Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium Manual
Publicitate
Publicitate
ADOBE
®
CREATIVE SUITE
®
WORKFLOW GUIDE
3
DESIGN PREMIUM AND STANDARD
© 2007 Adobe Systems Incorporated. All rights reserved.
Adobe® Creative Suite® 3 Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
If this guide is distributed with software that includes an end user agreement, this guide, as well as the software described in it, is furnished under license and may be used or copied only in accordance with the terms of such license. Except as permitted by any such license, no part of this guide may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted, in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, recording, or otherwise, without the prior written permission of Adobe Systems Incorporated. Please note that the content in this guide is protected under copyright law even if it is not distributed with software that includes an end user license agreement.
The content of this guide is furnished for informational use only, is subject to change without notice, and should not be construed as a commitment by Adobe Systems Incorporated. Adobe Systems Incorporated assumes no responsibility or liability for any errors or inaccuracies that may appear in the informational content contained in this guide.
Please remember that existing artwork or images that you may want to include in your project may be protected under copyright law.
The unauthorized incorporation of such material into your new work could be a violation of the rights of the copyright owner. Please be sure to obtain any permission required from the copyright owner.
Any references to company names in sample templates are for demonstration purposes only and are not intended to refer to any actual organization.
Adobe, the Adobe Logo, Acrobat, Acrobat Connect, Creative Suite, Dreamweaver, Flash, Illustrator, InDesign, Photoshop, Reader, and Version
Cue are either registered trademarks or trademarks of Adobe Systems Incorporated in the United States and/or other countries.
Mac is a trademark of Apple Inc., registered in the United States and other countries. Microsoft, OpenType, Vista, and Windows are either registered trademarks or trademarks of Microsoft Corporation in the United States and/or other countries. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.
Adobe Systems Incorporated, 345 Park Avenue, San Jose, California 95110, USA.
Notice to U.S. Government End Users. The Software and Documentation are “Commercial Items,” as that term is defined at 48 C.F.R. §2.101, consisting of “Commercial Computer Software” and “Commercial Computer Software Documentation,” as such terms are used in 48 C.F.R.
§12.212 or 48 C.F.R. §227.7202, as applicable. Consistent with 48 C.F.R. §12.212 or 48 C.F.R. §§227.7202-1 through 227.7202-4, as applicable, the Commercial Computer Software and Commercial Computer Software Documentation are being licensed to U.S. Government end users (a) only as Commercial Items and (b) with only those rights as are granted to all other end users pursuant to the terms and conditions herein. Unpublished-rights reserved under the copyright laws of the United States. Adobe Systems Incorporated, 345 Park Avenue, San
Jose, CA 95110-2704, USA. For U.S. Government End Users, Adobe agrees to comply with all applicable equal opportunity laws including, if appropriate, the provisions of Executive Order 11246, as amended, Section 402 of the Vietnam Era Veterans Readjustment Assistance Act of
1974 (38 USC 4212), and Section 503 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended, and the regulations at 41 CFR Parts 60-1 through 60-60,
60-250, and 60-741. The affirmative action clause and regulations contained in the preceding sentence shall be incorporated by reference.
Part # 90076514
Contents
2
the Big Picture
8
What’s Common
30
new Features
38
Photoshop + Design edition
54
Featured Designer: Culture A.D.
56
Illustrator + Design edition
70
Featured Designer: Chase Design Group
72
InDesign + Design edition
82
Featured Designer: Gee + Chung Design
84
Acrobat + Design edition
92
Flash + Design edition
108
Featured Designer: AdamsMorioka
110
Dreamweaver + Design edition
128
Resources
134
Index
the Big Picture
Adobe® Creative Suite® 3 Design Premium software is the designer’s dream toolkit for print, web and interactive, and mobile publishing. It combines all-new versions of essential tools for professional page layout, image editing, illustration, and Adobe PDF workflows with new tools for designing engaging websites, interactive experiences, and mobile content.
Adobe Creative Suite 3 offers a productive, intuitive, and tightly integrated environment with everything you need to design content for tomorrow as well as for today.
Adobe Creative suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Adobe® Version Cue® CS3
Collaborate effectively
Adobe® Stock Photos
Find, Create, Manage, Buy
Adobe® Device Central CS3
Design, preview, and test engaging mobile content
Adobe® Acrobat® 8 Professional
Communicate and collaborate with the essential PDF solution
Adobe® Dreamweaver® CS3*
Design, develop, and maintain standards-based websites and applications
Adobe® Bridge CS3
Manage media visually
Adobe® Illustrator CS3
Explore new paths with the essential vector tool
Adobe® Photoshop®
CS3 (including
Photoshop CS3Extended)
Discover new dimensions in digital imaging
Adobe® InDesign® CS3
Design and produce professional page layouts
Adobe® Flash® CS3 Professional*
Create and deliver rich, interactive content
*Not available in Creative Suite 3
Design Standard.
the Big Picture 3
Print, Web, and
Interactive Workflow
Adobe® Creative Suite® 3 Design is designed to let you repurpose the assets you create across different media. The tight integration among Creative Suite components allows you to start with content from
Illustrator®, Photoshop®, and Flash®, move quickly to
InDesign® and Dreamweaver® for layout and assembly, and easily check and prepare your files for both print and web production.
Along the way, you and the others in your workgroup can manage files and track revisions using Adobe®
Bridge CS3 and Adobe® Version Cue® CS3, including downloading stock photography from Adobe Stock
Photos directly from Bridge.
Content CReAtIon
Start with Photoshop and
Illustrator to create compelling content using Creative Suite features such as Smart Filters and LiveColor.
See Smart Filters, page 40
See Live Color, page 58
Bring the content you’ve created directly into Flash.
New in Flash: import native
Photoshop and Illustrator files, preserving the layer structure.
See Import Files into Flash, page 95
Adobe Creative suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
LAYoUt AnD AsseMBLY
Lay out your print deliverables using InDesign. Become more efficient by using features such as table styles and multi-file place.
See Tables and Table Styles, page 75, and Multi-File Place, page 74
PRoDUCtIon
Export a print-ready
Adobe PDF.
See Creating Adobe PDF Files, pages 18-19
Export InDesign content as XHTML, for use in
Dreamweaver web pages.
See InDesign for Web, page 80
Add Flash animations to web pages you create in Dreamweaver.
See Embed Flash
Animations and
Applications, page 117
Use JDF files in Acrobat to check your files against your print provider’s standards.
See Submit with a JDF, page 89
Check for potential problems in different browsers with the new
Browser Compatibility
Check feature in
Dreamweaver.
See Cross-Browser
Compatibility Check and CSS Advisor, pages 118-119
the Big Picture
Mobile Workflow
Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design software can also be used as part of your mobile workflow, now that Creative
Suite components are combined with new Adobe Device
Central. Create and assemble content using Photoshop,
Illustrator, InDesign, Dreamweaver, and Flash. Then use
Device Central to preview and test mobile content for a wide range of mobile and consumer devices.
Content CReAtIon
Create a new Photoshop, Illustrator, or Flash document tailored for mobile devices from within Device Central, consulting the device profiles in Device Central.
See Device Central Overview, pages 28-29
Create artwork in Photoshop or Illustrator and use Device
Central to preview your design.
Adobe Creative suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
LAYoUt AnD AsseMBLY
Create a new mobile document in Flash. Add interactivity after importing your Photoshop or Illustrator files into Flash.
Layers from both components are now preserved on import.
See Import Files into Flash, page 95
PRoDUCtIon
Publish your work.
Choose Control >
Test Movie in Flash to compile a SWF file. Device Central automatically opens, so that you can test your
Flash Lite application.
See Developing for
Mobile Devices, page 97
the Big Picture
What’s Common
Creative Suite 3 is designed to create a seamless workflow among the individual programs. The common language of the interface, tools, and commands lets you work more efficiently within your current workflow, and quickly learn new programs and functionalities.
Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign, and
Flash share a consistent interface, with common locations for toolbars, control panels, and docking panels surrounding the main artboard (or Stage).
A:
Tools panel (or palette)
B:
Artboard (or Stage)
C:
Control panel (or palette)
D:
Panels (or palettes)
See Adobe Creative Suite 3 Video Workshop topic,
Using shared elements of the Photoshop, Illustrator,
InDesign, and Flash workspaces
A
A
B
B
C
C
D
D
Adobe Creative suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
A
A
B
B
C
D
D
CUstoMIzInG YoUR InteRFACe
The Tools Panel
You can change the overall layout of the Tools panel to fit your preferred window and panel layout. By default, the Tools panel appears as two vertical columns. You can set it up as a single vertical column, or as one horizontal row.
See Help
Horizontal, one- and two- column tools panels in InDesign,
Flash, and Illustrator
The Control Panel, Control Palette or Insert Bar
The context-sensitive Control panel,
Control palette, or Insert Bar offers quick access to options, commands, and other panels related to the item or objects you select on the current page.
By default, the Control panel, Control palette, or Insert Bar is docked to the top of the document window; however, you can dock it to the bottom of the window, convert it to a floating panel, or hide it altogether.
See Help
Panels and Docking
By default, panels dock to the right side of your work area. You can choose to display your panels in icon mode, collapsing them to single icons, or icons and labels, to save space. You can change panel configurations to suit your preference. The panels can either sit flush to the work area or overlap it.
See Help
Docking panels and icon mode
Photoshop Control palette
Illustrator Control panel
Dreamweaver Insert bar
What’s Common
GETTInG SET UP
How you set up your work space and document directly affects how efficiently you can design and produce your work.
In Creative Suite, Document Set Up,
Templates, and Workspaces let you make the right project choices based on presets, and give you the freedom to customize your own presets.
Document Set-Up
When you choose File > New, you will be given a range of options for the initial set-up of your document, such as height and width defined by the units of your choosing, color mode, resolution, and page options for print or online viewing.
Several programs now allow you to choose New Document profiles based on media type. This is very helpful when you are working across media.
new Mobile and Devices document in Illustrator new Film & Video document in Photoshop
10 Adobe Creative suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
new HtML template document in Dreamweaver
Workspaces
You can choose predefined Workspaces, found in the Windows menu, and take advantage of having displays and menus coordinate with selected workflows.
You can also define your own workspace by simply arranging your desktop
(panels, tools, etc.) and then saving it as a custom workspace.
Templates
Templates let you create new documents that share common settings and design elements. You can create a template for a specific size, and determine settings for view (such as guide placement), print, online options, and more.
Templates can also contain symbols for common design elements (such as logos) and specific sets of color swatches, brushes, and graphic styles.
Illustrator and InDesign come with a variety of templates, including letterheads, business cards, envelopes, brochures, labels, certificates, postcards, greeting cards, and websites.
save Workspace
Flash includes templates for online advertising, mobile devices, slideshows, and learning objects. Dreamweaver includes web page templates in a variety of design formats, including a long list of cascading style sheets (CSS) layouts and support for related client- and server-side languages, such as
Java Script, Adobe ColdFusion, PHP,
ASP, and JSP.
Website template in Illustrator
Brochure template in InDesign
What’s Common 11
COnSISTEnT COLOR
Maintaining consistent color throughout the design process is both an important goal and a technical challenge. An asset’s colors should look as similar as possible during the creation, layout, and printing phases of your workflow. Photoshop and Illustrator can embed a profile of your asset’s color values when saving a file. InDesign can then read that profile and use it to display consistent colors from monitor to printed page.
Consistent Color with Adobe Bridge
When you set up color management using Adobe® Bridge CS3, color settings are synchronized across Photoshop,
Illustrator, InDesign, and Acrobat.
This synchronization ensures that colors look the same in all color-managed
Creative Suite components.
1
Open Bridge. To open Bridge from another Creative Suite component, choose File > Browse. To open Bridge directly, either choose Bridge from the Start menu (Windows) or double-click the Bridge icon (Mac OS).
If color settings are not synchronized, a warning message appears at the top of the Color Settings dialog box in Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign, and Acrobat.
2
Choose Edit > Creative Suite Color
Settings. Select a color setting from the list, and click Apply.
If none of the default settings meet your requirements, select Show Expanded
List Of Color Setting Files to view additional profiles. Adobe recommends that you synchronize color settings before you work with new or existing documents.
3
To install a custom settings profile, such as a file you received from a print service provider, click Show Saved
Color Settings Files.
See Adobe Print Resource Center: www.adobe.com/studio/print/
1 Adobe Creative suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Shared swatches
You can define color swatches in
InDesign, Illustrator, or Photoshop, and then exchange those swatches across these components. This not only promotes visual consistency across all design elements, but also ensures that all colors contain the same custom process or spot colors. All members of your design team can consistently use these swatches.
2
The .ase file containing your swatches is saved to the Presets > Swatches folder of the Creative Suite component where it originated.
3
To import the swatches in another application, choose Load or Open
Swatches from the Swatches panel menu, locate the .ase file in Presets > Swatches where it was saved, and click Load/Open.
You can create an .ase (Adobe Swatch
Exchange) file to load in other applications, and transfer it to others on your team.
To share the swatches with your team, copy the .ase file to your server, where everyone can access a copy, or e-mail it to team members working remotely.
1
Create a set of swatches, and choose
Save Swatches for Exchange from the Swatches panel menu. Name the file, and click Save.
Tips for successful color workflow
• Synchronize color settings in Bridge at the start of the project.
• Keep Color Management turned on in all Creative Suite components.
• Exchange color swatches across components to maintain consistency in projects.
• Turn on Overprint Preview on in
Illustrator, InDesign, and Acrobat when previewing the final file.
swatches panel menu
What’s Common 13
CREATInG
When you start creating work in any of the Creative Suite components, similar tools and practices let you quickly engage with the individual application you are in.
Pen tool
When you need a precision drawing tool, the Pen tool is usually the answer.
The Pen tool has been updated in Flash, where drawing objects is now more consistent with your experience in
Illustrator and Photoshop.
Tools like Pen and Eraser are fundamental to several components; Layers and
Animation panels were engineered for similar purposes; filters and styles are great crossover effects that remain familiar no matter what component you are in.
The Pen tool draws straight and curved lines to create objects. The tool comes with a menu containing the Add Anchor
Point tool, Delete Anchor Point tool, and
Convert Anchor Point tool. These tools help shape and redefine your object.
Eraser tool
The Eraser tool removes parts of the image. In Photoshop, you can erase pixel information. In Flash, you can erase strokes and fills. In Illustrator, this new tool lets you erase vector lines and shapes, and will automatically create new anchor points. You can customize the Eraser tool within the different Creative Suite components.
Adjusting an anchor point
1 Adobe Creative suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
eraser tool
Layers
Layers can be used to separate areas of content from each other. Layer information can be locked, hidden, deleted, and be kept independent from other content. Layer information can also be moved, transformed, or blended.
In programs like Illustrator and InDesign, layers are often used to organize content.
These layered files can also be exported and opened in Acrobat. In Photoshop, layers are used to make non-destructive image corrections and to apply effects. In
Flash, layers are used to separate content that is frequently assigned different actions and attributes.
Timelines and Animation
Photoshop and Flash let you create an animation by using the Animation palette in Photoshop and the Timeline in Flash.
Additionally, in Flash you can define key frames at certain points, and motion will automatically be generated based on these keyframes.
See Help
Styles and Effects
Many attributes and effects are available to apply to your artwork, whether it be vector or bitmap. Styles are sets of effects and appearance attributes, which can be applied to type or artwork. Once defined, they can be applied to multiple elements.
Effects include drop shadows, beveling objects, and applying artistic filters.
See page 76 for InDesign Effects
See page 40 for Photoshop Smart Filters
Animation palette in Photoshop object style in InDesign, composed of bevel effect, colors, and transparency
Blur effect in Photoshop
Layers panel in
Illustrator
Layers panel in Flash
(left of timeline) timeline panel in Flash
What’s Common 1
FILE COMPATIBILITY ACROSS CREATIVE SUITE COMPOnEnTS
Placing and Importing are methods of moving elements of artwork from one application to another.
Linking files
The process of placing files created in other applications is similar across
Creative Suite components.
Commands such as Edit Original,
Symbols, and Smart Objects help manage or maintain the editability of placed or imported files.
1
In Illustrator, Photoshop, InDesign,
Dreamweaver, and Flash, you can use
File > Place or File > Import.
Saving or Exporting from Creative Suite components gives you control over the final file format. Export is most often used when you are transforming the original file format into a non-native format.
2
Locate the file to be placed. When placing images or documents, you have the option to link them. Linking an image or document creates a relationship with that external file, and you can modify it in its native application.
native files, copy, and paste
Adobe Creative Suite components are designed to share native files across the software. Use native files any way you need to: Open native Photoshop files in
Illustrator, import them into InDesign layouts or Flash projects, and copy them into Dreamweaver. Open Illustrator files in Photoshop and import them into
InDesign layouts and Flash projects.
Open and edit Adobe PDF files in
Illustrator and Photoshop, and place them in InDesign layouts. These are just a few of the ways to move your files seamlessly from one component to another.
1 Adobe Creative suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Symbols
Symbols provide an efficient way to add multiple instances of artwork, objects, or functionality to a file. Each instance of a symbol is defined by the original symbol. Changes made to the original symbol are applied to all other instances.
Smart Objects
Smart Objects give you the flexibility to scale, rotate, and warp layers nondestructively in Photoshop. You can create a Smart Object in Photoshop by converting one or more layers.
In addition, you can paste or place the data in Photoshop from Illustrator.
In Flash, you can have button, graphic, movie clip, or font symbols. You might even have symbol instances that load images or video, or contain animation or code. Illustrator now supports the same types of symbols as Flash, including instance names and 9-slice scaling for symbols. Sharing symbols between
Illustrator and Flash is an easy and effective workflow.
Once a Smart Object stores source data inside a Photoshop document, you can then work on a composite of that data in the image. When you want to modify the document (for example, to scale it),
Photoshop re-renders the composite data based on the source data.
See Adobe Video Workshop topic,
Using Smart Objects and Live Color
Saving and Exporting
While file formats and export options are different in each component, the process of saving and exporting is very similar. Under the File menu, you will always have the option to Save, Save As,
Save a Version (when using Version Cue) or Export your file. Saving your file lets you define its properties. Saving
As lets you save a copy of your file of the same or different file type, and with the same or different properties.
Exporting lets you save a version of your file as a file type not native to the component you are working in.
