Enfocus PitStop Professional 7 Prepress Software User Guide
Reklama
Reklama
pitstop.book Page 1 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
User Guide
pitstop.book Page 2 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
© 2006 Artwork Systems NV.
All rights reserved.
Enfocus is an Artwork Systems brand.
Certified PDF is a registered trademark of Artwork
Systems; patent pending.Enfocus PitStop Professional, Enfocus PitStop Server, Enfocus Instant PDF,
Enfocus StatusCheck, Enfocus CertifiedPDF.net,
Enfocus PitStop Automate, Enfocus Instant Barcode and Enfocus PDF Workflow Suite are product names of Artwork Systems.
Acrobat and PostScript are trademarks of Adobe
Systems Incorporated.
Macintosh, Mac, Mac OS and ColorSync are trademarks of Apple Computer, Inc., registered in the
U.S. and other countries.
Windows, Windows 2000 and Windows XP are registered trademarks of Microsoft Corporation.
PANTONE® and other Pantone, Inc. trademarks are the property of Pantone, Inc.
Other brand and product names may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective holders.
All specifications, terms and descriptions of products and services are subject to change without notice or recourse.
pitstop.book Page 3 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
Contents
Chapter 1:
Chapter 2:
Getting started ......................................................................................11
The PitStop Professional documentation set ...................................................... 12
Using the PitStop Professional Help set ............................................................ 14
System requirements ................................................................................... 17
Installing PitStop Professional ........................................................................ 18
Starting PitStop Professional .......................................................................... 19
Buying and registering PitStop Professional ......................................................20
Getting support .......................................................................................... 21
Setting your Enfocus preferences .................................................................... 22
Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > General .......................... 23
Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Language........................ 27
Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Colors ............................28
Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Tools..............................30
Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > New Objects .................... 31
Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Color Management............ 32
Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Guides ........................... 33
Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Processing.......................34
Preferences > Enfocus Certified PDF Preferences > General ...................................35
Preferences > Enfocus Certified PDF Preferences > Personal Info ............................36
Preferences > Enfocus Certified PDF Preferences > CertifiedPDF.net......................... 37
Preferences > Enfocus Certified PDF Preferences > PDF Profiles ..............................38
Preferences > Enfocus Certified PDF Preferences > Help........................................39
What’s new and improved in PitStop Professional 7?.......................................... 40
Looking at the PitStop Professional work area .............................................. 43
Looking at the PitStop Professional work area in Adobe Acrobat ............................44
Specifying the language of the PitStop Professional interface............................... 46
Viewing a PDF document in wireframe view...................................................... 47
Viewing page boxes.................................................................................... 49
Page cropping templates: definition and use ....................................................53
Using page cropping templates ...................................................................... 57
Showing or hiding annotations ..................................................................... 59
3
pitstop.book Page 4 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
4
Chapter 3:
Chapter 4:
Chapter 5:
Speeding up image display using alternate images............................................ 60
Managing your view and file settings ..............................................................62
Managing your Adobe Acrobat display settings ................................................. 64
Managing your Adobe Acrobat view modes settings ............................................67
Managing your Adobe Acrobat color management settings .................................. 69
Managing the file settings of your PDF documents..............................................70
Working with PDF documents ................................................................... 73
Copying and pasting object attributes.............................................................. 74
Undoing or redoing actions ........................................................................... 75
Measuring the distance between two points .....................................................76
Viewing object attributes .............................................................................. 77
Using guides ..............................................................................................78
Making Global Changes in PDF documents ...................................................85
Making Global Changes: the general process .................................................... 86
Organizing and finding Global Changes........................................................... 88
Global Changes in practice ........................................................................... 89
Changing the size, position or orientation of the page content ............................ 90
Removing text or objects inside or outside a selected area .................................. 94
Adding text............................................................................................... 96
Working with Certified PDF documents....................................................... 101
About Certified PDF .....................................................................................102
Guaranteed preflighting ..............................................................................103
Document consistency................................................................................ 104
Responsibility........................................................................................... 105
The Certified PDF workflow explained ............................................................ 106
What is an Enfocus Certified PDF document?.................................................... 109
Setting the Certified PDF user identification ..................................................... 110
Adding a session comment............................................................................111
Starting a Certified PDF workflow for a PDF document ........................................ 112
Providing a Certified PDF document with job information ................................... 114
Verifying the original source document ........................................................... 115
pitstop.book Page 5 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Chapter 6:
Chapter 7:
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
5
Replacing the PDF Profile of a Certified PDF document ........................................ 116
Preflighting and saving Certified PDF documents................................................117
Viewing the preflight report ......................................................................... 118
Checking the Certified PDF status of a PDF document.......................................... 119
Viewing the edit log file .............................................................................. 121
Viewing the document history ...................................................................... 122
Saving snapshots ....................................................................................... 123
Comparing sessions ....................................................................................125
Saving an optimized Certified PDF document....................................................128
Checking for updated Specifications on CertifiedPDF.net .....................................129
Preflighting and checking PDF documents .................................................. 135
What is preflighting?...................................................................................136
Properties of PDF documents ........................................................................138
Problem reporting ......................................................................................139
Creating or editing a PDF Profile ................................................................... 140
Adding Action Lists to PDF Profiles..................................................................142
Locking a PDF Profile...................................................................................143
Running a preflight check ............................................................................144
Automating preflighting ..............................................................................145
Automating tasks .................................................................................149
About Action Lists...................................................................................... 150
Action types ..............................................................................................152
Creating an Action List.................................................................................153
Locking an Action List................................................................................. 156
Editing an Action List .................................................................................. 157
Action Lists in practice................................................................................ 159
Example 1: Creating an Action List that changes the font properties of a PDF document .
160
Example 2: Creating an Action List that changes the page layout of a PDF document .163
Further automation ................................................................................... 166
pitstop.book Page 6 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
6
Chapter 8:
Chapter 9:
Using and managing Action Lists and PDF Profiles.........................................169
Running an Action List or PDF Profile .............................................................. 170
Managing Action Lists and PDF Profiles.............................................................171
Removing an Action List or PDF Profile ............................................................ 172
Duplicating an Action List or PDF Profile .......................................................... 173
Importing an Action List or PDF Profile ............................................................ 174
Exporting an Action List or PDF Profile............................................................. 175
Organizing Action Lists or PDF Profiles in categories ...........................................176
Using the Enfocus Navigator ......................................................................... 177
Viewing and interpreting reports .................................................................. 180
Using QuickRuns ........................................................................................ 181
Automating preflighting ............................................................................. 184
Editing objects..................................................................................... 187
About line art and pixel images ................................................................... 188
About paths, anchor points and direction points .............................................. 191
Changing or removing the OPI information of objects.........................................193
Changing the transparency of objects ............................................................ 194
Selecting objects ....................................................................................... 195
Hiding and showing selected objects............................................................. 198
Changing the stacking order of objects .......................................................... 199
Replacing an object ................................................................................... 200
Rotating an object......................................................................................201
Scaling an object....................................................................................... 203
Moving an object ...................................................................................... 206
Shearing an object .................................................................................... 208
Transforming an object by specifying exact values............................................. 211
Creating new shapes................................................................................... 213
Creating a new path ...................................................................................214
Editing a path ...........................................................................................215
Adding or removing an anchor point .............................................................. 217
Masking objects .........................................................................................219
Viewing the properties of a pixel image ......................................................... 220
Resampling pixel images ............................................................................. 221
pitstop.book Page 7 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Chapter 10:
Chapter 11:
Chapter 12:
Chapter 13:
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
7
Compressing pixel images ............................................................................223
Viewing statistics of selected objects ............................................................. 225
Viewing the halftone information of an object ................................................ 226
Placing PDF documents in PDF documents .......................................................227
Editing forms ........................................................................................... 228
Editing PDF2Go documents .......................................................................... 230
Editing text ........................................................................................235
Selecting text ........................................................................................... 236
Editing a single text line............................................................................. 240
Editing a text paragraph..............................................................................241
Editing vertical text ................................................................................... 243
Changing the font properties of text.............................................................. 244
Converting text to outlines .......................................................................... 245
Splitting text segments................................................................................247
Managing fonts ................................................................................... 251
Types of fonts and their usage ..................................................................... 252
PDF font substitution ..................................................................................257
Embedding versus subsetting fonts ............................................................... 258
Managing color.................................................................................... 261
About color management............................................................................ 262
Color models ............................................................................................ 263
Color gamuts and color spaces ..................................................................... 265
Rendering intents ..................................................................................... 267
Using spot colors....................................................................................... 270
Changing the color of text or line-art objects ...................................................273
Working with a color repository..................................................................... 277
Using ICC profiles....................................................................................... 279
Overprint and knockout ........................................................................ 283
The simple overprint and knockout theory...................................................... 284
The devil in the overprint and knockout detail ................................................ 287
Common pitfalls of overprint behavior........................................................... 290
Changing the overprint settings of an object ................................................... 296
pitstop.book Page 8 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
8
pitstop.book Page 9 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Chapter 1
pitstop.book Page 10 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
pitstop.book Page 11 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
11
Chapter 1:
Getting started
Topics
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
In this chapter:
• The PitStop Professional documentation set 12
Using the PitStop Professional Help set 14
System requirements 17
Installing PitStop Professional 18
Starting PitStop Professional 19
Buying and registering PitStop Professional 20
Getting support 21
Setting your Enfocus preferences 22
Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > General 23
Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Language 27
Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Colors 28
Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Tools 30
Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > New Objects 31
Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Color Management 32
Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Guides 33
Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Processing 34
Preferences > Enfocus Certified PDF Preferences > General 35
Preferences > Enfocus Certified PDF Preferences > Personal Info 36
Preferences > Enfocus Certified PDF Preferences > CertifiedPDF.net 37
Preferences > Enfocus Certified PDF Preferences > PDF Profiles 38
Preferences > Enfocus Certified PDF Preferences > Help 39
What’s new and improved in PitStop Professional 7? 40
pitstop.book Page 12 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
12
The PitStop Professional documentation set
Parts of the PitStop Professional documentation set
The PitStop Professional documentation set includes:
•
•
•
The PitStop Professional User Guide
The PitStop Professional Quick-Start Guide
The PitStop Professional Help set
Publishing media
The table below gives an overview of the media in which each part of the documentation set is published:
Documentation
PitStop Professional Quick-Start Guide
PitStop Professional User Guide
PitStop Professional Help
Print PDF Online
Help
• •
•
•
•
•
The PitStop Professional User Guide
The PitStop Professional User Guide explains the main PitStop Professional concepts and provides you with step-by-step instructions on how to work with PitStop Professional.
Moreover, you learn about other Enfocus core technologies that are integrated into Pit-
Stop Professional, such as PDF Profiles, Action Lists and Certified PDF.
All the information in the PitStop Professional User Guide is also available as online
Help.
To access the PitStop Professional User Guide:
Choose Help > Plug-In Help > Enfocus PitStop Professional and select one of the following:
•
User Guide (PDF). The User Guide will be opened in Adobe Acrobat or Adobe
Reader. In Mac OS X, it can also be opened in Preview or any other application that is associated with PDF.
•
Help (HTML). The PitStop Professional Help will be opened in a browser.
See also:
• The PitStop Professional Help set on page 13
The PitStop Professional Quick-Start Guide
The Quick-Start Guide gives you an overview of all the PitStop Professional tools and their respective buttons and the main PitStop Professional panels.
pitstop.book Page 13 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
13
The PitStop Professional Help set
The PitStop Professional Help Set is HTML-based online Help. It consists of the following volumes:
Help volume
Quick-Reference Help
Content
All the information of the PitStop Professional Quick-Start Guide
Enfocus PitStop Professional Help All the information of the PitStop Professional User Guide
Preflight Report Help Detailed descriptions of the meaning of the errors, warnings and fixes in the preflight report.
See also:
• Using the PitStop Professional Help set on page 14
• Preferences > Enfocus Certified PDF Preferences > Help on page 39
pitstop.book Page 14 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
14
Using the PitStop Professional Help set
Accessing the PitStop Professional Help
You can access the PitStop Professional Help in the following ways:
•
•
From within PitStop Professional
From the preflight report
To access the PitStop Professional Help from within PitStop Professional:
Do one of the following:
•
•
In Adobe Acrobat, choose Help > Plug-In Help > Enfocus PitStop Professional >
PitStop Professional Help (HTML).
Click the Help button ( ) on one of the PitStop Professional panels.
To access the PitStop Professional Help from the preflight report:
• Click the Information button report.
preceding the error or warning in the preflight
The corresponding Help topic appears in your browser window, displaying the cause and possible solutions for the error message which appeared in the preflight report.
See also:
• Preferences > Enfocus Certified PDF Preferences > Help on page 39
Finding the right Help topic
In the main window of PitStop Professional, choose Help > Plug-In Help > Enfocus Pit-
Stop Professional > Help (HTML). You will see that the Help window consists of two frames:
•
•
The Navigation frame on the left. This is where you see the Contents, Index and
Search tabs and the titles of the Help volumes: Quick-Reference Help, Enfocus
PitStop Professional Help and Preflight Report Help.
The Topic frame on the right. This is where you will see the actual text of the topic.
•
•
You can quickly find the relevant Help topic in several ways:
• Finding a Help topic by title (Contents)
Finding a Help topic by keyword (Index)
Finding a Help topic by searching for keywords (Search)
Finding a Help topic by title
Finding a Help topic by title is like you would use the table of contents in a printed User
Guide.
Proceed as follows:
1
Click the Contents tab at the top of the Navigation frame.
2
Click a title in the Navigation frame.
The corresponding topic appears in the Topic frame.
pitstop.book Page 15 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
15
Finding a Help topic by keyword
Finding a Help topic by keyword is like you would use the index in a printed User Guide.
The index is a list of keywords arranged in alphabetical order.
Proceed as follows:
1
Click the Index tab at the top of the Navigation frame.
2
Click the first letter of the keyword you are searching for.
The corresponding keywords appear in the Navigation frame.
3
Click the index entry of your choice to view the corresponding Help topic.
Finding a Help topic by searching for keywords
You can use the Search function of the PitStop Professional Help to find all topics that contain specific words. This is like you would use a search engine to find a Web page on the Internet.
Proceed as follows:
1
Click the Search tab at the top of the Navigation frame.
2
In the Search box, type the word(s) you expect to see in the Help topics you are looking for. Observe the following tips:
•
•
You can search for multiple words. Just type them in the Search box, separated by spaces. For example, if you want to find information about checking the status of a PDF Profile, type pdf profile status.
Avoid special characters and punctuation marks. For example, do not type “pdf profile”+”status”
, but just pdf profile status.
• The result of your search will always be topics which contain the words exactly as you typed them in the Search box. So if you can’t see the relevant topic in the list of found topics, try again and use an alternative spelling or the singular or plural form. Examples:
Search for...
synchronize e-mail
QuarkXPress
not...
synchronise email
Quark Xpress
3
4
Click the Search button.
The topics found are listed in the Navigation frame:
•
Select the Help volume in which you want to search for these words. If you are not sure where you will find the relevant topic, select All Available Books.
•
The topics will be sorted by relevance: the most relevant topic will appear on top of the list.
The topic titles will be preceded by a figure. This is a ranking score which the topic gets, depending on where and how often the words you searched for appeared in the topic. If the words you searched for appear in the main title of the topic, this topic will most likely get a ranking score of 100 and be on top of the list.
pitstop.book Page 16 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
16
•
5
If you searched for words in All Available Books, the topic titles will be followed by the title of the corresponding Help volume in which they were found.
Click the topic title of your choice to view the corresponding Help topic.
Navigating in Help topics
You can use the following navigation aids at the top of the Topic frame when viewing
Help topics:
•
•
Click the Show in Contents button ( ) to see the chapter and volume in the
PitStop Professional Help where this topic is described. The corresponding chapter and volume in the Contents tab will be expanded. You may wish to do this to find related topics in the same chapter.
Click the Previous Topic ( ) and Next Topic ( ) buttons to browse through the topics in the order as they appear in the Contents tab. This is like paging through a printed book.
• Just above the main title of each topic, you will see a hyperlink to the topic
“above”. These hyperlinks are called “breadcrumbs” because they show you where you are in the hierarchy of the PitStop Professional Help. Clicking the breadcrumb will take you back to the chapter title.
pitstop.book Page 17 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
System requirements
The system requirements are displayed in the Installer and they are also listed on the product pages on the Enfocus Web site.
To check the system requirements on the Enfocus Web site
1
2
Go to www.enfocus.com
, and choose Products > PitStop Professional > Learn
more.
Click System requirements in the Product Information section.
17
pitstop.book Page 18 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
18
Installing PitStop Professional
PitStop Professional and Adobe Acrobat
PitStop Professional is a plug-in for Adobe Acrobat, and therefore, it is recommended to quit Adobe Acrobat before installing PitStop Professional.
2
3
4
To install PitStop Professional:
1
Do one of the following:
• Insert the Enfocus Software CD-ROM or DVD into your CD-ROM/DVD-ROM drive.
• Download PitStop Professional from the Enfocus Software Web site
( www.enfocus.com
)
If you install PitStop Professional from a DVD or CD-ROM, check the Enfocus Web site to see whether you have the latest version. Updates may be available.
Select the Enfocus product which you want to install.
If necessary, double-click the Installer.
Follow the on-screen installation instructions.
pitstop.book Page 19 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
19
Starting PitStop Professional
To start PitStop Professional
PitStop Professional is a plug-in for Adobe Acrobat, so you must start the program from within Adobe Acrobat.
1
Start Adobe Acrobat.
2
Open a PDF document.
3
Click any button on one of the PitStop Professional toolbars.
The PitStop Professional splash screen appears and remains displayed for a couple of seconds.
Once you have registered PitStop Professional, or clicked the Run Trial button, you can use PitStop Professional to edit, preflight or automatically correct your PDF documents.
See also:
• Buying and registering PitStop Professional
Troubleshooting: PitStop Professional is not accessible in Adobe Acrobat
If you start Adobe Acrobat and you do not see the PitStop Professional toolbars or menus (Plug-ins > Enfocus), check the following:
•
•
Make sure you did not hold down the SHIFT key immediately after you started
Adobe Acrobat. If you did, Adobe Acrobat will start without loading any plug-ins.
Choose Edit > Preferences > General > Startup and make sure that the option Use
only certified plug-ins in the Application Startup area is
not
selected.
pitstop.book Page 20 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
20
Buying and registering PitStop Professional
About buying and registering
After testing the trial version of PitStop Professional, you can purchase a fully functional version from our Web site at www.enfocus.com
or from any of our authorized resellers.
Moreover, it is recommended to register your version of PitStop Professional. This entitles you to free technical support and to information on updates, if any.
Registering PitStop Professional
When you start PitStop Professional for the first time after it has been installed, a dialog box appears, which offers you the following options:
•
•
You can use PitStop Professional for evaluation purposes during a 30-day trial period.
You can use the fully licensed and registered version of PitStop Professional.
•
To register PitStop Professional, you need a Product Key. You receive this Product Key when you purchase PitStop Professional. To qualify for product upgrades and free technical support, you must register PitStop Professional. You can register offline or online:
• To register offline, fill out and mail the registration card found in the software box.
To register online, follow the instructions below.
To register PitStop Professional
1
Start Adobe Acrobat.
2
Choose Help > About Third-Party Plug-Ins > About Enfocus PitStop Professional.
3
Click Register.
4
Fill in your name, organization name and Product Key.
5
Click Register.
pitstop.book Page 21 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
21
Getting support
Free technical support
When you work with registered Enfocus products, you are entitled to free technical support. When contacting Enfocus Support, it is important that you can provide our support engineers with the necessary information about the configuration of your computer system and the Enfocus product(s) you are using. To this end, we have included this support information in the dialog box about PitStop Professional which you find in the Help menu. You can easily copy this information and paste it in a text file or an e-mail message which you can then send to Enfocus Support.
Furthermore, you can also consult the Enfocus Knowledge Base or use the Support section on the Enfocus Web site to report a problem.
To report a problem
1
Choose Help > About Third-Party Plug-Ins > About Enfocus PitStop Professional.
The About Enfocus PitStop Professional dialog box appears.
2
Click the Support Info tab.
You can now view all the details of the version of PitStop Professional installed on your system, and of your system configuration.
3
4
Click Copy to Clipboard.
Paste the information in a text file or e-mail message and send it to: [email protected]
.
pitstop.book Page 22 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
22
Setting your Enfocus preferences
PitStop Professional and Certified PDF preferences
PitStop Professional comes with the Certified PDF plug-in. Certified PDF will be installed automatically when you install PitStop Professional and you can set your preferences for both.
Sharing preferences
A number of preferences can be shared. This means that you will have to specify these preferences once and that you can share them with other Enfocus products.
To access the Enfocus preferences
Proceed as follows to access the Enfocus Preferences:
1
•
Choose Edit > Preferences and select one of the following:
Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences
•
Enfocus Certified PDF Preferences
You may wish to open a sample PDF document to test some preferences interactively: select a preference and apply it to see its effect on your PDF document.
2
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
Click the categories of your choice and fill in the respective preferences:
Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > General
Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Language
Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Colors
Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Tools
Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > New Objects
Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Color Management
Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Guides
Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Processing
Preferences > Enfocus Certified PDF Preferences > General
Preferences > Enfocus Certified PDF Preferences > Personal Info
Preferences > Enfocus Certified PDF Preferences > CertifiedPDF.net
Preferences > Enfocus Certified PDF Preferences > PDF Profiles
Preferences > Enfocus Certified PDF Preferences > Help
pitstop.book Page 23 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
23
Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > General
Number of undos
Specify the number of undos you wish to have. Remember that a higher number of undos requires more memory.
See also:
• To access the Enfocus preferences on page 22
Show center selection handle
You can choose to show or hide the center point of your selection. Sometimes, it can be useful to see the center point of your selection, for example to align the center of a number of objects. You can use guides and position the center selection handle exactly on the guide.
A
B
3:1
24:1
Center selection handle (
A
) positioned on a guide (
B
)
See also:
• To access the Enfocus preferences on page 22
Change pointer over object
You can select to change the mouse pointer from to when you move it over an object. Thus you will see when you can click an object to select it. For complex PDF documents which contain a large number of objects, however, you may not wish to do this because of performance issues.
See also:
• To access the Enfocus preferences on page 22
• Selecting objects on page 195
pitstop.book Page 24 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
24
Hold down ALT and drag to select objects
You can choose what should happen when you hold down the ALT key and drag to select an object:
•
•
Objects which overlap the bounding outline (the dotted rectangle also called
marquee
) of your selection should be selected as well.
Only objects inside the bounding outline should be selected.
3:1
Duis mattis risus nec sapien
Etiam semper. Curabitur quam diam, congue sed, tristique in, euismod et, sem. Suspendisse dui sem, accumsan eu, congue et, venenatis ut, nisi. Donec lectus dolor, suscipit a, semper et, cursus et, mi.
Donec a metus. Sed mi. In libero. Etiam fringilla eros id sem. Fusce egestas mollis lacus. Vivamus suscipit. Nullam sit amet dolor a tortor scelerisque varius. Fusce lectus nisl, sodales ac, consectetuer sed, tempus sed, justo. Maecenas facilisis enim imperdiet nibh.
24:1
A B C
A.
Bounding outline of your selection, the dotted rectangle also known as marquee
B.
Object inside the bounding outline
C.
Objects overlapping the bounding outline
See also:
• To access the Enfocus preferences on page 22
• Selecting objects on page 195
Show text greeked in wireframe mode
Text which is “greeked” appears as gray bars on your screen when you view the PDF document in wireframe mode. You do not see the individual characters anymore.
A
Text in wireframe mode: regular (
A
) and greeked (
B
)
See also:
• To access the Enfocus preferences on page 22
• Viewing a PDF document in wireframe view on page 47
B
pitstop.book Page 25 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
25
Speed up image display (if alternate image is available)
If you work with PDF documents which contain high-resolution images, you may want
Adobe Acrobat to display these images faster. You can do this by selecting this option and clicking the Speed Up Image Display button , provided that the images in your
PDF document have alternate images at a lower resolution. If they don’t, you can easily add alternate images using an Action List.
A
Speed up image display off (
A
): the high-resolution image is displayed
B
Speed up image display on (
B
): a lower-resolution preview of the image is displayed.
See also:
• To access the Enfocus preferences on page 22
• Speeding up image display using alternate images on page 61
Move objects when dragging selection
If you select this option, you can select an object and immediately move it by dragging.
If you don’t select this option, you will have to hold down the CONTROL (CTRL) key
(Windows) or Command (
) key (Macintosh) to move the selected object.
See also:
• To access the Enfocus preferences on page 22
• Moving an object on page 206
Warn me when I
Select when you wish to be warned.
•
•
See also:
• To access the Enfocus preferences on page 22
•
Exporting an Action List or PDF Profile on page 175
Viewing and interpreting reports on page 180
Embedding versus subsetting fonts on page 258
pitstop.book Page 26 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
26
Measurement units
You can select the measurement unit which has to appear after the values in the various dialog boxes of PitStop Professional. For example, if you measure the distance between two points or if you want to determine the position of an object, you may want to see these measurements in millimeters or in inches. Specific properties will always use the common measurement unit, for example font size will always be in points (pt.) and word spacing or character spacing will always be in em spaces.
See also:
• To access the Enfocus preferences on page 22
pitstop.book Page 27 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Language
Language of the PitStop Professional User Interface
1
If necessary, click Share Enfocus language preferences to use the same preferences in other Enfocus products.
2
3
Select the language in which you wish to see the user interface of PitStop Professional and click OK.
Restart Adobe Acrobat.
See also:
• To access the Enfocus preferences on page 22
27
pitstop.book Page 28 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
28
Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Colors
To change a color
1
Click a color patch.
2
Click anywhere in the color wheel.
3
If necessary, drag the sliders at the right of the color wheel to change the Hue,
Saturation or Brightness of the color.
4
Once you have defined the color you want, click OK.
You can define the colors for the following:
Wireframe object
Selected object
Page boxes
Selected form object
Selected clipping mask
Navigator dim color
Paragraph editing
pitstop.book Page 29 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
•
•
•
•
•
•
See also:
• To access the Enfocus preferences on page 22
Viewing a PDF document in wireframe view on page 47
Viewing page boxes on page 49
Using the Enfocus Navigator on page 177
Selecting objects on page 195
Editing forms on page 228
Editing a text paragraph on page 241
29
pitstop.book Page 30 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
30
Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Tools
Tool behavior
Sometimes, you want to use a PitStop Professional tool in combination with the Enfocus
Inspector. When you select an object, for example, it might be useful to see information about its color in the Enfocus Inspector. Or when you select text, you may want to see its font information. Sometimes it’s even necessary to use the Enfocus Inspector, for example to measure the distance between two points.
You can select when the Enfocus Inspector has to appear automatically as soon as you use one of the listed PitStop Professional tools.
•
•
•
•
•
See also:
• To access the Enfocus preferences on page 22
Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Guides on page 33
Copying and pasting object attributes on page 74
Using guides on page 78
Viewing object attributes on page 77
Editing objects on page 187
pitstop.book Page 31 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
31
Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > New Objects
Using default attributes of text and line art for new objects
If you create new objects using one of the PitStop Professional tools, you may want these objects to have specific default attributes. For example, if you type new text in
tool, you may want this text to use the font Helvetica, 10 pt. Or, if you create a new rectangle or a new ellipse, you want these objects to have a specific fill and stroke color by default.
Proceed as follows:
1
2
Open a PDF document which contains objects of which you want to use the attributes.
Using the Select Objects tool , select text or line art in your PDF document.
3
If necessary, choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector to see and change the attributes (font, color, etc.) of the selected object.
4
5
Choose Edit > Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences and click the New Objects category.
Click the respective Grab button to use the selected object’s attributes when you create new objects.
You can leave the Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences panel open, select text and line art and set the respective preference.
•
•
See also:
• To access the Enfocus preferences on page 22
Creating new shapes on page 213
Changing the font properties of text on page 244
Copy-Paste behavior
You can specify the horizontal (Right) and vertical (Down) distance between the object which you copied and the object which you pasted.
B
3:1
24:1
3:1
24:1 A
A.
Horizontal offset (Right)
B.
Vertical offset (Down)
See also:
• To access the Enfocus preferences on page 22
pitstop.book Page 32 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
32
Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Color
Management
Color management in a nutshell
A color management system is designed to reconcile the different color capabilities of input devices, for example a scanner or digital camera, and output devices, for example a printer or press, to ensure consistent color throughout the creation, display, and print process. Ideally, this means that the colors displayed on your monitor accurately represent the colors of the final output. It also means that different applications, monitors, and operating systems will display colors consistently.
See also:
• To access the Enfocus preferences on page 22
Using ICC color profiles for color conversion
To eliminate, or at least minimize, color differences between devices, you can use ICC
(International Color Consortium) color profiles whenever color conversions are made during preflight and correction.
An ICC color profile is a mathematical description of the color space used by a specific device. All objects in your PDF documents, i.e. text, graphics and images, can be associated, or “tagged”, with an ICC profile for a given color space (Grayscale, RGB or CMYK).
You can select an ICC profile for each color space in the PitStop Professional preferences.
However, you may also be using PDF Profiles or Action Lists in which ICC profiles have been specified too. In that case, the ICC profiles in the respective PDF Profiles or Action
Lists will take precedence over those which you selected in the PitStop Professional preferences.
See also:
• To access the Enfocus preferences on page 22
To set the color management preferences
1
2
Choose Edit > Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Color
Management.
If necessary, select the option to share the color management preferences with other Enfocus products.
3
Select a default source and target ICC profile for each color space.
See also:
• The ICC’s Web site: www.color.org
• To access the Enfocus preferences on page 22
pitstop.book Page 33 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
33
Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Guides
Showing or hiding guides and guide colors
You can use the Guides tool in combination with the Enfocus Inspector to place
(sets of) guides in your PDF documents. Doing so, you can also select to show or hide one or more guides. You can use the Guides Preferences to show or hide
all
guides at once.
You can also define the default color of the new guides you will be creating. Proceed as follows:
1
2
3
4
Click a color patch next to Guide colors.
Click anywhere in the color wheel.
If necessary, drag the sliders at the right of the color wheel to change the Hue,
Saturation or Brightness of the color.
Once you have defined the color you want, click OK.
•
•
See also:
• To access the Enfocus preferences on page 22
Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Tools on page 30
Using guides on page 78
Magnetic guides
To precisely align objects to guides, you can make guides magnetic. An object will then snap to (be pulled toward) the nearest guide when you move the object into the magnetic zone of the guide, even if this guide is hidden. If you select the option to make guides magnetic, specify the distance in the Magnetic area.
See also:
• To access the Enfocus preferences on page 22
pitstop.book Page 34 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
34
Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Processing
Show the Enfocus Navigator or the preflight report
When you have run an Action List or PDF Profile, you will probably want to see the result of this action or preflight check. You can select how you wish to see this result:
•
•
In the Enfocus Navigator
In the preflight report
You can use the Enfocus Navigator to browse through the checked, fixed or changed objects in your PDF document, but it also allows you to select a report layout first and then click the Show report button.
•
•
See also:
• To access the Enfocus preferences on page 22
Using the Enfocus Navigator on page 177
Viewing and interpreting reports on page 180
PDF version
There is a difference between the version number of the PDF standard used by the PDF document and the version number of Adobe Acrobat with which the PDF document is compatible. The “version of the PDF standard” is often referred to as the “PDF version” for short.
PDF version
PDF 1.3
PDF 1.4
PDF 1.5
PDF 1.6
Is supported by
Adobe Acrobat 4.x and later
Adobe Acrobat 5.x and later
Adobe Acrobat 6.x and later
Adobe Acrobat 7.x and later
If you edit a PDF document of a different version than your version of Adobe Acrobat, you may be changing the PDF version of the document without realizing it. For example, suppose you have a PDF document which was last saved in Adobe Acrobat 5.x.
The PDF version of this document is 1.4. You open this PDF document in Adobe
Acrobat 7.x, change it and save it. Normally, you will then change the PDF version of this document to 1.6. To prevent this, you can select the option Prevent the automatic
change of the PDF version when saving.
You can open PDF 1.6 (Acrobat 7) documents in Adobe Acrobat 6, but you will get a warning saying that the document “may not open or display correctly”. You can edit and save these documents in Adobe Acrobat 6 and still keep their PDF version
1.6.
See also:
• To access the Enfocus preferences on page 22
pitstop.book Page 35 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
35
Preferences > Enfocus Certified PDF Preferences > General
Primary and secondary highlight color
Using the Edit Log of Certified PDF documents, you can view the changes in your Certified PDF document highlighted:
•
•
A particular change of an active editing session will be shown in a primary highlight color.
Other changes on the page, if any, will be shown in a secondary highlight color.
A.
Specific change of an active editing session in the primary highlight color
B.
Other changes on the page in the secondary highlight color
Proceed as follows to change the primary or secondary highlight color:
1
Click a color patch.
2
Click anywhere in the color wheel.
3
4
If necessary, drag the sliders at the right of the color wheel to change the Hue,
Saturation or Brightness of the color.
Once you have defined the color you want, click OK.
See also:
• To access the Enfocus preferences on page 22
• Viewing the edit log file on page 121
pitstop.book Page 36 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
36
Preferences > Enfocus Certified PDF Preferences > Personal Info
Name and contact details
The personal information includes your name and company contact details, together with a message, if any. It is important that you provide as much personal information as possible, because this information will also be stored in the Certified PDF documents which you will be creating. Thus, the recipients of your Certified PDF documents will be able to contact you if they have any questions.
