SMART Notebook software User's guide
বিজ্ঞাপন
বিজ্ঞাপন
SMART Notebook™ 11
Windows® operating systems
User’s guide
Scan the following QR code to view the SMART Notebook software Help on your smart phone or other mobile device.
Trademark notice
SMART Notebook, SMART Response, SMART Board, SMART Document Camera, SMART Exchange, SMART Classroom Suite, SMART Ink, DViT, smarttech, the
SMART logo and all SMART taglines are trademarks or registered trademarks of SMART Technologies ULC in the U.S. and/or other countries. Windows, Windows Vista,
Internet Explorer and PowerPoint are either registered trademarks or trademarks of Microsoft Corporation in the U.S. and/or other countries. Mac, Mac OS and QuickTime are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. Adobe, Flash and Reader are either registered trademarks or trademarks of Adobe Systems
Incorporated in the U.S. and/or other countries. All other third-party product and company names may be trademarks of their respective owners.
Copyright notice
© 2012 SMART Technologies ULC. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced, transmitted, transcribed, stored in a retrieval system or translated into any language in any form by any means without the prior written consent of SMART Technologies ULC. Information in this manual is subject to change without notice and does not represent a commitment on the part of SMART.
One or more of the following patents: US6320597; US6326954; US6741267; US7151533; US7757001; USD616462; and USD617332. Other patents pending.
04/2012
i
Contents
About the SMART software installed on your computer
Starting SMART Notebook software
Creating and working with content
Chapter 2: Creating and working with files
Attaching files to e-mail messages
Changing the default program for .notebook files
Chapter 3: Creating and working with pages
Displaying student page borders
Working with page backgrounds and themes
Chapter 4: Creating basic objects
Writing, drawing and erasing digital ink
C O N T E N T S
Chapter 5: Working with objects
Cutting, copying and pasting objects
Chapter 6: Using your own content
Using content from other programs
Adding your content to the Gallery
Sharing your content on the SMART Exchange website
Chapter 7: Using content from SMART resources
Finding and using content from the Gallery
Finding and using content from the SMART Exchange website
Chapter 8: Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom
Creating and presenting lesson activities
Enabling two people to use an interactive whiteboard
Chapter 9: Troubleshooting SMART Notebook software
Troubleshooting the SMART Notebook software window and toolbar
ii
C O N T E N T S
Appendix A: Customizing the toolbar
Appendix B: Setting the language
Appendix C: Updating, activating and sending feedback
Updating and activating SMART products
iii
Chapter 1:
1
Chapter 1
Getting started
About the SMART software installed on your computer
Starting SMART Notebook software
Customizing the Attachments tab
Customizing the Properties tab
Creating and working with content
This chapter introduces you to SMART Notebook™ collaborative learning software and explains the basics of using your interactive product.
2
C H A P T E R 1
Getting started
About the SMART software installed on your computer
Your computer might include SMART Notebook Tools, SMART Product Drivers, SMART Ink™ and
SMART Tools in addition to SMART Notebook software.
SMART Notebook software: Use SMART Notebook software to create lessons or presentations. Each .notebook file contains a series of pages, and each page has its own objects, properties and settings. You can add freehand objects, geometric shapes, straight lines, text, pictures, tables, widgets and Adobe® Flash® Player compatible files to a page.
You can manipulate and edit these objects at any time.
You can save your files in the .notebook format, which you can open in any Windows®, Mac or
Linux® computer running SMART Notebook software. You can also export your files to a variety of formats.
SMART Notebook Tools: You can install SMART Notebook Tools to add special features to
SMART Notebook software. These tools include the following: l
SMART Notebook Math Tools l
SMART Notebook 3D Tools l
SMART Document Camera™ and Mixed Reality Tools l
SMART Response™ assessment software
SMART Product Drivers: Your interactive product detects contact with its screen and sends each contact point, along with Pen tool information, to the connected computer.
SMART Product Drivers translates the information into mouse clicks and digital ink.
SMART Product Drivers enables you to perform normal computer operations by using your finger or a pen.
SMART Ink and SMART Tools: Using SMART Ink, you can write or draw on the screen in digital ink using a pen, and then save or erase your notes.
You can also draw attention to specific parts of a page using SMART Tools, such as the
Screen Shade, Spotlight, Magnifier and Pointer.
Starting SMART Notebook software
Start SMART Notebook software by double-clicking the SMART Notebook 11 icon on the desktop.
When you start SMART Notebook software the first time, a tutorial file opens automatically. You can read the contents of this file to learn more about the software and the new features in the latest release. When you’re done, select File > New to create a new, blank file.
3
C H A P T E R 1
Getting started
N O T E
When you start the software subsequent times, a new, blank file opens automatically. To open the tutorial file, select Help > Tutorial.
For information on working with files, see Creating and working with files on page 11.
Navigating the user interface
The SMART Notebook software user interface consists of the following components: l
Menu l
Toolbar l
Tabs (Page Sorter, Gallery, Attachments, Properties, Add-ons and SMART Response) l
Page area
Menu
The menu contains all the commands you can use to manipulate files and objects in
SMART Notebook software.
Toolbar
The toolbar enables you to select and use a variety of commands. The buttons on the toolbar are organized in panels.
Actions panel
The Actions panel of the toolbar includes buttons that enable you to browse and make changes to
.notebook files:
Plug-ins panel
If you install SMART Notebook Tools such as SMART Notebook Math Tools and SMART Response software, an additional panel appears to the right of the Actions panel:
C H A P T E R 1
Getting started
Tools panel
The Tools panel includes buttons that enable you to create and work with basic objects on pages:
Contextual panel
When you select one of the buttons in the Tools panel, additional buttons appear. For example, if you select Pens , the following additional buttons appear:
4
Press the Pen Types button to select a pen type and then press one of the line type buttons to write or draw digital ink in that line type. You can customize a selected line type using the options in the
Properties tab and then save your changes for future use (see Saving tool settings on page 85).
The three property selectors beside the line type buttons enable you to set the color, thickness, style and transparency of digital ink.
If you click any of the other buttons in the Tools panel, similar sets of additional buttons appear.
Customizing the toolbar
You can add, remove and change the position of buttons on the toolbar by pressing Customize the
toolbar
(see Customizing the toolbar on page 155).
By default, the toolbar appears at the top of the SMART Notebook software window. However, you can move it to the bottom of the window by pressing Move toolbar to top/bottom of window .
This is useful in situations where you or your students can’t reach the toolbar when it’s at the top of the window.
Page Sorter
The Page Sorter displays all of the pages in the open file as thumbnails and automatically updates these thumbnails as you change the contents of the pages.
5
C H A P T E R 1
Getting started
Using the Page Sorter, you can do the following: l
Display pages l
Create pages l
Clone pages l
Clear pages l
Delete pages l
Rename pages l
Rearrange pages l
Move objects from one page to another l
Group pages
Opening the Page Sorter
To open the Page Sorter, press Page Sorter .
Customizing the Page Sorter
You can move the Page Sorter from one side of the SMART Notebook software window to the other by pressing Move Sidebar .
You can resize the Page Sorter by dragging its border left or right. You can also hide the Page Sorter when you’re not using it by selecting the Auto-hide check box. (To display the Page Sorter when it’s hidden, press Page Sorter .)
N O T E
If you reduce the Page Sorter to its minimum size, the auto-hide feature turns on automatically.
Gallery tab
The Gallery tab contains clip art, backgrounds, multimedia content, files and pages that you can use in your lessons, and displays preview images of this content. The Gallery tab also provides access to
other online resources. For more information, see Using content from SMART resources on page
You can also include your own content and content from other teachers in your school in the Gallery
tab (see Adding your content to the Gallery on page 117).
Opening the Gallery tab
To open the Gallery tab, press Gallery .
6
C H A P T E R 1
Getting started
Customizing the Gallery tab
You can move the Gallery tab from one side of the SMART Notebook software window to the other by pressing Move Sidebar .
You can resize the Gallery tab by dragging its border left or right. You can also hide the Gallery tab when you’re not using it by selecting the Auto-hide check box. (To display the Gallery tab when it’s hidden, press Gallery .)
N O T E
If you reduce the Gallery tab to its minimum size, the auto-hide feature turns on automatically.
Attachments tab
The Attachments tab displays the files and web pages attached to the current file. For more
information, see Attaching files and web pages on page 115.
Opening the Attachments tab
To open the Attachments tab, press Attachments .
Customizing the Attachments tab
You can move the Attachments tab from one side of the SMART Notebook software window to the other by pressing Move Sidebar .
You can resize the Attachments tab by dragging its border left or right. You can also hide the
Attachments tab when you’re not using it by selecting the Auto-hide check box. (To display the
Attachments tab when it’s hidden, press Attachments .)
N O T E
If you reduce the Attachments tab to its minimum size, the auto-hide feature turns on automatically.
Properties tab
The Properties tab enables you to format objects on a page, including digital ink, shapes, lines, text and tables. Depending on the object you select, you can change the following: l
The color, thickness and style of lines l
The transparency and fill effects of objects l
The font type, size and style of text l
The animation of objects
7
C H A P T E R 1
Getting started
The Properties tab displays only the options that are available for the object you select. For more
information on displaying and setting object properties in the Properties tab, see Changing objects’
The Properties tab also includes a Page Recording button. You can use this feature to record your
actions on the current page (see Recording pages on page 39).
Opening the Properties tab
To open the Properties tab, press Properties .
Customizing the Properties tab
You can move the Properties tab from one side of the SMART Notebook software window to the other by pressing Move Sidebar .
You can resize the Properties tab by dragging its border left or right. You can also hide the Properties tab when you’re not using it by selecting the Auto-hide check box. (To display the Properties tab when it’s hidden, press Properties .)
N O T E
If you reduce the Properties tab to its minimum size, the auto-hide feature turns on automatically.
Add-ons tab
The Add-ons tab enables you to work with SMART Notebook software add-ons, including the Activity
Builder (see Creating matching lesson activities on page 129).
Opening the Add-ons tab
To open the Add-ons tab, press Add-ons .
Customizing the Add-ons tab
You can move the Add-ons tab from one side of the SMART Notebook software window to the other by pressing Move Sidebar .
You can resize the Add-ons tab by dragging its border left or right. You can also hide the Add-ons tab when you’re not using it by selecting the Auto-hide check box. (To display the Add-ons tab when it’s hidden, press Properties .)
N O T E
If you reduce the Add-ons tab to its minimum size, the auto-hide feature turns on automatically.
C H A P T E R 1
Getting started
SMART Response tab
The SMART Response tab is part of SMART Response software and is available only if you have
SMART Response software installed.
Page area
The page area displays the contents of a selected page in a file. This is the area of the page where
you create and work with objects (see Creating basic objects on page 49).
Creating and working with content
A .notebook file consists of one or more pages. You can use the Page Sorter to view thumbnails of all pages in the open .notebook file and select specific pages to display. In addition, you can create new
pages, clear or delete existing pages and complete other tasks. For more information, see Creating
and working with pages on page 27.
Pages contain objects. Objects are the building blocks of content in SMART Notebook software.
Basic types of objects include the following:
Digital ink (freehand writing and drawing) Shapes and lines
Text Tables
In addition to these basic types of objects, you can insert pictures, Adobe Flash Player compatible files, Adobe Flash Player compatible video files, sound files, Internet content and widgets in your
.notebook files. This content can come from your own resources, from the Gallery or from the
8
9
C H A P T E R 1
Getting started
SMART Exchange™ website (see Using your own content on page 103 and Using content from
You can manipulate any object in your .notebook files using a common set of tasks (see Working with
SMART Notebook software in your classroom on page 127).
Using gestures
You can interact with objects in SMART Notebook software using the following gestures (if supported by your interactive product):
Swipe (left to right) Swipe (right to left)
Zoom in / enlarge Zoom out / reduce
C H A P T E R 1
Getting started
Flick
Group
Rotate
10
Chapter 2:
Chapter 2
Creating and working with files
Attaching files to e-mail messages
Changing the default program for .notebook files
In SMART Notebook software, you can create or open SMART Notebook software (.notebook) files.
After creating or opening a .notebook file, you can save it, print it, export it to other formats and complete other common tasks. In addition, you can work with the pages within the .notebook file.
Creating files
When you start SMART Notebook software for the first time, a tutorial file opens automatically. When you start the software subsequent times, a new .notebook file opens automatically. However, you can create a new file at any time.
g
To create a file
Select File > New.
If you’re working on a file with unsaved changes, a dialog box appears and prompts you to save the current file. Press Yes to save your changes, and then follow the on-screen instructions.
11
C H A P T E R 2
Creating and working with files
Opening files
With SMART Notebook 11 software, you can open the following: l
.notebook files (the default file format for SMART Notebook 9.5, 9.7, 10 and 11 software) l
.xbk files (the default file format for SMART Notebook 8, 9.0 and 9.1 software)
After you open a file, you can save the file as a .notebook or .xbk file.
The method by which you open a file is the same for all versions of SMART Notebook software.
g
To open a file
1. Press Open File
.
The Open dialog box appears.
2. Browse to and select the file.
3. Press Open.
T I P
You can open a recently opened file by selecting the File menu, and then selecting the file name.
Saving files
By default, SMART Notebook software saves your files in .notebook format. Anyone with
SMART Notebook 9.5 or later software for Windows operating systems, Mac OS X operating system software or Linux operating systems installed on his or her computer can open a .notebook file.
You can also set SMART Notebook software to save your file automatically when you select a
different page or after a specified period of time (see Saving files automatically on page 14).
N O T E
The default file format for SMART Notebook 8, 9.0 and 9.1 software is .xbk. If you want to open your file in one of these versions, save your file with the .xbk extension. However, the .xbk format doesn’t support some of the objects and properties available in this version of SMART Notebook software. If you save your file in the .xbk format, SMART Notebook software doesn’t save the properties in your file that the .xbk format doesn’t support or else it saves them as images that you’re unable to edit when you open the file.
12
C H A P T E R 2
Creating and working with files g
To save a new file
1. Press Save .
The Save As dialog box appears.
2. Browse to where you want to save the new file.
3. Type a name for the file in the File name box.
4. If you want to make sure that your file retains its formatting, select the .notebook format in the
Save as type drop-down list.
OR
If you want to create a file that you can open with SMART Notebook 8, 9.0 and 9.1 software, select the .xbk format in the Save as type drop-down list.
5. Press Save.
If you’re saving your file in the .xbk format and there are objects or properties in your file that the
.xbk format doesn’t support, a dialog box appears indicating that SMART Notebook software won’t save these objects or properties if you continue. Press Yes.
g
To save an existing file
Press Save .
g
To save an existing file with a new name or location
1. Select File > Save As.
The Save As dialog box appears.
2. Browse to where you want to save the new file.
3. Type a name for the file in the File name box.
4. If you want to make sure that your file retains its formatting, select the .notebook format in the
Save as type drop-down list.
OR
If you want to create a file that you can open with SMART Notebook 8, 9.0 and 9.1 software, select the .xbk format in the Save as type drop-down list.
13
C H A P T E R 2
Creating and working with files
5. Press Save.
If you’re saving your file in the .xbk format and there are objects or properties in your file that the
.xbk format doesn’t support, a dialog box appears indicating that SMART Notebook software won’t save these objects or properties if you continue. Press Yes.
Saving files automatically
You can manually save your file at any time (see Saving files on page 12). You can also set
SMART Notebook software to save your file automatically when you display a different page or after a specified period of time.
N O T E
You can also set SMART Notebook software to export a file automatically in a variety of formats,
including HTML and PDF (see Exporting files automatically on page 18).
g
To save files automatically
1. Select File > Timed Saves.
The Timed Save Wizard appears.
2. Select Every time I move to a different page to save your file automatically every time you select a different page.
OR
Select 1 minute, 5 minutes, 15 minutes or 30 minutes to save your file automatically after a specified period of time.
3. Press Next.
4. Select Notebook Document.
5. Press Next.
The Save As dialog box appears.
6. Browse to where you want to save the new file.
14
C H A P T E R 2
Creating and working with files
7. Type a name for the file in the File name box. SMART Notebook software automatically saves the file with the .notebook file extension.
N O T E
The default file format for SMART Notebook 8, 9.0 and 9.1 software is .xbk. If you want to open your file in one of these versions, save your file with the .xbk extension. However, the
.xbk format doesn’t support some of the objects and properties available in this version of
SMART Notebook software. If you save your file in the .xbk format, SMART Notebook software doesn’t save the properties in your file that the .xbk format doesn’t support or else it saves them as images that you’re unable to edit when you open the file.
8. Press Save.
g
To cancel automatic file saving
1. Select File > Timed Saves.
The Timed Save Wizard appears.
2. Select Do not save the document automatically.
3. Press Next.
Exporting files
You can export your .notebook files to the following formats: l
Web pages l
Picture formats o
BMP o
GIF o
JPEG o
PNG l
PDF l
Interactive Whiteboard Common File Format (CFF) l
PowerPoint®
15
C H A P T E R 2
Creating and working with files
N O T E S
l
SMART Notebook software doesn’t include attachments when you export files as picture files. To include attachments, you must export your file as either web pages or PDF (Adobe
Reader® 6.0 or later).
l
SMART Notebook software doesn’t export files that you attach to your .notebook file as
shortcuts. If you want to include an attachment, attach a copy of the file (see Attaching files
l
SMART Notebook software doesn’t export some gradient, pattern and image effects. These effects might appear as a solid fill or appear incorrectly in the exported file.
You can also set SMART Notebook software to export a .notebook file automatically when you
g
To export a file as web pages
1. Select File > Export > Web Page.
The Save As dialog box appears.
2. Browse to where you want to export the file.
3. Type a name for the file in the File name box.
4. Press Save.
g
To export a file as picture files
1. Select File > Export > Image Files.
The Export Image Files dialog box appears.
2. Select a folder where you want to export the files.
3. Select a picture format in the Image Type drop-down list.
4. Select a picture size in the Size drop-down list.
5. Press OK.
16
C H A P T E R 2
Creating and working with files g
To export a file as a PDF file
1. Select File > Export > PDF.
The Export PDF dialog box appears.
2. Press Thumbnails, Handouts or Full Page.
3. Optionally, type header text in the Header box, footer text in the Footer box and the current date in the Date box.
4. Optionally, select the Show page numbers check box to show a page number on each page.
5. If you pressed Thumbnails or Handouts in step 2, select a thumbnail size in the Thumbnail
size drop-down list and, optionally, select the Page borders check box to show a border around each thumbnail and the Thumbnail titles check box to show titles under each thumbnail.
6. Select All to include all pages.
OR
Select Pages to include select pages, and then type the page numbers in the box. Separate individual page numbers with commas and separate page ranges with a hyphen (for example,
1,2,4-7).
7. Press Save.
The Save as PDF File dialog box appears.
8. Browse to where you want to export the file.
9. Type a name for the file in the File name box.
10. Press Save.
g
To export a file as a CFF file
1. Select File > Export > CFF.
The Save As dialog box appears.
2. Browse to where you want to export the file.
3. Type a name for the file in the File name box.
17
C H A P T E R 2
Creating and working with files
4. Press Save.
N O T E
g
To export a file as a PowerPoint file
1. Select File > Export > PowerPoint.
The Save As dialog box appears.
