Avigilon Enterprise 4.10 Control Center Client software User Guide
Below you will find brief information for Control Center Client software Enterprise 4.10. The Control Center Client software works with the Avigilon Control Center Server software to give you access and control of your Avigilon High Definition Surveillance System. The Client software allows you to view live and recorded video, monitor alarms and events, and control user access to the Avigilon Control Center. The Client software also gives you the ability to configure the server, cameras and other external devices that are part of your surveillance system. The Client software can run on the same computer as the Server software, or run on a remote computer that connects with the Server software through a local area network (LAN) or a wireless area network (WAN).
Advertisement
Advertisement
Avigilon Control Center Client
User Guide
Version: 4.10 Enterprise
PDF-CLIENT-E-E-Rev1
Copyright © 2011 Avigilon. All rights reserved.
The information presented is subject to change without notice.
No copying, distribution, publication, modification, or incorporation of this document, in whole or part, is permitted without the express written permission of Avigilon. In the event of any permitted copying, distribution, publication, modification, or incorporation of this document, no changes in or deletion of author attribution, trademark legend, or copyright notice shall be made. No part of this document may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, published, used for commercial exploitation, or transmitted, in any form by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording, or otherwise, without the express written permission of Avigilon.
Avigilon
Tel +1.604.629.5182
Fax +1.604.629.5183 http://www.avigilon.com
Revised 2011-10-18
Table of Contents
iii
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
iv
Table of Contents
v
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
vi
Table of Contents
vii
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
viii
Table of Contents
ix
Introduction
What is the Avigilon Control Center Client?
The Avigilon Control Center Client software works with the Avigilon Control Center Server software to give you access and control of your Avigilon High Definition Surveillance System.
The Client software allows you to view live and recorded video, monitor alarms and events, and control user access to the Avigilon Control Center. The Client software also gives you the ability to configure the server, cameras and other external devices that are part of your surveillance system.
The Client software can run on the same computer as the Server software, or run on a remote computer that connects with the Server software through a local area network (LAN) or a wireless area network
(WAN).
What you can do in the Client software depends on the Server software edition. There are three editions of the Server software available: Core, Standard and Enterprise. Core contains all the essential software features for monitoring live and recorded video. Standard gives you all the Core features plus access to the point of sales feature, digital input and output, audio, and expanded search options. The Enterprise edition gives you access to the full suite of Client software features, including alarms, rules, Site View,
Web Pages, Maps and system backup. Visit the Avigilon website for an overview of the features available in each edition: http://avigilon.com/products/controlcenter/overview/
A copy of the Client software can be downloaded from the Avigilon website, or installed with the Server software.
System Requirements
Monitor
resolution
Minimum requirements
1280 x 1024
OS
Windows XP with Service Pack (SP) 2 or later, Windows Vista, or Windows 7
Recommended requirements
1280 x 1024
Windows XP with Service Pack (SP)
2 or later, Windows Vista, or
1
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
CPU
System
RAM
Video card
Network
card
Hard disk
space
Intel Single Core 2.4 GHz processor
1 GB
Windows 7
Intel Dual Core 2.0 GHz processor
2 GB
PCI Express, DirectX 9.0c compliant with 128
MB RAM (Intel GMA 900 or better, NVIDIA
6600 or better, ATI X1300 or better)
PCI Express, DirectX 10.0 compliant with 256 MB RAM (NVIDIA GeForce
8000 series or better)
100 Mbps 1 Gbps
500 MB 500 MB
2
For More Information
Visit Avigilon at http://www.avigilon.com/ for additional product documentation.
Avigilon University
The Avigilon University provides free online training videos that demonstrate how to set up and use the
Avigilon Surveillance System. Register online at the Avigilon Partner site to begin: http://avigilon.com/partners/
Support
For additional support information, visit http://www.avigilon.com/support/ .
Regular Avigilon Customer Support Center hours of operation are from 6:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. Pacific
Standard Time (PST) and can be reached by calling the toll-free number: +1.888.281.5182.
E-mails can be sent to: [email protected]
.
For emergency technical support 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, please call the Avigilon Emergency
Technical Support Hotline at +1.604.506.3117.
Upgrades
Software and firmware upgrades will be made available for download as they become available. Check http://www.avigilon.com/support/software for available upgrades.
Feedback
We value your feedback. Visit our feedback page to comment on our products and services: http://avigilon.com/feedback/
Introduction
3
Getting Started
Once the Avigilon Control Center Client software has been installed, you can start using the Avigilon High
Definition Surveillance System immediately. Refer to any of the following procedures to help you get started.
To watch a video overview of the application, see
Module 1 - Introduction to Avigilon Control Center
Client and Viewing Live Video
in the Avigilon University - End User Stream.
Starting and Shutting Down the Avigilon Control
Center Client
The Avigilon Control Center Client software can be started or shut down at anytime. The Avigilon Control
Center Server software is a Windows service and will continue to run in the background even when the
Client software is shut down.
Starting the Client Software
Perform one of the following:
From the Windows Start menu, select
All Programs > Avigilon > Avigilon Control Center
Client > Avigilon Control Center Client.
Double-click the Avigilon Control Center Client shortcut icon on the desktop.
From the Avigilon Control Center Admin Tool, click Launch Control Center Client. See the
Avigilon Control Center Server User Guide for more information.
Log in to your server(s) when the Log In dialog box appears. See Logging_In for more information.
Shutting Down the Client Software
1. In the Avigilon Control Center Client software, select File > Exit.
4
Getting Started
2. In the confirmation dialog box, click Yes.
Discovering Servers
The Avigilon Control Center Client software must communicate with the Avigilon Control Center Server software to access and configure your surveillance system. If the server is on the same network segment
(subnet) as your computer, the server is automatically discovered and appears in the System Explorer on the left side of the application window.
If the server is on a different subnet, the server must be manually discovered. There is no limit to the number of servers that can be discovered by the Client software.
1. Open the Find Server dialog box. o In the Log In dialog box, click Find Server.... o In the application window, select File > Manage Server Connections. In the Manage
Servers dialog box, click Find Server...
Figure A.
Manage Server Connections dialog box
2. In the Find Server dialog box, enter the Hostname/IP Address, the Base Port, and the
Connection Speed of the server you want to discover.
5
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
6
Figure B.
Find Server dialog box
The base port is 50080 by default. You can change the base port number in the Avigilon Control
Center Admin Tool. See the Avigilon Control Center Server User Guide for more information.
Tip:
Set the
Connection Speed
to WAN if you are on a low bandwidth network (for example, internet or wireless network), and select LAN if you are on a high bandwidth connection (for example, office or home network). This enables the Avigilon Control Center to better manage your bandwidth and image rate.
3. Click OK.
If the server is found, the server will appear in the Manage Server Connections dialog box.
If the server is not found, check the following then try again:
The network settings are configured correctly.
The firewall is not blocking the application.
The Avigilon Control Center Server software is running on the server.
Logging Into and Out of Servers
To access your Avigilon High Definition Surveillance System through the Client software, you must log in to the servers running the Avigilon Control Center Server software. Whenever the Client software detects a server with the Server software installed, you are prompted to log in.
The default administrator access uses administrator as the username and no password. To maintain the security of the administrator account, it is recommended that your system administrator immediately create a password for this account after the first login. Your system administrator can then create user accounts for other users.
If the Client software does not detect any servers, click
Find Server.... See Discovering Servers for more
information.
Getting Started
Logging In
Be aware that the number of servers you can log into at one time is determined by the type of server you can access. Standard edition servers only allow you to be logged into three servers at the same time, while Enterprise edition servers allow you to be logged into an unlimited number of servers.
Note:
You cannot access Standard edition servers and Enterprise edition servers at the same time.
1. Open the Log In dialog box. The Log In dialog box automatically appears when a server is detected by the Client software.
To manually access the Log In dialog box, perform one of the following: o From the File menu, select Log In to log in to all available servers o In the System Explorer, right-click a server and select Log In to log in to the selected server.
2. In the Log In dialog box, select a specific server or select All Servers from the Log in to drop down list.
Figure A.
Log In dialog box
Tip:
If you accessed the Log In dialog box from a specific server, you will not have the option of logging into All Servers.
If the server you want to log into is not shown, click Find Server... to try to discover the server.
3. Enter your User Name and Password, or select the Use current Windows credentials check box if your system administrator has imported your Windows account information into the server.
4. Click Log In.
After logging in the first time, you can set up automatic login from the client Setup dialog box. See
Changing General Client Settings for more information.
7
8
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Logging Out
You can log out of one or all servers at any time.
To Do this
Log out of one server
1. Right-click the server in the System Explorer and select
Log
Out.
Log out of all servers
1. Select File > Log out.
2. When the Log Out dialog box appears, click Yes.
Navigating the Application
Once you log in, the Avigilon Control Center Client application window is where you setup your surveillance system, monitor video, and view, search, and export recorded video.
Note:
Some features are not displayed if the server does not have the required license, or if you do not have the required user permissions.
Getting Started
Figure A.
Avigilon Control Center Client application window.
Area
Workspace
Description
The right pane where the feature tabs appear.
1
2
3
4
5
Menu bar
Toolbar
View
Image panel
System Explorer
A standard Windows application menu that provides access to features not available on the Toolbar.
Provides quick access to commonly used tools.
If any buttons are missing from your toolbar, click the small down arrow on the right-edge of the toolbar to display the hidden buttons.
Provides a way to organize image panels. You can have multiple
Views open at once.
This is the most common tab in the Workspace.
Displays live or recorded video from a camera.
Displays all the servers and cameras in your surveillance system.
9
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
6
7
PTZ Controls
Timeline
When you right-click any item in the System Explorer, you have the option to Expand All or Collapse All items in the System Explorer.
Provides a way to control pan and tilt and zoom (PTZ) cameras.
Displays the Timeline for a recorded video, and contains colorcoded events.
This tool allows you to review video for a specific time frame, and control the video playback.
Note:
The Timeline only appears for recorded video.
Adding and Removing Cameras in a View
To monitor video, add a camera to the View. The camera video can be removed from the View any time.
Adding a Camera to a View
Perform one of the following:
Drag the camera from the System Explorer to an empty image panel in the View.
Double-click a camera in the System Explorer.
In the System Explorer, right-click the camera and select Add to View.
The camera is added to the next empty image panel in the View layout.
Tip:
You can drag the same camera to multiple image panels to watch the video at different zoom levels.
Removing a Camera From a View
Perform one of the following:
Right-click the image panel and select Close.
Inside the image panel, click Close.
10
Getting Started
Viewing Live and Recorded Video
Note:
Some features are not displayed if the server does not have the required license, or if you do not have the required user permissions.
When you monitor video, you can choose to watch live and recorded video in the same View, or only one type of video per View.
Once you've added the required cameras to the View, perform the following:
1. To switch the View between live and recorded video, perform one of the following: o Select View > Live or Recorded. o On the toolbar, select either Live or Recorded.
2. To switch individual image panels between live and recorded video, right-click the image panel and select either Live or Recorded.
Image panels displaying live video have a blue border, while image panels displaying recorded video have a green border.
11
Setup
The default settings in the Avigilon Control Center Client software allow you to start working with the application immediately after installation.
If you have special requirements, refer to the following sections to configure your settings:
Note:
Some features are not displayed if the server does not have the required license, or if you do not have the required user permissions.
Managing Server Connections
When you start the application, you automatically have access to all the servers connected to your network. If you need to access a server that is on a different network segment, you need to manually discover the server.
Once you are connected to a server, you can also change how you connect to the server.
Discovering Servers
The Avigilon Control Center Client software must communicate with the Avigilon Control Center Server software to access and configure your surveillance system. If the server is on the same network segment
(subnet) as your computer, the server is automatically discovered and appears in the System Explorer on the left side of the application window.
If the server is on a different subnet, the server must be manually discovered. There is no limit to the number of servers that can be discovered by the Client software.
1. Open the Find Server dialog box. o In the Log In dialog box, click Find Server.... o In the application window, select File > Manage Server Connections. In the Manage
Servers dialog box, click Find Server...
12
Setup
Figure A.
Manage Server Connections dialog box
2. In the Find Server dialog box, enter the Hostname/IP Address, the Base Port, and the
Connection Speed of the server you want to discover.
Figure B.
Find Server dialog box
The base port is 50080 by default. You can change the base port number in the Avigilon Control
Center Admin Tool. See the Avigilon Control Center Server User Guide for more information.
Tip:
Set the
Connection Speed
to WAN if you are on a low bandwidth network (for example, internet or wireless network), and select LAN if you are on a high bandwidth connection (for example, office or home network). This enables the Avigilon Control Center to better manage your bandwidth and image rate.
3. Click OK.
If the server is found, the server will appear in the Manage Server Connections dialog box.
If the server is not found, check the following then try again:
13
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
The network settings are configured correctly.
The firewall is not blocking the application.
The Avigilon Control Center Server software is running on the server.
Editing and Deleting a Server Connection
Use the Manage Server Connections dialog box to edit and delete your server connections.
1. Select File > Manage Server Connections.
14
Figure A.
Manage Server Connections dialog box
2. Select a server on the Server list then perform one of the following:
Note:
You cannot remove or edit the IP address and base port of servers that were automatically discovered. o To edit the server connection, click Edit. Update the server IP Address, Base Port and
Connection Speed as required then click OK. Refer to Discovering Servers for details
about the editable options. o To delete the server connection, click Remove Server.
Setup
Connect/Disconnect Cameras
You can connect and disconnect cameras to servers using the Connect/Disconnect Cameras dialog box.
A camera's connection status is indicated by the icon beside the camera name in the System Explorer.
Icon Definition
Camera Connected
The camera is connected to the server.
Camera Upgrading
The camera is connected to the server and is currently upgrading its firmware.
Camera Connection Error
The camera cannot connect to a server.
This may be because the camera is no longer on the network or there is a network conflict
Camera Disconnected
No icon
The camera is disconnected but there is recorded video from the camera still on the server.
The camera is disconnected and there is no recorded video left on the server.
Discovering a Camera
When cameras are connected to the network, they should be automatically discovered by the Avigilon
Control Center Client software.
If a camera is not automatically discovered, you can try to manually discover the camera on the network.
• From the Tools menu, select Connect/Disconnect Cameras.
In the Connect/Disconnect Cameras window, all Avigilon and ONVIF cameras connected to the same network segment (subnet) as the Avigilon Control Center Server are automatically detected and appear in the Discovered Cameras list.
If the camera you want to connect to is on a different subnet, or is manufactured by a third party, perform the following:
1. At the top of the Connect/Disconnect Cameras dialog box, click Find Camera....
2. In the Find Camera dialog box, complete the following fields:
15
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Figure A.
Find Camera dialog box: IP Address
Figure B.
Find Camera dialog box: IP Address Range o Search From Server: select the server that you want the camera to connect to. o Search Type: select a search type. o Camera Type: select the camera's brand name.
Tip:
Select ONVIF to discover cameras that are ONVIF complaint. o IP Address/Hostname: (For IP Address search only) enter the camera's IP address or hostname. The camera and server’s gateway IP address must be set correctly for the camera to be found. o Start IP Address and End IP Address: (For IP Address Range search only) enter the start and end IP addresses. Only addresses in that range will be searched for the selected camera type. o Control Port: enter the camera control port number. o Provide the User Name and Password for the camera if required.
3. Click OK.
If the camera is discovered, it will appear in the Discovered Cameras list. You can now connect the camera to a server.
Connecting a Camera to a Server
Once the camera has been discovered on the network, it can be connected to the server.
16
Setup
1. From the Tools menu, select Connect/Disconnect Cameras. The Connect/Disconnect Cameras dialog box appears.
Figure A.
Connect/Disconnect Cameras dialog box
2. In the Discovered Cameras area, select a camera then click Connect....
Tip:
You can also drag the camera to a server on the Connected Cameras list, then you can skip the next 3 steps. The camera will automatically make a Primary connection to the server.
3. In the Connect Camera dialog box, select the server you want the camera to connect to.
17
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Figure B.
Connect Camera dialog box
4. In the Connection Type drop down list, select one of the following: o Primary: the camera will automatically connect to this server if they are on the same network. o Secondary: the camera will try to connect to this server if they are on the same network, and the primary server is not available. o Tertiary: the camera will try to connect to this server if they are on the same network, and the primary and secondary servers are not available.
Select Secondary or Tertiary to create a failover connection. See Failover Connections for more
information.
5. In the License Priority drop down list, select the appropriate license priority. 1 is the highest priority and 5 is the lowest.
Note:
This option is only available if you are connecting to a secondary or tertiary server.
The License Priority setting decides the order that cameras are connected to the server. The server will try to connect cameras with a higher license priority before cameras with lower priority.
If the server does not have enough camera channel licenses, low priority cameras may not be connected. A camera channel license is only used when the camera actually connects to the server.
6. Click OK.
7. If the camera is password protected, the Camera Authentication dialog box appears. Enter the camera's username and password, then click OK.
Editing the Camera Connection to the Server
1. From the Tools menu, select Connect/Disconnect Cameras.
2. In the Connect/Disconnect Cameras dialog box, select the camera connection you want to edit from the Connected Cameras list.
3. Click
Edit. Refer to Connecting a Camera to a Server for details about the editable options.
4. Click OK.
Failover Connections
You can set up failover connections so that if a server fails, the cameras connected to it will automatically connect to a backup server and continue recording.
18
Setup
Failover connections are set up in the Connect/Disconnect Cameras dialog box. When you connect a camera to a server, you are asked to select the Connection Type and License Priority.
The Connection Type determines when the camera will connect to a server:
Primary: the camera will automatically connect to this server if they are on the same network.
Secondary: the camera will try to connect to this server if they are on the same network, and the primary server is not available.
Tertiary: the camera will try to connect to this server if they are on the same network, and the primary and secondary servers are not available.
