Adobe 26001648 - Illustrator CS3, Illustrator CS3 User Manual
Advertisement
Advertisement
Adobe
®
IllustrAtor
®
cs3
FreehAnd to IllustrAtor MIgrAtIon guIde
© 2007 Adobe Systems Incorporated. All rights reserved.
Macromedia ® FreeHand ® to Adobe ® Illustrator ® CS3 Migration Guide
If this guide is distributed with software that includes an end user license agreement, this guide, as well as the software described in it, is furnished under license and may be used or copied only in accordance with the terms of such license. Except as permitted by any such license, no part of this guide may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted, in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, recording, or otherwise, without the prior written permission of Adobe Systems Incorporated. Please note that the content in this guide is protected under copyright law even if it is not distributed with software that includes an end user license agreement.
The content of this guide is furnished for informational use only, is subject to change without notice, and should not be construed as a commitment by
Adobe Systems Incorporated. Adobe Systems Incorporated assumes no responsibility or liability for any errors or inaccuracies that may appear in the informational content contained in this guide.
Please remember that existing artwork or images that you may want to include in your project may be protected under copyright law. The unauthorized incorporation of such material into your new work could be a violation of the rights of the copyright owner. Please be sure to obtain any permission required from the copyright owner.
Any references to company names in sample templates are for demonstration purposes only and are not intended to refer to any actual organization.
Adobe, the Adobe logo, Acrobat, Creative Suite, Flash, Illustrator, InDesign, Photoshop, PostScript, Reader, and Version Cue are either registered trademarks or trademarks of Adobe Systems Incorporated in the United States and/or other countries.
Mac and Mac OS are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the United States and other countries. OpenType and Windows are either registered trademarks or trademarks of Microsoft Corporation in the United States and/or other countries. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.
Adobe Systems Incorporated, 345 Park Avenue, San Jose, California 95110-2704, USA.
Notice to U.S. Government End Users. The Software and Documentation are “Commercial Items,” as that term is defined at 48 C.F.R. §2.101, consisting of “Commercial Computer Software” and “Commercial Computer Software Documentation,” as such terms are used in 48 C.F.R. §12.212 or 48 C.F.R.
§227.7202, as applicable. Consistent with 48 C.F.R. §12.212 or 48 C.F.R. §§227.7202-1 through 227.7202-4, as applicable, the Commercial Computer Software and Commercial Computer Software Documentation are being licensed to U.S. Government end users (a) only as Commercial Items and (b) with only those rights as are granted to all other end users pursuant to the terms and conditions herein. Unpublished-rights reserved under the copyright laws of the
United States. For U.S. Government End Users, Adobe agrees to comply with all applicable equal opportunity laws including, if appropriate, the provisions of Executive Order 11246, as amended, Section 402 of the Vietnam Era Veterans Readjustment Assistance Act of 1974 (38 USC 4212), and Section 503 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended, and the regulations at 41 CFR Parts 60-1 through 60-60, 60-250, and 60-741. The affirmative action clause and regulations contained in the preceding sentence shall be incorporated by reference.
Part number: XXXXXXXX
Contents
Introduction . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4
The purpose of this guide and how it can be useful for FreeHand users.
Key Terms . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6
Learn how Illustrator terms compare with those in FreeHand.
Converting Macromedia FreeHand Documents. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9
Discover how to open your FreeHand documents in Illustrator.
The Illustrator Workspace. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .10
Take a tour of the Illustrator CS3 workspace, which offers robust new creativity tools, a context-sensitive Control panel, and custom workspaces for personal preferences or project requirements.
Setting up a New Document . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .15
Learn how to best prepare your artboard for your illustrations.
Working with Graphics . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .20
See how easy it is to create predictable gradients, patterns, and elaborate effects.
Working with Text. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .31
Take your text to a new level with extensive and powerful text tools, including Character and Paragraph panels and styles, flexible OpenType fonts, support for text on a path, and more.
Saving and Exporting Files. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .35
Save and export your artwork to many standard file formats such as PDF, SVG, and Flash for print, web and interactive, and mobile and motion designs.
Printing . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .40
Print your artwork reliably, thanks to a streamlined print interface and such features as support for transparency flattening and Adobe PDF output.
Keyboard Shortcuts . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .44
A list of some of the most useful Illustrator CS3 keyboard shortcuts.
Additional Resources. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .48
Information on many useful resources for anyone who wants to learn more about Illustrator features, tools, and techniques.
Introduction
Freehand to Illustrator Migration guide
Welcome, and thank you for having made the move or thinking about moving from Macromedia® FreeHand® to Adobe Illustrator® CS3.
FreeHand is no longer being developed to be compatible with new operating systems and hardware, or to provide integration with other key design applications, such as Adobe Photoshop® CS3 and Adobe InDesign® CS3. Your move to Illustrator is an important step to ensure that you can take advantage of new technologies and capabilities as they become available.
This guide explains the main differences between the two programs and introduces you to some of the features that make Illustrator the industrystandard tool for creating vector graphics for any media. It was written specifically for FreeHand users like you, to help you transition to Illustrator as quickly and as smoothly as possible.
Your experience using FreeHand will give you a good foundation for moving to Illustrator, and the import of FreeHand files has been updated to support
FreeHand MX. If you have been using Adobe Photoshop or Adobe InDesign, your move will be even easier, because all Adobe graphics applications share common commands, panels, and keyboard shortcuts.
Illustrator is tightly integrated with all components of Adobe Creative Suite® 3, and now with Adobe Bridge CS3, it has become easier than ever to manage and organize files. In Creative Suite 3, the Adobe standard interface has been updated to be more efficient, and is consistent between Photoshop CS3,
InDesign CS3, Illustrator CS3, and Adobe Flash® CS3 Professional.
The Live Trace and Live Paint features in Illustrator make it easier to get your sketches onto your artboard as vector graphics, and Live Color presents a new and exciting environment for exploring color harmonies and interactively applying color to any selection of objects. Integration with Photoshop, including the ability to choose layer comps during import and support for Photoshop filters and effects, opens new horizons for vector graphics. Illustrator also gives you access to many OpenType® features to help you create beautiful typography.
Illustrator CS3 integrates beautifully with Flash CS3 Professional. Now you can copy/paste or import your Illustrator artwork into Flash, confident that the critical elements in your Illustrator artwork are maintained in Flash.
We hope this guide gives you the the basics to explore Illustrator CS3, and makes your transition from FreeHand a little bit easier.
turn sketches into vector graphics get total control of your objects with object level appearance options create sophisticated transparency use familiar tools
Make elaborate and predictable blends set beautiful typography with fully supported opentype features
PureEnergy
Introduction
Key Terms
Because FreeHand and Illustrator are both vector drawing programs, they share many common tools and commands.
Many of the terms used in the Illustrator menus, dialog boxes, and panels are identical to those used in FreeHand. For example, tools and layers are essentially the same in both programs. In some cases, FreeHand and Illustrator use
FreeHand Term » Illustrator Term
You control the attributes of objects in the
Appearance panel.
Pasteboard » Scratch area
What you know as the pasteboard in FreeHand is called the scratch area in
Illustrator. The scratch area is the area outside the artboard that extends to the edge of a 227-inch square window. The scratch area represents the space where you can create, edit, and store elements of artwork before moving them onto the artboard. Objects placed on the scratch area are visible onscreen, but they do not print.
Pages » Artboard
In FreeHand, you can set up multiple pages within a single document;
Illustrator considers the document and its artboard as one illustration. To output specific areas of your illustration, use the Page tool or the new Crop Area tool, or print overlapping tiles.
Object Properties Panel » Appearance panel
In FreeHand, the Object Properties panel is a context-sensitive area where you access formatting options for any selected object. In Illustrator, to achieve the same function, you use both the Appearance panel and the context-sensitive
Control panel. The Appearance panel lets you view and adjust the appearance of attributes for any object, group, or layer. Fills and strokes are listed in stacking order in the panel; objects in Illustrator can have multiple fills and strokes.
Effects are listed from top to bottom in the order in which they are applied to the artwork. To display the panel, choose Window > Appearance.
Import » Place
In Illustrator, you can place both graphic and text files; placed graphics can be either linked or embedded into the document and are accessible from the Links panel. Integration across Adobe Creative Suite allows you, for example, to choose layers or layer comps when you place Photoshop files into
Illustrator.
Freehand to Illustrator Migration guide
different terms for the same concept. For example, in FreeHand you work with pages, while in Illustrator you work with an artboard. Once you understand the difference in terms, you are likely to find the concepts quite similar. Here are some key terms that differ between FreeHand and Illustrator: the bounding box in Illustrator helps you apply transformations to selected objects.
extrude, revolve, and rotate artwork and type to create complex three-dimensional objects using 3d effects in Illustrator.
Transform Handles » Bounding box
When you select objects with the Selection tool, Illustrator displays a bounding box around them. The bounding box lets you move, rotate, duplicate, and scale objects easily by dragging the object or a handle (one of the hollow squares along the bounding box). To view the bounding box, choose
View > Show Bounding Box.
Keyline View » Outline
By default, Illustrator displays all artwork in color. However, you can improve redraw and performance by viewing artwork as outlines (or paths). To view artwork as outlines, choose View > Outline. Choose View > Preview to view artwork in color.
Extrude Tool » 3D effects
3D effects enable you to create three-dimensional objects from two-dimensional artwork or text. You can control the appearance of three-dimensional objects with lighting, shading, rotation, and other properties.
