SMART Technologies Notebook 14 User guide
Annonce
Annonce
SMART Notebook® 14
software
USER’S GUIDE
FOR WINDOWS OPERATING SYSTEMS
Product registration
If you register your SMART product, we’ll notify you of new features and software upgrades.
Register online at smarttech.com/registration .
Keep the following information available in case you need to contact SMART Support.
Serial number:
Date of purchase:
Trade-mark notice
SMART Notebook, SMART Document Camera, SMART Ink, SMART Board, SMART Response, SMART Exchange, smarttech, the SMART logo and all SMART taglines are trade-marks or registered trade-marks of SMART Technologies ULC in the US and/or other countries. Windows, PowerPoint and
Internet Explorer are either registered trade-marks or trade-marks of Microsoft Corporation in the US and/or other countries. Mac, Mac OS, OS X and
QuickTime are trade-marks of Apple Inc., registered in the US and other countries. Adobe, Reader and Flash are either registered trade-marks or trademarks of Adobe Systems Incorporated in the US and/or other countries. GeoGebra is a registered trade-mark of GeoGebra Inc. All other third-party product and company names may be trade-marks of their respective owners.
Copyright notice
© 2015 SMART Technologies ULC. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced, transmitted, transcribed, stored in a retrieval system or translated into any language in any form by any means without the prior written consent of SMART Technologies ULC. Information in this manual is subject to change without notice and does not represent a commitment on the part of SMART.
This product and/or use thereof covered by one or more of the following US patents.
www.smarttech.com/patents
MM/yyyy
Contents
i
Chapter 1: Getting started with SMART Notebook software
About the other SMART software on your computer
Starting SMART Notebook software
Viewing tool change notifications
Chapter 2: Creating and working with files
Attaching files to email messages
Chapter 3: Creating and working with pages
Cutting or copying and pasting pages
Chapter 4: Creating basic objects
Writing, drawing and erasing digital ink
Chapter 5: Working with objects
Cutting, copying and pasting objects
CONTENTS
Chapter 6: Inserting, organising and sharing content
Inserting content from the Gallery
Inserting content from GeoGebra
Inserting content from the SMART Exchange website
Inserting content from other sources
Inserting equations with the Maths Editor
Organising and sharing content using the Gallery
Sharing content using the SMART Exchange website
Chapter 7: Creating lesson activities
Using advanced object features
Creating example lesson activities
Chapter 8: Presenting lesson activities and facilitating collaboration
Using presentation tools whilst presenting
Enhancing system performance for recording
Clearing or resetting pages after presenting
Enabling two people to use an interactive whiteboard
Chapter 9: Enhancing SMART Notebook software with add-ons
Disabling and removing add-ons
Chapter 10: Accessing RSS feeds with Notebook Connect
Finding, adding and deleting an RSS feed
Inserting images and video in the drawing area
Chapter 11: Maintaining SMART Notebook software
Configuring SMART Notebook software
Updating and activating SMART software
ii
CONTENTS
Chapter 12: Troubleshooting SMART Notebook software
Troubleshooting the SMART Notebook software window and toolbar
iii
Chapter 1:
1
Chapter 1
Getting started with
SMART Notebook software
About the other SMART software on your computer
Starting SMART Notebook software
Customising the Attachments tab
Customising the Properties tab
Viewing tool change notifications
2
CHAPTER 1
GETTING STARTED WITH SMART NOTEBOOK SOFTWARE
This chapter introduces you to SMART Notebook™ collaborative learning software and explains how to get started with the software.
About SMART Notebook software
In SMART Notebook software, you can create .notebook files that include graphics, text, tables, lines, shapes, animations and more. Present your file and keep your class’s attention as you move and interact with these objects. When your class provides comments and suggestions, write their input on the page using digital ink. You can open .notebook files in
SMART Notebook software on a Windows®, Mac or Linux® computer. You can also export your file in a variety of formats, including HTML and PDF.
You can install SMART Notebook Tools as well as third-party add-ons to add special features to SMART Notebook software. SMART Notebook Tools include the following: l
3D Tools for SMART Notebook software l
Mixed Reality Tools for SMART Document Camera™ l
SMART Notebook Maths Tools
About the other SMART software on your computer
Your computer might include the following other SMART software.
l
SMART Product Drivers
Your interactive product detects contact with its screen and sends each contact point, along with Pen tool information, to the connected computer. SMART Product Drivers translates the information into mouse clicks and digital ink. SMART Product Drivers enables you to perform normal computer operations by using your finger or a pen.
l
SMART Ink™
Using SMART Ink, you can write or draw on the screen in digital ink using a pen and then save or erase your notes.
l
SMART Board® Tools
You can draw attention to specific parts of a page using SMART Board Tools, such as the
Screen Shade, Spotlight, Magnifier and Pointer.
What’s new
SMART Notebook 2014 software introduces the following new features.
CHAPTER 1
GETTING STARTED WITH SMART NOTEBOOK SOFTWARE
SMART Notebook 14.3 software
Feature Topic
Lesson Recorder provides an easy way to record activities on a
SMART Notebook software page.
Recording pages with the Lesson Recorder
Linking objects to tools
You can link any object to a tool on your software toolbar to create a customised tool that you can place anywhere on your page.
You can cut or copy and paste a page using the Page Sorter.
You can use the Text Pen to do the following:
- Insert text in a different colour
- Change the colour of selected text
- Change the colour of a whole word
You can lock an object but allow it to move horizontally or vertically.
Cutting or copying and pasting pages
Editing with the Text Pen
Locking objects
The screen shade is available in multiple colours.
Using the Screen Shade
The picture transparency dialogue box is resizable.
Creating transparent areas in a picture
SMART Notebook 14.2 software
Feature Topic
SMART Blocks
You can use coloured ink to write equations in the
Maths Editor.
Using SMART Blocks
Inserting equations with the Maths Editor
SMART Notebook 14.1 software
Feature Topic
Maths Editor
Inserting equations with the Maths Editor
Tool change notifications
Viewing tool change notifications
3
4
CHAPTER 1
GETTING STARTED WITH SMART NOTEBOOK SOFTWARE
SMART Notebook 14 software
Feature Topic
Paint Brush pen type
Writing or drawing digital ink
Crop images
Cropping images with a mask
Notebook Connect
GeoGebra add-on
Ink editing
XC Collaboration add-on
Calligraphic pen type
Accessing RSS feeds with Notebook Connect
Inserting content from GeoGebra
Using the Text Pen
Accessing XC Collaboration
Writing or drawing digital ink
Starting SMART Notebook software
Start SMART Notebook software by double-clicking the SMART Notebook 11 icon on the desktop.
When you start SMART Notebook software the first time, a tutorial file opens automatically.
You can read the contents of this file to learn more about the software and the new features in the latest release. When you’ve finished, select File > New to create a new, blank file.
NOTE
When you start the software subsequent times, a new, blank file opens automatically. To open the tutorial file, select Help > Tutorial.
Navigating the user interface
The SMART Notebook software user interface consists of the following components: l
Menu l
Toolbar l
Tabs (Page Sorter, Gallery, Attachments, Properties, Add-ons and SMART Response™) l
Page area
Menu
The menu contains all the commands you can use to manipulate files and objects in
SMART Notebook software.
CHAPTER 1
GETTING STARTED WITH SMART NOTEBOOK SOFTWARE
Toolbar
The toolbar enables you to select and use a variety of commands. The buttons on the toolbar are organised in panels.
Actions panel
The
Actions
panel of the toolbar includes buttons that enable you to browse and make changes to .notebook files:
Plug-ins panel
If you install SMART Notebook Tools such as SMART Notebook Math Tools and
SMART Response software, an additional panel appears to the right of the
Actions
panel:
Tools panel
The
Tools
panel includes buttons that enable you to create and work with basic objects on pages:
Contextual panel
When you select one of the buttons in the
Tools
panel, additional buttons appear. For example, if you select Pens , the following additional buttons appear:
Press the Pen Types button to select a pen type and then press one of the line type buttons to write or draw digital ink in that line type. You can customise a selected line type using the options in the Properties tab and then save your changes for future use (see
Saving tool settings
5
CHAPTER 1
GETTING STARTED WITH SMART NOTEBOOK SOFTWARE
The three property selectors beside the line type buttons enable you to set the colour, thickness, style and transparency of digital ink.
If you click any of the other buttons in the
Tools
panel, similar sets of additional buttons appear.
Customising the toolbar
You can add, remove and change the position of buttons on the toolbar by pressing
Customise the toolbar (see
Customising the toolbar
By default, the toolbar appears at the top of the SMART Notebook software window. However, you can move it to the bottom of the window by pressing Move toolbar to top/bottom of window . This is useful in situations where you or your students can’t reach the toolbar when it’s at the top of the window.
Page Sorter
The Page Sorter displays all of the pages in the open file as thumbnails and automatically updates these thumbnails as you change the contents of the pages.
Using the Page Sorter, you can do the following: l
Cut or copy and paste pages l
Display pages l
Cutting, copying, pasting pages l
Create pages l
Clone pages l
Clear pages l
Delete pages l
Rename pages l
Rearrange pages l
Move objects from one page to another l
Group pages
Opening the Page Sorter
To open the Page Sorter, press Page Sorter .
Customising the Page Sorter
You can move the Page Sorter from one side of the SMART Notebook software window to the other by pressing Move Sidebar .
6
7
CHAPTER 1
GETTING STARTED WITH SMART NOTEBOOK SOFTWARE
You can resize the Page Sorter by dragging its border left or right. You can also hide the Page
Sorter when you aren’t using it by selecting the Auto-hide tickbox. (To display the Page Sorter when it’s hidden, press Page Sorter .)
NOTE
If you reduce the Page Sorter to its minimum size, the auto-hide feature turns on automatically.
Gallery tab
The Gallery tab contains clip art, backgrounds, multimedia content, files and pages that you can use in your lessons, and displays preview images of this content. The Gallery tab also provides access to other online resources. For more information, see
Inserting content from the Gallery
You can also include your own content and content from other teachers in your school in the
Gallery tab (see
Organising and sharing content using the Gallery
Opening the Gallery tab
To open the Gallery tab, press Gallery .
Customising the Gallery tab
You can move the Gallery tab from one side of the SMART Notebook software window to the other by pressing Move Sidebar .
You can resize the Gallery tab by dragging its border left or right. You can also hide the Gallery tab when you aren’t using it by selecting the Auto-hide tickbox. (To display the Gallery tab when it’s hidden, press Gallery .)
NOTE
If you reduce the Gallery tab to its minimum size, the auto-hide feature turns on automatically.
Attachments tab
The Attachments tab displays the files and webpages attached to the current file. For more information, see
Attaching files and webpages
Opening the Attachments tab
To open the Attachments tab, press Attachments .
CHAPTER 1
GETTING STARTED WITH SMART NOTEBOOK SOFTWARE
Customising the Attachments tab
You can move the Attachments tab from one side of the SMART Notebook software window to the other by pressing Move Sidebar .
You can resize the Attachments tab by dragging its border left or right. You can also hide the
Attachments tab when you aren’t using it by selecting the Auto-hide tickbox. (To display the
Attachments tab when it’s hidden, press Attachments .)
NOTE
If you reduce the Attachments tab to its minimum size, the auto-hide feature turns on automatically.
Properties tab
The Properties tab enables you to format objects on a page, including digital ink, shapes, lines, text and tables. Depending on the object that you select, you can change the following: l
The colour, thickness and style of lines l
The transparency and fill effects of objects l
The font type, size and style of text l
The animation of objects
The Properties tab displays only the options that are available for the object that you select.
For more information on displaying and setting object properties in the Properties tab, see
Changing objects’ properties
The Properties tab also includes a Page Recording button. You can use this feature to record your actions on the current page (see
Recording pages with the Lesson Recorder
Opening the Properties tab
To open the Properties tab, press Properties .
Customising the Properties tab
You can move the Properties tab from one side of the SMART Notebook software window to the other by pressing Move Sidebar .
You can resize the Properties tab by dragging its border left or right. You can also hide the
Properties tab when you aren’t using it by selecting the Auto-hide tickbox. (To display the
Properties tab when it’s hidden, press Properties .)
8
CHAPTER 1
GETTING STARTED WITH SMART NOTEBOOK SOFTWARE
NOTE
If you reduce the Properties tab to its minimum size, the auto-hide feature turns on automatically.
Add-ons tab
The Add-ons tab enables you to work with SMART Notebook software add-ons (see
Enhancing SMART Notebook software with add-ons
Opening the Add-ons tab
To open the Add-ons tab, press Add-ons .
Customising the Add-ons tab
You can move the Add-ons tab from one side of the SMART Notebook software window to the other by pressing Move Sidebar .
You can resize the Add-ons tab by dragging its border left or right. You can also hide the Addons tab when you aren’t using it by selecting the Auto-hide tickbox. (To display the Add-ons tab when it’s hidden, press Add-ons .)
NOTE
If you reduce the Add-ons tab to its minimum size, the auto-hide feature turns on automatically.
SMART Response tab
The SMART Response tab is part of SMART Response software and is available only if you have SMART Response software installed.
Page area
The page area displays the contents of a selected page in a file. This is the area of the page where you create and work with objects (see
Creating basic objects
9
CHAPTER 1
GETTING STARTED WITH SMART NOTEBOOK SOFTWARE
Viewing tool change notifications
If your SMART product has Touch Recognition enabled, SMART Notebook software displays tool change notifications when you select a new hardware tool or change a tool’s settings.
Pens, the eraser and the mouse are all hardware tools. You can also view tool change notifications when you touch the display with your finger.
NOTE
Only some SMART hardware products support Touch Recognition. For more information, refer to your SMART hardware product’s user guide.
To view tool change notifications
Using a hardware tool or your finger, press the toolbar to select tool settings.
A status bar appears under the toolbar and shows the active tool and settings. The status bar updates each time that you select another tool or setting.
NOTE
The status bar also appears when you assign ink settings to the hardware pen using the
Properties
tab (see
Changing objects’ properties
Using gestures
You can interact with objects in SMART Notebook software using the following gestures (if supported by your interactive product):
10
Swipe (left to right) Swipe (right to left)
CHAPTER 1
GETTING STARTED WITH SMART NOTEBOOK SOFTWARE
11
Pinch to zoom in / scale (enlarge) Pinch to zoom out / scale (reduce)
Pan Rotate
Shake Flick
CHAPTER 1
GETTING STARTED WITH SMART NOTEBOOK SOFTWARE
Undoing and redoing actions
When you make changes to a file, you can reverse the effects of your previous actions and commands.
NOTE
If two people are using your interactive product, pressing Undo and Redo affects the actions of both users.
To reverse the effect of the last action
Press Undo .
NOTE
You can undo an unlimited number of actions.
To reinstate the last action reversed with the Undo command
Press Redo .
12
Chapter 2:
13
Chapter 2
Creating and working with files
Attaching files to email messages
In SMART Notebook software, you can create or open SMART Notebook software (.notebook) files. After creating or opening a .notebook file, you can save it, print it and complete other common tasks.
Creating files
When you start SMART Notebook software for the first time, a tutorial file opens automatically.
When you start the software subsequent times, a new .notebook file opens automatically.
However, you can create a new file at any time.
To create a file
Select File > New.
If you’re working on a file with unsaved changes, a dialogue box appears and prompts you to save the current file. Press Yes to save your changes and then follow the on-screen instructions.
Opening files
With SMART Notebook 11 software, you can open the following: l
.notebook files (the default file format for SMART Notebook 9.5, 9.7, 10 and 11 software) l
.xbk files (the default file format for SMART Notebook 8.x, 9.0 and 9.1 software)
Once you have opened a file, you can save the file as a .notebook file.
The method by which you open a file is the same for all versions of SMART Notebook software.
CHAPTER 2
CREATING AND WORKING WITH FILES
To open a file
1. Press Open File .
The
Open
dialogue box appears.
2. Browse to and select the file.
3. Press Open.
TIP
You can open a recently opened file by selecting the File menu and then selecting the file name.
Saving files
By default, SMART Notebook software saves your files in .notebook format. Anyone with
SMART Notebook 9.5 or later software for Windows operating systems, Mac OS X operating system software or Linux operating systems installed on his or her computer can open a
.notebook file.
To save a new file
1. Press Save .
The
Save As
dialogue box appears.
2. Browse to where you want to save the new file.
3. Type a name for the file in the
File name
box.
4. Press Save.
To save an existing file
Press Save .
To save an existing file with a new name or location
1. Select File > Save As.
The
Save As
dialogue box appears.
2. Browse to where you want to save the new file.
3. Type a name for the file in the
File name
box.
4. Press Save.
14
CHAPTER 2
CREATING AND WORKING WITH FILES
Exporting files
You can export your .notebook files to the following formats: l
Webpages l
Picture formats o
BMP o
GIF o
JPEG o
PNG l
PowerPoint® l
PDF l
Interactive Whiteboard Common File Format (CFF) l
NOTES
SMART Notebook software doesn’t include attachments when you export files as picture files. To include attachments, you must export your file as either webpages or
PDF (Adobe® Reader® 6.0 or later).
l
SMART Notebook software doesn’t export files that you attach to your .notebook file as shortcuts. If you want to include an attachment, attach a copy of the file (see
Attaching files and webpages
l
SMART Notebook software doesn’t export some gradient, pattern and image effects.
These effects might appear as a solid fill or appear incorrectly in the exported file.
You can also set SMART Notebook software to save a .notebook file in one of the above formats automatically when you display a different page or after a specified period of time
(see
Saving files automatically
To export a file as webpages
1. Select File > Export As > Webpage.
The
Save As
dialogue box appears.
2. Browse to where you want to export the file.
3. Type a name for the file in the
File name
box.
4. Press Save.
To export a file as picture files
1. Select File > Export As > Image Files.
The
Save As
dialogue box appears.
15
CHAPTER 2
CREATING AND WORKING WITH FILES
2. Select a folder where you want to export the files.
3. Select a picture format in the
Image Type
drop-down list.
4. Select a picture size in the
Size
drop-down list.
5. Press OK.
To export a file as a PowerPoint file
1. Select File > Export As > PowerPoint.
The
Save As
dialogue box appears.
2. Browse to where you want to export the file.
3. Type a name for the file in the
File name
box.
4. Select PowerPoint 2007 Files (*.pptx) or PowerPoint Files (*.ppt) in the
Save at type
drop-down list.
5. Press Save.
NOTE
You can also import PowerPoint files (see
Importing PowerPoint files
To export a file as a PDF file
1. Select File > Export As > PDF.
The
Export PDF
dialogue box appears.
2. Press Thumbnails, Handouts or Full Page.
3. Optionally, type header text in the
Header
box, footer text in the
Footer
box and the current date in the
Date
box.
4. Optionally, select the Show page numbers check box to show a page number on each page.
5. If you pressed Thumbnails or Handouts in step 2, select a thumbnail size in the
Thumbnail size
drop-down list and, optionally, select the Page borders tickbox to show a border around each thumbnail and the Thumbnail titles tickbox to show titles under each thumbnail.
6. Select All to include all pages.
OR
Select Pages to include select pages and then type the page numbers in the box.
Separate individual page numbers with commas and separate page ranges with a hyphen
(for example, 1,2,4-7).
16
CHAPTER 2
CREATING AND WORKING WITH FILES
7. Press Save.
The
Save as PDF File
dialogue box appears.
8. Browse to where you want to export the file.
9. Type a name for the file in the
File name
box.
10. Press Save.
To export a file as a CFF file
1. Select File > Export As > CFF.
The
Save As
dialogue box appears.
2. Browse to where you want to export the file.
3. Type a name for the file in the
File name
box.
4. Press Save.
NOTE
You can also import CFF files (see
Importing files from other interactive whiteboard programs
Printing files
You can print all pages or select pages in a .notebook file. You can print the pages as thumbnails, handouts or full pages.
To print a file
1. Select File > Print.
The
dialogue box appears.
2. Press Thumbnails, Handouts or Full Page.
3. Optionally, type header text in the
Header
box, footer text in the
Footer
box and the current date in the
Date
box.
4. Optionally, select the Show page numbers check box to show a page number on each page.
5. If you pressed Thumbnails or Handouts in step 2, select a thumbnail size in the
Thumbnail size
drop-down list and, optionally, select the Page borders tickbox to show a border around each thumbnail and the Thumbnail titles tickbox to show titles under each thumbnail.
17
CHAPTER 2
CREATING AND WORKING WITH FILES
6. Select All to include all pages.
OR
Select Pages to include select pages and then type the page numbers in the box.
Separate individual page numbers with commas and separate page ranges with a hyphen
(for example, 1,2,4-7).
7. Press the Printer Setup tab.
8. Specify other print settings, including the printer name and the number of copies.
9. Press Print.
Saving files automatically
You can manually save your .notebook files at any time (see
Saving files
export them to a variety of formats (see
Exporting files
SMART Notebook software to save your file automatically when you display a different page or after a specified period of time.
l
NOTES
SMART Notebook software doesn’t include attachments when you export files as picture files. To include attachments, you must export your file as either webpages or
PDF (Adobe Reader 6.0 or later).
l
SMART Notebook software doesn’t export files that you attach to your .notebook file as shortcuts. If you want to include an attachment, attach a copy of the file (see
Attaching files and webpages
l
SMART Notebook software doesn’t export some gradient, pattern and image effects.
These effects might appear as a solid fill or appear incorrectly in the exported file.
To save a file automatically
1. Select File > Timed Saves.
The
Timed Save Wizard
appears.
2. Select Every time I move to a different page to save your file automatically every time you select a different page.
OR
Select 1 minute, 5 minutes, 15 minutes or 30 minutes to save your file automatically after a specified period of time.
3. Press Next.
4. Select Notebook Document.
18
CHAPTER 2
CREATING AND WORKING WITH FILES
5. Press Next.
The
Save As
dialogue box appears.
6. Browse to where you want to save the new file.
7. Type a name for the file in the
File name
box. SMART Notebook software automatically saves the file with the .notebook file extension.
8. Press Save.
To save a file automatically as webpages
1. Select File > Timed Saves.
The
Timed Save Wizard
appears.
2. Select Every time I move to a different page to export your file automatically when you display a different page.
OR
Select 1 minute, 5 minutes, 15 minutes or 30 minutes to export your file automatically after a specified period of time.
3. Press Next.
4. Select Webpage (HTML).
5. Press Next.
The
Save As
dialogue box appears.
6. Browse to where you want to export the file.
7. Type a name for the file in the
File name
box.
8. Press Save.
To save a file automatically as PDF files
1. Select File > Timed Saves.
The
Timed Save Wizard
appears.
2. Select Every time I move to a different page to export your file automatically when you display a different page.
OR
Select 1 minute, 5 minutes, 15 minutes or 30 minutes to export your file automatically after a specified period of time.
3. Press Next.
19
CHAPTER 2
CREATING AND WORKING WITH FILES
4. Select PDF.
OR
Select Time Stamped PDFs, if you want the exported files’ names to include the time of the export.
5. Press Next.
The
Save As
dialogue box appears.
6. Browse to where you want to export the file.
7. Type a name for the file in the
File name
box.
8. Press Save.
To save a file automatically as picture files
1. Select File > Timed Saves.
The
Timed Save Wizard
appears.
2. Select Every time I move to a different page to export your file automatically when you display a different page.
OR
Select 1 minute, 5 minutes, 15 minutes or 30 minutes to export your file automatically after a specified period of time.
3. Press Next.
4. Select Image Files.
5. Press Next.
6. Press Browse, browse to where you want to export the files and then press Open.
7. Select the picture format in the
Image Type
drop-down list.
8. Select the picture size in the
Size
drop-down list.
9. Press OK.
To save a file automatically as a PowerPoint file
1. Select File > Timed Saves.
The
Timed Save Wizard
appears.
20
CHAPTER 2
CREATING AND WORKING WITH FILES
2. Select Every time I move to a different page to export your file automatically when you display a different page.
OR
Select 1 minute, 5 minutes, 15 minutes or 30 minutes to export your file automatically after a specified period of time.
3. Press Next.
4. Select PowerPoint.
5. Press Next.
The
Save As
dialogue box appears.
6. Browse to where you want to export the file.
7. Type a name for the file in the
File name
box.
8. Press Save.
To cancel automatic file saving
1. Select File > Timed Saves.
The
Timed Save Wizard
appears.
2. Select Do not save the document automatically.
3. Press Next.
Attaching files to email messages
You can send your file to others by attaching the file, or a PDF version of the file, to an email message.
To attach a file to an email message
Select File > Send To > Mail Recipient.
Your default email program starts, creates a new message and attaches the current file to the message.
If you haven’t saved the file, SMART Notebook software saves it as a temporary file called untitled.notebook and your email program attaches this temporary file to the email message.
To attach a file to an email message as a PDF
Select File > Send To > Mail Recipient (as PDF).
Your default email program starts, creates a new message and attaches a PDF of the current file to the message.
21
CHAPTER 2
CREATING AND WORKING WITH FILES
If you haven’t saved the file, SMART Notebook software saves the PDF file as a temporary file called untitled.pdf and your email program attaches the temporary file to the email message.
22
Chapter 3:
Chapter 3
Creating and working with pages
Cutting or copying and pasting pages
A .notebook file is composed of a series of pages, each with its own objects and properties.
