko Software Suite workflow environment.
Page Box definitions are saved as part of the Illustrator file used by the plug-ins Shuttle and
PowerLayout Client.
Page Boxes are not taken into account when printing directly from Adobe Illustrator, nor are they exported when exporting to a non-native format via standard Adobe plug-ins. They do not appear as objects in the Layers palette.
You can find the Page Box plug-in in
Window
>
Esko
>
Trim Box and Media Box
The Page Box plugin can work in two modes:
•
Trim Box and Media Box
(defining only those two page boxes). See
on page 56
•
All Page Boxes
. See
on page 60
You can switch mode by selecting
Switch to [mode]
from the flyout menu.
3.5.2 Trim Box and Media Box
56
1. Trim Box Size
: Select the size from the dropdown list.
2. Trim Box Width/Length
: Enter the Width/Length if you want a custom size.
DeskPack Advanced
3
Tip:
The units are defined in the Illustrator preferences.
3. Trim Box Orientation
: Select the orientation: portrait/landscape.
Note:
When the Trim Box is being dragged or Width or Height editboxes edited, the radio buttons
Portrait/Landscape flip automatically so that Landscape is active whenever Width > Height and Portrait whenever Width < Height.
4. Fit Trim Box to
•
Fit Trim Box to Artboard
•
Fit Trim Box to Artwork
•
Fit Trim Box to Selection
•
Fit Trim Box to CAD
5. Media Box (Margins)
enter the top, bottom, left and right values.
Tip:
The units are defined in the Illustrator preferences.
6. Fit Media Box to
•
Fit Media Box to Artboard
•
Fit Media Box to Artwork
•
Fit Media Box to Selection
•
Fit Media Box to Bleed / CAD (when no bleed was defined the cad will be taken as reference)
7. Fit Artboard to
• Fit Artboard to Trim Box
• Fit Artboard to Media Box
8. Show Trim Box and Media Box
: To display or hide the trim Box and Media Box, use this toggle.
9. See more page boxes
: In case page boxes other than Trim and Media box are defined, this link will open the
All Page Boxes
10.Trim Box and Media Box dropdown menu
• Switch to All Page Boxes. see
on page 60
• Fit Trim Box to Artboard
57
3
DeskPack Advanced
• Fit Trim Box to Artwork
• Fit Trim Box to Selection
• Fit Trim Box to CAD
• Fit Trim Box to Crop Area
• Fit Media Box to ArtBoard
• Fit Media Box to Artwork
• Fit Media Box to Selection
• Fit Media Box to Bleed / CAD (when no bleed was defined the CAD will be taken as reference)
• Fit Media Box to AI Bleed Box
• Fit Artboard to Trim Box
• Fit Artboard to Media Box
• Use Transform bounds: if this option is enabled, TrimBox/MediaBox will respect as they are defined in Adobe Illustrator. If disabled, TrimBox/MediaBox will respect visible bounds.
• Move Trim Box and Media Box ... open the 'Move Trim Box and Media Box' interface
• Delete Trim Box and Media Box
The figure below illustrates the Trim Box (borders) and Media Box (margins) of an output document as interpreted on an Esko system. The full black line represents the borders
(corresponding to one of the above options) while the dotted black line indicates the margins of the document:
58
Moving and Scaling Trim Box and Media Box
To move or change the size of the Trim and Media Boxes, you can either
• Select the Trim and Media Box Tool from the AI tool palette.
Use the Trim and Media Box to click and drag the Trim and Media Box.
• Select the Trim and Media Box Tool from the AI tool palette.
• ALT +drag = scale from the center out
• SHIFT + drag = constrained scaling
• ALT + SHIFT + drag = constrained scaling from the center out
DeskPack Advanced
3
OR
• Select a preset from the drop down menu.
OR
• Use the numeric input field. The numeric input field appears when you select
Move Trim
Box and Media Box
in the dropdown menu.
Tip:
Double-clicking Trim and Media Box tool in toolpalette opens the 'Move Trim Box and Media
Box' dialog.
OR
• You could use one of the “fit to” options (to Artboard, artwork, selection, cad or crop area).
59
3
DeskPack Advanced
Tip:
The units are defined in the Illustrator preferences.
3.5.3 All Page Boxes
Using the
All Page Boxes
mode, you can set all 5 page boxes: Media Box, Crop Box, Bleed Box,
Trim Box and Art Box
60
1.
Media box: this is the page format
2.
Crop box: includes the Bleed box and all marks.
3.
Bleed box: defines the trimmed page plus the bleed.
4.
Trim box: this is the net document format.
5.
Art box: the Art box can be used to specify any section of the page.
You can see the dimensions of all Page Boxes in the Page Box list. You can
1.
Select a Page Box in the list. Its details will be shown in the bottom part of the dialog.
2.
Enable (or disable) the specific page box by enabling the
Set [...] Box
option.
3.
Enter the offset, width and heigth. You can click the button to swap width and height. In the
Size
dropdown, you can select any of the preset sizes.
4.
Click one of the
Fit to
buttons to fit the selected page box respectively to the ArtBoard,
Artwork, Selection or CAD.
5.
Use the
Show All Page Boxes
to show or hide all Page Boxes in your job.
DeskPack Advanced
3
3.6 The Inspection Setup Plug-In
•
The Inspection Setup Plug-In allows you to define Inspection points or Inspection boxes in your job.
For each of these Inspection points, you will see the Lab value and DeltaE. For every Inspection box, you can set the Profile. Inspection points and boxes will be exported, e.g. to be used in an
Inspection System in inline presses. This Inspection System will warn if the values measured at a specific position are more different from the entered Lab values than the allowed deltaE, or if the Inspection box or Dynamic Art box doesn't match the defined profile.
The plug-in consists of the
Inspection Setup tool
, under the Eyedropper tool in the toolbar
• the
Inspection Setup palette
, which can be opened by selecting the Inspection Setup tool, or by adding an Inspection point.
61
3
DeskPack Advanced
3.6.1 Adding and changing Inspection points
The
Inspection Setup palette
shows all the Inspection points, indicating the coordinates
(distance from the top left corner of the trim box), Lab value and default deltaE value.
•
Select the
Inspection Setup tool
insert a new Inspection point.
from the Illustrator toolbar and click in the job to
•
The Inspection point will be visible in the job, with its number next to it.
• Select an Inspection point in the palette to highlight the corresponding Inspection point on the Illustrator job. You can select multiple Inspection points
•
Select one or more Inspection points and click the
delete
button
Inspection points
to delete the
• You can manually change the Lab and deltaE value for every Inspection Point.
Click the
Refresh
button to update the Inspection Point list.
62
DeskPack Advanced
• You can move an Inspection point in two ways:
• Click within the Inspection point, and drag it to the new location
• In the Inspection Point list, change the coordinates for the Inspection point.
3.6.2 Adding and changing Inspection boxes
The
Inspection Setup palette
shows all the Inspection boxes.
•
Select the
Inspection Setup tool
the job to insert a new Inspection box.
from the Illustrator toolbar and click and drag in
•
The Inspection box will be visible in the job, with its number next to it. When creating a new
Inspection box, the
Default Profile
is used
• Select an Inspection box in the palette to highlight the corresponding Inspection box on the
Illustrator job. You can select multiple Inspection boxes.
Select one or more Inspection boxes and click the
Inspection boxes
delete
button to delete the
• You can manually change the
Profile
.
• You can move or change an Inspection box in different ways:
• Click on the center point of the Inspection box, and drag it to move the Inspection box to a new location
• Click one of the 8 handles on the Inspection box, and drag to modify the Inspection box
3.6.3 Dynamic Art Placeholders
The Dynamic Art section of the
Inspection Setup palette
shows all Dynamic Art placeholders defined in the job.
• Enable the checkbox in front of a Dynamic Art placeholder to use it as an Inspection box.
When adding a Dynamic Art placeholder, the
Default Profile
is used
• Select a Dynamic Art placeholder in the list to highlight the corresponding Dynamic Art placeholder on the Illustrator job. You can select multiple Dynamic Art placeholders
• You can manually change the
Profile
.
• Disable the checkbox in front of a Dynamic Art placeholder to stop using it as an Inspection box.
3.6.4 Import and Export
When exporting normalized PDF, Inspection points and boxes added to a job are saved in the
PDF file, and these Inspection points and boxes will be recognized by Packadge and AE.
Also, when opening a normalized PDF from another Esko product (such as PackEdge), the
Inspection points and boxes information stored in the PDF document will be shown in the
Inspection Setup palette.
3
63
3
DeskPack Advanced
Note:
Dynamic Art placeholders are not saved as such in normalized PDF. The selected
Dynamic Art placeholders will be exported as "Inspection Box". If you import the normalized
PDF in Adobe Illustrator again, or open the normalized PDF file in e.g. Packedge, these Dynamic
Art placeholders will be shown as Inspection Boxes
3.7 Messages
The
Messages
plug-in is included with all Esko DeskPack plug-ins.
It displays the information, warnings and errors from all the other DeskPack plug-ins, and tells you which plug-in generated them.
You can filter the messages you see when the Messages palette is open, and clear or save all messages if you need to.
3.7.1 The Messages Palette
The
Messages
palette pops up automatically when another DeskPack plug-in generates a warning or an error.
You can also open it from
Window
>
Esko
>
Messages
.
64
•
This palette shows you: the message’s severity ( information, warning or error),
• the message’s text in the
Message
column,
• which
Plugin
generated the message,
• the
Time
the message was generated at.
Tip:
You can click the column headers to sort the messages, and drag the columns horizontally to adjust their widths.
You can also use the palette to get extra information and / or select the objects that generated warnings or errors:
• click a message to display extra information at the bottom of the palette.
DeskPack Advanced
3
• click the triangle in front of a message to see the list of objects it relates to.
• click one of the objects in the list to select it in the file.
• double-click that object to select it and zoom in on it in the file.
• double-click the message to select and zoom in on all objects it relates to in the file.
3.7.2 Filtering the Messages
You can show or hide certain types of messages using the palette’s fly-out menu.
• To hide:
• all informational messages, select
Hide Info Messages
in the fly-out menu,
• all warnings, select
Hide Warning Messages
,
• all errors, select
Hide Error Messages
.
• To show them again, select either:
•
Show Info Messages
,
•
Show Warning Messages
,
•
Show Error Messages
.
65
3
DeskPack Advanced
• To only show the last message, select
Show Last
in the fly-out menu.
• To show all messages again, select
Show All
.
When showing all messages, you can see
Show: All
at the bottom right of the palette.
When filtering messages (for example filtering out the warning messages, or showing only the last message), you can see
Show: Filtered
at the bottom right of the palette.
3.7.3 Saving the Messages
To save all messages in a text file:
1.
Select
Save Messages as...
in the fly-out menu.
66
DeskPack Advanced
2.
In the browser window that opens, choose the name and location to use for saving your file.
3
3.7.4 Clearing the Messages
• To remove all messages from the
Messages
palette, select
Clear
in the fly-out menu.
3.8 Esko Document Setup
By choosing
File
>
Esko Document Setup
you can open the
Esko Document Setup
dialog.
The settings made here are saved in the Esko XMP Document Information.
3.8.1 Distortion
The vertical and horizontal distortion value is saved with the document and used by Esko RIPs when generating the final output. It allows to compensate for distortions in certain printing methods, e.g. flexography. On mounting a flexo plate on the press, it is stretched out in one direction. By making the output slightly smaller than needed (e.g. 95%), we compensate for this distortion.
Values for vertical and horizontal distortion is limited to 90% - 110%.
3.8.2 Screen Registration
•
The
Screen Registration
parameter allows to choose if the RIP should reset the screening origin for every one-up
• or keep the same screening origin for the complete document
Below a schematic representation of a Repetition with (left) and without (right) resetting the screen origin for every one-up.
67
3
DeskPack Advanced
3.9 Annotations
With the
Annotations
plugin, you can view .xfdf annotations generated by Global Vision and
WebCenter.
Since version 16, Global Vision SDK has been integrated in Esko's Automation Engine, allowing several types of Global Vision Check tasks to be run.
The output of a Global Vision Check is an .xfdf file, highlighting the found errors and problems on the document.
The .xfdf file can be loaded (see
on page 68) and the annotations are
shown in the Annotations palette (see
3.9.1 Loading XFDF files
Whenever a file is opened in Adobe Illustrator, the Annotations plugin will try to find the corresponding XFDF file to open.
• For GlobalVision annotations, the supported file types are Adobe PDF, Normalized PDF and
Adobe Illustrator file
• For WebCenter annotations, the supported file types are Adobe PDF, Normalized PDF,
Adobe Illustrator ZIP file and ARD.
If for example a file "sample.pdf" is opened, the plugin will search for the corresponding .xfdf
file in the following locations, in the specific order shown below.
1.
.view/sample.pdf/*.xfdf
68
DeskPack Advanced
2.
.view/sample*.xfdf
3.
sample*.xfdf
4.
./sample_wcr.xfdf
for WebCenter annotations
3.9.2 The Annotations palette
The Annotation palette will show all Annotations found in the .xfdf file. You can open the palette by choosing
Window
>
Esko
>
Annotations.
3
There are different types of annotations: Barcode, Braille, Spell Check, Artwork, Text Compare and WebCenter annotations.. You can browse to them by clicking the buttons on top of the palette.
Note:
If the document only contains WebCenter annotations, you will not have any filtering options. If your document only contains Global Vision annotations, the "WebCenter" button will be hidden.
69
3
DeskPack Advanced
For every issue found, an entry in the list is shown. Some of these annotations have text content, while others can have an image preview, showing the difference between the actual artwork and how it should look.
If
Show only selected annotations
is enabled, only the annotations you select in the list will be highlighted in your job using a colored rectangle. Otherwise, all annotations in the job will be highlighted.
If
Zoom
is enabled, selecting an annotation in the list will automatically zoom in on the issue.
3.9.3 Multipage PDF files with Annotations
An XFDF file can contain annotations for a multipage PDF. Every annotation will have a reference to what page it belongs to.
If you import a multipage Normalized PDF, the plugin knows what page you imported, and only the Annotations for that specific page will be shown.
If you import a multipage PDF as Adobe PDF, the plugin can't know what page you imported. In that case, the Annotation palette will have a dropdown at the bottom of the palette, to decide for what page you want to load the annotations.
Note:
Multi-page annotations is not supported for WebCenter annotations
3.9.4 Updating
Each annotation contains a time stamp of creation. In case the source file is modified and saved later than the annotation, a warning icon will be shown on top of the palette, indicating the annotations might be out of sync with the document.
If the document is opened from WebCenter, you can choose
Update Annotations
from the flyout menu in the Annotations palette, to get the latest annotations from WebCenter. In case the annotations can not be loaded (e.g. you are no longer logged in with WebCenter
Connector, there are no annotations available for the document, or the document no longer exists) you will get a warning message indicating why loading didn't work.
70
4. boostX
4.1 Using boostX
4.1.1 Starting boostX
You can start the boostX plugin by selecting
Window
>
Esko
>
boostX
.
DeskPack Advanced
4
boostX Preferences
To open the boostX preferences, choose
Illustrator
>
Preferences
>
Esko
>
boostX
Preferences
. Please refer to the chapter on
Working with Crosshair alignment tools
on page
84, for the explanation on the Crosshair Preferences.
The boostX
Tool Layout
preference allows you to place the different boostX tools either integrated with the Illustrator tools, grouped or as individual tools in the Illustrator tool bar.
With the boostX
Menu Layout
preferences you can choose if the boostX menus should appear in menus
Object
>
Path
>
Esko
and
Select
>
Esko
(Integrated) or in
Object
>
Filters
>
Esko
(Single Menu Group).
71
4
DeskPack Advanced
4.1.2 Selecting Objects
Area Select Tool
The Area Select tool allows you to marquee select objects. The objects are only selected if the Marquee select box is created around the entire object or clicked on directly. The Area
Select tool allows you to select only the objects you wish to work with, in contrast, the Adobe
Illustrator Selection tool will select an object if the Selection tool touches or is drawn through an object. With the boostX Area Select tool objects cannot be moved inadvertently.
To use the boostX Select tool Choose Window
>
Tools
Hold down the mouse button to show the
Selection options
>
boostX Select Tool
.
Create a Marquee Selection box around the object or objects you wish to select. The selection is highlighted.
72
DeskPack Advanced
4
Tip:
Holding down the Option key while making a boostX marquee selection, rotates the selection from the point of “marquee" origin. Holding down the Shift key will “snap” rotate the marquee
selection in 45 degree increments.
Tip:
Use shortcut 'v' to switch to Illustrator select tool.
To use the boostX DirectSelect tool
Hold down the mouse button to show the Direct-
Selection options >
boostX Direct Select Tool
.
Create a Marquee Selection box around an object’s compound path or individual objects within a “Group” of objects. The selection is highlighted.
The boostX Area Direct Select tool allows you to marquee select objects and then edit or modify the object’s compound path, as in the inside of a “donut like” object. The boostX
DirectSelect tool also works on individual objects within a “Group” of objects.
Using the Adobe Illustrator Direct Select tool only allows you to edit and reposition an object’s individual node points. Using the boostX Select tool allows you to select “complete” subpaths of compound or grouped objects.
73
4
DeskPack Advanced
Dust Select Tool
The Dust Select tool allows you to select objects of equal or lesser size based on the Marquee
Select box you create. The marquee Select box can be created anywhere on the drawing surface, Dust Select tool will calculate the area and search the drawing for other objects of the same size or smaller and select those objects.
Note:
Size definition: The Dust Select tool will take both width and length into account and will not only look at the surface area.
The Dust Select tool becomes a useful utility for finding small, dust like objects. These small objects can be too small for printing or are artifacts of scanned artwork that need to be removed.
To use the Dust Select tool Choose
Window
>
Tools
. Hold down the mouse button to show the Selection options >
boostX Dust Tool
.
The Dust tool is now the active tool of the Adobe Illustrator Tool Box.
To create a selection, use your mouse to make a Marquee Selection box of a desired size. The
Dust Select Tool will search the drawing to select the objects of the same size or smaller, all objects satisfying the size parameters are now highlighted.
To use the Dust Direct Select tool
The Dust Direct Select tool allows you to marquee select objects or their compound paths to determine a selection. Hold down the mouse button to show the Direct-Selection options >
boostXDustDirectSelect
Tool. The Dust Direct Select tool is now the active tool of the Adobe Illustrator Tool Box.
74
Tip:
First draw your selection marquee and press CTRL holding the selection to delete everything in the selection.
DeskPack Advanced
To create a selection, use your mouse to make a Marquee Selection box of a desired size. The
Dust Direct Select Tool will search the drawing to select objects, paths of compound objects, or paths of groups of the same size or smaller.
4
Selection tools under Select > Esko
Select Dust
The Dust Select filter searches your document for objects of the same size, by area calculation or smaller. Ideal for scanned artwork clean-up. Inspect the drawing to determine the biggest object that should be removed, select that object, then enable the boostX Dust select filter. All objects of the same size or smaller are selected. Now you can decide to delete these objects or edit them.
To use Dust Select Select an object. Choose
Select
>
Esko
>
boostX Dust
The filter will search the drawing document and select the objects which are the same size, by area, or smaller.
75
4
DeskPack Advanced
76
Select Overprinting Objects
bX Select Overprinting Objects
The bX Select Overprinting Objects searches your document for objects that are in overprint.
Click
Select
>
Esko
>
bX Select Overprinting Objects
and all objects in overprint will be selected.
Select White Overprinting Objects
bX Select White Overprinting Objects
The bX Select White Overprinting Objects searches your document for objects which fill or stroke is white (all inks = 0%) and overprintring.
Click
Select
>
Esko
>
bX Select White Overprinting Objects
and all objects with a fill or stroke that is white and overprinting will be selected.
Select Uncolored Art
The bX Select Uncolored Art selection filter searches your document for objects that have no fill color or stroke color assigned to them.
Click
Select
>
Esko
>
bX Select Uncolored Art
and all objects without a fill color and stroke color will be selected.
Select by Attributes
The Select by Attributes option opens the Select by Attributes palette, from which you can define a custom selection filter based on the attributes of the objects in the Illustrator document. Select By Attribute is both a productivity and a QA tool. It allows you to quickly select all elements in the file (or sub-select within a selection) that comply with your criteria; color, object type, appearance and even the shape of the object. Use it as a QA tool to trace elements in your document that are outside the printing specifications (small text, thin lines, ...). Click
Select
>
Esko
>
Select By Attributes
, to open the Select By Attributes palette.
DeskPack Advanced
Why Select by Attributes?
By combining multiple selection criteria in the Select by Attributes panel, you can create your own special, tailor-made selection filter.
4
The Select By Attributes option comes with four buttons
Select
,
Refine
,
Deselect
and
Collect
.
•
Select:
Select all objects in the document that match the criteria that are currently selected .
•
Refine:
Refine the current selection by adding additional selection criteria. This allows you to quickly fine tune your result.
•
Deselect:
Deselect all objects that match the new selection criteria within the current selection.
•
Collect:
Make a Collection of all the objects in the document that match the criteria that are
Selection groups
The following groups of selection criteria are available:
• Object Type
• General Attributes
• Fill and Stroke
• Appearance
• Color
It's good to know that Select By Attributes works differently when combining selections within the same selection group or when combining selection criteria in different selection groups.
When adding selection criteria in the same selection group, Select by Attributes will simply add the search criteria, e.g. searching in "Object Type" for a "Path", "Text" and a "Mesh" will result in a selection of all paths, all text and all mesh objects.
However when combining selections in different selection groups, Select by Attributes will combine the selection criteria. e.g. searching for "Text" in "Object Type" and "Stroke" in "Fill and
Stroke" will only select text objects colored with a stroke.
Note:
Click on a triangle to collapse or expand the section. Alt-click on an expanded section to open all the sections. Alt-click on a collapsed section to expand that secttion and collapse all others.
77
4
Object Type
The Object Type group has ten options:
DeskPack Advanced
Path:
Select objects based on the path type: Open, Closed or Compound. Using
Any option
, the selection is made between objects which are Open, Closed or Compound.
Text:
Select all text, or all text smaller than the point size you specify in the Text field.
Symbol:
Select all the objects that are Adobe Illustrator symbols.
Linked File:
Select objects or images which have been linked to (and not embedded into) the
Adobe Illustrator file.
Image:
Selects all placed image files of the file type defined in the list. The image has to be embedded in the file.
Mesh:
Select all objects that are Adobe Illustrator Mesh objects.
Dynamic Barcodes:
Select dynamic barcode objects generated by the Esko Dynamic Barcodes plug-in.
Dynamic Table:
Select dynamic table objects generated by the Esko Dynamic Tables plug-in.
Dynamic Object:
Select XML-driven dynamic objects generated by the Esko Dynamic Content plug-in.
Thin Part Fix:
Select objects created by using the
Fix
button in the Thin Parts function of the
Preflight For Illustrator plugin.
General Attributes
The General Attributes group has three options:
78
DeskPack Advanced
4
Name:
Select an object by typing its name. The name of an object can be found and modified in the Illustrator Layer palette. Object names are by default placed between angled brackets ( <
> ). Note that you do not need to type the brackets, and that object names are case sensitive.
Size:
Select the size of the object (smaller or bigger than the typed size in mm).
Shape:
Select the objects which are of the same shapes as defined in the list. Note that the
Similar as Selected Objects option will only function if an object is selected.
Fill and Stroke
The Fill and Strokes group has two options:
Fill:
Select the objects with a fill.
Stroke:
Select all strokes, or strokes smaller than the size you specify in the Text field.
Appearance
The Appearence group has seven options:
79
4
DeskPack Advanced
Current Style:
Select objects similar to the selected object. The selection is tied to the style of the Illustrator color palette. This means that you can also search for any object with a certain style.
Fill Type:
Select the objects with a certain Fill type. You can choose between Solid, Gradient or
Pattern.
Opacity :
Select the objects that have a fill or a stroke with an opacity level or transparency lower than a certain percentage.
Blending:
Select objects that have a fill or a stroke set with one of the blending types, for example darken or multiply . Select a blending mode from the drop down list.
Overprint:
Select the objects set in overprint.
Opacity Mask:
Select any objects with an Opacity mask linked to it. Opacity masks are used to alter the transparency of objects and can also be selected via the "Opacity" option.
Effects:
Select any object that has an Adobe Illustrator Effect applied to it.
Color
The Color group has several options:
80
Fill Color is:
Select an object based on the color used for its fill. By clicking once the color patch will take the color of the object currently selected or when no selection is made it takes the
Illustrator current style. When multiple different objects are selected and you click once the default color black is chosen. Double-clicking the patch will open the Illustrator Color Picker.
DeskPack Advanced
StrokeColor is:
Select an object based on the color used for its stroke. By clicking once the color patch will take the color of the object currently selected or when no selection is made it takes the Illustrator current style. When multiple different objects are selected and you click once the default color black is chosen. Double-clicking the patch will open the Illustrator Color
Picker.
Tip:
Change your current style for fill or stroke to "None" (see Tools palette or Appearance) and select all objects with no fill or no stroke.
Fill Contains Ink:
Select an object based on the ink used for its fill. This can be a process color ink or a spot color ink.
• Use the "Lower than" and "Higher than" options to only select the objects with certain percentages of the ink.
• Select the
No other inks present
check box if you only want to select objects with a fill in the selected ink, but without other additional inks.
Stroke Contains Ink:
Select an object based on the ink used for its stroke. This can be a process color ink or a spot color ink.
• Use the "Lower than" and "Higher than" options to only select the objects with certain percentages of the ink.
• Select
No other inks present
check box if you only want to select objects with a stroke in the selected ink, but without other additional inks.
White:
Select any object with a white fill or stroke.
4.1.3 Collection
A
Collection
is a temporary set of objects, based on a selection. It allows to navigate through the objects in the Collection, automatically zooming in on them.
A collection is temporary, and only kept until it is cleared, or until the document is closed.
1.
Select a number of objects.
You can select objects manually, or by using e.g.
Select by Attribute
2.
Choose
Window
>
Esko
>
Collection...
to open the Collection dialog
4
3.
Click the
Make Collection
button to make a collection based on the selection
81
4
DeskPack Advanced
Note:
By clicking the
Collect
button in the
Select by Attribute
palette, you can skip step
2 and 3, and immediately create a collection based on the properties set in the Select by
Attribute palette . See also
on page 76
4.
Browse through the collection
The Collection dialog will show the number of objects in the Collection
• Use the browse buttons to navigate through the different objects in the collection
• The Info field shows the type of object currently selected
• Select the
Zoom
option to automatically zoom in on the currently browsed object.
• Select the
Select
option to automatically select the currently browsed object.
Note:
Selecting or deselecting objects doesn’t change the collection. You can still select and/or edit objects, without loosing your collection.
Modifying a Collection
You can modify the Collection using one of the functions in the fly-out menu of the Collection palette:
• Click the
Make New Collection
button or select
Make Collection
from the fly-out menu to
"forget" the current collection, and create a new collection based on the current selection.
• Select
Clear Collection
from the fly-out menu to "forget" the current collection.
• Select one or more objects in the job, and select
Add Selection
from the fly-out menu to add the selected objects to the collection.
• Browse to an object in the collection, and select
Remove Selection
from the fly-out menu to remove the selected objects from the collection.
Note:
Objects that are removed in the job, are automatically removed from the collection.
• Select
Select All
from the fly-out menu to select all objects in the collection.
4.1.4 Crosshair Tool
82
DeskPack Advanced
4
Crosshair Palette
The Crosshair palette allows you to create Origin Guide rules, intersecting 'x' and 'y' guide lines.
These guide lines can be rotated and positioned anywhere within the Adobe Illustrator drawing area. Objects within the drawing can be snapped to position along the guides.
To select the Crosshair palette Choose
Window
>
Esko
>
boostX
>
Crosshair
. The boostX
Crosshair palette appears.
Horizontal Crosshair offset
Position of the “x’ axis crosshair guide line, positioned from the drawing origin point.
Vertical Crosshair
offset Position of the “y” axis crosshair guide line, positioned from the drawing origin point.
Crosshair Rotation
Specify rotation angle of Crosshair Guide lines, - 45 degrees to +45 degrees around the
Horizontal and Vertical intersection point.
1.
Align Art
Selected objects will be positioned to Crosshair guides according to Crosshair alignment options.
2.
Align Crosshair
Crosshair guides will be positioned to selected objects according to Crosshair alignment options.
3.
All Directions
Objects will be positioned along both Crosshair guides. Choose a position from the Alignment Position Window. All 9 Alignment Position Buttons are active.
4.
Align Vertical
Objects will be positioned along the vertical crosshair guide. Choose a position from the Alignment Position Window. Center vertical Alignment Position Buttons are active.
5.
Align Horizontal
Objects will be positioned along the horizontal crosshair guide. Choose a position from the Alignment Position Window. Center Horizontal Alignment Position
Buttons are active.
83
4
DeskPack Advanced
6.
Visual Bounds
Objects are aligned along the object’s paint attributes, using the outside of the stroke width.
7.
Transformation Bounds
Objects are aligned using the object’s actual artwork path, ignoring the paint attributes of the objects.
8.
Align Ruler
The drawing’s ruler origin is aligned to the Crosshair origin point.
Note:
In Adobe Illustrator CS5 and CS5.5, only Global Rulers can be aligned to the Crosshair position.
If you are using Artboard rulers, you need to change them first to Global Rulers.
Working with Crosshair alignment tools
To interactively position the Crosshair
Start using the Crosshair tool by clicking the tool in the default toolbox.
84
The first time you select the Crosshair tool, the blue guide lines will align to the “0,0” Ruler origin. The Crosshair Guides can be positioned using the mouse to set the Crosshair origin point. Hold down the Option key and mouse button to set the angle of the Crosshair guide lines. Hold down the Option key, the Shift key and the mouse button to rotate and Snap the
Crosshair Guide lines to 45 degree increments.
Aligning the Crosshair Guide lines to selected objects
To align the Crosshair Guide lines to selected objects:
1.
Select the objects to align to.
2.
Click the
Align Crosshair
button.
DeskPack Advanced
3.
Select All Directions, Align Vertical, or Align Horizontal to create the alignment configuration you desire.
Clicking one of the 9 crosshair alignment buttons will align the Crosshair guides to the selected objects, while maintaining the Crosshair angle. You can use Crosshair alignment tools to change the angle. As such, you obtain a reference to align objects to, or just to get an accurate readout on the objects used as a reference.
4
Aligning Objects to the Crosshair Guide lines
To align Objects to the Crosshair Guide lines:
1.
Select the objects to be aligned.
2.
Click on the
Align Art
button.
3.
Select All Directions, Align Vertical, or Align Horizontal to create the alignment configuration you desire.
Clicking on one of the 9 art alignment buttons will align the objects to crosshair guides using the selected settings. The combination of aligning the Crosshair guides to objects, and then objects to the Crosshair guides, gives you the ability to quickly create objecs that are correctly aligned to each other.