The License Priority setting decides the order that cameras are connected to the server — 1 is the highest and 5 is the lowest. The server will try to connect cameras with a higher license priority before cameras with lower priority. If the server does not have enough camera channel licenses, low priority cameras may not be connected. A camera channel license is only used when the camera actually connects to the server.
To set up a failover connection, complete the Connecting a Camera to a Server procedure and set the
failover Connection Type and License Priority.
Example
Cameras A, B, C, D, E and F have failover connections set up to two different servers. Assume each server has 6 camera channel licenses, and the license priority is set to 1 for each connection.
Figure A.
Primary connections
When the first server fails, cameras A and B from NVR 1 automatically connect to their Secondary server,
NVR 2.
19
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Figure B.
NVR 1 fails
When the second server fails, cameras E and F automatically connect to their Tertiary server, NVR 2.
Figure C.
NVR 2 fails
Disconnecting a Camera from a Server
1. From the Tools menu, select Connect/Disconnect Cameras.
2. In the Connect/Disconnect Cameras dialog box, select the camera you want to disconnect from the Connected Cameras list then perform one of the following:
20
Setup
o Click Disconnect.
The camera is disconnected from the server and moved to the Discovered Cameras list. o Drag the camera into the Discovered Cameras list.
Upgrading Camera Firmware
Camera firmware updates are typically included with the Avigilon Control Center Server update packages.
Camera firmware updates are automatically downloaded and installed to the camera.
When the camera firmware is being upgraded, video from that camera cannot be displayed and the
System Explorer will display the following symbol beside the camera.
Figure A.
System Explorer: camera firmware upgrade
When the firmware upgrade is complete, the System Explorer will display the Camera Connected icon again, and video from the camera will display.
Server Setup
The server Setup dialog box is responsible for all the Avigilon Control Center features that are configured and stored on the server.
Refer to any of the following sections to access and configure the server setup.
Note:
Some features are not displayed if the server does not have the required license, or if you do not have the required user permissions.
Accessing the Server Setup
Perform one of the following steps to open the server Setup dialog box:
Select Tools > Setup... then select the server you want to setup from the left pane.
In the System Explorer pane, right-click the server and select Setup.
Note:
Some features are not displayed if the server does not have the required license, or if you do not have the required user permissions.
21
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Figure A.
Server Setup dialog box
General
Use the General dialog box to change the name the server displays in the System Explorer.
Changing the Server's Name
The default name for the server may not be useful for your purposes. Use the General dialog box to change the server's name to something more meaningful to your surveillance system.
1. Right-click a server in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the server Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Server Setup for more information.
2. Click General.
22
Setup
3. In the General dialog box, enter a new server name.
Figure A.
General dialog box
4. Click OK.
Recording Schedule
Use the Recording Schedule dialog box to set the recording schedule for the cameras connected to the server. By default, the Avigilon Control Center is set to record motion and configured events when they occur.
Once the recording schedule is set, camera recordings are made automatically.
Using Templates to Modify the Recording Schedule
The recording schedule is set by using templates that tell cameras what to record and when to record.
For example, you can create one recording schedule template for the weekdays and another for the weekend.
Note:
Some features are not displayed if the server does not have the required license, or if you do not have the required user permissions.
Adding a Template
1. Right-click a server in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the server Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Server Setup for more information.
2. Click Recording Schedule.
3. In the Recording Schedule dialog box, click Add Template in the Templates pane.
23
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Figure A.
Schedule dialog box
4. Enter a name for the template.
5. Click the Set Area button then click or drag the cursor across the Record Mode timeline to set the types of events that the cameras will record throughout the day.
Record Mode
Continuous
Motion
Definition
Record video constantly.
Only record video when motion is detected.
Digital Input
Alarms
Only record video when a digital input is activated.
Only record video when an alarm has been activated.
POS Transactions Only record video when point of sale (POS) transactions are made.
License Plates Only record video when a license plate is detected.
6. To disable recording in parts of the template, click the Clear Area button then click or drag the cursor across the timeline to remove the set recording areas.
7. If cameras are not recording in Continuous mode all day, you can set cameras to record reference images between events in the recording schedule. Select the
Record a reference
image every: check box then set the time between each reference image.
Editing and Deleting a Template
1. Right-click a server in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the server Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Server Setup for more information.
2. Click Schedule.
3. In the Schedule dialog box, select a template from the Templates pane and perform one of the following: o To edit a template, modify the schedule.
24
Setup
o To rename a template, click Rename Template and enter a new name. o To delete a template, click Delete Template.
4. Click OK.
Setting Up a Weekly Recording Schedule
You can set up a week’s recording schedule by applying templates to cameras for each day of the week.
1. Right-click a server in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the server Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Server Setup for more information.
2. Click Recording Schedule.
3. In the Recording Schedule dialog box, select a template from the Templates pane.
4. In the Default Week area, select the cameras and days of the week this template applies to.
Figure A.
Recording Schedule dialog box: Default Week
5. Click OK.
Recording and Bandwidth
While the Schedule dialog box sets what cameras record, the Recording and Bandwidth dialog box sets how long camera recordings are kept.
You can use the Recording and Bandwidth dialog box to change the data aging settings and maximum recording times for each camera that is connected to the server.
Changing Recording Settings
1. Right-click a server in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the server Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Server Setup for more information.
25
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
2. Click Recording and Bandwidth. The Recording and Bandwidth dialog box appears.
26
Figure A.
Recording and Bandwidth dialog box
3. In the Data Aging column, move the sliders to adjust the amount of time video is stored at each image rate.
The Data Aging column shows an estimate of the recording time that is available at each image rate given the amount of space on the server. Full Image Rate keeps recordings in its original quality, while Half Image Rate discards half of the recorded data to make room for new recordings, and Quarter Image Rate keeps 1/4 of the original recorded data so that you can still see older video.
Note:
Data Aging is only enabled for cameras using JPEG 2000 or JPEG compression. o To change the data aging settings for all linked cameras, move the slider for one linked camera and all linked cameras are updated. o To change the data aging setting for one camera, break the camera's link to the other cameras by clicking the Link icon to the left of the camera's name, then make your changes.
4. In the Max. Record Time column, manually enter a maximum record time or select one of the options from the drop down list for each camera.
Note:
If the time estimated in the Total Record Time column is shorter than what is set in the Max. Record Time column, the camera's actual recording time may be shorter than what is set.
Setup
5. Click OK.
Users and Groups
When users are added to the Avigilon Control Center, they are assigned to an access group that defines their permissions on the server. Use the Users and Groups dialog box to create and manage users and groups.
Adding a User
1. Right-click a server in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the server Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Server Setup for more information.
2. Click Users and Groups.
3. In the User and Groups dialog box, click Add User.
Figure A.
User and Groups dialog box
4. When the Add User dialog box appears, complete the User Information area.
27
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
28
Figure B.
Add User dialog box, General tab
5. If you don’t want this user to be active yet, select the Disable user check box. Disabled users are in the system but cannot access the server.
6. In the Login Timeout area, select the Enable login timeout check box to limit the amount of time the user can be logged in while the application is idle.
7. In the Password area, complete the following fields: o Password: enter a password for the user. o Confirm Password: re-enter the password. o Require password change on next login: select this check box if the user must replace the password after the first login.
Setup
o Password Expiry (Days): specify the number of days before the password must be changed. o Password never expires: select this check box if the password never needs to be changed.
8. Select the Member Of tab and select the check box beside each access group the user belongs to.
The other two columns display the permissions linked to the selected group.
Figure C.
Add User dialog box, Member Of tab
9. Click OK. The user is added to the server.
Editing and Deleting a User
You can edit and delete users as needed.
Note:
If a user has access to more than one server, the changes to the user need to be made on each server.
29
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
1. Right-click a server in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the server Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Server Setup for more information.
2. Click Users and Groups.
3. In the Users and Groups dialog box, select a user then perform one of the following:
o To edit the user's information, click Edit User. Refer to Adding a User or details about the
editable options. o To delete the user, click Delete User.
Note:
Users imported through the Active Directory tab cannot be deleted, only disabled.
Adding Groups
Groups define what features users have access to. Create new groups to tailor what users can access.
1. Right-click a server in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the server Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Server Setup for more information.
2. Click Users and Groups.
3. In the Users and Groups dialog box, select the Groups tab and click Add Group.
30
Setup
Figure A.
User and Groups dialog box
4. In the Add Group dialog box, select a group to use as a template for your new group and click
OK.
Figure B.
Add Group dialog box
5. In the Edit Group dialog box, give the new group a name then select the permissions and camera access rights for the group.
Clear the check box of any feature or camera you do not want the group to access.
31
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
32
Figure C.
Edit Group dialog box: Group tab
6. Select the Members tab to add users to the group.
Setup
Figure D.
Edit Group dialog box: Members tab a. Click Add User.... b. Select the users that should be part of this new group.
33
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Figure E.
Add users to groups dialog box c. Click OK. The users are added to the Members list.
If a user is added to the group through the Add User or Edit User dialog box, the user is automatically added to the group's Members list.
7. Click
OK to save the new group.
Importing Active Directory Groups
You can import Active Directory groups to the server to allow users to log in using their Windows credentials. Members of an imported Active Directory group are automatically added as users, and changes to member accounts in the Active Directory are automatically synchronized.
1. Right-click a server in the System Explorer then select
Setup to open the server Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Server Setup for more information.
2. Click Users and Groups.
3. In the Users and Groups dialog box, select the Active Directory tab.
34
Setup
Figure A.
Users and Groups dialog box
4. Click Add Group. o If the Change User dialog box appears, you need to enter your username and password for the domain before you can continue.
5. In the Add Group dialog box, assign a permissions group to the group you are importing then click
OK. You can edit the permissions for the group later.
You may be prompted to enter your domain username and password again.
6. In the Select Groups dialog box, locate the Windows group you wish to import by performing one of the following: o Enter the name of a Windows group in the Enter the object names to select field and click OK. o Click the Advanced button and search for the groups to import.
35
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Figure B.
Select Users or Groups dialog box
Once located, the group is automatically added to the Active Directory list and the Groups list. All the users in the group are imported into the Users list.
To edit the permissions assigned to the imported group, see Editing and Deleting a Group .
Imported user information, including log in credentials, are maintained by the Active Directory. In the
Users and Groups dialog box, you can only disable an imported user or configure the login timeout
settings. For more information see Editing and Deleting a User .
Editing and Deleting a Group
You can change the access permissions for a set of users by editing their access group.
Note:
Active Directory groups can only be deleted from the Active Directory tab.
1. Right-click a server in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the server Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Server Setup for more information.
2. Click Users and Groups and select the Groups tab.
3. Select a group and perform one of the following:
o To edit the group, click Edit Group. Refer to Adding Groups for details about the editable
options. o To delete the group, click Delete Group.
Note:
Default groups cannot be deleted.
36
Setup
Alarms
Use the Alarms dialog box to create and manage alarms. Alarm triggers can include Motion Detection,
Digital Input Activation, License Plate Watch List match, POS Transaction Exception, Camera Error,
System Error and External Software Event.
Adding a New Alarm
Alarms need to be added to the server Setup before they can be monitored in the Alarms tab.
1. Right-click a server in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the server Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Server Setup for more information.
2. Click Alarms.
3. In the Alarms dialog box, click Add.
4. Select the Alarm Trigger Source then select the required features for the alarm and click Next.
Figure A.
Select Alarm Trigger Source page
5. Select the cameras to link to this alarm then complete the following:
37
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
38
Figure B.
Select Linked Cameras page a. Set the
Pre-Alarm Record Time and the Recording Duration. b. Select the View linked cameras when alarm is triggered check box to automatically display the alarm video in a View when the alarm is triggered. c. Click Next.
6. Select the groups and users that need to receive alarm notifications, and decide if the application will play a sound whenever the alarm is triggered. Then click Next.
Setup
Figure C.
Select Alarm Recipients page
7. (Optional) Set the actions that must occur when an alarm is acknowledged.
Figure D.
Select Alarm Acknowledgement Action page
39
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
a. If the user must add comments about the alarm, select the
Require a comment when
acknowledging alarm check box. b. If a digital output must be activated when the alarm is acknowledged, select the
Activate
selected digital outputs on alarm acknowledgement check box. Then, select the digital outputs to be activated. c. If the digital output should only be activated when confirmed by a user, select the
Require user confirmation before activating digital output(s) check box. d. Click Next.
8. On this page, complete the following:
40
Figure E.
Select Alarm Properties page a. Enter a name for the alarm. b. Select a priority for the alarm. Priority: 1 is the highest alarm priority.
c. Select a schedule for the alarm. See Scheduling Server Events for more information.
d. Make sure the Enable Alarm check box is selected to enable the alarm.
9. Click Finish.
Editing and Deleting Alarms
1. Right-click a server in the System Explorer then select
Setup to open the server Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Server Setup for more information.
2. Click Alarms.
3. In the Alarms dialog box, select an alarm then perform one of the following:
Setup
Figure A.
Alarms dialog box: alarm properties
4. Perform one of the following: o To edit the alarm, click Edit. Go through the Add Alarm wizard and make the required changes on each page. On the last page, click Finish to save your changes. Refer to
Adding a New Alarm for details about the editable options.
o To delete the alarm, click Delete.
41
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Scheduled Backup
Data backup must be enabled on the server before Scheduled Backup settings can be made in the application.
See the Avigilon Control Center Server User Guide for more information about enabling backup on the server through the Avigilon Control Center Admin Tool.
Files are always backed up in the Avigilon Backup (AVK) format. You can review backed up video in the
Avigilon Control Center Player.
Changing Scheduled Backup Settings
Use the Scheduled Backup dialog box to set when video is backed up to the server.
Note:
The video backup location is configured in the Avigilon Control Center Admin Tool. See the
Avigilon Control Center Server User Guide for more information.
1. Right-click a server in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the server Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Server Setup for more information.
2. Click Scheduled Backup.
42
Figure A.
Scheduled Backup dialog box
3. Select the Enable scheduled backups check box.
Setup
4. In the Camera(s) to Backup area select all the cameras to backup.
5. In the Backup Options area, complete the following: o Perform Every <X> day(s): specify the number of days between backups o Start Time: the time when backup occurs o Coverage: the amount of recorded image data that is backed up o Starting From: starting point for the backup o Delete oldest backups when disk full: select this check box to automatically delete the oldest backups when the backup storage location is full
For example in the figure above, the Scheduled Backup is configured to occur every day at
12a.m. Video starting from 30 days ago is backed up and the back up only covers 1 day, so only the 30th day is backed up to the remote server each night.
6. Click OK.
The Status area displays when the next backup will be.
POS Transactions
The Point of Sale (POS) Transaction Engine is a licensed feature that records video and raw data from
POS transaction sources. POS transaction sources can be added to the Avigilon Control Center and configured in the Client software.
Adding a POS Transaction Source
1. Right-click a server in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the server Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Server Setup for more information.
2. Click POS Transactions.
3. In the POS Transactions dialog box, click Add.
4. Enter the Hostname/IP Address and the Port number for the POS Transaction Source device, then click Next.
43
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Figure A.
Set Transaction Source Device page
5. Select a Transaction Source Data format then click Next.
If the source data format needs to be added, click Add. Or, click Copy From to create a new data
format based on the selected data format. See Adding a Transaction Source Data Format for
more information.
44
Setup
Figure B.
Set POS Transaction Source Data Format page
6. On the Set Transaction Exceptions page, select any exceptions that need be monitored then click
Next. If exceptions do not need to be monitored, just click Next.
Click
Adding a Transaction Exception for more information.
45
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Figure C.
Set Transaction Exceptions page
7. Select the cameras to link to the transaction source, and set the amount of time video needs to be recorded before and after each transaction. Then click Next.
Figure D.
Select Linked Cameras page
8. Enter a name and description for the transaction source, then select Enable transaction source to start receiving data from the transaction source.
46
Setup
Figure E.
Set Transaction Source Name and Description page
9. Click Finish.
Adding a Transaction Source Data Format
When you add a new POS transaction source, be aware that the transaction source must have a source data format.
In the POS Transaction Setup wizard, click Add when you arrive on the Set Transaction Source Data
Format page. When the Configure Data Format dialog box appears, complete the following procedure:
1. In the Properties area, specify the following:
Figure A.
Configure Data Format dialog box o Name: enter a name for the data format.
47
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
o Description: enter a description of the data format. o Transaction Start Text: (required) enter the text that identifies the start of each transaction from the POS transaction source. o Transaction End Text: (optional) enter the text that identifies the end of each transaction. o Encoding: Select the encoding used by the POS transaction source.
2. The following figure shows raw transaction data on the left and filtered transaction data on the right. Perform any of the following to capture raw data for the source data format:
48
Figure B.
Configure Data Format dialog box o Click Capture Data to start capturing a raw transaction data sample. o Click Stop Capture to stop capturing transaction data. o Click Load Data to load raw transaction data from a file. o Click Save Data to save a copy of the transaction data that has been captured.
3. (Optional) Click Add Filter to create a new filter for the raw transaction data file.
There are two default filters in the Current Filters area: one to create line breaks and the other to delete extra white space at the beginning of each line. If you do not need extra filters, skip this step.
Setup
2.
Figure C.
Configure Filter dialog box a. In the Text field, enter text for the filter to search for. b. Select Match case and/or Match whole word check box to focus the text filter to only find text with the same capitalization or match the text exactly. c. In the
Method drop down list, select a search method. You can choose to filter text found through a
Normal search, Wildcard search or Regular Expression search. d. In the Action to Take area, select which action to take when the filter finds a match to your text criteria. e. Click OK.
3. On the Configure Data Format screen, click OK to add the new data format to the data format list.
Adding a Transaction Exception
To help monitor unusual transactions, you can set up transaction exceptions. Transaction exceptions can help you identify unauthorized discounts, fake returns, and manual price overrides.