2. Browse to where you want to export the file.
3. Type a name for the file in the File name box.
4. Select PowerPoint 2007 Files (*.pptx) or PowerPoint Files (*.ppt) in the Save at type dropdown list.
5. Press Save.
N O T E
You can also import PowerPoint files (see Importing PowerPoint files on page 113).
Exporting files automatically
You can export your .notebook files to a variety of formats, including web pages and PDF (see
Exporting files on page 15). You can also set SMART Notebook software to export a file
automatically when you display a different page or after a specified period of time.
N O T E S
l
SMART Notebook software doesn’t include attachments when you export files as picture files. To include attachments, you must export your file as either web pages or PDF (Adobe
Reader 6.0 or later).
l
SMART Notebook software doesn’t export files that you attach to your .notebook file as
shortcuts. If you want to include an attachment, attach a copy of the file (see Attaching files
l
SMART Notebook software doesn’t export some gradient, pattern and image effects. These effects might appear as a solid fill or appear incorrectly in the exported file.
18
C H A P T E R 2
Creating and working with files g
To export a file automatically as web pages
1. Select File > Timed Saves.
The Timed Save Wizard appears.
2. Select Every time I move to a different page to export your file automatically when you display a different page.
OR
Select 1 minute, 5 minutes, 15 minutes or 30 minutes to export your file automatically after a specified period of time.
3. Press Next.
4. Select Web Page (HTML).
5. Press Next.
The Save As dialog box appears.
6. Browse to where you want to export the file.
7. Type a name for the file in the File name box.
8. Press Save.
g
To export a file automatically as PDF files
1. Select File > Timed Saves.
The Timed Save Wizard appears.
2. Select Every time I move to a different page to export your file automatically when you display a different page.
OR
Select 1 minute, 5 minutes, 15 minutes or 30 minutes to export your file automatically after a specified period of time.
3. Press Next.
4. Select PDF.
OR
Select Time Stamped PDFs, if you want the exported files’ names to include the time of the export.
19
C H A P T E R 2
Creating and working with files
5. Press Next.
The Save As dialog box appears.
6. Browse to where you want to export the file.
7. Type a name for the file or files in the File name box.
8. Press Save.
g
To export a file automatically as picture files
1. Select File > Timed Saves.
The Timed Save Wizard appears.
2. Select Every time I move to a different page to export your file automatically when you display a different page.
OR
Select 1 minute, 5 minutes, 15 minutes or 30 minutes to export your file automatically after a specified period of time.
3. Press Next.
4. Select Image Files.
5. Press Next.
6. Press Browse, browse to where you want to export the files, and then press Open.
7. Select the picture format in the Image Type drop-down list.
8. Select the picture size in the Size drop-down list.
9. Press OK.
g
To export a file automatically as a PowerPoint file
1. Select File > Timed Saves.
The Timed Save Wizard appears.
2. Select Every time I move to a different page to export your file automatically when you display a different page.
OR
Select 1 minute, 5 minutes, 15 minutes or 30 minutes to export your file automatically after a specified period of time.
3. Press Next.
20
C H A P T E R 2
Creating and working with files
4. Select PowerPoint.
5. Press Next.
The Save As dialog box appears.
6. Browse to where you want to export the file.
7. Type a name for the file in the File name box.
8. Press Save.
g
To cancel automatic file export
1. Select File > Timed Saves.
The Timed Save Wizard appears.
2. Select Do not save the document automatically.
3. Press Next.
Printing files
You can print all pages or select pages in a .notebook file. You can print the pages as thumbnails, handouts or full pages.
g
To print a file
1. Select File > Print.
The Print dialog box appears.
2. Press Thumbnails, Handouts or Full Page.
3. Optionally, type header text in the Header box, footer text in the Footer box and the current date in the Date box.
4. Optionally, select the Show page numbers check box to show a page number on each page.
5. If you pressed Thumbnails or Handouts in step 2, select a thumbnail size in the Thumbnail
size drop-down list and, optionally, select the Page borders check box to show a border around each thumbnail and the Thumbnail titles check box to show titles under each thumbnail.
21
C H A P T E R 2
Creating and working with files
6. Select All to include all pages.
OR
Select Pages to include select pages, and then type the page numbers in the box. Separate individual page numbers with commas and separate page ranges with a hyphen (for example,
1,2,4-7).
7. Press the Printer Setup tab.
8. Specify other print settings, including the printer name and the number of copies.
9. Press Print.
Attaching files to e-mail messages
You can send your file to others by attaching the file, or a PDF version of the file, to an e-mail message.
g
To attach a file to an e-mail message
Select File > Send To > Mail Recipient.
Your default e-mail program starts, creates a new message and attaches the current file to the message.
If you haven’t saved the file, SMART Notebook software saves it as a temporary file called
untitled.notebook and your e-mail program attaches this temporary file to the e-mail message.
g
To attach a file to an e-mail message as a PDF
Select File > Send To > Mail Recipient (as PDF).
Your default e-mail program starts, creates a new message and attaches a PDF of the current file to the message.
If you haven’t saved the file, SMART Notebook software saves the PDF file as a temporary file called
untitled.pdf and your e-mail program attaches the temporary file to the e-mail message.
22
C H A P T E R 2
Creating and working with files
Reducing file sizes
If your .notebook files contain large pictures (pictures over 1 MB in file size), your files could open and run slowly. You can reduce the pictures’ file size without noticeably reducing their quality. As a result, your .notebook files’ overall file sizes will be smaller and the files will open and run more quickly.
g
To reduce the size of a large picture when inserting it in a file
1. Insert the picture as described in Inserting pictures on page 104.
After you press Open, the Image Optimization dialog box appears.
2. Press Optimize to reduce the picture’s file size.
OR
Press Keep Resolution to not reduce the picture’s file size.
N O T E
o
When you insert a BMP file, SMART Notebook software internally converts the file to
PNG format. This conversion reduces the size of the file. As a result, you might not
need to export an optimized version of the .notebook file (see To export an optimized
file on the next page) even if the BMP file is over 1 MB in size.
o
SMART Notebook software automatically reduces the file size of pictures over 5 MB or 5 megapixels regardless of which option you choose.
g
To reduce the size of a large picture after inserting it in a file
1. Select the picture.
2. Press the picture’s menu arrow, and then select Image Optimization.
The Image Optimization dialog box appears.
3. Click Optimize.
g
To set your preference for inserting large pictures
1. Select Edit > Preferences.
The SMART Notebook Preferences dialog box appears.
23
C H A P T E R 2
Creating and working with files
2. Select Ask every time I insert a large image to have the option of reducing or not reducing large pictures’ file sizes when you insert them.
OR
Select Never change the resolution of inserted images to never reduce large pictures’ file sizes when you insert them.
OR
Select Always change image resolution to optimized file size to always reduce large pictures’ file sizes when you insert them.
3. Press OK.
g
To export an optimized file
1. Select File > Export Optimized File.
The Export Optimized File dialog box appears.
2. Browse to where you want to save the new file.
3. Type a name for the file in the File name box.
4. Press Save.
Undoing and redoing actions
When you make changes to a file, you can reverse the effects of your previous actions and commands.
N O T E
If two people are using your interactive product, pressing Undo and Redo affects the actions of both users.
g
To reverse the effect of the last action
Press Undo .
N O T E
You can undo an unlimited number of actions.
g
To reinstate the last action reversed with the Undo command
Press Redo .
24
C H A P T E R 2
Creating and working with files
Changing the default program for .notebook files
If you install a SMART program other than SMART Notebook software that can open .notebook files, you can set that program to be the default for .notebook files. If you want, you can change the default program back to SMART Notebook software later.
g
To change the default program when you open a file
1. Open a .notebook file using SMART Notebook software (see Opening files on page 12).
A message appears asking whether you want to change the default program for .notebook files to SMART Notebook software.
2. Press Yes.
g
To change the default program using the Preferences dialog box
1. Select Edit > Preferences.
The SMART Notebook Preferences dialog box appears.
2. Press Make Default.
3. If you want a message to appear when you open a .notebook file and your default program isn’t
SMART Notebook software, select Tell me if SMART Notebook is not the default
program for .notebook files.
4. Press OK.
25
Chapter 3:
27
Chapter 3
Creating and working with pages
Displaying pages in Full Screen view
Displaying pages in Transparent Background view
Displaying pages in Dual Page view
Displaying student page borders
Working with page backgrounds and themes
Applying page backgrounds and themes
Applying backgrounds using the Properties tab
Applying backgrounds and themes using the Gallery
A .notebook file is composed of a series of pages, each with its own objects and properties.
A thumbnail of each page appears in the Page Sorter. Using either the Page Sorter or menu commands, you can display an existing page, create a blank page, create a clone of an existing page or delete an existing page.
You can also change a page’s background, extend a page’s height, rename a page, rearrange pages within a file, group pages within a file and complete other common tasks.
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages
Displaying pages
You can display any page in the file using the Page Sorter. You can display the next or previous page in the file using buttons or gestures.
You can zoom in or out when viewing a page. You can also set the page to fit your display or set the page’s width to the same width as the display.
g
To display a page
1. If the Page Sorter isn’t visible, press Page Sorter
.
2. Press the thumbnail of the page you want to display.
g
To display the next page in a file
Press Next Page .
OR
Swipe your finger across the page from right to left.
A message appears, displaying the current page’s number.
28
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages g
To display the previous page in a file
Press Previous Page .
OR
Swipe your finger across the page from left to right.
A message appears, displaying the current page’s number.
Changing the page display
You can zoom in and out using the View Screens button or multitouch gestures (if your interactive product supports multitouch gestures).
In addition, SMART Notebook software includes the following views: l
Full Screen view expands the page area to fill the interactive screen by hiding the title bar, toolbar, taskbar and sidebar.
l
Transparent Background view enables you to see the desktop and windows behind the
SMART Notebook software window and continue to interact with the open, transparent page.
l
Dual Page view displays two pages side by side.
29
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages
Zooming in and out
You can zoom in and out using the View Screens button or multitouch gestures (if your interactive product supports multitouch gestures).
g
To zoom in or out using the View Screens button
1. Press View Screens .
2. Select a magnification level between 50% and 300%.
OR
Select Entire Page to make the entire page fit your display.
OR
Select Page Width to set the page’s width to the same width as your display.
30
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages g
To zoom in or out using multitouch gestures
Drag your fingers in opposite directions to zoom in.
OR
Drag your fingers toward each other to zoom out.
A message appears, displaying the current zoom level.
Displaying pages in Full Screen view
In Full Screen view, SMART Notebook software expands the page to fill the screen by hiding the other user interface elements. You can access commonly used commands using the Full Screen toolbar.
T I P
Before displaying a page in Full Screen view, select View > Full Screen Page Border, and then select the appropriate aspect ratio for your interactive product. A blue line appears, indicating the portion of the page that will appear in Full Screen view without scrolling.
This feature is useful when you’re creating content that you want to present in Full Screen view.
31
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages g
To display a page in Full Screen view
Press View Screens , and then select Full Screen.
The page expands to fill the screen, hiding the other user interface elements, and the Full Screen toolbar appears.
Button Command
Previous Page
Next Page
Action
Display the previous page in the current file.
Display the next page in the current file.
More Options Open a menu of options.
Exit Full Screen Return to the standard view.
Toolbar Options Display additional toolbar buttons.
N O T E S
l
The toolbar displays the current page number and the total number of pages in the file.
l
If SMART Response software is installed, additional buttons appear that enable you to insert questions and administer assessments.
l
If you’re using a widescreen interactive product and gray bars appear on the sides of the page, you can change the zoom level to the page’s width to hide the gray bars by selecting
More Options
> Page Width. You can return to Full Page view by selecting More
Options
> Entire Page.
g
To display more toolbar buttons
Press Toolbar Options .
The toolbar expands to include the following buttons:
Button Command
Blank Page
Undo
Select
Magic Pen
Action
Insert a new, blank page in the current file.
Reverse the effect of the last action.
Select objects on the current page.
Create objects that slowly fade, open a magnification window or open
a spotlight window (see Using the Magic Pen on page 136).
32
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages
Displaying pages in Transparent Background view
Using Transparent Background view, you can see the desktop and windows behind the
SMART Notebook software window and continue to interact with the open, transparent page. You can draw in digital ink on a transparent page and save your notes in the file. You can also display measurement tools, take screen captures and more. If an area of the screen doesn’t include any
SMART Notebook software objects, you can select and interact with the desktop and applications behind the SMART Notebook software window.
g
To display a page in Transparent Background view
Press View Screens , and then select Transparent Background.
The background of the SMART Notebook software window becomes transparent, enabling you to see the desktop and program behind SMART Notebook software, but any objects on the .notebook
file page remain visible.
The Transparent Background toolbar appears.
Button Command
Select
Action
Select objects on the current page or interact with desktop and application objects that aren’t covered by a SMART Notebook software object.
Write or draw digital ink on the current page.
Pens and
Highlighters
Previous Page
Next Page
More Options
Display the previous page in the current file.
Display the next page in the current file.
Open a menu of options that enable you to add a screen shade, select different digital ink, select a Creative pen style, add straight lines, add shapes and more.
Return to the standard view.
Exit Transparent
Background
Toolbar Options Display additional toolbar buttons.
33
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages
N O T E S
l
The toolbar displays the current page number and the total number of pages in the file.
l
If SMART Response software is installed, additional buttons appear that enable you to insert questions and administer assessments.
g
To display more toolbar buttons
Press Toolbar Options .
The toolbar expands to include the following buttons:
Button Command
Blank Page
Undo
Delete
Action
Insert a new, blank page in the current file.
Reverse the effect of the last action.
Delete all selected objects.
Clear Page
Screen Capture
Toolbar
Insert Ruler
Erase all digital ink and delete all objects from the page.
Open the Screen Capture toolbar.
Insert a ruler on the page (see Using the ruler on page 140).
Insert Protractor
Insert a protractor on the page (see Using the protractor on page
Insert Geodreieck
Protractor
Insert a Geodreieck protractor on the page (see Using the Geodreieck
Insert Compass
Insert a compass on the page (see Using the compass on page 146).
Displaying pages in Dual Page view
You can display two pages side by side. You can draw, make notes, import files and add links on either page in the same way as you would on a single page.
When you’re displaying dual pages, you can pin a page to continue displaying it in the page area while you view other pages in the Page Sorter.
g
To display a page in Dual Page view
Press View Screens , and then select Dual Page Display.
A second page appears. A red border indicates the active page.
34
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages g
To pin a page
1. If you haven’t done so already, display dual pages.
2. Select the page you want to continue displaying.
3. Select View > Zoom > Pin Page.
Pin icons appear in the top corners of the pinned page.
g
To unpin a page
Clear the selection of View > Zoom > Pin Page.
g
To return to standard view
Press View Screens , and then clear the selection of Dual Page Display.
Creating pages
You can add a blank page to the open file using the Add Page button or the Page Sorter.
g
To insert a page using the Add Page button
Press Add Page .
The new page appears after the current page.
g
To insert a page using the Page Sorter
1. If the Page Sorter isn’t visible, press Page Sorter .
2. Select the thumbnail of the page you want the new page to appear after.
3. Press the thumbnail’s menu arrow, and then select Insert Blank Page.
The new page appears after the selected page.
35
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages
Cloning pages
As an alternative to creating a blank page, you can create a duplicate (or “clone”) of an existing page.
N O T E
You can clone a page only if it contains content.
g
To clone a page
1. If the Page Sorter isn’t visible, press Page Sorter .
2. Select the thumbnail of the page you want to clone.
3. Press the thumbnail’s menu arrow, and then select Clone Page.
The cloned page appears immediately after the current page.
N O T E
You can repeat this process as many times as you want.
Rearranging pages
If you want, you can rearrange the order of the pages in a file.
g
To rearrange pages
1. If the Page Sorter isn’t visible, press Page Sorter
.
2. Press the thumbnail of the page you want to move in the file.
A blue border appears around the thumbnail.
3. Drag the thumbnail to its new position in the Page Sorter.
A blue line indicates the page’s new position.
4. Release the thumbnail.
36
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages
Grouping pages
You can group pages in a file. This enables you to find a particular group quickly in the Page Sorter, and then display its pages. This is useful when there are a lot of pages in a file.
g
To create or edit a group
1. If the Page Sorter isn’t visible, press Page Sorter
.
2. Press the first group’s menu arrow, and then select Edit Page Groups.
All the groups and pages for the current file are displayed. Groups appear as blue bars and pages appear as thumbnails: o
If you created and edited the groups in this file, the pages appear under the blue bars you created and renamed.
o
If you haven’t edited the groups, a default group titled Group 1 appears and includes all of the pages and their thumbnails below its blue bar.
N O T E
Thumbnails below each blue bar include the same menu arrow options as thumbnails in the
Page Sorter. This enables you to press a thumbnail in a group, select its menu arrow, and then delete the page, clear the page, insert a new page, clone the page, rename the page, add a Screen Shade to the page or add the page to the Gallery.
3. Press the Add New Group button in the upper-right corner.
A new group, with a new, blank page, appears.
4. Type a new name for the group.
37
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages
5. Do the following: o
To move a page into a group, press the page’s thumbnail, and then drag it below the group’s blue bar and to the right of the thumbnail you want it to follow.
o
To rearrange the order of pages in a group, press a page’s thumbnail, and then drag it to the right of the thumbnail you want it to follow.
o
To rearrange the order of groups, press a group’s blue bar, and then drag it below the blue bar of the group you want it to follow.
N O T E S
o
You can also change the order of the groups by pressing a blue bar’s menu arrow, and then selecting Move Up or Move Down.
o
SMART Notebook software numbers pages sequentially across a file. If you change the order of groups, SMART Notebook software renumbers the pages in the groups accordingly.
o
To delete a group and keep its pages, move all of its pages to different groups. When a group contains no pages, SMART Notebook software automatically deletes it.
o
To delete a group and all pages in the group, press the blue bar’s menu arrow, and then select Delete Group.
6. Press .
g
To access a group in the Page Sorter
1. If the Page Sorter isn’t visible, press Page Sorter .
2. Press the first group’s menu arrow, and then select the name of the group you want to access.
The Page Sorter displays the thumbnail for the first page in the group you want to access.
38
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages
Renaming pages
When you create a page, SMART Notebook software automatically names this page with the date and time of its creation. You can change this name.
g
To rename a page
1. If the Page Sorter isn’t visible, press Page Sorter
.
2. Double-click the page’s name.
3. Type a new name for the page.
4. Press elsewhere.
Extending pages
If you need more room at the bottom of a page, you can extend the page vertically without affecting the page’s width.
g
To extend a page
1. If you’re displaying the page in Entire Page view, select a different zoom level.
2. Press the Extend Page link at the bottom of the page.
Recording pages
The Page Recording options enable you to record your actions on the current page.
N O T E
SMART Recorder is a different but similar tool. Using SMART Recorder, you can record your actions in programs other than SMART Notebook software. With SMART Recorder, you can record a full screen, specified window or rectangular portion of the screen. If you connect a microphone to your computer, you can also record audio.
g
To record a page
1. If the Properties tab isn’t visible, press Properties
.
2. Press Page Recording.
39
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages
3. Press Start Recording.
The Start Recording button is replaced with the Stop Recording button, the Play button is disabled, and a red circle appears in the upper-left corner of the page.
