Tektronix MTX100B Technical Reference
PDF
Document
Publicitate
Publicitate
xx
ZZZ
MTX100B
MPEG Player and Recorder
Specifications and Performance Verification
Technical Reference
*P077019001*
077-0190-01
xx
ZZZ
MTX100B
MPEG Player and Recorder
Specifications and Performance Verification
Technical Reference
www.tektronix.com
077-0190-01
Copyright © Tektronix. All rights reserved. Licensed software products are owned by Tektronix or its subsidiaries
or suppliers, and are protected by national copyright laws and international treaty provisions.
Tektronix products are covered by U.S. and foreign patents, issued and pending. Information in this publication
supersedes that in all previously published material. Specifications and price change privileges reserved.
TEKTRONIX and TEK are registered trademarks of Tektronix, Inc.
Contacting Tektronix
Tektronix, Inc.
14200 SW Karl Braun Drive
P.O. Box 500
Beaverton, OR 97077
USA
For product information, sales, service, and technical support:
In North America, call 1-800-833-9200.
Worldwide, visit www.tektronix.com to find contacts in your area.
Warranty
Tektronix warrants that this product will be free from defects in materials and workmanship for a period of
one (1) year from the date of shipment. If any such product proves defective during this warranty period,
Tektronix, at its option, either will repair the defective product without charge for parts and labor, or will
provide a replacement in exchange for the defective product. Parts, modules and replacement products used
by Tektronix for warranty work may be new or reconditioned to like new performance. All replaced parts,
modules and products become the property of Tektronix.
In order to obtain service under this warranty, Customer must notify Tektronix of the defect before the
expiration of the warranty period and make suitable arrangements for the performance of service. Customer
shall be responsible for packaging and shipping the defective product to the service center designated by
Tektronix, with shipping charges prepaid. Tektronix shall pay for the return of the product to Customer if
the shipment is to a location within the country in which the Tektronix service center is located. Customer
shall be responsible for paying all shipping charges, duties, taxes, and any other charges for products returned
to any other locations.
This warranty shall not apply to any defect, failure or damage caused by improper use or improper or
inadequate maintenance and care. Tektronix shall not be obligated to furnish service under this warranty a) to
repair damage resulting from attempts by personnel other than Tektronix representatives to install, repair or
service the product; b) to repair damage resulting from improper use or connection to incompatible equipment;
c) to repair any damage or malfunction caused by the use of non-Tektronix supplies; or d) to service a product
that has been modified or integrated with other products when the effect of such modification or integration
increases the time or difficulty of servicing the product.
THIS WARRANTY IS GIVEN BY TEKTRONIX WITH RESPECT TO THE PRODUCT IN LIEU OF ANY
OTHER WARRANTIES, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED. TEKTRONIX AND ITS VENDORS DISCLAIM ANY
IMPLIED WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY OR FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.
TEKTRONIX’ RESPONSIBILITY TO REPAIR OR REPLACE DEFECTIVE PRODUCTS IS THE SOLE
AND EXCLUSIVE REMEDY PROVIDED TO THE CUSTOMER FOR BREACH OF THIS WARRANTY.
TEKTRONIX AND ITS VENDORS WILL NOT BE LIABLE FOR ANY INDIRECT, SPECIAL,
INCIDENTAL, OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES IRRESPECTIVE OF WHETHER TEKTRONIX OR
THE VENDOR HAS ADVANCE NOTICE OF THE POSSIBILITY OF SUCH DAMAGES.
[W2 – 15AUG04]
Table of Contents
General Safety Summary ......................................................................................... iv
Preface ............................................................................................................. vii
Manual Structure............................................................................................. vii
Related User Documents.................................................................................... vii
Manual Conventions......................................................................................... viii
Introduction ........................................................................................................ ix
Performance Check Interval ................................................................................. ix
Specifications
Specifications ..................................................................................................... 1-1
Software Protection.......................................................................................... 1-1
Performance Conditions .................................................................................... 1-1
Functional Specifications ................................................................................... 1-2
Electrical Specifications..................................................................................... 1-2
Mechanical (Physical) Characteristics................................................................... 1-16
Environmental Characteristics ........................................................................... 1-17
Performance Verification
Performance Verification ........................................................................................
Connecting to a Network ...................................................................................
Required Equipment.........................................................................................
MTX100B Test Record .....................................................................................
Procedures ....................................................................................................
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2-1
2-1
2-6
2-7
2-7
i
Table of Contents
List of Figures
Figure 1-1: Timing diagram of the SPI and universal parallel/serial interfaces .........................
Figure 2-1: Pin connections for a crossover Ethernet cable .................................................
Figure 2-2: Network Connections window ....................................................................
Figure 2-3: Local Area Connection Status dialog box .......................................................
Figure 2-4: Local Area Connection Properties dialog box...................................................
Figure 2-5: Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) Properties dialog box...............................................
Figure 2-6: Equipment connection for verifying the internal clock output level ..........................
Figure 2-7: Equipment connection for verifying the internal clock frequency ............................
Figure 2-8: Equipment connection for verifying the SPI interface .......................................
Figure 2-9: Equipment connections for verifying the external clock/reference and trigger inputs....
Figure 2-10: Equipment connection for verifying the IEEE1394b interface ............................
Figure 2-11: Equipment connection for verifying the output signal-ASI interface .....................
Figure 2-12: Equipment connections for verifying the play operation-ASI interface ..................
Figure 2-13: Equipment connection for verifying the record operation-ASI interface .................
Figure 2-14: Equipment connection for verifying the recorded file-ASI interface......................
Figure 2-15: Equipment connection for verifying the output signals-universal parallel/serial
interface.....................................................................................................
Figure 2-16: Equipment connection for verifying the play operation-universal parallel/serial
interface.....................................................................................................
Figure 2-17: Equipment connection for verifying the recorded file-universal parallel/serial interface
Figure 2-18: Equipment connection for verifying the Event output ......................................
Figure 2-19: Equipment connection for verifying the output signal-IEEE1394/ASI interface ........
Figure 2-20: Equipment connection for verifying the play operation-IEEE1394/ASI interface.......
Figure 2-21: Equipment connection for verifying the record operation-IEEE1394/ASI interface ....
Figure 2-22: Equipment connection for verifying the recorded file-IEEE1394/ASI interface.........
Figure 2-23: Equipment connection for verifying the IEEE1394 output signal .........................
Figure 2-24: Equipment connection for verifying output signal-SMPTE310M interface..............
Figure 2-25: Equipment connection for verifying the ASI play operation ...............................
Figure 2-26: Equipment connection for verifying the ASI record operation ............................
Figure 2-27: Equipment connection for verifying the recorded file-ASI interface......................
Figure 2-28: Equipment connection for verifying the SMPTE310M play operation ...................
Figure 2-29: Equipment connection for verifying the SMPTE310M record operation.................
Figure 2-30: Equipment connection for verifying the recorded file-ASI interface......................
Figure 2-31: Equipment connection for verifying the SPI record operation .............................
Figure 2-32: Equipment setup for Option GbE performance verification................................
Figure 2-33: IP Flow selection................................................................................
Figure 2-34: Clock dialog box ................................................................................
ii
1-13
2-1
2-2
2-3
2-3
2-4
2-8
2-9
2-10
2-14
2-17
2-18
2-20
2-21
2-23
2-25
2-27
2-33
2-35
2-37
2-39
2-40
2-42
2-44
2-46
2-48
2-49
2-51
2-52
2-54
2-55
2-57
2-64
2-69
2-71
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Table of Contents
List of Tables
Table 1-1: Functional specifications............................................................................
Table 1-2: Mainframe ............................................................................................
Table 1-3: ASI interface (Option 01)...........................................................................
Table 1-4: Universal parallel/serial interface (Option 02) ...................................................
Table 1-5: IEEE1394/ASI interface (Option 05)............................................................
Table 1-6: SMPTE310M/ASI/SPI interface (Option 07) ..................................................
Table 1-7: GigE interface card - general characteristics ...................................................
Table 1-8: GigE interface card - Ethernet electrical port...................................................
Table 1-9: GigE interface card - ASI input ..................................................................
Table 1-10: GigE interface card - ASI output ...............................................................
Table 1-11: GigE interface card - SMPTE310M input (loop-through to ASI output) ..................
Table 1-12: Mechanical characteristics ......................................................................
Table 1-13: Environmental characteristics...................................................................
Table 2-1: Equipment required for performance verification................................................
Table 2-2: MTX100B test record ...............................................................................
Table 2-3: Output level of each connector pin ..............................................................
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
1-2
1-2
1-7
1-8
1-10
1-10
1-14
1-14
1-15
1-15
1-16
1-16
1-17
2-6
2-7
2-26
iii
General Safety Summary
General Safety Summary
Review the following safety precautions to avoid injury and prevent damage to
this product or any products connected to it.
To avoid potential hazards, use this product only as specified.
Only qualified personnel should perform service procedures.
While using this product, you may need to access other parts of a larger system.
Read the safety sections of the other component manuals for warnings and
cautions related to operating the system.
To Avoid Fire or Personal
Injury
Use Proper Power Cord. Use only the power cord specified for this product and
certified for the country of use.
Ground the Product. This product is indirectly grounded through the grounding
conductor of the mainframe power cord. To avoid electric shock, the grounding
conductor must be connected to earth ground. Before making connections to
the input or output terminals of the product, ensure that the product is properly
grounded.
Observe All Terminal Ratings. To avoid fire or shock hazard, observe all ratings
and markings on the product. Consult the product manual for further ratings
information before making connections to the product.
The inputs are not rated for connection to mains or Category II, III, or IV circuits.
Power Disconnect. The power cord disconnects the product from the power source.
Do not block the power cord; it must remain accessible to the user at all times.
Do Not Operate Without Covers. Do not operate this product with covers or panels
removed.
Do Not Operate With Suspected Failures. If you suspect that there is damage to this
product, have it inspected by qualified service personnel.
Avoid Exposed Circuitry. Do not touch exposed connections and components
when power is present.
Use Proper Fuse. Use only the fuse type and rating specified for this product.
Do Not Operate in Wet/Damp Conditions.
Do Not Operate in an Explosive Atmosphere.
Keep Product Surfaces Clean and Dry.
Provide Proper Ventilation. Refer to the manual’s installation instructions for
details on installing the product so it has proper ventilation.
iv
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
General Safety Summary
Terms in this Manual
These terms may appear in this manual:
WARNING. Warning statements identify conditions or practices that could result
in injury or loss of life.
CAUTION. Caution statements identify conditions or practices that could result in
damage to this product or other property.
Symbols and Terms on the
Product
These terms may appear on the product:
DANGER indicates an injury hazard immediately accessible as you read
the marking.
WARNING indicates an injury hazard not immediately accessible as you
read the marking.
CAUTION indicates a hazard to property including the product.
The following symbol(s) may appear on the product:
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
v
General Safety Summary
vi
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Preface
Preface
This manual lists the published specifications for the MTX100B MPEG Recorder
and Player and provides a procedure for verifying the performance of the
instrument.
Manual Structure
This manual is divided into following sections:
Specifications Contains a description of the MTX100B and characteristics
that apply to it.
Performance Verification Contains procedures for confirming that an
MTX100B functions properly and meets warranted characteristics.
Sections containing procedures also contain introductions to those procedures.
Be sure to read these introductions because they provide information needed to
do the service correctly and efficiently.
Related User Documents
Item
Purpose
MTX100B Quick Start User Manual (071-2593-xx
English, 071-2594-xx Japanese)
Provides installation and
high-level operational overviews
MTX100B Technical Reference (077-0189-xx)
Provides in-depth operating
information
MTX100B Service Manual (077-0191-xx)
Optional manual supporting
module-level servicing of the
instrument
MTX100B Declassification and Security
Instructions (077-0187-xx)
Provides instructions for
removing your proprietary
information from the instrument
Location
MTX/RTX Release Notes (077-0195-xx)
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
vii
Preface
Manual Conventions
This manual uses certain conventions with which you should become familiar.
Some sections of the manual contain procedures for you to perform. To keep those
instructions clear and consistent, this manual uses the following conventions:
Names of front panel controls and menus appear in the same case (initial
capitals, all uppercase, and so forth) in the manual as is used on the MTX100B
front panel and menus.
Instruction steps are numbered unless there is only one step.
Bold text refers to specific interface elements that you are instructed to select,
click, or clear.
Example: Press the Menu button to open the File menu.
Italic text refers to document names or sections. Italics are also used in
NOTES, CAUTIONS, and WARNINGS.
Example: Generally, the performance check described in the Performance
Verification section, should be done every twelve months. In addition, a
performance check is recommended after module replacement.
viii
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Introduction
This manual contains information needed to properly service the MTX100B
MPEG Recorder & Player, as well as general information critical to safe and
effective servicing.
To prevent personal injury or damage to the MTX100B, consider the following
before attempting service:
The procedures in this manual should be performed only by a qualified service
person.
Read the General Safety Summary and the Service Safety Summary.
When using this manual for servicing, be sure to follow all warnings, cautions,
and notes.
Performance Check Interval
Generally, the performance check described in the Performance Verification
section, should be done every twelve months. In addition, a performance check is
recommended after module replacement.
