PTC Optegra Release 6 EPD.Connect User Guide
Reklama
Reklama
EPD
®
.Connect
User Guide
Optegra
®
Release 6
DOC40159-012
Parametric Technology Corporation
Copyright © 2001 Parametric Technology Corporation. All Rights Reserved.
User documentation from Parametric Technology Corporation (PTC) is subject to copyright laws of the United
States and other countries and is provided under a license agreement, which restricts copying, disclosure, and use of such documentation. PTC hereby grants to the licensed user the right to make copies in printed form of
PTC user documentation provided on software or documentation media, but only for internal, noncommercial use by the licensed user in accordance with the license agreement under which the applicable software and documentation are licensed. Any copy made hereunder shall include the Parametric Technology Corporation copyright notice and any other proprietary notice provided by PTC. User documentation may not be disclosed, transferred, or modified without the prior written consent of PTC and no authorization is granted to make copies for such purposes.
Information described in this document is furnished for general information only, is subject to change without notice, and should not be construed as a warranty or commitment by PTC. PTC assumes no responsibility or liability for any errors or inaccuracies that may appear in this document.
The software described in this document is provided under written license agreement, contains valuable trade secrets and proprietary information, and is protected by the copyright laws of the United States and other countries. UNAUTHORIZED USE OF SOFTWARE OR ITS DOCUMENTATION CAN RESULT IN CIVIL
DAMAGES AND CRIMINAL PROSECUTION.
Registered Trademarks of Parametric Technology Corporation or a Subsidiary
Advanced Surface Design, CADDS, CADDShade, Computervision, Computervision Services,
Electronic Product Definition, EPD, HARNESSDESIGN, Info*Engine, InPart, MEDUSA, Optegra,
Parametric Technology, Parametric Technology Corporation, Pro/ENGINEER, Pro/HELP, Pro/INTRALINK,
Pro/MECHANICA, Pro/TOOLKIT, PTC, PT/Products, Windchill, InPart logo, and PTC logo.
Trademarks of Parametric Technology Corporation or a Subsidiary
3DPAINT, Associative Topology Bus, Behavioral Modeler, BOMBOT, CDRS, CounterPart, CV, CVact, CVaec,
CVdesign, CV-DORS, CVMAC, CVNC, CVToolmaker, DesignSuite, DIMENSION III, DIVISION, DVSAFEWORK,
DVS, e-Series, EDE, e/ENGINEER, Electrical Design Entry, Expert Machinist, Expert Toolmaker,
Flexible Engineering, i-Series, ICEM, Import Data Doctor, Information for Innovation, ISSM, MEDEA,
ModelCHECK, NC Builder, Nitidus, PARTBOT, PartSpeak, Pro/ANIMATE, Pro/ASSEMBLY, Pro/CABLING,
Pro/CASTING, Pro/CDT, Pro/CMM, Pro/COMPOSITE, Pro/CONVERT, Pro/DATA for PDGS, Pro/DESIGNER,
Pro/DESKTOP, Pro/DETAIL, Pro/DIAGRAM, Pro/DIEFACE, Pro/DRAW, Pro/ECAD, Pro/ENGINE, Pro/FEATURE,
Pro/FEM-POST, Pro/FLY-THROUGH, Pro/HARNESS-MFG, Pro/INTERFACE for CADDS 5,
Pro/INTERFACE for CATIA, Pro/LANGUAGE, Pro/LEGACY, Pro/LIBRARYACCESS, Pro/MESH, Pro/Model.View,
Pro/MOLDESIGN, Pro/NC-ADVANCED, Pro/NC-CHECK, Pro/NC-MILL, Pro/NC-SHEETMETAL, Pro/NC-TURN,
Pro/NC-WEDM, Pro/NC-Wire EDM, Pro/NCPOST, Pro/NETWORK ANIMATOR, Pro/NOTEBOOK, Pro/PDM,
Pro/PHOTORENDER, Pro/PHOTORENDER TEXTURE LIBRARY, Pro/PIPING, Pro/PLASTIC ADVISOR,
Pro/PLOT, Pro/POWER DESIGN, Pro/PROCESS, Pro/REPORT, Pro/REVIEW, Pro/SCAN-TOOLS,
Pro/SHEETMETAL, Pro/SURFACE, Pro/VERIFY, Pro/Web.Link, Pro/Web.Publish, Pro/WELDING,
Product Structure Navigator, PTC i-Series, Shaping Innovation, Shrinkwrap, The Product Development Company,
Virtual Design Environment, Windchill e-Series, CV-Computervision logo, DIVISION logo, and ICEM logo.
Third-Party Trademarks
Oracle is a registered trademark of Oracle Corporation. Windows and Windows NT are registered trademarks of
Microsoft Corporation. Java and all Java based marks are trademarks or registered trademarks of Sun
Microsystems, Inc. CATIA is a registered trademark of Dassault Systems. PDGS is a registered trademark of Ford
Motor Company. SAP and R/3 are registered trademarks of SAP AG Germany. FLEXlm is a registered trademark of GLOBEtrotter Software, Inc. VisTools library is copyrighted software of Visual Kinematics, Inc. (VKI) containing confidential trade secret information belonging to VKI. HOOPS graphics system is a proprietary software product of, and copyrighted by, Tech Soft America, Inc. All other brand or product names are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective holders.
UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT RESTRICTED RIGHTS LEGEND
This document and the software described herein are Commercial Computer Documentation and Software, pursuant to FAR 12.212(a)-(b) or DFARS 227.7202-1(a) and 227.7202-3(a), and are provided to the Government under a limited commercial license only. For procurements predating the above clauses, use, duplication, or disclosure by the Government is subject to the restrictions set forth in subparagraph (c)(1)(ii) of the Rights in
Technical Data and Computer Software Clause at DFARS 252.227-7013 or Commercial Computer
Software-Restricted Rights at FAR 52.227-19, as applicable.
Parametric Technology Corporation, 140 Kendrick Street, Needham, MA 02494-2714
8 January 2001
Table of Contents
Preface
Related Documents ________________________________________ xxi
Book Conventions __________________________________________ xxii
Online User Documentation ________________________________ xxiii
Printing Documentation ___________________________________ xxiii
Resources and Services ____________________________________ xxiv
Documentation Comments ________________________________ xxiv
EPD.Connect Overview
About EPD.Connect _____________________________________________ 1-2
An EPD.Connect Scenario _______________________________________ 1-3
Advantages of EPD.Connect__________________________________ 1-7
EPD.Connect Components ______________________________________ 1-8
Basic Components ___________________________________________ 1-8
Information Browser________________________________________ 1-8
Product Structure Window ________________________________ 1-10
Data Browser _____________________________________________ 1-12
3-Dimensional Viewer _____________________________________ 1-13
Optional Components _______________________________________ 1-14
Database ________________________________________________ 1-14
Dynamic Application Interfaces ___________________________ 1-14
EPD.Visualizer ____________________________________________ 1-15
MockUp _________________________________________________ 1-15
Web Browser _____________________________________________ 1-16
EPD.Connect User Guide Contents-v
EPD.Connect Support for Topology Bus __________________________ 1-17
Limitations and Restrictions __________________________________ 1-18
Accessing and Exiting EPD.Connect _____________________________ 1-19
Exiting EPD.Connect _________________________________________ 1-19
Customizing EPD.Connect ______________________________________ 1-20
Customizing with Perl _____________________________________ 1-20
Symmetry in EPD.Connect ______________________________________ 1-21
Symmetry ________________________________________________ 1-21
Mirroring _________________________________________________ 1-21
Components Modified During Mirroring _______________________ 1-22
Features ____________________________________________________ 1-23
Limitations and Restrictions __________________________________ 1-24
SYMMETRY-FLAG Attribute ___________________________________ 1-24
Navigator License Considerations in EPD.Connect _______________ 1-26
Restrictions__________________________________________________ 1-26
Where to Look for Information __________________________________ 1-27
Using the Product Structure Window
Product Structure Window ________________________________________ 2-2
Working with Multiple Product Structure Windows _______________ 2-2
Limitations _________________________________________________ 2-2
Using the Product Structure Window_______________________________ 2-3
Product Structure Window Toolbar _____________________________ 2-4
EPD.Connect Toolbar for the Product Structure Window _________ 2-5
Mouse Behavior _______________________________________________ 2-6
Creating a New Product Structure Tree ____________________________ 2-8
Opening a Product Structure Tree _________________________________ 2-9
Opening a Product Structure Tree from a Local Disk ____________ 2-9
Displaying Subtree Components _____________________________ 2-10
Retrieving Associated Attributes ______________________________ 2-11
Opening a Product Structure with TIM Components ___________ 2-11
Contents-vi EPD.Connect User Guide
Closing and Expanding Reference Components ________________ 2-12
Expanding One or More Reference Components _____________ 2-12
Refreshing Expanded Reference Components ________________ 2-12
Closing One or More Reference Components _________________ 2-13
Expanding and Closing Hidden Reference Components_______ 2-13
Hiding Components ____________________________________________ 2-14
Example _________________________________________________ 2-14
Editing Component Attributes ___________________________________ 2-15
Defining Assembly Attributes and Values Externally ____________ 2-17
Using Local Memory for Tree Manipulation _______________________ 2-19
Compress Mode __________________________________________ 2-20
Comparing Two Trees___________________________________________ 2-21
Obtaining a Comparison Report __________________________ 2-24
Saving a Report __________________________________________ 2-25
Printing a Report__________________________________________ 2-25
Comparing TIM Components_________________________________ 2-25
Saving and Closing a Product Structure Tree _____________________ 2-26
Saving a Product Structure Tree Locally ______________________ 2-26
Saving a Product Structure Tree as a New Tree ________________ 2-26
Saving a Subset of the Tree __________________________________ 2-27
Saving the TIM Components of a Product Structure Tree _______ 2-28
Closing a Product Structure Tree _____________________________ 2-28
Status and Report Windows ____________________________________ 2-29
Session Summary ____________________________________________ 2-29
General Tab______________________________________________ 2-30
Structure Tab _____________________________________________ 2-30
Component Status __________________________________________ 2-31
Component Comparison Status _____________________________ 2-32
ADRAW Items _______________________________________________ 2-33
Indicator Key________________________________________________ 2-33
Clip Board __________________________________________________ 2-34
Audit Log ___________________________________________________ 2-34
Working with Multiple CVPATHS _________________________________ 2-35
EPD.Connect User Guide Contents-vii
Selecting a CVPATH _________________________________________ 2-36
Editing a CVPATH ___________________________________________ 2-37
Printing and Displaying Reports _________________________________ 2-39
Printing Product Structures ______________________________________ 2-42
Plotting a Tree Structure ________________________________________ 2-44
Creating a Binary CGM File __________________________________ 2-44
Plotting a Tree_______________________________________________ 2-46
Plotting from the File ______________________________________ 2-46
Plotting from the Product Structure Tree ___________________ 2-48
Setting Variables for Plotting _________________________________ 2-49
Launching Applications from Product Structure Components _____ 2-51
Launching Applications______________________________________ 2-51
Defining Component/Application Associations _______________ 2-51
Defining an Application Environment ______________________ 2-52
Associating Components with Applications ________________ 2-53
Editing the launch.ini file __________________________________ 2-53
Editing the cvepd.ini File _________________________________ 2-54
Creating and Editing a Product Structure Tree
The Edit Menu____________________________________________________ 3-2
Options for Editing Components _______________________________ 3-3
Editing the Properties of a TIM Component _____________________ 3-3
Limitations and Restrictions__________________________________ 3-3
Adding Components ____________________________________________ 3-4
Creating New Components ____________________________________ 3-4
Adding a Component with Mirror Flag _______________________ 3-7
Example ___________________________________________________ 3-7
Adding a Component on a Compressed Node _________________ 3-7
Adding TIM Components ______________________________________ 3-8
Editing the Tree Structure _________________________________________ 3-9
Cutting and Pasting the Components __________________________ 3-9
Copying Components _______________________________________ 3-10
Copying and Pasting from the Data Browser __________________ 3-11
Contents-viii EPD.Connect User Guide
Undoing and Restoring Previous Editing _______________________ 3-12
Swapping Component Positions _____________________________ 3-12
Reordering Components_____________________________________ 3-13
Positioning Components __________________________________ 3-13
Sorting Components ______________________________________ 3-14
Setting Global Attributes ________________________________________ 3-16
Copying Instance Attributes _________________________________ 3-17
Setting Revision Levels __________________________________________ 3-18
Setting Revision Levels of a Component ___________________ 3-18
Changing the Revision Levels of a Component_____________ 3-18
Customizing the Product Structure Tree Window
Selecting and Displaying Components ___________________________ 4-2
Setting the Component Selection __________________________ 4-2
Setting Component Text Display ____________________________ 4-3
Setting the Component Text Font ___________________________ 4-5
Setting the Component Display Rules_____________________________ 4-6
Creating Access Indicator Rules ______________________________ 4-6
Changing a Rule __________________________________________ 4-9
Deleting a Rule ____________________________________________ 4-9
Selecting Components by the Access Indicator _____________ 4-9
Creating Highlighting Rules _________________________________ 4-10
Highlighting by Value _____________________________________ 4-12
Highlighting by Attribute __________________________________ 4-12
Creating Display Rules _______________________________________ 4-14
Example _________________________________________________ 4-16
Creating a Display Rules Template ___________________________ 4-17
Retrieving a Template _______________________________________ 4-18
Defining the Display State for TIM Components___________________ 4-19
Saving Display States ___________________________________________ 4-20
Restoring Display States_________________________________________ 4-21
Compressing a Display Structure ________________________________ 4-22
Uncompressed Node ________________________________________ 4-22
EPD.Connect User Guide Contents-ix
Compressed Node __________________________________________ 4-23
Example: Screws in an Assembly __________________________ 4-24
Advantages ________________________________________________ 4-24
Limitations __________________________________________________ 4-24
Browsing for Components ______________________________________ 4-25
Creating and Clearing Display Conditions _______________________ 4-28
View Menu _________________________________________________ 4-28
Clear Menu ________________________________________________ 4-30
Using the 3D Viewer
About 3D Viewer _________________________________________________ 5-2
Mouse Behavior _______________________________________________ 5-2
3D Viewer Operations _________________________________________ 5-3
Setting the Viewer Session ________________________________________ 5-5
Creating a New Session________________________________________ 5-5
Opening a Graphics File from the 3D Viewer ____________________ 5-5
Opening a Graphics File from the Product Structure Window ____ 5-6
Setting the View _________________________________________________ 5-7
Resetting the Primary View _____________________________________ 5-7
Setting a New Primary View ____________________________________ 5-7
Viewing All Components_______________________________________ 5-7
Zooming ______________________________________________________ 5-7
Setting the Camera ______________________________________________ 5-8
Setting the Camera Position ___________________________________ 5-8
Setting the Camera Target_____________________________________ 5-8
Setting the Camera Position and Target ________________________ 5-8
Measuring Distance ______________________________________________ 5-9
Measuring Distance from Camera to Point ______________________ 5-9
Measuring Distance Between Two Points________________________ 5-9
Rendering _____________________________________________________ 5-11
Rendering Methods _________________________________________ 5-11
Back Facing Polygons _______________________________________ 5-12
Contents-x EPD.Connect User Guide
Display Buffering ____________________________________________ 5-12
Moving the Camera ____________________________________________ 5-13
Moving the Camera in an Angular Direction __________________ 5-13
Moving the Camera in a Linear Direction _____________________ 5-14
Setting the Working Units________________________________________ 5-16
Selecting and Scrolling _________________________________________ 5-18
Running Custom Reports _____________________________________ 5-18
Selecting Application Objects __________________________________ 5-19
Display Menu __________________________________________________ 5-20
Loading Tree Components into the 3D Viewer (Load) _________ 5-21
Deleting Components from the 3D Viewer (Delete)____________ 5-21
Converting CADDS Parts to Graphic Files (Convert) ___________ 5-21
Showing Components (Show) ________________________________ 5-22
Hiding Components (Hide) ___________________________________ 5-22
Selecting Components (Select) ______________________________ 5-23
Incrementally Selecting Components in the 3D Viewer _____ 5-23
Selecting Components in the 3D Viewer ___________________ 5-23
Deselecting Components (Deselect) _________________________ 5-24
Incrementally Deselecting Components in the 3D Viewer ___ 5-25
Highlighting Components (Highlight) _________________________ 5-25
Highlighting the Selected Components ____________________ 5-25
Highlighting the Components Incrementally________________ 5-25
Highlighting Only Selected Components ___________________ 5-26
Highlighting Only Highlighted Components ________________ 5-26
Applying Transparency (Transparency) _______________________ 5-26
Resetting Colors (Color)______________________________________ 5-27
Displaying Polygons (Options) ________________________________ 5-27
Using the Display Options — Examples ________________________ 5-28
Displaying Selected Components _________________________ 5-28
Displaying Highlighted Components _______________________ 5-28
Hiding Only Selected Components ________________________ 5-29
Exiting the 3D Viewer ___________________________________________ 5-29
EPD.Connect User Guide Contents-xi
Clash Detection and Zoning
Detecting Clashes _______________________________________________ 6-2
Viewing Clash Detection Results _______________________________ 6-4
Hard Clash Detection_______________________________________ 6-4
Soft Clash Detection________________________________________ 6-4
Reporting Clash Detection Results ______________________________ 6-5
Zoning ___________________________________________________________ 6-6
Activating Zones ___________________________________________ 6-6
Working with Vault Data
The Data Browser Window ________________________________________ 7-2
Accessing the Vault ___________________________________________ 7-3
Using the Database Menu Options ________________________________ 7-4
Vault Signon and Signoff Procedures ___________________________ 7-5
Viewing Application Directories _______________________________ 7-6
Setting Vault Access Defaults __________________________________ 7-7
Invoking Database Transfer Actions ____________________________ 7-8
Transferring Data and Starting Applications __________________ 7-9
Deferred Vault Transactions _________________________________ 7-9
Searching for a Component _________________________________ 7-10
Sending and Responding to Messages _______________________ 7-11
Sending Messages to Other Users _________________________ 7-12
Reading Messages _______________________________________ 7-13
Changing the Vault User Password ___________________________ 7-14
Refreshing the DOD _________________________________________ 7-14
Refreshing the DOD Manually _____________________________ 7-15
Refreshing the DOD Automatically ________________________ 7-15
Using the Vault Menu Options___________________________________ 7-16
Signing Out Vault Items ______________________________________ 7-17
Copying Vault Items to the Local Directory ___________________ 7-17
Updating Vault Items ________________________________________ 7-17
Replacing Vault Items _______________________________________ 7-18
Unlocking Vault Items________________________________________ 7-18
Contents-xii EPD.Connect User Guide
Storing Items in Vault ________________________________________ 7-18
Storing a Single Item ______________________________________ 7-18
Storing Multiple Items _____________________________________ 7-19
Copying Vault Items _________________________________________ 7-22
Changing the Attributes of a Vault Item ______________________ 7-23
Editing Vault Attributes_______________________________________ 7-24
Changing the Status or Revision of a Vault Item _______________ 7-25
Reviewing Vault Items _______________________________________ 7-26
Requesting Reviews ______________________________________ 7-26
Requesting a Review of a Single Vault Item ________________ 7-27
Requesting a Review of Multiple Vault Items _______________ 7-28
Responding to Reviews ______________________________________ 7-30
Responding to a Review of a Single Vault Item _____________ 7-30
Responding to a Review of Multiple Vault Items ____________ 7-32
Working with Distributed Vaults _______________________________ 7-34
Registering Objects _______________________________________ 7-34
Unregistering Objects _____________________________________ 7-35
Subscribing Objects ______________________________________ 7-36
Unsubscribing Objects ____________________________________ 7-39
Distributing Objects _______________________________________ 7-39
Listing Information about a Vault Item ________________________ 7-40
Obtaining Information from the Vault____________________________ 7-42
Querying Vault Data______________________________________ 7-42
Customizing Query Results ________________________________ 7-45
Saving the Query Results __________________________________ 7-46
Opening a Tree Structure from the Vault __________________ 7-47
Working with Vault Data Using the Information Browser ___________ 7-49
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
Overview _______________________________________________________ 8-2
EPD.Connect Interface for CADDS _______________________________ 8-3 epdconn.ini __________________________________________________ 8-3 caddsrb.ini ___________________________________________________ 8-7
EPD Interface for CADDS Support ________________________________ 8-8
General Process Flow ________________________________________ 8-11
EPD.Connect User Guide Contents-xiii
Contents-xiv
Tree Structure and CAMU _________________________________ 8-11
Tree Structure Only _______________________________________ 8-11
Opening an Existing Assembly __________________________________ 8-14
Opening an Assembly Using the Data Browser Menu _______ 8-16
Opening an Assembly Using the Information Browser _______ 8-16
Opening a TIM Assembly_____________________________________ 8-16
Opening a New Assembly ______________________________________ 8-17
Opening Another Assembly from CAMU ______________________ 8-17
Opening an Assembly Using the Product Structure Menu ___ 8-18
Activating an Assembly From the CADDS LDM _____________ 8-18
Working on an Assembly________________________________________ 8-19
Using Attributes _____________________________________________ 8-19
Symmetry ___________________________________________________ 8-20
Using the Associative Topology Bus ______________________________ 8-21
Importing Pro/ENGINEER Parts and Assemblies ________________ 8-21
Exporting CADDS 5 Parts and Assemblies _____________________ 8-21
Verifying TIM Parts and Assemblies____________________________ 8-22
Updating TIM Parts and Assemblies ___________________________ 8-22
Setting Variables for TIM Parts and Assemblies_________________ 8-23
Exiting CAMU and EPD.Connect ________________________________ 8-24
Using the Information Browser Assembly Tab _____________________ 8-25
Information Browser Options _________________________________ 8-25
Query Fields ______________________________________________ 8-25
File Menu ___________________________________________________ 8-26
Filing an Assembly ________________________________________ 8-27
Filing an Assembly with Options ___________________________ 8-27
Quitting Suspended Parts _________________________________ 8-27
Quitting and Exiting the Active Assembly __________________ 8-27
Entering the CADDS Local Data Manager _________________ 8-27
Closing the Current EPD.Connect Session __________________ 8-27
Edit Menu ___________________________________________________ 8-28
CAMU Application Toolbar___________________________________ 8-29
Copying and Pasting from the Data Browser __________________ 8-32
Limitations _______________________________________________ 8-33
EPD.Connect User Guide
Performing Vault Operations on CADDS _________________________ 8-34
Overview ________________________________________________ 8-34
Features _________________________________________________ 8-35
EPD Interface to CADDS ________________________________________ 8-36
Store, Update, and Replace Commands __________________ 8-36
Notes ____________________________________________________ 8-36
GET Command ___________________________________________ 8-37
READ Command _________________________________________ 8-37
Working with EPD.Connect______________________________________ 8-38
Working with the Product Structure Window___________________ 8-38
Working with the Data Browser _______________________________ 8-38
Creating Preprocessing and Postprocessing Routines __________ 8-39
Vault Operations on CAMU Objects __________________________ 8-40
Pro/FLY-THROUGH Integration with EPD.Connect
Overview _______________________________________________________ 9-2
Features _____________________________________________________ 9-2
Advantages _________________________________________________ 9-3
Limitations ___________________________________________________ 9-3
Setting the Pro/FLY-THROUGH Environment________________________ 9-4
For IBM AIX Platform __________________________________________ 9-5
System Requirements ____________________________________________ 9-6
Hardware and Operating Systems __________________________ 9-6
Memory and Disk Space Requirements _____________________ 9-6
Licenses___________________________________________________ 9-6
Accessing Pro/FLY-THROUGH _____________________________________ 9-7
Display Menu Options ________________________________________ 9-7
Using the EPD Interface for MEDUSA
Overview ______________________________________________________ 10-2
File-Naming Conventions ____________________________________ 10-2
Features ____________________________________________________ 10-3
EPD.Connect User Guide Contents-xv
Limitations __________________________________________________ 10-3
Setting up MEDUSA Support on the Vault ________________________ 10-4
Creating Preprocessing and Postprocessing Routines_____________ 10-5
Sequence of Actions for MEDUSA Objects _______________________ 10-6
Working in EPD.Connect ________________________________________ 10-8
Using the EPD Interface for Pro/ENGINEER
Overview ______________________________________________________ 11-2
Features ______________________________________________________ 11-3
Limitations _____________________________________________________ 11-4
EPD Interface for Pro/ENGINEER Support _________________________ 11-5
Understanding the EPD Interface for
Pro/ENGINEER __________________________________________________ 11-6
Supported Objects and Optegra Commands _________________ 11-6
The store, update, and replace Commands __________________ 11-7
The get and read Commands________________________________ 11-7
Preprocessing and Postprocessing ______________________________ 11-8
Working in EPD.Connect ________________________________________ 11-9
Working with the Information Browser _________________________ 11-9
Working with the Data Browser ______________________________ 11-10
Using the EPD Interface for CATIA
Overview ______________________________________________________ 12-2
Features _______________________________________________________ 12-3
Limitations _____________________________________________________ 12-4
Working with CATIA Data in the Vault ___________________________ 12-5
Setting Up CATIA Support on Vault ________________________ 12-5
Querying Vault for CATIA Data ____________________________ 12-6
Working in EPD.Connect ________________________________________ 12-7
Contents-xvi EPD.Connect User Guide
Working with the Information Browser _________________________ 12-7
Working with the Data Browser _______________________________ 12-7
Working with 3D Viewer and EPD.Visualizer ____________________ 12-8
Working with CATIA Assemblies or Models __________________ 12-8
Using the EPD Interface for STEP AP203
Overview ______________________________________________________ 13-2
Features _______________________________________________________ 13-3
Displaying STEP Folders and Files ______________________________ 13-4
Opening Product Structures That Originate as STEP Files________ 13-5
Viewing a STEP File’s Geometry_______________________________ 13-6
Working with STEP Product Structures _________________________ 13-6
Creating STEP Output ___________________________________________ 13-7
Converting STEP Files to and from CADDS _____________________ 13-8
Converting STEP Files to CADDS Files _______________________ 13-8
Converting CADDS Files to STEP Files ______________________ 13-10
Converting STEP Files to CAMU Assemblies ___________________ 13-11
Performing EPD.Connect Actions on STEP Files________________ 13-12
Reviewing STEP File Attributes and Component Status _____ 13-12
Generating Reports______________________________________ 13-12
Working with STEP Data in the Vault _________________________ 13-12
Limitations ____________________________________________________ 13-13
Working with AEC Application Objects in EPD.Connect
Overview ______________________________________________________ 14-2
Features _______________________________________________________ 14-3
Limitations _____________________________________________________ 14-4
Working with Application Objects in the
Product Structure Window ______________________________________ 14-5
Notes _______________________________________________________ 14-6
Working with 3D Viewer _________________________________________ 14-7
EPD.Connect User Guide Contents-xvii
Working with EPD.Visualizer _____________________________________ 14-8
Detecting Clashes ________________________________________ 14-9
Setting up AEC Support for EPD.Connect _______________________ 14-10
Correlating AEC Objects with Visualization Applications _________ 14-11
Generating Reference Nodes for Application Objects___________ 14-12
Working with ASM Objects _______________________________ 14-12
Working with AEC Cable Objects _________________________ 14-12
Generating Reports for Reference Nodes ____________________ 14-12
Using aec2ps on a CADDS Model ______________________________ 14-13 aec2ps.ini__________________________________________________ 14-13
Interacting with CAMU from EPD.Connect - An
Alternate Approach
Overview _______________________________________________________ A-2
Notes _____________________________________________________ A-2
Features ________________________________________________________ A-3
Generating and Activating a Single DB ___________________________ A-4
Reading Orientations from CAMU ________________________________ A-7
Limitations and Restrictions ______________________________________ A-9
Options for System Administrators
Creating Environments for Applications____________________________ B-2
Defining Applications_____________________________________________ B-5
Setting Application Project Relationships __________________________ B-8
Switching the DOD _______________________________________________ B-9
Making the Switch___________________________________________ B-10
Setting Interface Preferences for Users___________________________ B-11
Contents-xviii EPD.Connect User Guide
Process Flow of EPD Interface Commands
Introduction_____________________________________________________ C-2
Processing Phases _______________________________________________ C-3
Phase I — Initial Processing _________________________________ C-3
Phase II — Execution _______________________________________ C-3
Phase III — Cleanup _______________________________________ C-3
Locating Objects for Vault Commands ___________________________ C-5
STORE _____________________________________________________ C-5
GET _______________________________________________________ C-5
READ _____________________________________________________ C-6
EPD.Connect User Guide Contents-xix
Preface
EPD.Connect User Guide provides the EPD.Connect users with a detailed overview of the capabilties of EPD.Connect and the specific procedures required in order to accomplish the following tasks:
• Create, edit, and view product structure trees and their component attributes
• Display the three-dimensional geometry of any component
• Access company, supplier, or personel information that is pertinent to job responsibilities
Optional EPD.Connect add-ons provide the following additional capabilities:
• Monitor the progress of work processes being followed by members of the product development team
• Work with the design application being used to develop a product
• Perform configuration management tasks
• Display product parts and assemblies
Related Documents
The following documents may be helpful as you use EPD.Connect User Guide:
• AccessWare User Guide
• Concurrent Assembly Mock- Up User Guide and Menu Reference
• Information Browser User Guide
• Installing EPD.Connect, EPD Roles, and EPD.Visualizer
• Vault End User Guide
EPD.Connect User Guide xxi
Preface
Book Conventions
The following table illustrates and explains conventions used in writing about
Optegra applications.
Convention
EPD_HOME
Menu selections
Command buttons and options
User input and code
System output
Parameter and variable names
Commands and keywords
Text string
Integer
Real number
#
%
$
>
Keystrokes
Example
cd
$EPD_HOME/install
(UNIX)
Explanation
Represents the default path where the current version of the product is installed.
cd
%EPD_HOME%\install
(Windows)
Vault > Check Out > Lock
Mandatory
check box,
Add
button,
Description
text box
Wheel_Assy_details
Indicates a command that you can choose from a menu.
Names selectable items from dialog boxes: options, buttons, toggles, text boxes, and switches.
Enter the text in a text box or on a command line.
-xvf /dev/rst0
Enter command>
plot_config
Where system output and user input are mixed, user input is in bold.
Indicates system responses.
CT_struct.aename
tar -cvf /dev/rst0 filename
Supply an appropriate substitute for each parameter or variable; for example, replace filename
with an actual file name.
The ciaddobj
command creates an instance of a binder.
Shows command syntax.
n x
"SRFGROUPA"
or
’SRFGROUPA’
Shows text strings. Enclose text strings with single or double quotation marks.
Supply an integer for n.
Supply a real number for x.
# mkdir /cdrom
Indicates the root (superuser) prompt on command lines.
% rlogin remote_system_name -l root
Indicates the C shell prompt on command lines.
$ rlogin remote_system_name -l root
Indicates the Bourne shell prompt on command lines.
> copy
filename
Return or
Control-g
Indicates the MS-DOS prompt on command lines.
Indicates the keys to press on a keyboard.
xxii EPD.Connect User Guide
Preface
Online User Documentation
Online documentation for each Optegra book is provided in HTML if the documentation CD-ROM is installed. You can view the online documentation from an HTML browser or from the
HELP command.
You can also view the online documentation directly from the CD-ROM without installing it.
From an HTML Browser:
1.
Navigate to the directory where the documents are installed. For example,
$EPD_HOME/data/html/htmldoc/ (UNIX)
%EPD_HOME%\data\html\htmldoc\ (Windows NT)
2.
Click mainmenu.html
. A list of available Optegra documentation appears.
3.
Click the book title you want to view.
From the HELP Command:
To view the online documentation for your specific application, click
HELP
.
(Consult the documentation specific to your application for more information.)
From the Documentation CD-ROM:
1.
Mount the documentation CD-ROM.
2.
Point your browser to:
CDROM_mount_point /htmldoc/mainmenu.html
(UNIX)
CDROM_Drive
:\htmldoc\mainmenu.html
(Windows NT)
Printing Documentation
A PDF (Portable Document Format) file is included on the CD-ROM for each online book. See the first page of each online book for the document number referenced in the PDF file name. Check with your system administrator if you need more information.
You must have Acrobat Reader installed to view and print PDF files.
The default documentation directories are:
• $EPD_HOME/data/html/pdf/doc_number.pdf
(UNIX)
• %EPD_HOME%\data\html\pdf \ doc_number.pdf
(Windows NT)
EPD.Connect User Guide xxiii
Preface
Resources and Services
For resources and services to help you with PTC (Parametric Technology
Corporation) software products, see the PTC Customer Service Guide. It includes instructions for using the World Wide Web or fax transmissions for customer support.
Documentation Comments
PTC welcomes your suggestions and comments. You can send feedback in the following ways:
• Send comments electronically to [email protected].
• Fill out and mail the PTC Documentation Survey located in the PTC Customer
Service Guide.
xxiv EPD.Connect User Guide
Chapter 1
EPD.Connect Overview
This chapter introduces EPD.Connect and provides an overview of its components.
• About EPD.Connect
• An EPD.Connect Scenario
• EPD.Connect Components
• EPD.Connect Support for Topology Bus
• Accessing and Exiting EPD.Connect
• Customizing EPD.Connect
• Symmetry in EPD.Connect
• Navigator License Considerations in EPD.Connect
• Where to Look for Information
EPD.Connect User Guide 1-1
EPD.Connect Overview
About EPD.Connect
About EPD.Connect
EPD.Connect links multiple Electronic Product Definition (EPD) applications in a common desktop environment. It provides simultaneous access to the software tools that are included in an EPD process. It also provides an interconnected EPD work environment.
With EPD.Connect you can:
• Create or open a hierarchical representation (product structure tree) of all the parts that compose a product.
This information is presented in the Product Structure window. Individual parts are displayed in a logical tree structure that shows their relationship to the overall product structure.
• Create or review information such as attributes associated with each part listed in the product structure tree.
• Display the three-dimensional geometry of any part in a Viewer.
• Access company, supplier, or personal information that is pertinent to your job responsibilities.
You can open product data stored in a database, word processing files stored on project disks, and other files stored on a local disk inside the tool that is used to manipulate that data. You can also access internet and intranet sites from
EPD.Connect.
• Access information through the Information Browser. Query the information and display it in the Data Browser.
• Track the work processes followed by members of the product development team. Members of a team can view the project schedules and commitments.
People working on interdependent projects can see how their work relates to that of others.
• Open and work with the design application used for product development. A design engineer can access CADDS, CAMU, CATIA, or MEDUSA parts from within EPD.Connect.
• Use EPD.Visualizer to display product parts and assemblies.
1-2 EPD.Connect User Guide
EPD.Connect Overview
An EPD.Connect Scenario
An EPD.Connect Scenario
This section describes a hypothetical EPD scenario. It assumes that the
EPD.Connect desktop includes Vault and CADDS, both of which are optional components.
In the sample scenario, a design engineer who works for a large automobile manufacturer is responsible for designing the dashboard for a new automobile.
EPD.Connect User Guide 1-3
EPD.Connect Overview
An EPD.Connect Scenario
Before beginning the actual design of the assembly, the designer must become familiar with the other automobile assemblies that are located near the dashboard.
The designer must be aware of the schedule and work processes being followed by the design teams that are working on related assemblies. A designer would perform the following tasks using EPD.Connect to begin work on the dashboard design tasks:
1.
The designer must first become familiar with the product design processes directly related to the dashboard work. With this knowledge, the work can be coordinated with that of the associated teams.
The designer uses the Information Browser to learn about these processes. The
Information Browser is the common interface to access all data sources for the project.
2.
The designer wants to see the number of completed parts in the assembly and the current status of all parts directly related to the dashboard. The work in progress on the windshield and steering mechanism parts are of particular concern. To view the product structure tree, the designer:
a.
Chooses the Structure tab in the Information Browser, which contains a link to the Vault where the assembly structure is stored.
b.
Signs on to the Vault by choosing
Database > Signon
from the menu bar.
c.
d.
Displays all Vault product structure files in the Data Browser by choosing
Vault > List all Product Structures
in the Information Browser. The Data
Browser is explained later in this chapter.
Opens the windshield assembly file in the Product Structure window, by selecting the required file, pressing the right mouse button, and clicking
Open
.
1-4 EPD.Connect User Guide
EPD.Connect Overview
An EPD.Connect Scenario
The Product Structure window displays the selected product structure, as shown in the following figure.
3.
The designer wants to see how many parts in the assembly have been completed and the current status of all parts related to the dashboard, such as the windshield. He can query the properties assigned to the windshield component by:
a.
Choosing
Window > Component Status
from the menu bar.
The Component Status window opens.
b.
Selecting the part for the windshield in the product structure tree.
EPD.Connect User Guide 1-5
EPD.Connect Overview
An EPD.Connect Scenario
Its attributes are displayed in the Component Status window, as shown in the following figure.
1-6
4.
The designer wants to look at the graphical image of the windshield in its current form. To display the windshield assembly in the Viewer:
Choose the
Subassembly Selection
icon in the toolbar.
a.
b.
Select the required component in the Product Structure window.
Open the 3DViewer by choosing
Tools > 3D Viewer.
c.
Choose
Display > Load > Selected
.
The tessellated model of the assembly is displayed in the viewer.
5.
The composite view of the windshield and steering column shows the components that the designer can query individually by selecting them in the
Product Structure window. The selected components are highlighted in the viewer.
This allows the designer to start detailed work on the dashboard.
EPD.Connect User Guide
EPD.Connect Overview
An EPD.Connect Scenario
6.
A component is often modified during the dashboard design process. To change the design, the designer needs write access to the geometry of this component.
To have write access:
a.
Select the component’s node from the product structure tree in the Product
Structure window.
b.
Choose
Database > Vault > Signout
from the menu bar.
7.
The designer needs Read access to refer to the geometry of adjacent components. To have read access:
a.
b.
Select the part in the Product Structure window.
Choose
Database > Vault > Read Specific Rev from the menu bar.
8.
The designer views the components with their dimensions and constraints in the
CAD product used for part design, in this case CADDS. To launch CADDS and open the part:
a.
b.
Choose
Tools > CADDS/CAMU
.
Choose the
Assembly
tab in the Information Browser.
c.
d.
Choose
File > Activate Assembly
.
Identify the name of the assembly.
e.
f.
Select the component node from the product structure tree.
Choose
Open Model
in the dialog box.
9.
The designer begins work on the dashboard.
Advantages of EPD.Connect
The advantages of an EPD.Connect environment are:
• It optimizes collaboration and communication among members of a team. Thus, pertinent information is routed and accessible to all persons involved in a project, regardless of their location or role.
• It can be configured to user preferences and delivers familiar, context-sensitive views of information and applications to all users involved in the process.
• It improves user understanding of complex products and processes, making all aspects of a project accessible to all users.
• It improves information accessibility and allows all users to get information, no matter where it is located.
• It protects existing technology investments and adds value to existing environments and applications.
• It provides process assistants and integrates product and process views.
EPD.Connect User Guide 1-7
EPD.Connect Overview
EPD.Connect Components
EPD.Connect Components
EPD.Connect includes basic components as well as optional add-on components.
Basic Components
The base EPD.Connect system contains the following components.
• Information Browser — You can gain access to business and engineering information.
• Product Structure Window — You can create, edit, browse, and interrogate product and assembly structures.
• Data Browser — You can search and list information about data stored locally and in the Vault. You can also gain access to and update this information.
• Viewer — You can visualize the tessellated files that you create with
3-Dimensional CAD systems. You can select from the 3D Viewer, Visualizer, or MockUp.
Please note: Visualizer and MockUp are optional components. MockUp integration supports the MockUp installation.
Information Browser
Information Browser is a tool that lets you:
• Visualize the information in a hierarchical form irrespective of the source of information.
It breaks all the complex structures into hierarchies and sub-hierarchies.
• Browse information in a comprehensive form irrespective of the type of information.
• Organize and manage data residing on your system.
1-8 EPD.Connect User Guide
EPD.Connect Overview
EPD.Connect Components
The following figure shows a typical Information Browser view.
The Information Browser does the following:
• Supports common window functions like Cut, Copy, Paste, Delete, and
Rename.
Please note: The Cut, Copy, Delete, and Rename functions are not supported for the Vault.
• The behavior of the commands and menus depends on the Service Provider of the data source. The Information Browser just supports the skeleton and extends it to provide a concrete definition according to the requirements of the business.
• The Registry is the core that provides necessary information to simulate this behavior. The EPD.Connect Registry API is detailed in the next section. See the
Information Browser User Guide for details.
Choose the EPD.Connect environment to be activated through the Information
Browser. The environment can work in one of the following modes:
• Product Structure
• Assembly
EPD.Connect User Guide 1-9
EPD.Connect Overview
EPD.Connect Components
Environment availability is contingent upon the options installed. The browser can be customized in response to each user’s needs.
For more information about using the Information Browser, see the Information
Browser User Guide.
Product Structure Window
The Product Structure window is a graphical tool that allows you to create, edit, browse, and query any product structure or assembly.
It provides access to the many components that comprise complex product assemblies.
A product structure is displayed in the Product Structure window as a hierarchical tree showing logical relationships among product components.
The following figure shows a typical Product Structure window.
1-10 EPD.Connect User Guide
EPD.Connect Overview
EPD.Connect Components
The window displays a product structure as a hierarchical tree showing the logical relationships among components and their subassemblies. Each component has identifying attributes that can be edited. Attributes optionally associate a component with an application and assign it a geometric orientation.
You can query assembly and component attributes associated with the displayed product structure.
The common functions supported by the Product Structure window are:
• Browse structure — Use the tree structure to examine the relationships of components in large structures. Traverse large structures using the Structure
Overview window.
• Edit structure — Use the clipboard to rearrange components by cutting and pasting them.
• Reuse design — Reuse designs by referencing them as subassemblies of a product structure.
• Create and edit user-definable and standard attributes — Attach nongraphical information, such as material, supplier, and cost onto any component or component instance. Store attributes into other EPD.Connect applications for enterprise-wide access.
• View information — Use colors on the component tree to represent results of attribute queries.
• Generate reports — Define new reports or customize existing reports to obtain information in a format of your choice.
• Locate component location — Query the database to learn about all assemblies in which a component is used. This allows you to check how extensively a component is used in an assembly before committing to a design change.
• Compare configuration versions — Focus on specific areas of interest by graphically highlighting the differences between versions or revisions of a product structure.
• Integrate product structure with other add-on applications — Mix and match applications across different components within the same assembly. Use multiple application files within a single product structure. You can do the following when the corresponding optional applications are installed in your
EPD.Connect environment:
• Create and modify part geometry using CADDS, CAMU, Pro/ENGINEER,
MEDUSA, CATIA, or AutoCAD.
• Store, retrieve, and replace assembly files using the interface to Vault.
EPD.Connect User Guide 1-11
EPD.Connect Overview
EPD.Connect Components
Data Browser
The Data Browser allows you to transfer data between the local disk and the Vault.
You can search and list information in the Data Browser without opening a configuration tree in the Product Structure window.
1-12
You can open the Data Browser window along with the Product Structure window and work interactively with the files and the tree structure.
EPD.Connect User Guide
3-Dimensional Viewer
The 3-Dimensional Viewer allows you to:
• Visualize the tessellated files that you create with 3-Dimensional CAD systems.
• Perform tasks upon the graphical depiction of the product represented in the hierarchical view of the product.
Use the viewer to display the product represented in the hierarchical Product
Structure window.
The following figure shows the 3-Dimensional Viewer.
EPD.Connect Overview
EPD.Connect Components
For more information about using the 3-Dimensional Viewer, refer to Chapter 5,
“Using the 3D Viewer.”
EPD.Connect User Guide 1-13
EPD.Connect Overview
EPD.Connect Components
Optional Components
There are some optional add-on components. You can use them to complete your
EPD.Connect environment.
• Database
• Dynamic Application Interfaces
• Visualizer Applications
• Web Browser
Database
EPD.Connect can interface with Optegra Vault, which provides features for classifying, sorting, and cataloging data files and simplifies system administration, setup, and archive management.
Dynamic Application Interfaces
EPD.Connect provides interfaces to product life-cycle applications. Files created in these applications can be stored in and retrieved from the Vault.
1-14 EPD.Connect User Guide
EPD.Connect Overview
EPD.Connect Components
The applications supported by EPD.Connect are:
• CADDS /CAMU
• Pro/ENGINEER
• CATIA
• MEDUSA
• STEP
• AutoCAD
EPD.Visualizer
EPD.Visualizer is advanced visualization software that lets you create CAD models from graphical information generated by a variety of CAD systems.
Using EPD.Visualizer you can:
• Enter the CAD models visually and traverse paths through them.
• Record animated movies as you move through the models and play them back later.
• Simulate virtual walk-throughs of 3D scenes such as power or process plants, offshore platforms and ships, manufacturing and office facilities, and civil sites.
These 3D scenes can be accented with lights and specific material surfaces
(such as chrome) to create shadows and reflection for greater realism.
• Access the Database Management System (DBMS) for live engineering data through the SQL interface.
• Analyze complex models through sectioning, interference checking, and path traversal.
MockUp
MockUp is a graphical visualization software that lets you analyze and simulate a variety of 3D CAD models. MockUp provides the following features:
• Management of large assemblies.
• Heterogeneous CAD support.
• Effective Visualization and interaction mechanisms.
• Effective communication tools.
• Multi-user collaboration.