You can share your name and contact details with other Enfocus products, which means that you will have to specify your Personal Info preferences only once.
See also:
• To access the Enfocus preferences on page 22
• Setting the Certified PDF user identification on page 110
pitstop.book Page 37 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
37
Preferences > Enfocus Certified PDF Preferences > CertifiedPDF.net
CertifiedPDF.net User Information
You can visit the CertifiedPDF.net Web site from within PitStop Professional. You may wish to do this, for example, to check whether new or updated Specifications are available. To be able to do this, you have to fill in your CertifiedPDF.net user information
(your e-mail address and a password) in the Enfocus Certified PDF Preferences.
See also:
• To access the Enfocus preferences on page 22
• Checking for updated Specifications on CertifiedPDF.net on page 129
To set the preferences for your CertifiedPDF.net account
1
2
•
Choose Edit > Preferences > Enfocus Certified PDF Preferences and click the Certi-
fiedPDF.net category.
Do one of the following:
To go to CertifiedPDF.net, click Visit CertifiedPDF.net.
•
3
If you already are a member of CertifiedPDF.net, type the e-mail address and password of your CertifiedPDF.net account. Select how often you want PitStop
Professional to check for updates with regards to your CertifiedPDF.net status. If you do not want PitStop Professional to check for updates automatically at regular intervals, you can choose to check manually. You can then synchronize your CertifiedPDF.net status at a convenient moment.
Click OK.
See also:
• www.certifiedPDF.net
• To access the Enfocus preferences on page 22
pitstop.book Page 38 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
38
Preferences > Enfocus Certified PDF Preferences > PDF Profiles
Comparing PDF Profiles
PitStop Professional can determine the status of the PDF Profile embedded in the PDF document by comparing it to the corresponding PDF Profile in your Enfocus PDF Profiles database on your computer. The Enfocus PDF Profiles database is a folder on your computer which contains *.ppp files. The embedded Certified PDF Profile can either match one of the PDF Profiles in the PDF Profiles database or not, “match” meaning that both PDF Profiles have exactly the same checks and problem severity levels (Error or
Warning).
You have the following options:
•
•
•
The Certified PDF Profile (embedded in the Certified PDF documents) must be equal to the selected PDF Profile
The Certified PDF Profile must be stricter than or equal to the selected PDF Profile.
The Certified PDF Profile is stricter if, for example, a specific check has been set to report as Error and if the corresponding check in the selected PDF Profile will be reported as Warning.
Ignore: do not use the PDF Profile to determine the Certified PDF Profile status.
See also:
• To access the Enfocus preferences on page 22
• Checking the Certified PDF status of a PDF document on page 119
pitstop.book Page 39 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
39
Preferences > Enfocus Certified PDF Preferences > Help
Multivolume Help Set
The PitStop Professional Help Set consists of the following volumes:
• The Quick-Start Help is the Quick-Start Guide presented as Help topics.
•
•
The Enfocus PitStop Professional Help presents all the information in the User
Guide as Help topics.
The Preflight Report Help. When you check a PDF document using a PDF Profile, you receive a preflight report. This report may list errors and warnings which indicate (potential) problems in the checked PDF document. The meaning of these errors and warnings, their possible causes and solutions to these problems, are available as Help topics in the Preflight Report Help. You can immediately view the relevant Help topic by clicking the Information button preceding the error or warning entry in the preflight report.
•
•
You can select which version of the Help to use:
• The Help on your computer
The Help on CertifiedPDF.net
Choose automatically
The Preflight Report Help on CertifiedPDF.net will be updated regularly, so it might be recommended to select this option.
See also:
• The PitStop Professional documentation set on page 12
• Using the PitStop Professional Help set on page 14
pitstop.book Page 40 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
40
What’s new and improved in PitStop Professional 7?
Main new features
The main new features in PitStop Professional 7 are:
Feature
View and File Settings
Action Lists in PDF Profiles
QuickRuns
The ability to place a PDF in a PDF
The Edit Form tool to manipulate objects in forms
Convert text to outlines
See
Managing your view and file settings on page 63
Adding Action Lists to PDF Profiles on page 142
Using QuickRuns on page 181
Placing PDF documents in PDF documents on page 227
Editing forms on page 228
Converting text to outlines on page 245
Improved features
Improved features in PitStop Professional 7 are:
Feature
Documentation and Help
Undo and Redo
Guides
Global Change Panel
Action List and PDF Profile Panel
Navigator
Reports
See
The PitStop Professional documentation set on page 12
Undoing or redoing actions on page 75
Using guides on page 78
Making Global Changes in PDF documents on page 85
Using and managing Action Lists and PDF Profiles on page 169
Using the Enfocus Navigator on page 177
Viewing and interpreting reports on page 180
pitstop.book Page 41 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Chapter 2
pitstop.book Page 42 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
pitstop.book Page 43 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
43
Chapter 2:
Looking at the PitStop Professional work area
Topics
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
In this chapter:
• Looking at the PitStop Professional work area in Adobe Acrobat 44
Specifying the language of the PitStop Professional interface 46
Viewing a PDF document in wireframe view 47
Viewing page boxes 49
Page cropping templates: definition and use 53
Using page cropping templates 57
Showing or hiding annotations 60
Speeding up image display using alternate images 61
Managing your view and file settings 63
Managing your Adobe Acrobat display settings 65
Managing your Adobe Acrobat view modes settings 68
Managing your Adobe Acrobat color management settings 70
Managing the file settings of your PDF documents 71
pitstop.book Page 44 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
44
Looking at the PitStop Professional work area in Adobe Acrobat
Where to find the PitStop Professional menus
Integrated menus
As in previous versions, the PitStop Professional menus are integrated in the Adobe
Acrobat menus, for example in the Edit, Tools or Window menu. You can easily find the
PitStop Professional menus because they all start with the word “Enfocus”, for example
Edit > Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences.
•
•
Dedicated menus
PitStop Professional also has dedicated menus. You can find these in the Adobe Acrobat menu bar:
Certified PDF
Plug-Ins > Enfocus PitStop Professional
Where to find the PitStop Professional toolbars
You find the PitStop Professional toolbars next to or below the Adobe Acrobat toolbars.
To show or hide an Enfocus toolbar, choose View > Toolbars, and then select a toolbar preceded by the word “Enfocus”, for example Enfocus Control Panels.
D
E
F
G
A
B
C
A.
Adobe Acrobat File toolbar
B.
Enfocus Edit toolbar
C.
Enfocus View Modes toolbar
D.
Enfocus Control Panels toolbar
E.
F.
G.
Enfocus Cropping tool
Enfocus QuickRun toolbar
Enfocus Undo & Redo toolbar
pitstop.book Page 45 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
45
You can select a tool by clicking the respective button. To the right of some of these buttons, you see a black inverted triangle, which means that there are more tools available “behind” this button.
To select one of the “underlying” editing tools, click the triangle and select the tool of your choice.
If you will use some of these “underlying” tools frequently, you can click the triangle and select the option Expand this button.
pitstop.book Page 46 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
46
Specifying the language of the PitStop Professional interface
As in multiple-language versions of Adobe Acrobat, you can specify the language of the
PitStop Professional user interface. You can have all PitStop Professional menus and dialog boxes appear in your native language.
To specify the language of the PitStop Professional user interface
See Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Language on page 27
pitstop.book Page 47 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
47
Viewing a PDF document in wireframe view
What is a wireframe view?
You can view a PDF document in either one of the following modes:
•
Preview mode
. This is how you normally see PDF documents in Adobe Acrobat.
You see the pages, objects and text in the PDF document as they will print.
•
•
• Wireframe view mode
If you look at a PDF document in
wireframe view
mode, the document will be displayed as follows:
The objects will appear in outline form.
Text can be “greeked”, i.e. it can appear on-screen as a gray bar, rather than displaying the individual characters. You can select this option in the Enfocus
PitStop Preferences.
A
B
Wireframe view of a PDF document: objects are outlined (
A
) and text can be greeked (
B
).
See also:
• Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > General greeked in wireframe mode on page 24
> Show text
• Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Colors
When to use wireframe view
You may want to look at a PDF document in wireframe view in order to:
•
•
•
View and select objects which are (partly) covered by other objects.
See also Changing the stacking order of objects on page 199
View and edit masks.
See also Masking objects on page 219
Make pages display more quickly if they contain many or large pixel images.
pitstop.book Page 48 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
48
To view a PDF document in preview or wireframe view mode
1
Open a PDF document.
2
Click the View Wireframe frame view mode.
button to switch between preview mode and wire-
pitstop.book Page 49 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
49
Viewing page boxes
Page boxes defined
•
•
When you design a document and create a PDF document of it, it will contain a number of page boxes. Page boxes are imaginary rectangles drawn around the various objects on a page and around the page itself. They are a sort of description “behind the scenes” of the layout of your PDF document.
Normally, you cannot see these page boxes if you look at a PDF document in Adobe
Acrobat, unless:
You select this option in the Adobe Acrobat Preferences (Page Display Category)
You use PitStop Professional or another PDF editing tool.
Types of page boxes
The illustration below shows the various types of page boxes.
Airborne
A
B
C
D
A.
Media box
C.
Trim box
B.
Bleed box
D.
Art box
Media box
The media box is the largest page box. The media box corresponds to the page size (for example A4, A5, US Letter etc.) that you selected when you printed your document to a
PostScript or PDF file. In other words, the media box determines the physical size of the media on which the PDF document is displayed or printed.
pitstop.book Page 50 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
50
Bleed box
If you use bleed in your document, the PDF document will also have a bleed box. Bleed is the amount of color (or any other artwork) that extends beyond the edge of a page.
You can use bleed to make sure that, when the document is printed and cut to size
(“trimmed”), the ink will be printed to the edge of the page. Even when the page is
“mistrimmed”, i.e. cut slightly off the trim marks and a bit more to the “outside” of the page, no white edges will appear on the page.
Trim box
The trim box indicates the final size of a document after printing and trimming.
Art box
The art box is the box drawn around the actual contents of the pages in your documents. This page box is used when importing PDF documents in other applications.
Crop box
The crop box is the “page” size at which your PDF document is displayed in Adobe
Acrobat. In normal view, only the contents of the crop box are displayed in Adobe
Acrobat.
Safety box and safe type zone
The safety box is not really a page box in the strict sense of the word: it is not a page box type which is stored in the PDF document. The safety box is a visual area which is a bit smaller than the trim box. It contains all text, or other objects, which must always be visible on the printed and finished document. The area between the safety box and the trim box is called the safe type zone: this is the zone where you must not place any text or objects, unless these objects are intended as bleed.
Airborne
A
B
C
D
A.
Media box
B.
Trim box
C.
Safe type zone
D.
Safety box
pitstop.book Page 51 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
51
The safety box is intended to compensate for incorrect finishing:
• The pages can be cut slightly off the trim marks and a bit more to the “inside” of the pages. Text or objects would then be cut off by accident.
• The pages can be punched and the punching holes can perforate the text or objects which are too close to the edge of the page.
Use of page boxes
•
•
Page boxes are particularly useful to resize objects or pages in your PDF document. You can do this using either one of the following PitStop Professional tools:
A Global Change
A PDF Profile
•
•
An Action List
The Enfocus Cropping tool
Thus, you can easily resize your document from A4 size to US Letter or to a custom page size, for example, without having to make —often cumbersome and time-consuming— modifications in your source document.
Page boxes: example
Suppose you create a cover for a magazine in the following steps:
• You decide that the size of the cover after printing and trimming will be A5
(148 x 210 mm). This will be the size of the trim box.
•
•
You are also using a background color which extends to the left, right and bottom edge of the page. To this end, you use 5 mm of bleed on either side. Consequently, the size of the bleed box will be 158 x 220 mm.
You place this artwork on a blank page in a desktop publishing program. The size of the blank page is 180 x 260 mm. This will become the crop box in Adobe
Acrobat.
• Finally, you print this file to a PostScript file (and create a PDF document of it later). When selecting a printer driver, you specify that the page size has to be A4
(210 x 297 mm), because printer and registration marks have to fit on the page.
This will be the size of the media box.
Viewing information outside of the crop box
A new feature in PDF 1.3 was the ability to define a document that has information beyond its final trim size. In the graphic industry, this information usually includes bleed, registration marks and other print and color control strips. Using the View Page
Boxes tool your document.
, you can easily preview the information outside of the final trim size of
This information is defined in the application that was used to create the original PDF file, for example, Adobe FrameMaker or Adobe PageMaker. Once they are made visible using PitStop Professional, these elements can be edited, added, or removed, just like any other graphic object.
pitstop.book Page 52 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
52
Some PDF documents are generated without any bleed, registration marks or other print and color strips. When you click the View Page Boxes button for these documents, the page will appear the same (except for a thin trim line drawn at the edges of the image).
To view a PDF document’s trim and bleed
1
Open a PDF document.
Acrobat displays the PDF document in its full size.
•
•
•
•
•
2
Acrobat displays the page on the complete media size and shows:
The trim size
The page’s trim marks, if any
The page’s registration and printer marks, if any
The page’s bleed, if any
Color control strips, if any
B
A
Airborne
C
D
E
A.
Trim marks
B.
Trim size
C.
Registration marks
D.
Bleed
E.
Media box
See also:
• Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Colors on page 28
• Managing your Adobe Acrobat view modes settings on page 68
pitstop.book Page 53 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
53
Page cropping templates: definition and use
What are page cropping templates?
A page cropping template defines the width and height of the page boxes and their relative positions in your PDF document. On top of this, you can set the following page box-related options in a page cropping template:
•
•
Remove objects outside the bleed box
Draw the centerlines of the trim box
•
•
•
Dim the area outside the trim box
Units of measurement (points, picas, inches, centimeters, millimeters)
The internal PDF structure
For more information about and technical details of page cropping templates, see the Enfocus Knowledge Base: www.enfocus.com > Support > Knowledge base and search for “page cropping template” or “page box template” (including the quotes) in the knowledge base articles.
A
B
C
D
Using a page cropping template, you can set the safety box (
A
), trim box (
B
), bleed box (
C
), crop box and media box (
D
) simultaneously. You can position them all at once in your PDF documents while their size and relative positions remain fixed.
pitstop.book Page 54 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
54
What’s the use of page cropping templates?
Page cropping templates are particularly useful if you have a collection of similar PDF documents in which you have to set page boxes and where the size and the relative positions of these page boxes is fixed. “Relative positions” meaning the position of the various types page boxes compared to each other. For example, the bleed box should be 5 mm larger on either side than the trim box and the media box should be 5 mm larger on either side than the bleed box. The absolute position of these boxes, i.e. their exact position on a page in a PDF document, is not relevant because you can move these page boxes on screen.
For example, suppose you receive PDF files of advertisements. You have to set the page boxes in these PDF documents and the size and relative positions of these page boxes is fixed. However, the exact position on the page in the PDF documents may vary, depending on the original design. You could try to change the page boxes using a
Global Change, but this would not be trivial because:
•
•
You would have to do this repetitively for each type of page box, i.e. once to set the media box, once to set the bleed box, and so on.
The absolute position of the page boxes would have to be different, depending on the original design of the ad.
See also:
• Viewing page boxes on page 49
pitstop.book Page 55 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
55
Example of a page cropping template
A page cropping template is in fact a plain text file which contains code (“keys”) to define the width and height of the page boxes and their relative positions in your PDF document. The text file may look like this:
#BEGINTEMPLATE
"Info"
#BEGINDICT
"100" "My First Page Cropping Template"
"101" "ISPBT"
"102" "1"
#ENDDICT
"TrimBox"
#BEGINDICT
"1" "100"
"2" "100"
"3" "500"
"4" "500"
#ENDDICT
"BleedBox"
#BEGINDICT
"1" "50"
"2" "50"
"3" "550"
"4" "550"
#ENDDICT
"MediaBox"
#BEGINDICT
"1" "0"
"2" "0"
"3" "600"
"4" "600"
#ENDDICT
"CropBox"
#BEGINDICT
"1" "0"
"2" "0"
"3" "600"
"4" "600"
#ENDDICT
"SafetyBox"
#BEGINDICT
"1" "110"
"2" "110"
"3" "490"
"4" "490"
#ENDDICT
"Options"
#BEGINDICT
"1000" "1"
"1004" "1"
#ENDDICT
#ENDTEMPLATE
pitstop.book Page 56 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
56
#BEGINTEMPLATE
"Info"
#BEGINDICT
"100" "Test2"
"101" "ISPBT"
"102" "1"
#ENDDICT
The illustration below shows an example of a page cropping template:
A. Key 100
: Name of the template. You will see this name in Adobe Acrobat when you choose Tools >
Enfocus Cropping Tool
B. Key 101 and 102
: Fixed “keys”, don’t change them
A
B
"TrimBox"
#BEGINDICT
"1" "100"
"2" "100"
"3" "500"
"4" "500"
#ENDDICT
...
"Options"
#BEGINDICT
"1000" "1"
"1001" "1"
"1002" "1"
"1003" "1"
"1004" "1"
#ENDDICT
#ENDTEMPLATE
C
D
E
H
I
F
G
C. Key 1 and 2
: Coordinates of the lower-left corner of the page box
D. Key 3 and 4
: Coordinates of the upper-right corner of the page box
E. Key 1000
: Remove objects outside the bleed box
F. Key 1001
: Draw the centerlines of the trim box
G. Key 1002
: Dim the area outside the trim box
H. Key 1003
: Unit of measurement: default = points; 1 = picas; 2 = inches; 3 = centimeters;
4 = millimeters
I. Key 1004
: Modify the internal PDF structure so that the media box starts at 0,0.
pitstop.book Page 57 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
Using page cropping templates
Creating and managing page cropping templates
Besides creating and applying page cropping templates, you can also manage them, meaning:
•
•
•
Deleting a page cropping template
Importing a page cropping template
Exporting a page cropping template
To create and apply a page cropping template
1
Click the Enfocus Cropping Tool button .
2
3
If necessary, choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector to display the Enfocus
Inspector.
Select a page box in the list and specify its size and position.
Y
A
X
B
C
F
E
D
A.
Offset from left edge (Lower X)
B.
Offset from lower edge (Lower Y)
C.
Width (Size X)
D.
Height (Size Y)
E.
Offset from right edge (Upper X)
F.
Offset from upper edge (Upper Y)
4
If necessary, select the additional options for the trim box, bleed box and media box.
B
A
A.
Dim area outside bleed box: opaque or transparent
B.
Draw centerlines of trim box
C.
Move media box to 0.0
D.
Remove objects outside bleed box
57
D
Y
0
0
C
X
pitstop.book Page 58 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
58
8
9
5
6
7
Select the Page range to which you want to apply the page cropping template.
Click Apply.
Click in the displayed page boxes and position them on the page in your PDF document.
To position the page boxes precisely, you can use the arrow keys and “nudge” them, i.e. move the page boxes by one pixel at the time.
Click Apply.
Click Manage > Save to save your page cropping template.
To manage page cropping templates
1
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector to display the Enfocus Inspector.
2
3
•
Click the Enfocus Cropping Tool button
Do one of the following:
.
•
To remove a page cropping template, select it in the list and click Manage >
Delete.
To share or exchange a page cropping template with your colleagues or service providers, select the page cropping template in the list and click Manage >
Export. Specify the name of your page cropping template file (*.epc) and click OK.
• To use a page cropping template from a colleague or service provider, click
Manage > Import, select the *.epc file (or *.pbt file for earlier versions) and click
OK.
pitstop.book Page 59 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
59
Showing or hiding annotations
Annotated PDF documents
A PDF document may contain annotations, which can be created with Adobe Acrobat or with third-party plug-ins. You can look at a PDF document with annotations shown or hidden. You can use the Hide Annotations in a single step.
button to show or hide all annotations
A
PDF document with annotations shown (
A
) or hidden (
B
).
B
To show or hide all annotations in a document
1
2
Make sure you don’t have any annotation selected using the Adobe Acrobat Hand tool .
Click the Hide Annotations button to show or hide annotations.
See also:
• Managing your Adobe Acrobat view modes settings > Hide annotations on page 69
pitstop.book Page 60 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
60
Speeding up image display using alternate images
Displaying alternate, low-resolution images
If you work with PDF documents which contain high-resolution images, you may want
Adobe Acrobat to display these images faster. You can do this by clicking the Speed Up
Image Display button
, provided that the images in your PDF document have alternate images at a lower resolution. If they don’t, you can easily add alternate images using an Action List.
A
Speed Up Image display off (
A
): the high-resolution image is displayed
B
Speed Up Image display on (
B
): a lower-resolution preview of the image is displayed.
See also:
• Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > General image display (if alternate image is available) on page 25
> Speed up
To create alternate images in your PDF document
1
Open your PDF document which contains high-resolution images.
2
3
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Action List Panel.
In the Action List and PDF Profile Control Panel, click Manage > New.
4
5
6
7
Fill in the General Information for the Action List.
Click the button to add a new action.
In the New Action Type dialog box select the change Add Alternate Images.
Click Add.
8
•
In the Enfocus Action List Editor, specify the attributes for this action:
The resolution of the alternate images
•
9
Whether or not the alternate images have to be in RGB colors
Click OK.
10
In the Action List and PDF Profile Control Panel, select the option Document, and then click Run.
pitstop.book Page 61 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
61
To speed up image display
Click the Speed Up Image Display button in the Enfocus PitStop View Buttons toolbar to switch between high-resolution and low-resolution image display.
See also:
• Managing your Adobe Acrobat view modes settings display on page 69
> Speed up (alternate) image
pitstop.book Page 62 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
62
Managing your view and file settings
Your Adobe Acrobat work environment
You can use PitStop Professional to check and, if necessary, fix properties of PDF documents, such as color and font usage. These are properties which relate to the content of the PDF document. The way in which you view and work with PDF documents in Adobe
Acrobat, however, does not only depend on PDF document-related properties, but also on how your work environment is set.
You can use a number of functions in Adobe Acrobat, for example, to view PDF documents in a specific way: show or hide page boxes, show or hide grids, use local fonts etc.
Furthermore, you may have preferences about file size and file and folder naming, depending on your operating system: Windows or Macintosh.
You can check , fix and manage these work environment settings in PitStop Professional using the Enfocus View and File Control Panel. You can apply them to all PDF documents which you will be viewing in Adobe Acrobat.
To specify and manage your view and file settings
1
Open a PDF document in Adobe Acrobat.
2
Click the Enfocus View and File Control Panel button
3
Click Manage > New.
4
•
Click one of the following categories:
Display
•
•
•
5
View Modes
Color Management
File Settings
.
Select or specify the settings for the properties of your choice.
6
Fill in a name for these settings, click OK and then Yes.
You can also do any of the following:
7
•
•
Remove the settings. Click Manage > Delete.
Share or exchange your view and file settings with your colleagues or service providers. Click Manage > Import or Export and specify the name of your view and file settings file (*.epm).
• Create a copy of your view and file settings and then edit this copy. Click Manage
> Duplicate.
pitstop.book Page 63 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
To check and fix view and file settings
1
Open a PDF document in Adobe Acrobat.
2
Click the Enfocus View and File Control Panel button
3
Select your settings.
4
.
Check the categories and properties which need fixing, indicated by a red light
.
5
•
•
Do one of the following:
Click Fix next to the corresponding property.
Click Fix All to fix all incorrect properties at once.
You may still need to fix some properties yourself, for example reducing the file size or changing the file or folder name.
63
pitstop.book Page 64 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
64
Managing your Adobe Acrobat display settings
To access the Adobe Acrobat display settings
1
2
•
Click the Enfocus View and File Control Panel button
Display category.
Specify one or more of the following properties:
Overprint preview
•
•
Use local fonts
Display large images
•
•
•
View grid
Snap to grid
View transparency grid
> Manage > Edit >
Overprint preview
Overprint preview is an Adobe Acrobat function. You can use overprint preview to simulate on your screen how overprinting will appear in color-separated documents.
A
Overprint preview off (
A
) and on (
B
)
B
Use local fonts
When you view a PDF document which has fonts which are not embedded, you can use the Adobe Acrobat function Use Local Fonts. The following will happen:
•
Use Local Fonts is
off
. Adobe Acrobat uses the fonts of the PDF document and substitutes all fonts which are not embedded. This font substitution will always happen, even if the fonts are installed on the computer where you are viewing the PDF document. This will give you an impression of how someone else will see the PDF document on his or her computer. This may sometimes result in incorrect character spacing or distorted letter shapes.
•
Use Local Fonts is
on
. Adobe Acrobat uses the fonts on the computer where you are viewing the PDF document.
A
Use Local Fonts off (
A
) and on (
B
)
B
pitstop.book Page 65 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
Display large images
Display Large Images is an Adobe Acrobat preference which you can use to let Adobe
Acrobat show or hide “large” images. You may want to use this option only if your computer is fast enough to display high-resolution images.
65
View grid
A
Display Large Images off (
A
) and on (
B
)
B
To align text and graphic objects in a PDF document, you can use Enfocus PitStop
Professional guides but also Adobe Acrobat grids. If you select View Grid, the grid appears as horizontal and vertical lines on the pages of your PDF document.
Snap to grid
A
View Grid off (
A
) and on (
B
)
B
Snap to grid is an Adobe Acrobat function which makes the grid lines “magnetic”: when you move an object close to one of the grid lines, the object will “snap” to it.
pitstop.book Page 66 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
66
View transparency grid
You can use the Adobe Acrobat preference named Display transparency grid to see which objects are transparent and which are not. If you select this option, a grid will appear behind transparent objects.
A B
View transparency grid off (
A
) and on (
B
): the graphic is not transparent, it has a white background.
pitstop.book Page 67 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
67
Managing your Adobe Acrobat view modes settings
To access the Adobe Acrobat view modes settings
1
2
•
Click the Enfocus View and File Control Panel button
View Modes category.
Specify one or more of the following properties:
View page boxes
•
•
Speed up (alternate) image display
Hide annotations
> Manage > Edit >
View page boxes
You can view a PDF document with the page boxes shown or hidden. Page boxes are imaginary rectangles drawn around the various objects on a page and around the page itself. You can also use the View Page Boxes button boxes for a PDF document.
to show or hide the page
A
View Page Boxes off (
A
) and on (
B
)
See also:
• Viewing page boxes on page 49
B
pitstop.book Page 68 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
68
Speed up (alternate) image display
If you work with PDF documents which contain high-resolution images, you may want
Adobe Acrobat to display these images faster. You can do this by clicking the Speed Up
Image Display button
but you can also check and fix this setting automatically.
A
View Alternate Images off (
A
) and on (
B
)
B
See also:
• Speeding up image display using alternate images on page 61
Hide annotations
You can show or hide annotations in Adobe Acrobat. You can use:
• The Adobe Acrobat function Show/Hide All Comments
• The PitStop Professional Hide Annotations tool
You can check whether Hide Annotations is on or off and fix this setting correspondingly.
A
PDF document with annotations shown (
A
) or hidden (
B
).
See also:
• Showing or hiding annotations on page 60
B
pitstop.book Page 69 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
69
Managing your Adobe Acrobat color management settings
Working spaces and color profiles
A working space is a default color profile which is used for a specific color model: RGB,
CMYK or grayscale. You can specify these working spaces in the Color Management category of the Adobe Acrobat preferences. You can use the Enfocus View and File Control
Panel to check whether the correct working spaces are used and, if necessary, fix this.
To access the Adobe Acrobat color management settings
1
2
Click the Enfocus View and File Control Panel button
Color Management category.
Select your CMYK, RGB and Grayscale working spaces.
> Manage > Edit >
You can find a description of some of the color profiles in the Adobe Acrobat Help.
pitstop.book Page 70 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
70
Managing the file settings of your PDF documents
To access the file settings
1
2
•
•
•
Click the Enfocus View and File Control Panel button
Settings category.
Specify one or more of the following properties:
File size
File name length
File name
> Manage > Edit > File
File size
You can specify the maximum file size of your PDF documents. If the file size is larger, the problem will be indicated in the Enfocus View and File Control Panel, but it will not be fixed automatically. You will have to take the appropriate actions to reduce the file size yourself.
File name length
The names of your PDF files may be limited to a maximum number of characters. This maximum length may depend on your operating system or work environment, or you can define a maximum number of characters yourself. If the names of your PDF files are too long, they will not be renamed or truncated automatically: you will be prompted to give the file a shorter name.
File name
You may have file naming conventions for your PDF documents, and these may depend on your operating system. There may be characters which must not be used in file or folder names. You can specify these prohibited characters, and then check and fix the file and folder names of your PDF documents.
Files or folders will not be renamed automatically: you will be prompted to give the file or folder a valid name.
pitstop.book Page 71 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
71
pitstop.book Page 72 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
72
pitstop.book Page 71 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Chapter 3
pitstop.book Page 72 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
pitstop.book Page 73 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
73
Chapter 3:
Working with PDF documents
Topics
•
•
•
•
In this chapter:
• Copying and pasting object attributes 74
Undoing or redoing actions 75
Measuring the distance between two points 76
Viewing object attributes 77
Using guides 78
pitstop.book Page 74 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
74
Copying and pasting object attributes
About copying object attributes
You can easily copy an object’s attributes and apply all or some of these attributes to another object in your PDF document. These attributes can relate to stroke and fill, but also to text, transparency and prepress.
Copying and pasting the fill attributes of part of an object
See also:
• Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Tools on page 30
To copy and paste an object’s attributes
1
2
Click the Copy and Paste Attributes tool .
If necessary, choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector to display the Enfocus
Inspector.
The cursor changes into
3
.
Hold down the CONTROL (CTRL) key (Windows) or Command (
) key (Macintosh) and click an object to copy its attributes.
The cursor changes into .
The copied attributes appear selected in the Enfocus Inspector.
4
5
If necessary, click to clear the attributes that you do not wish to paste.
Click the object onto which you wish to paste the selected attributes.
pitstop.book Page 75 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
75
Undoing or redoing actions
About undoing and redoing actions:
You can undo any unsaved actions which you have done with one of the PitStop Professional tools. An “action” can mean changing something but also selecting one or more objects.
You have two buttons to undo your actions:
Button Undoes
Changes only.
Usage
In situations where you have done multiple changes and maybe made some selections in between.
For example: select text, move it on the page, change the font and color. Select an image, scale it and place it below the text.
Changes and selections.
In situations where you have made a lot of selections, and sometimes even very complex ones, for example using the Enfocus wireframe view ( ). Or when you were selecting a lot of objects and you lost your selection due to a “slip of the mouse”.
After undoing one or more actions, you can redo them again.
If you are working with Certified PDF documents, you can even undo actions after you have saved the file. See also Saving snapshots on page 123 .
To undo or redo an action
Proceed as follows to undo or redo your last actions:
1
The name of your last action appears in the menu command. If you moved an object, for example, the menu will read Undo Move.
2
To redo the action you have just undone, Edit > Redo [action] or click one of the
pitstop.book Page 76 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
76
Measuring the distance between two points
You can measure the distance between two points in the work area of your PDF document. You can do this, for example, to align objects or to check the positioning or size of objects. You use the Measure tool measure a given distance.
in combination with the Enfocus Inspector to
Point 2
81.54
Y
60.96
77.44
51.9˚
0.0
33.77
Point 1
29.84
47.77
90.80
X
To measure the distance between two points
1
Click the Zoom In tool tance between two points.
and drag the area where you want to measure the dis-
2
Click the Measure tool .
3
If necessary, choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector to display the Enfocus
Inspector.
4
Click the two points to measure the distance between them.
Two differently colored cross hairs appear at the positions where you clicked (point 1 and point 2). The Enfocus Inspector displays the distances in the measurement unit of your choice.
If necessary, you can change the color of the cross hairs. Click the respective cross hair color patch in the Enfocus Inspector and select a different color.
pitstop.book Page 77 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
Viewing object attributes
About viewing object attributes
Using the Eyedropper tool
•
•
Object type
Color space
•
•
Color settings
Overprint settings
, you can view the following attributes of any object:
See also:
• Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Tools on page 30
To view the attributes of an object
1
Click the Eyedropper tool
2
.
If necessary, choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector to display the Enfocus
Inspector.
3
Click any text or object in the PDF document.
The Enfocus Inspector displays the attributes of the selected text or object.
77
pitstop.book Page 78 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
78
Using guides
Reasons for using guides
You can use guides in your PDF document to check and, if necessary, correct the alignment of two or more objects. You can also create and save a set of guides and reuse these in multiple similar PDF documents or in different versions of the same document.
Understanding guide position
When reading the guide position indication from the Feedback area of the Enfocus
Inspector, you should keep in mind that the position is calculated starting from the bottom left corner of the page.
78.08
Guide position is calculated starting from the bottom left corner of the page.
pitstop.book Page 79 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
79
To insert and adjust guides
1
Click the Guides tool .
2
If necessary, choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector to display the Enfocus
Inspector.
3
To create a new horizontal or vertical guide, click the respective plus (+) sign .
The new guide appears centered on your screen.
4
5
•
If necessary, type a Name for the guide in the respective box in the Enfocus
Inspector.
Do one of the following to position the guide:
•
Click on the guide to select it and drag it to the desired position. If you have both a horizontal and a vertical guide, you can move both by clicking on the intersection.