4. Perform the actions that you want to record on the current page.
5. When you finish performing these actions, press Stop Recording.
The Stop Recording button is replaced with the Start Recording button, the Play button is enabled, and a playback toolbar appears on the page.
g
To play a page recording
1. Display the page.
If the page includes a page recording, a playback toolbar appears on the page.
2. Press Play .
g
To pause the playback
Press Pause .
g
To stop the playback
Press Stop .
g
To rewind the playback
Press Rewind .
g
To remove a page recording
1. Display the page.
If the page includes a page recording, a playback toolbar appears on the page.
2. To remove the recording, press Close on the toolbar.
40
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages
Deleting pages
You can delete a page from the current file using the Delete Page button or the Page Sorter.
T I P
g
To delete a page using the Delete Page button
1. If you haven’t done so already, display the page you want to delete.
2. Select Delete Page .
g
To delete a page using the Page Sorter
1. If the Page Sorter isn’t visible, press Page Sorter .
2. Select the thumbnail of the page you want to delete.
3. Press the thumbnail’s menu arrow, and then select Delete Page.
41
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages
Clearing pages
You can erase digital ink and delete individual objects from a page. You can also clear all objects or all digital ink objects from a page simultaneously.
N O T E
You’re unable to clear locked objects (see Locking objects on page 89) or infinitely cloned objects
(see Cloning objects on page 90). To clear all objects from a page, you must unlock all locked
objects and clear the selection of Infinite Cloner on any infinitely cloned objects.
g
To clear all objects from the page
1. If you haven’t done so already, display the page you want to clear.
2. Select Edit > Clear Page.
N O T E S
o
This option is disabled if there are no objects on the page or if the objects are locked or infinitely cloned.
o
You can also select this option by doing one of the following: o
Right-clicking the page o
Pressing the page’s menu arrow in the Page Sorter o
Pressing the page’s menu arrow while editing page groups (see Grouping pages on page 37)
o
Pressing Clear Page
if it’s included on the toolbar (see Customizing the
o
You can clear all objects from multiple pages at the same time. Select the pages’ thumbnails in the Page Sorter, press the menu arrow, and then select Clear Page.
42
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages g
To clear all digital ink objects from the page
1. If you haven’t done so already, display the page you want to clear.
2. Select Edit > Clear Ink from Page.
N O T E S
o
This option is disabled if there is no digital ink on the page or if the digital ink is locked or infinitely cloned.
o
You can also select this option by doing one of the following: o
Right-clicking the page o
Pressing the page’s menu arrow in the Page Sorter o
Pressing the page’s menu arrow while editing page groups (see Grouping pages on page 37)
o
Pressing Clear Ink
if it’s included on the toolbar (see Customizing the
o
You can clear all digital ink objects from multiple pages at the same time. Select the pages’ thumbnails in the Page Sorter, press the menu arrow, and then select Clear Ink
from Page.
Resetting pages
If you make changes to a page (without saving those changes), you can reset the page to the state it was in before you made the changes.
N O T E
Resetting a page doesn’t reset any Adobe Flash Player compatible files running on the page.
43
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages g
To reset a page
1. If you haven’t done so already, display the page you want to reset.
2. Select Edit > Reset Page.
A dialog box appears, prompting you to confirm the reset.
N O T E S
o
This option is disabled if you haven’t made changes to the page since last saving the file.
o
You can also select this option by doing one of the following: o
Right-clicking the page o
Pressing the page’s menu arrow in the Page Sorter o
Pressing the page’s menu arrow while editing page groups (see Grouping pages on page 37)
o
Pressing Reset Page
if it’s included on the toolbar (see Customizing the
o
You can reset multiple pages at the same time. Select the pages’ thumbnails in the
Page Sorter, press the menu arrow, and then select Reset Page.
3. Click Reset Page.
Displaying student page borders
If your students use SMART Notebook SE (Student Edition) software to answer questions and take assessments, you might find it helpful when you create question pages to display a student page border showing the page area that will be visible on your students’ computer screens.
N O T E
This procedure applies only if you’re using SMART Response software as part of
SMART Classroom Suite™ interactive learning software.
g
To display a student page border
1. Select View > Alignment.
The Alignment dialog box appears.
2. Click the Student Page Border tab.
44
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages
3. Select the Show a border around the area that will be visible in SMART Notebook SE
during an assessment check box.
4. Select Preset value, and then select a screen resolution from the drop-down list.
OR
Select Custom value, and then type the width and height of your students’ screens in the boxes.
5. Click OK.
A colored border appears on the page around the area your students will be able to view on their computer screens.
Working with page backgrounds and themes
By default, page backgrounds are white. However, you can set page backgrounds to other colors, gradients of two colors, patterns or pictures.
Themes enable you to define a custom background for one or more pages in your .notebook file as well as custom fonts and objects.
Applying page backgrounds and themes
You can define the appearance of pages’ backgrounds using the Properties tab or the Gallery.
Applying backgrounds using the Properties tab
You can set a page’s background to a solid color, a gradient of two colors, a pattern or a picture using the Properties tab.
g
To apply a background
1. Select Format > Background.
The Properties tab displays Fill Effects options.
45
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages
2. Select a fill style:
Fill style
None (transparent)
Solid color
Gradient of two colors
Pattern
Picture
Procedure
o
Select No fill.
a. Select Solid fill.
b. Do one of the following: o
Select one of the 40 colors in the palette.
o
Press More, and then select a color in the dialog box.
o
Press the eyedropper , and then select a color on the screen.
a. Select Gradient fill.
b. For each color, do one of the following: o
Select one of the 40 colors in the palette.
o
Press More, and then select a color in the dialog box.
o
Press the eyedropper , and then select a color on the screen.
c. Select an option in the Style drop-down list.
a. Select Pattern fill.
b. Select a pattern.
c. Press Foreground color, select a color in the dialog box, and then press OK.
d. Press Background color, select a color in the dialog box, and then press OK.
a. Select Image fill.
b. Press Browse.
The Insert Image File dialog box appears.
c. Browse to and select the picture you want to use as a background, and then press Open.
N O T E
If you insert a large picture, a dialog box may appear and prompt you to either reduce the picture’s file size or retain the
picture’s file size. For more information, see Reducing file
g
To remove a background
1. Select Format > Background.
The Properties tab displays Fill Effects options.
2. Select No fill.
46
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages
Applying backgrounds and themes using the Gallery
You can set a page, all the pages in a group or all the pages in a file using a background or theme from the Gallery.
g
To apply a background or theme
1. If the Gallery isn’t visible, press Gallery
.
2. Select My Content in the Gallery’s category list to view your own backgrounds and themes
(see Creating themes on the next page).
OR
Select Gallery Essentials to view backgrounds and themes you installed with the software.
3. Select Backgrounds and Themes.
The Gallery displays thumbnails of the available backgrounds and themes.
4. Press the thumbnail of the theme you want to apply.
5. Press the thumbnail’s menu arrow, and then select Insert in Notebook.
The Insert Theme dialog box appears.
6. Select Insert theme on all pages to apply the background or theme to all pages in a file.
OR
Select Insert theme on all pages of current group to apply the background or theme to all pages in the current group.
OR
Select Insert theme on current page only to apply the background or theme to the current page.
7. Press OK.
g
To remove a background or theme
1. Right-click the page.
2. Select Delete Theme.
You remove the background or theme from all the pages to which you applied it.
47
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages
Creating themes
You can use themes to customize pages. You can create a theme and add it to the Gallery so that it’s available in a convenient location. You can then apply this theme to a page, all pages in a group or all pages in a file.
The Gallery also includes some themes.
g
To create a theme
1. Select Format > Themes > Create Theme.
2. Type a name for the theme in the Theme name box.
3. Set the background in the same way that you would for a page (see Applying page
backgrounds and themes on page 45).
4. Add and modify objects on the theme in the same way that you would on a page (see Creating
5. Press Save.
The theme appears in the My Content category of the Gallery.
g
To create a theme based on the current page
1. Select Format > Themes > Create Theme from Page.
2. Type a name for the theme in the Theme name box.
3. Press Save.
The theme appears in the My Content category of the Gallery.
48
Chapter 4:
49
Chapter 4
Creating basic objects
Writing, drawing and erasing digital ink
Writing or drawing digital ink
Writing or drawing fading digital ink
Creating custom Creative pen styles
Creating shapes with the Shapes tool
Creating shapes with the Regular Polygons tool
Creating shapes with the Shape Recognition Pen tool
Creating straight lines and arcs
Converting handwriting to typed text
Inserting mathematical symbols
Checking the spelling of text objects
Creating tables in SMART Notebook software
Pasting tables from other programs
Selecting tables, columns, rows or cells
Resizing tables, columns or rows
Adding or removing columns, rows or cells
Splitting or merging table cells
Adding or removing cell shades
Deleting tables and the contents of tables
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects
Objects are the building blocks of content in your .notebook files. An object is simply an item on a page that you create or import and then work with. Basic types of objects include the following: l
Digital ink (freehand writing and drawing) l
Shapes l
Straight lines l
Arcs l
Text l
Tables
Writing, drawing and erasing digital ink
Digital ink is freehand text or objects that you create using your interactive product’s pens or the
SMART Notebook software Pens tool. Writing or drawing digital ink enables you to quickly add content to your SMART Notebook software files, either when creating the files or when presenting the files to students.
After you create digital ink, you can erase it.
Writing or drawing digital ink
The easiest way to write or draw digital ink is to use your interactive product’s pen or pens.
You can also create freehand objects using the Pens tool. The Pens tool enables you to write or draw digital ink using five pen types:
Pen type
Standard
Purpose and example Notes
Write or draw digital ink in a variety of colors and line styles.
Using the Standard pen type, you can write or draw digital ink that fades after a few seconds (see
Writing or drawing fading digital
Calligraphic
Write or draw digital ink, like you do with the
Standard pen type, but with lines of varying thickness.
The Calligraphic pen type is useful for teaching students handwriting.
The Calligraphic pen type is available only if your computer is connected to a SMART interactive product.
50
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects
Pen type
Crayon
Purpose and example
Write or draw crayon-like digital ink.
Notes
The Crayon pen type is intended for artistic work such as painting, coloring pictures and so on rather than writing.
Highlighter
Highlight text and other objects.
Creative
Add colorful elements to your presentations. You can create custom Creative
pen styles (see Creating custom
Creative pen styles on page 53).
g
To write or draw digital ink
1. Press Pens
.
The Pens tool buttons appear.
51
2. Press Pen Types, and then select a pen type.
N O T E
In addition to the above five pen types, you can select the Magic Pen and Shape Recognition
Pen tools (see Using the Magic Pen on page 136 and Creating shapes with the Shape
Recognition Pen tool on page 58).
3. Select a line type.
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects
4. Optionally, customize the line type using the property selectors.
N O T E
You can also customize the line type using the Properties tab (see Changing objects’
5. Write or draw digital ink on the page.
T I P S
o
Don’t rest your elbow or the palm of your hand on your interactive product’s surface while you write or draw.
o
If you write or draw multiple lines, SMART Notebook software combines the lines into a single object automatically. For example, if you write the letters of a word,
SMART Notebook software combines the individual letters, enabling you to interact with the whole word. If you want to write words on the same line but don’t want them combined, leave a large gap between them, use different pens, or briefly put the pen in the pen tray before writing another word (interactive whiteboards only).
o
If you want to write diagonally, write in a straight line, and then rotate it (see Rotating
o
If you want to write in small letters, write large letters, and then reduce their size (see
o
Writing or drawing fading digital ink
You can create freehand objects that fade after a specified period of time using the Pens tool.
N O T E
You can also create freehand objects that fade after a specified period of time using the Magic Pen
tool (see Using the Magic Pen to create fading objects on page 137).
52
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects g
To write or draw fading digital ink
1. Press Pens .
The Pens tool buttons appear.
2. Press Pen Types, and then select Pen.
3. Select a line type.
4. If the Properties tab isn’t visible, press Properties
.
5. Press Fill Effects.
6. Select the Enable ink to fade after you write it check box, and then select the number of seconds between the time you write or draw the digital ink and the time it fades in the Fade
time drop-down list.
7. Write or draw digital ink on the page.
Creating custom Creative pen styles
currently selected page.
53
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects g
To create a custom Creative pen using a picture
1. Press Pens .
The Pens tool buttons appear.
2. Press Pen Types, and then select Creative Pen.
3. Select a line type.
4. If the Properties tab isn’t visible, press Properties
.
5. Press Line Style.
6. Select Use a custom stamp image.
7. Click Browse.
The Insert Image File dialog box appears.
8. Browse to and select the picture you want to use for the Creative pen style.
9. Press Open.
10. Write or draw digital ink on the page.
T I P
o
To resume using the default line type, select Use the default pattern.
o
If you want to save your custom Creative pen style for future use, press Save Tool
Properties. You can later reset the Creative pen style (see Customizing the toolbar on page 155).
54
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects g
To create a custom Creative pen using an object
1. Press Pens .
The Pens tool buttons appear.
2. Press Pen Types, and then select Creative Pen.
3. If the Properties tab isn’t visible, press Properties .
4. Press Line Style.
5. Select Use a custom stamp image.
6. Press Select object, and then select an object on the page.
7. Write or draw digital ink on the page.
T I P
o
To resume using the default line type, select Use the default pattern.
o
If you want to save your custom Creative pen style for future use, press Save Tool
Properties. You can later reset the Creative pen style (see Customizing the toolbar on page 155).
55
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects
Erasing digital ink
You can erase digital ink from your interactive product’s screen using the eraser or the erasing gesture. If you’re erasing digital ink from a .notebook file page, you can also erase objects using the
Eraser tool.
N O T E
Although you can erase digital ink, you’re unable to erase other types of objects, including shapes,
lines, text and pictures. To remove these types of objects, you must delete them (see Deleting
g
To erase digital ink
1. Press Eraser
, and then select an eraser type.
2. Erase the digital ink.
Creating shapes and lines
In addition to creating freehand shapes and lines by drawing digital ink, you can create shapes and lines using the tools in SMART Notebook software.
N O T E
To remove a shape or line from a page, you must delete it (see Deleting objects on page 102). The
Eraser tool doesn’t remove shapes.
Creating shapes with the Shapes tool
You can use the Shapes tool to create a variety of shapes, including perfect circles, perfect squares, perfect triangles, other geometric shapes, hearts, check marks and Xs.
You can add a shape to your page, and then edit its properties. Alternatively, you can customize a shape’s outline color, fill color and line thickness, and then add it to your page.
56
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects g
To create a shape
1. Press Shapes .
The Shapes tool buttons appear.
2. Select a shape on the toolbar.
OR
Press and then select a shape.
3. Optionally, customize the shape using the property selectors.
N O T E
4. Create a shape by pressing where you want to place the shape and dragging until the shape is the size you want.
T I P
You can create perfect circles, squares, triangles and other shapes by holding down SHIFT as you draw the shape.
Creating shapes with the Regular Polygons tool
In addition to creating shapes using the Shapes tool, you can create regular polygons with 3 to 15 sides using the Regular Polygons tool.
57
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects g
To create a shape with the Regular Polygons tool
1. Press Regular Polygons .
The Regular Polygons tool buttons appear.
2. Select a shape on the toolbar.
OR
Press and then select a shape.
N O T E
The number in the shape indicates its number of sides.
3. Optionally, customize the shape using the property selectors.
N O T E
4. Create a shape by pressing where you want to place the shape and dragging until the shape is the size you want.
Creating shapes with the Shape Recognition Pen tool
You can use the Shape Recognition Pen tool to draw circles, ovals, squares, rectangles, triangles and arcs.
N O T E
You can also create shapes using the Shapes tool (see Creating shapes with the Shapes tool on
58
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects g
To draw a shape
1. Press Pens .
The Pens tool buttons appear.
2. Press Pen Types, and then select Shape Recognition Pen.
3. Draw a shape on the interactive screen.
If SMART Notebook software recognizes your drawing as a circle, oval, square, rectangle, triangle or arc, it adds this shape to the page.
Creating straight lines and arcs
You can use the Lines tool to draw straight lines and arcs.
You can add a line to your page, and then edit its properties. Alternatively, you can customize the line, and then add it to your page.
g
To create a straight line or arc
1. Press Lines
.
The Lines tool buttons appear.
59
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects
2. Select a line or arc type.
3. Optionally, customize the line or arc type using the property selectors.
N O T E
You can also customize the line or arc type using the Properties tab (see Changing objects’
4. Create a line by pressing where you want the line to start and dragging to where you want the line to end.
Creating text
You can create text in SMART Notebook software by doing any of the following: l
Typing the text using a keyboard connected to your computer l
Typing the text using SMART Keyboard l
Writing the text (see Writing, drawing and erasing digital ink on page 50) and then converting it
to typed text using the software’s handwriting recognition feature
After creating text, you can edit it, check its spelling and change its properties, including font style, size and color.
Typing text
You can type new text or edit existing text.
g
To type new text
1. If a keyboard isn’t accessible, press the SMART Board icon in the notification area, and then select Keyboard.
2. Press Text
, and then select an available font style.
3. Optionally, customize the font style (see Formatting text on page 62).
4. Press where you want the text to start.
60
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects
5. Type your text.
6. When you’re done, press outside the text object.
g
To edit existing text
1. Double-click the text object.
2. Edit the text.
3. When you’re done, press outside the text object.
Converting handwriting to typed text
You can write on your interactive product’s screen using the Standard or Calligraphic pen types and convert your writing to typed text. SMART Notebook software can convert handwriting in multiple languages.
g
To convert handwriting to typed text
1. Press Pens
.
The Pens tool buttons appear.
61
2. Press Pen Types, and then select Pen or Calligraphic Pen.
3. Write your text.
T I P
Write tidy, printed characters on a horizontal line. Although SMART Notebook software can convert slanted or cursive writing, it doesn’t always do so consistently.
4. Select the text object.
The SMART Notebook software handwriting recognition feature compares your written word with its dictionary and identifies words that most resemble what you’ve written.
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects
5. Press the text object’s menu arrow.
A menu appears and displays the list of matching words, each preceded by Recognize.
N O T E S
o
If you want SMART Notebook software to identify words in a different language, select
Recognize Languages, and then select another language in the list.
SMART Notebook software updates the list of matching words to include words in the selected language.
o
If you change the handwriting recognition language, you don’t change the default language of the SMART Notebook software user interface or your operating system.
6. Select a word in the list of matching words.
The selected word appears on the page.
Formatting text
If you want to format all text in a text object, select the text object.
OR
If you want to format specific text in a text object, double-click the text object, and then select the text.
You can format text using the buttons in the toolbar or the options in the Properties tab or the Format menu.
N O T E
If the Properties tab isn’t visible, press Properties , and then press Text Style.
The following table presents the formatting changes that you can make using the above tools:
Change Toolbar Properties tab
Format menu
Character, paragraph or object level
Change the font face
Change the font size
T I P
To select a font size that doesn’t appear in the dropdown list (including font sizes with decimal values such as 20.5), type the font size in the Font Size box on the toolbar.
62
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects
Change
Change the color
Bold, italicize or underline text
Strike out text
Superscript or subscript text
Paragraph or object level
Change justification (left, right or center)
Change indentation
Create a bulleted or numbered list
Change line spacing
T I P
To add spacing between paragraphs, select the Add
space after paragraphs check box in the
Properties tab or select Format > Paragraph >
Line Spacing > Add space after paragraphs.