EPD.Connect User Guide 1-15
EPD.Connect Overview
EPD.Connect Components
Web Browser
EPD.Connect allows you to open a Web browser while working in the
EPD.Connect desktop. You can specify browser information in the following fields in the epdconn.ini
file:
Variable
EPD_HTMLBROW_DIR
=
EPD_HTMLBROW_NAME=
EPD_HTMLBROW_CMDFMT=
Description
The directory that contains the browser executable. For example:
/usr/local/bin
The name of the browser. For example: netscape
The required command to remotely communicate with the browser. The command should necessarily include the absolute path name. For example:
/usr/local/bin/netscape3.0
.1/netscape -noraise
-remote ‘openURL(%s)’
You can directly access URLs relevant to your work by adding them to your
Information Browser. When you click on the node in the Information Browser, the corresponding web site is displayed in your Web browser.
Choose
Tools > Web Browser
from the menu bar to display the Web browser.
1-16 EPD.Connect User Guide
EPD.Connect Overview
EPD.Connect Support for Topology Bus
EPD.Connect Support for Topology Bus
Associative Topology Bus provides the facility to share geometry, topology, and assembly structures among different CAD environments. The topology bus operation in EPD.Connect allows you to insert a Pro/ENGINEER object as a
Translated Image Model (TIM) in the EPD.Connect environment.
TIM objects are created by converting the Pro/ENGINEER objects to CADDS parts or assemblies. You can access TIM parts and assemblies both in Structure mode as well as the Assembly mode of EPD.Connect.
The Associative Topology Bus in the Assembly mode provides you a heterogeneous environment where both CADDS and Pro/E parts and assemblies can be used together. For more information, refer to Chapter 8, “Using CAMU in
EPD.Connect.”
The file-naming conventions that govern TIM objects are the same as those for
CADDS objects.
The following table lists and describes attributes that capture TIM data from the
Translated Image Model assembly:
Attribute
TIM-FLAG
TIM-SOURCE
Description
Differentiates between the TIM objects and the CADDS objects.
Stores the details of the path and the revision of the parent Pro/ENGINEER assembly.
The nodes of TIM objects appear in a different color. The color is determined by the variable
CA_TIM_NODE_COLOR
, which is set in the epdconn.ini
file. Also, the TIM assemblies are marked with the letter ‘T’.
Please note: The attribute
TIM-SOURCE
represents assembly nodes such as the root assembly or the reference assembly. It is used only to restore the TIM data when the PS file is converted to the TIM assembly.
EPD.Connect User Guide 1-17
EPD.Connect Overview
EPD.Connect Support for Topology Bus
Limitations and Restrictions
• EPD.Connect recognizes all of the place holder nodes as CADDS objects or
CAMU assemblies.
• When you replace a CADDS part or a CAMU assembly with a TIM part or an assembly or vice-versa using any OS commands or in CADDS/CAMU, the state is not updated dynamically.
1-18 EPD.Connect User Guide
EPD.Connect Overview
Accessing and Exiting EPD.Connect
Accessing and Exiting EPD.Connect
EPD.Connect runs on Windows-based PCs or UNIX workstations.
To access EPD.Connect from a Windows environment, choose:
Start > Programs > Optegra® Applications > EPD.Connect> EPD.Connect
<release>-English
To access EPD.Connect from a UNIX workstation, type the following command in a window:
$EPD_HOME/scripts/Connect
Exiting EPD.Connect
To exit EPD.Connect, choose
File > Exit
or click on the Exit icon.
The system prompts you for confirmation and exits EPD.Connect if you confirm.
The system displays a warning message if you have not saved changes before attempting to exit.
EPD.Connect User Guide 1-19
EPD.Connect Overview
Customizing EPD.Connect
Customizing EPD.Connect
You can customize an EPD.Connect CMOM client using supplied Perl modules and extensions. The term CMOM stands for Common Message-Oriented
Middleware. CMOM is the mechanism by which the desktop user interface (GUI) and the agent applications (no GUI) communicate. It is the central communication handler for EPD.Connect and all its constituent applications.
1-20
When you start EPD.Connect, a CMOM server process is begun. This process handles communication between EPD.Connect components.
All EPD.Connect customization is based on using the CMOM message passing mechanism.
Customizing with Perl
You must have a working knowledge of Perl in order to customize EPD.Connect.
All the functionality you need to create a simple CMOM client is available using the Perl language. Supplied Perl modules and extensions provide this capability.
EPD.Connect User Guide
EPD.Connect Overview
Symmetry in EPD.Connect
Symmetry in EPD.Connect
This section describes the concepts of symmetry and mirroring.
Symmetry
Symmetry allows you to mirror components without creating new left-handed parts. This is done by storing information about the mirroring transformation within the product structure. This is similar to the way rotation and translation information (orientation information) is stored.
Symmetry is done in the component space and positioning in the global or the local space, according to the current behavior of EPD.Connect. The difference between global and local symmetry is that the component is either X or Y mirrored.
A product structure consists of components positioned and oriented in the 3D space, independent of each other. A component can be duplicated several times at different positions using translations and rotations. Each position is represented by:
• an instance of that component
• an instance node in the assembly tree.
An instance can be translated or rotated in the same way.
Please note: Symmetry options in EPD.Connect are enabled only when the
CA_USE_SYMMETRY
variable is set to 1 in the epdconn.ini
file.
Mirroring
Mirroring allows you to apply a symmetry to an existing instance before orienting and positioning it. Mirroring in EPD.Connect is not the capability to duplicate and transform a group of instances by using a symmetry plane.
Mirroring is a symmetry against a plane (XZ or YZ plane). Mirroring in
EPD.Connect can be defined or managed from the CAMU database in two ways:
• From EPD.Connect
• From external applications (by using the
OpenNavigator command language)
The geometry of the mirrored component is dependent on the original component, because they correspond to the same part and are instances of the same component class.
EPD.Connect User Guide 1-21
EPD.Connect Overview
Symmetry in EPD.Connect
When an instance is mirrored within CAMU, it will have to be understood as is within EPD.Connect when:
• Interrogating or building the product structure
• Loading the assembly into a viewer
• Converting the product structure from/to CAMU or Vault
• Storing the product structure from/to CAMU or Vault
The default plane of mirroring is set to X/Y using environment variable
CA_DEFAULT_MIRROR_PLANE.
Components Modified During Mirroring
The following components are modified during mirroring:
• Add Component: Adds an oriented component into the structure.
• Edit Properties: Modifies the system attributes values associated to a component and its children, if any.
• Component Status: Displays the attributes of a component.
• Interface with Visualizer and 3D viewer: Loads components into Visualizer or
3D viewer and gets correct display of the oriented components.
• TRANSPVS: Transforms Visualizer graphic file by specified orientation data
(translation, rotation, symmetry).
• CADDS2PVS: Converts
_td
file into Visualizer graphic files. CADDS2PVS uses the CAMU database, not the
_ps
file.
• Visualizer and 3D viewer: Displays components according to their orientation.
Visualizer may be used to move them and interface with Life Cycle
Application.
• Interface with CAMU: Exchange between CAMU database and Product
Structure.
• OpenNavigator command language: Used to interact with EPD.Connect and to create or modify a product structure.
• Clash Detection: Clash detection between components based on computed tessellation data.
• Zoning: Detection of components belonging to a predefined geographic zone, based on clash detection.
• Store, Get, Read from/to Vault: File manipulations between EPD.Connect and
Vault.
1-22 EPD.Connect User Guide
EPD.Connect Overview
Symmetry in EPD.Connect
Features
The features of symmetry are:
• The information of the symmetry is shared by local and global positioning.
• Symmetry is performed before rotation and translation.
This is to be consistent with independent mirroring as developed in
CADDS/CAMU where rotation and translation is applied on a symmetrical component.
• The geometrical transformations are applied in the following order:
a.
Current syntax:
Rotation around X
Rotation around Y
Rotation around Z
Translation to X_coord, Y_coord, Z_coord.
b.
New syntax:
Symmetry against plane of symmetry (X or Y mirroring)
Rotation around X
Rotation around Y
Rotation around Z
Translation to X_coord, Y_coord, Z_coord.
• Current syntax is equivalent to new syntax when
Sym_flag is 0 or 9.
When reading a product structure, components without any
SYMMETRY-FLAG defined will receive a
Sym_flag
equal to 0. This value allows you to apply a symmetry to the component if
CA_USE_SYMMETRY authorizes it.
• A component having a
Sym_flag equal to 9 is not mirrored when mirroring its parent. Only the position of the component is mirrored.
EPD.Connect User Guide 1-23
EPD.Connect Overview
Symmetry in EPD.Connect
Limitations and Restrictions
• Child Reference Assemblies are not supported while mirroring a subassembly instance.
• TRANSPVS applies the symmetry to the vertices of a
GPATH
but does not transform the three angles defining referential orientations.
• TRANSPVS changes the orientation of the facets if a symmetry is activated.
• Visualizer is used with the Back Facing Polygons option set to
Display instead of
Remove
(in the Render Controls dialog box).
• The PS to DB converter generates error messages when converting a PS structure with symmetrical components into a DB file in a revision unable to support symmetry.
SYMMETRY-FLAG Attribute
The attribute SYMMETRY-FLAG indicates if a symmetry is applied or can be applied to a component.
SYMMETRY-FLAG Sym_flag
Sym_flag
indicates the preferred symmetry plane and if the symmetry is active or not.
Symmetry Flag Value
0
1
2
-1
-2
9
Mirror Plane
Symmetry plane not chosen.
X
Y
YZ
XZ
The mirrored component does not exist.
1-24 EPD.Connect User Guide
EPD.Connect Overview
Symmetry in EPD.Connect
There is no way to indicate that a component should be mirrored. Local and global positions of a component are described by using the following attributes:
•
ORIENTATION X_coord Y_coord Z_coord X_rot Y_rot Z_rot where the 6 arguments are real values defining the position of the origin of the component (in centimeters) and the rotations around X, Y, and Z axis (in radians) against reference frame of parent node.
•
GLOBAL-ORIENT X_coord Y_coord Z_coord X_rot Y_rot Z_rot where the arguments are real values defining the position of the origin of the component (in centimeters) and the rotations around X, Y, and Z axis (in radians) against reference frame of root node.
EPD.Connect User Guide 1-25
EPD.Connect Overview
Navigator License Considerations in EPD.Connect
Navigator License Considerations in
EPD.Connect
You cannot use the
OptegraNavigator
license to access EPD.Connect
functionality not available in Navigator.
Restrictions
With the
OptegraNavigator
license, you cannot access the
3D Viewer
,
Clash
Detection
, and the
Zoning
options from the
Tools
menu in EPD.Connect.
To access the above mentioned
Tools
options, you must upgrade to EPD.Connect.
On upgrading, a new license file is provided along with the EPD.Connect license file.
Please note: The upgrade from Navigator to EPD.Connect is not free of cost.
1-26 EPD.Connect User Guide
EPD.Connect Overview
Where to Look for Information
Where to Look for Information
The following table lists the tasks associated with EPD.Connect and the chapters or appendix of this book where you can find information about them.
To learn more about...
Managing basic product structure functionality, such as opening and working with a product structure tree.
Adding, changing, cutting, copying, and pasting components in a product structure tree.
Controlling the display of product structure tree components.
Displaying and manipulating parts in the 3D
Viewer.
Performing clash detection and zoning on displayed parts.
Signing on to Vault, setting database defaults, and querying Vault data in the Data Browser window.
Working with assembly design products in
EPD.Connect.
Working with Pro/Fly in EPD.Connect.
Read this chapter
Chapter 2, “Using the Product Structure
Window.”
Chapter 3, “Creating and Editing a Product
Structure Tree.”
Chapter 4, “Customizing the Product Structure
Tree Window.”
Chapter 5, “Using the 3D Viewer.”
Chapter 6, “Clash Detection and Zoning.”
Chapter 7, “Working with Vault Data.”
Chapter 8, “Using CAMU in EPD.Connect.”
Chapter 9, “Pro/FLY-THROUGH Integration with
EPD.Connect.”
Working with MEDUSA products in
EPD.Connect.
Chapter 10, “Using the EPD Interface for
MEDUSA.”
Working with Pro/ENGINEER in EPD.Connect.
Chapter 11, “Using the EPD Interface for
Pro/ENGINEER.”
Working with CATIA products in EPD.Connect.
Chapter 12, “Using the EPD Interface for
CATIA.”
Working with the STEP interface in
EPD.Connect.
Chapter 13, “Using the EPD Interface for STEP
AP203.”
Working with AEC applications in EPD.Connect
Chapter 14, “Working with AEC Application
Objects in EPD.Connect.”
Using the Single tree feature in EPD.Connect
Administering Vault application definitions.
Appendix A, “Interacting with CAMU from
EPD.Connect - An Alternate Approach.”
Appendix B, “Options for System
Administrators”
Process Flow for the EPD Interface Commands Appendix C, “Process Flow of EPD Interface
Commands”
EPD.Connect User Guide 1-27
Chapter 2
Using the Product Structure
Window
This chapter describes the Product Structure window and explains how to use it.
• Product Structure Window
• Using the Product Structure Window
• Creating a New Product Structure Tree
• Opening a Product Structure Tree
• Closing and Expanding Reference Components
• Hiding Components
• Editing Component Attributes
• Using Local Memory for Tree Manipulation
• Comparing Two Trees
• Saving and Closing a Product Structure Tree
• Status and Report Windows
• Working with Multiple CVPATHS
• Printing and Displaying Reports
• Printing Product Structures
• Plotting a Tree Structure
• Launching Applications from Product Structure Components
EPD.Connect User Guide 2-1
Using the Product Structure Window
Product Structure Window
Product Structure Window
The Product Structure window is a graphical tool that engineers and project managers can use to create, edit, browse, and interrogate product and assembly structures. The Product Structure window provides access to the many components that comprise complex product assemblies.
The window displays a product structure as a hierarchical tree showing the logical relationships among components and their subassemblies.
Use the commands available in the Product Structure window to query assembly and component attributes associated with the displayed product structure. You can highlight query results on the tree or list them in reports that detail requested attribute information.
Working with Multiple Product Structure Windows
You can open more than one Product Structure window at a time and work on the active product structure configuration. When you open more than one Product
Structure tree, the dialog boxes and the command windows that are activated while working with the product structure tree are dynamically updated based on the operation that you perform in the selected Product Structure window. The dialog boxes and the command windows will reflect the recent selection that you have made in any of the open Product Structure windows.
Limitations
If more than one Product Structure window is open, interfaces like the
EPD.Visualizer are not aware of the existence of more than one Product Structure window. The interfaces interact only with the active product structure in such cases.
2-2 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the Product Structure Window
Using the Product Structure Window
Using the Product Structure Window
Open the Product Structure window using one of the following methods:
• Choose
Window > Structure Window
from the EPD.Connect menu bar.
• Click the Product Structure window icon.
• Choose
File > New
or
File > Open
.
• Select an item in the Data Browser window, press the right mouse button, and choose
Open
from the pop-up menu.
The Product Structure window appears as shown below. You can drag the tree in the window while pressing the left mouse button.
Please note: You can open a maximum of four Product Structure windows at a time, using the options that are explained above.
EPD.Connect User Guide 2-3
Using the Product Structure Window
Using the Product Structure Window
Product Structure Window Toolbar
The toolbar located at the bottom of the window contains buttons. It allows you to open dialog boxes and command windows while working with a product structure tree. The buttons and their respective functions are as follows:
Displays the Structure Overview window. It provides a visual overview of the entire hierarchical structure of the product.
You can also display this window by choosing
Window > Structure Overview
.
Opens the Vault Data Browser. It is a comprehensive facility for searching and listing information about data stored either locally or in the Vault.
Displays the component status about a selected component or set of components displayed sequentially in browse mode. For more information on displaying one component or a set of components, refer to “Component Status” on page 2-31.
Displays the Memory dialog box, which allows you to save displayed trees locally in temporary memory and perform various actions such as compare operations.
For more information refer to “Using Local Memory for Tree Manipulation” on page 2-19.
Displays the Configuration Compare Rules dialog box. It allows you to compare one tree with another according to a set of comparison rules. For more information refer to “Comparing Two Trees” on page 2-21.
Prints the tree structure on a PostScript printer. For more information refer to
“Printing Product Structures” on page 2-42.
Opens the Item Properties dialog box. You can also display this dialog box by choosing
File > Properties
. It includes the following tabs:
General —
Edits component attributes. For more information, refer to “Editing
Component Attributes” on page 2-15.
Assembly —
Modifies attributes of the components or nodes of the Product
Structure loaded in EPD.Connect.
Displays the Session Properties window. For more information, refer to “Session
Summary” on page 2-29.
2-4 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the Product Structure Window
Using the Product Structure Window
Please note: If more than one Product Structure window is open, a window is activated when you click an icon on the toolbar. The associated action is immediately executed.
EPD.Connect Toolbar for the Product Structure
Window
The EPD.Connect menu bar includes a toolbar whose icons change according to the folder chosen in the Information Browser. The toolbar icons and their respective functions are as follows:
Exits the EPD.Connect application.
Creates a new product structure tree.
Opens an old product structure tree.
Closes the current product structure tree.
Saves the current product structure tree.
Cuts selected components to the clipboard.
Copies selected components to the clipboard.
Pastes selected components from the clipboard.
Undoes the cut/paste operation.
Redoes the cut/paste operation.
Reorders components by positioning.
Reorders components by sorting.
Swaps selected components.
Sets the selection mode to one component at a time.
Sets the selection mode to more than one component at a time.
EPD.Connect User Guide 2-5
Using the Product Structure Window
Using the Product Structure Window
Sets the selection mode to multiple subcomponents.
Displays the tree structure using the angled style.
Displays the tree structure using the fan style.
Displays the tree structure using the file manager style.
Highlights selected components.
Highlights components not selected.
Clears highlighted components.
Displays the respective Product Structure window.
Displays the clipboard.
Displays an overview of the tree display.
Displays the Data Browser window.
Loads the selected components.
Deletes the selected components.
Mouse Behavior
In EPD.Connect, you can use both the right and left mouse buttons.
If the Product Structure tree nodes are not selected, a menu with the following options is displayed when you click the right mouse button.
Command
Open New Configuration
Open Old Configuration
Exit
Action
Create a new product structure tree
Open an existing product structure tree
Exit EPD.Connect
Choose an option to perform the corresponding action.
2-6 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the Product Structure Window
Using the Product Structure Window
If a Product Structure tree node is selected, a menu with the following options is displayed when you click the right mouse button.
Command
Parts_list
Indented_parts_list
Assembly_weight
Status_to_plan
Bom
Launch to modify
Launch to view
Explore Object
Close Object
Action
Display a report containing the component name, its Vault file name, part number, and description.
Display a report containing the component name, its part number, and description. Child components are indented under their parent components.
Display and the actual and planned total assembly weight of the part.
Display the name, status, and planned activities for a part.
Display bill of materials information, including part numbers, quantities, and descriptions.
Launch the application in which the component was created and modify the component file contents. This option is available only if an application is associated with the component. For more information, refer to “Launching
Applications from Product Structure Components” on page 2-51.
Launch the application in which the component was created and view the component’s contents. This option is available only if an application is associated with the component.
Explore the model and display the hierarchy and the attributes of the CADDS application objects.
Remove the explored model from the product structure window.
Using the left mouse buttons, you can:
• Click components in the product structure window to select them.
• Press the left mouse button and drag the tree to move the tree in the window.
EPD.Connect User Guide 2-7
Using the Product Structure Window
Creating a New Product Structure Tree
Creating a New Product Structure Tree
Create a new product structure tree by creating its root node as follows:
1.
Choose
File > New. T he Open New Configuration dialog box opens.
2-8
2.
Enter a name in the
Name
field.
3.
Enter the type of configuration in the
Application
field or select one from the drop-down list. Standard applications are:
Options Description
CAMU
Retrieves a configuration stored in a CAMU database format.
PS Retrieves a configuration stored as a product structure (a formatted ASCII text file describing the tree structure).
4.
Click Open . The first (root) node of the tree is displayed and it is labelled with the name you have entered in the name field.
For more information about adding subsequent nodes to a tree hierarchy and editing or modifying existing trees, refer to Chapter 3, “Creating and Editing a
Product Structure Tree.”
Please note: You can create a maximum of four product structure configurations at a time using the File > New option. You cannot create a new assembly until one of the four opened product structures is closed.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the Product Structure Window
Opening a Product Structure Tree
Opening a Product Structure Tree
You can display product structure files that are stored on your local disk; you can display product structure files stored in the Vault, if your EPD.Connect
environment includes Vault access.
This section describes how to access local product structures. To view local data, you need only read access. To display a product structure stored in the Vault, refer to Chapter 7, “Working with Vault Data.”
Opening a Product Structure Tree from a Local Disk
To open a product structure tree from a local disk:
1.
Choose
File > Open
to open the Open Configuration dialog box.
2.
Enter an existing configuration name in the
Name
field.
To find out the name of existing configurations:
a.
Enter an asterisk (*) in the
Query Pattern field. Click the
Query
button.
The Available Configurations dialog box opens.
b.
Click the name of the configuration you want to open. The information is read into the Open Configuration dialog box.
3.
Specify the Revision level. If you do not specify a revision number, the latest revision is retrieved.
4.
Specify the application type in the
Application
field, or select one from the drop-down list.
5.
Choose the
Local Disk
option in the
Location
field.
6.
Choose one of the following
Directory
options:
Options Description
Create Read the part from the create directory.
Read
Read the part from the read directory.
Other Specifies the full path name for a user directory.
CVPATH
Read the part from the CVPATH.
Please note:
• You can specify the
CVPATH option along with the
Create
,
Read
, or the
Other directory options. In such cases if the file does not exist in the create, read, or the user directories, the first occurrence of the file in the
CVPATH
is opened.
EPD.Connect User Guide 2-9
Using the Product Structure Window
Opening a Product Structure Tree
• In case of reference nodes you can specify the directory for opening the file by setting a value to the
CA_SEARCH_REF_DIR variable in the epdconn
.
ini file.
If you specify a value
1
to the
CA_SEARCH_REF_DIR
variable, the system searches for the reference node in the directory from which the root tree node is opened and opens it from there in case it exists. If the node does not exist in that directory then the system opens the first occurrence of the file from the
CVPATH directory. If the value of the
CA_SEARCH_REF_DIR
variable is set to
0
the reference node is opened from the
CVPATH
.
7.
Click
OK
. The product structure tree is displayed and the Open Configuration dialog box closes. To keep the Open Configuration dialog box open, click
Apply
.
Please note: You can open a maximum of four Product Structure windows using the Open Configuration dialog box. By default, a new Product Structure window opens when you load a product structure tree.
Displaying Subtree Components
In the Open Configuration dialog box, the
Expand References buttons allow you to specify the number of levels of reference nodes to display in the tree.
Reducing the number of levels saves retrieval and display time. The options follow:
Options Description
All
Level
Opens the tree with all reference components fully expanded.
Opens the tree with reference components expanded to the number of levels you specify. The default level is 1.
2-10 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the Product Structure Window
Opening a Product Structure Tree
Retrieving Associated Attributes
The
Query Attribute Data command specifies whether to retrieve associated attributes on each node when you open a tree. When clicked, all attributes associated with nodes on the tree are retrieved.
The Query Attribute Data options are as follows:
Options
Local
Description
Retrieves attribute data from the local disk. These are attributes provided through the file system, such as file date and time.
Database
Retrieves attribute data from the database.
To retrieve a tree without attributes, clear both the
Local
and
Database
options before you open the tree.
To query the local and database attributes for individual components after the tree is opened, select the tree component. Then choose
Database > Vault > Refresh
Attributes
.
Opening a Product Structure with TIM Components
You can open a product structure file whose nodes are associated with TIM components. The TIM flag of each node of the file is processed and a predefined color is set for the associated TIM part. The TIM assembly is marked by the prefix
‘T’.
EPD.Connect User Guide 2-11
Using the Product Structure Window
Closing and Expanding Reference Components
Closing and Expanding Reference Components
A reference component indicates another data file. The data file of the main assembly does not contain information about reference components or their children. The main assembly contains only a pointer to the reference data file.
You can open a reference component as a main assembly because it has its own data file.
Access indicators identify reference components. Component names are followed by access indicators :
• A square — All subcomponents are displayed.
• A triangle — The component is an unexpanded reference component or it has hidden subcomponents. Reference components are displayed in a different color.
Expanding One or More Reference Components
To expand one or more reference components:
1.
On the Product Structure window, select the reference components.
2.
Choose
File
>
Open
to expand the reference components.
Please note: If you expand more than a single reference component, you can edit only the
Location
,
File Mode
,
Expand References
, and
Query Attribute
Data
fields in the Open Configuration dialog box. All other fields are disabled.
Refreshing Expanded Reference Components
To refresh expanded reference components:
1.
Set the
REFRESH_MODIFIED variable in epdconn.ini
. This variable controls the refresh operation of the modified reference components. The values are as follows:
• If set to
0
, a reference component that is modified but not saved is not refreshed.
• If set to
1
, all selected reference components are refreshed irrespective of the modifications that are not saved.
2-12 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the Product Structure Window
Closing and Expanding Reference Components
2.
In the Product Structure window, click to select the parent node of one or more reference components.
3.
Choose
File
>
Open
.
The display is refreshed.
Closing One or More Reference Components
To close one or more expanded reference components so that their subcomponents are hidden:
1.
Select one or more components.
2.
Choose
File
>
Close Ref
. If you have modified one or more components and did not save it, you are prompted before the reference component is closed.
A triangular access indicator after the unexpanded node indicates that it can be expanded.
Expanding and Closing Hidden Reference
Components
When reference components are selected and then hidden, they remain selected after they become invisible.You can therefore expand and close these components if you set the
EXPAND_HIDDEN
variable in epdconn.ini
. The values are as follows:
• If set to
0
, reference components that are selected but hidden are not expanded or closed.
• If set to
1
, reference components that are selected but hidden are expanded or closed.
EPD.Connect User Guide 2-13
Using the Product Structure Window
Hiding Components
Hiding Components
Hiding components removes them from the display, but keeps the data accessible.
When you close a reference component, the data of that
_ps
file is not accessible because the main assembly no longer points to the reference
_ps
file.
Example
The ringer_1
and keypad_1
components contain hidden subcomponents.
To expand a hidden tree component:
1.
Select the ringer_1
component.
2.
Choose
View > Clear > Selected Hide
.
In the following figure, the ringer_1
components are expanded.
2-14
To hide components:
1.
Select the components.
2.
Choose
View > Hide > Selected
.
Please note: For additional information, see “Expanding and Closing Hidden
Reference Components” on page 2-13.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the Product Structure Window
Editing Component Attributes
Editing Component Attributes
Each component has identifying attributes. Attributes optionally associate a component with an application and assign it a geometric orientation.
You can edit the properties of an existing component in a product structure and change the orientation attribute values when
CA_EDIT_ORIENTATION
is set to 1.
To edit attributes:
1.
Select the component in the product tree structure.
2.
Click the edit icon in the Product Structure window or click
E
in the structure window. The Item Properties window opens.
EPD.Connect User Guide 2-15
Using the Product Structure Window
Editing Component Attributes
3.
Click
Application in the
Associated Item field if the component is associated with an application. Select an application from the drop-down list.
The application can now be launched directly from the Product Structure window.
4.
Enter the
Item Name
and
Revision
of the component, if you have specified an
Application
.
5.
Specify a geometric
Orientation
for the components:
• Specify
X
,
Y
, and
Z
values for the location of the origin.
• Specify
ANGX
,
ANGY,
or
ANGZ
for its orientation in space.
• Specify the translational units as millimeters(MM), centimeters(CM), meters(M), or inches(IN). The default is centimeters. The system converts one unit of measurement to the required units and displays it.
• Specify the angle of rotation in degrees or radians.
• Click the scope of the orientation as follows:
Options Description
Local Specifies the orientation relative to the item’s parent orientation.
Global Specifies the orientation relative to the assembly’s (global) origin.
6.
Select a
Symmetry
option:
•
YES
— The component is mirrored.
•
NO
— The component is not mirrored. This is the default option. The
Symmetry type option becomes inactive.
7.
Select a
Symmetry type
option:
•
MIRROR X
— The YZ- plane of symmetry is used to mirror the component.
•
MIRROR Y
— The XZ- plane of symmetry is used to mirror the component.
This is the default option.
The
Symmetry type
option is visible only when
Symmetry
is set to
Yes
.
Please note: The symmetry option is visible only when the environment variable
CA_USE_SYMMETRY
is set to 1.
8.
Select one of the
Units
option.
9.
Click
OK.
Please note: Child reference assemblies are not supported.
2-16 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the Product Structure Window
Editing Component Attributes
When you apply symmetry to a subassembly, all child nodes except child reference assemblies of that subassembly will be mirrored. If a leaf node is modified, only that node is modified where as if a subassembly node is modified, all its child nodes are also modified.
Defining Assembly Attributes and Values Externally
You can define assembly attributes and values in an external file. Define each attribute in the following format:
.
.
STARTATTR
Attribute_Name<TAB>Comment
Value_1<TAB>Comment
Value_2<TAB>Comment
.
ENDATTR
Please note:
•
Attribute_Name
is the name of the attribute.
•
Value_1
,
Value_2 are the values for that attribute. You can have as many values as you require.
• Each attribute that you define must begin with
STARTATTR
and end with
ENDATTR
.
•
<TAB>
indicates that the comments are separated from the attribute name or value by a
Tab
.
To display these attributes and values in the list of the
Attribute
and
Value
fields of the Item Properties and Global Attribute Edit dialog boxes, specify the attribute file name for the
USER_ASSY_ATTR_FILE
environment variable in epdconn.ini
.
EPD.Connect User Guide 2-17
Using the Product Structure Window
Editing Component Attributes
The attributes and the values are displayed in the
Attribute and
Value fields of the following dialog boxes:
• The Item Properties dialog box (on clicking the
Assembly
tab)
2-18
• The Global Attribute Edit dialog box
For more information, refer to “Setting Global Attributes” on page 3-16.
Please note: In addition to the attributes and values defined in the external file, the Attribute, and the Value lists show the following respectively:
• The new attributes and values you have defined in the active EPD.Connect
session.
• The existing assembly attributes and values in the
_ps
file.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the Product Structure Window
Using Local Memory for Tree Manipulation
Using Local Memory for Tree Manipulation
You can save displayed trees locally in memory. Trees remain in memory only for the duration of the current EPD.Connect session. You can perform the following:
• Put one tree aside temporarily to look at another and retrieve it when you need it again.
• Open another tree from the File menu or open a product structure tree that is already in the active memory.
• Compare one tree with another tree.
• Cut and paste components from one tree to another tree.
To save a tree in memory:
1.
Choose
File > Memory
or click the Memory icon. The Memory dialog box opens.
EPD.Connect User Guide 2-19
Using the Product Structure Window
Using Local Memory for Tree Manipulation
2.
Select an option in the
Option
field. Perform the corresponding steps:
Option
Save
Restore
Delete
Procedure
To retain the tree display after saving it:
1. Click
No
in the Close field and Click
Apply
.
To close the tree in order to open another:
1. Click
Yes
in the Close field and click
Apply
.
To retrieve a tree display from memory:
1. Select the tree from the list in the display area.
2. Click the
Restore
option.
3. Click
Apply
to display the selected tree.
To remove a tree display from memory without actually deleting the tree from the local work area:
1. Select the tree from the list in the display area.
2. Click the
Delete
option.
3. Click
Apply
to delete the selected tree.
3.
When you apply the selections, the currently displayed tree is replaced with the tree selected from memory. The memory directory is usually
/usr/tmp
.
You can open more than one product structure tree and save the displayed trees in the memory. In this case,
• The name of the active configuration is displayed in the
Name
field when you open the Memory dialog box.
• The
Save
option saves the active tree which is displayed in the list in the display area.
• The
Restore
option retrieves the trees from memory and can open a maximum of four product structures.
• The
Delete option removes the selected product structure tree from the list in the display area.
Compress Mode
When you save the product structure tree, it changes to uncompress mode. When you restore the tree from memory, the product structure tree opens in compressed mode in the active window.
This structure is considered for compression in uncompressed mode. This is done even if the product structure is in compressed mode. This is done for comparison of structures.
2-20 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the Product Structure Window
Comparing Two Trees
Comparing Two Trees
The compare operation compares the active tree configuration with another stored in memory.
You can compare components within and between product structures, optionally limiting the comparison based on specific attributes. The compare operation color codes the text labels of the tree components to show whether displayed tree components are the same, new, or changed, as compared to those stored in memory.
EPD.Connect User Guide 2-21
Using the Product Structure Window
Comparing Two Trees
To compare two trees:
1.
Display an active product structure tree and store another tree in the memory.
2.
Choose
File > Compare
or click the Compare icon. The Configuration
Compare Rules dialog box opens.
2-22
3.
Select attributes for comparison. The
Compare Attribute
list contains the attributes that are used for comparison. Use the
All Attribute
list to select attributes and add them to the Compare Attribute list.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the Product Structure Window
Comparing Two Trees
4.
Choose an option to set the comparison rules:
Options
Add All
Description
Adds all attributes in one operation.
1. Click the
2. Click
Add All
button
Apply.
(
Reset
also reinstates all attributes.)
Add
Delete
Allows you to add attributes from the
All Attribute
list.
1. Select a required attribute from the
All Attribute list. The Add button is activated by default.
2. Click
Apply
to add it to the
Compare Attribute
list.
3. Repeat the operation for other attributes you want to add.
Deletes an attribute not required for the compare operation. This is the default option.
1. Select an attribute from the
Compare Attribute
list. The Delete button is activated.
2. Click
Apply
to delete it from the list.
3. Repeat the operation for other attributes not required.
Delete Al l Clears the
Compare Attribute
list and allows you to insert attributes.
1. Click
Delete All
.
2. Click
Apply
.
5.
Click
Restore From Memory
to swap the displayed and stored trees.
6.
The color of the text label of the displayed tree components indicate the results of the comparison:
• Black — The element is the same (unchanged).
• Yellow — The element is changed.
• Red — The element is new.
7.
Choose
Report
to select a file in which you can place the results of the comparison. For more information, refer to the “Status and Report Windows” on page 2-29.
8.
Perform one of the following tasks to get the results:
• Click compare
to compare the specified product structure trees.
• Click
Clear
to clear the dialog.
• Click
Apply
to process the request that you have submitted.
• Click
Reset to reset the property sheet and negate the requests that you have submitted since opening the property sheet.
• Click
Cancel
to close the property sheet.
9.
Choose
Window > Component Status
to view the information statistically.
See“Component Status” on page 2-31 for a description of the fields in the
Component Status window.
EPD.Connect User Guide 2-23
Using the Product Structure Window
Comparing Two Trees
Please note: You can display a maximum of four Product Structure windows with product structure trees and compare the active product structure tree component with the tree component that is stored in memory. The attributes for comparison are dynamically populated when you change to another Product
Structure window.
Obtaining a Comparison Report
Report options are displayed in the
Report field at the bottom of the Configuration
Compare Rules dialog box. These options customize reports. To obtain a comparison report:
1.
Define the comparison rules, as directed in the previous section.
2.
Select the type of report from the
Report
list in the Configuration Compare
Rules dialog box.
3.
Click
Compare
. The Report Viewer window opens.
2-24 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the Product Structure Window
Comparing Two Trees
Saving a Report
To save the report, perform the following:
1.
Click
Save
. The Save Report Results dialog box opens.
2.
Enter the file name under which you wish to save the report.
3.
Click the
Overwrite
option, if necessary.
4.
Click
Save
.
Printing a Report
Click
Print in the Report Viewer window to print the report. A compressed product structure will be printed in compressed mode.
Comparing TIM Components
When you compare a component with another component stored in the memory that has TIM objects associated with the nodes, the attribute
TIM-FLAG
is also compared. If the
TIM-FLAG
is different for both the components, the node is displayed as a changed node.
EPD.Connect User Guide 2-25
Using the Product Structure Window
Saving and Closing a Product Structure Tree
Saving and Closing a Product Structure Tree
When you change a product structure tree, save it to the local disk before closing it, so that you do not lose the changes.
Saving a Product Structure Tree Locally
Save a tree regularly when making edits. To do this, choose
File > Save
. The following conditions apply:
• The tree is saved to the local disk.
• If any reference trees have been edited, they are also saved.
• If you have Vault installed, choose
Database > Vault > Update
to save the changed tree to the Vault.
• If more than one Product Structure window with a product structure tree is open, you can save the changed state of the tree that is displayed in the active window.
• Choose
Database > Vault > Store
to store a new tree in the Vault. For more information, refer to “Storing Items in Vault” on page 7-18.
Saving a Product Structure Tree as a New Tree
To save all or part of a product structure tree locally under a new name:
1.
Select the component you want as the root node for the saved tree.
2.
Choose
File > Save As.
The Save Structure dialog box opens.
2-26
3.
Enter a new name in the
Name
field, to rename the tree.
4.
Select the appropriate application format for the file in the
Application
field.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the Product Structure Window
Saving and Closing a Product Structure Tree
5.
In the
Directory
field, click the local directory option in which to save the configuration. The options are as follows:
Option
Create
Read
Other
Description
Save the part to the create directory.
Save the part to the read directory.
Enter the full path name for a user-specified directory.
6.
Click
Overwrite, choose
No
if you do not want to overwrite the tree.
Please note: If more than one Product Structure window with a product structure tree is open, you can save the changed state of the tree configuration that is displayed in the active window using the
File > Save As option.
Saving a Subset of the Tree
To save the components of a tree:
1.
Select components on the displayed tree. The selected components must form a hierarchy to a single root.
To verify that you have selected such a hierarchy, choose
View > Link Selected
.
2.
Click
Nodes Selected,
in the Save Structure dialog box.
3.
Click
Save
to save the subtree to the local disk.
Please note: If Vault is installed, you can save the tree to the Vault after you have saved it locally.
To save the tree to Vault:
1.
Choose
Database > Vault > Update
to update the tree.
2.
Choose
Database > Vault > Store to store it as a new tree.
EPD.Connect User Guide 2-27
Using the Product Structure Window
Saving and Closing a Product Structure Tree
Saving the TIM Components of a Product Structure
Tree
You can save the TIM assembly that is opened in EPD.Connect to the local disk after making the required changes. When you save a CAMU assembly or a product structure all the modified TIM reference subassemblies are saved.
When you choose the
File > Save As
option to save a TIM assembly, the root component is saved as the PS or the CAMU node, depending on the application type that you have selected in the Save Structure dialog box. All of the associated
TIM objects remain unchanged.
Closing a Product Structure Tree
Closing a displayed tree removes it from the main window.
To do this, choose
File > Close
. The system prompts you for confirmation and then removes the displayed tree.
The system displays a warning message if you have not saved changes before attempting to close the tree.
Please note: If more than one Product Structure window with a product structure tree is open, choosing
File
>
Close closes the configuration only in the active window
.
Repeat this process for each active window to close all the product structure trees.
2-28 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the Product Structure Window
Status and Report Windows
Status and Report Windows
Several windows are available for displaying general information, such as component status or reports. In some cases, a status or report window appears automatically. For example, when you request any type of Vault transfer, the Vault
Transfer Request window appears and shows your queued request.
The following table lists and describes the path to report files.
Report Window
Session Summary
Component Status
Compare Status
Description
Reports general and structure information related about the tree.
Reports component status information.
Displays node comparison information.
Vault Transfer Requests Transfers data to/from the Vault.
Indicator Key
ADRAW Window
Lists the color codes for access indicators.
Displays
ADRAW
information.
Clipboard
Toolbar Customizer
Displays contents of clipboard.
Chooses a desktop button set.
Session Summary
Choose
File > Session Summary
. The Session Properties dialog box opens.
EPD.Connect User Guide 2-29
Using the Product Structure Window
Status and Report Windows
General Tab
The General tab shows the details of the currently displayed configuration, including Name, Revision level, Type, Location, and Display time of the tree.
Structure Tab
The Structure tab shows statistics about the currently displayed product structure tree and the results from the most recent compare operation.
2-30
EPD.Connect updates the structure page automatically to reflect changes in the displayed tree. The structure page also reflects the subsequent select, deselect or compare operations.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the Product Structure Window
Status and Report Windows
The
Compare Same
and
Different
fields provide comparisons of similar and dissimilar components between the displayed tree and a tree in memory.
The
Selected
field displays the total number of nodes selected in the Product
Structure window, when a structure is open.
Component Status
You can obtain a status report for any selected component, or for a set of components displayed sequentially in browse mode.
The display reflects the setting of the
SYMMETRY-FLAG
attribute. The data will be read in the PostScript file using the
SYMMETRY-FLAG
attribute.
To see the status of a component:
1.
Select a component in the Product Structure window.
Alternately, choose
Window > Component Status
. The Component Status window opens.
EPD.Connect User Guide 2-31
Using the Product Structure Window
Status and Report Windows
2.
Choose
View > Browser
to open the Browse Configuration window.
This window shows the properties of the node that has been selected. It also contains a line describing the symmetry flag.
Component Comparison Status
When you perform a tree comparison, a comparison report is automatically displayed. The comparison report contains information you requested before the compare operation.
In addition to the tree comparison report, you can view a component-level comparison between a currently selected component and components in memory.
1.
Select a single component.
2.
Choose
Window > Memory Status
. The Component Memory Status Report window opens.
2-32 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the Product Structure Window
Status and Report Windows
This report displays the comparison information. EPD.Connect updates the
Component Memory Status Report window automatically when you select or sequentially browse components.
ADRAW Items
An ADRAW is a special CADDS assembly drawing that is associated to a CAMU assembly database (
_db
).
To view ADRAW items represented by component instances in a currently displayed product structure tree:
1.
Select the root node in the product structure tree.
2.
Choose
Window > Attachment Window
. The ADRAW window opens. The
CAMU tree is displayed in the ADRAW window.
You can perform Vault transfer actions from the CAMU tree by selecting a component in the tree and following the same procedure as you would when selecting from the product structure tree or Vault Transfer window.
Indicator Key
Color-coded component access indicators flag components that match search criteria. This is useful when you need to distinguish characteristics such as a part’s status or release date. Access indicators are located at the right end of tree components.
You can view the current list of rules defined for color-coded access indicators.
Choose
Window > Indicator Key
to display the Color Key window.
For instructions on creating the color rules associated with access indicators, refer to “Creating Access Indicator Rules” on page 4-6.
EPD.Connect User Guide 2-33
Using the Product Structure Window
Status and Report Windows
Clip Board
A clipboard appears when you are editing a product structure tree by cutting, pasting, or copying components. For more information and an example, see
“Cutting and Pasting the Components” on page 3-9.
Audit Log
EPD.Connect maintains an audit log to provide information on command processing. Messages are sent to the audit log as the commands are processed.
Choose
Help > Audit Log to display the audit log.
The audit log is also displayed when you issue certain commands relating to database transfers.
2-34 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the Product Structure Window
Working with Multiple CVPATHS
Working with Multiple CVPATHS
You can select and apply a
CVPATH to the current EPD.Connect session. You can also edit directories of a selected
CVPATH
in the structure mode as well as the
NAV/CAMU mode.
Please note: You can use the edited
CVPATH
only in the currently active
EPD.Connect session. It is not valid for the other dynamic applications that are invoked from EPD.Connect. For example, the changes made to the
CVPATH variable defined in CADDS are not reflected in EPD.Connect and vice versa.
When you start a new EPD.Connect session, all of the environment variables with the prefix
CVPATH
are scanned. These variables are treated as the selected
CVPATHs
and displayed. If the variable with the prefix
CVPATH
are not found in the environment, the
$CVEPD_INIT
( cvepd.ini
) file is scanned.
Please note: If a
CVPATH
variable is found in the environment, it is not looked for in the cvepd.ini
file, even if an entry has been made in the cvepd
.
ini
file.
The
CVPATH
variables are generally set in the cvepd.ini
file on the Windows platform and epdconn.ini
or
.caddsrc-local
on the UNIX platform.
Please note: Any path name in the
.caddsrc-local
file that is longer than
40 characters is ignored from that
CVPATH
and a message is added to the log.
The following example shows sample files that are scanned for the
CVPATHs
.
For Windows:
C:\%Windir%\cvepd.ini
CVPATH=C:\users\create=C;C:\users\parts1
CVPATHA=C:\usr1\parts1;C:\usr2\parts;C:\usr3\parts
For UNIX: setenv CVPATH /users/abc/parts:/users/ps/parts1 setenv CVPATHA /users/parts/parta:/users/parts/parta/Aparts
Set the above variables in
.caddsrc-local
.
Please note: The format of the
.ini
files is the same on Windows and UNIX platforms.
EPD.Connect User Guide 2-35
Using the Product Structure Window
Working with Multiple CVPATHS
Selecting a CVPATH
To select a
CVPATH
from the currently available
CVPATHs
:
1.
Choose
File > Select CVPATH
. The Select CVPATH dialog box opens.
Please note: You cannot access the above option when there is an active tree in the Product Structure window.
2.
Select an item from the list of
CVPATHs
and click
Apply
. The selected
CVPATH
variable is used for the entire session.
You can also trace the currently active
CVPATH
from the Session Properties window on the EPD.Connect menu bar.
2-36 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the Product Structure Window
Working with Multiple CVPATHS
Editing a CVPATH
To edit a selected
CVPATH
:
1.
Select an item from the
CVPATH list that appears in the Select CVPATH dialog box.
2.
Click
Edit
. The Edit Selected CVPATH dialog box opens. All the current directories in the selected
CVPATH
are displayed.
