The user interface. Quark 8.1
Mainos
Mainos
THE USER INTERFACE
The user interface
Skimming through the QuarkXPress user interface, you will find that many commands are familiar or self-explanatory. Once you become familiar with QuarkXPress menus and dialog boxes, you will discover that keyboard commands and palettes offer convenient access to features that you can also access through menus.
Tools
The Tools palette
The Tools palette includes the following controls:
• Use the Item tool to select, move, resize, and reshape items (boxes, lines, text paths, and groups). When the Item tool is not selected, you can press Command/Ctrl to temporarily access the Item tool.
• Use the Text Content tool to draw text boxes and work with text in boxes.
A GUIDE TO QUARKXPRESS 8.1 |
29
THE USER INTERFACE
• Use the Picture Content tool to draw picture boxes and work with pictures in boxes.
• Use the Linking tool to link text boxes.
• Use the Unlinking tool to unlink text boxes.
• Use the Rectangle Box tool
to create a rectangular box. To draw a square box, press and hold Shift while drawing.
• Use the Oval Box tool to create an oval box. To create a circular box, press and hold
Shift while drawing.
• Use the Composition Zones tool
to create a Composition Zones box.
• Use the Star Box tool to create a star-shaped box.
• Use the Line tool to create straight diagonal lines of any angle. To constrain a line angle to 45 degrees, press and hold Shift while drawing.
• Use the Bézier Pen tool to create Bézier lines and boxes. To constrain a line angle to
45 degrees, press and hold Shift while drawing.
• Use the Add Point tool to add a point to any type of path. Adding a point to a content box automatically turns the content box into a Bézier item.
• Use the Remove Point tool to remove a point from any type of path.
• Use the Convert Point tool to automatically convert corner points to curve points, and curve points to corner points. Click and drag to change the position of a point, the curve of a curved line segment, or the position of a straight line segment. Select this tool and click a rectangular box or straight line to convert the item to a Bézier box or line.
• Use the Scissors tool to cut an item into distinct paths.
• Use the Select Point tool to select curves or points so that you can move them or delete them. Press Shift and click to select multiple points. Option-click/Alt-click a point to make it symmetrical.
• Use the Freehand Line tool to draw any shape line or box you want. If you don't close a freehand box, it remains a line. To automatically close a freehand box, press Option/Alt.
• Use the Tables tool to create a table.
• Use the Zoom tool to enlarge or reduce the document view.
• Use the Pan tool to reposition the active layout.
After you draw a box, select the Text Content tool or the Picture Content tool , depending what you want in the box. You can also use key commands to declare the box content type: Press T while drawing to declare Picture content or press R while drawing to declare Text content.
For more information about Bézier boxes and lines, see "
."
30
| A GUIDE TO QUARKXPRESS 8.1
THE USER INTERFACE
To add text to a line or path, select the Text Content tool and double-click the line or path.
For more information about Composition Zones, see "
Creating a Composition Zones item
Windows users can display the Tools palette (Windows menu) horizontally, as well as vertically. To display the palette horizontally, Ctrl+double-click the title bar.
Tool key commands
When no text box or text path is active, you can switch tools quickly using the following key commands:
• Item tool: V
• Text Content tool: T (press Escape to deselect the active text box so you can switch to another tool)
• Text Linking tool: T
• Text Unlinking tool: T
• Picture Content tool: R
• Rectangle Box tool: B
• Oval Box tool: B
• Starburst tool: B
• Composition Zones tool: B
• Line tool: L
• Bézier Pen tool: P
• Add Point tool: P
• Remove Point tool: P
• Convert Angle tool: P
• Scissors tool: P
• Select Point tool: P
• Freehand Line tool: P
• Tables tool: G
• Zoom tool: Z
• Pan tool: X
Web tools
The Web Tools palette lets you work with Web layouts.
A GUIDE TO QUARKXPRESS 8.1 |
31
THE USER INTERFACE
The Web Tools palette
The Web Tools palette (Window menu with Web layout displayed) includes the following controls:
• Use the Rectangle Image Map tool to create rectangular image map "hot areas" (and to gain access to other image map tools). The image map tools are available when the
ImageMap XTensions software is loaded.
• Use the Form Box tool
to create a form box (to contain form controls).
• Use the File Selection Tool
to create a field and button that end users can use to send a file to the Web server.
• Use the Text Field tool
to create a text field.
• Use the Button tool to create a button.
• Use the Image Button tool to create a button that will allow a picture to be imported.
• Use the Pop-up Menu tool to create a drop-down menu.
• Use the List Box tool to create a list.
• Use the Radio Button tool to create a radio button.
• Use the Check Box tool to create a check box.
• Use the Rollover Linking tool to link the origin and target boxes of a two-position rollover. When the mouse pointer is moved over the origin box, the content of the target box displays.
• Use the Rollover Unlinking tool to unlink the origin and target boxes of a two-position rollover.
Menus
The topics below describe the menus and menu items available in QuarkXPress.
QuarkXPress menu (Mac OS only)
The QuarkXPress menu is a part of QuarkXPress for Mac OS X. This menu contains the same commands as in the application menu for other Mac OS X applications — to hide or show QuarkXPress and other applications, to access preferences, and to quit QuarkXPress.