Type its exact position in the respective box in the Enfocus Inspector.
6
If necessary, change the color of the guide. Click the color patch in the Enfocus
Inspector, select a different color and click OK.
See also:
• Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Tools on page 30
• Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Guides on page 33
To remove guides from a PDF document
1
Acrobat displays the page on the complete media size.
2
3
Click the Guides tool
The cursor changes into
.
Move your cursor over the guide you wish to remove.
when it is positioned exactly over a guide.
pitstop.book Page 80 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
80
4
Drag the guide off the page and beyond the largest page box (i.e. the media box) to remove it.
Removing a guide by dragging it off the page.
You may have to drag the guide quite far to the side of the page before it disappears. The reason for this is that the guides are deleted only when moved beyond the boundaries of the largest of the page boxes (usually the media box), which is not always visible in Adobe Acrobat.
See also:
• Viewing page boxes on page 49
To use sets of guides
When you have created a number of guides, you can save these as a set of guides. This is useful if you wish to reuse these guides later. For example, you may wish to check and correct the alignment and positioning of objects in PDF documents which have a similar layout. Or, you may expect new versions of the PDF document in which you have currently used guides. You can also import and export sets of guides to exchange them with other people.
Proceed as follows:
1
2
Click the Guides tool .
If necessary, choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector to display the Enfocus
Inspector.
pitstop.book Page 81 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
81
•
•
3
•
•
You can now do one of the following:
Add horizontal and/or vertical guides and click Manage Guides > Save. Type a name for this set of guides and click OK.
To use a different set of guides, select the set in the list. You can also change the name, color or position of one or more guides and save this set again.
To remove a set of guides, select the set in the list and click Manage Guides >
Delete.
To exchange a set of guides with other people, click Manage Guides > Import or
Export.
pitstop.book Page 82 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
82
pitstop.book Page 83 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Chapter 4
pitstop.book Page 84 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
pitstop.book Page 85 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
85
Chapter 4:
Making Global Changes in PDF documents
Topics
•
•
•
•
•
In this chapter:
• Making Global Changes: the general process 86
Organizing and finding Global Changes 88
Global Changes in practice 89
Changing the size, position or orientation of the page content 90
Removing text or objects inside or outside a selected area 94
Adding text 96
pitstop.book Page 86 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
86
Making Global Changes: the general process
Select, configure, run
Making a Global Change in your PDF documents generally goes as follows:
1
2
You
select
a predefined Global Change.
You
configure
the selected Global Change, meaning that you specify its settings for your PDF documents. Configuring a Global Change can be a single step or multiple steps, depending on the complexity of the Global Change.
3
4
5
You specify the page range in which you want to apply the Global Change.
You
run
the Global Change.
If you plan to use this Global Change in the future as well, you can add it to your list of favorite Global Changes or save it as an Action List.
To make a Global Change
1
Open a PDF document.
2
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Global Change.
The Enfocus Global Change panel appears, showing a list of Global Changes.
3
•
•
Do any of the following:
Click the category All to see all Global Changes.
•
Click a specific category, for example Page, Image or Text, to see the Global
Changes organized per category.
Type a keyword, or part of a keyword, in the Filter box to see the relevant Global
Changes only. For example, type scal to see the Global Changes which relate to scaling.
4
5
6
Select a Global Change in the list.
Click the Next button ing your Global Change.
to proceed to the next step in the process: configur-
Select the required options and specify the settings of the Global Change.
You may wish to click Show Help and check the integrated Help at the bottom of the Enfocus Global Change panel. It provides background information about each setting.
7
8
In the Run stage, select the page range in which you want to apply the Global
Change.
Check the description of the Global Change in the Status box to see if all parameters are correct.
9
Specify when you need to see a report.
10
Click Run Change to run the Global Change in the PDF document which you have currently open.
pitstop.book Page 87 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
87
11
12
Do one of the following:
• If the result is
Undo button
not okay
, choose Edit > Undo Global Change Execution or click the
. Click the Previous button in the Enfocus Global Change
Panel to return to the Configure stage and correct the settings of the Global
Change.
•
Leave the Enfocus Global Change panel open and check the result of the Global
Change in your PDF document.
If the result is
okay
and you plan to use this Global Change in the future as well, click Save as Action List. Fill in the name and description of the Action List and, if necessary, your name and company, and click OK.
•
•
See also:
• Global Changes in practice on page 89
Importing an Action List or PDF Profile on page 174
Using the Enfocus Navigator on page 177
pitstop.book Page 88 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
88
Organizing and finding Global Changes
To organize your frequently used Global Changes: Favorites and Recent
You can organize the Global Changes which you use frequently in two dedicated categories in the Enfocus Global Change panel:
•
Recent. Global Changes which you have run recently will automatically be added to this category.
•
Favorites. You can add Global Changes to your Favorites category.
Proceed as follows:
1
2
3
4
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Global Change.
Click the Recent category to see the Global Changes which you have run recently in your PDF documents.
Click the category All or a specific category, for example Page, Image or Text.
Select a Global Change in the list and click Add to Favorites.
To find the relevant Global Change: using a filter
By default, the Enfocus PitStop Change panel lists all the Global Changes or the Global
Changes in a given category. You can use a filter to see only those Global Changes which relate to the task you wish to perform. You do this by typing a keyword in the Filter box.
This keyword does not necessarily have to occur in the name of the Global Change. You may just as well try any keyword you can think of.
For example, let’s try to find Global Changes which relate to
scaling
first and then find the Global Change to place a
watermark image
on every page in a PDF document. Proceed as follows:
1
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Global Change.
2
Click the category All.
3
Make sure that no filter has been applied yet: the Filter box has to be empty.
4
Type the word
scale
in the Filter box.
You see all the Global Changes which relate to scaling.
5
Remove the word
scale
and type the word
watermark
in the Filter box.
You see the Global Change named
Add copied graphics
. Indeed, this is the Global
Change you can use to copy a graphic and place it as a watermark on the pages in your
PDF document.
pitstop.book Page 89 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
89
Global Changes in practice
Examples of Global Changes
Let’s look at a couple of examples of how Global Changes work in practice:
•
•
Changing the size, position or orientation of the page content
Removing text or objects inside or outside a selected area
The examples aim to show the PDF documents before and after the Global Changes have been applied. To be able to create these sample Global Changes, you should know how to create a Global Change. See Making Global Changes: the general process on page 86 .
pitstop.book Page 90 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
90
Changing the size, position or orientation of the page content
Manipulating page content
PitStop Professional allows you to manipulate the page content in the following ways:
•
•
Move the page content
Scale the page content
•
•
•
•
Scale the page content to fit
Scale the entire page
Flip the page content
Rotate the page content
Move the page content
Suppose you would like your PDF document, which is originally in US letter paper size, to fit onto a regular A4 without altering the actual Page Setup of your document.
PitStop Professional allows you to change the physical position of the page content of odd and even pages throughout your entire PDF document by entering new values for the horizontal X and vertical Y axes.
Y Y
0
0 X
0
20 X
Moving the page content along the horizontal X and vertical Y axes.
pitstop.book Page 91 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
91
Scale the page content
Suppose you have an A4-size PDF document (210 x 297 mm). You want to keep the page size “as is”, but need to make the page content narrower. You also wish to move the page content to the upper right corner of the crop box.
100 % X 50 % X
Scale the page content and move it to the upper left corner of the crop box
Scale the page content to fit
Suppose want to scale the page content to fit a given page box, for example a trim box.
You can scale the page content to this page box, and add extra margins, if necessary.
A
Scale the page content to fit the size of the trim box (
A
).
pitstop.book Page 92 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
92
Scale the entire page
Suppose you have an A4-size PDF document (210 x 297 mm) and you need to scale the page boxes and the page content to fit the US Letter page size (8.5 x 11"). While scaling, you will probably need to:
•
•
Scale the
page content proportionally
to prevent distortion of text and other objects
Scale the
page boxes non-proportionally
, because the proportions (width to height) of an A4 page are different from those of the US Letter format
A B
Scale the entire page and the page content from A4 size (
A
) to US Letter (
B
).
pitstop.book Page 93 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
Flip the page content
You can flip the page content of a PDF document around an imaginary axis.
93
A
B
A.
Flip the page content horizontally (left/right): over a vertical axis
B.
Flip the page content vertically (up/down): over a horizontal axis
Rotate the page content
You can use Adobe Acrobat’s standard functionality to rotate one or more pages in your
PDF document. However, both the page and the content will be rotated in that case. If you want to rotate the content of the page only, you can use the Rotate Page Content
Global Change. For example, you might have changed the crop or media box first and may then wish to rotate the content to fit onto the “page” again.
Rotate the content but keep the page orientation
pitstop.book Page 94 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
94
Removing text or objects inside or outside a selected area
About removing objects: example of usage
You can select a given area in your PDF document and remove text or objects, i.e. line art, images or shadings, inside or outside that area. For example, suppose you have a
PDF document in which the header of each page contains a page number on a shaded line-art background. You wish to remove the line art with shading, but keep the page numbers.
23
Duis mattis risus nec sapien
Etiam semper. Curabitur quam diam, congue sed, tristique in, euismod et, sem. Suspendisse dui sem, accumsan eu, congue et, venenatis ut, nisi. Donec lectus dolor, suscipit a, semper et, cursus et, mi.
23
Duis mattis risus nec sapien
Etiam semper. Curabitur quam diam, congue sed, tristique in, euismod et, sem. Suspendisse dui sem, accumsan eu, congue et, venenatis ut, nisi. Donec lectus dolor, suscipit a, semper et, cursus et, mi.
Removing line art with shading inside and overlapping the selected area but keeping the text
To remove objects inside or outside a selected area
1
Open the PDF document in which you want to remove objects inside or outside an area.
2
3
4
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Global Change.
Select the Global Change Remove Inside Area, and click the Next button
Using the Select Rectangular Area tool
.
, draw a rectangular area on the page.
5
6
Click the Set area box to selection button in the Enfocus Global Change Panel, and click the Next button .
Select the option to remove objects inside or outside the area box.
7
To include overlapping text segments or object segments, select Overlapping the
area box.
pitstop.book Page 95 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
95
8
Select the objects (Text, Image, Line Art, Shading) which you want to remove.
If you are not sure about the type of object, you can select one type and click the
Run change button to try it on the current page. Check the result and choose
Edit > Undo Global Change Execution or click the Undo button
to proceed with the configuration of the Global Change.
9
Click the Next button .
10
In the Run stage, select the page range in which you want to apply the Global
Change.
11
Check the description of the Global Change in the Status box to see if all parameters are correct.
12
Specify when you need to see a report.
13
Click Run Change to run the Global Change in the PDF document which you have currently open.
14
If necessary, click Save as Action List and save your Global Change as an Action List
(*.eal) file.
pitstop.book Page 96 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
96
Adding text
About adding text
•
•
You can automatically add text to the pages of your choice in your PDF documents. This can be: fixed text, for example a header or footer variable text, for example a page number or the current time and date.
Variables
You can use variables to add text to your PDF document which may:
• Vary, for example page numbers or the current date and time
• Already be available and known in PitStop Professional, for example your user name or company name.
Instead of typing this information in a text box, you can use variables to provide the required information. The actual text of the variable will then be filled in automatically when you run the Global Change.
You can use the following variables in the following situations:
Variable
%Current Doc Name%
%Full Doc Path%
%Time%
%UTC Time%
%Date%
%UTC Date%
%User Company%
Meaning
The name of the PDF document.
The file name of the PDF document with its full path.
The current time in your time zone.
The current time in the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) zone.
UTC is an alternative name for
Greenwich Mean Time (GMT).
The current date in a format acceptable for the current language.
The current date in the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) zone.
UTC is an alternative name for
Greenwich Mean Time (GMT).
The name of the registered company of PitStop Professional.
Equals “<Trial>” if PitStop Professional is not registered and
“<Empty>” if the company has not been filled in in the registration information.
Example of display
dita.pdf
C:\Documents and Settings\jdoe\
Local Settings\Temp
09:50:29 (meaning 9.50 a.m.,
29 seconds)
08:50:29 (meaning 8.50 a.m.,
29 seconds)
January 25, 2006
January 25, 2006
ATeK Inc.
pitstop.book Page 97 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
97
Variable
%User Name%
Meaning
The name of the registered user of
PitStop Professional. Equals
“<Trial>” if PitStop Professional is not registered.
%Page Number%
%Page Count%
The current page number.
%Padded Page Number%
The current page number, preceded by zeros.
The total number of pages in a PDF document
%Padded Page Count%
The total number of pages in a PDF document, preceded by zeros
Example of display
John Doe
4
000004
Page x of 12
Page 00000x of 000012
Structure of a variable
A variable consists of a name and a value:
• The variable name is what you see in the list when you want to select a variable.
• The variable value is how the variable has been filled in. It appears below the variable name to give you an idea about its usage.
Example: correcting the page numbering
Suppose you have a PDF document for double-sided printing and you want to change the page numbering:
•
•
The first page need to have page 1 instead of, for example, 147
The left-hand pages need to have even page numbering (2, 4, 6...)
• The right-hand pages need to have odd page numbering (1, 3, 5...)
Moreover, you want the new page numbers to appear on exactly the same position and have the same font and style as the existing ones.
Proceed as follows:
1
Open the PDF document and make sure that you are on page 1.
2
3
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Global Change.
Select the Global Change Add Text, and click the Next button .
pitstop.book Page 98 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
98
4
Using the Select Objects tool , select the current page number.
147
5
6
7
8
In the Enfocus Global Change panel, click Grab text and style.
Click the Next button .
Select the variable %pagenumber% in the Page number position list.
Specify the new page number which the current page should get. If you currently see page 1 of your PDF document, type
1
in the Page number for current page box.
9
Click the Next button .
10
Click Grab everything from selection.
11
Specify the position of the page number and click Grab offsets from selection.
12
Click the Next button .
•
•
13
Select the following options:
•
Replace existing text that overlaps with the new text, because you want to replace existing page numbers.
Only add text to pages that already have text at the specified position.
If necessary, select Add a white background.
14
Click the Next button .
15
In the Run stage, select the page range in which you want to apply the Global
Change. Select Apply to complete document and Odd only, because you are on a right-hand, odd-numbered page.
16
Click Run Change to run the Global Change in the PDF document which you have currently open.
17
If necessary, click Save as Action List and save your Global Change as an Action List
(*.eal) file.
18
Repeat steps 4 through 17 for the even-numbered, left-hand pages but make sure that you apply the Global Change to the Even (pages) only.
pitstop.book Page 99 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Chapter 5
pitstop.book Page 100 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
pitstop.book Page 101 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
101
Chapter 5:
Working with Certified PDF documents
Topics
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
In this chapter:
• About Certified PDF 102
Guaranteed preflighting 103
Document consistency 104
Responsibility 105
The Certified PDF workflow explained 106
What is an Enfocus Certified PDF document? 109
Setting the Certified PDF user identification 110
Adding a session comment 111
Starting a Certified PDF workflow for a PDF document 112
Providing a Certified PDF document with job information 114
Verifying the original source document 115
Replacing the PDF Profile of a Certified PDF document 116
Preflighting and saving Certified PDF documents 117
Viewing the preflight report 118
Checking the Certified PDF status of a PDF document 119
Viewing the edit log file 121
Viewing the document history 122
Saving snapshots 123
Comparing sessions 125
Saving an optimized Certified PDF document 128
Checking for updated Specifications on CertifiedPDF.net 129
pitstop.book Page 102 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
102
About Certified PDF
PDF workflow concept
Certified PDF is a PDF workflow concept developed by Enfocus Software based on customer requests and feedback from industry experts. The Certified PDF concept has been designed to address three fundamental issues faced by the majority of users implementing a PDF workflow:
• How to guarantee that a PDF document was successfully preflighted with a specific
PDF Profile.
•
•
How to maintain consistency between the source document(s) and the PDF document when (minor) changes can be applied to the PDF document throughout the workflow.
How to minimize risk and responsibility when changing a customer’s PDF document before final output.
pitstop.book Page 103 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
103
Guaranteed preflighting
Preflighting issues
“Preflighting” is the process of checking a PDF document against various criteria to ensure that the PDF document meets all the requirements for output or publication.
Typically, the criteria vary depending on the output or publishing process. A set of criteria matching the requirements of a particular process is called a “PDF Profile”.
PitStop Professional, for example, allows you to create a PDF Profile that checks your PDF document against various criteria, such as color and font usage. Moreover, you can use
PitStop Professional to actually fix detected problems in your PDF documents.
Ideally, a PDF document should be preflighted at an early stage in a workflow, i.e. as soon as it has been created. This is particularly true if the PDF document will move from the PDF document provider, who created the PDF document, to the PDF document recipient, for example a publishing or printing department. Detecting problems in the
PDF document before the file leaves the PDF document provider saves time (and money). Even more so, when the PDF file is sent to a different physical location.
You can also create Certified PDF documents with Enfocus Instant PDF. For more information about Enfocus Instant PDF, visit our Web site at www.enfocus.com
.
See also:
• What is preflighting? on page 136
Preflighting in a Certified PDF workflow
A Certified PDF workflow supports the preflight process by:
•
•
Offering the PDF document provider a simple and streamlined way to preflight a
PDF document with a PDF Profile supplied by the PDF document recipient.
Including the PDF Profile and the corresponding preflight report in the PDF document. This way there can be no doubt about the preflight status of the PDF document.
• Offering a straightforward user interface that enables the recipient of the PDF document to verify that the document has been preflighted successfully with a profile he or she provided.
The above-mentioned features help to:
• Motivate the PDF document provider to actually preflight his or her PDF documents
• Dramatically reduce the number of problems in files received from PDF document providers
pitstop.book Page 104 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
104
Document consistency
PDF editing issues
PDF editing tools, such as Enfocus PitStop Professional, are very convenient for making intermediate or last-minute corrections in PDF documents. This saves you both time and money because you do not have to go back to the original application program to re-create the PDF document. Sometimes, it may even be more efficient to make the changes directly in your PDF document. Enfocus PitStop Professional, for example, allows you to make global color changes throughout your PDF document.
However, PDF editing also involves a risk: as soon as you edit and save a PDF document, you create a version of a document that is different from the original document you made using a word processor or a desktop publishing software. These inconsistencies are hard to manage, and may introduce problems in archiving or when the document is republished at a later date.
See also:
• Automating tasks on page 149 .
PDF editing in a Certified PDF workflow
To help reduce document consistency problems, the Certified PDF workflow features a mechanism that:
•
•
Logs all the changes that are made to a Certified PDF document
Can store these changes inside the Certified PDF document
Based on this information, an edit log —a human readable PDF report— can be generated.
If consistency between the PDF document and the source file(s) is very important, you can use the edit log to change the source file(s) accordingly. To assist in this process, a
Certified PDF document can also keep a reference to the source file(s) from which the
PDF document was created. You can use this reference to make sure that the source file has not been edited since the PDF document was created.
pitstop.book Page 105 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
105
Responsibility
Responsibility issues
In addition to causing inconsistencies, changing a PDF document that was created by someone else can create ambiguity about who is ultimately responsible for the final result.
Many printers, service providers, etc. are extremely reluctant to make any changes to their customer’s documents for fear of having to assume responsibility if anything goes wrong. This includes issues that can be totally unrelated to the small correction applied.
Responsibility in a Certified PDF workflow
The Certified PDF workflow settles responsibility issues by:
•
•
Providing a detailed log file of all the changes made to a PDF document
Keeping track of the PDF editing process, i.e. who applied which change and when
•
•
Implementing a robust roll-back mechanism, which, if you wish, allows you to easily return to a previously saved state —a “snapshot”— of your PDF document
Offering the possibility to compare any two of these snapshots visually to detect and examine the differences
pitstop.book Page 106 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
106
The Certified PDF workflow explained
A conventional PDF workflow
In a conventional PDF workflow, the PDF document goes through the hands of different parties who can each edit it, if necessary. The original PDF document is replaced by the edited one.
source document
PDF editing
PDF version 1
PDF editing
PDF version 2
PDF version 3
pitstop.book Page 107 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
107
The Certified PDF workflow: incremental save
source document
PDF version 1
PDF editing & preflighting
Profile preflight report
PDF editing & preflighting
PDF version 1
Profile preflight report
In the Certified PDF workflow, all the modifications done in a PDF document are logged per session and saved in an edit log file. Also, the edited PDF documents can be saved incrementally. This means that the changes done in version 3, for example, can be saved “on top of” the changes done in version 2 but you keep one physical PDF file.
The incremental save principle does not necessarily increase the file size of your PDF document drastically because Adobe Acrobat only saves the changes made during the different sessions. The difference in file size may become apparent if you delete a large number of objects, because these objects are maintained in one or more versions. You can, however, at any stage in the workflow, “optimize” your Certified PDF document, i.e. reduce its file size, simply by using the Save As function of Adobe Acrobat and clicking the Certified
Full Save button. You will still have a Certified
PDF document with history information about previous editing sessions, but you will no longer be able to save snapshots of these sessions or use the roll-back mechanism to revert to a previous state of your Certified PDF document.
PDF editing & preflighting
PDF version 2
Profile preflight report
PDF version 3
See also:
• Saving an optimized Certified PDF document on page 128
pitstop.book Page 108 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
108
Roll-back mechanism
The Certified PDF workflow can also offer you a robust roll-back mechanism. Each time you save your Certified PDF document by choosing File > Save (or pressing CTRL+s) , a
“snapshot” will be included in the file. You may think of a snapshot as an “image” of the state of the PDF document at the time it was saved. This allows you to revert to any previous stage in the Certified PDF workflow and to compare different versions of your
PDF document, even though you maintain one physical PDF file.
You cannot save snapshots or use the roll-back mechanism in “optimized” Certified PDF documents. See also Saving an optimized Certified PDF document on page 128 and Saving snapshots on page 123 .
pitstop.book Page 109 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
109
What is an Enfocus Certified PDF document?
Acrobat metadata
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
Any regular PDF document contains metadata, i.e. information about the document itself. The Document Properties dialog box of Adobe Acrobat, for example, includes the following metadata:
Creation and modification date of the PDF document
The application with which the PDF document was created
The PDF version
File size
The name and path of the PDF file
Number of pages
Page size
Enfocus metadata
•
•
•
•
An Enfocus Certified PDF document can be enriched with the following metadata:
• A reference to one or more source documents on which the PDF document was based
A PDF Profile
A preflight report
•
User and system identification
An edit log, listing all the changes done in the PDF document per editing session
(the time in which the PDF document was opened, edited and saved)
Session comments
pitstop.book Page 110 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
110
Setting the Certified PDF user identification
Two types of user identification
An Enfocus Certified PDF document can contain two types of user identification: personal information and system information. Each of these serves its own purpose:
•
•
The
personal information
is your name and company contact details, together with a message, if any. You can fill this in so that people know how to reach you if they should have any questions about edit or preflight actions done in the PDF document.
The
system information
consists of the details of the person who registered
PitStop Professional and information taken from your operating system, network and computer. This information cannot be changed and is therefore a reliable source to pinpoint responsibility, for example. If people claim or disclaim responsibility for a given change made in the PDF document, the system information will provide incontestable proof. This information will be used in the edit log to show who made which changes in a given session.
See also:
• Preferences > Enfocus Certified PDF Preferences > Personal Info on page 36
To set the personal identification
1
Choose Certified PDF > Show Personal Info.
2
Fill in your personal information.
Fill in as much information as possible. A message is optional.
3
Click OK.
To view the system information
1
Choose Certified PDF > Show Personal Info.
2
Click the System tab.
3
If you have more than one Enfocus product installed, select Enfocus PitStop Professional in the Program list.
4
Click OK.
pitstop.book Page 111 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
111
Adding a session comment
The Certified PDF mechanism in PitStop Professional enables you to enhance the quality of your PDF workflow by adding comments to the edit log. Before sending your PDF document to the publisher for example, you may want to explain why given changes have been made.
You can add comment per editing session. A session is the time in which you edit and save a PDF document.
To add a session comment
1
2
3
Choose Certified PDF > Edit Properties.
Add a new session comment or change the comment of the current session.
Click OK.
pitstop.book Page 112 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
112
Starting a Certified PDF workflow for a PDF document
Stamping a PDF document
Starting a Certified PDF workflow for a PDF document means that you ‘stamp’ the document: You provide it with the information necessary to enjoy the benefits of the Certified PDF workflow for that particular PDF document. As soon as you have started a
Certified PDF workflow for a document, any change made to the document will be
“recorded” per editing session and can be traced in the edit log. start Certified
PDF workflow source file PDF 1
Starting a Certified PDF workflow for a PDF document
PDF 1 Certified
When starting a Certified PDF workflow, you can:
• Specify one or more source documents on which your PDF document was based and save a reference to these documents in your PDF document.
•
•
Select a PDF Profile that you want to attach to your PDF document. The PDF Profile is stored in the Certified PDF document for later use.
Enter a session comment. This comment will be stored in the Certified PDF document.
See also:
• Viewing the edit log file on page 121
To start a Certified PDF workflow
1
Open the PDF document for which you want to start a Certified PDF workflow.
2
Choose Certified PDF > Start or click the button.
If you have made any changes to your PDF document, you should save it before you start the Certified PDF workflow. If you did not save it, a warning will appear prompting you to do so.
3
Click Add to add a reference to one or more source files on which your PDF document was based.
It is recommended to add a reference to the source file(s) at this stage. This information cannot be added later on in the workflow.
pitstop.book Page 113 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
113
7
•
4
•
If necessary, specify a PDF Profile against which your PDF document should be preflighted. You can do one of the following:
Select a PDF Profile from the PDF Profile list. This list contains the same PDF Profiles as your Action List and PDF Profile Panel.
Click Browse. Select a PDF Profile file in a given folder and then click Open.
•
5
Enter a session comment, if necessary.
6
Click OK.
The Certified PDF workflow has now been started for this PDF document. You are prompted to preflight your PDF document now or later.
•
Do one of the following:
Click Now to preflight your PDF document immediately. If necessary, fill in or change the session comment in the Preflight and Save dialog box and click OK.
The document is preflighted and the Enfocus Navigator or the preflight report appears afterwards.
Click Later if you want to preflight your PDF document at a more convenient time.
You may want to change the PDF document first, for example.
See also:
• Preflighting and checking PDF documents on page 135
• Using the Enfocus Navigator on page 177
pitstop.book Page 114 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
114
Providing a Certified PDF document with job information
About job information
Certified PDF documents can be provided with job information. Job information can be any kind of information about the PDF document which you would like to share with the person who will receive the PDF document. This can include, for example:
• The name, company address and contact details for whom the PDF document is
(ultimately) intended.
• Any additional remarks which the recipient of the PDF document has to know.
This can be, for example, details about how the PDF document should be printed or what should happen next with the PDF document.
To provide a Certified PDF document with job information
1
Choose Certified PDF > Show Job Info.
2
Fill in the name, company address and contact details of the recipient of the PDF document.
3
4
In the Message text box, type additional comments or remarks for the recipient of the PDF document.
Click OK.
pitstop.book Page 115 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
115
Verifying the original source document
You can add references in your Certified PDF document to one or more source files on which the PDF file was based. This does not only offer you or the PDF recipient a convenient way to find the respective source files, it also enables you to check whether these source files have changed since the time at which the Certified PDF workflow was started for this PDF document. Indeed, if you wish to “synchronize” the source file with the edited PDF document, you will use the edit log report to apply the changes from the
PDF document in the source document. It is then crucial to know that you are working in the correct version of the source file.
To verify the original source document
1
Choose Certified PDF > Verify Original Document.
A dialog box appears, showing the name and status of the original document.
2
Check the status of the original document.
You find details on their respective creation date, modification date and type in the
Document Info area.
3
•
•
•
4
Do one of the following:
If the source document status is “Identical”, it means that the source document has not changed since the Certified PDF workflow was started. You can apply the changes listed in the edit log file to the source document.
If the source document status is “Different”, it means that the source document has changed since the time when a Certified PDF workflow was started for the PDF document. If possible, check the various versions of the source document first before you synchronize any of these source documents with the PDF document.
If the source document status is “Missing”, it means that the source document is moved, renamed or deleted. Select the missing source document and click
Browse. Locate the corresponding source document at its new location or with its new name and click Open. The source document will reappear in the list with the status “Identical” or “Different”.
Click OK.
pitstop.book Page 116 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
116
Replacing the PDF Profile of a Certified PDF document
As soon as a PDF document is Certified, it can have a PDF Profile embedded. You can replace this PDF Profile by another one at any stage in the document’s Certified PDF workflow. Suppose your PDF document is intended for printing as well as for online viewing. You can then attach the appropriate PDF Profile depending on the output format.
To replace a PDF Profile in a Certified PDF document
1
Choose Certified PDF > Edit Properties.
2
•
Do one of the following:
Select a PDF Profile from the PDF Profile list.
•
3
Click Browse. Select a PDF Profile file in a given folder and then click Open
Click OK.
If you replace the PDF Profile and then click OK to save the changes, a warning appears prompting you to preflight the PDF document now or later. It is recommended to click
Now. Your PDF document will be preflighted and saved immediately with the newly chosen PDF Profile.
pitstop.book Page 117 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
Preflighting and saving Certified PDF documents
If a PDF document is Certified and thus has a PDF Profile embedded, you can preflight and save it in one single step. Even people who do not have PitStop Professional but another Certified PDF-compliant tool, such as Enfocus Instant PDF, can still do this if they receive such a Certified PDF document.
To preflight and save your Certified PDF documents
1
Open a Certified PDF document.
2
Choose Certified PDF > Preflight and Save.
The Preflight and Save dialog box appears:
3
4
Change or complete the session comment, if necessary.
Click OK to preflight your PDF document with the PDF Profile and save it.
Depening on your Enfocus Preferences, the preflight report or the Enfocus Navigator will appear as soon as the preflight check is completed.
See also:
• Using the Enfocus Navigator on page 177
117
pitstop.book Page 118 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
118
Viewing the preflight report
When you receive a Certified PDF document that has been preflighted with an embedded PDF Profile, you can view the preflight report without having to redo the preflight.
To view the preflight report
Choose Certified PDF > Show Preflight Report.
The preflight report is generated from the stored database and is displayed.
See also:
• Viewing and interpreting reports on page 180
pitstop.book Page 119 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
119
Checking the Certified PDF status of a PDF document
To check the Certified PDF status of a PDF document
1
Open a PDF document.
2
Check the dedicated Certified PDF Status button on the Adobe Acrobat File toolbar.
The button indicates the Certified PDF status of your PDF document as follows:
Button Meaning
The current PDF document is not a Certified
PDF document (yet).
The current PDF document is a Certified PDF document which was successfully preflighted:
• The Certified PDF Profile embedded in the
PDF document is the same as the PDF
Profile in your PDF Profiles database on your computer.
• The PDF document has been preflighted without any errors.
The current PDF document is a Certified PDF document which was not successfully preflighted. The possible causes are:
• There are differences between the Certified
PDF Profile embedded in the PDF document and the corresponding PDF Profile in your PDF Profiles database on your computer.
• There is no PDF Profile with the same name in the PDF Profiles database on your computer.
• The PDF document has been preflighted with errors.
• The PDF document has been changed since it was last preflighted.
• The PDF document could not be preflighted because there is no PDF Profile attached.
Action
Click this button to start the Certified PDF workflow.
See also Starting a Certified PDF workflow for a
PDF document on page 112 .
Click this button to see the results of the preflight check. The preflight report or the
Enfocus Navigator will appear, depending on your Enfocus Preferences.
Click this button to see the details about the
Certified PDF status and take the appropriate actions.
See also:
• Certified PDF Profile Statuses
pitstop.book Page 120 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
120
Certified PDF Profile Statuses
PitStop Professional determines the status of the PDF Profile embedded in the PDF document by comparing it to the corresponding PDF Profile in your Enfocus PDF Profiles database on your computer. The Enfocus PDF Profiles database is a folder on your computer which contains *.ppp files. The embedded Certified PDF Profile can either match one of the PDF Profiles in the PDF Profiles database or not. The PDF Profiles match if the following conditions are met:
• The PDF Profile names must be identical. The PDF Profile name is the name stored in the PDF Profile, not the file name (*.ppp) of the PDF Profile.
A
B
A.
File name of the PDF Profile
B.
PDF Profile name
•
•
PDF Profiles created with earlier versions of PitStop Professional —also known as
“preflight profiles”— must have the same settings, except for differences between
Do and Do & Log.
PDF Profiles created with the current version of PitStop Professional must have the same settings for Problems to detect and Report as. Different settings for fixes are not taken into account.
The Certified PDF Profile does not necessarily have to match one of the PDF Profiles in the PDF Profile database. You can clear this selection in the Certified PDF Preferences. See Preferences > Enfocus Certified PDF Preferences > PDF Profiles on page 38 .
pitstop.book Page 121 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
121
Viewing the edit log file
About the edit log file
The Certified PDF mechanism in PitStop Professional keeps a record of every editing session of a Certified PDF document. Thus, all the changes made to the PDF document are logged chronologically in the PDF document. The changes can be logged in two different ways, depending on the tool they were made with:
• If you edit your PDF document with any of the Enfocus Certified PDF-compliant plug-ins, such as Enfocus PitStop Professional or Enfocus Instant PDF, the changes are immediately saved in the edit log file. The edit log file will contain a detailed entry for each of the changes.
