Reference. HP t5745 Thin Client, t510 Flexible Thin Client, t610 PLUS Flexible Thin Client, t610 Flexible Thin Client, t5565 Thin Client
โฆษณา
โฆษณา
3 Reference
This section describes all utilities and procedures available to administrators and users in the HP
ThinPro control center. Click one of the three buttons in the left pane to access the corresponding window:
●
: Access and manage remote connections in the Connections window.
●
Control Panel on page 25 : Configure peripherals, set up the user experience, personalize the
desktop, and manage various utilities on the five Control Panel tabs.
●
System Information on page 51 : View system, network, and software information and run
diagnostic tests on the five System Information tabs.
Connections
HP ThinPro allows you to access and manage remote connections such as ICA, XenApp, RDP,
TeemTalk, VMware View, X Windows, Web Browser, etc. To access all HP ThinPro functionality, you must log in as an Administrator. As a User, you can run connections and have limited access to HP
ThinPro functionality.
The HP ThinPro display, when configured, lists all server and/or application connections assigned to the user currently logged on to the terminal. For each connection, the display shows the name, type, and status of the connection.
NOTE:
Double-click any displayed connection to activate that connection.
In Administrative Mode, you can configure and assign connections by clicking Connections.
Connections 5
The Connections window lists all connections that you can assign to users. You can add, edit, and delete connections from this window.
●
Connection Name: Displays the name of the connection. You cannot change the connection name from this column.
●
Type: Displays the type of connection (ICA, XenApp, RDP, TeemTalk, VMware View, Web
Browser, etc.). You cannot change the connection type from this column.
●
Status: Displays the status, active or inactive, of the connection.
There are eight buttons across the top of the connection list:
●
Connect on page 7 : Click to start a selected connection.
●
Disconnect on page 7 : Click to disconnect a selected connection.
●
General settings on page 7 : Click to manage connection settings.
●
Add on page 10 : Click to create a new connection and add it to the list of available
connections.
●
Copy on page 24 : Click to copy a connection and add it to the list of available connections.
●
Delete on page 24 : Click to delete the selected connection. The connection is deleted from the
lists of connections assigned to all users, not just the user currently logged on to the terminal.
●
: Click to edit the selected connection.
●
: Click to edit connections visible in User Mode.
6 Chapter 3 Reference
Connect
To open a connection, select a selection under Connection Name that has a Status of inactive and click Connect.
Disconnect
To close a connection, select a selection under Connection Name that has a Status of active and click Disconnect.
General settings
General settings are shared by all connections of a given connection type. Three types of connections are available: Citrix ICA, Web Browser, and RDP. The options for each connection type are listed below:
Citrix ICA
The options available for a Citrix ICA connection are listed in the tables below:
Table 3-1 Citrix ICA connection options
Option
Enable HDX MediaStream
Enable Windows Alert Sound
ICA Acceleration (LAN Only)
Allow Backing Store
Use Server Redraw
Disable Info Box Before Connecting
Use Asynchronous COM-port Polling
Allow Smart Card Logon
Enable Off Screen Surface
Enable Session Sharing
Enable Auto Reconnect
Enable UseLocalIM
Description
Whenever possible, HDX MediaStream leverages the processing power of the thin client to render the multimedia content. On the datacenter side, the compressed multimedia information is sent directly to the thin client in its native format.
The experience will vary based on the processing power and multimedia capability of the thin client.
Enable the Windows alert sound.
Enable ICA Acceleration.
Allow for backing store.
Use the server's redraw functionality.
Do not display the information box displayed before a connection is completed.
Use asynchronous polling of the COM port.
Use a client-connected Smart Card for logon authentication.
Directs the ICA Client to draw screen updates to an in-memory bitmap rather than to the screen, improving bandwidth efficiency.
Enable the session to be shared.
Enable automatic reconnection of dropped connections.
Uses the local input method to interpret keyboard input. This is supported only for European languages.
Connections 7
Table 3-1 Citrix ICA connection options (continued)
Option Description
Use EUKS Number
Minimum Bitmap Cache Size
Controls use of Extended Unicode Keyboard Support on
Windows servers:
0=no EUKS
1=EUKS used as fallback
2=use EUKS whenever possible
Minimize the bitmap cache size.
Table 3-2 Citrix ICA connection local resources options
Option Description
Allow Audio Input
Auto Printer Creation
Drive Mapping
Enable Drive Mapping
Allow audio input from the thin client.
Automatically create a printer.
Allows you to specify drive mappings to local paths.
Table 3-3 Citrix ICA connection window options
Option Description
Enable Seamless Window
Default Window Size
Default Window Colors
Default 256 Color Mapping
Allows you to display a single window on the local ThinPro desktop as if it were a native application.
Establish the default window size. Options are: Full Screen,
Fixed Size, Percentage of Screen Size.
Establish the default window colors. Options are: 16, 256,
16-bit, 24-bit, Automatic.
This option is only enabled if Default Window Colors is set to 256. Options are: Shared - Approximate Colors and Private - Exact Colors.
Table 3-4 Citrix ICA connection firewall options
Option Description
Proxy
Proxy Type
Proxy Address
Proxy Port
Username
Proxy server settings.
Options are: None - direct, SOCKS, Secure - HTTPS, Use browser
settings, Automatically detect proxy.
The IP address of the proxy server.
The port for connection to the proxy server.
The username to use for connection to the proxy server.
8 Chapter 3 Reference
Table 3-4 Citrix ICA connection firewall options (continued)
Option Description
Password
Use Alternate Address for
Firewall Connection
The password to use for connection to the proxy server.
The Citrix ICA Client will request the alternate address defined for the server when contacting servers inside the firewall. The alternate address must be specified for each server in a server farm.
Table 3-5 Citrix ICA connection server location options
Option Description
Default Protocol
TCP Address
HTTP Address
The default protocol for this connection. Options are: TCP/IP Browser, TCP/IP
HTTP Browser, SSL/TLS HTTPS Browser.
The TCP address of the Citrix server. The three buttons enable you to add, edit, or delete entries from the list.
The http address of the Citrix server. The three buttons enable you to add, edit, or delete entries from the list.
Table 3-6 Citrix ICA connection keyboard shortcuts options
Option Description
Handling of keyboard shortcuts
Stop Direct key handling
List of individual function keys and their mappings.
Specifies how function keys should be handled. Options are:
Translated, Direct in full screen desktops only, and
Direct.
Not enabled when the option Handling of keyboard
shortcuts is set to Translated.
Only enabled when Handling of keyboard shortcuts is
Translated or Direct in full screen desktops only.
Web browser
The configuration options for a web browser connection are:
Table 3-7 Web browser connection general options
Option Description
Web Browser preferences
Allow connections to manage their own settings
Pressing this button starts the web browser options dialog.
Allow the web browser to control the connection settings.
Connections 9
RDP
The configuration options for an RDP connection are:
Table 3-8 RDP connection general options
Option
Send hostname as
Description
Send your thin client's MAC address or hostname as the hostname specified to the remote system.
Add
The Add button is used to create new connections. When a new connection is created, you are guided to set connection-specific options by a wizard interface. The wizard dialog boxes contain a Previous and Next button which allows you to move forward and back through the wizard dialogs.
