Imagine Communications Offline IconStation User Guide
Werbung
Werbung
Nexio® IconStation™
Offline
v.2.4 SP1
Publication Information
© 2014 Imagine Communications.
Proprietary and Confidential.
Imagine Communications considers this document and its contents to be proprietary and confidential.
Except for making a reasonable number of copies for your own internal use, you may not reproduce this publication, or any part thereof, in any form, by any method, for any purpose, or in any language other than English without the written consent of Imagine Communications. All others uses are illegal.
This publication is designed to assist in the use of the product as it exists on the date of publication of this manual, and may not reflect the product at the current time or an unknown time in the future.
This publication does not in any way warrant description accuracy or guarantee the use for the product to which it refers. Imagine Communications reserves the right, without notice to make such changes in equipment, design, specifications, components, or documentation as progress may warrant to improve the performance of the product.
Trademarks
Product names and other appropriate trademarks, e.g. D-Series™, Invenio®, PowerSmart®, Versio™ are trademarks or trade names of Imagine Communications or its subsidiaries.
Microsoft® and Windows® are registered trademarks of Microsoft Corporation. All other trademarks and trade names are the property of their respective companies.
Contact Information
Imagine Communications has office locations around the world. For domestic and international location and contact information, visit our Contact page
(http://www.imaginecommunications.com/company/contact-us.aspx).
Support Contact Information
For domestic and international support contact information see:
Support Contacts (http://www.imaginecommunications.com/services/technical-support.aspx)
eCustomer Portal (http://support.imaginecommunications.com)
Academy Training (http://www.imaginecommunicationsacademy.com)
IconStationManual.book Page i Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Table of Contents
Publish to Versio or AMP Logo ............................................................................................ 24
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Table of Contents
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e i
IconStationManual.book Page ii Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
ii
Table of Contents
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page iii Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Table of Contents
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e iii
IconStationManual.book Page iv Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
iv
Table of Contents
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page v Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Table of Contents
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e v
IconStationManual.book Page vi Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Add TitleMotion GS Content . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 102
Open TitleMotion GS .......................................................................................................... 102
Add TitleMotion GS Content ............................................................................................... 103
Import a G-3D Scene .......................................................................................................... 103
Import a G-3D File into IconStation Offline .................................................................... 104
TitleMotion GS and Connectus Set Up ............................................................................... 105
TitleMotion GS Documentation ........................................................................................... 105
vi
Table of Contents
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page vii Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Table of Contents
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e vii
IconStationManual.book Page viii Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
viii
Table of Contents
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page ix Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Create an ODBC Data Source . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 159
Add the Database to ODBC System List . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 162
Link Data Tags to Data Sources . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 173
Format, Refine, and Sort the Data . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 176
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Table of Contents
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e ix
IconStationManual.book Page x Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
x
Table of Contents
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page xi Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Set Up IconStation for Connectus . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 223
Step 1: Add the Connectus Location in the Preferences Dialog ................................... 223
TitleMotion GS and Connectus .......................................................................................... 227
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Table of Contents
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e xi
IconStationManual.book Page xii Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
xii
Table of Contents
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 13 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Chapter 1
Get Started
Get started using IconStation Offline.
IconStationManual.book Page 14 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Get Started in IconStation Offline
IconStation Offline allows you to maintain a consistent graphic look and brand identity across all your on-air programming items. Use the extensive design flexibility for producing attractive and timely broadcast-quality content. Then output items from your online system manually or with salvos (a set of output instructions) that you can trigger with a GPI, hotkey, keypad, or button press.
IconStation
Interface
IconStation Offline includes a number of elements designed to make creating and playing layouts easy. See the following image for details.
Layouts button
Control panel Layout tabs Toolbar Workspace
14
Chapter 1 | Get Started
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
Details panel Layout Preview list Preview
Output Indicators
Disable Automation button
Figure 1-1: IconStation Interface
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 15 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Table 1-1: IconStation Interface Elements
Workspace Element Function
Layouts button
Layout tabs
Toolbar
Workspace
Details panel
Manages the tabbed layouts.
Click the Layouts button to view the layout options.
Displays the layouts currently opened in
IconStation Offline. You can have up to five layouts open at one time.
Click the tabs to switch between layouts.
Includes a button for each item type you can add to your layout.
Click a button, then drag a box in the workspace to add an item to the layout. You can double-click the item box to open the Content
Editor.
Displays the items in the current layout.
The workspace also displays items from other opened layouts if a checkmark displays beside the layout name in the Layout Previews list.
The Details panel either shows the information for the selected item or the Safe Title Area.
• To view the item details, select the item in the layout.
• To view the Safe Title Area details, click an empty spot in the workspace.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 1 | Get Started
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
15
IconStationManual.book Page 16 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Table 1-1: IconStation Interface Elements
Workspace Element Function
Layout Previews list
Output Indicators
Preview window
Disable Automation button
Control panel
Displays a list of the layouts currently opened in
IconStation Offline and allows you to view multiple layouts in the workspace.
To view the items in other layouts, select the checkbox beside the layout name.
Note:
If the checkboxes are not active, click the
Layout Previews header.
Indicators used to signal on-air activity for online systems only.
Does not apply to IconStation Offline.
Displays a thumbnail preview of items currently on-air for online systems.
Does not apply to IconStation Offline.
Disables all automation commands for online systems. When you disable automation
IconStation does not respond to any automation protocols.
Does not apply to IconStation Offline.
Includes the output options for your
IconStation layouts.
• The manual output options are available at the top of the panel.
• The salvo output instruction options are available at the bottom of the panel.
Example Workflow:
Prepare a Logo for
Output
Follow the basic steps below to get a quick idea of the IconStation Offline workflow.
16
Chapter 1 | Get Started
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 17 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Step 1: Start IconStation Offline
To start IconStation Offline, select Start > All Programs > Harris > IconStation >
IconStation.
Step 2: Start a New Layout
Before you can start working in IconStation Offline you must open a new or existing layout.
1 Select the tab for your layout. When you first launch IconStation Offline the tabs read <empty>. You can have five layouts open in IconStation Offline at one time.
2 Click the Layouts button beside the toolbar.
Tip:
The options on the toolbar become available after you open a layout.
3 From the Layouts drop-down list, select New Layout. The New IconStation
Layout dialog opens.
4 Enter a name for the layout in the Layout Name field.
5 Click OK.
The layout name displays in first tab above the workspace and in the Layout
Previews list below the workspace.
Step 3: Add a Logo to Your Layout
The buttons on the toolbar allow you to add items to your layout. Use the Image button to add an image to your layout.
1 Click the Image button on the toolbar.
Figure 1-2: Image button
2 Drag a box in the workspace to create an Image item box. The item box is a container that holds the image.
Tip:
When you select the Image item box in the workspace, the item details display below the workspace. If you deselect the item by clicking the workspace, the Safe Title Area options display.
3 Open the Image Editor using one of the following methods.
• Double-click on the Image item box in the workspace.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 1 | Get Started
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
17
IconStationManual.book Page 18 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
• Select the Image item box in the workspace and then click the Edit button located with the image details below the workspace.
• Double-click the Image item in the Items list on the Control panel.
Tip:
The Content Editors allow you to add content to your item boxes and define the item details. Most Content Editors include a Content tab and an Audio tab.
4 In the Image Editor, select the File option on the Content tab. This option allows you to open a single image file.
5 Click the Browse button.
6 In the Browsing Options dialog, select the Local Files Browsing option, and then click OK.
Tip:
The Local Files Browsing option selects a file located on your local system or on your local network. The HTTP/FTP File browsing option selects a file located on an FTP or website.
7 In the Open dialog, select your image file and then click Open. A preview of the image displays in the Image Editor.
8 On the Content tab, select the Scale checkbox. Then set the Scale to Fill
Region and the Maintain Aspect Ratio options. These selected scaling options resize the image to fit the item box without distorting the image.
9 Click the Save button. The Image Editor closes and the image displays in your workspace.
10 Move the layout to your online system using the File > Export options, See
”Save Layouts” on page 23 for details.
18
Chapter 1 | Get Started
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 19 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Start IconStation Offline
See the following details for initial IconStation Offline start-up information.
Start IconStation
Offline
You can start IconStation Offline using the IconStation shortcut on your desktop, or by selecting Start > All Programs > Harris > IconStation >
IconStation.
Select Mode of
Operation
When working in IconStation Offline you can function in Editor mode or
Operator mode.
• Editor mode is the default mode, and allows you to create, edit, and output layouts. Select Tools
>
Editor Mode to choose Editor mode.
Editor mode is password-protected. To change the password, select Edit
>
Preferences. In the Preferences dialog box, type a new password in the
Editor Password box and click the Set button. Click OK.
• Operator mode disables all IconStation Offline functions except output.
Layouts and salvo set-ups are locked to prevent unintentional changes.
Select Tools
>
Operator Mode to choose Operator mode.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 1 | Get Started
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
19
IconStationManual.book Page 20 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
IconStation Offline Basics
The following topics take you through the basic procedures you need to manage your IconStation Offline layouts.
Open Layouts
Opening your layouts from different locations requires you to use different menu options. See the following table for details.
Table 1-2: Open Layout Options
Option Steps
Open New Layout Select File > New Layout.
IconStation prompts you for a layout name. By default, IconStation saves the layout and all changes immediately to C:\Layouts.
Open Layout from
Default Location
Select File > Open Layout to open the layout from the default location (C:\Layouts).
In the Open IconStation Layout dialog, select the name of the layout and click Open. You can sort the layouts by category if a category was assigned.
By default, IconStation saves the layout and all changes immediately to C:\Layouts.
Import Layout Select File > Import > Import Layout to open an existing layout from another location on your hard drive.
In the Import Layout dialog, navigate to the layout folder that you want to import and double-click on the folder. Double-clicking on the folder selects the layout for importing.
Click OK to import the layout. The layout copies to your Layouts folder, located at C:\Layouts by default.
20
Chapter 1 | Get Started
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 21 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Load Last Layouts on Startup
Table 1-2: Open Layout Options
Option Steps
Import Templates Select File > Import > Import Template Layout to open an existing layout from another location on your hard drive.
In the Import Template Layout dialog, navigate to the layout folder that you want to import and double-click on the folder. Double-clicking on the folder selects the template for importing.
Click OK to import the template layout.
Open Layout from
CD
Insert the CD ROM into your CD ROM drive.
In IconStation, select the Get from CD option:
• If you already have a layout open, select File
> IconStation CD > Get From CD.
• If you do not have a layout open, select File >
Get From CD.
In the dialog, select a layout from the drop-down list and click the Get Layout button. Click Done to close the dialog.
You can set IconStation Offline to open the last loaded layouts on startup in the Preferences dialog.
1 To open the Preferences dialog, select Edit > Preferences.
2 Switch to the Startup Settings tab.
• To set IconStation to launch without loading any layouts select the None option.
• To set IconStation to load the last opened layouts every time IconStation starts, select the Load Last Layouts on startup option.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 1 | Get Started
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
21
IconStationManual.book Page 22 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Save Layouts
By default, IconStation Offline saves the layout and all changes immediately to
C:\Layouts. You can save your layout to a new location or to CD. You can also change the default saved location. See the following table for details.
Table 1-3: Save Layout Options
Steps Option
Save a Copy
Save Layout as a
Template
Export a Layout
Select File > Save Layout As. In the Save Layout
As dialog, enter a new name for your layout and click Save.
Select File > Templates > Save Layout As
Template. In the Save Template As dialog, enter the name for the template and then click OK.
Select File > Export > Export Layout.
In the dialog, select a new location for the layout and click OK.
Use the import option (File > Import > Import
Layout) to open exported layouts.
Note:
The export option allows you to export the current layout to a new location without breaking any file paths referenced by the layout.
Copying and pasting a layout to a new location can break referenced file paths.
22
Chapter 1 | Get Started
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 23 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Burn a Layout to
CD ROM
Table 1-3: Save Layout Options
Option Steps
Export a Template Select File > Export > Export Template.
In the Export Template Layout dialog, select the template you want to export, then click Export.
In the next dialog, select a new location for the template and click OK.
Use the import option (File > Import > Import
Template Layout) to open exported templates.
Note:
The export option allows you to export a template to a new location without breaking any file paths referenced by the layout.
Copying and pasting a template to a new location can break referenced file paths.
Save Layout to CD Select File > IconStation CD > Save to CD.
The Save Page to CD dialog opens, which allows you to save your layout to CD ROM, to add comments about the layout, and to set when the layout starts playback.
For details on the Save Page to CD dialog, click the Help button in the dialog.
Change Default
Saved Location
Select Edit > Preferences to open the Preferences dialog. Click the Choose button beside the Store
Layouts In field to set a new location for your layout.
When you change the default saved location, all subsequent layouts are saved to the new location.
Before you can burn a layout to CD ROM you must have a properly configured
CD ROM burner included as part of your system or connected to your system.
1 Insert a recordable CD ROM into your CD ROM drive.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 1 | Get Started
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
23
IconStationManual.book Page 24 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Rename a Layout
Lock Items
Close a Layout
Delete a Layout
2 In IconStation, select File > IconStation CD > Save To CD.
3 In the dialog, enter a name for the CD ROM in the first blank field.
4 Enter any notes about the layout in the Comments area. Any comments appear in the Get From CD dialog, which appears when you import the layout from the CD ROM.
5 Check the Enable Auto Load checkbox to automatically load the layout to the Layouts folder when you import the layout from the CD ROM.
6 Click the Burn CD button to burn the layout to CD.
7 After you burn the layout to CD ROM, click Done to close the dialog.
To rename a layout in IconStation without breaking any file path references, complete the following steps.
1 Select File > Rename Layout.
2 In the dialog, enter a new name for the layout and then click OK.
Locking items prevents size and position and/or content changes.
1 Switch to the tab for your layout.
2 Select an item in the workspace.
3 To lock the size and position of the item, select the Lock Position checkbox below the workspace.
4 To lock the content of the item, select the Lock Content checkbox below the workspace.
5 Clear the checkboxes to unlock the item.
To close a layout in IconStation, complete the following steps.
1 Select the tab for the layout you want to close.
2 Select File > Close. The active layout closes, leaving the workspace blank.
When you delete a layout, the layout is permanently deleted from the Layouts folder located at C:\Layouts.
1 To delete a layout, select File > Delete Layout. The Delete IconStation
Layout dialog opens.
2 Select the layout from the list.
3 Click the Delete button.
24
Chapter 1 | Get Started
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 25 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Set the Safe Title
Area
Change VGA
Aspect Ratio
The safe title area marks a safe area for displaying items on a typical output screen. Items positioned past the guides might not display on certain monitors.
When you add items to your layout, place the items inside the safe title area.
The default safe title area is set at 86% of the workspace.
The safe title area options display below the workspace in the same area as the
Item Details panel. Selecting an item in the workspace displays the Item
Details panel. To view the safe title area settings, click on an empty spot in the workspace.
1 To set the safe title area, click on an empty spot in the workspace.
The safe title area options display below the workspace in the same area as the Item Details panel.
2 Select the Show Safe Title Area checkbox. A green boundary box displays in the workspace, marking the safe display area.
3 Use the Percent slider to adjust the size of the Safe Title Area.
Move the slider to the left to decrease the size, or to the right to increase the size. You can also enter a percentage in the Percent box.
4 Use the Position fields to adjust the sides of the Safe Title Area.
5 Positions the safe title area by the set number of pixels in each field.
• Left: Moves the left guide away from the left edge of the screen by the set number of pixels.
• Right: Moves the right guide away from the right edge of the screen by the set number of pixels.
• Top: Moves the top guide away from the top edge of the screen by the set number of pixels.
• Bottom: Moves the bottom guide away from the bottom edge of the screen by the set number of pixels.
Once you start adding items to your layouts, you may notice that objects seem slightly misshaped. Selecting the correct aspect ratio ensures that objects maintain their proper shape without appearing skewed during playback.
To select a different aspect ratio, select Edit
>
Preferences, then select another
VGA Aspect Ratio in the Preferences dialog box. The aspect ratio is a global setting that applies to all layouts.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 1 | Get Started
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
25
IconStationManual.book Page 26 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Supported File Formats
You can import files for the following item types: image, animation, video clip, audio, and analog clock. The supported file formats for each item type is listed below.
Image Item
Animation Item
Image items support the following file formats.
• Adobe Photoshop (*.psd)
• BMP, Microsoft (*.bmp)
• GIF, Graphics Interchange Format (*.gif)
• HKF, Image North (*.hkf)
• Inscriber Paint Document (*.ipt)
• JPEG, Independent JPEG Group (*.jpg, *.jpeg)
• PC Paintbrush (*.pcx)
• PNG, Portable Network Graphics Format (*.png)
• Portable Anymap (*.ppm, *.pgm, *.pbm)
• Quantel VPB File Format (*.vpb)
• TGA, True Vision (*.tga)
• TIFF, Aldus/Microsoft (*.tiff, *.tif)
• VII, Inscriber (*.vii)
Animation items support the following file formats.
• Adobe Photoshop (*.psd)
• BMP, Microsoft (*.bmp)
• G3D, Nexio G3D (*.g3d)
• GIF, Graphics Interchange Format (*.gif)
• HKF, Image North (*.hkf)
• Inscriber (*.icg)
• Inscriber (*.scribe)
• Inscriber Crawl (*.vic)
• Inscriber Paint Document (*.ipt)
• Inscriber Roll (*.vis)
• JPEG, Independant JPEG Group (*.jpg, *.jpeg)
• LGO, Inscriber (*.lgo)
• PC Paintbrush (*.pcx)
• PNG, Portable Network Graphics Format (*.png)
26
Chapter 1 | Get Started
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 27 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Video Clip Item
Audio Item
Analog Clock Item
• Portable Anymap (*.ppm, *.pgm, *.pbm)
• Quantel VPB File Format (*.vpb)
• TGA, True Vision (*.tga)
• TIFF, Aldus/Microsoft (*.tiff, *.tif)
• VII, Inscriber (*.vii)
Video clip items support the following file formats.
• LTV, Imagine Communications Video (*.ltv) – for Altitude Express systems only
• Quick Time Files (*.mov, *.dv, *.swf)
• Video Files (*.avi, *.mtv, *.m1v, *.mpz, *.mp2v, *.mpa)
Audio items support the following file formats.
• Audio Files (*.wav, *.mp3, *.wma)
Analog clock items support the following file formats.