EPD.Connect User Guide 2-37
Using the Product Structure Window
Working with Multiple CVPATHS
3.
Choose one of the following editing options and click
Apply
to confirm the changes:
Options Description
Delete
Deletes the selected directory of the
CVPATH
from the list.
Add
After
Adds the specified directory to the directory in the list.
CVPATH
directory list after the selected
Add
Before
Adds the specified directory to the directory in the list
CVPATH
directory list before the selected
Change
Changes the path of the selected directory in the list.
When you select a directory and click
Change
, the
Add Dir
field displays the selected directory. Click
Apply
to change the path.
Move
Up
Move
Down
Allows you to move the selected directory in the CVPATH list upward one level.
Allows you to move the selected directory in the CVPATH list downward one level.
When you click
Apply
in the SELECT CVPATH dialog box, the changes are permanent. You cannot trace the original setup by clicking
Reset
.
Please note:
• If there are no directories in the current
CVPATH
, the options
Add After
and
Add Before
add a directory to the
CVPATH
list without any priority.
• You can edit the
Add Dir
field only if you select the
Add After
,
Add Before, and the
Change
options.
• You cannot specify the path name of a directory that has more than 40 characters.
2-38 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the Product Structure Window
Printing and Displaying Reports
Printing and Displaying Reports
You can display and print reports related to the product structure tree. Select the parent component and press the right mouse button to display a menu of reports:
This Report Option
Parts_list
Indented_parts_list
Bom
Assembly_weight
Status_to_plan
Displays This Data
The component name, its Vault file name, part number, and description.
The component name, its part number, and description.
Child components are indented under their parent components.
Bill of materials information, including part numbers, quantities, and descriptions.
The part and actual and planned total assembly weight.
The part name, its status, and planned activities.
EPD.Connect User Guide 2-39
Using the Product Structure Window
Printing and Displaying Reports
The report is displayed in the Report Viewer window as follows:
2-40
Using the Report Viewer window you can select, deselect, highlight, make transparent, reset, hide, show, clear, and load components in the Product Structure window or the EPD.Visualizer window as follows:
1.
Select one or more parts displayed in the Report Viewer.
2.
In the Options panel, select
Structure Window
or
Visualizer
.
Please note: You can also select both the above options.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the Product Structure Window
Printing and Displaying Reports
3.
Choose one of the following:
•
Selected
— The command affects the selected part. Parts already changed retain their changed state.
•
Only Selected
— The command affects only the selected part. Parts already changed are reset to their original state.
•
All
— The command affects all parts irrespective of the part selected.
4.
Using the right mouse button, select one of the following options:
Report Viewer Option Description
Select Selects components.
Clears selections.
Deselect
Highlight
Transparent
Highlights components.
Makes transparent components in the EPD.Visualizer window. For information on the Transparent option in EPD.Visualizer,see the
EPD.Visualizer User Guide.
This option does not affect the Product Structure window.
Resets components to their original state.
Reset
Hide
Hides components.
Show
Clear
Shows components that are hidden.
Load
Resets components that are either selected, highlighted, transparent, or hidden.
Loads components in the EPD.Visualizer window.
Please note: The result of the option chosen is reflected in either the Product
Structure window or the EPD.Visualizer window or in both depending on the application chosen in the Options panel of the Report Viewer.
5.
You can print the report or save it to a file.
You can also display and print reports by selecting them directly from the Reports menu on the EPD.Connect menu bar. For information on how to generate customized reports, see Customizing EPD.Connect.
EPD.Connect User Guide 2-41
Using the Product Structure Window
Printing Product Structures
Printing Product Structures
To print the product structure tree displayed in the Product Structure window:
1.
Display a product structure.
2.
Choose
File > Print
. The Print Panel opens.
2-42
3.
Click
File
or
Printe r to achieve one of the following r esults:
• File — Creates a PostScript file which can be printed at a later time. To use this option, specify the name of the file in the File Name field.
• Print — Submits your file to the default printer defined by your operating system in the
Print Command
field. For example,
On the UNIX platform specify: lpr -P <printer name> lpr
is the default print command that can be changed by assigning values to the variable
CA_PRINT_COMMAND
in the epdconn.ini
file.
On the Windows NT platform, in the Print Command field, specify: print /D: <printer name> print /D: is the default print command that can be changed by assigning values to the variable
CA_PRINT_WIN_COMMAND
in the epdconn
.
ini
file.
4.
Click appropriate option for
Paper Size and
Orientation
for the print job.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the Product Structure Window
Printing Product Structures
5.
Set the
Scale
.
You can reduce the size of the printed product structure tree by entering a digit from 1 to 9. The number entered will represent the denominator of a fraction with an assumed
1
for the numerator.
For example:
If you enter
2
, the tree will be printed at half (1/2) of its default size (1).
If you enter
3
, then the scale will be one-third (1/3) of the default size.
6.
Click appropriate
Tier option for printing the levels of the tree. A tier is a single vertical level in the product structure tree.
•
All
— To print the entire product structure of a tree.
•
Tiers
— To specify the tiers, fill in the
From
and
To
fields in the dialog box that is displayed.
7.
Click
to execute the print job.
Please note: A compressed product structure is printed in compressed mode.
EPD.Connect User Guide 2-43
Using the Product Structure Window
Plotting a Tree Structure
Plotting a Tree Structure
You can create a binary CGM file format of a tree as it is displayed in the Product
Structure window and plot it.
Please note: This feature is available only on UNIX platforms.
Creating a Binary CGM File
To create a binary CGM file of an AccessWare tree that is displayed in the Product
Structure window:
1.
Display a product structure tree.
2.
Choose
File > Plot > Create CGM File
. The nonmodal Create CGM File dialog box opens.
2-44
3.
Enter the directory name in which the CGM file is to be created. Use the variable
CA_PLOT_DIR
in the epdconn.ini
file to set the default directory.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the Product Structure Window
Plotting a Tree Structure
4.
Enter the name of the file that is to be created in the
CGM File Name
field. If you do not provide the file name, an error message is displayed.
5.
Select an appropriate file-suffix option:
•
No File Suffix
- The file is created without the .
cgm suffix when this option is selected. Otherwise, the suffix is appended to the file.
Please note: If you provide the suffix as a part of the file name, the system does not append any other suffix, even if the option
No File Suffix
is deselected.
•
Overwrite File
- The file that is created overwrites the file with the same name if it is in the same directory.
6.
Specify the paper size in the
Paper Size field. The paper size can range between
A and E (US ANSI Standard) and A0 and A4 (ISO Standard).
7.
Assign a float number in the
Scale field. The values that you specify here must be greater than zero. If you specify values greater than 1, the tree created using the CGM file is scaled up.
8.
Click either the
Portrait
or the
Landscape
options for specifying the orientation of the tree.
9.
Click the appropriate
Tier option for plotting a range of levels of the tree. A tier is a single vertical level in the product structure tree. The root node is designated as the zero tier.
•
All
- To print the entire product structure of a tree.
•
Tiers
- To print a selected range of tiers in the product structure tree.
Refer to Printing Product Structures for printing product structure trees.
10.
Click
Apply
to complete the file creation process.
If the tree that is plotted using the CGM file does not fit within the given paper size, multiple pages are created whose names are given using the following format:
<given CGM file name without extension><page row_page column><.cgm
extension if any>
For example, if the given CGM file name is mytree.cgm, then multiple pages are created whose names are of the type mytree1_2.cgm
.
If you provide incorrect or incomplete information, an error message appears in the main EPD.Connect messages panel.
EPD.Connect User Guide 2-45
Using the Product Structure Window
Plotting a Tree Structure
Plotting a Tree
You can plot an AccessWare tree using the binary CGM file. You can also plot it directly from the Product Structure tree.
Choose
File > Plot > Plot CGM
. The Plot dialog box opens.
Plotting from the File
Use the
File
tab option to plot the tree using the CGM file.
2-46
1.
Enter the directory name that contains the CGM file.
2.
Specify the CGM file name for plotting the tree.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the Product Structure Window
Plotting a Tree Structure
3.
Select the plotter name from the list of plotters that are set up using the lpsetup
command.
4.
Specify the number of copies that you want to plot.
5.
Choose one of the following
Auto Scale
options:
•
Yes
- Fits the tree within the given paper size.
•
No
- Plots the tree on the paper and truncates the portions that do not fit within the given paper.
6.
Specify the orientation and the paper size in the respective fields.
7.
Click
Plot
to plot the tree.
EPD.Connect User Guide 2-47
Using the Product Structure Window
Plotting a Tree Structure
Plotting from the Product Structure Tree
Use the
Tree tab option to plot directly from the Product Structure tree. Select the appropriate
Tier
option, the plotter name, the number of copies, the appropriate
Auto Scale
option, the paper size, and the scaling factor for plotting the tree directly.
2-48
Click the
Plot Details button to view the selected plotter type, the units for plotting, the maximum tree length in the X direction that can fit within the given paper size (X size), and the maximum tree length in the Y direction that can fit within the given paper size (Y size), in the Plot Setup Details dialog box that appears. The values displayed in the various fields of the dialog box are READ
EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the Product Structure Window
Plotting a Tree Structure
ONLY. They are automatically populated when a Plotter is chosen from the Plotter
Name list in the Plot menu.
Please note: Execute the plotter setup utility lpsetup
before using the
Plot option. The Plotter Name list displays only those plotters on which lpsetup
has been executed. Refer to the PTC Plotter Drivers Administration Guide for details.
Setting Variables for Plotting
The cvups
utility is used for plotting an AccessWare tree in EPD.Connect. The following settings in the cvups.ini
file located in the directory
$EPD_HOME/data/cvups/reposit
are used for plotting:
•
CVUPS_MSG_REP=$EPD_HOME/data/cvups/$AWLANG/cvups.msg
The directory location of the message files used for plotting.
•
CVUPS_CDIR=/var/spool/cvconfigdir
The default directory location of the plotter configuration files.
•
CVUPS_INS_DIR=/usr/apl/cvups
The default directory location for installing cvups
.
•
CVUPS_DEFDIR=$CVUPS_INS_DIR/config_files
The default directory location of the plotter definition files.
EPD.Connect User Guide 2-49
Using the Product Structure Window
Plotting a Tree Structure
• CVUPS_BIN_DIR=$CVUPS_INS_DIR/bin
The default directory location of the cvups
binaries.
•
CVUPS_XORIG=10
CVUPS_YORIG=10
The offset values for the X and the Y plotting origins on the paper. The default value is 10 millimeters.
Apart from the above variables, set appropriate values to the following variables in the epdconn.ini
file.
•
CA_CVUPS_CDIR=/var/spool/cvconfigdir
The configuration file directory for plotting an AccessWare tree.
•
AW_TEXT_SHRINK=0.75
The shrink factor for the AccessWare plot node text can be changed by setting appropriate values. The default value is 0.75. Sometimes when the font size is very large, the text goes beyond the actual tree nodes. To avoid this, set an appropriate value to this variable greater than 0.0 and less than 1.0.
•
CA_PLOT_DIR=$EPD_TEMP
The default directory location for plotting the files.
2-50 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the Product Structure Window
Launching Applications from Product Structure Components
Launching Applications from Product Structure
Components
Components in a product structure tree can be associated with the application used to create and modify them. For example, a component could be a product specification document. That document can be associated with the publishing tool used to edit it.
When components are associated with an application in this way, you can launch the application directly from the Product Structure window. If the environment includes Vault, you can also launch the application when you transfer the component from the Vault.
When the application is opened, you can either view or modify the component, depending on the user and component authorizations.
Launching Applications
To launch the application associated with a component:
1.
Select the component in the product structure tree and press the right mouse button. A menu is displayed.
2.
Choose one of the following:
•
Launch to Modify
— Launches the application and allows you to make any necessary changes to the component.
•
Launch to View
— Launches the application to display the component. No modifications are allowed.
Defining Component/Application Associations
To launch an application from a component in a product structure tree, the component must be associated with the application. The following sections describe how to define such an association. You must:
• Define the application’s environment.
• Associate the component with the application.
• Edit the EPD.Connect
launch.ini
file.
• Edit the EPD.Connect
cvepd.ini
file.
EPD.Connect User Guide 2-51
Using the Product Structure Window
Launching Applications from Product Structure Components
Defining an Application Environment
Defining applications is an administrative task. In EPD.Connect, applications can also be referred to as rulebases, because the application contains the rules that must be used to manage the data in a file.
To define an application environment:
1.
Choose
Admin > Appl. Environment
from the EPD.Connect menu bar. The
Application Environment window opens.
2-52
2.
Select
LOCAL
from the scrollable list at the top of the window.
3.
Click
Add
in the
Option
field.
4.
Choose the name of the application you are defining in the
Application
field
(for example,
MS WORD
).
5.
Enter a description for the application in the
Description
field.
If you are defining an application environment that will be associated with individual files, you do not have to modify the remaining fields in the window.
6.
Click
Apply
to add the application to your EPD.Connect configuration.
Click
Cancel
to exit the window.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the Product Structure Window
Launching Applications from Product Structure Components
Associating Components with Applications
After you have defined an application environment, execute the following steps to associate a component in a product structure tree with the application:
1.
Select a component in the product structure tree.
2.
Choose
File > Properties
to edit its attributes. Choose
Edit > Add
to add a new component. The Add Component dialog box opens.
3.
Edit the
Associated Item
attribute field:
a.
b.
Click
Application
in the
Associated Item
field.
From the drop-down list box, select the application you want to associate with the component (the application you defined will be included in the list).
Editing the launch.ini file
The launch.ini
file contains the information required to execute the command to launch the application. It contains two entries for each application:
•
View —
Points to the application to be launched when you are authorized only to view the component.
•
Mod —
Points to the application to be launched when you are allowed to view and modify the component.
EPD.Connect User Guide 2-53
Using the Product Structure Window
Launching Applications from Product Structure Components
In the UNIX environment, the file is located in:
$EPD_HOME/data/reposit/C/launch.ini
In the Windows environment, the file is located in:
Install_Drive:
$EPD_HOME\data\reposit\C\launch.ini
Each application or rulebase in the launch.ini
file includes a section that is headed by the application name in brackets. Specify the view= and mod= paths as shown in the following example:
;
[FILE] view=/usr/openwin/bin/textedit mod=/usr/openwin/bin/textedit
;
[LOCAL] view=/usr/openwin/bin/textedit mod=/usr/openwin/bin/textedit
;
[WORD] view=/home/machinename/path_to_word_executable mod=/home/machinename/path_to_word_executable
;
Editing the cvepd.ini File
Edit the cvepd.ini
file by adding a Vault variable to the file for every new application defined. For example, if you are defining WORD as an application, add the following line to the cvepd.ini
file:
EDM_WORD=<name of rulebase executable or .dll file>
Please note: The name used for the application must be the same both in the header of the lines added to the launch.ini
file as shown in the preceding section, and in the segment of the
EDM_xxxx statement.
2-54 EPD.Connect User Guide
Chapter 3
Creating and Editing a Product
Structure Tree
This chapter explains how to add, change, cut, copy, and paste components in a product structure tree.
• The Edit Menu
• Adding Components
• Editing the Tree Structure
• Setting Global Attributes
• Setting Revision Levels
EPD.Connect User Guide 3-1
Creating and Editing a Product Structure Tree
The Edit Menu
The Edit Menu
The EPD.Connect
Edit
menu provides options for adding, cutting, pasting, copying, and changing components in a tree configuration. The
Edit menu options are listed here along with brief descriptions.
Edit Menu Options
Add Component
Swap Components
Reorder Components > Position
Reorder Components > Sorting
Undo
Redo
Cut
Copy
Paste
Global Attribute
Set Revisions
Unset Revisions
Options
Function
Adds a component to the tree.
Exchanges component positions.
Changes component order.
Sorts components in ascending or descending order.
Undoes last edit.
Restores edit after the Undo option.
Cuts (deletes) components and transfers them to the clipboard.
Copies components to the clipboard.
Pastes components from the clipboard.
Edits assembly component attributes.
Sets selected items to the Vault revision value.
Removes selected items from the Vault revision value.
Allows you to apply edits to a single node or multiple instances of a node.
Please note: If more than one Product Structure window with a product structure tree is open, you can perform the edit operations only on the components of the active product structure tree. The Product Structure window in which you want to perform the undo or the redo operations must be active.
3-2 EPD.Connect User Guide
Creating and Editing a Product Structure Tree
The Edit Menu
Options for Editing Components
When you add, cut, or change a component, you are editing it. You can limit edits to a single instance of a component or apply the edits to all instances of that class.
1.
Choose
Edit > Options.
The Node Selection dialog box opens.
2.
Select one of the following options:
•
Yes
— Edits all instances. The edits to one component are applied to all instances of that component.
•
No
— Edits a single instance. Only one component is edited.
3.
Click
Apply
to implement the selection.
If you select
No
and want to modify a single instance of a component,
EPD.Connect adds a prefix to the component name to make it unique.
Editing the Properties of a TIM Component
You can edit the properties of a TIM component in the same way that you edit the atttributes of a component in the product structure. If you change the associated component of a node or the application type to CADDS/CAMU, the TIM data is extracted from the header and is checked to determine if the associated model is
TIM or not. The node changes and is displayed accordingly.
Limitations and Restrictions
• TIM flag data is read only from the
_pd
file while adding or changing components in case of parts. In case of assemblies It is read from the
_db
file.
• When you update, change, delete, or add a part database that contains TIM data, the TIM information of the node does not change when you open the assembly containing these parts.
EPD.Connect User Guide 3-3
Creating and Editing a Product Structure Tree
Adding Components
Adding Components
This section explains about creating new components and the process of adding of components.
Creating New Components
To create a new component for a new or existing tree:
1.
Select the node you want as the parent on the displayed tree.
2.
Choose
Edit > Add Component
. The Add Component window opens.
3-4
3.
Enter the name of the new component in the
Class Name
field.
Please note: Use only alphanumeric characters for defining the component name and the attribute name of the node in the product structure window.
4.
Enter the numeric start number in the
Instance
field to append to the class name.
Each additional instance of this component replicates the class name and increments the number. You need not enter anything for a single instance.
5.
Enter the number of instances of the new component in the
Number of field.
6.
Select the appropriate option in the
Associated Item
field:
•
None
— Specifies that no item is associated.
•
Application
— Associates an item from the drop-down list that displays when you select this option.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Creating and Editing a Product Structure Tree
Adding Components
If you select
Application
, enter the item name in the
Item Name
field.
Optionally, enter the revision level in the
Revision
field.
7.
Click
Orientation
. The Add Orientation dialog box opens.
Default values for orientation and position are as shown in the dialog box. Enter the local orientation data against the parent node.
a.
Select a
Symmetry
option:
•
YES
— The component is mirrored.
•
No
— The component is not mirrored. The Symmetry type option becomes inactive.
b.
Select a
Symmetry type
option:
•
MIRROR X
— The YZ- plane of symmetry is used to mirror the component.
•
MIRROR Y —
The XZ- plane of symmetry is used to mirror the component.
The
Symmetry type option is enabled when
CA_EDIT_ORIENTATION and
CA_USE_SYMMETRY
are set to 1.
It is not dependent on the local/global mode, since the same symmetry setup and the same symmetry flag will be associated with the current component with either mode.
EPD.Connect User Guide 3-5
Creating and Editing a Product Structure Tree
Adding Components
c.
Enter an orientation for a component:
• Specify
X
,
Y
, and
Z
values for the location of the origin.
• Specify
ANGX
,
ANGY
, or
ANGZ
for the orientation of the component in space.
To specify the units for orientation to be displayed in the Component Status window, specify a value
0 or
1 to the
COMPSTATUS_ORIENT_DEG variable in the epdconn.ini
file. The value
0 allows you to specify the orientation in radians. The value
1
allows you to specify the orientation in degrees
• Specify the translation or position units as millimeters(MM), centimeters(CM), meters(M), or inches(IN). The default is centimeters.
To specify the units for position to be displayed in the Component Status window, specify the values
CM
,
MM
,
M
, or
INS
to the
COMPSTATUS_ORIENT_POS
variable in the epdconn.ini
file. The value
CM
allows you to specify the position in centimeters,
MM
allows you to specify the position in millimeters,
M
allows you to specify the position in meters, and
IN
allows you to specify the position in inches.
The values that you specify here are reflected in the Properties window as well as the Component Status window. The system also converts one unit of measurement to the required units and displays it.
• Select the angle of rotation in degrees or radians.
Please note: The default measurements in CAMU are in inches.
d.
Select the scope of the orientation as follows:
•
Local
— Specifies the orientation relative to the parent orientation of the item.
•
Global
— Specifies the orientation relative to the assembly’s (global) origin.
The local and the global coordinates are dependent on each other. Set only one of them.
e.
Select the appropriate
Units
option.
Click
Close.
f.
8.
Click
Add to add the new component to the tree.
The Add Component window remains open after adding the new component in case you want to add another component to the same parent.
9.
Click
Reset
to clear all fields except
Parent Name
.
You can now add another component.
Please note: To add a component to a different parent, select a different component on the tree.
3-6 EPD.Connect User Guide
Creating and Editing a Product Structure Tree
Adding Components
Adding a Component with Mirror Flag
You can add an oriented component to a product structure with mirror flag using the Add component dialog box. The orientation attribute value is set when
CA_EDIT_ORIENTATION=1
.
The value of symmetry flag is decided depending on the selections made for symmetry options in Add Component dialog box.
Example
To add a component with an XZ symmetry representing the plane separating the left side from the right side, select:
• Symmetry:
Yes
• Symmetry Type:
Mirror Y
(XZ symmetry).
• Orientation:
Global
or
Local
• Specify the orientation and position of the mirrored component in the selected coordinate system
• Click
Close
to validate the component insertion.
Adding a Component on a Compressed Node
Add component can be performed on a compressed node. Leaf nodes are actually more than one, but are shown as one in the product structure. If add component is performed on leaf nodes, it will be applied on all the nodes and they lose the status of leaf nodes, get uncompressed automatically and show the added component for all the nodes.
Figure 3-1 Product Structure with node ref_node_1 compressed
EPD.Connect User Guide 3-7
Creating and Editing a Product Structure Tree
Adding Components
For example, if you add screw node to refsubnodes_1[3]
in the above figure, all refsubnodes get uncompresses automatically as they are no longer end nodes.
Add component is performed on all these nodes as shown in the following figure.
Figure 3-2 Add component performed on compressed nodes
Adding TIM Components
When you add a component that has CADDS or CAMU application objects associated with its nodes, the TIM information is extracted from the corresponding CADDS/CAMU object and added to the component. If the node associated with the component is a TIM assembly, it is marked with the prefix
“T”. If the node is a TIM part, it is displayed with the color that is defined using the variable
CA_TIM_NODE_COLOR
.
3-8 EPD.Connect User Guide
Creating and Editing a Product Structure Tree
Editing the Tree Structure
Editing the Tree Structure
To change the structure or hierarchy of a product structure tree, you can cut/copy and paste components as required. You can also swap or reorder components. It is useful to store the trees in memory to facilitate these actions.
For more information refer to “Using Local Memory for Tree Manipulation” on page 2-19.
Cutting and Pasting the Components
To cut and paste components from one tree to another:
1.
Select the components you want to cut.
2.
Choose
Edit > Cut to remove the selected component and its associated subcomponents from the product structure window.
You can also click the
Cut on the toolbar to perform the cut operation.
The cut components are added to the clipboard when you perform the cut operation.
Please note: If you are cutting components from open product structures, you can choose to remove lock files for such components by assigning a value to the variable
CA_DEL_LOCK_ON_CUT
in the epdconn.ini
file.
• Set the value of this variable to 0 to disable the removal of lock files. This is the default setting.
EPD.Connect User Guide 3-9
Creating and Editing a Product Structure Tree
Editing the Tree Structure
• Set the value of this variable to 1 to remove lock files during the cut operation.
If you perform the paste or the undo operations using this setting, the cut nodes are pasted back to the active product structure in the read-only mode.
3.
Select the component to which you want to add components from the clipboard.
4.
Choose the components on the clipboard that you want to paste. If the clipboard is not displayed, choose
Window > Clipboard
.
5.
Choose
Edit > Paste to paste the components selected in the clipboard to the component selected in the Product Structure window.
You can also click
Paste on the toolbar to perform the paste operation.
Please note: EPD.Connect automatically increments the instance number of pasted components that have the same class name as other components.
Copying Components
Copying the components places them in the clipboard without removing them from the Product Structure window.
1.
Select the components you want to copy.
2.
Choose
Edit > Copy
. The clipboard appears, displaying the copied components.
You can also click
Copy
on the toolbar to perform the copy operation.
When a compressed node is cut or copied to clip board, it is in the clipboard in uncompressed mode. When you paste from the clipboard to the product structure, it is always done in uncompressed/compressed mode depending upon the compressed state set in the environment.
3-10 EPD.Connect User Guide
Creating and Editing a Product Structure Tree
Editing the Tree Structure
Copying and Pasting from the Data Browser
To copy components from the Data Browser and place them in the clipboard,
1.
Select the components you want to copy.
2.
Press the right mouse button in the Data Browser and choose
Copy
from the pop-up menu. The clipboard appears, displaying the copied components.
Please note: The copied components will be added as child components to the root node of the clipboard. If you have copied an assembly node on the clipboard, it is displayed with an arrow indicating that the node can be expanded further. A component node is displayed with a square.
3.
Select the component in the Product Structure to which you want to add components from the clipboard.
4.
Choose the components on the clipboard that you want to paste. If the clipboard is not displayed, choose
Window > Clipboard
.
5.
Choose
Edit > Paste to paste the components selected in the clipboard to the component selected in the Product Structure window.
You can also click
Paste on the toolbar to perform the paste operation.
EPD.Connect User Guide 3-11
Creating and Editing a Product Structure Tree
Editing the Tree Structure
Please note:
1.
The components from the clipboard are pasted as child components in the
Product Structure.
2.
If you have pasted an assembly node in the Product Structure, you can expand the node by,
• Selecting the node and choosing
File > Open.
OR
• Saving the Product Structure, closing it, and opening it again and choosing
Expand References > All
.
Undoing and Restoring Previous Editing
To restore the state before the last edit choose
Edit > Undo
.
You can also click
Undo on the toolbar to perform the undo operation.
Please note: This command affects only cut
and paste
actions. It cannot undo a swap or reorder action. It also cannot change or edit component attributes.
To reinstate the effect of the last edit action you performed before choosing the
Undo command, choose
Edit > Redo
.
You can also click
Redo on the toolbar to perform the undo operation.
Swapping Component Positions
You can swap the positions of two components attached to the same parent.
1.
Select the two components you want to interchange.
2.
Choose
Edit > Swap Components
.
You can also click
Swap components on the toolbar to perform the swap operation.
3-12 EPD.Connect User Guide
Creating and Editing a Product Structure Tree
Editing the Tree Structure
Reordering Components
You can reorder components in the following ways:
• By positioning a component above or below another component.
• By sorting components in ascending or descending order.
Positioning Components
You can position a component above or below another component if both components are attached to the same parent.
1.
Select the component you want to reposition on the tree.
2.
Choose
Edit > Reorder Components
>
Position.
The Position dialog box opens.
You can also click the
Position icon on the toolbar to perform the same operation.
The selected component is automatically entered in the
Component1
field.
3.
Select the second component (whose position determines the repositioning of the first).
4.
Select one of the following options:
•
Above
— Places Component1 above Component2.
•
Below
— Places Component1 below Component2.
5.
Click
Apply
to reorder the components.
EPD.Connect User Guide 3-13
Creating and Editing a Product Structure Tree
Editing the Tree Structure
Sorting Components
You can sort components attached to the same parent in ascending or descending order.
1.
Choose
Edit > Reorder Components > Sorting. T he Sort dialog box opens.
You can also click
Sort
on the toolbar to perform the same operation.
Please note: At this point, selections in the Product Structure window are cleared. The previous selections are restored after the sort or if you click
Cancel
.
3-14
2.
Select the components to be sorted. The names of the selected nodes appear in the
Selected Nodes
field. The name of the parent node appears in the
Parent field.
Please note:
• If you select nonconsecutive components, only the selected components are sorted. The position of other components is not changed.
• In the Assembly mode, if you sort components of a reference assembly of which there are multiple instances in the same structure, then the sort is reflected on all instances of the reference assembly.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Creating and Editing a Product Structure Tree
Editing the Tree Structure
3.
Select one of the following options:
•
Asc
— Sorts the nodes in ascending order.
•
Desc
— Sorts the nodes in descending order.
4.
Click
Apply
to sort the components.
EPD.Connect User Guide 3-15
Creating and Editing a Product Structure Tree
Setting Global Attributes
Setting Global Attributes
Global attributes are common assembly attributes, any of which can be applied to a component in the assembly. To add, change, or delete global attributes:
1.
Select the component whose attributes you want to edit.
2.
Choose
Edit > Global Attribute to open the Global Attribute Edit window.
3-16
3.
Select an
Option setting, as follows:
•
Add/Change
— Adds a new attribute to the pool or changes the values of the attribute.
•
Delete
— Deletes the attribute from the pool.
4.
Enter the details of the new attribute in the
Attribute
field. Optionally, enter a value for the attribute in the
Value
field.
You can select an attribute or value from the drop-down list by clicking on the buttons adjacent to the
Attribute
and
Value
fields. For information on defining attributes and values externally, refer to “Defining Assembly Attributes and Values
Externally” on page 2-17.
5.
Select a
Type
for the attribute, either
Instance
or
Class
.
Part names consist of a class level and an instance level separated by an underscore (_).
EPD.Connect User Guide
Creating and Editing a Product Structure Tree
Setting Global Attributes
6.
Enter a group name in the
Group
field. LINK is the standard attribute group that is available in the drop-down list.
All the attributes are unique based on their name and type. Attributes can also have a group name which is optional that makes them unique. Namely, the same attribute can exist in different groups.
If you are working with reference assemblies, all the attributes that belong to the group LINK are available even after the assemblies are expanded.
7.
Click
OK
to make the changes.
Copying Instance Attributes
You can specify whether the instance attributes must be copied to the new instance that you have created during the copy and paste operations by setting values to the variable
CA_COPY_INSTANCE_ATTR
as shown below:
• If the value of this variable is set to 0, instance attributes are not copied to the new instance. This is the default.
• If the value of this variable is set to 1, instance attributes are copied to the new instance.
EPD.Connect User Guide 3-17
Creating and Editing a Product Structure Tree
Setting Revision Levels
Setting Revision Levels
Setting Revision Levels of a Component
You can set the revision level of a component reference on the product structure tree to agree with the revision level of the corresponding component in the database.
1.
Select the component.
2.
Choose
Edit > Set Revisions
.
Changing the Revision Levels of a Component
You can change the revision level of a tree component to give it a revision level that is different from the corresponding component in the database. To do this,
1.
Select the component.
2.
Choose
Edit > Unset Revisions
.
3-18 EPD.Connect User Guide
Chapter 4
Customizing the Product
Structure Tree Window
This chapter explains how to control the way components in a product structure tree are displayed.
• Selecting and Displaying Components
• Setting the Component Display Rules
• Defining the Display State for TIM Components
• Saving Display States
• Restoring Display States
• Compressing a Display Structure
• Browsing for Components
• Creating and Clearing Display Conditions
EPD.Connect User Guide 4-1
Customizing the Product Structure Tree Window
Selecting and Displaying Components
Selecting and Displaying Components
This section explains how to set and display the components in a product structure tree.
Setting the Component Selection
You can determine the selection mode for tree components. To do this:
1.
Choose
View > Control
. The Selection Control dialog box opens.
4-2
The Selection Control dialog box controls both the Product Structure and the
Information Browser windows.
2.
Select a
Tree State
option:
•
Single —
This setting allows you to select only one component at a time.
Selecting another component automatically deselects the previously selected component.
You can also click the
Single icon on the toolbar to perform the same operation.
•
Multi
and
Node —
This allows you to select an unlimited number of components.
You can also click the
Multi Node icon on the toolbar to perform the same operation.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Customizing the Product Structure Tree Window
Selecting and Displaying Components
•
Multi
and
Subassy —
This allows you to select an unlimited number of subcomponents. In addition, you can automatically select all the children of a parent by selecting the parent.
You can also click the
Multi Subassy icon on the toolbar to perform the same operation.
3.
Select a
Browser State option.
4.
Select a
Compress Nodes
option to specify if the node is Uncompressed or compressed.
5.
Select a
Scroll Report
option:
•
Yes
— The Report Viewer scrolls to the component selected in the Product
Structure window. For more information, see “Printing and Displaying
Reports” on page 2-39.
•
No
— The Report Viewer does not scroll to a component selected in a
Product Structure window. This is the default.
6.
Click
Apply.
Please note: If you have opened more than one Product Structure window with the product structure configuration, the options that you select for the Tree
State, the Browser State, the Compress Nodes, and Scroll Report are applied to all the Product Structure windows when you click
Apply
.
Setting Component Text Display
You can add attribute information to display components on the product structure tree. The original state of the component information is stored with the tree and can be easily restored to the display.
EPD.Connect User Guide 4-3
Customizing the Product Structure Tree Window
Selecting and Displaying Components
Add component attribute information to the tree display as follows:
1.
Choose
View > Component Text
. The Component Text Display dialog box appears.
4-4
2.
Choose either
Component
or
Structure
(or both) for the type of
Edit
.
3.
Click an attribute in the
Attribute
list to display it in the
Component and/or
Structure fields. Repeat for each attribute you want displayed. Each attribute you select is appended to the text.
Please note: The default delimiter between attributes is a space. Use the
Delimiter
field to specify a different delimiter, such as an underscore (_).
4.
Click
Apply
to display the attribute information on the product structure tree.
The length of each component is determined by the length of its attribute text string.
5.
Click
Reset
to restore the original settings in this window.
6.
Click
Default
to reinstate the default settings.
7.
Click
Clear to clear the current information from all components. Click
Apply to blank out all the components.
Please note: If more than one Product Structure window with the product structure tree is open, the component attribute information is added to all the tree configurations when you specify the required Component Text Display options and click
Apply
.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Customizing the Product Structure Tree Window
Selecting and Displaying Components
Setting the Component Text Font
You can determine the text font that labels tree components in the Product
Structure window, Structure Overview window, and the Clipboard window. The fonts available depend on the platform and graphics window system. They are held in a text file on the system.
To set the font:
1.
Choose
View > TreeFont Customizer
. The Tree Font Customizer dialog box opens.
2.
Select a font from the list.
3.
Specify the window to which it applies.
4.
Click
Apply
.
Please note: If more than one Product Structure window with the product structure tree is open, the text font that you choose is applied to the active product structure when you choose
Main
and click
Apply
.
EPD.Connect User Guide 4-5
Customizing the Product Structure Tree Window
Setting the Component Display Rules
Setting the Component Display Rules
EPD.Connect lets you sort and display tree components based on the criterion specified such as part name, revision, or component attribute. The system searches for components that match the specified criteria. Depending on the visibility rules set up, it displays the results:
• Color-coded component access indicators to flag components that match search criteria.
This is useful when you need to distinguish characteristics such as a part’s status or release date.
• Highlighted components that match the search criteria.
This is useful when you need to distinguish a set of components having the same feature.
• Hiding components that match the search criteria. Components are hidden according to a set of predefined visibility rules.
Please note: The procedure for creating display rules is similar in each of the
Access, Highlight, and Visibility Rules command windows.
Creating Access Indicator Rules
Access indicators are located at the right end of the tree components. The color of the access indicator of a component corresponds to a specified attribute value.
Components having a common attribute value are displayed with identically colored access indicators.
4-6
In the above figure, all instances of class spokes
that are associated with a particular material are color coded with a black access indicator.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Customizing the Product Structure Tree Window
Setting the Component Display Rules
To define rules that determine the color coding of access indicators:
1.
Choose
View > Access. The
Access Rules window opens.
Please note: If an access indicator is subject to more than one rule, the most recent rule overrides previous rules.
2.
In the
Action
field, select
Add
.
3.
In the
Color
field, select a color.
4.
In the
Attribute
list, select an attribute.
Use the Edit Assembly Component Attribute window to assign the attributes.
EPD.Connect User Guide 4-7
Customizing the Product Structure Tree Window
Setting the Component Display Rules
5.
In the
Test
column, select a test character.
Table 4-1 Test Characters
=
!=
=>
Options
<
<=
> like
!like
Description
less than numeric value less than or equal to (numeric) equal to (alpha or numeric) not equal to (alpha or numeric) equal to or greater than (numeric) greater than (numeric values) like; permits the use of a wildcard unlike; permits the use of a wildcard
6.
Enter a parameter for the access rule in the
Value field.
The
Value
field represents an arbitrary value against which to compare each attribute.
7.
Enter a descriptive name for the rule in the
Key
field. This name is reflected in the Color Key window accessed by choosing
Window > Indicator Key
.
8.
In the
Ignore Case
field, select an option to specify whether or not you want the parameter in the
Value
field to be case sensitive.
9.
Click
Apply
to create the rule.
OR
Click
Access to apply the rule to the tree components.
OR
Click
Clear
to remove color coding from the component access indicators.
If more than one Product Structure window with the product structure tree is open, the access rules that you apply are reflected only in the active product structure.
When you activate another product structure, only the display of the product structure is refreshed and not the access rules.
Please note: You can save access rules to a template and recall them when required. For more information, refer to “Creating a Display Rules Template” on page 4-17.
4-8 EPD.Connect User Guide
Customizing the Product Structure Tree Window
Setting the Component Display Rules
Changing a Rule
To change an existing rule:
1.
Select the rule you want to change from the data display list.
The data associated with the rule appears in the appropriate fields. It is highlighted in red.
2.
In the
Action
field, select
Change
.
3.
Modify the appropriate fields as required to change the rule.
4.
Click
Apply
to change the rule and to display the modified version in the display list.
5.
Click
Access
to make the change on the component tree.
Deleting a Rule
To delete an existing rule:
1.
Select the rule from the data display list.
2.
In the
Action
field, select
Delete.
3.
Click
Apply
.
4.
Click
Reset t o clear all the rules in the list.
Selecting Components by the Access Indicator
To select all product structure components with the same access indicator:
1.
Choose
View
>
Select
>
Color
. The Color Selection dialog box opens.
2.
Click the color you would like to select in the product structure.
3.
Click
OK
. All components with the same access indicator are selected.
EPD.Connect User Guide 4-9
Customizing the Product Structure Tree Window
Setting the Component Display Rules
Creating Highlighting Rules
You can define highlighting rules that determine which components are highlighted on the currently displayed component tree.
For each rule, you can define one or more attribute characteristics as selection criteria. All tree components sharing common characteristics are highlighted with a colored box outline. The default highlight color is red.
To define a new highlighting rule, follow these steps:
1.
Choose
View > Highlight
to open the Highlight Rules window. The current highlighting rules are listed in the display area at the top of the window.
4-10 EPD.Connect User Guide
Customizing the Product Structure Tree Window
Setting the Component Display Rules
2.
In the
Operator
field, choose an operator. The following operators are available:
•
AND
— This is the default. When more than a single rule is defined, this operator combines the rules and highlights the nodes that satisfy all the rules.
•
OR
— When more than a single rule is specified, this operator combines the rules and highlights the nodes that satisfy any of the rules.
Please note: You can combine two or more rules using either the
AND
or the
OR
operator. However, you cannot combine the rules using both the
AND
and the
OR
operator.
3.
In the
Action
field, select
Add
.
4.
From the
Attribute
list, select the attribute you want to use for the test.
5.
From the
Test
column, select the appropriate operator in the test field. See page 4-8 for a brief description of each option.
6.
Choose an attribute option:
•
Value
— Defines a rule for a given value of the selected attribute.
•
Attribute
— Defines a comparison between two attributes.
7.
Click
Apply
to create the rule.
8.
Click
Highlight
to apply the rule to the component tree. The message line displays the total number of components highlighted, including the number highlighted as a result of the new query.
The highlighting is applied to the components that satisfy the applied rules in the list (applied as the Boolean operator
AND
or
OR
). In addition, any components already highlighted by a previous action remain highlighted.
To remove the highlighting from the displayed tree, click
Clear or choose
Clear >
All Highlight
from the menu bar.
Please note: The procedure for changing or deleting a highlight rule is the same as described for changing or deleting an access rule. For more information, refer to “Changing a Rule” on page 4-9.
You can save highlight rules to a template and recall them as needed. For more information, refer to “Creating a Display Rules Template” on page 4-17.
EPD.Connect User Guide 4-11
Customizing the Product Structure Tree Window
Setting the Component Display Rules
Highlighting by Value
The following procedure highlights bicycle tire components that have been assigned the attribute pressure
:
1.
Click
Value
(the initial default).
2.
From the
Attribute
list select pressure
.
3.
In the
Test
column select
=
.
4.
In the
Value
field specify
60 psi
.
5.
Click
Apply
to create the rule.
6.
Click
Highlight
to highlight tire components associated with the attribute pressure
and having a value of
60 ppi
.
Highlighting by Attribute
You can query the component tree to compare attribute and highlight components having attributes that satisfy the comparison criteria. This allows you to perform the following comparisons:
• Test two selected attributes of the same component.
• Test a component attribute against an attribute of the parent of the component.
• Test an attribute of the subassembly of the component.
4-12 EPD.Connect User Guide
Customizing the Product Structure Tree Window
Setting the Component Display Rules
To define a comparison between two attributes, follow these steps:
1.
In the Highlight Rules window, select the
Attribute
option for the test method.
A second attribute list is displayed in the same window.
EPD.Connect User Guide 4-13
Customizing the Product Structure Tree Window
Setting the Component Display Rules
2.
In the
Operator
field, choose an operator. The following operators are available:
•
AND
— This is the default. When more than a single rule is defined, this operator combines the rules and highlights the nodes that satisfy all the rules.
•
OR
— When more than a single rule is specified, this operator combines the rules and highlights the nodes that satisfy any of the rules.
3.
Choose an
Action
button. The actions that can be performed are:
•
Templates
— Displays Rules templates.
•
Add
— Adds a new Rule.
•
Change
— Allows you to edit an existing rule.
•
Delete
— Removes an existing rule.
4.
Select the attribute to which you are applying a comparison in the attribute list on the left.
5.
Select a test option. See page 4-8 for a brief description of each operator.
6.
Select an attribute from the attribute list on the right.
7.
Select the type of component to which the test applies:
•
Component
— Tests two attributes of the same component.
•
Parent
— Tests an attribute of a component against an attribute of its parent.
•
Assembly
— Tests an attribute of a component against an attribute of its subassembly.
8.
Click
Apply
to create the attribute comparison rule.
9.
Click
Highlight
to apply the rule to the product structure.
For example, the preceding screen image shows that the user is asking
EPD.Connect to highlight the components where either the cost is greater than the planned cost or the weight is less than the planned weight.
Creating Display Rules
You can define display rules that determine which components are displayed or hidden on the component tree. For each rule, you can define one or more attribute characteristics as selection criteria. When you apply the rule, components having attributes that match the criteria are hidden on the component tree.
4-14 EPD.Connect User Guide
Customizing the Product Structure Tree Window
Setting the Component Display Rules
To define component visibility rules, follow these steps:
1.
Choose
View > Visibility to open the Visibility Rules window. The current list of visibility rules is listed in the data display area at the top of the window.
EPD.Connect User Guide 4-15
Customizing the Product Structure Tree Window
Setting the Component Display Rules
2.
In the
Operator
field, choose an operator. The following operators are available:
•
AND
— This is the default. When more than a single rule is defined, this operator combines the rules and hides the nodes that satisfy all the rules.
•
OR
— When more than a single rule is specified, this operator combines the rules and hides the nodes that satisfy any of the rules.
3.
In the
Action
field, select
Add
.
4.
Select the attribute you want to use for the test in the
Attribute
list.
5.
Select a test option in the
Test
column. Refer to step 5 on page 4-8 for a brief description of each operator.
6.
Select a
Test By
attribute option:
•
Value
— Defines a rule for a given value of the selected attribute.
•
Attribute
— Defines a comparison between two attributes.
7.
Click
Apply
to create the rule.
8.
Click
Visibility
to apply the rule to the product structure tree.
Components that satisfy the attribute value or comparison are hidden from the display.
The hide function is applied to the components that satisfy the applied rules in the list (applied with the Boolean operator
AND
or
OR
). In addition, any components hidden by a previous action also remain hidden.
Please note: The procedure for changing or deleting a visibility rule is the same as described for changing or deleting an access rule.
Click
Clear
or select
Clear > All Hidden
to redisplay the hidden components.
You can save highlight rules to a template and recall them as needed.
Example
The following steps have the effect of hiding all components that have been modified since they were last read out from the Vault.
1.
Select
Attribute
to display a compare list of attributes.
2.
Select
READ_TIME
from the attribute list on the left.
3.
Select the less than or equal to
Operator
(
<=
).
4-16 EPD.Connect User Guide
Customizing the Product Structure Tree Window
Setting the Component Display Rules
4.
Select the attribute
MODIFY_TIME
from the attribute list on the right.
5.
Select
Component
.
6.
Click
Apply
.
Creating a Display Rules Template
If you use a particular set of rules on a regular basis, save them to a template. You can apply the template to any currently displayed product structure tree.
The procedure for creating a rules template is the same for Access, Highlight, and
Visibility rules:
1.
Select
Templates
in the
Action field. The Action rules window displays the current list of templates.
EPD.Connect User Guide 4-17
Customizing the Product Structure Tree Window
Setting the Component Display Rules
2.
Click
Save
. The Save Template dialog box opens.
3.
