Adobe InDesign User Guide
Annonce
Annonce
InDesign:
Further Techniques
1
InDesign
Contents
Contents 2
How to use this user guide 3
Introduction 5
Setting up InDesign 6
Preflight 7
Find/Change 9
Print Booklet 13
“La Jetée”
Exporting your document as a PDF
Crop Marks
Bleed Marks
Process and Spot colours
Creating Spot colours
Creating Process colours
Template file
* Fill the Frame
* Mandala
Appendix
45
47
48
49
16
38
41
42
44
60
71
TIMI(M)
* Supplementary or optional exercises
2
IT Learning Programme
InDesign
How to use this user guide
TIMI(M)
This handbook accompanies the taught sessions for the course. Each section contains a brief overview of a topic for your reference and then one or more exercises.
Exercises are arranged as follows:
• A title and brief overview of the tasks to be carried out;
• A numbered set of tasks, together with a brief description of each;
• A numbered set of detailed steps that will achieve each task.
Some exercises, particularly those within the same section, assume that you have completed earlier exercises. Your teacher will direct you to the location of files that are needed for the exercises. If you have any problems with the text or the exercises, please ask the teacher or one of the demonstrators for help.
This book includes plenty of exercise activities – more than can usually be completed during the hands-on sessions of the course. You should select some to try during the course, while the teacher and demonstrator(s) are around to guide you. Later, you may attend follow-up sessions at ITLP called Computer8, where you can continue work on the exercises, with some support from IT teachers. Other exercises are for you to try on your own, as a reminder or an extension of the work done during the course.
Text conventions
A number of conventions are used to help you to be clear about what you need to do in each step of a task.
• In general, the word press indicates you need to press a key on the keyboard.
Click, choose or select refer to using the mouse and clicking on items on the screen. If you have more than one mouse button, click usually refers to the left button unless stated otherwise.
• Names of keys on the keyboard, for example the Enter (or Return) key are shown like this ENTER.
• Multiple key names linked by a + (for example, CTRL+Z) indicate that the first key should be held down while the remaining keys are pressed; all keys can then be released together.
• Words and commands typed in by the user are shown like this.
• Labels and titles on the screen are shown like this.
• Drop-down menu options are indicated by the name of the options separated by an angle bracket, for example File>Print. In this example you need to select the option Print from the File menu. To do this, click with the mouse button on the File menu name; move the cursor to Print; when Print is highlighted, click the mouse button again.
• A button to be clicked will look like this
• The names of software packages are identified like this, and the names of files to be used like this.
IT Learning Programme
3
InDesign
Software used
InDesign CS6 (version 8.0.1)
Windows XP or Mac OSX
Files used
images folder containing images
Revision information
Version
1.0
Date
May 2011
Author
Carl Wenczek
TIMI(M)
Changes made
Updates for CS5
2.0
2.1
February 2013
May 2013
2.2
October 2014
2.3
May 2015
Carl Wenczek
Carl Wenczek
Carl Wenczek
Carl Wenczek
Update for CS6.
General tidying up of notes, feedback taken into account, additional exercises added, some exercises removed
Exercises rewritten. Correction of errors and typos. Addition of keyboard shortcuts and correction of image outlines.
Correction of minor errors
Reordering of introductory pages
Acknowledgements
All photographs are used with the permission of Carl Wenczek and Born Digital Ltd.
Copyright
Carl Wenczek makes this document and the accompanying PowerPoint presentation available under a Creative Commons licence: Attribution, Non Commercial, No
Derivatives. Individual resources are subject to their own licencing conditions as listed.
Screenshots in this document are copyright of Adobe Systems Incorporated.
The Oxford University logo and crest is copyright of Oxford University and may only be used by Oxford University members in accordance with the University’s branding guidelines.
4
IT Learning Programme
InDesign
TIMI(M)
Introduction
“Adobe InDesign is a page layout application that integrates tightly with both Adobe
Photoshop and Adobe Illustrator. Using Adobe InDesign you can create anything from a simple leaflet through to complex publications such as magazines, newspapers and books.” Shufflebotham, 2000, p.7
Notes
5
IT Learning Programme
InDesign
Setting up InDesign
TIMI(M)
Exercise - Setting up InDesign
The preferences dialogue is accessed from the Edit menu (InDesign menu on an Apple
Mac). It lets you customize many aspects of the way InDesign works.
Preferences include settings such as palette positions, measurement options and display options for graphics and typography.
Open InDesign and set preferences
Steps
1. Open InDesign and set up the menu palettes as per Lecturer’s instructions.
2. Choose Edit (or InDesign)>Preferences>General... This will launch the Preferences dialogue box.
3. From the left-hand menu choose Units & Increments.
4. Set the Units for the Rulers to centimetres.
Notes
6
IT Learning Programme
InDesign
Preflight
TIMI(M)
Exercise - Use the Preflight panel to resolve problems in your document
Before printing a document, you can perform a quality check on the document. Preflight is the industry-standard term for this process. While you edit your document, the Preflight panel warns of problems that can prevent a document or book from printing or outputting as desired. These problems include missing files or fonts, low-resolution images, overset text, and a number of other conditions.
Open an existing document
Steps
Open and examine the Preflight panel
1. Choose File>Open... Choose the file called Postcard Finished.
indd and click Open.
Steps
2. Choose Window>Output>Preflight.
Error categories.
Click on triangles to expand or collapse categories.
Info section. Click on triangle to expand or collapse section.
Error warning icon
7
IT Learning Programme
InDesign TIMI(M)
Use the Preflight panel to resolve a problem in your document
Steps
1. Expand the Info section.
2. Expand the Text error category until it cannot be expanded any further.
3. You should see a blue number 1 to the right of the last list entry in the Text error list (see diagram below).
4. Click on the blue number 1. Two things will happen:
• The text that is at fault in the document will become highlighted.
• Some instructions will appear in the Info section.
5. Use the Type>Find Font... option to find and replace the font.
Fully expand
Text category
Click on blue number
Follow instructions in
Info section
6. Close the document without saving changes.
8
IT Learning Programme
InDesign
Find/Change
TIMI(M)
Exercise - Use the Find/Change function in InDesign
Search for and change specific occurrences of characters, words, groups of words, or text formatted a certain way. You can also search for and replace special characters such as symbols and markers.
Open a document Steps
1. Open the InDesign document called Michaelmas Timetable
2004.indd
Notes
9
IT Learning Programme
InDesign TIMI(M)
Find and Change
Find and Change words
Steps
1. Choose Edit>Find/Change... Enter the word or phrase you want to search for in the Find what: entry field. Enter the text you want to change to in the Change to: entry field.
2. Use the Search: drop-down menu to specify the extent of the Find/change routine. For this exercise we will select
Document so that InDesign searches through the whole document.
3. Select the Whole Word option if you need to ensure that
InDesign finds only instances of complete words. For example, if you search for ‘as’, select the Whole Word option so that the search does not find instances of an a + s pair of characters such as ‘was’, ‘has’, ‘class’.
4. Select the Case Sensitive option when you want to find text that matches exactly the capitalisation used in the Find what: field. For example, if you entered ‘InDesign’ with the Case
Sensitive option selected, the search would not find ‘Indesign’, or ‘inDesign’. Also, when you use the Case Sensitive option, the text you change to matches the exact capitalisation of the text in the Change to: field.
5. When you have made the appropriate selections and entered the find and change text, click the Find or Find Next button.
InDesign moves to the first instance of the text and highlights it, scrolling the publication window if necessary to show the highlighted word.
6. Click the Change button to change that instance only. Click the Find Next button to continue the search.
7. Click the Change/Find button to change the highlighted text and move to the next instance.
8. Click the Change All button to change every instance of the
Find what: text. A Search Complete box indicates how many instances were changed.
Case Sensitive
10
Whole Word
IT Learning Programme
InDesign TIMI(M)
Find and Change attributes such as
Fonts, Font Styles and Font Sizes.
To find and change one Font for another, one Font Style for another or one Font Size for another use Find/Change.
For this exercise the Michaelmas Timetable has been created with a variety of fonts, styles and sizes. You will use the instructions below to replace all instances of bold text with italic text.