• Adobe Photoshop (*.psd)
• Analog Clock Builder Files (*.analogclock)
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 1 | Get Started
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
27
IconStationManual.book Page 28 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
28
Chapter 1 | Get Started
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 31 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Chapter 2
Create Layouts
Add and position items boxes in your layouts.
IconStationManual.book Page 32 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Create a New Layout
In IconStation, you can start a new layout on any <empty> tab above the workspace. After you name your layout, use the item buttons on the toolbar to add items to your layout. Then use the Content Editors to define the item content.
Start a New Layout
Add Items to Your
Layout
To start a new layout, complete the following steps.
1 Select an <empty> tab for your layout.
2 Click the Layouts button beside the toolbar.
3 From the Layouts drop-down list, select New Layout. The New IconStation
Offline Layout dialog opens.
4 Enter a name for the layout in the Layout Name field.
5 Click OK.
The layout name displays on the selected layout tab above the workspace, and in the Layout Previews list below the workspace.
You can add the following item types to your IconStation layouts: images, crawls, rolls, animations, digital clocks, analog clocks, digital timers, temperatures, titles, title tables, RTXport items, TitleMotion items,
TitleMotion GS items, live video, video clips, live audio. and audio.
1 To add an item to your layout, select the tool from the toolbar.
Figure 2-1: Toolbar
2 Drag an item box in the layout window. Press SHIFT when creating an item to maintain a 4:3 aspect ratio.
3 Use the pointer tool to select and drag the item in the workspace. You can also use the positioning fields below the workspace to accurately place the item.
32
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
Figure 2-2: Size and Position Options
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 33 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Content Editors
4 Use the pointer tool to resize the item box by dragging a corner point in or out. Press SHIFT while dragging to maintain the object shape. You can also use the Width and Height fields below the workspace to size the item accurately.
5 With the item box selected in the workspace, click the Edit button to open the Editor that is associated with that item type.
Note:
Audio and live audio items do not display as an item box in the workspace. To open these Editors, select the items in the Item list in the top-left corner of the Control panel, and then click Edit below the workspace.
Also note that RTXport items do not have a Content Editor.
6 Define the item content using the Content Editor.
Each item type has its own Content Editor. Use the Content Editors to define the item content.
To open the Content Editors, complete the following steps.
1 Select the item in the Items list on the Control panel.
2 With the item selected, click the Edit button.
The Content Editor opens for the specific item type. Use the options in the
Editor to add content to the selected item.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
33
IconStationManual.book Page 34 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
The following table describes the function of each Content Editor.
Table 2-1: Content Editors
Content Editor Item Type
Image
Crawl
Roll
Image Editor
• Imports still images from a variety of file formats into the selected item.
• References a single image, a series of images from a folder, or a series of images referenced in an external file.
• Adjust size, positioning, and opacity on the Content tab. Add a mask on the Mask tab. Add audio to graphics using the Audio tab.
See:
.
Crawl Editor
• Creates crawls using either a template file or custom settings.
• Enter text on the Content tab, set the text display options on the Formatting tab, and adjust audio settings on the Audio tab.
• You can link the crawl to an external database file.
IconStation reads the file content and displays the text on output.
See:
.
Roll Editor
• Creates simple rolls using either a template file or custom settings.
• Enter text on the Content tab, set the text display options on the Formatting tab, and adjust audio settings on the Audio tab.
• You can link the roll to an external database file.
IconStation reads the file content and displays the text on output.
See:
34
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 35 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Table 2-1: Content Editors
Item Type Content Editor
Animation
Animation Editor
• Imports an animation into the selected item. Attach or adjust audio using the audio options.
• References a single animation, a series of animation files from a folder, or a series of animations referenced in an external file.
• Select the animation on the Content tab. Add a mask on the Mask tab. Add audio to animations using the
Audio tab.
See:
.
Digital Clock
Digital Clock Editor
• Creates real-time clocks displaying local or offset time, and date information.
• Set the time and date display options on the Content tab, set the text display options on the Formatting tab, add a mask on the Mask tab, and adjust audio settings on the Audio tab.
• By default, the time displayed by the digital clock is the local time read from the system clock.
See:
”Add Digital Clocks” on page 67 .
Analog Clock
Analog Clock Editor
• Imports an analog clock into the selected item.
• Adjust size, positioning and opacity on the Content tab, add a mask on the Mask tab, and adjust audio settings on the Audio tab.
See:
”Add Analog Clocks” on page 76
.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
35
IconStationManual.book Page 36 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Table 2-1: Content Editors
Item Type
Digital Timer
Temperature
Title
Content Editor
Digital Timer Editor
• Creates a timer that will count up or down and at specific start/end times.
• Set the display options on the Content tab, set the text display options on the Formatting tab, add a mask on the Mask tab, and adjust audio settings on the Audio tab.
See:
”Add Digital Timers” on page 71
.
Temperature Editor
• Sets the item to display the current temperature.
• Select the temperature probe on the Content tab, format the text on the Formatting tab, add a mask on the Mask tab, and adjust audio settings on the Audio tab.
See:
”Add Temperature” on page 80 .
Title Editor
• Creates titles using either a template file or custom settings.
• Enter text on the Content tab, set the text display options on the Formatting tab, add a mask on the
Mask tab, and adjust audio settings on the Audio tab.
• You can link the title to an external database file.
IconStation reads the file content and displays the text on output.
See:
36
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 37 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Table 2-1: Content Editors
Item Type
Title Table
RTXport
TitleMotion
Content Editor
Title Table Editor
• Allows you to quickly enter columns of text-placeholders for your external data source
(either a text file, ODBC database, or XML/RSS feed). The placeholders display the information from the external data source during output. Use the Title
Table Editor when you want to display your external data in columns.
• Set up your columns on the Content tab, set the text display options on the Header and Row Formatting tabs, add a mask on the Mask tab, and adjust the audio settings on the Audio tab.
See:
”Add Title Tables” on page 88 .
RTXport
If you have purchased the RTXport option, the RTXport item displays layers of data created in RTX when you run your RTX application.
There is no Content Editor associated with the RTXport item.
See:
”Add RTXport Content” on page 105 .
TitleMotion
Creates titles, crawls, rolls, and animations with simple or detailed formatting and also acts as a graphic importer. You cannot adjust audio settings in
TitleMotion.
TitleMotion is a legacy version of the plug-in application.
See:
”Add TitleMotion Content” on page 107 .
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
37
IconStationManual.book Page 38 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Table 2-1: Content Editors
Item Type
Live Video
Video Clip
Audio
Live Audio
Content Editor
Live Video Editor
• Sets the item to display live video.
• Select hardware sources for video and audio on the
Content tab, add a mask on the Mask tab, and adjust the audio settings on the Audio tab.
See:
.
Video Clip Editor
• Imports a video clip into the selected item.
• References a single clip, a series of clips from a folder, or a series of clips referenced in an external file.
• Set the display options on the Content tab, add a mask on the Mask tab, and adjust audio settings on the Audio tab.
See:
”Add Video Clips” on page 97 .
Audio Editor
• The Audio Editor imports an audio file.
• References a single audio file, a series of audio files from a folder, or a series of audio files referenced in an external file.
• Adjust volume and add a delay in the Audio Editor.
See:
”Add Audio to a Layout” on page 128 .
Live Audio Editor
• The Live Audio Editor sets the device and source for your live audio item.
• Adjust volume level and set audio ducking options in the Live Audio Editor.
See:
”Add Live Audio” on page 126 .
38
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 39 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Add Images
When you add an image to a layout, use the Image Editor to setup your image item. You can import a single image, link to images in a folder, or link to a series of images referenced in an external file.
Open the Image
Editor
To open the Image Editor, complete the following steps.
1 Select the tab for your layout.
If you do not have a layout open, select an <empty> tab and open a layout.
2 Click the Image button and drag an item box in your workspace.
Figure 2-3: Image Button
3 Select the item box, and click the Edit button to open the Image Editor.
On the Content tab you have three options: File, Play from Folder, and Play from Data Source. See the following instructions for each option.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Figure 2-4: Image Editor
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
39
IconStationManual.book Page 40 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Option: File (Open a Single Image File)
To import a single image file for your item, complete the following steps.
1 On the Content tab, select the File option.
Figure 2-5: Image File Options
2 Click the Browse button.
3 In the Browsing dialog, select the appropriate option based on where your image is located.
• Local Files Browsing: If your image file is located on your system or local network select the Local Files Browsing option and click OK.
The Open dialog displays where you can navigate to and select your image file.
• HTTP/FTP Files Browsing: If your image file is located on an HTTP or
FTP site, select the HTTP/FTP Files Browsing option and click OK.
40
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 41 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
The Internet File Browser dialog displays where you can specify the online location of your image file.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Figure 2-6: Internet File Browser a Enter the address of the HTTP or FTP site in the Current path field.
(the path should start with HTTP:// or FTP://).
b To log onto the site anonymously, select the Anonymous radio button.
c To log onto a site requiring a name and password, select the Name radio button and enter a name and password.
d Click the Go button beside the Current Path field. The contents are updated in the Directory list.
e Select the graphic file.
f Click the OK button.
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
41
IconStationManual.book Page 42 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Option: Play from
Folder
Scale the Image
To use the scale options available with the File option, see the following steps.
• To resize the image using the slider, select the Scale checkbox and drag the slider left to decrease the size, or right to increase the size.
• To size the image so it fills the item box, select the Scale to Fill Region checkbox. Select the Maintain Aspect Ratio checkbox to resize the image width and height proportionately.
Position the Image
The Left and Top position fields are available with the File option. To position the image, complete the following steps.
1 Enter a number in the Top position field to move the image X number of pixels from the top of the item box.
2 Enter a number in the Left position field to move the image X number of pixels from the left side of the item box.
Adjust Image Opacity
The Opacity field is available with the File option.
Use the Opacity field to adjust the image transparency. 100 is completely opaque. 0 is completely transparent.
Update when Image Changes
The Update When Source Changes checkbox is available with the File option.
To automatically update the item in your layout when you update the original image file, select the Update When Source Changes checkbox near the bottom of the Image Editor.
To reference a folder, and play the images in the referenced folder, complete the following steps. IconStation plays each image in the folder for the set item duration.
42
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 43 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
1 On the Content tab, select the Play from Folder option.
Figure 2-7: Image Play from Folder Options
2 Click the Browse button.
3 In the dialog, select the folder containing your image file(s), and click OK.
4 If there are multiple images in the folder, set the image play order by selecting an option from the Play Order drop-down list.
• Alphabetically: Plays the images in alphabetical order. Select Ascending to set the play order from A-Z, or select Descending to set the play order from Z-A.
• Date: Plays the images based on their creation date. Select Ascending to play the images in chronological order, or select Descending to play the images in reverse chronological order.
Scale the Image(s)
To use the scale options available with the Play from Folder option, see the following steps.
1 To size the image so it fills the item box, select the Scale to Fill Region checkbox.
2 Select the Maintain Aspect Ratio checkbox to resize the image width and height proportionately.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
43
IconStationManual.book Page 44 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Option: Play From
Data Source
Apply a Transition between Images
Transition options are available with the Play from Folder option.
1 To display a transition when the images switch, select a transition from the
Transition drop-down list.
2 Enter the Transition Duration in hours:minutes:seconds:frames.
Set the Image Display Duration
The Item Duration option is available with the Play from Folder option.
To set how long each image in the folder displays, set the Item Duration. Enter the duration in minutes and seconds.
To reference an external file, and play the images in the referenced file, complete the following steps. IconStation plays each image in the referenced file for the set item duration.
1 On the Content tab, select the Play from Data Source option.
44
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
Figure 2-8: Image Play from Data Source Options
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 45 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
2 Select the Associate Audio Source checkbox if your external file also references an audio file. IconStation plays the referenced audio file on output.
3 Click the Setup button and use the Data Source Wizard to select the data source containing your image references.
Note:
For details on using external data sources, see ”External Data
If you selected the Associate Audio Source checkbox on the Content tab, you will have the option to assign a data column to the item's Graphic field and assign a different data column to the item's Audio field.
Assign data column (example: F1) to Graphic field.
Assign data column (example: F2) to Audio field.
Figure 2-9: Image Associate Audio Source Example
When you are finished setting up your data source you are returned to the
Content tab.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
45
IconStationManual.book Page 46 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
If you are using the referenced audio source, you can select the Play to
Length of Audio checkbox. Each referenced image plays for the duration of the associated audio file.
The first referenced image will play for the length of the first referenced audio file.
Figure 2-10: Play to Length of Audio File Example
Note the following behavior with the Play to Length of Audio option.
• If there is only one referenced audio file in the data source, the first referenced image plays with the associated audio files. The remaining images play for the set Item Duration, which is set on the Content tab.
• If there is only one image file and one audio file in the data source and you select the Play to Length of Audio checkbox, the image plays for the duration of the audio file. The duration set in the Item Duration m/s fields is ignored.
4 To play a backup image file if the image data is unavailable, click the
Browse button beside the Still field. In the Browsing dialog, select the appropriate option based on where your image is located.
5 In the Browsing dialog, select the appropriate option based on where your image is located.
• Local Files Browsing: If your image file is located on your system or local network select the Local Files Browsing option and click OK.
The Open dialog displays where you can navigate to and select your image file.
• HTTP/FTP Files Browsing: If your image file is located on an HTTP or
FTP site, select the HTTP/FTP Files Browsing option and click OK.
46
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 47 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
The Internet File Browser dialog displays where you can specify the online location of your image file.
Figure 2-11: Internet File Browser a Enter the address of the HTTP or FTP site in the Current path field.
(the path should start with HTTP://or FTP://).
b To log onto the site anonymously, select the Anonymous radio button.
c To log onto a site requiring a name and password, select the Name radio button and enter a name and password.
d Click the Go button beside the Current Path field. The contents are updated in the Directory list.
e Select the graphic file.
f Click the OK button.
6 To play a backup audio file if the audio data is unavailable, click the Browse button beside the Audio field. In the Open dialog select the backup audio file and click Open.
This option is available if the Associate Audio Source checkbox is selected.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
47
IconStationManual.book Page 48 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Trigger GPO Device with Image Item
Add a Log Note
Scale the Image(s)
To use the scale options available with the Play from File option, see the following steps.
1 To size the image so it fills the item box, select the Scale to Fill Region checkbox.
2 Select the Maintain Aspect Ratio checkbox to resize the image width and height proportionately.
Apply a Transition between Images
Transition options are available with the Play from File option.
1 To display a transition when the images switch, select a transition from the
Transition drop-down list.
2 Enter the Transition Duration in hours:minutes:seconds:frames.
Set the Image Display Duration
The Item Duration option is available with the Play from File option.
To set how long each image in the folder displays, set the Item Duration. Enter the duration in minutes and seconds.
You can set the image item to trigger your GPO device using the Enable GPO checkbox in the Image Editor. The GPO device is triggered when you output the item.
The Enable GPO checkbox is available with all three image options: File, Play from Folder, and Play from File.
1 In the Image Editor, select the Enable GPO checkbox.
2 Use the drop-down list to select which pin receives the trigger on output.
• The GPO is raised when the item in on air.
• The GPO is lowered when the item is taken off air.
Log notes allow you to enter information that records in the playback log every time the item plays.
The Log Note button is available with all three image options: File, Play from
Folder, and Play from File.
1 To add a log note to the item, click the Log Note button on the Content tab.
48
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 49 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
2 Enter any notes about the item in the text box without pressing ENTER, and then click Save. The note is recorded in the log file each time the item plays.
3 To view the current day's log file, select Tools
>
Log Viewer. The Log
Viewer opens displaying the current log file. To open a different day's log file select File
>
Open in the Log Viewer.
Note:
You must select the Log This Item checkbox below the IconStation
Offline workspace to enable the log note. First, select the item in the workspace, and then select the Log This Item checkbox.
Apply an Alpha
Mask
Set Item Audio
Figure 2-12: Log This Item Checkbox
For details on applying an alpha mask to items, see ”Add an Alpha Mask” on page 118
.
For details on adding audio to items, see
”Add Audio to Items” on page 124
.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
49
IconStationManual.book Page 50 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Add Crawls
When you add a crawl to a layout, use the Crawl Editor to setup your crawl item.
Open the Crawl
Editor
To open the Crawl Editor, complete the following steps.
1 Select the tab for your layout.
If you do not have a layout open, select an <empty> tab and open a layout.
2 Click the Crawl button and drag an item box in your workspace.
Figure 2-13: Crawl Button
3 Select the item box, and click the Edit button to open the Crawl Editor.
50
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
Figure 2-14: Crawl Editor
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 51 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Setup the Crawl
To add content to your crawl, complete the following steps.
1 To add crawl content directly in the Crawl Editor: a Click the Add button. The Add Content dialog opens.
Note:
For the first text entry, select the default item in the Content
Items list and then click Modify. The Add Content dialog opens.
b To add text select the Text option.
c Enter a name for the text item in the Name field. The name displays in the Contents Items List in the Crawl Editor.
Figure 2-15: Add Content Dialog d In the Content area, enter the text for the crawl and then click OK. The item displays in the Content Items List.
2 To add a text separator: a Click the Add button. The Add Content dialog opens. b Select the Text option.
c Enter a name for the text separator in the Name field. d Enter the text characters in the Content area. For example, enter " ... ".
Click OK.
3 To add a media file for a separator: a Click the Add button. The Add Content dialog opens.
b Enter a name for the separator in the Name field.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
51
IconStationManual.book Page 52 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM c Select the Graphic, Animation, or Video option. d Click the Browse button and select your file.
e Click OK in the Add Content dialog to add the separator to the crawl.
4 To edit any of the Crawl entries, select the entry and then click the Modify button.
5 The Add Content dialog opens where you can edit the content of the select entry.
Adjust Crawl Speed
To adjust the speed of the crawl, click on the Speed control on the Content tab.
• Drag the control to the left to decrease the crawl speed.
• Drag the control or to right to increase the crawl speed.
Change Crawl
Direction
By default, crawls move from right-to-left. To change the direction of the crawl, select the To Left or To Right option on the Content tab.
To change the default direction for all crawls, select Edit
>
Preferences. In the
Crawl Direction section, select the Left (arrow) or Right (arrow).
Enable EAS Output
If you purchased the EAS (Emergency Alert System) option, you can enable the EAS output in the Crawl Editor.
