Harris InfoCaster User Guide
Advertisement
Advertisement
Harris
®
InfoCaster
™
User Guide
InfoCaster Basics Cover
Copyright © 2004 - 2006 Leitch Technology International Inc. All rights reserved.
Leitch Technology International Inc., 26 Peppler Street, Waterloo, Ontario, Canada N2J 3C4
No part of this document may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, for any purpose, without the express written permission of ILeitch Technology International Inc.
Inscriber is a registered trademark of Leitch Technology International Inc. InfoCaster is a trademark of Leitch Technology International Inc. All other company and product names are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners.
This document describes InfoCaster. Subsequent revisions of the products may provide additional functionality or modify the limits described in this document. The information in this document is furnished for informational use only, is subject to change without notice, and should not be construed as a commitment by Leitch
Technology International Inc.
Leitch Technology International Inc.
SOFTWARE LICENSE AGREEMENT
1. NOTICE.
THIS IS A CONTRACT. BY INDICATING YOUR ACCEPTANCE BELOW, YOU ACCEPT ALL THE TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF THIS AGREEMENT. IF YOU DO
NOT AGREE WITH THE TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF THIS AGREEMENT, DECLINE WHERE INSTRUCTED, AND YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO USE THE
SOFTWARE. LEITCH TECHNOLOGY INTERNATIONAL INC. IS WILLING TO LICENSE THIS SOFTWARE TO YOU ONLY ON THE CONDITION THAT YOU ACCEPT
ALL OF THE TERMS CONTAINED IN THIS LICENSE AGREEMENT.
2. Ownership and License. This is a license agreement and NOT an agreement for sale. We continue to own the copy of the software installed by this program and any other copy that you are authorized by this Agreement to make (the "Software"). Your rights to use the Software are specified in this Agreement, and we retain all rights not expressly granted to you in this Agreement. Nothing in this Agreement constitutes a waiver of our rights under any copyright law or any other law.
3. Permitted Uses.
3.01 Right to Install and Use. You may install and use the Software on the hard disk drive of any single compatible computer that you own. However, you may not under any circumstances have the Software installed onto the hard drives of more than one computer at the same time, nor may you install the Software onto the hard disk drive of one computer and then use the original distribution media on another computer. If you wish to use the Software on more than one computer, you must either erase the Software from the first hard drive before you install it onto a second hard drive, or else license an additional copy of the Software for each additional computer on which you want to use it.
3.02 Right to Copy. You may make one (1) copy of the Software for backup and archival purposes, provided that the original and the copy are kept in your possession, and that your installation and use of the Software does not exceed that allowed in Section 3.01, and provided you reproduce our copyright notice on the copy.
3.03 Right to Transfer. You shall not assign, transfer sublicense, rent, lend, or lease the Software or your rights under this Agreement without our prior written approval.
4. Prohibited Uses. You may not, without written permission from us: (a) use, copy, modify, merge, or transfer copies of the Software or documentation except as provided in this Agreement; (b) use any backup or archival copy of the Software (or allow someone else to use such copy) for any purpose other than to replace the original copy in the event it is destroyed or becomes defective; or (c) disassemble, decompile or "unlock," reverse translate, or in any manner decode the Software or the dongle security device for any reason.
5. Limited Warranty. We make the following limited warranties from the date you acquired the Software from us or our authorized dealer:
(a) Media. For a period of twenty (20) days, the distribution media and documentation in this package will be free from defects in materials and workmanship under normal use. If the distribution media or documentation fail to conform to this warranty, you may, as your sole and exclusive remedy, obtain a replacement free of charge if you return the defective disk or documentation to us with a dated proof of purchase.
(b) Interlock Security Device. Provided you are in compliance with this Agreement, we will replace a damaged or defective interlock security device (dongle) no matter what the cause of the damage. In order to receive a replacement device, you must return the damaged device to Leitch Technology International Inc, 26 Peppler Street,
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada, N2J 3C4.
(c) WARRANTY DISCLAIMER. EXCEPT AS PROVIDED ABOVE, THE SOFTWARE AND DOCUMENTATION ARE PROVIDED ON AN "AS IS" BASIS, AND WE DO
NOT WARRANT THAT THE SOFTWARE WILL MEET YOUR REQUIREMENTS OR THAT ITS OPERATION WILL BE UNINTERRUPTED OR ERROR-FREE. WE
EXCLUDE AND EXPRESSLY DISCLAIM ALL EXPRESS AND IMPLIED WARRANTIES AND CONDITIONS NOT STATED HEREIN, INCLUDING THE IMPLIED
WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY AND FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.
Some jurisdictions do not allow the exclusion of implied warranties, so the above exclusion may not apply to you. This limited warranty gives you specific legal rights, and you may also have other legal rights, which vary from jurisdiction to jurisdiction.
6. LIMITATION OF LIABILITY. IN NO EVENT SHALL WE BE LIABLE FOR ANY INDIRECT, INCIDENTAL, SPECIAL OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES, INCLUDING
BUT NOT LIMITED TO LOSS OF PROFITS, REVENUE, DATA, OR DATA USE, OR MACHINE USE, INCURRED BY YOU OR ANY THIRD PARTY, WHETHER IN AN
ACTION IN CONTRACT OR TORT, EVEN IF WE HAVE BEEN ADVISED OF THE POSSIBILITY OF SUCH DAMAGES. OUR LIABILITY TO YOU FOR ANY LOSSES
SHALL NOT EXCEED THE GREATER OF $500 AND THE AMOUNT YOU ORIGINALLY PAID FOR THE SOFTWARE.
Some jurisdictions do not allow these limitations or exclusions, so they may not apply to you.
7. United States Government Restricted Rights. The enclosed Software and documentation are provided with Restricted Rights. Use, duplication or disclosure by the
U.S. Government or any agency or instrumentality thereof is subject to restrictions as set forth in subdivision (c)(1 )(ii) of the Rights in Technical Data and Computer
Software clause at 48 C. F.R. 252.227-7013, or in subdivision (c)(1) and (2) of the Commercial Computer Software -- Restricted Rights Clause at 48 C.F.R. 52.227-19, as applicable. Contractor Manufacturer is Leitch Technology International Inc, 26 Peppler Street, Waterloo, Ontario, Canada, N2J 3C4
8. Termination. This license and your right to use this Software automatically terminate if you fail to comply with any provisions of this Agreement, destroy the copies of the Software in your possession, or voluntarily return the Software to us. Upon termination you will destroy all copies of the Software and documentation. Otherwise, the restrictions on your rights to use the Software will expire upon expiration of the copyright to the Software.
9. Miscellaneous Provisions. This Agreement will be governed by and construed in accordance with the laws of the Province of Ontario and not by the 1980 United
Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods, as amended. This is the entire agreement between us relating to the contents of this package, and supersedes any prior purchase order, communications, advertising or representations concerning the contents of this package. No change or modification of this
Agreement will be valid unless it is in writing, and is signed by us.
10. Quebec Transactions. If you reside in the Province of Quebec, Canada, you agree to the following: The parties hereto have expressly required that the present
Agreement and its Exhibits be drawn up in the English language. Les parties aux presentes ont expressement exige que la presente convention et ses Annexes soient redigees en langue anglaise.
If you have any questions about this Agreement, write to us at Leitch Technology International Inc, 26 Peppler Street, Waterloo, Ontario, Canada, N2J 3C4, or call us at
519-570-9111.
Table of Contents
Introduction 1
Welcome to InfoCaster! ...................2
Open an InfoCast 5
Open InfoCast Overview ..................6
Open New or Existing InfoCast.........7
Save InfoCast ................................ 10
Close or Delete InfoCast.................12
Add Pages to InfoCast 13
Add Pages Overview .......................14
Switch to Pages Window .................16
Add, Copy, or Import Page............. 18
Add Regions to Page 21
Add Regions Overview................... 22
Open Page in Regions Window....... 24
Draw Regions On the Page............. 26
Adjust Region Settings .................. 35
Preview Regions ............................ 37
Add Items to Regions 39
Add Region Items Overview ...........40
Open Region in Items Window ....... 42
Open a Content Editor...................44
Add Content with the Editor........... 50
Add Still Items 55
Still Items Overview .......................56
Title Quick Editor .......................... 59
Table Quick Editor ......................... 61
TitleMotion ...................................65
Graphic Importer...........................69
Format Text ...................................72
Add Audio ....................................75
Add Crawl Items 79
Crawl Items Overview.................... 80
Crawl Quick Editor ........................ 81
Add Roll Items 83
Roll Items Overview ...................... 84
Roll Quick Editor.......................... 86
Table Quick Editor ........................ 88
Add Animation Items 89
Animation Items Overview............. 90
Animation Quick Editor..................92
Animation Importer .......................94
Add Digital Clocks 97
Digital Clock Items Overview......... 98
Digital Clock Quick Editor ........... 100
Digital Timer Quick Editor ........... 103
Table of Contentsi
Add Video Items 105
Video Items Overview ...................106
Video Clip Quick Editor................108
Live Video Quick Editor .................113
Add Analog Clocks 119
Analog Clock Items Overview........ 120
Analog Clock Quick Editor.............121
Add Inca Port Items 143
Add Inca Port Content..................144
Add a Temperature 145
Temperature Items Overview ......... 146
Temperature Quick Editor .............148
External Data Sources 151
Use External Data Sources ............ 152
Use Text Files as Data Source........ 156
Link to XML/RSS Data Feed ..........170
Create ODBC Data Source ........... 175
178
Add Database to ODBC System List ...
Link Item to ODBC Data Source....180
Schedule Playback Sequences 193
Schedule Playback Overview.......... 194
Schedule InfoCast Pages ............... 195
Schedule Region Items .................201
Change Sequence Display ............ 209
Set Triggers ................................. 210
Output 217
Output Overview ..........................218
Preview Before Playback................219
Play InfoCast...............................220
View Playback ..............................221
Appendix 225
Additional Tasks.......................... 226
Log Output ................................. 227
Change Preferences ..................... 229
ii Table of Contents
Introduction
Introduction
Welcome to InfoCaster!
Inscriber® InfoCaster™ is an exciting out-of-the box communications solution that produces powerful attractive multi-zone broadcast-quality page layouts for immediate display on video monitors to capture and inform your audience.
Start InfoCaster
To start InfoCaster, double-click on the InfoCaster icon on your computer desktop.
Program
Monitoring
Feature
Included with InfoCaster is a program-monitoring feature that automatically restarts InfoCaster after a system interruption, such as a program closing or the computer rebooting. The monitor icon is displayed on
InfoCaster Monitor the task bar at the bottom-right corner of your computer screen.
For the most efficient operation, you should keep the program monitor turned on. If there is a system interruption, the monitor automatically logs in (if required), restarts InfoCaster, and starts the last layout that was playing.
However, under some conditions, such as for software installations, you might want to turn the program monitor off so the automatic function does not interfere with other activities.
Exit InfoCaster
To exit InfoCaster, use one of these methods.
• Select File
>
Exit.
If InfoCaster automatically restarts, the program monitoring feature is on. Use the next method to exit InfoCaster.
• Right-click on the monitor icon and select
Shut Down InfoCaster. For details on the monitor icon, see “Program
Monitoring Feature” on page 2.
Restart
InfoCaster
To start InfoCaster with the program monitoring feature on, right-click on the monitor icon and select Start InfoCaster.
To start InfoCaster with the program monitoring feature off, double-click on the InfoCaster icon on your computer desktop.
To set InfoCaster to always load your last opened project when you open InfoCaster, see “Load Last InfoCast on Startup” on page 229.
2 Introduction | InfoCaster
InfoCaster
Workspace
The InfoCaster workspace consists of the Pages window, the Regions window, the Items window, and the Tree View list. Click on the Pages,
Regions, or Items button on the main toolbar at the top of the screen to switch windows.
Use the Pages window to add and schedule your InfoCast page layouts.
Use the Regions window to draw regions on your InfoCast page. Use the
Items window to add and schedule content in your regions.
The Tree View list is always available on the left side of the screen and displays all of the pages available in the project, as well as the regions, region items and region sequences. Select a page, region, or item by double-clicking on it in the Tree View list or in the appropriate (Pages,
Regions, or Items) window.
You can also select a region in the Preview window below the Tree View list.
Switch to Pages, Regions, or Items window.
Tree View list
Pages window
Regions window
Items window
Preview window
Introduction | InfoCaster 3
Purchase
Options
About This
Document
InfoCaster is suitable for single installations, large scale networks, and everything in between. InfoCaster offers the following additional options that you can purchase to meet your needs.
• The Inca Ports option enables you to create a region in which you can display layers of data created in your RTX application. The Inca Ports option is also sometimes referred to as the RTXports option.
• InfoCaster Player licences enable you to display your InfoCasts at additional sites.
• InfoCaster Network Manager enable you to manage multiple InfoCaster systems and effectively target localized audiences.
This document introduces you to all the major features and tasks available in InfoCaster. It is designed to get you up and running as quickly as possible. You can also select Help
>
Help in InfoCaster to refer to the online help for further information.
To display the name of buttons and tools, hold the mouse cursor over the item on the screen. If you don’t see any text come up, select Help
>
ToolTips to activate ToolTips.
This document assumes knowledge of Windows-based computers. For instructions on how to use basic Windows features, please refer to the
Microsoft web site or to documentation that came with your computer.
4 Introduction | InfoCaster
Open an InfoCast
1. Open an Infocast
Open InfoCast Overview
The first step for creating digital signage layouts for video display is to open a new or existing
InfoCast. An InfoCast is the project file that contains all the pages that you can output in a project.
Only one InfoCast is aired at any given time on an output player. An InfoCast contains pages. Pages contain regions. Regions contain region items.
This chapter also explains how to save and delete your InfoCasts.
6
Output InfoCast
1
Open
InfoCast
2
Double-click on a page to add regions
3
Draw a region
4a
Double-click on a region to add content
4b
Open a content editor
4c
Add content
5
Set playback sequence
6 Open InfoCasts | InfoCaster
Open New or Existing InfoCast
You can start a new InfoCast or open an existing InfoCast from your hard drive, CD, or another location. InfoCaster saves all changes immediately to the default location as you work, so your project is always up-to-date.
Open New
InfoCast
1
Click on the New button on the toolbar, or select File
>
New.
2
In the New InfoCast dialog box, name your InfoCast, then click
OK. The InfoCast opens in the Pages window.
Open InfoCasts | InfoCaster 7
Always Open Last
InfoCast
Open on Hard
Drive
To set InfoCaster to load the last project that was opened every time you start InfoCaster, select Edit
>
Preferences and check the Load Last
Page Layout on Startup checkbox on the General tab in the Preferences dialog box. See “Load Last InfoCast on Startup” on page 229.
To open an existing InfoCast on your computer’s hard drive:
1
Click on the Open button on the main toolbar, or select File
>
Open.
2
In the Open dialog box, select the InfoCast project from the
InfoCasts folder on your hard drive, located at C:\InfoCasts by default.
Open on CD
The InfoCast opens in the Pages window.
To check or change the default location of the InfoCasts folder, see
“Store InfoCasts In” on page 229.
To open an InfoCast that was saved to CD:
1
2
3
Select the Get from CD option using one of the following methods.
• If an InfoCast is already open, select
File
>
InfoCaster CD
>
Get from CD.
• If an InfoCast is not already open, select
File
>
Get InfoCast from CD.
Insert the CD into your
CD ROM drive as prompted.
In the Get InfoCast From
Disc dialog box, select an
InfoCast from the list, then click the Get InfoCast button. Click
Done to close the dialog box.
The InfoCast opens in the Pages window.
8 Open InfoCasts | InfoCaster
Import InfoCast
You can import InfoCasts that were exported with the File
>
Export option. The Export option exports an entire project, leaving all referenced file paths intact.
1
Select File
>
Import.
2
In the Import InfoCast dialog box, go to the project folder that you want to import, and double-click on the folder.
3
4
Click OK to import the InfoCast.
The InfoCast copies to your InfoCasts folder, located at
C:\InfoCasts by default.
If an InfoCast is already open, click on the Open button on the main toolbar and select the imported InfoCast from the list that comes up.
If an InfoCast is not already open, the InfoCast you selected automatically opens in InfoCaster.
The InfoCast opens in the Pages window.
Note:
You can also import individual pages. See “Import Page” on page 18.
Open InfoCasts | InfoCaster 9
Save InfoCast
InfoCaster automatically saves your work to a default location. You can change the default location.
You can also save an InfoCast to a different location on your hard drive or on a CD, and copy an
InfoCast without breaking the file paths that are referenced in the InfoCast.
Auto Save
InfoCaster saves all changes immediately to the default location,
C:\InfoCasts, as you work, so your project is always up-to-date. You never have to save your InfoCast as you go. Even if something happens to your system, like a power outage, your projects load with your latest changes intact.
All InfoCast projects are saved in the format C:\InfoCasts\(InfoCast name folder)\(page name folder).
To check or change the default location of the InfoCasts folder, see
“Store InfoCasts In” on page 229.
Save Copy
Rename
To save a copy of your InfoCast to the same location:
1
Select File
>
Save As.
2
In the Save As dialog box, enter a new name for the InfoCast and click Save.
InfoCaster saves the selected page to your default InfoCasts folder.
Note:
Copying and pasting an InfoCast to a new location can break file paths that are referenced by the InfoCast.
To save the InfoCast with a different name, select File
>
Rename, then enter the new InfoCast name as prompted.
Save (Export) to
New Location
To save your project to a different location on your computer without breaking any file paths referenced by the InfoCast, use the export option.
Note:
1
Copying and pasting an InfoCast to a new location can break file paths that are referenced by the InfoCast.
Select File
>
Export.
2
In the Export dialog box, select a new location for the project and click OK.
Use the import option (File
>
Import) to open exported projects.
10 Open InfoCasts | InfoCaster
Save to CD
2
3
To burn an InfoCast project to CD, you must have a properly configured CD ROM burner (CD Read-Write drive) connected to your system.
1
4
5
6
Insert a formatted, recordable CD ROM disk into your CD Read-
Write drive.
In InfoCaster, select File
>
InfoCaster CD
>
Save To CD.
In the Save InfoCast To
Disc dialog box, enter a name for the CD ROM in the Please Name This
Disc field.
Set your options as follows.
To add notes about the project to the InfoCast file, enter them in the
Comments field. The comments appear when you import the project from the CD ROM.
To automatically load the project to the InfoCasts folder (C:\InfoCasts) when you import the InfoCast from the CD ROM, check the Enable Auto
Load checkbox.
To set a playback start time for the page, check the Start Playing
InfoCast checkbox, then choose one of the following options which apply after the page is imported from the CD ROM.
• To start playback as soon as the InfoCast is copied to the
InfoCasts folder, choose Immediately Upon Loading InfoCast.
• To set the playback time for the project, choose the At option and enter a start time and date.
If you do not want to set the playback start time, clear the Start
Playing InfoCast checkbox.
To put the InfoCast file in a central location for shared referencing, check the Save Shared Media Files checkbox. See
“Store Shared Media Files In” on page 230 for details.
Click the Burn CD button to copy the InfoCast to the CD.
The Progress bar displays the level of completion state.
When the burn is completed, click Done to close the dialog box.
Open InfoCasts | InfoCaster 11
Close or Delete InfoCast
You can close or delete an InfoCast.
Close InfoCast
To close an InfoCast project in InfoCaster, select File
>
Close.
The active InfoCast project closes, leaving the InfoCaster workspace blank.
Delete InfoCast
To permanently delete an InfoCast project:
1
Select File
>
Delete.
2
3
In the Delete InfoCast Layout dialog box, select the InfoCast project from the list.
Click the Delete button. The InfoCast is deleted from the
InfoCasts folder, located at C:\InfoCasts by default.
4
Close the dialog box.
12 Open InfoCasts | InfoCaster
Add Pages to InfoCast
2. Add Pages to Infocast
Add Pages Overview
After you open an InfoCast, you add pages to it. Every InfoCast project consists of one or more pages.
A page is the layout of the full screen digital signage image that displays on the output screen. Page layouts consist of regions and scheduling information. Pages open in the Regions window, as explained in “Open Page in Regions Window” on page 24.
6
Output InfoCast
1
Open
InfoCast
2
Double-click on a page to add regions
3
Draw a region
4a
Double-click on a region to add content
4b
Open a content editor
4c
Add content
5
Set playback sequence
14 Add Pages | InfoCaster
All the pages that exist in the InfoCast are displayed in the Pages window.
You work with pages in the Pages window. When you open an InfoCast, you are automatically switched to the Pages window.
Workflow
All page layouts are saved in C:\InfoCasts. To change the default folder location, see “Store InfoCasts In” on page 229.
By default, a blank page is added to a new InfoCast. To add another page to an InfoCast:
1
2
Switch to the Pages window.
To do this, click on the Pages button on the main toolbar. See “Switch to Pages Window” on page 16.
Add a new page, copy a page, or import a page.
To do this, click on the New, Duplicate, or Import button on the Pages window toolbar. See “Add, Copy, or Import Page” on page 18.
Add Pages | InfoCaster 15
Switch to Pages Window
To switch to the Pages window, use one of these methods.
• Open a new or existing InfoCast. When you open an InfoCast, you are automatically switched to the Pages window.
• Click on the Pages button on the main toolbar.
• Select Tools
>
Pages.
• Double-click on a page in the Tree View list.
All the pages in the selected InfoCast are displayed in the Page Library.
The Pages window contains a toolbar, Library, Details panel, and Sequencer. The Pages window area changes into the Regions window or the Items window depending on what level of content you are working on. The Tree View list is always available to select pages, regions, region sequences, and region items.
Pages button
Pages toolbar
Tree View
Preview Pages Library
Pages Details
Pages Sequencer
16 Add Pages | InfoCaster
Change Page
Display
To save space in the Pages window, you can change the size of the pages displayed in the Page Library and in the Pages Sequence list.
Change Display of Page Library
To change the size of the page display in the Page Library, select Pages
>
Show Page Library As, then select one of the following options.
Large Thumbnails
Small Thumbnails
Text Only
Change Display of Page Sequencer
To change the size of the page display in the Pages Sequence list, see
“Change Sequence Display” on page 209.
Add Pages | InfoCaster 17
Add, Copy, or Import Page
You can add as many pages (layouts) as you want to an InfoCast. You can add a new page, make a copy of a page, or import a page. Each page displays in the Page Library section of the Pages window.
Add New Page
By default, a blank page is automatically added to a new InfoCast.
To add another new page to an InfoCast:
1
2
Click on the New button on the
Pages window toolbar.
Alternately, you can right-click in the Page Library, then select New
Page from the menu. You can also select Pages
>
Add Page.
In the New Page Layout dialog box, name the new layout.
Duplicate Page
To add a copy of an existing page to your InfoCast:
1
2
Select the page in the Page Library.
Click on the Duplicate button on the Pages window toolbar.
Alternately, you can select Pages
>
Duplicate Page.
A copy of the page is added to the Page Library.
Import Page
You can import pages that were exportedwith the Export
Page command, as explained in “Export Page” on page 19.
1
Right-click on a blank space in the Page Library, then select Import Page from the menu. Alternately, you can select Pages
>
Import Page.
18 Add Pages | InfoCaster
2
In the Import Page dialog box, double-click on the folder that is named after the page you want to import, then click OK.
Export Page
Edit Page
(Layout)
To save your page to a new location on your computer without breaking any file paths referenced by the page, export the page.
Note:
Copying and pasting a page to a new location can break referenced file paths.
1
2
In the Pages window, right-click on the page you want to export and select Export Page from the menu.
Alternately, you can select Pages
>
Export Page.
In the Export Page To dialog box, select a new location for the page and click OK.
To open exported pages, import the page. See “Import Page” on page 18.
To edit a page’s layout, use one of these methods.
• Click on the Edit button the Pages toolbar.
• Right-click on a page in the Pages window, then select Edit Page from the menu.
• Select Pages
>
Edit Regions.
The page opens in the Regions window where you can select any region and edit its content. See “Open Page in Regions Window” on page 24 for details.
Add Pages | InfoCaster 19
Rename Page
Delete Page
1
2
Select the page in the Pages window, then click the Rename button in the Pages toolbar. You can also right-click on the page, then select
Rename Page from the menu.
In the Rename Page dialog box, enter a new name for the page, then click OK.
InfoCaster changes the page name in the following places.
• On the page layout in the Pages window, both in the Page Library and in the Page sequence list.
• On the page title displayed in the Tree View list.
• On the page layout folder, located in your InfoCast project folder
(C:\InfoCasts\project folder\page folder).