• If you edit your PDF document with non-compliant third-party PDF editing tools,
PitStop Professional will intercept and log them. However, the edit log file will contain no details on the changes nor on the product with which the changes were made.
To view the Edit Log File
1
Choose Certified PDF > Show Edit Log.
The edit log report appears.
2
3
Go to the Edit Log Summary page and view the edit log of a particular editing session.
Click the
✘
next to an editing entry to see what has been changed in the Certified PDF document.
The change will be highlighted in the Certified PDF document. If you clicked an editing entry of an active session, the change will be shown in a primary highlight color. Other changes on the page, if any, will be shown in a secondary highlight color.
See also:
• Preferences > Enfocus Certified PDF Preferences > General on page 35
pitstop.book Page 122 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
122
Viewing the document history
•
•
The Certified PDF mechanism in PitStop Professional allows you to consult the history of your PDF document. This means that you can view a chronological list of all the sessions that your Certified PDF document has run through.
The chronological list of sessions contains the following information:
• The Certified PDF product that “stamped” the session
The person or company responsible for the session
The end date and time of the session
To view the document history
1
Choose Certified PDF > Show History.
2
3
4
Double-click any of the sessions to see all available details about that session.
Click the User or System tab to view the corresponding information for this particular session.
Click Close.
pitstop.book Page 123 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
123
Saving snapshots
Snapshots and roll-back mechanism explained
In a Certified PDF workflow, a PDF document can go through various editing sessions, done by various users. A Certified PDF document can “remember” all the changes that were made during a given session and can store the information about these changes per session (“incrementally”) as you save your PDF document.
This way of managing and saving changes has a big advantage: You know exactly which changes have been made in which session and by whom. Moreover, these changes can be presented to you in the form of a “
snapshot
”: a view of the status of the PDF document at the time it was saved at the end of a session.
And you can do even more: You cannot only view the state of the PDF document in a given previous editing session, you can also save this snapshot as a separate PDF document. This is called the
roll-back mechanism
. When editing PDF documents, you may have experienced “one-change-too-far” situations, in which you made a change, got an undesired result but also saved the PDF document. No problem in a Certified PDF workflow: you can revert to any previously saved state of a PDF document, provided that you save your Certified PDF document using File > Save (or CTRL+s).
You cannot save snapshots or use the roll-back mechanism in “optimized” Certified PDF documents. See Saving an optimized Certified PDF document on page 128 .
Viewing a snapshot
You can view snapshots of a Certified PDF document in the following ways:
• By saving the snapshot document
with a different name and opening it as a regular PDF
• By comparing two different editing sessions
See also:
• Comparing sessions on page 125
Saving a snapshot
A snapshot is a visual representation of the state of a PDF document at the time it was saved after an editing session. You save a snapshot to revert to a previous version of your PDF document. However, you do not necessarily have to save this snapshot at the end of each session. You can simply select any session from a list and save its snapshot at any stage in your workflow.
Consider the following example. You have created a Certified PDF document in which you use only black text and one spot color. The document has been designed to be printed on an offset press. At some point in the workflow, however, you also want to print this PDF document on a digital four-color press and therefore, you change the spot color into its CMYK counterpart throughout your entire PDF document. You may use
pitstop.book Page 124 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
124
Enfocus PitStop Professional, for example, to do this. This means that the latest version of your PDF document contains only CMYK colors. But, you also need to reprint this PDF document on an offset press using the spot color. You can then simply select a version which still has the spot colors, save its snapshot as a separate PDF document and send this PDF file to your offset printer.
To save a snapshot
5
6
7
3
4
1
2
Open a Certified PDF document.
Choose Certified PDF > Show History.
Select a session in the list of which you want to save a snapshot.
Click Save Snapshot for End of Session to save a snapshot of your PDF document as it was at the end of the selected session.
Enter a descriptive name for your snapshot and click Save.
If necessary, repeat steps 2 through 4 to save any additional snapshots.
Click Close.
pitstop.book Page 125 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
125
Comparing sessions
About comparing sessions
At some point in your PDF workflow, you may want to compare two versions of your
Certified PDF document. You may wish to do this, for example, to detect minor changes.
You can do this in two ways:
• By comparing snapshots of these versions visually (side by side)
• By comparing their respective edit log reports
You cannot compare sessions in “optimized” Certified PDF documents. See Saving an optimized Certified PDF document on page 128 .
pitstop.book Page 126 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
126
To compare sessions visually side by side
Comparing two versions of your PDF document visually is useful to see visible changes
“at a glance”. The idea is that you select two sessions and click the Compare Visually button. PitStop Professional will then generate two snapshots showing the state of the
PDF document at the end of the respective sessions and present these snapshots side by side on screen.
1
Choose Certified PDF > Show History.
2
Select a session from the session list.
The Visually (side-by-side) button is enabled.
3
Click Visually (side-by-side).
A second list of sessions appears. This list of sessions is identical to the list in the previous dialog box.
4
Select a second session from the session list.
This session will be used to compare the first session with.
The Select Session button appears dimmed as long as you do not select a second session from the list, or if you select the same session as in the previous dialog box.
5
Click Select Session to compare the two sessions you have selected.
PitStop Professional compares the two versions and displays them next to each other on screen, indicating the differences.
To compare sessions using the edit log
You can also use the edit log to compare two versions of your Certified PDF document.
This is recommended if you know that changes have been made that are hardly visible on screen, such as overprint or trapping settings or changes in (hidden) layered objects.
1
2
Choose Certified PDF > Show History.
Select a first session from the session list.
The Using the Edit Log button is enabled.
3
Click Using the Edit Log.
pitstop.book Page 127 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
127
A second list of sessions appears. This list of sessions is identical to the list in the previous dialog box.
4
Select a second session from the session list.
This session will be used to compare the first session with.
The Select Session button is disabled as long as you do not select a second session from the list, or if you select the same session as in the previous dialog box.
5
Click Select Session to compare the two sessions you have selected.
The first snapshot is opened and the Enfocus Certified PDF Edit Log Navigator appears.
6
Select one of the changes in the list.
The document will show where the changes occurred by adding a transparent overlay to the object.
You can change the color of the transparent overlay in the Preferences. Choose
Edit > Preferences > Enfocus Certified PDF and click the colored rectangle of the primary highlight color.
7
Click the Toggle button to switch views between the first and the second snapshot.
The Edit Log Navigator displays only the changes for the current page in the document.
If you go to another page in your PDF document, the Edit Log Navigator adjusts the list of changes to match the new page.
pitstop.book Page 128 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
128
Saving an optimized Certified PDF document
What is an “optimized” Certified PDF document?
An “optimized” Certified PDF document is a Certified PDF with reduced file size.
•
•
If you edit and save a Certified PDF document, you may notice that its file size will increase. The reason is obvious: all the changes done in an editing session are stored in the Certified PDF document. So even if you perform actions which would normally reduce the size of your PDF file, such as removing objects or downsampling images, saving the PDF document will increase its file size. And this increase can become significant, depending on the types of actions and the number of editing sessions you do.
If file size is or becomes an issue, you can “optimize” your Certified PDF by using the
Save As function of Adobe Acrobat to reduce its file size. You will then still have a Certified PDF document with history information about previous editing sessions, but you will no longer be able to:
Save snapshots of one or more previous sessions
Use the roll-back mechanism to revert to a previous state of your Certified PDF document
•
•
• Compare sessions
See also:
•
Roll-back mechanism on page 108
Saving snapshots on page 123
Comparing sessions on page 125
To save an optimized Certified PDF document
1
Open your Certified PDF document in Adobe Acrobat.
2
Choose File > Save As.
3
•
Click one of the following buttons:
Copy and Save. Create a copy of the Certified PDF document. You can select this option to save your Certified PDF document on a different location. The size of the
PDF file will increase slightly but you can still save snapshots and use the roll-back mechanism in this copy.
•
Certified Full Save. Creates an optimized Certified PDF document: the file size will be reduced significantly but you can no longer save snapshots or revert to previous states of the PDF document. The history information about previous editing sessions, however, will be maintained.
•
Save UnCertified Copy. Creates a regular, “unCertified” PDF document. The file size will be reduced significantly but you lose all the benefits of working with Certified
PDF documents.
pitstop.book Page 129 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
129
Checking for updated Specifications on CertifiedPDF.net
CertifiedPDF.net: An Online Resource for PDF Specifications
CertifiedPDF.net is an online resource for PDF Specifications .
Online resource
CertifiedPDF.net is a Web site for professional PDF users. The primary goal of Certified-
PDF.net is to provide graphic arts professionals with a centralized hub to exchange PDF
Specifications. Through integration with Enfocus' desktop products you stay up-to-date with changes that happen to these Specifications.
CertifiedPDF.net also provides a wealth of supporting resources such as white papers, tips and tricks and a database of explanations and solutions on the feedback you get from your preflight report.
•
•
PDF Specifications
A PDF Specification is a collection of files which the document creator can use to deliver
PDF documents which are up to the document receiver’s expectations. A Specification can include:
A PDF Queue
A PDF Profile
•
•
•
•
•
•
Action Lists
PostScript Printer Description (PPD) Files
QuarkXPress print styles
Adobe InDesign CS print presets or PDF presets (called printer styles and PDF styles respectively in Adobe InDesign 2.x)
Adobe PDF Settings (*.joboptions)
ICC Profiles
• Documentation
The PDF document receiver creates and publishes Specifications on CertifiedPDF.net. The
PDF document creator uses Specifications from CertifiedPDF.net.
CertifiedPDF.net Community
CertifiedPDF.net is a public Web site and is accessible to anyone. You can freely visit the
Web site and browse through the list of Specifications. You can also see who is a contributing member of CertifiedPDF.net or take a look at the available resources.
However, if you wish to use CertifiedPDF.net effectively, you can become a registered member of the CertifiedPDF.net community. You can register:
•
•
As a Subscribing member
As a Contributing member
pitstop.book Page 130 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
130
Subscribing member
Subscribing members, or “subscribers”, are typically people who create and deliver PDF documents. Once registered as a subscribing member, you can download and subscribe to PDF Specifications. You can manage your Specifications on CertifiedPDF.net and you will also be notified automatically if one of these Specifications is updated.
Subscribing members can use CertifiedPDF.net free of charge.
•
•
Contributing member
Contributing members, or “contributors”, are those who create Specifications and publish them on CertifiedPDF.net. These are typically:
People who receive PDF documents such as printers and publishers
Industry associations
Contributing members pay a yearly fee for the right to publish their Specifications on
CertifiedPDF.net.
See also:
• www.CertifiedPDF.net
• Preferences > Enfocus Certified PDF Preferences > CertifiedPDF.net on page 37
Checking for updated Specifications
If you have subscribed to one or more Specifications on CertifiedPDF.net, you can have
PitStop Professional automatically check for updates. You will then be notified of changes to one or more of these Specifications and can be sure that you are using the latest versions. You can also specify the interval at which this check has to be done.
The status of a Specification you subscribed to is displayed in PitStop Professional through the CertifiedPDF.net button in the Adobe Acrobat Toolbar. The button changes color depending on the status:
CertifiedPDF.net
button color
Status Meaning
Up-to-date
Unregistered
All the Specifications you have subscribed to on CertifiedPDF.net are confirmed and haven’t changed since the last time you installed the files of these Specifications.
You have not registered on CertifiedPDF.net yet. Make sure you have a CertifiedPDF.net account and then choose Edit >
Preferences > Enfocus Certified PDF Preferences >
CertifiedPDF.net and fill in your CertifiedPDF.net User Name and Password.
Not confirmed There are Specifications on CertifiedPDF.net to which you have subscribed but which have been changed in the mean time.
Go to CertifiedPDF.net and read the change note. If necessary, install the updated files and documentation of the Specification and click Confirm in the Actions column.
pitstop.book Page 131 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
To set the updating preference options
1
Choose Edit > Preferences > Enfocus Certified PDF and click the CertifiedPDF.net category.
2
Fill in your User Name and Password.
Your user name is the e-mail address you used when you registered on
CertifiedPDF.net.
3
4
Select the interval at which you wish to check for updated Specifications.
Click OK.
See also:
• Preferences > Enfocus Certified PDF Preferences > CertifiedPDF.net on page 37
To check the status of your CertifiedPDF.net account
• Click the CertifiedPDF.net button .
PitStop Professional checks whether your CertifiedPDF.net account is up-to-date.
131
pitstop.book Page 132 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
132
pitstop.book Page 133 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Chapter 6
pitstop.book Page 134 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
pitstop.book Page 135 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
135
Chapter 6:
Preflighting and checking PDF documents
Topics
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
In this chapter:
• What is preflighting? 136
Properties of PDF documents 138
Problem reporting 139
Creating or editing a PDF Profile 140
Adding Action Lists to PDF Profiles 142
Locking a PDF Profile 143
Running a preflight check 144
Automating preflighting 145
pitstop.book Page 136 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
136
What is preflighting?
Preflighting defined
Preflighting is a term derived from the airline industry. The pilot has the responsibility to determine the airworthiness of the aircraft before take-off. This means that he or she has to perform a number of checks prior to each flight.
Preflighting PDF documents basically means the same thing: the “pilot in command”, i.e. the person who creates or processes a PDF document, has to make sure that the document is “airworthy”, or rather, “
outputworthy
”, before sending it for output.
“Outputworthy” means that the PDF document is “fit for use”, for example:
• That a PDF document to be printed on a four-color printing press contains only
CMYK images and that all the necessary fonts are included
That a PDF document intended for online viewing contains only RGB images •
Moreover, properties of a PDF document which do not meet the requirements of the preflight check can be reported as a “problem” and fixed in the same process.
PDF Profiles
•
•
To preflight PDF documents, you use PDF Profiles. A PDF Profile is a collection of criteria which a PDF document should meet to be outputworthy. For each criterion, you can specify:
If it should be checked or not
How it should be listed in the preflight report, i.e. “Warning” or “Error” if a deviating property is detected in the PDF document
Moreover, some criteria allow you to specify how detected problems, if any, should be fixed.
An example of a criterion is RGB colors. If you do not want RGB colors in your PDF documents, you can check this and have all RGB colors converted to CMYK.
pitstop.book Page 137 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
137
Preflighting mechanism
How exactly does preflighting work in PitStop Professional? The typical stages in a preflight check are the following:
Designer / Creator
1
6
Automated correction
PDF document
3
Preflight check
PDF Profile
5
Interactive
PDF editing
4
Preflight report
7 Hand-off of PDF document to service provider
Service provider
Verified PDF document
8
Final output
Press
Online viewing
PDF Profile
2
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
Open the PDF document which has to be checked.
Create a new PDF Profile or select an existing one.
Have PitStop Professional check your PDF document against the PDF Profile and automatically fix a number of detected problems.
PitStop Professional generates a preflight report.
If necessary, interactively resolve detected problems which were not fixed automatically in the PDF document.
If necessary, use Action Lists to perform a number of (advanced) automated corrections in the
PDF document.
Hand off the verified PDF document to your service provider.
The service provider receives an output-ready
PDF document and takes it to the final output stage, for example, for print, press or online viewing.
CD-ROM publishing
Typical preflight workflow with PitStop Professional
pitstop.book Page 138 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
138
Properties of PDF documents
Categories of properties
The Enfocus PDF Profile Editor gives you access to, and control over, a large number of properties in PDF documents. These properties have been subdivided into a number of categories and are represented as such in the Enfocus PDF Profile Editor.
A preflight check verifies and fixes these properties of a PDF document. Categories of these properties are, for example:
•
•
•
•
The document’s digital format
Security
Pages
Fonts
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
Color
Images
OPI
Text
Line art
Transparency
Annotations
Metadata
PDF/X
pitstop.book Page 139 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
139
Problem reporting
Problem severity levels defined
If any of the properties in a PDF document does not comply with the settings as specified in the PDF Profile, it will be logged in the preflight report and in the Enfocus Navi-
gator. You can select how these deviations should be reported:
• As “Warning”
• As “Error”
These two labels indicate severity levels of the detected “problem”. If a property does not comply, you can define how severe the detected problem is:
•
•
You can label deviating properties as “
Warning
” if it is not a real problem in the strict sense of the word, but just something you would like to be informed about.
You can label deviating properties as “
Error
” if you really want them to be as specified in the PDF Profile before you send them to output.
Problem severity levels: example
Suppose that some of the PDF documents you work with contain RGB colors. First, you want to print them on a composite output device, such as a laser printer, for proofing purposes. In that case, RGB colors are not really a problem. However, you would like to know which PDF documents contain objects in RGB color, because at a later stage, you might want to print these documents on an offset press. You could then use two different PDF Profiles to preflight these PDF documents:
•
•
A PDF Profile for the laser printer, which reports RGB colors as “
Warning
”
A PDF Profile for the offset press, which reports RGB colors as “
Error
”
Process results and labeled properties: previous versions
Previous versions of Action Lists or PDF Profiles may use different labels for deviating properties. The terminology of these labels has been made more consistent in the current version of PitStop Professional. The table below gives an overview of how the labels have been changed.
Profile
Previous versions Current version
Preflight profile option Appearance in report Report as...
Appearance in report
Caution
Enforce
Caution
Error
Warning
Error
Warning
Error
Log as...
Action List Warning
Error
Appearance in report
Caution
Error
Log as...
Warning
Error
Appearance in report
Warning
Error
pitstop.book Page 140 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
140
Creating or editing a PDF Profile
Predefined PDF Profiles and PDF Profile templates
PitStop Professional comes with a number of predefined PDF Profiles and PDF Profile templates, including a template for an empty PDF Profile. A PDF Profile template is essentially the same as a PDF Profile. The only difference is that you see a list of PDF
Profile templates, not PDF Profiles, when you click Manage > New in the Action List and
PDF Profile Control Panel to create a new PDF Profile.
This gives you the following options to create a PDF Profile:
•
•
•
You can use the empty PDF Profile template to create a PDF Profile from scratch,
“empty” meaning that no check or fix has been specified yet.
You can create a new PDF Profile based on one of the predefined PDF Profile templates and change the settings of your choice.
You can edit a predefined PDF Profile.
See also:
• Editing a PDF Profile or creating a new PDF Profile on page 140
Editing a PDF Profile or creating a new PDF Profile
Creating a new PDF Profile or editing one are basically the same tasks. Even if you wish to create a new PDF Profile “from scratch”, you will always have a number of predefined PDF Profile templates available which came with the installation of PitStop
Professional. These PDF Profile templates cover the most common output media. You can create a generic PDF Profile based on a PDF Profile template first and fine-tune your settings of this profile later on.
When you edit a PDF Profile, you change some of the properties of that profile.
To edit or create a PDF Profile
1
Choose Window > Show Enfocus PDF Profile Panel.
2
Click Manage.
3
•
Do one of the following:
To create a new profile, click New. Select a PDF Profile template from the list and click OK.
• To edit an existing PDF Profile, select the PDF Profile from the list and click Edit.
The Enfocus PDF Profile Editor appears.
4
5
In the General category, check and, if necessary, change the PDF Profile Proper-
ties: Name, Author, Company and Description of the PDF Profile.
Click the Processing category.
pitstop.book Page 141 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
141
•
•
6
•
•
•
The Processing Properties relate to fixes which have to be made or not, and to the information that you would like to see in the preflight report. For example, you can choose to log fixes and include the following information pages in the preflight report:
Fonts
Images
•
•
•
•
Color
OPI
Page boxes
Output intent
Furthermore, you can enable or disable all fixes in the PDF Profile. Indeed, an Enfocus
PDF Profile can do more than just a preflight check of PDF documents: it can also fix detected problems. You can, however, also create a PDF Profile in which you specify a number of fixes and disable these fixes. You may want to do this if you just want to check PDF documents but not change them now, maybe later.
7
8
9
In the Processing category, select or specify the following:
If necessary, Disable and/or Log fixes.
The Pages to show in the preflight report.
The source and target ICC profiles for the respective color spaces.
Click a problem category in the list.
Select the Enable check box for this category.
Select one or more properties or potential problems to check.
The integrated Help at the bottom of the Enfocus PDF Profile Editor provides background information about each check or fix.
10
Specify how to fix the problem, if necessary.
11
Select how the detected problem should be listed in the preflight report: Warning or Error.
12
Repeat steps 7 through 11 for each potential problem you wish to check and fix.
13
Click OK.
•
•
•
•
•
•
See also:
• Adding Action Lists to PDF Profiles on page 142
Locking an Action List on page 156
Using and managing Action Lists and PDF Profiles on page 169
Removing an Action List or PDF Profile on page 172
Duplicating an Action List or PDF Profile on page 173
Importing an Action List or PDF Profile on page 174
Exporting an Action List or PDF Profile on page 175
pitstop.book Page 142 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
142
Adding Action Lists to PDF Profiles
About adding Action Lists to PDF Profiles
Before you perform a preflight check in your PDF document, you may want to edit your
PDF document first. And you may want to use Action Lists to perform a number of
Global Changes. For example, you may have a number of Action Lists to correct or change colors in your PDF document. Instead of running these Action Lists separately and then performing the preflight check, it may be a better idea to include these Action
Lists to your PDF Profile. You will then kill two birds with one stone:
•
•
The Action Lists in the PDF Profile will be run first.
The PDF Profile will check the selected properties of your PDF document and fix problems, if any.
To add Action Lists to a PDF Profile
1
Choose Window > Show Enfocus PDF Profile Panel.
2
Select a PDF Profile in the list and click Manage > Edit.
The Enfocus PDF Profile Editor appears.
3
4
Click the Action Lists category.
Select Enable Action Lists.
5
6
Click the button and select an Action List to check properties or fix problems.
If you add several Action Lists, use the and buttons to specify the order in which the Action Lists should be run.
Running two or more Action Lists in a different order may produce a different result. You may want to test this first.
7
Click OK.
•
•
See also:
• Automating tasks on page 149
•
About Action Lists on page 150
Action types on page 152
Using QuickRuns on page 181
pitstop.book Page 143 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
143
Locking a PDF Profile
About locking
•
•
You can secure your PDF Profile, or part of it, with a password to prevent others from changing its settings. This may be convenient when the PDF Profile is shared among multiple users. You can lock a PDF Profile with a password when you create the PDF
Profile or you can add a password afterwards.
The password can include:
• Uppercase and lowercase letters
Any character on the keyboard
Spaces
To lock a PDF Profile with a password
1
Choose Window > Show Enfocus PDF Profile Panel.
2
3
In the Action List and PDF Profile Control Panel, select a PDF Profile and click
Manage > Edit.
Click the Locking category in the Enfocus PDF Profile Editor.
4
Select a restriction level:
5
•
•
6
7
Restriction level
Not locked
Partially locked
Locked
Meaning
None of the settings of the PDF Profile will be locked. Anyone can change any setting.
Anything but checks and fixes can be changed.
Nothing can be changed. You can only select the PDF Profile and run it in your
PDF document.
If necessary, select the options:
Allow changing “Disable all fixes”. You find the option Disable all fixes in the
Processing category. Sometimes, people will want to use this option to check PDF documents without fixing any problems automatically. They may want to fix problems, if any, interactively using the Enfocus Navigator.
Allow changing other processing settings. You may want to allow other users to select different sections to include in the preflight report or to use different ICC profiles.
Fill in a password and confirm it.
Click Apply.
•
•
See also:
• Creating or editing a PDF Profile on page 140
Adding Action Lists to PDF Profiles on page 142
Locking an Action List on page 156
pitstop.book Page 144 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
144
Running a preflight check
Difference between a Certified and a regular preflight check
If you are going to run a preflight check on your PDF document, you can choose to perform a Certified PDF preflight or not ( regular preflight ).
Regular preflight
A regular preflight does not change the Certified PDF status of the PDF document:
If, at the time of preflighting,
The PDF document
The PDF document
is not is
a Certified PDF
a Certified PDF
Then
The PDF document will remain “unCertified”.
The PDF Profile embedded in the Certified PDF document will not be removed, even if you preflight the PDF document with a different PDF Profile in the Action List and
PDF Profile Control Panel.
Certified PDF preflight
A Certified PDF preflight checks and changes the Certified PDF status of the PDF document as follows:
If, at the time of preflighting,
The PDF document
The PDF document
is not is
a Certified PDF
a Certified PDF
Then
You will be asked whether you want to start a Certified PDF workflow for this PDF document.
The PDF document will already have a PDF Profile embedded. PitStop Professional will check whether the
PDF Profile you selected in the Action List and PDF
Profile Control Panel is the same as the embedded
PDF Profile:
• If the PDF Profiles match, the PDF document will be preflighted.
• If the PDF Profiles do not match, you will be asked whether you want use the PDF Profile you just selected in the Action List and PDF Profile Control
Panel instead of the embedded Certified PDF Profile.
See also:
• Checking the Certified PDF status of a PDF document on page 119
To run a preflight check
See To run an Action List or PDF Profile on page 170 .
pitstop.book Page 145 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
145
Automating preflighting
Enfocus PitStop Server
If you have a large number of PDF documents which you have to check against a specific
PDF Profile, you may have the need to automate this process.
PitStop Server offers automated preflighting of PDF documents. You can create
hot folders
in which you include a given PDF Profile and, if necessary, Action Lists (see also
Automating tasks on page 149 ). PitStop Server will then monitor a user-definable input folder at regular intervals and automatically check each PDF document which is put into this folder. Valid and invalid PDF documents will automatically be moved to a respective folder, together with a preflight report, if required.
More information about PitStop Server is available on our Web site: www.enfocus.com
.
pitstop.book Page 146 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
146
pitstop.book Page 147 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Chapter 7
pitstop.book Page 148 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
pitstop.book Page 149 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
149
Chapter 7:
Automating tasks
Topics
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
In this chapter:
• About Action Lists 150
Action types 152
Creating an Action List 153
Locking an Action List 156
Editing an Action List 157
Action Lists in practice 159
Example 1: Creating an Action List that changes the font properties of a PDF document 160
• Example 2: Creating an Action List that changes the page layout of a PDF document 163
Further automation 166
Further automation 166
pitstop.book Page 150 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
150
About Action Lists
Automating repetitive tasks
One of the main reasons for using PitStop Professional is editing PDF documents. For example, you can perform tasks such as changing text (or its formatting) or objects.
There may be sequences of tasks, however, which you have to do a number of times, either within a single PDF document or in multiple PDF documents. To simplify repetitious tasks, you can group a series of tasks into an Action List. Once you have created an
Action List, you can reuse it. PitStop Professional will automatically carry out the respective tasks in the defined sequence. Moreover, you can use these Action Lists in other Enfocus products as well:
•
•
•
In a PDF Queue in Enfocus Instant PDF
In a hot folder in Enfocus PitStop Server
In a Specification on CertifiedPDF.net
Example: changing the properties of line-art objects
For example, suppose you have a line-art object in several PDF documents. You want to change the following properties of this object in all of your PDF documents:
•
•
Fill colors of a number of areas in the object.
Lines in the object which are thinner than a given line weight.
Changing multiple properties of an object in multiple PDF documents.
pitstop.book Page 151 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
151
This job may consist of a number of sequential tasks. These individual tasks can be grouped into one Action List, which can then be applied to a range of pages in one or more PDF documents or to complete PDF documents.
Illustration Action
1
Select the fill color of an object.
2
Change the selected fill color of an object.
3
Select another fill color of the object.
4
Remove the selected fill color of the object.
5
Select lines of an object with a given line weight.
6
Change the selected line weight.
pitstop.book Page 152 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
152
Action types
About action types
•
•
•
Basically, when you create an Action List, you select something in the PDF document and you change it into something else. For example, you select the spot color
“Company Green” and change it into “Company Gray”.
However, an Action List can do more. It can consist of the following types of actions:
• Selections
Changes
Checks
Informs
Selections
Before you can change something in a PDF document, you evidently have to select it.
Anything which can be selected in a PDF document is listed in the Selections category, together with the logical operators “AND”, “NOT, “OR”.
Changes
•
•
•
•
•
•
The list of changes includes almost anything which professional PDF editing tools like
PitStop Professional can do, including:
Adding objects, or page numbers
Changing a wide variety of properties, including page boxes
Color conversions
Removing objects
Rotating and scaling page content
Font- and color-related changes
Checks
Action Lists do not necessarily have to change PDF documents. You can also create them to check various properties in PDF documents or detect specific objects or elements. For example, an Action List can check font-related properties or detect empty pages in a
PDF document.
Each “check” or “detect” action can be logged as “Warning” or “Error” in the report.
Informs
Action Lists can also gather information from PDF documents. This can be information about fonts, colors, OPI, etc. The corresponding chapters will be included in the report.
See also:
• Viewing and interpreting reports on page 180
pitstop.book Page 153 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
153
Creating an Action List
Ways to create an Action List
You can create an Action List in different ways:
•
•
“ From scratch ”, using the Enfocus Action List Editor. This means that you start from a “blank page” and add selections, changes and operators to your Action
List.
“ By recording ”, using the Start Recording button in the Enfocus Action List
Editor. This is a very intuitive way of creating an Action List: you open a PDF document, you perform a number of tasks and you record these tasks. As soon as you stop recording, the actions will be added to your Action List. Just fill in the general information of the Action List and it’s ready for use.
•
•
You can also make Global Changes in the entire PDF document and save these changes as Action Lists. The Enfocus Global Change dialog box has been equipped with a dedicated button (Save as Action List) for this purpose.
You can download examples from the Enfocus Action List Library on our Web site and adapt it to your needs. Go to www.enfocus.com
and search for Action
Lists
.
Once your Action List is ready, you can also add it to a PDF Profile.
See also:
• Making Global Changes in PDF documents on page 85
• Adding Action Lists to PDF Profiles on page 142
Guidelines for creating Action Lists
Basically, you create an Action List using the following steps:
1
Make one or more selections.
2
Specify operators (AND, NOT, OR) for your selections.
3
Specify the required changes for the selections.
Observe the following guidelines when creating Action Lists:
•
•
Changes only apply to selections. Therefore, make sure that you make the proper selections in your Action List first. If you have made no selections, some changes will be applied to everything in your PDF document (for example fonts) or changes will not be applied at all.
The operators (AND, NOT, OR) must not be entered
between
two or more selections, but
after
these selections (postfix notation). These operators apply to preceding selections.
pitstop.book Page 154 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
154
•
•
The operators (AND, NOT, OR) are
logical
operators, which means that they have to be used in a strictly logical way. For example, if you want to select the fonts
Times-Roman (Adobe Type 1)
and
Times New Roman (TrueType), you should not use the AND operator, but the OR operator (a font cannot be both Times-Roman and Times New Roman at the same time). You could use the AND operator, for example, to select all text in Times-Roman
and
the color of which is blue. Your
Action List would then look as follows:
Select Font Times-Roman
Select Fill Color (RGB: 100 % Blue)
AND
Change Font to Times-Bold
The OR and AND operators only apply to two preceding selections. Therefore, if you want to make more than two selections, you have to insert multiple operators at the appropriate places in the “stack” of selections. For example, if you want to select the fonts Times-Roman (Adobe Type 1), Times New Roman (TrueType) and their bold variants, your Action List should look as follows:
•
Select Font Times-Roman
Select Font Times-Bold
OR
Select Font Times New Roman
OR
Select Font Times New Roman, Bold
The NOT operator applies only to the preceding selection and can be used to exclude something from a selection. Unlike the OR and AND operators, the NOT operator only requires one selection. For example, if you want to change all fonts but Times-Roman in a PDF document to Times-Bold, your Action List would look as follows:
Select Font Times-Roman
NOT
Change Font to Times-Bold
In the above example, the Action List will change all fonts in the PDF document to
Times-Bold, but leave Times-Roman (regular) unchanged.
To create an Action List from scratch
1
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Action List Panel.
2
Click Manage > New.
The Enfocus Action List Editor appears.
3
Fill in the General Information of the Action List: the Action List name, your name and company and a description of the Action List.
pitstop.book Page 155 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
155
•
•
6
7
8
9
4
5
•
Click the button to add actions to your Action List.
Do any of the following to quickly find the actions you need:
Click the buttons of one of the action types: Selections, Changes, Checks or
Informs.
You can hold down the CONTROL (CTRL) key (Windows) or Command ( ) key
(Macintosh) and click multiple action types, for example to see the actions of
Selections and Changes.
Click a specific category, for example Page, Image or Text, to see the actions organized per category.
Click the category All to see all Global Changes and type a keyword, or part of a keyword, in the Filter box to see the relevant actions only. For example, type scal
to see the actions which relate to scaling.
Select an action and click Add.
In the Enfocus Action List Editor, set or specify the attributes of the action.
You can click the button at the bottom of the Enfocus Action List Editor to see the integrated Help: it provides background information about each attribute.
Repeat steps 4 to 7 to add the actions of your choice.
Click OK.
To create an Action List by recording
1
Open a (sample) PDF document in which you will do the actions you wish to record.
2
3
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Action List Panel.
Click Manage > New.
The Enfocus Action List Editor appears.
4
Fill in the General Information of the Action List: the Action List name, your name and company and a description of the Action List.
Click the Start Recording button .
5
The Start Recording button appears dimmed and the Stop Recording button becomes available. From now on, all actions you perform using the PitStop Professional tools will be recorded.
Make sure that you only use PitStop Professional tools and commands to perform actions. All operations you do using Adobe Acrobat tools or other plug-ins will not be recorded.
