Using ImageBrowser. Canon S330
Mainos
Mainos
Using ImageBrowser
This section provides an overview of ImageBrowser and its functions.
•
Using the Browser Window
•
Changing the Appearance of the Browser Area
•
Organizing Images
•
Editing Image Using Image Viewer
•
Slide Show
•
Time Tunnel
•
Adding Sound to Image
•
Creating Image Files Attached to E-mail
•
Opening Image Selected in the Browser Area from Other Applications
15
Using the Browser Window
This section describes the names and functions of the areas and buttons in the Browser Window, the main window of ImageBrowser.
(6) The number of images contained in the folder is displayed.
Using the Browser Window 16
(1) Explorer View
This view presents the names of your hard drives and the folders contained in the hard drives.
When your Canon digital camera is connected, double-click the Canon Camera icon to open the Camera Window, where the images stored in your digital camera are displayed.
(2) Browser area
The Browser area presents the images in thumbnail format contained in the folder currently selected in the Explorer View.
The View menu allows you to change display settings such as the size of thumbnails, the items displayed, and the display mode.
Refer to Changing the Appearance of the Browser Area
.
(3) Control panel
This area contains several buttons to manipulate the images in the Browser Window.
(4) CANON CAMERA button
Click this button to access your Canon digital camera connected to your computer, and download the images in the camera to display in the Camera Window.
Refer to Using the Camera Window .
(5) SELECT ALL button
Clicking this button selects all images in the Browser area.
(6) The number of images contained in the folder is displayed.
(7) Thumbnails
Thumbnails are reduced images contained in the selected folder in the Explorer View. Click a thumbnail to select its associated image.
To select multiple images, click each thumbnail while pressing the Shift key.
Using the Browser Window 17
(2) REDUCE button (4) DISPLAY IMAGE button
(1) SEND TO TRASH button (3) ENLARGE button (5) PRINT button
(1) SEND TO TRASH button
Click this button to delete the selected images (image files) in the Browser area.
(2) REDUCE button
Click this button to reduce the size of thumbnails displayed in the Browser area. You can also use the Reduce and Enlarge commands in the View menu to change the size of thumbnails displayed in the Browser area.
(3) ENLARGE button
Click this button to increase the size of thumbnails displayed in the Browser area. You can also use the Reduce and Enlarge commands in the View menu to change the size of thumbnails displayed in the Browser area.
(4) DISPLAY IMAGE button
Click this button to display the selected image (thumbnail) in the Image viewer.
Refer to Editing Image Using Image Viewer
.
(5) PRINT button
Clicking this button opens the submenu from which you can select either the Layout printing or Index printing . Refer to
Using the Browser Window 18
Changing the Appearance of the Browser Area
The Browser area of ImageBrowser presents the images and their associated information contained in the selected folder in the Explorer View.
The information on the image appears.
The display format can be changed. Refer to
Thumbnail
The size can be changed.
Browser area
The display format can be changed.
Refer to Switching to the Preview
.
Changing the Appearance of the Browser Area 19
Switching to the Preview Display
The selected image can be previewed. In this mode, the image is sized and displayed so that it fits in the Browser area.
Select the View Mode from the View menu, and then select the Preview from the submenu that appears. The mode switches to the preview display mode.
Select the List from the submenu to return to the list mode.
Changing the Appearance of the Browser Area 20
Changing Display Options
You can control what information about an image is displayed below the thumbnail.
Select the View Settings from the View menu, and then select the information you want to display from the submenu that appears.
Changing the Appearance of the Browser Area 21
Organizing Images
Changing the Location of Images
To place an image to a different folder, simply drag and drop it (its thumbnail) in the Browser area onto another folder in the Explorer View.
You can copy an image to a different folder by dragging it while pressing the Option key.
The folder where the selected image is stored.
Drag and drop an image (its thumbnail) onto the folder you want to place it.
The figure below shows the steps to create a new folder.
Organizing Images 22
(1) Select the folder in which you want to create a new folder.
(2) Select the New Folder from the
File menu.
An untitled folder is created and its name can be entered.
To move a folder to a different location in the Explorer View, drag and drop it onto another folder. You can copy a folder to a different location by dragging it while pressing the Option key.