Live Vector Effects » Effects
Effects in Illustrator are live, which means that you can modify them even after they are applied. You can apply effects to any object and then modify its vectors or the effect’s options, or remove the effect using the Appearance panel. Once you apply an effect to an object, the Appearance panel lists the effect and enables you to edit, move, duplicate, or delete it, or save it as part of a graphic style.
Edit In External Editor » Edit Original
Illustrator is highly integrated with Photoshop. To open a linked bitmap file in
Photoshop, select the graphic and choose Edit Original in the Control panel or Links panel, or from the Edit menu.
Key terms
K E Y T E R M S
FreeHand Term » Illustrator Term this intricate foliage was created using the symbolism tools in Illustrator.
Graphic Hose Tool » Symbol Sprayer
The symbolism tools let you create and modify sets of symbol instances.
You create a symbol set using the Symbol Sprayer tool. You can then use the other symbolism tools to change the density, color, location, size, rotation, transparency, and style of the instances in the set. You are not limited to a particular set of symbols; you can create and use as many as you want. All the symbols you create are available in the Symbols panel.
Output Area Tool » Crop Area tool
By default, Illustrator crops artwork to the boundaries of the artboard. However, using the Crop Area tool, you can interactively define crop areas for print or export to other formats (video or web, for example). The option you choose sets the position of crop marks, rulers, and video- and title-safe areas on your document and defines the boundaries of the artwork to be printed or exported. These boundaries are represented by a dashed line in the preview area of the Print dialog box.
Eraser » Eraser tool
Quickly remove areas of artwork as easily as you erase pixels in Photoshop by stroking with your mouse or stylus over any shape or set of shapes. New paths will automatically be created along the edges of your erased stroke with points laid down economically, but still preserving the smoothness of your erasure.
Styles » Graphic styles
A graphic style is a set of reusable appearance attributes. Graphic styles allow you to quickly change the look of an object. For example, you can change its fill and stroke color, alter its transparency, and apply effects in one step. All the changes you apply with graphic styles are completely reversible.
Mixer » Color panel
You use the Color panel to apply color to an object’s fill and stroke, and also to edit and mix colors. The Color panel can display color values using different color models. By default, only the most commonly used options are visible in the Color panel. To display the panel, choose Window > Color. To change the color model, choose Grayscale, RGB, HSB, CMYK, or Web Safe RGB from the panel menu.
the color panel
Freehand to Illustrator Migration guide
C O N V E R T I N G M A C R O M E D I A F R E E H A N D D O C U M E N T S
Converting Macromedia
FreeHand documents
Illustrator can work in either cMYK or rgb color mode. You will be prompted to choose one or the other when you open a Freehand document that contains objects that use both cMYK and rgb color modes.
•
•
•
•
•
Illustrator can open FreeHand files up to version 10 and FreeHand MX (11).
FreeHand allows you to import both CMYK and RGB image files. If you open a FreeHand document that contains both CMYK and RGB images, you’ll be prompted to choose a specific color space (see “Setting up a New Document” on page 15).
•
If the original FreeHand document contains more than one page, these will have separate crop areas in the Illustrator document; this is useful to print individual
FreeHand pages, since Illustrator CS3 allows printing of individual crop areas.
You also have the option import only a specific page from a FreeHand file.
•
Other improved import features include:
Import of FreeHand swatches, defined in the Swatches palette in FreeHand, as swatches in Illustrator CS3.
Import of FreeHand symbols as symbols in Illustrator CS3.
Import of FreeHand raster effects—drop shadow, basic and feather transparency—as live effects in Illustrator CS3.
Import of FreeHand Envelopes as Envelope effects in Illustrator CS3.
Import of FreeHand custom guides as Illustrator CS3 guides.
The ability to outline text upon import so that text appearance in FreeHand is preserved in Illustrator CS3.
Proper positioning of FreeHand text, including text alignment, text wrap, vertical text, and text inset, upon import into Illustrator CS3.
knowhow from Adobe Labs
knowhow from Adobe Labs provides single-click, contextual access for viewing tool tips, keyboard hints, and feature help. Now you can see all the shortcuts that you never had time to learn, and discover ways of working with Illustrator that you didn’t know were possible.
You can also access community-generated content created by Illustrator experts on the web, pulled from a user account on del.icio.us.
Choose Window > Adobe Labs > knowhow and see the knowhow panel pop onto your workspace. Click on any tool and look to knowhow to see a description, keyboard hints, and links directly into Adobe Help for that very tool. For help with a panel or topic, simply type a search term in knowhow’s search field.
Note: knowhow is available only in English versions of Illustrator CS3.
converting Macromedia Freehand documents
The Illustrator
Workspace
Illustrator shares the same user interface with Photoshop, InDesign, and Flash
CS3, and its new default panel arrangement, including the single-column toolbar at the left, makes it easier to access the tools you need. You can dock panels in your favorite configuration, pull them out to float free anywhere on your screen, and collapse them to an icon view.
The Illustrator CS3 workspace
Control panel Menus
Tools panel
Hyperlink to access the full pane
Panels
Expand/Collapse panels
Jump to Adobe Bridge
Hidden tools called out from the tools panel
Hidden tools torn off of the tools panel
Illustration window
Status bar
10 Freehand to Illustrator Migration guide
The basic workspace in Illustrator (Window > Workspace > [Basic]) consists of an illustration window where you draw and lay out your artwork, a Tools panel that holds the tools for drawing and editing artwork, and panels to help you monitor and modify your artwork.
The status bar (at the bottom left edge of the illustration window) displays the current zoom level as well as the current tool, date and time, number of undos and redos available, document color profile, or status of a managed file
(Version Cue).
The Tools panel
You use the tools in the Tools panel to create, select, and manipulate objects in Illustrator. You can configure the Tools in double or single rows, or set as a double- or single-row layout by clicking on the double arrows at the top of the panel. Some tools have additional tools beneath them (hidden tools). A small triangle at the lower right corner of the tool indicates that there are hidden tools.
You can tear off hidden tools into separate panels to have them readily available. To tear off a panel, click and hold the tool, and then drag your cursor to
Selection tools
Type tools
Drawing tools
Brush tool
Reshaping tools
Symbolism / graph tools
Advanced painting tools
Blend tool
Illustrator tools
The first time you start Illustrator, the Tools panel appears at the left side of the screen. You can move the Tools panel by dragging its title bar. You can also show or hide the Tools panel by choosing Window > Tools.
Crop Area and Eraser tools
Move and zoom tools
Color
Screen modes
About the Selection tools
In FreeHand, you use the Pointer tool to select both objects and single points; with the Subselect tool, you can modify curves and objects in groups. In Illustrator, the Selection tool lets you select objects or groups; the Direct Selection tool lets you modify objects or groups and select multiple single points on a path. Use the Lasso tool to select multiple points by making a free-form selection.
the Illustrator Workspace 11
T H E I L L U S T R A T O R W O R K S P A C E the right and release it at the edge of the pop-up tool panel. The name of the tool and its keyboard shortcut appear when you hold the pointer over the tool.
Where are tools such as 3D Rotation, Extrude, and Fisheye lens?
In Illustrator, you apply 3D effects using the Effect menu (see page 30) or by using Object > Envelope Distort to warp objects based on a shape you choose.
the context-sensitive control panel gives you immediate access to most formatting options.
All panels, including the control panel, have a pop-up menu, from which you can choose, and configure a variety of attributes. to open the pop-up menu, click the icon at the top right of the panel.
The Control panel
The Control panel is context sensitive and offers quick access to options related to the objects you select. For example, if you select a vector object, many controls you will need to change its attributes appear there, including commands for precise positioning on the artboard. Use the Control panel as your primary tool for editing your artwork.
The Control panel also provides fast access to panels, which, in some cases, offer additional options. Click a blue hyperlink to open another panel for easy access.
To configure the Control panel, choose options from the panel’s pop-up menu, also called the panel menu.
In Illustrator CS3, you can now access anchor point controls, selection tools, clipping masks, envelope distortions, and more, all exposed contextually within the Control panel.
Panels
You can access all panels in Illustrator from the Window menu; some can also be activated by clicking the blue hyperlinks in the Control panel.
A panel can be grouped with another by dragging its tab onto the other panel.
To dock panels so that they move together, drag a panel’s tab to the bottom of another panel until you see a blue line. When the panels are grouped or stacked in panes, either on the left or the right of your screen, they can be collapsed into an icon view to further optimize the working space. Once you have organized the panels, you can save your setup as a Workspace by choosing Window >
Workspace > Save Workspace.
12 Freehand to Illustrator Migration guide
Panels can be collapsed into an icon view to optimize the space available on your screen.
T H E I L L U S T R A T O R W O R K S P A C E
Context-sensitive menus
You can access many commands using context-sensitive menus. Context-sensitive menus display commands that are relevant to the active tool, selection, or panel. To display a context-sensitive menu, right-click in the document window or panel (or Control-click on Mac OS).
Tip: To print a list of Illustrator shortcuts, click Export Text in the Keyboard
Shortcuts dialog box (Edit > Keyboard
Shortcuts).
Common panel actions
A B C
When you right-click (or control-click on Mac os) on selected text (left) or a path (right), a menu allows you fast access to contextual commands.