6
7
8
Choose the commands, and perform the actions you want to record.
To stop recording, click the Stop Recording button .
Click OK.
pitstop.book Page 156 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
156
Locking an Action List
About locking
•
•
You can secure your Action List with a password to prevent others from changing it. This may be convenient when the Action List is shared among multiple users. You can lock an Action List with a password when you create the Action List or you can add a password afterwards.
The password can include:
• Uppercase and lowercase letters
Any character on the keyboard
Spaces
To lock an Action List with a password
1
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Action List Panel.
2
Select an Action List and click Manage > Edit.
3
Click Locking Information.
4
Click Lock with Password.
5
•
Select whether you want to allow:
To run the Action List and view the actions in the Action List. You, and other users, will then be able to see but not change the individual actions and their respective attributes in the Action List. Allowing users to view the actions in an Action List is useful to give them a precise idea of what the Action List will do.
• To run the Action List only. Users will not be able to see or change the actions in the Action List when they click Manage > Edit. They will have to fill in the password first to unlock the Action List.
6
7
Fill in a password and confirm it.
Click OK.
See also:
• Locking a PDF Profile on page 143
pitstop.book Page 157 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
157
Editing an Action List
About editing an Action List
You can edit an Action List to change any of the following:
• The general information of the Action List, for example the name or description of the Action List
•
•
•
•
The locking information and restriction levels of an Action List
Add selections, changes and operators to the Action List
The order of the actions in the list
The attributes of a selection or a change
If you edit an Action List which you have added to a PDF Profile, make sure you replace it in the PDF Profile as well.
To edit an Action List
1
2
•
•
•
•
3
4
•
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Action List Panel.
In the Action List and PDF Profile Control Panel, select the Action List you wish to edit.
Click the Manage > Edit.
Do any of the following:
To change the name or description of the Action List, click the General Informa-
tion section, and then make the necessary changes.
To lock or unlock the Action List or change its restriction levels, click the Locking
Information section.
To add actions, click the button. Select the actions of your choice, click Add, and then set or specify their attributes.
You can click the button at the bottom of the Enfocus Action List Editor to see the integrated Help: it provides background information about each attribute.
To remove an action, select it and click the button.
To change the order of the actions in the list, select the respective action and click the Up button.
Running two or more Action Lists in a different order may produce a different result. You may want to test this first.
pitstop.book Page 158 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
158
• To change the attributes of an action, select the action and change its attributes in the right-hand pane.
If you want to change the attributes of multiple actions, do not click OK after you have made a change to an action. When you have changed the attributes of an action, just select another action to change. The changes you made will be applied as soon as you select another action. If you click OK, the Enfocus Action
List Editor will close and you will return to the Action List and PDF Profile Control
Panel.
Click OK.
5
•
•
See also:
• Creating an Action List on page 153
Locking an Action List on page 156
Adding Action Lists to PDF Profiles on page 142
pitstop.book Page 159 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
159
Action Lists in practice
Examples of Action Lists
Let’s look at a couple of examples of how Action Lists work in practice. The purpose of these examples is to illustrate which selections to make, which operators to use and which changes to apply. The examples are the following:
• Example 1: Creating an Action List that changes the font properties of a PDF document
Example 2: Creating an Action List that changes the page layout of a PDF document •
The examples aim to show the PDF documents before and after the Action Lists have been applied and the necessary selections and changes to obtain the required result. To be able to create these sample Action Lists, you should know how to add the necessary selections, changes and operators. For a step-by-step description of how to create an
Action List, see Creating an Action List on page 153 .
pitstop.book Page 160 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
160
Example 1: Creating an Action List that changes the font properties of a
PDF document
Given: PDF documents with main titles in a given font
Suppose you have a number of PDF documents and the main title in each of them has the following font properties:
Property
Font name
Font size
Font style
Font type
Fill color
Stroke
Value
Verdana
15 pt
Bold
TrueType
RGB: 0 % Red, 0 % Green, 0 % Blue
Off
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet
Proin luctus bibendum nisl
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit. Praesent vel elit. Quisque in odio. Ut et arcu. Phasellus non nibh. Ut a pede nec lectus tincidunt cursus. Donec sit amet lacus quis ipsum
You know that the font Verdana is used for the main title only. It is not used anywhere else in the document.
You can check these properties using the
Enfocus Inspector
. For more information, see Changing the font properties of text on page 244 .
For all of these PDF documents, you want to create an Action List that changes the font properties of this main title as follows:
Property
Font name
Font size
Font style
Font type
Fill color
Value
Helvetica-Bold
16 pt
Bold
Adobe Type 1
CMYK: 0% cyan, 100% magenta, 100% yellow, 0% black
pitstop.book Page 161 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
161
Property
Stroke
Value
On: stroke weight 0.5 pt; color: Black (100 % K)
Proin luctus bibendum nisl
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit. Praesent vel elit. Quisque in odio. Ut et arcu. Phasellus non nibh. Ut a pede nec lectus tincidunt cursus. Donec sit amet lacus quis ipsum
To create an Action List that changes the font properties of a PDF document
1
Using the Enfocus Action List Editor, create an Action List that looks as follows:
Select Font Verdana, Bold
Change Font to Helvetica-Bold
Change Fill to On and Stroke to On
Select Font Helvetica-Bold
Select if Line Weight is > 0.3 pt
AND
Change Fill Color
2
In the Action List and PDF Profile Control Panel, select the respective Action List and click Run.
PitStop Professional will apply the Action List in the following steps:
Step Action
1
Select font Verdana, Bold
2
Change font to Helvetica-Bold
3
Change Fill to On and Stroke to On
4
Select font Helvetica-Bold
5
Select if Line Weight is > 0.3 pt
6
AND
pitstop.book Page 162 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
162
Step Action
7
This AND operator relates to steps 4 and 5.
Change fill color
pitstop.book Page 163 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
163
Example 2: Creating an Action List that changes the page layout of a PDF document
Given: PDF documents of booklets with creep
Suppose you have PDF documents of booklets that are almost press-ready. The pages are to be printed double-sided, folded and trimmed. You want to make sure that the page numbers, which are close to the edge of the page, do not get trimmed off. Indeed, when pages are folded for saddle-stitch binding, the printed area slightly moves outward. This is known as
creep
in the publishing world. The more pages in a booklet, the larger the shift of the area of the inner pages will be.
Creep moves the printed area of the inner pages outwards, which may cause page numbers near the outer edges of the pages to be trimmed off.
To compensate for this creep, you can create an Action List that does the following:
• Shift the printed area of the left-hand (even-numbered) pages 5 mm to the right.
•
•
Shift the printed area of the right-hand (odd-numbered) pages 5 mm to the left
(closer to the binding).
Leave the first page unchanged (for example because this page is not numbered).
A B C
Changing the page layout: move the printed area of the inner pages (
B
and
C
) towards the binding to compensate for creep, but leave the first page (
A
) unchanged.
pitstop.book Page 164 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
164
To create an Action List that changes the page layout of a PDF document
1
Using the Enfocus Action List Editor, create an Action List that looks as follows:
Select odd pages
Select objects inside region (Attributes: Use Trim Box. Select objects inside region)
AND
Select first page
NOT
AND
Move page content
(horizontal: 5.0 mm, vertical: 0.0 mm)
Select even pages
Select objects inside region (Attributes: Use Trim Box. Select objects inside region)
AND
Move page content
(horizontal: – 5.0 mm, vertical: 0.0 mm)
2
•
•
•
•
Click the Fit Page to see:
The trim size button to view the pages on the complete media size and
The page’s trim marks, if any
The page’s registration marks, if any
The page’s bleed, if any
•
3
Color control strips, if any
In the Action List and PDF Profile Control Panel, select the respective Action List and click Run.
PitStop Professional will apply the Action List in the following steps:
3
4
5
Step Action
1
Select odd pages
2
Select objects inside region
In the Attributes pane, specify: Use Trim Box. Select objects inside region.
For more information about page boxes, see Viewing page boxes .
6
AND
Select first page
NOT
You use the operator NOT to exclude the first page from your selection, because it should remain unchanged.
AND
You use the operator AND at this point to combine the selections of steps 1 and 2 with the exclusion of step 4.
pitstop.book Page 165 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
165
8
9
Step Action
7
Move page content 5.0 mm horizontally
This change moves the page content 5 mm to the left.
10
11
Select even pages
Select objects inside region
In the Attributes pane, specify: Use Trim Box. Select objects inside region.
AND
Move page content – 5.0 mm horizontally
This change moves the page content 5 mm to the right.
pitstop.book Page 166 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
166
Further automation
Enfocus PitStop Server
As explained in the introduction to this chapter, you can use Action Lists to automate repetitious tasks. You can group these tasks into an Action List and apply this Action List to one or more PDF documents.
But, if you have a large number of PDF documents to which you want to apply the same
Action List(s), you may feel the need for further automation. Indeed, you would repeatedly have to:
•
•
Open each individual PDF document
Execute one or more Action Lists
• Close and save the PDF document
This task in itself may become repetitious and may thus be eligible for automation.
PitStop Server offers further automation of PDF processing tasks. It is a standalone application which you can use to create so-called
hot folders
. In these hot folders, you can include one or more Action Lists, and, if necessary, even a PDF Profile. These Action
Lists and profiles will be executed automatically upon arrival of PDF documents in a user-definable input folder.
Enfocus PitStop Automate
PitStop Automate allows design studios, ad agencies, printers and publishers to increase productivity and output consistency by introducing advanced automation at an affordable price. Built to streamline graphic arts processes, PitStop Automate extends the power of Enfocus’ automation-enabling technologies such as PDF preflight & editing and the award-winning Certified PDF. On top of all that power lays an intuitive graphical user interface, making it straightforward to translate your complex production requirements into a complete automation workflow design.
A natural upgrade from PitStop Server, PitStop Automate goes beyond PDF preflight and editing. The application closely integrates with Acrobat Distiller and features file sorting and conditional workflows based on file type, size and other file or document properties.
PitStop Automate combines powerful internal capabilities while at the same time controlling third party applications, forming the glue between the different steps in your production process. Any Hot-Folder-based application can be integrated through the Generic Application task. PitStop Automate will hand the job over to the applications and pick it up again after it has been processed. Another way of driving external applications is through Apple Script integration. Finally, third-party developers can use the PitStop Automate SDK plug into their solution into PitStop Automate.
See also:
• The Products section on www.enfocus.com
pitstop.book Page 167 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Chapter 8
pitstop.book Page 168 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
pitstop.book Page 169 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
169
Chapter 8:
Using and managing Action Lists and PDF Profiles
Topics
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
In this chapter:
• Running an Action List or PDF Profile 170
Managing Action Lists and PDF Profiles 171
Removing an Action List or PDF Profile 172
Duplicating an Action List or PDF Profile 173
Importing an Action List or PDF Profile 174
Exporting an Action List or PDF Profile 175
Organizing Action Lists or PDF Profiles in categories 176
Using the Enfocus Navigator 177
Viewing and interpreting reports 180
Using QuickRuns 181
Automating preflighting 184
pitstop.book Page 170 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
170
Running an Action List or PDF Profile
About running an Action List
When you run an Action List, the actions will be applied to your PDF document in the order in which they appear in the list. You can run an Action List on:
•
•
The current page
A range of pages
• A complete PDF document
When the Action List has finished, a report or the Enfocus Navigator may appear, depending on your Enfocus PitStop Preferences. You can use the Enfocus Navigator to see what exactly has been changed. This report lists the checks and informs which you may have specified when you created the Action List.
•
•
See also:
• Using the Enfocus Navigator on page 177
Viewing and interpreting reports on page 180
Automating preflighting on page 184
About running a PDF Profile
See Difference between a Certified and a regular preflight check on page 144 .
To run an Action List or PDF Profile
1
Open a PDF document.
2
If necessary, select one or more objects on which you want to run an Action List or
PDF Profile.
3
4
5
Choose Window > Show Enfocus PDF Profile Panel.
button, and select a PDF Profile or
Action List.
Specify the page range in which you want to run the Action List or PDF Profile or click Selection.
6
7
Click Run.
Use the Enfocus Navigator to browse through the results and view the report.
See also:
• Using the Enfocus Navigator on page 177
• Viewing and interpreting reports on page 180
pitstop.book Page 171 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
Managing Action Lists and PDF Profiles
About managing Action Lists and PDF Profiles
Besides creating and editing Action Lists and PDF Profiles, you can also manage them.
This can mean:
•
•
Removing an Action List or PDF Profile
Duplicating an Action List or PDF Profile
•
•
•
Importing an Action List or PDF Profile
Exporting an Action List or PDF Profile
Organizing Action Lists or PDF Profiles in categories
•
•
See also:
• Creating or editing a PDF Profile on page 140
•
Locking a PDF Profile on page 143
Creating an Action List on page 153
Locking an Action List on page 156
171
pitstop.book Page 172 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
172
Removing an Action List or PDF Profile
About removing an Action List or PDF Profile
If you remove an Action List or a PDF Profile, it will no longer appear in the Action List
and PDF Profile Control Panel. The corresponding file will also be removed from your hard disk.
To remove an Action List or PDF Profile
1
Choose Window > Show Enfocus PDF Profile Panel.
2
file or Action List which you wish to remove.
button, and then select the PDF Pro-
You are now about to remove a PDF Profile or Action List from your database. The file will also be physically removed from your hard disk. Make sure that you do not need this PDF Profile or Action List anymore, because removing it cannot be undone.
3
Click Manage > Remove.
4
Click OK.
The selected PDF Profile or Action List is removed from the list and deleted from your hard disk.
pitstop.book Page 173 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
173
Duplicating an Action List or PDF Profile
About duplicating an Action List or PDF Profile
Duplicating a PDF Profile or Action List means that you create a copy of the PDF Profile or
Action List. You may want to do this to create a new PDF Profile or Action List based on an existing one. For example, if you have a PDF Profile for a four-color press and you need a new PDF Profile with slightly different settings, you can duplicate the four-color press PDF Profile, rename the copy and change the required properties.
To duplicate an Action List or PDF Profile
1
Choose Window > Show Enfocus PDF Profile Panel.
2
button, and then select the PDF Profile or Action List which you wish to duplicate.
3
Click Manage > Duplicate.
PitStop Professional creates a copy of the selected PDF Profile with the same name as the original, preceded by “Copy of”. This copy will also appear in the list of PDF Profiles in the left pane of the Enfocus PDF Profile Control Panel. You may want to rename this
PDF Profile.
See also:
• Organizing Action Lists or PDF Profiles in categories on page 176
pitstop.book Page 174 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
174
Importing an Action List or PDF Profile
About importing an Action List or PDF Profile
You can import existing PDF Profiles or Action Lists to add them to the Action List and
PDF Profile Control Panel. Also previous versions of PDF Profiles or Action Lists can be imported and edited. Once they have been edited, however, they cannot be used by previous versions of PitStop Professional or other Enfocus products anymore.
See also:
• Creating or editing a PDF Profile on page 140
To import an Action List or PDF Profile
1
Choose Window > Show Enfocus PDF Profile Panel.
2
Click Manage > Import.
3
Select the PDF Profile or Action List to import.
4
Click Open.
The imported PDF Profile or Action List is added to the Action List and PDF Profile
Control Panel.
See also:
• Organizing Action Lists or PDF Profiles in categories on page 176
pitstop.book Page 175 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
175
Exporting an Action List or PDF Profile
About exporting an Action List or PDF Profile
Exporting a PDF Profile or an Action List means that you save it as a separate file. You may want to do this for a number of different reasons, for example:
•
•
To reuse this PDF Profile or Action List later on
To create a backup copy of the PDF Profile or Action List
•
•
To share the PDF Profile or Action List with other users
To send a PDF Profile or Action List to a service provider or any other recipient or supplier of PDF documents.
If you export a PDF Profile or Action List to be used by other people, it is recommended to secure its settings with a password.
•
•
See also:
• Working with Certified PDF documents on page 101
Locking a PDF Profile on page 143
Locking an Action List on page 156
To export an Action List or PDF Profile
1
Choose Window > Show Enfocus PDF Profile Panel.
2
button, and then select the PDF Pro-
3
file or Action List which you wish to export.
Click Manage > Export.
4
5
Specify file name and location of the PDF Profile (*.ppp) or Action List (*.eal).
Click Save.
pitstop.book Page 176 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
176
Organizing Action Lists or PDF Profiles in categories
To organize Action List or PDF Profiles in categories
You can organize your Action Lists or PDF Profiles in categories. For example, you can put your Action Lists or PDF Profiles in a category which you created specifically for a customer.
Proceed as follows:
1
Choose Window > Show Enfocus PDF Profile Panel.
5
•
•
2
3
Click Manage > New Category.
4
Type a name for the new category and click OK.
The new category is now displayed in the tree view.
To add Action Lists or PDF Profiles to this new category, do one of the following:
Drag an existing Action List or PDF Profile onto the category.
Create a new Action List or PDF Profile (Manage > New) while the category is selected in the tree view.
pitstop.book Page 177 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
177
Using the Enfocus Navigator
Navigating through errors, warnings, fixes and failures
When you run an Action List or PDF Profile in your PDF document, a number of properties of your PDF document will be checked and, if necessary, fixed. Of course, you want to know what the result of this check is and what exactly has been fixed or changed.
The Enfocus Navigator can help you with this. Depending on your Enfocus Preferences, it can appear right after you have run an Action List or PDF Profile. The Enfocus Navi-
gator:
• Lists Errors and Warnings of a preflight check
•
•
•
Lists Fixes which have been made automatically while running an Action List or
PDF Profile
Lists problems which could not be fixed (Failures)
•
•
Enables you to browse through and highlight changed or potentially problematic objects
Presents solutions to specific problems and ways to fix these problems interactively.
Enables you to view the preflight or action report
See also:
• Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Colors on page 28
• Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Processing on page 34
To use the Enfocus Navigator
1
Choose Window > Show Enfocus PDF Profile Panel, select a PDF Profile or Action
List and run it in your PDF document.
•
•
2
•
The Enfocus Navigator appears.
To expand the section of your choice, click the plus sign (+):
Results
•
Object Browser
Solutions
Report
pitstop.book Page 178 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
178
Results
You can click the plus sign (+) to expand the Errors, Warnings, Fixes or Failures categories. Click an error, warning, fix or failure to see more information and, if possible, see the problematic object highlighted.
Highlighted object: image from which the alternate image has been removed.
See also:
• Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Colors on page 28
Object Browser
You can use the Object Browser to view and highlight problems or potentially problematic objects one by one. You can click the or button to view the next or last object or problem, respectively. If necessary, you can also change the highlighting settings.
You may want to use the Object Browser in combination with the Enfocus Inspector to see more details about a particular problem or to correct the problem immediately.
For example, suppose you get an error saying that the resolution of three images in your PDF document is too high. You can proceed as follows:
1
Use the Object Browser to view and highlight the images in question.
2
3
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector or click the Show Inspector button
to display the Enfocus Inspector.
In the Enfocus Inspector, click the Image > Properties tab to see the actual resolution of the selected image.
4
5
Click the Resample tab and decrease the resolution of the images to the required value.
Click Restart Preflight in the Enfocus Navigator to update the list of errors, warnings and fixes.
pitstop.book Page 179 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
179
Solutions
There may be problems in the PDF document which were not fixed automatically by the
PDF Profile. You find the appropriate fix for most of these problems in the Solutions section, and you can select to fix all or individual problem objects.
For example, your PDF document may contain annotations, and these annotations are reported as a warning. You did not use a PDF Profile which removed all annotations because you want to keep some of them. You can then use the Object Browser to view and highlight the annotations in your PDF document and you can remove the annotations of your choice.
Report
You can view a detailed report of all the errors, warnings, fixes and failures. Select a report layout and click Show report.
See also:
• Viewing and interpreting reports on page 180
pitstop.book Page 180 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
180
Viewing and interpreting reports
Content of a report
You can run an Action List or PDF Profile to check and change your PDF document. If you do so, you can view a report of these actions. The report generated by PitStop Professional is also PDF document. It can include the following sections:
Section
Errors, Warnings & Fixes
General File Information
Font Information
Image Information
OPI Information
Color Information
Content
(potential) problems according to the selected PDF Profile and changes which have been made in the PDF document properties of the PDF document, such as PDF version, title, author, etc. and security information all fonts used in the PDF document, along with their attributes (type of font, embedded or subset, etc.) all images in the PDF document, along with additional information (for example physical and effective resolution, page, angle, custom color functions, etc.)
OPI usage in the PDF document all color spaces (RGB, CMYK, etc.) used in the PDF document, with additional information where required information about layers in PDF2Go documents PDF2Go Information
See also:
• Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Processing on page 34
• Editing PDF2Go documents on page 231
To view and interpret a report
1
Choose Window > Show Enfocus PDF Profile Panel, select a PDF Profile or Action
List and run it in your PDF document.
2
If the Enfocus Navigator appears, click the plus sign (+) to expand the Report section.
3
Select a report layout and click Show report.
The report appears and the errors, warnings and fixes are listed on the first page.
4
•
•
Using the Adobe Acrobat Hand Tool , do one of the following:
Click the magnifying glass next to an error, warning or fix to select and highlight the corresponding object in the PDF document. You may want to use the
Object Browser in combination with the Enfocus Inspector to see more details about a particular problem or to correct the problem immediately.
Click the information icon next to an error, warning or fix to see the Help topic. A dialog box may appear, asking you where you wish to view the Help topic
(Open Weblink). If so, select In Web Browser.
pitstop.book Page 181 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
181
Using QuickRuns
About QuickRuns
A QuickRun is a series of Action Lists and a PDF Profile grouped together as a single command. It is similar to a “sequence of macros” in other applications.
A QuickRun can include:
• Multiple Action Lists
• One PDF Profile
You can combine Action Lists and a PDF Profile in hot folders in Enfocus PitStop
Server.
When to use QuickRuns?
There may be situations where you need to run multiple Action Lists in a PDF document and then run a PDF Profile to preflight the PDF document. And you may need to do this repetitively: not just in a single PDF document, but several times or in several PDF documents. Instead of running the individual Action Lists and the PDF Profile sequentially, it is more efficient to collect these in a QuickRun.
To create a QuickRun
1
2
Click the Configure QuickRun button .
In the Configure QuickRun dialog box, click the button below the QuickRuns box.
A new QuickRun named <not defined> appears in the list of QuickRuns and a dedicated button appears in the QuickRuns toolbar.
3
Type a name for your QuickRun.
4
To add one or more Action Lists, click the button below the Run Action Lists box.
5
•
•
Do one of the following:
To add Action Lists from your Action List database, select From Database, and then select one or more Action Lists. You can select multiple Action Lists by holding down the CONTROL (CTRL) key (Windows) or Command (
) key (Macintosh).
To add an Action List from a hard disk or network drive, select From File, and then click Browse. Select the Action List file (*.eal) and click Open.
6
Click OK.
The Action Lists appear in the Run Action Lists box.
pitstop.book Page 182 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
182
7
to set the sequence in which the Action Lists will be run.
Check the sequence of the Action Lists carefully because running the same Action
Lists in a different order may produce a different outcome. You may want to test this first by running the Action Lists individually and check which sequence is correct.
9
•
8
•
If necessary, click the button to add a PDF Profile to the QuickRun.
Do one of the following:
To add a PDF Profile from your PDF Profile database, select From Database, and then select a PDF Profile.
To add a PDF Profile from a hard disk or network drive, select From File, and then click Browse. Select the PDF Profile file (*.ppp) and click Open.
10
Click OK.
11
If necessary, select Certified PDF Preflight to start a Certified PDF workflow for your
PDF documents.
12
Select the page range in which you want to use the QuickRun or click Selection.
13
If necessary, select Show results.
The results will be shown in the Enfocus Navigator or in a preflight report, depending on your Enfocus preferences.
14
Click OK.
See also:
• Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Processing on page 34
To use a QuickRun
1
2
Open a PDF document.
Click the button of your choice on the QuickRuns toolbar.
A.
Dedicated QuickRun button on the QuickRuns toolbar
When the QuickRun has finished, a report or the Enfocus Navigator may appear, depending on your Enfocus PitStop Preferences.
See also:
• Using the Enfocus Navigator on page 177
• Viewing and interpreting reports on page 180
pitstop.book Page 183 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
183
To manage your QuickRuns
You can change the order of your QuickRuns and remove QuickRuns which you no longer plan to use. Proceed as follows:
1
Click the Configure QuickRun button .
Select a QuickRun and do one of the following:
2
•
•
To remove a QuickRun, click the button.
To move it up or down in the list of QuickRuns, click the or button, respectively. Note that the dedicated button of the QuickRun which you moved will change as well in the QuickRuns toolbar. Rest your mouse pointer on the respective button to see its name in the ToolTip.
pitstop.book Page 184 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
184
Automating preflighting
•
•
If you have a large number of PDF documents which you have to check against a specific
PDF Profile, you may have the need to automate this process. You can do this with the following Enfocus products:
Enfocus PitStop Server
Enfocus PitStop Automate
For more information about these products, see the Products section on our Web site: www.enfocus.com
.
pitstop.book Page 185 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Chapter 9
pitstop.book Page 186 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
pitstop.book Page 187 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
187
Chapter 9:
Editing objects
Topics
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
In this chapter:
• About line art and pixel images 188
About paths, anchor points and direction points 191
Changing or removing the OPI information of objects 193
Changing the transparency of objects 194
Selecting objects 195
Hiding and showing selected objects 198
Changing the stacking order of objects 199
Replacing an object 200
Rotating an object 201
Scaling an object 203
Moving an object 206
Shearing an object 208
Transforming an object by specifying exact values 211
Creating new shapes 213
Creating a new path 214
Editing a path 215
Adding or removing an anchor point 217
Masking objects 219
Viewing the properties of a pixel image 220
Resampling pixel images 221
Compressing pixel images 223
Viewing statistics of selected objects 225
Viewing the halftone information of an object 226
Placing PDF documents in PDF documents 227
Editing forms 228
Editing PDF2Go documents 231
pitstop.book Page 188 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
188
About line art and pixel images
Categories of computer graphics
There are two main categories of computer graphics:
•
•
Line art
Pixel images
These types of graphics behave differently in PDF documents and you can manipulate each of these graphics differently. Understanding their different characteristics will help you understand their different behavior when working with PDF documents.
Line art
Line art is made up of mathematically defined curves and line segments called vectors.
These vectors describe graphics according to their geometric characteristics and as a series of lines in a x,y coordinate system of the lines’ origins and endings.
For example, a slanted line can be described as a line drawn from coordinate h0 to coordinate a8 with a specific line thickness and a specific angle of inclination.
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Draw line from
H0 to
A8 line thickness = 2
A vectorized representation of a slanted line.
You can edit line art by moving and resizing the entire graphic or the lines and segments that compose the graphic.
Line art is resolution independent: you can scale the graphic to any size or print it on any output device at any resolution without losing quality, detail or clarity.
pitstop.book Page 189 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
189
Line art is also known as
object-oriented
graphics or
vector
graphics.
3:1
Pixel images
24:1
Line art describes shapes according to its geometric characteristics and is resolution-independent.
Pixel images are formed by a rectangular grid (also known as a
bitmap
or
raster
) of small squares, known as
pixels
. Each pixel in a pixel image has a specific location and contains data that describes whether it is black, white or a specific color value.
For example, a slanted line of a pixel image is composed of a collection of pixels in a specific location, of which pixels A7 and A8 are black, B6 and B7 are black, etc.
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
1 = black A7 = 1
A8 = 1
B6 = 1
B7 = 1
C5 = 1
C6 = 1 etc.
A bitmap representation of a slanted line.
You can edit a pixel image by altering or manipulating pixels or groups of pixels. To do this, you need image editing software, such as Adobe Photoshop.
pitstop.book Page 190 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
190
Pixel images are resolution-dependent because the number of pixels that describe the graphic is fixed. Scaling a pixel image will not change the absolute number of pixels, but will change the number of pixels per square unit of measurement. Consequently, pixel images can appear jagged or lose detail if they are enlarged or printed at a higher resolution than they were created for. Pixel images are also called
raster
images.
3:1
Pixel images describe shapes in pixels.
24:1
pitstop.book Page 191 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
191
About paths, anchor points and direction points
Line-art elements
•
•
In the next sections, you will learn how you can create and edit line art. Line art consists of a number of typical elements and it is important to have a good understanding of what these elements are, before you start editing or creating line art. These elements are:
Paths
Anchor points
• Direction points
You will find a brief explanation of each of these elements below.
Paths
•
•
A
path
is any line or shape in a line-art object. A path can have any shape, including:
• A circle
A rectangle
A straight line
The individual elements that make up a path are called
segments
. Sometimes a path can be just one segment, but it can also consist of multiple segments.
A
B C
A path (
A
), made up of two segments (
B
and
C
)
pitstop.book Page 192 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
192
Anchor points
If you draw a line —or a segment— on a piece of paper, you start at a given point, i.e. where you put your pencil on the paper, and you stop at another point, where you remove the pencil from the paper. In line art, these points are called
anchor points
.
Logically, if you move these anchor points, you will change the path segment and perhaps the shape of the path.
A B C
Anchor points (
A
,
B
and
C
) define the beginning and the end of each segment.
Direction points
Curved segments have, beside their anchor points, two additional points of control, called
direction points
. These direction points are attached to the anchor points of a curved segment by means of direction lines. If you move any of these direction points, you will change the shape of the curve.
A B
Direction points give you control over the shape of curved segments
pitstop.book Page 193 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
193
Changing or removing the OPI information of objects
About OPI
If your PDF document contains objects with OPI (Open Prepress Interface) information, you can change or remove this information using the Enfocus Inspector.
To change or remove the OPI information of objects
1
Using the Select Objects tool
2
, choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector.
Select an object in your PDF document for which you want to change the OPI information.
3
4
•
Click Prepress > OPI to display the OPI information of the selected object.
Do one of the following:
•
To change the OPI information, put your cursor in the File name box, make the required changes and click Change. For example, you may wish to change the file name or path of the image.
Click Remove OPI Information.
pitstop.book Page 194 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
194
Changing the transparency of objects
You can make objects transparent or change their transparency settings. Furthermore, you can remove transparency from a selected object or from an entire page.
To change the transparency of objects
1
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector to display the Enfocus Inspector.
2
3
Click the Prepress > Transparency > Alpha tab.
Select the object of which you want to change the transparency.
4
•
•
•
Do any of the following:
To change the transparency, move the Alpha Stroke or Alpha Fill slider.
If you make text transparent, you may want to select the Text knockout option.
The inks of underlying objects, if any, will then be cut out on the other separations.
To change the way in which the colors of the transparent object on top blend with the colors of underlying objects, click the Blending tab and add the required blending modes. Select one or more blending modes in the Available list and click
Add or Replace to put them in the Selected list. The RIP will apply the blending modes in the order as they appear in the Selected list: If it cannot apply the blending mode which is on top of the list, it will try to apply the second one, and so on.
For more information about blending modes, visit the Adobe Web site
( www.adobe.com
) or refer to the Help or documentation of your design application (Adobe InDesign, QuarkXPress...).
To remove transparency
1
2
3
4
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector to display the Enfocus Inspector.
Click the Prepress > Transparency > Remove tab.
Go to the page which contains transparent objects and, if necessary, select the transparent object(s).
Click the respective button to remove transparency from the selected objects or the page.
You can also use an Action List or PDF Profile to remove transparency.
See also:
• Creating or editing a PDF Profile on page 140
• Creating an Action List on page 153
pitstop.book Page 195 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
195
Selecting objects
Object selection tools
To select an object in your PDF document, you can use one of the two selection tools:
• The Select Objects tool
• The Select Similar Objects tool
Selecting one specific object
The Select Objects tool works almost completely the same in preview mode and in wireframe view mode. The only difference is that, in wireframe view mode, you can only select line-art and vector images on their outlines.
B
A
A.
Selecting an object in preview mode can be done by clicking anywhere on the object.
B.
Selecting an object in wireframe view mode is possible only by clicking on the object’s outlines.
•
•
See also:
• Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > General selection handle on page 23
> Show center
•
•
Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > General > Change pointer over object on page 23
Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > General > Hold down ALT and drag to select objects on page 24
Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Colors
Viewing a PDF document in wireframe view on page 47
pitstop.book Page 196 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
196
To select an object
1
Using the Select Objects tool , click the object or drag a dotted rectangle, also called a
marquee
or
bounding outline
, around the object.
Dragging a marquee around the object to select the entire graphic.
•
•
•
If you select a line-art object or a pixel image you will see that the object’s outline is drawn on top of it, together with the anchor points (for line art). If you enabled the center selection handle in the PitStop Professional preferences, a point of origin on the center of the object’s bounding box will appear as well, as in the above graphic.
If you select text, you will see that an outline is drawn along its baseline with an extra anchor at the left of the text line. These anchors are not active; they cannot be used to resize the object. If you double-click a text segment, the entire logical text line is selected.
Clicking on a compound path selects only the segment of the path that was clicked upon. Double-clicking such a compound path selects the complete object.
A B
A.
Single click on a compound path.
B.
Double-clicking a compound path to select the complete object.
pitstop.book Page 197 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
197
• You can select an object that is masked by clicking on the (invisible) part of the object outside of the mask. The layering of objects is retained. This means that an overlaying invisible (masked) rectangle will be selected instead of an underlying visible object when clicked. The mask itself can be selected by clicking on its
(invisible) outline. If you move the cursor over an invisible mask, the pointer will be inverted. Double-clicking the mask selects the entire mask group. If you double-click a masked image, the first mask belonging to the image is selected.