To align the left border of an object A to the right border of an object B while at the same time keeping the vertical position of object A, do the following:
85
4
DeskPack Advanced
1.
Select
object B
.
2.
Align the crosshair to the right border of object B (set angle to zero first).
3.
Select
object A
.
4.
Change the align mode to align Art.
5.
Select the
Align Horizontal
mode.
6.
Left align the object A to the Crosshair guides.
Assigning Crosshair Preferences
The Crosshair Preferences dialog allows you to determine crosshair settings across documents.
You can keep the Angle and Position of the Crosshair for all documents when switching between or opening documents (by selecting
remember for each document
) or you can use the same Crosshair settings across all documents (by deselecting the option). This allows you to align the crosshair in one document, and align objects to these settings in another document.
To set boostX Crosshair Preferences
:
Choose
Edit
>
Preferences
>
Esko
>
boostX Preferences (PC)
or
Illustrator
>
Preferences
>
Esko
>
boostX Preferences (MAC)
.
The boostX Preferences Dialog appears. Select the desired setting for Crosshair Angle+Position and save the settings.
Note:
Never put graphics on the boostX cross hair layer. All objects on the boostX layer will be ignored.
4.1.5 Crosshair Cut Tool
Using the Crosshair Cut Tool you can cut away parts of an object, based on the position of the
Crosshair.
1.
Select the objects you want to cut.
86
DeskPack Advanced
2.
Place the Crosshair inside the selection, using the
Crosshair Tool
. See
on page 82
3.
Select the
Crosshair Cut Tool
, situated under the Crosshair Tool in the toolbox.
4
The cursor will change to a pair of scissors
4.
Click in the quadrant you want to be clipped away.
Using a clipping path, the quadrant you selected will be cut away.
4.2 Ink Mix
4.2.1 Working with Document Inks
The InkMix Palette is a combination of Plug-in filters allowing you to develop and manage your own custom Ink Base Colors (color swatch palette). These user-defined Base Inks become the basis for which a commercial printer sets his presses up for your particular print job. It is recommended for you to work closely together with a commercial printer before your work is press-ready, ensuring the “Base Inks” are appropriate for the job. InkMix allows you to assign
87
4
DeskPack Advanced
more than one spot color to an object and to mix process colors and spot colors in the same object. The Ink Mix Plug-in helps answer some critical print production questions:
• Which colors and special inks do you plan to specify so they can by applied correctly?
• Which colors within your document need special printing instructions?
• How many colors can be printed in one press run?
• Will your job run on a two-color, four-color, or six-color press?
• What color separation instructions does your commercial printer need?
4.2.2 Using the Ink Mix palette
To use the Ink Mix palette Choose
Window
>
Esko
>
boostX
>
InkMix
.
88
1.
Fill or Stroke
2.
Add to Graphic Styles
3.
Fly-out menu
4.
"None" button
5.
Ink slider & percentage
Changing the Ink Mix of an object
When selecting an object, the Ink Mix palette will show the actual (Fill or Stroke) color.
You can simply change the color by entering the percentages in the input fields, or by dragging the sliders for each ink.
You can apply a Swatch color by dragging and dropping a color from the Swatches pallete onto the fill/stroke icon.
You can erase all inks in the selected object(s) by clicking the
None
button (4).
DeskPack Advanced
4
Note:
You can also mix the gradient color stops. Simply select the object with the gradient, and click on one of the color stops.
Inks in the Ink Mix palette
The Ink Mix palette shows all inks currently used in the documents.
There are several ways to add inks:
• Drag and drop a color from the Swatches palette onto the Ink Mix Palette.
• Select
Add Inks of Selected Color Swatch
from the fly-out menu to add the inks used in the selected Color Swatch
• Select one of the
Add [...] inks
options from the fly-out menu to add Process Inks,
Hexachrome Inks, Opaltone Inks or Process Inks + Orange and Green.
When removing or converting inks in your document, the Ink Mix will only be updated after selecting
Remove Unused Inks
from the Fly-out menu
Adding an Ink Mix to Graphic Styles
You can add the current Ink Mix to the Graphic Styles, by clicing the
Add to Graphic Styles
button, or by selecting "Add to Graphic Styles" from the Fly-out menu.
Handling ink mixes from previous versions
Ink Mixes made in earlier versions of boostX use special BG inks. These ink mixes can still be read, but are no longer created.
Using
Upgrade to Appearances
will upgrade BG inks used in the selected objects to appearances.
Restrictions
Please keep in mind that Ink Mix is not available in these situations:
• if the selection contains multiple objects with different colors (fill or stroke)
• if the selection contains multiple objects with a different stroke width
• if any effectis applied on a single fill or stroke in the Appearance palette. An effect on the complete object is ok
• if a stroke with "Arrowhead" or "Profile" is selected (Uniform is ok)
• if an object with an "Appearance" with reversed order is selected: Fill - Stroke instead of
Stroke - Fill.
• if a mix of gradient and non gradient objects are selected
• if the "Appearance" palette has fills or strokes, but not all of them are in overprint. Only the last fill or stroke can be overprinting or not.
• if the gradient sliders are not in the exact same position in the selection or in the multiple fills in the Appearance palette.
89
4
DeskPack Advanced
4.3 Split / Join Fill & Stroke
The Split Fill & Stroke filter separates a selected object’s Fill from its Stroke. This filter can be used for modifying trapping options and working with chokes and spreads for printer color registration.
To use Split Fill & Stroke
Select an object with a fill and stroke. Choose
Object
>
Path
> b
oostX Split Fill & Stroke
The filter will separate the object’s fill and stroke into two distinct objects, one with a fill, no stroke and the other with a stroke, no fill.
Using the Join Fill & Stroke Filter
The Join Fill & Stroke filter combines previously Split Fill and Stroke of an object.
To use Join Fill & Stroke Choose
Object
>
Path
>
boostX Join Fill & Stroke
The Join Fill & Stroke filter will search the document for split objects. The filter then joins the objects’ fill and stroke into one object, having one stroke and one fill.
The Fill & Stroke filters work on all objects including text, as in our example. Applying the
Split Fill & Stroke filter will separate the text object into two independent text objects. The result is one “text object” with only a fill and another “text object” with only a stroke.
4.4 Replacing Contour
The Replace Contour Tool allows you to create new objects by combining two objects, a closed path object with an open path.
To use boostX Replace ContourContour Choose
Window
>
Esko
>
boostX
>
Replace Contour
.
The Replace Contour Palette appears.
1.
Select a “closed path” object and an “open path” and click the 'Keep Biggest' button.
'Keep
Biggest'
creates a single merged shape excluding the large closed path. The new shape is the larger of the two objects calculated by area.
90
DeskPack Advanced
2.
Select a “closed path” object and an “open path” and click the 'Keep Smallest' button.
'Keep
Smallest'
creates a single merged shape excluding the small closed path. The new shape is the smaller of the two objects calculated by area.
3.
Select a “closed path” object and an “open path” and click the 'Keep Both' button.
'Keep Both'
creates two shapes. The new shape is the combination of both the larger and smaller area objects.
4
4.5 Inner Outer Stroke
The Inner / Outer Stroke allows to create strokes with a different width on the inside and outside of the object.
You can open the dialog by choosing
Window
>
Esko
>
boostX
>
Inner Outer Strokes
Note:
Inner Outer Stroke is disabled if the selected object doesn't allow Inner/Outer Stroke, such as an image object or text.
The
Inner Width
sets the distance from the original object to the inside, the
Outer Width
to the outside.
The Corner buttons option allows you to change how the stroke’s sharp corners will be handled.
91
4
DeskPack Advanced
•
Round
(default): a round cap will be placed at all corners.
•
Beveled
: this will cut sharp corners off.
•
Mitered
: this option works with a miter ratio.
The miter ratio serves to limit the length of the sharp corner (the distance from the base of the stroke to the corner point).
The default miter ratio value is 4. This means that if the length of the sharp corner is more than 4 times the distance, then the corner will be cut off (beveled). If it is less than 4 times the distance, the corner will be left as it is.
92
The
Color
allows to define the color for the Inner/Outer Stroke. You can double-click the color to open the Adobe Illustrator Color Picker, or you can drag and drop a color patch from Adobe
Illustrator Swatch.
You can set the stroke to overprint using the
Overprint
option.
When selecting a single object with an Inner/Outer Stroke, the Inner/Outer Stroke dialog will reflect the properties of the Inner/Outer Stroke. If multiple objects are selected, the common settings are shown. If the objects have different settings, e.g. different Inner/Outer Width, or a different color, the settings will be empty, or (in case of different colors) show a question mark.
Ink Mix
Inner/Outer Stroke can work with InkMix Colors. The Inner/Outer Palette color patch will get a mixed color (indicated by a "m" in the patch) which is same as InkMix Palette Stroke color patch.
If you change the Inks value from the InkMix Palette, the Inner/Outer stroke will change automatically. If the Inner/Outer Stroke color patch is a mixed color, double clicking the color patch will open the Ink Mix Palette, since mixed inks can only be changed in InkMix.
For more information on Ink Mix, see
In the example underneath, the star has a Inner Width of 2pt, and an Outer Width of 6pt.
DeskPack Advanced
4
4.6 Rotate Document
Using
Rotate Document
, you can rotate the complete document: the artboard, page boxes and all objects. All objects and page boxes keep their relative positions.
Choose
File
>
Document Rotation
and select the rotation you want to apply.
The options are:
• 90º CW (ClockWise)
• 90º CCW (Counter ClockWise)
• 180º
Note:
In some cases, rotating the complete document is not supported. For example Dynamic
Marks, Drop Shadows, Adobe Illustrator effects, etc. are not supported. If this occurs, a message will be shown.
93
4
DeskPack Advanced
4.7 Dimension Lines
Using the
Dimension Lines
functionality, you can add dimension lines to your Illustrator file.
Dimension lines can be added to the full document, based on the artboard, trim box or media box.
You can also add dimension lines of subdivisions of the document, either in columns or in rows.
94
1.
Open the
Dimensions
palette by choosing
Window
>
Esko
>
boostX
>
Dimension Lines
2.
Set the general settings: a) Choose he
Units
to be used in the dimensions: either the units defined in the Illustrator preferences, or a specific unit from the dropdown b) Choose the style for the
Arrows
and the line thickness c) Choose the
Font Family
and font size for the dimensions.
3.
Set up the dimension lines for the complete job in the
Total Dimensions
section a) Set the
Size
to put the dimension lines on: either the Artboard, or one of the Page Boxes.
DeskPack Advanced
The Width and Height fields will show the dimensions of the currently selected size.
b) Define where the dimension lines should be placed by setting the
Width Position
and
Height Position
. The
Margin
defines the distance between the job and the dimensions or between two dimensions on the same side.
c) Set the
Color
for the total dimensions. The last used colors will be remembered for each new document. By default, a technical spot color named "Dimensions and Text" is used.
4.
Set up the subdivision lines in the
Subdivisions
section.
a) Set the
Line Style
for the Subdivisions: either a dashed line, solid line or no line.
b) Set the
Color
for the Dimensions and for the dashed lines. The last used colors will be remembered for each new document. By default, a technical spot color named
"Secundary Dimensions" and "General Structural Lines" is used.
c) Set the
Columns
by entering a distance in the different fields.
• Click the + button to add a new field. If an input field is selected, the new field is added in front of it, otherwise it's added at the end.
• Click the - button to remove the currently selected field. If no input field is selected, the last one is removed.
• In case the size of the columns does not add up to the total size, a yellow warning is shown.
Clicking this button will automatically adjust the columns to match the total width.
• If the sum of all columns is lower than the total width, a column is added, using the difference as width.
• If the sum of all columns is higher than the total width, any columns completely outside of the total width are removed, and the last column is reduced to make the sum of all column widths match the total size.
d) Define where the column dimensions should be placed, either Top or Bottom. The
Margin
defines the distance between the job and the dimensions.
e) Set the
Rows
by entering a distance in the different fields. This works the same way as for
Columns
(see above).
f) Define where the row dimensions should be placed, either Left or Right. The
Margin
defines the distance between the job and the dimensions or between two dimensions on the same side.
5.
Click
Create
to create the dimension lines and dimensions in a separate locked
Dimension
Lines
layer.
If you already created dimension lines in the document, the button will change to
Modify
, allowing you to change the current dimension lines using different settings.
4
4.7.1 Dimension Lines Presets
With Dimension Lines Presets, you can save all your settings as a preset to be able to reuse them on other documents.
1.
Define your settings in the
Dimension Lines
dialog.
2.
In the
Presets
list, choose
Save...
95
4
DeskPack Advanced
3.
Give your preset a name and click
OK
.
You can now see your preset in the
Presets
list. To reuse it in the future, just select it in the list.
• To delete a preset, select it in the
Presets
list and select
Remove
.
• To edit a preset, select it in the
Presets
list, make your changes in the settings, and save it again with the same name.
• The location where the Presets are saved, is set in the Dimension Lines Preferences. See
on page 96
4.7.2 Dimension Lines Preferences
Open the Dimension Lines Preferences by selecting
Illustrator
>
Preferences
>
Dimension
Line Preferences
• With
Inch Units
you can choose if a dimension in inch should be shown using the text (e.g.
12 in) or the symbol (e.g. 12")
• If the option
Overprint Dimension Lines
is enabled, all newly created dimension lines will be placed in overprint.
•
Dimension Lines Preset Settings Folder
:
When choosing
Use default preference folder
, Presets are saved in the default "shared users" folder.
When choosing
Use custom folder
, Presets are saved in the folder you define by clicking the
Browse
button.
96
DeskPack Advanced
5
5. Channel Mapping
5.1 Inks remapping in Channel Mapping
With Channel Mapping, you can remap inks in CMYK images that are either embedded or placed in your Illustrator documents.
In the case of placed images, Channel Mapping doesn’t alter the original (linked) image, but the embedded version in your document, making the changes non-destructive. Channel Mapping also remembers the original image’s name after you edited it.
Channel Mapping can remap the inks of all commonly used images formats (TIFF, JPEG, PSD,
Photoshop DCS, Photoshop EPS, PNG, GIF...), and remap several images that have the same characteristics at once.
Channel Mapping also allows you to set your images to overprint other objects in your document, or to use ink tints in your images.
5.2 Getting Started
1.
Place a CMYK image in your Illustrator Document.
2.
Go to
Window
>
Esko
>
Channel Mapping
.
This opens the
Channel Mapping
palette. It shows the inks used in your image in the
Inks
column, and allows you to map them to other inks using the
Map to
column.
97
5
DeskPack Advanced
3.
To remap an ink, click on its name in the
Map to
column and select another ink in the dropdown list.
Note:
The drop-down list only contains inks that are defined in your document.
4.
Click the
Apply
button at the bottom of the palette.
You can see that the ink has been remapped in your image.
98
Note:
If you want to undo the remapping, use
Command + Z
.
DeskPack Advanced
5
5.3 The Channel Mapping Palette
You can open the Channel Mapping palette from
Window
>
Esko
>
Channel Mapping
.
When you select a CMYK image, this palette shows:
• the
Name
of the original linked image,
• if this image is in
Overprint
or not,
• the inks used in your image in the
Inks
column,
• the inks those inks are currently mapped to in the
Map to
column,
• the tint percentage used for each ink in the
Tint
column.
Attention:
To see information in the
Channel Mapping
palette, you must select either only one
image, or only images with similar characteristics (for details, see
If you can’t see information in the palette after selecting an image, it may be because you accidentally selected other objects too.
To have a better control over which image(s) you select, you can select it/them from
Illustrator’s
Layers
palette or use the
Go To Link
button in Illustrator’s
Links
palette.
99
5
5.4 Remapping Inks
5.4.1 Remapping an Ink
1.
Select the CMYK image you want to remap in your Illustrator Document.
DeskPack Advanced
To make sure you select only the image, select it from Illustrator’s
Layers
palette or use the
Go To Link
button in Illustrator’s
Links
palette.
2.
Go to
Window
>
Esko
>
Channel Mapping
.
This opens the
Channel Mapping
palette. It shows the inks used in your image in the
Inks
column, and allows you to map them to other inks using the
Map to
column.
100
3.
To remap an ink, click on its name in the
Map to
column and select another ink in the dropdown list.
DeskPack Advanced
5
You can remap an ink to any other ink that:
• is defined in your document (to see all the inks defined in your document, go to
Window
>
Esko
>
Ink Manager
),
• is defined in the swatch list as a
spot color
(you should see a dot in the swatch’s lower right corner ).
Note:
If you want to remap one of your inks to an ink that is not defined in your document, see
Creating a New Ink for Remapping
on page 102.
4.
Click the
Apply
button at the bottom of the palette or click
Apply
in the fly-out menu to apply the remapping to your image.
You can see that the ink has been remapped in your image.
101
5
DeskPack Advanced
Note:
To undo the last remapping, use
Command + Z
.
To undo all remappings and get back to the original image, click
Revert
at the bottom of the palette or
Reset To Original
in the fly-out menu.
5.4.2 Creating a New Ink for Remapping
If your document doesn’t contain the ink you want to remap one of your inks to, you can create it in Illustrator.
1.
With your document open, go to Illustrator’s
Swatches
palette.
2.
Define a new
spot color
swatch as you would normally do in Illustrator.
3.
Use this swatch to create an object in your document.
4.
Save your document.
5.
Map your ink to this new ink in the Channel Mapping palette (as described in
on page 100).
6.
Delete the object you created in the new swatch (in step 3) if necessary, and save your document again.
5.4.3 Removing an Ink from an Image
1.
Select your image.
2.
In the
Channel Mapping
palette, click on the ink you want to remove in the
Map to
column, and select
None
in the drop-down list.
3.
Click
Apply
.
5.5 Remapping Inks in Several Images
You can use Channel Mapping to remap inks in several images at once if those images:
• are all embedded, or all linked;
102
DeskPack Advanced
• are either not mapped, or all mapped the same way (with the same source channels and the same target channels);
• all have the same Overprint state (either overprinting or not overprinting).
1.
Select the images you want to map either using Illustrator’s Selection tool or from the
Layers
or the
Links
palette.
The
Channel Mapping
palette displays the inks as it normally would for one image, and the names of the selected images.
5
2.
Remap your inks as explained in
When you click
Apply
, it applies your changes to all selected images.
5.6 Remapping Images with Masks
5.6.1 Embedded Images
With embedded images, you can remap any ink to a mask, to use it as an alpha channel, whether the original image had a mask or not.
If your embedded image has a mask, you can remove it by remapping it
None
or to an ink.
103
5
DeskPack Advanced
Note:
You can only have one ink mapped as a mask in your image.
• To remap an ink to a mask: a) Select your image.
To make sure you select only the image, select it from Illustrator’s
Layers
palette or use the
Go To Link
button in Illustrator’s
Links
palette.
b) In the
Channel Mapping
palette, remap your chosen ink to
Mask
.
c) Click
Apply
.
• To remap a mask to an ink / remove it completely: a) Select your image.
b) In the
Channel Mapping
palette, remap your mask to your chosen ink / to
None
.
c) Click
Apply
.
5.6.2 Linked Images
If your linked image has a mask, you can remove it and restore it. You cannot map inks to a mask for linked images. If your linked image doesn’t have a mask, you cannot create one.
• To remove the mask from the image: a) Select your image.
b) In the
Channel Mapping
palette, remap the mask to
None
.
104
DeskPack Advanced
5
c) Click
Apply
.
• To restore the mask, map it back to
Mask
.
Alpha Channel Special Considerations
When a linked image has process (CMYK) colors, spot colors, and a mask, Illustrator’s default behavior is to apply the mask only to the CMYK channels, and put the spot color channels in
Multiply blending and unmasked. Channel Mapping preserves this behavior.
5.7 Making an Image Overprint
You can use Channel Mapping to set your images to overprint.
• To do this, enable the
Overprint
checkbox at the bottom of the
Channel Mapping
palette.
You don’t need to click
Apply
.
105
5
DeskPack Advanced
5.8 Using Ink Tints
With Channel Mapping, you can use Ink Tints in your image. To change the tint of an ink in your image, do the following.
1.
Go to the
Tint
column in the
Channel Mapping
palette and edit the tint percentage.
2.
Click
Apply
.
106
DeskPack Advanced
6
6. Color Engine
6.1 Introduction
The Color Engine Plugin allows to add or replace inks using the Color Engine Ink Books.
Color Engine Plugin can only use a Server License on an Automation Engine Server.
6.2 Adding an ink from Ink Book
To add an Ink from an Esko Ink Book:
1.
Open the
Add Ink from Ink Book
dialog, by selecting
Window
>
Esko
>
Color Engine
>
Add Ink From Ink Book...
2.
In the
Choose from
dropdown, select the Ink Book you want to select a color from.
3.
Select the ink you want to add
• by clicking the ink patch in the dialog
• by entering its name or part of its name in the
Search
field. By clicking the triangle button next to the search field, you can go to the next search result.
107
6
DeskPack Advanced
4.
Click the
Add
button or double-click the ink patch to add the selected ink to the Swatches.
5.
Repeat step 2, 3 and 4 to add additional inks
6.
Click
Done
to close the dialog.
The added inks will be in the Illustrator Swatches.
Spot colors added from an inkbook will follow the Illutrator Spot Color options, which can be found in the fly-out menu of the Swatches palette. So you define to use LAB or CMYK values
BEFORE adding the ink.
Note:
If you add an Ink Book or add an Ink to an Ink Book in Color Engine, these will only be available after restarting Illustrator.
If the
Use Swatch Group
option in the Color Engine Plugin Preferences is enabled, an Ink added from an Ink book will be placed in a Group in the Illustrator Swatches. The Group will
have the same name as the Ink book.
Note:
If you try to add an Ink that already exists in the Swatches, you will get the choice to update the
Ink in the Swatch List using the parameters from the Ink Book, or leave the ink as is.
6.3 Replacing an Ink
To replace an Ink:
1.
Open the
Replace Ink by
dialog
• by selecting
Window
>
Esko
>
Color Engine
>
Replace Ink ...
, or
• by clicking the
Replace Ink
button in the
Ink Manager
108
DeskPack Advanced
6
2.
In the
Current Inks and Colors
, select the Ink you want to replace.
Inks defined in an Ink book will have a droplet icon next to their name. Using the option, you can choose if you want to
Hide unused inks
from the list.
The
Details
window will show extra information on the selected ink.
3.
Define the
Replace by
type:
•
Replace by A Document Ink
allows to select an Ink from the document inks. By enabling
Include Unused Inks
, all spot color inks from the swatch list will be available, even the inks that aren’t used in the job.
•
Replace by CMYK Color
allows to convert the selected ink into its CMYK equivalent. The
CMYK values that will be used are shown underneath.
109
6
DeskPack Advanced
•
Find Best Match
will scan the selected Ink Book, and list the inks with the lowest dE compared to the ink you want to replace. At the bottom, the New and the Current ink are
shown side by side.
•
Replace by Color from Ink Book
allows to replace the ink by a new ink from an Ink book. Selecting the Ink is done in the same way as adding a new ink from Ink Book (see
on page 107
110
4.
Define if you want to replace the ink for every object (including images) or if you want to exclude images from the replacing, by setting the
Include images
option. Obviously, if you exclude images, the replaced ink will remain in the list of used inks.
5.
Click the
Replace Ink
button.
Note:
If one or more objects can’t be converted, a description of the problem will appear in the
Messages dialog, and the converted ink will not disappear from the list of used inks in the Ink
Manager.
DeskPack Advanced
6
6.4 Color Engine Plugin Preferences
The Color Engine Plugin Preferences can be opened from
Illustrator
>
Preferences
>
Esko
>
Color Engine Preferences...
If
Use Swatch Groups
is selected, an Ink added from an Ink book will be placed in a Group in the Illustrator Swatches. The Group will have the same name as the Ink book.
6.5 Pantone+ ink books
As from DeskPack 10.1, you can use the Pantone+ ink books instead of the regular Pantone ink books.
You can do this by running the Pantone+ installer, from the Extras folder on the DVD.
Note:
We advise to only use these ink books if you are familiar with Pantone+.
111
7
DeskPack Advanced
7. Dynamic Barcodes
7.1 What is a barcode ?
A barcode is a machine-readable representation of information in a visual format on a surface.
Barcodes can be read by optical scanners, allowing quick and easy identification of all kind of goods.
Originally barcodes stored data in the widths and spacings of printed parallel lines, but today they also come in patterns of dots, concentric circles, and hidden in images.
The information contained in a barcode varies from numbers to complete ASCII texts. The drive to encode ever more information in combination with the space requirements of simple barcodes led to the development of matrix barcodes or 2D barcode, which do not consist of bars but rather a grid of square cells.
Barcodes are just the visible part of often quite large systems frequently referred to as automated identification systems. These systems are increasingly proving to be some of the most cost-effective management tools, since they enable organizations to keep track of their goods and stocks in all kinds of situations in a fast, accurate and efficient way.
With the Dynamic Barcodes plug-in, you can add a dynamic barcode to your document without leaving your application. Dynamic means that your barcode settings can be changed later on, even after you saved, closed and reopened your document.
7.2 Getting Started with Dynamic Barcodes
To introduce you to Dynamic Barcodes, here is how to make your first barcode in four simple steps.
1.
Create a CMYK Illustrator document and go to
Windows
>
Esko
>
Dynamic Barcodes
.
This opens the
Dynamic Barcodes
dialog.
112
DeskPack Advanced
7
2.
Define the color of the barcode: in your Illustrator color palette, define a single-color fill style and no stroke.
3.
Enter the barcode parameters (
Barcode Type
, numeric
Code
...) in the
Dynamic Barcodes
dialog.
For example, for an EAN 13 barcode, select
EAN 13
as
Barcode Type
and enter a 13 digit
Code
.
4.
Click the
Create
button and Dynamic Barcodes will generate the barcode in your document.
113
7
DeskPack Advanced
7.3 Using Dynamic Barcodes in Unlicensed Mode
If you don't have a license for the Dynamic Barcodes plug-in, you still use it in unlicensed mode to perform limited operations. You can:
• Open documents containing barcodes created by Dynamic Barcodes without warning messages.
• Create barcode placeholders (with no data in them) in your design.
Creating a Barcode Placeholder Quickly
on page 119.
You can also use the regular Illustrator functions to:
• change the barcode's position in your document,
• rotate it by multiples of 90 degrees (using
Object
>
Transform
>
Rotate
),
Tip:
You can rotate several barcodes at once.
• change its fill color (it is not possible to apply a stroke),
Attention:
Choose a fill color that is:
• a process or a spot color (other colors might generate trapping problems),
• not too light (or the barcode might be difficult to scan).
• copy and paste it.
• delete it.
7.4 Dynamic Barcodes Basics
114
DeskPack Advanced
7
7.4.1 Creating a Barcode
1.
Create a CMYK Illustrator document and go to
Windows
>
Esko
>
Dynamic Barcodes
.
You can also use the
Command + Option + 4
shortcut on Mac, or the
CTRL + Alt + 4
shortcut on PC.
This opens the
Dynamic Barcodes
dialog.
2.
Define the color of the barcode: in your Illustrator color palette, define a single-color fill style and no stroke.
Dynamic Barcodes creates bars by generating rectangular objects and assigning the current fill style to them.
Attention:
Choose a fill color that is:
• a process or a spot color (other colors might generate trapping problems),
• not too light (or the barcode might be difficult to scan).
3.
In the
Dynamic Barcodes
dialog, select your
Barcode Type
.
115
7
DeskPack Advanced
4.
Enter a
Rotation
angle for your barcode, or use one of the rotation buttons. Choose the
Orientation
of your barcode using one of the buttons or by entering an angle.
5.
Enter the barcode's data in the
Code
field. For most barcodes, you can choose to also show this data as a (human-readable) number.
Attention:
Make sure the barcode data you enter is valid for the barcode type you chose. If it isn't, a warning / error will pop up.
Note:
If you enter a wrong check digit, Dynamic Barcodes can fix it automatically for you.
6.
To fill in other parameters specific to the barcode type you chose, open the
Additional parameters
section and see
116
DeskPack Advanced
7
7.
Click the
Create
button.
• If you have the boostX plug-in installed, Dynamic Barcodes generates your barcode at the intersection of the boostX crosshair.
• If you don't have the boostX plug-in installed, Dynamic Barcodes generates your barcode in the center of the view.
117
7
DeskPack Advanced
7.4.2 Editing a Barcode
With Dynamic Barcodes, you can also edit existing barcodes.
1.
Open the
Dynamic Barcodes
.
2.
Select the barcode to edit in your Illustrator document.
3.
Change its parameters as you wish in the
Dynamic Barcodes
dialog.
Note:
If you change the
Barcode Type
and the previous
Code
is not valid for this barcode type,
Dynamic Barcodes will reset it to the (first) default code for this barcode type.
This is the default code used for placeholder barcodes; you can see it in the preset barcodes dialog (see
Previewing and Creating a Barcode Placeholder
on page 121).
You can then either:
• enter your own valid code,
• use this default code to create a placeholder barcode (see
Creating a Barcode Placeholder
4.
Click the
Apply
button to apply your changes to the barcode.
7.4.3 Setting Barcode Parameters to Default
• To reset all the parameters of the selected barcode to default, click the palette menu in the top right corner of the
Dynamic Barcodes
dialog then click
Set Default Parameters
.
118
DeskPack Advanced
7
7.4.4 Barcode Placeholders
If you don't have the exact data to encode in your barcode yet, you can already create a barcode placeholder in your design.
This placeholder will have the correct symbol type for the barcode type you choose, but will only contain “empty” or “default” data (for example 0000000000000 for EAN 13).
Creating a Barcode Placeholder Quickly
1.
Open the
Dynamic Barcodes
dialog from
Windows
>
Esko
>
Dynamic Barcodes
.
2.
Define the color of the barcode: in your Illustrator color palette, define a single-color fill style and no stroke.
119
7
DeskPack Advanced
Attention:
Choose a fill color that is:
• a process or a spot color (other colors might generate trapping problems),
• not too light (or the barcode might be difficult to scan).
3.
In the
Dynamic Barcodes
dialog, select your
Barcode Type
.
The
Code
field is automatically filled out with a nul / default value that has the correct number of digits for your
Barcode Type
(for example 0000000000000 for EAN 13).
120
4.
Click the
Create
button to create your barcode placeholder.
DeskPack Advanced
7
Note:
You can also create a barcode placeholder in unlicensed mode (see
on page 114).
Previewing and Creating a Barcode Placeholder
You can use Dynamic Barcodes to preview different barcode types before creating your barcode placeholder.
1.
Open the
Dynamic Barcodes
dialog from
Window
>
Esko
>
Dynamic Barcodes
.
2.
Define the color of the barcode: in your Illustrator color palette, define a single-color fill style and no stroke.
Attention:
Choose a fill color that is:
• a process or a spot color (other colors might generate trapping problems),
• not too light (or the barcode might be difficult to scan).