Change language direction (left-to-right or right-to-left)
N O T E
Select Format > Paragraph > Direction > Left to
Right for languages that read left to right (for example, English and French).
OR
Select Format > Paragraph > Direction > Right
to Left for languages that read right to left (for example, Arabic and Hebrew).
Object level
Change text direction (horizontal or vertical)
Change transparency
Toolbar Properties tab
*
*
*
*
*
Format menu
* Press More Text Options to display the buttons for these formatting changes.
Resizing text objects
object changes size.
63
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects
If you want to resize the text object without changing the size of the text in the object, complete the following procedure.
g
To resize a text object
1. Double-click the text object.
2. Press one of the two white circles on either side of text object, and then drag the circle to increase or reduce the text object’s size.
Inserting mathematical symbols
You can insert a variety of mathematical and scientific symbols into a page.
N O T E
The mathematical symbols are characters only. They don’t perform mathematical operations.
g
To insert a mathematical symbol
1. Type text on a page.
2. Press More Text Options and then select Insert Symbol .
The Insert Symbols dialog box appears.
3. Press a category.
A list of symbols appears.
4. Press the symbol you want to add to the text.
5. Press Insert.
The symbol appears in the text object.
Checking the spelling of text objects
As you type text, SMART Notebook software checks the spelling. If you spell a word incorrectly,
SMART Notebook software underlines the word red. You can then right-click the word and select the correct spelling from a list of options.
If you prefer, you can disable this feature and check the spelling using the Spelling Check dialog box.
g
To disable automatic spell checking
1. Press Text .
2. Press More Text Options
, and then select Check Spelling .
64
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects g
To manually check spelling of a text object
1. Select the text object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow, and then select Check Spelling.
If SMART Notebook software finds a misspelled word, the Spelling Check dialog box appears.
This dialog box displays the misspelled word and suggests alternatives.
3. For each misspelled word, do one of the following: o
To keep the word’s current spelling for this instance, press Ignore Once.
o
To keep the word’s current spelling for all instances in the file, press Ignore All.
o
To keep the word’s current spelling for all instances in the file and add the spelling to the dictionary, press Add to Dictionary.
o
To change the word’s spelling for this instance, select the correct word in the
Suggestions list, and then press Change.
o
To change the word’s spelling for all instances in the file, select the correct word in the
Suggestions list, and then press Change All.
N O T E
If you pressed a button by mistake, press Undo to undo the resulting change.
After you complete this step for each misspelled word, a dialog box appears asking whether you want to check the spelling in the rest of the file.
4. Press Yes to check the remainder of the file.
OR
Press No to close the Spelling Check dialog box without checking the rest of the file.
Cutting or copying text
You can cut, copy and paste text objects like any other objects (see Cutting, copying and pasting
objects on page 90). You can also cut, copy and paste selected text in text objects.
g
To cut and paste text to another location on the same page
1. Double-click the text object.
2. Select the text you want to cut.
3. Drag the selected text to another location on the same page.
65
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects g
To copy and paste text to another page
1. If the Page Sorter tab isn’t visible, press Page Sorter .
2. Double-click the text object.
3. Select the text you want to copy.
4. Drag the selected text to the other page’s icon in the Page Sorter tab.
Creating tables
You can create tables in SMART Notebook software or paste them from other programs. After you create a table, you can insert objects into the table’s cells.
If you want to customize a table, you can select a table, column, row, cell or selection of cells, and then do any of the following: l
Move the table l
Change line type, fill and text properties l
Resize the table, a column or a row l
Insert or remove columns, rows or cells l
Split or merge cells l
Add or remove a cell shade l
Delete the table
Creating tables in SMART Notebook software
g
To insert a table using the Table button
1. Press Table .
A grid appears.
66
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects
2. Move the pointer over the grid to select the number of columns and rows that you want in the table.
N O T E
The cells of the grid correspond to the cells of your table.
T I P
The grid displays eight rows and eight columns by default. You can add rows by moving the pointer past the bottom row. Similarly, you can add columns by moving the pointer past the right row.
If you’re using a mouse, click and hold the left mouse button while moving the pointer.
3. Press the screen or click your mouse.
The table appears on the page.
g
To insert a table using the Insert Table dialog box
1. Select Insert > Table.
The Insert Table dialog box appears.
2. Type the number of rows and columns in the boxes.
3. Optionally, select Make cells square to make the table cells square.
4. Optionally, select Remember dimensions for new tables to use the current table dimensions for all future tables that you create in SMART Notebook software.
5. Press OK.
The table appears on the page.
g
To draw a table
1. Press Pens
.
The Pens tool buttons appear.
67
2. Press Pen Types, and then select Pen or Calligraphic Pen.
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects
3. Select a line type.
4. Draw a table on the screen.
T I P
Make the lines of the table as straight as possible and connect the corners.
5. Press Select
.
6. Select your drawing.
7. Press the menu arrow, and then select Recognize Table.
If SMART Notebook software recognizes your drawing as a table, it removes your drawing and adds a table to the page.
Pasting tables from other programs
You can cut or copy a table from Word or PowerPoint, and then paste it into a .notebook file. The table’s formatting and layout can vary when the table appears in the .notebook file.
If you want to cut or copy more than one table, you must cut or copy each table individually.
N O T E
You can also cut or copy a table from a .notebook file, and then paste it into Word or PowerPoint.
However, the table’s formatting and layout can vary when the table appears in Word or PowerPoint.
If you’re pasting a table into PowerPoint which has cells that contain non-text objects, the non-text objects appear outside of the table in PowerPoint.
Adding objects to tables
After you insert a table on a page, you can insert objects into the table’s cells.
N O T E
You can add only one object to each cell. If you want to add multiple objects to a cell, do one of the following: l
Group the objects before adding them to the table (see Grouping objects on page 96).
l
Select all of the objects at once, and then add them to the table as described in the following procedure. SMART Notebook software automatically groups the objects in the table cell.
68
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects g
To add an object to a table
1. Select the object.
2. Drag the object to the table cell.
N O T E
You’re unable to move an object if it’s locked in place (see Locking objects on page 89).
The object appears in the table cell.
N O T E
If you add a text object to a table, the cell resizes to fit to the text object. If you add other object types to the table, the object resizes to fit the cell.
g
To remove an object from a table
1. Select the object.
2. Drag the object out of the table.
Selecting tables, columns, rows or cells
You can select a table, column, row, cell or selection of cells. After you select a table or part of a table, you can do the following: l
Move the table l
Change the table’s or cells’ properties l
Resize the table, columns or rows l
Add or remove columns, rows or cells l
Split or merge cells l
Add or remove cell shades l
Delete the table
69
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects g
To select a table
1. Press Select .
2. Press outside, but near to, a corner of the table, and then drag to the opposite corner.
N O T E
Don’t start dragging from inside the table. If you do, you select a table cell instead of the table.
g
To select a column
1. Press Select .
2. Press inside the column’s top cell, and then drag to the bottom cell.
g
To select a row
1. Press Select
.
2. Press inside the row’s leftmost cell, and then drag to the rightmost cell.
g
To select a cell
1. Press Select .
2. Press inside the cell.
g
To select multiple cells
1. Press Select
.
2. Press inside the top and leftmost cell, and then drag to the bottom and rightmost cell.
N O T E
If you select multiple cells and drag them to a different position on the page, you create a new table consisting of the selected cells and their contents.
70
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects
Moving tables
After you create a table, you can move it on the page.
g
To move a table
Select the table, and then drag it to a different position on the page.
OR
Select all of the table’s cells, and then drag the cells to a different position on the page.
Changing a table’s properties
You can use the Properties tab to change the table’s properties, including its transparency, cell color and line color.
g
To change a table’s fill
1. Select a table, column, row, cell or selection of cells.
2. Press the table’s, column’s, row’s or cell’s menu arrow, and then select Properties.
3. Press Fill Effects.
71
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects
4. Select a fill style:
Fill style
None (transparent)
Solid color
Gradient of two colors
Pattern
Picture
Procedure
o
Select No fill.
a. Select Solid fill.
b. Do one of the following: o
Select one of the 40 colors in the palette.
o
Press More, and then select a color in the dialog box.
o
Press the eyedropper , and then select a color on the screen.
a. Select Gradient fill.
b. For each color, do one of the following: o
Select one of the 40 colors in the palette.
o
Press More, and then select a color in the dialog box.
o
Press the eyedropper , and then select a color on the screen.
c. Select an option in the Style drop-down list.
a. Select Pattern fill.
b. Select a pattern.
c. Press Foreground color, select a color in the dialog box, and then press OK.
d. Press Background color, select a color in the dialog box, and then press OK.
a. Select Image fill.
b. Press Browse.
c. Browse to and select the picture you want to use as a background, and then press Open.
N O T E
If you insert a large picture, a dialog box may appear and prompt you to either reduce the picture’s file size or retain the
picture’s file size. For more information, see Reducing file
d. Select Keep image size to keep the picture’s size, regardless of whether the picture is larger or smaller than the object.
OR
Select Scale image to fit to resize the picture to fit the object.
5. Optionally, drag the Object transparency slider to the right to make the table transparent.
72
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects g
To change a table’s line style
1. Select a table.
N O T E
You can only change the line style of an entire table, not individual cells, columns or rows.
2. Press the table’s, column’s, row’s or cell’s menu arrow, and then select Properties.
3. Press Line Style.
4. Change the table’s line style.
g
To change a table’s text style
1. Select a table, column, row, cell or selection of cells.
2. Press the table’s, column’s, row’s or cell’s menu arrow, and then select Properties.
3. Press Text Style.
4. Change the table’s text style (see Formatting text on page 62).
Resizing tables, columns or rows
If you want to customize a table, you can resize the table, a column or a row.
g
To resize a table
1. Select the table.
2. Press the table’s resize handle (the gray circle), and then drag it to increase or reduce the size of the table.
g
To resize a column
1. Press Select
.
2. Press the vertical border to the right of the column.
A resize pointer appears.
3. Drag the vertical border to resize the column.
73
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects g
To resize a row
1. Press Select .
2. Press the horizontal border below the row.
A resize pointer appears.
3. Drag the horizontal border to resize the row.
g
To resize all cells in a table
1. Select the table.
2. Press the table’s menu arrow, and then select Adjust size.
3. Select one of the following options: o
Make same height to make all cells in the table the same height.
o
Make same width to make all cells in the table the same width.
o
Make same size to make all cells in the table the same height and width.
o
Make cells square to make all cells in the table square.
Adding or removing columns, rows or cells
If you want to customize a table, you can add columns or rows.
g
To add a column
1. Select a column.
2. Press the column’s menu arrow, and then select Insert Column.
A new column appears to the right of the current column.
g
To remove a column
1. Select the column.
2. Press the column’s menu arrow, and then select Delete Column.
g
To add a row
1. Select a row.
2. Press the row’s menu arrow, and then select Insert Row.
A new row appears below the current row.
74
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects g
To remove a row
1. Select the row.
2. Press the row’s menu arrow, and then select Delete Row.
g
To remove a cell
1. Select the cell.
2. Press the cell’s menu arrow, and then select Delete Cells.
N O T E
o
Removing a cell deletes the contents of the cell.
o
You’re unable to remove a cell if it provides the only connection between two halves of a table.
Splitting or merging table cells
You can add tables to your page and insert objects into the table’s cells. If you want to customize a table, you can split or merge cells.
g
To split a cell
1. Select the cell.
2. Press the cell’s menu arrow, and then select Split.
3. Select an option to split the cell into multiple rows and/or columns.
N O T E
If you split a cell that contains content, the content appears in the upper-left cell after the split.
75
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects g
To merge cells
1. Select the cells.
2. Press the cells’ menu arrow, and then select Merge Cells.
N O T E
If you merge cells that contain content, the merged cell contains the contents of the top-left cell. If the top-left cell is empty, the merged cell contains the contents of the next available non-empty cell, moving from left to right, top to bottom.
Adding or removing cell shades
You can add a cell shade to a table cell. This enables you to reveal the information in the cells during a presentation.
N O T E S
l
You must remove the cell shade if you want to change the cell’s properties; insert columns or rows; remove columns, rows or cells; or split or merge cells.
l
You can also add a screen shade to cover an entire page (see Using the Screen Shade on page 135).
g
To add a cell shade
1. Select the cell.
2. Press the cell’s menu arrow, and then select Add Cell Shade.
g
To show and hide the contents of a cell
1. Press the cell shade.
The cell shade disappears, showing the contents of the cell.
2. Press in the top-left corner of the cell.
The cell shade appears, hiding the contents of the cell.
g
To remove a cell shade
1. Select the cell.
2. Press the cell’s menu arrow, and then select Remove Cell Shade.
76
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects
Deleting tables and the contents of tables
You can delete the contents of a table or the table itself.
N O T E
g
To delete the contents of a table
1. Select the cells containing the content you want to delete.
2. Press Delete
.
g
To delete a table
1. Select the table.
2. Press the table’s menu arrow, and then select Delete.
77
Chapter 5:
79
Chapter 5
Working with objects
Moving objects to another page
Cutting, copying and pasting objects
Grouping objects automatically
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
After creating an object, you can select it and work with it as described in this chapter.
N O T E
The tasks described in this chapter are for all objects, not just basic objects.
Selecting objects
Before you can work with an object, you must select it. You can select an individual object, multiple objects or all objects on a page. When you select an object, a selection rectangle appears around it.
The green circle above the object is a rotation handle (see Rotating objects on page 94).
The downward arrow in the object’s upper-right corner is a menu arrow. Press the menu arrow to display a menu of commands.
N O T E
Pressing an object’s menu arrow gives you access to the same menu as right-clicking the object.
80
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects g
To select an object
1. Press Select .
2. Press the object you want to select.
A selection rectangle appears around the object.
N O T E
If you press an object and a lock symbol appears instead of the menu arrow, the object is locked. Depending on the type of lock, you might have to unlock the object before you can
manipulate it (see Locking objects on page 89).
g
To select multiple objects
1. Press Select .
2. Press the interactive screen and drag until a rectangle surrounds the objects you want to select.
OR
Hold down CTRL, and then press the objects you want to select.
A selection rectangle appears around the selected objects.
N O T E
If you draw a rectangle around multiple objects and some of the objects are locked (see
Locking objects on page 89), you select only the unlocked objects.
g
To select all objects on a page
Select Edit > Select All.
A selection rectangle appears around all objects on the page.
N O T E
If some of the objects are locked (see Locking objects on page 89), you select only the unlocked
objects.
g
To select all locked objects on the page
Select Edit > Select All Locked Notes.
A selection rectangle appears around all locked objects on the page.
81
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
Changing objects’ properties
You can change an object’s properties. The properties you can change depend on the object you select. You can also select several objects and change their properties at the same time.
Changing the fill
You can change an object’s fill by selecting the object and then setting the fill in the Properties tab or by clicking Fill , setting the fill, and then selecting the object.
g
To change an object’s fill by first selecting the object
1. Select the object.
2. If the Properties tab isn’t visible, press Properties .
82
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
3. Press Fill Effects.
4. Select a fill style:
Fill style
None (transparent)
Solid color
Gradient of two colors
Pattern
Picture
Procedure
o
Select No fill.
a. Select Solid fill.
b. Do one of the following: o
Select one of the 40 colors in the palette.
o
Press More, and then select a color in the dialog box.
o
Press the eyedropper , and then select a color on the screen.
a. Select Gradient fill.
b. For each color, do one of the following: o
Select one of the 40 colors in the palette.
o
Press More, and then select a color in the dialog box.
o
Press the eyedropper , and then select a color on the screen.
c. Select an option in the Style drop-down list.
a. Select Pattern fill.
b. Select a pattern.
c. Press Foreground color, select a color in the dialog box, and then press OK.
d. Press Background color, select a color in the dialog box, and then press OK.
a. Select Image fill.
b. Press Browse.
c. Browse to and select the picture you want to use as a background, and then press Open.
N O T E
If you insert a large picture, a dialog box may appear and prompt you to either reduce the picture’s file size or retain the
picture’s file size. For more information, see Reducing file
d. Select Keep image size to keep the picture’s size, regardless of whether the picture is larger or smaller than the object.
OR
Select Scale image to fit to resize the picture to fit the object.
83
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
5. Optionally, drag the Object transparency slider to the right to make the object transparent.
T I P
You can also change an object’s properties using the property selectors on the toolbar.
g
To change an object’s fill by first pressing the Fill button
1. Press Fill
, and then select a color.
2. Select the object.
3. Repeat step 2 for each object you want to apply the fill to.
Filling digital ink drawings
In addition to filling shapes, regular polygons and irregular polygons, you can fill areas enclosed by digital ink using the Fill button.
84
N O T E S
l
To fill an area, you must enclose it with a single digital ink path.
l
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects l
When you fill an enclosed area, the fill becomes a separate object, which you can move away from the original enclosed area. You can fill the enclosed area and move the resulting fill object multiple times.
Changing other properties
In addition to fill, you can change objects’ line style and text style.
g
To change an object’s line style
1. Select the object.
2. If the Properties tab isn’t visible, press Properties
.
3. Press Line Style.
4. Change the object’s line style.
g
To change an object’s text style
1. Select the object.
2. If the Properties tab isn’t visible, press Properties .
3. Press Text Style.
4. Change the object’s text style (see Formatting text on page 62).
Saving tool settings
When you select a tool in the toolbar, you can change its default settings using the Properties tab and then save your changes by clicking Save Tool Properties.
When you save your changes to a tool’s default settings, the tool’s button displays those changes:
To restore the default settings, see Customizing the toolbar on page 155.
Positioning objects
You can change the position of an object by moving it to another area of the existing page or to another page. You can also align objects and change the order of stacked objects.
85
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
Moving objects
You can move objects to another position on the page. You can also flick objects.
N O T E
You’re unable to move an object if it’s locked in place (see Locking objects on page 89).
T I P
You can manipulate multiple objects by selecting them, and then creating a group (see Grouping
g
To move an object or objects
1. Select the object or objects.
2. Drag the object or objects to a new position on the page.
T I P
You can move an object in small increments by pressing the arrow keys on your keyboard.
g
To move an Adobe Flash Player compatible file
1. Press the colored bar at the top of the Adobe Flash Player compatible file.
2. Drag the file to its new position.
g
To flick an object
1. Select the object.
2. Quickly flick your finger in any direction.
86
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
Moving objects to another page
You can move objects to another page in a file.
g
To move an object or objects to another page
1. If the Page Sorter isn’t visible, press Page Sorter
.
2. If you don’t see the page that you want to move the object to, scroll in the Page Sorter until you see the page’s thumbnail.
3. Select the object or objects you want to move.
4. Drag the object or objects into the Page Sorter above the thumbnail of the page you want to move the objects to.
g
To move an Adobe Flash Player compatible file to another page
1. If the Page Sorter isn’t visible, press Page Sorter .
2. If you don’t see the page that you want to move the object to, scroll in the Page Sorter until you see the page’s thumbnail.
