Smart Technologies Response 2011 Quick Reference Guide
Werbung
Werbung
SMART Response™ 2011
Interactive Response System
User's Guide
Appendix 1:
Product registration
If you register your SMART product, we’ll notify you of new features and software upgrades.
Register online at smarttech.com/registration .
Keep the following information available in case you need to contact SMART Support.
Serial number:
Date of purchase:
FCC notice
This equipment has been tested and found to comply with the limits for a Class B digital device, pursuant to part 15 of the FCC Rules. These limits are designed to provide reasonable protection against harmful interference in a residential installation. This equipment generates, uses and can radiate radio frequency energy and, if not installed and used in accordance with the instructions, may cause harmful interference to radio communications. However, there is no guarantee that interference will not occur in a particular installation. If this equipment does cause harmful interference to radio or television reception, which can be determined by turning the equipment off and on, the user is encouraged to try to correct the interference by one or more of the following measures:
- Reorientate or relocate the receiving antenna.
- Increase the separation between the equipment and receiver.
- Connect the equipment into a socket on a circuit different from that to which the receiver is connected.
- Consult the dealer or an experienced radio/TV technician for help.
IC RSS 210 notice
This device complies with Industry Canada licence-exempt RSS standard(s). Operation is subject to the following two conditions: (1) this device may not cause interference, and (2) this device must accept any interference, including interference that may cause undesired operation of the device.
Le présent appareil est conforme aux CNR d'Industrie Canada applicables aux appareils radio exempts de licence. L'exploitation est autorisée aux deux conditions suivantes : (1) l'appareil ne doit pas produire de brouillage, et (2) l'utilisateur de l'appareil doit accepter tout brouillage radioélectrique subi, même si le brouillage est susceptible d'en compromettre le fonctionnement.
Trade-mark notice
SMART Response, SMART Notebook, SMART Board, SMART Sync, Senteo, smarttech, the SMART logo and all SMART taglines are trade-marks or registered trademarks of SMART Technologies ULC in the US and/or other countries. Microsoft, Windows, Windows Vista, Internet Explorer, ActiveX, DirectX, PowerPoint and Excel are either registered trade-marks or trade-marks of Microsoft Corporation in the US. and/or other countries. Mac, Mac OS, Safari and Finder are trade-marks of Apple, Inc., registered in the US. and other countries. Adobe, Flash and Reader are either registered trade-marks or trade-marks of Adobe Systems Incorporated in the US. and/or other countries. Intel, Pentium and Itanium are trade-marks or registered trade-marks of Intel Corporation or its subsidiaries in the US. and other countries. ExamView is a registered trade-mark of FSCreations, Inc. All other third-party product and company names may be trade-marks of their respective owners.
Copyright notice
© 2007–2011 SMART Technologies ULC. All rights reserved. The use and copying of SMART Response assessment software is subject to a licence agreement. Any other use is prohibited. No part of this publication may be reproduced, transmitted, transcribed, stored in a retrieval system or translated into any language in any form by any means without the prior written consent of SMART Technologies ULC. Information in this manual is subject to change without notice and does not represent a commitment on the part of SMART.
One or more of the following patents: US6320597; US6326954; US6741267; US7151533; US7757001; USD612396; USD616462; USD617332 and USD636784. Other patents pending.
July 2011
i
Important information
Before you use your SMART Response™ interactive response system, please read and understand the safety warnings and precautions described in this guide. These safety warnings and precautions instruct you in the safe and correct operation of the system and its accessories so that you can prevent injuries to yourself and others or damage to the equipment. You must always ensure that the
SMART Response system is being used correctly.
N
N O T E
If you own a SMART product other than a SMART Response system, refer to the user’s guide that came with your product for relevant warnings and maintenance instructions.
Safety information
W
W A R N I N G
l
Failure to follow the installation instructions that are dispatched with the SMART product could result in personal injury or damage to the product.
l
When using your SMART Response system with a SMART Board™ interactive whiteboard and projector, do not stare into the beam of light created by the projector. Instruct children not to look in the direction of, or stare at, this beam of light.
l
Ensure that any cables extending across the floor to your SMART product are properly bundled and marked to prevent a trip hazard.
l
To reduce the risk of fire or electric shock, do not expose the components to rain or moisture.
C
C A U T I O N
l
Use only the batteries provided or equivalent replacements. Do not attempt to recharge the batteries.
ii
I M P O R T A N T I N F O R M A T I O N
l
Do not install batteries with the polarity (+/-) reversed.
l
Do not dispose of batteries in a fire or incinerator.
Dispose of batteries according to the laws and regulations of your region. If you do not know the applicable rules for your region, consult the battery manufacturer.
l
Do not use abrasive erasers or harsh chemicals when cleaning SMART Response system hardware.
l
Do not open the receiver or clicker units to attempt repairs. Refer all service to authorised
SMART service personnel.
I
I M P O R T A N T
l
You must connect the USB cable that came with your SMART product to a computer that has a USB compliant interface and that bears the USB logo. In addition, the USB source computer must be compliant with CSA/UL/EN 60950 and bear the CE mark and CSA and/or
UL Mark(s) for CSA/UL 60950. This is for operating safety and to avoid damage to the
SMART product.
l
If your SMART product requires replacement parts, make sure that the service technician uses replacement parts specified by SMART Technologies or parts with the same characteristics as the original.
Compliance
This device complies with Part 15 of the FCC rules. Operation is subject to the following two conditions:
1. This device may not cause harmful interference, and
2. This device must accept any interference received, including interference that may cause undesired operation.
Changes or modifications to this equipment not expressly approved by SMART Technologies may void the user’s authority to operate this equipment.
Contents
Chapter 1: About the SMART Response system
Hardware – clickers and receivers
Using your SMART Response system
Connecting hardware and activating SMART Response software
Activating SMART Response software
Selecting how students answer questions
Starting SMART Response LE software the first time
Chapter 3: Using SMART Response software
Adding questions to the assessment
Starting and connecting to a class
Disconnecting students from a class
Chapter 4: Reviewing, printing and exporting assessment results
Generating student performance reports
iii
C O N T E N T S
Generating class performance reports
Printing and exporting questions and results
Chapter 5: Maintaining your SMART Response system
Changing the clicker batteries
Troubleshooting SMART Response CE connection issues
Appendix A: Hardware environmental compliance
Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment Regulations (WEEE directive)
Restriction of Certain Hazardous Substances (RoHS directive)
China’s Electronic Information Products regulations
USConsumer Product Safety Improvement Act
California Air Resources Board – Airborne Toxic Control Measure
Restriction of Certain Chemicals (REACH directive)
iv
Chapter 1:
1
Chapter 1
About the SMART Response system
Integration with SMART Notebook SE (Student Edition) software
Hardware – clickers and receivers
Introduction
The SMART Responseinteractive response system is an assessment tool that enhances learning. It facilitates summative and formative assessment by enabling you to pose a question before, during or after a lesson to find out whether students are on track. You can use the feedback to help shape the rest of your lesson.
Once you finish the lesson, create a question set with SMART Response assessment software to evaluate learning more formally. You can feel confident that the students have answered in the way that they intended, because they can verify and change their self-paced responses directly.
Teachers can easily add creativity to questions by combining text with images to make questions more dynamic. The SMART Response system comes with SMART Notebook™ collaborative learning software and offers 6,000 learning objects that you can add to quizzes.
The SMART Response system also increases one-to-one interaction by enabling teachers to survey and engage students and to collect responses.
Integration with SMART Notebook SE (Student Edition) software
SMART Notebook SE software enables your students to connect to your class, take quizzes and assessments, respond to questions and submit their work. For more information on how students use
SMART Notebook SE software with SMART Response CEinteractive response software, see the
SMART Notebook SE online Help.
2
C H A P T E R 1
About the SMART Response system
Features
Feature
Integration with
SMART Notebook software
Description
Open SMART Response software from a tab in SMART Notebook software. With SMART Notebook’s Gallery of more than 6,000 items of graphic-rich content, you can add images and other multimedia content to your questions and/or assessments.
SMART Notebook Full
Screen mode toolbar
SMART Notebook
Transparent mode toolbar
When you put SMART Notebook software in Full Screen mode, SMART
Response buttons for creating questions, running assessments and viewing results appear in the toolbar. You can use SMART Notebook software in Full Screen mode to reduce distractions whilst presenting your lesson.
When you put SMART Notebook software in Transparent mode, SMART
Response buttons for creating questions, running assessments and viewing results appear in the toolbar. In Transparent mode you can use other applications and see supporting content whilst presenting your lesson.
Multiple assessment options
Teacher Tools
Question variety
Compile questions for formative and summative assessment, prepare quizzes or exams in advance and ask spontaneous questions to gauge student comprehension at any point during a lesson.
Access, view and manage all assessment data in one location. This powerful tool enables you to create class lists and manage tests and quizzes.
Teachers can ask different types of questions, including true or false, yes or no, multiple choice, multiple answer, numeric fraction or maths expression and text answer.
Familiar user interface SMART Response software’s intuitive software lets you create pages that have clear, contextual and concise information for users at any level of experience.
Maths expression questions and intelligent grading
When you create an expression question with a correct answer, you can choose which intelligent expression grading option that SMART Response uses to determine which mathematically equivalent answers you want to accept as correct.
Monitoring students during and after the test
You can monitor how much time is remaining for a quiz. Grades are immediately calculated after the test and displayed in graphical charts and numeric tables.
C H A P T E R 1
About the SMART Response system
Feature Description
Previewing results during an assessment
Easy-to-view results
You can see what responses students have submitted during the assessment and get immediate feedback on how the class is doing.
Display results in easy-to-view pie charts or graphs, which you can then insert on a SMART Notebook page for a closer view and to add your own notes in digital ink. You can also view results in detail, so that you can see exactly how each student has answered.
Using Teacher Tools, you can choose to accept a submitted answer as correct in addition to (or instead of) the original correct answer. SMART
Response software calculates the students' grades after the changes.
Add or change correct answers to completed assessments
Multiple print options
Anonymous mode
Print assessments as handouts so that students can complete them at their own pace, or add comments to completed assessments that can be printed and used later as study guides.
Allows students to respond with complete anonymity. Students can use
SMART Response software without signing in, or they can participate in an assessment using any clicker, allowing you to gauge the group's understanding.
Integration with thirdparty question bank
SMART Response software is compatible with commonly used file formats, so you can easily import questions from other applications, including Microsoft Word and PowerPoint®, PDFs and third-party question banks.
Integrated Gradebook Through Teacher Tools Gradebook, you can build comprehensive student progress reports which can be as simple or as detailed as you need.
Create high-level comparisons of class performance, specific reports based on tagged characteristics such as demographics or curriculum standards, or personalised reports on how individual students are doing.
Tagging
You can tag students and questions and automatically generate reports with comprehensive student and class performance breakdowns.
You can also tag key words to describe various characteristics, correlate questions to curriculum standards and break down performance into a printable chart.
3
4
C H A P T E R 1
About the SMART Response system
Hardware – clickers and receivers
Feature Description
Radio frequency (RF) technology
Ergonomic design
French language support
RF technology provides a reliable wireless connection between the student clickers and the central receiver. You don’t need a line of sight to the clickers, and the clickers and the receiver can connect within a 30m
(100') range.
Designed to fit comfortably in young hands or to lie flat on a desk. Even young students find the durable handheld clickers easy to use and comfortable to hold. Responding to questions is quick and easy.
Students can switch the PE clicker displays to support English and French languages.
Ability to input maths expressions
XE clickers have dedicated buttons that enable students to enter complex maths and science expressions.
Ability to enter symbols as well as letters with diacritics
In XE mode, you can enter common maths and science symbols. You can also enter diacritics (letters with special symbols or accents).
LCD screen The easy-to-read LCD screen has room to display several lines of text.
Students can see whether responses have been sent and they can review the status of their clicker’s battery power and network connection.
Descriptive icons
Extended battery life
Easy connection
Flexible installation
Icons on the LCD screen enable students to monitor the battery power and the network status of their clicker.
Each clicker uses long-lasting AA or AAA batteries.
The receiver connects to a computer using a USB cable and it doesn’t require an additional power adapter.
The receiver weighs just under 165g (6oz) and is easily mounted onto walls, desks or tables.
Chapter 2:
5
Chapter 2
Getting started
Using your SMART Response system
SMART Response system hardware
Using the interactive response system
Conducted and radiated emissions
Mac OS X operating system software
Connecting hardware and activating SMART Response software
Recommended height for mounting the receiver
Checking the receiver’s status
Activating SMART Response software
Activating SMART Response CE software
Activating SMART Response VE software
Selecting how students answer questions
Multiple SMART Response devices mode limitations
Why don't I use Multiple SMART Response devices mode all the time?
Starting SMART Response LE software the first time
Starting Teacher Tools in CE mode using SMART Sync Class List Server
C H A P T E R 2
Getting started
Editing your SMART Teacher file
Adjusting privacy and alert options
Creating a class list in Teacher Tools
Importing a class list from Excel®
Creating class lists for all modes except LE
Creating class lists for LE mode
Importing a class list from a CSV file
Creating class lists for all modes except LE
Creating class lists for LE mode
Tips for formatting CSV files for importing class lists
Using SMART Sync Class List Server class lists
Adding students to a class list
Removing students from a class list
6
7
C H A P T E R 2
Getting started
Using your SMART Response system
Using the SMART Response interactive response system, you can perform planned or spontaneous student assessments in the same software that you use to deliver your lessons—it integrates seamlessly with SMART Notebook collaborative learning software.
You can easily prepare exams in advance or spontaneously quiz students during a lesson and receive immediate responses from your class. Depending on the mode you're using, SMART Response software supports several different types of questions, including true or false, yes or no, multiple choice, multiple answer, text answers, and numerical fractions and expressions. You can import questions from third-party question banks, Microsoft® applications and other common programs.
Once students have submitted their answers, you can see the results by percentage in a graphical format, which gives an accurate representation of the whole class's performance, not just that of individual students.
Teacher Tools
Using Teacher Tools, you can access, view and manage all assessment data in one location. You can create class lists and set up, conduct and manage tests and quizzes. You can track each student's progress over several assessments and you can even tag questions with key words to evaluate test results and student performance in greater detail.
Teacher Tools makes it easy for you to keep everything organised. The easy-to-use management tool automatically files test results in the built-in gradebook. It also lets you manage your class lists and view performance reports and test scores.
The Teacher Tools Gradebook gives you quick access to test results, making it easy to prepare reports and conduct evaluations. Reports can be as simple or as detailed as you need. Create highlevel comparisons of class performance, specific reports based on tagged characteristics such as demographics or curriculum standards, or personalised reports on how individual students perform.
You can also create reports that show grades for the entire school year.
SMART Response system hardware
The SMART Response receiver and clickers use radio frequency technology to provide a reliable wireless connection between the student clickers and the central receiver. You don't need a line of sight to the clickers and the range is 30m (100’). The receiver verifies receipt of every signal and messages automatically re-send if they aren't received.
8
C H A P T E R 2
Getting started
Students find the handheld clickers easy to use and comfortable to hold. Students can easily read several lines of text on the large display screen. They can see whether responses have been sent and can review the status of their clicker's battery power and network connection.
Using the interactive response system
You can purchase SMART Response interactive response system software for both Windows and
Mac computers that meet the minimum requirements. See
for information.
You can use SMART Response software's integrated SMART Notebook features on any computer, so you can take your laptop home to develop assessment questions without having to connect a receiver. You can then copy the assessment files to a classroom computer where you can run your assessments.
When you install SMART Response software, by default, the installation program installs SMART
Notebook software, SMART Product Drivers and SMART Response software. SMART Response software includes Teacher Tools and menus that appear in the SMART Notebook software toolbar.
You can use the software for free for 30 days after which you must activate the software.
Environmental requirements
Before installing or using your SMART Response interactive response system, review the following environmental requirements and compliance statements.
Temperature
SMART Response components can operate in the temperature range of 5°C to 35°C (41°F to 95°F).
In addition, the product can withstand storage temperatures from -40°C to 50°C (-40°F to 120°F).
Humidity
SMART Response components can operate in up to 80% relative humidity, non-condensing.