Organizing Images 23
Deleting Image
To delete an image, select its thumbnail in the Browser area and click the SEND TO TRASH button.
To delete a folder, select the folder in the Explorer View and click the SEND TO TRASH button.
(1) Select the image you want to delete.
(2) Click the SEND TO
TRASH button.
(3) The selected image is deleted.
Note ➤
When you delete an image that has not been imported but is just displayed in the
Browser area, the image is deleted from the memory card of the camera.
Even if you delete an image by clicking the SEND TO TRASH button, it is just moved to the Trash. To completely delete the image files contained in the Trash, select Empty Trash from the Special menu in the Finder.
Organizing Images 24
Updating Information in the Browser Area
When you create a new folder, or move, copy or delete an existing folder in the Finder, these changes are not reflected immediately in ImageBrowser. In cases where you have managed files or folders in the Finder or other applications, select the Refresh from the View menu to update the contents of the Browser area.
Organizing Images 25
Editing Image Using Image Viewer
To display an image in the Image viewer, click its thumbnail in the Browser area to select it and click the DISPLAY IMAGE button to run the Image viewer.
Use the image.
ENLARGE button or the REDUCE button to magnify or reduce the size of the
The Image viewer is also invoked by double-clicking an image
(thumbnail) in the Browser area. You can perform such actions as
DISPLAY IMAGE button
Click this button to invoke the Image viewer.
The size of the image is displayed.
The display scale of the image appears.
Editing Image Using Image Viewer 26
Cropping Image
Select the portion of the image you want to keep by mouse-dragging over it, and then click the
CROP button. Area outside the selection is trimmed away.
Cropped area
CROP button
Clicking this button will trim the area outside the selection.
Editing Image Using Image Viewer 27
Adjusting Image Colors
You can change the hue, saturation, and lightness of the image displayed in the Image viewer.
Clicking the ADJUST COLOR button opens the Adjust Color dialog box, which allows you to make color adjustments.
The Hue , Saturation , and Lightness are adjustable.
Click the OK button to make the changes take effect.
ADJUST COLOR button
Click this button to open the Adjust Color dialog box.
Editing Image Using Image Viewer 28
Saving Image after Processing
The modified image file can be saved with a new name.
SAVE button
Clicking this button opens the Save File window.
Type in a file name and specify the file type, and click the Save button. The image is saved as a new file.
Editing Image Using Image Viewer 29
Slide Show
You can review sequentially the selected images in the Browser area as a slide show in full screen mode.
Steps
1
Choose the Slide Show Options from the View menu.
The window containing options for a slide show opens.
Slide Show 30
2
Specify the playing mode and options for slide show.
The window allows you to specify the following options:
Auto Play : When you select this option, specify the interval of image switching with the slider.
Repeat Continuously : When this radio button is selected, the slide show is repeated endlessly, working as a screen saver. Press the ESC key to exit the slide show.
3
Specify effects for slide show.
Click the button to choose from the following effects:
Random : Images are randomly selected and arranged to be displayed on the screen.
Fade : The current image fades out to be replaced with the next image.
Slide : The current image is replaced with the next image sliding from the specified side.
Push : The current image is pushed away in the specified direction to be replaced with the next image.
Wipe : The current image is overwritten by the next image from the specified side.
Zigzag : The current image is overwritten by the next image from the specified side with a zigzag-shape boundary.
4
Click the OK button.
The window for the slide show options closes to return to the Browser Window.
Slide Show 31
5
Select images in the Browser area you want to display as a slide show.
Slide Show 32
6
Select the Slide Show from the View menu.
The selected images are sequentially displayed in full screen mode.
The slide show terminates when the last image has been processed.
Slide Show 33
■
Slide show navigation buttons
The following buttons are displayed when you invoke the slide show function.
Select image(s) in the Browser
Deselect/Select image(s) in the Browser Window
Clicking this button will deselect the current image (selected in the Browser area). Click again to select the same image.
Mark images for printing
If you want to print the current image, click this button while it is being displayed. When the slide show ends, the program automatically proceeds to the layout printing. Click again to disable the printing of the image.
Return to first image
Click this button to go back to the first image.
Slide Show 34
Return to previous image
Click this button to return to the previous image.
Pause
During the auto play, click this button to suspend the slide show.
Click again to resume the slide show.