3.
In the
Dynamic Barcodes
dialog, click the Pre-set barcodes icon
This opens the
Select Barcode
dialog.
.
121
7
DeskPack Advanced
122
4.
Select your
Barcode Type
on the right to see a
Preview
of it on the left.
Note:
This shows previews of barcode placeholders. Your actual barcode (with data and specific parameters affecting its size) may look slightly different. For more information on barcode parameters, see
on page 135.
5.
If your barcode data can have several possible lengths (for example EAN 13 can have 13, 15 or 18 digits), choose the length you want to preview in
Code Preset
.
6.
If your barcode can have a
Composite Component
(some GS1 barcodes), you can choose to preview it with or without that component.
7.
Click
OK
to use the preview parameters (
Barcode Type
,
Code Preset
and
Composite
Component
as applicable) in the
Dynamic Barcodes
dialog and close the
Select Barcode
dialog.
8.
In the
Dynamic Barcodes
dialog, click the
Create
button to create your barcode placeholder.
DeskPack Advanced
7
7.5 Dynamic Barcodes Advanced
7.5.1 Choosing a Font Standard
You can choose between two font standards for the human-readable characters of your barcodes.
1.
Go to
Illustrator
>
Preferences
>
Esko
>
Dynamic Barcodes Preferences...
to open the
Dynamic Barcodes Preferences
dialog.
2.
Choose either
OCR-B Standard
or
OCR-B Bitstream
and click
OK
.
OCR-B Standard
fonts are rounder and typically used in the Western market.
OCR-B Bitstream
fonts are typically used in the Asian market.
123
7
DeskPack Advanced
Note:
If the OCR-B Bitstream font is not installed on your system, the option will be disabled. Esko does not provide this font.
7.5.2 Using Dynamic Content with Dynamic Barcodes
You can use the
Dynamic Content
plug-in to turn barcodes created with Dynamic Barcodes into XML-driven objects. These barcodes update automatically when the XML files to which they are linked change.
For more information, see the Dynamic Content documentation.
7.5.3 Barcode Protection
Once you create a barcode with Dynamic Barcodes, this barcode is protected. This means that it won't be possible to edit it with most regular Illustrator tools. This protects the barcode against modifications that might render it invalid, for example distorting it or modifying its size.
You can still edit the barcode's parameters at any time through the
Dynamic Barcodes
dialog.
Protecting a Barcode
You can protect a Dynamic Barcodes barcode that has been unprotected, or a barcode made in a previous version of Dynamic Barcodes.
1.
Open the Dynamic Barcodes plug-in.
2.
Select the barcode to protect in your Illustrator document.
3.
If necessary, change its parameters in the
Dynamic Barcodes
dialog.
4.
Click the
Apply
button to apply the parameter changes and protect your barcode.
Tip:
You can use this to fix some invalid barcodes.
Handling a Barcode without Dynamic Barcodes
Opening a Document Containing a Dynamic Barcodes Barcode without Dynamic
Barcodes
When opening a document containing a Dynamic Barcodes barcode in an Illustrator application that doesn't have the Dynamic Barcodes plug-in, you will get the following warning:
124
DeskPack Advanced
7
This
doesn't create any problem in your file
, and you can continue to work with this file as you normally would, without editing the Dynamic Barcodes barcode.
If you need to edit the Dynamic Barcodes barcode with your Illustrator application, see
Editing a Document Containing a Dynamic Barcodes Barcode without Dynamic Barcodes
on page 125.
Editing a Document Containing a Dynamic Barcodes Barcode without Dynamic
Barcodes
If you don't have the Dynamic Barcodes plug-in, you can still use Illustrator to do the following operations without rendering your barcode invalid.
If you don't have Dynamic Barcodes installed, you will
not
be able to
• move or scale the object using the Selection tool
• move or distort it (reflect, shear or scale)
• change a color
You will be able to
• expand the bar code
• Rotate by Selection or Free transform - this can lead to inconsistent results so we recommend not doing this.
• move, rotate and distort by the Transform Each command - this can lead to inconsistent results so we recommend not doing this.
• enclose it in the Envelope and distort
• delete it
• copy and paste it
If the Dynamic Barcode plugin is installed, but without a valid license, you will be able to do everything that is allowed by the plugin, except modifying the content. This means for example moving and rotating is allowed, but due to the bar code protection, any potentially dangerous operations such as scale, reflect or shear are not allowed. You will also be able to change the color of the bar code.
Unprotecting a Dynamic Barcodes Barcode for Further Editing
You can expand your Dynamic Barcodes barcode to a regular Illustrator group art to be able to edit it further, but this is not recommended as it will
remove the barcode's protection
.
125
7
DeskPack Advanced
Attention:
It will then be possible to make modifications that
might render the barcode invalid
.
1.
To do this, go to
Object
>
Expand...
in the Illustrator menu.
2.
Choose the object's characteristics to expand, then click
OK
.
This turns your barcode into a regular Illustrator object. You can now for example edit each bar of the barcode individually.
7.5.4 Exporting Documents with Barcodes
If you are using other Esko applications, you can export Illustrator documents containing barcodes to the Esko Normalized PDF format, preserving the barcodes' information and editability.
Viewing Barcode Information in Other Esko Applications
1.
Export your Illustrator document to the Esko Normalized PDF format:
• If you have Automation Engine, use
Shuttle
to launch the document into your chosen workflow. This converts it to Normalized PDF automatically.
Note:
See the Adobe Illustrator Client documentation for setup information.
• If you don't have Automation Engine, use
File
>
Export
and choose Normalized PDF as the export format.
2.
Select (in Automation Engine) or open (in PackEdge / Acrobat) your document and open the
XMP information as explained below:
If you have...
go to...
Automation Engine
PackEdge the Esko XMP plug-in in Adobe Acrobat
File
File
>
>
Esko
Info
>
.
XMP Info
.
XMP Document Info...
126
DeskPack Advanced
3.
Click
Barcodes
in the
Data type
column (as below in PackEdge) to show the barcode information.
7
For more information, see the Shuttle, Automation Engine, PackEdge or XMP plug-in documentation.
Editing Barcodes in Other Esko Applications
The Dynamic Barcodes functionality is available both as a
DeskPack
plug-in and in
PackEdge
.
• To edit your document containing barcodes in
PackEdge
: a) Export your Illustrator document to the Esko Normalized PDF format:
• If you have Automation Engine, use
Shuttle
to launch the document into your chosen workflow. This converts it to Normalized PDF automatically.
Note:
See the Adobe Illustrator Client documentation for setup information.
• If you don't have Automation Engine, use
File
>
Export
and choose Normalized PDF as the export format.
b) Open your document in
PackEdge
.
c) Go to
Production
>
Bar Code...
to edit your barcode as you would edit it with Dynamic
Barcodes.
For more information, see the Shuttle and PackEdge documentation.
127
7
7.6 Barcode Types and Parameters
7.6.1 Supported Barcode Types
General Purpose Barcodes
1D
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
Retail Barcodes
1D
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
GS1 DataBar Stacked Omnidirectional
•
•
•
2D
•
•
•
2D
•
128
DeskPack Advanced
1D
•
•
•
•
•
2D
Pharmaceutical, Healthcare and Cosmetic Barcodes
1D
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
Shipment Container Barcodes
1D
•
•
•
Identity Document Barcode
2D
•
•
DeskPack Advanced
7
129
7
130
DeskPack Advanced
GS1 Application Identifiers
These are the GS1 Application Identifiers available in Dynamic Barcodes:
21
240
241
242
15 (**)
16 (**)
17 (**)
20
AI
00
01
02
10
11 (**)
12 (**)
13 (**)
243
250
251
253
254
255
30
310 (***)
311 (***)
312 (***)
313 (***)
314 (***)
315 (***)
316 (***)
320 (***)
Data Content
Serial Shipping Container Code (SSCC)
Global Trade Item Number (GTIN)
GTIN of Contained Trade Items
Batch or Lot Number
Production Date (YYMMDD)
Due Date (YYMMDD)
Packaging Date (YYMMDD)
Best Before Date (YYMMDD)
Sell By Date (YYMMDD)
Expiration Date (YYMMDD)
Variant Number
Serial Number
Additional Item Identification
Customer Part Number
Made-to-Order Variation Number
Packaging Component Number
Secondary Serial Number
Reference to Source Entity
Global Document Type Identifier (GDTI)
GLN Extension Component
Global Coupon Number (GCN)
Count of Items (Variable Measure Trade
Item)
Net weight, kilograms (Variable Measure
Trade Item)
Length or first dimension, metres (Variable
Measure Trade Item)
Width, diameter, or second dimension, metres (Variable Measure Trade Item)
Depth, thickness, height, or third dimension, metres (Variable Measure
Trade Item)
Area, square metres (Variable Measure
Trade Item)
Net volume, litres (Variable Measure Trade
Item)
Net volume, cubic metres (Variable
Measure Trade Item)
Net weight, pounds (Variable Measure
Trade Item)
Format (*)
N2+N18
N2+N14
N2+N14
N2+X..20
N2+N6
N2+N6
N2+N6
N2+N6
N2+N6
N2+N6
N2+N2
N2+X..20
N3+X..30
N3+X..30
N3+N..6
N3+X..20
N3+X..30
N3+X..30
N3+N13+X..17
N3+X..20
N3+N13+N..12
N2+N..8
N4+N6
N4+N6
N4+N6
N4+N6
N4+N6
N4+N6
N4+N6
N4+N6
FNC1 Required
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
329 (***)
330 (***)
331 (***)
332 (***)
333 (***)
334 (***)
335 (***)
336 (***)
337 (***)
340 (***)
341 (***)
342 (***)
343 (***)
344 (***)
345 (***)
346 (***)
347 (***)
348 (***)
349 (***)
321 (***)
322 (***)
323 (***)
324 (***)
325 (***)
326 (***)
327 (***)
328 (***)
Length or first dimension, inches (Variable
Measure Trade Item)
Length or first dimension, feet (Variable
Measure Trade Item)
Length or first dimension, yards (Variable
Measure Trade Item)
Width, diameter, or second dimension, inches (Variable Measure Trade Item)
N4+N6
N4+N6
N4+N6
N4+N6
Width, diameter, or second dimension, feet
(Variable Measure Trade Item)
N4+N6
Width, diameter, or second dimension, yards (Variable Measure Trade Item
Depth, thickness, height, or third dimension, inches (Variable Measure Trade
Item)
Depth, thickness, height, or third dimension, feet (Variable Measure Trade
Item)
N4+N6
N4+N6
N4+N6
Depth, thickness, height, or third dimension, yards (Variable Measure Trade
Item)
Logistic weight, kilograms
N4+N6
Length or first dimension, metres
Width, diameter, or second dimension, metres
Depth, thickness, height, or third dimension, metres
Area, square metres
N4+N6
N4+N6
N4+N6
N4+N6
Logistic volume, litres
Logistic volume, cubic metres
Kilograms per square metre
Logistic weight, pounds
Length or first dimension, inches
Length or first dimension, feet
N4+N6
N4+N6
N4+N6
N4+N6
N4+N6
Length or first dimension, yards
Width, diameter, or second dimension, inches
N4+N6
N4+N6
Width, diameter, or second dimension, feet N4+N6
Width, diameter, or second dimension, yard
Depth, thickness, height, or third dimension, inches
N4+N6
N4+N6
N4+N6
N4+N6
Depth, thickness, height, or third dimension, feet
Depth, thickness, height, or third dimension, yards
N4+N6
N4+N6
DeskPack Advanced
7
131
7
DeskPack Advanced
361 (***)
362 (***)
363 (***)
364 (***)
365 (***)
366 (***)
367 (***)
368 (***)
369 (***)
37
390 (***)
391 (***)
392 (***)
350 (***)
351 (***)
352 (***)
353 (***)
354 (***)
355 (***)
356 (***)
357 (***)
360 (***)
393 (***)
400
401
402
403
Area, square inches (Variable Measure
Trade Item)
Area, square feet (Variable Measure Trade
Item)
Area, square yards (Variable Measure
Trade Item)
Area, square inches
Area, square feet
Area, square yards
Net weight, troy ounces (Variable Measure
Trade Item)
Net weight (or volume), ounces (Variable
Measure Trade Item)
Net volume, quarts (Variable Measure
Trade Item)
Net volume, gallons U.S. (Variable Measure
Trade Item)
Logistic volume, quarts
Logistic volume, gallons U.S.
Net volume, cubic inches (Variable
Measure Trade Item)
Net volume, cubic feet (Variable Measure
Trade Item)
Net volume, cubic yards (Variable Measure
Trade Item)
Logistic volume, cubic inches
Logistic volume, cubic feet
Logistic volume, cubic yards
Count of Trade Items
Applicable Amount Payable or Coupon
Value, local currency
Applicable Amount Payable with ISO
Currency Code
Applicable Amount Payable, single monetary area (Variable Measure Trade
Item)
Applicable Amount Payable with ISO
Currency Code (Variable Measure Trade
Item)
Customer's Purchase Order Number
Global Identification Number for
Consignment (GINC)
Global Shipment Identification Number
(GSIN)
Routing Code
N4+N6
N4+N6
N4+N6
N4+N6
N4+N6
N4+N6
N4+N6
N4+N6
N4+N6
N4+N6
N4+N6
N4+N6
N4+N6
N4+N6
N4+N6
N4+N6
N4+N6
N4+N6
N2+N..8
N4+N..15
N4+N3+N..15
N4+N..15
N4+N3+N..15
N3+X..30
N3+X..30
N3+N17
N3+X..30
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
132
710
711
712
713
8001
8002
8003
414
415
420
421
410
411
412
413
7003
7004
7005
7006
7007
7008
7009
7010
703s
422
423
424
425
426
427
7001
7002
DeskPack Advanced
Ship to - Deliver to Global Location
Number
N3+N13
Bill to - Invoice to Global Location Number N3+N13
Purchased from Global Location Number N3+N13
N3+N13 Ship for - Deliver for - Forward to Global
Location Number
Identification of a Physical Location -
Global Location Number
N3+N13
Global Location Number of the Invoicing
Party
Ship to - Deliver to Postal Code Within a
Single Postal Authority
N3+N13
N3+X..20
Ship to - Deliver to Postal Code with ISO
Country Code
Country of Origin of a Trade Item
Country of Initial Processing
Country of Processing
Country of Disassembly
Country Covering full Process Chain
Country Subdivision of Origin
NATO Stock Number (NSN)
UN/ECE Meat Carcasses and Cuts
Classification
Expiration Date and Time
N3+N3+X..9
N3+N3
N3+N3+N..12
N3+N3
N3+N3
N3+N3
N3+X..3
N4+N13
N4+X..30
Active Potency
Catch Area
First Freeze Date
Harvest Date
Species for Fishery Purposes
Fishing Gear Type
N4+N10
N4+N..4
N4+X..12
N4+N6
N4+N6..12
N4+X..3
N4+N..10
Production Method
Number of Processor with ISO Country
Code
National Healthcare Reimbursement
Number (NHRN) – Germany PZN
National Healthcare Reimbursement
Number (NHRN) – France CIP
National Healthcare Reimbursement
Number (NHRN) – Spain CN
National Healthcare Reimbursement
Number (NHRN) – Brasil DRN
Roll Products (Width, Length, Core
Diameter, Direction, Splices)
Cellular Mobile Telephone Identifier
N4+X..2
N4+N3+X..27
N3+X..20
N3+X..20
N3+X..20
N3+X..20
N4+N14
N4+X..20
Global Returnable Asset Identifier (GRAI) N4+N14+X..16
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
7
133
7
134
DeskPack Advanced
8004
8005
8006
8007
8008
8010
8011
8017
8019
8020
8100
8101
8102
8110
8200
90
91 to 99
8018
Global Individual Asset Identifier (GIAI)
Price Per Unit of Measure
Identification of the Components of a
Trade Item
International Bank Account Number (IBAN) N4+X..34
Date and Time of Production N4+N8+N..4
Component / Part Identifier (CPID)
Component / Part Identifier Serial Number
(CPID SERIAL)
N4 + X..30
N4 + N..12
Global Service Relation Number to identify the relationship between an organisation offering services and the provider of services
Global Service Relation Number to identify the relationship between an organisation offering services and the recipient of services
N4+N18
N4+N18
Service Relation Instance Number (SRIN) N4+N..10
Payment Slip Reference Number
GS1-128 Coupon Extended Code
GS1-128 Coupon Extended Code
GS1-128 Coupon Extended Code
Coupon Code Identification for Use in
North America
Extended Packaging URL
Information Mutually Agreed Between
Trading Partners
Company Internal Information
N4+X..30
N4+N6
N4+X..25
N4+N6
N4+N1+N5+N4
N4+N1+N1
N4+X..70
N4+X..70
N2+X..30
N2+X..30
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
N4+N14+N2+N2 (FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
(FNC1)
Notes
• *: The first position indicates the length (number of digits) of the GS1 Application Identifier.
The following value refers to the format of the data content.
The following convention is applied:
N
X
N3
N..3
X..3
numeric digit any character
3 numeric digits, fixed length up to 3 numeric digits up to 3 characters
• **: If only year and month are available, DD must be filled with two zeroes.
• ***: The fourth digit of this GS1 Application Identifier indicates the implied decimal point position. Example:
• 3100 Net weight in kg without a decimal point
• 3102 Net weight in kg with two decimal points
• FNC1: All GS1 Application Identifiers indicated with (FNC1) are defined as of variable length and shall be delimited unless this Element String is the last one to be encoded in the
DeskPack Advanced
symbol. The delimiter shall be a Function 1 Symbol Character in GS1-128 Symbology, GS1
DataBar Expanded Versions and GS1 Composite Symbology and should be a Function 1
Symbol Character in GS1 DataMatrix and GS1 QR Code Symbology.
7.6.2 Barcode Types
To create a barcode of a specific type, select it in the
Barcode Type
parameter. This displays parameters specific to this barcode type in the
Dynamic Barcodes
dialog.
2 of 5
About this Barcode...
2 of 5 is a numeric self-checking barcode, which can have a variable length. This barcode only encodes data in the bars. It is used for industrial applications, article numbering, photo development and ticketing.
7
Parameters
General Parameters
•
on page 172
•
Text Parameters
•
on page 173
•
•
on page 175
•
Additional Parameters
•
•
•
•
on page 177
•
on page 179
•
•
Snap Bars to Output Resolution
•
135
7
136
DeskPack Advanced
CLF-8
About this Barcode...
The CLF-8 barcode is part of the same barcode family as the Laetus Pharma Code. It is used in the pharmaceutical industry.
Parameters
General Parameters
•
on page 172
•
Text Parameters
•
on page 173
•
•
on page 175
•
Additional Parameters
•
•
•
•
on page 179
•
•
on page 179
•
•
Snap Bars to Output Resolution
•
on page 180
Codabar
About this Barcode...
The Codabar barcode is commonly used in libraries, blood banks, and the air parcel business.
It can encode up to 126 characters of data and two control characters, using digits and the “-”,
“$”, “:”, “/” and “+” characters.
DeskPack Advanced
7
Parameters
General Parameters
•
on page 172
•
Text Parameters
•
on page 173
•
•
on page 175
•
Additional Parameters
•
Rational (Constant Bar Width)
: By enabling this option, you can create a "Rational"
Codabar bar code.
•
•
•
•
•
on page 177
•
on page 179
•
•
Snap Bars to Output Resolution
•
Code 128
About this Barcode...
Code 128 is a variable length, high density, alphanumeric barcode. It has the second highest density of all the 1D barcodes (after the GS1 Databar Expanded).
It can contain a set of control characters. These control characters can change the character encoding type. In the absence of control characters, the encoding type is chosen automatically, to optimize the content encoding.
To force the usage of the code-set A, precede your data with the [a] control character. To force the usage of the code-set B, precede your data with the [b] control character. To obtain an
137
7
138
DeskPack Advanced
optimal utilization of the code-sets A and B but prevent the usage of the space saving code-set
C, use the Code 128 (long) barcode type instead.
Parameters
General Parameters
•
on page 172
•
Text Parameters
•
on page 173
•
on page 174
•
•
on page 175
•
Additional Parameters
•
•
•
•
on page 177
•
•
Snap Bars to Output Resolution
•
Code 128 (long)
About this Barcode...
Code 128 (long) is a version of Code 128 that doesn't use the space-saving “C” character set.
This makes Code 128 (long) barcodes generally longer.
Parameters
General Parameters
DeskPack Advanced
•
on page 172
•
Text Parameters
•
on page 173
•
on page 174
•
•
on page 175
•
Additional Parameters
•
•
•
•
on page 177
•
•
Snap Bars to Output Resolution
•
Code 39
About this Barcode...
Code 39 is a popular barcode in industrial barcoding systems, mainly in the U.S.A. It is used in the non-retail industry, particularly in the manufacturing, military, and health sectors. It can encode alphanumeric data.
7
Parameters
General Parameters
•
on page 172
•
Text Parameters
•
on page 173
•
139
7
140
DeskPack Advanced
•
on page 175
•
Additional Parameters
•
•
•
•
on page 177
•
on page 179
•
•
Snap Bars to Output Resolution
•
•
DataMatrix
About this Barcode...
DataMatrix is used for encoding large amounts of alphanumeric data and / or marking small objects. It can encode all the standard ASCII and extended ASCII characters.
The DataMatrix symbol size can adjust automatically depending on the amount of data.
Dynamic Barcodes doesn't generate human readable characters for DataMatrix symbols. The data to be encoded in a DataMatrix symbol can contain an FNC1 character but only at the beginning of the data.
Note:
Dynamic Barcodes always generates DataMatrix symbols with the recommended
ECC200 error correction scheme.
Parameters
DATAMatrix
General Parameters
•
on page 172
•
Additional Parameters
•
DeskPack Advanced
•
•
•
on page 181
•
on page 182
•
EAN 8
About this Barcode...
EAN 8 is an abbreviated version of EAN 13, for use on smaller packages. It contains eight digits of data.
7
Parameters
General Parameters
•
on page 172
•
Text Parameters
•
on page 173
•
on page 174
•
•
Additional Parameters
•
•
•
•
•
Snap Bars to Output Resolution
•
141
7
DeskPack Advanced
EAN 13
About this Barcode...
European Article Numbering system or EAN is the standard for article numbering in Europe. It is also used in Japan where it is called JAN.
Note:
EAN is the European equivalent of the UPC system in the U.S.A. and Canada. Both systems use the same size requirements and a similar encoding scheme. This means that most
European and American retail barcode scanners can read both EAN and UPC barcodes. For more information on UPC, see
on page 169.
An EAN 13 is a numeric barcode of thirteen digits, and can have two or five additional digits.
142
Parameters
General Parameters
•
on page 172
•
Text Parameters
•
on page 173
•
on page 174
•
•
Additional Parameters
•
•
•
DeskPack Advanced
•
•
Snap Bars to Output Resolution
•
GS1 128
About this Barcode...
GS1 128 (formerly EAN 128) is a Code 128 barcode designed primarily to identify products.
It contains one or more FNC1 (GS1 Function Code 1) control characters and Application
Identifiers. It shows parentheses around the human readable interpretation of the Application
Identifiers, but those parentheses are not encoded in the barcode.
7
It is alphanumeric and can also contain composite symbols.
Parameters
General Parameters
•
on page 172
•
•
Text Parameters
•
on page 173
•
•
on page 174
•
•
on page 175
143
7
DeskPack Advanced
•
Additional Parameters
•
•
•
•
•
•
Snap Bars to Output Resolution
•
GS1 DataBar Omnidirectional
About this Barcode...
Barcodes of the GS1 DataBar family (formerly Reduced Space Symbols or RSS) can identify small items, and encode more information than the current EAN or UPC barcodes.
They can include GS1 Application Identifiers such as serial numbers, lot numbers, expiration dates...
Note:
GS1 DataBar codes are expected to replace most common EAN and UPC barcodes from
2010.
GS1 DataBar Omnidirectional encodes Global Trade Item Numbers (GTIN) in a linear symbol that can be scanned omnidirectionally by suitably programmed slot scanners.
144
Parameters
General Parameters
•
on page 172
•
•
Text Parameters
•
on page 173
•
•
on page 174
DeskPack Advanced
•
•
on page 175
•
Additional Parameters
•
•
•
•
Snap Bars to Output Resolution
GS1 DataBar Stacked
About this Barcode...
GS1 DataBar Stacked is a variation of the GS1 DataBar barcode, that is stacked in two rows and used when the normal barcode would be too wide for the product.
7
Parameters
General Parameters
•
on page 172
•
•
Text Parameters
•
on page 173
•
on page 174
•
•
on page 175
•
Additional Parameters
•
•
•
•
Snap Bars to Output Resolution
145
7
DeskPack Advanced
GS1 DataBar Stacked Omnidirectional
About this Barcode...
GS1 DataBar14 Stacked Omnidirectional is taller version of GS1 DataBar14 Stacked, that can be read by omnidirectional scanners.
146
Parameters
General Parameters
•
on page 172
•
•
Text Parameters
•
on page 173
•
•
on page 174
•
•
on page 175
•
Additional Parameters
•
•
•
•
Snap Bars to Output Resolution
GS1 DataBar Truncated
About this Barcode...
GS1 DataBar Truncated (formerly RSS Limited) is similar to GS1 DataBar but the height of its bars is truncated.
DeskPack Advanced
It encodes Global Trade Item Numbers in a smaller symbol for use on small items. It cannot be scanned omnidirectionally.
7
Parameters
General Parameters
•
on page 172
•
•
Text Parameters
•
on page 173
•
•
on page 174
•
•
on page 175
•
Additional Parameters
•
•
•
•
Snap Bars to Output Resolution
GS1 DataBar Expanded
About this Barcode...
GS1 DataBar Expanded (formerly RSS Expanded) encodes regular barcode data (“primary item identification” data) and Application Identifiers. It can encode alphanumeric characters.
This barcode can be scanned omnidirectionally by suitably programmed slot scanners.
147
7
DeskPack Advanced
Parameters
General Parameters
•
on page 172
•
•
Text Parameters
•
on page 173
•
•
on page 174
•
•
on page 175
•
Additional Parameters
•
•
•
•
Snap Bars to Output Resolution
GS1 DataBar Expanded Stacked
About this Barcode...
GS1 DataBar Expanded Stacked can encode the same amount of data as GS1 DataBar
Expanded, but can also “stack” the barcode into several rows to save space.
148
Parameters
General Parameters
DeskPack Advanced
•
on page 172
•
•
Text Parameters
•
on page 173
•
•
on page 174
•
•
on page 175
•
Additional Parameters
•
on page 175
•
•
•
•
Snap Bars to Output Resolution
GS1 DataBar Limited
About this Barcode...
GS1 Databar Limited is smaller than the GS1 DataBar barcode and can only encode Global
Trade Item Numbers whose data part starts with “1”.
7
Parameters
General Parameters
•
on page 172
•
•
Text Parameters
•
on page 173
•
149
7
150
DeskPack Advanced
•
on page 174
•
•
on page 175
•
Additional Parameters
•
•
•
•
Snap Bars to Output Resolution
GS1 DataMatrix
About this Barcode...
The GS1 Data Matrix barcode is a high density, high capacity, scalable 2D barcode. It is used to concentrate a lot of (alphanumeric) information in a very small space.
Parameters
General Parameters
•
on page 172
•
Text Parameters
•
on page 173
•
•
on page 174
•
on page 174
•
•
on page 175
•
Additional Parameters
•
•
DeskPack Advanced
•
•
on page 181
•
on page 182
•
GS1 U.S. Coupon Interim
About this Barcode...
GS1 U.S. Coupon Interim is an interim coupon barcode. It is used during the transition between
UPC-A coupons and the new GS1 Databar Expanded Stacked coupons, that can encode more information.
It is made of both an old UPC-A coupon barcode, and a new Databar Expanded Stacked coupon barcode, to be readable by both old and new scanners.
7
Parameters
General Parameters
•
on page 172
•
Text Parameters
•
on page 173
•
Additional Parameters
•
•
on page 175
•
•
•
•
•
151
7
152
DeskPack Advanced
•
on page 179
•
Snap Bars to Output Resolution
HIBC 128
About this Barcode...
This barcode is based on the Code 128 symbology.
It encodes the organization's primary and / or secondary Labeler Identification Code (LIC). This encoding begins with the “+” character. If both primary and secondary Labeler Identification
Codes are encoded in one barcode, they are divided by the “/” character.
Parameters
General Parameters
•
on page 172
•
Text Parameters
•
on page 173
•
•
Additional Parameters
•
•
•
•
•
Snap Bars to Output Resolution
•
HIBC 39
About this Barcode...
This barcode is based on the Code 39 symbology.
It encodes the organization's primary and / or secondary Labeler Identification Code (LIC). This encoding begins with the “+” character. If both primary and secondary Labeler Identification
Codes are encoded in one barcode, they are divided by the “/” character.
DeskPack Advanced
7
Parameters
General Parameters
•
on page 172
•
Text Parameters
•
on page 173
•
•
Additional Parameters
•
•
•
•
•
Snap Bars to Output Resolution
•
ITF-14
About this Barcode...
ITF-14 is a standardized version of the Interleaved 2 of 5 barcode, containing 14 digits, the last being a check digit.
Parameters
General Parameters
•
on page 172
153
7
DeskPack Advanced
•
Text Parameters
•
on page 173
•
•
Additional Parameters
•
•
•
•
•
•
Snap Bars to Output Resolution
•
•
•
ITF-16
About this Barcode...
ITF-16 is a standardized version of the Interleaved 2 of 5 barcode, containing 16 digits, the last being a check digit.
154
Parameters
General Parameters
•
on page 172
•
Text Parameters
•
on page 173
DeskPack Advanced
•
•
Additional Parameters
•
•
•
•
•
•
Snap Bars to Output Resolution
•
•
•
Interleaved 2 of 5
About this Barcode...
Interleaved 2 of 5 (or Int. 2 of 5) is a barcode originally used for transportation packaging, that can have any even number of digits. Since this type of packaging consists mainly of cardboard boxes printed in low quality, the Interleaved 2 of 5 barcode is more tolerant to distortion than other barcodes.
7
Parameters
General Parameters
•
on page 172
•
Text Parameters
•
on page 173
•
•
on page 175
•
Additional Parameters
155
7
156
DeskPack Advanced
•
•
•
•
on page 177
•
on page 179
•
•
Snap Bars to Output Resolution
•
Laetus Pharma Code
About this Barcode...
This barcode was developed specifically to meet the requirements of the pharmaceutical packaging process. It has established itself as the worldwide pharmaceutical industry barcode standard. It can encode numeric or binary data.
Parameters
Laetus Pharma
General Parameters
•
on page 172
•
Text Parameters
•
on page 173
•
•
on page 175
•
Additional Parameters
•
Miniature
: Use this option to create a miniature version of the bar code
•
•
•
•
on page 179
DeskPack Advanced
•
•
on page 179
•
•
Snap Bars to Output Resolution
•
on page 180
•
M+S 7
About this Barcode...