In the POS Transaction Setup wizard, click Add when you arrive on the Set Transaction Exceptions page. When the Configure Exception dialog box appears, complete the following procedure:
49
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Figure A.
Configure Exception dialog box
1. Enter a name.
2. Select one of the Text to Match options:
Select And do this...
Enter text for the exception to search for.
Match Text The exception will monitor all transactions for the text entered in the Text to Match field.
Match
Value
Enter the value that triggers the exception, and enter the text that may appear around the value.
The exception will monitor all transactions for values that match what you enter in the Text Before Value, Match
When Value and Text After Value fields
3. Click
OK.
Editing and Deleting a POS Transaction Source
1. Right-click a server in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the server Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Server Setup for more information.
2. Click POS Transactions.
50
Setup
Figure A.
POS Transactions dialog box
3. In the POS Transaction dialog box, select a POS transaction source then perform one of the following: o To edit the POS transaction source, click Edit. Go through the POS Transaction Setup wizard and make the required changes on each page. On the last page, click Finish to
save your changes. Refer to Adding a POS Transaction Source for details about the
editable options. o To delete the POS transaction source, click Delete. When the confirmation dialog box appears, click OK.
Email Notification
Use the Email Notification dialog box to prepare the server for sending email messages in response to specific events. You can set what events require email notification and who receives the emails.
Setting Up the Email Server
Before emails can be sent, the server must be set up to send emails.
1. Right-click a server in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the server Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Server Setup for more information.
2. Click Email Notification.
51
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
3. In the Email Notification dialog box, select the Email Server tab.
52
Figure A.
Email Notifications dialog box: Email Server tab
4. In the Email Server Settings area, complete the following a. Sender Name: enter a name for the server sending out the email. b. Sender Email Address: enter an email address the server can use to send emails. c. Subject Line: enter a default subject line for all emails sent from this server. d. SMTP Server: enter the SMTP server address used by the email. e. Port: enter the SMTP port. f. Timeout (seconds): enter the maximum number of seconds the server will try to send an email before it quits.
5. (Optional) If the email server uses encryption, you can select the
Use secure connection
(TLS/SSL) check box.
6. (Optional) If the email account has a username and password, select the
Server requires
authentication check box. a. Enter the Username and Password for the email account.
7. Click OK.
Setup
Configuring Email Notification
In the Email Notification dialog box, you can create email notification groups to specify who will receive email notifications when an event occurs.
1. Right-click a server in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the server Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Server Setup for more information.
2. Click Email Notification.
3. In the Email Notification dialog box, ensure the Email Notification tab is selected.
4. Click
Add.
Figure A.
Email Notifications dialog box
5. Enter a name for the new email group.
53
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
6. In the Email Recipients area, add all the users, groups and emails that are part of this email group. Perform any of the following: o Click Add User/Group to add an Avigilon Control Center user or access group. In the dialog box, select all the required users and groups then click OK. o Click Add Email to add individual emails. In the dialog box, enter the email address then click OK.
Tip:
Make sure the Avigilon users and groups added to the Email Recipient list have a valid email in their user account.
7. Click Send Test Email to send a test email to everyone on the Email Recipients list.
8. In the Email Trigger area, select all the events that this email group will be notified of. Click the blue text to define the event requirements.
Tip:
If you require other events or more specific requirements, you can also configure
email notification in the rules engine. See Rules for more information.
9. To attach a snapshot of the email notification event, select the
Attach images from camera(s)
linked to the event check box.
Note:
This option is disabled if only System Events is selected because cameras cannot be linked to System Events.
10. In the Email Schedule area, select a schedule for the email notification. See Scheduling Server
11. To limit the number of emails sent, enter the amount of time between each email in the
Send
email at most every: field.
12. Click OK.
Editing and Deleting an Email Notification
You can edit the details of an email notification or delete the email notification when it is no longer needed.
1. Right-click a server in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the server Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Server Setup for more information.
2. Click Email Notification.
3. In the Email Notification dialog box, ensure the Email Notification tab is selected then perform one of the following: o To edit the email notification, select the Email Group and make the required changes.
Refer to Configuring Email Notification for details about the editable options.
o To delete the email notification, select the Email Group and click Remove.
54
Setup
Rules
The rules engine allows you to trigger specific actions when certain events occur.
For example, you can create a rule that starts a live stream when a license plate on the Watch List is detected.
Adding a Rule
1. Right-click a server in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the server Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Server Setup for more information.
2. Click Rules.
3. In the Rules dialog box, click Add.
4. Select the events that will trigger the rule. If blue underlined text appears in the rule description, click on the text to further define the event.
Figure A.
Select Rule Event(s) page
5. When the trigger event is defined, click Next.
55
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
6. Select the actions that will occur when the rule is triggered. If any blue underlined text appears in the rule description, click on the text to further define the action. When the action is defined, click
Next.
56
Figure B.
Select Rule Action(s) page
7. On this page, complete the following:
Setup
Figure C.
Set Rule Name and Description page a. Give the rule a name and description.
b. Select a schedule for the Rule. See Scheduling Server Events for more information.
c. Make sure the Rule is enabled check box is selected to enable the rule.
8. Click Finish.
Editing and Deleting a Rule
1. Right-click a server in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the server Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Server Setup for more information.
2. Click Rules.
3. In the Rules dialog box, select a rule then perform one of the following:
57
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Figure A.
Rules dialog box o To edit the rule, click Edit. Go through the Rules Setup wizard and make the required changes on each page. On the last page, click Finish to save your changes. Refer to
Adding a Rule for details about the editable options.
o To delete a rule, click Delete. When the confirmation dialog box appears, click OK.
System Log
The system log records events that occur in the Avigilon Control Center. This can be useful for tracking system usage and diagnosing issues.
You can filter the items displayed in the log and save the log to a separate file for sending to Avigilon support.
Note:
The system log maintains a record of system events for up to 90 days.
58
Viewing the System Log
1. Right-click a server in the System Explorer then select
Setup to open the server Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Server Setup for more information.
2. Click System Log.
3. In the System Log dialog box, select the log events you want to display in the Event Types to
Show area, then click Start Search.
The search results are displayed in the left pane.
Setup
Figure A.
System Log dialog box
4. Select a result to display the event details on the right.
5. To save the log search results, click Save events to file... and save the file.
6. Click Close.
License Plate Recognition
License Plate Recognition (LPR) is a licensed feature that allows users to read and store vehicle license plate numbers from any video streamed through the Avigilon Control Center.
59
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Note:
The License Plate Recognition options will only appear if you have the feature licensed and installed on the server.
Setting Up License Plate Recognition
1. Right-click a server in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the server Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Server Setup for more information.
2. Click License Plate Recognition.
3. When the License Plate Recognition dialog box appears, select a lane from the left pane.
The number of lanes listed is determined by the number of License Plate Recognition (LPR) channels licensed on the server.
60
Figure A.
License Plate Recognition dialog box, Settings tab
4. Complete the following fields: o Name: enter a name for the lane.
Setup
o Camera: select the camera that will perform LPR. One camera can be used for multiple lanes. o License Plate Configuration: select the regional license plate format that needs to be
recognized by the camera. See Supported License Plates for more information.
o Pre-Event Record Time: enter the amount of time that video is recorded before the license plate is recognized. o Post-Event Record Time: enter the amount of time that video is recorded after the license plate is recognized. o Minimum Confidence: move the slider to set the minimum confidence for a detected license plate to be recognized. The default value is 80%. o Enable this lane: select this check box to enable LPR on this lane.
5. Move and adjust the size of the green overlay to define the area where license plates are detected by the camera.
Note:
The maximum size of the license plate recognition area is one megapixel. The green overlay automatically adjusts itself to meet the size limits.
6. Click OK.
Configuring the Watch List
The License Plate Recognition (LPR) Watch List identifies license plates that are of special interest.
When a license plate on the Watch List is detected, an event is generated to notify you of the license plate and the event can be used to trigger an action in the Rules engine.
You can manually add each license plate that needs to be recognized, or import a list of licenses into the application.
Adding Licenses to the Watch List
1. Right-click a server in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the server Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Server Setup for more information.
2. Click License Plate Recognition.
3. When the License Plate Recognition dialog box appears, select the Watch List tab.
61
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Figure A.
License Plate Recognition dialog box: Watch List tab
4. Click
Add. The Add License Plate dialog box appears.
62
Figure B.
Add License Plate dialog box
5. Enter the license plate number.
6. Move the Minimum Confidence slider to determine how similar the detected license plates must be before it is considered a match.
Setup
For example, if a license plate on your watch list is ABC 123 and Avigilon detects an ABC 789 license plate, the system will be 50% confident that it has found a match. If the system detects
ABC 129, it will be 83% confident that it has found a match.
7. Click OK.
Deleting a License Plate from the Watch List
1. In the License Plate Recognition dialog box, select the Watch List tab.
2. Select the license from the Watch List, and click Delete.
Exporting a Watch List
1. In the License Plate Recognition dialog box, select the Watch List tab.
2. Click
Export.
3. In the Save As dialog box, name the file and click Save.
The Watch List can be exported as a text file or a comma-separated values (CSV) file.
Importing a Watch List
1. In the License Plate Recognition dialog box, select the Watch List tab.
2. Click Import.
3. In the Import dialog box, locate the Watch List file and click Open.
Scheduling Server Events
Server events are actions triggered within the Avigilon Control Center Server that are not related to video recording, like email notifications. When you configure a server event, you are given the option to assign a schedule for the event. Schedules control when events are enabled — at specific times during a day or only on specific days.
When you arrive at the scheduling page while configuring an event, you have the option to select an existing schedule or create a new schedule.
Figure A.
Schedule option
1. To use a configured schedule, select an option from the drop down list. The default option is
Always, which allows the event to run constantly.
2. To create or edit a schedule, click .
63
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
64
1.
Figure B.
Edit Schedules dialog box. a. To add a new schedule, click Add then enter a name for the new schedule. b. To edit a schedule, select a schedule from the list and make the required changes. c. In the Start and End fields, enter the time the event is enabled for. d. In the Start Date field, enter when the schedule would begin. e. In the Recurrence Pattern area, select how often you want the event to be enabled.
1.
Option
Daily
Weekly
Monthly
Yearly
Description
The event would be enabled every day at the same time.
• Select the number of days between each schedule recurrence.
The event would be enabled every week at the same day(s) and time.
•
Select the day(s) of the week, then select the number of weeks between each schedule recurrence.
The event would be enabled once a month at the same day and time.
• Select the specific day or weekday, then select the number of months between each schedule recurrence.
The event would be enabled once a year at the same day and time.
• Select the specific day or weekday and month, then select the number of years between each schedule recurrence.
2.
Setup
1.
2. Click OK.
Camera Setup
The camera Setup dialog box is responsible for all the features that control cameras and the devices that can be connected to cameras.
Refer to any of the following sections to access and configure the camera setup.
Note:
Some features are not displayed if the server does not have the required license, or if you do not have the required user permissions.
Note:
The dialog box may appear different depending on the camera. Some cameras do not offer the full set of options.
Accessing the Camera Setup
Perform one of the following steps to open the camera Setup dialog box:
Select Tools > Setup... then select the camera you want to setup from the left pane.
In the System Explorer pane, right-click the camera and select Setup.
Note:
Some features are not displayed if the server does not have the required license, or if you do not have the required user permissions.
Note:
The dialog box may appear different depending on the camera. Some cameras do not offer the full set of options.
65
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Figure A.
Camera Setup dialog box
General
Use the camera General dialog box to set the camera's identity and configure the camera's PTZ settings.
You can also reboot the camera through the General dialog box.
Setting the Camera's Identity
In the camera General dialog box, you can give the camera a name, describe the camera's location, and give the camera a logical ID. The logical ID is needed to use the select camera keyboard command.
Note:
The dialog box may appear different depending on the camera. Some cameras do not offer the full set of options.
1. Right-click the camera in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the camera Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Camera Setup for more information.
66
2. Click General. The General dialog box is displayed.
Setup
Figure A.
General dialog box
3. In the Camera Name field, give the camera a meaningful name to help you identify the camera.
By default, the camera model number is used as the camera's name.
4. In the Camera Location field, describe the camera's location.
5. In the Logical ID field, enter a unique number to allow applications and integrations to identify this camera.
6. To disable the LEDs on the camera, select the Disable camera status LEDs. This may be required if the camera is installed in a covert location.
7. Click OK.
Configuring PTZ
Use the camera General dialog box to enable and configure the pan, tilt, zoom (PTZ) features for Avigilon cameras. PTZ devices are connected to Avigilon cameras through the RS-485 inputs.
Third party PTZ cameras cannot be configured through the Avigilon Control Center.
1. Right-click the camera in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the camera Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Camera Setup for more information.
2. Click General. The General dialog box appears.
67
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
3. In the PTZ area, select the Enable PTZ check box.
4. In the Protocol drop down list, select the appropriate PTZ protocol. The available protocols include: o American Dynamics Sensormatic o AXSYS o AXSYS DCU o Ernitec ERNA o Honeywell Diamond o Kalatel ASCII o Pelco D o Pelco P o TEB Ligne o Videotec Legacy o Videotec MACRO
5. Enter the Dip Switch Address, Baud Rate and Parity for the PTZ device.
6. Click OK.
Rebooting the Camera
You can restart all Avigilon cameras through the camera's General dialog box. This feature is not available for third party cameras.
1. Right-click the camera in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the camera Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Camera Setup for more information.
2. Click General. The General dialog box appears.
3. Click Reboot Camera.
The camera disconnects from the Avigilon Control Center and shuts down. When the camera starts up again, the camera should automatically reconnect with the Avigilon Control Center.
Network
Use the camera Network dialog box to change how a camera connects to the server network.
68
Setup
Note:
The dialog box may appear different depending on the camera. Some cameras do not offer the full set of options.
Changing Camera Network Settings
1. Right-click the camera and select Setup to open the camera Setup dialog box.
2. Click Network.
3. In the Network dialog box, select how the camera obtains an IP address:
Figure A.
Network dialog box o Obtain an IP address automatically: select this option for the camera to connect to the network through an automatically assigned IP address.
The camera will attempt to obtain an address from a DHCP server. If it cannot, the camera will default to addresses in the 169.254.x.x range. o Use the following IP address: select this option to manually assign a static IP address for the camera.
Enter the IP Address, Subnet Mask and Gateway you want the camera to use.
4. Select the Control Port for connecting to the camera. This port is also used for manually discovering the camera on the network.
69
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
5. Select the Enable Multicast check box to enable multicast streaming from the camera. You must enable multicast to set up redundant connections to multiple servers.
Use the default generated IP Address, TTL and Base Port, or enter your own values.
6. Click OK.
Image and Display
Use the Image and Display dialog box to control a camera’s display settings for live and recorded video.
Changing Image and Display Settings
Note:
The dialog box may appear different depending on the camera. Some cameras do not offer the full set of options.
1. Right-click the camera in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the camera Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Camera Setup for more information.
2. Click Image and Display.
3. In the Image and Display dialog box, make the required changes to adjust the camera's image settings. A preview of your changes are displayed in the image panel.
Tip:
Use the Maximum Exposure, Maximum Gain and Priority options to control low light behavior.
70
Setup
Figure A.
Image and Display dialog box
Option
Exposure
Description
You can allow the camera to control the exposure by selecting
Automatic, or you can set a specific exposure rate.
Note:
Increasing the manual exposure time may affect the image rate.
Iris
IR Cut Filter
Flicker Control
Backlight
Compensation
You can allow the camera to control the iris by selecting or you can manually set it to Open or Closed.
Automatic,
You can allow the camera to control the infrared cut filter by select
Automatic, or set the camera to Color or Monochrome mode.
If your video image flickers because of the fluorescent lights around the camera, you can reduce the effects of the flicker by setting the
Flicker Control to the same frequency as your lights. Generally,
Europe is 50Hz and North America is 60Hz.
If your scene has areas of intense light that cause the overall image to be too dark, move the Backlight Compensation slider until you achieve a well exposed image.
Maximum Exposure
You can limit the automatic exposure setting by selecting a maximum
71
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Maximum Gain
Priority exposure level.
By setting a maximum exposure level for low light situations, you can control the camera's exposure time to let in the maximum amount of light without creating blurry images.
You can limit the automatic gain setting by selecting a maximum gain level.
By setting a maximum gain level for low light situations, you can maximize the detail of an image without creating excessive noise in the images.
You can set Image Rate or Exposure as the priority.
When set to
Image Rate
, the camera will maintain the set image rate as the priority, and will not adjust the exposure beyond what can be recorded for the set image rate.
When set to
Exposure, the camera will maintain the exposure setting as the priority, and will override the set image rate to achieve the best image possible.
Saturation
Sharpening
Image Rotation
You can adjust the video's color intensity by moving the
Color
Saturation slider until the video image meets your requirements.
You can adjust the video sharpness to make the edges of objects more visible. Move the Sharpening slider until the video image meets your requirements.
You can change the rotation of captured video. You can rotate the video 90, 180 or 270 degrees clockwise.
White Balance
You can control white balance settings to adjust for differences in light.
You can allow the camera to control the white balance by selecting
Automatic, or select Custom and manually set the Red and Blue settings.
4. To focus the camera, see Focusing the Camera Lens .
5. Click Apply to Cameras... to apply the same settings to other cameras of the same model.
6. Click OK.
Zooming and Focusing the Camera Lens
If you have a camera with a lens capable of electronic zoom and focus, you can zoom and focus the camera through the Image and Display dialog box.
Note:
The dialog box may appear different depending on the camera. Some cameras do not offer the full set of options.
72
Setup
3.
1. Right-click the camera in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the camera Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Camera Setup for more information.