Steps
1. Select the Type Tool the text insertion point.
(T). Click into a text frame to place
2. Choose Edit>Find/Change... The Find/Change dialogue box will appear.
3. Locate the section of the dialogue box entitled Find Format:
4. Click in the rectangular area under where it says Find
Format:
5. Choose Basic Character Formats from the left hand column and select Bold from the Font Style: drop-down menu.
6. Click OK.
7. Locate the section of the dialogue box entitled Change
Format:
8. Click in the rectangular area under where it says Change
Format:
9. Choose Basic Character Formats from the left hand column and select Italic from the Font Style: drop-down menu.
10. Click OK.
11. Use the Search: drop-down menu to specify the extent of the Find/change routine. For this exercise we will select
Document so that InDesign searches through the whole document.
12. Select the Whole Word option if you need to ensure that
InDesign finds only instances of complete words.
11
IT Learning Programme
InDesign TIMI(M)
1. When you have made the appropriate selections and entered the Find and Change format settings, click the Find or Find
Next button. InDesign moves to the first instance of the text and highlights it, scrolling the publication window if necessary to show the highlighted word.
2. Click the Change button to change that instance only. Click the Find Next button to continue the search.
3. Click the Change/Find button to change the highlighted text and move to the next instance.
4. Click the Change All button to change every instance of the
Find what: text. A Search Complete box indicates how many instances were changed.
Using the steps described above, please feel free to experiment with finding and replacing fonts and/or font sizes as well.
5. Close the document without saving changes.
Notes
12
IT Learning Programme
InDesign
Print Booklet
TIMI(M)
Exercise - Use the Print Booklet command to print a Facing Pages document
The Print Booklet feature lets you create printer spreads for professional printing. For example, if you’re editing an 8-page booklet, the pages appear in sequential order in the layout window. However, in printer spreads, page 2 is positioned next to page 7, so that when the two pages are printed on the same sheet, folded, and collated, the pages end up in the appropriate order.
Open an InDesign document
Steps
1. Open the InDesign document called Facing Pages.indd.
• This document consists of 8 pages. Each page is A5
• It has been set up using Facing Pages. The left and right pages face each other in a double-page spread.
Left and right pages arranged in a double-page spread
Notes
Each page is A5
When printed, the double-page spread will be printed onto an A4 page and then folded
13
IT Learning Programme
InDesign TIMI(M)
• The pages are laid out in sequential order. This makes it easier to work with the document during the creation and editing process.
Notes
• However, when the document is printed, the pages will need to be arranged as follows:
Front <facing> Back
01 <facing> 06
02 <facing> 05
03 <facing> 04
• The process of rearranging pages into a suitable order for printing is called Imposition. InDesign will do this automatically for you when you use Print Booklet.
14
IT Learning Programme
InDesign
Use the Print
Booklet feature
TIMI(M)
Steps
1. Choose File>Print Booklet...
2. From the top left of the Print Booklet dialogue choose
Preview.eft
3. Then scroll through the pages in the preview window to see how
Print Booklet has reordered the pages.
Select Preview
Notes
Scroll through the previewed pages
15
IT Learning Programme
InDesign
“La Jetée”
TIMI(M)
Exercise - Plan your document
The aim is to put together your own version of a document using the resources provided in the folder called La Jetee.
Guidance and instruction are provided in the following pages. You may need to ask the
Lecturer for advice and guidance and then make your own notes for specific tasks.
For your reference, open the document called La Jetee finished.pdf.
After examining the finished document begin planning how your document will be put together.
Plan your document
Steps
1. Begin by planning some of the following:
• Document set up - page size, facing or non-facing pages, orientation
• Margins
• Columns - will you use columns?
• Layers
• Master pages - what items will be placed on the master pages?
• Document pages - what items will be placed on the document pages?
2. Some ideas are set out on the next page.
Notes
16
IT Learning Programme
InDesign TIMI(M)
Graphic element
17
IT Learning Programme
InDesign TIMI(M)
Exercise - Create a new document
Create a new document
Suggested set up
1. Go to the File menu and choose New>Document... In the
New Document dialogue: a. set the Number of Pages to 1 b. leave the Facing Pages box checked c. set the Paper Size: to A5 d. set the Orientation: to portrait
Margins. Remember to lock or unlock the margins depending on whether you require all the margins to be the same or not.
f. Set the number of Columns and the Gutter.
2. Click the OK button to create your new document.
Please note that it is possible to change these settings later. Choose either File>Document Setup… or Layout>Margins and Columns…
3. Save this document calling it La Jetee 01.
Notes
18
IT Learning Programme
InDesign
Create named layers
Place text
TIMI(M)
Suggested layers
• guides
• title text
• images
• body text
• page numbers
See Appendix for more information on creating, deleting and locking layers.
Steps
1. Select an appropriate layer for the body text.
2. Choose File>Place…
3. Locate the Word file called La Jetee.doc and click Open.
4. Hold down the Shift key. The mouse cursor changes to show the Autoflow symbol . This adds pages and frames until all text is flowed into your document.
5. With the Shift key held down position the Autoflow cursor over the top, left corner of the top and left margins and click with the mouse.
6. The text from the La Jetee Word document will be placed into the InDesign document. The text flows into the frame, then automatically generates new pages to accommodate all the text in the file. InDesign stops adding pages when there is no more text to place.
Steps Optional Task
If you need to move the text on to the correct layer...
1. Using the Selection Tool (V, escape) select a text frame.
2. A layer will become targeted and a small coloured square (the same colour as the layer) will appear to the right of the pen icon on the targeted layer. Your text will also now display a coloured text frame which corresponds to the selected layer.
3. Click and drag the small coloured square from the targeted layer to the body text layer. Repeat until all of the text frames are on the correct layer.
19
IT Learning Programme
InDesign TIMI(M)
Exercise - Editing text
Setting type is an essential discipline in creating attractive, balanced and easily readable publications that transmit their message effectively. Understanding and controlling the
Character and Paragraph setting options will help you achieve this goal.
Edit the text...
Steps
...for the title
1. Select the Type Tool
1. Select the title La Jetee.
(T).
2. Using the Character panel (Window>Type &
Tables>Character) change the font attributes e.g. choose a different Font, Style and Size.
...for the end note
1. Select the end note J. G. Ballard - New Worlds 1966.
...for the main body text
2. Using the Character panel (Window>Type &
Tables>Character) change the font attributes e.g. choose a different Font, Style and Size.
1. Select the main body of the text (you may need to Zoom Out to see all of the text across all of the pages).
2. Using the Paragraph panel (Window>Type &
Tables>Paragraph) change the paragraph attributes e.g. choose a different alignment.
Notes
20
IT Learning Programme
InDesign TIMI(M)
Exercise - Create a new Paragraph Style
In this exercise you will create a new Paragraph Style for the paragraph headings. This new
Paragraph Style will be used later to create a Table of Contents.
Identify the paragraph titles
There should be five paragraph titles in the document:
• The film
• The jetty
Edit the text
• Years later
• Paris
• Finesse
Steps
1. Select the Type Tool (T).
2. Select one of the paragraph titles and change the Character and
Paragraph attributes of the text e.g. Font, Size, Style, Alignment and Drop Caps.
3. If you want to drop the capital by a given number of lines adjust the Drop Cap Number of Lines field in the Paragraph panel.
Effect of dropping the capitals by two lines
Drop Cap field
Notes
21
IT Learning Programme
InDesign TIMI(M)
Turn your selected paragraph title text into a new
Paragraph Style
Steps
1. Ensure your paragraph title text is selected.
2. From the Paragraph Styles (Window>Styles>Paragraph
Styles) panel menu choose New Paragraph Style...
Apply your new
Paragraph Style to the other paragraph titles
3. Give your new Paragraph Style a name and click OK.
Steps
1. Using the Type Tool (T) select another of the five paragraph titles.
2. Click on your new Paragraph Style in the Paragraph Style panel.
3. The Paragraph Style will be applied to the text.
4. Repeat for the other paragraph titles.
Click on your new
Paragraph Style to apply it to selected text
The Paragraph Style you have just created will be used in the next exercise to set up a Table of Contents
Notes
22
IT Learning Programme
InDesign TIMI(M)
Exercise - Create a Table of Contents (TOC)
In this exercise you will create a TOC which draws its information from the Paragraph Style you created for the paragraph titles.