File menu
What’s Common 1
CREATInG ADOBE PDF FILES
Adobe Portable Document Format (PDF) is a key technology in both print and web publishing. You can use Adobe
PDF as an integral part of your workflow to streamline document distribution and review, print high-resolution output, archive documents, and more.
Use Adobe PDF files for:
Electronic Distribution:
Post to the
Internet, or review in real time, via e-mail or server.
Printing:
Print proofs with a desktop printer. Prepare files for prepress and high-end output converting to industrystandard PDF/X formats, and create JDF for workflow automation—all by using
Adobe Acrobat 8 Professional.
PDF:
Combine with other PDF files, or assemble into PDF packages. Archive and retrieve documents.
Creating PDF files
Generating PDF files is simple, thanks to a consistent user interface in Creative
Suite components and shared PDF presets that contain optimal settings for typical output needs.
Follow these steps to create a PDF file from Creative Suite:
1
Choose one of the following options from the File menu:
Illustrator
—Choose Save As and select Adobe PDF (pdf) as the format.
Photoshop
—Choose Save As and select
Photoshop PDF as the format.
InDesign
—Choose Export and select
Adobe PDF as the format. You can also select a profile name from the PDF
Export Presets submenu.
2
Name the file, select a destination folder, and click Save or Export.
3
In the Adobe PDF Options dialog box, choose a PDF preset that meets the needs of the intended use of your PDF, or create or load a custom PDF preset.
To retain layers when you convert to
PDF, make sure that Compatibility is set to Acrobat 6 (PDF 1.5) or later, and that Create Acrobat Layers is selected in the Export PDF dialog box.
4
Customize any of the settings, or click
Save or Export to finish.
1 Adobe Creative suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
PDF Presets
Adobe provides these PDF presets as best practices for output of PDF files. If you are in doubt about which settings to use, contact your print service provider.
•
•
•
Smallest File Size
for displaying on the web or an intranet, or for distribution through an e-mail system.
High Quality Print
quality printing on desktop printers and proofing devices.
Press Quality
Creates PDF files
Creates PDFs for
Creates PDF files for high-quality print production
(for example, for digital printing or for separations to an imagesetter or platesetter), but does not create files that are PDF/X-compliant.
In this case, the quality of the content is the highest consideration.
The objective is to maintain all the
information in a PDF file that a commercial printer or print service provider needs to print the document correctly.
•
PDF/X-4
Based on PDF 1.4, which includes support for live transparency. PDF/X-4 has the same color-management and International
Color Consortium (ICC) color specifications as PDF/X-3.
•
PDF/X-1a
Designed for high-end print output. It requires all fonts to be embedded, the appropriate
PDF bounding boxes to be specified, and color to appear as CMYK, spot colors, or both. Transparency is also flattened. Compliant files must contain information describing the printing condition for which they are prepared.
•
PDF/X-3
Designed for high-end output, this preset creates PDF/X-3 compliant files. It is a standard for graphic content exchange, with the same requirements as PDF/X-1a, except that it supports color management through the use of an output intent. RGB content is allowed if profiles are properly assigned.
Note: Before creating an Adobe PDF file to send to a commercial printer or print service provider, find out what the output resolution and other settings should be, or ask for a job options file with the recommended settings.
Additional presets are included in the Extras folder on the installation DVD.
For more information about shared PDF settings for Adobe Creative Suite components, see the PDF
Integration Guide on the Creative Suite DVD.
See Adobe Video Workshop topic,
Creating PDF files from Creative Suite 3 applications
What’s Common 1
Bridge overview
Adobe® Bridge CS3 is your visual media manager. Quickly organize, browse, locate, and view the assets you need every day. Use scalable previews to view full-color Photoshop images,
Illustrator graphics, multi-page PDF files, snippets, QuickTime
Workspaces
The default Bridge workspace contains three main panes of file information. The left pane shows
Favorites, Folders, and Filters for navigating and isolating your files.
The center pane shows content thumbnails. The right pane shows a larger preview of your selected file, metadata, and keyword information. All panes are movable, allowing you to customize your workspace.
You can collapse or expand the panes by double-clicking on their tabs. You can also hide all side panes by hitting the Tab key.
Use the numbered buttons at the bottom of the Bridge window to assign workspaces, and easily switch back and forth among your customized views.
Example of three main panes
0 Adobe Creative suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Example of Filmstrip workspace and customizable buttons
movies, SWFs, FLVs, and more. Bridge allows centralized access to project files, applications, and settings, as well as sophisticated control over searchable XMP metadata, and drag-and-drop capability from Bridge to your favorite application.
See Adobe Video Workshop topic,
Using Bridge in a design workflow
Filter, Sort, and Find
The Filter pane allows you to easily narrow down and find files by a number of attributes, including
Labels, Ratings, File Type, Date
Created, and Orientation. When filtering is on, the Content pane will display only the filtered files. The Flat View feature also allows you to see all the assets in a project, regardless of the file structure.
View > Sort controls the order in which the files are displayed in the content pane. You can use it to sort by rating.
Edit > Find brings up the Find dialog box, in which you can search for files using a number of criteria. You can save the images that come up in your search as a collection that you can quickly refer to later.
See Adobe Creative Suite 3 Video
Workshop topic, Searching, sorting, and filtering in Bridge
Filter pane
Sort menu
Find dialog box
Preview PDF, SWF, FLV, and MOV files
You can save a lot of time by previewing all pages of a multipage PDF, and viewing an animated preview of MOV, FLV, and SWF files without leaving Bridge. When you select any of these files, the necessary viewing controls are available at the bottom of the Preview pane.
MOV
Bridge
+ Design Edition
1
Bridge overview
Metadata & Keywords
Metadata.
The metadata pane shows the detailed file information of your selected image or file. Information such as color mode, document swatches, dimensions, and resolution are all available to you without having to open the file.
Use the Create Metadata Template window, accessed through the menu at the top right of the
Metadata pane, to edit metadata.
See Adobe Video Workshop topic,
Applying metadata in Bridge
Keywords.
The keywords pane allows you to view and edit keywords that help in your search and retrieval of files and assets.
See Adobe Video Workshop topic,
Applying keywords in Bridge
Metadata pane
Adobe Creative suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Rating & Labels
You can use the Label menu to add star ratings and color labels to your files, which can be very helpful when viewing and organizing a large collection of images, such as a photo shoot.
This information is also searchable.
Go to View > Slideshow to view images at full screen, and flag them as you go, using keyboard shortcuts.
Rating and Label menu
Image with Rating and Color Label added
Batching Tools
Bridge offers several batch tools to help you modify your images.
These tools can be accessed in the Tools menu. They are sorted by application.
• Auto-download images from your camera, batch- apply metadata templates, and convert the images to DNG.
• Send multiple image files to Illustrator to batch-Live
Trace them, which produces vectorized images.
• Send files to Photoshop to batch-convert images into webready assets, or to create contact sheets, or PDF presentations.
• Batch-rename assets based on metadata attributes such as color profile and resolution.
See Adobe Creative Suite 3 Video
Workshop topic, Batch-processing file names, keywords, and metadata in Bridge
Batch tools list
Photo Downloader
New to Bridge, Photo Downloader allows you to automate the process of downloading photos directly from your camera or card reader.
1
Connect your camera or card reader, and, in Bridge:
• click the Photo Downloader in the Autoplay window (Windows); or
• choose File > Get Photos From
Camera (Mac OS).
2
If you want to automatically launch Photo Downloader each time you connect your device, select Yes when prompted.
3
Select your Source and Import
Settings from the dialog box.
4
Click Get Photos, and your photos will appear in Bridge.
See Adobe Creative Suite 3
Video Workshop topics:
• Importing images into Bridge
• Using Bridge in a photography workflow
• Nondestructive editing with
Camera Raw
• Editing multiple images with
Camera Raw
• Correcting lighting with Camera Raw
Photo Downloader
Bridge
+ Design Edition
3
Bridge
Adobe® stock Photos
Adobe® Stock Photos lets you view, try, and buy royalty-free images from leading stock libraries. From inside Bridge, you can use the powerful search capabilities of Adobe® Stock Photos to find the perfect image, and load it directly into your design file.
To access Adobe® Stock Photos, Choose Adobe® Stock Photos in the Favorites panel. A welcome screen will help guide you through the search and collections process.
See Adobe Video Workshop topic, Using Adobe Stock Photos
To download a comp and place it into an InDesign layout:
1
Enter a keyword in the Search field at the top of the Adobe® Stock
Photos pane. The pane will then display all images containing that keyword.
Keyword search
2
Choose an image. You can see a larger version in the Preview pane.
3
Click Download Comp to save a comp version of the image.
4
Select Downloaded Comps under Adobe® Stock Photos in the Preview pane to display the comp file.
5
You can now drag the comp image directly into an InDesign file.
Preview pane
Adobe stock Photos main page in Bridge
Adobe Creative suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
InDesign layout
Bridge
Acrobat Connect
Acrobat Connect lets you host real-time, web-based meetings.
Set up a personal meeting room for screen sharing, audio and video conferencing, whiteboarding, and more.
Acrobat Connect is ideal for real-time visual communication to present designs to your client or collaborate visually with other designers. All you need is a current browser with Flash Player installed, and Internet access.
To start an Acrobat Connect meeting, choose Start Meeting from the Favorites pane in Bridge.
When you first click the Start
Meeting button, you can create a free trial account.
In each subsequent meeting, you will go directly to your Acrobat
Connect personal meeting room.
You can also click See Demo to view a video tutorial file from
Adobe explaining how to use
Acrobat Connect.
Click the Start Meeting button to go from a personal document review to real-time communication with others over the Internet.
See www.adobe.com/products/ acrobatconnect/
Acrobat Connect Meeting window in Bridge
Bridge
+ Design Edition
Version Cue overview
Version Cue Server
When you perform the default installation of Creative Suite, Version Cue Server is installed on your computer, but is not turned on. Version Cue works with all Version Cue- enabled Creative Suite components:
Photoshop, Bridge, Illustrator, InDesign,
Flash, and Acrobat.
Version Cue Servers host shared Version
Cue projects and their related assets.
You access the Version Cue Server by using
Adobe Bridge or the Adobe dialog box in Version Cue-enabled Creative Suite components. You can also access the web- based administration. You can start the
Version Cue Server on your computer, or, optimally, install and run the Version Cue
Server on a dedicated computer accessible to others on your network.
Use Adobe® Version Cue® CS3 to track versions of a file as you work and to enable workgroup collaboration, such as file sharing, version control, backups, online reviews, and the ability to check files in and out. You can organize Version
Getting Set Up
When you first run the Version Cue Server, you’ll be prompted to specify initial server settings, including a system administrator password, server name and visibility settings, and user account creation settings.
1
Click the Version Cue Icon in the Favorites panel in Bridge. Then click the “start my server” icon to view the initial configuration page. Follow the steps to initialize the server.
2
Make sure that Version Cue is enabled in the
Creative Suite components so that you can connect to your Version Cue Server.
See Help
Creating a Version Cue Project
A Version Cue project contains all managed project files. Version Cue projects can be private or shared. To create a Version
Cue project:
1
Install on dedicated machine; start and configure server.
2
Add users and assign permissions.
3
Create a project and share it with others.
4
Add files to the project.
To view your project within Bridge, click Version
Cue in the Favorites panel. Then click the Recent
Projects item.
Starting Version Cue
Adobe Creative suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Creating a new Version Cue project
Cue-managed files into private or shared projects. Version Cue is integrated with Adobe Bridge: use Bridge as a file browser for
Version Cue projects. With Bridge, you can access Version Cue
Servers, projects, and files, and view, search for, and compare information about Version Cue-managed assets. Use Version
Cue Server Administration to create and manage user access, projects, and PDF reviews; administer backups; export content; and to specify advanced Version Cue Server information.
Checking in a file
Saving and Reviewing Versions
You can save versions of your file as you continue to work on it, to capture different states of the document you may want to refer to later.
To check in a file:
1
In Illustrator, InDesign, Flash, Photoshop, or Acrobat
Professional, choose File > Check In. In Bridge, choose
Tools > Version Cue > Check In.
2
Navigate to your Version Cue project.
3
Click Save.
To view versions of a file:
1
In Bridge, select Version Cue from the Favorites folder. Double-click Recent Projects, navigate to your project, and open it.
2
Select the file you want and choose Tools > Version
Cue > View Versions.
3
The Content panel displays all the versions of that file. Double-clicking on one of them opens the file.
Viewing different versions of a file
Access your project in Bridge
Version Cue
+ Design Edition
Device Central overview
Device Central allows users to preview and test mobile content on a variety of devices available in the marketplace. You can browse, search, and organize target devices, as well as examine device capabilities used to support Flash, bitmap, video, and web content.
Preview and Test Mobile Content
Launch Device Central from multiple programs within Creative Suite 3 to preview your mobile designs before pushing them live. Simulate display and lighting conditions to see how your design looks, then adjust gamma and contrast values accordingly. Scale and align your artwork to fit the device screen. Test on many devices to see how your content will appear.
See Adobe Video Workshop topic,
Using the Device Central workspace
1
Launch or switch to Device Central from Creative Suite:
From Photoshop or Illustrator:
File > Save for Web and Devices >
Device Central
From Flash:
Choose the appropriate Flash
Lite publish setting for your preferred device;
Control > Test Movie
From Dreamweaver:
Preview > Preview in Device Central
From Bridge:
Select the relevant document;
File > Test in Device Central
See Adobe Video Workshop topics:
Using Device Central with Photoshop, Using Device
Central with Flash, Using Device Central and Bridge
2
After automatically switching to Device
Central, test and preview your file on a variety of virtual devices.
3
See how your file will look with different reflection and backlight settings, experiment with resizing your file, and return to the original editing application to make any required adjustments.
Flash® Lite Emulation
Go further with Flash Lite. Interact with your content through the keypad on the emulated device to make sure your content works as expected. Simulate device and network states right on the desktop. Calibrate your desktop to gauge your content’s expected performance and memory consumption on the more limited capabilities of a mobile device.
Use this feedback to optimize your content.
Device emulator
Display panel
Testing different backlight and reflection settings can help show you how your file might look on the physical device.
Adobe Creative suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
This efficient testing approach lets you develop your assets quickly and inexpensively, reducing the amount of testing required on physical devices.
Devices
Device Profiles
You can view and compare multiple device profiles from the Device Profiles window.
Get detailed information on each device, including screen size, navigation type, supported content types and settings, sound availability, network options, and more.
A profile may also contain a skin, or picture, of the device. Select more than one device to display its features side by side.
You can obtain regular updates on new device profiles by going to Adobe Device Central
Online, which gives you testing access to the latest mobile devices.
Choose Devices > Update Device Profiles to search for the latest updates.
Browse, Search, and Organize
Within the Device Set window, you can define groups of phones that represent the targeted devices in a customer project, and save the created device set.
The left column shows the Device Sets and
Available Devices panels.
To create a new device set:
1
Use the + button at the top right of the Device Sets panel to create a new set, and name it.
2
Drag your choices from the Available
Devices list.
Create new Documents
Specify the device for which you want to create a file, and create a new Photoshop, Illustrator, or Flash document targeted to that device.
Device Central will automatically switch to the specified component, so you can start right away.
Device Profiles, Device sets, and Available Devices panels
Device Central
+ Design Edition
New Features
Each component in Creative Suite 3 has multiple new features. This section describes all the new features in the Adobe® Creative Suite® 3 family. Many of these features are further detailed in other sections of this book, in the
Adobe Creative Suite 3 Video Workshop DVD (included in the box), or in Help.
Photoshop
Smart Filters
Add, adjust, and remove filters from an image without having to resave the image or start over to preserve quality. Nondestructive Smart Filters allow you to visualize changes without altering original pixel data.
See page 40
Easy animation creation with the Animation palette*
Use the new Animation palette to create an animation from a series of images—such as time-series data—and export it to a wide variety of formats, including QuickTime, MPEG-4, and Adobe Flash® Video (FLV).
See Help
3D compositing and texture editing*
Easily render and incorporate rich 3D content into your 2D composites—even edit textures on 3D models directly within
Photoshop Extended and immediately see the results.
Photoshop Extended supports common 3D interchange formats, including 3DS, OBJ, U3D, KMZ, and COLLADA, so you can import, view, and interact with most
3D models.
See page 44
2D and 3D measurement tools*
Extract quantitative information from images with new measurement tools. Easily calibrate or set the scale of an image, and then use any of the Photoshop Extended selection tools to define and calculate distance, perimeter, area, and other measurements. Record data points in a measurement log and export data, including histogram data, to a spreadsheet for further analysis.
See Help
30 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Precise selection tools for detailed editing
Experience a wide range of tools for detailed editing, including new tools for making selections in a snap. Loosely draw on the image area you want to select, and the
Quick Selection tool automatically completes the selection for you.
Then preview and fine-tune your selections with the Refine Edge tool for cleaner results.
See page 40
Advanced compositing
Create more accurate composites by automatically aligning multiple
Photoshop layers or images based on similar content. The
Auto-align Layers command quickly analyzes details and moves, rotates, or warps layers to align them perfectly, and the
Auto-blend Layers command blends the color and shading to create a smooth, editable result.
See page 42
Better raw-image processing
Process raw images with increased speed and superior conversion quality using the Photoshop
Camera Raw plug-in, which now adds support for JPEG and TIFF formats; new tools including Fill
Light and Dust Busting; compatibility with Adobe Photoshop
Lightroom™ software; and support for over 150 camera models.
See Help
Enhanced Vanishing Point with 3D support
*
Edit in perspective on multiple surfaces—even those connected at angles other than 90 degrees— with the enhanced Vanishing
Point, which also lets you measure in perspective; wrap graphics, images, and text around multiple planes; and output 2D planes as
3D models.
See page 43
Improved printing experience
Experience better control over print quality with color management, a larger print preview window, and more controls in one place so you can print in fewer steps. Improved printing controls, co-developed by Adobe and HP, make printing easier and more predictable, and streamline setup options via integration with select printers from HP,
Epson, and Canon.*
See Help
Enhanced 32-bit high dynamic range (HDR) support
Create and edit 32-bit images and combine multiple exposures into a single, 32-bit image that preserves the full range of a scene— from the deepest shadows to the brightest highlights. New image-processing and alignment algorithms deliver superior results.