1 Select the EAS checkbox to enable the EAS output.
2 Enter the number of time the EAS message plays in the Play Item box.
Note:
For details on creating EAS layouts, see ”Create EAS Layouts” on page 148 .
Trigger GPO Device with Crawl Item
You can set the crawl item to trigger your GPO device using the Enable GPO checkbox in the Crawl Editor. The GPO device is triggered when you output the item.
1 In the Crawl Editor, select the Enable GPO checkbox.
2 Use the drop-down list to select which pin receives the trigger on output.
• The GPO is raised when the item in on air.
• The GPO is lowered when the item is taken off air.
52
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 53 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Add a Log Note
Log notes allow you to enter information that records in the playback log every time the item plays.
1 To add a log note to the item, click the Log Note button on the Content tab.
2 Enter any notes about the item in the text box without pressing ENTER, and then click Save. The note is recorded in the log file each time the item plays.
3 To view the current day's log file, select Tools
>
Log Viewer. The Log
Viewer opens displaying the current log file. To open a different day's log file select File
>
Open in the Log Viewer.
Note:
You must select the Log This Item checkbox below the IconStation
Offline workspace to enable the log note. First, select the item in the workspace, and then select the Log This Item checkbox.
Set the Crawl Play
Options
External Data
Source Options
Figure 2-16: Log This Item Checkbox
You can set the crawl play options in the Crawl Editor.
• Select the Start On Screen checkbox to start the crawl playback with the first line of text displayed on the screen. Clear the checkbox to scroll the crawl on from offscreen.
• Select the Play Once checkbox to set the crawl to appear on screen only once, for the length of time it takes to display the text entered in the editor, or the data from the external database. If this checkbox is clear, the item loops on screen until it is hidden or killed.
• Select the Crawl Offscreen before Looping checkbox to set the crawl to scroll completely offscreen before looping again. The background does not display between loops.
If you are linking the crawl to an external data source, set the following options.
1 Check the External Data Source checkbox on the Content tab and then click the Setup button to select your data source.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
53
IconStationManual.book Page 54 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Format Text
Set Item Audio
Note:
For details on linking to external data source see ”External Data
.
2 After you setup your data source, select the Show All New Data at Least
Once option if you want to display all data in the database once before
IconStation renders new data.
3 If you want IconStation to accept XML protocol crawl commands select the
External Data Via XML Protocol checkbox. Refer to the XML Automation
Protocol documentation for details on sending crawl data using the protocol.
4 If you want IconStation to display updated content immediately on screen, select the Enable On Screen Update When Content Changes checkbox. If you do not select this option, IconStation will update your text when the item starts playing from the beginning.
Note:
This option is available for external files, as well as for text entered directly in the Editor.
5 Select a transition type from the Transition drop-down list, and enter a time in the Transition Duration field.
Note:
Transition options are available when you Enable Onscreen
Updates.
For details on formatting item text, see
For details on adding audio to items, see
”Add Audio to Items” on page 124
.
54
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 55 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Add Rolls
When you add a roll to a layout, use the Roll Editor to setup your roll item.
Open the Roll
Editor
To open the Roll Editor, complete the following steps.
1 Select the tab for your layout.
If you do not have a layout open, select an <empty> tab and open a layout.
2 Click the Roll button and drag an item box in your workspace.
Figure 2-17: Roll Button
3 Select the item box, and click the Edit button to open the Roll Editor.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Figure 2-18: Roll Editor
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
55
IconStationManual.book Page 56 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Add Text
Adjust Roll Speed
Change Roll
Direction
Show One
Character Per Line
Trigger GPO Device with Roll Item
Add a Log Note
To add roll content directly in the Roll Editor, enter your text in the text box on the Content tab.
To adjust the speed of the roll, drag the Speed control on the Content tab.
• Drag the slider it to the left to decrease the roll speed.
• Drag the slider to right to increase the speed.
By default, rolls scroll up, from bottom to top. To change the direction of the roll, select the Up or Down option on the Content tab.
To change the default direction for all rolls, select Edit
>
Preferences. In the
Roll Direction section, select the Up (arrow) or Down (arrow).
The Show One Character Per Line checkbox outputs each character entered in the text box on a separate line. This feature is particularly useful for languages that use symbols, like Chinese.
To output each character in the text box on a separate line:
1 Enter the character on a single line in the text box.
2 Select the Show One Character Per Line checkbox. The preview updates to show each character on a separate line.
You can set the roll item to trigger your GPO device using the Enable GPO checkbox in the Roll Editor. The GPO device is triggered when you output the item.
1 In the Roll Editor, select the Enable GPO checkbox.
2 Use the drop-down list to select which pin receives the trigger on output.
• The GPO is raised when the item in on air.
• The GPO is lowered when the item is taken off air.
Log notes allow you to enter information that records in the playback log every time the item plays.
1 To add a log note to the item, click the Log Note button on the Content tab.
2 Enter any notes about the item in the text box without pressing ENTER, and then click Save. The note is recorded in the log file each time the item plays.
56
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 57 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
3 To view the current day's log file, select Tools
>
Log Viewer. The Log
Viewer opens displaying the current log file. To open a different day's log file select File
>
Open in the Log Viewer.
Note:
You must select the Log This Item checkbox below the IconStation
Offline workspace to enable the log note. First, select the item in the workspace, and then select the Log This Item checkbox.
Set the Roll Loop
Options
External Data
Source Options
Figure 2-19: Log This Item Checkbox
You can set the roll loop options in the Roll Editor.
• Select the Play Once checkbox to set the roll to appear on screen only once, for the length of time it takes to display the text entered in the editor, or the data from the external database. If this checkbox is clear, the item loops on screen until it is hidden or killed.
• Select the Roll Offscreen before looping checkbox to set the roll to scroll completely offscreen before looping again. The background does not display between loops.
If you are linking the roll to an external data source, set the following options.
1 Check the External Data Source checkbox on the Content tab and then click the Setup button to select your data source.
Note:
For details on linking to external data source see ”External Data
2 After you setup your data source, select the Show All New Data at Least
Once option if you want to display all data in the database once before
IconStation renders new data.
If you want IconStation to display updated content immediately on screen, select the Enable On Screen Update When Content Changes checkbox. If you do not select this option, IconStation will update your text when the item starts playing from the beginning.
Note:
This option is available for external files, as well as for text entered directly in the Editor.
3 Select a transition type from the Transition drop-down list, and enter a time in the Transition Duration field.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
57
IconStationManual.book Page 58 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Format Text
Set Item Audio
Note:
Transition options are available when you Enable Onscreen
Updates.
For details on formatting item text, see
For details on adding audio to items, see
”Add Audio to Items” on page 124
.
58
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 59 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Add Animations
When you add an animation to a layout, use the Animation Editor to setup your animation item. You can import a single animation, link to animations in a folder, or link to a series of animations referenced in an external file.
Open the Animation
Editor
To open the Animation Editor, complete the following steps.
1 Select the tab for your layout.
If you do not have a layout open, select an <empty> tab and open a layout.
2 Click the Animation button and drag an item box in your workspace.
Figure 2-20: Animation Button
3 Select the item box, and click the Edit button to open the Animation Editor.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
59
IconStationManual.book Page 60 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
On the Content tab you have three options: File, Play from Folder, and Play from Data Source. See the following instructions for each option.
Option: File
Figure 2-21: Animation Editor
To use a single animation (.via) file for your item, complete the following steps.
60
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 61 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
On the Content tab, select the File option.
Figure 2-22: Animation File Options
The File option allows you to open a single .via file, or to import an animation file series. See the following topics for details.
Open a Single VIA File
To open a single .via file complete the following steps.
1 Click the Browse button.
2 In the Open dialog, select your animation .via file and click Open.
When the file opens in the Animation Editor, the length of the animation displays in the Duration field.
3 Use the Play buttons to view your animation in the Editor.
• Rewind: Jumps to the first frame of the clip.
• Stop: Stops a playing animation.
• Play: Plays clip from current position.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
61
IconStationManual.book Page 62 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Option: Play from
Folder
Import Animation Frames
When you import a series of animation frames, you can also select a thumbnail to display in IconStation. Once you click Save in the Animation Editor, the file are rendered and saved as a single .via animation file.
1 Click the Browse button.
2 In the Open dialog, select the first file in the animation series and click
Open.
The Thumbnail options become available.
3 Set the animation thumbnail.
• To enter a specific frame number, use the Frame field to set the frame for the item thumbnail.
• To set the first or last frame as the thumbnail, click the First or Last button.
4 Click Save. The animation renders and the Animation Editor closes.
5 Double-click on the animation item to open the Animation Editor. Notice the animation is saved as a single .via file and the Thumbnail options are no longer available.
To reference a folder, and play the animation (.via) files in the referenced folder, complete the following steps.
On the Content tab, select the Play from Folder option.
62
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
Figure 2-23: Animation Play from Folder Options
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 63 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Option: Play From
Data Source
1 Click the Browse button.
2 In the dialog, select the folder containing your animation file(s), and click
OK.
3 If there are multiple animation files in the folder, set the play order by selecting an option from the Play Order drop-down list.
• Alphabetically: Plays the animation files in alphabetical order. Select
Ascending to set the play order from A-Z, or select Descending to set the play order from Z-A.
• Date: Plays the animation files based on their creation date. Select
Ascending to play the animations in chronological order, or select
Descending to play the animations in reverse chronological order.
To reference an external file, and play the animations in the referenced file, complete the following steps.
1 On the Content tab, select the Play from Data Source option.
Figure 2-24: Animation Play from Data Source Options
2 Select the Associate Audio Source checkbox if your external file also references an audio file. IconStation plays the referenced audio file on output.
3 Click the Setup button and use the Data Source Wizard to select the data source containing your animation references.
Note:
For details on using external data sources, see ”External Data
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
63
IconStationManual.book Page 64 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
If you selected the Associate Audio Source checkbox on the Content tab, you will have the option to assign a data column to the item's Animation field and assign a different data column to the item's Audio field.
Assign data column (example: F1) to Animation field.
Assign data column (example: F2) to Audio field.
Figure 2-25: Animation Associate Audio Source Example
When you are finished setting up your data source you are returned to the
Content tab.
4 To play a backup animation file if the animation data is unavailable, click the Browse button beside the Animation field. The Open dialog displays where you can navigate to and select your animation file.
5 To play a backup audio file if the audio data is unavailable, click the
Browse button beside the Audio field. In the Open dialog select the backup audio file and click Open.
This option is available if the Associate Audio Source checkbox is selected.
6 Set the animation playback duration.
• File Duration: Plays the animation for the duration of the animation file.
• Custom Duration: Plays the animation for the duration set in the
Custom Duration field. Time is measured in hours:minutes:seconds:frames.
64
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 65 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Adjust Animation
Opacity
Scale the
Animation
Trigger GPO Device with Animation Item
Add a Log Note
Use the Opacity field to adjust the animation transparency. 100 is completely opaque. 0 is completely transparent.
The Opacity field is available with all three animation options: File, Play from
Folder, and Play from File.
To size the animation so it fills the item box, select the Scale to Fill Region checkbox. If you want to size the animation’s width:height proportionately, select the Maintain Aspect Ratio checkbox.
You can set the animation item to trigger your GPO device using the Enable
GPO checkbox in the Animation Editor. The GPO device is triggered when you output the item.
The Enable GPO checkbox is available with all three animation options: File,
Play from Folder, and Play from File.
1 In the Animation Editor, select the Enable GPO checkbox.
2 Use the drop-down list to select which pin receives the trigger on output.
• The GPO is raised when the item in on air.
• The GPO is lowered when the item is taken off air.
Log notes allow you to enter information that records in the playback log every time the item plays.
The Log Note button is available with all three animation options: File, Play from Folder, and Play from File.
1 To add a log note to the item, click the Log Note button on the Content tab.
2 Enter any notes about the item in the text box without pressing ENTER, and then click Save. The note is recorded in the log file each time the item plays.
3 To view the current day's log file, select Tools
>
Log Viewer. The Log
Viewer opens displaying the current log file. To open a different day's log file select File
>
Open in the Log Viewer.
Note:
You must select the Log This Item checkbox below the IconStation
Offline workspace to enable the log note. First, select the item in the
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
65
IconStationManual.book Page 66 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM workspace, and then select the Log This Item checkbox.
Set the Animation
Loop Options
Apply an Alpha
Mask
Set Item Audio
Figure 2-26: Log This Item Checkbox
To set the animation loop option use the Play Once checkbox.
The Play Once checkbox is available with all three animation options: File,
Play from Folder, and Play from File.
• To play the animation once on output and then stop, check the Play Once checkbox.
• To loop the animation during playback, clear the Play Once checkbox.
For details on applying an alpha mask to items, see ”Add an Alpha Mask” on page 118
.
For details on adding audio to items, see
”Add Audio to Items” on page 124
.
66
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 67 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Add Digital Clocks
When you add a digital clock to a layout, use the Digital Clock Editor to setup your digital clock item. By default, the digital clock item displays the time of your system clock.
If you have a timecode source hooked up to your system, you can change the default time source to a timecode. To do this, select Edit > Preferences, then select the Timecode option.
Open the Digital
Clock Editor
To open the Digital Clock Editor, complete the following steps.
1 Select the tab for your layout.
If you do not have a layout open, select an <empty> tab and open a layout.
2 Click the Digital Clock button and drag an item box in your workspace.
Figure 2-27: Digital Clock Button
3 Select the item box, and click the Edit button to open the Digital Clock
Editor.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Figure 2-28: Digital Clock Editor
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
67
IconStationManual.book Page 68 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Set Clock Display
Options
Use the options on the Content tab to determine how the clock displays.
Table 2-2: Clock Display Options
Description Display Option
Show Time
Show Leading Zeros
Show Seconds
Offset Time
Sets whether or not the time displays on output. If you want the time displayed, check the Show Time checkbox and then set the following options.
• Select the 12 Hour or 24 Hour option, to set the clock format.
• Select the Show AM/PM checkbox to display the AM or PM indicator during output.
Sets the hour to display as two digits. If the current time is 9:00 AM the clock displays
09:00 AM.
Includes seconds in the digital clock display.
Delays or advances the clock by the set number of hours and minutes. By default, the time displayed by the digital clock is the local time provided by the computer clock.
To delay a clock, check the Offset Time checkbox and enter a negative value in the
HR and MIN fields. For example if you want to delay the time display by 1 hour 5 minutes, enter -1 in the HR field and -5 in the MIN field.
To advance a clock, check the Offset Time checkbox and enter a positive value in the HR and MIN fields. For example if you want to advance the time display by 1 hour 5 minutes, enter 1 in the HR field and 5 in the MIN field.
68
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 69 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Set Time Source
Display the Date without the Time
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Table 2-2: Clock Display Options
Display Option Description
Separator
Show Prefix
Show Suffix
Sets the character that displays between the hours, minutes, seconds, frames. Select a separator from the drop-down list, or enter a custom separator in the text box.
Displays a string of text before the clock display. Check the Show Prefix checkbox to enable the prefix options.
Select the first option to choose a preset
Day/Date/Month arrangement. The Windows
Short Format and Windows Long Format options use the format set in the Windows
Date and Time Control Panel.
Select the second option to enter custom text that appears before the digital clock.
Displays a string of text after the clock display. Check the Show Suffix checkbox to enable the suffix options.
Select the first option to choose a preset
Day/Date/Month arrangement. The Windows
Short Format and Windows Long Format options use the format set in the Windows
Date and Time Control Panel.
Select the second option to enter custom text that appears after the digital clock.
By default, the digital clock item displays the local time provided by your computer clock. If you have a timecode source hooked up to your system, you can change the default time source to a timecode. To do this, select Edit
>
Preferences, then select the Timecode option.
If you want to display the date or custom text set in the prefix/suffix options, without displaying the time, clear the Show Time checkbox on the Content tab.
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
69
IconStationManual.book Page 70 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Trigger GPO Device with Digital Clock
Item
Add a Log Note
You can set the digital clock item to trigger your GPO device using the Enable
GPO checkbox in the Digital Clock Editor. The GPO device is triggered when you output the item.
1 In the Digital Clock Editor, select the Enable GPO checkbox.
2 Use the drop-down list to select which pin receives the trigger on output.
• The GPO is raised when the item in on air.
• The GPO is lowered when the item is taken off air.
Log notes allow you to enter information that records in the playback log every time the item plays.
1 To add a log note to the item, click the Log Note button on the Content tab.
2 Enter any notes about the item in the text box without pressing ENTER, and then click Save. The note is recorded in the log file each time the item plays.
3 To view the current day's log file, select Tools
>
Log Viewer. The Log
Viewer opens displaying the current log file. To open a different day's log file select File
>
Open in the Log Viewer.
Note:
You must select the Log This Item checkbox below the IconStation
Offline workspace to enable the log note. First, select the item in the workspace, and then select the Log This Item checkbox.
Format Text
Apply an Alpha
Mask
Set Item Audio
Figure 2-29: Log This Item Checkbox
For details on formatting item text, see
For details on applying an alpha mask to items, see ”Add an Alpha Mask” on page 118
.
For details on adding audio to items, see
”Add Audio to Items” on page 124
.
70
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 71 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Add Digital Timers
When you add a digital timer to a layout, use the Digital Timer Editor to setup your item. Digital timers can have pre-set start and end times or be operator-controlled. Controls are available during output to start, stop, reset, and restart the timer.
Open the Digital
Time Editor
To open the Digital Timer Editor, complete the following steps.
1 Select the tab for your layout.
If you do not have a layout open, select an <empty> tab and open a layout.
2 Click the Digital Timer button and drag an item box in your workspace.
Figure 2-30: Digital Timer Button
3 Select the item box, and click the Edit button to open the Digital Timer
Editor.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Figure 2-31: Digital Timer Editor
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
71
IconStationManual.book Page 72 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Set Timer Display
Options
Use the options on the Content tab to determine how the timer displays.
Set Timer Count
Options
Figure 2-32: Timer Display Options
Table 2-3: Timer Display Options
Display Option Description
Format
Separators
Leading Zeros
Sets the timing elements (hours, minutes, seconds) that the timer displays.
Sets which character separates the hours, minutes, and seconds. Select a separator from the drop-down list or enter a custom separator in the text box.
Sets the timer to display the time in two digits. For example, 8:00 displays as 08:00.