Each connection type wizard contains a dialog named Advanced that contains common settings for all connection types. The following table describes the Advanced connection wizard settings:
Table 3-9 New connection advanced settings
Option
Fallback Connection
Auto start priority
Auto reconnect
Wait for network before connecting
Show icon on desktop
Allow the user to launch this connection
Allow the user to edit this connection
Description
If the connection fails to start, attempt to start the fallback connection instead.
NOTE:
This option is not available for the XenApp and
VMware View connection types.
The autostart priority determines the ordering of connection startup. 0 means the connection is disabled, with the other values determining the startup ordering.
Valid options are: 0, 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5.
Attempt to auto-reconnect if this connection is dropped.
Disable this option if your connection doesn’t need the network in order to start or if you don’t want to wait for network to start the connection.
A desktop icon will be created for this connection.
This connection can be launched by a non-administrative user.
This connection can be modified by a non-administrator user.
NOTE:
The Allow the user... options are available only in the Administrative Mode.
You can create any of the following connection types:
●
●
10 Chapter 3 Reference
●
●
●
●
●
●
●
●
Citrix ICA
1.
To add a Citrix ICA connection, click Connections > Add.
2.
Select Citrix ICA. Select the appropriate values for the network settings:
Table 3-10 New Citrix ICA connection network settings
Option Description
Connection Name
Network
Server Location
Server Type
Server
Protocol
Application
Credentials
Username
Password
Domain
Allow Smart Card Logon
The connection name.
Network-specific settings section.
The server location.
The server type. Valid options are: Server or Published Application.
Clicking Browse allows you to browse for a server. The Use default allows you to specify the default server type.
Server name.
The network protocol to use for the connection. Valid options are: Default,
TCP/IP Browser, TCP/IP HTTP Browser, and SSL/TLS HTTPS
Browser.
Application.
Logon credential settings.
Logon username.
Logon password.
Logon domain.
Allow logon using a client-connected Smart Card.
Click Next to continue.
3.
Select the appropriate values for the connection settings:
Connections 11
Table 3-11 New Citrix ICA connection settings
Option Description
Enable Audio Input
Use Data Compression
Enable Middle Button Paste
Use Disk Cache for Bitmaps
Enable Drive Mapping
Sound
Speed Screen
Mouse Click Feedback
Local Text Echo
Encryption Level
Enable audio input from this connection.
Use data compression for this connection.
Enables a middle mouse button click to perform a Paste operation.
Use a disk cache for connection bitmaps.
Enable thin client drive mapping.
Specifies the sound quality to be used. Valid options are: High Quality, Med
Quality, and Low Quality.
Valid options are: Auto, On, and Off.
Valid options are: Auto, On, and Off.
Valid options are: Auto, On, and Off.
Valid options are: Basic, RCS 128 bit - Login Only, RCS 40 bit, RCS 56
bit, and RCS 128 bit.
Click Next to continue.
4.
Select the appropriate values for the window settings:
Table 3-12 New Citrix ICA connection window settings
Option Description
Enable Seamless Window
Window Size
Window Colors
256 Color Mapping
Allows you to display a single window on the local ThinPro desktop as if it were a native application.
Valid options are: Full Screen, Fixed size, and Percentage of Screen
Size.
Valid options are: Default, 16, 256, 16-bit, 24-bit, and Auto.
Valid options are: Default, Shared - Approximate Colors, and Private
- Exact Colors. This option is enabled only when the Window Colors option is set to 256.
Click Next to continue.
5.
Select the appropriate values for the application settings:
Table 3-13 New Citrix ICA connection application settings
Option Description
Application
Directory
The Citrix application.
The Citrix directory.
12 Chapter 3 Reference
Click Next to continue.
6.
Select the appropriate values for the firewall settings:
Table 3-14 New Citrix ICA connection firewall settings
Option Description
Proxy
Proxy Type
Proxy Address
Proxy Port
Username
Password
Use Alternate Address for
Firewall Connection
Proxy server settings.
Select a proxy type. Valid options are: Default, None - direct, SOCKS,
Secure - HTTPS, Use Browser settings, and Automatically detect
proxy.
Type the proxy host name. This option is not enabled if the Proxy Type is set to Default or None - direct.
Type the proxy host port.
Type the proxy user name for the account to use to connect to a remote computer.
Type a password for the account to use to connect to a remote computer.
The Citrix ICA Client will request the alternate address defined for the server when contacting servers inside the firewall. The alternate address must be specified for each server in a server farm.
Click Next to continue.
7.
Select the appropriate values for the smart ping settings:
Table 3-15 New Citrix ICA connection smart ping settings
Option Description
Smart Ping
Smart Ping Port
Smart Ping Timeout
Allows you to enable HP ThinPro to ping the server before attempting a connection. If the server name fails to resolve or the server fails to respond to the ping, the thin client aborts the connection attempt. Valid options are: Don't
ping and Standard Echo. The next two options are disabled unless this option is set to Standard Echo.
Allows you to specify a port for Smart Ping.
Allows you to specify a time period for Smart Ping to keep pinging.
Click Next to continue.
8.
Select the appropriate values for the common settings (refer to
Table 3-9 New connection advanced settings on page 10 ).
9.
Click Finish to save your settings and close the wizard.
NOTE:
To enable Citrix ICA USB Redirection, use the USB Manager utility. See
USB Manager on page 34 for instructions.
Connections 13
RDP
Microsoft Remote Desktop Protocol (RDP) enables Windows-based applications to communicate over network connections. It is installed on all versions of Windows later than Windows NT.
1.
To add an RDP connection, click Connections > Add.
2.
Select RDP. Set the appropriate network options:
Table 3-16 New RDP connection network settings
Option Description
Name
Address
Port
Application
Directory
Username
Password
Domain
Allow Smartcard Login
The Browse button allows you to browse for the remote system.
The IP address of the remote system.
The port to use for the remote connection.
RDP application path.
NOTE:
If you will use RDP Seamless Windows mode, type the path of seamlessrdp on your server and the path of the application you want to run. For example, if you installed seamlessrdp in C:\seamless and want to run Word, type C:\seamlessrdp\seamlessrdpshell.exe C:\Program Files
\Microsoft\Word.exe
.
Sets the initial working directory for the user. Used with the Application setting to set up a fixed published application connection.
The RDP directory.
The username to use for the connection.
The password to use for the connection.
Allow a locally-connected smart card to be used for login credentials.
Click Next to continue.
3.
Set the appropriate window options:
Table 3-17 New RDP connection window settings
Option Description
Enable Seamless Windows
Allows you to display a single window on the local ThinPro desktop as if it were a native application.
NOTE:
To use the RDP Seamless Windows mode: a. Install server side software ( http://www.cendio.com/seamlessrdp/ ).
b. In the Application field in the Network dialog box, type the application to the path of seamlessrdp on your server and the path of the application you want to run. For example, if you installed seamlessrdp in C:\seamless and want to run Word, type C:\seamlessrdp\seamlessrdpshell.exe C:
\Program Files\Microsoft\Word.exe
.
c. Enable Seamless Windows.
14 Chapter 3 Reference
Table 3-17 New RDP connection window settings (continued)
Option Description
Window Size
Window Colors
The window size. Valid options are: fixed, percent, and full.
Valid options are: Auto, 8-bit, 15-bit, 16-bit, 24-bit, and 32-bit.
Click Next to continue.
4.