See also:
• Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Tools on page 30
To select similar objects
The Select Similar Objects tool lets you select multiple objects on the same page which have the same attributes. This tool can be useful if you want to change objects in your PDF document which are similar.
1
2
3
Click the Select Similar Objects tool .
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector to display the Enfocus Inspector.
Select an object in your PDF document. This can be either a (part of a) graphic or a text segment.
4
The PitStop Inspector will change accordingly and display the relevant attributes of the selected object.
5
6
•
If necessary, deselect one or more properties to expand your selection.
Do one of the following to select similar objects:
•
Click the Select Similar Objects button.
Double-click the selected object.
All similar objects, i.e. objects with the same selected attributes, will be selected.
pitstop.book Page 198 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
198
Hiding and showing selected objects
Reasons for hiding objects
Once you have selected one or more objects, be it text or line-art or pixel images, you can hide the selection. You may wish to do this, for example, if you wish to edit objects which are difficult to select because they are in part or completely by other objects.
Hidden objects will not be visible in wireframe view.
You can hide one object at a time and make hidden objects all at once visible again.
See also:
• Viewing a PDF document in wireframe view on page 47 .
To hide selected objects
1
2
Using the Select Objects tool , select one or more objects.
Choose Edit > PitStop Hide Selection.
To make all hidden objects visible
Choose Edit > PitStop Show All.
pitstop.book Page 199 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
199
Changing the stacking order of objects
Stacked objects
Sometimes, your PDF document may contain objects which are placed on top of each other. If you wish to edit one of the underlying objects, you may have to bring this object to the front first, to be able to do so. For situations like this, PitStop Professional enables you to change the order in which the objects are stacked.
Changing the stacking order of objects: the red background of the top half of the page has been brought forward.
To change the stacking order of objects
1
Select the object which you want to bring forward or send backwards.
2
•
Choose Edit > PitStop Layer and select one of the options:
Bring Forward or Send Backward moves the selected object respectively one position upwards or downwards in the stack.
•
Bring to Front or Send to Back moves the selected object to the top or the bottom of the stack.
pitstop.book Page 200 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
200
Replacing an object
About replacing objects
PitStop Professional enables you to replace an object with another object in a single copy-and-paste action. The new object will automatically adopt exactly the same size and position as the object which it replaces. It will also adapt its proportions to the previous object. The result will be a “distorted” rectangular object.
A
A.
Copy an object
B C
B.
Select the object which is to be replaced
C.
Past the “new” object over the “old” one and resize in one single step
To replace an object
1
Using the Select Objects tool , select the “new” object, i.e. the object which you want to use to replace the another one.
2
Choose Edit > Copy.
3
Select the “old” object, i.e. the object which is to be replaced.
4
Choose Edit > Replace.
The copied object will replace the “old” object and will assume its exact size, proportions and position.
pitstop.book Page 201 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
201
Rotating an object
Rotation point of origin
If you rotate an object, it is important to know the position of the axis around which this object will rotate. This axis is indicated by the point of origin .
You can rotate an object in two ways:
• By dragging
• By specifying a rotation angle , in degrees, using the Enfocus Inspector
To rotate an object by dragging
1
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector to display the Enfocus Inspector.
2
Using the Select Objects tool , select the object which you want to rotate.
3
Click the Rotate Selection tool .
The Enfocus Inspector changes accordingly.
4
If necessary, change the Constrain Angle (for SHIFT-rotate) or the Cross Hair Color in the Preferences area of the Enfocus Inspector. You can change the Cross Hair
Color by clicking the color patch and selecting a different color.
In the Numeric Feedback area you can find exact information about the rotating action you are about to perform.
5
Click the selected object.
The object’s point of origin around which it will be rotated is indicated.
The point of origin is in the center of the selected object.
pitstop.book Page 202 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
202
6
•
Do one of the following:
To rotate the object around its center point, drag the selected object in a circular motion.
•
Rotating an object around its center point.
Double-click on another position to move the point of origin. Move the pointer away from the center point and drag in a circular motion to rotate the object around its new point of origin.
•
•
Rotating an object around its point of origin placed outside the object.
Hold down the SHIFT key while dragging to rotate the object in fixed angles. You can set this angle in the Preferences area of the Enfocus Inspector dialog box.
Hold down the ALT key (Windows) or Option key (Macintosh) while dragging to create a rotated copy of the selected object.
To rotate an object by specifying a rotation angle
See Transforming an object by specifying exact values on page 211 .
pitstop.book Page 203 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
203
Scaling an object
You can scale an object to enlarge or reduce it horizontally or vertically or in both directions simultaneously. You can also use the scale selection tool to change the shape of an object or to create a scaled copy of the selected object.
You can scale an object in two ways:
• By dragging
• By specifying a scaling factor using the Enfocus Inspector
See also:
• Transforming an object by specifying exact values on page 211 .
To scale an object by dragging
1
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector to display the Enfocus Inspector.
2
Using the Select Objects tool , select the object that you want to scale. Click the object or drag a dotted rectangle, called a marquee
, around the object.
Dragging a marquee around the object to select the entire graphic.
3
Click the Scale Selection tool .
The Enfocus Inspector changes accordingly.
4
If necessary, change the Cross Hair Color in the Preferences area of the Enfocus
Inspector.
In the Numeric Feedback area you can find exact information about the scaling action you are about to perform.
5
Click the selected object.
pitstop.book Page 204 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
204
The object’s point of origin towards which it will be scaled is indicated.
6
•
The point of origin is in the center of the selected object.
Do one of the following:
To scale the object disproportionally, drag the selected object into a random direction.
Scaling an object disproportionally changes the height-to-width ratio of the object.
pitstop.book Page 205 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
205
• Double-click on another position of the object to move the point of origin. Then drag to scale the object using the object’s new point of origin. For example, you may want to place the point of origin on one of the corners of a rectangular object, to keep two sides of the object at a fixed position when scaling.
•
•
Scaling an object towards a point of origin other than the object’s center point.
Hold down the SHIFT key while dragging to scale the object proportionally, i.e., to keep the height-to-width ratio of the scaled object identical to the original’s.
Hold down the ALT key (Windows) or Option key (Macintosh) while dragging to create a scaled copy of the selected object.
pitstop.book Page 206 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
206
Moving an object
•
•
You can select any object in a PDF document and move this object to a new location.
You can move an object in two ways:
By dragging
By specifying a given distance and direction using the Enfocus Inspector.
You can use magnetic guides to facilitate aligning objects which you move.
•
•
See also:
• Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > General when dragging selection on page 25
> Move objects
Using guides on page 78
Transforming an object by specifying exact values on page 211
To move an object or a copy of an object by dragging
1
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector to display the Enfocus Inspector.
2
Using the Select Objects tool , select the object which you want to move.
You can hold down the SHIFT key and click the left mouse button to select multiple objects.
3
4
Click the Move Selection tool or hold down the CONTROL (CTRL) key (Windows) or Command (
) key (Macintosh).
The pointer changes from into .
The Enfocus Inspector changes accordingly.
If necessary, change the Measurement Units in the Preferences area.
In the Numeric Feedback area you can find exact information about the move you are about to perform.
pitstop.book Page 207 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
5
•
Do one of the following:
Drag the selected object to a new location.
207
•
Moving the selected object to a new location by dragging.
Hold down the SHIFT key and drag the selected object confined to a horizontal or vertical direction.
•
Holding down the SHIFT key while dragging moves the object along a fixed vertical or horizontal axis.
Hold down the ALT key (Windows) or Option key (Macintosh) while dragging to create a copy of the object in the new location.
Holding down the ALT key (Windows) or Option key (Macintosh) while dragging the object creates a copy of the object in its new location.
pitstop.book Page 208 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
208
Shearing an object
About shearing
Shearing an object sets the object askew, very much like you would push any of the corners of a rectangular frame to turn it into a parallelogram.
Shearing a rectangular object turns it into a parallelogram
To shear an object
1
Using the Select Objects tool , select the object which you want to shear. Click the object or drag a dotted rectangle, called a marquee
, around the object.
Dragging a dotted rectangle around the object to select the entire graphic.
2
Click the Shear Selection tool .
pitstop.book Page 209 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
209
The object’s point of origin from which it will be sheared is indicated.
4
•
The point of origin is in the center of the selected object.
The Enfocus Inspector changes accordingly.
3
If necessary, change the Constrain Angle (for SHIFT-shear) or the Cross Hair Color in the Preferences area of the Enfocus Inspector.
In the Numeric Feedback area you can find exact information about the shearing action you are about to perform.
•
Do one of the following:
To shear the object while keeping the center point as the point of origin, drag the object into a random direction.
To move the point of origin, double-click on another position inside or outside the object. Then drag to shear the object using the object’s new point of origin.
For example, to create a parallelogram from a rectangular object, place the point of origin on any of the corners of the object.
Placing the point of origin on the corners of an object to create a parallelogram from a rectangular object.
pitstop.book Page 210 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
210
• Hold down the SHIFT key while dragging to limit the shear movement to a fixed angle of constraint, for example 15°. You can set this angle in the Preferences area of the Enfocus Inspector.
15˚
30˚
45˚
•
Shearing an object in fixed angles, as defined in the Preferences.
Hold down the ALT key (Windows) or Option key (Macintosh) while dragging to shear a copy of the selected object.
pitstop.book Page 211 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
211
Transforming an object by specifying exact values
•
•
•
•
If you want to transform an object more accurately than by dragging and using one of the transform tools Move , Rotate , Shear or Scale , you should use the Enfocus Inspector. The Enfocus Inspector allows you to transform any object in your
PDF document by specifying exact values.
Transforming an object can include one or more of the following actions:
• Moving
Scaling
Stretching
Flipping
Rotating
To transform an object by specifying exact values
1
2
Using the Select Objects tool , select the object that you want to transform.
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector to display the Enfocus Inspector.
3
4
•
Click the Position tab.
Do any of the following:
Move or scale the selected object by changing the values in the Position & Size area:
•
Box
Lower Left
Size
Upper Right
Meaning
distance between the lower left point of the object and the lower left corner of the page height and/or width distance between the upper right point of the object and the lower left corner of the page
Stretch or rotate the selected object by changing the values in the Aspect Ratio &
Angle area:
Box
Aspect Ratio
Angle
Value
> 1
< 1 positive negative
Result
stretched vertically (h > w) stretched horizontally (h < w) rotated clockwise rotated counterclockwise
pitstop.book Page 212 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
212
• Scale, rotate or flip the selected object by changing the values and clicking the buttons in the Numeric Transforms area:
To...
Scale an object
Rotate an object
Flip an object
Proceed as follows:
Do one of the following:
• Enter a value in the percentage box and click .
• Click to double or to halve the object’s size.
Do one of the following:
• Enter a value in the degrees box and click .
• Click or to rotate in 90° increments.
Do one of the following:
• Click to flip the object left or right
• Click to flip the object up or down.
pitstop.book Page 213 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
213
Creating new shapes
Drawing ellipses and rectangles
You can use PitStop Professional to edit existing objects, but also draw new basic shapes such as ellipses or rectangles. For example, you might want to draw a rectangle or an ellipse around a text fragment to highlight the text.
If you have to create several new shapes with identical fill and stroke properties, you may wish to set these properties as default first. See Preferences > Enfocus
PitStop Professional Preferences > New Objects on page 31 .
To create a new shape
1
•
•
2
•
Click the Create New Rectangle tool or the Create New Ellipse tool .
Position the pointer on a page of the PDF document and do one of the following:
To draw a new rectangle or ellipse, drag diagonally.
To draw a square or circle, hold down the SHIFT key while dragging.
To draw a rectangle or ellipse, starting from its center and not from its side, hold down the ALT key (Windows) or Option key (Macintosh) while dragging.
x y
A B
A.
Drawing from side keeps the sides of the shape in a fixed position along the x and y axis
B.
Drawing from center keeps the center point in a fixed position.
• To draw a square or circle, starting from its center, hold down both the SHIFT key and the ALT key (Windows) or Option key (Macintosh) while dragging.
pitstop.book Page 214 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
214
Creating a new path
You can create new paths from scratch in your PDF document, simply by selecting the
Create New Path tool
tool and clicking in the document. New anchor points and segments will be added upon each click. You can create an open or a closed path.
To create a new path
1
2
3
Click the Create New Path tool .
If necessary, choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector to display the Enfocus
Inspector.
Position the pointer in the PDF document where you want to create the first anchor point and click.
4
Position where you want the first segment to end and click again.
You have now drawn a segment between the two anchor points.
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet
Proin luctus bibendum nisl
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit. Praesent vel elit. Quisque in odio. Ut et arcu. Phasellus non nibh. Ut a pede nec lectus
•
•
6
•
A B
A.
First anchor point
C.
Center point
5
C D
B.
Segment
D.
Second anchor point and pointer
Click at other positions to add new anchor points and thus create additional segments.
To create a curved segment, click at a position, hold down the mouse button and drag.
To complete the path, do one of the following:
Click any tool other than the Create New Path tool
Press ESC.
Click Close Path in the Enfocus Inspector.
pitstop.book Page 215 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
215
Editing a path
PitStop Professional enables you to change the shape of a path of a line-art object. You can do this by selecting one or more anchor points of the path and moving these anchor points or their direction points.
See also:
• About paths, anchor points and direction points on page 191 .
To edit a path
1
2
Click the line-art object of which you want to edit a path.
The anchor points of the path become visible, but are not selected yet.
•
•
3
•
Anchor points are visible, but not yet selected.
Do one of the following:
Click a specific anchor point a second time.
Hold down the SHIFT key and click a number of anchor points a second time.
Drag a dotted rectangle (marquee) around one or more anchor points.
pitstop.book Page 216 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
216
The anchor points will be selected only if you click them a second time or if you drag a marquee around them. A selected anchor point will appear larger and its direction points will become visible.
A B
A.
Visible anchor points which are not selected
B.
Selected anchor points with their direction points and direction lines visible
4
Drag the anchor point or its direction point to the required position to change the shape of the segment.
Dragging a direction point to change the shape of a segment.
pitstop.book Page 217 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
217
Adding or removing an anchor point
Reasons for adding or removing anchor points
You can add anchor points to or remove anchor points from any path of a line-art object:
•
•
If you add anchor points , you will have more control over the shape of the path.
If you remove anchor points , you will make the path simpler and automatically change the shape of the path.
To add an anchor point
1
Click the Add Anchor Point tool .
Click the line-art object to which you want to add an anchor point.
2
3
Click at the position on a segment of the path where you want to add the anchor point.
New anchor points will be added to the segment upon each click.
A
Adding a new anchor point (
A
) to a path segment.
To remove an anchor point
1
2
3
Click the Remove Anchor Point tool .
Click the line-art object from which you want to remove an anchor point.
Click the anchor point that you want to remove.
pitstop.book Page 218 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
218
The respective anchor point will appear selected (and display its direction points, if any) and will then disappear. The shape of the path will then change.
Deleting an anchor point from a path segment changes the shape of the path.
pitstop.book Page 219 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
219
Masking objects
You can create a mask over one or more objects in your PDF document and release any existing mask.
To mask an object
1
Select at least one object in your PDF document and one line-art object or text segment to create the mask with.
Selecting two objects for masking.
2
Choose Edit > PitStop Mask > Make.
The outline of the top object is used to mask the objects underneath it.
Creating the mask with the top object.
pitstop.book Page 220 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
220
Viewing the properties of a pixel image
Pixel image properties
If you have pixel images in your PDF document, you can select them and view their properties, such as their size, resolution, compression and information about their color usage.
To view the properties of a pixel image
1
Using the Select Objects tool
2
, select a pixel image.
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector to display the Enfocus Inspector.
3
Click Image > Properties to view the properties of the selected pixel image.
pitstop.book Page 221 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
221
Resampling pixel images
About resampling
Resampling means changing the number of pixels and the pixel dimensions of an image. Thus, you change the (file) size but also the quality of an image, either in a positive or in a negative sense:
•
•
You can
downsample
an image, which reduces the size but also the quality of the image.
You
resample
an image
up
and increase the number of pixels. New pixels are added based on color values of existing pixels.
You can choose:
• To resample a single image
• To resample multiple images
Reasons for downsampling an image
You may wish to downsample an image for a number of reasons:
•
•
To increase the processing speed when editing or printing PDF documents containing pixel images.
To adjust the resolution of images (dpi) to their final output screen ruling, expressed in lines per inch (lpi).
• To publish your PDF documents on the Internet.
A good rule of thumb to specify the optimal resolution is the following:
screen ruling (for example 150 lpi) x 2 = image resolution (300 dpi)
Interpolation methods
•
•
•
•
•
Resampling, i.e. adding or deleting pixels, can be done in various ways, which are technically called interpolation methods. If you wish to resample an image, you will have to select one of the following interpolation methods:
Average Resampling
SubSampling
Bicubic Resampling
Bilinear Resampling
Bicubic B-Spline Resampling
Average Resampling
Average downsampling calculates the average of the pixels in a sample area. This average later substitutes the entire area with the average pixel color at the specified resolution.
pitstop.book Page 222 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
222
SubSampling
Subsampling means that a pixel in the center of the sample area becomes the reference point. The surrounding pixels take the value of that center pixel. In fact, the center pixel replaces the entire area at the specified resolution. Subsampling goes faster than downsampling but may result in images that are less smooth and continuous.
Bicubic Resampling
Bicubic resampling is a slow but more precise method, resulting in the smoothest tonal gradations. The value of the new pixels is calculated on the basis of a weighted average of the values of the corresponding group of pixels in the original image. Interpolation is done between 16 pixels in the original image with a slight sharpening effect.
Bilinear Resampling
Bilinear resampling is a medium-quality interpolation method which uses weighted interpolation between 4 pixels in the original image.
Bicubic B-Spline Resampling
B-Spline is a modified bicubic interpolation with more sharpening effects and is recommended for upsampling. Bicubic downsampling usually yields better results than the simple averaging method of downsampling.
To resample a single image
1
2
3
•
•
4
5
Using the Select Objects tool , select a pixel image.
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector, and then click the Image > Resample tab.
Do one of the following:
To downsample an image, select Resample above and specify the threshold resolution, in dpi. Only images with a resolution higher than or equal to this threshold resolution will be downsampled.
To resample an image up, click to clear the Resample above check box.
Select a resampling (interpolation) method and specify the resolution (dpi) to which the image should be resampled.
Click Apply.
To resample multiple images
See Making Global Changes in PDF documents on page 85
pitstop.book Page 223 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
223
Compressing pixel images
About compression
You can compress pixel images in your PDF document to reduce the size of your PDF file.
If you do so, you select a compression method and, if necessary, an ASCII filter .
Compression methods
You can select one of the following compression methods:
• JPEG compression
• ZIP compression
JPEG compression
The JPEG compression method is best suited for grayscale or color images. A typical example of an image for which JPEG compression is advised is a continuous-tone photograph. This type of image contains more information (more detail) than can be reproduced on screen or in print. Therefore, it makes sense to remove the information that cannot be displayed anyway. This can result in a loss of image quality, as the compression method removes information: it is called a lossy reduction method.
However, file sizes are greatly reduced by JPEG compression.
ZIP compression
ZIP compression will decrease the image size without losing information (lossless compression).
ASCII filters
•
•
When compressing images, you can select an ASCII filter to encode the image data in your PDF document as plain (ASCII) text. You may wish to use ASCII encoding if you need to transmit your PDF documents through channels where only ASCII characters are allowed. This may be required, for example, in some e-mail systems although most e-mail software in use today can properly handle non-ASCII documents. If ASCII encoding of the images in your PDF documents is necessary, you can select either one of the following ASCII filters:
ASCII Hex, which may double the image data size
ASCII 85, which will increase the image data size by approximately 25 %
To compress a single image
1
2
Using the Select Objects tool , select a pixel image.
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector, and then click the Image > Compress tab.
pitstop.book Page 224 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
224
3
Select a compression method: JPEG or ZIP.
4
If you selected JPEG compression, select a quality level.
The higher the quality level, the more detail in the image will be preserved but the larger the size of your PDF file will be.
5
6
If necessary, select an ASCII filter.
Click Apply.
pitstop.book Page 225 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
225
Viewing statistics of selected objects
About statistics
•
•
•
•
You can select one or more objects in your PDF document and view statistical information about these objects, such as:
The number of anchor points on a path
The number of characters on a text line
The number of bytes in an image
The number of shadings in an object
To view statistics of selected objects
1
Using the Select Objects tool
2
, select one or more objects.
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector.
3
Click the Statistics tab of the Enfocus Inspector to view the statistics of the selected paths, text segments and/or pixel images.
4
•
•
If necessary, change your selection in the Selection area:
Click Select All to select all objects on the page.
•
To select all the text on a text line, double-click the text line or click Expand
Selection. You may wish to do this if the text has been split in words or characters.
To select a complete line-art object which consists of compound paths, double-click one of its paths or click Expand Selection.
pitstop.book Page 226 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
226
Viewing the halftone information of an object
About halftone information
You can select an object in your PDF document and view its halftone information, such as:
•
•
Its halftone type and name
The transfer function
•
•
•
The halftone frequency and angle
Accurate screens used or not
The spot function
To view the halftone information of an object
1
Using the Select Objects tool
2
, select an object.
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector to display the Enfocus Inspector.
3
Click the Prepress > Halftone tab.
pitstop.book Page 227 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
227
Placing PDF documents in PDF documents
About placing PDF documents in PDF documents
You can place pages of PDF documents in another PDF document. You may wish to do this, for example, to do manual impositioning or to place multiple pages of one or more PDF documents “n-up” on one page of another PDF document.
Placed PDF documents become “forms” and you can manipulate them using the Edit
Form tool.
See also:
• Editing forms on page 228
To place a PDF document in a PDF document:
1
Open a PDF document or choose File > New to create a new blank PDF document.
2
Choose Edit > Enfocus Place PDF.
3
Click Browse and select the “source” PDF document.
The “source” PDF document is the one which you are going to place in your current PDF document.
4
5
If the PDF document has multiple pages, specify the page in the Use page box.
Select the page box of the source PDF document which you want to use.
6
7
•
Select the position of the Anchor point of the placed PDF.
Do one of the following to specify where you are going to place the PDF:
•
•
Using the Create New Rectangle tool or the Select Rectangular Area tool
, draw a rectangle on the page where you want to place the PDF, and then click Grab area from selection.
Using the Select Objects tool
Grab area from selection.
, select an object in your PDF document and click
Specify or correct the coordinates in the Place PDF dialog box.
8
9
If necessary, select the option Remove selected object(s). You may wish to do this, for example, if you had placeholders in your PDF document.
Select a scaling option and, if necessary, Lock aspect ratio to scale the page of the placed PDF proportionally.
10
Click OK.
pitstop.book Page 228 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
228
Editing forms
About forms
Forms are rectangular frames in your PDF document which contain objects, for example an image or a placed PDF. The way in which you edit these forms and the objects inside them is different from regular objects in your PDF document. For example, you can select a regular object and move it to a random position on the page in your PDF document. Objects in forms can only be moved inside the form and thus, you can use the form to crop the object.
To edit forms
3:1 3:1
24:1
A
A.
Object moved outside a regular rectangle.
B.
Object moved within a form: the object is cropped.
See also:
• Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Colors
• Placing PDF documents in PDF documents on page 227
24:1
B
Editing forms can mean:
• To edit individual objects inside a form
• To edit the form itself and/or the complete content of a form
pitstop.book Page 229 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
229
To edit individual objects inside a form
You may want to edit individual objects inside a form. For example, you may have placed a PDF document inside another PDF document, and then move objects or edit the text in the placed PDF. You can do this in the same way as if you are editing regular
PDF documents, for example:
•
•
Use the Select Objects tool to select individual objects or text segments in the form and use the Move Selection tool to move them inside the form, indicated by a yellow border.
tool to change the text in a form.
To edit the form itself and/or the complete content of a form
Using the Edit Form tool , do any of the following:
• Select the form or the content of the form as follows:
•
•
Click
Single-click
CTRL-click (Windows) or
-click (Macintosh)
To
Select the form only
Select the form and its content
ALT-click Select the complete content, but not the form itself
SHIFT+one of the above key combinations Select multiple forms and/or contents
To move the content within the form, click it, hold down the CONTROL (CTRL) key
(Windows) or Command (
) key (Macintosh) and drag it to the desired position.
To crop the content, click it, hold down the CONTROL (CTRL) key (Windows) or
Command ( ) key (Macintosh) and drag the content beyond the edges of the form. Alternatively, you can leave the content “as is” and resize the form.
3:1 3:1
24:1 24:1
A
A.
Cropping form content by dragging it beyond the edges of the form
B.
Cropping form content by resizing the form
•
B
To bring the content outside the form and put it on a different position on the page, cut and paste the content.
pitstop.book Page 230 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
230
Editing PDF2Go documents
Line-work (LW) and continuous-tone (CT) layers
PDF2Go documents consist of line-work (LW) and continuous-tone (CT) layers.
PitStop Professional allows you to change colors in the line-work layer of these PDF documents. For example, you might want to make the color of a selected area in a line-work layer match a specific color in the continuous-tone layer.
You can use any one of the two dedicated tools.
Dedicated PitStop Professional tools used to edit PDF2Go documents.
You can edit the continuous-tone (CT) layer via the regular Edit Image option in
Adobe Acrobat.
To edit PDF2Go documents
1
Open a PDF2Go document.
2
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector to display the Enfocus Inspector.
3
Click the Select Objects tool .
The cursor changes into an eyedropper .
pitstop.book Page 231 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
231
4
•
Click on a random position in the PDF document:
If you clicked on the LW layer, the Enfocus Inspector dialog box will display both the source and target color.
A B
Enfocus Inspector when clicked on the LW layer: source color (
A
) and target color (
B
) are displayed.
•
6
If you clicked on the CT layer, the Enfocus Inspector dialog box will display only the color of the current selection, meaning that you can only make color retouches in the LW layer of PDF2Go documents.
5
Click on the color you want to change in the line-work (LW) layer.
The selected (source) color will appear in the Selection area in the Enfocus Inspector.
Hold down the ALT key (Windows) or Option key (Macintosh) and click on a target color, i.e. a color into which you want to change the selected color.
9
•
You can click on a color of a CT or a LW layer. The selected target color appears in the
Replace with area of Enfocus Inspector.
7
If necessary, change the target color by moving the sliders.
8
Select an Overprint setting.
Do one of the following:
•
To replace the source color with the target color in the entire document, click
Replace in Document.
To replace the source color with the target color on the current page only, click
Replace on Page.
pitstop.book Page 232 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
232
• To replace the source color with the target color in a specific area, zoom in on the
onal Area
tool. Then click Replace in Area.
See also:
• Overprint and knockout on page 283
pitstop.book Page 233 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
233
pitstop.book Page 234 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
234
pitstop.book Page 233 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Chapter 10
pitstop.book Page 234 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
pitstop.book Page 235 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
235
Chapter 10:
Editing text
Topics
•
•
•
•
•
•
In this chapter:
• Selecting text 236
Editing a single text line 240
Editing a text paragraph 241
Editing vertical text 243
Changing the font properties of text 244
Converting text to outlines 245
Splitting text segments 247
pitstop.book Page 236 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
236
Selecting text
Text or text segments?
•
•
There are several PitStop Professional tools which you can use to select text or a text segment in your PDF document. A text segment can be:
•
A line of text
A word
A single character
A
B
C
Text segments: a line (A), a word (
B
) and single characters (
C
).
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
The way in which you select the text or a text segment often depends on what you want to do with the selected text. You will typically:
Select text if you want to change the text itself
Select a text segment if you want to move the text segment on the page or change the font properties (font size, font family, font style, word or character spacing)
You may want:
To select a single text segment
To select multiple adjacent text segments
To select multiple nonadjacent text segments
To select text segments with similar properties
To select text on a single text line
To select text on multiple lines in a paragraph
pitstop.book Page 237 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
237
To select a single text segment
Using the Select Objects tool , click on the text which you wish to change.
A text line may already be split into words or characters. To select the entire text line, do one of the following:
•
•
Double-click the text.
Drag and select the entire text line.
Dragging to select an text line which has been split into characters
To select multiple adjacent text segments
Using the Select Objects tool , drag to select multiple adjacent text segments.
Dragging to select multiple adjacent text segments
To select multiple nonadjacent text segments
1
2
Using the Select Objects tool , select a single text segment.
Press and hold down the SHIFT key and select other text segments.
Selecting nonadjacent text segments
pitstop.book Page 238 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
238
To select text segments with similar properties
There may be text segments in your PDF document which have similar properties. For example, titles may all have the same font and size. You may wish to select these titles and change one or more of their properties, for example change the color of the text.
Selecting text segments with similar properties
Proceed as follows:
1
2
Using the Select Similar Objects tool
If necessary, click the Show Inspector button
tor.
, select a text segment.
to display the Enfocus Inspec-
3
In the Enfocus Inspector, select the properties which should be identical in the other text, for example font and size, but not spacing.
4
Click Select Similar Objects.
All the text which has the same properties is now selected.
To select text on a single text line
Using the Edit Text Line tool
•
, do one of the following:
Drag to select text on a text line.
•
•
•
To select a word, double-click the word.
To select a complete text line, triple-click a word.
To select multiple adjacent words, double-click the first word, hold down the
SHIFT key and click the last character of the last word.
Selecting text on a single line
pitstop.book Page 239 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
239
To select text on multiple lines in a paragraph
Using the Edit Paragraph tool , drag to select text which spans multiple lines.
Selecting multiple sentences in a paragraph
•
•
See also:
• Editing a single text line on page 240
•
Editing a text paragraph on page 241
Changing the font properties of text on page 244
Changing the color of text or line-art objects on page 273
pitstop.book Page 240 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
240
Editing a single text line
You can create new single text lines or edit existing ones. This is particularly useful to make minor adjustments, such as correcting typing errors.
Editing a single text line
To create or edit a single text line
1
Click the Edit Text Line tool
Your cursor changes into
2
Do one of the following:
.
•
•
.
Click in or select the text line which you want to edit and make the necessary changes.
Click anywhere on the page and type the new text line.
•
•
See also:
• Editing a text paragraph on page 241
Editing vertical text
Changing the font properties of text on page 244
pitstop.book Page 241 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
241
Editing a text paragraph
Paragraphs as logical text entities
If you need to make comprehensive changes to text which spans across multiple lines, you can use the Edit Paragraph tool . You can use this tool to select a “logical text entity”. A logical text entity is generally a chunk of text between two punctuation marks or spaces, or with different font properties. You can also use it to add a new paragraph of text to your PDF document.
Editing a paragraph
See also:
• Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > Colors on page 28
To edit a text paragraph
1
Click the Edit Paragraph tool
Your cursor changes into .
2
•
•
.
Do one of the following:
Click in or select the paragraph which you wish to edit, and then change it as required.
Click anywhere on the page and type the new paragraph.
pitstop.book Page 242 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
242
The paragraph you just edited or created appears in a red box with an anchor the bottom left corner.
)in
3
If necessary, drag or resize the red box to change the position of the selected paragraph.
Using the anchor to drag the paragraph box to a different position
Resizing the paragraph box
See also:
• Editing a single text line on page 240
• Changing the font properties of text on page 244
pitstop.book Page 243 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
243
Editing vertical text
About vertical text
You can use the Edit Vertical Text Line tool to edit a line of vertical text.
r e
L o m s u i p m
Proin luctus bibendum nisl
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit. Praesent vel elit. Quisque in odio. Ut et arcu. Phasellus non nibh. Ut a pede nec lectus tincidunt cursus. Donec sit amet lacus quis ipsum feugiat rhoncus. Sed congue tempus orci. Maecenas mauris. Aliquam odio pede, euismod ac, suscipit at, pharetra consectetuer, dolor. Pellentesque dapibus quam in neque. Sed quis urna. Suspendisse lacinia. Curabitur semper. Duis viverra, enim eu nonummy pharetra, magna lacus volutpat lacus, at vehicula eros risus quis eros. Morbi non pede vitae risus tempus fringilla.
A line of vertical text.
To edit a vertical text line
1
Select the Edit Vertical Text Line tool
The cursor changes into .
2
•
•
.
Do one of the following:
Select or click in the vertical text line you want to edit and make any necessary changes.
Click anywhere on the page and type the new vertical text line.
•
•
See also:
• Editing a single text line on page 240
Editing a text paragraph on page 241
Changing the font properties of text on page 244
pitstop.book Page 244 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
244
Changing the font properties of text
What are font properties?
Font properties are:
•
•
The name of the font family, for example Times-Roman
The size of the font, for example 10 point (pt)
•
•
•
•
The style of the font, for example Times-Bold
The font type, for example Adobe Type 1, TrueType and OpenType
Word and character spacing
Paragraph alignment
To change the font properties of text
1
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector to display the Enfocus Inspector, and then click the Text tab.
2
•
Select text using one of the following tools:
•
•
3
•
• The Edit Text Line or Edit Paragraph tool
Notice that the Enfocus Inspector changes accordingly, depending on the tool you are using to select the text.
Do any of the following:
To change the font of the selected text, click Font Picker, select a font from the page, document or your computer system and click OK.