If the MTX100B does not meet performance criteria, repair is necessary.
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
ix
Introduction
x
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Specifications
Specifications
Tables 1 through 13 list the functional, electrical, mechanical, and environmental
characteristics of the MTX100B. All listed specifications are guaranteed unless
labeled “typical”. Typical specifications are provided for your convenience but
are not guaranteed.
Software Protection
The MTX100B software options require that a software key, and beginning with
V10.1, an OptionDongle be installed so that the purchased set of options can
be accessed.
CAUTION. The software key/OptionDongle must be installed on the instrument
before the MTX100B software application will operate.
The software key is the character string that is entered into the Option Update
Key string field. Beginning with V10.1, an OptionDongle is also provided. The
OptionDongle is a small hardware device that is available in parallel port form.
The software key and the OptionDongle work together; the software polls the
OptionDongle at the beginning of the application and during the Play and Record
to verify the option coding. The type of software key used by your test system is
determined at the time of the original product order.
Any printer compatible with the installed operating system can be connected to
the unit through the parallel port version of the OptionDongle.
Performance Conditions
The electrical characteristics listed on the following pages are valid under the
following conditions:
The MTX100B must be in an environment where the temperature, altitude,
humidity, and vibration conditions are within the operating limits. (See
Table 1-13.)
The MTX100B must have a warm-up period of at least 20 minutes.
The MTX100B must be operating at an ambient temperature between
+5 C to +40 C, unless otherwise noted.
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
1–1
Specifications
Functional Specifications
Table 1-1: Functional specifications
Characteristics
System
configuration
Descriptions
System OS
Windows XP Professional
CPU
1.3 GHz
System memory
1GB
Display
6.3 inch, XGA (1024 x 768), Windows Control Panel setting is SVGA
(800 x 600)
Hard disk drive
250 GB
Electrical Specifications
Table 1-2: Mainframe
Characteristics
Description
Maximum output rate
Hard disk
≥ 120 Mbps
RAM
≥ 200 Mbps
Maximum record rate
Hard disk
≥ 120 Mbps (File size: < 4 GB, just after disk format operation)
≥ 90 Mbps (File size: 33 GB, just after disk format operation)
RAM
≥ 200 Mbps
Internal reference clock
For Output_clock, PCR/PTS/DTS, packet operation timing, and TDT/STT time.
Frequency
27 MHz ± 1 ppm
Stability
±0.5 ppm per year
±1 ppm over temperature range
External reference/clock input
Connector type
BNC
Input impedance, typical
50 Ω
Reference input
Frequency
8.129698 MHz, 10 MHz, 27 MHz
Input level, typical
Sine wave: 0 ± 6 dBm
Square wave: 0.5 Vp-p to 3.0 Vp-p
Clock input
1–2
Frequency
160 kHz to 25 MHz (parallel clock)
1.28 MHz to 32 MHz (serial clock)
Input level, typical
0.5 V to 3.0 V
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Specifications
Characteristics
Description
External trigger input/MISC output
Connector type
BNC
Input impedance, typical
1 kΩ
Threshold level
Rising and falling edges are programmable.
High level
> 3.5 V (maximum input voltage: 7 V)
Low level
< 0.8 V
Output level
High level
> 2.2 V (with 50 Ω termination)
Low level
< 0.8 V (with 50 Ω termination)
Output impedance
50 Ω
Frequency
50 MHz to 100 MHz, Locked to reference clock
Output clock
50 MHz maximum (serial clock)
26.75 MHz maximum (parallel clock)
Output rate
214 Mbps maximum
64 Kbps minimum
PLL
TS clock
(Internal and external
reference, 27 MHz and
10 MHz)
TS clock = (X / (2 * Y * Z) ) * 27 MHz
15362 < X < 31248
1686 < Y < 3376
2 ≤ Z ≤ 65536
(External parallel clock)
TS clock = (X / (2 * Y * Z) ) * external parallel clock, 214 MHz maximum
15632 < X < 31248
1 < Y < 16383
2 ≤ Z ≤ 65536
(External serial clock)
TS clock = (X / (2 * Y * Z) ) * external serial clock / 8,32 MHz maximum
15632 < X < 31248
1<Y < 16383
2 ≤ Z ≤ 65536
P/N and Jitter (serial clock)
< –104 dBc/Hz at 21.455707 MHz +20 kHz (RBW=300 Hz)
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
1–3
Specifications
Characteristics
Description
SPI interface
Connector type
D-sub, 25 pin
Data rate
256 Kbps to 214 Mbps
Pin assignments
1: DCLK
2: GND
3 to 10: DATA 7 to DATA 0
11: DVALID
12: PSYNC
13: Shield
14: /DCLK
15: GND
16 to 23 :/DATA 7 to /DATA 0
24: /DVALID
25: /PSYNC
Output
Output level, typical
330 mV to 550 mV (termination: internal 100 Ω, external 100 Ω), bus LVDS with 50 Ω
termination
Offset
1.1 V to 1.5 V
Output resistance,
typical
100 Ω, between differential outputs (output off)
Data delay, typical
± 5 ns from the falling edge of DCLK.
(See Figure 1-1 on page 1-13.)
Input
1–4
Input level, typical
> +100 mV, < –100 mV, (RI+)-(RI–) with 100 Ω termination
Input resistance,
typical
100 Ω (between differential inputs)
Clock pulse width,
typical
T/2 ± T/10, T=1/f (f=byte clock frequency).
(See Figure 1-1 on page 1-13.)
Data hold time, typical
T/2 ± T/10, T=1/f (f=byte clock frequency, Data are latched on DCLK rising edge.)
(See Figure 1-1 on page 1-13.)
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Specifications
Characteristics
Description
VGA output
Connector type
D-sub, 15 pin
Pin assignments
1: RED
2: GREEN
3: BLUE
4: NC
5: GND
6: GND
7: GND
8: GND
9: NC
10: GND
11: NC
12: NC
13: HSYNC
14: VSYNC
15: NC
Printer port
Supports SPP (Standard Parallel Port), EPP (Enhanced Parallel Port ), and ECP (Extended
Capabilities Port) modes.
Connector type
D-sub, 25 pin
Pin assignments
1: STROBE
2: D0
3: D1
4: D2
5: D3
6: D4
7: D5
8: D6
9: D7
10: ACK
11: BUSY
12: Paper Empty
13: SELECT
14: AUTOLF
15: ERR
16: INIT
17: SELECT
18: GND
19: GND
20: GND
21: GND
22: GND
23: GND
24: GND
25: GND
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
1–5
Specifications
Characteristics
Description
USB 2.0 interface
Number of connectors
2
Pin assignments
1: VCC
2: –DATA
3: +DATA
4: GND
LAN interface
10/100/1000 Base-T Ethernet interface
Connector type
RJ45
Pin assignments
1:
2:
3:
4:
5:
6:
7:
8:
Serial interface (Com)
MDI_0+
MDI_0–
MDI_1+
MDI_2+
MDI_2–
MDI_1–
MDI_3+
MDI_3–
RS-232C
Connector type
D-sub, 9 pin
Pin assignments
1:
2:
3:
4:
5:
6:
7:
8:
9:
DCD
RX
TX
DTR
GND
DSR
RTS
CTS
RI
IEEE1394B interface
1–6
Compliant
IEEE1394B-2002
Pin assignments
1: TPB–
2: TPB+
3: TPA–
4: TPA+
5: TPA (R)
6: VG
7: NC
8: VP
9: TPB (R)
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Specifications
Characteristics
Description
AC line power
Rating Voltage
100 VAC to 240 VAC, CAT II
Voltage Range
90 VAC to 250 VAC
Frequency Range
50 Hz to 60 Hz
Maximum power
180 VA
Maximum current
1.3 A
Main fuse data
5 A Time-delayed, 250 V (not operator replaceable)
2 A Time-delayed, 250 V (not operator replaceable)
Table 1-3: ASI interface (Option 01)
Characteristics
Description
Standard conformance
EN50083-9 Annex B
Connector type
BNC
Impedance, typical
75 Ω
Data rate
256 Kbps to 214 Mbps
Output
Number of outputs
2
Output voltage
800 mV ± 10%
Jitter
≤ 0.2 UI (p-p)
Rise/fall time (20% to 80%)
≤ 1.2 ns
Return loss
< –17 dB (5 MHz to 270 MHz) into 75 Ω load
Number of inputs
1 (with active loop-through output)
Input voltage
200 mV to 800 mV
Input
Return loss
< –17 dB (5 MHz to 270 MHz) into 75 Ω load
Data format
Accepts both burst and packet modes ASI
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
1–7
Specifications
Table 1-4: Universal parallel/serial interface (Option 02)
Characteristics
Description
Parallel interface mode
Connector type
D-sub, 25 pin (the same connector as serial output)
Data rate
256 Kbps to 214 Mbps
Pin assignments
1: DCLK
2: GND
3 to 10: DATA 7 to DATA 0
11: DVALID
12: PSYNC
13: Shield
14: /DCLK
15: GND
16 to 23: /DATA 7 to /DATA 0
24: /DVALID
25: /PSYNC
Output level, typical
Note: Do not connect the /Asserted Low pins for single-end use.
TTL without termination
LO: 0 V
HI: 3.3 V
LVDS without termination
0.66 Vp-p to 1.1 Vp-p (amplitude)
1.1 V to 1.5 V (offset)
ECL without termination
LO: –2.1 V
HI: –0.5 V
Output impedance, typical
50 Ω ± 5% (per pin, single-end)
Output resistance, typical
≥ 1 kΩ (when the output is off, per pin, single-end)
Data delay, typical
0 ± 5 ns from the falling edge of DCLK. (See Figure 1-1.)
Single-end input level, typical
1–8
TTL with termination
LO: 0.0 V to 0.5 V
HI: 1.2 V to 5.0 V
ECL with termination
LO: –5.2 V to –1.05 V
HI: –0.25 V to 0.0 V
Differential input level, typical
0.4 V to 1.0 Vp-p (between +pin and –pin without termination)
0.2 V to 1.0 Vp-p (between +pin and –pin with termination)
Input resistance, typical
50 Ω ± 5% to GND pin (single end termination: ON)
110 Ω ± 5% (differential termination: ON)
≥ 1 kΩ to GND (termination: OFF)
Clock pulse width, typical
T/2 ± T/10, T=1/f (f=byte clock frequency.)
(See Figure 1-1.)
Data hold time, typical
T/2 ± T/10, T=1/f (f=byte clock frequency, data are latched on DCLK rising edge.)
(See Figure 1-1.)
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Specifications
Characteristics
Description
Serial interface mode
Connector type
D-sub, 25 pin (uses a common connector with parallel interface)
Data rate
256 Kbps to 40 Mbps
Pin Assignments
1: DCLK
2: GND
3 to 9: Not managed
10: DATA 0
11: DVALID
12: PSYNC
13: Shield
14: /DCLK
15: GND
16 to 22: Not managed
23: /DATA 0
24: /DVALID
25: /PSYNC
Output level, typical
NOTE. Note: Do not connect the /Asserted Low pins for single-end use.
TTL without termination
LO: 0 V
HI: 3.3 V
LVDS without termination
0.66 Vp-p to 1.1 Vp-p (amplitude)
1.1 V to 1.5 V (offset)
ECL without termination
LO: –2.1 V
HI: –0.5 V
Output impedance, typical
50 Ω ± 5% (per pin, single-end)
Output resistance, typical
≥ 1 kΩ (when the output is off, per pin, single-end)
Data delay, typical
0 ± 5 ns from the falling edge of DCLK. (See Figure 1-1.)
Single-end input level, typical
TTL with termination
LO: 0.0 V to 0.5 V
HI: 1.2 V to 5.0 V
ECL with termination
LO: –5.2 V to -1.05 V
HI: –0.25 V to 0.0 V
Differential input level, typical
0.4 V to 1.0 Vp-p (between +pin and –pin without termination)
0.2 V to 1.0 Vp-p (between +pin and –pin with termination)
Input resistance, typical
50 Ω ± 5% to GND pin (single end termination: On)
110 Ω ± 5% (differential termination: On) ≥ 1 kΩ to GND pin (termination: Off)
Clock pulse width, typical
T/2 ± T/10, T=1/f (f=byte clock frequency.) (See Figure 1-1 on page 1-13.)
Data hold time, typical
T/2 ± T/10, T=1/f (f=byte clock frequency, data are latched on DCLK rising edge.) (See
Figure 1-1 on page 1-13.)
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
1–9
Specifications
Characteristics
Description
Event output (EVENT OUT)
Connector type
BNC
Output level, typical
TTL without termination
LO: < 0.4 V
HI: > 2.4 V
Output impedance, typical
50 Ω
Table 1-5: IEEE1394/ASI interface (Option 05)
Characteristics
Description
IEEE1394 interface
Standard conformance
IEEE Std 1394-1995 IEEE Standard for High Performance serial Bus
Number of connectors
2
Serial interface rate
S-400
Maximum TS rate
40 Mbps
ASI interface
Standard conformance
EN 50083-9 Annex B
Connector type
BNC
Impedance, typical
75 Ω
Data rate
256 Kbps to 214 Mbps
Input vlotage, typical
200 mV to 800 mV
Output voltage
800 mV ± 10%
Return loss
< –17 dB (5 MHz to 270 MHz) into 75 Ω load
Table 1-6: SMPTE310M/ASI/SPI interface (Option 07)
Characteristics
Description
SMPTE310M interface
Uses common input/output connectors with the ASI
interface.
