Texas Instruments Teacher Software User Manual
Annonce
Annonce
CX Teacher Software
Guidebook
This guidebook applies to TI-Nspire™ software version 4.0. To obtain the latest version of the documentation, go to education.ti.com/guides .
2
Important Information
Except as otherwise expressly stated in the License that accompanies a program, Texas Instruments makes no warranty, either express or implied, including but not limited to any implied warranties of merchantability and fitness for a particular purpose, regarding any programs or book materials and makes such materials available solely on an "as-is" basis. In no event shall
Texas Instruments be liable to anyone for special, collateral, incidental, or consequential damages in connection with or arising out of the purchase or use of these materials, and the sole and exclusive liability of Texas
Instruments, regardless of the form of action, shall not exceed the amount set forth in the license for the program. Moreover, Texas Instruments shall not be liable for any claim of any kind whatsoever against the use of these materials by any other party.
License
Please see the complete license installed in
C:\Program Files\TI Education\<TI-Nspire™ Product Name>\license .
Adobe®, Adobe® Flash®, Apple®, Blackboard™, Chrome®, Excel®, Google®,
Firefox®, Internet Explorer®, Java™, JavaScript®, Mac®, Microsoft®, Mozilla®,
OS X®, PowerPoint®, Safari®, Vernier DataQuest™, Vernier EasyLink®,
Vernier EasyTemp®, VernierGo!Link®, VernierGo!Motion®, VernierGo!Temp®,
Windows®, and Windows® XP are trademarks of their respective owners.
© 2006 - 2015 Texas Instruments Incorporated
Contents
Getting Started with TI-Nspire™ CX Teacher Software
Exploring the Content Workspace
Exploring the Documents Workspace
Exploring the Content Workspace
Working with Connected Handhelds
Viewing Content on Connected Handhelds
Managing Files on a Connected Handheld
Using Identify Selected to Locate Handhelds
Adding Files or Folders to the Transfer List
Removing Files or Folders from the Transfer List
Editing the Destination Folder
Deleting All Handheld Files and Folders
3
Exploring the Documents Workspace
Exploring the TI-SmartView™ Feature
Changing Graphs & Geometry Settings
Working with TI-Nspire™ Documents
Creating a New TI-Nspire™ Document
Setting Page Size and Document Preview
Working with Multiple Documents
Working with Problems and Pages
Viewing Document Properties and Copyright Information
Working with PublishView™ Documents
Creating a New PublishView™ Document
Exploring the Documents Workspace
Working with PublishView™ Objects
Working with TI-Nspire™ Applications
Organizing PublishView™ Sheets
Adding Text to a PublishView™ Document
Using Hyperlinks in PublishView™ Documents
4
Printing PublishView™ Documents
Adding Files to a Lesson Bundle
Managing Files in a Lesson Bundle
Sending Lesson Bundles to Connected Handhelds
Using Capture Selected Handheld
Saving Captured Pages and Screens
Capturing Images in Handheld Mode
Working with Images in the Software
Using Question in the Teacher Software
Understanding the Question Tools
Using the Teacher Tool Palette
Understanding the Configuration Tool
Understanding the Question Toolbar
Responding to Quick Poll Questions
5
Entering and Evaluating Math Expressions
CAS: Working with Measurement Units
Creating User-defined Functions and Programs
Editing Calculator Expressions
Working with the Calculator History
Locking and Unlocking Variables
Manipulating Functions by Dragging
Specifying a Function with Domain Restrictions
Finding Points of Interest on a Function Graph
Graphing a Family of Functions
Using the Text Tool to Graph Equations
Graphing Differential Equations
Viewing Tables from the Graphs Application
Zooming/Rescaling the Graphs Work Area
Customizing the Graphs Work Area
6
Hiding and Showing Items in the Graphs Application
Introduction to Geometric Objects
Creating Shapes Using Gestures (Math Draw)
Basics of Working with Objects
Exploring with Geometric Construction Tools
Adjusting Variable Values with a Slider
Labeling (Identifying) the Coordinates of a Point
Displaying the Equation of a Geometric Object
Graphing 3D Parametric Equations
Changing the Appearance of a 3D Graph
Customizing the 3D Viewing Environment
Example: Creating an Animated 3D Graph
Introduction to Geometric Objects
Creating Shapes Using Gestures (Math Draw)
Basics of Working with Objects
7
Exploring with Geometric Construction Tools
Hiding Objects in the Geometry Application
Customizing the Geometry Work Area
Adjusting Variable Values with a Slider
Lists & Spreadsheet Application
Creating and Sharing Spreadsheet Data as Lists
Working with Rows and Columns of Data
Exchanging Data with Other Computer Software
Capturing Data from Graphs & Geometry
Using Table Data for Statistical Analysis
Basic Operations in Data & Statistics
Overview of Raw and Summary Data
Working with Numeric Plot Types
Working with Categorical Plot Types
Adjusting Variable Values with a Slider
8
Inserting Items on a Notes Page
Inserting Comments in Notes Text
Inserting Geometric Shape Symbols
Entering Math Expressions in Notes Text
Evaluating and Approximating Math Expressions
Inserting Chemical Equations in Notes
Deactivating Math Expression Boxes
Changing the Attributes of Math Expression Boxes
Using Data Markers to Annotate Data
Collecting Data Using a Remote Collection Unit
Setting Up a Sensor for Automatic Triggering
Collecting and Managing Data Sets
Displaying Collected Data in Graph View
Displaying Collected Data in Table View
Customizing the Graph of Collected Data
9
Creating Libraries and Library Objects
Private and Public Library Objects
Creating Shortcuts to Library Objects
Getting Started with the Program Editor
Defining a Program or Function
Opening a Function or Program for Editing
Importing a Program from a Library
Creating a Copy of a Function or Program
Renaming a Program or Function
Changing the Library Access Level
Closing the Current Function or Program
Running Programs and Evaluating Functions
Displaying Information from a Function or Program
Differences Between Functions and Programs
Calling One Program from Another
Controlling the Flow of a Function or Program
Using If, Lbl, and Goto to Control Program Flow
Using Loops to Repeat a Group of Commands
Debugging Programs and Handling Errors
Using the TI-SmartView™ Emulator
Opening the TI-SmartView™ Emulator
Working with the Emulated Handheld
10
Changing TI-SmartView™ Options
Exploring the Script Editor Interface
Activating Your Software License
Downloading the Latest Guidebook
Running TI-Nspire™ Diagnostics
Updating the TI-Nspire™ Software
Updating the OS on a Connected Handheld
Viewing Software Version and Legal Information
Texas Instruments Support and Service
Service and Warranty Information
11
12
Getting Started with TI-Nspire™ CX Teacher
Software
TI-Nspire™ CX Teacher Software enables teachers to use PC and Mac® computers to perform the same functions as on a handheld. This document covers:
• TI-Nspire™ CX Teacher Software
• TI-Nspire™ CX CAS Teacher Software
Note
: When there are differences between the software, those differences are described.
Using the Welcome Screen
By default, the Welcome Screen opens the first time you start the software after installation is complete. To begin working with documents, click an icon or link, or close this screen manually. Any normal action that takes place automatically, such as upgrade prompts or the ability to begin using connected handhelds, appears after you close the Welcome Screen.
Note:
Depending on how your software was installed, you might see a Product
Improvement screen the first time you start the software.
Getting Started with TI-Nspire™ CX Teacher Software 13
À
TI-Nspire™ applications
. Click one of these icons to create a new document with the selected application active. The applications are
Calculator, Graphs, Geometry, Lists & Spreadsheet, Data & Statistics,
Notes, Question, and the Vernier DataQuest™ application. When you click an icon, the Welcome Screen closes and the selected application opens in the Documents Workspace.
Á
Quick Start links
. Click one of these options to:
• Create a new document with the application you select as the first page.
• Create a new, blank document.
• Find and open an existing document.
Use the following links to:
•
View content
. Find content on your computer, the web, or connected handhelds.
•
Manage handhelds
. Use the Content Workspace to see every handheld connected to your computer as well as the status of each handheld.
•
Transfer documents
. Use the Content Workspace to send documents, folders, or new handheld OS files to connected handhelds.
Â
Always show this at startup
. Clear this check box to skip this screen when you open your software.
Closing the Welcome Screen
To access the default workspace and begin working with documents, click to close the Welcome Screen. To open the Welcome screen again, click Help >
Welcome Screen .
• In the TI-Nspire™ CX Teacher Software, the Content Workspace is displayed when you open the software for the first time.
• In the TI-Nspire™ CX Student Software, the Documents Workspace is the default workspace.
Note:
The next time you open the software, the last workspace used is displayed.
14 Getting Started with TI-Nspire™ CX Teacher Software
Exploring the Content Workspace
The Content Workspace provides access to folders and files on your local drive, network drives, external drives, to files on connected handhelds, and links to web resources. Teachers can also use this workspace to create and manage lesson bundles.
Note
: TI-Nspire™ CX Student Software users will not see the Content workspace.
À
Title bar
. Shows the name of the software. The minimize, maximize, and close buttons are located in the right corner.
Á
Menu bar
. Contains options used to work with files and to modify system settings. In the Content Workspace these are File, Edit, View, Tools,
Window, and Help.
Â
Workspace Selector
. Click these tabs to switch from the Content
Workspace to the Documents Workspace.
Ã
Toolbar
. Contains shortcuts to tools used to create folders, save files, create lesson bundles, send files to handhelds, and copy/paste. Options available from the toolbar change depending on which workspace is open. In the Content Workspace, the forward and back arrows function as they do in a web browser enabling you to go back and forth between locations.
Ä
Resources pane
. Enables you to locate and view files on your computer, access web links, and access files on connected handhelds. When you
Getting Started with TI-Nspire™ CX Teacher Software 15
select a resource, the details for that resource are displayed in the content pane.
Å
Navigation bar.
Navigate to a location on your computer by clicking an item in the breadcrumb trail. When you select a resource, the options available are specific to that resource.
Æ
Content pane
. Shows the content for the resource selected. Use the content pane as you would a file manager to locate and view folders, lesson bundles, and TI-Nspire™ and PublishView™ documents on your computer or on connected handhelds. Click to access options applicable to the selected folder or TI-Nspire™ document.
Ç
Preview pane
. Details about the selected file or folder are displayed in the bottom half of the space.
Exploring the Documents Workspace
Use the Documents Workspace to create or edit TI-Nspire™ and PublishView™ documents and work with applications and problems. The tools in the workspace are specific to working with open documents.
À
Workspace Selector
. Click a tab to switch between the Documents
16 Getting Started with TI-Nspire™ CX Teacher Software
Workspace and the Content Workspace.
Note
: These tabs are not shown in the TI-Nspire™ CX Student Software.
The Document Workspace is the only available workspace.
Á
Toolbar
. Contains shortcuts to frequently performed tasks such as creating new documents, opening existing documents, saving documents, inserting applications, inserting variables, and taking screen captures. The cut, copy, and paste icons are also located in the toolbar. At the right side, a
Document Preview button lets you select Handheld or Computer preview.
Â
Documents Toolbox
. Contains tools needed to work with TI-Nspire™ and
PublishView™ documents. Use these tools to insert applications, use the page sorter to view TI-Nspire™ documents, open the TI-SmartView™ emulator, open Content Explorer, insert utilities such as math templates and the symbols from the catalog, and insert text and images into
PublishView™ documents. Click each icon to access the available tools.
Ã
Toolbox pane
. Options for the selected tool are displayed in this area. For example, click the Document Tools icon to access tools needed to work with the active application. The tool for configuring questions opens in this space when you insert a question.
Ä
Work area
. Shows the current page of the active (selected) document. Lets you perform calculations, add applications, and add problems and pages.
Only one document at a time is active. Multiple documents appear as tabs.
Å
Status bar
. Provides information about the active document.
Understanding the Status Bar
The status bar provides information about the current document, and provides options that enable you to toggle between Handheld and Computer view and adjust how the document appears in the work area.
À
Page Size.
Shows the document's page size as Handheld or
Computer. You can use the TI-Nspire™
File menu to convert a document from one page size to the other.
Getting Started with TI-Nspire™ CX Teacher Software 17
Á
Problem/Page counter . The first value represents the problem number of the active page, and the second value tells you the page number within the problem. In the example, the counter reads
1.2
, indicating Problem
1
, Page
2
.
Â
Settings
. Double-click to view or change the Document Settings for the active document or to change the default Document Settings.
Ã
Zoom . Enabled in Handheld preview only (click Document Preview on the toolbar and select
Handheld
). Click ▼ and select a magnification value for the preview.
Ä
Boldness . Enabled in Computer preview only (click Document
Preview on the toolbar and select
Computer
). Click ▼ and select a value to increase or decrease the boldness of text and other items.
Changing Language
Use this option to select a preferred language. You must restart the software for the language to take effect.
1.
Click File
>
Settings
>
Change Language.
The Choose a Language dialog box opens.
2.
Click
¤ to open the Choose language drop-down list.
3.
Select the desired language.
4.
Click Quit Now to close the software immediately. You will be prompted to save any open documents. When you restart the software, the language change is effective.
—or—
18 Getting Started with TI-Nspire™ CX Teacher Software
Click Quit Later to continue your work. The language change is not applied until you close and restart the software at a later time.
Note:
If you select Simplified Chinese or Traditional Chinese as the language in the TI-Nspire™ software, you should see Chinese characters in the menus and dialogs. If your computer uses the Windows® XP operating system and you do not see Chinese characters, you may need to install the Windows® XP
East Asian Language Support package.
Getting Started with TI-Nspire™ CX Teacher Software 19
20
Using the Content Workspace
The Content Workspace provides access and navigation to folders and files stored on your computer, network, and external drives, allowing you to open, copy, and transfer files to students.
Exploring the Content Workspace
À
Resources pane
. Select content here. You can select folders and shortcuts on your computer, network drives, external drives, or web content. If you are using software that supports TI-Nspire™ handhelds, the Connected Handhelds heading is visible when handhelds are connected.
Note:
You can add new links to your favorite Web sites in the Links section. You can access these new links in the Content pane. New links may not be added to the Web content section.
Á
Navigation bar
. Navigate to any location on your computer by clicking an item in the breadcrumb trail. When you select a resource, the options shown are specific to that resource.
Â
Content pane.
By default, the folders on your desktop are displayed.
Use this space to locate and view files on your computer. You can locate and access files on a connected handheld if using software that supports handhelds. Use the top half of the space as you would a file manager. The Content pane is able to display the contents of only one selected item at a time. Avoid selecting more than one item at a time.
Using the Content Workspace 21
Ã
Preview pane
. Shows details about the selected file or folder.
Exploring the Resources Pane
Use the Resources pane to locate documents on a computer, access web content, and communicate with connected handhelds if using TI-Nspire™ software that supports connected handhelds.
À
Computer Content . Enables navigation to all files on a computer, network drives, and external drives. Computer Content expands and collapses to provide access to the following default shortcuts:
• Local Disk
• External drives
• Network drives
• Desktop
• Documents or My Documents
22 Using the Content Workspace
When you select an item in Computer Content, the file structure appears in the Content pane. When you select a folder or supported file, the detail is displayed in the Preview pane.
Á
Links . By default, links to Texas Instruments sites are listed. When you click Links, it shows a list of links in the Content pane. Then when you click a link there, it launches in your web browser. You can add your own links to this section. Links from the latest version of the
TI-Nspire™ software are added when you upgrade.
Users located in the United States can search U.S. standards or textbooks by selecting the search option from Links.
Â
Web Content . Lists links to Texas Instruments sites that contain
TI-Nspire™-supported activities. Web Content is available if you are connected to the Internet. You can save material you find on these sites to your computer and share items through the Computer
Content pane or Connected Handhelds if using software that supports handhelds. You cannot save links to websites in the Web
Content section.
Note:
The web content that is available varies depending on region. If there is no online content, this section is not visible in the Resources pane.
When you select an item in Web Content, the list of activities is displayed in the Content pane, and a preview of the selected activity is displayed in the Preview pane.
Ã
Connected Handhelds
. Lists handhelds connected to your computer.
Click the Connected Handhelds label to view information about each handheld in the Content pane. To see folders and files on a specific handheld, click the handheld name. A warning sign next to a handheld name indicates that the OS on the handheld does not match the software version. The handheld OS release version must match the TI-Nspire™ software release version to work in a classroom environment. Move your mouse over the warning sign to open a tool tip for more information.
Note
: Connected Handhelds are not shown if there are no handhelds connected or if you are using TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ NC Teacher
Software.
Using the Content Workspace 23
Using the Preview Pane
À
A thumbnail preview of the selected folder, .tns file, file-type icon, or lesson bundle. Double-click a file-type icon to open the file in its associated application.
Note
: If a lesson bundle is empty and this space is blank, you have the option to add files.
Á
If a TI-Nspire™ document has multiple pages, use the forward arrow to preview the next page. The backward arrow becomes active so you can move backward through the pages. If working with a lesson bundle, you can choose to preview a TI-Nspire™ document within the bundle by this method.
Â
If a lesson bundle is selected, the Files dialog box opens above the
Details window listing the files in the lesson bundle. Double-click any file in a lesson bundle to open the file in its associated application.
Ã
If a folder is selected, the Details window shows the name of the folder, the path where the folder is located, and the date modified.
24 Using the Content Workspace
For document files and lesson bundle files, the Details window shows the name, the date the file was modified, the file size, and whether or not the file is read only.
Accessing Computer Content
Computer Content provides access to all information stored on your computer, network, and external drives.
Using the Navigation bar
The Content pane Navigation bar provides tools needed to locate folders and files.
À
Options . Click
¤ to open the menu to access options for working with files and folders.
Á
Current path : Contains a clickable breadcrumb trail of the current
Using the Content Workspace 25
location. Click a breadcrumb to navigate to any section in the path.
Â
Search . Enter a search keyword and press Enter to find all files within the selected folder containing that word.
Filtering Computer Content
Use this filtering option for easy access and selection of your teaching content.
You can select show TI-Nspire™ content only or to show all content.
1.
Select a folder in Computer Content in the Resources pane.
2.
From the Menu bar, select View > Filter by .
3.
Choose one of the following options.
•
Show TI-Nspire™ content only
•
Show all content
Mapping a Network Drive
Complete the following steps to map a network drive.
1.
Select Computer Content from the Resources list.
2.
Click , and then click
Create Shortcut
.
The Add Shortcut location to Content dialog box opens.
3.
Click Browse .
Note : You can also type the full path name for the network drive.
The Select Shortcut Folder dialog box opens.
26 Using the Content Workspace
4.
Navigate to the network drive.
5.
Click
Select
.
6.
Click Add Location .
The Please enter network drive credentials dialog box opens.
7.
Type the username and password given to you by your system administrator.
8.
Click Accept .
The network drive is added to the list of folders under the Computer
Content heading in the Resources pane.
Accessing a Secured Network Drive
If access to a network drive requires authentication, complete the following steps to access secured network.
1.
Click the drive you want to access in the Resources pane.
The Please enter network drive credentials dialog box opens.
Using the Content Workspace 27
2.
Type your username and password.
3.
Click
Accept
.
Using Shortcuts
Use this option to add folders or lesson bundles containing frequently used files to the Computer Content list.
Adding a Shortcut
To add a shortcut to a folder containing files you access often:
1.
Navigate to the folder where the files are located.
2.
Click , and then click Create Shortcut .
The folder is added to the list of folders under Computer Content in the
Resources pane.
Deleting a Shortcut
To delete a shortcut:
1.
From the Computer Content list, select the folder to be deleted.
2.
Right-click the selected folder, and then click
Remove Shortcut
.
The folder is removed from the list of shortcuts.
Note:
You cannot remove default shortcuts.
Working with Links
By default, the Links list contains a list of links to Texas Instruments websites.
Click a link to launch your web browser and access the website.
28 Using the Content Workspace
Using the Links Toolbar
When you select Links in the Resources pane, the tools on the navigation bar are specific to working with links. Use these tools to add, edit, or delete links from the list. You can also move a link up or down in the list.
Options . Click
¤ to open the menu to access options for working with links.
Click this icon to add a link to the list.
Select an existing link, and then click this icon to edit the link’s attributes. You cannot edit a default link.
Click this icon to delete a link. You cannot delete a default link.
Select a link and click this icon to move the link up in the list.
Select a link and click this icon to move the link down in the list.
Adding a Link
Complete the following steps to add a link to the list of Links in the Resource pane.
1.
Click .
The Add Link dialog box opens.
Using the Content Workspace 29
2.
Type the name of the link.
3.
Type the URL in the Address field.
4.
Click
Add Link
.
The link is added to the bottom of the list of existing links.
Editing an Existing Link
Complete the following steps to edit an existing link.
1.
Select the link you want to change.
2.
Click .
The Edit Link dialog box opens.
3.
Make needed changes to the name of the link or to the URL.
4.
Click Edit Link .
The changes are applied to the link.
Removing a Link
Complete the following steps to delete a link.
1.
Select the link you want to delete.
30 Using the Content Workspace
2.
Click .
The confirmation dialog box opens.
3.
Click
Remove
.
The link is removed from the list.
Note
: You cannot delete a default link.
Moving Links Up or Down in the List
You can change the order of the links in the list to suit your needs.
▶
Click to move a selected link up one place in the list.
▶
Click to move a selected link down one place in the link.
▶
Click , and then select
Move to Top of List to relocate a selected link to the top of the list.
▶
Click , and then select Move to Bottom of List to relocate a selected link to the bottom of the list.
Using Web Content
Web Content provides links to online materials on Texas Instruments websites.
You can save material found on these websites to your computer and share them using the Computer Content pane and Connected Handhelds.
Information provided for each activity includes the name of the activity, the author, the date the activity was posted, the size of the file, and the source.
Using the Content Workspace 31
À
Navigation toolbar.
Á
Column headings.
Â
List of available activities.
Ã
List of the files contained in the activity.
Ä
Details about the selected activity.
Note:
An Internet connection is required to access Texas Instruments websites.
Sorting the List of Activities
Use the column headings to sort the information in the list of activities. By default the list is displayed in alphabetical order by Name.
• Click the Name heading to list activities in reverse alphabetical order. Click the heading again to return to A to Z order.
• Click the Author heading to list the activities in alphabetical order by author name.
• Click the Date Posted heading to list the activities in order from newest to oldest or from oldest to newest.
• Click the Size heading to list the activities according to file size.
• Click the Source heading to list the activities in order by source.
• Right-click the column heading row to customize displayed column headings.
32 Using the Content Workspace
Filtering the List of Activities
By default, all available activities are listed in the Content pane. Options on the
Navigation bar enable you to filter the activities by subject, topic, and category.
You can also search for an activity using a keyword search.
To find all activities related to a particular subject:
1.
In the Subject field, click
¤ to open the drop-down list.
2.
Select a subject.
All activities related to the selected subject are listed.
3.
To narrow the search, click
¤ in the Topic field to view and select a topic related to the subject selected.
4.
Use the Category field to narrow the search even further. Click
¤ to select a category related to the selected subject and topic.
Using Keywords to Search for an Activity
Complete the following steps to search for an activity using a keyword or phrase.
1.
Type a keyword or phrase in the Filter by Keyword field.
2.
Press Enter .
All activities that contain the keyword or phrase are listed.
Opening an Activity
1.
Select the activity you want to open.
2.
Click , and then select Open .
The Open Activity dialog box opens with a list of all documents related to the selected activity.
You can open a .tns or .tsnp file in the TI-Nspire™ software. Other files such as Microsoft® Word and Adobe® PDF files open in their respective applications.
Using the Content Workspace 33
3.
Select the file and click
¢
, and then select Open .
• The .tns file opens in the Documents Workspace.
• The .doc or .pdf file opens in its associated application.
Saving an Activity to Your Computer
Complete the following steps to save an activity to your computer.
1.
Select the activity you want to save. The file details are displayed in the bottom half of the window.
2.
Click Save this Activity to Computer in Preview pane, above Files.
Note
: You can also right-click on the selected activity and choose Save to
Computer .
The Save Selected files dialog box opens.
3.
Navigate to the folder where you want to save the file.
4.
Click Save .
The activity is saved to your computer as a lesson bundle.
34 Using the Content Workspace
Copying an Activity
Complete the following steps to copy an activity. Once the activity is copied to the Clipboard, you can paste the activity into a folder on your computer, and then drag the activity to your list of shortcuts in the Local Content pane.
1.
Click the activity you want to copy to select it.
2.
Use one of the following methods to copy the activity to the Clipboard:
• Select the activity and drag it to a folder in the Local Content list.
• Click , and then click Copy .
• Right-click on a file in the Files list, and then click
Copy
.
• Click (Copy icon), which is located in the toolbar.
The activity is copied to the Clipboard.
3.
Open a folder on your computer, and then click
Edit > Paste to copy the activity to the selected folder.
Using the Content Workspace 35
36
Working with Connected Handhelds
The TI-Nspire™ software enables you to view content, manage files, and install operating system updates on handhelds connected to the computer.
To use the features described in this chapter, handhelds must be turned on and connected by one of these means:
• TI-Nspire™ Docking Station or TI-Nspire™ CX Docking Station
• TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Cradle and access point
• TI-Nspire™ CX Wireless Network Adapter and access point
• TI-Nspire™ CX Wireless Network Adapter v2 and access point
• A direct connection through a standard USB cable
Note:
The tasks in this section can only be performed using TI-Nspire™ handhelds. In order to enable wireless connectivity, the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™
Teacher Software and the OS installed on the TI-Nspire™ handhelds must be version 3.9 or later.
Viewing Content on Connected Handhelds
When you select a handheld in the Resources pane in the Content Workspace, all files and folders on the handheld appear in the Content pane. To preview the document contents, select Click here to preview document in the Preview pane.
Working with Connected Handhelds 37
À
Connected Handhelds
- Lists all handhelds that are connected and turned on.
Note
: A warning symbol next to the handheld name indicates that the OS installed on the handheld does not match the software version installed on the computer and that an OS update is needed.
Á
Options - Available options vary depending on the task you select under
Resources.
Â
Content pane
- When Connected Handhelds is selected, the Content pane shows details about handhelds that are connected and turned on:
•
Name
•
Battery (Li-ion) -
Li-ion (rechargeable) battery charge (Critical 2%,
25%, 50%, 75%, 100%, or "
--
" to indicate no battery is present).
•
Battery (AAA)
- AAA battery charge (Critical 2%, 25%, 50%, 75%,
100%, or "
--
" to indicate no battery is present).
•
Storage Size
•
OS Version
Ã
Preview pane
- Provides information on a handheld when you click
Connected Handhelds in the Resources pane and then a handheld in the
Content pane. If you select a TI-Nspire™ file in the Content pane, the
Preview pane shows a preview available for that file.
• Handheld Type : Names of handhelds.
•
Product ID
: Handheld product identification.
• Boot 1 : Internal bootstrap that performs lower level operation for booting up device.
•
Boot 2
: External bootstrap that performs lower level operation for booting up device.
•
Operating System
: The operating system in use.
•
Available Space
: The amount of space left and available on the handheld.
When you select a handheld, all files and folders on the handheld appear in the Content pane. When a file or folder is selected, the details are displayed in the Preview pane. Click the icon to preview the document.
38 Working with Connected Handhelds
Details about the selected folder or file are shown in the Preview pane.
Details for selected folder
Details for selected file
▶
To view the files in a folder, double-click the folder name in the Content pane. The files in the folder are listed in the Content pane.
▶
To preview the contents of a .tns file, select
Click here to preview document in the Preview pane.
Working with Connected Handhelds 39
Managing Files on a Connected Handheld
When working with files on connected handhelds in the Content Workspace, use the Options menu or the context menu to manage files.
Note
: If you select a file type that is not supported on the handheld, some selections in Options menu are not active.
Option How it Works
Open
Save to
Computer
Open a file on a connected handheld:
• Click the file you want to open.
• Click
Open
. The document opens in the Documents
Workspace.
Save a copy of the selected file on your computer:
• Click the file you want to save.
• Click
Save to Computer
. The Save Selected Files dialog box opens.
• Navigate to the folder where you want to save the file.
• Click
Save
.
Copy/Paste Create a copy of a file:
• Click the file you want to copy.
• Click Options > Copy to copy the file to the Clipboard.
• To paste the file in another location, navigate to the new location, and then click
Options > Paste
.
Note
: If you don’t select a new location, the copied file is pasted with a new name "Copy of ..."
Delete Delete a file on a connected handheld:
• Click the file you want to delete.
• Click Delete .
• Click
Yes when the Warning dialog box opens. Click
No to cancel.
40 Working with Connected Handhelds
Option
Refresh
How it Works
To refresh the list of files, click
Options > Refresh
.
Rename To rename a file on a connected handheld:
• Click the file you want to rename.
• Click Options > Rename .
• Type the new name and press
Enter
.
Up a Level Go up a level in the folder hierarchy. This option is available when you select a file inside a folder.
New Folder Create a new folder:
• Click
New Folder
.
• Type a name for the new folder.
• Press
Enter
.
Opening Documents on a Connected Handheld
To open a document on a connected handheld in the TI-Nspire™ software:
1.
Ensure the handheld is connected to your computer.
2.
Click to open Content Explorer.
The connected handheld name is listed in the Connected Handhelds pane.
3.
Double-click the handheld name.
The folders and documents on the handheld are listed.
4.
Navigate to the document you want to open, and then double-click the file name.
The document opens in the Documents Workspace.
Saving Files to a Connected Handheld
When you save a file from your computer to a handheld, files are converted to
TI-Nspire™ documents (.tns files). (See Sending Files to Handhelds)
To save a file on your computer to a connected handheld:
1.
Ensure the handheld is connected to your computer.
Working with Connected Handhelds 41
2.
Click to open Content Explorer.
The folders and files on your computer are listed in the Computer pane.
3.
Navigate to the folder or file you want to save to the handheld.
4.
Click the file to select it.
5.
Drag the file to a connected handheld listed in the Connected Handheld pane.
The file is saved to the connected handheld.
Note
: To save the file in a folder on the handheld, double-click the handheld name to list the folders and files, and then drag the file to a folder on the handheld.
If the file already exists on the handheld, a dialog box opens asking if you want to replace the file. Click
Replace to overwrite the existing file. Click
No or Cancel to abandon the save.
Sending Files to Handhelds
You can transfer activities, folders, lesson bundles, and supported files from a computer to connected handhelds, from one connected handheld to another, or from one connected handheld to all connected handhelds.
Items you can transfer include:
• Folders
• Supported files
.tcc
.tco
.tilb
.tnc
.tno
.tns
Sending an Activity to a Connected Handheld
In the Content Workspace, you can send an activity from the Web Content link to connected handhelds.
1.
Use the Workspace selector to select the Content Workspace.
2.
Click Web Content in the Resources pane.
42 Working with Connected Handhelds
3.
Click the activity you want to send to connected handhelds.
4.
Use one of the following options to send the file to the selected handhelds:
• Drag the file to the Selected Handhelds label to transfer to the file to all connected handhelds. To transfer the file to a specific handheld, drag the file to a specific handheld name.
• To transfer the file using Transfer Tool:
Note:
You cannot use the Transfer Tool to transfer files to handhelds while a class is in session.
5.
From the toolbar, click , and then select
Send to Connected Handhelds
.
—or—
Click , and then select
Send to Connected Handhelds
.
The Transfer Tool opens.
6.
Select the file, and then click
Start Transfer
.
The selected files and folders are transferred to the selected handhelds.
7.
When the transfer is complete, close the Transfer Tool.
Sending Files to all Connected Handhelds
You can send a file to all connected handhelds when a class is not in session.
To transfer files or folders from a connected handheld or from the computer to all connected handhelds, complete the following steps:
1.
Use the Workspace selector to select the Content Workspace.
Working with Connected Handhelds 43
2.
Select the files or folders you want to transfer from the Resources pane.
Note
: You can choose files from Computer Content, Web Content, or
Connected Handhelds.
3.
Click , and then click
Send to Connected Handhelds
.
The Transfer Tool window opens.
4.
Click
Start Transfer
.
Note
: To add additional files to the transfer list, click
Add to Transfer List
.
The selected files and folders are transferred to the connected handhelds.
By default, the files are transferred to a folder on the handheld titled
Transfers-mm-dd-yy.
Transferring Files Between Handhelds
If multiple handhelds are connected, you can send a folder or file from one handheld to another handheld in the Connected Handhelds list in the
Resources pane.
1.
Use the Workspace selector to select the Content Workspace.
2.
In the Resources pane, click the handheld that contains the files you want to transfer. The files on the handheld are listed in the Content pane.
44 Working with Connected Handhelds
3.
Click the folder or file you want to send.
4.
Drag the file to another handheld in the Connected Handhelds list.
Note
: You can also copy and paste a file from one handheld to another.
Checking for an OS Update
When handhelds are connected, you can check for OS updates from the
Content Workspace or from the Documents Workspace.
Note
: Your computer must be connected to the Internet.
1.
Show all connected handhelds.
• In the Content Workspace, click
Connected Handhelds in the
Resources pane.
• In the Documents Workspace, open the Content Explorer and click
Connected Handhelds
.
2.
Click the handheld you want to check, and then right-click and select
Check for OS Update
.
• If the operating system is current, the Check for Handheld OS Update dialog box opens indicating that the operating system on the handheld is current.
• If the operating system is not current, the TI-Nspire™ software prompts you to install the latest OS now, with the option to download the OS to your computer.
Working with Connected Handhelds 45
3.
Click
Close to close the dialog box, or click
Continue and follow the prompts to install the OS on the handheld.
Installing an OS Update
Note
: To avoid losing unsaved data, close all documents on the handheld before updating its operating system (OS). Updating the OS does not replace or remove previously saved documents.
The OS on a new handheld comes bundled with the installer, which places the
OS in a default location such as: C:\mydocuments\TI-Nspire\downloads.
Go to education.ti.com/latest to download the latest OS files.
Note:
You can install OS updates on connected handhelds from the Content
Workspace at any time.
Updating the OS on a Single Handheld
1.
Ensure that your computer is connected to the internet.
2.
Show all connected handhelds by clicking the arrow next to TI-Nspire™
Connected Handhelds in the Resources pane.
46 Working with Connected Handhelds
Note:
The symbol indicates either:
• A student's handheld needs an OS update.
—or—
• A student's handheld has a newer OS than the teacher's.
3.
Hover your mouse over the TI-Nspire™ handheld you want to update, and then right-click.
4.
Click Check for OS Update .
The Check for OS Update dialog box opens.
5.
Click
Close to cancel the installation, or click
Continue and follow the prompts to install the OS on the handheld.
When the update is complete, the handheld restarts automatically.
Working with Connected Handhelds 47
Updating the OS on Multiple Handhelds
Note
: To avoid losing unsaved data, close all documents on the handheld before updating its operating system (OS). Updating the OS does not replace or remove previously saved documents.
1.
Click TI-Nspire™ Connected Handhelds in the Resources pane.
2.
Select all handhelds you want to update in the Content Pane.
3.
Click
Tools > Install OS
.
The OS Installation dialog box opens.
4.
Click Add OS file.
The Add to Transfer List dialog box opens.
5.
Select the applicable OS files.
• To upgrade a TI-Nspire™ CX handheld, select TI-Nspire.tco.
• To upgrade a TI-Nspire™ CX CAS handheld, select TI-Nspire.tcc.
• To upgrade a TI-Nspire™ handheld, select TI-Nspire.tno.
• To upgrade a TI-Nspire™ CAS handheld, select TI-Nspire.tnc.
6.
Click
Select
.
The OS Installation redisplays with your selected OS files.
7.
Click Install OS .
48 Working with Connected Handhelds
The OS version information updates, and the Select OS Handheld File dialog redisplays for further selection.
Renaming Handhelds
You can rename the handhelds from the Content Workspace.
Note
: Renaming a handheld does not affect student login information.
1.
Right-click the handheld name in the Content pane.
2.
Click Rename .
3.
Type the new name.
4.
Press
Enter to go to the next name to change.
5.
To exit the Edit mode, click an area of the screen outside the handheld names. You will also leave the Edit mode after you press Enter on the last name you edit.
Using Identify Selected to Locate Handhelds
If you are using the TI-Nspire™ Docking Station or the TI-Nspire™ CX Docking
Station, use this feature to locate handhelds.
1.
Be sure that the handhelds are turned on and that the docking station is connected to your computer.
Working with Connected Handhelds 49
2.
Use the Workspace selector to select the Content Workspace.
3.
Click
Tools > Identify Selected Handheld/Lab Cradle
.
Note: You can also right-click the handheld name in the Content pane, and then select
Identify Selected Handheld/Lab Cradle
.
Both LED lights on the docking station under the slot where the handheld is located will blink for 30 seconds.
50 Working with Connected Handhelds
Using the Transfer Tool
When a class is not in session, you can transfer files or folders containing files from your computer to connected TI-Nspire™ handhelds using the Transfer
Tool. With the Transfer Tool, you can transfer one or more files or documents to one or more handhelds without requiring students to log in.
Files File Extensions
Operating systems (OS) .tcc (TI-Nspire™ CX CAS handhelds)
.tco (TI-Nspire™ CX handhelds)
.tnc (TI-Nspire™ CAS handhelds)
.tno (TI-Nspire™ handhelds)
Documents .tilb (TI-Nspire™ Lesson Bundle)
.tns (TI-Nspire™ document)
Notes
:
• You can transfer more than one operating system file at a time; however, you can only transfer one operating system file with the same file extension at a time. For example, you can transfer a .tcc and a .tco file at the same time, but only one .tcc file at that time.
Transfer Tool Interface
The Transfer Tool dialog box contains a Setup tab and a Status tab.
Setup Tab
The Setup tab allows you to select files to transfer and a destination folder.
Using the Transfer Tool 51
The Setup tab includes the following features:
Feature
Add to
Transfer
List
Remove
Selected
Description
Click to add files or folders with files to the Transfer List. The
Transfer List displays the File Name (or folder name), the
Destination Folder, and the Size (in KB) of the file or folder you want to transfer.
Click to remove selected files and folders from the Transfer
List. This option becomes active when you add files to the
Transfer List.
Delete all files and folders before transfer
Select to clear all files and folders on a handheld before a file transfer.
Edit
Destination
Folder
Select to change the destination folder for the files you want to transfer.
Status Tab
The Status tab is only active when a transfer is in progress.
52 Using the Transfer Tool
When you start a transfer, the Transfer Tool automatically switches to the Status tab. The Status tab allows you to view the progress and status of files as they transfer and provides the following information:
Information Description
File Name Indicates the file name and extension.
Folder/Handheld
ID
Indicates the destination folder and the handheld ID.
Status Indicates the completion status, the progress bar, or any error message. Error messages include:
• Low battery
• Wrong handheld type
• Memory full
• Lost connectivity
Notes
:
• If no transfers are active, the following message is displayed: “
No transfers are active. Use the Setup tab to configure and start the transfer.”
• During a transfer, no options are available on the Setup tab.
Using the Transfer Tool 53
Opening the Transfer Tool
Before you can use the Transfer Tool, you must end any running class sessions.
To open the Transfer Tool, use one of these methods:
▶
Click
Tools > Transfer
Tool.
▶
Click , and then select Send to Connected Handhelds .
The Transfer Tool opens the Setup tab.
Adding Files or Folders to the Transfer List
You must add files or folders to the Transfer List before you can start a transfer.
Note
: You can only add a folder that contains files to the Transfer List.
To add files or folders to the Transfer List:
1.
In the Transfer Tool dialog box, click
Add to Transfer List
.
The Add to Transfer List dialog box opens.
54 Using the Transfer Tool
2.
To add files to the Transfer List, navigate to the folder or folders that contain the files you want to transfer.
3.
Click
Select to add highlighted files to the Transfer list.
• On the Files tab, you can see both files and folders, but you cannot select folders. You must drill down and select a file.
• To select multiple files within a folder, press and hold the
Ctrl key
(Mac®: “) while selecting files.
4.
To add folders containing files, click the Folders tab and navigate to the folder you want to select.
5.
Click Select to add the highlighted folders.
Note
: To select multiple folders, press and hold the Ctrl key (Mac®: “) while selecting folders.
Selected files and folders are displayed in the Transfer Tool dialog box.
Note
: You can only add one operating system file type to the Transfer List.
If you attempt to add more than one operating system file type, the following error message is displayed.
Using the Transfer Tool 55
Removing Files or Folders from the Transfer List
You can remove files or folders that you no longer want to transfer.
To remove files or folders from the Transfer List, complete the following steps:
1.
In the Transfer Tool dialog box, select files or folders you want to remove.
Note
: To select multiple files or folders, press and hold the
Ctrl
key
(Mac®: “) while selecting each file or folder.
2.
Click Remove Selected .
The files or folders are removed from the Transfer List.
Editing the Destination Folder
Except for an operating system file, you can change the destination folder for any file or folder in the Transfer List.
By default, the Transfer Tool creates the destination folder “ Transfer-date.” The date format is based on the user’s preferred language setting and location. For example, the default date format for the United States is mm-dd-yy. If you change your preferred language setting, this default date format changes.
To change the destination folder:
1.
Click a file or folder.
56 Using the Transfer Tool
2.
Complete one of the following actions:
• From the
Edit Destination Folder drop-down list, select the top level folder for any available handheld or any available folder.
• In the
Edit Destination Folder drop-down list, type a new destination folder name.
Note:
Folder names can contain alphanumeric characters and can include slashes ( / and \ ). You cannot use double slashes ( // and \\ ) and these special characters (? | : * " " < > | ).
3.
Click
Change
.
The destination folder in the Transfer List changes for the files or folders you selected.
Deleting All Handheld Files and Folders
You can use the Transfer Tool to delete all files and folders on a connected handheld. Use this feature to delete existing files and folders to ensure that only the files you want students to work with are on the handhelds.
By default, the Transfer Tool disables this setting. If selected, the new setting becomes the default the next time you open Transfer Tool.
To delete all files and folders from a connected handheld:
1.
In the Transfer Tool dialog box, select Delete all files and folders before transfer .
Using the Transfer Tool 57
2.
Click Start Transfer .
The Confirm dialog box opens.
3.
Click
Yes
.
The Transfer Tools displays the Status tab. This tab displays the status and progress as files are deleted.
Starting a Transfer
After you have added all files and folders to the Transfer List and selected other options as necessary, you can start the transfer. You can transfer operating system files and documents at the same time.
To start a transfer:
1.
Connect one or more TI-Nspire™ handhelds.
If handhelds are not connected, the
Status tab indicates “ No Active
Connected Handhelds” when you start a transfer.
2.
From the Resources pane, complete one of the following actions:
58 Using the Transfer Tool
• To transfer files to one or more TI-Nspire™ handhelds, select the individual handhelds.
• To transfer files to all connected TI-Nspire™ handhelds, select
Connected Handhelds (top level).
3.
In the Transfer Tool dialog box, click
Start Transfer
.
The Transfer Tool dialog box switches to the
Status tab and displays the transfer information.
• The progress bar disappears when a transfer is complete.
• During a transfer, the Transfer Tool indicates which handhelds are connected and successfully received files.
• If a handheld disconnects and then reconnects during a transfer, the
Transfer Tool indicates the status of completed transfers, and resumes transferring other files as necessary.
Stopping File Transfers
You can stop a file transfer at any time.
To stop a file transfer:
1.
In the Transfer Tool, click
Stop Transfer
.
The Confirm dialog box opens.
2.
Click Yes .
The Transfer Tool stops transferring and displays the
Setup tab.
• If a connected handheld has already received files, those files remain on the handhelds.
• Files remain in the Setup tab until you close the Transfer Tool, or until you delete them.
Using the Transfer Tool 59
Closing the Transfer Tool
When you have completed transferring files and folders, close the Transfer
Tool.
▶
To close the Transfer Tool, click
Close
.
• You cannot close the Transfer Tool if a transfer is active.
• When closed, the Transfer Tool clears files and folders you added to the Transfer List.
• When closed, the Transfer Tool keeps the last
Delete all files and folders before transfer setting.
60 Using the Transfer Tool
Using the Documents Workspace
Use this workspace to create, modify, and view TI-Nspire™ and PublishView™ documents, and to demonstrate mathematical concepts.
Exploring the Documents Workspace
À
Documents Toolbox
. Contains tools such as the Document Tools menu, Page Sorter, TI-SmartView™ emulator, Utilities, and Content
Explorer. Click each icon to access the available tools. When you are working in a TI-Nspire™ document, the tools available are specific to that document. When you are working in a PublishView™ document, the tools are specific to that document type.
Á
Toolbox pane
. Options for the selected tool are displayed in this area.
For example, click the Document Tools icon to access tools needed to work with the active application.
Note:
In the TI-Nspire™ CX Teacher Software, the tool for configuring questions opens in this space when you insert a question. For more information, see Using Question in the Teacher Software.
Â
Work area
. Shows the current document and enables you to perform calculations, add applications, and add pages and problems. Only one document at a time is active (selected). Multiple documents appear as tabs.
Ã
Document information.
Shows the names of all open documents.
Using the Documents Workspace 61
When there too many open documents to list, click the forward and backward arrows to scroll through the open documents.
Using the Documents Toolbox
The Documents Toolbox, located on the left side of the workspace, contains tools needed for working with both TI-Nspire™ documents and PublishView™ documents. When you click a toolbox icon, the associated tools appear in the
Toolbox pane.
Exploring Document Tools
In the following example, the Document Tools menu is open showing the options for the Calculator application. In TI-Nspire™ documents, the Document
Tools menu contains tools available for working with an application. The tools are specific to the active application.
In PublishView™ documents, the Document Tools menu contains tools needed to insert TI-Nspire™ applications and TI-Nspire™ documents, as well as multimedia objects such as text boxes, images, and links to websites and files.
For more information, see Working with PublishView™ Documents.
62 Using the Documents Workspace
À
The Documents Toolbox menu.
Á
Tools available for the Calculator application. Click
¢ to open the submenu for each option.
Â
Click to close and click to open Document Tools.
Exploring the Page Sorter
The following example shows the Documents Toolbox with the Page Sorter open. Use the Page Sorter to:
• See the number of problems in your document and where you are.
• Move from one page to another by clicking the page you want.
• Add, cut, copy, and paste pages and problems within the same document or between documents.
Note
: When you are working in a PublishView™ document, the Page Sorter is not available in the Documents Toolbox.
Using the Documents Workspace 63
À
The Documents Toolbox menu.
Á
Click the minus sign to collapse the view. Click the + sign to open the view and show pages in the document.
Â
Scroll bar. The scroll bar is only active when there are too many pages to show in the pane.
Exploring the TI-SmartView™ Feature
The TI-SmartView™ feature emulates how a handheld works. In the teacher software, the emulated handheld facilitates classroom presentations. In the student software, the emulated keypad gives students the ability to drive the software as if using a handheld.
Note
: Content is displayed on the TI-SmartView™ small screen only when the document is in Handheld view.
64 Using the Documents Workspace
When working in a PublishView™ document, TI-SmartView™ emulator is not available.
Note
: The following illustration shows the TI-SmartView™ panel in the teacher software. In the Student Software, only the keypad is shown. For more information, see Using the TI-SmartView™ Emulator.
À
The Documents Toolbox menu.
Á
Handheld Selector. Click
¤ to select which handheld to show in the pane:
• TI-Nspire™ CX or TI-Nspire™ CX CAS
Then, select how to show the handheld:
Using the Documents Workspace 65
• Normal
• High contrast
• Outline
Â
View selector. In the teacher software, click
¤ to select the handheld view:
• Handheld only
• Keypad plus side screen
• Handheld plus side screen
Note
: You can also change these options in the TI-SmartView™
Options window. Click File > Settings > TI-Smartview™ Options to open the window.
Note
: The view selector is not available in the student software.
When the Handheld Only display is active, select
Always in Front to keep the display in front of all other open applications. (Teacher software only.)
Exploring Utilities
Utilities provides access to the math templates and operators, special symbols, catalog items, and libraries that you need when working with documents. In the following example, the Math templates tab is open.
66 Using the Documents Workspace
À
The Documents Toolbox menu.
Á
Math Templates are open. Double-click a template to add it to a document. Click the Math Template tab to close the template view.
To open the Symbols, Catalog, Math Operators, and Libraries, click the tab.
Â
Wizards On check box. Select this option to use a wizard to enter function arguments.
Ã
Tabs for opening views where you can select and add symbols, catalog items, math operators, and library items to a document. Click
Using the Documents Workspace 67
the tab to open the view.
Exploring Content Explorer
Use Content Explorer to:
• See a list of files on your computer.
• Create and manage lesson bundles.
• If using software that supports connected handhelds, you can:
See a list of files on any connected handheld.
Update the OS on connected handhelds.
Transfer files between a computer and connected handhelds.
Note
: If you are using TI-Nspire™ software that does not support connected handhelds, the Connected Handheld heading is not shown in the Content
Explorer pane.
68 Using the Documents Workspace
À
The Documents Toolbox menu.
Á
Shows files on your computer and the name of the folder where the files are located. Click
¤ to navigate to another folder on the computer.
Â
The list of folders and files within the folder named in the Look In: field.
Right-click on a highlighted file or folder to open the context menu listing available actions for that file or folder.
Ã
Click to close the list of files. Click to open the list of files.
Ä
Options menu. Click
¤ to open the menu of actions you can perform
Using the Documents Workspace 69
on a selected file:
• Open an existing file or folder.
• Move (navigate) up one level in the folder hierarchy.
• Create a new folder.
• Create a new lesson bundle.
• Rename a file or folder.
• Copy selected file or folder.
• Paste file or folder copied to Clipboard.
• Delete selected file or folder.
• Select all files in a folder.
• Package lesson bundles.
• Refresh the view.
• Install OS.
Å
Connected handhelds. Lists the connected handhelds. Multiple handhelds are listed if more than one handheld is connected to the computer or when using the TI-Nspire™ Docking Stations.
Æ
The name of the connected handheld. To show the folders and files on a handheld, double-click the name.
Click
¤ to navigate to another folder on the handheld.
Using the Work Area
The space on the right side of the workspace provides an area for creating and working with TI-Nspire™ and PublishView™ documents. This work area provides a view of the document so that you can add pages, add applications, and perform all work. Only one document at a time is active.
When you create a document, you specify its page size as Handheld or
Computer. This is how the page is displayed in the work area.
•
Handheld page size is optimized for the smaller screen of a handheld. This page size can be viewed on handhelds, computer screens, and tablets.
The content is scaled when viewed on a larger screen.
70 Using the Documents Workspace
•
Computer page size takes advantage of the larger space of a computer screen. These documents can show details with less scrolling required.
The content is not scaled when viewed on a handheld.
You can change the page preview to see how the document will look in a different page size.
▶
To change the page preview, click
Document Preview on the toolbar, and then click
Handheld or
Computer
.
For more information on page size and document preview, see
Working with
TI-Nspire™ Documents.
Changing Document Settings
Document settings control how all numbers, including elements or matrices and lists, are displayed in TI-Nspire™ and PublishView™ documents. You can change the default settings at anytime and you can specify settings for a specific document.
Changing Document Settings
1.
Create a new document or open an existing document.
2.
From the TI-Nspire™
File menu, select
Settings > Document Settings.
The Document Settings dialog box opens.
When you open Document Settings the first time, the default settings are displayed.
Using the Documents Workspace 71
3.
Press Tab or use your mouse to move through the list of settings. Click
¤ to open the drop-down list to view the available values for each setting.
Field
Display
Digits
Angle
Value
• Float
• Float1 - Float12
• Fix0 - Fix12
• Radian
• Degree
• Gradian
Exponential
Format
• Normal
• Scientific
• Engineering
Real or
Complex
Format
• Real
• Rectangular
• Polar
Calculation
Mode
Vector
Format
Base
• Auto
• CAS: Exact
• Approximate
Note:
Auto mode shows an answer that is not a whole number as a fraction except when a decimal is used in the problem. Exact mode (CAS) shows an answer that is not a whole number as a fraction or in symbolic form, except when a decimal is used in the problem.
• Rectangular
• Cylindrical
• Spherical
• Decimal
• Hex
• Binary
72 Using the Documents Workspace
Field Value
Unit System
(CAS)
• SI
• Eng/U.S.
4.
Click the desired setting.
5.
Choose one of the following options:
• To apply the customized settings to ALL documents, click Make
Default .
• To apply the settings to the open document only, click
OK
.
• To restore default settings, click
Restore
.
• Click Cancel to close the dialog box without making changes.
Changing Graphs & Geometry Settings
Graphs & Geometry settings control how information is displayed in open problems and in subsequent new problems. When you change the Graphs &
Geometry settings, the selections become the default settings for all work in these applications.
Complete the following steps to customize the application settings for graphs and geometry.
1.
Create a new graphs and geometry document or open an existing document.
2.
In the Documents Toolbox, click application menu.
to open the Graphs & Geometry
3.
Click
Settings > Settings
.
The Graphs & Geometry Settings dialog box opens.
Using the Documents Workspace 73
4.
Press Tab or use your mouse to move through the list of settings. Click
¢ to open the drop-down list to view the available values for each setting.
Field Values
Display Digits • Auto
• Float
• Float1 -
Float12
• Fix0 -
Fix12
Graphing Angle • Auto
• Radian
• Degree
• Gradian
Geometry Angle • Auto
• Radian
• Degree
• Gradian
5.
Select the desired setting.
74 Using the Documents Workspace
6.
Select a check box to enable an option or clear a check box to disable an option.
Check box
Automatically hide plot labels
Show axis end values
Show tool tips for function manipulation
Automatically find a point of interest
Operation when selected
Plot labels are displayed only when selected, grabbed, or hovered.
A numeric label is displayed at the least and greatest values visible on an axis
Shows helpful information as you manipulate function graphs
Shows zeros, minima, and maxima for graphed functions and objects while tracing function graphs.
7.
Choose one of the following options:
• To apply the customized settings to ALL graphs and geometry documents, click Make Default .
• To apply the settings to the open document only, click OK .
• To restore default settings, click
Restore
.
• Click
Cancel to close the dialog box without making changes.
Using the Documents Workspace 75
76
Working with TI-Nspire™ Documents
All work that you create and save using TI-Nspire™ applications is stored as a document, which you can share with others using TI-Nspire™ software and with those using handhelds. There are two types of documents:
• TI-Nspire™ document (.tns file)
• PublishView™ document (.tnsp file)
TI-Nspire™ Documents
A TI-Nspire™ document consists of one or more problems. Each problem can contain one or more pages. A single page is displayed in the work area. All work occurs in the applications within pages.
Because the TI-Nspire™ software and handhelds share the same functionality, you can transfer TI-Nspire™ documents between computers and handhelds.
When you create a document, you select one of two page sizes.
•
Handheld.
Size: 320 × 217 pixels. This size allows documents to be viewed on all platforms. The content will be scaled when viewed on a tablet or larger screen.
•
Computer.
Size: 640 × 434 pixels. The content will not be scaled when viewed on smaller platforms. Some content may not be visible on a handheld device.
You can convert a document from one page size to the other anytime.
PublishView™ Documents
PublishView™ documents can be printed on a standard piece of paper or published to a website or blog. PublishView™ documents can include formatted text, images, and hyperlinks as well as all TI-Nspire™ applications.
For more information, see
Working with PublishView™ Documents
Creating a New TI-Nspire™ Document
When you open the software, the Documents Workspace opens with a blank document containing one problem. You can add applications and content to this problem to create a document.
Working with TI-Nspire™ Documents 77
Note:
The Welcome Screen is displayed when you open the software if the
"always show this at startup" option is selected. Click an application icon to add a problem with an active application to a new document.
To create a new document, complete the following steps:
1.
On the TI-Nspire™
File menu
,
• Select
New TI-Nspire™ Document - Handheld Page Size
.
—or—
• Select New TI-Nspire™ Document - Computer Page Size .
The new document opens in the Documents Workspace, and you are prompted to select an application.
2.
Select an application to add a problem to the document.
The problem is added to the document.
Opening an Existing Document
To open an existing document:
1.
Click
File > Open Document
.
—or—
78 Working with TI-Nspire™ Documents
Click .
The Open dialog box opens.
2.
Use the file browser to locate the file you want to open and click the file to select it.
3.
Click Open .
The document opens in the work area.
Note:
To select from your 10 most recent documents, click
File > Recent
Documents and select a document from the drop-down list.
Saving TI-Nspire™ Documents
To save a new document:
1.
Click
File > Save Document or click .
The Save TI-Nspire™ Document dialog box opens.
Working with TI-Nspire™ Documents 79
2.
Navigate to the folder where you want to save the document or create a folder in which to store the document.
3.
Type a name for the new document.
4.
Click
Save to save the document.
The document closes and is saved with the extension .tns.
Note: When you save a file, the software looks in the same folder the next time you open a file.
Saving a Document with a New Name
To save a previously saved document in a new folder and/or with a new name:
1.
Click File > Save As.
The Save TI-Nspire™ Document dialog box opens.
2.
Navigate to the folder where you want to save the document or create a folder in which to store the document.
3.
Type a new name for the document.
4.
Click
Save to save the document with a new name.
Deleting Documents
File deletions on your computer are sent to the Recycle bin and can be retrieved if the Recycle bin has not been emptied.
Note
: File deletions on the handheld are permanent and cannot be undone, so be sure that you want to delete the file that you select.
1.
Select the document you want to delete.
2.
Click
Edit > Delete or press
Delete
.
The Warning dialog box opens.
3.
Click Yes to confirm the delete.
The document is deleted.
Closing Documents
▶
To close a document, click
File > Close or click the
Close icon on the document tab at the bottom of the document.
80 Working with TI-Nspire™ Documents
▶
If working in tiled view, click the Close icon in the upper right corner of the document window.
Formatting Text in Documents
Use the text formatting tools to format text in TI-Nspire™ applications that allow formatted text, and to format text in PublishView™ documents. By default, the text formatting toolbar opens in the area above an active document. Options on the toolbar are enabled or disabled depending on the active application.
Option Function
Click
¤ to open the menu for the active application. This tool enables you to open an application menu regardless of the option selected in the Documents Toolbox.
Click
¤ to select a background color for highlighting text or choose a fill color for a selected cell.
Click
¤ to select the line color for an object.
For example, in Graphs & Geometry, you can choose a color for a selected shape.
Click
¤ to select a color for selected text.
Use these tools to choose a font and set the size of the font.
• Click
¤ to select a different font from the drop-down box.
• To select as specific font size, click
¤ to
Working with TI-Nspire™ Documents 81
Option Function
select a size from the drop-down box.
• Click to increase the font size or click to decrease the font size incrementally.
Click the appropriate tool to apply bolding, italics, or underlining; apply superscript or subscript; or strike out text.
In a PublishView™ document, use these tools to position text within the header or footer, or in text box. Clicking
Hyperlink dialog box.
opens the
For more information, see Working with
PublishView™ Documents.
Hiding and Showing the Formatting Toolbar
▶
When the formatting toolbar is visible, click
£
(located under the toolbar) to hide the toolbar.
▶
Click
¤ to show the toolbar when the formatting toolbar is hidden.
Using Colors in Documents
In the TI-Nspire™ applications that allow formatting, you can use color in filled areas of an object, or in lines or text, depending on the application you are using and how you have selected the item. If the icon or menu item that you want to use is not available (dimmed) after you have selected an item, color is not an option for the selected item.
Colors appear in documents opened on your computer and on the TI-Nspire™
CX handheld.
Note: For more information about using color in a TI-Nspire™ application, see the chapter for that application.
Adding Color from a List
To add color to a fill area, line, or text, complete the following steps:
82 Working with TI-Nspire™ Documents
1.
Select the item.
2.
Click
Edit > Color or select where you want to add color (fill, line, or text).
3.
Select the color from the list.
Adding Color from a Palette
To add color using the palette, complete the following steps:
1.
Select the object.
2.
Click the appropriate toolbar icon.
3.
Select the color from the palette.
Setting Page Size and Document Preview
When you ceate a document, you specify its page size as Handheld or
Computer, depending on how you expect the document to be used.
Documents of both page sizes can be opened on either platform, and you can convert the page size anytime.
•
Handheld.
Size: 320 × 217 pixels, fixed. Handheld documents can be viewed on all platforms. You can magnify (zoom) the content when viewing it on a tablet or larger screen.
•
Computer.
Size: 640 × 434 pixels, minimum. Computer documents scale up automatically to take advantage of higher resolution screens. The minimum size is 640 × 434, so some content may be clipped on handheld devices.
Note:
You can view documents of either page size using Handheld or
Computer preview.
Converting the Current Document's Page Size
▶
On the main TI-Nspire™
File menu, select
Convert to
, and then select the page size.
The software saves the current document and creates a copy that uses the requested page size.
Viewing the Document in Handheld Preview
1.
On the application toolbar, click Document Preview , and select Handheld .
Working with TI-Nspire™ Documents 83
The preview changes. This does not change the document's underlying page size.
2.
(Optional) Adjust the viewing magnification:
Click the
Zoom tool beneath the work area, and select a magnification value.
—or—
Click the Zoom to Fit button to make the handheld preview adjust automatically to the window size.
Viewing the Document in Computer Preview
1.
On the application toolbar, click Document Preview , and select Computer .
The preview changes. This does not change the document's underlying page size.
2.
(Optional) Click the
Boldness tool beneath the work area, and select a value to increase or decrease the boldness of text and other items.
Setting the Default Page Size for New Documents
1.
On the main TI-Nspire™
File menu, select
Settings > Page Size Settings
.
2.
Select a default page size, either Handheld or Computer.
The new size applies to documents that you create (Windows®: Ctrl + C ,
Mac®: Cmd + C ) after setting the default, including the blank document created automatically each time you open the software. Changing the default setting does not convert any currently open documents or other existing documents.
Setting a Default Preview
By default, when you open a document, it is automatically displayed using the preview that matches its page size. You can override this rule and specify a preview that you prefer.
1.
On the main TI-Nspire™ File menu, select Settings > Preview Settings .
2.
Select the preview that you want documents to use when you open them.
84 Working with TI-Nspire™ Documents
Working with Multiple Documents
When multiple documents are open, document names are listed in tabs at the bottom of the work area. Only one document is active at a time, and only the active document is affected by commands from menus or tools.
To switch between documents:
À
Click the tab to show a document in the work area. This document becomes the active document. If the Show
Documents in Tiles view is open, these tabs are not shown.
Á
Use the right and left arrows to scroll through the list of documents. These arrows are active only when there are too many documents to fit in the window.
Â
Click the Show List icon to list all open documents. This is useful when you have a large number of documents open and documents names on the tabs may be truncated.
Working with Multiple Documents in Tiled View
When multiple documents are open, you can view thumbnails of the documents in the work area. To change the view:
▶
Click Window > Show Documents in Tiles .
Open documents are shown as thumbnails in the work area, and the scroll bar becomes active.
Working with TI-Nspire™ Documents 85
The status bar remains available; however, document names now appear in the thumbnail view. Click Select Window > Show Documents in Tabs to view one document at a time in the work area.
Working with Applications
When you first open a new document or add a new problem to a document, you select an application from a menu.
The following illustration shows how a document containing the
Lists & Spreadsheet application appears in the work area.
86 Working with TI-Nspire™ Documents
À
Document name
. Tabs show the names of open documents. Click a name to make it the active document.
Á
Page Size.
Shows the document's page size as Handheld or Computer.
You can use the TI-Nspire™
File menu to convert a document from one page size to the other.
Â
Problem/Page counter
. Labels the problem number and page number of the active page. For example, a label of
1.2
identifies Problem
1
, Page
2
.
Ã
Settings . Double-click to view or change the Document Settings for the active document or to change the default Document Settings.
Ä
Angle Mode . Shows an abbreviation of the angle mode (Degrees,
Radians, or Gradians) in effect. Hover the pointer over the indicator to see the full name.
Å
Zoom . Enabled in Handheld preview only (click Document Preview on the toolbar and select Handheld ). Click ▼ and select a magnification value, or click the zoom-to-fit button window size.
to make the preview adapt automatically to
Working with TI-Nspire™ Documents 87
Æ
Boldness . Enabled in Computer preview only (click Document Preview on the toolbar and select
Computer
). Click ▼ and select a value to increase or decrease the boldness of text and other items.
Working with Multiple Applications on a Page
You can add up to four applications to a page. When you have multiple applications on a page, the menu for the active application is displayed in the
Documents Toolbox. Using multiple applications involves two steps:
• Changing the page layout to accommodate multiple applications.
• Adding the applications.
You can add multiple applications to a page even if an application is already active.
Adding Multiple Applications to a Page
By default, each page contains space to add one application. To add additional applications to the page, complete the following steps.
1.
Click Edit > Page Layout > Select Layout .
—or—
Click .
The page layout menu opens.
There are eight page layout options available. If an option is already selected, it is dimmed.
2.
Highlight the layout you want to add to the problem or page, and then click to select it.
88 Working with TI-Nspire™ Documents
The new layout is displayed with the first application active.
3.
In Handheld preview, click Press menu to select an application for each new section in the problem or page. In Computer view, select Click here to add an application .
Swapping Applications
To change the position of applications on a page with multiple applications,
“swap“ the positions of two applications.
1.
Click Edit > Page Layout > Swap Application .
Note:
The last active application you worked on is automatically selected as the first application to be swapped.
2.
Click the second application to swap.
This action performs the swap.
Note:
When there are only two work areas, the selected application automatically swaps position with the other application in the work area.
To cancel a swap, press
Esc
.
Selecting and Moving Pages
As you add problems and pages to a document, you can take advantage of features for managing the parts.
Working with TI-Nspire™ Documents 89
À
Page Sorter . Lists the problems you have inserted in your document and shows thumbnail images of the pages in each problem. The Page Sorter lets you rearrange, copy, and move both problems and pages. It also lets you rename problems.
Á
Active page . Indicates the current page by highlighting its thumbnail image. Thumbnails let you easily scan the pages in a document and select a specific page to work with.
Â
Problem/Page counter . Displays the problem number and page number of the currently selected page.
Selecting Pages
Use any of these methods to move from page to page.
▶
On the View menu, select Previous Page or Next Page .
▶
On the keyboard, press
Ctrl+PgUp or
Ctrl+PgDn
.
(Mac®: Press
Fn+Up Arrow or
Fn+Down Arrow
).
▶
Click the Previous Page or Next Page button on the main toolbar.
▶
Click the Page Sorter tool in the Documents Toolbox, and then click the thumbnail of the page you want to work with.
Tip:
To expand or collapse the list of thumbnails for a problem, doubleclick the name of the problem.
90 Working with TI-Nspire™ Documents
Rearranging Pages with the Page Sorter
The Page Sorter makes it easy to reorder pages within a problem.
1.
If necessary, click the Page Sorter tool in the Documents Toolbox.
