Microsoft PowerPoint 2007 Presentation Software Guide
Реклама
Реклама
131961 ch06.1.qxp 3/5/07 4:00 PM Page 112
Chapter 6
Communicate with
Audio and Video
You can enhance your presentations with audio and video to improve communication. Audio and video can come from a variety of sources, such as recordings from previous presentations, audio and video from the Clip Art Gallery, and even CDs.
PowerPoint. After your audio/video capabilities are set up on your computer, you can use
PowerPoint to record the audio for your presentation and automatically match that audio with each slide. This enables your viewers to listen to your audio at the same time they view your presentation.
You can play audio and video clips in a separate player, or you can embed the player into your slide so that the audio or video clip looks like it is part of the slide. Because Microsoft Windows
Media Player comes with Windows, it is the player used in this chapter.
The key to getting audio and video to play or record properly in PowerPoint is to first get the audio to play or record properly outside
If you want an audio or video clip to play only when you are ready for it, you can create a button that plays a clip when clicked. You can also play a sound when you position your mouse pointer over an object, or you can loop audio so it repeats indefinitely. You can also choreograph multiple sound or video effects on a slide to produce a professional presentation that gets your work noticed.
Add a Button to Play Your Video Clip . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . xxx
Embed Video to Turn Your Slide into a Movie . . . . . . . . xxx
Add Sound from a File . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . xxx
Loop an Audio File . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . xxx
Boost Your Presentation with Audio from a CD . . . . . . . xxx
Insert an Audio Button in Your Slide . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . xxx
Hover Your Mouse to Play a Sound . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . xxx
Record Narrations for Your Slides . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . xxx
Create a Narrated Slide Show . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . xxx
Produce a Professional Presentation When
You Synchronize Effects . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . xxx
131961 ch06.1.qxp 3/5/07 4:00 PM Page 114
ADD A BUTTON to play your video clip
You can add a button to your slide that, when clicked, plays a video clip in Windows Media Player.
This is a great way to play video clips only when you are ready for them. For example, if you are delivering a presentation about an event and you are not sure if you will have time to play your video clip, you can insert a button onto the slide that plays the video only when it is clicked.
The button you create is an action button. In this case, the action is to play a specific video file using
Windows Media Player. To launch the video clip, you must know the path to the file. In Windows Vista, for example, the default folder for video and movies is named Videos, which is located in your user profile folder. Its path is usually C:\Users\Name\Videos, where Name is your user name.
In PowerPoint 2007, the ability to run programs via an action button is disabled as a security measure.
Therefore, when you run the action button, you will need to tell PowerPoint that it is okay to run the program.
1
Click the Insert tab.
2
Click Shapes.
3
Click the Movie action button.
4
Click and drag where you want to position the button.
114
PowerPoint creates the button and displays the
Action Settings dialog box.
5
Click Run program
( changes to ).
6
Type the path to your video file.
7
Click OK.
PowerPoint assigns the play video action to the button.
8
Press F5 to open the presentation in Slide
Show view.
The presentation opens in Slide Show view.
9
Navigate to the slide that contains the action button.
0
Click the action button.
!
If you see a security warning, click Enable.
Note: PowerPoint blocks links to external programs because those program might install viruses. You know that your video is not malicious, however, so you can safely click Enable.
The video plays.
Did You Know?
You can also browse to the file you want to open instead of typing the path. After Step 5, click Browse. In the Select a Program to Run dialog box, click Programs and then click All
Files. Now navigate to the folder in which the video file resides, click the file, and then click
OK. Then proceed with Step 7.
Try This!
You can use a different player program by preceding the video file path with the path of the file that starts the program, followed by a space. You can find the path to the program by clicking Start, All Programs, and then rightclicking the program for which you want to find the path. Click Properties and then click the Shortcut tab. The location appears in the
Target field.
115
131961 ch06.1.qxp 3/5/07 4:00 PM Page 116
EMBED VIDEO to turn your slide into a movie
You can use video clips in your presentations to help tell a story. Video delivers more impact when it is integrated into your slide. For example, if your presentation is designed to train viewers on a particular topic, you can incorporate a video file into your slide to allow them to see the video, which you can start, pause, and restart just by clicking your mouse.
You can make the video even more useful when you add a bulleted list of text next to it to highlight key points. When you embed the video into your slide, you are given more control over positioning and the ability to see other content as well as the video at the same time.