This menu includes the following commands:
32
| A GUIDE TO QUARKXPRESS 8.1
THE USER INTERFACE
• About QuarkXPress: Use this command to display information about QuarkXPress, such as the version number.
• Edit License Code: Use this command to change the validation code of an installed copy of QuarkXPress. By changing this code, you can change a Test Drive version (formerly called "evaluation copy") of QuarkXPress into a fully functional version, change the languages supported by the user interface, or change QuarkXPress into a Plus edition.
• Transfer QuarkXPress License: Use this command to deactivate QuarkXPress on one computer so that you can activate it on a different computer. Available only when
QuarkXPress has been activated.
• Activate QuarkXPress: Use this command to activate QuarkXPress on your computer.
Available only when QuarkXPress is running in demo mode.
• Preferences: Lets you modify default values and settings. For more information, see
"
."
• Quit QuarkXPress: Use this command to exit the application.
File menu
The File menu enables you to manipulate electronic files in a number of ways, including the ability to create, open, print, and save. This menu includes the following commands:
• New: Choose an option from the New submenu to create a project. If you choose New
Project from Ticket, you can select a Job Ticket from which you can create the project.
You can also use this submenu to create new libraries and books.
• Open: Use this option to open project files.
• Close: Use this option to close the active project.
• Save: Use this option to save the active project.
• Save As: Use this option to save a copy of the active project.
• Revert to Saved: Use this option to return the active project to the state it was in when it was last saved.
• Import: Use this command to import text into a text box or to import a picture into a picture box.
• Save Text: Use this option to save the contents of the active text box as a separate file.
• Save Picture: Use this submenu to save the selected picture as a separate file or to save all pictures in a layout as separate files.
• Append: Use this option to append style sheets, colors, and a variety of other types of resources from another file.
• Export: Use this option to export a layout as another file type.
• Collect for Output: Use this option to copy a file, an output report, and selected resources into one folder.
A GUIDE TO QUARKXPRESS 8.1 |
33
THE USER INTERFACE
• Collaboration Setup: Use this option to control project linking, sharing, and updating frequency of shared resources.
• Job Jackets: Use this submenu to access the specifications and rules for creating and inspecting a layout, link a project to a Job Jackets file, modify a Job Ticket, and evaluate a layout.
• Print: Use this option to print the active file.
• Output Job: Use this option to access the Output Specification for outputting a job, which is like a "style sheet" for output.
• Exit (Windows only): Use this option to exit the application.
Edit menu
The Edit menu includes the following commands:
• Undo: Undoes the last action.
• Redo: Redoes an undone action.
• Cut: Cuts the selected content.
• Copy: Copies the selected content to the clipboard.
• Paste: Pastes the clipboard contents on the active page.
• Paste Without Formatting: Pastes the clipboard contents as plain text.
• Paste In Place: Pastes a duplicated or copied item onto the active page at the same position from which it was originally copied.
• Paste Special (Windows only): Lets you choose how the object is pasted into your document by using the Microsoft Windows Object Linking and Embedding (OLE) function.
• Clear/Delete: Deletes the active content.
• Select All: Selects all content in the active box or text path.
• Links (Windows only) : Lets you update a linked object.
• Object (Windows only) : Lets you work with an embedded or linked object contained in a selected picture box.
• Insert Object (Windows only): Lets you create an object using a server application or retrieve an existing file.
• Show Clipboard: Displays the contents of the clipboard.
• Find/Change: Displays the Find/Change palette, which you can use to find and change text based on content, formatting, or both.
• Item Find/Change: Displays and hides the Item Find/Change palette.
• Preferences (Windows only): Lets you modify default values and settings. For more information, see "
."
• Style Sheets: Lets you add, edit, and delete style sheet definitions. For more information, see "
."
34
| A GUIDE TO QUARKXPRESS 8.1
THE USER INTERFACE
• Colors: Lets you add, edit, and delete color definitions. For more information, see "
."
• H&Js: Lets you add, edit, and delete H&J (hyphenation and justification) definitions. H&Js let you control how text breaks. For more information, see "
Controlling hyphenation and justification
• Lists: Lets you add, edit, and delete list definitions. The Lists feature is a tool for automatically generating tables of contents and other types of listed content. For more information, see "
."
• Dashes and Stripes: Lets you add, edit, and delete custom line patterns.
• Hanging Characters: Lets you add, edit, and delete custom hanging character definitions.
For more information, see "
Working with hanging characters
• Output Styles: Lets you add, edit, and delete output style definitions. Output styles let you easily switch between different sets of output options. For more information, see
"
• Program Language (multi-language editions only): Lets you change the language of the user interface.
• Color Setups: Lets you access and modify setups for Source and Output Setups.
• Grid Styles: Lets you add, edit, and delete patterns of non-printing design grids that you can apply to text components. For more information, see "
• Hyperlinks: Lets you add, edit, and delete hyperlinks including URLs, anchors, and page links.
• Variables (Interactive layouts only): Lets you define variables for interactive items.