To permanently delete a page from your InfoCast, right-click on the page in the Pages window, then select Delete Page from the menu. Alternately, you can select Pages
>
Delete Page in Library.
To delete a page from your InfoCast sequence, see “Delete Pages from the
Sequence” on page 197.
20 Add Pages | InfoCaster
Add Regions to Page
3. Add Regions to Page
Add Regions Overview
After you have opened an InfoCast and selected a page, add regions to the page. Regions are playback zones or containers on your page layouts into which you place the content (region items) that you want to output. You can add many region items in each region to output at different times.
You can create 10 types of regions in your InfoCasts. Then, open each region to add content. Each region opens in the Items window, as explained in “Open Region in Items Window” on page 42.
• Still regions play static text or graphics, such as titles or logos.
• Crawl regions play text and graphics that move horizontally across the region.
• Roll regions play text and graphics that scroll up or down the region.
• Animation regions play animated text and graphics.
• Digital Clock regions play a real-time digital clock or digital timer.
• Video regions play video clips or live video. digital clock animation still roll video still background crawl
• Analog Clock regions play an imported graphical clock.
• Audio regions play audio independent of other region items.
• With the Inca Ports option, you can air data created in your RTX application. See “Purchase
Options” on page 4.
• Temperature regions display a temperature reading from a temperature probe connected to your system.
• You can create a pop-back region and use it to expand or shrink region items during output. See
“Draw a Pop-Back Region” on page 32.
• You can create a background that fills up any part of your screen using any of the regions types.
See “Draw a Background” on page 32.
22 Add Regions | InfoCaster
6
Output InfoCast
1
Open
InfoCast
2
Double-click on a page to add regions
3
Draw a region
4a
Double-click on a region to add content
4b
Open a content editor
4c
Add content
5
Set playback sequence
Workflow
1
2
3
Select the page, then switch to the Regions window.
To do this, you can double-click on the page in the Pages window or
Tree View list. See “Open Page in Regions Window” on page 24.
Draw regions on the page.
To do this, select a region tool then click and drag the mouse cursor across the workspace. See “Draw Regions On the Page” on page 26.
Adjust region settings as needed. See “Adjust Region Settings” on page 35.
Add Regions | InfoCaster 23
Open Page in Regions Window
To add regions to a page layout, select the page and switch to the Regions window.
Select a Page
To select a page, click on the page in the Page Library or in the Tree View list. Double-click to open the page in the Regions window.
Switch to
Regions
Window
With the page selected in the Pages window, switch to the Regions window.
• Double-click on the page in the Page Library or in the Tree View list.
• Click on the Regions button on the main toolbar.
• Click on the Edit button the Pages toolbar.
• Select Tools
>
Regions.
• Select Pages
>
Edit Regions.
• Right-click on a page in the Pages window, then select Edit Page from the menu.
Select page
Switch to Regions window
24 Add Regions | InfoCaster
The page opens in the Regions window, which contains the Region draw tools, the Regions page layout workspace, and a region Details panel.
Pointer tool
Regions workspace selected page
Region Draw tools
Region Details
Add Regions | InfoCaster 25
Draw Regions On the Page
After you selected a page and switched to the Regions window, draw regions on the page layout. You can display the safe title area and grid lines on your workspace to help you position your regions.
Workflow
To draw regions on a page:
1
2
Select a region tool in the Regions window. See “Select a Region
Tool” on page 28.
Click in the workspace, then drag the mouse cursor across the workspace to draw the region. See “Draw Regions” on page 31..
select tool draw region
Display Safe Title Area
When creating layouts, it’s a good idea to keep your items within the safe title area, to avoid having items cut off on certain monitors. The safe title area marks a safe area for displaying items on most output screens. The default safe title area is set at 86% of the layout window.
To display the safe title area:
26 Add Regions | InfoCaster
1
2
Use the Pointer tool in the Regions tools list to click on an area in your Regions workspace that is not occupied by a region item.
Alternately, you can select Regions
>
Show Safe Title Area.
In the Page Details panel below the workspace, check the Show Safe
Title Area checkbox to mark the layout window with a green boundary.
Note:
If a region is selected, the safe title options are not displayed.
3
To change the safe title area boundary, use one of these methods.
• Click on the Default button to set the safe title area back to 86% of the screen.
• Click on the Slide Bar radio button to enable the slide bar. Use the
Slide Bar or Percent field to set the safe title area as a percentage of the screen.
• Click on the radio button next to the Left field to enable these fields. Enter values in the Left, Right, Top, or Bottom fields to set the boundary a certain number of pixels from the left, right, top, and bottom of the screen.
Display Grid Lines on Regions Window
To display grid lines on the Regions window to help you draw and line up your regions, select Regions
>
Show Grid Lines.
Add Regions | InfoCaster 27
Select a Region
Tool
In the Regions window, select the region tool that corresponds to the type of content you want to add, using one of these methods.
• Select a tool on the left side of the screen. You can also select the Pop-
Back Region tool from the Regions window menu, as explained in “Pop-
Back Region Tool” on page 30..
• Select Regions
>
Add Region, then select the region tool from the second command list.
select tool draw region
Note:
To see the name of buttons and tools on the screen, hold the mouse cursor over the item. If you don’t see text appear, select Help
>
ToolTips to activate ToolTips.
Pointer Tool
The pointer tool is automatically selected when you click on a region. Use it to select, size, and move the region, or to change region details.
28 Add Regions | InfoCaster
Still Region Tool
Draw a still region when you want to play non-moving text and/or graphics, such as titles or logos, in a region. The text can be text that you type in or text from an external data source. You can create as many lines of text as you want and are able to display at a time in the selected region. You can connect each line to a different data source. See “Add Still Items” on page 55.
Crawl Region Tool
Draw a crawl region when you want to display text and graphics that move horizontally across the region. The text can be text that you type in or text from an external data source. You can display up to 3 pre-determined characters (space, period, comma, hyphen, or ellipsis) and/or a graphic image, animation, or video clip before each text entry. You can format the background color. See “Add Crawl Items” on page 79.
Roll Region Tool
Draw a roll region when you want to display text and graphics that move up or down the region. The text can be text that you type in or text from an external data source. You can format the background color. See “Add Roll
Items” on page 83.
Animation Region Tool
Draw an animation region when you want to play animated text and graphics in a region. You can import animations. You can also create a layout of text and graphics and then animate it. The text can be text that you type in or text from an external data source. See “Add Animation
Items” on page 89.
Digital Clock Region Tool
Draw a digital clock region when you want to play a real-time digital clock that displays local or offset time, or a timer that counts up or down.
Display a date or text before and/or after the clock, or on its own without the clock. See “Add Digital Clocks” on page 97.
Video Region Tool
Draw a V ideo region when you want to play video clips or live video in the region. You can expand or shrink the video, or any other region item, as explained in “Set Triggers” on page 210. See “Add Video Items” on page 105.
Add Regions | InfoCaster 29
Analog Clock Region Tool
Draw an analog clock region when you want to play an imported real-time analog clock in a region. InfoCaster provides a selection of analog clock files that you can use. InfoCaster also provides an analog clock building utility. See “Add Analog Clocks” on page 119.
Audio Region Tool
Draw an audio region when you want to play audio that is independent of other region content. You can draw an audio region anywhere in the layout.
Adjust the volume, add a delay, and select a frequency (Play Once or
Loop). See “Add Audio Items” on page 125.
Inca Ports Region Tool
Draw an
Inca Port region when you want to display layers of data created in your RTX application.
Temperature Probe Region Tool
Draw a temperature probe region when you have a temperature probe connected to your system and want to display its current temperature reading in the region. See “Add a Temperature” on page 145.
Pop-Back Region Tool
Pop-back regions set the size that a region can expand or contract to when you apply a trigger. Select Regions
> Pop-Back Regions in the Regions window. The Pop-Back Region tool becomes available. See “Draw a Pop-
Back Region” on page 32 for more information. To use a pop-back region, see “Set Triggers” on page 210.
30 Add Regions | InfoCaster
Draw Regions
With the region tool selected, click in the Regions workspace, then drag the mouse cursor across the workspace. The region placeholder is displayed in the workspace.
select tool draw region
Repeat these steps until you have drawn all the regions in your page layout.To reposition the region or make any other changes to the region, see
Add Regions | InfoCaster 31
“Adjust Region Settings” on page 35.
1
2
Draw a Background
You can create a background using any of the regions types. To create a background:
3
Draw a region in the layout window that covers the entire area.
Select Regions
>
Arrange Region
>
Send to Back to move the region behind all other regions.
Open a content editor and add content.
Draw a Pop-Back Region
You can expand or shrink any region during output by creating a pop-back region, then setting a trigger. To draw a pop-back region:
1
Select Regions
>
Pop-Back Regions in the Regions window.
2
The Region Tools change to display the Pop-Back Region tool.
Other regions that you have drawn can be seen but cannot be selected.
Click on the Pop-Back Region tool to select it.
32 Add Regions | InfoCaster
3
Click in the Regions workspace and drag the mouse cursor across the workspace to draw your pop-back region.
Add Regions | InfoCaster 33
You can draw as many pop-back regions as you want to use on your
InfoCast page. For example, you can draw a full-size region to expand a region to full-size or you can draw a small over-the-shoulder region to shrink a region to that size.
4
In the Details panel below the workspace, you can give the region a unique name to make it easier to identify it in a list.
To exit the Pop-Back Regions window and be able to select other regions, select Regions
>
Pop-Back Regions again, to remove the checkmark.
To apply a pop-back region, see “Set Triggers” on page 210.
To add content to your regions, see “Add Items to Regions” on page 39.
34 Add Regions | InfoCaster
Adjust Region Settings
In the Details panel below the Region workspace, you can change settings for the selected region.
These options are the same for all the region types.
Details panel
Rename
Regions
To give your regions descriptive names, enter a new name for the selected region in the Name field below the Regions workspace. Press ENTER to apply the change. Alternately, you can select Items
>
Rename Item.
Reposition
(Move) Regions
You can change the position of regions on your page layout in two ways.
• Enter values in the From Left or From Top field below the Regions workspace for precise positioning. This places the selected region a certain number of pixels away from the left or top of the layout.
• Drag the region item in the Regions workspace using the Pointer tool.
Resize Regions
You can change the size of regions on your page layout in two ways. .
• Enter pixel values for the selected region in the Width or Height field below the Regions workspace for precise positioning.
• Drag the region’s corner or side border in the Regions workspace using the pointer tool.
Delete Regions
To delete the selected region, use one of these methods.
Add Regions | InfoCaster 35
Lock Region
Size & Position
• Right-click on the region, then select Delete Region from the menu.
• Select Regions
>
Delete Region.
To prevent the selected region from being resized or repositioned, you can lock the region using one of these methods.
• Check the Lock Size and Position checkbox below the Regions workspace.
Adjust
Overlapping
Regions
Designate
Player
Permissions
Log Region
Playback
• Select Regions
>
Lock Region.
You can still switch to the Items window and edit content when a region is locked.
To unlock a region, remove the checkmark.
To change the layering order of regions in your page layout, use one of these methods.
• Drag the region up and down in the Tree View list. Drag the region up to move the region in front of other regions, or down to move the region behind other regions.
• Use the options in the Regions > Arrange Region menu.
If you purchased InfoCaster Player licences for additional sites, click on the
Region Permissions button below the Regions workspace. In the Region
Permissions dialog box, you can set which regions of the page the sites can modify.
To create a log file of all the times a region is aired, check the Log This
Region checkbox in the Details panel below the Regions workspace.
InfoCaster creates a log file that includes the player name, page name, region name, item name, start date, start time, stop date, stop time, and duration. A new log file is created each day, so the playback of an entire day is stored in one log file.
To view a log file, or change default log settings, such as the status of automatic logging, the log file location, or the number of days a log file is kept on your system, see “Log Output” on page 227.
36 Add Regions | InfoCaster
Preview Regions
As you add content to the regions of your page layout, you can view how your layout looks in the
Regions window in the following ways.
• Display only the region borders of the page layout. This is the standard view.
To display grid lines or the video safe title area, See “Display Grid Lines on
Regions Window” on page 27 or “Display
Safe Title Area” on page 26.
• Display the region borders with a still image representing the content within each region. Select Regions
>
Preview All
Regions.
Add Regions | InfoCaster 37
• Display the region borders with a still image in selected regions only. Select the region, then select Regions
>
Preview
Region.
To remove the still image display from a region, select the region, then deselect
Regions
>
Preview Region.
• Display each region with a still image representing the content but without region borders. Select Regions
>
Show Page
Without Adornments.
38 Add Regions | InfoCaster
Add Items to Regions
4. Add Item to Regions
Add Region Items Overview
Once you have drawn regions on a page in your InfoCast, you can add content to your regions.
Each region opens in the Items window. A unique set of content editors for each region type becomes available in the Items window. You use the content editors to create region items. You can add multiple items to a region. You can add a blank item to the region to make the region transparent during playback.
When you schedule the playback sequence for the region, you can set when you want each item to air in the region. For example, the video region in our example here plays a butterfly video clip followed by a space video clip.
40 Add Content | InfoCaster
Workflow
3
4
1
2
Open an InfoCast. See “Open an InfoCast” on page 5.
Add pages to the InfoCast. See “Add Pages to InfoCast” on page 13.
Add regions to the page. See “Add Regions to Page” on page 21.
Add content (region items) to each region. See “Open a Content
Editor” on page 44.
6
Output InfoCast
1
Open
InfoCast
2
Double-click on a page to add regions
3
Draw a region
4a
Double-click on a region to add content
4b
Open a content editor
4c
Add content
5
Set playback sequence
Add Content | InfoCaster 41
Open Region in Items Window
To add content to your regions, select the region that you want to add region items to, then switch to the Items window.
Select a Region
To select a region, use one of these methods.
• Click on the region in the Regions Library.
• Click on a region in the Tree View list.
• Click on a region in the Preview window. switch to Items window
42 Add Content | InfoCaster
select region in Tree View, Preview, or Regions window
Switch to Items
Window
To switch to the Items window, use one of these methods.
• With the region selected, click on the Items button on the main toolbar.
• Select Tools
>
Items.
• Double-click on the region in the Page Library, in the Tree View list, or in the Preview window.
• Select Regions
>
Edit Item Sequences to switch to the Items window to schedule the region’s playback sequence,
About the Items Window
The selected region opens in the Items window. The Items window contains the following components.
• List of content editors for that region type.
• Toolbar.
• Items Library that displays all the items in the region.
• Sequencer with options and its own toolbar.
Items toolbar
Content editor list Items Library Items Sequencer
Add Content | InfoCaster 43
Open a Content Editor
You use a content editor to add and edit region item content. Some region types have more than one content editor. You can add as many items as you want in a region.
To Add Items
1
2
3
Select a region in your InfoCast page layout, and switch to the Items window. See “Open Region in Items Window” on page 42 for details.
Select the content editor from the drop-down list in the Items window. Alternately, you can select Items
>
Add Item, then select the editor from the list.
Click on the Add button beside the content editor list. The content editor opens. A description of the editors for each region type is provided after the next section below. Also, each of the next 10 chapters documents a region type and all of the content editors that pertain to it.
Select content editor Click Add
About Blank
Items
Each editor list contains a Blank Item option. Select Blank Item to create a blank region item. Add the blank region item to your playback sequence to output no content for the set duration without otherwise interrupting your sequence. See “Schedule Playback Sequences” on page 193 for details on sequences.
44 Add Content | InfoCaster
To Edit Items
Still Editors
To open a content editor for the purpose of editing a region item, use one of these methods.
• Double-click on the item in the Item Library.
• Click on the item, then click on the Edit button in the Items window toolbar.
• Click on the item, then select Items
>
Edit Item With, and select the editor from the list.
The editor that was used to create the content opens.
There are four Still region content editors.
Title Quick Editor
Add text to a still region on your layout. The text can be text that you type in or text from an external data source. You can create as many lines of text as you want and are able to display at a time in the selected region. You can connect each line to a different data source. Format the item with a template or with custom settings. Add audio. See “Title Quick Editor” on page 59.
Table Quick Editor
Quickly display information from an external data source during output.
Link text lines in Still region items that were created in TitleMotion to columns of external data. See “Table Quick Editor” on page 61.
TitleMotion
Create a layout of text and graphics for your region item. You cannot adjust audio settings in TitleMotion. You can create templates in TitleMotion. The templates created in TitleMotion are available in the Quick Editors. See
“TitleMotion” on page 65.
Graphic Importer
Import a still image from a variety of file formats into the selected region.
You can set the graphic to fill the entire still region or to maintain the image aspect ratio. Attach audio to graphics using the audio options on the
Audio tab. See “Graphic Importer” on page 69.
Add Content | InfoCaster 45
Crawl Editors
Roll Editors
Add Blank Item
To make the region transparent during playback, add a blank item to the sequence. See “About Blank Items” on page 44.
Crawl Quick Editor
Create a simple line of crawling text in your
Crawl region. The text can be text that you type in or text from an external data source.
Link the text line in Crawl region items that were created in TitleMotion to external data.
See “Crawl Quick Editor” on page 81.
TitleMotion
Create a layout of text and graphics for your region item. You cannot adjust audio settings in TitleMotion. You can create templates in TitleMotion. The templates created in TitleMotion are available in the Quick Editors. See
“TitleMotion” on page 65.
Add Blank Item
To make the region transparent during playback, add a blank item to the sequence. See “About Blank Items” on page 44.
Roll Quick Editor
Create rolling text in your Roll region. The text can be text that you type in or text from an external data source. You can format with either a template or custom settings. See
“Roll Quick Editor” on page 86.
Table Quick Editor
Quickly display information from an external data source during output.
You can create as many columns of text as you want and are able to display at a time in the selected region. You can connect each column to a different data source. Link the text line in Roll region items that were created in
TitleMotion to columns of external data. See “Table Quick Editor” on page 88.
46 Add Content | InfoCaster
Animation
Editors
Digital Clock
Editors
TitleMotion
Create a layout of text and graphics for your region item. You cannot adjust audio settings in TitleMotion. You can create templates in TitleMotion. The templates created in TitleMotion are available in the Quick Editors. See
“TitleMotion” on page 65.
Add Blank Item
To make the region transparent during playback, add a blank item to the sequence. See “About Blank Items” on page 44.
TitleMotion
Use TitleMotion’s CG module to create your layout that consists of text and graphics.
Then, switch to TitleMotion’s Animation module to add motion to your objects. You can create as many lines of text as you want and are able to display at a time in the selected region. You can connect each line to a different data source in the Animation Quick Editor. See
“TitleMotion” on page 65.
Animation Quick Editor
Quickly edit text in animations that you created in TitleMotion. You can connect each line that you created in TitleMotion to a different data source.
Set audio options. See “Animation Quick Editor” on page 92.
Animation Importer
Import an animation into the selected region. Attach or adjust audio using the audio options on the Audio tab. See “Animation Importer” on page 94.
Add Blank Item
To make the region transparent during playback, add a blank item to the sequence. See “About Blank Items” on page 44.
Digital Clock Quick Editor
Create real-time clocks displaying local or offset time. The time display is based on your computer clock. See “Digital Clock
Quick Editor” on page 100.
Add Content | InfoCaster 47
Video Editors
Analog Clock
Editor
Audio Editor
Digital Timer Quick Editor
Create a digital timer that counts up or down. Display the day, month, and date. See “Digital Timer Quick Editor” on page 103.
Add Blank Item
To make the region transparent during playback, add a blank item to the sequence. See “About Blank Items” on page 44.
Video Clip Quick Editor
Import a video file into the selected region.
See “Video Clip Quick Editor” on page 108.
Live Video Quick Editor
Set the region to display live video. See “Live Video Quick Editor” on page 113.
Add Blank Item
To make the region transparent during playback, add a blank item to the sequence. See “About Blank Items” on page 44.
Analog Clock Quick Editor
Use the Analog Clock Quick Editor to import an analog clock into your layout. By default, the time displayed by the clock is the local time provided by your computer clock. See “Analog Clock Items Overview” on page 120.
Add Blank Item
To make the region transparent during playback, add a blank item to the sequence. See “About Blank Items” on page 44.
Audio Quick Editor
Use the Audio Quick Editor to add audio to the page layout to play when you output the audio region. Adjust the volume, add a delay, and select a frequency (Play Once or
Loop). See “Add Audio” on page 75.
48 Add Content | InfoCaster
Temperature
Probe Editor
Add Blank Item
To make the region transparent during playback, add a blank item to the sequence. See “About Blank Items” on page 44.
Temperature Probe Quick Editor
If you have a temperature probe connected to your system, use the Temperature Probe
Quick Editor to display current temperature readings in your layout. Format the item with custom settings.
Add Blank Item
To make the region transparent during playback, add a blank item to the sequence. See “About Blank Items” on page 44.
Add Content | InfoCaster 49
Add Content with the Editor
Use the options on the content editor that you selected to add content to your region, to format the content, and to attach audio to the region item when available.
The next 10 chapters describe the content editors for each region type. Refer to the following 10 chapters for details on using the content editors.
• For Still Regions, see “Add Still Items” on page 55.
• For Crawl Regions, see “Add Crawl Items” on page 79.
• For Roll Regions, see “Add Roll Items” on page 83.
• For Animation Regions, see “Add Animation Items” on page 89.
• For Digital Clock Regions, see “Add Digital Clocks” on page 97.
• For Video Regions, see “Add Video Items” on page 105.
• For Analog Clock Regions, see “Add Analog Clocks” on page 119.
• For Audio Regions, see “Add Audio” on page 75.
• For Inca Port Regions, see “Add Inca Port Content” on page 144
• For Temperature Probe Regions, see “Add a Temperature” on page 145.
Your content (region item) is added to the Item Library.
50 Add Content | InfoCaster
Automatically
Add Items to the Sequence
Add More
Items
About External
Data Sources
You can set InfoCaster to automatically add new region items to the end of the currently selected sequence.
Check the Auto Add to Sequence checkbox in the item’s content editor.
This is a global setting that applies to all content editors. Selecting the checkbox in one content editor applies the setting to all editors.
To add another item to the same region, select a content editor, then click on the Add button on the toolbar. Add content in the editor that opens.
You can create more region items in the same region when you want the content in that region to change during output. The items can loop during playback. For example, you could add multiple items to a still region displaying movie titles and times. The movie items would loop continuously, displaying one list of movie times followed by the next list of movie times.
You can link text lines in still, crawl, roll, and animation region items to the following types of external data sources. For instructions on how to link to an external data source see “Use External Data Sources” on page 152.
• A text (.txt) file on your hard drive.
• An HTTP or FTP page on the internet.
• Text from an XML/RSS source on the internet.
• Text from an ODBC data source.
About Data Tags
Every text line in a Still, Crawl, Roll, or Animation region item that you create in a Quick Editor or TitleMotion editor contains a data tag. A data tag is a name label that InfoCaster uses to link the text line to an external data source.
During output, the selected content of the external data source is displayed in the text line. External text displays one entry at a time for stills and animations. You set the item duration and transition using the options in the sequence list, as explained in “Schedule Playback Sequences” on page 193. Rolls and crawls gradually display all the selected entries from the external data source as the item moves across the screen.
A Crawl item contains only one text line or data tag. A Still, Roll, and
Animation region item can contain more than one text line, each with its own data tag. Each text line can be linked to a different data source.
View Data Tags
By default,TitleMotion displays the data tags in the workspace.
Add Content | InfoCaster 51
To display the data tags in a Quick
Editor, check the Show Tags checkbox on the Content tab. The tags are displayed to the left of the text fields in the editor.
Data Tag Names
By default, InfoCaster names the data tags as follows.
• The Quick Editors name the data tags Line 1, Line 2, and so on.
• The Table Quick Editor, which is available for stills and rolls, names the cells using the row/column protocol, 1-1, 1-2, 2-1, 2-2, and so on.
• TitleMotion automatically names the data tags in Still and Animation items “Line1”, “Line2”, and so on, and names data tags in rolls and crawls
“1-”, and so on. To link text lines in a Still or Animation item created in
TitleMotion to more than one column of your external data, the data tags names of your text lines must follow row/column protocol, 1-1, 1-2, 2-1, 2-
2, and so on. You cannot edit tag names saved in a template.
52 Add Content | InfoCaster
Change Item
Display
To save space in the Items window, you can change the size of the items displayed in the Item Library and in the Items Sequence list.
Change Display of Item Library
To change the size of the items displayed in the Item Library, select Items
>
Show Item Library As, then select one of the following.