Enter a name for the template.
4.
Select an Overwrite option.
5.
Click Save to save the template in the Access, Highlight, or Visibility Rules templates directory and to display it in the templates list.
Please note: If you assemble several rules in the top scroll list, they are all saved as one template.
Retrieving a Template
To retrieve a template:
1.
Click
Templates
.
2.
Select the template you want from the template list.
3.
Click
Apply to display the template rules.
4.
Click
Access
,
Highlight
or
Visibility
to apply the template rules to the component tree.
Select a different
Action
option to return to the main display area.
4-18 EPD.Connect User Guide
Customizing the Product Structure Tree Window
Defining the Display State for TIM Components
Defining the Display State for TIM Components
When you are working with components whose nodes are associated with TIM parts or assemblies, use the TIM data from the TIM assembly when you define the highlight, the visibility, and the access rules for these components. Assign the following values to the attribute
TIM-FLAG
:
Table 4-2 Values for the TIM-FLAG Attribute
Value
0
1
Results
Non-TIM objects, namely only CADDS/CAMU objects, will be marked for defining the highlight, the visibility, and the access rules. Other applications like PS,
Pro/ENGINEER parts or assemblies are ignored.
TIM parts and assemblies will be marked.
Any other value than those assigned does not affect the TIM components.
EPD.Connect User Guide 4-19
Customizing the Product Structure Tree Window
Saving Display States
Saving Display States
You can save all the highlighting, visibility, access, and selected states you have assigned to components in a product structure.
To save these states to a file:
1.
Choose
View > Save State.
The Save State dialog box opens.
4-20
The default directory is as shown. To change this default, use the
CA_STATES environment variable.
2.
Enter a file name in the
Filename
field.
3.
Select an Overwrite option:
• Yes — Overwrite the current version of the file by the same name.
• No — Does not overwrite the current version of the file by the same name.
4.
Select one or more display states:
Table 4-3 Display State Options
Options Description
Highlighted Saves the state of highlighting on the tree structure.
Saves the state of the access indicators on the components.
Access
Visible
Selected
Saves the state of the visibility of components.
Saves the state of the selected components.
5.
Click
Apply
.
Please note: If more than one Product Structure window with a product structure tree is open, the display state is saved only for the active product structure tree.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Customizing the Product Structure Tree Window
Restoring Display States
Restoring Display States
To restore a display state previously assigned to tree components and saved, follow these steps:
1.
Choose
View > Restore State
to open the Restore State dialog box.
2.
Select the state file name from the list.
3.
Click Apply .
Please note: If more than one Product Structure window with the product structure tree is open, the display state is restored only for the components of the active product structure tree.
EPD.Connect User Guide 4-21
Customizing the Product Structure Tree Window
Compressing a Display Structure
Compressing a Display Structure
A product structure consists of components in the form of nodes. There are two types of nodes:
• Reference nodes
• Normal nodes
A product structure may have many levels. Each level consists of reference nodes, normal nodes or a combination of both.
If there are a large number of components, it becomes difficult to view the product structure and to locate a particular node or a segment of the product structure.
Please note: There may be many nodes which are identical, but all are displayed. The number of such nodes is very high at the ends.
Compress node is only for viewing. There are two options used for this purposes:
• Uncompress Node
• Compress Node
Uncompressed Node
The uncompressed node is the one which is not compressed. By default, a tree is opened in uncompressed mode. The following figure shows all nodes in uncompressed mode.
Figure 4-1 Product structure in uncompressed mode
4-22 EPD.Connect User Guide
Customizing the Product Structure Tree Window
Compressing a Display Structure
Compressed Node
A node is called compressed if only one copy of identical node is shown along with number of nodes. Compression is done on a node if there are more than one identical node to the same parent at the same level, having no children.
The selected node specifies the node to be compressed needs to replaced by a single node for display purposes. After compression of one node ( ref_node_1
), the product structure tree appears as shown below.
Figure 4-2 Product structure with node ref_node_1 compressed
After compression of the whole tree (root node), the product structure appears as shown below.
Figure 4-3 Product structure with the entire tree compressed
In the above figure, the children of ref_node, node_1
and node_2
are compressed because they are end/leaf node. The nodes attached to sec_node_1 are not compressed even though they are identical. This is because they are not leaf nodes.
Compression is not done for reference nodes. If all the children of ref_node_1 in the figure are reference nodes, then it will not be compressed even after you perform compression.
EPD.Connect User Guide 4-23
Customizing the Product Structure Tree Window
Compressing a Display Structure
Example: Screws in an Assembly
These nodes remain as end nodes with no components added to them.Typically, a screw does not have any components attached to it. So it is not necessary to see all the nodes. You may want to see only one of a particular variety. You prefer to see only one screw and its number rather than viewing all the components.
Compressed node enhances viewing by showing only one node in place of many identical end/leaf nodes.
Advantages
• Compress node improves viewing of the product structure.
• You can open the product structure in compressed or uncompressed mode.
• You can open the product structure even if the whole structure is not compressed/uncompressed.
• Steps 1 through 3 are achieved in product structure file format without any changes.
• It improves the visibility of the CM structure.
• You can compress or uncompress a partial or a whole tree in the product structure window by selecting the nodes independently.
• This is an independent functionality within EPD. Connect and does not block any other functionality or command available in EPD.Connect.
Limitations
1.
Compress node is applicable to only end/leaf nodes at the same level that are attached to the same parent.
2.
Compress node is not applicable to the reference nodes.
4-24 EPD.Connect User Guide
Customizing the Product Structure Tree Window
Browsing for Components
Browsing for Components
Locating components or a sequence of related components in a very large tree can be difficult using only the main product structure window. The Browse
Configuration panel allows you to navigate large trees to view designated components in the main window or in the Overview window.
The Browse facility is particularly useful when used in conjunction with the
Component Status or Compare Status panels. By opening these panels and leaving them displayed while browsing the tree, you can check the attribute information for each component as it is located.
To browse for components, follow these steps:
1.
Choose
View > Browser
to open the Browse Configuration window.
2.
Select a browse option:
Table 4-4 Browsing Options
Options Description
By Name Locates components by name. You can enter the name or choose from the drop-down list of components in the tree.
Highlighted
Locates highlighted components.
Compare
Same
Compare
Different
Compare
New
Locates components that are the same by comparing it with tree configurations stored in the database.
Locates components that are different by comparing them with tree configurations stored in the database.
Locates components that are new by comparing them with tree configurations stored in the database.
EPD.Connect User Guide 4-25
Customizing the Product Structure Tree Window
Browsing for Components
3.
Select one of the
Display Window
options.
•
Main
— to display results in the main Product Structure window.
•
Overview
— to display results in the Structure Overview window.
4.
Choose
Window > Structure Overview to open the Structure Overview window.
In the following example, a highlight rule was applied to a group of components, and then the browser was used to display those components in the
Structure Overview window.
4-26 EPD.Connect User Guide
Customizing the Product Structure Tree Window
Browsing for Components
5.
To sequentially scroll the display to each component in the group you are browsing, select one of the following options:
Table 4-5 Scrolling Options
Options Description
Next Scrolls the display to the next component in the group being browsed.
Previous
Scrolls the display to the previous component in the group being browsed.
Goto
Moves the display to the position of the nth component in the browse sequence. For example, if a highlight display rule highlights 15 components scattered throughout a large tree, and you specify GOTO 9, the browse facility goes to the ninth component of the 15 highlighted components.
Please note: As the display moves around the configuration, the current component number is shown in the
Messages
field.
EPD.Connect User Guide 4-27
Customizing the Product Structure Tree Window
Creating and Clearing Display Conditions
Creating and Clearing Display Conditions
This chapter has discussed a variety of ways to create and clear display conditions for product structure tree components. This section summarizes the display operations you can perform by selecting the options in the View and Clear menus.
View Menu
The following table explains the operations you can perform with the View menu, along with pointers to sections where they are explained in detail.
Table 4-6 Display Command Options
To Create this Display
Condition:
Single or multiple component selection.
Determine attribute information to display on tree components.
Determine the text font that labels tree components in the product structure window, the Tree Overview window, and the Clipboard window.
Save all the highlighting, visibility, access, and selected states you have assigned to components in a tree structure.
Restore a display state previously assigned to tree components and saved.
Compress a display structure.
Choose this Command: For Details Refer to:
Control “Setting the Component
Selection” on page 4-2
Component Text
“Setting Component Text
Display” on page 4-3
TreeFont Customizer
“Setting the Component
Text Font” on page 4-5
Save State
Restore State
Compress
“Saving Display States” on page 4-20
“Restoring Display States” on page 4-21
Uncompress a display structure.
Uncompress
“Compressing a Display
Structure” on page 4-22
“Compressing a Display
Structure” on page 4-22
“Creating Access Indicator
Rules” on page 4-6
Create color-coded component access indicators to flag components that match search criteria.
Define highlighting rules that determine which components are highlighted on the currently displayed component tree.
Define visibility rules that determine which components are hidden from the displayed tree.
Navigate the tree by specified criteria.
Highlight all selected components.
Access
Highlight
Visibility
Browser
Select > Highlight ed
“Creating Highlighting
Rules” on page 4-10
“Creating Display Rules” on page 4-14
“Browsing for Components” on page 4-25
4-28 EPD.Connect User Guide
Customizing the Product Structure Tree Window
Creating and Clearing Display Conditions
Table 4-6 Display Command Options (Continued)
To Create this Display
Condition:
Highlight all nonselected components.
Choose this Command: For Details Refer to:
Select > Not
Highlighted
Select > To Root
Highlight all the components that have a direct link to a selected component.
Select all components with the same access indicator color.
Select all highlighted components.
Component selection mode must be set to multiple.
Select all components that are not highlighted. Component selection mode must be set to multiple.
Hide all selected components. A subassembly is only hidden if all its components are hidden.
Hide all components that are not selected.
Identify the common parent component for a group of selected components by selecting the parents.
Identify the common parent component for a group of highlighted components by highlighting the parents.
Trace the inter-component links from a selected component to the root component. Traced lines are changed to a distinctive color.
Select
>
Color “Selecting Components by the Access Indicator” on page 4-9
Highlight > Selected
“Hiding Components” on page 2-14
Highlight > Not
Selected
Hide > Selected
Hide > Not Selected
Link > Selected
Link > Highlighted
Trace Selected
EPD.Connect User Guide 4-29
Customizing the Product Structure Tree Window
Creating and Clearing Display Conditions
Clear Menu
The Clear menu provides options for clearing the display selections made with the
View menu. The following table briefly explains the operations you can perform with the Clear menu.
Table 4-7 Clear Menu Options
To Create this Display Condition:
Deselect all selected components.
Choose this Command:
All Selected
Turn off linking to common parent components.
Turn off highlighting (colored outline) from all components.
Redisplay all hidden components.
Reset component text color coded by a compare operation to default black text on blue background.
Reset access indicator colors to the default.
All Links
All Highlight
All Hidden
All Compare
All Access
Apply all reset options in one operation. All access indicators and selected, highlighted, linked, and hidden components are reset to the default display state.
All Flags
Remove the highlighting only from those components that are both selected and highlighted.
Selected Highlight
Redisplay components that are selected and also hidden. Selected Hide
Please note: If more than one Product Structure window with a product structure tree is open, you can use the clear menu options only on the active product structure.
4-30 EPD.Connect User Guide
Chapter 5
Using the 3D Viewer
This chapter explains how to use the 3DViewer. The 3D Viewer provides basic visualization of simple tessellated files that you create from any 3D CAD system.
• About 3D Viewer
• Setting the Viewer Session
• Setting the View
• Setting the Camera
• Measuring Distance
• Rendering
• Moving the Camera
• Setting the Working Units
• Selecting and Scrolling
• Selecting Application Objects
• Display Menu
• Exiting the 3D Viewer
EPD.Connect User Guide 5-1
Using the 3D Viewer
About 3D Viewer
About 3D Viewer
The 3D Viewer allows you to perform tasks upon the graphical depiction of the product.
To start the 3D Viewer:
1.
Choose
Tools > 3D Viewer from the EPD.Connect menu bar. The 3D Viewer window opens, displaying a main graphics window with a row of icons beneath it.
The icons are shown in the following figure.
2.
Choose an operation by clicking the corresponding icon.
Mouse Behavior
The mouse operations that you can perform in the 3D Viewer are as follows:
Operation
Turn
Your Action
Tools selection Point to the item you want to select and click the left mouse button.
Rotation Drag with the right mouse button.
Zoom
Drag with the right mouse button while pressing the Shift key.
Drag with the right mouse button while pressing the
Control
key.
5-2 EPD.Connect User Guide
3D Viewer Operations
The following list of icons and their associated operations refers you to sections in this guide that contains detailed information about each operation.
Icon Action
Create a new session
Using the 3D Viewer
About 3D Viewer
See:
“Creating a New Session” on page 5-5
Open a graphics file
Reset the primary view
“Opening a Graphics File from the 3D Viewer” on page 5-5
“Resetting the Primary View” on page 5-7
Set the primary view “Setting a New Primary View” on page 5-7
View all components in the scene “Viewing All Components” on page 5-7
Zoom the view
Set the camera position
Set the camera target
“Zooming” on page 5-7
“Setting the Camera Position” on page 5-8
“Setting the Camera Target” on page 5-8
Set the camera position and target “Setting the Camera Position and Target” on page 5-8
Measure the distance from the camera to a point
“Measuring Distance from Camera to Point” on page 5-9
Measure the distance between two points
“Measuring Distance Between Two Points” on page 5-9
Set the rendering controls “Rendering” on page 5-11
Move the camera in an angular and linear direction
“Moving the Camera” on page 5-13
Set the working units “Setting the Working Units” on page 5-16
EPD.Connect User Guide 5-3
Using the 3D Viewer
About 3D Viewer
Icon Action
Select a graphic in the 3D Viewer window to scroll to and select the associated items in the product structure tree
Select a CADDS component or an application object in the 3D viewer window.
See:
“Selecting and Scrolling” on page 5-18
“Selecting Application Objects” on page 5-19
5-4 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the 3D Viewer
Setting the Viewer Session
Setting the Viewer Session
To use the 3D Viewer, create a session and add geometry to it.
Creating a New Session
To create the initial and additional sessions, click the icon for creating a new session.
When you create a new session, all data from the current session and the 3D
Viewer window is cleared.
Opening a Graphics File from the 3D Viewer
To add geometry to your session, open one or more graphics files. To open a graphics file:
1.
Click the icon for opening a graphics file. The Graphics File Selection dialog box opens.
EPD.Connect User Guide 5-5
Using the 3D Viewer
Setting the Viewer Session
2.
Specify the name, location, and format of the graphics file you want to open:
Field/Option
Name
Description
The name of the graphics file
Directory The location of the graphics file
File Mode MF
Metafile
GAF Textual graphic file
GBF
_TD
Binary graphic file
Tessellated file
Opening a Graphics File from the Product Structure
Window
The Product Structure window and the 3D Viewer are linked dynamically. To display the graphics file of a part:
1.
Select the part in the Product Structure window.
2.
Choose
Display > Load
from the EPD.Connect menu bar. The geometry is displayed in the 3D Viewer.
Please note: You cannot open a MEDUSA model in the 3D Viewer. A
MEDUSA model is a MEDUSA- generated object and not a
.gbf
file that can be opened in the 3D Viewer.
For a discussion of manipulating other MEDUSA-generated objects in
EPD.Connect, see Chapter 10, “Using the EPD Interface for MEDUSA.”
5-6 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the 3D Viewer
Setting the View
Setting the View
You can control the view of the 3D scene. You can:
• Reset the primary view.
• Set a new primary view.
• Set the view so that you see all components in the scene.
• Zoom into an area of the scene to have a close-up view.
Resetting the Primary View
The primary view is the initial view displayed when you add your first graphics file. It is a fixed view and you can return to it as you manipulate the 3D scene.
Click the icon to reset the current view of the 3D scene to the primary view.
Setting a New Primary View
To set a new primary view, display the scene that you want as your primary view.
Then click the icon for setting the primary view.
Viewing All Components
To view all the components in the scene, click this icon. The components are centered and placed within the limits of the graphics window.
Zooming
You can define a rectangular area to be a close-up view of the 3D scene. This allows you to enlarge an area to work on it. To zoom a selected area:
1.
Click the zooming icon.
2.
Move the pointer into the graphics window.
3.
Digitize two boundary points.
EPD.Connect User Guide 5-7
Using the 3D Viewer
Setting the Camera
Setting the Camera
The camera lens encompasses all that you see in the 3D scene. The camera position is your eye point. The camera target point is located at the center of the
3D Viewer window at a depth that you specify.
You can set the camera position, camera target, or both.
Setting the Camera Position
To set a new position for the camera:
1.
Click the icon for setting the camera target.
2.
Move the pointer into the graphics window.
3.
Digitize a point.
The camera moves to that new point.
Setting the Camera Target
To set a point around which the orbit tools will operate:
1.
Click the icon for setting the camera target.
2.
Move the pointer into the graphics window.
3.
Digitize a point.
The 3D scene conforms to the new camera target.
Setting the Camera Position and Target
To set a new camera position and camera target:
1.
Click the icon for setting the camera position and target.
2.
Move the pointer into the graphics window.
3.
Digitize the camera position point and target point.
5-8 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the 3D Viewer
Measuring Distance
Measuring Distance
You can measure the distance from the camera position to a selected point in the
3D scene and measure the distance between two points in the 3D scene.
The distance between two points is measured by:
• The straight line distance (calculated from vertex to vertex)
• The delta xyz distances (expressed as the xyz component parts of the straight line distance).
Measuring Distance from Camera to Point
To measure the distance between the camera and a point:
1.
Click the icon.
2.
Move the pointer into the graphics window. The 3D viewer prompts you:
Measure Distance From Camera To Item:
Digitize a vertex point...
3.
Digitize a point.
A digitize marker snaps to the nearest vertex. The following message is displayed:
Distance to selected item = distance
The distance displays in working units (such as inches, feet, or miles). See
Setting the Working Units for information about setting working units.
Measuring Distance Between Two Points
To measure the distance between two points:
1.
Click the icon.
2.
Move the pointer into the graphics window. The 3D Viewer prompts you with the following:
Measure Distance Between Items:
Digitize first vertex point...
3.
Digitize the first point.
EPD.Connect User Guide 5-9
Using the 3D Viewer
Measuring Distance
A digitize marker snaps to the nearest vertex. The 3D Viewer prompts you with the following:
Measure Distance Between Items:
Digitize second vertex point...
4.
Digitize the second point. The following message appears:
Distance between items = distance
dx = distance, dy = distance, dz = distance
The distance between the points is the straight line distance and is calculated in working units (such as feet, miles, or meters).
The dx, dy, and dz distance is the delta xyz distance.
5-10 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the 3D Viewer
Rendering
Rendering
You can control the rendering of the 3D scene using the Render Controls window.
Click the Render icon. The Render Controls dialog box opens.
Rendering Methods
The following rendering methods are available to enable you to generate a realistic
3D scene:
•
Wire Frame
— Displays all surface edges of the 3D scene as lines, regardless of the visibility of the lines.
•
Hidden Line
— Displays a solid view of the 3D scene, with black polygon edges.
•
Flat Shading
— Displays a shaded solid view of the 3D scene, with the edges between the polygons visible.
•
Smooth Shading
— Displays a smooth shaded solid view of the 3D scene.
Polygons that are defined as shells in the graphic files are displayed so that you do not see the edges between them.
EPD.Connect User Guide 5-11
Using the 3D Viewer
Rendering
Back Facing Polygons
Specify the display or removal of back facing polygons:
•
Display
— Includes the polygons facing the back in the display.
•
Remove
— Removes, from the display, polygons facing the back that you normally cannot see.
Please note: The removal of back facing polygons works well when the objects are completely closed. However, if objects contain holes or openings, the back facing polygons that you ordinarily see through the openings are invisible.
Display Buffering
Set the display buffering to single or double, as follows:
•
Single
— Displays each item as it is rendered.
•
Double
— Displays items only after they are all completely rendered. This provides a more realistic view during such operations as camera or item traversal and any walk-through operations.
Please note: For a more realistic view, use double buffering when performing such operations as camera or item traversal and any walk-through operations.
5-12 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the 3D Viewer
Moving the Camera
Moving the Camera
You can move the camera in an angular or linear direction. Set the direction of the camera by selecting tools from the Tools palette. Click the Tools icon to open the
Tools palette.
Moving the Camera in an Angular Direction
The orbit tools enable you to move the camera position in an angular direction.
What you see when you use the orbit angle tools is relative to the camera target. To change the camera target:
1.
Click the icon for setting the camera target.
2.
Select a new target point in the 3D Viewer window.
Please note: You cannot orbit upside-down.
Set the number of degrees that the camera position orbits using the Orbit Angle slider scale. For more details on setting units, see “Setting the Working Units” on page 5-16.
EPD.Connect User Guide 5-13
Using the 3D Viewer
Moving the Camera
The orbit tools are:
Orbit Left
enables you to orbit the camera position to the left around the vertical axis of the 3D scene.
Orbit Right
enables you to orbit the camera position to the right around the vertical axis of the 3D scene.
Orbit Over enables you to orbit the camera position over the vertical axis of the
3D scene.
Orbit Under
enables you to orbit the camera position under the vertical axis of the 3D scene.
Moving the Camera in a Linear Direction
The move tools enable you to move the camera position in a linear direction. Set the number of units that the camera position moves using the Move Distance slider scale. For more details on setting units, see “Setting the Working Units” on page 5-16.
The move tools are:
Move Up enables you to move the 3D scene up relative to the coordinate system of the graphics window.
Move Down
enables you to move the 3D scene down relative to the coordinate system of the graphics window.
Move Left
enables you to move the 3D scene left relative to the coordinate system of the graphics window.
Move Right
enables you to move the 3D scene right relative to the coordinate system of the graphics window.
5-14 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the 3D Viewer
Moving the Camera
Move Forward
enables you to move the 3D scene forward relative to the coordinate system of the graphics window. If you move beyond the camera target, a new camera target is automatically set.
Move Back
enables you to move the 3D scene back relative to the coordinate system of the graphics window. Each time you click the button, you move away from the 3D scene and more of the scene comes into view.
EPD.Connect User Guide 5-15
Using the 3D Viewer
Setting the Working Units
Setting the Working Units
1.
Click the icon for setting the work units. The Preference Controls dialog box opens.
5-16
2.
Select the required
Working Units
. You can work in different units by setting the working units (inches, feet, or miles).
When you perform 3D Viewer operations, all calculations are displayed in the selected working units. Set your working units in the Preference Controls window.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the 3D Viewer
Setting the Working Units
3.
In the lower half of the Preference Controls window are two slider scales for
Move Distance
and
Orbit Angle
.
• Use the
Move Distance
slider scale to set the number of units you want to move the camera position in a linear direction. For more information see
“Moving the Camera in a Linear Direction” on page 5-14.
• Use the
Orbit Angle
slider scale to set the number of degrees you want to move the camera position in an angular direction. For more information, see
“Moving the Camera in an Angular Direction” on page 5-13.
EPD.Connect User Guide 5-17
Using the 3D Viewer
Selecting and Scrolling
Selecting and Scrolling
You can scroll to items in the product structure tree that are associated with a particular graphic component displayed in the 3D Viewer window. To do so:
1.
Click the icon for selecting and scrolling in the 3D Viewer window.
2.
Select a graphic component.
3.
In the Product Structure window, the product structure tree scrolls to and selects the items associated with the graphic component you selected.
Running Custom Reports
You can select, scroll, and run a custom report for a component displayed in the
3D Viewer. To do so:
1.
Specify the value
Y
to the variable
PVS_SELECT_SCROLL_REP
in the explorer.ini
file.
2.
Set the variable
CA_ENV_REPORT to one of the following to specify the type of the custom report that you want to run:
•
CA_ENV_REPORT
=’
LOOKUP
:< number
>’
The report is fetched from the lookup.rep
file. < number
> is the number of the report to be run.
•
CA_ENV_REPORT
=’
ACTION
:
[Report type]\t[Tree data wanted]\t[Program]
’
The report is fetched based on the action that you specify. For details of
[
Report type
], [
Tree data wanted
], and [
Program
] see the details of
Action Number 6500 in Customizing EPD.Connect.
3.
Start EPD.Connect and open the required product structure in the 3D Viewer.
4.
Click the icon for selecting and scrolling in the 3D Viewer.
5.
Click on the component in the 3D Viewer. A custom report appears as per the
CA_ENV_REPORT
variable settings that you have defined.
5-18 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the 3D Viewer
Selecting Application Objects
Selecting Application Objects
You can select a CADDS component or an application object in the 3D Viewer window. To do so:
1.
Click the icon for selecting masks in the 3D Viewer window. The Selection
Masks dialog box opens.
2.
Use the
Graphics File
option to select a CADDS component in the 3D Viewer.
This is the default option.
3.
Use the
Item
option to select a required application object in the 3D Viewer.
EPD.Connect User Guide 5-19
Using the 3D Viewer
Display Menu
Display Menu
The EPD.Connect Display menu allows you to perform the following tasks:
• Load components from the product structure tree into the 3D Viewer
• Delete components from the 3D Viewer
• Convert CADDS parts to graphic files
• Manipulate the view of an object by removing and hiding components
• Apply highlighting, transparency, and colors to components displayed in the
3D Viewer
• Setting display methods for polygons
The Display menu lists the following options:
Display Menu Option
Load
Delete
Convert
Show
Hide
Select
Deselect
Highlight
Transparency
Color
Options
Action
Loads components in the product structure tree into the 3D Viewer.
Deletes components from the 3D Viewer.
Converts parts to graphic files.
Displays components selected or highlighted in the product structure tree.
Hides components selected or highlighted in the product structure tree.
Selects components selected in the product structure tree.
Deselects components selected in the product structure tree.
Highlights components highlighted in the product structure tree.
Shows components selected or highlighted in the product structure tree as transparent.
Resets the colors of components selected or highlighted in the product structure tree to their original colors. Also, shows components in indicator colors or sets the color of all components to white.
Instructs the 3D Viewer to display polygons as shell or flat polygons.
5-20 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the 3D Viewer
Display Menu
Loading Tree Components into the 3D Viewer (Load)
You can load components shown in the product structure tree into the 3D Viewer.
The
Load
menu commands are as follows:
Load Menu Option
All
Selected
Highlighted
Only Selected
Only Highlighted
Action
Load all components in the product structure tree into the 3D Viewer.
Load components selected in the product structure tree into the 3D
Viewer.
Load components highlighted in the product structure tree into the 3D
Viewer.
Load components currently selected in the product structure tree and remove previously loaded components.
Load components currently highlighted in the product structure tree and remove previously loaded components.
Deleting Components from the 3D Viewer (Delete)
You can delete the components in the product structure tree from the 3D Viewer.
The
Delete
menu commands are:
Delete Menu Option Action
All
Delete all displayed components from the 3D Viewer. This provides a fresh display window into which components can be loaded.
Selected
Delete all components that correspond to the selected components in the product structure tree.
Highlighted
Delete all components that correspond to the highlighted components in the product structure tree.
Converting CADDS Parts to Graphic Files (Convert)
You can convert CADDS parts to graphic ASCII (
.
) or graphic binary (
.gbf
) files and then perform operations on them in the 3D Viewer. The
Conversion
menu commands for converting CADDS parts to graphic files are:
Convert Menu Option Action
All
Selected
Convert all parts to graphic files.
Convert selected parts to graphic files.
Highlighted
Convert highlighted parts to graphic files.
EPD.Connect User Guide 5-21
Using the 3D Viewer
Display Menu
Showing Components (Show)
The options for displaying components affect only the 3D Viewer and its data state. The
Show
menu options are:
Show Menu Option Action
All Displays all components in the 3D Viewer, regardless of their current state.
Selected
Displays components currently selected in the product structure tree while retaining previously displayed components.
Highlighted
Displays components currently highlighted in the product structure tree while retaining previously displayed components.
Only Selected
Displays components currently selected in the product structure tree and removes previously displayed components.
Only Highlighted Displays components currently highlighted in the product structure tree and removes previously displayed components.
Hiding Components (Hide)
Most of the options for hiding components displayed in the 3D Viewer operate on components that are selected or highlighted in the product structure tree. The
Hide options are:
Hide Menu Option Action
All
Selected
Highlighted
Hides all components displayed in the 3D Viewer. This is used with other options, as described in Using the Display Options — Examples
Hides components currently selected in the product structure tree while previously hidden components remain hidden.
Hides components currently highlighted in the product structure tree while previously hidden components remain hidden.
Only Selected
Hides components currently selected in the product structure tree.
Only Highlighted Hides components currently highlighted in the product structure tree.
5-22 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the 3D Viewer
Display Menu
Selecting Components (Select)
You can select components, incrementally and non-incrementally, in the 3D
Viewer. The
Select
menu options are:
Select Menu Command Action
Selected Selects components currently selected in the product structure tree while retaining components already selected.
Only Selected
Selects components currently selected in the product structure tree and deselects previously selected components.
Incrementally Selecting Components in the 3D Viewer
You can incrementally select the components in the 3D Viewer. To do so, perform these steps:
1.
In the product structure tree, select components you want selected in the 3D
Viewer.
2.
Choose
Display> Select > Selected
.
The components you have selected in the product structure tree are selected in the 3D Viewer. Components already selected in the 3D Viewer remain selected.
Selecting Components in the 3D Viewer
To select specific components in the 3D Viewer:
1.
In the product structure tree, select the components you want selected in the 3D
Viewer.
2.
Choose
Display > Select > Only Selected
.
The components you have selected in the product structure tree are selected in the 3D Viewer. The components previously selected in the 3D Viewer are deselected.
The following figure shows the handle and seat components selected in the product structure tree and the wheel component selected in the 3D Viewer.
EPD.Connect User Guide 5-23
Using the 3D Viewer
Display Menu
Figure 5-1 Starting State
If you apply
Select >Only Selected to this example, the handle and seat components are selected in the 3D Viewer and the wheel is deselected. The result is shown in the following figure.
Figure 5-2 Ending State
5-24
Deselecting Components (Deselect)
You can incrementally deselect components and deselect all components in the 3D
Viewer. The Deselect menu options are:
•
All
— Deselects all components currently selected in the 3D Viewer.
•
Selected —
Deselects components selected in the product structure tree.
Choose
Display > Deselect > All
to deselect all components selected in the 3D
Viewer.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the 3D Viewer
Display Menu
Incrementally Deselecting Components in the 3D Viewer
To incrementally deselect components in the 3D Viewer:
1.
Select, in the product structure tree, components you want deselected in the 3D
Viewer.
2.
Choose
Display > Deselect > Selected
.
The components you have selected in the product structure tree are deselected in the 3D Viewer. Components already selected in the 3D Viewer that are not selected in the structure tree remain selected.
Highlighting Components (Highlight)
You can apply highlighting to the components in the 3D Viewer. The Highlight menu options are:
Menu Command
Selected
Highlighted
Only Selected
Action
Highlights, in red in the 3D Viewer, components selected in the product structure tree and leaves the color of other components unchanged.
Highlights, in red in the 3D Viewer, components highlighted in the product structure tree and leaves the color of other components unchanged.
Resets all components in the 3D Viewer to their original color and highlights in red the components selected in the product structure tree.
Only Highlighted Resets all components in the 3D Viewer to their original color and highlights in red the components highlighted in the product structure tree.
Highlighting the Selected Components
To highlight in red all components selected in the product structure tree, while leaving the color of other components unchanged, choose
Display > Highlight >
Selected.
Please note: Select
Color All White
before using this option. You will easily see the highlighted (red) components in the 3D Viewer.
Highlighting the Components Incrementally
You can highlight all components in red in the 3D Viewer that are highlighted in the product structure tree and leave the color of other components unchanged. To do this, choose
Display > Highlight > Highlighted. Color All White is useful when used with this option.
EPD.Connect User Guide 5-25
Using the 3D Viewer
Display Menu
Highlighting Only Selected Components
To reset all components displayed in the 3D Viewer to their original color and highlight in red the components selected in the product structure tree:
1.
In the product structure tree, select only the components you want to see highlighted in the 3D Viewer.
2.
Choose
Display > Highlight
>
Only Selected
.
The selected components are highlighted in the 3D Viewer.
Highlighting Only Highlighted Components
You can reset all components displayed in the 3D Viewer to their original color and highlight in red only the components highlighted in the product structure tree.
To do this, choose
Display > Highlight > Only Highlighted.
Applying Transparency (Transparency)
To apply transparency to the components in the 3D Viewer, select from the following commands:
Menu Command Action
Selected
Highlighted
Shows components selected in the product structure tree as transparent in the 3D Viewer but leaves the appearance of other components unchanged.
Shows components highlighted in the product structure tree as transparent in the 3D Viewer but leaves the appearance of other components unchanged.
Only Selected
Resets all components in the 3D Viewer to their original color and applies transparency to the components selected in the product structure tree.
Only Highlighted
Resets all components in the 3D Viewer to their original color and applies transparency to the components highlighted in the product structure tree.
5-26 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the 3D Viewer
Display Menu
Resetting Colors (Color)
To reset the colors of the components in the 3D Viewer, choose one of the following
Reset Color
commands:
Menu Command
Reset All
Action
Resets the colors of all components in the 3D Viewer to their original colors.
Reset Selected
Reset Highlighted
Resets the colors of all components highlighted in the product structure tree to their original colors in the 3D Viewer.
From Indicators
Shows components in the 3D Viewer in indicator colors.
To activate indicator colors, you must choose
View > Access
from the product structure menu and adjust the selections on the Access dialog box. See the Product Structure User Guide for instructions on how to set up the Access dialog box.
All White
Resets the colors of all components selected in the product structure tree to their original colors in the 3D Viewer.
Sets the color of all components in the 3D Viewer to white before using
Highlight
and
Transparency
options to make highlighted and transparent components easier to see.
Please note: If you choose
Color > All White
before using the highlight and transparency options, you will more easily see the highlighted (red) components in the 3D Viewer.
Displaying Polygons (Options)
You can display polygons as either shell or flat polygons in the 3D Viewer. A shell polygon is a network of interconnected polygons that share common points and result in a unit typically called a polyhedron. Shell polygons can be smooth shaded by the 3D Viewer. However, flat polygons cannot. A flat polygon requires a minimum of three points to define a plane.
To display polygons, use one of the following two options:
Menu Command
Load Shell
Polygons
Load Flat
Polygons
Action
Instructs the 3D Viewer to display polygons as shell polygons. Shell treatment improves rendering but system performance is slower than with flat. This setting remains in effect until reset.
Instructs the 3D Viewer to display polygons as flat polygons.
Flat treatment gives better system performance but poorer rendering.
This default setting remains in effect until reset. This option is reversed by
Load Shell Polygons
.
EPD.Connect User Guide 5-27
Using the 3D Viewer
Display Menu
Using the Display Options — Examples
By selectively viewing and hiding components, you can focus on specific areas of an object. Many of the options for displaying components in the 3D Viewer are used with other options. Examples of the ways you can use these options follow.
Displaying Selected Components
The
Show > Selected
option is often used with the
Hide > All
option to display only selected components, as follows:
1.
In the product structure tree, select the components you want selected in the 3D
Viewer.
2.
Choose
Display > Select > Selected
.
3.
Choose
Display > Hide > All
.
All components displayed in the 3D Viewer will now disappear.
4.
Choose
Display > Show > Selected
.
Only the selected components appear.
Displaying Highlighted Components
The
Show > Highlighted
option is often used with
Hide > All
to display only highlighted components, as follows:
1.
In the product structure tree, select the components you want selected in the 3D
Viewer.
2.
Choose
Display > Select > Selected
.
3.
Choose
Display > Hide > All
.
All components displayed in the 3D Viewer will now disappear.
4.
Choose
Display > Show > Highlighted
.
Only the highlighted components appear.
5-28 EPD.Connect User Guide
Hiding Only Selected Components
The
Hide > Only Selected
option is often used with
Hide > All
to hide only selected components, as follows:
1.
In the product structure tree, select the components you want to hide in the 3D
Viewer.
2.
Choose
Display > Select > Selected
.
3.
Choose
Display > Hide > Only Selected
.
Only the components not selected appear.
Using the 3D Viewer
Exiting the 3D Viewer
Exiting the 3D Viewer
To exit the 3D Viewer, click
Exit
in the lower right corner of the 3D Viewer window.
EPD.Connect User Guide 5-29
Chapter 6
Clash Detection and Zoning
This chapter tells you how to use the EPD.Connect clash detection and zoning capabilities. The following topics are discussed:
• Detecting Clashes
• Zoning
EPD.Connect User Guide 6-1
Clash Detection and Zoning
Detecting Clashes
Detecting Clashes
Clash detection allows you to compute in batch mode, the components from a selection made in the product structure that clash each other.
The input data is as follows:
• Tessellation data associated to a model.
• Component orientation from the product structure. The symmetry flag of each instance if defined, is used to mirror the tessellation data.
Clash detection routine transforms the tessellation data according to the specified orientation data associated to the selected components.
You can interrogate the system on the proximity of parts and components by performing clash detection on them. There are two types of clash detections.
• Hard clash — It calculates the physical clashes between selected components.
• Soft clash — It detects the clearance between components and is particularly useful for determining clearance fits between components.
To perform clash detection do the following:
1.
Select the components in the product structure tree on which you want to perform a clash detection.
2.
Choose
Tools
>
Clash Detection. T he Interference Detection window opens.
6-2 EPD.Connect User Guide
Clash Detection and Zoning
Detecting Clashes
The
Hard clash
option is selected by default.
3.
Select the type of
Clash
detection you want to apply to the components:
Table 6-1 Clash Detection Options
Clash options
Hard Clash
Show as Clash
Show as Contacts
Exclude Contacts
Contact Tolerance
Units (CM, MM, IN)
Soft Clash
Soft Clash Tolerance
Units (CM, MM, IN)
Description
Calculates the actual (physical) clashes between the components you have selected.
Detects hard clashes between the components you have selected. The contact tolerance
(see below) has no effect on this type of clash. Components that are physically interfering with other components (clash), as well as those components that are touching (contact), are reported as a hard clash regardless of the contact tolerance you have set. No distinction is made between clashes and contacts. Both are reported as clashes. This is the default.
Calculates contacts within the contact tolerance. A distinction is made between clashes and contacts. Components that are touching are reported as contacts. Components that are physically interfering are reported as clashes.
Calculates contacts occurring within the contact tolerance but does not report them. Use this option when you do not want contacts reported.
Sets the allowable deviation. You can specify a tolerance for each application of clash detection.
Specifies the tolerance units as centimeters (CM), millimeters (MM), or inches (IN). The default is centimeters.
Checks for proximity between components based on the soft clash tolerance you have set.
Sets the allowable deviation. Any distance smaller than this value is considered proximate but not necessarily a clash.
Specifies the proximity tolerance units as centimeters (CM), millimeters (MM), or inches
(IN). The default is centimeters.
Select the
Select
options.
Table 6-2 Select Options
Select Option
Clash:All vs. All, Sel vs.
Sel, Sel vs. Hig, Sel vs
All
Type: CADDS Parts
,
GBF Files
, or
GAF Files
Using: Geometry
,
Extents Attr
, or
Extents
Description
All vs All
performs clash detection on all the components, checking each component against all the other components, without any components needing to be selected.
Sel vs Sel
checks for clashes between the selected components.
Sel vs High
checks for clashes between the selected components and the highlighted components.
Sel vs All checks for clashes between the selected components and all the other components.
Type of file upon which you want clash detection performed: CADDS part, .
gbf file, or
.
gaf
file.
Geometry uses the tessellation data for the CADDS parts to calculate the clashes. This method is the most accurate but gives the worst system performance.
Extents Attr
uses the part extents for all components having an attribute added. This method provides both good accuracy and good system performance.
Extents
always uses the part extents. This method provides the best system performance but the poorest accuracy.
EPD.Connect User Guide 6-3
Clash Detection and Zoning
Detecting Clashes
Table 6-2 Select Options (Continued)
Select Option
Report: First Clash
or
All Clashes
Description
First Clash
reports only the first calculated clash for a given component.
All Clashes
reports all clashes for a given component.
4.
Click
Apply
to perform the clash detection based on your selections.
Click
Cancel
to cancel and exit from clash detection.
Please note: If more than one Product Structure window with the product structure tree is open, clash detection is performed on the components of the product structure that was active before opening the Interference Detection window.
Viewing Clash Detection Results
The results of clash detection are indicated by the indicator color of a component in the product structure tree and by the color applied to the corresponding component. Descriptions of the colors used for hard clash and soft clash are described in the following section.
Hard Clash Detection
The colors used for showing the results of hard clash detection are as follows:
• Gold — A contact has occurred.
• Red — An actual clash has occurred.
• Green — No clashes have occurred.
Soft Clash Detection
The color used for showing the results of soft clash detection is as follows:
• Yellow — A clash has occurred.
• Green — No clashes have occurred.
6-4 EPD.Connect User Guide
Clash Detection and Zoning
Detecting Clashes
Reporting Clash Detection Results
A Report Viewer window displays the clash detection results. The window opens after the clash detection is completed.
For more information on the Report Viewer window, see “Printing and Displaying
Reports” on page 2-39.
You can print the report or save it to a file.
EPD.Connect User Guide 6-5
Clash Detection and Zoning
Zoning
Zoning
A zone is an encapsulated region of an assembly used to detect clash areas. Zones are created as boxes or cylinders. You can select previously created zones and activate them. Zones are shown in red.
Zoning identifies the component that belongs to a selected zone by detecting which components clash in the selected zone (represented as a nonoriented component, for example, component positioned in global space).
Please note: There is no plane to apply a symmetry to a zone.
The environment variable
CVDPA_ZONES_DIR
in the
.explorer
file points to the directory where the zones are stored. If the directory does not exist, or if the environment variable is not set,
CVDPA_ZONES_DIR is set to
$HOME/zones and a subdirectory called
$user_name/_bcd is created. The newly created zones are stored in this subdirectory.
Activating Zones
To select and activate previously created zones and to use them to perform interference checking, do the following:
1.
Select
Tools > Zoning.
The Highlight Components By Zone Dialog box opens.
6-6
It lists all the zones that have been created.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Clash Detection and Zoning
Zoning
2.
In the
Available Zones
area, select a zone by clicking on it.
3.
Click one of the following
•
Add
— Adds the selected zone to the list in the
Selected Zones
area.
•
Remove
— Removes selected zones from the
Selected Zones
list.
•
Remove All
— Removes all zones from the
Selected Zones
list.
•
Visualize —
Displays the selected zone, allowing you to examine the zone.
•
Clear —
Removes all zones.
EPD.Connect User Guide 6-7
Clash Detection and Zoning
Zoning
4.
In the
Highlight Components
area, select one of the following options:
Table 6-3 Highlight Components Options
Option
Models
All
Description
Selected
Highlights all the nodes in the product structure tree that clash with the selected zones.
Highlights only those nodes selected in the product structure tree that clash with the selected zones.
Type
CADDS Parts
or
GBF Files
Using
Geometry
Type of file used for clash detection.
Extents Attr
Extents
Uses polygon (box or cylinder) zones when checking for interference. This method is the most accurate but system performance is the slowest.
Uses the part extents for all components in the product structure tree that have an attribute added. This method provides better system performance than
Geometry
and better accuracy than
Extents
.
Draws boxes around components and performs interference checking using these boxes. This provides less accuracy, but better system performance.
Zones
Merged
Separate
Creates one zone from all activated zones.
Creates separate zones.
Transparency
Enabled
Disabled
Creates transparent zones.
Creates solid zones.
5.
Click
Apply
to start the clash detection process.
6-8 EPD.Connect User Guide
Chapter 7
Working with Vault Data
This chapter tells you how to use the Data Browser window to query the Vault for listings of data. It also describes how to transfer data between the local disk and the
Vault. The following topics are discussed:
• The Data Browser Window
• Using the Database Menu Options
• Using the Vault Menu Options
• Obtaining Information from the Vault
• Working with Vault Data Using the Information Browser
EPD.Connect User Guide 7-1
Working with Vault Data
The Data Browser Window
The Data Browser Window
EPD.Connect provides a comprehensive facility for searching and listing information about data stored locally and in the Vault. It also allows you to access and update this information. This option is contained within the Data Browser window.
Using the Data Browser, you can do the following:
• Transfer data between your local disk and the Vault.
• Search and list information without opening a configuration tree in the Product
Structure window.
• Save and export the results of a search. Refer to “Saving the Query Results” on page 7-46 for more information.
• Work interactively with the files and the tree structure, along with the Product
Structure window.
To open the Data Browser, choose
Window > Data Browser from the
EPD.Connect menu bar, or click the Data Browser icon.
To customize the field headings in the Data Browser, set appropriate values to the following variables in the epdconn.ini
file:
•
CA_DESCR_LABEL=<description>
•
CA_UTYPE_LABEL=<user type>
•
CA_STYPE_LABEL=<system type>
•
CA_GTCODE_LABEL=<GT code>
•
CA_PARTNO_LABEL=<part number>
7-2 EPD.Connect User Guide
Figure 7-1 Data Browser Window
Working with Vault Data
The Data Browser Window
Accessing the Vault
You can gain access to the Vault by performing the signon procedure. The
Vault tab appears in the Data Browser after a successful signon to the Vault. Choose
Database > Signon
and specify the appropriate information in the signon dialog box.