For more information on TOCs visit http://help.adobe.com/en_US/indesign/cs/using/
WS49FB9AF6-38AB-42fb-B056-8DACE18DDF63a.html
Preparation Steps
Create a Table of
Contents
1. Ensure all five of the paragraph titles are using the same, new
Paragraph Style you created earlier.
2. Add a new page either at the beginning or the end of your document to hold the table of contents.
3. To insert a new page choose Layout>Pages>Insert Pages...
Steps
1. Go to the new page you created in the task above.
2. Choose Layout>Table of Contents...
3. Set up as per image below.
Leave the title blank
Choose your paragraph title style and click
<<Add
Choose the TOC
Body Text style
Notes
23
IT Learning Programme
InDesign
Place your TOC Steps
1. Click OK.
2. Your cursor will change to the loaded text cursor.
3. Click on your page to place the TOC.
TIMI(M)
The TOC Body Text style appears in the Paragraph
Styles panel. You can edit this by double-clicking on it.
Your TOC should look something like this. You will need to edit the TOC Body
Text style so align the page numbers.
Edit the TOC Body
Text style
Steps
1. Notice how the page numbers in your TOC do not line up neatly. You can amend this by editing the TOC Body Text style that has appeared in your Paragraph Styles panel.
2. Double-click on the TOC Body Text style in the Paragraph
Styles panel.
3. This will open the Paragraph Styles Options dialogue box.
4. From the menu on the left choose Indents and Spacing.
5. Set Alignment: to Right.
6. Click OK.
7. The numbers will now be aligned to the right side of the frame.
8. You can resize the frame using the Selection Tool (V, escape).
If you make any changes and need to update the TOC first select the frame containing the
TOC with the Selection Tool and then choose Layout>Update Table of Contents.
Notes
24
IT Learning Programme
InDesign TIMI(M)
Exercise - Editing and adding items to the master page
Master Pages bring uniformity to the repeating elements in documents consisting of more than a few pages. Typical master page elements include automatic page numbering, date lines, headers and footers and graphic elements.
Suggested elements to place on the master pages are set out below.
graphic element
T
La Jetée
This strange and poetic film, directed by Chris
Marker, is a fusion of science fiction, psychological fable and photomontage, and creates in its unique way a series of potent images of the inner landscapes of time.
Apart from a brief three-second sequence - a young woman’s hesitant smile, a moment of extraordinary poignancy, like a fragment of a child’s dream - the thirty minute film is composed entirely of still photographs. Yet this succession of disconnected images is a perfect means of projecting the quantified memories and movements through time that are the film’s subject matter.
T he jetty
The jetty of the title is the main observation platform at Orly Airport. The long pier reaches out across the concrete no-man’s-land, the departure point for other worlds. Giant jets
rest on the apron beside the pier, metallic ciphers whose streamlining is a code for their passage
through time.
The light is powdery. The spectators on the observation platform have the appearance of mannequins.
The hero is a small boy, visiting the airport with his parents. Suddenly there is a fragmented glimpse of a man falling. An accident has occurred, but while everyone is running to the dead man the small boy is looking instead at the face of a young woman by the rail. Something about this face, its expression of
1
watermark title guides automatic page numbers
IT Learning Programme
25
InDesign TIMI(M)
Exercise - add guides to the Master pages
Locate the Master page using the
Pages panel
Steps
1. Select the Pages panel (Window>Pages).
2. Select the default master page by double-clicking on the word
A-Master.
You may see a double-page spread which is set up for facing pages
(if you chose facing pages when you first set up the new document).
Double-click here to select the A-Master pages
Add guides to the master page
Steps
1. Select an appropriate layer on which to place your guides.
2. Create a series of horizontal and vertical guides to help you line up elements on the master pages e.g. to help line up the page numbers, the watermark title and any graphic elements (see the diagram on the previous page).
Control menu showing X and Y positions of vertical and horizontal guides respectively
Click and drag from the horizontal ruler to create a horizontal guide
Click and drag from the vertical ruler to create a vertical guide
Notes
26
IT Learning Programme
InDesign
Hints
To help you set up the guides and using them afterwards...
TIMI(M)
When having to set up guides on both pages of a Facing Pages
Master page spread you may find it useful to change the ruler
zero point. The zero point is the position at which the zeros on the horizontal and vertical rulers intersect. By default, the zero point is at the top left corner of the first page of each spread.
Steps
1. Ensure Snap to Guides is activated (View>Snap to
Guides).
2. Locate the zero point (see image below)
3. Click and drag the zero point to the top left hand corner of the right hand Master page. The zero point on the rulers will now be reset to correspond with the top left corner of the second page.
Hints
Drag horizontal guides into the pasteboard
Notes
Steps
1. When creating horizontal guides, drag them into the pasteboard so that they span both pages of a Facing Pages Master page spread.
27
IT Learning Programme
InDesign TIMI(M)
Exercise - add a watermark title to the master pages
Add a title to the master pages
1. Select an approprate layer.
2. Ensure Snap to Guides is enabled.
3. Create a text frame by clicking and dragging with the Type
Tool (T). You can resize and reposition the text frame later using the Selection Tool (V, escape).
4. Type some text e.g. La Jeteé.
Edit the text
Change the opacity of the title text
5. To locate the é go to Type>Glyphs. Using the Glyphs panel locate the correct character and double click to insert it.
1. Select the text with the Type Tool and adjust using the
Paragraph and Character panels e.g. Alignment, Font, Size,
Style and Tracking
Steps
1. Select the text frame by clicking on it with the Selection Tool
(V, escape).
2. Go to Window>Effects to show the Effects panel.
3. Change the Opacity.
Notes
28
IT Learning Programme
InDesign TIMI(M)
If you are using
Facing Pages, copy the text so that it is on both pages of the Master page spread
Steps
1. Select the text frame you have just created by clicking on it with the Selection Tool (V, escape).
2. Choose Edit>Copy to make a copy of the frame.
3. Choose Edit>Paste to paste the copied frame.
4. Ensure the Selection Tool is still selected.
5. Position the mouse cursor in the middle of the pasted text and click and drag it into position on the second (right hand) page of the Master page spread.
Double-click on the page 1 thumbnail to select and view page 1
6. Return to page 1 to see the results of the changes you have made to the A-Master page. If you try selecting any of the elements you created on the Master Page you will notice that you are unable to do so. These items are only selectable and editable from the A-Master page.
Notes
29
IT Learning Programme
InDesign TIMI(M)
Exercise - Page numbers: inserting Special Characters into the Master page
InDesign makes it easy to insert special characters such as Page Numbers and bullets amongst others.
Automatic page numbering is useful in multi-page publications which need to have sequential page numbering. Set up automatic page numbering on a Master Page to automatically number publications pages based on that master.
Add automatic page numbers to the Master Page
Steps
1. Return to your A-Master page.
2. Double-click the Master Page icon in the Pages panel
(Window>Pages) The icon highlights, indicating that you are now working on the Master page:
Change the appearance of the page number
3. Select an appropriate layer.
4. Create a text frame by clicking and dragging with the Type
Tool (T).
5. You can resize and reposition the text frame later using the
Selection Tool (V, escape).
6. Go to Type>Insert Special Character>Markers>Current
Page Number.
7. This will insert a page number in the text frame. It should appear as the letter “A”. This is the automatic page number symbol for A-Master pages.
1. Highlight and format the ‘A’ as you would for any other text character. You could add a prefix such as ‘page’ or a suffix such as ‘ of 20’ as necessary either before or after the automatic page number symbol.
2. Select the page number frame using the Selection Tool and change the opacity to 20%.
Notes
30
IT Learning Programme
InDesign
Copy the page number to the second (right hand) page of the Master page spread
TIMI(M)
If you are setting up a double-sided publication, remember to set up automatic page numbering on both the left and right hand pages of the Master page spread.