When you insert the video file into your slide, the
Ribbon adds a Movie Tools section with an Options tab that enables you to adjust various settings for the video. For example, you can decide whether the video starts playing when you click it or automatically when you display the slide.
1
Display the slide into which you want to insert the video.
2
Click the Insert tab.
3
Click the top half of the Movie button.
The Insert Movie dialog box appears.
4
Navigate to the folder that contains your video file.
5
Click the video file.
6
Click OK.
116
PowerPoint asks you how you want the video to start.
7
Click When Clicked.
l
If you prefer that the video start as soon as you display the slide, click Automatically, instead.
l
PowerPoint inserts the video file.
8
Click and drag the sizing handles to resize the video object to fit into your slide.
l
You can click Preview to see how the video looks on your slide when it plays.
More Options!
If the original video is large, it may not look good if the video object is too small on your slide. Click Options and then click to activate the
Play Full Screen check box to have the video take up the entire screen while it plays.
More Options!
If your video comes with sound, you can control the volume that plays during the slide show.
Click Options, click Slide Show Volume, and then click the relative volume you prefer (Low,
Medium, High, or Mute).
More Options!
If your video is short, you may prefer to have it repeat until you click it. To set this up, click
Options and then click to activate the Loop Until
Stopped check box.
117
131961 ch06.1.qxp 3/5/07 4:00 PM Page 118
ADD SOUND from a file
You can make your presentations more interesting by adding audio clips that contain entertaining or informative content. For example, if you are holding a conference and want to display a welcome slide in the front of the room while attendees get settled, you can add an audio clip that plays music while the slide is on the screen. Additionally, if you are presenting a slide that discusses how happy customers are with your product, you can insert directly into the slide an audio clip of a customer talking about your product to really emphasize your points.
When you insert an audio clip from a file, a small audio icon is placed onto the slide. That audio icon can be clicked and dragged to the desired location on the screen. When you are ready for the audio clip to play while you are in Slide Show mode, you simply click the audio icon and the audio plays. You can also have PowerPoint play the sound automatically when you display the slide. The audio clip does not play in an external media player; it plays through your computer’s audio system.
1
Display the slide into which you want to insert the sound.
2
Click the Insert tab.
3
Click the top half of the Sound split button.
The Insert Sound dialog box appears.
4
Navigate to the folder that contains your sound file.
5
Click the sound file.
6
Click OK.
118
PowerPoint asks you how you want the sound to start.
7
Click When Clicked.
l
If you prefer that the sound start as soon as you display the slide, click Automatically, instead.
PowerPoint inserts the sound icon.
8
Click and drag the sound icon to position it where you want in your slide.
l
You can click Preview to hear the sound.
More Options!
If your sound file is lengthy, you can configure the sound to play across multiple slides until it finishes.
Click Options, click the Play Sound menu, and then click Play across slides.
More Options!
You can control the volume that the sound file uses during the slide show. Click Options, click Slide Show
Volume, and then click the relative volume you prefer
(Low, Medium, High, or Mute).
More Options!
If you configured the sound to play automatically when you display the slide, you might not want the sound icon to appear during the slide show. To set this up, click Options and then click to activate the
Hide During Show check box.
119
131961 ch06.1.qxp 3/5/07 4:00 PM Page 120
Play on and on with
LOOPED AUDIO
You can use looped audio to play music or a message repeatedly in your presentations. Looped audio is repeated from beginning to end until it is interrupted.
Looped audio can be particularly useful in presentations where display a slide indefinitely. For example, if you plan to display a slide during a break in a conference, you may want to play music or an instructional message for the duration of the break.
Adding a looped audio file to the slide will allow you to walk away from the presentation assured that the audio will continue to play until you are ready to begin again.
You can also use looped audio to lengthen a short sound effect, such as a drum roll. You can have the audio loop for as long as you need it to play, then interrupt it by clicking the slide.
You can set up an audio file to loop after you have inserted it, as described in Task #53. In the current task, you will learn how to insert and loop a sound clip from the Clip Organizer.
1
Display the slide into which you want to insert the sound clip.
2
Click the Insert tab.
3
Click the bottom half of the
Sound split button.
4
Click Sound from Clip Organizer.
Note: If you see a dialog box asking whether you want to include clips from Microsoft Office
Online, click Yes.