Standard conformance
SMPTE310M
Connector type
BNC
Impedance
75 Ω
Data rate
19.392658 Mbps (8 VSB, 188 bytes packet size)
Output
Number of outputs
1
Output voltage
800 mV ± 10%
Jitter
≤ 0.2 UI p-p
Rise/fall time
0.4 ns to 5.0 ns (20% to 80%)
Frequency range, typical
± 3%
Input
1–10
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Specifications
Table 1-6: SMPTE310M/ASI/SPI interface (Option 07) (cont.)
Characteristics
Description
Number of inputs
1
Input voltage, typical
800 mV ± 10%
Frequency range, typical
± 3%
ASI interface
Uses common input/output connectors with the
SMPTE310M interface.
Standard conformance
EN 50083-9 Annex B
Connector type
BNC
Impedance
75 Ω
Data rate
256 Kbps to 214 Mbps
Output
Number of outputs
1
Output voltage
800 mV ± 10%
Jitter
≤ 0.2 UI p-p
Rise/fall time
≤ 1.2 ns (20% to 80%)
Return loss
< –17 dB (5 MHz to 270 MHz) into 75 Ω load
Number of inputs
1
Input voltage, typical
200 mV to 800 mV
Return loss
< –17 dB (5 MHz to 270 MHz) into 75 Ω load
Input
SPI interface
Connector type
D-sub, 25 pin
Data rate
256 Kbps to 214 Mbps
Pin assignments
1: DCLK
2: GND
3 to 10: DATA 7 to DATA 0
11: DVALID
12: PSYNC
13: Shield
14: /DCLK
15: GND
16 to 23: /DATA 7 to /DATA 0
24: /DVALID
25: /PSYNC
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
1–11
Specifications
Table 1-6: SMPTE310M/ASI/SPI interface (Option 07) (cont.)
Characteristics
Description
Input
1–12
Input level, typical
> +100 mV, < –100 mV, (RI+)-(RI–) with 100 Ω
termination
Input resistance, typical
100 Ω (between differential inputs)
Clock pulse width, typical
T/2 ± T/10, T=1/f (f=byte clock frequency.) (See
Figure 1-1.)
Data hold time, typical
T/2 ± T/10, T=1/f (f=byte clock frequency, Data are
latched on DCLK rising edge.) (See Figure 1-1.)
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Specifications
Figure 1-1: Timing diagram of the SPI and universal parallel/serial interfaces
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
1–13
Specifications
Table 1-7: GigE interface card - general characteristics
Characteristic
Description
Ethernet Port
The Ethernet Interfaces supports 1000/100/10 Mbit/s data
transmission. The Ethernet Interface to the card will be
an IEEE 802.3 compliant 10/100/1000 Ethernet interface
supporting 10/100/1000BT, 1000BSX(multi-mode), and
1000BLX(single-mode).
Two Ethernet interfaces are available - a copper RJ-45 interface
and an MSA (multisource agreement) compliant SFP (Small
Form-factor Pluggable) connector. The SFP connector will
provide for pluggable optical interfaces. Only one interface,
either the copper or optical, will be active at a time for video
over IP monitoring. The active interface will be selectable via
software control.
Transport stream rate over IP
250 Kbps to 155 Mbps; typical
Table 1-8: GigE interface card - Ethernet electrical port
Characteristic
Description
Standard
10/100/1000BASE-T IEEE 802.3
Connector Type
RJ-45
Data Format 10/100 Base T
NRZ
Data Format 1000 Base T
Trellis encoded, PAM5 symbols full-duplex on 4-pair Cat-5 UTP
per IEEE 802.3ab
Ethernet optical transmitter - general characteristics
Optical Operating Mode
Single Mode or Multimode
Connector Type
Duplex data link MSA compliant SFP connector
Standard
1000 BASE-X
Data Format
NRZ
Ethernet Optical Transmitter - single mode 1550nm using Tektronix supplied SFP module
Output Power
−2 dBm to +4 dBm; typical
Center Wavelength - 1550 nm
1530 nm Min, 1550 nm Typ, 1570 nm Max; typical
Total Jitter (Peak-to-Peak)
170 ps
Extinction Ratio
9.0 dBm
Ethernet optical receiver - single mode 1550nm using Tektronix supplied SFP module
Optical Input Power
−26 dBm to −3 dBm, BER 1 X 10−12; typical
Input Wavelength
1270 nm = λ = 1610 nm
Ethernet optical transmitter - single mode 1310nm using Tektronix supplied SFP module
Output Power
−11 dBm to −3 dBm; typical
Center Wavelength - 1310 nm
1270 nm Min, 1310 nm Typ, 1355 nm Max; typical
Total Jitter (Peak-to-Peak)
170 ps
Extinction Ratio
9.0 dBm
1–14
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Specifications
Table 1-8: GigE interface card - Ethernet electrical port (cont.)
Characteristic
Description
Ethernet optical receiver - single mode 1310nm using Tektronix supplied SFP module
Optical Input Power
−19 dBm to −3 dBm, BER 1 X 10−12; typical
Input Wavelength
1270 nm = λ = 1610 nm
Ethernet optical transmitter - multimode 850nm using Tektronix supplied SFP module
Output Power
−9.5 dBm to −2 dBm; typical
Center Wavelength - 850 nm
830 nm Min, 850 nm Typ, 860 nm Ma; typical
Total Jitter (Peak-to-Peak)
170 ps
Extinction Ratio
9.0 dBm
Ethernet optical receiver - multimode 850nm using Tektronix supplied SFP module
Optical Input Power
−17 dBm to 0 dBm, BER 1 X 10 −12; typical
Input Wavelength
770 nm = λ = 860 nm
Table 1-9: GigE interface card - ASI input
Characteristic
Description
Connector
BNC
Transport Stream Rate
250 Kbps to 155 Mbps; typical
Data Format
Accepts both Burst and Packet mode ASI format
Signal Amplitude
2.0 V p-p max; 200 mV pk to pk min
Termination
75 Ω nominal, transformer coupled
Return Loss
10 dB min, 5 MHz to 270 MHz
Link Rate
270 Mbaud 100 ppm
Table 1-10: GigE interface card - ASI output
Characteristic
Description
Connector
BNC
Impedance
75 Ω nominal, transformer coupled
Transport Stream Rate
250 Kbps to 155 Mbps max
Transport Stream Smoothing
Smoothing mechanism for the TS packets before retransmitting
packets out on ASI port
Signal Amplitude
600 mV pk to pk min, 1.0Vp-p max into a 75 Ω load
Return Loss
10 dB min at 270 MHz
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
1–15
Specifications
Table 1-11: GigE interface card - SMPTE310M input (loop-through to ASI output)
Characteristic
Description
Connector
BNC
Termination
75 Ω nominal, transformer coupled
Data Format
Bi-phase coded. Compliant with SMPTE310M
Input Bit Rate
19,392,658.5 bps ±2.8 ppm
Signal Amplitude
2.0 Vp-p max; 200 mVp-p min
Return Loss
10 dB min at 20 MHz
Mechanical (Physical) Characteristics
Table 1-12: Mechanical characteristics
Characteristics
Description
Net weight
Standard
Approximately 6 kg (13.2 lb)
Dimensions
Height
132 mm (5.1 in), without feet
Width
214 mm (8.4 in)
Length
435 mm (17.1 in)
1–16
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Specifications
Environmental Characteristics
Table 1-13: Environmental characteristics
Characteristics
Description
Temperature
Operating
+5 °C to +40 °C
Non-operating
–20 °C to +60 °C
Relative humidity
Operating
20% to 80% (No condensation)
Maximum wet-bulb temperature 29 °C
Non-operating
5% to 90% (No condensation)
Maximum wet-bulb temperature 29 °C
Altitude
Operating
Up to 3 km (approximately 10,000 feet)
Maximum operating temperature decreases 1 °C each 300 m above 1.5 km
Non-operating
Up to 15 km (approximately 50,000 feet)
Dynamics
Vibration
Operating
2.65 m/s 2 rms (0.27 Grms), 5 Hz to 500 Hz, 10 min, three axes
Non-operating
22.3 m/s 2 rms (2.28 Grms), 5 Hz to 500 Hz, 10 min, three axes
Shock
Non-operating
294 m/s 2 (30 G), half-sine, 11 ms duration
Installation requirements
Power dissipation
100 W maximum. Maximum line current is 1.3 Arms at 50 Hz
Surge current
≤ 12 A peak for less than 5 line cycles at 25 °C after product has been off for at least
30 seconds
Cooling clearance
Top clearance
5 cm (2 in)
Side clearance
5 cm (2 in)
Rear clearance
5 cm (2 in), from the fan guard
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
1–17
Specifications
1–18
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
Performance Verification
This section provides procedures to verify the performance and functionality
of the MTX100B network interface.
Connecting to a Network
The MTX100B has a LAN (10/100/1000 Base-T) port on the rear panel for
Ethernet communications.
This section provides instructions for connecting the MTX100B to a single PC or
a network and setting the network parameters for the LAN port.
Connecting the MTX100B
to your PC or MTS400
system
The MTX100B uses the rear-panel LAN port to communicate with a PC or an
MTS400 system. Use one of the following methods to connect the MTX100B to
your PC or MTS400:
If you are connecting the MTX100B directly to a single PC, use a crossover
Ethernet cable to connect between the LAN port on the MTX100B and the
Ethernet port on the PC. If you need to construct your own crossover cable,
the following figure shows the pin connections to change on a straight cable
to produce a crossover cable.
Figure 2-1: Pin connections for a crossover Ethernet cable
If you are connecting the MTX100B to your local Ethernet network, use a
straight Ethernet cable to connect between the LAN port on the MTX100B
and the Ethernet hub port of your local network. By connecting to an Ethernet
network, you can access the MTX100B using any PC on the network.
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–1
Performance Verification
Setting Ethernet Network
Parameters
You can set the network parameters for the MTX100B using the Control Panel
of Windows XP.
NOTE. The following procedure requires that you are familiar with the basics of
using the Windows XP operating system. If necessary, review the Windows XP
documentation.
Perform the following procedure to set the network parameters for the MTX100B:
1. Connect the keyboard and the mouse provided with the instrument to the
USB connectors on the front panel. You can connect them to either of the
connectors.
2. Select File > Minimize or File > Exit to close the MTX100B MPEG player.
The Windows XP desktop appears.
3. Select Settings > Control Panel from the Start menu to display the Control
Panel window.
4. Double-click the Network Connections icon in the window to display the
Network Connections window.
Figure 2-2: Network Connections window
2–2
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
5. Double-click the Local Area Connection icon. The Local Area Connection
Status dialog box appears.
Figure 2-3: Local Area Connection Status dialog box
6. Click the Properties button. The Local Area Connection Properties dialog
box appears.
Figure 2-4: Local Area Connection Properties dialog box
7. In the network component field, select Internet Protocol (TCP/IP).
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–3
Performance Verification
8. Click the Properties button. The Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) Properties dialog
box appears.
Figure 2-5: Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) Properties dialog box
The settings in the dialog box depend on whether a DHCP (Dynamic Host
Configuration Protocol) server is in the network connected to the MTX100B.
When the DHCP Server Is in the Network. If the DHCP server is in the network,
perform steps 9 and 10, otherwise skip to step 11.
9. In the dialog box, select Obtain an IP address automatically and Obtain
DNS server address automatically.
10. Click the OK button.
The MTX100B accesses the DHCP server and obtains the addresses
automatically when connected to the network.
Refer to the user documentation supplied with your server OS for detailed
information about DHCP server functions.
NOTE. In some network environments, the MTX100B may not be able to obtain
the IP address automatically from a DHCP server. In this case, you need to enter
the appropriate address value in each submenu item.
2–4
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
When the DHCP Server Is Not in the Network. If the DHCP server is not in the
network, perform the following procedure to set the network parameters.
11. If you connect the MTX100B directly to a single PC or an MTS400 system:
a. In the dialog box, select Use the following IP address.
b. Set the IP address parameter to be the same IP address as the PC or the
MTS400 system address except for the last digit. The last digit must be
different from the last number in the PC or the MTS400 system IP address.
c. Set the Subnet mask parameter to be the same net mask (subnet mask)
used by the PC or the MTS400 system. Do not enter a number if the PC or
the MTS400 system does not have a net mask.
d. You do not need to enter a Default gateway if you are directly connected
to a single PC or an MTS400 system.
12. If you connect the MTX100B to your local Ethernet network:
a. In the dialog box, select Use the following IP address.
b. Ask your local network administrator and set the appropriate addresses.
CAUTION. To prevent communication conflicts on your Ethernet network,
ask your local network administrator for the correct numbers to enter in the
dialog box if you connect the MTX100B to your local Ethernet network.
13. Verify the Ethernet connection by using a ping command from the PC or
the MTS400 system.