D
A. Click to collapse/expand panel.
B. Click to collapse/expand panel.
C. Click to close panel.
E
D. Show pop-up menu for the panel.
F
E. Creates a new iteration of the panel’s “subject,” such as an action, brush, style, layer, or swatch.
Option-click (Mac OS) or Alt-click (Windows) to set options (except action and brush). Drag onto button to duplicate action, brush, style, fill/stroke (appearance), layer, or swatch.
F. Deletes action, brush, layer, or swatch; Optionclick (Mac OS) or Alt-click (Windows) to delete without confirmation (except for Variable panel).
other panel shortcuts
• Shift+Return/Enter to apply value and keep text box active.
• Command/Ctrl+~ (tilde) to highlight last-used text box in panel.
• Command/Ctrl+click to select noncontiguous actions, brushes, layers (same level only), links, styles, or swatches.
• Tab to show/hide panels.
• Shift+Tab to show/hide all panels except the
Tools panel.
Keyboard shortcuts
Illustrator lets you assign keyboard shortcuts for many operations. The
Keyboard Shortcuts dialog box serves as a shortcut editor, and includes all commands that support shortcuts, some of which aren’t in the default shortcut set. Shortcuts for tools are also shown in the knowhow palette. For a list of keyboard shortcuts, see page 44.
Preferences
Before you begin creating artwork with Illustrator, familiarize yourself with the program’s default settings—specifically the options available in the Preferences dialog box (choose Illustrator > Preferences > General in Mac OS or choose
Edit > Preferences > General in Windows). You can customize these settings to suit your needs, creating a work environment that’s both productive and comfortable. As you look through the panes in the Preferences dialog box, you’ll see that many of the options are identical to those in FreeHand. You’ll also find several unfamiliar but useful options, such as the option to use the clipboard to transfer selections between an Illustrator file and other Adobe applications.
The clipboard is particularly useful for moving paths from one application to another because paths are copied to the clipboard as PostScript language descriptions. Artwork copied to the clipboard is pasted in PICT format in the Illustrator Workspace 13
T H E I L L U S T R A T O R W O R K S P A C E
File handling & clipboard preferences let you choose how to copy your artwork to other applications.
most applications. However, some applications, such as InDesign, accept PDF or AICB (Adobe Illustrator Clipboard) data. PDF preserves transparency;
AICB lets you specify whether you want to preserve the overall appearance of the selection or copy the selection as a set of paths (which can be useful in
Photoshop and InDesign).
You may also want set the preferences for how anchors and handles appear onscreen (choose Illustrator > Preferences > Selection & Anchor Display in Mac OS or choose Edit > Preferences > Selection & Anchor Display in
Windows).
Color management
The Adobe color management system helps you maintain the appearance of colors as you import images, edit or transfer documents between Adobe applications, and output your finished compositions.
By default, color management is turned on in Adobe Creative Suite 3 components. You can synchronize color settings to provide consistent display for RGB and CMYK colors no matter which application you view them in.
To change color settings, choose Edit > Color Settings. To ensure that your
Adobe Creative Suite components are synchronized using the same color settings for consistent color management, choose Edit > Creative Suite Color
Settings in Adobe Bridge and select an appropriate profile.
For more information about color management, see Illustrator Help.
1 Freehand to Illustrator Migration guide
Setting up a New
Document
the Illustrator Welcome screen—your starting point for a new project.
When you create a new document, you can determine size, units of measurement, and orientation of the artboard. You will also be prompted to choose a color mode.
An Illustrator document consists of one single-page artboard that can be up to
227 square inches.
When you start Illustrator, the Welcome screen lets you access your recent documents or choose a new type of document for your choice of media. If you’re working on a video project, choose the Video And Film profile and select a size such as NTSC DV. Your color mode will be set to RGB and your artboard will automatically show the format’s dimensions with guides for video and titlesafe areas. If you’re working on a web project, choose a New Document Profile for the web to automatically set raster resolution to 72ppi and color to RGB.
Print profiles default to CMYK color and offer a range of popular artboard setups including preset raster-effects resolutions. You can also save your own custom profiles that specify setup parameters such as artboard dimensions, swatches, brushes, styles, and color spaces.
To create a new document, you can also choose File > New and choose a New
Document Profile depending on the intended use of your illustration. As noted above, the New Document Profile will correctly set dimensions, units, color mode and raster effects parameters based on the profile selected. Any of these settings can be modified to suit your needs.
You can change raster effects settings at any time by choosing Effects >
Document Raster Effects settings.
setting up a new document 1
S E T T I N G U P A N E W D O C U M E N T
You can change the document setup at any time by choosing File > document setup.
To change the color mode, choose File > Document Color Mode (you can’t change the color mode in the Document Setup dialog box).
Where’s the Document panel?
In FreeHand, you use the Document panel to target and select pages and to choose page dimensions, orientation, bleed settings, and printer resolution.
In Illustrator, choose File > Document Setup to change the attributes of the artboard. You use the Document Setup dialog box to choose settings for type and transparency at the document level. You can also define the dictionary used for spell-checking and hyphenation, the position of superscripts, the scale for small caps, or how to copy transparency effects over to the clipboard for use within Illustrator or in other applications .
In FreeHand, you determine the Bleed Area in the Document panel; in
Illustrator, the Bleed area is assigned in the Print dialog box.
1 Freehand to Illustrator Migration guide
The Illustrator document
The artboard represents the entire area that can contain printable artwork. The artboard’s dimensions may not match the current page size. For example, your artboard may be 10x20 inches, while your print settings specify 8-1/2x11-inch paper.
You can view the page boundaries in relation to the artboard by show-
Crop Area (if it has been set)
Printable area
Nonprintable area (printer margins)
Edge of the printed page
Artboard
Scratch area ing page tiling (View > Show Page
Tiling). When page tiling is on, the printable and nonprintable areas are represented by a series of solid and dotted lines. You can move the printable area across the artboard by using the Page tool.
The scratch area is the area outside of the artboard that extends to the edge of the 227-square inch window. The scratch area represents a space on which you can create, edit, and store elements of artwork before moving them onto the artboard.
Objects placed onto the scratch area are visible onscreen, but they do not print.
S E T T I N G U P A N E W D O C U M E N T the icons for Illustrator documents (top) and templates (bottom) let you know the type of file before you open it.
Document templates
You can use templates to create new documents that share common settings and design elements. For example, if you need to design a series of business cards with a similar look and feel, you can create a template with the desired artboard size, view settings (such as guides), and print options. The template can also contain symbols for common design elements (such as logos) and specific sets of color swatches, brushes, and graphic styles.
Illustrator comes with over 200 professionally designed templates, including templates for letterhead, business cards, envelopes, brochures, labels, certificates, postcards, greeting cards, and websites.
You can save your artwork in Adobe Illustrator Template (AIT) format to reuse or share with others. When you select a template using the New From Template command, Illustrator creates a new document with identical content to the template, but leaves the original template file untouched.
two of the many templates included with
Illustrator cs3. You can save any design or layout as a template by choosing File > save
As template.
setting up a new document 1
S E T T I N G U P A N E W D O C U M E N T units & display Performance preferences let you choose your measurement system.
•
•
•
How do I set up measurement units?
In Illustrator, there are several ways to select units of measurement:
In the Preferences dialog box, choose Units & Display Performance and select a unit of measurement. You can also choose different units for Stroke and Type, which are typically measured in points.
Choose the global measurement unit when you create a new document. You can always change the unit of measurement later by using the Document
Setup dialog box.
Override the default units by entering a value in the Control panel. For example, follow the value by any of the these abbreviations: inch, inches, in, millimeters, millimetres, mm, Qs (one Q equals 0.25 millimeter), centimeters, centimetres, cm, points, p, pt, picas, pc, pixel, pixels, and px.
Tip: Right-click (or Control-click in
Mac OS) in the ruler to open a menu from which you can select the unit of measurement.
Tip: To emulate the snapping feature in FreeHand, activate Smart Guides in
Illustrator by choosing View > Smart
Guides. Smart Guides are temporary snap-to guides that help you create, align, edit, and transform objects relative to other objects.
Using Guides and grids
Guides help you align text and graphic objects. You can create ruler guides
(straight vertical or horizontal lines) and guide objects (vector objects that you convert to guides). You can choose between two guide styles—dots and lines— and you can change the color of guides by using either predefined grid colors or colors you select using a color picker. By default, guides are unlocked, and can be moved, modified, or deleted. Guides can be locked in place by choosing View
> Guides > Lock Guides.
When you choose View > Show Grid, a grid appears behind your artwork in the illustration window. To change the spacing between gridlines, color of the gridlines, or grid style, choose Illustrator > Preferences > Guides & Grid (Mac OS) or
Edit > Preferences > Guides & Grid (Windows). Grids and guides do not print.
Tip: You can perform simple math in any box that accepts numeric values using a single mathematical operator, such as + (addition), - (substraction), x (multiplication), / (division), or %
(percent).
Where is the Guides Layer?
In FreeHand, there is a default layer called Guides that allows you to move guides over or under the artwork. In Illustrator, guides belong to the layer on which they were created; to emulate FreeHand’s behavior, create a layer and name it Guides. You can add guides to that layer, turn the layer on or off, and move it over or under the layers of your artwork.