The Clip Art pane appears.
5
Click the sound clip you want to insert.
120
PowerPoint asks you how you want the sound to start.
6
Click When Clicked.
l
If you prefer that the sound start as soon as you display the slide, click Automatically, instead.
l
PowerPoint inserts the sound icon.
7
Click and drag the sound icon to position it where you want in your slide.
8
Click Options.
9
Click Loop Until Stopped ( changes to
)
The looped audio is set to play in your presentation.
Preview It!
If you are not sure which sound clip to use, PowerPoint enables you to preview any clip before inserting it. In the Clip
Art pane, right-click a clip and then click
Preview/Properties. PowerPoint displays the Preview/Properties dialog box and plays the sound clip. Click Play to hear the clip again. Click Close when you are done.
Caution!
If you think your sound clip will loop many times, make sure you pick a clip that will not become tiresome or annoying after awhile. Also, make sure the sounds at the beginning and the end of the clip are relatively harmonious. This ensures that the transition from one loop to another is not too jarring.
121
131961 ch06.1.qxp 3/5/07 4:00 PM Page 122
Boost your presentation with
AUDIO FROM A CD
You can enhance your presentation with audio and save time when you play audio directly from a CD. It is not necessary to upload music to your computer’s hard drive in order to play it from PowerPoint.
Instead, you can instruct PowerPoint to play audio directly from the CD player in your computer.
For example, if you want to play music from a CD before and after a seminar and during breaks, you can insert audio into introductory, break, and conclusion slides to play directly from a CD. You can even specify exactly what tracks on the CD you want to play.
You can also choose to loop audio to play repeatedly until it is interrupted. For example, you could choose to continually play tracks 1 through 4 of a CD until interrupted during a break. The audio can be interrupted when you click to advance to the next slide.
When you deliver your presentation, a CD symbol is inserted into the slide that can be clicked to start playing the audio again from the beginning.
1
Display the slide into which you want to insert the CD audio.
2
Insert the audio CD.
Note: If Windows asks what you want to do with the audio CD, click Close.
3
Click the Insert tab.
4
Click the bottom half of the
Sound split button.
5
Click Play CD Audio Track.
The Insert CD Audio dialog box appears.
6
Use the Start at track spin box to click the track number at which you want to start.
7
Use the End at track spin box to click the track number at which you want to end.
8
Click Loop until stopped
( changes to ).
9
Click OK.
122
PowerPoint asks you how you want the sound to start.
0
Click Automatically.
l
If you prefer that the sound start only when you click the icon, click
When Clicked, instead.
l
PowerPoint inserts the CD audio icon.
!
Click and drag the icon to position it where you want in your slide.
l
You can click Preview to hear the audio
CD tracks you selected.
Caution!
When you deliver your presentation, PowerPoint plays audio from whatever CD is in your computer’s
CD player. If you design your presentation with one CD in mind, but the CD player has another CD in it when you deliver your presentation, you could get unexpected results.
Caution!
You should make sure that the license agreement that came with your CD allows you to play the music in public forums.
Did You Know?
You can play only a selected part of an audio track.
After you have inserted the audio CD icon, click the
Options tab. In the Start Playing box, use the Time spin box to set the time at which the first track begins. In the Stop Playing box, use the Time spin box to set the time at which the last track ends.
123
131961 ch06.1.qxp 3/5/07 4:00 PM Page 124
INSERT AN AUDIO BUTTON in your slide
You can add depth to your presentations when you insert audio clips into your slides. You can make the effects look even more professional when you create buttons that link to audio clips.
Placing a button on a slide with an audio symbol makes it more obvious to presenters or viewers that supplemental audio is available for a slide. For example, when you place an audio clip onto a slide, a very small audio symbol is normally inserted. It is small enough that it could be missed by the presenter and the viewer. When you create an audio button, it draws attention to the fact that there is an audio clip available for the slide.
Audio buttons are added to the slide by creating an action button, which is a professional-looking image that you can draw onto your slide in whatever size you want. They are called action buttons because you can assign actions that make them interactive, such as linking to an audio file when the button is clicked.
1
Display the slide into which you want to insert the action button.
2
Click the Insert tab.
3
Click Shapes.
4
Click the sound action button.
5
Click and drag where you want to position the button.
