Notes. Quark QuarkXPress 10.1
Mainos
Mainos
NOTES
Notes
The Notes feature lets you store comments ina project without affecting the actual content of the project. You can use notes to add reminders, comments on the content, or URLs to a project. An open note looks like adhesive or "sticky" notes you might stick to hard copy.
To use the Notes feature, you must have Notes XTensions software installed.
When used with Quark Publishing Platform, the Notes feature uses settings defined in
Quark Publishing Platform. For more information, see A Guide to Quark Publishing Platform .
Creating notes
To work with notes, first choose View > Show Notes to make sure notes are visible. (If this menu item displays as Hide Notes , notes are already visible.) When this option is unchecked, note icons are no longer visible in text and menu items for working with notes are disabled.
To create a note, place the text insertion point where you want to enter the note and choose Edit > Note > Insert . A Note icon displays to the right of the text insertion point and a note window displays. Enter the note text in the note window.
You can use notes to store comments in projects.
Always place a note at the beginning or end of a word, rather than in the middle of a word.
If you place a note in the middle of a word, the hidden text containing the note splits the word and causes QuarkXPress to treat it as two separate words when spell checking or performing a word count.
The Note icon is actually a special kind of text character. It does not affect the flow of text, but in other ways it works like a regular text character. For example, if you select a range
A GUIDE TO QUARKXPRESS 10.1 |
273
NOTES
of text that contains a Note icon, then start entering characters, the text (including the
Note icon) is replaced by the characters you enter, and the note is lost.
To change the formatting of notes, use the Notes preferences. For more information, see
"
Preferences — Application — Notes ."
Working with notes
You can use the commands in the Edit > Notes submenu to navigate through notes, to create and delete individual notes, and to open and close all notes in a project.
Opening and closing notes
To open and close notes as you review comments:
•
To open an existing note, click the Note icon and then choose Edit > Notes > Open
Note .
• To open all notes in the project, choose Edit > Notes > Open All Notes .
• To close a note, click the close box in the upper-left (Mac OS X) or upper-right (Windows) corner of the note window, or choose Edit > Notes > Close Note .
• To close all open notes in the project, choose Edit > Notes > Close All Notes .
• To move the text insertion point to the next note in the text, choose Edit > Notes > Go to Next . To move the text insertion point to the previous note in text, choose Edit >
Notes > Go to Previous .
Showing and hiding notes
To show notes when they are hidden, choose View > Show Notes . To hide notes when they are visible, choose View > Hide Notes .
Deleting notes
To delete a note, do one of the following things:
• Click the Note icon and then choose Edit > Notes > Delete .
• Click an open note window and then choose Edit > Notes > Delete .
• Place the text insertion bar to the right of the note icon and press Delete/Backspace.
• Select a range of text that contains a note icon and press Delete or Backspace.
Converting between notes and text
To convert the selected text to a note, choose Edit > Note > Convert Selection to Note .
274
| A GUIDE TO QUARKXPRESS 10.1
Viewing notes by author, date, name, or color
To view notes by a certain author or by the date they were created, choose View > Show
Notes to enable notes, choose Edit > Notes > Open Notes By to display the Open Notes dialog box, click All Notes , and then use the controls in the All Notes area.
To view notes by name or color, choose Edit > Note > Open All Notes in New Document
, then choose an option from the By Name submenu or the By Color submenu. The notes display as text in a new project.
Moving and resizing notes
To move a note window, drag its title bar. You can move note windows anywhere within a projectarticle. If a note has been moved, you can return it to its original location by clicking the note's button.
To resize a note, click and drag the resize box in the lower-right corner of the note window.
On Mac OS X, you can also click the icon in the upper-right corner of the note window to resize the note window to display all of the note's text.
Printing notes
When you print a project, you can choose whether you want notes to be included and how they should be formatted. In the Print dialog box ( File menu), click Notes in the list on the left to display the Notes pane, then check Print Notes to include notes in the output. You can choose whether to include all notes or only notes that are open.
Notes in PDFs
When you create a PDF from a project that contains notes, you can choose whether you want the notes to appear in the PDF. The notes are included as PDF notes.
To include notes in a PDF file, click Options in the Export as PDF dialog box ( File >
Export > Layout as PDF ), click Notes in the list on the left, and then check Include Notes in PDF .
NOTES
A GUIDE TO QUARKXPRESS 10.1 |
275
Lataa
Mainos