1 Freehand to Illustrator Migration guide
S E T T I N G U P A N E W D O C U M E N T
Layer
Sublayer
Toggle layer visibility
Targeted layer
Indicates selected art (drag to move to another layer)
Layer color code
Lock/Unlock layer
Using layers
When creating complex artwork, it’s a challenge to keep track of all the items in your document window. Small items get hidden under larger items, and selecting artwork becomes difficult. Layers provide a way to manage all the items that make up your artwork. Think of layers as clear folders that contain artwork. If you reshuffle the folders, you change the stacking order of the items in your artwork. You can move items between folders and create subfolders. To display the Layers panel, choose Window > Layers.
The structure of layers in your document can be as simple or complex as you want it to be. By default, all items are organized in a single layer. However, you can create new layers and move items into them, or move elements from one layer to another. The Layers panel provides an easy way to select, hide, lock, and change the appearance attributes of artwork. You can even create template layers, which you can use to trace artwork, or exchange layers with Photoshop.
By default, Illustrator assigns a unique color to each layer in the Layers panel.
The color appears in the layer’s selection column when one or more objects within the layer are selected, and also appears in the selected object’s selection column. In addition, the same color appears in the document window in the bounding box, path, anchor points, and center point of the selected object. You can use this color to quickly locate an object’s corresponding layer in the Layers panel, and you can change this layer color to suit your needs.
When a layer or an object contains other layers or objects, a triangle appears to the left of the item’s name in the Layers panel. Click the triangle to show or hide the contents. When a layer or an object is selected, a colored square appears at the right edge of the items’s name in the Layers panel; to move the selected item to another layer or change its stacking order, drag the colored square to the desired layer.
the layers panel
Working with Graphics
Drawing
Drawing in Illustrator is very similar to drawing in FreeHand; you use the Pen,
Paintbrush, and Pencil tools to draw vector graphics in Illustrator. You can also draw basic geometric shapes by using tools such as the Rectangle, Ellipse, and
Polygon tools.
use the drawing tools in Illustrator to create vector graphics.
Tip: While using the Polygon or Star tool, press the Up Arrow and Down Arrow keys to add and remove sides from a polygon or points from a star.
Using the Pen tool
The Pen tool is the principal tool for drawing straight lines, Bézier curves, and complex shapes. In addition to its expected function, the Pen tool also performs the actions of the following three related tools:
•
•
The Add Anchor Point tool adds anchor points to a path (or use the Pen tool on a segment of a selected path).
The Remove Anchor Point tool removes anchor points (or use the Pen tool on existing points of a selected path).
• The Convert Anchor Point tool converts a corner point to a smooth point or vice versa (or press Option or Alt while using the Pen tool).
You can also find many Pen tool options in the Control panel, including controls for removing, connecting, and cutting paths, as well as the convert anchor point options.
Selecting and modifying paths and anchor points
In Illustrator, to select entire paths (with all anchor points selected) you use the Selection tool . To select individual anchor points, you can also use the
Direct Selection tool or the Lasso tool ; you can then move and modify anchor points. When you run your cursor over any anchor point, causing it to enlarge, you can easily see and select it. In FreeHand, selected anchor points are indicated by a hollow square; in Illustrator, selected anchor points are indicated by a filled square.
To align and distribute points, just as you would with objects, make a selection with the Direct Selection tool, and use the alignment controls in the Control panel (or the Align panel).
20 Freehand to Illustrator Migration guide
Live Trace
Tracing Presets and Options
Live Trace automatically turns placed images into beautifully detailed vector graphics that are easy to edit, resize, and manipulate.
To use Live Trace:
Step 1: Select a placed bitmap image, and click the Live Trace button in the Control panel to create a Live Trace object.
Step 2: See the results in the workspace, and, if desired, adjust your settings in the
Control panel. For example, select a preset for a different type of image, and choose the type of raster or vector preview you want to see. Click the Tracing Presets and
Options button to access more advanced tracing options.
Tracing Options Dialog Preview options
Create a Live Trace object Choose a tracing preset
Step 3: When tracing black-and-white images, adjust the Threshold setting in the
Control panel. Illustrator converts pixels lighter than the Threshold value to white and pixels darker than the Threshold value to black.
Note: After you trace a bitmap image, you may find details that you’d like to remove.
Use the Edit Original command in the Links panel to open the image in Photoshop where, for instance, you can remove a border or extraneous detail. Save your changes, and Live Trace automatically retraces the placed image.
Adjust the threshold to finetune the contrast of the traced image
Tip: Batch-process bitmap images or sketches using the Live Trace command in Bridge.
Tip: For more on Live Trace, see
Creating Vector Content Using Live Trace on the Adobe website ( www.adobe.
com/products/illustrator/pdfs/creating_ vector_content.pdf
) .
Working with graphics 21
W O R K I N G W I T H G R A P H I C S
Fill color
Default fill and stroke
Swap fill and stroke
Stroke color the color selection area in the tools panel
Creating and applying color
In Illustrator, there are several ways you can apply color to strokes and fills.
The Color Picker lets you select an object’s fill or stroke color by choosing from a color spectrum, defining colors numerically, or clicking a swatch. To display the Color Picker, double-click the fill or stroke color selection box in the Tools panel or Color panel.
In addition, you can use the Color panel to apply color to an object’s fill or stroke, and use it to edit or mix colors. The Color panel can display color values using different color models. To display the panel, choose Window > Color or click on Fill or Stroke in the Tools panel.
Working with swatches
Swatches are named colors, tints, gradients, and patterns. The swatches associated with a document appear in the Swatches panel. In addition, you can open libraries of swatches from other Illustrator documents, and access various color systems. Swatch libraries appear in separate panels and are not saved with the document until you drag and drop specific swatches to the Swatches panel.
Swatches can be organized in named groups and can be viewed in organized hierarchies.
the swatches and color panels the swatches panel lets you view and organize your named colors in groups. note that with artwork selected, double-clicking on a color group icon will recolor the selected artwork using the new colors in the color group.
22 Freehand to Illustrator Migration guide
How do I access Pantone Libraries?
To open a specific swatch library, including PANTONE®, HKS, Trumatch,
FOCOLTONE, DIC, TOYO, and Web, choose it from the Window > Swatch
Libraries submenu or the Open Swatch Library pop-up menu in the Swatches panel menu. When you open a swatch library, it appears in a new panel (not the
Swatches panel as in FreeHand). You select, sort, and view swatches in a swatch library the same as you do in the Swatches panel.
In FreeHand, swatches are global (meaning that when you modify the swatch, all items colored with it change accordingly); in Illustrator, you can choose whether or not swatches are global. You can save your own swatch libraries to use in other Illustrator documents. You can also share the swatches you create in one Creative Suite 3 Design edition component with other components by saving a swatch library for exchange. The colors look the same across applications as long as your color settings are synchronized.
Note: Creative Suite 3 components that currently support swatch exchange include
Illustrator CS3, Photoshop CS3 and InDesign CS3.
Live Paint
W O R K I N G W I T H G R A P H I C S
Live Paint lets you paint vector graphics more intuitively by automatically detecting shapes and correcting gaps.
To use Live Paint on a traced image:
Step 1: Select the traced vectors, and click the Live Paint button in the Control panel to convert them to a Live Paint group.
Step 2: Use the Live Paint Bucket tool to fill regions with color or gradients with the click of a button, and, using the Left Arrow and Right Arrow keys, choose which color swatch to apply. A red outline indicates regions that you can fill in individually. Or, drag the bucket across multiple regions to select them and fill them at once.
Step 3: Click the Gap Options button in the Control panel to locate and repair gaps where color leaks through open edges into adjacent regions.
Convert vectors to a Live Paint group Paint with the Live Paint Bucket Control gaps in your artwork
Live Paint options in the Control panel
Tip: Triple-click with the Live Paint
Selection tool to select all regions in a
Live Paint group that are filled with the same color.
Note: With a Live Paint group selected, you can click the Isolates Selected Group button in the Control panel to enter
Isolation mode. This mode effectively isolates the group, placing a gray border around it so that you can easily add paths to it.
Isolates selected group
Working with graphics 23
W O R K I N G W I T H G R A P H I C S kuler is the online tool for all things color. the kuler panel allows you to browse the rss feed of the kuler categories ( kuler.adobe.com
), download any kuler theme to the swatches panel, or upload your own colors or color groups to kuler, and collaborate with the kuler community. the color guide panel lets you quickly redefine color schemes based on a selection or by limiting the colors to a specific swatch library.
Live Color
Live Color is a complete color exploration environment within Illustrator CS3.
If you have ever been frustrated by having to color objects individually, you will appreciate this interactive way to create and apply color schemes.
Live Color lets you work with color in a variety of ways. Use its tools for inspiration—discover new and unique color combinations that you can save and reuse.
Interactively apply color to multiple objects at once, test color schemes quickly, and re-color artwork according to specific schemes such as PANTONE or any custom library.
Live Color includes the Color Guide panel, which invites exploration of color groups without affecting your artwork. Use the Color Guide panel to find compelling colors and save them to organized color groups in your Swatches panel. You can create color schemes based on 23 classic color-harmony rules such as Complementary, Analogous, Monochromatic, and Triad, or you can create custom harmony rules. Choose a base color, and then see what variations you come up with according to rules you choose. You can also limit color schemes to existing libraries such as PANTONE solids or any set of colors you may have saved in a previous project.
You can discover endless varieties of colors by playing with the color wheel and exploring harmonies in Live Color, no matter what their output media. For
Flash designers, Live Color allows fast creation of amazing color shift animation. Users of Adobe After Effects® CS3 software can experiment with color schemes on imported vectors using Live Color in Illustrator, and then automatically see the updates in After Effects.