The M+S 7 barcode is an EAN 8 barcode modified by Marks & Spencer's, for use on own-brand products sold in their stores.
To make the M+S 7 barcode, the initial “0” is removed and the extra letters “M” and “S” are added to the human readable characters.
This means that the human readable characters contain seven digits plus the “M” and “S” letters.
Note:
This doesn't affect the data encoded in the barcode (it still encodes eight digits), so you should enter eight digits when creating a M+S 7 barcode.
7
Parameters
General Parameters
•
on page 172
•
Text Parameters
•
on page 173
•
•
Additional Parameters
•
157
7
DeskPack Advanced
•
•
•
•
Snap Bars to Output Resolution
•
MSI
About this Barcode...
MSI, also known as Modified Plessey, was developed by the MSI Data Corporation, based on the original Plessey Code. It is a numeric barcode used primarily to mark retail shelves for inventory control.
158
Parameters
General Parameters
•
on page 172
•
Text Parameters
•
on page 173
•
•
on page 175
•
Additional Parameters
•
•
•
•
on page 177
•
on page 179
•
•
Snap Bars to Output Resolution
DeskPack Advanced
•
Marks & Spencer's
About this Barcode...
The Marks & Spencer's barcode is also an EAN 8 barcode modified by Marks & Spencer's for use on own-brand products.
7
Parameters
General Parameters
•
on page 172
•
Text Parameters
•
on page 173
•
•
Additional Parameters
•
•
•
•
•
Snap Bars to Output Resolution
•
NDC / HRI
About this Barcode...
The NDC / HRI barcode is a variant of the UPC barcode with special human readable interpretation formats compliant to the US National Drug Code definition.
159
7
DeskPack Advanced
160
Parameters
General Parameters
•
on page 172
•
Text Parameters
•
on page 173
•
•
Additional Parameters
•
•
•
•
•
•
Snap Bars to Output Resolution
•
Paraf Italy
About this Barcode...
This barcode is a variant of Code 39 used by the Italian Health and Cosmetics Industry. It is also called Code 32.
DeskPack Advanced
Use
Code Base32
when your barcode data is encoded in the Base 32 format. This format uses case-insensitive alphanumeric characters to encode data.
Use
Code Base10
when your barcode data is in decimal format. Paraf Italy barcodes in decimal format should start with an “A” (included automatically by Dynamic Barcodes), have 8 digits of data and end with a check digit (calculated automatically by Dynamic Barcodes).
Parameters
General Parameters
•
on page 172
•
Additional Parameters
•
•
•
•
•
Snap Bars to Output Resolution
•
PDF417
About this Barcode...
PDF417 is a 2D barcode mainly used in security printing (passports, identity cards, driving licences...).
It is a “self-checking” barcode that can have different levels of error correction.
It can encode data using one of three “compaction” modes: Text (to encode all alphanumeric and punctuation characters in the ISO-8859-1 character set), Numeric (to encode only numeric characters) or Binary (to encode 8-bit characters).
It can use the three compaction modes in a single barcode if necessary, but you can choose to disable the Text and/or Numeric compaction modes.
7
Parameters
General Parameters
•
on page 172
•
Additional Parameters
•
161
7
DeskPack Advanced
•
•
•
•
Specific Parameters
Columns
You can give your barcode between 1 and 30
Columns
. The number of columns corresponds to the number of PDF417 codewords.
Rows
You can give your barcode between 3 and 90
Rows
.
Truncated
Choose
Truncated
to make the symbol less wide by truncating the end character (which is not part of the encoded data) and the end pattern. In the example below, the top PDF417
barcode is not truncated, and the bottom barcode is truncated (but encodes the same data).
162
Initialize in Alpha Submode
Choose this option to generate a “shift to Text mode” character at the beginning of the barcode when using Text compaction mode. This makes the encoding clear for barcode scanners.
Allow Text Compaction
Choose this to let Dynamic Barcodes switch to Text compaction mode automatically when your barcode contains text data.
This encodes the text data in your barcode more efficiently (it makes that part of your barcode smaller).
Allow Numeric Compaction
Choose this to let Dynamic Barcodes switch to Numeric compaction mode automatically when your barcode contains numeric data.
This encodes the numeric data in your barcode more efficiently.
Note:
Dynamic Barcodes can always switch to the Binary compaction mode if your barcode contains binary data.
If you don't enable either
Allow Text Compaction
or
Allow Numeric Compaction
, Dynamic
Barcodes will only use Binary compaction mode.
Error Correction Level
DeskPack Advanced
7
Error correction adds check sums to the barcode to detect and correct incorrect data. You can choose an
Error correction level
from 0 to 8.
The higher the correction level, the more check sums are added to the barcode and the more incorrect data can be corrected. Keep in mind that a higher correction level makes the barcode bigger and may limit the maximum length of the encoded data.
Note:
Level 0 means that there is only one check sum added to the data, so incorrect data can be detected but not corrected.
You can choose
Automatic
to let the plug-in pick the best error correction level for the data encoded.
MicroPDF417
About this Barcode...
MicroPDF417 is a 2D multi-row barcode derived from PDF417, for use on smaller areas. It can encode up to 150 bytes.
Parameters
General Parameters
•
on page 172
•
Additional Parameters
•
•
•
•
•
Snap Bars to Output Resolution
•
Specific Parameters
Columns
You can give your barcode between 1 and 4
Columns
.
Rows
You can give your barcode between 4 and 44
Rows
.
Allow Text Compaction
Choose this to let Dynamic Barcodes switch to Text compaction mode automatically when your barcode contains text data.
163
7
DeskPack Advanced
This encodes the text data in your barcode more efficiently (it makes that part of your barcode smaller).
Allow Numeric Compaction
Choose this to let Dynamic Barcodes switch to Numeric compaction mode automatically when your barcode contains numeric data.
This encodes the numeric data in your barcode more efficiently.
Note:
Dynamic Barcodes can always switch to the Binary compaction mode if your barcode contains binary data.
If you don't enable either
Allow Text Compaction
or
Allow Numeric Compaction
, Dynamic
Barcodes will only use Binary compaction mode.
PZN
About this Barcode...
The PZN (Pharma-Zentral-Nummer) barcode is used for distribution of pharmaceutical and healthcare products in Germany. The PZN code is written in the format “PZN-nnnnnnn” but only the numeric part including the leading dash is encoded.
164
Parameters
General Parameters
•
on page 172
•
Text Parameters
•
on page 173
•
•
on page 175
•
Additional Parameters
•
•
•
•
DeskPack Advanced
•
on page 177
•
on page 179
•
•
Snap Bars to Output Resolution
•
PZN8
About this Barcode...
The PZN8 (Pharma-Zentral-Nummer) barcode is used for distribution of pharmaceutical and healthcare products in Germany. The PZN code is written in the format “PZN-nnnnnnnn” but only the numeric part including the leading dash is encoded.
7
Parameters
General Parameters
•
on page 172
•
Text Parameters
•
on page 173
•
•
on page 175
•
Additional Parameters
•
•
•
•
•
on page 177
•
on page 179
•
•
Snap Bars to Output Resolution
•
165
7
DeskPack Advanced
QR
About this Barcode...
The QR barcode is a 2-dimensional barcode used for commercial tracking and convenienceoriented applications aimed at mobile phone users (known as "mobile tagging").
QR codes storing addresses and URLs may appear in magazines, on signs, buses, business cards, or other objects... Users with a camera phone equipped with the correct reader application can scan the QR code to display text, contact information, connect to a wireless network, or open a web page in the phone's browser.
QR codes have the following structure:
166
•
Position pattern (required)
•
Alignment pattern (required)
•
Timing pattern (required)
•
Version information
•
Format information
•
Data and error correction keys
Parameters
General Parameters
•
on page 172
DeskPack Advanced
•
Additional Parameters
•
•
•
on page 181
•
on page 182
•
Specific Parameters
Minimum Symbol Size
Choose the number of cells to use for your barcode (in the format “horizontal cells x vertical cells”).
Note:
If the number of cells you choose for your symbol is too small to encode the data you entered in
Code
, Dynamic Barcodes will use a bigger symbol size automatically.
Error Correction
Error correction adds check sums to the barcode to detect and correct incorrect data. You can choose one of the following
Error correction
levels:
• Level
L
: 7% of codewords can be restored.
• Level
M
: 15% of codewords can be restored.
• Level
Q
: 25% of codewords can be restored.
• Level
H
: 30% of codewords can be restored.
Note:
Keep in mind that a higher correction level makes the barcode bigger (as more check sums are added to the barcode) and may limit the maximum length of the encoded data.
Width / Height
The
Width
and
Height
parameters depend on the
Cell Size
and the number of cells used for the symbol (
Minimum Symbol Size
).
For example, a symbol of 25 x 25 cells where each cell is 2 mm gives a Width and Height of 50 x 50 mm.
MicroQR
About this Barcode...
The Micro QR Code is a very small QR Code for use on smaller spaces (for example to encode the ID of printed circuit boards and electronics parts).
It works with smaller amounts of data (maximum 35 numeric characters), and uses only one position pattern.
7
167
7
168
DeskPack Advanced
Parameters
General Parameters
•
on page 172
•
Additional Parameters
•
•
•
on page 181
•
on page 182
•
Specific Parameters
Minimum Symbol Size
Choose the number of cells to use for your barcode (in the format “horizontal cells x vertical cells”).
Note:
If the number of cells you choose for your symbol is too small to encode the data you entered in
Code
, Dynamic Barcodes will use a bigger symbol size automatically.
Error Correction
Error correction adds check sums to the barcode to detect and correct incorrect data. You can choose one of the following
Error correction
levels:
• Level
L
: 7% of codewords can be restored.
• Level
M
: 15% of codewords can be restored.
• Level
Q
: 25% of codewords can be restored.
• Level
H
: 30% of codewords can be restored.
Note:
Keep in mind that a higher correction level makes the barcode bigger (as more check sums are added to the barcode) and may limit the maximum length of the encoded data.
Width / Height
The
Width
and
Height
parameters depend on the
Cell Size
and the number of cells used for the symbol (
Minimum Symbol Size
).
For example, a symbol of 15 x 15 cells where each cell is 2 mm gives a Width and Height of 30 x 30 mm.
SICK Code
About this Barcode...
SICK is a bar code used in the German packaging industry. It's a binary bar code, using a thick bar for a 0, and a thin bar for a 1. It can have up to 12 bars. It can encode numeric or binary data.
• In binary mode all digits are encoded including leading zeroes, ie. "0001" is encoded as a three thin and one thick bar.
DeskPack Advanced
• In decimal mode you can define the number of bars in total, by enter e.g. "6/4". The first number (6) defines the total number of bars, the second (4) defines the valueto be encoded. If you don't define the number of bars, in other words if you enter a single number, the minimal number of bars needed for the value is used, and the code is adjusted accordingly. If you for example enter "9", the value will change to "4/9", as you need at least
4 bars to encode this value.
• The defaults follow the mostly used standard "Codetype A", for generating the "Codetype
B" should be changed the barcode parameters as following: Narrow Bar to 1.25mm (from
0.5mm), Wide Bar to 3.75mm (from 1.5mm) and Gap to 2.5mm (from 1mm)
By default, the values for the Narrow Bar (0.5mm), Wide Bar (1.5mm) and Gap (1mm) are set for the mostly used standard "Codetype A". If you want to generate a SICK code using
"Codetype B", you should set the Narrow Bar to 1.25mm, the Wide Bar to 3.75mm and the Gap to 2.5mm
Parameters
General Parameters
•
on page 172
•
Text Parameters
•
on page 173
•
•
on page 175
•
Additional Parameters
•
•
•
•
on page 179
•
•
on page 179
•
•
Snap Bars to Output Resolution
•
on page 180
•
UPC-A
About this Barcode...
Universal Product Code or UPC is the standard for article numbering in the U.S.A. and Canada.
It is similar to the EAN system and compatible with it. For more information on EAN, see
on page 142.
7
169
7
DeskPack Advanced
UPC-A is a numeric barcode of up to twelve digits, plus two or five additional digits.
170
Parameters
General Parameters
•
on page 172
•
Text Parameters
•
on page 173
•
•
Additional Parameters
•
•
•
•
•
Snap Bars to Output Resolution
•
UPC-E
About this Barcode...
UPC-E is an abbreviated version of UPC-A, for use on smaller packages. It is a numeric barcode of up to eight digits. You can also directly enter the 12-digit code of UPC-A codes that can be represented in 8 digits.
DeskPack Advanced
7
Parameters
General Parameters
•
on page 172
•
Text Parameters
•
on page 173
•
•
Additional Parameters
•
•
•
•
•
Snap Bars to Output Resolution
•
UPC-SCS
About this Barcode...
The UPC–SCS (Shipping Container Symbol) barcode is a version of the Interleaved 2 of 5 barcode that has a structure very similar to the Universal Product Code's (UPC) and specific formatting of the human readable interpretation.
171
7
DeskPack Advanced
Parameters
General Parameters
•
on page 172
•
Text Parameters
•
on page 173
•
•
Additional Parameters
•
•
•
•
•
•
Snap Bars to Output Resolution
•
•
7.6.3 Barcode Parameters
Rotation
To rotate your barcode by 90, 180 or 270 degrees, use the
Rotation
buttons.
To rotate it by any other angle, enter that angle in the
Rotation
field.
Code
Enter the data to encode in your bar code.
Dynamic Barcodes checks that the data you have entered is valid for your chosen
Barcode
Type
. If it isn't, a warning / error will pop up.
Code for GS1 Bar Codes
When entering data to be encoded in GS1 bar codes, you can either enter Application
Identifiers (AI) including the brackets, or you can enter the code without brackets, using FNC1 code at the end of each variable-length element in the data. While entering GS1 data, following remarks should be taken into account:
• Do not add the mandatory FNC1 character at the beginning of the data. Dynamic Barcodes will add it automatically.
172
DeskPack Advanced
• For GS1 bar codes intended for encoding AI (01) only, AI has to be omitted, i.e. don't enter
'01' at the beginning. It doesn't matter if entered with or without brackets.
• The Composite Component can be created using the same rules for using brackets and [F1].
It's not necessary to keep the same way of entering the Composite Component and the main code.
• If you don't use brackets for entering AI, type [F1] at the end of each variable-length element in the data, to represent a FNC1 terminating character, except when the variablelength element is placed at the end of the whole code.
• You don't need to type [F1] at the end of fixed-length elements.
• Do not mix using [F1] as terminators of variable AI and entering brackets around the AI.
7
Dynamic Barcodes also checks the validity of the Application Identifiers you enter in the
Code
and / or in the
Composite Component
of GS1 bar codes.
Composite Component
A
Composite Component
is a 2D symbol placed on top of a GS1 barcode, that encodes extra information (batch number, expiration date...).
If you want your barcode to have a
Composite Component
, enter the (alphanumeric) data to encode in this field.
Note:
Dynamic Barcodes checks the data you enter for the Composite Component (for example to see if the Application Identifiers you entered are correct), and displays a warning if
it is invalid.
Add Human Readable Characters
This parameter adds “human readable” characters (numeric or alphanumeric characters) under your barcode.
This is the same barcode with and without human readable characters:
173
7
DeskPack Advanced
Put on Top
This parameter allows you to put the Human Readable Characters above instead of below the barcode bars.
Multiple Text Lines
Select this parameter if you want the human readable characters to be printed on multiple lines below the barcode. Dynamic Barcodes will start a new line for every element of the barcode data (starting with the Application Identifier).
174
Note:
When opening your document in PackEdge, the characters will be placed back on a single line.
Light Margin Indicator
This parameter adds “<“ and “>” signs (or only “>” depending on the barcode type) at the bottom of your barcode. This indicates the width the barcode should have for optimal reading.
DeskPack Advanced
7
Font Family, Style and Size
These options can be used to define the font family, style and size to be used for the human readable characters. By choosing
[default font]
, all other Text Parameters are disabled, as the default values are used.
Note:
If the font used in a bar code is not available when opening the file, Adobe Illustrator will warn about a missing font. You can however only fix the problem using the Dynamic
Barcode palette, since Adobe Illustrator's "Find Font" feature can not be used.
Alignment
When using human readable characters, in combination with custom font settings, you can set text alignment to
Left
,
Center
or
Right
.
Vertical Offset
This parameter allows you to add extra space between your barcode bars and the human readable characters.
Note:
When opening your document in PackEdge, the characters will be placed just below the bars again.
Use “992” Prod. Family in UPC
Enable this parameter to use the special “992” product family in your barcode (for specific offers like discounts on the customer's next purchase or on variable weight items...).
Max. Row Width
Use this parameter to define how many segments of data (groups of bars encoding several digits) can fit in one row. If the barcode contains more segments, they will be stacked.
In the example below, the first barcode has a
Max. Row Width
of 8 segments. When reducing this to 4 segments, the segments that don't fit in the row width anymore are stacked, forming a second row (second barcode).
175
7
DeskPack Advanced
176
The GS1 Max Row Width parameter applies to the GS1 Databar Expanded Stacked component of the GS1 U.S. Coupon Interim barcode.
Text Format
Choose a text format for the human readable characters of your barcode.
For NDC/HRI barcodes, you can chhose a variant of the U.S. National Drug Code.
For ITF-14, ITF-16 and UPC-SCS barcodes, you can choose a variant of the Shipping Container
Symbol.
Bar Width Reduction
Use this to adjust the width of barcode bars, in order to compensate for ink bleeding when printing on your substrate.
Your printer or customer will usually provide you with the value to use. For example if your printer tells you that the line width will increase by 0.01mm, you should use a
Bar Width
Reduction
value of 0.01 mm.
You can enter the
Bar Width Reduction
in microns, milliinches (“mil”), millimeters or inches.
Tip:
You can enter a negative value if you want to print thicker and not thinner bars.
Device Compensation
Use this if your printer gave you a separate device bleed value. This parameter adjusts the bar's width to compensate for bleed caused by the plate or film making process.
You can enter the
Device Compensation
in microns, milliinches (“mil”), millimeters or inches.
Note:
If you use both a Bar Width Reduction and a Device Compensation value, Dynamic
Barcodes will add them to adjust the bar's width.
Tip:
You can enter a negative value if you want to print thicker and not thinner bars.
Magnification
Use this parameter to increase or decrease the barcode size proportionally.
In the example below, you can see the same barcode at 80%, 100% and 120% magnification.
DeskPack Advanced
7
Size
Choose to give your PZN barcode a
Small
,
Normal
or
Large
size. Those are predefined sizes for this barcode. The actual Height, Characters per unit, Ratio and Narrow Bar values are shown underneath.
By selecting
Custom
, you can manually edit these four parameters.
Height
Enter the height to give to your barcode's bars. They need to be tall enough to be read easily by barcode scanners.
Code 128
In Dynamic Barcodes, you can create Code 128 barcodes shorter than the minimum height.
Dynamic Barcodes will just display a warning, but if you export the document to EPF and open it in PackEdge, PackEdge will extend the barcode to its minimum required height.
Bars and Digits
For:
• EAN 8 & 13
• HIBC 128 and 39
• M+S 7, and Marks & Spencer's
• NDC / HRI
• UPC-A and UPC-E
For the bar codes listed above, the height you enter is the combined height of the bars and the human readable characters). Your barcode needs to be tall enough to be read easily by barcode scanners.
Attention:
Do not change the
Height
of the barcode before entering a
Magnification
value. The
Height
will change again according to the
Magnification
factor you define.
Characters per unit
This parameter allows you to define your barcode's width based on the encoding of (numeric or alphanumeric) characters.
177
7
DeskPack Advanced
You can choose the unit to use:
micron
,
mil
(milliinches),
mm
or
inch
.
For example, choose
mm
and use 1
Character per unit
in the
Dynamic Barcodes
dialog if you want the bars needed to encode one character to take up 1 mm.
Increase the
Characters per unit
value to make the barcode narrower, or decrease it to make the barcode wider. For example, if you choose 0.5
Character per unit
, the bars needed to encode one character will take up 2 mm.
178
Note:
Barcodes like Interleaved 2 of 5 encode two characters together in a group of black and white bars. For these barcodes, Dynamic Barcodes takes half of the group of black and white bars to measure one character.
DeskPack Advanced
7
Ratio
The
Ratio
is the factor between the width of the narrow bar and the width of the wide bar in your barcode. For example, enter 3 if you want your wide bar to be three times as wide as your narrow bar.
Narrow Bar
This parameter determines the width of the narrowest bar of your barcode (and affects the width of your barcode proportionally). For GS1 barcodes, this affects the size (height and width) of your barcode proportionally.
Wide Bar
This parameter determines the width of the widest bar of your barcode.
Gap
Enter the width of the white space between the bars.
Note:
The
Ratio
influences the
Gap
size: increasing the Ratio also increases the
Gap
size.
Vertical alignment
Dynamic Barcodes allows you to resize either the UPC-A or the GS1 Databar Expanded Stacked coupon barcode, so they are aligned vertically with each other. You can choose:
•
None
to keep the original size of both the UPC and the GS1 barcodes,
179
7
DeskPack Advanced
•
Resize UPC to GS1
to resize the UPC barcode so it has the same height as the GS1 barcode,
•
Resize GS1 to UPC
to resize the GS1 barcode so it has the same height as the UPC barcode.
Snap Bars to Output Resolution
Use this to adjust the barcode size parameters (
Bar Width Reduction
,
Device Compensation
and
Magnification
) so that the bars' width and height take up a complete number of pixels or dots.
Enable
Snap Bars to Output Resolution
and enter the resolution you will use to print your barcode in ppi.
Decimal Input
Use this parameter to change the type of data you can enter in the
Code
field.
• Disable it to enter the data to encode in binary format.
• Enable it to enter the data in decimal instead of binary format.
180
DeskPack Advanced
7
Note:
When using binary format for the Laetus Pharma Code/CLF-8 barcode data, you need to use a special "Pharma" binary format.
To convert a decimal number into a Pharma binary number, do the following:
1.
Add 1 to your decimal number.
2.
Convert the result to a binary number using a regular binary conversion algorithm.
3.
Remove the first digit (which is
1
).
You now have your Pharma binary input for the Laetus Pharma Code/CLF-8 barcode.
For example, you want to encode the number 3 .
1.
3+1=4
2.
4 in binary is 100.
3.
Without the first digit, it's 00.
Enter
00
in the
Code
field of your Laetus Pharma Code/CLF-8 barcode.
Add Check Digit
Use this parameter to add a check digit to your barcode data.
Note:
Code 39 doesn't usually contain a check digit but it can be required in some cases.
Symbol Type
Choose the number of cells to use for your barcode (in the format “horizontal cells x vertical cells”).
Note:
If the number of cells you choose for your symbol is too small to encode the data you entered in
Code
, Dynamic Barcodes will display an error.
You can choose
Best Fit
to make Dynamic Barcodes automatically adapt the number of cells to the amount of data you entered in
Code
.
Cell Size
Enter the size you want to give to each cell of the symbol. This affects the size of the whole symbol.
The unit used is the one you chose as Illustrator's
General
unit in the
Units & Display
Performance Preferences
.
181
7
DeskPack Advanced
In the example below, the first symbol has a 1 mm cell size (cells sides are 1 mm), and the second one a 2 mm cell size.
Width / Total Height
The
Width
and
Total Height
parameters depend on the
Cell Size
and the number of cells used for the symbol (
Symbol Type
).
In the example below, a symbol of 10 x 10 cells where each cell is 3 mm gives a Width and Total
Height of 30 x 30 mm.
Total Height
Enter the total height you want to give to your barcode. This is the combined height of the bars, the human readable characters and the box. If your barcode doesn't contain human readable characters or a box, the
Total Height
is the same as the bars'
Height
.
Smax / Smin
Use these parameters to define the width of the printability gauges (“H” marks) either side of your barcode.
Smax
defines the width of the left “H”,
Smin
defines the width of the right “H”.
Enter
0
in both fields if you don't want printability gauges.
In the example below, the top barcode has a value of 0 for both
Smax
and
Smin
, the middle one has a value of
4
and the bottom one has a value of
8
(the maximum).
182
DeskPack Advanced
7
Box
Use this parameter to create an opaque white box under your barcode.
Note:
For ITF, UCP and PDF417 bar codes, the box will be transparent, with bearer bars around it.
Use the
Top
,
Bottom
,
Left
and
Right
fields to add a white margin around your barcode and make the box bigger.
183
7
DeskPack Advanced
By default, Dynamic Barcodes links the four margins' values so that when you change one of them, the other ones are updated automatically.
If you want to change them independently, click the link symbol to make it look detached .
7.7 Barcode Parameters from the Job Folder
Automation Engine stores information related to the printing jobs within the Job Folder. Each
Job Folder can hold various job-related technical information, including barcode parameters.
The following barcode parameters can be set in Automation Engine Pilot:
Parameter
Type
Sub Type
Code
Composite Code
Output Resolution
Bar Width Reduction
Device Compensation
Narrow Bar
Note
The type of barcode. You can't have two different bar codes of the same type in one job.
The size of the symbol for Datamatrix barcodes.
The encoded value including check digits.
For barcodes with a Composite Component mainly GS1 Databar codes
Main size parameter for Code128, Int2of5 and
GS1 Databar barcodes
Link
181
on page 173
on page
on page 172
180
page 176
on page 176
179
184
DeskPack Advanced
Parameter
Magnification
Ratio
Note
Main proportional size parameter for EAN and
UPC based barcodes
Used for Int2of5 barcodes
Link
on page
176
on page 179
Important:
Automation Engine does not check the parameters. All listed parameters are available for all barcode types, even if they are not valid for the given barcode type. Make sure you're entering the valid inputs, including a correct Code with its check digit.
Note:
It is not necessary to have the parameters already set on the Job Setup when creating barcodes: as soon as the Job Setup contains the settings for connected barcodes, these barcode parameters will be applied. This allows you to create templates or placeholders before the actual data (code for the barcode, etc) is available.
7
7.7.1 Connecting to a Job Folder
In order to take parameters from an Automation Engine Job Folder, you need to be connected to an Automation Engine, and open the file from the Automation Engine Job Folder. For easy locating the file on the server, you can use
File
>
Job Folder
>
Open from Job folder
185
7
DeskPack Advanced
For more information on how to connect to Automation Engine, and on opening from a Job
Folder, we refer to the Esko DataExchange documentation. See
http://help.esko.com/products/
Esko%20Data%20Exchange%20for%20Adobe%20Illustrator
7.7.2 Connect Dynamic Barcodes to Job Setup
To use the Barcode properties from the Job Folder, enable the
Get Properties from Job Setup
.
When enabled, the icon on the right will indicate the status:
• Gray: the feature is disabled
• Green: the connection is established
• Red: the file is not in a Job Folder, or the connection is down.
7.7.3 Use Barcode parameters from Job Setup
To use the barcode parameters from Job Setup, select a barcode type from the Barcode Type list that is defined in the Job setup. You can recognize these barcode types by the green icon in front.
186
DeskPack Advanced
7
As soon as you select one of the barcode types defined in the Job Setup, all parameters that are defined in the job setup will be entered (and no longer be editable), indicated by the same green icon.
187
7
DeskPack Advanced
In the example above, only the
Code
is defined in the Job Setup. All other parameters can be entered freely.
7.7.4 Updating barcode parameters from Job Setup
If a barcode is connected to the Job Setup, any changes to the barcode parameters in the Job
Setup, whether it is a changed parameter or a newly added parameter, will automatically and immediately be taken into account in Dynamic Barcodes.
When opening a file, all barcodes with the
Get Properties from Job Setup
option enabled will be updated automatically
If a barcode type is removed from the Job Setup, the corresponding barcodes in the job will no longer be connected, so the
Get Properties from Job Setup
option is disabled.
A barcode will also be disconnected and the
Get Properties from Job Setup
option will be disabled in case the barcode parameters in the Job Setup are invalid for the given barcode type. You will need to change the parameters in the Job Setup. Note that after correcting the parameters, you need to manually reconnect the barcode by enabling
Get Properties from
Job Setup
.
188
DeskPack Advanced
8
8. Dynamic Marks
8.1 Getting started
Using the Dynamic Marks plugin, you can create sets of marks, add them in a document, and have full control over these marks.
8.1.1 Creating a first Mark Set
1.
Open a file in Illustrator. Create some objects you want to use as marks.
2.
Go to
Window
>
Esko
>
Dynamic Marks
>
Dynamic Marks
to open the
Dynamic Marks
panel.
3.
Click
Create a Mark Set
to start a new Mark Set.
Note:
This step is optional. If no Mark Set is present, you can also immediately start adding marks (see step 4), a new Mark Set will be created automatically.
4.
You can add marks in two ways:
• Select the objects you want to use as mark one by one, and click the
Add Selected Art as Mark
button
• Click the
Add Standard Mark
button to add a standard mark to the set.
5.
From the fly-out menu, select
Save mark set
189
8
DeskPack Advanced
Note:
You can only save a Mark set if the Illustrator file is saved. If not, you will be prompted to do so before saving the Mark Set
8.2 The Dynamic Marks palette
In the Dynamic Marks palette, you can manage the marks in a set.
The palette will show the name of the latest loaded or saved mark set, and all the marks in the set. The icon in front of the mark name will show the type of mark: a standard mark, text, an object, ...
190
In the palette, you can
• change the name of a Mark by double-clicking it
• select and zoom in on a Mark, by clicking the button
or from the fly-out menu
• add the selected artwork as a Mark, by clicking the button or from the fly-out menu.
• add a Standard Mark, by clicking the button or from the fly-out menu. See
on page 191
• remove the selected Mark, by clicking the button or from the fly-out menu.
Note:
Removing a Mark will remove the entry in the Mark Set as well as the actual object.
• expand a mark, by selecting the function in the fly-out menu. Expanding a mark replaces the
Dynamic Mark by a normal object.
• change the order of the Marks by clicking and dragging.
DeskPack Advanced
• If the corresponding objects are in the same layer in the Layers menu, their order will be changed the same way.
• If you change the order in the Layers palette, the Marks in the Dynamic Marks palette will change accordingly
Note that the Marks list shows the topmost Mark at the bottom of the list, while the Layers palette works the other way around.
Note:
Same as in Adobe Illustrator's Layer palette, there are two different types of selecting in the Dynamic Marks palette:
• If you click the name, the Mark is selected in a blue bar, but the actual art is not selected in
Adobe Illustrator. This selection is used for Dynamic Mark palette operations (zoom, trash, expand, remove).
• If you click at the right side of the row (or if you select the art using the Illustrator select tools), the Mark is showing a colored rectangle, indicating that the actual art is selected in
Adobe Illustrator. This selection is used for the Marks Properties.
8
8.2.1 Adding a Standard Mark
You can add one of the predefined Standard Marks to your Mark set:
1.