Water and fluid resistance
SMART Response components are for indoor use only and don’t meet any salt-spray or wateringress requirements. Don’t pour or spray any liquids directly onto SMART Response components.
These liquids can get into areas where they can damage sensitive electronic components.
Dust and scratching
SMART Response components are for use in office and classroom environments and are not for industrial use where heavy dust and pollutants can cause malfunctions or impaired operation. They
9
C H A P T E R 2
Getting started are designed for pollution degree 1 (P1) as per EN61558-1, which is defined as “No pollution or only dry non-conductive pollution.”
Electrostatic discharge (ESD)
SMART Response components meet the requirements of EN61000-4-2 severity level 4 for direct and indirect ESD. No malfunction or damage up to 15 kV (both polarities) with a 330 ohm, 150 pF probe
(air discharge). Unmated connectors meet 8 kV for direct (contact) discharge.
Conducted and radiated emissions
SMART Response hardware’s narrowband radiated electric field meets the limits for Class B performance, as defined in EN55022/CISPR 22.
Computer requirements
Windows operating systems
l
Pentium® 4 or later processor l
512 MB of RAM (1 GB recommended) l
Free hard disk space:
Software
SMART Notebook software
___ Gallery Essentials
___ Lesson Activity Toolkit
SMART Product Drivers
SMART Responseassessment software
SMART Sync™ Teacher software
Common platform
Total
Space required
277 MB
549 MB
111 MB
145 MB
47 MB
37 MB
62 MB
1228 MB
l
Windows® XP SP3, Windows Vista® SP2 or Windows 7 operating system l
Internet Explorer® Internet browser 6.0 or later l
Adobe®Flash® Player 10 Firefox® plug-in l
AdobeFlash Player 10 ActiveX® control for SMART Notebook software
C H A P T E R 2
Getting started l
AdobeReader® 8.0 or later l
MicrosoftDirectX® technology 8.1 or later (required for SMART Video Player)
Mac OS X operating system software
l
1.5 GHz Intel® or later processor l
1 GB of RAM l
Free hard disk space:
Software
SMART Notebook software
___ Gallery Essentials
___ Lesson Activity Toolkit
SMART Product Drivers
SMART Responseassessment software
SMART Sync Teacher software
Common platform
Total
Space required
163 MB
499 MB
70 MB
203 MB
65 MB
25 MB
257 MB
1282 MB
l
Mac OS X 10.5.8 or later operating system software l
AdobeReader 8.0 or later l
Safari application program 4.0.2 or later l
Adobe Flash Player 10 or later
N
N O T E S
o
1 MB = 1024² bytes, 1 GB = 1024³ bytes.
o
SMART Response assessment software runs on 32-bit and 64-bit operating systems.
10
C H A P T E R 2
Getting started
Connecting hardware and activating SMART
Response software
To send information to and receive information from SMART Response clickers, you must connect the SMART Response receiver to your computer. You can then check the receiver's status in
Teacher Tools.
I
I M P O R T A N T
You must activate your SMART Response software within 30 days of installation. SMART
Response software automatically activates when you connect the receiver. If the activation is not successful, use the manual procedure in this section to find your licence code and activate the software.
N
N O T E
If you're using SMART Response software in CE or VE mode, which doesn't require a receiver, see
Activating SMART Response CE software
Connecting the receiver
I
I M P O R T A N T
l
Do not connect the receiver to your computer until you have installed SMART Response software.
l
For operating safety and to prevent damage to the receiver, connect its USB connector only to a computer that has a USB compliant interface and that bears the USB logo. In addition, the USB source computer must be compliant with CSA/UL/EN 60950 and bear the CE mark and CSA and/or UL mark(s) for CSA/UL 60950.
l
The receiver has a USB 2.0 full-speed peripheral interface that runs at speeds of up to 12
Mbps. The unit works with USB 2.0- and USB 1.1-compliant USB interfaces.
Recommended height for mounting the receiver
Unlike infrared devices, SMART Response receivers don’t require an unobstructed line-of-sight transmission path, such as that required by infrared devices. You can operate SMART Response over longer distances if you minimise interference, signal reflections and the number and size of objects between the receiver and the clickers.
11
C H A P T E R 2
Getting started
Choose a location for the receiver that’s as high as possible and in plain view of the students’ clickers. For permanent installations, use a USB extender to mount the receiver high on a wall. To minimise interference from other radio-frequency equipment, position the receiver away from other wireless products, such as 2.4 GHz routers and cordless telephones.
W
W A R N I N G
To prevent product damage or personal injury, route the USB cable where it will not be stepped on or tripped over.
g
To connect the receiver
1. Position the receiver in an unobstructed location away from other wireless products, such as
2.4 GHz routers and cordless telephones.
o
For temporary installations, place the receiver on top of your desk. o
For permanent installations, mount the receiver on a wall or on the front of a piece of furniture using two screws (not provided).
Orientate the receiver with the long side or edge facing the class as shown.
12
2. Insert the receiver's captive USB cable connector into an available USB port on your computer.
The Ready light on the receiver turns on to indicate that the receiver is receiving power.
On Windows computers, the first time you connect the receiver, a balloon message appears from the notification area indicating that new hardware has been detected.
I
I M P O R T A N T
If the balloon message indicates that Windows is starting to try to locate a driver from the
Microsoft website, stop the search. If Windows does not find the driver on your computer, you did not install SMART Response software. Install the software and repeat the above
C H A P T E R 2
Getting started
3. See
Checking the receiver’s status
below to verify that the receiver is working properly.
Extending the USB cable
If the 1.8m (6') USB cable provided attached to the receiver isn’t long enough, use active USB extender cables, USB extenders or hubs.
This graphic shows the SMART active USB extension cable (Part No. USB-XT).
In some cases, you can use up to four cables to extend the length to about 25m
(80'), which is the limit of the USB specification. Passive USB extension cables aren’t supported.
Alternatively, USB extenders that use Cat 5 cabling can extend the range to approximately 100m (325') at a much higher cost. The more economical SMART
USB extender pair (Part No. CAT5-XT) can extend the USB connection up to
36.6m (120') for Windows computers or 27.5m (90') for Mac computers using an
RJ45 Cat 5 cable.
These units require that you use the 1.8m (6') cables provided or use cables and connectors that meet the same specifications. Impedance mismatches and poor connections can cause signal degradation and performance problems.
N
N O T E
Some computers use internal active hubs to provide more USB receptacles. The computer’s operating system could interpret these internal hubs as external devices, limiting the number of
USB extenders you can use.
Checking the receiver’s status
If you have connected the receiver, you're ready to start a class session. You can check the receiver’s communication status at any time using the following procedure.
g
To check the receiver’s status
1. Click the
SMART Response
icon in the Windows notification area or Mac menu bar.
A message appears below the
Configure Devices
heading indicating how many receivers are connected.
2. Click the icon below the
Configure Devices
heading.
Teacher Tools starts.
The
Devices
window appears showing a status message.
13
C H A P T E R 2
Getting started
3. If a “Your SMART Response receiver is connected and working” message appears, the
SMART Response receiver is connected and communicating with the SMART Response software. The receiver name appears below the
Devices
button.
Click
My Receiver
to display the classroom name and the make, model and hardware ID
(MAC address) of the receiver.
OR
If a “Your SMART Response receiver is not connected” message appears, the SMART
Response receiver is not connected or is not working properly. The receiver name does not appear below the
Devices
button.
Check the receiver connections or repeat the receiver installation. See
Activating SMART Response software
You must activate your SMART Response software within 30 days of installation.SMART Response software automatically activates when you connect your receiver.
l
If you are using SMART Responsesoftware in CE mode, see
l
If you are using SMART Responsesoftware in VE mode, see
Activating SMART Response VE software
N
N O T E S
l
You must connect your computer to the Internet and connect the SMART Response receiver to your computer before you can activate the software.
l
Once you have found your licence code, you don't need to connect the SMART Response receiver to the other computers that you want to activate SMART Response software on.
Once you have completed the following procedure to find your licence code, you can use the code to activate SMART Response assessment software on other computers, as outlined in the
Licence
tab in the
About SMART Response
dialogue box.
g
To find the licence code after the software is activated
1. Click the
SMART Response
icon in the Windows notification area or Mac menu bar and then select
About SMART Response
.
2. Record the licence code that appears on the
Description
tab.
14
C H A P T E R 2
Getting started g
To activate SMART Response software on other computers
1. On the other computer, click the
SMART Response
icon in the Windows notification area or Mac menu bar and then select
Check for Updates and Activation
.
The
SMART Product Update
dialogue box appears and displays the time remaining in your software's evaluation period.
N
N O T E
If your SMART Response software is already activated, the
Status (Days Left)
column shows
Activated
beside SMART Response.
2. Click
Activate
.
If your 30-day evaluation period has expired, the
SMART Response Software Evaluation
Expired
dialogue box appears. Click
Activate Now
.
If you are within the 30-day evaluation period, the
SMART Response Software Evaluation
dialogue box appears and displays the time remaining in your software evaluation period. Click
Activate Now
.
3. Type your licence code and email address and then click
Next
.
Your SMART Response software activates.
Activating SMART Response CE software
You must activate SMART Response software within 30 days of installation. Once you have installed the software, use the following procedure to activate it.
g
To activate SMART Response CE software
1. Click the
SMART Response
icon in the Windows notification area or Mac menu bar and then select
Check for Updates and Activation
.
The
SMART Product Update
dialogue box appears and displays the time remaining in your software's evaluation period.
N
N O T E
If your SMART Response software is already activated, the
Status (Days Left)
column shows
Activated
beside SMART Response.
2. Click
Activate
.
15
C H A P T E R 2
Getting started
3. Type your product key in the text box, select the
I accept
tickbox and then click
Next
.
N
N O T E
If you don't have a software licence, contact your authorised local reseller through smarttech.com/where .
Activating SMART Response VE software
You must activate SMART Response within 30 days of installation.
g
To activate SMART Response VE software
1. Click the
SMART Response
icon in the Windows notification area or Mac menu bar and then select
Check for Updates and Activation
.
The
SMART Product Update
dialogue box appears and displays the time remaining in your software's evaluation period.
N
N O T E
If your SMART Response software is already activated, the
Status (Days Left)
column shows
Activated
beside SMART Response.
2. Click
Activate
.
3. Type your product key in the text box, select the
I accept
tickbox and then click
Next
.
N
N O T E
If you don't have a software licence, contact your authorised local reseller through smarttech.com/where .
16
C H A P T E R 2
Getting started
Selecting how students answer questions
Students can answer questions using one of these options: l
SMART Response / Senteo clickers l
SMART Response PE clickers l
SMART Response LE clickers l
SMART Response XE clickers l
SMART Notebook SE software on student devices l
SMART Response VE using Internet enabled devices l
Multiple SMART Response devices, optionally including SMART Response VE
Each of these options has a corresponding mode in SMART Response software. The first time you start SMART Response software, it prompts you to select the operating mode. Subsequently, you can select the appropriate mode for the devices in your classroom using the SMART Response
Setup Tool.
N
N O T E S
l
If you have more than one type of SMART Response responding device in your classroom, you can choose Multiple SMART Response devices mode, or you can choose the mode that matches the type of device you’re using, and then use only that type of device while in that mode.
l
Some question types aren't available in all responding modes. See
on page 46 for more information.
l
Students can use SMART Response PE, SMART Response LE or SMART Response XE clickers, SMART Notebook SE (SMART Response CE) or Internet enabled devices
(SMART Response VE) while SMART Response is in Multiple SMART Response devices mode, but there are some limitations. See
Multiple SMART Response devices mode limitations
on page 19 for more information.
g
To open the SMART Response Setup Tool on a Windows computer
1. Close SMART Notebook software and Teacher Tools if they're running.
2. Click the
SMART Response
icon then select
Setup Tool
.
in the Windows notification area or Mac menu bar and
The
SMART Response Setup Tool
window opens.
17
C H A P T E R 2
Getting started g
To open the SMART Response Setup Tool on a Mac computer
1. Close SMART Notebook software and Teacher Tools if they're running.
2. Click the
SMART Response
icon then select
Setup Tool
.
in the Windows notification area or Mac menu bar and
The
SMART Response Setup Tool
window opens.
g
To select how students answer questions
1. Open the
SMART Response Setup Tool
.
2. Select one of the following options: o
SMART Response LE o
SMART Response XE o
SMART Response VE o
Multiple SMART Response devices o
Include SMART Response VE o
SMART Response PE o
SMART Response / Senteo o
SMART Notebook SE
N
N O T E S
o
Classes that are running stop automatically.
o
The SMART Notebook SE option isn't currently available for Mac OS X operating system software.
3. Click
OK
.
A message appears stating that your setup has changed. If you switch to SMART Response
VE or Multiple SMART Response devices mode, a message appears asking you to accept the terms of use. Click
I Accept
.
When you start SMART Response software, your students can answer questions using the device(s) you selected in step 2.
18
C H A P T E R 2
Getting started
Multiple SMART Response devices mode limitations
In addition to using any available SMART Response clickers, students can use
SMART Notebook SE software (SMART Response CE) or Internet enabled devices (SMART
Response VE) while SMART Response is in Multiple SMART Response Devices mode. This can be particularly useful if you have a variety of responding devices in your class.
I
I M P O R T A N T
You must be licensed to use all the devices that you want to use in Multiple SMART Response
Devices mode. See
Activating SMART Response software
Why don't I use Multiple SMART Response devices mode all the time?
When in Multiple Devices mode, SMART Responsesoftware features are limited to those that all modes share.
The following are examples of limitations when in Multiple SMART Response devices mode: l
Students are unable to answer text questions.
l
Students are unable to answer SMART Response XE maths expression questions.
l
Students can only answer the first question of an assessment when they use SMART
Response LE clickers.
l
Students are unable to answer multiple answer or mathematics questions when they use
SMART Response LE clickers.
19
C H A P T E R 2
Getting started
Starting SMART Response LE software the first time
You can use SMART Response LE in two modes: Anonymous mode and Sign-in mode. See
on page 63 for information about the operating modes..
Before you can use SMART Response LE in your classroom in Anonymous mode, you must l assign a classroom name to the receiver, which you can do by creating a .teacher file, or by starting an assessment in SMART Notebook software.
l pair the students' clickers with the SMART Response receiver.
To use SMART Response LE in Sign-in mode, in addition to the above, you must l assign clicker IDs to each student’s clicker (which you can do when you pair the clickers with the receiver).
l create a class with a class list containing the clicker IDs.
N
N O T E S
l
You’re unable to assign a classroom name whilst you install SMART Response software.
You can create a classroom name only after the software is installed and Teacher Tools starts for the first time.
l
If you created a .teacher file on another computer, you can copy it to your computer and open it instead of creating a new file.
Pairing student clickers
I
I M P O R T A N T
You must connect the receiver and start a class before you can pair the clickers with the receiver.
g
To pair clickers with the SMART Response receiver
1. If a class isn’t running, start
Teacher Tools
. See
Teacher Tools
appears.
20
C H A P T E R 2
Getting started
2. Select
Anonymous Mode
and then click
Start Class
.
The receiver’s Power light flashes and then turns solid green. The receiver’s Transmit light flashes green.
3. Press the clicker's
Power
and
Menu
buttons simultaneously for two seconds.
Teacher Mode
appears on the screen.
4. Using the clicker’s
Up
and
Down
buttons, select
Scan & Pick
and then press
Enter
.
The clicker searches for available classrooms.
5. Use the clicker’s
Up
and
Down
buttons to select your class from the list and then press
Enter
.
If your connection is successful, a “Paired With RCV” message appears.
6. Use the
Up
and
Down
buttons to select
Exit
, or hold down the clicker’s
Power
button to turn off the clicker.
7. Repeat steps 3 to 6 for the rest of your clickers.
You’re now ready to start a class and ask questions in Anonymous mode. See
on the next page to ask single questions, or see
Adding questions using the Insert
on page 48 to create assessments.
Assigning clicker IDs
Before your students can connect and use their clickers, you must program each student’s clicker with a unique clicker ID number. When your students connect to a class, SMART Response software checks their clicker ID's against the class list to determine whether they are valid members of the class.