Display next image
The next image is displayed.
Display last image
The last image is displayed.
Close slide show
Exits the slide show.
Note that these buttons will not be displayed when the Hides buttons check box in the Slide Show
Options dialog box is checked.
Slide Show 35
Time Tunnel
When you select the View Mode , then Time Tunnel from the View menu, the Browser area changes to the Time Tunnel display mode. In this mode, the images contained in the selected folder appear in the Browser area as if you were in front of the entrance to a time tunnel. Images are allocated to the walls in order of creation date.
Drag the slider in the floating pallet displayed to the right of the Time Tunnel window to show older or newer images. The Tool Pallet allows you to change the appearance of the Time Tunnel window.
When you select a different folder in the Explorer View, the images in that folder are shown in the
Time Tunnel window.
Drag the slider to zoom in/out of the time tunnel.
Menu button
Clicking this button displays the popup menu in which you can select the Display Tool Panel,
Auto Cruise, etc. Tool Panel
To return to the standard Browser area mode, select the List item from the submenu that appears when you point to the View Mode command in the View menu.
Time Tunnel 36
Adding Sound to Image
ImageBrowser enables you to add sound (audio data) to an image file. The sound input device selected in the Sound Panel is used for recording.
Steps for Recording
1
Select the image to which you want to add sound.
2
Select the Record from the Sound menu.
The Record panel is displayed over the Browser Window.
3
Click the Record button to start recording. The Record panel during recording is as shown below.
Adding Sound to Image 37
4
To finish recording and save the sound data, click the Save button.
The recorded sound data is saved as a sound file. A mark appears in the bottom left corner of the selected image (thumbnail), indicating that sound data is attached to that image file.
Mark
The created sound file is stored in the same folder as the image file.
Steps for Playing
1
Select the thumbnail that has a sound mark in the bottom left corner.
2
Select the Play from the Sound menu.
Adding Sound to Image 38
■
Sound Panel
When you select the Sound Panel from the View Settings submenu in the View menu, the Sound
Panel is displayed.
The buttons on the Sound Panel provide convenient access to the commands in the Sound menu.
Stop Pause Record Play Volume slider
Adding Sound to Image 39
Creating Image Files Attached to E-mail
ImageBrowser allows you to quickly edit the image selected in the Browser area and attach them to
E-mail using the wizard.
1
Select the image you want to attach to your E-mail in the Browser area. Choose the
Create image for Email command from the Internet menu to open the Create image for Email dialog box. At the same time, the wizard starts.
Select the Resize and Compress image(s) into JPEG format option.
If you select the Send image(s) without compression option, the image data will be sent with your message as it is (not compressed).
Click the Next button.
Creating Image Files Attached to E-mail 40
2
In the next wizard dialog box, specify the Resize rate and the quality of JPEG data.
When you click the Compress button, the calculated file size after compression is displayed at the bottom of the dialog box.
Click the Next button.
Creating Image Files Attached to E-mail 41
3
In this dialog box, specify the action after data compression.
If you select the Start email application after closing check box, your E-mail application will automatically start upon completion of data compression.
Click the Preview button to preview the image that has been compressed.
Click the Finish button.
Creating Image Files Attached to E-mail 42
4
A new folder called Email Images is created in which the compressed image is stored.
To attach the compressed image to your E-mail message, drag and drop the thumbnail in the Browser area onto your message in your E-mail application.
Creating Image Files Attached to E-mail 43
Opening Image Selected in the Browser Area from Other
Applications
ImageBrowser allows you to register other application programs. You can start the registered application programs from ImageBrowser and open the images displayed in the Browser area using those programs.
■
Registering Application Programs
Open the Preference window by selecting the Preference from the Edit menu.
Opening Image Selected in the Browser Area from Other Applications 44
Click the Add button to the right of the Register Application list box. Select the application program you wish to register in the Select File dialog box that appears.
Click the OK button to complete the registration.
■
Starting a registered application program
To run a registered application program, select an image in the Browser area and then select the name of the application program from the Start Application submenu in the Edit menu. The specified application starts, and the selected image is loaded to the application.
Refer to the documentation of the invoked application program for more information about how to use it.
Opening Image Selected in the Browser Area from Other Applications 45
Lataa
Mainos