Live Color is also ideal for presenting color options to clients. Quickly change the entire look and feel of a logo, a piece of collateral, or an illustration to present likely color schemes in the comp phase of a project. And saving color variations is easier than ever, so moving from comps to final production is efficient, thanks to quick application of saved schemes.
2 Freehand to Illustrator Migration guide
W O R K I N G W I T H G R A P H I C S
The Live Color dialog box
Map the colors in your artwork to new and unique color schemes
Live Color also includes the Live Color dialog box, which provides the tools for dynamically applying colors to selected objects. Select any number of objects in your artwork and access the Live Color dialog box from your Control panel, the Swatches panel, or through the Color Guide panel . Here you will find a color wheel with the colors in your selected objects mapped to the wheel.
The Live Color dialog box has all the options that are found in the Color Guide, and more. With an object selected, preview changes in your artwork live as you shift the entire tone of your artwork at once or adjust just one color with maximum precision.
Reduce the number of colors in your artwork, and Illustrator will intelligently re-map new colors to your objects based on the parameters you define.
Refer to Illustrator Help (Help > Illustrator Help) for more in-depth information about
Live Color.
Tip: In the Assign pane of the Live
Color window, you can choose a preset to turn your artwork, for example, into a two-color job.
When you change the number of colors in your artwork, you can define how you want Illustrator to map new colors to your objects
Working with graphics 2
W O R K I N G W I T H G R A P H I C S
Using the Eraser tool
You can define the diameter, angle, and roundness of your Eraser tool. Doubleclick the Eraser tool to show the Options dialog box, where you can set behaviors to achieve just the effect and the new shapes you want.
To easily erase more than a single selected object, go into Isolation Mode to segregate grouped objects, such as a Live Paint group, symbols, or any regular group by double-clicking the object. Once your objects are in isolation mode use the Eraser tool without disturbing the rest of your design.
drag vector graphics into the swatches panel and use them as patterns that you can apply to fills and strokes.
Patterns
Illustrator comes with many patterns that you can access in the Swatches panel and in the Illustrator Extras folder on the Illustrator CD. Patterns in Illustrator can be much more intricate than the patterns offered in FreeHand, and you can also design patterns from scratch with any of the Illustrator tools, customize existing patterns, and, more importantly, see the resulting patterns onscreen as you work.
Patterns tile from left to right from the ruler origin (by default, the bottom left of the artboard) to the opposite side of the artwork. To adjust where all patterns in your artwork begin tiling, you can change the document’s ruler origin.
Patterns intended for filling objects (fill patterns) differ in design and tiling from brush patterns. For best results, use fill patterns and brush patterns on the objects the way they were intended. Brush patterns can consist of up to five tiles (for the sides, outer corners, inner corners, and the beginning and end of the path). The additional corner tiles enable brush patterns to flow smoothly at corners.
In the gradient panel, you can determine the type and angle of the gradient or add stops by dragging swatches or colors into it.
Gradients
In Illustrator, you apply gradients to fills and objects from the Swatches panel or the Tools panel. You will find that gradients in Illustrator are much smoother than those you can create in FreeHand (without visible linear or radial steps) and output exactly as you have created them. In the Gradient panel, you can choose between radial and linear gradients, and determine the angle of the gradient and the location of colors. There are no handles to manually determine the starting and ending points of a gradient. Click the Gradient tool at the desired starting point and, then drag the cursor to the desired ending point.
Gradient colors are defined by a series of stops in the gradient slider (a minimum of two). A stop is the point at which a gradient changes from one
2 Freehand to Illustrator Migration guide
the symbols panel
W O R K I N G W I T H G R A P H I C S color to the next, and is identified by a square below the gradient slider. To change the color of a gradient stop, drag a color from the Color panel or the
Swatches panel onto it. The squares display the color assigned to each stop. With a radial gradient, the leftmost gradient stop defines the center point’s color fill, which radiates outward to the color of the rightmost gradient stop.
Once you create or modify a gradient, save it as a swatch by clicking the New
Swatch button in the Swatches panel. Alternatively, drag the gradient from the
Gradient panel or Tools panel to the Swatches panel.
Using symbols
Working with symbols is similar to working with graphic elements in a
FreeHand Library. A symbol is an art object that you can reuse in a document.
For example, if you create a symbol from a leaf, you can then add instances of that symbol multiple times to your artwork without adding the complex art itself. Each symbol instance is linked to the master symbol in the Symbols panel or a symbols library. Using symbols saves you time and greatly reduces file size.
You can make a symbol from any kind of vector, raster, or type object in your document or use Illustrator’s built-in Symbols library. To create a symbol, drag and drop a graphic element into the Symbols panel.
After you place a symbol on the artboard, you can edit the symbol’s instances and, if you want, redefine the original symbol. To edit a symbol and access its paths, double-click on a instance of it, and you will be in isolation mode. Make the necessary changes, and then double-click to exit isolation mode (or use the navigation at the top of the artboard), and all instances of that symbol are
Spun
Sized the symbolism tools let you add and manipulate multiple symbol instances at once. using the symbolism tools, you can spray, shift, scrunch, size, spin, stain, screen, or style symbols using styles from the graphics styles panel.
Stained with another color
Screened to become transparent
Working with graphics 2
the Appearance panel
W O R K I N G W I T H G R A P H I C S updated with the changes. Also, the Control panel shows all symbol-editing options, including instance name.
Symbols in Illustrator CS3 are enhanced for ease of use and better integration with Flash. Symbol options now include defining a symbol type as a Movie
Clip symbol or Graphic symbol, assigning the symbol a Flash registration location, and enabling guides for 9-slice scaling. You will also find similar interface elements, such as the F8 keyboard shortcut for creating a symbol and access to options via the Control panel like those in the Flash Properties Inspector.
The Appearance panel
In FreeHand, you determine the properties of your objects in the Object
Properties panel. In Illustrator, you use the Appearance panel to view and adjust the appearance attributes for an object, group, or layer. Fills and strokes are listed in stacking order; top to bottom in the panel correlates to front to back in the artwork. Effects are listed from top to bottom in the order in which they are applied to the artwork. To display the panel, choose Window > Appearance.
Appearance attributes are properties that affect the look of an object without altering its underlying structure. Appearance attributes include fills, strokes, transparency, and effects. If you apply an appearance attribute to an object and later edit or remove that attribute, the underlying object or any other attributes applied to the object don’t change.
You can set appearance attributes at any level of the layer hierarchy. For example, if you apply a drop shadow effect to a layer, all objects in the layer take on the drop shadow. However, if you move an object out of the layer, that object will no longer have a drop shadow, because the effect belongs to the layer, not to each object within the layer.
The Appearance panel is the gateway to working with appearance attributes.
Because you can apply appearance attributes to layers, groups, and objects—and often to fills and strokes too—the hierarchy of attributes in your artwork can become very complex. For example, if you apply one effect to an entire layer and another effect to an object in the layer, it may be difficult to determine which effect is causing the artwork to change. The Appearance panel shows you the fills, strokes, graphic styles, and effects that have been applied to an object, group, or layer.
2 Freehand to Illustrator Migration guide
W O R K I N G W I T H G R A P H I C S live transparency in placed Photoshop files allows you to create a stunning mix of vector and bitmap art.
Tip: To see the transparency grid (similar to the one in Photoshop), choose View >
Show Transparency Grid.
Placing graphics
The Place command is the primary method of importing graphics, because it provides the highest level of support for file formats, placement options, and color. After you place a file, use the Links panel to identify, select, monitor, and update it. Alternatively, you can use Adobe Bridge CS3 to drag and drop your assets onto the artboard. Bridge lets you organize and browse Illustrator and other creative assets. You can open Bridge from the Control panel.
One of the benefits of Creative Suite 3 is integration among its components.
This means that you can not only place EPS or TIFF files, but also place native
Photoshop files with transparency, or control the visibility of layer comps in linked, embedded, and opened Photoshop files as easily as you control the visibility of regular Photoshop layers. From the Links panel in Illustrator, choose Edit Original to open the file in Photoshop. When you save the file in
Photoshop, the linked file will automatically be updated in Illustrator.
Thanks to the Adobe Color Engine (ACE), placed graphics don’t suffer color shifts when moved from one application to another.
Isolation mode
In Illustrator CS3, Isolation mode is an essential method for working with complex artwork. Isolation mode is a boon for designers who spend a lot of time grouping, hiding, locking, and endlessly restacking layers to access objects for editing while protecting areas of artwork that need to remain untouched.
Isolation mode focuses on groups. All objects in any group respond to Isolation mode, as do Live Paint groups, symbols, and objects with envelope distortion applied to them. Simply double-click with the Selection tool on any group of objects, and see that the rest of your artwork becomes inaccessible.
In this example, the mountains are in isolation mode and can be edited without accidentally selecting the snowboarder
(dimmed).
Working with graphics 2
W O R K I N G W I T H G R A P H I C S effects from top to bottom: 3d, drop shadow,
Warp.
Filters and effects
Many commands for changing the look of objects are available in both the Filter and Effect menus. For example, all of the commands in the Filter > Artistic submenu are also listed in the Effect > Artistic submenu. However, filters and effects result in different outcomes, so it’s important to understand the difference in their use. Effects are live, which means you can apply an effect to an object and then continue to modify the effect’s options or remove the effect using the Appearance panel. Effects are nondestructive—they don’t change the underlying object. Once you apply an effect to an object, the Appearance panel lists the effect and enables you to edit, move, duplicate, or delete the effect, or save it as part of a graphic style.