Large Thumbnails
Small Thumbnails
Text Only
Change Display of Items Sequencer
To change the size of the items displayed in the Items Sequence list, see
“Change Sequence Display” on page 209.
Duplicate Item
To create a copy of the entire item:
1
2
Select the region item in the Item Library.
Click on the Duplicate button on the Items toolbar. Alternately, you can select Items
>
Duplicate Item.
If you can’t see the button, change the size of the Sequence list by clicking on the Brief
View button (double arrows) above the Sequence Settings. See
“Change Sequence Display” on page 209 for details.
Add Content | InfoCaster 53
Rename Item
Delete Item
Preview
Regions Layout
1
2
3
Select the region item in the Item Library.
Click on the Rename button on the Items toolbar.
If you can’t see the button, change the size of the
Sequence list by clicking on the Brief View button
(double arrows) above the Sequence Settings. See
“Change Sequence Display” on page 209 for details.
In the Rename Item dialog box that opens, rename the item.
To permanently delete an item from a region, right-click on the region item in the Item Library, then select Delete
Item from the menu that comes up.
Alternately, you can select Items
>
Delete Item in Library.
To delete an item from your region sequence, see “Delete
Items from Sequence” on page 204.
To preview a still image of your region items in a page layout, see “Preview
Regions” on page 37.
54 Add Content | InfoCaster
Add Still Items
Add Still Items
Still Items Overview
Still regions play non-moving text and/or graphics, such as titles or logos, in a region. You can enter text or connect each text line to a data source. For instructions on creating and linking to an external data source, see “Use External Data Sources” on page 152.
There are four still region content editors. This chapter contains instructions on how to use them.
Note that because crawl, roll, and animation regions use similar editors, this chapter refers to them when required.
• Title Quick Editor
Add text to a still region on your layout. The data can be text that you type in or text from one column of an external data source.
You can create as many lines of text as you are able to display at a time in the selected region. You can connect each line to one column of different data sources.
Add text on the Content tab.
Format the item on the Formatting tab. Add audio on the Audio tab.
See “Title Quick Editor” on page 59.
• Table Quick Editor
Quickly display information from multiple columns of an external data source during output. Add content on the Content tab. Format headers on the Headers tab. Format content font on the Font Formatting tab. Add audio to the region item on the
Audio tab. See “Table Quick Editor” on page 61.
• TitleMotion
Create a layout that consists of text and graphics for your region item.
56 Add Still Items | InfoCaster
Your text content can be text that you type in or text that you link to from an external data source. You create the layout in TitleMotion, but apply the links in the Table
Quick Editor.
To add text or graphic content, select a tool from the Tools palette on the right side of the screen. The first row of tools are for text. The other tools draw graphics.
Then, enter your text or drag your mouse in the workspace to draw your shape.
Format your content using the tabs below the workspace. You cannot add audio in TitleMotion.
You can create templates in
TitleMotion that become available in the Quick Editors. See “TitleMotion” on page 65.
• Graphic Importer
Import a still image from a variety of file formats into the selected region. You can set the graphic to fill the entire Still region or maintain the image aspect ratio. Add content on the Content tab.
Add audio on the Audio tab. See
“Graphic Importer” on page 69.
• Add Blank Item
To make the region transparent during playback, add a blank item to the sequence. See “About Blank Items” on page 44.
Add Still Items | InfoCaster 57
Workflow
1
2
3
4
Draw a still region in the Regions window.
Switch to the Items window and add (or edit) content.
Format the content or apply other options as desired. You can import audio to play when the item is on-air.
Save the content.
58 Add Still Items | InfoCaster
Title Quick Editor
Select the Title Quick Editor to add non-moving text in your region item. Titles can include multiple lines of text.
Add content on the Content tab. Format the content with a template or with custom settings on the
Formatting tab. Add audio on the Audio tab.
Open Content
Editor
Enter Text in the Title Quick
Editor
2
3
Open the Title Quick Editor from the Items window.
1
Double-click on a still region in the Regions window to switch to the
Items window.
Select the Title Quick Editor from the content editor drop-down list.
Click the Add button to add a new region item.
If you want to edit an existing region item, select the item in the Items window, select the editor and click the Edit button.
To add text in the Title Quick Editor directly, type the text in the Text box on the Content tab.
• For details on formatting your text, see “Format Text” on page 72.
• For details on linking your title text to a text file, an XML/RSS data feed, or an ODBC data source, see “External Data Sources” on page 151.
Add Still Items | InfoCaster 59
Add Multiple
Lines of Title
Text
Add text lines to display multiple lines of text on output.
1
2
To add text lines, place your cursor in the text box, then press the ENTER key.
Press ENTER again to add another line.
To view the data tags, check the Show Tags checkbox. Each line of text in the Title Quick Editor is labeled with a data tag. Data tags are used to link to external data sources. The external data feature if flexible, so you can link one or all of your text lines to an external data source.
For details on linking your title text to a text file, an XML/RSS data feed, or an ODBC data source, see “External Data Sources” on page 151.
Remove a Text
Line
To remove a line of text in the Title Quick Editor, select the text in the text box and press BACKSPACE to delete the text. When the text box is empty, press BACKSPACE again to delete the line.
Add a Log Note
To add a log note to the item, click the Log Note button on the Content tab. The Log Note window allows you to enter information to record in the playback log every time the item plays.
Enter any notes about the item in the text box without pressing ENTER, and then click Save. The note is displayed in the log file each time the item plays.
To view the current day’s log file, select Tools > Log Viewer. The log viewer opens displaying the current log file. To open a different day’s log file, select File > Open in the Log Viewer.
Save Content
Click on the Save button in the content editor to add the content to the item in the layout.
Note:
You can create your own templates in TitleMotion.
Next, switch to the Audio tab to play audio with your content. Save your work in the editor. Set up your playback sequence, as explained in
“Schedule Playback Overview” on page 194.
60 Add Still Items | InfoCaster
Table Quick Editor
Select the Table Quick Editor to quickly create columns for external data in your still or roll region item. You can connect each line to a different data source. See “About External Data Sources” on page 51 for details.
Add content on the Content tab. Format headers on the Headers tab. Format column rows on the Row
Formatting tab. Add audio to the region item on the Audio tab.
Open Content
Editor
Set Column and
Header
Options
2
3
Open the Table Quick Editor from the Items window.
1
Double-click on a still region in the Regions window to switch to the
Items window.
Select the Table Quick Editor from the content editor drop-down list.
Click the Add button to add a new region item.
If you want to edit an existing region item, select the item in the Items window, select the editor and click the Edit button.
Set up your columns and heading display options on the Content tab.
Add Still Items | InfoCaster 61
1
In the Number of Columns field on the Content tab, enter the number of columns you want your table to contain.
4
select text source
3
select Setup Data Source
2
select column heading
1
enter number of columns you want
2
3
Select the header options.
• To use the first row of data in each column of your database as the column header, select the Use First Entry from Database option.
• To create your own custom column headings, select the Custom option. The Column options are enabled.
If you selected the Custom option, select a column from the Column item list and then enter a name for the column in the Header field.
Repeat this step for each column header you want to label.
62 Add Still Items | InfoCaster
4
To display your column headings on output, switch to the Headers tab and check the Show Header checkbox.
Set Header
Formatting
Options
1
2
Use the options on the Header tab to set the heading display options.
3
4
5
Switch to the Headers tab.
Check the Show Header checkbox to enable the formatting options and set the header to display on output.
Check the Space Below Header checkbox to add extra space between the bottom of the header and the top of the first column row. This space is added to the amount of leading that is set on the Row
Formatting tab.
Enter the number of pixels in the Space Below Header item box. This adds the amount of space (in pixels) that you enter between teh bottom of the header and the top of the first column row.
Use the standard formatting options on the Headers tab to set the display options for your heading text.
For a description of the standard formatting options see “Apply
Custom Formatting Options” on page 72.
Set Row
Formatting
Options
1
2
Use the options on the Row Formatting tab to set the row display options.
3
4
Switch to the Row Formatting tab.
Use the padding options to set the space (in pixels) above and below
(Vert) or to the left and right (Horiz) of the text. Enter a number in the
Vert or Horiz fields to se tthe vertical or horizontal padding.
Use the Custom Widths bar to adjust the width of the columns. By default, columns are spaced evenly. Drag a column separator to customize the width of the columns in your table.
Use the standard formattiong options on the Row Formatting tab to set the display options for your row text.
For a description of the standard formatting options see “Apply
Custom Formatting Options” on page 72.
Link to External
Data Source
In the Table Quick Editor, use the Setup Data Source button to link to your external data source. For details on linking your table to a text file, an XML/
RSS data feed, or an ODBC data source see “Use External Data Sources” on page 152.
Add a Log Note
To add a log note to the item, click the Log Note button on the Content tab. The Log Note window allows you to enter information to record in the playback log every time the item plays.
Add Still Items | InfoCaster 63
Save Content
Enter any notes about the item in the text box without pressing ENTER, and then click Save. The note is displayed in the log file each time the item plays.
To view the current day’s log file, select Tools > Log Viewer. The log viewer opens displaying the current log file. To open a different day’s log file, select File > Open in the Log Viewer.
Click on the Save button in the content editor to add the content to the item in the layout.
64 Add Still Items | InfoCaster
TitleMotion
TitleMotion is a full-featured, broadcast quality character generator that you can use to create highend titles, rolls, crawls and animations. You can use the templates provided in TitleMotion or create your own templates for still, crawl and roll items. You cannot attach audio to TitleMotion items.
2
select template
(optional)
3
select Text or
Graphic plane
1
select item in playlist
Open Content
Editor
5
format content with tab options add content with
Tools Palette options
4
Open TitleMotion from the Items window.
1
2
Double-click on a still, roll, crawl or animation region in the Regions window to switch to the Items window.
Select TitleMotion from the content editor drop-down list.
Add Still Items | InfoCaster 65
Add
TitleMotion
Content
3
Click the Add button to add a new region item.
If you want to edit an existing region item, select the item in the Items window, select the editor and click the Edit button.
To create a still, crawl, roll or animation in TitleMotion:
1
2
Select the type of content you want to create (Still,
Crawl, Roll, or Animation) from the list at the top of the screen.
Enter the text in the main workspace. Make sure that the Text plane button is selected.
3
Use the tabs below the workspace to format the text.
4
To add graphics, click on the Graphics plane button at the top of the screen. Use the tools in the Tools palette on the right side of the screen to draw.
5
To create an animation, click on the animation button at the top of the screen to switch to the Animation Editor (FX).
Select File
>
Save. TitleMotion closes.
6
See the TitleMotion Essentials manual that came with InfoCaster or refer to
TitleMotion’s Online Help menu for further information on using
TitlemMotion.
66 Add Still Items | InfoCaster
Edit Content in TitleMotion or in Content Editor
After you add TitleMotion content to the TitleMotion item, you can edit the content of the TitleMotion item in TitleMotion or in a Content Editor.
• To edit the content in the TitleMotion application, right-click on the
TitleMotion item in InfoCaster, then select Edit with TitleMotion from the list.
• To edit the content with the Title, Roll, Crawl, or Animation Quick
Editor, right-click on the TitleMotion item, then select Edit Item with
(Title, Roll, Crawl, or Animation) Quick Editor from the list. The commands in the list vary according to the type of item you create in
TitleMotion.
Note:
The Formatting tab in the (Title, Roll, Crawl, or Animation)
Quick Editor is not available when you open the Editor from a
TitleMotion item. Format the text in TitleMotion.
Create a Template
Use TitleMotion to create a template for your still, crawl, or roll items in
InfoCaster. Once you export the template file you can select the file as your template in the InfoCaster content editors. You can apply templates to title, crawl, and roll items.
1
2
Add text in your TitleMotion workspace. If you are creating a template for your still, crawl, or roll items, make sure you have the right layout-type selected from the list in
TitleMotion.
Use the tabs below the workspace window to apply formatting options to your text. The formatting options are saved with your template and are applied to your InfoCaster items when you select the template.
3
4
5
Select File
>
Export
>
Export ICG File.
In the Save As dialog, save your template file.
Exit TitleMotion.
Format InfoCaster
Item with
Template
Use the template file to apply consistent formatting to your InfoCaster items. You can apply templates to title, crawl, and roll items.
1
In the InfoCaster layout, double-click on the crawl, roll, or still item.
Add Still Items | InfoCaster 67
TitleMotion
Documentation
2
3
In the (Title, Roll, or Crawl) Quick Editor, switch to the Formatting tab and select the Template option.
In thedrop-down list, select an .icg template file. The formatting from the template file is applied to the current item.
TitleMotion comes with its own set of documentation that is separate from the InfoCaster material. If you would like more information on using
TitleMotion, see the TitleMotion Essentials PDF file that came with
InfoCaster or refer to TitleMotion’s Online Help.
68 Add Still Items | InfoCaster
Graphic Importer
Use the Graphic Importer to import a still image (graphic file) from a local drive or from a HTTP or
FTP site.
.
Open Content
Editor
Open Image from Hard
Drive
Open the Graphic Importer from the Items window.
2
3
1
Double-click on a still region in the Regions window to switch to the
Items window.
Select the Graphic Importer from the content editor drop-down list.
Click the Add button to add a new region item.
If you want to edit an existing region item, select the item in the Items window, select the editor and click the Edit button.
1
2
Complete the following steps if the image is located on your hard drive.
3
4
Click on the Choose button on the Content tab.
In the Browsing Options dialog box, select the Local Files Browsing option and then click OK.
In the Open dialog box select your image file and click Open.
Click on Open.
The filename is displayed on the Content tab in the text box next to the
Choose button.
Add Still Items | InfoCaster 69
Open Image from Internet
1
2
Complete the following steps if the image is located on an HTTP or FTP site.
3
4
5
6
7
Click on the Choose button on the Content tab.
In the Browsing Options dialog box, select the HTTP/FTP Files
Browsing option and then click OK.
In the Internet File
Browser dialog box enter the address of the HTTP or FTP site in the Current
Path box. The address must start with http://or ftp://.
Log onto the site with one of the following options:
• If the site permits anonymous login, select the Anonymous option.
• If the site requires a name and password, select the Name option, then enter a Name and
Password.
Click on the Go button next to the Current Path box to go to that site.
The files that are available on the HTTP or FTP site are displayed in the lower portion of the dialog box. Select the graphic file you want.
Click on OK.
Scale Image to
Fill Region
To set the image to fill the entire region, select the Scale to Fill Region checkbox. Filling the region may increase or decrease the size of the original graphic, causing some distortion.
Use the Maintain Aspect Ratio option to set the graphic to scale to the largest possibile size without changing the aspect ratio of the original graphic.
Update Image
To set the image to be updated when the source file in the referenced location changes, select the Update when Source Changes checkbox.
Add a Log Note
To add a log note to the item, click the Log Note button on the Content tab. The Log Note window allows you to enter information to record in the playback log every time the item plays.
70 Add Still Items | InfoCaster
Save Content
Enter any notes about the item in the text box without pressing ENTER, and then click Save. The note is displayed in the log file each time the item plays.
To view the current day’s log file, select Tools > Log Viewer. The log viewer opens displaying the current log file. To open a different day’s log file, select File > Open in the Log Viewer.
Click on the Save button in the content editor to add the content to the item in the layout.
Add Still Items | InfoCaster 71
Format Text
Use the content editors to format the display of your item text. Depending on the item type, text formatting includes font, size, spacing, alignment, position, shadow, and background options.
Open Content
Editor
2
3
1
Double-click on a region in the Regions window to switch to the
Items window.
Select a content editor from the content editor drop-down list.
Click the Add button to add a new region item.
If you want to edit an existing region item, select the item in the Items window, select the editor and click the Edit button.
Apply Custom
Formatting
Options
1
2
3
All items share the same standard formatting options. The options may change slightly depending on the item type.
Switch to the Formatting tab.
Select the Custom option.
Apply the formatting options to your text.
See the following table for a description of the options.
72 Add Still Items | InfoCaster
Formatting
Option
Font
Size
B i u
Tracking
Width
Opacity
Color
Function
Lists all the available fonts for your text. Select a font to apply the font to the text.
Sets the size of the text.
Applies bold formatting.
Applies italicized formatting.
Applies underline formatting.
Sets the space between characters.
Sets the width of the characters. By default, text is set at 100% of its normal width. Increase the volue to expand the text and decrease the value to compress the text.
Sets the text opacity. Zero is completely transparent and 100 is completely opaque.
Sets the text color.Click the color chip to open the Color Picker. Select a new color for the text face using the Color
Picker tools.
Leading
Position:
Top, Left
Sets the amount of space between lines in your roll or title.
Positions the text within the region box. Enter a number in the Top position field to move the text X number of pixels from the top of the region. Enter a number in the Left position field to move the text X number of pixels from the left side of the region.
(To position the region item within the page layout, see “Reposition (Move) Regions” on page 35.)
Positions the crawl text at the top, middle, or bottom of the region. This option is for crawls only.
Position:
Top, Middle,
Bottom
Alignment:
Left, Centre,
Right
Aligns the text to the left, center, or right-side of the item box.
Add Still Items | InfoCaster 73
Edge Adds an edge to the text. Click on the Color chip to select the edge color.
(Edge) Width Sets the edge width.
Formatting
Option
Function
(Edge) Color Sets the edge color.
Background
(Background)
Opacity field
Adds a background to the region. Click on the
Color chip to select color.
Sets background color opacity. Zero is completely transparent and 100 is completely opaque.
Sets background color.
(Background)
Color
Shadow checkbox
(Shadow)
Custom button
Adds a shadow to the text.
Sets the shadow distance, softness, opacity, color and position.
Apply Template
Formatting
You can apply formatting from a TitleMotion template to your title, crawl and roll items.
1
2
In the Title, Roll or Crawl Quick Editor, switch to the Formatting tab and select the From File option.
In the next dialog box, select the .icg template file. The formatting from the template file is applied to the current item.
74 Add Still Items | InfoCaster
Add Audio
You can add audio to your region items or you can add audio directly to your layout. When you add audio to your layout, the audio plays independently from the other content in the layout. You can import an audio .wav, mp3, or wm2 file.
Add Audio to
Layout
1
2
3
4
5
Adding audio to your layout allows you to play an audio file independently from all other layout items.
To add audio to your layout, select the Audio region tool
Draw an audio region on your layout.
Double-click on the audio region to switch to the Items window.
Select the Audio Editor from the content editor drop-down list.
Click the Add button to add a new region item.
Apply Audio
Options
You can apply audio to the audio region item or to any item in your layout.
• To apply audio to an independent audio region, double-click on the region and open the Audio Editor from the Items window.
• To apply audio to a region item, double-click on the region in the
Regions window, select the region item in the Items window, select a content editor and click the Edit button. In the content editor, switch to the Audio tab.
Add Still Items | InfoCaster 75
.
76 Add Still Items | InfoCaster
Option Description
Enable Audio checkbox
Enables the audio options, to add audio to the region item.
Choose Launches the Open dialog where you can choose your audio file.
Shared Media Enables the shared media option, to put the audio file in a central location for shared referencing.
Then, select the shared media location from the drop-down list.
Shared Media
Folder list
Level
Sets the shared media location from the following options.
• All. Adds the file to the default location
C:\Shared Media, which is set in Preferences. See
“Store Shared Media Files In” on page 230.
• Audio. Adds the file to a sub-folder called Audio under C:\Shared Media.
• Type in a sub-folder name to create a new subfolder under C:\Shared Media. Adds the file to the new sub-folder.
Adjusts the volume for the audio. Audio levels range from zero to 100. Zero mutes the audio completely. One is the lowest audible level and 100 is the highest.
Delay Delays the audio playback from the start of the region item by the set time, measured in hours:minutes:seconds.
Play Once
Loop
Sets the audio file to play once and then stop.
Sets the audio file to continue playing while the region item is on air.
The audio plays whenever the region item plays in the sequence. Once the region item stops playing, the sound stops.
Preview button Plays the audio file so you can hear the audio before sending it to air.
Enable Audio
Ducking checkbox
Sets the audio to trigger a reduction in the audio level of other items that are currently playing. The trigger occurs when the item is played.
You can set the audio ducking level on the General tab in the Preferences dialog (Edit > Preferences).
Add a Log Note
To add a log note to the item, click the Log Note button on the Content tab. The Log Note window allows you to enter information to record in the playback log every time the item plays.
Enter any notes about the item in the text box without pressing ENTER, and then click Save. The note is displayed in the log file each time the item plays.
To view the current day’s log file, select Tools > Log Viewer. The log viewer opens displaying the current log file. To open a different day’s log file, select File > Open in the Log Viewer.
Save Content
Click on the Save button in the content editor to add the content to the item in the layout.
Add Still Items | InfoCaster 77
78 Add Still Items | InfoCaster
Add Crawl Items
Add Crawl Items
Crawl Items Overview
Crawl regions move text and graphics horizontally across the region. You can add text and text separators and set the crawl speed and direction. For instructions on creating and linking to an external data source, see “Use External Data Sources” on page 152.
Note that the following characters cannot be used twice consecutively in crawls: @, #, $, ^, or &.
There are two crawl region content editors. This chapter contains instructions on how to use them.
• Crawl Quick Editor
Create a simple line of crawling text in your crawl region that displays text that you type in or text from an external data source. Add text on the
Content tab. Format the item with a template or with custom settings on the Formatting tab. Add audio on the Audio tab. See “Crawl Quick
Editor” on page 81.
• Add Blank Item
Make the region transparent during playback. See “About Blank Items” on page 44.
• TitleMotion
TitleMotion is a full-featured, broadcast quality character generator that you can use to create high-end titles, rolls, crawls and animations. See “Add TitleMotion Content” on page 66 for details.
Workflow
1
2
3
4
Draw crawl region in Regions window.
Switch to Items window and add (or edit) content.
Format the content or apply other options as desired. You can import audio to play when the item is on-air.
Save the content.
80 Add Crawl Items | InfoCaster
Crawl Quick Editor
Use the Crawl Quick Editor to add text and text separators and add a log note.
Add content on the Content tab. Format the content on the Formatting tab. Add audio on the Audio tab.
Add Crawl
Content in the
Crawl Quick
Editor
Add Text
Separator
To add text in the Crawl Quick Editor directly, type the text in the Text box on the Content tab.
Note that the following characters cannot be used twice consecutively in crawls: @, #, $, ^, or &.
• For details on linking your crawl text to a text file, an XML/RSS data feed, or an ODBC data source, see “External Data Sources” on page 151.
• For details on formatting your crawl text, see “Format Text” on page 72.
1
2
To add a video clip, animation, or graphic and up to three other predetermined characters and/or a scalable graphic image before each text entry of your crawl item, do the following:
Check the Crawl Prefix checkbox on the Content tab.
Click the Setup button.
Add Crawl Items | InfoCaster 81
3
In the Crawl Prefix dialog box that opens, use the four drop-down lists to select up to four items. For example, to place two items in front of your crawl text, select an item from the first list and an item from the second list.
Each of the last three lists contain the following options:
• Nothing
• Graphic (Then, select the file in the Open dialog box.)
• Space
• Period ( . )
• Comma ( , )
• Hyphen ( - )
• Ellipsis ( ... )
Add a Log Note
To add a log note to the item, click the Log Note button on the Content tab. The Log Note window allows you to enter information to record in the playback log every time the item plays.
Enter any notes about the item in the text box without pressing ENTER, and then click Save. The note is displayed in the log file each time the item plays.
To view the current day’s log file, select Tools
>
Log Viewer. The log viewer opens displaying the current log file. To open a different day’s log file, select File
>
Open in the Log Viewer.
Save Content
Click on the Save button in the content editor to add the content to the item in the layout.
82 Add Crawl Items | InfoCaster
Add Roll Items
Add Roll Items
Roll Items Overview
Roll regions scroll text and graphics up or down the region.
You can add text or connect to a data source. For instructions on creating and linking to an external data source, see “Use External Data Sources” on page 152.
You can change the speed of your rolls and set rolls to move up or down. See “Set Item Settings” on page 206 for details on using the Sequence settings.
To change the default direction of all rolls, see “Default Roll Direction” on page 230.
There are three Roll region content editors. This chapter contains instructions on how to use them.
• Roll Quick Editor
Create rolling text in your roll region that displays text that you type in or text from an external data source.
Add text on the Content tab.
Format the item with a template or with custom settings on the
Formatting tab. Add audio on the
Audio tab.
See “Roll Quick Editor” on page 86.
• Table Quick Editor
Quickly display information from an external data source during output.
Add content on the Content tab.
Format headers on the Headers tab.