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–5
Performance Verification
Required Equipment
The following table lists the test equipment required to do the performance
verification procedures. The table identifies examples of recommended equipment
and lists the required precision where applicable. If you substitute other test
equipment for the examples listed, the equipment must meet or exceed the listed
tolerances.
Table 2-1: Equipment required for performance verification
Item
Qty.
Minimum requirements
Recommended equipment
Frequency counter
1 ea.
Frequency range: 27 MHz Precision:
8 digits or higher
Agilent Technologies 53181A
MPEG analyzer
1 ea.
Function generator
1 ea.
Frequency: 40 M clock pattern
Amplitude: 3 V Outputs: 2 channel
Tektronix AFG3102
Oscilloscope
1 ea.
Bandwidth: 1 GHz or higher
Tektronix TDS5104B
D-VHS digital recorder
1 ea.
JVC HM-DH5U
MPEG recorder and player
1 ea.
Tektronix MTX100A(B) Option 02
Video monitor
1 ea.
Sony LMD-1420
Probe
1 ea.
Tektronix P5050
75 Ω signal adapter
1 ea.
Bandwidth: 1 GHz Amplitude precision:
–3 dB
Tektronix AMT75
50 Ω BNC cable
2 ea.
Length: 42 inches
Tektronix part number 012-0057-01
75 Ω BNC cable
2 ea.
Length: 42 inches
Tektronix part number 012-0074-00
Parallel interface cable
1 ea.
25-pin, D-type
Tektronix part number 012-A220-00
(supplied with the MTX100B)
IEEE1394b cable
1 ea.
9 pin-9 pin
IEEE1394 cable
1 ea.
4 pin-4 pin
RCA(Ma)-to-BNC(Fe)
adapter
1 ea.
Zifor Enterprise BJ-7071
IEEE1394b hard disk drive
1 ea.
Novac NV-HD352WB and hard
disk drive (Tektronix part number
119-7146-00)
2–6
Tektronix MTS430 or MTS400
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
MTX100B Test Record
Print this page and use it to record the performance test result.
Table 2-2: MTX100B test record
Serial Number:
Cal Date:
Temperature:
Humidity:
Performance Test
Minimum
Measured
Maximum
Internal Clock Frequency
26.999924 MHZ
1
27.000076 MHz
Test record limits are based on the SMPTE 310M frequency accuracy requirement.
Procedures
The following conventions are used in the performance verification procedures:
Each test lists the characteristic that is being tested and the equipment required
to perform the test.
Each test contains complete setup instructions, which allows you to perform
each test individually or in order.
The equipment connection illustrations are specific to the recommended
equipment (equipment nomenclature is labeled). If you are using substitute
equipment, the location of your signal connections may vary from those in
the illustrations.
NOTE. Before you begin the performance verification procedures, be sure that
the MTX100B is operating in an environment that is within the operating limits.
(See Table 1-13 on page 1-17.)
In addition, the MTX100B and the test equipment must be warmed up for at least
20 minutes to ensure accurate test results.
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–7
Performance Verification
Internal Clock Output Level
and Frequency Accuracy
This test verifies the internal clock output level and frequency accuracy.
Equipment required
Oscilloscope
Frequency counter
50 Ω BNC cable
1. Use the 50 Ω BNC cable to connect the Trig In/Out connector on the
MTX100B to the oscilloscope CH1 input.
Figure 2-6: Equipment connection for verifying the internal clock output level
2. Set the oscilloscope as indicated below:
Control
Setting
Vertical scale
1 V/div (CH1)
Input impedance
50 Ω
Horizontal scale
10 ns/div
Trigger position
50%
Acquire mode
Average 16
Trigger mode
Auto
Trigger level
1.20 V
Trigger source
CH1
Trigger slope
Rising Edge
Input coupling
DC
Measure
High Level, Low level
3. Select Play > Others on the MTX100B to open the Others dialog box.
2–8
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
4. In the dialog box, select the Ext Trigger BNC button to open the Ext Trigger
BNC dialog box.
5. In the dialog box, set BNC IN/OUT to Output and BNC OUT Selection
to 27 MHz.
6. Verify that the measured values are as follows:
Control
Setting
High Level
> 2.2 V
Low Level
< 0.8 V
7. Disconnect the 50 Ω BNC cable from the oscilloscope CH1 input, and then
connect the BNC cable to the CH1 connector on the frequency counter.
Figure 2-7: Equipment connection for verifying the internal clock frequency
8. Set the frequency counter settings as indicated below:
Control
Setting
MEASURE
Frequency1
Gate Time
0.20 s
CHANNEL1
Coupling: DC
Impedance
50 Ω
Trigger
AUTO TRIG ON
9. Record the frequency counter reading in the test record. (See page 2-7.)
10. In the Ext Trigger BNC dialog box, change BNC IN/OUT to Input.
11. Disconnect the BNC cable from the MTX100B and the frequency counter.
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–9
Performance Verification
SPI Interface
This test verifies that the transport stream data is correctly played from and
recorded through the SPI In/Out connector on the MTX100B.
Equipment required
MPEG analyzer
Parallel interface cable
test40.TRP file
Checking the Play Operation.
1. Use the parallel interface cable to connect the SPI In/Out connector on the
MTX100B to the DVB SPI In connector on the MPEG analyzer.
Figure 2-8: Equipment connection for verifying the SPI interface
2. Start the MPEG Player application on the MPEG analyzer.
3. Set the application to the Record mode.
4. Set the MPEG analyzer settings as follows:
Control
Record
File
2–10
Setting
Source
SPI
Target
RAM
Size
100 MB
Save Mode
Over Write
Save
E:\MTXRTX_Test streams\Record_Files\
SPI214Mbps
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
5. To open the test40.TRP file on the MTX100B, do the following:
a. Select File > Open in the Play screen to open the Select File dialog box.
b. In the dialog box, select the test40.TRP file.
6. In the Play menu, make the following settings:
Control
Setting
Clock
Data Rate: 214 Mbps
Update
Off
Source
RAM
7. Press the Play/Pause button on the MTX100B to start playing the test40.TRP
file.
8. Verify that the hierarchical view is displayed on the MPEG analyzer screen. In
addition, verify that the bit rate is 214 Mbps and the packet size is 188 bytes.
9. Click the Record button on the MPEG Player application to record the file.
10. After the recording is complete, press the Stop button on the MTX100B.
Checking the Record Operation.
11. Change the interface cable connection from the DVB/SPI In connector to the
DVB/SPI Out connector on the MPEG analyzer.
12. Press the Record button on the MTX100B to display the Record screen.
13. On the MTX100B, make the following settings:
Control
Record
File
Setting
Source
SPI
Target
RAM
Size
100 MB
Save Mode
Over Write
Save Mode
Over Write
Save
D:\Record_Files\SPI214Mbps
14. Change the MPEG analyzer to the Play mode.
15. Select File > Open on the MPEG analyzer to display the Open dialog box.
16. In the dialog box, navigate to the E:\MTXRTX_Test streams\ Record_Files,
and then select the SPI214Mbps.trp file.
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–11
Performance Verification
17. Set the MPEG analyzer settings as follows:
Control
Setting
Data Rate
214 Mbps
Update
Off
Source
RAM
18. Click the Play/Pause button on the MPEG Analyzer to start playing the
SPI214Mbps.trp file.
19. Verify that the hierarchical view is displayed on the MTX100B screen. In
addition, verify that the bit rate display is 214 Mbps and the packet size
display is 188 bytes.
20. Press the Record button on the MTX100B to record the file.
21. After the recording is complete, click the Stop button on the MPEG analyzer.
22. Exit the MPEG Player application on the MPEG analyzer.
Checking the Recorded File.
23. Change the interface cable connection from the DVB/SPI Out connector to
the DVB/SPI In connector on the MPEG analyzer.
24. Start the TS Compliance Analyzer on the MPEG analyzer.
25. In the TS Compliance Analyzer window, select Real-time.. and make the
following settings:
Control
Setting
Interfaces
DVB Parallel
Interface Settings
Time Stamping
26. Click the OK button.
27. Press the Play/Pause button on the MTX100B to display the Play screen.
28. Select File > Open to open the Select File dialog box.
29. In the dialog box, navigate to the D:\ Record_Files directory, and then select
the SPI214Mbps.trp file.
30. Select Play > Update > On.
31. Press the Play/Pause button on the MTX100B to start playing the
SPI214Mbps.trp file.
2–12
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
32. Verify that the hierarchical view is displayed on the MPEG analyzer screen
and that no error messages appear. In addition, verify that the bit rate is
40 Mbps and that the transport stream packet size is 188 bytes.
NOTE. Ignore Program 3 and PID 120 (0x78) errors in the Navigation view
because these are caused by the original test40.TRP file.
33. Press the Stop button on the MTX100B.
34. Close the TS Compliance Analyzer window.
External Clock/Reference
and External Trigger Inputs
This test verifies that the external clock/reference input (Clock/Ref In) and
external trigger input (Trig In/Out) on the MTX100B are functioning correctly.
Equipment required.
MPEG analyzer
Function generator
Two 50 Ω BNC cables
Parallel interface cable
test64.TRP file
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–13
Performance Verification
1. Use a 50 Ω BNC cable to connect the Clock/Ref In connector on the
MTX100B to the Ch1 connector on the function generator.
2. Use the 50 Ω BNC cable to connect the Trig In/Out connector on the
MTX100B to the Ch2 connector on the function generator.
3. Use the parallel interface cable to connect the SPI In/Out connector on the
MTX100B to the DVB/SPI In connector on the MPEG analyzer.
Figure 2-9: Equipment connections for verifying the external clock/reference and trigger inputs
2–14
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
4. Set the function generator settings as indicated below:
Control
Ch 1 output
Ch 2 output
Setting
Function
Square
Run Mode
Continuous
Frequency
10 MHz
Output Amplitude
0.5 V
Output Offset
2.0 V
Function
Arb (Edit: Point Number: 100, All Data:
16382)
Run Mode
Continuous
Output Menu
Load Impedance: 1 kΩ
Output Amplitude
1.75 V
Output Offset
0.875 V
5. Press the On button of the Ch1 output on the function generator.
6. To open the test64.TRP file on the MTX100B, do the following:
a. Select File > Open in the Play screen to open the Select File dialog box.
b. In the dialog box, select the test64.TRP file.
7. Select Play > Update > On.
8. Select Play > Clock to open the Clock dialog box.
9. In the dialog box, select ExtRef 10.
10. Press the Play/Pause button on the MTX100B to start playing the test64.TRP
file.
11. Verify that PLL unlock error does not occur on the MTX100B.
12. Start the TS Compliance Analyzer on the MPEG analyzer.
13. In the TS Compliance Analyzer window, select Real-time.., and then make
the following settings:
Control
Setting
Interfaces
DVB Parallel
Interface Settings
Time Stamping
14. Verify that the hierarchical view is displayed on the MPEG analyzer screen
and that no error messages appear. In addition, verify that the data rate is
64 Mbps and that the packet size is 188 bytes.
NOTE. Ignore Program 3 and PID 120 (0x78) errors in the Navigation view
because these are caused by the original test40.TRP file.
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–15
Performance Verification
15. Change the clock source setting on the MTX100B and output frequency
setting on the function generator with the following and then repeat step 14.
Clock source setting (MTX100B)
Output frequency setting (function
generator)
ExtRef 27
27 MHz
Ext Ref 8.126984 MHz
8.126984 MHz
Ext P Clk
8 MHz
16. Change the output frequency of the function generator to 32 MHz.
NOTE. You have to click the Ext S Clk to select the Ext P Clk.
17. Select Play > Clock on the MTX100B to open the Clock dialog box.
18. In the dialog box, select Ext S Clk.
19. Repeat step 14 and verify that all items in the Priority 1 row are green.
NOTE. Ignore 2.3.a PCR Repetition and 2.5 PTS errors in the Priority 2 row.
20. Press the Stop button on the MTX100B to stop the stream output.
21. Select Play > Clock on the MTX100B to open the Clock dialog box.
22. In the Clock dialog box, select Internal.
23. Press the On button of the Ch1 output on the function generator to stop the
signal output.
24. Press the On button of the Ch2 output on the function generator to start the
signal output.
25. Select Play > Others on the MTX100B to open the Others dialog box.
26. In the Others dialog box, set Ext Play Start to Rise.
27. Verify that the MTX100B starts playing when the Output menu is set to
Invert on the function generator.
28. Press the Stop button on the MTX100B to stop the stream output.
29. Press the On button of the Ch2 output on the function generator to stop the
signal output.
30. Return Ext Play Start to Off on the MTX100B.
31. Disconnect all cables from the MTX100B, the function generator, and the
MPEG analyzer.
2–16
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
IEEE1394b Interface
This test verifies that the IEEE1394b interface is functioning correctly.
Equipment required.
IEEE1394b hard disk drive
IEEE1394b cable (9 pin-9 pin)
test40.TRP file
1. Use the IEEE1394b cable to connect the IEEE1394b connector on the
MTX100B to the IEEE1394b hard disk drive.