2. Click Image and Display. The Image and Display dialog box appears.
3. If the camera has a built-in auto focus feature, you can choose one of the following: o Continuous Focus: the camera will automatically focus itself whenever the scene changes. Skip the following step. o Manual Focus: you can manually focus the camera through the Image and Display
Focus buttons. Once the focus is manually set, it will not change.
4. While you view the camera image panel, complete the following steps to zoom and focus the camera:
Tip:
For Avigilon HD Professional cameras, the lens must be set to auto-focus (AF) mode on the camera. If the camera does not detect the lens, the
Focus
buttons are not displayed. a. Use the Zoom buttons to zoom in to the distance you want to focus. b. In the Iris drop down list, select Open. When the iris is fully open, the camera's depth of field is the shortest. c. Use the Focus buttons until the image becomes clear.
Button Description
The camera will automatically focus once.
Focused as close to zero as possible
Large step toward zero
Small step toward zero
Small step toward infinity
Large step toward infinity
Infinity
73
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
4. Click Apply to Cameras... to apply the same settings to other cameras of the same model.
5. Click OK.
Compression and Image Rate
Use the camera Compression and Image Rate dialog box to modify the camera's compression and image quality settings for sending image data over the network.
Note:
The dialog box may appear different depending on the camera. Some cameras do not offer the full set of options.
Changing Compression and Image Rate Settings
1. Right-click the camera in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the camera setup dialog box.
2. Click Compression and Image Rate. The Compression and Image Rate dialog box appears.
74
Figure A.
Compression and Image Rate dialog box.
The Bandwidth area gives an estimate of the bandwidth used by the camera with the current settings. Adjust the settings as required.
Note:
For cameras capable of maintaining multiple streams, the settings in this dialog box only affect the primary stream.
3. In the Format drop down list, select the preferred streaming format.
Setup
4. In the Image Rate bar, move the slider to select the how many images per second (ips) you want the camera to stream over the network.
5. In the Image Quality drop down list, select the desired image quality number.
Image quality setting of 1 will produce the highest quality video and require the most bandwidth.
6. In the Max Bit Rate drop down list, select the maximum bandwidth the camera can use in kilobits per second (kbps).
7. In the Resolution drop down list, select the preferred image resolution.
8. In the Keyframe Interval drop down list, enter the preferred number of frames between each keyframe.
9. If your camera supports multiple video streams, you can select the
Enable secondary live
viewing stream check box.
When enabled, the secondary live viewing stream is a lower resolution video stream that is automatically displayed when you monitor live video on a network that does not have enough bandwidth to display the primary live viewing stream.
10. Click
Apply to Cameras... to apply the same settings to other cameras of the same model.
11. Click OK.
Image Dimensions
Use the Image Dimension dialog box to set the image dimensions for the camera. You can crop the video image to help reduce bandwidth and increase the maximum image rate.
Changing Image Dimensions Settings
1. Right-click the camera in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the camera Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Camera Setup for more information.
2. Click Image Dimensions.
3. In the Image Dimensions dialog box, adjust the image dimensions by performing one of the following: o Drag the edges of the image until the video is cropped to fit your requirements. o Change the values for the Top, Left, Width, and Height field.
75
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Figure A.
Image Dimensions dialog box
4. Click OK.
Motion Detection
In the Motion Detection dialog box, you can define specific motion detection areas and configure the camera's sensitivity and threshold for motion.
Selecting an Area to Detect Motion
In the Motion Detection dialog box, you can define the green motion detection areas in the camera's field of view. Motion detection is ignored in the areas not highlighted in green.
1. Right-click the camera in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the camera Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Camera Setup for more information.
2. Click Motion Detection.
3. In the Motion Detection dialog box, use the tools above the image panel to define the green motion detection area: o Set Area: select this button then draw green rectangles to define the motion detection areas. You can draw multiple rectangles to create your motion detection area.
76
Setup
o Clear Area: select this button and draw rectangles to erase sections from the motion detection area. o Draw: select this button and manually draw motion detection areas with your mouse.
This tool allows you to be very specific and highlight unusual shapes. o Set All: click this button to highlight the entire image panel for motion detection. o Clear All: click this button to clear the image panel of motion detection areas.
Figure A.
Motion Detection dialog box
4. Click OK.
Controlling Motion Sensitivity and Threshold
In the Motion Detection dialog box, you can control the camera's sensitivity and threshold for motion. You can also define how much time should be recorded before and after each motion event.
1. Right-click the camera in the System Explorer then select
Setup to open the camera Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Camera Setup for more information.
2. Click Motion Detection. The Motion Detection dialog box appears.
77
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
3. Move the Sensitivity slider to adjust how much each pixel must change before it is considered in motion.
The higher the sensitivity, the smaller the amount of pixel change is required before motion is detected.
4. Move the Threshold slider to adjust how many pixels must change before the image is considered to have motion.
The higher the threshold, the higher the number of pixels must change before the image is considered to have motion.
Tip:
The
Motion
indicator above the Threshold slider will move to indicate how much motion is occurring in the current scene. Only when the motion indicator moves to the right of the Threshold marker will the camera note the motion.
5. In the Pre-Motion Record Time and Post-Motion Record Time boxes, specify how long video is recorded before and after the motion event.
6. Click
OK.
Privacy Zones
You can set privacy zones in the camera's field of view to block out areas that you do not want to see or record.
Adding a Privacy Zone
Note:
You can add no more than 4 privacy zones per camera.
1. Right-click the camera in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the camera Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Camera Setup for more information.
2. Click Privacy Zones.
3. In the Privacy Zones dialog box, click Add and a green box will appear on the image panel.
78
Setup
Figure A.
Privacy Zones dialog box
4. Move and resize the green box until it covers the area you want to block out.
5. Click OK.
Editing and Deleting a Privacy Zone
1. Right-click the camera in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the camera Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Camera Setup for more information.
2. Click Privacy Zones.
3. In the Privacy Zones dialog box, select a privacy zone from the Privacy Zone list and perform one of the following: o To edit the privacy zone, adjust the green box on the image. o To delete the privacy zone, click Delete.
4. Click OK.
79
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Manual Recording
You can manually set a camera to record events outside of the camera's recording schedule. Manual
recording can only be activated when viewing live video. See Triggering Manual Recording for more
information.
Use the Manual Recording dialog box to define the maximum manual recording time for each camera.
Changing Manual Recording Settings
1. Right-click the camera in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the camera Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Camera Setup for more information.
2. Click Manual Recording. The Manual Recording dialog box appears.
Figure A.
Manual Recording dialog box
3. Specify the following: o Manual Recording Duration: enter how long the camera should record for if recording is not manually stopped. o Pre-Trigger Record Time: enter the amount of time video is recorded before manual recording is activated.
4. Click Apply to Cameras... to apply the same settings to other cameras of the same model.
5. Click OK.
Digital Inputs and Outputs
Use the Digital Inputs and Outputs dialog box to set up external digital input and output devices that are connected to the camera.
The external devices can be used to create alarms or trigger recording events and specific actions
through the rules engine. See Rules for more information.
80
Setup
Setting Up Digital Inputs
1. Right-click the camera in the System Explorer then select
Setup to open the camera Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Camera Setup for more information.
2. Click Digital Inputs and Outputs.
3. In the Digital Inputs area, select an input.
Figure A.
Digital Inputs and Outputs dialog box: Digital Inputs Settings
4. Enter a name to identify the digital input.
5. In the Recording Duration area, select one of the following: o Select Follow Event to record the entire digital input event. o Select Maximum Time to limit the recording time.
81
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
6. Enter how long video is recorded before and after the digital input event.
7. Select the digital input's default Circuit State.
8. Select the cameras that should be linked to this digital input.
If the Recording Schedule is configured to record digital inputs, the cameras selected in the Link to Camera(s) area are used to record all the events triggered by this digital input.
9. Click OK.
Setting Up Digital Outputs
Once a digital output is configured, you can manually trigger the digital output in an image panel. See
Triggering Digital Output for more information.
Note:
The dialog box may appear different depending on the camera. Some cameras do not offer the full set of options.
1. Right-click the camera in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the camera Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Camera Setup for more information.
2. Click Digital Inputs and Outputs.
3. In the Digital Outputs area, select an output.
82
Setup
Figure A.
Digital Inputs and Outputs dialog box: Digital Output Settings
4. Enter a name to identify the digital output.
5. Select the digital output's default Circuit State.
6. The Trigger Behavior options define what occurs when the digital output is activated. o Select Activate to enable the digital output in continuous mode. The Duration fields allow you to specify how long the digital output should be active for. o Select Pulse to enable the digital output in pulse mode. Specify the Period, Duty Cycle, and Repeat Count for the pulse.
7. Select the cameras that should be linked to this digital output.
When the digital output is triggered, all the cameras linked to this digital output begin recording.
8. Click OK.
83
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Microphone
Note:
Audio recording requires an Audio Channel License.
Use the Microphone dialog box to change the settings for any audio input devices that are connected to the camera. You can also link the audio to other cameras.
To use this feature, a microphone must be connected to the camera.
Note:
The dialog box may appear different depending on the camera. Some cameras do not offer the full set of options.
Changing Microphone Settings
1. Right-click the camera in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the camera Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Camera Setup for more information.
2. Click Microphone. The Microphone dialog box appears.
84
Setup
Figure A.
Microphone dialog box
3. Select the Enable check box to enable audio recording from microphones connected to the camera.
Note:
An error message will appear if you do not have an Audio Channel License.
4. Enter a name for the microphone.
5. In the Source drop down list, select the audio input source.
6. In the
Gain drop down list, select the amount of analog gain that is applied to the audio input. The higher the dB setting, the louder the volume.
7. Click Listen to test the settings and listen to the audio input device.
8. In the Link to Camera(s) area, select the cameras that should be linked to this audio.
9. Click OK.
Speaker
Note:
Audio broadcasting requires a Speaker Channel License.
Use the Speaker dialog box to change the settings for any speakers that are connected to the camera.
You can also link the audio to other cameras.
To use this feature, speakers must be connected to the camera and a microphone must be connected to your local client.
Note:
The dialog box may appear different depending on the camera. Some cameras do not offer the full set of options.
Changing Speaker Settings
1. Right-click the camera in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the camera Setup dialog box.
See Accessing the Camera Setup for more information.
2. Click
Speaker. The Speaker dialog box appears.
85
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Figure A.
Speaker dialog box
3. Select the Enable check box to enable audio broadcasting. Speakers connected to the camera would broadcast audio from the microphone that is connected to the local client.
Note:
An error message will appear if you do not have a Speaker Channel License.
4. Select the Record Speaker check box to record what is broadcast.
5. Enter a name for the speaker.
6. The Volume slider controls the volume of the speakers.
7. In the Link to Camera(s) area, select the cameras that should be linked to the speakers.
8. To test the microphone level, speak into the microphone. The red bar will move to show the audio input level.
9. Click OK.
If you want to enable two-way audio, see Microphone in the client setup section.
86
Setup
Client Setup
The client Setup dialog box is responsible for all the Avigilon Control Center features that are configured and stored on the local client computer.
Refer to any of the following sections to access and configure the client setup.
Accessing the Client Setup
Perform one of the following steps to open the client Setup dialog box.
Select Tools > Setup... and select the local client from the left pane.
In the System Explorer, right-click the local client and select Setup.
Figure A.
Setup Local Client dialog box
87
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
General
Use the client General dialog box to change the application preferences and connection speed.
Changing General Client Settings
1. Right-click the local client in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the client Setup dialog box.
For more information, see Accessing the Client Setup .
2. Click General.
3. In the General dialog box, make any required changes:
88
Figure A.
General dialog box o Save/restore window layout: select this check box if you want the application to remember your layout preferences. o Automatically launch full screen: select this check box if you want the application to automatically launch in full screen each time it starts. o Cycle dwell time: enter the number of seconds the application waits before it cycles to a
different View. See Cycling Through Views for more information.
Setup
o Language: select a language from the drop down list to change the application language. Select Windows Default for the application to automatically display the same language as the local client. o Automatically log in to servers: select this check box to automatically log into all servers that are available on the network.
Select the type of login you use: Windows Authentication — your Windows login; or
Using saved user name and password — your Avigilon Control Center username and password. o In the Maximum Incoming Client Bandwidth area, you can set how much bandwidth is allowed to come into the client. This would include video streaming.
Select Unlimited, or select Other and specify the maximum kilobits per second (kbits/s) you want to allow.
4. Click OK.
Joystick
Two types of joysticks are supported: standard Microsoft DirectX USB Joysticks and the Avigilon
Professional Joystick Keyboard.
Use the Joystick dialog box to configure the joystick settings.
Configuring a Standard USB Joystick
Use the Joystick dialog box to configure the buttons used in your standard Microsoft DirectX USB joystick.
1. Connect the joystick.
2. Right-click the local client in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the client Setup dialog box.
For more information, see Accessing the Client Setup .
3. Click Joystick.
4. If the joystick is not automatically detected, an error message will appear. Click
Scan for
Joysticks....
Note:
The error message will not appear if the joystick was detected.
When the joystick is detected, the Joystick dialog box appears.
89
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Figure A.
Joystick dialog box
5. Set up an action for each button on the joystick: a. Press a button on the joystick and the button label is highlighted in the Joystick dialog box. b. Select an action for the button from the drop down list. c. Repeat this procedure for each button on the joystick.
6. Click OK.
Configuring an Avigilon Professional Joystick Keyboard
The Avigilon Professional Joystick Keyboard is a USB add-on that contains a joystick for controlling zoom and pan within image panels, a jog shuttle for controlling the Timeline, and a keypad programmed with
the application's keyboard commands. Refer to Keyboard Commands for the keypad commands that
control the application.
By default, the keyboard is installed in right-hand mode. Use the Joystick dialog box to configure left-hand mode.
1. Connect the keyboard.
2. Right-click the local client in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the client Setup dialog box.
For more information, see Accessing the Client Setup .
3. Click Joystick.
90
4. If the keyboard is not automatically detected, an error message will appear. Click
Scan for
Joysticks....
Note:
The error message will not appear if the keyboard was detected.
When the keyboard is detected, the Joystick dialog box appears.
Setup
Figure A.
Joystick dialog box
5. Select the Enable left-hand mode check box.
6. Click OK.
The keyboard is now configured for left-hand mode.
Rotate the keyboard until the joystick is on the left and the jog shuttle is on the right. Reinstall the keypad cover with the View button labels at the top.
Exporting Settings
You can export your personalized settings from the local client so that the settings can be backed up or used on a different computer. These settings include general client settings, joystick, maps, saved Views, web pages and Site View.
To export server settings like Recording Schedules, Users & Groups, POS Source and Device
Connection settings, see the Avigilon Control Center Server User Guide.
Note:
Some features are not displayed if the server does not have the required license, or if you do not have the required user permissions.
Exporting Client Settings
1. Right-click the local client in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the client Setup dialog box.
For more information, see Accessing the Client Setup .
2. Click Export Settings.
91
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
3. Select the settings you want to export.
Figure A.
Export Settings dialog box
The General settings include display quality, deinterlacing, manually added servers, image overlays, and client connection speed.
4. Click OK.
5. In the Save As dialog box, name and save the file.
Exported client settings can only be saved in Avigilon Client Settings File (.avc) format.
Import Settings
Import and use settings that were previously exported from the local client or from a different computer.
Note:
The imported settings will overwrite the local client's current settings.
Importing Client Settings
1. Right-click the local client in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the client Setup dialog box.
For more information, see Accessing the Client Setup .
2. Click Import Settings.
3. In the Select File to Import From dialog box, find the Avigilon Client Settings File (.avc) you want to import then click Open.
4. Select the settings you want to import.
92
Setup
Figure A.
Import Settings dialog box
5. Click OK.
Microphone
If you have a microphone and speaker channel license, you have the option of enabling a two-way audio system. This allows people in the video to talk with the operator monitoring the video. You have the option of full-duplex audio, which allows simultaneous communication, or half-duplex, which only allows communication from one side at a time.
1. Right-click the local client in the System Explorer then select Setup to open the client Setup dialog box.
For more information, see Accessing the Client Setup .
2. Click Microphone. The Microphone dialog box appears.
Figure A.
Microphone dialog box o Select the Full-duplex Audio option to enable two-way audio.
93
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
o Select the Half-duplex Audio option to use the microphone and speakers separately.
3. Click OK.
For more information about the audio features, see Microphone
and Speaker in the camera setup section.
94
Site View
What is Site View?
Site View is a way to customize the way cameras and servers are displayed in the System Explorer.
The System Explorer is where all the servers and cameras are organized for easy access. The System
Explorer is able to organize your surveillance system in two ways: Server View and Site View. Server
View lists all the servers you have access to, and all the cameras and encoders that are connected to each server. Server View also gives you quick access to your maps, web pages, and saved Views.
Site View allows you to customize the way servers, cameras, encoders, maps, saved Views and web pages are displayed in the System Explorer. You can organize the cameras by location, or only display maps of the surveillance site.
Accessing Site View
Site View allows you to customize the System Explorer display. The default Server View lists all the cameras on the network by the server they are connected to. This may not be logical for your surveillance site, so you can create a Site View that reflects your surveillance requirements. For example, you can create a Site View that mimics the layout of each floor in your building.
To access Site View, select Site View from the System Explorer drop down list.
Figure A.
System Explorer
If you have not created a Site View, you will be prompted to set up a new Site View. Click Yes then see
Adding a Site for more information.
95
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Adding a Site
1. Select File > Edit Site View... to open the Edit Site View dialog box.
If you try to access the System Explorer Site View before a site has been added, you will be prompted to set up a new site. Click Yes to open the Edit Site View dialog box.
96
Figure A.
Edit Site View dialog box
2. If you are adding a new Site View, select and rename the New Site that has been added for you.
3. To add a new site, click Add Site to create a new site to group items under. Select and rename the New Site.
4. In the Server View pane, select any of the listed items and click
Add.
Note:
Only the servers you are logged into are displayed.