Steps
1. Select the text frame containing the page number by clicking on it with the Selection Tool.
2. Choose Edit>Copy to make a copy of the frame.
3. Choose Edit>Paste to paste the copied frame.
4. Ensure the Selection Tool is still selected.
5. Position the mouse cursor in the middle of the pasted frame and click and drag it into position on the second (right hand) page of the Master page spread.
6. Return to page 1 to see the results of the changes you have made to the A-Master page. If you try selecting any of the elements you created on the Master Page you will notice that you are unable to do so. These items are only selectable and editable from the A-Master page.
Notes
31
IT Learning Programme
InDesign
Supplementary notes - Further work with Master Pages
TIMI(M)
The Pages panel (see image above): Use the Pages panel to move from page to page; go to master pages; and add and delete both document and master pages. Choose Window>Pages if the
Pages panel is not already showing.
Selecting Spreads/Pages: Double-click a page icon to select and target it. The page is centred in the document window. To select a spread double click once on the page numbers for the spread in the Pages panel. The spread is centred in the document window.
A selected page or spread is indicated by a highlighted icon and highlighted page numbers.
Select a page or spread when you want to change settings such as margin or column settings and guides on a particular spread (i.e. settings which affect the page rather than objects on the page.)
32
IT Learning Programme
InDesign
Click and drag a Master
Page over a page to apply the Master Page
Click and drag a Master
Page over the Create new page button to duplicate it
TIMI(M)
Appling Master Pages: Use the Pages panel to apply master pages to publication pages. You can also apply a new master page to pages which are currently based on a different master page.
For example, you can convert a page based on an A-master to a
B-master.
Pages panel menu
• To reapply the same master page or a different master, choose
Apply Master to Pages… from the Pages pop-up menu. Specify the master you want to apply from the Apply Master: drop down menu. Enter the page or page range to which you want to apply the master. Click OK.
• To apply a master to a single page, drag the Master name onto the page icon in the document area of the Pages panel. Release when the page icon highlights with a black frame.
• To apply a Master to a spread, drag the name below the Master onto the page numbers of a spread in the document area.
Release when the spread highlights with a black frame.
• To remove Master page objects from a document page, apply the None master. None is a default master created when you create a new document.
33
IT Learning Programme
InDesign TIMI(M)
Exercise - adding images to your document
The image in a frame and the frame itself can be worked on independently of each other.
This is useful when you need to enlarge the image whilst maintaining the size and position of the frame. You can reposition the image relative to the frame to control which part of the image appears on your page and prints.
Insert an image Steps
Resizing an image using the Control panel
1. Choose a page.
2. Select an appropriate layer in which to place your images.
3. Choose File>Place... See Appendix for information on
Placing images.
4. Locate one of the images in the La Jetee folder and click Open.
5. Position the loaded graphics icon roughly where you want the image to be placed and click with the mouse to position the image.
You can resize an image by typing in precise scale values in the
Control panel at the top of the screen. Make sure your image is selected first!
Sorting out image frame issues
If you accidentally resize an image frame so that the image no longer fits in the frame correctly, you can refit the image frame to the image as follows:
Steps
1. Ensure the image frame is selected.
2. Go to Object>Fitting>Fit frame to content. The frame will now fit the image precisely.
Notes
34
IT Learning Programme
InDesign TIMI(M)
Cropping an image
Steps
1. Select an image with the Selection Tool .
2. Position the Selection Tool over one of the sides of the image frame, over the little handle in the middle of the side. A double headed arrow should appear.
3. Click and drag the frame either left or right. This will have the effect of cropping the image:
Position the Selection Tool over the handle in the middle of the side. Click and drag to the right to crop the image
Before
Notes
After
4. When you are satisfied with the results of resizing and cropping an image we can now wrap the text around the image.
35
IT Learning Programme
InDesign TIMI(M)
Exercise - Wrapping the text around your images
Controlling text wrap becomes necessary when you start to combine text frames and picture frames in a publication, particularly when they overlap each other.
Wrapping text around an image
To wrap text around a picture frame you will need to select the picture frame. (It does not matter whether the picture frame is in front or behind the text frame.)
You can also apply text wrap to a selected text frame. This can be useful for such things as pull quotes where text frames overlap other text frames.
Steps
1. Ensure an image is selected.
2. Go to Window>Text Wrap to show the Text Wrap panel.
3. From the Text Wrap panel choose the Wrap around
bounding box option:
4. You will also see that you have the option to set offset values for the Top, Bottom, Left and Right hand sides of the text wrap.
These control how far text is pushed away from the various edges of the frame. Set all four values to 0.5 cm.
This creates space around the image so that the text does not wrap tight up to the edges of the image. A faint blue standoff border
(with hollow corner handles) appears around the frame to visually indicate the text wrap area.
Before offsetting the text wrap
36
After offsetting the text wrap
IT Learning Programme
InDesign TIMI(M)
Repositioning an image
Steps
Inserting another image
1. Use the Selection Tool selected.
and ensure the image frame is
2. Position the Selection Tool inside the image frame and click and drag to reposition. You can also use the arrow keys to move the image in smaller increments for fine positioning.
You will notice that the text wrap adapts as the image is moved around.
Try inserting another image onto another page.
Steps
1. First make sure nothing else is selected. If another frame is selected and you Place an image, it will place the image into the selected frame, replacing what was already there.
2. Follow the previous tasks to insert, resize, position and wrap text around the image.
Notes
37
IT Learning Programme
InDesign
Exporting your document as a PDF
TIMI(M)
Exercise - Save your document and then export as a PDF
You can export your InDesign document in PDF (Portable Document Format). InDesign offers the option to use presets for high resolution printing or for viewing using Acrobat
Reader or Web browsers.
The advantage of using PDF is that it preserves the layout and content of your original
InDesign document without your audience needing to have access to InDesign. PDFs can also have small file sizes and are cross platform compatible.
Steps Save your document and then export as a
1. Use the La Jetee document you have been working on.
2. Choose File>Export... Choose Adobe PDF (Print) from the
Save as type: field.
3. Specify where you want to save the file and give the file a name.
Click Save.
4. Next you will see the Export PDF dialogue box.
Optional - embedding or subsetting fonts
5. Choose a Preset. These are explained in the following pages.
Steps
1. Click on the Advanced tab of the PDF export options window.
Change the percentage in the Subset fonts when percent of
characters used is less than: number field to:
• 0 to embed the entire font in your exported PDF document.
• 100 to subset the font in your exported PDF document.
6. Click Export to export the document as a PDF.
Notes
38
IT Learning Programme
InDesign
PDF preset definitions
TIMI(M)
• High Quality Print
High Quality Print Creates PDFs for quality printing on desktop printers and proofing devices. This preset uses PDF
1.4, downsamples colour and grayscale images to 300 ppi and monochrome images to 1200 ppi, embeds subsets of all fonts, leaves colour unchanged, and does not flatten transparency (for file types capable of transparency). These PDFs can be opened in
Acrobat 5.0 and Acrobat Reader 5.0 and later. In InDesign, this preset also creates tagged PDFs.
• Press Quality
Creates PDF files for high-quality print production (for example, for digital printing or for separations to an imagesetter or platesetter). In this case, the quality of the content is the highest consideration. The objective is to maintain all the information in a
PDF file that a commercial printer or print service provider needs in order to print the document correctly.
• Smallest File Size
Creates PDF files for displaying on the web or an intranet, or for distribution through an e mail system. This set of options uses compression, downsampling, and a relatively low image resolution.
Notes
39
IT Learning Programme
InDesign
PDF preset definitions
TIMI(M)
PDF/X standards:
To reduce printing errors and enable the successful exchange of files, Adobe worked with other vendors and professional users to develop the PDF/X standards - a family of ISO standards which are a subset of PDF designed for print workflows. Many printers are encouraging their customers to use PDF/X. They’re also a good choice if you’re not sure what your printer wants.
• PDF/X-1a (2001 and 2003)
PDF/X-1a requires all fonts to be embedded, the appropriate marks and bleeds to be specified, and colour to appear as CMYK, spot colors, or both. PDF files created with PDF/X-1a compliance can be opened in Acrobat 4.0 and Acrobat Reader 4.0 and later.