• Interactive menus (Interactive layouts only):Lets you create menus for interactive layouts.
• Underline Styles: Lets you access and modify underline styles.
• Menus (Web layout only): Lets you create and manage lists, such as navigation menus, used in Web layouts.
• Meta Tags (Web layout only): Lets you create, modify and access meta information, such as keywords and descriptions, that provides information about that page for discovery by search engines and other purposes.
• CSS Font Families (Web layout only): Lets you create font families for cascading style sheets
(CSS) and determine what fonts will be used to display a Web page if the original font is not available to the user.
• Cascading Menus (Web layout only): Lets you create a hierarchical list of items that displays when the end user moves the mouse pointer over an object. This simplifies a Web design by "hiding" menu items until the user moves the mouse pointer over a specific item.
• Item Styles: Lets you add, edit, and delete item definitions that you can apply to
QuarkXPress items with the Item Styles palette (Window menu).
A GUIDE TO QUARKXPRESS 8.1 |
35
THE USER INTERFACE
Style menu
The Style menu changes depending on whether a text box, a picture box, or a line is active.
Style menu for text
The Style menu for text includes commands for specifying character attributes and paragraph formats. This menu includes the following commands:
• Font: Lets you change the font of selected text.
• Size: Lets you change the size of selected text.
• Type Style: Lets you apply type styles such as bold, italic, and underline to selected text.
• Change Case: Lets you change case of selected text to uppercase, lower case, or title case.
• Color: Lets you change the color of selected text.
• Shade: Lets you set the tint of an applied color.
• Opacity: Lets you control the transparency of selected text.
• Horizontal/Vertical Scale: Lets you stretch selected text horizontally or vertically.
• Kern/Track: When the text insertion point is between two characters, Kern lets you control the spacing between those characters. When text is selected, Track lets you control the spacing between all selected characters.
• Baseline Shift: Lets you move selected text up or down in relation to the baseline without changing line spacing.
• Character: Displays the Character Attributes dialog box, which lets you control every aspect of character formatting for selected text.
• Character Style Sheets: Lets you apply character style sheets to selected text.
• Text to Box: Lets you convert text to a Bézier picture box shaped like the selected characters.
• Alignment: Lets you align active paragraphs to the left, right, or center. Also lets you justify or force-justify selected paragraphs.
• Leading: Lets you change the line spacing of selected paragraphs.
• Formats: Displays the Paragraph Attributes dialog box, which lets you control every aspect of paragraph formatting for selected text.
• Tabs: Lets you set tab stops for selected paragraphs.
• Rules: Lets you create automatic lines above and below selected paragraphs.
• Paragraph Style Sheets: Lets you apply paragraph style sheets to selected text.
• Update Style Sheet: Lets you update a character or paragraph style sheet definition based on local changes to the applied style sheet.
• Flip Horizontal: Lets you flip selected text horizontally.
• Flip Vertical: Lets you flip selected text vertically.
• Hyperlink: Lets you modify and apply a hyperlink, page link, or anchor to selected text.
36
| A GUIDE TO QUARKXPRESS 8.1
THE USER INTERFACE
• Anchor: Lets you create or modify an anchor for selected text.
• Underline Styles: Lets you modify and apply an underline style to selected text.
Style menu for pictures
The Style menu for pictures includes commands for formatting and editing pictures. This menu includes the following commands:
• Color: Applies a color to a selected grayscale or one-bit picture.
• Shade: Lets you set the intensity of an applied color.
• Opacity: Lets you control the transparency of a selected picture.
• Invert/Negative: Applies a negative or inverse effect to a selected picture. The command name is Negative when you select a CMYK picture.
• Halftone: Lets you apply a halftone screen pattern to a selected grayscale picture.
• Flip Horizontal: Flips the selected picture horizontally.
• Flip Vertical: Flips the selected picture vertically.
• Center Picture: Centers the selected picture in its picture box.
• Stretch Picture To Fit Box: Reduces or enlarges the selected picture horizontally and vertically to fill its picture box.
• Scale Picture To Box: Reduces or enlarges the selected picture proportionately to fill its picture box.
• Fit Box To Picture: Reduces or enlarges the picture box to fit the size of the selected picture.
• Hyperlink: Lets you modify and apply a hyperlink, page link, or anchor to a selected picture or box.
• Anchor: Lets you create or modify an anchor for a selected picture or box.
• Picture Effects: Displays a submenu that lets you apply picture adjustments and filters to the selected picture.
Style menu for lines
The Style menu for lines includes the following commands:
• Line Style: Lets you apply a line style to a selected line.
• Arrowheads: Lets you apply an arrowhead style to a selected line.
• Width: Lets you adjust the width of a selected line.
• Color: Lets you change the color of a selected line.
• Shade: Lets you set the intensity of an applied color.
• Opacity: Lets you control the transparency of a selected line.
• Hyperlink: Lets you modify and apply a hyperlink, page link, or anchor to a selected line.
• Anchor: Lets you create or modify an anchor for a selected line.