You have four count options for your timer.
• Set the timer’s start and end points.
• Setup a count-down timer.
• Set timer to count from current time to set end point.
• Set timer to count from start point to current time.
For details on each option, see the following topics.
Set Timer’s Start/End Points
When you set start and end points for the timer, the timer counts from the entered start point to the entered end point during output.
To set the timer’s start and end points:
1 Select the first Count From radio button.
2 Enter the timer’s start point in the first field.
72
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 73 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
3 Enter the timer’s end point in the second field.
Figure 2-33: Timer Start/End Points
Set a Count-Up Timer
When you setup a count-up timer, the timer counts from the entered start time until you stop the timer.
To set a count-up timer:
1 Select the second Count From radio button.
2 Enter the timer’s start point in the first field.
Figure 2-34: Count Down Option
Set Timer to Count from Current Time to Set End Point
When you use the first Count Difference option, the timer counts from the current time to the set end point.
To set the timer to count from now to the set end point:
1 Select the first Count Difference radio button.
2 Enter the timer’s end point in the field.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Figure 2-35: Count from Current Time to End Point
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
73
IconStationManual.book Page 74 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Set Timer to Count from Start Point to Current Time
When you use the second Count Difference option, the timer counts from the set start point to the current time.
To set the timer to count from the start point to now:
1 Select the second Count Difference radio button.
2 Enter the start point in the field.
Trigger GPO Device with Digital Timer
Item
Add a Log Note
Figure 2-36: Count from Start Point to Current Time
You can set the digital timer item to trigger your GPO device using the Enable
GPO checkbox in the Digital Timer Editor. The GPO device is triggered when you output the item.
1 In the Digital Timer Editor, select the Enable GPO checkbox.
2 Use the drop-down list to select which pin receives the trigger on output.
• The GPO is raised when the item in on air.
• The GPO is lowered when the item is taken off air.
Log notes allow you to enter information that records in the playback log every time the item plays.
1 To add a log note to the item, click the Log Note button on the Content tab.
2 Enter any notes about the item in the text box without pressing ENTER, and then click Save. The note is recorded in the log file each time the item plays.
3 To view the current day's log file, select Tools
>
Log Viewer. The Log
Viewer opens displaying the current log file. To open a different day's log file select File
>
Open in the Log Viewer.
74
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 75 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Note:
You must select the Log This Item checkbox below the IconStation
Offline workspace to enable the log note. First, select the item in the workspace, and then select the Log This Item checkbox.
Format Text
Apply an Alpha
Mask
Set Item Audio
Figure 2-37: Log This Item Checkbox
For details on formatting item text, see
For details on applying an alpha mask to items, see ”Add an Alpha Mask” on page 118
.
For details on adding audio to items, see
”Add Audio to Items” on page 124
.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
75
IconStationManual.book Page 76 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Add Analog Clocks
You can import an existing analog clock file into an analog clock item in your layout. IconStation Offline ships with sample analog clocks to use in your layouts, or you can use the analog clock building utility to create your own analog clocks.
When you add an analog clock to a layout, use the Analog Clock Editor to setup your analog clock item.
Open the Analog
Clock Editor
To open the Analog Clock Editor, complete the following steps.
1 Select the tab for your layout.
If you do not have a layout open, select an <empty> tab and open a layout.
2 Click the Analog Clock button and drag an item box in your workspace.
Figure 2-38: Analog Clock Button
3 Select the item box, and click the Edit button to open the Analog Clock
Editor.
76
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
Figure 2-39: Analog Clock Editor
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 77 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Open an Existing
Analog Clock
Create a Clock in
Photoshop
To open an existing analog clock, complete the following steps.
1 On the Content tab in the Analog Clock Editor, click the Browse button.
2 Open your analog clock file.
Note:
To open a sample clock that ships with IconStation, navigate to
C:\Program Files\Harris\IconStation\Analog Clock Builder
Samples\Clocks. Open a clock from the NTSC or PAL folder, depending if you want an NTSC or PAL clock.
To create a custom clock in Adobe Photoshop, you must add the clock elements on specific layers.
1 In Photoshop, open a new document.
2 Add the following six layers in the Layers palette: hour, minute, second, face, axis, center.
3 Add your clock elements to the appropriate layer.
• Hour: Place the image of the hour hand on the hour layer.
• Minute: Place the image of the minute hand on the minute layer.
• Second: Place the image of the second hand on the second layer.
• Face: Place the image of the clock face on the face layer.
• Axis: Place the image of the clock axis on the axis layer.
• Center: Place a filled pixel on the center layer that anchors the center of the face and the rotation axis of the clock hands.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Figure 2-40: Analog Clock in Photoshop
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
77
IconStationManual.book Page 78 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Scale the Clock
Position the Clock
Adjust Clock
Transparency
Offset the Clock
Time
Trigger GPO Device with Analog Clock
Item
4 Save the clock as a .psd file.
5 Use the Analog Clock Editor to add the clock to your layout.
To change the size of the analog clock within the item box, complete the following steps.
1 Select the Scale checkbox.
2 Drag the Scale slider to resize the clock.
• Drag the slider to the left to decrease the clock size.
• Drag the slider to the right to increase the clock size.
Position the analog clock using the Top and Left position fields.
• Enter a number in the Top position field to move the analog clock X number of pixels from the top of the item box.
• Enter a number in the Left position field to move the analog clock X number of pixels from the left side of the item box.
Adjust the clock transparency using the Opacity field.
Enter a number in the Opacity field on the Content tab, where 0% is complete transparency and 100% is complete opacity.
Check the Offset checkbox if you want to advance or delay your clock by a set amount of time.
• To advance your clock enter a positive number in the hours (hr) and minutes (min) fields. For example, if you want to advance the clock by one hour ten minutes, enter 1 hr 10 min.
• To delay your clock enter a negative number in the hours (hr) and minutes
(min) fields. For example, if you want to delay the clock by one hour ten minutes, enter -1 hr -10 min.
You can set the analog clock item to trigger your GPO device using the Enable
GPO checkbox in the Analog Clock Editor. The GPO device is triggered when you output the item.
1 In the Analog Clock Editor, select the Enable GPO checkbox.
2 Use the drop-down list to select which pin receives the trigger on output.
• The GPO is raised when the item in on air.
• The GPO is lowered when the item is taken off air.
78
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 79 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Add a Log Note
Log notes allow you to enter information that records in the playback log every time the item plays.
1 To add a log note to the item, click the Log Note button on the Content tab.
2 Enter any notes about the item in the text box without pressing ENTER, and then click Save. The note is recorded in the log file each time the item plays.
3 To view the current day's log file, select Tools
>
Log Viewer. The Log
Viewer opens displaying the current log file. To open a different day's log file select File
>
Open in the Log Viewer.
Note:
You must select the Log This Item checkbox below the IconStation
Offline workspace to enable the log note. First, select the item in the workspace, and then select the Log This Item checkbox.
Apply an Alpha
Mask
Set Item Audio
Use the Analog
Clock Builder
Figure 2-41: Log This Item Checkbox
For details on applying an alpha mask to items, see ”Add an Alpha Mask” on page 118
.
For details on adding audio to items, see
”Add Audio to Items” on page 124
.
IconStation includes an Analog Clock Builder utility to create your own analog clocks.
1 To open the Analog Clock Builder, select Start > All Programs > Harris >
IconStation > Utilities > Analog Clock Builder.
2 For instructions on how to use this utility to create an analog clock file, use the Help menu in Analog Clock Builder.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
79
IconStationManual.book Page 80 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Add Temperature
When you add a temperature item to a layout, use the Temperature Editor to setup your item.
Set-Up a
Temperature Probe
In the Temperature Editor you have the option to manually enter the temperature or to display the temperature reading from the temperature probe connected to your system.
If you are using a temperature probe, you need to set-up your temperature probe in the Configuration Utility before the options are available in the
Temperature Editor. After making changes to the Configuration Utility you need to close IconStation Offline before you can apply the changes.
1 Select Start > All Programs > Harris > IconStation Offline > Configuration
Utilities > IconStation Offline Configuration Utility.
2 In the Configuration Utility, switch to the Temperature Probe tab.
3 Select the default units for your temperature probe reading: Celsius or
Fahrenheit.
4 Check the Use Temperature Probe checkbox.
5 Select your device from the Temperature Probe item list.
Figure 2-42: Temperature Probe Settings
6 Select the COM port that the temperature probe is connected to from the
COM item list.
80
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 81 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Open the
Temperature Editor
7 Click OK. A message appears indicating that you must close IconStation
Offline before you can apply the changes. Make sure IconStation Offline is closed and then click OK.
To open the Temperature Editor, complete the following steps.
1 Select the tab for your layout.
If you do not have a layout open, select an <empty> tab and open a layout.
2 Click the Temperature button and drag an item box in your workspace.
Figure 2-43: Temperature Button
3 Select the item box, and click the Edit button to open the Temperature
Editor.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Figure 2-44: Temperature Editor
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
81
IconStationManual.book Page 82 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Set Options in
Temperature Editor
Trigger GPO Device with Temperature
Item
Add a Log Note
Use the Content tab to select the temperature display and hardware options.
1 Select the Celsius or Fahrenheit option to set the temperature unit display.
2 Select the temperature reading option.
• Select the Manual option to enter the current temperature manually.
Type the temperature in the Manual text box.
• Select the Use Device option to read the temperature from the temperature probe you set-up in the Configuration Utility. The Use
Device box displays the temperature probe selected in the
Configuration Utility and is not editable.
3 Select the Manual option to enter the current temperature manually. Type the temperature in the Manual text box.
4 Check the Show Units checkbox to display the Celsius or Fahrenheit unit.
5 Check the Show Degrees checkbox to display the degrees sign with the temperature reading.
6 Enter a number in the Offset field to offset the temperature by a set number of degrees.
• Enter a positive value to increase the temperature display by the set number.
• Enter a negative value to decrease the temperature display by the set number.
You can set the item to trigger your GPO device using the Enable GPO checkbox in the Temperature Editor. The GPO device is triggered when you output the item.
1 In the Temperature Editor, select the Enable GPO checkbox.
2 Use the drop-down list to select which pin receives the trigger on output.
• The GPO is raised when the item in on air.
• The GPO is lowered when the item is taken off air.
Log notes allow you to enter information that records in the playback log every time the item plays.
1 To add a log note to the item, click the Log Note button on the Content tab.
82
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 83 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
2 Enter any notes about the item in the text box without pressing ENTER, and then click Save. The note is recorded in the log file each time the item plays.
3 To view the current day's log file, select Tools
>
Log Viewer. The Log
Viewer opens displaying the current log file. To open a different day's log file select File
>
Open in the Log Viewer.
Note:
You must select the Log This Item checkbox below the IconStation
Offline workspace to enable the log note. First, select the item in the workspace, and then select the Log This Item checkbox.
Format Text
Apply an Alpha
Mask
Set Item Audio
Figure 2-45: Log This Item Checkbox
For details on formatting item text, see
For details on applying an alpha mask to items, see ”Add an Alpha Mask” on page 118
.
For details on adding audio to items, see
”Add Audio to Items” on page 124
.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
83
IconStationManual.book Page 84 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Add Titles
When you add a title to a layout, use the Title Editor to setup your item.
Open the Title
Editor
To open the Title Editor, complete the following steps.
1 Select the tab for your layout.
If you do not have a layout open, select an <empty> tab and open a layout.
2 Click the Title button and drag an item box in your workspace.
Figure 2-46: Title Button
3 Select the item box, and click the Edit button to open the Title Editor.
84
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
Figure 2-47: Title Editor
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 85 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Enter Text
To enter text in the Title Editor, complete the following steps.
1 Type the text in the Text box on the Content tab.
2 To add another text line, place your cursor at the end of the textline and then press the ENTER key.
3 To view the data tags, check the Show Tags checkbox. Each line of text in a title item is labeled with a data tag. Data tags are used to link to external data sources. The external data feature is flexible, so you can link one or all of your text lines to an external data source.
Figure 2-48: Enter Multiple Lines
Note:
For details on linking your title text to an external file, see
Remove a Text Line
To remove a line of text in the Title Editor, complete the following steps.
1 Select the text in the text box.
2 Press the BACKSPACE key to delete the text.
3 When the text box is empty, press BACKSPACE again to delete the line.
Set Title Loop
Option
The Play Once checkbox in the Title Editor allows you to set the title to loop during playback, or to play once and then stop.
• To play the title once and then stop, check the Play Once checkbox.
• To loop the title during playback, clear the Play Once checkbox.
Add a Delay between Loops
Trigger GPO Device with Title Item
You can add a delay between title loops by looping a salvo that contains a
Delay action. For details, see ”Add a Delay between Item Loops” on page 212
.
You can set the item to trigger your GPO device using the Enable GPO checkbox in the Temperature Editor. The GPO device is triggered when you output the item.
1 In the Title Editor, select the Enable GPO checkbox.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
85
IconStationManual.book Page 86 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Add a Log Note
2 Use the drop-down list to select which pin receives the trigger on output.
• The GPO is raised when the item in on air.
• The GPO is lowered when the item is taken off air.
Log notes allow you to enter information that records in the playback log every time the item plays.
1 To add a log note to the item, click the Log Note button on the Content tab.
2 Enter any notes about the item in the text box without pressing ENTER, and then click Save. The note is recorded in the log file each time the item plays.
3 To view the current day's log file, select Tools
>
Log Viewer. The Log
Viewer opens displaying the current log file. To open a different day's log file select File
>
Open in the Log Viewer.
Note:
You must select the Log This Item checkbox below the IconStation
Offline workspace to enable the log note. First, select the item in the workspace, and then select the Log This Item checkbox.
External Data
Source Options
Figure 2-49: Log This Item Checkbox
When you link title items to an external source, the title displays the first set of data for the duration set in the Item Duration field. After the duration elapses, the next set of data displays for the set duration.
If you are linking the title to an external data source, set the following options.
1 Check the External Data Source checkbox on the Content tab.
2 Click the Setup button to open the Data Source Wizard and select your data source.
Note:
For details on linking to external data source see ”External Data
.
86
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 87 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Format Text
Apply an Alpha
Mask
Set Item Audio
You are returned to the Editor when you are finished setting up the data source.
3 To play a referenced audio file on output: a Select the Associate Audio Source checkbox if your external file also references an audio file. You can assign the audio data to the Audio field on the second screen of the
Data Source Wizard. The Data
Source Wizard opens when you click the Setup button. b Select the Play to Length of Audio checkbox to play the title for the duration of the associated audio file on output.
4 Select the Show All New Data at Least Once option if you want to display all data in the database once before IconStation renders new data.
5 Select a transition type from the Transition drop-down list, and enter a time in the Transition Duration field. The transition displays each time the title content updates.
6 Enter the item duration in minutes and second using the Item Duration options. Each layer of data plays for the set item duration.
For details on formatting item text, see
For details on applying an alpha mask to items, see ”Add an Alpha Mask” on page 118
.
For details on adding audio to items, see
”Add Audio to Items” on page 124
.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
87
IconStationManual.book Page 88 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Add Title Tables
When you add a table to a layout, use the Table Editor to setup your item.
The Table Editor allows you to quickly enter columns of text place holders for your external data source
(either a text file, an XML source, or an ODBC database). The place holders display the information from the external data source during output.
Use the Table Editor when you want to display external data formatted in columns.
Open the Table
Editor
To open the Table Editor, complete the following steps.
1 Select the tab for your layout.
If you do not have a layout open, select an <empty> tab and open a layout.
2 Click the Title Table button and drag an item box in your workspace.
Figure 2-50: Title Table Button
3 Select the item box, and click the Edit button to open the Table Editor.
88
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
Figure 2-51: Table Editor
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 89 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Setup the Table
Set Table Headers
To setup the table item, complete the following steps.
1 On the Content tab, enter the number of columns your table will contain in the Number of Columns field.
2 To use column headings, select the Header checkbox.
• To use the column headings contained in the database, select the Use
First Entry from Database radio button. The first row of data in your database will become the column headers.
• To create your own custom headings, select the Custom radio button.
Select a column from the Column drop-down list and then enter a name for the column in the Header field. Repeat this action for each column header you want to label.
To set the header options, complete the following steps.
1 Switch to the Headers tab.
2 Use the text formatting options to set the appearance of the headers.
3 Check the Space Below Header checkbox to add extra space, in pixels, between the bottom of the header and the top of the first column row. This space is added to the amount of leading that is set on the Row Formatting tab.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Figure 2-52: Define Table Header
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
89
IconStationManual.book Page 90 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Set Table Rows
4 Enter the number of pixels in the Space Below Header field. This adds the amount of space (in pixels) that you enter between the bottom of the header and the top of the first column row.
To set the row options, complete the following steps.
1 Switch to the Row Formatting tab.
2 Use the text formatting options to set the appearance of the row text.
3 Use the Column Widths bar to adjust the width of the columns. By default, columns are spaced evenly. Drag a column separator to customize the width of the columns in your table.
4 Enter a number in the Vertical Padding field to set the amount of vertical padding in pixels.
5 Enter a number in the Horizontal Padding field to set the amount of horizontal padding in pixels.
Auto Size Textline
Figure 2-53: Define Table Rows
The Auto Size Columns on Playback allows you to create a textline that automatically resizes, based on the content of the first column.
For details, see ”Auto Size Textline” on page 123 .
90
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 91 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Trigger GPO Device with Title Table Item
Add a Log Note
You can set the item to trigger your GPO device using the Enable GPO checkbox in the Table Editor. The GPO device is triggered when you output the item.
1 In the Table Editor, select the Enable GPO checkbox.
2 Use the drop-down list to select which pin receives the trigger on output.
• The GPO is raised when the item in on air.
• The GPO is lowered when the item is taken off air.
Log notes allow you to enter information that records in the playback log every time the item plays.
1 To add a log note to the item, click the Log Note button on the Content tab.
2 Enter any notes about the item in the text box without pressing ENTER, and then click Save. The note is recorded in the log file each time the item plays.
3 To view the current day's log file, select Tools
>
Log Viewer. The Log
Viewer opens displaying the current log file. To open a different day's log file select File
>
Open in the Log Viewer.
Note:
You must select the Log This Item checkbox below the IconStation
Offline workspace to enable the log note. First, select the item in the workspace, and then select the Log This Item checkbox.