A thumbnail of each page appears in the Page Sorter. Using either the Page Sorter or menu commands, you can display an existing page, create a blank page, create a clone of an existing page or delete an existing page.
Displaying pages in a file
You can display any page in the file using the Page Sorter. You can display the next or previous page in the file using buttons or gestures.
To display a page
1. If the Page Sorter isn’t visible, press Page Sorter
2. Press the thumbnail of the page you want to display.
.
To display the next page in a file
Press Next Page .
OR
Swipe your finger across the page from right to left.
23
CHAPTER 3
CREATING AND WORKING WITH PAGES
A message appears, displaying the current page’s number.
To display the previous page in a file
Press Previous Page .
OR
Swipe your finger across the page from left to right.
A message appears, displaying the current page’s number.
Creating pages
You can add a blank page to the open file using the
Add Page
button or the Page Sorter.
To insert a page using the Add Page button
Press Add Page .
The new page appears after the current page.
24
CHAPTER 3
CREATING AND WORKING WITH PAGES
To insert a page using the Page Sorter
1. If the Page Sorter isn’t visible, press Page Sorter .
2. Select the thumbnail of the page that you want the new page to appear after.
3. Press the thumbnail’s menu arrow and then select Insert Blank Page.
The new page appears after the selected page.
Cloning pages
As an alternative to creating a blank page, you can create a duplicate (or “clone”) of an existing page.
NOTE
You can clone a page only if it contains content.
To clone a page
1. If the Page Sorter isn’t visible, press Page Sorter .
2. Select the thumbnail of the page that you want to clone.
3. Press the thumbnail’s menu arrow and then select Clone Page.
The cloned page appears immediately after the current page.
NOTE
You can repeat this process as many times as you want.
Extending pages
If you need more room at the bottom of a page, you can extend the page vertically without affecting the page’s width. You can turn this feature off to prevent your pages from becoming longer.
To extend a page
1. If you’re displaying the page in Entire Page view, select a different zoom level.
2. Press the Extend Page link at the bottom of the page.
25
CHAPTER 3
CREATING AND WORKING WITH PAGES
To turn Extend Page on or off
1. Select View > Extend Page
2. Select Off to turn the Extend Page feature off.
OR
Select On to turn the Extend Page feature on.
Renaming pages
When you create a page, SMART Notebook software automatically names the page with the date and time of its creation. You can change this name.
To rename a page
1. If the Page Sorter isn’t visible, press Page Sorter
2. Double-click the page’s name.
3. Type a new name for the page.
4. Press elsewhere.
.
Cutting or copying and pasting pages
You can cut or copy and paste a page from the current file using the Page Sorter.
To cut or copy and paste a page using the Page Sorter
1. If the Page Sorter isn’t visible, press Page Sorter .
2. Select the thumbnail of the page that you want to cut.
3. Press the thumbnail’s menu arrow and then select Cut Page or Copy Page .
4. Select the thumbnail of the page that you want to follow the pasted page.
5. Press the thumbnail’s menu arrow and then select Paste Page.
The new thumbnail appears preceding the thumbnail that you selected in the previous step.
TIP
You can also copy and paste pages from other SMART Notebook software files.
26
CHAPTER 3
CREATING AND WORKING WITH PAGES
Rearranging pages
If you want, you can rearrange the order of the pages in a file.
To rearrange pages
1. If the Page Sorter isn’t visible, press Page Sorter .
2. Press the thumbnail of the page that you want to move in the file.
A blue border appears around the thumbnail.
3. Drag the thumbnail to its new position in the Page Sorter.
A blue line indicates the page’s new position.
4. Release the thumbnail.
Grouping pages
You can group pages in a file. This enables you to find a particular group quickly in the Page
Sorter and then display its pages. This is useful when there are a lot of pages in a file.
To create or edit a group
1. If the Page Sorter isn’t visible, press Page Sorter .
2. Press the first group’s menu arrow and then select Edit Page Groups.
All the groups and pages for the current file are displayed. Groups appear as blue bars and pages appear as thumbnails: o
If you created and edited the groups in this file, the pages appear under the blue bars you created and renamed.
o
If you haven’t edited the groups, a default group titled
Group 1
appears and includes all of the pages and their thumbnails below its blue bar.
NOTE
Thumbnails below each blue bar include the same menu arrow options as thumbnails in the Page Sorter. This enables you to press a thumbnail in a group, select its menu arrow and then delete the page, clear the page, insert a new page, clone the page, rename the page, add a Screen Shade to the page or add the page to the Gallery.
3. Press the Add New Group button in the upper right-hand corner.
A new group, with a new, blank page, appears.
4. Type a new name for the group.
27
CHAPTER 3
CREATING AND WORKING WITH PAGES
5. Do the following: o
To move a page into a group, press the page’s thumbnail and then drag it below the group’s blue bar and to the right of the thumbnail that you want it to follow.
o
To rearrange the order of pages in a group, press a page’s thumbnail and then drag it to the right of the thumbnail that you want it to follow.
o
To rearrange the order of groups, press a group’s blue bar and then drag it below the blue bar of the group that you want it to follow.
o
NOTES
You can also change the order of the groups by pressing a blue bar’s menu arrow and then selecting Move Up or Move Down.
o
SMART Notebook software numbers pages sequentially across a file. If you change the order of groups, SMART Notebook software renumbers the pages in the groups accordingly.
o
To delete a group and keep its pages, move all of its pages to different groups.
When a group contains no pages, SMART Notebook software automatically deletes it.
o
To delete a group and all pages in the group, press the blue bar’s menu arrow and then select Delete Group.
6. Press .
To access a group in the Page Sorter
1. If the Page Sorter isn’t visible, press Page Sorter .
2. Press the first group’s menu arrow and then select the name of the group that you want to access.
The Page Sorter displays the thumbnail for the first page in the group that you want to access.
Deleting pages
You can delete a page from the current file using the
Delete Page
button or the Page Sorter.
TIP
As an alternative to deleting a page, you can clear all of its objects (see
Clearing pages
28
CHAPTER 3
CREATING AND WORKING WITH PAGES
To delete a page using the Delete Page button
1. If you haven’t done so already, display the page that you want to delete.
2. Select Delete Page .
To delete a page using the Page Sorter
1. If the Page Sorter isn’t visible, press Page Sorter .
2. Select the thumbnail of the page that you want to delete.
3. Press the thumbnail’s menu arrow and then select Delete Page.
29
Chapter 4:
31
Chapter 4
Creating basic objects
Writing, drawing and erasing digital ink
Writing or drawing digital ink
Creating shapes with the Shapes tool
Creating shapes with the Regular Polygons tool
Creating shapes with the Shape Recognition Pen tool
Creating straight lines and arcs
Converting handwriting to typed text
Inserting mathematical symbols
Checking the spelling of text objects
Pasting tables from other programs
Selecting tables, columns, rows or cells
Resizing tables, columns or rows
Adding or removing columns, rows or cells
Splitting or merging table cells
Deleting tables and the contents of tables
Objects are the building blocks of content in your .notebook files. An object is simply an item on a page that you create or import and then work with. Basic types of objects include the following: l
Digital ink (freehand writing and drawing) l
Shapes l
Straight lines l
Arcs
CHAPTER 4
CREATING BASIC OBJECTS l
Text l
Tables
Writing, drawing and erasing digital ink
Digital ink is freehand text or objects that you create using your interactive display’s pen or pens, or the SMART Notebook software Pens tool. Writing or drawing digital ink enables you to quickly add content to your SMART Notebook software files, either when creating the files or when presenting the files to students.
Once you have created digital ink, you can erase it.
Writing or drawing digital ink
The easiest way to write or draw digital ink is to use your interactive display’s pen or pens.
You can also create freehand objects using the Pens tool. The Pens tool enables you to write or draw digital ink using the following pen types:
Pen type
Standard
Calligraphic
Purpose and example
Write or draw digital ink in a variety of colours and line styles.
Write or draw digital ink, like you do with the Standard pen type, but with lines of varying thickness.
Notes
Using the Standard pen type, you can write or draw digital ink that fades after a few seconds (see
Using the
Standard pen type to create fading objects
The Calligraphic pen type is useful for teaching students handwriting.
Crayon
Write or draw crayon-like digital ink.
The Crayon pen type is intended for artistic work, such as painting and colouring pictures, rather than writing.
Highlighter
Highlight text and other objects.
32
CHAPTER 4
CREATING BASIC OBJECTS
Pen type
Text
Purpose and example
Write notes that automatically convert to editable text.
Notes
You can edit your text as you work without touching a keyboard (see
Using the Text
Pen
Creative
Add colourful elements to your presentations.
You can create custom
Creative pen styles (see
Creating custom Creative pen styles
Paint Brush Write or draw paint-like digital ink.
Magic
Shape
Recognition
Write or draw digital ink that fades after a few seconds.
Draw a variety of shapes with digital ink.
The Paint Brush pen type is intended for artistic work, such as painting and colouring pictures, rather than writing.
You can also use the Magic
Pen to open a magnification window or a spotlight window
(see
Using the Magic Pen
You can draw circles, ovals, squares, rectangles, triangles and arcs (see
Creating shapes with the Shape
Recognition Pen tool
To write or draw digital ink
1. Press Pens .
The Pens tool buttons appear.
2. Press Pen Types and then select a pen type.
3. Select a line type.
33
CHAPTER 4
CREATING BASIC OBJECTS
4. Optionally, customise the line type using the property selectors.
NOTE
You can also customise the line type using the Properties tab (see
Changing objects’ properties
5. Write or draw digital ink on the page.
o
TIPS
Don’t rest your elbow or the palm of your hand on your interactive product’s surface whilst you write or draw.
o
If you write or draw multiple lines, SMART Notebook software automatically combines the lines into a single object. For example, if you write the letters of a word, SMART Notebook software combines the individual letters, enabling you to interact with the whole word. If you want to write words on the same line but don’t want them combined, leave a large gap between them, use different pens, or briefly put the pen in the pen tray before writing another word (interactive whiteboards only).
o
If you want to write diagonally, write in a straight line, and then rotate it (see
Rotating objects
o
If you want to write in small letters, write large letters, and then reduce their size
(see
Resizing objects
o
You can fill areas that you’ve enclosed with digital ink (see
Filling digital ink drawings
Erasing digital ink
You can erase digital ink from your interactive display using the eraser or the erasing gesture. If you’re erasing digital ink from a .notebook file page, you can also erase objects using the
Eraser tool.
NOTE
Although you can erase digital ink, you’re unable to erase other types of objects, including shapes, lines, text and pictures. To remove these types of objects, you must delete them
(see
Deleting objects
To erase digital ink
1. Press Eraser and then select an eraser type.
2. Erase the digital ink.
34
CHAPTER 4
CREATING BASIC OBJECTS
Creating shapes and lines
In addition to creating freehand shapes and lines by drawing digital ink, you can create shapes and lines using the tools in SMART Notebook software.
NOTE
To remove a shape or line from a page, you must delete it (see
Deleting objects
on page 72). The Eraser tool doesn’t remove shapes.
Creating shapes with the Shapes tool
You can use the Shapes tool to create a variety of shapes, including perfect circles, perfect squares, perfect triangles, other geometric shapes, hearts, ticks and Xs .
You can add a shape to your page and then edit its properties. Alternatively, you can customise a shape’s outline colour, fill colour and line thickness and then add it to your page.
To create a shape
1. Press Shapes .
The Shapes tool buttons appear.
2. Select a shape on the toolbar.
OR
Press and then select a shape.
3. Optionally, customise the shape using the property selectors.
NOTE
You can also customise the shape using the Properties tab (see
Changing objects’ properties
35
CHAPTER 4
CREATING BASIC OBJECTS
4. Create a shape by pressing where you want to place the shape and dragging until the shape is the size that you want.
o
TIPS
You can create perfect circles, squares, triangles and other shapes by holding down SHIFT as you draw the shape.
o
You can select a shape while the Shapes tool to the Select tool around the shape.
is active without having to switch
. Press the shape once and a selection rectangle appears
Creating shapes with the Regular Polygons tool
In addition to creating shapes using the Shapes tool, you can create regular polygons with 3 to
15 sides using the Regular Polygons tool.
To create a shape with the Regular Polygons tool
1. Press Regular Polygons .
The Regular Polygons tool buttons appear.
2. Select a shape on the toolbar.
OR
Press and then select a shape.
NOTE
The number in the shape indicates its number of sides.
3. Optionally, customise the shape using the property selectors.
NOTE
You can also customise the shape using the Properties tab (see
Changing objects’ properties
4. Create a shape by pressing where you want to place the shape and dragging until the shape is the size that you want.
36
CHAPTER 4
CREATING BASIC OBJECTS
Creating shapes with the Shape Recognition Pen tool
You can use the Shape Recognition Pen tool to draw circles, ovals, squares, rectangles, triangles and arcs.
NOTE
You can also create shapes using the Shapes tool (see
Creating shapes with the Shapes tool
on page 35) or the Regular Polygons tool (see
Creating shapes with the Regular
Polygons tool
To draw a shape
1. Press Pens .
The Pens tool buttons appear.
2. Press Pen Types and then select Shape Recognition Pen.
3. Draw a shape on the page.
If SMART Notebook software recognises your drawing as a circle, oval, square, rectangle, triangle or arc, it adds this shape to the page.
Creating straight lines and arcs
You can use the Lines tool to draw straight lines and arcs.
You can add a line to your page and then edit its properties. Alternatively, you can customise the line, and then add it to your page.
37
CHAPTER 4
CREATING BASIC OBJECTS
To create a straight line or arc
1. Press Lines .
The Lines tool buttons appear.
2. Select a line or arc type.
3. Optionally, customise the line or arc type using the property selectors.
NOTE
You can also customise the line or arc type using the Properties tab (see
Changing objects’ properties
4. Create a line by pressing where you want the line to start and dragging to where you want the line to end.
Creating text
You can create text in SMART Notebook software by doing any of the following: l
Typing the text using a keyboard connected to your computer l
Typing the text using SMART Keyboard l
Writing the text (see
Writing, drawing and erasing digital ink
converting it to typed text using the software’s handwriting recognition feature
After creating text, you can edit it, check its spelling and change its properties, including font style, size and colour.
Typing text
You can type new text or edit existing text.
To type new text
1. If a keyboard isn’t accessible, press the SMART Board icon in the notification area and then select Keyboard.
2. Press Text and then select an available font style.
3. Optionally, customise the font style (see
Formatting text
38
CHAPTER 4
CREATING BASIC OBJECTS
4. Press where you want the text to start.
5. Type your text.
6. When you’ve finished, press outside the text object.
To edit existing text
1. Double-click the text object.
2. Edit the text.
3. When you’ve finished, press outside the text object.
Converting handwriting to typed text
You can write on your interactive product’s screen using the Standard or Calligraphic pen types and convert your writing to typed text. SMART Notebook software can convert handwriting in multiple languages.
To convert handwriting to typed text
1. Press Pens .
The Pens tool buttons appear.
2. Press Pen Types and then select Pen or Calligraphic Pen.
3. Write your text.
TIP
Write neat, printed characters on a horizontal line. Although SMART Notebook software can convert slanted or cursive writing, it doesn’t always do so consistently.
4. Select the text object.
The SMART Notebook software handwriting recognition feature compares your written word with its dictionary and identifies words that most resemble what you’ve written.
39
CHAPTER 4
CREATING BASIC OBJECTS
5. Press the text object’s menu arrow.
A menu appears and displays the list of matching words, each preceded by
Recognise
.
o
NOTES
If you want SMART Notebook software to identify words in a different language, select Recognise Languages and then select another language in the list.
SMART Notebook software updates the list of matching words to include words in the selected language.
o
If you change the handwriting recognition language, you don’t change the default language of the SMART Notebook software user interface or your operating system.
6. Select a word in the list of matching words.
The selected word appears on the page.
Formatting text
If you want to format all text in a text object, select the text object.
OR
If you want to format specific text in a text object, double-click the text object and then select the text.
You can format text using the buttons in the toolbar or the options in the Properties tab or the
Format menu.
NOTE
If the Properties tab isn’t visible, press Properties and then press Text Style.
The following table presents the formatting changes that you can make using the above tools:
Change Toolbar Properties tab
Format menu
Character, paragraph or object level
Change the font face
Change the font size
TIP
To select a font size that doesn’t appear in the drop-down list (including font sizes with decimal values such as 20.5), type the font size in the
Font Size
box on the toolbar.
Change the colour
40
CHAPTER 4
CREATING BASIC OBJECTS
Change
Bold, italicise or underline text
Strike out text
Superscript or subscript text
Paragraph or object level
Change justification (left, right or centre)
Change indentation
Create a bulleted or numbered list
Insert a drop cap
TIP
To insert a drop cap at the beginning of a paragraph, press Drop Cap in the
Properties
tab under
Text Style
.
OR
Select Format > Paragraph > Drop Cap.
Change line spacing
TIP
To add spacing between paragraphs, select the
Add space after paragraphs tickbox in the
Properties tab or select Format > Paragraph >
Line Spacing > Add space after paragraphs.
Toolbar Properties tab
Format menu
3
4
1
2
1
Under More Text Options
2
Under More Text Options
3
Under More Text Options
4
Under More Text Options
41
CHAPTER 4
CREATING BASIC OBJECTS
Change
Change language direction (left-to-right or rightto-left)
NOTE
Select Format > Paragraph > Direction > Left to Right for languages that read left to right (for example, English and French).
OR
Select Format > Paragraph > Direction > Right to Left for languages that read right to left (for example, Arabic and Hebrew).
Object level
Change text direction (horizontal or vertical)
Change transparency
Toolbar Properties tab
Format menu
5
Resizing text objects
When you resize a text object following the procedure in
Resizing objects
text in the object changes size.
If you want to resize the text object without changing the size of the text in the object, complete the following procedure.
To resize a text object
1. Double-click the text object.
2. Press one of the two white circles on either side of text object, and then drag the circle to increase or reduce the text object’s size.
Inserting mathematical symbols
You can insert a variety of mathematical and scientific symbols into a page.
NOTE
The mathematical symbols are characters only. They don’t perform mathematical operations.
5
Under More Text Options
42
CHAPTER 4
CREATING BASIC OBJECTS
To insert a mathematical symbol
1. Type text on a page.
2. Press More Text Options and then select Insert Symbol .
The
Insert Symbols
dialogue box appears.
3. Press a category.
A list of symbols appears.
4. Press the symbol you want to add to the text.
5. Press Insert.
The symbol appears in the text object.
Checking the spelling of text objects
As you type text, SMART Notebook software checks the spelling. If you spell a word incorrectly, SMART Notebook software underlines the word in red. You can then right-click the word and select the correct spelling from a list of options.
If you prefer, you can disable this feature and check the spelling using the
Spelling Check
dialogue box.
To disable automatic spell checking
1. Press Text .
2. Press More Text Options and then select Check Spelling .
To manually check spelling of a text object
1. Select the text object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Check Spelling.
If SMART Notebook software finds a misspelled word, the
Spelling Check
dialogue box appears. This dialogue box displays the misspelt word and suggests alternatives.
43
CHAPTER 4
CREATING BASIC OBJECTS
3. For each misspelled word, do one of the following: o
To keep the word’s current spelling for this instance, press Ignore Once.
o
To keep the word’s current spelling for all instances in the file, press Ignore All.
o
To keep the word’s current spelling for all instances in the file and add the spelling to the dictionary, press Add to Dictionary.
o
To change the word’s spelling for this instance, select the correct word in the
Suggestions
list and then press Change.
o
To change the word’s spelling for all instances in the file, select the correct word in the
Suggestions
list and then press Change All.
NOTE
If you pressed a button by mistake, press Undo to undo the resulting change.
Once you have completed this step for each misspelled word, a dialogue box appears asking whether you want to check the spelling in the rest of the file.
4. Press Yes to check the remainder of the file.
OR
Press No to close the
Spelling Check
dialogue box without checking the rest of the file.
Cutting and pasting text
You can cut, copy and paste text objects like any other objects (see
Cutting, copying and pasting objects
on page 64). You can also cut and paste text in a text object.
To cut and paste text to another location on the same page
1. Double-click the text object.
2. Select the text that you want to cut.
3. Drag the selected text to another location on the same page.
To cut and paste text to another page
1. If the Page Sorter tab isn’t visible, press Page Sorter .
2. Double-click the text object.
3. Select the text that you want to copy.
4. Drag the selected text to the other page’s icon in the Page Sorter tab.
44
CHAPTER 4
CREATING BASIC OBJECTS
Creating tables
You can create tables in SMART Notebook software or paste them from other programs. Once you have created a table, you can insert objects into the table’s cells.
If you want to customise a table, you can select a table, column, row, cell or selection of cells and then do any of the following: l
Move the table l
Change line type, fill and text properties l
Resize the table, a column or a row l
Insert or remove columns, rows or cells l
Split or merge cells l
Delete the table
Creating tables
To insert a table using the Table button
1. Press Table .
A grid appears.
2. Move the pointer over the grid to select the number of columns and rows that you want in the table.
NOTE
The cells of the grid correspond to the cells of your table.
TIP
The grid displays eight rows and eight columns by default. You can add rows by moving the pointer past the bottom row. Similarly, you can add columns by moving the pointer past the right row.
If you’re using a mouse, click and hold the left mouse button whilst moving the pointer.
3. Press the screen or click your mouse.
The table appears on the page.
To insert a table using the Insert Table dialogue box
1. Select Insert > Table.
The
Insert Table
dialogue box appears.
45
CHAPTER 4
CREATING BASIC OBJECTS
2. Type the number of rows and columns in the boxes.
3. Optionally, select Make cells square to make the table cells square.
4. Optionally, select Remember dimensions for new tables to use the current table dimensions for all future tables that you create in SMART Notebook software.
5. Press OK.
The table appears on the page.
To draw a table
1. Press Pens .
The Pens tool buttons appear.
2. Press Pen Types and then select Pen or Calligraphic Pen.
3. Select a line type.
4. Draw a table on the screen.
TIP
Make the lines of the table as straight as possible and connect the corners.
5. Press Select .
6. Select your drawing.
7. Press the menu arrow and then select Recognise Table.
If SMART Notebook software recognises your drawing as a table, it removes your drawing and adds a table to the page.
Pasting tables from other programs
You can cut or copy a table from Word or PowerPoint and then paste it into a .notebook file.
The table’s formatting and layout can vary when the table appears in the .notebook file.
If you want to cut or copy more than one table, you must cut or copy each table individually.
46
CHAPTER 4
CREATING BASIC OBJECTS
NOTE
You can also cut or copy a table from a .notebook file and then paste it into Word or
PowerPoint. However, the table’s formatting and layout can vary when the table appears in
Word or PowerPoint.
If you’re pasting a table into PowerPoint which has cells that contain non-text objects, the non-text objects appear outside of the table in PowerPoint.
Adding objects to tables
Once you have inserted a table on a page, you can insert objects into the table’s cells.
NOTE
You can add only one object to each cell. If you want to add multiple objects to a cell, do one of the following: l
Group the objects before adding them to the table (see
Grouping objects
l
Select all of the objects at once and then add them to the table as described in the following procedure. SMART Notebook software automatically groups the objects in the table cell.
To add an object to a table
1. Select the object.
2. Drag the object to the table cell.
NOTE
You’re unable to move an object if it’s locked in place (see
Locking objects
The object appears in the table cell.
NOTE
If you add a text object to a table, the cell resizes to fit to the text object. If you add other object types to the table, the object resizes to fit the cell.
To remove an object from a table
1. Select the object.
2. Drag the object out of the table.
47
CHAPTER 4
CREATING BASIC OBJECTS
Selecting tables, columns, rows or cells
You can select a table, column, row, cell or selection of cells. Once you have selected a table or part of a table, you can do the following: l
Move the table l
Change the table’s or cells’ properties l
Resize the table, columns or rows l
Add or remove columns, rows or cells l
Split or merge cells l
Delete the table
To select a table
1. Press Select .
2. Press outside, but near to, a corner of the table and then drag to the opposite corner.
NOTE
Don’t start dragging from inside the table. If you do, you select a table cell instead of the table.
To select a column
1. Press Select .
2. Press inside the column’s top cell and then drag to the bottom cell.
To select a row
1. Press Select .
2. Press inside the row’s leftmost cell and then drag to the rightmost cell.
To select a cell
1. Press Select .
2. Press inside the cell.
48
CHAPTER 4
CREATING BASIC OBJECTS
To select multiple cells
1. Press Select .
2. Press inside the top and leftmost cell, and then drag to the bottom and rightmost cell.
NOTE
If you select multiple cells and drag them to a different position on the page, you create a new table consisting of the selected cells and their contents.
Moving tables
Once you have created a table, you can move it on the page.
To move a table
Select the table and then drag it to a different position on the page.
OR
Select all of the table’s cells and then drag the cells to a different position on the page.
Changing a table’s properties
You can use the Properties tab to change the table’s properties, including its transparency, cell colour and line colour.