And with Photoshop CS3 Extended, you can even edit 32-bit images using brushes, filters, blending modes, transformations, selections, tools, aspect ratios, and more.
See Help
* Photoshop CS3 Extended only feature
New Features 31
Illustrator
Live Color
Explore, apply, and control color variations using Live Color, which lets you select any artwork and interactively edit the colors to see results immediately. Use the Color
Guide panel to quickly choose tints, shades, or harmonious color combinations.
See page 58
Adobe Flash® integration
Import native Illustrator files into
Flash CS3 Professional, or copy and paste artwork from Illustrator to Flash with paths, anchor points, gradients, clipping masks, and symbols intact. Layers, groups, and object names are also preserved.
See page 95
Drawing tools and controls
Draw in Illustrator more quickly and fluidly than ever. Easier and more flexible anchor point selection, path editing tools displayed in the Control panel, and the ability to align and distribute points, let you create artwork efficiently and intuitively.
See page 60
Improved operating performance
Enjoy more responsive drawing and editing with improved performance in key operations, including faster screen redraw, object moving, panning, scaling, and transformations.
See Help
Control panel
Discover more options faster and free up screen space by accessing anchor point controls, clipping masks, envelope distortions, and more from the context-sensitive Control panel.
See Help
Eraser tool
Quickly remove areas of artwork with the Eraser tool as easily as you erase pixels in Photoshop, and enjoy complete control over the width, shape, and smoothness of the erasure.
See page 60
New Document Profiles
Create artwork easily by selecting prebuilt profiles for all types of media, and save custom profiles that specify such setup parameters as artboard dimensions, styles, and color spaces.
See Help
Crop Area tool
Define crop areas interactively for print or export. Choose preset web ratios or video formats with safe areas, and set crop marks intuitively. Define multiple crop areas and easily move between them as needed.
See Help
Isolation mode
Edit objects in a group without disturbing other parts of your artwork. Easily select hard-to-find objects without having to restack, lock, or hide layers.
See Help
Symbols for Flash
Use Symbols to animate repeated objects while keeping file sizes small. Define and name symbol object attributes, and preserve these properties when you take the artwork to Flash CS3
Professional for further editing.
See Help
32 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
InDesign
Creative effects and controls
Design compelling page layouts that include transparency, creative effects, and gradient feathers. Since effects are live and nondestructive, you can experiment with ease. Apply effects independently to an object’s stroke, fill, or content.
See page 76
Productivity enhancements
Perform a variety of tasks more efficiently using new and enhanced productivity features, including Multi-file Place,
Quick Apply, faster frame fitting, and the visual Pages panel.
See page 74
Table and cell styles
Quickly and consistently format tables using table and cell styles.
Even use regional cell styles to apply unique formatting to specific areas of a table, such as its header, footer, and body.
See page 75
Robust long-document support
Maintain consistency and streamline the production of long documents using advanced bullets and numbering, running headers and footers, and synchronized master pages.
See Help
Advanced Find/Change on text and objects
Apply changes to text and object attributes across one or more documents. Include master pages, footnotes, and locked or hidden layers in a search; save search settings for easy reuse; and perform grep pattern–based searches on strings of text.
See Help
XHTML export
Enable multiformat publishing, including print-to-web workflows, by exporting styled InDesign content as XHTML. Edit the exported content in Adobe
Dreamweaver® CS3 software and automatically format it using cascading style sheets.
See page 80
Intuitive and customizable workspace
Work in an environment that makes it easier to be productive. Keep just the tools, panels, and menus you use most at your fingertips, and dock self-adjusting panels out of the way when not in use to free up your workspace.
See page 9
Placed InDesign files
Reuse layouts by placing INDD files in another InDesign document. Links remain intact, and InDesign automatically notifies you of updates to the linked INDD file.
See page 77
Rule-based layouts from XML
Use scripts that apply rules to automatically build page layouts and format text and graphics from XML content.
See Help
Automation through scripting
Automate tasks by writing scripts in JavaScript, AppleScript, and
VBScript. Attach a JavaScript to a menu command so it runs automatically when the command is chosen, and protect scripts for commercial use through enhanced JavaScript.
See Help
New Features 33
Acrobat
Combine multiple files into one
PDF package
Combine multiple files as PDF documents in a searchable, sortable PDF package that maintains the individual security settings and digital signatures of each included PDF document.
See page 88
Auto-recognize form fields
Automatically locate form fields in static PDF documents and convert them to interactive fields that can be filled electronically by anyone using Adobe Reader software.
See Help
Manage shared reviews
Easily conduct shared reviews— without IT assistance—that allow review participants to see each other’s comments and track the status of the review.
See page 87
Enable advanced features in Adobe Reader
Enable anyone using free Adobe
Reader software to fill and
save electronic forms offline and digitally sign documents.
See Help
Permanently remove sensitive information
Permanently remove metadata, hidden layers, and other concealed information, and use redaction tools to permanently delete sensitive text, illustrations, or other content.
See Help
Archive Microsoft Outlook e-mail in PDF
Configure Acrobat 8 Professional to automatically archive e-mail in
Microsoft Outlook for easy search and retrieval. (Windows only)
See Help
Archive Lotus Notes e-mail
Convert e-mail in Lotus Notes to
Adobe PDF to facilitate searching, archiving, and retrieval.
(Windows only)
See Help
Save in Microsoft Word
Take advantage of improved functionality for saving Adobe
PDF files as Microsoft Word documents, retaining the layout, fonts, formatting, and tables.
See Help
Enjoy improved performance and support for AutoCAD
More rapidly convert AutoCAD drawing files into compact, accurate PDF documents, without the need for the native desktop application.
See Help
Take advantage of a new, intuitive user interface
Complete tasks more quickly with a streamlined user interface, new customizable toolbars, and a “Getting Started” page to visually direct you to commonly used features.
See Help
34 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Flash
Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator import
Import Photoshop (PSD) and Illustrator (AI) files, while preserving layers and structure, and then edit them in Flash
CS3 Professional. Optimize and customize the files during import with advanced options.
See page 95
Convert animation to ActionScript™
Instantly convert timeline animations into ActionScript 3.0 code that can be easily edited, re-used, and leveraged by developers. Copy animations from one object to another.
See page 99
Adobe interface
Enjoy a new, streamlined interface that emphasizes consistency with other Adobe Creative Suite 3 applications and can be customized to improve workflow and maximize stage space.
See page 94
ActionScript 3.0 development
Save time with the new Action-
Script 3.0 language, featuring improved performance, increased flexibility, and more intuitive and structured development.
See page 98
Advanced debugger
Test content with a powerful, new ActionScript debugger that offers greater flexibility and user feedback, as well as consistency with Adobe Flex™
Builder™ 2 debugging.
See Help
Adobe Device Central
Design, preview, and test mobile device content, including interactive Adobe Flash Lite™ applications and interfaces, using Adobe Device Central, now integrated throughout
Adobe Creative Suite 3.
See pages 28-29
Rich drawing capabilities
Visually adjust shape properties on the Stage with smart shape drawing tools, create precise vector illustrations with the improved Pen tool inspired by
Adobe Illustrator, paste illustrations from Illustrator CS3 into Flash CS3 Professional, and more.
See page 94
New Features 35
Flash (continued)
ActionScript 3.0 components
Create interactive content with new, lightweight, easily skinnable interface components for ActionScript 3.0. Visually modify components’ look and feel with the drawing tools— no coding required.
See page 99
Advanced QuickTime export
Render content published in a
SWF file as a QuickTime video using the advanced QuickTime exporter. Export content that includes nested Movie Clips,
ActionScript™ generated content, and runtime effects such as drop shadow and blur.
See Help
Sophisticated video tools
Create, edit, and deploy streaming and progressive download Flash
Video with comprehensive video support. Ensure the best video experience with a stand-alone video encoder, alpha channel support, a high-quality video codec, embedded cue points, video import support, QuickTime import, closed captioning, and much more.
See page 100
Timesaving coding tools
Save coding time with new code editor enhancements. Focus on relevant code with code collapse and commenting, and jump to code errors with the error navigation feature.
See page 98
36 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Dreamweaver
Spry framework for Ajax
Visually design, develop, and deploy dynamic user interfaces using the Spry framework for
Ajax. Add interactivity, speed, and usability while increasing page responsiveness.
See page 114
Spry data
Integrate data into web pages using XML from an RSS feed or a database via drag and drop.
Sort and filter XML data on the fly or create a master-detail relationship.
See Help
Spry widgets
Easily add common interface components such as lists, tables, tabs, form validation, and repeatable regions to web pages with widgets from the Spry framework for Ajax.
See page 116
Spry effects
Easily add visual transitions to page elements to make them grow, shrink, fade, highlight, and more with the Spry effects for Ajax.
See page 115
Adobe Photoshop and Fireworks integration
Copy and paste directly from
Adobe Photoshop CS3 or
Fireworks CS3 into Dreamweaver
CS3 to leverage assets from your prototype in your finished project.
See page 113, and Help
Browser Compatibility Check
Save time and ensure a more consistent experience across browsers and operating systems with the new Browser Compatibility Check. Generate reports that identify CSS-related issues in a variety of browsers, without needing to launch the browsers.
See pages 118-119
CSS Advisor website
Find fast solutions to browserspecific CSS issues with the new
CSS Advisor website, an online community featuring a wealth of user-contributed solutions and insight.
See pages 118-119 and www.adobe.com/go/cssadvisor
CSS layouts
Easily incorporate CSS into your project with the new CSS starter pages. Extensive comments in each template explain the layout, so beginning and intermediate designers can learn quickly.
Each template can be customized.
See page 112
CSS management
Easily move CSS code from inline to head, from head to external sheet, from document to document, or between external sheets.
Cleaning up existing CSS in older pages has never been easier.
See page 121
Adobe Device Central CS3
Design, preview, and test mobile device content using Adobe
Device Central, now integrated throughout Adobe Creative
Suite® 3.
See pages 28-29
New Features 37
Photoshop + Design Edition
Photoshop is a master of digital image creation. Both Photoshop and Photoshop
Extended offer features that help you to edit your images and use them across different types of media, while integrating seamlessly with other components of Creative Suite.
The new features offered in Adobe
Photoshop CS3 will save you time in completing familiar tasks like making selections, give you more freedom to experiment with your images by using Smart Filters, and introduce you to new possibilities, like working with 3D and video files when you use
Photoshop CS3 Extended.
38 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Add Photoshop files to
Dreamweaver website layouts with automatic image optimization.
Set up web-based review sessions of layered Photoshop files with Acrobat.
Import vector artwork from
Illustrator as non-destructive and editable Smart Objects.
Enhance animation in Photoshop and export directly to FLV format.
Then take it mobile by previewing and testing in Device Central.
Place layered Photoshop files directly into InDesign, where the visibility of layers can be changed and layer comps can be selected without altering the original PSD file.
Photoshop
+ Design Edition
39
Photoshop
Features
Quick Selection Tool
For a faster and easier selection process, quickly
“paint” a selection over your image with the
Quick Selection tool. Drag your mouse over the area of your image you want to work on, and the Quick Selection tool automatically expands outward, finding and following defined edges and shapes. Use the Refine Selection Edge menu to improve the quality of the selection edges.
See Adobe Video Workshop topic, Making and refining selections
1
Select the Quick Selection tool, then choose a brush size in the Control panel.
2
“Paint” over areas of the image to quickly select them.
3
Click the Refine edge button in the Control panel to preview and edit your selection.
Smart Filters
Apply filters directly to your Photoshop images non-destructively using Smart Filters. Smart Filters appear in the Layers palette, where they remain live. You can turn them on and off or edit them after the filter has already been applied— without altering the original Photoshop image.
See Adobe Video Workshop topic, Applying Smart Filters
1
Select a layer or a portion of your image to which you would like to apply a filter.
In the Filter menu, select
Convert for Smart Filters.
40 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
2
Apply your filter. You can now access and modify the filter settings directly from the Layers palette.
Auto Align Layers
You can use the Auto Align Layers command in the Edit menu to make a composite photo from a pair of nearly identical images. This is very useful when you want to add elements from one photo to the other.
Photoshop aligns layers of an image based on the pixel data of the two layers, analyzing the pixels and aligning them appropriately. Once similar features are found, the Auto Align Layers command uses one layer as a reference and moves the other layers, so that matching features overlap.
1
Open two images you would like to align.
2
Copy and paste one image into the other image’s file on a new layer. Shift-click each layer to select both layers in the Layers palette.
3
Go to the Edit menu and choose Auto Align Layers.
Choose Auto from the dialog box, and click OK.
Our example shows two images of a group shot.
We prefer the way some people look in the first shot, and the way other people look in the second.
With the layers aligned, it’s very easy to mask sections of one image and reveal the other one.
The final composite contains the best of both shots.
See Adobe Video Workshop topic, Aligning layers by content
4
Hide and show the top layer to see the alignment. Create a Layer Mask on the top layer by clicking the layer mask button at the bottom of the
Layers palette.
5
Select the Brush tool from the tool bar and mask unwanted areas of the top layer, revealing the content of the aligned layer below.
6
Continue masking out areas until you are happy with your final image.
Photoshop
+ Design Edition
41
Photoshop
Features
Multi-Layer Select
Multi-Layer Select allows you to keep imagery, illustrations, and type on separate layers, while applying edits to them as a group. You do this by clicking or drag-selecting directly in your artwork. This approach allows you to intuitively select objects without having to figure out which layer they are on.
1
Choose the Move tool, then select the Auto-Select Layer option in the Control palette.
Drag a marquee selection over the objects you want to align or edit. Make sure you lock layers that you do not want selected.
2
You can now move or align all selected layers, or choose other edit options.
We aligned the dots by using the Align palette.
3
You can also select layers by using the Move tool and Right-clicking (Windows) or Control-clicking (Mac OS) in the image, and pressing the shift key to add to your selection. A menu appears, showing the layer names.
Layer Comps
A layer comp is a snapshot of a state of the Layers palette within Photoshop. Using layer comps, you can create, manage, and view multiple versions of an image in a single Photoshop file.
You can then import only one file into InDesign and Illustrator layouts, while maintaining access to all of your layer comps.
See Adobe Video Workshop topic, Using layers
1
Turn Layers on and off in Photoshop to create a version of your image you would like save as a layer comp.
2
Open the Layer Comps palette from the Windows menu. Select New Layer Comp from the menu, name your layer comp, and click OK.
3
Repeat steps 1 and 2 to create additional layer comps.
42 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Smart Objects
Smart Objects preserve an image’s source content with all its original characteristics, so that any scaling or effects applied to it in Photoshop are non-destructive. This means that when you modify your document, Photoshop re-renders Smart
Objects based on their source data. You can create a Smart Object from pixel- or vector- based artwork.
For example, a Camera Raw image (pixel) or a logo from Illustrator (vector) can be a Smart Object.
1
Copy and paste a piece of vector artwork, such as a logo, from Illustrator.
Select Smart Object from the Paste dialog box.
2
Scale and position your
Smart Object.
3
Double-click on the layer containing your
Smart Object to edit in
Illustrator. When you save your changes, your
Photoshop file will automatically update.
Enhanced Vanishing Point
With Vanishing Point, you don’t have to retouch an image as if all its contents are on a single flat plane facing you. Instead, you can work dimensionally on the various perspective planes in the image.
Edit multiple surfaces with control over the angle of the connected surfaces either manually or by entering measurements to set your scale.
See Adobe Video Workshop topic, Using Vanishing Point in Photoshop
1
Open the artwork you want to add to the planes, select all and copy.
2
Open the file in which you want to define planes, and choose Filter > Vanishing
Point. This will launch the
Vanishing Point dialog box.
3
Select the Create Plane tool and click corners in your image to define your first plane.
Command/Control-drag a handle to add a new face.
Option/Alt-drag to rotate the new face to a new angle.
4
Command/Control+V to paste artwork, then drag it onto the shape and it will wrap around it on all planes. Click OK to exit the dialog box. The artwork you placed will appear on a new layer in your file.
Photoshop
+ Design Edition
43
Photoshop
Features
3D Integration (Photoshop Extended Only)
The new 3D integration in Adobe Photoshop
CS3 Extended makes it easier to composite 2D and 3D content in a single scene, as well as to visualize the effects of texture editing directly in Photoshop. You can easily import common
3D interchange formats, edit existing textures using any Photoshop tool, and composite 2D and 3D content in a single file.
Photoshop Extended supports common 3D interchange formats, including 3DS, OBJ, U3D,
KMZ, and COLLADA, so you can import, view, and interact with most 3D models.
See Adobe Video Workshop topics:
• Using the 3D tool
• Editing textures for 3D models
1
Open a 3D file and set the resolution to meet your needs.
Double-click on the thumbnail of the file in the Layers palette to enable the 3D tools.
2
Explore the 3D tools, changing rotation, lighting, and other options.
3
Double-click on a texture to modify or replace its contents.
When you save your changes, your Photoshop file will automatically update.
44 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Video (Photoshop Extended Only)
Use familiar, powerful Photoshop tools for time-based painting and cloning video frames.
Process image sequences and convert to video without an intermediate application. You can easily import, work with, and export to more specialized formats than ever before, including the popular formats of Adobe Flash Video,
MPEG-4 video, QuickTime, MOV, 3G, FLC, H.264
(iPod), DV Stream, and AVI for video. New video capabilities in Photoshop also promote more streamlined web development, allowing designers to create FLV files in Photoshop and deliver finished assets to Flash programmers—or even to go directly to Dreamweaver.
See Adobe Video Workshop topics:
• Using the Animation palette
• Animating layer properties
• Cloning content across multiple frames
• Working with image sequences
• Working with video layers
1
Open a Quicktime, AVI, or MPEG video using File >
Open. The video will appear as a video layer in the Layers palette and in the File >
Animation window.
4
Export the finished video using File > Export > Render Video and choose a format.
2
Add additional layers to the video, and paint and clone video frames over time. For example, you can add a word balloon to this video.
3
Use the Animation timeline to change layer attributes over time, with familiar Photoshop tools.
Photoshop
+ Design Edition
45
Photoshop for Print
Photoshop files are key elements of many types of printed materials. The robust press-ready tools allow for flexible use of these files in a variety of print scenarios.
1
Choose color mode and resolution
When determining a color mode for a Photoshop image, consider the printing specifications of the design project in which the image will be used. Photoshop supports a variety of printing modes, from standard CMYK to Duotone and
Spot Color processes.