Format content font on the Font
Formatting tab. Add audio to the region item on the Audio tab.
See “Table Quick Editor” on page 88.
• TitleMotion
TitleMotion is a full-featured, broadcast quality character generator that you can use to create high-end titles, rolls, crawls and animations.
See “Add TitleMotion Content” on page 66 for details.
84 Add Roll Items | InfoCaster
• Add Blank Item
To make the region transparent during playback, add a blank item to the sequence. See “About
Blank Items” on page 44.
Workflow
1
2
3
4
Draw a roll region in the Regions window.
Switch to the Items window and add (or edit) content.
Format the content or apply other options as desired. You can import audio to play when the item is on-air.
Save the content.
Add Roll Items | InfoCaster 85
Roll Quick Editor
Select the Roll Quick Editor to create rolling text in your region item that displays text that you type in or text from an external data source. For instructions on creating and linking to an external data source, see “Use External Data Sources” on page 152.
Add content on the Content tab. Format the content on the Formatting tab. Add audio on the Audio tab.
Open Content
Editor
Add Roll
Content in the
Roll Quick
Editor
2
3
Open the Roll Quick Editor from the Items window.
1
Double-click on a roll region in the Regions window to switch to the
Items window.
Select the Roll Quick Editor from the content editor drop-down list.
Click the Add button to add a new region item.
If you want to edit an existing region item, select the item in the Items window, select the editor and click the Edit button.
To add text in the Roll Quick Editor directly, type the text in the Text box on the Content tab.
• For details on linking your roll text to a text file, an XML/RSS data feed, or an ODBC data source, see “External Data Sources” on page 151.
• For details on formatting your roll text, see “Format Text” on page 72.
86 Add Roll Items | InfoCaster
Add a Log Note
To add a log note to the item, click the Log Note button on the Content tab. The Log Note window allows you to enter information to record in the playback log every time the item plays.
Enter any notes about the item in the text box without pressing ENTER, and then click Save. The note is displayed in the log file each time the item plays.
To view the current day’s log file, select Tools > Log Viewer. The log viewer opens displaying the current log file. To open a different day’s log file, select File > Open in the Log Viewer.
Save Content
Click on the Save button in the content editor to add the content to the item in the layout.
Add Roll Items | InfoCaster 87
Table Quick Editor
Select the Table Quick Editor to quickly create columns for external data in your region item. For instructions on creating and linking to an external data source, see “Use External Data Sources” on page 152.
Add content on the Content tab. Format headers on the Headers tab. Format column rows on the Row
Formatting tab. Add audio to the region item on the Audio tab.
The Table Quick Editor for roll regions is identical to the Table Quick Editor for still regions. For complete instructions on adding content to a roll region using the Table Quick Editor, refer to “Table
Quick Editor” on page 61.
Open Content
Editor
2
3
Open the Table Quick Editor from the Items window.
1
Double-click on a roll region in the Regions window to switch to the
Items window.
Select the Table Quick Editor from the content editor drop-down list.
Click the Add button to add a new region item.
If you want to edit an existing region item, select the item in the Items window, select the editor and click the Edit button.
Refer to “Table Quick Editor” on page 61 for complete instructions on additiong content to your roll region item using the Table Quick Editor.
88 Add Roll Items | InfoCaster
Add Animation Items
Add Animation Items
Animation Items Overview
Animation regions play animated text and graphics.
The text can be text that you type in or text from an external data source. See “About External Data
Sources” on page 51 for details.
You can create as many lines of text as you want and are able to display at a time in the selected region. You can connect each line to a different data source.
There are 3 Animation region content editors. This chapter contains instructions on how to use them.
• TitleMotion
TitleMotion is a full-featured, broadcast quality character generator that you can use to create high-end titles, rolls, crawls and animations. See “Add TitleMotion Content” on page 66 for details.
• Animation Quick Editor
Quickly edit the text in animations that you created in TitleMotion, to link to an external data source, and to set audio options. You cannot add an animation with the Animation Quick
Editor.
Add text on the Content tab. Add audio on the Audio tab. Format the content in TitleMotion. See
“Animation Quick Editor” on page 92.
• Animation Importer
Import an animation into the selected region. Attach or adjust audio using the audio options on the Audio tab.
See “Animation Importer” on page 94.
• Add Blank Item
90 Add Animation Items | InfoCaster
To make the region transparent during playback, add a blank item to the sequence. See “About
Blank Items” on page 44.
Note that animations play back at the frame rate of the playback device.
• ATI: 1 second = 60 frames
• NTSC: 1 second = 30 frames
• PAL: 1 second = 25 frames
Workflow
1
2
3
4
Draw an animation region in the Regions window.
Switch to the Items window and add (or edit) content.
Format the content or apply other options as desired. You can import audio to play when the item is on-air.
Save the content.
Add Animation Items | InfoCaster 91
Animation Quick Editor
Select the Animation Quick Editor to edit the text in animations that you created in TitleMotion. You can also link animation text to an external data source, and set audio options.
To use the Animation Quick Editor, create an animation in TitleMotion, as explained in the
TitleMotion manual that came with your InfoCaster product or in the TitleMotion online help. Then, edit the animation in the Animation Quick Editor. You cannot add an animation with the Animation
Quick Editor.
Add text on the Content tab. Add audio on the Audio tab. To format the content, use TitleMotion.
Open Content
Editor
Enter Text in
Animation
Quick Editor
2
3
Open the Animation Quick Editor from the Items window.
1
4
Double-click on an animation region in the Regions window to switch to the Items window.
Select an item in the Items window.
Select the Animation Quick Editor from the content editor drop-down list.
Click the Edit button.
To add text in the Animation Quick Editor directly, type the text in the Text box on the Content tab.
• For details on formatting your text, see “Format Text” on page 72.
• For details on linking your animation text to a text file, an XML/RSS data feed or an ODBC data source, see “External Data Sources” on page 151.
92 Add Animation Items | InfoCaster
Format Content
Use the options on the Formatting tab to set the text display options. For a description of the standard formatting options see “Format Text” on page 72.
Add Audio
See “Add Audio” on page 75 for details on importing audio to play with the item.
Add a Log Note
To add a log note to the item, click the Log Note button on the Content tab. The Log Note window allows you to enter information to record in the playback log every time the item plays.
Enter any notes about the item in the text box without pressing ENTER, and then click Save. The note is displayed in the log file each time the item plays.
To view the current day’s log file, select Tools > Log Viewer. The log viewer opens displaying the current log file. To open a different day’s log file, select File > Open in the Log Viewer.
Save Content
Click on the Save button in the content editor to add the content to the item in the layout.
Add Animation Items | InfoCaster 93
Animation Importer
Use the Animation Importer to import an animation file into the selected region. Attach or adjust audio using the audio options on the Audio tab.
Open Content
Editor
2
3
Open the Animation Importer from the Items window.
1
Double-click on an animation region in the Regions window to switch to the Items window.
Select the Animation Importer from the content editor drop-down list.
Click the Add button to add a new region item.
If you want to edit an existing region item, select the item in the Items window, select the editor and click the Edit button.
Open
Animations
1
2
Click the Choose button.
The Choose button is only available when creating a new region item.
Open your animation as prompted.
To select multiple animations to import at once, hold down the SHIFT or CTRL key as you click. When you click on the Save button in the editor, a region item for each animation that you selected is added to the Items Library.
Save Animation in a Central
Location
To put the animation file in a central location so that other region items can use the same file instead of creating copies of the file, check the Shared
Media checkbox.
Then, select the shared media location from the following options:
94 Add Animation Items | InfoCaster
Preview
Animation
• All: Adds the file to the default location C:\Shared Media, which is set in Preferences. See “Store Shared Media Files In” on page 230.
• Audio: Adds the file to a sub-folder called Audio under C:\Shared
Media.
• Type in a sub-folder name to create a new sub-folder under
C:\Shared Media. Adds the file to the new sub-folder.
The timeline indicator on the Content tab represents the entire duration of the animation. The arrow above the timeline shows the animation’s current display position. The Duration box displays the animation duration.
To preview the animation, use one of these methods:
• Drag the top arrow indicator above the timeline back and forth to any position in the timeline.
• Use the Play buttons to preview your animation.
Format Content
You can also set the following content options
Adjust Transparency
To adjust the item’s level of transparency, select a number in the Opacity box on the Content tab, where 0% represents complete transparency.
Add Audio
See “Add Audio” on page 75 for details on importing audio to play with the item.
Add a Log Note
To add a log note to the item, click the Log Note button on the Content tab. The Log Note window allows you to enter information to record in the playback log every time the item plays.
Enter any notes about the item in the text box without pressing ENTER, and then click Save. The note is displayed in the log file each time the item plays.
To view the current day’s log file, select Tools > Log Viewer. The log viewer opens displaying the current log file. To open a different day’s log file, select File > Open in the Log Viewer.
Add Animation Items | InfoCaster 95
Save Content
Click on the Save button in the content editor to add the content to the item in the layout.
96 Add Animation Items | InfoCaster
Add Digital Clocks
Add Digital Clock
Digital Clock Items Overview
Digital Clock regions play a real-time digital clock or a timer that counts up or down.
There are two digital clock region content editors. This chapter contains instructions on how to use them.
• Digital Clock Quick Editor
Create real-time clocks displaying local or offset time. The time display is based on your computer clock.
Set the time and date display options on the Content tab. Format the content on the Formatting tab.
Add audio on the Audio tab.
See “Digital Clock Quick Editor” on page 100.
• Digital Timer Quick Editor
Create a digital timer that counts up or down. Display the day, month, and date.
Set the timer display options on the
Content tab. Format the content on the Formatting tab. Add audio on the
Audio tab.
See “Digital Timer Quick Editor” on page 103.
• Add Blank Item
To make the region transparent during playback, add a blank item to the sequence. See “About Blank
Items” on page 44.
98 Add Digital Clocks | InfoCaster
Workflow
1
2
3
4
Draw a digital clock region in the Regions window.
Switch to the Items window and add (or edit) content.
Format the content or apply other options as desired. You can import audio to play when the item is on-air.
Save the content.
Add Digital Clocks | InfoCaster 99
Digital Clock Quick Editor
Select the Digital Clock Quick Editor to create real-time clocks displaying local or offset time, and date information.
Set the time and date display options on the Content tab. Set the text display options on the
Formatting tab. Adjust the audio settings on the Audio tab.
By default, the time displayed by the digital clock is the local time provided by your computer clock.
Open Content
Editor
Set Clock
Display
Options
Open the Digital Clock Quick Editor from the Items window.
1
2
3
Double-click on a digital clock region in the Regions window to switch to the Items window.
Select the Digital Clock Quick Editor from the content editor dropdown list.
Click the Add button to add a new region item.
If you want to edit an existing region item, select the item in the Items window, select the editor and click the Edit button.
1
2
Check the Show Time checkbox to enable clock display.
If you deselect this option, you can still display the day, month, and/or date (Show Prefix or Show Suffix).
Select clock display options.
• Select the 12 Hour option to display the clock in 12 hour format, or
100 Add Digital Clocks | InfoCaster
3
4
select the 24 Hour option to display the clock in 24 hour format.
When you select the 12 hour option, you can check the Show AM/
PM checkbox to display the time of day.
• Check the Show Leading Zeros checkbox to display the hour with two digits. For example, if the current time is 9:14, InfoCaster displays 09:14.
• Check the Show Seconds checkbox to display seconds on your clock.
• Check the Offset checkbox to advance or delay your clock by a set amount of time.
• To advance your clock enter a positive number in the hours (hr) and minutes (min) fields. For example, to advance the clock by one hour ten minutes, enter 1 hr 10 min.
• To delay your clock enter a negative number in the hours (hr) and minutes (min) fields. For example, to delay the clock by one hour ten minutes, enter -1 hr -10 min.
To display a string of text before the digital clock, check the Show
Prefix checkbox. Then, select one of the following prefix options:
• Select the first option to choose a preset
Day/Date/Month arrangement. The
Windows Short Format and Windows
Long Format options use the format set in the Microsoft Windows Date and Time
Control Panel.
• Select the second option to enter custom text that appears before the digital clock. Enter the text in the text box.
To display a string of text after the digital clock, check the Show Suffix checkbox.
• Select the first option to choose a preset Day/Date/Month arrangement. The Windows Short Format and Windows Long
Format options use the format set in the Microsoft Windows Date and Time Control Panel.
• Select the second option to enter custom text that appears after the digital clock. Enter the text in the text box.
Add a Log Note
To add a log note to the item, click the Log Note button on the Content tab. The Log Note window allows you to enter information to record in the playback log every time the item plays.
Enter any notes about the item in the text box without pressing ENTER, and then click Save. The note is displayed in the log file each time the item plays.
Add Digital Clocks | InfoCaster 101
Save Content
To view the current day’s log file, select Tools
>
Log Viewer. The log viewer opens displaying the current log file. To open a different day’s log file, select File
>
Open in the Log Viewer.
Click on the Save button in the content editor to add the content to the item in the layout.
102 Add Digital Clocks | InfoCaster
Digital Timer Quick Editor
Select the Digital Timer Quick Editor to create a digital timer that counts up or counts down with precision in your digital clock region.
Set the timer display options on the Content tab, set the text display options on the Formatting tab, and adjust the audio settings on the Audio tab.
Open Content
Editor
Set Timer
Display
Options
Open the Digital Timer Quick Editor from the Items window.
1
2
3
Double-click on a digital clock region in the Regions window to switch to the Items window.
Select the Digital Timer Quick Editor from the content editor dropdown list.
Click the Add button to add a new region item.
If you want to edit an existing region item, select the item in the Items window, select the editor and click the Edit button.
Use the options on the Content tab to determine how the timer displays..
Display Option
Format
Description
Sets the timing elements (hours, minutes, seconds) that the timer displays.
Add Digital Clocks | InfoCaster 103
Display Option
Separators
Leading Zeros
Count Up
Count Down
From options
To options
Description
Sets which character separates the hours, minutes, and seconds.
Sets the timer to display the time in two digits. For example, 8:00 displays as 08:00.
Sets the timer to count-up.
Sets the timer to count-down.
Sets the timer to start counting either at 0:00 or at the time set in the available field.
Sets the timer to stop counting at 0:00, at the time set in the available field, or when you choose to stop the timer playback (Stop option).
Add a Log Note
To add a log note to the item, click the Log Note button on the Content tab. The Log Note window allows you to enter information to record in the playback log every time the item plays.
Enter any notes about the item in the text box without pressing ENTER, and then click Save. The note is displayed in the log file each time the item plays.
To view the current day’s log file, select Tools
>
Log Viewer. The log viewer opens displaying the current log file. To open a different day’s log file, select File
>
Open in the Log Viewer.
Save Content
Click on the Save button in the content editor to add the content to the item in the layout.
104 Add Digital Clocks | InfoCaster
Add Video Items
Add Video Items
Video Items Overview
Add video clips or live video to your video region using the content editors in the Items window. There are two video region content editors. This chapter contains instructions on how to use them.
• Video Clip Quick Editor
Import a video file into the selected region.
Select which segment to play and set display options on the Content tab, apply graphics to overlay the video on the Overlay tab and adjust audio settings on the Audio tab.
See “Video Clip Quick Editor” on page 108.
• Live Video Quick Editor
Set the region to display live video.
Select hardware sources for video and audio, or link to a streaming media file on the Content tab, apply a graphic overlay on the Overlay tab and adjust the audio settings on the Audio tab.
See “Live Video Quick Editor” on page 113.
• Add Blank Item
To make the region transparent during playback, add a blank item to the sequence. See “About Blank Items” on page 44.
106 Add Video Items | InfoCaster
Workflow
1
2
3
4
Draw a video region in the Regions window.
Switch to the Items window and add (or edit) content.
Format the content or apply other options as desired. You can import audio to play when the item is on-air.
Save the content.
Add Video Items | InfoCaster 107
Video Clip Quick Editor
The Video Clip Quick Editor imports a video clip into the selected region. Select which segment to play and set the display options on the Content tab. Apply a graphic overlay on the Overlay tab. Add audio on the Audio tab.
Open Content
Editor
Open Video
Clips
Open the Video Clip Quick Editor from the Items window.
1
2
3
Double-click on a video region in the Regions window to switch to the Items window.
Select the Video Clip Quick Editor from the content editor drop-down list.
Click the Add button to add a new region item.
If you want to edit an existing region item, select the item in the Items window, select the editor and click the Edit button.
1
2
Click the Choose button.
The Choose button is only available when creating a new region item.
Open your video clip as prompted.
To select multiple video clips to import at once, hold down the SHIFT or CTRL key as you click. When you click on the Save button in the editor, a region item for each video clip that you selected is added to the Items Library.
108 Add Video Items | InfoCaster
Save Clip in a
Central
Location
Preview Video
Clip
To put the video clip file in a central location so that other region items can use the same file instead of creating copies of the file, check the Shared
Media checkbox.
Then, select the shared media location from the following options:
• All: Adds the file to the default location C:\Shared Media, which is set in Preferences. See “Store Shared Media Files In” on page 230.
• Audio: Adds the file to a sub-folder called Audio under C:\Shared
Media.
• Type in a sub-folder name to create a new sub-folder under
C:\Shared Media. Adds the file to the new sub-folder.
To preview the video, use one of these methods:
• Drag the top arrow indicator above the timeline back and forth to any position in the timeline. The top indicator shows the current playback position of your preview in the editor.
• Use the Play buttons to preview your video.
Previous Frame
Rewind Stop Play
Next Frame
Fast Forward
Trim Clip
Scale Video
Clips
Play Trimmed Clip
To set the In and Out points for the clip, use one of these methods:
• Drag the left indicator in the timeline to the frame that you want to use as the In point. Drag the right indicator in the timeline to the frame that you want as the Out point.
• Enter the timecode of the frame you want to use for the In and for the Out point in the fields below the timeline. The timecode is measured in hours:minutes:seconds:frames (HH:MM:SS:FF). The left field is for the In point and the right field is for the Out field.
• During preview, click the Set In button to set the current frame as the In point and click the Set Out button to set the current frame as the Out point.
To scale the video, check the Scale checkbox to enable the scale options, then use any of these methods:
Add Video Items | InfoCaster 109
Add A Graphic
Overlay
• Check the Maintain Aspect Ratio checkbox to display the video clip at the aspect ratio stored in the video file. Clear the checkbox to size the video to the aspect ratio of the region. The video may appear distorted if you don’t maintain the aspect ratio.
• Use the Scale slider to size the video display in your region. Click the Best Fit button to scale the video to the dimensions of the region. If the Maintain Aspect Ratio option is selected, the video may not completely fill the width or the height.
• Check the Highest Quality checkbox to display your video with the highest image quality.
• Click and drag the video in the editor’s Preview window to reposition the video display in the region.
Apply a graphic to display over the video on the Overlay tab.
1
2
3
Check the Display Graphic Overlay checkbox to enable the overlay options.
Click the Choose button and open your graphic file as prompted.
When the graphic first loads, the image displays in the editor’s
Preview window at 100% of its original size.
Check the Scale checkbox to enable the scale options. Use the scale options to set the display options for your graphic.
• Check the Maintain Aspect Ratio checkbox to display the graphic at the aspect ratio stored in the image file. Clear the checkbox to size the graphic to the aspect ratio of the region. The graphic may
110 Add Video Items | InfoCaster
Add Audio
4
appear distorted if you do not maintain the aspect ratio.
• Use the Scale slider to resize the graphic.
Click the Best Fit button at the end of the scale slider to scale the graphic to the dimensions of the region. If the Maintain Aspect
Ratio option is selected, the graphic may not completely fill the width or the height of the region.
Click and drag the image in the editor’s Preview window to reposition the graphic.
You can mix audio, use the clip’s audio or disable audio on the Audio tab.
1
2
3
4
5
Switch to the Audio tab.
To disable audio, clear the Enable Audio checkbox.
To enable audio, check the Enable Audio checkbox.
Select one of the following options
• To play audio from the video source, select the Clip Audio Source option.
• To play audio from another source, select the External Audio File option and click on the Choose button. Select the audio file in the next dialog box.
If you selected external audio, change the Level, Delay or Loop options as required.
• To adjust the volume for the audio, use the Level option. Audio levels range from zero to 100. Zero mutes the audio completely.
Add Video Items | InfoCaster 111
6
7
One is the lowest audible level and 100 is the highest.
• To delay the playback of the audio, set a time in the Delay field.
• To play the audio once and stop, select the Play Once option.
• To continue playing the audio until the item finishes playback, select the Loop option.
If you selected external audio, click on the Preview button to hear the audio.
Check the Enable Audio Ducking checkbox to set the item’s audio to trigger a reduction in the audio level of other items that are currently playing. The trigger occurs when the item’s audio is sent to air.
Add a Log Note
To add a log note to the item, click the Log Note button on the Content tab. The Log Note window allows you to enter information to record in the playback log every time the item plays.
Enter any notes about the item in the text box without pressing ENTER, and then click Save. The note is displayed in the log file each time the item plays.
To view the current day’s log file, select Tools > Log Viewer. The log viewer opens displaying the current log file. To open a different day’s log file, select File > Open in the Log Viewer.
Save Content
Click on the Save button in the content editor to add the content to the item in the layout.
112 Add Video Items | InfoCaster
Live Video Quick Editor
The Live Video Quick Editor sets the region to display live video during playback.
Select hardware sources for video and audio, or link to a streaming media file on the Content tab.
Apply a graphic overlay on the Overlay tab. Adjust audio on the Audio tab.
. Video appears at the size it was rendered in
Open Content
Editor
Add Video from
Video Source
Open the Live Video Quick Editor from the Items window.
1
2
3
Double-click on a video region in the Regions window to switch to the Items window.
Select the Live Video Quick Editor from the content editor drop-down list.
Click the Add button to add a new region item.
If you want to edit an existing region item, select the item in the Items window, select the editor and click the Edit button.
1
2
You can add video from a video device connected to your system.
Select the Video Device option on the Content tab.
Select a hardware device from the Video Device list. The list displays all available hardware devices capable of delivering video. The video device must be installed on the same computer that is running
InfoCaster.
Add Video Items | InfoCaster 113
Add Streaming
Video
Set Live Video
Options
3
4
Select a source from the Source list. The list displays the sources available within the selected video device.
Select an audio device from the Audio Device list. The list displays all available hardware devices capable of delivering audio. The audio device must be installed on the same computer that is running
InfoCaster.
1
2
You can add video from an .asx or asf media file streaming over the internet.
3
Select the URL option on the Content tab.
Type in the URL or file path for the .asx or .asf media file or click the
Browse button next to the field and browse to the file location. You can have an .asx file stored locally which manages the connection to .asf media files.
Click the Connect button to start streaming the .asx or .asf media file.
1
2
3
4
5
6
To display the live video at full screen size during output, check the
Show Full Screen checkbox. The live video plays over top of all other regions. After the video region item finishes playback, the other region items are visible on-screen again.
Enter a duration for the live video display in the Duration field. Time is measured in HH:MM:SS:FF (hours:minutes:seconds: frames).
To enable the scale options, check the Scale checkbox. Then, use the following scale options to set the video display in the region item.
• Check the Maintain Aspect Ratio checkbox to display the live video at its original aspect ratio. Clear the checkbox to size the video to the aspect ratio of the region. The video may distort if you clear the checkbox.
• Use the Scale slider to size the video display in your region. Click the Best Fit button to scale the video to the dimensions of the region. If the Maintain Aspect Ratio option is selected, the video may not completely fill the width or the height.
To reverse the field order of the incoming live video, check the Invert
Field checkbox. Use this option if your input device inputs video in the opposite field order to your output device.
To set the frame currently displayed in the preview as the image for representing the live video, click the Set Picon button below the
Preview window. The image displays in the Items window's Item
Library and Sequence list.
To reposition the video display in the region, click on the video in the editor’s Preview window, then drag the video to its new location.
114 Add Video Items | InfoCaster
Add a Graphic
Overlay
Apply a graphic to display over the video on the Overlay tab. The selected graphic displays over the live video.
1
Check the Display Graphic Overlay checkbox to enable the options.
2
3
4
Click the Choose button, then open your graphic file as prompted.
Check the Scale checkbox to enable the scale options. Use the following scale options to set the display options for your graphic.
• Check the Maintain Aspect Ratio checkbox to display the graphic at the aspect ratio stored in the image file. Clear the checkbox to size the graphic to the aspect ratio of the region. The graphic may distort if you clear the checkbox. If you maintain the aspect ratio, part of the graphic may extend outside the region's boundaries.