To change a table’s fill
1. Select a table, column, row, cell or selection of cells.
2. Press the table’s, column’s, row’s or cell’s menu arrow and then select Properties.
3. Press Fill Effects.
49
CHAPTER 4
CREATING BASIC OBJECTS
4. Select a fill style:
Fill style
None (transparent)
Solid colour
Gradient of two colours
Pattern
Picture
Procedure
Select No fill.
a. Select Solid fill.
b. Do one of the following: o
Select one of the 40 colours in the palette.
o o
Press More and then select a colour in the dialogue box.
Press the eyedropper and then select a colour on the screen.
a. Select Gradient fill.
b. For each colour, do one of the following: o
Select one of the 40 colours in the palette.
o
Press More and then select a colour in the dialogue box.
o
Press the eyedropper and then select a colour on the screen.
c. Select an option in the
Style
drop-down list.
a. Select Pattern fill.
b. Select a pattern.
a. Select Image fill.
b. Press Browse.
c. Browse to and select the picture that you want to use as a background and then press Open.
NOTE
If you insert a large picture, a dialogue box may appear and prompt you to either reduce the picture’s file size or retain the picture’s file size. For more information, see
Setting image optimisation preferences
d. Select Keep image size to keep the picture’s size, regardless of whether the picture is larger or smaller than the object.
OR
Select Scale image to fit to resize the picture to fit the object.
5. Optionally, drag the Object transparency slider to the right to make the table transparent.
50
CHAPTER 4
CREATING BASIC OBJECTS
To change a table’s line style
1. Select a table.
NOTE
You can only change the line style of an entire table, not individual cells, columns or rows.
2. Press the table’s, column’s, row’s or cell’s menu arrow and then select Properties.
3. Press Line Style.
4. Change the table’s line style.
To change a table’s text style
1. Select a table, column, row, cell or selection of cells.
2. Press the table’s, column’s, row’s or cell’s menu arrow and then select Properties.
3. Press Text Style.
4. Change the table’s text style (see
Formatting text
Resizing tables, columns or rows
If you want to customise a table, you can resize the table, a column or a row.
To resize a table
1. Select the table.
2. Press the table’s resize handle (the grey circle) and then drag it to increase or reduce the size of the table.
To resize a column
1. Press Select .
2. Press the vertical border to the right of the column.
A resize pointer appears.
3. Drag the vertical border to resize the column.
To resize a row
1. Press Select .
2. Press the horizontal border below the row.
A resize pointer appears.
3. Drag the horizontal border to resize the row.
51
CHAPTER 4
CREATING BASIC OBJECTS
To resize all cells in a table
1. Select the table.
2. Press the table’s menu arrow and then select Adjust size.
3. Select one of the following options: o
Make same height to make all cells in the table the same height.
o
Make same width to make all cells in the table the same width.
o
Make same size to make all cells in the table the same height and width.
o
Make cells square to make all cells in the table square.
Adding or removing columns, rows or cells
If you want to customise a table, you can add columns or rows.
To add a column
1. Select a column.
2. Press the column’s menu arrow and then select Insert Column.
A new column appears to the right of the current column.
To remove a column
1. Select the column.
2. Press the column’s menu arrow and then select Delete Column.
To add a row
1. Select a row.
2. Press the row’s menu arrow and then select Insert Row.
A new row appears below the current row.
To remove a row
1. Select the row.
2. Press the row’s menu arrow and then select Delete Row.
52
CHAPTER 4
CREATING BASIC OBJECTS
To remove a cell
1. Select the cell.
2. Press the cell’s menu arrow and then select Delete Cells.
o
NOTE
Removing a cell deletes the contents of the cell.
o
You’re unable to remove a cell if it provides the only connection between two halves of a table.
Splitting or merging table cells
You can add tables to your page and insert objects into the table’s cells. If you want to customise a table, you can split or merge cells.
To split a cell
1. Select the cell.
2. Press the cell’s menu arrow and then select Split.
3. Select an option to split the cell into multiple rows and/or columns.
NOTE
If you split a cell that contains content, the content appears in the upper-left-hand cell after the split.
To merge cells
1. Select the cells.
2. Press the cells’ menu arrow and then select Merge Cells.
NOTE
If you merge cells that contain content, the merged cell contains the contents of the top-left cell. If the top-left cell is empty, the merged cell contains the contents of the next available non-empty cell, moving from left to right, top to bottom.
Deleting tables and the contents of tables
You can delete the contents of a table or the table itself.
NOTE
You can delete all objects on a page, including tables, by clearing the page (see
Clearing pages
53
CHAPTER 4
CREATING BASIC OBJECTS
To delete the contents of a table
1. Select the cells containing the content that you want to delete.
2. Press Delete .
To delete a table
1. Select the table.
2. Press the table’s menu arrow and then select Delete.
54
Chapter 5:
Chapter 5
Working with objects
Moving objects to another page
Cutting, copying and pasting objects
Grouping objects automatically
After creating an object, you can select it and work with it as described in this chapter.
NOTE
The tasks described in this chapter are for all objects, not just basic objects.
55
CHAPTER 5
WORKING WITH OBJECTS
Selecting objects
Before you can work with an object, you must select it. You can select an individual object, multiple objects or all objects on a page. When you select an object, a selection rectangle appears around it.
The grey circle in the object’s lower right-hand corner is a resize handle (see
Resizing objects
The green circle above the object is a rotation handle (see
Rotating objects
The downward arrow in the object’s upper right-hand corner is a menu arrow. Press the menu arrow to display a menu of commands.
NOTE
Pressing an object’s menu arrow gives you access to the same menu as right-clicking the object.
To select an object
1. Press Select .
2. Press the object that you want to select.
A selection rectangle appears around the object.
NOTE
If you press an object and a lock symbol appears instead of the menu arrow, the object is locked. Depending on the type of lock, you might have to unlock the object before you can manipulate it (see
Locking objects
56
CHAPTER 5
WORKING WITH OBJECTS
To select multiple objects
1. Press Select .
2. Press the interactive screen and drag until a rectangle surrounds the objects you want to select.
OR
Hold down CTRL and then press the objects you want to select.
A selection rectangle appears around the selected objects.
NOTE
If you draw a rectangle around multiple objects and some of the objects are locked
(see
Locking objects
on page 103), you select only the unlocked objects.
To select all objects on a page
Select Edit > Select All.
A selection rectangle appears around all objects on the page.
NOTE
If some of the objects are locked (see
Locking objects
the unlocked objects.
To select all locked objects on the page
Select Edit > Select All Locked Notes.
A selection rectangle appears around all locked objects on the page.
Changing objects’ properties
You can change an object’s properties. The properties that you can change depend on the object that you select. You can also select several objects and change their properties at the same time.
Changing the fill
You can change an object’s fill by selecting the object and then setting the fill in the Properties tab or by clicking Fill , setting the fill and then selecting the object.
To change an object’s fill by first selecting the object
1. Select the object.
2. If the Properties tab isn’t visible, press Properties .
57
CHAPTER 5
WORKING WITH OBJECTS
3. Press Fill Effects.
4. Select a fill style:
Fill style
None (transparent)
Solid colour
Gradient of two colours
Pattern
Picture
Procedure
Select No fill.
a. Select Solid fill.
b. Do one of the following: o
Select one of the 40 colours in the palette.
o
Press More and then select a colour in the dialogue box.
o
Press the eyedropper and then select a colour on the screen.
a. Select Gradient fill.
b. For each colour, do one of the following: o
Select one of the 40 colours in the palette.
o
Press More and then select a colour in the dialogue box.
o
Press the eyedropper and then select a colour on the screen.
c. Select an option in the
Style
drop-down list.
a. Select Pattern fill.
b. Select a pattern.
a. Select Image fill.
b. Press Browse.
c. Browse to and select the picture that you want to use as a background and then press Open.
NOTE
If you insert a large picture, a dialogue box may appear and prompt you to either reduce the picture’s file size or retain the picture’s file size. For more information, see
Setting image optimisation preferences
d. Select Keep image size to keep the picture’s size, regardless of whether the picture is larger or smaller than the object.
OR
Select Scale image to fit to resize the picture to fit the object.
5. Optionally, drag the Object transparency slider to the right to make the object transparent.
TIP
You can also change an object’s properties using the property selectors on the toolbar.
58
CHAPTER 5
WORKING WITH OBJECTS
To change an object’s fill by first pressing the Fill button
1. Press Fill and then select a colour.
2. Select the object.
3. Repeat step 2 for each object that you want to apply the fill to.
Filling digital ink drawings
In addition to filling shapes, regular polygons and irregular polygons, you can fill areas enclosed by digital ink using the
Fill
button.
59 l
NOTES
To fill an area, you must enclose it with a single digital ink path.
l
You’re unable to fill an enclosed area if that area is part of a group (see
Grouping objects
l
When you fill an enclosed area, the fill becomes a separate object, which you can move away from the original enclosed area. You can fill the enclosed area and move the resulting fill object multiple times.
CHAPTER 5
WORKING WITH OBJECTS
Changing other properties
In addition to fill, you can change objects’ line style and text style.
To change an object’s line style
1. Select the object.
2. If the Properties tab isn’t visible, press Properties
3. Press Line Style.
4. Change the object’s line style.
.
To change an object’s text style
1. Select the object.
2. If the Properties tab isn’t visible, press Properties
3. Press Text Style.
.
4. Change the object’s text style (see
Formatting text
Saving tool settings
When you select a tool in the toolbar, you can change its default settings using the Properties tab and then save your changes by clicking Save Tool Properties.
When you save your changes to a tool’s default settings, the tool’s button displays those changes:
To restore the default settings, see
Customising the toolbar
Positioning objects
You can change the position of an object by moving it to another area of the existing page or to another page. You can also align objects and change the order of stacked objects.
Moving objects
You can move objects to another position on the page. You can also flick objects.
NOTE
You’re unable to move an object if it’s locked in place (see
Locking objects
60
CHAPTER 5
WORKING WITH OBJECTS
TIP
You can manipulate multiple objects by selecting them and then creating a group (see
Grouping objects
To move an object or objects
1. Select the object or objects.
2. Drag the object or objects to a new position on the page.
TIP
You can move an object in small increments by pressing the arrow keys on your keyboard.
To move an Adobe Flash® Player compatible file
1. Press the coloured bar at the top of the Adobe Flash Player compatible file.
2. Drag the file to its new position.
To flick an object
1. Select the object.
2. Quickly flick your finger in any direction.
Moving objects to another page
You can move objects to another page in a file.
To move an object or objects to another page
1. If the Page Sorter isn’t visible, press Page Sorter .
2. If you don’t see the page that you want to move the object to, scroll in the Page Sorter until you see the page’s thumbnail.
3. Select the object or objects that you want to move.
4. Drag the object or objects into the Page Sorter above the thumbnail of the page that you want to move the objects to.
61
CHAPTER 5
WORKING WITH OBJECTS
To move an Adobe Flash Player compatible file to another page
1. If the Page Sorter isn’t visible, press Page Sorter .
2. If you don’t see the page that you want to move the object to, scroll in the Page Sorter until you see the page’s thumbnail.
3. Press the coloured bar at the top of the Adobe Flash Player compatible file.
4. Drag the file into the Page Sorter above the thumbnail of the page that you want to move the object to.
Aligning objects
You can use the Alignment Tools add-on to align and distribute objects on a page. You can align selected objects on the bottom, left, right, top, vertically or horizontally. You can also align stacked objects vertically or horizontally.
If you want, you can display guidelines on a page to assist you in manually aligning objects with other objects, as well as the page’s vertical and horizontal centres. You can also set objects to
align automatically with these guidelines when you move the objects on a page (see page 60).
To align objects on a page
1. Select the objects you want to align (see
Selecting objects
2. Press Add-ons on the toolbar to display the Alignment Tools buttons.
3. Press an alignment button:
Button Name Select this button to:
Align bottom Align selected objects along their bottom edge.
Align left Align selected objects along their left edge.
Align middle X Align selected objects vertically through the middle of the objects.
Align middle Y Align selected objects horizontally through the middle of the objects.
Align right Align selected objects along their right edge.
Align top
Stack horizontally
Align selected objects along their top edge.
Align selected stacked objects horizontally.
Stack vertically Align selected stacked objects vertically.
62
CHAPTER 5
WORKING WITH OBJECTS
To display guidelines
1. Select View > Alignment.
The
Alignment
dialogue box appears.
2. Select tickboxes to specify which guidelines you want to display:
Tickbox
Show guides for active objects
Show vertical page centre guide
Show horizontal page centre guide
Snap objects to guides
Select this tickbox to:
Display a guideline when you move an object into alignment with another object.
Display a guideline when you move an object into alignment with the page’s vertical centre.
Display a guideline when you move an object into alignment with the page’s horizontal centre.
Automatically align objects to guidelines when you move the objects on a page.
3. If you want to change the colour of the guidelines, press the coloured bar to the left of
Guide colour
and then select a colour.
4. Press OK.
Rearranging stacked objects
If objects overlap on a page, you can rearrange the order of the stack (that is, you can control which objects appear in front of others).
NOTE
You’re unable to move an object in the stack if it’s locked in place (see
Locking objects
To move an object to the front of the stack
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Order > Bring to Front.
To move an object to the back of the stack
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Order > Send to Back.
To move an object one place forward in the stack
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Order > Bring Forward.
63
CHAPTER 5
WORKING WITH OBJECTS
To move an object one place backward in the stack
1. Select the object.
2. Select the object’s menu arrow and then select Order > Send Backward.
Cutting, copying and pasting objects
You can cut, copy and paste objects—including text, pictures, straight lines, arcs and shapes— in a .notebook file.
l
TIPS
You can paste text from other programs into SMART Notebook software and cut text from SMART Notebook software and paste it into other programs (see
Cutting, copying and pasting content from other programs
Cutting and pasting text
l
You can create an exact copy of an object by cloning it (see
Cloning objects
To cut and paste an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Cut.
TIP
Alternatively, you can press Cut if you added this button to the toolbar (see
Customising the toolbar
3. If you want to paste the object onto a different page, display that page.
4. Press Paste .
To copy and paste an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Copy.
TIP
Alternatively, you can press Copy
Customising the toolbar
if you added this button to the toolbar (see
3. If you want to paste the item onto a different page, display that page.
4. Press Paste .
64
CHAPTER 5
WORKING WITH OBJECTS
Cropping images with a mask
You can use a mask to crop images. The mask hides the section of the image you crop out instead of deleting it. This enables you to edit the mask if you want to crop a different section of the image. You can also unmask the image to restore the original image.
NOTE
You can crop raster images only. For example, you can crop raster pictures that you insert from the Gallery or from your computer. You’re unable to crop other types of objects.
To crop an image with a mask
1. Select the image.
2. Press the image’s menu arrow and then select Mask.
A cropping mask appears on the image. Cropped out sections of the image are shaded grey.
3. Drag the image until the section of the image that you want to keep appears in the cropping mask.
4. Optionally, press one of the cropping mask’s eight resize handles (the white circles) and then drag it to increase or reduce the cropping mask’s size.
5. Press anywhere outside of the image to crop it.
To edit the mask
1. Select the image.
2. Press the image’s menu arrow and then select Edit Mask.
A cropping mask appears on the image. Cropped out sections of the image are shaded grey.
3. Drag the image until the section of the image that you want to keep appears in the cropping mask.
65
CHAPTER 5
WORKING WITH OBJECTS
4. Optionally, press one of the cropping mask’s eight resize handles (the white circles) and then drag it to increase or reduce the cropping mask’s size.
5. Press anywhere outside of the image to crop it.
To restore the image
1. Select the image.
2. Press the image’s menu arrow and then select Unmask.
The original image is restored.
Cloning objects
You can create a duplicate of an object by using the Clone command, or you can create multiple copies of an object using the Infinite Cloner command.
NOTE
You can also copy and paste objects, including text, images, straight lines, arcs and shapes
(see
Cutting, copying and pasting objects
To clone an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Clone.
A duplicate object appears on the page.
To clone an object using the Infinite Cloner
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Infinite Cloner.
3. Select the object again.
An infinity symbol appears instead of the object’s menu arrow.
4. Drag the object to another position on the page.
5. Repeat step 4 as many times as you want.
6. When you have finished cloning the object, select the original object.
7. Press the infinity symbol and then clear the selection of Infinite Cloner.
66
CHAPTER 5
WORKING WITH OBJECTS
Resizing objects
You can resize objects on a page by using the resize handle or the scale gesture (if your interactive product supports multitouch gestures).
NOTE
You’re unable to resize an object if it’s locked in place (see
Locking objects
Using the resize handle
To resize an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s resize handle (the grey circle) and then drag it to increase or reduce the object’s size.
NOTE
To keep the shape’s original height-to-width ratio, hold down SHIFT whilst you drag the resize handle.
To resize multiple objects
1. Group the objects (see
Grouping objects
on page 70) and then select the group.
A selection rectangle appears around the group.
2. Press the resize handle in the lower-right-hand corner of the selection rectangle.
3. Drag the resize handle to increase or reduce the size of the objects.
Using the scale gesture
To resize an object from its centre
1. Select the object.
2. Using one finger on each hand, press the screen at opposite ends of the object.
67
CHAPTER 5
WORKING WITH OBJECTS
3. Drag your fingers in opposite directions to increase the object’s size.
OR
Drag your fingers toward each other to decrease the object’s size.
To resize an object from its corner or side
1. Select the object.
2. Using one finger on each hand, press the screen at the corner or side that you want to resize the object from.
3. Drag your fingers in opposite directions to increase the object’s size.
OR
Drag your fingers toward each other to decrease the object’s size.
To resize multiple objects
1. Select the objects.
2. Using one finger on each hand, press the screen at opposite ends of one of the objects.
3. Drag your fingers in opposite directions to increase the objects’ size.
OR
Drag your fingers toward each other to decrease the objects’ size.
NOTE
The objects resize from their centres regardless of where you press the screen.
68
CHAPTER 5
WORKING WITH OBJECTS
Rotating objects
You can rotate objects on a page by using the rotation handle or the rotate gesture (if your interactive product supports multitouch gestures).
l
NOTES
You’re unable to rotate an object if it’s locked in place (see
Locking objects
l
You’re unable to rotate tables.
Using the rotation handle
To rotate an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s rotation handle (the green circle), and then drag it in the direction you want to rotate the object.
To rotate multiple objects
1. Select the objects.
A selection rectangle appears around each object.
2. Press the rotation handle (the green circle) on any one of the selected objects, and then drag it in the direction you want to rotate the object. When you rotate one object, all other selected objects rotate automatically.
Using the rotate gesture
To rotate an object around its centre
1. Select the object.
2. Using one finger on each hand, press the screen at opposite ends of the object.
3. Move your fingers in a circle around the centre of the object to rotate it.
69
CHAPTER 5
WORKING WITH OBJECTS
To rotate an object around a corner
1. Select the object.
2. Using one finger on each hand, press the screen in the corner that you want to rotate the object around.
3. Move your fingers in a circle around the corner to rotate the object.
To rotate multiple objects
1. Select the objects.
2. Using one finger on each hand, press the screen at opposite ends of one of the objects.
3. Move your fingers in a circle.
NOTE
The objects rotate around their centres regardless of where you press the screen.
Flipping objects
You can flip an object on a page.
NOTE
You’re unable to flip an object if it’s locked in place (see
Locking objects
To flip an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Flip > Up/Down or Flip > Left/Right.
To flip multiple objects
1. Select the objects.
2. Press the menu arrow on any one of the selected objects and then select Flip > Up/Down or Flip > Left/Right.
Grouping objects
You can create a group of objects, which lets you interact with all grouped items at the same time. Once you have created a group, you can select, move, rotate or resize the group as if it were an individual object. However, if you want to interact with an individual object in a group, you must ungroup the objects first.
70
CHAPTER 5
WORKING WITH OBJECTS
Grouping objects manually
You can group and ungroup objects manually using the menu or the shake gesture.
Using the menu
To group objects
1. Select the objects.
2. Press the menu arrow of any one of the selected objects and then select Group > Group.
To ungroup objects
1. Select the group.
2. Press the group’s menu arrow and then select Group > Ungroup.
Using the shake gesture l
NOTES
You’re unable to use the shake gesture with a mouse.
l
The shake gesture works only when you initially contact your interactive product’s surface.
To group objects
Quickly shake your finger over the objects three times.
71
CHAPTER 5
WORKING WITH OBJECTS
To ungroup objects
Quickly shake your finger over the group three times.
Grouping objects automatically
If you write or draw multiple lines, SMART Notebook software automatically combines the lines into a single object. For example, if you write the letters of a word, SMART Notebook software combines the individual letters, enabling you to interact with the whole word. If you want to write words on the same line but don’t want them combined, leave a large gap between them, use different pens, or briefly put the pen in the pen tray before writing another word
(interactive whiteboards only).
If SMART Notebook software combined lines that you want to manipulate individually, ungroup the lines as described above.
Deleting objects
Although you can erase digital ink (see
Erasing digital ink
on page 34), you’re unable to erase
some types of objects, including text, shapes, straight lines, arcs and pictures. To remove these types of objects from a page, you must delete them.
NOTE
You’re unable to delete an object if it’s locked in place (see
Locking objects
To delete a locked object from a page, you must unlock it.
To delete an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Delete.
72
Chapter 6:
73
Chapter 6
Inserting, organising and sharing content
Inserting content from the Gallery
Inserting content from GeoGebra
Inserting content from the SMART Exchange website
Inserting content from other sources
Inserting pictures from a scanner
Inserting pictures from a SMART Document Camera
Creating transparent areas in a picture
Inserting Adobe Flash Player compatible files
Inserting Adobe Flash Player compatible video files
Installing encoders for additional formats
Inserting content from other programs
Cutting, copying and pasting content from other programs
Importing content using SMART Notebook Print Capture
Importing content using SMART Notebook Document Writer
Importing files from other interactive whiteboard programs
Inserting equations with the Maths Editor
Organising and sharing content using the Gallery
Organising content in the Gallery
Sharing content with other teachers
Connecting to Team Content categories
Sharing content using the SMART Exchange website
CHAPTER 6
INSERTING, ORGANISING AND SHARING CONTENT
You can insert pictures, multimedia files and other content into your .notebook files from a variety of sources. These sources include the Gallery, the SMART Exchange™ website and the
Internet.
After inserting your content, you can organise it using the Gallery and share it with other teachers using the Gallery or the SMART Exchange website.
Inserting content from the Gallery
The Gallery is a tab in the SMART Notebook software user interface where you can browse or search for content and then add that content to your .notebook files.
The Gallery contains Lesson Activity Examples, which includes Activity Builder examples (see
Creating a matching lesson activity
on page 111), interactive techniques and 3D models to aid
you in creating lesson activities.
When your system administrator installs SMART Notebook software, he or she can install the following additional items: l
Gallery Essentials is a collection of thousands of pictures, multimedia objects and more, organised into subject-specific categories.
l
Lesson Activity Toolkit is a collection of customisable tools and templates that you can use to create professional-looking and interactive lessons. The toolkit helps you create engaging content like word games, quizzes and sorting activities. It also offers
Adobe Flash Player compatible files like hide-and-reveal and drag-and-drop.
The Gallery is divided into two sections. The top section of the Gallery is the category list.
When you select a category or subcategory in the list, its contents appear in the bottom section of the Gallery.
TIP
You can change the size of the category list and content list by pressing the boundary between them and then dragging it up or down.
You can browse the category list to view the contents of each category. Thumbnails in the categories provide preview images of the content.
l
In
Pictures
, pictures appear as thumbnails.
l
In
Interactive and Multimedia
, video objects appear as a single frame from the videos, sound objects appear with a speaker icon in the lower left-hand corner, and Adobe Flash
Player compatible files appear as an Adobe Flash icon or thumbnail of the content with a small Adobe Flash icon in the upper left-hand corner.
l
In
3D Objects
, 3D models appear as thumbnails.
74
CHAPTER 6
INSERTING, ORGANISING AND SHARING CONTENT l
In
Notebook Files and Pages
, files appear as binders and pages appear with a folded upper right-hand corner.
l
In
Backgrounds and Themes
, backgrounds appear as pages with a folded lower righthand corner and themes appear as thumbnails.
You can search for a Gallery item using the keyword search.
After browsing or searching for a Gallery item, you can add it to your .notebook file.
To browse the Gallery
1. If the Gallery isn’t visible, press Gallery .
2. Press a category’s plus sign to view its subcategories.
NOTE
You can close a category by pressing the category’s minus sign.
3. Select a category or subcategory to display its contents.
To search the Gallery
1. If the Gallery isn’t visible, press Gallery .
2. Type a keyword into the
Type search terms here
box and then press Search .
The Gallery displays all content containing the keyword.
To add a Gallery item to your .notebook file
1. If the Gallery isn’t visible, press Gallery .
2. Browse or search for the Gallery item that you want to add.
3. Double-click the Gallery item’s thumbnail.
o
If you add a picture, Adobe Flash Player compatible file, video file or sound file, it appears on the current page.
o
If you add a background, it replaces the page’s existing background (see
Applying page backgrounds and themes
o
If you add a page from a .notebook file, SMART Notebook software inserts it before the current page.
o
If you add a .notebook file, SMART Notebook software inserts the file’s pages before the current page.