EPD.Connect User Guide 7-3
Working with Vault Data
Using the Database Menu Options
Using the Database Menu Options
This section explains how you can work with Vault data using the options available in the
Database
menu. The
Database
menu allows you to interrogate the Vault for information about data stored there. This data includes the product structures, component parts, assemblies, and other product-related data. You can also read and process review procedures for Vault data.
You can perform the following actions with the Database menu options
:
Table 7-1 Database Menu Options
Menu Option
Signon
Queries
Where Used
Action
Allows you to sign on to the Vault database.
See page 7-5.
Application Defaults
Lists default directories by application. See page 7-6.
Database Defaults Sets default behaviors for database transfers. See page 7-7.
Vault
Deferred Status
Accesses the Vault menu, that provides the options to interact with the Vault. See page 7-3.
Reports on the status of deferred Vault transfer requests. See page 7-9.
Allows you to query the Vault database for information.
Finds where a component is used. Select only from the product structure window. See page 7-10.
Shows messages received. See page 7-13.
Read Messages
Send Messages
Change Password
Refresh DOD
Signoff
Sends messages to other users. See page 7-11.
Changes Optegra user password. See page 7-14.
Refreshes the Distributed Object Directory. See page 7-14.
Signs off from the Optegra database. See page 7-5.
Please note: If more than one Product Structure window is open, you can use the Database menu options only on the active product structure.
7-4 EPD.Connect User Guide
Working with Vault Data
Using the Database Menu Options
Vault Signon and Signoff Procedures
To sign on to Vault, follow the steps given below:
1.
Choose
Database > Signon.
The Signon to the Vault dialog box opens.
2.
Enter your
User Name
,
Password
, and
Vault Server
name. If multiple vaults are configured, choose one from the drop-down list.
To revert to your default system user name, password, and Vault server, click
Reset
.
3.
Click
Signon
to sign on to Vault.
A message indicating the status of the sign on procedure is displayed in the
EPD.Connect message field.
To sign off from the Vault, choose
Database > Signoff
. On signoff, the Data
Browser window switches to Local mode, and a successful signoff message is displayed in the EPD.Connect message field.
EPD.Connect User Guide 7-5
Working with Vault Data
Using the Database Menu Options
Viewing Application Directories
To identify the default Create and Read directories set for you by your system administrator, do the following:
1.
Choose
Database > Application Defaults
. The Application Defaults information window opens.
2.
Select an application from the drop-down list. The default Create and Read directories are displayed.
Please note: You can view this information without signing on to the Vault.
7-6 EPD.Connect User Guide
Working with Vault Data
Using the Database Menu Options
Setting Vault Access Defaults
To set defaults for Vault access, follow these steps:
1.
Choose
Database > Database Defaults
. The Database Defaults dialog box opens. It displays the default information specified for the user in the
EDM.DEFAULTS
file.
2.
Enter the
User Name
and select appropriate options.
EPD.Connect User Guide 7-7
Working with Vault Data
Using the Database Menu Options
3.
Customize your interactions with the Vault using the
Yes and
No
options:
•
Deferred Transfer
—
Yes
allows you to specify a delayed time for commands to be processed by the Vault. This is required for submitting many commands in batch mode.
To report on the status of deferred transaction requests, choose
Database
> Deferred Status
.
No
causes commands to be processed immediately.
•
Overwrite on GET
— Determines whether or not to overwrite the current version of a file by the same name on the local disk when you use the
Get command.
•
Overwrite on READ
— Determines whether or not to overwrite the current version of a file by the same name on the local disk when you use the
Read command.
Invoking Database Transfer Actions
When you select a data item from the list displayed in the Data Browser window
(or when you select a component in the product structure tree) and then select a database transfer action (such as
Read Specific Rev
), the Vault Transfer Requests window opens.
7-8
You can stack several items into this window, then click
Apply
to invoke the transfer requests all at one time. This action loads the transfer requests into a batch processor.
Please note: This window can also be opened by choosing
Window >
Transfer Requests
.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Working with Vault Data
Using the Database Menu Options
Transferring Data and Starting Applications
When you transfer a file from the Vault, you can immediately start the application to display or edit the component being transferred by Setting
Launch App.
to
Yes
.
You can also launch applications associated with a component from the Product
Structure window. For a description of how to do so, and of how to set up component or the application associations, see “Launching Applications” on page 2-51.
Deferred Vault Transactions
To obtain a report on the status of any deferred Vault transaction, choose
Database > Deferred Status
to open the
Deferred Status
dialog box.
Any pending transactions are listed here.
EPD.Connect User Guide 7-9
Working with Vault Data
Using the Database Menu Options
Searching for a Component
You can determine which configuration trees contain a particular item, such as an assembly, a part, or a file. For example, after finding a defective part, you could select it in the current tree, then search all trees stored in the Vault for the item. To search, follow these steps:
1.
If you know where a component on a displayed tree is used, select it and proceed to step 3. If you do not know, proceed to step 2.
2.
Choose
Database > Where Used
to open the Where Used dialog box.
7-10
3.
If you selected a component on a displayed tree, its name and revision are displayed in the
Item Name
and
Revision
fields. Otherwise, enter the information in the appropriate fields.
Please note: In addition to the components selected from the Product
Structure window, the
Item Name field also displays the name of any application object selected from the Data Browser. However, if a Product Structure window with an active configuration is open, preference is given to that product structure selection. In such cases, close the active configuration in the Product Structure window to reflect the item name of the application object selected from the Data
Browser.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Working with Vault Data
Using the Database Menu Options
4.
In the
Expand Levels
field, select the search level.
Table 7-2 Expand Levels Options
Option
All
Level
Description
Searches the tree with all child components fully expanded.
Specifies the number of levels of referenced assemblies to search. The default is 1.
5.
In the
Query Attributes Data
field, specify whether to retrieve attribute data from the local disk, from the Vault, or from both.
6.
Click
Where Used
to start the search. If no revision is specified, the search looks for all occurrences of the item.
The currently displayed tree structure is stored in local memory and replaced in the Product Structure window by a routing tree.
The routing tree structure shows the component as the root component. An attribute, quantity
, is associated with the components in the routing tree. This holds a value that defines the number of times the specified item appears in that assembly. The new tree shows the component routing from the queried item in reverse. Thus, each configuration using the item is identified as the lowest subcomponent level on each leg of the new tree structure. The original tree can subsequently be retrieved from local memory by choosing
File > Memory
.
Sending and Responding to Messages
This section explains how to perform the following tasks:
• Send messages to other Vault users.
• Read messages sent to you.
• Respond to messages requiring your response.
EPD.Connect User Guide 7-11
Working with Vault Data
Using the Database Menu Options
Sending Messages to Other Users
To send messages of a general nature to other users, follow these steps:
1.
Choose
Database > Send Messages to open the Send Message dialog box.
2.
Specify the recipients of your message using one of the following methods:
• Click
User
and type the user’s name, or choose the name from the drop-down list.
• Click
List and type the name of a previously created list, or choose one from the drop-down list.
3.
Type your message in the message box. You can type any message up to 240 characters.
4.
Click
Apply
to send the message to the designated users.
7-12 EPD.Connect User Guide
Working with Vault Data
Using the Database Menu Options
Reading Messages
When you read messages, you respond to them by voting your approval or disapproval of a request for a review or a release.
1.
Choose
Database > Read Messages
to open the Read Messages window.
2.
Enter the number of a message in the
Go To
field.
3.
Click
Go To
to read the message.
4.
Use the
Previous
and
Next
buttons to access the messages that are displayed in the message area.
Responding to Messages: follows:
Use the buttons on the right to act on a message, as
•
Reply
— Opens the Reply Message dialog box, which lets you reply to the displayed message by typing in a message area.
•
Respond
— Opens the Respond Review dialog box. Use this option only to respond to a Request Review message with an approval or rejection. See
“Responding to Reviews” on page 7-30 for more information.
•
Delete
— Deletes the displayed message.
•
Send
— Opens the Send Message dialog box (same as choosing
Database >
Send Messages
).
•
Refresh
— Checks to see if more messages have arrived since you opened the
Read Messages dialog box.
EPD.Connect User Guide 7-13
Working with Vault Data
Using the Database Menu Options
Changing the Vault User Password
Authorized EPD.Connect users can change their Vault signon password as follows:
1.
Choose
Database > Change Password
. The Change Password dialog box opens.
7-14
2.
Enter your old and new passwords into the appropriate fields. Repeat the new password in the
Confirm Password
field.
3.
Click
Change
to change your password. If an error message appears in the
EPD.Connect message line, click
Reset to clear the input fields and repeat the operation.
Refreshing the DOD
During an EPD.Connect session, if a Distributed Object Directory goes offline, your system administrator can switch to an alternate online DOD. For more information see “Switching the DOD” on page B-9 .
Please note: Switching a DOD affects your session only if in the
Database
>
Database Defaults
, the
Remote
option in the
Vaults to Query
field is selected. For more information on the Database Defaults dialog box, refer to
“Setting Vault Access Defaults” on page 7-7.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Working with Vault Data
Using the Database Menu Options
Refreshing the DOD Manually
To check for a DOD switch, select
Database
>
Refresh DOD
. If a switch has been made, the DOD settings for the active session are refreshed.
Refreshing the DOD Automatically
To detect a switch automatically, set the value of the
DOD_SWITCH_TIME variable to one of the following settings in epdconn.ini
:
•
DOD_SWITCH_TIME=0
A check for a DOD switch is carried out for every query to a remote Vault in the
Data Browser.
•
DOD_SWITCH_TIME= value_in_seconds
A check for a DOD switch occurs when the value_in_seconds is greater than or equal to the difference in time since the last check and the time of the current query to a remote Vault. For example, if 900 is the specified value_in_seconds
, then a check is carried out when you query a remote Vault only if 15 or more minutes have elapsed since the last check for a DOD switch.
•
DOD_SWITCH_TIME=-1
The check for a DOD switch is disabled.
EPD.Connect User Guide 7-15
Working with Vault Data
Using the Vault Menu Options
Using the Vault Menu Options
The
Vault menu allows you to use Vault commands to manipulate Vault data in the
Data Browser window. You can perform the following actions using the following
Vault menu options
:
Table 7-3 Vault Menu Options
Menu Option
Get Latest Rev
Signout
Read Specific Rev
Update
Replace
Reset
Store
Copy
Change Attributes
Edit Attributes
Refresh Attributes
Change Revision
Change Status
Request Review
Respond to Review
Mark for Archive
Mark for Delete
Unmark
Register
Unregister
Subscribe
Unsubscribe
Distribute
Info
Action
Copy the latest revision of a Vault item to a local directory.
Lock a Vault item to prevent modification by others. See page 7-17.
Copy a specific revision of the Vault item to a local directory without locking it in Vault. See page 7-17.
Copy the current version of an item to the Vault but leave it locked for your use only. See page 7-17.
Move an item back to the Vault and unlock it. See page 7-18.
Unlock a Vault item that is signed out without signing it back in. See page 7-18.
Store a local item in the Vault as a new item. See page 7-18.
Create a copy of a Vault item. See page 7-22.
Change the attributes of a Vault item. See page 7-23.
Edit the attributes of a Vault item. See page 7-24.
Refresh the attributes of a Vault item.
Change the revision of a Vault item. See page 7-25.
Change the status of a Vault item. See page 7-25.
Request a review (an R type Vault message) for a Vault item. See page 7-26.
Respond to a review (an N Type Vault message) for a Vault item. See page 7-30.
Mark a Vault item to archive. This leaves the object in place until an operation performs a delete
Vault command.
Mark a Vault item to delete. This leaves the object in place until an operation performs an archive Vault command.
Remove archive or delete file markers.
Make an object accessible to users on other Vaults. See page 7-34.
Remove a Vault registration. See page 7-35.
Associate an object with an event and a notification action. See page 7-36.
Delete a subscription. See page 7-39.
Distribute an object to remote Vaults. See page 7-39.
Display information about a Vault item. See page 7-40.
7-16 EPD.Connect User Guide
Working with Vault Data
Using the Vault Menu Options
Signing Out Vault Items
To lock a Vault item to prevent other users from accessing it,
1.
Select the item that you want to lock.
2.
Choose
Database
>
Vault
>
Signout
. The request is transferred to the Vault
Transfer Requests dialog box.
3.
Select the item to be locked and click
Apply
. If the item cannot be locked, the
Audit/Transaction Log window opens with the error message.
Copying Vault Items to the Local Directory
To copy a specific revision of the Vault item to a local directory without locking it in Vault,
1.
Select the item of the specific revision that you want to copy to the local directory.
2.
Choose
Database
>
Vault
>
Read Specific Rev
. The request is transferred to the Vault Transfer Requests dialog box.
3.
Select the Vault item to copy and click
Apply
. If the item cannot be copied, the
Audit/Transaction Log window opens with an error message.
Updating Vault Items
To copy an item of the current revision to Vault and update it,
1.
Select the item that you want to update.
2.
Choose
Database
>
Vault
>
Update
. The request is transferred to the Vault
Transfer Requests dialog box.
3.
Select the Vault item to update and click
Apply
. If the item cannot be updated, the Audit/Transaction Log window opens with an error message.
EPD.Connect User Guide 7-17
Working with Vault Data
Using the Vault Menu Options
Replacing Vault Items
To move a Vault item back to the Vault database and unlock it,
1.
Select the item that you want to move back and unlock.
2.
Choose
Database
>
Vault
>
Replace
. The request is transferred to the Vault
Transfer Requests dialog box.
3.
Select the Vault item that you want to move and click
Apply
. If the item cannot be moved back, the Audit/Transaction Log window opens with the error message.
Unlocking Vault Items
To unlock a Vault item that is signed out,
1.
Select the item that you want to unlock.
2.
Choose
Database
>
Vault
>
Reset
. The request is transferred to the Vault
Transfer Requests dialog box.
3.
Select the Vault item that you want to unlock and click
Apply
.
Storing Items in Vault
Using the
Store
options on the
Database
>
Vault
menu, you can store single or multiple items in the Vault at one time.
Storing a Single Item
To store a single item in the Vault,
1.
Click
Refresh
in the Data Browser to update the item list.
2.
Select the item you want to store in the Vault.
7-18 EPD.Connect User Guide
Working with Vault Data
Using the Vault Menu Options
3.
Choose
Database
>
Vault
>
Store
. The Store dialog box opens.
4.
Click
OK
to store the item.
Storing Multiple Items
To store multiple items in Vault at a time,
1.
Click
Refresh
in the Data Browser to update the directory listing.
2.
Select the items you want to store in the Vault. For information on the types of items that cannot be stored in a multiple store operation, see the section
“Constraints” on page 7-21.
EPD.Connect User Guide 7-19
Working with Vault Data
Using the Vault Menu Options
3.
Choose
Database
>
Vault
>
Store
. The Store dialog box opens.
7-20
Please note: When storing multiple items, you cannot edit the
EDM/Local
Name
field.
4.
Click
OK
to store the items.
After the store operation has been processed, an Audit/Transaction Log window opens if any items were not stored during the store operation.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Working with Vault Data
Using the Vault Menu Options
Constraints: Storing multiple items has the following constraints:
• Items with user-defined, noneditable attributes will not be stored during a multiple store operation.
• If an item with editable attributes is selected, the Edit Attributes window opens.
You can edit these attributes. These editable attributes are applied to all selected objects.
• If a revision is not specified, all items are stored with revision 1. However, the store operation for an item fails if it is already present in the Vault with the same revision.
• If a revision is specified, all items are stored only when the following conditions are satisfied:
• The item is not already present with the given revision in Vault.
• All previous revisions of the items are in the released status.
• There are no higher revisions of any one item in Vault.
• The values of the following attributes are applied to all selected items:
• The Application, Class, Status, and System Code values.
• The values of the system attributes. The system attributes are: System Type,
Description, Group Technology Code, User-defined Type, and Part Number.
EPD.Connect User Guide 7-21
Working with Vault Data
Using the Vault Menu Options
Copying Vault Items
To copy a Vault item,
1.
Select the item that you want to copy.
2.
Choose
Database
>
Vault
>
Copy
. The Copy dialog box opens.
7-22
3.
The
Application
, the
From Name
and the
From Revision
fields are filled in automatically.
4.
Specify the name that you want to assign to the copied object in the
To Name field.
5.
Specify the revision for the copied item in the
To Revision
field.
6.
Click one of the following class options:
Option
Public
Private
Project
Description
The item has no designated owner.
The item is owned by a Vault user.
The item is owned by a defined project.
7.
Specify the status of the item in the
Status
field.
8.
Click
OK
to copy the Vault item. If the item cannot be copied, the
Audit/Transaction Log window opens with an error message.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Working with Vault Data
Using the Vault Menu Options
Changing the Attributes of a Vault Item
To change the attributes of a Vault item,
1.
Select a record from the Data Browser.
2.
Select
Database > Vault > Change Attributes
. The Change File Attributes dialog box opens.
3.
Change the existing values and click
OK
.
EPD.Connect User Guide 7-23
Working with Vault Data
Using the Vault Menu Options
Editing Vault Attributes
To edit the attributes of a Vault item,
1.
Select a Vault item from the Data Browser panel whose attributes need to be edited.
2.
Select
Database > Vault > Edit Attributes.
The Edit Vault Attributes dialog box opens.
7-24
3.
The
Name
,
Revision
, and
Application fields in the Edit Vault Attributes panel are filled in automatically.
4.
Specify whether you want to add, change, or delete the attributes using the
Add
,
Change
, or the
Delete
options.
5.
Select the required attribute from the drop-down list.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Working with Vault Data
Using the Vault Menu Options
6.
Specify the instance of the Vault object in the
Instance
field.
7.
The
Data type
field is a read-only field that displays the data type of the attribute selected for the Vault object.
8.
Specify a value for the attribute you want to query in the
Value
field.
9.
Click
Apply
to edit the attributes of the Vault item.
Click
Reset
to clear the attribute list.
Please note: You can control the behavior of the Reset button by setting a value to the variable
CA_RESET_VAULT_ATTR_FROM_RULE
while storing attributes. If you specify the value
N
, the attribute list is cleared when you click
Reset
. This is the default. If you specify the value
Y
, the attributes are fetched based on the attribute rules. All the mandatory attributes are retained and the optional attributes are deleted.
Changing the Status or Revision of a Vault Item
To change the status of an item, do the following:
1.
Select the status in the Vault Transfer window.
2.
Choose
Database > Vault > Change Status
. The Change Status Dialog box opens.
3.
Select a status from the
New Status
drop-down list.
EPD.Connect User Guide 7-25
Working with Vault Data
Using the Vault Menu Options
4.
Type any comment and then click
Apply
to implement the change. The
Comment field is optional.
To change the revision of a Vault item, do the following:
1.
Select the revision in the Vault Transfer window.
2.
Choose
Database > Vault > Change Revision
. The Change Revision dialog box is displayed.
7-26
3.
Enter the appropriate information.
4.
Click
Apply
.
Reviewing Vault Items
During a project, the work in progress must be reviewed by the project team. A project must be approved before its release. The two stages of the review process are as follows:
• Requesting the review of a Vault item.
• Responding to the review request. At this stage, the reviewers can either approve or reject a Vault item.
Requesting Reviews
You can request the review of single or multiple Vault items at a time.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Working with Vault Data
Using the Vault Menu Options
Requesting a Review of a Single Vault Item
Request a review of a Vault item as follows:
1.
To select a Vault item, perform one of the following actions:
• In the Data Browser, select a Vault item.
• In the Product Structure window, select a node.
2.
Choose
Database
>
Vault
>
Request Review
.
3.
The Request Review dialog box opens where the
Application
,
Name, and
Revision
fields are filled automatically.
Figure 7-2 The Request Review Dialog Box for a Single Vault Item
4.
Type your comments in the
Comment
field.
5.
Click
OK
to send the request.
EPD.Connect User Guide 7-27
Working with Vault Data
Using the Vault Menu Options
Requesting a Review of Multiple Vault Items
Request the review of multiple Vault items as follows:
1.
To select a set of Vault items, perform one of the following actions:
• In the Data Browser, select the Vault items.
• In the Product Structure window, select the nodes.
Please note:
• You cannot select a combination of Data Browser items and Product Structure nodes when requesting a review. From this combination, only the Product
Structure nodes are selected.
• You can select CAMU ADRAWS as part of the set of items to be sent for review. However, to disable this option, set the
CA_ADD_ADRAWS_IN_CAMU variable to
0
in the epdconn.ini
file.
2.
Choose
Database
>
Vault
>
Request Review
.
3.
The Request Review dialog box opens. The name, revision, and application of the items selected are listed in the top panel.
7-28 EPD.Connect User Guide
Working with Vault Data
Using the Vault Menu Options
Figure 7-3 The Request Review Dialog Box for Multiple Vault Items
4.
Type your comments in the
Comment
field.
5.
Click
OK
to send the request. This creates a fileset in Vault, containing the selected items, that is sent for review.
Please note:
• Set a value to the
CA_REQRV_PREFIX
variable in epdconn.ini
to define the prefix of the name of the fileset.
• To implement a common prefix for all EPD.Connect clients, the
CA_REQRV_PREFIX variable is set on the server by default. Administrators can change the default by choosing
Admin
>
GUI Preferences in the EPD.Connect
toolbar. This setting takes a precedence over the epdconn.ini
setting.
For more information, refer to “Setting Interface Preferences for Users” on page B-11 .
• After a review is complete and if the fileset is no longer required, you can identify these filesets by the prefix and delete them using the Vault user interface.
EPD.Connect User Guide 7-29
Working with Vault Data
Using the Vault Menu Options
• The restrictions on items that are a part of Vault filesets apply to those created for review as well. Refer to the Vault documentation for more information on
Vault filesets.
Responding to Reviews
You can respond to the review of single or multiple Vault items at one time.
Responding to a Review of a Single Vault Item
Respond to the review of a Vault item as follows:
1.
You can respond to the review request in one of the following ways:
a.
Select a Vault item. Perform one of the following actions:
In the Data Browser, select a Vault item that is in the In Review state.
b.
In the Product Structure window, select a node that is in the In Review state.
Choose
Database
>
Vault
>
Respond to Review
.
OR
a.
b.
Choose
Database
>
Read Messages
.
Click
Respond
.
2.
The Respond to a Review dialog box opens.
7-30 EPD.Connect User Guide
Working with Vault Data
Using the Vault Menu Options
Figure 7-4 Respond to a Review Dialog Box for a Single Vault Item
3.
Select a
Response
option:
•
Approve
— Approve the item.
•
Reject
— Reject the item.
4.
Type your comments in the
Comment
field. If the response is
Reject
typing a comment in the
Comment
field is mandatory.
5.
Click
OK
to send your response.
EPD.Connect User Guide 7-31
Working with Vault Data
Using the Vault Menu Options
Responding to a Review of Multiple Vault Items
Respond to the review of multiple Vault items, that is, a set of files, as follows:
1.
You can respond to the review request in one of the following ways:
a.
Select the Vault items. Perform one of the following actions:
In the Data Browser, select the Vault items that are in the In Review state.
In the Product Structure window, select the nodes that are in the In Review state.
b.
Choose
Database
>
Vault
>
Respond to Review
.
Please note: If you select Vault items that belong to different review filesets, you can approve or reject all the items from the different filesets together as shown in Figure 7-5.
OR
a.
b.
Choose
Database
>
Read Messages
.
Click
Respond
.
2.
The Respond to a Review dialog box opens.
• The name, revision, and the application of the filesets are displayed in the left panel.
• The name, revision, and the application of the items in each fileset are displayed in the right panel.
7-32 EPD.Connect User Guide
Working with Vault Data
Using the Vault Menu Options
Figure 7-5 Respond to Review Dialog Box for Multiple Vault Items
3.
Select a
Response
option:
•
Approve
— Approve the filesets.
•
Reject
— Reject the filesets.
Please note: Approval or rejection is applied to entire filesets. You cannot approve or reject individual items of a fileset separately.
4.
Type your comments in the
Comment
field.
5.
Click
OK
to send your response.
EPD.Connect User Guide 7-33
Working with Vault Data
Using the Vault Menu Options
Working with Distributed Vaults
An EPD.Connect environment may be connected with Distributed Vaults (more than one Vault installed in different locations). You can perform the following specific operations on objects used in a Distributed Vault environment:
•
Register
— Make an object accessible to users on other Vaults.
•
Unregister
— Remove a Vault registration.
•
Subscribe
— Associate an object with an event and a notification action.
•
Unsubscribe
— Delete a subscription.
•
Distribute
— Distribute an object to remote Vaults.
You can configure the Data Browser in the distributed Vault setup to query either the Local or the Remote Vault or both. You can do this by setting a value to the variable
CA_VAULTS_TO_QUERY
. Assign one of the following values to this variable:
1
2
3
Query Local Vault only
Query Remote Vault only
Query both (Local & Remote)
Any value other than 1, 2, or 3 is automatically reset to 1. The setting of this environment variable is valid for a full session of EPD.Connect.
Please note: This setting is applicable only when signing on to the database.
After signing on, you can reconfigure the Data Browser.
Registering Objects
Registering an object makes it is accessible to users on other Vaults.
To register an object, do the following:
1.
Select the object in the Data Browser window.
2.
Choose Database > Vault > Register . The Register Objects dialog box opens.
7-34 EPD.Connect User Guide
Type
Query
Read
Write
Ownership
Working with Vault Data
Using the Vault Menu Options
3.
The
DOD field displays the name of the Distributed Object Directory (DOD) for the distributed Vault environment. The DOD also indicates where objects are registered.
4.
In the
Type
field, select one of the following types of registration:
Description
The object is represented in the Distributed Object Directory (DOD), but cannot be accessed by users.
The object can be accessed for read-only operations.
The object can be accessed for read-write operations.
The object can be accessed for read-write operations. In addition, it is authorization for an export-move operation. Use this special privilege only to move an object from one Vault to another Vault in a Distributed Vault environment.
5.
Click
Apply
. A registration request is transferred to the Vault Transfer requests dialog box.
6.
Select the object in the Vault Transfer window and click
Apply
to register the object.
Unregistering Objects
To unregister an object, you must first remove it from the Distributed Vault environment.
EPD.Connect User Guide 7-35
Working with Vault Data
Using the Vault Menu Options
To remove and unregister an object, do the following:
1.
Select the registered object in the Data Browser window.
2.
Choose
Database > Vault > Unregister
.
3.
A request is transferred to the Vault Transfer Requests dialog box.
7-36
4.
Select the object and click
Apply
to unregister it.
Subscribing Objects
To subscribe an object, specify that if a certain event (for example, a change in revision level, format, or status) occurs to that object it will trigger one of the following actions:
• A message will inform a user or a list of users that the event occurred on a selected file or part.
• An export action will be invoked to export a read-only replica of a file to a list of Vaults.
• An export action will be invoked to refresh (update) the original of a previously write-replicated file.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Working with Vault Data
Using the Vault Menu Options
To subscribe an object:
1.
Select the object in the Data Browser window.
2.
Choose
Database > Vault > Subscribe
. The Add Object Subscription dialog box opens.
In the DOD field, the Distributed Object Directory where objects are registered is displayed.
3.
In the Subscription field, enter a name of up to 24 alphanumeric characters that uniquely identifies the subscription.
4.
In the Event field, select the subscription event that will trigger the Action :
• CHANGE_OBJECT_BINARY — The format of the object has been changed to binary.
• CHANGE_OBJECT_METADATA — The format of the object has been changed to metadata.
• CHANGE_OBJECT_REVISION — The revision level of the object has been changed.
• CHANGE_OBJECT_STATUS — The status of the object has been changed.
EPD.Connect User Guide 7-37
Working with Vault Data
Using the Vault Menu Options
5.
In the
Action
field, select the appropriate action:
•
SENDMSGU
— A message is sent to a user.
•
SENDMSGL
— A message is sent to a list of users.
•
EXPORT_READ_REPLICA
— An export action exports a read-only replica of a file to a list of Vaults.
•
SYNC_REPLICA_SOURCE
— An export action refreshes (updates) the source of previously write-replicated file.
6.
In the
Expire Date field
, enter a date.
Use mm/dd/yy
format for USA and dd.mm.yy
format for Europe.
7.
Enter the
Time
the subscription expires in the 24-hour clock format hh:mm:ss.
For example, 23:59:59.
8.
In the
Count field enter the number of uses for a subscription before it expires.
Enter up to three numbers.
9.
In the
Notify
row, select the outcome that determines whether to send a message after initiating the action:
•
Success
— Successful completion only
•
Failure
— Failed completion only
•
Both
— Either a successful or a failed completion
•
None
— No message
10.
In the
Notify User
field, choose the user who is to receive the notification.
11.
Click
Apply
. The Add Subscription Action Attributes dialog box opens.
7-38
12.
Select an attribute in the upper window and then modify the Attribute name and
Value in the Attribute and Value fields.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Working with Vault Data
Using the Vault Menu Options
13.
Click
Apply
to make the modification.
14.
Click
Commit
when all attributes displayed are correct for this subscription.
15.
Click
Cancel
to return to the Add Object Subscription window.
Unsubscribing Objects
To delete a subscription, do the following:
1.
Select the subscribed object in the Data Browser window.
2.
Select the associated subscription that you want to delete.
3.
Choose
Database > Vault > Unsubscribe
. The request is transferred to the
Vault Transfer Requests dialog box.
4.
Select the object and click
Apply
.
Distributing Objects
To distribute an object, place it in the specified remote Vault and do the following:
1.
Select the object in the Data Browser window.
2.
Choose
Database > Vault > Distribute
. The Distribute Vault Items dialog box opens.
EPD.Connect User Guide 7-39
Working with Vault Data
Using the Vault Menu Options
Option
Write
Read
Update
Replace
Copy
Move
3.
Specify mode of distribution of the object by choosing the appropriate options:
Description
The object is distributed to only one Vault with write authorization.
The object is distributed to a list of Vaults with read-only authorization.
The object is to be updated in the Vault or Vaults specified.
The object is to replaced in the Vault or Vaults specified.
Copy an object into a remote Vault list. The Vault list may contain multiple Vaults.
Move an object into a remote Vault list. Only one Vault name is allowed.
4.
Click
Apply
to transfer the request to the Vault Transfer Requests dialog box.
5.
Select the object. Click
Apply
to distribute it.
Listing Information about a Vault Item
You can obtain information about a Vault item, including its file attributes, that is present in the Vault. You can also obtain details of files residing on the local workstation. Follow these steps:
1.
Select the item from the Data Browser window or its component in the product structure tree.
2.
Choose
Database >Vault > Info
from the window in which you made the selection. The List Database dialog box opens.
7-40
3.
Select the report options you want to generate.
EPD.Connect User Guide
4.
Click
OK
. The report is displayed.
Working with Vault Data
Using the Vault Menu Options
You can save the report to a file or print it. You can also append the report to previous reports to incrementally build a report on a set of items.
EPD.Connect User Guide 7-41
Working with Vault Data
Obtaining Information from the Vault
Obtaining Information from the Vault
This section tells you how to do the following:
• Use the database Query Options to view attribute information from the Vault.
• Access product structure trees in the Vault and display them in the Product
Structure window.
• Obtain status information about deferred Vault transactions.
Querying Vault Data
You can obtain information about components (files or parts), attributes, history, projects, users, or audits stored in the Vault. To do this,
1.
Choose
Window > Data Browser
. The Data Browser window opens. You can also open the Data Browser window by clicking on the Data Browser icon.
2.
Choose the
Vault tab.
3.
Click on the
Options
button at the bottom of the window. The Query Options dialog box opens.
7-42
4.
Choose the
General
tab to specify the query information such as the
Application
type, the
Name
of the component, and the
Revision
level of the component.
Use an asterisk (*) as a wildcard in the
Name
field to query all component names or a subset of component names in the Vault.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Working with Vault Data
Obtaining Information from the Vault
5.
Choose the
Database
tab to specify Vault-specific query options. The Query
Options dialog box opens.
6.
Choose and click one of the
Classes
. The following table defines each of the class options:
Table 7-4 Class Options
Options
Any
Public
Private
Project
Description
The class is irrelevant.
The object has no designated owner.
The object is owned by a Vault user.
The object is owned by a defined project.
7.
Select from the
Status list the components you want to query.
8.
Enter the User Name, User Type, Node, System Type, Part Number and, GT code in the appropriate fields.
9.
In the
Sys Code
field, select one of the system codes attached to the components.
10.
In the
Review-Msg
field, select one of the following:
•
Yes
— Displays the comments of review requests and comments of the responses to those requests for Vault items that are in review.
•
No
— Does not display review comments for items that are in review.
EPD.Connect User Guide 7-43
Working with Vault Data
Obtaining Information from the Vault
11.
Click
Advanced
. The Advanced Query Options dialog box opens.
7-44
All the settings in this dialog box are optional.
12.
In the
Updated by
field, specify the user by whom the objects were Updated.
You can further limit this query by specifying a time range as well.
13.
In the
Stored by
field, specify the user by whom the objects were Stored. You can further limit this query by specifying a time range as well.
14.
In the Specify
Action by field
, specify the user responsible for any current changes to components (files or parts), attributes, history, or projects.
15.
In the attributes sets (
Attr Set
.) field, select from the pull-down list. The list contains those user-defined attribute sets that can be associated with the object.
16.
In the
Attribute
field, select from the drop-down list. The attributes listed belong to the attribute set specified above.
17.
In the
Value
field, specify a value for the attribute you want to query.
18.
When all necessary fields have been filled in, select
Refresh
in the Data
Browser window to display the requested list of files.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Working with Vault Data
Obtaining Information from the Vault
Customizing Query Results
When you search for information in the Data Browser, you can specify the information you want displayed in the Data Browser as follows:
1.
Choose
Window
>
Heading Customizer
. The Heading Customizer dialog box opens.
2.
The
Label
field is a list of all the columns available.
Click this icon to see the list of columns available.
The columns available are:
Column Name
NAME
REVISION
STATUS
SYSCODE
OWNER
TYPE
USERID
NODE_NAME
SOURCE_VAULT
CLASS
SYSTEM TYPE
Description
Name of the file
Revision
Status Code
System Code
Owner of the file
Type of Application
User ID
Node Name
Vault from which it was stored
Group Technology Code
System Type
EPD.Connect User Guide 7-45
Working with Vault Data
Obtaining Information from the Vault
Column Name
USER TYPE
PART NO
DESCRIPTION
CLASS_CODE
UPDATE_USER
DATE
TIME
STORE_USER
DATE
TIME
Description
User Type
Part Number
Description
Class Code
Update User
Update Date
Update Time
Store User
Store Date
Store Time
ACTION_USER
DATE
TIME
Action User
Action Date
Action Time
REGISTRATION
Registration
REPLICATION
Replication
TARGET_VAULT
Target Vault
TARGET_USER
Target User
NO_READ
Permissions assigned to the file
REQUEST_RVW_COMMENT
Request Review Comment
RESPOND_RVW_COMMENT
Respond Review Comment
To see the default settings for a column, select it. The default values of the
Visible
,
Pinned
,
Width
,
Description
, and
Edit Default
fields are displayed.
You can customize these settings and make them the default by selecting
Yes in the
Edit Default field.
3.
Click
Apply
.
Please note: To revert to the default settings for a column, click
Load
Defaults
.
Saving the Query Results
You can save the results of a query in the Data Browser as a text file that can be exported to any spreadsheet application for further modification.
7-46 EPD.Connect User Guide
Working with Vault Data
Obtaining Information from the Vault
To save the results of a query as a text file, perform the following steps:
1.
Click
Save
in the Data Browser window. The SAVE DATA BROWSER
RESULTS dialog box opens.
2.
In the
Results File
field, specify a name for the file.
3.
In the
Delimiter field, select a delimiter for the columns. You have the following options:
•
Tab
— A tab space between columns.
•
Space
— A single space between columns.
•
Others
— A character you specify. This is the default with the carat (^) as the delimiter.
4.
In the
Overwrite field, choose one of the following options:
•
Yes
— Overwrites a file that has the same name that you specified in the preceding step.
•
No
— Does not overwrite a file that has the same name.
5.
Click
Save
.
Opening a Tree Structure from the Vault
To retrieve product structure data from the Vault, you must first signon to it (see
“Vault Signon and Signoff Procedures” on page 7-5). Permission to access a tree depends on the database access privileges set by your system administrator. In addition, EPD.Connect must be configured to store structures in the database in a form that can be queried.
EPD.Connect User Guide 7-47
Working with Vault Data
Obtaining Information from the Vault
To open a tree structure from the Vault, follow these steps:
1.
Query the Vault from the Data Browser window as described in “Querying
Vault Data” on page 7-42. The results of the query you specified are displayed in the Data Browser.
7-48
2.
Select a file to open.
3.
Press the right mouse button, and choose
Open
from the popup menu.
Please note: You can specify the name of a different file by choosing
Open from this menu or by choosing
File > Open
and then entering information in the
Open Configuration window.
4.
The product structure tree for the file you selected is displayed in the Product
Structure window.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Working with Vault Data
Working with Vault Data Using the Information Browser
Working with Vault Data Using the Information
Browser
You can work with Vault data using the Information Browser, that lists Vault folders and files in hierarchy. Use the options available in the File and the Edit menus or in the popup menu that appears when you click the right mouse button on a file or the folder name. See the Information Browser User Guide for details.
Please note: Use the
Open
Vault data command to implicitly execute the
Vault
Get command. Use the
View
Vault data command to execute the Vault
Read command.
EPD.Connect User Guide 7-49
Chapter 8
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
This chapter describes how to use CADDS/CAMU within EPD.Connect.
• Overview
• EPD.Connect Interface for CADDS
• EPD Interface for CADDS Support
• Opening an Existing Assembly
• Opening a New Assembly
• Working on an Assembly
• Using the Associative Topology Bus
• Exiting CAMU and EPD.Connect
• Using the Information Browser Assembly Tab
• Performing Vault Operations on CADDS
• EPD Interface to CADDS
• Working with EPD.Connect
EPD.Connect User Guide 8-1
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
Overview
Overview
The following sections tell you how to use the CADDS Concurrent Assembly
Mock-up (CAMU) product from within EPD.Connect.
For additional information regarding:
• Using CADDS in an EPD-enabled environment, see Installing CADDS 5i.
• The CAMU applications, see Concurrent Assembly Mock-up User Guide and
Menu Reference.
8-2 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
EPD.Connect Interface for CADDS
EPD.Connect Interface for CADDS
The EPD Interface for CADDS is implemented with the Interface Toolkit. The
EPD Interface for CADDS looks for three repository files:
• cvepd
.
ini
The environment variable
CVEPD_INIT
specifies the location of the cvepd.ini
. Customize this file to override settings in the epdconn
.
ini
or caddsrb
.
ini
. This file is not required. So if cvepd
.
ini is not customized, set
CVEPD_INIT
to "", to avoid the following warning:
Env variable CVEPD_INIT is not set !!
• epdconn
.
ini
The environment variable
CVEPD_MAIN_CONFIG
specifies the location of the epdconn.ini
. Set
CVEPD_MAIN_CONFIG
to its default location
$EPD_HOME
/data/reposit
/ epdconn
.
ini
. If you have a customized version of this file, set
CVEPD_MAIN_CONFIG
accordingly.
• caddsrb
.
ini
The environment variable
CADDSRB_REPOSIT
specifies the location of the caddsrb.ini
. In the epdconn.ini
, this is set to its default location
$EPD_HOME
/data/reposit/caddsrb.ini
. If you have a customized version of this file, set
CADDSRB_REPOSIT
accordingly.
Please note: If you are using the Vault Command Line Interface along with the EPD.Connect Interfaces for vaulting various application objects, the environment variable
LIBPATH
should contains
$EPD_HOME/lib
directory. This is applicable for IBM-AIX platform only.
epdconn.ini
The following settings in the epdconn
.
ini
are used by the EPD Interface to
CADDS:
•
DO_REVISION_LINKING
:
Y/N
Set this to
N
to use the Command Line Interface. If it is set to
Y
, the rulebase creates the links for the parts created in the local area when you do a
GET/READ from the Vault.
If you do a
GET for a CADDS part called test with revision 1, you get a copy of the part test in your local area and a link is created from test-1 to test.
If you do a
READ
for a CADDS part called test with revision 1, a part called test-1 is created in your local area.
Please note: This applies only to UNIX platforms.
EPD.Connect User Guide 8-3
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
EPD.Connect Interface for CADDS
•
RB_EXTRACT
:
$CA_DATA/appl
The location of the directory where the application specific extract scripts reside.The default location is
$CA_DATA/appl
.
If you have customized extract scripts, set this to the appropriate directory. This should follow the directory structure available in $
EPD_HOME/data/app l.
If you want to use the customized extract scripts for PS, set
RB_EXTRACT
to
/usr1/custom dir.
The extract script should be placed in
/usr1/custom/PS/scripts
.
•
RB_EXTRACT_PS_DIR: $RB_EXTRACT/PS
The location of the directory where the extract script for the PS application exists. The default location is $
RB_EXTRACT/PS
.
If you have customized extract script, set this to appropriate directory. This should follow the directory structure available in
$EPD_HOME/data/appl/PS
If you want to use the customized extract scripts for PS, set the
RB_EXTRACT_PS_DIR
to
/usr1/custom/PS
directory. The extract script should be placed in
/usr1/custom/PS/scripts.
RB_EXTRACT_PS_DIR setting has precedence over
RB_EXTRACT setting. This is applicable only for ps.
•
RB_EXTRACT_ASSY_DIR: $RB_EXTRACT/CAMU
The location of the directory where the extract script for CAMU application exists. The default location is $
RB_EXTRACT/CAMU
.
If you have customized the extract script, set this to appropriate directory. This should follow the directory structure same as available in
$EPD_HOME/data/appl/CAMU.
RB_EXTRACT_ASSY_DIR
setting has precedence over
RB_EXTRACT
setting.
This is applicable only for CAMU.
•
REMOVE_STORED_FILES
:
Y/N
Set this to
Y
to use the Command Line Interface. If it is set to
Y
, the rulebase removes the parts from your local area that are transferred to the Vault.
•
CREATE_PVS
:
N
Set this to
N
to use the Command Line Interface.
•
TOOLKIT_TRACE
:
OFF
Set this to
OFF
to use the Command Line Interface.
8-4 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
EPD.Connect Interface for CADDS
• CA_STORE_ADRAWS:
Y/N
Set this to
Y
to configure EPD.Connect to perform certain Vault operations on all the ADRAWS associated with the CAMU assembly. If it is set to
N
,
EPD.Connect is configured to perform Vaulting only on the DEFAULT and the
ROOT ADRAWS associated with the assembly. A list of the applicable Vault operations is given in “Vault Operations on CAMU Objects” on page 8-40.
Please note: This is a site specific variable. It cannot be used when executing the Vault commands through the Vault Command Line Interface.
•
CAMU_EXPAND_REF_ENABLE:
Set this variable to 1 to enable the nested reference assemblies of CAMU in the
Assembly mode.
Please note: This feature is supported only for CADDS 5i Release 11 and above.
•
CAMU_COMPNAMELEN_LIMIT
:
If the length of the component name in the product structure file exceeds the value set by this variable, you cannot save the product structure as a CAMU assembly in EPD.Connect.
•
EXTRACT_PSATTRS
:
Y/N
Set this to
Y
to use the Command Line Interface. This is used for enabling the extraction of Product structure attributes.
•
CA_READPREFIX: $HOME /part/read
The location of the read directory. The parts are created in this directory for the
READ
command.
•
CA_AUDIT_LOG_SIZE:
Set an appropriate value for this variable to improve performance while adding new assemblies or opening existing assemblies. This variable is also defined in the file
$EPD_HOME/data/reposit/epdconn.ini
The default value of 0 logs all the messages. If you assign any positive integer value, the audit log file is purged when the message count exceeds this value.
•
EPD_HOME: /opt/epd/dm/v60
The location of the Optegra directory.
•
AWLANG
: C
The setting for the language.
•
CA_BINDIR
: $
EPD_HOME /bin
The bin
directory for the Optegra software.
EPD.Connect User Guide 8-5
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
EPD.Connect Interface for CADDS
•
CA_NODE_OVERVIEW_COLOR
:
•
CA_NODE_SEL_OVERVIEW_COLOR
:
The node colors of the overview windows can be changed by setting the appropriate values. Set this variable in
$
EPD_HOME/data/reposit/epdconn.ini
•
EDM_DM_USER
:
User ID for accessing the Vault tables.
•
EDM_DM_PASSWD
:
User password for accessing the Vault tables.
•
EDM_DM_PASSWD
:
Encrypted user password for accessing the Vault tables.
•
ALLOW_ALPHANUMERIC_INST
:
Set this variable to 1 to change the numeric instances of a component to alphanumeric instances. The default value is 0, which does not allow the above operation.
This variable does not affect the adding of a component in any way.
Components that are modified to have alphanumeric instances do not participate in calculating the next instance that is to be added, or the highest instance of the class, and other calculations in the copy-paste operations.
•
EPDEXIT_CADDSEXIT
:
Set this variable to 1 to exit the CADDS session gracefully when you quit the
EPD.Connect session in the Assembly mode. This is the default setting. If you want to work with CADDS even after you exit the EPD.Connect session, set this variable to zero.
8-6 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
EPD.Connect Interface for CADDS
caddsrb.ini
•
Setup
Before using the CADDS Interface using the Command Line Interface, set the
CVEPD_INIT
to "" and
CVEPD_MAIN_CONFIG
to
$
EPD_HOME /data/reposit/epdconn.ini
in your environment.
•
Store
You can configure for the type of CADDS files that will go as a CADDS part in the Vault.