Set the appropriate options:
Table 3-18 New RDP connection options settings
Option Description
Enable motion events
Enable data compression
Enable encryption
Force bitmap updates
Use private colormap
System beep
Attach to console
Protocol level
Hostname to send
Enable motion events for this connection.
Use data compression for this connection.
Encrypt communications for this connection.
Force bitmap updates.
Use a local private colormap.
Enable the system beep.
Attach to the console port.
Valid options are: Auto, 4, 5, 5.1, and 5.2.
The hostname to send to the remote system for this connection.
Click Next to continue.
5.
Set the appropriate local resource options:
Table 3-19 New RDP connection local resources settings
Option Description
Remote computer sound
Valid options are: Do not play, Bring to this computer, and Leave at
remote computer.
Devices mapping
Enable USB storage mapping
Enable port mapping
Enable printer mapping
Enable USB storage mapping. The drive letter to be used can be established with the drop-down list.
Enable port mapping.
Enable printer mapping.
Click Next to continue.
6.
Set the appropriate experience options:
Connections 15
Table 3-20 New RDP connection experience settings
Option Description
Desktop background
Show contents of window while dragging
Menu and window animation
Themes
Bitmap caching
Set the desktop for the connection.
Show the contents of a window when you drag it across the desktop.
Enable window and menu animation.
The theme for the connection.
Enable bitmap caching.
Click Next to continue.
7.
Set the appropriate advanced options (refer to
Table 3-9 New connection advanced settings on page 10 ).
8.
Click Finish to save your settings and close the wizard.
NOTE:
HP TeemTalk
You can add a new HP TeemTalk connection in two ways:
●
Adding a TeemTalk connection using the TeemTalk creation wizard on page 16
●
Adding a TeemTalk connection manually on page 18
For more information on HP TeemTalk, see HP TeemTalk Terminal Emulator 7.3 User Guide at http://bizsupport1.austin.hp.com/bc/docs/support/SupportManual/c02718822/c02718822.pdf
.
Adding a TeemTalk connection using the TeemTalk creation wizard
1.
To add a TeemTalk connection using the wizard, click Connections > Add.
2.
Select Teemtalk and click Teemtalk creation wizard. Set the appropriate connection options:
Table 3-21 New TeemTalk creation wizard connection information settings
Option Description
Session Name
Transport
The name of the session.
The network transport to use for the connection. Valid transports are: TCP/IP,
Serial, SSH2, and SSL.
16 Chapter 3 Reference
Table 3-21 New TeemTalk creation wizard connection information settings (continued)
Option Description
Connection
Emulation
The connection method to be used. Advanced connection options can be configured via the button.
Emulation types are: hp70092, IBM 3151, IBM3270 Display, IBM3270
Printer, IBM5250 Display, IBM5250 Printer, MD Prism, TA6530, VT
Series, and Wyse.
Click Next to continue.
3.
Set the appropriate advanced options:
Table 3-22 New TeemTalk creation wizard connection advanced options settings
Option Description
Emulation Printer
Auto Logon
Key Macros
Mouse Actions
Soft Buttons
Attributes
Auxiliary Ports
Hotspots
The TeemTalk emulation printer settings.
The TeemTalk auto login settings.
The TeemTalk key macros settings.
The TeemTalk mouse actions settings.
The TeemTalk soft buttons settings.
The TeemTalk attributes settings.
The TeemTalk auxiliary ports settings.
The TeemTalk hotspots settings.
http://bizsupport1.austin.hp.com/bc/docs/support/SupportManual/ c02718822/c02718822.pdf
Click Next to continue.
4.
Set the appropriate preferences:
Table 3-23 New TeemTalk creation wizard connection preferences options settings
Option Description
Preferences
Start session connected
Show Status Bar
The TeemTalk preferences button.
TeemTalk should start the session connected.
Request that TeemTalk display the status bar for this connection.
Click Next to continue.
5.
Set the appropriate finalization options:
Connections 17
Table 3-24 New TeemTalk creation wizard connection finalization settings
Option Description
Create an icon on the desktop
Summary Session Information
Select this option if you wish to have a desktop icon created for this connection.
Displays a summary of the session that is to be created.
6.
Click Finish to save your settings and close the wizard.
Adding a TeemTalk connection manually
1.
To add a TeemTalk connection manually, click Connections > Add.
2.
Select Teemtalk and set the appropriate configuration options:
Table 3-25 New Teemtalk manual connection configuration settings
Option Description
Name
System beep
The connection name.
Enable the system beep sound.
Click Next to continue.
3.
Set the appropriate advanced options (refer to
Table 3-9 New connection advanced settings on page 10 ).
4.
Click Finish to save your settings and exit the wizard.
Web browser
Create a connection using a web browser based on the Mozilla Firefox browser.
1.
To add a connection, click Connections > Add.
2.
Select Web Browser and set the options described in the following tables:
Table 3-26 New web browser connection configuration settings
Option Description
Name
URL
Enable kiosk mode
Enable full screen
Enable print dialog
The connection name.
The URL for the connection.
Enable kiosk mode.
Use full screen mode for the connection.
Enable the print dialog box.
Click Next to continue.
18 Chapter 3 Reference
3.
Set the appropriate advanced options (refer to
Table 3-9 New connection advanced settings on page 10 ).
4.
Click Finish to save your settings and exit the wizard.
XenApp
1.
To add a XenApp connection, click Connections > Add.
2.
Select XenAPP and set the appropriate configuration options:
Table 3-27 New XenApp connection configuration settings
Option Description
Name
Server URL
Username
Password
Domain
The connection name.
The URL of the server.
The username to use for the connection.
The password to use for the connection.
The domain to use for the connection.
Click Next to continue.
3.
Set the appropriate advanced options (refer to
Table 3-9 New connection advanced settings on page 10 ).
4.
Click Finish to save your settings and close the dialog box.
VMware View
PC-over-IP (PCoIP) is a communications protocol integrated into VMware that enables remote access to virtual machines.
1.
To add a VMware View connection, click Connections > Add.
2.
Select VMware View and set the appropriate network options:
Table 3-28 New VMware View connection network settings
Option Description
Name
Server
Username
Password
Domain
Desktop
The connection name.
The name of the remote server.
The username to use for the connection.
The password to use for the connection.
The domain to use for the connection.
The desktop to use for the connection.
Connections 19
Click Next to continue.
3.
Set the appropriate options:
Table 3-29 New VMware View general settings options settings
Option Description
Login options
Automatic login
Allow Smartcard login
Command Line Arguments
Login automatically when the connection is established.
Allow a locally-connected smart card to provide login credentials.
The command line arguments to be used for the connection.
Click Next to continue.
4.
Set the appropriate RDP options:
Table 3-30 New VMware View connection RDP settings
Option Description
Sound redirection
Enable sound redirection
Device mappings
Enable USB storage mapping
Enable port mapping
Enable printer mapping
Valid options are: off, local, and remote.
The assigned drive letter should be chosen from the drop-down list.
Allow the mapping of local ports to the remote system.
Allow the mapping of local printers to the remote system.
Click Next to continue.
5.
Set the appropriate advanced options (refer to
Table 3-9 New connection advanced settings on page 10 ).
6.
Click Finish to save your settings and close the dialog box.
To start a desktop connection using PCoIP instead of RDP:
1.
Click Connections > Add.