Click the
Add Standard Mark
button or select
Add Standard Mark
from the fly-out menu
2.
Select the Standard Mark you want to add.
3.
Click
Add
The Standard Mark will be added to the Mark Set, and in the current document. You can change its properties in the Dynamic Marks Properties palette. See
on page 192
The Standard Marks currently available are:
• Cut Mark
• Bearer Bars
• Gradation Strip
• Grid Marks
• Corner Marks
• Color Patches
• Image Mark
For more information on the properties for the Standard Marks, see
on page 196
191
8
DeskPack Advanced
Note:
It is not possible to apply scaling on standard marks. Every time the marks are updated, they will be regenerated at their original size.
8.2.2 Adding objects as Mark
You can add existing objects as a Mark to your set.
1.
Select the object you want to use as a mark
2.
Click the
Add Selected Art as Mark
button . or select
Add Selected Art as Mark
from the fly-out menu.
The new Mark will appear in the Dynamic Marks palette. You can change its properties in
the Dynamic Marks Properties palette. See
on page 192
Note:
If you select multiple objects, these objects will be grouped and added as one single mark in your set.
8.3 Dynamic Mark Properties
You can open the Dynamic Mark Properties by choosing
Window
>
Esko
>
Dynamic Marks
>
Dynamic Mark Properties
or by choosing
Open Properties Palette
from the flyout menu of
the Dynamic Marks palette.
8.3.1 Position
The position of a Mark is based on 3 settings:
Attach to
The position of the Mark can be based on
• Any page box: Media Box, Crop Box, Bleed Box, Trim Box or Art Box
192
DeskPack Advanced
8
Note:
• a Page Box that is not defined in the file, will be greyed out
• If you load a Marks set that uses a page box not defined in the current file, the Trim Box is used instead, and a warning is shown
• You can't delete a Page Box if there 's a mark attached to it.
• another Dynamic Mark
• a PowerLayout Repetition, such as "PowerLayout Grid 1"
• Named Art
Named Art is any art in your Illustrator document, that you gave a name in the Layers palette: browse to the object you want to name in the Layers palette, double click the default name (eg.
<path>) and enter a name.
When selecting
Named Art...
, you get a separate dialog, in which you can either type the name of the Named Art you want to use, or select it from the dropdown at the right. Once Named Art has been used, it remains available in the
Attach To
dropdown.
Named Art is only possible on objects, not on groups. Named Art can't be hidden or locked.
Note:
Standard Marks will be automatically attached to a currently selected PowerLayout
Standalone grid or another selected Dynamic Mark. If no grid or Dynamic Mark is selected, the
Standard Mark is attached to the Trim Box.
A PowerLayout Standalone grid is a Step and Repeat of a single file or object(s), generated by the PowerLayout Standalone plug-in. If such a grid is available in the document, you can select its name in the dropdown. For more information, see the PowerLayout Standalone documentation.
Positioning
The way the Mark is attached, can be chosen by clicking and dragging the blue square
(representing the Mark) to the desired position on the grey square (representing the
Attach To
reference). Each square has 9 reference points (top left center and right, middle left center and right, and bottom left center and right), so you have 81 different ways of positioning the mark.
This setting is not available for Bearer Bars and for Cut Marks.
In the example underneath, the top center of the (bounding box of the) mark will be placed on the left bottom corner of the (bounding box) of the reference defined in the Attach to field.
Note:
If you create a Mark from an existing object, the Positioning settings (the blue rectangle) will be automatically set, using the smallest offset possible while keeping the object at the same location.
193
8
DeskPack Advanced
Offset
In the offset fields, you can move the mark based on the defined position. The direction of the offset (up, down, left or right) depends on the positioning, and is shown by the arrows.
Note:
You can also manually move Marks. In that case, the offset will automatically adjust to the new location. The other settings (Attach To and Positioning) will NOT change.
Repeat
For custom marks, you can use the
Repeat
buttons, to choose if the mark should be repeated or not.
From left to right:
• No repeat
• Repeat on all 4 sides. The positions of the marks are rotated 90º around the center of the
Attach To object. Examples:
• Repeated horizontally. The positions of the marks are mirrored over the vertical center line.
Examples:
194
• Repeated vertically. The positions of the marks are mirrored over the horizontal center line.
Examples:
DeskPack Advanced
8
Note:
For vertical and horizontal repeat, the position of the marks is mirrored, but the actual marks are rotated 180 degrees.
8.3.2 Color
The color of a mark can be one of these settings:
Registration
The mark will be colored with 100% of every ink used in the document. If you change the tint to e.g. 42%, the mark will get 42% of every ink used in the document.
Changing the inks in the document can change the color of the mark. Technical inks are not used in the mark.
Note:
If you manually change the color of a mark set to Registration, its color setting will change to "Static" (see below), using the newly set color.
Static
If color is set to "Static", the current color is stored, based on the actual inks. The color of the mark will not change if the order of the ink list is changed.
Note:
When placed on an existing document, "Static" marks are the only marks that affect the ink list: the inks used in the mark will be added if necessary.
Dynamic
If color is set to "Dynamic", the current color is stored, but based on the ink positions in the Ink
Manager, and not the actual inks.
For example, if the first ink is Cyan, a 100% cyan mark is stored as "100% of the first ink". If the first ink is different (by changing the ink order, or by placing the mark on a different file), the mark will become 100% of the first ink.
Note:
If the ink list in the document changes after adding the marks, you must click
Update
Ink List
in the
Ink Manager
for the marks to adjust to the updated ink list.
Darkest
The mark will be colored with 100% of the darkest ink used in the document. You can't change the percentage for "Darkest" ink, it will always be 100%.
Changing the inks in the document can change the color of the mark. Technical inks are not used in the mark.
Note:
If you manually change the color of a mark set to Darkest, the color will change back to the darkest ink at the next mark update.
195
8
DeskPack Advanced
Fill / Stroke
For custom marks and for Color Patch marks, you can define both the Fill and the Stroke Color.
For Stroke, you have an extra option
Same as fill
Defaults
Every Dynamic Mark has a default color attribute:
Mark Type
Custom mark (plain object)
Cut Mark
Text
Image Mark
Dynamic Objects (Barcode,
Panel, Table)
Bearer Bar
Gradation Strip
Grid Marks
Corner Marks
Color Patch
Available Color Options
all*
Registration, Darkest, Static all
Static, Dynamic** all
Default
Dynamic
Darkest
Dynamic
Static
Static all
No Color Options
Registration, Darkest, Static
Registration, Darkest, Static
Registration not applicable
Registration
Registration only applicable for stroke: all same as fill
(*): A Custom mark created from a mesh or gradient object will always have color attribute
"Static". This can't be changed.
(**): EPS image marks can only be Static.
Note:
A Gradation Strip doesn't allow setting Color options. A Gradation Strip always uses every ink, except for technical inks.
Inks
When using
Dynamic
color, you can choose what inks to include: All inks, only technical inks or only printing inks.
For any other color option, you can't change the drop down: for Static color and Registration it is fixed at "All", while for "Darkest" it is fixed at "Only Printing".
8.3.3 Specific Mark Properties
Standard Marks have, beside Position and Color, some specific properties.
Also Text Marks have specific properties, allowing to create dynamic Text Marks.
Cut Mark Properties
Cut Marks are created from a symbol named "CutMark", and are by default 0,1mm wide and
10mm long.
196
DeskPack Advanced
8
Position
: Cut Marks will be automatically attached to a currently selected PowerLayout
Standalone grid or another selected Dynamic Mark. If no grid or Dynamic Mark is selected, the
Cut Mark is attached to the Trim Box.
Color
: Cut Marks are by default in "Darkest" color.
Offset
: allows to define the offset for the Cut Marks. A positive offset will move the Cut Marks to the outside.
Symbol
: allows to change the symbol used for the Cut Mark. See
on page 217,
Bearer Bars Properties
Adding a Bearer Bars mark will create two bars, one on each side, left and right (default) or top and bottom. The bars will automatically take the size (vertical or horizontal) of the "Attach" selection.
197
8
DeskPack Advanced
Position
: Bearer Bars will be automatically attached to a currently selected PowerLayout
Standalone grid or another selected Dynamic Mark. If no grid or Dynamic Mark is selected, the
Bearer Bars are attached to the Trim Box.
If the
Show on Both Sides
option is selected, you will get a Bearer Bar on both sides (top and bottom, or left and right).
By positioning the blue rectangles, you can choose between a vertical or horizontal orientation.
Color
: Bearer Bars are by default in Registration color.
Width
: The width of the Bearer Bar.
Extend
: allows to extend the Bearer Bar on both size. Entering e.g. +5mm will extend the
Bearer Bar by 5 mm on both ends.
Offset
defines the distance between the Attach to object and the Bearer Bars.
Gradation Strip Properties
Gradation Strips are created from a symbol named "GradationStrip", and are by default 3 rectangles of 5 x 5mm, horizontally, colored 40%, 80% and 100%, one strip per ink.
198
Position
: Gradation Strips will be automatically attached to a currently selected PowerLayout
Standalone grid or another selected Dynamic Mark. If no grid or Dynamic Mark is selected, the
Gradation Strip is attached to the Trim Box.
If you change the Positioning setting (the blue rectangle), the gradation strip will rotate automatically based on the position of the blue rectangle.
Width
: The width can be set to "One Strip per Ink" or to "Repeat to Fit".
Symbol
: allows to change the symbol used for the Gradation Strip Mark. See
You can use any type of art in the symbol, but only paths and compound paths will be colored.
If you will use any text in your Gradation Strip symbol, it will be automatically colored with darkest ink.
If you change the default Gradation Strip symbol, the default position will be based on the size of the symbol. If the width of the symbol is bigger than its height, the Gradation Strip will be created horizontally by default. If the height is bigger, the Gradation Strip will be created vertically by default.
DeskPack Advanced
Flip
: when set to "Normal", the gradation is built from left to right, when set to "Reverted", the gradation strip is built from right to left.
Grid Mark Properties
Grid Marks are created from a symbol named "GridMark", and are by default a rectangle of 5 x
5mm, in Registration color.
8
Position
: Grid Marks will be automatically attached to a currently selected PowerLayout
Standalone grid. If no grid is selected, you will get an error message.
Mark Positions & Copies
:
Using the
Where
buttons, you can define where you want the Grid Marks:
• on the left side of the Repeat
• on the right side of the Repeat
• on top of the Repeat
• below the Repeat
• in between the columns
• in between the rows.
Note:
The "in between" options can not be used in combination with
stagger
. If you enable stagger while grid marks are set to "in between", or if you load a mark set containing such a mark, the grid marks will be placed at the side, and a warning will be given.
199
8
DeskPack Advanced
For the Mark Position, you can (besides the normal Position settings) set the
Reference
. The
Reference defines what cell or column to use as a reference:. You can set the Reference to
Outer Left Cell
or
Outer Right Cell
, or to
Outer Left Column
or
Outer Right Column
.
If the Grid Marks are placed on the top or bottom of the repeat, the options become top/ bottom instead of left/right, and Row instead of Column.
If a
Column
is used, a single Grid Mark is placed, using the column as reference.
In case you use a
Cell
as Reference, you can choose to
Repeat
the grid mark every Row (or
Column), every 2 rows, ect...
The examples underneath shows a 5 by 5 repeat with staggering. The Position is always centered at the left side.
Outer Left Column:
Outer Right Column:
200
Outer Left Cell, no repeat:
Outer Right Cell, no repeat:
Outer Left Cell, repeat every 1 rows:
DeskPack Advanced
8
Outer Left Cell, repeat every 2 rows:
Symbol
: allows to change the symbol used for the Gradation Strip Mark. See
White Underprint
Corner Mark Properties
Corner Marks are created from a symbol named "CornerMark".
Bounding Box Corners
or
Repetition Corners
:
201
8
DeskPack Advanced
Using the buttons, you can define if you want corner marks on the bounding box of the selected
Attach To
area, or on the corners of every one-up. This option is only available if you attached the corner mark to a Repeat Grid.
Set Symbol
: allows to change the symbol used for the Gradation Strip Mark. See
Offset
allows to define the offset between the corner and the corner mark. If the lock is enabled, vertical and horizontal offset are kept the same. If the lock is disabled, you can enter different values for vertical and horizontal offset.
If an offset of 0mm is used (in the image underneath on the left), the bounding box of the corner mark is placed on the outside of the selected page box. The page box is shown in red, the corner mark in black and the bounding box in blue.
In the image on the right, the default offset of -8mm is used. You can see the Corner Mark being moved 8 mm to the inside, based on the original position. Since the default symbol is
10 mm by 10mm, this default setting places the corner mark at 2 mm to the outside of the selected page box.
Color Patch Properties
Color Patch marks are created from a symbol named "ColorPatch".
202
DeskPack Advanced
8
Set Symbol
: allows to change the symbol used for the Color Patch Mark. See
A Color Patch mark is dynamically colored in one ink. The
Index
defines the ink to use, based on the ink position in the Ink Manager.
You can however define a different color for the text and for the stroke.
The number of text fields depends on the number of text fields in the symbol. When using the default symbol, a Color Patch contains 3 text fields, set to the short ink name, the ruling and angle, and the index.
Note:
When you create a symbol for Color Patch using exact the same variable names (case sensitive), Dynamic Marks will automatically use these variables. This way, you can quickly create a Color Patch symbol with working variable text fields.
Text Mark properties
A Text Mark is a Custom Mark created from a text object. Text Marks can consist of static and dynamic text.
1.
Create a text object, using the font and text settings you want to use, and add it as a Custom
Mark.
For more info on adding obejcts as Mark, see
on page 192
2.
Open the Dynamic Mark Properties palette, by choosing
Window
>
Esko
>
Dynamic Marks
>
Dynamic Mark Properties
The existing text is
static
, which means it won't change when you use the Mark into another document, or if the document changes.
203
8
DeskPack Advanced
You can make all or part of the text
dynamic
, to have it change with every document you use your mark into.
204
Note:
If you want to have some static text, just leave that part of the text as it is (or type in new text) in the
Text
area.
3.
To get dynamic text, you need to insert dynamic
fields
.
Place your cursor where you want the field to be, or select the text to replace with a field, and click the
Insert / Modify ...
button.
4.
In the
Insert Field
dialog that opens, choose the fields to insert: a) Select
Local Variables
to select variables from the local file, or
Server Variables
to use
SmartNames from the Automation Engine server. In that case, all Database queries defined on the server will be available, as well as all job and product parameters.
b) choose a field
Category
, for example
Barcodes
,
Date & Time
...
c) in that
Category
, choose the
Field
you want to use (see
205 for a list of available categories and fields), d) if applicable, choose the
Format
to use for your chosen
Field
(see
DeskPack Advanced
8
Note:
The
Preview
line shows how the field will be resolved in the current document.
e) when you are satisfied with how your field will look like, click
OK
.
The dynamic parts of a text object will appear between square brackets.
White Underprint
allows to add White Underprint to your Mark. See
on page
216
Categories and Types
Local Variables
Barcodes
Date & Time
• Number of Barcodes
• Barcode Type
• Barcode Code
• Bar Width Reduction
• Barcode Magnification
• Barcode Device Compensation
• Barcode Narrow Bar
• Date
• Time
• Date and Time
205
8
Document
File Info (XMP)
Inks
Links
System
Server Variables
File Info
DeskPack Advanced
• File Name
• Fonts
• Layer Names
• CMYK Profile
• RGB Profile
• Color Mode
• Trim Box
• Crop Box
• Bleed Box
• Media Box
• Art Box
• Description
• Author
• Document Title
• Author Title
• Number of Inks
• Number of Technical Inks
• Ink Names
• Technical Ink Names
• Short Ink Names
• Abbreviated Ink Names
• Ink Types
• Ink Dotshapes
• Ink Angles
• Ink Rulings
• Printing Method
• Placed Files
• XML Content Files
• Structural Design File
• Illustrator Version
• Creative Suite Version
• OS Type
• OS Version
• Short User Name
• Full User Name
• Extension of File
• File
• File Type
• First Folder of File
• Folder of File
206
Job Info
DeskPack Advanced
• Folder of Input
• Job Name
• Order ID
• Sub Order ID
• Description
• Due Date
• Project ID
• Last Actor
• Job URL
• Category
• Category2
• Category3
• Category4
• Category5
• Category6
• Category7
• Customer Ref
• CSR
• CSR Email
• Customer ID
• Customer Name
• Customer Description
• Due Day
• Due Time
• Job Container Name
• Job Container URL
• Job CT URL
• Job ID
• Name of Folder of Job
• JI Legacy Job (JDF)
• JI Originator (JDF)
• PS Printer Name
• PS Printer Name (JDF)
• Job Parameters
• Number of Barcodes
• Barcode Type
• Barcode Code
• Bar Width Reduction
• Barcode Magnification
• Barcode Device Compensation
• Barcode Narrow Bar
• Number of Inks
• Number of Technical Inks
• Ink Names
• Technical Ink Names
• Short Ink Names
• Ink Types
8
207
8
Global
Misc
Path Info
Product Info
Job Barcodes
DeskPack Advanced
• Ink Dotshapes
• Ink Angles
• Ink Rulings
• Ink Printing Methods
<user defined smart names>
• Server
• File URL
• Job Temp URL
• URL Folder of Input
• URL of Input
• Customer's Product Reference
• Product Amount
• Product Custom Field 1
• Product Custom Field 2
• Product Custom Field 3
• Product Customer Description
• Product Customer ID
• Product Customer Name
• Product Description
• Product ID
• Product Name
• Product Part Custom Field 1
• Product Part Custom Field 2
• Product Part Custom Field 3
• Product Part Datazone
• Product Part Name
• Product Part Status
• 2of5
• Bobst
• CLF8
• Codabar
• Code 39
• Code 128
• Code 39 Extended
• Data Matrix ECC 200
• EAN 8
• EAN 13
• GS1 128
• GS1 Databar Omnidirectional
• GS1 Databar Expanded
• GS1 Databar Expanded Stacked
• GS1 Databar Limited
• GS1 Databar Stacked
• GS1 Databar Stacked Omnidirectional
• GS1 Databar Truncated
208
• GS1 Datamatrix
• GS1 US Coupon Interim
• HIBC-39
• HIBC-128
• ITF-14
• ITF-16
• Int. 2of5
• Kurandt
• Laetus Pharma
• MS7
• MSI
• Marks and Spencer
• NDC-HRI
• PDF417
• MicroPDF417
• Plessey
• PZN
• PZN8
• Paraf Italy
• QR
• MicroQR
• UPC-A
• UPC-E
• UPC-SCS
DeskPack Advanced
Formatting Dynamic Fields
You can format certain fields so they look a certain way (for example, have the date in
European or American format).
You can use predefined formats or create custom formats. You can also choose to use a different format for each field, or the same format for all fields.
Using an Existing Format
• You can choose an existing format to apply to your field in the
Format
list.
For example, use
[name][ext]
to display the file name and extension when using the
File
Name
field.
8
209
8
DeskPack Advanced
210
Tip:
Hover over to get more information about the different formats.
Defining a Custom Format
To define your own field format:
1.
Choose
Custom
in the format list.
2.
Define your format in the box below (using the predefined formats and the information
under for help).
DeskPack Advanced
8
Note:
• The items in square brackets, like
[major]
, are dynamic, the rest of the text is static.
• Use the
Enter
key to get a new line.
3.
Check how your format resolves for the current file in the
Preview
line.
4.
Click
OK
when you are satisfied.
Repeating the Format for All Items
If the field you want to use can have several values (e.g.
Fonts
,
Ink Names
,
Placed Files
...), you can put them all in one dynamic object.
You can also set the same format for all those values at once.
After choosing an existing format or defining a custom one:
1.
Select
Repeat format for all items
.
2.
Choose the
Separator
you want to use between the values (
Comma
,
Space
...).
211
8
DeskPack Advanced
212
Note:
You can also specify your own separator by typing it directly in the
Separator
list.
3.
When you are satisfied with what you see in the
Preview
, click
OK
.
Reflow text
If you create a custom mark based on text in a text frame, resizing using standard transform tools will resize the text "as is" instead of reflowing the text inside the resized text box.
DeskPack Advanced
8
If the
Reflow Text
option is enabled, resizing using standard transform tools will resize the text box, and the text will reflow inside the resized text box.
Barcode Mark properties
A Barcode Mark is a Custom Mark created from a Barcode object. For more information on creating barcodes, please refer to the Dynamic Barcodes documentation.
1.
Create a barcode, using the barcode type and settings you want to use, and add it as a
Custom Mark.
For more info on adding obejcts as Mark, see
on page 192
2.
Open the Dynamic Mark Properties palette, by choosing
Window
>
Esko
>
Dynamic Marks
>
Dynamic Mark Properties
The existing Barcode is
static
, which means it won't change when you use the Mark into another document, or if the document changes.
You can make all or part of the code
dynamic
, to have it change with every document you use your mark into.
213
8
DeskPack Advanced
214
3.
To get a dynamic barcode, you need to insert dynamic
fields
.
Place your cursor where you want the field to be, or select the text to replace with a field, and click the
Insert / Modify ...
button.
4.
In the
Insert Field
dialog that opens, choose the fields to insert: a) choose a field
Category
, for example
Barcodes
,
Date & Time
...
b) in that
Category
, choose the
Field
you want to use (see
205 for a list of available categories and fields), c) if applicable, choose the
Format
to use for your chosen
Field
(see
Note:
The
Preview
line shows how the field will be resolved in the current document.
d) when you are satisfied with how your field will look like, click
OK
.
The dynamic parts of a barcode will appear between square brackets.
Note:
Only the barcode's code can be changed after making. You can not change the barcode type or other settings after creating a Mark from a bar code. To change these settings, you have to delete the Mark and create a new one.
White Underprint
allows to add White Underprint to your Mark. See
on page
216
Image Mark properties
An image Mark is a mark created from a linked image
DeskPack Advanced
1.
There are two ways to create an Image Mark
• Click the
Add Standard Mark
button or select
Add Standard Mark
from the fly-out menu, and choose
Image Mark
as type.
• Place an image (supported file formats are JPG, PDF, TIFF, EPS and PSD) as a link, and add
it as a Custom Mark. For more info on adding obejcts as Mark, see
on page 192
2.
Open the Dynamic Mark Properties palette, by choosing
Window
>
Esko
>
Dynamic Marks
>
Dynamic Mark Properties
If the Image Mark was created from an existing image, the Dynamic Mark Properties will reflect the properties of this image: its position attached to the top left corner of the trim box, and the path of the linked file.
8
3.
Set the
Scaling
• When set to
Numeric
, you can enter the scaling in %.
•
Scale to Fit
will scale the image proportionally to fit the object defined in the "Attach to" field. You can use this for example to fit the image inside a named object. The % field will reflect the current scale factor.
•
Downscale to Fit
is the same as "Scale to Fit", but the image will only be downscaled (if necessary), not upscaled. The % field will reflect the current scale factor.
215
8
216
DeskPack Advanced
4.
Set the
Rotation
for the image using the buttons
5.
Use the
File
field to set the path for the linked image. If the path is valid, the image will be shown in the document. Otherwise, a placeholder is shown.
If you used a placed image to create the Image Mark, its file path will be entered automatically.
You can enter the path manually, or use the
Browse
button.
You can use dynamic text in the path, e.g. the Job Folder. Use the
Insert/Modify
button. For
more information on dynamic text, see
6. Color
can be set to Static or Dynamic. For an EPS image, only Static is allowed.
Note:
If you switch from Dynamic to Static, the colors from the original file are used. If there is a difference in the number of channels between two real images, the mark will switch back to static.
7. White Underprint
allows to add White Underprint to your Mark. See
page 216
Note:
Image marks can NOT be modified (rotating, channel mapping, etc) outside of the
Dynamic Marks Properties palette.
White Underprint
White Underprint allows you to create a white background underneath the selected marks.
This white background can be necessary when printing on transparent or metal material.
White Underprint is available for Text Marks, Barcode Marks and Grid Marks
White Underprint Object
White Underprint objects will be created in a top-level "White Underprint" layer, and will be put in overprint.
The White Underprint object will be
• a solid rectangle, using the bounding box of a
Text Mark
• a solid rectangle, using the bounding box of a
Barcode Mark
• a solid rectangle, using the bounding box of a
Grid Mark
The
Add Bar
option, available for Grid Marks, will stretch the White Underprint over the full size of the Media Box (or Trim Box if no Media Box is defined).
• For vertical grid marks, the White Underprint object will be a vertical bar, using the width of the grid mark, and the height of the Media Box
• For horizontal grid marks, the White Underprint object will be a horizontal bar, using the height of the grid mark, and the width of the Media Box
If the Mark is modified, deleted or expanded, the White Underprint will also be modified, deleted or expanded.
White Underprint Ink
The Ink used for White Underprint on Dynamic Marks can be defined by clicking the
Ink
Settings
button, and entering the name of the Ink to be used for White Underprint.
DeskPack Advanced
In case the defined ink doesn't exist yet, a new spot color will be added to the swatches, using the Ink name and the Color patch.
When the name of an existing swatch is entered, this ink will be used for White Underprint.
Note:
White Underprint can only use Spot Colors. If an existing swatch name is entered, and the swatch is not a spot color, a warning will be generated: "A swatch by this name already exists but is not defined as a Spot Color".
If you change the White Underprint ink, all White Underprint objects on Dynamic Marks in the open document will be changed as well.
The White Underprint ink definition is saved in the Mark Set. If you load a Mark Set containing a different White Underprint ink definition as in the open document, you can choose if you want to keep your White Underprint ink, or if you want to load the White Underprint ink definition from the Mark Set.
8.3.4 Changing the Symbol of a Standard Mark
You can change the Symbol used for a Standard Mark in the Dynamic Mark Properties, by clicking the
Set Symbol
button, and selecting the desired Symbol from the list.
To change or add Symbols,
1.
In the Dynamic Marks palette, select
Open Symbol Library
from the fly-out menu
The file DynamicMarks_CS6.ai
(CS6) or DynamicMarks_AI18.ai
(CC2014 and
CC2015)will be opened
2.
Open the Illustrator Symbol Library by choosing
Window
>
Symbols
and use the Illustrator tools to add, edit, remove, duplicate, ... the symbols defined in the file.
3.
Save and close the DynamicMarks file
The new and modified symbols will now be available when clicking
Set Symbol
in the Dynamic
Mark Properties.
8
8.4 Mark Sets
When no mark set is loaded, you get the option to load a mark set, or to create a new set.
From the Fly-out menu of the Dynamic Marks palette, you can
• Load a Mark Set
• Save the current Mark Set
• Delete the current Mark Set
• Manage Mark Sets
8.4.1 Load Mark Set
To load a Mark Set:
1.
In the Fly-out menu of the Dynamic Marks palette, select
Load Mark Set
217
8
DeskPack Advanced
The Load dialog will show the Esko Default Mark Sets, and Mark Sets saved at the location
defined in the Dynamic Mark Preferences. See
Note:
Since Mark Sets are regular .ai documents, the list will show all Adobe Illustrator files at the defined location. When loading an Illustrator file that doesn't contain a Mark Set, nothing will happen.
2.
Select a Mark Set from the list, and click
Load
.
Note:
If the Mark Set contains a mark with the same name as a mark already in the
Dynamic Marks palette, an error message will be given, and the Mark Set will not be loaded.
The marks from the loaded Mark Set are
added
in the Dynamic Marks palette. If you want to replace the current marks with the ones from the loaded Mark Set, you need to select all marks and delete them first.
If you load marks with dependencies, the mark will be attached to the object (e.g. PowerLayout
Grid or Named Art) with the same name as in the Mark Set file. If no such object exists, you will get an error message and the mark will be attached to the Trim Box.
8.4.2 Save Mark Set
To save a Mark Set:
1.
In the Fly-out menu of the Dynamic Marks palette, select
Save Mark Set
218
DeskPack Advanced
8
The Save dialog will show the Mark Sets already saved at the location defined in the
Dynamic Mark Preferences. See
on page 221
2.
Enter a name for the Mark Set and click
Save
. If a Mark Set with this name already exists, you will get the option to overwrite it.
Note:
You can only save a Mark set if the Illustrator file is saved. If not, you will be prompted to do so before saving the Mark Set
Mark Sets are saved as simple .ai documents, containing only the objects needed for the Mark
Set.
Note:
All Marks in a set need to have a unique name. If not, an error message is shown, and the Mark Set is not saved.
8.4.3 Delete Mark Set
To delete a Mark Set, select
Delete Mark Set
in the Fly-out menu of the Dynamic Marks palette.
The Mark Set, including all Dynamic Marks will be removed from the file.
Note:
This does not remove a saved (and loaded) Mark Set from disk. To do so, select
Manage
Mark Sets
from the Fly-out menu. See
8.4.4 Manage Mark Sets
To manage your Mark Sets:
1.
In the Fly-out menu of the Dynamic Marks palette, select
Manage Mark Sets
219
8
DeskPack Advanced
The Manage Dynamic Mark Set dialog will show the Mark Sets saved at the location defined
in the Dynamic Mark Preferences. See
on page 221
Note:
Since Mark Sets are regular .ai documents, the list will show all Adobe Illustrator files at the defined location.
2.
Select a Mark Set from the list, and
• Click
Rename
, enter a new name for the Mark Set, and click
Rename
to change the name of the Mark Set
• Click
Delete
to remove the Mark Set from the list. The actual Illustrator file will be deleted. This can not be undone.
8.4.5 Export Mark Sets
To use a Mark set in the Dynamic taskson an Automation Engine server, you can export your
Dynamic Marks set as a
Dynamic Marks Set
(.dmk).
To export your Mark Sets:
1.
In the Fly-out menu of the Dynamic Marks palette, select
Export Mark Set
2.
Select a file name and location for the Dynamic Marks Template.
3.
Move the file to your DFE server at this location: server
\bg_data_marks_v010\DynamicMarks
Limitations:
• The server does not support different fill and stroke setting
• It is not possible to choose technical inks only or printing inks only.
• Color Patch marks are not yet supporte. As a workaround, you could manually create a custom mark that looks like the Color Patch.
220
DeskPack Advanced
8
Note:
It is not possible to import a Mark Set back into Illustrator. It is highly recommended to keep the native Adobe Illustrator files for future modifications in the Marks.
8.4.6 Dynamic Marks Preferences
You can open the Dynamic Marks Preferences by choosing
Illustrator
>
Preferences
>
Esko
>
Dynamic Marks Preferences
on Mac, or
Edit
>
Preferences
>
Esko
>
Dynamic Marks
Preferences
on Windows.
In the Dynamic Marks Preferences, you can set the location to save and load Mark Sets.
•
Default Folder
: Mark Sets will be saved to and loaded from the default Esko location.
• on Mac OS X:
/Users/Shared/EskoArtwork/DynamicMarks/
• on Windows Vista and 7: x:\Users\Public\Documents\EskoArtwork
\DynamicMarks\
• on Windows XP: x:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data
\EskoArtwork\DynamicMarks\
•
Custom Folder
: Mark Sets will be saved to and loaded from a custom folder which you can select by clicking the
Browse
button.