If their clicker IDs aren't in the class list, the clickers don't connect.
g
To program clicker IDs into the clickers
1. If the clicker is turned on, press the clicker's
Power
button to turn it off.
2. Press the clicker's
Power
and
Menu
buttons simultaneously.
Teacher Mode
appears on the clicker’s screen.
3. Use the
Up
and
Down
buttons to scroll to
Clicker ID
and then press
Enter
.
21
C H A P T E R 2
Getting started
4. Use the
Up
and
Down
buttons to select a unique number between 1 and 199 and then press the
Menu
button.
I
I M P O R T A N T
Each clicker's ID must be unique and must correspond to the student’s clicker ID in your class list. See
5. Use the
Up
and
Down
buttons to scroll to
Exit
and then press
Enter
.
The clicker starts and is ready to use.
6. Repeat steps 1 to 5 for every clicker in your class.
Asking instant questions
Use the Instant Question feature to introduce the SMART Response interactive response system to your students. Instant questions are individual questions that you ask spontaneously—they are not part of an assessment. When you use the Instant Questions feature, you are unable to type a question or assign a correct answer.
You can ask an instant question verbally, write or type it on an interactive whiteboard and add objects directly onto the SMART Notebook page.
N
N O T E
Ensure that you start your class and that all students are connected before you ask an instant question.
g
To ask individual questions using the Instant Question feature
1. Click the
SMART Response
icon in the Windows notification area or the Mac menu bar and then select
Open Notebook Software
.
A blank SMART Notebook page appears.
2. Click the
Insert Question
icon on the toolbar.
T
T I P
If
Insert Question
isn't on the toolbar, you can right-click the toolbar and add it.
3. Click one of the
Instant Question
buttons.
The
Instant Question
dialogue box appears asking whether you want to insert the question on this page or on a new page.
22
C H A P T E R 2
Getting started
4. Select one of the options.
T
T I P
If you want to use the same option by default, select the
Always perform this action
option. You can change the default in the
Preferences
menu.
A SMART Notebook page appears showing the possible answers to the question. The
Response
tab changes to
Single Question
and the
Progress
button is selected.
The question starts automatically and appears on the student's display.
N
N O T E
If you haven't started a class, a message appears asking you to select a class. Select a class and then click
Start Class
.
5. Present your question to the class.
6. Once all the students have answered the question, click
Stop this question
.
7. To save the results, click
Save
.
To add another question without clearing the results of the previous question, don't click
Clear
and then repeat steps 2 to 6.
Setting up Teacher Tools
With Teacher Tools, you can l check the status and performance of the receivers, clickers and students.
l select Sign In mode or Anonymous mode of operation.
l manage class lists.
l start classes so that students can sign in.
When you open Teacher Tools for the first time, you create a SMART Teacher file. You can later edit the SMART Teacher file and adjust the privacy options.
23
C H A P T E R 2
Getting started
Starting Teacher Tools
When you start Teacher Tools for the first time, it opens to the
Welcome to Teacher Tools
view where you can create a SMART Teacher file, manage class lists, generate class or student performance reports and perform many other tasks.
l
If this is the first time that you're starting SMART Response software in LE mode, see
SMART Response LE software the first time
g
To start Teacher Tools
Click the
SMART Response
icon in the Windows notification area or Mac menu bar and then select the icon below the
Teacher Tools
heading.
Teacher Tools
appears in
Gradebook
view.
N
N O T E
If SMART Notebook software is open, you can also start Teacher Tools by selecting
Response >
Teacher Tools
.
Starting Teacher Tools in CE mode using SMART Sync Class List Server
When SMART Response software is in CE mode (using SMART Notebook SE software) and connected to a SMART Sync Class List Server and you start Teacher Tools, a
Welcome
dialogue box appears. You can select one of the teacher names in the dialogue box to load the Administered
Teacher's class information into Teacher Tools. See
Using SMART Sync Class List Server class lists
on page 35 for more information.
Creating a SMART Teacher file
If you want to save all of your class lists and assessment results, you need to create a SMART
Teacher file. Your SMART Teacher file also enables your students to find and connect to your classes when they connect in Sign In mode.
If you need to, you can create additional SMART Teacher files once you have created the initial one.
g
To create a SMART Teacher file the first time you use SMART Response software
1. Click the
SMART Response
icon in the Windows notification area or Mac menu bar and then select the icon below the
Teacher Tools
heading.
The
Welcome to Teacher Tools
wizard appears.
24
C H A P T E R 2
Getting started
N
N O T E
The wizard appears only if you haven't created a SMART Teacher file.
2. Type your name and other information in the text boxes. The
Save
button is unavailable until you provide all the required information.
3. Click
Save
.
A
Save As
dialogue box appears.
4. Type a file name and then click
Save
.
The .teacher file saves and the
Gradebook
window appears displaying the teacher’s name.
g
To create an additional SMART Teacher file
1. Start
Teacher Tools
. See
Teacher Tools appears.
2. Select
File > New
.
The
Gradebook Information
screen appears.
3. Type your information in the text boxes and then click
Save
.
4. Browse to where you want to save your SMART Teacher file and then click
Save
.
Editing your SMART Teacher file
The first time that you started SMART Response Teacher Tools, you created a SMART Teacher file to let your students find and connect to your class. See
You can use the following steps to change the information in your SMART Teacher file.
g
To edit your SMART Teacher file
1. Start
Teacher Tools
. See
Teacher Tools
appears.
N
N O T E
You're unable to edit your classroom name if a class is running.
2. Click
Edit
beside the Gradebook name.
25
C H A P T E R 2
Getting started
The
Edit Gradebook Information
window appears.
3. Edit the information and then click
Done
.
Adjusting privacy and alert options
You can set the level of student information that appears on your display and define whether you want student sign-in and sign-out alerts to appear.
Using Privacy mode
By default, SMART Response software displays student information such as ID numbers and grades. If you don't want to display sensitive information in front of your class you can turn Privacy mode on.
g
To hide private information
Click the
Privacy: Off
button in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.
g
To display private information
Click the
Privacy: On
button in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.
Changing alerts
You can set SMART Response software to display an alert message on your screen when students sign in or out.
N
N O T E
Alerts appear only when the SMART Response Desktop menu is running.
g
To set sign-in and sign-out alerts
1. Start Teacher Tools. See
Teacher Tools
appears.
2. Select
Edit > Preferences
(Windows computers) or
Teacher Tools > Preferences
(Mac computers) from the menu bar.
The
SMART Response Preferences
dialogue box appears.
3. Click the
Alerts
tab.
4. Select or clear the tickboxes for the alerts that you want to display or hide, and then click
OK
.
26
C H A P T E R 2
Getting started
Applying encryption methods
You can set SMART Response CE software to use SSL or Diffie-Hellman encryption. SSL encryption allows other programs to access SMART Response CE software. Diffie-Hellman encryption (the default method) doesn't allow other programs to access SMART Response CE software.
N
N O T E
The system administrator can override this setting.
g
To apply an encryption method
1. Start Teacher Tools. See
Teacher Tools
appears.
2. Select
Edit > Preferences
(Windows computers) or
Teacher Tools > Preferences
(Mac computers) from the menu bar.
The
SMART Response Preferences
dialogue box appears.
3. Click the
Encryption
tab.
4. Select
Diffie Hellman
or
SSL Digital Certificate
from the
Method
drop-down list.
If you selected
SSL Digital Certificate
, additional options appear: o
Select
Automatically generated certificate
if you want SMART Response CE software to generate and use a security certificate.
o
Select
Imported certificate
and then browse to and select the certificate that you want to import, to use an existing certificate.
5. Click
OK
.
Configuring service ports
You can specify the ports SMART Response CE software uses for the file data channel and encrypted data channel, or set the software to use random ports.
g
To specify the service ports
1. Start
Teacher Tools
. See
Teacher Tools
appears.
27
C H A P T E R 2
Getting started
2. Select
Edit > Preferences
(Windows computers) or
Teacher Tools > Preferences
(Mac computers) from the menu bar.
The
SMART Response Preferences
dialogue box appears.
3. Click the
Networking
tab.
4. Clear the
Randomise
tickboxes beside the
Encrypted data channel
and
File data channel
boxes if they're selected and then type the port numbers that you want to use.
5. Click
OK
.
g
To use random service ports
1. Start
Teacher Tools
. See
Teacher Tools
appears.
2. Select
Edit > Preferences
(Windows computers) or
Teacher Tools > Preferences
(Mac computers) from the menu bar.
The
SMART Response Preferences
dialogue box appears.
3. Click the
Networking
tab.
4. Select the
Randomise
tickbox beside the
Encrypted data channel
or
File data channel
boxes.
5. Click
OK
.
Creating a class list
Before you can start a class in Sign In mode, you must have a class list. You can use Teacher Tools to create a list, or you can import one from a Microsoft Excel® or comma separated values (CSV) file.
N
N O T E
You don't need to create a class list if you're starting the class in Anonymous mode. For more information, see
About Sign In and Anonymous modes
28
C H A P T E R 2
Getting started
Creating a class list in Teacher Tools
g
To create a class list
1. Start
Teacher Tools
. See
Teacher Tools
appears.
2. Click
Add a Class
in the
Gradebook
area on the left.
3. Type a name for your class (for example, Maths), add any optional details in the
Class
Information
boxes and then click
Add
.
After a short delay, the new class's window appears and the class name appears in the
Gradebook
area.
4. Click the
Students
tab at the top of the window.
5. Click
Add
on the toolbar.
The
Properties
window appears below the table.
6. If you are using SMART Response LE clickers, type a unique number between 1 and 199 in the
Clicker ID
box.
N
N O T E
The clicker IDs in the class list must correspond with the IDs programmed into the student clickers.
7. Type a unique 1 to 15 digit ID in the
Student ID
box.
8. Type a student's name in the
Name
boxes. The student's email address and tags are optional.
You can also type name and ID information directly in the table.
N
N O T E
You can use tags to categorise the students in custom groupings that
SMART Responsesoftware uses when you create student reports.
The student information is saved to the class list as you type it.
9. Repeat these steps for each student.
29
C H A P T E R 2
Getting started
Importing a class list from Excel®
I
I M P O R T A N T
This feature is supported by SMART Response software for Windows operating systems only.
If you use Microsoft Excel to maintain class lists, you can import an .xls or .xlsx file into Teacher
Tools to create a SMART Response class list. You might find it easier to copy the list of names in your current Excel document into a new spreadsheet.
Creating class lists for all modes except LE
Use the following procedure to create class lists for classes that don't use LE clickers.
g
To create a class list in an Excel spreadsheet
1. Open the Excel spreadsheet that contains your students' names.
2. Insert a blank row at the top of the spreadsheet if it doesn't already have one.
3. Type
ID Number
in the first cell (A1).
4. Type
First Name
in the first cell of the second column (B1).
5. Type
Last Name
in the first cell of the third column (C1).
6. Move the first and last names into the columns directly below the headings.
7. In column A, type a unique 1 to 15 digit ID number for each student.
E X A M P L E
A B C
1 ID Number First Name Last name
2 1234
3 6789
David
Jane
Jones
Doe
4 5678
5 3456
John
Mary
Swartz
Smith
8. Save the spreadsheet.
Creating class lists for LE mode
Use the following procedure to create class lists for classes that use LE clickers.
30
C H A P T E R 2
Getting started g
To create a class list in an Excel spreadsheet
1. Open the Excel spreadsheet that contains your students' names.
2. Insert a blank row at the top of the spreadsheet if it doesn't already have one.
3. Type
ID Number
in the first cell (A1).
4. Type
Clicker ID
in the first cell of the second column (B1).
5. Type
First Name
in the first cell of the third column (C1).
6. Type
Last Name
in the first cell of the fourth column (D1).
7. Move the first and last names into the columns directly below the headings.
8. In column A, type a unique 1 to 15 digit ID number for each student.
9. In column B, type a unique clicker ID from 1 to 199 for each student's clicker.
E X A M P L E
A B C D
1 ID Number Clicker ID First Name Last name
2 12345 1 David Jones
3 67890
4 56789
5 34567
2
3
4
Jane
John
Mary
Doe
Swartz
Smith
N
N O T E S
o
The clicker ID must match the ID programmed into the student’s clicker. See
o
If you don’t include a
Clicker ID
column in the spreadsheet, SMART Response software will insert sequential Clicker IDs into the class list. You must then match the clicker IDs to the clickers either by editing the class list or by re-programming the clickers.
10. Save the spreadsheet.
31
C H A P T E R 2
Getting started
Importing the class list
g
To import a class list from an Excel spreadsheet
1. Start
Teacher Tools
. See
Teacher Tools
appears.
2. Click
Add a Class
in the
Gradebook
area on the left.
3. Type a name for your class, add any optional details to the
Class Information
boxes and then click
Add
.
After a short delay, the new class's window appears and the class name appears in the
Gradebook
area.
4. Click the
Students
tab at the top of the window.
5. Click the
Import
button at the top of the window and then select
Students
.
The
Import
dialogue box appears.
6. Select the class that you want to import the student list into and then click
Next
.
7. Select
Microsoft Excel
from the
Import from
list and then click
Next
.
8. Browse to and select the .xls or .xlsx file containing the class list and then click
Open
.
After a short delay, the names and IDs from the spreadsheet appear in the
Students
page. You can now edit each student's properties, as required.
Importing a class list from a CSV file
If you use a database or spreadsheet program to maintain class lists, you may be able to export class lists as comma separated values (CSV) files. Refer to your database or spreadsheet program's Help or user's guide for more information.
Creating class lists for all modes except LE
Use the following procedure to create class lists for classes that don't use LE clickers.
g
To create a class list in CSV format
After exporting your class list as a CSV file, format your file in a text editor so that the first three values are
ID Number
,
First Name
and
Last Name
as shown below.
32
C H A P T E R 2
Getting started
E X A M P L E
ID Number,First Name,Last Name,
12345,John,Doe,
54321,Jane,Doe,
56789,Bob,Jones,
98765,Barb,White
For more information, see
Creating class lists for LE mode
Use the following procedure to create class lists for classes that use LE clickers.
g
To create a class list in CSV format
After exporting your class list as a CSV file, format your file in a text editor so that the first four values are
ID Number
,
Clicker ID
,
First Name
and
Last Name
as shown below.
E X A M P L E
ID Number,Clicker ID,First Name,Last Name,
12345,1,John,Doe,
54321,2,Jane,Doe,
56789,3,Bob,Jones,
98765,4,Barb,White
For more information, see
g
To import a class list from a CSV file
1. Start
Teacher Tools
. See
Teacher Tools
appears.
2. Click
Add a Class
in the
Gradebook
area on the left.
3. Type a name for your class, add any optional details to the
Class Information
boxes and then click
Add
.
After a short delay, the new class's window appears and the class name appears in the
Gradebook
area.
4. Click the
Students
tab at the top of the window.
5. Click the
Import
button at the top of the window and then select
Students
.
The
Import
dialogue box appears.
33
C H A P T E R 2
Getting started
6. Select the class that you want to import the student list into and then click
Next
.
7. Select
Comma Separated Values (CSV)
from the
Import from
list and then click
Next
.
8. Browse to and select the CSV file containing the class list and then click
Open
.
After a short delay, the names and IDs from your CSV file appear in the
Students
page. You can now edit each student's properties, as required.
CSV file formatting
Tips for formatting CSV files for importing class lists
The following is the general format that you should use for CSV files:
The order of the columns is not important, but the first row must contain the column headings identifying what is in each column.
l
You must have a column with the heading
ID Number
.
o
You must put a single space between
ID
and
Number
.
o
In place of ID Number, you can use
ID
,
Student ID
or
Number
.
o
If you don't use a correct column name for the
ID Number
, the software is unable to import the list.
l
Specify student first and last names in separate columns.
o
For the student's given name, use
First Name
for the column heading.
o
For the student's family name, use
Last Name
for the column heading.
o
You must put a single space between
First
(or
Last
) and
Name
.
o
In place of First Name, you can use
Given Name
.
o
In place of Last Name you can use
Last
,
Family Name
or
Surname
.