2.
In the Page Sorter, drag the thumbnail image of the page to the desired position.
Copying a Page
You can copy a page within the same problem or copy it to a different problem or document.
1.
If necessary, click the Page Sorter tool in the Documents Toolbox.
2.
Select the thumbnail of the page to be copied.
3.
On the
Edit menu, click
Copy
.
4.
Click the location at which you want to insert the copy.
5.
On the Edit menu, click Paste .
Moving a Page
You can move a page within the same problem or move it to a different problem or document.
1.
If necessary, click the Page Sorter tool in the Documents Toolbox.
2.
Select the thumbnail of the page to be moved.
3.
On the
Edit menu, click
Cut
.
4.
Click the new location of the page.
5.
On the Edit menu, click Paste .
Deleting a Page
1.
Select the page in the work area or in the Page Sorter.
2.
Click
Edit > Delete
.
Grouping Applications on a Page
You can combine as many as four consecutive application pages into a single page.
1.
Select the first page in the series.
Working with TI-Nspire™ Documents 91
2.
Click
Edit > Page Layout > Group
.
The next page is grouped with the first page. The page layout automatically adjusts to display all the pages in the group.
Ungrouping Applications into Separate Pages
1.
Select the grouped page.
2.
Click
Edit > Page Layout > Ungroup
.
The applications are divided into individual pages.
Deleting an Application from a Page
1.
Click the application to be deleted.
2.
Click
Edit > Page Layout > Delete Application
.
Tip:
To undo the delete, press Ctrl + Z (Mac®: “+ Z).
Working with Problems and Pages
When you create a new document, it consists of a single problem with a single page. You can insert new problems and add pages to each problem.
Adding a Problem to a Document
A document can contain up to 30 problems. Each problem's variables are unaffected by the variables in other problems.
▶
On the Insert menu, select Problem .
—or—
Click the Insert tool on the main toolbar, and select
Problem
.
A new problem with an empty page is added to your document.
Adding a Page to the Current Problem
Each problem can contain up to 50 pages. Each page has a work area, where you can perform calculations, create graphs, collect and plot data, or add notes and instructions.
1.
Click Insert > Page .
—or—
Click the Insert tool on the main toolbar, and select
Page
.
92 Working with TI-Nspire™ Documents
An empty page is added to the current problem, and you are prompted to choose an application for the page.
2.
Select an application to add to the page.
Renaming a Problem
New problems are named automatically as Problem 1, Problem 2, and so on.
To rename a problem:
1.
If necessary, click the Page Sorter tool
2.
Click the problem name to select it.
3.
On the Edit menu, click Rename .
4.
Type the new name.
in the Documents Toolbox.
Rearranging Problems with the Page Sorter
The Page Sorter lets you reorder problems within a document. If you move a problem that you have not renamed, the numeric part of the default name changes to reflect the new position.
1.
If necessary, click the Page Sorter tool in the Documents Toolbox.
2.
In the Page Sorter, arrange the problems by dragging each problem name to its new position.
Tip:
To collapse a problem's list of page thumbnails, double-click the name of the problem.
Copying a Problem
You can copy a problem within the same document or copy it to a different document.
1.
If necessary, click the Page Sorter tool in the Documents Toolbox.
2.
Click the problem name to select it.
3.
On the Edit menu, click Copy .
4.
Click the location at which you want to insert the copy.
5.
On the
Edit menu, click
Paste
.
Working with TI-Nspire™ Documents 93
Moving a Problem
You can move a problem within the same document or move it to a different document.
1.
If necessary, click the Page Sorter tool
2.
Click the problem name to select it.
3.
On the Edit menu, click Cut .
4.
Click the new location of the problem.
5.
On the Edit menu, click Paste .
in the Documents Toolbox.
Deleting a Problem
To delete a problem and its pages from the document:
1.
If necessary, click the Page Sorter tool
2.
Click the problem name to select it.
3.
On the
Edit menu, click
Delete
.
in the Documents Toolbox.
Printing Documents
1.
Click File > Print.
The Print dialog box opens.
2.
Set options for the print job.
• Printer — Select from your list of available printers
• Print What:
Print All — prints each page on a separate sheet
Viewable Screen — prints selected pages with additional layout options (see Layout, below)
• Print Range — Click All Pages, or click Page range and set the starting and ending pages.
• Layout:
Orientation (portrait or landscape)
94 Working with TI-Nspire™ Documents
The number of TI-Nspire™ pages (1, 2, 4, or 8) to be printed on each sheet (available in Viewable Screen option only). The default is 2 pages per sheet.
Whether to allow space below each printed TI-Nspire™ page for comments (available in Viewable Screen option only)
Margins (from .25 inches to 2 inches). The default margin is .5
inches on all edges.
• Documentation information to include:
Problem name, including the option to group the pages physically by problem
Page label (such as 1.1 or 1.2) under each page
Page header (up to two lines)
Document name in the footer
3.
Click
, or click
Save As PDF
.
Note
: To restore the Print defaults, click
Reset
.
Using Print Preview
• Click the
Preview check box to toggle the preview pane.
• Click the arrows at the bottom of the preview pane to page through the preview.
Viewing Document Properties and Copyright Information
Note:
Most of these instructions apply only to the Teacher Software.
Checking Page Size
1.
In the Teacher Software, go to the TI-Nspire™ File menu and select
Document Properties .
2.
Click the Page Size tab.
3.
A checkmark indicates the document's current page size.
Viewing Copyright Information
The Teacher Software and Student Software let you view copyright information that has been added to a document.
1.
On the TI-Nspire™ File menu, select View Copyright Information .
Working with TI-Nspire™ Documents 95
The Copyright Information dialog box opens.
2.
Click
OK to close the dialog box.
Adding Copyright Information to a Document
Using the Teacher Software, you can add copyright information to individual documents that you create, or you can apply the same copyright information to all new documents.
1.
Open the document.
2.
On the TI-Nspire™
File menu, select
Document Properties
.
3.
Click the
Copyright tab.
4.
Edit the following fields to define the copyright details:
• Author
• Copyright (select Public Domain or Copyright).
• Year (disabled if you selected Public Domain)
• Owner (disabled if you selected Public Domain)
• Comments
96 Working with TI-Nspire™ Documents
5.
To add the supplied information to all new documents from this point forward, select Apply this copyright to all new documents .
6.
Click
OK to apply the copyright information to the document.
Protecting a Document (making a document read-only)
Teachers can protect documents to create a document for distribution to your students or for other use. A student who receives a read-only document and makes changes to it will be prompted to save the document as a new file.
1.
Open the document.
2.
On the TI-Nspire™ File menu, select Document Properties .
3.
Click the Protection tab.
4.
Select the
Make this document Read Only check box.
5.
Click
OK
.
Working with TI-Nspire™ Documents 97
98
Working with PublishView™ Documents
Use the PublishView™ feature to create and share interactive documents with teachers and students. You can create documents that include formatted text,
TI-Nspire™ applications, images, hyperlinks, links to videos, and embedded videos in a format that is suitable for printing on a standard piece of paper, publishing to a website or blog, or for use as an interactive worksheet.
PublishView™ features provide layout and editing features for presenting math and science concepts in a document where TI-Nspire™ applications can be interactively and dynamically linked with supporting media, enabling you to bring the document to life. Using the PublishView™ feature:
• Teachers can create interactive activities and assessments used on screen.
• Teachers can create printed materials to complement documents used on
TI-Nspire™ handhelds.
• When working with lesson plans, teachers can:
Create lesson plans from existing handheld documents or convert lesson plans to handheld documents.
Link to related lesson plans or documents.
Embed explanatory text, images, video, and links to web resources.
Build or interact with TI-Nspire™ applications directly from the lesson plan.
• Students can create reports or projects such as lab reports containing data playback, curve fits, pictures, and video—all on the same sheet.
• Students can print and turn in assignments on a standard piece of paper.
• Students taking exams can use one tool to create a document that contains: all problems on the exam, text, images, hyperlinks, or videos, interactive TI-Nspire™ applications, screen shots, and layout options needed to print a document.
Note
: PublishView™ documents can be exchanged using the TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ NC system. PublishView™ documents can reside in the Portfolio
Workspace, and TI-Nspire™ questions within a PublishView™ document can be automatically graded by the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ system.
Working with PublishView™ Documents 99
Creating a New PublishView™ Document
1.
From the Documents Workspace, click
File > New PublishView™
Document
.
—or—
Click , and then click
New PublishView™ Document
.
• A blank letter-size document opens in the Documents Workspace. The orientation is portrait, which cannot be changed.
• The default margin settings for the top and bottom margins are oneinch. There are no settings for side margins.
• By default, a problem is added to the document.
• By default, the document contains the page number in a # of # format at the bottom of the sheet.
• The scroll bars on the right side of the screen and at the bottom of the screen are active.
2.
Add TI-Nspire™ applications and PublishView™ objects as needed to complete the document.
About PublishView™ Documents
When working with PublishView™ documents, it is important to keep the following points in mind:
100 Working with PublishView™ Documents
• PublishView™ documents are saved as .tnsp files, which distinguishes them from TI-Nspire™ documents (.tns files).
• When inserting PublishView™ objects into a document, the text, image, hyperlink, or embedded video are contained in boxes that can be moved and resized.
• When you insert TI-Nspire™ applications, they work the same way as pages in a TI-Nspire™ document.
• In a PublishView™ document, objects can overlap each other and you can control which object is on top or bottom.
• Objects can be placed and positioned in a PublishView™ document in a free-form fashion.
• You can convert an existing TI-Nspire™ document to a PublishView™ document (.tnsp file).
• When you convert a PublishView™ document to a TI-Nspire™ document
(.tns file), TI-Nspire™ applications are converted. PublishView™ objects containing text, hyperlinks, videos, and images are not converted.
• You cannot create or open a PublishView™ document on a handheld. You must convert a PublishView™ document to a TI-Nspire™ document before sending it to a handheld.
Exploring a PublishView™ Document
The following example shows how you might use TI-Nspire™ applications and
PublishView™ objects to build a PublishView™ document. In this example, borders are turned on to show the boundaries around the objects. Showing borders enables you to work with objects easily while building a document.
When you are ready to print or publish the document to the web, you can select to the hide borders.
Working with PublishView™ Documents 101
À
Header
. In this example, the header contains the title of the document.
When the header area is active, you can type and format text as needed.
Á
Problem break and name
. In PublishView™ documents, use problem breaks to control the page layout. You can select to hide or show problem breaks. Deleting a problem removes the contents of the problem and removes the space between problems when there are multiple problems.
Problem breaks also enable you to use variables in PublishView™ documents. Variables that have the same name are independent of one another if they are used in different problems.
Â
Text boxes . In this example, the introduction text and the text in boxes 1, 2,
3, and 4 is contained in text boxes. You can insert text and hyperlinks into a PublishView™ document using a text box. Text boxes can be resized and positioned as needed. PublishView™ text boxes are not retained when you convert a PublishView™ document to a TI-Nspire™ document.
Ã
TI-Nspire™ applications
. In this example, the author uses Graphs &
Geometry to show the math functions. When a TI-Nspire™ application is active in a PublishView™ document, the appropriate application menu
102 Working with PublishView™ Documents
opens in the Documents Toolbox. You can work in a TI-Nspire™ application just as you would in a TI-Nspire™ document. When you convert a PublishView™ document to a TI-Nspire™ document, applications are retained.
Ä
Notes application
. You can also use the TI-Nspire™ Notes application to add text to a PublishView™ document. Because Notes is a TI-Nspire™ application, it will be retained when you convert the PublishView™ document to a TI-Nspire™ document. Using the Notes application enables you to use an equation editor and can contain TI-Nspire™ math templates and symbols.
Å
Video
. This is an example of a video that is embedded in a PublishView™ document within a frame. Users can start and stop the video using the controls. Frames containing videos and images can be resized and positioned in the document as needed.
Æ
Footer . By default, the footer area contains the page number, which cannot be edited. You can add other text above the page number if needed. Like the header, you can format text as needed.
Using the Status Bar in a PublishView™ Document
When a PublishView™ document is open, options on the status bar are different than when working in a TI-Nspire™ document.
À
Document names are displayed in tabs. If multiple documents are open, the document names are listed. You can have TI-Nspire™ and
PublishView™ documents open at the same time. In this example,
Document 1 is an inactive TI-Nspire™ document ( ). Document 2 is the active PublishView™ document ( ). Click the X to close a document.
Á
Page Size.
Shows the document's page size as Handheld or Computer.
You can use the TI-Nspire™ File menu to convert a document from one page size to the other.
Working with PublishView™ Documents 103
Â
Click Settings to change Document Settings. You can specify settings that are specific to an active document or set default settings for all
PublishView™ documents. When you convert a TI-Nspire™ document into a PublishView™ document, the settings in the TI-Nspire™ document convert to the settings defined for PublishView™ documents.
Ã
Use the
Zoom scale to zoom the active document in or out from 10% to
500%. To set a zoom, type a specific number, use the + and - buttons to increase or decrease by increments of 10%, or use the drop-down box to choose preset percentages.
Ä
In TI-Nspire™ applications, use the
Boldness scale to increase or decrease the boldness of text and line thickness within applications. To set the boldness, type a specific number, use the + and - buttons to increase or decrease by increments of 10%, or use the drop-down box to choose preset percentages.
For PublishView™ objects, boldness is used to match text within
TI-Nspire™ applications to other text on the PublishView™ sheet. It can also be used to increase the visibility of TI-Nspire™ applications when presenting a document to a class.
Å
When there are too many open document names to show in the status bar, click the forward and backward arrows ( documents.
Æ
Click to see a list of all open documents.
) to move through the
Saving PublishView™ Documents
Saving a New Document
1.
Click
File > Save Document.
—or—
Click .
The Save TI-Nspire™ Document dialog box opens.
104 Working with PublishView™ Documents
2.
Navigate to the folder in which you want to save the document.
—or—
Create a folder in which to store the document.
3.
Type a name for the new document.
4.
Click Save .
The document closes and is saved with the extension .tnsp.
Note:
When you save a file, the software first looks in the same folder the next time you open a file.
Saving a Document with a New Name
To save a previously saved document in a new folder and/or with a new name:
1.
Click File > Save As from the menu.
The Save TI-Nspire™ Document dialog box opens.
2.
Navigate to the folder in which you want to save the document.
—or—
Create a folder in which to store the document.
3.
Type a new name for the document.
4.
Click
Save to save the document with a new name.
Working with PublishView™ Documents 105
Note
: You can also use the Save As option to convert documents from
TI-Nspire™ files to PublishView™ files or convert PublishView™ files to
TI-Nspire™ files.
Exploring the Documents Workspace
When you create or open a PublishView™ document, it opens in the
Documents Workspace. Use the menu options and the toolbar just as you would when working with a TI-Nspire™ document to:
• Navigate to existing folders and documents using Content Explorer
• Open existing documents
• Save documents
• Use the copy, paste, undo, and redo options
• Delete documents
• Access TI-Nspire™ application-specific menus
• Open the Variables menu in TI-Nspire™ applications that allow variables
• Access and insert math templates, symbols, catalog items, and library items into a PublishView™ document
Note
: For more information, see Using the Documents Workspace.
Exploring the Documents Toolbox
When a PublishView™ document is active, the Documents Toolbox contains tools needed for working with PublishView™ documents. You can add
TI-Nspire™ applications to a problem, insert parts of existing TI-Nspire™ documents into a problem, and add PublishView™ objects.
The Documents Toolbox opens when you create a new PublishView™ document or open an existing PublishView™ document. When working in a
PublishView™ document, Page Sorter and TI-SmartView™ emulator are not available.
106 Working with PublishView™ Documents
À
In a PublishView™ document:
• Click to open the application menu and tools needed to work with
TI-Nspire™ applications and PublishView™ objects.
• Click to open the Utilities panel where you can access Math
Templates, Symbols, the Catalog, Math Operators, and Libraries.
• Click to open Content Explorer.
Note
: For more information, see Using the Documents Workspace.
Working with PublishView™ Documents 107
Á
Click to collapse a pane containing a menu. Click pane.
to expand a
Â
TI-Nspire™ applications. Move an icon to a problem to insert an application:
Calculator
Graph
Geometry
Lists & Spreadsheet
Data & Statistics
Notes
Vernier DataQuest™
Question (Available in TI-Nspire™ CX Teacher Software, TI-Nspire™
CX Navigator™ Teacher Software, and TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ NC Teacher
Software).
Ã
TI-Nspire™ Documents . Use this tool to locate and insert existing
TI-Nspire™ documents (.tns files) into a problem.
Ä
PublishView™ Objects
. Use this tool to move the following objects into a problem:
Image
Video
108 Working with PublishView™ Documents
Text box
Hyperlink
Using Menus and the Toolbar
When working in a PublishView™ document, select options from the menus or the toolbar in the Documents Workspace to work with content and objects.
When you insert an object into a PublishView™ document, you can manipulate it using the same tools as you would when working with a TI-Nspire™ document. In PublishView™ documents, you can:
• Right-click on an object to open a context menu, which displays the actions that can be performed on that object.
• Use add, insert, and paste to add objects to a PublishView™ document.
• Use delete and cut to remove objects from a PublishView™ document.
• Move objects from one place to another within a PublishView™ document.
• Copy objects from one document and paste them into another
PublishView™ document.
• Resize and scale objects such as text boxes and images.
• Change the font face and size and apply formatting such as italics, bold, underline, and color to text.
Note
: For more information, see Using the Documents Workspace.
Using Context Menus
In TI-Nspire™ applications and in PublishView™ documents, context menus provide a list of options specific to the task you are working on. For example, when you right-click a cell while working in the TI-Nspire™ Lists & Spreadsheet application, a context menu opens providing a list of actions that you can perform on that cell. When you right-click the border of a text box in a
PublishView™ document, the context menu provides actions that can be performed on the text box.
Context Menus in TI-Nspire™ Applications
When you insert a TI-Nspire™ application into a PublishView™ document, the application menu and the context menus associated with that application are available and work the same way they work in a TI-Nspire™ document.
Working with PublishView™ Documents 109
Context Menus in PublishView™ Documents
In PublishView™ documents, context menus provide shortcuts to frequently performed tasks. Context menus are specific to an object or area:
• The Sheet context menu provides options for working with the layout of the sheet and document.
• Object context menus provide options for manipulating the object.
• Content-sensitive context menus provide options for working with the content inside the object such as text or a video.
Working with PublishView™ Objects
In a PublishView™ document, text, hyperlinks, images, and videos are contained in PublishView™ objects. You can move, resize, copy and paste, and delete an object within a PublishView™ document. Objects can also be positioned so that one overlaps the other.
Within a document, PublishView™ objects can exist in three states: unselected, selected, and interactive.
State Description
Unselected When unselected, an object does not have handles for repositioning and sizing. To deselect an object, left-click or right-click outside the object.
In this example, borders around the object are showing.
110 Working with PublishView™ Documents
State
Selected
Interactive
Description
When selected, an object will have eight square handles framing the object. To select an object, click the object’s border. When selected, objects can be moved and resized.
• To move an object, click a border and drag the object to its new location.
• To resize an object, grab a handle.
• Right-click the border to open a context menu with options for manipulating the object.
An interactive state is indicated by a blue frame around the object. To enter interactive state, left-click or right-click anywhere in the body of the object. When in an interactive state, you can work with the contents of the object. For example, you can add or edit text in a text box or complete math functions in a
TI-Nspire™ application.
Working with PublishView™ Documents 111
State Description
When in an interactive state, context menus contain options specific to the contents of an object.
Inserting an Object
1.
In the Documents Toolbox, ensure the PublishView™ Objects menu is open.
2.
Use your mouse to click an icon and drag it to the document.
3.
Release the mouse button to drop the object into the document.
112 Working with PublishView™ Documents
Selected text boxes and frames can be resized, moved, copied, pasted, and deleted.
4.
Using the mouse, grab the handles to resize the object and drag it to position the object in the document as needed.
Opening Object Context Menus
▶
Right-click the border of any object in a PublishView™ document.
The context menu opens to provide access to delete, copy/paste, cut, and bring to front/send to back actions.
Working with PublishView™ Documents 113
Resizing an Object
1.
Click any border around the object to select it. The border becomes a bold blue line and the handles are active.
2.
Move your mouse over one of the handles to activate the resizing tool.
3.
Grab one of the handles and drag in the direction needed to make the object larger or smaller.
4.
Click outside the object to save the new size.
Moving an Object
To move an object to another location on the page:
1.
Click any border around the object to select it. The border becomes a bold blue line and the handles are active.
2.
Move your cursor over one of the borders to activate the positioning tool
.
3.
Click to grab the object. The horizontal and vertical alignment guides are activated at the top and bottom of the object. Use the grid lines to position the object on the page.
114 Working with PublishView™ Documents
À vertical alignment guide
Á horizontal alignment guide
4.
Drag the object to a new location on the page.
5.
Release the mouse button to drop the object in its new location.
Overlapping Objects
You can position objects so that one is on top of another. You can control the stacking order to specify which object is positioned in front or behind the other.
Overlapping objects have many practical uses when presenting information in the classroom. For example, you can create a "curtain control" by placing an empty text box over other objects. Then, you can move the text box to reveal the items below it one at a time.
Working with PublishView™ Documents 115
To change the position of an object in the stacking order:
1.
Click the border of the object you want to position to select it, and then right-click to open the context menu.
2.
Click
Send to back or
Bring to front to move the selected object to the desired position.
Deleting an Object
To delete an object from a sheet:
116 Working with PublishView™ Documents
1.
Click any border of the object to select it. When an object is selected, the border is blue and the handles are active.
2.
Press the
Delete key to delete the text box.
—or—
Right-click a border, and then click Delete from the context menu.
Choosing a Working Folder for PublishView™ Objects
Use the Choose Your Working Folder field in the PublishView™ Objects pane to select a folder for storing PublishView™ documents and related files.
1.
Ensure the PublishView™ Objects pane is open.
2.
Click .
The Choose Your Working Folder dialog box opens.
Working with PublishView™ Documents 117
3.
Navigate to the folder where you want to store video and image files.
4.
Click
Open to choose the working folder.
The selected folder becomes the working folder and the folder name is displayed in the Choose your working folder field. Previews of supported images and video files in the folder are shown in the PublishView™ objects pane.
118 Working with PublishView™ Documents
5.
To add an image or video file to a PublishView™ document, select the file and move it onto the active sheet.
Working with TI-Nspire™ Applications
Note:
For more information, see the appropriate chapter in this guidebook.
Adding an Application to a Problem
To add a TI-Nspire™ application to a problem in a PublishView™ document:
1.
Choose one of the following actions to select an application:
• From the TI-Nspire™ Applications pane in the Documents Toolbox, use the mouse pointer to point to the application and drag it to the problem.
• From the menu bar, click Insert and choose an application from the drop-down menu.
Working with PublishView™ Documents 119
• Right-click inside the sheet to open the context menu, click Insert and choose an application from the menu.
The application is added to the sheet.
2.
Using your mouse, grab the handles to resize or position the application object as needed.
3.
Click outside the application frame to accept the dimensions.
4.
To open the menu for the active TI-Nspire™ application, click inside the application.
The menu opens in the Documents Toolbox above the TI-Nspire™
Applications pane.
Right-click on an application element, such as a cell or function to open the context menu for that item.
120 Working with PublishView™ Documents
5.
To work in the application, click an option from the application menu. Click to collapse the application menu pane.
Adding Existing TI-Nspire™ Documents
Use the TI-Nspire™ Documents pane to open an existing TI-Nspire™ document to add to a PublishView™ document. When you open an existing TI-Nspire™ document, all pages of the document appear in the preview pane. You can move complete problems or individual pages onto the PublishView™ sheet.
Choosing a Working TI-Nspire™ Document
To choose a working document:
1.
In the Documents Toolbox, ensure the TI-Nspire™ Documents pane is open.
Working with PublishView™ Documents 121
2.
Click .
The Choose Your Working Document dialog box opens.
3.
Navigate to the folder in which the TI-Nspire™ document is stored:
• Click
¤ in the
Look in: field to use a file browser to locate a folder.
• From an open folder, click hierarchy to move up a level in the folder
• Click
• Click to return to the default home folder to add a new folder to open folder on your computer.
• Click to list folders and files. To show details, click .
122 Working with PublishView™ Documents
4.
Select the file, and then click Open .
The TI-Nspire™ document opens in the TI-Nspire™ Documents pane.
5.
To add the TI-Nspire™ document to the PublishView™ document, move one page at a time or one problem at a time to the PublishView™ sheet.
If you are adding a problem with multiple pages, the pages are stacked on top of each other on the PublishView™ sheet. Move the top page to see the other pages.
Working with Problems
Like a TI-Nspire™ document, a PublishView™ document consists of one or more problems.
Problems are used to control the layout of a PublishView™ document so that you can isolate variables. When variables with the same name are used in multiple problems, variables can have different values. To add problems to
PublishView™ documents, open the Sheet context menu or use the options on the Insert menu in the Documents Workspace. When adding problems, keep the following guidelines in mind:
• By default, a new PublishView™ document contains one problem.
Working with PublishView™ Documents 123
• You can insert a problem after any existing problem.
• You cannot insert a problem in the middle of an existing problem.
• A new problem break is always inserted after the selected problem.
• Inserting a problem break adds empty space below the break.
• Any object between two problem breaks is part of the problem above the break.
• The last problem includes all sheets and objects below the last problem break.
• Problem breaks are not relative to any object, which lets you move objects within a problem without affecting the problem break location.
Adding a Problem
To add a problem to an open PublishView™ document:
1.
Right-click anywhere on the sheet, and then click Insert > Problem .
The problem is added to the document below any existing problems. The problem break provides a visible divider between problems.
2.
To name the problem, highlight the default text, type a name, and then click outside the text box to save the name.
The problem break is saved.
If a document has multiple problems, use the scroll bar on the right side of the document to move up and down through the problems.
Managing Problem Breaks
Problem breaks are used to separate problems and variable sets.
• Every problem has a problem break.
• A problem break becomes visible when a problem is added to a document.
• A problem break is represented by a dashed line with the name of the problem positioned on the left side of the sheet.
124 Working with PublishView™ Documents
• By default, the problem name is shown as
<Name of problem>
. Highlight the default text to type a new name for the problem.
• Problem names do not have be unique. Two problems can have the same name.
Hiding and Showing Problem Breaks
You can select to hide or show problem breaks in a PublishView™ document.
By default, problem breaks are shown.
1.
Right-click in any blank area of the document (outside of any object) to open the sheet context menu.
2.
Click
Layout Options
.
The Show/Hide Options dialog box opens.
Note
: You can also click View > PublishView™ Layout Options .
3.
Clear the Show problem breaks option to hide problem breaks in the document. Select the option to return to the default setting and show the problem breaks.
4.
Click OK to close the dialog box.
Renaming a Problem
1.
Click the existing problem name on the problem break line.
2.
Type a new name for the problem.
3.
Click outside the text box to save the new name.
Deleting a Problem
To delete a problem, complete one of the following actions:
Working with PublishView™ Documents 125
▶
Select the problem break and click on the right side of the break.
▶
Click
Edit > Delete
.
▶
Right-click the problem break and click Delete .
▶
Select the problem break and press the
Delete or
Backspace key.
When you delete a problem, all objects contained in the problem are removed and the space between the selected problem break and the next problem break is removed.
Organizing PublishView™ Sheets
A PublishView™ document can have multiple sheets. A single sheet is displayed in the workspace on your screen. All work occurs in the
PublishView™ objects and TI-Nspire™ applications within sheets.
Adding Sheets to a Document
To add a sheet to a document:
▶
Click
Insert > Sheet
.
The sheet is added to the document and the numbering increments by one.
Opening the Sheet Context Menu
▶
Right-click in any blank area (outside of any object) in a PublishView™ sheet.
A context menu opens with options for inserting problems, pages, applications, and PublishView™ objects, edit options for removing space or deleting a page, and options for hiding and showing problem breaks and object borders.
126 Working with PublishView™ Documents
Page Numbering
In a PublishView™ document, page numbering is displayed in the bottom margin (footer). By default, numbering is placed in the center of the
PublishView™ sheet in a # of # format. You cannot edit or delete page numbering.
Working with Headers and Footers
PublishView™ documents contain space at the top and bottom of a sheet to add a header or a footer. Headers and footers can contain the date, the document name, the lesson plan name, the class name, your school’s name, or any other information needed to identify a document.
By default, headers and footers do not contain content and boundaries for the header and footer are hidden. To activate a header or footer for editing, click inside the top or bottom margin. When activated, a text box with a light gray border is displayed.
Inserting and Editing Text in Headers and Footers
1.
Click inside the top or bottom margin.
The text box borders in the margin become visible and the object space is disabled. The cursor is placed in the header or footer space and the formatting toolbar becomes active.
2.
Type the text.
• The default font is TI-Nspire™ true type, 12 pt, normal.
• By default, text is centered horizontally and vertically.
• Text can be aligned: left, center, right, or justified.
• Text that does not fit within the text box horizontally will wrap to the next line.
• Text that does not fit within the text box vertically will not be shown, but text is retained. (If you delete text, the hidden text will appear.)
3.
Complete one of the following actions to save the text:
Working with PublishView™ Documents 127
• Single-click anywhere outside the header or footer text box to save the text.
• Press
Esc to save the text.
The PublishView™ sheet becomes active and the formatting menu closes.
Showing and Hiding Borders
By default, borders are displayed when you insert an object into a problem.
When you select to hide borders, the selection applies to all objects in the document and to objects that you add to the document. To hide the border:
1.
Right-click in any blank area of the sheet (outside of any object) to open the context menu.
2.
Click Layout Options.
The Layout Options dialog box opens.
Note
: You can also click
View > PublishView™ Layout Options
.
3.
Clear the Show object borders option to hide the borders around the objects in the problem. Select the option to return to the default setting and show borders.
4.
Click OK to close the dialog box.
Adding and Removing Space
To manage how PublishView™ objects appear on a sheet, you may need to add or delete space between objects.
Note
: You can add and remove vertical space between objects using this method. To add or remove horizontal space between objects, move the object.
128 Working with PublishView™ Documents
Adding Space
1.
Right-click in the area outside of any object where you want to add space.
The context menu opens.
2.
Click
Edit > Add/Remove Space
. The Add/Remove Space tool becomes active.
Add/Remove
Space tool
3.
Use your mouse to position the tool to the exact place where you want to add space.
4.
Click the tool, and then drag
down
to select the amount of space you want to add. As you select the amount of space to be added, it is indicated in green.
Working with PublishView™ Documents 129
5.
Press the Enter key to add the space in between the objects. You can adjust the amount of space by dragging up and down before you press
Enter .
Removing Space
1.
Right-click in the area outside of any object where you want to remove space.
The context menu opens.
2.
Click Edit > Add/Remove Space .
The Add/Remove Space tool becomes active.
130 Working with PublishView™ Documents
Add/Remove
Space tool
3.
Use your mouse to position the tool to the exact place where you want to remove space.
4.
Click the tool, and then drag
up
to select the amount of space you want to remove. As you select the amount of space to be removed, it is indicated in red.
Working with PublishView™ Documents 131
5.
Press the Enter key to remove the space in between the objects. You can adjust the amount of space by dragging up and down before you press
Enter .
Note
: If there is not enough space on the sheet to accommodate the objects, the objects won’t be moved when space is removed.
Deleting Blank Sheets from Problems
You can delete a sheet that does not contain any TI-Nspire™ applications or
PublishView™ objects from a problem. To delete a blank sheet from a problem:
1.
Delete any TI-Nspire™ applications, PublishView™ objects, move or delete any problem breaks from the sheet.
2.
Place your cursor inside the sheet you want to delete.
3.
Right-click inside the blank sheet to open the context menu.
4.
Click Edit > Delete Sheet .
The blank sheet is removed from the problem.
Using Zoom
The zoom feature lets you zoom in on any object or area on the PublishView™ document for discussion, and zoom out to see an overview of the lesson. The zoom uses the center point of the viewable area to zoom in.
The default zoom setting is 100%.
▶
To change the zoom percentage, do one of the following:
• Type the number in the box and press
Enter
.
• Use the - and + buttons to decrease or increase the percentage in
10% increments.
• Use the drop-down arrow to choose a preset percentage.
The zoom settings are retained when you save the document.
Adding Text to a PublishView™ Document
In a PublishView™ document, there are three ways to add text:
• Insert a PublishView™ text box to enter free-form text or copy text from other sources into the document. For example, you can place a
PublishView™ text box next to an image and type a description in a text
132 Working with PublishView™ Documents
box. You can also copy and paste text from .doc, .txt, and .rtf files. Use
PublishView™ text boxes when you need options for emphasizing and formatting text. PublishView™ text boxes are not converted when you convert a PublishView™ document to a TI-Nspire™ document. You may want to use a PublishView™ text box to add text that you don’t want handheld users to see.
• Use the TI-Nspire™ Notes application. You should use the Notes application when you need an advanced equation editor and when you need to use TI-Nspire™ math templates and symbols. Superscript and subscript are also easier to use in the Notes application. You should also use Notes when you are planning to convert the PublishView™ document to a TI-Nspire™ document for use on a handheld and you want handheld users to see the text.
• Add text in TI-Nspire™ applications that allow text just as you would in a
TI-Nspire™ document.
Inserting Text into a Text Box
1.
Ensure the PublishView™ Objects pane is open.
2.
Use your mouse to click and drag it to the problem.
3.
Release the mouse button to drop the text box into the problem.
Working with PublishView™ Documents 133
4.
Using the mouse, grab the handles to resize the text box or position in the problem as needed.
5.
Click outside the text box to save the size and position.
6.
Click "Type your text here."
The formatting toolbar becomes active. The text box is in an interactive state for adding or editing text.
7.
Type the new text.
—or—
Copy and paste text from another file.
8.
Apply formatting as needed.
9.
Click outside the text box to save the text.
Formatting and Editing Text
The options for editing and formatting text are located on a formatting toolbar at the top of the active document. Formatting options for editing text include:
• Changing the font, font size, and font color.
• Applying bold, italics, and underline formatting.
134 Working with PublishView™ Documents
• Applying the following text horizontal alignment options: left, right, centered, and justified.
• Inserting hyperlinks.
Launching Edit Mode
▶
Click inside a text box to launch edit mode.
• The formatting menu opens.
• The text is selectable for editing.
Opening the Content Context Menu
▶
Right-click inside a text box containing text or a hyperlink.
The formatting menu and context menu open providing shortcuts to cut, copy, and paste.
Using Hyperlinks in PublishView™ Documents
In PublishView™ documents, use hyperlinks to:
• Link to a file
• Link to a website on the Internet
You can add a hyperlink to an open document or you can convert any text within a text box to a hyperlink. When a hyperlink is added, the formatting of the text is underlined and the font color is blue. You can change the formatting of the hyperlinked text without losing the hyperlink.
If a link is broken, an error message is displayed when you click the link:
• Cannot open the specified file
• Cannot open the specified web page
PublishView™ text boxes support both absolute and relative links.
Absolute links contain the complete location of the linked file and do not depend on the location of the main document.
Relative links contain the location of the linked file relative to the main document. If you have multiple lessons in a single folder and they are all linked using relative addressing, you can move the folder to any other location
(another local folder, datashare, flash drive, online) without breaking the links.
The links also stay intact if you bundle the documents into a lesson bundle or zip them into a zip file and share them.
Working with PublishView™ Documents 135
Note
: The PublishView™ document must be saved before you can insert a relative hyperlink.
Linking to a File
You can link to any file on your computer. If the file type is associated with an application on your computer, it will launch when you click the link. There are two ways to link to a file; by typing or pasting a file address into the Address field, or by browsing to a file.
Linking to a File by Using an Address
1.
Ensure the PublishView™ Objects pane is open.
2.
Drag the hyperlink icon onto the document.
The Hyperlink dialog box opens.
136 Working with PublishView™ Documents
3.
Type the name of the link in the Text field. For example, this can be the name of the document.
4.
Copy the location of the file path you want to link to, and paste it in the
Address field.
—or—
Type the location of the file in the Address field.
Note
: Type ../ to designate parent directories. For example:
../../lessons/mathlesson2.tns
5.
Click OK to insert the link.
A text box containing the hyperlink is added to the PublishView™ document.
Linking to a File by Browsing
1.
Ensure the PublishView™ Objects pane is open.
2.
Drag the hyperlink icon
The Hyperlink dialog box opens.
onto the document.
Working with PublishView™ Documents 137
3.
Type the name of the link in the Text field. For example, this can be the name of the document.
4.
Click to select Link to a file on your computer or network drive .
The Select file to insert as hyperlink dialog box opens.
5.
Navigate to and select the file you want to link to, and then click Insert .
The path name is inserted into the Address field in the Hyperlink dialog box.
If the software is unable to determine if the link is a relative or absolute address, the Hyperlink dialog box opens with an option to change the type of link.
To change the link, click the appropriate option:
• Change to absolute address .
• Change to relative address .
138 Working with PublishView™ Documents
6.
Click OK to insert the link.
—or—
Click
Start Over to go back to the Hyperlink dialog box and choose a different file to link, or to edit the Text or Address fields.
A text box containing the hyperlink is added to the PublishView™ document.
7.
Using the mouse, grab the handles to resize the text box.
—or—
Grab any border to position the text box in the document as needed.
Linking to a Website
There are two ways to link to a website; by typing or pasting the URL into the
Address field, or by browsing to a file.
Linking to a Website by Using an Address
1.
Ensure the PublishView™ Objects menu is open.
2.
Drag the hyperlink icon dialog box.
onto the document to open the Hyperlink
3.
Type or paste the URL you want to link to in the Address field.
4.
Click
OK
.
Working with PublishView™ Documents 139
A text box containing the hyperlink is added to the PublishView™ document.
Linking to a Website by Browsing
1.
Ensure the PublishView™ Objects menu is open.
2.
Drag the hyperlink icon dialog box.
onto the document to open the Hyperlink
3.
Click to select
Link to an Internet resource
.
The browser opens to your default website.
4.
Navigate to the website or file on a website that you want to link to.
5.
Copy the URL, and then paste it in the Address field in the Hyperlink dialog box.
—or—
Type the URL in the Address field.
6.
Click OK .
A text box containing the hyperlink is added to the PublishView™ document.
7.
Using the mouse, grab the handles to resize the text box.
—or—
140 Working with PublishView™ Documents
Grab any border to position the text box in the document as needed.
Editing a Hyperlink
To change the name of a hyperlink, change the path, or change the URL, complete the following steps.
1.
Using your mouse, right-click the hyperlink text, and then click
Edit hyperlink
.
The Hyperlink dialog box opens.
2.
Make corrections as needed:
• Type corrections to the hyperlink name in the
Text field.
• Click to open the
Select a file to add as a hyperlink dialog box and use the file browser to navigate to the folder where the file is located.
• Click to open a browser and navigate to a website to copy and paste the correct the URL in the
Address field.
3.
Click OK to save the changes.
Converting Existing Text to a Hyperlink
1.
Click inside the text box to activate edit mode and open the formatting menu.
2.
Select the text you want to convert to a hyperlink.
Working with PublishView™ Documents 141
3.
Click .
The Hyperlink dialog box opens with the selected text in the Text field.
4.
Click
—or— to create a link to a file.
Click to create a link to page on a website.
Removing a Hyperlink
Use this process to remove a link from text inside a text box. The text remains in the document.
1.
Using your mouse, right-click the hyperlink text.
2.
Click
Remove hyperlink
.
The hyperlink formatting is removed from the text and the text is no longer clickable.
Note
: To remove both the text and hyperlink, delete the text. If a text box contains only the linked text, delete the text box.
Working with Images
Images can be added to PublishView™ documents as PublishView™ objects or can be added inside TI-Nspire™ applications that support images. Supported files types are .bmp, .jpg, and .png files.
Note
: If a TI-Nspire™ application is active in the PublishView™ document, the image is added to the TI-Nspire™ page if you click Insert > Image from the menu bar or context menu. If there is no TI-Nspire™ document active, the image is added as a PublishView™ object. Only images inside TI-Nspire™ applications convert to TI-Nspire™ documents (.tns files).
Inserting an Image
1.
Ensure the PublishView™ Objects pane is open.
142 Working with PublishView™ Documents
2.
Click , and then drag the icon to the document.
The
Choose an image to insert into PublishView™ dialog box opens.
Note
: By default, the Texas Instruments preloaded images folder is displayed.
3.
Navigate to the folder where the image file you want to insert is located, and then highlight the file name.
4.
Click Insert image .
The image is added to the PublishView™ sheet.
Working with PublishView™ Documents 143
5.
Using the mouse, grab the handles to resize the text box,
—or—
Grab any border to position the text box in the document as needed.
Moving Images
1.
Click the frame containing the image to select it.
2.
Move your cursor over the edge of the image to activate the positioning tool.
3.
Move the image to its new location on the PublishView™ sheet.
Note
: Objects can overlap each other on a PublishView™ sheet.
Resizing Images
1.
Click the frame containing the image to select it.
2.
Move your cursor over one of the blue handles to activate the resizing tool.
3.
Drag the handle to make the image smaller or bigger.
Deleting Images
▶
Click the image to select it, and then press the
Delete key.
—or—
▶
Right-click a handle to open the context menu, and then click Delete .
144 Working with PublishView™ Documents
Working with Video Files
You can embed video files in a PublishView™ document and play the videos directly from the PublishView™ document. Supported video formats include:
• Flash® (.flv) video files with VP6 video and MP3 audio.
• MP4 (MPEG-4 multimedia container) with H264/AVC (Advanced Video
Coding) video compression and AAC audio.
Note
: You can also insert a link to a video that will launch in a new browser window or media player window. For more information, see
Working with
Hyperlinks.
Inserting a Video
1.
Ensure the PublishView™ Objects pane is open.
2.
Click , and then drag the icon to the document.
The
Choose a video to insert into PublishView™ dialog box opens.
3.
Navigate to the folder where the video file you want to insert is located, and select the file name.
4.
Click Insert video .
An object containing the embedded video is added to the PublishView™ sheet. By default, the resizing and positioning handles are active.
Working with PublishView™ Documents 145
5.
Using the mouse, grab the handles to resize the object or grab any border to position the object in the document as needed. For example, you may want to position the object containing the video above or below a text box that contains text introducing the video.
6.
To play the video, click the forward arrow, or click anywhere in the viewing window.
Using the Video Console
The video console lets users control the video.
À
Starts or stops the video.
Á
Shows the elapsed time as the video plays.
Â
Mutes or unmutes the audio.
Converting Documents
You can convert PublishView™ documents (.tnsp files) to TI-Nspire™ documents (.tns files) for display on handhelds. You can also convert
TI-Nspire™ documents to PublishView™ documents.
Converting a document creates a new document—the original document remains intact and is not linked to the new document. If you make changes to one document, the changes are not reflected in the other document.
146 Working with PublishView™ Documents
Converting PublishView™ Documents to TI-Nspire™ Documents
You cannot open a PublishView™ document (.tnsp file) on a handheld.
However, you can convert the PublishView™ document to a TI-Nspire™ document that can be transferred to and opened on a handheld. When you convert a PublishView™ document to a TI-Nspire™ document:
• Only the TI-Nspire™ applications become part of the TI-Nspire™ document.
• PublishView™ objects such as text boxes, images, hyperlinks, and videos are not converted.
• Text contained in PublishView™ text boxes is not converted; however, text in a TI-Nspire™ Notes application is converted.
• If images are contained in a TI-Nspire™ application, they are converted; however, images contained in PublishView™ objects are not converted.
Complete the following steps to convert a PublishView™ document (.tnsp file) to a TI-Nspire™ document (.tns file).
1.
Open the PublishView™ document to be converted.
2.
Click File > Convert to > TI-Nspire™ Document.
• The new TI-Nspire™ document opens in the Documents Workspace.
• All supported TI-Nspire™ applications are part of the new TI-Nspire™ document.
• Starting from top to bottom, and then left to right, the layout of the
TI-Nspire™ document is based on the order of the TI-Nspire™ applications in the PublishView™ document.
Every TI-Nspire™ application in a PublishView™ document will appear as a page in the converted TI-Nspire™ document. The order of the pages in the TI-Nspire™ document is based on the layout of the TI-Nspire™ applications in the PublishView™ document.
If two or more problems are at the same level, the order is left to right.
• Problem breaks are maintained.
• The new TI-Nspire™ document is not linked to the PublishView™ document.
Working with PublishView™ Documents 147
3.
When work in the document is complete, click in the current folder.
—or— to save the document
Click File > Save As to save the document in a different folder.
Note
: If the document has never been saved, both the
Save and
Save as options allow saving in a different folder.
Note
: You can also use the
Save as option to convert a PublishView™ document to a TI-Nspire™ document.
Note
: If you try to convert a PublishView™ document that does not contain TI-
Nspire™ pages or applications, an error message is displayed.
Converting TI-Nspire™ Documents to PublishView™ Documents
You can convert existing TI-Nspire™ documents to PublishView™ documents, which enables you to take advantage of the richer layout and editing features for printing, generating student reports, creating worksheets and assessments, and publishing documents to a website or blog.
Complete the following steps to convert a TI-Nspire™ document to a
PublishView™ document:
1.
Open the TI-Nspire™ document you want to convert.
2.
Click
File > Convert to > PublishView™ Document
.
• The new PublishView™ document opens in the Documents
Workspace.
• By default, there are six objects per page.
• When converted, each problem from the TI-Nspire™ document will start a new sheet in the PublishView™ document.
• Problem breaks are maintained.
3.
When work in the document is complete, click in the current folder.
to save the document
—or—
Click
File > Save As to save the document in a different folder.
148 Working with PublishView™ Documents
Note
: You can also use the Save as option to save a TI-Nspire™ document as a PublishView™ document.
Printing PublishView™ Documents
You can print reports, worksheets, and assessments created using the
PublishView™ feature. To print a document:
1.
Click
File > Print
.
The Print dialog box opens. A preview of the document is shown on the right side of the dialog box.
2.
Select a printer from the menu.
Note
: The Print what field is disabled.
3.
Select
Paper Size from the menu. Options are:
• Letter (8.5 x 11 inches)
• Legal (8.5 x 14 inches)
• A4 (210 x 297 mm)
4.
Select or type the number of
Copies you want to print.
5.
In the
Print Range area, select to print all sheets in the document, a range of sheets, or the current sheet only.
Note
: By default, top and bottom margins are set to one-inch and are maintained when printing a PublishView™ document. There are no side margins. PublishView™ sheets print just as they appear in the workspace.
6.
If needed, select or clear the boxes to:
• Print problem breaks and names.
• Print headers
• Print footers
• Print object borders
7.
Click Print , or click Save As PDF .
Working with PublishView™ Documents 149
150
Working with Lesson Bundles
Many lessons or activities contain multiple files. For example, teachers usually have a teacher version of a file, a student version, assessments, and sometimes supporting files. A lesson bundle is a container that enables teachers to group all files needed for a lesson together. Lesson bundles are used to:
• Add any type of file (.tns, .tnsp, .doc, .pdf, .ppt) to a lesson bundle.
• Send lesson bundles to connected handhelds or laptops; however, only the .tns files are sent to the handheld.
• View all the files in a lesson bundle using the TI-Nspire™ software.
• Group all files associated with one lesson in one place.
• Email one lesson bundle file to teachers or students instead of looking for and attaching multiple files.
Creating a New Lesson Bundle
Teachers and students can create new lesson bundles in the Documents
Workspace. Teachers can also create new lesson bundles in the Content
Workspace.
Creating a Lesson Bundle in the Documents Workspace
Complete the following steps to create a new lesson bundle. By default, the new lesson bundle does not contain files.
1.
Click in the Documents Toolbox to open the Content Explorer.
2.
Navigate to the folder where you want to save the lesson bundle file.
3.
Click to open the menu, and then click New Lesson Bundle.
The new lesson bundle file is created with a default name and placed in your list of files.
4.
Type a name for your lesson bundle.
5.
Press
Enter to save the file.
Working with Lesson Bundles 151
Creating Lesson Bundles in the Content Workspace
In the Content Workspace, teachers have two options for creating lesson bundles:
• When files needed for a lesson bundle are located in different folders, create an empty lesson bundle, and then add files to the lesson bundle.
• If all needed files are located in the same folder, create a lesson bundle with selected files.
Creating an Empty Lesson Bundle
Complete the following steps to create a lesson bundle that does not contain files.
1.
Navigate to the folder on your computer where you want to save the lesson bundle.
Note
: If you are using the software for the first time, you may need to create a folder on your computer before creating a lesson bundle.
2.
Click or click File > New Lesson Bundle .
The new lesson bundle file is created with a default name and placed in the list of files.
3.
Type a name for the lesson bundle and press Enter .
The lesson bundle is saved with the new name and details are shown in the Preview pane.
Creating a Lesson Bundle Containing Files
You can select multiple files within a folder, and then create the lesson bundle.
You cannot add a folder to a lesson bundle.
1.
Navigate to the folder that contains the files you want to bundle.
2.
Select the files. To select multiple files, select the first file then hold down
Shift and click the last file in the list. To select random files, select the first file, and then hold down
Ctrl and click the other files to select them.
3.
Click , and then click Lesson Bundles > Create New Lesson Bundle from selected
.
152 Working with Lesson Bundles
A new lesson bundle is created and placed in the open folder. The lesson bundle contains copies of the selected files.
4.
Type a name for the lesson bundle and press
Enter
.
The lesson bundle is saved in the open folder and the details are shown in the Preview pane.
Adding Files to a Lesson Bundle
Use any of the following methods to add files to a lesson bundle:
• Drag any file into a selected lesson bundle. This method moves the file to the lesson bundle. If you delete the lesson bundle, the file is deleted from your computer. You can recover the file from the Recycle Bin.
• Copy and paste any file into a selected lesson bundle.
• Use the "Add files to lesson bundle" option. This method copies the selected files into the lesson bundle. The file is not moved from its original location.
Using the Add Files to Lesson Bundle Option
Use this option to add files to an empty lesson bundle or add more files to an existing lesson bundle.
1.
Use one of the following options to select the lesson bundle file.
• When working in the Documents Workspace, open the Content
Explorer, and then double-click the lesson bundle file name.
• When working in the Content Workspace, double-click the lesson bundle name.
Note
: In the Content Workspace, you can also click the lesson bundle name to open the Files dialog box in the Preview pane. The Add Files to Lesson Bundle option is available from the Files dialog box. If the lesson bundle already contains files, the first file in bundle is shown in the Files dialog box.
The lesson bundle dialog box opens. The name reflects the name of the lesson bundle.
Working with Lesson Bundles 153
2.
Click
Add Files to Lesson Bundle.
The Add dialog box opens.
3.
Navigate to and select the file you want to add to the lesson bundle.
• You can select multiple files at one time if they are located in the same folder.
• If files are located in different folders, you can add them one at a time.
• You cannot create a folder within a lesson bundle or add a folder to a lesson bundle.
4.
Click
Add to add the file to the bundle.
The file is added to the bundle and is now listed in the lesson bundle dialog box.
5.
Repeat this process until all needed files are added to the lesson bundle.
154 Working with Lesson Bundles
Opening a Lesson Bundle
To view and work with files within a lesson bundle, complete one of the following steps to open the lesson bundle file.
▶
Double-click the lesson bundle name.
▶
Select the lesson bundle, and then right-click and click Open .
▶
Select the lesson bundle, click , and then click
Open
.
▶
Select the lesson bundle, and then press Ctrl + O. (Mac®: “ + O).
When you open a lesson bundle, the files in the bundle are displayed in a separate dialog box.
Note
: You cannot open a lesson bundle outside of the TI-Nspire™ software. For example, if you open the folder using the file manager on your computer and double-click the lesson bundle name, it does not automatically launch the
TI-Nspire™ software.
Opening Files Within a Lesson Bundle
You can open any file within a lesson bundle on your computer if you have the program associated with the file type.
• When you open a .tns or .tnsp file, the file opens in the Documents
Workspace in the TI-Nspire™ software.
• When you open another file type, it launches the application or program associated with that file. For example, if you open a .doc file, it opens in
Microsoft® Word.
Use one of the following options to open a file within a lesson bundle:
▶
Double-click the lesson bundle, and then double-click a file within the lesson bundle.
Working with Lesson Bundles 155
▶
Within a lesson bundle, select the file, and then click
¢ or right-click the file name and select Open .
Managing Files in a Lesson Bundle
You can open, copy/paste, delete, and rename files in an existing lesson bundle. To locate and work with files in an existing lesson bundle:
1.
Choose one of the following options to locate an existing lesson bundle.
• When working in the Documents Workspace, open the Content
Explorer (click in the Documents Toolbox), and then navigate to the folder where the lesson bundle is located.
• When working in the Content Workspace, navigate to the folder where the lesson bundle is located in Content pane.
Note
: When you click a lesson bundle name in the Content pane, the
Files dialog box opens in the Preview pane. Select a file and rightclick to open the context menu.
2.
Double-click the lesson bundle name to open the Lesson Bundle dialog box.
3.
Select the file you want to work with and click
¢ to open the context menu.
156 Working with Lesson Bundles
4.
Click the action you want to perform:
• Click Open . TI-Nspire™ and PublishView™ documents open in the
Documents Workspace. When you open another file type, it launches the application or program associated with that file.
• Click Copy to place the file in the Clipboard.
• Navigate to a folder on your computer or select a connected handheld or laptop, and then right-click and click Paste to place the copied file in a new location.
• Click Delete to delete a file from the lesson bundle. Use caution when deleting a file from a lesson bundle. You should ensure files contained in the bundle are backed up if you need the files for future use.
• Click Rename to give the file a new name. To cancel this action, press
Esc .
• Click Add Files to Lesson Bundle to select and add files to the bundle.
• Click
Refresh to update the list of files in the bundle.
• Click
Package Lesson Bundle to create a .tilb file
• Click Send to Connected Handhelds to open the Transfer Tool and send the selected file to connected handhelds. You can send .tns files and OS files.
Working with Lesson Bundles 157
Note
: This option is not available in the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ NC
Teacher Software.
5.
When finished, click
Close to close the dialog box.
Managing Lesson Bundles
Use the options menu or the context menu to copy, delete, rename, or send a lesson bundle to connected handhelds or laptops. You cannot add a folder to a lesson bundle.
Managing Lesson Bundles in the Documents Workspace
1.
Open the Content Explorer, and then right-click the lesson bundle name or click to open the context menu.
2.
Click the action you want to perform. If an action is not available, it is dimmed.
• Click
Open to open the lesson bundle.
• Click
Up One Level to navigate up a level in the folder hierarchy.
158 Working with Lesson Bundles
• You cannot add a folder to a lesson bundle. If you click New Folder , a new folder is added to the folder where the lesson bundle is stored.
• Click
New Lesson Bundle to create a new lesson bundle. The new lesson bundle is not added to the existing lesson bundle—it is created in the same folder as the existing lesson bundle.
• Click
Rename to change the name of the lesson bundle. Press
Esc to cancel this action.
• Click
Copy to copy the lesson bundle to the Clipboard.
• Navigate to another folder, and then click
Paste to copy the lesson bundle in another location.
• Click Delete to delete the lesson bundle. Use caution when deleting a lesson bundle. You should ensure files contained in the bundle are backed up if you need the files for future use.
• Select All highlights all files in the open folder. This action does not apply to lesson bundles.
• Click Package Lesson to create a .tilb file.
• Click Refresh to update the list of files in the open folder.
Managing Lesson Bundles in the Content Workspace
1.
Click
Computer Content in the Resources pane.
2.
In the Content pane, navigate to the lesson bundle you want to work with, and then right-click to open the context menu or click to open the menu of options.
Working with Lesson Bundles 159
3.
Select the action you want to perform:
• Click Open to open the lesson bundle.
• Click Copy to place the lesson bundle file in the Clipboard.
• Navigate to a folder on your computer or select a connected handheld, and then right-click and click Paste to place the copied file in a new location.
• Click
Delete to delete the lesson bundle. Use caution when deleting a lesson bundle. You should ensure files contained in the bundle are backed up if you need the files for future use.
• Click
Refresh to update the list of files in the bundle.
• Click
Rename to give the lesson bundle a new name. To cancel this action, press
Esc
.
• To move up a level in the folder hierarchy, click
Up a Level
.
• To add the lesson bundle to the list of shortcuts in Local Content, click
Create Shortcut .
• To add more files to the lesson bundle, click Lesson Bundles > Add
Files to Lesson Bundle .
• Click Lesson Bundles >Package Lesson Bundle to create a .tilb file.
• Click
Send to Connected Handhelds to open the Transfer Tool and send the lesson bundle to connected handhelds. (This option is not available in the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ NC Teacher Software.)
160 Working with Lesson Bundles
Packaging Lesson Bundles
Packaging lesson bundles creates a "package" folder with a .tilb file. This file contains all files contained in the lesson bundle. You must package the lesson before you can email the lesson bundle (.tilb file) to colleagues or students. By default, the lesson bundle is saved in the following folder:
...\TI-Nspire\New Lesson Bundle1.tilb\package\...
Packaging a Lesson in the Documents Workspace
1.
Open the Content Explorer.
2.
Navigate to the folder where the lesson bundle is saved.
3.
Select the lesson bundle you want to package.
4.
Right-click to open the context menu, and then click
Package Lesson
.
The Lesson Bundle dialog box opens confirming that the .tilb file was created and the lesson bundle was successfully packaged.
5.
Click Yes to open the folder where the lesson package is stored. Click No to close the dialog box.
Packaging a Lesson in the Contents Workspace
1.
In
ComputerContent
, navigate to the folder that contains the lesson bundle you want to package.
2.
Click the lesson bundle in the Content pane. The Lesson Bundle details are displayed in the Preview pane.
3.
Use one of the following methods to create the package:
• From the Preview pane, click
¢ in the Files dialog box, and then click
Package Lesson Bundle .
• From the Content pane, right-click the lesson bundle name, and then click Lesson Bundles > Package Lesson Bundle .
The Lesson Bundle dialog box opens confirming that the lesson bundle was created.
Working with Lesson Bundles 161
4.
Click Yes to open the folder where the lesson package is stored. Click No to close the dialog box.
Emailing a Lesson Bundle
After a lesson bundle is packaged, you can email the .tilb file to other teachers or students. To attach the lesson bundle to an email:
1.
In your email client, select the option needed to attach a file, and then navigate to the .tilb folder.
2.
Make sure you open the folder and select the .tilb file to attach to the email.
You cannot email the .tilb folder.
Sending Lesson Bundles to Connected Handhelds
Note
: This option is not available in TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ NC Teacher
Software.
1.
Complete one of the following actions to select a lesson bundle:
• In the Documents Workspace, open the Content Explorer, and then select the lesson bundle you want to send.
• In the Content Workspace, navigate to the lesson you want to send in the Content pane.
2.
Drag the lesson bundle file to a connected handheld. You can also copy the lesson bundle, and then paste it to a connected handheld.
The lesson bundle is transferred to the handheld as a folder with the same name. Only .tns files are transferred to the handheld.
162 Working with Lesson Bundles
Capturing Screens
Screen Capture enables you to:
•
Capture Page
Capture the active page in a TI-Nspire™ document from the software or from the TI-SmartView™ emulator as an image.
Save captured images as .jpg, .gif, .png, or .tif files, which can be inserted into TI-Nspire™ applications that allow images.
Copy and paste images into another application such as Microsoft®
Word.
•
Capture Selected Handheld
Capture the current screen on a connected handheld as an image.
Save captured images as .jpg, .gif, .png, or .tif files, which can be inserted into TI-Nspire™ applications that allow images.
Copy and paste images into another application such as Microsoft®
Word.
•
Capture Images in Handheld Mode
In the Documents Workspace, use the DragScreen feature to capture the emulator screen or side screen when the TI-SmartView™ Emulator is active.
Teachers can use this feature to drag and paste an image to presentation tools such as SMART® Notebook, Promethean’s
Flipchart, and Microsoft® Office applications including Word and
PowerPoint®.
Accessing Screen Capture
The Screen Capture tool is available from all workspaces. To access Screen
Capture:
▶
From the menu bar, click Tools > Screen Capture .
▶
From the toolbar, click .
Capturing Screens 163
Using Capture Page
Use the Capture Page option to capture an image of an active page in a
TI-Nspire™ document. You can save images in the following file formats: .jpg,
.gif, .png, and .tif. Saved images can be inserted into TI-Nspire™ applications that allow images. The image is also copied to the Clipboard and can be pasted into other applications such as Microsoft® Word or PowerPoint.
Capturing a Page
Complete the following steps to capture an image of an active page.
1.
In the Documents Workspace, open a document and navigate to the page you want to capture to make it active.
2.
Click , and then click
Capture Page
.
The image of the active page is copied to the Clipboard and to the Screen
Capture window. The dialog box opens in the lower right corner of your desktop when the screen capture is complete.
3.
Click
View it.
The Screen Capture window opens.
You can also click Window > Screen Capture Window to open the Screen
Capture window.
164 Capturing Screens
4.
To capture additional pages, move to another page in the current document or open a new document to select a page.
As you capture additional pages, the images are copied to the Screen
Capture window, which holds multiple images. The last page captured replaces the contents of the Clipboard.
Using Capture Selected Handheld
Use the Capture Selected Handheld option to capture the active screen on a connected handheld.
1.
On a connected handheld, navigate to the menu or to a page in a document you want to capture.
2.
In the software, select the connected handheld:
• In the Content Workspace, select the handheld from the list of
Connected Handhelds in the Resources pane.
• In the Documents Workspace, open Content Explorer from the
Documents Toolbox, and then select the handheld from the list of
Connected Handhelds.
• In the Class Workspace, select a logged in student.
Capturing Screens 165
3.
Click
—or—
, and then click Capture Selected Handheld .
Click , and then click Capture Selected Handheld .
The screen is copied to the Clipboard and to the TI-Nspire™ Screen
Capture window. The box opens in the lower right corner of your desktop when the screen capture is complete.
dialog
4.
Click View it.
The Screen Capture window opens.
You can capture additional screens from an open document on a connected handheld or open another document on a connected handheld to capture screens from that document.
As you capture additional screens, the images are copied to the Screen
Capture window, which holds multiple images. The last screen captured replaces the contents of the Clipboard.
Viewing Captured Screens
When you capture a page or screen, it is copied to the Screen Capture window.
166 Capturing Screens
Zooming the View of Captured Screens
In the Screen Capture window, use the zoom in and zoom out options to increase or decrease the size of the captured screens.
▶
From the toolbar, click to increase the size of the screens in the view.
You can also click View > Zoom In from the menu.
▶
From the toolbar, click to decrease the size of the screens in the view.
You can also click View > Zoom Out from the menu.
Saving Captured Pages and Screens
You can save captured pages and screens captured as images for use in other
TI-Nspire™ documents that allow images or for use in other applications such as Microsoft® Word. You can save one image at a time, select multiple images to save, or save all captured images.
Saving Selected Screens
1.
In the Screen Capture window, select the screen image you want to save.
2.
Click File > Save Selected Screen(s) .
Capturing Screens 167
Note
: From the Screen Capture window, you can also click
The Save as dialog box opens.
.
3.
Navigate to the folder on your computer where you want to save the file.
4.
Type a name for the file.
Note
: The default file name is MM-DD-YYYY Image ###.
5.
Select the file type for the image file. The default format is .jpg. Click
¤ to select another format: .gif, .tif, or .png.
6.
Click Save .
The file is saved in the designated folder.
Saving Multiple Screens
1.
In the Screen Capture window, select the screens you want to save.
To select multiple consecutive screens, click the first image, and then hold down the Shift key and click the additional images. To select screens in random order, press
Ctrl
(Mac®: “) and click each image you want to save.
2.
Click or select File > Save Selected Screen(s) . To save all captured screens, select
File > Save All Screens
.
Note
: The "Save All Screens" option is not available when using Capture
Class.
The Save as dialog box opens.
168 Capturing Screens
3.
In the Save In field, navigate to the folder where you want to save the images.
4.
In the File Name field, type a new folder name. The default folder name is
MM-DD-YYYY Image, where MM-DD-YYYY is the current date.
5.
Select the file type for the image files. The default format is .jpg. Click
¤ to select another format: .gif, .tif, or .png.
6.
Click Save.
The images are saved in the specified folder with system-assigned names reflecting the current date and a sequence number. For example, MM-DD-
YYYY Image 001.jpg, MM-DD-YYYY Image 002.jpg and so on.
Copying and Pasting a Screen
You can select a captured screen and copy it to the Clipboard for inclusion into other documents or applications. You can also print copied screens. Copied screens are captured at 100% zoom level, and they are copied in the order of selection.
Copying a Screen
1.
Select the screen to copy.
2.
Click or Edit > Copy.
The selected screen is copied to the Clipboard.
Pasting a Screen
Depending on the application you are pasting to, click
Edit > Paste
.
Note
: You can also drag a screen capture to another application. This functions as a copy and paste.
Capturing Images in Handheld Mode
In the Documents Workspace, use the DragScreen feature to capture the emulator screen or side screen when the TI-SmartView™ Emulator is active.
Teachers can use this feature to drag and paste an image to presentation tools such as SMART® Notebook, Promethean’s Flipchart, and Microsoft® Office applications including Word and PowerPoint®.
Capturing Screens 169
Capturing Images Using the DragScreen Feature
Complete the following steps to capture an image and copy it to a third-party application.
1.
From the Documents Workspace, click
Documents Toolbox.
The TI-SmartView™ Emulator opens.
, which is located in the
• If the display selected is
Handheld + SideScreen
, the current document is shown in the emulator and in the side screen.
• If the display selected is
Keypad + SideScreen
, the current document is shown in the side screen.
2.
To start the screen capture, click the area above the emulator screen or above the keypad. In the Handheld + Sidescreen display, you can also click the area around the emulator screen.
Do not release the mouse button. If the cursor is active or if you click inside the emulator window, the screen capture is not started.
170 Capturing Screens
In Handheld + SideScreen view, click the area above the emulator, click the area around the emulator, or click the border of the emulator screen to start the screen capture.
In Keypad + SideScreen view, click the area above the keypad to start the screen capture.
3.
Without releasing the mouse, drag the image.
A ghost image of the captured screen opens. The ghost image remains visible until you release the mouse button.
The in the corner of the ghost image indicates you cannot paste the image in that location.
4.
Drag the image to an open third-party application. When the image is on top of the third-party application, the image.
indicates you can drop the
Capturing Screens 171
5.
Release the mouse button to drop the image into the selected application.
The image is also copied to the Clipboard and to the TI-Nspire™ Screen
Capture window.
To view captured images in the Screen Capture window, click
Window >
Screen Capture Window.