A GUIDE TO QUARKXPRESS 8.1 |
37
THE USER INTERFACE
Item menu
The Item menu includes commands for controlling item attributes, positions, grouping, sharing, and more.
• Modify: Lets you access a comprehensive set of controls such as color, shade, position, size, frame, runaround, clipping path, and more for an item.
• Frame: Lets you specify frame attributes such as width, style, color, and opacity for an item.
• Runaround: Lets you specify whether text runs inside, outside, or through a picture or its picture box.
• Clipping: Lets you select the clipping type for a given item and control its outset.
• Duplicate: Lets you create a copy of an item and its contents.
• Step and Repeat: Lets you duplicate an active item multiple times, and in any position you specify.
• Super Step and Repeat: Lets you duplicate an active item multiple times and specify scale, rotation, and shading for the duplicates.
• Delete: Lets you delete a selected item and its contents.
• Group: Lets you combine two or more active items (including lines, boxes, text paths, tables, and other groups) into a group.
• Ungroup: Lets you break a group into its component items or groups.
• Constrain: Lets you restrict an item so that it cannot move beyond the boundaries of the item to which it is constrained.
• Lock: Lets you prevent accidental changes to items and their contents by locking its position or content.
• Merge: Lets you merge selected items in a number of ways.
• Split: Lets you split boxes that contain non-overlapping shapes, split boxes that contain shapes within shapes, or split boxes that contain a border that crosses over itself (such as a figure eight).
• Send Backward (Windows only): Moves an item one level backward in the page or layer's stacking order.
• Send to Back: Moves an item to the back of the page or layer. On Mac OS, press Option before choosing Send to Back to access the Send Backward command.
• Bring Forward (Windows only): Moves an item one level forward in the page or layer's stacking order.
• Bring to Front: Moves an item to the front of the page or layer. On Mac OS, press Option before choosing Bring to Front to access the Send Forward command.
• Space/Align: Lets you position the selected items evenly with regard to each other or with regard to the page or spread.
• Shape: Lets you change the shape of an active item.
38
| A GUIDE TO QUARKXPRESS 8.1
THE USER INTERFACE
• Content: Lets you change the content type of an item.
• Edit: Lets you modify item shape, runaround, or clipping path.
• Share: Lets you access sharing properties of an item and synchronize or re-use content such as text, pictures, boxes, lines, and Composition Zones.
• Unsynchronize: Removes synchronization of a single instance of the item without affecting other occurrences of that item (or the synchronization attributes).
• Point/Segment Type: Lets you change the point or segment type of an item so you can manipulate points, curve handles, and line segments.
• Drop Shadow: Lets you apply or modify an item's drop shadow.
• Composition Zones: Lets you create or modify Composition Zones.
• Preview Resolution: Lets you set the preview of a picture to full resolution or low resolution.
• Delete All Hot Areas (Web layouts only): Removes the image map designations of a picture that serve as hyperlinks.
• Cascading Menu (Web layouts only): Lets you apply a cascading menu to an item that has been specified to export as a graphic.
• Basic Rollover (Web layouts only): Lets you apply a basic rollover to an item so that the image will change when the mouse pointer is over the rollover box.
• 2-position Rollovers (Web layouts only): Apply a 2-position rollover to an item so that the image in one or more other boxes will change when the mouse pointer is over the rollover box.
Page menu
The Page menu includes commands for inserting, deleting, and moving pages; working with guides, grids, and sections; navigating through pages, and more.
• Insert: Lets you add new pages.
• Delete: Lets you delete pages.
• Move: Lets you move a page to a different location.
• Master Guides and Grid: Lets you modify the placement of page guides and design grids on master pages.
• Page Properties (Web layouts only): Lets you modify the page properties of a Web layout.
• Section: Lets you change the numbering system for a layout or a range of pages in a layout.
• Previous: Navigates to the preceding page.
• Next: Navigates to the following page.
• First: Navigates to the first page.
• Last: Navigates to the last page.
• Go to: Lets you navigate to a particular page.
A GUIDE TO QUARKXPRESS 8.1 |
39
THE USER INTERFACE
• Display: Lets you display a page or a master page.
• Preview HTML (Web layouts only): Generates an HTML preview and displays it in a Web browser.
• Preview SWF (Interactive layouts only): Generates a preview and displays it in a Web browser.
Layout menu
The Layout menu includes commands for working with and navigating to layouts.
• New: Lets you add a new layout.
• Duplicate: Lets you duplicate one layout to copy its items and content to another.
• Delete: Lets you remove a layout.
• New/Edit Layout Specification: Lets you create or modify Job Jackets properties for a layout.
• Layout Properties: Lets you modify layout properties such as name, type, and size.
• Advanced Layout Properties: Lets you modify sharing properties of a layout.
• Previous: Activates the layout tab that was active prior to the current layout.
• Next: Activates the layout tab that is positioned to the immediate right of the active layout.
• First: Activates the far-left layout tab.
• Last: Activates the far-right layout tab.
• Go to: Lets you activate a specific layout and then choose the layout from the submenu.
Table menu
The Table menu includes commands for adding rows and columns to tables, modifying table attributes, converting tables, and more.