34
C H A P T E R 2
Getting started l
You can also use the heading
Full Name
to import a single value that combines the first and last names.
o
You must put a single space between
Full
and
Name
.
o
In place of Full Name, you can use
Full
or
Name
.
o
If you use
Full Name
, the software checks to see whether the first and last names are separated by a comma (Last, First). If there isn't a comma, it separates the names with a space (First Last).
o
If you put three or more names with spaces between them, the software uses the last word as the last name and joins all of the first words to form the first name. For example,
"Michael John Smith" is split with the last name as Smith, and the first name as Michael
John.
N
N O T E
If your spreadsheet or database software automatically inserts quotation marks around the comma separated values, the software ignores them and the import works correctly.
Using SMART Sync Class List Server class lists
When you use SMART Response software in CE mode, you can use class list information from a
SMART Sync Class List Server instead of using a class list you created using Teacher Tools.
Teachers using SMART Sync can create class list information and store it on their SMART Sync
Class List Server. When you start SMART Response Teacher Tools, you can then select which teacher's class information to use for your class.
Alternatively, teachers using SMART Sync software can start a SMART Response class using their class information.
Editing a class list
Once you have created a class list, you can use Teacher Tools to edit it.
N
N O T E S
l
You're unable to edit a class list or remove students from it if a class is running. However, you can add students and import class lists once a class has started.
l
When you use SMART Response in CE mode whilst connected to a SMART Sync Class
List Server, you can't make changes to the class list information stored on the server.
35
C H A P T E R 2
Getting started
Editing student information
N
N O T E
You’re unable to edit student information if a class is running.
g
To edit student information
1. Start
Teacher Tools
. See
Teacher Tools
appears.
2. Select the class from the
Gradebook
area on the left.
3. Click the
Students
tab.
The class list appears.
4. Select the student whose information you want to edit.
The
Properties
tab appears below the class list.
5. Type the changes into the
Properties
boxes.
6. Repeat steps 4 and 5 for each student.
Adding students to a class list
g
To add a student to a class list
1. Start Teacher Tools. See
Teacher Tools
appears.
2. Select the class from the
Gradebook
area on the left.
3. Click the
Students
tab.
The class list appears.
4. Click
Add
on the toolbar.
The
Properties
tab appears below the class list.
36
C H A P T E R 2
Getting started
5. Type a unique number of 1 to 15 digits in the
Student ID
box.
N
N O T E S
o
If you are using SMART Response in CE mode, you can use up to 40 alphanumeric characters in the
Student ID
box.
o
Students with alphanumeric IDs or IDs of more than 15 characters can't sign in using a clicker or Internet-enabled devices (VE mode).
The student information is saved to the class list as you type it.
6. Type a student's name in the
Name
boxes. The student's email address and tags are optional.
You can also type name and ID information directly in the table.
T
T I P
You can use tags to categorise the students in custom groupings that SMART Response software uses when you create student reports. See
7. Repeat steps 4 to 6 for each student.
Removing students from a class list
N
N O T E
You're unable to remove students from a class list if a class is running.
g
To remove a student from a class list
1. Start
Teacher Tools
. See
Teacher Tools
appears.
2. Select the class from the
Gradebook
area on the left.
3. Click the
Students
tab.
The class list appears.
4. Select the student who you want to remove and then click
Delete
on the toolbar.
A message appears asking you to confirm the deletion.
5. Click
Yes
.
37
C H A P T E R 2
Getting started
Tagging students
You can use tags to identify groups or categories of students. SMART Response software uses the tags to sort student results when you generate class performance reports. For example, if you assign the tags “Senior” and “Junior” to the students, SMART Response software adds a chart to the report, with one bar for each of the two tags.
You can assign multiple tags to a student by separating the tags with a semicolon (;), for example
“Senior;Honours” and “Junior;Honours”. In this case, SMART Response software adds a chart to the report, with three bars (one each for “Senior”, “Junior” and “Honours”).
You can also create tag subcategories by separating the tags with a colon (:). An example would be
“Gender:Male” and “Gender:Female”. In this case, SMART Response software generates a single report section for “Gender” showing data grouped in “Male” and “Female” subcategories.
Changing a class's pass grade
When you create a class list, you define the pass grade for the class. You can change that grade later if you want.
g
To change a class's pass grade
1. Start
Teacher Tools
. See
Teacher Tools
appears.
2. Select the class from the
Gradebook
area on the left.
3. Click
Edit
beside the class name.
The
Edit Class Information
window appears.
4. Edit the
Passing Grade
value and then click
Done
.
38
Chapter 3:
39
Chapter 3
Using SMART Response software
SMART Notebook with SMART Response software
Setting SMART Response preferences in SMART Notebook software
Adding content pages to the assessment
Adding questions to the assessment
Adding questions using the Insert Question wizard
About intelligent expression marking
Importing questions from a Word document
Example Word document question formats
Importing questions from an XML or SQZ file
Importing questions from a PDF file
Importing questions from ExamView HTML
About ExamView HTML question importing
Setting answers for imported questions
Starting and connecting to a class
About Sign In and Anonymous modes
Starting a class in Anonymous mode
Starting a class in Sign In mode
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
Manually connecting to a class
Disconnecting students from a class
Disconnecting individual clickers using Teacher Tools
Students disconnecting manually
About SMART Response PE clickers
Changing SMART Response PE clicker settings
Answering true or false questions
Answering multiple choice questions
Answering multiple answer questions
Answering number, fraction or decimal questions
Answering text answer questions
About SMART Response LE clickers
About SMART Response XE clickers
Reviewing results after an assessment
Previewing results during an assessment
40
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
About SMART Notebooksoftware
Use SMART Notebook collaborative learning software to save notes written on a SMART interactive product or at your computer as a series of pages. You can use SMART Notebook software to create a presentation full of colourful clip art, graphics, text and Adobe Flash Player compatible files. Then you can present that SMART Notebook file, keeping your audience’s attention as you move and interact with these objects. When your audience provides comments and suggestions, write their input on a page using the pen tray tools or the pen buttons in SMART Notebooksoftware.
Because SMART Notebook software works on many platforms, you can share files created on a
Windows computer with people who use a Mac computer. You can also export your
SMART Notebook file as a cross-platform HTML or PDF file, or as a series of image files.
SMART Notebook with SMART Response software
The integration of SMART Response software with SMART Notebook software means that you can create question sets, import questions from Microsoft Word or XML files and start and stop question sessions directly from SMART Notebook software. You can export the class’s and individual students’ results to a Microsoft Excel file or an HTML page. Using SMART Response software’s printing feature, create handout materials, copies of the questions and graded results pages for each student and for the class. This section introduces the SMART Response software features in
SMART Notebook software. For more information about using other SMART Notebook features, refer to SMART Notebook’s online Help or the SMART website.
Setting SMART Response preferences in SMART Notebook software
You can customise the default behaviour of some of SMART Notebook software's SMART
Response features.
g
To define how SMART Response software inserts instant questions
1. Select
Response > Preferences
from the
SMART Notebook
menu bar.
2. If you want the
Insert Question
button to insert the question on a SMART Notebook page that already has notes or images on it, select
Insert on the current page when possible
.
If you want to create a new page containing your question, select
Always insert on a new page
.
If you want SMART Response software to ask you each time, select
Always ask before inserting
(default setting).
41
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software g
To define the Response tab options
1. Select
Response > Preferences
from the
SMART Notebook
menu bar.
2. Select
Pie Chart
or
Bar Chart
In the
Default chart type for tab results
drop-down list to define the type of results chart that you want to display by default.
3. If you want to display the
Response
tab immediately after you start an assessment so you can immediately monitor the progress of the assessment, select
Show the Response tab when you start an assessment
.
If you want to display the
Response
tab immediately after you stop an assessment so you can immediately display the assessment results, select
Show the Response tab when you stop an assessment
.
42
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
Creating assessments
You can use SMART Notebook software to create assessments.
Creating an assessment
By creating assessments, you can collect results for each question and for the entire assessment at the same time. You can define feedback options that show whether students answered correctly, what the correct answer was and how the class performed on the question or the entire assessment.
You can install SMART Response software on any computer to create question sets that you can later copy to and run on the computer system in your classroom.
N
N O T E
You're unable to run assessment files on a computer with standard SMART Notebook software installed. You must have SMART Notebook software that includes SMART Response software.
g
To create an assessment
1. Click the
SMART Response
icon then select
Open Notebook Software
.
in the Windows notification area or Mac menu bar and
A blank SMART Notebook page appears.
2. Click the
Response
tab.
T
T I P
On Windows computers, you can clear the
Auto-hide
option to keep the options visible whilst you work on your assessment.
3. Click
Title Page
.
The
Insert Title Page
dialogue box appears.
4. In the top text box, type a title for your assessment.
5. Select the type of assessment you want to create and then click
Add
. Optionally, you can type
Subject and Topic information.
Title page information appears on the SMART Notebook page and the
Response
tab displays several options that enable you to customise your assessment.
43
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software g
To edit the assessment title page and description
1. On the SMART Notebook page, double-click the title, grade, subject or date text to change its properties or edit the text.
2. Click the
Response
tab.
3. In the
Description
area, edit the options that you defined when you created the assessment.
N
N O T E
If you edit the SMART Notebook page, the
Description
information doesn't change.
Similarly, if you edit the
Description
information, the SMART Notebook page doesn't change.
g
To add question and content pages to your assessment
See
Adding questions to the assessment
Adding content pages to the assessment
g
To save your assessment
1. Click
Save
.
A
Save As
dialogue box appears.
2. Browse to a folder, type a file name and then click
Save
.
Adding content pages to the assessment
You can add content pages anywhere in your assessment to introduce questions or provide background information.
g
To add a content page
1. Create your assessment. See
information.
2. Click the
Page Sorter
tab and then select the page that you want to insert a content page after.
3. Click the
Response
tab.
4. Click the
Next Steps
tab.
5. Click
Make the next page a content page
.
A blank page appears.
44
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
6. Use SMART Notebook's tools to add text, images or Adobe Flash Player compatible files from the Gallery.
Defining feedback options
Feedback options allow you to show your students their individual grades, the correct answers and the class average.
N
N O T E
The feedback options available vary depending on the SMART Response mode.
Feedback option
Once you have stopped collecting responses
Once all questions are answered
Once each question is answered
Description
The students can see how they answered and see their marks once you click
Stop
.
If you select this option, you can also choose to show the correct answers with marks and show class average.
The students can see how they answered and see their marks once they have finished answering all questions.
If you select this option, you can also choose to show the correct answers with marks and show the class average.
The students can see how they answered each question and see their marks once they have finished answering all questions.
If you select this option, you can also choose to show the correct answers with marks and show class average.
The students can't see how they answered or their marks.
Don't show students their marks
Don't allow students to save assessment
Students using SMART Notebook SE software can't save the assessment to their binders once they have finished.
g
To define feedback options
1. Create your assessment. See
on page 43 for more information.
2. On the
Response
tab for the assessment's title page, select one of the options described in the previous table from the
Show results to students
drop-down list.
45
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
Adding questions to the assessment
SMART Response supports up to seven question types depending on the device that students use to answer questions.
You can add questions to the assessment using the Insert Question wizard or by importing questions from a Microsoft Word document, XML file, SQZ file, PDF file (Mac only) or ExamView® HTML file.
Once you have created a question, you can add choices to it or tag it.
About question types
Using SMART Response software, you can ask the following types of questions either individually or as question sets. You can also add notes to any question type that appears when you print the question results.
N
N O T E S
l
Opinion questions do not have a correct answer and are not worth points.
l
If you include a question of a type that isn't supported in the SMART Response mode you're using, the question appears with an
Unsupported Question Type
icon in the
Page Sorter
tab in SMART Notebook software.
Question type
Description
Yes or no Students use the
Y
(green on
LE clickers) or
N
(red on LE clickers) button to answer a question. You can also choose the
Opinion
option to allow either answer.
True or false
Students use the
True
(green on LE clickers) or
False
(red on LE clickers) button to answer a question. You can also choose the
Opinion
option to allow either answer.
Students can answer with
Std.
PE LE NBSE XE VE Multi
46
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
Question type
Description
Multiple choice
Multiple answer
Students use a single button,
A
to
J
, to answer the question. Select from 2 to 10 answers (2 to 5 answers for
LE clickers) for a question.
You can also choose the
Opinion
option to allow any answer.
Students use the
A
to
J
buttons to select the correct combination of answers to the question. Select from 2 to
10 answers for the question.
You can also choose the
Opinion
option to allow any combination of answers.
Number, fraction or decimal
Students use the number buttons to answer questions with numeric answers using whole numbers, fractions or decimals. You can also choose the
Opinion
option to allow any answer.
Text answer
Students type the answer to the question. You can choose the
Opinion
option to allow any answer. There is a 20-character limit on text answer questions.
Number, fraction or
Students use maths symbols and numeric values to expression answer the question. There is a 30-character limit on expression answers.
Students can answer with
Std.
PE LE NBSE XE VE Multi
47
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
Adding questions using the Insert Question wizard
With SMART Notebook software, you can ask your students questions and collect their answers.
g
To add a question using the Insert Question wizard
1. Click the
SMART Response
icon then select
Open Notebook Software
.
in the Windows notification area or Mac menu bar and
A blank SMART Notebook page appears.
2. Click
Insert Question
on the toolbar.
T
T I P
If
Insert Question
isn't on the toolbar, you can right-click the toolbar and add it.
The
Insert Question
wizard appears.
3. Click the thumbnail of the question type that you want to add and then click
Next
.
4. Type the question in the text box.
5. If you use tags to create categories in your reports, type them in the
Tags
box using the examples and then click
Next
.
6. For yes or no and true or false questions, select the correct answer or the
Opinion
option.
For number, fraction or expression questions, type the correct answer or select the
Opinion
option.
For multiple choice or multiple answer questions, select the number of answers, type the answers in the text boxes, click
Next
and then select the correct answers or the
Opinion
option.
For text answer questions, type one to four acceptable answers or select the
Opinion
option.
See Note 1 below.
For number, fraction or expression questions, use the expression editor to create the expression question and then use the editor to create a correct expression answer. See Note 2 below.
7. Type the number of points the student receives for a correct answer.
T
T I P
The value can be a whole or decimal number.
8. If you want to create more questions, click
Insert Another
and then repeat steps 2 to 7.
48
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
9. Click
Finish
.
10. Optionally, use SMART Notebook's tools to add images or Adobe Flash Player compatible files from the Gallery.
N
N O T E S
1. Text answer questions are case-sensitive. You can enter up to four answers to support different capitalisations (for example, "iron", "Iron" and "IRON").
2. SMART Response XE software's intelligent expression grading feature compares the student responses to the correct expression answer to determine whether it is equivalent based on the
Intelligent Grading
settings you define. See
About intelligent expression marking
About intelligent expression marking
When you create an expression question and correct answer, intelligent expression marking accepts multiple representations of that answer expression as correct.
A student’s answer is always marked correct if it: l matches the question's correct answer exactly.
l has a different representation, but is mathematically equivalent and uses the same terms and operators in the same order as the question's correct answer.
You can use intelligent marking options to decide which other mathematically equivalent answers to accept as correct. The following graphic shows the three levels of equivalency that you can define for your questions.
49
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
The following table shows examples of how SMART Response software's intelligent expression marking compares expression answers to the question's correct expression answer.
50
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
The following table shows examples of how student answers would be marked depending on which equivalency option you chose.
51
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
Creating answer keys
If you already have a quiz or assessment in another format, such as in a hardcopy format, or in a multimedia file, you can create an answer key for that assessment to record the assessment's progress and student's marks. You can then use SMART Response tools to generate, export and print assessment and student reports.
When you create an answer key you create a SMART Notebook file containing a series of SMART
Response question pages showing possible answers to your assessment questions but without question content. When you start your assessment, students can use SMART Response devices to answer the questions at their own pace.
N
N O T E
The question options available when you create your answer key change depending on which
SMART Response operating mode you are using. See
Selecting how students answer questions
g
To create an answer key
1. Click
Response > Create Answer Key
.
The
Create Answer Key
dialogue box appears.
2. Type a title in the
Title
box.
3. Select an option from the
Type
drop down list.