You can capture additional screens as needed. As you capture additional screens, the images are copied to the Screen Capture window, which holds multiple images. The last screen captured replaces the contents of the Clipboard.
172 Capturing Screens
Working with Images
Images can be used in TI-Nspire™ applications for reference, assessment, and instructional purposes. You can add images to the following TI-Nspire™ applications:
• Graphs & Geometry
• Data & Statistics
• Notes
• Question, including Quick Poll
In the Graphs & Geometry and Data & Statistics applications, images are set in the background behind the axis and other objects. In the Notes and Question applications, the image is set at the cursor location inline with the text (in the foreground).
You can insert the following image file types: .jpg, .png, or .bmp.
Note
: The transparency feature of a .png file type is not supported. Transparent backgrounds are displayed as white.
Working with Images in the Software
When working in the TI-Nspire™ software, you can insert, copy, move, and delete images.
Inserting Images
In the Notes and Question applications, and in Quick Poll, you can insert more than one image on a page. You can only insert one image on a page in the
Graphs & Geometry and Data & Statistics applications.
1.
Open the document where you want to add an image.
2.
Click Insert > Image .
The Insert Image dialog box opens.
Working with Images 173
3.
Navigate to the folder where the image is located and select the image.
4.
Click
Open
.
• In the Graphs & Geometry and Data & Statistics applications, the image is inserted in the background behind the axis.
• In Notes, Question, and Quick Poll, the image is inserted at the cursor location. You can type text above or below the image, and you can move the image up or down on the page.
Note
: You can also insert images by copying an image to the Clipboard and pasting it into the application.
Moving Images
In applications such as Notes and Question where the image is set at the cursor location, you can reposition the image by moving the image to a new line or blank space, or by placing the image within a line of text. In the Graphs
& Geometry and Data & Statistics applications, images can be moved to any position on the page.
1.
Select the image.
• In the Notes and Question applications, click the image to select it.
• In the Graphs & Geometry and Data & Statistics applications, rightclick the image, and then click Select > Image .
2.
Click the selected image and hold the mouse button.
174 Working with Images
• If an image is in the foreground, the cursor changes to .
• If an image is in the background, the cursor changes to .
3.
Drag the image to the new location and release the mouse button to place the image.
If an image is in the foreground, the cursor changes to when you hover your mouse pointer over a location where there is a new line or space.
Images in the background can be moved and placed anywhere on the page.
Resizing Images
To retain the aspect ratio of an image, resize by grabbing the image at one of the four corners.
1.
Select the image.
• In the Notes and Question applications, click the image to select it.
• In the Graphs & Geometry and Data & Statistics applications, rightclick the image, and then click Select > Image .
2.
Move the cursor to one of the corners of the image.
The cursor changes to (a four-sided directional arrow).
Note
: If you drag the cursor to an edge of the image, the cursor changes to
(a two-sided directional arrow). If you drag an image from one of its edges to resize it, the image becomes distorted.
3.
Click the corner or edge of the image.
The tool is enabled.
4.
Drag in to make the image smaller or drag out to make the image larger.
5.
Release the mouse when the image size is correct.
Deleting Images
To delete an image from an open document, complete the following steps.
1.
Select the image.
• If an image is in the foreground, click the image to select it.
Working with Images 175
• If an image is in the background, right-click the image, and then click
Select > Image .
2.
Press
Delete
.
The image is removed.
176 Working with Images
Using Question in the Teacher Software
The Question application in the Teacher Software allows you to author multiple choice, open response, equation, expression, coordinate points, lists, image, and chemistry questions.
Although students cannot author questions, they can open documents containing questions, answer these questions, and, in Self-Check mode, check their work.
The Question application is located on the Insert menu in the Documents
Workspace.
À
Insert menu.
Click
Insert and select
Question to add a question, or select
Image to add an image to a question.
Á
Document Tools.
Click this icon to open the toolbox pane.
Â
Question tool.
Provides a menu of tools available for working with the
Question application.
Ã
Configuration tool.
Allows you to set certain properties for each question you insert.
Ä
Question area.
This is where you type questions and view student responses.
Å
Formatting toolbar
. Allows you to apply formatting to text.
Using Question in the Teacher Software 177
Æ
Document Preview.
View the document in Handheld or Computer mode.
The preview changes, but the page size does not. For more information on Document Preview, see Working with TI-Nspire™ Documents.
Understanding the Question Tools
When you add a question, the Question application opens. If necessary, click
Document Tools to open the tools menu.
Note:
The Teacher Tool Palette is not available to students.
Tool name Tool function
Clear
Answers
Lets teachers or students clear the answers in the current question or in the document.
Check
Answer
Insert
If you select Self-Check as the document type in the
Question Properties dialog box, students can check their answer to the question.
Lets teachers or students insert an expression box or chemical equation box into the question or answer.
Format
Teacher
Tool
Palette
Lets teachers or students format the selected text as subscript or superscript. (The chemical equation box uses its own formatting tool, so this Format tool does not work in the chemical equation box.)
Lets you add copyright information and set the document type as Self-Check or Exam.
Using the Insert Menu
The Insert menu in the Document Tools lets you add math expression boxes and chemical equation boxes to the Question area, Suggested
Response area, or Correct Answer area of some question types. When you are
178 Using Question in the Teacher Software
in question types that allow math expressions or chemical equations, place your cursor where you want to insert the box, and then follow these steps.
1.
Open the Question tool.
2.
Click
Insert > Expression Box or
Chem Box
.
The software inserts a blank box where your cursor is positioned.
3.
Type the desired math expression or chemical equation, and then click outside of the box to continue typing text.
Using the Teacher Tool Palette
The Teacher Tool Palette allows you to add copyright information and set the document type as Self-Check or Exam.
Adding Copyright Information
Use the Question Properties dialog box to add copyright information to the current question.
1.
Click the Teacher Tool Palette icon > Question Properties .
The Question Properties dialog box opens.
2.
Type the author’s name and move to the Copyright field.
Note:
TI-Nspire™ software allows you to use questions from more than one author in the same document. Therefore, the information that you enter about the author and copyright is not global. You must enter the relevant information for each different question.
Using Question in the Teacher Software 179
3.
Select whether the question is public domain or has a copyright assigned to it and move to the Year field.
4.
Type the year the question was copyrighted and move to the
Owner field. If you are copyrighting a new question, type the current year (example:
2012).
5.
Type the name of the person or entity that owns the copyright.
6.
Click
OK
.
Setting Self-Check and Exam Document Types
When you define a document as Self-Check or Exam, all of the questions in that document will be either Self-Check or Exam.
• When you define the document type as Self-Check, students can check the answers against the answers provided by the teacher.
• In Exam mode, when you enter a suggested response to a question, students cannot check the answers. You can use Exam mode to automatically grade student responses.
1.
Click the Teacher Tool Palette icon > Question Properties .
2.
In the Document Type field, click Exam or Self-Check .
3.
Click OK .
Understanding the Configuration Tool
The Configuration tool allows you to set properties specific to each question type you insert. Properties include the response type, the number of responses
(if applicable), the correct answer, and other options.
For example, you can specify the correct answer to a question, and set the scale, axes, and grid on a graph. You can add a 2D math expression on the question types that contain a Correct Answer field.
Each question type has a unique set of options. The options are explained for each question type in the
Adding Questions section.
The configuration settings are retained when you copy and paste a question from one document to another.
180 Using Question in the Teacher Software
Adding Configuration Options
1.
Click the down arrow on the Configuration bar in the Documents Toolbox to open the Configuration tool.
2.
Click the down arrow next to the choices you want to edit, and type the applicable text.
3.
Close the Configuration panel. The options you chose are saved when you save the document.
Formatting Text and Objects
Use the text formatting tools to format text in sections of questions that allow text input.
The formatting toolbar also contains the Document Tools easy access to the Question and Configuration tools.
icon to provide
For more information on formatting text and objects, see Working with
TI-Nspire™ Documents.
Using Question in the Teacher Software 181
Adding Images to Questions
You can add images to the Question Text Area of most questions. On some question types, you can add an image in the Student Answer or Suggested
Response Area of a question.
Adding images provides a visual aid to help explain the context of the question, or as a background on a graph.
Choose the image from a set of images on your computer, or copy and paste an image from a different application into the Question Text Area. For more information, see
Working with Images.
Image Types Available
The following file types can be used in the Question application:
• .jpg
• .jpeg
• .bmp
• .png
Note:
The transparency feature of .png is not supported. Any transparent
.png backgrounds will appear as white.
Adding Images Using the Insert Command
1.
Click
Insert > Image
.
The Insert Image dialog box opens.
2.
Navigate to the location of the image and select it.
3.
Click
Open
.
The image appears in the question.
Adding Images Using the Clipboard
To copy an image to the Clipboard from a TI-Nspire™ document, image file, or another program, press
Ctrl + C
(Mac®: “ + C).
To paste the image into the question, press
Ctrl + V
(Mac®: “ + V).
Adding Questions
You can add the following types of questions:
• Multiple Choice
182 Using Question in the Teacher Software
Custom
ABCD
True/False
Yes/No
Always/Sometimes/Never
Agree/Disagree
Strongly Agree...Strongly Disagree
• Open response
Explanation (not auto-graded)
Text Match (auto-graded)
• Equations and Expressions
y=
f(x)=
Expression
• Coordinate Points and Lists
(x,y) numerical input
Drop Point(s)
List(s)
• Image
Label
Point on
• Chemistry
When you select a question type, a brief explanation of the question is displayed at the bottom of the Choose Question Type dialog box.
Using Question in the Teacher Software 183
When you open a question template, the cursor is in the Question text area.
Adding a Multiple Choice Question
This example shows how to add a custom multiple choice question. A custom multiple choice question allows you to specify answers your students can select. You can then select one or more responses as correct to help you when grading or to help students check questions that are in Self-Check mode.
184 Using Question in the Teacher Software
To add a custom multiple-choice question:
1.
Click
Insert > Question
.
The Choose Question Type dialog box opens.
2.
Click Custom Choice under the Multiple Choice heading.
3.
Click Insert .
The Custom Choice template opens with the cursor in the Question text area.
Two response options exist in the template by default.
4.
Type the question.
• You can type any combination of text, math expressions, and chemical equations in the Question Area and Suggested Response area.
• You can add an image in the question text area.
5.
Press
Enter to add another question line, or press
Tab to go to the first
Correct Answer button.
6.
Type the response options. Add an image, if desired.
7.
Press
Enter to add other response options, and add the response text.
• Press Delete to clear or delete a response.
• Press Backspace to delete an empty response line.
8.
Click the option next to a suggested response, if desired.
Note
: In Self-Check mode, the student can check their answer against the suggested response.
Using Question in the Teacher Software 185
9.
Open the Configuration tool. Choose the response type, and click the option that corresponds to the correct answer.
Adding an Open Response Question
An open response question prompts the student to write a response. An explanation question type allows students to respond without any predefined answers. A text match question type allows the teacher to specify an answer for the student response. Text match questions are automatically graded; open response questions are not automatically graded.
This example shows how to add an explanation question.
1.
Click Insert > Question .
The Choose Question Type dialog box opens.
2.
Click
Explanation under
Open Response.
3.
Click Insert .
The Open Response template opens with the cursor in the Question text area.
4.
Type the question.
• You can type any combination of text, math expressions, and chemical equations in the Question Area and Suggested Response area.
• You can add an image in the question text area.
• Press Tab or use the mouse pointer to navigate between fields.
5.
Open the Configuration tool. Select the response type as Explanation or
Text Match, and type the correct answer.
186 Using Question in the Teacher Software
• The Explanation response type allows students to give answers that closely match your suggested response.
• The Text Match response type requires students to exactly match your suggested response. Select the Ignore Case check box if capitalization is not important.
• You can type any combination of text, math expressions, and chemical equations in the Correct Answer area.
Adding an Equation Question
An equation question prompts the student to write an equation in the form of y= or f(x)=, or to respond with a number or expression.
This example shows how to add a y=question.
1.
Click Insert > Question .
The Choose Question Type dialog box opens.
2.
Select y= under
Equations and Expressions
.
3.
Click Insert .
The equation template opens with the cursor in the Question text area.
4.
Type the question.
• You can type any combination of text, math expressions, and chemical equations in the Question Area.
• You can add an image in the question text area.
• Press Tab or use the mouse pointer to navigate between fields.
5.
Enter a suggested response, if desired.
Using Question in the Teacher Software 187
6.
Press Enter to add other response options, and add the response text.
• Press
Delete to clear or delete a response.
• Press
Backspace to delete an empty response line.
7.
Open the Configuration tool to set the number of responses, the correct answer, and whether the students should show their work. You can also add a graph that will show in the Question area.
• The number of responses can range from 1 to 5.
• The
Show your work option includes areas for the students to write their starting point, their steps, and their final answer. The option to show work is disabled if multiple responses are allowed.
• To add a graph in the Question area, check
Include a Graph Preview
.
The Question text area splits to show a graph on the right.
• When you are in the graph, the Graphs & Geometry toolbox is available to allow you to add functions.
Note:
Only the teacher can edit the graph. Students can only view and zoom the graph.
• Click to add additional fields for multiple correct answers. For example, you might want to accept both y=(x+1)(x+2) and y=(x+2)
(x+1) as correct answers.
• Select whether or not to accept equivalent responses as correct.
188 Using Question in the Teacher Software
If you do not check
Accept equivalent responses as correct
, the student response is marked correct if it is an exact text match to one of the accepted responses you entered.
If you do check
Accept equivalent responses as correct
, the student response is marked correct if it is equivalent to any accepted response you entered. For example, if you typed x+2 as the correct answer, and the student submits 2+x, this response is equivalent to the accepted response and is automatically graded as correct. Spaces, case differences, and extra parentheses are ignored when the software evaluates student answers. For example, y=2x+1 is evaluated the same as Y = 2X + 1.
Adding an Expression Question
An expression question prompts the student to respond with a number value or an expression.
1.
Click Insert > Question .
The Choose Question Type dialog box opens.
2.
Click
Expression under
Equations and Expressions.
3.
Click
Insert
.
The expression template opens with the cursor in the Question text area.
4.
Type the question.
• You can type any combination of text, math expressions, and chemical equations in the Question area.
• You can add an image in the Question area.
Using Question in the Teacher Software 189
5.
In the Expression type response, enter a starting expression, if desired.
The student sees the starting expression.
6.
Enter a suggested response, if desired.
• If you set the response type as Number, the response fields are math boxes and accept only number values such as 1/3.
• If you set the response type as Expression, the response fields are expression boxes and accept only expression inputs such as 2(3+5).
7.
Open the Configuration tool to set the response type as Number or
Expression, set whether or not the students should show their work, and enter a correct answer. You can also set a tolerance for Number types, or equivalent responses for Expression types.
• The
Show your work option includes areas for the students to write their starting point, their steps, and their final answer.
• In the Number type response, enter the accepted numerical response and the tolerance. Student responses are marked correct if they fall within the tolerance interval you specify.
• Specifying a tolerance of zero indicates you are looking for the exact number answer. Not specifying a tolerance is the same as specifying a tolerance of zero.
• Student answers are considered correct if they are numerically equivalent to the correct answer. Spaces, case differences, and extra
190 Using Question in the Teacher Software
parentheses are ignored when the software evaluates student answers.
• In the Expression type response, you can add additional fields (up to
10) for multiple correct answers.
• In the Expression type response, click to open the Templates and
Symbols catalog that allows you to enter 2D math expressions.
• In the Expression type response, you can select whether or not to accept equivalent responses as correct.
If you do not check
Accept equivalent responses as correct
, the student response is marked correct if it is an exact text match to one of the accepted responses you entered.
If you do check
Accept equivalent responses as correct
, the student response is marked correct if it is equivalent to any accepted response you entered. For example, if you typed x+2 as the correct answer, and the student submits 2+x, this response is equivalent to the accepted response and is automatically graded as correct. Spaces, case differences, and extra parentheses are ignored when the software evaluates student answers. For example, x+2 is evaluated the same as X + 2.
Important
: Students can enter the starting expression you supply and have this response automatically graded as correct. For example, if you ask students to factor x
2
-7x+12 and stipulate the correct answer is (x-3)(x-4), the student can submit a response of x
2
-7x+12. This response is automatically graded as correct because it is equivalent to the accepted answer. You must manually mark this student response as incorrect in either the
Review or Portfolio Workspaces. See the chapters for those workspaces for more information on marking and grading responses.
Adding an (x,y) Numerical InputQuestion
An (x,y) numerical input question prompts the student to respond with a coordinate.
Using Question in the Teacher Software 191
1.
Click Insert > Question .
The Choose Question Type dialog box opens.
2.
Click
(x,y) Numerical Input under
Coordinate Points & Lists.
3.
Click
Insert
.
The template opens with the cursor in the Question text area.
4.
Type the question.
• You can type any combination of text, math expressions, and chemical equations in the Question area.
• You can add an image in the Question area.
• Press
Tab or use the mouse pointer to navigate between fields.
5.
Enter a suggested response, if desired.
• The response fields are expression boxes and accept only expression inputs.
6.
Press
Enter to add other response options (up to five), and add the response text.
• Press
Delete to clear or delete a response.
• Press
Backspace to delete an empty response line.
7.
Open the Configuration tool to set the number of points, add a graph preview, enter a correct answer, and set equivalent responses as correct.
192 Using Question in the Teacher Software
• The number of points can range from 1 to 5.
• Click to add additional fields for multiple correct answers. You can type any combination of text, math expressions, and chemical equations in the correct answer fields.
• Click to open the Templates and Symbols catalog that allows you to enter 2D math expressions.
• To add a graph in the Question area, select
Include a Graph Preview
.
The Question text area splits to show a graph on the right and the student prompt area on the left. To change the location of the graph, click the down arrow next to Prompt Location and choose the desired location for the graph in the student prompt area.
• When you are in the graph, the Graphs & Geometry tools are available to allow you to add functions.
Note:
Only the teacher can edit the graph. Students can only view and zoom the graph.
• Select whether or not to accept equivalent responses as correct.
If you do not check
Accept equivalent responses as correct
, the student response is marked correct if it is an exact text match to one of the accepted responses you entered.
Using Question in the Teacher Software 193
If you do check
Accept equivalent responses as correct
, the student response is marked correct if it is equivalent to any accepted response you entered. For example, if you typed
(-0.5, .75) as the correct answer, and the student submits (-.5, .75) or (-1/2, 3/4), and so forth, the student response is equivalent to the accepted response and is automatically graded as correct.
Adding a Drop Points Question
A drop points question inserts a graph and prompts the student to drop points on the graph in response to your question.
1.
Click Insert > Question .
The Choose Question Type dialog box opens.
2.
Select
Drop Points under
Coordinate Points & Lists
.
3.
Click Insert .
The drop points template opens with the cursor in the Question text area.
The graph is in the Student answer area.
• When you are in the graph, the Graphs & Geometry tools are available to allow you to add functions.
Note:
Only the teacher can edit the graph. Students can only view, zoom, or place points on the graph.
4.
Type the question.
• You can type any combination of text, math expressions, and chemical equations in the Question area.
194 Using Question in the Teacher Software
• You can add an image in the Question Area.
• Press
Tab or use the mouse pointer to navigate between fields.
5.
Open the Configuration tool to set the number of points, hide or show coordinates, and enter a correct answer.
• The number of points can range from 1 to 5.
• Showing coordinates is turned off by default. Select the check box to display coordinate labels on the graph.
• Click to add additional fields for multiple correct answers. You can type any combination of text, math expressions, and chemical equations in the correct answer fields.
• Click to open the Templates and Symbols catalog that allows you to enter 2D math expressions.
Adding a Lists Question
A Lists question inserts a list and prompts students to enter data in the lists in response to your question.
1.
Click Insert > Question .
The Choose Question Type dialog box opens.
2.
Select
List(s) under the
Coordinate Points & Lists question from the
Choose Question Type dialog box.
3.
Click Insert .
The List template opens with the cursor in the Question text area.
Using Question in the Teacher Software 195
4.
Type the question.
• You can add columns or rows, change the name of the lists, and input data in the lists, using the same functions allowed in the Lists &
Spreadsheet application.
5.
Enter initial data in the lists, if desired.
6.
Open the Configuration tool to set the number of lists for the student responses.
• The number of lists can range from 1 to 5.
• Lists must have names. The default names are List1 , List2 , and so forth.
Adding an Image: Label Question
An Image: Label question inserts an image. You can add blank fields to the image and have students fill in the blanks in response to your question.
1.
Click Insert > Question .
The Choose Question Type dialog box opens.
2.
Select
Label under
Image
.
3.
Click Insert .
The Image: Label template opens with a blank background and one label.
This is where the image for the question is inserted.
4.
Type the question.
• You can type any combination of text, math expressions, and chemical equations in the Question area.
• Press
Tab or use the mouse pointer to navigate between fields.
196 Using Question in the Teacher Software
5.
Insert an image in the bottom portion of the question template.
6.
Open the Configuration tool to set the number of responses and to enter answers for each label.
• The number of responses determines the number of labels on the image. Each new response gives the label a unique identifier, such as
A, B, C, and so forth. Drag the labels to the desired location on the image.
Note
: If you set more than 26 responses, the labels are identified with numbers, starting with 1. You can insert a maximum of 35 labels.
• In the answers area, click to open the Templates and Symbols catalog that allows you to enter 2D math expressions.
• If the label text is too large to fit in the default label size, grab and drag the borders of the label to resize it.
7.
Type a suggested response in the labels, if desired. Select the Ignore case check box if capitalization is not important.
• You can type any combination of text, math expressions, and chemical equations in the response area.
• As you type the suggested response, a ghosted image of your answer appears in the respective label on the image. If the suggested response is too large for the default label size, grab and drag the borders of the label to resize it.
Using Question in the Teacher Software 197
Adding an Image: Point on Question
An Image: Point on question inserts an image. Add check boxes to the image and have students place a check mark in the correct boxes in response to your question.
1.
Click
Insert > Question
.
The Choose Question Type dialog box opens.
2.
Select
Point on
under
Image
.
3.
Click Insert .
The Image: Point on template opens with a blank background and one point. This is where the image for the question is inserted.
4.
Type the question.
• You can type any combination of text, math expressions, and chemical equations in the Question area.
• Press Tab or use the mouse pointer to navigate between fields.
5.
Open the Configuration tool to set the response type, number of responses, and correct answer.
• The Response Type makes the point a circle for Single Reponse and changes to a square for Multiple Responses to indicate students can select more than one box.
• The number of responses determines the number of points on the image. Each new response gives the point a unique identifier, such as
A, B, C, and so forth. Drag the points to the desired location on the image.
198 Using Question in the Teacher Software
Note
: If you set more than 26 responses, the points are identified with numbers, starting with 1. You can insert a maximum of 35 points.
6.
Click a point or points as a suggested response, if desired.
Adding a Chemistry Question
When you add a Chemistry question, students respond with a chemical formula or equation.
1.
Click Insert > Question .
The Choose Question Type dialog box opens.
2.
Click
Chemistry
.
3.
Click Insert .
The Chemistry template opens with the cursor in the Question text area.
4.
Type the question.
• You can type any combination of text, math expressions, and chemical equations in the Question area.
• You can add an image in the Question area.
5.
Enter a suggested response, if desired.
6.
Open the Configuration tool to enter a correct answer.
Click to add additional fields for multiple correct answers. You should enter all possible answers. The software does not evaluate equivalency for
Chemistry answers.
Using Question in the Teacher Software 199
200
Responding to Questions
The teacher may send you several different question types. This section shows you how to answer the different question types.
Understanding the Question Toolbar
When you open a document with a question, a toolbar is available with four options. Access the toolbar using the following method.
▶
In the Documents Toolbox, click .
Handheld: press b
.
Tool name Tool function
Clear
Answers
Lets you clear the answers in the current question or in the document.
Check
Answer
If the teacher enabled Self-Check mode for the question, click here to view the correct answer.
Insert
Format
Lets you insert a math expression box or chemical equation box in your answer.
Click this tool to format the selected text in your answer as subscript or superscript. (The chemical equation box uses its own formatting tool, so this Format tool does not work in the chemical equation box.)
Types of Questions
There are several types of questions you may be asked. There may be variations in a type, but how you answer the question is basically the same for each type.
• Multiple Choice
Responding to Questions 201
Custom
ABCD
True/False
Yes/No
Always/Sometimes/Never
Agree/Disagree
Strongly Agree...Strongly Disagree
• Open response
Explanation (not auto-graded)
Text Match (auto-graded)
• Equations and Expressions
y=
f(x)=
Expression
• Coordinate Points and Lists
(x,y) numerical input
Drop Point(s)
List(s)
• Image
Label
Point on
• Chemistry
Responding to Quick Poll Questions
When teachers send quick polls during class, the question opens as a new document on top of any document you may currently have open. You can access other applications to perform calculations, and check or clear answers before submitting your answer to the question or quick poll.
Note
: On TI-Nspire™ CX or TI-Nspire™ CX CAS handhelds, questions appear in color if the teacher applied color when writing the question. Although you can see color in the questions you receive, you cannot add color to the responses you submit.
202 Responding to Questions
Accessing Other Applications
If the teacher gives permission, the Quick Poll tool allows you to temporarily exit the question to perform calculations or access other documents to determine the answer to the question. For example, you can access the
Scratchpad to perform a calculation, or you can access the Lists & Spreadsheet application and copy data from there to a List question type. In a List question, you can link to variables from the Vernier DataQuest™ or Lists & Spreadsheet applications.
To access other applications while in the Quick Poll screen:
1.
Open a new document.
Handheld: Press c to open the
Home screen.
2.
Choose an application.
Handheld: To return to the Quick Poll without accessing any documents, choose
C: Quick Poll
.
3.
When you are finished, click the Quick Poll icon.
When you respond to a poll, your response is immediately sent to the teacher’s computer and teachers can track student responses in real time.
Showing Your Work
The teacher may request you to show work for your response. If so, the response area has sections for you to write your starting point, your steps, and the final answer.
Responding to Different Question Types
▶
For Multiple Choice questions, press Tab to navigate to a response. Press
Enter to mark a response.
▶
For Open Response questions, type a response.
▶
For Equation questions, type a response. If a graph is included in a question, the graph updates when you press
Enter
. Any functions entered show up on the graph, and the cursor remains in the answer box. You cannot manipulate the graph itself.
▶
For Expression questions, type a response. If the response type is Number, your response must be in the form of a number. If the response type is
Expression, your response must be in the form of an expression. For example, x+1.
Responding to Questions 203
▶
For Coordinate Points: (x,y) questions, type an answer in the x-field box, and press Tab to move to the y-field box. Type an answer.
If a graph is included with the question, the graph is updated when you enter a function and press
Enter
.
You can access the Window and Zoom functions while you are working on the graph.
▶
For Coordinate Points: Drop Points questions, press
Tab to move the cursor to a point on the graph. Press
Enter to drop a point at that location.
To delete a point, press Ctrl + Z to undo the action.
▶
For Lists questions, press Tab if necessary to move the cursor to the first cell of the list. Type an answer, and press Tab to move to the next cell. Type an answer.
To link a column to an existing variable, select the column and then click var . Click Link To , and then click the variable you want to link to.
The behavior in a Lists question closely matches the behavior of the Lists
& Spreadsheet application, with the following exceptions. In a Lists question, you cannot:
• Add, insert, or delete columns.
• Change the header row.
• Enter formulas.
• Switch to Table.
• Create plots.
▶
For Chemistry questions, type a response.
▶
For Image: Label questions, press Tab to move the cursor to a label on the image. Type a response in the label field.
▶
For Image: Point on questions, press
Tab to move the cursor to a point on the image. Press Enter to mark a response.
Checking Answers
If the teacher enables self-check on the question, the Check Answer option is available.
1.
Click .
Handheld: Press b
.
204 Responding to Questions
2.
Click Check Answer .
Clearing Answers
After you answer a quick poll, you may decide you want to change the answer before you submit it.
▶
Click Menu > Clear Answers > Current Question or Document.
•
Current Question clears answers for the active question.
• Document clears answers for all questions contained in the active document.
—or—
If you answered the question, you still have time to clear the answer before you submit it to your teacher.
▶
Click
Clear Answer to clear your answer and try again.
Handheld: Press
~ and choose Clear Answer.
Submitting Responses
To send a final answer to the teacher:
▶
Click Submit Response .
Handheld: Press
~ and choose
Submit
.
The response is sent to the teacher and the last screen you used is displayed.
Your response appears on the teacher’s computer. Your teacher may have set the poll to allow you to submit more than one answer. If so, you can continue to respond to the poll and submit answers until the teacher stops the poll.
Responding to Questions 205
206
Calculator Application
The Calculator application lets you:
• Enter and evaluate math expressions
• Define variables, functions, and programs that become available to any
TI-Nspire™ application—such as the Graphs application—residing in the same problem.
• Define library objects, such as variables, functions, and programs, which are accessible from any problem of any document. For information on creating library objects, see Libraries.
Adding a Calculator Page
▶
To start a new document with a blank Calculator page:
From the main
File menu, click
New Document
, and then click
Add
Calculator .
Handheld: Press c
, and select Calculator .
▶
To add a Calculator page in the current problem of an existing document:
From the toolbar, click
Insert > Calculator
.
Handheld: Press
~ and select Insert > Calculator .
À
Calculator menu.
This menu is available anytime you are in the Calculator work area using the Normal view mode. The menu in this screen snapshot may not exactly match the menu on your screen.
Á
Calculator work area
• Enter a math expression on the entry line, and then press
Enter to
Calculator Application 207
evaluate the expression.
• Expressions are displayed in standard mathematical notation as you enter them.
• Entered expressions and results show in the Calculator history.
Â
Example of Calculator variables used in another application.
Entering and Evaluating Math Expressions
Entering Simple Math Expressions
Note:
To enter a negative number on the handheld, press v
. To enter a negative number on a computer keyboard, press the hyphen key (
-
).
Suppose you want to evaluate
1.
Select the entry line in the Calculator work area.
2.
Type 2^8 to begin the expression.
3.
Press ► to return the cursor to the baseline.
4.
Complete the expression:
Type *43/12.
Handheld: Type r
43
p
12
.
5.
Press
Enter to evaluate the expression.
The expression is displayed in standard mathematical notation, and the result is displayed on the right side of the Calculator.
Note:
If a result does not fit on the same line with the expression, it is displayed on the next line.
208 Calculator Application
Controlling the Form of a Result
You might expect to see a decimal result instead of 2752 ⁄ 3 in the preceding example. A close decimal equivalent is 917.33333..., but that’s only an approximation.
By default, Calculator retains the more precise form: 2752 ⁄ 3. Any result that is not a whole number is shown in a fractional or (CAS) symbolic form. This reduces rounding errors that could be introduced by intermediate results in chained calculations.
You can force a decimal approximation in a result:
• By pressing shortcut keys.
Windows®: Press Ctrl + Enter to evaluate the expression.
Mac®: Press “+ Enter to evaluate the expression.
Handheld: Press
/ · instead of
· to evaluate the expression.
Pressing
/ · forces the approximate result.
• By including a decimal in the expression (for example, 43. instead of 43).
• By wrapping the expression in the approx() function.
• By changing the document’s
Auto or Approximate mode setting to
Approximate.
From the
File menu, click
Settings
>
Document Settings
.
Handheld: Press
~
to display the File menu.
Note that this method forces all results in all of the document’s problems to approximate.
Calculator Application 209
Inserting Items from the Catalog
You can use the Catalog to insert system functions and commands, symbols, and expression templates into the Calculator entry line.
1.
Click the Utilities tab, and then click
Handheld: Press k
1
.
to open the Catalog.
Note:
Some functions have a wizard that prompts you for each argument.
Those functions are shown with an indicator. To receive the prompts, select Wizards On.
2.
If the item you are inserting is visible in the list, select it and press Enter to insert it.
3.
If the item is not visible:
210 Calculator Application
a) Click inside the list of functions, and then press a letter key to jump to the entries that begin with that letter.
b) Press ▲ or ▼ as necessary to highlight the item you are inserting.
Help, such as syntax information or a short description of the selected item, appears at the bottom of the Catalog.
c) Press
Enter to insert the item into the entry line.
Using an Expression Template
The Calculator has templates for entering matrices, piecewise functions, systems of equations, integrals, derivatives, products, and other math expressions.
For example, suppose you want to evaluate
1.
On the Utilities tab, click
Handheld: Press
t
.
to open the templates.
2.
Click to insert the algebraic sum template.
The template appears on the entry line with small blocks representing elements that you can enter. A cursor appears next to one of the elements to show that you can type a value for that element.
3.
Use the arrow keys to move the cursor to each element’s position, and type a value or expression for each element.
Calculator Application 211
4.
Press Enter to evaluate the expression.
Creating Matrices
1.
On the Utilities tab, click
Handheld: Press
t
.
to open the templates.
2.
Click .
The Create a Matrix dialog box opens.
3.
Type the
Number of rows
.
4.
Type the
Number of columns
, and then click
OK
.
Calculator opens a template with spaces for the rows and columns.
Note:
If you create a matrix with a large number of rows and columns, it may take a few moments to appear.
5.
Type the matrix values into the template, and then press Enter to define the matrix.
Inserting a Row or Column into a Matrix
▶
To insert a new row, hold down
Alt and press
Enter
.
▶
To insert a new column, hold down Shift and press Enter .
Handheld:
▶
To insert a new row, press
@
.
212 Calculator Application
▶
To insert a new column, press Shift + Enter .
Inserting Expressions Using a Wizard
You can use a wizard to simplify entering some expressions. The wizard contains labeled boxes to help you enter the arguments in the expression.
For example, suppose you want to fit a
y = mx + b
linear regression model to the following two lists:
{1,2,3,4,5}
{5,8,11,14,17}
1.
On the
Utilities tab, click
Handheld: Press k
1 .
to open the Catalog.
2.
Click an entry in the Catalog, and then press L to jump to the entries that begin with “L.”
3.
Press ▼ as necessary to highlight LinRegMx .
4.
Select the
Wizards On option, if it is not already selected:
Handheld: Press
Tab Tab to highlight
Wizards On
, press
Enter to change the setting, and then press
Tab Tab to highlight
LinRegMx again.
5.
Press Enter .
A wizard opens, giving you a labeled box to type each argument.
6.
Type {1,2,3,4,5} as
X List
.
7.
Press Tab to move to the Y List box.
8.
Type {5,8,11,14,17} as Y List .
Calculator Application 213
9.
If you want to store the regression equation in a specific variable, press
Tab , and then replace Save RegEqn To with the name of the variable.
10. Click
OK to close the wizard and insert the expression into the entry line.
Calculator inserts the expression and adds statements to copy the regression equation and show the variable
stat.results
, which will contain the results.
LinRegMx {1,2,3,4,5},{5,8,11,14,17},1: CopyVar stat.RegEqn,f2: stat.results
Calculator then shows the
stat.results
variables.
Note:
You can copy values from the
stat.results
variables and paste them into the entry line.
Creating a Piecewise Function
1.
Begin the function definition. For example, type the following expression:
Define f(x,y)=
2.
On the Utilities tab, click
Handheld: Press
t
.
to open the templates.
3.
Click .
The Create Piecewise Function dialog box opens.
214 Calculator Application
4.
Type the Number of Function Pieces , and click OK .
Calculator opens a template with spaces for the pieces.
5.
Type the expressions into the template, and press
Enter to define the function.
6.
Enter an expression to evaluate or graph the function. For example, type the expression f(1,2) on the Calculator entry line.
Creating a System of Equations
1.
On the Utilities tab, click
Handheld: Press
t
.
to open the templates.
2.
Click .
The Create a System of Equations dialog box opens.
3.
Type the
Number of Equations
, and click
OK
.
Calculator opens a template with spaces for the equations.
4.
Type the equations into the template, and press Enter to define the system of equations.
CAS: Working with Measurement Units
A list of pre-defined constants and measurement units is available in the
Catalog. You can also create your own units.
Note:
If you know a unit’s name, you can type the unit directly. For example, you can type _qt to specify quarts. To type the underscore symbol on the handheld, press
/ _
.
Calculator Application 215
CAS: Converting Between Measurement Units
You can convert a value between any two units within the same category (such as length).
Example: Using the Catalog, convert 12 meters to feet. The desired expression is 12•_m►_ft.
1.
Type 12 on the entry line.
2.
On the Utilities tab, click
Handheld: Press k
3
.
to show the unit conversions.
3.
Click the
Length category to expand the list of pre-defined length units.
Handheld: Scroll to the
Length category, and press
Enter
.
4.
Scroll to meter .
Handheld: Scroll to _m (noting the meter hint in the Help window).
5.
Press
Enter to paste
_m to the entry line.
216 Calculator Application
6.
Click the Conversion Operator (►) at the top of the Units list, and press
Enter to paste it to the entry line.
7.
Select _ft from the Length category, and press Enter .
8.
Press
Enter to evaluate the expression.
CAS: Creating a User-defined Unit
As with the pre-defined units, user-defined unit names must begin with an underscore symbol.
Example: Using the pre-defined units
_ft
and
_min
, define a unit named
_fpm
that lets you enter velocity values in feet per minute and convert velocity results to feet per minute.
Now you can use the new velocity unit
_fpm
.
Working with Variables
When you first store a value in a variable, you give the variable a name.
• If the variable does not already exist, Calculator creates it.
• If the variable already exists, Calculator updates it.
Calculator Application 217
Variables within a problem are shared by TI-Nspire™ applications. For example, you can create a variable in Calculator and then use or modify it in
Graphs & Geometry or Lists & Spreadsheet within the same problem.
For more information, see Using Variables.
Creating User-defined Functions and Programs
You can use the Define command to create your own functions and programs.
You can create them in the Calculator application or in the Program Editor and then use them in other TI-Nspire™ applications.
For more information, see Overview of the Program Editor and Libraries.
Defining a Single-line Function
Suppose you want to define a function named cube() that calculates the cube of a number or variable.
1.
On the Calculator entry line, type Define cube(x)=x^3 and press
Enter
.
The message “Done” confirms that the function has been defined.
2.
Type cube(2) and press Enter to test the function.
Defining a Multiple-line Function Using Templates
You can define a function consisting of multiple statements entered on separate lines. A multiple-line function may be easier to read than one with multiple statements separated by colons.
Note:
You can create multiple-line functions only by using the Define command. You cannot use the
:= or → operators to create multiple-line definitions. The
Func...EndFunc
template serves as a container for the statements.
As an example, define a function named g(
x
,
y
) that compares two arguments
x
and
y
. If argument
x
> argument
y
, the function should return the value of
x
.
Otherwise, it should return the value of
y
.
218 Calculator Application
1.
On the Calculator entry line, type Define g(x,y)=. Do not press Enter yet.
2.
Insert the Func...EndFunc
template.
From the
Functions & Programs menu, select
Func...EndFunc
.
Calculator inserts the template.
3.
Insert the If...Then...Else...EndIf
template.
From the
Functions & Programs menu, select
Control
, and then select
If...Then...Else...EndIf
.
Calculator inserts the template.
4.
Type the remaining parts of the function, using the arrow keys to move the cursor from line to line.
5.
Press Enter to complete the definition.
6.
Evaluate g(3,-7) to test the function.
Calculator Application 219
Defining a Multiple-line Function Manually
Within a multi-line template such as
Func...EndFunc
or
If...EndIf
, you can start a new line without completing the definition.
•
Handheld:
Press
@ instead of
·
.
•
Windows®:
Hold Alt and press Enter .
•
Macintosh®:
Hold
Option and press
Enter
.
As an example, define a function sumIntegers(
x
) that calculates the cumulative sum of integers from 1 through
x
.
1.
On the Calculator entry line, type Define sumIntegers(x)=. Do not press Enter yet.
2.
Insert the
Func...EndFunc
template.
From the
Functions & Programs menu, select
Func...EndFunc
.
Calculator inserts the template.
3.
Type the following lines, pressing
@ or
Alt
+
Enter at the end of each line.
4.
After typing Return tmpsum, press Enter to complete the definition.
5.
Evaluate sumIntegers(5) to test the function.
220 Calculator Application
Defining a Program
Defining a program is similar to defining a multiple-line function. The
Prgm...EndPrgm
template serves as a container for the program statements.
As an example, create a program named g(
x
,
y
) that compares two arguments.
Based on the comparison, the program should show the text “
x
>
y
” or “
x
≤y
”
(showing the values of
x
and
y
in the text).
1.
On the Calculator entry line, type Define prog1(x,y)=. Do not press
Enter yet.
2.
Insert the
Prgm...EndPrgm
template.
From the
Functions & Programs menu, select
Prgm...EndPrgm
.
3.
Insert the If...Then...Else...EndIf
template.
From the Functions & Programs menu, select Control , and then select
If...Then...Else...EndIf
.
4.
Type the remaining parts of the function, using the arrow keys to move the cursor from line to line. Use the Symbol Palette to select the "≤“ symbol.
Calculator Application 221
5.
Press
Enter to complete the definition.
6.
Execute prog1(3,-7)to test the program.
Recalling a Function or Program Definition
You might want to reuse or modify a function or program that you have defined.
1.
Show the list of defined functions.
From the
Actions menu, select
Recall Definition
.
2.
Select the name from the list.
The definition (for example, Define f(x)=1/x+3 is pasted into the entry line for editing.
Editing Calculator Expressions
Although you cannot edit an expression in the Calculator history, you can copy all or part of an expression from the history and paste it to the entry line. You can then edit the entry line.
Positioning the Cursor in an Expression
▶
Press
Tab
, ◄, ►, ▲, or ▼ to move the cursor through the expression. The cursor moves to the closest valid position in the direction that you press.
Note:
An expression template may force the cursor to move through its parameters, even though some parameters may not be exactly in the path of
222 Calculator Application
the cursor movement. For example, moving upward from the main argument of an integral always moves the cursor to the top limit.
Inserting into an Expression in the Entry Line
1.
Position the cursor at the point where you want to insert additional elements.
2.
Type the elements that you want to insert.
Note:
When you insert an open parenthesis, Calculator adds a temporary close parenthesis, displayed in gray. You can override the temporary parenthesis by typing the same parenthesis manually or by entering something past the temporary parenthesis (thereby implicitly validating its position in the expression). After you override the temporary gray parenthesis, it is replaced with a black parenthesis.
Selecting Part of an Expression
1.
Position the cursor at the starting point in the expression.
Handheld: Press ◄, ►, ▲, or ▼ to move the cursor.
2.
Press and hold Shift , and then press ◄, ►, ▲, or ▼ to select.
Deleting all or part of an expression on the entry line
1.
Select the part of the expression to delete.
2.
Press
Del
.
Financial Calculations
Several TI-Nspire™ functions provide financial calculations, such as time value of money, amortization calculations, and return on investment calculations.
The Calculator application also includes a Finance Solver. It lets you dynamically solve several types of problems, such as loans and investments.
Using the Finance Solver
1.
Open the Finance Solver.
From the
Finance menu, click
Finance Solver
.
The Finance Solver displays its default values (or previous values, if you have already used the solver in the current problem).
Calculator Application 223
2.
Enter each known value, using
Tab to cycle through the items.
• The help information at the bottom of the Finance Solver describes each item.
• You might need to temporarily skip the value that you want to calculate.
• Make sure to set PpY , CpY , and PmtAt to the correct settings (12, 12, and END in this example).
3.
Press Tab as necessary to select the item that you want to calculate, and then press Enter .
The Finance Solver calculates the value and stores all the values in “tvm.” variables, such as
tvm.n
and
tvm.pmt
. These variables are accessible to all TI-Nspire™ applications within the same problem.
224 Calculator Application
Finance Functions Included
In addition to the Finance Solver, TI-Nspire™ built-in finance functions include:
• TVM functions for calculating future value, present value, number of payments, interest rate, and payment amount.
• Amortization information such as amortization tables, balance, sum of interest payments, and sum of principal payments.
• Net present value, internal rate of return, and modified rate of return.
• Conversions between nominal and effective interest rates, and calculation of days between dates.
Notes:
• Finance functions do not automatically store their argument values or results to the TVM variables.
• For a complete list of TI-Nspire™ functions, see the Reference Guide.
Working with the Calculator History
As you enter and evaluate expressions in the Calculator application, each entry/result pair is saved in the Calculator history. The history gives you a way to review your calculations, repeat a set of calculations, and copy expressions for reuse in other pages or documents.
Viewing the Calculator History
Note:
You may notice a processing slowdown when the history contains a large number of entries.
▶
Press ▲ or ▼ to scroll through the history.
Calculator Application 225
Copying a Calculator History Item to the Entry Line
You can quickly copy an expression, subexpression, or result from the history into the entry line.
1.
Press ▲ or ▼ to move through the history and select the item that you want to copy.
—or—
Select part of the expression or result by using
Shift in combination with the arrow keys.
Note:
The float setting for the current document may limit the number of decimal places displayed in a result. To capture the result in its full precision, select it either by scrolling with the up and down arrow keys or by triple-clicking it.
2.
Press Enter to copy the selection and insert it into the entry line.
Copying a History Item to Another Application
1.
Press ▲ or ▼ to move through the history and select the item that you want to copy.
2.
Optionally, select part of the expression or result by pressing
Shift in combination with the arrow keys.
3.
Use the standard key shortcut for copying a selection.
Windows®: Press Ctrl + C .
Mac®: Press “+
C
.
Handheld: Press
/ C
.
4.
Place the cursor at the location where you want the copy.
5.
Paste the copy.
Windows®: Press
Ctrl
+
V
.
226 Calculator Application
Mac®: Press “+ V .
Handheld: Press
/ V
.
Note:
If you copy an expression that uses variables into a different problem, the values of those variables are not copied. You must define the variables in the problem where you paste the expression.
Deleting an Expression from the History
When you delete an expression, all variables and functions defined in the expression retain their current values.
1.
Drag or use the arrow keys to select the expression.
Handheld: Use the arrow keys.
2.
Press
Del
.
The expression and its result are removed.
Clearing the Calculator History
When you clear the history, all variables and functions defined in the history retain their current values. If you clear the history by mistake, use the undo feature.
▶
From the
Actions menu, select
Clear History
.
All expressions and results are removed from the history.
Calculator Application 227
228
Using Variables
A variable is a defined value that can be used multiple times in a problem. You can define a value or function as a variable within each application. Within a problem, variables are shared by TI-Nspire™ applications. For example, you can create a variable in Calculator, and then use or modify it in Graphs &
Geometry or Lists & Spreadsheet within the same problem.
Each variable has a name and a definition and the definition can be changed.
When you change the definition, all occurrences of the variable in the problem are updated to use the new definition. In the TI-Nspire™ software, a variable has four attributes:
• Name - User-defined name assigned when the variable is created.
• Location - Variables are stored in memory.
• Value - Number, text, mathematical expression, or function.
• Type - Type of data that can be stored as a variable.
Note
: Variables created with the
Local command within a user-defined function or program are not accessible outside that function or program.
Linking Values on Pages
Values and functions created or defined in one application can interact with other applications (within the same problem) to share data.
When using linked items, keep in mind:
• Values can be linked between applications on one page or between different pages of the same problem.
• All applications are linked to the same data.
• If the linked value is changed in the original application, the change is reflected in all linked usages.
Defining a variable is the first step in linking values.
Creating Variables
Any portion or attribute of an object or function created within an application can be stored as a variable. Examples of attributes that can become variables are the area of a rectangle, the radius of a circle, the value contained in a
Using Variables 229
spreadsheet cell or the contents of a row or column, or a function expression.
When you create a variable, it is stored in memory.
Types of Variables
You can store the following data types as variables:
Data type
Expression
Examples
2.54 1.25E6 2p xmin/10 2+3i (xN2)
2
List {2, 4, 6, 8} {1, 1, 2} {"red", "blue", "green"}
Matrix
This can be entered as: [1,2,3;3,6,9]
Character string “Hello” “xmin/10” “The answer is:”
Function, program myfunc( arg ) ellipse( x, y, r1, r2 )
Measurement area, perimeter, length, slope, angle
When you click or press h on a handheld to open the list of stored variables, a symbol indicates the type.
Creating a Variable from a Calculator Value
This example shows how to create a variable using a handheld. Complete the following steps to create a variable named
num
and store the result of the expression 5+8
3 in that variable.
1.
On the Calculator entry line, type the expression 5+8^3.
230 Using Variables
2.
Press
¢ to expand the cursor to the baseline.
3.
Press
/ h and then type the variable name num.
This means: Calculate 5+8
3 and store the result as a variable named
num
.
4.
Press
·
.
Calculator creates the variable
num
and stores the result there.
Creating a Variable in the Computer Software
When creating a variable in the computer software, use the following conventions. As alternatives to using
&
(store), you can use “:=” or the Define command. All of the following statements are equivalent.
5+8
3
&
num num
:= 5+8
3
Define
num
=5+8
3
Checking a Variable’s Value
You can check the value of an existing variable by entering its name on the
Calculator entry line. When you type the name of a stored variable, it appears in bold type.
▶
On the Calculator entry line, type the variable name num and press
·
.
The value most recently stored in
num
is displayed as the result.
Automatically Creating Variables in Graphs & Geometry
In the Graphs and Geometry applications, functions defined on the entry line are automatically stored as variables.
Using Variables 231
In this example, f1(x)=x
3 is a variable definition, which allows it to be displayed in other applications including a table in the Lists & Spreadsheet application.
Creating a Variable from a Graphs & Geometry Value
1.
Click the value to store as a variable.
2.
Click .
Handheld: Press h
.
The Variables options are displayed with
Store Var highlighted.
3.
Press
·
. VAR := appears before the selected value. This is the default name.
232 Using Variables
4.
Replace the default name VAR with the variable name you want to give the value.
5.
When the variable name is typed, press
·
.
The value is saved to that variable name, and the stored value or its name appears in bold text to indicate it is a stored value.
Note:
You can also share a Graphs & Geometry axis end value with other applications. If necessary, click Actions , Show/Hide Axes End Values to display the end values on the horizontal and vertical axes. Click the number for an end value to highlight it in the entry field. Name the variable and store it for use with other applications by using any method described in Step 2.
Automatically Creating Variables in Lists & Spreadsheet
Naming a list at the top of a Lists & Spreadsheet column automatically stores that value as a list variable. This variable can be used in other applications including Data & Statistics.
Using Variables 233
Creating a Variable from a Lists & Spreadsheet Cell Value
You can share a cell value with other applications. When defining or referring to a shared cell in Lists & Spreadsheet, precede the name with an apostrophe
(‘).
1.
Click the cell that you want to share.
2.
Click to open the Variables menu.
Handheld: Press h
.
3.
Click Store Var .
A formula is inserted into the cell with
var
as a placeholder for a variable name.
4.
Replace the letters “
var
” with a name for the variable, and press
·
.
The value is now available as a variable to other applications within the same problem.
234 Using Variables
Note:
If a variable with the name you specified already exists in the current problem space, Lists & Spreadsheet displays an error message.
Using (Linking) Variables
Sharing, or linking, the variables you create is a powerful tool for math exploration. The display of linked variables is automatically updated when the variable’s value changes.
Linking to Shared Variables
To use a stored variable:
1.
Display the page and select the location or object to which you want to link a variable.
2.
Select the Variables tool h
.
The Variables options are displayed. The software knows which types of variables will work in the location or with the object selected and will only display those variables.
3.
Use 9 and : to scroll the list.
—or—
Type part of the variable name.
As you type, the system displays a list of variables that begin with the letters you typed. Typing part of the name enables you to locate a variable more quickly if the list is long.
4.
When you locate and highlight the name of the variable you want to use, click the name.
—or—
Press
·
.
The selected variable value is linked.
Linking a Lists & Spreadsheet Cell to a Variable
When you link a cell to a variable, Lists & Spreadsheet keeps the cell value updated to reflect the current value of the variable. The variable can be any variable in the current problem and can be defined in Graphs & Geometry,
Calculator, or any instance of Lists & Spreadsheet.
Using Variables 235
Note:
Do not link to a system variable. Doing so could prevent the variable from being updated by the system. System variables include
ans
,
StatMatrix
, and statistics results (such as
RegEqn
,
dfError
, and
Resid
).
1.
Click the cell that you want to link to the variable.
2.
Open the VarLink menu:
Click , and then click Cell .
Handheld: Press h
.
The VarLink menu is displayed.
3.
Under
Link To
, scroll to the name of the variable and click it.
The cell shows the value of the variable.
Using a Variable in a Calculation
After storing a value in a variable, you can use the variable name in an expression as a substitute for the stored value.
1.
Enter the expression:
Type 4*25*num^2 on the entry line, and press
Enter
.
Handheld: Type 4 r
25
r
num^2
on the entry line, and press
·
.
Calculator substitutes 517, the value currently assigned to
num
, and evaluates the expression.
2.
Enter the expression:
Type 4*25*nonum^2, and press Enter .
Handheld: Type 4 r
25
r
nonum^2
on the entry line, and press
·
.
236 Using Variables
CAS: Because the variable
nonum
has not been defined, it is treated algebraically in the result.
Because the variable
nonum
has not been defined, the expression returns an error message.
Entering Multiple Statements on the Entry Line
To enter several statements on a single line, separate them with a colon (“:”).
Only the result of the last expression is shown.
Setting Variable Values with a Slider
In the Graphs and Geometry applications, a slider control lets you adjust or animate the assignment of values for a numeric variable. Use a slider to represent multiple variable values in a continuous range.
1.
From the Document Tools menu, click
Actions > Insert Slider
.
Handheld: Press b 1
A to insert a slider.
The slider is displayed on the work area. If you need to adjust or animate value selection for more than one variable, you can repeat this step and insert multiple sliders.
Note:
You can access the context menu to Pin a slider to its location and prevent unintentional movement.
2.
Click the slider to activate it and press e to move between the slider scale and the variable’s value.
3.
Use
¡ and
¢ to move the slider on the scale.
4.
Press Enter to select the value.
Using Variables 237
Access the context menu and choose
Settings to view or change the default slider settings.
Naming Variables
Variable and function names that you create must meet the following naming rules.
Note:
In the unlikely event that you create a variable with the same name as one used for statistical analysis or by the Finance Solver, an error condition could occur. If you begin entering a variable name that is already in use in the current problem, the software shows the entry in bold to let you know.
• Variable names must be in one of the forms
xxx
or
xxx.yyy
. The
xxx
part can have 1 to 16 characters. The
yyy
part, if used, can have 1 to 15 characters. If you use the
xxx.yyy
form, both
xxx
and
yyy
are required; you cannot start or end a variable name with a period “.”.
• Characters can consist of letters, digits, and the underscore character (_).
Letters can be U.S. or Greek letters (but not
Π or p), accented letters, and international letters.
• Do not use c or n from the symbol palette to construct a variable name such as c1 or n12 . These may appear to be letters, but they are treated internally as special symbols.
• You can use uppercase or lowercase letters. The names
AB22
,
Ab22
,
aB22
, and
ab22
all refer to the same variable.
• You cannot use a digit as the first character of
xxx
or
yyy
.
• You can use digits 0 through 9, U.S. letters, a - z, Latin and Greek letters
(but not p) as subscripts (for example,
a
2
, q a
, or h
2 o
). To enter a subscript while typing a variable name, select in the Math Templates or on the formatting toolbar.
• Do not use spaces.
• If you want a variable to be treated as a complex number, use an underscore as the last character of the name.
• CAS: If you want a variable to be treated as a type of unit (such as
_m
or
_ ft
), use an underscore as the first character of the name. You cannot use subsequent underscores in the name.
• You cannot use an underscore as the first character of the name.
238 Using Variables
• You cannot use a preassigned variable, function, or command name, such as
Ans
, min
, or tan
.
Note:
For more information about TI-Nspire™ functions, see the Reference
Guide.
• Library documents and library objects are subject to additional naming restrictions. For more information, see
Libraries.
Here are some examples:
Variable names
Myvar, my.var
Valid?
Yes
No. Contains a space.
My var, list 1 a, b, b12, b
Log,
Ans
12
, c, d
Yes. Note that variables b12 and b
12 are distinct.
No. Preassigned to a system function or variable.
Log1, list1.a, list1.b
Yes
3rdTotal, list1.1
No.
xxx
or
yyy
starts with a digit.
Locking and Unlocking Variables
Locking lets you protect variables from modification or deletion. Locking prevents unintended changes to a variable.
Time and altitude lists can be locked to ensure problem fidelity.
Using Variables 239
Reference function f1 can be locked to prevent unintended change.
Variables you Cannot Lock
• System variable
Ans
•
stat.
and
tvm.
variable groups
Important Information About Locked Variables
• To lock variables, use the Lock command.
• To modify or delete a locked variable, you must first unlock the item.
• Locked variables display a lock icon on the variable menu list.
• The Lock command clears the Redo/Undo history when applied to unlocked variables.
Examples of Locking
Lock a,b,c
Lock mystats
.
Locks variables
a
,
b
, and
c
from the Calculator application.
Locks all members of variable group
mystats
.
UnLock func2
Unlocks variable func2.
lm:=getLockInfo
(var2)
Retrieves the current lock status of
var2
and assigns that value to
lm
in the Calculator application.
For more information, see the Reference Guide.
Updating a Variable
If you want to update a variable with the result of a calculation, you must store the result explicitly.
240 Using Variables
Entry
a := 2 a
3
a a := a
3
a a
2
&
a a
2
8
Result Comment
2
8 Result not stored in variable
a
.
Variable result.
a
updated with
8
64
Variable result.
a
updated with
64
Reusing the Last Answer
Each instance of Calculator automatically stores the last calculated result as a variable named Ans. You can use Ans to create a chain of calculations.
Note:
Do not link to Ans or any system variable. Doing so could prevent the variable from being updated by the system. System variables include statistics results (such as
Stat.RegEqn
,
Stat.dfError
, and
Stat.Resid
) and Finance Solver variables (such as
tvm.n
,
tvm.pmt
, and
tvm.fv
).
As an example of using Ans, calculate the area of a garden plot that is 1.7
meters by 4.2 meters. Then use the area to calculate the yield per square meter if the plot produces a total of 147 tomatoes.
1.
Calculate the area:
On the Calculator entry line, type 1.7*4.2, and press Enter .
Handheld: On the Calculator entry line, type 1.7 r
4.2
, and press
·
.
2.
Reuse the last answer to calculate the yield per square meter:
Type 147/ans and press
Enter to find the yield.
Handheld: Type 147 p
ans
, and press
· to find the yield.
Using Variables 241
3.
As a second example, calculate and then add 2*log(45).
Type 3.76/(-7.9+sqrt(5)), and press
Enter
.
Handheld: Type 3.76 p
(
v
7.9+sqrt(5))
, and press
·
.
4.
Reuse the last answer:
Type ans+2*log(45), and press Enter .
Handheld: Type ans+2 r
log(45)
, and press
·
.
Temporarily Substituting a Value for a Variable
Use the “|” (such that) operator to assign a value to a variable for just a single execution of the expression.
Removing a Linked Variable
1.
Select the linked variable.
2.
Press h
.
The Variables options are displayed.
3.
Select
Unlink
.
The link is removed from the value, and the value is displayed without any bold formatting.
242 Using Variables
Graphs Application
The Graphs application lets you:
• Graph and explore functions and other relations, such as inequalities, parametrics, polars, sequences, differential equation solutions, and conics.
• Animate points on objects or graphs and explore their behavior.
• Link to data created by other applications.
Adding a Graphs Page
▶
To start a new document with a blank Graphs page:
From the main
File menu, click
New Document
, and then click
Add Graphs
.
Handheld: Press c
, and select Graphs .
▶
To add a Graphs page in the current problem of an existing document:
From the toolbar, click
Insert > Graphs
.
Handheld: Press
~ and select Insert > Graphs .
Graphs & Geometry menu.
Contains tools for defining, viewing, and investigating relations.
Entry line
. Lets you define the relations that you want to graph. The default graph type is Function, so the form
f1
(
x
)= is displayed initially. You can define multiple relations for each of several graph types.
Graphs Work Area
• Shows graphs of relations that you define on the entry line.
• Shows points, lines, and shapes that you create with geometry tools.
Graphs Application 243
• Drag the area to pan (affects only those objects created in the Graphs application).
What You Must Know
Changing the Graphs and Geometry Settings
1.
From the
Settings menu in the Documents Toolbox, select
Settings
.
2.
Select the settings that you want to use.
Display Digits.
Sets the display format for numbers as Floating or Fixed decimal.
-
Graphing Angle.
Sets the angle unit for all Graphs and 3D Graphing applications in the current docuument. The default setting is Radian.
Set this to Auto if you want graphing angles to follow the Angle setting in the main File > Settings menu. An angle mode indicator shows the resulting mode in Graphs and 3D Graphing applications.
-
Geometry Angle.
Sets the angle unit for all Geometry applications in the current document. The default setting is Degree. Set this to Auto if you want geometry angles to follow the Angle setting in the main
File > Settings menu. An angle mode indicator shows the resulting mode in Geometry applications.
-
Automatically hide plot labels.
In the Graphs application, hides the label that normally appears next to a graphed relation.
-
Show axis end values.
Applies only in the Graphs application.
Show tool tips for function manipulation.
Applies only in the Graphs application.
-
Automatically find points of interest.
In the Graphs application, shows zeros, minima, and maxima while tracing function graphs.
-
Force Geometric Triangle Angles to Integers.
Restricts the angles of a triangle to integer values as you create or edit the triangle. This setting applies only in the Geometry View with the Geometry Angle unit set to
Degree or Gradian. It does not apply to analytic triangles in Graphing
View or to analytic triangles in the Analytic Window of the Geometry
View. This setting does not affect existing angles, and it does not apply when constructing a triangle based on previously inserted points. By default, this setting is deselected.
244 Graphs Application
-
Automatically Label Points.
Applies labels (
A
,
B
, ...,
Z
,
A
1
,
B
1
, and so on) to points, lines, and vertices of geometric shapes as you draw them. The labeling sequence starts at
A
for each page in a document.
By default, this setting is deselected.
Note:
If you create a new object that uses existing unlabeled points, those point are not automatically labeled in the completed object.
Click
Restore to restore all settings to their factory defaults.
Click Make Default to apply the current settings to the open document and save them as the default for new Graphs and Geometry documents.
Using Context Menus
Context menus provide quick access to commonly used commands and tools that apply to a specific object. For example, you can use a context menu to change an object's line color or to group a set of selected objects.
▶
Display the context menu for an object in one of the following ways.
Windows®: Right-click the object.
Mac®: Hold “ and click the object.
Handheld: Move the pointer to the object, and then press
/ b
.
Finding Hidden Objects in the Graphs or Geometry Application
You can hide and show individual graphs, geometric objects, text, labels, measurements, and axis end-values.
To temporarily view hidden graphs or objects or to restore them as shown objects:
1.
From the Actions menu, select Hide/Show .
The Hide/Show tool appears in the work area, and all hidden objects become visible in dimmed colors.
2.
Click a graph or object to toggle its Hide/Show state.
3.
To apply the changes and close the Hide/Show tool, press
ESC
.
Inserting a Background Image
You can insert an image as a background for a Graphs or Geometry page. The file format of the image can be .bmp, .jpg, or .png.
Graphs Application 245
1.
From the Insert menu, click Image .
2.
Navigate to the image you want to insert, select it, and then click
Open
.
For information on moving, resizing, and deleting a background image, see
Working with Images in the Software
.
Adding Text to the Graphs or Geometry Work Area
1.
From the Actions menu, select Text .
The Text tool appears in the work area.
2.
Click the location for the text.
3.
Type the text in the box that appears, and then press
Enter
.
4.
To close the Text tool, press
ESC
.
5.
To edit the text, double-click it.
Deleting a Relation and its Graph
1.
Select the relation by clicking its graph.
2.
Press
Backspace or
DEL
.
The graph is removed from both the work area and the graph history.
Graphing Functions
1.
From the Graph Entry/Edit menu, select Function .
2.
Type an expression for the function.
246 Graphs Application
3.
Press Enter to graph the function.
Manipulating Functions by Dragging
Some types of functions can be translated, stretched, and/or rotated by dragging parts of the graph. As you drag, the expression for the graph updates to reflect the change.
Drag graph from the ends to rotate.
Drag graph near the middle to translate.
Manipulating a Linear Function
▶
To translate, grab near the middle of the graph, and then drag.
Graphs Application 247
▶
To rotate, grab near the ends of the graph, and then drag.
Manipulating a Quadratic Function
▶
To translate, grab near the vertex of the graph, and then drag.
▶
To stretch, grab away from the vertex of the graph, and then drag.
248 Graphs Application
Manipulating a Sine or Cosine Function
▶
To translate, grab near the axis of vertical symmetry of the graph, and then drag.
▶
To stretch, grab away from the axis of vertical symmetry of the graph, and then drag.
Specifying a Function with Domain Restrictions
You can use the entry line or the Calculator application to specify a function with domain restrictions. For multiple domain restrictions on a function, use the piecewise() function.
Graphs Application 249
In the following example, a function with a domain that is less than 2 and greater than -2 is specified on the entry line:
1.
From the
Graph Entry/Edit menu, select
Function
.
2.
Type the following on the entry line, using spaces to separate the " and
" operator:
piecewise(3,x>-2 and x<2)
3.
Tap Enter to graph the function.
Finding Points of Interest on a Function Graph
The Graphs application helps you find zeros, minimums, maximums, intersections, derivatives (dy/dx), or integrals. For Graphs defined as conic sections, you can also find foci, directrix, and other points.
(CAS)
: You can also find the point of inflection.
Identifying Points of Interest by Dragging a Point
▶
To quickly identify maximums, minimums, and zeros, create a point on the graph and then drag the point.
Temporary signposts appear as you drag through points of interest.
250 Graphs Application
Identifying Points of Interest with Analysis Tools
This example illustrates using the Minimum tool. Other analysis tools operate similarly.
1.
From the Analyze Graph menu, select Minimum .
The Minimum icon is displayed at the top left on the work area, and a graph?
prompt appears in the work area.
2.
Click the graph on which you want to find the minimum.
A dotted line appears, representing the lower bound of the range to search.
Graphs Application 251
3.
Drag the line or click a location to set the lower bound and display a proposed upper bound.
4.
Drag the line representing the upper bound, or click a location to set it.
The minimum is displayed, along with a text object showing its coordinates.
252 Graphs Application
Graphing a Family of Functions
In a family of functions, each member has its own value for one or more of the parameters. By entering the parameters as lists, you can use a single expression to graph a family of up to 16 functions.
For example, the expression f1(x) =
{
-
1,0,1,2}
• x +
{2,4,6,8}
denotes the following four functions:
f1_1
(
x
) = -
1
•
x
+
2
f1_2
(
x
) =
0
•
x
+
4
f1_3
(
x
) =
1
•
x
+
6
f1_4
(
x
) =
2
•
x
+
8
To Graph a Family of Functions
1.