If necessary, adjust the font size, the character spacing or word spacing.
To change the alignment of the text, use the Edit Paragraph tool the text. Select the Paragraph Alignment in the Enfocus Inspector.
and click in
A
A.
Paragraph alignment: left
B.
B
Paragraph alignment: justified
See also:
• Setting your Enfocus preferences > Preferences > Enfocus PitStop Professional Preferences > New Objects on page 31 to set the default font properties for new text
pitstop.book Page 245 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
245
Converting text to outlines
About converting text to outlines
Converting text to outlines means that you turn your text characters into a set of compound paths. In other words, your text will no longer be true type, but it will be replaced with a graphical representation of the characters.
A.
Text
B.
Text converted to outlines
Reasons for converting text to outlines
You may wish to convert text to outlines:
•
•
To make sure that your text will be printed exactly “as is”
If you cannot embed the font, for example due to font licensing restrictions.
Implications of converting text to outlines
Take the following into account before you convert text to outlines:
•
•
Your text will become paths instead of type, which means that you will no longer be able to edit the text or change the font properties. For example, you will no longer be able to correct typos, apply a different font family or change the font size.
You do not need to convert text to outlines if you simply want to change the fill or stroke color of the text. Select your text, click the Fill/Stroke tab in the Enfocus
Inspector, select Fill and/or Stroke and specify the respective color.
Text with a fill and stroke color
pitstop.book Page 246 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
246
• You typically convert text of large font sizes to outlines, not small type, for example body text. Outlined text does not display or print nicely when rendered in small sizes: it may look a bit bolder in print or jagged on screen.
Proin luctus bibendum nisl
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit. Praesent vel elit. Quisque in odio. Ut et
A.
Text
B.
Text converted to outlines
To convert text to outlines
1
2
3
4
tool, select text in your PDF document.
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector to display the Enfocus Inspector.
Click the Text tab.
Select Convert text to outline.
You can also use a Global Change or Action List to convert all the text in your PDF document to outlines.
See also:
• Making Global Changes: the general process on page 86
• Creating an Action List on page 153
pitstop.book Page 247 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
247
Splitting text segments
Splitting a text segment into words or characters
You can split a text segment into words or characters.
A
B
C
Text segment (A) split into words (
B
) and split into characters (
C
).
You may want to split a text segment to move a single word or character or transform it
(shear, rotate, scale).
Text segment split in words to shear the first word.
To split a text segment
1
2
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector to display the Enfocus Inspector, and then click the Text tab.
Using the Select Objects tool want to split.
, select one or more text segments which you
Click Split in Words or Split in Characters.
3
See also:
• Changing the font properties of text on page 244
• Selecting objects on page 195
pitstop.book Page 248 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
248
pitstop.book Page 249 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Chapter 11
pitstop.book Page 250 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
pitstop.book Page 251 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
251
Chapter 11:
Managing fonts
Topics
•
•
In this chapter:
• Types of fonts and their usage 252
PDF font substitution 257
Embedding versus subsetting fonts 258
pitstop.book Page 252 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
252
Types of fonts and their usage
Types of fonts
•
•
There are various types of fonts:
• PostScript Type 1 fonts , with the subset called the “ extension “ Multiple Master fonts “ standard 14 fonts “ and the
•
PostScript Type 3 fonts
TrueType fonts with the extension “
Composite fonts
OpenType fonts “
Standard 14 fonts
When working in PostScript and PDF environments, you may come across the notion
“standard 14 fonts” or “base 14 fonts”. What exactly are these “standard 14 fonts”?
Actually, the term is derived from the standard set of 13 PostScript fonts, which are resident in all PostScript output devices. These fonts are listed in the table below.
Font family
Times
Helvetica
Courier
Symbol
Font
Times-Roman
Times-Italic
Times-Bold
Times-BoldItalic
Helvetica
Helvetica-Oblique
Helvetica-Bold
Helvetica-BoldOblique
Courier
Courier-Oblique
Courier-Bold
Courier-BoldOblique
Symbol
∞ δ Σ Δ Φ ⊆ λ
For PDF environments, ZapfDingbats ( set.
✉ ✪ ✔ ❏ ➊
) is added to this standard font
pitstop.book Page 253 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
253
PostScript Type 1 fonts
PostScript Type 1 fonts were originally developed by Adobe Systems for use in PostScript printers.
PostScript Type 1 fonts are outline fonts. They use lines and cubic Bézier curves to define letter shapes or “glyphs”. A “glyph” is the shape in a font that is used to represent a character code on screen or paper. Examples of glyphs are the letters of the alphabet or the symbols in a font like ITC ZapfDingbats (
✉ ✪ ✔ ❏ ➊
).
Type 1 fonts have the following characteristics:
•
•
•
•
•
They are smaller in file size than TrueType fonts, which means that they occupy less space on your system’s hard disk.
Being outline fonts, Type 1 fonts are scalable to almost any size. They remain sharp and smooth on any platform and in print, and their legibility remains good, even when printed at small point sizes on low-resolution laser printers.
PostScript Type 1 fonts are commonly used in professional publishing environments and are supported by most high-end output devices, because most of these devices use PostScript as their page description language.
A PostScript Type 1 font is stored in two separate files: one which contains the character outlines and one which contains the font metric data. In Microsoft
Windows, you can recognize these by their extensions: *.pfb (Printer Font Binary file) for the character outline and *.pfm (Printer Font Metrics file) for the one containing the metric data. The former (.pfb) is commonly called the printer font, the latter (.pfm) is also known as the screen font. The combined file size of both files, however, is smaller than the file size of its TrueType counterpart. The file size of the PostScript font may sometimes even be as little as half of the size of the corresponding TrueType font.
You can recognize a PostScript Type 1 font by the following icons:
PostScript Type 1 font in Microsoft Windows
PostScript Type 1 font in the Mac OS
See also:
• About line art and pixel images on page 188
PostScript Type 3 fonts
•
•
PostScript Type 3 fonts are primarily decorative ornaments fonts with a lot of tonal variations and filled-and-stroked objects in the same character. Indeed, Type 3 fonts can have grayscale fills and strokes and other “special effects”, whereas Type 1 or TrueType fonts are entirely black. Consequently, Type 3 fonts have the following characteristics:
•
Their file size is bigger than the corresponding of Type 1 or TrueType fonts.
They may take longer to print or output.
They look worse than Type 1 or TrueType fonts in very small point sizes and when printed at low resolutions.
pitstop.book Page 254 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
254
TrueType fonts
The TrueType font format was developed by Apple Computer as an alternative to the
Adobe Type 1 standard. It is used both on Macintosh and Windows computers.
Like PostScript Type 1 fonts, TrueType fonts also use outlines to describe the letter shapes.
TrueType fonts have the following characteristics:
• Their use is widespread and they are integrated in almost every desktop office software program for Microsoft Windows or Macintosh systems.
•
•
•
TrueType fonts can print well on both non-PostScript and PostScript output devices. However, to print well on a PostScript device, the TrueType font must be converted to PostScript outlines, which may affect the visual quality of the resulting font. This is why many prepress service providers are reluctant to support
TrueType fonts.
On Windows-based systems, a TrueType font is physically stored in a single file, the name of which has the .ttf extension. On Macintosh, it is stored as a single
Suitcase.
You can recognize a TrueType font by the following icons:
TrueType font in Microsoft Windows
TrueType font in the Mac OS
• A TrueType font, or a combined use of TrueType and PostScript fonts in one document, may be troublesome in high-end PostScript devices, especially imagesetters.
Multiple Master fonts
•
•
The Multiple Master font format is an extension of the PostScript Type 1 format.
“Multiple Masters” are fonts offering design variations at the extremes of the “design axis”. This design axis represents a given variable property for that font, such as:
•
Weight (light vs. bold)
Width (condensed vs. expanded)
Optical size
pitstop.book Page 255 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
255
The mechanism of Multiple Master fonts is that the two masters at the extremes of the design axis have a fixed design, but you can create any variation between these masters. Typically, Multiple Master fonts have two design axes, which require four masters. These masters can be considered the cornerstones of the matrix.
A light condensed light expanded
A
B
D
C
A A
C
Width black condensed
B
A.
Master
B.
Font property
C.
Design axis
D.
User-defined variant “in-between”
black expanded
To create the in-between variants, you require Adobe Type Manager.
OpenType fonts
•
•
OpenType is a new font file format which has been jointly developed by Adobe Systems
Inc. and Microsoft Corporation. It is an extension of the TrueType format: OpenType fonts can contain TrueType but also Adobe Type 1 font data. This means that you can have an
OpenType font based on:
An Adobe Type 1 font. The file name of such a font has the suffix .otf.
A TrueType font. This font still has the .ttf file name suffix.
You can recognize an OpenType font by the following icons:
OpenType font in Microsoft Windows
OpenType font in the Mac OS
pitstop.book Page 256 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
256
In PDF files, an OpenType font can only appear as an embedded font. So if you are using a Type 1-based OpenType font, you can embed it as Type 1 or as OpenType. Similarly,
TrueType-based OpenType fonts can be embedded as TrueType or as OpenType.
OpenType font embedding is a new PDF 1.6 feature, which implies that it might not be supported by the rest of the workflow for the PDF document. For example, earlier versions of Adobe Acrobat may not be able to display the text in OpenType fonts correctly or printing errors can occur.
•
•
More about OpenType
For more information about OpenType, see:
• www.adobe.com and search for OpenType store.adobe.com/type/opentype www.opentype.org
Composite fonts
Composite character sets are needed if you are working with Asian languages such as
Japanese, Chinese and Korean. These languages have many characters and require hard- and software that support the double-byte format.
Composite fonts use 16-bit or two-byte characters instead of 8-bit or one-byte characters.
pitstop.book Page 257 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
257
PDF font substitution
Font availability
If you transfer PDF documents across computers or computer platforms, the fonts in the document may be in any of three conditions. They may be:
• Available as system fonts, i.e. the fonts in the PDF document are also installed on the computer where the PDF document is viewed
• Available as embedded fonts, which means that the fonts are included in the PDF document
Not available, either in the document or on the system.
•
If the font is not available, it will have to be replaced by a font which is available on the recipient’s computer. This process is called “PDF font substitution”.
To find a PostScript font name
There are instances in PitStop Professional where you have to enter a font name manually. This is the case, for example, if you create or change a PDF Profile to find a font with a specific name and replace it with another font.
1
2
Use any application to create a one-page document with the PostScript font.
Create a PDF file from the document.
3
4
5
Open the PDF file with Adobe Acrobat and choose File > Document Properties >
Fonts.
Write down the name of the font, using the exact spelling, capitalization, and hyphenation of the name as it appears in the Document Properties dialog box.
Click OK to close the dialog box.
pitstop.book Page 258 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
258
Embedding versus subsetting fonts
Embedding fonts
Embedding a font implies that the entire font, i.e. every single character of the font, is copied into your PDF document. This is particularly useful if your document needs to be displayed and printed on a different computer, which may not have the same fonts installed.
Furthermore, if the entire font is embedded, you can still edit the text in the PDF document on a computer that does not have the font installed. Note that embedding an entire font – a standard roman font typically contains 256 characters – will increase the file size of the PDF document by 30 to 40 KB for PostScript Type 1 fonts, or more for True-
Type fonts.
Some fonts cannot be embedded due to font licensing restrictions.
See also:
• Converting text to outlines on page 245
Subsetting fonts
Instead of embedding an entire font, you may want to embed only a subset of the font
– i.e. the characters of the font that are actually used in the text. Subsetting a font allows you to keep a file as small as possible, which is recommended especially if you do not plan to add more text (and hence more font characters) to the file. Note that when you combine two or more PDF documents that have the same font subset, duplicate character information is not deleted from the merged sets. This will result in a considerably larger file.
However, if it is not important that readers see the file in its original fonts, do not embed fonts at all, and let Acrobat use substitute fonts when necessary. This will produce the smallest file possible. Naturally, reducing file size will improve the file transferability.
Finding exact font names
A given font can have different names. And the name of the font which you see in your source application is not necessarily the same as its “real” internal font name.
For example, the Adobe Type 1 font “Times” as you see it in your word processing or desktop publishing program also has a PostScript name: “Times-Roman”. The same applies to its TrueType counterpart “Times New Roman”: its name appears in Adobe
Acrobat as “TimesNewRoman” (without spaces).
Consequently, if you need to enter a font name manually in one of the dialog boxes of
PitStop Professional, it is important that you type the font name exactly as it is spelled in Adobe Acrobat. You can use a PDF file to find the exact spelling of the name.
pitstop.book Page 259 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Chapter 12
pitstop.book Page 260 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
pitstop.book Page 261 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
261
Chapter 12:
Managing color
Topics
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
In this chapter:
• About color management 262
Color models 263
Color gamuts and color spaces 265
Rendering intents 267
Using spot colors 270
Changing the color of text or line-art objects 273
Working with a color repository 277
Using ICC profiles 279
pitstop.book Page 262 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
262
About color management
Color monitors and color printers reproduce color in completely different ways.
A color management system (CMS) is a collection of tools designed to reconcile the different color capabilities of scanners, monitors, and printers to ensure consistent color throughout the creation, display, and print process. Ideally, this means that the colors displayed on your monitor accurately represent the colors of the final output. It also means that different applications, monitors, and operating systems will display colors consistently.
pitstop.book Page 263 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
263
Color models
The RGB color model
A monitor uses red, green, and blue (RGB) light to create colors. Combining the full intensities of all three colors makes white. RGB colors are used for lighting, video, and monitors. Your computer monitor creates color by emitting light through red, green, and blue phosphors.
RGB color model
The CMYK color model
A printing press uses a CMYK color model, in which three colors of transparent ink
(cyan — C, magenta — M, and yellow — Y) are combined along with black (noted as K, derived from “key color”) in varying amounts to create different colors. CMYK inks filter the white light that reflects back from the paper and subtract some of the red, green, and blue light from the spectrum. The color we see is what’s left.
pitstop.book Page 264 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
264
In theory, pure cyan, magenta, and yellow pigments should combine to absorb all color and produce black. But because all printing inks contain impurities, these three inks actually produce a muddy brown and must be combined with black ink to produce a true black. Combining these inks to reproduce color is called four-color process printing.
In theory, mixing cyan, magenta and yellow yields perfect black; in practice the key color black has to be added.
The grayscale model
The grayscale model uses shades of gray to represent objects. In this case, every pixel of a grayscale image has a brightness value ranging from 0% (black) to 100% (white). The maximum number of grays that most output devices can produce is 256.
pitstop.book Page 265 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
265
Color gamuts and color spaces
Color gamut: device-related subset of the color spectrum
The visible spectrum contains millions of colors, but color devices, such as scanners, monitors and color printers can only (re)produce a subset of this spectrum. This
“subset” is called a color gamut. The gamut of a device defines the color space it can
(re)produce. For example, a monitor can display a wider range of colors than an offset press can print using CMYK colors, while some of the CMYK colors cannot be accurately displayed on the monitor. Each device has a different color gamut.
A
B
A.
RGB color gamut
B.
CMYK color gamut
For more information on color gamuts and color spaces, see the Adobe Acrobat Help.
Device-dependent color
Device-dependent colors relate to the settings of the device on which the image was created or output. Device-dependent colors require all devices in the workflow to be
“calibrated” to obtain consistent color reproduction. In other words, the input devices
(for example scanners or digital cameras), monitors and output devices (for example digital color printers) have to be tuned to each other to make the colors match.
Differences may even occur between devices of the same type or model, because they may have different settings. Monitors may have different brightness or contrast, for example.
For more information on device-dependent color, see the Adobe Acrobat Help.
pitstop.book Page 266 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
266
Device-independent color
To eliminate, or at least minimize, color differences between devices, you can use a color management system. Color management systems use a standard, device-independent color model, such as CIELab. Images are associated with a profile, which contain information about the input and/or output devices. Thus, if images are to be output on a specific device, it will be associated, or “tagged”, with a profile for that device.
For more information on device-independent color, see the Adobe Acrobat Help.
pitstop.book Page 267 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
267
Rendering intents
Rendering intents to remap colors
A color management system allows you to remap colors so that they best match the intended use. ‘Remapping’ means that colors from one output device’s color space are mapped to the color space of another device. This remapping is done according to a specific remapping method, also known as rendering intent. There are four remapping methods or rendering intents:
•
•
Perceptual remapping
Saturation remapping
•
•
Relative colorimetric remapping
Absolute colorimetric remapping
Perceptual remapping
The human eye is sensitive to the relationships between colors. Perceptual mapping alters all the colors in the original color space to bring them into the gamut of the destination color space, but preserves the relationships between the colors. As the relationships are preserved, the change in colors will hardly be perceivable.
A
B
B
A
Perceptual remapping rescales the original gamut (
A
) within the gamut of the destination color space (
B
), but preserves the relationships between colors.
pitstop.book Page 268 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
268
Saturation remapping
Reproduces the original image color saturation (vividness) when converting into the target device's color space. In this approach, the relative saturation of colors is maintained from gamut to gamut. This render intent is primarily designed for business graphics, where the exact relationship between colors (such as in a photographic image) is not as important as are bright saturated colors.
A
B
A
B
Saturation remapping scales all colors to the brightest saturation possible (
B
). The saturation (also called chroma) will remain the same, but some colors will appear lighter or darker.
Relative colorimetric remapping
Colors that fall within the gamuts of both input and output device are left unchanged.
Colors that fall outside the gamut of the output device are usually altered to colors with the same lightness, but different saturation.
This method may reduce the total number of colors in the image considerably, if many different input colors map to the same output color.
But this matching method is useful when combining 2 output profiles for proofing.
Since the color gamut of the proofing device (2) should be bigger than the color gamut of the destination profile (1).
A
B
A = B
Relative colorimetric remapping replaces colors outside of the gamut by colors with the same lightness, but different saturation (
B
).
pitstop.book Page 269 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
269
Absolute colorimetric remapping
Colors that fall within the gamuts of both input and output device are left unchanged.
Colors that fall outside the gamut of the output device are clipped to a color on the edge of the output gamut. This may lead to a loss of detail in some regions. Over most of the tonal range, a close match is obtained. This method is suited for spot colors.
A
B
A = B
Absolute colorimetric remapping clips colors outside of the gamut to a color on the gamut boundary (
B
).
Colors which cannot be displayed in the target color gamut will be lost.
To change the rendering intent of an image
1
Using the Select Objects tool
2
, select a pixel image.
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector, and then click the Prepress > General tab.
3
4
Select a Color rendering intent.
If necessary, adjust the Smoothness.
pitstop.book Page 270 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
270
Using spot colors
Premixed inks
•
•
•
•
Spot colors are colors which are printed with their own premixed inks. You can choose from several spot color systems and from hundreds of different spot-color inks. In spot-color offset printing, each spot color is reproduced using a single printing plate. In contrast, process color printing uses four inks only (CMYK: cyan, magenta, yellow and black) to reproduce all colors.
If you print a spot color at 100 %, a solid opaque color appears on your page (not a dot pattern). A tint of a spot color, i.e. a lightened spot color, is created by printing smaller halftone dots of the base color.
Spot colors can provide excellent results when used for offset printing. For digital output or monitor display, however, spot colors are less well-suited and should be used with caution.
PitStop Professional enables you to perform the following spot color-related tasks:
• To create spot colors
To apply a spot color
To edit spot colors
To remap spot colors
To duplicate a spot color
To create spot colors
You can use PitStop Professional to create new spot colors in Adobe Acrobat or change their names or CMYK values. This approach has the advantage that it is easier to keep these colors consistent throughout your complete document, compared to managing the spot colors in the source files and your authoring and design programs. Graphics which you import into a desktop publishing program, for example, may have mutual differences in their spot color definitions. Or, the spot color definitions in these graphics may differ from those which you have defined in your desktop publishing program.
Proceed as follows:
1
Create or open a PDF document with a colored object or text.
2
Using the Select Objects tool , select an object or text.
3
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector.
4
Click the Spot Color button.
5
In the Spot Color Picker, select the Color Library named Document Spot Colors, and click New.
6
7
Fill in the Color Name and specify its CMYK values.
Click OK.
pitstop.book Page 271 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
271
8
•
Do one of the following:
To apply the new spot color to the object you selected, select the new spot color and click OK.
• To store the spot color in the color library only without applying it to the object you selected, click Cancel.
Saving the color in the color library will make the color available for other PitStop
Professional tasks, such as performing global color changes or creating Action Lists. You will then be able to retrieve this spot color from the color library and reuse it.
See also:
• Working with a color repository on page 277
To apply a spot color
3
4
1
2
5
Using the Select Objects tool , select an object or text.
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector.
Click the Spot Color button.
In the Spot Color Picker, select a Color Library.
Select a spot color in the list and click OK.
To edit spot colors
You cannot use the Enfocus Inspector and the Spot Color Picker to select a spot color in the color library and change its values. There may be other objects in your PDF document which use the same spot color and you do not want to change those. If you do want to change a spot color throughout your complete PDF document, you can use a
Global Change or an Action List.
See also:
• Creating an Action List on page 153
• Making Global Changes: the general process on page 86
To remap spot colors
PitStop Professional allows you to remap spot colors of the DeviceN color space of a pixel image to any other color in the PDF document or the color repository. Remapping spot colors can be useful if you have to make color separations of your PDF document.
In that case, you can leave the original pixel image with the spot colors unchanged, but remap a specific spot color to a corresponding color in the CMYK color space.
1
2
Open the PDF document in which you want to remap a spot color.
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector to display the Enfocus Inspector.
3
4
Click the Image > Remap tab.
Using the Select Objects tool , select a pixel image in your PDF document which contains DeviceN spot colors.
pitstop.book Page 272 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
272
5
6
•
•
7
Select one of the spot colors that appear in the Remap Spot Colors area.
Do one of the following:
To remap the selected color to a CMYK color or any other spot color present in the selected object, select the appropriate color from the Remap to list.
To remap the selected color to any other spot color, click Pick Color, and then select a color from a Color Library in the Spot Color Picker.
Click Apply.
Click the button Keep to keep the selected spot color as is or click the button Keep
all to keep all the spot colors as they are.
See also:
• Working with a color repository on page 277 .
To duplicate a spot color
You can duplicate objects containing a spot color and create a user-defined spot color with the same shape of the copied object. You can do this, for example, to create a spot varnish.
Proceed as follows:
1
2
Open the PDF document in which you want to create a new spot color, based on the shape of a selected object.
Using the Select Objects tool shape.
, select an object of which you wish to copy the
3
4
5
6
7
8
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector to display the Enfocus Inspector.
Click the Prepress > Varnish tab.
Click the New button.
Fill in a name for the new spot color in the Edit area, for example Varnish.
If necessary, select Overprint.
Click Apply.
See also:
• Overprint and knockout on page 283
pitstop.book Page 273 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
273
Changing the color of text or line-art objects
Change the color, and specify the fill and stroke attributes
You can change the fill or stroke color of text or line-art objects in your PDF documents.
You can select a color from the same color space, from a different one or from the color repository. Once you have selected a color, you can also specify the object’s fill or stroke attributes.
Fill attributes
If you are going to specify the fill color of polygons or loops, you will be able to select the fill attribute (regular) Fill or EOfill. Polygons and loops can be distinguished from other line-art shapes in that they are compound paths with intersecting lines. To determine whether a point is part of the shape or not, different rules can be applied: the standard rule or the even-odd (EO) rule. These rules determine the filling method of the shape.
A B
x y
C D
x y
A.
Polygon with EOFill
B.
Polygon with standard fill
C.
Loop with EOFill
D.
Loop with standard fill
The even-odd rule supposes that you draw a line between a point inside the shape outline (x) and a point (y) outside its outline. If that line crosses the line of the shape an odd number of times, the shape area to which the point (x) belongs, is filled. If the number of crossings is even, the area is not filled.
Stroke attributes
Line art, but also text, is basically made up of paths. The outline of a path is called a stroke and a stroke can have the following attributes:
•
•
Weight
Color
.
. The weight is the thickness of a stroke, usually expressed in points.
•
Dash pattern
. You use the dash pattern to create dashed lines. You can do this by specifying the length of the line segments and the space (gaps) between them.
pitstop.book Page 274 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
274
•
•
Cap style
. The cap style determines the appearance of the stroke at the end of a path.
Join style
. The join style determines the appearance of the stroke at the corner points of a path.
The table below shows examples of the cap and join styles in various combinations.
Cap
Butt
Join
Miter
Cap
Butt
Join
Round
Round
Miter
Round
Projecting
Miter
Projecting
Round Round
Cap
Butt Round Projecting
•
Join
Bevel Bevel Bevel
Miter limit
. The miter limit is the limit when a join switches from mitered
(pointed) to beveled (squared-off). You can calculate the miter limit by dividing the miter length by the stroke weight. If the length of the miter equals a given number of times the stroke weight, the join will be beveled. Suppose the stroke weight of a line is 2 pt. and the miter limit is 4. As soon as the length of the miter is 8 pt., the tip of the angle will be squared off to a bevel join. Logically, a miter limit of 1 will always be a bevel join because the miter length is always more than the stroke weight. To allow “pointier” angles, you increase the miter limit. Obviously, the miter limit does not apply to joins of which the style has already been set to round or bevel.
A B
A.
Original miter length, less than the product of stroke weight x miter limit. The result is a miter join.
B.
Miter length which exceeds the product of stroke weight x miter limit. The result is a bevel join.
pitstop.book Page 275 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
275
To change the color of text or line-art objects
1
, click the text or line-art objects of which you want to change the color.
You may want to use the Select Similar Objects tool objects on the page which have the same color.
to select all the text or line-art
2
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector to display the Enfocus Inspector.
3
Click the Fill/Stroke tab and make sure Fill and/or Stroke are selected.
4
Click the Color tab.
The Enfocus Inspector displays the current color settings of the selected objects.
5
•
•
•
•
To change the color of the selected text or line-art objects, click the Fill Color or
Stroke Color tab and do one of the following:
To change the color within the same color space (for example CMYK), move the slider of the respective color to the left or to the right or type a percentage in the text box.
To change the color to another color space (Gray, RGB, CMYK, spot color), click the respective button and, if necessary, move the sliders to the left or to the right or type the percentage in the text box.
To change the color to a spot color, click Spot Color. In the Spot Color Picker, select a color library and a spot color, and then click OK.
To use a color from the color repository, click Load. Select a color from the repository and click OK.
7
•
If necessary, you can now specify the fill and/or stroke attributes of the selected objects.
6
Click the Fill/Stroke tab.
In the Stroke area, specify the stroke attributes:
Specify the Stroke weight.
• Select a Cap style and a Join style.
Cap style
Icon Meaning
Butt cap
Round cap
Projecting cap
Join style
Icon Meaning
Miter join
Round join
Bevel join
• If you selected a miter join style , set the Miter Limit.
pitstop.book Page 276 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
276
• If you want to make the line dashed, click the Dashed Line button , and then specify the length of the dashes in the On boxes and the gaps between them in the Off boxes. If necessary, move the dashes by specifying a Phase.
8
A B
If you have chosen to fill a polygon or loop , select Fill or EOfill.
pitstop.book Page 277 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
277
Working with a color repository
Using a repository of colors
PitStop Professional allows you to work with a color repository. This color repository is a list or database of colors which you use frequently. You can:
•
•
Build a repository of new or existing colors
Use colors from the repository to apply to text or objects in your PDF documents
• Remove colors from the repository
You can build a repository of colors which you frequently reuse in your environment.
You can even create new colors and add these to your color repository. The repository can contain any color space defined in PDF 1.3, including spot colors and color spaces such as DeviceN and Patterns.
To build a color repository
1
3
Using the Select Objects tool , click any text or object in the PDF document which has the color which you want to add to your repository.
2
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector to display the Enfocus Inspector.
The Enfocus Inspector appears and shows the current color settings of the selected text or object.
If necessary, change the color using the sliders or select another color model
(Gray, RGB or CMYK) or spot color.
4
Under Repository, click Save.
5
Type a descriptive name for the color in the dialog box, and click OK.
The specified color is now saved in your color repository and can be reused later.
To apply a color from the repository to text or objects
Once you have stored a color in your repository, you can apply this color to objects or text in your PDF document. Proceed as follows:
1
Using the Select Objects tool , click any text or line-art object in the PDF document to which you want to apply a color from your repository.
2
3
4
5
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector to display the Enfocus Inspector.
Under Repository, click Load.
Select a color from the repository and click OK.
If necessary, adjust the selected color using the sliders in the Enfocus Inspector.
pitstop.book Page 278 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
278
To remove colors from the repository
You can easily remove colors from the repository, for example colors which you will no longer use. Proceed as follows:
1
2
Using the Select Objects tool , select any text or object in the PDF document.
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector to display the Enfocus Inspector.
3
4
Under Repository, click Load.
Select the color in the list which you want to remove.
5
6
Click Remove.
Click Cancel.
pitstop.book Page 279 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
279
Using ICC profiles
About ICC profiles
•
•
To eliminate, or at least minimize, color differences between devices, you can use ICC
(International Color Consortium) color profiles.
An ICC color profile is a mathematical description of the color space used by a specific device. You can associate, or “tag”, all types of objects in your PDF document with an
ICC profile for a given color space (Grayscale, RGB or CMYK):
Text and line art
Images
Using ICC profiles in multiple instances
There are various instances where you can specify ICC profiles in PitStop Professional.
These instances are, in order of precedence:
1
2
You can tag an individual object.
You can use ICC profiles in Action Lists and PDF Profiles, and Action Lists can in turn be embedded in PDF Profiles.
3
You can specify source and target ICC profiles in the Enfocus PitStop Preferences.
For example, if you use an Action List or a PDF Profile to tag all images in your PDF document with ICC profile A and some of these images already were tagged individually with ICC profile B, it will be ICC profile B which will be maintained.
To tag or untag text or line art with an ICC profile
1
Using the Select Objects tool , select the text or line art of which you want to check whether it has an ICC profile.
2
3
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector to display the Enfocus Inspector.
Click the Color tab, and then the Fill Color or Stroke Color tab.
4
•
Do one of the following:
Select a profile from the list and click Tag Selection. The text or line art is tagged with the selected profile and the name of the ICC profile appears above the color sliders.
•
ICC name of a tagged object
Click Untag Selection to remove the ICC profile from the selected text or line art.
See also:
• Making Global Changes in PDF documents on page 85
pitstop.book Page 280 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
280
To tag or untag an image with an ICC profile
1
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Image Matching Panel.
You see a list of all the images in your PDF document, displaying their color space and color profile, if any. You can click an image in the list to see and select the image.
2
3
Select a Color Profile to tag the image with.
If necessary, select the option to apply this change to all images of the same color space with the same profile.
pitstop.book Page 281 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Chapter 13
pitstop.book Page 282 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
pitstop.book Page 283 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
283
Chapter 13:
Overprint and knockout
Topics
•
•
In this chapter:
• The simple overprint and knockout theory 284
•
The devil in the overprint and knockout detail 288
Common pitfalls of overprint behavior 291
Changing the overprint settings of an object 298
pitstop.book Page 284 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
284
The simple overprint and knockout theory
The basic rule
You may have overlapping colored objects in your PDF document, for example text or an image on a colored background. If so, you can specify what should happen with these colors when they are printed:
•
•
Knockout
, meaning that the colors of the object in the foreground cut out the area underneath. In other words, the background color is erased and the resulting color will be the foreground color.
Overprint
, meaning that the colors of the object are printed on top of the background colors. The resulting color is a combination of the foreground and the background color.
A simple theoretical example
Let’s take a simple example (no need to worry, things will get complicated later, see The devil in the overprint and knockout detail ). Suppose you have a PDF file with two overlapping objects. Their fill colors are as follows.
Ink
Cyan
Magenta
Yellow
Black
Background object
40 %
0 %
0 %
0 %
Foreground object
0 %
0 %
60 %
0 %
The table below shows what will “normally” happen when this PDF file is color-separated and printed.
Knockout Overprint
Preview
Cyan plate
Yellow plate
pitstop.book Page 285 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
285
Resulting color in the intersection
Knockout Overprint
C: 0 %
M: 0 %
Y: 60 %
K: 0 %
C: 40 %
M: 0 %
Y: 60 %
K: 0 %
Different colors, common inks
An important thing to remember when talking about overprint is the concept of
“common inks”, meaning inks which the background and the foreground objects have
“in common”. We talk about inks, not colors, because the overprint and knockout concepts are relevant in print only, not when you view the PDF documents on screen.
The principle here is as follows:
If there are common inks, the foreground inks win
, even if their tint value is lower than the corresponding one of the background ink.
Suppose you have a CMYK object set to overprint on a spot color background. Their inks are as follows:
Ink
Cyan
Magenta
Yellow
Black
Red
Background object Foreground object
100 %
0 %
0 %
0 %
100 %
There are no common inks because cyan, magenta, yellow and black are not specified in the spot color background. And if colors are not specified in either one of the objects, they cannot be common. Note that they are
not specified
, which is
not
the same as
0 %. Consequently, the cyan foreground ink will be printed over the Red spot color background. The resulting color in the intersection will be as follows:
C: 100 %
M: 0 %
Y: 0 %
K: 0 %
Spot color: Red
pitstop.book Page 286 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
286
Let’s convert the Red spot color of the background to CMYK with the following tint values:
Ink
Cyan
Magenta
Yellow
Black
Background object
0 %
100 %
100 %
0 %
The resulting color in the intersection will be as follows:
C: 100 %
M: 0 %
Y: 0 %
K: 0 %
The cyan foreground object has been set to overprint, but still, the magenta and yellow in the background are knocked out. Confused? Remember the basic principle:
If there are common inks, the foreground inks win
, even if their tint value is lower than the corresponding one of the background ink and even if this tint value is equal to zero.