External Data
Source Options
Figure 2-54: Log This Item Checkbox
Title Table items only display text from an external data source. To link the item to an external data source, set the following options.
1 Click the Setup Data Source button on the Content tab.
Note:
For details on linking to external data source see ”External Data
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
91
IconStationManual.book Page 92 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Format Text
Apply an Alpha
Mask
Set Item Audio
2 After you setup your data source, select the Show All New Data at Least
Once option if you want to display all data in the database once before
IconStation renders new data.
3 Select a transition type from the Transition drop-down list, and enter a time in the Transition Duration field. The transition displays each time the title content updates.
4 Enter the item duration in minutes and second using the Item Duration options.
5 Use the Play Once checkbox to set the table loop option. This option is only available after you link to your external data source.
• To play the item once and then stop, check the Play Once checkbox.
• To loop the item during playback, clear the Play Once checkbox.
For details on formatting item text, see
For details on applying an alpha mask to items, see ”Add an Alpha Mask” on page 118
.
For details on adding audio to items, see
”Add Audio to Items” on page 124
.
92
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 93 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Add Live Video
When you add live video to a layout, use the Live Video Editor to setup the item. If you purchased the DVE option, you can expand or shrink the video during playback.
Open the Live
Video Editor
To open the Live Video Editor, complete the following steps.
1 Select the tab for your layout.
If you do not have a layout open, select an <empty> tab and open a layout.
2 Click the Live Video button and drag an item box in your workspace.
Figure 2-55: Live Video Button
3 Select the item box, and click the Edit button to open the Live Video Editor.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Figure 2-56: Live Video Editor
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
93
IconStationManual.book Page 94 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Set Live Video
Options
In the Live Video Editor, use the Content A tab to set your video/audio hardware and source options and your viewable area.
If you have dual input, you can select two video sources for a live video region.
Select settings for the first live video input using the Content A and Audio A tabs, and select settings for the second live video input using the Content B and Audio B tabs.
To setup the live video, complete the following steps.
1 On the Content A tab, select a hardware device from the Video Device list.
The list displays all available hardware devices on your system capable of delivering video.
2 Select a source from the Source list. The list displays the sources available within the selected video device.
3 Select an audio device from the Audio Device list. The list displays all available hardware devices on your system capable of delivering audio.
4 Select an audio source from the Audio Source list. The list displays the sources available within the selected audio device.
Set 3D DVE Options
If you purchased the 3D DVE option, use the 3D DVE option to setup the
DVE.
1 Select the 3D DVE checkbox to enable the rotation options.
2 In the Horizontal Rotation field, enter a rotation in degrees. On output, the
DVE will rotate the set number of degrees on the horizontal axis.
3 In the Vertical Rotation field, enter a rotation in degrees. On output, the
DVE will rotate the set number of degrees on the vertical axis.
For details on 3D DVEs, see ”Create a 3D DVE” on page 137 .
Start DVE
Fullscreen
To start a DVE at fullscreen on output, select the Start Fullscreen checkbox.
A DVE allows you to resize live video items during output. You can expand the video to fullscreen or squeeze the video back to the size of the item box in your layout.
Create Live Video
DVEs
For details on creating 2D DVEs, 3D DVEs, and dual HD DVEs, see the following topics.
•
• ”Create a 3D DVE” on page 137
•
”Create a Dual DVE Layout” on page 142
94
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 95 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Crop the Video
Display
Trigger GPO Device with Live Video
Item
The Crop Viewable Area options allow you to crop the display area of your video.
1 To crop the video display, check the Crop Viewable Area checkbox.
2 Check the Lock Aspect Ratio checkbox to size the horizontal and vertical borders proportionately.
3 Drag the Horizontal slider to resize the horizontal borders of the video.
Dragging the slider to 25% moves the border on each side of the video in by 25% of the original width.
You can also enter a number in the Horizontal item box to specify exactly how many pixels to crop from each side of the video display.
4 Drag the Vertical slider to resize the vertical borders of the video.
Dragging the slider to 25% moves the border on the top and bottom of the video clip in by 25% of the original height.
You can also enter a number in the Vertical item box to specify exactly how many pixels to crop from the top and bottom of the video display.
Cropping Notes
The cropping options available in the Live Video Editor output differently depending on your system. Note the follow behavior to understand how cropped video displays on output.
• When you output a cropped live video on an Altitude Express system, the transparent area remains around the live video on output. The live video does not stretch past the transparent area to fit the item box or to play at fullscreen.
• XD-200 systems stretch the cropped live video to fill the screen.
• Cropping is not available in HD on XD-200 systems.
You can set the item to trigger your GPO device using the Enable GPO checkbox in the Live Video Editor. The GPO device is triggered when you output the item.
1 In the Live Video Editor, select the Enable GPO checkbox.
2 Use the drop-down list to select which pin receives the trigger on output.
• The GPO is raised when the item in on air.
• The GPO is lowered when the item is taken off air.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
95
IconStationManual.book Page 96 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Add a Log Note
Log notes allow you to enter information that records in the playback log every time the item plays.
1 To add a log note to the item, click the Log Note button on the Content tab.
2 Enter any notes about the item in the text box without pressing ENTER, and then click Save. The note is recorded in the log file each time the item plays.
3 To view the current day's log file, select Tools
>
Log Viewer. The Log
Viewer opens displaying the current log file. To open a different day's log file select File
>
Open in the Log Viewer.
Note:
You must select the Log This Item checkbox below the IconStation
Offline workspace to enable the log note. First, select the item in the workspace, and then select the Log This Item checkbox.
Apply an Alpha
Mask
Set Item Audio
Figure 2-57: Log This Item Checkbox
For details on applying an alpha mask to items, see ”Add an Alpha Mask” on page 118
.
For details on adding audio to live video items, see
”Set Audio for Live Video” on page 132
.
96
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 97 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Add Video Clips
When you add a video clip to a layout, use the Video Clip Editor to setup your item.
Note:
If you are using LTV clips they always play at fullscreen and applied masks do not display.
Open the Video Clip
Editor
To open the Video Clip Editor, complete the following steps.
1 Select the tab for your layout.
If you do not have a layout open, select an <empty> tab and open a layout.
2 Click the Video Clip button and drag an item box in your workspace.
Figure 2-58: Video Clip Button
3 Select the item box, and click the Edit button to open the Video Clip Editor.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Figure 2-59: Video Clip Editor
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
97
IconStationManual.book Page 98 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Option: File (Open a Single Video Clip
File)
On the Content tab you have three options: File, Play from Folder, and Play from Data Source. See the following instructions for each option.
To use a single video clip file for your item, complete the following steps.
1 On the Content tab, select the File option.
Figure 2-60: Video Clip File Options
2 Click the Browse button.
3 In the Open dialog, select your video clip file and click Open.
Preview Video Clip
To preview the video, use the top arrow indicator above the timeline or the play buttons.
• Drag the top indicator back and forth to any position in the timeline. The top indicator shows the current playback position of your preview in the
Editor.
• Use the Play buttons to preview your video.
98
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 99 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Trim Video Clip
Use one of the following methods to set the In and Out points for the clip.
• Drag the left indicator in the timeline to the frame for the In point and drag the right indicator in the timeline to the frame for the Out point.
• Enter a frame for the In and Out points in the fields below the timeline.
The timecode is measured in hours:minutes:seconds:frames
(HH:MM:SS:FF). The left field is for the In point and the right field is for the Out field.
• During preview you can click the Set In button to set the current frame as the In point and click the Set Out button to set the current frame as the
Out point.
Crop Viewable Area
The Crop Viewable Area options allow you to crop the display area of your video.
1 To crop the edges of the video clip, check the Crop Viewable Area checkbox.
2 Drag the Horizontal slider to resize the horizontal border of the video clip.
Dragging the slider to 25% moves the border on each side of the video in by 25% of the original video clip width.
You can also enter a number in the pixels text box to specify exactly how many pixels to crop from each side of the video clip.
3 Drag the Vertical slider to resize the vertical border of the video clip.
Dragging the slider to 25% moves the border on the top and bottom of the video clip in by 25% of the original video clip height.
You can also enter a number in the pixels text box to specify exactly how many pixels to crop from the top and bottom of the video clip.
4 Check the Lock Aspect Ratio checkbox to size the horizontal and vertical borders proportionately.
Note:
Cropped video clips expand to fill the screen for both Altitude Express systems and XD-200 systems. Cropping is not available in HD on
XD-200 systems.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
99
IconStationManual.book Page 100 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Option: Play from
Folder
To reference a folder, and play the video clip files in the referenced folder, complete the following steps.
1 On the Content tab, select the Play from Folder option.
Figure 2-61: Video Clip Play from Folder Options
2 Click the Browse button.
3 In the dialog, select the folder containing your video file(s), and click OK.
4 If there are multiple video files in the folder, set the play order by selecting an option from the Play Order drop-down list.
• Alphabetically: Plays the video files in alphabetical order. Select
Ascending to set the play order from A-Z, or select Descending to set the play order from Z-A.
• Date: Plays the video files based on their creation date. Select
Ascending to play the animations in chronological order, or select
Descending to play the animations in reverse chronological order.
5 Set the video clip playback duration.
• File Duration: Plays the clip for the duration of the video clip file.
• Custom Duration: Plays the video clip for the duration set in the
Custom Duration field. Time is measured in hours:minutes:seconds:frames.
100
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 101 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Option: Play From
Data Source
To reference an external file, and play the video clips in the referenced file, complete the following steps.
1 On the Content tab, select the Play from Data Source option.
Figure 2-62: Video Clip Play from Data Source Options
Select the Associate Audio Source checkbox if your external file also references an audio file. IconStation plays the referenced audio file on output.
Assign data column (example: F1) to Video field.
Assign data column (example: F2) to Audio field.
Figure 2-63: Video Clip Associate Audio Source Example
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
101
IconStationManual.book Page 102 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Invert Field
Dominance
Trigger GPO Device with Video Clip Item
2 Click the Setup button and use the Data Source Wizard to select the data source containing your animation references.
Note:
For details on using external data sources, see ”External Data
.
If you selected the Associate Audio Source checkbox on the Content tab, you will have the option to assign a data column to the item's Video field and assign a different data column to the item's Audio field.
When you are finished setting up your data source you are returned to the
Content tab.
3 To play a backup video file if the video data is unavailable, click the Browse button beside the Video field. The Open dialog displays where you can navigate to and select your video file.
4 To play a backup audio file if the audio data is unavailable, click the
Browse button beside the Audio field. In the Open dialog select the backup audio file and click Open.
This option is available if the Associate Audio Source checkbox is selected.
5 Set the video clip playback duration.
• File Duration: Plays the clip for the duration of the video clip file.
• Custom Duration: Plays the video clip for the duration set in the
Custom Duration field. Time is measured in hours:minutes:seconds:frames.
Select the Invert Fields checkbox to flip the field dominance.
The Invert Fields checkbox is available with all three video clip options: File,
Play from Folder, and Play from File.
In some cases, IconStation is unable to determine the field dominance (i.e. upper field first or lower field first) of the video clips. When this happens the video clip may contain motion jitter during preview and playback. Selecting this checkbox will flip the field dominance.
You can set the video clip item to trigger your GPO device using the Enable
GPO checkbox in the Video Clip Editor. The GPO device is triggered when you output the item.
The Enable GPO checkbox is available with all three video clip options: File,
Play from Folder, and Play from File.
102
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 103 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Add a Log Note
1 In the Video Clip Editor, select the Enable GPO checkbox.
2 Use the drop-down list to select which pin receives the trigger on output.
• The GPO is raised when the item in on air.
• The GPO is lowered when the item is taken off air.
Log notes allow you to enter information that records in the playback log every time the item plays.
The Log Note button is available with all three video clip options: File, Play from Folder, and Play from File.
1 To add a log note to the item, click the Log Note button on the Content tab.
2 Enter any notes about the item in the text box without pressing ENTER, and then click Save. The note is recorded in the log file each time the item plays.
3 To view the current day's log file, select Tools
>
Log Viewer. The Log
Viewer opens displaying the current log file. To open a different day's log file select File
>
Open in the Log Viewer.
Note:
You must select the Log This Item checkbox below the IconStation
Offline workspace to enable the log note. First, select the item in the workspace, and then select the Log This Item checkbox.
Set the Video Clip
Loop Options
Figure 2-64: Log This Item Checkbox
To set the video clip loop option use the Play Once checkbox.
The Play Once checkbox is available with all three video clip options: File, Play from Folder, and Play from File.
• To play the video clip once on output and then stop, check the Play Once checkbox.
• To loop the video clip during playback, clear the Play Once checkbox.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
103
IconStationManual.book Page 104 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Apply an Alpha
Mask
Set Item Audio
Create Video Clip
DVE
For details on applying an alpha mask to items, see ”Add an Alpha Mask” on page 118
.
For details on adding audio to video clip items, see ”Set Audio for Video
For details on creating a 2D video clip DVE, see
”Create a 2D DVE” on page 131 .
104
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 105 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Add RTXport Content
With the purchase of the RTXport option, you can display layers of data created in your RTX application with the RTXport item in your layout.
Add RTXport to
Layout
To add an RTXport to your layout, complete the following steps.
1 Select the tab for your layout.
If you do not have a layout open, select an <empty> tab and open a layout.
2 Click the RTXport button and drag an item box in your workspace.
Figure 2-65: RTXport Button
3 In the RTX Port details below the workspace, enter the name of the RTX surface area exactly as it is found in the RTX .exe code in the Name field.
Enter the name of the RTX surface area exactly as it is found in the RTX .exe code.
Figure 2-66: Enter Name of RTX Surface Area
4 Run the RTX application.
The RTX surface area appears on output.
For the RTX surface area to display properly during output, you must run the
RTXport item before you launch your RTX application.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
105
IconStationManual.book Page 106 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Digital Clock
RTXports
If you create a digital clock with your RTX application you must install
GPIandTimeCode1.0.exe before the RTXPort displays the correct time.
You can find GPIandTimeCode1.0.exe in the GPI and Timecode folder on the
IconStation CD.
1 Insert the IconStation CD in your CD/DVD drive.
2 Navigate to the GPI and Timecode folder.
3 Double-click on the GPIandTimeCode1.0.exe to start the install.
4 On the first screen, select Inca Station for the product and then click Next.
5 On the second screen, select Internal Timer, so the digital clock displays the system time on output. Click Next.
6 On the third screen, select your video standard and then click Next.
7 On the Install GPI Serial Trigger screen, select No. Click Next.
8 On the Begin Installation screen, click Next to install the settings.
106
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 107 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Add TitleMotion Content
TitleMotion is a legacy character generator that you can use to create titles, rolls, crawls, and animations. You can use the templates provided in TitleMotion or create your own templates for crawl, roll, and title items. You cannot attach audio to TitleMotion items.
Note:
These steps outline how to open the legacy version of TitleMotion.
Open TitleMotion
To open TitleMotion, complete the following steps.
1 Select the tab for your layout.
If you do not have a layout open, select an <empty> tab and open a layout.
2 Click the TitleMotion button and drag an item box in your workspace.
Figure 2-67: TitleMotion Button
3 Select the item box, and click the Edit button below the workspace to open the TitleMotion plug-in.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Figure 2-68: Legacy TitleMotion Application
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
107
IconStationManual.book Page 108 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Add TitleMotion
Content
To create a title, crawl, roll, or animation in TitleMotion, complete the following steps.
Note:
The following steps provide a basic workflow for TitleMotion. For detailed information on using TitleMotion, refer to the TitleMotion online help.
1 In TitleMotion, select the type of content you want to create (Still, Crawl,
Roll, or Animation) from the Layout Type list at the top of the screen.
2 Enter the text in the main workspace. Make sure the Text plane button is selected.
Layout Type list Graphics Plane
Create an ICG
Template
Text Plane
Figure 2-69: TitleMotion Options
3 Use the Attribute tabs below the workspace to format the text.
4 To add graphics, click on the Graphics plane button at the top of the screen. Use the tools in the Tools palette on the right side of the screen to draw your graphic shapes.
5 To create an animation, click on the animation button at the top of the screen to switch to the Animation Editor (FX).
6 Animate your item in the Animation Editor.
7 Select File
>
Save. TitleMotion closes.
Use TitleMotion to create a text formatting template for your title, crawl, or roll items in IconStation. Once you export the template file you can select the file as your template in the IconStation Offline Content Editors. You can apply templates to title, crawl, and roll text items.
1 Add text in your TitleMotion workspace. If you are creating a template for your title, crawl, or roll items, make sure you have the right layout-type selected from the Layout Type list in TitleMotion.
2 Use the Attributes tabs below the workspace to apply formatting options to your text. The formatting options are saved with your template and are applied to your IconStation Offline items when you select the template.
108
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 109 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Format IconStation
Offline Item with
ICG Template
TitleMotion
Documentation
3 Select File
>
Export
>
Export ICG File.
4 In the Save As dialog, save your template file. The TitleMotion template is saved as a .icg file.
5 Exit TitleMotion.
You can use the .icg template file to apply advanced formatting to your
IconStation Offline items. You can apply templates to title, crawl, and roll items.
1 In the IconStation Offline, select your layout tab.
2 Double-click on the crawl, roll, or title item to open the Content Editor.
3 In the Content Editor, switch to the Formatting tab and select the From File option.
4 Click the Browse button.
5 In the Open dialog, select the .icg template file and click Open. The formatting from the template file is applied to the current item.
TitleMotion comes with its own set of documentation that is separate from the
IconStation Offline material. If you would like more information on using
TitleMotion, see TitleMotion’s Online Help.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
109
IconStationManual.book Page 110 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Format Text
Use the Content Editors to format the display of your item text. Depending on the item type, text formatting includes font, size, spacing, alignment, position, shadow, and background options.
Open Content
Editor
Apply Template
Formatting
To open the Content Editor, complete the following steps.
1 Select the tab for your layout above the workspace.
2 Double-click the text-based item in the workspace to open the Content
Editor.
You can apply formatting from a TitleMotion template (.icg file) to your title, crawl, and roll items.
1 In the Title, Roll, or Crawl Editor, switch to the Formatting tab and select the From File option.
2 Click the Browse button.
3 In the Open dialog box, select All Files from the Files of Type drop-down list.
4 Navigate to and select the .icg template.
5 Click Open. The formatting from the template file is applied to the current item.
See Also:
For details on creating TitleMotion (.icg) templates see ”Create an
ICG Template” on page 108 .