75
CHAPTER 6
INSERTING, ORGANISING AND SHARING CONTENT
Inserting content from GeoGebra
GeoGebra is a free interactive mathematics software for all levels of education. When you insert the GeoGebra widget in SMART Notebook software, you can explore geometry, algebra, tables, graphing, statistics and calculus with your students.
You can also search for worksheets from GeoGebraTube using the keyword search. After searching for a worksheet, you can add it to your .notebook file. GeoGebraTube
( geogebratube.org
) contains thousands of worksheets created and shared by other teachers.
NOTE
For more information on how to use GeoGebra software, go to the GeoGebra Wiki
( wiki.geogebra.org
).
To access the GeoGebra widget
Press Add-ons and then press GeoGebra.
To insert the GeoGebra widget
1. If the GeoGebra widget isn’t visible, press Add-ons and then press GeoGebra.
2. Select Insert GeoGebra Widget.
To search GeoGebraTube
1. If the GeoGebra widget isn’t visible, press Add-ons and then press GeoGebra.
2. Type a keyword into the
Search in Free Materials
box and then press Search.
The GeoGebra widget displays thumbnail images of worksheets containing the keyword.
To add a GeoGebraTube worksheet to your .notebook file
1. If the GeoGebra widget isn’t visible, press Add-ons and then press GeoGebra.
2. Search for the GeoGebraTube worksheet that you want to add.
3. Press the worksheet’s thumbnail and then select Insert GeoGebra Widget.
The worksheet appears on the current page.
TIP
For more information on a worksheet, press the thumbnail’s title to go to the worksheet’s download page in GeoGebraTube.
76
CHAPTER 6
INSERTING, ORGANISING AND SHARING CONTENT
Inserting content from the SMART Exchange website
The SMART Exchange website ( exchange.smarttech.com
) includes thousands of lesson plans, question sets, widgets and other content that you can download and then open in
SMART Notebook software.
NOTE
You can also share your lesson plans with other teachers through the SMART Exchange website. For more information, see
Sharing content using the SMART Exchange website
To insert content from the SMART Exchange website
1. Press SMART Exchange .
The SMART Exchange website opens in your web browser.
2. If you’re new to the SMART Exchange website, press Join for free and then follow the onscreen instructions to create an account.
OR
If you have an account, press Sign In and then follow the on-screen instructions to log on to the SMART Exchange website with your account.
3. Search or browse for content and then download it to your computer.
4. Import content into the Gallery (see
Sharing content with other teachers
Inserting content from other sources
If you or other teachers in your school have created content outside of SMART Notebook software, you can include this content in your .notebook files. Specifically, you can do the following: l
Insert pictures, Adobe Flash Player compatible files and video files, and sound files l
Cut or copy and then paste content from other programs l
Import content from other programs
Inserting pictures
You can insert pictures into pages from files, a scanner or a SMART Document Camera.
NOTE
You can also insert pictures from the Gallery tab. For more information, see
Inserting content from the Gallery
77
CHAPTER 6
INSERTING, ORGANISING AND SHARING CONTENT
Once you have inserted a picture, you can define a transparent area in it.
Inserting pictures from files
You can insert a picture into a page.
SMART Notebook software supports BMP, GIF, JPEG, PNG, TIFF and WMF formats.
To insert a picture from a file
1. Select Insert > Picture.
The
Insert Picture File
dialogue box appears.
2. Browse to and select the picture that you want to insert.
TIP
To select more than one picture, hold down CTRL and then select the pictures.
3. Press Open.
The picture appears in the upper-left-hand corner of the page.
Inserting pictures from a scanner
If a scanner is connected to your computer, you can insert pictures from the scanner into a page.
NOTE
You must install your scanner’s driver and software on your computer before inserting pictures from the scanner into SMART Notebook software.
To insert a picture from a scanner
1. Select Insert > Picture From Scanner.
The
Insert Scanned Picture
dialogue box appears.
2. Select a scanner from the list.
3. Press Scan.
4. Follow the instructions included with your scanner to scan your picture.
Inserting pictures from a SMART Document Camera
You can insert pictures from a SMART Document Camera into a page.
To insert a picture from a SMART Document Camera
1. Select Insert > Picture From SMART Document Camera.
The
SMART Document Camera
window appears on the page.
78
CHAPTER 6
INSERTING, ORGANISING AND SHARING CONTENT
2. Insert a picture following the instructions in the Help.
Working with pictures
When you insert a picture in a .notebook file, the picture becomes an object in the file.
Therefore, you can move, resize, rotate and make other changes to the picture like any other object.
For information on how to work with objects, including pictures, in .notebook files, see
Working with objects
Creating transparent areas in a picture
You can create transparent areas in a picture that you insert into a page. This is useful for removing the picture’s background. You can make any colour in the picture transparent.
NOTE
You can reduce the size of a large picture when you insert it in a file (see
Setting image optimisation preferences
on page 175). If you later create a transparent area in the picture,
the picture is no longer optimised.
To create a transparent area in a picture
1. Select the picture.
2. Press the picture’s menu arrow and then select Set Picture Transparency.
The
Picture Transparency
dialogue box appears.
3. Drag the corners of the dialogue box in or out to resize it.
4. Press any areas in the picture that you want to make transparent.
NOTE
Pressing an area makes only that area transparent, even if the picture includes that same colour in other areas.
5. Press OK.
Inserting multimedia files
You can insert multimedia files, including Adobe Flash Player compatible files, video files and sound files, into pages.
NOTE
You can also insert multimedia files from the Gallery tab. For more information, see
Inserting content from the Gallery
79
CHAPTER 6
INSERTING, ORGANISING AND SHARING CONTENT
Inserting Adobe Flash Player compatible files
You can insert Adobe Flash Player compatible files into a page.
Once you have inserted an Adobe Flash Player compatible file into a page, or display a page that already contains an Adobe Flash Player compatible file, the file plays immediately. You can control the playback of the file. If the file has buttons, you can press them on your interactive product. If the file doesn’t have buttons, you can use the options in the file’s menu arrow.
l
NOTES
Adobe Flash Player compatible files on a page must be self-extracting. You’re unable to use Adobe Flash Player compatible files that load or rely on other Adobe Flash Player compatible files.
l
You’re unable to drag an Adobe Flash Player compatible file from an Internet browser into a page.
l
If Adobe Flash Player isn’t installed on your computer, SMART Notebook software notifies you when you insert an Adobe Flash Player compatible file into a page.
l
You can install Adobe Flash Player by visiting adobe.com
, but you must use
Internet Explorer® Internet browser to install it. If you use another browser, Adobe Flash
Player compatible files don’t work in SMART Notebook software.
l
To write on top of an Adobe Flash Player compatible file with a handwriting recognition component, start writing outside the file and continue to write over the file. This enables
SMART Notebook software to recognise the digital ink as a separate object from the
Adobe Flash Player compatible file.
To insert an Adobe Flash Player compatible file
1. Select Insert > Adobe Flash Player Compatible File.
The
Insert Flash File
dialogue box appears.
2. Browse to and select the Adobe Flash Player compatible file that you want to insert into the page.
3. Press Open.
The Adobe Flash Player compatible file appears in the upper left-hand corner of the page.
80
CHAPTER 6
INSERTING, ORGANISING AND SHARING CONTENT
To control an Adobe Flash Player compatible file
1. Select the Adobe Flash Player compatible file.
2. Control the file by doing any of the following: o
To play the file, press the file’s menu arrow and then select Flash > Play.
o
To play the file from the beginning, press the file’s menu arrow and then select Flash
> Rewind.
o
To advance the file slightly and pause playback, press the file’s menu arrow and then select Flash > Step Forward.
o
To rewind the file slightly and pause playback, press the file’s menu arrow and then select Flash > Step Back.
o
To play the file continuously, press the file’s menu arrow and then select Flash >
Loop.
o
To stop playing the file continuously, press the file’s menu arrow and then clear the selection of Flash > Loop.
Inserting Adobe Flash Player compatible video files
You can insert Adobe Flash Player compatible video files into a page.
NOTE
SMART Notebook software supports the Adobe Flash Player compatible video file (FLV) format. If you want SMART Notebook software to support other file types, you can install additional encoders (see
Installing encoders for additional formats
To insert an Adobe Flash Player compatible video file
1. Select Insert > Video.
The
Insert Video File
dialogue box appears.
2. Browse to and select the Adobe Flash Player compatible video file that you want to insert into the page.
3. Press Open.
Inserting sound files
You can attach a sound file to any object (except Adobe Flash Player compatible objects) in a
.notebook file. For more information, see
Adding sounds to objects
Working with multimedia files
When you insert a multimedia file in a .notebook file, the multimedia file becomes an object in the file. Therefore, you can move, resize, rotate and make other changes to the multimedia file like any other object.
81
CHAPTER 6
INSERTING, ORGANISING AND SHARING CONTENT
For information on how to work with objects, including multimedia files, in .notebook files, see
Working with objects
Installing encoders for additional formats
SMART Notebook software supports the FLV and MP3 formats. If you want SMART Notebook software to support other video and audio formats, you can install the following encoder. If you install this encoder, SMART Notebook software automatically detects it and supports its video and audio formats.
Encoder
MediaCoder Full
Pack 0.3.9
Video formats l
ASF l
AVI l
MOV l l
MPEG and
MPG
WMV
Audio formats l
AIF and AIFF l
WAV
Link mediacoderhq.com/dlfull.htm
NOTE
SMART Technologies ULC provides links to these programs as a courtesy and makes no representations or warranties regarding the programs or any information related thereto. Any questions, complaints or claims regarding the programs must be directed to the appropriate software vendor.
Inserting content from other programs
If you have content in other programs that you want to use in your .notebook files, you can move this content to SMART Notebook software by doing one of the following: l
Cutting or copying and then pasting the content l
Importing the content
Cutting, copying and pasting content from other programs
You can cut or copy, and then paste content from other programs into SMART Notebook software.
To cut content from another program
1. In the other program, select the content you want to cut and then select Edit > Cut.
2. In SMART Notebook software, press Paste .
82
CHAPTER 6
INSERTING, ORGANISING AND SHARING CONTENT
To copy content from another program
1. In the other program, select the content you want to copy and then select Edit > Copy.
2. In SMART Notebook software, press Paste .
Importing content using SMART Notebook Print Capture
When you install SMART Notebook software on a computer with Windows XP operating system, you also install SMART Notebook Print Capture. SMART Notebook Print Capture works like any other printer driver, except it captures output in a .notebook file, instead of printing it on paper. Each page of an imported file appears as an object on its own page, with its original formatting and page breaks preserved.
NOTE
If you install SMART Notebook software on a computer with Windows 7 or Windows 8 operating system, you can import content using SMART Notebook Document Writer (see
Importing content using SMART Notebook Document Writer
To use SMART Notebook Print Capture
1. In the source file that you want to export to a .notebook file, select File > Print.
The
dialogue box appears.
2. Select SMART Notebook Print Capture in the list of printers.
3. Optionally, change the page orientation and graphics resolution (see
To change the page orientation and graphics resolution
4. Specify a page range and then press OK or Print.
If an existing .notebook file isn’t open, a new .notebook file opens. Each page of the source file appears on a separate page.
OR
If an existing .notebook file is open, each page of the source file appears in the .notebook
file after the current page.
NOTE
This process can take several minutes.
To change the page orientation and graphics resolution
1. Press the Properties or Preferences button.
The
SMART Notebook Print Capture Properties
dialogue box appears.
2. Select Portrait or Landscape.
83
CHAPTER 6
INSERTING, ORGANISING AND SHARING CONTENT
3. Select a default resolution in the
Resolution
drop-down list.
OR
Select CUSTOM Resolution in the
Resolution
drop-down list and then type numbers in the
Horizontal Resolution
and
Vertical Resolution
boxes.
o
TIPS
Use the same value in both boxes to prevent image distortion.
o
The higher the resolution, the larger the image.
o
Don’t use the Draft, Low or Medium options because they might not scale the image proportionally.
4. Press OK.
Importing content using SMART Notebook Document Writer
When you install SMART Notebook software on a computer with Windows 7 or Windows 8 operating system, you also install SMART Notebook Document Writer. SMART Notebook
Document Writer works like any other printer driver, except it captures output in a .notebook
file, instead of printing it on paper.
NOTE
If you install SMART Notebook software on a computer with Windows XP operating system, you can import content using SMART Notebook Print Capture (see
Importing content using
SMART Notebook Print Capture
To use SMART Notebook Document Writer
1. In the source file that you want to export to a .notebook file, select File > Print.
The
dialogue box appears.
2. Select SMART Notebook Document Writer in the list of printers.
3. Optionally, change the page orientation (see
To change the page orientation
4. Specify a page range and then press OK or Print.
A dialogue box appears.
84
CHAPTER 6
INSERTING, ORGANISING AND SHARING CONTENT
5. Select SMART Notebook pages with images to import the content of the file as pictures.
OR
Select SMART Notebook page with editable objects to import the content of the file as editable objects.
NOTE
If you choose to import the content as editable objects, some objects may not display correctly. You can import the content as pictures.
6. Press OK.
A new .notebook file opens. Each page of the source file appears on a separate page.
To change the page orientation
1. Press Properties or Preferences.
The
Printing Preferences
dialogue box appears.
2. Select Landscape or Portrait in the
Orientation
drop-down list.
3. Press OK.
Importing PowerPoint files
You can import content into a .notebook file from a variety of sources, including PowerPoint files.
NOTE
SMART Notebook software doesn’t import some gradient, pattern and picture effects.
These effects may appear incorrectly in .notebook files as a result.
TIP
You can also export .notebook files to PowerPoint (see
Exporting files
To import a PowerPoint file
1. Select File > Import.
The
Open
dialogue box appears.
2. Select All PowerPoint Files (*.ppt;*.pptx) in the
Files of type
drop-down list.
3. Browse to and select the PowerPoint file that you want to import.
4. Press Open.
SMART Notebook software adds the contents of the PowerPoint file to a .notebook file.
85
CHAPTER 6
INSERTING, ORGANISING AND SHARING CONTENT
Importing files from other interactive whiteboard programs
You can import content into .notebook files from a variety of sources, including other interactive whiteboard programs.
If the other interactive whiteboard programs support the Interactive Whiteboard Common File
Format (CFF), you can export a CFF file from those programs and then import that CFF file into
SMART Notebook software.
Otherwise, you can attempt to import the other interactive whiteboard programs’ native file formats.
NOTE
You can also export CFF files (see
Exporting files
To import CFF files
1. Select File > Import.
The
Open
dialogue box appears.
2. Select All Common File Format Files (*.iwb) in the
Files of type
drop-down list.
3. Browse to and select the file that you want to import.
4. Press Open.
The file opens.
To import other files
1. Press Open File .
The
Open
dialogue box appears.
2. Select All Files (*.*) in the
Files of type
drop-down list.
3. Browse to and select the file that you want to import.
4. Press Open.
If you import a file that SMART Notebook software supports, the file opens.
OR
If you import a file that SMART Notebook software doesn’t support, SMART Notebook software adds it to the Attachments tab. You can open these attached files using thirdparty software, but you’re not able to add them to a page.
86
CHAPTER 6
INSERTING, ORGANISING AND SHARING CONTENT
Inserting equations with the Maths Editor
You can use the Maths Editor to insert a handwritten equation onto a page in a more readable format. The Maths Editor recognises your handwriting and automatically converts it to a typeset format. You can also add the recognised equation to a GeoGebra worksheet if the equation is in a supported graph format.
To insert an equation onto the page
1. Press Add-ons and then select Insert Equation .
The Maths Editor appears.
2. Select a pen tool and colour (see
Writing or drawing digital ink
3. Write a maths equation on the graph paper section of the editor.
The handwritten equation converts to a typed equation, which appears below the graph paper section. Accept and reject icons appear beside the recognised equation.
4. Press to accept the recognised equation.
The typed equation appears on the page.
OR
Press to reject the recognised equation and close the Maths Editor.
To edit the recognised equation
1. Double-click the recognised equation on the page.
The handwritten equation appears on the Maths Editor.
2. Select a pen tool and colour (see
Writing or drawing digital ink
87
CHAPTER 6
INSERTING, ORGANISING AND SHARING CONTENT
3. Edit the handwritten equation.
The handwritten equation converts to a typed equation, which appears below the graph paper section. Accept and reject icons appear beside the recognised equation.
4. Press to accept the recognised equation.
The equation updates with your edits.
OR
Press to reject the typed equation and close the Maths Editor.
The equation doesn’t update.
To add the recognised equation to a GeoGebra worksheet
1. Insert a GeoGebra worksheet on the page (see
Inserting content from GeoGebra
2. Drag the equation from the page to the GeoGebra widget.
The equation is automatically graphed in the worksheet.
Inserting Internet browsers
You can insert an Internet browser into a .notebook page. In the Internet browser, you can browse to and display webpages. You can modify the Internet browser like any other object in
SMART Notebook software (see
Working with objects
NOTE
When you resize an Internet browser, the Internet browser’s content is rescaled automatically so that you always see the entire webpage that you are viewing.
88
CHAPTER 6
INSERTING, ORGANISING AND SHARING CONTENT
Inserting an Internet browser
To insert an Internet browser
1. Select Insert > Internet Browser.
An Internet browser appears.
2. Double-click the address bar, type the address of the webpage that you want to browse to and then press Go .
TIP
If there’s no keyboard connected to your computer, click SMART Keyboard display an on-screen keyboard.
3. Interact with the website using the buttons in the Internet browser toolbar:
Button Command
Back
Action
Display the previous webpage.
to
Forward Display the next webpage.
Return to
Pinned Page
Pin Page
Open the pinned webpage.
Pin the current webpage.
When you first open the .notebook file, the pinned webpage appears in the Internet browser. You can return to the pinned page at any time by pressing Return to Pinned Page .
Reload the current webpage.
Reload
Move Toolbar Change the position of the Internet browser toolbar.
Configuring proxy servers
Internet browsers in SMART Notebook software work with any proxy server that adheres to the
RFC 2068 HTTP standard. If your system administrator installed SMART Notebook software behind a proxy server, he or she must create access policy rules for inbound and outbound traffic on that proxy server. Your system administrator can further enhance network security by enabling authentication, such as basic or NT LAN Manager (NTLM) authentication.
NOTE
Although proxy servers protect internal networks from intruders, they unavoidably introduce network latency.
89
CHAPTER 6
INSERTING, ORGANISING AND SHARING CONTENT
Attaching files and webpages
You can attach copies of files, shortcuts to files and links to webpages using the Attachments tab.
Attaching files or webpages enables you to find and open these items easily while presenting a .notebook file.
l
NOTES
You can also link a file or webpage to an object on a page (see
Adding links to objects
l
As an alternative to attaching a link to a webpage, you can also insert an Internet browser in your .notebook file (see
Inserting Internet browsers
To attach a copy of a file
1. If the Attachments tab isn’t visible, press Attachments .
2. Press Insert at the bottom of the
Attachments
tab and then select Insert Copy of File.
The
Insert Copy of File
dialogue box appears.
3. Browse to and select the file that you want to attach.
4. Press Open.
The file’s name and size appear in the
Attachments
tab.
NOTE
When you attach a file, the size of the .notebook file increases. Although
SMART Notebook software compresses files to conserve space, SMART Notebook software can compress some file types more than others.
To attach a shortcut to a file
1. If the Attachments tab isn’t visible, press Attachments .
2. Press Insert at the bottom of the
Attachments
tab and then select Insert Shortcut to File.
The
Insert File Shortcut
dialogue box appears.
3. Browse to and select the file that you want to attach.
90
CHAPTER 6
INSERTING, ORGANISING AND SHARING CONTENT
4. Press Open.
The file name and
Shortcut
appear in the
Attachments
tab.
o
NOTES
SMART Notebook software doesn’t export shortcuts. If you want to export file attachments, attach a copy of your file, not a file shortcut.
o
Make sure that the file is accessible on the computer that you will use during the lesson.
To attach a link to a webpage
1. If the Attachments tab isn’t visible, press Attachments .
2. Press Insert at the bottom of the
Attachments
tab and then select Insert Hyperlink.
The
Insert Hyperlink
dialogue box appears.
3. Type the webpage’s address in the
Hyperlink
box.
4. Type a name for the link in the
Display name
box.
5. Press OK.
The display name and
URL
appear in the
Attachments
tab.
To open a file or webpage from the Attachments tab
1. If the Attachments tab isn’t visible, press Attachments
The Attachments tab lists all attachments in the open file.
.
o
If an attached item is a copy of a file, the file’s size appears in the
Size
column.
o
If an attached item is a shortcut to a file,
Shortcut
appears in the
Size
column.
o
If an attached item is a link to a webpage,
URL
appears in the
Size
column.
2. To open a file, double-click the file name or shortcut.
OR
To open a webpage, double-click the link.
Organising and sharing content using the
Gallery
The Gallery is a tab in the SMART Notebook software user interface where you can browse or search for content and then add that content to your .notebook files. The Gallery consists of a set of categories, one of which is the My Content category.
91
CHAPTER 6
INSERTING, ORGANISING AND SHARING CONTENT
If you find you use the same content across multiple .notebook files, you can add this content to the My Content category. You can share content from the My Content category with other teachers in your school by importing or exporting Gallery collection files. You can also connect to a Team Content category containing content that you and other teachers in your school contribute to.
After adding your content to the Gallery, you can insert it into .notebook files as described in
Inserting content from the Gallery
Adding content to the Gallery
You can add SMART Notebook software objects and pages as well as supported files to the
My Content category in the Gallery.
To add an object to the Gallery
1. If the Gallery isn’t visible, press Gallery .
2. Select the object that you want to add to the Gallery.
3. Drag the object from the page to the Gallery’s
My Content
category or one of its subcategories.
o
NOTES
You’re unable to drag an object if it’s locked in place (see
Locking objects
o
If you want to change a Gallery item’s name, select the item, press its menu arrow and then select Rename.
To add a page to the Gallery
1. Create and modify objects on the page until the page appears exactly as you want it to.
2. Select File > Export Page as Gallery Item.
The
Save Page as Gallery Item
dialogue box appears.
3. Browse to the folder in which you want to save the page.
4. Type a name for the page in the
File name
box.
5. Press Save.
6. If the Gallery isn’t visible, press Gallery .
92
CHAPTER 6
INSERTING, ORGANISING AND SHARING CONTENT
7. Select My Content (or one of its subcategories) in the Gallery’s category list, press its menu arrow and then select Add to My Content.
The
Add to My Content
dialogue box appears.
8. Browse to and select the item that you saved in step 5.
9. Press Open.
To add a supported file to the Gallery
1. If the Gallery isn’t visible, press Gallery .
2. Select My Content (or one of its subcategories) in the Gallery’s category list, press its menu arrow and then select Add to My Content.
The
Add to My Content
dialogue box appears.
3. Browse to and select the item that you want to add to the Gallery.
4. Press Open.
NOTE
By default, SMART Notebook software names the new Gallery item based on the original file name. If you want to change the item’s name, select the Gallery item’s thumbnail, press its menu arrow and then select Rename.
Organising content in the Gallery
As you add objects, pages and supported files to the My Content category in the Gallery, you may want to reorganise the category’s structure. You can create subcategories and move
Gallery items between subcategories.
To create a subcategory
1. If the Gallery isn’t visible, press Gallery .
2. Select My Content (or one of its subcategories) in the Gallery’s category list, press its menu arrow and then select New Folder.
A new subcategory appears.
3. Type a name for the new subcategory and then press ENTER.
93
CHAPTER 6
INSERTING, ORGANISING AND SHARING CONTENT
To rename a subcategory
1. If the Gallery isn’t visible, press Gallery .
2. Select My Content in the Gallery’s category list and then browse to the subcategory that you want to rename.
3. Select the subcategory, press its menu arrow and then select Rename.
4. Type a new name for the subcategory and then press ENTER.
To move a Gallery item to a different subcategory
1. If the Gallery isn’t visible, press Gallery .
2. Browse to the category that contains the Gallery item that you want to move.
The Gallery displays the contents of the category.
3. Drag the item to another subcategory.
Sharing content with other teachers
Importing and exporting collection files is an ideal way to share custom categories with other teachers and to use categories that other teachers have created. You can use collection files to add items to the My Content category in the Gallery. Once you have imported a collection file, all of its items appear in The Gallery as a new subcategory.
To import a collection file from another teacher
1. If the Gallery isn’t visible, press Gallery .
2. Select My Content (or one of its subcategories) in the Gallery’s category list, press its menu arrow and then select Add to My Content.
The
Add to My Content
dialogue box appears.
3. Browse to the folder that contains the collection file that you want to import.
NOTE
A collection file has a .gallery extension.
4. Select the collection file and then press Open.
The collection appears as a new subcategory.
94
CHAPTER 6
INSERTING, ORGANISING AND SHARING CONTENT
To export a collection file to share with other teachers
1. Select the category that contains the items you want to save in a collection.
NOTE
SMART Notebook software exports the selected category but doesn’t export any of its subcategories.
2. Press the category’s menu arrow and then select Export as Collection File.
The
Save As
dialogue box appears.
3. Browse to the folder where you want to save the collection file.
4. Type a name for the file in the
File name
box.