2.
Select a connection in the Connections window and click Connect.
Type the host name or IP address of the View Connection Server in the field, if necessary.
3.
Type the user name, password, and domain names in the corresponding fields and click
Connect.
20 Chapter 3 Reference
4.
Click the arrow on the right side of the Desktop pool. Select Protocols > PCoIP.
5.
Click Connect.
NOTE:
To set PCoIP as the default protocol or to disable user protocol selection, edit the desktop/pool settings in the VMware View Manager window (http://<Server>/admin).
NOTE:
To set PCoIP as the default protocol or to disable user protocol selection, edit the desktop/ pool settings in the VMware View Manager window (http://<server>/admin).
NOTE:
To enable VMware View USB Redirection, use the USB Manager utility. See
USB Manager on page 34 for instructions.
XDMCP
XDMCP is a way to connect directly to remote X servers. X servers are used to display graphics on most
UNIX-like operating systems, such as Linux, Berkeley Software Distribution (BSD), and Hewlett Packard
UniX (HP-UX).
1.
To add an XDMCP connection, click Connections > Add.
2.
Select Xdmcp and set the appropriate configuration options:
Table 3-31 New XDMCP connection configuration settings
Option Description
Name
Type
The connection name.
The XDMCP connection type. Valid options are: chooser, query, and
broadcast.
This value is required if the Type value is set to query.
Address
Font Server
Use font server
Font server
Configure display
Use a remote X font server instead of locally installed fonts.
Font server is not enabled unless the Use font server option is checked.
Click to set the display configuration for the XDM connection. If you do not set this configuration, the default configuration will be used. For information on this screen, see
Display preferences on page 31 .
Click Next to continue.
3.
Set the appropriate advanced options (refer to
Table 3-9 New connection advanced settings on page 10 ).
4.
Click Finish to save your settings and close the dialog box.
Connections 21
SSH
Secure shell (SSH) is the most common way to gain remote command line access to UNIX-like operating systems, such as Linux, BSD, and HP-UX. SSH is also encrypted.
1.
To add an SSH connection, click Connections > Add.
2.
Select SSH and set the appropriate configuration options:
Table 3-32 New SSH connection configuration settings
Option Description
The connection name.
Name
Network
Address
Port
Options
User name
Run application
The IP address of the remote system.
The remote port to use for the connection.
The username to use for the connection.
The application to run to make the connection.
Compression
X11 connection forwarding
Force TTY allocation
Select this option if you want to compress the data sent between the server and thin client.
If the server has an X server on it, select this option to allow the user to open user interfaces from the SSH session and display them locally on the thin client.
Select this option and specify a command to initiate a temporary session to run the command. Once the command has completed, the session will terminate. If no command is specified, then the session will run normally as if the option were not selected.
Style
Foreground color
Background color
Font
The default color of the text in the SSH session.
The default color of the background in the SSH session.
Valid options are: 7X14, 5X7, 5X8, 6X9, 6X12, 7X13, 8X13, 8X16,
9X15, 10X20, and 12X24.
Click Next to continue.
3.
Set the appropriate advanced options (refer to
Table 3-9 New connection advanced settings on page 10 ).
4.
Click Finish to save your settings and close the dialog box.
22 Chapter 3 Reference
Telnet
Telnet is an older method of gaining remote command line access. It is not encrypted.
1.
To add a Telnet connection, click Connections > Add.
2.
Select Telnet and set the appropriate configuration options:
Table 3-33 New Telnet connection configuration settings
Option Description
Name
Address
Port
Style
Foreground color
Background color
Font
The name of the connection.
The IP address of the remote system.
The port to use on the remote system.
The foreground color.
The background color.
Valid options are: 7X14, 5X7, 5X8, 6X9, 6X12, 6X13, 7X13, 8X13,
8X16, 9X15, 10X20, and 12X24.
Click Next to continue.
3.
Set the appropriate advanced options (refer to
Table 3-9 New connection advanced settings on page 10 ).
4.
Click Finish to save your settings and close the dialog box.
Custom
If you would like to install a custom Linux application, you can use the Custom connection to allow you to open this application through the connection manager.
1.
To add a Custom connection, click Connections > Add.
2.
Select Custom and set the appropriate configuration options:
Table 3-34 New Custom connection configuration settings
Option Description
Name
Enter command to run
The connection name.
The command to run to make the remote connection.
Click Next to continue.
Connections 23
3.
Set the appropriate advanced options (refer to
Table 3-9 New connection advanced settings on page 10 ).
4.
Click Finish to save your settings and close the dialog box.
Copy
To copy a connection:
▲
Click a selection under Connection Name and then click Copy.
A copy of the connection appears in the list under Connection Name.
Delete
To delete a connection:
▲
Click a selection under Connection Name and then click Delete.
The connection is removed from the list under Connection Name.
Edit
1.
To edit a connection, click a selection under Connection Name and then click Edit.
The connection settings window for that connection opens.
2.
Edit the connection and click Apply.
3.
Click OK.
User View
NOTE:
This feature is available only in the Administrative Mode.
1.
To select connections to be visible in the User Mode, click User View.
The Allow and Deny buttons appear above the Connection Name bar.
2.
Select one or more of the connections listed.
3.
Click Allow to allow the connections to be visible in the User Mode or click Deny to make the connections unavailable in the User Mode.
4.
Click User View again when you have completed your changes.
24 Chapter 3 Reference
Control Panel
Control Panel utilities are organized under five tabs:
●
●
●
●
All Control Panel items are available for use when you are in Administrator Mode; in non-Administrator mode, only the items allowed by the configuration are available. This list of Control Panel items can be modified while in Administrator Mode by using the Setup tab and then the HP ThinPro
Configuration tool.
Peripherals
These utilities allow you to configure your peripherals. The following utilities are available on this tab:
●
●
Display preferences on page 31
●
●
●
●
SCIM input method setup on page 33
Control Panel 25
●
●
●
●
Client aggregation
The thin client supports up to four monitors. If you need additional screen real estate, client aggregation allows up to four thin clients to be combined together, controlled by a single keyboard and mouse.
Because each thin client supports up to four monitors, client aggregation allows up to four computers and 16 monitors to be controlled by a single keyboard and mouse, without the need for additional hardware or software.
Client aggregation overview
Assume that you have four thin clients, each with 4 monitors. Using the Display Preferences dialog, the thin clients and their monitors are configured as shown—each thin client is configured with a 2x2 array of monitors.
Client aggregation allows you to arrange the four thin clients on a 4x4 grid. The following illustration shows one possible arrangement of the thin clients arranged in a rectangular array using the 4x4 grid.
In moving the mouse pointer off the right side of the thin client A monitors, for example, the pointer will appear on the left side of the thin client C monitors. Likewise, keyboard input will be redirected from thin client A to thin client C.
26 Chapter 3 Reference
Following is another arrangement of the thin clients on the 4x4 grid, and the resulting arrangement of the monitors.
In this configuration, moving the mouse pointer off the right side of the thin client A monitors will cause it to appear on the upper 1/3 of the left side of the thin client D monitors. Similarly, moving the mouse pointer off the right side of the thin client B monitors will cause it to appear in the middle 1/3 of the left side of the thin client D monitors. Finally, moving the mouse pointer off the right side of the thin client C monitors will cause it to appear in the lower 1/3 of the left side of the thin client D monitors.