Apply Custom
Formatting Options
All items share the same standard formatting options. The options may change slightly depending on the item type.
1 In the Content Editor, switch to the Formatting tab.
110
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 111 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
2 Select the Custom option.
Figure 2-70: Formatting Tab
3 Apply the formatting options to your text.
See the following table for a description of the options.
Table 2-4: Text Formatting Options
Formatting Option Function
Font
Size
B
Lists all the available fonts for your text.
Select a font to apply the font to your text.
Sets the size of the text.
Applies bold formatting.
u
Tracking
Applies underline formatting.
Sets the space between text characters.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
111
IconStationManual.book Page 112 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Table 2-4: Text Formatting Options
Formatting Option Function
Width
Opacity
Color
Alignment:
Left, Center, Right
Size Text to Fit
Wrap Text
Position:
Top, Left
Position:
Top, Middle, Bottom
Leading
Sets the width of the characters. By default, text is set at 100% of its normal width.
Increase the value to expand the text and decrease the value to compress the text.
Sets the text opacity. Zero is completely transparent and 100 is completely opaque.
Sets the text color. Click the color chip to open the Color Picker. Select a new color for the text face using the Color Picker tools.
Aligns the text to the left, center, or right-side of the item box.
Resizes the text to fit in the item box.
Available for title items.
Moves text to the next line when the text string reaches the edge of the item box.
Available for roll and title items.
Positions the text within the item box. Enter a number in the Top position field to move the text X number of pixels from the top of the region. Enter a number in the Left position field to move the text X number of pixels from the left side of the region.
Positions the crawl text at the top, middle, or bottom of the item box.
Option for crawls only.
Sets the amount of space between the lines in your roll or title.
112
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 113 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Table 2-4: Text Formatting Options
Formatting Option Function
Edge
(Edge) Width
(Edge) Color
Background
Adds an edge to the text.
Sets the edge width.
Sets the edge color.
Adds a background color to the item.
(Background) Opacity Sets background color opacity. Zero is completely transparent and 100 is completely opaque.
(Background) Color Sets background color.
Shadow
(Shadow) Custom
Adds a shadow to the text.
Sets the shadow distance, softness, opacity, color, and position.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
113
IconStationManual.book Page 114 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Add an Alpha Mask
An alpha mask makes sections of an item transparent, semi-transparent, and opaque. Use the Mask tab to add an alpha mask in the supported Content Editors.
Apply an Alpha
Mask
Change the Mask
Channel
Figure 2-71: Alpha Mask Applied
You can use any image file as a mask.
1 Switch to the Mask tab of the Content Editor.
2 Check the Enable Mask checkbox.
3 Click the Browse button and choose the image file you want to use as a mask.
Image files usually contain more than one channel of information. To choose which channel you want to use as your mask, complete the following steps.
1 Switch to the Mask tab.
2 Use the Mask Channel drop-down list to select a new channel.
Note:
The channels available in the Mask Channel drop-down list depend on the format of the image and how the image was created.
114
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 115 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Invert the Mask
To invert the area of the image that is masked, complete the following steps.
1 Switch to the Mask tab.
2 Select the Invert Mask checkbox. The masked area is reversed.
Figure 2-72: Alpha Mask Inverted
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
115
IconStationManual.book Page 116 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Edit Items
Show Details Panel
When you select an item, the Details panel below the workspace displays options available for that item.
Rename Item
Scale or Resize
Items
Figure 2-73: Details Panel
If the Safe Title Area options are displayed and you do not see the Item panel, select the item in the Layout window or in the Layers list. You can also select
Tools
>
Display Page Settings.
By default, items in the layout are named by their item type followed by a unique number when there is more than one item of that type. To rename the selected item, enter a new name in the Name field workspace. Press ENTER to apply the change.
To resize an item, use one of the following methods.
• Click on the item in the workspace, then drag its handle.
To maintain the item’s dimensions, press and hold the SHIFT key while dragging.
• To resize the item precisely, select the item, then enter a number in the
Size: w (width) and Size: h (height) fields below the workspace.
Note:
These options are not available if the Lock Position checkbox is checked. Also, you cannot scale an item if the layout is on-air.
116
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 117 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Move or Position
Items
Lock or Unlock
Item Position
Lock or Unlock
Item Content
Preview Item
Content in
Workspace
Log Item Playback
To move or reposition an item within the layout, use one of these methods:
• Drag the item in the workspace to a new position.
• To position the item precisely, select the item, then enter a number in the
Pos X field. The item moves the set number of from the left edge of the layout. Enter a number in the Pos Y field. The item moves the set number of pixels from the top edge of the layout.
Note:
These options are not available if the Lock Position checkbox is checked.
You cannot move an item if the layout is on-air.
To lock the position of an item so the item cannot be moved in the layout, select the item, then check the Lock Position checkbox on the Details panel. To unlock the item’s position, clear the checkbox. This option is not available for all items.
To lock the content of an item so that the content cannot be changed, select the item, then check the Lock Content checkbox on the Details panel. To edit the item’s content, clear the checkbox.
This option is not available for all items.
Note:
When you lock the content, you cannot open the item’s Content Editor.
By default, the Preview Content option is checked so you can view the content of the selected item in the layout workspace. To disable this option, clear the
Preview Content checkbox so only the empty item box displays.
This option is not available for all items.
To automatically log the playback of items, select the item, then check the Log
This Item checkbox on the Details panel. Approximately every 10 seconds,
IconStation Offline checks all items that are selected to be logged and records changes to their show or hide states.
This option is not available for all items. By default, items are not set for logging.
To view the log file, select Tools
>
Log Viewer. See ”Create a Playback Log” on page 225 for more details on logging.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
117
IconStationManual.book Page 118 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Change Item Order
To change the z-order (front-to-back order) of items, use one of the following methods.
• In the Items list on the Control panel, drag the item up to move it in front of other items, or down to move it behind other items.
• Right-click on an item in the workspace, then select: Bring to Front, Bring
Forward, Send Backward, or Send to Back.
Note:
You cannot change item order if the layout is on-air.
Delete Items
Create a
Background
To delete an item, use one of the following methods.
• Select the item in the workspace or Items list, then press the DELETE key on your keyboard.
• Right-click on the item and select Delete Item in the right-click menu.
To create a background for the entire layout, draw an item that covers the entire layout area and set its z-order to the back.
118
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 119 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Auto Size Textline
You can create a textline with two text objects that automatically resizes, based on the content of the first text object (with data tag 1-1). On output the two text objects display as a single line with appropriate spacing.
To create a text line that automatically resizes, you must create a title table item or a legacy TitleMotion item that links to an external data source.
Auto Size Text
Example
In the following example, the textline automatically resizes to fit the content of text object 1. text object 1 text object 2
Up Next on Renovation Wreck...
1-1 1-2
text object 1 text object 2
Next Monday on Renovation Wreck...
1-1 1-2
Create Textline with
Title Table Item
Figure 2-74: Textline Resizes to Fit Text Object Data
Creating a textline with a title table item is the quickest way to create auto sizing textlines. When you use title table item, both text objects must use the same text formatting.
Create Title Table Item
To create the textline with a title table item, complete the following steps.
1 Select the tab for your layout.
If you do not have a layout open, select an <empty> tab and open a layout.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
119
IconStationManual.book Page 120 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
2 Click the Title Table button and drag an item box in your workspace.
Figure 2-75: Add Title Table Item
3 Select the item box, and click the Edit button to open the Table Editor.
4 On the Content tab, enter 2 in the Number of Columns field.
120
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 121 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Notice the data tags in the preview are labeled 1-1 for the first text object and 1-2 for the second text object.
Figure 2-76: Set Number of Columns to 2
5 Switch to the Row Formatting tab.
6 Use the options to define the text formatting for both text objects.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
121
IconStationManual.book Page 122 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
7 At the bottom of the tab, select the Auto Size Columns on Playback checkbox.
Figure 2-77: Format Text and Select Auto Size Columns
8 Adjust the Vertical and Horizontal Padding if necessary.
9 Click Save.
Link to Data Source
To link the title table item to an external data source, complete the following steps.
1 Double-click the title table item to open the Table Editor.
2 On the Content tab, click the Setup Data Source button. The Data Source
Wizard opens.
3
Use the Data Source Wizard to link your external file. See ”Use the Data
for details.
Note:
On the second Data Source Wizard screen, you will link Field 1-1 to the column containing the content for the first text object in your item. You will link Field 1-2 to the column containing the content for the second text object in your item.
122
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 123 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Create Textline with
TitleMotion Item
Creating an auto sizing textline with a legacy TitleMotion item allows you to apply different text formatting to each text object.
Create Legacy TitleMotion Item
To create the textline with a title table item, complete the following steps.
1 Select the tab for your layout.
If you do not have a layout open, select an <empty> tab and open a layout.
2 Click the TitleMotion button and drag an item box in your workspace.
Figure 2-78: Add TitleMotion Item
3 Select the item box, and click the Edit button to open the TitleMotion.
4 In the TitleMotion workspace size, position, and format the first text object.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
123
IconStationManual.book Page 124 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
The text you enter acts as a placeholder. On output the data from your external file displays.
Figure 2-79: First Text Object in TitleMotion
5 Switch to the Data Tags tab.
6 In the tag text box, enter 1-1 for the first text object and press ENTER.
Notice the data tag label in the workspace updated to display 1-1.
124
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
Figure 2-80: Label Data Tag 1-1
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 125 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
7 To create the second text object, put your cursor at the end of the first text object and press ENTER on your keyboard.
Note:
If you do not see a new textline, decrease the size of the first text object using the Height field on Size & Attributes tab, and press
ENTER again.
8 Use the Select Pointer tool to move the second text object beside the first.
Note:
You can align the text objects precisely by entering the same
Baseline for each object on the View tab.
9 Size, position, and format the second text object.
10 Switch to the Data Tags tab.
11 In the tag text box, enter 1-2 for the second text object and press ENTER.
Notice the data tag label in the workspace updated to display 1-2.
Figure 2-81: Label Data Tag 1-2
12 In TitleMotion, select File > Save. TitleMotion closes and you are returned to IconStation.
Setup the Auto Size Feature in the Table Editor
After you define the TitleMotion item, you need to apply the Auto Size feature using the Table Editor.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
125
IconStationManual.book Page 126 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
1 Right-click on the TitleMotion item and select Edit Item with Table Editor.
Figure 2-82: Open Item with Table Editor
2 Switch to the Row Formatting tab and select the Auto Size Columns on
Playback checkbox.
3 Click Save.
Link to Data Source
To link the TitleMotion item to an external data source, complete the following steps.
1 Right-click on the TitleMotion item and select Edit Item with Table Editor.
2 On the Content tab, click the Setup Data Source button. The Data Source
Wizard opens.
3
Use the Data Source Wizard to link your external file. See ”Use the Data
for details.
Note:
On the second Data Source Wizard screen, you will link Field 1-1 to the column containing the content for the first text object in your item. You will link Field 1-2 to the column containing the content for the second text object in your item.
126
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 127 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Create a 2D DVE
A 2D DVE allows you to resize live video or video clip items during output. You can expand the video to fullscreen or squeeze the video back to the size of the item box in your layout.
Setup a Live Video
2D DVE
Use a live video item to define the content and squeezed position of a 2D
DVE. If you are using live video for your 2D DVE, complete the following steps.
1 In your layout, click the Live Video button and drag an item box in the
IconStation Offline workspace.
Setup a Video Clip
2D DVE
Figure 2-83: Live Video Button
2 Size and position the item box in the layout.
• On output, if you apply the DVE fill option, the video expands from the item position to fill the screen.
• On output, if you apply the DVE squeeze option, the video plays full-screen and then shrinks down to size of the item box.
3 Select the live video item in the workspace and enter a name for the item in the Name field.
4 Double-click on the live video item in your layout to open the Live Video
Editor.
5 Use the options in the Content Editor to define the live video options, and then click Save.
See
”Add Live Video” on page 93 for details on using the Live Video Editor.
Start Live Video DVE Fullscreen on Output
1 To start a Live Video DVE at fullscreen on output, select the Start
Fullscreen checkbox in the Live Video Editor.
2 Click Save to apply the setting.
Use a video clip item to define the content and squeezed position of a 2D
DVE. If you are using a video clip for your 2D DVE, complete the following steps.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
127
IconStationManual.book Page 128 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
1 In your layout, click the Video Clip button and drag an item box in the
IconStation Offline workspace.
Cropping Notes
Create a Salvo for the 2D DVE
Figure 2-84: Video Clip Button
2 Size and position the item box in the layout.
• On output, if you apply the DVE fill option, the video expands from the item position to fill the screen.
• On output, if you apply the DVE squeeze option, the video plays full-screen and then shrinks down to size of the item box.
3 Select the video clip item in the Layers list and enter a name for the item in the Name field.
4 Double-click on the video clip item in your layout to open the Video Clip
Editor.
5 Use the options in the Content Editor to define the video clip content, and then click Save.
See ”Add Video Clips” on page 97 for details on using the Video Clip
Editor.
The cropping options available in the Live Video Editor and Video Clip Editor output differently depending on your system. Note the follow behavior to understand how cropped video displays on output.
• When you output a cropped live video on an Altitude Express system, the transparent area remains around the live video on output. The live video does not stretch past the transparent area to fit the item box or to play at fullscreen.
• XD-200 systems stretch the cropped live video to fill the screen.
• Cropped video clips expand to fill the screen for both Altitude Express systems and XD-200 systems.
• Cropping is not available in HD on XD-200 systems.
You can create a salvo that controls the output of the 2D DVE.
128
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 129 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Setup the Salvo
1 To create the salvo, click the Setup down arrow button at the bottom of the
Control panel and select New Salvo.
Figure 2-85: Select New Salvo
2 In the Salvo Setup dialog, enter a name for the salvo in the Name field.
3 Click the Add button to add the default item to the salvo.
4 Select the default item.
5 Select the live video item or video clip item. The selected item replaces the default item.
6 From the Action drop-down list, select DVE.
7 From the options list select the DVE action: Squeeze, Fullscreen, or Toggle.
• Squeeze: Resizes the video display to the size and position of the item box in your layout.
• Fullscreen: Resizes the video display to fill the screen.
• Toggle: Resizes the video display to the previous state, each time you trigger the salvo.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
129
IconStationManual.book Page 130 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
8 In the Duration field, set how long it takes to resize the video display. Time is measured in hours:minutes:seconds:frames.
Figure 2-86: Salvo for 2D DVE
9 Select your trigger.
• GPI: Select the GPI checkbox and then select the number for the GPI that triggers the salvo output. Click Save to close the dialog.
See
for more details.
• Hotkey: Select the Hotkey checkbox and click the Set button to enter a keystroke that triggers output. Click Save to close the dialog.
See
”Set a Hotkey Trigger” on page 217
for more details.
• Keypad (purchase option): Select the Assign Salvo to Keypad checkbox
130
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 131 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM to trigger the salvo with the keypad. Click Save to close the dialog.
See
”Enable Keypad Output” on page 218
for more details.
• Fire Salvo button: Click Save to close the dialog. In the Control panel use the Fire Salvo button to trigger output.
Once you return to the Control panel, the salvo displays in the Salvo list.
See Also:
For details on creating salvos, see ”Create a Salvo” on page 205
.
For details on output options, see
”Output the Salvo” on page 223
.
Output the 2D DVE
After you create the salvo you can output the DVE by firing the salvo on your online system using ADC Automation.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
131
IconStationManual.book Page 132 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Create a 3D DVE
A 3D DVE allows you to rotate the DVE on the horizontal and vertical axes. The DVE rotates when it expands to full-screen size or squeezes to the size of the live video item in the layout.
Setup the Live
Video Item
Use the live video item to define the content and squeezed position of the 3D
DVE.
1 Select your layout tab.
2 In your layout, click the Live Video button and drag an item box in the workspace.
Figure 2-87: Live Video Button
3 Size and position the item box in the layout.
• On output, if you apply the DVE fill option, the video expands from the item position to fill the screen.
• On output, if you apply the DVE squeeze option, the video plays full-screen and then shrinks down to size of the item box.
4 Select the live video item in the workspace and enter a name for the item in the Name field.
5 Double-click on the live video item in your layout to open the Live Video
Editor.
6 On the Content A tab, select the input for the DVE from the Video Device drop-down list.
7 Select the 3D DVE checkbox to enable the rotation options.
• In the Horizontal Rotation field, enter a rotation in degrees. On output, the DVE will rotate the set number of degrees on the horizontal axis.
• In the Vertical Rotation field, enter a rotation in degrees. On output, the DVE will rotate the set number of degrees on the vertical axis.
8 Use the options in the Live Video Editor to set-up your live video and then click Save.
See ”Add Live Video” on page 93 for details on using the Live Video
Editor.
132
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 133 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Cropping Notes
Output the 3D DVE
Manually
Start Live Video DVE Fullscreen on Output
1 To start a Live Video DVE at fullscreen on output, select the Start
Fullscreen checkbox in the Live Video Editor.
2 Click Save to apply the setting.
The cropping options available in the Live Video Editor output differently depending on your system. Note the follow behavior to understand how cropped video displays on output.
• When you output a cropped live video on an Altitude Express system, the transparent area remains around the live video on output. The live video does not stretch past the transparent area to fit the item box or to play at fullscreen.
• XD-200 systems stretch the cropped live video to fill the screen.
• Cropping is not available in HD on XD-200 systems.
Output the 3D DVE manually using the options in the Control panel.
Note:
You must output the DVE with the Show button before you can set the duration for the DVE squeeze.
To output the DVE manually, complete the following steps.
1 On the Control panel select the live video or video clip item from the Item list.
2 Click the Setup button to setup the 3D DVE.
3 Click the Show button to output the DVE.
4 Set how long it takes the DVE to resize during output using the Duration field (hh:mm:ss:ff).
5 Click the DVE Fullscreen button to expand the video to fullscreen.
6 To squeeze the video back to the size of the item box in your layout, click the DVE Squeeze button.
DVE Squeeze
© 2014 Imagine Communications
DVE Fullscreen
Figure 2-88: DVE Squeeze and Fullscreen Buttons
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
133
IconStationManual.book Page 134 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Output the 3D DVE
Using a Salvo
You can trigger the 3D DVE output using a salvo.