• PDF/X-3
The PDF created in this setting can be opened in Acrobat 4.0 and
Acrobat Reader 4.0 or later.
• PDF/X-4 (2008)
This preset supports live transparency (transparency is not flattened) and ICC colour management. Images are downsampled and compressed and fonts are embedded.
Adobe recommends PDF/X-4:2008 as the optimal PDF file format for reliable PDF print publishing workflows
Notes
40
IT Learning Programme
InDesign
Crop Marks
TIMI(M)
Exercise - Add Crop Marks
When you prepare a document for printing, a number of marks can be used to help the printer.
Crop Marks add fine horizontal and vertical rules that define where the page should be trimmed.
Open an existing document
Steps
Add Crop Marks to a PDF
1. Choose File>Open... Choose the file called Business Card.
indd and click Open.
Steps
1. Choose File>Export...
2. From the Save as type: field choose Adobe PDF (Print) and click Save.
Further information
3. The Export Adobe PDF dialogue box will open.
4. From the options on the left hand side of the dialogue box choose Marks and Bleeds.
5. Tick the Crop Marks box and click on Export.
6. Open the PDF you have just created to see the Crop Marks.
1. Choose File>Print...
2. The Print dialogue box will open
Add Crop Marks to a print
3. From the options on the left hand side of the dialogue box choose Marks and Bleed.
4. Tick the Crop Marks.
5. If the computer was connected to a printer you would then click the Print button and the document would print with the Crop
Marks.
6. Press Cancel.
Notes
IT Learning Programme
41
InDesign
Bleed Marks
TIMI(M)
Exercise - Add Bleed Marks to your document
Bleed Marks add fine rules that define the amount of extra area to image outside the defined page size.
If any element on your document layout makes contact with the document border you will have to use bleed. Place the element so that it overlaps the border where the document will be cropped after printing.
The term bleed is used for all objects overlapping the border of your document. If you are working on a brochure with images against the sides of your pages you will need to supply the printer with a document somewhat larger then the final document will be.
After the brochure is printed it will be cropped to its correct size. The bleed in your document gives the cropping some room for error. The paper itself can expand or contract, the cropping machine could be setup wrong or the person working on the brochure could make a mistake. There are a lot of factors that could go wrong with the cropping, if you weren’t using bleed the images wouldn’t be neatly aligned with the side of your printed document.
The standard measurement for bleed is 3mm in Europe.
Open an existing document
Steps
1. Open the file called Business Card.indd
Create Bleed
Marks
Steps
1. Choose File>Document Setup... Click More Options.
2. Enter a 3mm Bleed all around the document and Click OK.
3. Your document will now have a red rectangle around it just outside of the document edges. This shows you the extent of the Bleed area.
Notes
42
IT Learning Programme
InDesign TIMI(M)
Create a colour rectangle overlapping the document border into the Bleed area
Steps
1. Select the Rectangle Tool (M).
2. Choose a Fill colour and ensure Stroke is set to None.
3. Ensure Snap to Guides is selected.
4. Click and drag to create a colour rectangle at the bottom of the business card. Ensure the rectangle has snapped to the bleed area where appropriate.
Document border
Bleed Mark
Add Bleed Marks to a PDF
Coloured rectangle overlaps the document border and snaps to edges of bleed area
Steps
1. Choose File>Export...
2. From the Save as type: field choose Adobe PDF (Print) and click Save.
3. The Export Adobe PDF dialogue box will open.
4. From the options on the left hand side of the dialogue box choose Marks and Bleeds.
Tick the Crop Marks, Bleed Marks and Use Document Bleed
Settings boxes and click on Export.
5. Open the PDF you have just created to see the Crop Marks and
Bleed Marks.
43
IT Learning Programme
InDesign
Process and Spot colours
TIMI(M)
Exercise - Creating Spot and Process colours
Spot colour printing creates brighter, more vibrant results, but with a smaller colour range. When printing in single (spot) colours, a single colour ink (normally with a Pantone reference number) is applied to the printing press roller. If there is just one colour to be printed, there will be a single plate, and a single run of the press. If there are two colours, there will be two plates and two runs, and so on. The colours are layered onto the paper one by one.
Spot colour printing would be typically used for jobs which require no full colour imagery, such as for business cards and other stationery, or in monotone (or duotone etc) literature such as black and white newspaper print.
4 colour process printing involves the use of four plates: Cyan, Magenta, Yellow and
Keyline (Black). The CMYK artwork (which you will have supplied) is separated into these four colours – one plate per colour. The four CMYK inks are applied one by one to four different rollers and the paper or card (‘stock’) is then fed through the printing press. The colours are applied to the stock one by one, and out comes the full colour (4 colour process) result.
Create a new document
Steps
1. Go to the File menu and choose New>Document... In the
New Document dialogue:
• set the Number of Pages to 1
• leave the Facing Pages box checked
• set the Paper Size: to A4
• set the Orientation: to portrait
• leave all other settings as default and click OK
Save this document calling it Colours 01.
Notes
44
IT Learning Programme
InDesign
Creating Spot colours
TIMI(M)
Exercise - Create a new Spot colour
A spot colour is a special premixed ink that is used instead of, or in addition to, process inks, and that requires its own printing plate on a printing press. Use spot colour when few colours are specified and colour accuracy is critical. Spot colour inks can accurately reproduce colours that are outside the gamut of process colours. However, the exact appearance of the printed spot colour is determined by the combination of the ink as mixed by the commercial printer and the paper it’s printed on.
Keep the following guidelines in mind when specifying a spot colour:
For best results in printed documents, specify a spot colour from a colour-matching system supported by your commercial printer. Several colour-matching system libraries are included with the software (e.g. Pantone).
Minimize the number of spot colours you use. Each spot colour you create will generate an additional spot colour printing plate for a printing press, increasing your printing costs.
If you think you might require more than four colours, consider printing your document using process colours.
Open the Swatches panel
Steps
1. Open the Swatches panel (Window>Colour>Swatches).
2. From the panel menu choose New Colour Swatch...
Click here for the panel menu
45
IT Learning Programme
InDesign
Create a new colour swatch
TIMI(M)
Steps
1. The New Colour Swatch dialogue will open.
2. Choose the setting and colour as shown in the diagram below.
Choose Spot Choose PANTONE solid uncoated
Choose a colour from the list
3. Click OK.
4. Your new Spot colour will appear in the Swatches panel.
New colour in the
Swatches panel
46
This symbol indicates a Spot colour
IT Learning Programme
InDesign
Creating Process colours
TIMI(M)
Exercise - Create a new Process colour
This method of achieving colour in printing is referred to as CMYK, four–colour process,
4/c process or even just process. To reproduce a colour image, a file is separated into four different colours: Cyan (C), Magenta (M), Yellow (Y) and Black (K).
During separation, screen tints comprised of small dots are applied at different angles to each of the four colours. The screened separations are then transferred to four different printing plates, one for each colour, and run on a printing press with one colour overprinting the next. The composite image fools the naked eye with the illusion of continuous tone.
Process colours are represented as percentages of cyan, magenta, yellow and black. Varying the percentages offers thousands of colour possibilities. When four-colour process printing is used to reproduce photographs, decorative elements such as borders and graphics can be created out of process colours. This helps to avoid the added expense of an extra plate needed to print each spot colour. Please refer to the Appendix for further information.
Task Steps
Create a new
Process colour
1. Repeat the steps set out in the previous exercise for creating a Spot colour but this time, from the New Colour Swatch dialogue, choose:
• Process from the Colour Type: field
• PANTONE+ CMYK uncoated from the Colour Mode: field
2. Choose a colour and click OK.
3. Your new Process colour will appear in the Swatches panel.
This symbol indicates a
Process colour
New colour in the swatches panel
Notes
IT Learning Programme
47
InDesign
Template file
TIMI(M)
Exercise - Create a new Process colour
Templates are useful starting points for standard documents because you can preset them with layout, graphics, and text. For example, if you prepare a monthly magazine, you can create a template that contains the layout of a typical issue, including ruler guides, grids, master pages, custom styles and swatches, placeholder frames, layers, and any standard graphics or text. That way you can simply open the template each month and import new content.