124
PowerPoint creates the button and displays the Action
Settings dialog box.
6
Click here and select
Other Sound.
The Add Sound dialog box appears.
7
Navigate to the folder that contains the sound file.
8
Click the sound file.
9
Click OK.
PowerPoint previews the sound file.
0
Click OK.
PowerPoint assigns the sound file to the action button.
Change It!
You do not always have to use the same sound with the action button. If you want to use a different sound, click the action button, click Insert, and then click Action to open the Action Settings dialog box. Follow Steps 6 to 10 in this task to select a new sound file.
Did You Know?
The color of the action button is determined by the design theme you are using on the slide. If you change the theme, PowerPoint changes the action button color to match. To change the button format by hand, click it, click the
Format tab, and then use the controls in the Shape Styles group.
125
131961 ch06.1.qxp 3/5/07 4:00 PM Page 126
Hover your mouse to
PLAY A SOUND
You can enhance the entertainment value of text or images when you apply an effect that plays a sound when you hover your mouse over the object. For example, if you have a slide that announces the winners of a skateboarding contest, you can add impact and a festive feeling if viewers hear applause when you hover your mouse over a picture of the winning skateboarders. In the same way, on a slide presenting great photos, you can apply the sound of a camera clicking when you hover your mouse over each image.
You can add hover sounds to text or images by using action settings. Action Settings enable you to create hyperlinks, run programs, run macros, or apply sound effects like Applause, Arrow, Bomb, Breeze,
Camera, Cash Register, and Chime. You can also apply more than one effect to an object, such as the launch of a video clip and a sound effect at the same time you hover over an object.
1
Display the slide into which you want to insert the action button.
2
Click the image to which you want to add the mouseover sound.
3
Click the Insert tab.
4
Click Action.
Did You Know?
You can also choose to apply audio effects to run when clicked instead of hovered over. Follow the steps above, but omit Step 5.
Try This!
The hover effect works when you are viewing your presentation in Slide Show mode. Click Slide Show, click From Current Slide to open the slide in Slide
Show mode, and then position the mouse pointer over the image to hear the sound.
More Options!
You can configure PowerPoint to make the image appear as though it was been “clicked” when you hover the mouse over it. Follow Steps 1 to 7, click to activate the Highlight when mouse over check box, and then click OK.
127
126
PowerPoint displays the Action Settings dialog box.
5
Click the Mouse Over tab.
6
Click Play sound ( changes to )
7
Click the sound effect you want to play.
8
Click OK.
PowerPoint assigns the sound file to the image’s mouseover action.
131961 ch06.1.qxp 3/5/07 4:00 PM Page 128
RECORD NARRATIONS for your slides
You can prepare your presentation for use when you are not there by recording narrations for your slides.
The Record Narration tool enables you to record audio for your presentation, and afterward, when the presentation is viewed in Slide Show mode, your audio accompanies the slide.
You can save time by using the Record Narration tool because it not only helps you record the audio for your presentation, it keeps track of the timing for each slide and then automatically advances to the next slide at the appropriate time. For example, if you want others to be able to view your presentation on their own, you can use Record Narration to record your voice for each slide, synchronized to advance to the next slide at just the right time.
When you choose to link narrations to a location on your hard drive, the audio file for each slide is stored separately on your computer. This keeps the file size down and keeps performance high. If you choose not to link narrations, the audio is stored with the presentation.
1
Click the Slide Show tab.
2
Click Record Narration.
The presentation opens in Slide Show mode.
4
Give your presentation while recording audio into your microphone.
5
Press the spacebar to advance to the next slide.
6
Repeat Steps 4 and 5 for all the slides to which you want to record narrations.
7
Press the Esc key when you have finished recording.
The Microsoft Office PowerPoint dialog box appears.
8
Click Save.
l
If you made a mistake during the recording, click Don’t Save, instead, and then start over.
PowerPoint switches to Slide Sorter view and displays the timings for each narration under each slide.
The Record Narration dialog box appears.
l
To have PowerPoint save the narration as separate audio files, click Link narrations in ( changes to ).
3
Click OK.
Change It!
Because each person’s voice and volume varies, you will need to adjust most microphones to the correct levels before recording. PowerPoint includes tools to optimize recording. To access these tools, before Step 3 above, click the Set
Microphone Level button in the Record
Narration dialog box.
Caution!