3. Press the colored bar at the top of the Adobe Flash Player compatible file.
4. Drag the file into the Page Sorter above the thumbnail of the page you want to move the object to.
Aligning objects
You can move objects to another location on a page (see Moving objects on the previous page). If
you want, you can display guidelines on a page to assist you in aligning objects with other objects, as well as the page’s vertical and horizontal centers. You can also set objects to align automatically with these guidelines when you move the objects on a page.
g
To display guidelines
1. Select View > Alignment.
The Alignment dialog box appears.
87
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
2. Select check boxes to specify which guidelines you want to display:
Check box
Show guides for active objects
Show vertical page center guide
Show horizontal page center guide
Snap objects to guides
Select this check box to:
Display a guideline when you move an object into alignment with another object.
Display a guideline when you move an object into alignment with the page’s vertical center.
Display a guideline when you move an object into alignment with the page’s horizontal center.
Automatically align objects to guidelines when you move the objects on a page.
3. If you want to change the color of the guidelines, press the colored bar to the left of Guide
Color, and then select a color.
4. Press OK.
Rearranging stacked objects
If objects overlap on a page, you can rearrange the order of the stack (that is, you can control which objects appear in front of others).
g
To move an object to the front of the stack
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow, and then select Order > Bring to Front.
g
To move an object to the back of the stack
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow, and then select Order > Send to Back.
g
To move an object one place forward in the stack
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow, and then select Order > Bring Forward.
g
To move an object one place backward in the stack
1. Select the object.
2. Select the object’s menu arrow, and then select Order > Send Backward.
88
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
Locking objects
You can lock an object to prevent its modification, movement or rotation. Alternatively, you can lock an object but allow its movement or its movement and rotation.
You can remove this lock at any time.
g
To lock an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow, and then select Locking > Lock in Place.
You’re unable to move, rotate or modify the object until you unlock it.
N O T E
If you press a locked object, a lock icon appears instead of a menu arrow.
g
To lock an object but allow its movement
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow, and then select Locking > Allow Move.
You can move the object but you’re unable to rotate or modify it until you unlock it.
N O T E
If you press a locked object, a lock icon appears instead of a menu arrow.
g
To lock an object but allow its movement and rotation
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow, and then select Locking > Allow Move and Rotate.
You can move and rotate the object but you’re unable to modify it until you unlock it.
N O T E
If you press a locked object, a lock icon appears instead of a menu arrow.
g
To unlock an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s lock icon
, and then select Unlock.
89
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
Cutting, copying and pasting objects
You can cut, copy and paste objects, including text, pictures, straight lines, arcs and shapes in a
.notebook file.
T I P S
l
You can paste text from other programs into SMART Notebook software and cut text from
SMART Notebook software and paste it into other programs (see Cutting, copying and
pasting content from other programs on page 110 and Cutting or copying text on page 65).
l
You can create an exact copy of an object by cloning it (see Cloning objects below).
g
To cut and paste an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow, and then select Cut.
3. If you want to paste the object onto a different page, display that page.
4. Press Paste
.
g
To copy and paste an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow, and then select Copy.
3. If you want to paste the item onto a different page, display that page.
4. Press Paste .
Cloning objects
You can create a duplicate of an object by using the Clone command, or you can create multiple copies of an object using the Infinite Cloner command.
N O T E
You can also copy and paste objects, including text, images, straight lines, arcs and shapes (see
Cutting, copying and pasting objects above).
90
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects g
To clone an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow, and then select Clone.
A duplicate object appears on the page.
g
To clone an object using the Infinite Cloner
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow, and then select Infinite Cloner.
3. Select the object again.
An infinity symbol appears instead of the object’s menu arrow.
4. Drag the object to another position on the page.
5. Repeat step 4 as many times as you want.
6. When you finish cloning the object, select the original object.
7. Press the infinity symbol, and then clear the selection of Infinite Cloner.
Resizing objects
You can resize objects on a page by using the resize handle or the scaling gesture (if your interactive product supports multitouch gestures).
N O T E
You’re unable to resize an object if it’s locked in place (see Locking objects on page 89).
91
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
Using the resize handle
g
To resize an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s resize handle (the gray circle), and then drag it to increase or reduce the object’s size.
N O T E
To keep the shape’s original height-to-width ratio, hold down SHIFT while you drag the resize handle.
g
To resize multiple objects
1. Group the objects (see Grouping objects on page 96), and then select the group.
A selection rectangle appears around the group.
2. Press the resize handle in the lower-right corner of the selection rectangle.
3. Drag the resize handle to increase or reduce the size of the objects.
Using the scaling gesture
g
To resize an object from its center
1. Select the object.
2. Using one finger on each hand, press the screen at opposite ends of the object.
92
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
3. Drag your fingers in opposite directions to increase the object’s size.
OR
Drag your fingers toward each other to decrease the object’s size.
g
To resize an object from its corner or side
1. Select the object.
2. Using one finger on each hand, press the screen at the corner or side you want to resize the object from.
3. Drag your fingers in opposite directions to increase the object’s size.
OR
Drag your fingers toward each other to decrease the object’s size.
g
To resize multiple objects
1. Select the objects.
2. Using one finger on each hand, press the screen at opposite ends of one of the objects.
93
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
3. Drag your fingers in opposite directions to increase the objects’ size.
OR
Drag your fingers toward each other to decrease the objects’ size.
N O T E
The objects resize from their centers regardless of where you press the screen.
Rotating objects
You can rotate objects on a page by using the rotation handle or the rotating gesture (if your interactive product supports multitouch gestures).
N O T E S
l
You’re unable to rotate an object if it’s locked in place (see Locking objects on page 89).
l
You’re unable to rotate tables.
Using the rotation handle
g
To rotate an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s rotation handle (the green circle), and then drag it in the direction you want to rotate the object.
g
To rotate multiple objects
1. Select the objects.
A selection rectangle appears around each object.
2. Press the rotation handle (the green circle) on any one of the selected objects, and then drag it in the direction you want to rotate the object. When you rotate one object, all other selected objects rotate automatically.
94
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
Using the rotating gesture
g
To rotate an object around its center
1. Select the object.
2. Using one finger on each hand, press the screen at opposite ends of the object.
3. Move your fingers in a circle around the center of the object to rotate it.
g
To rotate an object around a corner
1. Select the object.
2. Using one finger on each hand, press the screen in the corner you want to rotate the object around.
3. Move your fingers in a circle around the corner to rotate the object.
g
To rotate multiple objects
1. Select the objects.
2. Using one finger on each hand, press the screen at opposite ends of one of the objects.
3. Move your fingers in a circle.
N O T E
The objects rotate around their centers regardless of where you press the screen.
95
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
Flipping objects
You can flip an object on a page.
N O T E
You’re unable to flip an object if it’s locked (see Locking objects on page 89).
g
To flip an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow, and then select Flip > Up/Down or Flip > Left/Right.
g
To flip multiple objects
1. Select the objects.
2. Press the menu arrow on any one of the selected objects, and then select Flip > Up/Down or
Flip > Left/Right.
Grouping objects
You can create a group of objects, which lets you interact with all grouped items at the same time.
After you create a group, you can select, move, rotate or resize the group as if it were an individual object. However, if you want to interact with an individual object in a group, you must ungroup the objects first.
Grouping objects manually
You can group and ungroup objects manually using the menu or the group gesture.
Using the menu
g
To group objects
1. Select the objects.
2. Press the menu arrow of any one of the selected objects, and then select Grouping > Group.
96
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects g
To ungroup objects
1. Select the group.
2. Press the group’s menu arrow, and then select Grouping > Ungroup.
Using the group gesture
N O T E S
l
You’re unable to use the group gesture with a mouse.
l
The group gesture works only when you initially contact your interactive product’s surface.
g
To group objects
Quickly shake your finger over the objects three times.
g
To ungroup objects
Quickly shake your finger over the group three times.
Grouping objects automatically
If you write or draw multiple lines, SMART Notebook software combines the lines into a single object automatically. For example, if you write the letters of a word, SMART Notebook software combines the individual letters, enabling you to interact with the whole word. If you want to write words on the
97
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects same line but don’t want them combined, leave a large gap between them, use different pens, or briefly put the pen in the pen tray before writing another word (interactive whiteboards only).
If SMART Notebook software combined lines that you want to manipulate individually, ungroup the lines as described above.
Adding links to objects
You can link any object on a page to a web page, another page in the file, a file on your computer or an attachment. An attachment is a copy of a file, a shortcut to a file or a link to a web page that you add to the Attachments tab.
N O T E
You can display animated link indicators around all links on a page (see Displaying links on page
g
To add a link to a web page
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow, and then select Link.
The Insert Link dialog box appears.
3. Press Web Page, and then type the web address in the Address box.
4. If you want to open the link by pressing an icon, select Corner icon.
OR
If you want to open the link by pressing anywhere in the object, select Object.
5. Press OK.
If you selected Corner icon, the icon appears in the lower-left corner of the object.
g
To add a link to another page in the file
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow, and then select Link.
The Insert Link dialog box appears.
3. Press Page in this File, and then select an option in the Select a page area.
98
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
4. If you want to open the link by pressing an icon, select Corner icon.
OR
If you want to open the link by pressing anywhere in the object, select Object.
5. Press OK.
If you selected Corner icon, the icon appears in the lower-left corner of the object.
g
To add a link to a file on your computer
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow, and then select Link.
The Insert Link dialog box appears.
3. Press File on this Computer, and then type the file’s location and name in the File box.
4. If you want to attach a copy of the file, select Copy of file.
OR
If you want to insert a shortcut to the file, select Shortcut to file.
5. If you want to open the link by pressing an icon, select Corner icon.
OR
If you want to open the link by pressing anywhere in the object, select Object.
6. Press OK.
If you selected Corner icon, the icon appears in the lower-left corner of the object.
g
To add a link to an attachment
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow, and then select Link.
The Insert Link dialog box appears.
3. Press Current Attachments, and then select the attachment in the list.
4. If you want to open the link by pressing an icon, select Corner icon.
OR
If you want to open the link by pressing anywhere in the object, select Object.
5. Press OK.
If you selected Corner icon, the icon appears in the lower-left corner of the object.
99
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects g
To remove a link
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow, and then select Link.
The Insert Link dialog box appears.
3. Press Remove Link.
Adding sounds to objects
You can add a sound to any object (except Adobe Flash Player compatible files and widgets) by attaching a sound file or recording a sound using a computer microphone. You can play the sound during the lesson by pressing an icon in the corner of the object or the object itself.
N O T E
SMART Notebook software supports the MP3 audio format. If you want SMART Notebook
additional formats on page 109).
g
To add a sound file to an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow, and then select Sound.
The Insert Sound dialog box appears.
3. Press Browse.
The Insert File dialog box appears.
4. Browse to and select the sound file, and then press Open.
5. Select Corner Icon if you want to play the sound file when you press an icon in the object’s lower-left corner.
OR
Select Object if you want to play the sound file when you press anywhere on the object.
6. Press Attach Sound.
100
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects g
To add a recorded sound to an object
1. Connect a microphone to your computer and turn it on.
2. Select the object.
3. Press the object’s menu arrow, and then select Sound.
The Insert Sound dialog box appears.
4. Click Start Recording.
5. Record the sound using the microphone.
I M P O R T A N T
SMART Notebook software stops recording after one minute. Therefore, ensure the sound is no more than one minute long.
6. Click Stop Recording.
7. Type a name for the sound in the Recording name box.
8. Optionally, click Preview Recording to hear the sound before adding it to the object.
9. Select Corner Icon if you want to play the sound file when you press an icon in the object’s lower-left corner.
OR
Select Object if you want to play the sound file when you press anywhere on the object.
10. Press Attach Recording.
g
To remove a sound from an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow, and then select Sound.
The Insert Sound dialog box appears.
3. Press Remove Sound.
101
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
Animating objects
You can animate an object to fly onto a page from the side, spin, fade in, shrink and more. You can set the animation to start when you open a page or when you press the object.
g
To animate an object
1. Select the object.
2. If the Properties tab isn’t visible, press Properties .
3. Press Object Animation.
4. Select options in the Type, Direction, Speed, Occurs and Repeats drop-down lists.
Deleting objects
Although you can erase digital ink (see Erasing digital ink on page 56), you’re unable to erase some
types of objects, including text, shapes, straight lines, arcs and pictures. To remove these types of objects from a page, you must delete them.
N O T E
You’re unable to delete locked objects (see Locking objects on page 89). To delete a locked object
from a page, you must unlock it.
g
To delete an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow, and then select Delete.
102
Chapter 6:
Chapter 6
Using your own content
Inserting pictures from a scanner
Inserting pictures from a SMART Document Camera
Creating transparent areas in a picture
Inserting Adobe Flash Player compatible files
Inserting Adobe Flash Player compatible video files
Installing encoders for additional formats
Using content from other programs
Cutting, copying and pasting content from other programs
Importing content using SMART Notebook Print Capture
Importing content using SMART Notebook Document Writer
Importing files from other interactive whiteboard programs
Adding your content to the Gallery
Adding your content to the Gallery
Organizing your content in the Gallery
Sharing content with other teachers
Connecting to Team Content categories
Finding and using your content in the Gallery
Sharing your content on the SMART Exchange website
If you or other teachers in your school have created content outside of SMART Notebook software, you can include this content in your .notebook files. Specifically, you can do the following: l
Insert pictures, Adobe Flash Player compatible files and video files, and sound files l
Cut or copy, and then paste content from other programs
103
C H A P T E R 6
Using your own content l
Import content from other programs l
Attach copies of files, shortcuts to files and links to web pages
In addition, you can add your content to the Gallery, where you can access and use it across multiple
.notebook files or share your content on the SMART Exchange website.
Inserting pictures
You can insert pictures into pages from files, a scanner or a SMART Document Camera.
N O T E
You can also insert pictures from the Gallery tab. For more information, see Finding and using
content from the Gallery on page 124.
After inserting a picture, you can define a transparent area in it.
Inserting pictures from files
You can insert a picture into a page.
SMART Notebook software supports BMP, GIF, JPEG, PNG, TIFF and WMF formats.
g
To insert a picture from a file
1. Select Insert > Picture File.
The Insert Picture File dialog box appears.
2. Browse to and select the picture you want to insert.
T I P
To select more than one picture, hold down CTRL and then select the pictures.
3. Press Open.
The picture appears in the upper-left corner of the page.
104
C H A P T E R 6
Using your own content
Inserting pictures from a scanner
If a scanner is connected to your computer, you can insert pictures from the scanner into a page.
N O T E
You must install your scanner’s driver and software on your computer before inserting pictures from the scanner into SMART Notebook software.
g
To insert a picture from a scanner
1. Select Insert > Picture From Scanner.
The Insert Scanned Picture dialog box appears.
2. Select a scanner from the list.
3. Press Scan.
4. Follow the instructions included with your scanner to scan your picture.
Inserting pictures from a SMART Document Camera
You can insert pictures from a SMART Document Camera into a page.
g
To insert a picture from a SMART Document Camera
1. Select Insert > Picture From SMART Document Camera.
The SMART Document Camera window appears on the page.
2. Insert a picture following the instructions in the SMART Document Camera 330 user’s guide
( smarttech.com/kb/143838 ).
Creating transparent areas in a picture
You can create transparent areas in a picture that you insert into a page. This is useful for removing the picture’s background. You can make any color in the picture transparent.
N O T E
105
C H A P T E R 6
Using your own content g
To create a transparent area in a picture
1. Select the picture.
2. Press the picture’s menu arrow, and then select Set Picture Transparency.
The Picture Transparency dialog box appears.
3. Press any areas in the picture that you want to make transparent.
N O T E
Pressing an area makes only that area transparent, even if the picture includes that same color in other areas.
4. Press OK.
Working with pictures
When you insert a picture in a .notebook file, the picture becomes an object in the file. Therefore, you can move, resize, rotate and make other changes to the picture like any other object.
Inserting multimedia files
You can insert multimedia files, including Adobe Flash Player compatible files, video files and sound files, into pages.
N O T E
You can also insert multimedia files from the Gallery tab. For more information, see Finding and
using content from the Gallery on page 124.
Inserting Adobe Flash Player compatible files
You can insert Adobe Flash Player compatible files into a page.
After you insert an Adobe Flash Player compatible file into a page, or display a page that already contains an Adobe Flash Player compatible file, the file plays immediately. You can control the playback of the file. If the file has buttons, you can press them on your interactive product. If the file doesn’t have buttons, you can use the options in the file’s menu arrow.
106
C H A P T E R 6
Using your own content
N O T E S
l
Adobe Flash Player compatible files on a page must be self-extracting. You’re unable to use
Adobe Flash Player compatible files that load or rely on other Adobe Flash Player compatible files.
l
You’re unable to drag an Adobe Flash Player compatible file from an Internet browser into a page.
l
If Adobe Flash Player isn’t installed on your computer, SMART Notebook software notifies you when you insert an Adobe Flash Player compatible file into a page.
l
You can install Adobe Flash Player by visiting adobe.com
, but you must use
Internet Explorer® Internet browser to install it. If you use another browser, Adobe Flash
Player compatible files don’t work in SMART Notebook software.
l
To write on top of an Adobe Flash Player compatible file with a handwriting recognition component, start writing outside the file and continue to write over the file. This enables
SMART Notebook software to recognize the digital ink as a separate object from the
Adobe Flash Player compatible file.
g
To insert an Adobe Flash Player compatible file
1. Select Insert > Flash File.
The Insert Flash File dialog box appears.
2. Browse to and select the Adobe Flash Player compatible file that you want to insert into the page.
3. Press Open.
The Adobe Flash Player compatible file appears in the upper-left corner of the page.
107
C H A P T E R 6
Using your own content g
To control an Adobe Flash Player compatible file
1. Select the Adobe Flash Player compatible file.
2. Control the file by doing any of the following: o
To play the file, press the file’s menu arrow, and then select Flash > Play.
o
To play the file from the beginning, press the file’s menu arrow, and then select Flash >
Rewind.
o
To advance the file slightly and pause playback, press the file’s menu arrow, and then select Flash > Step Forward.
o
To rewind the file slightly and pause playback, press the file’s menu arrow, and then select Flash > Step Back.
o
To play the file continuously, press the file’s menu arrow, and then select Flash > Loop.
o
To stop playing the file continuously, press the file’s menu arrow, and then clear the selection of Flash > Loop.
Inserting Adobe Flash Player compatible video files
You can insert Adobe Flash Player compatible video files into a page.
N O T E
SMART Notebook software supports the Adobe Flash Player compatible video file (FLV) format. If you want SMART Notebook software to support other file types, you can install additional encoders
(see Installing encoders for additional formats on the next page).
g
To insert an Adobe Flash Player compatible video file
1. Press Insert > Flash Video File.
The Insert Video File dialog box appears.
2. Browse to and select the Adobe Flash Player compatible video file that you want to insert into the page.
3. Press Open.
Inserting sound files
You can attach a sound file to any object (except Adobe Flash Player compatible objects) in a
.notebook file. For more information, see Adding sounds to objects on page 100.
108
C H A P T E R 6
Using your own content
Working with multimedia files
When you insert a multimedia file in a .notebook file, the multimedia file becomes an object in the file.
Therefore, you can move, resize, rotate and make other changes to the multimedia file like any other object.
For information on how to work with objects, including multimedia files, in .notebook files, see
Working with objects on page 79.