5. Once the selected item has been added to the Site View pane, use the green arrows to position the item within your Site View.
6. Select an item in the Site View pane and click Remove to remove the item from your Site View.
7. When your Site View is complete, click OK.
Site View
Editing and Deleting a Site
Whenever your site requirements change, you can edit or delete the Site View.
1. Select File > Edit Site View to open the Edit Site View dialog box.
2. In the Edit Site View dialog box, perform one of the following:
o To edit the Site View, make the required changes then click OK. Refer to Adding a Site
for details about the editable options. o To delete the entire Site View, select each site and click Remove. When there are no sites listed in the Site View, click OK.
Next time you try to open Site View in the System Explorer, you will be prompted to create a new Site View.
97
Views
What are Views?
A View is a tab composed of image panels that allows you to organize how video is displayed.
For example, you can choose to display video from multiple cameras at the same time by using different layouts.
Adding and Removing a View
Views allow you to customize how you monitor video. You can add a new View to an existing window or open a new View in its own window to make use of multiple monitors. Views can also be removed as required.
Adding a New View to the Application Window
Perform one of the following:
Select File > New View.
From the toolbar, click the New View button.
Adding a View to a New Window
Perform one of the following:
Select File > New Window.
98
Views
From the toolbar, click the New Window button.
A new window appears. You can now position this window to make use of multiple monitors.
Closing a View from the Application Window
Perform one of the following:
Select File > Close View.
On the View tab, click the Close View button.
Closing a Window
Perform one of the following:
Select File > Close Window.
Click the Close button on the top right corner of the window.
View Layouts
You can organize how video is displayed through View layouts. You can choose to display video from a different camera in each image panel, or display video from the same camera at different zoom levels.
There are 10 pre-configured layouts that you can edit to fit your needs.
Selecting a Layout for a View
You can organize how video is displayed by selecting a View layout. The figure shows the default View layouts.
Select View > Layouts > # Division.
On the toolbar, select the Change Layout button then select one of the layout options.
99
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Figure A.
Layouts on the toolbar
Editing a View Layout
If the default View layouts do not fit your surveillance requirements, you can customize a View layout.
1. On the toolbar, select the Change Layout button then select Edit Layouts.
100
Figure A.
Layouts on the Toolbar
2. In the Edit Layouts dialog box, select the layout you want to change.
3. Enter the number of Columns and Rows you want in your layout.
4. In the layout diagram, do any of the following to further customize the layout.
Views
101
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Figure B.
Edit Layouts dialog box o To create a larger image panel, select a grey line to delete the border between two image panels. When a line is highlighted in red, the line can be deleted. o To restore an image panel, select a dotted line to divide a large image panel into two.
When a dotted line is highlighted in green, the line can be restored. o To restore all default View layouts, click Restore Defaults. All custom layouts in the
Layouts list will be replaced.
Note:
You can only add or subtract lines to create a rectangular shape.
5. Click OK to save your changes. The previous View layout has been replaced with your customized layout.
Tip:
The keyboard commands used to access View layouts are linked to the layout's position on the
View Layouts list. For example, if your custom layout is placed at the top of the Layouts list (layout 1), you can press Alt + 1 to use that layout.
Making a View Full Screen
You can maximize a View to make full use of a monitor.
102
Views
On the toolbar, click Full Screen.
Ending Full Screen
On the toolbar at the top left of the screen, click End Full Screen.
Tip:
The toolbar is hidden when the application is idle. Move your mouse to display the toolbar.
Cycling Through Views
Once you have multiple Views setup, you can cycle through the Views by displaying each one for a few seconds. This is useful when monitoring a large number of cameras.
1. Activate the Cycle Tab feature: o From the View menu, select Cycle Views. o On the toolbar, click Cycle Views.
To change the cycle dwell time, see Changing General Client Settings for more information.
Saving a View
Once you've set up a View you like, you can save the View for use again in the future. A saved View remembers the current View layout, the cameras displayed in each image panel, and the image panel display settings.
Saving a View
1. Select File > Save View.
2. In the Save As dialog box, name the View and click OK.
Your saved view will appear in the System Explorer.
103
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Figure A.
Saved Views
Opening a Saved View
Perform one of the following
In the System Explorer, right-click the saved View and select Open.
Drag the saved View from the System Explorer to the current View in the application or new window.
Renaming a Saved View
1. In the System Explorer, right-click the saved View and select Rename.
2. In the Rename View dialog box, enter a new name and click OK.
Deleting a Saved View
1. In the System Explorer, right-click the saved View and select Delete.
2. In the confirmation dialog box, click Yes.
104
Maps
A map is a digital copy of your physical surveillance site. You can add cameras, encoders, servers, saved
Views, and other maps to your map to help you quickly navigate through your surveillance site.
To watch a video overview of the Maps feature, see
Module 4 - Working with Maps and Web Pages
in the
Avigilon University - End User Stream.
Using a Map
You can open a map in any image panel, and open video or alarms from the map.
1. To open a map in an image panel, perform one of the following: o Double-click a map from the System Explorer. o Drag the map from the System Explorer to an image panel. o In the System Explorer, right-click the map and select Add to View
Figure A.
System Explorer: Maps List
2. When the map appears in an image panel, perform any of the following:
105
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Figure B.
Map in an image panel.
To...
Review an alarm
Do this...
When a camera flashes in red, the alarm linked to the camera has been triggered.
• Click the camera to monitor the live alarm video.
Display video from a camera on the map
• Drag a camera from the map to an image panel.
• Click the camera on the map.
Open a linked map
Open a linked View
• Click the map icon on the map.
You can use the Forward and Back buttons to move between maps.
• Click the saved View on the map.
106
Maps
Adding a Map
You can create a map from any image in JPEG, BMP, PNG, or GIF format. The image is used as the map background and cameras are added on top to show where they are located in your surveillance site.
1. To start a new map, perform one of the following: o From the File menu, select New Map. o In the System Explorer, right-click the Maps icon, and select New Map.
2. In the Select Map Image dialog box, locate your map image and click Open.
3. In the Map Name field, enter a name for the map.
4. In the Editing: Map tab, drag and place cameras from the System Explorer onto the map.
Figure A.
Editing: Map tab
By default a camera is displayed as an icon with a yellow triangle to represent its field of view.
107
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
5. Drag encoders, servers, saved Views and other maps that you need from the System Explorer onto the map.
6. In the Map Icon Properties box, you can change the way icons are displayed on the map. Select any icon on the map and perform the following:
5.
6.
Figure B.
Camera icon properties a. To replace an icon with a clickable shape region, select one of the shape buttons. You can replace the icon with a rectangle, ellipse, or polygon region. b. Select the Show name check box to display the object's name on the map. c. Click Delete from Map to remove the object from the map. d. (Cameras only) Select the Show field of view check box to display the camera's yellow field of view.
Drag the corners of the yellow triangle to expand the field of view. Drag the black circle at the end of the triangle to rotate the field of view. e. (Cameras only) Click Change Image Region... to change the video region that is linked to the camera on the map.
In the Change Image Region dialog box, change the size and position of the green overlay then click
OK.
Click Save.
Editing and Deleting a Map
You can update a map or delete an old map anytime.
1. In the System Explorer, right-click a map then select one of the following:
108
Maps
Figure A.
System Explorer: Maps list
o To edit the map, select Edit. Refer to
Adding a Map for details about the editable options.
o To delete the map, select Delete. When the confirmation dialog box appears, click Yes.
109
Web Pages
You can review online content while monitoring videos in a View by adding web pages to the Avigilon
Control Center.
To watch a video overview of the web pages feature, see
Module 4 - Working with Maps and Web Pages
in the Avigilon University - End User Stream.
Note:
Internet acceses is required to use web pages.
Using a Web Page
To open a web page, perform one of the following
Double-click a web page in the System Explorer.
Drag the web page from the System Explorer to an image panel.
In the System Explorer, right-click the web page and select Add to View.
Figure A.
Saved web pages
The web page is displayed in one of the image panels. Use the web browser buttons to navigate through the internet.
Figure B.
Web page image panel buttons.
110
Web Pages
Adding a Web Page
You can add web pages for quick access to internet content that is linked to your surveillance system.
1. To open the Add Web Page dialog box, perform one of the following: o From the File menu, select New Web Page. o In the System Explorer, right-click the Web Pages icon then select New Web Page.
Figure A.
Add Web Page dialog box
2. Enter a name for the web page.
3. Enter the web page URL in the Location field.
4. Select a Zoom Level for viewing the web page inside an image panel.
5. Click OK.
Editing and Deleting a Web Page
Whenever a web page becomes out of date, you can choose to update the web page address or delete the web page.
1. In the System Explorer, right-click a web page and select one of the following:
Figure A.
Saved web pages
o To edit the web page, select Edit. Refer to Adding a Web Page for information about the
editable options. o To delete the web page, select Delete. When the confirmation dialog box appears, click
Yes.
111
Video
The Avigilon Control Center Client software allows you to monitor live and recorded video from multiple cameras. While monitoring video, you have access to PTZ controls, digital zoom, audio, manual recording, digital outputs, and other playback settings.
To watch a video of the application's video features, see
Module 1 - Introduction to Avigilon Control
Center Client and Viewing Live Video
and
Module 2 - Identifying, Bookmarking, Searching and Exporting
Video
in the Avigilon University - End User Stream.
Note:
Some features are not displayed if the server does not have the required license, or if you do not have the required user permissions.
Monitoring Live Video
While monitoring live video, you can perform any of the following procedures.
Adding and Removing Cameras in a View
To monitor video, add a camera to the View. The camera video can be removed from the View any time.
Adding a Camera to a View
Perform one of the following:
Drag the camera from the System Explorer to an empty image panel in the View.
Double-click a camera in the System Explorer.
In the System Explorer, right-click the camera and select Add to View.
The camera is added to the next empty image panel in the View layout.
Tip:
You can drag the same camera to multiple image panels to watch the video at different zoom levels.
112
Video
Removing a Camera From a View
Perform one of the following:
Right-click the image panel and select Close.
Inside the image panel, click Close.
Displaying Live Video
Once a camera has been added to an image panel, you can choose to watch the live video stream. You can set the entire View to display live video, or only set specific image panels to display live video.
Live video have a blue border around the image panel.
To display live video in a View, perform one of the following:
Select View > Live.
On the toolbar, select Live.
To switch a single image panel to display live video, right-click the image panel and select Live.
Using Instant Replay
To review an event that just occurred, you can immediately access recently recorded video through the instant replay feature.
Right-click the image panel and select one of the instant replay options:
Replay - 30 Seconds
Replay - 60 Seconds
Replay - 90 Seconds
The image panel immediately plays back the camera's most recently recorded video.
Zooming and Panning a Video
The zoom and pan tools allow you to focus on specific regions in a camera video.
113
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Using the Zoom Tools
The most common way to zoom in and out of the video image is to rotate the scroll wheel on your mouse.
The software also includes a set of Zoom tools that can be used with your mouse:
1. Select a Zoom tool: o From the Tools menu, select Zoom In Tool or Zoom Out Tool. o On the toolbar, click Zoom In Tool or Zoom Out Tool.
2. Click the image panel until you reach the desired zoom depth.
Using the Pan Tools
You can right-click and drag inside an image panel to pan the video image. Or, you can use the Pan tool:
1. Select the Pan tool: o From the Tools menu, select Pan Tool. o On the toolbar, click Pan Tool.
2. Drag the video image in any direction inside the image panel.
Controlling PTZ Cameras
Pan, Tilt, Zoom (PTZ) controls allow you to control cameras with PTZ features. You can control a PTZ camera by using the onscreen controls or by using the tools in the PTZ Controls pane.
See Keyboard Commands for other ways to use the PTZ controls.
1. To display the PTZ Controls, perform one of the following: o From the Tools menu, select PTZ Controls. o On the toolbar, click PTZ Controls.
The PTZ Controls are displayed below the System Explorer. If the PTZ Controls are unavailable, select an image panel that is displaying video from a PTZ camera.
114
Video
Figure A.
PTZ Controls
2. To pan or tilt, perform one of the following: o Click the round Pan/Tilt arrow buttons in the PTZ Controls. The speed of the pan/tilt movements can be adjusted using the Speed slider. o In the image panel, drag your mouse to move the camera. The farther the mouse is from the center of the image panel, the faster the camera will move.
Figure B.
PTZ Onscreen Controls
3. Use the other PTZ controls to perform any of the following:
Action Control Procedure
115
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
To zoom
To control the Iris or Focus
To program a PTZ preset
To activate a PTZ preset
To program a PTZ pattern
To activate a PTZ pattern
To activate an auxiliary command
116
• Click the + and - buttons.
• Or, click the image panel and use the mouse scroll wheel to zoom in and out.
Click the
+
and
-
buttons.
1. Move the camera's field of view into position.
2. In the PTZ Controls pane, select a preset number and click .
3. In the Preset Name dialog box, enter a name for the preset and click OK.
Select a preset and click .
1. In the PTZ Controls pane, select a pattern number and click .
2. Use the PTZ controls to move the camera and create the pattern.
3. Click .
In the PTZ Controls pane, select a pattern number and click .
The pattern will repeat until the pattern is stopped or another pattern is run.
1. Select an aux command number and click .
2. Click to turn off the
To display the PTZ camera onscreen menu
Video
auxiliary output.
1. Click the Menu button.
2. In the PTZ Controls pane, use the Pan/Tilt buttons to navigate the menu.
Use the Pan/Tilt buttons to navigate the menu.
Use the Zoom buttons to modify your selection choices.
Use the Focus buttons to confirm or cancel your selections.
To lock the PTZ controls
Click .
No other user will be able to use the
PTZ controls for this camera until you unlock the controls or log out.
Listening to Audio in a View
Note:
This feature is only available if there is an Audio Channel License installed.
If there is an audio input device linked to the camera, the Audio bar is displayed when you monitor the camera's video. The Audio bar allows you to listen to what is occurring in the video.
Note:
Some features are not displayed if the server does not have the required license, or if you do not have the required user permissions.
To listen to the audio detected by the audio input device, perform any of the following:
In the lower-right corner of the image panel, click to mute or activate the audio.
Move the slider to change the volume.
117
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Figure A.
Audio bar
Broadcasting Audio in a View
If there are speakers linked to the camera, the Microphone icon is displayed when you monitor live video.
The Microphone icon allows you to broadcast your verbal response to something that is occurring in the video, like a Public Address (P.A.) system.
Note:
This feature is only available if there is a Speaker Channel License installed.
To broadcast audio, hold and speak in to your microphone. The red bar moves to show the microphone's audio input levels. If the level is low, speak louder or adjust the microphone volume in the Windows Control Panel.
Release the button to stop the broadcast.
Triggering Manual Recording
Cameras are set to follow a recording schedule. If an event occurs outside the camera's recording
for more information about recording schedules.
The
Record Indicator overlay must be enabled for manual recording to work. See Displaying Video
Overlays for more information.
The following table explains the different camera recording states.
Blue = recording
Red = recording triggered by an event
Grey = not recording
Starting and Stopping Manual Recording
In the top-left corner of the image panel, click the Record Indicator icon to start manual recording.
118
Video
The record indicator is highlighted in blue to show that the camera is recording. Manual recording continues until it is stopped, or until the maximum manual recording time is reached.
Click the record indicator again to stop manual recording.
The maximum manual recording time is configured in the Manual Recording dialog box, see Manual
Recording Settings for more information.
Triggering Digital Output
While you monitor live video in an image panel, you can manually trigger any digital output that is connected to the camera.
1. Open the camera's live video in an image panel.
2. In the image panel, click Trigger Digital Output.
3. If there is more than one digital output linked to the camera, you will be prompted to select the digital output you want to trigger.
Monitoring POS Transactions
If a camera is linked to a point of sales (POS) transaction source, you can monitor live POS transactions while you monitor video from the linked camera.
1. Open the camera's video in an image panel.
2. In the image panel, click View POS Transactions.
Note:
If the camera is not linked to a POS transaction source, the icon is not displayed.
If there are more than one POS transaction source linked to the camera, you will be prompted to select one. The POS transactions are displayed in the next image panel.
119
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Figure A.
Live POS transactions displayed in an image panel
Each transaction is separated by date and time, and the most recent transaction is highlighted in blue.
3. To display cameras that are linked to the POS transaction source, click View Camera in the
POS transaction image panel.
If multiple cameras are connected to the POS transaction source, you will be prompted to select one.
Monitoring Recorded Video
While monitoring recorded video, you can perform any of the following procedures:
Adding and Removing Cameras in a View
To monitor video, add a camera to the View. The camera video can be removed from the View any time.
Adding a Camera to a View
Perform one of the following:
Drag the camera from the System Explorer to an empty image panel in the View.
120
Video
Double-click a camera in the System Explorer.
In the System Explorer, right-click the camera and select Add to View.
The camera is added to the next empty image panel in the View layout.
Tip:
You can drag the same camera to multiple image panels to watch the video at different zoom levels.
Removing a Camera From a View
Perform one of the following:
Right-click the image panel and select Close.
Inside the image panel, click Close.
Displaying Recorded Video
Once a camera has been added to an image panel, you can choose to watch the camera's recorded video. You can set the entire View to display recorded video, or only set specific image panels to display recorded video.
Recorded video have a green border around the image panel.
To display recorded video in a View, perform one of the following:
Select View > Recorded.
On the toolbar, select Recorded.
To switch a single image panel to display recorded video, right-click the image panel and select
Recorded.
Zooming and Panning a Video
The zoom and pan tools allow you to focus on specific regions in a camera video.
Using the Zoom Tools
The most common way to zoom in and out of the video image is to rotate the scroll wheel on your mouse.
The software also includes a set of Zoom tools that can be used with your mouse:
1. Select a Zoom tool:
121
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
o From the Tools menu, select Zoom In Tool or Zoom Out Tool. o On the toolbar, click
Zoom In Tool or Zoom Out Tool.