5. Press Save.
Connecting to Team Content categories
The Team Content categories feature enables you to connect to Gallery content in a shared location on your school’s network. Multiple teachers can connect to the same folder.
SMART Notebook software automatically updates your changes for all other teachers.
NOTE
Your access permissions for the Team Content category are the same as your folder access permissions on your school’s network. If you have full access to a folder on the network, you can add or remove items in that folder’s Team Content category. However, if you have readonly access to the folder, you can copy items from the Team Content category, but you’re unable to add, edit or remove items.
To connect to a Team Content category
1. If the Gallery isn’t visible, press Gallery .
2. Press Show additional Gallery actions and then select Connect to Team Content.
The
Browse For Folder
dialogue box appears.
3. Browse to and select the folder containing the Team Content category you want to connect to and then press OK.
The Team Content category appears in the Gallery.
To contribute to a Team Content category
Add content to a Team Content category as you do to the My Content category (see
Adding content to the Gallery
95
CHAPTER 6
INSERTING, ORGANISING AND SHARING CONTENT
Sharing content using the SMART Exchange website
In addition to sharing your content with other teachers in your school (see
Sharing content with other teachers
on page 94), you can share .notebook files with teachers from around the world
using the SMART Exchange website ( exchange.smarttech.com
).
To share a .notebook file on the SMART Exchange website
1. Open the .notebook file that you want to share.
2. Select File > Share on SMART Exchange.
A dialogue box appears.
3. If you’re new to the SMART Exchange website, press Not a member yet and then follow the on-screen instructions to create an account.
OR
If you have an account, type your email address in the
Email Address
box and your password in the
Password
box and then press Sign In.
o
TIPS
If you have forgottenyour password, click Forgot your password and then follow the on-screen instructions to reset it.
o
If you don’t want to log on to the SMART Exchange website each time you share content, select the Keep me signed in tickbox.
4. Enter the appropriate information:
Control
Enter resource details
Description
Subject(s)
Grade(s)
Search terms
Instructions
Type a title for the .notebook file.
Type a description of the .notebook file.
Select the subjects that the .notebook file is applicable to.
Select the grades that the .notebook file is applicable to.
Type words or phrases that other SMART Exchange users are likely enter to search for the .notebook file. Separate the words or phrases with commas.
5. Read the sharing agreement.
6. If you accept the sharing agreement, press Agree and Submit.
96
Chapter 7:
97
Chapter 7
Creating lesson activities
Using advanced object features
Creating custom Creative pen styles
Displaying student page borders
Recording pages with the Lesson Recorder
Applying page backgrounds and themes
Applying backgrounds using the Properties tab
Applying backgrounds and themes using the Gallery
Creating example lesson activities
Creating a matching lesson activity
Creating a hide-and-show lesson activity
Creating a reveal lesson activity
Creating other types of lesson activities
Using SMART Notebook software, you can not only present information to students but also engage them in interactive lesson activities.
You can create lesson activities by inserting objects such as shapes, pictures and tables, and using features such as the Activity Builder and scaling gesture.
This section documents the advanced features that you can use to create lesson activities and shows you how to create a set of example lesson activities. You can use these example lesson activities or develop your own. You can also use resources available to you in the Gallery and
SMART Exchange website.
Using advanced object features
You can use the following advanced object features when creating lesson activities: l
Custom creative pen styles l
Object links
CHAPTER 7
CREATING LESSON ACTIVITIES l
Object sounds l
Object animation l
Link a tool to an object
You can also lock any objects that you don’t want moved or otherwise modified during the presentation of a lesson activity.
Creating custom Creative pen styles
SMART Notebook software includes eight Creative pen styles (see
Writing or drawing digital ink
on page 32). In addition to these styles, you can create your own styles using pictures or
objects on the currently selected page.
To create a custom Creative pen using a picture
1. Press Pens .
The Pens tool buttons appear.
2. Press Pen Types and then select Creative Pen.
3. Select a line type.
4. If the Properties tab isn’t visible, press Properties
5. Press Line Style.
6. Select Use a custom stamp image.
7. Click Browse.
The
Insert Image File
dialogue box appears.
.
98
CHAPTER 7
CREATING LESSON ACTIVITIES
8. Browse to and select the picture you want to use for the Creative pen style.
9. Press Open.
10. Write or draw digital ink on the page.
o
TIP
To resume using the default line type, select Use the default pattern.
o
If you want to save your custom Creative pen style for future use, press Save Tool
Properties. You can later reset the Creative pen style (see
Customising the toolbar
To create a custom Creative pen using an object
1. Press Pens .
The Pens tool buttons appear.
2. Press Pen Types and then select Creative Pen.
3. If the Properties tab isn’t visible, press Properties .
4. Press Line Style.
5. Select Use a custom stamp image.
6. Press Select object and then select an object on the page.
7. Write or draw digital ink on the page.
o
TIP
To resume using the default line type, select Use the default pattern.
o
If you want to save your custom Creative pen style for future use, press Save Tool
Properties. You can later reset the Creative pen style (see
Customising the toolbar
99
CHAPTER 7
CREATING LESSON ACTIVITIES
Adding links to objects
You can link any object on a page to a webpage, another page in the file, a file on your computer or an attachment. An attachment is a copy of a file, a shortcut to a file or a link to a webpage that you add to the Attachments tab.
NOTE
You can display animated link indicators around all links on a page (see
Displaying links
To add a link to a webpage
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Link.
The
Insert Link
dialogue box appears.
3. Press Webpage and then type the web address in the
Address
box.
4. If you want to open the link by pressing an icon, select Corner icon.
OR
If you want to open the link by pressing anywhere in the object, select Object.
5. Press OK.
If you selected Corner icon, the icon appears in the lower left corner of the object.
To add a link to another page in the file
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Link.
The
Insert Link
dialogue box appears.
3. Press Page in this File and then select an option in the
Select a page
area.
4. If you want to open the link by pressing an icon, select Corner icon.
OR
If you want to open the link by pressing anywhere in the object, select Object.
5. Press OK.
If you selected Corner icon, the icon appears in the lower left corner of the object.
100
CHAPTER 7
CREATING LESSON ACTIVITIES
To add a link to a file on your computer
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Link.
The
Insert Link
dialogue box appears.
3. Press File on this Computer and then type the file’s location and name in the
File
box.
4. If you want to attach a copy of the file, select Copy of file.
OR
If you want to insert a shortcut to the file, select Shortcut to file.
5. If you want to open the link by pressing an icon, select Corner icon.
OR
If you want to open the link by pressing anywhere in the object, select Object.
6. Press OK.
If you selected Corner icon, the icon appears in the lower left corner of the object.
To add a link to an attachment
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Link.
The
Insert Link
dialogue box appears.
3. Press Current Attachments and then select the attachment in the list.
4. If you want to open the link by pressing an icon, select Corner icon.
OR
If you want to open the link by pressing anywhere in the object, select Object.
5. Press OK.
If you selected Corner icon, the icon appears in the lower left corner of the object.
To remove a link
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Link.
The
Insert Link
dialogue box appears.
3. Press Remove Link.
101
CHAPTER 7
CREATING LESSON ACTIVITIES
Adding sounds to objects
You can add a sound to any object (except Adobe Flash Player compatible files and widgets) by attaching a sound file or recording a sound using a computer microphone. You can play the sound during the lesson by pressing an icon in the corner of the object or the object itself.
NOTE
SMART Notebook software supports the MP3 audio format. If you want SMART Notebook software to support other file types, you can install additional encoders (see
Installing encoders for additional formats
To add a sound file to an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Sound.
The
Insert Sound
dialogue box appears.
3. Press Browse.
The
Insert File
dialogue box appears.
4. Browse to and select the sound file and then press Open.
5. Select Corner Icon if you want to play the sound file when you press an icon in the object’s lower left-hand corner.
OR
Select Object if you want to play the sound file when you press anywhere on the object.
6. Press Attach Sound.
To add a recorded sound to an object
1. Connect a microphone to your computer and turn it on.
2. Select the object.
3. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Sound.
The
Insert Sound
dialogue box appears.
4. Click Start Recording.
5. Record the sound using the microphone.
IMPORTANT
SMART Notebook software stops recording after one minute. Therefore, ensure that the sound is no more than one minute long.
6. Click Stop Recording.
102
CHAPTER 7
CREATING LESSON ACTIVITIES
7. Type a name for the sound in the
Recording name
box.
8. Optionally, click Preview Recording to hear the sound before adding it to the object.
9. Select Corner Icon if you want to play the sound file when you press an icon in the object’s lower left-hand corner.
OR
Select Object if you want to play the sound file when you press anywhere on the object.
10. Press Attach Recording.
To remove a sound from an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Sound.
The
Insert Sound
dialogue box appears.
3. Press Remove Sound.
Animating objects
You can animate an object to fly onto a page from the side, spin, fade in, shrink and more. You can set the animation to start when you open a page or when you press the object.
To animate an object
1. Select the object.
2. If the Properties tab isn’t visible, press Properties
3. Press Object Animation.
.
4. Select options in the
Type
,
Direction
,
Speed
,
Occurs
and
Repeats
drop-down lists.
Locking objects
You can lock an object to prevent its modification, movement or rotation. Alternatively, you can lock an object but limit its movement either vertically or horizontally, or allow more movement and rotation.
You can remove this lock at any time.
To lock an object
103
CHAPTER 7
CREATING LESSON ACTIVITIES
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Lock > Lock in Place.
You’re unable to move, rotate or modify the object until you unlock it.
NOTE
If you press a locked object, a lock icon appears instead of a menu arrow.
To lock an object but allow its movement
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Lock > Allow Move.
You can move the object but you’re unable to rotate or modify it until you unlock it.
NOTE
If you press a locked object, a lock icon appears instead of a menu arrow.
To lock an object but allow its movement vertically
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Lock > Allow Vertical Move.
You can move the object vertically but you’re unable to rotate or modify it until you unlock it.
NOTE
If you press a locked object, a lock icon appears instead of a menu arrow.
To lock an object but allow its movement horizontally
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Lock > Allow Horizontal Move.
You can move the object horizontally but you’re unable to rotate or modify it until you unlock it.
NOTE
If you press a locked object, a lock icon appears instead of a menu arrow.
To lock an object but allow its movement and rotation
104
CHAPTER 7
CREATING LESSON ACTIVITIES
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Lock > Allow Move and Rotate.
You can move and rotate the object but you’re unable to modify it until you unlock it.
NOTE
If you press a locked object, a lock icon appears instead of a menu arrow.
To unlock an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s lock icon and then select Unlock.
Using advanced page features
You can use the following advanced page features when creating lesson activities: l
Student page borders l
Page recording l
Page backgrounds and themes
Displaying student page borders
If your students use SMART Notebook SE (Student Edition) software to answer questions and take assessments, you might find it helpful when you create question pages to display a student page border showing the page area that will be visible on your students’ computer screens.
NOTE
This procedure applies only if you’re using SMART Response software in CE mode.
To display a student page border
1. Select View > Alignment.
The
Alignment
dialog box appears.
2. Press Student Page Border.
3. Select the Show a border around the area that will be visible in SMART Notebook SE during an assessment check box.
105
CHAPTER 7
CREATING LESSON ACTIVITIES
4. Select Preset value, and then select a screen resolution from the drop-down list.
OR
Select Custom value, and then type the width and height of your students’ screens in the boxes.
5. Press OK.
A colored border appears on the page around the area your students will be able to view on their computer screens.
Recording pages with the Lesson Recorder
You can use the Lesson Recorder add-on to record your activities on a page. You can then play the recording on the same page by using the Lesson Recorder or the new playback widget.
NOTE
SMART Recorder is a different but similar tool. Using SMART Recorder, you can record your actions in programs other than SMART Notebook software. With SMART Recorder, you can record a full screen, specified window or rectangular portion of the screen. If you connect a microphone to your computer, you can also record audio.
For more information, see
Using SMART Recorder
To record a page
1. Press Add-ons and then press Lesson Recorder.
2. Press New Recording.
A red square appears around the perimeter of the recorded page.
3. Perform the actions that you want to record on the current page.
4. Press Stop Recording when you finish performing these actions.
o
TIPS
To save your recording, simply save the .notebook file.
o
Close the Lesson Recorder add-on during presentations. The playback widget appears at the bottom of the page. You can unlock and move it anywhere on the page.
o
You can’t remove the recording from the page.
106
CHAPTER 7
CREATING LESSON ACTIVITIES
To play a page recording using the Lesson Recorder add-on
1. Open the page that you recorded.
2. If the Lesson Recorder add-on isn't open, press Add-ons and then press Lesson
Recorder.
3. Press Play on the playback toolbar.
You can toggle between Play and Pause whilst playing the recording.
4. Optionally, you can perform the following actions: o
Press Rewind to rewind the playback.
o
Press Fast forward to fast forward the playback.
To play a page recording using the playback widget
1. Open the page that you recorded.
2. If the Lesson Recorder is open, press on the add-on title bar to close it.
The playback widget appears at the bottom of the page.
TIPS
You can unlock and move the widget to anywhere on the page that is easy to access during your presentation.
3. Press Play on the playback widget.
You can toggle between Play and Pause whilst playing the recording.
4. Optionally, you can perform the following actions: o
Press Rewind to rewind the playback.
o
Press Fast forward to fast forward the playback.
Applying page backgrounds and themes
You can define the appearance of pages’ backgrounds using the Properties tab or the Gallery.
Applying backgrounds using the Properties tab
You can set a page’s background to a solid colour, a gradient of two colours, a pattern or a picture using the Properties tab.
107
CHAPTER 7
CREATING LESSON ACTIVITIES
To apply a background
1. Select Format > Page > Set Background Fill.
The Properties tab displays
Fill Effects
options.
2. Select a fill style:
Fill style
None (transparent)
Solid colour
Gradient of two colours
Pattern
Picture
Procedure
Select No fill.
a. Select Solid fill.
b. Do one of the following: o
Select one of the 40 colours in the palette.
o o
Press More and then select a colour in the dialogue box.
Press the eyedropper and then select a colour on the screen.
a. Select Gradient fill.
b. For each colour, do one of the following: o
Select one of the 40 colours in the palette.
o
Press More and then select a colour in the dialogue box.
o
Press the eyedropper and then select a colour on the screen.
c. Select an option in the
Style
drop-down list.
a. Select Pattern fill.
b. Select a pattern.
c. Press Foreground colour, select a colour in the dialogue box and then press OK.
d. Press Background colour, select a colour in the dialogue box and then press OK.
a. Select Image fill.
b. Press Browse.
The
Insert Image File
dialogue box appears.
c. Browse to and select the picture that you want to use as a background and then press Open.
NOTE
If you insert a large picture, a dialogue box may appear and prompt you to either reduce the picture’s file size or retain the picture’s file size. For more information, see
Setting image optimisation preferences
108
CHAPTER 7
CREATING LESSON ACTIVITIES
To remove a background
1. Select Format > Page > Set Background Fill.
The Properties tab displays
Fill Effects
options.
2. Select No fill.
Applying backgrounds and themes using the Gallery
You can set a page, all the pages in a group or all the pages in a file using a background or theme from the Gallery.
To apply a background or theme
1. If the Gallery isn’t visible, press Gallery .
2. Select My Content in the Gallery’s category list to view your own backgrounds and themes (see
Creating themes
OR
Select Gallery Essentials to view backgrounds and themes you installed with the software.
3. Select Backgrounds and Themes.
The Gallery displays thumbnails of the available backgrounds and themes.
4. Press the thumbnail of the theme that you want to apply.
5. Press the thumbnail’s menu arrow and then select Insert in Notebook.
The
Insert Theme
dialogue box appears.
6. Select Insert theme on all pages to apply the background or theme to all pages in a file.
OR
Select Insert theme on all pages of current group to apply the background or theme to all pages in the current group.
OR
Select Insert theme on current page only to apply the background or theme to the current page.
7. Press OK.
To remove a background or theme
1. Right-click the page.
2. Select Remove Theme.
109
CHAPTER 7
CREATING LESSON ACTIVITIES
3. Select From All Pages to remove the background or theme from all the pages to which you applied it.
OR
Select From Page to remove the background or theme from the selected page only.
Creating themes
You can use themes to customise pages. You can create a theme and add it to the Gallery so that it’s available in a convenient location. You can then apply this theme to a page, all pages in a group or all pages in a file.
The Gallery also includes some themes.
To create a theme
1. Select Format > Theme > Create New Theme.
2. Type a name for the theme in the
Theme name
box.
3. Set the background in the same way that you would for a page (see
Applying page backgrounds and themes
4. Add and modify objects on the theme in the same way that you would on a page (see
Creating basic objects
5. Press Save.
The theme appears in the
My Content
category of the Gallery.
To create a theme based on the current page
1. Select Format > Theme > Create New Theme From Page.
2. Type a name for the theme in the
Theme name
box.
3. Press Save.
The theme appears in the
My Content
category of the Gallery.
Creating example lesson activities
This section includes example lesson activities that you can create and also explains how to create other types of lesson activities.
110
CHAPTER 7
CREATING LESSON ACTIVITIES
Creating a matching lesson activity
NOTE
You’ll complete the following tasks when creating matching lesson activities: l
Using the Activity Builder l
Adding sounds to objects (see
Adding sounds to objects
The Activity Builder enables you to create matching activities, sorting activities, labelling activities, games and more using your own content.
Using the Activity Builder, you define one object on the page as an activity object. You then define which objects on the page will be accepted and which will be rejected when you drag the objects over the activity object.
To create a matching lesson activity
1. Create the object you want to use as the activity object and the objects that you want to accept or reject when dragged to the activity object.
2. Press Add-ons and then press Activity Builder.
3. Select the object you want to use as the activity object and then press Edit.
4. Drag the objects you want to accept to the
Accept these objects
list.
A green tick appears beside objects that you select to accept.
5. Drag the objects that you want to reject to the
Reject these objects
list.
A red X appears beside objects that you select to reject.
o
NOTES
To quickly select any remaining objects on the page to accept or reject, press Add
All Remaining in the appropriate list.
o
To remove an object from a list, drag it to the rubbish bin icon .
6. Press Done.
To change a matching lesson activity’s settings
1. Press Add-ons and then press Activity Builder.
2. Select the activity object and then press Edit.
TIP
If you don’t know which object on the page is the activity object, click Identify. Blue diagonal lines appear for three seconds over any activity objects on the page.
111
CHAPTER 7
CREATING LESSON ACTIVITIES
3. Press Settings.
4. Select the desired animation for accepted objects in the first Animation drop-down list.
5. Optionally, select the Also play the object’s sound tickbox to play sounds attached to accepted objects when they’re dragged over the activity object (see
Adding sounds to objects
6. Select the desired animation for rejected objects in the first Animation drop-down list.
7. Optionally, select the Also play the object’s sound tickbox to play sounds attached to rejected objects when they’re dragged over the activity object (see
Adding sounds to objects
8. Press Done.
To present a matching lesson activity
1. Drag the objects (or get students to drag the objects) to the activity object.
o
If the object is accepted, the accepted object animation plays (fade out by default).
o
If the object is rejected, the rejected object animation plays (bounce back by default).
2. Press Add-ons , press Activity Builder and then press Reset All when you’ve finished.
To remove a matching lesson activity
1. Press Add-ons and then press Activity Builder.
2. Select the activity object and then press Clear Properties.
Creating a hide-and-show lesson activity
NOTE
You’ll complete the following tasks when creating hide-and-show lesson activities: l
Moving objects (see
Moving objects
l
Locking objects (see
Locking objects
l
Resizing objects using the scaling gesture (see
Using the scale gesture
You can hide an object and then reveal it using several techniques: l
Add a Screen Shade to a page. During the presentation, gradually remove the shade to reveal the underlying text and graphics when you’re ready to discuss them (see
Using the
Screen Shade
l
Cover the object with digital ink and then erase the digital ink (see
Writing, drawing and erasing digital ink
112
CHAPTER 7
CREATING LESSON ACTIVITIES l
Cover the object with another object and then change the order of the objects in the stack (see
Rearranging stacked objects
l
Use the object animation feature (see
Animating objects
Alternatively, you can hide an object behind a locked object and then use the scaling gesture to enlarge and show the hidden object if you’re using a SMART interactive product that supports multitouch gestures.
To create a hide-and-show lesson activity
1. Create or insert the object that you want to hide.
2. Create or insert the object that you want to lock.
113
CHAPTER 7
CREATING LESSON ACTIVITIES
3. Move the object that you want to lock so that it covers the object that you want to hide.
4. Select the object you want to lock, press its menu arrow, and then select Locking > Lock in Place.
5. Use the scaling gesture to enlarge and show the hidden object whilst keeping the locked object in place (see
Using the scale gesture
Creating a reveal lesson activity
NOTE
You’ll complete the following tasks when creating reveal lesson activities: l
Creating tables (see
Creating tables
l
Resizing cells (see
Resizing tables, columns or rows
l
Filling a table’s background with a picture (see
Changing a table’s properties
l
Adding objects to cells (see
Adding objects to tables
l
Adding and removing cell shades (see
Using cell shades
114
CHAPTER 7
CREATING LESSON ACTIVITIES
You can use tables and cell shades to create a variety of reveal lesson activities. The following are two examples: l
A puzzle-style reveal lesson activity where you reveal parts of a picture until students can guess what the picture is.
l
A memory-style reveal lesson activity where you reveal the contents of the cell and then ask students to choose other cells until they find the cell with matching contents.
To create a puzzle-style reveal lesson activity
1. Create a table with the number of cells that you want to include in the reveal lesson activity (see
Creating tables
2. Resize the cells as appropriate (see
Resizing tables, columns or rows
3. Select the table, press the table’s menu arrow and then select Properties.
The
Properties
tab appears.
4. Press Fill Effects.
5. Select Image fill, press Browse, browse to and select the picture you want to use in the reveal lesson activity and then press Open.
6. Select Scale image to fit.
7. Press the table’s menu arrow and then select Add Table Shade.
115
CHAPTER 7
CREATING LESSON ACTIVITIES
To create a memory-style reveal lesson activity
1. Insert the objects that you want to include in the lesson activity.
2. Create a table with the number of cells that you want to include in the reveal lesson activity (see
Creating tables
3. Resize the cells as appropriate (see
Resizing tables, columns or rows
4. Drag the objects into the cells of the table.
5. Press the table’s menu arrow and then select Add Table Shade.
To present a reveal lesson activity
Press a individual cell’s cell shade to reveal the contents of the cell.
To hide the cell behind the cell shade, press in the corner of the cell.
Creating other types of lesson activities
The Lesson Activity Toolkit and Lesson Activity Examples in the Gallery include interactive objects you can use to create lesson activities. For more information on the Lesson Activity
Toolkit, the Lesson Activity Examples and the Gallery in general, see
Inserting content from the Gallery
The SMART Exchange website includes thousands of lesson plans, question sets and other content that you can download and then open in SMART Notebook software. For more information on the SMART Exchange website, see
Inserting content from the
SMART Exchange website
116
Chapter 8:
Chapter 8
Presenting lesson activities and facilitating collaboration
Displaying pages in Full Screen view
Displaying pages in Transparent Background view
Displaying pages in Dual Page view
Moving windows between screens
Using presentation tools whilst presenting
Recording pages with the Lesson Recorder
Using the Magic Pen to create fading objects
Using the Magic Pen to open a magnification window
Using the Magic Pen to open a spotlight window
Using the Standard pen type to create fading objects
Adding a watermark to recordings
Changing a recording’s file location
Changing a recording’s video and audio quality
Changing a recording’s video format
Disabling hardware acceleration
Enhancing system performance for recording
117
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
Reducing the screen resolution and display colours
Using the Geodreieck protractor
Clearing or resetting pages after presenting
Enabling two people to use an interactive whiteboard
Enabling two people to use a SMART Board D600 series interactive whiteboard
Enabling two people to use a SMART Board 800 series interactive whiteboard
After creating lesson activities in SMART Notebook software, you can present the lesson activities to students using your interactive product and the presentation features of the software.
In addition to presenting lesson activities to students, you can facilitate collaboration in your classroom using SMART Notebook software and your interactive product. Specifically, you can enable two people to use your SMART Board D600 series or 800 series interactive whiteboard at the same time.
Preparing before presenting
When you have completed your .notebook files and are ready to present them to students, save the files on a CD, DVD or USB drive. This enables you to access and display the files by inserting the CD, DVD or USB drive into the computer connected to the interactive product.
Alternatively, make the files accessible on your local area network, and then browse to them on the interactive product.
Next, prepare for presenting by doing the following: l
Set the page display l
Display any links in the file l
If you have multiple interactive products in your classroom, move windows to the appropriate screens l
If you’re presenting video or sound files, adjust the volume
118
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
Setting the page display
You can zoom in and out using the View Screens button or multitouch gestures (if your interactive product supports multitouch gestures).
In addition, SMART Notebook software includes the following views: l
Full Screen view expands the page area to fill the interactive screen by hiding the title bar, toolbar, taskbar and sidebar.
l
Transparent Background view enables you to see the desktop and windows behind the
SMART Notebook software window and continue to interact with the open, transparent page.
l
Dual Page view displays two pages side-by-side.
Zooming in and out
You can zoom in and out using the View Screens button or multitouch gestures (if your interactive product supports multitouch gestures).