4. Select the thumbnail for the type of question that you want.
The correct answer options available depend on the question type that you select.
5. Select or type the correct answer, or the
Opinion
option for this question.
6. Adjust the points value and create tags for this question, if required.
7. If you selected
Multiple answer
,
Text
or
Number, fraction, expression
questions in step 4, click
Add
.
The
Questions
table updates showing your selection.
8. Repeat steps 4 to 7 for each question.
9. Click
Create
.
SMART Notebook software adds pages for each question, preceded by a title page.
10. Click
File > Save As
, type a file name and then click
Save
.
52
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
You can now start the assessment and ask the students to respond to the questions. Refer to
Starting and connecting to a class
on page 63 for information. You can edit your answer key using the
same procedures found in
Adding questions to the assessment
Importing questions from a Word document
I
I M P O R T A N T
This feature is supported on SMART Response software for Windows computers only.
When you import questions from a Microsoft Word document, SMART Response software's conversion utility uses a variety of techniques to identify which paragraphs are questions, which paragraphs are possible answers and what type of question to create from the given information. Its most basic technique is to interpret the numbering of the paragraphs. The software also searches for key words when parsing the paragraphs. The software then converts the paragraphs into SMART
Notebook assessment pages. See
Example Word document question formats
more information.
N
N O T E
SMART Response software is unable to provide the correct answers to imported questions.
g
To import questions from a Word document
1. Click the
SMART Response
icon
Notebook Software
.
in the Windows notification area and then select
A blank SMART Notebook page appears.
2. Select
Response > Import Question From > Microsoft Word
.
Open
The
Open
dialogue box appears.
3. Browse to and select the Word document and then click
Open
.
A progress bar appears and closes when the conversion is complete.
4. In the
Page Sorter
tab, select the thumbnail for the title page.
5. Optionally, edit and customise the title page and description.
6. In the
Page Sorter
tab, select the thumbnail for the first question page and check it carefully to verify that the conversion process was successful.
7. Repeat step 6 for all questions in the assessment.
Once you have imported the questions, see
Setting answers for imported questions
53
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
Example Word document question formats
The following list of questions is an example of how to format your Word document before you import it into SMART Response software.
N
N O T E
Some SMART Response modes don't support all of the following example question types. See
Selecting how students answer questions
on page 17 for more information.
1. According to the US Census Bureau, the majority of underprivileged children live in: a. urban areas b. suburban areas c. rural areas
2. Can you fill a 10 L aquarium with five 2 L pitchers of water?
Yes
No
3. True or false: Half of all even whole numbers are divisible by 4.
True
False
4. Let x = 3. Compute y from the equation below.
y = 20 - 4x
Answer: ____________________________
5. Which Native American group lived in the highlighted area on the map?
a. Kwakiutl b. Sioux c. Iroquois
N
N O T E
Ensure that you format the questions in your Word document like the ones in these examples before you import the file. In most cases, the import utility ignores headers and footers in the Word document.
54
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
Importing questions from an XML or SQZ file
SMART Response software includes an import feature for converting questions from ExamView format XML files or SMART Sync software SQZ files into question sets. SMART Response software uses the tags in the XML and SQZ files to extract questions, answers and correct responses, and then converts the information into assessment pages.
I
I M P O R T A N T
You must have or create an ExamView formatted XML text file or a SMART Sync software SQZ file before you can perform this procedure. Binary ExamView formatted files are not supported.
g
To import questions from an XML or SQZ file
1. Click the
SMART Response
icon then select
Open Notebook Software
.
in the Windows notification area or Mac menu bar and
A blank SMART Notebook page appears.
2. Select
Response > Import Question From > XML
.
The
Open
dialogue box appears.
3. Browse to and select an XML or SQZ file and then click
Open
.
A progress bar appears, followed by the title page for the new question set.
4. In the
Page Sorter
tab, select the thumbnail for the first question page.
5. Add a title page to the assessment and then customise the page and description as desired.
6. Edit and customise the first question page as desired.
Check the question carefully, including the correct answer (see below), to verify that the conversion process was successful.
7. Repeat step 6 for all questions in the set.
8. Click
Save
.
A
Save As
dialogue box appears.
9. Browse to a folder, type a name for the file and then click
Save
.
Once you have imported the questions, see
Setting answers for imported questions
55
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
Importing questions from a PDF file
I
I M P O R T A N T
This feature is available only with SMART Response for Mac computers.
When you import questions from a PDF file, the SMART Response conversion utility interprets the numbering of the paragraphs. The software also recognises key words when parsing the paragraphs.
The software then converts the paragraphs into SMART Notebook assessment pages.
I
I M P O R T A N T
Ensure that you format the questions in your PDF file like the ones in
on the next page before you begin this procedure.
g
To import questions from a PDF file
1. Click the
SMART Response
Software
.
icon in the Mac menu bar and then select
A blank SMART Notebook page appears.
Open Notebook
2. Select
Response > Import Question From > PDF File
.
The
Open
dialogue box appears.
3. Browse to and select the PDF file and then Click
Open
.
A progress bar appears and closes when the conversion is complete.
4. In the
Page Sorter
tab, select the thumbnail of the title page.
5. Edit and customise the title page and description.
6. Edit and customise the first question page.
7. Check the question carefully to verify that the conversion process was successful.
8. Repeat steps 6 and 7 for all questions in the assessment.
Once you have imported the questions, see
Setting answers for imported questions
56
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
PDF document formatting
The text below shows examples of multiple choice questions formatted so that SMART Response software can easily convert them to question pages.
1. How is the boy involved in the dog’s care?
a. He feeds the dog twice a day.
b. He walks the dog once a day.
c. He cleans up the dog’s messes.
d. He gives the dog a lot of affection.
2. What percentage of the US Government budget goes to welfare and Social Security?
a. 25% to welfare and 25% to Social Security b. less than 1% to welfare and 20% to Social Security c. 20% to welfare and 1% to Social Security d. less than 1% to welfare and less than 1% to Social Security
N
N O T E S
l
You can import only multiple choice questions.
l
Remove headers and footers from your PDF file because the import utility will attempt to convert them into questions.
l
Introduction, background or source information not related to questions should be on separate pages.
l
Text and graphics that the import utility can't convert into questions are imported to a
SMART Notebook page as a graphic.
57
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
Importing questions from ExamView HTML
You can import ExamView 5.2.0 and 6.2.1 HTML question files into a SMART Response assessment. See
on the next page for information about exporting
HTML question files from ExamView.
N
N O T E
SMART Response is unable to identify the correct answers to imported questions. You must set the correct answers after you import the questions. See
Setting answers for imported questions
g
To import questions from an ExamView HTML file
1. Click the
SMART Response
icon then select
Open Notebook Software
.
in the Windows notification area or Mac menu bar and
A blank SMART Notebook page appears.
2. Select
Response > Import Question From > ExamView HTML
.
The
Open
dialogue box appears.
3. Browse to and select the HTML file and then click
Open
.
A progress bar appears and closes when the conversion is complete.
4. In the
Page Sorter
tab, select the thumbnail for the title page.
5. Optionally, edit and customise the title page and description.
6. In the
Page Sorter
tab, select the thumbnail for the first question page and check it carefully to verify that the conversion process was successful.
See
About ExamView HTML question importing
on page 60 for information about how
ExamView questions are converted to SMART Response questions.
7. Repeat step 6 for all questions in the assessment.
Once you have imported the questions, see
Setting answers for imported questions
58
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
Exporting ExamView tests
You can export ExamView 5.2.0 and 6.2.1 online tests as HTML documents.
g
To export an HTML test document from ExamView 5.2.0
1. In ExamView Test Generator 5.2.0, select
File > Publish Online Test
.
The
Publish Online Test
dialogue box appears.
2. In Step 1, type a title for the assessment.
3. In Step 2, select the
Save test as an HTML document to your hard drive
option and then click
Next
.
4. In Step 3, select the
Publish a study guide
option and then click
Next
.
I
I M P O R T A N T
If you do not select the
Publish a study guide
option, you must manually add answer information to the questions.
T
T I P
You can also select the
Show Rational
,
Show Feedback
and
Show Reference
options.
SMART Response converts any notes in the rational, feedback and reference boxes to
SMART Notebook notes.
5. Type a file name for the HTML file and then click
OK
.
ExamView creates the HTML file and a
_files
folder containing all the image files used in the test.
g
To export an HTML test document from ExamView 6.2.1
1. In ExamView Test Generator 6.2.1, select
File > Export to HTML
.
The
Export to HTML
dialogue box appears.
2. Type a title for the assessment, select the
Export as study guide
option and then click
OK
.
T
T I P
You can also select the
Show Rational
,
Show Feedback
and
Show Reference
options.
SMART Response converts any notes in the rational, feedback and reference boxes to
SMART Notebook notes.
3. Type a file name for the HTML file and then click
OK
.
ExamView creates the HTML file.
59
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
About ExamView HTML question importing
The following table shows how SMART Response software imports ExamView HTML question files.
This ExamView question type
True or false
Modified true or false
This is a two-part question: if the answer is false, the student modifies the question to make it true.
Multiple choice
Multiple answer
Yes or no
Numeric response
Short answer or text answer
Matching
Problem
Essay
Case
Other
Imports as this SMART Response question type
True or false
True or false
Multiple choice
Choice labels import in uppercase letters. Custom choice labels don't import.
Multiple answer
Choice labels import in uppercase letters. Custom choice labels don't import.
Yes or no
If the original answer is a decimal or fraction value, it imports as a Numeric, decimal, fraction question.
If the original answer is a maths expression, it is imported as an Opinion Numeric, fraction, expression question.
Text answer
Only the first 20 characters of the answer are imported.
Content page
Text answer
Only the first 20 characters of the answer are imported.
Text answer
Only the first 20 characters of the answer are imported.
Text answer
Only the first 20 characters of the answer are imported.
Text answer
Only the first 20 characters of the answer are imported.
60
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
Setting answers for imported questions
Once you have imported questions, you can set or change the answers to your assessment questions.
g
To set the answers for imported questions
1. In the
Page Sorter
tab, select the thumbnail for the first question page.
2. Select
Response > Set All Answers
.
The
Set All Answers
dialogue box appears.
3. Type or select the correct answers from the options for all questions and then click
Done
.
4. Click
Save
.
A
Save As
dialogue box appears.
5. Browse to a folder, type a file name and then click
Save
.
You can run the question set on this computer or copy the SMART Notebook file to any computer that has SMART Response software installed.
Adding choices to a question
Once you have created a question, you can add choices to it.
g
To add a choice to a question
1. Click the
Page Sorter
tab.
2. Select the thumbnail of the question page that you want to add a choice to.
3. Response > Add Choice
4. Follow the on-screen instructions.
5. If you have to change the correct answer for the question, select
Response > Set All
Answers
and then make the changes.
N
N O T E
If you add choices to a true/false, yes/no, number/fraction/decimal or text answer question, the question changes to multiple choice.
61
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
Tagging questions
Using the Insert Question wizard, you can add tags to the questions that you create in SMART
Notebook software. You can also add or change the tags to questions once you have finished creating an assessment.
You can use tags to identify groups or categories of questions. SMART Response software uses the tags to sort responses to questions when you generate Student Performance and Class Performance reports. For example, if you assign the tags "Difficult" and "Easy" to the questions,
SMART Response software creates a chart in the report for questions with "Difficult" and "Easy" tags.
You can assign multiple tags to a question by separating the tags with a semicolon (;), for example,
"Science;Nature" and "Science;Astronomy". SMART Response software then generates one chart with three bars for "Science", "Nature" and "Astronomy".
You can also create tag subcategories by separating the tags with a colon (:), for example,
"Science:Basic" and "Science:Advanced". In this case, SMART Response software generates a single report section for "Science" showing data grouped into "Basic" and "Advanced" subsections.
g
To add or change tags in existing questions
1. Click the
SMART Response
icon then select
Open Notebook Software
.
in the Windows notification area or Mac menu bar and
A blank SMART Notebook page appears.
2. Select
File > Open
and then select your assessment file.
The SMART Notebook file appears displaying the title page.
3. Select the thumbnail for the question page that you want to add tags to.
The question page appears.
4. Click the
SMART Response
tab and then select the
Properties
tab.
5. If the
Tags
box isn't visible, click
Show
beside the
Answer Key
heading.
6. Type your tags in the
Tags
box. When you finish, click the page.
7. Press
Page Up
or
Page Down
to select other questions as required and then repeat step 6.
8. Save your assessment.
62
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
Starting and connecting to a class
To use SMART Response interactive response system in your classroom, you must start a class and allow students to connect to it. You can monitor the student connections during the class and disconnect them when the class is over.
Before class begins
Safety tips for teachers
When using SMART Response with a SMART Board interactive whiteboard and a projector: l
Tell students not to look directly at the light beam from the projector. Instead, encourage them to keep their back to the projector when working at the interactive whiteboard. Before they turn to face the class, they should take a big step (or two) sideways.
l
Make sure you don’t look directly into the light beam from the projector. Keep your back to the class when you write over a projected image. Step to the side of the interactive whiteboard before you turn to face the class.
l
Tell your students not to touch the projector, because it can become extremely hot during normal operation.
l
Don’t use a chair to increase a student’s reach. If your students can’t reach the top of the interactive whiteboard, lower it. You may need to remount a wall-mounted unit to a lower position. If your interactive whiteboard is mounted on a floor stand, lower it with the help of another adult.
l
Tell students not to run in the vicinity of the floor stand, because they could trip over the floor stand’s feet.
Starting a class
You can start a class in Sign In mode or Anonymous mode.
About Sign In and Anonymous modes
Before you start a class session, you must decide whether you want the system to operate in Sign In mode or Anonymous mode. This table summarises the characteristics of each mode.
Sign In mode
Teachers use a class list that identifies each student by name and ID number.
Anonymous mode
Teachers can operate the system without a class list.
63
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
Sign In mode Anonymous mode
Students can connect to the class, but they must sign in with their assigned ID numbers.
Students can connect to the class without identifying themselves.
Teachers can control when students can sign in by locking a class.
Teachers can't control when students using clickers can sign in to their class.
Under the teacher's control, students can see their own grades, but they cannot see any other students' grades.
If the
Remember names
tickbox is selected, teachers can identify individual students as they connect to the class.
Teachers can use Gradebook to save and analyse student and class performance over time.
Teachers can generate student and class reports.
Teachers are unable to generate student or class performance reports.
Teachers can see, export and print the total class grade.
Teachers can see, export and print the total class grade.
Teachers can see, export and print total scores for each question.
Teachers can see, export and print each student's grade for each question and for the whole assessment.
Teachers can review results during the assessment in the
Response
tab for the class as a whole and for individual students (if the
Remember names
tickbox is selected).
Under the teacher's control, students can see their own grades, but they cannot see any other students' grades.
Teachers can see how many students are connected.
Teachers are unable to save and analyse student and class performance over time.
Teachers can see, export and print total scores for each question.
Teachers are unable to identify student names or individual grades.
Teachers can view results for the class as a whole during the assessment in the tab.
Response
Starting a class in Anonymous mode
You don't need a class list to operate SMART Response software in Anonymous mode. See
on the previous page for more information.
g
To start a class in Anonymous mode
In SMART Notebook software, select
Response > Start Class
and then select
Anonymous Mode
.
l
If students are using clickers, the receiver’s Ready light flashes and then turns solid green, and the receiver's Transmit light flashes green.
l
If SMART Response software is in CE mode, the name of the SMART Teacher file and class information appears in the student's SMART Notebook SE
Quick Links
tab.
You can now ask the students to connect.
64
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
N
N O T E S
l
You can start a class and the assessment at the same time in SMART Notebook software by selecting
Response > Start Assessment
.
If you don't have a class list, the class starts in Anonymous mode. If you do have a class list, a list of classes appears where you can select Anonymous mode.
l
You can also start a class in Teacher Tools.
l
If the students are already signed in to a class using clickers or SMART Notebook SE software and you select
Anonymous Mode
, the software switches to Anonymous mode.
l
If the students are connected in Anonymous mode and you start a class that requires sign-in, the students are signed off and then asked to sign in.