• Insert: Lets you add a row or column to a table.
• Select: Lets you select a pattern of rows and columns or other table elements. This makes it easy to apply alternating formatting — such as shading every other row.
• Delete: Lets you delete a selection from the table.
• Combine Cells: Lets you combine a rectangular selection of adjacent table cells — including entire rows or columns — into a single cell.
• Table Break: Lets you continue a table in another location. The table break is the maximum size the table can reach before it splits into two linked tables.
• Make Separate Tables: Lets you sever the link between continued tables so each table becomes completely separate. This prevents changes to one portion of the table from affecting all the continued tables.
• Repeat As Header: Lets you specify a header row to repeat automatically in continued instances of a table.
40
| A GUIDE TO QUARKXPRESS 8.1
THE USER INTERFACE
• Repeat As Footer: Lets you specify a footer row to repeat automatically in continued instances of a table.
• Convert Text to Table: Lets you convert text that has already been imported or typed into a text box to a table. This works best with text that is delimited in some way to indicate how to divide the information into columns and rows.
• Convert Table: Lets you convert the information in a table to text or to a group of related boxes. You might convert a table for easy exporting of the current data or to save a document containing features that are not supported in earlier versions of QuarkXPress.
• Link Text Cells: Lets you link table cells to each other just as text boxes and text paths can be linked. Text that is typed, imported, or pasted into a linked cell fills the first text cell, and then flows on to each subsequent linked cell.
• Maintain Geometry: Lets you prevent the width and height of a table from changing when you insert or delete rows or columns.
View menu
The View menu provides options for viewing your document and specifying what you see on screen when the menu item is checked. This menu includes the following commands:
• Fit in Window: Automatically scales the view to fit (and center) an entire page in the layout window.
• 50%: Scales the layout view to 50%.
• 75%: Scales the layout view to 75%.
• Actual Size: Scales the layout view to 100%.
• 200%: Scales the layout view to 200%.
• Thumbnails: Displays small representations of each page that you can rearrange and copy between projects.
• Guides: Displays nonprinting lines used to position items on pages, including margin guides, the outlines of boxes, the "X" pattern in empty picture boxes, and ruler guides.
• Page Grids: Displays nonprinting gridlines defined for the master page on which the active layout page is based.
• Text Box Grids: Displays nonprinting gridlines applied to text boxes.
• Snap to Guides: Lets you quickly align items with guides so items will snap to the nearest guide.
• Snap to Page Grids: Lets you quickly align items with page grids so items will snap to the nearest guide.
• Rulers: Displays rulers, which you can use to position items and guides, along the top and left edges or top and right edges of the layout window.
• Ruler Direction: Lets you position page rulers on the top and left or top and right edges of the layout window.
A GUIDE TO QUARKXPRESS 8.1 |
41
THE USER INTERFACE
• Invisibles: Displays editable, nonprinting characters such as spaces, tabs, and paragraph returns in text.
• Visual Indicators: Displays indicators for non-printing elements, such as hyperlinks and rollovers.
• Proof Output: Lets you preview how the layout will look when output to different media and for different printing methods. This display simulation is accurate enough for soft proofing.
• Full Res Previews: Displays full-resolution pictures on screen using the picture files' full resolution. You can scale or magnify image without pixilation.
Utilities menu
The Utilities menu includes the following commands:
• Check Spelling: Use the submenu to display the Check Spelling palette to check the spelling of a word, a selection of text, a story, a layout, or all master pages in a layout.
• Auxiliary Dictionary: Lets you specify an auxiliary dictionary for use in spell checking.
• Edit Auxiliary: Lets you edit the auxiliary dictionary associated with the active layout.
• Word And Character Count: Displays the Word and Character Count dialog box.
• Insert Character: Lets you easily insert special characters, including special breaking and nonbreaking spaces.
• Suggested Hyphenation: Displays the suggested hyphenation for the word containing the text insertion point.
• Hyphenation Exceptions: Lets you specify whether and how particular words should be hyphenated in the active article.
• Job Jackets Manager: Displays the Job Jackets Manager dialog box.
• Usage: Lets you view and update the usage of fonts, pictures, QuarkVista effects, color profiles, tables, and Composition Zones that are linked to external data sources.
• XTensions Manager: Lets you control which XTensions modules are loaded when the application is launched.
• Font Mapping: Lets you create and edit rules for substituting a new font for a font that is requested by a project but which is not installed on your computer.
• Component Status: Lets you view the status of required software components.
• PPD Manager: Lets you control which PostScript Printer Description files (PPDs) are loaded in the Print dialog box.
• Use German (Reformed): Lets you control whether spell checking uses the reformed
German dictionary.
• Convert Project Language: Lets you convert all of the characters in the active article that use a particular character language to a different character language.
• Profile Manager: Lets you control which color profiles are loaded in the application.
42
| A GUIDE TO QUARKXPRESS 8.1
THE USER INTERFACE
• Build Index: Lets you create an index from the contents of the Index palette.
• Jabber: Generates random text in the active text box so that you can preview how text will flow and be styled, even though you might not have actual content yet.
• Tracking Edit: Lets you control tracking for installed fonts.