The part to be stored will be searched in the current directory if the fully qualified path is not specified in the filename. The selection name for the part in the Vault is in uppercase characters.
•
Get
The part is created in the local directory specified in the environment variable
CVCREATEDIR
. If it is not set, the part is created in the current directory.
•
Read
The part is created in the local directory specified in the environment variable
CA_READPREFIX
. This setting is available in epdconn
.
ini
.
EPD.Connect User Guide 8-7
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
EPD Interface for CADDS Support
EPD Interface for CADDS Support
The following table gives information on how the CADDS objects are stored in the Vault.
CADDS Object
CADDS Part
CAMU Assemblies
Product Structures
ADRAW
Stored in Vault as
PART with env=CADDS
FILE with env=CADDS
FILE with env=CADDS
PART with env=ADRAW
The EPD Interface for CADDS does not support the CATALOG object with the
Vault transfer commands.
The EPD.Connect interface for the CADDS Vault File Transfer commands supports the following:
• The
<local file name>
only in the CGOS format
• The < selection name>
same as before in CGOS format
• The < local directory name>
in the Operating System level format
For example:
• If you want to store a CAMU assembly named camuassy
, use the following command: cistore env=cadds selscope=f selname='CAMUASSY.&DB' lfname='=HOME.PARTS.CAMUASSY.&DB'
• If you want to get the above assembly, use the following command: ciget selscope=f selname='CAMUASSY.&DB' ldirname='/home/parts'
OR ciget selscope=f selname='CAMUASSY.&DB' lfname='=HOME.PARTS.CAMUASSY.&DB'
To add a text file from a directory in the local area to a CADDS part or a file available in Vault, use the following command: cistore env=cadds lfname=myparts.dir.abc@txt selscope=f selname=cdpart.abc@txt pfname=cdpart
After you have installed the latest Optegra Vault, with Distributed Vault and
Distributed Object Directory, run the navinstall
script.
8-8 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
EPD Interface for CADDS Support
If you have refreshed Optegra Vault of an earlier release, with Distributed Vault and Distributed Object Directory, run the navrefresh
script.
Please note: For navinstall
and navrefresh
scripts, make sure you install the CADDS Application Environment.
If you have already run one of them, but did not complete the installation, run the following as Vault administrator:
$EPD_HOME
/install/cadinst
*****************************************************************
* Installation Utility *
* *
*****************************************************************
OK to add CADDS Application Environment to Optegra Vault [yes] :
Enter the Vault Oracle database manager userid [pdmdm] :
Enter the Vault Oracle database manager password [pdmdm] :
Checking New Tables in ORACLE Database .....
Enter the Vault Oracle database manager userid [pdmdm] :
Enter the Vault Oracle database manager password [pdmdm] :
Checking New Tables in ORACLE Database .....
Enter the Vault Oracle IQF userid [pdmqf] :
Enter the Vault Oracle IQF password [pdmqf] :
Creating New Tables and Views in ORACLE Database .....
Toolkit Table creation Complete.
Enter the Vault Oracle database manager userid [pdmdm] :
Enter the Vault Oracle database manager password [pdmdm] :
Adding CADDS Application to Optegra Vault.
Addition of CADDS Application to optegra Vault
OK to install the CADDS Vault Attributes [yes] :
Enter the EDMADMIN user password [edmadmin] :
Signing on to the Vault as edmadmin..
CDMSON016I Sign on to EDM server SARASWATI completed successfully.
You have 0 EDM message(s).
EPD.Connect User Guide 8-9
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
EPD Interface for CADDS Support
Adding CADDS attributes.
CAMARL100I CONFIG_RULE_DB1 has been added.
CAMARL100I CONFIG_RULE_PS1 has been added.
CAMARL100I CONFIG_OPT_RULE_DB1 has been added.
CAMARL100I CONFIG_OPT_RULE_PS1 has been added.
CDMSOF017I Sign off from EDM completed successfully.
CADDS attributes added.
Optegra Interface for CADDS Installation Complete.
The EPD Interface for CADDS does not support the Catalog object with Vault transfer commands.
8-10 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
EPD Interface for CADDS Support
General Process Flow
The general process flow is as described in the following sections.
Tree Structure and CAMU
The order of operation for jointly using EPD.Connect and an existing
CADDS/CAMU assembly is as follows:
1.
Start EPD.Connect.
2.
Select the
Assembly
folder in the Information Browser.
3.
Choose
Tools
>
CADDS/CAMU
to invoke CAMU. By default, this opens
CAMU in the Explicit Assembly mode.
4.
Open a new or an existing assembly. For more information, see “Opening a
New Assembly” on page 8-17 and “Opening an Existing Assembly” on page 8-14.
Please note: A CAMU assembly is a
_db
file.
Tree Structure Only
If you want to work only on the CAMU assembly tree structure and not view and manipulate CADDS geometry, open only the product structure.
1.
Start EPD.Connect.
2.
Select the
Structure
folder in the Information Browser.
EPD.Connect User Guide 8-11
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
EPD Interface for CADDS Support
3.
Choose
File > Open
from the top bar. The Open Configuration dialog box opens.
8-12
4.
Specify the assembly name in the
Name
field. A CAMU assembly is an
_db file.
5.
Specify the CAMU file type in the
Application
field.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
EPD Interface for CADDS Support
6.
Specify the
Create
,
Read
,
Other
, or the
CVPATH
directory options.
Please note:
• You can specify the
CVPATH
option along with the
Create
,
Read
, or
Other directory options for opening a CAMU file. In such cases if the file does not exist in the create, read, or the user directories, the system opens the first occurrence of the file in the
CVPATH
.
• In case of a reference assembly, you can specify the directory for opening the file by setting a value to the
CA_SEARCH_REF_DIR in the epdconn
.
ini file. If you specify a value
1
to the
CA_SEARCH_REF_DIR
variable, the system searches for the reference assembly in the directory from which the root assembly is opened and opens it in case it exists there. If the reference assembly does not exist in that directory the system opens the first occurrence of the file from the
CVPATH
directory. If the value of the
CA_SEARCH_REF_DIR
variable is set to
0
the reference assembly is opened directly from the
CVPATH
.
7.
Specify other required settings.
8.
Click
OK
. The product structure tree opens and the Open Configuration dialog box closes. To keep the Open Configuration dialog box open, click
Apply
. This opens a
_db
file from within EPD.Connect but does not activate CADDS.
EPD.Connect User Guide 8-13
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
Opening an Existing Assembly
Opening an Existing Assembly
To open an existing assembly in CAMU:
1.
Start EPD.Connect.
2.
Select the
Assembly
folder in the Information Browser.
3.
Choose
Tools
>
CADDS/CAMU
to invoke CAMU. The CADDS windows appear. Assembly Explicit mode is the default mode.
4.
Choose
File > Activate Old Assembly
. The Open Assembly dialog box opens.
8-14
Please note: The variable
CAMU_EXPAND_REF_ENABLE
is set to 1 in this case.
5.
In the
Name field, specify the assembly name or query the system for
_db files using the asterisk wildcard.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
Opening an Existing Assembly
6.
If you query using a wildcard in the
Name
field, select the desired assembly name from the Data Browser window.
7.
To activate an assembly, choose the required Adrawing in the
Adraw
field.
8.
Specify additional options on the Open Assembly property sheet and click
Open
to open the assembly.
9.
Specify the following options for displaying the levels of the reference assemblies:
Option
All
Level
Description
Opens the assembly with all the reference assemblies fully expanded.
Opens the assembly with reference assemblies expanded to the number of levels that you specify. The default level is 1.
The assembly structure appears in the Product Structure window. Viewed CADDS models appear in the CADDS Graphics window.
EPD.Connect User Guide 8-15
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
Opening an Existing Assembly
Opening an Assembly Using the Data Browser Menu
You can quickly open an assembly using the Data Browser pop-up menu.
1.
Select the required assembly name from within the Data Browser menu.
8-16
2.
Position the cursor in the Data Browser window and press and hold the right mouse button.
3.
Choose
Open
from the pulldown menu.
Opening an Assembly Using the Information Browser
Display the Data Browser menu by selecting the
List All Assemblies
option in the
Information Browser window. Because the Assembly folder is selected, only
CAMU-type assemblies appear in the Data Browser window.
Please note: The
Open
menu option opens the Open Assembly property sheet.
Opening a TIM Assembly
You can open TIM assemblies in the same way that you open CAMU assemblies.
If the associated components of the assembly nodes are also TIM objects, the TIM nodes are displayed in a color that is specified by the variable
CA_TIM_NODE_COLOR
. The TIM assemblies are marked by the letter ‘T’.
If you open CAMU assemblies that have TIM assemblies as reference assemblies, the TIM reference assemblies remain closed. However, if you open the TIM reference assemblies using the
Open/Close Reference option that appears in the
File
menu when you set the variable
CAMU_REF_EXPAND_ENABLE
to 1 in the epdconn.ini
file, the TIM flag ‘T’ appears for these assemblies.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
Opening a New Assembly
Opening a New Assembly
To open a new assembly:
1.
Start EPD.Connect.
2.
Select the
Assembly
folder in the Information Browser.
3.
Choose
Tools
>
CADDS/CAMU
to invoke CAMU. The CADDS windows appear. Assembly Explicit mode is the default mode.
4.
Choose
File > Activate New Assembly.
The Open Assembly dialog box opens.
5.
Specify a new assembly name in the
Name
field. The new assembly will be created in the Product Structure window.
6.
Specify additional options.
7.
Click
Open
to apply the Open Assembly property sheet.
The assembly structure appears in the Product Structure window. Associated and viewed CADDS models appear in the CADDS Graphics window.
Opening Another Assembly from CAMU
Once you have activated CAMU from within EPD.Connect, you can close the active assembly and activate another.
Please note: Only one assembly can be active at any given time.
EPD.Connect User Guide 8-17
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
Opening a New Assembly
To open another assembly from CAMU:
1.
File or quit the active assembly using options available on the File menu.
2.
Open a new or existing assembly using the File menu.
Opening an Assembly Using the Product Structure Menu
You can open an assembly quickly using the Popup menu in the Product Structure window.
Please note: This method is available only if no assembly is active (Product
Structure window is empty).
1.
Position the cursor in the Product Structure window.
2.
Press and hold the right mouse button.
3.
Choose either
Activate New Assembly or
Activate Old Assembly
from the pop-up menu.
Please note: See also “Opening a New Assembly” on page 8-17.
Activating an Assembly From the CADDS LDM
If you are in CAMU but no assembly is active, you can activate a new or existing assembly using the CADDS Local Data Manager (LDM).
1.
Select
File > Enter LDM
. The LDM screen appears.
2.
Select an existing assembly to activate or create a new one.
Please note: See the Concurrent Assembly Mock-up User Guide and Menu
Reference to learn how to activate an assembly using the LDM.
8-18 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
Working on an Assembly
Working on an Assembly
When the Assembly mode is active (select the
Assembly folder in the Information
Browser window), the top menu bar and icons pertain to CAMU. Most of the options on the
File and
Edit menus opens a CAMU property sheet. This is also true of the icons.
There are four means of launching a CAMU property sheet from within a CAMU session that you have activated within EPD.Connect:
• Menu commands, such as
File > File Assembly With Options.
• Context-sensitive menus available while your cursor is in the Product Structure window
• CAMU icons across the top and side bars of the CADDS screen
Please note:
1.
Please see the Concurrent Assembly Mock-up User Guide and Menu reference to learn about CAMU functionality, menus, property sheets, and so forth.
2.
The popup menu may vary depending on the mode used to select the active node selection mode.
Using Attributes
EPD.Connect and CAMU use different attribute manipulation tools. When you launch CAMU from within EPD.Connect, only EPD.Connect-type attribute manipulation tools are available. However, if you activate CAMU from outside of
EPD.Connect, only the CAMU-specific attribute tools are available. It is strongly recommended that you use the EPD.Connect attribute tools and ignore those available within standalone CAMU. There is no migration path for
CAMU-specific attributes to EPD.Connect. In addition, the EPD.Connect attribute tools are far superior to those available in stand-alone CAMU.
To create or revise attributes:
1.
Select the desired component from within the Product Structure Window.
2.
Select
Edit > Edit Attributes from the menu bar.
EPD.Connect User Guide 8-19
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
Working on an Assembly
Symmetry
CAMU stores the same type of information in db
file as EPD.Connect in ps
file format. The interaction between CAMU and EPD.Connect is done by
OpenNavigator commands.
The procedure followed to store symmetry in CAMU and PS are different. So symmetry in CAMU should be converted to X-mirror or Y-mirror and an additional rotation should be applied.
When a conversion occurs from
_DB
to
_PS
or from
_PS
to
_DB
, the seven attributes values for orientation data will be saved. Conversion from db to ps does not lose any Symmetry information. Symmetry commands are supported in
Assembly mode.
Please note: Error messages will be generated when converting a
_PS
with symmetrical components into a
_DB
file in a version not supporting symmetry.
8-20 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
Using the Associative Topology Bus
Using the Associative Topology Bus
Use the Associative Topology Bus (ATB) in the Assembly mode of EPD.Connect
to import, export, verify, and update Translated Image Model (TIM) files created from Pro/ENGINEER and CADDS parts and assemblies. For information on how
EPD.Connect handles TIM files, see “EPD.Connect Support for Topology Bus” on page 1-17.
To use ATB in EPD.Connect,
• Set the
CADDS_ATB_ENABLED
variable to
YES
in the epdconn.ini
file.
• Have e/ENGINEER installed and running on a server.
• Have CADDS 5 e/ENGINEER client installed and running on the client.
For information on other restrictions that apply to ATB, see Using Associative
Topology Bus Enabled CADDS 5i and Installing CADDS 5i.
Importing Pro/ENGINEER Parts and Assemblies
To import a Pro/ENGINEER part into CADDS as a TIM, choose
File
>
Topology
Bus
>
Import
. The Import File CADDS dialog box opens where you can select the part or assembly to import. For more information, see Using Associative Topology
Bus Enabled CADDS 5i.
Exporting CADDS 5 Parts and Assemblies
To export a CADDS part or assembly from the root or reference assembly into
Pro/ENGINEER as a TIM, perform any one of the following actions:
• Choose
File > Topology Bus > Export.
The Export File CADDS dialog box opens where you can select the part or assembly to export.
OR
• Select a TIM node in the CAMU Product Structure window and right-click to choose
Export TIM
from the context-sensitive menu.
For additional information on the Export File dialog box, see Using Associative
Topology Bus Enabled CADDS 5i.
EPD.Connect User Guide 8-21
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
Using the Associative Topology Bus
Verifying TIM Parts and Assemblies
To verify that existing TIM parts or assemblies from the root or reference assembly are up to date with the original CADDS or Pro/ENGINEER parts or assemblies, perform one of the following tasks:
• Choose
File > Topology Bus > Verify.
The Verify TIM CADDS dialog box opens so that you can select the part or assembly to verify.
OR
• Select a TIM node in the CAMU Product Structure window and right-click to choose
Verify TIM
from the context-sensitive menu.
After the verification, a report of the operation is displayed and the transaction is logged in the EPD.Connect Audit Log. For more information, see Using
Associative Topology Bus Enabled CADDS 5i.
The verification has the following effect on the TIM nodes in the CAMU Product
Structure window:
• The color of the outdated TIM part changes. The default is green.
• A prefix is given to outdated assemblies. The default is
O
.
For information on how to customize the colors and the prefixes, see “Setting
Variables for TIM Parts and Assemblies” on page 8-23.
Updating TIM Parts and Assemblies
To update TIM parts or assemblies from the root or reference assembly so that they are in sync with the original CADDS or Pro/ENGINEER parts or assemblies, perform one of the following actions:
• Choose
File > Topology Bus > Update.
The Update TIM CADDS dialog box opens so that you can select the part or assembly to verify.
OR
• Select a TIM node in the CAMU Product Structure window and right-click to choose
Update TIM
from the context-sensitive menu.
8-22 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
Using the Associative Topology Bus
After the update, a report of the operation appears and the transaction is logged in the EPD.Connect Audit Log. The update has the following effects:
• If the selected node is a part, it is verified and if found outdated, it is updated.
• If the selected node is a root assembly, a subassembly, or a reference assembly, all TIM nodes in the assembly are verified and if found outdated, they are updated.
• The color of outdated part nodes is reset to the original color.
• The prefix of outdated assemblies is removed.
For information on how to customize the colors and the prefixes, see “Setting
Variables for TIM Parts and Assemblies” on page 8-23.
Setting Variables for TIM Parts and Assemblies
Set the following variables in the epdconn.ini
file:
•
CA_TIM_NODE_COLOR
Use this variable to define the color of TIM nodes in the Product Structure window. The default is
15
(red). You can change the color by referring to the palettes in the
$EPD_HOME/data/palettes
directory.
•
CA_TIM_NODE_OUTOFDATE
Use this variable to define the color of TIM nodes in the Product Structure window that were verified and found outdated. The default is
4
(green).
•
CA_TIM_ASSY_PREFIX
Use this variable to define the letter that prefixes TIM assemblies in the Product
Structure window. The default is
T
.
•
CA_TIM_ASSY_PREFIX_OUTOFDATE
Use this variable to define the letter that prefixes TIM assemblies, in the Product
Structure window, that were verified and found outdated. The default is
O
.
EPD.Connect User Guide 8-23
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
Exiting CAMU and EPD.Connect
Exiting CAMU and EPD.Connect
To exit CAMU and EPD.Connect:
1.
Set an appropriate value to the variable
EPDEXIT_CADDSEXIT
in the epdconn.ini
file. see “EPDEXIT_CADDSEXIT:” on page 8-6 for details.
2.
Close any active assembly.
Please note: Any active assembly must be closed before you attempt to exit
CAMU.
3.
Exit the CAMU application by positioning the cursor in the Product Structure window and selecting
Exit
from the popup menu.
4.
Exit EPD.Connect by choosing
File > Exit
.
8-24 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
Using the Information Browser Assembly Tab
Using the Information Browser Assembly Tab
When you select an assembly from the Information Browser and select
File >
Open As > Assembly
, the EPD.Connect toolbar changes to the assembly mode.
The following sections describe the available menu options for the Assembly mode.
Information Browser Options
The following table shows the default Information Browser commands are available when the
Assembly
tab is active.
Table 8-1 Information Browser Options
Browser Commands
Vault
>
List All Assemblies
Vault
>
List in work
Assemblies
Vault
>
All CADDS parts
Description
Lists all CAMU assemblies to which you have access that reside in the Vault
Lists all CAMU assemblies that have been checked out of the
Vault and are currently being worked on
Lists all CADDS parts that reside in the Vault
Local
>
List all Assemblies Lists all CAMU assemblies to which you have access that reside on your local system
Local > Read Only
Assemblies
Lists all CAMU assemblies resident on your local system that you have checked out of the Vault with Read Only access
Local
>
All my CADDS parts
Lists all CADDS parts that reside on your local system
Query Fields
When you select one of the options in the preceding table, applicable information appears in the following fields:
• Name
• Revision
• Status
• Syscode
• Project
• Type (CAMU)
• Userid
• Node_name
• Vault
EPD.Connect User Guide 8-25
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
Using the Information Browser Assembly Tab
File Menu
When you select the
Assembly tab from the Information Browser, the contents of the File menu change. The options are as follows:
Commands
Activate New Assembly
Activate Old Assembly
Description
Creates a new CAMU assembly in the Product Structure window.
Opens an existing CAMU assembly in the Product Structure window.
Open/Close Reference Opens all the reference assemblies within a given assembly.
This option appears only when you set the variable
CAMU_EXPAND_REF_ENABLE to 1 in the epdconn.ini
file.
File Assembly Files the assembly using its active name
Displays a CAMU alert window when you file a TIM assembly.
File Assembly with Options Files the assembly using options such as a different name.
Select CVPATH Selects all the variables with the prefix CVPATH and applies them to the current EPD.Connect session.
Plot
Save Adrawing
Restore Adrawing
Quit Suspended
Quit and Exit Assembly
Enter LDM
Session Summary
Prints the assembly.
Creates a binary CGM file format of the assembly and plots it.
Saves the Adrawing.
Restores the Adrawing.
Closes, without filing, all suspended parts.
Closes, without filing, all suspended parts as well as the active assembly database.
Displays the CADDS Local Data Manager.
Explore Object
Close Object
Topology Bus > Import
Topology Bus > Export
Topology Bus > Verify
Topology Bus > Update
Exit
Reports the general and the structure information related to the assembly.
Explores the CADDS model and displays the hierarchy and the attributes of the application objects.
Closes the explored CADDS model.
Imports a Pro/ENGINEER part or assembly and creates a
CADDS5 TIM. See “Importing Pro/ENGINEER Parts and
Assemblies” on page 8-21.
Exports a CADDS 5 part or assembly and creates a
Pro/ENGINEER TIM. See “Exporting CADDS 5 Parts and
Assemblies” on page 8-21.
Verifies a CADDS 5 or Pro/ENGINEER TIM. See “Verifying TIM
Parts and Assemblies” on page 8-22.
Updates a CADDS 5 or Pro/ENGINEER TIM. See “Updating
TIM Parts and Assemblies” on page 8-22.
Closes the EPD.Connect session.
8-26 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
Using the Information Browser Assembly Tab
Filing an Assembly
You can file the active assembly file by choosing
File > Assembly
.
For information on how this applies to CADDS/CAMU, see Concurrent Assembly
Mockup User Guide and Menu Reference.
Filing an Assembly with Options
You can file the active assembly file, using options such as new name and application type, by choosing
File > Assembly with Options
.
For information on how this applies to CADDS/CAMU, see Concurrent Assembly
Mock-up User Guide and Menu Reference.
Quitting Suspended Parts
You can quit, without filing, all parts (such as CADDS models and Adrawings) activated during the current EPD.Connect session by choosing
File > Quit
Suspended Parts
.
For information on how this applies to CADDS/CAMU, see Concurrent Assembly
Mock-up User Guide and Menu Reference.
Quitting and Exiting the Active Assembly
You can quit, without filing, the active assembly and all parts (such as CADDS models and Adrawings) activated during the current EPD.Connect session by choosing
File > Quit and Exit Assembly
.
For information on how this applies to CADDS/CAMU, see Concurrent Assembly
Mock-up User Guide and Menu Reference.
Entering the CADDS Local Data Manager
You can display the CADDS Local Data Manager by selecting
File > Enter LDM
.
For information on how this applies to CADDS/CAMU, see Concurrent Assembly
Mock-up User Guide and Menu Reference.
Closing the Current EPD.Connect Session
You can exit EPD.Connect by selecting
File > Exit
. This quits the active assembly file and all suspended parts, without filing.
EPD.Connect User Guide 8-27
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
Using the Information Browser Assembly Tab
Edit Menu
When you select the
Assembly tab from the Information Browser, the contents of the
Edit
menu change. The options are as follows:
Please note: To edit an existing component within the Product Structure tree you must first lock that component.
Option
Add Component
Change Component
Remove Component
Edit Attributes
Add Assembly
Description
Enables you to add a child component to the selected component within the active assembly. The CAMU Add Component property sheet is launched.
When you add a component that has a TIM object associated with it, CAMU stores the TIM data of the associated object along with the rest of the component information in a PS file that is used for loading in EPD.Connect.
Enables you to change some aspect of the selected component
(such as its name) within the active assembly. This launches the
CAMU Change Component property sheet.
If the component that is being changed has any associated TIM components, CAMU sends a message to EPD.Connect to display the node as a TIM node.
Enables you to remove the selected component within the active assembly. This launches the CAMU Remove Component property sheet. This action removes the associated model geometry from the assembly graphic within the 3D Viewer.
Enables you to create or change nongraphic properties (such as cost, vendor, material type, and weight) of the selected component within the active assembly. See “Using Attributes” on page 8-19.
Enables you to add an existing assembly as a child component of the selected component within the active assembly. This launches the CAMU Add Assembly property sheet.
Change Assembly
Remove Assembly
Lock Component
Copy Component
Paste
Assemblies/Components
Enables you to change some aspect of the selected assembly component within the active assembly. This launches the CAMU
Change Assembly property sheet.
If the selected assembly that is being changed has any associated
TIM assemblies, CAMU sends a message to EPD.Connect to display the nodes of the assembly as a TIM node.
Enables you to remove the selected assembly component within the active assembly. This launches the CAMU Remove Assembly property sheet.
Locks the selected component, and optionally all of its child components, within the active assembly. This launches the CAMU
Lock Component property sheet. You must first lock a component in order to manipulate it, add child components, and so on.
Enables you to create a duplicate of the selected component and its children. This launches the CAMU Copy Component property sheet.
Enables you to paste the copied components present from the clipboard to the CAMU assembly that is open.
8-28 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
Using the Information Browser Assembly Tab
Option
Reorder Component
Description
Enables you to rearrange the appearance, but not the parent/child relationships, of the active assembly by relocating the selected component. This launches the CAMU Reorder Component property sheet.
CAMU Application Toolbar
The CAMU toolbar contains icons that launch standard CADDS/CAMU property sheets or direct actions. It also contains several EPD.Connect-specific CAMU actions. The toolbar icons are as follows:
Exit the Application:
Closes EPD.Connect and all applications launched from within the active
EPD.Connect session. It also quits active and suspended files.
Quit and Exit CAMU Assembly:
Exits the assembly without filing. See the Concurrent Assembly Mock-up User
Guide for details on quitting the active and suspended models, Adrawings, and assemblies.
File CAMU Assembly:
Files the assembly while keeping it active. See the Concurrent Assembly Mock-up
User Guide for details on filing the active assembly.
CAMU View Component:
Opens the View Component property sheet. See the Concurrent Assembly
Mock-up User Guide for details on viewing components.
CAMU Activate Model:
Opens the Activate Model property sheet. See the Concurrent Assembly Mock-up
User Guide for details on activating the model associated to the selected component class.
EPD.Connect User Guide 8-29
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
Using the Information Browser Assembly Tab
CAMU Verify Object:
Opens the Verify Object property sheet. See the Concurrent Assembly Mock-up
User Guide for detail on querying the selected component or viewing the orientations for a reference node.
CAMU Move Component:
Opens the Move Component property sheet. See the Concurrent Assembly
Mock-up User Guide for details on moving associated models within the active assembly.
CAMU Lock Component:
Opens the Add Component property sheet. See the Concurrent Assembly Mock-up
User Guide for details on locking components.
CAMU Add Component:
Opens the Add Component property sheet. See the Concurrent Assembly Mock-up
User Guide for details on adding components.
CAMU Change Component:
Opens the Move Component property sheet. See the Concurrent Assembly
Mock-up User Guide for details on changing aspects of the selected component class.
CAMU Delete Component:
Opens the Delete Component property sheet. See the Concurrent Assembly
Mock-up User Guide for detail on deleting components.
Single Node Selection:
Enables you to select one specific component only. If you select a second component, the first is automatically deselected.
Multiple Node Selection:
Enables you to select multiple, individual components.
8-30 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
Using the Information Browser Assembly Tab
Subassembly Selection:
Enables you to select an entire subassembly. When you select a component, all its child components are selected.
Angled Tree Style:
Dynamically changes the product structure tree style to 90-degree-angle connect lines.
Fan Tree Style:
Dynamically changes the product structure tree style to fan connect lines. This is the default tree style.
File Manager Tree Style:
Dynamically changes the Product Structure tree style to that of a standard File
Manager.
Highlight Selected Components:
Displays a red border around all structure components that you have selected.
Selected components are yellow by default.
Highlight Not Selected Components:
Displays a red border around all structure components that you have not selected.
Non-selected components are aqua blue by default.
Clear Highlighted Components:
Removes the red border around all structure components.
Show the Structure Window:
Opens the Product Structure window and displays the entire product structure.
EPD.Connect User Guide 8-31
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
Using the Information Browser Assembly Tab
Show an Overview of Tree Display:
Opens a new window illustrating the entire Product Structure and containing a box that contains the structure area currently visible in the Product Structure window.
Show the Vault transfer panel:
Opens the Vault Data Browser window. See “Query Fields” on page 8-25 to see a list of information fields.
Copying and Pasting from the Data Browser
You can copy CAMU and product structure assembly nodes as well as CADDS parts from the Data Browser to the clipboard and paste them in a CAMU assembly in the Product Structure. To do this,
1.
Open a CAMU assembly in the Product Structure window in Assembly mode.
2.
Select the components from the Data Browser, right-click and choose
Copy from the popup menu.
3.
Choose the components on the clipboard that you want to paste.
4.
Select the assembly component in the Product Structure and right-click.
Choose the
Paste Assy/Comp option to paste the selected component from the clipboard.
8-32 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
Using the Information Browser Assembly Tab
You can also choose
Edit
>
Paste Assy
/
Comp
to paste the selected component from the clipboard.
Limitations
• Assemblies other than PS and CAMU, and components other than the CADDS parts will be ignored during the paste operation.
• The ADRAWs associated with the CAMU files will not be copied or pasted along with the CAMU files.
• Application objects of type LOCAL, PTCPRT, PTCDRW, PTCLAY,
CATMODEL, MEDSHT, MEDSHT, MEDMOD, MEDSYM, and STEPPART will not be copied or pasted.
EPD.Connect User Guide 8-33
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
Performing Vault Operations on CADDS
Performing Vault Operations on CADDS
The EPD Interface to CADDS enables you to perform Vault operations on
CADDS generated objects and associated objects.
This section discusses the following topics:
• Overview
• Features
• Limitations
• Creating Preprocessing and Postprocessing Routines
• Understanding EPD Interface to CADDS
• Working with EPD.Connect
• Creating Preprocessing and Postprocessing Routines
Overview
You can perform Vault operations on following objects using the CADDS
Interface:
• CADDS Parts
• CAMU Assemblies
• Product Structures
• ADRAWS
You can perform the following Vault operations:
• Store
• Get
• Read
• Update
• Replace
8-34 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
Performing Vault Operations on CADDS
Features
The EPD Interface to CADDS provides:
• The availability of Vault operations for CADDS Parts.
• The capability of storing CAMU assemblies and Product structures in the vault as
FILE
.
• The ability to store ADRAWS automatically as
PART
while storing CAMU assemblies.
• The capability of storing ADRAWS independently, using the Data Browser.
• The capability of populating Vault with the product structure attributes whenever a Product structure or a CAMU assembly is stored.
EPD.Connect User Guide 8-35
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
EPD Interface to CADDS
EPD Interface to CADDS
The EPD Interface to CADDS collects an object along with related files if any when you execute a Vault command. This section describe the steps for executing a Vault command.
You can perform Vault transactions on CADDS Parts, CAMU Assemblies,
Product Structures and ADRAWs. You can use the Vault commands store
, replace
, update
, get
, and read
on these objects.You can also customize preprocessing and postprocessing during the execution of Vault Commands.
Store, Update, and Replace Commands
When you execute a store
command for a CADDS Interface supported object, the interface:
1.
Searches for the existence of a CADDS object if a fully qualified path is supplied.
2.
Searches for the object in the directories specified in the variable
$CVPATH
. If the object is not found, the object is searched in the current directory. if located the object is stored. Also associated files are stored in the Vault as MEMBER files to the object.
If the object is a CAMU assembly or Product Structure, the product structure information is stored in the Vault as attributes. If the object is a CAMU
Assembly, then its associated ADRAWS are stored automatically as PART if they are not already available in the Vault.
Notes
1.
Operations like store
, update,
and replace
fail on a CAMU assembly when the
ODB_DAEMON is not running or when the
DB_DAEMON_HOST variable is not set properly. The following error message is displayed:
Unable to extract product structure information
2.
If you have defined attribute rules that are specific to a project, the associated
Adrawings do not satisfy the defined attribute rules. Therefore, they are not processed when the CAMU assembly is stored, updated, or replaced. The following error message appears in such cases:
Processing not done - did not supply required attributes.
8-36 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
EPD Interface to CADDS
However, the CAMU assembly gets stored correctly.
To resolve this:
a.
Set the variables:
STORE_ADRAWS
=
NO
(in caddsrb.ini
file)
b.
CA_STORE_ADRAWS=NO
(in epdconn.ini
file)
Store, update, or replace the ADRAWs separately from EPD.Connect so that you can set the required attributes in the attribute panel in
EPD.Connect.
GET Command
When you execute a get
command on a CADDS object, the interface:
1.
Retrieves the object from the Vault and places in the directory in case a fully qualified path is supplied.
2.
Retrieves the object from the Vault and places in the directory specified by the variable
$CVCREATEDIR
if the object is a CADDS Part. If this variable is not defined, then the object is placed in the current directory.
3.
Retrieves the object from the Vault and places in the directory specified by the variable
$CA_ASSYPREFIX
if the object is a CAMU Assembly or Product structure. If this variable is not defined, then the object is placed in the current directory.
READ Command
1.
Retrieves the object from the Vault and places it in the directory if a fully qualified path is supplied.
2.
Retrieves the object from the Vault and places in the directory specified by the variable
$CA_READPREFIX
if the object is a CADDS Part. If this variable is not defined, then the object is placed in the current directory.
3.
Retrieves the object from the Vault and places in the directory specified by the variable
$CA_READPREFIX
if the object is a CAMU assembly or product structure. If this variable is not defined, then the object is placed in the current directory.
EPD.Connect User Guide 8-37
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
Working with EPD.Connect
Working with EPD.Connect
Using EPD.Connect you can apply Vault commands on CADDS objects such as
CADDS Parts, Product Structures, CAMU Assemblies, and ADRAWs.
EPD.Connect does the following:
• Lists CADDS objects located on the local disk and in the Vault
• Allows you to transfer data between the local disk and the Vault
• Provides creation of new Product structures and CAMU structures
• Provides editing/saving of the existing Product structures and CAMU structures
• Provides database management for structuring and accessing information
Working with the Product Structure Window
To open a PS structure or a CAMU structure:
1.
Click
Query
for the list of available structures. The Query Option dialog box opens.
2.
Select the required application
PS
or
CAMU
. Its location can be either Local
Disk or Database.
3.
Right-click. The Data Browser menu opens.
4.
Click
Open to load the structure in the product structure window. See Chapters
3- 5 for additional information on working with product structures.
5.
Choose
File
>
Open
. The Open Configuration dialog box opens.
Click
Refresh
to refresh the Data Browser Window.
Working with the Data Browser
To open the DataBrowser:
1.
Choose
Window > Data Browser
.
2.
Choose the
Vault
tab to list objects located in the Vault database or choose the
Local
tab to list objects located on the local disk.
3.
Click the
Options
button. The Query Options dialog box opens.
4.
Choose one of the following applications to select a CADDS object: CADDS,
PS, CAMU, ADRAW.
8-38 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
Working with EPD.Connect
5.
Click
OK
or
Apply
.
6.
Select an object from the list and choose a Vault operation from
Database
>
Vault
.
Creating Preprocessing and Postprocessing Routines
You can add a preprocessing or postprocessing shell script or other routine to run before your store
, replace
, update
, get
, or read
command.
For example, if you want to ensure that a file naming convention is maintained, you can create a preprocessing routine to check file names before a store command is executed. This capability allows easy correspondence between the interface and third party applications. Define preprocessing and postprocessing routines by setting the corresponding environment variables, as follows:
COMMAND_[PRE][POST]PROCESS=[executable file name] where
COMMAND
is store
, replace
, update
, get
, or read
.
The environment variables used by the interface are available in the caddsrb.ini
file. You can customize this file. If you set these variables, source this file before starting the Connect session. For more details, see Installing
EPD.Connect, EPD Roles, and EPD.Visualizer.
You must set the environment variables for preprocessing and postprocessing in the user environment or the caddsrb.ini
file before you start the EPD.Connect
session. The interface checks for the variables before executing the command. If a variable is found, the interface tries to execute it. The Vault passes the names of the input and output files to the executable file.
The following table lists and describes the preprocessing and postprocessing variables:
Variable Description
COMMAND_PREPROCESS When the value is the name of an executable file, the interface tries to run it before executing rulebase initialization.
COMMAND_POSTPROCESS When the value is the name of an executable file, the interface tries to run it after executing the rulebase initialization.
where
COMMAND
is store
, replace
, update
, get
, or read
.
EPD.Connect User Guide 8-39
Using CAMU in EPD.Connect
Working with EPD.Connect
Vault Operations on CAMU Objects
The EPD interface behaves uniquely with the CAMU assemblies when executing the following Vault operations:
• Signout
• Reset
• Copy
• Change Status
• Request Review
• Respond Review
• Mark for Archive
• Mark for Delete
• Unmark
While working on a CAMU assembly, EPD.Connect performs the preceding operations on all the ADRAWS associated with the assembly, as well. However, you can change this behavior by configuring the
CA_STORE_ADRAWS
located in
$EPD_HOME/data/reposit/epdconn.ini
. For details on
CA_STORE_ADRAWS
, see “epdconn.ini” on page 8-3.
While executing the Request for Review operation on CAMU assemblies,
EPD.Connect creates file sets consisting of the assembly and the default
ADRAWS. These file sets are stored in the format assembly name.&DB
. For example, if the assembly name is ABC, the associated file set is stored as
ABC.&DB
. Also, these file sets get deleted once the Respond to Review operation is completed.
8-40 EPD.Connect User Guide
Chapter 9
Pro/FLY-THROUGH Integration with EPD.Connect
This chapter briefly describes Pro/FLY-THROUGH integrated with EPD.Connect
as a switchable product viewer.
This chapter discusses the following topics:
• Overview
• Setting the Pro/FLY-THROUGH Environment
• System Requirements
• Accessing Pro/FLY-THROUGH
EPD.Connect User Guide 9-1
Pro/FLY-THROUGH Integration with EPD.Connect
Overview
Overview
Pro/FLY-THROUGH is a product viewer. It is similar to 3D Viewer and
Visualizer. A typical Pro/FLY-THROUGH process is as follows:
• Install the software.
• Use Pro/ENGINEER to export files to VRML or to access native files.
• Use Pro/FLY-THROUGH to view the model (assembly or part).
• Select objects to create a simplified representation for retrieval into
Pro/ENGINEER.
• Retrieve the simplified representation into the active Pro/ENGINEER session.
• Review the design to do markups, measurements, and interference checking to test the integrity of the design.
• Modify selected components in the Pro/ENGINEER session.
• Update the modifications made to the active Pro/FLY-THROUGH session in
Pro/ENGINEER.
• Use packaging tools to combine components to create new assemblies.
• Use the other visualization features to prepare for demonstrations and documentation.
Features
With Pro/FLY-THROUGH you can:
• Conduct design reviews
• Create product presentations
• Explode the assembly dynamically
• Quickly retrieve large assemblies
• Quickly browse the 3D graphics of large assemblies, which would otherwise require more powerful hardware
• Perform real-time visual model inspection
• Quickly manipulate the model orientation and viewpoint
• Access product structure and parameters
• Quickly investigate a design by providing alternative visual navigation modes.
Please note: It is not possible to have other 3D Viewer running in the same environment because Pro/FLY-THROUGH is a switchable viewer.
9-2 EPD.Connect User Guide
Pro/FLY-THROUGH Integration with EPD.Connect
Overview
Advantages
The advantages of Pro/FLY-THROUGH are:
• Simple and intuitive user interface
• Fast retrieval of models
• Fast and interactive view manipulation
• Easy and quick model investigation
• Better performance relative to hardware
• Ability to save markup, subset, and view files created during a
Pro/FLY-THROUGH session
• Ability to create and read Pro/FLY-THROUGH package files
Limitations
The limitations of Pro/FLY-THROUGH are as follows:
• Pro/FLY-THROUGH does not read
Meta
(
_MF
) files.
When Pro/FLY-THROUGH is used with EPD.Connect, you cannot load the meta files into the viewer.
• Pro/FLY-THROUGH does not support zoning and clash detection defect.
• When you open a Pro/ENGINEER assembly in EPD.Connect, the objects are not positioned properly, because EPD.Connect does not contain information about object orientation.
EPD.Connect User Guide 9-3
Pro/FLY-THROUGH Integration with EPD.Connect
Setting the Pro/FLY-THROUGH Environment
Setting the Pro/FLY-THROUGH Environment
Before starting EPD.Connect, set the Pro/FLY-THROUGH environment as follows:
1.
Set the following environments to point to the PRO/FLY-THROUGH executable in the explorer
.
ini
file or environment variable.
•
PRO_DIRECTORY
=
<Pro/FLY-THROUGH installation directory>
•
PROFLY LAUNCH SCRIPT = $PRO_DIRECTORY/bin/<commandname>
<
Commandname
> is the script that you have selected as the command name during the installation of Pro/FLY-THROUGH.
The environment variable
PRO_DIRECTORY
points to the directory where
Pro/FLY-THROUGH is installed.
2.
Comment the default viewer target entries and uncomment the following two lines in the
$EPD_HOME/data/reposit/explorer.ini
file:
CVDPA_VIS_NAME=$CVDPA_PROFLY_COMM
CVDPA_VIS_TARGET=ProFly
3.
Pro/FLY-THROUGH uses Common Message Oriented Middleware (CMOM) and communicates with EPD.Connect if the following environment variables are set:
•
CMOM_DOMAIN
•
CMOM_DISPLAY
•
PVS_EXTERNAL
•
CVPATHCVDPA_LOAD_METHOD
4.
Set the variable
PVS_COLOR_FILE
.
Pro/FLY-THROUGH supports the following formats:
•
GAF
(Graphical ASCII format)
•
GBF
(Graphical binary format)
9-4 EPD.Connect User Guide
Pro/FLY-THROUGH Integration with EPD.Connect
Setting the Pro/FLY-THROUGH Environment
For IBM AIX Platform
To set the Pro/FLY-THROUGH interface on the IBM AIX platform, rename the following library file names under
$EPD_HOME/lib
directory:
1.
Rename the following static libraries:
a.
b.
libcvawtools.a
to libcvawtools.a.static
libcvoptmsg.a
to libcvoptmsg.a.static
Please note: Backup the existing static libraries before renaming them. They are not required for the Pro/FLY-THROUGH interface on the IBM AIX platform.
2.
Rename the following shared (dynamic) libraries:
a.
b.
libcvawtools.a.shared
to libcvawtools.a
libcvoptmsg.a.shared
to libcvoptmsg.a
Pro/FLY-THROUGH interface now works from EPD Connect.
3.
Install the Open GL software for Pro/FLY-THROUGH.
EPD.Connect User Guide 9-5
Pro/FLY-THROUGH Integration with EPD.Connect
System Requirements
System Requirements
Pro/FLY-THROUGH has a number of system requirements.
Hardware and Operating Systems
Pro/FLY-THROUGH runs on all the hardware/operating system platforms recommended for the current product revision of EPD.Connect.
Memory and Disk Space Requirements
As this is an add-on functionality, the memory and disk space requirements are the same as EPD.Connect. They are determined by Pro/FLY-THROUGH product guidelines.
Licenses
No additional licenses are required.
9-6 EPD.Connect User Guide
Pro/FLY-THROUGH Integration with EPD.Connect
Accessing Pro/FLY-THROUGH
Accessing Pro/FLY-THROUGH
To start Pro/FLY-THROUGH from EPD.Connect, choose
Tools -> 3D Viewer from the menu bar.
Display Menu Options
The Display menu options is applicable when the structure is loaded in
EPD.Connect.
With Pro/FLY-THROUGH you can perform the following actions using the
Display menu options:
•
Load
•
Delete
•
Convert
•
Show
•
Hide
•
Select
•
Deselect
•
Highlight
•
Transparency
•
Color
Please note: The menu options are not applicable to the Pro/FLY-THROUGH viewer.
EPD.Connect User Guide 9-7
Pro/FLY-THROUGH Integration with EPD.Connect
Accessing Pro/FLY-THROUGH
The following table will help you to find more information regarding the options.
Display Menu Options Refer to
Load
Delete
Convert
“Loading Tree Components into the 3D Viewer (Load)” on page 5-21
“Deleting Components from the 3D Viewer (Delete)” on page 5-21
“Converting CADDS Parts to Graphic Files (Convert)” on page 5-21
“Showing Components (Show)” on page 5-22 Show
Hide
“Hiding Components (Hide)” on page 5-22
“Selecting Components (Select)” on page 5-23 Select
Deselect
Highlight
“Deselecting Components (Deselect)” on page 5-24
“Highlighting Components (Highlight)” on page 5-25
Transparency
Color
“Applying Transparency (Transparency)” on page 5-26
“Resetting Colors (Color)” on page 5-27
9-8 EPD.Connect User Guide
Chapter 10
Using the EPD Interface for
MEDUSA
This chapter discusses the following topics:
• Overview
• Setting up MEDUSA Support on the Vault
• Creating Preprocessing and Postprocessing Routines
• Sequence of Actions for MEDUSA Objects
• Working in EPD.Connect
EPD.Connect User Guide 10-1
Using the EPD Interface for MEDUSA
Overview
Overview
The EPD Interface for MEDUSA enables you to perform Vault operations on certain MEDUSA generated objects. The EPD Interface for MEDUSA supports three types of MEDUSA objects:
• SHEET
• MODEL
• SYMBOL
The environment from which you can issue a command depends on the object you are working on, as follows:
• SHEET — Vault commands can be issued on a SHEET from either MEDUSA or EPD.Connect.
• MODEL — Vault commands can be issued on a MODEL only from
EPD.Connect, because the 2D Drafting menu for MEDUSA can be used only for a SHEET.
• SYMBOL — Vault commands can be issued on a SYMBOL only from
EPD.Connect, because the 2D Drafting menu for MEDUSA can be used only for a SHEET.