Installing encoders for additional formats
SMART Notebook software supports the FLV and MP3 formats. If you want SMART Notebook software to support other video and audio formats, you can install the following encoder. If you install this encoder, SMART Notebook software automatically detects it and supports its video and audio formats.
Encoder
MediaCoder Full
Pack 0.3.9
Video formats
l
ASF l
AVI l
MOV l l
MPEG and
MPG
WMV
Audio formats
l
AIF and AIFF l
WAV
Link
mediacoderhq.com/dlfull.htm
N O T E
SMART Technologies ULC provides links to these programs as a courtesy, and makes no representations or warranties regarding the programs or any information related thereto. Any questions, complaints or claims regarding the programs must be directed to the appropriate software vendor.
Inserting Internet browsers
You can insert an Internet browser into a .notebook page. In the Internet browser, you can browse to and display web pages. You can modify the Internet browser like any other object in
SMART Notebook software (see Working with objects on page 79).
g
To insert an Internet browser
1. Select Insert > Internet Browser.
An Internet browser appears.
109
C H A P T E R 6
Using your own content
2. Double-click the address bar, type the address of the web page you want to browse to, and then press Go .
T I P
If there’s no keyboard connected to your computer, click SMART Keyboard to display an on-screen keyboard.
3. Interact with the website using the buttons in the Internet browser toolbar:
Button Command
Back
Forward
Action
Display the previous web page.
Display the next web page.
Return to Pinned
Page
Pin Page
Open the pinned web page.
Reload
Move Toolbar
Pin the current web page.
When you first open the .notebook file, the pinned web page appears in the Internet browser. You can return to the pinned page at any time by pressing Return to Pinned Page .
Reload the current web page.
Change the position of the Internet browser toolbar.
Using content from other programs
If you have content in other programs that you want to use in your .notebook files, you can move this content to SMART Notebook software by doing one of the following: l
Cutting or copying, and then pasting the content l
Importing the content
Cutting, copying and pasting content from other programs
You can cut or copy, and then paste content from other programs into SMART Notebook software.
g
To cut content from another program
1. In the other program, select the content you want to cut, and then select Edit > Cut.
2. In SMART Notebook software, press Paste .
110
C H A P T E R 6
Using your own content g
To copy content from another program
1. In the other program, select the content you want to copy, and then select Edit > Copy.
2. In SMART Notebook software, press Paste
.
Importing content using SMART Notebook Print Capture
When you install SMART Notebook software on a computer with Windows XP operating system, you also install SMART Notebook Print Capture. SMART Notebook Print Capture works like any other printer driver, except it captures output in a .notebook file, instead of printing it on paper. Each page of an imported file appears as an object on its own page, with its original formatting and page breaks preserved.
N O T E
If you install SMART Notebook software on a computer with Windows Vista® or Windows 7 operating system, you can import content using SMART Notebook Document Writer (see
Importing content using SMART Notebook Document Writer on the next page).
g
To use SMART Notebook Print Capture
1. In the source file you want to export to a .notebook file, select File > Print.
The Print dialog box appears.
2. Select SMART Notebook Print Capture in the list of printers.
3. Optionally, change the page orientation and graphics resolution (see To change the page
orientation and graphics resolution on the next page).
4. Specify a page range, and then press OK or Print.
If an existing .notebook file isn’t open, a new .notebook file opens. Each page of the source file appears on a separate page.
OR
If an existing .notebook file is open, each page of the source file appears in the .notebook file after the current page.
N O T E
This process can take several minutes.
111
C H A P T E R 6
Using your own content g
To change the page orientation and graphics resolution
1. Press the Properties or Preferences button.
The SMART Notebook Print Capture Properties dialog box appears.
2. Select Portrait or Landscape.
3. Select a default resolution in the Resolution drop-down list.
OR
Select CUSTOM Resolution in the Resolution drop-down list, and then type numbers in the
Horizontal Resolution and Vertical Resolution boxes.
T I P S
o
Use the same value in both boxes to prevent image distortion.
o
The higher the resolution, the larger the image.
o
Don’t use the Draft, Low or Medium options because they might not scale the image proportionally.
4. Press OK.
Importing content using SMART Notebook Document Writer
When you install SMART Notebook software on a computer with Windows Vista or Windows 7 operating system, you also install SMART Notebook Document Writer. SMART Notebook
Document Writer works like any other printer driver, except it captures output in a .notebook file, instead of printing it on paper.
N O T E
If you install SMART Notebook software on a computer with Windows XP operating system, you
can import content using SMART Notebook Print Capture (see Importing content using
SMART Notebook Print Capture on the previous page).
g
To use SMART Notebook Document Writer
1. In the source file you want to export to a .notebook file, select File > Print.
The Print dialog box appears.
2. Select SMART Notebook Document Writer in the list of printers.
3. Optionally, change the page orientation (see To change the page orientation on the next page).
112
C H A P T E R 6
Using your own content
4. Specify a page range, and then press OK or Print.
A dialog box appears.
5. Select SMART Notebook pages with images to import the content of the file as pictures.
OR
Select SMART Notebook page with editable objects to import the content of the file as editable objects.
N O T E
If you choose to import the content as editable objects, some objects may not display correctly. You can import the content as pictures.
6. Press OK.
A new .notebook file opens. Each page of the source file appears on a separate page.
g
To change the page orientation
1. Press Properties or Preferences.
The Printing Preferences dialog box appears.
2. Select Landscape or Portrait in the Orientation drop-down list.
3. Press OK.
Importing PowerPoint files
You can import content into a .notebook file from a variety of sources, including PowerPoint files.
N O T E
SMART Notebook software doesn’t import some gradient, pattern and picture effects. These effects may appear incorrectly in .notebook files as a result.
T I P
You can also export .notebook files to PowerPoint (see Exporting files on page 15).
g
To import a PowerPoint file
1. Select File > Import.
The Open dialog box appears.
2. Select All PowerPoint Files (*.ppt;*.pptx) in the Files of type drop-down list.
113
C H A P T E R 6
Using your own content
3. Browse to and select the PowerPoint file you want to import.
4. Press Open.
SMART Notebook software adds the contents of the PowerPoint file to a .notebook file.
Importing files from other interactive whiteboard programs
You can import content into .notebook files from a variety of sources, including other whiteboard programs.
If the other whiteboard program supports the Interactive Whiteboard Common File Format (CFF), you can export a CFF file from the program and then import that CFF file into SMART Notebook software.
Otherwise, you can attempt to import the other interactive whiteboard program’s native file format.
N O T E
You can also export CFF files (see Exporting files on page 15).
g
To import CFF files
1. Select File > Import.
The Open dialog box appears.
2. Select All Common File Format Files (*.iwb) in the Files of type list.
3. Browse to and select the file you want to import.
4. Press Open.
The file opens.
114
C H A P T E R 6
Using your own content g
To import other files
1. Press Open File .
The Open dialog box appears.
2. Select All Files (*.*) in the Files of type list.
3. Browse to and select the file you want to open.
4. Press Open.
If you import a file that SMART Notebook software supports, the file opens.
OR
If you import a file that SMART Notebook software doesn’t support, SMART Notebook software adds it to the Attachments tab. You can open these attached files using third-party software, but you’re not able to add them to a page.
Attaching files and web pages
You can attach copies of files, shortcuts to files and links to web pages using the Attachments tab.
Attaching files or web pages enables you to find and open these items easily while presenting a
.notebook file.
N O T E S
l
l
As an alternative to attaching a link to a web page, you can also insert an Internet browser in
your .notebook file (see Inserting Internet browsers on page 109).
g
To attach a copy of a file
1. If the Attachments tab isn’t visible, press Attachments .
2. Press Insert at the bottom of the Attachments tab, and then select Insert Copy of File.
The Insert Copy of File dialog box appears.
3. Browse to and select the file you want to attach.
115
C H A P T E R 6
Using your own content
4. Press Open.
The file’s name and size appear in the Attachments tab.
N O T E
When you attach a file, the size of the .notebook file increases. Although SMART Notebook software compresses files to conserve space, SMART Notebook software can compress some file types more than others.
g
To attach a shortcut to a file
1. If the Attachments tab isn’t visible, press Attachments .
2. Press Insert at the bottom of the Attachments tab, and then select Insert Shortcut to File.
The Insert File Shortcut dialog box appears.
3. Browse to and select the file you want to attach.
4. Press Open.
The file name and Shortcut appear in the Attachments tab.
N O T E S
o
SMART Notebook software doesn’t export shortcuts. If you want to export file attachments, attach a copy of your file, not a file shortcut.
o
Make sure that the file is accessible on the computer you will use during the lesson.
g
To attach a link to a web page
1. If the Attachments tab isn’t visible, press Attachments .
2. Press Insert at the bottom of the Attachments tab, and then select Insert Hyperlink.
The Insert Hyperlink dialog box appears.
3. Type the web page’s address in the Hyperlink box.
4. Type a name for the link in the Display name box.
5. Press OK.
The display name and URL appear in the Attachments tab.
116
C H A P T E R 6
Using your own content g
To open a file or web page from the Attachments tab
1. If the Attachments tab isn’t visible, press Attachments .
The Attachments tab lists all attachments in the current file.
o
If an attached item is a copy of a file, the file’s size appears in the Size column.
o
If an attached item is a shortcut to a file, Shortcut appears in the Size column.
o
If an attached item is a link to a web page, URL appears in the Size column.
2. To open a file, double-click the file name or shortcut.
OR
To open a web page, double-click the link.
Adding your content to the Gallery
The Gallery is a tab in the SMART Notebook software user interface where you can browse or search for content and then add that content to your .notebook files. The Gallery consists of a set of categories, one of which is the My Content category.
If you find you use the same content across multiple .notebook files, you can add this content to the
My Content category. You can share content from the My Content category with other teachers in your school by importing or exporting Gallery collection files. You can also connect to a Team
Content category containing content that you and other teachers in your school contribute to.
Adding your content to the Gallery
You can add SMART Notebook software objects and pages as well as support files to the My
Content category in the Gallery.
g
To add an object to the Gallery
1. If the Gallery isn’t visible, press Gallery
.
2. Select the object that you want to add to the Gallery.
117
C H A P T E R 6
Using your own content
3. Drag the object from the page to the Gallery’s My Content category or one of its subcategories.
N O T E S
o
You’re unable to drag an object if it’s locked in place (see Locking objects on page 89).
o
If you want to change a Gallery item’s name, select the item, press its menu arrow, and then select Rename.
g
To add a page to the Gallery
1. Create and modify objects on the page until the page appears exactly as you want it to.
2. Select File > Save Page as Gallery Item.
The Save Page as Gallery Item dialog box appears.
3. Browse to the folder where you want to save the page.
4. Type a name for the page in the File name box.
5. Press Save.
6. If the Gallery isn’t visible, press Gallery
.
7. Select My Content (or one of its subcategories) in the Gallery’s category list, press its menu arrow, and then select Add to My Content.
The Add to My Content dialog box appears.
8. Browse to and select the item that you saved in step 5.
9. Press Open.
g
To add a supported file to the Gallery
1. If the Gallery isn’t visible, press Gallery .
2. Select My Content (or one of its subcategories) in the Gallery’s category list, press its menu arrow, and then select Add to My Content.
The Add to My Content dialog box appears.
3. Browse to and select the item you want to add to the Gallery.
118
C H A P T E R 6
Using your own content
4. Press Open.
N O T E
By default, SMART Notebook software names the new Gallery item based on the original file name. If you want to change the item’s name, select the Gallery item’s thumbnail, press its menu arrow, and then select Rename.
Organizing your content in the Gallery
As you add objects, pages and supported files to the My Content category in the Gallery, you may want to reorganize the category’s structure. You can create subcategories and move Gallery items between subcategories.
g
To create a subcategory
1. If the Gallery isn’t visible, press Gallery .
2. Select My Content (or one of its subcategories) in the Gallery’s category list, press its menu arrow, and then select New Folder.
A new subcategory appears.
3. Type a name for the new subcategory, and then press ENTER.
g
To rename a subcategory
1. If the Gallery isn’t visible, press Gallery .
2. Select My Content in the Gallery’s category list, and then browse to the subcategory that you want to rename.
3. Select the subcategory, press its menu arrow, and then select Rename.
4. Type a new name for the subcategory, and then press ENTER.
g
To move a Gallery item to a different subcategory
1. If the Gallery isn’t visible, press Gallery .
2. Browse to the category that contains the Gallery item you want to move.
The Gallery displays the contents of the category.
3. Drag the item to another subcategory.
119
C H A P T E R 6
Using your own content
Sharing content with other teachers
Importing and exporting collection files is an ideal way to share custom categories with other teachers and to use categories that other teachers have created. You can use collection files to add items to the My Content category in the Gallery. After you import a collection file, all of its items appear in the
Gallery as a new subcategory.
g
To import a collection file from another teacher
1. If the Gallery isn’t visible, press Gallery .
2. Select My Content (or one of its subcategories) in the Gallery’s category list, press its menu arrow, and then select Add to My Content.
The Add to My Content dialog box appears.
3. Browse to the folder that contains the collection file you want to import.
N O T E
A collection file has a .gallery extension.
4. Select the collection file, and then press Open.
The collection appears as a new subcategory.
g
To export a collection file to share with other teachers
1. Select the category that contains the items you want to save in a collection.
N O T E
SMART Notebook software exports the selected category but doesn’t export any of its subcategories.
2. Press the category’s menu arrow, and then select Export as Collection File.
The Save As dialog box appears.
3. Browse to the folder where you want to save the collection file.
4. Type a name for the file in the File name box.
5. Press Save.
120
C H A P T E R 6
Using your own content
Connecting to Team Content categories
The Team Content categories feature enables you to connect to Gallery content in a shared location on your school’s network. Multiple teachers can connect to the same folder. SMART Notebook software automatically updates your changes for all other teachers.
N O T E
Your access permissions for the Team Content category are the same as your folder access permissions on your school’s network. If you have full access to a folder on the network, you can add or remove items in that folder’s Team Content category. However, if you have read-only access to the folder, you can copy items from the Team Content category, but you’re unable to add, edit or remove items.
g
To connect to a Team Content category
1. If the Gallery isn’t visible, press Gallery
.
2. Press Show additional Gallery actions , and then select Connect to Team Content.
The Browse For Folder dialog box appears.
3. Browse to and select the folder containing the Team Content category you want to connect to, and then press OK.
The Team Content category appears in the Gallery.
g
To contribute to a Team Content category
Add content to a Team Content category as you do to the My Content category (see Adding your
content to the Gallery on page 117).
Finding and using your content in the Gallery
After adding your content to the Gallery, you can find and use it as described in Finding and using
content from the Gallery on page 124.
121
C H A P T E R 6
Using your own content
Sharing your content on the SMART Exchange website
teachers on page 120), you can share .notebook files with teachers from around the world using the
SMART Exchange website ( exchange.smarttech.com
).
g
To share a .notebook file on the SMART Exchange website
1. Open the .notebook file you want to share.
2. Select File > Share on SMART Exchange.
A dialog box appears.
3. If you’re new to the SMART Exchange website, press Not a member yet, and then follow the on-screen instructions to create an account.
OR
If you have an account, type your e-mail address in the Email Address box and your password in the Password box, and then press Sign In.
T I P S
o
If you forgot your password, click Forgot your password, and then follow the onscreen instructions to reset it.
o
If you don’t want to log on to the SMART Exchange website each time you share content, select the Keep me signed in check box.
4. Enter the appropriate information:
Control
Enter resource details
Description
Subject(s)
Grade(s)
Search terms
Instructions
Type a title for the .notebook file.
Type a description of the .notebook file.
Select the subjects that the .notebook file is applicable to.
Select the grades that the .notebook file is applicable to.
Type words or phrases that other SMART Exchange users will likely enter to search for the .notebook file. Separate the words or phrases with commas.
5. Read the sharing agreement.
6. If you accept the sharing agreement, press Agree and Submit.
122
Chapter 7:
Chapter 7
Using content from
SMART resources
Finding and using content from the Gallery
Finding and using content from the SMART Exchange website
SMART Notebook software includes Lesson Activity Examples, which includes Activity Builder
examples (see Creating matching lesson activities on page 129), interactive techniques and 3D
models to aid you in creating lesson activities.
When your system administrator installs SMART Notebook software, he or she can install the following additional items: l
Gallery Essentials is a collection of thousands of pictures, multimedia objects and more, organized into subject-specific categories.
l
Lesson Activity Toolkit is a collection of customizable tools and templates that you can use to create professional-looking and interactive lessons. The toolkit helps you create engaging content like word games, quizzes and sorting activities. It also offers Adobe Flash Player compatible files like hide-and-reveal and drag-and-drop.
In addition, you can use content from the SMART Exchange website, an online resource that includes both SMART- and teacher-created content.
All of these resources are available from the Gallery, which is a tab in the SMART Notebook software user interface where you can browse or search for content and then add that content to your
.notebook files.
123
C H A P T E R 7
Using content from SMART resources
Finding and using content from the Gallery
The Gallery is divided into two sections. The top section of the Gallery is the category list. When you select a category or subcategory in the list, its contents appear in the bottom section of the Gallery.
T I P
You can change the size of the category list and content list by pressing the boundary between them, and then dragging it up or down.
You can browse the category list to view the contents of each category. Thumbnails in the categories provide preview images of the content.
l
In Pictures, pictures appear as thumbnails.
l
In Interactive and Multimedia, video objects appear as a single frame from the videos, sound objects appear with a speaker icon in the lower-left corner, and Adobe Flash Player compatible files appear as an Adobe Flash icon or thumbnail of the content with a small Adobe Flash icon in the upper-left corner.
l
In 3D Objects, 3D models appear as thumbnails.
l
In Notebook Files and Pages, files appear as binders and pages appear with a folded upperright corner.
l
In Backgrounds and Themes, backgrounds appear as pages with a folded lower-right corner and themes appear as thumbnails.
You can search for a Gallery item using the keyword search.
After browsing or searching for a Gallery item, you can add it to your .notebook file.
g
To browse the Gallery
1. If the Gallery isn’t visible, press Gallery .
2. Press a category’s plus sign to view its subcategories.
N O T E
You can close a category by pressing the category’s minus sign.
3. Select a category or subcategory to display its contents.
124
C H A P T E R 7
Using content from SMART resources g
To search the Gallery
1. If the Gallery isn’t visible, press Gallery .
2. Type a keyword into the Type search terms here box, and then press Search
.
The Gallery displays all content containing the keyword.
g
To add a Gallery item to your .notebook file
1. If the Gallery isn’t visible, press Gallery .
2. Browse or search for the Gallery item you want to add.
3. Double-click the Gallery item’s thumbnail.
o
If you add a picture, Adobe Flash Player compatible file, video file or sound file, it appears on the current page.
o
If you add a background, it replaces the page’s existing background (see Applying page
backgrounds and themes on page 45).
o
If you add a page from a .notebook file, SMART Notebook software inserts it before the current page.
o
If you add a .notebook file, SMART Notebook software inserts the file’s pages before the current page.
Finding and using content from the
SMART Exchange website
The SMART Exchange website ( exchange.smarttech.com
) includes thousands of lesson plans, question sets, widgets and other content that you can download and then open in SMART Notebook software.