Filters, on the other hand, change the underlying object, and the changes can’t be modified or removed after the filter is applied. One advantage to reshaping an object with a filter is that you have immediate access to the new or modified anchor points created by the process. (An effect must be expanded before you have access to the new points.)
Note that when you apply filters or effects to linked bitmap images, the images will be unlinked and become embedded in the document.
document raster effects settings dialog box
Document raster effects settings
Whenever you apply a raster effect such as Blur or Sketch, Illustrator uses the document’s raster effects settings to determine the resolution of the resulting image. These settings have a large impact on the resulting artwork; therefore, it’s important to check the document raster effects settings before you start working with filters and effects and, more importantly, before you export or print your artwork. You set rasterization options in the Document
Raster Effects Settings dialog box (Effect > Document Raster Effects Settings).
Document Raster Effects Settings will be set correctly when you choose the appropriate New Document profile for any particular medium.
30 Freehand to Illustrator Migration guide
Working with Text
the Paragraph panel and the options available from the panel menu.
single-line composer every-line composer
Text composition methods
The appearance of type on the page depends on a complex interaction of processes called composition. Using the word spacing, letter spacing, glyph scaling, and hyphenation options you’ve selected, Illustrator evaluates possible line breaks and chooses the one that best conforms to the specified parameters.
Illustrator offers two composition methods: the Adobe Every-line Composer and the Adobe Single-line Composer.
The single-line composer offers a traditional approach to composing type—one line at a time. This option is useful if you want manual control over how lines break or if you are working with legacy text that you do not want to reflow.
The every-line composer considers a network of break points for a range of lines, and can optimize earlier lines in the paragraph in order to eliminate especially unattractive breaks later on.
To choose one of these methods, choose it from the Paragraph panel menu.
If you select your type object with the Selection tool, Illustrator applies the method to all paragraphs that are contained in it; if you click the text insertion point in a paragraph the option will be applied only to that paragraph.
FreeHand uses a text composition engine that is very similar to the Adobe
Single Line Composer; if you notice unwanted text-reflow in a converted document, try changing the composition method.
Type tool
Area Type tool
Type On A Path tool
Vertical Type tool
Vertical Area Type tool
Vertical Type On A Path tool type tools in the tools panel
Type tools
•
•
In FreeHand, you use the Text tool to enter text, either into fixed size or auto expanding text blocks, to then flow it into a shape or attach it to a path. In
Illustrator, there are three methods for creating type: at a point, inside an area, and along a path.
Point type is a horizontal or vertical line of text that begins where you click on the artboard with the Type tool and expands as you enter characters.
This method is useful for adding a few words to your artwork. Point type resizes when you drag the handles of the bounding box.
Area type uses the boundaries of a selected vector object to control the flow of characters. When the text reaches a boundary, it automatically wraps to fit inside the defined area. This method is useful when you want to create one or more paragraphs, such as for a brochure. Create a container for area type by clicking and dragging a rectangular shape with the Type tool, or use the Area Type tool to select any closed path to contain your text. You can also create a text area by clicking and dragging on the artboard with the
Working with text 31
glyphs panel
Control panel
Font selection
Size, leading, kerning, and tracking
Horizontal and vertical scale, baseline shift, and text rotation
Underline and strikethrough
Language for hyphenation and spell checking
32 Freehand to Illustrator Migration guide
W O R K I N G W I T H T E X T
•
Type tool. You can modify the shape of the type area by dragging handles of the bounding box; text will reflow in the new shape.
Type on a path flows along the edge of an open or closed path. The text flows in the direction in which points were added to the path.
In addition to typing text in your artwork, you can import it from a variety of text file formats (for example Microsoft Word, RTF, or plain text documents) by choosing File > Place.
How do I insert special characters?
To insert special characters or characters for which you do not know the keyboard shortcut, use the Glyphs panel (Type > Glyphs). Using any type tool, click an insertion point where you want to enter the character, and then doubleclick the character you want in the Glyphs panel.
How do I format text?
In FreeHand, you can format text in both the Object Panel and the Text toolbar.
In Illustrator, you can format selected text directly in the Control panel or by using the Character or Paragraph panel.
Where are the text effects?
In Illustrator, there are no text-specific effects such as highlight, shadow, or zoom. You apply text effects from the Effect menu just as you would with any graphic element. You’ll find strikethrough and underline in the Character panel
(if you do not see these options, choose Show Options from the panel menu).
Paragraph panel
Character panel
Alignment
Indents
Space before and after paragraph
Automatic hyphenation
Text formatting tools
W O R K I N G W I T H T E X T
Type on a path
In FreeHand, you attach text to a path; Illustrator lets you type text on a path.
You can then move or flip text along the path by dragging the handles that appear on the sides of the text. Choose Type > Type On A Path to specify effects and other options, such as spacing.
How do I position two paragraphs around a circle like in FreeHand?
In FreeHand, you can press the Return or Enter to align a second paragraph of text in the lower part of an object. In Illustrator, you must first divide the object into two sections with the Scissors tool, and then you can flow the text along one path and onto the second path by linking the text objects.
type path effects include (from top to bottom) rainbow, skew, and 3d ribbon.
Tip: Illustrator CS3 threads text between objects. Click the in or out port of a selected type object, and then click and drag the loaded text icon to create a second threaded object. To break a thread, select a linked type object, and then double-click the port on either end of the thread.
In port
Linking text objects
If you want to insert text that will flow from one text area to another, you must link them. Each area type object contains an in port and an out port; an empty port indicates that all the text is visible and that the object isn’t linked. An arrow in a port indicates that the object is linked to another object. A red plus sign in an out port indicates that the object contains additional text (overflow text).
Out port
Thread
Overflow text indicator
When working with text that threads among objects, it can be useful to show the threads; if they are hidden, choose View > Show Text Threads, and then select a linked object.
How do I create rows and columns in a text area?
In FreeHand, you create multiple columns and rows in the Object panel; in
Illustrator, you use the Area Type Options dialog box. Select the text box in which you want to add columns or rows, and choose Type > Area Type Options.
Working with text 33
W O R K I N G W I T H T E X T use the opentype panel to apply such special characters as ligatures, true fractions, ordinals, and stylistic alternatives.
OpenType support
The OpenType font standard was developed jointly by Adobe and Microsoft, and it brings the advantages of the PostScript Type 1 and TrueType font formats into a new format that takes advantage of Unicode character encoding.
OpenType fonts use a single font file for both Windows and Macintosh computers, so you can move files from one platform to another without worrying about font substitution and other problems that may cause text to reflow.
When working with OpenType fonts, you can automatically activate alternate glyphs, such as ligatures, small capitals, fractions, and old style proportional figures. In Illustrator, these options are available in the OpenType panel
(Window > Type > OpenType).
Coffee & Tea for Breakfast
Coffee & Tea for Breakfast
Tip: To create a style based on any selected text, click the Create New
Style button in the Character Styles or
Paragraph Styles panel.
Paragraph and character styles
In FreeHand, you text formatting is saved at the object level; Illustrator allows you to save both paragraph styles and character styles to quickly apply them to other text. If you modify a paragraph or character style, the changes affect all text in the document with that style applied. A benefit of using styled text is that you do not lose local formatting such as bold or italic when you update a style.
Converting text to paths
The Create Outlines command lets you turn type into a set of compound paths that you can edit and manipulate as you would any other graphic object. When you create outlines from type, characters are converted in their current positions; they retain all graphics formatting, such as stroke and fill.
For more information, see Working with Type in Illustrator CS2 on the Adobe website ( www.adobe.com/products/illustrator/pdfs/Text_in_AICS2.pdf
).
3 Freehand to Illustrator Migration guide
Saving and
Exporting Files
the native Illustrator file formats, which you can access by choosing File > save, save As, or save A copy.
Saving
In FreeHand, you can save your pages as a FreeHand document, template, or editable EPS (a file that you can both place in page layout programs and edit if necessary). In Illustrator, you can save your work as Illustrator files or templates,
Illustrator EPS, Adobe PDF, and SVG (all of these are native formats that can easily be reused or imported because they preserve all Illustrator data).
If you need to use the Illustrator file in an Adobe workflow, you can leave it in the Illustrator file format (make sure that the Create PDF Compatible File option is selected in the Save As dialog box). You will then be able to place the file into InDesign layouts or further edit the file in Photoshop.
About PDF/X
PDF/X is a standard used for professional printing workflows. The benefit of using
PDF/X is that the produced PDF will not contain unnecessary information and will not include elements that may cause problems during output (such as RGB images).
Choose an Adobe PDF standard from the Standard menu at the top of the Save Adobe
PDF dialog box. Currently, the most widely used standards for a print publishing workflow are available in two different types of PDF/X formats: PDF/X-1a and PDF/X-3. For more information on PDF/X, see the Adobe website ( www.adobe.com/studio/print/psp.
html ).
PDF/X is an ISO standard used for graphic content exchange and professional workflows.
PDF/X-1a requires that all fonts be embedded, the appropriate PDF bounding boxes be specified, and color appears as CMYK, spot colors, or both. PDF/X-compliant files must contain information describing the printing condition for which they are prepared. You can open PDF files created with PDF/X-1a compliance in Acrobat 4.0 and later and Acrobat Reader 4.0 and later (renamed Adobe Reader from version 6.0 on).