To zoom in or out using the View Screens button
1. Press View Screens .
2. Select a magnification level between 50% and 300%.
OR
Select Entire Page to make the entire page fit your display.
OR
Select Page Width to set the page’s width to the same width as your display.
To zoom in or out using multitouch gestures
Drag your fingers in opposite directions to zoom in.
119
OR
Drag your fingers towards each other to zoom out.
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
A message appears, displaying the current zoom level.
Panning pages
If your interactive product supports the pan gesture, you can pan a page when zoomed in (see
Zooming in and out
To pan
1. Using two fingers on the same hand, press and hold the screen.
2. Keeping your fingers on the screen, move up, down, left or right.
3. When you reach the area that you want to view, release your fingers.
Displaying pages in Full Screen view
In Full Screen view, SMART Notebook software expands the page to fill the screen by hiding the other user interface elements. You can still access commonly used commands using the
Full Screen
toolbar.
TIP
Before displaying a page in Full Screen view, select View > Full Screen Page Border, and then select the appropriate aspect ratio for your interactive product. A blue line appears, indicating the portion of the page that will appear in Full Screen view without scrolling.
This feature is useful when you’re creating content that you want to present in Full Screen view.
120
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
To display a page in Full Screen view
Press View Screens , and then select Full Screen.
The page expands to fill the screen, hiding the other user interface elements, and the
Full
Screen
toolbar appears.
Button Command Action
Previous Page Display the previous page in the file.
Next Page Display the next page in the file.
More Options
Page Width
Open a menu of options.
Change the zoom level to the page’s width.
TIP
This is useful if you’re using a widescreen interactive product and gray bars appear on the sides of the page.
Entire Page Change the zoom level to Full Page view.
Exit Full Screen Return to the standard view.
Toolbar Options Display additional toolbar buttons.
o
NOTES
The toolbar displays the current page number and the total number of pages in the file.
o
If SMART Response software is installed, additional buttons appear that enable you to insert questions and administer assessments.
To display more toolbar buttons
Press Toolbar Options .
The toolbar expands to include the following buttons:
Button Command
Blank Page
Action
Insert a new, blank page in the current file.
121
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
Button Command
Undo
Select
Magic Pen
Action
Reverse the effect of the last action.
Select objects on the current page.
Create objects that slowly fade, open a magnification window or open a spotlight window (see
Using the Magic
Pen
Displaying pages in Transparent Background view
Using Transparent Background view, you can see the desktop and windows behind the
SMART Notebook software window and continue to interact with the open, transparent page.
You can draw in digital ink on a transparent page and save your notes in the file. You can also display measurement tools, take screen captures and more. If an area of the screen doesn’t include any SMART Notebook software objects, you can select and interact with the desktop and applications behind the SMART Notebook software window.
To display a page in Transparent Background view
Press View Screens , and then select Transparent Background.
The background of the SMART Notebook software window becomes transparent, enabling you to see the desktop and program behind SMART Notebook software, but any objects on the .notebook file page remain visible.
The
Transparent Background
toolbar appears.
Button Command
Select
Action
Select objects on the current page or interact with desktop and application objects that aren’t covered by a
SMART Notebook software object.
Pens and
Highlighters
Write or draw digital ink on the current page.
Previous Page Display the previous page in the current file.
Next Page Display the next page in the current file.
122
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
Button Command Action
More Options Open a menu of options that enable you to add a screen shade, select different digital ink, select a Creative pen style, add straight lines, add shapes and more.
Exit Transparent
Background
Return to the standard view.
Toolbar Options Display additional toolbar buttons.
o
NOTES
The toolbar displays the current page number and the total number of pages in the file.
o
If SMART Response software is installed, additional buttons appear that enable you to insert questions and administer assessments.
To display more toolbar buttons
Press Toolbar Options .
The toolbar expands to include the following buttons:
Button Command
Blank Page
Action
Insert a new, blank page in the current file.
Undo
Delete
Reverse the effect of the last action.
Delete all selected objects.
Clear Page Erase all digital ink and delete all objects from the page.
Screen Capture
Toolbar
Insert Ruler
Open the Screen Capture toolbar.
Insert a ruler on the page (see
Using the ruler
Insert Protractor Insert a protractor on the page (see
Using the protractor
Insert
Geodreieck
Protractor
Insert a Geodreieck protractor on the page (see
Geodreieck protractor
Using the
Insert Compass Insert a compass on the page (see
Using the compass
Displaying pages in Dual Page view
You can display two pages side-by-side. You can draw, make notes, import files and add links on either page in the same way as you would on a single page.
123
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
When you’re displaying dual pages, you can pin a page to continue displaying it in the page area while you view other pages in the Page Sorter.
To display a page in Dual Page view
Press View Screens , and then select Dual Page Display.
A second page appears. A red border indicates the active page.
To pin a page
1. If you haven’t done so already, display dual pages.
2. Select the page you want to continue displaying.
3. Select View > Dual Page Display > Pin Page.
Pin icons appear in the top corners of the pinned page.
To unpin a page
Clear the selection of View > Dual Page Display > Pin Page.
To return to standard view
Press View Screens , and then select Single Page Display.
Displaying links
You can attach a copy of a file, a shortcut to a file, a link to a webpage or a sound file to any object on a page (see
Adding links to objects
on page 100). You can display an animated
indicator around each object that has a link.
To display links when a page opens
Select View > Show All Links When Page Opens.
Each time that you open a page, an animated indicator appears around each object that has a link. Depending on how you define the links, each indicator surrounds either the entire object or an icon in the object’s lower-left-hand corner. The indicators disappear automatically after several seconds.
NOTE
Clear the selection of View > Show All Links When Page Opens to stop displaying links when you open a page.
124
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
To display links on the current page
Select View > Show All Links.
An animated indicator appears around each object that has a link. Depending on how you define the links, each indicator surrounds either the entire object or an icon in the object’s lower-left-hand corner. The indicators disappear automatically after several seconds.
Moving windows between screens
You can operate multiple interactive products from the same computer. You can split the computer display over two or more screens, or you can display some programs on one screen and other programs on another. For more information, see
Connecting multiple interactive whiteboards to one computer
( smarttech.com/kb/000315 ).
If you connect multiple interactive products to one computer, you can move windows from one screen to another.
To move a window from one screen to another
1. If you haven’t already done so, display the window.
NOTE
You can move a window only if it’s neither maximised nor minimised.
2. Press and hold the window on the first screen with your finger.
3. Press the second screen with a finger on your other hand.
4. Lift your finger from the first screen.
The window disappears from the first screen and appears on the second screen.
Adjusting the volume
If you’re presenting a video or sound file and want to adjust volume, you can do so pressing the Volume Control button and then adjusting your operating system’s volume controls.
NOTE
Ensure your speakers are turned on.
To add this button to the toolbar, see
Customising the toolbar
Using presentation tools whilst presenting
Whilst presenting lesson activities to students, you can use the following tools: l
Screen Shade l
Cell shades
125
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION l
Magic Pen l
Text Pen (to write editable ink) l
Standard pen type (to create fading objects) l
SMART Blocks l
Measurement tools o
Ruler o
Protractor o
Geodreieck protractor o
Compass
Recording pages with the Lesson Recorder
You can use the Lesson Recorder add-on to record your activities on a page. You can then play the recording on the same page by using the Lesson Recorder or the new playback widget.
NOTE
SMART Recorder is a different but similar tool. Using SMART Recorder, you can record your actions in programs other than SMART Notebook software. With SMART Recorder, you can record a full screen, specified window or rectangular portion of the screen. If you connect a microphone to your computer, you can also record audio.
For more information, see
Using SMART Recorder
To record a page
1. Press Add-ons and then press Lesson Recorder.
2. Press New Recording.
A red square appears around the perimeter of the recorded page.
3. Perform the actions that you want to record on the current page.
4. Press Stop Recording when you finish performing these actions.
o
TIPS
To save your recording, simply save the .notebook file.
o
Close the Lesson Recorder add-on during presentations. The playback widget appears at the bottom of the page. You can unlock and move it anywhere on the page.
o
You can’t remove the recording from the page.
126
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
To play a page recording using the Lesson Recorder add-on
1. Open the page that you recorded.
2. If the Lesson Recorder add-on isn't open, press Add-ons and then press Lesson
Recorder.
3. Press Play on the playback toolbar.
You can toggle between Play and Pause whilst playing the recording.
4. Optionally, you can perform the following actions: o
Press Rewind to rewind the playback.
o
Press Fast forward to fast forward the playback.
To play a page recording using the playback widget
1. Open the page that you recorded.
2. If the Lesson Recorder is open, press on the add-on title bar to close it.
The playback widget appears at the bottom of the page.
TIPS
You can unlock and move the widget to anywhere on the page that is easy to access during your presentation.
3. Press Play on the playback widget.
You can toggle between Play and Pause whilst playing the recording.
4. Optionally, you can perform the following actions: o
Press Rewind to rewind the playback.
o
Press Fast forward to fast forward the playback.
Using the Screen Shade
If you want to cover information and reveal it slowly during a presentation, you can add a
Screen Shade to a page. You can also change the colour of your screen shade to enhance your presentation.
If you add a Screen Shade to a page and save the file, the Screen Shade appears over the page the next time you open the file.
127
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
To add a Screen Shade to a page
1. Press Show/Hide Screen Shade
A Screen Shade appears over the entire page.
2. Press the screen shade to automatically change it to a different colour.
To reveal part of the page
Drag one of the Screen Shade’s resize handles (the small circles at the edges of the
Screen Shade).
To remove the Screen Shade from a page
Press Show/Hide Screen Shade
OR
Press Close in the upper right-hand corner of the Screen Shade.
Using cell shades
You can add a cell shade to a table cell. This enables you to reveal the information in the cells during a presentation.
l
NOTES
You must remove the cell shade if you want to change the cell’s properties; insert columns or rows; remove columns, rows or cells; or split or merge cells.
l
You can also add a screen shade to cover an entire page (see
Using the Screen Shade
To add a cell shade
1. Select the cell.
2. Press the cell’s menu arrow and then select Add Cell Shade.
To show and hide the contents of a cell
1. Press the cell shade.
The cell shade disappears, showing the contents of the cell.
2. Press in the top left-hand corner of the cell.
The cell shade appears, hiding the contents of the cell.
128
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
To remove a cell shade
1. Select the cell.
2. Press the cell’s menu arrow and then select Remove Cell Shade.
Using the Magic Pen
The Magic Pen enables you to do the following: l
Create an object that slowly fades l
Open a magnification window l
Open a spotlight window
Selecting the Magic Pen
Before you can use the Magic Pen, you must select it.
To select the Magic Pen
1. Press Pens .
The Pens tool buttons appear.
2. Press Pen Types and then select Magic Pen.
Using the Magic Pen to create fading objects
You can create an object that slowly fades using the Magic Pen.
NOTE
Fading objects are not saved in .notebook files.
To create a fading object
1. Select the Magic Pen (see
Selecting the Magic Pen
2. Using your finger or a pen, write or draw objects on the interactive screen.
The objects slowly fade.
129
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
To set the number of seconds before the object fades
1. Select the Magic Pen (see
Selecting the Magic Pen
2. If the Properties tab isn’t visible, press Properties .
3. Press Fill Effects.
4. Enter or select the number of seconds before the object fades in the
Fade time
dropdown list.
TIP
You can save your changes to the Magic Pen tool’s default settings by clicking Save
Tool Properties (see
Saving tool settings
Using the Magic Pen to open a magnification window
You can open a magnification window using the Magic Pen.
130
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
To open a magnification window
1. Select the Magic Pen (see
Selecting the Magic Pen
2. Using your finger or a pen, draw a square or rectangle on the interactive screen.
A magnification window appears.
TIP
You can draw a square but have it fade rather than open a magnification window by using the Standard pen type (see
Using the Standard pen type to create fading objects
3. Do the following: o
To reduce the magnification window’s size, press in the middle of the window and then drag to the left.
o
To increase the magnification window’s size, press in the middle of the window and then drag to the right.
o
To move the magnification window, press near the edge of the window and then drag it.
4. Press Close when you’ve finished.
131
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
Using the Magic Pen to open a spotlight window
You can open a spotlight window using the Magic Pen.
To open a spotlight window
1. Select the Magic Pen (see
Selecting the Magic Pen
2. Using your finger or a pen, draw a circle or ellipse on the interactive screen.
A spotlight window appears.
TIP
You can draw a circle but have it fade rather than open a magnification window by using the Standard pen tool (see
Using the Standard pen type to create fading objects
3. Do the following: o
To reduce the spotlight window’s size, press in the middle of the window and then drag to the left.
o
To increase the spotlight window’s size, press in the middle of the window and then drag to the right.
o
To move the spotlight window, press near the edge of the window and then drag it.
4. Press Close when you’ve finished.
Using the Text Pen
The Text Pen enables you to do the following:
132
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION l l
Write notes that automatically convert into editable text
Edit the text as you work without touching a keyboard
Writing with the Text Pen
You can write notes that automatically convert to editable text using the Text Pen.
To write editable text
1. Press Pens .
The Pens tool buttons appear.
2. Press Pen Types and then select Text Pen.
3. Select a line type.
TIP
Write neat, printed characters on a horizontal line. Although SMART Notebook software can convert slanted or cursive writing, it doesn’t always do so consistently.
4. Write digital ink notes on the page.
Your handwriting converts to typed text. Accept and reject icons appear beside the typed text.
5. Press to accept the typed text.
OR
Press to restore your handwritten notes.
o
TIPS
You can perform this action whilst the Text Pen is active without having to switch to the Select tool .
o
The typed text is accepted by default if you don’t press one of the icons.
133
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
Editing with the Text Pen
You can apply mark-ups and make revisions to editable text using the Text Pen. You can delete unwanted text by drawing a cross-out line through the text. You can use different colour ink to highlight different parts of your text. You can also apply other mark-ups to insert spaces, to insert text and to replace text with new text.
TIP
Write your mark-ups in a different colour from your editable text. This makes it easier for students to see these edits when you’re presenting writing lessons.
Examples of available mark-ups are defined in the following table:
Edit
Delete text
Instruction
Draw a cross-out line through the text.
Example
Insert space Draw a vertical line in the text.
Insert text 1. Draw a caret ^ symbol where you want to insert text.
2. Write the new text in the text box that appears.
TIP
Press a line type or press
Colour to select a new colour for the inserted text.
Words that most resemble what you’ve written display underneath your handwriting.
3. Select a word to insert it as typed text. You can also press to automatically select the word that appears as bold text.
OR
Press to cancel insert text.
134
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
Edit
Replace text
Change text colour
Change text colour of a word with a gesture
Instruction
1. Draw a circle around the text that you want to replace.
2. Write the replacement text in the box that appears.
Words that most resemble what you’ve written display underneath your handwriting.
3. Select a word to replace the typed text or press to automatically select the word that appears as bold text.
OR
Press to cancel replace text.
1. Press one of the line types or press Colour to select a new colour for the typed text.
2. Draw a circle around the typed text you want to change.
3. Press to automatically accept the new colour selection.
OR
Press to cancel the new colour selection.
1. Press one of the line types or press Colour to select a new colour for the typed word.
2. Draw a horizontal line through the word and return to the start of your line in a back and forth gesture.
The word automatically changes to the new colour selection.
Example
Linking objects to tools
Your SMART Notebook software page Toolbar has tools that enable you to create and work with basic objects on pages. If your users find it difficult to reach the toolbar, you can link an object to the Select tool, the Pens tool, or the Eraser tool to create a customised tool that you can place anywhere on your page. Press the object at any time to activate the tool.
To link an object to a tool
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Link to Tool.
135
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
3. Press one of the tool options.
Your object is linked to the tool.
When you press the linked object, the tool is activated:
Pen Tool
Eraser
Selection l l
When you click on the object, the Pens tool is activated
You can write content with only the
Pen
type.
l l
When you click on the object, the Eraser tool is activated.
You can erase content created by any pen type.
l l
When you click on the object, the Select tool is activated.
You can click on another object on the page to open its menu or move it around the page.
l l
TIPS
You can draw your own object, use an object from the Gallery, or use a text object.
You can pre-select the colour or line options for your Pen before linking an object to the
Pens tool. If you select a new colour or line option through the Pens tool on the toolbar, the change automatically applies to your linked object.
To delete an object’s link to a tool
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Link to Tool.
3. Press None.
Using the Standard pen type to create fading objects
You can create freehand objects that fade after a specified period of time using the Pens tool.
NOTE
You can also create freehand objects that fade after a specified period of time using the
Magic Pen tool (see
Using the Magic Pen to create fading objects
136
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
To write or draw fading digital ink
1. Press Pens .
The Pens tool buttons appear.
2. Press Pen Types and then select Pen.
3. Select a line type.
4. If the Properties tab isn’t visible, press Properties
5. Press Fill Effects.
.
6. Select the Enable ink to fade after you write it tickbox and then enter or select the number of seconds between the time you write or draw the digital ink and the time it fades in the Fade time drop-down list.
7. Write or draw digital ink on the page.
Using SMART Blocks
SMART Blocks is an add-on that enables you to perform maths activities with your class by writing numbers on the page and then connecting them to a SMART Block. You can choose from eight different equation types for you to work with. You can learn how to use SMART
Blocks in the pop-up guide.
To access SMART Blocks
Press Add-ons and then select SMART Blocks.
To access the SMART Blocks pop-up guide
1. Press Add-ons , and then select SMART Blocks.
2. Press Learn More.
SMART Block activities
The following SMART Block activities are available:
137
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
SMART
Block
Function
Addition blocks accept up to two inputs. The output is the sum of the inputs.
Subtraction blocks accept up to two inputs. The output is the difference of the inputs.
Multiplication blocks accept up to two inputs. The output is the product of the inputs.
Division blocks accept up to two inputs. The output is the quotient of the inputs.
Power blocks accept up to two inputs. The output is the first input to the power of the second input.
Square root blocks accept one input. The output is the square root of the input.
Unknown blocks accept two inputs. The output is a random operation applied to the inputs.
Using SMART Recorder
Using SMART Recorder, you can record your actions on your interactive product. If you connect a microphone to your computer, you can record your voice as well.
Once you have created a recording, you can play the recording on any computer using
SMART Video Player or Windows Media® Player, or you can share the recording with others.
138
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION l
NOTES
Windows Media Player is available from www.windowsmedia.com/download .
l
If your computer meets the SMART Notebook software minimum computer requirements, you can use SMART Recorder. However, for best performance, install the software on a computer with a Pentium 4 processor or greater and a sound card and microphone that are compatible with Windows operating systems.
If your computer meets the SMART Meeting Pro software minimum computer requirements, you can use SMART Recorder. However, for best performance, install the software on a computer with a Pentium 4 processor or greater and a sound card and microphone that are compatible with Windows operating systems.
Starting SMART Recorder
The first step in using SMART Recorder is to start it.
To start SMART Recorder
Press the SMART Board icon in the notification area and then select Recorder.
NOTE
If your computer isn’t currently connected to an interactive product, the SMART Board icon includes an X in its lower right-hand corner .
If your computer isn’t currently connected to an interactive product, the SMART Board icon is grey and includes an X in its lower right-hand corner .
In Windows 7 operating system, select Start > All Programs > SMART Technologies >
SMART Tools > Recorder.
OR
In Windows 8 operating system, go to the
Apps
screen and then scroll to and press Recorder.
SMART Recorder appears. A
SMART Recorder
icon appears in the notification area.
Adding a watermark to recordings
You can change SMART Recorder settings to add a watermark to a recording’s background.
To add an image watermark to recordings
1. Select Menu > Options in SMART Recorder.
NOTE
If SMART Recorder is hidden, press the SMART Recorder icon area and then select Configure Options.
in the notification
139
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
The
Options
dialogue box appears.
2. Press the Watermark tab.
3. Select Image.
4. Press Browse.
5. Browse to and select the image you want to use and then press Open.
6. Press Properties.
The
Watermark Properties
dialogue box appears. A preview of your selected image appears in the
Preview
pane.
7. Do the following: o
To change the watermark’s position, drag the preview image to another area in the
Preview
pane.
o
To change the watermark’s size, drag the white circle in the preview image’s lower right-hand corner.
8. Select Transparency and Effect settings.
9. Press OK to close the
Watermark Properties
dialogue box.
10. If you want to revert to using no watermark after SMART Recorder closes, select Turn off the watermark when recorder closes.
11. Press OK to close the
Options
dialogue box.
To add a text watermark to recordings
1. Select Menu > Options in SMART Recorder.
NOTE
If SMART Recorder is hidden, press the SMART Recorder icon area and then select Configure Options.
in the notification
The
Options
dialogue box appears.
2. Press the Watermark tab.
3. Select Text.
4. Type text for the watermark.
5. Press Properties.
The
Watermark Properties
dialogue box appears. A preview image appears in the
Preview
pane.
6. Select Colour, Font and Transparency settings.
140
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
7. Do the following: o
To change the watermark’s position, drag the preview image to another area in the
Preview
pane.
o
To change the watermark’s size, drag the white circle in the preview image’s lower right-hand corner.
o
To add additional information to the watermark, select Add Current Date, Add
Current Time and/or Add Frame Number.
8. Press OK to close the
Watermark Properties
dialogue box.
9. If you want to revert to using no watermark after SMART Recorder closes, select Turn off the watermark when recorder closes.
10. Press OK to close the
Options
dialogue box.
To remove a watermark from recordings
1. Select Menu > Options in SMART Recorder.
NOTE
If SMART Recorder is hidden, press the SMART Recorder icon area and then select Configure Options.
The
Options
dialogue box appears.
2. Press the Watermark tab.
3. Select No Watermark.
4. Press OK.
in the notification
Changing a recording’s file location
You can change SMART Recorder settings to select a recording’s file location.
To change the folder where SMART Recorder saves files
1. Select Menu > Options in SMART Recorder.
NOTE
If SMART Recorder is hidden, press the SMART Recorder icon area and then select Configure Options.
The
Options
dialogue box appears.
2. Press the Target Files tab.
3. Press the Browse button next to the
Default Save Directory
box.
in the notification
141
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
4. Browse to and select the folder where you want to save the files and then press OK.
TIP
For best performance, save the files on your computer’s hard disk rather than a network drive.
5. Press OK.
To change the folder where SMART Recorder saves temporary files
1. Select Menu > Options in SMART Recorder.
NOTE
If SMART Recorder is hidden, press the SMART Recorder icon area and then select Configure Options.
in the notification
The
Options
dialogue box appears.
2. Press the Target Files tab.
3. Press the Browse button next to the
Temporary Files Directory
box.
4. Browse to and select the folder where you want to save the temporary files and then press OK.
TIP
For best performance, save files and temporary files on the same drive to reduce the time needed to save a recording.
5. Press OK.
To specify disk space limits
1. Select Menu > Options in SMART Recorder.
NOTE
If SMART Recorder is hidden, press the SMART Recorder icon area and then select Configure Options.
in the notification
The
Options
dialogue box appears.
2. Press the Target Files tab.
3. Select the Warn me if free disk space is below tickbox and then type a disk space limit to display a message when available disk space is low.
4. Type a disk space limit below which SMART Recorder will stop recording.
5. Press OK.
142
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
To restore the default file location of recordings
1. Select Menu > Options in SMART Recorder.
NOTE
If SMART Recorder is hidden, press the SMART Recorder icon area and then select Configure Options.
The
Options
dialogue box appears.
2. Press the Target Files tab.
3. Press Restore Defaults.
4. Press OK.
in the notification
Changing a recording’s video and audio quality
You can change SMART Recorder settings to control a recording’s audio and video quality.
To change a recording’s video and audio quality
1. Select Menu > Options in SMART Recorder.
NOTE
If SMART Recorder is hidden, press the SMART Recorder icon area and then select Configure Options.
in the notification
The
Options
dialogue box appears.
2. Select a sound quality in the
Sound Quality
list.
NOTE
Although higher sound quality produces better audio playback, it also increases the file size.
3. Select a video quality in the
Video Quality
list.
OR
Select Custom and then type the required frame rate.
NOTE
Although a higher frame rate produces higher quality recordings, it also increases the file size.
TIP
If you select Automatic Selection (Recommended), SMART Recorder automatically evaluates your computer and selects the optimal frame rate.
4. Press OK.
143
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
To restore a recording’s default video and audio quality
1. Select Menu > Options in SMART Recorder.
NOTE
If SMART Recorder is hidden, press the SMART Recorder icon area and then select Configure Options.
The
Options
dialogue box appears.
2. Press Restore Defaults.
3. Press OK.
in the notification
Changing a recording’s video format
You can change SMART Recorder settings to select a recording’s video format.
To change a recording’s video format
1. Select Menu > Options in SMART Recorder.
NOTE
If SMART Recorder is hidden, press the SMART Recorder icon area and then select Configure Options.
in the notification
The
Options
dialogue box appears.
2. Press the Video Format tab.
3. Select Windows Media Video (*.wmv) or SMART Recorder Video (*.avi).
o
NOTES
Any version of Windows Media Player can play a Windows Media video file.
Windows Media Player can also play a SMART Recorder video file if
SMART Notebook software is installed on the computer playing the file.
Any version of Windows Media Player can play a Windows Media video file.