Figure 2-10: Equipment connection for verifying the IEEE1394b interface
2. Select Play > Minimize to minimize the MTX100B application.
3. Power on the IEEE1394b hard disk drive.
4. Double-click the My Computer icon on the Windows desktop to open the
My Computer window.
5. In the window, verify that the hard disk drive is recognized as the F: (or G:)
drive.
6. Use the Windows file copy operation to copy the test40.TRP file on the D:
drive to F: (or G:) drive.
7. Verify that the test40.TRP file is copied to the F: (or G:) drive correctly.
8. Delete the test40.TRP file from the F: (or G:) drive.
9. Power off the IEEE1394b hard disk drive.
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–17
Performance Verification
ASI Interface (Option 01
Only)
This test verifies that the transport stream data is correctly output from and is
recorded through the ASI interface on the MTX100B.
Required Equipment.
MPEG analyzer
Oscilloscope
75 Ω signal adapter
test40.TRP file
Two 75 Ω BNC cables
Checking the Output Signal.
1. Use a 75 Ω BNC cable and the 75 Ω signal adapter to connect the ASI Out 1
connector on the MTX100B to the oscilloscope CH1 input.
Figure 2-11: Equipment connection for verifying the output signal-ASI interface
2. Set the oscilloscope settings as follows:
2–18
Control
Setting
Vertical scale
200 mV/div
Input impedance
50 Ω
Horizontal scale
1.25 ns/div
Trigger position
50%
Acquire mode
Average 32
Trigger mode
AUTO
Trigger source
CH1
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
Control
Setting
Trigger level
0V
Trigger slope
Rising Edge
Input coupling
DC
Measure
Amplitude, Rise Time, Fall Time
Ref Level
High Ref 80%, Low Ref 20%
Gating
Cursor Curs1 Pos1: –2.5 ns/Curs2: 2.75 ns
3. To open the test40.TRP file on the MTX100B, do the following:
a. Select File > Open in the Play screen to open the Select File dialog box.
b. In the dialog box, select the test40.TRP file.
4. Press the Play/Pause button to start playing the test40.TRP file.
5. Use the oscilloscope to measure that the amplitude, rise and fall times are as
follows:
Control
Setting
Amplitude
720 mV to 880 mV
Rise and fall time
≤ 1.2 ns
6. Move the BNC cable connection from the ASI Out 1 connector to the ASI
Out 2 connector on the MTX100B and repeat step 5.
7. Move the BNC cable connection from ASI Out 2 connector to the through
output of the ASI In connector.
8. Connect the ASI Out 1 connector to the ASI In connector on the MTX100B
using the 75 Ω BNC cable.
9. Select ASI/IF > Through Out > On on the MTX100B and repeat step 5.
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–19
Performance Verification
Checking the Play Operation.
1. Disconnect the BNC cable from the 75 Ω signal adapter on the oscilloscope,
and then connect the cable to the ASI/SMPTE In connector on the MPEG
analyzer.
Figure 2-12: Equipment connections for verifying the play operation-ASI interface
2. Start the MPEG Player application on the MPEG analyzer.
3. Set the application to the Record mode.
4. Set the MPEG analyzer settings as follows:
Control
Record
Setting
Source
SPI/ASI/310M
Target
RAM
Record Size
100 MB
SPI/ASI/310M
menu
Input Port
BNC
BNC Port
ASI
File
Save Mode
Ove Write
Save
E:\MTXRTX_Test streams\Record_Files\
ASI214Mbps.trp
5. In the Play menu on the MTX100B, make the following settings:
2–20
Control
Setting
Clock
Data Rate: 214 Mbps
Update
Off
Source
RAM
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
6. Select ASI I/F > Through Out > On.
7. Press the Play/Pause button on the MTX100B to start playing the test40.TRP
file.
8. Verify that the hierarchical view is displayed on the MPEG analyzer screen. In
addition, verify that the bit rate is 214 Mbps and the packet size is 188 bytes.
9. Click the Record button on the MPEG Player application to record the file.
10. After the recording is complete, press the Stop button on the MTX100B.
11. Disconnect the 75 Ω BNC cables from the MTX100B and the MPEG analyzer.
Checking the Record Operation.
1. Use a 75 Ω BNC cable to connect the ASI In connector on the MTX100B to
the ASI/SMPTE Out connector on the MPEG analyzer.
Figure 2-13: Equipment connection for verifying the record operation-ASI interface
2. Press the Record button on the MTX100B to display the Record screen.
3. On the MTX100B, make the following settings:
Control
Record
File
Setting
Source
ASI
Target
RAM
Record Size
100 MB
Save Mode
Ove Write
Save
D:\Record_Files\ASI214Mbps.trp
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–21
Performance Verification
4. Set the MPEG analyzer to the Play mode.
5. Select File > Open on the MPEG analyzer to display the Open dialog box.
6. In the dialog box, navigate to the E:\MTXRTX_Test Streams\ Record_Files
directory, and select the ASI214Mbps.trp file.
7. Set the following settings on the MPEG analyzer:
Control
Play
SPI/ASI/310M
Setting
Clock
Data Rate: 214 Mbps
Update
Off
Source
RAM
BNC Port
ASI
Through Out
Off
8. Click the Play button on the MPEG analyzer to start playing the
ASI214Mbps.trp file.
9. Verify that the hierarchical view is displayed on the MTX100B screen. In
addition, verify that the bit rate is 214 Mbps and packet size is 188 bytes.
10. Press the Record button on the MTX100B to record the file.
11. After the recording is complete, click the Stop button on the MPEG analyzer.
12. Exit the MPEG Player application on the MPEG analyzer.
13. Disconnect the 75 Ω BNC cable from the MTX100B and the MPEG analyzer.
2–22
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
Checking the Recorded File.
1. Use the 75 Ω BNC cable to connect the ASI Out 2 connector on the MTX100B
to the ASI/SMPTE In connector on the MPEG test system.
Figure 2-14: Equipment connection for verifying the recorded file-ASI interface
2. Press the Play/Pause button on the MTX100B to display the Play screen.
3. Select Play > Update >On.
4. To open the ASI214Mbps file on the MTX100B, do the following.
a. Select File > Open to open the Select File dialog box.
b. In the dialog box, navigate to the D:\Record_Files directory, and then
select the ASI214Mbps.trp file.
5. Press the Play/Pause button to start playing the file.
6. Start the TS Compliance Analyzer on the MPEG analyzer.
7. In the TS Compliance Analyzer window, select Real-time... and make the
following settings:
Control
Setting
Interfaces
ASI
Interface Settings
Time Stamping
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–23
Performance Verification
8. Verify that the hierarchical view is displayed on the MPEG analyzer screen
and that no error messages appear. In addition, verify that the bit rate is 40
Mbps and that the transport stream packet size is 188 bytes.
NOTE. Ignore Program 3 and PID 120 (0x78) errors in the Navigation view
because these are caused by the original test40.TRP file.
9. Press the Stop button on the MTX100B to stop the stream output.
10. Disconnect the 75 Ω BNC cable from the MTX100B and the MPEG analyzer.
Universal Parallel/Serial
Interface (Option 02 Only)
This test verifies that transport stream data is correctly output from and is recorded
through the Universal Parallel/Serial interface on the MTX100B.
Equipment required.
MPEG analyzer
MPEG recorder and player (MTX100A(B) Option 02)
Oscilloscope
Probe
50 Ω BNC cable
Parallel interface cable
test40.TRP file
2–24
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
Checking the Output Signals.
1. Connect the probe to the oscilloscope CH1 input.
Figure 2-15: Equipment connection for verifying the output signals-universal parallel/serial interface
2. Set the oscilloscope settings as indicated below:
Control
Setting
Vertical scale
500 mV/div
Vertical offset
–1.3 V
Horizontal scale
400 ns/div
Horizontal position
Center
Trigger source
CH1
Trigger level
–1.3 V (at ECL level)
1.4 V (at TTL level)
1.2 V (at LVDS level)
3. Press the Play/Pause button on the MTX100B to display the Play screen.
4. Open the test40.TRP file on the MTX100B.
a. Select File > Open to open the Select File dialog box.
b. In the dialog box, select the test40.TRP file.
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–25
Performance Verification
5. Select Play > Clock to open the Clock dialog box.
6. In the dialog box, set Data Rate to 10 Mbps.
7. Select Univ I/F > Level > ECL.
8. Press the Play/Pause button to start playing the test40.TRP file.
9. Attach the probe tip to pin 1 of the Universal In/Out connector on the
MTX100B.
10. Use the oscilloscope to measure that the ECL high and low levels of pin 1
are as follows:
Control
Setting
High level
–0.5 V
Low level
–2.1 V
11. Move the probe tip attachment from pin 1 to pin 14, and measure that the ECL
high and low levels correspond to the values shown in the following table.
12. Repeat step 11 for all other pins.
Table 2-3: Output level of each connector pin
Pin number
ECL High
ECL Low
TTL High
TTL Low
LVDS High
LVDS Low
1, 14 (CLK)
–0.5 V
–2.1 V
3.3 V
0.0 V
1.6 V
0.8 V
3, 16 (DATA 7)
–0.5 V
–2.1 V
3.3 V
0.0 V
1.6 V
0.8 V
4, 17 (DATA 6)
–0.5 V
–2.1 V
3.3 V
0.0 V
1.6 V
0.8 V
5, 18 (DATA 5)
–0.5 V
–2.1 V
3.3 V
0.0 V
1.6 V
0.8 V
6, 19 (DATA 4)
–0.5 V
–2.1 V
3.3 V
0.0 V
1.6 V
0.8 V
7, 20 (DATA 3)
–0.5 V
–2.1 V
3.3 V
0.0 V
1.6 V
0.8 V
8, 21 (DATA 2)
–0.5 V
–2.1 V
3.3 V
0.1 V
1.6 V
0.8 V
9, 22 (DATA 1)
–0.5 V
–2.1 V
3.3 V
0.0 V
1.6 V
0.8 V
10, 23 (DATA 0)
–0.5 V
3.3 V
0.8 V
—–
14 (DVALID)
–0.5 V
—–
0.0 V
—–
1.6 V
11 (DVALID)
–2.1 V
—–
12, 25 (PSYNC)
–0.5 V
–2.1 V
3.3 V
—–
–2.1 V
3.3 V
0.0 V
1.6 V
—–
0.0 V
1.6 V
0.8 V
0.8 V
13. Select Univ I/F > Level > TTL on the MTX100B.
14. Use the oscilloscope to measure that TTL High and Low levels of all the pins
correspond to the values shown in the table. (See Table 2-3.)
15. Select Univ I/F > Level > LVDS on the MTX100B.
16. Use the oscilloscope to measure that LVDS High and Low levels of all the
pins correspond to the values shown in the table. (See Table 2-3.)
2–26
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
Checking the Play Operation (Parallel Mode).
1. Use the parallel interface cable to connect the Universal In/Out connector
on the MTX100B to the Universal In/Out connector on the MPEG recorder
and player.
Figure 2-16: Equipment connection for verifying the play operation-universal
parallel/serial interface
2. Press the Play/Pause button on the MTX100B to display the Play screen.
3. On the MTX100B, make the following settings:
Control
Play
Univ I/F
Setting
Data rate
214 Mbps
Update
Off
Source
RAM
Level
LVDS
Format
Parallel
4. Press the Record button on the MPEG recorder and player to display the
Record screen.
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–27
Performance Verification
5. On the MPEG recorder and player, make the following settings:
Control
Record
Univ I/F
menu
File
Setting
Source
Univ I/F
Record size
100 MB
Target
RAM
Level
LVDS
Format
Parallel
Receive
Differential
Termination
On
Save Mode
Over Write
Save
E:\Record_Files\Parallel_LVDS.trp
6. Press the Play/Pause button on the MTX100B to start playing the test40.TRP
file.
7. Verify that the hierarchical view is displayed on the MPEG recorder and
player screen. In addition, verify that the bit rate display is 214 Mbps and
packet size is 188 bytes.
8. Press the Record button on the MPEG recorder and player to record the file.
9. After the recording is complete, press the Stop button on the MTX100B.
Checking the Play Operation (Serial Mode).
10. Select Play > Clock on the MTX100B to open the Clock dialog box.
11. In the dialog box, set Data Rate to 40 Mbps.
12. Select Univ I/F > Format > Serial on the MTX100B.
13. Press the Record button on the MPEG recorder and player to display the
Record screen.
14. On the MPEG recorder and player, make the following settings:
Control
2–28
Setting
Univ I/F
Format
Serial
File
Save
D:\Record_Files\Serial_LVDS.trp
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
15. Press the Play/Pause button on the MTX100B to start playing the test40.TRP
file.
16. Verify that the hierarchical view is displayed on the MPEG recorder and
player screen. In addition, verify that the bit rate display is 40 Mbps and
the packet size is 188 bytes.
17. Press the Record button on the MPEG recorder and player to record the file.
18. After recording is complete, press the Stop button on the MTX100B.
Checking the Record Operation (Parallel Mode).
19. Press the Record button on the MTX100B to display the Record screen.
20. On the MTX100B, make the following settings:
Control
Record
Univ I/F
File
Setting
Source
Univ I/F
Record size
100 MB
Target
RAM
Level
LVDS
Format
Parallel
Receive
Differential
Termination
On
Save Mode
Over Write
Save
D:\Record_Files\Parallel_LVDS.trp
21. Press the Play/Pause button on the MPEG recorder and player to display
the Play screen.