You can set quality levels to determine the richness of the audio recording. Although everyone wants the best quality possible, high-quality recordings take more hard disk space and make file sizes larger. To adjust levels to give you the best quality for the bandwidth or file size available, before Step 3 above, click the Change Quality button in the
Record Narration dialog box.
129
128
131961 ch06.1.qxp 3/5/07 4:00 PM Page 130
Create a
NARRATED SLIDE SHOW
You can go back and match audio clips with slides in a presentation that has been recorded. After you match the audio clip with each slide, the audio clip plays automatically when the slide opens.
For example, if one of your company’s executives delivers a presentation at a conference where the audio is recorded, you can package that presentation so that viewers can listen to the audio clip from the presentation at the same time they view the slides.
This is a great way to deliver training materials, to circulate the presentation’s message broadly, and to leverage existing resources.
First, split the recording of the presentation into separate audio files, where there is one audio file for each slide’s audio. After the audio files are created, each slide is edited to insert the audio clip for that slide. In addition, you can hide the audio symbol when delivering the presentation in Slide Show mode to keep your slides clean and uncluttered.
1
Click the Insert tab.
2
Click the top half of the Sound split button.
The Insert Sound dialog box appears.
3
Navigate to the folder in which the audio clip file is located.
4
Click the audio file you want to match to this slide.
5
Click OK.
130
The Microsoft Office
PowerPoint dialog box appears.
6
Click Automatically.
PowerPoint inserts the audio icon into the slide.
7
Click the Options tab.
8
Click Hide During Show ( changes to ).
9
Repeat Steps 1 to 8 for each slide to which you want to add an audio clip.
Try This!
You can choose to play the audio when clicked instead of automatically. In Step 6 above, click When Clicked instead of
Automatically, and then proceed with Step 7.
Omit Step 8, or you will not be able to see the audio icon on which to click.
Did You Know?
When you insert audio files into your presentation, they are stored in the presentation itself. When there are many audio files or the audio files are very large, your presentation file size increases. If it becomes too big, you may want to consider using Record Narration instead because you can link to audio files instead of embedding them in the presentation. See Task #58 for more information about Record Narration.
131
131961 ch06.1.qxp 3/5/07 4:00 PM Page 132
Produce a professional presentation when you
SYNCHRONIZE EFFECTS
You can use PowerPoint to produce a professional multimedia presentation. Multimedia presentations include audio, video, and effects. PowerPoint can help you synchronize all of them to play when and where you want.
For example, a slide can contain a transition effect, an audio file to play when the slide is loaded, and an entrance effect to make a graphic enter slowly at a small size and then expand to its normal size. You can coordinate each of these effects to play at just the right time and for the desired duration.
You can use the Custom Animation task pane to reorder effects and change the speed at which they occur. You can also use the timeline to click and drag fields that represent the beginning and end times for an effect, enabling you to move them where you want in a graphical and easy-to-use fashion. Additionally, you can set effects to occur simultaneously with the previous effect, after the previous effect is finished, or upon clicking the mouse.
1
Click the Animations tab.
2
Click Custom Animation.
The Custom Animation task pane appears.
3
Click here and select the effect with which you want to work.
4
Click here and select After
Previous.
5
Click the Re-Order arrows until the effect is in the desired order.
6
Click the drop-down arrow beside the effect with which you want to work.
7
Click Show Advanced
Timeline.
l
PowerPoint displays the Advanced
Timeline.
l
This box shows you where the effect begins (represented by the left edge) and ends (the right edge).
8
Click and drag the left edge to adjust the start time of the effect.
9
Click and drag the right edge to adjust the end time of the effect.
0
Repeat Steps 3 to 5 and Steps 8 and 9 to set the timing of the other effects.
Caution!
Because audio files have a fixed duration, you cannot click and drag the end point of an audio file displayed in the Custom Animation task pane to extend its play. Instead, you can loop the audio to make it repeat. For more information about looping audio, see Task #54.
Apply It!
When you click the Play button on the Custom
Animation task pane, you can see a preview of all of the effects on the slide.
Did You Know?
If your animations take a long time, you can scroll the advanced timeline by clicking the left and right arrows. For a lengthy series of animations, you might find it easier to work with a larger timeline interval.
To configure the timeline in this way, click Seconds and then click Zoom Out.
133
132
Завантажити
Реклама