Windows Media Player can also play a SMART Recorder video file if
SMART Meeting Pro software is installed on the computer playing the file.
o
You can convert a SMART Recorder video file to a Windows Media video file by sharing the recording (see
Sharing a recording
4. Press OK.
144
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
To restore a recording’s default video format
1. Select Menu > Options in SMART Recorder.
NOTE
If SMART Recorder is hidden, press the SMART Recorder icon area and then select Configure Options.
The
Options
dialogue box appears.
2. Press the Video Format tab.
3. Press Restore Defaults.
4. Press OK.
in the notification
Disabling hardware acceleration
SMART Recorder constantly takes screen captures as you record. Some operating systems take screen captures very slowly and this can affect recording quality. To improve recording quality, disable hardware acceleration or upgrade your video driver and video card.
IMPORTANT
Disabling hardware acceleration can reduce the performance of SMART Notebook software.
NOTE
This procedure may vary depending on your version of Windows operating system and your system preferences.
To disable hardware acceleration
1. Open Windows Control Panel.
2. Press Display, press Change display settings and then press Advanced settings.
3. Press the Troubleshoot tab.
4. Drag the Hardware Acceleration slider to None.
5. Press OK.
6. Restart your computer.
Hiding SMART Recorder
If you want to, you can hide SMART Recorder but continue to access its menu options using the SMART Recorder icon .
145
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
To hide SMART Recorder
In SMART Recorder, select Menu > Hide to System Tray.
SMART Recorder disappears.
To show SMART Recorder
Press the SMART Recorder icon
SMART Recorder appears.
in the notification area and then select Show.
Recording your actions
Using SMART Recorder, you can record the full screen, a specified window or a rectangular portion of the screen. If you connect a microphone to your computer, you can record your voice.
You can create the recording as a SMART Recorder video file that you can view using SMART
Video Player, or you can create the recording as a Windows Media video file that you can view using Windows Media Player. If you create the recording as a SMART Recorder video file, you can also convert it to a Windows Media video file or a self-extracting file to share with those who don’t have SMART software.
NOTE
You can also create a Windows Media video file or a self-extracting file of previously created recordings to share with others (see
Sharing a recording
To create a recording
1. Change SMART Recorder settings to configure the recording’s quality, video format, file location and watermark.
o
NOTES
If you have multiple displays, you must select the display that you want to record.
o
You can hide SMART Recorder and continue to access its menu options by pressing the SMART Recorder icon in the notification area.
146
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
2. To record the entire screen, press Record .
NOTE
To record the entire screen while SMART Recorder is hidden, press the SMART
Recorder icon in the notification area and then select Record.
OR
To record a screen area, press the down arrow next to the Record button in SMART
Recorder, select Record Area and then draw a rectangle around the area you want to record.
OR
To record a window, press the down arrow next to the Record button in SMART
Recorder, select Record Window and then select the window you want to record.
TIP
If you need to reduce the file size of the recording, limit the recording to a rectangular area of the screen or to a window.
3. Perform the on-screen actions you want to record. If you connected a microphone to your computer, speak into your microphone.
SMART Recorder displays the time elapsed during the recording.
TIP
Animations and other special effects greatly increase the file size of the recording.
4. If you want to pause your recording, press Pause . To resume recording, press Record
.
o
NOTES
To pause the recording whilst the
SMART Recorder
window is hidden, press the
SMART Recorder icon in the notification area and then select Pause.
o
To resume recording, press the SMART Recorder icon in the notification area and then select Record.
147
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
5. After you complete the actions you want to record, press Stop in SMART Recorder.
NOTE
To stop the recording while SMART Recorder is hidden, press the SMART Recorder icon in the notification area and then select Stop.
The
Save As
dialogue box appears.
NOTE
If you want to exit without saving your recording, press Cancel, press Yes to confirm deletion and then ignore the remaining steps of this procedure.
6. Type a file name.
7. If you want to save the recording in a different location, browse to the new location.
8. Press Save.
The
Completing Capture
dialogue box appears while SMART Recorder creates the video file.
After SMART Recorder creates the video file, the
Recording Complete
dialogue box appears. The information in this dialogue box includes the file location of the recording, file size and duration of the recording.
9. If you want to view the recording after you close this dialogue box, select Play Recording.
10. If you want to share the recording with viewers who don’t have SMART Video Player but you created the recording in the SMART Recorder video format, select Share Recording.
11. Press OK.
If you select Play Recording, the file plays in your default media player.
If you select Share Recording, the
Share Recording
dialogue box appears. Create a
Windows Media video file or a self-extracting file as described below.
To create a Windows Media video file or a self-extracting file
1. Create the recording as described above. Ensure that you select the Share Recording option.
The
Share Recording
dialogue box appears.
2. Select WMV to create a Windows Media video file and then press Next.
OR
Select Self extracting to create a self extracting file and then press Next.
3. Press Next.
148
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
4. Press Browse, browse to the location where you want to save the file, type a file name and then press Save.
5. Press Next.
6. Press Finish.
Enhancing system performance for recording
If your system performance is slow when you use SMART Recorder, or the recording quality isn’t the standard that you want, the following may improve performance: l
Reduce your computer’s screen resolution and display colour settings
. Smaller screens and fewer colours result in faster performance.
l
Save your files to a local hard disk
. Network drives are slower and reduce performance.
l
Disable hardware acceleration .
l
Try a different video card. Some video cards perform better than others. PCI Express cards generally provide a faster performance than Accelerated Graphics Port (AGP) or
Peripheral Component Interconnect (PCI) cards.
l
Select a lower video quality setting
. You need to balance your expectations for video quality with your computer’s limitations. Higher video quality produces larger files and places higher demands on your computer.
Reducing the screen resolution and display colours
If your system performance slows down when you use SMART Recorder, or the recording quality isn’t as good as you want, you can reduce your computer’s screen resolution and display colours. Smaller screens and fewer colours result in faster performance.
NOTE
This procedure may vary depending on your version of Windows operating system and your system preferences.
To reduce the screen resolution and display colours
1. Open Windows Control Panel.
2. Press Display and then press Change display settings.
3. Select a lower setting in the Resolution drop-down list.
4. Select a lower setting in the Colours drop-down list.
NOTE
You’re unable to change display colours in Windows 7 and later operating systems.
5. Press OK.
149
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
Sharing a recording
If you want to share a recording with viewers who have SMART Notebook software, create a recording as a SMART Recorder video file that they can play using SMART Video Player. If you want to share the recording with viewers who don’t have SMART Notebook software, create a
Windows Media video file that they can play using Windows Media Player, or create a selfextracting file that they can play on any computer.
If you want to share a recording with viewers who have SMART Meeting Pro software, create a recording as a SMART Recorder video file that they can play using SMART Video Player. If you want to share the recording with viewers who don’t have SMART Meeting Pro software, create a Windows Media video file that they can play using Windows Media Player, or create a selfextracting file that they can play on any computer.
To convert a SMART Recorder video file
1. Select Menu > Share Recording in SMART Recorder.
NOTE
If SMART Recorder is hidden, press the SMART Recorder icon area and then select Configure Options.
in the notification
The
Share Recording
dialogue box appears.
2. Select WMV to create a Windows Media video file.
OR
Select Self extracting to create a self-extracting file and then press Next.
3. Press Browse.
4. Browse to and select the SMART Recorder video file you want to convert and then press
Open.
5. Press Next.
6. If you want to change the converted file’s location or name, press Browse, browse to the location where you want to save the file, type a file name and then press Save.
7. Press Next.
8. Press Finish.
Using measurement tools
Using the SMART Notebook software measurement tools, you can insert a ruler, protractor,
Geodreieck protractor or compass into a page.
Using the ruler
You can insert a ruler into a page and then manipulate its size, length, rotation and location and draw along its edges.
150
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
To insert a ruler
Press Measurement Tools
A ruler appears.
and then select Insert Ruler .
To move the ruler
Press the middle of the ruler (displayed as a darker shade of blue) and then drag the ruler to a different position on the page.
To resize the ruler
1. Select the ruler.
2. Drag the ruler’s resize handle (the circle in the lower-right-hand corner) to increase or reduce the ruler’s size.
To lengthen the ruler (without changing its scale)
Press the ruler’s far edge, between the menu arrow and the resize handle and then drag away from the ruler.
To shorten the ruler (without changing its scale)
Press the ruler’s far edge, between the menu arrow and the resize handle and then drag towards the middle of the ruler.
To rotate the ruler
Press the top or bottom edge of the ruler (displayed as a lighter shade of blue) and then drag the ruler in the direction that you want to rotate it.
The ruler displays the current rotation in degrees.
To reverse the measurements
Press the ruler’s flip symbol .
If the metric measurements appeared on the top edge of the ruler, they now appear on the bottom edge and vice versa.
151
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
To draw using a pen and the ruler
1. Press Pens .
The Pens tool buttons appear.
2. Press Pen Types and then select Pen or Calligraphic Pen.
3. Select a line type.
4. Draw along the edge of the ruler.
Digital ink appears in a straight line along the edge of the ruler.
To remove the ruler
1. Select the ruler.
2. Press the ruler’s menu arrow and then select Delete.
Using the protractor
You can insert a protractor into a page, manipulate its size, rotation and location and then draw along its edges.
To insert a protractor
Press Measurement Tools
A protractor appears.
and then select Insert Protractor .
152
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
To move the protractor
Press the inner part of the protractor (displayed as a darker shade of blue) and then drag the protractor to a different position on the page.
To resize the protractor
Press the inner circle of numbers and then drag away from the protractor to enlarge it or toward the centre of the protractor to shrink it.
To rotate the protractor
Press the outer circle of numbers and then drag the protractor in the direction you want to rotate it.
The protractor displays the current rotation in degrees.
To display the protractor as a complete circle
1. Press the blue circle next to the
180
label on the inner circle of numbers.
2. Press the blue circle again to return to the semi-circle.
153
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
To draw using a pen and the protractor
1. Press Pens .
The Pens tool buttons appear.
2. Press Pen Types and then select Pen or Calligraphic Pen.
3. Select a line type.
4. Draw along the edge of the protractor.
Digital ink appears in an arc along the edge of the protractor.
To display angles using the protractor
1. Select the protractor.
2. Drag the green circle until it shows the correct angle for the first of two intersecting lines.
3. Drag the white circle until it shows the correct angle for the second of two intersecting lines.
4. Press the green arrow in the bottom corner.
The lines and the angle between them appear as a separate object.
To remove the protractor
1. Select the protractor.
2. Press the protractor’s menu arrow and then select Delete.
Using the Geodreieck protractor
You can insert a Geodreieck protractor (also known as a set square or T-square) on a page and then manipulate its size, rotation and location.
To insert a Geodreieck protractor
Press Measurement Tools and then select Insert Geodreieck
A Geodreieck protractor appears.
.
154
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
To move the protractor
Press the inner part of the protractor (within the semi-circle) and then drag the protractor to a different position on the page.
To resize the protractor
Press the semi-circle and then drag away from the centre of the protractor to make it bigger or towards the centre of the protractor to make it smaller.
To rotate the protractor
Press the outer part of the protractor (outside of the semi-circle) and then drag the protractor in the direction you want to rotate it.
The protractor displays the current rotation in degrees.
To draw using a pen and the Geodreieck protractor
1. Press Pens .
The Pens tool buttons appear.
2. Press Pen Types and then select Pen or Calligraphic Pen.
3. Select a line type.
4. Draw along the edge of the protractor.
Digital ink appears in a straight line along the edge of the protractor.
155
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
To remove the protractor
1. Select the protractor.
2. Press the protractor’s menu arrow and then select Delete.
Using the compass
You can insert a compass into a page, manipulate its width, rotation and location and then use it to draw circles and arcs.
To insert a compass
Press Measurement Tools
A compass appears.
and then select Insert Compass .
To move the compass
Press the arm of the compass that holds the spike and then drag the compass to a different position on the page.
To widen the compass
1. Press the arm of the compass that holds the pen.
Two blue arrows appear.
2. Drag to change the angle between the spike and the pen.
The number on the compass’s handle displays the current angle between the spike and the pen.
To flip the compass
Press the compass’s flip symbol .
The compass’s pen appears on the opposite side of the spike.
To rotate the compass (without drawing)
Press the compass’s rotation handle (the green circle) and then drag the compass in the direction that you want to rotate it.
156
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
To draw using the compass
1. Press the compass’s pen tip.
The cursor changes to a pen symbol.
2. Drag the compass in the direction that you want to rotate it.
To change the colour of the compass’s pen
1. Press Pens .
The Pens tool buttons appear.
2. Press Pen Types and then select Pen.
3. Select a line type.
The colour of the compass’s pen changes to display its new colour.
To remove the compass
1. Select the compass.
2. Press the compass’s menu arrow and then select Delete.
Clearing or resetting pages after presenting
After presenting a lesson activity to students, you can clear or reset the pages in your
.notebook files to use the files again for future lesson activities.
157
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
Clearing pages
You can erase digital ink and delete individual objects from a page. You can also clear all objects or all digital ink objects from a page simultaneously.
NOTE
You’re unable to clear objects locked in place (see
Locking objects
cloned objects (see
Cloning objects
on page 66). To clear all objects from a page, you must
unlock all locked objects and clear the selection of Infinite Cloner on any infinitely cloned objects.
To clear all objects from the page
1. If you haven’t done so already, display the page that you want to clear.
2. Select Edit > Clear Page.
o
NOTES
This option is disabled if there are no objects on the page or if the objects are locked or infinitely cloned.
o
You can also select this option by doing one of the following: o
Right-clicking the page o
Pressing the page’s menu arrow in the Page Sorter o
Pressing the page’s menu arrow whilst editing page groups (see
Grouping pages
o
Pressing Clear Page if it’s included on the toolbar (see
Customising the toolbar
o
You can clear all objects from multiple pages at the same time. Select the pages’ thumbnails in the Page Sorter, press the menu arrow and then select Clear Page.
158
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
To clear all digital ink objects from the page
1. If you haven’t done so already, display the page that you want to clear.
2. Select Edit > Clear Ink from Page.
o
NOTES
This option is disabled if there is no digital ink on the page or if the digital ink is locked or infinitely cloned.
o
You can also select this option by doing one of the following: o
Right-clicking the page o
Pressing the page’s menu arrow in the Page Sorter o
Pressing the page’s menu arrow whilst editing page groups (see
Grouping pages
o
Pressing Clear Ink if it’s included on the toolbar (see
Customising the toolbar
o
You can clear all digital ink objects from multiple pages at the same time. Select the pages’ thumbnails in the Page Sorter, press the menu arrow and then select
Clear Ink from Page.
Resetting pages
If you make changes to a page (without saving those changes), you can reset the page to the state that it was in before you made the changes.
NOTE
Resetting a page doesn’t reset any Adobe Flash Player compatible files running on the page.
159
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
To reset a page
1. If you haven’t done so already, display the page you want to reset.
2. Select Edit > Reset Page.
A dialogue box appears, prompting you to confirm the reset.
o
NOTES
This option is disabled if you haven’t made changes to the page since last saving the file.
o
You can also select this option by doing one of the following: o
Right-clicking the page o
Pressing the page’s menu arrow in the Page Sorter o
Pressing the page’s menu arrow whilst editing page groups (see
Grouping pages
o
Pressing Reset Page if it’s included on the toolbar (see
Customising the toolbar
o
You can reset multiple pages at the same time. Select the pages’ thumbnails in the
Page Sorter, press the menu arrow and then select Reset Page.
3. Press Reset Page.
Enabling two people to use an interactive whiteboard
If you have a SMART Board D600 or 800 series interactive whiteboard, two people can create and manipulate objects in SMART Notebook software at the same time. How the two people do this depends on whether you have a SMART Board D600 series interactive whiteboard or a
SMART Board 800 series interactive whiteboard.
Allowing two people to use an interactive whiteboard is useful in scenarios such as the following: l
Two students work on an assignment on the interactive whiteboard at the same time.
l
A teacher and student work on an assignment on the interactive whiteboard at the same time l
A teacher or student poses questions or problems on the interactive whiteboard and another student responds to these questions or problems
160
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
Enabling two people to use a SMART Board D600 series interactive whiteboard
If you’re using a SMART Board D600 series interactive whiteboard, two users can use the interactive whiteboard simultaneously when SMART Notebook software is in Dual-User mode.
In Dual-User mode, the screen is divided in half. Each user can press his or her half of the screen with a finger to left-click or drag objects, write using a pen tray pen and erase digital ink using the eraser. Each user can also access frequently used tools using his or her own Floating
Tools toolbar.
You can press a toolbar button to switch between Single-User mode and Dual-User mode.
To display a file in Dual-User mode
Press View Screens and then select Dual Write Mode.
To return to Single-User mode
Press Exit .
Enabling two people to use a SMART Board 800 series interactive whiteboard
If you’re using a SMART Board 800 series interactive whiteboard, two people can create and manipulate objects in SMART Notebook software at the same time. Both people can create and manipulate objects in any area of the SMART Notebook software page. Neither user is restricted to a particular section of the page.
Dual-user collaboration mode is enabled when you pick up a pen from the pen tray. One user creates or manipulates objects with his or her finger (“the touch user”). The other user creates or manipulates objects with the pen (“the pen user”).
NOTE
In addition to enabling one touch user and one pen user to use the interactive whiteboard at the same time, you can enable two pen users or two touch users to use the interactive whiteboard at the same time. However, the two users must use the same tool.
161
CHAPTER 8
PRESENTING LESSON ACTIVITIES AND FACILITATING COLLABORATION
Selecting tools
To change tools or to set properties for touch, the touch user must press the appropriate button on the toolbar or control in the Properties tab with his or finger. The following is an example:
To change tools or to set properties for the pen, the pen user must press the appropriate button on the toolbar or control in the Properties tab with the pen. The following is an example: l
NOTES
If the pen user presses a button on the toolbar or sets a property with his or finger instead of the pen, SMART Notebook software changes the selected tool or property for the touch user rather than the pen user.
l
When both the touch user and the pen user select multiple objects on the screen, the dashed border of the objects selected by the touch user will be a different colour than the dashed border of the object selected by the pen user.
162
Chapter 9:
Chapter 9
Enhancing SMART Notebook software with add-ons
Disabling and removing add-ons
Add-ons are extensions to SMART Notebook software created by SMART Technologies and by third-party software developers.
SMART Notebook software includes the Activity Builder add-on (see
Creating a matching lesson activity
on page 111) and the Alignment Tools add-on (see
Aligning objects
on page 62). You can install other add-ons from the SMART Exchange website to add specialised
features to the software. In addition, you can manage all installed add-ons using the Add-on
Manager.
Installing add-ons
You can search for, browse and install add-ons from the SMART Exchange website.
To install an add-on
1. Select Add-ons > Manage Add-ons.
The Add-on Manager appears.
2. Press Find More.
The SMART Exchange website opens in your web browser.
3. If you’re new to the SMART Exchange website, press Join for free and then follow the on-screen instructions to create an account.
OR
If you have an account, press Sign In and then follow the on-screen instructions to log on to the SMART Exchange website with your account.
163
CHAPTER 9
ENHANCING SMART NOTEBOOK SOFTWARE WITH ADD-ONS
4. Search or browse for an add-on, and then download it to a temporary location on your computer.
5. Double-click the add-on file.
6. Follow the on-screen instructions to install the add-on.
Using add-ons
After installing an add-on, you can use the features of that add-on like any other features in
SMART Notebook software.
To view an add-on
1. Press Add-ons to open the list of add-ons.
2. Press the add-on’s icon to open the add-on.
3. Press to return to the list of add-ons.
To view an add-on’s version and other information
1. Select Add-ons > Manage Add-ons on the software toolbar
OR
Press on the add-on title bar.
The Add-on Manager appears.
2. Press the add-on’s name.
3. Press About.
Identifying missing add-ons
If you open a page in a .notebook file that requires an add-on that isn’t installed or is disabled on your computer, a message appears at the top of the page. Press the message to open the
Add-on Manager. The Add-on Manager identifies which add-on is required. You can then install that add-on (see
Installing add-ons
on the previous page) or enable it (see
Disabling and removing add-ons
Disabling and removing add-ons
In some situations, you might want to disable or remove a previously installed add-on.
If you choose to disable an add-on, the add-on no longer appears in SMART Notebook software but is still installed on your computer. You can subsequently enable the add-on.
164
CHAPTER 9
ENHANCING SMART NOTEBOOK SOFTWARE WITH ADD-ONS
If you choose to remove an add-on, the add-on no longer appears in SMART Notebook software and is removed from your computer.
To disable an add-on
1. Select Add-ons > Manage Add-ons.
The Add-on Manager appears.
2. Press the add-on’s name.
3. Press Disable.
TIP
To enable the add-on again, press Enable.
To remove an add-on
1. Select Add-ons > Manage Add-ons.
The Add-on Manager appears.
2. Press the add-on’s name.
3. Press Remove.
NOTE
You’re unable to remove the Activity Builder add-on and the Alignment Tools add-on.
Accessing XC Collaboration
SMART Notebook software includes the basic version of XC Collaboration. The basic version of XC Collaboration is a free add-on by Frieland that enables students to text ideas from their mobile devices to a SMART Notebook page for the entire class to see. You can also access the online tour to learn how to use XC Collaboration.
IMPORTANT
Go to xc-collaboration.com
to purchase a licence for the full version of XC Collaboration.
To access XC Collaboration
1. Press Add-ons and then press XC Collaboration.
2. Press Connect.
165
CHAPTER 9
ENHANCING SMART NOTEBOOK SOFTWARE WITH ADD-ONS
To access the XC Collaboration online tour
1. Press Add-ons , and then press XC Collaboration.
2. Press Start tour.
NOTE
You can also access help in the following ways: o
Press next to the feature that you need assistance with.
o
Go to xc-collaboration.com/support .
166
Chapter 10:
Chapter 10
Accessing RSS feeds with
Notebook Connect
Finding, adding and deleting an RSS feed
Inserting images and video in the drawing area
Using the Notebook Connect add-on, you can access the latest articles and receive continuously updated headlines from your favourite publications. You can add, delete and manage feeds, view and bookmark articles and insert images and videos from the articles into
SMART Notebook software to share with your class. You can also access the SMART Central
RSS feed, which is included by default.
To access Notebook Connect
Press Add-ons and then press Notebook Connect.
Finding, adding and deleting an RSS feed
Many publications and media outlets offer RSS feeds for their content. You can search external websites for the RSS feed URL and then add that URL to Notebook Connect. You can also delete RSS feeds.
To add an RSS feed
1. Locate the URL of the RSS feed that you want to add.
2. Press Add-ons and then press SMART Connect.
.
3. Press Settings and then press Add Feed
A
Feed URL
box appears.
4. Type the full URL of the RSS feed in the box.
To delete an RSS feed
Press Settings and then press Delete Feed beside the feed’s URL.
167
CHAPTER 10
ACCESSING RSS FEEDS WITH NOTEBOOK CONNECT
Viewing RSS feed content
After you add an RSS feed, you can access the feed’s content and headlines from the main feed. You can mark articles as either read or unread, and you can refresh the main feed to ensure that you have access to the latest content.
To view content from the main feed
1. Press Main Feed and then select a feed from the drop-down menu.
A list of article thumbnails appears.
2. Select the headline on a thumbnail to view more details about the article.
3. Select View Article to open the full article.
OR
Select Back to return to the list of article thumbnails.
NOTE
You can change the default software articles open in (see
To select the default software for opening articles
To mark an article as read
Press Main Feed and then press
The icon changes to on the article thumbnail.
and the article appears grey.
To mark all articles as read
Press Main Feed and then press Mark all as read.
The icons change to on all articles and the articles appear grey.
To mark an article as unread
Press Main Feed and then press
The icon changes to on the article thumbnail.
and the article’s appearance is restored.
To refresh the main feed
Press Main Feed and then select .
168
CHAPTER 10
ACCESSING RSS FEEDS WITH NOTEBOOK CONNECT
To select the default software for opening articles
1. Press Settings .
2. Select Notebook if you want articles to open in SMART Notebook software.
OR
Select Your default Web browser if you want articles to open in your web browser.
Bookmarking articles
You can bookmark articles to view later by adding them to your favourites list. You can also delete articles from your favourites list.
To access your favourites list
1. Press Favourites .
A list of bookmarked articles appears.
To add an article to your favourites list
Press Main Feed thumbnail.
and then press in the bottom right-hand corner of the article
To delete an article from your favourites list
Press Favourites thumbnail.
and then press in the bottom right-hand corner of the article
Inserting images and video in the drawing area
If an article contains an image or a video, you can insert it in the drawing area of
SMART Notebook software.
To insert an image or a video in the drawing area
1. Press Add-ons and then press Notebook Connect.
2. Press Main Feed and then select a feed from the drop-down menu.
A list of article thumbnails appears.
169
CHAPTER 10
ACCESSING RSS FEEDS WITH NOTEBOOK CONNECT
3. Press
OR
Press on an article thumbnail to insert the article’s image in the drawing area.
on an article thumbnail to insert the article’s video in the drawing area.