22. To open the Parallel_LVDS.trp file on the MPEG recorder and player.
a. Select File > Open to open the Select File dialog box.
b. In the dialog box, navigate to the E:\Record_Files directory, and then
select the Parallel_LVDS.trp file.
23. On the MPEG recorder and player, make the following settings in the Play
menu:
Control
Setting
Data rate
214 Mbps
Update
Off
Source
RAM
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–29
Performance Verification
24. Press the Play/Pause button on the MPEG recorder and player to start playing
the file.
25. Verify that the hierarchical view is displayed on the MTX100B screen. In
addition, verify that the bit rate display is 214 Mbps and the packet size
is 188 bytes.
26. Press the Record button on the MTX100B to record the file.
27. After the recording is complete, press the Stop button on the MPEG recorder
and player.
Checking the Record Operation (Serial Mode).
1. On the MTX100B, make the following settings:
Control
Setting
Univ I/F
Format
Serial
File
Save
D:\Record_Files\Serial_LVDS.trp
2. To open the Serial_LVDS.trp file on the MPEG recorder and player.
a. Select File > Open to open the Select File dialog box.
b. In the dialog box, navigate to the D:\Record_Files directory, and then
select the Serial_LVDS.trp file.
3. Select Play > Clock on the MPEG recorder and player to open the Clock
dialog box.
4. In the dialog box, set Data Rate to 40 Mbps.
5. Press the Play/Pause button on the MPEG recorder and player to start playing
the file.
6. Verify that the hierarchical view is displayed on the MTX100B screen. In
addition, verify that the bit rate display is 40 Mbps and the packet size is
188 bytes.
7. Press the Record button on the MTX100B to record the file.
8. After the recording is completed, press the Stop button on the MPEG recorder
and player.
2–30
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
Checking signal acquisition for ECl and TTL Levels.
1. On the MTX100B, make the following settings:
Control
Univ I/F
Setting
Level
ECL
Format
Parallel
2. Open the test40.TRP file on the MPEG recorder and player.
a. Select File > Open to open the Select File dialog box.
b. In the dialog box, navigate to the E: drive, and then select the test40.TRP
file.
3. On the MPEG recorder and player, make the following settings:
Control
Play
Univ/I/F
Setting
Clock
Data Rate: 214 Mbps
Update
Off
Level
ECL
Format
Parallel
Receive
Differential
4. Press the Play/Pause button on the MPEG recorder and player to start playing
the test40.TRP file.
5. Verify that no Non-TS and No Signal messages appear on the
MTX100B screen. In addition, the hierarchical view and the bit rate are
displayed correctly (214 Mbps and 188).
6. Select Univ I/F > Receive > Single on the MTX100B, and then repeat step 5.
7. Select Univ I/F > Level > TTL on the MPEG recorder and player.
8. Select Level > TTL and Receive > Differential in the Univ I/F menu on
the MTX100B, and repeat step 5.
9. Select Univ I/F > Receive > Single on the MTX100B, and then repeat step 5.
10. On the MTX100B , make the following settings:
Control
Univ/I/F
Setting
Level
ECL
Format
Serial
Receive
Differential
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–31
Performance Verification
11. On the MPEG recorder and player, make the following settings:
Control
Play
Univ/I/F
Setting
Clock
Data Rate: 40 Mbps
Receive
Differential
Format
Serial
Receive
Differential
12. Press the Play/Pause button on the MPEG recorder and player to start playing
the file.
13. Repeat step 14.
14. Select Univ I/F > Receive > Single on the MTX100B , and then repeat
step 14.
15. Select Univ I/F > Level > TTL on the MPEG recorder and player.
16. Select Level > TTL and Receive > Differential from the Univ I/F menu on
the MTX100B, and then repeat step 14.
17. Select Univ I/F > Receive > Single on the MTX100B , and then repeat
step 14.
18. Press the Stop button on the MPEG recorder and player to stop the stream
output.
19. Disconnect the parallel interface cable from the MTX100B and the MPEG
recorder and player.
2–32
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
Checking the Recorded File.
1. Use the parallel interface cable to connect the Universal In/Out connector on
the MTX100B to the DVB/SPI In connector on the MPEG test system.
Figure 2-17: Equipment connection for verifying the recorded file-universal parallel/serial interface
2. Press the Play/Pause button on the MTX100B to display the Play screen.
3. Select Play > Update > On.
4. Select Univ I/F > Level > LVDS.
5. Select Univ I/F > Format > Parallel.
6. Open the Parallel_LVDS.trp file on the MTX100B.
a. Select File > Open to open the Select File dialog box.
b. In the dialog box, navigate to the D:\Record_Files directory, and then
select the Parallel_LVDS.trp file.
7. Press the Play/Pause button on the MTX100B to start playing the file.
8. Start the TS Compliance Analyzer on the MPEG analyzer.
9. In the Open Transport Stream dialog box, select Real-time Analysis, and
then make the following settings:
Control
Setting
Interfaces
DVB Parallel
Interface Settings
Time Stamping
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–33
Performance Verification
10. Verify that the hierarchical view is displayed on the MPEG analyzer screen
and that no error messages appear. In addition, verify that the bit rate is
40 Mbps and that the transport stream packet size is 188 bytes.
NOTE. Ignore Program 3 and PID 120 (0x78) errors in the hierarchical view
because these are caused by the original test40.TRP file.
11. Press the Stop button on the MTX100B to stop the stream output.
12. Open the Serial_LVDS.trp file on the MTX100B.
a. Select File > Open to open the Select File dialog box.
b. In the dialog box, navigate to the D:\Record_Files directory, and then
select the Serial_LVDS.trp file.
13. Press the Play/Pause button on the MTX100B to start playing the file.
14. Restart analysis on the MPEG analyzer.
15. Repeat steps 10 and 11.
16. Disconnect the parallel interface cable from the MTX100B and the MPEG
analyzer.
2–34
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
Checking the Event Output.
1. Use the 50 Ω BNC cable to connect the Event Out connector on the MTX100B
to the oscilloscope CH1 input.
Figure 2-18: Equipment connection for verifying the Event output
2. Set the oscilloscope settings as follows:
Control
Setting
Vertical scale
1 V/div
Horizontal scale
80 ns/div
Horizontal position
Center
Acquire mode
Average 16
Trigger level
1.20 V
Trigger source
CH1
Trigger position
50 %
Trigger slope
Rising Edge
Trigger mode
AUTO
Input coupling
DC
Input impedance
1 MΩ
Measure
High Level, Low Level
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–35
Performance Verification
3. Open the test40.TRP file on the MTX100B.
a. Select File > Open in the Play screen to open the Select File dialog box.
b. In the dialog box, select the test40.TRP file.
4. Press the Play/Pause button on the MTX100B to start playing the test40.TRP
file.
5. Use the oscilloscope to measure that the high and low levels of the Event
output are as follows:
Control
Setting
High level
> 2.4 V
Low level
< 0.4 V
6. Press the Stop button on the MTX100B to stop the stream output.
IEEE1394/ASI Interface
(Option 05 Only)
This test verifies that transport stream data is correctly output from and is recorded
through the IEEE1394/ASI interface on the MTX100B.
Equipment required.
MPEG analyzer
Oscilloscope
D-VHS digital recorder
Video monitor
75 Ω BNC cable
IEEE1394 cable (4 pin-4 pin)
75 Ω signal adapter
RCA(Ma)-to-BNC(Fe) adapter
test40.TRP file
2–36
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
Checking the Output Signal.
1. Use the 75 Ω BNC cable and 75 Ω signal adapter to connect the ASI Output
connector on the MTX100B to the oscilloscope CH1 input.
Figure 2-19: Equipment connection for verifying the output signal-IEEE1394/ASI interface
2. Set the oscilloscope controls as follows:
Control
Setting
Vertical scale
200 mV/div
Horizontal scale
1.25 ns/div
Acquire mode
Average 32
Trigger mode
AUTO
Trigger level
0V
Trigger source
CH1
Trigger position
50%
Trigger slope
Rising Edge
Input impedance
50 Ω
Measure
Amplitude, Rise Time, Fall Time
Ref Level
High Ref 80%, Low Ref 20%
Gating
Cursor Curs1 Pos1: –2.5 ns/Curs2: 2.75 ns
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–37
Performance Verification
3. Open the test40.TRP file on the MTX100B.
a. Select File > Open to open the Select File dialog box.
b. In the dialog box, select the test40.TRP file.
4. Press the Play/Pause button on the MTX100B to start playing the test40.TRP
file.
5. Use the oscilloscope to verify that the amplitude and rise and fall times are
within the following range.
Control
Setting
Amplitude
720 mV to 880 mV
Rise and fall time
≤ 1.2 ns
6. Disconnect the 75 Ω BNC cable from the MTX100B and the oscilloscope.
2–38
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
Checking the Play Operation.
1. Disconnect the BNC cable from the 75 Ω signal adapter on the oscilloscope,
and then connect the cable to the ASI/SMPTE In connector on the MPEG
analyzer.
Figure 2-20: Equipment connection for verifying the play operation-IEEE1394/ASI interface
2. Start the MPEG Player application on the MPEG analyzer.
3. Set the application to the Record mode.
4. Set the MPEG analyzer settings as follows:
Control
Record
SPI/ASI/310M
File
Setting
Source
SPI/ASI/310M
Target
RAM
Record Size
100 MB
Input Port
BNC
BNC Port
ASI
Save Mode
Over Write
Save
E:\MTXRTX_Test streams\Record_Files\
ASI214Mbps.trp
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–39
Performance Verification
5. On the MTX100B , make the following settings:
Control
Play
Setting
Clock
Data Rate: 214 Mbps
Update
Off
Source
RAM
6. Press the Play/Pause button on the MTX100B to start playing the test40.TRP.
7. Verify that the hierarchical view is displayed on the MPEG analyzer screen. In
addition, verify that the bit rate is 214 Mbps and the packet size is 188 bytes.
8. Click the Record button on the MPEG Player application to record the file.
9. After the recording is completed, press the Stop button on the MTX100B.
10. Disconnect the 75 Ω BNC cable from the MTX100B and the MPEG analyzer.
Checking the Record Operation.
1. Use the 75 Ω BNC cable to connect the ASI In connector on the MTX100B to
the ASI/SMPTE Out connector on the MPEG analyzer.
Figure 2-21: Equipment connection for verifying the record operation-IEEE1394/ASI interface
2. Press the Record button on the MTX100B to display the Record screen.
2–40
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
3. On the MTX100B, make the following settings:
Control
Record
File
Setting
Source
ASI/1394
Record size
100 MB
Target
RAM
Save Mode
Over Write
Save
D:\Record_Files\ASI214Mbps.trp
4. Set the MPEG analyzer to the Play mode.
5. Select File > Open on the MPEG analyzer to display the Open dialog box.
6. In the dialog box, navigate to the E:\MTXRTX_Test Streams\ Record_Files
directory, and select the ASI214Mbps.trp file.
7. Set the following settings on the MPEG analyzer:
Control
Play
SPI/ASI/310M
Setting
Clock Data Rate
214 Mbps
Update
Off
Source
RAM
BNC Port
ASI
Through Out
Off
8. Click the Play button on the MPEG analyzer to start playing the
ASI214Mbps.trp file.
9. Verify that the hierarchical view is displayed on the MTX100B screen. In
addition, verify that the bit rate is 214 Mbps and that the packet size is 188
bytes.
10. Press the Record button on the MTX100B to record the file.
11. After the recording is complete, click the Stop button on the MPEG analyzer.
12. Exit the MPEG Player application on the MPEG analyzer.
13. Disconnect the 75 Ω BNC cable from the MTX100B and the MPEG analyzer.
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–41
Performance Verification
Checking the Recorded File.
1. Use the 75 Ω BNC cable to connect the ASI Output connector on the
MTX100B to the ASI/SMPTE In connector on the MPEG test system.
Figure 2-22: Equipment connection for verifying the recorded file-IEEE1394/ASI interface
2. Press the Play/Pause button on the MTX100B to display the Play screen.
3. Select Play > Update >On.
4. To open the ASI214Mbps file on the MTX100B, do the following:
a. Select File > Open to open the Select File dialog box.
b. In the dialog box, navigate to the D:\Record_Files directory, and then
select the ASI214Mbps.trp file.
5. Press the Play/Pause button on the MTX100B to start playing the file.
6. Start the TS Compliance Analyzer on the MPEG analyzer.
7. In the TS Compliance Analyzer window, select Real-time.. and make the
following settings:
2–42
Control
Setting
Interfaces
ASI
Interface Settings
Time Stamping
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
8. Verify that the hierarchical view is displayed on the screen and that no error
messages appear. In addition, verify that the bit rate is 40 Mbps and that
the packet size is 188 bytes.
NOTE. Ignore Program 3 and PID 120 (0x78) errors in the hierarchical view
because these are caused by the original test40.TRP file.