NOTE:
Desktop windows cannot span the thin clients or be moved between client computers.
Typically, each thin client will create windows based on its connection to an associated remote computer, and there won’t be a need to move windows between thin clients.
The thin client physically connected to the keyboard and mouse is referred to as the aggregation server.
The other thin clients are referred to as aggregation clients. When the mouse pointer is on one of the aggregation clients, the mouse and keyboard inputs (from the aggregation server thin client) are encrypted and sent over the network to the selected aggregation client. The aggregation client decrypts the mouse and keyboard inputs and passes the inputs to the local desktop of the aggregation client.
Client aggregation is based on an open source software package called Synergy, with encryption provided by a package called stunnel.
Control Panel 27
NOTE:
Because the Synergy and stunnel software is also installed on the HP dc72 Blade Workstation
Client and the HP dc73 Blade Workstation Client (running Embedded OS versions 9.xx and 10.xx), these client computers can be interconnected to the HP gt7725 Thin Client in client aggregation configurations.
Configuring client aggregation
NOTE:
Client aggregation must be configured individually on each thin client—on the aggregation server and on each aggregation client.
Client aggregation configuration is a two-step process:
1. Configuring the aggregation clients on page 28
—From one to three aggregation clients can be configured.
2. Configuring the aggregation server on page 28
Configuring the aggregation clients
Perform this procedure on each aggregation client:
1.
Double-click Client Aggregation.
2.
Click Client.
3.
Type the server hostname or IP address of the aggregation server in the field.
4.
Click Apply to apply the changes.
Configuring the aggregation server
To configure the aggregation server:
1.
Double-click Client Aggregation.
2.
Click Server.
28 Chapter 3 Reference
3.
The aggregation server thin client is displayed in a purple box that contains its hostname. Click and drag the aggregation server to the desired location in the 4x4 grid. In the following figure, the aggregation server thin client is positioned in the first row, second column of the 4x4 grid.
Control Panel 29
4.
Click the location in the 4x4 grid where you want to place the first aggregation client, and enter its hostname or IP address. In the following illustration, the aggregation client at IP address
16.125.19.91 is positioned in the first row, first column of the 4x4 grid. Press Enter when done— aggregation clients are displayed in green boxes.
5.
In this same manner, position up to two additional aggregation clients in the 4x4 grid, for a total of up to three aggregation clients.
Placement of the aggregation server and the aggregation clients in the 4x4 grid can be modified at any time by clicking and dragging a client computer to a new location.
Once the aggregation clients and the aggregation server have been configured, they automatically attempt to establish encrypted communications with each other. Click Status to view the connection status between computers.
30 Chapter 3 Reference
Disabling client aggregation
To disable client aggregation:
1.
Double-click Client Aggregation.
2.
Select Disabled.
3.
Click Apply and Closed.
Display preferences
This utility allows you to add, edit, and delete profiles. A profile is a display specification, which includes resolution, refresh rate, bit depth, and whether or not the display should be rotated.
Most administrators use the default profile, which:
●
Uses Display Data Channel (DDC) to query the resolution and refresh rate from the monitor
●
Uses 24- or 32-bit color depth
●
Does not rotate the display
The administrator may set up different profiles when:
●
Using a 16-bit color depth should improve RDP or ICA performance because less data has to be transmitted over the network or sent to the graphics chip
●
Some users have to run an application that requires a specific resolution or bit depth in order to function properly
●
The administrator wants to standardize on one display profile, even though there are many different monitors across the organization
●
One or more users run applications that require their monitor to be rotated (portrait versus landscape mode)
NOTE:
The Display Preferences window contents are different based on the actual hardware model. Some models allow configuration of up to four monitors, some two, and some only one.
Adding a profile
To add a profile:
1.
Double-click Display Preferences.
2.
Click New.
3.
Under Profile Settings, type a name in the Profile Name field.
4.
Select the appropriate Resolution for your monitor.
5.
Select the Depth.
6.
Select the appropriate Orientation for your monitor.
7.
Click Save to keep your changes or Revert to discard them.
Control Panel 31
8.
Under Display Configuration, select the Primary Display Profile and the Secondary
Display Profile.
9.
Set the Mode.
10.
Click Test Settings to check the profile.
11.
Click Apply, and then click Close to save your changes and close the dialog box.
Editing a profile
To edit a profile:
1.
Double-click Display Preferences.
2.
Select a profile in the Profiles list.
3.
Edit the Profile Settings and Display Configuration as desired.
4.
Click Test Settings to check the profile.
5.
Click Apply, and then click Close to save your changes and close the dialog box.
Deleting a profile
To delete a profile:
1.
Double-click Display Preferences.
2.
Select a profile in the Profiles list and click Delete.
3.
Click Apply, and then click Close to save your changes and close the dialog box.
Keyboard layout
If you have a single keyboard, configure it on the Primary tab. Configure a second keyboard on the
Secondary tab.
To set your keyboard layout:
1.
Double-click Keyboard Layout.
2.
Select your keyboard type with the Standard Keyboard list.
3.
Set the Model, Layout, and Variant keyboard settings.
4.
Click Minimize Local Keyboard Shortcuts to minimize the number of keyboard shortcuts mapped to the thin client, if desired.
5.
Click OK to save your changes and close the dialog box.
32 Chapter 3 Reference
Mouse
To set the mouse behavior and cursor size:
1.
Double-click Mouse.
2.
Set your preferences on the three tabs:
●
Behavior: Set left- or right-handed mouse operation, motions setting, and double-click speed.
●
Cursor: Set the cursor size.
●
Accessibility: Enable mouse emulation.
3.
Click Close to save your settings and close the dialog box.
Printers
This Control Panel item starts the CUPS printer configuration tool. For more details, see http://cyberelk.net/tim/software/system-config-printer .
SCIM input method setup
This is a graphical user interface (GUI) setup utility for the Smart Common Input Method platform. It is used to set up Chinese and Japanese input methods on the thin client itself. For more information on this open source program, go to the Smart Common Input Method Platform website at http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/scim/index.php?title=Main_Page .
▲
Double-click SCIM Input Method Setup.
Sound
This allows you to specify audio parameters.
1.
Double-click Sound.
2.
Click Show Switches to display additional settings.
3.
The individual slider controls can be used to adjust the sound level for the individual sources.
4.
Click File > Options to view additional device and control options.
5.
Click View > Manage to view and manage volume control profiles.
6.
Set your device and control parameters, and click File > Exit to save your preferences and close the dialog box.
Control Panel 33
ThinPrint
To use ThinPrint:
1.
Double-click Thinprint.
2.
Set the Bandwidth, Packet Size, and Printer settings for each printer.
3.
Click OK.
Touch screen
Touch Screen allows you to operate the thin client by touching the display screen.
To enable the touch screen:
1.
Double-click Touch Screen and select Enable Touch Screen.
2.
Select the Controller Type and Device Port, and elect to Swap X or Swap Y, if desired.
3.
Click OK to save your changes and close the dialog box.
A message appears to inform you that your changes will take effect at the next login.
4.
Click Yes to log off and restart the desktop with your changes.
If you click No, the current desktop environment will remain unchanged.
5.
Click Control Panel > Peripherals > Touch Screen and click Calibrate to calibrate the touch screen.