These color modes can then be separated and printed from both InDesign and Illustrator.
Make sure to check the resolution of your Photoshop file, as well.
It should be at least two times greater than the line screen, at the size it will be printed.
Bitmap images may require a higher resolution.
2
Import into a layout
You can either place or embed
Photoshop images into
Illustrator or InDesign as part of a print layout.
Placing a file creates a link to the native file and allows you to control the visibility of layers and layer comps.
Embedding a file writes all image information into the Illustrator or InDesign file directly.
Both Illustrator and InDesign give you the ability to place layer comps from Photoshop. InDesign lets you select layer comps and show/hide layers without having to return to Photoshop or alter the PSD file.
Photoshop image
46 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Illustrator layout
InDesign layout
3
Edit original
Illustrator and InDesign allow you to go back and edit your original
Photoshop file in Photoshop.
By choosing Edit Original in the
Links panel, when you make and save changes in Photoshop, they automatically update in your
Illustrator or InDesign file.
RED RUSH!!!!
AQUO RED
A new b end of all hat s r ght and hea t y w th a ki k! Organ c ras berry ui e c mb nes wi h the s gnat re A uo i am n blend o g ve y u he uel y u ne d o make your day go f om b ahhh to ahh !!!!
Try all three flavors
AQUO RED AQUO GOLD and AQUO GREEN
Edit original in InDesign
4
Prepare for print
To prepare a final file for print production, either choose Save
As in Photoshop, and select
Photoshop PDF as the format, or use the Package option in InDesign (File > Package).
Then use the Press Quality or one of the PDF/X presets.
See Adobe Video Workshop topics:
• Exporting to PDF 1.7
• Printing photos
Final print-ready PDF
Photoshop
+ Design Edition
47
Photoshop for Web
1
Design, optimize, and export your website
Using the compositing features of Photoshop, develop a mock-up of your website. You can conveniently copy and paste key graphic areas directly into Dreamweaver, or batch-create images by cutting the page into logical slices.
• Create slices by using the Slice tool or by creating layer- or guide-based slices.
• Use the Slice Select tool to move, resize, or align slices.
• Name the slices, using the
Slice Options dialog box, for easy recognition when inserting graphics into your HTML layout.
• Export your slices into web-ready images (with optional reference HTML).
Photoshop web design
48 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Adobe® Photoshop® CS3 is a leader in creating graphics for the web. Special features like custom color panels, optimized slices with HTML export, and flexible compression have long provided users with comprehensive support for web graphics standards.
2
Create CSS layout in
Dreamweaver
Use the WYSIWYG layout tools and powerful CSS and scripting features in Dreamweaver to reproduce your layout in clean, easily maintained, standards- compliant code.
Dreamweaver CSS layout
Native Photoshop files can now be copied and pasted into
Dreamweaver pages with an unprecedented degree of fidelity.
Image segments can also be copied and pasted into companion
Creative Suite components, with roundtrip editing capabilities.
3
Copy and paste
As needed, copy additional segments of your mock-up and paste directly into the Design or Code views in Dreamweaver.
The first time you paste an asset, the Image Preview feature lets you optimize your image properties. Thereafter,
Dreamweaver will remember these settings, contributing to a fast and efficient workflow.
4
Return to Photoshop as needed
Use the Image Preview feature in Dreamweaver to optimize your image properties. Thereafter, a reference to the newly placed file lets you automatically launch
Photoshop for future edits.
See Adobe Video Workshop topic,
Designing websites with Photoshop and Dreamweaver
Copy Merged in Photoshop
Image Preview dialog box in Dreamweaver
Photoshop
+ Design Edition
49
Photoshop for Interactive
You can easily comp interactive prototypes in Photoshop, using its powerful array of filters and compositing effects to create visually arresting interfaces for interactive media.
1
Design your interface
Begin creating your interactive piece by designing the interface in Photoshop. Take advantage of Layers and Layer Styles to quickly fashion multi-state buttons and views. Use the text tools to create text elements that can later be edited or changed dynamically with programming.
2
Import into Flash
Import your native Photoshop document in Flash and selectively include individual layers during the import process. Choose to import text layers as flattened pixels or vector outlines, to preserve appearance, or as editable text, to support future changes. You can also create a movie clip from any layer, complete with instance name and registration point, and set custom compression settings for any layer.
Photoshop interactive design
50 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Flash import dialog box
Once your mock-up is ready, the tight integration of Creative
Suite lets you import the native PSD file into Flash with a dramatically improved process. For example, layer hierarchy, blend modes, and layer effects all remain intact. You can also
3
Add animation and interactivity
Use the timeline in Flash to add animation, or use ActionScript 3.0 to add impressive interactivity and animated effects to your file. Interactive experiences can even be added with little or no programming by using pre- created scripted widgets called Components.
set text preferences and automatically create movie clips during import to simplify your Flash development efforts.
These features, among others, reduce tedious production time and allow you to focus on creativity, rather than repetitive tasks.
4
Publish your file
Once your project is complete, you can publish it as an SWF file for use in a web page, or as a projector for download, disc, or kiosk distribution.
See Adobe Video Workshop topic,
Designing websites with Photoshop and Flash
Flash timeline
Final SWF file
Photoshop
+ Design Edition
51
Photoshop for Mobile
Photoshop is known as the industry-leading pixel-based graphics editor, and Adobe® Photoshop® CS3 has added new capabilities that help optimize graphics for use on mobile devices.
1
Basic design
Photoshop is great for designing things like backgrounds , mock-ups for Flash Lite, or branded wallpaper for mobile devices. Before starting a mobile project, learn about device capabilities, select target handsets, and create a new Mobile Photoshop file using the device profiles in
Device Central. In Photoshop, choose File > New. In the Preset menu, choose Mobile & Devices.
Then design as you would.
2
Layer Comps
You can use features like Layer
Comps (Window > Layer Comps) to test out different ideas. Add, show, and hide layers to suit your needs.
Each time you want to save a layout, create a new layer comp.
When you are ready, select the one you want to test.
New Document dialog box Photoshop mobile composition
52 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Photoshop layer comps Photoshop Layers palette
Photoshop Layer
Comps palette
For example, you can use Photoshop to create graphics for wallpaper and screensavers. Tightly integrated with Device
Central, Photoshop lets you start new mobile projects, and test and preview your output on a variety of mobile devices.
You can even use Device Central to create Photoshop documents that match the dimensions and bit-depth of a target device.
3
Compress file
Use the File > Save as Web and
Devices menu command to experiment with different compression settings. When you are satisfied, click the Device Central button to launch Device Central.
4
Preview with
Device Central
Preview your wallpaper on your target device to see how it looks.
Test your design using different backlighting values to see how the wallpaper might look in low-light environments.
Try Indoor, Outdoor, and Sunshine reflection settings to see how glare might affect your design.
If edits are necessary, return to Photoshop, using the
Command menu.
See Adobe Video Workshop topics:
• Using Device Central with Photoshop
• Using shared elements of the
Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign,
and Flash workspaces
Photoshop Save For Web & Devices dialog box Adobe Device Central
Photoshop
+ Design Edition
53
Culture A.D.
Partners Craig and
Brooke Brimm www.culture-ad.com
54
Culture Advertising Design was envisioned by its founders, Craig and Brooke Brimm, as an agency that splits the difference between the fields of advertising and design. The two principals lead a strong creative team committed to making incisive matches between brands and consumers.
Culture A.D. has extensive experience in package design, print advertising, logo development, and brand identity, as well as television and radio advertising. The agency brings the advantages of a consumer-centered design aesthetic to all its advertising projects, while making sure the design projects are at the epicenter of their client’s advertising. Culture A.D. began in 2001 as a platform to bring a more exciting design language and usability to African American brands and consumers. In its brief life span, the agency has garnered several accolades, including the
STEP inside design
magazine’s 2006 STEP 100 competition and numerous American Graphic
Design Awards. The principles were featured in
Graphic Design USA
magazine’s People To
Watch in 2006.
Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Spa Mom Ahh packaging
This prototype of a package design demonstrates how we are able to show clients our first-round ideas in a 3D form.
We mock-up graphics, type layout and the package itself all within Illustrator.
Herbalicious logo
The Herbacious logo shows the elegance and beauty of line that’s achieved by Illustrator.
Readers Make Leaders poster
Our poster for Readers Make Leaders started as hand-rendered images scanned into Photoshop. Then we used Live Trace in Illustrator to give us vector art. The final image was composed in InDesign.
Colomer USA brochure
This brochure for Colomer USA was created using vector art from Illustrator, combined with many multilayered files in Photoshop. InDesign was used to orchestrate the imagery and copy. Using folders to group layers in Photoshop proved to be indispensable.
Featured Designer 55
Illustrator + Design Edition
Illustrator is the essential vector software for creating illustrations, logos, single-page layouts, and web and interactive content. New features in
Adobe® Illustrator® CS3 have been added to help you work between components as well as help you more easily create your artwork.
Traditional elements have also been improved. Features like Live Color, a completely new color environment, let you explore and manage color in your artwork with more flexibility and creative choices. Basic drawing tools also have been enhanced to respond to users needs.
Significant integration improvements between Illustrator and Flash now allow you to copy and paste artwork directly from Illustrator to Flash while maintaining your text, layers, and grouping structure, and letting you use a symbol workflow.
56 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Import or copy and paste native Illustrator files directly into Flash.
Set up web-based review sessions of layered Illustrator files with Acrobat.
[ red ] natural energy: made with organic raspberry juice no preservatives
GM P[ NM
Copy and paste or place artwork into Photoshop as a Smart Object.
Import Illustrator artwork into InDesign by placing files or copying and pasting.
Illustrator
+ Design Edition
57
Illustrator
Features
Live Color
Explore, apply, and control color variations using Live Color, which lets you select any artwork and interactively edit the colors to see results immediately. Use the Color Guide panel to quickly choose tints, shades, or harmonious color combinations.
See Adobe Video Workshop topics:
• Using the Color Guide to find and create color solutions
• Creating, editing, and experimenting with color groups
• Using Recolor Art to change colors in illustrations
1
Select a color in the artwork you would like to explore.
2
Explore the harmonies in the Color Guide panel, saving swatches in Color Groups as you go. You can double-click on a Color Group to recolor your artwork, which will open the Live Color dialog box. This dialog box can also be accessed through the color wheel icon at the lower-right corner of the Color Guide panel.
3
Move around the color wheel, and try linking and unlinking colors.
4
Use the Assign dialog box to lock down and replace colors.
58 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Live Trace and Live Paint
Live Trace and Live Paint can be used together to convert bitmap imagery, such as a scanned pencil drawing, to outlined and filled vector imagery.
Click the Live Trace button in the Control panel to trace bitmap artwork you open or place into
Illustrator. You can control the level of detail and the fill of the tracing. If you need to change the original bitmap file, choose Edit Original and return to Photoshop. Any changes you make will update automatically in Illustrator once you save the file.
Live Paint lets you intuitively create colored drawings. Shapes are defined as regions and edges, and can be colored quickly with tools like the Live Paint bucket.
See Adobe Video Workshop topics:
• Using Live Paint
• Using Live Trace and Live Paint
1
Import the artwork you would like to trace and color.
2
Click the Live Trace button and adjust the settings.
When you are satisfied with your results, click Live Paint in the Control panel to color your drawing, or Expand to create vector paths.
3
Select the Live Paint
Bucket tool from the
Tools panel, and click the areas of the object you would like to paint.
4
If you have saved Color
Groups in the Swatches panel, you can select a color within a group to color the artwork.
5
This enables a toggle feature in the Paint Bucket tool, showing you the colors to the left and right of the one you have selected. Use the arrow keys to navigate through colors in your group without having to select them in the panel.
Illustrator
+ Design Edition
59
Illustrator
Features
Drawing Enhancements
You can now work more intuitively with anchor points and handles, making vector drawing faster. Illustrator offers many vector drawing improvements, including the display of the handle at the opposite end of the segment, to give you a better sense of the curve, and the option to set a preference for the size at which anchor points are displayed. The selection tolerance has also been increased, so you can more easily make selections.
1
Draw a simple curve to experience the enhanced drawing features, such as the display of the handle at the other end of the curve. When you select points on a path, the Control panel will display path editing tools.
2
Deselect and mouse over your artwork to see how the anchor points highlight as your pointer approaches them.
3
Adjust anchor point display size and tolerances in Preferences > Selection &
Anchor Display.
Eraser Tool
The Eraser tool allows you to erase vector artwork using a brush, similar to the way you erase pixels in Photoshop, so that you no longer have to delete anchor points individually. This tool creates clean vector artwork to match what you visually erase.
Note that the Eraser tool will remove all layers of art, unless you are within a selection or have locked portions of your artwork.
See Adobe Video Workshop topic, Using the Line, Eraser, and shape tools
1
Select the Eraser tool from the tool box, then adjust your brush using the options in the toolbar.
2
Go to the area you would like to erase. Make a selection to erase only that artwork, or lock any portions you don’t want to erase.
3
Erase the artwork. Note that your vectors have been updated to match what you’ve erased.
60 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Transparency
Transparency can be easily added to your
Illustrator artwork. You can use the Transparency panel to specify the opacity and blending mode of objects, to create opacity masks, or to knock out a portion of one object with the overlying portion of a transparent object. Transparency and blending modes work similarly in other Creative Suite 3 components. Use PDF/X-4 when preparing files with transparency for print.
1
Select the artwork you would like to add transparency to.
2
Explore the different blending modes and opacities in the Transparency panel.
See Adobe Video Workshops:
• Working with transparency in Illustrator
• Working with blending modes in Illustrator
• Working with opacity masks
DeviceN
DeviceN support makes spot-color workflow in Illustrator simpler and more powerful.
You are now capable of accomplishing more tasks using color spaces composed of N colors, such as duotones and tritones. You can even use spot color in gradient mesh blends, which will be preserved through rasterization. DeviceN lets you print from composite separations with spot colors intact.
1
With the Mesh tool, create a piece of artwork with a gradient mesh, using spot colors.
2
Print composite separations with spot colors intact.
Illustrator
+ Design Edition
61
Illustrator for Print
Because Illustrator vector artwork is scalable, it is very flexible and reliable in print production. Changes you make natively to
Illustrator files placed into InDesign will instantly update with
Edit Original, and all swatches specified in your Illustrator
1
Choose document profile
For Illustrator files prepared for print production, use the Print document profile, which will set up your files as CMYK, as well as setting defaults correctly for print output (for example, rasterization resolution of 300 ppi).
2
Export to PDF or import into lnDesign
When working with a single-page
Illustrator document, you can go directly to print by saving as a PDF-X/4.
InDesign should be used for multi-page documents. Simply copy and paste or place Illustrator artwork directly into InDesign.
With either choice, if your artwork contains spot swatches, they will automatically be added to your
InDesign swatches panel.
Copy and Paste:
When you copy and paste, you no longer need your original
Illustrator file, because all the vector information is stored directly in the
InDesign file. This can be useful if you only have a few pieces of artwork placed into your file.
Placing:
Placing creates a link to the original Illustrator file, allowing you to edit it separately in Illustrator. This is useful for complex artwork, which may require
Illustrator tools to make changes.
Illustrator New Document dialog box
Illustrator image file
62 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
InDesign layout
artwork will be accounted for automatically in the InDesign swatches panel. When placing artwork into an InDesign layout, you can save print-ready PDFs either directly from Illustrator, or by using InDesign.
3
Edit original
If you’ve placed your Illustrator file, InDesign lets you go back and edit it in Illustrator, by choosing Edit Original in the
Links panel, or by using the context menus. Your Illustrator file will update automatically in your InDesign file when you save your changes.
4
Prepare for print
To prepare a final file for print production, export to a PDF, using
Press Quality or PDF/X presets.
See Adobe Video Workshop topics:
• Exporting to PDF 1.7
• Using the Crop tool in Illustrator to define areas for print or export
Edit original from InDesign Final print-ready PDF
Illustrator
+ Design Edition
63
Illustrator for Web
1
Create vector artwork
Create your artwork using the vector editing tools. Using vectors ensures that your art will look great at any size and resolution.
2
Adjust color
Using LiveColor, adjust the color scheme of your artwork until you are satisfied. Use the web swatches to restrict your artwork to web-safe colors.
Adobe® Illustrator® CS3 lets you create flexible, web-ready images.
Illustrator can export web-ready bitmap images to be used in
Dreamweaver, as well as vector-based animated SWF and SVG files, making it a logical choice for any creative environment.
Illustrator vector artwork Live Color dialog box
64 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
3
Save for web
Use File > Save for Web and Device if you want a SWF, SVG, or bitmap version of your artwork.
To compare quality, optimize your compression settings while previewing the compressed version side-by-side with the original.
4
Export SWF or SVG
If you need scalable vector output, export a SWF or SVG file directly from Illustrator. Flash maintains the integrity of critical elements in your Illustrator artwork, and the dialog box offers fine control of export options.
See Adobe Video Workshop topics:
• Importing Illustrator files into Flash
• Using symbols effectively between
Illustrator and Flash
• Using text effectively between
Illustrator and Flash
• Saving files for the web
• Exporting animated SWF files from Illustrator
• Exporting content
Save for Web and Devices dialog box SWF Options dialog box
Illustrator
+ Design Edition
65
Illustrator for Interactive
Adobe® Illustrator ® CS3 offers new features specifically designed to improve interactive workflow. For example, you can now prepare Illustrator objects as Flash graphics or movie clips that
Flash will recognize when you import, or copy and paste.
1
Prepare your file for Flash
Prepare your file for use in Flash by identifying any objects that will need to be interactive in your final product. Select these elements, define them as symbols, and give them Flash-based attributes.
For example, you can pre-create graphics and movie clip symbols, including support for registration points and 9-slice scaling.
See Adobe Video Workshop topics:
• Understanding 9-slice scaling
• Using 9-slice scaling
2
Define Flash text
If your interactive application requires static, dynamic, or input text, you can pre-assign text fields as Flash static (unchanging), dynamic (changing), or input
(user-entered) text types.
You can also set several Flash properties at this stage, including how the type will be rendered using custom anti-aliasing, whether the text is selectable, and even which URL the user will visit when clicking on the relevant text.