170
Chapter 11:
Chapter 11
Maintaining SMART Notebook software
Configuring SMART Notebook software
Changing the default program for .notebook files
Setting image optimisation preferences
Manually reducing the size of large pictures
Setting default background colour preferences
Setting measurement tool preferences
Setting table cell padding preferences
Updating and activating SMART software
Activating SMART software with a product key
This chapter explains how to maintain SMART Notebook software.
Customising the toolbar
The SMART Notebook software toolbar enables you to select and use a variety of commands and tools. You can customise the toolbar so that it includes the tools that you use most frequently.
After adding or removing toolbar buttons, you can restore the default set of toolbar buttons.
You can also restore the tools’ default settings if you customised and saved the settings using the Properties tab (see
Saving tool settings
To add or remove toolbar buttons
1. Click Customise the toolbar .
OR
171
CHAPTER 11
MAINTAINING SMART NOTEBOOK SOFTWARE
Right-click the toolbar.
The
Customise Toolbar
dialogue box appears.
2. Press Actions or Tools.
3. Do the following: o
To add a button to the toolbar, press its icon in the dialogue box and then drag it to the toolbar.
o
To remove a button from the toolbar, press its icon in the toolbar and then drag it away from the toolbar.
o
To rearrange the buttons, press an icon in the toolbar and then drag it to a new position in the toolbar.
o
NOTES
You can only add, remove and rearrange buttons in the panel of the toolbar that you selected in step 2. For example, if you pressed Actions in step 2, you can only add, remove and rearrange buttons in the
Actions
panel.
o
To span a button across rows, drag and hold it between two columns of buttons.
If you’re using a smaller screen resolution, only span one or two buttons across rows to prevent issues when the toolbar is wider than the SMART Notebook software window.
4. Press Done.
To restore the default set of toolbar buttons
1. Click Customise the toolbar .
OR
Right-click the toolbar.
The
Customise Toolbar
dialogue box appears.
2. Press Restore Default Toolbar.
172
CHAPTER 11
MAINTAINING SMART NOTEBOOK SOFTWARE
To restore the tools’ default settings
1. Click Customise the toolbar .
OR
Right-click the toolbar.
The
Customise Toolbar
dialogue box appears.
2. Press Restore Default Tool Properties.
Configuring SMART Notebook software
This section explains how to configure SMART Notebook software.
Changing the default program for .notebook files
If you install a SMART program other than SMART Notebook software that can open .notebook
files, you can set that program to be the default for .notebook files. If you want, you can change the default program back to SMART Notebook software later.
To change the default program when you open a file
1. Open a .notebook file using SMART Notebook software (see
Opening files
A message appears asking whether you want to change the default program for
.notebook files to SMART Notebook software.
2. Press Yes.
To change the default program using the Preferences dialogue box
1. Select Edit > Preferences.
The
SMART Notebook Preferences
dialogue box appears.
2. Press General.
3. Press Make Default.
4. If you want a message to appear when you open a .notebook file and your default program isn’t SMART Notebook software, select Tell me if SMART Notebook software isn’t the default program for .notebook files.
5. Press OK.
173
CHAPTER 11
MAINTAINING SMART NOTEBOOK SOFTWARE
Setting gesture preferences
You can interact with objects in SMART Notebook software using gestures, including the shake gesture and the press-and-hold gesture.
Gesture Name
Shake gesture
Purpose
Group two or more objects.
Press-and-hold gesture
Perform a right-click.
The shake and press-and-hold gestures are enabled by default. However, you can choose to disable them if you find that you or your students frequently invoke the gestures by accident.
To disable the shake gesture
1. Select Edit > Preferences.
The
SMART Notebook Preferences
dialogue box appears.
2. Press General.
3. Clear the Use the shake gesture to group and ungroup objects tickbox.
4. Press OK.
To disable the press-and-hold gesture
1. Select Edit > Preferences.
The
SMART Notebook Preferences
dialogue box appears.
2. Press General.
3. Clear the Press and hold to perform a right-click tickbox.
4. Press OK.
174
CHAPTER 11
MAINTAINING SMART NOTEBOOK SOFTWARE
Setting image optimisation preferences
If your .notebook files contain large pictures (pictures over 1 MB in file size), your files could open and run slowly. You can reduce the pictures’ file size without noticeably reducing their quality. As a result, your .notebook files’ overall file sizes will be smaller and the files will open and run more quickly.
To set image optimisation preferences
1. Select Edit > Preferences.
The
SMART Notebook Preferences
dialogue box appears.
2. Press Defaults.
3. Select one of the following options in the
Image optimisation
drop-down list: o
Ask every time I insert a large image to have the option of reducing or not reducing large pictures’ file sizes when you insert them.
o
Never change the resolution of inserted images to never reduce large pictures’ file sizes when you insert them.
o
Always change image resolution to optimise file size to always reduce large pictures’ file sizes when you insert them.
4. Press OK.
Manually reducing the size of large pictures
If you selected Ask every time I insert a large image in the
Image Optimisation
drop-down list, you can manually reduce the size of large pictures when you insert those pictures in your file or afterwards.
To reduce the size of a large picture when inserting it in a file
1. Insert the picture as described in
Inserting pictures
After you press Open, the
Image Optimisation
dialogue box appears.
2. Press Optimise to reduce the picture’s file size.
OR
Press Keep Resolution to not reduce the picture’s file size.
o
NOTES
When you insert a BMP file, SMART Notebook software internally converts the file to PNG format. This conversion reduces the size of the file. As a result, you might not need to export an optimised version of the .notebook file (see
Exporting optimised files
on the next page) even if the BMP file is over 1 MB in size.
o
SMART Notebook software automatically reduces the file size of pictures over 5
MB or 5 megapixels regardless of which option you choose.
175
CHAPTER 11
MAINTAINING SMART NOTEBOOK SOFTWARE
To reduce the size of a large picture after inserting it in a file
1. Select the picture.
2. Press the picture’s menu arrow and then select Image Optimisation.
The
Image Optimisation
dialogue box appears.
3. Click Optimise.
Exporting optimised files
If you have existing files that contain large pictures or if you chose Never change the resolution of inserted images in the
Image Optimisation
drop-down list, you can export optimised versions of your files that contain reduced pictures. This is particularly useful when you need to present a .notebook file on an older or less powerful computer.
To export an optimised file
1. Select File > Export As > Optimised SMART Notebook File.
The
Export Optimised File
dialogue box appears.
2. Browse to where you want to save the new file.
3. Type a name for the file in the
File name
box.
4. Press Save.
Setting default background colour preferences
By default, new pages added to your file have a default white background colour. You can change the default background colour.
NOTE
This setting only affects new pages, and will be overridden by any applied Themes.
To change the default background colour
1. Select Edit > Preferences.
The
SMART Notebook Preferences
dialogue box appears.
2. Press Defaults.
3. Select Change Colour and then select a colour.
4. Press OK.
176
CHAPTER 11
MAINTAINING SMART NOTEBOOK SOFTWARE
Setting measurement tool preferences
By default, the ruler, protractor and Geodreieck protractor in SMART Notebook software are blue and display best with light-coloured backgrounds.
You can change these measurement tools’ colour to yellow if you want to use them with darkcoloured backgrounds.
NOTE
Completing the following procedure affects the appearance of measurement tools in
.notebook files when viewed on your copy of SMART Notebook software only. If you open the same .notebook files on another copy of SMART Notebook software, the measurement tools could display in a different colour.
To change the measurement tools’ colour
1. Select Edit > Preferences.
The
SMART Notebook Preferences
dialogue box appears.
2. Press Defaults.
177
CHAPTER 11
MAINTAINING SMART NOTEBOOK SOFTWARE
3. Select Blue tint (recommended for light backgrounds) in the
Measurement tool colour
drop-down list to set the measurement tools’ colour to blue.
OR
Select Yellow tint (recommended for dark backgrounds) in the
Measurement tool colour
drop-down list to set the measurement tools’ colour to yellow.
4. Press OK.
Setting table cell padding preferences
SMART Notebook 11 software adds cell padding to tables.
Complete the following procedure to remove cell padding from tables. This is particularly useful if you created tables prior to upgrading to SMART Notebook 11 software and intended the tables’ contents to display without cell padding.
NOTE
Completing the following procedure affects the appearance of tables in .notebook files when viewed on your copy of SMART Notebook software only. If you open the same
.notebook files on another copy of SMART Notebook software, the tables display with cell padding (assuming the procedure hasn’t been completed on that copy of SMART Notebook software).
To remove cell padding from tables
1. Select Edit > Preferences.
The
SMART Notebook Preferences
dialogue box appears.
2. Press Defaults.
3. Clear the Add cell padding to table cells ticbox.
4. Press OK.
5. Close and restart SMART Notebook software.
New and existing tables in your .notebook files display without cell padding.
178
CHAPTER 11
MAINTAINING SMART NOTEBOOK SOFTWARE
Setting the language
The SMART Language Setup utility enables you to set the language for a specific SMART application or all SMART applications installed on your computer.
To set the language
1. Select Options > Language Setup.
The
Language Setup
dialogue box appears.
2. Select All Listed Applications in the first drop-down list to set the language for all applications.
OR
Select an application in the first drop-down list to set the language for only that application.
3. Select the appropriate language in the second drop-down list.
o
NOTES
If appears beside your selected language, the language is installed on your computer.
o
If appears beside your selected language, the SMART Language Setup utility downloads the language from the website after you press OK.
o
By default, the SMART Language Setup utility uses Internet Explorer Internet browser’s settings to connect to the Internet. However, you can use different settings by completing the steps under the next procedure.
TIP
To display the languages in their native names (for example,
Deutsch
for German), select the Show native names tickbox.
4. If you want to use different languages for handwriting recognition and spell checking, select languages in the
Handwriting recognition
and
Spell check
drop-down lists.
NOTE
If
AUTO
appears in the drop-down list, the SMART Language Setup selects your chosen language if available or a similar language if otherwise. If neither option is available, SMART Language Setup selects the current language.
179
CHAPTER 11
MAINTAINING SMART NOTEBOOK SOFTWARE
5. If you want to use a different keyboard layout, select a layout in the
Keyboard input language
drop-down list.
IMPORTANT
The
Keyboard input language
drop-down list is available only if there’s more than one keyboard layout installed on your computer.
The keyboard layout you select in the
Keyboard input language
drop-down list applies to both the on-screen keyboard and the keyboard connected to your computer when you use SMART software.
In some situations, you might want to select a layout that is different from the layout of the keyboard connected to your computer (for example, to teach a second language).
In these situations, the on-screen keyboard works correctly, but the keyboard connected to your computer might not.
For best results, ensure that the layout you select is identical to the layout of the keyboard connected to your computer. For example, if an English (US) keyboard is connected to your computer, select English (United States) in this drop-down list.
For information on keyboard layouts, see http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/goglobal/bb964651 .
6. Press OK.
To set the connection options
1. Select Options > Language Setup.
The
Language Setup
dialogue box appears.
2. Press Connection Options.
The
Connection Options
dialogue box appears.
3. Select Use Internet Explorer settings.
OR
Select Use other proxy and then type the host, user name and password in the appropriate boxes.
4. Press OK.
Removing SMART software
SMART Support might ask you to remove existing versions of SMART software before you install new versions. You can do this using the SMART Uninstaller.
180
CHAPTER 11
MAINTAINING SMART NOTEBOOK SOFTWARE
To remove SMART software
1. In Windows XP and Windows 7 operating systems, select Start > All Programs >
SMART Technologies > SMART Tools > SMART Uninstaller.
OR
In Windows 8 operating system, go to the
Apps
screen and then scroll to and press SMART Uninstaller.
2. Press Next.
3. Select the check boxes of the SMART software and supporting packages that you want to remove and then press Next.
o
NOTES
Some SMART software is dependent on other SMART software. For example, if you select the SMART Notebook tickbox, SMART Uninstaller selects the
SMART Response tickbox automatically because SMART Response software is dependent on SMART Notebook software.
o
SMART Uninstaller automatically removes any supporting packages that are no longer being used. If you choose to remove all SMART software, SMART
Uninstaller automatically removes all supporting packages, including itself.
o
TIPS
To select all software and supporting packages, press Select All.
o
To clear the selection of all software and supporting packages, press Clear All.
4. Press Uninstall.
SMART Uninstaller removes the selected software and supporting packages.
5. Press Finish.
Updating and activating SMART software
Once you have installed SMART software, you need to activate it. Once you have activated the software, you need to install updates from SMART.
IMPORTANT
To update and activate SMART software, you need to be connected to the Internet.
Updating SMART software
SMART periodically releases updates to its software and firmware products. (Firmware is software installed in hardware products like the SMART Board interactive whiteboard.) You can use SMART Product Update (SPU) to check for and install these updates.
181
CHAPTER 11
MAINTAINING SMART NOTEBOOK SOFTWARE
Your system administrator can install SPU in Full mode or Dashboard mode. In Full mode, you can view installed versions and download and install updates as documented in this section. In
Dashboard mode, you can only view installed versions.
To check for updates automatically
1. In Windows XP and Windows 7 operating systems, select Start > All Programs >
SMART Technologies > SMART Tools > SMART Product Update.
OR
In Windows 8 operating system, go to the
Apps
screen and then scroll to and press
SMART Product Update.
The
SMART Product Update
window appears.
2. Select the Check for updates automatically tickbox and then type the number of days (up to 60) between SPU checks.
3. Close the
SMART Product Update
window.
If an update is available the next time SPU checks, the
SMART Product Update
window appears automatically and the
Update
button of the affected product is enabled.
To check for updates manually
1. In Windows XP and Windows 7 operating systems, select Start > All Programs >
SMART Technologies > SMART Tools > SMART Product Update.
OR
In Windows 8 operating system, go to the
Apps
screen and then scroll to and press
SMART Product Update.
The
SMART Product Update
window appears.
2. Press Check Now.
If an update is available for a product, its
Update
button is enabled.
3. If an update is available, install it by following the next procedure.
182
CHAPTER 11
MAINTAINING SMART NOTEBOOK SOFTWARE
To install an update
1. Open the
SMART Product Update
window as described in the previous procedures.
2. Press the product’s row.
Product details appear. These product details include the installed version’s number and the update’s number, date and download size (if an update is available).
TIP
Press View release notes to view a summary of the changes in the update and the computer requirements for the update.
3. Press Update.
4. Follow the on-screen instructions to download and install the update.
IMPORTANT
To install updates, you must have full administrator access.
To disable automatic checking for updates
1. In Windows XP and Windows 7 operating systems, select Start > All Programs >
SMART Technologies > SMART Tools > SMART Product Update.
OR
In Windows 8 operating system, go to the
Apps
screen and then scroll to and press
SMART Product Update.
The
SMART Product Update
window appears.
2. Clear the Check for updates automatically tickbox.
IMPORTANT
SMART recommends that you do not clear this tickbox.
Activating SMART software
Typically, you activate SMART software after installing it. However, in some situations, you activate the software later. For example, you could be evaluating the software before deciding to purchase it.
l
NOTES
As of version 11.1, you don’t need to activate SMART Notebook software or
SMART Product Drivers. SMART provides you with the right to use this software when you purchase a SMART interactive product.
l
If you want to use SMART Notebook software with a device that isn’t a SMART interactive product, you must purchase a product key.
183
CHAPTER 11
MAINTAINING SMART NOTEBOOK SOFTWARE
Purchasing a product key
For some SMART products, you must purchase a product key from your authorised SMART reseller ( smarttech.com/wheretobuy ).
TIP
If you lose your product key, go to smarttech.com/findproductkey .
Activating SMART software with a product key
Once you have obtained a product key, you can activate SMART software.
To activate SMART software
1. In Windows XP and Windows 7 operating systems, select Start > All Programs >
SMART Technologies > SMART Tools > SMART Product Update.
OR
In Windows 8 operating system, go to the
Apps
screen and then scroll to and press
SMART Product Update.
The
SMART Product Update
window appears.
2. Press Activate or Manage for the software you want to activate.
The
SMART Software Activation
window appears.
NOTE
The value in the
Status
column indicates the status for each product:
Value Description
Installed
The software is installed.
Activated
The software is installed and activated with a perpetual or maintenance licence.
Subscription
The software is installed and activated with a subscription licence. The number in parentheses indicates the days remaining in the subscription period.
Expiring
Expired
Unknown
The software is installed but not yet activated. The number in parentheses indicates the days remaining in the evaluation period.
The software is installed but not yet activated. The evaluation period is over. You’re unable to use the software until you activate it.
The software’s status is unknown.
3. Press Add.
4. Follow the on-screen instructions to activate the software using the product key.
184
CHAPTER 11
MAINTAINING SMART NOTEBOOK SOFTWARE
To view product keys
1. In Windows XP and Windows 7 operating systems, select Start > All Programs >
SMART Technologies > SMART Tools > SMART Product Update.
OR
In Windows 8 operating system, go to the
Apps
screen and then scroll to and press
SMART Product Update.
The
SMART Product Update
window appears.
2. Select Tools > View Product Keys.
The
Product Keys
dialogue box appears.
3. Press OK when you’ve finished viewing the product keys.
NOTE
Alternatively, you can view the product keys for a single product by pressing the product’s name in the
SMART Product Update
window and then pressing View product key.
Sending feedback to SMART
When you start SMART software for the first time, a dialogue box may appear asking whether you want to join the SMART Customer Experience Programme. If you choose to join the programme, the software sends information to SMART that helps us to improve the software for future releases. After starting the software for the first time, you can enable or disable this feature through the
Help
menu.
You can also send feature request emails to SMART.
To enable the Customer Experience Programme tracking feature
Select Help > Customer Experience Programme > Feedback tracking ON.
To disable the Customer Experience Programme tracking feature
Select Help > Customer Experience Programme > Feedback tracking OFF.
To send a feature request email
1. Select Help > Submit Feature Request.
A new email message appears in your default email program.
2. Type your request in the new email message and then press Send.
185
Chapter 12:
Chapter 12
Troubleshooting SMART Notebook software
Troubleshooting the SMART Notebook software window and toolbar
This chapter explains how to troubleshoot issues with SMART Notebook software.
Troubleshooting files
Issue Recommendation
Your file contains large pictures and runs slowly when you open it in SMART Notebook software.
Export an optimised version of the file (see
Setting image optimisation preferences
Troubleshooting the SMART Notebook software window and toolbar
Issue Recommendation
When using SMART Notebook software on an interactive product, you or your students can’t reach the toolbar.
Press Move toolbar to top/bottom of window to move the toolbar from the top of the window to the bottom.
TIP
If you have a height-adjustable wall mount, you can also adjust the height of your interactive whiteboard or display so that students can reach it.
187
CHAPTER 12
TROUBLESHOOTING SMART NOTEBOOK SOFTWARE
Issue
Toolbar buttons described in this documentation don’t appear on the toolbar.
Recommendation
If a down arrow appears on the right side of the toolbar, press it to display additional toolbar buttons.
If your desired button doesn’t appear when you click the down arrow , you or another user might have removed the button (see
Customising the toolbar
Don’t span more than a few buttons across rows to prevent the toolbar from being wider than the SMART Notebook software window.
There isn’t enough room on your interactive product to display the contents of a page.
The Page Sorter, Gallery, Attachments,
Properties and other tabs disappear whenever you press outside of the tabs.
Two users are creating or manipulating objects in SMART Notebook software on a
SMART Board 800 series interactive whiteboard. One user is using his or her finger. The other user is using a pen from the pen tray.
When the user using the pen presses a button in the toolbar, the selected tool or option changes for the user using his or her finger instead.
Press View Screens and then select Full
Screen to display the page in Full Screen mode.
OR
Select the Auto-hide tickbox to hide the tabs when not in use.
Press one of the tab’s icons to display it and then clear the Auto-hide tickbox.
The user using the pen must press buttons in the toolbar with the pen, not with his or her finger.
For more information, see
Enabling two people to use a SMART Board 800 series interactive whiteboard
Troubleshooting digital ink
Issue Recommendation
SMART Notebook software doesn’t recognise handwriting in your language.
You want your handwriting to appear more smooth and natural in SMART Notebook software.
You’re having trouble writing smoothly in
SMART Notebook software on Windows 7 operating system.
Install the appropriate language pack (see
Setting the language
Use the Calligraphic pen type rather than the
Standard pen type (see
Writing or drawing digital ink
The Single Finger Panning feature is turned on. Turn it off (see smarttech.com/kb/147470 ).
188
CHAPTER 12
TROUBLESHOOTING SMART NOTEBOOK SOFTWARE
Issue
When you write with a pen,
SMART Notebook software on Windows 7 operating system interprets your actions as mouse clicks.
Recommendation
The Flicks feature is turned on. Turn it off (see smarttech.com/kb/144274 ).
Troubleshooting objects
Issue Recommendation
When you create a .notebook file on one computer and then open it on another computer, the objects in the file appear differently.
You want to move, resize or otherwise change an object, but when you do so, you also move, resize or otherwise change other objects.
You want to move, resize or otherwise change an object but can’t. A lock icon appears instead of a menu arrow when you select the object.
There are several possible causes. The following are the most common: l l l
You used a font that’s installed on one computer but not on the other.
The two computers have different operating systems.
The two computers have different versions of SMART Notebook software.
The objects are grouped. Any changes you make to one object affect the other objects.
Select the objects and then select Format >
Group > Ungroup to ungroup them. You can then move, resize or otherwise change the individual objects.
For more information, see
Grouping objects
The object is locked, which prevents you from making changes to it. To unlock the object, select it, press its lock icon then select Unlock.
and
For more information, see
Locking objects
189
CHAPTER 12
TROUBLESHOOTING SMART NOTEBOOK SOFTWARE
Issue
One object on a page covers another:
Recommendation
As you create objects, newer objects cover older objects automatically if the objects are in the same position on the page.
You can change the order of objects. For more information, see
Rearranging stacked objects
You want to change this so that the second object covers the first:
When you fill an object with a picture that is larger than the object, the picture is cut off:
When filling an object with a picture, select
Scale image to fit to resize the picture to fit the object:
Conversely, when you fill an object with a picture that is smaller than the object, the picture is tiled:
For more information, see
Changing objects’ properties
Troubleshooting gestures
Issue Recommendation
The multitouch gestures described in this guide aren’t working in SMART Notebook software.
Ensure that your interactive product supports multitouch gestures and that multitouch gestures are enabled.
190
Index
A
add-ons
Adobe Flash Player compatible files 80
audio files See sound files automatic tasks
B
C
cloning
191
content
inserting in .notebook files 73
sharing with other teachers 94
cropping
Customer Experience Programme 185
D
default program for .notebook files 173
digital ink
E
Essentials for Educators See Gallery
Essentials
F
INDEX
feature request emails 185 feedback 185
files
attaching to .notebook files 90
attaching to email messages 21
cutting, copying, and pasting content
displaying in Dual-User mode 161
displaying in Dual Page view 123
displaying in Full Screen view 120
displaying in Transparent Background
Flash files See Adobe Flash Player compatible files
Flash video files See Adobe Flash video files
freehand objects See digital ink
G
gestures
types of
graphics See pictures groups
H
I
handwriting, conversion to text of 39, 133, 179
Gallery
applying backgrounds and themes from 109
finding and working with content from 74
Gallery Sampler See Lesson Activity
Examples
GeoGebra
finding and working with content from 76
images See pictures
Interactive Whiteboard Common File
J
K
192
INDEX
L
links
M
Mac OS X operating system software 14
measurement tools
types of
MP3 files See sound files
multiple interactive products 125
music files See sound files
My Content category 93, 95, See
also Team Content categories
N
names
193
Notebook software See SMART
Notebook
O
objects
adding links to;links
cutting, copying and pasting 64
setting fill and line style for 57
P
pages
INDEX
displaying in Dual-User mode 161
displaying in Dual Page view 123
displaying in Full Screen view 120
displaying in Transparent Background
PDF files
attaching to email messages 21
pens types of
performance, improving
photographs See pictures pictures
creating transparent areas in;transparent areas;{nopage} invisible areas{see}transparent areas
inserting from a SMART Document
194
Camera 78 inserting from files 78
preferences
Preferences
Q
QuickTime files See MOV files
R
Recorder See SMART Recorder
RSS feeds;add-ons
S
Screen Shades;pages
set squares See Geodreieck protractors
Shape Recognition Pen tool 33, 37
shapes
creating with the Regular Polygons
INDEX creating with the Shape Recognition
creating with the Shapes tool 35
SMART Board 800 series interactive
SMART Board D600 series interactive
SMART Ink
SMART Notebook Document Writer 84
SMART Notebook Print Capture 83
SMART Recorder
changing video and audio quality 143
SWF files See Adobe Flash Player compatible files
T
T-squares See Geodreieck protractors tables
adding columns, rows or cells to 52
195
removing cell padding from 178
removing columns, rows or cells from 52
splitting or merging cells in 53
Team Content categories See also My
Content category text
converting handwriting to 39, 133
converting handwriting to;digital ink converting to text;handwriting, conversion to text
including mathematical symbols in 42 resizing 42
themes
thumbnails
toolbars
Transparent Background view 122
troubleshooting
SMART Notebook software window
INDEX
U
V
W
web browsers See Internet browsers
X
Z
196
SMART TECHNOLOGIES smarttech.com/support smarttech.com/contactsupport
Download
Annonce