From the Graph Entry/Edit menu, select Function .
2.
Type the expression, using lists to represent the members of the family.
3.
Press
Enter to graph the functions.
Each member is labeled separately (
f1_1
,
f1_2
, and so on) to indicate its sequence in the expression.
Graphs Application 253
Note:
You cannot edit a single function graph to change it to a family of functions.
Graphing Equations
1.
From the Graph Entry/Edit menu, select Equation .
2.
Click the type of equation ( Line , Parabola , Circle , Ellipse , Hyperbola , or
Conic ).
3.
Click the specific template for the equation. For example, tap y=a • x
2
+b • x+c to define a parabola.
The entry line includes a symbol to indicate the type of equation.
4.
Type the coefficients into the equation template.
5.
Press
Enter
.
254 Graphs Application
Graphing Conic Sections
The Graphing view lets you graph and explore linear and conic equations analytically in a two-dimensional coordinate system. You can create and analyze lines, circles, ellipses, parabolas, hyperbolas, and general conic equations.
The entry line makes it easy to enter the equation by displaying a template for the type of equation you choose.
Example: Creating a conic ellipse
1.
From the Graph Entry/Edit menu, select Equation > Ellipse , and tap the equation type.
2.
Type initial values for the coefficients in the provided spaces. Use the arrow keys to move among the coefficients.
3.
Press
Enter to graph the equation.
Graphs Application 255
Exploring the sample ellipse
1.
Drag the ellipse from its center to explore the effect of translation on the equation.
256 Graphs Application
2.
Use the analysis tools, such as
Analyze Graph
>
Analyze Conics
>
Foci to further explore the graph.
Note:
The type of conic determines which analysis tools you can use. In the case of the ellipse, you can obtain its center, vertices, foci, axes of symmetry, directrices, eccentricity, and latera recta.
Graphs Application 257
3.
To explore translation and dilation interactively, define a conic ellipse that uses variables for the
h
,
k
,
a
, and
b
coefficients. Insert sliders to vary the parameters.
Graphing Parametric Equations
1.
From the Graph Entry/Edit menu, select Parametric .
258 Graphs Application
Use the up and down arrow keys to move among the fields in the
Parametric entry line.
2.
Type expressions for
xn
(
t
) and
yn
(
t
).
3.
(Optional) Edit the default values for
tmin
,
tmax
, and
tstep
.
4.
Press
Enter
.
Graphing Polar Equations
1.
From the Graph Entry/Edit menu, select Polar .
2.
Type an expression for
rn
(θ).
3.
(Optional) Edit the default values for θ
min
, θ
max
, and θ
step
.
Graphs Application 259
4.
Press Enter .
Using the Text Tool to Graph Equations
You can graph an "x=" or "y=" equation by typing it into a text box and dragging the text to an axis. You can edit the equation text (for example, change it to an inequality), but you cannot change it between x= and y=.
Graphing a Trigonometry Relation from Text
1.
From the Actions menu, select Text .
2.
Click the work area to place the text box.
3.
Type the equation for the trigonometry relation, such as x=sin(y)*2.
260 Graphs Application
4.
Press Enter to complete the text object.
5.
Drag the text object to either axis to graph the equation.
Graphing a Vertical or Horizontal Line from Text
1.
From the Actions menu, select Text .
2.
Click the work area to place the text box.
3.
Type the equation for a vertical line, such as x=4, or a horizontal line, such as y=-2. Click Enter to complete it.
4.
Drag the text object to either axis to graph the equation.
Graphs Application 261
After plotting a line, you can drag to translate or rotate it.
Graphing an Inequality from Text
You can graph inequalities that use the >, <, ≤, or ≥ operators. Areas that satisfy the inequality are shown with shading. If the shaded areas of two or more inequalities overlap, the area of overlap is shaded darker.
1.
From the Actions menu, select Text .
2.
Click the work area to place the text box.
3.
Type the inequality expression, such as x<2*sin(y). Click
Enter to complete it.
4.
Drag the text object to either axis to graph the inequality.
262 Graphs Application
Graphing Scatter Plots
1.
(Optional) Create two predefined list variables containing the x and y values to plot. You can use the Lists & Spreadsheet, Calculator, or Notes application to create the lists.
2.
From the
Graph Entry/Edit menu, select
Scatter Plot
.
Use the up and down arrow keys to move between the x and y fields.
3.
Use one of the following methods to specify lists to plot as x and y.
Click to select names of the predefined list variables.
Type the names of the variables, such as v1.
Type lists as comma-separated elements enclosed within brackets, for example: {1,2,3}.
4.
Press Enter to plot the data, and then
to view the plotted data.
Graphs Application 263
Plotting Sequences
The Graphs application lets you plot two types of sequences. Each type has a separate template for defining the sequence.
Defining a Sequence
1.
From the Graph Entry/Edit menu, select Sequence > Sequence .
2.
Type the expression to define the sequence.
3.
Type an initial term. If the sequence expression references more than one prior term, such as
u1(n-1)
and
u1(n-2)
, separate the terms with commas.
4.
Press Enter .
264 Graphs Application
Defining a Custom Sequence
A custom sequence plot shows the relationship between two sequences by plotting one on the x axis and the other on the y axis.
This example simulates the Predator-Prey model from biology.
1.
Use the relations shown here to
define two sequences : one for a rabbit
population, and another for a fox population.
Replace the default sequence names
with rabbit and fox .
.05 = the growth rate of rabbits if there are no foxes
.001 = the rate at which foxes can kill rabbits
.0002 = the growth rate of foxes if there are rabbits
.03 = the death rate of foxes if there are no rabbits
Note:
If you want to see the plots of the two sequences,
to the
Zoom - Fit setting.
2.
From the
Graph Entry/Edit menu, select
Sequence > Custom
.
3.
Specify the rabbit and fox sequences to plot on the x and y axes, respectively.
Graphs Application 265
4.
Press
Enter to create the custom plot.
5.
to the
Zoom - Fit setting.
6.
Explore the custom plot by dragging the point that represents the initial term.
Graphing Differential Equations
You can study linear and non-linear differential equations and systems of ordinary differential equations (ODEs), including logistic models and Lotka-
Volterra equations (predator-prey models). You can also plot slope and direction fields with interactive implementations of Euler and Runge-Kutta methods.
266 Graphs Application
ODE entry line:
• y1 ODE identifier
• Expression k·y1 defines the relation
• Fields ( 1 , 1 ) for specifying initial condition
• Buttons for adding initial conditions and setting plot parameters
Slider to vary coefficient k of the ODE
Slope field
A solution curve passing through the initial condition
To Graph a Differential Equation:
1.
From the
Graph Entry/Edit menu, select
Diff Eq
.
The ODE is automatically assigned an identifier, such as “y1.”
2.
Move to the relation field and enter the expression that defines the relation.
For example, you might enter -y1+0.1*y1*y2.
Graphs Application 267
3.
Enter the initial condition for the independent value x
0 and for y1
0
.
Note:
The x
0 value(s) are common to all the ODEs in a problem but can be entered or modified only in the first ODE.
4.
(Optional) To study multiple initial conditions for the current ODE, click Add
Initial Conditions and enter the conditions.
5.
Tap Edit Parameters to set the plot parameters. Select a numerical
Solution Method, and then set any additional parameters. You can change these parameters anytime.
268 Graphs Application
6.
Click
OK
.
7.
To enter additional ODEs, press the down arrow to display the next ODE edit field.
As you move among defined ODEs, the graph is updated to reflect any changes. One solution to the ODE is graphed for each IC specified for each shown ODE (selected by check box).
Summary of Differential Equation Settings
Solution
Method
Iterations
Between
Plot Step
Error
Tolerance
Selects Euler or Runge-Kutta as the numerical solution method.
Computational accuracy for Euler solution method only. Must be an integer value >0. To restore the default, select the downarrow and select
Default
.
Computational accuracy for Runge-Kutta solution method only.
Must be a floating-point value |1×10
-14
. To restore the default,
Graphs Application 269
Field
Axes
Plot Start
Plot End
Plot Step
Field
Resolution
Direction
Field at x= select the down-arrow and select Default .
None - No field is plotted. Available for any number of ODEs, but required if three or more 1st-order ODEs are active. Graphs a combination of the solution and/or values of one or more
ODEs (according to user-configured
Axes settings).
Slope - Plots a field representing the family of solutions to a single 1st-order ODE. Exactly one ODE must be active. Sets
Axes to Default (x and y) . Sets Horizontal axis to x (the independent variable). Sets Vertical axis to y (the solution to the ODE).
Direction - Graphs a field in the phase plane representing the relationship between a solution and/or values of a system of two 1st-order ODEs (as specified by the CustomAxes setting).
Exactly two ODEs must be active.
Default (x and y)
- Plots x on the x axis and y (the solutions to the active differential equations) on the y axis.
Custom - Lets you select the values to be plotted on the x and y axes respectively. Valid entries include:
• x
(the independent variable)
• y1 , y2 , and any identifiers defined in the ODE editor
• y1’
, y2’
, and any derivatives defined in the ODE editor
Sets the independent variable value at which the solution plot starts.
Sets the independent variable value at which the solution plot stops.
Sets the increment of the independent variable at which values are plotted.
Sets the number of columns of field rendering elements (line segments) used to draw a slope or direction field. You can change this parameter only if Field = Direction or Slope .
Sets the independent variable value at which a direction field is drawn when plotting non-autonomous equations (those that refer to x). Ignored when plotting autonomous equations. You
270 Graphs Application
can change this parameter only if Field = Direction .
Viewing Tables from the Graphs Application
You can show a table of values for any relation defined in the current problem.
Note:
For details about using tables and instructions for accessing tables from the Lists & Spreadsheet application, see
.
Showing a Table
▶
From the Table menu, select Split-screen Table .
The table is displayed with columns of values for the currently defined relations.
To change which relation is displayed in a column, click the arrow in the top cell of the column, and then select the relation name.
Hiding the Table
▶
From the Table menu, select Remove Table .
Editing Relations
1.
Double-click the graph to show its expression in the entry line.
—or—
Display the graph’s context menu, and then click Edit Relation .
Graphs Application 271
2.
Modify the expression as needed.
3.
Press
· to graph the revised function.
Renaming a Relation
Each relation type has a default naming convention. For example, the default name for functions is
fn
(
x
). (The number represented by
n
increases as you create more functions.) You can replace the default name with a name of your choice.
Note:
If you want to use a custom name as a convention, you must enter it manually for each function.
1.
In the entry line, delete the existing name. For example, delete the "
f1
" from "
f1
(
x
)". You can use the right and left arrow keys to position the cursor.
272 Graphs Application
2.
Type the replacement name.
3.
If you are defining a new relation, position the cursor after the = sign and type the expression.
4.
Press
Enter to graph the relation with its new name.
Accessing the Graph History
For each problem, the software stores a history of relations defined in the
Graphs application and 3D Graphing view, such as function graphs f1 through f99 and 3D function graphs z1 through z99
. You can view and edit these items using a button on the entry line.
Viewing the History
1.
Press Ctrl+G to show the entry line.
2.
Click the
History Menu button on the entry line.
The menu is displayed. As you point to the name of each item, its expression appears in the entry line.
Graphs Application 273
3.
Select the name of the relation you want to view or edit.
4.
(Optional) From the entry line, use the up and down arrow keys to scroll through the defined relations of the same type.
Viewing the History of Specific Relation Types
Use this method if you want to view or edit a defined relation that does not appear in the History menu.
1.
On the
Graph Entry/Edit menu, click the relation type. For example, click
Polar to show the entry line for the next available Polar relation.
2.
Click the History Menu button , or use the up and down arrow keys to scroll through the defined relations of the same type.
Zooming/Rescaling the Graphs Work Area
Rescaling in the Graphs application affects only the graphs, plots, and objects that reside in the Graphing view. It has no effect on objects in the underlying
Plane Geometry view.
Rescaling by Dragging Along an Axis
▶
To rescale the x and y axes proportionally, drag a tic mark on either axis.
▶
To rescale only one axis, hold down Shift and drag a tic mark on the axis.
Zooming Using a Zoom Tool
▶
From the Window / Zoom menu, select one of the tools.
-
Zoom - Box
(Click two corners of a box to define the area to show.)
Zoom - In
-
Zoom - Out
Zooming to Predefined Settings
▶
From the Window / Zoom menu, select one of the predefined Zoom settings.
-
-
-
Zoom - Standard
Zoom - Quadrant 1
Zoom - Standard User
274 Graphs Application
-
-
-
Zoom - Standard Trig
Zoom - Standard Data
Zoom - Fit
Entering Custom Window Settings
1.
From the Window / Zoom menu, select Window Settings .
2.
Enter a value for each setting. You can use expressions for exact input, as shown below.
On TI-Nspire™ products, fractional input is preserved as-is. Other exact inputs are replaced with the evaluated result.
On TI-Nspire™ CAS products, fractional and other exact inputs are preserved.
Graphs Application 275
Customizing the Graphs Work Area
Inserting a Background Image
You can
as a background for any Graphs or Geometry page.
1.
From the
Insert menu, click
Image
.
2.
Navigate to the image you want to insert, select it, and then click Open .
Adding a Text Object to the Work Area
Use the Text tool to add numeric values, formulas, observations, or other explanatory information to the Graphs work area. You can graph an equation entered as text (such as "x=3").
1.
From the Actions menu, select Text .
2.
Click the location for the text.
3.
Type the text in the box that appears, and then press
Enter
.
To move a text object, drag it. To edit the text, double-click it. To delete a text object, display its context menu, and select Delete .
Changing the Attributes of Numeric Text
If you enter a numeric value as text, you can lock it or set its format and displayed precision.
1.
From the
Actions menu, select
Attributes
.
2.
Click the numeric text to display its list of attributes.
3.
Press ▲ and ▼ to move through the list.
4.
At each attribute icon, press◄ or ► to move through the options. For example, select
0 through
9 as the precision.
5.
Press
Enter to apply the changes.
276 Graphs Application
6.
Press Esc to close the Attributes tool.
Displaying the Grid
By default, the grid is not displayed. You can choose to display it as dots or lines.
▶
From the View menu, select Grid , and then select Dot Grid , Lined Grid , or
No Grid .
Changing the Grid Color
1.
From the Actions menu, choose Select > Grid (available only when the grid is displayed).
The grid flashes to show it is selected.
2.
Click the down arrow next to the Color button, and select a color for the grid.
Changing the Appearance of the Graph Axes
1.
From the
Actions menu, click
Attributes
.
2.
Click either axis.
3.
Press ▲ and ▼ to move to the desired attribute, and then press ◄ and ► to choose the option to apply.
Graphs Application 277
Note:
To hide the axes or selectively hide or show an individual axis end-value, use the
Hiding and Showing Items in the Graphs Application
The Hide/Show tool reveals objects you have previously selected as hidden and lets you select which objects to show or hide.
Note:
If you hide a graph, its expression is automatically marked as hidden in the
.
1.
From the
Actions menu, select
Hide/Show
.
The Hide/Show tool appears at the top of the work area, and currently hidden items (if any) are shown dimmed.
2.
Click objects to toggle their hide/show status. You can hide graphs, geometric objects, text, labels, measurements, and individual axis endvalues.
3.
Press
Esc to complete your selections and close the tool.
All objects you selected as hidden objects disappear.
278 Graphs Application
4.
To view the hidden objects temporarily or restore them as shown objects, open the Hide/Show tool.
Conditional Attributes
You can cause objects to hide, show, and change color dynamically, based on specified conditions such as "r1<r2" or "sin(a1)>=cos(a2)."
For example, you might want to hide an object based on a changing measurement that you have assigned to a variable, or you might want an object’s color to change based on a "Calculate" result assigned to a variable.
Conditional behaviors can be assigned to objects or groups in the Graphing,
Plane Geometry, and 3D Graphing views.
Setting Conditional Attributes of an Object
You can set conditions of a selected object either by using its context menu or by activating the Set Conditions tool from the Actions menu and then selecting the object. These instructions describe using the context menu.
1.
Select the object or group.
2.
Display the object’s context menu, and click
Conditions
.
The conditional attributes are displayed.
Graphs Application 279
For 2D objects For 3D objects
3.
(Optional) In the
Show When field, enter an expression specifying the conditions during which the object will be shown. Anytime the condition is not satisfied, the object will be hidden.
You can specify tolerance by using compound conditionals in the
Show
When input field. For example, area>=4 and area<=6.
Note:
If you need to see conditionally hidden objects temporarily, click
Actions > Hide/Show
. To return to normal viewing, press
ESC
.
4.
(Optional) Enter numbers or expressions that evaluate to numbers in the applicable color fields, such as
Line Color or
Mesh Color
. To see a map of color values, click the
Colors button.
Map of conditional color values
5.
Click
OK in the Conditional Attributes dialog box to apply the conditions.
280 Graphs Application
Calculating a Bounded Area
Note:
To avoid unexpected results when using this feature, make sure the
for "Real or Complex Format" is set to
Real
.
When you calculate the area between curves, each curve must be:
• A function with respect to x.
- or -
• An equation in the form y=, including y= equations defined through a text box or a conic equation template.
Defining and Shading the Area
1.
From the
Analyze Graph menu, select
Bounded Area
.
If exactly two appropriate curves are available, they are selected automatically, and you can skip to step 3. Otherwise, you are prompted to select two curves.
2.
Click two curves to select them.
– or –
Click one curve and the x axis.
You are prompted to set the lower and upper bounds.
3.
Click two points to define the bounds. Optionally, you can type numeric values.
The area becomes shaded, and the area value is displayed. The value is always non-negative, regardless of the interval direction.
Graphs Application 281
Working with Shaded Areas
As you change the bounds or redefine the curves, the shading and the area value are updated .
• To change the lower or upper bound, drag it or type new coordinates for it.
You cannot move a bound that resides on an intersection. However, the point moves automatically as you edit or manipulate the curves.
• To redefine a curve, either manipulate it by dragging or edit its expression in the entry line.
If an endpoint resided originally on an intersection, and the redefined functions no longer intersect, the shading and area value disappear. If you redefine the function(s) so that there is an intersection point, the shading and area value reappear.
• To delete or hide the shaded area, or to change its color and other attributes, display its context menu.
Windows®: Right-click the shaded area.
Mac®: Hold “ and click the shaded area.
Handheld: Move the pointer to the shaded area and press
/ x
.
Tracing Graphs or Plots
Graph Trace lets you move a trace cursor over the points of a graph or plot and displays value information.
Tracing Specific Graphs
1.
From the Trace menu, select Graph Trace .
282 Graphs Application
The Graph Trace tool appears at the top of the work area, the trace cursor appears, and the cursor coordinates are displayed in the lower right corner.
2.
Explore a graph or plot:
Point to a position on a graph or plot to move the trace cursor to that point.
Press ◄ or ► to step the cursor along the current graph or plot. The screen pans automatically to keep the cursor in view.
Press ▲ or ▼ to cycle among the displayed graphs.
Click the trace cursor to create a persistent point. Optionally, enter a specific independent value to move the trace cursor to that value.
3.
To stop tracing, press
Esc
.
Tracing All Graphs
The Trace All tool allows tracing multiple functions simultaneously. With several functions graphed on the work area, perform the following steps:
Note:
The Trace All tool traces only function graphs, not plots of other relations
(polar, parametric, scatter, sequence).
1.
From the Trace menu, select Trace All .
The Trace All tool appears in the work area, a vertical line indicates the x value of the trace, and the coordinates for each traced point are displayed in the lower right corner.
Graphs Application 283
2.
Explore the graphs:
Click a point on the x axis to move all the trace points to that x value.
Press ◄ or ► to step the trace points along all the graphs.
3.
To stop tracing, press Esc .
Changing the Trace Step
1.
From the
Trace menu, select
Trace Step
.
2.
Choose Automatic or enter a specific step size for tracing.
Introduction to Geometric Objects
Geometry tools are accessible in both the Graphs and Geometry applications.
You can use these tools to draw and investigate objects such as points, lines, and shapes.
• The Graphing view shows the Graphs work area superimposed on the
Geometry work area. You can select, measure, and alter objects in both work areas.
• The Plane Geometry view shows only the objects created in the Geometry application.
284 Graphs Application
Objects Created in the Graphs Application
Points, lines, and shapes created in the Graphs application are analytic objects.
• All points that define these objects reside on the x,y graph plane. Objects created here are visible only in the Graphs application. Changing the axes scale affects the appearance of the objects.
• You can display and edit the coordinates of any point on an object.
• You can display the equation of a line, tangent line, circle shape, or geometric conic created in the Graphs application.
The circle arc and polygon were created in the Geometry application. The sine wave and conic were created in the Graphs application.
Objects Created in the Geometry Application
Points, lines, and shapes created in the Geometry application are not analytic objects.
• Points that define these objects do not reside on the graph plane. Objects created here are visible in both the Graphs and Geometry applications, but they are unaffected by changes to the Graphs x,y axes.
• You cannot obtain the coordinates of an object’s points.
Graphs Application 285
• You cannot display the equation of a geometric object created in the
Geometry application
Creating Points and Lines
As you create an object, a tool appears in the work area (for example,
Segment
). To cancel, press ESC . To enable automatic labeling of certain objects, see
What You Must Know in this chapter.
Creating a Point on the Work Area
1.
From the Points and Lines menu, select Point . (In the Graphs application, click Geometry > Points and Lines > Point.)
2.
Click a location to create the point.
3.
(Optional) Label the point.
4.
To move a point, drag it.
Creating a Point on a Graph or Object
You can create a point on a line, segment, ray, axis, vector, circle, graph, or axis.
1.
From the
Points and Lines menu, select
Point On
. (In the Graphs application, click Geometry > Points and Lines > Point On.)
2.
Click the graph or object on which you want to create the point.
286 Graphs Application
3.
Click a location on the object to place the point.
Identifying Points of Intersection
1.
From the
Points and Lines menu, select
Intersection Points
. (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Points and Lines > Intersection Points.)
2.
Click two intersecting objects to add points at their intersections.
Creating a Line
1.
From the Points and Lines menu, select Line . (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Points and Lines > Line.)
2.
Click a location to define one point on the line.
3.
Click a second location to define the direction of the line and the length of its visible portion.
Graphs Application 287
4.
To move a line, drag its identifying point. To rotate it, drag any point except the identifying point or ends. To extend its visible portion, drag from either end.
Creating a Segment
1.
From the Points and Lines menu, select Segment . (In the Graphs application, click Geometry > Points and Lines > Segment.)
2.
Click two locations to define the endpoints of the segment.
3.
To move a segment, drag any point other than an endpoint. To manipulate the direction or length, drag either endpoint.
Creating a Ray
1.
From the
Points and Lines menu, select
Ray
. (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Points and Lines > Ray.)
2.
Click a location to define the endpoint of the ray.
3.
Click a second location to define the direction.
288 Graphs Application
To move a ray, drag its identifying point. To rotate it, drag any point except the identifying point or end. To extend its visible portion, drag from the end.
Creating a Tangent
You can create a tangent line at a specific point on a geometric object or function graph.
1.
From the
Points and Lines menu, select
Tangent
. (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Points and Lines > Tangent.)
2.
Click the object to select it.
3.
Click a location on the object to create the tangent.
4.
To move a tangent, drag it. It remains attached to the object or graph.
Creating a Vector
1.
From the
Points and Lines menu, select
Vector
. (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Points and Lines > Vector.)
Graphs Application 289
2.
Click a location to establish the vector's initial point.
3.
Click a second location to specify direction and magnitude and complete the vector.
4.
To move a vector, drag any point other than the endpoints. To manipulate the magnitude and/or direction, drag either end point.
Note:
If you create an endpoint on an axis or another object, you can move the endpoint only along that object.
Creating a Circle Arc
1.
From the
Points and Lines menu, select
Circle Arc
. (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Points and Lines > Circle Arc.)
2.
Click a location or point to establish the starting point of the arc.
3.
Click a second point to establish an intermediate point through which the arc will pass.
4.
Click a third point to set the ending point and complete the arc.
5.
To move an arc, drag its perimeter. To manipulate it, drag any of its three defining points.
290 Graphs Application
Creating Geometric Shapes
The Shape tools let you explore circles, polygons, conics, and other geometric objects.
As you create a shape, a tool appears in the work area (for example, Circle ).
To cancel the shape, press
ESC
. To enable automatic labeling of certain objects, see What You Must Know, in this chapter.
Creating a Circle
1.
From the
Shapes menu, select
Circle
. (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Shapes > Circle
.)
2.
Click a location or point to position the circle’s center point.
3.
Click a location or point to establish the radius and complete the circle.
4.
To resize a circle, drag its perimeter. To move it, drag its center point.
Creating a Triangle
Note:
To ensure that the sum of the angles of a triangle equals 180° or 200 gradians, you can force integer angles in the Geometry view. Refer to What
You Must Know, in this chapter.
1.
From the
Shapes menu, select
Triangle
. (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Shapes > Triangle
.)
2.
Click three locations to establish the vertices of the triangle.
Graphs Application 291
3.
To manipulate a triangle, drag any point. To move it, drag any side.
Creating a Rectangle
1.
From the Shapes menu, select Rectangle . (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Shapes > Rectangle
.)
2.
Click a location or point to establish the first corner of the rectangle.
3.
Click a location for the second corner.
One side of the rectangle is displayed.
4.
Click to establish the distance to the opposite side and complete the rectangle.
5.
To rotate a rectangle, drag one of its first two points. To extend it, drag one of the last two points. To move it, drag any side.
Creating a Polygon
1.
From the Shapes menu, select Polygon . (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Shapes > Polygon
.)
2.
Click a location or point to establish the first vertex of the polygon.
3.
Click to establish each additional vertex.
292 Graphs Application
4.
To complete the polygon, click the first vertex.
5.
To manipulate a polygon, drag any vertex. To move it, drag any side.
Creating a Regular Polygon
1.
From the
Shapes menu, select
Regular Polygon
. (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Shapes > Regular Polygon
.)
2.
Click once on the work area to establish the center point.
3.
Click a second location to establish the first vertex and radius.
A 16-sided regular polygon is formed. The number of sides is displayed in brackets; for example, {16}.
4.
Drag any vertex in a circular motion to set the number of sides.
Drag clockwise to reduce the number of sides.
Drag counterclockwise to add diagonals.
5.
To resize or rotate a regular polygon, drag any of its points. To move it, drag any side.
Graphs Application 293
Creating an Ellipse
1.
From the Shapes menu, select Ellipse . (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Shapes > Ellipse .)
2.
Click two locations or points to establish the foci.
3.
Click to establish a point on the ellipse and complete the shape.
4.
To manipulate an ellipse, drag any of its three defining points. To move it, drag its perimeter.
Creating a Parabola (from focus and vertex)
1.
From the
Shapes menu, select
Parabola
. (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Shapes > Parabola .)
2.
Click a location to establish the focus.
3.
Click a location to establish the vertex and complete the parabola.
4.
To manipulate a parabola, drag its focus or its vertex. To move it, drag it from any other point.
294 Graphs Application
Creating a Parabola (from focus and directrix)
1.
Create a line to serve as the directrix.
2.
From the
Shapes menu, select
Parabola
. (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Shapes > Parabola .)
3.
Click a location to establish the focus.
4.
Click the line to establish it as the directrix.
5.
To manipulate a parabola, rotate or move its directrix or drag its focus. To move it, select both the directrix and the focus, and then drag either object.
Creating a Hyperbola
1.
From the
Shapes menu, select
Hyperbola
. (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Shapes > Hyperbola .)
2.
Click two locations to establish the foci.
3.
Click a third location to complete the hyperbola.
4.
To manipulate a hyperbola, drag any of its three defining points. To move it, drag it from any other place on the shape.
Graphs Application 295
Creating a Conic by Five Points
1.
From the Shapes menu, select Conic by Five Points . (In the Graphs application, click Geometry > Shapes > Conic by Five Points .)
2.
Click five locations to establish the five points on the shape.
Depending on the pattern of the points, the conic can be a hyperbola or an ellipse.
3.
To manipulate a conic, drag any of its five defining points. To move it, drag it from any other place on the shape.
Creating Shapes Using Gestures (Math Draw)
The Math Draw tool lets you use touchscreen or mouse gestures to create points, lines, circles, and other shapes.
Math Draw is available in:
• Geometry view without the analytic window displayed.
• Graphing view when the x scale and y scale are identical. This avoids noncircular ellipses and non-square rectangles appearing as circles and squares.
Math Draw is not available in the 3D Graphing view or in the Geometry view with the analytic window displayed.
Activating Math Draw
1.
If using the Geometry view with the analytic window visible, use the View menu to hide the window.
2.
On the Actions menu, select Math Draw .
The Math Draw icon appears. You can begin using the tool.
296 Graphs Application
Canceling Math Draw
▶
When you have finished using the Math Draw tool, press
Esc
.
The tool also closes if you select a different tool or change views.
Creating Points
To create a labeled point, tap or click in an open area.
• If the point is close to an existing line, segment, ray, geometric conic
(including circles), or polygon, the point snaps to that object. You can also place a point on the intersection of any two of those types of objects.
• If the point is close to a visible grid location in a Graphs view or the analytic window of a Geometry view, it snaps to the grid.
Drawing Lines and Segments
To create a line or segment, touch or click the initial position, and then drag to the end position.
• If the drawn line passes near an existing point, the line snaps to the point.
• If the drawn line starts close to an existing point and ends next to another existing point , it becomes a segment defined by those points.
• If the drawn line is nearly parallel or perpendicular to an existing line, segment, or side of a polygon, it aligns to that object.
Note:
The default tolerance for detecting parallel/perpendicular lines is
12.5 degrees. It is defined in a variable named ti_gg_fd.angle_tol
. You can change the tolerance in the current problem by setting this variable to a value in the range 0 through 45 (0=no parallel/perpendicular detection).
Drawing Circles and Ellipses
To create a circle or ellipse, use the touchscreen or mouse to draw the approximate shape.
• If the drawn shape is sufficiently circular, a circle is created.
• If the shape is elongated, an ellipse is created.
• If the virtual center of the drawn shape is near an existing point, the circle or ellipse is centered on that point.
Drawing Triangles
To create a triangle, draw a triangle-like shape.
Graphs Application 297
• If a drawn vertex is close to an existing point, the vertex snaps to the point.
Drawing Rectangles and Squares
To create a rectangle or square, use the touchscreen or mouse to draw the perimeter.
• If the drawn shape is nearly square, a square is created.
• If the drawn shape is elongated, a rectangle is created.
• If the center of a square is close to an existing point, the square snaps to that point.
Drawing Polygons
To create a polygon, tap or click a succession of existing points, ending on the first point you tapped.
Using Math Draw to Create Equations
In the Graphs view, Math Draw attempts to recognize certain gestures as equations, particularly analytic parabolas of the form
y=
.
Note:
The default step value for quantization of the parabola coefficients is
1/32. The denominator of this fraction is defined in a variable named
ti_gg_ fd.par_quant
. You can change the step value in the current problem by setting this variable to a value greater or equal to 2. A value of 2, for example, produces a step value of 0.5.
Using Math Draw to Measure an Angle
To measure the angle between two existing lines, use the touchscreen or mouse to draw a circle arc from one of the lines to the other.
• If the intersection point between the two lines does not exist, it is created and labeled.
• The angle is not a directed angle.
Using Math Draw to Find a Mid-point
To create a point midway between two points, tap or click point 1, point 2, and then point 1 again.
298 Graphs Application
Using Math Draw to Erase
To erase objects, use the touchscreen or mouse to drag left and right, similar to the motion of erasing a whiteboard.
• The erasure area is the bounding rectangle of the erasure gesture.
• All point objects and their dependents inside the erasure area are removed.
Basics of Working with Objects
Selecting and Deselecting Objects
You can select an individual object or multiple objects. Select multiple objects when you want to quickly move, color, or delete them together.
1.
Click an object or graph to select it.
The object flashes to indicate selection.
2.
Click any additional objects to add them to the selection.
3.
Perform the operation (such as moving or setting color).
4.
To deselect all objects, click an empty space in the work area.
Grouping and Ungrouping Geometric Objects
Grouping objects gives you a way to reselect them as a set, even after you have deselected them to work with other objects.
1.
Click each object to add it to the current selection.
The selected objects flash.
2.
Display a context menu of the selected object or objects.
3.
Click Group . You can now select all the items in the group by clicking any of its members.
4.
To split a group into individual objects, display a context menu of any of its member objects, and click Ungroup .
Deleting Objects
1.
Display the context menu of the object or objects.
2.
Click
Delete
.
Graphs Application 299
You cannot delete the origin, the axes, or points representing locked variables, even if those items are included in the selection.
Moving Objects
You can move an object, group, or combination of selected objects and groups.
Note:
If an immovable object (such as the graph axes or a point with locked coordinates) is included in a selection or group, you cannot move any of the objects. You must cancel the selection and then select only movable items.
To move this...
A multipleobject selection or group
Drag this
Any of its objects
A point
A segment or vector
A line or ray
The point
Any point other than an endpoint
The identifying point
A circle The center point
Other geometric shapes
Any position on the object except one of its defining points. For example, move a polygon by dragging any of its sides.
Constraining Object Movement
Holding down the SHIFT key before dragging lets you constrain how certain objects are drawn, moved, or manipulated.
Use the constraint feature to:
• Rescale only a single axis in the Graphs application.
• Pan the work area horizontally or vertically, depending on which direction you drag initially.
• Limit object movement to horizontal or vertical.
300 Graphs Application
• Limit point placement to 15° increments as you draw a triangle, rectangle, or polygon.
• Limit angle manipulations to 15° increments.
• Limit the radius of a resized circle to integer values.
Pinning Objects
Pinning objects prevents accidental changes as you move or manipulate other objects.
You can pin graphed functions, geometric objects, text objects, the graph axes, and the background.
1.
Select the object or objects to pin, or click an empty area if you are pinning the background.
2.
Display the context menu, and select Pin .
A pinned object displays a pin icon when you point to it.
3.
To unpin an object, display its context menu, and select Unpin .
Notes
:
• Although you cannot drag a pinned point, you can reposition it by editing its x and y coordinates.
• You cannot pan the work area while the background is pinned.
Changing the Line or Fill Color of an Object
Color changes made in the software are displayed in shades of gray when you work on documents using a TI-Nspire™ handheld that does not support color.
Color is preserved when you move documents back to the software.
1.
Select the object or objects.
2.
Display the object’s context menu, click Color , and then click Line Color or
Fill Color .
3.
Select the color to apply to the objects.
Changing the Appearance of an Object
1.
From the
Actions menu, select
Attributes
.
2.
Click the object that you want to change. You can change shapes, lines, graphs, or graph axes.
Graphs Application 301
The list of the attributes for the selected object are displayed.
3.
Press 9 and : to move through the list of attributes.
4.
At each attribute icon, press 7 or 8 to move through the options. For example, select Thick, Thin, or Medium for the Line Weight attribute.
5.
Press Enter to apply the changes.
6.
Press ESC to close the Attributes tool.
Labeling Points, Geometric Lines, and Shapes
1.
Display the context menu of the object.
2.
Click
Label
.
3.
Type the text of the label, and then press Enter .
The label attaches itself to the object and follows the object as you move it.
The label's color matches the object's color.
Measuring Objects
Measurement values update automatically as you manipulate the measured object.
Note
: Measurements of objects created in the Graphs application are displayed in generic units named
u
. Measurements of objects created in the Geometry application are displayed in centimeters (
cm
).
Measuring Length of a Segment, Circle Arc, or Vector
1.
From the Measurement menu, select Length . (In the Graphs application, click Geometry > Measurement > Length .)
2.
Click the object to display its length.
302 Graphs Application
Measuring Distance Between Two Points, a Point and a Line, or a
Point and a Circle
1.
From the Measurement menu, select Length . (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Measurement > Length
.)
2.
Click the first point.
3.
Click the second point or a point on the line or circle.
In this example, length is measured from the center of the circle to the upper left vertex of the polygon.
Measuring Circumference of a Circle or Ellipse or the Perimeter of a
Polygon, Rectangle, or Triangle
1.
From the
Measurement menu, select
Length
. (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Measurement > Length
.)
2.
Click the object to display its circumference or perimeter.
Graphs Application 303
Measuring a Side of a Triangle, Rectangle, or Polygon
1.
From the Measurement menu, select Length . (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Measurement > Length
.)
2.
Click two points on the object that form the side you want to measure.
Note:
You must click
two points
to measure a side. Clicking the side measures the entire length of the object's perimeter.
Measuring Area of a Circle, Ellipse, Polygon, Rectangle, or Triangle
Note:
You cannot measure the area of a polygon constructed using the
Segment tool.
1.
From the Measurement menu, select Area . (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Measurement > Area .)
2.
Click the object to display its area.
304 Graphs Application
Measuring Slope of a Line, Ray, Segment, or Vector
1.
From the Measurement menu, select Slope . (In the Graphs application, click Geometry > Measurement > Slope .)
2.
Click the object to display its slope.
The value is updated automatically when you manipulate the object.
Measuring Angles
Measured angles in the Geometry application range from 0° to 180°. Measured angles in the Graphs application range from 0 radians to π radians. To change the angle unit, use the Settings menu.
1.
From the Measurement menu, select Angle . (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Measurement > Angle
.)
2.
Click three locations or points to define the angle. The second click defines the vertex.
Graphs Application 305
Measuring Angles using the Directed Angle Tool
1.
From the Measurement menu, select Directed Angle . (In the Graphs application, click Geometry > Measurement > Directed Angle .)
2.
Click three locations or existing points to define the angle. The second click defines the vertex.
3.
To reverse the measurement orientation, a) On the Actions menu, select Attributes .
b) Click the angle text. For example, click
300 °.
c) Select the orientation attribute, and use the right or left arrow key to change it.
d) Press
Esc to close the Attributes tool.
306 Graphs Application
Moving a Measured Value
▶
Drag the measurement to the desired location.
Note:
If you move a measurement too far from its object, it stops following the object. However, its value continues to be updated as you manipulate the object.
Editing a Measured Length
You can set the length of a side of a Triangle, Rectangle, or Polygon by editing its measured value.
▶
Double-click the measurement, and then enter the new value.
Storing a Measured Value as a Variable
Use this method to create a variable and assign a measured value to it.
1.
Display the item's context menu, and select Store .
2.
Type a variable name for the stored measurement.
Linking a Measured Length to an Existing Variable
Use this method to assign a measured length value to an existing variable.
1.
Display the measurement's context menu, and select
Variables > Link to
.
The menu shows the list of currently defined variables.
2.
Click the name of the variable you want to link to.
Deleting a Measurement
▶
Display the measurement's context menu, and select
Delete
.
Graphs Application 307
Locking or Unlocking a Measurement
1.
Display the measurement's context menu, and select Attributes .
2.
Use the up/down arrow keys to highlight the Lock attribute.
3.
Use the left/right arrow keys to close or open the lock.
As long as the value remains locked, manipulations are not allowed that would require the measurement to change.
Transforming Objects
You can apply transformations to drawn objects in both the Graphs and
Geometry applications. If the object's points are labeled, the corresponding points in the transformed object are labeled using prime notation (
A
→
A
'). To enable automatic labeling of certain objects, see What You Must Know in this chapter.
Exploring Symmetry
1.
From the
Transformation menu, select
Symmetry
. (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Transformation > Symmetry
.)
2.
Click the object whose symmetry you want to explore.
3.
Click a location or existing point to establish the point of symmetry.
A symmetrical image of the object is displayed.
4.
Manipulate the original object or the point of symmetry to explore the symmetry.
Exploring Reflection
1.
Create a line or segment to predefine the line about which the object will be reflected.
308 Graphs Application
2.
From the Transformation menu, select Reflection . (In the Graphs application, click Geometry > Transformation > Reflection .)
3.
Click the object whose reflection you want to explore.
4.
Click the predefined reflection line or segment.
A reflected image of the object is displayed.
5.
Manipulate the original object or the line of symmetry to explore the reflection.
Exploring Translation
1.
(Optional) Create a vector to predefine the distance and direction of translation.
2.
From the
Transformation menu, select
Translation
. (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Transformation > Translation
.)
3.
Click the object whose translation you want to explore.
4.
Click the predefined vector.
—or—
Click two locations on the work area to indicate the direction and distance of translation.
A translated image of the object is displayed.
Graphs Application 309
5.
Manipulate the original object or the vector to explore the translation.
Exploring Rotation
1.
(Optional) Create an angle measurement to serve as a predefined angle of rotation.
2.
From the
Transformation menu, select
Rotation
. (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Transformation > Rotation
.)
3.
Click the object whose rotation you want to explore.
4.
Click a location or point to define the point of rotation.
5.
Click the points of the predefined angle.
—or—
Click three locations to define an angle of rotation.
A rotated image of the object is displayed.
6.
Manipulate the original object or the point of rotation to explore the rotation.
Exploring Dilation
1.
Create a Text object containing a numeric value to serve as a predefined dilation factor.
Note:
You can also use a measured length value as the dilation factor.
Keep in mind that if you use a large value, you may have to pan the display to view the dilated object.
2.
From the Transformation menu, select Dilation . (In the Graphs application, click Geometry > Transformation > Dilation .)
3.
Click the object whose dilation you want to explore.
310 Graphs Application
4.
Click a location or existing point to define the center point of dilation.
5.
Click the Text object or measurement that defines the dilation factor.
A dilated image of the object is displayed.
6.
Manipulate the original object or the center point of dilation to explore the dilation. You can also edit the dilation factor.
Exploring with Geometric Construction Tools
While a construction is in progress, a tool appears in the work area (for example, Parallel ). To cancel, press ESC .
Creating a Midpoint
This tool lets you bisect a segment or define a midpoint between any two points. The points can be on a single object, on separate objects, or on the work area.
1.
From the
Construction menu, select
Midpoint
. (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Construction > Midpoint
.)
2.
Click a point or location to define the first point.
3.
Click a second point or location to complete the midpoint.
Graphs Application 311
Creating a Parallel Line
This tool creates a parallel line with respect to any existing line. The existing line can be a Graphs axis or any side of a triangle, square, rectangle, or polygon.
1.
From the
Construction menu, select
Parallel
. (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Construction > Parallel
.)
2.
Click the object that will serve as the reference line.
3.
Click a location to create the parallel line.
You can drag the parallel line to move it. If you manipulate the reference object, the line remains parallel.
Creating a Perpendicular Line
You can create a line that is perpendicular to a reference line. The reference can be an axis, an existing line, a segment, or one side of a triangle, rectangle, or polygon.
1.
From the Construction menu, select Perpendicular . (In the Graphs application, click Geometry > Construction > Perpendicular .)
2.
Click a location or existing point through which the perpendicular line should pass.
312 Graphs Application
3.
Click the item that will serve as the reference line.
You can drag the intersection point to move the perpendicular. If you manipulate the reference object, the line remains perpendicular.
Creating a Perpendicular Bisector
You can create a perpendicular bisector on a segment, on one side of a triangle, rectangle, or polygon, or between any two points.
1.
From the Construction menu, select Perpendicular Bisector . (In the Graphs application, click Geometry > Construction > Perpendicular Bisector .)
2.
Click the item that will serve as the reference line.
—or—
Click two points to create a perpendicular bisector between them.
Bisecting an Angle
This tool creates an angle bisector. The points of the angle can be on existing objects, or they can be locations on the work area.
1.
From the
Construction menu, select
Angle Bisector
. (In the Graphs application, click Geometry > Construction > Angle Bisector .)
Graphs Application 313
2.
Click three locations or points to define the angle. The second click defines the vertex of the angle.
The angle bisector adjusts automatically as you manipulate its defining points.
Creating a Locus
The Locus tool enables you to explore the range of motion of one object with respect to another object as constrained by a shared point.
1.
Create a segment, line, or circle.
2.
Create a point on the segment, line, or circle.
3.
Create another object that uses the point created in the previous step.
314 Graphs Application
Circle created to use the defined point on the segment.
4.
From the
Construction menu, select
Locus
. (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Construction > Locus
.)
5.
Click the point shared by the objects.
6.
Click the object defined to share the point (this is the object to vary).
The continuous locus is displayed.
Creating a Compass
This tool operates similarly to a geometric compass used for drawing circles on paper.
1.
From the
Construction menu, select
Compass
. (In the Graphs application, click Geometry > Construction > Compass .)
2.
To set the width (radius) of the compass:
Click a segment.
—or—
Click any side of a triangle, rectangle, polygon, or regular polygon.
Graphs Application 315
—or—
Click any two existing points or locations on the work area.
3.
Click a location to establish the center of the circle and complete the construction.
The radius adjusts automatically as you manipulate the original segment, side, or points used to define the radius.
Animating Points on Objects
You can animate any point created as a point on an object or graph. Multiple points can be animated simultaneously.
Animating a Point
1.
From the Actions menu, select Attributes .
2.
Click the point to display its attributes.
3.
Press ▼ to select the animation attributes.
4.
Press ◄ or ► to choose either unidirectional or alternating animation.
5.
Type a value to set the animation speed. Any nonzero speed begins the animation. To reverse the direction, enter a negative value.
6.
Press Enter to display the animation controls
7.
Press ESC to close the Attributes tool.
.
Pausing and Resuming All Animations
▶
To pause all animations on a page, click Pause
▶
To resume all animations, click Play .
.
316 Graphs Application
Resetting All Animations
Resetting pauses all animations and returns all animated points to the positions they occupied when they were first animated.
▶
To reset animation, click Reset .
Changing or Stopping the Animation of a Point
1.
Click
Reset to stop all animation.
2.
From the Actions menu, select Attributes .
3.
Click the point to display its attributes.
4.
Select the animation attribute, and type a new animation speed. To stop the point’s animation, enter zero.
Note:
If other animated points exist, the animation controls remain in the work area.
Adjusting Variable Values with a Slider
In the Graphs, Geometry, and Data & Statistics applications, a slider control lets you adjust or animate the value of a numeric variable.
Horizontal slider for adjusting variable
v1
.
Graphs Application 317
Minimized vertical slider for adjusting variable
v2
.
Inserting a Slider
1.
Start in a Graphs, Geometry, or Data & Statistics page.
2.
From the Actions menu, select Insert Slider .
The Slider Settings screen opens.
3.
Enter desired values.
4.
Click
OK
.
The slider is displayed in the work area. Handles on the slider let you move or stretch it. To remove the handles, click an empty space in the work area.
318 Graphs Application
5.
To adjust the variable, slide the pointer (or click the arrows on a minimized slider).
Working with the Slider
Use the options on the context menu to move or delete the slider, and to start or stop its animation. You can also change the slider's settings.
1.
Display the slider's context menu.
2.
Click an option to select it.
Labeling (Identifying) the Coordinates of a Point
The Graphs application can identify and label the coordinates of any existing point, provided the point was created in the Graphs application.
1.
From the Actions menu, select Coordinates and Equations .
The tool appears at the top of the work area
2.
Tap the point whose coordinates you want to show.
Graphs Application 319
3.
Press Esc to close the tool.
If you later move the point to a different location, the coordinates follow the point and update automatically.
Displaying the Equation of a Geometric Object
You can display the equation of a line, tangent line, circle shape, or geometric conic, provided the object was constructed in the Graphing View or within the
Analytic Window of the Plane Geometry View.
Note:
Due to differences in the numerical representations of analytic and geometric conics, the capability to convert a geometric conic to an analytic template may sometimes be unavailable. This is done in order to avoid a situation where the template-based conic would be different from the geometric one.
1.
From the
Actions menu, click
Coordinates and Equations.
2.
Move the pointer to the object.
The equation for the object appears.
Note:
If you approach a defined point on the line or the center point of a circle, the coordinates of that point are displayed instead of the equation.
Move the pointer away from the defined point to obtain the equation of the object.
3.
Click to attach the equation to the pointer.
4.
Move the equation to the desired location, and click to anchor it.
5.
Press Esc to exit the tool.
320 Graphs Application
Using the Calculate Tool
The Calculate tool is available in the Graphs and Geometry applications. It lets you evaluate a math expression you have entered as a text object.
The following example uses the Calculate tool to sum the measured angles of a triangle.
1.
Using the
Shapes
menu, create a triangle, and then measure its angles.
Tip:
You can enable options to automatically label points and to force geometric triangle angles to integers. For more information, see What You
Must Know, in this chapter.
2.
From the Actions menu, click Text .
3.
Click a location for the text, and type the formula for the calculation.
In this example, the formula sums three terms.
4.
From the Actions menu, click Calculate .
5.
Click the formula you created.
You are prompted to select a value for each term in the formula.
Graphs Application 321
6.
Click each angle measurement when prompted.
Note:
If you have stored a measurement as a variable, you can select it when prompted by clicking . If the name of a stored measurement matches a term in the formula, you can press “L” when prompted for that term.
After you have selected the third term, the calculation result attaches itself to the pointer.
7.
Position the result, and press Enter to anchor it as a new text object.
322 Graphs Application
3D Graphs
The 3D Graphing view lets you create and explore three-dimensional graphs of:
• 3D functions of the form z(x,y)
• 3D parametric plots
Selecting the 3D Graphing View
or Geometry The 3D Graphing View is available on any Graphs page page .
▶
From the View menu, select 3D Graphing .
3D Graphs Menu
Entry line
. Lets you define 3D graphs. The default graph type is 3D
Function, indicated by z
1
(
x,y
)=.
3D Graphs Work Area.
Shows a 3D box containing graphs that you define. Drag to rotate the box.
Graphing 3D Functions
1.
In the 3D Graphing view, select 3D Graph Entry/Edit > Function .
The entry line appears.
3D Graphs 323
2.
Enter the expression that defines the graph. You can type the expression or build it using expression templates.
3.
Press
Enter to create the graph and hide the entry line. You can show or hide the entry line anytime by pressing
Ctrl+G
.
Graphing 3D Parametric Equations
1.
In the 3D Graphing view, select 3D Graph Entry/Edit > Parametric .
The entry line appears.
2.
Type the equations that define the graph.
324 3D Graphs
3.
Press Enter to draw the graph and hide the entry line and keyboard. You can show or hide the entry line anytime by pressing Ctrl+G .
4.
To set the graphing parameters
tmin
,
tmax
,
umin
, and
umax
, display the graph's context menu, and select
Edit Parameters
.
Rotating the 3D View
Rotating Manually
1.
Press R to activate the Rotation tool (required only for the TI-Nspire™ handheld with Clickpad).
2.
Press any of the four arrow keys to rotate the graph.
Rotating Automatically
Auto rotation is equivalent to holding down the right arrow key.
1.
Press A .
The Auto Rotation icon appears, and the graph rotates.
2.
(Optional) Use the up and down arrow keys to explore the rotating graph.
3.
To stop the rotation and return to the Pointer tool, press Esc .
3D Graphs 325
Viewing from Specific Orientations
1.
If necessary, press
Esc to return to the Pointer tool.
2.
Use letter keys to select the orientation:
Press Z , Y , or X to view along the z, y, or x axis.
Press letter
O to view from the default orientation.
Editing a 3D Graph
1.
Double-click the graph to show its expression in the entry line.
—or—
Display the graph’s context menu, and then click
Edit Relation
.
2.
Modify the existing expression, or type a new expression in the entry line.
3.
Press
Enter
.
Accessing the Graph History
For each problem, the software stores a history of relations defined in the
Graphs application and 3D Graphing view, such as function graphs f1 through f99 and 3D function graphs z1 through z99 . You can view and edit these items using a button on the entry line.
Viewing the History
1.
Press
Ctrl+G to show the entry line.
2.
Click the
History Menu button on the entry line.
The menu is displayed. As you point to the name of each item, its expression appears in the entry line.
3.
Select the name of the relation you want to view or edit.
4.
(Optional) From the entry line, use the up and down arrow keys to scroll through the defined relations of the same type.
326 3D Graphs
Viewing the History of Specific Relation Types
Use this method if you want to view or edit a defined relation that does not appear in the History menu.
1.
On the
Graph Entry/Edit menu, click the relation type. For example, click
Polar to show the entry line for the next available Polar relation.
2.
Click the
History Menu button , or use the up and down arrow keys to scroll through the defined relations of the same type.
Changing the Appearance of a 3D Graph
Setting Wire and Surface Color:
1.
Display the graph’s context menu, click Color , and then click Line Color or
Fill Color .
2.
Click a color swatch to apply it.
Setting Custom Plot Colors:
You can assign different colors to a graph's top and bottom surfaces or choose to have the graph colored automatically, based on height or steepness. You can also set the wire color.
1.
Display the graph’s context menu, and then click
Color
>
Custom Plot Color
.
3D Graphs 327
2.
Select one of the three Surface color options: Top/bottom color , Vary color by height , or Vary color by steepness .
If you choose Top/bottom color, click the color swatches to select colors for the top and bottom surfaces.
If you choose to vary color by height or steepness, colors are determined automatically.
3.
To set the Wire color, click the color swatch and select a color.
Setting Other Attributes of a Graph:
1.
Display the graph’s context menu, and then click
Attributes
. You can set the following attributes for the selected graph.
format: surface+wire, surface only, or wire only
x resolution (enter a value in range 2-200*, default= 21 )
y resolution (enter a value in range 2-200*, default=
21
)
transparency (enter a value in range 0-100, default= 30 )
* Handhelds are limited to a maximum display resolution of 21, regardless of the value entered.
2.
Set the attributes as you like, and then press
Enter to accept the changes.
Showing or Hiding a Graph’s Label
▶
Display the graph’s context menu, and then click Hide Label or Show Label .
Showing and Hiding 3D Graphs
1.
In the 3D Graphing view, select
Actions > Hide/Show
.
The Hide/Show tool appears, and all hidden items are displayed in gray.
2.
Tap a graph to change its hide/show state.
3.
To apply the changes and dismiss the tool, press
Esc
.
Note:
If you want to show or hide only the graph's label, see
Showing or Hiding a Graph’s Label .
328 3D Graphs
Customizing the 3D Viewing Environment
Setting the Background Color
▶
Display the context menu for the work area, and then click Background
Color .
Showing or Hiding Specific View Elements
▶
From the
View menu, click the item to show or hide. You can choose items such as the 3D box, axes, box end values, and legend.
Changing the 3D Projection
▶
From the
View menu, click
Orthographic Projection or
Perspective View
.
Orthographic Projection (default) Perspective View
Setting the Visual Attributes of the Box and Axes
1.
Display the context menu for the box, and then click Attributes . You can set the following attributes.
Show or hide tic labels
Show or hide end values
Show or hide arrows on axes
Show 3D or 2D arrow heads
2.
Set the attributes as you like, and then press Enter to accept the changes.
Shrinking or Magnifying the 3D View
▶
From the
Range/Zoom menu, click
Shrink Box or
Magnify Box
.
3D Graphs 329
Changing the 3D Aspect Ratio
1.
From the Range/Zoom menu, click Aspect Ratio .
2.
Enter values for the x, y, and z axes. The default value for each axis is
1
.
Changing the Range Settings
▶
On the
Range/Zoom menu, click
Range Settings
. You can set the following parameters.
XMin (default= -5 )
XMax (default= 5 )
XScale (default=
Auto
) You can enter a numeric value.
YMin (default= -5 )
YMax (default= 5 )
YScale (default= Auto ) You can enter a numeric value.
ZMin (default=
-5
)
ZMax (default=
5
)
ZScale (default= Auto ) You can enter a numeric value.
eye q¡ (default=
35
) eye f¡ (default=
160
) eye distance (default=
11
)
Tracing in the 3D View
1.
From the
Trace menu, select z Trace
.
The z Trace icon and the trace plane appear, along with a text line showing the current "z=" trace value.
2.
To move the trace, hold down
Shift and press the up or down arrow key.
The "z=" text is updated as you move.
330 3D Graphs
3.
(Optional) Use the four arrow keys to rotate the view and see how the trace plane and the graph intersect.
4.
To stop tracing and return to the Pointer tool, press
Esc
.
Changing the Trace Settings
1.
From the
Trace menu, select
Trace Setup
.
The 3D Trace Setup dialog box opens.
2.
Enter or select the settings, and click
OK to apply them.
3.
If you are not already tracing, your new settings take effect the next time you trace.
Example: Creating an Animated 3D Graph
1.
Insert a new problem and select the 3D Graphing view.
3D Graphs 331
2.
From the Actions menu, select Insert Slider , click to position it, and type
time
as the variable name.
3.
Display the slider’s context menu, click
Settings
, and enter the following values.
Value:
3.8
Minimum:
3.2
Maximum: 4.4
Step Size: 0.1
4.
In the entry line, define the function shown here:
5.
Drag the slider thumb to see the effect of varying
time
.
6.
Add visual interest. For example:
-
of the work area.
-
Hide the box, axes, or legend .
-
the graph.
-
Change the graph's fill color and hide its lines .
Change the graph’s
.
332 3D Graphs
7.
To animate the graph, display the slider’s context menu, and click
Animate
.
(To stop, click
Stop Animate from the context menu.)
You can combine manual or auto rotation with the slider animation.
Experiment with the x and y resolution to balance curve definition against animation smoothness.
3D Graphs 333
334
Geometry Application
The Geometry application lets you:
• Create and explore geometric objects and constructions.
• Manipulate and measure geometric objects.
• Animate points on objects and explore their behavior.
• Explore object transformations.
Adding a Geometry Page
▶
To start a new document with a blank Geometry page:
From the main
File menu, click
New Document
, and then click
Add
Geometry
.
Handheld: Press c
, and select
Geometry
.
▶
To add a Geometry page in the current problem of an existing document:
From the toolbar, click Insert > Geometry .
Handheld: Press
~ and select
Insert > Geometry
.
À
Geometry menu – Available anytime you are viewing a Geometry page.
Á
Geometry work area -- The drawing area where you create and explore geometric objects.
Geometry Application 335
What You Must Know
Changing the Graphs and Geometry Settings
1.
From the Settings menu in the Documents Toolbox, select Settings .
2.
Select the settings that you want to use.
-
Display Digits.
Sets the display format for numbers as Floating or Fixed decimal.
Graphing Angle.
Sets the angle unit for all Graphs and 3D Graphing applications in the current docuument. The default setting is Radian.
Set this to Auto if you want graphing angles to follow the Angle setting in the main
File > Settings menu. An angle mode indicator shows the resulting mode in Graphs and 3D Graphing applications.
Geometry Angle.
Sets the angle unit for all Geometry applications in the current document. The default setting is Degree. Set this to Auto if you want geometry angles to follow the Angle setting in the main
File > Settings menu. An angle mode indicator shows the resulting mode in Geometry applications.
Automatically hide plot labels.
In the Graphs application, hides the label that normally appears next to a graphed relation.
-
Show axis end values.
Applies only in the Graphs application.
Show tool tips for function manipulation.
Applies only in the Graphs application.
Automatically find points of interest.
In the Graphs application, shows zeros, minima, and maxima while tracing function graphs.
-
Force Geometric Triangle Angles to Integers.
Restricts the angles of a triangle to integer values as you create or edit the triangle. This setting applies only in the Geometry View with the Geometry Angle unit set to
Degree or Gradian. It does not apply to analytic triangles in Graphing
View or to analytic triangles in the Analytic Window of the Geometry
View. This setting does not affect existing angles, and it does not apply when constructing a triangle based on previously inserted points. By default, this setting is deselected.
-
Automatically Label Points.
Applies labels (
A
,
B
, ...,
Z
,
A
1
,
B
1
, and so on) to points, lines, and vertices of geometric shapes as you draw
336 Geometry Application
them. The labeling sequence starts at
A
for each page in a document.
By default, this setting is deselected.
Note:
If you create a new object that uses existing unlabeled points, those point are not automatically labeled in the completed object.
Click
Restore to restore all settings to their factory defaults.
Click Make Default to apply the current settings to the open document and save them as the default for new Graphs and Geometry documents.
Using Context Menus
Context menus provide quick access to commonly used commands and tools that apply to a specific object. For example, you can use a context menu to change an object's line color or to group a set of selected objects.
▶
Display the context menu for an object in one of the following ways.
Windows®: Right-click the object.
Mac®: Hold “ and click the object.
Handheld: Move the pointer to the object, and then press
/ b
.
Finding Hidden Objects in the Graphs or Geometry Application
You can hide and show individual graphs, geometric objects, text, labels, measurements, and axis end-values.
To temporarily view hidden graphs or objects or to restore them as shown objects:
1.
From the
Actions menu, select
Hide/Show
.
The Hide/Show tool appears in the work area, and all hidden objects become visible in dimmed colors.
2.
Click a graph or object to toggle its Hide/Show state.
3.
To apply the changes and close the Hide/Show tool, press
ESC
.
Inserting a Background Image
You can insert an image as a background for a Graphs or Geometry page. The file format of the image can be .bmp, .jpg, or .png.
1.
From the Insert menu, click Image .
2.
Navigate to the image you want to insert, select it, and then click
Open
.
Geometry Application 337
For information on moving, resizing, and deleting a background image, see
Working with Images in the Software
.
Adding Text to the Graphs or Geometry Work Area
1.
From the
Actions menu, select
Text
.
The Text tool appears in the work area.
2.
Click the location for the text.
3.
Type the text in the box that appears, and then press Enter .
4.
To close the Text tool, press ESC .
5.
To edit the text, double-click it.
Deleting a Relation and its Graph
1.
Select the relation by clicking its graph.
2.
Press Backspace or DEL .
The graph is removed from both the work area and the graph history.
Introduction to Geometric Objects
Geometry tools are accessible in both the Graphs and Geometry applications.
You can use these tools to draw and investigate objects such as points, lines, and shapes.
• The Graphing view shows the Graphs work area superimposed on the
Geometry work area. You can select, measure, and alter objects in both work areas.
• The Plane Geometry view shows only the objects created in the Geometry application.
338 Geometry Application
Objects Created in the Graphs Application
Points, lines, and shapes created in the Graphs application are analytic objects.
• All points that define these objects reside on the x,y graph plane. Objects created here are visible only in the Graphs application. Changing the axes scale affects the appearance of the objects.
• You can display and edit the coordinates of any point on an object.
• You can display the equation of a line, tangent line, circle shape, or geometric conic created in the Graphs application.
The circle arc and polygon were created in the Geometry application. The sine wave and conic were created in the Graphs application.
Objects Created in the Geometry Application
Points, lines, and shapes created in the Geometry application are not analytic objects.
• Points that define these objects do not reside on the graph plane. Objects created here are visible in both the Graphs and Geometry applications, but they are unaffected by changes to the Graphs x,y axes.
• You cannot obtain the coordinates of an object’s points.
Geometry Application 339
• You cannot display the equation of a geometric object created in the
Geometry application
Creating Points and Lines
As you create an object, a tool appears in the work area (for example,
Segment
). To cancel, press ESC . To enable automatic labeling of certain objects, see
What You Must Know in this chapter.
Creating a Point on the Work Area
1.
From the Points and Lines menu, select Point . (In the Graphs application, click Geometry > Points and Lines > Point.)
2.
Click a location to create the point.
3.
(Optional) Label the point.
4.
To move a point, drag it.
Creating a Point on a Graph or Object
You can create a point on a line, segment, ray, axis, vector, circle, graph, or axis.
1.
From the
Points and Lines menu, select
Point On
. (In the Graphs application, click Geometry > Points and Lines > Point On.)
2.
Click the graph or object on which you want to create the point.
340 Geometry Application
3.
Click a location on the object to place the point.
Identifying Points of Intersection
1.
From the
Points and Lines menu, select
Intersection Points
. (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Points and Lines > Intersection Points.)
2.
Click two intersecting objects to add points at their intersections.
Creating a Line
1.
From the Points and Lines menu, select Line . (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Points and Lines > Line.)
2.
Click a location to define one point on the line.
3.
Click a second location to define the direction of the line and the length of its visible portion.
Geometry Application 341
4.
To move a line, drag its identifying point. To rotate it, drag any point except the identifying point or ends. To extend its visible portion, drag from either end.
Creating a Segment
1.
From the Points and Lines menu, select Segment . (In the Graphs application, click Geometry > Points and Lines > Segment.)
2.
Click two locations to define the endpoints of the segment.
3.
To move a segment, drag any point other than an endpoint. To manipulate the direction or length, drag either endpoint.
Creating a Ray
1.
From the
Points and Lines menu, select
Ray
. (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Points and Lines > Ray.)
2.
Click a location to define the endpoint of the ray.
3.
Click a second location to define the direction.
342 Geometry Application
To move a ray, drag its identifying point. To rotate it, drag any point except the identifying point or end. To extend its visible portion, drag from the end.
Creating a Tangent
You can create a tangent line at a specific point on a geometric object or function graph.
1.
From the
Points and Lines menu, select
Tangent
. (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Points and Lines > Tangent.)
2.
Click the object to select it.
3.
Click a location on the object to create the tangent.
4.
To move a tangent, drag it. It remains attached to the object or graph.
Creating a Vector
1.
From the
Points and Lines menu, select
Vector
. (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Points and Lines > Vector.)
Geometry Application 343
2.
Click a location to establish the vector's initial point.
3.
Click a second location to specify direction and magnitude and complete the vector.
4.
To move a vector, drag any point other than the endpoints. To manipulate the magnitude and/or direction, drag either end point.
Note:
If you create an endpoint on an axis or another object, you can move the endpoint only along that object.
Creating a Circle Arc
1.
From the
Points and Lines menu, select
Circle Arc
. (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Points and Lines > Circle Arc.)
2.
Click a location or point to establish the starting point of the arc.
3.
Click a second point to establish an intermediate point through which the arc will pass.
4.
Click a third point to set the ending point and complete the arc.
5.
To move an arc, drag its perimeter. To manipulate it, drag any of its three defining points.
344 Geometry Application
Creating Geometric Shapes
The Shape tools let you explore circles, polygons, conics, and other geometric objects.
As you create a shape, a tool appears in the work area (for example, Circle ).
To cancel the shape, press
ESC
. To enable automatic labeling of certain objects, see What You Must Know, in this chapter.
Creating a Circle
1.
From the
Shapes menu, select
Circle
. (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Shapes > Circle
.)
2.
Click a location or point to position the circle’s center point.
3.
Click a location or point to establish the radius and complete the circle.
4.
To resize a circle, drag its perimeter. To move it, drag its center point.
Creating a Triangle
Note:
To ensure that the sum of the angles of a triangle equals 180° or 200 gradians, you can force integer angles in the Geometry view. Refer to What
You Must Know, in this chapter.
1.
From the
Shapes menu, select
Triangle
. (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Shapes > Triangle
.)
2.
Click three locations to establish the vertices of the triangle.
Geometry Application 345
3.