8.4.7 Esko Mark Sets
When installing Dynamic Marks, a number of default Mark Sets are installed as well. These sets can not be changed, but you can load one of these sets, change it and save it under a different name.
Here is an overview of these Mark Sets:
1 x KAMA
A Custom Mark, using these settings:
221
8
DeskPack Advanced
• The mark is a circle of 3.2 mm diameter, and a vertical and horizontal line of 6.5 mm. All lines are 0.15 mm thick.
• Attached to the Trim Box
• The center of the mark is vertically centered, and 12 mm to the right of the left border of the trim box.
• Using Darkest color
1 x Label Row
A Grid Mark, using these settings:
• attached to PowerLayout Grid 1
• on the right side, with a reference to the outer left cell
• using a 3mm offset in horizontal direction, 0mm in vertical direction
• repeat Every 1-up.
• symbol 10 x 5 mm in Registration color
1 x Sheet
A Custom Mark, using these settings:
• The mark is a rectangle of 10 by 5 mm.
• Attached to the Media Box
• A 3 mm horizontal offset to the upper right part of the Media Box
• using Registration color
2x Label Row
Two Grid Marks, using these settings:
• attached to PowerLayout Grid 1
• Right mark is on the right side, Left mark is on the left side, both with a reference to the outer left cell
• Right mark is aligned to the right bottom corner, Left mark to the upper left corner
• using a 3mm offset in horizontal direction, 0mm in vertical direction
• repeat Every 1-up.
• symbol 5 x 5 mm in Registration color
Mark Set 1 (Esko)
A set for maximum 6 inks in the document, units: mm
• 1 Registration Mark placed on every side
• a Text Mark with the name of the document
• a Text Mark with the date
• a Gradation Strip on the left, with 1 rectangle per ink, colored in 100%
• a Gradation Strip on the right, with a 40%, 80% and 100% rectangle for every ink.
• 6 Text Marks, one per ink, with the name of the ink, and colored in 100% of the ink.
Mark Set 2 (Esko)
A set for maximum 6 inks in the document, units: mm same as Mark Set 1, but with different type of Registration Mark
222
DeskPack Advanced
Mark Set 3 (Esko)
A set for maximum 4 inks in the document, units: mm
• 12 Gallus elements on left and right side of the document
Mark Set 4 (Esko)
A set for maximum 6 inks in the document, units: mm
• Bearer Bars in vertical orientation and attached to the Trim Box
• 6 Text Marks, one per ink, with the name of the ink, placed inside the Bearer Bar, and colored with 0,2% tint to knock out the Bearer Bar in the same separation
Mark Set 5 (Esko)
A set for maximum 12 inks in the document, units: mm
• Bearer Bars in vertical orientation and attached to the Trim Box
• a Gradation Strip on the left, with one circle per ink, colored in 100%.
• a Gradation Strip on the right, with one circle per ink, colored in 50%.
• Registration Marks placed on the left and right side.
• 12 Gallus elements on left and right side of the document
• a Text Mark with the name of the document, colored in registration
• a Custom Mark setting a background for the above mentioned Text Mark
• 12 Text Marks, one per ink, with the name of the ink, and colored in 100% of the ink.
• a Custom Mark setting a background for the above mentioned Text Marks
• 12 Text Marks, one per ink, with the current Angle of the ink, and colored in 100% of the ink.
• 12 Text Marks, one per ink, with the current Ruling of the ink, and colored in 100% of the ink.
• a Text Mark with the date and time
• a Text Mark with the name of the author, based on the XMP info
8.5 Dynamic Marks Layer
When adding a Dynamic Mark for the first time to a document, a layer named "Dynamic
Marks" will be created. Standard Marks are created in the Dynamic Marks layer, Custom Marks are moved to the Dynamic Marks layer. If you rename the Dynamic Marks Layer, all Dynamic
Marks created later will still be created in or moved to this layer already containing dynamic marks.
Loading a Mark Set
If you load a Mark Set, the Dynamic Marks in the set will be placed in the same layer as saved in the set. This means you can have two different layers containing Dynamic Marks at that point. Newly created marks will then be placed in one of those layers.
Locking or hiding the Dynamic Marks Layer
If the Dynamic Marks layer is locked, you will not be able to add any mark. A message will be shown in the message palette. However, all indirect operations are possible, for example changes in the Ink Manager will change the gradation strip, even if the Dynamic Marks Layer is locked.
8
223
8
DeskPack Advanced
If the Dynamic Marks layer is invisible, marks will be created / moved in the Dynamic Marks layer, and will immediately turn invisible.
8.6 Dynamic Panels in Dynamic Marks
When opening a document containing a
Dynamic Panel
, you will see those Dynamic Panels in the Dynamic Marks palette.
By selecting a Dynamic Info Panel and choosing
Convert Panels to Dynamic Marks
from the fly-out menu, you can convert the selected Dynamic Panel into one or more Dynamic Marks.
224
• Every text item in the Dynamic Panel is converted to a separate Dynamic Text Mark, using the same variables.
• If possible, other panel items with the same color attribute will be grouped and combined in one single mark.
• The inks used in the Dynamic Panel are replaced by the corresponding Dynamic Marks color:
• A Dynamic Panel ink will become Dynamic color with mode "Only Printing Inks"
• A Dynamic Panel Technical ink becomes Dynamic color with mode "Only Technical Inks"
• Darkest ink becomes Darkest color
• An object using Registration swatch becomes Registration color
• Other inks (not Dynamic) become a static color.
• The position of converted panels will always be defined relative to the top left corner of the trim box
• Panel items that can't be converted into a Dynamic Mark (e.g. a linked image) will remain as a panel item, while other items are converted. A message will be shown.
DeskPack Advanced
8
8.7 Tips and tricks
I open a new document, create an object to be used as a mark, and as soon as I use "Add
Selected Art as Mark", the color of the object changes or disappears. Why ?
If you have a document with e.g. only one rectangle, colored with 100% cyan in your document, the Ink Manager will only contain one ink (Cyan).
When you create a custom mark, the default color attribute is "Dynamic". At this moment, the color definition of the mark becomes "100% of the first ink in the ink manager". Because
Ink Manager doesn't read inks from marks with color attribute "Registration", "Darkest" or
"Dynamic", and because there are no other objects in the document, the inks list in the Ink
Manager will be empty, and so will the custom mark be.
As soon as another ink is used in the document, this ink will be the first ink in Ink Manager, and will be used by the Custom Mark.
In the same way, if the original document would contain e.g. one object in cyan and one in magenta (and nothing else), creating a Custom Mark from the cyan object would make magenta the first ink in the ink manager, so the mark would change from cyan to magenta.
Can I start from an existing standard mark to create my own mark symbols ?
Yes, you can, as long as you remember to
expand
the mark / symbol first (i.e. making it a regular object instead of a symbol).
What if I delete a symbol in the DynamicMarks(_CS6).ai file ?
If you delete a symbol in the DynamicMarks.ai file, the symbol will obviously no longer be available in the
Set Symbol
list. If you delete the default symbol for a Standard Mark, creating the corresponding Standard Mark will result in an error message. To fix this, you have to create these symbols again manually.
Existing marks will NOT be affected, since the symbol is internally copied in the file when creating the mark, or when setting a different symbol. This also means that you can open a file with marks using custom symbols (saved in your local DynamicMarks.ai file) on another computer without loosing the marks.
225
9
DeskPack Advanced
9. Image Extractor
9.1 Introduction
This plug-in allows you to make internal images external in Adobe Illustrator. You can select an internal image in the document and export it. The internal image will be replaced by the link to the outside image. The reverse operation (make external images internal) is supported by this plug-in for Esko CTs only. You will be asked to select the format of the external file – TIFF,
DCS2, Photoshop DCS2 or Esko CT. Formats not suitable for the image data are disabled. Part of the Image Extractor for Illustrator plug-in is support for placing (embedding/linking) Esko CT file formats into the Illustrator document.
This document contains the following topics:
•
Supported embedded raster image types
•
Image Extractor for Illustrator workflow
•
9.2 Supported embedded raster image types
• 1bit rasters
• GrayScale + optional alpha
• CMYK - CMYK + alpha (including “PDF for Illustrator”)
• Device-N
• “PDF for Illustrator”
• “Photoshop PSD” - embedded object (every spot layer has its own path art object)
• Device-N + alpha
• “PDF for Illustrator”
Rasters can be clipped. Special effects and transparency are supported only in the simple raster images (defined by one art object in Illustrator).
Due to Illustrator's limitations Device-N embedded images are exported to TIFF file each time with empty CMYK channels.
9.3 Image Extractor for Illustrator workflow
There are two ways of exporting images:
•
226
DeskPack Advanced
•
Export all images in the document
9.3.1 Export one image
1.
Select the image you want to export.
2.
In the menu select: “
Window
>
Esko
>
Image Extractor
>
Export Image
”. The following dialog appears:
9
3.
Select the appropriate file format and click 'OK'.
The standard “Save As” dialog appears:
4.
Enter the name of the exported file and click 'Save'. The image will be exported and relinked to the exported file in Illustrator.
227
9
DeskPack Advanced
Caution:
When you work in an Automation Engine or FlexRip environment, it is recommended to write exported files to the Automation Engine container.
9.3.2 Export of all images in the document
1.
In the menu select:
Window
>
Esko
>
Image Extractor
>
Export All Images
. The engine of Image Extractor for Illustrator goes through the whole document and collects all images.
The dialog “Export All Images” appears.
The number of images that will be exported is indicated at the top.
Folder
specifies to which directory the images should be written.
File Name starts with
specifies the prefix of each exported image. The name of each image is created with the prefix and order in the export.
File Format
indicates the format in wich the image(s) will be exported. Only formats that can store every image in the document are displayed.
228
DeskPack Advanced
9
2.
After exporting the images the directory may contain following files: e.g. c:\picture_0.ct; c:
\picture_1.ct; c:\picture_2.ct; c:\picture_3.ct; …
9.4 Other features
•
Image Extractor for Illustrator supports placing (embedding/linking) of Esko CT files
•
What Image Extractor for Illustrator does not support
9.4.1 Placing (embedding/linking) of Esko CT files
• Image Extractor for Illustrator can place (embed/link) Esko CT files into the Illustrator document.
• If the Esko CT file contains a preview image, you will be asked if you want to place the preview or the actual image in the document, for embedding as well as for linking.
• When the Esko CT file is linked and someone modifies the file, Illustrator displays a message box offering an update.
Note:
When using a preview of an Esko CT file, this preview will be used even for printing, etc…
9.4.2 What Image Extractor for Illustrator does not support
• Some special types of embedded PSD (layered PSD, opacity mask used in a special way
(CMYK raster art connected to the opacity mask), text in the hierarchy, special clipping paths for the layer…)
229
9
• Export data to PSD file format
• ICC profile of the document is not stored into an external image file.
DeskPack Advanced
230
DeskPack Advanced
10
10. Instant Trapper
10.1 Introduction
Instant Trapper is the new interactive trapping tool from EskoArtwork, available as a plug-in for
Adobe Illustrator. It allows pre-press professionals to compensate for mis-registration effects on graphical objects.
With Instant Trapper, you can indicate adjoining colorpairs and create correctly shaped and colored trap objects in a very intuitive way. You always stay in control of where and how trap objects are created.
Since Instant Trapper generates the trap objects in a separate layer, trapping becomes a nondestructive process. Any trap object is fully editable and can be shown or hidden for various proofing purposes.
10.2 Getting Started with Instant Trapper
To introduce you to Instant Trapper, here is how to make your first trap.
1.
Open the document you want to trap in Adobe Illustrator
®
.
2.
In Illustrator’s
Tools
panel, double-click Instant Trapper’s
Trap to Objects
or
Trap to All
tool.
231
10
DeskPack Advanced
3.
In the
Instant Trapper
palette that opens, choose your trapping parameters (
Trap
Distance
,
Truncate
mode,
Corners
type and
Trapping to White Objects
or not).
232
DeskPack Advanced
10
For more information about the trapping parameters, see
Setting Instant Trapper Parameters
on page 234.
4.
Trap your object as follows:
• To spread an object to another object,
click
into the first object with the
Trap to Objects
tool,
drag
the cursor into the second object and
click
.
•
To spread an object to all objects touching it,
click
into it with the
Trap to All
tool.
Note:
Use
Option
to change the direction from spread to choke.
For more information about trapping an object to another object, or to all objects of the background / foreground touching it, see:
•
Using the Trap to Objects Tool
•
on page 239.
233
10
DeskPack Advanced
10.3 The Instant Trapper Plug-in
The Instant Trapper plug-in consists of two tools (
Trap to Objects
and
Trap to All
), and a
Instant Trapper
palette.
• The
Trap to Objects
tool enables you to do full or partial interactive trapping of objects to other objects.
You can use it for more complex trapping, for example when part of an object has to spread to another object, while another part has to be choked by a third object.
• The
Trap to All
tool enables you to do fast, simple interactive trapping of objects to all adjoining objects in the background / foreground. The background is everything under the object (flat paint, images, other objects...), the foreground is everything on top of it.
You can use it to trap a single object, or several similar objects (e.g. letters of a text block).
• The
Instant Trapper
palette contains trapping parameters. See
on page 234.
10.4 Setting Instant Trapper Parameters
1.
Double-click the
Trap to Objects
or the
Trap to All
tool to open the
Instant Trapper
palette.
234
Note:
For more information on the
Trap to Objects
and the
Trap to All
tools, see
on page 236 and
on page 239.
2.
Set the
Trap Distance
.
The unit used for the
Trap Distance
is the
General
unit defined in Illustrator’s
Unit and
Display Performance Preferences
.
3.
Choose how to
Truncate
your traps’ endings:
On center
(as in the left picture below) or
On edge
(as in the right picture below).
DeskPack Advanced
10
4.
Choose how you want the
Corners
of your traps to be:
Round
(as in the left picture
below) or
Mitered
(as in the right picture below).
5.
Choose what you want to do when your file contains white objects.
• Leave
Trap to White Objects
enabled to be able to trap colored objects to white objects / a white background.
• Disable
Trap to White Objects
if you don’t want to trap colored objects to white objects / a white background. This will prevent you from accidentally trapping to white
objects (and will give a warning when you do).
235
10
DeskPack Advanced
Note:
You can always trap a white object to another object, as the trap will not be visible.
10.5 Trapping
Both the
Trap to Objects
and the
Trap to All
tools create traps in your document’s
Trap
Layer
. If your document doesn’t contain a trap layer, Instant Trapper will create one.
Note:
The trap layer needs to be the topmost layer of your document and be called
Trap
Layer
for Instant Trapper to recognize it. If it isn’t, Instant Trapper will create a new trap layer on top of the other layers.
10.5.1 Using the Trap to Objects Tool
• You can find the
Trap to Objects
tool in Illustrator’s
Tools
panel.
236
DeskPack Advanced
10
Trapping an Object to Another Object
• To spread an object to another object: a) click into the object to spread, b) drag the cursor (that draws an arrow) into the other object (across the boundary between the two objects) and click.
237
10
DeskPack Advanced
• To change the trapping direction (from spread to choke), hold
Option
while dragging the cursor’s arrow.
Note:
To cancel a trap while you are dragging the arrow, use
Escape
or
Command + . (dot)
.
To cancel a trap after dragging the arrow, use
Command + Z
(or
Ctrl + Z
on PC).
Attention:
The two objects you want to trap must have a common edge.
When trying to trap two objects that appear to be touching but don’t actually have a common edge, you will get a warning message.
This is the case for example when there is a small gap, or a third object like a stroke, in between the two objects.
Trapping an Object to Several Other Objects
• To spread an object to several other objects: a) click into the object to spread, b) click the background and hold the mouse down to drag a rectangle around the other objects.
238
DeskPack Advanced
10
Note:
This traps all objects in the rectangle you drag in the same direction (in the example above, the purple star and the orange circle are both choked by the green rectangle).
If you need to trap different objects in different directions, you should use combined
• To change the trapping direction (from spread to choke), hold
Option
while dragging the arrow.
Trapping Several Objects to One Object
• To spread several objects to one object: a) drag a rectangle around the objects to spread, b) drag the arrow into the object to spread them into and click.
Note:
This uses the same trapping direction for all objects in the rectangle you drag.
If you need to trap different objects in different directions, you should use combined
• To change the trapping direction (from spread to choke), hold
Option
while dragging the arrow.
10.5.2 Using the Trap to All Tool
• You can find the
Trap to All
tool in Illustrator’s
Tools
panel.
239
10
DeskPack Advanced
240
Trapping an Object to All Adjoining Objects
• To spread an object
to the background and the foreground
(to all objects under it and on top of it), click in it.
DeskPack Advanced
10
• To choke it instead of spreading it, hold
Option
while clicking in it.
• To spread an object
to the background only
(to all objects under it), hold
Shift
while clicking in it.
• To choke it with the background, hold
Option
and
Shift
while clicking in it.
Note:
Instant Trapper treats an object and its stroke as two different objects.
Therefore it will not trap the fill object to the background as the stroke object is between the fill object and the background.
Trapping Several Objects to All Adjoining Objects
• To spread several objects
to the background and foreground
(to all objects under or on top of them), drag a rectangle around these objects.
• To choke several objects with the background and foreground, hold
Option
while dragging the rectangle around the objects.
• To spread several objects
to the background only
(to all objects under it), hold
Shift
while dragging the rectangle.
241
10
DeskPack Advanced
• To choke several objects with the background, hold
Option
and
Shift
while dragging the rectangle.
Note:
Instant Trapper treats an object and its stroke as two different objects.
When spreading a fill object and a stroke object to the background, Instant Trapper will only spread the stroke object to the background, as it is between the fill object and the background.
It will not spread the fill object to the stroke object, as the stroke object is on top of the fill object in the file.
10.5.3 Combined Traps
When trapping an object to two or more other objects, you can use Combined Trapping to get a smoother connection between the different traps, and thus a better visual result.
Use this in particular to trap an object to other objects intersecting with each other.
In the example below, you can see the difference between trapping with separate actions and Combined Trapping, when spreading an object to two intersecting objects.
• When using two separate trapping actions, you may have a gap between the traps (at the boundary between the second -orange- and the third -purple- objects).
• When using Combined Trapping to perform both traps at once, there is no gap at the boundary between the second and the third objects.
242
DeskPack Advanced
10
Note:
To know how to perform Combined Trapping, see
on page 243.
Trapping using Combined Traps
• With the
Trap to Objects
tool: a) click into the first object, b) hold
Shift
, c) drag the arrow into the second object to spread (hold
Option
to choke) and click.
• Still holding
Shift
, a) click again into the first object, b) drag the arrow into the third object to spread (hold
Option
to choke) and click.
243
10
DeskPack Advanced
• Release
Shift
.
This traps the first object to both the second and the third objects.
10.6 Known Limitations
Images
OPI Images
Instant Trapper doesn’t support OPI images.
Foreign Art
Instant Trapper does not support certain types of objects created in other applications, for example complex gradients. You will get a warning message when trying to trap a foreign art
object.
244
DeskPack Advanced
10
Non-Clipped Images
When spreading an image, Instant Trapper uses the underlying image data (when the image is clipped) to create the trap.
When there is no underlying image data (the image isn’t clipped), it will create an empty trap.
Softmasks
When trapping objects with softmasks, traps will stop at the edge of the softmask (as you can see below). This is because Instant Trapper treats the softmask as a single object.
Patterns
When trapping patterned objects, Instant Trapper will treat each individual pattern as a separate object.
245
10
DeskPack Advanced
Tip:
With the Trap to Objects tool, draw a rectangle around the whole patterned object before trapping it to another object. See
Trapping Several Objects to One Object
on page 239
for more details.
Strokes
Strokes in the Same Color as the Fill
When an object has a stroke, it is not possible to trap its fill to other objects in the background, because the stroke is in between.
When the stroke has the same color as the fill, it may not be immediately visible, either in
Preview or in Outline view, so it may not be obvious to you why Instant Trapper won’t trap the
fill to other objects in the background.
246
Speed
Database Synchronization
DeskPack Advanced
10
When trapping a document for the first time (drawing the first trap), Instant Trapper needs to synchronize its internal database. This may cause some delay for larger files.
Note:
Instant Trapper uses the same internal database as the EskoArtwork viewX plugin.This means that if you have already synchronized the database using viewX (by generating a preview), Instant Trapper won’t need to do it for the same document (and vice-versa).
1-bit Images
You may experience speed issues when trapping complex 1-bit images (for example image masks).
Progress Window
When trapping big and complex files, you may get a progress window, and the cancel button in the progress window may sometimes not be immediately responsive.
Tip:
To cancel a trap in this situation, use the Escape key.
Blend Modes
Objects with Blend Modes
When trapping objects containing blend modes, the traps will be flattened, but the visual result will be the same.
Text
Vectorizable Text
Instant Trapper can only trap live text if the text’s font is vectorizable in Illustrator.
247
11
DeskPack Advanced
11. PDF Import
11.1 The PDF Import plug-in
The
PDF Import
plug-in allows opening Esko Normalized PDF files in Adobe Illustrator. Almost every PDF object or construction that can be present in an Esko Normalized PDF is supported, and no non-native art (also known as foreign art) is created.
In addition to the artwork content, various high-level information or
metadata
is preserved.
It also improves speed and memory allocation of Adobe Illustrator when a single raster file is linked multiple times into the Illustrator document,even when PDF Import is not directly used to import the document.
Errors and warnings generated during the import are logged to the
Messages
palette.
Known limitations:
Gradients of type Conical, Rectangle and Parallellogramic created by PackEdge cannot be imported in Adobe Illustrator, because Adobe Illustrator doesn't support those types of gradients
11.2 Opening a PDF file
The behavior of the PDF Import plug-in and Illustrator depends on the type of file being opened:
• .inpdf : When the file being opened has the suffix .inpdf, it is automatically opened by
PDF Import.
•
with Illustrator data: When the file being opened is an Adobe PDF with preserved
Illustrator editability, it is opened as Illustrator document.
• Regular .pdf : For all other PDF files, the following dialog is shown. PDF Import is used when the first option (Esko PDF) is chosen. Adobe Illustrator shows this dialog automatically when multiple file import filters support the file being opened.
248
DeskPack Advanced
11
When the PDF file has multiple pages, a dialog will pop up, allowing you to specify the page you want to import
If you enter a page number that is not in the PDF file, the nearest possible page number will be taken.
11.3 High-level information preserved by PDF Import
11.3.1 Layers
All Layer names are preserved, as well as the locked status and the printability flag.
249
11
DeskPack Advanced
Note:
The Normalized PDF format does not support the hidden/visible flag, therefore all layers (and artwork) present in the PDF file are imported as visible.
11.3.2 Named objects
For named objects, the names of the artwork are preserved.
11.3.3 Inks
Esko screenings, ink types, ink books, ink order and Printing Method as shown in the Ink
Manager are preserved.
11.3.4 Object based screening
Object based Esko screening is preserved and shown in the InkManager. The Screening plug-in is not needed for this functionality.
11.3.5 Structural Design (CAD) data
The original structural design file is reimported using the Structural Design plug-in that is part of
Esko Data Exchange
.
The original placement origin, rotation angle, front/back side, and printable part selection are preserved. When the structural design file cannot be found, the user is asked to browse for it.
When it still can’t be found or importing fails, the original Structural Design layer is imported in expanded state and the link to the external file is lost.
11.3.6 Page boxes
All page boxes (Media Box, Trim Box, Crop Box, Art Box and Bleed Box) are imported and shown by the Trim Box and Media Box plug-in.
11.3.7 Text and fonts
When importing text, only the PDF content is imported. High-level editor-specific features such as styles are not in the PDF, and thus not preserved.
Text paragraphs are not preserved, and in general text lines are not preserved as well, depending on the formatting. It may happen that text is split into several text objects, where each object has a constant font style. In very rare circumstances, when it is not possible to determine the encoding, the text is contourized.
250
DeskPack Advanced
11
Any font available to Illustrator can be used without any limitations. When a font not available to Illustrator is used, a substitution is used. However, the original font name is preserved in the
Illustrator document. Illustrator gives the following warning in such cases:
When such a document is saved and reopened on a system with the font installed, it will be correctly rendered without any warning.
11.3.8 Linework with mixed (DeviceN) colors
Adobe Illustrator does not support mixing multiple inks (combinations of multiple spot inks or process inks and a spot ink) in a single fill or stroke. Instead, they are simulated by multiple fills resp. strokes visible in the Appearance palette.
When PDF Import encounters a path object with a DeviceN fill or stroke, it is imported as multiple appearances with additional fills resp. strokes put into overprint. Such appearances are supported by boostX Ink Mix which can work with them further. However, the Ink Mix plugin is not needed for this functionality of PDF Import.
11.3.9 Linked images
PDF Import supports links to external images. The links are preserved.
Some file formats for external images are supported in a (Normalized) PDF, but are not supported by Adobe Illustrator. For example multichannel PSD files can be placed in PackEdge or ArtPro, but it is not possible to open such Normalized PDF using this plugin because Adobe
Illustrator does not support this variant of PSD. A workaround is to embed the PSD in PackEdge or ArtPro first. The following error is shown by Adobe Illustrator in such cases:
251
11
DeskPack Advanced
The
Image Extractor
plug-in is used for linked Esko CT/LP files. This is a free (non-licensed) functionality of Image Extractor.
Linked files with remapped inks are imported as Channel Mapped images. The visual representation will be correct, however a valid license for the Channel Mapping plug-in is needed to edit the channel mapping.
Adobe Illustrator has performance problems when a single document contains many linked rasters, or few linked files are referenced many times. It may sometimes cause that only Outline preview can be used. The PDF Import plug-in improves the handling of such documents.
Note:
This optimization works also for non-Normalized PDF files, including native Adobe Illustrator documents, but only as long as the PDF Import is installed.
Missing images
It sometimes happens that the referenced file is not found. Then the following dialog pops up:
252
There are 3 options:
•
Leave Unresolved
: Only a single-pixel placeholder is embedded.
The link to the original file is lost. The
Links
palette can be used to relink to the original file when it becomes available (or to any other file).
DeskPack Advanced
11
•
Use Embedded
: The image preview embedded in the PDF is used. Normalized PDF often contains a preview with a low resolution (up to 72 dpi). However, often there is just a singlepixel placeholder.
The link to the original file is lost. The
Links
palette can be used to relink to the original file when it becomes available (or to any other file).
•
Relink
: the standard file dialog opens, asking the user to find the missing linked file. When this option is selected, the
Use path for the rest of missing images
option becomes enabled.
11.3.10 Dynamic Barcodes
Barcodes in Normalized PDF, created by PackEdge or an Automation Engine server task, are preserved and recognised as barcode objects. If the Dynamic Barcode plug-in is installed and licensed, it allows user to modify parameters of the barcodes supported by the Dynamic
Barcode plugin.
As from version 16, also live Bar Codes created by ArtPro+, saved in PDF+ format, will be imported.
11.3.11 Notes
Notes written by PackEdge, Plato or using the Notes plug-in in Adobe Illustrator, will be imported.
For more information on working with notes, see
on page 253
11.3.12 Inspection Points
Inspection Points and Inspection Boxes written by PackEdge, Plato or the Inspection Setup
Plug-in in Adobe Illustrator, will be imported.
For more information we refer to the
Inspection Setup Plug-in
documentation, which is part of the Esko Data Exchange documentation. See
https://www.esko.com/en/Support/Product?
id=Esko%20Data%20Exchange%20for%20Adobe%20Illustrator
11.4 Working with Notes
Using the Notes tool, you can add and edit notes in your document.
253
11
DeskPack Advanced
Importing and saving notes
Notes are saved in the Normalized PDF file as regular PDF Comments, and will show up as
"Sticky notes" in Adobe Acrobat. Sticky notes created in Acrobat will also show up in Adobe
Illustrator, while other types of comments (text corrections, highlights, ...), and note properties or statusses are disregarded when opening a PDF file in Adobe Illustrator.
When importing a Normalized PDF containing notes created in ArtPro, PackEdge, Plato or
DeskPack, these notes will also show up in Adobe Illustrator.
Notes in Adobe Illustrator
254
When selecting the
Notes
tool from the toolbox, all Notes become visible in the document.
A note consists of two parts: the
Note
itself, the yellow balloon indicating the location of the note, and the
Note Pop-up
, containing text, the name of the user that created it, and the time of creation.
DeskPack Advanced
11
When hovering over a note, the Note Pop-up is temporarily shown. When clicking the note, the
Note Pop-up is opened, and you can edit its content. It will stay open until you close it using the
X
button.
Adding and editing notes
• To create a note, select the
Note tool
and click in your document.
• To move a note, click and drag the note.
• Select another tool to hide all notes and note pop-ups. Selecting the Note tool will make all notes visible again. The note pop-ups that were open before will be reopened.
• To delete a note, hover over the note, and click the red cross.
• To hide a note pop-up, click the X in the top right corner. This doesn't affect the note itself, it only hides the pop-up
255
12
DeskPack Advanced
12. Preflight
12.1 The Preflight for Illustrator Concept
12.1.1 What is Preflight for Illustrator ?
Preflight for Illustrator is a plug-in designed to evaluate the contents of your Adobe Illustrator document by comparing each object attribute to a user-defined set of design or print specifications. After checking, Preflight for Illustrator locates every problem object and allows you to edit. Validation can be done interactively.
Another feature of Preflight for Illustrator lets you collect all items related to the job, which makes it the ideal companion plug-in if you regularly transfer files to printshops.
12.1.2 Import/Export of parameter sets
A pre press shop could create some parameter sets, which are distributed to all the design houses they work with. These companies can check their designs with these parameter sets. This will reduce costs at both sides: the design houses deliver better artwork (avoiding potential additional costs for fixing problems in the print shop), and the print shop knows upfront if a job is good quality or not.
12.1.3 How Preflight for Illustrator works
Preflight for Illustrator compares the values of object attributes to the values stored in a
Parameter Set. This means that relations between objects are ignored. The above has an impact on the Preflight for Illustrator definition of “NEGATIVE” strokes: A 3% cyan stroke with a 1 mm width on top of a dark background is regarded as “negative”, while 2 dark rectangles with a 1 mm gap inbetween on a 3% cyan background do not trigger a “negative” situation.
Actually, the program does not look at the background (since only individual object attributes are regarded), if a stroke has a color of which the sum of percentages of ink components is below the predefined value, the stroke will be assigned “negative”, regardless of the underlying color. Finally, the detection of a negative line (or color, for “negative fonts”) is based on the sum
256
DeskPack Advanced
12 of all ink percentages, and so NOT on the luminance of an object. 5% yellow is as negative as
5% black or 2% cyan plus 3% magenta.
12.1.4 Units
Note:
Preflight for Illustrator adapts the Units and Undo settings from the AI preferences menu.