N O T E
You can also share your lesson plans with other teachers through the SMART Exchange website.
For more information, see Sharing your content on the SMART Exchange website on page 122.
g
To find and use content from the SMART Exchange website
1. Click SMART Exchange
.
The SMART Exchange website opens in your web browser.
125
C H A P T E R 7
Using content from SMART resources
2. If you’re new to the SMART Exchange website, click Join for free, and then follow the onscreen instructions to create an account.
OR
If you have an account, click Sign In, and then follow the on-screen instructions to log on to the SMART Exchange website with your account.
3. Search or browse for content, and then download it to your computer.
4. Import content into the Gallery (see Sharing content with other teachers on page 120).
126
Chapter 8:
Chapter 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom
Creating and presenting lesson activities
Creating matching lesson activities
Creating hide-and-show lesson activities
Creating reveal lesson activities
Using other resources to create lesson activities
Using the Magic Pen to create fading objects
Using the Magic Pen to open a magnification window
Using the Magic Pen to open a spotlight window
Using the Geodreieck protractor
Enabling two people to use an interactive whiteboard
Enabling two people to use a SMART Board D600 series interactive whiteboard
Enabling two people to use a SMART Board 800 series interactive whiteboard
This chapter includes information on using SMART Notebook software in your classroom when presenting information to students or facilitating collaborative learning.
127
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom
Presenting files to students
After creating a .notebook file using basic objects, your own content and content from SMART resources, you can present the file to students in your classroom.
The following are tips to keep in mind when presenting files to students: l
Save your completed file on a CD, DVD or USB drive. This enables you to access and display your presentation by inserting the CD, DVD or USB drive into the computer connected to the interactive product. Alternatively, make your presentation accessible on your local area network, and then browse to it on the interactive product.
l
To avoid losing your momentum and focus during the presentation, attach the files and links to web pages that you’ll use during your presentation to the Attachments tab of your file so you
don’t have to search for them (see Attaching files and web pages on page 115).
l
If your file contains a lot of pages, separate them into groups. This enables you to find a
particular page more easily during a presentation (see Grouping pages on page 37).
l
Display the file in Full Screen view during the presentation. This view maximizes the available
workspace (see Displaying pages in Full Screen view on page 31).
Creating and presenting lesson activities
Using SMART Notebook software, you can not only present information to students but also engage them in interactive lesson activities.
You can create lesson activities by inserting objects such as shapes, pictures and tables, and using features such as the Activity Builder and scaling gesture.
This section includes three example of how you can create and then present lesson activities to your students. You can use these example lesson activities or develop your own. You can also use resources available to you in the Gallery and SMART Exchange website.
128
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom
Creating matching lesson activities
N O T E
You’ll complete the following tasks when creating matching lesson activities: l
Using the Activity Builder l
Adding sounds to objects (see Adding sounds to objects on page 100)
The Activity Builder enables you to create matching activities, sorting activities, labeling activities, games and more using your own content.
Using the Activity Builder, you define one object on the page as an activity object. You then define which objects on the page will be accepted and which will be rejected when you drag the objects over the activity object.
g
To create a matching lesson activity
1. Create the object you want to use as the activity object and the objects you want to accept or reject when dragged to the activity object.
2. Press Add-ons
, and then press Activity Builder.
3. Select the object you want to use as the activity object, and then press Edit.
4. Drag the objects you want to accept to the Accept these objects list.
A green check mark appears beside objects you select to accept.
5. Drag the objects you want to reject to the Reject these objects list.
A red X appears beside objects you select to reject.
N O T E S
o
To quickly select any remaining objects on the page to accept or reject, press Add All
Remaining in the appropriate list.
o
To remove an object from a list, drag it to the trash can icon .
6. Press Done.
129
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom g
To change a matching lesson activity’s settings
1. Press Add-ons , and then press Activity Builder.
2. Select the activity object, and then press Edit.
T I P
If you don’t know which object on the page is the activity object, click Identify. Blue diagonal lines appear over any activity objects on the page for three seconds.
3. Press Settings.
4. Select the desired animation for accepted objects in the first Animation drop-down list.
5. Optionally, select the Also play the object’s sound check box to play sounds attached to
6. Select the desired animation for rejected objects in the first Animation drop-down list.
7. Optionally, select the Also play the object’s sound check box to play sounds attached to
8. Press Done.
g
To present a matching lesson activity
1. Drag the objects (or have students drag the objects) to the activity object.
o
If the object is accepted, the accepted object animation plays (fade out by default).
o
If the object is rejected, the rejected object animation plays (bounce back by default).
2. Press Add-ons
, press Activity Builder, and then press Reset All when you’re done.
g
To remove a matching lesson activity
1. Press Add-ons
, and then press Activity Builder.
2. Select the activity object, and then press Clear Properties.
130
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom
Creating hide-and-show lesson activities
N O T E
You’ll complete the following tasks when creating hide-and-show lesson activities: l
Moving objects (see Moving objects on page 86)
l
Locking objects (see Locking objects on page 89)
l
Resizing objects using the scaling gesture (see Using the scaling gesture on page 92)
You can hide an object and then reveal it using several techniques: l
Add a Screen Shade to a page. During the presentation, gradually remove the shade to reveal
the underlying text and graphics when you’re ready to discuss them (see Using the Screen
l
Cover the object with digital ink and then erase the digital ink (see Writing, drawing and erasing
l
Cover the object with another object and then change the order of the objects in the stack (see
Rearranging stacked objects on page 88).
l
Use the object animation feature (see Animating objects on page 102).
Alternatively, you can hide an object behind a locked object and then use the scaling gesture to enlarge and show the hidden object if you’re using a SMART interactive product that supports multitouch gestures.
g
To create a hide-and-show lesson activity
1. Create or insert the object you want to hide.
131
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom
2. Create or insert the object you want to lock.
3. Move the object you want to lock so that it covers the object you want to hide.
4. Select the object you want to lock, press its menu arrow, and then select Locking > Lock in
Place.
132
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom
5. Use the scaling gesture to enlarge and show the hidden object while keeping the locked object
in place (see Using the scaling gesture on page 92).
Creating reveal lesson activities
N O T E
You’ll complete the following tasks when creating reveal lesson activities: l
Creating tables (see Creating tables in SMART Notebook software on page 66)
l
Resizing cells (see Resizing tables, columns or rows on page 73)
l
Filling a table’s background with a picture (see Changing a table’s properties on page 71)
l
Adding objects to cells (see Adding objects to tables on page 68)
l
Adding and removing cell shades (see Adding or removing cell shades on page 76)
You can use tables and cell shades to create a variety of reveal lesson activities. The following are two examples: l
A puzzle-style reveal lesson activity where you reveal parts of a picture until students can guess what the picture is.
133
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom l
A memory-style reveal lesson activity where you reveal the contents of the cell and then ask students to choose other cells until they find the cell with matching contents.
g
To create a puzzle-style reveal lesson activity
1. Create a table with the number of cells you want to include in the reveal lesson activity (see
Creating tables in SMART Notebook software on page 66).
2. Resize the cells as appropriate (see Resizing tables, columns or rows on page 73).
3. Select the table, press the table’s menu arrow, and then select Properties.
The Properties tab appears.
4. Press Fill Effects.
5. Select Image fill, press Browse, browse to and select the picture you want to use in the reveal lesson activity, and then press Open.
6. Select Scale image to fit.
7. Press the table’s menu arrow, and then select Add Table Shade.
g
To create a memory-style reveal lesson activity
1. Insert the objects you want to include in the lesson activity.
2. Create a table with the number of cells you want to include in the reveal lesson activity (see
Creating tables in SMART Notebook software on page 66).
3. Resize the cells as appropriate (see Resizing tables, columns or rows on page 73).
4. Drag the objects into the cells of the table.
5. Press the table’s menu arrow, and then select Add Table Shade.
g
To present a reveal lesson activity
Press a individual cell’s cell shade to reveal the contents of the cell.
To hide the cell behind the cell shade, press <> in the corner of the cell.
134
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom
Using other resources to create lesson activities
The Lesson Activity Toolkit and Lesson Activity Examples in the Gallery include interactive objects you can use to create lesson activities. For more information on the Lesson Activity Toolkit, the
The SMART Exchange website includes thousands of lesson plans, question sets and other content that you can download and then open in SMART Notebook software. For more information on the
SMART Exchange website, see Finding and using content from the SMART Exchange website on page 125.
Using presentation tools
While presenting .notebook files to students, you can use the following tools: l
Screen Shade l
Magic Pen l
Measurement tools o
Ruler o
Protractor o
Geodreieck protractor o
Compass
Using the Screen Shade
If you want to cover information and reveal it slowly during a presentation, you can add a Screen
Shade to a page.
If you add a Screen Shade to a page and save the file, the Screen Shade appears over the page the next time you open the file.
g
To add a Screen Shade to a page
Press Show/Hide Screen Shade .
A Screen Shade appears over the entire page.
135
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom g
To reveal part of the page
Drag one of the Screen Shade’s resize handles (the small circles at the edges of the Screen Shade) to reveal part of a page.
g
To remove the Screen Shade from a page
Press Show/Hide Screen Shade .
OR
Press Close in the upper-right corner of the Screen Shade.
Using the Magic Pen
The Magic Pen enables you to do the following: l
Create an object that slowly fades l
Open a magnification window l
Open a spotlight window
Selecting the Magic Pen
Before you can use the Magic Pen, you must select it.
g
To select the Magic Pen
1. Press Pens
.
The Pens tool buttons appear.
2. Press Pen Types, and then select Magic Pen.
136
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom
Using the Magic Pen to create fading objects
You can create an object that slowly fades using the Magic Pen.
N O T E
Fading objects are not saved in .notebook files.
g
To create a fading object
1. Select the Magic Pen (see Selecting the Magic Pen on the previous page).
2. Using your finger or a pen, write or draw objects on the interactive screen.
The objects slowly fade.
g
To set the number of seconds before the object fades
1. Select the Magic Pen (see Selecting the Magic Pen on the previous page).
2. If the Properties tab isn’t visible, press Properties
.
3. Press Fill Effects.
4. Select the number of seconds before the object fades in the Fade time drop-down list.
T I P
You can save your changes to the Magic Pen tool’s default settings by clicking Save Tool
Properties (see Saving tool settings on page 85).
Using the Magic Pen to open a magnification window
You can open a magnification window using the Magic Pen.
N O T E
You can magnify the screen outside of SMART Notebook software.
137
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom g
To open a magnification window
1. Select the Magic Pen (see Selecting the Magic Pen on page 136).
2. Using your finger or a pen, draw a square or rectangle on the interactive screen.
A magnification window appears.
138
T I P
You can draw a square but have it fade rather than open a magnification window by using the
Standard pen type (see Writing or drawing fading digital ink on page 52).
3. Do the following: o
To reduce the magnification window’s size, press in the middle of the window, and then drag to the left.
o
To increase the magnification window’s size, press in the middle of the window, and then drag to the right.
o
To move the magnification window, press near the edge of the window, and then drag it.
4. Press Close when you’re done.
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom
Using the Magic Pen to open a spotlight window
You can open a spotlight window using the Magic Pen.
N O T E
You can highlight an area of the screen outside of SMART Notebook software.
g
To open a spotlight window
1. Select the Magic Pen (see Selecting the Magic Pen on page 136).
2. Using your finger or a pen, draw a circle or ellipse on the interactive screen.
A spotlight window appears.
139
T I P
You can draw a circle but have it fade rather than open a magnification window by using the
Standard pen tool (see Writing or drawing fading digital ink on page 52).
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom
3. Do the following: o
To reduce the spotlight window’s size, press in the middle of the window, and then drag to the left.
o
To increase the spotlight window’s size, press in the middle of the window, and then drag to the right.
o
To move the spotlight window, press near the edge of the window, and then drag it.
4. Press Close when you’re done.
Using the measurement tools
Using the SMART Notebook software measurement tools, you can insert a ruler, protractor,
Geodreieck protractor or compass into a page.
Using the ruler
You can insert a ruler into a page, and then manipulate its size, length, rotation and location, and draw along its edges.
g
To insert a ruler
Press Measurement Tools , and then select Insert Ruler .
A ruler appears.
g
To move the ruler
Press the middle of the ruler (displayed as a darker shade of blue), and then drag the ruler to a different position on the page.
g
To resize the ruler
1. Select the ruler.
2. Drag the ruler’s resize handle (the circle in the lower-right corner) to increase or reduce the ruler’s size.
g
To lengthen the ruler (without changing its scale)
Press the ruler’s far edge, between the menu arrow and the resize handle, and then drag away from the ruler.
140
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom g
To shorten the ruler (without changing its scale)
Press the ruler’s far edge, between the menu arrow and the resize handle, and then drag toward the middle of the ruler.
g
To rotate the ruler
Press the top or bottom edge of the ruler (displayed as a lighter shade of blue), and then drag the ruler in the direction you want to rotate it.
The ruler displays the current rotation in degrees.
g
To reverse the measurements
Press the ruler’s flip symbol .
If the metric measurements appeared on the top edge of the ruler, they now appear on the bottom edge and vice versa.
g
To draw using a pen and the ruler
1. Press Pens
.
The Pens tool buttons appear.
2. Press Pen Types, and then select Standard Pen or Calligraphy Pen.
3. Select a line type.
4. Draw along the edge of the ruler.
Digital ink appears in a straight line along the edge of the ruler.
g
To remove the ruler
1. Select the ruler.
2. Press the ruler’s menu arrow, and then select Delete.
141
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom
Using the protractor
You can insert a protractor into a page, manipulate its size, rotation and location, and then draw along its edges.
g
To insert a protractor
Press Measurement Tools , and then select Insert Protractor .
A protractor appears.
g
To move the protractor
Press the inner part of the protractor (displayed as a darker shade of blue), and then drag the protractor to a different position on the page.
g
To resize the protractor
Press the inner circle of numbers, and then drag away from the protractor to enlarge it or toward the center of the protractor to shrink it.
g
To rotate the protractor
Press the outer circle of numbers, and then drag the protractor in the direction you want to rotate it.
The protractor displays the current rotation in degrees.
142
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom g
To display the protractor as a complete circle
1. Press the blue circle next to the 180 label on the inner circle of numbers.
2. Press the blue circle again to return to the semi-circle.
g
To draw using a pen and the protractor
1. Press Pens
.
The Pens tool buttons appear.
143
2. Press Pen Types, and then select Standard Pen or Calligraphy Pen.
3. Select a line type.
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom
4. Draw along the edge of the protractor.
Digital ink appears in an arc along the edge of the protractor.
g
To display angles using the protractor
1. Select the protractor.
2. Drag the green circle until it shows the correct angle for the first of two intersecting lines.
3. Drag the white circle until it shows the correct angle for the second of two intersecting lines.
4. Press the green arrow in the bottom corner.
The lines and the angle between them appear as a separate object.
g
To remove the protractor
1. Select the protractor.
2. Press the protractor’s menu arrow, and then select Delete.
Using the Geodreieck protractor
You can insert a Geodreieck protractor (also known as a set square or T-square) on a page, and then manipulate its size, rotation and location.
g
To insert a Geodreieck protractor
Press Measurement Tools , and then select Insert Geodreieck .
A Geodreieck protractor appears.
g
To move the protractor
Press the inner part of the protractor (within the semi-circle), and then drag the protractor to a different position on the page.
144
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom g
To resize the protractor
Press the semi-circle, and then drag away from the center of the protractor to make it bigger or toward the center of the protractor to make it smaller.
g
To rotate the protractor
Press the outer part of the protractor (outside of the semi-circle), and then drag the protractor in the direction you want to rotate it.
The protractor displays the current rotation in degrees.
g
To draw using a pen and the Geodreieck protractor
1. Press Pens
.
The Pens tool buttons appear.
2. Press Pen Types, and then select Standard Pen or Calligraphy Pen.
3. Select a line type.
4. Draw along the edge of the protractor.
Digital ink appears in a straight line along the edge of the protractor.
g
To remove the protractor
1. Select the protractor.
2. Press the protractor’s menu arrow, and then select Delete.
145
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom
Using the compass
You can insert a compass into a page, manipulate its width, rotation and location, and then use it to draw circles and arcs.
g
To insert a compass
Press Measurement Tools , and then select Insert Compass .
A compass appears.
g
To move the compass
Press the arm of the compass that holds the spike, and then drag the compass to a different position on the page.
g
To widen the compass
1. Press the arm of the compass that holds the pen.
Two blue arrows appear.
2. Drag to change the angle between the spike and the pen.
The number on the compass’s handle displays the current angle between the spike and the pen.
g
To flip the compass
Press the compass’s flip symbol .
The compass’s pen appears on the opposite side of the spike.
g
To rotate the compass (without drawing)
Press the compass’s rotation handle (the green circle), and then drag the compass in the direction you want to rotate it.
146
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom g
To draw using the compass
1. Press the compass’s pen tip.
The cursor changes to a pen symbol.
2. Drag the compass in the direction you want to rotate it.
g
To change the color of the compass’s pen
1. Press Pens .
The Pens tool buttons appear.
2. Press Pen Types, and then select Standard Pen.
3. Select a line type.
The color of the compass’s pen changes to display its new color.
g
To remove the compass
1. Select the compass.
2. Press the compass’s menu arrow, and then select Delete.
Displaying links
You can attach a copy of a file, a shortcut to a file, a link to a web page or a sound file to any object on
a page (see Adding links to objects on page 98). You can display an animated indicator around each
object that has a link.
g
To display links when a page opens
Select View > Show All Links When Page Opens.
Each time you open a page, an animated indicator appears around each object that has a link.
Depending on how you define the links, each indicator surrounds either the entire object or an icon in the object’s lower-left corner. The indicators disappear automatically after several seconds.
147
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom
N O T E
Clear the selection of View > Show All Links When Page Opens to stop displaying links when you open a page.
g
To display links on the current page
Select View > Show All Links.
An animated indicator appears around each object that has a link. Depending on how you define the links, each indicator surrounds either the entire object or an icon in the object’s lower-left corner. The indicators disappear automatically after several seconds.
Adjusting the volume
If you’re presenting a video or audio file and want to adjust volume, you can do so pressing the
Volume Control
button, and then adjusting your operating system’s volume controls.
N O T E
Ensure your speakers are turned on.
To add this button to the toolbar, see Customizing the toolbar on page 155.
Enabling two people to use an interactive whiteboard
If you have a SMART Board® D600 or 800 series interactive whiteboard, two people can create and manipulate objects in SMART Notebook software at the same time. How the two people do this depends on whether you have a SMART Board D600 series interactive whiteboard or a
SMART Board 800 series interactive whiteboard.
Allowing two people to use an interactive whiteboard is useful in scenarios such as the following: l
Two students work on an assignment on the interactive whiteboard at the same time l
A teacher and student work on an assignment on the interactive whiteboard at the same time l
A teacher or student poses questions or problems on the interactive whiteboard, and another student responds to these questions or problems
148
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom
Enabling two people to use a SMART Board D600 series interactive whiteboard
If you’re using a SMART Board D600 series interactive whiteboard, two users can use the interactive whiteboard simultaneously when SMART Notebook software is in Dual-User mode. In Dual-User mode, the screen is divided in half. Each user can press his or her half of the screen with a finger to left-click or drag objects, write using a pen tray pen and erase digital ink using the eraser. Each user can also access frequently used tools using his or her own Floating Tools toolbar.