To manipulate a triangle, drag any point. To move it, drag any side.
Creating a Rectangle
1.
From the Shapes menu, select Rectangle . (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Shapes > Rectangle
.)
2.
Click a location or point to establish the first corner of the rectangle.
3.
Click a location for the second corner.
One side of the rectangle is displayed.
4.
Click to establish the distance to the opposite side and complete the rectangle.
5.
To rotate a rectangle, drag one of its first two points. To extend it, drag one of the last two points. To move it, drag any side.
Creating a Polygon
1.
From the Shapes menu, select Polygon . (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Shapes > Polygon
.)
2.
Click a location or point to establish the first vertex of the polygon.
3.
Click to establish each additional vertex.
346 Geometry Application
4.
To complete the polygon, click the first vertex.
5.
To manipulate a polygon, drag any vertex. To move it, drag any side.
Creating a Regular Polygon
1.
From the
Shapes menu, select
Regular Polygon
. (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Shapes > Regular Polygon
.)
2.
Click once on the work area to establish the center point.
3.
Click a second location to establish the first vertex and radius.
A 16-sided regular polygon is formed. The number of sides is displayed in brackets; for example, {16}.
4.
Drag any vertex in a circular motion to set the number of sides.
Drag clockwise to reduce the number of sides.
Drag counterclockwise to add diagonals.
5.
To resize or rotate a regular polygon, drag any of its points. To move it, drag any side.
Geometry Application 347
Creating an Ellipse
1.
From the Shapes menu, select Ellipse . (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Shapes > Ellipse .)
2.
Click two locations or points to establish the foci.
3.
Click to establish a point on the ellipse and complete the shape.
4.
To manipulate an ellipse, drag any of its three defining points. To move it, drag its perimeter.
Creating a Parabola (from focus and vertex)
1.
From the
Shapes menu, select
Parabola
. (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Shapes > Parabola .)
2.
Click a location to establish the focus.
3.
Click a location to establish the vertex and complete the parabola.
4.
To manipulate a parabola, drag its focus or its vertex. To move it, drag it from any other point.
348 Geometry Application
Creating a Parabola (from focus and directrix)
1.
Create a line to serve as the directrix.
2.
From the
Shapes menu, select
Parabola
. (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Shapes > Parabola .)
3.
Click a location to establish the focus.
4.
Click the line to establish it as the directrix.
5.
To manipulate a parabola, rotate or move its directrix or drag its focus. To move it, select both the directrix and the focus, and then drag either object.
Creating a Hyperbola
1.
From the
Shapes menu, select
Hyperbola
. (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Shapes > Hyperbola .)
2.
Click two locations to establish the foci.
3.
Click a third location to complete the hyperbola.
4.
To manipulate a hyperbola, drag any of its three defining points. To move it, drag it from any other place on the shape.
Geometry Application 349
Creating a Conic by Five Points
1.
From the Shapes menu, select Conic by Five Points . (In the Graphs application, click Geometry > Shapes > Conic by Five Points .)
2.
Click five locations to establish the five points on the shape.
Depending on the pattern of the points, the conic can be a hyperbola or an ellipse.
3.
To manipulate a conic, drag any of its five defining points. To move it, drag it from any other place on the shape.
Creating Shapes Using Gestures (Math Draw)
The Math Draw tool lets you use touchscreen or mouse gestures to create points, lines, circles, and other shapes.
Math Draw is available in:
• Geometry view without the analytic window displayed.
• Graphing view when the x scale and y scale are identical. This avoids noncircular ellipses and non-square rectangles appearing as circles and squares.
Math Draw is not available in the 3D Graphing view or in the Geometry view with the analytic window displayed.
Activating Math Draw
1.
If using the Geometry view with the analytic window visible, use the View menu to hide the window.
2.
On the Actions menu, select Math Draw .
The Math Draw icon appears. You can begin using the tool.
350 Geometry Application
Canceling Math Draw
▶
When you have finished using the Math Draw tool, press
Esc
.
The tool also closes if you select a different tool or change views.
Creating Points
To create a labeled point, tap or click in an open area.
• If the point is close to an existing line, segment, ray, geometric conic
(including circles), or polygon, the point snaps to that object. You can also place a point on the intersection of any two of those types of objects.
• If the point is close to a visible grid location in a Graphs view or the analytic window of a Geometry view, it snaps to the grid.
Drawing Lines and Segments
To create a line or segment, touch or click the initial position, and then drag to the end position.
• If the drawn line passes near an existing point, the line snaps to the point.
• If the drawn line starts close to an existing point and ends next to another existing point , it becomes a segment defined by those points.
• If the drawn line is nearly parallel or perpendicular to an existing line, segment, or side of a polygon, it aligns to that object.
Note:
The default tolerance for detecting parallel/perpendicular lines is
12.5 degrees. It is defined in a variable named ti_gg_fd.angle_tol
. You can change the tolerance in the current problem by setting this variable to a value in the range 0 through 45 (0=no parallel/perpendicular detection).
Drawing Circles and Ellipses
To create a circle or ellipse, use the touchscreen or mouse to draw the approximate shape.
• If the drawn shape is sufficiently circular, a circle is created.
• If the shape is elongated, an ellipse is created.
• If the virtual center of the drawn shape is near an existing point, the circle or ellipse is centered on that point.
Drawing Triangles
To create a triangle, draw a triangle-like shape.
Geometry Application 351
• If a drawn vertex is close to an existing point, the vertex snaps to the point.
Drawing Rectangles and Squares
To create a rectangle or square, use the touchscreen or mouse to draw the perimeter.
• If the drawn shape is nearly square, a square is created.
• If the drawn shape is elongated, a rectangle is created.
• If the center of a square is close to an existing point, the square snaps to that point.
Drawing Polygons
To create a polygon, tap or click a succession of existing points, ending on the first point you tapped.
Using Math Draw to Create Equations
In the Graphs view, Math Draw attempts to recognize certain gestures as equations, particularly analytic parabolas of the form
y=
.
Note:
The default step value for quantization of the parabola coefficients is
1/32. The denominator of this fraction is defined in a variable named
ti_gg_ fd.par_quant
. You can change the step value in the current problem by setting this variable to a value greater or equal to 2. A value of 2, for example, produces a step value of 0.5.
Using Math Draw to Measure an Angle
To measure the angle between two existing lines, use the touchscreen or mouse to draw a circle arc from one of the lines to the other.
• If the intersection point between the two lines does not exist, it is created and labeled.
• The angle is not a directed angle.
Using Math Draw to Find a Mid-point
To create a point midway between two points, tap or click point 1, point 2, and then point 1 again.
352 Geometry Application
Using Math Draw to Erase
To erase objects, use the touchscreen or mouse to drag left and right, similar to the motion of erasing a whiteboard.
• The erasure area is the bounding rectangle of the erasure gesture.
• All point objects and their dependents inside the erasure area are removed.
Basics of Working with Objects
Selecting and Deselecting Objects
You can select an individual object or multiple objects. Select multiple objects when you want to quickly move, color, or delete them together.
1.
Click an object or graph to select it.
The object flashes to indicate selection.
2.
Click any additional objects to add them to the selection.
3.
Perform the operation (such as moving or setting color).
4.
To deselect all objects, click an empty space in the work area.
Grouping and Ungrouping Geometric Objects
Grouping objects gives you a way to reselect them as a set, even after you have deselected them to work with other objects.
1.
Click each object to add it to the current selection.
The selected objects flash.
2.
Display a context menu of the selected object or objects.
3.
Click Group . You can now select all the items in the group by clicking any of its members.
4.
To split a group into individual objects, display a context menu of any of its member objects, and click Ungroup .
Deleting Objects
1.
Display the context menu of the object or objects.
2.
Click
Delete
.
Geometry Application 353
You cannot delete the origin, the axes, or points representing locked variables, even if those items are included in the selection.
Moving Objects
You can move an object, group, or combination of selected objects and groups.
Note:
If an immovable object (such as the graph axes or a point with locked coordinates) is included in a selection or group, you cannot move any of the objects. You must cancel the selection and then select only movable items.
To move this...
A multipleobject selection or group
Drag this
Any of its objects
A point
A segment or vector
A line or ray
The point
Any point other than an endpoint
The identifying point
A circle The center point
Other geometric shapes
Any position on the object except one of its defining points. For example, move a polygon by dragging any of its sides.
Constraining Object Movement
Holding down the SHIFT key before dragging lets you constrain how certain objects are drawn, moved, or manipulated.
Use the constraint feature to:
• Rescale only a single axis in the Graphs application.
• Pan the work area horizontally or vertically, depending on which direction you drag initially.
• Limit object movement to horizontal or vertical.
354 Geometry Application
• Limit point placement to 15° increments as you draw a triangle, rectangle, or polygon.
• Limit angle manipulations to 15° increments.
• Limit the radius of a resized circle to integer values.
Pinning Objects
Pinning objects prevents accidental changes as you move or manipulate other objects.
You can pin graphed functions, geometric objects, text objects, the graph axes, and the background.
1.
Select the object or objects to pin, or click an empty area if you are pinning the background.
2.
Display the context menu, and select Pin .
A pinned object displays a pin icon when you point to it.
3.
To unpin an object, display its context menu, and select Unpin .
Notes
:
• Although you cannot drag a pinned point, you can reposition it by editing its x and y coordinates.
• You cannot pan the work area while the background is pinned.
Changing the Line or Fill Color of an Object
Color changes made in the software are displayed in shades of gray when you work on documents using a TI-Nspire™ handheld that does not support color.
Color is preserved when you move documents back to the software.
1.
Select the object or objects.
2.
Display the object’s context menu, click Color , and then click Line Color or
Fill Color .
3.
Select the color to apply to the objects.
Changing the Appearance of an Object
1.
From the
Actions menu, select
Attributes
.
2.
Click the object that you want to change. You can change shapes, lines, graphs, or graph axes.
Geometry Application 355
The list of the attributes for the selected object are displayed.
3.
Press 9 and : to move through the list of attributes.
4.
At each attribute icon, press 7 or 8 to move through the options. For example, select Thick, Thin, or Medium for the Line Weight attribute.
5.
Press Enter to apply the changes.
6.
Press ESC to close the Attributes tool.
Labeling Points, Geometric Lines, and Shapes
1.
Display the context menu of the object.
2.
Click
Label
.
3.
Type the text of the label, and then press Enter .
The label attaches itself to the object and follows the object as you move it.
The label's color matches the object's color.
Measuring Objects
Measurement values update automatically as you manipulate the measured object.
Note
: Measurements of objects created in the Graphs application are displayed in generic units named
u
. Measurements of objects created in the Geometry application are displayed in centimeters (
cm
).
Measuring Length of a Segment, Circle Arc, or Vector
1.
From the Measurement menu, select Length . (In the Graphs application, click Geometry > Measurement > Length .)
2.
Click the object to display its length.
356 Geometry Application
Measuring Distance Between Two Points, a Point and a Line, or a
Point and a Circle
1.
From the Measurement menu, select Length . (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Measurement > Length
.)
2.
Click the first point.
3.
Click the second point or a point on the line or circle.
In this example, length is measured from the center of the circle to the upper left vertex of the polygon.
Measuring Circumference of a Circle or Ellipse or the Perimeter of a
Polygon, Rectangle, or Triangle
1.
From the
Measurement menu, select
Length
. (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Measurement > Length
.)
2.
Click the object to display its circumference or perimeter.
Geometry Application 357
Measuring a Side of a Triangle, Rectangle, or Polygon
1.
From the Measurement menu, select Length . (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Measurement > Length
.)
2.
Click two points on the object that form the side you want to measure.
Note:
You must click
two points
to measure a side. Clicking the side measures the entire length of the object's perimeter.
Measuring Area of a Circle, Ellipse, Polygon, Rectangle, or Triangle
Note:
You cannot measure the area of a polygon constructed using the
Segment tool.
1.
From the Measurement menu, select Area . (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Measurement > Area .)
2.
Click the object to display its area.
358 Geometry Application
Measuring Slope of a Line, Ray, Segment, or Vector
1.
From the Measurement menu, select Slope . (In the Graphs application, click Geometry > Measurement > Slope .)
2.
Click the object to display its slope.
The value is updated automatically when you manipulate the object.
Measuring Angles
Measured angles in the Geometry application range from 0° to 180°. Measured angles in the Graphs application range from 0 radians to π radians. To change the angle unit, use the Settings menu.
1.
From the Measurement menu, select Angle . (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Measurement > Angle
.)
2.
Click three locations or points to define the angle. The second click defines the vertex.
Geometry Application 359
Measuring Angles using the Directed Angle Tool
1.
From the Measurement menu, select Directed Angle . (In the Graphs application, click Geometry > Measurement > Directed Angle .)
2.
Click three locations or existing points to define the angle. The second click defines the vertex.
3.
To reverse the measurement orientation, a) On the Actions menu, select Attributes .
b) Click the angle text. For example, click
300 °.
c) Select the orientation attribute, and use the right or left arrow key to change it.
d) Press
Esc to close the Attributes tool.
360 Geometry Application
Moving a Measured Value
▶
Drag the measurement to the desired location.
Note:
If you move a measurement too far from its object, it stops following the object. However, its value continues to be updated as you manipulate the object.
Editing a Measured Length
You can set the length of a side of a Triangle, Rectangle, or Polygon by editing its measured value.
▶
Double-click the measurement, and then enter the new value.
Storing a Measured Value as a Variable
Use this method to create a variable and assign a measured value to it.
1.
Display the item's context menu, and select Store .
2.
Type a variable name for the stored measurement.
Linking a Measured Length to an Existing Variable
Use this method to assign a measured length value to an existing variable.
1.
Display the measurement's context menu, and select
Variables > Link to
.
The menu shows the list of currently defined variables.
2.
Click the name of the variable you want to link to.
Deleting a Measurement
▶
Display the measurement's context menu, and select
Delete
.
Geometry Application 361
Locking or Unlocking a Measurement
1.
Display the measurement's context menu, and select Attributes .
2.
Use the up/down arrow keys to highlight the Lock attribute.
3.
Use the left/right arrow keys to close or open the lock.
As long as the value remains locked, manipulations are not allowed that would require the measurement to change.
Transforming Objects
You can apply transformations to drawn objects in both the Graphs and
Geometry applications. If the object's points are labeled, the corresponding points in the transformed object are labeled using prime notation (
A
→
A
'). To enable automatic labeling of certain objects, see What You Must Know in this chapter.
Exploring Symmetry
1.
From the
Transformation menu, select
Symmetry
. (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Transformation > Symmetry
.)
2.
Click the object whose symmetry you want to explore.
3.
Click a location or existing point to establish the point of symmetry.
A symmetrical image of the object is displayed.
4.
Manipulate the original object or the point of symmetry to explore the symmetry.
Exploring Reflection
1.
Create a line or segment to predefine the line about which the object will be reflected.
362 Geometry Application
2.
From the Transformation menu, select Reflection . (In the Graphs application, click Geometry > Transformation > Reflection .)
3.
Click the object whose reflection you want to explore.
4.
Click the predefined reflection line or segment.
A reflected image of the object is displayed.
5.
Manipulate the original object or the line of symmetry to explore the reflection.
Exploring Translation
1.
(Optional) Create a vector to predefine the distance and direction of translation.
2.
From the
Transformation menu, select
Translation
. (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Transformation > Translation
.)
3.
Click the object whose translation you want to explore.
4.
Click the predefined vector.
—or—
Click two locations on the work area to indicate the direction and distance of translation.
A translated image of the object is displayed.
Geometry Application 363
5.
Manipulate the original object or the vector to explore the translation.
Exploring Rotation
1.
(Optional) Create an angle measurement to serve as a predefined angle of rotation.
2.
From the
Transformation menu, select
Rotation
. (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Transformation > Rotation
.)
3.
Click the object whose rotation you want to explore.
4.
Click a location or point to define the point of rotation.
5.
Click the points of the predefined angle.
—or—
Click three locations to define an angle of rotation.
A rotated image of the object is displayed.
6.
Manipulate the original object or the point of rotation to explore the rotation.
Exploring Dilation
1.
Create a Text object containing a numeric value to serve as a predefined dilation factor.
Note:
You can also use a measured length value as the dilation factor.
Keep in mind that if you use a large value, you may have to pan the display to view the dilated object.
2.
From the Transformation menu, select Dilation . (In the Graphs application, click Geometry > Transformation > Dilation .)
3.
Click the object whose dilation you want to explore.
364 Geometry Application
4.
Click a location or existing point to define the center point of dilation.
5.
Click the Text object or measurement that defines the dilation factor.
A dilated image of the object is displayed.
6.
Manipulate the original object or the center point of dilation to explore the dilation. You can also edit the dilation factor.
Exploring with Geometric Construction Tools
While a construction is in progress, a tool appears in the work area (for example, Parallel ). To cancel, press ESC .
Creating a Midpoint
This tool lets you bisect a segment or define a midpoint between any two points. The points can be on a single object, on separate objects, or on the work area.
1.
From the
Construction menu, select
Midpoint
. (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Construction > Midpoint
.)
2.
Click a point or location to define the first point.
3.
Click a second point or location to complete the midpoint.
Geometry Application 365
Creating a Parallel Line
This tool creates a parallel line with respect to any existing line. The existing line can be a Graphs axis or any side of a triangle, square, rectangle, or polygon.
1.
From the
Construction menu, select
Parallel
. (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Construction > Parallel
.)
2.
Click the object that will serve as the reference line.
3.
Click a location to create the parallel line.
You can drag the parallel line to move it. If you manipulate the reference object, the line remains parallel.
Creating a Perpendicular Line
You can create a line that is perpendicular to a reference line. The reference can be an axis, an existing line, a segment, or one side of a triangle, rectangle, or polygon.
1.
From the Construction menu, select Perpendicular . (In the Graphs application, click Geometry > Construction > Perpendicular .)
2.
Click a location or existing point through which the perpendicular line should pass.
366 Geometry Application
3.
Click the item that will serve as the reference line.
You can drag the intersection point to move the perpendicular. If you manipulate the reference object, the line remains perpendicular.
Creating a Perpendicular Bisector
You can create a perpendicular bisector on a segment, on one side of a triangle, rectangle, or polygon, or between any two points.
1.
From the Construction menu, select Perpendicular Bisector . (In the Graphs application, click Geometry > Construction > Perpendicular Bisector .)
2.
Click the item that will serve as the reference line.
—or—
Click two points to create a perpendicular bisector between them.
Bisecting an Angle
This tool creates an angle bisector. The points of the angle can be on existing objects, or they can be locations on the work area.
1.
From the
Construction menu, select
Angle Bisector
. (In the Graphs application, click Geometry > Construction > Angle Bisector .)
Geometry Application 367
2.
Click three locations or points to define the angle. The second click defines the vertex of the angle.
The angle bisector adjusts automatically as you manipulate its defining points.
Creating a Locus
The Locus tool enables you to explore the range of motion of one object with respect to another object as constrained by a shared point.
1.
Create a segment, line, or circle.
2.
Create a point on the segment, line, or circle.
3.
Create another object that uses the point created in the previous step.
368 Geometry Application
Circle created to use the defined point on the segment.
4.
From the
Construction menu, select
Locus
. (In the Graphs application, click
Geometry > Construction > Locus
.)
5.
Click the point shared by the objects.
6.
Click the object defined to share the point (this is the object to vary).
The continuous locus is displayed.
Creating a Compass
This tool operates similarly to a geometric compass used for drawing circles on paper.
1.
From the
Construction menu, select
Compass
. (In the Graphs application, click Geometry > Construction > Compass .)
2.
To set the width (radius) of the compass:
Click a segment.
—or—
Click any side of a triangle, rectangle, polygon, or regular polygon.
Geometry Application 369
—or—
Click any two existing points or locations on the work area.
3.
Click a location to establish the center of the circle and complete the construction.
The radius adjusts automatically as you manipulate the original segment, side, or points used to define the radius.
Using Geometry Trace
The Geometry Trace tool leaves a visible trail of a geometric object or function graph as it is moved or manipulated. The movement can be done manually or by
using animation . This tool is accessible in both the Graphs and Geometry
applications.
1.
From the
Trace menu, select
Geometry Trace
.
The Geometry Trace tool appears.
2.
Click the object or function that you want to trace to select it.
3.
Drag the object, or play the animation.
This example shows traces of a graphed function manipulated by dragging and a triangle manipulated by animation.
370 Geometry Application
Note:
You cannot select or manipulate the trace trail.
4.
To erase all trails, select
Erase Geometry Trace from the
Trace menu.
5.
To stop tracing, press
Esc
.
Conditional Attributes
You can cause objects to hide, show, and change color dynamically, based on specified conditions such as "r1<r2" or "sin(a1)>=cos(a2)."
For example, you might want to hide an object based on a changing measurement that you have assigned to a variable, or you might want an object’s color to change based on a "Calculate" result assigned to a variable.
Conditional behaviors can be assigned to objects or groups in the Graphing,
Plane Geometry, and 3D Graphing views.
Setting Conditional Attributes of an Object
You can set conditions of a selected object either by using its context menu or by activating the Set Conditions tool from the
Actions menu and then selecting the object. These instructions describe using the context menu.
1.
Select the object or group.
2.
Display the object’s context menu, and click
Conditions
.
The conditional attributes are displayed.
Geometry Application 371
For 2D objects For 3D objects
3.
(Optional) In the
Show When field, enter an expression specifying the conditions during which the object will be shown. Anytime the condition is not satisfied, the object will be hidden.
You can specify tolerance by using compound conditionals in the
Show
When input field. For example, area>=4 and area<=6.
Note:
If you need to see conditionally hidden objects temporarily, click
Actions > Hide/Show
. To return to normal viewing, press
ESC
.
4.
(Optional) Enter numbers or expressions that evaluate to numbers in the applicable color fields, such as
Line Color or
Mesh Color
. To see a map of color values, click the
Colors button.
Map of conditional color values
5.
Click
OK in the Conditional Attributes dialog box to apply the conditions.
372 Geometry Application
Hiding Objects in the Geometry Application
The Hide/Show tool reveals objects you have previously selected as hidden and lets you select which objects to show or hide.
1.
From the
Actions menu, select
Hide/Show
.
The Hide/Show tool appears, and currently hidden items (if any) are shown dimmed.
2.
Click objects to toggle their hide/show status.
3.
Press Esc to complete your selections and close the tool.
All objects you selected as hidden objects disappear.
4.
To view the hidden objects temporarily or restore them as shown objects, open the Hide/Show tool.
Customizing the Geometry Work Area
Inserting a Background Image
You can
as a background for any Graphs or Geometry page.
1.
From the
Insert menu, click
Image
.
Geometry Application 373
2.
Navigate to the image you want to insert, select it, and then click Open .
Adding a Text Object to the Work Area
Use the Text tool to add numeric values, formulas, observations, or other explanatory information to the Geometry work area.
1.
From the Actions menu, select Text .
2.
Click the location for the text.
3.
Type the text in the box that appears, and then press
Enter
.
To move a text object, drag it. To edit the text, double-click it. To delete a text object, display its context menu, and select
Delete
.
Changing the Attributes of Numeric Text
If you enter a numeric value as text, you can lock it or set its format and displayed precision.
1.
From the Actions menu, select Attributes .
2.
Click the numeric text to display its list of attributes.
3.
Press 9 and : to move through the list.
4.
At each attribute icon, press 7 or 8 to move through the options. For example, select
0 through
9 as the precision.
5.
Press Enter to apply the changes.
6.
Press Esc to close the Attributes tool.
Animating Points on Objects
You can animate any point created as a point on an object or graph. Multiple points can be animated simultaneously.
374 Geometry Application
Animating a Point
1.
From the Actions menu, select Attributes .
2.
Click the point to display its attributes.
3.
Press ▼ to select the animation attributes.
4.
Press ◄ or ► to choose either unidirectional or alternating animation.
5.
Type a value to set the animation speed. Any nonzero speed begins the animation. To reverse the direction, enter a negative value.
6.
Press Enter to display the animation controls
7.
Press ESC to close the Attributes tool.
.
Pausing and Resuming All Animations
▶
To pause all animations on a page, click Pause
▶
To resume all animations, click Play .
.
Resetting All Animations
Resetting pauses all animations and returns all animated points to the positions they occupied when they were first animated.
▶
To reset animation, click Reset .
Changing or Stopping the Animation of a Point
1.
Click
Reset to stop all animation.
2.
From the Actions menu, select Attributes .
3.
Click the point to display its attributes.
4.
Select the animation attribute, and type a new animation speed. To stop the point’s animation, enter zero.
Note:
If other animated points exist, the animation controls remain in the work area.
Adjusting Variable Values with a Slider
In the Graphs, Geometry, and Data & Statistics applications, a slider control lets you adjust or animate the value of a numeric variable.
Geometry Application 375
Horizontal slider for adjusting variable
v1
.
Minimized vertical slider for adjusting variable
v2
.
Inserting a Slider
1.
Start in a Graphs, Geometry, or Data & Statistics page.
2.
From the
Actions menu, select
Insert Slider
.
The Slider Settings screen opens.
376 Geometry Application
3.
Enter desired values.
4.
Click OK .
The slider is displayed in the work area. Handles on the slider let you move or stretch it. To remove the handles, click an empty space in the work area.
5.
To adjust the variable, slide the pointer (or click the arrows on a minimized slider).
Working with the Slider
Use the options on the context menu to move or delete the slider, and to start or stop its animation. You can also change the slider's settings.
1.
Display the slider's context menu.
Geometry Application 377
2.
Click an option to select it.
Using the Calculate Tool
The Calculate tool is available in the Graphs and Geometry applications. It lets you evaluate a math expression you have entered as a text object.
The following example uses the Calculate tool to sum the measured angles of a triangle.
1.
Using the
Shapes
menu, create a triangle, and then measure its angles.
Tip:
You can enable options to automatically label points and to force geometric triangle angles to integers. For more information, see What You
Must Know, in this chapter.
2.
From the
Actions menu, click
Text
.
3.
Click a location for the text, and type the formula for the calculation.
In this example, the formula sums three terms.
378 Geometry Application
4.
From the
Actions menu, click
Calculate
.
5.
Click the formula you created.
You are prompted to select a value for each term in the formula.
6.
Click each angle measurement when prompted.
Note:
If you have stored a measurement as a variable, you can select it when prompted by clicking . If the name of a stored measurement matches a term in the formula, you can press “L” when prompted for that term.
After you have selected the third term, the calculation result attaches itself to the pointer.
7.
Position the result, and press Enter to anchor it as a new text object.
Geometry Application 379
380
Lists & Spreadsheet Application
The Lists & Spreadsheet application gives you a place to work with tabular data. It lets you:
• Store numeric data, text, or math expressions.
• Define a table cell in terms of the contents of other cells.
• Define an entire column based on the contents of another column.
• Share columns of data as list variables with other TI-Nspire™ applications.
Also share individual cells as variables.
• Work with variables created in the Graphs & Geometry and Calculator applications.
• Collect tables of real-world data from sensors.
• Generate columns of data-based sequences that you define.
• Plot table data using the Data & Statistics application.
• Generate a table of values for a function.
• Copy and paste table data from the Lists & Spreadsheet application to other computer applications, such as TI Connect™ software and Excel® spreadsheet software.
• Perform statistical analysis on lists of data.
Adding a Lists & Spreadsheet Page
▶
To start a new document with a blank Lists & Spreadsheet page:
From the main
File menu, click
New Document
, and then click
Lists & Spreadsheet .
Handheld: Press c
, and select Lists & Spreadsheet .
▶
To add a Lists & Spreadsheet page in the current problem of an existing document:
From the toolbar, click
Insert > Lists & Spreadsheet
.
Handheld: Press
~ and select Insert >Lists & Spreadsheet .
Lists & Spreadsheet Application 381
À
Lists & Spreadsheet tools (available when a Lists & Spreadsheet work area is active)
Á
Sample Lists & Spreadsheet work area
Â
Lists & Spreadsheet entry line
Ã
Lists & Spreadsheet data plotted in the Data & Statistics application
Creating and Sharing Spreadsheet Data as Lists
You can define a column as a named list of elements of the same type of data.
After defining a list, you can link to it from the Graphs & Geometry, Calculator, or Data & Statistics applications, and from other instances of the
Lists & Spreadsheet application within the current problem.
Note:
Lists & Spreadsheet can display a maximum of 2500 elements in a list.
Sharing a Spreadsheet Column as a List Variable
You share a column of data by naming it as a list variable.
Note:
Avoid defining variables that use the same names as those used for statistical analysis. In some cases, an error condition could occur.
Variable names used for statistical analysis are listed in the TI-Nspire™
Reference Guide, under the stat.results
entry.
1.
Click the cell to move to the column’s name cell (the top cell of the column).
—or—
382 Lists & Spreadsheet Application
Press ▲ as necessary.
2.
Type a name for the list variable, and press
Enter
.
The column is now available as a list variable to other TI-Nspire™ applications.
3.
Create elements in the list the same as you would create data in spreadsheet cells. For example, you can type the data into each cell or use a formula to generate a column of data.
Notes:
• If a variable with the name you specified already exists in the current problem, Lists & Spreadsheet displays an error message.
• When you select the column formula cell of a list, it displays the list name in an expression similar to width:=.
• Lists can contain empty elements (denoted by “_”) .
• You can refer to a specific element in a named list from the Calculator application. Use the list name and the element’s position within the list. In a list named Heights, for example, refer to the first element as Heights[1].
The expression Heights[2] refers to the second element, and so on.
Linking to an Existing List Variable
Linking a column to an existing list variable lets you easily view and edit the values in the list. The list can be any shared list in the current problem and can be defined in Graphs & Geometry, Calculator, or any instance of
Lists & Spreadsheet.
After you link a column to a list, Lists & Spreadsheet automatically shows any changes that you make to the list with other TI-Nspire™ applications.
1.
Click the column formula cell (the second cell from the top) of the column that you want to link to the variable.
2.
Type the name of the list variable you want to link to.
—or—
Click on the toolbar (press h on the handheld), click
Link To
, and click the variable you want to link to.
3.
Press
Enter
.
The column shows the list elements.
Lists & Spreadsheet Application 383
Notes:
• You cannot link to the same variable multiple times on the same page.
• Use caution if you link to a system variable. Doing so could prevent the variable from being updated by the system. System variables include
ans
and statistics results (such as
stat.results
,
stat.RegEqn
, and
stat.Resid
).
Inserting an Element in a List
When you insert an element in a list, the remaining elements shift downward to create space. No other columns are affected.
▶
Click Insert > Insert Cell .
Deleting an Element from a List
When you delete an element, the remaining list elements shift upward to close the gap. The upward shift affects only the selected column.
1.
Click the cell of the element to delete.
2.
Open the context menu for the cell, and click Delete Cell .
Note:
If you press Del or Backspace to clear the contents of the cell instead of deleting the list element, the element is assigned a value of 0 (zero).
The remaining list elements do not shift.
Creating Spreadsheet Data
You can type numeric values, text, or formulas into body cells. Column formula
cells can contain formulas only. (For more information, see Generating
Data Examples
Entry
1.234
“Green”
Remarks
Simple numeric entry
Text - Enclose categorical data (such as the names of colors used in a study) within quotes to distinguish them from variable names.
Handheld: Press
/ r to enter quoted data.
384 Lists & Spreadsheet Application
Entry Remarks
=a3*length Formula - Consists of an “=” symbol followed by an expression.
You can type the expression or use the Catalog and expression templates to build it. For more information, see the
Calculator section.
To ensure a decimal result instead of a fraction, type one of the integers in the expression as a decimal. For example, type 1.0
instead of 1 .
Typing a Math Expression, Text, or Spreadsheet Formula
1.
Double-click the cell to select it and put it in edit mode.
Note:
If the cell is already selected, you can press
Enter or click the entry line.
2.
Type the expression, text, or formula. Be sure to enclose text entries in quotes and start formula entries with an “=” symbol.
As you type the data, it appears in the cell and on the entry line simultaneously.
3.
Press Enter to complete the entry and move down to the next cell.
—or—
Press
Tab to complete the entry and move right to the next cell.
The Lists & Spreadsheet application automatically recalculates any cells that are dependent on the cell you entered. If you have shared the cell, and other TI-Nspire™ applications are linked to the cell, the other applications are also updated.
Note:
Empty cells in a spreadsheet display as a void represented by an underscore (_). The underscore is automatically added to empty cells when a list is named or when an empty cell is referenced in a formula.
When you plan to perform calculations on a range of cells, be sure to notice the location of void cells. Cells without a value can affect calculations. For example, if you include a void cell in the range for a sum such as “=b2+c2,” the result of the calculation is void (_).
Lists & Spreadsheet Application 385
Inserting a Cell Range into a Formula
The Select Range feature lets you insert a cell range (such as a1:b3) into a formula by selecting the range instead of typing cell addresses into an argument.
Suppose you want to calculate the mean of a range of cells.
1.
Select the cell that will contain the result.
2.
From the
Data menu, click
List Math > Mean
.
An editable formula appears in the cell.
3.
Click
Actions > Select > Select Formula Range
.
4.
Drag a selection rectangle around the range of values for which you want to calculate the mean.
Handheld: Move to the first cell in the range, hold g
, and press the arrow keys.
The formula is updated as you select the cells.
386 Lists & Spreadsheet Application
5.
Press
Enter to complete the formula and display the result.
Navigating in a Spreadsheet
A spreadsheet includes a column letter at the top of each column and a row number on the left of each row. The top two rows and the row numbers remain in place as you scroll. You can name a column of data to make it available as a list variable in TI-Nspire™ applications.
À
Column reference letter
Á
Column name cell for defining a column as a list variable
Â
Column formula cell for generating a column of data
Ã
Row reference number
Lists & Spreadsheet Application 387
Ä
Body Cells - Any empty (void) element in a list is displayed as an underscore (“
_
”). Any value that cannot fit in a cell’s width is truncated
(143489...
). Hover over the cell to display the complete value.
Å
Entry line (includes cell reference for current cell)
You can select any cell to view or edit its contents. When a spreadsheet is larger than the Lists & Spreadsheet work area, you can move to different parts of the spreadsheet by using the
Tab key and by pressing shortcut keys.
▶
Press Tab to move between the body of the spreadsheet (data zone) and the column names and formulas (naming zone).
▶
Press ◄, ►, ▲, and ▼ to move through the spreadsheet one cell at a time
(move between cells within a zone). The arrow keys move the cursor from cell to cell and scroll as necessary to keep the selected cell in view.
▶
Move across several cells at a time by pressing
Page up
,
Page Dn
,
Home
, and End .
Handheld: Press
/ 9
(Page up ),
/ 3
( Page Dn ),
/ 7
( Home ), and
/ 1
(
End
) keys.
▶
Use the
Go To command on the
Actions menu to select a specific cell. Type the cell’s column letter and row number (such as G16).
▶
Press Enter to put the selected cell in Edit mode.
▶
Drag the scroll bar to move vertically without changing the cell or block of cells selected.
Working with Cells
Working with Color
The Lists & Spreadsheet application displays black text and cells with a white background by default. You can change the color of cells and text to emphasize or distinguish data. The colors and the order in which color is assigned is based on the TI-Nspire™ color palette.
Changing the Fill Color of Cells
1.
Select the cells to fill with color. You can choose one or more cells in any adjacent cells, columns, or rows.
2.
Access the context menu and click Color > Fill Color .
388 Lists & Spreadsheet Application
3.
Click the color to apply to the cells.
Note:
If you combine color text and color cells, choose colors carefully to ensure visibility as you work with documents in the software and on the handheld.
Changing the Color of Text
1.
Select the cells that contain the text to change. You can choose one or more cells in any adjacent cells, columns, or rows.
2.
Access the context menu and click Color > Text Color .
3.
Click the color to apply to the text. Empty cells in the selection area show the color change when text is added.
Understanding Cell References in Formulas
Use a cell reference to use data from a cell or range of cells in a formula. The calculation results update automatically when values in cells change.
Relative references include only the cell’s column letter and row number (for example, E7). A relative reference describes where a cell is in relation to other cells of the spreadsheet. The Lists & Spreadsheet application keeps track of relative cell references and adjusts the reference automatically when surrounding cells shift (because of actions you perform, such as column deletions or cell insertions).
Follow these guidelines to specify cell references:
• Include a column letter and row number in a relative reference.
• Include the $ symbol before both the column letter and the row number to specify an absolute reference.
• Include a colon (:) between a two cell reference to specify a range of cells.
Absolute references include the $ symbol before the column letter and before the row number (for example, $B$16). Absolute references always refer to the cell in a specific position in the spreadsheet. The application does not automatically adjust the cell reference when cell positions change.
Typing a Cell Reference in a Formula
1.
Double-click the cell and type the formula. For more information, see the
Calculator section.
Lists & Spreadsheet Application 389
2.
Move to the appropriate position in the formula and type the cell reference.
Use the format for a relative reference (B3), absolute reference ($B$2), or range of cells (A1:A4).
Note:
You can click Recalculate on the Actions menu to update all references and formula results in a spreadsheet.
Deleting the Contents of Cells
1.
Click a cell to select it.
—or—
Use the arrow keys to move to the cell.
Note:
If you are deleting a range of cells, select a cell at one end or corner of the range, and then use Shift with the arrow keys to select the remaining cells in the range.
2.
Press Del .
Note:
Any cell that uses a formula with an absolute reference to deleted data shows an error. A cell that uses a formula with a relative reference to deleted data is updated to use the data currently in the referenced position.
Copying Cells
When you copy cells, any formulas in the original cells are copied to the destination cells.
1.
Click the cell to copy.
—or—
Use the arrow keys to move to the cell.
Note:
If you are copying a range of cells, select a cell at one end or corner of the range, and then use Shift with the arrow keys to select the remaining cells in the range.
2.
Use the standard key shortcut for copying a selection.
Windows®: Press
Ctrl
+
C
.
Mac®: Press “+
C
.
Handheld: Press
/ C
.
390 Lists & Spreadsheet Application
3.
Click the cell where you want to duplicate the copied cell. If you are copying a block of data, click the cell that will become the upper left corner of the copied block.
4.
Paste the selected cells:
Windows®: Press
Ctrl
+
V
.
Mac®: Press “+
V
.
Handheld: Press
/ V
.
Important:
Paste copied data into a cell that is in the same mode as the cell from which the data was originally copied. Otherwise, a formula could paste as a string enclosed in quotes instead of a formula.
Filling Adjacent Cells
You can repeat a cell’s formula or value throughout adjacent cells within the row or column. You can also repeat a range of cells horizontally or vertically. If you fill from a range that contains a simple sequence (such as 2, 4, 6), the sequence continues in the filled cells.
1.
Click the cell that contains the value or formula to repeat.
Note:
If you are repeating a range of cells, drag to select the range, or select a cell at one end of the range, and then use
Shift with the arrow keys to select the remaining cells.
2.
Click
Data > Fill
.
3.
Use the arrow keys, or drag to select the range that will hold the repetitions.
4.
Press Enter .
The value, formula, or pattern that you selected for duplication is repeated over the selected range.
Sharing a Cell Value as a Variable
You can share the value of a cell with other TI-Nspire™ applications by storing it as a variable. When you define or refer to a shared cell or variable in
Lists & Spreadsheet, the name is preceded with an apostrophe (‘).
1.
Click the cell that you want to share.
2.
Click on the toolbar, and click
Store Var to store the cell’s value.
Handheld: Press
/ h or press h and select Store Var ).
Lists & Spreadsheet Application 391
A formula is inserted into the cell with
var
as a placeholder for a variable name.
3.
Type over the letters “
var
” with a name for the variable, and press
Enter
.
Use a variable name that does not exist in the current problem.
The value is shown in bold to indicate that it is now available as a variable to other TI-Nspire™ applications.
Linking a Cell to a Variable
When you link a cell to a variable, Lists & Spreadsheet keeps the cell value updated to reflect the current value of the variable. The variable can be any variable in the current problem and can be defined in Graphs & Geometry,
Calculator, Data & Statistics, or any instance of Lists & Spreadsheet.
1.
Click the cell that you want to link to a variable.
2.
Click on the toolbar, and click
Link to
.
Handheld: Press
/ h or press h and select Link to .
The VarLink menu opens.
3.
Under
Link To
, press ▲, and ▼ to scroll to the name of the variable.
4.
Press
Enter
.
The cell shows the value of the variable.
Note:
Use caution if you link to a system variable. Linking could prevent the variable from being updated by the system. System variables include statistics results (such as
Stat.RegEqn
,
Stat.dfError
, and
Stat.Resid
) and finance-solver variables (such as
tvm.n
,
tvm.pmt
, and
tvm.fv
).
Working with Rows and Columns of Data
Selecting a row or column
▶
To select a column, move to the top of the column and click the column reference letter. To select a row, move to the leftmost cell of the row and click the row reference number. Press
Esc to cancel the selection.
Handheld:
Hold down ▲ to move past the top cell, or hold down ◄ to move past the leftmost cell.
392 Lists & Spreadsheet Application
▶
To extend a selection to adjacent rows or columns, hold down Shift and press ◄, ►, ▲, or ▼.
Resizing a Row or Column
1.
Click the row or column that you want to resize.
2.
From the
Actions menu, select
Resize
, and then select an option.
3.
Choose a resizing option for a column or row.
For a column, choose Resize Column Width , Maximize Column Width , or Minimize Column Width .
For a row, you can choose
Resize Row Height
.
The tools that minimize and maximize the column width work automatically. You must manually adjust the size to use the Resize Column
Width and Resize Row Height tools.
4.
To resize manually, use ◄ and ► to resize the column, or use ▲ and ▼ to resize the row, and then press Enter .
Inserting an Empty Row or Column
1.
Click a column or row where you want to insert the new data.
2.
From the
Insert menu, select either
Row or
Column
.
If you are inserting a row, the remaining rows shift down to create space for the new row.
If you are inserting a column, the remaining columns shift right to create space.
Note:
If other cells contain formulas with relative references to a displaced row or column, those references adjust accordingly.
Deleting Entire Rows or Columns
You can delete a row, column, group of rows, or group of columns. When you delete a row or column, the remaining rows or columns move up or left to fill the gap.
1.
Click the column or row that you want to delete.
2.
(Optional) To select adjacent rows or columns to delete, hold down Shift and press ◄, ►, ▲, or ▼.
3.
Display the context menu.
Lists & Spreadsheet Application 393
Windows®: Right-click the selected row.
Mac®: Hold the “ key, and click the selected row.
Handheld: Press
/ b
.
4.
On the context menu, select
Delete Row
.
The selected rows or columns are deleted.
Note:
If other cells contain formulas that refer to the deleted row or column, those cells show an error. Relative references to cells whose positions have changed because of a deletion adjust accordingly.
Copying Rows or Columns
1.
Click the row number to copy a row, or click the column letter to copy a column.
2.
(Optional) To select adjacent rows or columns to copy, hold down
Shift and press ◄, ►, ▲, or ▼.
3.
Copy the row or column:
Windows®: Press Ctrl + C .
Mac®: Press “+ C .
Handheld: Press
/ C
.
4.
Move to any cell in the row or column where you want to place the copied items.
5.
Paste the row or column:
Windows®: Press Ctrl + V .
Mac®: Press “+ V .
Handheld: Press
/ V
.
The copied row or column is pasted in place, replacing the previous contents.
Note:
If you copy a named column, it is pasted with the name removed to prevent a variable conflict.
Moving a Column
1.
Click the column that you want to move.
2.
From the
Actions menu, select
Move Column
.
394 Lists & Spreadsheet Application
An insertion bar appears.
3.
Press ◄ and ► to place the insertion bar at the column’s new position, and then press
Enter
.
Note:
Relative references to any cell in a position is affected by the move adjust accordingly.
Displaying Results as Exact or Approximate
You can choose to display a column’s calculated results in Exact (fraction) or
Approximate (decimal) form. This affects only the values calculated from a formula.
1.
Select the column by clicking the reference letter at the top of the column.
Handheld: Hold down ▲ to move past the top cell.
2.
Display the context menu for the column.
3.
On the context menu, click either
Data > Exact or
Data > Approximate
.
Note:
To restore the column results to the document’s default setting, select the column and click
Data > Restore Document Setting
.
Clearing Column Data
The Clear Data command lets you remove the data from selected columns.
Clear Data does not delete the column, and it does not clear a column’s name or formula.
After clearing the data, Lists & Spreadsheet recalculates column formulas for the selected columns. This makes Clear Data useful for capturing a fresh set of data from another application or selectively generating a fresh column of random numbers.
1.
Click the column or columns that you want to clear.
2.
From the
Data menu, select
Clear Data
.
Note:
If a recalculated formula produces the same data as before, it may appear that the Clear Data command has failed.
Sorting Data
You can sort a selected area of the spreadsheet in ascending or descending order. You select which column in the selected area will be used as the key for the sort. When the sort moves data up or down in the key column, the
Lists & Spreadsheet Application 395
corresponding data in the other selected columns is also moved up or down.
This preserves the integrity of each row.
Note:
Sorting is based on numeric values. If you select a key column that contains text, you could get unexpected results.
1.
Select the range of cells.
2.
From the
Actions menu, select
Sort
.
The Sort dialog box opens.
3.
Click the column letter to use for ordering.
4.
Click
Descending or
Ascending as the sort method, and then click
OK
.
Note:
Sorting a column that is defined by a formula will remove the formula, because it may not be valid after the sort.
Generating Columns of Data
You can create a column of values based on the contents of another column.
You can also create a column based on any of several types of sequential data.
396 Lists & Spreadsheet Application
Entering a formula in a column’s formula cell tells the Lists & Spreadsheet application that you want to apply the formula to all cells in the column, not just to a single cell.
À
Column formula based on a variable
Á
Column formula based on another column (column A)
Â
Column formula that generates a sequence
Notes:
• If you generate data in a column that already contains one or more cell values, Lists & Spreadsheet asks for confirmation before replacing the existing values. Proceeding removes all of the existing values in the column.
• If you edit a cell manually in a column of generated data,
Lists & Spreadsheet asks for confirmation before replacing the generated data. Proceeding removes the generated data for the entire column.
Creating Column Values Based on Another Column
1.
Click the column formula cell (the second cell from the top) of the column where you want to use a formula.
Lists & Spreadsheet inserts the leading equal sign (
=
) for the formula. If the column is a named list, Lists & Spreadsheet inserts
listname
:=
followed by the cursor.
2.
Type the expression for the formula after the = and press
Enter
Use brackets ([]) after any column letter you include in the formula. For
Lists & Spreadsheet Application 397
example, type =a[]^2 to create a column of values in which each cell is the square of the corresponding cell of column A.
Lists & Spreadsheet shows the formula in the formula cell and fills the column with the results.
Generating a Column of Random Numbers
This example generates a column of 20 random integers in the range 1 through 6.
1.
Click the column formula cell (the second cell from the top) of the column.
Lists & Spreadsheet inserts the leading equal sign (
=
) for the formula. If the column is a named list, Lists & Spreadsheet inserts
listname
:=
followed by the cursor.
2.
After the equal sign, type RandInt(1,6,20).
Note:
You can also use the Catalog or click
Data > Random > Integer to insert the
RandInt() function.
3.
Press
Enter to generate the numbers.
4.
Generate (Recalculate) a new set of random numbers:
Windows®: Press Ctrl + R .
398 Lists & Spreadsheet Application
Mac®: Press “+ R .
Handheld: Press
/ R
.
Generating a Numerical Sequence
1.
Click any cell in the column in which you want to generate the sequence.
2.
From the Data menu, select Generate Sequence .
The Sequence dialog box opens.
3.
Type the
Formula that will be applied to the column values.
4.
Type any Initial Terms required by the sequence. Separate them with commas.
5.
Type a starting value for the independent variable ( n0 ).
6.
Type a maximum number of values to be generated ( nMax
).
7.
Type the step value ( nStep
).
8.
(Optional) Type a maximum value for the sequence in the Ceiling Value field.
9.
Click OK .
Lists & Spreadsheet shows the formula in the formula cell and fills the column with the results.
Lists & Spreadsheet Application 399
Graphing Spreadsheet Data
You can graph the data in a spreadsheet using Quick Graph or Summary Plot.
Lists & Spreadsheet cells that contain no data are not represented by data points on graphs.
Using Quick Graph
You can easily create a dot plot of the data in one column or a scatter plot of two adjacent columns by using the Quick Graph feature. This feature displays the graphed data using the Data & Statistics application.
To create a scatter plot:
1.
Name both of the columns to declare them as lists.
2.
Select both columns.
400 Lists & Spreadsheet Application
3.
From the Data menu, select Quick Graph .
A Data & Statistics application is added to the page with the plotted data.
The leftmost of the two lists is plotted on the x axis, and the other list is plotted on the y axis.
4.
(Optional) Use the Data & Statistics features to analyze or visually enhance the graph.
Note:
For more information, see Using Data and Statistics.
Lists & Spreadsheet Application 401
Creating a Summary Plot from a Summary Table
In this example, you create a summary table from raw data, and then use the table to generate a summary plot. For more information, see Using
Data & Statistics.
raw data summary table for eye color based on raw data
A summary table contains an X (or Y) List and a Summary List.
• The X (or Y) List contains numeric or string values (such as 1999 or
“color”). Numeric values result in a histogram. String values identify the categories for a bar chart.
• The Summary List contains numeric values (such as count, frequency, or probability) for each element in the other list.
To Create a Summary Plot:
Note:
For situations in which you already have a summary table, you can skip the first two steps.
402 Lists & Spreadsheet Application
1.
Create a list that holds the category identifiers. For this example, name the list “color” and type strings for eye color. Enclose category names in quotes to prevent them from being interpreted as variables.
2.
Create the summary list. For this example, name the list “counts” and type the total count for each of the eye colors.
3.
Select either list by clicking the top cell of the column and pressing ▲.
4.
From the
Data menu, select
Summary Plot
.
The Summary Plot dialog box opens.
5.
If necessary, use Tab and the arrow keys to select the correct lists for X List and Summary List .
6.
In the Display On field, select how to display the summary plot in the
Data & Statistics application.
• Select Split Page to place the chart on half of the current page.
• Select
New Page to add the chart on a new page.
Lists & Spreadsheet Application 403
The summary plot is displayed with the list names along the axes and a summary plot symbol in the lower left corner of the chart window.
Note:
In this example, the X List contains string data, so the summary plot displays as a bar chart. The category strings from the list display beneath the bars.
Exchanging Data with Other Computer Software
You can use the TI-Nspire™ desktop software to copy table data to and from software outside the TI-Nspire™ applications, such as TI DataEditor (in the
TI Connect™ software) and Excel® spreadsheet software.
For example, you can copy:
• The values of individual cells, a range of cells, or an entire list from
TI DataEditor.
• The values (not the underlying formulas) of individual cells, a range of cells, or an entire column from an Excel® spreadsheet.
• A number from TI DataEditor.
• The value of a matrix from TI DataEditor.
Example - Copying Data from TI DataEditor
1.
Open the TI Connect™ software.
2.
Display the TI DataEditor.
3.
If necessary, open the file containing the number, list, or matrix that you want to copy.
4.
Drag to select the values that you want to copy. To copy an entire list, click the top cell in the list.
404 Lists & Spreadsheet Application
5.
Click Edit > Copy .
6.
In Lists & Spreadsheet, click the cell where you want the data to be pasted.
If you have copied a range of cells, they will be pasted so that the upperleft corner of the range is positioned at the selected cell. Any data in those cells will be overwritten.
7.
Click
Edit > Paste
.
Copying Cells from an Excel® Spreadsheet
You can copy up to 26 columns and 2500 rows from an Excel® spreadsheet to a Lists & Spreadsheet application.
1.
Drag to select the values that you want to copy from the Excel® spreadsheet. To copy an entire column, click the column identifier at the top of the column.
Note:
If you select non-contiguous columns in the Excel® spreadsheet, they will be pasted as contiguous columns in Lists & Spreadsheet.
2.
Use the standard key shortcut for copying a selection.
Windows®: Press
Ctrl
+
C
.
Mac®: Press “+ C .
Lists & Spreadsheet Application 405
3.
In Lists & Spreadsheet, click the cells where you want the data to be pasted.
If you are copying a range of cells, they will be pasted so that the upper-left corner of the range is positioned at the selected cell. Any data in those cells in will be overwritten.
4.
Paste the data.
Windows®: Press
Ctrl
+
V
.
Mac®: Press “+ V .
Handheld: Press
/ V
.
Note:
Categorical data must be enclosed in quotes (“ “) after the data is pasted.
Capturing Data from Graphs & Geometry
You can use Lists & Spreadsheet application to capture information about objects in the Graphs & Geometry application. For example, you could track changes in the area of a triangle as you change the length of a side in the
Graphs & Geometry application.
Captured values replace values in the column. If you prefer, you can remove all data from a column before starting a new capture by clicking Clear Data on the
Data menu.
Capturing Data Manually
1.
Make sure the data value that you want to capture is linked to a variable name.
2.
Click the column formula cell (the second cell from the top) of the column in which you want to capture the values.
Note:
Captured values replace values in the column.
3.
Click
Data > Data Capture >Manual
.
A capture expression is inserted into the column formula cell with var as a placeholder for the name of the variable you are capturing.
406 Lists & Spreadsheet Application
4.
Replace the letters “
var
” with the name of the variable to capture from
Graphs & Geometry. For example, type area.
The formula cell now contains an expression similar to =capture
(area,0)
.
Note:
The argument “0” tells Lists & Spreadsheet that you want to trigger each capture manually.
5.
Press Enter .
6.
From the Graphs & Geometry application, change the object with a measured value stored as the variable (area, in this example) referenced in the data capture expression.
7.
Each time you are ready to capture the current value of area, press the capture keys.
Windows®: Press Ctrl + .
(the period key).
Mac®: Hold down “ and press
.
(the period key).
Handheld: Press
/ ^
.
The current
area
value is added to the end of the list as a list element.
Capturing Data Automatically
When you capture data automatically, you can specify that you want the captures to be triggered by:
• Changes in the captured variable only.
Lists & Spreadsheet Application 407
• Changes in the captured variable or additional variables.
This lets you set up multiple columns of synchronized captures, such as the x and y coordinates of a moving object.
1.
Clear all columns that you will be using for the captured data.
2.
Make sure any data values that you want to capture are linked to variable names.
3.
Click the column formula cell (the second cell from the top) of the column in which you want to capture the values.
4.
Click Data >Data Capture >Automatic .
A capture expression is inserted into the column formula cell with
var
as a placeholder for the name of the variable you are capturing.
5.
Replace the letters “var” with the name of the variable to capture. For example, type objpathX. Alternatively, you can select the variable name from the Variables menu.
The formula cell now contains an expression similar to =capture
(objpathX,1)
.
Note:
The argument “
1
” tells Lists & Spreadsheet that you want the captures to be triggered by the variable change.
6.
If you want the capture to also be triggered by changes in an additional variable or variables, type a comma after the
1
, and then type the variable name or the name of a list that itemizes the variables.
408 Lists & Spreadsheet Application
The formula cell will contain an expression similar to =capture
(objpathX,1,objpathY)
.
7.
Press
Enter to complete the formula.
8.
If you are capturing multiple columns of synchronized data, set up the additional columns. For example, you might set up a second capture variable using
=capture(objpathY,1,objpathX)
.
9.
When you are ready to capture the values, begin moving the object or start the animation that affects it in Graphs & Geometry.
Each captured value is added to the end of the list.
Using Table Data for Statistical Analysis
Tools on the Statistics menu provide access to wizards that help you perform statistical analyses on the data in table columns. You specify the location of the data, and Lists & Spreadsheet stores the results in two columns: one for the result names, and one for the corresponding values.
Plotting Statistical Data
Some statistics wizards include a
Draw check box. By default, the box is not selected. Selecting this box creates a Data & Statistics work area on the page, displays the calculated results in Lists & Spreadsheet, and draws the results of the statistical analysis in the Data & Statistics work area.
Note:
For functions that support the Draw option, the option is available only if you type the function in a column formula cell.
Lists & Spreadsheet Application 409
Draw check box (as shown in the z Test wizard).
Statistics Input Descriptions
The following table describes the different inputs used in Lists & Spreadsheet wizards.
Input
m
0 s
List
Frequency List v, Sx, n s1 s2
List 1, List 2
Description
Hypothesized value of the population mean that you are testing.
The known population standard deviation; must be a real number > 0.
The name of the list containing the data you are testing.
The name of the list containing the frequency values for the data in
List
.
Default=1. All elements must be integers | 0. The frequency values can also be typed as a list, in the format {1, 1, 3, 2}.
Summary statistics (mean, standard deviation, and sample size) for the one-sample tests and intervals.
The known population standard deviation from the first population for the two-sample tests and intervals.
Must be a real number > 0.
The known population standard deviation from the second population for the two-sample tests and intervals.
Must be a real number > 0.
The names of the lists containing the
410 Lists & Spreadsheet Application
Input
Frequency 1,
Frequency 2 v1, Sx1,
n
1, v2,
Sx2,
n
2
Pooled p x n
0
x1
Description
data you are testing for the twosample tests and intervals.
The names of the lists containing the frequencies for the data in
List 1 and
List 2 for the two-sample tests and intervals. Defaults=1. All elements must be integers | 0.
Summary statistics (mean, standard deviation, and sample size) for sample one and sample two in twosample tests and intervals.
Specifies whether variances are to be pooled for 2-Sample t Test and
2-Sample t Interval .
The expected sample proportion for
1-Prop z Test . Must be a real number, such that 0 < p
0
< 1.
The count of successes in the sample for the 1-Prop z Test and
1-Prop z Interval.
Must be an integer | 0.
The count of observations in the sample for the 1-Prop z Test and
1-Prop z Interval . Must be an integer > 0.
The count of successes from sample one for the 2-Prop z Test and
2-Prop z Interval . Must be an integer | 0.
Lists & Spreadsheet Application 411
Input
x2 n1 n2
C-Level
RegEQ
Description
The count of successes from sample two for the
2-Prop z Test and
2-Prop z Interval
. Must be an integer | 0.
The count of observations in sample one for the
2-Prop z Test and
2-Prop z Interval . Must be an integer
> 0.
The count of observations in sample two for the 2-Prop z Test and
2-Prop z Interval . Must be an integer
> 0.
The confidence level for the interval instructions. Must be | 0 and < 100. If it is | 1, it is assumed to be given as a percent and is divided by 100.
Default=0.95.
The prompt for the name of the function where the calculated regression equation is to be stored.
Statistical Calculations
Performing a Statistical Calculation
You can perform statistical calculations to analyze data. The following example fits a y=mx+b linear regression model to the two lists in columns A and B.
1.
From the Statistics menu, select Stat Calculation > LinearRegression
(mx+b) to choose the regression model.
The Linear Regression (mx+b) dialog box opens.
2.
Type a[] as the column for the X List .
3.
Type b[] as the column for the
Y List
.
412 Lists & Spreadsheet Application
4.
To store the regression equation in a specified variable, replace Save
RegEqn To with the name of the variable.
5.
Type c[] as the column for the
1st Result
.
6.
Click
OK
.
Lists & Spreadsheet inserts two columns: one containing the names of the results, and one containing the corresponding values.
Note:
The results are linked to the source data. For example, if you change a value in column A, the regression equation is updated automatically.
Lists & Spreadsheet Application 413
Storing Statistical Results
Lists & Spreadsheet stores statistical results using a variable-group name with the format stat.
nnn
, where
nnn
is the result name (for example, stat.RegEqn
and stat.Resid). The use of standard names for variables makes it easier to identify and use the statistical variables later. If you want to use a custom variable group instead of the standard name, you can edit the formula in the column formula cell.
You could use the following formula to store the results in the variable group
MystatsB.
=LinRegMx(a[],b[],1 ): CopyVar Stat., MystatsB.
Later, you could view the results by entering the following expression in the
Calculator application or in another column of the Lists & Spreadsheet application:
MystatsB.results
Supported Statistical Calculations
The
Stat Calculations menu lets you select from the calculations described below. For more information, see the TI-Nspire™ Reference Guide.
One-Variable Statistics (OneVar)
Analyzes data with one measured variable. You can specify an optional frequency list. The statistical data returned using this analysis technique are:
• Sample mean, x
• Sum of the data, G
x
• Sum of the squared data, G
x
2
• Sample standard deviation, s
x
• Population standard deviation, s
x
• Sample size, n
• X-min
• First quartile, Q
1
• Median
• Third quartile, Q
3
• X-max
• Sum of squared deviations, SSx = G(
x
Nx)
2
414 Lists & Spreadsheet Application
Two-Variable Statistics (TwoVar)
Analyzes paired data.
List 1
is the independent variable.
List 2
is the dependent variable. You can specify an optional frequency list. The statistical data returned using this analysis technique are:
For each list:
• Sample mean, x or y
• Sum of the data, G
x
or G
y
• Sum of the squared data, G
x
2 or G
y
2
• Sample standard deviation, sx = s n-1 x or sy = s n-1 y
• Population standard deviation, sx = s n x or sy = s n y
• X-min or Y-min
• First quartile, Q
1
X or Q
1
Y
• Median
• Third quartile, Q
3
X or Q
3
Y
• X-max or Y-max
• Sum of squared deviations, SSx = G(
x
Nx)
2 or SSy = G(
y
Ny)
2
Additional data:
• Sample size for each data set, n
• G
xy
• Correlation coefficient, R.
Linear Regression (mx+b) (LinRegMx)
Fits the model equation y=ax+b to the data using a least-squares fit. It displays values for m
(slope) and b
(y-intercept).
Linear Regression (a+bx) (LinRegBx)
Fits the model equation y=a+bx to the data using a least-squares fit. It displays values for a
(y-intercept), b
(slope), r
2, and r
.
Median-Median Line (MedMed)
Fits the model equation y=mx+b to the data using the median-median line
(resistant line) technique, calculating the summary points x1, y1, x2, y2, x3, and y3.
Median-Median Line displays values for m
(slope) and b
(y-intercept).
Lists & Spreadsheet Application 415
Quadratic Regression (QuadReg)
Fits the second-degree polynomial y=ax for a , b , c , and R
2
+bx+c to the data. It displays values
2. For three data points, the equation is a polynomial fit; for four or more, it is a polynomial regression. At least three data points are required.
Cubic Regression (CubicReg)
Fits the third-degree polynomial y=ax
3
+bx
2 for a , b , c , d , and R
+cx+d to the data. It displays values
2. For four points, the equation is a polynomial fit; for five or more, it is a polynomial regression. At least four points are required.
Quartic Regression (QuartReg)
Fits the fourth-degree polynomial y=ax values for a , b , c , d , e , and R
4
+bx
3
+cx
2
+dx+e to the data. It displays
2. For five points, the equation is a polynomial fit; for six or more, it is a polynomial regression. At least five points are required.
Power Regression (PowerReg)
Fits the model equation y=axb to the data using a least-squares fit on transformed values ln(x) and ln(y). It displays values for a , b , r
2
, and r .
Exponential Regression (ExpReg)
Fits the model equation y=ab x to the data using a least-squares fit on transformed values x and ln(y). It displays values for a , b , r
2
, and r .
Logarithmic Regression (LogReg)
Fits the model equation y=a+b ln(x) to the data using a least-squares fit on transformed values ln(x) and y. It displays values for a , b , r
2
, and r .
Sinusoidal Regression (SinReg)
Fits the model equation y=a sin(bx+c)+d to the data using an iterative leastsquares fit. It displays values for a , b , c , and d . At least four data points are required. At least two data points per cycle are required to avoid aliased frequency estimates.
Note:
The output of
SinReg is always in radians, regardless of the
Radian/Degree mode setting.
Logistic Regression (d=0) (Logistic)
Fits the model equation y=c/(1+a*e⁻bx) to the data using an iterative leastsquares fit. It displays values for a , b , and c .
416 Lists & Spreadsheet Application
Logistic Regression (dƒ0) (LogisticD)
Fits the model equation y=c(1+a*e
( ⁻bx )
)+d to the data using an iterative leastsquares fit. It displays values for a , b , c and d .
Multiple Linear Regression (MultReg)
Calculates multiple linear regression of list Y on lists X1, X2, …, X10.
Distributions
Calculating a Distribution
Example: Calculate a distribution to fit the Normal Pdf distribution model.
1.
Click the column formula cell (second cell from the top) in column A.
2.
Click Statistics > Distributions > Normal Pdf to choose the Distribution model.
The Normal Pdf dialog box opens and displays fields for typing or selecting the arguments for the calculation.
Press Tab as necessary to move from field to field and provide each argument. You can type values, or select them from the drop down list:
-
X Value:
Click the drop-down arrow to choose any list in the problem to provide the x values for the calculation.
-
Mean:
Type a value for the mean or click the drop-down arrow to choose a variable that contains the mean.
-
Standard Deviation:
Type a value for the standard deviation or choose a variable that contains the standard deviation.
3.
Click the
Draw check box to see the distribution plotted in Data & Statistics.
Note:
The Draw option is not available for all distributions.
4.
Click OK .
Lists & Spreadsheet inserts two columns: one containing the names of the results, and one containing the corresponding values. The results are plotted in Data & Statistics.
Lists & Spreadsheet Application 417
Note:
The results are linked to the source data. For example, you can change a value in Column A, and the equation updates automatically.
Supported Distribution Functions
The following distributions are available from the Lists & Spreadsheet application. For more information regarding these functions, see the TI-Nspire™
Reference Guide.
• To return a single distribution result based on a single value, type the function in a single cell.
• To return a list of distribution results based on a list of values, type the function in a column formula cell. In this case, you specify a list (column) that contains the values. For each value in the list, the distribution returns a corresponding result.
Note:
For distribution functions that support the draw option ( normPDF , t PDF
, χ²
, and F
), the option is available only if you type the distribution function in a formula cell.
Normal Pdf (normPdf)
Computes the probability density function ( pdf ) for the normal distribution at a specified
x
value. The defaults are mean μ=0 and standard deviation σ=1. The probability density function (pdf) is:
418 Lists & Spreadsheet Application
This distribution is used to determine the probability of the occurrence of a certain value in a normal distribution. The draw option is available when
Normal PDF is invoked from a formula cell.
When you access distributions from the formula cell, you must select a valid list from the drop-down list to avoid unexpected results. If accessed from a cell, you must specify a number for the x-value. The distribution returns the probability that the value you specify will occur.
Normal Cdf (normCdf)
Computes the normal distribution probability between
Lower Bound
and
Upper Bound
for the specified mean, μ (default=0) and the standard deviation, s (default=1). You can click the Draw (Shade area) check box to shade the area between the lower and upper bounds. Changes to the initial
Lower Bound
and
Upper Bound
automatically update the distribution.
