TRANSFERRING SETTINGS TO A NEW INSTALLATION
CONTENTS
7
Note: Some third‐party plugins install DLLs which will not be migrated.
Do not use the new RIP before performing the migration except, perhaps, to check that it operates and that the user interface appears in the correct language. If you do more, the migrated page setups may conflict with, and override, settings that you think you have made in the new RIP. If you have made tests and created page setups and other settings, we suggest that you delete that installation of the RIP and migrate into a fresh installation.
A quick overview of the procedure is:
• Use the utility—see
“Using the migration tool” on page 7 .
•
Copy or re‐create any items and settings not transferred by the utility—see “Copy or re‐create any items not transferred by the utility” on page 9 .
• Check the RIP—see
“Check the new RIP” on page 9 and read “Notes on transferred page setups” on page 9
.
5.1 Using the migration tool
1.
Before starting the migration procedure, quit all loaded versions of the Harlequin RIP.
Note: Before using the migration tool, you must have loaded each of the two RIP versions at least once. The migration tool will not find RIPs that have not previously been loaded. However, it is
not necessary to have run any jobs through the RIP prior to using the migration utility.
2.
Start the Migrate utility by running
Migrate.exe
. The Harlequin RIP Migration Utility dialog box
opens, as shown in Figure 1 . The controls in the dialog allow you to select the old and new RIP
versions that you want to transfer settings and password files between.
3.
Choose the old RIP (the one you are transferring from). Click the button labelled Select “From” RIP and, using the dialog box that opens, navigate to the installation folder containing the RIP, then click Open. The program will scan the folder and its subfolders, searching for all instances of the
Harlequin RIP. Any RIPs found are displayed in the Version menu.
4.
Depending on the folder selected, or how you have installed the RIPs, there may be more than one RIP to choose from in the Version menu. From the menu, choose the appropriate RIP.
Figure 1 Harlequin RIP Migration Utility dialog box
TRANSFERRING SETTINGS TO A NEW INSTALLATION
CONTENTS
8
5.
Choose the new RIP (the one you are transferring to). Click the button labelled Select “To” RIP and, in the dialog box that opens, choose the folder containing the new RIP. Again, depending on the folder selected there may be more than one RIP in the Version menu.
Note: The “To” RIP cannot be the same as the “From” RIP, otherwise, Migrate will issue an error message and abort.
6.
Click the Migrate button to start the migration process. The utility scans the old RIP and displays its progress in the Messages text panel. (While doing this, the utility is building a list of changes in files held in a temporary folder in the new RIP.)
A typical period is up to five seconds per simple page setup when scanning and under a second per file when merging the temporary files. During these processes there should be no long pauses (over 60 seconds) without text appearing in the Messages text panel.
If you are performing a migration from a 32 to 64‐bit RIP the following message appears inform‐ ing you that plugins will not be migrated:
Figure 2 32-bit to 64-bit warning
7.
Click OK to continue.
If the utility fails to find information about a plugin, it is unable to transfer any page setups using that plugin. The utility reports each problem of this kind with a dialog box displaying the mes‐ sage:
There is no information in the Tones Table for the plugin (plugname)
Click OK to dismiss the dialog box. If any page setups use this plugin you will see this message:
The page setup “setup_name” could not be migrated.
Do you wish to continue?
Click OK if you wish to continue with the migration, without the named page setup. Click Cancel if you wish to cancel the whole migration session.
If the utility reports this error for a plugin supported by your supplier, or you see any other prob‐ lems, contact your supplier and give details.
8.
If there are no problems, the utility displays a dialog box asking:
Figure 3 Merge SW folder prompt
Click OK to merge the temporary files and commit the changes. Again, the Messages text panel shows the progress of copying the files. Alternatively, click Cancel if you wish to leave your new
RIP unchanged.
Note: Delete the newSW
folder inside the
SW
folder if you click Cancel and quit the migration.