• Kerning Table Edit: Lets you control kerning for installed fonts.
• Remove Manual Kerning: Lets you remove all manual kerning applied between characters, or remove kerning from a kerning pair.
• Line Check: Displays a submenu that lets you find widows, orphans, loosely justified lines, lines that end with a hyphen, and overflow situations.
• Convert Old Underlines: Converts all underlines in the active text chain from
QuarkXPress 3.x (Stars & Stripes) format to Type Tricks format.
• Text Overflow: Displays the Text Overflow window, which identifies text boxes that contain text overflow.
• Item Styles Usage: Lets you view and update applied item styles.
Window menu
The Window menu enables you to control the on-screen display of open windows and palettes. This menu includes the following commands:
• New Window: Displays the active project in a new window. You can then view different parts of the project in each window.
• Split Window: Splits the project window into two parts. You can then view different parts of the project in each part of the window.
• Bring All to Front (Mac OS only): Positions and displays all open windows.
• Cascade (Windows only): Layers multiple open projects so just a portion of each project's menu bar displays.
• Tile (Mac OS only): Tiles all open windows horizontally to fit on the screen.
• Tile Horizontally (Windows only): Tiles all open windows horizontally to fit on the screen.
• Stack (Mac OS only): Layers multiple open projects so just a portion of each project's menu bar displays.
• Tile Vertically (Windows only): Tiles all open windows vertically to fit on the screen.
• Arrange Icons (Windows only): Minimizes all active projects.
• Close All (Windows only): Closes all active projects.
• Tools: Displays and hides the Tools palette.
• Web Tools (Web layouts only): Displays and hides the Web Tools palette.
• Measurements: Displays and hides the Measurements palette.
• Page Layout: Displays and hides the Page Layout palette.
A GUIDE TO QUARKXPRESS 8.1 |
43
THE USER INTERFACE
• Style Sheets: Displays and hides the Style Sheets palette.
• Colors: Displays and hides the Colors palette.
• Shared Content: Displays and hides the Shared Content palette.
• Trap Information: Displays and hides the Trap Information palette.
• Lists: Displays and hides the Lists palette.
• Profile Information: Displays and hides the Profile Information palette.
• Grid Styles: Displays and hides the Grid Styles palette.
• Glyphs: Displays and hides the Glyphs palette.
• Hyperlinks: Displays and hides the Hyperlinks palette.
• Index: Displays and hides the Index palette.
• Interactive (Interactive layouts only): Displays and hides the Interactive palette.
• Layers: Displays and hides the Layers palette.
• Picture Effects: Displays and hides the Picture Effects palette.
• Placeholders: Displays and hides the Placeholders palette.
• Guides: Displays and hides the Guides palette.
• Item Styles: Displays and hides the Item Styles palette.
• PSD Import: Displays and hides the PSD Import palette.
• Palette Sets: Use the submenu to store and recall arrangements of palettes.
In addition, this menu includes an item for every open window. You can use these menu items to easily switch between windows.
Help menu
The Help menu provides access to the online help. This menu includes the following commands:
• Help Topics (Mac OS only): Use this command to display the online help.
• Contents (Windows only): Use this option to view the Contents tab of the Help window.
• Search (Windows only):Use this option to view the Search tab of the Help window.
• Index (Windows only): Use this option to view the Index tab of the Help window.
• Transfer QuarkXPress License (Windows only): Use this option to transfer your license to another computer.
• About QuarkXPress (Windows only): Use this command to display information about
QuarkXPress, such as the version number.
• Edit License Code (Windows only): Use this command to change the validation code of an installed copy of QuarkXPress. By changing this code, you can change a Test Drive version (formerly called "evaluation copy") of QuarkXPress into a fully functional version,
44
| A GUIDE TO QUARKXPRESS 8.1
THE USER INTERFACE
change the languages supported by the user interface, or change QuarkXPress into a Plus edition.
Context menus
QuarkXPress offers a wide variety of functionality through context menus. To display a context menu, Control+click (Mac OS) or right-click in text, on a picture, or on a palette.
Palettes
To open or display a palette, check the palette name in the Window menu.
To close an open palette, click the close box in the upper-left corner of the palette, uncheck the palette name in the Window menu, or use the appropriate keyboard equivalent.
Tools palette
The Tools palette lets you easily switch between a wide variety of tools for working with
layouts. For more information, see "
."
Measurements palette
With the Measurements palette (Window menu), you can quickly edit many commonly used controls. Options in the Measurements palette change to reflect the selected tool or item. When you select multiple items of the same type (such as three separate picture boxes), the Measurements palette controls apply to all selected items.
The tab bar displays above the center of the Measurements palette.
The Measurements palette displays a row of icons called the navigator tab above the center of the palette. You can cycle left-to-right through the Measurements palette navigator tab icons by pressing Command+Option+;/Ctrl+Alt+;. You can move in reverse (right-to-left) by pressing Command+Option+,/Ctrl+Alt+,.