12.2 The Window Submenu
Preflight for Illustrator adds a new sub menu to Window menu, containing the following entries:
Thin Parts
allows to search for areas where objects are thinner than a given minimum width.
Collect Files...
opens a preferences dialog box which lets you collect all external files of the current job, and write them to a separate directory. External files include images, fonts and ICC profiles.
Preflight Parameters
shows the palette for editing parameters that will be used when checking.
Validator
shows the check palette which is used for checking and selecting objects that do not match the specified values.
257
12
DeskPack Advanced
The
Font List
tool is used to manage the classification of used fonts.
Depending on the installation sequence, the order of appearance of the above items can change. In this guide, they will be explained according to what we think is a preferred workflow.
Note:
The first time that Show Check or Show Edit Parameters is activated, either of the windows will open together with the other in one window. Corresponding with the standard Illustrator windows, this window is subdivided in tabs. The selected menu item will be shown as the tab in front. As with the other Illustrator window tabs, these tabs can be dragged outside the window to create a new window with only this tab.
12.3 The Preflight for Illustrator Parameter Tabsheet
This tabsheet contains all parameters that can be specified for checking. The window is divided in tabs:
•
on page 259: color and/or ink related settings
•
on page 261: external image settings
•
on page 261: line width and other line settings
•
on page 262: text setttings
•
on page 263: miscellaneous settings.
Each tab can be enabled/disabled.
The bottom of the dialog contains the ‘current parameter set’ name, and a hint whether this set has been modified or not: if modified, the name is suffixed with a ‘+’ sign. The Revert button at the bottom right restores the saved parameter settings from the current set.
Many parameters or parameter groups have an info button at the right side of the dialog box.
Clicking this button opens a text entry dialog, where user information related to that particular parameter can be entered.
When the Preflight for Illustrator Custom User Help Info Dialog Box has opened, clicking inside the text window allows you to add or edit text.
Clicking the OK button stores the text to the current parameter set, while clicking Cancel disregards the changes.
The info can be seen either by clicking the info button, or in the info window of the Validator when the appropriate rule is selected.
258
DeskPack Advanced
12
The Info Dialog Box can be particularly useful for explaining non-experienced users why certain parameters require specific values. It helps you to understand the printing process and, therefore, to avoid more mistakes.
12.3.1 Color
This tab allows you to define parameters regarding color and ink usage in a job.
Following parameters can be set:
• Maximum Number of Allowed Process Inks determines how many process inks can be used in the job.
• Maximum Number of Allowed Spot Colors determines how many spot colors can be used.
• Maximum Number of Allowed Inks determines how many inks can be used altogether.
• Always Include in Ink Count: determines the process colors that must be counted as a used ink even when not used in the job (see remark).
• Warn on RGB Inks Usage: Preflight for Illustrator will report all objects that use an RGB color specification. Only RGB colors defined in Illustrator are considered, if e.g. an RGB image is imported, Illustrator does not generate extra colors.
• Treat Registration Color as Process Color: When activated, the color “registration” is regarded as CMYK components, thus counted as 4 inks, even if no or less than 4 process inks are in the job. This is useful in a composite workflow, where often registration marks are converted to CMYK by default.
Note:
Always Include in Ink Count: This feature can be important if changing an ink in a printing tower is not allowed. Some printers always keep all process colors on their press because changing an ink comes too expensive. This means that, for example on a five color press, only
1 spot color can be used on that press.
This is a traditional CMYK setup, for a 4 tower press which only prints process inks.
If any spot colors are defined and used in
259
12
DeskPack Advanced
the job, Preflight for Illustrator will report this and request to convert to CMYK.
In this setup, the 4 process colors plus one spot color may be used. If more than one spot color is used in the design, Preflight for Illustrator will notify you.
This is an example for a 5 tower press, where 3 spot colors can be used. If the design contains
2 process inks only, and 3 spot colors, there is a valid situation. Other valid combinations are: 3 process / 2 spot 4 process / 1 spot.
In this example the C, M and K ink should always be counted, even if they are not used.
This means that, if the job contains e.g. black, cyan, yellow and 2 spot colors, an error will be reported, although only five inks are used.
260
DeskPack Advanced
12
12.3.2 Image
This tab allows you to define parameters regarding imported images.
Following parameters can be set:
• Check on EPSF images If any EPSF (EPS) images are referred to in the job, Preflight for
Illustrator will notify you.
• Check on TIFF images, If any TIFF images are referred to in the job, Preflight for Illustrator will notify you.
• Check on Other images, this option will invoke notification if the design references external images which are not EPSF and/or TIFF.
• Check on Embedded images, this option signals if the design contains embedded images
(not linked).
• Check on RGB images, this option signals whether the design uses RGB images of any type.
• List Resolution of Images when enabled, the resolution of all images will be compared to the specified values. A minimum and a maximum resolution setting is available for both
Contone and Bitmap images.
12.3.3 Line
The line tab sets parameters for linewidths.
Min Width for Negative Line will report a problem for negative lines that are thinner than the specified width (see How Preflight for Illustrator works for a definition of “negative”).The
value for “negative “ color can be defined in the Other tab, with the Color is Negative if Percent
Below... parameter.
Min Width for Single Ink Line will report a problem for single color lines that are thinner than the specified width (single color means that the color of the line only contains one ink component).
Min Width for Multi Ink Linewill report a problem for multi ink lines that are thinner than the specified width (multi ink means that the color of the line contains more than one ink component).
Warn if Line has More Than 1 Ink will report a problem if the design contains stroked objects where the stroke color contains more than 1 ink.
261
12
DeskPack Advanced
Caution:
Preflight for Illustrator does not take brushstrokes into account.
12.3.4 Font
The Font tab parameters search your job for fonts that may cause difficulties in printing because their size is too small or some parts of the characters are too small.
Also, text which is perceived as ‘negative’ will be more difficult to print in the same small sizes as ‘positive’ characters.
Small text built up with more than one ink can be misregistered and, as a consequence, look fuzzy in print.
Following parameters can be set regarding Fonts:
Minimum size for Single Ink text will report a problem if single ink text is found that has a smaller font size than the specified value (where single ink means that the color of the text only contains one ink component).
Minimum size for Negative text will report a problem if negative text is found that has a smaller font size than the specified value (negative is defined later in this document).
Minimum size for Multi Ink text will report a problem if negative text is found that has a smaller font size than the specified value (where multi ink means that the color of the text contains more than one ink component).
By default, the same settings apply for all types of fonts. However, separate settings can be entered for Serif fonts and Bold fonts (Serif fonts have a short decorative line at the start or
finish of a stroke in a letter, and are therefore more difficult to print).
262
The following logic applies when checking fonts:
• if a font is both Serif and Bold: If ‘Check on Serif Fonts’ is enabled, the Serif parameter setting is applied. If ‘Check on Bold Fonts’ is enabled, the Bold parameter setting is applied.
If both items are checked, the highest value will apply (see examples).
• For Bold fonts: If ‘Check on Bold Fonts’ is enabled, the Bold parameter is applied. Otherwise the ‘standard’ settings are applied.
• For Serif fonts: If ‘Check on Serif Fonts’ is enabled, the Serif parameter is applied. Otherwise the ‘standard’ settings are applied.
• For all other fonts, the ‘standard’ settings are applied.
DeskPack Advanced
12
The font in this example (Times New Roman) has been defined as ‘Bold’ in the Font List (see the Preflight Fonts List part). 3 lines of text are placed in the job, at respective font sizes of
6, 8, and 10 points. The parameters for standard single ink fonts are set to 12 points, for serif fonts to 14 points and for bold fonts to 10 points. After checking, Preflight for Illustrator reports 3 small text object, while only the 6 and 8 point text is lower than what was defined for bold text: 10 points.
Minimum x-height
allows to check for a minimum x-height of the font family. The x-height is the height of the letter "x"
Build Font List
This option will build a list with all fonts available on your system. Clicking this button has the same result as selecting the Show Font List option in the Window Submenu.
This list is automatically created or updated when launching Illustrator, but in some situations
(e.g. when activating new fonts while working on a job) an update might be necessary.
For more details on this, refer to the chapter The Font List.
12.3.5 Other
The Other tab contains all parameters that are difficult to be catalogued within one of the other tabs:
Minimum Dot percentage will report a problem, if colors are used that have an ink component using a density value below the specified percentage. Zero percent will always be ignored.
263
12
DeskPack Advanced
Maximum Dot percentage will report a problem, if colors are used that have a component using a density value above the specified percentage. 100% is treated as an exception: if
‘Include Solid’ is enabled, 100% components will also report a problem, while if disabled, no problem will be reported.
Minimum Object size will report a problem, if objects are found that have a bounding box that is smaller than the specified value in horizontal and/or vertical direction.The unit of measurement is adapted from the current settings in the Illustrator Units & Undo Preferences.
Maximum Total Density will report a problem if the total sum of color components of a color exceeds the specified value.
Color is Negative determines the total sum of percentages of ink components that still determine whether a color is negative: if the sum is below the specified value, the color is regarded as negative.
Check for Non-Printing Layers will report a problem if a layer is non-printable.
Note:
A known limitation: Assume the check parameters are set as follows: min: 3%, max 97 %, assume that you have a gradient from 0% to 97%. This gradient will not be flagged as wrong even though the minima are not respected. This is because white (0%) is always ignored and because Preflight for Illustrator does not check in between stops, it only checks the actual stops, in this case: 0% and 97%.
12.3.6 Parameter options
When the Parameters Tab is active, clicking the arrow in the top right corner of the window folds out a management menu for Parameter sets:
264
DeskPack Advanced
12
Open Parameter Set... allows you to open a previously saved parameter set. There is no need to browse, Preflight for Illustrator stores its parameter sets in a dedicated directory. If a set is password protected, the password must be entered in order to load the set.
Save Parameter Setwill save the current parameter set in a predefined Preflight for Illustrator directory on the BackStage Server or on a DeskPack Container. Enter an appropriate name for the set, according to company workflow standards. If applicable, enter a password in the password field. It then will be requested when loading the set.
Save Parameter Set as... allows you to save the current parameter set with a different name.
New Parameter Set... creates a new parameter set with the default values.
Import Parameter File... allows you to browse to a user-defined folder or location, imports a previously exported parameter set and adds it to the used parameter set list.
Export Parameter File... allows you to browse to a user defined folder or location and save the parameter file with the current parameter file name, or allows you to enter a new name, possibly with a password.
12.4 The Validator Tabsheet
The actual checking is performed using the Validator palette. This dialog contains an overview of all rules that will be checked.The list can grow or shrink according to the options or tab sheets that are enabled.
First, a parameter file is selected. This is done either by interactively defining the parameters in the Parameters tab, or by selecting a parameter file in the Parameter Options menu.
Parameter sets can also be selected in the Validator tab. A pulldown menu allows you to choose from sets which were previously imported with the Import Parameter File... option in the Validator Options Menu.
265
12
DeskPack Advanced
•
•
The Check button will perform the actual inspection. The list is then updated to reflect the reported problems and/or occurances.
Stop at violating rule This option determines whether Preflight for Illustrator will perform all tests or stops at the first one that reports problems.
The indicator on the right, above the list box is the overall status indicator. Whenever one or more rules indicate irregularities, this icon reflects this, to avoid missing out an error while scrolling the list:
A grey dot means that the job has not been checked yet, or the design was changed after the latest check, possibly introducing new problems, which makes a new inspection necessary.
A green dot indicates the job has been checked and no problems have been found.
•
An exclamation sign means that anomalities have been found.
Each rule can be in 4 states:
1.
The rule has not been checked, or the latest check is no longer valid.
2.
The rule has been checked successfully.
3.
The rule has been checked, and 4 anomalities were found.
4.
The rule has been checked, 6 anomalities were found, and the 2nd irregular object is currently selected in the Illustrator job.
After checking, the dialog changes as follows: If Stop at Violating Rule is enabled, the rule indicators will turn green upto the one that reports an irregularity. This one shows a yellow exclamation mark. The following rule indicators will stay grey. If Stop at Violating Rule is disabled, all rule indicators will show green except for those with a problem, which will be yellow.
In both cases, the Select First button will be enabled after a check. Clicking it will select the first violating object. The button then changes to Select Next. After every violating object has been selected, the button is disabled again. Activating the Select All button selects all violating instances for the currently selected rule. Clicking Check again will recheck the design, from the selected rule onwards.
266
DeskPack Advanced
12
Note:
If AI Units and Undo preferences are set on pixels, the Valdator will provide no information (e.g.
on minimum object size and such.
12.4.1 The Validator Options Menu
Clicking the black triangle in the top right corner of the Validator tab sheet displays following options: Show/Hide Info This toggle adds or removes an extra info field at the bottom of the Validator window. After checking your job, selecting individual report lines then shows extra information, like the parameters used for that particular report line. If the button Show
Parameter Values is disabled above the info field, the text window will only show user defined info. Import Parameter File... imports a parameter file that was exported with Preflight for
Illustrator. The parameter file is saved automatically in a dedicated directory, and added to the parameter file list in Preflight for Illustrator Ignore Invisible Layers This feature will prevent Preflight for Illustrator from analyzing invisible layers, hereby overruling the setting in the Preflight for Illustrator Parameters Other tab. Auto Select First Violation If any, this option automatically selects the first anomalies found after a check. Zoom to Selection When activated, the object which reports anomalities will be zoomed into, and centered in the
Document Window.
12.5 Select by Attributes
The Select by Attributes option opens the Select by Attributes palette, from which you can define a custom selection filter based on the attributes of the objects in the Illustrator document. Select By Attribute is both a productivity and a QA tool. It allows you to quickly select all elements in the file (or sub-select within a selection) that comply with your criteria; color, object type, appearance and even the shape of the object. Use it as a QA tool to trace elements in your document that are outside the printing specifications (small text, thin lines, ...). Click
Select
>
Esko
>
Select By Attributes
, to open the Select By Attributes palette.
Why Select by Attributes?
By combining multiple selection criteria in the Select by Attributes panel, you can create your own special, tailor-made selection filter.
267
12
DeskPack Advanced
The Select By Attributes option comes with four buttons
Select
,
Refine
,
Deselect
and
Collect
.
•
Select:
Select all objects in the document that match the criteria that are currently selected .
•
Refine:
Refine the current selection by adding additional selection criteria. This allows you to quickly fine tune your result.
•
Deselect:
Deselect all objects that match the new selection criteria within the current selection.
•
Collect:
Make a Collection of all the objects in the document that match the criteria that are
Selection groups
The following groups of selection criteria are available:
• Object Type
• General Attributes
• Fill and Stroke
• Appearance
• Color
It's good to know that Select By Attributes works differently when combining selections within the same selection group or when combining selection criteria in different selection groups.
When adding selection criteria in the same selection group, Select by Attributes will simply add the search criteria, e.g. searching in "Object Type" for a "Path", "Text" and a "Mesh" will result in a selection of all paths, all text and all mesh objects.
However when combining selections in different selection groups, Select by Attributes will combine the selection criteria. e.g. searching for "Text" in "Object Type" and "Stroke" in "Fill and
Stroke" will only select text objects colored with a stroke.
Note:
Click on a triangle to collapse or expand the section. Alt-click on an expanded section to open all the sections. Alt-click on a collapsed section to expand that secttion and collapse all others.
12.5.1 Object Type
The Object Type group has ten options:
268
DeskPack Advanced
12
Path:
Select objects based on the path type: Open, Closed or Compound. Using
Any option
, the selection is made between objects which are Open, Closed or Compound.
Text:
Select all text, or all text smaller than the point size you specify in the Text field.
Symbol:
Select all the objects that are Adobe Illustrator symbols.
Linked File:
Select objects or images which have been linked to (and not embedded into) the
Adobe Illustrator file.
Image:
Selects all placed image files of the file type defined in the list. The image has to be embedded in the file.
Mesh:
Select all objects that are Adobe Illustrator Mesh objects.
Dynamic Barcodes:
Select dynamic barcode objects generated by the Esko Dynamic Barcodes plug-in.
Dynamic Table:
Select dynamic table objects generated by the Esko Dynamic Tables plug-in.
Dynamic Object:
Select XML-driven dynamic objects generated by the Esko Dynamic Content plug-in.
Thin Part Fix:
Select objects created by using the
Fix
button in the Thin Parts function of the
Preflight For Illustrator plugin.
12.5.2 General Attributes
The General Attributes group has three options:
Name:
Select an object by typing its name. The name of an object can be found and modified in the Illustrator Layer palette. Object names are by default placed between angled brackets (
<
> ). Note that you do not need to type the brackets, and that object names are case sensitive.
Size:
Select the size of the object (smaller or bigger than the typed size in mm).
Shape:
Select the objects which are of the same shapes as defined in the list. Note that the
Similar as Selected Objects option will only function if an object is selected.
12.5.3 Fill and Stroke
The Fill and Strokes group has two options:
269
12
DeskPack Advanced
Fill:
Select the objects with a fill.
Stroke:
Select all strokes, or strokes smaller than the size you specify in the Text field.
12.5.4 Appearance
The Appearence group has seven options:
270
Current Style:
Select objects similar to the selected object. The selection is tied to the style of the Illustrator color palette. This means that you can also search for any object with a certain style.
Fill Type:
Select the objects with a certain Fill type. You can choose between Solid, Gradient or
Pattern.
Opacity :
Select the objects that have a fill or a stroke with an opacity level or transparency lower than a certain percentage.
Blending:
Select objects that have a fill or a stroke set with one of the blending types, for example darken or multiply . Select a blending mode from the drop down list.
Overprint:
Select the objects set in overprint.
Opacity Mask:
Select any objects with an Opacity mask linked to it. Opacity masks are used to alter the transparency of objects and can also be selected via the "Opacity" option.
Effects:
Select any object that has an Adobe Illustrator Effect applied to it.
DeskPack Advanced
12
12.5.5 Color
The Color group has several options:
Fill Color is:
Select an object based on the color used for its fill. By clicking once the color patch will take the color of the object currently selected or when no selection is made it takes the
Illustrator current style. When multiple different objects are selected and you click once the default color black is chosen. Double-clicking the patch will open the Illustrator Color Picker.
StrokeColor is:
Select an object based on the color used for its stroke. By clicking once the color patch will take the color of the object currently selected or when no selection is made it takes the Illustrator current style. When multiple different objects are selected and you click once the default color black is chosen. Double-clicking the patch will open the Illustrator Color
Picker.
Tip:
Change your current style for fill or stroke to "None" (see Tools palette or Appearance) and select all objects with no fill or no stroke.
Fill Contains Ink:
Select an object based on the ink used for its fill. This can be a process color ink or a spot color ink.
• Use the "Lower than" and "Higher than" options to only select the objects with certain percentages of the ink.
• Select the
No other inks present
check box if you only want to select objects with a fill in the selected ink, but without other additional inks.
Stroke Contains Ink:
Select an object based on the ink used for its stroke. This can be a process color ink or a spot color ink.
• Use the "Lower than" and "Higher than" options to only select the objects with certain percentages of the ink.
• Select
No other inks present
check box if you only want to select objects with a stroke in the selected ink, but without other additional inks.
White:
Select any object with a white fill or stroke.
271
12
DeskPack Advanced
12.6 Collection
A
Collection
is a temporary set of objects, based on a selection. It allows to navigate through the objects in the Collection, automatically zooming in on them.
A collection is temporary, and only kept until it is cleared, or until the document is closed.
1.
Select a number of objects.
You can select objects manually, or by using e.g.
Select by Attribute
2.
Choose
Window
>
Esko
>
Collection...
to open the Collection dialog
3.
Click the
Make Collection
button to make a collection based on the selection
Note:
By clicking the
Collect
button in the
Select by Attribute
palette, you can skip step
2 and 3, and immediately create a collection based on the properties set in the Select by
Attribute palette . See also
on page 76
4.
Browse through the collection
The Collection dialog will show the number of objects in the Collection
• Use the browse buttons to navigate through the different objects in the collection
• The Info field shows the type of object currently selected
• Select the
Zoom
option to automatically zoom in on the currently browsed object.
• Select the
Select
option to automatically select the currently browsed object.
272
DeskPack Advanced
12
Note:
Selecting or deselecting objects doesn’t change the collection. You can still select and/or edit objects, without loosing your collection.
12.6.1 Modifying a Collection
You can modify the Collection using one of the functions in the fly-out menu of the Collection palette:
• Click the
Make New Collection
button or select
Make Collection
from the fly-out menu to
"forget" the current collection, and create a new collection based on the current selection.
• Select
Clear Collection
from the fly-out menu to "forget" the current collection.
• Select one or more objects in the job, and select
Add Selection
from the fly-out menu to add the selected objects to the collection.
• Browse to an object in the collection, and select
Remove Selection
from the fly-out menu to remove the selected objects from the collection.
Note:
Objects that are removed in the job, are automatically removed from the collection.
• Select
Select All
from the fly-out menu to select all objects in the collection.
12.7 Thin parts
The
Thin Parts
function allows to search for areas where objects are thinner than a given minimum width.
The Thin parts dialog can be opened by selecting
Window
>
Esko
>
Preflight
>
Thin Parts
Clicking the
Collect
button, will create a Collection of all occurrences, showing all locations where parts of objects are thinner than the entered
Threshold
.
Note:
Keep in mind that strokes are NOT considered.
Note:
Patterns are not supported. Objects with patterns might cause unexpected results when using the Thin Parts functions.
273
12
DeskPack Advanced
The Collection palette will open, so you can browse through all occurences found. See
on page 81 for more information on using a Collection.
Be aware that the Collection generated by
Thin Parts
, unlike normal collections, does NOT contain any real objects. Instead it contains "occurences", virtual outlines of places where objects are thinner than the entered Threshold, possibly including the suggested fix.
In the example underneath you can see that at the ends, the lines around the logo are smaller than the Threshold. The red (virtual) objects show the suggested fix.
Note:
Since the Collection doesn't contain real objects, the
Select
option is disabled in the
Collection palette.
12.7.1 Fixing all Thin Parts
You can use the Thin Parts function to automatically create fixes:
1.
Open the Thin Parts palette, enter the desired Threshold, and click
Collect
2.
In the
Collect
palette, browse through the Thin Parts, and check the suggested fixes.
3.
In the
Thin Parts
palette, click the
Fix All
button.
The
Fix All Thin Parts
function will create objects (as shown in the Collection), immediately on top of the original objects, fixing all Thin Part occurrences.
4.
In the
Select By Attribute
palette, select "Thin Parts" in the Object Type section.
5.
Click the
Collect
button
274
DeskPack Advanced
12
6.
In the
Collection
palette, browse through all fixes, and correct or delete them as necessary.
12.7.2 Fix Thin Parts tool
You can use the Thin Part Tool to interactive create fixes:
1.
Open the Thin Parts window, enter the desired Threshold, and click Collect.
2.
In the Collect palette, browse through the Thin Parts, and check the suggested fixes.
3.
Select the Fix Thin Part tool
4.
Click the Thin Parts you want to fix
The Fix Thin Parts function will create objects (as shown in the Collection), immediately on top of the original object.
Thin Part fixes created with the Fix Thin Part tool can also be selected using Select By Attribute.
See
on page 76
12.7.3 Thin Parts settings
Threshold
: the minimum width below which parts of objects are shown as a "Thin Part" occurence.
Between thick parts
:
If this option is chosen, all thin parts will be flagged. (In the example underneath: the result on top)
If this option is enabled, parts of objects are only flagged as Thin Parts if the thin part is in between two parts of the object above the Threshold. (In the example below: the result shown at the bottom)
275
12
DeskPack Advanced
Suggest Fixes
(in the Fly-out menu): If this option is enabled, Thin Parts will show the suggested fix, instead of just highlighting the Thin Part itself.
Show Centerline
(in the Fly-out menu): If this option is enabled, the centerline of the thin part is shown.
12.8 The Font List
12.8.1 Why would you use font classification?
276
Some font families are less printable than others when it comes to small font sizes. “Serif” fonts, like e.g. Times Roman, have small decorative extensions at corners or extremities of each character. These extensions tend to disappear or fade in print when using extremely small font sizes. Not every printing process suffers equally from this phenomenon. The “bold” font family members, on the other hand, facilitate the printing of small, thus allowing smaller font sizes than normal typefaces.
The information on which characteristics a specific typeface has, is not consistently stored in the fontdata, making it impossible to automatically detect the nature of the font. The font list menu brings a solution to this, allowing the user to manually classify typefaces. This may seem
DeskPack Advanced
12 to be a tedious job at first, but after initial classification, the font database can gradually be updated when more fonts are added.
However, this classification is not compulsory. If there is no need to distinguish between bold, serif and normal fonts in the workflow, assigning a minimum value for normal fonts only will work in most cases, every type instance will be compared to this value only, which can be an average for bold, serif and normal fonts.
Also bear in mind that not every “sans serif” font (a font without these decorative extensions) is easier to print than a serif font, since some font types have both thin and thick parts, which makes it more logical to classify them as “serif” fonts than as “sans serif”.
The assigned values will be stored locally, allowing Preflight for Illustrator to use this database for every job to be checked. This database can be exported for use at other sites where
Preflight for Illustrator is applied.
12.8.2 Parameter Fonts
Each font family member occupies one line in the font list. Next to the font name, 2 checkboxes allow you to classify the typeface with a single click. For serif fonts, mark the box preceded by a capital ‘S’ with the caps accented in red. Bold fonts get a checkmark in the box prededed by a capital ‘B’. The combination of the two is also possible of course.
When Illustrator is launched, your system is scanned for active fonts. These can be fonts residing in your system folder, or fonts activated with a font management tool like ATM,
Suitcase or others. If new fonts are active at that moment, they will be added to the Preflight for Illustrator font list.
Depending on the availability and the state of classification of the font, each font entry can have one of four different colors:
1.
White: the font is classified and available on your system.
2.
Blue: the font is NOT classified yet, but detected as active on your system.
3.
Yellow: The font has been classified before, but is now unavailable on your system.
4.
Purple: The font has not been classified yet and is currently unavailable on your system.
The latter case will happen only rarely, but it may occur in a situation in which a font scan is done on one system, without assigning some fonts, then exporting the font list to another site where the font is currently not unavailable.
12.8.3 Font List Options menu
Clicking the black triangle in the top right corner of the Font List tab sheet reveals additional options:
Accept All Fonts
will change the state of every unclassified font entry to ‘classified’.
277
12
DeskPack Advanced
Import Font File
... Allows you to import a font classification database generated on another system. Selecting this option invokes a standard file browser. After selecting the font database file, an import control dialog opens.
278
It prompts the action Preflight for Illustrator should perform if the imported list contains other classification parameters for the same fonts than those in the current font List. The options are:
•
Completely Replace Font Database
: this option specifies that all entries in the current
Font List will be removed, and the parameters from the imported file will be kept.
•
Accept New Attributes on Conflicts
: the imported entries are merged with the current
Font List, and if there are conflicts, the settings from the import are assigned.
•
Maintain Original Attributes on Conflicts
: the imported font classification entries are merged with the current font list, and if there are conflicts, the settings from the original font list are assigned.
•
Ask on Each Conflict
: the imported entries are merged with the current font list, and in case of conflicts, the user will be prompted to assign the desired classification.
If the last option is selected, a dialog appears when a conflict occurs:
For every conflicting classification, the name of the font is displayed, followed by the original
(local) classification, and then the new (imported) classification.
DeskPack Advanced
12
Following options can be selected:
•
Keep Original
: leaves the classification for this font face as defined on this machine.
•
Use New
: will assign the classification from the imported file.
•
Always Use Original
: stops prompting the user, keeping the local classification for every conflicting font face.
•
Always Use New
: stops prompting the user, assigning the classification from the imported file for every conflicting font face.
Export Font File
will export the current font list settings into an external file.
Revert Font List
will revert any change made in the Font List to the last Save version of the
Font List.
Save Font List
will save the current Font List settings on your hard disk.
Scan for changed fonts
refreshes the font list.
12.9 Collect Files...
This function will collect all necessary items needed to successfully open the current job on a remote site.
Collected files include:
• The actual Illustrator file.
• External referenced objects (images, imported linework EPS...)
• Fonts used in the design
• Used ICC profiles
The collected items can be saved in a folder as native files, or they can be packed in a zip file.
Successful completion
The collection of files will be successful if following criteria are met.
• All linked objects are found (images, fonts)
• the target disk has enough free space.
If collection fails, every item collected so far will be removed again.
Note:
A frequently occurring situation for failed collection is when an Illustrator file is opened, and a warning about missing fonts is ignored.
Note:
Collection fails if Preflight for Illustrator cannot locate the external files or used fonts.
Caution:
Collection will not work with multi file DCS2 files.
279
13
DeskPack Advanced
13. Screening
13.1 Introduction
The current version of DeskPack for Adobe Illustrator can only handle 1 specific Ink parameter set per separation. To be able to apply specific DGC strategies, or to be able to have multiple lineatures and/or multiple angles or screening into a single separation this concept needs to be extended. The usage of these mixtures is very common in Packaging jobs. In addition to the ability to have different DGC strategies applied to different parts of a job, in specific cases it is necessary to exclude certain objects from DGC e.g. compensation might be necessary in specific halftone areas, but not in flat logo tints, since it might damage the integrity of the corporate color. The FlexRip has support for such concepts in case properly tagged objects are provided to the Rip.
When exporting to Normalized PDF file, the additional technical parameters of ink and objects tagged with these inks are exported as well.
This document contains the following topics:
•
Screening for Illustrator overview
•
Screening for Illustrator workflow
•
Added features of the InkManager table
13.2 Screening for Illustrator overview
InkManager allows you to set the technical parameters of the inks. Thanks to InkManager every ink can have its own type, ruling, angle and dotshape set. For some objects Screening for
Illustrator allows you to make exceptions to these inks parameters.
13.3 Screening for Illustrator workflow
The Screening for Illustrator workflow :
1.
InkManager shows you the actual settings of all inks.
280
DeskPack Advanced
13
2.
Select the objects of which you want to change the ink settings.
3.
On the menu select “Window > Esko > Screening”.
The 'Change Ink Options' dialog appears.
The dialog shows you all inks that are used in the selected objects including their ruling, angle and dotshape. You can change the settings of these inks. You can either change one specific ink or set the value to all inks by using the “Apply To All” edit boxes. If several technical parameters of one ink correspond to the selection, the appropriate edits in the
“Change Ink Options” are showing an unequal sign ≠.
4.
After applying the inks, the specific ink’s parameters are set to the object.
5.
The variable inks are shown in the InkManager table.
281
13
DeskPack Advanced
Note:
Currently we do not have the possibility to apply DGCs per object or region.
The best workaround would indeed be the (slight) adjustment of angles of a screen. This method is based on the fact that only a limited set of angles of screens is available in our
FlexRip and that a "map to nearest" rule will be applied to choose the screen.This way 2 screens with a very small difference in angle, will eventually map to the same screen but with different DGCs applied to them.