Symbol Options dialog box
66 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Flash Text dialog box
You can also set Illustrator objects to be static, dynamic, or input text fields when you import them into Flash. This allows designers and programmers to work together more closely than ever before, making your collaborative process more efficient.
3
Import in Flash
Once you’ve completed your preparation, import your Illustrator asset into Flash. The tight integration between the two Creative
Suite components lets you specify which layers will be imported, preserve layer hierarchy, set text to be editable or converted to vector outlines, and bring across images with editable paths and layer styles.
4
Copy-and-paste editing
Finally, if you want to make simple edits and add additional Illustrator content, you can take advantage of copy-and-paste integration between Illustrator and Flash.
The resulting paste can be treated as a composite bitmap, or you can use the preferences previously set up in the
Illustrator Import dialog box.
Flash Import dialog box
Flash Paste dialog box
Illustrator
+ Design Edition
67
Illustrator for Mobile
Illustrator provides an integrated connection to Device Central that lets you quickly and easily start new mobile projects, and preview and test your content on many mobile devices. You can see how your document displays on devices of different sizes,
1
Prepare your file for mobile
Before starting a mobile project, first learn about device capabilities, select target handsets, and even create a new mobile Illustrator file using the device profiles in Device
Central. Then, set up an animated mobile screensaver by creating one Illustrator layer for each frame of animation.
2
Export SWF
Export your layered document to
SWF format from within Illustrator.
To create an animation from a layered Illustrator file, choose the appropriate Flash Player version to match your targeted device, and select AI Layers to SWF
Frames in the SWF Options export dialog box.
Illustrator Layers panel
68 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
SWF Options dialog box
adjust backlight and reflection simulations, and scale and align your content if necessary.
3
Preview and test in
Device Central
When you are satisfied with your settings in the SWF Options dialog box, click the Device Central button to automatically switch to Device
Central and open the SWF file you just created. Test your file on a variety of supported devices to see how your screensaver looks.
See Adobe Video Workshop topics:
• Using shared elements of the
Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign, and Flash workspaces
• Creating mobile content in Illustrator
Device Central emulator
Illustrator
+ Design Edition
69
Chase Design Group
Founder/Creative Director
Margo Chase www.chasedesigngroup.com
70
Since founding Chase Design Group in 1986,
Margo Chase has consistently produced award-winning work in many areas of design.
Recognized worldwide for her skill with custom typography and identity development, Margo is dedicated to creating client success through high-quality, intelligent creative. Her vision provides the fuel for Chase Design Group’s growth and achievement. Building on early successes in the music business, designing packaging for artists Madonna, Cher, Prince, and others, her studio’s dynamic style can now be seen in work for a long roster of prestigious clients including
AIG Sun America, Belkin, Cartoon Network,
Chinese Laundry, Discovery Communications,
Mattel, Nike, Reebok, Starbucks, Target, The WB
Television Network, and USA Networks. Among numerous other awards, Chase was selected as one of I.D. Magazine’s “I.D. Forty,” and has been featured in countless design magazines.
In addition, Margo has taught the highest level typography classes at Art Center College of
Design and California Institute of the Arts.
Voyant Liqueur identity and packaging
Launching a new product in the extremely competitive liquor market is an all-or-nothing proposition.
First impressions make or break any new offering.
The exotic warmth and elegance of Voyant Chai
Cream is mirrored in the refined logo and packaging.
Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Hourglass luxury cosmetics packaging
Hourglass, launched in the high-end retailers
Neiman Marcus and Barney’s New York, has an elegant retro feel that captures the look of quality demanded by luxury consumers.
The debut of Hourglass was strong and its success continues to grow.
Cher Living Proof tourbook and identity
Logos for the main tour identity and designs for the tour book and merchandise evoke the glamour and breadth of Cher’s personality. The tourbook features original art illustrated to evoke the feeling of the five decades of
Cher’s long and varied musical career.
Featured Designer 71
InDesign + Design Edition
InDesign is the production workhorse for print layouts. Illustrations, photography, and text can be combined and managed easily in InDesign layouts, all the way through to the creation of final, print-ready production files.
You can also easily repurpose layouts you create in InDesign for use on the web by exporting them as XHTML files, which can then be opened by Dreamweaver and integrated into a website.
Productivity improvements throughout
InDesign make frequent tasks faster— for example, allowing you to import multiple files in one step. You can also view thumbnails of your pages in the Pages panel, so that you can quickly navigate your document.
72 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Export InDesign layouts as
XHTML files, to be used as content in Dreamweaver websites and in mobile devices (with the help of Device Central).
Take advantage of new production features in Acrobat to create Adobe PDFs for print, the Internet, and interactive forms.
Place or copy and paste vector artwork from Illustrator to make it live art in InDesign.
Place a native Photoshop file, with the option of using its layers and layer comps.
InDesign
+ Design Edition
73
InDesign
Features
Multi-file Place
Placing multiple files with a single import can save you time. InDesign now allows you to select several files at once from the Place dialog box or Adobe® Bridge CS3, and then import them with a single command. The Place cursor will show a preview of each file and the number of files remaining. You can use the multi-file place feature to import images and text files at once.
1
Select multiple files to be placed in the Place dialog box by Command-clicking
(Mac OS) or Control-clicking
(Windows). Click Open.
2
You will see the Place cursor. Use the left and right arrow keys to toggle between files, or Esc to remove an unwanted file.
3
When you’ve found the correct file, click on the appropriate image or text frame to place it, and then move on to your next file.
Object Layer Options for Importing
Illustrator and Photoshop Files
Utilizing the Import options in the Place dialog box gives you the flexibility to import Photoshop and Illustrator files with layer visibilities of your choosing. You can use this feature to place multiple states of a single file into an InDesign layout, or easily switch between variable layers within a placed file.
See page 42, Layer Comps in Photoshop.
See Adobe Video Workshop topics:
• Importing content into InDesign
• Using layers
1
Check the Show Import
Options box in the Place dialog box to see the Image
Import options.
2
In the Image Import Options menu, select the Layers button to choose visibility preferences for each layer by clicking the eye icon on or off, or select a layer comp.
3
Choose the update link option of your choosing and click OK to place. Your linked file retains all its content. To edit layer visibility after the file has been placed, go to Object
> Object Layer Options.
74 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Object Styles
You can use object styles to quickly and consistently format graphics and frames.
Object styles include settings for stroke, color, drop shadows, paragraph styles, text wrap, and more, including new transparency and blending options. Once you’ve created an object style, even complicated formats can instantly be applied to different objects.
See page 76, Enhanced Transparency and Object Effects.
See Adobe Video Workshop topic, Using object styles
Tables and Table Styles
Table styles let you format tables quickly and consistently. You can create styles for both tables and cells, and use them to format any table in your document, including spreadsheets from
Microsoft Excel or Word. You can also apply cell styles separately to a table’s header, footer, and body cells. If you need to make a document-wide change, you can simply change your table style, and formatted tables will update automatically.
1
Create an object style by formatting an object as you would like, and then selecting
New Object Style from the
Object Styles panel.
2
Name and adjust your settings in the New Object
Style dialog box and click OK.
3
When you want to apply the same style to a different object in your layout, select the object, then click the name of the style in the
Object Styles panel.
1
Create table and cell styles by formatting a table as you would like, and then select
New Table Style from the
Table Styles panel. Create paragraph and cell styles for more complex formatting.
2
Name and adjust your settings in the New Table Style dialog box and click OK.
3
When you want to apply the same style to a different table in your layout, select the object, then click the name of the style.
See Adobe Video Workshop topic, Using table styles
InDesign
+ Design Edition
75
InDesign
Features
Enhanced Transparency and Object Effects
You now have more flexibility in formatting your objects, because transparency settings and new object effects (similar to those found in
Photoshop) can be applied separately to the fill, stroke, and text of a single object. The new effects include blending modes, gradient and directional feathers, and bevels and embosses, all of which are non-destructive and can create complex effects without altering your native image files.
See Adobe Video Workshop topics:
• Applying feathering to objects
• Applying opacity effects
• Setting opacity
1
Select the object to which you would like to apply effects.
Then choose Object > Effects and select the desired effects.
2
Set the specifications of the effects you selected in the Effects dialog box. You can choose different effects for the stroke, fill, and text of the object.
3
For gradient feathers, adjust the gradient stops and opacity.
76 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Snippets
A snippet lets you reuse the content, formatting, tags, and structure of a document. A snippet is an XML file that is a full representation of InDesign content, including page items and any XML structure applied to those page items. You can store snippets in a Library, and place them in other documents.
1
To create a snippet, select one or more frames, and then choose File > Export.
2
From the Save As Type
(Windows) or Format (Mac OS) menu, choose InDesign
Snippet. Type a name for the file, and then click Save.
3
This creates an .inds file that can be placed into a different InDesign document, using the standard place process.
4
Edit placed snippets as needed for your project.
In this example, snippets have been modified to create a catalog page.
InDesign
+ Design Edition
77
InDesign for Print
1
View color separations
Choose Window > Output >
Separations Preview to view the different color plates in your image, including any spot colors. This is an easy way to check for unwanted inks and missing overprints.
InDesign is the cornerstone print layout software of
Creative Suite, making it perfectly suited for preparing print-ready files. By using the built-in production features, you can be sure that your files are ready for hand-off.
2
Check errors
Select File > Preflight to report on any aspects that commonly cause production issues in the file, such as RGB images. By viewing a report of these errors, with page numbers, you can easily find and correct the errors in your document.
InDesign Separations Preview
78 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Preflight
3
Preflight and package for production
When you are ready to gather all the components of your job, including fonts and linked files, choose File > Package. You will also have the opportunity to create a text file with job information during this step.
4 Export print-ready PDF
Use PDF presets, or edit the PDF export settings to create a selfcontained, print-ready PDF file of your document.
See pages 18-19 for more information on PDF presets.
See Adobe Video
Workshop topic,
Preparing files for output
Alternate method:
Preflight with JDF profile
Automatically convert InDesign files to Adobe PDFs, and preflight and validate them against the targeted output intent (including number of pages, page size, and more) using enhanced JDF workflows.
See Adobe Video Workshop topic,
Creating JDF job definitions
Create Package Folder dialog box
Final print-ready PDF
JDF Job Definitions dialog box in Acrobat
InDesign
+ Design Edition
79
InDesign for Web
A new feature of InDesign, export as XHTML, makes it easy to repurpose InDesign content for use on the web. Automatically optimized placed images from InDesign layouts match the cropping and transformations applied in InDesign.
1
Make a selection or export your entire document
InDesign lets you choose to export your current selection or the entire document. Make a selection if you wish to export a portion of your document.
2
Export as XHTML
Choose File > Cross-media Export
> XHTML / Dreamweaver. You can associate an external CSS in the Advanced panel of the dialog or create empty CSS definitions and edit the exported content in
Dreamweaver.
You can choose to optimize and export the images for the web and maintain the attributes and cropping applied in InDesign.
3
Open and modify in Dreamweaver
Open the XHTML file in
Dreamweaver and modify as needed for your website.
See Adobe Video Workshop topic,
Designing websites with InDesign and exporting to XHTML
InDesign selection InDesign cross-media export
80 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Dreamweaver web page layout
InDesign for Interactive
You can use settings with your InDesign file to create an interactive PDF. InDesign lets you add movies, sounds, hyperlinks, bookmarks, and buttons to your layout. SWF files can also be placed in, for added functionality.
1
Place movie and sound files
Use File > Place to put movie and sound files, including .swf files, into your layout.
2
Create interactive buttons
Use the Button tool, the Button
Options dialog box and the States panel to create interactive buttons with custom appearances in your layout.
3
Create navigational elements
Use the Bookmarks and
Hyperlinks panels to create links to allow you to easily navigate within your document.
4
Export to PDF
To enable interactivity, be sure to click the boxes for Hyperlinks and Interactive elements under
Include in the Export PDF
Options dialog box.
See Adobe Video Workshop topic,
Creating interactive PDF files
Placing a SWF in InDesign
Creating a hyperlink in InDesign
Interactive PDF. Click the SWF file to play as configured.
InDesign
+ Design Edition
81
Gee + Chung Design
Partners Earl Gee and Fani Chung www.geechungdesign.com
82
Gee + Chung Design is a San Francisco-based multi-disciplinary design firm specializing in print, web and environmental design for technology-oriented clients. Founded in 1990 by partners Earl Gee (BFA, Art Center College of Design) and Fani Chung (MFA, Yale University),
GCD’s innovative and effective work consistently sets clients apart and builds lasting client value. GCD’s work has garnered international recognition from virtually every major design competition and publication and is included in the permanent collections of several museums, the U.S. Library of Congress and Smithsonian
Institution. GCD holds the distinction of being one of 50 U.S. graphic designers named to the international Who’s Who in Graphic Design, has served on a United Nations delegation on package design touring the People’s Republic of
China and was selected by the U.S. Department of Commerce to promote international business.
Both partners are frequent lecturers at design organizations and universities, and jurors for major design competitions.
Qualys poster
A poster for Qualys uses the ability of InDesign to work with native
Photoshop files that have multiple spot color channels, saving both steps and valuable time.
Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Bay Area Air Quality Management District annual report
This annual report for the Bay Area Air Quality Management District uses InDesign’s built-in preflight and package features to keep track of all the fonts, graphics and images for this comprehensive project.
Give Something Back International branding program
Our branding program for Give
Something Back International benefited from the 4000% zoom and continuously rasterized vector graphics of InDesign to create critically accurate printing and die-cutting.
DCM Lunar invitation
For this online invite for the DCM Lunar New Year Party, the Library update in Flash allowed us to create the animation and finalize the Illustrator art simultaneously.
Featured Designer 83
Acrobat + Design Edition
Adobe® Acrobat® 8 Professional is a powerful tool for Adobe PDF creation, reviewing, and production. Portable
Document Format (PDF) maintains the integrity of your designs in a self-contained file that can be easily shared with clients, printers, and other members of your team.
Acrobat doesn’t stop at creating PDFs, however. You can also use shared review, commenting, and mark-up features to manage feedback, and even host real-time web-based reviews with
Acrobat Connect.
Acrobat is tightly integrated with all
Adobe® Creative Suite® components, making the process of creating PDFs consistent and familiar from any component. A host of shared preset options let you create PDFs appropriate for everything from onscreen presentation to final print-ready production. PDFs also travel easily to the web, because they can be added to Dreamweaver websites.
In addition, the many production features in Acrobat enable you to preflight and package files for printers, including using JDF (job definition format) files to automate your PDF workflow.
84 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Create a PDF by choosing
File > Save As >
Format: Adobe PDF.
Create a PDF by choosing
File > Save As >
Format: Photoshop PDF.
Add downloadable PDF files to your websites.
Preflight with profiles specified in a JDF, then combine multiple files into PDF packages to send out for production.
Create a PDF by choosing
File > Export >
Format: Adobe PDF.
Acrobat
+ Design Edition
85
Acrobat
Features
General PDF Creation for Photoshop,
Illustrator and InDesign
Acrobat PDF creation is tightly integrated with the components in Creative Suite 3, making it easy to create PDFs as you work. You can access
PDF presets and create PDFs from within Distiller,
Photoshop, Illustrator, and InDesign, using a similar and familiar process in all four components.
You can also create and share custom presets for your unique output requirements, varying the
PDF settings as needed.
For a detailed description of PDF presets, see pages 18-19.
See Adobe Video Workshop topics:
• Creating PDF files
• Creating PDF files from Creative Suite 3 applications
To create a PDF from
Photoshop, choose Save As and select Photoshop PDF as the format. Select a preset, or modify settings from the
Save Adobe PDF dialog box.
Once a preset is loaded, it is available in all Creative Suite applications, including Distiller.
To create a PDF from Illustrator, choose Save As and select
Adobe PDF as the format.
Select a preset, or modify settings from the Save Adobe
PDF dialog box.
To create a PDF from InDesign, go to File > Export and select
Adobe PDF. Select a preset, or modify settings from the
Export Adobe PDF dialog box.
86 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Enhanced Review and Tracking
Acrobat PDFs are useful to send to clients and others in your workgroup for review, because they are self-contained and can be reduced to manageable file size while retaining content.
Acrobat also offers additional comment and review tools that enable others to make notes and comments, and help you manage that information.
Two new reviewing enhancements are included in Acrobat. Shared reviews store comments from multiple reviewers in a central location (such as a file server, web server, or Microsoft Sharepoint workspace). It is automatically updated whenever a comment is made, so that workgroup members can see and respond to each other’s comments, reducing the frequency of redundant comments.
See www.adobe.com/ products/ acrobatconnect/ for more information about Acrobat Connect.
See Adobe Video
Workshop topics:
• Collaborating in real time with
Acrobat Connect
• Working with shared reviews
• Adding comments to PDF files
• Reviewing and summarizing comments
1
To initiate a shared review, select Comments > Send for
Shared Review.
2
Follow the four-step screens to set up your review.
Acrobat Connect, built into Acrobat, lets you hold real-time, interactive reviews over the Internet by hosting an Acrobat Connect meeting.
1
To initiate an Acrobat
Connect meeting, select
File > Start Meeting.
2
Create an account or log in to begin the meeting set-up process.
Acrobat
+ Design Edition
87
Acrobat
Features
Preflight
Use the Preflight tool to determine a document’s validity for print production. When you preflight a document, you validate that the document contains everything needed for proper print output, including images, fonts, colors, and formatting.
Preflight also not only finds problems, it also can fix them automatically.
For example, if you inadvertently leave an RGB image in your PDF that must be converted to CMYK, the image is automatically converted.
Acrobat offers several tools that act as a final check of your job when preparing for print production. Preflighting can catch and even correct some common mistakes, such as neglecting to convert RGB images to CMYK. A PDF package converts
To preflight a document, choose
Advanced > Preflight and select a profile from the list. To correct errors, select a profile that includes a fixup.
These are denoted by a wrench icon next to the profile.
See Help for more information on Preflight profiles.
Create a PDF Package
Because the PDF package is one file, you can share it with others and be sure that they are getting all the component parts.
See Help for more information on PDF packages.
See Adobe Video Workshop topics:
• Preflighting files
• Printing documents
You can create PDF packages when you use the Combine Files wizard, starting either from the Getting Started window, the Tasks toolbar, or the File > Combine
Files command.
You will be prompted through the necessary steps to choose and include files in your package.