You can press a toolbar button to switch between Single-User mode and Dual-User mode.
g
To display a file in Dual-User mode
Press View Screens , and then select Dual Write Mode .
g
To return to Single-User mode
Press Exit .
Enabling two people to use a SMART Board 800 series interactive whiteboard
If you’re using a SMART Board 800 series interactive whiteboard, two people can create and manipulate objects in SMART Notebook software at the same time. Both people can create and manipulate objects in any area of the SMART Notebook software page. Neither user is restricted to a particular section of the page.
Dual-user collaboration mode is enabled when you pick up a pen from the pen tray. One user creates or manipulates objects with his or her finger (“the touch user”). The other user creates or manipulates objects with the pen (“the pen user”).
N O T E
In addition to enabling one touch user and one pen user to use the interactive whiteboard at the same time, you can enable two pen users or two touch users to use the interactive whiteboard at the same time. However, the two users must use the same tool.
149
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom
Selecting tools
To change tools or to set properties for touch, the touch user must press the appropriate button on the toolbar or control in the Properties tab with his or finger. The following is an example:
To change tools or to set properties for the pen, the pen user must press the appropriate button on the toolbar or control in the Properties tab with the pen. The following is an example:
N O T E S
l
If the pen user presses a button on the toolbar or sets a property with his or finger instead of the pen, SMART Notebook software changes the selected tool or property for the touch user rather than the pen user.
l
When both the touch user and the pen user select multiple objects on the screen, the dashed border of the objects selected by the touch user will be a different color than the dashed border of the object selected by the pen user.
150
Chapter 9:
Chapter 9
Troubleshooting
SMART Notebook software
Troubleshooting the SMART Notebook software window and toolbar
This chapter explains how to troubleshoot issues with SMART Notebook software.
Troubleshooting files
Issue
Your file contains large pictures and runs slowly when you open it in SMART Notebook software.
Recommendation
Export an optimized version of the file (see
Reducing file sizes on page 23).
Troubleshooting the SMART Notebook software window and toolbar
Issue
When using SMART Notebook software on an interactive whiteboard or display, you or your students can’t reach the toolbar.
Recommendation
Press Move toolbar to top/bottom of window to move the toolbar from the top of the window to the bottom.
T I P
If you have a height-adjustable wall mount, you can also adjust the height of your interactive whiteboard or display so that students can reach it.
151
C H A P T E R 9
Troubleshooting SMART Notebook software
Issue Recommendation
Toolbar buttons described in this documentation don’t appear on the toolbar.
If a down arrow appears on the right side of the toolbar, press it to display additional toolbar buttons.
If your desired button doesn’t appear when you click the down arrow , you or another user might
have removed the button (see Customizing the
Don’t span more than a few buttons across rows to prevent the toolbar from being wider than the
SMART Notebook software window.
There isn’t enough room on your interactive whiteboard or display to display the contents of a page.
The Page Sorter, Gallery, Attachments,
Properties and other tabs disappear whenever you press outside of the tabs.
Press View Screens , and then select Full
Screen to display the page in Full Screen mode.
OR
Select the Auto-hide check box to hide the tabs when not in use.
Press one of the tab’s icons to display it, and then clear the Auto-hide check box.
Two users are creating or manipulating objects in
SMART Notebook software on a SMART Board
800 series interactive whiteboard. One user is using his or her finger. The other user is using a pen from the pen tray.
When the user using the pen presses a button in the toolbar, the selected tool or option changes for the user using his or her finger instead.
The user using the pen must press buttons in the toolbar with the pen, not with his or her finger.
For more information, see Enabling two people to
interactive whiteboard on page 149.
Troubleshooting digital ink
Issue
SMART Notebook software doesn’t recognize handwriting in your language.
You want your handwriting to appear more smooth and natural in SMART Notebook software.
Recommendation
Install the appropriate language pack (see
Setting the language on page 159).
Use the Calligraphic pen type rather than the
Standard pen type (see Writing or drawing digital
N O T E
The Calligraphic pen type is available only if your computer is connected to a SMART interactive product.
152
C H A P T E R 9
Troubleshooting SMART Notebook software
Issue
You’re having trouble writing smoothly in
SMART Notebook software on Windows 7 operating system.
When you write with a pen, SMART Notebook software on Windows 7 operating system interprets your actions as mouse clicks.
Recommendation
The Single Finger Panning feature is turned on.
Turn it off (see smarttech.com/kb/147470 ).
The Flicks feature is turned on. Turn it off (see smarttech.com/kb/144274 ).
Troubleshooting objects
Issue Recommendation
When you create a .notebook file on one computer and then open it on another computer, the objects in the file appear differently.
You want to move, resize or otherwise change an object, but when you do so, you also move, resize or otherwise change other objects.
You want to move, resize or otherwise change an object but can’t. A lock icon appears instead of a menu arrow when you select the object.
There are several possible causes. The following are the most common: l
You used a font that’s installed on one computer but not on the other.
l l
The two computers have different operating systems.
The two computers have different versions of SMART Notebook software.
For more information on these causes and solutions, see smarttech.com/kb/125681 .
The objects are grouped. Any changes you make to one object affect the other objects.
Select the objects, and then select Format >
Grouping > Ungroup to ungroup them. You can then move, resize or otherwise change the individual objects.
For more information, see Grouping objects on page 96.
The object is locked, which prevents you from making changes to it. To unlock the object, select it, press its lock icon , and then select
Unlock.
For more information, see Locking objects on page 89.
153
C H A P T E R 9
Troubleshooting SMART Notebook software
Issue
One object on a page covers another:
Recommendation
As you create objects, newer objects cover older objects automatically if the objects are in the same position on the page.
You can change the order of objects. For more
information, see Rearranging stacked objects on page 88.
You want to change this so that the second object covers the first:
When you fill an object with a picture that is larger than the object, the picture is cut off:
When filling an object with a picture, select
Scale image to fit to resize the picture to fit the object:
Conversely, when you fill an object with a picture that is smaller than the object, the picture is tiled:
For more information, see Changing objects’
Troubleshooting gestures
Issue
The multitouch gestures described in this guide aren’t working in SMART Notebook software.
Recommendation
Ensure that your interactive product supports multitouch gestures and that multitouch gestures are enabled.
154
Appendix A:
Appendix A
Customizing the toolbar
The SMART Notebook software toolbar enables you to select and use a variety of commands and tools. You can customize the toolbar so that it includes the tools you use most frequently.
After adding or removing toolbar buttons, you can restore the default set of toolbar buttons. You can also restore the tools’ default settings if you customized and saved the settings using the Properties
tab (see Saving tool settings on page 85).
g
To add or remove toolbar buttons
1. Click Customize the toolbar .
OR
Right-click the toolbar.
The Customize Toolbar dialog box appears.
2. Press Actions or Tools.
155
A P P E N D I X A
Customizing the toolbar
3. Do the following: o
To add a button to the toolbar, press its icon in the dialog box, and then drag it to the toolbar.
o
To remove a button from the toolbar, press its icon in the toolbar, and then drag it away from the toolbar.
o
To rearrange the buttons, press an icon in the toolbar, and then drag it to a new position in the toolbar.
N O T E S
o
You can only add, remove and rearrange buttons in the panel of the toolbar you selected in step 2. For example, if you pressed Actions in step 2, you can only add, remove and rearrange buttons in the Actions panel.
o
To span a button across rows, drag and hold it between two columns of buttons.
If you’re using a smaller screen resolution, only span one or two buttons across rows to prevent issues when the toolbar is wider than the SMART Notebook software window.
4. Press Done.
g
To restore the default set of toolbar buttons
1. Click Customize the toolbar .
OR
Right-click the toolbar.
The Customize Toolbar dialog box appears.
2. Press Restore Default Toolbar.
156
A P P E N D I X A
Customizing the toolbar g
To restore the tools’ default settings
1. Click Customize the toolbar .
OR
Right-click the toolbar.
The Customize Toolbar dialog box appears.
2. Press Restore Default Tool Properties.
157
Appendix B:
Appendix B
Setting the language
The SMART Language Setup utility enables you to set the language for a specific SMART program or all SMART programs installed on your computer.
g
To set the language
1. Select View > Language Setup.
The Language Setup dialog box appears.
2. Select All Listed Applications in the first drop-down list to set the language for all programs.
OR
Select a program in the first drop-down list to set the language for only that program.
3. Select the appropriate language in the second drop-down list.
N O T E S
o
If appears beside your selected language, the language is installed on your computer.
o
If appears beside your selected language, the SMART Language Setup utility downloads the language from the website after you click OK in step 6.
o
By default, the SMART Language Setup utility uses Internet Explorer Internet browser’s settings to connect to the Internet. However, you can use different settings
by completing the steps under To set the connection options on the next page.
T I P
To display the languages in their native names (for example, Deutsch for German), select the Show native names check box.
159
A P P E N D I X B
Setting the language
4. If you want to use different languages for handwriting recognition and spell checking, select languages in the Handwriting recognition and Spell check drop-down lists.
N O T E
If AUTO appears in the drop-down list, the SMART Language Setup selects your chosen language if available or a similar language if otherwise. If neither option is available, SMART
Language Setup selects the current language.
5. If you want to use a different keyboard layout, select a layout in the Keyboard input language drop-down list.
I M P O R T A N T
The Keyboard input language drop-down list is available only if there’s more than one keyboard layout installed on your computer.
The keyboard layout you select in the Keyboard input language drop-down list applies to both the on-screen keyboard and the keyboard connected to your computer when you use
SMART Notebook software.
In some situations, you might want to select a layout that is different from the layout of the keyboard connected to your computer (for example, to teach a second language). In these situations, the on-screen keyboard works correctly, but the keyboard connected to your computer might not.
For best results, ensure the layout you select is identical to the layout of the keyboard connected to your computer. For example, if an English (U.S.) keyboard is connected to your computer, select English (United States) in this drop-down list.
For information on keyboard layouts, see http://msdn.microsoft.com/enus/goglobal/bb964651 .
6. Click OK.
g
To set the connection options
1. Select View > Language Setup.
The Language Setup dialog box appears.
2. Click Connection Options.
The Connection Options dialog box appears.
160
A P P E N D I X B
Setting the language
3. Select Use Internet Explorer settings.
OR
Select Use other proxy, and then type the host, user name and password in the appropriate boxes.
4. Click OK.
161
Appendix C:
Appendix C
Updating, activating and sending feedback
Updating and activating SMART products
Activating products and viewing product keys
Updating and activating SMART products
SMART periodically releases updates to its software and firmware products. (Firmware is software installed in hardware products like the SMART Board interactive whiteboard.) You can use
SMART Product Update (SPU) to check for and install these updates. In addition, you can activate
SMART software and view product keys.
N O T E
Your computer must have Internet access to use download and activation features.
Updating products
Your system administrator can install SPU in Full mode or Dashboard mode. In Full mode, you can view currently installed versions and product keys, and download and install updates as documented in this section. In Dashboard mode, you can only view currently installed versions and product keys.
g
To check for updates automatically
1. Select Help > Check for Updates and Activation.
OR
Select Start > SMART Technologies > SMART Product Update.
The SMART Product Update window appears.
163
A P P E N D I X C
Updating, activating and sending feedback
2. Select the Check for updates automatically check box, and then type the number of days (up to 60) between SPU checks.
3. Close the SMART Product Update window.
If an update is available the next time SPU checks, the SMART Product Update window appears automatically and the Update button of the affected product is enabled. See the
procedure under To install an update below to install the update.
g
To check for updates manually
1. Select Help > Check for Updates and Activation.
OR
Select Start > SMART Technologies > SMART Product Update.
The SMART Product Update window appears.
2. Click Check Now.
If an update is available for a product, its Update button is enabled.
3. If an update is available, install it following the procedure under To install an update below.
g
To install an update
1. Open the SMART Product Update window as described in the previous procedures.
2. Click the product’s row.
Product details appear. These product details include the installed version’s number and the update’s number, date and download size (if an update is available).
T I P
Click View Release Notes to view a summary of the changes in the update and the computer requirements for the update.
3. Click Update.
4. Follow the on-screen instructions to download and install the update.
I M P O R T A N T
To install updates, you must have full administrator access.
g
To disable automatic checking for updates
1. Select Help > Check for Updates and Activation.
OR
164
A P P E N D I X C
Updating, activating and sending feedback
Select Start > SMART Technologies > SMART Product Update.
The SMART Product Update window appears.
2. Clear the Check for updates automatically check box.
I M P O R T A N T
SMART recommends that you do not clear this check box.
Activating products and viewing product keys
Typically, you activate a product after first installing it. However, in some situations, you activate a product later. For example, you could be evaluating a product before deciding whether to purchase it.
N O T E
Activating SMART Response software 2011 (or later) activates SMART Response hardware and software.
g
To activate a product from its Help menu
1. Select Help > Activate Software.
2. Follow the on-screen instructions to activate the product.
g
To activate a product from SPU
1. Select Help > Check for Updates and Activation.
OR
Select Start > SMART Technologies > SMART Product Update.
The SMART Product Update window appears.
165
A P P E N D I X C
Updating, activating and sending feedback
N O T E
The value in the Status (Days Left) column indicates the status for each product: o
Installed indicates that the product is installed.
o
Activated indicates that the product is installed and activated with a perpetual license.
o
Expiring indicates that the product is installed but not yet activated. The number in parentheses indicates the days remaining in the evaluation period.
o
Expired indicates that the product is installed but not yet activated and that the evaluation period is over. You’re unable to use the software until you activate it.
o
Unknown indicates that the product’s status is unknown.
2. Click Activate in the product’s row.
3. Follow the on-screen instructions to activate the product.
g
To view product keys
1. Select Help > Check for Updates and Activation.
OR
Select Start > SMART Technologies > SMART Product Update.
The SMART Product Update window appears.
2. Select Tools > View Product Keys.
The Product Keys dialog box appears.
3. Click OK when you’re done viewing the product keys.
N O T E
Alternatively, you can view the product keys for a single product by clicking the product’s name in the SMART Product Update window, and then clicking Product Keys.
Sending feedback to SMART
When you start SMART Notebook software for the first time, a dialog box could appear asking whether you want to join the SMART Customer Experience Program. If you choose to join the program, SMART Notebook software sends information to SMART that helps us improve the software for future releases. After starting SMART Notebook software for the first time, you can enable or disable this feature through the Help menu.
You can also send feature request e-mails to SMART.
166
A P P E N D I X C
Updating, activating and sending feedback g
To enable the Customer Experience Program tracking feature
Select Help > Customer Experience Program > Feedback tracking ON.
g
To disable the Customer Experience Program tracking feature
Select Help > Customer Experience Program > Feedback tracking OFF.
g
To send a feature request e-mail
1. Select Help > Customer Experience Program > Submit feature request.
A new e-mail message appears in your default e-mail program.
2. Type your request in the new e-mail message, and then click Send.
167
Index
A
Activity Builder
Adobe Flash Player compatible files
Adobe Flash video files
AIFF files animation arcs arrows
ASF files attachments audio encoders audio files automatic tasks exporting grouping objects saving
AVI files
See sound files
B
backgrounds page
BMP files bold
C
Calligraphy pen type
CFF files check marks circles cloning objects pages compasses
169 content sharing with other teachers using your own
Crayon pen type
Creative pen type crosses
D
default program diamonds digital ink about converting to text erasing writing or drawing document cameras downloads
Dual-User mode
Dual Page view
E
e-mail encoders eraser
Essentials for
Educators exports
F
fading objects files attaching to .notebook files attaching to e-mail messages creating
See Gallery
Essentials
I N D E X
cutting, copying, and pasting content
from displaying in Dual-User mode displaying in Dual Page view displaying in Full Screen view displaying in Transparent Background
mode exporting exporting automatically importing linking to objects opening presenting to students printing reducing size of saving
saving automatically
Flash files
See Adobe Flash files
Flash video files See Adobe Flash video
footers freehand objects
Full Screen view files
See digital ink
G
Gallery adding themes to adding your content to
applying backgrounds and themes from 47
exporting content from finding and using content from importing content to
organizing your content in
Gallery Essentials
Gallery Sampler
See Lesson Activity
Examples
Geodreieck protractors gestures flick grouping next page previous page
170 rotating scaling
GIF files graphics groups object pages
H
See pictures
I
handouts handwriting (converting to text) headers heptagons hexagons highlight
Highlighter pen type
HTML files
See spotlight
images imports
See pictures
Interactive Whiteboard Common File
Format
Internet browsers invisible areas italics
See transparent areas
J
JPEG files
L
languages for handwriting recognition
Lesson Activity Examples
Lesson Activity Toolkit lines links adding to objects
I N D E X
showing
Linux operating systems locked objects
M
Mac OS X operating system software
Magic Pen tool magnification mathematical symbols measurment tools about
compass
Geodreieck protractor protractor rulers
MediaCoder menu arrows
MOV files
MP3 files
MPEG files multimedia files music files
See sound files
See sound files
N
names of files of pages
NOTEBOOK file format
O
objects adding links to adding to tables adding to the Gallery aligning animating clearing all from a page cloning cutting, copying and pasting deleting
171 erasing fading flipping grouping locking moving moving to other pages rearranging resizing resizing (text) rotating selecting setting fill and line style for octagons online resources ovals
P
page numbers pages adding to the Gallery clearing cloning creating deleting displaying displaying in Dual-User mode
displaying in Dual Page view displaying in Full Screen view displaying in Transparent Background
mode extending grouping hiding with Screen Shades linking to objects moving objects between pinning presenting to students printing rearranging recording renaming
I N D E X
setting backgrounds for zooming in and out parallelograms
PDF files attaching to e-mail messages exporting pens
Calligraphy type
Crayon type
Creative type
Highlighter type
Magic
Shape Recognition
Standard type pentagons pictures about creating transparent areas in exporting files to inserting from a scanner inserting from a SMART Document
Camera
inserting from files reducing file sizes of
PNG files polygons
PowerPoint presenting printers protractors
Q
QuickTime files
R
rectangles regular polygons resize handle rulers
S
scanners
Screen Shades set squares shapes
See Geodreieck protractors about creating with the Regular Polygons
tools creating with the Shape Recognition
Pen tool creating with the Shapes tool shortcuts
Single-User mode
SMART Document Cameras
SMART Exchange
SMART Notebook Document Writer
SMART Notebook file format
SMART Notebook Print Capture
sound files spell checker
spotlight squares stacks (of objects) straight lines
SWF files
See Adobe Flash files
T
T-squares See Geodreieck protractors tables about adding cell shades to adding columns, rows or cells to adding objects to
chaning properties for creating moving removing removing cell shades from
removing columns, rows or cells from
selecting
172
I N D E X
splitting or merging cells in teaching text checking spelling of converting handwriting to cutting or copying editing including mathematical symbols in resizing typing themes applying creating thumbnails in printouts in the Page Sorter
TIFF files tips transparent areas
Transparent Background mode trapezoids triangles
U
underline
V
video encoders videos
W
WAV files web browsers web pages widgets
Windows Media files
Windows operating systems
WMF files
Word
See Internet browsers
173
Z
zoom
SMART Technologies smarttech.com/support smarttech.com/contactsupport
ডাউনলোড
বিজ্ঞাপন