Starting a class in Sign In mode
When you use SMART Response software in Sign In mode, you can monitor each student’s responses and create reports on student and class performance. For more information, see
N
N O T E
Before you can start a class and get students to connect in Sign In mode, you must have a class list. If you don't have a class list, you can create or import one. See
I
I M P O R T A N T
Before you can use SMART Response LE software in LE mode, you must l assign clicker IDs to each student’s clicker. See
l create a class with a class list containing the clicker IDs. See
Creating a class list in Teacher
g
To start a class in Sign In mode
In SMART Notebook software, select
Response > Start Class
and then select
Sign In Mode
.
l
If students are using clickers, the receiver’s Ready light flashes and then turns solid green, and the receiver's Transmit light flashes green.
l
If SMART Response software is in CE mode, the name of the SMART Teacher file and class information appears in the student's SMART Notebook SE
Quick Links
tab.
You can now ask the students to connect.
65
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
N
N O T E
You can also start a class in Teacher Tools.
Monitoring clickers
You can use Teacher Tools to see if a clicker is logged on or if it's in Anonymous mode. If the clicker is logged on, you can also see the student's name. You can see each clicker's hardware ID (MAC address) and identify which logged-on student is using it.
The display shows the signal strength of each clicker, as measured by the receiver. If the signal level is low for one or more clickers, and they are having communication problems, you can reposition the receiver or remove signal path obstructions.
g
To monitor clickers
1. Start a class and get your students to connect their clickers.
The SMART Response receiver indicator lights are green.
2. Start Teacher Tools. See
Teacher Tools appears.
3. Click the
Devices
button in the left column.
The
Devices
window appears with the message "Your SMART Response receiver is connected and working". The receiver name appears below the Devices button.
N
N O T E
If the "Your SMART Response receiver is not connected" message appears, the SMART
Response receiver isn't connected or isn't working properly. Check the receiver connections or repeat the receiver installation.
4. Click
My Receiver
and then click the
Clickers
tab at the top of the window.
The
Clickers
window appears and displays a table of all connected clickers. Each row of the table shows one clicker's signal strength, battery condition, student name and hardware ID
(MAC address).
N
N O T E
If students' clickers are connected anonymously, the
Student Name
field displays
Anonymous
.
66
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
Connecting to the class
Once you have started a class, you can tell your students to connect to the class.
How the students connect to the class depends on SMART Response software's current mode. In addition, you can prevent students from signing in.
Connecting in Anonymous mode
You must start a class in Anonymous mode before your students connect. See
I
I M P O R T A N T
In all modes except VE mode, students must know the class name.
g
To connect PE clickers in Anonymous mode
When the “SMART Response is ready to use” balloon message appears, tell your students to follow this procedure.
1. Press the clicker's
Power
button for one second.
A message appears asking whether you want to join the last class the clicker was connected to or find a different class.
Students using LE clickers see a "Hello" message appear on their clicker's display.
2. Press the
Enter
button to join the last class.
OR
Press the
Down
button to select
Find a class
and then press
Enter
.
The clicker scans for classes and then displays a list of classes within range. Press the
Up
and
Down
buttons to select the correct class and then press
Enter
.
3. Press the
Enter
button to connect.
g
To connect XE clickers in Anonymous mode
When the “SMART Response is ready to use” balloon message appears, tell your students to follow this procedure.
67
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
1. Press the clicker's
Power
button for one second.
2. Use the soft keys to join the last class.
OR
Use the soft keys to find a class and then to select the class.
g
To connect LE clickers in Anonymous mode
Tell the students to press their clicker's
Power
button for one second.
A "Hello" message appears on the clicker display.
g
To connect SMART Notebook SE users in Anonymous mode
Tell your students to follow the steps described in the SMART Notebook SE online Help system.
N
N O T E S
l
If you selected the
Lock Sign In
option, the student sees a “Fail to login” message. If this occurs, unlock Sign In and then tell the students to reconnect.
l
When all of your students are connected, you can start asking questions. Refer to
on page 43 for information about using SMART Notebook software to ask
questions and create assessments.
Connecting in Sign In mode
You must start a class in Sign In mode before your students connect. See
Starting a class in Sign In mode
I
I M P O R T A N T
When students use PE clickers, XE clickers, or SMART Notebook SE software to connect to a class in Sign In mode, they must know the class name. They must also sign in with a unique ID number.
g
To connect PE clickers in Sign In mode
Once you have started a class, tell your students to follow this procedure.
1. Press the clicker's
Power
button for one second.
A message appears asking whether you want to join the last class the clicker was connected to or find a different class.
68
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
2. Press the
Enter
button to join the last class.
OR
Press the
Down
button to select
Find a class
and then press
Enter
.
The clicker scans for classes and then displays a list of classes within range. Press the
Up
and
Down
buttons to select the correct class and then press
Enter
.
A connecting message appears, followed by a message asking for an ID number.
3. Press the number buttons to enter your ID number and then press
Enter
.
If the ID is valid, a message appears asking you to confirm your name.
N
N O T E
If the teacher selected the
Lock Sign In
option, a message appears on the clicker indicating that the student can't sign in at this time and then a
Retry
option appears.
4. Press the
Enter
button to connect.
A welcome message appears.
g
To connect XE clickers in Sign In mode
Once you have started a class, tell your students to follow this procedure.
1. Press the clicker's
Power
button for one second.
A message appears asking whether you want to join the last class the clicker was connected to or find a different class.
2. Use the soft keys to join the last class.
OR
Use the soft keys to find a class and then select the class.
A connecting message appears, followed by a message asking for an ID number.
3. Press the number buttons to enter your ID number and then press the soft key to sign in.
If the ID is valid, a message appears asking you to confirm your name.
N
N O T E
If the teacher selected the
Lock Sign In
option, a message appears on the clicker indicating that the student can't sign in at this time and then a
Retry
option appears.
4. Press the soft key to connect.
A welcome message appears.
69
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
N
N O T E
If a student attempts to sign in using an ID that another student is already using, a message appears indicating that they're unable to sign in and lets them retry.
g
To connect SMART Notebook SE in Sign In mode
Once you have started a class, tell your students to sign in by following the procedure described in the SMART Notebook SE online Help system.
g
To connect LE clickers in Sign in mode
Tell your students to press their clicker's
Power
button for one second.
A "Hello" message appears on the clicker display.
When all of your students are connected, you can start asking questions. Refer to
on page 43 for information about using SMART Notebook software to ask questions
and create assessments.
Manually connecting to a class
I
I M P O R T A N T
You can perform this procedure only if SMART Response software is in CE mode.
Once you have started a class, students can connect to it automatically by following the steps in the
SMART Notebook SE online Help system. Students can also connect manually by entering your class's Internet Protocol (IP) address and port number.
The following procedure explains how to find this information so that you can provide it to your students.
g
To find your class's IP address and port number
1. Start
Teacher Tools
. See
Teacher Tools
appears.
2. Ensure that your class has started.
3. Click
Connect students manually
on the
Home
tab.
The
Manual Connection Information
screen appears and displays your class's IP address and port number.
70
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
Locking sign-in
You can block students from signing in to your class. Select the
Lock Sign In
button to block students from signing in before you're ready or to block late students from signing in. When you start a class, sign-in is unlocked by default. If you stop and restart SMART Response software or open a new class list, sign-in unlocks.
N
N O T E S
l
In PE, LE and XE modes, you can lock sign-in only in Sign In mode.
l
In CE mode, you can lock sign-in in Sign In and Anonymous modes.
l
You are unable to lock sign-in in VE mode.
g
To block students from signing in
1. Start
Teacher Tools
. See
Teacher Tools
appears.
2. If a class isn't already started, select a class in the
Gradebook
area and then click
Start Class
.
3. Click
Lock Sign In
.
Students are unable to sign in.
N
N O T E
If students disconnect from your class when sign-in is locked, they're unable to sign in again until you click
Unlock Sign In
.
71
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
Disconnecting students from a class
You can disconnect students from a class in three ways. You can disconnect them simultaneously.
disconnect individual clickers using Teacher Tools or get your students to manually disconnect their clickers.
Disconnecting all students
You can disconnect all students simultaneously.
g
To disconnect all students by stopping the class
Select
Response > Stop Class
in the SMART Notebook menu bar.
l
All clicker-connected students disconnect and a message appears on their clickers indicating that the class is over and that the clickers are turning off. The Transmit and Receive lights on the receiver turn off and the Ready light turns red.
l
All SMART Notebook SE software-connected students disconnect from the class and a message appears stating “All students are signed out”.
Disconnecting individual clickers using Teacher Tools
N
N O T E
This option is available only if the students are connected to a class in Sign In mode.
g
To disconnect individual clickers using Teacher Tools
1. Start
Teacher Tools
. See
2. Select the active class in the
Gradebook
area.
3. Click the
Students
tab.
4. Select the row of the student you want to disconnect.
The
Properties
window appears below the student list table.
5. Click
Disconnect Clicker
at the top-right-hand corner of the window.
The
Log Off Student
dialogue box appears.
72
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
6. Click
OK
to disconnect the student.
N
N O T E
The student can log back on immediately.
OR
If you don't want the student to be able to log on for a while, select
Also ban this student for
, select the number of minutes and then click
OK
.
Students disconnecting manually
Students with SMART Response clickers can disconnect them by pressing the
Power
button for one to two seconds.
If signed-in students turn off their clickers when a question set is started, they can turn on the clickers, sign in with the same ID and join the assessment in progress without losing any previous answers. If students are connected anonymously, they lose any previous answers when they reconnect.
g
To disconnect after connecting to the wrong class
Students using PE or LE clickers
Tell students to log off by pressing the
Menu
button, selecting
Sign out
and then pressing the
Enter
button.
Students using XE clickers
Tell students to log off by pressing the
Sym
button, pressing the spacebar and then selecting
Log
Out
.
They can then connect and sign in to the correct class without turning off their clickers.
Students using SMART Response CE software
Tell students to sign out by clicking
Disconnect
and then sign in to the correct class.
T
T I P
For more information on how students connect to SMART Response CE classes using SMART
Notebook SE software, see the SMART Notebook SE online Help.
In Sign In mode, if students disconnect during an assessment, they can sign in with the same ID to join the assessment without losing the answers that they previously entered. In Anonymous mode, students lose any previously entered answers when they reconnect.
73
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
Using clickers
Once students have connected their clickers to your class, they can use their clickers to complete assessments.
In addition, students using SMART Response PE or XE clickers can ask questions using their clickers and change their clicker settings.
About SMART Response PE clickers
Changing SMART Response PE clicker settings
Students can press the
Menu
button at any time to log off the session or to modify the clicker's settings. These options are available in the menu:
Option
Sign out
Language
Description
Press to log off a class without turning off the clicker.
Not supported at this time.
74
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
Option
Contrast
Device info
Advanced
Description
Press to brighten or darken the clicker's LCD display. Use the selection buttons to increase or decrease the contrast.
Press to display the clicker’s MAC address and firmware version.
You must have a valid security code to open this menu. Your customer support representative can provide the code to help troubleshoot clicker problems.
Answering yes or no questions
Students can answer yes or no questions using the following two buttons on their clickers:
N
N O T E
These are the same buttons that students use to answer true or false questions.
Answering true or false questions
Students can answer true or false questions using the following two buttons on their clickers:
N
N O T E
These are the same buttons that students use to answer yes or no questions.
Answering multiple choice questions
Students can answer multiple choice questions using the following buttons on their clickers:
75
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
E X A M P L E
To answer C, a student would press .
Answering multiple answer questions
Students can answer multiple answer questions using the following buttons on their clickers:
E X A M P L E
To answer A and C, a student would press and then press .
Answering number, fraction or decimal questions
Students can enter numbers using the following buttons on their clickers: g
To enter a decimal number
1. Enter the numbers to the left of the decimal point.
2. Press
.
3. Enter the numbers to the right of the decimal point.
76
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software g
To enter a fraction
1. Enter the numerator.
2. Press
.
3. Enter the denominator.
g
To enter a mixed fraction
1. Enter the whole number.
2. Press
.
3. Enter the numerator.
4. Press
.
5. Enter the denominator.
g
To change a number from positive to negative (or vice versa)
Press .
Answering text answer questions
Students can answer text questions using the following buttons on their clickers:
Responding to text answer questions on a SMART Response PE clicker is similar to texting on a mobile phone.
E X A M P L E
To respond "iron", a student would do the following:
77
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
1. Press three times to enter
i
.
2. Press three times to enter
r
.
3. Press three times to enter
o
.
4. Press two times to enter
n
.
I
I M P O R T A N T
Text answers are case sensitive. If the only acceptable answer to a text answer question is "Iron", students must enter "Iron" and not "iron" or "IRON". To change to uppercase, students press on their clickers.
g
To enter a space
Press .
g
To make a change
1. Use the arrow buttons to move the cursor to the character that you want to change.
2. Press the
Delete
button to delete the character.
3. Enter a new character.
78
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
About SMART Response LE clickers
The students use only the Power, selection and answer buttons. The other buttons are for Teacher mode.
Clicker buttons
Power button
Screen
Selection buttons
Answer buttons
Enter button
Ask question button
Menu button
Clicker button
Power
Selection
Enter
Ask Question
Menu
Answer
Description
Press for one second to turn on the clicker. Press for one to two seconds to turn off the clicker.
Scroll through option lists.
Make or confirm a selection.
Displays the clicker ID.
Press with the
Power
button to open the clicker menu in Teacher mode.
See
Five coloured buttons with geometric shapes to answer questions.
79
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
Using the Teacher mode menu
g
To put SMART Response LE clickers into Teacher mode
Press the
Power
and
Home
buttons simultaneously.
N
N O T E
You can press the
Home
button by itself without any effect.
Press the
Enter
button to make your selections. Press the
Home
button to return to the primary menu.
The following options are available in the Teacher mode menu:
Option
Scan & Pick
Show Rcv PID
Clicker ID
Contrast
Device Info
Restore Default
Exit
Description
Pair the clicker with your receiver during setup.
Display the current Pan ID.
Set the Clicker ID.
Lightens or darkens the clicker’s LCD display. Use the up and down arrows to increase or decrease the contrast.
Display the clicker’s MAC address and firmware version.
Restore the clicker’s factory default settings.
Exit Teacher mode to connect to the class.
80
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
About SMART Response XE clickers
Clicker buttons
Power button LCD display
Soft keys Soft keys
Shift key
Symbol key
Button/key name Key
Power button
Soft keys
Maths expression keys
Letter and number keys
Symbol key
Spacebar/
Menu button
Directional keypad
Function
Press and hold to turn clicker on or off.
Press to select functions displayed on the LCD display. The functions depend on the clicker's mode.
Press to answer multiple choice, multiple answer, true/false and yes/no questions.
Press to insert lowercase value.
Press whilst holding the
Shift
key to insert an uppercase value.
Press and hold
a
,
e
,
i
,
o
,
u
,
y
,
c
or
n
keys to select other character variations.
Press and release to select green key functions.
Press and hold to display a menu where you can select symbols.
81
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
Button/key name Key
Spacebar/Menu button
Directional keypad
Shift key
Maths expression keys–fraction
Maths expression keys–root
Maths expression keys– superscript/subscript
Function
Press to add a space in text or mathematical expressions.
Press after pressing the
Sym
key to display a menu where you can select
Raise hand
,
Symbols
or other functions depending on clicker mode.
Press to navigate menu options or navigate text and mathematic expression content.
Press and then press a letter key to enter an uppercase character.
Press to insert fractional values in an expression.
Press to insert a square root value in an expression.
Press after pressing the
Sym
key to insert a radicand.
Press to insert a superscript value in an expression.
Press after pressing the
Sym
key to insert a subscript value in an expression.
Asking questions
At any time during a class, students using SMART Response PE or XE clickers can request the teacher's attention.
l
Students using SMART Response PE clickers can press the
Ask Question
button.
l
Students using SMART Response XE clickers can press the
Sym
button, press the spacebar, and then select
Raise hand
.
Teacher Tools displays the number of students who have questions on the
Home
tab beside the
Questions
heading.
g
To identify students with questions
1. Click the
Students
tab in
Teacher Tools Gradebook
to show the list of student names and IDs.