2. Click the image panel until you reach the desired zoom depth.
Using the Pan Tools
You can right-click and drag inside an image panel to pan the video image. Or, you can use the Pan tool:
1. Select the Pan tool: o From the Tools menu, select Pan Tool. o On the toolbar, click Pan Tool.
2. Drag the video image in any direction inside the image panel.
Listening to Audio in a View
Note:
This feature is only available if there is an Audio Channel License installed.
If there is an audio input device linked to the camera, the Audio bar is displayed when you monitor the camera's video. The Audio bar allows you to listen to what is occurring in the video.
Note:
Some features are not displayed if the server does not have the required license, or if you do not have the required user permissions.
To listen to the audio detected by the audio input device, perform any of the following:
In the lower-right corner of the image panel, click to mute or activate the audio.
Move the slider to change the volume.
Figure A.
Audio bar
122
Playing Back Recorded Video
The Timeline displays when video was recorded and lets you play back the recordings.
The colored bars on the Timeline show the camera's recording history:
A red bar shows the camera recorded an event (for example, a digital input or motion event).
A blue bar shows the camera recorded video, but not in response to any event.
White areas show that the camera did not record any video.
An orange bar is a bookmark in the camera's recording history.
See Bookmarking Recorded Video for more information about bookmarks.
Video
Figure A.
Playback tools on the Timeline
Use any of the following controls to playback the recorded video files:
Action Control
To select a playback time
Procedure
• Click the calendar icon and select a date and time.
• Or, click on a point in the Timeline.
To add a bookmark
Click
Add Bookmark
Timeline.
to add a bookmark on the
To start playback Click
Play
.
To stop playback Click Pause.
123
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
To move forward a frame
To move back a frame
To control the playback direction and speed
To jump forward or back on the
Timeline
To expand the
Timeline to a specific moment in time
To center the
Timeline on the time marker
To move through the Timeline quickly with the time marker
To pan the
Timeline
Click
Step Forward
.
Click Step Backward.
Drag the slider to the right to move the video forward. Drag the slider to the left to move the video backward.
The farther away the slider is from center the faster the playback speed.
On the Timeline, click one of the Go Forward or
Go Back
Timeline.
buttons to move to different points on the
• Move the slider on the bottom right to zoom in or out on the Timeline.
• Or, you can place your mouse over the
Timeline and use the scroll wheel to zoom in or out on the Timeline.
Right-click the Timeline, and select
Center on
Marker.
Drag the time marker through the Timeline.
• Move the horizontal scroll bar under the Timeline.
• Or, right-click and drag the Timeline.
Bookmarking Recorded Video
You can add bookmarks to recorded video to help you find and review an event later. Bookmarked video can be protected against scheduled data cleanup so the video is never deleted.
124
Video
Adding a Bookmark
1. To open the Edit Bookmark dialog box, perform one of the following: o On the Timeline, click Add Bookmark. o Drag the time marker to where you want to start the bookmark, then right-click and select
Add Bookmark.
The Edit Bookmark dialog box appears, and the bookmark time range is highlighted on the
Timeline
Figure A.
Add Bookmark dialog box
2. Enter a name for the bookmark.
3. In the Cameras pane, select all the cameras that are attached to this bookmark.
Note:
You can only bookmark multiple cameras from the same server.
4. In the Time Range to Bookmark area, enter the time you want to bookmark.
You can also move the black time range markers on the Timeline to adjust the time range.
125
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
5. In the Description field, enter any information about the bookmark.
6. To protect the bookmark video from being deleted, select the Protect bookmark data check box.
Note:
Protected bookmarks are never deleted. Be aware that bookmarked video take up space and become the oldest video on the server.
7. Click OK.
Editing, Deleting or Exporting a bookmark
1. Click the bookmark on the Timeline then perform one of the following:
Figure B.
Bookmark properties
To
Edit a bookmark
Delete a bookmark
Do this...
Click
Edit
then make your changes.
Click
Delete. When the confirmation dialog box appears, click Yes
.
Click Export then complete the Export tab.
Export a bookmark
When editing a bookmark, refer to Adding a Bookmark for details about the editable options.
When exporting a bookmark, refer to Exporting Recorded Video and Images for information about the
export options.
126
Video
Reviewing POS Transactions
While you monitor recorded video, you can also review the POS transactions that occur in the video.
1. Add a camera that is linked to the POS transaction source to the View, and display the camera's recorded video
2. In the image panel, click View POS Transactions.
If there are more than one POS transaction source linked to the camera, you will be prompted to select one. The POS transactions are displayed in the next image panel.
Figure A.
Recorded POS transactions displayed in an image panel o Each transaction is separated by date and time. o When you select a transaction, the video moves to that event on the Timeline. o Scroll up or down to see other transactions from the POS transaction source.
3. To display cameras that are linked to the POS transaction source, click View Camera in the
POS transaction image panel.
If multiple cameras are connected to the POS transaction source, you will be prompted to select one.
4. Use the Timeline to review the video in more detail.
127
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
For more information about Timelines, see Playing Back Recorded Video .
If you want to find a specific POS transaction, see Performing a POS Transaction Search .
Adjusting Video Display in Image Panels
You can adjust the image panel display settings to improve the video display on your monitor.
Maximizing an Image Panel
You can maximize an image panel to enlarge the video display.
Maximizing an Image Panel
Perform one of the following:
Right-click an image panel and select Maximize.
Inside the image panel, click
Double-click the image panel.
Maximize.
Restoring an Image Panel
Perform one of the following:
Right-click the maximized image panel and select Restore Down.
Inside the image panel, click
Double-click the image panel.
Restore Down.
Displaying Video Overlays
When you monitor video in a View, you can select the type of information that is displayed over the video.
Select View > Image Overlays, then select one or more of the following:
Option
Camera Name
Description
Displays the name given to the camera.
128
Video
Camera Location
Timestamp
Record Indicator
Displays the location given to the camera.
(Recorded video only) Displays the exposure timestamp for the video.
(Live video only) Displays the recording status of a camera.
The recording status is indicated by the round
Record Indicator
icon on the top left corner of the image panel. The color of the icon shows the camera's recording status.
Red: recording triggered by an event
Blue: recording
Grey: not recording
Select the Record Indicator icon at any time to begin manual recording.
PTZ Controls
Motion Activity
License Plate
(Live video only) Displays the onscreen controls for PTZ cameras.
Highlights detected motion events in red.
(Live video only) Displays license plate numbers as they are detected.
Note:
This feature is only available if the License Plate Recognition feature is installed.
Changing the Image Panel Display Quality Settings
If you do not have enough network bandwidth or processing power, you may not be able to watch video at the full image rate and full quality. You can bias the image panels to display video in high quality and low frame rate, or low quality and high frame rate.
The Change Display Quality settings only affect the image panel display and does not affect the actual video quality or image rate between the camera and the server. To change the camera's actual display
settings, see Compression and Image Rate .
1. Open the Change Display Quality dialog box: o Select Tools > Change Display Quality.... o In the toolbar, click Change Display Quality.
2. In the Change Display Quality dialog box, select one of the following:
129
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Figure A.
Change Display Quality dialog box o Maximum: displays the full video resolution with the lowest image rate. o High: displays 1/4 of the full video resolution. o Medium: displays 1/16 of the full video resolution. o Low: displays 1/64 of the full video resolution with the highest image rate.
3. Select the Monochrome check box to display the video in black and white.
4. Click OK.
Changing the Image Panel Display Adjustments Settings
You can change the image panel display settings to bring out video details that are hard to see with the image panel's default settings.
1. Right-click an image panel and select Display Adjustments....
130
Video
Figure A.
Display Adjustments dialog box
2. Move the sliders to adjust the Gamma, Black Level and White Level.
The image panel displays a preview of your changes.
3. Click
Restore Defaults to clear your changes.
4. Click Close to save your changes.
Displaying Analog Video in Deinterlaced Mode
If there are visible interlacing artifacts in the analog camera video, you can enable the deinterlacing filter to help improve the video image.
Select View > Display Deinterlaced Images.
131
Alarms
The Alarms tab allows you to monitor and acknowledge alarms. Alarms are created in the server Setup,
see Alarms for more information.
To watch a video overview of the alarm monitoring feature, see
Module 5 - Alarm Monitoring
in the
Avigilon University - End User Stream.
Accessing the Alarms Tab
Perform one of the following steps to open the Alarms tab:
From the Tools menu, select Alarms....
On the toolbar, click
Alarms.
132
Alarms
Figure A.
Alarms tab
The Alarms tab is divided into the following areas:
In the Alarms list is a list of alarms that are active, acknowledged, or assigned to another user.
The alarms are sorted by status, priority then time.
In the Assigned Alarms list are the alarms that are assigned to you. If there are no alarms assigned to you, the Assigned Alarms list is not displayed.
The Alarm Details area displays the triggers and video linked to an alarm.
The Timeline is used to play back the recorded alarm video.
133
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Reviewing Alarms
In the Alarms tab, you can review alarm video and manage alarms. Active alarms can be assigned to yourself, and acknowledged alarms can be exported or purged as required.
Reviewing Alarm Video
You can review active and acknowledged alarm video in detail through the alarm image panel, or opening the alarm video in a new View.
1. Select an alarm from the Alarms list. The alarm details are displayed.
2. In the Alarm Triggers list, select an alarm trigger to display the video for that instance of the alarm.
3. Use the alarm image panel controls to review the video in more detail.
134
Figure A.
Alarm image panel o In the Camera drop down list, select a camera that is linked to the alarm to review the video. o Use the Zoom and Pan tools to review the video image in more detail. o Use the Live and Recorded buttons to alternate from the recorded alarm video and the camera's live stream.
4. Click Open In View to open the alarm video in a new View.
5. Use the Timeline to control the video play back.
Alarms
See Playing Back Recorded Video for information about the Timeline controls.
Bookmarking an Alarm
You can bookmark active and acknowledged alarm video.
1. Select an alarm from the Alarms list then click Bookmark Alarm.
2. When the Edit Alarms dialog box appears, define the details of your bookmark.
The Edit Bookmark dialog box automatically selects all the cameras that are linked to the alarm, and sets the time range to span the first and last alarm trigger. After you make the required changes, click OK.
See Bookmarking Recorded Video for more information about the bookmark options.
Assigning an Alarm
You can assign an alarm to yourself to let others know that the alarm is being reviewed.
Although you can only assign alarms to yourself, you can unassign the alarm at any time.
1. Select an active alarm from the Alarms list.
2. When the alarm details are displayed, click Assign Alarm.
The alarm is added to your Assigned Alarms list.
3. To unassign an alarm, select the alarm from the Assigned Alarms list and click Unassign Alarm.
Acknowledging an Alarm
Acknowledging an alarm shows that an alarm has been reviewed and is no longer active. You can acknowledge any alarm that is active or assigned to you.
1. After reviewing the alarm, enter notes describing the nature of the alarm in the Acknowledge
Alarm text box.
2. Click Acknowledge.
3. If there is a digital output linked to the alarm, a dialog box may appear to ask for permission to activate the digital output. Activate the digital output as required.
The Alarm is given an Acknowledged status in the Alarms list.
135
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Searching Alarms
You can search through an alarm's history to review other instances of the alarm.
1. Select an acknowledged alarm from the Alarms list.
2. In the alarm details area, click Search Alarm.
See Performing an Alarm Search for information about the alarm search options.
Exporting Alarms
You can export alarm video for review on other computers.
1. Select an acknowledged alarm from the Alarms list.
2. In the alarm details area, click Export Alarm.
See Exporting Recorded Video and Images for information about the export options.
Purging an Alarm
Purging an alarm removes the alarm from the Alarms list until the alarm is activated again. Although purged alarms are no longer listed in the Alarms list, you can still search through the alarm's history.
1. Select an acknowledged alarm from the Alarms list.
2. In the alarm details area, click Purge Alarm.
Arming Image Panels
Arming an image panel reserves the image panel specifically for displaying video linked to alarms or rules. Armed image panels allow you to review and acknowledge alarms while monitoring video in a View.
Any image panel can be armed or disarmed as required.
If there are no armed image panels, alarm video will appear in the next empty image panel in the current
View, or in a new View if all current image panels are in use.
136
Alarms
Figure A.
Armed image panel
You can perform any of the following to add and use an armed image panel:
Tip:
You can still use the features that are common to all image panels, like snapshot or maximizing an image panel.
To... Do this...
Arm an image panel
Click the
Arm Panel
button.
The image panel is given a red border and an alarm label to show that it is armed.
Acknowledge an alarm
Move between linked alarm video
Click the
Acknowledge
button.
If the alarm is linked to multiple cameras, use the green arrows to move between the linked cameras.
Disarm an image panel
Click the
Disarm Panel
button.
If multiple alarms are triggered at the same time, the linked video are queued inside the armed image panel. The alarm video are displayed by order of alarm priority then time. Once an alarm is acknowledged or assigned to a user, the alarm video is removed from the armed image panel.
Note:
If you choose to close a video in the armed image panel, the video is removed but the alarm continues to be active.
137
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Video triggered by a rule are queued in the armed image panel after alarms, with the most recent video displayed first. Rules video are not labeled and do not need to be acknowledged.
138
License Plates
License Plate Recognition (LPR) is a licensed feature that allows you to monitor vehicle license plates that are detected by the Avigilon Control Center.
You can use the license plate overlay to monitor license plates as they are detected. Or, you can use the
License Plate Watch List feature to alert you when specific license plates are detected.
To setup License Plate Recognition, see License Plate Recognition for more information.
License Plate Overlay
While you monitor video in an image panel, you can also monitor license plates as they are detected by the Avigilon Control Center.
When the license plate overlay is enabled, detected license plate numbers are displayed in the bottom right corner of the image panel.
To enable the License Plate overlay:
1. Select View > Image Overlays > License Plate.
2. Add a camera configured for license plate recognition to the View.
License Plate Recognition Watch List
The License Plate Recognition (LPR) Watch List tracks the license plates you've configured the Avigilon
Control Center to recognize, and alerts you when matches are detected in the License Plate Matches dialog box.
To configure the Watch List, see Configuring the Watch List for more information.
Reviewing the License Plate Matches
1. Open the License Plate Matches dialog box.
139
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
The License Plate Matches dialog box automatically appears when license plates from the Watch
List are detected. To review matches at a separate time, select LPR > License Plate Matches...
140
Figure A.
License Plate Matches dialog box.
2. Select one of the license plate matches and perform any of the following: o Click View this Event or double-click the selected license plate to open a snapshot of the detected license plate in a new View. o Click Delete to delete the license plate from the list. o Click Clear All to empty the current match list. The list is repopulated as new license plates are detected.
3. Click Close.
Search
You can search for recorded video that are linked to an event, or simply search through the camera's recording history.
To watch a video overview of the Search features, see
Module 2 - Identifying, Bookmarking, Searching and Exporting Video
in the Avigilon University - End User Stream.
Note:
Some features are not displayed if the server does not have the required license, or if you do not have the required user permissions.
Figure A.
Search options
141
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Performing an Event Search
The Event Search allows you to search for a specific motion events, digital input events and bookmarked video.
1. Click Search to open the Search tab.
2. In the Search tab, select Event Search.
The Search:Event tab is displayed.
142
Figure A.
Search: Event tab
3. In the Camera to Search area, select all the cameras you want to include in the search.
4. In the Time Range to Search area, set the date and time range of your search. The time range is highlighted on the Timeline by the black time range markers. You can also drag the time range markers to modify the time range.
5. In the Events to Search For area, select the types of events to include in the search.
Search
6. In the Text to Match area, enter text to search for in the titles and descriptions of bookmarks.
7. Click Start Search.
Viewing Event Search Results
1. In the Search Results area, select a search result. The event is highlighted on the Timeline and the video is displayed in the search image panel. Details about the search result are displayed on the right.
Tip:
You can change the size of the image panel by moving the edge of the search results.
2. Use the Timeline controls to review the event.
See Playing Back Recorded Video for more information.
3. Click Export this event to export the selected event video.
See Exporting Recorded Video and Images for more information.
4. If you want to further refine your search, click Perform a pixel search on this event. You can now search for any pixel movement in the selected result.
See Performing a Pixel Search for more information.
5. Click Bookmark this event to bookmark the selected search result.
See Bookmarking Recorded Video for more information.
6. To export all listed results, click Export results to a file and save the file.
Performing a Bookmark Search
The Bookmark Search allows you to search for a specific bookmark.
1. Click Search to open the Search tab.
2. In the Search tab, select Bookmark Search.
The Search:Bookmark tab is displayed. All available bookmarks are listed on the left.
143
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Figure A.
Search:Bookmark tab
3. In the Search field, enter any text that may appear in the bookmark's title, description, linked camera name or the name of the user who created the bookmark.
The search is automatically performed on all the listed bookmarks until only the matches are displayed.
Viewing Bookmark Search Results
1. In the Bookmark list, select a bookmark. The bookmark is highlighted on the Timeline and the video is displayed in the image panel. Details about the bookmark are displayed under the image panel.
2. Use the Timeline controls to review the event.
See Playing Back Recorded Video for more information.
3. Click Export this bookmark to export the selected bookmark.
See Exporting Recorded Video and Images for more information.
4. If you want to further refine your search, click Perform a pixel search on this bookmark. You can now search for any pixel movement in the selected bookmarked video.
144
Search
See Performing a Pixel Search for more information.
5. Click Edit this bookmark to edit the bookmark.
See Bookmarking Recorded Video for more information.
Performing a Pixel Search
The Pixel Search allows you to search for tiny pixel change in specific areas in the camera’s field of view.
1. Click Search to open the Search tab.
2. In the Search tab, select Pixel Search.
The Search:Pixel tab displays.