You can execute the store
, replace
, update
, get
, and read
commands on these objects. You can run preprocessing and postprocessing shell scripts or other software routines before you invoke these commands. See “Features” on page 12-3.
File-Naming Conventions
The following file naming conventions govern MEDUSA objects. The interface follows this convention while executing Vault commands on these objects:
Class of MEDUSA Object Object Type Convention and Meaning
Sheet
Model
SHEET
MODEL s.XXX, where XXX = SHEET name m.XXX, where XXX = MODEL name
Symbol SYMBOL y.XXX, where XXX = SYMBOL name
10-2 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the EPD Interface for MEDUSA
Overview
Features
The EPD Interface for MEDUSA provides for the following:
• Interacting with Vault using EPD.Connect
• Using environment variables to add a software routine that runs immediately before a Vault command is executed
• Supporting up to the latest MEDUSA release
• Storing referenced SHEET, when a SHEET is stored
Limitations
The limitations of the EPD Interface for MEDUSA are as follows:
• You cannot launch a MEDUSA application from the product structure.
To view a MEDUSA object, start a MEDUSA session outside EPD.Connect
and open the MEDUSA object.
• You cannot open a MEDUSA application in the 3D Viewer.
The MEDUSA MODEL is an object generated by MEDUSA and can be viewed only from within the MEDUSA application. It is not a
.gbf
file and hence cannot be opened in the 3D Viewer.
• To use the EPD interface for MEDUSA with EPD.Connect locally, you must disable the existing Vault support. If you want EPD.Connect to list and recognize the application interface types, but have not disabled Vault support, then the first entry in the pm
.
config must identify a vault that is configured for the installed interfaces. For more information, see Installing EPD.Connect,
EPD Roles, and EPD.Visualizer.
EPD.Connect User Guide 10-3
Using the EPD Interface for MEDUSA
Setting up MEDUSA Support on the Vault
Setting up MEDUSA Support on the Vault
To set up MEDUSA support on the Vault, run the following as Vault administrator only after you have run either navinstall
or navrefresh
:
$EPD_HOME
/install/medinst
*
*
*****************************************************************
*
Installation Utility *
*
*****************************************************************
*
Enter the user id of your Vault Administration account. name:
OK to add MEDUSA Application Environment to Optegra Vault [yes] :
Enter the Vault Oracle database manager userid [pdmdm] :
Enter the Vault Oracle database manager password [pdmdm] :
Checking New Tables in ORACLE Database .....
New tables already exist.
Enter the Vault Oracle database manager userid [pdmdm] :
Enter the Vault Oracle database manager password [pdmdm] :
Adding MEDUSA Application to Optegra Vault.
OK to install the MEDUSA Vault Attributes [yes] :
Enter the EDMADMIN user password [edmadmin] :
Signing on to the Vault as edmadmin..
CDMSON000I Optegra
CDMSON016I Sign on to EDM server ADBHUT completed successfully.
You have 0 EDM message(s).
Adding MEDUSA attributes.
CAMARL100I MEDUSA_SET has been added.
CAMARL100I MEDUSA-DEPENDENT has been added.
CAMARL100I MEDUSA_RULE_1 has been added.
CAMARL100I MEDUSA_RULE_2 has been added.
CAMARL100I MEDUSA_RULE_3 has been added.
CAMARL100I MEDUSA_RULE_4 has been added.
CDMSOF017I Sign off from EDM completed successfully.
MEDUSA attributes added.
Optegra Interface for MEDUSA Installation Complete.
10-4 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the EPD Interface for MEDUSA
Creating Preprocessing and Postprocessing Routines
Creating Preprocessing and Postprocessing
Routines
You can add a preprocessing or postprocessing shell script or other routine to run before running the store
, replace
, update
, get
, or read
commands.
For example, if you want to ensure that a file-naming convention is maintained, create a preprocessing routine to check file names before a store
command is executed. This capability allows easy correspondence between the interface and third-party applications.
Define preprocessing and postprocessing routines by setting the corresponding environment variables:
COMMAND
_[PRE][POST]PROCESS=[ executable file name] where
COMMAND
is store
, replace
, update
, get
, or read
.
The environment variables used by the interface are available in the medusarb.ini
file. Customize this file. If you set these variables, source this file before starting the EPD.Connect session. For more details, see Installing
EPD.Connect, EPD Roles, and EPD.Visualizer.
You must set the environment variables for preprocessing and postprocessing in the user environment or the
medusarb.ini
file before you start the
EPD.Connect session.
The interface checks for the variables before executing the command. If a variable is found, the interface tries to execute it. The Vault passes the names of the input and output files to the executable file. The following table lists and describes the preprocessing and postprocessing variables:
Variable Description
COMMAND_PREPROCESS When the value is the name of an executable file, the interface tries to run it before executing rulebase initialization.
COMMAND_POSTPROCESS When the value is the name of an executable file, the interface tries to run it after executing the rulebase initialization.
where
COMMAND
is store
, replace
, update
, get
, or read
.
EPD.Connect User Guide 10-5
Using the EPD Interface for MEDUSA
Sequence of Actions for MEDUSA Objects
Sequence of Actions for MEDUSA Objects
This information in this section is provided for programmers who are customizing the interface.
The following pseudocode shows the sequence of actions followed by the
MEDUSA Interface when a user issues a Vault command. The actions vary slightly according to the object processed, SHEET, SYMBOL, or MODEL.
Differences are noted.
Initial phase:
Checks if variable “<command>_PREPROCESS” is set or not
If set, executes it with “$<command>_PREPROCESS inputfile
outputfile” as arguments.
In case of error, exit.
Proceed to rulebase processing for initial phase.
Complete the rulebase processing. Output file is created.
Checks if variable “<command>_POSTPROCESS” is set or not
If set, executes it with “$<command>_POSTPROCESS
inputfile outputfile” as arguments.
In case of error, exit.
Command processing is over.
Execution phase:
Execute Vault command. For the selected object, transaction
with the Vault takes place by actual movement of object
and dependent files between the Vault and Client.
Cleanup phase:
Proceed to rulebase processing for Cleanup phase.
Complete the rulebase processing. Output file is created.
Command processing is over.
10-6 EPD.Connect User Guide
Object
SHEET
MODEL
SYMBOL
Using the EPD Interface for MEDUSA
Sequence of Actions for MEDUSA Objects
The following table describes MEDUSA objects and their treatment by the interface rulebase commands:
Special treatment
By the store command:
1. All objects listed either as dependent files or referenced master objects are submitted to be stored in the Vault.
2. The interface extracts the information about the reference SHEETs that are used in the stored SHEET. The reference SHEETs are stored in the Vault if they are available on disk and are not available in the Vault. The reference sheets are stored as separate sheets.
By the replace
and update
commands:
The interface extracts the information about the reference SHEETs that are used in the stored SHEET. The reference SHEETs are stored in the Vault if they are available on disk and are not available in the Vault. The reference sheets are stored as separate sheets
By the get and read commands:
The interface extracts the information about the reference SHEETs used in the main
SHEET. If found, a copy of these reference SHEETS is retrieved from the Vault. The get
command retrieves the reference SHEETS from the vault without signing them out.
By all interface commands:
1. The master file for this object is defined by the prefix m ., and its associated dependent file is defined by the prefix s
.
2. The master file and its dependent file move to and from the VAULT as a single entity.
3. The MODEL’s associated SHEET is stored in the Vault as a member of the
MODEL.
By all interface commands:
The master file for this object is defined by the prefix y
.
(
The SYMBOL does not have dependent members.)
Please note: The interface rulebase removes the local copy of each object that is successfully transferred to the Vault.
The interface rulebase determines the location of the object files by checking:
• The
$CA_ASSYPREFIX or
$CA_READPREFIX
, which can be set to the
MEDUSA project directory (
MEDPROJ_PATH
), where the objects are stored or placed
• The current working directory from which the store
command was issued
• The user’s home directory
EPD.Connect User Guide 10-7
Using the EPD Interface for MEDUSA
Working in EPD.Connect
Working in EPD.Connect
Using EPD.Connect, you can apply Vault commands on MEDUSA objects such as sheets, models, and symbols.
EPD.Connect allows you to:
• Add MEDUSA objects to product structures. Refer to Chapters 4 through 6 for information on working with product structures.
• List MEDUSA objects located on the local disk and in the Vault.
• To list MEDUSA objects:
1.
Choose
Window
>
Data Browser
.
2.
Choose the
Vault
tab to list objects located in the Vault database or choose the
Local
tab to list objects located on the local disk.
3.
Click the
Options button
.
The Query Options dialog box opens.
4.
Choose
Application to select a MEDUSA object:
MEDUSA
.
5.
Click
OK
or
Apply
.
6.
Select an object from the list and choose a Vault transfer operation from
Database
>
Vault
.
10-8 EPD.Connect User Guide
Chapter 11
Using the EPD Interface for
Pro/ENGINEER
This chapter briefly describes how to access Pro/ENGINEER in EPD.Connect.
This chapter discusses the following topics:
• Overview
• Features
• Limitations
• EPD Interface for Pro/ENGINEER Support
• Understanding the EPD Interface for Pro/ENGINEER
• Preprocessing and Postprocessing
• Working in EPD.Connect
EPD.Connect User Guide 11-1
Using the EPD Interface for Pro/ENGINEER
Overview
Overview
The EPD Interface for Pro/ENGINEER allows you to perform Vault operations on
Pro/ENGINEER objects. Pro/ENGINEER objects on which you can perform
Vault operations are as follows:
• Assemblies
• Parts
• Layouts
• Formats
• Drawings
The Vault commands that you can use are as follows:
• store
• get
• read
• update
• replace
Please note: Product structures opened in the EPD.Connect browser for
Pro/ENGINEER assembly are intended only for purposes of viewing. Do not attempt to modify displayed structures by adding or deleting nodes.
The
File > Save
function for the Pro/ENGINEER assembly is not supported by
EPD.Connect interface. If you execute a
File > Save
command, no data will actually be written to disk. The following message will be displayed:
Successfully saved 1 of 1
11-2 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the EPD Interface for Pro/ENGINEER
Features
Features
The EPD Interface for Pro/ENGINEER allows you to:
• Interact with Vault using EPD.Connect
• Use environment variables to add a software routine that runs immediately before and/or after a Vault command is executed
• Support Releases 11 through 21 and 2000i of Pro/ENGINEER
• Store product structure attributes with the assembly file when a
Pro/ENGINEER assembly is stored in the Vault
• Store an assembly’s or part’s associated drawing file as a member file when an assembly or part is stored
• Support the instances of Pro/ENGINEER references in the product structure.
For additional information regarding:
• Process flow, refer to Appendix C, “Process Flow of EPD Interface
Commands”.
• Working with the product structure window, refer to Chapter 2, “Using the
Product Structure Window” and Chapter 4, “Customizing the Product Structure
Tree Window.”
EPD.Connect User Guide 11-3
Using the EPD Interface for Pro/ENGINEER
Limitations
Limitations
The limitations of the EPD Interface for Pro/ENGINEER are:
• When Pro/ENGINEER assemblies are stored, their associated parts are not stored during the transaction and must be stored separately.
• Pro/MANUFACTURING process sheets are not supported.
• When Pro/ENGINEER objects are stored, associated export files, like neutral files, are not stored.
• Interaction with the Vault from the Pro/ENGINEER Application Environment is not supported.
• The interface lists, in upper case, the names of objects located in the Vault database and on the local disk. To issue Vault commands from the command-line interface, specify the
SELNAME
in upper case. This ensures that objects are listed in EPD.Connect for Vault operations.
• To use the EPD interface for Pro/ENGINEER with EPD.Connect locally, you must disable the existing Vault support. If you want EPD.Connect to list and recognize the application interface types, but have not disabled Vault support, then the first entry in the pm
.
config must identify a Vault that is configured for the installed interfaces.
11-4 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the EPD Interface for Pro/ENGINEER
EPD Interface for Pro/ENGINEER Support
EPD Interface for Pro/ENGINEER Support
To set up Pro/ENGINEER support on the Vault, run the following as Vault administrator only after you have run either navinstall
or navrefresh
:
$EPD_HOME
/install/proeinst
******************************************************************
* Installation Utility *
* *
*****************************************************************
Enter the user id of your Vault Administration account. name:
OK to add Pro/E Application Environment to Optegra Vault [yes] :
Enter the Vault Oracle database manager userid [pdmdm] :
Enter the Vault Oracle database manager password [pdmdm] :
Checking New Tables in ORACLE Database .....
New tables already exist.
Enter the Vault Oracle database manager userid [pdmdm] :
Enter the Vault Oracle database manager password [pdmdm] :
Adding Pro/E Application to Optegra Vault.
Addition of Pro/E Application to optegra Vault Complete.
OK to install the Pro/E Vault Attributes [yes] :
Enter the EDMADMIN user password [edmadmin] :
Signing on to the Vault as edmadmin..
CDMSON000I Optegra
CDMSON016I Sign on to EDM server ADBHUT completed successfully.
You have 0 EDM message(s).
Adding Pro/E attributes.
CAMARL100I CONFIG_RULE_ASM has been added.
CAMARL100I CONFIG_OPT_RULE_ASM has been added.
CDMSOF017I Sign off from EDM completed successfully.
Pro/E attributes added.
Optegra Interface for Pro/E Installation Complete.
EPD.Connect User Guide 11-5
Using the EPD Interface for Pro/ENGINEER
Understanding the EPD Interface for Pro/ENGINEER
Understanding the EPD Interface for
Pro/ENGINEER
The EPD Interface for Pro/ENGINEER collects an object and any related files from Pro/ENGINEER when you execute a Vault command. “The store, update, and replace Commands” on page 11-7 and “The get and read Commands” on page 11-7 describe the steps for executing a Vault command.
You can:
• Perform Vault transactions on Pro/ENGINEER assemblies, parts, drawings, layouts, and formats.
• Use the Vault commands store
, replace
, update
, get
, and read
on
Pro/ENGINEER objects.
• Customize the procedures. The procedures performed by the EPD Interface for each command and type of object vary slightly.
Supported Objects and Optegra Commands
The following table lists the classes of Pro/ENGINEER objects that are supported by this interface:
Classes of Pro/ENGINEER Objects
Assembly
Part
Drawing
Format
Layout
Object Types Object Extensions
PTCASM
.
asm
PTCPRT
PTCDRW
PTCFRM
PTCLAY
.
.
.
.
prt drw frm lay
Please note: A drawing file with the same root name as an assembly or a part is considered a member of that assembly or part. A drawing file that is not associated with a part or assembly file can be stored separately with an object type of PTCDRW.
11-6 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the EPD Interface for Pro/ENGINEER
Understanding the EPD Interface for Pro/ENGINEER
The interface consists of four components:
• Interface binary file, ptcarb
— This component, the rulebase executable file, gets executed when a Vault command is executed.
• Support binary file, asm2ps
— This component converts the Pro/ENGINEER assembly file to the Product Structure format.
• Support binary file, ps2attr
— This component converts the product structure information into the Vault attribute bag.
• Support binary file, extract
— This component extracts the attribute information from the Vault.
The store, update, and replace Commands
When you execute a store
,
update
, or
replace
command on a
Pro/ENGINEER-generated object, the interface:
• Searches the path specified in the environment variable
PROE_PATH, if the complete Pro/ENGINEER object path is not specified. If not found, it then searches the current working directory.
• Stores the object, if it exists. If the object is an assembly or part and a member drawing file exists, the drawing file is stored in the object.
• Stores the parent/child relationship information is stored in the Vault as attributes defining the product structure, if the object is an assembly.
Please note: The child objects for the Pro/ENGINEER assembly are not managed with the assembly. The child objects must be stored individually.
The update and replace
commands follow a procedure similar to that of the store
command.
The get and read Commands
When you execute a get
or read
command on a Pro/ENGINEER-generated object, the interface:
• Retrieves the Pro/ENGINEER object from the Vault and places the object in the directory specified by
$CA_ASSY_PREFIX for GET command or in the directory specified by
$CA_READ_PREFIX for READ command. In case these variables are not defined, the objects are copied into the current working directory.
• If the object is an assembly or part and there is a member drawing file, the drawing file is retrieved and placed along with the object.
EPD.Connect User Guide 11-7
Using the EPD Interface for Pro/ENGINEER
Preprocessing and Postprocessing
Preprocessing and Postprocessing
The EPD Interface for Pro/ENGINEER allows you to perform preprocessing and postprocessing during the initial and cleanup phases of the rulebase execution.
The preprocessing and postprocessing routines are executed when the
$PREPROCESS
and
$POSTPROCESS
environment variables are set and the executable files exist. If these processes fail, the rulebase exits.
The rulebase is executed in three phases, as follows:
1.
Initial Processing
2.
Execution
3.
Cleanup
For more information on the processing phases, refer to “Processing Phases” on page C-3 .
11-8 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the EPD Interface for Pro/ENGINEER
Working in EPD.Connect
Working in EPD.Connect
Using EPD.Connect, you can execute Vault commands on Pro/ENGINEER objects such as assemblies, parts, drawings and layouts.
EPD.Connect does the following:
• Lists Pro/ENGINEER objects located on the local disk and in the Vault
• Allows you to transfer data between the local disk and the Vault
• Provides product structure browsing for assemblies
• Provides database management for structuring and accessing information
• Lets you add Pro/ENGINEER objects to product structures
Working with the Information Browser
To work with the Information Browser and the Product Structure window:
1.
Choose the
Structure
tab of the Information Browser.
2.
To open a Pro/ENGINEER assembly in a product structure, choose
File
>
Open
. The Open Configuration dialog box opens.
3.
To open an existing Pro/ENGINEER assembly, in the
Application
field, specify
PTCASM
. Its location can be either Local Disk or Database.
4.
Click
Query
for the list of available assemblies.
5.
Click
Open
to load the assembly.
6.
To perform Vault operations on selected components, choose a Vault transfer command by choosing
Database > Vault
.
Please note: Modifications made to the product structure using EPD.Connect
are not stored in the Pro/ENGINEER assembly. EPD.Connect is used only for viewing the product structure of the Pro/ENGINEER assembly.
EPD.Connect User Guide 11-9
Using the EPD Interface for Pro/ENGINEER
Working in EPD.Connect
Working with the Data Browser
To work with the Data Browser:
1.
Choose
Window
>
Data Browser
.
2.
Choose the
Vault
folder to list objects located in the Vault database, or choose the Local folder to list objects located on the local disk.
3.
Click
Options.
The Query Options dialog box opens.
4.
Choose
Application to select a Pro/ENGINEER object:
PTCASM
,
PTCPRT
,
PTCDRW
,
PTCFRM
, or
PTCLAY
.
5.
Click
OK
or
Apply
.
6.
Select an object from the list and choose a Vault operation from
Database
>
Vault
.
11-10 EPD.Connect User Guide
Chapter 12
Using the EPD Interface for
CATIA
The EPD Interface for CATIA allows you to work on CATIA-generated objects within EPD.Connect.
This chapter discusses the following topics:
• Overview
• Features
• Limitations
• Working with CATIA Data in the Vault
• Working in EPD.Connect
Please note: CATIA functions are not available in the Windows environment.
EPD.Connect User Guide 12-1
Using the EPD Interface for CATIA
Overview
Overview
The EPD Interface for CATIA allows you to:
• Perform Vault operations on CATIA model files.
• View the product structure of CATIA assemblies in EPD.Connect.
• Display the CATIA model in the EPD.Connect 3D Viewer or Visualizer.
Please note: Product structures opened in the EPD.Connect browser for
CATIA are intended for viewing purposes only. Do not attempt to modify displayed structures by adding or deleting nodes.
The
File > Save
function for CATIA is not supported by the EPD.Connect
interface. If you execute a
File > Save
command, no data is written to disk. The following message is displayed:
Successfully saved 1 of 1
For additional information regarding:
• Process flow, refer to Appendix C, “Process Flow of EPD Interface
Commands”.
• Working with product structure refer to:
• Chapter 2, “Using the Product Structure Window.”
• Chapter 3, “Creating and Editing a Product Structure Tree.”
• Chapter 4, “Customizing the Product Structure Tree Window.”
• Querying Vault data, refer to Chapter 7, “Working with Vault Data.”
• Transferring Vault data, refer to Chapter 8, “Using CAMU in EPD.Connect.”
12-2 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the EPD Interface for CATIA
Features
Features
The EPD Interface for CATIA allows you to:
• Interact with Vault using EPD.Connect
• Query the Vault for CATIA items according to where stored or last changed
• Read Skins (SKI) and Dynamic Skins (SKD) from CATIA
• Improve color processing by providing a better RGB match
• Work with CATIA model files and assemblies, reading them without regard to the size of the models
• View CATIA assembly product structure in EPD.Connect
• Display CATIA models in the EPD.Connect 3D Viewer or Visualizer
EPD.Connect User Guide 12-3
Using the EPD Interface for CATIA
Limitations
Limitations
The EPD interface for CATIA has the following limitations:
• Existing CATIA assemblies can be opened in EPD.Connect and stored to the
Vault. CATIA assemblies stored in the Vault cannot be directly opened from the database. You must first retrieve ( get
) the CATIA files from the Vault to the local disk.
• Similarly, if you have a product structure (
_ps
) file that includes CATIA data, that CATIA data must exist on the local disk.
• Redundant surfaces are read and converted as independent faces.
• To use the EPD.connect interface for CATIA with EPD.Connect locally, you must disable the existing Vault support. If you want EPD.Connect to list and recognize the application interface types, but have not disabled Vault support, then the first entry in the pm
.
config must identify a Vault that is configured for the installed interfaces.
12-4 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the EPD Interface for CATIA
Working with CATIA Data in the Vault
Working with CATIA Data in the Vault
Setting Up CATIA Support on Vault
To set up CATIA support on the Vault, run the following as Vault administrator only after you have run either navinstall
or navrefresh
:
$EPD_HOME
/install/catinst
******************************************************************
* Installation Utility *
* *
*****************************************************************
Enter the user id of your Vault Administration account. name:
OK to add CATIA Application Environment to Optegra Vault [yes] :
Enter the Vault Oracle database manager userid [pdmdm] :
Enter the Vault Oracle database manager password [pdmdm] :
Checking New Tables in ORACLE Database .....
New tables already exist.
Enter the Vault Oracle database manager userid [pdmdm] :
Enter the Vault Oracle database manager password [pdmdm] :
Adding CATIA Application to Optegra Vault.
OK to install the CATIA Vault Attributes [yes] :
Enter the EDMADMIN user password [edmadmin] :
Signing on to the Vault as edmadmin..
CDMSON000I Optegra
CDMSON016I Sign on to EDM server ADBHUT completed successfully.
You have 0 EDM message(s).
Adding CATIA attributes.
CAMARL100I CONFIG_RULE_CATASSY has been added.
CAMARL100I CONFIG_OPT_RULE_CATASSY has been added.
CDMSOF017I Sign off from EDM completed successfully.
CATIA attributes added.
Optegra Interface for CATIA Installation Complete.
EPD.Connect User Guide 12-5
Using the EPD Interface for CATIA
Working with CATIA Data in the Vault
Querying Vault for CATIA Data
You can query Vault for CATIA data and transfer it between the local disk and the
Vault. CATIA data is transferred based on its application type. The EPD.Connect
Interface for CATIA and the Vault support two types of CATIA application, including:
Application Type Data File Extension Description
CATASSY
CATMODEL
.model
.model
CATIA Assembly
CATIA Model
The application type of a CATIA file is set in the Vault the first time you transfer
CATIA data to the Vault using the store
command. When you work with the
Data Browser, specify the application type in the Options dialog box by changing the contents of the
Application type
field. When you work with a product structure tree, the component you select to transfer determines the application type.
12-6 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the EPD Interface for CATIA
Working in EPD.Connect
Working in EPD.Connect
Using EPD.Connect you can execute Vault commands, view the product structure of CATIA assemblies, and display a CATIA assembly or model in the
EPD.Connect 3D Viewer or Visualizer.
EPD.Connect:
• Lists CATIA objects residing on the local disk or in the Vault
• Allows you to transfer data between the local disk and Vault
• Provides product structure browsing for assemblies
• Adds CATIA objects to product structures
Working with the Information Browser
To open a CATIA assembly in a product structure:
1.
Choose the
Structure
folder in the Information Browser.
2.
Choose
File > Open
. The Open Configuration dialog box opens.
3.
Specify the Application as
CATASSY
. The
Location
must be a local disk.
4.
Click
Query
for a list of available assemblies.
5.
Click
Open
to load the assembly.
6.
To perform Vault operations on selected objects (components), choose a Vault transfer command by choosing
Database > Vault
.
Please note: To view the product structure of a stored CATIA model, you must first retrieve the CATIA model file from the Vault and then open the assembly on your local disk into a product structure.
Working with the Data Browser
To use the Data Browser:
1.
Choose
Window > Data Browser
.
2.
Choose the Vault folder to list the objects in the Vault database.
Choose the Local folder to list the objects on the local disk.
3.
Choose
Options
. The Query Options dialog box opens.
EPD.Connect User Guide 12-7
Using the EPD Interface for CATIA
Working in EPD.Connect
4.
Choose
Application
to select one of the CATIA objects:
CATASSY
or
CATMODEL
.
5.
Click
Apply
or
OK
.
6.
Select any object from the list and choose a Vault operation by choosing
Database > Vault
.
Working with 3D Viewer and EPD.Visualizer
To load CATIA objects into the 3D Viewer or Visualizer:
1.
With a CATIA assembly active in the product structure window, select the objects (components) you want to view.
2.
Choose
Display > Load > Selected
. The selected objects’ corresponding .
gbf or
.gaf
files are created and read into 3D Viewer or Visualizer.
For more information on the 3D viewer, refer to Chapter 5, “Using the 3D
Viewer.”
Working with CATIA Assemblies or Models
To convert CATIA assemblies or models into
.gbf
or
.gaf
files:
1.
Select the objects (components) in the structure you want to convert.
2.
Select
CATASSY
files in the Data Browser.
3.
Choose
Display > Convert.
The selected objects (components) are converted into
.gbf
or
.gaf
files, according to your specification in the cvepd.ini
file.
12-8 EPD.Connect User Guide
Chapter 13
Using the EPD Interface for STEP
AP203
The EPD Interface for STEP AP203 allows you to present STEP data in
EPD.Connect. STEP is the acronym of the Standard for the Exchange of Product
Model Data, an industry-standard representation of product information. The interface for STEP AP203 currently supports STEP application level 203 (AP203).
This chapter includes the following sections:
• Overview
• Features
• Creating STEP Output
• Limitations
EPD.Connect User Guide 13-1
Using the EPD Interface for STEP AP203
Overview
Overview
The formal designation of STEP is the ISO 10303 Product Data Representation and Exchange. Vendors, suppliers, contractors, and customers can share product information across applications and platforms for the full engineering and manufacturing life cycle when they use STEP.
STEP stores files in the following standard formats:
• ISO 1030-21 — Clear Text Encoding of the Physical Exchange Structure
• ISO 10303-203 — Configuration Controlled Design, an ISO standard for transferring mechanical part data, including assembly definitions and configuration attributes
The EPD Interface for STEP AP203 reads and writes these formats. The remainder of this chapter refers to files coded in both formats as STEP files.
13-2 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the EPD Interface for STEP AP203
Features
Features
The EPD Interface for STEP AP203 allows you to:
• Display STEP folders and files.
• Open product structures that originate as STEP files.
• View a STEP file’s geometry.
• Work with STEP product structures.
• Create STEP output.
• Convert STEP files to and from CADDS format.
• Perform EPD.Connect actions on STEP files.
• Work with STEP data in the Vault.
Please note: Product structures opened in the EPD.Connect browser for
STEP assemblies are intended for viewing purposes only. Do not attempt to modify displayed structures by adding or deleting nodes.
The
File > Save
function for STEP assemblies is not supported by the
EPD.Connect interface. If you execute a
File > Save
command, no data will be written to disk. The following error message will be displayed:
Successfully saved 1 of 1
The following sections discuss the features of the EPD Interface for STEP AP203.
For additional information regarding:
• Process flow, refer to Appendix C, “Process Flow of EPD Interface
Commands”.
• Working with product structure see:
• Chapter 2, “Using the Product Structure Window.”
• Chapter 3, “Creating and Editing a Product Structure Tree.”
• Chapter 4, “Customizing the Product Structure Tree Window.”
• Querying Vault data, see Chapter 7, “Working with Vault Data.”
• Transferring Vault data, see Chapter 8, “Using CAMU in EPD.Connect.”
EPD.Connect User Guide 13-3
Using the EPD Interface for STEP AP203
Features
Displaying STEP Folders and Files
The Information Browser displays STEP folders as it does any other folders that reside on the local system. The following figure shows the STEP folders listed in the Information Browser.
STEP files may also be stored in the Vault nodes. If they are, you must first use the get command to place them in the local hierarchy before you open them. (To save them as Vault files nodes, use the appropriate Vault functionality.)
To display the contents of a STEP folder, click it. The Data Browser opens and displays the names of the STEP files that are in the folder, as shown in the following illustration.
13-4 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the EPD Interface for STEP AP203
Features
Opening Product Structures That Originate as STEP
Files
From the Data Browser, you can display a STEP file as a product structure in the
Product Structure window.
To display a STEP file’s product structure:
1.
In the Data browser, click the file.
2.
Press the right mouse button. The menu that is displayed lists the actions you can perform on the selected STEP file. The following table lists and describes these actions.
Table 13-1 Data Browser File Options
Command
Open
Open...
Refresh
Options...
Action
Displays the STEP file’s product structure.
Displays the Open Configuration dialog box. You can query for a specific file and then display its product structure.
Updates the Data Browser if its contents have changed.
Opens the Query Options dialog box.
3.
Choose either
Open...
or
Open.
You can also choose
File > Open to load the selected file’s product structure.
The STEP file’s product structure is displayed, as shown next.
EPD.Connect User Guide 13-5
Using the EPD Interface for STEP AP203
Features
Viewing a STEP File’s Geometry
From the 3D Viewer or EPD.Visualizer, you can display the three-dimensional geometry of a STEP file. With the file’s product structure active:
1.
Launch the 3D Viewer by choosing
Tools > 3D Viewer
or launch the
EPD.Visualizer by choosing
Tools > EPD.Visualizer
.
2.
Choose
Display > Load> All
.
Working with STEP Product Structures
You can combine STEP file product structures and components as you would any other product structures and components.
13-6 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the EPD Interface for STEP AP203
Creating STEP Output
Creating STEP Output
To save all or part of a STEP product structure as another STEP file and with the product structure active:
1.
Choose
File > Export.
The Export Structure dialog box opens.
2.
In the
Name
field, enter the name of the exported file.
3.
In the
Export to
field, choose STEP.
4.
For
Directory
, click
Create
and enter the directory.
5.
For
Overwrite
, click
Yes
.
6.
For
Nodes
, click
All
or
Selected
. To save the entire tree, click
All.
Otherwise
, select the components you want to save and click
Selected
.
7.
For
Options
, click the type of data to export:
•
Structure and CM-Attributes on ly — A STEP file is created containing only product structure and attributes, compliant with Conformance Class 1 of STEP AP203.
•
All AP 203 da ta — A STEP file is created containing product structure, attributes, and geometry.
Saving all AP 203 data can be time-consuming if the structure’s geometry is complex.
EPD.Connect User Guide 13-7
Using the EPD Interface for STEP AP203
Creating STEP Output
•
Include Geometry for highlighted nodes only —
A STEP file is created that contains product structure, attributes, and the geometry of highlighted components.
This option may save time if the structure’s geometry is complex and you want to convert only certain nodes.
You cannot save multiple, independent components or subassemblies to one STEP file. The following methods are useful when you save a product structure:
• Add the corresponding trace links by choosing
View > Link > Selected to automatically select the required trace links.
• Copy the chosen components to a new structure and save it as a STEP file.
Converting STEP Files to and from CADDS
If the EPD.Connect CADDS translator is installed you can convert STEP files to and from CADDS files.
Please note: The CADDS/STEP translator is sold and installed separately.
Converting STEP Files to CADDS Files
To convert a STEP file to a CADDS file, with the STEP file’s product structure active:
1.
Choose
File > Export.
The Export Structure dialog box opens.
2.
In the
Name
field, enter the name of the exported file.
13-8 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the EPD Interface for STEP AP203
Creating STEP Output
3.
In the
Export to
field, choose
CADDS
.
4.
For
Directory
, click
Create
and enter the name of the directory.
5.
For
Overwrite
, click
Yes
.
6.
For
Nodes
, click
All
or
Selected
. To save the entire tree, click
All
.
Otherwise, select the components you want to save and click
Selected
.
7.
For
Options
, click the type of data to export:
•
Structure and CM-Attributes only
— Only the product structure file is created. Component nodes are converted to the item type “CADDS.” No geometry is converted.
•
All AP 203 data
— Geometry information in STEP is processed into
CADDS native format. A product structure file is created, whose component nodes are of the item type “CADDS.” Each node is associated with a newly created CADDS file.
Saving all AP 203 data can be time-consuming if the structure’s geometry is complex.
•
CADDS Conversion for highlighted nodes only —
The selected product structure is processed, but geometry is converted to CADDS native format only for highlighted nodes.
This option may save time if the structure’s geometry is complex and you want to convert only certain nodes.
You cannot save multiple, independent components or subassemblies to one
CADDS file. The following methods are useful when you save a product structure:
• Add the corresponding trace links by choosing
View > Link > Selected
to automatically select the required trace links.
• Copy the chosen components to a new structure and save it as a STEP file.
EPD.Connect User Guide 13-9
Using the EPD Interface for STEP AP203
Creating STEP Output
Converting CADDS Files to STEP Files
To convert a CADDS file to a STEP file with the CADDS file’s product structure active:
1.
Choose
File > Export.
The Export Structure dialog box opens.
13-10
2.
In the
Name
field, enter the name of the exported file.
3.
In the
Export to
field, choose STEP.
4.
For
Directory
, click
Create
.
5.
For
Overwrite
, click
Yes
.
6.
For
Nodes
, click
All
or
Selected
. To save the entire tree, click
All.
Otherwise
, select the components you want to save and click
Selected
.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the EPD Interface for STEP AP203
Creating STEP Output
7.
For
Options
, click the type of data to export:
•
Structure and CM-Attributes only
— A STEP file is created containing only product structure and attributes, compliant with Conformance Class 1 of STEP AP203.
•
All AP 203 data
— A STEP file is created containing product structure, attributes, and geometry.
Saving all AP 203 data can be time-consuming if the structure’s geometry is complex.
•
Include Geometry for highlighted nodes only
— A STEP file is created that contains product structure, attributes, and the geometry of highlighted components.
This option may save time if the structure’s geometry is complex and you want to convert only certain nodes.
You cannot save multiple, independent components or subassemblies to one STEP file. The following methods are useful when you save a product structure:
• Add the corresponding trace links by choosing
View > Link > Selected
to automatically select the required trace links.
• Copy the chosen components to a new structure and save it as a STEP file.
Converting STEP Files to CAMU Assemblies
To convert a STEP file displayed in the Product Structure window into a CAMU assembly:
1.
Export the product structure to CADDS format, as described in Converting
STEP Files to CADDS Files.
2.
Close the active STEP configuration.
3.
Open the file specified in step 1 by choosing
File > Open
or by using the Data
Browser to locate the structure file.
4.
Choose
File > Save as > CAMU
.
A CAMU file results from the above operation.
EPD.Connect User Guide 13-11
Using the EPD Interface for STEP AP203
Creating STEP Output
Performing EPD.Connect Actions on STEP Files
Once a STEP file is read into EPD.Connect, normal EPD.Connect functions such as zoning and clash detection, apply. The following sections briefly describe some available functions.
Reviewing STEP File Attributes and Component Status
To review a STEP file’s attributes:
1.
With the STEP file’s product structure active, in the toolbar at the bottom of the
Product Structure window, click the icon.
2.
Choose
File > Properties
.
The Item Properties dialog box opens. For more information of this dialog box, refer to “Using the Product Structure Window” on page 2-3.
Generating Reports
You can generate reports about STEP files displayed in the Product Structure
Window as you would generate reports about any product structure file. For more information on reports, refer to “Printing and Displaying Reports” on page 2-39.
For a status report on any selected component or set of components of a STEP file:
1.
With its product structure active, select the component.
2.
Choose
Window > Component Status.
The Component Status Report dialog box opens. For more information, refer to
“Component Status” on page 2-31.
Working with STEP Data in the Vault
You can query STEP data stored in the Vault and transfer it between your local disk and the Vault. STEP files are stored as application type STEP in the Vault.
For details about querying and transferring Vault data, refer to Chapter 7,
“Working with Vault Data.”
13-12 EPD.Connect User Guide
Using the EPD Interface for STEP AP203
Limitations
Limitations
To use the EPD interface for STEP AP203 with EPD.Connect locally, you must disable the existing Vault support. If you want EPD.Connect to list and recognize the application interface types, but have not disabled Vault support, then the first entry in the pm
.
config
must identify a Vault that is configured for the installed interfaces.
EPD.Connect User Guide 13-13
Chapter 14
Working with AEC Application
Objects in EPD.Connect
The EPD interface for the AEC applications, allows you to work with AEC application objects in EPD.Connect.
This chapter discusses the following topics:
• Overview
• Features
• Limitations
• Working with Application Objects in the Product Structure Window
• Working with 3D Viewer
• Working with EPD.Visualizer
• Setting up AEC Support for EPD.Connect
• Correlating AEC Objects with Visualization Applications
• Generating Reference Nodes for Application Objects
• Using aec2ps on a CADDS Model
EPD.Connect User Guide 14-1
Working with AEC Application Objects in EPD.Connect
Overview
Overview
The EPD.Connect interface for the AEC applications allows you to:
• Explore and view the CADDS application objects in the Product Structure window of EPD.Connect.
• Extract the hierarchy and attributes of the explored model from the AEC external database.
• Display the hierarchy of the application objects in EPD.Connect.
• Execute the EPD.Connect commands on the explored structure in the READ
ONLY mode.
• Create reports based on the extracted product structure.
• Interact with Visualization applications at the application object level. This process is bidirectional.
14-2 EPD.Connect User Guide
Working with AEC Application Objects in EPD.Connect
Features
Features
The EPD.Connect interface for accessing the AEC applications enables you to:
• Construct the hierarchy information for the application objects within a given
CADDS model by interacting with the AEC database.
• Extract relevant attributes from the AEC database. This is presented in
EPD.Connect in a customized manner.
• Identify the application objects in EPD.Connect as well as the Visualization applications like Visualizer and 3D Viewer.
• Bidirectionally interact with the application objects.
EPD.Connect User Guide 14-3
Working with AEC Application Objects in EPD.Connect
Limitations
Limitations
The EPD interface for accessing the AEC applications has the following limitations:
• Any changes made to the hierarchy and attributes of the application objects within EPD.Connect are not reflected in the AEC RDBMS.
• Visualization applications such as Pro/FLY-THROUGH and dVise are not supported.
• The explored model displayed in EPD.Connect is static. Any subsequent changes made to the AEC database are not dynamically reflected in
EPD.Connect. You must explore the database again to reflect the changes.
• The hierarchy must originate from a CADDS model.
14-4 EPD.Connect User Guide
Working with AEC Application Objects in EPD.Connect
Working with Application Objects in the Product Structure Window
Working with Application Objects in the Product
Structure Window
To explore a model and display the hierarchy of its application objects:
1.
Start EPD.Connect.
2.
Open the product structure of the selected CADDS model.
3.
Click on the required nodes of the CADDS model in the Product Structure window.
4.
Click the right mouse button and choose
Explore Object from the pop-up menu to explore the model and display the hierarchy and attributes of the application objects.
OR
Choose
File > Explore Object to explore the model. The explored model appears with a different color. Refer to “CA_AEC_CUSTOM_COLOR=2” on page 14-16 for details.
5.
Click the right mouse button and choose
Close Object
to remove the explored model from the Product Structure window.
OR
Choose
File > Close Object to close the explored model
.
EPD.Connect User Guide 14-5
Working with AEC Application Objects in EPD.Connect
Working with Application Objects in the Product Structure Window
Figure 14-1 Explored Model in the Product Structure window
14-6
Notes
• If more than one Product Structure window with the product structure components is open, the Exploring and Closing operations work only on the active product structure.
• The
File > Save
option for the explored nodes is blocked in EPD.Connect. If you execute the
File > Save
command, no data about the explored objects is written to the disk. Use the
File > Save as
command to save the PS tree along with the application objects.
• After exploring the product structure, all the relevant AEC application objects are listed. These include some entities that are not a part of the visualization database. The Display menu operations on such objects will have no effect on the visualization applications.
Please note: The display menu options can be used for objects that are present both in the AEC as well as the visualization database.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Working with AEC Application Objects in EPD.Connect
Working with 3D Viewer
Working with 3D Viewer
To display the hierarchy of the application objects using a 3D Viewer:
1.
Start EPD.Connect.
2.
Select the CADDS model in the Product Structure window and explore it as explained in “Working with Application Objects in the Product Structure
Window” on page 14-5.
3.
Choose
Tools>3D Viewer
from the EPD.Connect menu bar.
4.
View the model in the 3D Viewer.
5.
Click the icon for selecting masks, in the 3D Viewer window.
6.
Choose the
Graphics File
option to select the required CADDS component in the 3D Viewer. The associated CADDS component can be selected and scrolled in the product structure window.
7.
Choose the
Item option to select a required application object in the 3D Viewer.
The associated application objects can be selected and scrolled in the product structure window.
EPD.Connect User Guide 14-7
Working with AEC Application Objects in EPD.Connect
Working with EPD.Visualizer
Working with EPD.Visualizer
To display the hierarchy of the application objects using Visualizer:
1.
Start EPD.Connect.
2.
Select the CADDS model in the Product Structure window and explore it as explained in “Working with Application Objects in the Product Structure
Window” on page 14-5.
3.
Choose
Tools > 3D Viewer
from the EPD.Connect menu bar.
4.
View the model in the Visualizer.
5.
Choose
Select > Selection Masks
. The following menu appears:
14-8
• Choose the
Graphics File
option to select the required CADDS component in the Visualizer window. This is the default option. You can perform the following Visualization operations on the associated CADDS component:
• Select
• Scroll to
• Select and Scroll to
• Deselect
• Deselect all
• Select Selected
• Highlight Selected
• Highlight Interferencing
For details of the above options refer to the EPD.Visualizer User Guide.
• Choose the
Item
option to select the required application object in the
Visualizer window. The operations mentioned above can be performed on the associated application objects.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Working with AEC Application Objects in EPD.Connect
Working with EPD.Visualizer
Detecting Clashes
To detect clashes of the application objects using the Visualizer:
1.
Select the CADDS model in the Product Structure window and explore the application objects.
2.
Choose
Interference > Control
from the EPD.Visualizer window to set up the interference checking session. The Interference Checking Control window opens.
3.
Choose the
Highlight in Navigator
option to highlight the application objects that are clashing in EPD.Connect.
Please note: When you set the environment variable
PVS_SHOW_ZONE
in
$EPD_HOME/data/reposit/explorer.ini
and choose the
Highlight in
Navigator
option, all of the application objects that are not completely within the boundaries of the zone and that do not clash with the zone boundaries are hidden.
EPD.Connect User Guide 14-9
Working with AEC Application Objects in EPD.Connect
Setting up AEC Support for EPD.Connect
Setting up AEC Support for EPD.Connect
To extract the AEC attributes to EPD.Connect, a specific setup is required on the
AEC servers that are connected to EPD.Connect.
The setup involves running the inst_prop_filt.pl
script on the AEC server.
This script uses the aec2ps_propdef.ini
file as the input file. The data in this file is added to the AEC_PROPERTY_DICTIONARY_TBL or any other equivalent AEC table that is used. The entries in the
AEC_PROPERTY_DICTIONARY_TBL or the selected AEC table are used to filter the attributes extracted to EPD.Connect globally.
You can use any file as an input file that matches the format listed in the aec2ps_propdef.ini
file. The default file will export all the attributes for the
Piping application objects.
14-10 EPD.Connect User Guide
Working with AEC Application Objects in EPD.Connect
Correlating AEC Objects with Visualization Applications
Correlating AEC Objects with Visualization
Applications
The EPD interface for the AEC application objects uses the both the partid of the
CADDS part and the CADDSUID of the objects within the CADDS part to uniquely identify the application objects in EPD.Connect, Visualizer, and 3D
Viewer.
The partid of the CADDS part is set using the SELECT and LINK ADBMS commands of CADDS. In case you want to keep the CADDS session alive while working with this interface, use the FILE PART command after running the LINK
ADBMS command. This ensures that the partid matches for the AEC database and the Visualization database.
EPD.Connect User Guide 14-11
Working with AEC Application Objects in EPD.Connect
Generating Reference Nodes for Application Objects
Generating Reference Nodes for Application
Objects
You can use reference nodes to display relationships between the various application objects that are not a part of the hierarchical model being used for generating the product structure tree. For example, consider a weld that refers to two plates. These two plates can be treated as reference nodes of the weld. These plates will also be a part of the product structure tree under the generic name
‘plate’.
Working with ASM Objects
You can display reference relationships between the ASM application objects in the product structure hierarchy using the AEC_LINK_TBL. You can see the reference nodes as child nodes along with the object type based hierarchy. The reference nodes will be displayed twice on the tree. These nodes are distinguished from the main nodes by a suffix that can be customized.
Working with AEC Cable Objects
You can generate references for AEC cable objects that are related to each other beyond the hierarchical relationships that are displayed. The principle of classifying the reference nodes is the same as the principle used for ASM.