• Use the scale slider to size the image to fit your region while maintaining the image aspect ratio.
• Click on the Best Fit button beside the slider to size the graphic to the best fit possible. If the Maintain Aspect Ratio option is selected, the graphic may not completely fill the region.
To reposition the graphic, drag the image in the editor’s Preview window.
The Duration field displays the set duration of the live video or the playback duration for the graphic. You cannot edit the Duration field when live video is set for playback. However, if there is no live video source selected, enter a playback duration for the selected graphic file. Time is measured in HH:MM:SS:FF (hours:minutes:seconds:frames).
Add Video Items | InfoCaster 115
Add Audio to
Live Video
You can mix audio, use the live video source’s audio or disable audio on the
Audio tab..
1
2
3
4
5
6
Switch to the Audio tab.
To disable audio, clear the Enable Audio checkbox.
To enable audio, check the Enable Audio checkbox.
Select one of the following options
• To play audio from the live video source, select the Live Audio
Source option.
• To play audio from another source, select the External Audio File option and click on the Choose button. Select the audio file in the next dialog box.
If you selected external audio, change the Level, Delay or Loop options as required.
• To adjust the volume for the audio, use the Level option. Audio levels range from zero to 100. Zero mutes the audio completely.
One is the lowest audible level and 100 is the highest.
• To delay the playback of the audio, set a time in the Delay field.
• To play the audio once and stop, select the Play Once option.
• To continue playing the audio until the item finishes playback, select the Loop option.
If you selected external audio, click on the Preview button to hear the audio.
116 Add Video Items | InfoCaster
7 Check the Enable Audio Ducking checkbox to set the item’s audio to trigger a reduction in the audio level of other items that are currently playing. The trigger occurs when the item’s audio is sent to air.
Add a Log Note
To add a log note to the item, click the Log Note button on the Content tab. The Log Note window allows you to enter information to record in the playback log every time the item plays.
Enter any notes about the item in the text box without pressing ENTER, and then click Save. The note is displayed in the log file each time the item plays.
To view the current day’s log file, select Tools > Log Viewer. The log viewer opens displaying the current log file. To open a different day’s log file, select File > Open in the Log Viewer.
Save Content
Click on the Save button in the content editor to add the content to the item in the layout.
Add Video Items | InfoCaster 117
118 Add Video Items | InfoCaster
Add Analog Clocks
Add Analog Clocks
Analog Clock Items Overview
Analog clock regions play a real time analog clock.
There is 1 analog clock editor. This chapter contains instructions on how to use it.
• Analog Clock Quick
Editor
Import the clock and format it on the
Content tab. InfoCaster provides a selection of analog clock files that you can use. InfoCaster also provides an analog clock building utility.
Adjust the audio settings on the Audio tab. By default, the time displayed by the clock is the local time provided by your computer clock. See
“Analog Clock Quick Editor” on page 121.
• Add Blank Item
To make the region transparent during playback, add a blank item to the sequence. See “About
Blank Items” on page 44.
Workflow
1
2
3
4
Draw an analog clock region in the Regions window.
Switch to the Items window and add (or edit) content.
Format the content or apply other options as desired. You can import audio to play when the item is on-air.
Save the content.
120 Add Analog Clocks | InfoCaster
Analog Clock Quick Editor
You can import an existing analog clock file into an analog clock item in your layout. InfoCaster ships with sample analog clocks to use in your layouts, or you can use the analog clock building utility to create your own analog clocks. The time displayed by the clock is the local time provided by your computer clock.
Import the clock and format it on the Content tab. Adjust the audio settings on the Audio tab.
Open Content
Editor
Open the Analog Clock Quick Editor from the Items window.
1
2
3
Double-click on an analog clock region in the Regions window to switch to the Items window.
Select the Analog Clock Quick Editor from the content editor dropdown list.
Click the Add button to add a new region item.
If you want to edit an existing region item, select the item in the Items window, select the editor and click the Edit button.
Add Clock
1
2
InfoCaster ships with a number of analog clocks, located in
InfoCaster\Analog Clock Builder Samples\Clocks. The clock file uses the extension .analogclock or .psd.
3
To add content, c lick on the
Choose
button.
In the Open dialog, open the NTSC or PAL folder, depending if you want an NTSC or PAL clock. The folders are located in the
InfoCaster\Analog Clock Builder Samples\Clocks folder.
Select a clock and then click Open.
Create a Clock in
Photoshop
1
2
To create a custom clock in Adobe Photoshop, you must add the clock elements on specific layers.
In Photoshop, open a new document.
Add the following six layers in the Layers palette: hour, minute, second, face, axis, center.
Add Analog Clocks | InfoCaster 121
3
Add your clock elements to the appropriate layer.
Scale Clock
Position Clock
4
5
• Hour: Place the image of the hour hand on the hour layer.
• Minute: Place the image of the minute hand on the minute layer.
• Second: Place the image of the second hand on the second layer.
• Face: Place the image of the clock face on the face layer.
• Axis: Place the image of the clock axis on the axis layer.
• Center: Place a filled pixel on the center layer that anchors the center of the face and the rotation axis of the clock hands.
Save the clock as a .psd file.
Use the Analog Clock Editor to add the clock to your layout.
To change the size of the analog clock within the region, check the Scale checkbox, then drag the Scale control to the left to decrease the size or to the right to increase the size.
Note:
You can also resize the analog clock item box in the layout window. Drag the control point on the box, or use the Size W
(width) and H (height) boxes in the Item panel to resize the item box. If you resize the item box, the analog clock stays the size set in the Content Editor.
To position the clock within the region box, enter a number in the Position Top box to move the clock the set number of pixels from the top of the item border.
Enter a number in the Position Left box to move the clock the set number of pixels from the left side of the item border.
122 Add Analog Clocks | InfoCaster
Adjust Clock
Transparency
Add Log Note
Save Content
Build Analog
Clocks
Note:
You can also move the analog region in the Regions window. Drag the item box to a new position in the Regions window, or use the
Pos X and Y boxes in the Details panel to position the region box.
To adjust the item’s level of transparency, select a number in the Opacity box on the Content tab, where 0% represents complete transparency.
To add a log note to the item, click the Log Note button. The Log Note window allows you to enter information to record in the playback log every time the item plays.
Enter any notes about the item in the text box without pressing ENTER, and then click Save. The note is displayed in the log file each time the item plays.
To view the current day's log file, select Tools
>
Log Viewer. The log viewer opens displaying the current log file. To open a different day's log file select File
>
Open in the Log Viewer.
Click on the Save button in the Content Editor to add the content to the item in the layout.
Use the Analog Clock Builder utility to create your own analog clocks. To open the Analog Clock Builder, select Start
>
Programs
>
Inscriber
>
InfoCaster
>
Utilities
>
Analog Clock Builder.
For instructions on how to use this utility to create an analog clock file, use the Help menu in Analog Clock Builder.
Add Analog Clocks | InfoCaster 123
124 Add Analog Clocks | InfoCaster
Add Inca Port Items
Add Animation Items
Add Inca Port Content
With the purchase of the Inca Port option, you can display layers of data created in your
RTX application in the Inca Port region in your layout. The Inca Port option is also referred to as the RTXport option.
Add Content
Use the Inca Port options in the Regions window to display the content from an RTX application in the Inca Port region in your layout.
1
2
3
4
Make sure that RTX is open on your system.
In InfoCaster, select the Inca Port region in the Regions window.
In the Name field of the region details section below the Regions window, enter the name of the RTX surface area exactly as it is found in the RTX .exe code. This name is set in the SharedID property of the Framebuffer object.
Run the RTX application to output the region content.
Note:
You can open the Inca Port region in the Items window, but you cannot schedule Inca Port regions using the Sequencer. Inca Port content will output when you play your InfoCast and you run the
RTX application.
144 Add Inca Port Items | InfoCaster
Add a Temperature
Add Temperature
Temperature Items Overview
If you have a temperature probe connected to your system, you can display current temperature readings in your layout.
There is 1 temperature probe region content editor. This chapter contains instructions on how to use it.
• Temperature Probe Quick Editor
Add a temperature reading to the region.
• Add Blank Item
To make the region transparent during playback, add a blank item to the sequence. See “About
Blank Items” on page 44.
146 Add Temperatures | InfoCaster
Workflow
1
2
3
4
Draw a temperature region in the Regions window.
Switch to the Items window and add (or edit) content.
Format the content or apply other options as desired. You can import audio to play when the item is on-air.
Save the content.
Add Temperatures | InfoCaster 147
Temperature Quick Editor
Use the Temperature Quick Editor to display the current temperature in your layout. You can enter the temperature manually or set InfoCaster to read the temperature from a temperature probe connected to your system.
Open Content
Editor
Set-Up
Temperature
Probe
Open the Temperature Quick Editor from the Items window.
1
2
3
Double-click on a temperature region in the Regions window to switch to the Items window.
Select the Temperature Quick Editor from the content editor dropdown list.
Click the Add button to add a new region item.
If you want to edit an existing region item, select the item in the Items window, select the editor and click the Edit button.
2
3
In the Temperature Quick Editor you can display the temperature reading from the temperature probe connected to your system.
1
Select the default units for your temperature probe reading: Celsius or Fahrenheit.
Select your device from the Temperature Probe list.
Select the COM port that the temperature probe is connected to from the COM Port list.
148 Add Temperatures | InfoCaster
Add Log Note
Save Content
To add a log note to the item, click the Log Note button. The Log Note window allows you to enter information to record in the playback log every time the item plays.
Enter any notes about the item in the text box without pressing ENTER, and then click Save. The note is displayed in the log file each time the item plays.
To view the current day's log file, select Tools
>
Log Viewer. The log viewer opens displaying the current log file. To open a different day's log file select File
>
Open in the Log Viewer.
Click on the Save button in the Content Editor to add the content to the item in the layout.
Add Temperatures | InfoCaster 149
150 Add Temperatures | InfoCaster
External Data Sources
Use External Data Sources
InfoCaster allows you to link your text-based region items to content in an external data source.
Text-based region items include still, roll, crawl, or animation items. Region item data tags link to the external data source, and display the text in the external file on output. Maintaining your data in an external file allows you to update your information easily. You can link your items to text files,
XML/RSS data feeds, and ODBC data sources.
Data Tags
Still, roll, crawl, and animation items use data tags to link to the external data source. See the following table for a description of the data tags in each editor.
Region Type
Still
Roll
Data Tag Description
• Title items use multiple data tags to link to multiple external data sources, or to multiple columns/feeds in one data source. You can edit the name of the data tag in the Title Quick Editor.
• To view the data tags, check the Show Tags checkbox on the Content tab in the Title
Quick Editor.
• To add a new data tag/text line in the Title
Quick Editor, click in the text box and then press ENTER.
• To remove a data tag/text line, select the text in the text box and press BACKSPACE to delete the text. When the text box is empty, press BACKSPACE again to delete the tag.
• Table items use multiple data tags to link to multiple columns/feeds in one data source. Each column in the Table Quick Editor has a labeled data tag. The first column’s data tag is 1-1, the second column’s data tag is 1-2, and so on. The data tag labels are visible when you link to your external data source.
Roll items have one data tag that you can link to one external data source. The data tag is labeled 1-1 and is visible when you link to your external data source.
152 External Data | InfoCaster
External Data
Output
Region Type
Crawl
Animation
Data Tag Description
Crawl items have one data tag that you can link to one external data source. The data tag is labeled Field 1 and is visible when you link to your external data source. Use the prefix options to set the characters between the text entries in the external file.
Animation items can have multiple tags that you can link to one external data source. You can edit the tags in TitleMotion, when you create your animation.
• To view the data tags, check the Show Tags checkbox on the Content tab in the Animation
Quick Editor.
• To add a new data tag/text line, use the Data Tags tab in TitleMotion.
• To remove a data tag/text line, open the animation in TitleMotion and delete the data tag.
The item type determines how the external data displays during output.
See the following table for details.
Region
Type
Still
Roll
Output
• Titles display one entry at a time during output. Each entry displays for the amount of time set in the Item
Duration field in the content editor. The transition and duration options are available after you link to your external data source.
• Tables displays the number of entries that fit in the title table item.
For example, if the item box is sized to display six rows and the data source contains six entries, all six entries display on output. If the item box is sized to display three rows and the data source contains six entries, the first three entries play for the amount of time set in the Item Duration field in the content editor, followed by the next three entries. The transition and duration options are available after you link to your external data source.
Gradually displays the content as the text moves across the screen.
External Data | InfoCaster 153
Region
Type
Output
Crawl Gradually displays the content as the text moves across the screen. If you use a prefix/separator between your crawls, the prefix displays before the content on each line.
Animation Display one entry at a time during output. Each entry displays for the amount of time set in the Item Duration field in the content editor. The transition and duration options are available after you link to your external data source.
External Data
Features
After you link your items to an external data source, the external data features become available in the content editors. The features include
Show All New Data at Least Once, Enable On Screen Update, and Data
Transition and Duration options. You must link to the external data source before the options are available.
Show All New Data at Least Once
The Show All New Data at Least Once option is recommended if you update your data constantly and if it is important to show all data in the text file before playing new updates. The option is available for still, roll, crawl, and animation items.
1
On the Content tab in the Title, Table, Crawl, Roll or Animation
Quick Editor, check the Show All New Data at Least Once checkbox to playback all data in the text file once before it renders new data.
The option is available after you link to your external data source.
Click the Save button to save the setting.
2
Disabling this option sets InfoCaster to render and display new data almost immediately as the data source is updated.
Enable On Screen Update
The Enable On Screen Update option sets InfoCaster to display your updated text immediately on-screen, Updates you make in the content editor or in an external source are immediately updated during output.
The option is available for roll and crawl items.
The Enable On Screen Updates option is recommended if your text contains information like temperatures or sports scores where the spacing remains constant. The option is not recommended if the length of your text entries change, since the spacing of the text will not adjust until the item playback starts from the beginning. For example, a text entry that is
154 External Data | InfoCaster
longer than the current entry will not display entirely, and a text entry that is shorter than the current entry will contain extra space.
1
2
On the Content tab in the editor, check the Enable On Screen
Update checkbox on the Content tab.
Set the transition options that apply when the information is updated.
• Select a transition type from the
Transition drop-down list.
• Set a transition duration in the Transition Duration field. Duration is set in hours:minutes:seconds:frames.
If you don’t want to apply a transition, enter 00:00:00:00 in the
Transition Duration field.
When the Enable On Screen Update option is not selected, the item is updated with new content once playback starts at the beginning.
Note:
The Enable Onscreen Update option is available for both external data and text entered in the Crawl or Roll Quick Editor.
Set Transition Options
The transition and duration options allow you to apply a transition between the layers of external data. This option is available for title and table items.
1
2
On the Content tab in the editor, select a transition from the
Transition drop-down list. The transition applies when the new layer of data display on-air.
Set the duration of the transition in the Transition Duration item box.
The duration is set in seconds.
Set Item Duration
The Item Duration sets the display duration for each layer of data. This option is available for title and table items.
On the content tab in the editor, set the display duration for the external data output in the Item Duration boxes. The duration is set in minutes and seconds.
External Data | InfoCaster 155
Use Text Files as Data Source
The text line(s) in a still, roll, crawl, or animation contain data tags. InfoCaster uses these data tags to link the content of an external data source to your item. The external data displays as the item content during output. Before linking to your external data source, you need to create your data source. This section describes how to create and link to a text file.
Text File Types
There are two main types of text files you can use in InfoCaster: linear text files and database text files that contain multiple columns. See the following table for a description of the two types.
Text File Type Description
Linear Text File Contains information that InfoCaster reads lineby-line. InfoCaster reads the data directly from the text file, one line at a time.
Link Method: Set InfoCaster to read the data directly from the text file.
Database Text File Contains two or more columns that InfoCaster reads as a database table. When InfoCaster reads the text file through the ODBC driver the column formatting is retained and you can apply additional settings to the text data. Advanced ODBC settings are available to set the text formatting and display options.
Link Method: Set InfoCaster to read the data through the ODBC driver. You can then link to the file as an ODBC database and apply advanced formatting options.
156 External Data | InfoCaster
Create a Linear
Text File
Linear text files contain information that InfoCaster reads one line at a time. The item type determines how the text displays on output.
Region
Type
Still
Output
Roll
• Titles display one entry at a time during output. Each entry displays for the amount of time set in the Item
Duration field in the Title Quick Editor. The transition and duration options are available after you link to your external data source.
• Tables display the number of entries that fit in the table item in the layout window.
For example, if the item box is sized to display six rows and the data source contains six entries, all six entries display on output. If the item box is sized to display three rows and the data source contains six entries, the first three entries play for the amount of time set in the Item
Duration field in the Table Quick Editor, followed by the next three entries. The transition and duration options are available after you link to your external data source.
Gradually displays the content as the text moves across the screen.
Crawl Gradually displays the content as the text moves across the screen. If you use a prefix/separator between your crawls, the prefix displays before the content on each line.
Animation Displays one entry at a time during output. Each entry displays for the amount of time set in the Item Duration field in the Animation Quick Editor. The transition and duration options are available after you link to your external source.
Use the following steps to create a linear text file.
1
2
3
Open a text editor, like Windows
Notepad (Start
>
Programs
>
Accessories
>
Notepad).
Type your first entry, such as a word, number, or phrase.
Press ENTER and add another entry.
External Data | InfoCaster 157
4
5
Continue adding entries as needed.
Save the file as a .
txt file.
See Also:
For information on linking to a linear text file see “Link to
Linear Text File” on page 162.
158 External Data | InfoCaster
Create Database
Text File
Database text files contain information that InfoCaster reads as a database table. When you set InfoCaster to read the multiple-column text file through the ODBC driver, the columns remain formatted properly.
Advanced ODBC settings are available to set the text formatting and display options.
If you set InfoCaster to read the data directly from the text file (rather than through the ODBC driver), your items read each line as a single row and ignores the column formatting.
1
Open a text editor, like Windows Notepad (Start
>
Programs
>
Accessories
>
Notepad).
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
On the first line of text in the file, type the name of the first column heading.
Press the TAB key and enter your second column heading. You can press the TAB key twice for proper spacing, if necessary.
You do not have to use tabs as the delimiter (column separator) between your columns. You can use commas or your own custom delimiter. You will set the delimiter type when you link to the text file in InfoCaster.
Enter the remaining column headings, using the TAB key (or other delimiter) to move to the next column.
Press ENTER to move to the second line. The data begins on the second line.
Add the first data entry, such as a word, number, or phrase, under the first column heading.
Press TAB (or other delimiter) to move to the second column, and add the column entry.
Add the remaining column entries, using the TAB key (or other delimiter) to move to the next column.
9
10
11
Press ENTER to move to the next line of text, as needed.
Continue adding your column entries in each new line, using the TAB key (or other delimiter) to move to the next column.
Save the file as a .
txt file to a unique folder.
See Also:
For information on linking to a database text file see .
External Data | InfoCaster 159
Link Item to Text
File
The following steps describe how to link to your external data source in
InfoCaster.
1
2
2
3
4
5
In InfoCaster double-click on the region to open the Item Library.
Click on a region item in the Item
Library.
Select a Quick Editor from the Editor list and click the Edit button.
In the Content tab, select the external data source option.
• For the Title, Roll, Crawl and
Animation Quick Editors check the External Data Source checkbox and then click the
Setup button.
• For the Table Quick Editor click the Setup Data Source button.
In the Select Text Source dialog, select the Text File option.
Set your playback options.
Playback Option
Retrieve Data
Description
Sets when InfoCaster checks the text file for new information.
• Select On Demand to set InfoCaster to update items when the data source is updated.
InfoCaster does not play any item when the data source is not available.
• Select Every and enter a time
(hours:minutes:seconds) to set how often
InfoCaster should look for new information.
InfoCaster plays the last available data if the data source is not available. This prevents your output from disappearing.
160 External Data | InfoCaster
Playback Option Description
Expire Retrieved
Data
Sets when InfoCaster will expire external data if the data source is unavailable. For example, your data source may be unavailable if your data source is stored on a network and the network is down.
• Select Never if you want to play the last data available to InfoCaster when the data source is unavailable.
• Select Always if you want to expire the last data available to InfoCaster when the data source is unavailable.
• Select After and enter a time to set how long the data source can be unavailable before the data is expired. The time is displayed in hh:mm:ss (hours:minutes:seconds).
When Data Expires Sets what InfoCaster displays when the data has expired.
• Select the Don't Show Item option if you do not want to play items that have expired.
• Select the Show Custom Message option if you want to display a message when the data has expired. Type in your custom text in the field.
6
Click OK to apply your settings and move to the next dialog.
• If you are linking to a linear text file, where InfoCaster reads the data directly from the text file, complete the steps in the next section “Link to Linear Text File” on page 162.
• If you are linking to a multiple-column text file where InfoCaster reads the data through an ODBC driver and retains column formatting, complete the steps in the section “Link Item to
Database Text File” on page 164.
• If you are linking to a text file ODBC database, complete the steps in the section “Link to Database” on page 180.
External Data | InfoCaster 161
Link to Linear Text
File
The following information describes how to set InfoCaster to read data directly from the linear text file. On output, the text displays line-by-line.
1
2
If necessary, complete steps 1 - 5 in the previous section: “Link Item to Text File” on page 160.
In the Select Text Access dialog, choose the Read Data Directly from the Text File option, and then click OK to move to the next dialog.
Local Files
Browsing
HTTP/FTP Files
Browsing
3
4
5
6
In the Select Text Sources dialog, click on the Choose button.
In the next dialog box, select the location of your text file.
• Select the Local Files Browsing option if your text file is located on your hard drive or a local network.
• Select the HTTP/FTP Files Browsing option if your text file is located on an HTTP or FTP website.
Click OK.
Complete the following steps based on your selection: Local Files
Browsing or HTTP/FTP Files Browsing
.
If you selected Local Files Browsing, complete the following steps:
a
In the Open dialog, select your text file.
b
Click the Open button.
If you selected HTTP/FTP Files Browsing, complete the following steps:
a b
In the Internet File Browser dialog, enter the address of the
HTTP or FTP site in the Current Path box. The address must start with http:// or ftp://.
Log on to the site by selecting one of the following Login options:
c d
• If the site permits anonymous login, select the Anonymous option.
• If the site requires a name and password, select the Name option, then enter a Name and Password.
Click the Go button to go to that site. The files that are available at the HTTP or FTP site are displayed in the lower portion of the dialog.
Select the text file and then click OK.
162 External Data | InfoCaster
7
Back in the Select Text Sources dialog box, the name of the file you selected is displayed in the Field box and the text is displayed in the lower portion of the dialog box.
Title Item
Data Tags
Data Tag list
8
9
You can select more files, depending on the region type.
• Crawl Items: Only select one file.
• Roll Items: Only select one file.
• Title Items: Select a file for each available line. Select a data tag from the Data Tag list to preview the text file content.
• Table Items: Select a file for each available line. Each line represents a table column. The first line with the data tag 1-1, represents the first column. The second line with the data tag 1-2, represents the second column, and so on. Use the Data Tag list to preview the text file contents.
• Animation Items: Select a file for each available line. Select a data tag from the Data Tag list to preview the text file content.
For information on how each item outputs the text see the Region
Type table on page 157.
Click OK in the dialog to return to the content editor.
Click Save in the content editor.
External Data | InfoCaster 163
Link Item to
Database Text File
The following information describes how to set InfoCaster to read the text file through an ODBC driver. Reading the text file through an ODBC driver allows you to set ODBC formatting options that apply to multiplecolumn text files. After reading the text file through the ODBC driver, you can apply advanced formatting options in the Select Database Items dialog.
1
2
If necessary, complete steps 1 - 5 in the previous section: “Link Item to Text File” on page 160.
In the Select Text Access dialog, choose the Read Data from ODBC
Driver option, and then click OK to move to the next dialog.
3
In the ODBC Text File Setup dialog, click the Browse button to select your text file. The text displays in the data preview.
4
5
6
Enter a name for the data in the Data Source Name field.
Set the user availability option for the data source name.
• Make Data Source Name Specific to this User registers the text file database for the current logged-on user. If someone else logs on to the computer, the database is not visible.
• Data Source Name is Available to All Users registers the text file database in a global location on the computer and is visible for any logged-on user.
Click Next.
164 External Data | InfoCaster
7
8
In the next dialog, select the delimiter (column separator) used in the text file from the Delimiter list: Comma, Tab, Specify Column
Width, or Custom. If you used a custom delimiter, enter the character in the Custom item box.
Note:
The Specify My Column Width option allows you to separate your columns by setting a column width in the next dialog.