You create a template the same way you create a regular document; the only difference occurs when you save the document. When you prepare a template for others to use, you may want to add a layer containing instructions about the template; hide or delete the layer before printing the document.
Steps Save your document as a template (.indt) file
1. Continue using the Colours 01 document.
2. Choose File>Save As...
3. Give your file a new name e.g. Colours Template.
Open your template file
4. From the Save as type drop down menu choose InDesign CS6
template.
5. Ensure you know where the document is being saved as you will need to open it in the next task.
6. Click Save.
Steps
1. Open your template file.
2. You should notice that it opens with the name “Untitled-1”.
The reason it opens with the name Untitled is to prevent you from accidentally overwriting the original template file.
Notes
48
IT Learning Programme
InDesign
* Fill the Frame
TIMI(M)
Exercise - Create a new document
This exercise introduces you to character and paragraph settings in InDesign:
As soon as you start working with text you will want to start making changes.
Setting type is an essential discipline in creating attractive, balanced and easily readable publications that transmit their message effectively. Understanding and controlling the
Character and Paragraph settings options will help you achieve this goal.
Reference file
Create a new document
For your reference open Fill the Frame finished.pdf.
Steps
1. Go to the File menu and choose New>Document... In the
New Document dialogue:
Create 2 named layers
a. set the Number of Pages to 1 b. leave the Facing Pages box checked c. set the Paper Size: to A4 d. set the Orientation: to Portrait e. set all Margins to 2 cm f. set the number of Columns to 2 and set Gutter to 10 cm
2. Click the OK button to create your new document.
Please note that it is possible to change these settings later. Choose either File>Document Setup… or Layout>Margins and
Columns…
3. Save this document calling it Fill the Frame 01.
You will need to create 2 layers. These will be in the following order with the following names:
• Guides
• Frame and Text
Notes
49
IT Learning Programme
InDesign TIMI(M)
Exercise - Create Guides
Create guides
In addition to the margin and column guides that define each page, you can build a framework of guides that help you position and align objects precisely.
Guides can be positioned freely on a page or on a pasteboard.
Guides are displayed or hidden with the layer on which they were created.
Steps
1. Turn on the rulers, choose View>Show Rulers (Ctrl/
Cmd+r).
2. Position the mouse pointer inside a horizontal or vertical ruler and then drag to the desired location on the document.
3. To create the top guide position the mouse pointer inside the top or horizontal ruler and click and drag down into the document.
4. You will now see a horizontal guide spanning your document.
Control menu showing X and Y positions of vertical and horizontal guides respectively
Click and drag from the horizontal ruler to create a horizontal guide
Click and drag from the vertical ruler to create a vertical guide
Notes
50
IT Learning Programme
InDesign
Position guides precisely
TIMI(M)
Steps
1. Ensure the guide is selected by selecting the Selection Tool
(V or Escape) and clicking on it. When it is selected a dot will appear in the Guides layer to the right of the pen icon .
2. The Control panel will display a Y: value in cm indicating the position of the guide line on the Y or vertical axis.
3. Select the value and change it to 8 cm. This guide is the Top guide.
4. This guide line will have been created on the Guides layer. You can check this by clicking the square at the far left of a layer name to hide or show the eye icon and thus hide or display the layer and its contents.
5. When the Guides layer is hidden the guide line should disappear.
6. Ensure the Guides layer is visible, and unlocked.
Notes
51
IT Learning Programme
InDesign TIMI(M)
Exercise - Place and edit text
Place text
There is a range of techniques for entering text into an InDesign publication. You can either enter text directly into a text frame using the keyboard, paste text into a text frame, or import a text file prepared in a word processing package into a text frame.
Steps
1. Unlock the Frame and Text layer.
2. Ensure the Frame and Text layer is targeted.
3. Choose View>Grids & Guides>Snap to Guides and make sure that the command is ticked.
4. Select the Rectangle Frame Tool (F).
5. Position the mouse pointer exactly where the top guide line intersects the left hand column line. The pointers appearance will change to show a small arrow in the bottom right of the cross. This indicates that it has found the corner and will snap to it.
6. Click once with the left mouse button. A dialogue box will appear.
7. Enter the following values, Width: 10 cm, Height: 14 cm and press OK.
8. Choose File>Place… Select the file called Fill the Frame.doc and click Open.
9. The text from the Fill the Frame document will be placed into the text frame.
Notes
52
IT Learning Programme
InDesign
Edit the text
TIMI(M)
Setting type is an essential discipline in creating attractive, balanced and easily readable publications that transmit their message effectively. Understanding and controlling Character and
Paragraph settings will help you achieve this goal.
Steps Set the following paragraph attributes
1. Select the Type Tool (T).
2. Place the mouse cursor at the start of the text and click and drag down and to the right to select all of the text as you would do in any word processing application.
3. Ensure that both the Paragraph and the Character panels are visible.
4. If not, go to Window>Type & Tables>Character and
Window>Type & Tables>Paragraph.
5. Set the following Paragraph attributes:
Justify all lines
Check or uncheck the
Hyphenate box to turn hyphenation on or off
Notes
53
IT Learning Programme
InDesign
Set the following character attributes
TIMI(M)
Steps
1. Set the following Character attributes:
For the Title
2. Set the Font to Times New Roman, Font Size to 32 pt, Font
Style to Bold and the Kerning to Optical
For the main body of text
3. Set the Font to Times New Roman, Font Size to 12 pt, Font
Style to Regular and the Kerning to Optical
Font
Size
Style
Kerning
Kerning controls the space between letters. If you want to know more visit this web page: http://designshack.net/articles/
typography/8-simple-and-useful-tips-for-kerning-type/
or
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kerning
Notes
54
IT Learning Programme
InDesign TIMI(M)
Exercise - Working with Paragraph and Character Styles
Create a paragraph style
A character style is a collection of character formatting attributes that can be applied to text in a single step.
A paragraph style includes both character and paragraph formatting attributes, and can be applied to a paragraph or range of paragraphs.
When you change the formatting of a style, all text to which the style has been applied will be updated with the new format.
Steps
1. Select the Type Tool
2. Select the title text.
(T).
3. Locate the Paragraph Styles panel.
4. If it is not showing go to Window>Styles>Paragraph
Styles.
5. From the Paragraph Styles panel menu choose New
Paragraph Style…
Apply your paragraph styles
6. The New Paragraph Style dialogue box will appear. Type the name title for the style on the Style Name: field and click OK.
7. Your new style will appear in the list of styles in the Paragraph
Styles panel.
8. If you want to edit the style you have just created, select it and choose Style Options… from the Paragraph Styles panel menu.
9. Repeat the process for the body text. Use the Type Tool to select the body text and create a new paragraph style called
body text.
Now you have created two paragraph styles based on the title and the body text have a go at applying them.
10. Select the body text with the Type Tool and then click once on your title style from the list in the Paragraph Styles panel.
This will apply the title style to the body text.
11. To finish, ensure your title is using the title style and the body text is using the body text style.
55
IT Learning Programme
InDesign TIMI(M)
Create a character style
Unlike paragraph styles, character styles do not include all the formatting attributes of selected text. When you apply a character style to text it changes only some attributes, such as the font family and size, ignoring all other character attributes. If you want other attributes to be part of the style, add them when editing the style.
Steps
1. Ensure the Character Styles panel is showing.
2. If not, choose Window>Styles>Character Styles.
3. From the Character Styles panel menu choose New
Character Style…
Notes
4. The New Character Style dialogue box will appear. Type the name informal for the style on the Style Name:
5. From list on the left hand side of the dialogue choose Basic
Character Formats.
6. Choose the following:
• Comic Sans for the Font Family:
• Regular for the Font Style:
• 12 pt for the Size:
7. Click OK.
8. Your new Character Style will appear in the list in the Character
Styles panel.
56
IT Learning Programme
InDesign
Apply your character styles
TIMI(M)
Steps
1. Using the Type Tool (T) select the body text.
2. Click once on the informal style you have just created.
3. The body text will change to the new style.
4. The text may not fit in the frame. The out-port in the bottom right hand corner of the frame may turn red with a red cross in it.