The main difference between PDF/X-3 or PDF/X-4 and PDF/X-1a is the use of color management and device-independent color (CIE L*a*b, ICC-based color spaces, Cal-
RGB, and CalGray) in addition to CMYK and spot colors. PDF/X-3 allows you to use ICC color profiles to specify color data later in the workflow at the output device. You can open PDF files created with PDF/X-3 compliance in Acrobat 4.0 and later and Acrobat
Reader 4.0 and later. PDF/X-4 (based on PDF 1.7) supports transparencies, layers,
JPEG2000 image compression, and 16-bit images.
When saving Illustrator files as PdF, you can also choose from several PdF/X standards.
saving and exporting Files 3
S A V I N G A N D E X P O R T I N G F I L E S
Tip: To quickly create a PDF of a portion of your artwork, use the Crop Area tool to select the area you want to save. The PDF page will be exactly the dimensions of your crop area.
If you need to use your Illustrator artwork in applications outside of Creative
Suite you can save it as EPS, which is accepted by virtually all page layout, wordprocessing, and graphic applications. Note that EPS files can contain both vector and bitmap graphics.
Adobe PDF is the standard for the secure, reliable distribution and exchange of electronic documents around the world. PDF is highly effective in print publishing workflows. When you save as PDF, you can also choose to create a PDF/X-compliant file. PDF/X (Portable Document Format Exchange) is a subset of PDF that eliminates many of the color, font, and trapping variables that can lead to printing problems.
the save Adobe PdF dialog box allows you to save your artwork for distribution, review cycles, and high-quality printing.
Adobe Device Central
With Adobe Device Central CS3, you can streamline your mobile publishing workflow and save time when working on mobile content. Adobe Device
Central helps preview, test, and optimize your content as you work by providing specific target device templates so you can quickly switch back and forth between your Illustrator view and device preview.
Adobe Device Central, along with new integration features such as the Crop
Area tool and Flash text and symbol options, simply allows you to do more of your work in Illustrator. Take advantage of the power of Illustrator, whether you’re designing stills or motion, whether for mobile, broadcast, or the web.
Adobe device central lets you preview how your artwork will display on mobile devices.
3 Freehand to Illustrator Migration guide
S A V I N G A N D E X P O R T I N G F I L E S
A sliced, optimized header on a web page
Saving for web and devices
Although you can save your artwork as web-friendly files using the Export command, it is much simpler to use the Save For Web & Devices command.
Save For Web & Devices allows you to choose web file formats, select compression and color options, and preview the optimized artwork. Additionally, you can change the image size and export CSS (cascading style sheets) layers.
In Illustrator, you can use slices to define the boundaries of different web elements (such as HTML text, bitmap images, or vector graphics) in your artwork. For example, if your artwork contains a bitmap image that needs to be optimized in JPEG format, while the rest of the image is better optimized as a
GIF, you can isolate the bitmap image using a slice. When you save the artwork as a web page using the Save For Web & Devices command, you can choose to save each slice as an independent file with its own format, settings, and color panel. Slices in an Illustrator document correspond to table cells in the resulting web page. the save For Web & devices dialog box
2-Up tab Original artwork
Slice Select tool
Toggle Slices
Visibility button
Preview of optimized artwork
SWF, GIF, and JPEG options
CSS Layers for SWF
Optimized file size and approximate download time
Preview In Browser button
Preview in Adobe
Device Central saving and exporting Files 3
S A V I N G A N D E X P O R T I N G F I L E S
Exporting Flash animation from Illustrator
You export artwork as SWF files using the Export command or the Save For Web &
Devices command. Options in the Export dialog box give you more control over animation and bitmap compression options, while options in the Save For Web &
Devices dialog box give you more control over the mix of SWF and bitmap formats in a sliced layout. Although the Save For Web & Devices dialog box doesn’t let you set the
Image options that are available for the Export (SWF) command, the Save For Web &
Devices command does use the Export command’s last-used settings.
The Save For Web & Devices dialog box can also be a very convenient for previewing your animation in a web browser.
Creating frame-based animation
Flash animation is frame based. Keep that in mind when working with layers; each layer of the Illustrator document will become a frame of the animation.
Considering that Flash animation typically plays at 12 frames per second, you will need 12 layers for each second of animation.
Using symbols
If you create a layer-based animation of repeated shapes, you can use symbols instead of adding complex art to every layer. Each symbol instance is linked to the symbol in the Symbols panel or a symbols library.
basic and Advanced
Flash format options blend options
Apply effects to symbols using the
Symbols panel. The resulting file size will be smaller.
After you place a symbol, you can edit the symbol’s instances on the artboard and, if you want, redefine the original symbol.
Using blends to animate objects
Illustrator blends are very useful if you want to morph shapes or change colors as the animation proceeds. You can also modify the blend’s path with the drawing tools to create very intricate movements.
3 Freehand to Illustrator Migration guide
In this example, the star in the center has a Warp effect applied to it.
export your artwork to many standard file types by choosing File > export.
S A V I N G A N D E X P O R T I N G F I L E S
Adobe Flash CS3 Professional integration
Kick off your Flash projects with Illustrator CS3 and have confidence that your vectors will copy/paste and import reliably. The integrity of critical elements in your Illustrator artwork is now maintained in Flash Professional CS3, with intact paths—and correct anchor point positions—as well as gradients, clipping masks, and symbols. Plus, your entire Illustrator layer and grouping structure is preserved, along with all your object names. Now you can move back and forth between software more easily and take full advantage of the strengths of
Illustrator to create intricate and unique vectors for your animations.
Features that are of particular interest to Flash designers include Illustrator symbols and type tools. You can save any Illustrator shape as a symbol that you can paste into Flash, and use Symbol tool options that are now similar in
Illustrator and Flash. Take advantage of the power of Illustrator type tools to create text that you can better control in Flash, choosing to define it as Regular
Text, Dynamic Text, or Input Text, and assigning properties accordingly.
Exporting
If you need to use your file in workflows that do not support native Illustrator file formats, you can export the artwork into many alternate file types, including
AutoCAD Drawing (DWG), Macromedia Flash (SWF), or TIFF.
These formats are called non-native because Illustrator doesn’t include all of the data necessary to reopen the file in Illustrator. For this reason, it is recommended that you save artwork in AI format until you completed it, and then export the artwork to the desired format.
saving and exporting Files 3
Printing
Illustrator CS3 output is reliable and accurate, thanks to improved performance and such features as transparency flattening and overprint preview, whether you output to a printer or export as Adobe PDF. Feel confident that your Illustrator
CS3 artwork will print as you have created it.
The Page tool
An Illustrator document can be up to 227 square inches, but the paper you print on comes in standard sizes. You use the Page tool to define which part of the artwork appears on the printed page.
To view and use the Page tool:
1.
2.
3.
In the Print dialog box, choose a printer and a media size, and then click
Done.
Choose View > Show Page Tiling. Illustrator outlines the area that will print on the selected media size.
Select the Page tool (hidden behind the Hand tool in the Tools panel) and use it to move the print area as necessary.
The Crop Area tool
The Crop Area tool in Illustrator CS3 provides a working environment that includes dimensions and units tailored to your output. For print, the web, video, and film, predefined Crop Area characteristics set up your workspace so that it’s automatically efficient for the type of media that will display your designs.
Select the Crop Area tool in the toolbar and simply pull open any size rectangular area to crop. Look at the Control panel and see that you can enter a size and position for your crop area, choose to show or hide safe areas, and delete a crop area.
In the setup pane of the Print dialog box, you can choose crop Area from the crop Artwork to menu.
The Print dialog box
Printing your artwork in Illustrator is very similar to using the Advanced Print
Settings in FreeHand. The Print dialog box lets you click through panes that provide controls over general settings, document setup, marks and bleeds, output, graphics, and color management. Click Page Setup to specify page setup options.
0 Freehand to Illustrator Migration guide
Each category of options in the Print dialog box in Illustrator—from General to
Summary—is organized to guide you through the printing process:
General —Set the page size and orientation, specify how many pages to print, scale the artwork, and choose which layers to print.
Setup —Crop the artwork, change the placement of artwork on the page, and specify how to print artwork that doesn’t fit on a single page.
Marks & Bleed —Select printer’s marks and create a bleed.
Output —Create color separations or choose what plates to print.
Graphics —Set printing options for paths, fonts, PostScript files, gradients, meshes, and blends.
Color Management Select—a color profile and rendering intent for printing.
Advanced —Control the flattening (rasterization) of vector artwork during printing.
Summary —View and save a summary of print settings and warnings about possible output problems.
For more information about printing from Illustrator CS3, visit the Print
Resource Center on the Adobe website ( www.adobe.com/studio/print/ main.html
).
In the output pane of the Print dialog box, choose to print color separations, and specify ink, screen, and film or plate settings.
Toggle to print plate
CMYK plate
Spot color plate
Print preview
The Print dialog box
Printing 1
Flattener Preview panel
P R I N T I N G
Flattening transparency
Transparent effects in artwork must be flattened before they can be printed. To see areas that need to be flattened, choose Window > Flattener Preview, and then click Refresh. To fine-tune the transparency flattening settings or select another preset, choose Show Options from the panel menu. Click Refresh again to preview the results. Or, select an object, and then choose Object > Flatten
Transparency.
About Transparency and the Flattener Preview
Illustrator allows you to apply very complex transparency effects such as blends and fades, soft drop shadows, and feathered edges to your graphics.