In the
Status
column, you might see one or more rows with a question icon .
2. If you've answered a student's question, select the row that displays the student's name, and then click the
Clear Question
icon in the top-right-hand corner of the
Properties
window.
82
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
Completing assessments
Once you have created an assessment, you can start it in SMART Response software. Students then complete the assessment. During the assessment, you can view results.
Starting an assessment
When you use SMART Notebook software to ask questions, SMART Response uses the options that you set in Teacher Tools to control how students interact with the teacher. If students are using clickers, before starting a SMART Response assessment, check that the receiver is connected and ready. If you don’t have a SMART Notebook assessment file, you must create one. See
on page 43 for more information.
g
To open and set assessment options
1. Click the
SMART Response
icon then select
Open Notebook Software
.
in the Windows notification area or Mac menu bar and
A blank SMART Notebook page appears.
2. Select
File > Open
.
3. Select the SMART Notebook file containing your questions and then click
Open
.
The assessment file's title page appears.
4. Click the
Response
tab and then click
Properties
if it isn't already selected.
5. Select the
Remember names
tickbox to display student names in the
Response
tab during the assessment.
OR
Clear the
Remember names
tickbox to hide student names in the
Response
tab during the assessment.
N
N O T E S
o
Select the
Remember names
tickbox if you want to identify students when you review results during the assessment.
o
Clear the
Remember names
tickbox if you want to display the SMART Notebook file on a SMART Board interactive whiteboard during the assessment but don't want students to see each other's results.
83
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software o
You can review, print and export the results after the assessment even if you clear the
Remember names
tickbox.
6. Select one of the following options from the
Show results to students
drop-down list:
N
N O T E
The feedback options available vary depending on the SMART Response mode.
Feedback option Description
Once you have stopped collecting responses
Once all questions are answered
Once each question is answered
Students can see how they answered and see their grades once you have clicked
Stop
.
If you select this option, you can also choose to show the correct answers with marks and show the class average.
Students can see how they answered and see their grades once they finish answering all questions.
If you select this option, you can also choose to show the correct answers with marks and show the class average.
Students can see how they answered each question and see their grades once they finish answering all questions.
If you select this option, you can also choose to show the correct answers with marks and show the class average.
Don't show students their marks
Students can't see how they answered or see their grades.
Don't allow students to save assessment
Students using SMART Notebook SE software can't save the assessment to their binders once they have finished.
g
To start an assessment and ask questions in PE, XE and CE modes
1. Start a class now, if you haven't already done so.
2. Ask your studdents to connect to the class, if they haven't already done so.
3. Select
Response > Start Assessment
.
The
Response
tab opens with the
Progress
button selected.
If you’re displaying the questions on a screen, you can control the students’ progress by selecting each question page in turn.
4. Use the
Forward
OR or
Back
buttons on the the menu bar to open a question page.
Click the
Page Sorter
tab and then select the thumbnail of a question page.
84
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
5. Click
Response > Stop Assessment
in the menu bar to end the session.
6. If you chose to show results to students, select
Response > End Review Mode
when the students have finished reviewing their results.
7. Click
Save
to save the results.
g
To start an assessment and ask questions in LE mode
1. Start a class now, if you haven't already done so.
2. Ask your studdents to connect to the class, if they haven't already done so.
3. Select
Response > Start Assessment
.
The
Response
tab opens with the
Progress
button selected.
If you’re displaying the questions on a screen, you can control the students’ progress by selecting each question page in turn.
4. Use the
Forward
OR or
Back
buttons on the the menu bar to open a question page.
Click the
Page Sorter
tab and then select the thumbnail of a question page.
5. Select
Response > Start Question
.
The
Response
tab opens with the
Progress
button selected.
6. Ask your students to answer the question with their clickers.
7. When the “
All the students have answered
” message appears in the
Response
tab, select
Response > Stop Question
.
A chart showing your students’ results and several options appears in the
Response
tab.
Select the options that you want.
8. Repeat steps 4 to 7 for each question in your assessment.
N
N O T E
You must stop the current question before you can ask another question.
9. Click
Response > Stop Assessment
in the menu bar to end the session.
10. If you chose to show results to students, select
Response > End Review Mode
when the students have finished reviewing their results.
11. Click
Save
to save the results.
85
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software g
To start an assessment and ask questions in VE mode
1. Start a class, if you haven't already done so.
2. Select
Response > Start Assessment
.
The
Assessment Started
dialogue box appears displaying the URL and Assessment ID that the students need to connect to the assessment.
The
Response
tab opens with the
Progress
button selected.
3. Tell your students to browse to
response.smarttech.com
and then enter their Student IDs and the Assessment ID.
The assessment appears on their browsers.
4. When all your students are connected, click
OK
to close the
Assessment Started
dialogue box.
5. Use the
Forward
OR or
Back
buttons on the the menu bar to open a question page.
Click the
Page Sorter
tab and then select the thumbnail of a question page.
6. Click
Response > Stop Assessment
in the menu bar to end the session.
7. Click
Save
to save the results.
Collecting question responses
N
N O T E
Make sure that you start your class and that all the students using clickers are connected before you ask questions.
g
To collect question responses
1. Select
Response > Start Assessment
.
If you haven’t started a class, a message appears asking you to select a class. Select a class and then click
Start Class
.
A message appears on the clickers asking the students to respond.
86
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software
2. Once all students have answered the questions, select
Response > Stop Assessment
.
N
N O T E
SMART Notebook software stores the results in your document. Remember to save your document once you have collected responses.
3. If you want to save the questions as a SMART Notebook file, select
File > Save
(or
Save As
).
A
Save As
dialogue box appears.
4. Browse to a destination folder, type a file name and then click
Save
.
Reviewing results after an assessment
You can use SMART Response software to collect and display results instantly after you run an assessment. You can use assessments as an interactive learning tool and as a way to give students continual feedback on what they're learning.
g
To display instant class assessment results
1. Once all students have answered the questions, return to the assessment's title page.
2. Click SMART Notebook's
Response
tab if it isn't already open.
3. Select
Progress > Stop this assessment
.
The
Progress
button changes to
Results
. A summary of the class's performance appears, including a chart showing the class's responses to each question.
4. If you want to view more detailed class results, click
Show
beside
Details
.
A list of students, their grades and the duration of the assessment appears.
I
I M P O R T A N T
Use discretion when displaying sensitive grade information to all class members. If you started the class in Sign In mode, consider clearing the
Remember names
tickbox before you start the assessment to hide student names in the
Response
tab. (You can later review, print and export the results in Teacher Tools.)
N
N O T E
If you start the class in Anonymous mode or clear the
Remember names
tickbox before you start the assessment, student names display as
Anonymous-1
,
Anonymous-2
, and so on.
87
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software g
To display instant results for each question
1. Once all students have answered the questions, return to the assessment's title page.
2. Click SMART Notebook software's
Response
tab if it isn't already open.
3. Select
Progress > Stop this assessment
.
The
Progress
button changes to
Results
. A chart representing the class's performance appears.
4. Click the
Page Sorter
tab and then select a question.
5. Click the
Response
tab.
6. Click
Results
.
A summary of the class's responses to the question appears, including a chart showing the number of responses to each possible answer.
T
T I P S
o
You can change the type of chart displayed by selecting
Show bar chart
or
Show pie chart
.
o
You can insert the chart into the question page by clicking
Insert chart into
Notebook
.
7. Click
Show
beside
Details
.
A list showing each student's submitted response appears, including the time that it took to respond.
I
I M P O R T A N T
Use discretion when displaying sensitive grade information to all class members. If you started the class in Sign In mode, consider clearing the
Remember names
tickbox before you start the assessment to hide student names in the
Response
tab. (You can later review, print and export the results in Teacher Tools.)
N
N O T E
If you start the class in Anonymous mode or clear the
Remember names
tickbox before you start the assessment, student names display as
Anonymous-1
,
Anonymous-2
, and so on.
Previewing results during an assessment
You can use SMART Response software to display results instantly whilst you run an assessment.
You can use assessments as an interactive learning tool and a way to give students continual
88
C H A P T E R 3
Using SMART Response software feedback on what they're learning.
I
I M P O R T A N T
You must have two or more students participating in your assessment to use this feature.
g
To preview class assessment results
1. Start your assessment, if it isn't already running.
2. Display the question using the
Page sorter
or the left and right arrows.
3. Click SMART Notebook software's
Response
tab and then select the
Progress
button.
4. Click
Show
beside
Results Preview
.
A chart showing the class's current responses to the question appears.
N
N O T E S
o
The chart changes as students answer the question and changes as students change their answers.
o
Select the assessment's title page to preview a summary of the progress of all the assessment's questions. You can use this chart to see how much of the assessment the class has completed.
89
Chapter 4:
91
Chapter 4
Reviewing, printing and exporting assessment results
Formatting the results files for importing
Importing a class results file
Generating student performance reports
Generating class performance reports
Printing and exporting questions and results
Printing from SMART Notebook software's Response menu
The Teacher Tools Gradebook gives you quick access to test results, making it easy to prepare reports and conduct evaluations. Reports can be as simple or as detailed as you need. You can create high-level comparisons of class performance, specific reports based on tagged characteristics such as demographics or curriculum standard and personalised reports on how individual students perform. You can also create reports that show grades for the entire school year.
You can display results and generate reports to review during an assessment or after you run an assessment. In addition, you can print or export questions and assessment results.
N
N O T E
Assessment results for students aren't saved in Anonymous mode.
C H A P T E R 4
Reviewing, printing and exporting assessment results
Importing assessment results
You can import the results of an assessment that you performed without using your SMART
Response system. You can then generate reports that combine the results from your assessments with the imported results.
You can import results using either comma separated values (CSV) files or Microsoft Excel files
(Windows operating systems only).
N
N O T E
The ID numbers that you use in the list you import must match the ID numbers assigned to the students in the class list that you're using.
Formatting the results files for importing
You must use the headings
ID Number
and
Marks
when you format the CSV, XLS or XLSX file for importing. If you're using information from another program, copy it to a new file and then format it as shown in
Importing a class results file
You can import a class results file using Teacher Tools.
g
To import a class results file
1. Start
Teacher Tools
. See
Teacher Tools
appears.
2. In the
Gradebook
area, select the class that you want to import the results to.
3. Click
Import
on the menu bar and then select
Assessments
.
4. Click the target class and then click
Next
.
5. Type the title and then select the type of the assessment. Optionally, type the subject and topic information.
6. Select the
Percentage
or
Raw values
score formats and then click
Next
.
7. Select the file type and then click
Next
.
92
C H A P T E R 4
Reviewing, printing and exporting assessment results
8. Browse to and select the file and then click
Open
.
The student results information appears in the
Students
and
Assessments
tabs. You can also generate reports that include the imported scores.
CSV and XLS file formatting
E X A M P L E
Comma separated values (CSV) file
ID Number,Marks
8781,33
8727,32
8534,18
2504,22
8759,29
8753,35
8815,25
8811,28
8716,26
E X A M P L E
Excel spreadsheet (XLS) file
A B
1 ID Number Marks
2 8781
3 8727
33
32
4 8534
5 2504
6 8759
87 8753
18
22
29
35
8 8815
9 8811
10 8716
25
28
26
93
C H A P T E R 4
Reviewing, printing and exporting assessment results
Reviewing assessment results
Once you have run and stopped an assessment, Teacher Tools records the class results and each student's results. At any time after you run an assessment, you can review the student, question or assessment results and performance. If you ask a series of questions consecutively, their results are aggregated so that you can review them as a single assessment.
N
N O T E
Use discretion when displaying sensitive information to all class members. To hide sensitive information, click the
Privacy: Off
indicator before you display student or assessment results. See
Adjusting privacy and alert options
on page 26 for more information.
g
To display student results
1. If a class is running, stop it.
2. In
Teacher Tools
, select the class name in the
Gradebook
area.
The class window appears with the
Home
tab selected.
3. Click the
Students
tab.
After a short delay, a table of results appears. If you previously turned on Privacy mode, the student IDs and average scores appear as grey shapes in the table.
4. If Privacy mode is on, click the
Privacy: On
indicator .
The columns of the table of class results show the student names, ID and average score for all the assessments that each student has participated in.
g
To display detailed results for each student
1. Complete the above procedure and then select the student's row.
The student's information appears in the lower pane.
2. Click the
Performance
tab.
An
Assessment Results over Time
graph appears showing the student's results compared to the class average for all assessments since the first assessment was run.
N
N O T E
The graph is hidden when Teacher Tools is in Privacy mode.
3. Place your pointer over the graph to display details about the specific assessment.
94
C H A P T E R 4
Reviewing, printing and exporting assessment results
4. Click the
Results
tab.
A table appears showing detailed information about each assessment that the student has participated in, including the date and the score that the student achieved. If the student's score is below the passing grade that you defined when you created the class, the score appears in red. See
g
To display class assessment results
1. If a class is currently running, stop it.
2. In
Teacher Tools
, select the class name in the
Gradebook
area.
The class window appears with the
Home
tab selected.
3. Click the
Assessments
tab.
After a short delay, a table of results appears listing all assessments that the class has participated in, including the class average score for each assessment. If the class average score is below the passing grade you defined when you created the class, the score appears in red. See
g
To display detailed results for each assessment
1. Complete the previous procedure and then select the assessment's row.
The lower pane of the window displays the assessment's properties.
2. Click the
Performance
tab.
A
Student Achievement per Question
graph appears showing the student responses to each question.
N
N O T E
The graph is hidden when Teacher Tools is in Privacy mode.
3. Place your pointer over the graph to display details about the specific questions.
4. Click the
Results
tab.
A table appears showing the mark that each student received for the assessment. If the student's score is below the passing grade that you defined when you created the class, the mark appears in red.
95
C H A P T E R 4
Reviewing, printing and exporting assessment results g
To display and change results for each question in an assessment
1. If a class is running, stop it.
2. In
Teacher Tools
, select the class name in the
Gradebook
area.
The class window appears with the
Home
tab selected.
3. Click the
Assessments
tab.
After a short delay, a table of results appears listing all assessments that the class has participated in.
4. Select the row for the assessment that you want to display.
5. Click the
Questions
tab.
A list of the assessment's questions appears showing the student responses to each question.
6. If you want to change an answer to be graded as correct or incorrect, select the question that you want to change and then select or clear the
Correct
tickbox.
The student grades and the class average change.
Flagging results
You can add a blue flag to a student’s results as a visual reminder to follow up for any reason, for example, if a student requires remedial work. You can also clear the blue flag from the student’s results.
N
N O T E
If students are disconnected during an assessment, a
Disconnected Student
icon appears beside their names. To clear this flag, see
Importing student responses
on page 1.
g
To add a follow-up flag
1. Start
Teacher Tools
. See
Teacher Tools
appears.
2. Select the class the student belongs to in the
Gradebook
class list.
The class information appears.
3. Click the
Students
tab.
4. Select the student’s name in the list.
The student’s information appears in the lower pane.
96
C H A P T E R 4
Reviewing, printing and exporting assessment results
5. Click the
Results
tab.
6. Select the assessment result that you want to flag in the list.
7. Click the
Set flag
icon above the results list.
A blue flag appears in the
Mark
column.
g
To clear a follow-up flag
1. In the
Results
tab, select the assessment result with the flag that you want to clear.
2. Click the
Clear flag
icon above the results list.
The flag disappears.
Generating student performance reports
You can generate student performance reports at any time once your assessments are complete.
You can tailor the reports to include all classes or select classes. You can also create reports for individual students or for all students in the selected classes at one time.
g
To generate a student performance report
1. Start
Teacher Tools
. See
Teacher Tools
appears.
2. In the
Reports
area, click
Student Performance
.
The
Student Performance Report
window appears.
3. In the
Class
drop-down list, select the class that you want a report for.
OR
Select
All classes
for a report on all classes.
4. In the
Student
drop-down list, select the student whom you want a report for.
OR
Select
All students
for a report on all students.
5. Define the
Report Period
if you want a report for a specific range of dates.
6. In the
Include
drop-down list, select
Selected assessment types
or
All assessment types
.
7. If you chose
Selected assessment types
, select the types that you want a report for from the check list that appears.