For details on setting the column width, see “Specify My
Column Width Option” on page 168.
Check the Set first row as the column headers checkbox if you want to change the first row of text entries into column headings.
9
10
Select the ANSI or OEM character set.
• Select ANSI if the application used to create the text file uses the
ANSI character set. ANSI is typically used with Windows.
• Select OEM (original equipment manufacturer) if the application used to create the text file uses the OEM character set. OEM is typically used with DOS.
Leave ANSI as the default if you’re not sure of the character set. ANSI and OEM character sets share a number of characters, but each set also has unique characters. If you notice your text file characters do not display properly during preview or playback you can return to this dialog and change the character set.
Click Next. The next dialog shows you the data type contained in each column of the text file.
External Data | InfoCaster 165
11
To change the data format, select a new data type from the Data Type item list.
12
13
To set a character limit for the column text, click on a column entry and then type a number in the Data Maximum field. Click the Set button.
Note:
If you selected Specify My Column Width in the last dialog you need to set the width for each column at this point. For information on setting the column width, see the following topic, “Specify My Column Width Option” on page 168.
Click Finish to return to the Select Text Source dialog.
Database text file listed as ODBC data source.
14
In the Select Text Source dialog, notice your database text file is now listed as an ODBC datasource.
In the Select Text Source dialog, click OK. The Select Database Items dialog opens.
166 External Data | InfoCaster
15
From the Source Column drop-down list, link the data tags to the column you want to output. For table items, the data tag for the first column is 1-1, the data tag for the second column is 1-2, and so on.
16
Click OK to return to the content editor and then click Save to save the item.
See Also:
See “Select Database Items for Output” on page 181 for more details on the Select Database Items dialog.
External Data | InfoCaster 167
Specify My Column Width Option
If you selected Specify My Column Width as the Data Delimiter option in the first ODBC Text File Setup dialog (see step 7 in the previous procedure), you need to set the number of characters in each column, so your columns display properly.
1
2
In the last
ODBC Text
File Setup dialog, click on the first row.
Enter the number of characters for the first column in the
Column
Width field and then click the Set button to apply the width.
• If some of the characters from your first column move to the second column, click an entry in the first column again and increase the number in the Column Width field.
• If some of the characters from the second column stayed in the first column, click an entry in the first column again and decrease the number in the Column Width field.
168 External Data | InfoCaster
3
Click on the first entry in the second column and enter the number of characters for the column in the Column Width field. Click the Set button to apply the width.
4
Continue setting the column width for the remaining columns.
External Data | InfoCaster 169
Link to XML/RSS Data Feed
You can link your layout to an XML source, like an RSS data feed. When you link to an RSS data feed, RSS sends the latest updates from the data feed to your layout. To use the XML/RSS data feed in your item, first select XML/RSS as your data source and then set up the data feed.
Select XML/RSS as
Data Source
Use the External Data options to select the XML/RSS data feed as the data source for your item.
1
2
3
4
5
6
In InfoCaster double-click on the region to open the Item Library.
Click on a region item in the Item
Library.
Select a Quick Editor from the
Editor list and click the Edit button.
In the Content tab, select the external data source option.
• For the Crawl, Roll, Title and
Animation Quick Editors check the External Data
Source checkbox and then click the Setup button.
• For the Table Quick Editor click the Setup Data Source button.
In the Select Text Source dialog, select the XML/RSS option.
Set your playback options.
170 External Data | InfoCaster
Playback Option Description
Retrieve Data Sets when InfoCaster checks the text file for new information.
• Select On Demand to set InfoCaster to update items when the data source is updated.
InfoCaster does not play any item when the data source is not available.
• Select Every and enter a time
(hours:minutes:seconds) to set how often
InfoCaster should look for new information.
InfoCaster plays the last available data if the data source is not available. This prevents your output from disappearing.
Expire Retrieved
Data
Sets when InfoCaster will expire external data if the data source is unavailable. For example, your data source may be unavailable if your data source is stored on a network and the network is down.
• Select Never if you want to play the last data available to InfoCaster when the data source is unavailable.
• Select Always if you want to expire the last data available to InfoCaster when the data source is unavailable.
• Select After and enter a time to set how long the data source can be unavailable before the data is expired. The time is displayed in hh:mm:ss (hours:minutes:seconds).
When Data Expires Sets what InfoCaster displays when the data has expired.
• Select the Don't Show Item option if you do not want to play items that have expired.
• Select the Show Custom Message option if you want to display a message when the data has expired. Type in your custom text in the field.
7
Click OK to apply your settings and move to the next dialog.
External Data | InfoCaster 171
Set Up XML Data
Source
In the Select Data Source Structure dialog you can select the data for output.
1
2
If necessary, complete steps 1 - 5 in the previous section: “Select
XML/RSS as Data Source” on page 170.
In the XML Data Source Setup dialog, enter the path to the XML file.
If the XML/RSS data is located on the internet, start the URL with http://.
3
4
Enter a name for the XML source in the Data Source name field.
Click OK. The Select Data Source Structure dialog opens.
5
In the Select Data Source Structure dialog, select an item in the XML
File Structure list that you want to display in your region.
172 External Data | InfoCaster
6
Click the right arrow to move the item to your data structure and set the item to play the data feed on output.
7
8
Click OK. The Select Database Item dialog opens.
From the Source Column drop-down list, select the column you want to output. The selected column links to the item data tag. If you have more than one data tag, you can link to more than one column.
9
Click OK to return to the content editor and then click Save to save the item.
External Data | InfoCaster 173
See Also:
See “Select Database Items for Output” on page 181 for more details on the Select Database Items dialog.
174 External Data | InfoCaster
Create ODBC Data Source
The Open Database Connectivity (ODBC) protocol allows different programs, like Microsoft Access and Microsoft Excel, to share information held in database applications. You can easily create a database and place almost any type of information in it, including weather data, TV shows, and arrival/departure times. After you create your database you can link the data to your InfoCaster item.
Create Database in MS Access
Create a database file in any ODBC-compliant software such as MS Access and MS Excel. When you change the data in this file, the data in InfoCaster changes as well.
To create a database file in MS Access complete the following steps.
1
2
Open Microsoft Access and start a new Blank Access Database.
Depending on the version of Access you use, the Blank Access
Database option is accessed in different ways. If you’re unsure where the option is, select File
>
New.
In the New Database window, enter a name and select a location for your database. Click the Create button.
3
In the Database window, double-click on the Create Table in Design
View option.
External Data | InfoCaster 175
4
5
6
In the new Table window enter ID in the first Field Name text box and select Auto
Number as your Data Type.
Right-click on the ID entry and select
Primary Key from the menu. In Access, every table must have a column that uniquely identifies each table row.
Enter the field names (or column headings) and data types for your table. Your field names are your column headings.
7
8
9
Select File
>
Save. In the Save As dialog, enter a name for your table.
Select View
>
Datasheet View to view the table cells.
Enter your information in the table cells and save the table.
176 External Data | InfoCaster
Create Database in MS Excel
1
2
Create a database file in any ODBC-compliant software such as MS Access and MS Excel. When you change the data in this file, the data in InfoCaster changes as well.
To create a database file in MS Excel complete the following steps.
3
4
Open Microsoft Excel.
Enter your column headings in the first cell of the column. InfoCaster uses the heading to refer to the column text.
Enter your information in the table cells.
Highlight all of the cells you want included in your table. Make sure to include the headings as well. You can highlight the cells by clicking and dragging your mouse over the cells, or by clicking on the first cell and then SHIFT+clicking on the last cell.
5
6
7
Select Insert
>
Name
>
Define.
Enter a name for your table and then click the
Add button. The name must be one word only, and must not contain spaces, underscores, slashes, or dashes. Click
OK to close the dialog.
Save the Excel spreadsheet.
External Data | InfoCaster 177
Add Database to ODBC System List
After you create your database tables, add the database to your system list. You need to add your database to the system list before InfoCaster can read the database content.
Add Database to
ODBC System List
3
4
To add an MS Access or MS Excel file to an ODBC system list complete the following steps. If you are using a differnt application, the steps will differ slightly.
1
2
In Windows, open the Data Sources (ODBC) option.
• In Windows XP view: Select Start
>
Control Panel
>
Performance and Maintenance
>
Administrative Tools
>
Data Sources (ODBC).
• In Windows Classic view: Select Start
>
Control Panel
>
Administrative Tools
>
Data Sources (ODBC).
Select the User DSN tab or the System DSN tab.
• The User DSN tab registers the database for the current logged-on user. If someone else logs on to the computer, the database is not visible.
• The System DSN tab registers the database in a global location on the computer and is visible for any logged-on user.
Click the Add button to open the Create New Data Source dialog.
Select the driver from the list for your database.
178 External Data | InfoCaster
6
7
5
• If you're connecting to an Access database select
Microsoft Access
Driver (*.mdb).
• If you're connecting to an Excel spreadsheet select
Microsoft Excel
Driver (*.xls).
Click the Finish button to add the selected driver to the system and to continue with the database set up.
In the new dialog enter a name for the data source.
Select your external data source.
• For Access data, click the Select button. In the dialog, navigate to and select your database. Clear the Read Only checkbox if necessary.
• For Excel data, click the Select Workbook button. In the dialog, navigate to and select your spreadsheet. Clear the Read Only checkbox if necessary.
8
Click OK in all the dialogs until you return to Windows.
External Data | InfoCaster 179
Link Item to ODBC Data Source
You can create your ODBC database in any ODBC compliant program, including MS Access and MS
Excel. Before linking your item in InfoCaster to your ODBC database, you need to add your database to the ODBC system list. See “Add Database to ODBC System List” on page 178 for details.
Link to Database
3
4
1
2
5
6
7
The following steps describe how to link to your ODBC data source in
InfoCaster.
8
In InfoCaster double-click on the region to open the Item Library.
Click on a region item in the Item Library.
Select a Quick Editor from the Editor list and click the Edit button.
In the Content tab, select the external data source option.
• For the Crawl, Roll, Title and Animation Quick Editors check the
External Data Source checkbox and then click the Setup button.
• For the Table Quick Editor click the Setup Data Source button.
In the Select Text Source dialog, select the ODBC option.
Select a database from the Database list.
Select the database table from the Table list. For text file databases the text file name displays as the table name.
Set your playback options.
Playback Option
Retrieve Data
Description
Sets when InfoCaster checks the text file for new information.
• Select On Demand to set InfoCaster to update items when the data source is updated.
InfoCaster does not play any item when the data source is not available.
• Select Every and enter a time
(hours:minutes:seconds) to set how often
InfoCaster should look for new information.
InfoCaster plays the last available data if the data source is not available. This prevents your output from disappearing.
180 External Data | InfoCaster
Select Database
Items for Output
Playback Option Description
Expire Retrieved
Data
Sets when InfoCaster will expire external data if the data source is unavailable. For example, your data source may be unavailable if your data source is stored on a network and the network is down.
• Select Never if you want to play the last data available to InfoCaster when the data source is unavailable.
• Select Always if you want to expire the last data available to InfoCaster when the data source is unavailable.
• Select After and enter a time to set how long the data source can be unavailable before the data is expired. The time is displayed in hh:mm:ss (hours:minutes:seconds).
When Data Expires Sets what InfoCaster displays when the data has expired.
• Select the Don't Show Item option if you do not want to play items that have expired.
• Select the Show Custom Message option if you want to display a message when the data has expired. Type in your custom text in the field.
9
Click OK to apply your settings and move to the next dialog.
In the Select Database Items dialog you can select specific data for output, set the data output order, and apply special formatting to specific table entries.
1
2
If necessary, complete steps 1 - 7 in the previous section: “Link to
Database” on page 180.
Select a column name from the Source Column drop-down list to link the data tag on the left to the database column. If you do not want a
External Data | InfoCaster 181
182 External Data | InfoCaster
column in your database to display during output, do not link the column to a data tag.
Data tags in content editor.
On output item data tags display linked column content.
Link data tags to database columns.
Select a column to order content output.
For table items that display multiple columns of text, the data tags in the Table Quick Editor are set as 1-1 for the first column, 1-2 for the second column, and so on. When you link the data tag to the database column, InfoCaster displays the column contents as a list on output.
On output 1-1 data tag displays data from the "city" database column and
1-2 data tag displays data from the
"temp" database column.
Table item data tags:
1-1 data tag is the first column in the item,
1-2 data tag is the second column in the item.
3
4
From the Sort drop-down list select a column for ordering content output. If you do not select a sort column InfoCaster plays the text in the order listed in the table.
Select the ascending or the descending option located beside the Sort list to determine if the selected column content is sorted in ascending order or descending order.
• Columns with numerical data are sorted from smallest number to largest (ascending order) or largest number to smallest (descending order).
• Columns with textual data are sorted alphabetically from A - Z
(ascending order) or in reverse alphabetical order from Z - A
(descending order).
External Data | InfoCaster 183
5
Click the Refresh button at the bottom of the window to view the data selected for output. The Results area displays the table entries sorted for output. The Layout number indicates when the content is displayed on output: first, second, third, and so on.
Title Item Example Table Item Example
The Layout number indicates what content displays first, second, third, and so on.
Set Specific Table
Entries for Output
In the Select Database Items dialog, use the Advanced Selection Criteria section to set specific table entries for playback.
1
Select the AND option or the OR option from the first drop-down list to help set the playback criteria.
AND: Sets InfoCaster to display the table entries that meet the criteria set in the current row and the row above. The table entries must have the attributes of both rows.
184 External Data | InfoCaster
In this example InfoCaster outputs table rows with an ID less than 15 and greater than 5, so rows 6 - 14.
OR: Sets InfoCaster to display the table entries that meet the criteria set either in the current row or the row above. The table entries must have at least one of row's attributes, but not both.
In this example InfoCaster outputs table rows with an ID less than 15 or an ID that equals 20, so rows 1 - 14 and row 20.
2
Select a column heading from the Column list for the selection criteria. The Operator and Value condition applies to the selected column.
For example, select the city column from the Column list, select
Equals from the Operator list, and enter Toronto in the Value text box.
InfoCaster outputs the row of data where Toronto is listed in the city column.
selection criteria table entry
3
4
5
output results
Other examples for using the selection criteria option:
• If you select city from the column list, select Equals from the
Operator list, and enter Toronto in the Value text box, InfoCaster only outputs the table row that includes the entry Toronto.
• If you select city from the column list, select Greater Than from the Operator list, and enter Milton in the Value text box,
InfoCaster outputs the table rows with entries that come after
Milton alphabetically.
• If you select city from the column list, select Not Like from the
Operator list, and enter Ottawa in the Value text box, InfoCaster outputs all the table rows that do not have the entry Ottawa.
To delete the current row from the Advanced Selection Criteria section, select the DELETE option from the row's first drop-down list.
To clear all the information in the Advanced Selection Criteria section, click the Clear button.
To quickly edit the database selections, click the Edit Query button.
External Data | InfoCaster 185
The Edit Query window opens, where you can edit the parameters of your selections in the text line. When you click OK, the edits are saved in the Edit Query window and are applied to your item on output.
SELECT: Lists the columns connected to the data tags.
FROM: Lists the database table.
WHERE: Lists the advanced selection criteria.
ORDER BY: Lists the sort order and direction.
6
7
When you click OK in the Edit Query window the options in the Select
Database Items dialog are disabled. Click the Clear Query button to remove the edits and to enable the options in the Select Database
Items again.
To view the data selected for output click the Refresh button. The
Results area displays the table entries sorted for output.
If you do not want to apply advanced formatting to specific data (see next topic), click OK. In the content editor, click Save. InfoCaster outputs the selected table entries from your ODBC data source during playback.
186 External Data | InfoCaster
Apply Advanced
Formatting to
Data
The advanced formatting options allow you to display specific data in a different color, hide specific data during output, format numeric data, and add a string of text before or after your data.
In this example, we only want InfoCaster to display the "Weather Watch: Severe Thunderstorms" warning if there is a "Y" in the warnYN column.
External Data | InfoCaster 187
Apply Color to Data
Use the conditional formatting options to apply color to specific data.
Select the column that will display the color formatting on output. In this example,
InfoCaster will apply the color formatting to the data in the "warning" column.
1
2
3
4
5
Set the formatting conditions. In this example, InfoCaster applies the color formatting to the data in the warning column only if there is a "Y" in the warnYN column.
In the Select Database Items dialog, click the Advanced Formatting button.
In the Format dialog, select the column from the column list that will display the color formatting.
From the first list in the conditional formatting area, select the column that determines which entries display the color formatting on output. This may be the same column you selected in the last step, or a different column.
Selecting a column activates the other options in the row.
Select an option from the second drop-down list to set a parameter for the conditional formatting. Enter a word, number, or phrase in the text box. The entry in the text box completes the selection from the second list.
Click the color chip to open the Color Picker, and use the Color
Picker tools to select a color for the column entries.
188 External Data | InfoCaster
6
If the NTSC! or PAL! warning appears, click the warning box to select a video-safe color. InfoCaster applies the selected color to the column entries that meet the set conditions.
If you want to clear the formatting options, choose [Select a column] from the first drop-down list in the row.
Hide Data During Output
Apply conditional formatting options to hide specific column entries on output.
1
2
In the Select Database Items dialog, click the Advanced Formatting button.
In the Format dialog, select the column from the column list that contains the data you want to hide on output.
Select the column that contains the data you want to hide on output. In this example,
InfoCaster will hide the data in the "warning" column.
3
Set the formatting conditions and then check the Hide
Item or Color checkbox. In this example, InfoCaster hides the data in the warning column if there is not a
"Y" in the warnYN column.
From the first list in the conditional formatting area, select the column that determines which entries are not shown during output.
This may be the same column you selected in the last step, or a different column.
Selecting a column activates the other options in the row.
External Data | InfoCaster 189
4
5
Select an option from the second drop-down list to set a parameter for the conditional formatting. Enter a word, number, or phrase in the text box. The entry in the text box completes the selection from the second list.
Check the Hide Item or Color checkbox to hide the item on output.
On output the weather warning is hidden for items meeting formatting conditions.
6
warning in set color warning hidden
If you want to clear the formatting options, choose [Select a column] from the first drop-down list in the row.
Format Numeric Data
Use the data formatting options to format your numeric data.
1
2
In the Select Database Items dialog, click the Advanced Formatting button.
In the Format dialog, select the numeric column from the Column list and then choose an option from the Thousands Separator, Decimal
Point, and Decimal Places lists.
Add a Prefix or Suffix
Use the Add Prefix and Add Suffix options to display text before or after your text on output.
1
2
In the Select Database Items dialog, click the Advanced Formatting button.
To display a string of text before each column entry during output, select the column in the Column list and then select the Add Prefix checkbox. Enter the text in the text box.
190 External Data | InfoCaster
3
To display a string of text after each column entry during output, select the column in the Column list and then select the Add Suffix checkbox. Enter the text in the text box.
External Data | InfoCaster 191
192 External Data | InfoCaster
Schedule Playback
Sequences
5. Schedule Playback Sequences
Schedule Playback Overview
Use Sequencer and Conditional Playback to schedule the playback sequence(s) of your InfoCast pages and region items.
• Schedule page playback sequences in the Sequencer in the Pages window. You can set the page start time, transition, duration and days of the week for for page playback. For instructions on setting page playback, see “Schedule InfoCast Pages” on page 195.
• Schedule region playback sequences in the Sequencer in the Items window. You can set the region start time, transition, duration, looping, and days of the week for region item playback. For instructions on setting region playback, see “Schedule Region Items” on page 201.
• Set events to be triggered in the Conditional Playback dialog. You can set sequences, items, times and GPI triggers to trigger a pop-back resize or the playback of other items, sequences, pages, or
GPO output. For instructions on using triggers for playback, see “Set Triggers” on page 210.
6
Output InfoCast
1
Open
InfoCast
2
Double-click on a page to add regions
3
Draw a region
4a
Double-click on a region to add content
4b
Open a content editor
4c
Add content
5
Set playback sequence
194 Schedule Playback | InfoCaster
Schedule InfoCast Pages
Schedule the playback sequence of the pages in your InfoCast using the options in the Sequencer on the Pages window. You can set up one or more sequences with one or more pages for playback.
By default, a sequence (Sequence 1) is automatically added to the sequence list and the first page layout in your InfoCast project is set up for output. New pages that you create or import are not automatically included in the page sequence for output.
1
Add sequence
3
Select sequence and adjust sequence settings
2
Drag to add page to sequence
4
Select page and adjust page settings
Schedule Playback | InfoCaster 195
Add a New
Page Sequence
Add multiple sequences to set different playback times for pages, or to organize pages in the sequence.
1
2
Click the Add button above the Sequence Settings panel.
In the dialog, enter a name and start time for the new sequence.
Skip or Play Sequence During Playback
By default, the checkboxes on the sequence headings are checked so that they play during output.
To skip a sequence during playback, clear the sequence heading checkbox.
Check to include sequence in output
To skip only one page during output, place the page in its own sequence, then clear the sequence checkbox.
Rename Sequence
To give your sequence a descriptive name, select the sequence heading in the sequence list, then click on the Rename button above the Sequence
Settings panel. Name the sequence as prompted.
Delete a Sequence
To remove a sequence from the sequence list, select the sequence heading, then click the Delete button above the Sequencer panel. InfoCaster deletes the sequence heading and removes the pages from the sequence list. The pages remain available in the Page Library.
196 Schedule Playback | InfoCaster
Add Pages to a
Sequence
Add pages to the sequence by dragging the page from the Page Library to the sequence heading. You can add the same page to the sequence more than once..
Set Sequence
Settings
Drag page from library to a sequence
Change Order of Pages in the Sequence
To change the playback order of pages, drag the page up or down in the sequence list.
Delete Pages from the Sequence
To remove a page from the sequence, use one of these methods.
• Drag the page from the sequence back to the Page Library.
• Right-click on the page in the sequence, then select Remove Page from the menu.
• Select the page, then select Pages
>
Delete Page from Sequence.
The page remains available in the Page Library, so you can add it to the sequence at a later time.
Set an Offline Graphic
To display an image on your output device whenever a page is switched during playback, select Edit
>
Preferences. Use the Choose button beside the Offline Graphic field on the General tab to select a graphic file. See
“Offline Graphic” on page 230 for details.
When you schedule a page sequence, you can set the sequence start time, and the transition between pages. Sequence Settings are applied to every page in a sequence.
Schedule Playback | InfoCaster 197
Click on a sequence heading in the sequence list to select it. The Sequence
Settings panel becomes available.
Set Page
Settings
Select a sequence and adjust Sequence Settings
1
2
Set Sequence Start Time
Select a sequence heading.
Enter a time in the Start Sequence At field. When you start playback, the page sequence that is set for output at the current time plays.
1
2
3
Set Default Transition
You can apply a transition for page switches in your sequence.
4
Select a sequence heading.
Select a transition from the Default Transition drop-down list.
Set how long the transition should take (in seconds) in the Duration field.
If you have selected a Wipe transition and are using Progressive VGA for output with GPU Acceleration enabled, enter a number in the
Softness field to set how hard or soft the edges of the transition appear. Increase the number to increase the softness.
You can use page settings to set the playback of individual pages within your sequence. You can set the page to play on specific days of the week, set the page to not play before or after a specific date, set the page to play for a specific length of time, and set the transition for the page.
198 Schedule Playback | InfoCaster
Click on a page in the sequence to select it. The Sequence Settings panel changes into the Page Settings panel.
Select a page and adjust Page Settings
Set Days of the Week for Playback
You can set which days of the week your page will play.
1
2
3
Select a page in the sequence list.
In the Page Settings panel, select the checkbox beside the day(s) of the week that you want your page to play.
Clear the days of the week that you do not want the page to play.
You can also click on the buttons that appear beside the page in the sequence list to set which days the page is to play.
Set Timeline for Page Playback
1
2
If you only want the page to play for a certain number of days, use the Don’t
Play Before and Don’t Play After Controls.
3
Select a page in the sequence list.
If you don’t want the page to play before a certain date, check the
Don’t Play Before checkbox and enter a date in the field.
If you don’t want the page to play after a certain date, check the Don’t
Play After checkbox and enter a date in the field.
Schedule Playback | InfoCaster 199
Set Page Duration
1
2
You can set how long pages play before the next page in the sequence is displayed.
Select a page in the sequence list.
Enter how long the page should play in the Page Duration field, in hours, minutes and seconds.
Set Page Transition
1
2
3
You can set what kind of transition is used to transition to the page. If the default transition for the sequence is dissolve, but you want one page to snap on screen, select the page that you want to snap on screen and choose the Snap transition.