88 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
multiple files—which can be in various formats and created in different applications—and assembles them into an integrated
PDF unit. Enhanced in Adobe® Acrobat® 8 Professional, JDF
(job definition format) files let content creators and print service providers describe the intent of a printed piece, as well as each process step required to achieve that intent. Settings embedded in JDF files automate PDF creation and preflight.
Submit with a JDF
If you have received a JDF file from your print provider, you can automate the entire process of PDF creation and preflight, including catching and correcting certain errors in the file. This PDF/JDF workflow automates processes for the designer and streamlines workflow for the printer.
See Help for more information on JDF.
See Adobe Video Workshop topic,
Creating JDF job definitions
Go to Advanced > Print Production >
JDF Job Definitions. Choose a JDF file, link in your source InDesign files, and click Submit. Choose a submission site and click Start. The InDesign files will be converted to PDF format, which is automatically taken into Acrobat for preflight and correction. Inconsistencies will be listed in the Submit dialog box. When completed, the print-ready PDF and updated JDF can be delivered to the printer.
Print Booklets
Booklets are documents with multiple pages arranged on sheets of paper that, when folded, present the correct page order. You can create
2-up saddle-stitched booklets—two side-by-side-pages, printed on both sides, that are collated, folded once, and fastened along the fold. The first page prints on the same printed sheet as the last page, the second page on the same sheet as the second-to-last page, and so on. Each page is automatically centered on the sheet, and large pages are scaled
(shrunk) to fit the printable area. When you collate, fold, and staple the double-sided pages, the result is a single book with correct pagination.
Print Booklets diagram
To print a booklet, select Page
Scaling: Booklet Printing in the
Print dialog box. Your printer must support either automatic or manual duplex printing.
Acrobat
+ Design Edition
89
Acrobat for Web
1
Add link to PDF file
In Dreamweaver, go to Insert >
Hyperlink, add text, and link to your PDF file.
The computer- and platform-independence of Adobe PDF make it ideal for transferring media-rich documents on the web.
PDF documents let you capture and view robust information, and share it with anyone.
2
Preview and test
Your link will function when you preview and test your page (File >
Preview in Browser).
When your website is published, viewers can download the PDF, which will open either in a new window or in Acrobat, depending on viewers’ browser preferences.
Dreamweaver hyperlink panel
Web page with link to PDF
90 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Downloaded PDF
Acrobat for Interactive
1
Create interactivity
(in InDesign)
Create interactive buttons using the Button tool, the Button
Options dialog box and the
States panel. Create navigational elements with the Hyperlinks and Bookmarks panels.
Once you are done adding the interactive elements, export a PDF of your document.
The interactive aspects will be functional for anyone viewing the PDF in Acrobat or the free
Acrobat Reader.
Using a combination of InDesign and Acrobat, you can add hyperlinks, movies, and sound files to your PDFs, including
SWF files (a new feature in Creative Suite 3). This can add both interest and interactivity to your PDFs.
2
Add SWF files to your PDF
To add a SWF file , go to Choose
Tools > Advanced Editing, and select the Movie tool. Locate your
SWF file and click OK.
3
Save and check
Save your PDF file and click through to make sure you’ve included all your interactive elements.
See Adobe Video Workshop topic,
Creating interactive PDF files
Creating a hyperlink in InDesign
Adding a SWF file in Acrobat Interactive PDF. Click hyperlinks to go to assigned pages.
Acrobat
+ Design Edition
91
Flash + Design Edition
Adobe® Flash® CS3 Professional remains the undisputed leader for rich, interactive content creation. Designers and developers creating interactive websites, rich media applications, instructional simulations, games, or content for mobile devices, depend on Flash to ensure that their content reaches the widest possible audience.
Flash users can import assets from
Photoshop and Illustrator; bring them to life with timeline animations and cutting-edge ActionScript
TM
3.0 programming; and deliver them to
Dreamweaver websites, Adobe
Acrobat PDF documents, and mobile devices in a true author-once, deliver-everywhere environment.
92 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Easily include your published
SWF files in Adobe® Dreamweaver®
CS3 websites, and preview in any supported browser.
Add exciting animations and interactivity to your Adobe Acrobat 8
Professional PDF documents by embedding your published SWF files.
Import layered Photoshop artwork into Flash. Preserve layer attributes, layer effects, blend modes, transparency, and more.
Author Flash files for mobile devices, and preview your published files in Adobe Device
Central. Preview and test your work on a variety of devices to anticipate real-world performance.
Copy and paste Illustrator artwork, including symbols and editable text, into Flash.
Flash
+ Design Edition
93
Flash
Features
Flash CS3 Interface
The Flash user interface now shares a design and layout common to Photoshop and Illustrator, resulting in a more efficient workflow. Tools can be configured in one- or two-column panels.
Panels can now be docked along the edge of the monitor, or minimized to icon view, so that they can fly out when needed, freeing valuable screen area. Even the Timeline can be docked.
See Adobe Video Workshop topic, Using the workspace
The new Flash interface. Workspaces can be found in Window >
Workspace, or by using the new
Workspace menu above the Stage.
Drawing Enhancements
Drawing in Flash is now consistent with other
Adobe software. The enhanced Pen tool behaves similarly to the Adobe Illustrator Pen tool, with tighter control over vertices and control points.
Two new vector drawing primitives, Oval and
Rectangle, offer easily adjustable alternatives to the Ellipse and Rectangle shapes, and can be manipulated by using the Property Inspector.
See Adobe Video Workshop topics: Using the drawing tools,
Drawing with the Pen tool
94 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
1
Using the Oval Primitive Tool, draw a circle on the Stage.
2
Using the Property
Inspector, add a Start angle and End angle to describe the shape of the wedge you prefer.
1
The Panel dock can be minimized to icon view...
2
...or icon and text view...
3
...or remain fullsize, with the option of displaying panels in slide-out drawers.
3
Use the pen tool to add, delete, or convert anchor points to modify your drawings.
Import Files into Flash
Photoshop
: Native Photoshop files can now be imported while preserving more features from the original PSD file. Layer hierarchy, transparency, and blend modes remain intact, and Photoshop layer styles become Flash filter effects. You can also choose which layers you want to import and how to treat them in Flash. For example, you can keep text editable, or convert to vector outlines or flattened bitmaps. You can even create Flash movie clips during import to simplify your Flash workflow.
See Adobe Video Workshop topics:
• Designing websites with Photoshop and Flash
• Importing Illustrator files into Flash
Illustrator:
Importing Illustrator documents into
Flash has been improved, with added features that reduce repetitive tasks. You can import layered
Illustrator files, preserving layer attributes. You can specify that Illustrator layers become Flash layers, keyframes, or be combined into one image during the import process. You can also create movie clips from layers during the import process, complete with instance names, and set their registration points.
Importing Photoshop images into Flash Importing Illustrator images into Flash
Flash
+ Design Edition
95
Flash
Features
Copy and Paste Filter Effects
Flash filter effects can now be copied from one symbol and applied to another, making it easier to apply a consistent filter style to many symbol instances.
1
Select a movie clip with an existing filter effect and click the Copy Filters button in the Filters panel of the
Property Inspector.
2
Select the new movie clip and click the Paste Filters button in the same location to apply the effect.
Copy and Paste Motion Tweens
The new Copy Motion option in Flash lets you copy motion tween attributes of an existing motion tween and apply it to another movie clip. This provides a way for designers to reduce repetitive workflows by not having to reconstruct the tweens from scratch.
Additionally, the motion data is stored in XML format and can be exported for use in future files.
See Adobe Video Workshop topic, Creating animations using motion tweens
1
Select the frames of an existing motion tween.
2
Select Edit > Timeline >
Copy Motion.
96 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
3
Select the frame where the new movie clip resides.
4
Select Edit > Timeline >
Paste Motion to apply the motion tween attributes.
5
Choosing the Paste Motion
Special option lets you select the motion tween attributes you want to apply.
Export Only Visible Layers
A new publish setting lets you choose whether objects in hidden layers are exported to SWF files when published. This dramatically speeds workflow and increases your publishing options by allowing you to include or exclude assets simply by hiding the layer in which they reside.
See Adobe Video Workshop topic, Publishing FLA files
1
Hide any layer you don’t want to appear in your published SWF file.
2
Choose File > Publish
Settings to open the Publish
Settings dialog box. Deselect
Export Hidden Layers in the
Flash tab.
Developing for Mobile Devices
Flash allows designers and developers to easily bring animation and interactivity to mobile devices. It provides settings that let you publish your files for Flash Lite, the mobile version of the Flash player. Flash is also tightly integrated with Adobe Device Central, which displays your file in realistic skins of Flash Lite-capable mobile devices—simulating memory, performance, and display settings, and letting you interact with your content.
See Adobe Video Workshop topic, Using Device Central with Flash
See pages 106-107 for an example of developing for mobile devices.
Flash
+ Design Edition
97
Flash
Features
ActionScript 3.0
ActionScript is now a more robust and powerful language. It boasts significant performance improvements and includes many new features, such as improved XML handling, regular expression searching, sound visualization capabilities, and full-screen display.
The language itself isn’t the only area of improvement. There are several new code editing features in Flash, such as code collapse, block comment/uncomment options, and one-click navigation to reported errors. You can now doubleclick an error in the Compiler Errors panel to go to the relevant code in the Actions panel or Script window. When editing external ActionScript files, you can also specify which FLA to publish directly from within the AS file. A new ActionScript 3.0 debugger has been added.
See Adobe Video Workshop topics:
• Getting started with ActionScript 3.0
• Creating a Document class using ActionScript 3.0
ActionScript 3.0 code
98 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Copy Motion as ActionScript 3.0
For unmatched designer-programmer collaboration, you can now select a tween created in the timeline and copy the ActionScript 3.0 code required to recreate it. The relevant attributes of the animation are automatically translated into a combination of ActionScript and XML, and can be replayed by
ActionScript. This allows you to use ActionScript to easily modify attributes of the tweens.
See Adobe Video Workshop topic, Copying and pasting
ActionScript from an animation
1
Select the frames of an existing motion tween.
2
Choose Edit > Timeline >
Copy Motion as ActionScript 3.0.
3
Enter an instance name for the symbol instance you are using.
4
Select a frame on the
Timeline, and then paste the code from the clipboard into the Actions panel.
New ActionScript 3.0 Components
To leverage the power of ActionScript 3.0, a set of fast, lightweight components has been created.
Components are pre-created collections of graphics and code that can dramatically reduce the amount of design and scripting you have to develop.
See Adobe Video Workshop topics:
• Creating a simple application with components
• Using components
• Writing ActionScript for components
1
Open the Components panel
(Window > Components), select the ScrollPane component from the User Interface category, and drag it to the Stage.
2
Open Window > Component
Inspector and set the path to the external graphic or SWF file you wish to display using the Source text box.
3
Use the Control > Test
Movie menu command to publish your movie. The image loads into a pane that can be set to scroll horizontally or vertically, allowing you to show full- size images where space on your page is limited.
Flash
+ Design Edition
99
Flash
Features
Export Scripted Animation to Quicktime
Flash can also be used as a tool in a video production workflow, especially as an animation tool. Adobe® Flash® CS3 Professional lets you create videos from files that use movie clips controlled by ActionScript. The new export process will also render nested symbols, so that your resulting video will look just the way it does in Flash Player.
QuickTime Export Settings dialog box Movie Settings dialog box
Flash Video Encoder
The Flash Video Encoder has been improved to make your video workflow within Flash more efficient. Interface enhancements make it easier to check and preview settings, and you can even import and export cue points using XML files.
Deinterlacing is also supported, with a simple check box, for better-looking video, especially at lower data rates. You can also save, import, and export custom Flash Video encoding profiles.
See Adobe Video Workshop topics:
• Creating a video application with components
• Creating content in Flash for
After Effects
• Importing and using video in Flash
• Using the Flash Video Encoder
100 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Video Encoding dialog box
Bridge Integration
Bridge lets you quickly locate SWF, FLA, FLV, and FLP files on your mounted volumes. You can browse your hard drives for these files and supporting assets, filter the file browser to display one or more of these file types, add metadata for improved descriptions and file searches, and apply batch changes to multiple files. You can even preview SWF and FLV files inside Bridge.
See the Adobe Video Workshop topic, Using Bridge for a web design workflow
1
To locate a Flash file through Bridge, use the File >
Browse menu command to automatically switch to Bridge.
Version Cue Integration
Version Cue can now be used to track your use of Flash files. For example, you can check
ActionScript files in and out, to make sure that only one programmer at a time can edit a file, as well as to maintain version control and roll back to prior versions if needed. This is particularly useful in workgroups.
1
To add a file to an existing
Version Cue project, use the File > Check In menu.
2
Log in to the project you want to work with.
3
Navigate to the folder in which you wish to save your file, and commit the file to Version Cue control.
2
Use Bridge to navigate folders and locate files quickly. Bridge can filter a display by asset type, creation date, and more.
Bridge will also show you file properties and even play SWF files in the Preview pane.
Flash
+ Design Edition
101
Flash for Web
1
Import Illustrator asset
Import the object you intend to animate from Adobe Illustrator, to create a movie clip for you to animate.
2
Create motion tween
Add the movie clip to two keyframes, and create a motion tween to the first keyframe in the timeline.
With a variety of animation capabilities, including motion tweening, shape tweening, and frame-by-frame sequencing,
Flash has always been a leading 2D animation tool. Adobe®
Flash® CS3 Professional continues this tradition and adds several
3
Create motion guide
Add a motion guide for the can to follow during animation, and snap the can to the guide in the beginning and end keyframes.
Illustrator artwork
Flash Timeline and Properties panel
102 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Flash motion guide
drawing and animation enhancements to make Flash animation even easier and more expressive.
Improved import features, an enhanced Pen tool, and the ability to copy and paste filter effects and motion tweens, all help you do more with less, allowing you to concentrate on creativity rather than production.
4
Add filter effect
Add a Blur filter to the Aquo can movie clip instance in the first keyframe only. The motion tween you created earlier will automatically reduce the blur over time.
5
Publish and test
Using Control > Test Movie, compile a SWF file to preview your finished animation.
See Adobe Video Workshop topic,
Importing, copying, and pasting between web applications
Flash Filters panel Final SWF file
Flash
+ Design Edition
103
Flash for Interactive
1
Encode video
Encode a video source into
FLV format using the Flash
Video Encoder.
Flash is tightly integrated with other components of Adobe®
Creative Suite® 3 Design Premium, which makes it easier for designers and developers to work together. For example, a designer can create interface elements in Photoshop and
2
Select a component
Select the FLVPlayback component from the Video category in the Components panel (Window > Components), and drag it to the Stage.
Video Encoding dialog box
104 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Components panel
encode videos using the Flash Video Encoder. The designer can then pass these files to a developer to add functionality in Flash, and the final file can be embedded in a Dreamweaver web page.
Components also promote collaboration between designers and developers, enabling designers to accomplish more with less coding.
Users with little or no ActionScript experience can create final content, or deliver prototypes to a developer for further enhancement.
3
Customize the component
Open the Component Inspector
(Window > Component Inspector) and change any parameters that don’t suit you. Begin by setting the source path to the FLV file you created earlier. You may also wish to change other parameters, such as the controller skin.
4
Publish and test
Publish your file and test the video playback.
Component Inspector Testing your FLV file
Flash
+ Design Edition
105
Flash for Mobile
It has never been easier to test and preview your Flash Lite content. When you publish a file created for the mobile market,
Flash will launch Device Central rather than the standard Flash
Player. Device Central displays realistic skins that help simulate
1
Create a layout for mobile
Start by creating a file for your targeted mobile device. Device
Central makes this easy by letting you select your preferred device, and then automatically creating the file in Flash, complete with the file dimensions and Flash
Lite player version that match the chosen device.
Alternately, you can specify the file dimensions yourself in Flash and set the version of Flash Lite specific to your device, in the File
> Publish Settings dialog box.
It helps to make this change early because Flash Lite has a subset of the functionality available to the full Flash Player, and Flash will help identify any features that aren’t compatible with your publish settings.
Adobe Device Central Welcome screen
106 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Publish Settings dialog box in Flash
what your content will look like when displayed on a variety of devices. You can interact with the emulated devices, create device groups, and control options that let you simulate a range of testing scenarios, including how memory and performance settings affect your projects.
2
Optimize for mobile
Develop an application optimized for playback on your targeted mobile device. Remember to consider the size, as well as any feature limitations, of your targeted mobile device. For example, mobile devices use only two button states, instead of the typical up, over, and down when using a mouse.
3
Test and preview
Test and preview on a variety of devices matching the display size and Flash Lite version you specified.
See Adobe Video Workshop topic,
Creating mobile content in Flash
Flashlite application in Flash Device Emulator in Device Central
Flash
+ Design Edition
107
AdamsMorioka
Sean Adams and Noreen Morioka are partners at AdamsMorioka in Beverly Hills. Since
AdamsMorioka’s founding in 1994, the firm has been globally recognized by nearly every major competition and publication.
In 2000, The San Francisco Museum of
Modern Art exhibited AdamsMorioka in a solo retrospective. Adams and Morioka hold the honor of being named to the ID40, which cited them as two of the 40 most important people shaping design internationally. Sean and Noreen are both Fellows of the Aspen
Design Conference. In 2006, Sean and Noreen were named as Fellows of the American
Institute of Graphic Arts.
Partners Sean Adams and Noreen Morioka www.adamsmorioka.com
Mohawk Papers Via Handbook and Website
The goal for the launch of Via was to communicate the breadth of the line and its useful, everyday qualities. The handbook is a large-format, practical object. The website uses a game with a choice of mascots to help viewers find their perfect sheet.
http://www.mohawkpaper.com/via_site/ index.html
108 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Jar Restaurant Identity,
Stationery and Website
The new system reflects the atmosphere and experience of dining at Jar, representing both the modern design of the restaurant and the richness of its menu. The use of wood textures acts as a metaphor for Jar’s signature steak dishes.
http://www.thejar.com
Featured Designer 109
Dreamweaver + Design Edition
Adobe® Dreamweaver® CS3 enables you to design, develop, and maintain standards-based websites and applications faster and more easily than ever before.
Designers can quickly create pages using the easy, yet powerful, WYSIWYG features of Design view while developers will feel equally at home in the highly functional
Code view. Users of any skill level will feel empowered by the many straightforward menus, dialog boxes, and panels available to speed up your development.