5. We will now edit the informal style.
6. Double click on the informal style in the list in the Character
Styles panel to launch the Character Style dialogue.
7. Select Basic Character Formats and change the Size of the font to 11 pt.
8. Click OK. Your body text will change to pick up the amendment you have just made to the style. It will now fit in the frame.
Notes
57
IT Learning Programme
InDesign TIMI(M)
Exercise - Create a graphic element, a frame, around your text
Create a black border around the text
You can quickly create simple paths, such as lines, rectangles, ellipses, and regular polygons, using tools in the Toolbox.
A colour or gradient applied to a shape’s or path’s interior area is called a fill.
A shape’s or path’s outline is called a stroke.
Steps
1. Select the Selection tool (V, Escape), click on the type.
A frame should appear around the text indicating that the text and its text frame is selected. The frame will be the same colour as the
Frame and Text layer.
We will now create a black border around the text with a specified colour and thickness.
2. Go to the Stroke panel (Window>Stroke) and change the
Stroke Weight: to 10 pt.
This will make the stroke or border around the text frame thicker.
Please experiment with the other options in the Stroke panel such as Join, Align Stroke and Type and ask the Lecturer for further explanation if necessary.
3. Locate the Fill and Stroke colour boxes at the bottom of the
Tool Bar.
Fill
Stroke
Apply Colour
Apply None
4. Click on the Stroke box to select it and bring it to the front.
5. Go to the Colour panel (Window>Colour) and adjust the colour sliders until you have black.
Both the Stroke box and the Apply Colour button will change appearance to show black.
This will make the stroke or frame around the text frame black.
58
IT Learning Programme
InDesign TIMI(M)
Create space around your text using Text Frame
Inset Spacing
You will have noticed that the text sits right up against the black frame created in the previous task. By adjusting options associated with the text frame you can adjust what is called the Inset Spacing to move the text away from the frame.
Steps
1. Ensure the text frame is still selected. Use the Selection Tool
(V, Escape) to select it.
2. Go to the Object menu and choose Text Frame Options…
This will launch the Text Frame Options dialogue box.
3. Locate Inset Spacing and set the Top:, Bottom:, Left: and
Right: inset values to 1 cm. Check the Preview box if you wish to see a preview before committing.
4. Click on the OK button.
5. Your text will now be inset away from the black frame and should look like the image below.
6. Your document is now finished.
Notes
59
IT Learning Programme
InDesign
* Mandala
TIMI(M)
Exercise - Create type on a path
You can flow text along the edge of an open or closed path of any shape and then apply options and effects to type on a path: Slide it along the path, flip it over to the other side of the path, or use the shape of the path to distort the characters. Type on a path has an in port and an out port just like other text frames, so you can thread text to and from it.
Reference file
Create a new document
For your reference open Mandala finished.pdf.
Steps
1. Go to the File menu and choose New>Document... In the
New Document dialogue: a. set the Number of Pages to 1
Create 5 named layers
b. leave the Facing Pages box checked c. set the Paper Size: to A5 d. set the Orientation: to portrait e. f. set all Margins to 2 cm set the number of Columns to 2 and set Gutter to 5 cm
2. Click the OK button to create your new document.
Please note that it is possible to change these settings later. Choose either File>Document Setup… or Layout>Margins and
Columns…
3. Save this document calling it Mandala 01.
In order to recreate the Mandala document you will need to create
5 layers. These will be in the following order with the following names:
• Guides
• Main Text
•
•
Top Text
Bottom Text
• Image
IT Learning Programme
60
InDesign
Create and position top, middle and bottom guides
TIMI(M)
Steps
1. Create three guides using the following settings:
•
Top guide (horizontal) Y: 3.5 cm
•
•
Middle guide (horizontal) Y: 8.5 cm
Bottom guide (horizontal) Y: 10 cm
2. These 3 guide lines will have been created on the Guides layer.
You can check this by clicking the square at the far left of a layer name to hide or show the eye icon and thus hide or display the layer and its contents.
3. When the Guides layer is hidden the three guide lines should disappear.
4. Ensure the Guides layer is visible, and unlocked.
61
IT Learning Programme
InDesign TIMI(M)
Exercise - Placing images
Place an image on the correct layer
Steps
1. Unlock and target the Image layer.
2. Choose View>Grids & Guides>Snap to Guides, and make sure that the command is ticked.
3. Choose File>Place…
4. Locate the file called Mandala 01.jpg and click Open.
5. The mouse cursor will change to the loaded graphics icon
6. Position the loaded graphics icon where the top (horizontal) guide line intersects the left hand column line.
7. Click the left mouse button. The upper left corner of the image will snap to the intersection of the top guide line and the left column line precisely aligning the main image inside the gutter between the two columns.
8. Lock the Image layer.
62
IT Learning Programme
InDesign TIMI(M)
Exercise - Place the main body of text
Place the main body of text
Steps
1. Unlock the Main Text layer.
2. Ensure the Main Text layer is targeted.
3. Choose View>Grids & Guides>Snap to Guides, and make sure that the command is selected (enabled).
4. Select the Rectangle Frame Tool .
5. Position the mouse pointer exactly where the bottom guide line intersects the left hand column line. The pointers appearance will change to show a small arrow in the bottom right of the cross. This indicates that it has found the corner and will snap to it.
6. Click once with the left mouse button. A dialogue box will appear:
7. Enter the following values, Width: 5 cm, Height: 9cm and press
OK.
8. Go to the File menu and choose Place… Open the Mandala document (Mandala.doc).
9. The text from the Mandala document will be placed into the text frame.
63
IT Learning Programme
InDesign TIMI(M)
Exercise - Edit the main body of text
Edit the main body of text
Steps
1. Select the Type Tool .
2. Place the mouse cursor at the start of the text and click and drag down and to the right to select all of the text.
3. Ensure that both the Paragraph and the Character panels are visible.
4. If not, go to Window>Type & Tables>Character and
Window>Type & Tables>Paragraph.
5. Set the following Paragraph attributes:
Further options
Drop Cap number of lines
Justify with last line aligned centre
Deselect the
Hyphenate option
Justifying the text aligns it to both edges of the text frame. This particular option aligns all the text to the edges of the text frame except the bottom line which is aligned to the centre or in the middle of the text frame.
Drop Cap number of lines sets the number of lines you want the drop cap to occupy, in this instance, 2.
Hyphenate can be deselected to avoid words being broken by a hyphen. Further Hyphenation options can be accessed from the
Paragraph panel, see image above.
64
IT Learning Programme
InDesign
Times New Roman
5. Set the following Character attributes:
11 pt
Optical kerning
TIMI(M)
65
IT Learning Programme
InDesign TIMI(M)
Exercise - Create text on a curved path 01
Create a circular path
Steps
1. Lock all of the layers except the Guides layer and the Top Text layer.
2. Hide the Image layer by clicking on the Image layers eye icon
3. Target the Top Text layer.
4. Ensure View>Grids & Guides>Snap to Guides is ticked.
5. Select the Ellipse Frame Tool .
6. Position the mouse cursor where the top guide line intersects the left hand column line. The pointers appearance will change to show a small arrow in the bottom right of the cross. This indicates that it has found the corner and will snap to it.
7. Click once. A dialogue box will appear:
8. Enter the following values, Width: 5 cm, Height: 5cm and press
OK. You have created a circular text frame
9. Select the Type on a Path tool .
10. Position the pointer over the circular text frame until a small plus sign appears next to the pointer . Click once with the mouse. An insertion point will appear where you clicked on the circle.
11. Type the word Mandala.
12. Select the text by clicking and dragging over it. Change the
Font to Times New Roman, the Font Size to 30 pt and the Font
Style to Bold.
66
IT Learning Programme
InDesign TIMI(M)
To change the start or end position of type on a path
1. Using the Selection Tool , select the type on a path.
2. Position the pointer over the path type’s start or end bracket until a small icon appears next to the pointer . Do not position it over the bracket’s in port or out port.
3. Drag the start or end bracket along the path.
To slide type along a path
4. Position the pointer on start or end bracket, and then drag to reposition boundary of type on a path.
1. Using the Selection Tool select the type on a path.
2. Position the pointer over the path type’s centre bracket until a centre bracket icon appears next to the pointer .
To move the type away from the path (baseline shift)
3. Drag the centre bracket along the path.
Use Baseline Shift to move selected text up or down relative to the baseline of the surrounding text.