Setup the Salvo
1 On the Control panel, click the Setup down arrow button and select New
Salvo.
Figure 2-89: Select New Salvo
2 In the Salvo Setup dialog, enter a name for the salvo in the Name field.
3 Click the Add button to add the default item to the salvo.
4 Select the default item.
5 Select the live video item that is enabled for 3D DVE from the Item drop-down list. The selected live video item replaces the default item.
6 From the Action drop-down list, select DVE.
7 From the options list select the DVE action: Squeeze, Fullscreen, or
Toggle.
• Squeeze: Resizes the live video display to the size and position of the item box in your layout.
• Fullscreen: Resizes the live video display to fill the screen.
• Toggle: Resizes the video display to the previous state, each time you trigger the salvo.
134
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 135 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
8 In the Duration field, set how long it takes to resize the live video display.
Time is measured in hours:minutes:seconds:frames.
Figure 2-90: Salvo for 3D DVE
9 Select your trigger.
• GPI: Select the GPI checkbox and then select the number for the GPI that triggers the salvo output. Click Save to close the dialog.
See
for more details.
• Hotkey: Select the Hotkey checkbox and click the Set button to enter a keystroke that triggers output. Click Save to close the dialog.
See
”Set a Hotkey Trigger” on page 217
for more details.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
135
IconStationManual.book Page 136 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
• Keypad: Select the Assign Salvo to Keypad checkbox to trigger the salvo with the keypad (*purchase option). Click Save to close the dialog.
See
”Enable Keypad Output” on page 218 for more details.
• Fire Salvo button: Click Save to close the dialog. In the Control window use the Fire Salvo button to trigger output.
Once you return to the Control panel, the salvo displays in the Salvo list.
See Also:
For details on creating salvos, see ”Create a Salvo” on page 205
.
For details on output options, see
”Output the Salvo” on page 223 .
Output the 3D DVE
After you create the salvo use the selected trigger to output the DVE.
1 To output the salvo, select the salvo in the Control panel.
2 Trigger the salvo. For example, if you chose to use the Fire Salvo button, click the button to trigger the salvo.
3 If you are using the toggle action in your salvo, trigger the salvo again.
136
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 137 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Create a Dual DVE Layout
IconStation Offline systems that have two live input feeds support dual HD DVEs that can playout simultaneously. The HD DVEs resize the live video items during output.
Create the Layout in IconStation
Offline
Setup the Live Video Items
To use a dual DVE, create a layout in IconStation Offline that includes two live video items. You will then set the live video items as your DVEs.
1 In IconStation Offline, select and <empty> layout tab.
2 Click the Layouts button and select New Layout from the drop-down list.
3 In the New IconStation Offline Layout dialog, enter a name for the layout and click OK.
Figure 2-91: Enter Name for DVE Layout
4 Click the Live Video button and drag an item box in the IconStation Offline workspace.
Figure 2-92: Live Video button
5 Size and position the item box in the workspace.
• On output, if you apply the DVE fill option, the video expands from the item position to fill the screen.
• On output, if you apply the DVE squeeze option, the video plays full-screen and then shrinks down to size of the item box.
6 Select the live video item and enter a name for the item in the Name field below the workspace.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
137
IconStationManual.book Page 138 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
7 Repeat steps 4-6 to create the second live video item.
Figure 2-93: Dual DVE Layout
8 Double-click on the first live video item in your layout to open the Live
Video Editor.
9 On the Content A tab, select the input for the first DVE from the Video
Device drop-down list.
10 Use the options in the Live Video Editor to set-up your live video and then click Save.
See ”Add Live Video” on page 50 for details on using the Live Video Editor.
11 Double-click on the second live video item in your layout to open the Live
Video Editor.
12 On the Content A tab, select the input for the second DVE from the Video
Device drop-down list.
13 Use the options in the Live Video Editor to set-up your live video and then click Save.
138
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 139 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Cropping Notes
Setup DVE Output
Determine the DVE Stacking Order
Depending on the setup, the DVEs might overlap during output. You can use the item’s right-click menu to determine which live video item displays on top.
1 To set one item to display on top, select the item in the workspace.
2 Right-click on the item and select Bring to Front from the menu.
The cropping options available in the Live Video Editor output differently depending on your system. Note the follow behavior to understand how cropped video displays on output.
• When you output a cropped live video on an Altitude Express system, the transparent area remains around the live video on output. The live video does not stretch past the transparent area to fit the item box or to play at fullscreen.
• XD-200 systems stretch the cropped live video to fill the screen.
• Cropping is not available in HD on XD-200 systems.
Create a Salvo to Output the DVEs
The initial output state plays the two live video sources at the size of the item boxes in your layout. You can create a salvo to expand the two live video sources to full-screen.
If you use the toggle command, firing the salvo the first time expands both live video sources to full-screen — with one DVE playing on top.
Firing the salvo a second time squeezes the two live video sources to the size of the item boxes in your layout.
A B A
© 2014 Imagine Communications
First Output State:
"A" and "B" playing at size and position of item box.
Second Output State:
"A" and "B" playing at full-screen - with "A" on top.
Figure 2-94: Example Dual DVE Output
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
139
IconStationManual.book Page 140 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
1 To create the salvo, click the Setup down arrow button at the bottom of the Control panel.
2 Select New Salvo from the menu.
Figure 2-95: Select New Salvo
3 In the Salvo Setup dialog, enter a name for the salvo in the Name field.
4 Click the Add button to add the default item to the salvo.
5 Select the default item.
6 Select the live video item from the Item drop-down list that you want to trigger (example: live video A). The selected live video item replaces the default item.
7 From the Action drop-down list, select DVE.
8 From the options list select the DVE action: Squeeze, Fullscreen, or
Toggle. To create the output example above, you would select Toggle.
• Squeeze: Resizes the live video display to the size and position of the item box in your layout.
• Fullscreen: Resizes the live video display to fill the screen.
• Toggle: Resizes the video display to the previous state, each time you trigger the salvo.
140
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 141 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
9 In the Duration field, set how long it takes to resize the live video display.
Time is measured in hours:minutes:seconds:frames.
Figure 2-96: Salvo with Two DVEs
10 Repeat steps 4 - 9 to apply a DVE to the second live video item.
11 Select your trigger.
• GPI: Select the GPI checkbox and then select the number for the GPI that triggers the salvo output. Click Save to close the dialog.
See
for more details.
• Hotkey: Select the Hotkey checkbox and click the Set button to enter a keystroke that triggers output. Click Save to close the dialog.
See
”Set a Hotkey Trigger” on page 217
for more details.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
141
IconStationManual.book Page 142 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
• Keypad (purchase option): Select the Assign Salvo to Keypad checkbox to trigger the salvo with the keypad. Click Save to close the dialog.
See
”Enable Keypad Output” on page 218 for more details.
• Fire Salvo button: Click Save to close the dialog. In the Control panel use the Fire Salvo button to trigger output.
Once you return to the Control panel, the salvo displays in the Salvo list.
See Also:
For details on creating salvos, see ”Create a Salvo” on page 205
.
For details on output options, see
”Output the Salvo” on page 223 .
Output the Dual DVE
After you create the salvo you can output the DVE by firing the salvo on your online system using ADC Automation.
142
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 143 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Create EAS Layouts
IconStation allows you to output your EAS text in a crawl layout. After you connect to your EAS device in the
IconStation Configuration Utility, a tabbed layout called EAS Layout becomes available in IconStation for your
EAS output.
Connect to Your
EAS Device
Use the IconStation Configuration Utility to connect to your EAS device.
1 Close IconStation.
2 From the Windows Start menu, select All Programs > Harris > IconStation
> Configuration Utilities > IconStation Configuration Utility.
3 In the Configuration Utility, switch to the External Control tab.
4 Select the Enable EAS checkbox.
5 Select the COM port that the EAS device is connected to from the COM
Port drop-down list.
Setup an EAS
Layout
Figure 2-97: Enable EAS in IconStation Configuration Utility
6 Select the EAS device type from the Device drop-down list.
7 Click OK to save your settings and enable IconStation for EAS output.
8 Open IconStation. The tabbed EAS layout is available.
In IconStation, your EAS layout should contain three crawl items. Each crawl item allows you to format your text based on the EAS severity level. When the
EAS device sends information to IconStation, the content plays in the appropriate item based on the severity level.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
143
IconStationManual.book Page 144 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
1 Select the EAS layout tab, and then select File > New Layout to name the layout.
2 In the New IconStation Layout dialog, enter a name for your EAS layout and click OK.
Figure 2-98: Enter Name for EAS Layout
3 Click the Crawl button and drag a crawl item box in your workspace.
Figure 2-99: Drag Crawl Item Box in Workspace
4 In the Name field below the workspace, enter “Severity 1” as your item name.
5 Click the Edit button beside the Name field to open the Crawl Editor.
144
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 145 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
6 On the Content tab, select the Field 1 entry in the Content Items list and click the Modify button. The Add Content dialog opens.
Note:
You must select Field 1 for EAS text. Any other items added to the crawl will display as normal.
7 Select the Text option on the left, and then enter your sample text in the
Content text box.
Figure 2-100: Enter Sample Text in Add Content Dialog
8 Click OK to close the dialog.
9 In the Crawl Editor, select the EAS checkbox.
10 In the Play Item box, enter the number of time you want the EAS message to play.
11 Set the formatting options to determine the appearance of your crawl text.
See
for details on the formatting options.
12 Click Save to save the setting for the “Severity 1” crawl item.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
145
IconStationManual.book Page 146 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
13 Follow steps 3 - 12 to add two more crawl items to your layout named
“Severity 2” and “Severity 3”.
Note:
To open the Crawl Editor, you can double-click on the item in the Items list on the Control panel.
Setup Your EAS
Output
Figure 2-101: Completed EAS Layout
To setup your layout for EAS output you need to create three salvos named:
Severity 1, Severity 2, and Severity 3. Once you create your salvos, IconStation will read the severity level from your EAS device and output the message in the appropriate crawl item.
1 With your EAS layout tab selected in IconStation, click the down Setup button at the bottom of the Control panel.
2 Select New Salvo from the popup menu. The Salvo Setup dialog opens.
3 In the Salvo Name field, enter “Severity 1” for the name of your salvo.
4 Click the Add button. The default item is automatically added to the salvo preview.
146
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 147 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
5 Select the item in the salvo preview and then select the “Severity 1” item from the Item list.
6 Select the Show option from the Action list. Selecting Show sets the item to play when your IconStation system receives the EAS information from you
EAS device.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Figure 2-102: Severity 1 Salvo
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
147
IconStationManual.book Page 148 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
7 To apply a transition to the “Severity 1” crawl item, select a transition type from the Transition list. If you apply a transition, set the transition duration in the Duration box.
8 Click Save to save the salvo for your “Severity 1” crawl item. The “Severity
1” salvo displays in the Salvo list.
9 Follow steps 1 - 8 to add a salvo for the “Severity 2” and “Severity 3” crawl items. In step 5, depending on the salvo you are creating, you should select the “Severity 2” or “Severity 3” item.
148
Chapter 2 | Create Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 123 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Chapter 3
Add Audio
Add audio to your layouts.
IconStationManual.book Page 124 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Add Audio to Items
When you add audio to a layout item, the audio plays when the item plays. Use the Audio tab in the Content
Editors to assign the audio output channel for the item and to adjust the audio settings.
Preview Audio
Apply Item Audio
To preview your audio file in IconStation Offline, you must first select the
Third Party Audio option in the IconStation Configuration Utility.
1 Open the IconStation Configuration Utility (Windows Start > Programs >
Harris > IconStation Offline > Configuration Utilities > IconStation
Offline Configuration Utility).
2 Switch to the Video/Audio tab.
3 Check the Enable Third Party Audio Output Cards checkbox.
To apply audio to an item, complete the following steps.
1 Select your layout using the tabs above workspace.
2 Double-click on the item to open the Content Editor.
3 In the Content Editor, switch to the Audio tab and select the Enable Audio checkbox.
124
Chapter 3 | Add Audio
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
Figure 3-1: Audio Options in Content Editor
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 125 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
4 Click the Browse button to select your audio file. The audio file name display in the field.
5 Use the Audio Card drop-down list to select the item’s audio output channel.
6 Use the Audio Level & Control options to setup your audio.
Table 3-1: Content Editor Audio Options
Description Option
Level field
Preview button
Play Once
Delay field
Loop
Enable Audio
Ducking
Sets the volume of the audio file. Audio levels range from zero to 100. Zero mutes the audio completely. One is the lowest audible level and
100 is the highest.
Allows you to hear a preview of the audio file.
Sets the audio file to play once. If you select this radio button, the audio file plays once and does not repeat.
Delays the audio by the set time, measured in hours:minutes:seconds.
Sets the audio file to repeat. If you select this radio button, the audio file repeats until the item completes playback.
Check the Enable Audio Ducking checkbox to set the item’s audio to trigger a reduction in the audio level of other items that are currently playing. The trigger occurs when the item’s audio is sent to air.
• The Lower All Audio Using System Default option lowers the volume by the amount set in the Preferences dialog (Edit >
Preferences).
• The Lower All Audio by Custom Amount option lowers the volume by the amount you enter.
7 Click Save to save the audio settings.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 3 | Add Audio
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
125
IconStationManual.book Page 126 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Add Live Audio
The live audio item plays the audio from your connected audio source. Use the Live Audio Editor to select your audio device and set your audio preferences.
Note:
If you have an XD-200 system, you must first enable audio in the XD-200 Control Panel. See ”Enable
Audio in the XD-200 Control Panel” on page 127 for details.
Add Live Audio to
Your Layout
To add live audio to your layout, complete the following steps.
1 Select your layout using the tabs above the workspace.
2 Click the Live Audio button. When you click the Live Audio button, the live audio item is automatically added to the layout.
Figure 3-2: Live Audio Button
The item displays in the Item list on the Control panel.
3 Double-click the Live Audio item in the Items list on the Control panel to open the Live Audio Editor.
Figure 3-3: Live Audio in Items List
4 In the Live Audio Editor, select the live audio device from the Device drop-down list.
5 Select the live audio source from the Source drop-down list.
126
Chapter 3 | Add Audio
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 127 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Enable Audio in the
XD-200 Control
Panel
6 Use the Level option to adjust the volume for the live audio. Audio levels range from zero to 100. Zero mutes the audio completely. One is the lowest audible level and 100 is the highest.
7 Select the Enable Audio Ducking checkbox to trigger a reduction in the audio level of other items that are playing when you output the live audio item. The volume reduction occurs when the live audio is sent to air.
• The Lower All Audio by System Default option lowers the volume by the amount set in the Preferences dialog (Edit > Preferences).
• The Lower All Audio by Custom Amount option lowers the volume by the amount you enter.
8 To trigger a GPO device when you output the item, select the Enable GPO checkbox and use the drop-down list to select which pin receives the trigger on output.
• The GPO is raised when the item in on air.
• The GPO is lowered when the item is taken off air.
9 Use the Log Note button to open the Log Note window where you can enter information to record in the playback log every time the item plays.
10 Click OK in the Live Audio Editor to save the settings for the item.
To enable audio in the XD-200 Control Panel, complete the following steps.
Note:
These steps are for XD-200 systems only.
1 Close IconStation.
2 Open the XD 200 Control Panel (Start > All Programs > Harris >
IconStation > Configuration Utilities > XD 200 Control Panel).
3 Click the Audio button. The Configure Audio options display.
4 In the Input column, select the Enable Audio Capture checkbox.
5 Click the Apply Changes button and then close the XD 200 Control Panel.
6 Open IconStation.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 3 | Add Audio
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
127
IconStationManual.book Page 128 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Add Audio to a Layout
When you add audio to a layout, use the Audio Editor to setup your audio item. The audio plays independently from other items in the layout.
Preview Audio
Open the Audio
Editor
To preview your audio file in IconStation Offline, you must first select the
Third Party Audio option in the IconStation Configuration Utility.
1 Open the IconStation Configuration Utility (Windows Start > Programs >
Harris > IconStation Offline > Configuration Utilities > IconStation
Offline Configuration Utility).
2 Check the Enable Third Party Audio Output Cards checkbox.
To open the Audio Editor, complete the following steps.
1 Select the tab for your layout.
If you do not have a layout open, select an <empty> tab and open a layout.
2 Click the Audio button. The item displays in the Item list on the Control panel.
Figure 3-4: Audio Button
3 Double-click on the Audio item in the Items list. The Audio Editor opens.
128
Chapter 3 | Add Audio
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
Figure 3-5: Audio Item in Items List
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 129 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Option: File (Opens a Single File)
In the Audio Editor you have three options for referencing your audio file: File,
Play from Folder, and Play from Data Source. See the following instructions for each option.
To open a single audio file, complete the following steps.
1 Select the File option.
Option: Play from
Folder
Figure 3-6: Audio Item File Options
2 Click the Browse button.
3 In the Open dialog, select your audio file and click Open.
4 Use the Audio Card drop-down list to select the audio’s output channel.
5 To listen to the file, click the Preview button.
6 Set the audio loop option.
• To play the audio file once and stop, select the Play Once option.
• To play the audio file until you stop the item output, select the Loop option.
To reference a folder, and play the audio files in the referenced folder, complete the following steps.
1 Select the Play from Folder option.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Figure 3-7: Audio Item Play from Folder Option
Chapter 3 | Add Audio
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
129
IconStationManual.book Page 130 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Option: Play From
Data Source
2 Click the Browse button.
3 In the dialog, select the folder containing your audio file(s), and click OK.
4 If there are multiple audio files in the folder, set the play order by selecting an option from the Play Order drop-down list.
• Alphabetically: Plays the audio files in alphabetical order. Select
Ascending to set the play order from A-Z, or select Descending to set the play order from Z-A.
• Date: Plays the audio files based on their creation date. Select
Ascending to play the audio files in chronological order, or select
Descending to play the audio files in reverse chronological order.
To reference an external file, and play the audio files in the referenced file, complete the following steps.
1 Select the Play from Data Source option.
Figure 3-8: Audio Item Play from Data Source Option
2 Click the Setup button and use the Data Source Wizard to select the data source containing your image references.
Note:
For details on using external data sources, see the topics in
”External Data Sources” on page 147 .
When you are finished setting up your data source you are returned to the
Audio Editor.
3 To play a backup audio file if the audio data is unavailable, click the
Browse button beside the Audio field. In the Open dialog select the backup audio file and click Open.