Furthermore, you can change the opacity and apply blending modes to any object in Illustrator. Thanks to the integration between components in Adobe
Creative Suite 3, you can place native transparent Photoshop (PSD) files into your Illustrator artwork without rasterizing your compositions first (for example, saving as EPS or TIFF).
If you are new to native transparency, note that transparency is flattened when you export a document to a file format that doesn’t support native transparency from Illustrator, or when you print the document.
To preview what areas will be flattened, choose Window > Flattener Preview, and then click Refresh.
Transparency Flattener Presets
Illustrator CS3 offers three flattening presets—Low, Medium, and High
Resolution—so that you can quickly and easily flatten artwork for common print conditions. To edit these presets or to create your own, choose Edit >
Transparency Flattener Presets.
Tip: For more information on flattening, see A Designer’s Guide to Transparency for
Print Output on the Adobe website
( www.adobe.com/products/creativesuite/ pdfs/dgt.pdf
).
2 Freehand to Illustrator Migration guide creating your own transparency flattener presets
P R I N T I N G
Artwork with overprint Preview on Artwork with overprint Preview off
Overprint Preview
In the Illustrator Attributes panel, you can set the fills and strokes of elements of your artwork to overprint when it is separated for professional printing.
For soft (onscreen) color proofs of your artwork, choose View > Overprint
Preview. Overprint Preview approximates how blending, transparency, and overprinting will appear in color-separated output, which can save time and money by preventing unwanted surprises on press.
In the setup pane of the Print dialog box, you can define how pages of a large document tile on smaller pages.
Printing overlapping tiles
If your artwork does not fit on a single printed page, you can tile it. Tiling is dividing the artboard to fit a printer’s available page sizes. You can choose a tiling option in the Setup pane of the Print dialog box. To view the page tiling boundaries on the artboard, choose View > Show Page Tiling.
Just as Illustrator allows you to print large artwork on multiple pages, you can also output a large document to a multipage PDF file. To create a multipage PDF file, first define tiling in the Print dialog box, and then click Done. Choose File >
Save A Copy, choose Adobe PDF from the Format pop-up menu, and then click
Save. In the Save Adobe PDF dialog box that then appears, select Create Multipage PDF From Page Tiles in the General pane.
once you have defined a tiling method in the
Print dialog box, you can save your artwork as a tiled multipage PdF.
Printing 3
Keyboard Shortcuts
Illustrator CS3 offers keyboard shortcuts to functions otherwise available in menus or panels. You can customize your own sets of shortcuts, change individual shortcuts within a set, and switch between sets by choosing Edit >
Keyboard Shortcuts.
Here is a list of some of the most useful Illustrator CS3 keyboard shortcuts.
Creating objects
(Hold down keys until after releasing the mouse button.)
RESULT ACTION
Constrains objects horizontally, vertically, or proportionally.
Draws objects from their centers.
Opens dialog boxes with transformation tools.
Turns the cursor into the Hand tool.
Repositions an object while it is being drawn.
Maintains star inner radius.
Adds/subtracts sides, corner radius, star points, or spiral coils.
Changes the pointer to a cross hair for selected tools.
WindoWs
Shift
Alt
Alt-click
Spacebar
Spacebar-drag
Mac os
Shift
Option
Option-click
Spacebar
Spacebar-drag
Star tool+Ctrl-drag Star tool+Command-drag
Start drawing, and press Start drawing, and press the Up or Down Arrow press the Up or Down Arrow
Caps lock Caps lock
Viewing objects
RESULT ACTION
Fits imageable area in window.
WindoWs
Double-click Hand tool or Ctrl+0
Sets magnification to 100%. Double-click Zoom tool or Ctrl+1
Turns the cursor into the Zoom-in tool.
Click or select an area to zoom in.
Ctrl+spacebar
Turns the cursor into the Zoom-out tool.
Click to zoom out.
Locks/unlocks guides.
Ctrl+Alt+spacebar
Ctrl+Alt+;
Mac os
Double-click Hand tool or Command+0
Double-click Zoom tool or Command+1
Command+spacebar
Command+Option
+spacebar
Command+Option+;
Freehand to Illustrator Migration guide
Selecting and moving objects
(Watch the cursor to make sure you’ve pressed the correct keys.)
RESULT ACTION
Switches to the last-used selection tool.
WindoWs
Ctrl
Switches between the Direct Selection tool and the Group Selection tool. Alt
Ctrl+Tab Selects whether the Direct Selection or regular Selection tool is accessed by the Ctrl key.
Chooses whether an object, path, or point is selected or deselected.
Toggles selection/deselection for an object, path, point or group when using the Direct Selection or Group Selection tools.
Shift-click
Shift-click
Duplicates selection when using a selection or transformation tool.
Moves selection in user-defined increments.
Moves selection in 10x user-defined increments.
Constrains movement to a 45-degree angle (except Reflect).
Alt-drag
Arrow keys
Shift+arrow keys
Shift
Mac os
Command
Option n/a
Shift-click
Shift-click
Option-drag
Arrow keys
Shift+arrow keys
Shift
Transforming objects
(Hold down keys until after releasing the mouse button.)
RESULT ACTION
Constrains transformation proportionally, vertically, or horizontally.
Leaves the original object and transforms a copy.
Performs an Undo.
Performs a Redo.
Transforms pattern independent of object when using the Selection, Scale, Reflect, or Shear tool.
Resizes selection proportionally when using the Free Transform or Direct Selection tool.
Resizes selection from center when using the Free Transform or Direct Selection tool.
WindoWs
Shift
Alt
Ctrl+Z
Shift+Ctrl+Z
Tilde (~)-drag
Shift-drag
Alt-drag
Mac os
Shift
Option
Command+Z
Shift+Command+Z
Tilde (~)-drag
Shift-drag
Option-drag
Keyboard shortcuts
Painting
RESULT
Switches focus between fill and stroke.
Samples color from an image or intermediate color from a gradient when using the eyedropper.
Samples the style and appends the appearance of the currently selected item when using the eyedropper.
Tints process color.
Cycles through color modes. spectrum bar
Live Paint Bucket tool
RESULT
Applies new paint to fill color (ignoring stroke).
Applies new paint to stroke color (ignoring fill).
Changes to the eyedropper, which picks up stroke and fill.
Live Paint Bucket setting determines which is applied.
Changes to the eyedropper, which picks up pixel value of object.
Fills all adjoining areas of the same paint fill that are not separated with a painted stroke.
Paints similarly painted faces/edges that aren’t connected.
Live Paint Selection tool
RESULT
Switches to the eyedropper, which applies the current appearance to selected objects.
Switches to the eyedropper, which applies the pixel value of an object, such as selection along gradient, to selected objects.
Adds/subtracts from selection.
Selects all adjoining areas of the same paint fill that are not separated with a painted stroke.
Selects similarly painted faces/edges that aren’t connected.
Freehand to Illustrator Migration guide
ACTION
WindoWs
X
Shift-click
Alt+Shift-click
Shift-drag color slider
Shift-click color spectrum bar
Mac os
X
Shift-click
Option+Shift-click
Shift-drag color slider
Shift-click color
ACTION
WindoWs
Click
Shift-click
Alt
Alt+Shift
Double-click
Triple-click
ACTION
WindoWs
Alt
Alt+Shift
Shift-click
Double-click
Triple-click
Mac os
Click
Shift-click
Option
Option+Shift
Double-click
Triple-click
Mac os
Option
Option+Shift
Shift-click
Double-click
Triple-click
Live Trace button
RESULT
Creates a tracing object and converts it to paths.
Isolation mode
RESULT
Enters Isolation mode when using the Selection tool.
Exits Isolation mode when using the Selection tool.
Document control
RESULT
Switches between open Illustrator documents.
ACTION
WindoWs
Alt-click button
ACTION
WindoWs n/a
Mac os
Option-click button
ACTION
WindoWs
Double-click a group
Double-click outside of the group
Mac os
Double-click a group
Double-click outside of the group
Mac os
Command+tilde (~)
Keyboard shortcuts
Additional Resources
This guide is not meant to replace documentation that comes with Illustrator
CS3 or to be a comprehensive reference for every feature in Illustrator CS3.
To that end, this guide has mentioned many documents that offer more information on specific topics. In addition, Adobe offers many other useful resources for anyone who wants to learn more about Illustrator features, tools, and techniques.
Illustrator Help
Choose Help > Illustrator Help for the most complete Illustrator CS3 documentation, available as a floating panel as you work.
Bridge Home
Bridge Home provides up-to-date information on Illustrator 3 software in one convenient location. Visit Bridge Home to watch the latest tutorials, listen to podcast interviews with a leading designers, or learn about the next training event in your community. Bridge is accessed by clicking on the Bridge icon from the Illustrator Control panel.
Illustrator Design Center
Find a wealth of tips, tutorials, plug-ins, actions, and other design inspiration and instructional content on the Adobe website at http://www.adobe.com/designcenter .
Adobe Illustrator product pages
Go to the Adobe website at www.adobe.com/products/ i llustrator/ for links to useful documents and more information about Live Trace, OpenType fonts,
XMP, and professional printing from Illustrator.
Support Center
The Support Center on the Adobe website at www.adobe.com/support/main.html
offers a searchable knowledgebase, user forums, and other timely information about Illustrator CS3.
Freehand to Illustrator Migration guide
Download
Advertisement