Figure A.
Search:Pixel tab
By default, the entire search image panel is highlighted in green.
3. In the Camera to Search area, select a camera.
145
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
4. In the Time Range to Search area, set the date and time range of your search. The time range is highlighted on the Timeline by the black time range markers. You can also drag the time range markers to modify the time range.
5. Define the pixel search area by using the motion detection tools above the image panel. Only areas highlighted in green are searched.
6. In the Pixel Search Options area, drag the Threshold slider to select the amount of motion required to return a search result.
A high threshold requires more pixels to change before results are found.
7. Enter a number in the Join results less than field to set the minimum number of seconds between separate search results. You can enter any number between 1-100 seconds.
8. Click Start Search.
Viewing Pixel Search Results
1. In the Search Results area, select a search result. The event is highlighted on the Timeline and the video is displayed in the search image panel. Details about the search result are displayed on the right.
Tip:
You can change the size of the image panel by moving the edge of the search results.
2. Use the Timeline controls to review the event.
See Playing Back Recorded Video for more information.
3. Click Export this event to export the selected event video.
See Exporting Recorded Video and Images for more information.
4. To export all listed results, click Export results to a file and save the file.
Performing a Thumbnail Search
The Thumbnail Search is a visual search that displays the search results as a series of thumbnail images.
1. Click Search to open the Search tab.
2. In the Search tab, select Thumbnail Search.
The Search:Thumbnails tab displays.
146
Search
Figure A.
Search:Thumbnails tab
3. In the Camera to Search area, select a camera.
4. In the Time Range to Search area, set the date and time range of your search. The time range is highlighted on the Timeline by the black time range markers. You can also drag the time range markers to modify the time range.
5. In the image panel, move or drag the edges of the green overlay to focus the search on one area in the video image.
Only the area highlighted in green is searched.
6. Click Start Search.
Viewing Thumbnail Search Results
The search results display thumbnails at equal intervals on the Timeline.
1. To change the size of the search result thumbnails, select Large Thumbnails, Medium
Thumbnails, or Small Thumbnails from the drop-down menu above the search results and click
Search Again.
147
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Figure B.
Search:Thumbnail results tab
2. Select a thumbnail to highlight the video on the Timeline.
3. Click Step In, or double-click the thumbnail to perform another search around the thumbnail.
Click
Back to return to the previous results page.
4. Click Open In View to open the recorded video in a new View.
5. Click Change Search to change the search criteria.
Performing an Alarm Search
Alarm search allows you to search through an alarm's history.
1. Click Search to open the Search tab.
148
2. In the Search tab, select Alarm Search.
The Search:Alarms tab is displayed.
Search
Figure A.
Search:Alarms tab
3. In the Alarm to Search list, select all the alarms you would like to include in the alarm search.
4. In the Time Range to Search area, set the date and time range of your search. The time range is highlighted on the Timeline by the black time range markers. You can also drag the time range markers to modify the time range.
5. Click Start Search.
Viewing Alarm Search Results
1. In the Search Results area, select a search result. The event is highlighted on the Timeline and the video is displayed in the search image panel. Details about the search result are displayed on the right.
149
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Tip:
You can change the size of the image panel by moving the edge of the search results.
2. Use the Timeline controls to review the event.
See Playing Back Recorded Video for more information.
3. If the event is linked to multiple cameras, select a camera from the Camera drop down list to change the video displayed in the image panel.
4. Click Export this event to export the selected event video.
See Exporting Recorded Video and Images for more information.
5. Click Bookmark this event to bookmark the selected search result.
See Bookmarking Recorded Video for more information.
6. To export all listed results, click Export results to a file and save the file.
Performing a POS Transaction Search
The POS Transaction Search allows you to search for specific transactions.
1. Click Search to open the Search tab.
2. In the Search tab, select POS Transactions Search.
The Search: POS Transactions tab is displayed.
150
Search
Figure A.
Search:POS Transactions tab
3. In the POS Transaction Sources to Search area, select all the POS transaction sources you would like to include in the search.
4. In the Time Range to Search area, set the date and time range of your search. The time range is highlighted on the Timeline by the black time range markers. You can also drag the time range markers to modify the time range.
5. In the Search Text area, enter any text that will help you filter the search results. For example, you can enter product names or transaction values.
Use the Wildcards and Regular Expression search methods to find a range of results. Leave the Text field blank to find all transactions.
6. Click Start Search.
Viewing POS Transaction Search Results
1. In the Search Results area, select a search result. The event is highlighted on the Timeline and the video is displayed in the search image panel. Details about the search result are displayed on the right.
151
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Tip:
You can change the size of the image panel by moving the edge of the search results.
2. Use the Timeline controls to review the event.
See Playing Back Recorded Video for more information.
3. If the event is linked to multiple cameras, select a camera from the Camera drop down list to change the video displayed in the image panel.
4. Click Export this event to export the selected event video.
See Exporting Recorded Video and Images for more information.
5. Click Bookmark this event to bookmark the selected search result.
See Bookmarking Recorded Video for more information.
6. To export all listed results, click Export results to a file and save the file.
Performing a License Plate Search
The License Plate Search allows you to search for detected license plates, including license plates not listed in the Watch List.
Note:
The License Plate Search is only available if the License Plate Recognition feature is installed.
1. Click Search to open the Search tab.
2. In the Search tab, select License Plate Search.
The Search: License Plates tab is displayed.
152
Search
Figure A.
Search: License Plates tab
3. In the Camera to Search area, select all the cameras you want to include in the search.
4. In the Time Range to Search area, set the date and time range of your search. The time range is highlighted on the Timeline by the black time range markers. You can also drag the time range markers to modify the time range.
5. In the License Plate Search Options area, enter the license plate you want to find and a minimum confidence of a match.
6. Click Start Search.
Viewing License Plate Search Results
1. In the Search Results area, select a search result. The event is highlighted on the Timeline and the video is displayed in the search image panel. Details about the search result are displayed on the right.
Tip:
You can change the size of the image panel by moving the edge of the search results.
153
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
2. Use the Timeline controls to review the event.
See Playing Back Recorded Video for more information.
3. If the event is linked to multiple cameras, select a camera from the Camera drop down list to change the video displayed in the image panel.
4. Click Export this event to export the selected event video.
See Exporting Recorded Video and Images for more information.
5. Click Bookmark this event to bookmark the selected search result.
See Bookmarking Recorded Video for more information.
6. To export all listed results, click Export results to a file and save the file.
154
Export
You can export video in multiple video and image formats. You can also export snapshots of an image panel as you monitor video.
To watch a video overview of the Export features, see
Module 2 - Identifying, Bookmarking, Searching and Exporting Video
in the Avigilon University - End User Stream.
Note:
Some features are not displayed if the server does not have the required license, or if you do not have the required user permissions.
Exporting a Snapshot of an Image
You can export a snapshot of any image panel with video. When you export a snapshot, you are exporting whatever the image panel is currently displaying.
1. To export a snapshot, perform one of the following: o In the image panel, click the Save Snapshot icon. o Right-click the image panel and select Save Snapshot.
The snapshot Export tab is displayed, and the image you want to export is displayed.
155
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Figure A.
Export tab for Snapshot export
2. In the Format drop down list, select an export format.
3. For the selected export format, define your preferences:
Format
Native
Note:
The Native format requires the
Avigilon Control Center
Player to view.
Image options
This is the recommended export format because the exported image maintains its original compression and can be authenticated against tampering in the Avigilon Control Center Player.
Select the Export the Control Center Player Installer check box if you want a copy of the Avigilon Control Center Player to be distributed with your native image file.
PNG
1. In the Resolution field, select a resolution for the video image. You can manually enter the resolution or click the drop down arrow to select a standard resolution.
Note:
The
Resolution
field automatically maintains the image aspect ratio.
2. Click Change Image Region... to only export part of the video image.
In the Change Image Region dialog box, move and resize the green
156
Export
JPEG
TIFF overlay then click OK. Only areas highlighted in green are exported.
3. Select the image overlays you want: Timestamp, Camera name, and Camera location.
4. Click Display Adjustments to adjust the Gamma, Black Level and/or
White Level.
1. In the
Compression field, select a compression level.
2. Set the image Resolution.
3. Click Change Image Region to only export a part of the video image.
4. Select the image overlays you want.
5. Click Display Adjustments to modify the image quality.
1. Set the image Resolution.
2. Click Change Image Region to only export a part of the video image.
3. Select the image overlays you want.
4. Click Display Adjustments to modify the image quality.
1. Click Change Image Region to only export a part of the video image.
2. Click
Printer Settings... to change the selected printer and paper size.
3. Select the image overlays you want.
4. Click Add Export Notes... to add notes about the exported image.
The notes are printed below the image.
5. Click Display Adjustments to modify the image quality.
1. Click Change Image Region to only export a part of the video image.
2. Select the image overlays you want.
3. Click Add Export Notes... to add notes about the exported image.
4. Click Display Adjustments to modify the image quality.
5.
4. Click Start Export.
In the Save As dialog box, name the export file and click Save.
157
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
6.
The Preview area displays the snapshot you are exporting.
When the export is complete, click OK.
Exporting Live Images
The Live Export tab exports live video as a series of still images. You can choose the file format, and select your export preferences.
1. Select
File > Live Export....
The Live Export tab is displayed.
158
Figure A.
Live Export tab
2. In the Camera to Export list, select the camera video you want to export.
3. In the Formats drop down list, select an export format: PNG, JPEG, or TIFF.
4. Set the export image rate:
Option
Export at full image rate
Description
Select this option to export the live stream at
Export
Export one image every __ min __sec
Only keep the __ most recent image(s) the full image rate.
Select this option to control the time between each exported image.
For example, if you enter 5 min. 0 sec., only one image will be exported every 5 minutes.
Select this check box to limit the number of images stored.
Be aware that if you do not limit the number of images stored, the export will continue until your hard drive is full.
5. (JPEG images only)
In the Quality drop down list, select the exported image quality level.
6. In the Resolution field, select a resolution for the video image. You can manually enter the resolution or click the drop down arrow to select a standard resolution.
Note:
The
Resolution
field automatically maintains the image aspect ratio.
7. Click Change Image Region... to only export part of the video image.
In the Change Image Region dialog box, move and resize the green overlay then click OK. Only areas highlighted in green are exported.
8. Select the image overlays you want: Timestamp, Camera name, and Camera location.
9. Click Display Adjustments to adjust the gamma, black level and/or white level.
10. Click
Start Export.
11. In the Save As dialog box, name the export file and click Save.
The Preview area displays the video you are exporting.
Note:
The live export will continue until stopped.
12. Click
Stop Export to stop the export.
Exporting Recorded Video and Images
Use the Export tab to export recorded video in different video and image formats.
Note:
Only recorded video can be exported in video format.
159
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Accessing the Export Tab
The Export tab can be accessed in any of the following ways:
On the toolbar, click
Select File > Export.
Export.
While performing a search, select a search result and click Export this event.
While reviewing bookmarked video, right-click a bookmark on the Timeline and select Export.
Exporting Native Video
The Native (AVE) format is the recommended format for exporting video. You can export video from multiple cameras in a single file, and the video maintains its original compression. AVE video is played in the Avigilon Control Center Player, where the video can be authenticated against tampering and be reexported to other formats.
1. Click Export to open the Export tab.
160
Export
Figure A.
Export tab for recorded video export
2. In the Format drop down list, select Native.
3. In the Camera to Export list, select the camera video you want to export.
4. Enter the time range you want to export. The time range is highlighted on the Timeline by black time range markers. You can also drag the time range markers to modify the time range.
5. Set the export image rate:
Option
Export at __ image rate
Description
Select this option to control how many images per second are exported.
For example, the video is streaming at 30 images per second. If you select 1/2, only 15 images for that second will be exported.
161
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Export one image every __ min __sec
Select this option to control the time between each exported video image.
For example, if you enter 5 min. 0 sec., only one image will be exported every 5 minutes.
6. To include a copy of the Avigilon Control Center Player with your export, select the
Export the
Control Center Player Installer check box.
7. To automatically divide the export into separate files that can be stored on optical media (like a
CD or DVD), select the Split file into sizes of: check box. Then, manually enter a maximum file size in MB or select a pre-configured option from the drop down list.
8. Click Start Export.
9. In the Save As dialog box, name the export file and click Save.
The Preview area displays the video you are exporting.
10. When the export is complete, click OK.
Exporting AVI Video
Video exported in Audio Video Interleave (AVI) format can be played in most media players.
1. Click Export to open the Export tab.
162
Export
Figure A.
Export tab for recorded video export
2. In the Format drop down list, select AVI video.
3. In the Camera to Export list, select the camera video you want to export.
4. Enter the time range you want to export. The time range is highlighted on the Timeline by black time range markers. You can also drag the time range markers to modify the time range.
5. Set the export image rate:
Option
Export at __ image rate
Description
Select this option to control how many images per second are exported.
For example, the video is streaming at 30 images per second. If you select 1/2, only 15 images for that second will be exported.
163
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Export one image every __ min __sec
Select this option to control the time between each exported video image.
For example, if you enter 5 min. 0 sec., only one image will be exported every 5 minutes.
6. In the Encoder field, select the compression used. The VC-1 (Windows Media Video) compression is included by default because it is tailored for high-resolution AVI encoding.
7. In the Quality drop down list, select the exported image quality level.
8. In the Resolution field, select a resolution for the video image. You can manually enter the resolution or click the drop down arrow to select a standard resolution.
Note:
The
Resolution
field automatically maintains the image aspect ratio.
For high resolution video (11MP or 16MP) the greatest resolution option will be less than the camera's actual resolution because most media players cannot play high resolution AVI files.
9. To automatically divide the export into separate files that can be stored on optical media (like a
CD or DVD), select the Split file into sizes of: check box. Then, manually enter a maximum file size in MB or select a pre-configured option from the drop down list.
10. Click Change Image Region... to only export part of the video image.
In the Change Image Region dialog box, move and resize the green overlay then click OK. Only areas highlighted in green are exported.
11. Select the Skips recording gaps check box to avoid pauses in the video caused by gaps in the recording.
12. Select the image overlays you want: Timestamp, Camera name, and Camera location.
13. Click Display Adjustments to adjust the gamma, black level and/or white level.
14. Click Start Export.
15. In the Save As dialog box, name the export file and click Save.
The Preview area displays the video you are exporting.
16. When the export is complete, click OK.
Exporting PNG, JPEG or TIFF Images
Video can be exported as a series of still images in PNG, JPEG, or TIFF format.
1. Click Export to open the Export tab.
164
Export
Figure A.
Export tab for still image export
2. In the Format drop down list, select PNG Images, JPEG Images, or TIFF Images.
3. In the Camera to Export list, select the camera video you want to export.
4. Enter the time range you want to export. The time range is highlighted on the Timeline by black time range markers. You can also drag the time range markers to modify the time range.
5. Set the export image rate:
Option
Export at __ image rate
Description
Select this option to control how many images per second are exported.
For example, the video is streaming at 30 images per second. If you select 1/2, only 15 images for that second will be exported.
165
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Export one image every __ min __sec
Select this option to control the time between each exported video image.
For example, if you enter 5 min. 0 sec., only one image will be exported every 5 minutes.
6. Select the Export at most __ images check box and enter a number to limit the amount of images that are exported.
7. (JPEG only)
In the Quality drop down list, select the exported image quality level.
8. In the Resolution field, select a resolution for the video image. You can manually enter the resolution or click the drop down arrow to select a standard resolution.
Note:
The
Resolution
field automatically maintains the image aspect ratio.
9. Click Change Image Region... to only export part of the video image.
In the Change Image Region dialog box, move and resize the green overlay then click OK. Only areas highlighted in green are exported.
10. Select the image overlays you want: Timestamp, Camera name, and Camera location.
11. Click Display Adjustments to adjust the gamma, black level and/or white level.
12. Click Start Export.
13. In the Save As dialog box, name the export file and click Save.
The Preview area displays the video you are exporting.
14. When the export is complete, click OK.
Exporting PDF and Print Images
Video can be exported as still images for printing or in PDF format.
1. Click Export to open the Export tab.
166
Export
Figure A.
Export tab for still image export
2. In the Format drop down list, select Print Image or PDF File.
3. In the Camera to Export list, select the camera video you want to export.
4. In the Time field, enter the exact date and time of the video image you want to export.
5. Click Change Image Region... to only export part of the video image.
In the Change Image Region dialog box, move and resize the green overlay then click OK. Only areas highlighted in green are exported.
6. (Print Image only) Click Print Settings to change the printer and paper size that the image is printed on.
7. Select the image overlays you want: Timestamp, Camera name, and Camera location.
8. Click Add Export Notes to add notes about the exported image. The notes are added below the image.
167
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
9. Click Display Adjustments to adjust the gamma, black level and/or white level.
10. Click Start Export.
11. In the Save As dialog box, name the export file and click Save.
The Preview area displays the video you are exporting.
12. When the export is complete, click OK.
Exporting WAV Audio
If a video contains audio, the audio is exported with the video. If required, you can choose to only export the audio file.
Note:
Audio recording requires an Audio Channel License. Without an audio license, no audio would have been recorded with the video.
1. Click Export to open the Export tab.
168
Export
Figure A.
Export tab for audio export
2. In the Format drop down list, select WAV.
3. In the Camera to Export list, select the camera video you want to export.
4. Enter the time range you want to export. The time range is highlighted on the Timeline by black time range markers. You can also drag the time range markers to modify the time range.
5. Click Start Export.
6. In the Save As dialog box, name the export file and click Save.
The Preview area displays the video linked with the audio you are exporting.
7. When the export is complete, click OK.
169
Backup
The Avigilon Control Center can be set to back up files automatically, but you can also back up files as needed from the Back Up tab.
For information about configuring the automatic backup, see Changing Scheduled Backup Settings .