1. Using the Selection Tool , select the type on a path.
2. Change the Baseline Shift to 6 pt.
3. Lock the Top Text layer.
67
IT Learning Programme
InDesign TIMI(M)
Exercise - Create text on a curved path 02
Create a second circular path
Steps
1. Lock all of the layers except the Guides layer and the Bottom
Text layer.
2. Ensure the Image layer is still hidden.
3. Target the Bottom Text layer.
4. Ensure View>Grids & Guides>Snap to Guides is ticked.
5. Select the Ellipse Frame Tool .
6. Position the mouse cursor where the top guide line intersects the left hand column line. The pointers appearance will change to show a small arrow in the bottom right of the cross. This indicates that it has found the corner and will snap to it.
7. Click once. A dialogue box will appear.
8. Enter the following values, Width: 5 cm, Height: 5cm and press
OK. You have created a circular text frame
9. Select the Type on a Path Tool .
10. Position the pointer towards the bottom of the circular text frame until a small plus sign appears next to the pointer
. Click once with the mouse. An insertion point will appear where you clicked on the circle.
11. Type the words The Circle and the Centre.
12. Select the text by clicking and dragging over it. Change the
Font to Times New Roman, the Font Size to 11 pt and the Font
Style to Regular.
68
IT Learning Programme
InDesign TIMI(M)
To change the start or end position of type on a path
1. Using the Selection Tool , select the type on a path.
2. Position the pointer over the path type’s start or end bracket until a small icon appears next to the pointer . Do not position it over the bracket’s in port or out port.
The text may be upside down. To reorient the text
3. Drag the start or end bracket along the path.
4. Position the pointer on start or end bracket, and then drag to reposition boundary of type on a path.
1. Using the Selection Tool, select the type on a path.
2. Position the pointer over the path type’s centre bracket until a centre bracket icon appears next to the pointer .
To slide type along a path
3. Drag the centre bracket up, inside the circular frame. The text will flip into the correct orientation.
1. Using the Selection Tool, select the type on a path.
2. Position the pointer over the path type’s centre bracket until a centre bracket icon appears next to the pointer .
3. Drag the centre bracket along the path.
69
IT Learning Programme
InDesign
To move the type away from the path (baseline shift)
TIMI(M)
Use Baseline Shift to move selected text up or down relative to the baseline of the surrounding text.
1. Using the Selection Tool , select the type on a path.
2. Change the Baseline Shift to -14 pt.
3. Lock the Bottom Text layer.
4. Turn off the Guides layer and turn all other layers on.
5. Go to View and choose Overprint Preview to see the image in higher resolution.
6. Go to Preview Mode (W) to see the document without the guides and margins.
7. Finish your document by exporting it as a PDF and then view the PDF.
Preview Mode (W)
70
IT Learning Programme
InDesign
Appendix
Process colours
Placing images
TIMI(M)
Keep the following guidelines in mind when specifying a process colour:
• For best results in a high-quality printed document, specify process colors using CMYK values printed in process colour reference charts, such as those available from a commercial printer.
• The final colour values of a process colour are its values in CMYK, so if you specify a process colour using RGB (or LAB, in InDesign), those colour values will be converted to CMYK when you print colour separations. These conversions differ based on your colourmanagement settings and document profile.
• Don’t specify a process colour based on how it looks on your monitor, unless you are sure you have set up a colour-management system properly, and you understand its limitations for previewing colour.
• Avoid using process colors in documents intended for online viewing only, because CMYK has a smaller colour gamut than that of a typical monitor.
The Place command is the primary method of importing, because it provides the highest level of support for resolution, file formats, and colour, via the import options included with most file types.
If you are creating a document in which those characteristics are not critical, you can copy and paste or drag and drop to import graphics into InDesign.
The options available to you when you place a graphics file depend on the kind of graphic you’ve decided to place. These options appear when you select Show Import Options in the Place dialogue box. If Show Import Options is not selected, InDesign applies the default settings or the last settings used in placing a graphics file of that type.
71
IT Learning Programme
InDesign TIMI(M)
Creating, deleting and Locking layers
Method 1 Steps
Method 2
1. To show the Layers panel choose Window>Layers.
2. Click the New Layer button .
3. Double-click the new layer in the Layers panel and rename the layer.
Steps
To delete layers
Lock layers
1. Choose New Layer in the Layers panel menu.
2. Specify the following options, and then click OK:
• Name - Type a name for the layer.
• Colour - Choose a layer colour. It is probably best to stick with the colour InDesign chooses for you to ensure each layer has a different colour.
• Show Layer - Select this option to make a layer visible and printable. Selecting this option is the same as the making the eye icon visible in the Layers panel.
• Show Guides - Select this option to make the guides on the layer visible. This does not affect guides anywhere else in the document.
Steps
• In the Layers panel, drag a layer to the Trash button .
• Select one or more layers in the Layers panel and click the Trash button.
• Select one or more layers in the Layers panel and choose Delete
Layer “layer name” from the Layers panel menu. If you select multiple layers, the command is Delete Layers.
Steps
1. Using the Layers panel, click in the square area to the right of the eye icon. A padlock symbol will appear indicating that the layer is now locked.
2. Unlock the layer by clicking on the padlock symbol.
72
IT Learning Programme
InDesign
Bibliography
• www.adobe.com
• SHUFFLEBOTHAM R., 2000. InDesign in easy steps.
Warwickshire: Computer Step.
• http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Main_Page
Recommended reading
• InDesign for Dummies series
• InDesign in Easy Steps series
• InDesign Visual Quickstart Guides
Tutorial images used in this course
• Course resources are available via Portfolio.
TIMI(M)
73
IT Learning Programme
InDesign
Macintosh keyboard equivalents
This documentation uses the terms of the PC keyboard, and so speaks of the “Control” (Ctrl) key and the “Alt” key, but these have different meanings in the Macintosh world.
The Mac usually has (moving from the leftmost bottom corner of the keyboard inwards toward the space bar) a
“Control” key in the same position as the PC control key.
Then there is an “Option” key, which has a funny symbol and “Alt” written on it, in the position where a “Windows” key often appears on PC keyboards. Then, next to the space bar, there is a “Command” key, with an Apple logo and a sort of quadrifoil symbol, which occupies the space in which you usually find the Alt key on a PC.
The problem is that, although the PC and the Mac have a key marked “Control” in the same position on the keyboard, they use this key differently. Whereas PC users use, for example, Control-C to copy and Control-S to save, Mac users are accustomed to Command-C and
Command-S.
Use the Command (or Apple) key as the Control key. Thus
Command-S will save the file. Since you cannot use the
Option key (which is marked “Alt”), because it is used to enter symbols, this leaves the key marked “Ctrl” to serve as the “Alt” key. If you are a regular Mac user, this is probably the easiest way -- just remember that when the documentation refers to the “Ctrl” key, do not use the key with that label, but use the Apple key, and when the documentation refers to the “Alt” key, use the key marked
“Ctrl”.
TIMI(M)
74
IT Learning Programme
InDesign further techniques
Carl Wenczek
Comfort and safety
IT Learning Programme
Programme
Programme
Preparing for print
Find/Change
Print Booklet
Master pages
Page numbers
Table of Contents
Crop and Bleed
Colours
Templates
Bleed
Colours
CMYK or RGB
Additive colour Subtractive colour
Process colours
Spot colours
Spot
Process
File formats
File formats
InDesign Document -
.indd
use master file retains layers and styles
InDesign Template -
.indt
use starting point for standard documents difficult to overwrite
Portable Document Format -
use sharing documents, integrity multiplatform and secure
PDF files summary
P
ortable
D
ocument
F
ormat
Preserve look and integrity
Share documents
Easy to use
Secure
Apple
InDesign>Preferences
Keyboard shift alt ctrl
[YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS]
This presentation is made available by [YOUR NAME HERE ] under a Creative Commons licence:
Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs
CC BY-NC-ND
[YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS HERE]
Download
Annonce