9. Press the Stop button on the MTX100B to stop the stream output.
10. Disconnect the 75 Ω BNC cable from the MTX100B and the MPEG analyzer.
Checking the IEEE1394 Output Signal.
1. Use the IEEE1394 cable to connect the IEEE1394 port on the MTX100B
to the i.LINK IN/OUT connector of the D-VHS digital recorder. (See
Figure 2-23.)
2. Use the 75 Ω BNC cable and RCA(Ma)-to-BNC(Fe) adapter to connect the
VIDEO OUTPUT connector on the D-VHS digital recorder to the video input
on the video monitor.
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–43
Performance Verification
Figure 2-23: Equipment connection for verifying the IEEE1394 output signal
3. To make the following i.LINK setup on the D-VHS digital recorder:
a. Press the MENU button on the remote controller that is provided with the
D-VHS digital recorder to display the Main Menu screen.
b. Press the left or right arrow button on the remote controller to move the
arrow to INITIAL SET UP, and press the OK button.
c. Press the left or right arrow button to move the arrow to OTHER, and
then press the OK button.
d. Press the up or down arrow button to move the arrow to LINK, and then
press left or right arrow button to set to AUTO.
e. Press the MENU button to return to Main Menu screen.
4. Press the Play/Pause button on the MTX100B to display the Play screen.
2–44
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
5. To open the Flower.trp file on the MTX100B, do the following:
a. Select File > Open to open the Select File dialog box.
b. In the dialog box, navigate to the D:\525 directory, and select the
Flower.trp file.
6. Select ASI/1394 > 1394Mode > PtoP Connect on the MTX100B to open the
IEEE1394 dialog box.
7. In the dialog box, select J VC HM-DH5 in the Instrument list box.
8. In the dialog box, select the Connect button, and select the OK button.
9. Press TV/VCR CH + button on the remote controller to select I as a recording
channel.
10. Press the Play/Pause button on the MTX100B to start playing the Flower.trp
file.
11. Press the REC button on the D-VHS digital recorder.
12. Verify that any block noise does not appear on the video monitor.
13. After about 30 seconds of recording, press the STOP button on the D-VHS
digital recorder.
14. Press the REW (AA) button on the D-VHS digital recorder.
15. Press the Record button on the MTX100B to display the Record screen.
16. Select Record > Source > ASI/1394 on the MTX100B.
17. Select ASI/1394 > Input Port > 1394 on the MTX100B.
18. Select ASI/1394 > 1394 Mode > PtoP Connect to open the IEEE1394 dialog
box.
19. In the dialog box, select the Disconnect button, and select the OK button.
20. Select ASI/1394 > 1394 Mode > PtoP Connect to open the IEEE1394 dialog
box.
21. In the dialog box, select the Connect button, and then select the OK button.
22. Press the PLAY button on the D-VHS digital recorder.
23. Verify that correct the hierarchical display appears on the MTX100B screen.
24. Disconnect all the cables from the MTX100B, the D-VHS digital recorder,
and the video monitor.
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–45
Performance Verification
SMPTE310M/ASI/SPI
Interface (Option 07 Only)
This test verifies that the transport stream data is correctly output from and is
recorded through the SMPTE310M/ASI/SPI interface on the MTX100B.
Equipment required.
Oscilloscope
MPEG analyzer
75 Ω precision termination
75 Ω BNC cable
75 Ω signal adapter
test40.TRP file
Flower.trp file
Checking the Output Signal.
1. Use the 75 Ω BNC cable and the 75 Ω signal adapter to connect the
SMPTE310M/ASI Output connector on the MTX100B to the oscilloscope
CH1 input.
Figure 2-24: Equipment connection for verifying output signal-SMPTE310M interface
2. Set the oscilloscope settings as indicated below:
2–46
Control
Setting
Vertical scale
200 mV/div
Horizontal scale
1.25 ns/div
Trigger position
50%
Acquire mode
Average 32
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
Control
Setting
Trigger mode
AUTO
Trigger source
CH1
Trigger level
0V
Trigger slope
Rising Edge
Input impedance
50 Ω
Measure
Amplitude, Rise Time, Fall Time
Ref Level
High Ref 80%, Low Ref 20%
Gating Cursor
Curs1 Pos1: –2.5 ns/Curs2: 2.75 ns
3. To open the test40.TRP file on the MTX100B, do the following:
a. Select File > Open to open the Select File dialog box.
b. In the dialog box, select the test40.TRP file.
4. Press the Play/Pause button on the MTX100B to start playing the test40.TRP
file.
5. Use the oscilloscope to measure that the amplitude, rise and fall times are as
follows:
Control
Setting
Amplitude
720 mV to 880 mV
Rise and fall time
≤ 1.2 ns
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–47
Performance Verification
Checking the ASI Play Operation.
1. Disconnect the BNC cable from the 75 Ω signal adapter on the oscilloscope
input, and connect the cable to the ASI/SMPTE In connector on the MPEG
analyzer.
Figure 2-25: Equipment connection for verifying the ASI play operation
2. Start the MPEG Player application on the MPEG analyzer.
3. Set the application to the Record mode.
4. Set the MPEG analyzer settings as follows:
Control
Record
SPI/ASI/310M
File
Setting
Source
SPI/ASI/310M
Target
RAM
Record Size
100 MB
Input Port
BNC
BNC Port
ASI
Save Mode
Over Write
Save
E:\MTXRTX_Test streams\Record_Files\
ASI214Mbps.trp
5. On the MTX100B, make the following settings:
Control
Play
310M/ASI/SPI
2–48
Setting
Clock Data Rate
214 Mbps
Update
Off
Source
RAM
BNC Port
ASI
Through Out
Off
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
6. Press the Play/Pause button on the MTX100B to start playing the test40.TRP
file.
7. Verify that the hierarchical view is displayed on the MPEG analyzer screen. In
addition, verify that the bit rate is 214 Mbps and the packet size is 188 bytes.
8. Click the Record button on the MPEG Player application to record the file.
9. After the recording is complete, press the Stop button on the MTX100B.
10. Disconnect the 75 Ω BNC cable from the MTX100B and the MPEG analyzer.
Checking the ASI Record Operation.
1. Use the 75 Ω BNC cable to connect the SMPTE/ASI Input connector on the
MTX100B to the ASI/SMPTE Out connector on the MPEG analyzer.
Figure 2-26: Equipment connection for verifying the ASI record operation
2. Press the Record button on the MTX100B to display the Record screen.
3. On the MTX100B, make the following settings:
Control
Record
310M/ASI/SPI
File
Setting
Source
310M/ASI/SPI
Record size
100 MB
Target
RAM
Input Port
BNC
BNC Port
ASI
Save Mode
Over Write
Save
D:\Record_Files\ASI214Mbps.trp
4. Set the MPEG analyzer to the Play mode.
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–49
Performance Verification
5. Select File > Open on the MPEG analyzer to display the Open dialog box.
6. In the dialog box, navigate to the E:\MTXRTX_Test Streams\Record_Files
directory, and select the ASI214Mbps.trp file.
7. Set the following settings on the MPEG analyzer:
Control
Play
SPI/ASI/310M
Setting
Clock Data Rate
214 Mbps
Update
Off
Source
RAM
BNC Port
ASI
Through Out
Off
8. Click the Play button on the MPEG analyzer to start playing the
ASI214Mbps.trp file.
9. Verify that the hierarchical view is displayed on the MTX100B screen. In
addition, verify that the bit rate is 214 Mbps and packet size is 188 bytes.
10. Press the Record button on the MTX100B to record the file.
11. After the recording is complete, click the Stop button on the MPEG analyzer.
12. Exit the MPEG Player application on the MPEG analyzer.
13. Disconnect the BNC cable from the MTX100B and the MPEG analyzer.
2–50
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
Checking the Recorded File.
1. Use the 75 Ω BNC cable to connect the SMPTE310M/ASI Output connector
on the MTX100B to the ASI/SMPTE In connector on the MPEG analyzer.
Figure 2-27: Equipment connection for verifying the recorded file-ASI interface
2. Press the Play/Pause button on the MTX100B to display the Play screen.
3. Select Play > Update >On.
4. To open the ASI214Mbps file on the MTX100B, do the following:
a. Select File > Open to open the Select File dialog box.
b. In the dialog box, navigate to the D:\Record_Files directory, and then
select the ASI214Mbps.trp file.
5. Press the Play/Pause button to start playing the file.
6. Start the TS Compliance Analyzer on the MPEG analyzer.
7. In the TS Compliance Analyzer window, select Real-time.., and make the
following settings:
Control
Setting
Interfaces
ASI
Interface Settings
Time Stamping
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–51
Performance Verification
8. Verify that the hierarchical view is displayed on the MPEG analyzer screen
and that no error messages appear. In addition, verify that the bit rate is 40
Mbps and that the packet size is 188 bytes.
NOTE. Ignore Program 3 and PID 120 (0x78) errors in the hierarchical view
because these are caused by the original test40.TRP file.
9. Press the Stop button on the MTX100B to stop the stream output.
10. Disconnect the 75 Ω BNC cable from the MTX100B and the MPEG analyzer.
Checking the SMPTE310M Play Operation.
1. Use the 75 Ω BNC cable to connect the SMPTE310M/ASI Output connector
on the MTX100B to the ASI/SMPTE In connector on the MPEG analyzer.
Figure 2-28: Equipment connection for verifying the SMPTE310M play operation
2. Start the MPEG Player application on the MPEG analyzer.
3. Set the application to the Record mode.
2–52
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
4. Set the MPEG analyzer settings as indicated bellow:
Control
Record
SPI/ASI/310M
File
Setting
Source
SPI/ASI/310M
Target
RAM
Record Size
100 MB
Input Port
BNC
BNC Port
310M
Save Mode
OverWwrite
Save
E:\MTXRTX_Test streams\Record_Files\
S310M.trp
5. To open the Flower.trp file on the MTX100B.
a. Select File > Open to open the Select File dialog box.
b. In the dialog box, navigate to the D:\525 directory, and select the
Flower.trp file.
6. On the MTX100B, make the following settings:
Control
Play
310M/ASI/SPI
Setting
Clock Data Rate
19.392658 Mbps
Update
Off
Source
RAM
BNC Port
310M 8VSB
Through Out
Off
7. Press the Play/Pause button on the MTX100B to start playing the Flower.trp
file.
8. Verify that the hierarchical view is displayed on the MPEG analyzer screen. In
addition, verify that the bit rate is 19.392 Mbps and packet size is 188 bytes.
9. Click the Record button on the MPEG Player application to record the file.
10. After the recording is completed, press the Stop button on the MTX100B.
11. Disconnect the 75 Ω BNC cable from the MTX100B and the MPEG analyzer.
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–53
Performance Verification
Checking the SMPTE310M Record Operation.
1. Use the 75 Ω BNC cable to connect the SMPTE310M/ASI Input connector on
the MTX100B to the ASI/SMPTE Out connector on the MPEG analyzer.
Figure 2-29: Equipment connection for verifying the SMPTE310M record operation
2. Press the Record button on the MTX100B to display the Record screen.
3. On the MTX100B, make the following settings:
Control
Record
310M/ASI/SPI
File
Setting
Source
310M/ASI/SPI
Record size
100 MB
Target
RAM
Input Port
BNC
BNC Port
310M
Save Mode
Over Write
Save
D:\Record_Files\S310M.trp
4. Set the MPEG analyzer to the Play mode.
5. Select File > Open on the MPEG analyzer to display the Open dialog box.
6. In the dialog box, navigate to the E:\MTXRTX_Test Streams\Record_Files
directory, and select the S310M.trp file.
2–54
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
7. On the MPEG player, make the following settings:
Control
Play
SPI/ASI/310M
Setting
Update
Off
Source
RAM
BNC Port
310M 8VSB
Through Out
Off
8. Click the Play button on the MPEG analyzer to start playing the S310M.trp
file.
9. Verify that the hierarchical view is displayed on the MTX100B screen. In
addition, verify that the bit rate is 19.392 Mbps and packet size is 188 bytes.
10. Press the Record button on the MTX100B to record the file.
11. After the recording is complete, click the Stop button on the MPEG analyzer.
12. Exit the MPEG Player application on the MPEG analyzer.
13. Disconnect the 75 Ω BNC cable from the MTX100B and the MPEG analyzer.
Checking the Recorded File.
1. Use the 75 Ω BNC cable to connect the SMPTE310M/ASI Output connector
on the MTX100B to the ASI/SMPTE In connector on the MPEG analyzer.
Figure 2-30: Equipment connection for verifying the recorded file-ASI interface
2. Press the Play/Pause button on the MTX100B to display the Play screen.
3. To open the 310M.trp file on the MTX100B, do the following:
a. Select File > Open to open the Select File dialog box.
b. In the dialog box, navigate to the D:\Record_Files directory, and select
the 310M.trp file.
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–55
Performance Verification
4. Select Play > Update > On.
5. Press the Play/Pause button to start playing the file.
6. Start the TS Compliance Analyzer on the MPEG analyzer.
7. In the TS Compliance Analyzer window, select Real-time.., and make the
following settings:
Interfaces: ASI
Interface Settings: Time Stamping
8. Verify that the hierarchical view is displayed on the MPEG analyzer screen
and that no error messages appear. In addition, verify that the bit rate is
19.392 Mbps and that the packet size is 188 bytes.
NOTE. Ignore 3.4.a Unref PID error in the Priority 3 row.