This distribution is useful in determining the probability of an occurrence of any value between the lower and upper bounds in the normal distribution. It is equivalent to finding the area under the specified normal curve between the bounds.
Inverse Normal (invNorm)
Computes the inverse cumulative normal distribution function for a given
area
under the normal distribution curve specified by mean, μ, and standard deviation, s.
This distribution is useful in determining the x-value of data in the area from 0 to x<1 when the percentile is known.
t Pdf (tPdf)
Computes the probability density function ( pdf ) for the t-distribution at a specified
x
value.
df
(degrees of freedom) must be > 0. The probability density function ( pdf ) is:
This distribution is useful in determining the probability of the occurrence of a value when the population standard deviation is not known and the sample size is small. The draw option is available when t Pdf is invoked from a formula cell.
Lists & Spreadsheet Application 419
t Cdf (tCdf)
Computes the Student-t distribution probability between
Lower Bound
and
Upper Bound
for the specified
df
(degrees of freedom). You can click the
Draw
(Shade area) check box to shade the area between the bounds. Changes to the initial
Lower Bound
and
Upper Bound
automatically update the distribution.
This distribution is useful in determining the probability of the occurrence of a value within an interval defined by the lower and upper bound for a normally distributed population when the population standard deviation is not known.
Inverse t (invt)
Computes the inverse cumulative t-distribution probability function specified by
Degrees of Freedom, df, for a given area under the curve.
This distribution is useful in determining the probability of an occurrence of data in the area from 0 to x<1. This function is used when the population mean and/or population standard deviation is not known.
c
2
Pdf (c
2
Pdf())
Computes the probability density function ( pdf
) for the c
2
(chi-square) distribution at a specified
x
value.
df
(degrees of freedom) must be an integer
> 0. The probability density function ( pdf
) is:
This distribution is useful in determining the probability of the occurrence of a given value from a population with a c
2 distribution. The draw option is available when c
2
Pdf is invoked from a formula cell.
c
2
Cdf (c
2
Cdf())
Computes the c
2
(chi-square) distribution probability between
lowBound
and
upBound
for the specified
df
(degrees of freedom). You can click the Draw
Shade area check box to shade the area between the lower and upper bounds. Changes to the initial
lowBound
and
upBound
automatically update the distribution.
This distribution is useful in determining the probability of the occurrence of value within given boundaries of a population with a c
2 distribution.
420 Lists & Spreadsheet Application
F Pdf (F Pdf())
Computes the probability density function ( pdf ) for the F distribution at a specified
x
value.
numerator df
(degrees of freedom) and
denominator df
must be integers > 0. The probability density function ( pdf ) is: where
n
= numerator degrees of freedom
d
= denominator degrees of freedom
This distribution is useful in determining the probability that two samples have the same variance. The draw option is available when F Pdf is invoked from a formula cell.
F Cdf (F Cdf())
Computes the F distribution probability between
lowBound
and
upBound
for the specified
dfnumer
(degrees of freedom) and
dfDenom
. You can click the
Draw (Shade area) check box to shade the area between the lower and upper bounds. Changes to the initial
lowBound
and
upBound
automatically update the distribution.
This distribution is useful in determining the probability that a single observation falls within the range between the lower bound and upper bound.
Binomial Pdf (binomPdf())
Computes a probability at
x
for the discrete binomial distribution with the specified
numtrials
and probability of success ( p) on each trial. The
x
parameter can be an integer or a list of integers. 0{ p{1 must be true.
numtrials
must be an integer > 0. If you do not specify
x
, a list of probabilities from 0 to
numtrials
is returned. The probability density function ( pdf ) is: where
n = numtrials
This distribution is useful in determining the probability of success in a success/failure trial, at trial n. For example, you could use this distribution to predict the probability of getting heads in a coin toss on the fifth toss.
Lists & Spreadsheet Application 421
Binomial Cdf (binomCdf())
Computes a cumulative probability for the discrete binomial distribution with n number of trials and probability p of success on each trial.
This distribution is useful in determining the probability of a success on one trial before all trials are completed. For example, if heads is a successful coin toss and you plan to toss the coin 10 times, this distribution would predict the chance of obtaining heads at least once in the 10 tosses.
Poisson Pdf (poissPdf())
Computes a probability at
x
for the discrete Poisson distribution with the specified mean, μ, which must be a real number > 0.
x
can be an integer or a list of integers. The probability density function ( pdf ) is:
This distribution is useful in determining the probability of obtaining a certain number of successes before a trial begins. For example, you could use this calculation to predict the number of heads that would occur in eight tosses of a coin.
Poisson Cdf (poissCdf())
Computes a cumulative probability for the discrete Poisson distribution with specified mean, x.
This distribution is useful in determining the probability that a certain number of successes occur between the upper and lower bounds of a trial. For example, you could use this calculation to predict the number of heads displayed between coin toss #3 and toss #8.
Geometric Pdf (geomPdf())
Computes a probability at
x
, the number of the trial on which the first success occurs, for the discrete geometric distribution with the specified probability of success p. 0{p{1 must be true.
x
can be an integer or a list of integers. The probability density function (pdf) is:
This distribution is useful in determining the likeliest number of trials before a success is obtained. For example, you could use this calculation to predict the number of coin tosses that would be made before a heads resulted.
422 Lists & Spreadsheet Application
Geometric Cdf (geomCdf())
Computes a cumulative geometric probability from lowBound to upBound with the specified probability of success, p.
This distribution is useful in determining the probability associated with the first success occurring during trials 1 through
n
. For example, you could use this calculation to determine the probability that heads display on toss #1, #2, #3,
..., #
n
.
Confidence Intervals
Supported Confidence Intervals
The following confidence intervals are available from the Lists & Spreadsheets application. For more information regarding these functions, see the TI-Nspire™
Reference Guide.
z Interval (zInterval)
Computes a confidence interval for an unknown population mean, m, when the population standard deviation, s, is known. The computed confidence interval depends on the user-specified confidence level.
This test is useful in determining how far from a population mean a sample mean can get before indicating a significant deviation.
t Interval (tInterval)
Computes a confidence interval for an unknown population mean, m, when the population standard deviation, s, is unknown. The computed confidence interval depends on the user-specified confidence level.
This test is useful in examining whether the confidence interval associated with a confidence level contains the value assumed in the hypothesis. Like the z
Interval, this test helps you determine how far from a population mean a sample mean can get before indicating a significant deviation when the population mean is unknown.
2-Sample z Interval (zInterval_2Samp)
Computes a confidence interval for the difference between two population means (m
1
Nm
2
) when both population standard deviations (s
1 and s
2
) are known. The computed confidence interval depends on the user-specified confidence level.
Lists & Spreadsheet Application 423
This test is useful in determining if there is statistical significance between the means of two samples from the same population. For example, this test could determine whether there is significance between the mean college entrance test score of female students and the mean of college entrance test score of male students at the same school.
2-Sample t Interval (tInterval_2Samp)
Computes a confidence interval for the difference between two population means (m
1
Nm
2
) when both population standard deviations (s
1 and s
2
) are unknown. The computed confidence interval depends on the user-specified confidence level.
This test is useful in determining if there is statistical significance between the means of two samples from the same population. It is used instead of the 2sample z confidence interval in situations where the population is too large to measure to determine the standard deviation.
1-Prop z Interval (zInterval_1Prop)
Computes a confidence interval for an unknown proportion of successes. It takes as input the count of successes in the sample
x
and the count of observations in the sample
n
. The computed confidence interval depends on the user-specified confidence level.
This test is useful in determining the probability of a given number of successes that can be expected for a given number of trials. For instance, casino examiners would use this test to determine if observed payouts for one slot machine demonstrate a consistent pay out rate.
2-Prop z Interval (zInterval_2Prop)
Computes a confidence interval for the difference between the proportion of
( successes in two populations (p
1 each sample (
n
1
and
n x
1 confidence level.
and
x
2
-p
2
). It takes as input the count of successes in
) and the count of observations in each sample
2
). The computed confidence interval depends on the user-specified
This test is useful in determining if two rates of success differ because of something other than sampling error and standard deviation. For example, a bettor could use this test to determine if there is an advantage in the long run by playing one game or machine versus playing another game or machine.
424 Lists & Spreadsheet Application
Linear Reg t Intervals (LinRegtIntervals)
Computes a linear regression t confidence interval for the slope coefficient b. If the confidence interval contains 0, this is insufficient evidence to indicate that the data exhibits a linear relationship.
Multiple Reg Intervals (MultRegIntervals)
Computes multiple regression prediction confidence interval for the calculated y and a confidence for y.
Stat Tests
Supported Statistical Tests
Hypothesis tests are available from the Lists & Spreadsheets application. For more information regarding these functions, see the TI-Nspire™ Reference
Guide.
Some of the wizards for Stat Tests display a
Draw check box. By default, the box is not selected. Selecting the box creates a Data & Statistics work area on the page and plots the results in that work area.
z test (zTest)
Performs a hypothesis test for a single unknown population mean, m, when the population standard deviation, s, is known. It tests the null hypothesis H
0 against one of the alternatives below.
: m=m
0
• H a
: mƒm
0
• H a
: m<m
0
• H a
: m>m
0
This test is used for large populations that are normally distributed. The standard deviation must be known.
This test is useful in determining if the difference between a sample mean and a population mean is statistically significant when you know the true deviation for a population.
t test (tTest)
Performs a hypothesis test for a single unknown population mean, m, when the population standard deviation, s, is unknown. It tests the null hypothesis
H
0
: m=m
0 against one of the alternatives below.
• H a
: mƒm
0
Lists & Spreadsheet Application 425
• H a
: m<m
0
• H a
: m>m
0
This test is similar to a z-test, but is used when the population is small and normally distributed. This test is used more frequently than the z-test because small sample populations are more frequently encountered in statistics than are large populations.
This test is useful in determining if two normally distributed populations have equal means, or when you need to determine if a sample mean differs from a population mean significantly and the population standard deviation is unknown.
2-Sample z Test (zTest_2Samp)
Tests the equality of the means of two populations (m
1 are known. The null hypothesis H
0 alternatives below.
: m
1
=m
2 and m
2
) based on independent samples when both population standard deviations (s
1 is tested against one of the and s
2
)
• H a
: m
1
ƒm
2
• H a
: m
1
<m
2
• H a
: m
1
>m
2
2-Sample t Test (tTest_2Samp)
Tests the equality of the means of two populations (m
1 known. The null hypothesis H below.
0
: m
1
=m
2 and m
2
) based on independent samples when neither population standard deviation (s
1 or s
2
) is is tested against one of the alternatives
• H a
: m
1
ƒm
2
• H a
: m
1
<m
2
• H a
: m
1
>m
2
1-Prop z Test (zTest_1Prop)
Computes a test for an unknown proportion of successes (prop). It takes as input the count of successes in the sample
x
and the count of observations in the sample
n
.
1-Prop z Test tests the null hypothesis H
0
: prop=p the alternatives below.
0 against one of
• H a
: propƒp
0
• H a
: prop<p
0
426 Lists & Spreadsheet Application
• H a
: prop>p
0
This test is useful in determining if the probability of the success seen in a sample is significantly different from the probability of the population or if it is due to sampling error, deviation, or other factors.
2-Prop z Test (zTest_2Prop)
Computes a test to compare the proportion of successes (p
1 and
1 and p
2
) from two populations. It takes as input the count of successes in each sample (
x
2
) and the count of observations in each sample ( tests the null hypothesis H
0
: p
1
=p
2
(using the pooled sample proportion against one of the alternatives below.
n n
2
x
1 and
).
2-Prop z Test
Ç
)
• H a
: p
1
ƒp
2
• H a
: p
1
<p
2
• H a
: p
1
>p
2
This test is useful in determining if the probability of success seen in two samples is equal.
c
2
GOF (c
2
GOF)
Performs a test to confirm that sample data is from a population that conforms to a specified distribution. For example, c
2
GOF can confirm that the sample data came from a normal distribution.
c
2
2-way Test (c
2
2way)
Computes a chi-square test for association on the two-way table of counts in the specified
Observed
matrix. The null hypothesis H
0 for a two-way table is: no association exists between row variables and column variables. The alternative hypothesis is: the variables are related.
2-Sample FTest (FTest_2Samp)
Computes an F-test to compare two normal population standard deviations (s
1 and s ). The population means and standard deviations are all unknown.
2
2-Sample
F
Test
, which uses the ratio of sample variances Sx1
2
/Sx2
2
, tests the null hypothesis H
0
: s
1
=s
2 against one of the alternatives below.
• H a
: s
1
ƒs
2
• H a
: s
1
<s
2
• H a
: s
1
>s
2
Below is the definition for the
2-Sample
F
Test
.
Lists & Spreadsheet Application 427
Sx1
,
Sx2
= Sample standard deviations having n
1 freedom
df
, respectively.
N1 and n
2
N1 degrees of
F
df
(
x,
n
1
N1 n
2
N1)
, p
= F-statistic =
= F
( ) with degrees of freedom
df
, n
1
N1, and n
2
N1
= reported
p
value
2-Sample
F
Test for the alternative hypothesis s
1
> s
2
.
2-Sample
F
Test for the alternative hypothesis s
1
< s
2
.
2-Sample following:
F Test for the alternative hypothesis s
1
ƒs
2
. Limits must satisfy the where: [
Lbnd,Ubnd
]=lower and upper limits
The F-statistic is used as the bound producing the smallest integral. The remaining bound is selected to achieve the preceding integral’s equality relationship.
Linear Reg t Test (LinRegtTest)
Computes a linear regression on the given data and a
t
test on the value of slope b and the correlation coefficient r for the equation
y
=a+bx. It tests the null hypothesis H
0
: b=0 (equivalently, r=0) against one of the alternatives below.
• H a
: bƒ0 and rƒ0
• H a
: b<0 and r<0
• H a
: b>0 and r>0
Multiple Reg Tests (MultRegTest)
Computes a linear regression on the given data, and provides the F test statistic for linearity.
428 Lists & Spreadsheet Application
For more information, see the TI-Nspire™ Reference Guide.
ANOVA (ANOVA)
Computes a one-way analysis of variance for comparing the means of 2 to 20 populations. The ANOVA procedure for comparing these means involves analysis of the variation in the sample data. The null hypothesis
H
0
: m
1
=m
2
=
...
=m k is tested against the alternative H a
: not all m
1
...
m k are equal.
The ANOVA test is a method of determining if there is a significant difference between the groups as compared to the difference occurring within each group.
This test is useful in determining if the variation of data from sample-to-sample shows a statistically significant influence of some factor other than the variation within the data sets themselves. For example, a box buyer for a shipping firm wants to evaluate three different box manufacturers. He obtains sample boxes from all three suppliers. ANOVA can help him determine if the differences between each sample group are significant as compared to the differences within each sample group.
ANOVA 2-Way (ANOVA2way)
Computes a two-way analysis of variance for comparing the means of two to 20 populations. A summary of results is stored in the
stat.results
variable.
The two-way ANOVA analysis of variance examines the effects of two independent variables and helps to determine if these interact with respect to the dependent variable. (In other words, if the two independent variables do interact, their combined effect can be greater than or less than the impact of either independent variable additively.)
This test is useful in evaluating differences similar to the ANOVA analysis but with the addition of another potential influence. To continue with the ANOVA box example, the two-way ANOVA might examine the influence of box material on the differences seen.
Selecting an Alternative Hypothesis (ƒ < >)
Most of the inferential stat editors for the hypothesis tests prompt you to select one of three alternative hypotheses.
• The first is a ƒ alternative hypothesis, such as mƒm0 for the z Test
.
• The second is a
< alternative hypothesis, such as m1<m2 for the
2-Sample t Test
.
• The third is a > alternative hypothesis, such as p1>p2 for the 2-Prop z Test .
Lists & Spreadsheet Application 429
To select an alternative hypothesis, move the cursor to the appropriate alternative, and then press
Enter
.
Selecting the Pooled Option
Pooled
(
2-Sample t Test and
2-Sample t Interval only) specifies whether the variances are to be pooled for the calculation.
• Select No if you do not want the variances pooled. Population variances can be unequal.
• Select Yes if you want the variances pooled. Population variances are assumed to be equal.
To select the
Pooled option, select Yes from the drop-down list.
Working with Function Tables
The Lists & Spreadsheet application lets you show a table of function values for any function in the current problem. You can change the settings for the table, delete columns, add values for multiple functions, and edit the expression that defines a function without leaving the Lists & Spreadsheet application.
Switching to a Table
1.
While working in the Lists & Spreadsheet application:
Windows: Press Ctrl + T .
Mac®: Press “+
T
.
Handheld: Press
/ T
.
The Lists & Spreadsheet application disappears and an empty table is displayed with a list of the functions that are available in the problem.
Note:
If you have previously shown a table for a function from the
Lists & Spreadsheet application, the table includes that function by default.
2.
Choose the name of the function for which you want to display values.
Values for the function you selected are displayed in the first column of the table.
3.
To move through adjacent cells of the table, press ▲ or ▼. Press
Tab to move from the body of the table (cells) to the top two rows (cells for column names and formulas).
430 Lists & Spreadsheet Application
4.
To hide the table of values and return to the Lists & Spreadsheet application, repeat Step 1.
Making Changes from a Table
You can change the table of function values using the tools on the Table menu.
▶
To remove a column from the table, click any cell and click
Delete Column
.
▶
To display the list of functions, click a cell in a column and click Choose .
Select a cell in an empty column unless you are replacing values already displayed. Click a function in the list to add its values to the column.
Note: You can also click the drop-down arrow on the top cell of a column to display the list of functions in the problem.
▶
To change the expression that defines a function, click Edit Expression . You can also edit the expression directly on the entry line beneath the table.
Note:
When you edit the expression for a function, that function automatically changes in the application used to define the function. For example, if you edit a Graphs & Geometry function in the table, the table values and graph of the function are both updated.
▶
To change the default table settings, choose
Edit Table Settings
.
The Table dialog box opens. Press
Tab to move from field to field and type or select new values for the default table settings:
Table Start : Type the value to use as the first value in the table of values.
Table Step : Type a value for the interval between values.
-
Independent and
Dependent
: Click the drop-down arrow to choose
Auto or
Ask as the method for populating a column with the values of the independent and dependent variables.
Auto populates the table starting at the defined table start value and displays an independent and dependent value for each step.
Ask lets you select a cell and press Enter to generate a value for a cell.
Lists & Spreadsheet Application 431
432
Data & Statistics Application
The Data & Statistics application provides tools to:
• Visualize sets of data in different types of plots.
• Directly manipulate variables to explore and visualize data relationships.
Data changes in one application are dynamically applied to all linked applications.
• Explore central tendency and other statistical summary techniques.
• Fit functions to data.
• Create regression lines for scatter plots.
• Graph hypothesis tests and results (z- and t-tests) based on summary statistics definitions or data.
Adding a Data & Statistics Page
▶
To start a new document with a blank Data & Statistics page:
From the main
File menu, click
New Document
, and then click
Add
Data & Statistics
.
Handheld: Press c
, and select
Data & Statistics
.
▶
To add a Data & Statistics page in the current problem of an existing document:
From the toolbar, click
Insert > Data & Statistics
.
Handheld: Press
~ and select Insert > Data & Statistics .
Data & Statistics Application 433
À
Data & Statistics menu
Á
Work area
Â
Add Variable regions on x-axis and y-axis
Ã
Normal Probability Plot with expression
Ä
Data point with coordinates
Basic Operations in Data & Statistics
The Data & Statistics application lets you explore and visualize data and graph inferential statistics. The Lists & Spreadsheet application can work in conjunction with the Data & Statistics application. The Lists & Spreadsheet
Summary Plot and Quick Graph tools automatically add a Data & Statistics application to show plots. A list that you create in a problem (using the
Lists & Spreadsheet or Calculator applications) can be accessed as a variable in any TI-Nspire™ application in that problem.
Changing Data & Statistics Settings
1.
From the Settings menu, select Settings .
2.
Select the settings that you want to use.
•
Display Digits.
Lets you select the display format for numeric labels in the current document. Select
Auto to automatically follow the setting in the Document Settings dialog box.
•
Diagnostics.
Displays the value of the r
2 or
R
2 statistic (when available) under certain regression equations.
r
2 is displayed for Linear (mx+b), Linear (a+bx), Power,
Exponential, and Logarithmic regressions.
-
R
2 is displayed for Quadratic, Cubic, and Quartic regressions.
Using the Default Caseplot
The Data & Statistics application plots numeric and string (categorical) data from variables. When you add a Data & Statistics application to a problem that includes lists, a default caseplot displays on the work area.
434 Data & Statistics Application
The caseplot is like having a stack of cards with information on them and scattering the cards randomly on a table. You can click a dot to see the information on that “card.” You can drag a dot to “group” the “cards” by the caption variable.
▶
Click the variable name displayed after Caption to use the caseplot.
Choose <None> to remove the default caseplot.
Choose the name of a variable to have it replace the current caseplot variable.
Hover over any data point to see the summary information.
Drag any data point toward an axis to see how the points group.
Activate the Graph Trace tool and press ◄ or ► to move across points.
When you add a variable to either axis, the plot for that variable replaces the default caseplot. The default caseplot redisplays if you remove the plotted variable from each axis.
Using the Context Menu
The context menu provides access to the tools most commonly used with the selected object. The context menu displays different options depending on the active object and the task you are performing.
▶
To open the context menu for an object.
Windows®: Right-click the object.
Mac®: Hold “ and click the object.
Handheld: Point to the object and press
/ b
.
Data & Statistics Application 435
The context menu includes the
Color option. You can use the Color option to change the data to the color of your choice.
Other options that are appropriate for various plots also appear on the context menu.
Selecting Data and Displaying Summary Information
When you hover over part of a plot, the Data & Statistics application displays summary information for the data it represents.
1.
Hover at an area of interest in a plot to display data values or summary information. For example, you can hover over the center of a box plot to display the median summary data.
2.
Click once to select a representation of data in a plot.
Data points are shown with a bold outline to indicate selection. You can click a point a second time to deselect it, or click additional points to add to the selection.
Plotting Variables
To plot variables, start with a problem that includes a Data & Statistics application and lists created in the Lists & Spreadsheet application or the
Calculator application.
1.
Click the Add Variable region near the center of an axis.
If no variable is plotted on the axis, the tooltip
Click or Enter to add variable displays.
2.
Click the tooltip Click or Enter to add variable .
A list displays the names of available variables.
3.
Click the name of the variable to plot.
Note:
By convention, the independent variable is shown on the x-axis.
The default plot for one variable is a dot chart. The data points in the default caseplot reposition to represent the elements of the selected variable in a dot chart.
436 Data & Statistics Application
4.
(Optional) Click the Add Variable region near the center of the remaining axis to plot a second variable.
The default plot for two variables is a scatter plot. The data points shift to represent the elements of both variables as a scatter plot.
5.
(Optional) Repeat Steps 1-3 to choose additional variables to plot on the vertical axis.
The name of each variable that you add is appended to the label on the axis. The default data point shape changes to help you distinguish data, and a legend is displayed to identify the shapes.
6.
Change, analyze, or explore the plotted data.
Remove or change the variable on an axis by clicking the Add
Variable region again.
View the plotted data in another supported plot type by selecting a tool from the Plot Types menu.
Choose the Graph Trace tool on the
Analyze menu and press ◄ or ► to move across the data points in the plot.
The lists that you plot as variables can include incomplete or missing cases. (A case is the data contained in a row of cells in the
Lists & Spreadsheet application.) The Lists & Spreadsheet application displays a void as an underscore (“_”), and Data & Statistics plots no data point for a void cell.
Data & Statistics Application 437
Manipulating Plotted Data
You can manipulate data points on the Data & Statistics work area to explore their effects. For example, you could explore how a specific group of values affects the median.
You can move a data point only in directions allowed by its definition. If a list is defined with a formula in Lists & Spreadsheet, the points in Data & Statistics may not move because of the formula’s restrictions. For example, you can manipulate a plot that represents the result of y=x, but you can only move along a line.
You cannot move points that represent data in a locked variable or data that represents a categorical value.
1.
On the Data & Statistics work area, click a representation of data—such as a histogram bin or a whisker of a box plot—that is not locked or restricted by a formula.
The pointer changes to an open hand to show that the data can be moved.
2.
Drag the selection to explore how different values of the point affect the plot.
Handheld: Press
/ a to grab, and then swipe or use the arrow keys to drag.
As you drag, the changing value displays on the work area.
Overview of Raw and Summary Data
You can create plots directly from raw data or from a summary table.
438 Data & Statistics Application
Raw data
Summary table for eye color based on raw data
• Raw data consists of a single list, such as a list of eye colors. When you create a plot of raw data, Data & Statistics counts the occurrences for you.
Plotting raw data directly gives you flexibility in analyzing it.
• A summary table consists of two lists, such as eye colors (the X or Y List) and counts of eye-color occurrences (the Summary List). For more information, see
Using Lists & Spreadsheet chapter.
Working with Numeric Plot Types
Plots can represent the data from a variable in a variety of ways. Choosing the appropriate plot can help you visualize the data. For example, you may be able to observe the shape and spread of the data in one plot type and another type may be useful for determining the best method for statistically evaluating data.
Creating Dot Plots
Dot plots, also known as dot-frequency plots, represent one-variable data. Dot plots are the default plot type for numeric data. When you plot a variable as a dot plot, one dot represents each value in the list. Each dot displays on the axis at a point that correspond to the value.
1.
To create a dot plot, click the Add Variable region in the center of an axis and click the name of a numeric variable. For more information, see
Plotting Variables.
2.
(Optional) To split a dot plot by category, click the Add Variable region on the other axis and choose the list that contains the corresponding category data.
3.
(Optional) To plot multiple dot plots, choose
Add X Variable on the
Plot
Properties menu and click a numeric variable from the list that displays.
Data & Statistics Application 439
A second dot plot appears on the work area and the name of the plotted variable is added to both axis labels.
4.
Explore the plotted data.
Hover over a data point to display data values.
Drag a dot to move it. As you move a point, the values associated with it change on the work area display and in the list for the variable.
Activate the Graph Trace tool and press ◄ or ► to move across the data points in the plot in list order. Points enlarge and display a bold outline as you move across them in Trace mode.
Creating Box Plots
The Box Plot Tool plots one-variable data in a modified box plot. “Whiskers” extend from each end of the box, either to 1.5 times the interquartile range or to the end of the data, whichever comes first. Points that are a width of
1.5 * Interquartile Range past the quartiles plot individually, beyond the whiskers. These points are the potential outliers. When no outliers exist, x-min and x-max are the prompt for the end of each whisker.
Box plots are useful for comparing two or more sets of data that use the same scale. If a dataset is large, a box plot can also be useful in exploring data distribution.
1.
Click the Add Variable region in the center of an axis. The default plot for one numeric variable is a dot plot. For more information, see Plotting
Variables.
440 Data & Statistics Application
Note:
If two variables are plotted in the work area, you can create a dot plot by removing one variable. Choose Remove X Variable or
Remove Y Variable from the Plot Types menu.
2.
On the Plot Types menu, click Box Plot .
A modified box plot displays on the Data & Statistics work area.
Note:
You can split a box plot by category by adding a list that contains corresponding categorical data to the y-axis.
3.
(Optional) To add additional variables for comparing box plots on the same axis, click Add X Variable on the Plot Properties menu.
For example, you can use multiple box plots to compare the distributions of sample proportions. In the example, true proportion is .5 and sample size varies from n=20 to n=40 to n=90.
Notes
:
Data & Statistics Application 441
You can create a box plot with frequency by choosing Add X Variable or Add Y Variable on the Plot Properties menu.
You can specify a variable multiple times as you choose variables to plot as box plots.
The variable used to provide frequency information is added to the label on the horizontal axis in the format:
x_variablename
{
frequencylist_name
}.
4.
Point and click the regions of the box plot to explore and analyze the data it represents.
Hover over a region or over a whisker to display the details for the portion of the plot that interests you. The label for the quartile that corresponds to your selection is displayed.
Click a region of the box plot to select the data points or whiskers.
Click again to remove the selection.
You can select any box plot that does not include frequency data and choose Dot Plot on the context menu to change the plot type.
Drag a selection to move it and explore other possibilities for the data.
Use the arrow keys to move a data point one pixel at a time.
Activate the Graph Trace tool and press ◄ or ► to move across dots and regions of the plot. As the trace cursor moves, the values for Q1, the median, Q3, and whisker ends/outliers are displayed.
5.
Change the plot from a modified box plot to a standard box plot by choosing
Extend Box Plot Whiskers on the
Plot Properties menu.
The box plot is redrawn as a standard box plot with extended whiskers.
The standard box plot’s whiskers use the minimum and maximum points in the variable and outliers are not identified. The whiskers on the plot extend from the minimum data point in the set (x-min) to the first quartile (Q1) and from the third quartile (Q3) to the maximum point (x-max). The box is defined by Q1, Med (median), and Q3.
Note:
You can click
Show Box Plot Outliers on the
Plot Properties menu to return to the modified box plot.
442 Data & Statistics Application
Plotting Histograms
A histogram plots one-variable data and depicts the distribution of data. The number of bins displayed depends on the number of data points and the distribution of these points. A value that occurs on the edge of a bin is counted in the bin to the right.
Creating a Histogram from Raw Data
1.
Create the list that you want to plot as a histogram. For example, you can enter or collect data as a named list on a Lists & Spreadsheet page.
2.
On a Data & Statistics page, click the x or y axis, and select your list as the data to plot.
3.
From the
Plot Types menu, click
Histogram
.
The data forms the bins of a histogram, with Frequency plotted by default on the unselected axis.
Data & Statistics Application 443
4.
Explore the data.
Hover over a bin to see the information for that bin.
Click a bin to select it. Click the bin again to deselect it.
Drag the side of a bin to adjust bin width and number of bins.
Note:
The bins are not adjustable in categorical plots or plots in which you choose variable bin widths.
On the Analyze menu, click Graph Trace and press ◄ or ► to cycle through the bins and display their values.
Adjusting the Histogram Scale of Raw Data
1.
On the Plot Properties menu, click Histogram Properties and choose
Histogram Scale
.
2.
Choose the format for the scale of the histogram.
Frequency - displays data based upon the number of values that occur within each bin. This is the default data representation.
-
Percent
- displays data in the histogram by each group’s percent value of the whole data set.
Density - displays data based upon the density of each group within the data set.
Creating a Histogram with Frequency or Summary Data
1.
On a Lists & Spreadsheet page, create two lists: one containing the “bins,” such as heights in a population (
ht
), and the other containing the frequencies of those heights (
freq
).
444 Data & Statistics Application
2.
On a Data & Statistics page, access the context menu on the x axis, and click Add X Variable with Summary List .
3.
Select
ht
as the X List and
freq
as the Summary List.
Note:
It is up to you to set the data and bins in a meaningful way when using summary data.
Setting Equal Bin Widths
By default, bin widths are set to equal. You can specify the width and alignment of equal-width bins.
1.
On the
Plot Properties menu, click
Histogram Properties > Bin Settings
, and choose Equal Bin Width .
The
Equal Bin Width Settings dialog box opens.
2.
Type values to set
Width and
Alignment of the bins.
3.
Click OK to apply the changes and redraw the bins.
Data & Statistics Application 445
Both the data represented by the bins and the value you type for the alignment affect the placement of bins on the scale.
Setting Variable Bin Widths
You can set variable bin widths based on a list of bin boundaries.
1.
Create a named list containing boundary values.
For example, a boundary list defined as {60,70,100,110} will create bins at
60 to 70, 70 to 100, and 100 to 110.
Note:
The data must fall within the specified bin widths. For example, a data point of 115 would be outside the bins in the above list, and you would receive a Data/Bin Location Mismatch error.
2.
On the
Plot Properties menu, click
Histogram Properties > Bin Settings
, and choose
Variable Bin Width
.
The
Variable Bin Width Settings dialog box opens.
3.
Select your boundary list as the List of Bin Boundaries .
4.
Click OK to apply the changes and redraw the bins.
Note:
You cannot change variable bin widths by dragging their boundaries; you must edit the list of boundaries or restore equal-width bins.
Creating a Normal Probability Plot
A normal probability plot shows one set of data against the corresponding quartile (
z
) of the standard normal distribution. You can use normal probability plots to judge the appropriateness of the normal model for your data.
446 Data & Statistics Application
1.
Choose or create the data you want to use for a normal probability plot.
Use a named list from Lists & Spreadsheet or Calculator.
2.
Plot the data in one of the following ways:
Create a dot plot by selecting a column and choosing
Quick Graph
.
Add a Data & Statistics work area. Click the Add Variable region on an axis and click the data list name to plot the variable.
3.
On the
Plot Types menu, click
Normal Probability Plot
.
The data graphs in the Data & Statistics work area. You can examine the graph to compare the normal variable against the quartile.
4.
Explore the data represented in the normal probability plot.
Hover over a data point to display its value.
Click to select a data point. Click again to deselect it.
Click multiple data points to select them.
Activate the Graph Trace tool and press ◄ or ► to move across the data points and display values.
Creating a Scatter Plot
A scatter plot shows the relationship between two sets of data. You can also plot a scatter plot by using the Quick Graph tool in the Lists & Spreadsheet application.
1.
In the Data & Statistics work area, click the Add Variable region and select the variable that contains the data you want to see represented on an axis.
The plot of the selected variable displays on the axis.
2.
Click the Add Variable region of the other axis and select the variable containing the data you want to plot.
The data points shift to represent the data in the selected variable.
Data & Statistics Application 447
3.
Analyze and explore the data in the plot.
Click a point to select it.
Hover over a data point to view the summary data.
Work with the data using the available tools on the Analyze menu. For example, choose the Graph Trace tool and press ◄ or ► to move across the plot.
4.
Optional: To plot additional lists against the x-axis, right-click the y-axis and click Add Variable .
Creating an X-Y Line Plot
An X-Y line plot is a scatter plot in which the data points are plotted and connected in order of appearance in the two variables. Like scatter plots, these plots depict the relationship between two sets of data.
By convention, the left-most column of data is represented on the horizontal axis.
1.
Create a scatter plot. For more information, see Creating a Scatter Plot.
2.
On the Plot Types menu, click the XY Line Plot tool.
The data points within each set are connected to each other by a line.
448 Data & Statistics Application
Note:
The dots are connected in the order that they appear in the list variable on the horizontal axis. To change the order, use the sort tool in
Lists & Spreadsheet.
3.
Analyze and explore the data in the plot.
Hover over a data point to view the summary data.
Work with the data using the available tools on the
Analyze menu. For example, choose the Graph Trace tool and press the arrow keys to move across the dots in the plot and view the values.
Working with Categorical Plot Types
You can sort and group data using the categorical plot types:
• Dot Chart
• Bar Chart
• Pie Chart
The categorical plot types can be used to compare the representations of data across different plots. When the same variable (list) is used for a dot chart and a bar chart or pie chart in a problem, selecting a data point or segment in one of the plots selects the corresponding data point, segment, or bar in all other plots that include the variable.
Creating a Dot Chart
The default plot type for categorical data is the dot chart.
Data & Statistics Application 449
When one variable is plotted, the value of each cell is represented as one dot, and the dots are stacked at the point on the axis that corresponds to the cell value.
1.
In Lists & Spreadsheet, create a spreadsheet that includes at least one column of string values that can be used as categories for data.
Note:
To type a string in Lists & Spreadsheet, enclose the characters in quotes.
2.
Add a Data & Statistics page to the problem.
Notes:
You can also use the Lists & Spreadsheet Quick Graph tool to automatically add a Data & Statistics page and plot the selected column.
The new Data & Statistic work area displays a default caseplot with a caption, variable name, and unplotted data points for the variable. You can click the variable name in the caption to choose another variable for previewing, or drag a default data point toward an axis to plot the current variable.
3.
Move near the center of either axis and click the Add List region. The list of variables displays.
450 Data & Statistics Application
4.
Click the list that contains the categories you want to use for sorting data.
A dot chart plots in the work area. The application labels the axis with the variable name and shows a dot for each instance of a category.
5.
Explore the plotted data.
Hover over a dot in the plot to display data values.
Click a dot to select it. Click the dot a second time to deselect it or remove it from a selection of multiple dots.
Activate the Graph Trace tool and press ◄ or ► to move across the points in list order. Dots display a bold outline as you move across them in Trace mode.
Creating a Bar Chart
Like dot charts, bar charts display categorical data. The length of a bar represents the number of cases in the category.
1.
Click the Add Variable region of either axis and choose the name of a categorical variable. For more information, see Creating a Dot Chart.
2.
On the
Plot Types
menu, click
Bar Chart
.
Data & Statistics Application 451
The dot chart changes to a bar representation of the data.
3.
Explore the data in the plot.
Hover over a bar to see a category summary (the number of cases and percentage among all categories).
Activate the Graph Trace tool and press ◄ or ► move across the bars and view summary information.
Creating a Bar Chart from a Frequency Table or Summary Data
1.
On a new Data & Statistics page, create a bar chart with frequency or summary data by choosing Add X Variable on the Plot Properties menu.
Note:
You can also create a bar chart with frequency by selecting Add
Variable with Summary List from the context menu of the Add Variable region of an axis.
2.
Select the desired variable from the pop-up choices.
3.
Set the height of the bars with the summary variable by selecting
Add
Summary List from the Plot Properties menu.
4.
Select the summary list from the pop-up choices.
The bar chart plots on the work area. The icon in the lower left corner indicates that this plot was generated from summary data.
452 Data & Statistics Application
5.
Hover over a bar to see a category summary, or use the Graph Trace tool on the
Analyze menu to move across all of the bars displaying the summaries.
6.
(Optional) Add summary lists to create a comparative bar chart.
Creating a Pie Chart
A pie chart represents categorical data in a circular layout and uses an appropriately proportioned segment for each category.
1.
Create a dot chart on the work area.
2.
On the
Plot Types
menu, click
Pie Chart
.
The dots move by category into the segments of the pie chart.
Data & Statistics Application 453
3.
Hover over a segment to see the summary for the category, or use the
Graph Trace tool on the
Analyze menu to move across each segment displaying all of the summaries. The summary shows the number of cases for the category and the percentage among all cases.
Note:
You can switch to a pie chart from a bar chart generated from summary data.
Creating a Comparative Bar Chart
This might be used to explore data in a two-way table.
1.
Type the raw data on a Lists & Spreadsheet page.
2.
From the Insert menu in the toolbar, click Data & Statistics .
454 Data & Statistics Application
Note:
Your screen may differ, depending on the data you entered.
3.
Select the Click to add variable field, and select eyecolor as the variable for the x axis.
4.
On the Plot Type menu, click Bar Chart .
The frequency of the eyecolor data is plotted.
5.
To split the eyecolor data by gender, click the
Plot Properties menu, click
Split Categories by Variable , and then click gender .
Data & Statistics Application 455
Splitting a Numeric Plot by Categories
You can use a categorical split to sort the values plotted on an axis.
1.
Open a problem that includes a Lists & Spreadsheet page, or create data to be plotted in the Lists & Spreadsheet application.
In this example, lists contain dog breed and daily walk information.
2.
Click column letter (B).
3.
On the Lists & Spreadsheet
Data menu, click the
Quick Graph tool.
The Quick Graph tool adds a Data & Statistics page. Data & Statistics plots the variable and labels the horizontal axis.
456 Data & Statistics Application
4.
To plot the numeric data for each category, hover on the Add Variable region near the center of the vertical axis and click the tooltip
Click or Enter to add variable
.
The list of available variables displays.
5.
On the list of variables, click the name of the category variable.
Data & Statistics labels the vertical axis and plots the numeric data for each category.
Data & Statistics Application 457
Exploring Data
You can manipulate and explore plotted data.
Moving Points or Bins of Data
1.
Click and hold the desired point or bin.
The pointer changes to an open hand
÷
.
2.
Drag the point or bar to the new location and release it. Moving the point changes the values for x and y.
If you are working with data from Lists & Spreadsheet, the data that corresponds to the original point or bar automatically updates in the original column(s) in Lists & Spreadsheet as you move the point.
You can also move points or bins by changing the numbers in the
Lists & Spreadsheet or Calculator applications. Data will update in all of the representations.
Moving Multiple Points
1.
Position the pointer over each data point that you want to select. When the pointer changes to an open hand
÷
, click to add the point to the selection.
458 Data & Statistics Application
Alternatively, you can drag a selection rectangle around the points to select them.
2.
Drag any of the selected points to move them all.
Note:
When a list is defined in Lists & Spreadsheet as a formula, the movement of points is restricted to positions that satisfy the formula.
Sorting Plotted Categories
You can sort plotted categories in list order, value order, or alphabetically by category name.
1.
Click the work area that contains the plotted data.
2.
On the Actions menu, click Sort, and then click the type of sort.
Data & Statistics Application 459
Months listed chronologically but sorted by value (amount of rainfall)
Note:
You can customize the order of the categories by clicking a label and dragging it.
Plotting a Value
You can plot a value on an existing plot. It displays as a vertical line in the work area.
1.
From the
Analyze menu, click
Plot Value
.
A text box with a default expression opens in the work area.
2.
Type the value you want to plot, and press Enter . In this example, the value is v1:= mean(cost).
460 Data & Statistics Application
The line is drawn at that value, perpendicular to the axis. If you have multiple plots on the work area, a plot value segment displays for each plot.
Note:
If you use a frequency table to generate a histogram, reference the frequency list in your expression. For example, type the expression "v1:= mean(List, FreqList)" in the plot value entry box.
3.
Click the line to display the value.
Note
: Double-click the value to edit the expression.
Plot value with value displayed
You can use Plot value for a single number or any expression that evaluates to a number. If the value is dependent on the data, like
mean
, when you drag a point or make changes in the Lists & Spreadsheet application, the line updates to reflect the change, allowing for investigation of the influence of points on the calculation.
Removing a Plotted Value
1.
Select the plotted value line.
2.
From the Actions menu, click Remove Plotted Value .
Changing the Plot Type
You can change the plot type, to view different representations of data.
▶
On the
Plot Type menu, click a new plot type. Only the supported plot types are available. For example, only univariate plot types are available when a single variable plotted on an axis.
Data & Statistics Application 461
The data representation changes to the new plot format.
Note:
Options are unavailable on the menu if the plotted data cannot be represented by the plot type. For example, if a scatter plot is displayed in the work area, you cannot create a box plot without first removing the variable from the y-axis.
Rescaling a Graph
You can change the scale of the axes by using Translation and Dilation. The pointer changes to indicate whether Translation (
ö
) or Dilation (
ô
) is available in zones on the axes.
Translation
A translation slides a set of axes a fixed distance in a given direction. The original axes have the same shape and size.
1.
Position the pointer over a tic mark or label in the middle third of the axis.
The pointer changes to
ö
.
2.
Click to grab. The pointer changes to a grasping hand
ù
. Drag to the desired position and release.
Dilation
Dilation retains the shape of the axes, but enlarges or reduces the size.
1.
Position the pointer over a tic mark or label near the ends of the axis. The pointer changes to
ó on the vertical axis or
ô on the horizontal axis.
462 Data & Statistics Application
2.
Click to grab. The pointer changes to an open hand
÷
. Drag to the desired position and release.
Adding a Movable Line
You can add a movable line to a plot. Moving and rotating the line on the work area changes the function that describes it.
▶
From the
Analyze menu, click
Add Movable Line
.
The movable line displays and is labeled with a function that describes it.
For this example, Data & Statistics stores the expression for the movable line in the variable
m1
.
Rotating a Movable Line
1.
Click and grab either end of the line.
The pointer changes to
é
.
Data & Statistics Application 463
2.
Drag to rotate and change the slope of the line.
The function m1(x) is updated for the changes in the position of the movable line.
Changing the Intercept
1.
Click in the middle of the movable line.
The pointer changes to
ö
.
2.
Drag to change the intercept.
The number at the end of the equation changes to show the change in the intercept.
Note:
The movable line is stored as a function that can be used for prediction in the Calculator application.
464 Data & Statistics Application
Locking the Intercept at Zero
You can lock the intercept of the movable line at zero.
▶
From the
Analyze menu, click
Lock Intercept at Zero
.
You can unlock the intercept by choosing Unlock Movable Line Intercept on the Analyze menu.
Tracing a Movable Line
You can trace a movable line to predict and analyze values.
1.
Click the line.
The pointer changes.
2.
From the Analyze menu, click Graph Trace to enable Trace mode for the line. Rotation of the line is not supported in Trace mode.
3.
Press ◄ or ► (left or right arrow keys) to trace the movable line.
If the plotted variables change, points on the graph and the line are updated automatically.
Showing a Line of Regression
You can show a line of regression when you have a scatter plot or an X-Y line plot on the work area. Studying the line of regression can help you understand the relationship between two variables.
1.
With a scatter plot or X-Y line plot of two variables on the work area, click the
Analyze menu, choose
Regression and view the list of regressions.
2.
Click the type of regression line to show. For example, choose Show
Linear (mx+b) to plot a linear regression line as shown in the following example.
Data & Statistics Application 465
When the line of regression is selected, the expression for the line displays.
Showing Residual Squares
You can display residual squares on a plot. Residual squares can help you assess the appropriateness of the model for your data.
Note:
This tool is only available when a regression or movable line is present in the work area.
▶
From the
Analyze menu, click
Residuals
>
Show Residual Squares
.
The sum of squares is updated as the line or data changes.
466 Data & Statistics Application
Showing a Residual Plot
You can show a residual plot to determine how well a line fits data. The work area must include a scatter plot and one or more movable lines, regressions, or plotted functions for
Show Residual Plot to be available.
▶
With a scatter plot, line of regression, and/or movable line in the work area, click the Analyze menu, and click Show Residual Plot > Residuals .
Notes:
• With multiple regressions or functions and movable lines plotted, you can select each by clicking the line to show its residual plot.
• Click and hold a dot on the residual plot to see the residual.
• The residual plot for the selected regression or function displays in the work area.
• For consistency in comparing sets of data, residual plots do not rescale when you move from one function or regression to another.
• Select a function or regression before a showing residual plot. If no function or regression is selected and there are several plotted,
Data & Statistics arbitrarily selects the function or regression for showing the residual plot.
• Axes can be adjusted by clicking and dragging.
Removing a Residual Plot
▶
With a scatter plot, line of regression, and/or movable line in the work area, click the Analyze menu, and click Hide Residual Plot .
Data & Statistics Application 467
Using Window/Zoom Tools
Use the Window/Zoom tools to redefine the graph to better view points of interest. The Window/Zoom tools include:
• Window Settings: displays a Window Settings dialog box that lets you type the x-min, x-max, y-min, and y-max values for the axes.
• Zoom - Data: adjusts the zoom factor to display all plotted data.
• Zoom - In: lets you define the center point of the zoom in location. The
Zoom In factor is approximately 2.
• Zoom - Out: lets you define the center point of the zoom out location. The
Zoom Out factor is approximately 2.
Using the Window Settings Tool
1.
On the
Window/Zoom menu, click
Window Settings
.
The Window Settings dialog box opens. The current values for x-min, x-max, y-min, and y-max are displayed in the fields.
Note:
Only the appropriate boxes are editable, depending on whether there are one or two axes in the work area.
2.
Type the new values over the old values.
3.
Click
OK to apply the changes and redraw the plot.
Using the Zoom Data Tool
▶
On the
Window/Zoom menu, click
Zoom Data
.
The work area rescales to display all plotted data.
Using the Zoom In Tool
1.
On the
Window/Zoom menu, click
Zoom In
.
2.
In the work area, click the center point of the area of interest. This will be the center of the zoom in action.
The plot redraws to focus and enlarge the portion of the plot centered about the point you selected in the previous step.
Using the Zoom Out Tool
1.
On the
Window/Zoom menu, click
Zoom Out
.
2.
In the work area, click the center point of the area of interest. This will be the center of the zoom out action.
468 Data & Statistics Application
The plot redraws to display a larger portion of the plot, centered about the point you selected in the previous step.
Graphing Functions
You can graph functions by typing them in Data & Statistics, or you can graph functions defined in other applications.
Graphing Functions Using the Plot Function Tool
You can use the Plot Function tool to plot functions in a work area that already includes a plot on the axes. Plot Function lets you specify and graph a function for comparison to an existing plot.
To use the Plot Function tool:
1.
Create or open a problem that includes variables (from
Lists & Spreadsheet) that are plotted on a Data & Statistics work area.
Ensure that your work area contains both a horizontal axis and a vertical axis scale.
2.
From the Analyze menu, click
Plot Function
.
A function entry field displays in the work area.
Note
: You can edit the function’s expression typed in the entry field.
However, the function graphed in Data & Statistics cannot be manipulated or moved around the work area. To do that, use Graphs & Geometry.
3.
Type the function in the entry field, and press Enter .
Data & Statistics Application 469
Note:
You can rename the function by typing over f1(x): with another name, if you choose.
The function graphs in the work area and is saved as a variable for use in other applications.
Entering Functions from Other Applications
You can enter a function that has been defined as a variable in another application, such as Lists & Spreadsheet, Graphs & Geometry, or Calculator.
1.
Add a variable to each axis. You can access any variables defined in a
Lists & Spreadsheet or Calculator application in your problem from the variable list.
2.
From the
Analyze menu, click
Plot Function
.
A function entry field displays in the work area.
3.
Click on the toolbar.
Handheld: Press h
.
A list of variables available in the problem displays.
4.
Click to select the variable containing the function you want to plot.
470 Data & Statistics Application
In the example below, the variable
a
contains the function f(x)=x
2
.
5.
Press Enter .
The function plots in the work area.
Editing a Function
You can edit a function and update it in the work area.
1.
You can edit a function by double-clicking the equation and then making changes as required.
2.
Press
Enter after making all changes and the updates are displayed in the work area.
Data & Statistics Application 471
Using Data & Statistics Functions in other Applications
Data & Statistics functions are stored as variables, and may be used in other applications, in the same manner as any other variable. Support for all function types is included.
Note:
Function numbers increment to use the next available. If you have defined f1(x) and f2(x) in Graphs & Geometry, the first function you create in
Data & Statistics will be f3(x).
Using Show Normal PDF
You can approximate data plotted in the Data & Statistics work area against the normal probability density function. The tool overlays the normal probability density function using the mean and the standard deviation of the data in the histogram.
To show the normal probability density function for plotted data:
1.
Add a variable to the x-axis.
2.
On the Plot Types menu, click Histogram .
Note:Show Normal PDF is available only when histogram is the plot type.
3.
From the
Analyze menu, click
Show Normal PDF
.
472 Data & Statistics Application
The normal PDF for the graph plots in the work area. The expression used to calculate the PDF displays when selected.
You can click Hide Normal PDF on the Analyze menu to remove the PDF.
Using Shade Under Function
Use Shade Under Function to find the area of a selected region under a function graphed in the work area.
1.
Select any function graphed in the Data & Statistics work area. For example, select a previously graphed normal PDF.
2.
From the
Analyze menu, click
Shade Under Function
.
The pointer becomes a dotted vertical line and the boundary +/- ˆ displays when you position the mouse near the boundary on the left or right. You can click when ˆ displays to set it as a boundary.
Data & Statistics Application 473
3.
Select a point on the curve and click to indicate where to start shading under the function. The direction in which you move next determines whether the region shaded is on the left, right, or center of the curve.
4.
Select a point on the curve and click to indicate the end boundary of the shaded area. A region under the function is shaded based on the points you selected.
You can work with Shade Under Function in the following ways:
• Select the region to display the values for data points in the shaded area.
• To remove the shading, right-click or
Ctrl
-click the shaded region and choose
Remove Shaded Region
.
• To change the fill color of the shaded area, right-click or
Ctrl
-click the shaded region, choose
Color, choose
Fill
, and click a color.
• Use plot value to set the boundary to an exact number. When a boundary for shading is set to a plotted value, you can change the plotted value to update the shading.
• Edit a shaded region by clicking and dragging the edge at the starting or ending boundary.
Using Graph Trace
Graph Trace lets you move from one point on a graph to another to analyze variations in the data. You can use Graph Trace mode to explore the data for the following graphs.
• Graphs from Plot Function and Show Normal PDF
• Distribution curves (created in the Lists & Spreadsheet application)
• Movable Lines
• Regressions
• Caseplots
• Dot plots
• Scatter plots and X-Y line plots
• Box plots
• Histograms
• Bar charts
474 Data & Statistics Application
• Pie charts
To use Graph Trace
1.
From the Analyze menu, click Graph Trace .
2.
Press ◄ or ► to move across the plot.
The data representations enlarge and appear with a bold outline as you move across them in Trace mode.
Customizing Your Workspace
Working with Color
All data points for a plotted variable display in the same color to distinguish them from the data points of other variables. Data plotted by category and split plots are automatically displayed in different colors to help you distinguish the data.
To emphasize or distinguish certain parts of your work, you can change the default color for a variable’s data.
• Apply fill colors to objects, such as shading, or change the color for a variable’s data points.
• Apply color to plotted lines (such as lines of regression) or movable lines.
Inserting a Background Image
When using the computer software, you can insert an image as a background for a Data & Statistics page. The file format of the image can be .bmp, .jpg, or
.png.
1.
From the
Insert menu, click
Image
.
2.
Navigate to the image that you want to insert.
3.
Select it, and then click Open .
The image is inserted as a background.
For more information, see the
Working with Images chapter.
Working with Text
The Insert Text tool lets you type text to describe details related to plots on the work area.
1.
From the
Actions
menu, click
Insert Text
.
Data & Statistics Application 475
A text box opens.
2.
Type notes or descriptions in the text box.
3.
Customize the text to suit your needs.
• Move the pointer over the edges of the text box to drag the borders and change the width or height.
• Click and grab the text box to move it near objects that relate to the text.
• Scroll to view additional text in a box by clicking the arrows at the top and bottom edge.
• Click outside of the text entry box to exit the Text tool.
• Hide text by clicking the
Actions menu and clicking
Hide Text
.
• Change the color of text.
Adjusting Variable Values with a Slider
In the Graphs, Geometry, and Data & Statistics applications, a slider control lets you adjust or animate the value of a numeric variable.
476 Data & Statistics Application
Horizontal slider for adjusting variable
v1
.
Minimized vertical slider for adjusting variable
v2
.
Inserting a Slider
1.
Start in a Graphs, Geometry, or Data & Statistics page.
2.
From the
Actions menu, select
Insert Slider
.
The Slider Settings screen opens.
Data & Statistics Application 477
3.
Enter desired values.
4.
Click OK .
The slider is displayed in the work area. Handles on the slider let you move or stretch it. To remove the handles, click an empty space in the work area.
5.
To adjust the variable, slide the pointer (or click the arrows on a minimized slider).
Working with the Slider
Use the options on the context menu to move or delete the slider, and to start or stop its animation. You can also change the slider's settings.
1.
Display the slider's context menu.
478 Data & Statistics Application
2.
Click an option to select it.
Inferential Statistics
You can explore hypothesis tests and probability distributions in the
Data & Statistics application after entering the data on a Lists & Spreadsheet page.
Drawing Inferential Statistics Plots
The following example uses the Draw option of the normCdf() function to plot a distribution model.
1.
On a Lists & Spreadsheet page, select the column-formula cell (second cell from the top) in column A.
2.
From the
Statistics menu
, click
Distributions
, and click
Normal Cdf
.
3.
Type the plot parameters into the
Normal Cdf wizard.
4.
Select the
Draw check box to see the distribution plotted and shaded in
Data & Statistics.
Data & Statistics Application 479
Note:
The Draw option is not available for all distributions.
5.
Click
OK
.
Exploring Inferential Statistics Plots
After drawing the plot in the previous example, you can explore the effect of changing the upper bound.
▶
On the Data & Statistics plot, drag the vertical line that represents the upper bound toward the left or right.
As you drag, the formula is updated and the shaded area is recalculated.
480 Data & Statistics Application
Notes Application
The Notes application lets you create and share text documents using the
TI-Nspire™ handheld and computer software. Use
Notes to:
• Create study notes to reinforce learning, demonstrate your understanding of classroom concepts, and to review for exams.
• Edit collaboratively by assigning different roles to individuals using your document so that any edits appear in a different text format.
• Create and evaluate math expressions.
• Create correctly formatted chemical formulas and equations.
Adding a Notes Page
▶
To start a new document with a blank Notes page:
From the main
File menu, click
New Document
, and then click
Add Notes
.
Handheld: Press c
, and select
Notes
.
▶
To add a Notes page in the current problem of an existing document:
From the toolbar, click Insert > Notes .
Handheld: Press
~ and select
Insert > Notes
.
À
Notes tools – Available anytime you are in the Notes work area.
Á
Text formatting toolbar -- Lets you change size, color, bold, and other text properties.
Notes Application 481
Â
Notes work area -- The area where you type and format text.
Using Templates in Notes
Use the options on the Templates menu to select a format for your Notes page.
Menu Option Function
2: Templates
1: Q&A
2: Proof
Creates a template to enter question and answer text.
Creates a template to enter statement and reason text.
Lets you type freeform text.
3: Default
4:Hide Answer
(Q&A)
Toggles to show or hide the Answer in a
Q&A format.
Selecting a Template
Complete the following steps to select and apply a template:
1.
From the Notes menu, click .
2.
From the menu, click the template you want to apply.
Handheld: From the Notes work area, press b
, and then press ► to display the menu options.
The Notes page is displayed in the format you selected.
Using the Q&A Template
Use the Q&A template to create questions and answers. You can show or hide the answer so you can create questions for review and hide the answers.
When you use the document as a study aid, you can verify that your answers are correct.
482 Notes Application
Press
Tab to move the text cursor between the
Question and
Answer areas of the template.
Using the Proof Template
The proof template provides an outline structure for statements and corresponding reasons.
Press Tab to move the text cursor between the Statements and Reasons areas of the template.
Formatting Text in Notes
Text formatting lets you apply visual properties, such as bold and italic, to your text.
•
Ordinary text
. Apply most combinations of bold, italic, underline, superscript, subscript, and strikethrough formatting. Select font and font size for any character.
•
Text in a math expression box
. Apply formatting and enter math exponents and math subscripts for variable names. Select font and font size. Font size affects all text in the box.
•
Text in a chemical equation box
. Apply formatting. Select font and font size.
Font size affects all text in the box. Superscript and subscript are handled automatically.
Selecting Text
▶
Drag from the starting point to the ending point to select the text.
Notes Application 483
Handheld: If you are using the Q&A or Proof template, press e to place the cursor in the area containing the text. Use the Touchpad to place the cursor at the start or end of the text to be selected. Hold down g
, and use the Touchpad to select the text.
Applying a Text Format
1.
Select the text that you want to format.
2.
On the formatting toolbar, click the formatting icons (such as for bold) to toggle them, or click to select a font and font size.
Handheld: Click b
, and then select Format > Format Text .
The changes are applied to the text as you make selections.
Note:
The toolbar shows only the icons that are applicable to the type of text selected. For example, superscript ( ) and subscript ( ) are shown only for ordinary text.
Using Color in Notes
When working in the Notes application on a desktop, use the (fill color) or the (text color) options on the Documents Workspace toolbar to emphasize words, calculations, and formulas.
You can also apply color to text when working in the Notes application on the
TI-Nspire™ CX handheld.
Changing Text Colors
1.
Select the text you want to change to another color. You can select a sentence, phrase, word, or a single letter. You can also select a math expression box, a chemical equation box, or individual characters in a calculation, formula, chemical equation, or math template.
484 Notes Application
2.
From the Documents Workspace toolbar, click .
Handheld: Press
~
, and then click Edit > Text Color .
The Text Color palette opens.
3.
Click a color to apply it to the selected text.
Applying a Background Color
You can apply a background color to highlight selected characters in ordinary text, text in a math expression, or text in a chemical equation box.
1.
Select the text.
2.
From the Documents Workspace toolbar, click the arrow next to .
Handheld: Press
~
, and then press Edit > Fill Color .
The Fill Color palette opens.
3.
Click a color to apply it to the selected text.
Inserting Images
When working in the Notes application on a desktop, use the Images option on the Insert menu to add an image to a Notes page.
Note:
The option for inserting an image is not available when working on a handheld. However, you can transfer a file containing an image from your computer to a TI-Nspire™ CX handheld.
1.
Click Insert > Image from the Documents Toolbar.
The Insert Image window opens.
2.
Navigate to the folder where the image is located.
3.
Select the image, and then click
Open to insert the image into the Notes work area. Valid files types are .jpg, .png, or .bmp.
4.
To type text around the image, place the cursor in front of the image or after the image, and then type the text.
Resizing an Image
Complete the following steps to resize an image.
1.
Click the image to select it.
2.
Move the pointer to the edge of the image.
Notes Application 485
The pointer changes to a left-right arrow symbol.
3.
Drag the image to make it smaller or larger.
For more information, see
Working with Images.
Inserting Items on a Notes Page
When working with the Notes application, open the Insert menu to insert a math expression, chemical equation, shape symbol, or a comment.
Menu
Name
Menu
Option
Function
3: Insert
1: Math
Box -
/
M
Lets you insert a math expression.
2: Chem box -
/
E
Lets you insert a chemical formula or equation.
2: Shape
3:
Comment
Marks the selected text as an angle, triangle, circle, line, segment, ray, or vector.
Lets you type text that is italicized and prefaced with Teacher or Reviewer .
Inserting Comments in Notes Text
You can insert Teacher or Reviewer comments into a Notes application.
Comments are easy to distinguish from the original text.
1.
Define the type of comments you are inserting (Teacher or Reviewer):
• PC: From the
Insert menu, click
Comment
, and then click
Teacher or
Reviewer
.
• Handheld: While in the Notes work area, press b to display the
Notes menu. Press
Insert > Comment
, and then select either
Teacher or
Reviewer
.
2.
Type your text.
486 Notes Application
Text that you type appears in italics.
Inserting Geometric Shape Symbols
You can use geometric shape symbols to designate selected text as geometric objects, such as an angle, circle, or line segment.
To insert a shape symbol, position the cursor where you want it, and then do the following:
• PC: From the Insert menu, click Shapes , and then select the shape to apply.
• Handheld: Press b to display the Notes menu. On the Insert menu, click
Shapes
, and then select the shape to apply.
Notes Application 487
Entering Math Expressions in Notes Text
You can include math expressions in Notes text, using the same tools as in other TI-Nspire™ applications.
Math expression boxes have attributes that allow you to control how the expression is displayed.
Menu
Name
Menu
Option
Function
5: Math Box
Options
1:
Math Box
Attributes
When a math box is selected, this option opens a dialog box allowing you to customize the math box.
You can hide or show input or output, turn off calculation for the box, insert symbols, change display and angle settings, and allow or disallow the wrapping of expressions and the display of warning indicator after they have been dismissed. You can change the attributes of multiple selected math boxes at the same time.
Displays a warning indicator after the warning has been dismissed.
2:
Show
Warning
Info
Displays an error after the error has been dismissed.
3:
Show
Error
Entering an Expression
1.
In the Notes work area, place the cursor where you want the expression.
Then do the following:
488 Notes Application
• Windows®: From the Insert menu, click Math Expression Box or
Ctrl + M.
• Mac®: Press “+
M
.
• Handheld: Press b to open the Notes menu. Select Insert, and then click
Math Expression Box
.
2.
Type the expression. You can use the Catalog, if necessary, to insert a function, command, symbol, or expression template.
Evaluating and Approximating Math Expressions
You can evaluate or approximate one or more expressions and display the results. You can also convert selected text and multiple math expression boxes into a single math expression box. Notes automatically updates expressions and any variables used.
Menu
Name
Menu Option Function
1: Actions
·
1: Evaluate -
2: Approximate
/ ·
Approximates the expression.
3: Evaluate and replace
Replaces the selected part of the expression with the result.
4: Deactivate
All
5: Deactivate
6: Activate
Evaluates the expression.
Deactivates the current or selected item
(box or boxes)
Deactivates all boxes in the current Notes application.
Activates the current or selected previously deactivated item.
Notes Application 489
Menu
Name
Menu Option Function
7: Activate All
Activates all boxes in the current Notes application.
Evaluating or Approximating an Expression
To evaluate or approximate an expression, place the cursor anywhere in the math expression box and then do the following:
• Windows®: On the
Actions menu, click
Evaluate or
Approximate
. You can also use
Enter to evaluate or
Ctrl + Enter to approximate.
• Mac®: Press “ + Enter to approximate.
• Handheld: Press b to display the Notes menu. On the
Actions menu, select Evaluate .
The result replaces the expression.
Evaluating Part of an Expression
To evaluate part of an expression, select the text or part of the math expression.
Then do the following:
▶
On the
Actions menu, click
Evaluate and Replace
.
Handheld: Press b to open the Notes menu. Select Actions , and then select Evaluate Selection .
The result replaces the selected part only.
Breaking Long Calculations
Some calculations may take a long time. Notes indicates that the handheld is performing a long calculation by displaying a busy icon. If a calculation is taking more time than you want to spend, you can end the calculation.
To stop the function or program in progress, do the following:
• Windows®: Hold down the F12 key and press Enter repeatedly.
• Mac®: Hold down the
F5 key and press
Enter repeatedly.
• Handheld: Hold down the c key and press
· repeatedly.
490 Notes Application
Showing Warnings and Errors
If a calculation in Notes results in a warning or error, you can view the warning or error again even after you have dismissed the dialog box.
To display a warning or error in Notes after you have dismissed the dialog box, do one of the following:
• Windows®: Right-click and select Show warning info or Show error .
• Mac®: “ + click and select Show warning info or Show error .
Note: You can change your settings so that warnings do not appear at all. The showing of warning indicators is controlled by the Math Box Attributes dialog box. See Changing the Attributes of Math Expression Boxes.
Converting Selected Items to Math Expression Boxes
To convert items to math expression boxes:
1.
Select the text, or combination of text and existing math expression box, that you want to evaluate.
2.
From the
Actions menu, click
Convert to Math Expression Box
.
Inserting Chemical Equations in Notes
Chemical equation boxes (chem boxes) make it easy to type chemical formulas and equations, such as .
As you type in a chem box, most of the formatting work is handled automatically:
• Correct capitalization of most element symbols, such as Ag and Cl, is automatic.
• Leading digits are treated as coefficients and are shown at full size.
Numbers that follow an element or a closed parenthesis are converted to subscripts.
• The equals “=” symbol is converted to a yields “&” symbol.
Notes:
• Equations in a chem box cannot be evaluated or balanced.
• Element capitalization may not work in every situation. For example, to enter carbon dioxide, CO
2
, you must manually capitalize the O. Otherwise, typing “co” would result in“Co,” the symbol for cobalt.
Notes Application 491
Entering a chemical equation
1.
Position the cursor where you want the equation.
2.
On the Insert menu, select Chem Box , or press Ctrl + E .