4
Select a page in the sequence list.
Select a transition from the Transition drop-down list.
Set how long the transition should take (in seconds) in the Duration field.
If you have selected a Wipe transition and are using Progressive VGA for output with GPU Acceleration enabled, enter a number in the
Softness field to set how hard or soft the edges of the transition appear. Increase the number to increase the softness.
200 Schedule Playback | InfoCaster
Schedule Region Items
Schedule the playback sequence of the items in each region using the options in the Sequencer on the
Item window. You can set up one or more sequences with one or more region items for playback.
If you had selected the Auto Add To Sequence checkbox in the region item editor, all your region items are added to the sequence by default. See “Automatically Add Items to the Sequence” on page 51 for details on this option.
1
Add sequence
2
Drag item to sequence
.
3
Adjust Sequence Settings
4
Adjust Item Settings
Schedule Playback | InfoCaster 201
Add a New
Region
Sequence
Add multiple sequences to set different playback times for items, or to organize items in the sequence.
1
2
Click the Add button above the Sequence Settings panel.
In the dialog, enter a name and start time for the new sequence.
Skip or Play Sequence During Playback
By default, the checkboxes on the sequence headings are checked, so that they play during output.
To skip a sequence during playback, clear the sequence heading checkbox.
Check to include sequence in output
To set a sequence to play during output, check the sequence heading checkbox.
Rename Sequence
To give a sequence a descriptive name, select the sequence heading in the sequence lists, then click on the Rename button above the Sequence
Settings panel. Name the sequence as prompted.
Delete a Sequence
To remove a sequence from the sequence list, select the sequence heading, then click the Delete button above the Sequencer panel.
202 Schedule Playback | InfoCaster
Add Region
Items to a
Sequence
3 InfoCaster deletes the sequence heading and removes the region items from the sequence list. The region items remain available in the Item
Library.
Add region items to the sequence by dragging the item from the Items
Library to the sequence heading. You can add the same item to the sequence more than once.
Items that are in the sequence are colored green in the Item Library. Items that are not in the sequence are blue.
Drag item from library to a sequence
Auto Add to Sequence
If you checked the Auto Add to Sequence checkbox in the content editor when you created your region item, the region item was automatically added to the sequence list. See “Automatically Add Items to the Sequence” on page 51 for details.
Schedule Playback | InfoCaster 203
Set Region
Sequence
Settings
Add Blank Item to Sequence
To make the region transparent, add a blank item to the sequence. To do this, select Add Blank Item from the region item editor list. See “About
Blank Items” on page 44 for further information.
Change Order of Items in Sequence
To change the playback order of items, drag the item up or down in the sequence list in the Items window.
Delete Items from Sequence
To remove an item from the sequence, while keeping the item in the Item
Library, use one of these methods.
• Drag the item from the sequence list back to the Item Library.
• Right-click on the item in the sequence list, then select Remove Item from the menu.
• Select Items
>
Delete Item in Sequencer.
When you schedule a region item sequence, you can set the sequence start time, the playback duration of some region items, the transition between items and looping options. Sequence Settings are applied to every item in a sequence.
Click on a sequence heading in the sequence list to select it. The Sequence
Settings panel becomes available.
Select sequence and adjust Sequence Settings
Set Sequence Start Time
1
Select a sequence heading.
204 Schedule Playback | InfoCaster
2 Enter a time in the Start Sequence At field. When you start playback, the region sequence that is set for output at the current time plays.
1
2
3
Set Roll and Crawl Speed
You can set the speed at which rolls and crawls move across the screen.
Select a sequence heading in a roll or crawl region.
Drag the speed slider right to increase the speed.
Drag the speed slider left to decrease the speed.
Set Roll and Crawl Direction
1
2
You can set the direction rolls and crawls move across the screen. To change the default direction for all rolls and crawls, change the setting in the Preferences dialog.
Select a sequence heading in a roll or crawl region.
Use the Direction radio buttons to set the direction your roll or crawl.
• Set your crawls in the sequence to move To Left or To Right.
• Set your rolls in the sequence to move Up or Down.
Set Default Item Duration
1
2
You can set how long non-moving items play in the region until the next item plays. This option is available for still, digital clock, analog clock and temperature regions. Select a sequence heading.
Enter a duration in the Default Duration fields in hours, minutes and seconds.
Set Default Transition
1
2
3
You can apply a transition for when items switch in your sequence.
Select a sequence heading.
Select a transition from the Default Transition drop-down list.
Set how long the transition should take (in seconds) in the Duration field.
If you have selected a Wipe transition and are using Progressive VGA for output with GPU Acceleration enabled, enter a number in the Softness field to set how hard or soft the edges of the transition appear. Increase the number to increase the softness.
Schedule Playback | InfoCaster 205
Set Item
Settings
Set Sequences to Loop
1
2
You can set the sequence to play through once, or to continue playback until another sequence is scheduled to play. This option is not available for still regions.
3
Select a sequence heading.
Check the Loop Sequence checkbox to set the sequence to start from the beginning when the sequence finishes until the next sequence is set to play.
Clear the Loop Sequence checkbox to set the sequence to play through once and then stop.
Set Items to Finish Playback Before Next Sequence Begins
1
2
You can set InfoCaster to finish playing the current sequence before playing the next sequence, or set sequences to play when they are scheduled no matter what is currently playing. This option is not available for still regions.
3
Select a sequence heading.
Check the End Item Before Changing Sequences checkbox to set
InfoCaster to let the current item finish playback before the next sequence begins.
For example if you are playing a 5 minute video clip at 9:57 and the next sequence is scheduled to begin at 10:00, the video clip will play for the full five minutes and the 10:00 sequence will begin at 10:02.
Clear the checkbox if you want the next sequence to start at the correct time no matter what is currently playing..
You can use item settings to set the playback of individual region items within your sequence.
You can set the item to play on specific days of the week, set the item to not play before or after a specific date, set the item to play for a specific length of time, and set the transition for the item.
206 Schedule Playback | InfoCaster
Click on an item in the sequence to select it. The Sequence Settings panel changes into the Item Settings panel.
Select item and adjust Item Settings
Set Days of the Week for Playback
You can set which days of the week your item will play.
1
2
3
Select an item in the sequence list.
In the Item Settings panel, select the checkbox beside the day(s) of the week that you want your item to play.
Clear the days of the week that you do not want the item to play.
You can also click on the buttons that appear beside the item in the sequence list to set which days the item is to play.
Set Timeline for Item Playback
1
2
If you only want the item to play for a certain number of days, use the Don’t
Play Before and Don’t Play After Controls.
3
Select an item in the sequence list.
If you don’t want the item to play before a certain date, check the
Don’t Play Before checkbox and enter a date in the field.
If you don’t want the item to play after a certain date, check the Don’t
Play After checkbox and enter a date in the field.
Schedule Playback | InfoCaster 207
Set Item Duration
1
2
You can set how long non-moving items play before the next item in the sequence is displayed. This option is available for still, digital clock, analog clock and temperature regions.
Select an item in the sequence list.
Enter how long the item should play in the Duration field, in hours, minutes and seconds.
Set Item Transition
1
2
3
You can set what kind of transition is used to transition to the item. If the default transition for the sequence is dissolve, but you want one item to snap on screen, select the item that you want to snap on screen and choose the Snap transition.
Select an item in the sequence list.
Select a transition from the Transition drop-down list.
Set how long the transition should take (in seconds) in the Duration field.
If you have selected a Wipe transition and are using Progressive VGA for output with GPU Acceleration enabled, enter a number in the Softness field to set how hard or soft the edges of the transition appear. Increase the number to increase the softness.
208 Schedule Playback | InfoCaster
Change Sequence Display
You can change how much information is displayed in the Sequencer depending on whether you want to make more room to see your items or your sequence list.
Brief View/Extended View
Hides/Displays
Settings panel options
Set Sequence
Display
Hides/Displays sequence list
To display the Sequence Settings panel, click on the Extended View button
(double arrows) on the Sequencer toolbar. The Extended View button becomes the Brief View button.
To hide the Sequence Settings, when you want more room to work on the items in the Library, click on the Brief View button.
To display or hide the Sequence, Page or Item options, click on the triangle beside the Sequence Settings in the Sequence Settings panel.
Set Sequence
Settings Display
Set Sequence
Item Display
To display or hide the sequence list, click on the triangle in front of the sequence heading.
To display the name and a thumbnail of your page or region item, click the Small
Thumbnaiils button in the Sequencer title bar.
Text Only
Small Thumbnails
To display just the name of your page or region item, click the Text Only button in the Sequencer title bar.
Schedule Playback | InfoCaster 209
Set Triggers
You can set the playback of certain events to trigger other events to action in InfoCaster. The trigger event can be a region item, a region item sequence, a time, or a GPI trigger. The action event can be play item, play item sequence, play page, output in pop-back region, or output GPO.
Disable
Sequence,
Page, or Item
Open
Conditional
Playback
Dialog
1
2
In the sequence list, disable the sequence, page, or item that you want to use as the resulting action of the trigger.
Switch to the Pages or Items window.
Clear the checkbox in the page or region sequence heading. See “Skip or Play Sequence During Playback” on page 196 for details.
You may need to put an item in its own sequence, then disable the sequence.
1
2
Select Tools
>
Conditional
Playback, or click on the
Conditional Playback button on the main toolbar, located next to the Stop button.
Conditional Playback (Triggers) button
In the Conditional Playback dialog box, click New to create a new conditional playback event.
210 Schedule Playback | InfoCaster
Select Trigger
From the Trigger dropdown list in the Event
Setup dialog box, select one of the following items to trigger the start of the next action.
Item Starts
Sets the playback of an item to trigger an action.
Select the page, region, sequence, and item from the drop-down lists.
When the trigger is aired, the item plays once, then scheduled playback resumes. If you want the item to loop during playback, place the item in its own sequence, then select the Loop option in the Items
Sequence Settings panel. See “Set Sequences to Loop” on page 206.
Sequence Starts
Sets the playback of a sequence to trigger an action. Select the page that contains the sequence, the region that contains the sequence, and the sequence that is used as the trigger.
Schedule Playback | InfoCaster 211
When the trigger is aired, the sequence either plays once or loops, depending on what you selected in the Sequence Settings panel. Then, scheduled playback resumes.
GPI
Sets a GPI trigger to trigger an action. Select the GPI number from the list which contains all known GPIs connected to your system. Then, check the Pulse radio button to trigger your selections immediately upon touching the GPI trigger, or check the Tone radio button to trigger your selection after holding down the GPI trigger for a moment.
Note:
The GPI Initiated option is only available after you select the GPI device in the Configuration Utility. To do this: a b
Click on the Windows START button on the bottom left corner of your screen, then select Programs
>
Inscriber
>
InfoCaster
>
Utilities
>
InfoCaster Configuration Utility.
In the Configuration Utility, select the GPI device connected to your system: Live Link Installed, Serial GPI, or Software GPIs.
212 Schedule Playback | InfoCaster
The GPIs that are available with that device are displayed in the
GPI List panel. These numbers are also displayed in the
Conditional Playback dialog box.
Select Action
c
If you selected the Serial GPI option and have more than 1
Comm port, select the port for each GPI trigger in the Serial
GPI Configuration panel.
Reaching Specified
Time
Sets an action to be triggered at a particular time. Select the date and time.
From the Action drop-down list, select one of the following events to occur when the trigger is reached.
Note:
Only pages, items, and sequences that are disabled in the sequence list are available in the Action list, as explained in “Disable
Sequence, Page, or Item” on page 210.
Play Item
Sets an item to play when the trigger has been reached. Select the page, region, sequence, and item from the list.
Note:
Only items that
Schedule Playback | InfoCaster 213
are disabled in the sequence list are available in the Action list, as explained in “Disable Sequence, Page, or Item” on page 210.
Play Sequence
Sets a sequence to play when the trigger has been reached. Select the page, region, and sequence from the list.
Note:
Only sequences that are disabled in the sequence list are available in the Action list, as explained in “Disable Sequence, Page, or
Item” on page 210.
Play Page:
Sets a page to play when the trigger has been reached. Select the page from the list.
Note:
Only pages that are disabled in the sequence list are available in the Action list, as explained in “Disable Sequence, Page, or Item” on page 210.
Pop-Back Resize
Sets a region to be resized to a pop-back region size when the trigger has been reached.
Select the page that the region is in, then the region. In the And It Resizes To field, select the popback region that you want the region to resized to.
To return the region of a pop-back action to its original size, create another trigger event and select Its Original Size in the And It Resizes To field.
For details on pop-back regions, see “Draw a Pop-Back Region” on page 32.
214 Schedule Playback | InfoCaster
Save
GPO
Sets output from an external device to play when the trigger has been reached.
Select the number of the external device in the list.
Click Save in the Event Setup dialog box.
The trigger is displayed in the Conditional Playback dialog box.
Skip Trigger
Events
You can set your trigger events to be skipped during output. When triggers are active, the checkbox beside them is checked, and they will occur when the InfoCast plays.
1
Select Tools
>
Conditional Playback.
2
In the Conditional Playback dialog box, clear the checkbox beside the trigger event you want to skip.
Schedule Playback | InfoCaster 215
216 Schedule Playback | InfoCaster
Output
6. Output
Output Overview
You can start playing an InfoCast in two ways.
• Click on the Play button in the main toolbar to output your InfoCast starting from the scheduled time according to the times that are set in the page and region item sequence lists.
• Right-click on a blank space in the pages or items sequence list, then select Start Playback from the First Page to output your InfoCast starting from the first page and item in your first sequence list.
InfoCaster plays the InfoCast on an output monitor. The region item that is set for output plays for the set duration. Then, the next item in the sequence list plays, and so on. InfoCaster loops through each sequence of pages and items until it reaches the start time of the next sequence in the list. Only one item in each region of a page layout is output to air at any given time.
While your InfoCast is playing, you cannot adjust regions in the Regions window or change the crawl or roll speed, However, you can add, delete, and modify content, and rearrange the sequence.
Changes apply the next time InfoCaster plays that item. You can also control plasma display screens and log your output, as explained in “Log Output” on page 227.
6
Output InfoCast
1
Open
InfoCast
2
Double-click on a page to add regions
3
Draw a region
218 Output | InfoCaster
4a
Double-click on a region to add content
4b
Open a content editor
4c
Add content
5
Set playback sequence
Preview Before Playback
Before you send your InfoCast to air, you can preview your content in the following ways.
Content Editor
Preview Panel
You can preview the content of each region item in the preview panel of the content editor as you create each item. Refer to chapters about adding region items, starting with “Add Items to Regions” on page 39.
Regions
Window
Workspace
Desktop Video
Window
You can preview a still image of each region item on your page layout in the
Regions window workspace. See “Preview Regions” on page 37 for details.
If you select Desktop Video window as your output device (as explained in
“Select Output Device” on page 221), your InfoCast outputs to your computer monitor. You can use this method to test your layouts before outputting to the public.
Use GPU
Acceleration
GPU Acceleration uses your system's graphics processing unit (GPU) instead of the central processing unit (CPU) to accelerate certain effects.
GPU Acceleration is available for progressive VGA output. By default, it is enabled in new layouts.
If you are updating an InfoCast that has been created in an earlier version of InfoCaster, you need to enable GPU Acceleration.
To enable GPU Acceleration, switch to the Regions window, then select
Regions
>
GPU Acceleration
>
All Regions On.
It is recommended that you leave GPU Acceleration on.
Output | InfoCaster 219
Play InfoCast
There are two ways you can output your InfoCast; starting from the beginning of the sequence, or starting from the scheduled time.
During playback, the ON AIR indicator at the top right corner of the screen lights up.
Animations play back at the frame rate of the playback device.
ATI: 1 second = 60 frames
NTSC: 1 second = 30 frames
PAL: 1 second = 25 frames
Play at
Scheduled Time
You can output your InfoCast so that it starts playing the content that is scheduled to play at specific times in the playback sequences of your
InfoCast pages and region items. For example, if you have a sequence of three items with a sequence start time of 1:00 PM and each item is set to play for one hour, starting playback at 2:30 PM would set item number two to play.
With your InfoCast project open, click the Play button on the main toolbar at the top of the screen. Alternately, you can right-click on the page in the
Pages window, then select Play Page from the menu, or you can select File
>
Start Playback
Play from location in sequence
On Air
Play from Start
You can output your InfoCast so that it starts playing the content on the first page and the first region item in your page and item sequence list.
Right-click on the pages or region items sequence window below the sequence list, then select Start Playback from the First Page.
Stop InfoCasts
Click the Stop button on the main toolbar at the top of the screen to stop the output. Alternately, you can select File
>
Stop Playback.
220 Output | InfoCaster
View Playback
While your InfoCast is on air, you can view the InfoCast in two locations.
• The Preview window at the bottom left corner of your InfoCaster screen.
• The selected output device.
View from
Preview
Window
To see the output of your InfoCast in the Preview window at the bottom-left corner of your InfoCaster Creation Station screen, select Tools
>
Preview
Playback. InfoCaster displays exactly what is being aired.
Note:
If Desktop Video is selected as the output device, this option is not available. See “Select Output Device” on page 221 below for details.
Select Output
Device
InfoCaster plays your InfoCasts to an output monitor. This may be a VGA monitor, a video monitor, or a plasma display, depending on your hardware configuration. If your output monitor supports external control, you may be able to control it from InfoCaster.
When you first install InfoCaster, the Configuration Utility opens, in which you select your output device.
To change the output device:
1
Click on the Windows START button on the bottom left corner of your screen, then select Programs
>
InfoCaster Configuration Utility.
>
Inscriber
>
InfoCaster
>
Utilities
Output | InfoCaster 221
2
In the Configuration Utility, select one of the following output devices from the Select Output Device drop-down list on the Video/Audio
Standard Change tab:
222 Output | InfoCaster
• PCI-100: Select this option to output to the output device that is connected to your PCI-100 card.
• Desktop Video
Window: Select this option to output to your computer monitor via the
Desktop Video window.
• VGA Out: Select this option to output to the
VGA output device that is connected to your ATI card.
• TV Out: Select this option to output to the TV output device that is connected to your ATI card.
• Matrox G450 / G550: Select this option to output to the output device that is connected to your Matrox card.
• Blackmagic DeckLink: Select this option to output to the output device that is connected to your BlackMagic DeckLink card.
To output to more sources, you can purchase player licences. See
“Purchase Options” on page 4 for further information.
Control Plasma
Display Screens
3
4
4
Select a video standard from the list.
To connect to live video input: a c b
Select the Yes, I have live video input radio button. The PCI-100 checkbox and the video standard drop-down list become available.
If you have a PCI-100 card, check the PCI-100 checkbox.
Select NTSC or PAL from the video standard drop-down list.
Click OK to continue. Restart InfoCaster as prompted.
You can use a serial trigger to turn your plasma monitor on or off.
1
In the Pages window, select Tools
>
Plasma Display Control.
2
In the Plasma Display Control dialog box, select the COM port that connects to your plasma display screen from the Com Port list.
3
4
5
Select your plasma display's make and model from the Plasma Display list. If your model is not listed, contact [email protected] for assistance.
Check the Enable Automatic Display Control checkbox to enable the scheduling options.
Clear the checkbox to disable InfoCaster's automatic control of the display screens.
Schedule the selected plasma display screen by selecting one of the following options for each day of the week:
• Select the On From radio button, then enter a start display time in the first field, and an end display time in the second field.
InfoCaster keeps the plasma display on from the time set in the first field to the time set in the second field.
• Select On All Day to keep the plasma display on all day.
• Select Off to turn the plasma display off for that day.
Output | InfoCaster 223
Track Output
Change
Content During
Playback
You can track which item in the sequence list is currently playing in any region. You can track the playback of region items in log files.
Track Playback Item in Sequence List
To highlight the item that is currently playing:
1
2
3
Open the region in the Items window to display its sequence list. See “Open
Region in Items
Window” on page 42.
Select Items
>
Display Playback
Position in the Items window to enable this feature.
Click the Play button to output the InfoCast.
Track Playback of Region Items in Log File
To create a log file of all the times the content of a region is aired, check the Log This Region checkbox in the Details panel below the Regions workspace as explained in “Log Region Playback” on page 36.
Each day, InfoCaster creates a new log file that contains the playback information of the entire day. The log includes the player name, page name, region name, item name, start date, start time, stop date, stop time, and duration.
To view a log file, or change default log settings, such as the status of automatic logging, the log file location, or the number of days a log file is kept on your system, see “Log Output” on page 227.
While your InfoCast is playing, you cannot adjust regions in the Regions window or change the crawl or roll speed, but you can add, delete, and modify content, and rearrange the sequence. Changes apply the next time
InfoCaster plays that item.
To skip a sequence during playback, clear the sequence heading checkbox.
Check to include sequence in output
To set a sequence to play during output, check the sequence heading checkbox. To skip or enable a trigger, see “Skip Trigger Events” on page 215.
224 Output | InfoCaster
Appendix
Appendix
Additional Tasks
In addition to creating InfoCasts and airing them, you can also do the following in InfoCaster:
Log Output
Create log files, view log files, or change default log settings, such as the status of automatic logging, the log file location, or the number of days a log file is kept on your system. See “Log Output” on page 227.
Change
Preferences
Change your default settings in the Preferences dialog box. See “Change
Preferences” on page 229.
226 Appendix | InfoCaster
Log Output
You can log the playback of region items. A new log file is created each day, so the playback of an entire day is stored in one log file.
You can automatically set all regions to be logged, change the log file location, or change the number of days a log file is kept on your system.
Log Region
Playback
View Log File
To create a log file of all the times the content of a region is aired, check the Log This Region checkbox in the Details panel below the Regions workspace. as explained in “Log Region Playback” on page 36.
Each day, InfoCaster creates a new log file that contains the playback information of the entire day.
To view the log file after you output the project, select Tools
>
Log Viewer.
The Log Viewer opens, displaying the log file for the current day.
To open a different log file, select File
>
Open in the Log Viewer dialog box, then select the log file you want. The default folder is C:\Program
Files\Inscriber\InfoCaster\PlaybackLogs. The date that the data was logged is stored as part of the log file name.
Appendix | InfoCaster 227
Change Logging
Defaults
By default, items are not set to be logged. You can enable or disable logging, change the storage folder for log files, and change the number of days that log files are stored on your system.
To change logging defaults, select Edit
>
Preferences and select the
Logging tab in the Preferences dialog box. See “Log Region Playback” on page 227 for details.
228 Appendix | InfoCaster
Change Preferences
Select Edit
>
Preferences to change your default settings in the Preferences dialog box.
General Tab
Store InfoCasts In
InfoCaster saves your InfoCast projects to C:\InfoCasts by default. Pages are saved to C:\InfoCasts\project folder. To change the location for saved projects, click on the Choose button next to the Store InfoCasts In field, then select a new location in the dialog box that comes up.
Load Last InfoCast on Startup
To set InfoCaster to load your last opened project when you start
InfoCaster, check the Load Last Page Layout on Startup checkbox on the
General tab.
Image File Lifetime Interval
To set InfoCaster to delete temporary images after a certain length of time, enter a value in the Image File Lifetime Interval field. Images from ODBC and HTTP sources are stored in the region’s temp images folder each time an image is updated. InfoCaster deletes images in the temp images folder when pages transition during output or when playback stops. However, if you are playing one page for a long period of time and your images are being updated frequently your disk space may become full.
Appendix | InfoCaster 229
230 Appendix | InfoCaster
Offline Graphic
To display a graphic on your output device whenever a page is switched during playback, use the Choose button beside the Offline Graphic field to select a graphic file.
Default Roll Direction
To change the default direction that applies to all rolls, change the Default
Roll Direction option on the General tab.
Default Crawl Direction
To change the default direction that applies to all Crawl items, change the
Default Crawl Direction option on the General tab.
Store Shared Media Files In
You can save your audio, video, and animation files in a central location for shared referencing. All the region items that use the same file refer to the shared media folder instead of referring to copies of the same file in different places.
To use this feature, you must select the Shared Media option in a content editor when you add a region item to a region. See “Add Items to Regions” on page 39 for more information about region items.
InfoCaster saves your shared media files to the default location C:\Shared
Media. This is true when saving an InfoCast to CD as well. InfoCaster automatically creates the directory folders it needs.
To change the default location for shared media, click on the Choose button next to the Store Shared Media Files In field on the General tab in the Preferences dialog box. Then, select a new file location for your shared media.