Generating Reports for Reference Nodes
You can generate reports for the selected application object by using the report
“List AEC References.”
To activate this report, copy the file ca_menu1.men
, located in
$EPD_HOME/data/aec2ps/custmenu/$LANG
, to
$EPD_HOME/data/custmenu/$LANG before invoking EPD.Connect. Explore the AEC part as discussed in the earlier sections. Select the required application object and choose
Reports > List AEC References
to generate the report.
Please note: Currently, the above feature is available only for AEC cable objects.
14-12 EPD.Connect User Guide
Working with AEC Application Objects in EPD.Connect
Using aec2ps on a CADDS Model
Using aec2ps on a CADDS Model
When you explore a CADDS model in EPD.Connect, the hierarchy and attributes of the application objects are extracted from the AEC database. This is done using the program aec2ps
.
aec2ps.ini
The following settings in the aec2ps.ini
are used by the EPD Interface to the
AEC applications:
•
AEC2PS_ATTR_FILT =
$EPD_HOME/data/aec2ps/reposit/aecattr.ini
The location of the file where the attribute filter settings are made. You can control the attribute visibility and the attribute name using this file. This file determines the following:
• The column name selected in the AEC table is equivalent to the attribute name that is displayed in EPD.Connect. For example,
UID_3D = Element ID
• The usage of # in the first column of any entry identifies it as a comment.
• The application filters any column that does not appear in this file.
•
DBMS_HOST = xxxx dbmsnetd = xxxxx
ORACLE_SID = xxxx
The settings used by aec2ps
for connecting to the external database.
DBMS_HOST
specifies the name of the host running the DBMS process. The setting of the variable
DBMS_HOST
depends on the following:
• If the
.caddsrc-local
file is present in the directory from which
EPD.Connect is started, or is present in your home directory, and the
DBMS_HOST
variable is set in this file, the
DBMS_HOST
setting is used.
• If you have installed CADDS on the system running EPD.Connect, the script located in
/usr/apl/cadds/scripts/templates/.caddsrc
has a hardcoded
DBMS_HOST setting to the local system. In case you want to use the DBMS process running on another system, remove the existing setting or set it to the system running the DBMS process.
The setting in 1 will always override this setting.
• The current working environment may have a variable set, which will be used in the absence of the preceding two settings.
EPD.Connect User Guide 14-13
Working with AEC Application Objects in EPD.Connect
Using aec2ps on a CADDS Model
• This variable can also be set in
$
EPD_HOME/data/aec2ps/reposit/aec2ps.ini
. This setting is used in the absence of any of the preceding settings.
The value specified for dbmsnetd
is the port number used by the DBMS for communication purposes. This value can be extracted from the
/etc/rpc file located on the host running the DBMS process.
ORACLE_SID
specifies the instance of Oracle on the host running the DBMS application that will be connected to.
•
AEC2PS_USER = xxxx
User ID for accessing the AEC database.
•
AEC2PS_PASSWORD = xxxx
The scrambled user password for accessing the AEC database. Can be generated using the executable scramexe
located in
$EPD_HOME/bin directory.
•
AEC2PS_ATTRNAME_MODE = x
The settings made to customize the exported attribute names. The following values can be assigned to this variable:
1
2
This is the default value. It uses the column names in the AEC database as attribute names.
This setting extracts the attribute name from the
AEC2PS_ATTR_FILT
file.
3 This uses a concatenated value of the fields
AEC_PROP_PROPNAME and AEC_PROP_SEQUENCE, of the
AEC property dictionary table. This setting results in the uniformity of attribute names across all the installations.
Any other value other than the above mentioned values is assigned the default value 1.
•
AEC2PS_PIPING_ELEM_TEXT = ‘$ELT_NAME’
AEC2PS_HVAC_ELEM_TEXT = ‘$ELT_NAME’
AEC2PS_CABLE-TEXT =
AEC2PS_SEG_TEXT =
AEC2PS_NODE_TEXT =
AEC2PS_DEVICE_TEXT =
AEC2PS_SUPPORT_TEXT =
AEC2PS_PLATE_TEXT =
AEC2PS_STIFFNER_TEXT =
AEC2PS_WELD_TEXT =
AEC2PS_FLANGE_TEXT =
14-14 EPD.Connect User Guide
Working with AEC Application Objects in EPD.Connect
Using aec2ps on a CADDS Model
AEC2PS_GENERIC_TEXT
AEC2PS_BRACKET_TEXT
=
=
AEC2PS_COLLAR_TEXT =
AEC2PS_FLANGED_PLATE_TEXT =
AEC2PS_FOLDED_FLANGE_TEXT =
AEC2PS_WELDED_FLANGE_TEXT =
The settings that determine the customized class names for the various classes of nodes. The ‘$’ sign is prefixed to all the attribute names. The attribute values can be separated by a single character of your choice. Use quotes (‘) with the values that are prefixed by the ‘$’ sign.
•
AEC2PS_INDENT_PREFIX = 1
The setting for enabling or disabling the object-name specific prefix for the class names. The default value is 1, which enables the prefix-identifier setting.
The value 0 disables the setting.
•
AEC2PS_REF_SUFFIX = Ref
The setting for choosing the suffix that is to be appended to the class name of the reference nodes.
•
AEC2PS_LOGFILE = $EPD_TEMP/aec2ps.log
The name of the file where the log messages are written, when
AEC2PS_DEBUG is set to ON.
•
AEC2PS2NAV = $EPD_TEMP/aec2ps2nav
The name of the file that communicates with EPD.Connect and displays error messages.
•
AEC2PS_SIGNAL_ENABLED = 0
The setting for extracting the signal attribute for cables. The default value is 0 which disables this setting.
•
AEC2PS_SEG_CLASS_ENABLED = 0
The setting for extracting the segment class for segments. The default value is 0, which disables this setting.
•
AEC2PS_DISPLAY_SUPPORTS = 0
The setting for displaying support as a part of the main tree. The default value is
0, which disables this setting.
•
AEC2PS_ASM_ADD_REF = 0
AEC2PS_CABLING_ADD_REF = 0
The setting for adding duplicate reference nodes to the trees for ASM and
Cabling objects. Set the value to 1 to add duplicate nodes. The default value is
0, which disables the above setting.
EPD.Connect User Guide 14-15
Working with AEC Application Objects in EPD.Connect
Using aec2ps on a CADDS Model
• AEC2PS_REV_SEPERATOR = -
The setting that determines the separator character for the name and the revision. A single character must be given as a separator.
•
CA_NODE_EXP_COLOR = 5
The indicator color on the explored nodes can be changed by setting appropriate values. The default value is 5.
•
AEC2PS_DEBUG = OFF
The setting for displaying the log messages in the DEBUG mode. The default value is
OFF
.
•
AEC2PS_EXPLORE_OTHERNODES = 1
The setting for displaying the phantom nodes of the application objects that have no database support under the parent node. The GBF files for such nodes should be generated prior to exploring the nodes of the product structure. If the
GBF file is absent, the system displays a warning message and all the objects with database support are displayed.
Apart from the above variables, set appropriate values to the following variables in the epdconn.ini
file.
•
CA_AEC_CUSTOM_COLOR=2
The color of the AEC nodes can be changed by setting the appropriate values.
The default value is 2.
•
CA_AEC_OBJECTID=objectid
The reserved objectid
can be customized by setting appropriate values to this variable. The default value is “ objectid
”.
14-16 EPD.Connect User Guide
Appendix A
Interacting with CAMU from
EPD.Connect - An Alternate
Approach
This appendix explains the single tree feature that is available in EPD.Connect.
• Overview
• Features
• Generating and Activating a Single DB
• Reading Orientations from CAMU
• Limitations and Restrictions
EPD.Connect User Guide A-1
Interacting with CAMU from EPD.Connect - An Alternate Approach
Overview
Overview
The single tree approach allows an organization to manage its product information in single sets of structured trees based on PS files, rather than maintaining a separate subset specifically for working with CAMU.
The DB file format used in the NAV/CAMU mode does not allow you to store non-CADDS data. However, you can use the PS file format to store both the
CADDS as well as the non-CADDS data. Hence, in cases where you have to store data both in the PS file format as well as the DB file format, the synchronization of data becomes difficult. The single tree feature resolves this problem to a certain extent by allowing you to store data only in the PS file format, which enables you to modify only the orientations in CAMU.
The working process in the CAMU environment becomes much simpler and easier because the CAMU session uses a single DB that is generated from a product structure having multiple subassemblies (PS files).
The following table compares the existing NAV/CAMU features to the single tree features.
Single Tree
Allows only a limited interaction between EPD.Connect and CAMU.
Does not allow multiple users to work on the single CAMU database
Allows you to work on the single-DB temporarily.
Recommended only for mature and stable product structures that would not be subjected to many changes.
NAV/CAMU
Allows complete interoperability between EPD.Connect
and CAMU
Supports concurrency
Allows you to save the changes permanently
Can be used from the conceptual phase until the design phase
Notes
• Do not use this feature unless the existing NAV/CAMU options cannot fulfill your requirements.
• You cannot use the CADDS session that is started for the single tree generation for the NAV/CAMU operations.
A-2 EPD.Connect User Guide
Interacting with CAMU from EPD.Connect - An Alternate Approach
Features
Features
The single tree generation for the product data has the following features:
• The currently active product structure in EPD.Connect is used for generating the single DB in CAMU.
• All visible nodes of the product structure are considered for the single-DB generation.
• Hidden nodes are ignored during the single-DB generation.
• Components in the single DB are displayed in the same order as they are displayed in the Product Structure window.
• The revision of the model remains the same in both the PS tree and the single
DB.
• The single-DB that is activated in CADDS/CAMU is closed automatically when the corresponding tree is closed in the Product Structure window.
• If the product structure is not active in EPD.Connect or the single DB is not active in CAMU, the orientation changes are not reflected in EPD.Connect.
• The orientation changes are reflected only for those nodes that are present in the active product structure while generating the single DB.
• The orientation changes are not reflected for those nodes that are added or deleted from the active product structure after generating the single DB.
EPD.Connect User Guide A-3
Interacting with CAMU from EPD.Connect - An Alternate Approach
Generating and Activating a Single DB
Generating and Activating a Single DB
To generate and activate a single DB file:
1.
Set the
ENABLE_SINGLE_TREE
variable in the epdconn
.
ini
file to 1.
2.
Start EPD.Connect.
3.
Open or create the required product structure.
A-4 EPD.Connect User Guide
Interacting with CAMU from EPD.Connect - An Alternate Approach
Generating and Activating a Single DB
4.
Choose
Tools > Generate and Activate Single DB
from the EPD.Connect
menu bar to activate the single DB file in the CADDS/CAMU structure mode.
For example, if you create or open a product structure with the reference nodes of the parent assembly expanded, as shown in the following figure, all of the nodes of the assembly are considered for generating the single DB file in CAMU. This is shown in Figure A-1.
EPD.Connect User Guide A-5
Interacting with CAMU from EPD.Connect - An Alternate Approach
Generating and Activating a Single DB
Figure A-1 Single DB Activated in CAMU
A-6 EPD.Connect User Guide
Interacting with CAMU from EPD.Connect - An Alternate Approach
Reading Orientations from CAMU
Reading Orientations from CAMU
To read the orientations from CAMU and reflect them in EPD.Connect:
1.
Activate the single DB as explained in the previous section.
2.
Change the orientations of the components in the assembly as required in
CADDS/CAMU.
3.
Choose
Tools > Read Orientations from CAMU
to display the product structure in EPD.Connect. The nodes that have changed orientations are highlighted in the window.
Please note: To save the active DB file automatically in CAMU, assign the value 1 to the
AUTO_FILE_ASSY
variable in the epdconn
.
ini
file. The default value is 0, where the orientation changes made in CAMU must be saved manually before you read the orientation in the Product Structure window.
4.
The Report Viewer window displays the information for the nodes for which the orientations have changed.
EPD.Connect User Guide A-7
Interacting with CAMU from EPD.Connect - An Alternate Approach
Reading Orientations from CAMU
5.
Choose
File > Save
to save the orientation changes made to the product structure in the local disk.
Please note: If you have changed the product structure after generating the single-DB while working in the CAMU environment, EPD.Connect displays a message before reflecting the orientation in the active product structure. If you choose to continue, the orientation of all the nodes that existed previously is overwritten.
A-8 EPD.Connect User Guide
Interacting with CAMU from EPD.Connect - An Alternate Approach
Limitations and Restrictions
Limitations and Restrictions
The single-tree generation and activation has the following limitations:
• This feature is valid only for the structure mode.
• An appropriate variable setting is required before starting the EPD.Connect
session to enable this feature.
• If you start CADDS/CAMU in any other mode and then switch to the structure mode, this feature is disabled.
• The single-tree feature is available only in the Explicit mode of CAMU and not in the Parametric mode.
• The single DB that is generated is created temporarily in CAMU and cannot be saved permanently.
• An assembly is activated only if CADDS/CAMU is running and is started from
EPD.Connect.
• Only the orientation changes of the components are reflected in the Product
Structure window of EPD.Connect.
• Only a single user is allowed to work on the single DB that is currently active in
CAMU.
EPD.Connect User Guide A-9
Appendix B
Options for System
Administrators
This appendix explains options available to administer aspects of the system when
EPD.Connect is linked to a Vault. These options are only available when you are signed on to the Vault.
• Creating Environments for Applications
• Defining Applications
• Setting Application Project Relationships
• Switching the DOD
• Setting Interface Preferences for Users
Please note: For more information on customizing the EPD.Connect
environment, see Customizing EPD.Connect.
EPD.Connect User Guide B-1
Options for System Administrators
Creating Environments for Applications
Creating Environments for Applications
You can create application-specific environments or change or delete existing ones. Application environments are used to specify where files are transferred to when accessed from the Vault for read or write access. For the standard product structure, CAMU and CADDS applications, the CADDS rulebase is utilized. All these applications are, therefore, defined with the
Rulebase
toggle set to
Yes
.
When a node is displayed in the Product Structure window, if its associated document has an application type that is defined as 'structural', the node will appear as a reference. EPD.Connect will then allow this node to be opened to display its structure. When the name of an associated document is requested by
EPD.Connect, the
Case
of the document name is also controlled by this
Application Environment window. Setting
Case
to
Upper
, in fact, performs
UNIX to CGOS translation.
You also use the Application Environment window to specify the name of the
Oracle tables to be queried to obtain information about these files. Typically, these should be
CA_FILE_DIRECTORY
and
CA_FILE ATTRIBUTES
for files. If the application is collection of a number of files to form a part within the Vault, then the
CA_PART_DIRECTORY
and
CA_PARTATTRIBUTES
must be queried. If other
Oracle tables are used, these must have the same structure as the standard tables.
Select
Admin > Appl Environment to open the Application Environment window.
B-2 EPD.Connect User Guide
Options for System Administrators
Creating Environments for Applications
To create a new application environment, follow these steps:
1.
Since most application parameters are similar to those of other applications, it is suggested that you populate the fields on the screen with values specified for another application. Select one whose characteristics are similar to the one you are creating (or the application you are updating) from the list.
2.
In
Application
, specify the type of application or select one from the list.
3.
In
Description
, enter a descriptive phrase for the application.
4.
In
Create Directory
, specify the path where files are to be transferred for modification. This may be either the exact directory path or an environment variable setting. The first character of environment variable is always $. Paths and variables cannot be mixed.
5.
In
Read Directory
, specify the location where files will be located when retrieved for read operations. This may be either the exact directory path or an environment variable setting. The first character of environment variable is always
$
. Paths and variables cannot be mixed.
6.
In
ViewName
, specify either
CA_FILE_DIRECTORY
,
CA_PART_DIRECTORY or the name of an Oracle table with a similar definition.
7.
In
AM ViewName
, specify either
CA_FILEATTRIBUTES
or
CA_PARTATTRIBUTES
or the name of an Oracle table with a similar definition.
8.
For
Rulebase
select an option:
Option
Yes
No
Condition for Selecting Option
If EPD.Connect must resort to an external rulebase (binary file) to interpret the application data. This is the case for all new applications. EPD.Connect only recognizes rulebases for PS, CADDS and CAMU files.
If EPD.Connect recognizes the rulebase used to interpret application data. This is the case for PS, CADDS and CAMU.
9.
For
Structure
select an option:
Option
Yes
No
Condition for Selecting Option
If the application files are linked in a hierarchical structure. If they are, you must provide a binary file that defines the structure. For example, CAMU parts are structures.
If the application files are not linked in a hierarchical structure. For example, CADDS files are not structures.
10.
For Part select an option:
Option
Yes
No
Condition for Selecting Option
If the application files are to be stored as a part in the Vault.
If only a single file is to be stored.
EPD.Connect User Guide B-3
Options for System Administrators
Creating Environments for Applications
11.
Case
file names are specified in:
•
Upper
— Uppercase characters.
•
Mixed
— Both uppercase and lowercase characters.
•
Lower
— Lowercase characters.
12.
Click
Apply
to apply the application environment modifications.
B-4 EPD.Connect User Guide
Options for System Administrators
Defining Applications
Defining Applications
In the Vault, each file or part has five standard attributes associated with it. They are:
•
DESCRIPTION
•
GT_CODE
•
PART_NUMBER
•
SYSTEM_TYPE
•
USER_TYPE
Please note: The above attributes are not case-sensitive. For example,
Description
attribute is the same as
DESCRIPTION
attribute.
It may also have additional customized attributes. The Application Definition window lets you specify different presentations and behaviors for these attributes for each application type. You can use these attributes to control the following behaviors:
• The label used to prompt for the attribute
• The size of the text field
• The default value required
• The case of the text field
• Whether the attribute value can be changed or not
• Whether the attribute is displayed
These behaviors are applied to all the windows that display the attributes or allow for their modification, such as the Data Browser, Component Status, Store, and so forth.
EPD.Connect User Guide B-5
Options for System Administrators
Defining Applications
Perform the following steps to edit application definition attributes:
1.
Select
Admin > Appl Definition
.
B-6
2.
Select an
Option to
Add, Change or Delete
standard Vault attributes for an application.
3.
Select one of the
Applications
from the list.
4.
Select one of the five standard
Attributes
from the list.
5.
Specify a
Label
for the attribute.
6.
Specify the
Size
of the attribute. The maximum size for each attribute is:
Attribute
User Type
System Type
Part Number
Description
GT Code
Maximum Size
8
8
20
25
32
EPD.Connect User Guide
Options for System Administrators
Defining Applications
7.
Specify a
Default Value
. The default is no default value.
8.
Specify whether the
Case
is
Upper
or
Mixed
. The default is
Mixed
.
9.
Specify whether the attribute is
Read-only
or not. The default is
No
.
10.
In
Visible
, specify whether the attribute is to be displayed or not. The Default is
Yes
.
11.
Click
Apply
to add, change or delete the attribute definition.
EPD.Connect User Guide B-7
Options for System Administrators
Setting Application Project Relationships
Setting Application Project Relationships
Select
Admin > Appl Project to control the Vault in which an application’s data is stored in and the Vault displayed by default. This control is only enforced in the
Store and Copy windows.
1.
Select
Admin > Appl Project
to add, change or delete Application or Project relationships.
2.
Select
Option
to add, change or delete an Application/Project relationship. If you select
Change
or
Delete
, select an existing association from the list.
3.
Select one of the
Applications
from the list.
4.
Select a
Project to associate to the
Application
. If no relationships exist for the application, the
Project
list will contain all the Vaults that the user has write access to.
5.
In
Default
, specify whether the project is to be the default project for the application.
6.
Click
Apply
to add, change or delete the attribute definition.
B-8 EPD.Connect User Guide
Options for System Administrators
Switching the DOD
Switching the DOD
In a Distributed Vault environment, where multiple Distributed Object Directories
(DOD) are configured for a particular Vault, you can dynamically switch to another DOD when the designated primary DOD is inaccessible.
A DOD switch is checked for and executed only on the Vaults specified in the
ANSPATH
variable for the current EPD.Connect session.
Please note: Make sure that the file specified by the
ANSPATH
variable contains:
• A list of all the primary and secondary DODs for a given Vault for each
EPD.Connect client before you start EPD.Connect.
• A list of all the Vaults in the Optegra network that use the same DOD configuration.
When EPD.Connect starts, it checks whether the Vaults specified in the
ANSPATH are online. Therefore, many entries in the
ANSPATH
variable would delay the
EPD.Connect startup.
Switch a DOD when:
• The Vault is from an Optegra Network.
• The Vault is configured to its original, default primary DOD.
• The new primary DOD is configured as an alternative DOD for a Vault.
• The Vault database authentication parameters for
EDM_DM_USER
,
EDM_DM_PASSWD
are the same as the signed on Vault.
EPD.Connect User Guide B-9
Options for System Administrators
Switching the DOD
Making the Switch
To switch the DOD, select
Admin > Switch DOD
. The Switch DOD dialog box opens.
B-10
The name of the Vault that you are signed on to is displayed in the
Vault field. You cannot modify this field.
In the
DOD
field, click the adjacent icon to see the list of DODs available. In the list, along with the name of the DOD, its distance from the site is also displayed to help you choose the DOD closest to you.
To switch to the new DOD, click
OK
.
Please note: For information on how users are informed of a switch in the
DOD, refer to “Refreshing the DOD” on page 7-14.
EPD.Connect User Guide
Options for System Administrators
Setting Interface Preferences for Users
Setting Interface Preferences for Users
A number of EPD.Connect options can be controlled by GUI Preferences. These settings may apply to all users, specific users, lists of users in a command list or workstations. An option is controlled by setting parameters that enable, disable or set limits to it.
1.
Select
Admin > GUI Preferences
to add, change or delete graphical interface parameters.
2.
Select
Option
to add, change or delete a parameter. If you select change or delete, select an existing parameter from the list. You can select
Query
to re-query the GUI Preferences list from the database.
EPD.Connect User Guide B-11
Options for System Administrators
Setting Interface Preferences for Users
EDM_PRIVATE
EDM_PROJECT
EDM_PUBLIC
3.
Select one of the
Parameters from the list. The meaning of each parameter and its possible values are:
Parameter
CA_ADRAWS_IN_REVIEW
CA_GUI_REVISION
CA_GUI_VERSION
CA_REQRV_PREFIX
DEFERRED_REQUESTS
BATCH_CONCURRENCY
MIN_NO_WILD_CHARS
MULTI_DOMAIN_EDM
QUERY_ACCESS_ONLY
Description
Specifies that Adrawings can be sent for review along with other Vault items.
By default this parameter is enabled.
The revision of EPD.Connect which is valid to connect to the Vault.
The version of EPD.Connect which is valid to connect to the Vault. This is set when working with the CA
Programmatic Interface.
Specifies the default prefix of a fileset created when multiple objects are sent for review. The prefix should be a maximum of 8 characters. Default value is
MOBJREQRV
.This setting overrides the client setting in the epdconn.ini
file.
Specifies the Deferred File Transfer options available from the Database
Defaults window.
Specifies the maximum number of batch transactions that can be processed simultaneously.
Value
Enabled/Disabled
A regular expression
STANDARD
Alphanumeric
Enabled/Disabled
Integer
Specifies if the ability to store files and query against private Vault data is available.
Specifies if the ability to store files and query against project data in Vault is available.
Specifies if the ability to store files and query against public data in Vault is available.
Enabled/Disabled
Enabled/Disabled
Enabled/Disabled
Integer Specifies the minimum number of characters that need to be specified when querying the Vault in the Data
Browser.
Specifies if many Vaults can be accessed from EPD.Connect.
If Enabled, will only allow a user to display data in the Data Browser and display Vaulted items in the Product
Structure window. To do so, a user’s data access must be at least Read.
Enabled/Disabled
Enabled/Disabled
B-12 EPD.Connect User Guide
Options for System Administrators
Setting Interface Preferences for Users
Parameter
STORE_TO_NEXT_REV
STORE_REV_READONLY
Description
If Enabled, checks whether the item already exists in the Vault when the
Store window opens. If the item exists, the revision number is automatically incremented.
Value
Enabled/Disabled
If Enabled, will ensure that the revision field in the Store window is set to
Read-only.
Enabled/Disabled
4.
Enter a
Value
for the parameter or select
Enabled
or
Disabled
.
5.
Select either a
User
, a
Command List
of users or a
Workstation
that the parameters apply to.
6.
Click
Apply
to add, change, or delete the parameters.
EPD.Connect User Guide B-13
Appendix C
Process Flow of EPD Interface
Commands
This appendix explains the process flow of the EPD.Connect interfaces.
• Introduction
• Processing Phases
• Locating Objects for Vault Commands
EPD.Connect User Guide C-1
Process Flow of EPD Interface Commands
Introduction
Introduction
The process flow information provided in this section applies to the following
EPD.Connect interfaces:
• EPD.Connect interface for CADDS
• EPD.Connect interface for Pro/ENGINEER
• EPD.Connect interface for MEDUSA
• EPD.Connect interface for CATIA
• EPD.Connect interface for STEP
These interfaces support the following Vault commands:
•
STORE
•
GET
•
READ
•
UPDATE
•
REPLACE
C-2 EPD.Connect User Guide
Process Flow of EPD Interface Commands
Processing Phases
Processing Phases
The interface commands that manage object transference between EPD.Connect
and Optegra Vault are executed in three phases:
• Initial Processing
• Execution
• Cleanup
Phase I — Initial Processing
1.
The interface checks whether or not the variable
$ command_PREPROCESS
is set.
2.
If the variable has been set, the interface executes the command using
$ command_PREPROCESS inputfile outputfile
as the command arguments. Should an error occur, the interface reports the error and subsequently exits the command process.
3.
Proceed to rulebase processing for the initial phase.
4.
Complete the rulebase processing. An output file will be created.
5.
The interface checks whether or not the variable command_POSTPROCESS
is set.
6.
If the variable is set, the interface executes the command with
$ command_POSTPROCESS inputfile outputfile
as the command arguments. Should an error occur, the interface reports the error and subsequently exits this command process.
Phase II — Execution
The Vault client executes the Vault command. The selected object and any dependent files are transferred between Vault and the client.
Phase III — Cleanup
1.
The interface checks whether or not the variable
$ command_PREPROCESS
is set.
2.
If the variable is set, the interface executes the command using
$ command_PREPROCESS inputfile outputfile
as the command arguments. Should an error occur, the interface reports the error and subsequently exits this command process.
3.
Proceed to rulebase processing for the Cleanup phase.
EPD.Connect User Guide C-3
Process Flow of EPD Interface Commands
Processing Phases
4.
Complete the rulebase processing. An output file is created and the command processing is completed.
5.
If the variable is set, the interface executes the command with
$ command_POSTPROCESS inputfile outputfile
as the command arguments.
Should an error occur, the interface reports the error and subsequently exits this command process.
C-4 EPD.Connect User Guide
Process Flow of EPD Interface Commands
Locating Objects for Vault Commands
Locating Objects for Vault Commands
This section describes the Vault commands and their functions.
STORE
The local object to be stored is located by the interface as follows:
1.
If the local file name contains a fully qualified path, the interface verifies that the object exists. If the object is identified then no search is required.
2.
If the object is not identified, the interface searches for the object in the directories specified in the PATH variable for the interface. The PATH variables for the interfaces include:
•
CVPATH
— CADDS interface
•
PROE_PATH
— Pro/ENGINEER interface
•
MEDPROJ_PATH
— MEDUSA interface
•
CVPATH
— CATIA interface
•
CVPATH
— STEP interface
3.
If the object is not found in the searchpath, the current directory is searched.
GET
The object to the Vault is copied to the local area using following criteria.
1.
The directory specified by the ldirname
parameter. This is applicable only to command line interface
2.
The Create directory specified by one of the following variables:
•
CVCREATEDIR
— CADDS interface for CADDS Part
•
CA_ASSYPPREFIX
— CADDS interface for PS
•
CA_ASSYPREFIX
— CADDS interface for CAMU
•
CA_ASSYPREFIX
— Pro/ENGINEER interface
•
CA_ASSYPREFIX
— MEDUSA interface
•
CA_ASSYPREFIX
— CATIA interface
•
CVCREATEDIR
— STEP interface
3.
The current directory if the create directory variable is not defined.
EPD.Connect User Guide C-5
Process Flow of EPD Interface Commands
Locating Objects for Vault Commands
READ
The Vault object is copied to users's local area using the following criteria:
1.
The directory specified by the
ldirname
parameter. This is applicable when using the Command Line interface.
2.
The read directory specified by one of the following interface variables:
•
CA_READPREFIX
— CADDS interface
•
CA_READPREFIX
— Pro/ENGINEER interface
•
CA_READPREFIX
— MEDUSA interface
•
CA_READPREFIX
— CATIA interface
•
CA_READPREFIX
— STEP interface
3.
The current directory if the read directory variable is not defined.
C-6 EPD.Connect User Guide
Index
Numerics
3D Viewer
About
5-2
Back facing polygons
5-12
Camera
5-8
Deselecting components
5-24
Display buffering
5-12
Displaying polygons
5-27
Exiting
5-29
Hiding components
5-22
Highlighting components
5-25
Icons
5-3
Introduction
1-13
Measuring distances
5-9
Mouse behavior
5-2
Moving camera
5-13
Opening file
5-5
Operations
5-3
Primary view
5-7
Purpose
5-1
Rendering
5-11
Running custom reports
5-18
Selecting components
5-23
Setting colors
5-27
Setting up session
5-5
Setting view
5-7
Showing components
5-22
Starting
5-2
Transparency
5-26
Working units, setting
5-16
EPD.Connect User Guide
A
About EPD.Connect
1-2
Absolute path name
1-16
Access indicator rules
Creating
4-6
Selecting
4-9
Access rules
4-7
Multiple product structure trees
4-8
Accessing
AEC applications
14-3
EPD.Connect
1-19
Action Number
5-18
Adding components
3-4
Product structure tree
3-4
ADRAW
8-33, 8-36
Sending for review
B-12
Alphanumeric
B-12
ANSPATH
B-9
AP 203
STEP interface
13-1
Application
Objects
14-1
Application Defaults
7-6
Applications
AEC
14-1
Defining
2-51 launching
2-51
Ascending
Sort
3-15
Assembly attributes
Defining
2-17
Assembly mode
Symmetry commands
8-20
TIM components
8-21
Index-1
Index
Using Associative Topology Bus
8-21
Associative Topology Bus
8-21
Assembly mode
8-21
Attachment Window
2-33
Attributes
Changing
7-23 edit global
3-16
Editing
7-24
Editing component
2-15
Mandatory
7-25
Audit Log
2-34
AutoCAD
1-11, 1-15
B
Back facing polygons, in 3D Viewer
5-12
Browse product structure tree
4-25
Browser, View menu
2-32
C
CAD products, supported
1-14
CADDS
Converting files for display
5-21
Converting parts to graphic files
5-21
Exporting parts and assemblies
8-21
Camera, 3D Viewer
5-8
CAMU
Interface to
1-15
CAMU file
Opening using the CVPATH
8-13
Case-sensitivity
System attributes
B-5
CATIA interface
1-15
Vault query
12-6
Vault transfer
12-6
CGM file
2-44
Plotting
2-46
Change Password, Database menu
7-14
Changing attributes
7-23
Changing revision of Vault file
7-26
Changing status of Vault files
7-25
Clash detection
6-2
Reporting results
6-5
Viewing results
6-4
Clear menu
4-30
Multiple product structure trees
4-30
Index-2
Clear, View menu
2-14
Clipboard
2-34
Copying components
3-11
Close
Multiple product structure trees
14-6
Product structure trees
14-5
Close Ref, File menu
2-13
Closing
Hidden reference components
2-13
Closing tree component
2-12
CMOM client
1-20
Colors, Display menu
5-27
Columns
7-45
Comparing multiple trees
2-24
Comparing trees
2-21
Comparison report
2-24
Component attributes
2-15 component text, setting
4-3
Components
Adding
3-4
Applying transparency to
5-26
Basic
1-8
Closing
2-12
Deleting from viewer
5-21
Displaying
5-22
Displaying in viewer
5-28
Editing attributes
2-15
Expanding
Tree component
2-12
Hiding in viewer
5-22, 5-28, 5-29
Highlighting
5-25
Loading into viewer
5-21
Orientation
3-5
Positioning
3-13
Reordering
3-13
Resetting colors
5-27
Sorting
3-14
System
1-8
Viewing
5-28
Configuration browser
2-32
Configuration Compare Rules dialog
2-4
Configuration tree
2-9
Saving a display state
4-20
Constraints
Storing multiple Vault items
7-21
Controlling display in product structure
4-2
Convert, Display menu
5-21
Copy
Components
3-10
Instance attributes
3-17
EPD.Connect User Guide
Index
Vault items
7-17
Copy and paste
Data Browser
3-11
Create Report
11-9
Create, product structure tree
2-8
Customizing
Query results
7-45
Tree font
4-5
Cut, edit command
3-9 cvepd.ini file, editing to launch applications
2-54
CVPATH
2-36
Editing
2-37
Opening a CAMU file
8-13
Selecting
2-36
D
Data Browser window
About
7-2
Copying and Pasting
3-11
Copying and pasting
8-32
Database Defaults
7-7
Database menu
Application Defaults
7-6
Change Password
7-14
Database Defaults
7-7
Deferred Status
7-9
Multiple product structure trees
7-4
Read
7-13
Send Message
7-13
Signoff
7-5
Signon
7-3, 7-5
Where Used
7-10
Databases, interface to
1-14
Defaults, application
7-6
Defaults, database
7-7
Deferred Status
7-9
Defining
Application environments
2-51
Delete, Display menu
5-21
Descending
Sort
3-15
Deselect, Display menu
5-24
Detection
Hard clash
6-4
Soft clash
6-4
Detection, clash
6-2
Display buffering, 3D Viewer
5-12
Display control
4-2
Display graphics file
5-5
Display menu
5-27
About
5-20
Colors
5-27
Convert
5-21
Delete
5-21
Deselect
5-24
Hide
5-22
Highlight
5-25
Load
5-6, 5-21
Purpose
5-20
Select
5-23
Show
5-22
Transparency
5-26
Distributing objects
Vault menu
Distribute
7-39
Documentation, printing from Portable
Document Format (PDF) file xxiii
DOD
Primary
B-9
Refresh automatically
7-15
Refresh manually
7-15
Switch
B-9
E
Edit menu
3-2
Add Component
3-4
Copy
3-10
Cut
3-9
Global Attribute
3-16
Paste
3-10, 3-11
Redo
3-12
Set Revisions
3-18
Swap Components
3-12
Undo
3-12
Unset Revisions
3-18
Editing
Component attributes
2-15
Vault attributes
7-24
EPD Interface for STEP AP203
13-1
STEP interface
13-1
EPD.Connect
Accessing
1-19
EPD.Connect User Guide Index-3
Index
Exiting
1-19
Toolbar functions
2-5
Exiting
EPD.Connect
1-19
Expanding
Reference tree components
2-12
Explore
Multiple product structure trees
14-6
Product structure trees
14-5
Export
CADDS parts and assemblies
8-21
F
Features
10-3, 11-3, 12-3
File menu
Close
2-28
Close Ref
2-13
Compare
2-21
Exit
1-19
Memory
2-19
New
2-8
Open
2-9
Properties
2-4
Save
2-26
Save As
2-26
Saving multiple product structure trees
2-26
Session Summary
2-29
Fileset
7-33
Prefix
B-12
Font, setting for product structure
4-5
G
Global attributes, editing
3-16
H
Hard clash detection
6-4
Help menu
Audit Log
2-34
Hidden component
Components
Hidden
2-14
Hide, Display menu
5-22
Hide, View menu
2-14
Index-4
Highlight, Display menu
5-25
Highlighting
Rules, creating
4-10
I
Icon
3D Viewer
5-3
C
2-4
Clipboard
2-6
Close Configuration
2-5
Copy
2-5
Cut
2-5
Data Browser window
2-4
E
2-4
Exit application
2-5
Highlight components
2-6
M
2-4
Node selection
2-5
Open New Configuration
2-5
P
2-4
Paste
2-5
Redo
2-5
Reorder components
2-5
S
2-4
Save Configuration
2-5
Selection for nodes
2-5
Structure Overview
2-4
Swap components
2-5
Undo
2-5
Icons, on toolbar
2-5
Import
Pro/ENGINEER parts and assemblies
8-21
Information Browser
Introduction
1-8
Vault data
7-49
Instance attributes
Copying
3-17
Interface
MEDUSA
10-1
Interference checking
6-2
ISO 10303
STEP interface
13-2
Item Properties
2-4
Item Properties dialog
2-4
EPD.Connect User Guide
L
launch.ini file, editing
2-53
Launching applications
From Product Structure window
2-51
Link, View menu
4-29
Load, Display menu
5-6, 5-21
Log, audit
2-34
Logon to database
7-5
M
Measuring distance, 3D Viewer
5-9
MEDUSA
Interface
1-15, 10-1
MEDUSA, preprocess and postprocess routines
10-5
Memory dialog
2-4
Memory, File menu
2-19
Memory, to store tree
2-19
Messages, reading
7-13
Messages, sending
7-13
MockUp
1-8, 1-15
Moving camera, 3D Viewer
5-13
Multiple
CVPATHS
2-35
Product Structure windows
2-2
Vault item, request for review
7-28
Multiple product structure trees
Access rules
4-8
Clear menu
4-30
Closing
14-6
Database menu options
7-4
Edit menu
3-2
Exploring
14-6
Opening
2-10
Restore state
4-21
Save state
4-20
Tree font
4-5
Multiple Vault items
Respond to review
7-32
Storing constraints
7-21
N
Navigator license considerations in
EPD.Connect User Guide
EPD.Connect
1-26
New, File menu
2-8
O
Open Configuration dialog
2-9, 8-13
Open file in 3D Viewer
5-5
Open New Configuration dialog
2-8
Open product structure tree
2-9
CVPATH
2-9
Opening EPD.Connect
1-19
Operators
4-11, 4-14, 4-16
Options
5-27
Options, Display menu
5-27
Orientation, component
3-5
Orientations
Read
A-7
Overview
1-2
P
Password, change for database
7-14
Paste, edit command
3-10, 3-11
Path name, absolute
1-16
Plotting
Variables
2-49
Polygons
Displaying
5-27
Positioning
Components
3-13
Postprocess routines
8-39
Postprocess routines, MEDUSA
10-5
Prefix
Fileset
B-12
Preprocess and postprocess routines
8-39
Preprocess routines
8-39
Preprocess routines, MEDUSA
10-5
Primary
DOD
B-9
Primary view, 3D Viewer
5-7
Print dialog
2-4
Printing
UNIX
2-42
Windows NT
2-42
Printing documentation from Portable
Document Format (PDF) file xxiii
Index
Index-5
Index
Printing report
2-25
Pro/Engineer parts
Importing
8-21
Pro/FLY-THROUGH
Accessing
9-7
Advantages
9-3
Features
9-2
Integration with EPD.Connect
9-1
License requirements
9-6
Limitations
9-3
Setting the environment
9-4
System requirements
9-6
Hardware
9-6
Memory
9-6
Product overview
1-2
Product structure tree
Adding components
3-4
Browse
4-25
Browsing configuration
4-25
Changing component positions
3-12
Clearing display selections
4-30
Closing a tree
2-28
Closing and expanding components
2-12
Comparing
2-21
Controlling display
4-2
Copying components
3-10
Creating new
2-8
Displaying subtree components
2-10
Edit global attributes
3-16
Highlighting
4-10
Opening
2-9
Opening a local tree
2-9
Opening from Vault
7-47
Plotting
2-48
Saving
2-26
Saving a subset of a tree
2-27
Scrolling
2-3
Storing in memory
2-19
Product Structure window
About
2-2
Displaying graphics file
5-6
Displaying reports
2-39
Editing
2-15
Launching applications from
2-51
Multiple
2-2 set component text
4-3
Set text font
4-5
Toolbar
2-4
Working with application objects
14-5
Index-6
Product structure window
Single
2-2
Q
Query results
Customizing
7-45
Saving
7-46
Querying Vault data
7-42
R
Read
Messages
7-13
Orientations
A-7
Redoing an edit
3-12
Reference
A-5
Assembly
8-13
Components
2-13
Components, refreshing
2-12
Components,closing
2-13
Nodes
2-10
Tree components, expanding
2-12
Refresh
DOD
7-14
Expanded reference tree components
2-12
Registering objects
7-34
Rendering, 3D Viewer
5-11
Reorder
Components
3-13
Replace
Vault items
7-18
Report
Comparison
2-24
Displaying in Product Structure window
2-39
Printing
2-25
Scroll
4-3
Report Viewer window
2-40
Reports
Custom
5-18
Request for review
Multiple Vault items
7-28
Single Vault item
7-27
Reset button
7-25
Respond to review
Multiple Vault items
7-32
Single Vault item
7-30
EPD.Connect User Guide
Restore state
4-21
Multiple product structure trees
4-21
Revision, changing for Vault file
7-26
Revisions, unsetting
3-18
Rulebases, Defining
2-51
Rules, access
4-7
S
Save
Multiple product structure trees
2-27
Product structure tree
2-26
Query results
7-46
Save As
2-26
Save state
4-20
Multiple product structure trees
4-20
Scroll
Report
4-3
Scrolling
Product structure tree
2-3
Search Vault for component use
7-10
Select
Attribute
3-16
Display menu
5-23
Value
3-16
Select, View menu
4-29
Selecting
Access indicator rule
4-9
Send Message
7-13
Session Properties dialog
2-4
Setting revisions
3-18
Setting view, 3D Viewer
5-7
Sheets
10-6
Show, Display menu
5-22
Signoff, database
7-5
Signon, database
7-5
Single
A-1
DB
A-3
Product structure window
2-2
Tree
A-1
Single Vault item
Requesting for review
7-27
Responding to review
7-30
Store
7-18
Soft clash detection
6-4
Software operation
10-6
Sorting
EPD.Connect User Guide
Index
Components
3-14
Standard for the Exchange of Product Model
Data
STEP interface
13-1
Status and Report windows
2-29
ADRAW status
2-33
Component Comparison status
2-32
Component Status
2-31
Session Summary
2-29
Status, deferred
7-9
STEP interface
3D Viewer
13-6
CAMU
13-11
Converting to and from CADDS
13-8, 13-9
Creating output
13-7, 13-8
Displaying files and folders
13-4
EPD.Visualizer
13-6
File attributes
13-12
Opening product structures
13-5
Reports
13-12
Vault
13-12
Viewing geometry
13-6
Store
Multiple Vault items
Multiple Vault items
Store
7-19
Single Vault item
7-18
Vault items
7-18
Storing, product structure tree
2-19
Structure Window
2-3
Subscribe
7-36
Subscribing objects
Vault menu
7-36
Summary, Session
2-29
Swap components
3-12
Switch
DOD
B-9
System attributes
7-21
Case-sensitivity
B-5
T
Template
Visibility rules
4-17 text in Product Structure window
4-3
This
1-1
TIM components
2-11
Index-7
Index
Comparing
2-25
Exporting
8-21
Importing
8-21
Opening
2-11
Saving
2-28
Updating
8-22
Verifying
8-22
TIM parts and assemblies
8-23
Update
8-22
Verify
8-22
Tool menu
Class Detection
6-2
Zones
6-6
Toolbar
Default functions
2-5
Product Structure window
2-4
Topology Bus
1-17
Trace Selected, View menu
4-29
Transfer Requests, Window menu
7-8
Translated Image Models
1-17
Transparency, Display menu
5-26
Tree font
Customizing
4-5
Multiple product structure trees
4-5
U
Undoing an edit
3-12
Unlock
Vault items
7-18
Unregistering objects
7-35
Unsetting revisions
3-18
Unsubscribe
7-39
Unsubscribing objects
Vault menu
7-39
Update
TIM parts and assemblies
8-22
Vault items
7-17
V
Vault
Application defaults
7-6
Change password
7-14
Querying data
7-42
Sending and responding to messages
7-12
Signon
7-5
Index-8
Vault data
Changing revision
7-26
Changing status of
7-25
Information about
7-40
Obtaining information about
7-40
Using Information Browser
7-49
Vault menu
Change Revision
7-26
Change Status
7-25
Copy
7-17
Info
7-40
Register
7-34
Replace
7-18
Sign out
7-17
Store
7-18
Unlock
7-18
Unregister
7-35
Update
7-17
Vault query
Searching for a component
7-10
Verify
TIM parts and assemblies
8-22
View menu
Access
4-7
Browser
2-32, 4-25
Clear
2-14, 4-30
Component Text
4-3
Control
4-2
Hide
2-14
Highlight
4-10
Link
4-29
Restore state
4-21
Save State
4-20
Select
4-29
Summary
4-28
Trace Selected
4-29
Tree Font Customizer
4-5
Visibility
4-14
Visibility rules
4-6
Access indicators
4-6
Display or hide
4-14
Highlighting
4-10
Saving to a template
4-17
Visualizer, alternative viewer
1-15
W
Web browser
1-16
EPD.Connect User Guide
Where Used
7-10
Window menu
Attachment Window
2-33
Clipboard
2-34
Component Status
2-31
Memory Status
2-32
Structure Overview
2-4, 4-26
Structure Window
2-3
Transfer Requests
7-8
Windows
Product structure
2-2
Working units, 3D Viewer
5-16
Z
Zones
6-6
Activating
6-6
Creating
6-6
Description
6-6
Storing
6-6
Index
EPD.Connect User Guide Index-9
Preuzimanje
Reklama