An empty chemical equation box is displayed.
3.
Type the equation in the box. For example, to represent sulphuric acid, type h2sO4, capitalizing the O manually.
The chem box automatically formats the text as you type:
4.
If you need superscripts for ionic equations, type a caret symbol (^) and then the text.
5.
Use parentheses to indicate whether a compound is solid (s), liquid (l), gas
(g), or aqueous (aq).
6.
To exit the chem box, click anywhere outside it.
Deactivating Math Expression Boxes
Calculations are by default activated, which means that results automatically update when you evaluate or approximate an expression. If you don’t want results to automatically update, you can deactivate a math expression box, group of boxes, or the entire application.
Deactivating a Box or a Group of Boxes
To deactivate a box or a group of boxes:
1.
Select the box or boxes that you want to deactivate.
2.
Deactivate the selected box or boxes:
• Windows®: Click
Actions > Deactivate
(or right-click and then click
Actions > Deactivate ).
• Mac®: Click
Actions > Deactivate
(or “ + click and then click
Actions >
Deactivate
).
492 Notes Application
• Handheld: Press b to open the Notes menu. From the
Actions menu, select Deactivate .
Note:
You can manually update a deactivated box or boxes by selecting the box or boxes and using the process described in
Evaluating and
Approximating Math Expressions.
Deactivating All Boxes in the Notes Application
To deactivate all boxes in the Notes application:
▶
With a document open, place your cursor in the Notes application that you want to deactivate and select
Deactivate All
.
• Windows®: Click Actions > Deactivate All or right-click and click
Actions > Deactivate All
.
• Mac®: Click Actions > Deactivate or “+ click and click Actions >
Deactivate .
• Handheld: Press b to display the Notes menu. On the
Actions menu, click Deactivate .
Note: When you use this option in Q&A and Proof templates, Deactivate All deactivates only the math boxes in the current work area.
Changing the Attributes of Math Expression Boxes
You can change attributes in one or more math expression boxes at the same time. Controlling the attributes in math expression boxes allows you to do the following:
• Show or hide the input or output, or prevent calculation in the box.
• Select a symbol separator using Insert Symbol.
• Choose the number of digits to display in the output of a math expression.
• Select angle settings so you can use a combination of radian, degree, and gradian angle measures in the same Notes application.
• Select whether to allow math expressions to wrap.
• Select whether to show or hide warning indicators.
To change the attributes of one or more boxes, do the following:
1.
Select the box or boxes that you want to change.
2.
On the
Math Box Options menu, click
Math Box Attributes
.
Notes Application 493
3.
Use the menus or selection boxes to make your selections.
4.
Click
OK to save or
Cancel to abandon the change.
Note
: Math expression boxes recalculate automatically after you have made attribute changes and saved the changes.
Undoing Changes to Math Expression Boxes
▶
To undo changes you have made to a math expression box, press
Ctrl
+
Z
.
Using Calculations in Notes
In the Notes application, the options on the Calculations menu enable you to perform calculations. The calculations are described in the following table.
Important Information to Know
• Notes does not support editing programs. Use Program Editor instead.
• Notes does not support executing Lock or Unlock commands. Use
Calculator instead.
• Notes does not display intermediate results obtained using the "Disp" command. Use Calculator instead.
• Notes does not support user-defined dialog boxes obtained using the
"Request," "RequestStr," or "Text" commands. Use Calculator instead.
• Notes does not support the execution of multiple statistics commands that produce stat. variables.
Menu
Name
Menu
Option
Function
6:
Calculations
1:
Define
Variables
Define a variable in a Note using the Calculator application.
2:
Number
Use tools from the Calculator Number menu, including Convert to Decimal, Approximate to
Fraction, Factor, Least Common Multiple, Greatest
494 Notes Application
Menu
Name
Menu
Option
Function
3:
Algebra
4:
Calculus
3
(CAS):
Algebra
Common Divisor, Remainder, Fraction Tools,
Number Tools, and Complex Number Tools.
Use tools from the Calculator Algebra menu, including Numerical Solve, Solve System of Linear
Equations, Polynomial Tools.
Use tools from the Calculus menu including
Numerical Derivative at a Point, Numerical Definite
Integral, Sum, Product, Numerical Function
Minimum, and Numerical Function Maximum.
Use tools from the Calculator Algebra menu, including Solve, Factor, Expand, Zeros, Numerical
Solve, Solve System of Equations, Polynomial
Tools, Fraction Tools, Convert Expressions,
Trigonometry, Complex, and Extract.
4
(CAS):
Calculus
Use tools from the Calculus menu including
Derivative, Derivative at a Point, Integral, Limit,
Sum, Product, Function Minimum, Function
Maximum, Tangent Line, Normal Line, Arc Length,
Series, Differential Equation Solver, Implicit
Differentiation, and Numerical Calculations
5:
Probability
Use tools from the Calculator Probability menu, including Factorial, Permutations, Combinations,
Random, and Distributions.
6:
Statistics
7:
Matrix &
Use tools from the Calculator Statistics menu, including Stat Calculations, Stat Results, List Math,
List Operations, and others.
Use tools from the Calculator Matrix & Vector menu, including Create, Transpose, Determinant, Row-
Notes Application 495
Menu
Name
Menu
Option
Vector
Function
Echelon Form, Reduced Row-Echelon Form,
Simultaneous, and others.
8:
Finance
Use tools from the Calculator Finance menu, including Finance Solver, TVM Functions,
Amortization, Cash Flows, Interest Conversions, and Days between Dates.
Note:
For more information, see the Calculator chapter.
Exploring Notes with Examples
This section shows you how the Notes application works with other applications to automatically update results.
Example #1: Using Notes to Explore Roots of a Quadratic Function
1.
Open a new document and select the Notes application.
2.
Define a function in a math box, evaluate, and hide the output using the
Math Box attributes.
3.
Type some more text; for example: Real Roots of f1(x) are:
4.
In a new math box, type: polyRoots(f1(x),x).
496 Notes Application
5.
Press Enter and hide the input of this math box by using the Math Box attributes dialog box.
6.
Use the Page Layout toolbar icon to select the split layout.
7.
Add the Graph application and plot
f1(x)
.
See how the roots of
f1
change when the function is modified in Graph.
Example #2: Using Notes to Explore Data Sampling
This example shows how to create a sampling distribution of sample means drawn from a given population. We will be able to watch the sampling distribution take shape for a given sample size and describe its characteristics.
You can change the population and the sample size.
1.
Set up the population and the sample size.
a) Type Create sample data:
Notes Application 497
b) Insert a math expression box and define the population. For example, type population:=seq(n,n,1,50).
c) Press
Enter and hide the output using the Math Expression Box
Attributes dialog box.
d) Insert a math expression box and define the sample size. For example, type size:=5.
e) Press
Enter and hide the output using the Math Expression Box
Attributes dialog box.
2.
Set up the initialization.
a) Type Start taking samples: b) Insert a math expression box and set the initial values for the number of samples (
num
) and the list of sample means (
sampmeans
). Type:
num:=0:sampmeans:={}
c) Press
Enter and hide the output using the Math Expression Box
Attributes dialog box.
d) Deactivate the math expression box using
Actions > Deactivate
. The deactivation will prevent the content of that math box from being overwritten when the values for num and sampmeans change. The deactivated math box will be shown with the light color background.
3.
Set up Data & Statistics for the sampling.
a) Change the page layout and insert Data & Statistics.
b) Click on the horizontal axis and add sampmeans list.
c) Change the window setting: XMins=1 and XMax = 50.
d) You can also set up the plot of the mean of sample means using
Analyze > Plot Value
.
498 Notes Application
4.
Enter the instructions to add data.
a) Type Create new samples: b) Insert a math expression to define the sample (sample) and update the number of samples and the list of sample means. Type:
num:=num+1:sample:=randsamp(population,size): sampmeans:=augment(sampmeans,{mean(sample)})
c) Press
Enter
, hide the output, and turn off the expression wrapping using the Math Expression Box Attributes dialog box.
d) Deactivate the math expression box using
Actions > Deactivate to prevent the contents of the math box from changing when
num
and
sampmeans
values are reinitialized.
e) Create math expression boxes that display the current number of experiments (
num
), sample (
sample
), and the list of sample means
(
sampmeans
).
Notes Application 499
5.
Now you are ready to explore. Add more samples by simply pressing
Enter when you are in the math expression box in the "Create new samples" section.
Note:
You can also automate the sampling process by using a
For ... EndFor loop.
You can also change the sample size and restart the sampling.
500 Notes Application
Notes Application 501
502
Data Collection
The Vernier DataQuest™ application is built into the TI-Nspire™ software and the operating system (OS) for handhelds. The application lets you:
• Capture, view, and analyze real-world data using a TI-Nspire™ handheld, a Windows® computer, or a Mac® computer.
• Collect data from up to five connected sensors (three analog and two digital) using the TI-Nspire™ Lab Cradle.
Important:
The TI-Nspire™ CM-C Handheld is not compatible with the Lab
Cradle and only supports the use of a single sensor at a time.
• Collect data either in the classroom or at remote locations using collection modes such as time-based or event-based.
• Collect several data runs for comparison.
• Create a graphical hypothesis using the Draw Prediction feature.
• Play back the data set to compare the outcome to the hypothesis.
• Analyze data using functions such as interpolation, tangential rate, or modeling.
• Send collected data to other TI-Nspire™ applications.
Adding a Vernier DataQuest™ Page
Note:
The application is launched automatically when you connect a sensor.
Starting a new document or problem for each new experiment ensures that the
Vernier DataQuest™ application is set to its default values.
▶
To start a new document containing a data collection page:
From the main
File menu, click
New Document
, and then click
Add Vernier
DataQuest™
.
Handheld: Press c
, and select
Vernier DataQuest™
.
▶
To insert a new problem with a data collection page into an existing document:
From the toolbar, click Insert > Problem>Vernier DataQuest™ .
Handheld: Press
~ and select
Insert > Problem > Vernier DataQuest™
.
Data Collection 503
À
Vernier DataQuest™ Menu.
Contains menu items for setup, collection, and analysis of sensor data.
Á
Details view.
Contains buttons for starting data collection , changing collection settings , marking collected data , storing data sets , and tabs for managing multiple data runs.
View selection buttons let you choose from Meter view , Graph view , or Table view .
Â
Data work area.
The information displayed here depends on the view.
Meter
. Displays a list of sensors that are currently connected or set up in advance.
Graph
. Displays collected data in a graphical representation, or displays the prediction before a data collection run.
Table
. Displays collected data in columns and rows.
What You Must Know
Basic Steps in Performing an Experiment
These basic steps are the same no matter which type of experiment you perform.
1.
Start the Vernier DataQuest™ Application.
2.
Connect sensors.
3.
Modify sensor settings.
4.
Select the collection mode and collection parameters.
504 Data Collection
5.
Collect data.
6.
Stop collecting data.
7.
Store the data set.
8.
Save the document to save all data sets in the experiment.
9.
Analyze the data.
Sending Collected Data to Other TI-Nspire™ Applications
You can send collected data to the Graphs, Lists & Spreadsheet, and
Data & Statistics applications.
▶
From the Send To menu, click the name of the application.
A new page showing the data is added to the current problem.
About Collection Devices
You can select from a variety of sensors and interfaces to collect data while running the Vernier DataQuest™ application with TI-Nspire™ software.
Multi-Channel Sensor Interfaces
Multi-channel sensor interfaces let you connect more than one sensor at a time.
Sensor
Interface
Description
Texas
Instruments
This sensor can be used with a handheld, a computer, or as a stand-alone sensor.
The sensor interface allows you to connect and use one to five sensors at the same time. It can be used in the lab or at a remote collection location.
The Lab Cradle supports two digital sensors and three analog sensors.
The Lab Cradle also supports high-sample data collection sensors, such as a hand-grip heart rate or a blood pressure monitor.
After using the Lab Cradle as a remote sensor, you can download data to either a handheld or computer.
Data Collection 505
Sensor
Interface
TI-Nspire™ Lab
Cradle
Description
Single-Channel Sensor Interfaces
Single-channel sensor interfaces can only connect to one sensor at a time.
These sensors have either a mini-USB connector for a handheld or a standard
USB connector for a computer. For a complete list of compatible sensors, see
Compatible Sensors.
Sensor Interface
Vernier EasyLink®
Vernier Go!Link®
Description
This sensor interface is used with handhelds. It has a mini-USB connector so it can be plugged directly into the handheld.
Connect sensors to Vernier EasyLink® to:
• Measure barometric pressure.
• Measure the salinity of a solution.
• Investigate the relationship between pressure and volume (Boyles’ Law).
This sensor interface is used with computers. It has a standard connector so it can be plugged into a Windows® or Mac® computer.
Connect sensors to Vernier GoLink® to:
• Measure the acidity or alkalinity of a solution.
• Monitor greenhouse gases.
• Measure sound level in decibels.
Types of Sensors
•
Analog sensors.
Temperature, light, pH, and voltage sensors are analog sensors and require a sensor interface.
•
Digital sensors.
Photogates, radiation monitors, and drop counters are digital sensors. These sensors can only be used with the TI-Nspire™ Lab
Cradle.
506 Data Collection
•
Direct-connect USB sensors.
These sensors connect directly to a handheld or computer and do not require a sensor interface.
Sensors for Handhelds
The following lists some sensors you can use with a handheld.
Sensor
Texas Instruments
CBR 2™
Description
This analog sensor connects directly to TI-Nspire™ handhelds through the mini-USB port. It is used to explore and graph motion.
This sensor automatically launches the Vernier
DataQuest™ application when you connect it to a handheld. Data collection begins when you select the Motion Match function.
This sensor collects up to 200 samples per second.
Use this sensor to:
• Measure position and speed of a person or object.
• Measure the acceleration of an object.
This analog sensor connects directly to TI-Nspire™ handhelds through the mini-USB port and is used to collect temperature ranges. You can design experiments to:
• Collect weather data.
• Record temperature changes due to chemical reactions.
• Perform heat fusion studies.
Vernier EasyTemp® temperature sensor
Sensors for Computers
The following table lists some sensors you can use with a computer.
Data Collection 507
Sensor
Vernier Go!Temp® temperature sensor
Description
This analog sensor connects to the computer’s
USB port and is used to collect temperature ranges.
You can use this sensor to:
• Collect weather data.
• Record temperature changes due to chemical reactions.
• Perform heat fusion studies.
This analog sensor connects to the computer’s
USB port and is used to measure acceleration, speed, and velocity.
Use this sensor to:
• Measure position and speed of a person or object.
• Measure the acceleration of an object.
Vernier Go!Motion® motion detector
Compatible Sensors
The following sensors can be used with the Vernier DataQuest™ application.
• 25-g Accelerometer
• 30-Volt Voltage Probe
• 3-Axis Accelerometer
• Low-g Accelerometer
• CBR 2™ - Connects directly to handheld USB port
• Go!Motion® - Connects directly to computer USB port
• Extra Long Temperature Probe
• Stainless Steel Temperature Probe
• Surface Temperature Sensor
• Ammonium Ion-Selective Electrode
• Anemometer
508 Data Collection
• Barometer
• Blood Pressure Sensor
• C02 Gas Sensor
• Calcium Ion-Selective Electrode
• Charge Sensor
• Chloride Ion-Selective Electrode
• Colorimeter
• Conductivity Probe
• High Current Sensor
• Current Probe
• Differential Voltage Probe
• Digital Radiation Monitor
• Dissolved Oxygen Sensor
• Dual-Range Force Sensor
• EasyTemp® - Connects directly to handheld USB port
• EKG Sensor
• Electrode Amplifier
• Flow Rate Sensor
• Force Plate
• Gas Pressure Sensor
• Go!Temp® - Connects directly to computer USB port
• Hand Dynamometer
• Hand-Grip Heart Rate Monitor
• Instrumentation Amplifier
• Light Sensor
• Magnetic Field Sensor
• Melt Station
• Microphone
• Nitrate Ion-Selective Electrode
• O2 Gas Sensor
• ORP Sensor
Data Collection 509
• pH Sensor
• Relative Humidity Sensor
• Respiration Monitor Belt (Requires Gas Pressure Sensor)
• Rotary Motion Sensor
• Salinity Sensor
• Soil Moisture Sensor
• Sound Level Meter
• Spirometer
• Thermocouple
• TI-Light - Sold only with the CBL 2™
• TI-Temp - Sold only with the CBL 2™
• TI-Voltage - Sold only with the CBL 2™
• Tris-Compatible Flat pH Sensor
• Turbidity Sensor
• UVA Sensor
• UVB Sensor
• Vernier Constant Current System
• Vernier Drop Counter
• Vernier Infrared Thermometer
• Vernier Motion Detector
• Vernier Photogate
• Voltage Probe
• Wide-Range Temperature Probe
Connecting Sensors
Direct-connect USB sensors, such as the Vernier Go!Temp® temperature sensor (for computers) or the Vernier EasyLink® temperature sensor (for handhelds), connect directly to the computer or handheld and do not need a sensor interface.
Other sensors require a sensor interface such as the TI-Nspire™ Lab Cradle.
510 Data Collection
Connecting Directly
▶
Attach the cable on the sensor directly to the computer's USB port or to an appropriate port on the handheld.
Connecting through a Sensor Interface
1.
Attach the sensor to the sensor interface using either the mini-USB, USB, or BT connector and the appropriate cable.
2.
Attach the interface to a computer or handheld using the appropriate connector and cable.
Note:
To attach a handheld to a TI-Nspire™ Lab Cradle, slide the handheld into the connector at the bottom of the Lab Cradle.
Setting Up an Offline Sensor
You can predefine meter settings for a sensor that is not currently attached to a computer or handheld.
You cannot use the sensor offline, but you can prepare the experiment for it and then attach it when ready to collect the data. This option makes it faster to share a sensor during a lesson or lab in which there are not enough sensors for everyone.
1.
From the Experiment menu, select Advanced Set Up > Configure Sensor >
Add Offline Sensor .
The Select Sensor dialog box opens.
2.
Select a sensor from the list.
3.
Click the Meter View tab .
4.
Click the sensor you have added, and
Data Collection 511
The settings will be applied when you attach the sensor.
Removing an offline sensor
1.
From the Experiment menu, select Advanced Setup > Configure Sensor .
2.
Select the name of the offline sensor to remove.
3.
Click
Remove
.
Modifying Sensor Settings
You can modify how the sensor values are displayed and stored. For example, when using a temperature sensor, you can change the unit of measure from
Centigrade to Fahrenheit.
Changing Sensor Measurement Units
Measurement units depend on the selected sensor. For example, units for the
Vernier Go!Temp® Temperature sensor are Fahrenheit, Celsius, and Kelvin.
Units for the Vernier Hand Dynamometer (a specialized force sensor) are
Newton, Pound, and Kilogram.
You can change the units before or after you collect data. The collected data reflects the new measurement unit.
1.
Click Meter view to display the connected and offline sensors.
2.
Click the sensor whose units you want to change.
3.
In the Meter Settings dialog box, select the unit type from the
Measurement
Units menu.
512 Data Collection
Calibrating a Sensor
When the software or handheld detects a sensor, the calibration for that sensor automatically loads. You can calibrate some sensors manually. Other sensors, such as the Colorimeter and the Dissolved Oxygen Sensor, must be calibrated to provide useful data.
There are three options for calibrating a sensor:
• Manual Entry
• Two Point
• Single Point
Refer to the sensor’s documentation for specific calibration values and procedures.
Setting a Sensor to Zero
You can set the standing value of some sensors to zero. You cannot set sensors in which relative measurements such as force, motion, and pressure are common to zero. Sensors designed to measure specific environmental conditions, such as Temperature, pH, and CO
2 also cannot be set to zero.
Data Collection 513
1.
Click Meter view to display the connected and offline sensors.
2.
Click the sensor that you want to set to zero.
3.
In the Meter Settings dialog box, click Zero .
Reversing a Sensor's Readings
By default, pulling with a force sensor produces a positive force and pushing produces a negative force. Reversing the sensor allows you to display pushing as a positive force.
1.
Click Meter view to display the connected and offline sensors.
2.
Click the sensor that you want to reverse.
3.
In the Meter Settings dialog box, click
Reverse Readings
.
The sensor display is now reversed. In Meter View, the reverse indicator appears after the sensor name.
Collecting Data
Collecting Time-Based Data
The Time Based collection mode captures sensor data automatically at regular time intervals.
1.
Connect the sensor or sensors.
Sensor names are added to the sensor list automatically.
2.
From the Experiment menu, select New Experiment .
This removes all data and restores all meter settings to their defaults.
3.
From the
Experiment menu, select
Collection Mode > Time Based
.
a) Select Rate or Interval from the drop-down list, and then type the Rate
(samples/second) or Interval (seconds/sample).
514 Data Collection
b) Type the Duration of the collection.
The Number of points is calculated and displayed, based on rate and duration. Note that collecting too many data points can slow system performance.
c) Select
Strip Chart if you want to collect samples continuously, retaining only the last
n
samples. (where “
n
” is the number shown in the Number of points field.)
4.
as necessary.
5.
Click
Start Collection
.
6.
After the data has been collected, click Stop Collection
The data set run is complete.
.
Collecting Selected Events
Use the Selected Events collection mode to capture samples manually. In this mode, each sample is automatically assigned an event number.
1.
Connect the sensor or sensors.
Sensor names are added to the sensor list automatically.
2.
From the Experiment menu, select New Experiment .
This removes all data and restores all meter settings to their defaults.
3.
From the
Experiment menu, select
Collection Mode > Selected Events
.
The Selected Events Setup dialog box opens.
Name . This text is visible in the Meter View. Its first letter is displayed as the independent variable in the Graph view.
-
Units
. This text is displayed in Graph view alongside the Name.
Average over 10 s.
This option averages ten seconds of data for each point.
4.
as necessary.
5.
Click
Start Collection
.
The Keep Current Reading icon becomes active. The current sensor value appears in the center of the graph.
6.
Click Keep Current Reading to capture each sample.
Data Collection 515
The data point is plotted, and the current sensor value appears in the center of the graph.
Note:
If you selected the Averaging option, a countdown timer appears.
When the counter reaches zero, the system plots the average.
7.
Continue capturing until you collect all of the desired data points.
8.
Click
Stop Collection
.
The data set run is complete.
Collecting Events with Entry
Use the Events with Entry collection mode to capture samples manually. In this mode, you define the independent value for each point you collect.
1.
Connect the sensor or sensors.
Sensor names are added to the sensor list automatically.
2.
From the
Experiment menu, select
New Experiment
.
This removes all data and restores all meter settings to their defaults.
3.
From the Experiment menu, select Collection Mode > Events with Entry .
The Events with Entry Setup dialog box opens.
-
Name.
This text is visible in the Meter View. Its first letter is displayed as the independent variable in the Graph view.
Units.
This text is displayed in Graph view alongside the Name.
-
Average over 10 s.
This option averages ten seconds of data for each point.
4.
as necessary.
5.
Click
Start Collection
.
The Keep Current Reading icon becomes active. The current sensor value appears in the center of the graph.
6.
Click
Keep Current Reading to capture a sample.
The Events with Entry dialog box opens.
516 Data Collection
7.
Type a value for the independent variable.
8.
Click
OK
.
The data point is plotted, and the current sensor value appears in the center of the graph.
Note:
If you selected the Averaging option, a countdown timer appears.
When the counter reaches zero, the system plots the average.
9.
Repeat steps 6 through 8 until you collect all of the desired data points.
10. Click
Stop Collection
.
The data set run is complete.
Collecting Photogate Timing Data
The Photogate Timing collection mode is available only when using the
Vernier Photogate sensor. This sensor can time objects that pass through the gates or objects that pass outside of the gates.
1.
Connect the Photogate sensor or sensors.
Sensor names are added to the sensor list automatically.
2.
From the Experiment menu, select New Experiment .
This removes all data and restores all meter settings to their defaults.
3.
From the
Experiment menu, select
Collection Mode > Photogate Timing
.
4.
Set the collection options.
5.
as necessary.
6.
Click
Start Collection
.
7.
After the data has been collected, click
Stop Collection
The data set run is complete.
.
Data Collection 517
Collecting Drop Counter Data
The Drop Counting collection mode is available only when using the Vernier
Drop Counter optical sensor. This sensor can count the number of drops or record the amount of liquid added during an experiment.
1.
Connect the Drop Counter sensor or sensors.
Sensor names are added to the sensor list automatically.
2.
From the
Experiment menu, select
New Experiment
.
This removes all data and restores all meter settings to their defaults.
3.
From the Experiment menu, select Collection Mode > Drop Counting .
4.
Set the collection options.
5.
as necessary.
6.
Click
Start Collection
.
7.
After the data has been collected, click
Stop Collection
The data set run is complete.
.
Using Data Markers to Annotate Data
Data markers give you a way to emphasize specific data points, such as when you change a condition. For example, you might mark a point at which a chemical is added to a solution or when heat is applied or removed. You can add a marker with or without a comment, and you can hide a comment.
Two data markers, one with a comment displayed
518 Data Collection
Marker shown as red triangle in Table view
Adding a Marker During Data Collection
▶
Click Add Data Marker to place a marker at the current data point.
Adding a Marker After Collecting Data
1.
In Graph or Table view, click the point at which you want a marker.
2.
Click Add Data Marker .
3.
Complete the items in the dialog box.
Adding a Comment to an Existing Marker
1.
In the Detail view, click to expand the list of markers for the data set.
Data Collection 519
2.
Click the entry for the marker that you want to change, and complete the items in the dialog box.
Repositioning a Data Marker
1.
Click to expand the list of markers in the Detail view.
2.
Click the entry for the marker that you want to change.
3.
In the dialog box, type a new value for Mark Value at .
Moving a Data Marker's Comment in the Graph View
▶
Drag the comment to move it. The connecting line remains attached to the data point.
Hiding/Showing a Data Marker's Comment
▶
Hide a comment by clicking the
X at the end of the comment.
▶
To restore a hidden comment: a) Click to expand the list of markers in the Detail view.
520 Data Collection
b) Click the entry for the marker that you want to change, and check
Show Comment on Graph .
Removing a Data Marker
1.
Click to expand the list of markers in the Detail view.
2.
In the dialog box, click Remove .
Collecting Data Using a Remote Collection Unit
To collect information from a sensor while it is disconnected, you can set it up as a remote sensor. Only the TI-Nspire™ Lab Cradle, TI CBR 2™, and Vernier
Go!Motion® support remote data collection.
You can set up a remote collection unit to start collecting:
• When you press a manual trigger on the unit, as on the TI-Nspire™ Lab
Cradle
• When a delay countdown expires on a unit that supports a delayed start
Setting Up for Remote Collection
1.
Save and close any open documents, and start with a new document.
2.
Connect the remote collection unit to the computer or handheld.
3.
4.
Click the Collection Setup button .
5.
On the Collection Setup screen, check
Enable Remote Collection
.
6.
Select the remote collection unit from the
Devices list.
7.
Specify the method for starting the collection:
• To start automatically after a specified delay (on supported units), type the delay value.
• To start when you press the manual trigger (on supported units), type a delay value of 0 . When you use a delay, the manual trigger button
Data Collection 521
on the TI-Nspire™ Lab Cradle has no effect on the start of the collection.
8.
Click
OK
.
A message confirms that the unit is ready.
9.
Disconnect the unit.
Depending on the device, LED lights may indicate its status.
Red
. The system is not ready.
Amber
. The system is ready but not collecting data.
Green
. The system is collecting data.
522 Data Collection
10. If you are starting collection manually, press the trigger when ready. If you are starting based on a delay, the collection will start automatically when the countdown is complete.
Retrieving the Remote Data
After collecting data remotely, you transfer it to the computer or handheld for analysis.
1.
Open the Vernier DataQuest™ application.
2.
Attach the TI-Nspire™ Lab Cradle to the handheld or computer.
The Remote Data Detected dialog box opens.
3.
Click
Import
.
The data transfers to the Vernier DataQuest™ application.
Setting Up a Sensor for Automatic Triggering
To start data collection automatically based on a specific sensor reading, the
TI-Nspire™ Lab Cradle and sensor must be connected.
1.
Connect the sensor.
2.
Click Experiment > Advanced Set up > Triggering > Set Up .
The Configure Trigger dialog box opens.
Data Collection 523
3.
Select the sensor from the
Select the sensor to use as trigger drop-down list.
Note:
The menu displays the sensors connected to the TI-Nspire™ Lab
Cradle.
4.
Select one of the following from the Select the type of trigger to use dropdown list.
• Increasing through threshold.
Use to trigger on increasing values.
• Decreasing through threshold.
Use to trigger on decreasing values.
5.
Type the appropriate value in the
Enter the trigger threshold in units of the selected sensor field.
When entering the trigger value, enter a value within the range of the sensor.
If you change the unit type after setting the threshold, the value automatically updates.
For example, if you use the Vernier Gas Pressure sensor with the units set as atm and you later change the units to kPa, the settings are updated.
6.
Type the number of data points to keep before the trigger value occurs.
7.
Click OK .
The trigger is now set and enabled if values were entered.
524 Data Collection
8.
(Optional) Select Experiment > Advanced Set up > Triggering to verify the active indicator is set to Enabled.
Important:
When the trigger is enabled, it stays active until it is disabled or you start a new experiment.
Enabling a Disabled Trigger
If you set the trigger values in the current experiment, and then disable them, you can enable the triggers again.
To enable a trigger:
▶
Click Experiment > Advanced Set Up > Triggering > Enable .
Disabling an Enabled Trigger
To disable the active trigger.
▶
Click Experiment > Advanced Set Up > Triggering > Disable .
Collecting and Managing Data Sets
By default, the Start Collection button overwrites collected data with data from the next run. To preserve each run, you can store it as a data set. After collecting multiple data sets, you can superimpose any combination of them on the Graph View.
Important:
Stored data sets are lost if you close the document without saving it.
If you want stored data to be available later, make sure to save the document.
Storing Data as Sets
1.
Collect the data from the first run. (See Collecting Data.)
2.
Click the Store Data Set button .
Data Collection 525
The data is stored as run1
. A new data set, run2
, is created for collecting the next run.
3.
Click
Start Collection to collect data for run2
.
Comparing Data Sets
1.
Click the Graph View icon to show the graph.
2.
Click the Data Set Selector (near the top of the Detail View) to expand the list of data sets.
À
Data Set Selector lets you expand or collapse the list.
Á
Expanded list shows available data sets. Scroll buttons appear as necessary to let you scroll the list.
3.
Choose which data sets to view by selecting or clearing the check boxes.
The graph is rescaled as necessary to show all selected data.
526 Data Collection
Tip:
To quickly select a single data set, hold down Shift while clicking its name in the list. The graph shows only the selected set, and the list is collapsed automatically to help you view details of the data.
Renaming a Data Set
By default, data sets are named run1
, run2
, and so on. The name of each data set is displayed in the Table view.
1.
Click the Table View icon to show the table.
2.
Display the context menu for the table view, and select Data Set Options >
[
current name
].
3.
Type the new
Name
.
Note:
The maximum character limit is 30. The name cannot contain commas.
4.
(Optional) Type Notes about the data.
Deleting a Data Set
1.
Click the Graph View icon to show the graph.
Data Collection 527
2.
Click the Data Set Selector (near the top of the Detail View) to expand the list of data sets.
3.
Scroll the list as necessary, and then click the Delete symbol (
X
) next to the name of the data set.
4.
Click OK on the confirmation message.
Expanding the View Details Area
▶
Drag the boundary at the right edge of the Details area to increase or decrease its width.
Analyzing Collected Data
In the Vernier DataQuest™ application, use Graph View to analyze data. Start by setting up graphs, and then use analysis tools such as integral, statistics, and curve fit to investigate the mathematical nature of the data.
Important:
The Graph menu and Analyze menu items are only available when working in Graph View.
528 Data Collection
Finding the Area Under a Data Plot
Use Integral to determine the area under a data plot. You can find the area under all of the data or a selected region of the data.
To find the area under a data plot:
1.
Leave the graph unselected to examine all the data, or select a range to examine a specific area.
2.
Click
Analyze > Integral
.
3.
Select the plotted column name if you have more than a single column.
The data plot area is displayed in the View Details area.
Finding the Slope
Tangent displays a measure of the rate at which the data is changing at the point you are examining. The value is labeled “Slope.”
To find the slope:
1.
Click
Analyze > Tangent
.
A check mark appears in the menu next to the option.
2.
Click the graph.
The examine indicator is drawn to the nearest data point.
The values of the plotted data are shown in the View details area and the
All Details for Graph dialog box.
You can move the examine line by dragging, clicking another point, or using the arrow keys.
Interpolating the Value Between Two Data Points
Use Interpolate to estimate the value between two data points and to determine the value of a Curve Fit between and beyond these data points.
The examine line moves from data point to data point. When Interpolate is on, the examine line moves between and beyond data points.
To use Interpolate:
1.
Click
Analyze > Interpolate
.
A check mark appears in the menu next to the option.
2.
Click the graph.
Data Collection 529
The examine indicator is drawn to the nearest data point.
The values of the plotted data are shown in the View Details area.
You can shift the examine line by moving the cursor with the arrow keys or by clicking on another data point.
Generating Statistics
You can generate statistics (minimum, maximum, mean, standard deviation, and number of samples) for all the collected data or for a selected region. You can also generate a curve fit based on one of several standard models or on a model that you define.
1.
Leave the graph unselected to examine all the data, or select a range to examine a specific area.
2.
Click Analyze > Statistics .
3.
Select the plotted column name if you have more than a single column. For example, run1.Pressure.
The Stats dialog box opens.
4.
Review the data.
5.
Click OK .
For information on clearing the Statistics analysis, see Removing Analysis
Options.
530 Data Collection
Generating a Curve Fit
Use Curve Fit to find the best curve fit to match the data. Select all of the data or a selected region of data. The curve is drawn on the graph.
1.
Leave the graph unselected to examine all the data, or select a range to examine a specific area.
2.
Click
Analyze > Curve Fit
.
3.
Select a curve fit option.
Curve Fit option
Linear
Quadratic
Cubic
Quartic
Power (ax^b)
Exponential (ab^x)
Logarithmic
Sinusoidal
Logistic (d 0)
Natural Exponential
Proportional
Calculated in the form:
y = m*x + b y = a*x^2 + b*x + c y = a*x^3 + b*x^2 + c*x + d y = a*x^4 + b*x^3 + c*x^2 + d*x + e y = a*x^b y = a*b^x y = a + b*ln(x) y = a*sin(b*x + c) + d y = c/(1 + a*e^(-bx)) + d y = a*e^(-c*x) y = a*x
The Fit Linear dialog box opens.
Data Collection 531
4.
Click OK .
5.
Review the data.
For information on clearing the Curve Fit analysis, see Removing Analysis
Options.
Plotting a Standard or User-Defined Model
This option provides a manual method for plotting a function to fit data. Use one of the predefined models or enter your own.
You can also set the spin increment to use in the View Details dialog box. Spin increment is the value by which the coefficient changes when you click the spin buttons in the View Details dialog box.
For example, if you set m1=1 as the spin increment, when you click the up spin button the value changes to 1.1, 1.2, 1.3 and so on. If you click the down spin button, the value changes to 0.9, 0.8, 0.7, and so on.
1.
Click Analyze > Model .
The Model dialog box opens.
532 Data Collection
2.
Type your own function.
—or—
Click to select a value from the drop-down list.
3.
Click
OK
.
The Set Coefficient Values dialog box opens.
4.
Type the value for the variables.
5.
Type the change in value in the Spin Increment fields.
6.
Click
OK
.
Data Collection 533
Note:
These values are the initial values. You can also adjust these values in the View Details area.
The model is shown on the graph with adjustment options in the View
Details area and in the All Details for Graph dialog box.
7.
(Optional) Adjust the window setting for minimum and maximum axis values. For more information, see Setting the Axis for One Graph.
For information on clearing the Model analysis, see
Removing Analysis
Options.
8.
Click to make any desired adjustments to the coefficients.
—or—
Click the value in the View Details area.
This graphic is an example of a model with adjusted values.
Removing Analysis Options
1.
Click
Analyze > Remove
.
2.
Select the data display you want to remove.
The display you selected is removed from the graph and the View Details area.
Displaying Collected Data in Graph View
When you collect data, it is written in both the Graph and Table views. Use the
Graph view to examine the plotted data.
Important:
The Graph menu and Analyze menu items are only active when working in Graph View.
Selecting the Graph View
▶
Click the
Graph View tab .
Viewing Multiple Graphs
Use the Show Graph menu to show separate graphs when using:
• A sensor that plots more than one column of data.
• Multiple sensors with different defined units at the same time.
534 Data Collection
In this example, two sensors (the Gas Pressure sensor and the Hand
Dynamometer) were used in the same run. The following image shows the columns Time, Force, and Pressure in the Table view to illustrate why two graphs are shown.
Displaying One of Two Graphs
When two graphs are displayed, the top graph is Graph 1 and the bottom graph is Graph 2.
To display only Graph 1:
▶
Select
Graph > Show Graph > Graph 1
.
Only Graph1 is displayed.
To display only Graph 2:
▶
Select Graph > Show Graph > Graph 2 .
Only Graph 2 is displayed.
Displaying Both Graphs
To display both Graph 1 and Graph 2 together:
▶
Select
Graph > Show Graph > Both
.
Graph1 and Graph 2 are displayed.
Displaying Graphs in the Page Layout View
Use the Page layout view when Show Graph is not the appropriate solution for showing more than one graph.
The Show Graph option is not applicable for:
• Multiple runs using a single sensor.
• Two or more of the same sensors.
• Multiple sensors that use the same column(s) of data.
To use Page Layout:
1.
Open the original data set you want to see in two graph windows.
2.
Click Edit > Page Layout > Select Layout .
3.
Select the type of page layout you want to use.
4.
Click
Click here to add an application
.
5.
Select Add Vernier DataQuest™ .
Data Collection 535
The Vernier DataQuest™ application is added to the second view.
6.
To see separate views, click the view you want to change, and then select
View > Table
.
The new view is displayed.
7.
To show the same view, click the view to change.
8.
Click View > Graph .
The new view is displayed.
Displaying Collected Data in Table View
Table view provides another way to sort and view collected data.
Selecting the Table View
▶
Click the
Table View tab .
Defining Column Options
You can name columns and define the decimal points and the precision you want to use.
1.
from the Data menu, select Column Options .
Note:
You can be in the Meter, Graph, or Table view and still click these menu options. The results will still be visible.
2.
Click the name of the column you want to define.
The Column Options dialog box opens.
536 Data Collection
3.
Type the long name for the column in the
Name
field.
4.
Type the abbreviated name in the
Short Name
field.
Note:
This name is displayed if the column cannot expand to display the full name.
5.
Type the number of units in the Units field.
6.
From the Displayed Precision drop-down list, select the precision value.
Note:
The default precision is related to the precision of the sensor.
7.
Select
Link to list to link to the symbol table and make this information available to other TI-Nspire™ applications.
Note:
Linking is the default for most sensors.
Important:
Heart rate and blood pressure sensors require a tremendous amount of data to be useful, and the default for these sensors is to be unlinked to improve system performance.
8.
Select Apply changes to all Data Sets to apply these settings to all data sets.
9.
Click OK .
The column settings are now defined with the new values.
Data Collection 537
Creating a Column of Manually Entered Values
To enter data manually, add a new column. Sensor columns cannot be modified, but data entered manually can be edited.
1.
Click Data > New Manual Column .
The Column Options dialog box opens.
2.
Type the long name for the column in the
Name
field.
3.
Type the abbreviated name in the
Short Name
field.
Note:
This name is displayed if the column cannot expand to display the full name.
4.
Type the units to be used.
5.
From the Displayed Precision drop-down list, select the precision value.
Note: The default precision is related to the precision of the sensor.
6.
(Optional) Select
Apply changes to all Data Sets to apply these settings to all data sets.
7.
(Optional) Select
Generate Values to automatically populate the rows.
If you select this option, complete these steps: a) Type a starting value in the Start field.
b) Type an ending value in the End field.
538 Data Collection
c) Type the increase in value in the
Increment
field.
The number of points is calculated and shown in the Number of Points field.
8.
Select
Link from list to link to data in another TI-Nspire™ application.
Note:
This list only populates when data exists in the other application and includes a column label.
9.
Select Link to list to link to the symbol table and make this information available to other TI-Nspire™ applications.
Note:
Linking is the default for most sensors.
Important:
Heart rate and blood pressure sensors require a tremendous amount of data to be useful, and the default for these sensors is to be unlinked to improve system performance.
10. Click
OK
.
A new column is added to the table. This column can be edited.
Creating a Column of Calculated Values
You can add an additional column to the data set in which the values are calculated from an expression using at least one of the existing columns.
Use a calculated column when finding the derivative for pH data. For more information, see Adjusting Derivative Settings.
1.
Click Data > New Calculated Column .
The Column Options dialog box opens.
Data Collection 539
2.
Type the long name for the column in the
Name field.
3.
Type the abbreviated name in the
Short Name field.
Note:
This name is displayed if the column cannot expand to display the full name.
4.
Type the units to be used.
5.
From the Displayed Precision drop-down list, select the precision value.
Note:
The default precision is related to the precision of the sensor.
6.
Type a calculation including one of the column names in the
Expression
field.
Note:
The system-provided column names are dependent on the sensor(s) selected and any changes made to the name field in Column Options.
Important:
The Expression field is case-sensitive. (Example: “Pressure” is not the same as “pressure.”)
7.
Select Link to list to link to the symbol table and make this information available to other TI-Nspire™ applications.
Note:
Linking is the default for most sensors.
540 Data Collection
Important:
Heart rate and blood pressure sensors require a tremendous amount of data to be useful, and the default for these sensors is to be unlinked to improve system performance.
8.
Click OK .
The new calculated column is created.
Customizing the Graph of Collected Data
You can customize the Graph view by adding a title, changing colors, and setting ranges for the axis.
Adding a Title
When you add a title to a graph, the title is displayed in the View Details area.
When you print the graph, the title prints on the graph.
1.
Click
Graph > Graph Title
.
The Graph Title dialog box opens.
If there are two graphs in the work area, the dialog box has two title options.
2.
Type the name of the graph in the Title field.
—or— a) Type the name of the first graph in the Graph 1 field.
Data Collection 541
b) Type the name of the second graph in the Graph 2 field.
3.
Select
Enable to show the title.
Note:
Use the Enable option to hide or show the graph title as needed.
4.
Click
OK
.
The title is shown.
Setting Axis Ranges
Setting Axis Ranges for One Graph
To modify the minimum and maximum range for the x and y axis:
1.
Click Graph > Window Settings .
The Window Settings dialog box opens.
2.
Type the new values in one or more of these fields:
X Min
X Max
Y Min
Y Max
3.
Click
OK
.
The application uses the new values for the graph visual range until you modify the range or change data sets.
Setting Axis Ranges for Two Graphs
When working with two graphs, enter two y axis minimum and maximum values, but only one set of minimum and maximum values for the x axis.
1.
Click Graph > Window Setting .
542 Data Collection
The Window Setting dialog box opens.
2.
Type the new values in one or more of these fields:
X Min
X Max
Graph 1: Y Min
Y Max
Graph 2: Y Min
Y Max
3.
Click
OK
.
The application uses the new values for the graph visual range until you modify the range or change data sets.
Setting the Axis Range on the Graph Screen
You can modify the minimum and maximum range for the x and y axes directly on the graph screen.
▶
Select the axis value that you want to change, and type a new value.
The graph is redrawn to reflect the change.
Selecting which Data Sets to Plot
1.
In the Detail view on the left, click the tab immediately below the view selection buttons.
Data Collection 543
2.
The Detail view shows a list of available data sets.
3.
Use the check boxes to select the data sets to plot.
Autoscaling a Graph
Use the autoscale option to show all the points plotted. Autoscale Now is useful after you change the x and y axis range or zoom in or out of a graph. You can also define the automatic autoscale setting to use during and after a collection.
Autoscale Now Using the Application Menu
▶
Click
Graph > Autoscale Now
.
The graph now displays all the points plotted.
Autoscale Now Using the Context Menu
1.
Open the context menu in the graph area.
2.
Click Window/Zoom > Autoscale Now .
The graph now displays all the points plotted.
Defining Autoscale During a Collection
There are two options for using the automatic autoscaling that occurs during a collection. To choose an option:
1.
Click Options > Autoscale Settings .
The Autoscale Settings dialog box opens.
544 Data Collection
2.
Click ► to open the During Collection drop-down list.
3.
Select one of these options:
• Autoscale Larger - Expands the graph as needed to show all points as you collect them.
• Do Not Autoscale - The graph is not changed during a collection.
4.
Click
OK to save the setting.
Defining Autoscale After a Collection
You have three options for setting the automatic autoscaling that occurs after a collection. To set your choice:
1.
Click Options > Autoscale Settings .
The Autoscale Settings dialog box opens.
2.
Click ► to open the
After Collection drop-down list.
3.
Select one of these options:
• Autoscale to Data.
Expands the graph to show all data points. This option is the default mode.
• Autoscale From Zero.
Modifies the graph so all data points including the origin point are displayed.
• Do Not Autoscale.
The graph settings are not changed.
4.
Click
OK to save the setting.
Selecting a Range of Data
Selecting a range of data on the graph is useful in several situations, such as when zooming in or out, striking and unstriking data, and examining settings.
To select a range:
1.
Drag across the graph.
Data Collection 545
The selected area is indicated by gray shading.
2.
Perform one of these actions.
• Zoom in or out
• Strike or unstrike data
• Examine settings
Zooming In on a Graph
You can zoom in on a subset of the collected points. You can also zoom out from a previous zoom or expand the graph window beyond the data points collected.
To zoom in on a graph:
1.
Select the area you want to zoom into or use the current view.
2.
Click Graph > Zoom In .
The graph adjusts to display only the area you selected.
The x range selected is used as the new x range. The y range autoscales to show all graphed data points in the selected range.
These images show an original view and zoom in performed multiple times (or as a selected region).
Zooming Out of a Graph
▶
Select Graph > Zoom Out .
The graph is now expanded.
If a Zoom In precedes a Zoom Out, the graph displays the original settings prior to the Zoom In.
For example, if you Zoomed In twice, the first Zoom Out would display the window of the first Zoom In. To display the full graph with all data points from multiple zoom ins, use Autoscale Now.
Setting Point Options
To indicate how often marks show on the graph and whether to use a connecting line:
1.
Click Options > Point Options .
The Point Options dialog box opens.
546 Data Collection
2.
Select a Mark option from the drop-down list.
•
None.
No point protectors.
•
Regional.
Periodic point protectors.
• All.
Every data point as a point protector.
3.
Select Connect Data Points to display a line between points.
—or—
Clear
Connect Data Points to remove the line between points.
The following graphics show examples of some of the Point Mark options.
Changing a Graph's Color
1.
Click the point indicator for the graph whose color you want to change.
Data Collection 547
2.
In the Column Options dialog box, select the new Color .
Selecting Point Markers
1.
Right-click in the graph to open the menu.
2.
Click
Point Marker
.
Note:
If there is only one dependent variable column, the Point Marker option is preceded by the data set name and column name. Otherwise, the
Point Marker option has a menu.
3.
Select the column variable to change.
4.
Select the point marker to set.
The Point Marker changes to the option selected.
Selecting an Independent Variable Column
Use the option Select X-axis Column to select the column used as the independent variable when graphing the data. This column is used for all graphs.
1.
Click Graph > Select X-axis Column .
2.
Select the variable you want to change.
The x-axis label on the graph changes and the graph is reordered using the new independent variable for graphing the data.
Selecting a Dependent Variable Column
Use the option Select Y-axis Column to select which dependent variable columns to plot on the displayed graph(s).
1.
Click
Graph > Select Y-axis Column
.
2.
Select one of the following:
548 Data Collection
• A variable from the list. The list is a combination of dependent variables and the number of data sets.
•
More.
Selecting More opens the Select dialog box. Use this when you want to select a combination of data set variables to graph.
Showing and Hiding Details
You can hide or show the Details view on the left side of the screen.
▶
Click Options > Hide Details or Options > Show Details .
Striking and Restoring Data
Striking data omits it temporarily from the Graph view and from the analysis tools.
1.
Open the data run that contains the data to be struck.
2.
Click Table View .
3.
Select the region by dragging from the starting row to the ending point.
The screen scrolls so you can see the selection.
4.
Click
Data > Strike Data.
5.
Select one of the following:
• In Selected Region . Strike the data from the area you selected.
•
Outside Selected Region
. Strike all data except the area you selected.
The selected data is marked as struck in the table and is removed from the graph view.
Data Collection 549
Restoring Struck Data
1.
Select the range of data to restore or if restoring all struck data, start at step two.
2.
Click
Data > Restore Data
.
3.
Select one of the following:
• In Selected Region - Restore data in the selected area.
•
Outside Selected Region
- Restore data outside the selected area.
•
All Data
- Restore all data. No data selection necessary.
The data is restored.
Replaying the Data Collection
Use the Replay option to playback the data collection. This option lets you:
• Select the data set you want to replay.
• Pause the playback.
• Advance the playback by one point at a time.
• Adjust the playback rate.
• Repeat the playback.
Selecting the Data Set to Replay
You can replay one data set at a time. By default, the latest data set plays using the first column as the base column (example: time reference).
If you have multiple data sets, and want a different data set or base column than the default, you can select the data set to replay and the base column.
To select the data set to replay:
1.
Click
Experiment > Replay > Advanced Settings
.
The Advanced Replay Settings dialog box opens.
550 Data Collection
2.
Select the data set to replay from the Data Set drop-down list.
Note:
Changing the run in the Data Set selection tool does not affect the playback choice. You must specify which data set in
Experiment > Replay
> Advance Settings .
3.
(Optional) Select a new value from the Base Column drop-down list.
The selected column acts as the “Time” column for the replay.
Note:
The base column should be a strictly increasing list of numbers.
4.
Click Start to start the playback and save the settings.
Note:
Data Set and Base Column options are based on the number of stored runs and the sensor type used.
Starting and Controlling the Playback
▶
Select
Experiment > Replay > Start Playback
.
Playback begins, and the Data Collection Control buttons change to:
Pause
Resume
Stop
Advance by One Point (enabled only during pause)
Adjusting the Playback Rate
To adjust the playback rate:
1.
Select Experiment > Replay > Playback Rate .
The Playback Rate dialog box opens.
2.
In the Playback Rate field, click ▼ to open the drop-down list.
Data Collection 551
3.
Select the rate at which the playback will play.
Normal speed is 1.00. A higher value is faster, and a lower value is slower.
4.
Select one of the following options:
• Click Start to start the playback and save the settings.
• Click OK to save the settings for use on the next playback.
Repeating the Playback
1.
Select
Experiment > Replay > Start Playback
.
2.
Click Start to start the playback and save the settings.
Adjusting Derivative Settings
Use this option to select the number of points to use in derivative calculations.
This value affects the tangent tool, velocity, and acceleration values.
Find pH derivative settings using a calculated column.
The Vernier DataQuest™ application can determine a numeric derivative from a list of data with respect to another list of data. The data can be collected using sensors, input manually, or linked with other applications. The numerical derivative is found using a calculated column.
To determine the numerical 1st derivative of List B with respect to List A, enter the following expression in the Column Options dialog:
derivative(B,A,1,0) or derivative(B,A,1,1)
To determine the numerical 2nd derivative of List B with respect to List A, enter the following express:
derivative(B,A,2,0) or derivative (B,A,2,1)
The last parameter is either 0 or 1 depending on the method you are using.
When it is 0, a weighted average is used. When it is 1, a time shifted derivative method is used.
Note:
The first derivative calculation (weighted average) is what the Tangent tool uses to display the slope at a data point when examining data. (Analyze >
Tangent).
Note:
The derivative calculation is completely row based. It is recommended that your List A data be sorted in ascending order.
1.
Click
Options > Derivative Settings
.
552 Data Collection
The Settings dialog box opens.
2.
Select the number of points from the drop-down list.
3.
Click
OK
.
Drawing a Predictive Plot
Use this option to add points to the graph to predict the outcome of an experiment.
1.
Click the
Graph View tab .
2.
From the Analyze menu, select Draw Prediction > Draw .
3.
Click each area in which you want to place a point.
4.
Press
Esc to release the drawing tool.
5.
To clear the drawn prediction, click Analyze > Draw Prediction > Clear .
Using Motion Match
Use this option to create a randomly generated plot when creating position-versus-time or velocity-versus-time graphs.
Data Collection 553
This feature is only available when using a motion detector such as the
CBR 2™ sensor or the Go!Motion® sensor.
Generating a Motion Match Plot
To generate a plot:
1.
Attach the motion detector.
2.
Click
View > Graph
.
3.
Click
Analyze > Motion Match
.
4.
Select one of the following options:
• New Position Match . Generates a random position plot.
•
New Velocity Match
. Generates a random velocity plot.
Note: Continue selecting a new position or a new velocity match to generate a new random plot without removing the existing plot.
Removing a Motion Match Plot
To remove the generated plot:
▶
Click
Analyze > Motion Match > Remove Match
.
Printing Collected Data
You can only print from the computer. You can print any single displayed active view, or with the Print All option:
• One data view.
• All of the data views.
• A combination of the data views.
The Print All option has no effect on applications outside of the Vernier
DataQuest™ application.
Printing Data Views
To print a data view:
1.
On the main menu (top of the window), click File > Print .
The Print dialog box opens.
554 Data Collection
2.
Select Print All from the Print what drop-down list.
3.
Select additional options, if needed.
4.
Click
Print to send the document to the printer.
Setting Options for the Print All Feature
1.
Click Options > Print All Settings .
The Print All Settings dialog box opens.
2.
Select the views you want to print.
•
Print Current View.
The current view is sent to the printer.
• Print All Views.
All three views (Meter, Graph, and Table) are sent to the printer.
• More.
Only the views you select are sent to the printer.
Data Collection 555
3.
Click OK .
The Print All Settings are now complete and can be used when printing.
556 Data Collection
Libraries
A library is a TI-Nspire™ document that contains a collection of variables, functions, and/or programs that have been defined as library objects.
Unlike ordinary variables, functions, and programs, which can be used only within a single problem (the problem in which they are defined), library objects are accessible from any document. You can even create public library objects that appear in the TI-Nspire™ Catalog.
For example, suppose you have created library document matrix containing public library function diagwithtrace() and a private library function errmsg() .
Function diagwithtrace() displays the diagonal of a square matrix and calculates the trace of the matrix. If its input is not a square matrix, the function calls errmsg() , which should then return an appropriate error string.
You could then use the following syntax to display the diagonal and calculate the trace of matrix
m
defined in the current problem:
matrix\diagwithtrace(m)
Libraries 557
Creating Libraries and Library Objects
A document is regarded as a library when it is saved or copied to the designated library folder. The default location is:
• Windows®: My Documents\TI-Nspire\MyLib.
• Mac®: Documents/TI-Nspire/MyLib.
• Handheld: MyLib
If the folder has been inadvertently deleted, you must create it before attempting to use libraries.
You can define library objects using either the Program Editor or the Calculator application. Library objects must be defined with a
Define command and must reside in the first problem of a library document.
Note:
If you use the Program Editor to define a library function or program, you must store the object and also save the document. Saving the document does not automatically store the object. For more information, see Programming.
Naming restrictions apply to library documents and library objects.
• A library document name must be a valid variable name between 1 and 16 characters long, and it must not contain a period or begin with an underscore.
• A library object name must be a valid variable name between 1 and 15 characters long. It must not contain a period and must not begin with an underscore.
Private and Public Library Objects
When you define a library object, you designate it as private (LibPriv) or public
(LibPub).
Define a=5
a
is not a library object.
Define LibPriv b={1,2,3}
b
is a private library object.
Define LibPub func1(x)=x^2 - 1
func1
is a public library object.
A
Private library object does not appear in the Catalog, but you can access it by typing its name. Private objects serve well as building blocks that perform
558 Libraries
basic, low-level tasks. Typically, private library objects are called upon by the public functions and programs.
A Public library object appears in the Catalog’s library tab after you refresh the libraries. You can access a public library object through the Catalog or by typing its name.
Mac® only: In version 1.4 of the software, a library document name cannot contain extended characters, such as Ö, á, or ñ.
Note:
In library programs and functions defined as public, a comment line (©) immediately following the Prgm or Func line is automatically displayed as help in the Catalog. You could, for example, show a syntax reminder there.
Using Short and Long Names
Anytime you are in the same problem where an object is defined, you can access it by entering its short name (the name given in the object’s
Define command). This is the case for all defined objects, including private, public, and non-library objects.
You can access a library object from any document by typing the object’s long name. A long name consists of the name of the object’s library document followed by a backslash “\” followed by the name of the object. For example, the long name of the object defined as func1 in the library document lib1 is lib1\func1 . To type the “\” character on the handheld, press g p
.
Note:
If you cannot remember the exact name or the order of arguments required for a private library object, you can open the library document or use the Program Editor to view the object. You also can use getVarInfo to view a list of objects in a library.
Using Library Objects
Before using a library variable, function, or program, make sure that these steps have been followed:
• The object has been defined with the Define command, and the command specifies either the LibPriv or LibPub attribute.
• The object resides in the first problem of a library document. The document must reside in the designated library folder and must meet the naming requirements.
Libraries 559
• If you defined the object using the Program Editor, it has been stored using
Check Syntax & Store from the Program Editor menu.
• The libraries have been refreshed.
Refreshing the Libraries
▶
Refresh libraries to make the library objects available to your documents.
From the Tools menu, click Refresh Libraries .
Handheld: Press
/ b and click
Refresh Libraries
.
Using a Public Library Object
1.
Refresh the libraries.
2.
Open the TI-Nspire™ application in which you want to use the variable, function or program.
Note:
All applications can evaluate functions, but only the Calculator and
Notes applications can run programs.
3.
Open the Catalog and use the library tab to find and insert the object.
4.
If arguments are required, type them inside the parentheses.
Using a Private Library Object
1.
Refresh the libraries.
2.
Open the TI-Nspire™ application in which you want to use the variable, function, or program.
Note:
All applications can evaluate functions, but only the Calculator and
Notes applications can run programs.
3.
Type the name of the object, such as lib1\func1().
In case of a function or program, always follow the name with parentheses.
To type the “\” character on the handheld, press g p
.
4.
If arguments are required, type them inside the parentheses.
Creating Shortcuts to Library Objects
You can make the objects in a library more easily accessible by using libShortcut() to create shortcuts to them. This creates a variable group in the current problem that contains references to all the objects in the specified library document. You can choose to include or exclude the private library objects.
560 Libraries
For example, suppose the library document linalg contains functions named clearmat, cofactor, gausstep, help, inversestep, kernelbasis, rank, and simultstep. Executing libShortcut(
“linalg”,“la”
) would create a variable group containing the following members: la.clearmat
la.cofactor
la.gausstep
la.help
la.inversestep
la.kernelbasis
la.rank
la.simultstep
You can refer to those library objects from within the current problem by typing their variable names or by selecting them from the Variables menu.
For more details about using libShortcut() , see the
Reference Guide.
Included Libraries
To help you get started with libraries, the TI-Nspire™ Software installation includes a library document with useful Linear Algebra functions. The library is named linalg or linalgCAS and is installed in the designated library folder.
Note:
Updating the handheld’s operating system or reinstalling the computer software places all included libraries in the default folder. If you have edited an object in an included library or replaced an included library with your own document of the same name, updating or reinstalling will overwrite your changes. This could also happen after batteries are replaced or the handheld system is reset.
Restoring an Included Library
If you inadvertently delete or overwrite an included library, you can restore it from the installation DVD.
1.
Open the DVD, and navigate to the libs folder.
2.
Identify the library file to restore, such as linalg.tns
or linalgCAS.tns
for the linear algebra library.
3.
Copy the file.
Libraries 561
Windows®: Copy the file to your designated library folder. The default location is My Documents\TI-Nspire\MyLib .
Mac®: Copy the file to your designated library folder. The default location is
Documents/TI-Nspire/MyLib
.
Handheld: Connect the handheld to your computer, open the
TI-Nspire™ software, and copy the library file to the handheld’s MyLib folder.
4.
Activate the new library objects.
From the TI-Nspire™ Software
Tools menu, click
Refresh Libraries
.
Handheld: Press
/ b
, and click Refresh Libraries .
562 Libraries
Getting Started with the Program Editor
You can create user-defined functions or programs by typing definition statements on the Calculator entry line or by using the Program Editor. The
Program Editor offers some advantages, and it is covered in this section. For more information, see Calculator.
• The editor has programming templates and dialog boxes to help you define functions and programs using correct syntax.
• The editor lets you enter multiple-line programming statements without requiring a special key sequence to add each line.
• You can easily create private and public library objects (variables, functions, and programs). For more information, see Libraries.
Launching the Program Editor
▶
To add a new Program Editor page in the current problem:
From the toolbar, click
Insert > Program Editor > New
.
Handheld: Press
~ and select Insert > Program Editor > New .
Note:
The editor is also accessible from the Functions & Programs menu of a Calculator page.
À
Program Editor menu – This menu is available anytime you are in the
Program Editor work area using the Normal view mode.
Á
Program Editor work area
Getting Started with the Program Editor 563
Â
Status line shows line-number information and the name of the function or program being edited. An asterisk (
*
) indicates that this function is “dirty,” which means that it has changed since the last time its syntax has been checked and it has been stored.
Defining a Program or Function
Starting a new Program Editor
1.
Make sure you are in the document and problem in which you want to create the program or function.
2.
Click Insert button on the application toolbar, and select Program Editor
> New . (On the handheld, press
~ and select Insert > Program Editor >
New .)
3.
Type a name for the function or program you are defining.
4.
Select the
Type
(
Program or
Function
).
5.
Set the
Library Access
:
To use the function or program only from the current document and problem, select None .
To make the function or program accessible from any document but not visible in the Catalog, select LibPriv .
To make the function or program accessible from any document and also visible in the Catalog, select
LibPub (Show in Catalog)
. For more information, see Libraries.
6.
Click OK .
A new instance of the Program Editor opens, with a template matching the selections you made.
564 Getting Started with the Program Editor
Entering Lines into a Function or Program
The Program Editor does not execute the commands or evaluate expressions as you type them. They are executed only when you evaluate the function or run the program.
1.
If your function or program will require the user to supply arguments, type parameter names in the parentheses that follow the name. Separate parameters with a comma.
2.
Between the Func and EndFunc (or Prgm and EndPrgm) lines, type the lines of statements that make up your function or program.
You can either type the names of functions and commands or insert them from the Catalog.
A line can be longer than the width of the screen; if so, you might have to scroll to view the entire statement.
After typing each line, press
Enter
. This inserts a new blank line and lets you continue entering another line.
Use the ◄, ►, ▲, and ▼ arrow keys to scroll through the function or program for entering or editing commands.
Getting Started with the Program Editor 565
Inserting Comments
A comment symbol (©) lets you enter a remark. Comments can be useful to someone viewing or editing the program. Comments are not displayed when the program runs, and they have no effect on program flow.
Define LibPub volcyl(ht,r) =
Prgm
©volcyl(ht,r) => volume of cylinder
Disp “Volume =”, approx(p ¦ r
2
¦ ht)
À
©This is another comment.
EndPrgm
À
Comment showing required syntax. Because this library object is public and this comment is the first line in a Func or Prgm block, the comment is displayed in the Catalog as help. For more information, see Libraries.
To insert a comment:
1.
Position the cursor at the end of the line in which you want to insert a comment.
2.
From the
Actions menu, click
Insert Comment
.
3.
Type the text of the comment after the © symbol.
Checking Syntax
The Program Editor lets you check the function or program for correct syntax.
▶
From the Check Syntax & Store menu, click Check Syntax .
If the syntax checker finds any syntax errors, it displays an error message and tries to position the cursor near the first error so you can correct it.
566 Getting Started with the Program Editor
Storing the Function or Program
You must store your function or program to make it accessible. The Program
Editor automatically checks the syntax before storing.
An asterisk (*) is displayed in the upper left corner of the Program Editor to indicate that the function or program has not been stored.
▶
From the Check Syntax & Store menu, click Check Syntax & Store .
If the syntax checker finds any syntax errors, it displays an error message and tries to position the cursor near the first error.
If no syntax errors are found, the message “Stored successfully“is displayed in the status line at the top of the Program Editor.
Note:
If the function or program is defined as a library object, you must also save the document in the designated library folder and refresh libraries to make the object accessible to other documents. For more information, see
Libraries.
Viewing a Program or Function
1.
From the
Actions menu, click
View
.
2.
If the function or program is a library object, select its library from the
Location list.
3.
Select the function or program name from the Name list.
The function or program is displayed in a viewer.
Getting Started with the Program Editor 567
4.
Use the arrow keys to view the function or program.
5.
If you want to edit the program, click Edit .
Handheld: Press e to highlight
Edit
, and then press
·
.
Note:
The
Edit selection is available only for functions and programs defined in the current problem. To edit a library object, you must first open its library document.
Opening a Function or Program for Editing
You can open a function or program from the current problem only.
Note:
You cannot modify a locked program or function. To unlock the object, go to a Calculator page and use the unLock command.
1.
Display the list of available functions and programs.
From the Actions menu, click Open .
2.
Click the item to open.
Importing a Program from a Library
You can import a function or program defined as a library object into a Program
Editor within the current problem. The imported copy is not locked, even if the original is locked.
1.
From the
Actions menu, click
Import
.
568 Getting Started with the Program Editor
2.
Select the
Library Name
.
3.
Select the Name of the object.
4.
If you want the imported object to have a different name, type the name under Import As .
Creating a Copy of a Function or Program
When creating a new function or program, you might find it easier to start with a copy of the current one. The copy that you create is not locked, even if the original is locked.
1.
From the
Actions menu, click
Create Copy
.
2.
Type a new name, or click
OK to accept the proposed name.
3.
If you want to change the access level, select Library Access , and select a new level.
Renaming a Program or Function
You can rename and (optionally) change the access level of the current function or program.
1.
From the Actions menu, click Rename .
Getting Started with the Program Editor 569
2.
Type a new name, or click OK to accept the proposed name.
3.
If you want to change the access level, select
Library Access
, and select a new level.
Changing the Library Access Level
1.
From the
Actions menu, click
Change Library Access
.
2.
Select the
Library Access
:
To use the function or program only from the current Calculator problem, select
None
.
To make function or program accessible from any document but not visible in the Catalog, select LibPriv .
To make the function or program accessible from any document and also visible in the Catalog, select
LibPub
.
Finding Text
1.
From the
Actions menu, click
Find
.
2.
Type the text that you want to find, and click OK .
If the text is found, it is highlighted in the program.