NOTE:
The touch screen can only be calibrated if it has been enabled and the desktop has been restarted.
The touch screen will not track correctly on the screen if the display is rotated.
USB Manager
To set USB mounting preferences:
1.
Double-click USB Manager.
2.
Select one of the following remote protocols:
●
Citrix
●
Local
●
RDP
●
VMware View
3.
If the setting is Local, you can also specify: allow devices to be mounted and mount
devices read-only.
4.
Click OK to save your preference and close the dialog box.
34 Chapter 3 Reference
Setup
These utilities enable you to set up the thin client to your requirements. The following utilities are available on the Setup tab:
●
●
●
●
●
HP ThinPro configuration on page 39
Date and time
To set date, time, and time zone information:
1.
Double-click Date and Time.
2.
On the Timezone and Date and Time tabs, select the time zone, date, and time.
3.
If you would like to use the network time server instead, select Use Network Time Server and type the server address in the field.
4.
If you would like to display the week number in the calendar, click Show Week Numbers.
5.
Click Apply, and then click OK to save your changes and close the dialog box.
Network
To configure network settings:
1.
Double-click Network.
2.
Configure the Wired tab:
a. Enable IPv6—Check to use IPv6 connection. Default is IPv4.
b. Ethernet Speed—List of Link speed/Duplex mode pairings available.
c.
Connection Method—Option to use Auto or Static connection
d. Static Address Configuration—Enable IPv6 NOT enabled
●
IP Address
●
Subnet Mask
●
Default Gateway
Control Panel 35
e. Static Address Configuration—Enable IPv6 enabled
●
IPv6 Address—Example: 2001:0db8:85a3:0000:0000:8a2e:0370:7334
●
Subnet Previx Length—Example 64
●
Default Gateway—Example: fe80::20a:42ff:feb0:5400%4
f.
Security Settings
Authentication
●
TTLS
◦
Inner Authentication—Further Authentication layer
◦
CA Certificate—Location of security certificate
◦
Anonymous Identity—(Optional) Any temporary name
◦
Username—User's username
◦
Password—User's password
●
PEAP
◦
Inner Authentication—Further Authentication layer
◦
PEAP Version—Version of PEAP to be used
◦
CA Certificate—Location of security certificate
◦
Anonymous Identity—(Optional) Any temporary name
◦
Username—User's username
◦
Password—User's password
●
TLS
◦
CA Certificate—Location of security certificate
◦
User Certificate—Location of user certificate
◦
Private Key—Location of private key
◦
Identity—User's identity string
◦
Private Key Password—User's key password
3.
Configure the DNS tab:
●
Hostname—Hostname of the thin client
●
DNS Server—DNS Server name
●
Search Domains—Domain to which this thin client belongs
36 Chapter 3 Reference
●
HTTP Proxy—Proxy to be used for HTTP communications
●
FTP Proxy—Proxy to be used for FTP communications
4.
Configure the IPSec tab:
●
Add—Add new rule
Can expand on this, if needed
●
Edit—Edit highlighted rule
●
Delete—Delete highlighted rule
5.
Configure the VPN tab:
Connection Type
●
Cisco
◦
Gateway—Server gateway address
◦
Group Name—Group's groupname
◦
Group Password—Group password
◦
Domain—Domain name
◦
User Name—User's username
◦
User Password—User's password
●
PTTP
◦
Gateway—Server gateway address
◦
NT Domain—NT Domain name
◦
User Name—User's username
◦
User Password—User's password
6.
Configure the HP Velocity tab:
Enable packet loss prevention—When possible prevents the loss of data over the internet
Screensaver
To configure the screensaver:
1.
Double-click Screensaver.
2.
Select the Screensaver settings:
a. Select Enable screensaver, or clear the selection if you do not want a screensaver.
b. Select the number of minutes of inactivity after which to activate the screensaver. Type the number in the field or use the up or down arrow keys to select a number.
Control Panel 37
c.
Select Require password on resume, if desired.
d. Select the Mode:
●
blank
●
logo
e. If you selected logo, select Customize a logo, and then click Select to browse to the desired logo file.
3.
Configure the Display Power Management settings to turn off the display after a set period of inactivity:
a. Select Enable Display Power Management, or clear the selection if you do not want to set this feature.
b. Select the idle time in minutes after which to turn off the display. Type the number in the field or use the up or down arrow keys to select a number.
4.
Click OK to save your changes and close the dialog box.
Background manager
To change the desktop background:
1.
Double-click Desktop Background.
2.
Click Change, browse to the image file you want to use as the desktop background, and then click Open.
3.
In the Style list, select center, tile, or fullscreen.
4.
Click Restore Default to discard changes and return to the factory image.
5.
To change the color, select Color and select a color in the Color list.
6.
click Apply, and then click OK to save your changes and close the dialog box.
HP Easy Tools
1.
Double-click Easy Deploy.
2.
Select Capture to capture image, settings, or configuration to a USB key or an FTP.
3.
Select Deploy to deploy to this or another thin client.
4.
Select Security to provide the Administrator Password.
38 Chapter 3 Reference
Language
1.
Double-click Language.
2.
Select the language you want to use.
3.
Click OK to save your changes and close the dialog box. A logout is required to make any changes effective. A logout timer will start when you confirm these changes.
NOTE:
The language can also be set by configuring Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (DHCP) tag 192 as a string whose value is English, German, Spanish, French, Japanese, or Simplified Chinese.
Security
This feature allows you to change Administrator and User passwords.
To change your password:
1.
Double-click Security.
2.
Select Administrator or User and click Change password.
3.
Type the new password in the New password and Confirmation fields and click OK.
4.
If you wish to force a login, enable the Must login to access desktop option.
5.
Click OK.
NOTE:
It is strongly recommended that you change both the user and administrator passwords from their default values.
HP ThinPro configuration
You can select:
●
Connections: Authorized actions on connections
●
Control Panel: Authorized applications
●
Desktop: Desktop options
●
System: Asset information and WakeOnLAN mode
NOTE:
This option is not available on all models.
Setting connections and Control Panel user permissions
To set user permissions on the Connections and Control Panel tabs:
1.
Double-click HP ThinPro Configuration.
2.
Click Connections in the left panel and select authorized connections by selecting or clearing check boxes.
Control Panel 39
3.
Click Control Panel in the left panel and select authorized applications by selecting or clearing check boxes.
4.
Click Apply, then click OK to close the dialog box.
Setting user desktop and system options
To configure the Desktop and System tabs:
1.
Double-click HP ThinPro Configuration.
2.
Click Desktop in the left panel and select desktop options by selecting or clearing check boxes.
3.
Click System in the left panel and set asset information and enable or disable the WakeOnLAN mode by selecting or clearing check boxes.
NOTE:
This option is not available on all models.
4.
Click Apply, then click OK to close the dialog box.
Management
These utilities are management tools that can help you manage a thin client network. The following utilities are available on the Management tab:
●
●
●
●
●
●
HP Automatic Update on page 42
●
●
●
●
40 Chapter 3 Reference
AD/DDNS Manager
This control allows you to add the thin client to an Organizational Unit of the Active Directory Server, and to enable automatic Dynamic DNS updates of the thin client's name and IP-address association. It does not enable authentication against the Active Directory database.
1.
Double-click AD/DDNS Manager.
2.