Creative Suite owners can enhance creativity and accelerate workflow by taking advantage of the advanced integration with Adobe® Photoshop®
CS3, Adobe® Fireworks® CS3, and Adobe®
Flash® CS3 Professional components.
Easy embedding and manipulation of animations and interactive applications, and template-based maintenance of live sites make Dreamweaver the center of any streamlined creative environment.
110 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Embed SWF files in any page, and add Flash buttons, text, and videos without needing any Flash experience.
Copy and paste or import layered Photoshop artwork, optimizing it during the placement process.
Export InDesign layouts to XHTML files, to add to your websites.
Add downloadable PDF files to your websites.
Dreamweaver
+ Design Edition
111
Dreamweaver
Features
New Document Dialog Box with CSS Layouts
Adobe® Dreamweaver® CS3 helps simplify the task of web page creation with its New Document dialog box, completely redesigned with enhanced usability. Several templates and pre-created samples have been provided as starting points for your designs. A large number of fixed, elastic, and liquid Cascading Style Sheet layouts, in several column formats, can jump-start your page or site.
Extensive in-line comments in the CSS code and the Design view will help you learn.
See Adobe Video
Workshop topics:
• Using CSS
• Styling text using CSS
• Using and customizing
CSS based layouts
• Designing style sheets for printing web pages
1
Use File > New to create a new document.
2
Choose the Page Type for the kind of page you want to create.
Thumbnail previews of the templates help make selection easier, and dialog box options let you save CSS rules into your document or in external style sheets that are automatically linked to your document. Preference settings can improve your efficiency by displaying the same desired options each time you access the dialog box.
3
Choose the CSS layout to use in your new page. Check the thumbnail preview for a visual representation and description of the layout.
4
Choose your preferred document type declaration, and whether to embed the CSS in the document, write it to an external file, or attach your own.
112 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Photoshop Integration
The improved Photoshop integration in
Dreamweaver helps simplify the repetitive, often-tedious process of converting design mock-ups to web-ready assets. Now, you can simply select any portion of a design in
Photoshop—even across multiple layers— and paste it directly into the Design or Code view in Dreamweaver, even into CSS rules.
Dreamweaver will present a dialog box where you can specify optimization options for the image. Should you ever need to edit the image, simply Command-double-click (Mac OS) or
Control-double-click (Windows) on the image, and the original layered PSD file opens in
Photoshop for editing. Insert selections, slices, or even entire native Photoshop files with layer selection.
See Adobe Video Workshop topics:
• Importing, copying, and pasting between web applications
• Designing websites with Photoshop and Dreamweaver
1
Copy any portion of your
Photoshop file, even across layers, by choosing Edit >
Copy Merged.
Dreamweaver
+ Design Edition
113
Dreamweaver
Features
Spry Framework
Ajax, shorthand for Asynchronous JavaScript and XML, is a development technique for creating interactive web applications. Ajax makes web pages feel more responsive, because the entire web page does not have to reload each time the user interacts with it. The result is an increase in the web page’s interactivity, speed, and usability.
Adobe® Dreamweaver® CS3 helps you design, develop, and deploy dynamic user interfaces using the Spry framework for Ajax. The Spry framework is a JavaScript/HTML library, accessible to both designers and developers, which allows you to build pages that provide a richer experience for users.
See Adobe Video Workshop topics:
• Using XML
• Using the Spry Framework for Ajax
114 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Data
Ajax
Spry
Framework
Effects Widgets
Spry Effects
Using the Spry framework for Ajax, you can now easily add visual transitions to page elements.
Effects are a simple, elegant way of adding that
“wow” factor to your website. You can apply effects such as grow, shrink, fade, and highlight to almost any element on an HTML page.
1
Select the element to which you wish to add the effect.
Effects don’t require any server-side logic or scripting to work, so when a person viewing your web page browses an HTML page and triggers an effect, only the object to which the effect is applied gets updated; the entire page doesn’t need to refresh.
2
Open the Behaviors panel
(Window > Behaviors) and click on the + button to reveal the pop-up menu. Choose
Effects > Grow/Shrink.
3
Configure available options, including whether the image grows or shrinks, start and end sizes, and whether repeated clicks will toggle the effect.
4
The effect is applied to the element, in this case with a default onClick event handler. When clicking on this image, it will grow to the size you specified.
Dreamweaver
+ Design Edition
115
Dreamweaver
Features
Spry Widgets
Spry widgets make it possible to add dynamic user interface elements to web pages with little or no manual coding. Spry widgets are pre-built components that you can customize using CSS, and then add to your web pages.
They include XML-driven lists and tables, accordions, tabbed interfaces, and form elements with validation. Until now, these objects have been difficult to build and required advanced coding skills. Spry widgets make this process easy and flexible. New users will appreciate their simplicity, and seasoned coders will appreciate the level of customizability Spry widgets offer.
See Adobe Video Workshop topics:
• Creating a form
• Styling forms with CSS
• Using Spry widgets
• Creating menus with Spry widgets
Spry data widgets Spry form validation widgets
Spry user interface widgets
116 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Embed Flash Animations and Applications
Adobe® Dreamweaver® CS3 enhancements make using SWF files easy. Simple dialog boxes let you modify parameters such as loop, autoplay, quality, and scaling, as well as pass parameters to the SWF, on an instance-by-instance basis. You can even preview the SWF without switching to a browser.
When edits are required, you can open the original
FLA file with the click of a single button.
See Adobe Video Workshop topic, Adding Flash content to a web page using Dreamweaver
1
Insert a SWF file using the
Assets panel or the Insert >
Media > Flash menu option.
Include Flash Components Without
Knowing Flash
Even if you’re not familiar with Flash, you can still add impressive interactive Flash elements to your Dreamweaver pages. Using the Insert menu, you can create buttons and text elements, and then configure labels, styles, sizes, and actions to suit your needs. You can even insert Flash video files and customize the look and performance of the player skin.
1
Insert a Flash Button using the Insert > Media > Flash
Button menu option.
2
During the insert process, or any time thereafter, modify
any parameters by right-clicking the SWF file, or making adjustments in the Property inspector
(Window > Properties).
2
Configure the button’s properties.
Dreamweaver
+ Design Edition
117
Dreamweaver
Features
Cross-Browser Compatibility Check and CSS Advisor
One of the most difficult ongoing problems for Web developers is the inconsistency that exists among browsers. The new Cross-Browser
Compatibility Check and CSS Advisor in
Dreamweaver are designed to make it easier for you to create standards-compliant pages that display and function reliably in a variety of settings.
At any time during the development process, you can check your pages against a configurable set of common browsers. A concise results panel will cite warnings and errors that you can filter for easy review. Selecting any issue will allow you to see the problem, ignore the problem for all pages, or get more information and possible workarounds. Issues are even highlighted in code view, adding warning and error icons to the page sidebar, and underlining the problem code in each line.
Dreamweaver first identifies HTML and CSS features that are likely to cause browser-rendering problems. From the Results panel, you can then access CSS Advisor, a community-created website that describes the most common browser rendering issues and suggests possible workarounds. The integration between local authoring tool and online knowledge base makes it possible to stay current with the ever-changing CSS and browser landscape.
Check your documents using the Browser Compatibility Check panel
(File > Check Page > Browser Compatibility).
118 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
The CSS Styles panel lets you manage CSS Rules, renaming, duplicating, and moving them with drag-and-drop simplicity.
CSS Rules can also easily be moved to existing, or newly created, external stylesheets.
Dreamweaver
+ Design Edition
119
Dreamweaver
Features
Bridge Integration
Managing assets, particularly for large projects, can be a challenge. Dreamweaver takes advantage of the asset management features of Adobe
Bridge to help you with this task. Dreamweaver can launch Bridge and allow you to browse the contents of your drives, or of Adobe Stock
Photos. Dreamweaver can also read metadata, see previews, and more. Once you’ve made a selection, you can drag the asset into your Dreamweaver page and choose from among familiar asset import options.
Assets can be dragged from Bridge into Dreamweaver
120 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Manage CSS
As your pages mature and your sites grow, your
CSS rules usually evolve. During development, you may find the need to rename, move, or add CSS rules. The new CSS management features in Adobe® Dreamweaver® CS3 make it easy for you to maintain your CSS structure and leverage your work for use in multiple pages or even multiple sites.
You can now easily move rules from document to document, from document to external file, and even among external files. You can also easily convert inline CSS to and from external
CSS documents, reorder rules within documents, resolve conflicts during CSS merges, and quickly comment and uncomment CSS for easy experimentation.
1
Select the CSS item you want to edit in
Design or Code view.
2
Edit the CSS properties in the Window >
CSS Styles panel.
Dreamweaver
+ Design Edition
121
Dreamweaver for Web
1
Create site mock-up and assets
Create a site mock-up in
Photoshop and insert interactive assets from Flash.
A higher standard in web design and development is emerging, powered by Adobe® Dreamweaver® CS3. Use its unmatched
WYSIWYG layout features to drop in Photoshop images and
Flash interactivity, and take control of your CSS, for greater
2
Create a new CSS-based document
Create a new standards-compliant
CSS document using the built-in
CSS Layouts in Dreamweaver, which get you started quickly.
Photoshop and Flash assets
122 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
New Document dialog box
flexibility. Create visually or code directly, and enjoy all the benefits of integration with your other favorite Adobe applications. Dreamweaver makes it easy to apply best practices and accepted standards to ensure that your websites and applications play well with others. Effortlessly include CSS from the ground up, check browser compatibility, and consult the comprehensive Adobe CSS Advisor website for helpful problem-solving hints.
3
Copy and paste image assets
Use the powerful Photoshop-
Dreamweaver integration features to copy and paste segments of your Photoshop mock-up into
Dreamweaver. Optimize your first pasted image using the Image
Preview feature. Thereafter,
Dreamweaver will remember your settings and optimize the remaining images automatically.
4
Insert interactive assets
Use the Common category of the Insert bar to insert the SWF file you created in Flash. Use the convenient WYSIWYG layout capabilities and the powerful CSS features of Dreamweaver to adjust your page to accommodate the interactive assets.
5
Test and upload site
Use File > Preview in Browser to preview and test your site for compatibility in today’s most popular browsers. As needed, return to Dreamweaver to address any issues found during the preview phase. When satisfied, upload your site using the built-in
FTP capabilities of Dreamweaver.
See Adobe Video Workshop topics:
• Defining a remote server
• Uploading content to a server
• Troubleshooting publishing problems
Image Preview dialog box
Insert Flash Final site and upload dialog box
Dreamweaver
+ Design Edition
123
Dreamweaver for Interactive
1
Insert Spry
Using the Insert > Spry > Spry
Collapsible Panel menu, insert the Spry Collapsible Panel.
One of the most important aspects of good web design is creating compelling content that brings your readers back for repeat visits.
2
Customize content
Select the tab title and content placeholder text, and replace them with your own title and content.
Inserting the Spry Collapsible Panel
124 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Customizing the Spry Collapsible Panel
Efficiently designed pages that provide key material quickly, and can allow readers to follow additional content, are critical.
A good way to involve your readers is to supply interactive content. Spry user interface widgets accomplish both of these goals quickly and easily. For example, you can add a collapsible menu that will show or hide content based on user interaction.
3
Set properties
Select the Spry Collapsible Panel in your web page and use the
Property Inspector (Window >
Properties) to set its properties.
Give the widget an instance name to easily identify it in your code, and set the Default State to Closed. This will show the panel collapsed when you view the page. You can enable animation to show the panel opening and closing when the user interacts with the panel. For convenience while authoring, the Display setting lets you see the panel open or closed.
4
Preview and test
Use File > Preview in Browser to test the collapsible panel.
Clicking on the title bar will now toggle the panel open and closed, involving your page readers with interactive content.
Setting properties for the Spry Collapsible Panel
Testing the Spry Collapsible Panel
Dreamweaver
+ Design Edition
125
Dreamweaver for Mobile
As mobile devices increase in usability and functionality, users are relying on them for more and more of their day-to-day needs. Many of today’s mobile devices include mini-browsers and data capabilities that allow users to surf the web.
1
Create content for mobile
Create HTML content with mobile device display in mind.
Experiment with smaller graphics, reduced JavaScript and CSS usage, and other adaptations. Small
Screen Rendering mode will scale graphics and attempt to optimize your site to reduce side-to-side scrolling, but the assets that are downloaded to the mobile device will still be full-size. You can reduce data transmission time and expense by optimizing your assets for mobile delivery.
2
Preview and test
Test your content on mobile devices using Device Central. Use the File > Preview in Browser >
Device Central menu command to launch Device Central and preview your content.
Test the display on a variety of mobile devices.
HTML content in Dreamweaver
126 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Device Emulator in Device Central
Adobe Device Central simplifies the creation of mobile content by quickly displaying HTML content and allowing you to scroll using the buttons on the device. The Small Screen Rendering
(SSR) mode will shrink the text and images to show the content much as it would appear on the device. Now you can use Dreamweaver and Device Central to create and preview mobile web content with rich user interfaces.
3
Update and retest
To improve any display issues you are dissatisfied with, switch back to Dreamweaver, update your page, and preview again.
Revised HTML content in Dreamweaver Device Emulator in Device Central
Dreamweaver
+ Design Edition
127
Resources
In the box
Video Tutorials
Narrated lessons on essential features and tasks
PDF of docs
Complete copy of in-product Help
Installed Extras
Useful plug-ins, templates, samples, fonts, and more
Other DVD content
More plug-ins, templates, images, presets, effects, etc.
In the product
Help in the product
Documentation and instructional content
Bridge Central
Up-to-date information on your software
You’ll find tools for learning and working available with your product and on Adobe.com.
On Adobe.com
Help on the web (LiveDocs)
Latest documentation plus extra learning content
PDF of docs
Printable version of documentation
Printed docs for purchase
Printed editions of in-product Help
Design Center
Articles, inspiration, and instruction from top designers
Developer Center
Articles, inspiration, and instruction from top developers
Adobe Exchange
Free actions, extensions, plug-ins, and more
User Community
Forums, blogs and other ways to share
Customer Support
Troubleshooting information and support options
Adobe Labs
Experience and evaluate emerging products and technologies
Downloads
Updates, tryouts, and players
128 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
TOOLS FOR LEARNING
Help Resources
Documentation for your Adobe software is available in a variety of formats—in the product, on the web, in PDF, or in print.
Help in the product
In-product Help provides access to all documentation and instructional content available at the time the product ships.
Using Help in the product
In-product Help is available through the Help menu. When you select
Help, you start the Adobe Help Viewer.
LiveDocs Help
LiveDocs Help includes all the content from in-product Help, plus updates and links to additional instructional content, such as video tutorials and book excerpts available on the web. For some Creative
Suite components, LiveDocs also lets you add comments. Find LiveDocs
Help for your component in the Adobe Help Resource Center, at www.adobe.com/go/documentation.
Think of Help, both in the product and on the web, as a hub for accessing additional content and communities of users. The most complete and up-to-date version of Help is always on the web.
Accessibility features
Adobe Help content is accessible to people with disabilities such as mobility impairments, blindness, and low vision. In-product Help supports standard accessibility features, including the following:
You can see Help for additional Adobe products installed on your computer.
To help you learn about multiple Adobe components, these features are available:
• You can search across Help for multiple components.
• Topics may contain links to topics in Help for other Adobe components, or to additional content on the web.
• Some topics are shared across multiple components. For example, if you see a Help topic with a Photoshop icon and an After Effects icon, you know that the topic either describes functionality that is similar in the two components or describes cross-component workflows.
Tip: If you search for a phrase, such as “shape tool,” enclose it in quotation marks to see only those topics that include all the words in the phrase.
• Text size can be changed with standard context menu commands.
• Content supports high-contrast mode.
• Links are underlined for easy recognition.
• If link text doesn’t match the title of the destination, the title is referenced in the Title attribute of the Anchor tag. For example, the Previous and Next links include the titles of the previous and next topics.
• Graphics without captions include alternate text.
• Each frame has a title to indicate its purpose.
• Standard HTML tags define content structure, for screen reading
or text-to-speech tools.
• Style sheets control formatting, so there are no embedded fonts.
Resources
129
PDF Documentation
The in-product Help is also available as a PDF that is optimized for printing and is included on the additional content DVD.
PDF documentation included with your product can be found in the Documents folder on the installation or content DVD. All PDF documentation is also available through the Adobe Help Resource
Center, at www.adobe.com/go/documentation.
Printed documentation
Printed editions of the complete in-product Help are available for purchase in the Adobe Store at www.adobe.com/go/store.
Learning resources
Adobe Video Workshop
Adobe Video Workshop introduces the essentials of your Adobe product.
There are about 250 video tutorials for Adobe Creative Suite 3, covering a wide range of subjects for print, web, and video professionals. The
Video Workshop shares expertise from across the Adobe community— you’ll learn tasks, tips, and tricks from leading designers and developers such as Joseph Lowery, Katrin Eismann, and Chris Georgenes. You can see and hear Adobe experts such as Lynn Grillo, Greg Rewis, and Russell
Brown. In all, over 40 product experts share their knowledge.
You can use the Video Workshop to start learning about any Creative
Suite 3 component you’re interested in, whether you own it or not. There are introductory videos for new users. More experienced users can find videos on new features and key techniques. Many videos show you how to use Creative Suite components together.
When you start the Video Workshop, you choose exactly the components and topics you want to learn. You can see details about each video to help focus your learning path. Each video covers a single subject and typically runs about 3 to 5 minutes. Many videos come with an illustrated tutorial and source files, so you can print out detailed steps and try the task on your own.
You can access the Video Workshop using the Video Workshop DVD that is included with Creative Suite 3. It’s also available online at www.adobe.
com/go/learn_videotutorials. Adobe will regularly add new videos to the online Video Workshop, so check in to see what’s new.
Classroom in a Book
If you want a training course that you can do on your own, check out the Classroom in a Book series from Adobe Press. Classroom in a Book uses hands-on projects to get you up and running with your new product. You’ll have illustrated step-by-step instructions, review questions, and a companion CD with all of the book’s project files.
You can find Classroom in a Book for every Creative Suite 3 component in the online Adobe Store.
Adobe Design Center
Adobe Design Center offers articles, inspiration, and instruction from industry experts, top designers and Adobe publishing partners.