9. Press the Stop button on the MTX100B to stop the stream output.
10. Disconnect the 75 Ω BNC cable from the MTX100B and MPEG analyzer.
2–56
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
Checking the SPI Record Operation.
1. Use the parallel interface cable to connect the SPI Input connector on the
MTX100B to the DVB SPI Out connector on the MPEG analyzer.
Figure 2-31: Equipment connection for verifying the SPI record operation
2. Press the Record button on the MTX100B to display the Record screen.
3. On the MTX100B, make the following settings:
Control
Record
File
Setting
Source
SPI
Target
RAM
Record Size
100 MB
Save Mode
Over Write
Save Mode
D:\Record_Files\SPI214Mbps
4. Change the MPEG analyzer to Play mode.
5. Select File > Open on the MPEG analyzer to display the Open dialog box.
6. In the dialog box, navigate to the E:\MTXRTX_Test streams\ Record_Files,
and select the SPI214Mbps.trp file.
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–57
Performance Verification
7. On the MPEG analyzer, make the following settings:
Control
Play
Setting
Clock Data Rate
214 Mbps
Update
Off
Source
RAM
8. Click the PLAY button on the MPEG Analyzer to start playing the
SPI214Mbps.trp file.
9. Verify that the hierarchical view is displayed on the MTX100B screen. In
addition, verify that the bit rate display is 214 Mbps and the packet size
display is 188 bytes.
10. Press the Record button on the MTX100B to record the file.
11. After recording is complete, click the Stop button on the MPEG analyzer.
12. Exit the MPEG Player application on the MPEG analyzer.
Checking the Recorded File.
1. Change the interface cable connection from DVB/SPI Out connector to
DVB/SPI In connector on the MPEG analyzer.
2. Start the TS Compliance Analyzer on the MPEG analyzer.
3. In the TS Compliance Analyzer window, select Real-time.., and make the
following settings:
Interfaces ASI
Interface Settings Time Stamping
4. Press the Play/Pause button on the MTX100B to display the Play screen.
5. Select File > Open to open the Select File dialog box.
2–58
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
6. In the dialog box, navigate to the D:\ Record_Files directory, and select the
SPI214Mbps.trp file.
7. Select Play > Update > On.
8. Press the Play/Pause button on the MTX100B to start playing the
SPI214Mbps.trp file.
9. Verify that the hierarchical view is displayed on the MPEG analyzer screen
and that no error messages appear. In addition, verify that the bit rate is
40 Mbps and that the transport stream packet size is 188 bytes.
NOTE. Ignore Program 3 and PID 120 (0x78) errors in the hierarchical view
because these are caused by the original test40.TRP file.
10. Press the Stop button on the MTX100B.
11. Close the TS Compliance Analyzer window.
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–59
Performance Verification
IP Interface
The following tests verify that the transport stream data is correctly output from
the MTX100B instrument.
Recommended Settings for MPEG Player in IP mode.
Perform this procedure in Category/Classic view to check the settings of Intel/Pro
1000 MT drivers:
1. Click Control Panel > Network and Internet Connections > Network
Connections in Category view or click Control Panel > Network
Connections in Classic view.
2. Select Intel(R) Pro/1000 MT Network Connection device and right-click to
select the Properties option.
3. Click Configure > Advanced and check if the following options are set in the
dialog box:
Control
Setting
Adaptive Inter-Frame Spacing
Disabled
Flow Control
Off
Interrupt Moderation Rate
Off
Jumbo Frames
16128
Link Speed and Duplex
Auto-negotiate 1000Mbps
NOTE. If the MTX100B MPEG system is connected
to 100 Mbps network, select "Auto Detect" for Link
Speed and Duplex option.
Receive Descriptors
2–60
2048
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
Perform this procedure to check the settings of Administrative tools for improved
performance during the Playout:
1. Click Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Services in Classic view.
2. Select Windows Firewall/Internet Connection Sharing (ICS) to open the
dialog box. Check if the Startup type is set to Disabled.
3. Select Automatic Updates to open the dialog box. Check if the Startup type
is set to Disabled.
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–61
Performance Verification
4. Select IIS admin to open the dialog box. Check if the Startup type is set to
Disabled.
Perform this procedure to check if the automatic Java updates are disabled:
1. Click Control Panel > Java.
2. Select the Update tab and check if the Check for Updates Automatically
check box is deselected.
2–62
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
Perform this procedure to check for the settings of VLAN:
1. Click Start > Run and type regedit. Press OK to display the Registry Editor
Window.
2. Browse to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\
Control\Class\{4D36E972-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}\00XX where
XX is the instance of the network adapter that you need to see tags on. You
can check by opening and viewing the driver descriptor value (DriverDesc
value should be Intel(R) PRO/1000 MT Network Connection).
3. Select MonitorModeEnabled DWORD Value that you created.
4. Double-click the DWORD Value to open the Edit DWORD Value dialog box.
Check if the Value data is set to 1.
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–63
Performance Verification
Checking Option GbE performance. Perform this procedure to check that the GbE
Gigabit Ethernet interface of MTX100B is operating properly. This test checks
that the transport stream data is correctly output from the MTX100B instrument.
Equipment required.
MTS400 Series MPEG system
RJ-45 cables
Crossover RJ-45 cable
1. Connect the equipment as shown below.
Figure 2-32: Equipment setup for Option GbE performance verification
NOTE. Check that V10.1 or greater MTX100B software is installed.
2. Power on the MTS400 Series MPEG system and allow the Windows operating
system to boot completely. Wait an additional 90 seconds for the MPEG
system to complete the Option GbE firmware loading process.
3. Configure the DUT MTX100B system with the following settings for GbE
testing:
a. Double-click the MTX100B MPEG player icon on the desktop to start
the player.
b. From the File menu, select Open > Look in (dropdown menu) > Local
Disk (D) > test streams > test40.TRP > Open.
2–64
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
c. Make the following selections in the Play menu:
Play Interface > IP
Play Packet Size >188
Play Clock dialog box
Make sure the Internal button is selected
Make sure the "Data Rate" section shows:
Play > Update > On (checked)
Play > PCR Initial Value... dialog box:
Base Value (33): 0
Extension Value (9): 0
Click the OK button
Play > Source > Disk (checked)
Play > Loop > On (checked)
Start > Stop... dialog box:
Start radio button selected
0% text-entry-box set to 0
100% text-entry-box set to 386555
Format set to Packets
Play > Auto Play > Off (checked)
Play > Timer Play... (ignore this; it should show the current date and time)
4. Select Configuration from the IP menu to launch the IP Playout Configuration
dialog box, and make the following entries/selections.
Control
Setting
Device Name
Intel(R) PRO/1000 MT Network Connection
Transmission Mode
Multicast
Destination IP Address
239.1.1.1
Protocol
UDP
Destination Port
1234
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–65
Performance Verification
Now the MTX100B MPEG Player should appear as the following figure.
5. Click the Start button to start the stream playout.
6. Double-click the MTS400 Series system’s TS Compliance Analyser
to launch the TS Compliance Analyser
desktop icon
application (TSCA). This starts with the Open Transport Stream dialog box as
shown in the following figure.
2–66
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
7. Select Real-time.... The Select Real-time Interface dialog box appears.
8. In the Select Real-time Interface dialog box, select IP from the Interfaces
drop-down menu.
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–67
Performance Verification
9. Click the Browse button to open the Browse for UDP Flow dialog box. (See
Figure 2-33.)
NOTE. You may have to click the + button below the Configurations list to make
the settings pane change. The Browse button, which is needed for the next step,
will then be active.
10. Select Tektronix LP1500 LAN Interface Port 4 from the Browse Device
drop-down menu.
11. In the Browse for UDP flow dialog box, make these selections:
a. Select the Passive mode radio button.
b. In the Detected UDP Flows pane, select the IP stream with a Destination
IP Address of 239.1.1.1.
2–68
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
Figure 2-33: IP Flow selection
c. Click the OK button. The MTS400 Series TS Compliance Analyzer
dialog box opens.
12. Allow the DUT MTX100B MPEG system to loop at least three times.
13. On the MTS400 Series MPEG system, verify that the TS Availability and
Sync indicators, in the bottom left corner of the Compliance Analyzer display,
remain green.
14. Check that all the parameters under Priority 1 of the Compliance Analyzer
display are green. The TS bit rate displayed in the status bar should be
approximately equal to 40.00000 Mbps which was set in the MTX100B
instrument.
NOTE. Ignore the 2.5 PTS errors as they are generated by the test40.trp file.
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–69
Performance Verification
15. Disconnect the DUT MTX100B MPEG system from the test setup and turn
it off using the front panel POWER switch. After the Windows shutdown
completes, unplug the power cord from the system.
16. Disconnect the MTS400 Series MPEG system from the test setup:
a. Disconnect the cable to the SFP module.
b. Remove the SFP module.
c. Close all applications running on the MTS400 Series MPEG system and
turn it off using the front panel POWER switch. After the Windows
shutdown completes, unplug the power cord from the system.
1
2–70
The Start button is the button with the green horizontally oriented triangle, just below the SPI/ASM/310M menu
near the top of the application-window.
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
Checking maximum bit rate performance. Perform this test to check that the
maximum transport stream data is correctly output from the MTX100B instrument.
NOTE. You can perform the maximum bit rate performance test on MTS400 Series
with a Cheetah card only.
1. Perform the steps 1 through 4 listed in the Checking Option GbE performance
section.
2. Set the TS bit rate value to 160.000000 Mbps as shown in the following figure.
Figure 2-34: Clock dialog box
The status bar displays the TS bit rate as 160.0000000 Mbps.
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–71
Performance Verification
3. Perform the steps 6 through 15 listed in the Checking Option GbE
performance section.
4. Check that the TS bit rate displayed in the status bar is approximately equal to
160.000000 Mbps as set in the MTX100B instrument.
5. Disconnect the DUT MTX100B MPEG system from the test setup and turn
it off using the front panel POWER switch. After the Windows shutdown
completes, unplug the power cord from the system.
2–72
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
6. Disconnect the MTS400 Series MPEG system from the test setup:
a. Disconnect the cable to the SFP module.
b. Remove the SFP module.
c. Close all applications running on the MTS400 Series MPEG system and
turn it off using the front panel POWER switch. After the Windows
shutdown completes, unplug the power cord from the system.
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–73
Performance Verification
GbE Interface
(Option IPTVP)
1. Connect an Ethernet cable from the RJ45 connector on the rear panel to the
LAN connector, as shown:
2. Launch the TS Compliance Analyzer application from the desktop.
3. In the TS Compliance Analyzer window, select Real-time.. and close any
dialog boxes which are open.
NOTE. The Firmware version is up-to-date. If it is not up-to-date, a message
appears to update the version and the Update Firmware button is activated. Click
Update Firmware and allow the update to complete.
4. In the Select Real-time Interface window, verify that the GigE interface
appears in the Select from the available interface drop-down menu.
2–74
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
NOTE. If the GigE interface appears, the Interface Settings displayed should be
similar to the values shown above. If you wish to proceed with the analysis, make
sure that the Connection Type is set to Auto.
5. If you want to start the analysis and if the local setup matches the interface
settings, click OK to close the Select Real-time Interface dialog box.
6. Click the Interface tab and select the IP Tables tab.
7. Minimize the TSCA Application. Do not close the application window.
8. Launch the MPEG Player Application.
9. Select File > Open, then browse to C:\test streams and select Sym1.mpg.
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–75
Performance Verification
10. Select Play > Interface > IP.
11. If this is the first time running the IP interface, you should select “Auto
Configure” on the following settings page. Otherwise, click the OK button.
12. If Auto Configure was selected in the previous step, reboot the box and repeat
steps 2 through 11 above.
13. Select IP > Configuration. Set the items in the dialog box as shown in the
following figure and then click the OK button.
2–76
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
Performance Verification
14. Start the IP packet generator by selecting the Play button (
MPEG Player application toolbar.
) on the
15. The following screen should appear.
16. Maximize the TSCA application (minimized in step 7) and select the
generated IP session on the Traffic Table. This is done by double clicking
the specific line on the table.
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
2–77
Performance Verification
17. Select the Restart Button (
) on the TSCA Toolbar. After restart, the
TSCA analyzes the generated IP traffic. Error and limit indicators will be
red, yellow, or green depending on where the specific limits are set for the
instrument.
18. Check that the traffic is selectable. Check that the bitrate, TS CC errors,
Packet errors, and other measurements are similar to the readings in the
following figure. If they are, the instrument is working correctly.
This completes the MTX100B performance verification.
2–78
MTX100B Specifications and Performance Verification
">
/
Descarcă
Doar o reamintire prietenoasă. Poți vizualiza documentul chiar aici. Dar cel mai important, AI-ul nostru l-a citit deja. Poate explica lucruri complexe în termeni simpli, poate răspunde la întrebările tale în orice limbă și te poate ajuta să navighezi rapid chiar și prin cele mai lungi sau mai complicate documente.
Publicitate