Type the following information in the fields:
●
Active Directory Domain
●
Organizational Unit for Machine (OU)
●
Administrator User Name
●
Administrator User Password
3.
Click Update Dynamic DNS from client if you want the system to update this information automatically.
4.
Click Information to see the following information:
●
AD Server
●
Credentials
●
Time Synchronization
●
AD Machine Status
Click OK when done.
5.
Click OK to save your changes and close the dialog box.
Easy Deploy
Easy Deploy is a tool in the Easy Tools Management suite. See HP Easy Tools Administrator’s
Guide at http://www.hp.com/support for full details.
Easy Config
Easy Config is a tool in the Easy Tools Management suite. See HP Easy Tools Administrator’s Guide at http://www.hp.com/support for full details.
Easy Update
Easy Update is a tool in the Easy Tools Management suite. See HP Easy Tools Administrator’s
Guide at http://www.hp.com/support for full details.
Control Panel 41
Factory reset
In Factory Reset, you can
●
Save the current configuration
●
Restore the factory settings
●
Restore the factory image
To access these functions:
1.
Double-click Factory Reset.
2.
Click the button that will accomplish the task you desire.
HP Automatic Update
To configure HP Automatic Update:
1.
Double-click HP Automatic Update.
2.
Click Enable HP Automatic Update on system startup if you wish to have this system updated on restarts.
3.
If the previous option is enabled, you can click Enable manual configuration if you wish to supply the server address via ftp, http, or https. If you wish to supply the Server, Path, User
name, and Password, you may do this in the supplied fields.
HPDM Agent
Configure the HP Device Management Agent using this feature.
1.
Double-click HPDM Agent to access this screen.
2.
Use the General tab to set the following:
●
Backup Gateway
●
Pull Interval
●
Log Level
●
Delay Scope
3.
Set the groups using the Groups tab. You can select preassigned groups from the DHCP tab or you can use static custom groups.
4.
Click OK to save your changes.
NOTE:
Changes will take effect after the HP Device Management Agent is restarted.
42 Chapter 3 Reference
SSHD Manager
To enable secure shell access:
1.
Double-click SSHD Manager.
2.
Click Enable Incoming Secure Shell Access.
3.
Click Enable Non-Administrator Access via Secure Shell, if you wish.
4.
Click OK to save your preference and close the dialog box.
ThinState
ThinState allows you to copy and deploy an HP ThinPro image and settings to another HP Thin Client of identical model and hardware:
●
Manage the HP ThinPro image on page 43
●
Manage the HP ThinPro configuration on page 45
Use the captured images and settings to replicate (deploy) on different systems or to restore the current capture back to its original setting after settings are altered.
NOTE:
HP ThinState is not a standalone tool and can only be accessed by the administrator from within the thin client image.
What do I need to have?
●
An HP-approved USB flash drive (also referred to as a USB key)
●
An HP Thin Client unit that contains the latest HP-provided HP ThinPro image
Manage the HP ThinPro image
HP ThinState allows you to:
●
Capture HP ThinPro image to an FTP server on page 43
●
Deploy HP ThinPro image from a remote site on page 44
●
Capture HP ThinPro image to a bootable USB flash drive on page 45
Capture HP ThinPro image to an FTP server
1.
Double-click ThinState.
2.
Select the HP ThinPro image, and then click Next.
3.
Select make a copy of the HP ThinPro image, and then click Next.
Control Panel 43
4.
Click an FTP server, and then click Next.
NOTE:
The image path must exist on the FTP server before you can make the copy. ThinState produces an error if the image path does not exist on the FTP server.
The image file name is set by default with the HP ThinPro host name.
5.
Type the FTP server information in the fields and choose whether or not to Compress the
image.
NOTE:
The HP ThinPro image file is a simple disk dump. The uncompressed size is about 512
MB; a compressed image without add-ons is approximately 237 MB.
6.
Click Finish.
When the image capture begins, all applications stop and a new window appears showing the copy progress. If a problem occurs, click Details for information. The desktop reappears after capture is complete.
The HP ThinPro image capture is complete.
Deploy HP ThinPro image from a remote site
There are two ways to deploy an HP ThinPro image from a remote site: using the ThinState tool directly or by creating a web browser connection.
To deploy using the ThinState tool directly:
1.
Double-click ThinState.
2.
Select the HP ThinPro image, and then click Next.
3.
Select restore an HP ThinPro image, and then click Next.
4.
Select FTP or HTTP protocol. Type the remote server information in the fields.
NOTE:
Username and Password are not required if you are using HTTP protocol.
Be sure of the image file you are using: neither content nor size are verified before the image upgrade begins.
5.
Click Finish.
When the image capture begins, all applications stop and a new window appears showing the copy progress. If a problem occurs, click Details for information. The desktop reappears after restoration is complete.
A MD5sum check is done only if the file exists on the FTP server.
NOTE:
If you abort a restoration, the previous overwritten image will not be restored and the contents of the flash drive will be corrupted.
To deploy using a web browser connection:
1.
Switch to Administrative Mode.
2.
Create a web browser connection to an HTTP or an FTP server where a ThinPro image resides.
44 Chapter 3 Reference
3.
Right-click on the link to the ThinPro image file (this is normally a link with a .dd.gz file extension).
4.
select Open Link in HP ThinState.
5.
Verify the values displayed and click Finish to launch the deployment of the image.
Restoration is complete.
Capture HP ThinPro image to a bootable USB flash drive
A bootable USB flash drive with an HP ThinPro image allows you to restore the image or duplicate it on different thin clients.
NOTE:
Back up any data on the USB flash drive before you begin. ThinState automatically formats the flash drive to create a bootable USB flash drive. This process will erase all data currently on the flash drive.
1.
Double-click ThinState.
2.
Select the HP ThinPro image, and then click Next.
3.
Select make a copy of the HP ThinPro image, and then click Next.
4.
Click create a bootable USB flash drive, and then click Next.
5.
Attach a USB flash drive to the thin client. Select the USB key and click Finish.
When the image capture begins, all applications stop and a new window appears showing the copy progress. If a problem occurs, click Details for information. The desktop reappears after capture is complete.
HP ThinPro image capture is complete.
Deploy HP ThinPro image from a bootable USB flash drive
To install an HP ThinPro image from a bootable USB flash drive:
1.
Turn off the target thin client.
2.
Insert the bootable USB flash drive.
3.
Turn on the thin client.
The screen remains black for 10-15 seconds while the thin client detects and boots from the bootable USB flash drive.
NOTE:
If the thin client fails to boot from the USB flash drive, try unplugging all other USB devices and repeat the procedure.
Manage the HP ThinPro configuration
The HP ThinPro configuration file contains the connections set and the settings set through the Control
Panel applications. A configuration file is specific to a given version of HP ThinPro. Be sure to use a configuration file generated with the same version of HP ThinPro.
Control Panel 45
HP ThinPro allows you to:
●
Save the HP ThinPro configuration on an FTP server on page 46
●
Restore an HP ThinPro configuration from a remote server on page 46
●
Capture an HP ThinPro configuration to a USB drive on page 46
●
Restore an HP ThinPro configuration from a USB key on page 47
Save the HP ThinPro configuration on an FTP server
1.
Double-click ThinState.
2.
Select the HP ThinPro configuration, and then click Next.
3.
Select save the configuration, and then click Next.