To continuously display the navigator tab, Control+click/right-click the Measurements palette title bar and choose Always Show Tab Bar. To permanently hide the navigator tab, Control+click/right-click the Measurements palette title bar and choose Always Hide
Tab Bar. To make the navigator tab bar display interactively. Control+click/right-click the
Measurements palette title bar and choose Show Tab on Rollover.
The selection of tabs displayed on the Measurements palette depends on which items are active, and the display of any tab changes to fit the item or items that are active. The available tabs are as follows:
A GUIDE TO QUARKXPRESS 8.1 |
45
THE USER INTERFACE
•
Classic tab: Contains often-used controls. Displays differently for text boxes, picture boxes, lines, and tables.
•
Text tab: Contains controls from the Text tab of the Modify dialog box (Item >
Modify).
•
Frame tab: Contains controls from the Frame tab of the Modify dialog box.
•
Runaround tab: Contains controls from the Runaround tab of the Modify dialog box. Displays differently for text boxes, picture boxes, and lines.
•
Clipping tab: Contains controls from the Clipping tab of the Modify dialog box.
•
Character tab: Contains controls from the Character Attributes dialog box (Style >
Character).
•
Paragraph tab: Contains controls from the Formats tab of the Paragraph Attributes dialog box (Style > Formats).
•
Text Path tab: Contains controls from the Text Path tab of the Modify dialog box.
•
Space/Align tab: Contains controls from the Space/Align submenu (Item >
Space/Align).
•
Export tab: Contains controls from the Export tab of the Modify dialog box (Web layouts only).
•
Grids tab: Contains controls from the Grid tab of the Modify dialog box (selected tables only).
• box.
Drop Shadow tab: Contains controls from the Drop Shadow tab of the Modify dialog
• box.
Tabs tab: Contains controls from the Tabs tab of the Paragraph Attributes dialog
When you select a picture box that contains an image, the number next to the Effective
Image Resolution icon in the Classic tab of the Measurements palette displays the effective resolution of the image. The actual image resolution divided by the scale of the image equals the effective resolution. For example, if you import an image with an actual image resolution of 100 dpi and then increase the scale from 100% to 200%, the effective resolution is 50 dpi. The higher the effective resolution is, the higher the quality of the reproduced image will be. Note that if you select multiple picture boxes with varying effective resolutions, no number displays next to the Effective Image Resolution icon.
Page Layout palette
The Page Layout palette provides a variety of features having to do with pages and navigation.
46
| A GUIDE TO QUARKXPRESS 8.1
THE USER INTERFACE
The Page Layout palette lets you work with master pages and layout pages.
The top portion of the palette lets you create, duplicate, and delete master pages. To view and edit a master page, double-click it; the master page displays in the active project window. A single-sided master page displays as a rectangle, while a facing-page master page displays with two folded corners.
The bottom portion of the palette lets you navigate through the pages in the active layout.
To go to a layout page, double-click in this portion of the palette.
To apply a master page to a layout page, drag the master page icon onto the layout page icon. Alternatively, you can select the layout page icons in the palette and them
Command-click/Ctrl-click the master page icon.
Style Sheets palette
The Style Sheets palette (Window > Show Style Sheets) enables you to apply character and paragraph style sheets by clicking style sheet names. The buttons at the top of each section of this palette let you create, edit, duplicate, update, and delete style sheets.
A plus sign next to a style sheet indicates that local formatting has been applied.
A GUIDE TO QUARKXPRESS 8.1 |
47
THE USER INTERFACE
The Style Sheets palette lets you view and apply paragraph and character style sheets.
Colors palette
The Colors palette lets you view and apply colors defined in the active project. The buttons at the top of this palette let you create, edit, and delete colors.
Users create colors through the Colors dialog box (Edit > Colors). For more information,
."
The Colors palette lets you view and apply colors.
Shared Content palette
The Shared Content palette lets you work with items and content that are stored in the
shared content library. For more information, see "
48
| A GUIDE TO QUARKXPRESS 8.1
THE USER INTERFACE
The Shared Content palette lets you work with items and content in the shared content library.
Trap Information palette
The Trap Information palette lets you view and manipulate trapping relationships for
selected items. For more information, see "
The Trap Information palette lets you view and manipulate trapping relationships.
Lists palette
The Lists palette helps you view and generate lists. This feature is useful for creating things like tables of contents. You can create lists in the Lists dialog box (Edit > Lists).
The List Name drop-down menu lets you choose from among the lists defined in the active project and the Update button lets you refresh the list currently displayed in the palette.
A GUIDE TO QUARKXPRESS 8.1 |
49
THE USER INTERFACE
The Find button enables you to locate items in the Lists palette. You can also navigate to a word or heading by simply double-clicking it in the palette.
The Build button lets you insert the active list into the active text chain. If the list already exists in the story, you can update it rather than inserting another copy. The Format As style sheets for the list are applied automatically.
The Lists palette lets you create things like tables of contents
Profile Information palette
The Profile Information palette lets you view and update color management settings for pictures. For more information, see "
."
The Profile Information palette lets you precisely control color management settings for pictures.
Glyphs palette
The Glyphs palette gives you easy access to every character in each font on your computer.