If the text is not found, a notification message is displayed.
Finding and Replacing Text
1.
From the Actions menu, click Find and Replace .
570 Getting Started with the Program Editor
2.
Type the text that you want to find.
3.
Type the replacement text.
4.
Click
Replace to replace the first occurrence after the cursor position.
—or—
Click Replace All to replace every occurrence.
Note:
If the text is found in a math template, a message is displayed to warn you that your replacement text will replace the whole template—not just the found text.
Closing the Current Function or Program
▶
From the Actions menu, click Close .
If the function or program has unstored changes, you are prompted to check syntax and store before closing.
Running Programs and Evaluating Functions
After defining and storing a function or program, you can use it from an application. All the applications can evaluate functions, but only the Calculator and Notes applications can run programs.
The program statements are executed in sequential order (although some commands alter the program flow). The output, if any, is displayed in the application’s work area.
• Program execution continues until it reaches the last statement or a
Stop command.
• Function execution continues until it reaches a
Return command.
• To stop a program or function manually,
Windows®: Hold down the F12 key and press Enter repeatedly.
Getting Started with the Program Editor 571
Mac®: Hold down the F5 key and press Enter repeatedly.
Handheld: Hold down the c key and press
· repeatedly.
Using Short and Long Names
Anytime you are in the same problem where an object is defined, you can access it by entering its short name (the name given in the object’s
Define command). This is the case for all defined objects, including private, public, and non-library objects.
You can access a library object from any document by typing the object’s long name. A long name consists of the name of the object’s library document followed by a backslash “\” followed by the name of the object. For example, the long name of the object defined as func1 in the library document lib1 is lib1\func1 . To type the “\” character on the handheld, press g p
.
Note:
If you cannot remember the exact name or the order of arguments required for a private library object, you can open the library document or use the Program Editor to view the object. You also can use getVarInfo to view a list of objects in a library.
Using a Public Library Function or Program
1.
Make sure you have defined the object in the document’s first problem, stored the object, saved the library document in the MyLib folder, and refreshed the libraries.
2.
Open the TI-Nspire™ application in which you want to use the function or program.
Note:
All applications can evaluate functions, but only the Calculator and
Notes applications can run programs.
3.
Open the Catalog and use the library tab to find and insert the object.
—or—
Type the name of the object. In the case of a function or program, always follow the name with parentheses.
libs2\func1()
4.
If the program requires you to supply one or more arguments, type the values or variable names inside the parentheses.
libs2\func1(34,power)
572 Getting Started with the Program Editor
5.
Press
·
.
Using a Private Library Function or Program
To use a Private library object, you must know its long name. For example, the long name of the object defined as func1 in the library document lib1 is lib1\func1
.
Note:
If you cannot remember the exact name or the order of arguments required for a private library object, you can open the library document or use the Program Editor to view the object.
1.
Make sure you have defined the object in the document’s first problem, stored the object, saved the library document in the MyLib folder, and refreshed the libraries.
2.
Open the TI-Nspire™ application in which you want to use the function or program.
Note:
All applications can evaluate functions, but only the Calculator and
Notes applications can run programs.
3.
Type the name of the object. In the case of a function or program, always follow the name with parentheses.
libs2\func1()
4.
If the object requires you to supply one or more arguments, type the values or variable names inside the parentheses.
libs2\func1(34,power)
5.
Press
·
.
Running a Non-Library Program or Function
1.
Make sure you are in the same problem in which the function or program is defined.
2.
Type the name of the function or program on the entry line.
—or—
Press h to select the name from a list.
You must always include a set of parentheses after the name.
prog1()
Getting Started with the Program Editor 573
If the function or program requires you to supply one or more arguments, type the values or variable names inside the parentheses.
prog1(34,power)
3.
Press
·
.
Interrupting a Running Program
While a function or program is running, the busy pointer
} is displayed.
▶
To stop the function or program,
Windows®: Hold down the
F12 key and press
Enter repeatedly.
Mac®: Hold down the F5 key and press Enter repeatedly.
Handheld: Hold down the c key and press
· repeatedly.
A message is displayed. To edit the function or program in the Program
Editor, select
Go To
. The cursor appears at the command where the break occurred.
Getting Values into a Program
You can choose from several methods to supply the values that a function or program uses in calculations.
Embedding the Values Within the Program or Function
This method is useful primarily for values that must be the same each time the program or function is used.
1.
Define the program.
Define calculatearea()=
Prgm w:=3 h:=23.64
area:=w*h
EndPrgm
2.
Run the program.
calculatearea()
:area 70.92
574 Getting Started with the Program Editor
Letting the User Assign the Values to Variables
A program or function can refer to variables created beforehand. This method requires users to remember the variable names and to assign values to them before using the object.
1.
Define the program.
Define calculatearea()=
Prgm area:=w*h
EndPrgm
2.
Supply the variables, and then run the program.
w:=3 : h:=23.64
calculatearea()
:area 70.92
Letting the User Supply the Values as Arguments
This method lets users pass one or more values as arguments within the expression that calls the program or function.
The following program, volcyl , calculates the volume of a cylinder. It requires the user to supply two values: height and radius of the cylinder.
1.
Define the volcyl program.
Definevolcyl(height,radius) =
Prgm
Disp "Volume =", approx(p ¦ radius
2 height)
EndPrgm
¦
2.
Run the program to display the volume of a cylinder with a height of 34 mm and a radius of 5 mm.
volcyl(34,5) Volume = 534.071
Note:
You do not have to use the parameter names when you run the volcyl program, but you must supply two arguments (as values, variables, or expressions). The first must represent the height, and the second must represent the radius.
Getting Started with the Program Editor 575
Requesting the Values from the User (Programs Only)
You can use the Request and RequestStr commands in a program to make the program pause and display a dialog box prompting the user for information.
This method does not require users to remember variable names or the order in which they are needed.
You cannot use the Request or RequestStr command in a function.
1.
Define the program.
Define calculatearea()=
Prgm
Request "Width: ",w
Request "Height: ",h area:=w*h
EndPrgm
2.
Run the program and respond to the requests.
calculatearea() : area
Width: 3 (3 entered as a response)
Height: 23.64 (23.64 entered as a response)
70.92
Use RequestStr instead of Request when you want the program to interpret the user’s response as a character string rather than a math expression. This avoids requiring the user to enclose the response in quotation marks (““).
Displaying Information from a Function or Program
A running function or program does not display intermediate calculated results unless you include a command to display them. This is an important difference between performing a calculation on the entry line and performing it in a function or program.
The following calculations, for example, do not display a result in a function or program (although they do from the entry line).
© x:=12•6
576 Getting Started with the Program Editor
cos(π/4)
©
Displaying Information in the History
You can use the
Disp command in a program or function to display information, including intermediate results, in the history.
©
Disp 12•6
Disp "Result:",cos(π/4)
©
Displaying Information in a Dialog Box
You can use the
Text command to pause a running program and display information in a dialog box. The user clicks
OK to continue or clicks
Cancel to stop the program.
You cannot use the
Text command in a function.
©
Text "Area=" & area
©
Note:
Displaying a result with
Disp or
Text does not store that result. If you expect to refer later to a result, store it to a global variable.
© cos(π/4)→maximum
Disp maximum
©
Using Local Variables
A local variable is a temporary variable that exists only while a user-defined function is being evaluated or a user-defined program is running.
Example of a Local Variable
The following program segment shows a For...EndFor
loop (which is discussed later in this module). The variable
i
is the loop counter. In most cases, the variable
i
is used only while the program is running.
Getting Started with the Program Editor 577
Local i
À
For i,0,5,1
Disp i
EndFor
Disp i
À
Declares variable
i
as local.
Note:
When possible, declare as local any variable that is used only within the program and does not need to be available after the program stops.
What Causes an Undefined Variable Error Message?
An Undefined variable error message is displayed when you evaluate a userdefined function or run a user-defined program that references a local variable that is not initialized (assigned a value).
For example:
Define fact(n)=Func
Local m
À
While n>1
n¦m&m: n–1&n
EndWhile
Return m
EndFunc
À
Local variable
m
is not assigned an initial value.
Initialize Local Variables
All local variables must be assigned an initial value before they are referenced.
Define fact(n)=Func
Local m: 1&m
À
While n>1
n¦m&m: n–1&n
EndWhile
Return m
EndFunc
À
1 is stored as the initial value for
m
.
578 Getting Started with the Program Editor
Note (CAS):
Functions and programs cannot use a local variable to perform symbolic calculations.
CAS: Performing Symbolic Calculations
If you want a function or program to perform symbolic calculations, you must use a global variable instead of a local. However, you must be certain that the global variable does not already exist outside of the program. The following methods can help.
• Refer to a global variable name, typically with two or more characters, that is not likely to exist outside of the function or program.
• Include DelVar within a program to delete the global variable, if it exists, before referring to it. ( DelVar does not delete locked or linked variables.)
Differences Between Functions and Programs
A function defined in the Program Editor is similar to the functions built into the
TI-Nspire™ Software.
• Functions must return a result, which can be graphed or entered in a table.
Programs do not return a result.
• You can use a function (but not a program) within an expression. For example: 3 ¦ func1(3) is valid, but not 3 ¦ prog1(3) .
• You can run programs from Calculator and Notes applications only.
However, you can evaluate functions in Calculator, Notes, Lists &
Spreadsheet, Graphs & Geometry, and Data & Statistics.
• A function can refer to any variable; however, it can store a value to a local variable only. Programs can store to local and global variables.
Note:
Arguments used to pass values to a function are treated as local variables automatically. If you want to store to any other variables, you must declare them as Local from within the function.
• A function cannot call a program as a subroutine, but it can call another user-defined function.
• You cannot define a program within a function.
• A function cannot define a global function, but it can define a local function.
Getting Started with the Program Editor 579
Calling One Program from Another
One program can call another program as a subroutine. The subroutine can be external (a separate program) or internal (included in the main program).
Subroutines are useful when a program needs to repeat the same group of commands at several different places.
Calling a Separate Program
To call a separate program, use the same syntax that you use to run the program from the entry line.
Defining and Calling an Internal Subroutine
To define an internal subroutine, use the
Define command with
Prgm...EndPrgm
. Because a subroutine must be defined before it can be called, it is a good practice to define subroutines at the beginning of the main program.
An internal subroutine is called and executed in the same way as a separate program.
Define subtest1()=
Prgm
local subtest2
À
Define subtest2(x,y)=
Á
Prgm
Disp x,y
EndPrgm
©Beginning of main program
For i,1,4,1
subtest2(i,I*1000)
EndFor
EndPrgm
Â
580 Getting Started with the Program Editor
À
Declares the subroutine as a local variable.
Á
Defines the subroutine.
Â
Calls the subroutine.
Note:
Use the Program Editor’s
Var menu to enter the
Define and
Prgm...EndPrgm
commands.
Notes about Using Subroutines
At the end of a subroutine, execution returns to the calling program. To exit a subroutine at any other time, use
Return with no argument.
A subroutine cannot access local variables declared in the calling program.
Likewise, the calling program cannot access local variables declared in a subroutine.
Lbl commands are local to the programs in which they are located. Therefore, a
Goto command in the calling program cannot branch to a label in a subroutine or vice versa.
Avoiding Circular-Definition Errors
When evaluating a user-defined function or running a program, you can specify an argument that includes the same variable that was used to define the function or create the program. However, to avoid circular-definition errors, you must assign a value for variables that are used in evaluating the function or running the program. For example: x+1&x
À
– or –
For i,i,10,1
Disp i
À
EndFor
À
Causes a Circular definition error message if x or i does not have a value.
The error does not occur if x or i has already been assigned a value.
Controlling the Flow of a Function or Program
When you run a program or evaluate a function, the program lines are executed in sequential order. However, some commands alter the program flow. For example:
Getting Started with the Program Editor 581
• Control structures such as
If...EndIf
commands use a conditional test to decide which part of a program to execute.
• Loop commands such as For...EndFor
repeat a group of commands.
Using If, Lbl, and Goto to Control Program Flow
The
If command and several
If...EndIf
structures let you execute a statement or block of statements conditionally, that is, based on the result of a test (such as x>5).
Lbl
(label) and
Goto commands let you branch, or jump, from one place to another in a function or program.
The
If command and several
If...EndIf
structures reside on the Program Editor’s
Control menu.
When you insert a structure such as
If...Then...EndIf
, a template is inserted at the cursor location. The cursor is positioned so that you can enter a conditional test.
If Command
To execute a single command when a conditional test is true, use the general form:
If x>5
Disp "x is greater than 5"
À
Disp x
Á
À
Executed only if x>5; otherwise, skipped.
Á
Always displays the value of x.
In this example, you must store a value to x before executing the
If
command.
If...Then...EndIf Structures
To execute one group of commands if a conditional test is true, use the structure:
If x>5 Then
Disp "x is greater than 5"
À
2¦x&x
À
EndIf
Disp x
Á
À
Executed only if x>5.
582 Getting Started with the Program Editor
Á
Displays the value of:
2x if x>5
x if x{5
Note: EndIf marks the end of the Then block that is executed if the condition is true.
If...Then...Else...EndIf Structures
To execute one group of commands if a conditional test is true and a different group if the condition is false, use this structure:
If x>5 Then
Disp "x is greater than 5"
À
2¦x&x
À
Else
Disp "x is less than or equal to 5"
Á
5¦x&x
Á
EndIf
Disp x
Â
À
Executed only if x>5.
Á
Executed only if x{5.
Â
Displays value of:
2x if x>5
5x if x{5
If...Then...ElseIf... EndIf Structures
A more complex form of the
If command lets you test for multiple conditions.
Suppose you want a program to test a user-supplied argument that signifies one of four options.
To test for each option (If Choice=1, If Choice=2, and so on), use the
If...Then...ElseIf...EndIf
structure.
Lbl and Goto Commands
You can also control the flow by using
Lbl
(label) and
Goto commands. These commands reside on the Program Editor’s
Transfers menu.
Use the Lbl command to label (assign a name to) a particular location in the function or program.
Getting Started with the Program Editor 583
Lbl
labelName
name to assign to this location (use the same naming convention as a variable name)
You can then use the Goto command at any point in the function or program to branch to the location that corresponds to the specified label.
Goto
labelName
specifies which Lbl command to branch to
Because a
Goto command is unconditional (it always branches to the specified label), it is often used with an
If command so that you can specify a conditional test. For example:
If x>5
Goto GT5
À
Disp x
--------
--------
Lbl GT5
Á
Disp "The number was > 5"
À
If x>5, branches directly to label GT5.
Á
For this example, the program must include commands (such as Stop ) that prevent
Lbl
GT5 from being executed if x{5.
Using Loops to Repeat a Group of Commands
To repeat the same group of commands successively, use one of the loop structures. Several types of loops are available. Each type gives you a different way to exit the loop, based on a conditional test.
Loop and loop-related commands reside on the Program Editor’s Control and
Transfers menus.
When you insert one of the loop structures, its template is inserted at the cursor location. You can then begin entering the commands that will be executed within the loop.
For...EndFor Loops
A
For...EndFor
loop uses a counter to control the number of times the loop is repeated. The syntax of the
For command is:
584 Getting Started with the Program Editor
For
variable
,
À
begin
,
Á
end
,
Â
increment
Ã
À
Name of a variable to be used as a counter
Á
Value assigned to
variable
when the For loop begins.
Â
Value compared to the current value of
variable
at each iteration of the loop. The loop exits when
variable
exceeds
end
.
Ã
Value added to
variable
at each iteration of the loop (This argument is optional. The default
increment
is 1.)
At each iteration of the For loop, the
variable
value is compared to the
end
value. If
variable
does not exceed
end
, the commands within the For...EndFor
loop are executed and the loop repeats; otherwise, control jumps to the command following
EndFor
.
Note:
The
For command automatically increments the counter variable so that the function or program can exit the loop after a certain number of repetitions.
At the end of the loop (
EndFor
), control loops back to the
For command, where the counter variable is incremented and compared to
end
.
For example:
For i,0,5,1
Disp i
À
EndFor
Disp i
Á
À
Displays 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5.
Á
Displays 6. When
variable
increments to 6, the loop is not executed.
Notes:
• You can declare
variable
as local if it does not need to be saved after the function or program stops.
Getting Started with the Program Editor 585
• You can set
end
to a value less than
begin
, provided you also set
increment
to a negative value.
While...EndWhile Loops
A
While...EndWhile
loop repeats a block of commands as long as a specified condition is true. The syntax of the
While command is:
While
condition
When
While is executed,
condition
is evaluated. If
condition
is true, the loop is executed; otherwise, control jumps to the command following EndWhile .
Note:
The
While command does not automatically change the condition. You must include commands that allow the function or program to exit the loop.
At the end of the loop (
EndWhile
), control jumps back to the
While command, where condition is re-evaluated.
To execute the loop the first time, the condition must initially be true.
• Any variables referenced in the condition must be set before the
While command. (You can build the values into the function or program, or you can prompt the user to enter the values.)
• The loop must contain commands that change the values in the condition, eventually causing it to be false. Otherwise, the condition is always true and the function or program cannot exit the loop (called an infinite loop).
For example:
0&x
À
While x<5
Disp x
Á
x+1&x
Â
EndWhile
Disp x
Ã
À
Initially sets x.
586 Getting Started with the Program Editor
Á
Displays 0, 1, 2, 3, and 4.
Â
Increments x.
Ã
Displays 5. When x increments to 5, the loop is not executed.
Loop...EndLoop Loops
A
Loop...EndLoop
creates an infinite loop, which is repeated endlessly. The
Loop command does not have any arguments.
Typically, you insert commands in the loop that let the program exit from the loop. Commonly used commands are:
If
,
Exit
,
Goto
, and
Lbl
(label). For example:
0&x
Loop
Disp x
x+1&x
If x>5
À
Exit
EndLoop
Disp x
Á
À
An If command checks the condition.
Á
Exits the loop and jumps to here when
x
increments to 6.
Note:
The Exit command exits from the current loop.
In this example, the If command can be anywhere in the loop.
When the If command is:
The loop is:
At the beginning of the loop
Executed only if the condition is true.
At the end of the loop Executed at least once and repeated only if the condition is true.
Getting Started with the Program Editor 587
The
If command could also use a
Goto command to transfer program control to a specified
Lbl
(label) command.
Repeating a Loop Immediately
The
Cycle command immediately transfers program control to the next iteration of a loop (before the current iteration is complete). This command works with
For...EndFor
,
While...EndWhile
, and
Loop...EndLoop
.
Lbl and Goto Loops
Although the
Lbl
(label) and
Goto commands are not strictly loop commands, they can be used to create an infinite loop. For example:
As with
Loop...EndLoop
, the loop should contain commands that let the function or program exit from the loop.
Changing Mode Settings
Functions and programs can use the setMode() function to temporarily set specific calculation or result modes. The Program Editor’s Mode menu makes it easy to enter the correct syntax without requiring you to memorize numeric codes.
Note:
Mode changes made within a function or program definition do not persist outside the function or program.
Setting a Mode
1.
Position the cursor where you want to insert the setMode function.
2.
From the
Mode menu, click the mode to change, and click the new setting.
The correct syntax is inserted at the cursor location. For example: setMode(1,3)
588 Getting Started with the Program Editor
Debugging Programs and Handling Errors
After you write a function or program, you can use several techniques to find and correct errors. You can also build an error-handling command into the function or program itself.
If your function or program allows the user to select from several options, be sure to run it and test each option.
Techniques for Debugging
Run-time error messages can locate syntax errors but not errors in program logic. The following techniques may be useful.
• Temporarily insert Disp commands to display the values of critical variables.
• To confirm that a loop is executed the correct number of times, use
Disp to display the counter variable or the values in the conditional test.
• To confirm that a subroutine is executed, use
Disp to display messages such as “Entering subroutine” and “Exiting subroutine” at the beginning and end of the subroutine.
• To stop a program or function manually,
Windows®: Hold down the F12 key and press Enter repeatedly.
Mac®: Hold down the
F5 key and press
Enter repeatedly.
Handheld: Hold down the c key and press
· repeatedly.
Error-handling Commands
Command Description
Try...EndTry
Defines a block that lets a function or program execute a command and, if necessary, recover from an error generated by that command.
ClrErr
PassErr
Clears the error status and sets system variable errCode to zero. For an example of using errCode, see the Try command in the Reference Guide.
Passes an error to the next level of the
Try...EndTry
block.
Getting Started with the Program Editor 589
590
Using the TI-SmartView™ Emulator
With three layout options to choose from, teachers will find that the emulator facilitates classroom presentations. In the teacher software, layout options are:
• Handheld only
• Keypad plus side screen
• Handheld plus side screen
In the student software, the TI-SmartView™ emulates the keypad, which along with the handheld view, gives students the ability to drive the software as if using a handheld.
Opening the TI-SmartView™ Emulator
The TI-SmartView™ emulator is located in the Documents Workspace. To open the emulator view:
1.
Open the Documents Workspace.
2.
Click , which is located in the Documents Toolbox.
In the teacher software, the handheld is displayed with Handheld and
SideScreen panels open in computer mode as shown in the following illustration. You can use the keypad on the emulated handheld, but the document won’t appear on the emulated handheld screen until you switch to Handheld mode.
Using the TI-SmartView™ Emulator 591
In the student software, the TI-Nspire™ CX keypad is displayed with the side screen open in computer mode. You can use the keypad on the emulated handheld to work with the document in the side screen in either computer mode or handheld mode.
3.
Click View > Handheld .
—or—
Click in the status bar to switch to handheld mode.
592 Using the TI-SmartView™ Emulator
Choosing a Keypad
An open document is not affected by changing the keypad. You can switch between keypads anytime you want. To select a keypad:
1.
In the emulator panel, click following options:
• TI-Nspire™ CX
• TI-Nspire™ with Touchpad to open the menu and select one of the
• TI-Nspire™ with Clickpad
2.
Click
¢ to select a faceplate option:
• Normal
• High Contrast
• Outline
Choosing Display Options
In the teacher software, use this option to choose how to display the emulator in the software window.
1.
In the emulator panel, click
—or—
Click
File > Settings > TI-SmartView™
.
2.
Select one of the following options:
.
•
Handheld Only.
Displays the emulated handheld and hides the workspace and other panels.
Note:
To keep the Handheld Only display in front of other application windows, click Always in Front at the top right of the TI-SmartView™ panel.
•
Keypad + SideScreen.
Opens a larger view of the keypad along with the side screen.
•
Handheld + SideScreen.
Opens the entire emulated handheld along with the side screen.
Using the TI-SmartView™ Emulator 593
Changing the Width of the TI-SmartView™ Panel
To change the width of the TI-SmartView™ emulator panel:
▶
Click the right edge of the panel and drag it until it is the width you want.
Changing the Size of the Screen in the Workspace
When in handheld mode, use the Scale to change the size of the screen.
▶
Drag the slider to the appropriate scale percentage. The scale slider is located on the far right side of the status bar, at the bottom of the TI-Nspire™ window. Scale percentages range from 100% to 200%. The default scale is
150%.
Note
: If computer mode is selected, you cannot change the size of the workspace.
Working with the Emulated Handheld
To input data and work with files on the emulator, you can use the computer keyboard, TI-SmartView™ keypad, TI-Nspire™ menus and icons, or any combination of these.
Note:
Within one command, you cannot use a combination of both the keypad and the keyboard. For example, you cannot press Ctrl on the keyboard and click b on the emulator to open a context menu.
For the most part, you can perform any function in the TI-SmartView™ emulator that you can perform on the handheld. Keys and applications operate the same way.
Note:
If you switch to Computer mode, you can still use most of the keys on the emulated handheld or keypad and all keystrokes are reflected in the workspace. However, some key combinations may only work in Handheld mode.
As you click keys on the emulator or press keys on the keyboard that activate keys on the emulator, those keys change color, making it easy for your audience to follow along. The last key selected stays highlighted.
594 Using the TI-SmartView™ Emulator
In the teacher software, the emulator screen and the side screen are both interactive. You can click on icons and menu items on both screens. You can also right-click to display menus on both screens.
All handheld shortcuts and arrow functionality work from the computer keyboard. For example, to save a document, you can click
/ S on the emulator keypad or you can press
Ctrl + S
on the computer keyboard. When using a Mac®, press “ + S.
Using the Touchpad
You can operate the Touchpad on the TI-Nspire™ Touchpad keypad using either the touchpad on a laptop or by using the mouse to click the Touchpad.
Areas of the Touchpad are highlighted as you click the arrow zones.
An arrow is highlighted when you press or tap it.
• Clicking the
¡
,
¢
,
£
, or
¤ keys on the Touchpad moves through menus one item at a time.
• Clicking and holding down an arrow on the Touchpad causes continual movement in the selected direction.
• Clicking and sliding the mouse across the Touchpad area enables you to move the mouse pointer.
• Clicking the middle of the Touchpad selects the highlighted menu option.
Using the Clickpad
You can use the Clickpad on the TI-Nspire™ Clickpad keypad using either the touchpad on a laptop or by using the mouse to click the Clickpad. Areas of the
Clickpad are highlighted as you click the arrow zones.
Using the TI-SmartView™ Emulator 595
• Clicking the
¡
,
¢
,
£
, or
¤ keys on the Clickpad moves through menus one item at a time.
• Clicking and holding down an arrow on the Clickpad causes continual movement in the selected direction.
• Clicking the middle of the Clickpad selects the highlighted menu option.
Using Settings and Status
When working with the TI-SmartView™ emulator, you can change General
Settings and Document Settings. For more information, see Using the
Documents Workspace.
You can view all other settings, but you cannot change them in the
TI-SmartView™ emulator. However, the ability to view these options provides teachers with an instructional tool when they need to show students how to set up a handheld.
To view settings and status:
1.
Click c to access the Home screen.
2.
Click Settings .
Setting or
Settings
Description
Language You can open the languages menu and select a language, but you cannot save changes. To change the language, use the
TI-Nspire™ menu
File > Settings > Change Language option.
Handheld
Setup
You can open the menus and select items to demonstrate which items to choose, but you cannot save any changes.
Handheld You can access the screen. The # symbol replaces any
596 Using the TI-SmartView™ Emulator
Setting or
Settings
Status
About
Login
Description
numeric values that would be displayed on the handheld.
You can open the About screen and view the software version.
Other information that pertains only to the handheld hardware is marked as "Not Applicable."
You can display the Login to Class screen and type in the
User Name and Password fields.
Login is not available.
Changing TI-SmartView™ Options
You can change the emulator options, even when the emulator panel is closed.
1.
In the teacher software, click File > Settings > TI-SmartView™ Options .
The TI-SmartView™ Options dialog box opens.
In the student software, click
File > Settings > Keypad Options
.
The Keypad Options dialog box opens.
Using the TI-SmartView™ Emulator 597
2.
Click Browse to change the folder where documents are saved and accessed in the My Documents folder when using the emulator.
Important
: If you change the TI-SmartView™ location, you must also copy or move the MyLib folder and paste it to the new location to see library objects.
The default location of MyLib is:
• Windows®: Documents\TI-Nspire\MyLib.
• Mac®: Documents/TI-Nspire/MyLib.
Note:
Close and reopen the TI-Nspire™ application for the libraries to reflect the change.
3.
Click
¤ to open the menu and select a keypad.
4.
Click
¤ to open the menu and select a faceplate.
5.
In the teacher software, click
¤ to open the menu and select a view. If selecting Handheld only, select
Always in Front to keep this window on top of all other open applications.
6.
Click
OK to save the settings.
Working with Documents
You can open multiple documents in the workspace by selecting File > Open
Document from the menu or using keyboard shortcuts. When you switch between these documents, the emulated handheld shows only the current document. You can insert pages and problems using either the TI-Nspire™ menus or icons, keyboard shortcuts, or TI-SmartView™ menus or shortcuts.
Note
: You cannot work with PublishView™ documents using the TI-SmartView™ emulator. When you create or open a PublishView™ document, the document opens in Computer mode.
598 Using the TI-SmartView™ Emulator
Opening a Document
You can open a document by navigating to it on the emulator, the same way you open a document on the handheld, or you click File > Open Document .
When you open a document using the emulator, you can only open documents that are in the folder displayed on the emulator (usually the My Documents folder, unless you specified a different folder in your TI-SmartView™ settings).
When you open a document using the menu path, you can browse to find any
TI-Nspire™ document on your computer or network. If you open a document using the emulated handheld, it replaces the document that was previously open.
Note
: If the number of characters in the document’s file path name exceeds 256 characters, the document cannot be opened and an error message is displayed. To avoid this error, keep file and folder names short or move files up in the file path.
Saving a Document
When you save a document using the
File > Save Document menu or icon, keyboard shortcuts, keypad shortcuts, or emulator menus, the document is saved in the same location where the file was opened. To save the file in another location or with a different name, click
File > Save As
.
Using Screen Capture
To capture the current page, press
Ctrl + J
(Mac®: ì“ +
J
) on your keyboard or on the emulated handheld. The image is automatically placed in the Clipboard and in the TI-Nspire™ Screen Capture window. You can paste the image into another application without having to take additional steps. This feature is only available when the TI-SmartView™ panel is active and the workspace is in
Handheld mode.
All other screen capture features work the same way they do in other areas of
TI-Nspire™ software. For more information, see Capturing Screens.
Using the TI-SmartView™ Emulator 599
600
Writing Lua Scripts
The Script Editor allows you to create and deliver dynamically linked simulations, powerful and flexible utilities, and other educational content for exploring math and science concepts. When you open a document containing a script, the script runs automatically as programmed. To see the running script application, the page containing the script application must be active.
The Script Editor is directed toward teachers and other authors who are comfortable working in a Lua scripting environment. Lua is a powerful, fast, lightweight scripting language that is fully supported in TI-Nspire™ and
PublishView™ documents. Documents containing script applications can be opened on TI-Nspire™ handhelds. The script application runs on a handheld, but you cannot view or edit the script.
Note these resources for using the Script Editor and creating scripts:
• Press
F1 to access the TI-Nspire™ help, which includes the Script Editor help.
• Press F2 for additional TI-Nspire™ resources such as scripting samples and a link to the TI-Nspire™ Scripting API library. (This information is also available at education.ti.com/nspire/scripting .)
• Go to lua.org for more information about Lua.
Overview of the Script Editor
With the Script Editor, you can insert, edit, save, run, and debug script applications in TI-Nspire™ (.tns files) and Publishview™ (.tnsp files) documents.
• Script applications function within documents, problems, and pages the same way that other TI-Nspire™ applications do.
• When you create a new document or open an existing document, you can insert or edit a script application within a page or within a work area of a split page.
• In a split page layout, you can add a script application to each work area of a page. A page can be split into a maximum of four quadrants.
• Images can be added to script applications. See the Inserting Images section.
Writing Lua Scripts 601
• All work done in the Script Editor is lost if you close the TI-Nspire™ or
PublishView™ document without saving it.
Exploring the Script Editor Interface
The Script Editor window opens when you insert a new script application or edit an existing script application in a TI-Nspire™ or PublishView™ document.
Select options for creating new scripts or editing scripts from the Insert menu in the Documents Workspace when a document is open.
Note:
Although not labeled, the Documents Workspace is the default workspace in the TI-Nspire™ CX Student Software and TI-Nspire™ CX CAS
Student Software.
The following figure shows the Script Editor with an existing script.
Menu bar
. Contains options for working with the Script Editor.
Toolbar
. Provides tools for common Script Editor functions. See the Using the Toolbar section.
Script title
. Shows script title. Right-click the title to change it or by clicking
Edit > Set Script Title
.
Text box
. Provides a space to type script text.
Tools panel
. Shows script data. See the Using the Tools Panel section.
602 Writing Lua Scripts
Status bar
. Displays the operational state of the script. See the Using the
Status Bar section.
Using the Toolbar
The following table describes the toolbar options.
Tool name
Suspend
Script
Resume
Script
Set Script
Tool function
Pauses the script execution.
Resumes the script execution.
While debugging, the script continues to execute until the next breakpoint or the end of the script.
Starts the script execution.
Focus Script Sets the focus to the page in the document where the script application is attached:
• In a TI-Nspire™ document, sets the focus to the page.
• In a PublishView™ document, sets the focus to the frame on the page.
Step Into
Step Over
While debugging, executes the current statement. If the statement calls any functions, the debugger stops at the first line of each function.
While debugging, executes the current statement.
If the statement calls any functions, the debugger does not stop within the function unless the function contains a breakpoint.
Enable
Breakpoints
Switches from normal mode to debugging mode.
Writing Lua Scripts 603
Tool name
Disable
Breakpoints
Tool function
Switches back from debugging mode to normal mode and resumes the script.
Set
Permissions
Sets permission levels to Protected, View Only, or
Unprotected and allows you to set a password for the script.
Using the Tools Panel
At the bottom of the window, the Tools panel shows the scripting data. For more information, see the Debugging Scripts section.
Tab
Console
Window Display
Script errors are printed here.
Print statements embedded in the script also print here.
Globals Selected global variables are displayed.
To select a global variable for display, select
Click to add new watch variable at the bottom of the Tools panel.
Call Stack Displays the call tree for the currently executing function.
Locals Local variables in the current function’s scope are displayed.
Resources Upload, insert, and manage images here.
Using the Status Bar
The status bar at the bottom of the window shows basic script data, as described in this example: stopwatch, 1.1, 4:1, Running.
• Name of the document that the script application is attached to
(stopwatch)
• Problem and page number (1.1)
• Script line and character, (4:1 describing line 4 and character 1)
• Operational state of the script (Running). Note the possible states:
Normal mode: Running, Paused, or Error
604 Writing Lua Scripts
Debugging mode: Running (debugging), Paused, or Error
Inserting New Scripts
To insert a new script application and script, follow these steps.
1.
Open the document where you want to insert the script. It can be a new or existing document.
2.
Click
Insert > Script Editor > Insert Script
.
A script application is inserted, and the Script Title dialog box opens.
Note:
The TI-Nspire™ CX Student Software and the TI-Nspire™ CX CAS
Student Software open automatically within the Documents Workspace.
3.
Type a script title. (The maximum number of characters is 32.)
4.
Click
OK
.
The Script Editor window opens showing a blank script.
5.
Type your text in the script lines.
Note:
Some nonstandard UTF-8 wide characters may not be displayed correctly. For these characters, it is highly recommended that you use the string.uchar function.
6.
When the script is complete, click
Set Script to execute it.
• In a TI-Nspire™ document, the script application is inserted in a new page. When the page containing the script application is active, the
Documents Toolbox is empty.
• In a PublishView™ document, a frame containing the script application is added to the active page. You can move or size this frame just as you would any other PublishView™ object, and you can add other
PublishView™ objects to the page.
7.
To view the script application, click
Focus Script
.
Zooming Text in the Script Editor
You can adjust the size of the text in your script and in any of the tool panels.
Menu Method
1.
Click in the area of the text to zoom.
Writing Lua Scripts 605
2.
On the View menu, select Zoom , and then select Zoom In , Zoom Out , or
Restore .
Note that the menu also displays keyboard shortcuts for the Zoom commands.
Mouse Method
1.
Postion the mouse pointer over the area to zoom.
2.
Hold
Ctrl
, and roll the mouse wheel forward or back.
Editing Scripts
To edit an existing script, follow these steps.
1.
Open the TI-Nspire™ or PublishView™ document that contains the script.
The page containing the script must be active.
2.
Select the page and the work area that contains the script.
3.
Click Insert > Script Editor > Edit Script .
The Script Editor opens showing the script. If the selected work area on the page does not contain a script, Edit Script is dimmed.
If the script is password protected, the Password Protected dialog box opens prompting for a password.
4.
Make any desired changes.
• To designate comments, use double hyphens (--) at the start of each comment line.
• To change the title, click Edit > Set Script Title or right-click the title and click Set Script Title .
Notes
:
• Some nonstandard UTF-8 characters may not be displayed correctly.
For these characters, it is highly recommended that you use the string.uchar function.
• The print function may yield unexpected results for non–UTF-8 characters.
• Some nonprintable characters returned by the on.save function will be discarded.
5.
To execute the script, click
Set Script
.
606 Writing Lua Scripts
Any errors are displayed in the Console area in the Tools panel.
6.
To view the script application (running script), click
Focus Script
.
Changing View Options
To change viewing options:
▶
To clear the scripting data in the Tools panel and restore the editor defaults, click
View
>
Restore Editor to Defaults
.
▶
To view the script title in the document and before each print statement in the Console, click View > Title in Document View .
▶
To hide or show toolbar labels, click
View
>
Toolbar Text Labels
.
▶
To show or hide the Tools panel or its areas, click
View
>
Tools Panel and click the appropriate option.
▶
To create tab groups when multiple scripts are open, right-click one of the titles and click New Horizontal Group or New Vertical Group .
Setting Minimum API Level
Each release of the T-Nspire™ software includes API support for a specific set of Lua scripting features. Setting the minimum API level for a script lets you specify a minimum set of features that you require for your script.
If a user tries to run the script on a system that does not meet the script's minimum API level, a message notifies the user and prevents the script from running.
To Set the Minimum API Level for a Script:
1.
Determine the minimum level that you want your script to require.
Setting the level too low for the script's feature set can result in a script error on older software.
Setting the level too high can result in the script refusing to start on older software that supports the feature set.
2.
On the Script Editor File menu, select Set Minimum API Level .
3.
In the dialog box, type the minimum level using the format
major
.
minor
.
For example, you might type 2.3.
This API level or higher will be required for running the script.
Writing Lua Scripts 607
Saving Script Applications
Clicking Set Script resets (updates) a script application in a TI-Nspire™ or
PublishView™ document. However, the script and script application are not saved until you save the document. If you close the document or close the
TI-Nspire™ software without saving, work on the script is lost.
To ensure the script application is saved after all work is complete, follow these steps.
1.
From the Script Editor window, click
Set Script to reset (update) the script application in the document.
2.
From an open document, click
File > Save Document to save changes to the TI-Nspire™ or PublishView™ document.
Note:
To ensure work is backed up, set the script and save the document frequently.
Managing Images
To insert an image into a script application, follow these steps.
Add an Image to Resources
1.
Click the Resource tab.
2.
Click the button.
3.
Click on an image file name.
4.
Click Open.
5.
Accept the default image name or rename the image by typing a new name into the box. (Ex: newimage)
6.
Click
OK
.
Note:
You will see the image thumbnail in the bottom-right corner of your screen. Your image file name will appear in a list of images at the bottomleft of your screen.
7.
Right-click an image name to Rename, Copy Name, Preview, or Remove the image. You may also click the button to remove an image.
608 Writing Lua Scripts
Add Multiple Images to Resources
1.
Click the
Resource tab.
2.
Click the button.
3.
Select
Comma Separated Values
(*.csv) from the
Files of Type menu.
4.
Select your .csv file .
Note
: The .csv format consists of two comma-separated columns. The first column is the local name of the image resource used in the code. The second column is the absolute path to the image on the current system.
Example for Windows
: bridge,C:\images\bridge.jpg
house,C:\images\house.jpg
5.
Click Open.
6.
Right-click an image name to Rename, Copy Name, Preview, or Remove the image. You may also click the button to remove an image.
Create a Script to Call Up an Image
1.
Type a script in the script line box as follows: myimage = image.new(_R.IMG.img_1) function on.paint (gc) gc:drawImage (myimage, 30, 30) end
Note:
Replace img_1 (above) with the name of your image.
2.
Click Set Script to save the script. You will see your image in the Document
Preview screen.
3.
Click
Focus Script to set the focus to the page in the document where you want to attach the script application.
Note:
A TI-Nspire document sets the focus to the page; A PublishView™ document sets the focus to the frame on the page.
Writing Lua Scripts 609
Create a Script to Call Up Multiple Images
1.
Type a script in the script line box as follows: myimg = { } for name, data in pairs (_R.IMG) myimg [name] = image.new(data) end function on.paint (gc) gc:drawImage (myimg[imagename], 30, 30) end
2.
Click
Set Script to save the script. You will see your image in the Document
Preview screen.
3.
Click
Focus Script to set the focus to the page in the document where you want to attach the script application.
Note:
A TI-Nspire document sets the focus to the page; A PublishView™ document sets the focus to the frame on the page.
Setting Script Permissions
You can set permission levels for a script and specify a password to protect a script. Follow these steps.
1.
In the Script Editor window, click
File
>
Set Permissions
.
The Set Permissions dialog box opens.
2.
In the Permissions Level area, select the appropriate security level:
•
Protected
. The script can be run, but not viewed or edited.
•
View only
. The script can be viewed, but not edited.
•
Unprotected
. The script can be viewed and edited.
3.
To secure a script, designate a password in the Security area.
Note:
Use caution when setting passwords because they cannot be recovered.
4.
Click
OK
.
610 Writing Lua Scripts
The next time you click
Insert > Script Editor > Edit Script
, a Password Protected dialog box opens prompting for the password. Choose one of these options:
• To edit the script, enter the password and click OK .
• To view the script only, do not enter the password and click View .
Debugging Scripts
You can debug your script to investigate runtime errors and trace the execution flow. While debugging, data is displayed in the Tools panel.
▶
To enable debugging mode or disable it and return to normal mode, click
Debug > Enable Breakpoints or Disable Breakpoints.
Note:
Disabling breakpoints always resumes the script execution.
▶
While debugging, click
Step Into and
Step Over as appropriate. See the
Exploring the Script Editor interface section.
▶
To set breakpoints, double-click in the space to the far left of the line number. Breakpoints are disabled until you click EnableBreakpoints .
▶
Note these factors when debugging:
• Breakpoints in coroutines are not supported.
• If a breakpoint is set in a function that is a callback, the debugger may not stop at the breakpoint.
• The debugger may not stop at functions such as on.save, on.restore, and on.destroy.
On the toolbar, Step Into and Step Over are enabled when breakpoints are enabled.
▶
To suspend and resume the script execution, click Suspend Script and
Resume Script . When the script resumes, it runs until the next breakpoint is encountered or to the end of the script. A script can be suspended in normal mode or debugging mode.
Writing Lua Scripts 611
612
Using the Help Menu
Use the Help menu to find useful information to help you use the software more productively. You can:
• Open the PDF help file (press
F1 or click
Help
).
• Open the web-based help file (press F2 or click Online Help ).
• Activate your software license.
• Register your TI product.
• Explore TI resources such as Activities Exchange, where you can find lessons, quizzes, and other instructive activities shared by educators.
• Explore online troubleshooting or run TI-Nspire™ diagnostics.
• Check for updates to the software or updates to operating systems for
TI-Nspire™ handhelds and the TI-Nspire™ Lab Cradle.
• Check to see which version of the software you are using.
Activating Your Software License
1.
Ensure that your computer is connected to the Internet.
2.
From the
Help menu, select
Activate to open the Texas Instruments
Activation Wizard.
3.
Click
Activate your License
, and then click
Next
.
The Complete Software Activation dialog box opens.
Using the Help Menu 613
4.
Complete the name and email fields, and then select the region where you live if different from the default entry. If you want to receive emails from TI about updates, support, and promotions, ensure the check box is selected.
5.
Click Next.
The Activate your software dialog box opens.
6.
Type the license number.
7.
Click Next .
The License Agreement dialog box opens.
8.
In the Country field, select your country from the drop-down list if it is different from the default entry.
614 Using the Help Menu
9.
Review the license agreement, and then select to accept the agreement.
10. Click
Activate
. The license number is validated against the TI database to ensure it is valid.
If the license number is valid, the Successful Activation dialog box opens. If the license number is not valid, check to make sure the numbers are entered correctly. If the problem persists, contact TI Support.
11. Click Next to continue, or select Finish to complete the installation with default settings.
12. When prompted, click OK to accept the default location for your TI-Nspire™ folder. If needed, navigate to the location on your computer where you want to store your TI-Nspire™ documents and files.
13. Select whether or not to replace any documents that have the same name.
The software launches and the
Welcome Screen opens.
Registering Your Product
1.
Ensure that your computer is connected to the Internet.
2.
From the Help menu, select Register to access the TI Product Registration site.
3.
Follow the instructions on the website.
Downloading the Latest Guidebook
1.
Ensure that your computer is connected to the Internet.
Using the Help Menu 615
2.
From the Help menu, select Download latest Guidebook .
The Education Technology website opens with the Guidebooks tab active.
3.
Click the title of the Guidebook that you want to download.
A PDF version of the Guidebook opens on your desktop.
Exploring TI Resources
The Help menu also provides links to TI resources and websites.
▶
Select
Help > Visit education.ti.com
to access the Texas Instruments
Education Technology website.
▶
Select
Help > Visit Activities Exchange to access the Texas Instruments
Activities Exchange, site, a forum where you can browse by subject to find ready-to-use math and science learning activities appropriate for middle grades through college.
Note:
Activities available for download may vary depending on your geographical region.
▶
Select
Help > Explore Online Troubleshooting to access the TI Knowledge
Base where you can find general information, troubleshooting help, product usage tips, and information specific to TI products.
Running TI-Nspire™ Diagnostics
If you have trouble with your software, this option enables you to run a short diagnostics program that will help TI support personnel troubleshoot the problem. You do not need Internet access to run diagnostics; however, Internet access is required to send the log file to TI Support. To run diagnostics:
1.
From the Help menu, select Run TI-Nspire™ Diagnostics .
The Software Diagnostic Tool dialog box opens.
616 Using the Help Menu
2.
Click
Start to run the program.
The log file is created and the Save as dialog box opens.
3.
Navigate to the folder where you want to save the file, and then click Save
As .
The Diagnostic Report dialog box opens providing the name of the zip file created and the location where it was saved.
4.
Click
OK
.
5.
From the Software Diagnostic Tool dialog box:
• Click Send to TI to send the file to TI Support.
• Click Restart to run the diagnostics program again.
• Click
Cancel to quit, and then click
OK to confirm and close the dialog box.
Updating the TI-Nspire™ Software
Update the Software
1.
Ensure that your computer is connected to the Internet.
2.
Close any open documents.
3.
From the Help menu, select Check for Upgrades and Notifications .
• If your software is current, a confirmation message appears.
• If your software is not current, you are prompted to update.
Using the Help Menu 617
4.
Click Update to download and install the update, or click Close to cancel.
A progress indicator shows the download progress. If you receive a connection error, check your Internet connection and try again.
Note for users updating TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software or TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ NC Teacher Software:
Your portfolio and class records reside on your computer as a database. Because the new software might have features that are not supported in the old database structure, the old data might need to be converted. When conversion is necessary, a Database Update tool helps you make a backup of the old database. The tool appears during the first startup of the updated software.
Manage Automatic Checking
Automatic checking uses the Internet to check for upgrades each time you open the TI-Nspire™ software. If your system is not up-to-date, you receive a notification. You can turn automatic checking on or off.
1.
From the Help menu, select Check for Upgrades and Notifications .
2.
Check or clear the Automatically check for updates check box.
3.
Click
Close
.
Updating the OS on a Connected Handheld
Note:
To avoid losing unsaved data, close all documents on the handheld before updating its operating system.
1.
Ensure that your computer is connected to the Internet.
2.
In the Documents Toolbox, click the Content Explorer tab connected handhelds.
3.
Select the handheld that you are updating.
4.
From the Help menu, select Check for OS Updates .
to show
• If the operating system is current, a confirmation message appears.
618 Using the Help Menu
• If the operating system is not current, the TI-Nspire™ software prompts you to install the latest OS now. If the updated OS file is not already available on your computer, you can choose a location for it.
5.
Click Continue and follow the prompts to install the OS on the handheld, or click
Close to cancel.
When the update is complete, the handheld restarts automatically.
Viewing Software Version and Legal Information
1.
From the Help menu, select About TI-Nspire™ <Product Name> Software .
Note
: You do not need an Internet connection to open this screen.
Using the Help Menu 619
2.
Click OK to close the window.
Helping Improve the Product
This product includes a feature that can help TI improve the product by automatically collecting anonymous information about product usage and reliability.
Note:
Depending on how your software was installed, you might see the following screen the first time you start the software. You also can access the feature manually.
1.
From the
Help menu, select
Product Improvements
.
2.
Read the information on the screen, and click one of the buttons:
To allow information to be collected, click Yes, I want to help .
To prevent collection, click
No thanks
.
620 Using the Help Menu
General Information
Texas Instruments Support and Service
General Information: North and South America
Home Page:
KnowledgeBase and e-mail inquiries:
Phone:
International contact information:
education.ti.com
education.ti.com/support
(800) TI-CARES / (800) 842-2737
For North and South America and
U.S. Territories education.ti.com/support/worldwide
For Technical Support
Knowledge Base and support by e-mail:
Phone (not toll-free):
education.ti.com/support or [email protected]
(972) 917-8324
For Product (Hardware) Service
Customers in the U.S., Canada, Mexico, and U.S. territories:
Always contact
Texas Instruments Customer Support before returning a product for service.
For All Other Countries:
For general information
For more information about TI products and services, contact TI by e-mail or visit the TI Internet address.
E-mail inquiries:
Home Page:
education.ti.com
Service and Warranty Information
For information about the length and terms of the warranty or about product service, refer to the warranty statement enclosed with this product or contact your local Texas Instruments retailer/distributor.
General Information 621
622
Index
3
3D aspect ratio, changing
3D functions graphing
3D graph changing appearance
3D Graphing view
3D graphs animating with sliders editing expressions plot colors range settings rotating setting background colors showing/hiding shrinking/magnifying
3D parametric equations graphing
3D projection type activating software licenses activities copying filtering keyword searches opening saving adding
(x,y) numerical input questions applications
A
Index 623
applications (PublishView™ documents) colors copyrights copyrights to documents (.tns) drop points questions equation questions files to lesson bundles files to transfer list images in Quick Poll images to pages images to questions links lists questions open response questions pages problems questions shortcuts shortcuts to lesson bundles text (PublishView™ documents) titles to graphs alternative hypothesis analysis options removing analyzing data integral model tangent angles measuring animating points animations changing points direction pausing
624 Index
resetting resuming
API level, setting for scripts appearance of 3D graph application tools menu applications adding
Calculator
Data & Statistics deleting
Geometry
Graphs & Geometry grouping inserting images
Lists & Spreadsheet
Notes
Program Editor
Question swapping approximate or exact results arcs, drawing area, bounded area, measuring arguments, user-supplied values arithmetic calculations aspect ratio, changing in 3D graphing attributes changing for objects for variables axes adjusting changing attributes in Graphing view dilating
Index 625
moving (translation) scaling setting values (Data & Statistics) axis ranges setting in graphs backup of class data bar charts creating borders (PublishView™ documents), hiding/showing bounded area box plots breaking long calculations
B
C
Calculate output option calculating distributions (Lists & Spreadsheet) calculations arithmetic breaking derivative settings types available using variables
Calculator menus
Calculator application calculated results variables
Calculator history copying deleting reusing viewing
626 Index
captions, viewing variable names capture page option
Capture Selected Handheld option capturing active pages in documents data (Lists & Spreadsheet) handheld current screens images in handheld mode pages in active documents capturing images
DragScreen caseplots (default)
Catalog converting measurement units inserting items from cell references absolute and relative cells using in formulas body copying in tables deleting contents entering text exact or approximate results formulas inserting ranges in formulas linking to variables navigating in tables repeating formulas selecting a block of selecting a range sharing table cells changing
General Settings
Graphs & Geometry settings
Index 627
language links changing screen size charts bar dot pie scatter chemical equation boxes circle arcs, creating circles, drawing
Circular definition error class data backup
Clickpad, navigating in emulator closing functions and programs
Transfer Tool closing documents (.tns) closing the Welcome screen collected data deleting viewing details collecting and managing data sets color setting grid color in Graphs colors
3D graph background applying to backgrounds changing changing for points colors, adding columns based on other columns copying
628 Index
301, 327, 355, 388-389, 474-475, 484
defining options deleting deleting data from generating data in tables inserting linking to list variables moving resizing selecting sharing table columns as lists commands
If, Lbl, Goto comments, inserting in Notes comparing data sets comparing collected data sets confidence intervals available conic by five points conics, graphing constructions locus content viewing on handhelds
Content Explorer content workspace exploring
Content workspace
Content Workspace context menu in Lists & Spreadsheet converting
.tns files to .tnsp files
.tnsp files to .tns files measurement units page size; page size, converting; preview, setting document; setting
Index 629
text to hyperlinks copying activities
Calculator history cells from Excel® spreadsheets handheld images images images in handheld mode lesson bundles screens table cells table data table rows or columns copyrights adding adding to documents (.tns) creating bar charts copies of functions and programs histograms lesson bundles lists from table columns matrices pie charts plots probability plots
PublishView™ documents scatter plots shapes with Math Draw summary plots system of equations user-defined units variables creating documents (.tns) curve fit options
630 Index
curves, bounded area customizing
Graphs work area data backup of class data capturing (Lists & Spreadsheet) capturing object data (Graphs & Geometry) copying to other applications deleting from columns displaying values exact or approximate results generating columns of graphing table data raw and summary overview retrieving remote selecting ranges sorting in tables sorting plotted categories
Data & Statistics getting started with settings data analysis interpolation data collections remote sensors scaling graphs setting sensor parameters thresholds data plots finding curve fit data sets comparing deleting collected
D
Index 631
renaming selecting for replays selecting to plot storing data sets, collecting and managing debugging information displaying in dialog boxes displaying values programs defined functions, recalling defining functions settings units deleting applications
Calculator history collected data sets contents of table cells data from columns documents (.tns) elements from lists files global variables hyperlinks (PublishView™ documents) images images (PublishView™ documents) lesson bundles linked variables pages parts of expressions problems
PublishView™ objects shortcuts table rows and columns
632 Index
derivative settings adjusting
Destination folder editing diagnostics programs diagnostics, regression differential equations, graphing dilating axes displaying data values
Graph 1 graphs graphs in Page Layout view grid in Graphs
TI-SmartView™ emulator in teacher software two graphs simultaneously variable values distribution, calculating documents creating .tnsp files printing .tnsp files saving .tnsp files documents (.tns) changing General Settings closing creating deleting opening opening with TI-SmartView™ emulator printing properties protecting read-only saving saving in emulator
Index 633
switching between viewing documents (.tns, .tnsp) opening (Content Workspace) documents workspace
Documents Workspace domain restrictions dot charts
DragScreen feature drawing arcs rectangles statistics plots triangles drawing geometric shapes drawing shapes ellipse drop points questions adding editing
Destination folder expressions functions functions and programs table settings values in lists elements, deleting from lists ellipse as geometric shape emailing lesson bundles embedding values in functions or programs emulator, See TI-SmartView™ emulator
634 Index
E
equation questions adding equations differential graphing graphing parametric graphing polar
Lotka-Volterra of geometric objects ordinary differential equations (ODE) errors circular definitions showing (Notes) estimating values between data points evaluating expressions exact input, for window settings exact or approximate results
Excel® spreadsheets, copying from expanding view details area experiments basic steps exploring content workspace resources pane
Exploring the Content workspace
Exploring the Documents workspace expressions changing functions in tables copying from Calculator history deleting parts of editing entering from templates entering in tables entering with wizards
Index 635
evaluating selecting (Calculator) selecting (Notes) using symbols
File transfers stopping files adding to lesson bundles adding to transfer list copying/pasting from lesson bundles deleting from lesson bundles image file types opening in lesson bundles pasting from lesson bundles refreshing list in lesson bundles removing from Transfer List renaming in lesson bundles working with files on connected handhelds
Files deleting filtering activities finance functions
Finance Solver finding area under collected data slope of collected data software version number
Flash (.flv) files folders storing PublishView™ objects footers in PublishView™ documents formatting results (Calculator)
F
636 Index
text (PublishView™ documents) formatting text formatting toolbar hiding showing frequency plots functions changing expressions in tables defining displaying history displaying list of in tables domain restrictions editing evaluating finance graphing hiding table of hiding/showing recalling definitions renaming rotating showing values in tables stretching supported distributions translating user-defined functions and programs changing modes circular definition errors closing controlling flow creating copies of differences between editing embedding values
Index 637
private libraries public libraries renaming running non-library setting modes stopping storing viewing generating columns of data geometric objects equations of geometric shapes conic by five points hyperbola parabola
Geometry hiding objects
Geometry application
Geometry application settings gestures, to create shapes (Math Draw) global variables graph changing appearance graphing
3D functions
3D parametric equations
3D view conic sections equations functions inequality expressions parametric equations
638 Index
G
polar equations scatter plots sequences table data time plots web plots with the text tool
Graphing view changing axes attributes graphs adding titles displaying displaying Graph 1 displaying in Page Layout view displaying two simultaneously position versus time rescaling scaling setting axis range tracing all velocity versus time
Graphs rescaling work area
Graphs & Geometry application
Graphs & Geometry settings grid appearance in Graphs displaying grouping applications guidebooks, downloading handhelds capturing current screens capturing selected handhelds
H
Index 639
checking for OS updates copying images installing OS update locating using Identify Selected pasting images renaming transferring files viewing content on connected working with files on connected headers in PublishView™ documents
Help, accessing helping improve the product hiding
3D graphs functions in work areas objects in Geometry table of functions hiding format toolbar histograms adjusting scale creating exploring data in bins modifying bins scale formats history relation history, See Calculator history hyperbola as geometric shape hyperlinks (PublishView™ documents) converting text to editing linking to files linking to websites
640 Index
Identify Selected
If, Lbl, Goto images adding to questions deleting file types inserting inserting background moving
Quick Poll resizing saving selecting
TI-Nspire™ applications images (PublishView™ documents) importing remote data inferential statistics calculating test results (Calculate) drawing plots graphing test results input descriptions table pooled option initializing variables inserting background images cell ranges in formulas chemical equations comments in Notes elements in lists (Lists & Spreadsheet) hyperlinks (PublishView™ documents) images images (PublishView™ documents)
I
Index 641
images in questions images in Quick Poll images to pages math expressions
PublishView™ objects rows or columns in tables rows or columns into matrices shape symbols text text (PublishView™ documents) installing software updates installing a handheld OS update intercept, changing interfaces multi-channel sensors single-channel sensors intervals keypads, switching between keyword searches labeling point coordinates language changing
LED lights sensors lesson bundles adding files adding shortcuts to copying
642 Index
K
L
copying/pasting copying/pasting files creating deleting deleting files emailing opening opening files packaging packaging pages pasting refreshing list of files renaming renaming files sending libraries changing the access levels
Linear Algebra functions private public refreshing restoring library objects creating shortcuts private public using
Linear Algebra library functions lines adding movable to plots locking intercept at zero rotating movable tracing movable lines (geometric) creating
Index 643
lines and points, creating linking columns to symbol table table cells to variables table columns to lists to files to websites values between applications variables links adding changing moving removing list math in Lists & Spreadsheet lists deleting elements in tables inserting elements in tables sharing table columns as viewing and editing
Lists & Spreadsheet application lists questions adding locating software updates locking intercept of movable lines at zero variables locus construction loops
EndLoop
For using
While
Lotka-Volterra equations
Lua, scripts
644 Index
managing collected data sets
Math Draw, creating shapes with gestures math expression boxes math expressions, See expressions math templates matrices creating inserting rows or columns measurement units changing (Vernier DataQuest ™) measurements, converting units measuring angles circumference or perimeter distance between objects length sides of objects slope of object measuring objects menus
Calculator minimum API level for scripts models, Pdf distribution modes changing in functions and programs setting in functions and programs setting in programs motion match options removing plots moving images images (PublishView™ documents)
M
Index 645
links points (Data & Statistics)
PublishView™ objects rows and columns (Lists & Spreadsheet) multiple-line functions multiple cells, selecting multiple choice questions adding
N
naming table columns variables (name conflicts) naming columns navigating in tables normal probability, creating plots
Notes adding shapes formatting text inserting comments selecting text using colors numeric plots, splitting by categories numerical input questions adding
O
objects
(PublishView™ documents) changing attributes changing fill colors dilating duplicating enlarging
646 Index
finding area hiding in Geometry measuring reflecting rotating symmetrical images tracing geometric transformation of open response questions adding opening activities documents (.tns) files in lesson bundles lesson bundles
Transfer Tool opening documents (.tns) options capture page
Capture Selected Handheld organizing PublishView™ sheets orthogonal 3D view orthographic 3D projection
OS update installing on a handheld overlapping PublishView™ objects packaging lesson bundles
Page Layout view page numbers (PublishView™ documents)
Page Sorter pages adding deleting
P
Index 647
grouping packaging rearranging selecting ungrouping panes resource parabola creating from focus and directrix creating from focus and vertex parametric equations graphing pasting handheld images images images in handheld mode lesson bundles screens table data
PDF save document as perspective 3D view pie charts, creating piecewise functions playbacks adjusting rate pausing repeating starting plots adding a value on existing plot adding movable lines caseplots (default) changing type colors in 3D graphs
648 Index
creating customizing dot plots graphing predictive probability removing motion match scatter sorting categories summary
X-Y line plotting dot charts models statistical data table data points animating changing colors changing direction creating identifying intersections labeling coordinates moving (Data & Statistics) of interest selecting (Data & Statistics) setting markers setting options points and lines, creating polar equations graphing polygons, drawing pooled variances pre-defined measurement units precision of results
Index 649
predictive plots drawing and clearing preview, printed document print preview printing
PublishView™ documents printing documents (.tns) probability, creating plots problems adding deleting renaming problems (PublishView™ documents) product improvements
Program Editor application programs calling one from another debugging defining editing flows running running diagnostics
Proof template protecting documents (.tns)
PublishView™ documents applications converting creating hyperlinks images objects printing problems
650 Index
problemsdeleting
problems (PublishView™ documents) 125
saving sheets text video files
Q
Q & A template questions
(x,y) numerical input adding adding images drop points equation lists multiple choice open response responding
Self Check mode suggested responses using the Question application questions (students) checking answers toolbar options types of
Quick Graph, using
Quick Poll images
Quick Poll questions clearing answers responding types
Index 651
random numbers generating in tables range of cells, inserting in formulas raw data raw data, adjusting histogram scale rays creating read-only documents (.tns) reducing view details area registering products regression diagnostics regression lines, showing relations displaying history showing table of values remote data retrieving removing hyperlinks from text images linked variables links removing files from Transfer list renaming data sets functions functions and programs lesson bundles problems (PublishView™ documents) renaming problems replays starting
R
652 Index
reponses adding suggested repositioning images rescaling graphs (dilation) graphs (translation) resizing images images (PublishView™ documents)
PublishView™ objects table rows and columns resources pane exploring restoring data restoring libraries results copying from Calculator history setting decimal approximation rotating objects rows copying deleting inserting moving resizing selecting
Save document as PDF saving activities to your computer captured images captured pages documents (.tns)
S
Index 653
documents (.tns) in emulator handheld screens images
PublishView™ documents
PublishView™ document as PDF saving documents (.tns) scaling graphs scaling Plane Geometry Analytic window scatter plots screen capture tool screen captures copying pasting script editor zooming text scripts setting API level scripts, Lua scrolling in tables searching for activities segments creating selecting a block of table cells columns data ranges data sets for replays data sets to plot expressions in Calculator images table rows or columns templates text in Notes working folder (PublishView™ objects) selecting pages
654 Index
self-check document types
Self-Check mode sensors calibrating changing measurement units connecting for computers for handhelds for remote data collections interfaces
LED lights reversing reading display setting to zero setting up offline triggering types sequences, generating in table columns sets renaming data sets sets of data, comparing sets, storing data as setting minimum API level for scripts settings
Data & Statistics application defining in Geometry application language
TI-SmartView™ emulator shapes adding in Notes creating with Math Draw drawing geometric equations of
Index 655
legends shortcuts creating to library objects showing
3D graphs functions in work areas showing format toolbar showing screen details sliders animating 3D graphs setting variable values slope measuring software checking for updates installing updates software licenses, activating software version number solving simple math expressions sorting plotted categories table data splitting numeric plots by categories spreadsheets navigating sharing columns as lists starting transfer statistical tests, supported statistics, drawing plots status bar stopping file transfers storing data as sets
656 Index
striking data strip charts subroutines, calling suggested response summary data summary information, displaying summary plots creating symbol table linking columns to syntax checking using to prevent naming conflicts system of equations
T
table data graphing sorting using in statistical analysis (Lists & Spreadsheet) table of values tables changing expressions for functions copying rows or columns deleting contents of cells deleting list elements deleting rows and columns displaying list of functions editing settings generating column data inserting list elements inserting rows or columns linking columns to lists moving rows or columns navigating in
Index 657
restoring data selecting rows or columns sharing columns as lists showing function values striking data working with cells tangents, creating
Teacher Tool Palette templates math
Notes
Proof
Q & A selecting text adding to work areas changing colors entering finding in Program Editor formatting (Notes) selecting in Notes zooming in script editor text formatting text tool using to graph equations threshold values increasing/decreasing
TI-Nspire(TM) Screen Capture Window zooming in/out
TI-Nspire™ SmartView Emulator capturing images
TI-SmartView™ capturing images
DragScreen feature
658 Index
TI-SmartView™ emulator capturing screens changing panel width opening opening documents (.tns) options saving documents (.tns) settings
TI-SmartView™ Emulator
TI websites titles, clicking to see variable names (Data & Statistics) tool palette toolbar tools text formatting screen capture
Touchpad, navigating in emulator tracing all graphs simultaneously geometric objects
Transfer starting
Transfer List removing files
Transfer Tool adding files closing interface opening removing files transferring files to connected handhelds transformation of objects triggering enabling troubleshooting information
Index 659
U
undefined variables ungrouping applications pages units converting measurement symbols creating user-defined unlinking variables unlocking variables user-defined functions
Using the Preview Pane
Using the Welcome screen values assigning to variables linking between applications requesting for variables user-supplied for arguments variables assigning values attributes calculated results creating creating from table cells deleting displaying value from calculator values in calculations in Graphs & Geometry in Lists & Spreadsheet
V
660 Index
initializing linking linking table columns to lists linking to linking to shared locking and unlocking naming preventing naming conflicts removing linked variables requesting values setting values with sliders sharing table columns as lists types of undefined unlinking variances, pooled vectors creating version number, locating videos (PublishView™ documents) inserting files view video console
3D Graphing viewing captured screens documents (.tns) functions and programming values in lists views
3D Graphing
Graph
Page Layout
Table
Index 661
warnings, showing (Notes) websites, locating troubleshooting information welcome screen
Welcome Screen closing window settings custom windows
TI-Nspire(TM) Screen Capture wizards entering expressions (Calculator) entering expressions (Lists & Spreadsheet) statistics work area customizing in Graphs and Geometry work areas adding text to workspace
Content
Documents workspaces
Content Workspace
Documents Workspace exploring
W
X
X-Y line plots
Z
zooming handheld preview in
662 Index
in/out out
PublishView™ documents text in script editor
Index 663
Download
Annonce