Job
: object A with screen A and e.g. angle of 7.5 object B with screen A and e.g. angle of 8.5
Screens on rip:
screen A with e.g. angles of 0, 7.5, 15,... DGC strategy (*.icpro): Angle of 7.5 --> dgc_1.dgc Angle of 8.5 --> dgc_2.dgc
What will happen on the rip?
1.
There is a DGC selection (based on the *.icpro file that was sent along): screen A with angle
7.5 will get dgc_1.dgc applied to it, screen A with angle 8.5 will get dgc_2.dgc applied to it -
2.
A screen will be chosen (and the DGC will be kept) screen A with angle 7.5 will stay screen
A with angle 7.5 (and dgc_1.dgc) screen A with angle 8.5 will "jump" to the nearest available angle, thus becomes screen A with angle 7.5 (and dgc_2.dgc !)
Result
: Object A and object B will both be ripped with screen A and angle 7.5, but with different DGC's.
13.3.1 Use Properties from Job Setup
When a document is opened from an Automation Engine Job using
File
>
Job Folder
>
Open from Job Folder ...
, you can force Ink Manager to use the ink parameters defined in the Job
Setup, overwriting the current Ink Paramters, by enabling
Use Properties from Job Setup
, either from the fly-out menu or by clicking the button in the Ink Manager palette
In that case, if you select
Window
>
Esko
>
Screening...
, the Screening dialog will show the status of the inks.
282
DeskPack Advanced
13
•
: the ink is defined in the Job Setup. The parameters defined in the Job Setup will be used. You can't edit the properties for that ink.
•
: the ink is not in the Job Setup but is used in the document. You can modify its parameters
For more information on using Ink parameters from the Job Setup, we refer to the Esko
DataExchange documentation:
https://www.esko.com/en/Support/Product?id=Esko%20Data
%20Exchange%20for%20Adobe%20Illustrator
13.4 Added features of the InkManager table
• Each ink can visualize all the technical parameters (ruling, angle, dotshape) it contains. Note that you are free to enter a name of your own choosing for dotshape
• For each ink, each specific technical parameter can be selected and edited via the
InkManager dialog (by double-clicking the specific ink).
283
13
DeskPack Advanced
• You can select all the objects that use the specific ink, or specific ink parameters by the
'Select Art Using Ink' button
284
DeskPack Advanced
14
14. Viewer
14.1 Welcome to Viewer
Benefits of using Viewer
Viewer
is a very accurate separation viewer with a lot of extra production tools. It eliminates the need for separated proofs and will help you to avoid bad plate-making.
You can preview the separations of your document as they would be produced by exporting the document using Launch Workflow, and rasterizing it on an Esko FlexRip.
Note:
Separations shown in Viewer may differ from the final output when an alternative workflow is used.
Basic concepts
Viewer works with Press Settings. The Press Settings allow you to define press-specific characteristics such as the first printable dot, dot gain, dot gain curves, and more.
After defining your Press Settings, you can generate an accurate separation preview.
In this preview, you have access to advanced tools such as the Densitometer, TAC Limit
Preview, Plate Preview, Print Preview and Registration Error Preview.
14.2 Define Press Settings
Before you can start working with Viewer in a meaningful way, you should define your
Press
Settings
. Without basic information on the properties of the press you are using, Viewer cannot simulate accurately.
You can open the Press Settings window by selecting
Press Settings...
in the fly-out menu
14.2.1 The Default Press Settings
If no
Press Settings Folder
is defined in the Viewer Preferences, a fixed setting will be used, and you will not be able to change or create Press Settings. See
on page
299.
In the list of Press Settings, there is always one Press Setting called
Default
, which you can edit but not delete.
285
14
DeskPack Advanced
You can select it by selecting it in the
Press
dropdown in the
Viewer
dialog, and edit it using
Press Settings...
in the fly-out menu
14.2.2 Creating a Press Setting
To create a Press Setting in
Viewer
:
1.
Select
Press Settings...
in the fly-out menu .
2.
Click
New...
in the Press Settings dialog.
3.
Enter the name of the new press setting in the
New
dialog.
4.
Click
OK
14.2.3 Copying a Press Setting
To copy (duplicate) a Press Setting:
1.
Select it in the
Press Settings
dialog.
2.
Click the
Copy...
button.
3.
Give it a new
Name
.
4.
Change its parameters as you wish (see
on page 287).
5.
Click
OK
.
14.2.4 Editing a Press Setting
To edit a Press Setting:
1.
Select it in the
Press Settings
dialog.
2.
Click the
Modify...
button.
3.
Change its parameters as you wish (see
on page 287).
4.
Click
OK
.
14.2.5 Deleting a Press Setting
To delete a Press Setting:
1.
Select it in the
Press Settings
dialog.
2.
Click the
Delete
button.
286
DeskPack Advanced
14
3.
Confirm that you want to delete it.
14.2.6 Choosing a Press Setting
• To select a Press Setting, select it in the
Press
dropdown in the
Viewer
dialog
14.2.7 The Press Settings in Detail
First Dot (%)
Specifies which minimal gray value (expressed in %) in the file still will yield a dot on the plate, provided the RIP and platemaking occur under normal conditions.
Note:
Normal conditions indicate that the DGC must have been set up completely. The value does not correspond with any measurement that has been made prior or during DGC set up, nor does it correspond with any densitometer measurement on plate or on print. In fact, this value is (implicitly) chosen by the person who set up the DGC and plate-making. Typical values range from 0.4% to 1.6%.
Adobe Illustrator uses 8-bit precision, yielding 256 different possible gray values. A single gray value in an image may make the difference between a dot or no dot on a flexo plate. To allow for this precision, Viewer uses percentages with one decimal digit.
3
...
254
255
1
2
8-bit gray value in Illustrator
0
Percentage
0.0%
0.4%
0.8%
1.2%
...
99.6%
100%
Note:
If you do not specify a first dot, you will not be able to use the following Viewer view modes for this press setting:
• The
Flexo Plate Preview
• The
Flexo Print Preview
Dot Gain in Highlights
When you have specified a First Dot job percentage, you can also specify how dark it should actually print. Enable Dot Gain In Highlights and specify the dot gain parameters:
287
14
DeskPack Advanced
•
First Dot Prints As
: indicates the dot gain for the first dot. Typical values range from 5% to
15% depending on the substrate. The value is a job percentage, that will print on an ideal reference press as dark as the first dot prints on this press.
•
Range
: while the previous value measured the amount of dot gain in the highlights, this value expresses how far this effect penetrates into the midtones. Typically plate making is configured in such a way that the mid-tones print like an offset press.
Note:
If you do not specify Dot Gain In Highlights, you will not be able to use the following Viewer viewing mode:
Flexo Print Preview
.
Limited Total Area Coverage
The
Total Area Coverage
is the sum of percentages of the different channels on the same location. A higher total area coverage means more of the various inks is printed on top of each other.
If you want, you can specify the Maximum Total Area Coverage to specify the maximum amount of ink that the substrate can take on the same spot on your press.
Note:
Exceeding the Maximum Total Area Coverage for the press may cause drying problems, unexpected color results, and other problems.
Registration Error
Specifies the average maximum Registration Error on your press.
If you enable this option in the Press Settings, you can use the
Registration Errors
preview in Viewer to check whether your trapping is sufficient to compensate for possible registration errors on the press.
Moiré Settings
In the Moiré Detection settings of the Press Settings, you can define the default values for the settings in the Moiré Detection window.
For more info on the different settings, see
14.3 Generate the Preview
Before you can use Viewer, you have to generate a preview of the current document, based on your specific Press Settings.
After you make changes to the document, you need to update the preview. This is reflected in the Viewer palette: the
Generate
button changes to the
Update
button.
• Click the
Generate
or
Update
button to render a Viewer preview on your computer.
The preview is displayed in the Viewer palette once the rendering finishes.
You can also use the shortcuts:
• Command+option+V (Mac) or Control+option+V (Windows) to open the Viewer window
288
DeskPack Advanced
14
• Command+shift+7 (Mac) or Control+shift+7 (Windows) to generate / update the Viewer preview
14.3.1 Navigating in the Preview
The Viewer window shows the preview of your document in the left pane, and the list of used inks in the right pane of your Viewer palette.
At the bottom of the palette, you will find:
1.
a zoom-in and zoom-out button and a dropdown menu with several zoom percentages, and two extra zoom factors: fit artboard and fit graphics.
2.
a zoom-link button. When in link mode, the Viewer window will reflect what your Adobe
Illustrator Document window does.
3.
a Densitometer (see
on page 291), Measure tool (see
on page 291) and Zoom tool (see below).
1.
a Pan tool (see below), a Zoom tool (see below) and a Densitometer tool (see
on page 291)
2.
a zoom-in and zoom-out button and a field showing the current zoom percentage.
3.
the Refresh button.
4.
the Minimize button.
Zoom in - zoom out
To zoom in the preview pane of the Viewer palette, select the zoom tool and just click, and the view will zoom in using the clicked point as center point.
To zoom out, click while holding the ALT key pressed, and the view will zoom out using the clicked point as center point.
You can also drag a rectangle to zoom in, and the new viewport will be a closest match to the rectangle you dragged.
To pan the view, hold down the spacebar and drag a line in the preview pane. The view will move the direction and the length of the line you drag.
289
14
DeskPack Advanced
Note:
You can minimalize the user interface by selecting
Hide options
from the dropdown menu.
14.4 The Viewer window
14.4.1 Viewing options
Options particular to certain
Viewer
previews are grouped under
View Options
. You can expand or collapse them using the triangle beside
View Options
.
The following options are available in all Previews:
Separation visibility
In the Ink list, you can:
• Click the eye icon in front of a separation/color name to show or hide it.
• Alt-click an eye button to quickly hide all other separations and go in single-separation mode. Alt-click the same eye button again to show all separations.
Note:
If
Show Technical Inks
in the fly-out menu of the Viewer is enabled, Technical Inks are
also shown in this list. See also
on page 299
290
DeskPack Advanced
14
Measure Ink Densities
• To use the Densitometer, select
Separations
from the Viewer preview list, and click in the
Viewer preview window while holding down the
ALT
and
CONTROL
key (Windows) or
ALT
and
Command
key (Mac).
The densitometer will correctly measure through linework and images, even placed DCS2 multichannel images that normally cannot be measured in Adobe Illustrator.
Viewer is compatible with Xinet fullpress and Helios OPI systems and is able to show the high resolution images stored on the OPI server.
The densities are shown to the right of each separation. The total density of all inks on the point that is being measured (the TAC value) is shown at the bottom of the separation list.
Note:
When the TAC value exceeds the TAC limit specified in the currently selected press settings, a warning icon will be displayed next to the TAC value.
Note:
The percentages of technical Inks are not included in the TAC. See also
on page 299
Measure Tool
Measure tool helps you to measure the:
• Horizontal and vertical distance from the Adobe Illustrator axis zero point.
• Horizontal and vertical distance between first and second point.
• The total distance and the angle between first and second point.
To use the Measure Tool:
1.
Click the Measure tool on the Viewer pallet.
2.
Click the first point and then click or drag to the second point on the Preview.
291
14
DeskPack Advanced
The following details are displayed on the right hand side;
• X: x-axis
• Y: y-axis
• D: Distance between the first and second point.
• W: Width
• H: Height
• A: Angle
Scale Ink Densities
When viewing a document containing very dark overprinting areas (e.g. traps into dark colors) it is sometimes difficult to examine the color composition of such areas in Viewer.
Therefore the Separations view mode offers a slider control to temporarily dim (= reduce the density of) one or more selected separations.
For example: setting the density value to 50% will reduce the actual density values of the selected separations by 50% when computing the composite (RGB) view.
• Select the ink(s) you want to dim in the ink list and use the
Density (%)
slider or the edit field to scale down the density of the selected separations.
14.4.2 Separations
The first viewing mode shows a list of all used inks.
Mode
By default a separation is displayed in color. In order to see a separation as it would appear on film, you can switch to “Show as Film: Positive”.
By switching to “Show as Film: Negative”, the visible separation will be shown in negative.
Note:
As both “Show as Film: Positive” and “Show as Film: Negative” are only useful on a single separation, the
Mode
radio buttons are disabled if more than one separation is shown.
Highlight
Transparency
This will highlight all objects that have an opacity percentage, a blend mode or an opacity mask
(regardless of what is underneath).
Overprint
292
DeskPack Advanced
14
Highlight Overprint will highlight the areas where an “overprint” setting in the paint style takes effect.
Screening Conflict
The Screening Conflict checkbox highlights areas where a screening conflict can occur.
They can occur if an object with transparency (opacity mask, opacity percentage or blend mode) is overlapping on an object with another screening. The PDF definition clearly states that screening is always taken from the topmost object, even if that object is completely transparent in some areas. In most cases, this is not what you would expect.
In the example underneath, you can see a cyan rectangle, and a circle on top, with an opacity mask. The objects have a different screening. Where the circle is on top of the cyan rectangle, the cyan will take the screening of the blended circle. Therefore, as shown on the right, these areas will be highlighted as Screen Conflict.
Color
When you enable a Highlight option, the objects are highlighted in the color you chose in the
Color Picker.
14.4.3 Total Area Coverage
The Total Area Coverage (TAC) is the sum of all separation-densities at a certain point in your document.
TAC Limit
The
TAC Limit
is the maximal Total Area Coverage that your document may contain. This value depends on the press and the substrate your design will be printed on. Your printer should provide you with the TAC Limit value to use.
Defining the TAC Limit
293
14
DeskPack Advanced
The TAC limit is defined in the Press settings. See
on page 285). By default the TAC Limit is set to 270%.
Viewing areas over the TAC Limit
When you switch to the
Total Area Coverage
preview, the image in the preview pane will be dimmed and all areas where the sum of the densities is higher than the TAC limit specified in the current Press Setting will be displayed in 100% black.
Note:
You can Alt-Control-click (Windows) or Alt-Command-click (Mac) the black pixels to use the densitometer tool, and to measure the actual TAC amount in that specific area. See
To quickly see the maximum TAC in your document, use the
TAC Limit
slider.
Move the slider to the right to use a TAC Limit value higher than that used by your current
Press Setting. The more you move the slider to the right, the less pixels will typically be over the
TAC Limit.
Note:
Technical Inks are not taken into account. See also
14.4.4 Flexo Plate
If you change the
Viewer
Preview mode to
Flexo Plate
, a single separation (by default the first in the list) will be shown as a simulated flexo plate.
294
Note:
In this Preview mode, only one separation can be viewed at a time.
Note:
Viewer
uses the same technology as the Esko Flexo Tools for Photoshop.
DeskPack Advanced
14
First Visible Dot
The Flexo Plate preview will use the
First Visible Dot
percentage from the press settings (see
on page 285).
Pixels with a percentage lower than the First Visible Dot percentage will be shown as areas without dots.
Pixels with a percentage equal or higher than the First Visible Dot percentage will be shown as areas with dots.
Plate Color
The Flexo Plate preview predicts how clean your flexo plates will be. Especially in very light or very dark areas, you could end up with isolated dots or holes on the flexo plate, and those areas are difficult to hold on the plate or the substrate.
295
14
DeskPack Advanced
You can choose the plate color (Cyrel Red, Blue, Green or Safran Yellow, or a High Contrast
Blue&White) to match the type of plate you are using.
14.4.5 Flexo Print
This
Viewer
preview mode shows the effect of highlight dot gain on the image.
This effect is equivalent to a curve adjustment. To determine this curve, the Flexo Print Preview will use the
First dot
and the
Dot gain in highlights
settings from the Press Settings (see
on page 285).
Going from light to dark:
• The Flexo Print Preview will display percentages below the
First visible dot
percentage as
0%.
• The
First visible dot
percentage will be shown using the
First Dot Prints as
percentage.
• Percentages above the
First visible dot
percentage will be shown darker.
• Towards the midtones this darkening effect will fade out until the
Range
value.
• Percentages above the
Range
value are displayed unchanged.
14.4.6 Registration Error
The Registration Error Preview is a simulation of a design printed with registration errors of a specific press (defined in the Press Settings, see
very helpful to see if trapping is applied sufficiently and correctly.
The
Registration Error
value is taken from the Press Setting you selected.
296
DeskPack Advanced
14
The separations are randomly shifted. In fact, all separations are moved exactly the distance of the Registration Error, but all under a random angle.
If you want to see another random registration error simulation, click the
Simulate Again
button.
In the example above, you can see a small area of a job in regular preview (left) and with registration errors (right). In this case, you can clearly see no trapping was applied, so white lines appear at the registration shifts.
14.4.7 Breakout
A Breakout is an area where the percentage of a single separation is lower than the
First
Visible Dot
value. This can be used to track areas that won’t show up on print because the values are too low.
Your printer should provide you with the First visible Dot value. The First visible dot is set in the Press Settings: see
on page 285.When switching to Breakout mode,
the preview will be dimmed and all areas where a single separation has a value lower than the
First Visible Dot
value (but higher than 0%), will be displayed in highlight color.
You can measure the actual percentages in that specific area using the densitometer (see
on page 291).
297
14
DeskPack Advanced
Note:
Technical Inks are not taken into account. See also
14.4.8 Moire Detection
Moire Detection
allows to detect possible screening problems (Moire) in the file.
You can set the options to
highlight overlapping areas
, to detect situations in which Moire might occur:
• when the two overlapping areas have screening angles that do not differ 30 degrees.
• when the two overlapping areas have the same angle
• when the two overlapping areas have different rulings
• when the two overlapping areas have different dot shapes.
You can use the
Ignore inks
option to ignore inks that have
• a density lower than a certain value,
• a density higher than a certain value
• a Luminance higher than a certain value as in all those cases, the Moire patterning will hardly be visible.
All these Moire Detection options are stored in the Press Settings. See
page 285
298
DeskPack Advanced
14
Note:
Technical Inks are not taken into account. See also
14.4.9 Technical inks in Viewer
By default, all
technical inks
are shown in Viewer, and rendered as opaque inks.
You can disable
Show Technical Inks
in the fly-out menu of the Viewer. In that case, technical inks will not be shown in the Viewer, nor in the separation list. However, if a technical ink influences another separation (e.g. if an object in a technical ink is knocking out the background), this will still be visible.
Even when shown, technical inks have no influence on the TAC limit, Breakout or Moire
on page 298
Technical inks are also not included in the total ink value below the separation list when
on page 291
14.5 Viewer Preferences
Open the Viewer
Preferences
dialog by choosing
Preferences
>
Esko
>
Viewer Preferences
to set one or more of the following options:
Image Display Quality:
Allows you to selected the preferred quality for displaying the contone images present in a document.
Following options can be selected:
•
Low
: A low resolution preview image (< 72dpi) will be used (if present). When such preview image is not available, a gray box will be displayed.
•
High
: A preview image of at least 150dpi will be used. When such preview image is not available, a gray box will be displayed. This is the default option.
•
Very High
: If sufficient memory is available, the real data (not subsampled) of the image will be displayed. When the image is too large to fit into memory (typically if the size is larger than 64MB) a high resolution display image will be shown.
Anti-Aliasing
: This preference offers control over the Anti-Aliasing method used to prevent display-artifacts like rough (“blocky”) edges in rendered artwork.
Following settings are available:
• Off: Do not perform any anti-aliasing (default value, fastest).
• Low: Some anti-aliasing (slower).
• High: Highly accuracte anti-aliasing (slowest).
Note:
Setting Anti-Aliasing to “High” will result in high-quality preview at the expense of significantly slower rendering / viewing speed (up to ten times slower than when Anti-Aliasing is turned off).
It is advised to only use the “High” setting on fast workstations (Macintosh with a 1.8 Ghz G5 processor or higher).
299
14
DeskPack Advanced
Densitometer Mode
: This option lets you select the preferred resolution of the densitometer.
Following options are offered:
• Exact: Ink densities will be measured with an accuracy (resolution) of 1/255 percent.
This corresponds to the (8 bits per pixel) accuracy typically used by a Rip for outputting
(unscreened) separations. In other words what is measured will correspond “exactly” to the digital output of the Rip.
• Rounded: Ink densities will be measured and presented with an accuracy of 1%. Densities with a non-integral (e.g. 33.2%) value will be rounded to the nearest integral value (e.g.
33%).
If Densitometer Mode is set to "Rounded", the values shown in the Ink Coverage palette will also be rounded.
Press Settings Folder
: allows to define the folder from which the Press Settings should be loaded.
If no folder is set up, Viewer will try to use the default location: DeskPack Container/
Settings/Press . If there is no DeskPack Container mounted or available, then it will automatically switch to Users/Shared/EskoArtwork/Settings/Press on Mac OS, or
C:/Users/Public/Documents/EskoArtwork/Settings/Press on Windows. The Viewer installer will automatically create these folders.
If no Press Settings Folder is available (e.g. the defined or default folder has been removed), you will not be able to change or create Press Settings.
14.6 Viewer Compare Tool
You can use the Viewer Compare tool to compare the active document with another document.
To compare the active job:
1.
Go to
Window
>
Esko
>
Viewer
>
Compare...
The Compare dialog opens, and the name for the Current Document is shown.
300
2.
Select the file you want to compare the active document to:
• If you want to compare it to an open document, select its file name from the dropdown list
• If you want to compare it to a document on disk, click the browse button and select the file
DeskPack Advanced
14
3.
Define what to compare:
• all artwork
• the current Artboard
• only Trim Box or Media Box (if they are defined)
• only the selected area.
4.
Click
OK
A
Viewer Compare
window will open, showing a comparison between the two jobs.
Note:
If you have a Trim Box defined in the Illustrator job, the Viewer Compare tool will only show what’s inside the trim box.
14.6.1 The Viewer Compare window
The Viewer Compare window shows the two jobs and their differences, and contains a number of tools and buttons to inspect these differences in various ways.
Move over a button with the cursor and the tooltip will indicate what it stands for.
Buttons with a triangle in the lower right corner contain additional options: Control-click
(Windows) or Command-click (Mac) the button, or click and hold the button to see the extra options.
301
14
DeskPack Advanced
14.6.2 Navigating the Viewer Compare window
The Viewer Compare window contains different ways to navigate:
The Inspect tools
• The
Zoom
tool. Under the zoom tool you find
• Zoom out
• Fit document in view
• Fit document width / height
• Zoom to 1:1 view
• Show Zoom Options (showing all these options as individual buttons)
302
DeskPack Advanced
14
• The
Zoom out
tool
• The
Pan
tool
The Navigator
By dragging the red rectangle (when zoomed in), you can navigate through the job.
The View options
The
View
options allow to go back to the previous view, or use additional settings, such as rotate, invert or mirror the view.
14.6.3 Compare modes
Using the
Compare
butons, you can choose different Compare modes / views
•
View Current version
only
•
View Reference version
only
•
View Both
documents on top of each other.
Additional options:
303
14
DeskPack Advanced
•
View Both
in their original colors
•
View Both - Show difference
: the differences will be shown in the "Added" and
"Substracted" highlight colors.
•
View Both - highlight difference
: same as above, but the identical parts are dimmed.
•
View Both - only difference
: same as above, but the identical parts are hidden.
•
Change "Added" Highlight Color
,
Change "Substracted" Highlight Color
and
Change
Both Highlight Color
, to change the colors in which differences are shown
•
Reset Difference Highlight Colors
to reset the default colors
•
Channel Matching
, to match corresponding channels/inks for the two documents.
•
View Both - side by side
shows both versions next to each other. You can choose between
• Automatic tiling
• Horizontal tiling
• Vertical tiling.
•
View both - mirror reference
shows the current document on top of the mirrored reference document.
14.6.4 Alignment
Comparing files with different sizes may seem like a challenge as they are not aligned in the
Viewer Compare window, but it provides some tools that make it very easy.
•
Alignment
• on one of 9 corner / center points
•
Align From Ruler
: see
•
Auto Align From Ruler
•
Auto Align
: see
on page 306
•
Auto Align
: see
•
Use trim box for alignment
•
Offset
, Horizontal and Vertical
Align from Ruler
The ruler tool works by defining two points (one in each file) that have to be aligned.
304
1.
Select the reference version of the file by clicking the
2.
Select the Ruler tool
3.
Indicate the ruler anchor point
icon.
DeskPack Advanced
14
4.
Switch to the other version by clicking the icon (or use
Ctrl + S
).
The anchor point, here in the red circle, will be in a different location in the second file version.
5.
Indicate the point that should be positioned on the ruler anchor point (here in the blue circle)
6.
Click the
Alignment
button and select
Align From Ruler
. The files are now aligned.
Note:
Depending on how precisely you defined the second ruler point, you may have to zoom in and repeat the alignment procedure to align your files with more precision.
305
14
DeskPack Advanced
Auto Align from Ruler
Auto Align from Ruler is used the same way as the Align from Ruler tool, but is more accurate at high resolution.
If the details of the alignment points match, the viewer will be able to increase the alignment precision (and have a good alignment with fewer iterations).
Auto Align
Auto Align does not use the ruler, but rather the currently visible view of the two compared images to attempt an automatic alignment.
For convenience, a separate tool button is available to perform an Auto Align operation without having to open the Alignment pop-up menu. Clicking this button will perform an Auto
Align from Ruler if a ruler selection is active, otherwise an Auto Align (from view).
14.6.5 Viewer Compare Preferences
You can open the Compare Preferences by choosing
Illustrator
>
Preferences
>
Esko
>
Viewer Compare Preferences
(on Mac OS) or
Edit
>
Preferences
>
Esko
>
Viewer Compare
Preferences
(on Windows).
You can define the resolution for the Viewer Compare previews: either based on the document size, or at a fixed resolution. "Based on Document Size" will result in a low resolution for big documents, so e.g. aligning will become more difficult when zooming in. On the other hand, a
"Fixed Resolution" can result in a very heavy preview calculation if the fixed resolution is high and the document is large.
You can define if anti-aliasing should be applied.
14.7 Ink Coverage
With
Ink Coverage
, you can calculate the ink usage for every ink.
1.
Click
Window
>
Esko
>
Viewer
>
Ink Coverage...
to open the Ink Coverage dialog.
306
DeskPack Advanced
14
2.
In the dropdown, select the area you want to scan. By default, Ink Coverage is calculated on the
Current Artboard
3.
Click
Calculate
For every separation, the size (in square mm or square inch) and percentage of the total surface is shown.
Note:
By setting the
Densitometer Mode
to "Rounded" in the Viewer preferences, the values in the Ink Coverage palette will be rounded off.
4.
Click
Save as XML...
to save the result of the Ink Coverage calculation into an XML file.
5.
Click
Close
to close the Ink Coverage dialog.
Note:
Technical inks will not be presented in the list, nor in the exported XML.
307
15
DeskPack Advanced
15. White Underprint
15.1 White Underprint
White Underprint allows you to create a white background underneath the selected objects.
This white background can be necessary when printing on transparent or metal material. The
White Underprint plug-in can generate white underprint objects for all kinds of Illustrator objects.
To open the White Underprint palette, click
Window
>
Esko
>
White Underprint
. The White
Underprint palette appears.
15.2 Adding and Removing White Underprint
White Underprint objects will be created in a top-level "White Underprint" layer, and will be put in overprint.
A new White Underprint layer will be created:
• If a different White Underprint ink is used
• If the White Underprint layer doesn't exist yet
• If the White Underprint layer was locked, hidden or no longer positioned as top layer.
1.
Click
Window
>
Esko
>
White Underprint
to open the White Underprint palette.
2.
Select one or more objects in the Illustrator document.
3.
Set the White Underprint settings: see
308
DeskPack Advanced
15
4.
In the White Underprint palette:
• Click
Add
to add White Underprint for the selected artwork: the plug-in will compute the union of the selected artwork and add the resulting paths at the top of the White
Underprint layer
• Click
Subtract
to subtract the selected artwork from the White Underprint layer. The plug-in will compute the union of the selected artwork, and put the resulting paths at the top of the White Underprint layer, in overprint, and at 0% of the selected White
Underprint ink.
Note:
If you want the White Underprint to be slightly bigger than the original objects, you should use a spread (an outward offset) when adding to the White Underprint layer, and a choke (an inward offset) when subtracting from the White Underprint layer. If the White
Underprint should be slightly smaller, you should do it the other way around.
15.3 White Underprint settings
To set up White Underprint:
1.
Select
Window
>
Esko
>
White Underprint
to open White Underprint dialog box.
2.
Define the
Offset
: the distance between the edge of the White Underprint layer and the edge of the object under which White Underprint is applied. By default the offset is set to
Spread (outward offset). You can also choose to Choke (inward offset).
3.
Set the
Miter Limit
as you would for trapping. Miter limit determines whether sharp corners in objects appear pointed or beveled. You can also select Bevel and Round options.
Note:
The Miter Limit option is only available when using mitered corners.
4.
Define if White Underprint should be generated only on visible parts of selected objects, by setting the
Only Visible Parts
option.
5.
In the
Gradients
section, set how to handle Gradients.
•
None
: By default objects with a gradient fill will be backed using a 100% solid white
•
Choke by distance
: a gradient will be added to the White Underprint layer. The gradient will be choked over the entered distance, and run from the minimum % to 100%.
•
Bump minimum %
: a gradient will be added to the White Underprint layer. The gradient will follow the same density as the original object, but values below the minimum % will be bumped up to the minimum value.
•
Clip to minimum %
: a gradient will be added to the White Underprint layer. The gradient will follow the same density as the original object, but values below the minimum % will be clipped to 0%.
309
15
DeskPack Advanced
15.4 White Underprint Ink
The Ink used for White Underprint can be defined by selecting
Options
from the fly-out menu of the
White Underprint
palette, and entering the name of the Ink to be used for White
Underprint.
In case the defined ink doesn't exist yet, a new spot color will be added to the swatches, using the Ink name and the Color patch.
When the name of an existing swatch is entered, this ink will be used for White Underprint.
Note:
White Underprint can only use Spot Colors. If an existing swatch name is entered, and the swatch is not a spot color, a warning will be generated: "A swatch by this name already exists but is not defined as a Spot Color".
Multiple White Underprint inks can be used in 1 document. After you've applied White
Underprint using a first ink, just change the name and color patch of the White Underprint ink in the Options dialog. As of then, any new White Underprint objects will be generated using the new White Underprint ink.
Note:
In order to prevent changes to existing White Underprint objects, be sure not to have any active selections while changing the White Underprint ink. If you wish to modify the color values of the existing White Underprint ink, please do so directly in the Swatch library.
15.5 Include White Objects
The
Include White Objects
option can be set by selecting
Options
from the fly-out menu of the
White Underprint
palette.
If the option is disabled (default), no White Underprint is generated for white objects (colored with CMYK 0/0/0/0). By selecting the option, those objects will also get a White Underprint.
Note:
Uncolored objects (i.e. if the fill and the stroke color is set to "none") will never get a
White Underprint, regardless of this option.
310
Pakua
Tangazo