You can display all characters in the selected font or narrow down the selection by choosing
50
| A GUIDE TO QUARKXPRESS 8.1
THE USER INTERFACE
an option from the second drop-down menu. You can add characters to a story by double-clicking them. Using the Favorite Glyphs area at the bottom of the palette, you can store often-used characters for easy access.
The Glyphs palette gives you easy access to every character in every font.
Hyperlinks palette
The Hyperlinks palette lets you apply hyperlinks to text and pictures. Although hyperlinks obviously won't work in printed layouts, they work when you export a layout in PDF format and when you export a Web layout in HTML format. For more information, see
"
The Hyperlinks palette lets you apply hyperlinks to text and pictures.
A GUIDE TO QUARKXPRESS 8.1 |
51
THE USER INTERFACE
Index palette
The Index palette lets you tag text for indexing. When you create an index (Utilities >
Build Index), all of the tags you created with the Index palette are automatically turned
into a customizable index. For more information, see "
The Index palette lets you tag text for inclusion in an automatically generated index.
Layers palette
The Layers palette lets you create layers, edit layer properties, control whether those layers display and print, and move objects between layers. For more information, See "
."
The Layers palette lets you work with layers and the objects on those layers.
52
| A GUIDE TO QUARKXPRESS 8.1
THE USER INTERFACE
Picture Effects palette
The Picture Effects palette lets you apply effects such as sharpening and contrast adjustment to pictures. This palette displays only when QuarkVista XTensions software is installed. For more information, see "
The Picture Effects palette lets you apply various visual effects to pictures in the layout.
PSD Import palette
The PSD Import palette lets you control the display of imported Photoshop (PSD) files.
."
The PSD Import palette lets you manipulate imported PSD pictures.
A GUIDE TO QUARKXPRESS 8.1 |
53
THE USER INTERFACE
Palette groups and palette sets
QuarkXPress offers two features that help you to manage palettes: palette groups and palette sets.
Using palette groups
The Palette Groups feature lets you combine several palettes into one.
This palette group shows the Style Sheets, Colors, and Lists palettes attached as one, which economizes space while providing easy access to functions.
To attach a palette to a palette group, Control+click/right-click the title bar of a palette group and choose an unchecked palette name. When you attach a palette that is already displayed, the palette moves to become part of the palette group. To detach a palette from a palette group, Control+click/right-click the palette name and choose Detach [palette
name].
Using palette sets
The Palette Sets feature lets you store and recall the position and status of all open palettes and libraries, so that you can easily switch between different palette configurations.
To create a palette set, first display all of the palettes you will need for a particular task and hide all other palettes. Then choose Window > Palette Sets > Save Palette Set As to display the Save Palette Set As dialog box, enter a name, and optionally assign a key command.
54
| A GUIDE TO QUARKXPRESS 8.1
THE USER INTERFACE
To retrieve a palette set, choose Window > Palette Sets > [name of palette set] or press the keyboard combination for that palette set.
Layout controls
When you open a project, you have immediate access to some basic features at the bottom left of the project window.
Layout controls
1 Zoom: Enter a zoom percentage or choose a zoom value from the drop-down menu.
2 Page Number: Enter a page number in the Page Number field or choose a page from the page list that displays when you click the upward facing arrow to the right of the field.
3 Previous Page: Navigate to the previous page.
4 Next Page: Navigate to the next page.
5 Master Page Toggle: Switch back and forth between the active layout page and its master page.
6 Split Screen Vertically: View the layout in two or more separate panes one above the other.
7 Split Screen Horizontally: View the layout in two or more separate panes side by side.
8 Export: Display the same export options that are available when you choose File > Export.
9 Preview: Preview a Web layout or Interactive layout as it appears when exported. Available only when you are working on Web layouts or Interactive layouts.
Click the up arrow next to the Page Number field to see a thumbnail view of all of the pages in the layout. Mac users can continue to click the up arrow to enlarge the thumbnails.
Splitting a window
By splitting a window into two or more panes, you can display multiple views of one project at the same time, and you can see changes in all panes simultaneously. You can even use different view modes in each pane, and see your edits in one pane and update
A GUIDE TO QUARKXPRESS 8.1 |
55
THE USER INTERFACE
in the other pane in real time. You can split multiple views horizontally or vertically within a window.
By splitting a window, you can view your work at different magnifications at the same time.
There are three ways to split a window:
• Choose Window > Split Window > Horizontal or Window > Split Window > Vertical.
• Click the split bar to the right of the scroll bar (for a vertical split) or at the top of the scroll bar (for a horizontal split).
• Click the split-screen icons in the layout controls bar at the bottom of the project window.
Once a window has been split, you can change the width and height of the split by dragging the bars between the splits.
To remove splits from a window, use one of the following techniques:
• Choose Window > Split Window > Remove All.
• Drag a split bar to the side of the window.
Creating a window
To create a new window that displays the active project, choose Window > New Window.
If you open multiple windows for a project, make changes to that project, and then begin closing the windows, the application will not prompt you to save the project until you attempt to close the last window that displays the project.
56
| A GUIDE TO QUARKXPRESS 8.1
Lataa
Mainos