Let’s put the tint values of the above example in a table:
Ink
Cyan
Background object
0 %
Magenta 100 %
Yellow 100 %
Black 0 %
Foreground object
100 %
0 %
0 %
0 %
Resulting color
100 %
0 %
0 %
0 %
See what happened? All inks are now common, even if they have a tint value of 0 %.
The foreground inks win and therefore, the 0 % magenta and yellow of the foreground object will be used, not the 100 % of the background.
See also:
• The devil in the overprint and knockout detail on page 288
• Common pitfalls of overprint behavior on page 291
pitstop.book Page 287 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
287
The devil in the overprint and knockout detail
Determining factors
The theoretical overprint rules are simple:
• Overlapping colors are combined and printed “on top of” each other.
• If there are common inks, the foreground inks win.
But, the devil is in the detail and, in practice, things may become complicated because the following factors determine the way in which overprint is applied:
•
•
•
•
Color spaces
Overprint modes and object types
For those who don’t like to read detailed technical descriptions, even if they are accurate, clear and well-illustrated, see also:
The simple overprint and knockout theory on page 284
Common pitfalls of overprint behavior on page 291
Color spaces
A PDF document can contain objects of different color spaces: Separation, DeviceN,
CMYK, Gray, calibrated Gray or RGB, Lab or ICC-based colors. The color space of the object has an impact on the object’s overprint behavior. The following rules apply here:
Color space
• Separation
• DeviceN
Object type
Irrelevant
• Gray
• RGB
• Lab
• ICC-based colors
• Calibrated Gray or RGB
• CMYK
Irrelevant
• Image
• Shading
• Text
• Line art
• Image masks
Overprint mode Rule
Irrelevant Only those inks are specified as listed in the respective color space.
Separation Black, for example, will only have the black ink specified, not cyan, magenta or yellow.
Irrelevant Cyan, magenta, yellow and black inks are specified. To determine the percentage of the inks in non-CMYK objects, the colors in these objects are converted to CMYK according to the normal color conversion rules.
An object in Gray, for example, may have the following inks specified:
Irrelevant
Standard (OPM 0)
• C: 0 %
• M: 0 %
• Y: 0 %
• K: 60 %
Consequently, objects in Gray will always knock out the underlying cyan, magenta or yellow, regardless of the object type or overprint mode.
Illustrator (OPM 1) Only those inks are specified of which the tint value is not equal to zero.
pitstop.book Page 288 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
288
We learn the following from this overview:
• Only CMYK text, line art and image masks have an overprint behavior which depends on the overprint mode (OPM 0 or OPM 1).
• There is black and there is black. Objects in a spot color named “Black”, in the
Gray color space, or in the “Black” ink that is used to render the K plate of CMYK have the same overprint behavior, and the overprint mode (OPM 0 or OPM 1) makes a difference for CMYK Black. Objects in Separation Black or in Gray, however, will overprint differently.
•
Ink
Cyan
Magenta
Yellow
Black
Object in spot color black, Gray or 100 % K
0 %
0 %
0 %
100 %
Object in Separation Black
100 %
Be careful with color conversions, because the overprint behavior may be unpredictable. If you do color conversions, proofing is an absolute necessity. You can proof your PDF documents by printing them on a composite output device, or on screen using the Overprint Preview and Separation Preview features of Adobe
Acrobat.
Overprint modes and object types
A PDF file may contain different types of objects, such as text, line art and images. Some object types have an overprint behavior which depends on the overprint mode, others don’t. We can distinguish the following:
Overprint-mode-dependent object types
CMYK text
CMYK line art
CMYK image masks
Overprint-mode-independent object types
CMYK images
CMYK shadings
In other words, overprint modes only have an effect on CMYK text, line art and image masks.
There are two “overprint modes”:
•
•
Standard
overprint mode, also known as “
OPM 0
”
Illustrator
overprint mode, also known as “
OPM 1
” or “nonzero overprint mode”
The difference between both modes lies in the effect of the tint value 0 for one of the
CMYK inks:
• In
standard
overprint mode (
OPM 0
), the tint value 0 of one of the CMYK inks in the foreground object has a knockout effect on the color rendering of the underlying object. In other words, a foreground ink with a C, M, Y or K value of 0 % erases the corresponding background ink. Here, the “
foreground inks win
” principle applies.
pitstop.book Page 289 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
289
• In
Illustrator
overprint mode (
OPM 1
), the tint value 0 is neutral: it is ignored (as if it were “not specified”) and has therefore no effect on the color rendering of the underlying object.
Example
Given two overlapping colored circles with the following fill colors:
Ink
Cyan
Magenta
Yellow
Black
Circle in the background
40 %
0 %
0 %
0 %
Circle in the foreground
0 %
0 %
60 %
0 %
Simple logic tells us to combine the inks, so we expect the following result:
Ink
Cyan
Magenta
Yellow
Black
Circle in the background
40 %
0 %
0 %
0 %
Circle in the foreground
0 %
0 %
60 %
0 %
Result
40 %
0 %
60 %
0 %
In practice, however, the result depends on the selected overprint mode:
Standard overprint mode (OPM 0) Illustrator overprint mode (OPM 1)
Preview
Resulting color in the intersection
C: 0 %
M: 0 %
Y: 60 %
K: 0 %
C: 40 %
M: 0 %
Y: 60 %
K: 0 %
pitstop.book Page 290 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
290
Common pitfalls of overprint behavior
Examples
•
•
•
•
Overprint depends on the combination of object type (text, line art, image...), color space (CMYK, RGB, Gray...) and overprint mode (OPM 0 or OPM 1). Consequently, there are some common pitfalls associated with the overprint behavior of inks. The following examples illustrate these pitfalls:
• Example 1: CMYK object with standard overprint mode (OPM 0) on a spot color background
Example 2: Duotone object with overprint on an ICC-tagged CMYK background
Example 3: CMYK text on a CMYK background
Example 4: Gray object on a CMYK background
Example 5: the effect of color spaces
Example 1: CMYK object with standard overprint mode (OPM 0) on a spot color background
Given a CMYK object that is rendered with standard overprint mode (OPM 0) on top of a background in the spot color Red.
Background object Foreground object
Object type
Overprint mode
Color space not specified
Spot color Red 40 % not specified
OPM 0
C: 0 %
M: 10 %
Y: 20 %
K: 30 %
The are no common inks because the background object has a spot color and the foreground has CMYK colors.
pitstop.book Page 291 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
The resulting color in the overlapping part of the objects (the intersection) will be as follows:
291
C: 0 %
M: 10 %
Y: 20 %
K: 30 %
Spot color Red 40 %
Example 2: Duotone object with overprint on an ICC-tagged CMYK background
Given a duotone object with 70% Red and 30% black that is rendered with overprint on top of a background in ICC-tagged CMYK.
The duotone object uses the inks Red and black. The background must be identified as inks, so the ICC-tagged CMYK background is converted to regular CMYK. This conversion is performed according to ICC profiles that may be specified in the preferences. Suppose the background is converted to 20% cyan, 21% magenta, 22% yellow and 23% black.
The overprint mode does not influence this.
Background object Foreground object
Object type
Overprint mode
Color space not specified
ICC-tagged CMYK, converted to:
C: 20 %
M: 21 %
Y: 22 %
K: 23 % not specified
OPM 0 or OPM 1 (no difference)
Duotone:
Red: 70 %
Black: 30 %
The only common color is Black. There is no difference in overprint behavior between a spot color that is named “
Black
” and “
Black
” ink that is used to render the K plate of
CMYK. The other colors are used either by the foreground object or by the background object.
pitstop.book Page 292 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
292
The resulting color in the overlapping part of the objects (the intersection) will be as follows:
C: 20 %
M: 21 %
Y: 22 %
K: 30 %
Spot color Red 70 %
Example 3: CMYK text on a CMYK background
Given CMYK text rendered with overprint on a CMYK background.
Background object Foreground object
Lorem ipsum
Object type
Overprint mode
Color space not specified Text
C: 10 %
M: 20 %
Y: 30 %
K: 40 %
C: 0 %
M: 0 %
Y: 0 %
K: 50 %
We’re dealing with CMYK text, which means that the resulting color in the overlapping part of the objects (the intersection) depends on the overprint mode:
• In
standard
CMYK inks in the foreground object has a knockout effect on the underlying objects.
overprint mode (OPM 0), a tint value of 0 % of one or more of the
• In
Illustrator
overprint mode (OPM 1), a tint value of 0 % of one or more of the
CMYK inks in the foreground object is ignored.
pitstop.book Page 293 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
293
Depending on the overprint mode, the result will look like this:
Standard overprint mode (OPM 0) Illustrator overprint mode (OPM 1)
Lorem ipsum Lorem ipsum
C: 0 %
M: 0 %
Y: 0 %
K: 50 %
C: 10 %
M: 20 %
Y: 30 %
K: 50 %
But, suppose we convert the text to an image where all the pixels have the same color, i.e. 0 % cyan, 0 % magenta, 0 % yellow and 50 % black.
The foreground and the background object are in the same color space (CMYK), which means that the foreground image object defines the percentages.
The resulting color in the overlapping part of the objects (the intersection) will be as follows:
C: 0 %
M: 0 %
Y: 0 %
K: 50 %
The overprint mode is irrelevant in this case because an image is overprint-modeindependent.
Example 4: Gray object on a CMYK background
Given a Gray object on a CMYK background.
Background object Foreground object
Object type not specified not specified
pitstop.book Page 294 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
294
Overprint mode
Color space
Background object
C: 0 %
M: 100 %
Y: 100 %
K: 0 %
Foreground object
not specified
Gray: 60 % brightness
Gray always has a knockout effect on the underlying inks, regardless of the Gray object’s type or OPM mode. Consequently, the resulting color in the overlapping part of the objects (the intersection) will be as follows:
Standard overprint mode (OPM 0) Illustrator overprint mode (OPM 1)
Preview
Magenta plate
Yellow plate
Black plate
Resulting color in the intersection
C: 0 %
M: 0 %
Y: 0 %
K: 60 %
C: 0 %
M: 0 %
Y: 0 %
K: 60 %
pitstop.book Page 295 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
295
Example 5: the effect of color spaces
Take a CMYK background of 100 % cyan, 0 % magenta, 0 % yellow, 50 % black. Place the following different objects on top of this background in such a way that they do not overlap each other:
5
6
2
3
1
Object Color space and values
80 % Gray
80 % Gray
C: 0 %
M: 0 %
Y: 0 %
K: 20 %
4 C: 0 %
M: 0 %
Y: 0 %
K: 20 %
20 % of spot color Black
20 % of spot color Black
The results will be as follows:
➊
OPM 0
80% gray
➌
C: 0%
M: 0%
Y: 0%
K: 20%
Overprint mode
OPM 0
OPM 1
OPM 0
OPM 1
OPM 0
OPM 1
C: 0%
M: 0%
Y: 0%
K: 20%
OPM 0
0C, 0M, 0Y, 20K
➎
OPM 0
20% spot color Black
C: 100%
M: 0%
Y: 0%
K: 20%
C: 0%
M: 0%
Y: 0%
K: 20%
C: 100%
M: 0%
Y: 0%
K: 20%
C: 100%
M: 0%
Y: 0%
K: 20%
➋
OPM 1
80% gray
➍
OPM 1
0C, 0M, 0Y, 20K
➏
See also:
• The simple overprint and knockout theory on page 284
• The devil in the overprint and knockout detail on page 288
OPM 1
20% spot color Black
pitstop.book Page 296 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
296
Changing the overprint settings of an object
Making black text overprint
Text —especially fine text or text set at a small point size— on colored backgrounds is extremely difficult to print in register. The slightest misregistration can become noticeable as small gaps can appear between the text and the underlying colored elements.
To avoid this problem, you can specify that all black text should print on top of any colored backgrounds. This technique is known as overprinting. Overprinting preserves the legibility of the text.
W
riting
modular
Overprinting black text compensates for misregistration.
You can specify overprinting only for 100 % black text because printing text of any color other than solid black over any other colored background might cause the overlapping inks to blend, which could result in unwanted color mixing.
•
•
See also:
• The simple overprint and knockout theory on page 284
The devil in the overprint and knockout detail on page 288
Common pitfalls of overprint behavior on page 291
pitstop.book Page 297 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
297
Making white text knock out
When printing white text, the colors behind the text should not print. In other words, the white text should knock out, or “cut out”, the inks on the other separations.
Writing
modular
Knocking out white text cuts out the inks on the separations underneath.
To change the overprint settings of an object
1
Make sure overprint previewing is on in Adobe Acrobat (Advanced > Overprint
Preview).
2
3
4
Using the Select Objects tool , select an object.
Choose Window > Show Enfocus Inspector to display the Enfocus Inspector.
Click Prepress > Overprint.
Change the Fill or Stroke overprint settings
5
•
•
6
= on
= off
If necessary, select an Overprint Mode: OPM 0 or OPM 1.
You will only see a difference between the overprint modes if you turned the
Adobe Acrobat overprint previewing on, as described in step 1 .
•
•
See also:
• The simple overprint and knockout theory on page 284
The devil in the overprint and knockout detail on page 288
Common pitfalls of overprint behavior on page 291
pitstop.book Page 298 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
298
pitstop.book Page 299 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
299
pitstop.book Page 300 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
300
pitstop.book Page 299 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
299
Index
A
absolute colorimetric remapping definition 269 accelerating image display 60 accessing
Adobe Acrobat color management settings 69
Adobe Acrobat display settings 64
Adobe Acrobat viewing modes settings 67
Enfocus preferences 22 file settings 70
Help from the preflight report 14
Help from within PitStop Professional 14
Acrobat metadata 109
Action List Editor displaying 153 using 153
Action Lists changing the page layout 163 concept 150 creating 153, 154 editing 157 examples 159 guidelines for creating 153 locking 156 locking with a password 156 to change the font properties 160 to change the page layout 163 action types (in Action Lists) definition 152 adding
Action Lists to a PDF Profile 142 anchor points 217 anchor points, reasons 217 session comment 111 text, using a Global Change 96 adjusting guides 79 alternate images displaying 60 speeding up image display 60 viewing 68 anchor point adding/deleting 217 definition 192
AND operator using in Action Lists 153 annotations hiding 59 showing 59 viewing 68 art box definition 50
ASCII filters using ~ to compress images 223 attributes of an object copying and pasting 74 specifying fill and stroke ~ 273 viewing 77
pitstop.book Page 300 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
300
automating preflighting 145, 184 tasks, running Action Lists automatically 166 tasks, using Action Lists 150 tasks, using hot folders 166 average resampling definition 221
B
bicubic B-spline resampling definition 222 bicubic resampling definition 222 bilinear resampling definition 222 bitmap image
See pixel image black text making ~ overprint 296 bleed viewing 49 bleed box definition 50 blending modes (transparency), selecting 194 bringing objects forward 199 building color repository 277 buying
Enfocus PitStop Professional 20
C
categories preferences 22 problem ~ in the Enfocus PDF Profile Editor 138
Certified Full Save optimizing your Certified PDF document 128
Certified PDF document definition 109 optimized 128 providing a ~ with job information 114 saving a ~ as 128 saving a copy 128
Certified PDF preflight definition 144
Certified PDF Profile statuses 120
Certified PDF status of a PDF document checking 119
Certified PDF workflow explained 102, 106 incremental save 107
PDF editing 104 preflighting in a ~ 103 responsibility in a ~ 105
Certified vs. regular preflight check 144
Certified workflow status 119 consulting 119
pitstop.book Page 301 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
CertifiedPDF.net
becoming member of the ~ community 129 checking for updated Specifications 129 contributing member 130 definition 129 preferences, becoming member 37
Specification, definition 129 user information 37 change pointer over object preferences 23 changes action type in Action List 152 changing color 28 color of text or line-art objects 273, 275 font properties of text 244 font size and style 161
OPI information of objects 193 orientation of page content 90 overprint settings of an object 296, 297 page layout of a document 163, 164 position of page content 90 rendering intent of an image 269 size of page content 90 stacking order of objects 199 transparency of objects 194 checking
Certified PDF status of a PDF document 119 for updated Specifications on
CertifiedPDF.net 129 status of your CertifiedPDF.net account 131 system requirements on the Enfocus Web site 17 view and file settings 63 checks action type in Action List 152
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
301
CMYK color model definition 263
CMYK object with standard overprint mode (OPM 0) on a spot color background 290
CMYK text on a CMYK background 292 color building a ~ repository 277 device-dependent ~ 265 device-independent ~ 266 of text or line-art objects, changing 273 spot ~, using 270 color gamuts and color spaces 265 device-related subsets of the color spectrum 265 color management definition 262 color models
CMYK 263 grayscale 264
RGB 263 color repository using 277 color spaces and overprint behavior 287 effect on overprinting 295
See also gamut colorimetric remapping absolute 269 relative 268
pitstop.book Page 302 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
302
common inks overprinting 285 comparing editing sessions of a Certified PDF document 125
PDF Profiles 38 sessions using the edit log 126 sessions visually side by side 126 snapshots 125 snapshots blended into one document 126 composite font definition 256 compressing pixel images 223 compression methods 223 computer graphics categories 188 consulting
Certified workflow status 119 document history 122 edit log file of a Certified PDF document 121 preflight report 118 content of a preflight report 180 continuous-tone (CT) layers in PDF2Go documents 230 contributing member of CertifiedPDF.net 130 conventional PDF workflow illustration and description 106 copy and save saving a copy of a Certified PDF document 128 copy-paste behavior 31 copying and pasting an object’s attributes 74 creating a QuickRun 181
Action Lists 153
Action Lists by recording 155
Action Lists that changes the font properties of a
PDF document 161
Action Lists that changes the page layout of a PDF document 164
Action Lists, principles 153
Actions List from scratch 154 alternate images in your PDF document 60 new paths 214 new shapes 213 page cropping templates 57
PDF Profiles 140 shapes 213 single text line 240 spot colors 270 creep 163 crop box definition 50
Cropping tool using 57
CT See continuous-tone layer
D
default attributes of text and line art using ~ for new objects 31 deleting anchor point 217 device-dependent color definition 265
pitstop.book Page 303 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM device-independent color definition 266 direction point definition 192 displaying alternate, low-resolution images 60 images faster 60 large images 65 distance between two points measuring 76 document consistency 104 document history consulting 122 viewing 122 documentation set of PitStop Professional overview 12 parts 12 double-byte font definition 256 downsampling images reasons 221 drawing ellipses 213 rectangles 213 duotone object with overprint on an ICC-tagged
CMYK background 291 duplicating
Action Lists 173
PDF Profiles 173 spot colors 272
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
303
E
Edit Log file viewing 121 editing
Action Lists 157 paths 215
PDF Profiles 140
PDF2Go documents 230 session comment 111 single text line 240 spot colors 271 text paragraph 241 text paragraphs 241 vertical text 243 vertical text lines 243 editing sessions of a Certified PDF document comparing 125 ellipses drawing 213 embedding fonts versus subsetting 258
Enfocus metadata 109
EOfill fill attributes 273 error reporting 139 error severity levels definition 139 example 139 errors and warnings explained in Help topics 39 evaluation copy 20
pitstop.book Page 304 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
304
examples
Action List, creating an Action List that changes the page layout of a PDF document 163
Action Lists, changing the properties of line-art objects 150
Action Lists, creating an Action List that changes the font properties of a PDF document 160
Global Change, correcting the page numbering 97 page cropping templates 55 exporting
Action Lists 175
PDF Profiles 175 eyedropper viewing object properties 77
F
features improved ~ in PitStop Professional 7 40 new ~ in PitStop Professional 7 40 file name managing file settings of your PDF documents 70 file name length managing file settings of your PDF documents 70 file size managing file settings of your PDF documents 70 fill attributes fill vs. EOfill 273 specifying 273 finding exact font names 258
Global Change, using a filter 88
Global Changes 88
Help topic, by keyword 15
Help topic, by title 14
PostScript font name 257 fixing view and file settings 63 flip page content 93 font names finding 258 font properties definition 244 font size and style changing 161 font types 252 fonts changing properties 244 changing properties using an Action List 160 embedding 258 finding PostScript font names 258 licensing restrictions 245 managing 251
Multiple Master 254
PostScript Type 1 253
PostScript Type 3 253 standard 14 fonts 252 subsetting 258
TrueType 254 forms manipulating objects in ~ 228
pitstop.book Page 305 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
G
gamut definition 265
Global Changes creating 86 finding 88 organizing 88 gray object on a CMYK background 293 grayscale model 264 greeking text preference 24 wireframe view 47 grid viewing 65 guaranteed preflighting 103 guidelines for creating Action Lists 153 guides adjusting 79 hiding (preference) 33 inserting 79 positioning 78 showing (preference) 33 using 78
H
halftone information of an object viewing 226
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
305
Help accessing from the preflight report 14 accessing from within PitStop Professional 14 finding a ~ topic by keyword 15 finding a ~ topic by title 14 hiding all annotations in a PDF document 59 annotations 59 guides (preference) 33 objects, reasons 198 selected objects 198 high-resolution images speeding up display 60 highlight colors
Certified PDF preferences 35 history of the document viewing 122 hold down ALT and drag to select objects preference 24 hot folders using 166
I
ICC profiles applying 279 checking 220, 279 using 279 using ~ for color conversion 32 using ~ in multiple instances 279 image
See pixel image
pitstop.book Page 306 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
306
image display speed up 60 speed up using alternate images 68 images displaying alternate ~ 60 displaying large ~ 65 importing
Action Lists 174
PDF Profiles 174 improved features in PitStop Professional 7 40 informs action type in Action List 152 inserting guides 78, 79 installation system requirements 17 installing PitStop Professional 18 intent, rendering 267 interpolation methods 221 interpreting a preflight report 180
J
job information providing a Certified PDF document with ~ 114
JPEG compression 223
K
knock out white text 297
L
language changing the ~ of the PitStop Professional user interface 27, 46 large images displaying 65 layout of a document changing 164 licensing restrictions fonts 245 line art definition 188 line-art elements 191 line-work (LW) layer in PDF2Go documents 230 local fonts using 64 locking
Action Lists 156
PDF Profiles 143
LW See line-work layer
pitstop.book Page 307 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
M
magnetic guides preference 33 making
Global Change 86 hidden objects visible 198 managing
Action Lists 171
Adobe Acrobat color management settings 69
Adobe Acrobat display settings 64
Adobe Acrobat view modes settings 67 file settings of your PDF documents 70 page cropping templates 58
PDF Profiles 171
QuickRuns 183 view and file settings 62 manipulating objects in forms 229 page content 90
Manual
see User Guide masking objects 219 measurement units preferences 26 measuring distance between two points 76 media box definition 49 member of CertifiedPDF.net
contributing 130 subscribing 130
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
307
menus of PitStop Professional dedicated ~ 44 integrated ~ 44 metadata 109 methods of compression 223 moving objects 206 objects (by dragging) 206 objects when dragging selection (preference) 25 page content 90
Multiple Master fonts definition 254
N
name filling in the user information in the preferences 36 name and contact details
Certified PDF preferences 36 navigating in Help topics 16 through errors, warnings, fixes and failures 177 new features in PitStop Professional 7 40 new objects using default attributes of text and line art 31 new paths creating 214 node
See anchor point
pitstop.book Page 308 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
308
NOT operator using in Action Lists 153, 154 number of undos preferences 23
O
object attributes copying and pasting 74 object browser in the Enfocus Navigator using 178 object properties viewing 77 object selection tools 195 object statistics 225 viewing 225, 226 object types and overprint modes 288 object-oriented graphics
See line art objects bringing forward 199 changing the stacking order 199 copying and pasting attributes 74 flipping 211 hiding 198 masking 219 moving (by dragging) 206 moving (by specifying exact values) 211 removing 94 replacing 200 rotating (by dragging) 201 rotating (by specifying exact values) 211 scaling (by dragging) 203 scaling (by specifying exact values) 211 selecting 195 sending backward 199 shearing 208 showing 198 stretching 211 viewing properties, using the Eyedropper tool 77 viewing statistics 225, 226 offset copying and pasting objects 31
OpenType fonts definition 255 more information 256 operators using in Action Lists (AND, OR, NOT) 153
OPI information changing 193 removing 193 optimized Certified PDF document definition 128
pitstop.book Page 309 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
OR operator using in Action Lists 153 organizing
Action Lists in categories 176
Global Changes 88
PDF Profiles in categories 176 orientation of page content changing 90 original document choose 112 verifying 115 outlines converting text to ~ 245 output size, viewing 49 overprint theoretical example 284 overprint behavior pitfalls 290 overprint modes and object types 288 overprint preview managing your Adobe Acrobat display settings 64 overprint settings of an object changing 296 overprinting black text 296 making white text knock out 297
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
309
P
page boxes definition 49 example 51 types 49 use 51 viewing 49, 67 page content changing orientation 90 changing position 76, 90 flipping 93 manipulating 90 page content size changing 90 page cropping templates creating 57 definition 53 example 55 managing 57 purpose 54 use 54 using 57 page layout changing using an Action List 163 page numbering adding 96 changing 96 password to lock a PDF Profile 143 to lock an Action List 156
pitstop.book Page 310 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
310
paths creating 214 definition 191 editing 215
PDF editing in a Certified PDF workflow 104 issues 104
PDF font substitution 257
PDF Profiles comparing 38 creating 140 definition 136 duplicating 173 editing 140 error level options 139 exporting 175 importing 174 locking with a password 143 predefined 140 replacing in a Certified PDF document 116
PDF properties groups 138
PDF Specifications on CertifiedPDF.net 129
PDF version preventing from changing 34
PDF workflow concept 102 conventional 106
PDF2Go
TM
documents, editing 230 perceptual remapping 267 pitfalls of overprint behavior 290
PitStop Automate 166
PitStop Professional buying 20 installing 18 registering 20
PitStop Professional Help set accessing 14
PitStop Professional menus dedicated ~ 44 integrated ~ 44 where to find 44
PitStop Professional toolbars where to find 44
PitStop Server 145, 166 pixel images compressing 223 definition 189 resampling explained 221 viewing attributes 220 viewing the ICC profile 220 viewing the resolution 220 placing PDF documents in PDF documents 227 position of page content changing 90
PostScript fonts finding font names 258
Type 1 253
Type 3 253 predefined PDF Profiles and PDF Profile templates 140
pitstop.book Page 311 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM preferences becoming member of the CertifiedPDF.net community 37 categories 22
CertifiedPDF.net 37 color management 32 colors 28 copy-paste behavior 31 general CertifiedPDF.net ~ 35 general PitStop Professional ~ 23 guides 33 language 27, 46 new objects 31
PDF Profiles 38 personal information 36 processing 34 sharing 22 tools 30 preflight profile
See PDF Profiles preflight report consulting 118 content 180 errors and warning explained in Help topics 39 generating 144 interpreting 180 viewing 118 preflighting
Certified PDF documents 117 definition 136 guaranteed 103 in a Certified PDF workflow 103 issues 103 mechanism 137 regular vs. Certified 144
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide previewing a PDF document 48 primary and secondary highlight color general Certified PDF preferences 35 problem categories 138 problem reporting 139 problem severity levels definition 139 example 139 process results and labeled properties previous versions 139
Product Key 20 properties viewing, using the Eyedropper tool 77 properties of PDF documents 138
311
Q
QuickRuns creating 181 using 181, 182 when to use 181
R
raster image
See pixel image rectangles drawing 213 redoing actions 75
pitstop.book Page 312 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
312
registering PitStop Professional 20 registration marks viewing 49 regular preflight check 144 relative colorimetric remapping 268 remapping absolute colorimetric 269 perceptual 267 relative colorimetric 268 saturation 268 spot colors 271 removing
Action Lists 172 anchor points 217 anchor points, reasons 217 colors from the repository 278 guides from a PDF document 79 objects, inside or outside a selected area 94
PDF Profiles 172 transparency 194 rendering intents definition 267 replacing objects 200
PDF Profile in a Certified PDF document 116 reporting problems 21 reports interpreting 180 preflight, generating 144 viewing and interpreting 180 repository of colors building 277 using 277 resampling a single image 222 multiple images 222 resampling pixel images 221 responsibility
PDF editing issues in a Certified PDF workflow 105
RGB color model 263 roll-back mechanism of a Certified PDF document 108 rotating objects 201 objects by dragging 201 objects by specifying a rotation angle 202 page content 93 running
Action Lists 170
PDF Profiles 170 preflight check 144
S
safe type zone definition 50 safety box definition 50 saturation remapping 268
pitstop.book Page 313 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM saving optimized Certified PDF document 128 snapshots 123, 124 unCertified copies of a PDF document 128 scaling entire page of a PDF document 92 objects 203 objects by dragging 203 page content 91 page content to fit 91 secondary and primary highlight color
Certified PDF preferences 35 security locking a PDF Profile with a password 143 locking an Action List with a password 156 segment definition 191 selected area removing objects 94 selecting a single text segment 237 multiple adjacent text segments 237 multiple nonadjacent text segments 237 objects 195, 196 one specific object 195 similar objects 197 text 236 text on a single text line 238 text on multiple lines in a paragraph 239 text segments with similar properties 238 selections action type in Action List 152 sending objects backward 199
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
313
session comment adding 111 editing 111 setting
Certified PDF user identification 110 color management preferences 32
Enfocus preferences 22 personal identification 110 preferences for your CertifiedPDF.net account 37 updating preference options 131 shapes creating 213 sharing preferences 22 shearing objects 208 show center selection handle preference 23 show text greeked in wireframe mode preference 24 show the Enfocus Navigator or the preflight report preference 34 showing all annotations in a PDF document 59 guides (preference) 33 objects 198 selected objects 198 size of page content changing 90 snap to grid managing your Adobe Acrobat display settings 65
pitstop.book Page 314 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
314
snapshots blended into one document 126 comparing 125 explained 123 saving 123 viewing 123
Specifications on CertifiedPDF.net
checking for updated ~ 130 definition 129 speed up image display 68 speeding up image display 60, 61 preference 25 splitting text segments into words or characters 247 spot colors definition 270 using 270 stacked objects changing the stacking order 199 stamping a PDF document 112 standard 14 fonts 252 starting
Certified PDF workflow for a PDF document 112
PitStop Professional 19 statistics viewing 225 status of the Certified workflow consulting 119 stroke attributes changing 273 specifying 273 structure of a variable 97 subsampling definition 222 subscribing becoming member of the CertifiedPDF.net community 130 member of CertifiedPDF.net 130 subsetting fonts 258 support getting ~ 21 system information viewing 110 system requirements 17
T
tagging images with an ICC profile 280 text or line art with an ICC profile 279 tasks automating using Action Lists 101, 149 automating using hot folders 166 technical support getting ~ 21
pitstop.book Page 315 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM text converting to outlines 245 editing a paragraph 241 editing a single line 240 greeking 24, 47 making black text overprint 296 making white text knock out 297 vertical (editing) 243 vs. segments 236 transforming objects by specifying exact values 211 transparency grid viewing 66 transparency of objects changing 194 trial version 20 trim viewing a PDF document’s ~ 52 trim box definition 50 viewing 49 troubleshooting
PitStop Professional is not accessible in Adobe
Acrobat 19
TrueType fonts definition 254 types fonts 252 page boxes 49
Enfocus PitStop Professional User Guide
315
U
unCertified copy of a PDF document saving 128 undoing actions 75 untagging images (ICC profiles) 279 updates on CertifiedPDF.net
checking 130
User Guide (PDF) accessing 12 using guides reasons 78
V
variables definition 96 structure 97 vector graphics
See line art verifying original document 115 original source document 115 vertical text editing 243
pitstop.book Page 316 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
316
viewing 225 alternate images 68 annotations 59, 68 bleed 49 document history 122
Edit Log file 121 grid 65 halftone information of an object 226 image size 220 information outside of the crop box 51 object attributes 77 object statistics 225, 226 page boxes 49, 67
PDF document in wireframe view 47 pixel image attributes 220 preflight report 118 preview mode 48 properties of a pixel image 220 registration marks 49 reports 180 snapshot 123 statistics of selected objects 225 transparency grid 66 trim box 49 wireframe mode 48
W
warnings preferences 25 problem severity level 139 white text making ~ knock out 297 wireframe view definition 47 when to use 47 work area of PitStop Professional in Adobe
Acrobat 44 working spaces and color profiles 69 working with a color repository 277
Z
ZIP compression definition 223
pitstop.book Page 317 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
pitstop.book Page 318 Monday, June 19, 2006 5:51 PM
Enfocus - International
Bellevue 5 / 1101
9050 Gent
Belgium
T: +32 9 269 16 90
F: +32 9 269 16 91 [email protected]
www.enfocus.com
Enfocus - North America
16000 Ventura Blvd, # 910
Encino, CA 91436
United States
Sales: (888)-ENFOCUS
T: +1 818 501 2380
F: +1 818 501 2387 [email protected]
www.enfocus.com
Stáhnout
Reklama