New content is added often.
130 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
TOOLS FOR wORkING
You can find hundreds of tutorials for design products and learn tips and techniques through videos, HTML tutorials, and sample book chapters.
Think Tank, Dialog Box, and Gallery explore ideas:
• Think Tank articles consider how designers engage with technology and what their experiences mean for design, design tools, and society.
• In Dialog Box, experts share new ideas in motion graphics and digital design.
• The Gallery showcases how artists communicate creative design.
Visit Adobe Design Center at www.adobe.com/designcenter.
Adobe Mobile and Devices Developer Center
The Adobe Mobile and Devices Developer Center provides extensive online resources and information on mobile development, tips and tricks, and code samples. Adobe also offers a free Mobile Developer Program with information and resources on Adobe mobile technologies and solutions, content development kits (CDKs), and discussion forums, as well as technical support (for an annual fee).
Visit Adobe Mobile Developer Program at www.adobe.com/go/ mobiledeveloper.
Extras
To help you make the most of your Adobe product, a wealth of resources is available to you. Some of these resources are installed on your computer during the setup process; additional helpful samples and documents can be found on the installation or content DVD; unique extras are also offered online by the community at Adobe Exchange.
Installed resources
During software installation, a number of resources are placed in your application folder. To view those files, navigate to the specific application folder on your computer.
• Windows: [startup drive]/Program files/Adobe/Adobe [CS3 component]
• Mac OS: [startup drive]/Applications/Adobe [CS3 component]
Depending on your Adobe product, the application folder can include:
Plug-ins: Plug-in modules are small software programs that extend or add features to your software. Once installed, plug-in modules appear as options in the Import or Export menu; as file formats in the Open,
Save As, and Export Original dialog boxes; or as filters in the Filter submenus. For example, a number of special effects plug-ins are automatically installed in the Plug-ins folder inside the Photoshop CS3 folder.
Presets: Presets comprise a wide variety of useful tools, preferences, effects, and images. Product presets include brushes, swatches, color groups, symbols, custom shapes, graphic and layer styles, patterns, textures, actions, workspaces, and more. Preset content can be found throughout the interface. Some presets (for example, Photoshop Brush
Resources
131
libraries) become available only when you select the corresponding tool.
If you don’t want to create an effect or image from scratch, just peruse the preset libraries for inspiration.
Templates: Template files can be opened and viewed from Adobe Bridge, opened from the Welcome screen, or opened directly from the File menu.
Depending on the product, template files range from letterhead, newsletters, and websites, to DVD menus and video buttons. Each template file is professionally constructed and represents a best-use example of product features. Templates can be a valuable resource when you need to jump-start a project.
Samples: Sample files include more complicated designs and are a great way to see new features in action. These files demonstrate the range of creative possibilities offered by your application.
Fonts: Several OpenType® fonts and font families are included with
Creative Suite 3. Fonts are copied to your computer during installation:
• Windows: [startup drive]/Program Files/Common Files/Adobe/Fonts
• Mac OS X: [startup drive]/Library/Application Support/Adobe/Fonts
For information about installing fonts, see the Read Me.html file on the installation DVD.
DVD content
The installation or content DVD included with your product contains additional resources for use with your software. The Goodies folder contains product-specific files such as templates, images, presets, actions, plug-ins, and effects, along with subfolders for Fonts and Stock
Photography. The Documentation folder contains a PDF version of the Help, technical information, and other documents such as specimen sheets, reference guides, and specialized feature information.
Bridge Home
Bridge Home, a new destination in Adobe Bridge CS3, provides up-todate tips and resources for making the most of Creative Suite 3. Watch videos, learn efficient workflow techniques, and get inspired by leading designers, podcasts, and more. Start Adobe Bridge, then click the
Bridge Home icon at the top of the Favorites panel to access the latest tips, news, and resources for your Creative Suite tools.
Note: Bridge Home may not be available in all languages.
Adobe Exchange
Adobe Exchange is an online community where users download and share thousands of free actions, extensions, plug-ins, and other content for use with Adobe products. To find this free content, visit www.adobe.
com/go/exchange.
User communities
Adobe user communities feature forums, blogs, and other avenues for users to share technologies, tools, and information; ask questions; and find out how others are getting the most out of their software.
User-to-user forums are available in English, French, German, and Japanese; blogs are posted in a wide range of languages.
To participate in forums or blogs, visit www.adobe.com/communities.
132 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Support
Visit the Adobe Support website, at www.adobe.com/support, to find troubleshooting information for your product and to learn about free and paid technical support options.
Visit Adobe Support at www.adobe.com/go/support.
Adobe Labs
Adobe Labs provides you with the opportunity to experience and evaluate new and emerging innovations, technologies, and products from Adobe.
At Adobe Labs, you have access to resources such as these:
• Prerelease software and technologies
• Code samples and best practices to help accelerate your learning curve
• Early versions of product and technical documentation
• Forums, wiki-based content, and other collaborative resources to help you interact with like-minded developers. Adobe Labs fosters a collaborative software development process. This environment allows customers to become productive with new products and technologies, faster and the Adobe development teams to respond and react to early feedback in order to shape the software in a way that meets the needs and expectations of the community.
Visit Adobe Labs at www.adobe.com/go/labs.
Downloads
Visit www.adobe.com/go/downloads to find free updates, tryouts, and other useful software. In addition, the Adobe Store (www.adobe.
com/go/store) provides access to hundreds of plug-ins from third-party developers, helping you automate tasks, customize workflows, create specialized professional effects, and more.
Resources
133
Index
A
Acrobat Connect.
see
Adobe Acrobat Connect
ActionScript 3.0, 36, 51, 98-99
Adams, Sean, 108-109
Adams Morioka, 108-109
Adobe Acrobat Connect, 25, 87
Adobe Acrobat 8.0 Professional.
see also
PDF files
Adobe InDesign integration, 86 enhanced review and tracking, 87 features, 34, 86-89
PDF package creation, 88 preflight, 88
Version Cue projects, 26-27 for web, 90
Adobe Bridge
Adobe Dreamweaver integration, 120
Adobe Flash integration, 101 batching tools, 23
Device Central launch from, 28 features, 12 metadata and keywords, 22 overview, 20-23 photo downloader, 23 rating and labels, 22 stock photos, 24 visual communication, 25 workspaces, 20
Adobe Creative Suite 3 described, 4-5 file compatibility across applications, 16-17 interface sharing and customization, 8-9 mobile workflow, 6-7 new features, 30-31 print, web, and interactive workflow, 4-5 setup, 10 tools, 14-15
Adobe Device Central
Adobe Dreamweaver integration, 39, 126-127
Adobe Flash integration, 35, 93, 97, 106-107
Adobe InDesign integration, 73 content creation, 126-127 features, 28-29
Flash CS3 interaction, 35 mobile devices and, 53
SWF file testing and preview, 68-69
Adobe Dreamweaver
Adobe Bridge integration, 120
Adobe Flash integration, 93, 110, 111, 117
Adobe InDesign integration, 73
Adobe Photoshop integration, 39, 105, 113 content design, 118-119 cross-browser compatibility check
and CSS advisor, 118-119
CSS management, 121 features, 39, 112-121 file compatibility, 16
Fireworks extension, 106 for interactive, 124-125 layout and assembly, 5, 48 for mobile, 126-127
New Document dialog box, 112 setup, 10
Spry effects, 115
Spry framework, 114
Spry widgets, 116 for web, 48-49, 122-123
XHTML exporting to, 80-81
Adobe Fireworks CS3, 37, 106
Adobe Flash CS3
ActionScript 3.0 and, 98-99
Adobe Bridge integration, 101
Adobe Device Central integration, 28, 93, 97
Adobe Dreamweaver integration, 93, 110, 111, 117
134 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
Adobe Illustrator integration, 32, 95, 102
Adobe Photoshop integration, 93, 95
Adobe Version Cue integration, 101 animation, 92 copy and paste filter effects, 96 copy and paste motion tweens, 96
Device Central launch from, 28 drawing enhancements, 94 export only visible layers, 97 features, 35-36, 98-101 file compatibility, 16
Flash Video Encoder, 100 importing files into, 95 for interactive, 50-51, 66-67, 104-105 interface, 94 layers, 15 for mobile, 97, 106-107
Pen tool, 14 scripted animation export to Quicktime, 100 symbols, 17, 32 timelines and animation, 15 video, 45, 92, 100, 104-105 for web, 102-103
Adobe Flash Lite, 28, 35, 97, 106
Adobe Flex Builder 2, 35
Adobe Illustrator CS3
Adobe Acrobat integration, 86
Adobe Flash integration, 94, 95, 102 color swatches defined in, 13
DeviceN support, 61 drawing enhancements, 60 eraser tool, 60 features, 32, 58-61 file compatibility, 16
Flash editing, 35 for interactive, 66-67 layers, 15, 45
layout and assembly, 5
Live Color, 32, 56, 58
Live Trace and Live Paint, 59 for mobile, 68-69
PDF creation, 18 printing, 62-63 setup, 10 templates, 11 transparency, 61
Version Cue projects, 26-27 for web, 64-65
Adobe InDesign CS3
Adobe Acrobat integration, 86
Adobe Illustrator integration, 62-63 color swatches defined in, 13 enhanced transparency and object effects, 76 features, 33, 74-77 file compatibility, 16 importing files into, 72 layers, 15, 45 multi-file place, 74 object styles, 75
PDF creation, 18 printing, 78-79 snippets, 77 stock photos, 24 tables and table styles, 75 templates, 11
Version Cue projects, 26-27 for web, 80-81
XHTML exporting, 80-81
Adobe PDF files.
see
PDF files
Adobe Photoshop CS3
Adobe Acrobat integration, 86
Adobe Dreamweaver integration, 39, 103, 105, 113
Adobe Flash integration, 93, 94, 95
Auto Align Layers, 41 color swatches defined in, 13
Device Central launch from, 28
3D integration, 44 enhanced vanishing point, 43
Eraser tool, 14 features, 30-31, 40-45
Flash editing, 35 for interactive, 50-51 layer comps, 42 layout and assembly, 5 linking vs. embedding files in, 16 for mobile, 52-53
Multi-Layer select, 42
PDF creation, 18 printing, 31, 47
Quick Selection tool, 40 setup, 10
Smart Filters, 40
Smart Objects, 17, 43 timelines and animation, 15
Version Cue projects, 26-27 video, 45 for web, 48-49
Adobe Reader, 34
Adobe Stock Photos, 24
Adobe Version Cue, 26-27, 101
Ajax, 37, 114 anchored objects, 14 animation
ActionScript conversion, 35
Adobe Flash scripted, 92, 94-95, 117 enhancement, 39 export, 100 interactivity and, 51 palette, 30 scripted, 100 and timelines, 15, 51 web, 94-95 anti-aliasing, 66
Apple Script, 33 artwork importing, 57 integrity, 65 vector, 39, 73
ASP, 11
Auto Align Layers, 41
AutoCAD, 34 automation, task, 33
Auto-recognize, 34
AVI for video, 45
B
batching tools, Adobe Bridge, 23
32-bit images, 31 blur filter effect, 103 booklets, print, 89
Brimm, Craig and Brooke, 54-55 browser compatibility check, 37, 118-119
C
Chase, Margo, 70-71
Chase Design Group, 70-71
Chung, Fani, 82-83 coding tools, 36 color consistency via Adobe Bridge, 12
Live, 32, 56, 58, 64 mode and resolution, 46 separations, 78 settings, 12 swatches, 13 compatibility across applications, 16-17 compositing, 30-31
Index
135
content creation, 6
2D and 3D integration, 44 design, 124-125 mobile device, 126-127
XML, 33 control panel, 9, 32 copy and paste, 48, 67, 96, 123 copy motion as ActionScript 3.0, 99 crop areas, 32
CSS
Advisor, 118-119 layouts, 37, 48, 104, 112, 116 management, 121
Culture A.D., 54-55
D
3D compositing, 30 debugging, 35 deinterlacing, 100
Device Central.
see
Adobe Device Central
DeviceN support, 61
3D integration, 44 docking and panels, 9 downloader, photo, 23 drawing tools, 32, 35, 60, 94
Dreamweaver.
see
Adobe Dreamweaver
DV Stream, 45
E
e-mail, 34 embedded files, 16 enhanced vanishing point, 31, 43
Eraser tool, 14, 32, 60 error checking, 78, 98 exporting saving and, 17
XHTML, 33 export only visible layers, 97
F
featured designers
Adams Morioka, 108-109
Chase Design Group, 70-71
Culture A.D., 54-55
Gee + Chung, 82-83 files compatibility across applications, 16-17
Flash, 95, 101
InDesign, 33
JDF, 84, 85, 89 linking vs. embedding, 16 multi-, 74 native, 16, 49, 57, 73 new, 10, 29, 112 saving and exporting, 17, 53, 72
Smart Objects in, 17
SVG, 65
SWF, 51, 65, 91, 93, 101, 111 symbols added to, 17 filters
Adobe Bridge, 21
Adobe Flash, 96 blur, 103 find, Adobe Bridge, 21
Fireworks.
see
Adobe Fireworks CS3
FlA files, 101
Flash CS3.
see
Adobe Flash CS3
Flash Lite.
see
Adobe Flash Lite
Flash Video Encoder, 100
FLC video, 45
FLP files, 101
FlV files, 101 form fields, 34
G
Gee, Earl, 82-83
Gee + Chung Design, 82-83
3G video, 45
136 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
H
high dynamic range (HDR) support, 31
High Quality Print preset, 19
H.264 video, 45
I
Illustrator.
see
Adobe Illustrator images
32-bit, 31 optimizing, 39 website, 64-65, 123
InDesign.
see
Adobe InDesign interactive media content design, 123, 124-125
Flash video encoder, 104-105
Illustrator objects, 66-67 interactivity tools, 91
Photoshop objects, 50-51 interfaces
Flash, 94 interactive, 50-51 sharing and customization, 8-9, 35 ipod video, 45 isolation mode, 32
J
Java Script, 11, 33, 114
JDF files, 84, 85, 89
JSP, 11
K
keywords, Adobe Bridge, 22
L
labels and rating, Adobe Bridge, 22 layers
Adobe Photoshop, 39
Auto Align, 41 comps, 42, 52 controlling visibility, 15, 32, 74 export only visible, 97
layout assembly and, 5, 7
CSS, 37 importing into, 46
InDesign, 33 mobile, 97 linking files, 16
Live Color, 32, 56, 58, 64
Live Paint, 59
Live Trace, 59 lotus Notes, 34
M
metadata, Adobe Bridge, 22
Microsoft Excel, 73
Microsoft Outlook, 34
Microsoft Word, 34, 75 mobile devices
Adobe Dreamweaver for, 126-127
Adobe Flash for, 93, 97, 106-107
Adobe Photoshop for, 52-53 content creation, 126-127 illustration, 68-69 overview, 28-29 mobile workflow, 6-7
Morioka, Noreen, 108-109 motion guides, 102 motion tweens, 94-95, 96, 102
MOV video, 45
MPEG-4 video, 45 multi-file place, 74
Multi-Layer select, 42
N
native files, 16, 49, 57, 73
New Document dialog box, 104 new files, 10, 29, 112
O
object styles, 75 optimization, image, 39
P
panels and docking, 9
PDF files.
see also
Adobe Acrobat 8.0 Professional creating, 18, 86 e-mail and, 34 exporting print-ready, 79, 81 package creation, 88 presets, 19 previews, 21 review and tracking, 87
PDF/X files, 19, 61
Pen tool, 14, 94 photo downloader, 23
Photoshop.
see
Adobe Photoshop
PHP, 11 portable document format.
see
PDF files preflight, 79, 88 presets, PDF, 19
Press Quality preset, 19 printing
Adobe Illustrator, 62-63
Adobe InDesign, 78-79
Adobe Photoshop, 31, 47 booklets, 89 production, 5, 7
Q
Quick Selection tool, 40
QuickTime, 36, 45, 100
R
rating and labels, Adobe Bridge, 22 reviews shared, 34 tracking and, 87 web-based, 57
RSS feeds, 37 rule-based layouts, 33
S
saving and exporting files, 17, 53, 72 scripting, 33, 51 searches, 29 sensitive information removal, 34 separations, color, 78 setup, document, 10 shared reviews, 34 site mockup, 122
9-slice scaling, 66
Smallest File Size preset, 19
Smart Filters, 30, 40
Smart Objects, 17, 43, 57 snippets, 77 sort, Adobe Bridge, 21
Spry effects, 115
Spry framework, 37
Spry widgets, 116 stock photos, 24 styles, object, 75
SVG files, 65 swatches, color, 13
SWF files, 51, 65, 91, 93, 101, 111 symbols, 17, 32
T
table and cell styles, 33, 75 templates, 11 textures, 30 timelines and animation, 15, 51 tools batching, 23 coding, 36 drawing, 32, 35, 94
Eraser, 14, 32, 60 layer, 15 metadata and keyword, 22
Pen, 14, 94
Quick Selection, 40 rating and labels, 22 timelines and animation, 15
Index
137
tools panel, 9 transparency, 61, 76
V
VBScript, 33
Version Cue.
see
Adobe Version Cue video, 36, 51
Adobe Photoshop, 45
Encoder, Flash, 92, 104-105
Quicktime, 36, 45, 100 visual communications, 25
W
websites animation, 94-95 design, optimization, and exporting, 48-49 images, 64-65, 123 mockup, 122 transferring PDF documents to, 90
XHTML exporting to, 80-81 workspaces
Adobe Bridge, 20
Adobe InDesign, 33 setup, 11
WYSIWYG layout, 48
X
XHTML exporting, 33, 72, 73, 80-81
XML content, 33, 37, 77, 98
138 Adobe Creative Suite 3
Design Premium and Standard Workflow Guide
This book is set in Myriad Pro. Myriad Pro is an Adobe
Originals design first released in 1992. Designed by Robert
Slimbach & Carol Twombly with Fred Brady & Christopher
Slye, Myriad has a warmth and readability that result from the humanistic treatment of letter proportions and design detail. This book was co-authored by AdamsMorioka and Rich Shupe at FMA, and designed by Monica Schlaug at AdamsMorioka, using Adobe InDesign CS2, Adobe
Illustrator CS2, and Adobe Photoshop CS2.
Descarcă
Publicitate