Note:
Some features are not displayed if the server does not have the required license, or if you do not have the required user permissions.
Backing Up Recorded Video On Demand
The backup files are stored in a backup folder set by the Avigilon Control Center Admin Tool. See the
Avigilon Control Center Server User Guide for information about changing the backup folder.
1. Select File > Backup...
The Backup tab is displayed.
170
Backup
Figure A.
Backup tab
2. In the Camera(s) to Backup area, select all the cameras you want to backup
3. In the Backup Options area, set the time range you want to backup. The time range is highlighted on the Timeline by the black time range markers. You can also drag the time range markers to change the time range.
4. Select the Delete oldest backups when disk full check box to allow the application to automatically overwrite old backup files when the backup folder is full.
5. Click Start Backup.
Video is always backed up in the Avigilon Backup (AVK) format. You can review the backed up video in the Avigilon Control Center Player.
171
Appendix
Accessing the Web Client
You can also access your Avigilon High Definition Surveillance System through the Web Client. The Web
Client is a simplified version of the Client software. It allows you to monitor your surveillance system, search for video events and export recorded video outside the Client software. Be aware that you cannot modify any system settings through the Web Client.
Note:
The Web Client is only compatible with the Internet Explorer browser.
To access the Web Client, you need the Avigilon server's IP address and port number. This information is available in the Avigilon Control Center Admin Tool installed on the server. See the Avigilon Control
Center Server User Guide for more information.
1. To access the Web Client, open Internet Explorer and enter the following address: http://<server ip address>:<port number>/ (For example, http://192.168.2.62:50083/)
If you have not accessed the Web Client before, you may be prompted to install the required plug-in software before the Web Client will open.
2. When the login screen appears, enter your username and password for the server.
The Web Client is opened in your browser, and you can access the video and cameras connected to the server.
Note:
You can only access one server at a time through the Web Client.
172
Appendix
Figure A.
Avigilon Control Center Web Client
Updating the Client Software
Avigilon Control Center Client software updates are typically included with the Avigilon Control Center
Server update packages. When you first open the Client software, the following dialog box will appear if a
Client software update is available:
173
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Figure A.
Update Control Center Client
Click the Update button to allow the Client software to update. The software update is automatically downloaded. The following dialog box will appear to show the download progress:
Figure B.
Update progress
When the update has finished downloading, click Update Control Center. When the installation wizard appears, follow the prompts to complete the update.
Click Do Not Update to continue working with the Client software without updating. The Client software will not be updated, and you can continue working with software as before.
The Client software can also be downloaded from the Software Download page of the Avigilon website: http://avigilon.com/support/software/
Supported License Plates
Here is a list of the license plates that are currently supported by the Avigilon Control Center License
Plate Recognition (LPR) feature. If the license plate format you need is not listed, you can email Avigilon
Technical Support at [email protected]
and request an LPR Font Template.
174
To configure one of the following license plate for LPR, see License Plate Recognition for more
information.
Argentina
Australia
Bahrain
Belarus
Bulgaria
Canada
Croatia
France
Germany
Hungaria
British Columbia
New Brunswick
Ontario
Quebec
Italy
Mexico
Pakistan
Poland
Portugal
Romania
Saudi Arabia
Singapore
South Africa
Appendix
175
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Thailand
United Kingdom
USA
Alaska
California
Florida
Illinois
Indiana
Kansas
Louisiana
Minnesota
Montana
New York
North Carolina
Texas
Utah
Virginia
Washington
Reporting Bugs
If an error occurs in the Avigilon Control Center, you can contact Avigilon Support at [email protected]
or +1.888.281.5182.
To help diagnose your problem, the Avigilon Support team may ask you to provide a System Bug Report.
The System Bug Report is a zip file generated by the Avigilon Control Center Client software that contains the system log and error reports for each of the servers you have access to.
1. Select Help > System Bug Report....
176
Appendix
2. When the Download System Bug Report dialog box appears, click Download.
3. In the Save As dialog box, name the file and click Save.
4. Once the System Bug Report has downloaded successfully, click Close.
Keyboard Commands
Use any of the keyboard commands below to help you navigate the Avigilon Control Center Client software.
The Key Combination column shows the commands used on a standard keyboard, while the Keypad
Combination column shows the commands used on an Avigilon USB Professional Joystick Keyboard.
Image Panel & Camera Commands
Command
Select an image panel
Image panel # are displayed after pressing the first key.
Add a camera to
View
Select the next image panel
Select the previous image panel
Clear image panel selection
Remove camera from the selected
Key Combination
*
/
Tab
Shift
*
+ <image panel #> +
+ <Logical ID> +
+
+
0
Tab
+
Backspace
Enter
Enter
Enter
Keypad Combination
(Image Panel buttons)
+ <image panel #> +
+ <Logical ID> +
177
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
image panel
Maximize/Restore the selected image panel
Replay
30 seconds
Replay
60 seconds
Replay
90 seconds
Add bookmark for selected camera
Note:
For recorded video only.
Start/Stop manual recording for selected camera
Activate/Mute audio for the selected camera
Ctrl
+
E
Ctrl
+
,
Ctrl
+
.
Ctrl
+
/
Ctrl
+
B
R
A
Broadcast audio
S
Hold to speak.
Release to stop broadcasting.
Hold to speak.
Release to stop broadcasting.
Take a snapshot of the selected image panel
Display linked
POS/camera
F4
Ctrl
+
I
178
Enable digital output
Acknowledge the alarm currently displayed in an armed image panel
K
L
View Commands
Command
Select the next View
Select the previous View
Jump to View
Start/Stop cycle Views
Create new View
Close current View
Open a new window
Switch current View to display live video
Switch current View to display recorded video
Key Combination
Ctrl
Ctrl
Ctrl
Ctrl
Ctrl
Ctrl
Ctrl
Ctrl
Ctrl
+
+
+
+
+
+
+
+
+
Tab
Shift
1
Y
T
W
N
L
P
to
+
Tab
9
Keypad Combination
(View buttons)
Appendix
179
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Remove all cameras from the current View
Full screen a View
End full screen
Ctrl
F11
+
Backspace
Open a saved View
The saved View number is displayed in the System
Explorer after pressing the first button.
Ctrl
+
G
+ <Saved View #> +
View Layout Commands
Note:
Customized View layouts are linked to their position in the Layouts list. For example, if your custom layout is placed at the top of the Layouts list, you can use the keyboard command for layout 1 to select the custom layout.
Command Key Combination
Keypad Combination
(View buttons)
Change to layout 1
Alt
+
1
+
Change to layout 2
Change to layout 3
Change to layout 4
Change to layout 5
Change to layout 6
Change to layout 7
Alt
Alt
Alt
Alt
Alt
Alt
+
+
+
+
+
+
2
3
4
5
6
7
+
+
+
+
+
+
180
Appendix
Change to layout 8
Change to layout 9
Change to layout 10
Change to next layout
Change to previous layout
Playback Commands
Command
Play/Pause
Increase playback speed
Decrease playback speed
Step to next frame
Step to previous frame
Go to next event
Go to previous event
Alt
+
8
Alt
+
9
Alt
+
0
Alt
+
]
Alt
+
[
Key Combination
Spacebar
Page Up
Page Down
Shift
+
→
Shift
+
←
Alt
+
→
Alt
+
←
+
+
+
Keypad Combination
(Timeline buttons)
181
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Go forward one second
Go forward five seconds
Go back one second
Go back five seconds
Zoom in on the Timeline
Zoom out on the Timeline
Scroll forward on the Timeline
Scroll backward on the Timeline
Go to start of the Timeline
Go to end of the Timeline
Center the Timeline on the time marker
Ctrl
+
→
Ctrl
+
Shift
+
→
Ctrl
+
←
Ctrl
+
Shift
+
←
Ctrl
+
Alt
+
+
Ctrl
+
Alt
+
–
Ctrl
+
Alt
+
→
Ctrl
+
Alt
+
←
Ctrl
+
Alt
+
Home
Ctrl
+
Alt
+
End
Ctrl
+
C
PTZ Commands (Digital and Mechanical)
Command
182
Toggle PTZ controls
Zoom in
Ctrl
+
D
+
Zoom out
Pan left
Pan right
Tilt up
–
←
→
↑
Tilt down
Increase PTZ speed
↓
Shift
+
↑
The farther the joystick is from center, the faster the speed.
Appendix
183
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
Decrease PTZ speed
Open iris
Close iris
Focus near
Focus far
PTZ menu left
PTZ menu right
PTZ menu up
PTZ menu down
Activate preset
Run pattern
Start auxiliary
Shift
Home
End
Insert
Delete
←
→
↑
↓
W
+
↓
Q
+ <Preset
#>
+ <Aux #>
The closer the joystick is to center, the slower the speed.
+ <Preset #> +
+ <Pattern #> +
+ <Aux #> +
E
+ <Aux #> Stop auxiliary
+ <Aux #> +
184
Index
A
Alarms ...................................................... 35, 131 acknowledge .............................................. 132 add ............................................................... 36 assign ......................................................... 132 bookmark ................................................... 132 delete ........................................................... 40 edit ............................................................... 40 export ......................................................... 132 monitor ....................................................... 131 purge .......................................................... 132 schedule ....................................................... 63 search ........................................................ 147 video .......................................................... 132 armed image panels ....................................... 135 audio ................................................... 85, 86, 117
Avigilon Control Center Client ........................ 1, 6 upgrade ...................................................... 173
Avigilon Control Center Server ................ 1, 3, 10
Avigilon University .............................................. 2
B backup ..................................................... 40, 170 bookmarks ..................................................... 123
Brightness ........................................................ 70
C camera bandwidth .................................................... 74 connect ............................................ 13, 14, 16 discover ....................................................... 13 failover connection ....................................... 16 firmware ....................................................... 19
I/O .......................................................... 81, 83 location ........................................................ 66 logical ID ...................................................... 66 name ............................................................ 66 reboot........................................................... 68 setup ............................................................ 65
Change Display Quality ................................. 128 client bandwidth .................................................... 88 export ........................................................... 92
185
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
import ........................................................... 92 language ...................................................... 88 setup ............................................................ 88 update ........................................................ 173
Color Saturation ............................................... 70
Compression and Image Rate ......................... 74
Configure Data Format ..................................... 46
Connect/Disconnect Cameras ......................... 13
Connection Type .............................................. 14
Contrast ............................................................ 70
Cycle Tabs ..................................................... 103
D deinterlacing ................................................... 130 digital inputs ..................................................... 81 setup ............................................................ 81 digital outputs ................................................... 81 setup ............................................................ 83 trigger ......................................................... 118 disconnect ........................................................ 13
Display Adjustments ....................................... 129
Display Deinterlaced Images ......................... 130 dual streams ..................................................... 74
E
Email Notification ............................................. 50 add ............................................................... 52 delete ........................................................... 53 edit ............................................................... 53 schedule ....................................................... 63
186
Email Server .................................................... 50 export audio .......................................................... 167 client settings ............................................... 92 video .................................................. 159, 161
Exposure .......................................................... 70
F images ....................................... 154, 164, 165
License Plate Watch List ............................. 61 failover ............................................................. 16 feedback ............................................................ 2 find ......................................................... 3, 10, 13
Find Server .............................................. 3, 5, 10
Flicker Control .................................................. 70
Focus ............................................................... 72
Full Screen ..................................................... 102 full-duplex ......................................................... 94
G
General ...................................................... 20, 66
Getting Started ................................................... 3
Groups ............................................................. 25 add ............................................................... 29 delete ........................................................... 35 edit ............................................................... 35
H half-duplex ....................................................... 94
I
Image and Display ........................................... 70
Image Dimensions ........................................... 76 image panel ........................................................ 6 arming ........................................................ 135 maximize .................................................... 127 restore ........................................................ 127 video display .......................................... 8, 127 image quality .................................................... 74 image rate ........................................................ 74 import client settings ............................................... 93
License Plate Watch List ............................. 61
Windows Users ............................................ 33
IR Cut Filter ...................................................... 70
Iris ..................................................................... 70
J
Joystick ............................................................. 90
K keyboard commands ...................................... 177
L language........................................................... 88
License Plate Recognition................................ 59 overlay ....................................................... 137 search ........................................................ 151 setup ............................................................ 60
Watch List ............................................ 61, 137
License Plate Watch List .................................. 61
License Priority ................................................. 14
Live Export ..................................................... 157
Index
live video .................................................... 8, 112 locate server ................................................ 3, 10
Log In ................................................................. 5 automatic ..................................................... 88
Log Out .............................................................. 5
Login Timeout .................................................. 25
M
Manage Server Connections ....................... 3, 10
Manual Recording ............................................ 81 overlay ....................................................... 127 setup ............................................................ 81 start ............................................................ 117 stop ............................................................ 117
Maps .............................................................. 105 add ............................................................. 106 delete ......................................................... 108 edit ............................................................. 108
Maximum Exposure ......................................... 70
Maximum Gain ................................................. 70
Member Of ....................................................... 25
Menu bar ............................................................ 6
Microphone ...................................................... 85
Motion Detection .............................................. 77 motion sensitivity.............................................. 78 motion threshold .............................................. 78
N
Network ............................................................ 68
187
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
O
Overlays ......................................................... 127
P
Pan ......................................................... 113, 120
Password.......................................................... 25
POS Transactions ............................................ 42 add ............................................................... 42 delete ........................................................... 49 edit ............................................................... 49 exceptions .................................................... 48 monitor ............................................... 118, 125 search ........................................................ 149 source data filter .......................................... 46 source data format ....................................... 46
Privacy Zones .................................................. 79 add ............................................................... 79 delete ........................................................... 80 edit ............................................................... 80
PTZ ..................................................................... 6 controls ...................................................... 114 enable .......................................................... 67
R recorded video ................................................... 8
Recording and Bandwidth ................................ 23
Recording Schedule ......................................... 21 recording schedule template ............................ 21 resolution .......................................................... 74
Rules ................................................................ 54
188
add ............................................................... 54 schedule ...................................................... 63
S
Save Snapshot ............................................... 154
Save View ...................................................... 103
Scheduled Backup ........................................... 40
Search ............................................................ 139 alarms ........................................................ 147 bookmarks ................................................. 141 events ........................................................ 139 license plates ............................................. 151 pixels.......................................................... 143
POS transactions ....................................... 149 thumbnails ................................................. 145 server bandwidth .................................................... 23 connect camera ........................................... 14 discover ................................................... 3, 10 name ............................................................ 20 recording schedule ................................ 21, 23 setup ............................................................ 19
Setup ................................................................ 10 alarms .......................................................... 35 camera ......................................................... 65 email ............................................................ 50 license plate recognition .............................. 59 local client .................................................... 88
POS ............................................................. 42
rules ............................................................. 54 server ........................................................... 19 users ............................................................ 25
Sharpening ....................................................... 70 shut down ........................................................... 3
Site View .......................................................... 96 add ............................................................... 96 delete ........................................................... 98 edit ............................................................... 98 software license ................................................. 1
Speaker ............................................................ 86 start up ............................................................... 3 status LEDs ...................................................... 66 support ............................................................... 2
System Bug Report ........................................ 176
System Explorer ................................................. 6
System Log ...................................................... 58 system requirements .......................................... 1
T
Timeline .............................................................. 6
Toolbar ............................................................... 6
U upgrades ............................................................ 2 camera ......................................................... 19 software ..................................................... 173 users ................................................................. 25 add ............................................................... 25 delete ........................................................... 28
Index
edit ............................................................... 28
Windows ID ................................................. 33
Users and Groups ............................................ 25
V video .............................................................. 112 analog ........................................................ 130 display quality .................................... 127, 128 export ......................................................... 154 instant replay ............................................. 113 live ......................................................... 8, 112 overlays ..................................................... 127 recorded ................................................ 8, 119 view................................................................ 8
View tab ....................................................... 6, 99 add ............................................................... 99 cycle tabs ................................................... 103 full screen .................................................. 102 layout ......................................................... 100
Maps .......................................................... 105 remove ......................................................... 99 save ........................................................... 103 web pages ................................................. 110
W
Watch List ........................................................ 61
Web Client ..................................................... 172
Web Pages .................................................... 110 add ............................................................. 110 delete ......................................................... 111
189
Avigilon Control Center Enterprise Client User Guide
edit ............................................................. 111
White Balance .................................................. 70
Windows Users ................................................ 33
Workspace ......................................................... 6
Z
Zoom ...................................................... 113, 120
190
Download
Advertisement
Key features
Live and recorded video viewing
Alarm and event monitoring
User access control
Server, camera, and device configuration
Remote access via LAN or WAN
Frequently asked questions
The minimum requirements are: Windows XP with Service Pack (SP) 2 or later, Windows Vista, or Windows 7; Intel Single Core 2.4 GHz processor; 1 GB RAM; PCI Express, DirectX 9.0c compliant with 128 MB RAM; 100 Mbps network card; and 500 MB hard disk space. The recommended requirements are: Intel Dual Core 2.0 GHz processor; 2 GB RAM; PCI Express, DirectX 10.0 compliant with 256 MB RAM; 1 Gbps network card; and 500 MB hard disk space.
If the server is on the same network segment as your computer, the server is automatically discovered and appears in the System Explorer. If the server is on a different subnet, the server must be manually discovered. To manually discover a server, open the Find Server dialog box (File > Manage Server Connections > Find Server...). Enter the Hostname/IP Address, the Base Port, and the Connection Speed of the server. Click OK.
To log in, open the Log In dialog box (File > Log In or right-click a server in the System Explorer and select Log In). Select a server from the Log in to drop-down list, enter your User Name and Password, or select the Use current Windows credentials checkbox. Click Log In.
To access the Client Setup dialog box, select File > Client Setup. You can change general settings, joystick settings, export settings, import settings, microphone settings, and Site View settings.