Automatically Delete Shared Media Files
To automatically delete files in the Shared Media folder that are no longer referred to by any InfoCasts, check the Automatically Delete Stored Media
Files That Are Not Referenced or Being Used By Any InfoCast checkbox.
Output Aspect Ratio
You can set the aspect ratio for your output monitor and for your computer display. The aspect ratio is a global setting applied to all page layouts you open in InfoCaster, so individual layouts do not store aspect ratio information. Selecting the right aspect ratio ensures that objects maintain their proper shape without appearing skewed during playback. For example, if you output to a 16:9 display, select 16:9 in the Preferences dialog box.
To select an aspect ratio for your output screen, select an option from the
Output Aspect Ratio drop-down list.
To select an aspect ratio for your computer display, select an option from the VGA Aspect Ratio drop-down list.
VGA Aspect Ratio
To select an aspect ratio for your computer display, select an option from the VGA Aspect Ratio drop-down list. See “Output Aspect Ratio” on page 231 for details.
Audio Ducking Level
If you are playing several items with audio, you may want to shut off or reduce the audio levels when one specific item plays. This is known as audio ducking.
When you enable Audio ducking for an item, all other audio that is playing ducks (goes quiet) by the percentage indicated in the Audio Ducking Level field. The default ducking level is 30% of the normal audio level.
To change the default audio ducking level, enter a new audio ducking level percentage in the Audio Ducking Level field on the General tab.
Appendix | InfoCaster 231
Logging Tab
Network Tab
Change Status of Automatic Logging
By default, items are not set to be logged. To set all items to be logged, check the Enable Logging checkbox on the Logging tab. To disable logging, clear the checkbox.
Change Default Log File Location
To store log files in a different default folder, click the Choose button and select a new folder as prompted.
Set Number of Keep Log Days
To change the default number of days that log files are stored on your system, enter another number in the Days field.
When operating as part of the Network Manager solution, InfoCaster uses the options on the Network tab to connect to a Network Manager. The
Network Manager solution includes InfoCaster, Network Manager, and the players. See the online help (Help
>
Online Help) for details.
232 Appendix | InfoCaster
Index
A
Add
Analog Clock Items
..........120
Animation Items
............... 90
Audio to Item
.................. 75
Background to Item
........... 74
Blank Item
.................... 204
Content to Region
............. 44
Crawl Items
.....................80
Data Tags
........................ 51
Digital Clock Items
........... 98
Digital Timer
.................. 103
Headings to Text
.............. 60
Inca Ports content
............144
InfoCast
........................... 7
Items to Region
................ 44
Live Video
.......................113
More Items
...................... 51
More Text Lines
............... 60
Pages to InfoCast
...............18
Players
........................... 36
Pop-back Regions
............. 32
Regions to Page
............... 22
Roll Items
.......................84
RTXports content
............144
Safe Title Area
................. 26
Still Items
....................... 56
Temperature Items
...........146
Transparency
................. 204
Video Clips
....................108
Video Items
....................106
Add Item command
............. 44
Add Page command
.............18
Add Region command
......... 28
Analog Clock Builder
......... 123
Analog Clock Quick Editor
...121
Analog Clock Region Items
Add Blank Item
...............120
Add, workflow
..........120
,
121
Analog Clock Quick Editor
..121
Analog Clock Regions
Draw Tool
...................... 30 analog clocks add log note
................... 123 adjust transparency
........... 123
Analog Clock Builder
........ 123 create Photoshop clock
..... 121 position
.........................122
save
.............................. 123 scale size
.......................122
Animation Importer
............. 94
Animation Quick Editor
........ 92
Animation Region Items
Add Blank Item
................90
Add, workflow
...................91
Animation Importer
...........94
Animation Quick Editor
...... 92
TitleMotion
..................... 92
Animation Regions
Draw Tool
....................... 29
Arrange Region command
.... 32
Arrange Regions
................. 36
Arrange Regions command
... 36
Audio
Add
............................... 75
Options
..........................76
Audio Ducking Level
.......... 231
Audio Regions
Draw Tool
....................... 30
Auto Delete Shared Files
.... 230
Auto Save InfoCast
...............10
Automatically Add Items to Sequence
.................. 51
B
Background
Add to Item
.....................74
Add to Region
.................. 32
Blank Items
..................... 204
Brief View button
.............. 209
Bring Forward
.................... 36
Bring to Front
.................... 36 build, analog clocks
........... 123
Button
Analog Clock Regions
........ 30
Animation Regions
............ 29
Audio Regions
................. 30
Crawl Regions
.................. 29
Digital Clock Regions
........ 29
Display Names
.................28
Items
..............................43
Pages
............................. 16
Region Permissions
...........36
Regions
..........................24
Roll Regions
....................29
Still Regions
....................29
Temperature Regions
.........30
Video Regions
..................29
C
CD
Open InfoCast on
............... 8
Save InfoCast to
................. 11
Change
Auto Logging
................. 232
Library Display
................. 53
Log File Location
............. 232
Output Device
.................221
Page Display
.................... 17
Region Order
...................36
Sequence Display
.............. 53 clocks add log note (analog)
........123
Analog Clock Builder
........123
count down timers
........... 104 count up timers
.............. 104 position analog clock
........122
save analog clocks
............123
scale size, analog clocks
....122
Close command
...................12
Close InfoCast
.....................12
Conditional Playback
..........210
Configuration Utility
...........221
Content
Set Offline Graphic
...........197
Copy
InfoCast
.......................... 10
Page
.............................. 18
Region Item
..................... 53 count down digital timers
... 104 count up digital timers
....... 104
Crawl Quick Editor
.............. 81
Crawl Region Items
Add Blank Item
................ 80
Add, workflow
................. 80
Crawl Quick Editor
............ 81
Crawl Regions
Index | InfoCaster 233
Draw Tool
....................... 29 create analog clocks
.................. 123
PSD analog clock
............. 121
Creating
More Text Lines
................60
ODBC Database
.............. 175
D
Data Tags
........................ 152
Database
Add to System List
.......... 178
Create in MS Access
......... 175
Create in MS Excel
...........177
Default Settings
Audio Ducking Level
......... 231
Auto Delete Shared Files
.. 230
Change Auto Logging
...... 232
Change Log File Location
.. 232
Crawl Direction
.............. 230
Image File Lifetime Interval
229
Load Last InfoCast
........... 229
Offline Graphic
.............. 230
Output Aspect Ratio
......... 231
Roll Direction
................ 230
Set # Keep Log Days
........ 232
Store InfoCasts In
........... 229
Store Shared Media Files In
230
VGA Aspect Ratio
............ 231
Delete
InfoCast
...........................12
Item in Region
.................. 54
Item in Sequence
............204
Page in InfoCast
...............20
Page in Sequence
.............197
Page Sequence
................196
Regions
.......................... 35
Shared Media Files
.......... 230
Delete command
.................12
Delete Region command
...... 35
Desktop Video Window
....... 219
Details panel
Pages
............................. 16
Regions
.......................... 35
Digital Clock Quick Editor
.. 100
Digital Clock Region Items
Add Blank Item
................98
234 Index | InfoCaster
Add, workflow
..................99
Digital Clock Quick Editor
. 100
Digital Timer Quick Editor
103
Digital Clock Regions
Draw Tool
.......................29
Digital Timer Quick Editor
...103
digital timers count down
.................... 104 count up
....................... 104
Format option
................ 103
From option
................... 104 hours, minutes, seconds
.... 103 separators
..................... 104 set leading zeros
............. 104 start point
..................... 104 stop point
..................... 104
To option
...................... 104
Display
Change Pages window
........ 17
Grid Lines
.......................27
Playback Position
............224
Safe Title Area
.................26
Display Playback Position
... 224
Display Safe Title Area
.........26
Draw Tools
Analog Clock Regions
........30
Animation Regions
............29
Audio Regions
..................30
Crawl Regions
..................29
Digital Clock Regions
.........29
Pop-back Regions
..............30
Roll Regions
....................29
Still Regions
....................29
Temperature Regions
.........30
Video Regions
..................29
Duplicate Item command
...... 53
Duplicate Page command
..... 18
E
Edit
Data Tag Names
................51
Page Layouts
.................... 19
Region Item Content
..........45
Region when locked
...........36
edit
TitleMotion content
...........67
Edit Item Sequences command
..
43
Edit Item With command
......45
Edit menu
Preferences
....................229
Edit Regions command
......... 19
Editors
Analog Clock Quick Editor
. 121
Animation Importer
........... 94
Animation Quick Editor
..... 92
Crawl Quick Editor
............81
Digital Clock Quick Editor
.100
Digital Timer Quick Editor
. 103
Live Video Quick Editor
..... 113
Preview Content
.............. 219
Table Quick Editor-Rolls
.... 88
TitleMotion-Animations
..... 92
TitleMotion-Stills
..............65
Video Clip Quick Editor
....108
Enable OnScreen Update checkbox
.....................154
Exit
InfoCaster
......................... 2
Exit command
...................... 2
Export
Pages
............................. 19
Export command
................. 10 export ICG file
................... 67
Export Page command
.......... 19
Extended View button
........209
External Data
.....................152
features
......................... 154
Format
.......................... 187
Link To
..........................153
Select Items for Output
......181
External Data Source
Region Items
.................. 162
F
File menu
Close
............................. 12
Delete
............................ 12
Exit
................................. 2
Export
............................10
Get from CD
..................... 8
Import
............................. 9
InfoCaster CD
...............8
,
11
New
................................ 7
Open
............................... 8
Rename
...........................10
Save As
...........................10
Save to CD
.......................11
Start Playback
................ 220
Stop Playback
................ 220
Font
Formatting
.......................73
Format
Item with Template
........... 60
Still Items
....................... 60
Format, for digital timers
.... 103
Formatting
Font
...............................73
formatting text create templates
............... 67 with template
................... 67
From option, digital timers
.. 104
G
General tab, Preferences
.....229
Get from CD command
......... 8
GPU Acceleration
............. 219
GPU Acceleration command
219
Graphic
Import into Region
............ 69
Update When Source Changes
.
70
Graphic Importer
................69
H
Help menu
.......................... 4
ToolTips
........................ 28 hours, set for digital times
... 103
HTTP/FTP
Region Items
.................. 162
I
ICG file, for templates
......... 67
Image
Import into Region
............ 69
Maintain Aspect Ratio
....... 70
Scale to Fill Region
........... 70
Update When Source Changes
.
70
Image File Lifetime Interval
..229
Import
InfoCasts
.......................... 9
Pages
..............................18
Import command
.................. 9
Import Page command
..........18
Importing
ODBC Data
................... 175
Inca Port Region Items
Add
..............................144
InfoCaster
1-Open InfoCast
................. 5
2-Add Pages
.....................14
3-Add Regions
................. 22
4-Add Items
....................40
5-Sequence
.................... 194
6-Output
.......................218
About
.............................. 2
Exit
................................. 2
Network Manager option
......4
Player Licences
...................4
Purchase Options
...............4
Start
................................ 2
InfoCaster CD command
....8
,
11
InfoCasts
Add Items
.......................40
Add Pages
.......................18
Add Regions
.................... 22
Close
..............................12
Definition
......................... 5
Delete
............................12
Export
.............................10
Import
............................. 9
Open
............................... 5
Rename
...........................10
Save
...............................10
Schedule Playback
............ 195
Internet
Text Files on
................... 162
Items
Add Content with Editor
..... 50
Add More
........................ 51
Add to InfoCast
................ 44
Change Item Display
..........53
Create
............................40
Delete in Sequence
......... 204
Duplicate
.........................53
Edit
............................... 45
Open
.............................40
Open Content Editor
.........44
Open Region
...................42
Rename
.......................... 35
Select Region
...................42
Switch to Items window
...... 43
Workflow
........................ 41
Items command
.................. 43
Items Library
Change Display
................ 53
Items menu
Add Item
........................44
Delete Item in Library
........ 54
Delete Item in Sequencer
..204
Display Playback Position
. 224
Duplicate Item
................. 53
Edit Item with
.................. 45
Rename Item
.................... 35
Show Item Library As
......... 53
Show Sequence As
............ 53
Items window
Change Item Display
.......... 53
Switch to
........................ 43
L
leading zeros (digital timers)
104
Library
Pages
..............................16
Live Video Quick Editor
.......113
Load Last InfoCast
............ 229
Local Files Browsing, Region
Items
.................. 162
Lock Region command
......... 36
Log
Change Defaults
............. 228
Create File
...................... 36
Log Viewer dialog box
...... 227
Preferences
................... 228
Track Playback
............... 224
View Log File
................. 227 log note for analog clocks
.............. 123 for temperatures
..............149
Log Viewer command
........ 227
M
minutes, for digital timers
.... 103
Monitor, select
.................. 221
Index | InfoCaster 235
move analog clocks
..................122
Move Regions
.................... 35
N
Names of Buttons, display
....28
Network Manager option
........4
Network tab
..................... 232
New command
.....................7
New InfoCast, Open
..............7
O
ODBC Data Source
Create
........................... 175
Link To
......................... 180
ODBC Text File
Create
........................... 159
Link To
..........................164
Offline Graphic
.................197
Online Help command
...........4
opacity adjust for analog clocks
..... 123
Open
................................ 65
Configuration Utility
.........221
InfoCast
............................ 5
Items
.............................40
Pages
.............................24
Regions
..........................42
Open command
....................8
Open InfoCast
Always Open Last InfoCast
... 8
Import
..............................9
Introduction
....................... 5
New InfoCast
.....................7
on CD
............................. 8 on Hard Drive
................... 8
Output
Add Transparency
...........204
Change Content During
.... 224
Control Plasma Screens
.... 223
GPU Acceleration
............219
Offline Graphic
...............197
Overview
.......................218
Play from Scheduled Time
. 220
Play from Start
............... 220
Play InfoCast
.................. 220
Player Licences
...................4
236 Index | InfoCaster
Preview before Playback
.....219
Schedule Sequences
......... 194
Select Output Device
........221
Stop Playback
.................220
Track
...........................224
Track in Log File
.............224
Track in Sequence
...........224
View from Preview window
.221
View Playback
.................221
Output Aspect Ratio
...........231
Output Device, select
.........221
Overlap Regions
................. 36
Overview
InfoCaster
........................ 2
P
Pages
Add New
......................... 18
Add to Sequence
............. 197
Change Page Display
......... 17
Copy
.............................. 18
Definition
........................ 14
Delete
........................... 20
Duplicate
........................ 18
Export
............................ 19
Import
............................ 18
Library
............................ 16
Open
.............................24
Preview Layout
..................37
Rename
......................... 20
Schedule Playback
............195
Select
.............................24
Sequencer
....................... 16
Set Default Transition
...... 198
Set Page Playback
............ 198
Set Sequence Settings
...... 197
Set Sequence Start Time
... 198
Switch to Pages window
...... 16
Workflow
.........................15
Pages button
...................... 16
Pages command
.................. 16
Pages menu
Add Page
........................ 18
Delete Page from Sequence
197
Delete Page in Library
....... 20
Duplicate Page
................. 18
Edit Regions
.................... 19
Export Page
..................... 19
Import Page
.....................18
Show Page Library As
......... 17
Show Sequence As
............. 17
Pages window
Switch to
......................... 15
Photoshop ananlog clock
..... 121
Plasma Display Control
...... 223
Playback
Output
.......................... 218
Schedule Sequences
......... 194 see also Schedule Playback
Player
Licence option
................... 4
Region Permission
.............36
Pointer tool
....................... 28
Pop-back Regions
Draw
..............................32
Pop-back Regions command
..32
position analog clocks
.................. 122
Preferences
Audio Ducking Level
........ 231
Auto Delete Shared Files
...230
Change Auto Logging
.......232
Change Log File Location
..232
Default Crawl Direction
....230
Default Roll Direction
......230
General tab
....................229
Image File Lifetime Interval
229
Load Last InfoCast
...........229
Logging Tab
...................232
Network tab
...................232
Offline Graphic
........197
,
230
Output Aspect Ratio
......... 231
Set # Keep Log Days
........232
Store InfoCasts In
............229
Store Shared Media Files In
230
VGA Aspect Ratio
........... 231
Preview
Before Output
................ 219 in Desktop Video window
.. 219 in Editors
...................... 219 in Preview window
........... 221 in Regions window
......37
,
219
Page Layout
.....................37
Preview All Regions command
37
Preview Playback command
.. 221
Preview Region command
..... 38
Preview window
.................... 3
Program Monitoring
.............. 2
PSD, analog clock
...............121
Purchase Options
.................4
R
Region Items
Enable Onscreen Updates
.. 154
Link to Text File
...............162
Text Files on Internet
........162
Region Permissions button
... 36
Regions
Add Region Items
.............40
Add Regions
.................... 26
Add Transparency
...........204
Analog Clock region
.......... 30
Animation region
.............. 29
Audio region
................... 30
Bring Forward
.................. 36
Bring to Front
.................. 36
Crawl region
.................... 29
Definition
....................... 22
Delete
............................ 35
Digital Clock region
.......... 29
Display Grid Lines
............. 27
Display Safe Title Area
....... 26
Draw Background
............. 32
Draw region
.....................31
Draw, workflow
................ 26
Lock
.............................. 36
Move
............................. 35
Open
.............................42
Overlap
.......................... 36
Pointer tool
.....................28
Pop-back region
......... 30
,
32
Preview
.......................... 37
Rename
.......................... 35
Reposition
....................... 35
Resize
............................ 35
Roll region
...................... 29
Select
............................42
Select Draw tool
...............28
Send Backward
................. 36
Send to Back
................... 36
Still region
...................... 29
Switch to Regions window
...24
Temperature region
...........30
Video region
....................29
Workflow
........................ 23
Regions button
...................24
Regions command
...............24
Regions menu
Add Region
.....................28
Arrange Region
................ 32
Arrange Regions
...............36
Delete Region
.................. 35
Edit Item Sequences
...........43
GPU Acceleration
............219
Lock Region
.....................36
Pop-back Regions
....... 30
,
32
Preview All Regions
...........37
Preview Region
.................38
Show Grid Lines
...............27
Show Page Without Adorn.
..38
Show Safe Title Area
..........26
Regions window
..................26
Display Grid Lines
.............27
Preview content
................37
Switch to
.........................24
Rename
Pages
.............................20
Regions
.......................... 35
Rename command
............... 10
Rename Item command
........ 35
Reorder Pages in Sequencer
.197
Reorder Regions
................. 36
Reposition
Lock Region Position
.........36
Regions
.......................... 35
Resize
Lock Region Size
..............36
Regions
.......................... 35 resize analog clocks
..................122
Roll Region Items
Add Blank Item
.................85
Add, workflow
..................85
Table Quick Editor
........... 88
Roll Regions
Draw Tool
.......................29
RSS Data Feed
Link To
......................... 170
RTXport Region Items
Add, workflow
................ 144
S
save analog clock content
.........123
temperatures
.................. 149
Save As command
............... 10
Save InfoCast
..................... 10
Save to CD command
............ 11 scale analog clock size
............. 122
Scale checkbox in Analog Clock Editor
..... 122
Schedule Playback
Change Item Display
.......... 53
Change Page Display
.......... 17
Delete Item from Sequence
204
Delete Page from Sequence
197
Delete Sequence
............. 196
Item Sequence Settings
.... 206
Overview
....................... 194
Region Item Settings
....... 206
Region Items Sequencer
.... 201
Rename Sequence
............ 196
Schedule Pages
................195
Schedule Region Items
...... 201
Set Offline Graphics
......... 197
Set Triggers
................... 210
Skip During Output
......... 196
See ToolTips
..................... 28
Select
Page in InfoCast
............... 24
Region
........................... 42
Send Backward
...................36
Send Region to Back
............36
separators set (digital timers)
........... 104
Sequencer
Display
.........................209
Items
............................ 201
Pages
............................. 16 see also Schedule Playback
Set # Keep Log Days
.......... 232
Show Grid Lines command
....27
Show Item Library As
........... 53
Show Page Library As
........... 17
Index | InfoCaster 237
Show Page without Adornments
.
38
Show Safe Title Area command
..
26
Show Sequence As
.............. 53
Show Sequence As command
.17
size analog clock
...................122
Start
InfoCaster
.........................2
Play InfoCast
.................. 220
Start Playback command
..... 220 start point, for digital timers
104
Step 1-Open InfoCast
............. 5
Step 2-Add Page
.................14
Step 3-Add Regions
............ 22
Step 4-Add Items
................ 39
Step 5-Schedule Playback
....194
Step 6-Output
...................218
Still Region Items
Add Blank Item
................ 57
Add Items, overview
.......... 56
Graphic Importer
..............69
TitleMotion
..................... 65
Still Regions
Draw Tool
....................... 29
Stop Playback command
..... 220 stop point, for digital timers
.104
Store InfoCasts In
............. 229
Store Shared Media Files In
230
T
Table Quick Editor
Rolls
............................. 88
Temperature Region Items
Add Blank Item
...............146
Temperature Regions
Draw Tool
.......................30
temperatures add log note
...................149
save
..............................149
templates create in TitleMotion
.........67
format text
......................67
ICG file
..........................67
text format with template
..........67
238 Index | InfoCaster
Text File
Link to Region Item
......... 162
Text Files on Internet
.................... 162
Text Files on Internet
Region Items
.................. 162 text formatting create templates
................67
Text Lines, Add
..................60
Text, Add Headings
.............60
Timer, Add
.......................103
timers
Format options
............... 103
From option
................... 104 hours, minutes, seconds
.... 103 separators
..................... 104 set leading zeros
............. 104 start point
..................... 104 stop point
..................... 104
To option
...................... 104
Title Quick Editor
Formatting tab
................. 60
TitleMotion
Animation Module
.............92
CG Module
......................65
create templates
................67
edit content
.....................67
Stills
..............................65
To option, digital timers
..... 104
ToolBar
Conditional Playback
........ 210
Trigger button
................ 210
Toolbar
Items button
....................43
New button
....................... 7
Open button
..................... 8
Pages button
.................... 16
Play button
....................220
Regions button
.................24
Stop button
...................220
Tools menu
Conditional Playback
........ 210
Items
..............................43
Log Viewer
....................227
Pages
............................. 16
Plasma Display Control
..... 223
Preview Playback
..............221
Regions
.......................... 24
ToolTips command
............. 28
Track Item Position
............224
transparency adjust for analog clock
...... 123
Transparent
Add Blank Item
.............. 204
Tree View list
About
.............................. 3
Select Page
...................... 16
Switch to Regions window
.. 24
Triggers
.......................... 210
U
Utilities
Configuration
................. 221
V
VGA Aspect Ratio
..............231
Video Clip Quick Editor
...... 108
Video Region Items
Add Blank Item
............... 106
Add, workflow
................ 107
Live Video Quick Editor
..... 113
Video Clip Quick Editor
....108
Video Regions
Draw Tool
...................... 29
W
Workflow
Add Analog Clock Items
.. 120
,
121
Add Animation Items
.......... 91
Add Crawl Items
.............. 80
Add Digital Clock Items
..... 99
Add Items to Region
.......... 41
Add Pages to InfoCast
........ 15
Add Regions to Page
..........23
Add Roll Items
................. 85
Add RTXport Content
...... 144
Add Still Items
.......... 58
,
107
Add Temperature Items
.... 147
Add Video Items
............. 107
Analog Clock Quick Editor
. 121
Animation Importer
........... 94
Animation Quick Editor
..... 92
Crawl Quick Editor
............81
Digital Clock Quick Editor
100
Digital Timer Quick Editor
.103
Draw Regions
.................. 26
Live Video Quick Editor
......113
Table Quick Editor-Rolls
.....88
TitleMotion-Stills
.............. 65
Video Clip Quick Editor
.... 108
X
XML Data Feed
Link To
..........................170
XML Data Source
Set Up
..........................172
InfoCaster 239
240 InfoCaster
Technical Support | InfoCaster 241
Technical Support
You can get InfoCaster technical support from several places.
Technical Support from dealer
Contact your dealer first. Since your dealer helped you configure your system, your dealer is also the best resource for system configuration issues and problems.
If your dealer can’t help you...
If your local dealer is unable to resolve your technical support problems, contact Inscriber Technology
Corporation.
Please have your software serial number available when you contact Inscriber Technical Support. Your serial number can be found in a number of places, including software packaging, on the dongle, and on your InfoCaster CD ROM.
• Email:[email protected]
You can also post a technical support question on our web site, and our support staff will answer your questions.
Product Updates
You can download product updates from our web site, or you can use one of these methods to receive updates.
• Web site:www.inscriber.com
• Email:[email protected]
242 Technical Support | InfoCaster
Download
Advertisement