97
C H A P T E R 4
Reviewing, printing and exporting assessment results
8. Browse to the location where you want to save the report file and then click
Create
.
SMART Response software creates one or more reports as PDF files that appear in your default PDF viewer. The files are named using the student name and ID and the date when the files were created.
If you generate one report, the report opens automatically. If you generated multiple reports, the reports' folder location appears in Windows Explorer or Mac Finder.
Generating class performance reports
You can generate class performance reports at any time once your assessments are complete. You can tailor the reports to include all classes or select classes. You can also create reports on all assessment types or on specific types of your choice.
g
To generate a class performance report
1. Start
Teacher Tools
. See
Teacher Tools
appears.
2. In the
Reports
area, click
Class Performance
.
The
Class Performance Report
window appears.
3. In the
Class
drop-down list, select the class that you want a report for.
OR
Select
All classes
for a report on all classes.
4. Define the
Report Period
if you want a report for a specific range of dates.
5. In the
Include
drop-down list, select
Selected assessment types
or
All assessment types
.
6. If you chose
Selected assessment types
, select the types that you want a report for from the check list that appears.
7. Browse to the locations where you want to save the report file and then click
Create
.
SMART Response software creates one or more reports as PDF files that appear in your default PDF viewer. The files are named using the class name and ID and the date when the files were created.
If you generate one report, the report opens automatically. If you generated multiple reports, the reports' folder location appears in Windows Explorer or Mac Finder.
98
C H A P T E R 4
Reviewing, printing and exporting assessment results
Printing and exporting questions and results
Using SMART Notebook software's
Response
menu, you can create hard copies of questions, handouts and student results. You can also export questions and student results to an Excel spreadsheet, a comma separated values (CSV) file or an HTML webpage.
Printing from SMART Notebook software's Response menu
You can print a variety of information from the
Response
menu in SMART Notebook software. You can create and include header, footer and date information, and select a page range to print.
Print option
Thumbnails
Handouts
Full page
Questions
Results
Description
On one page, print up to six full-colour, reduced images of SMART
Notebook pages. You can include page numbers, image borders and page titles.
On one page, print up to three full-colour, reduced images of SMART
Notebook pages, with ruled lines for notes. You can include page numbers, image borders and page titles.
On one page, print a full-colour image of a SMART Notebook question page. You can include page numbers.
Print several questions on a page. If the question page doesn't have any objects or images, only the text appears. If there are objects on the question page, a full-colour thumbnail of the question appears. You can include page numbers.
N
N O T E
This option is available only after you stop your assessment.
Print several questions on a page. If the question page doesn't have any objects or images, only the text appears on the page. If there are objects on the question page, a full-colour thumbnail of the question appears. In the
Print Preview
view, you can click the question to toggle from thumbnail to text-only format.
The correct answer and the student’s response appear beside each question and the total score appears at the top of the first page. You can include page numbers.
You can print a summary of the results for all students in the class list or for selected students.
99
C H A P T E R 4
Reviewing, printing and exporting assessment results g
To print questions or results
Select
Response > Print
and then select the print option that you want.
OR
For other options, select
Response > Print > More Print Options
to open SMART Response software's print window.
N
N O T E
The
Questions and Results
print options are available only if the SMART Notebook file includes
SMART Response questions and saved results information. If the assessment is still running, or if it stops before any student answers a question, no results are saved.
Exporting results
If you save your SMART Notebook file after you ask questions, or after you run an assessment, you can open the SMART Notebook file at any time to view the results.
You can export the results to an Excel spreadsheet (Windows only), to an HTML page for viewing on a web browser or to a comma separated values (CSV) file that you can import into many spreadsheet and database applications. See
on page 93. You can also export the
results to a third-party gradebook in one of the predefined formats, or you can create a custom format.
N
N O T E
You can export results only after you stop the assessment. If you clear the results after you stop, the results are permanently deleted and you're unable to print or export them. Once you have saved and close the SMART Notebook file, you can open the file and print or export the results.
g
To export results from Teacher Tools
1. Start
Teacher Tools
. See
Teacher Tools
appears.
2. Select
File > Export
from the menu bar.
The
Export
dialogue box appears.
3. In the list, select the class with the results that you want to export and then click
Next
.
100
C H A P T E R 4
Reviewing, printing and exporting assessment results
4. Select one of the following options: o
Select the
By student
option if you want to export results for your entire class (the default selection) or for an individual student. If you want to export results for an individual student, also select the student's name from the drop-down list.
o
Select the
By assessment
option if you want to export the results of a class assessment or all assessments that the class has taken.
o
Select the
To another gradebook format
option if you want to export the results to a third-party gradebook.
N
N O T E
If you select the CSV file format, you can customise the format to be compatible with your third-party gradebook. SMART Response software saves the customised format so that you don't have to customise the format each time you export the results.
5. Click
Next
.
6. Select the format that you want to export the results in and then click
Next
.
The
Save As
dialogue box appears.
7. Browse to a folder, type a name for the file and then click
Save
.
The results export and open in your computer's default file viewer.
g
To export results from SMART Notebook software
1. Stop the assessment if it's running.
I
I M P O R T A N T
Do not clear the results.
2. In SMART Notebook software, select one of the following options: o
Response > Export results to > Microsoft Excel
.
N
N O T E
Exporting to Excel isn't available on Mac computers.
o
Response > Export results to > Webpage (HTML)
.
o
Response > Export results to > Comma Separated Values (CSV)
.
The
Save As
dialogue box appears.
3. Browse to a folder, type a name for the file and then click
Save
.
Either Excel or your default web browser opens showing the exported file.
101
Chapter 5:
Chapter 5
Maintaining your SMART
Response system
Cleaning the receiver and clickers
Transporting SMART Response hardware
Changing the clicker batteries
Interpreting the receiver indicator lights
Troubleshooting SMART Response CE connection issues
Finalising disconnected students' results in Teacher Tools
Preventing component damage
C
C A U T I O N
l
Do not use sharp or pointed objects, such as ballpoint pens or pointers, to press the clicker buttons.
l
Do not use abrasive erasers or harsh chemicals to clean the receiver or clickers.
l
Avoid setting up and using your system in an area with excessive levels of dust, humidity or smoke.
103
C H A P T E R 5
Maintaining your SMART Response system
Cleaning the receiver and clickers
With proper care, your SMART Response hardware will provide years of trouble-free performance.
Follow these cleaning tips to maintain your SMART Response system: l
Remove dust with a damp cloth before you use a cleaner.
l
Clean the unit’s surface with a household glass cleaner, such as Windex®, daily, weekly or as required.
l
Do not spray cleaner directly onto the clicker. Instead, spray a small amount of cleaner onto a cloth and then gently wipe the clicker.
Transporting SMART Response hardware
If you need to transport your SMART Response hardware, repack it with as much of the original packaging as possible. If you prefer to use your own packaging materials, make sure that you adequately protect the product.
Changing the clicker batteries
Under normal operating conditions, the clicker batteries can operate for up to 200 days. When you replace them, use new batteries of the same type and quality, and change all of them at the same time.
C
C A U T I O N
l
Do not install batteries with the polarity (+/-) reversed.
l
Do not attempt to recharge the batteries.
l
Do not dispose of batteries in a fire or incinerator.
l
Dispose of batteries according to your region’s laws and regulations. If you don’t know the applicable rules for your region, consult your battery manufacturer.
g
To change the clicker batteries
1. If the clicker is on, turn it off.
2. Using the Phillips screwdriver included, remove the screw from the back of the clicker and then remove the cover.
3. Remove all of the exhausted batteries and dispose of them according to local regulations.
104
C H A P T E R 5
Maintaining your SMART Response system
4. Insert new batteries.
5. Replace the cover and replace screw.
Resetting clickers
If a clicker isn't operating as expected, you might need to reset it. Perform the following steps to reset your clicker.
g
To reset a clicker
1. If the clicker is on, turn it off.
2. Using the Phillips screwdriver included, remove the screw from the back of the clicker and then remove the cover.
3. Remove the batteries.
4. Press and hold the
Power
button for at least five seconds.
5. Replace the batteries.
6. Replace the cover and replace screw.
Receiver indicator lights
Receivers have the following indicator lights: l
Ready light l
Transmit light l
Receive light
The Ready light is in the upper right-hand corner of the receiver. The Ready light indicates the operational state of the receiver module. The Transmit and Receive lights flash green to indicate transmit and receive activity between the receiver and the clickers.
105
C H A P T E R 5
Maintaining your SMART Response system
The following table shows the Ready light’s normal states. If the light’s behaviour doesn’t match a state listed here, refer to
Ready light state
Off
Solid red
Solid green
Description
The receiver is disconnected from the computer.
The receiver has power, but either it isn’t communicating with the computer or no class is started.
The receiver is receiving power and communicating successfully with SMART
Response software.
Troubleshooting the receiver
C
C A U T I O N
Do not open the receiver or the clicker units to attempt repairs. Refer all service inquiries to authorised SMART service personnel.
Resetting the receiver
If your SMART Response system behaves erratically (possibly because of a static discharge or power fade), you might be able to restore normal operation by resetting the receiver.
Reset the receiver completely by disconnecting and then reconnecting the USB cable.
106
C H A P T E R 5
Maintaining your SMART Response system
Interpreting the receiver indicator lights
If you experience a problem with your receiver, you can use its indicator lights to troubleshoot it.
Receiver state Ready light Transmit light
Green Red, green, yellow
Flashing green
Off
Flashing green
Green
Any state
Constant flashing
Yellow Off
Flashing red Flashing
Any state
Receive light
Green
Off
The receiver is starting up. Lights flash in sequence.
The receiver is scanning radio channels.
Any state
Flashes when it receives data from a clicker
Receiver has power and is communicating with the computer, but it isn’t receiving commands.
Off
The receiver is accepting commands from the computer.
Flashing
The receiver has power, but communication circuits have failed.
Manufacturing tests are running and the receiver isn’t operational. All lights flash together.
Any state The receiver software checksum failed.
Flashing yellow
Flashing yellow
Flashing Flashing The receiver has a software failure.
Troubleshooting SMART Response CE connection issues
If students using SMART Notebook SE software are disconnected during an assessment, they can still complete the assessment offline and save their responses to a USB storage device from which you can import their answers. See
If your students are disconnected from your class and aren't able to reconnect, try the following tips.
l
Ensure that the student's network cable is properly connected to the student's device. If it's connected, disconnect it and then reconnect it.
107
C H A P T E R 5
Maintaining your SMART Response system l
Ensure that your own network cable is properly connected to your computer. If it's connected, disconnect it and then reconnect it.
l
Use the Windows network connection repair utility. See your operating system's Help system for more information.
l
If your students can't see your class in SMART Notebook SE software, try connecting them manually. See
Manually connecting to a class
l
Contact your system administrator for help.
Importing student responses
If students are disconnected during an assessment, SMART Notebook SE software automatically attempts to reconnect to the class. If the software is unable to reconnect, students can still complete their assessments offline and save their responses to a USB drive from which you can import their answers. Disconnected students will be prompted to save their responses once they have clicked
Finish
in SMART Notebook SE software.
g
To import student responses
1. Start
Teacher Tools
. See
Teacher Tools
appears.
2. Connect the student's USB drive to your computer.
3. Select
Import > Student Responses
from the toolbar.
The
Select Unsent SMART Response Files
dialogue box appears.
4. Browse to and select the unsent response (.unsent) file and then click
Open
.
The
Import
dialogue box appears and displays a progress bar.
5. When the import is complete, click
OK
.
Finalising disconnected students' results in Teacher Tools
If students are disconnected from your class during an assessment before they submit their responses, a
Disconnected Students
icon appears beside their names in the
Assessments
tab, indicating that their marks aren't final. If you import a disconnected student’s responses or edit a disconnected student’s mark, the
Disconnected Students
icon disappears.
If you want to manually clear the icon and set the marks as final, follow the instructions below.
108
C H A P T E R 5
Maintaining your SMART Response system g
To set a disconnected student's mark as final
1. Start
Teacher Tools
. See
Teacher Tools
appears.
2. Select the class the student belongs to in the
Gradebook
class list.
The class information appears.
3. Click the
Students
tab.
4. Select the student's name in the list.
The student's information appears in the lower pane.
5. Click the
Results
tab.
6. Select the row of the student whose mark you want to set as final and then click the
Clear flag
icon .
The icon disappears.
109
C H A P T E R 5
Maintaining your SMART Response system
Other troubleshooting tips
Symptom/observation Action/remedy
When you export SMART Response question set results from a SMART
Notebook file using the CSV command, fractions change to dates.
Your computer doesn’t recognise
SMART Response software and the receiver’s Status LED light remains solid red.
In your exported results, change the exported dates to fractions, add a space before each fraction and convert the month to its numerical value. The converted month is the fraction’s numerator and the day is the denominator.
Remove the SMART Response hardware drivers on your computer, and then reconnect the receiver following the instructions in
The SMART Response System Receiver
Doesn't Work
(smarttech.com/kb/115401) .
The receiver's Status LED flashes red when SMART Response software is in
This is normal. When SMART Responsesoftware is in a mode that doesn't require a receiver, the software doesn't
CE or VE mode.
start the hardware drivers.
Responses from students don’t appear in SMART Notebook reports.
Wait for at least 10 seconds after the last student responds before you stop a question set.
Additional SMART Response receivers don’t connect to the network when you install more than one receiver on your computer.
Disconnect the additional receiver’s USB plug to resume normal operation. Disconnect and reconnect the first receiver’s USB plug if it doesn’t work, or if the Status light turns red.
N
N O T E
Installing more than one receiver affects your computer’s performance and doesn’t increase your reception.
110
Appendix A:
Appendix A
Hardware environmental compliance
SMART Technologies supports global efforts to ensure that electronic equipment is manufactured, sold and disposed of in a safe and environmentally friendly manner.
Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment
Regulations (WEEE directive)
Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment regulations apply to all electrical and electronic equipment sold within the European Union.
When you dispose of any electrical or electronic equipment, including
SMART Technologiesproducts, we strongly encourage you to properly recycle the electronic product when it has reached end of its life. If you require further information, please contact your reseller or
SMART Technologies for information on which recycling agency to contact.
Restriction of Certain Hazardous Substances
(RoHS directive)
This product meets the requirements of the European Union’s Restriction of Certain Hazardous
Substances (RoHS) Directive 2002/95/EC.
Consequently, this product also complies with other regulations that have arisen in various geographical areas and that reference the European Union’s RoHS directive.
Batteries
Batteries are regulated in many countries. Check with your reseller to find out how to recycle used batteries.
There are special regulations that must be met when transporting a product that has a lithium ion battery packaged with the product or transporting a lithium ion battery. When returning a
111
A P P E N D I X A
Hardware environmental compliance
SMART Technologies product which contains a lithium ion battery or returning a lithium ion battery, call SMART Technologies RMA for information on these special transportation regulations: l
+1 866 518 6791, Option 4 (US/Canada) l
+1 403 228 5940 (all other countries)
Packaging
Many countries have regulations restricting the use of certain heavy metals in product packaging. The packaging used by SMART Technologiesto transport products complies with applicable packaging laws.
Covered electronic devices
Many US states classify monitors as covered electronic devices and regulate their disposal.
Applicable SMART Technologiesproducts meet the requirements of the covered electronic devices regulations.
China’s Electronic Information Products regulations
China regulates products that are classified as EIP (Electronic Information
Products).SMART Technologies products fall under this classification and meet the requirements for
China’s EIP regulations.
US
Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act
The United States has enacted the
Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act
which limits the lead
(Pb) content in products used by children.SMART Technologies is committed to complying with this initiative.
California Air Resources Board – Airborne Toxic
Control Measure
California has enacted a law to restrict the emissions of formaldehyde from composite wood products. The SMART Technologies products that contain composite wood products comply with this regulation.
112
A P P E N D I X A
Hardware environmental compliance
Restriction of Certain Chemicals (REACH directive)
The European Union has enacted the EU REACH Directive which restricts the use of certain chemicals in products.SMART Technologies is committed to complying with this initiative.
113
SMART Technologies smarttech.com/support smarttech.com/contactsupport
Herunterladen
Werbung