4.
Click on an FTP server, and then click Next.
NOTE:
The file path must exist on the FTP server before you can make the copy. ThinState produces an error if the file path does not exist on the FTP server.
5.
Type the FTP server information in the fields, and click Finish.
The HP ThinPro configuration capture is complete.
Restore an HP ThinPro configuration from a remote server
1.
Double-click ThinState.
2.
Select the HP ThinPro configuration, and then click Next.
3.
Select restore a configuration, and then click Next.
4.
Click on a remote server, and then click Next.
5.
Select FTP or HTTP protocol. Type the remote server information in the fields.
NOTE:
Username and Password are not required if you are using HTTP protocol.
6.
Click Finish.
The HP ThinPro configuration restoration is complete.
Capture an HP ThinPro configuration to a USB drive
1.
Attach a USB key to the thin client.
2.
Double-click ThinState.
3.
Select the HP ThinPro configuration, and then click Next.
4.
Select save the configuration, and then click Next.
5.
Click on a USB key, and then click Next.
46 Chapter 3 Reference
6.
Select the USB key.
7.
Click Browse.
8.
Navigate to the desired location on the USB key and assign a file name to the profile.
9.
Click Save.
10.
Click Finish.
The HP ThinPro configuration capture is complete. Remove the USB key.
Restore an HP ThinPro configuration from a USB key
1.
Attach a USB key containing the profile you want to copy to the thin client.
2.
Double-click ThinState.
3.
Select the HP ThinPro configuration, and then click Next.
4.
Select restore a configuration, and then click Next.
5.
Click on a USB key, and then click Next.
6.
Select the USB key.
7.
Click Browse.
8.
Double-click the desired profile file on the USB key.
9.
Click Finish.
The HP ThinPro configuration restoration is complete. Remove the USB key.
VNC Shadow
Virtual Network Computing (VNC) is a remote control program that allows you to see the desktop of a remote machine and control it with your local mouse and keyboard, just as if you were sitting in the front of that computer.
To allow a thin client to be accessed from another location:
1.
Double-click VNC Shadow.
2.
Select Enable VNC Shadow to enable the thin client to be accessed using VNC.
3.
Select VNC Read Only to make the VNC session read only.
4.
Select VNC Use Password to require a password to access the thin client using VNC.
5.
Select VNC Notify User to Allow Refuse to display a message when someone uses VNC to access the thin client and allow a user to refuse VNC access.
a. Select VNC Show Timeout for Notification and set a time delay to allow the user to refuse.
b. Type a User Notification Message in the field.
Control Panel 47
6.
Select Re-set VNC server right now and click OK to reset the VNC server.
7.
Click OK to save the settings and exit the dialog box.
NOTE:
You will need to restart the thin client for the changes to take effect.
Advanced
These utilities allow you to enable CDA mode, open a text utility, and access the root directory. The following utilities are available on the Advanced tab:
●
●
DHCP Option Manager on page 49
●
●
CDA mode
This utility allows you to enable Citrix Desktop Appliance (CDA) Mode and set the URL.
To use CDA mode:
1.
Be sure that web browser preferences have been set. For more information, see
2.
Double-click CDA Mode.
3.
Select Enable CDA and type the URL in the field.
4.
Click OK to save your changes and close the dialog box.
NOTE:
CDA mode can also be enabled by configuring DHCP tag 191 as a string whose value is the
URL to the Citrix environment.
To disable CDA mode:
1.
Press Ctrl + Alt + End to minimize Web Browser.
2.
Click Control Panel > Advanced > CDA Mode.
3.
Clear the Enable CDA check box.
4.
Click OK to save your changes and close the dialog box.
When you restart the desktop, CDA mode will be disabled
48 Chapter 3 Reference
DHCP Option Manager
The DHCP Option Manager displays details of the DHCP tags that are requested by the client. You can direct the thin client to request or ignore specific DHCP tags by enabling the tag request in the
Requested column.
When a pencil is shown next to the DHCP Code, the code itself can be changed, in case you have a conflict in your DHCP server over a particular code number. By clicking on the information icon next to each option, you can learn more about how that option is used, both on the thin client and on the
DHCP server.
The drop-down list in the lower left corner allows you to change the DHCP tags that are displayed. You can select Show Custom Options, Show Common Options, or Show All Options.
Text editor
To open this Notepad-style text utility:
▲
Double-click Text Editor.
X Terminal
To access the command line of the local thin client:
▲
Double-click X Terminal.
Keyboard shortcuts
Keyboard Shortcuts allows the user to assign key combinations to launch programs or perform actions such as minimize and close the current window.
1.
Double-click Keyboard Shortcuts
2.
To Create a new keyboard shortcut:
a. Click New.
b. Enter in the comment or Select from directory and browse for the program/action you would like to run.
c.
Perform the key combination you would like to trigger this new program/action you would like to run.
d. If you make a mistake, just perform the key combination again and it will override the error.
e. Click OK.
Control Panel 49
3.
To Edit a keyboard shortcut:
a. Click the keyboard shortcut section you would like to Edit.
i.
Click Command if you would like to edit the command.
Enter in the comment or Select from directory and browse for the program/action you would like to run.
ii. Click Shortcut if you would like to edit the shortcut.
Perform the key combination you would like to trigger this new program/action you would like to run.
b. Click OK.
4.
To Delete a keyboard shortcut:
a. Click the keyboard shortcut you would like to Delete.
b. Click Delete.
50 Chapter 3 Reference
System Information
The System Information screen has five tabs:
●
●
●
●
Software information on page 53
●
General
The General tab displays the following information:
●
BIOS (Basic Input/Output System) and OS (operating system)
◦
Serial Number
◦
BIOS Version
◦
BIOS Release Date
System Information 51
◦
OS Build ID
◦
OS Kernel Version
●
System
◦
Platform
◦
CPU (Central Processing Unit) Speed
◦
Processor
●
Flash and Memory
◦
Free
◦
Used
◦
Installed
Network
The Network tab displays the following information:
●
Interface
◦
Name
◦
State
◦
Type
◦
IP Address
◦
Network Mask
◦
MAC (Media Access Control) Address
◦
DHCP Server Address
◦
Interface Statistics
●
Network
◦
Default Gateway
●
DNS Settings
◦
Hostname
◦
Default Domain
◦
Nameservers
52 Chapter 3 Reference
Net tools
The Net Tools tab allows you to run a test:
1.
Click System Information > Net Tools.
2.
Select the tool:
●
Ping
●
DNS Lookup
●
Trace Route
3.
Identify the host and set the diagnostic parameters.
4.
Click Start Process.
5.
To clear the diagnostic log, click Clear Log.
Software information
The Software Information tab displays the name and version of the main software installed.
System logs
The System Logs display log information.
●
Smart Client Service—Displays log on checking and pulling a new or updated profile
●
DHCP Wired Leases—Displays log on lease information on the current wired connection
●
DHCP Wireless Leases—Displays log on lease information on the current wireless connection
●
Kernel—Displays log on kernel tasks, messages, warnings, and errors
●
X Server—Displays log X Servers tasks, messages, warnings, and errors
To save the diagnostic archive of all of these logs:
1.
Click Diagnostic, name the file, and specify a location.
2.
Click Save to save the archive and close the dialog box.
System Information 53
ดาวน์โหลด
โฆษณา