130
Chapter 3 | Add Audio
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 131 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Set Additional
Audio Options
To set additional audio options, complete the following steps.
1 Use the Level option to adjust the volume for the audio. Audio levels range from zero to 100. Zero mutes the audio completely. One is the lowest audible level and 100 is the highest.
2 Select the Enable Audio Ducking checkbox to trigger a reduction in the audio level of other items that are playing when you output the audio item.
The volume reduction occurs when the audio is sent to air.
• The Lower All Audio by System Default option lowers the volume by the amount set in the Preferences dialog (Edit > Preferences).
• The Lower All Audio by Custom Amount option lowers the volume by the amount you enter.
3 To trigger a GPO device when you output the item, select the Enable GPO checkbox and use the drop-down list to select which pin receives the trigger on output.
• The GPO is raised when the item in on air.
• The GPO is lowered when the item is taken off air.
4 Use the Log Note button to open the Log Note window where you can enter information to record in the playback log every time the item plays.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 3 | Add Audio
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
131
IconStationManual.book Page 132 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Set Audio for Live Video
The Audio tabs in the Live Video Editor allow you to set your audio options for the item.
If you have dual input, you can assign audio for both inputs. Select settings for the first live video input using the Content A and Audio A tabs, and select settings for the second live video input using the Content B and
Audio B tabs.
Open the Live
Video Editor
Play Live Audio
Source
To open the Live Video Editor, complete the following steps.
1 Select the tab for your layout.
If you do not have a layout open, select an <empty> tab and open a layout.
2 Select the live video item, and click the Edit button to open the Live Video
Editor.
To play the audio from the audio device selected on the Content tab, complete the following steps.
1 In the Live Video Editor switch to the Audio A or Audio B tab.
• Audio A tab sets the audio for live video setup on the Content A tab.
• Audio B tab sets the audio for live video setup on the Content B tab.
2 Select the Enable Audio checkbox.
132
Chapter 3 | Add Audio
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
Figure 3-9: Live Audio Source Option
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 133 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Play External Audio
File
3 To play audio from the selected audio source on the Content tab, select the
Clip Audio Source option.
4 To adjust the volume for the audio, use the Level option. Audio levels range from zero to 100. Zero mutes the audio completely. One is the lowest audible level and 100 is the highest.
5 Select the Enable Audio Ducking checkbox to set the item’s audio to trigger a reduction in the audio level of other items that are currently playing. The trigger occurs when the item’s audio is sent to air.
• The Lower All Audio Using System Default option lowers the volume by the amount set in the Preferences dialog (Edit > Preferences).
• The Lower All Audio by Custom Amount option lowers the volume by the amount you enter.
• To fade the audio of other live video items when the Live Video Event is triggered, enter a duration in the Fade field. Time is measured in hh:mm:ss:ff.
When triggered, the audio for the Live Video event will increase from zero dB to the audio level set in the Level field. The audio from other playing video items will fade from the current level to the set audio ducking level.
Note:
The Fade option is only available with Altitude Express systems that use SDI input. The Fade option is not available for XD-200 systems, or with external audio.
To play an external audio file when the live video outputs, complete the following steps.
1 In the Live Video Editor switch to the Audio A or Audio B tab.
• Audio A tab sets the audio for live video setup on the Content A tab.
• Audio B tab sets the audio for live video setup on the Content B tab.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 3 | Add Audio
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
133
IconStationManual.book Page 134 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
2 Select the Enable Audio checkbox.
Figure 3-10: External Audio File Option
3 To play an external audio file when the live video outputs, select the
External Audio File option and click the Browse button to choose your file.
4 To adjust the volume for the audio, use the Level option. Audio levels range from zero to 100. Zero mutes the audio completely. One is the lowest audible level and 100 is the highest.
5 Click on the Preview button to hear the audio.
6 To delay the playback of the audio, set a time in the Delay field.
7 To play the audio once and stop, select the Play Once checkbox.
8 To continue playing the audio until the item finishes playback, select the
Loop option.
9 Select the Enable Audio Ducking checkbox to set the item’s audio to trigger a reduction in the audio level of other items that are currently playing. The trigger occurs when the item’s audio is sent to air.
• The Lower All Audio Using System Default option lowers the volume by the amount set in the Preferences dialog (Edit > Preferences).
• The Lower All Audio by Custom Amount option lowers the volume by the amount you enter.
134
Chapter 3 | Add Audio
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 135 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Set Audio for Video Clips
When you setup audio for Video Clip items you have the option to play the video clip audio, or to play audio from an external file.
Open the Video Clip
Editor
Play Video Clip
Audio
To open the Video Clip Editor, complete the following steps.
1 Select the tab for your layout.
If you do not have a layout open, select an <empty> tab and open a layout.
2 Select the video clip item, and click the Edit button to open the Video Clip
Editor.
To play the audio from the video clip selected on the Content tab, complete the following steps.
1 In the Video Clip Editor, switch to the Audio tab.
2 Select the Enable Audio checkbox.
Figure 3-11: Clip Audio Source Option
3 Select the Clip Audio Source option.
4 To adjust the volume for the audio, use the Level option. Audio levels range from zero to 100. Zero mutes the audio completely. One is the lowest audible level and 100 is the highest.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 3 | Add Audio
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
135
IconStationManual.book Page 136 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Play External Audio
File
5 Select the Enable Audio Ducking checkbox to set the item’s audio to trigger a reduction in the audio level of other items that are currently playing. The trigger occurs when the item’s audio is sent to air.
• The Lower All Audio Using System Default option lowers the volume by the amount set in the Preferences dialog (Edit > Preferences).
• The Lower All Audio by Custom Amount option lowers the volume by the amount you enter.
To play an external audio file when the live video outputs, complete the following steps.
1 In the Video Clip Editor, switch to the Audio tab.
2 Select the Enable Audio checkbox.
Figure 3-12: External Audio File Option
3 To play an external audio file when the video clip outputs, select the
External Audio File option and click the Browse button to choose your file.
4 Use the Audio Card drop-down list to select the item's audio output channel.
5 To adjust the volume for the audio, use the Level option. Audio levels range from zero to 100. Zero mutes the audio completely. One is the lowest audible level and 100 is the highest.
6 Click on the Preview button to hear the audio.
136
Chapter 3 | Add Audio
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 137 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
7 To delay the playback of the audio, set a time in the Delay field.
8 To play the audio once and stop, select the Play Once checkbox.
9 To continue playing the audio until the item finishes playback, select the
Loop option.
10 Select the Enable Audio Ducking checkbox to set the item’s audio to trigger a reduction in the audio level of other items that are currently playing. The trigger occurs when the item’s audio is sent to air.
• The Lower All Audio Using System Default option lowers the volume by the amount set in the Preferences dialog (Edit > Preferences).
• The Lower All Audio by Custom Amount option lowers the volume by the amount you enter.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 3 | Add Audio
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
137
IconStationManual.book Page 138 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
138
Chapter 3 | Add Audio
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 139 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Chapter 4
Manage Layouts
Manage your layouts in IconStation Offline.
IconStationManual.book Page 140 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Categorize Your Layouts
Use IconStation Offline categories to organize your layouts into different groups. When you define a category you can include data fields that note specific information about the category, like air dates, duration, program, and so on. The category you assign to your layout displays when you open your layouts in the Open
Layout dialog.
Create a Category
Use the Layout Category dialog to create a new category for your layouts.
1 Select the tab for the layout are categorizing.
2 Select Edit > Category. The Layout Category dialog opens.
3 Click the Add Category button. The Add Category dialog opens.
4 Enter a name for the category and click OK.
5 To add a data field to the category, click the Add Data Field button. Data fields allow you to note specific information about the category.
6 In the Add Data Field dialog, enter a name and click OK. The data field displays in the Layout Category dialog.
Figure 4-1: Layout Category Dialog
7 To enter content for the data field, double-click in the data field line in the
Content column.
8 To edit the data field name or content, double-click on the entry.
9 Click OK to apply the selected category to your layout and close the dialog.
140
Chapter 4 | Manage Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 141 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Apply a Category to
Your Layout
Remove a Category from Your Layout
Delete a Data Field
Delete a Category
Use the Layout Category dialog to apply categories to your layout.
1 Select the tab for the layout are categorizing.
2 Select Edit > Category. The Layout Category dialog opens.
3 Select a category from the Category drop-down list.
4 Click OK to apply the selected category to your layout and close the dialog.
Use the Layout Category dialog to remove the applied category from your layout.
1 Select your layout tab.
2 Select Edit > Category. The Layout Category dialog opens.
3 Select <None> from the Category drop-down list. When you select
<None> your layout is no longer grouped in any category.
4 Click OK to remove the previous category from your layout and close the dialog.
Use the Layout Category dialog to delete a data field from a defined category.
1 Select your layout tab.
2 Select Edit > Category. The Layout Category dialog opens.
3 Select the category from the Category drop-down list. The category’s data fields display in the Data Fields list.
4 Select the data field you want to delete.
5 Click the Remove Data Field button.
6 In the Remove Data Field message, click OK to confirm the deletion.
7 Click OK to close the dialog.
Use the Layout Category dialog to delete a defined category from the Category drop-down list.
1 Select your layout tab.
2 Select Edit > Category. The Layout Category dialog opens.
3 Select the category from the Category drop-down list that you want to delete.
4 Click the Remove Category button.
5 In the Remove Category message, click OK to confirm the deletion.
6 Click OK to close the dialog.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 4 | Manage Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
141
IconStationManual.book Page 142 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Use Templates
Templates allow you to optimize your branding strategy by using consistent item size, position, and content in your layouts. When you save a template any salvos that you created for the layout are also saved with the template.
Create a Template
Open a Template
After you create a layout you can save your layout as a template. When you save your layout as a template each item’s size, position, and content is saved in the template file.
1 Select an <empty> layout tab to start a new layout.
2 Click the Layouts button and select New Layout from the drop-down list.
3 In the New IconStation Layout dialog, enter a name for the layout and click
OK.
4 Add items to your layout.
5
Create a salvo for the template. See ”Control Output with Salvos” on page 201
for details.
6 Select File > Templates > Save Layout As Template.
7 In the Save Template As dialog, enter a name for the template and then click Save.
By default, the template file is save in C:\Layouts Templates. You can change the location in the Preferences dialog (Edit > Preferences).
When you load a template, the template items open in the workspace with the saved size, position, and content information. If you add items to the layout before opening a template, the template items overlap the layout items.
1 To load a template in a new layout, select an <empty> layout tab.
2 Click the Layouts button and select New Layout from the drop-down list.
3 In the New IconStation Layout dialog, enter a name for the layout and click
OK.
4 To open the template, select File > Templates > Load Template Layout.
142
Chapter 4 | Manage Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 143 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
5 Select the template in the Load Template dialog.
Edit a Template
Figure 4-2: Load Template Dialog
6 Click Open to load the template in the current layout.
If you had items loaded in the layout before opening a template, the
Duplicate Items dialog may display. The Duplicate Items dialog indicates that the existing items in the layout use the same name as the items in the template. Use the Duplicate Items dialog to rename the template items before the template loads.
To edit a template, you need to apply the template to a blank layout and then save the layout as template.
1 Select an <empty> layout tab.
2 Click the Layouts button and select New Layout from the drop-down list.
3 In the New IconStation Layout dialog, enter a name for the layout and click
OK.
4 To load a template select File > Templates > Load Template Layout.
5 Select the template in the Load Template dialog.
6 Click Open to load the template in the Layout window.
7 Make your changes to the template items or salvos.
8 Select File > Templates > Save Layout As Template.
9 In the Save Template As dialog, enter a name for the template and then click Save.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 4 | Manage Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
143
IconStationManual.book Page 144 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Delete a Template
Use the following steps to delete a template.
1 Open the Delete IconStation Template dialog.
• If you have a layout open, select File > Templates > Delete Template
Layout.
• If you have an <empty> tab selected, select File > Delete Template
Layout.
2 In the Delete IconStation Offline Template dialog, select the template.
3 Click the Delete button.
4 Click OK in the message box to confirm the deletion.
5 Click the Done button to close the Delete IconStation Offline Template dialog.
144
Chapter 4 | Manage Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 145 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Expire Layouts
You can apply an expiry date to your layouts to help with your system maintenance. Expiry dates automatically delete a layout from your system on the set date.
Apply an Expiry
Date
Use the Layout Expiry Date dialog to apply an expiry date to your layout.
1 Select your layout tab.
2 Select Edit > Expiry Date. The Layout Expiry Date dialog opens.
3 Select the Expire this Layout option.
4 Enter the expiry date in the Date field.
Remove the Expiry
Date
Figure 4-3: Layout Expiry Date
5 Click OK to apply the expiry date to the layout. IconStation Offline deletes the layout from your system on the set date.
Use the Layout Expiry Date dialog to remove an expiry date from your layout.
1 Select your layout tab.
2 Select Edit > Expiry Date. The Layout Expiry Date dialog opens.
3 Select the Never option.
4 Click OK to remove the expiry date from your layout.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 4 | Manage Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
145
IconStationManual.book Page 146 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
146
Chapter 4 | Manage Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 147 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Chapter 5
External Data Sources
Display content from an external text source.
IconStationManual.book Page 148 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Use External Data Sources
IconStation Offline allows you to display content from external data sources as your item content. Items that support external data content include roll, crawl, title, title table, image, animation, and video clip items.
Maintaining your data in an external file allows you to update your information easily. You can link your items to text files, XML/RSS data feeds, and ODBC data sources.
Use Data Tags to
Link to Data
Layout items use data tags to link to the external data source. See the following table for a description of the data tags in each Content Editor that supports external data.
Table 5-1: Item Data Tag Description
Data Tag Description Item Type
Roll
Crawl
Title
Roll items have one data tag that you can link to one external data source. The data tag is labeled 1-1 and is visible when you link to your external data source.
Crawl items can have multiple data tags that you link to multiple entries in one external data source.
When you click the Add button on the Content tab, you name each text entry or separator for the crawl. You can then link each entry to data in an external source.
Title items use multiple data tags to link to multiple external data sources, or to multiple entries in one data source. Each text line has a unique data tag. You can edit the name of the data tag in the Title Editor.
• To view the data tags, check the Show Tags checkbox on the Content tab in the Title Editor.
• To add a new data tag/text line in the Title Editor, click in the text box and then press ENTER.
• To remove a data tag/text line, select the text in the text box and press BACKSPACE to delete the text.
When the text box is empty, press BACKSPACE again to delete the tag.
148
Chapter 5 | External Data Sources
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 149 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Table 5-1: Item Data Tag Description
Item Type Data Tag Description
Title Table
Image
Animation
Video Clip
Audio
Title Table items use multiple data tags to link to multiple columns/feeds in one data source. Each column in the
Table Editor has a labeled data tag. The first column’s data tag is 1-1, the second column’s data tag is 1-2, and so on.
The data tag labels are visible when you link to your external data source.
Image items have a data tag labelled Graphic. If you select the Play from Data Source option, you can link an external file to the data tag.
If an audio file is referenced in the external data file, you can select the Associate Audio source checkbox in the
Image Editor. This enables the Audio data tag that you can link to the audio reference.
Animation items have a data tag labelled Animation. If you select the Play from Data Source option, you can link an external file to the data tag.
If an audio file is referenced in the external data file, you can select the Associate Audio source checkbox in the
Animation Editor. This enables the Audio data tag that you can link to the audio reference.
Video clip items have a data tag labelled Video. If you select the Play from Data Source option, you can link an external file to the data tag.
If an audio file is referenced in the external data file, you can select the Associate Audio source checkbox in the
Video Clip Editor. This enables the Audio data tag that you can link to the audio reference.
Audio items have a data tag labelled Audio. If you select the Play from Data Source option, you can link an external file to the data tag.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 5 | External Data Sources
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
149
IconStationManual.book Page 150 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
External Data
Output
The item type determines how the external data displays during output. See the following table for details.
Table 5-2: Item External Data Output
Output Item Type
Roll
Crawl
Title
Title Table
Image
Animation
Gradually displays the content of the external file as the text moves across the screen.
Gradually displays the content of the external file as the text moves across the screen. If you added a separator to your crawl, the separator displays before the content on each line.
Displays one entry at a time during output. Each entry displays for the amount of time set in the Item Duration field in the Content Editor. The transition and duration options are available after you link to your external data source.
Displays the number of entries that fit in the title table item box.
For example, if the item box is sized to display six rows and the data source contains six entries, all six entries display on output. If the item box is sized to display three rows, the first three entries play for the amount of time set in the Item
Duration field in the Content Editor, followed by the next three entries. The transition and duration options are available after you link to your external data source.
Plays the image file specified by the file path entered in the external file. The image plays for the set item duration specified in the Image Editor.
Plays the animation file specified by the file path entered in the external file. The animation plays for the duration of the animation and then plays the next specified file.
150
Chapter 5 | External Data Sources
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 151 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
External Data
Display Features
Table 5-2: Item External Data Output
Item Type Output
Video Clip
Audio
Plays the video clip specified by the file path entered in the external file. The video plays for the duration of the clip and then plays the next specified file.
Plays the audio file specified by the file path entered in the external file. The audio plays for the duration of the audio file and then plays the next specified file.
After you link your items to an external data source, the external data features become available in the Content Editors. The features include Show All New
Data at Least Once, Enable On Screen Updates, Data Transitions, and Item
Duration options. For every option except Enable On Screen Update, you must link to the external data source before the options are available.
Show All New Data at Least Once
The Show All New Data at Least Once option is recommended if you update your data constantly and if it is important to show all data in the external data source before playing new updates. The option is available for roll, crawl, title, and title table items.
1 On the Content tab in the Editor, check the Show All New Data at Least
Once checkbox to playback all data in the text file once before it renders new data. The option is available after you link to your external data source.
Figure 5-1: Show All New Data At Least Once Option
2 Click the Save button to save the setting.
Disabling this option sets IconStation to render and display new data almost immediately as the data source is updated.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 5 | External Data Sources
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
151
IconStationManual.book Page 152 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Enable Onscreen Update
The Enable On Screen Update option sets IconStation to display your updated text immediately on-screen. Updates you make in the Content Editor or in an external data source are immediately updated during output. The option is available for roll and crawl items.
The Enable On Screen Updates option is recommended if your text contains information like temperatures or sports scores where the spacing remains constant.
The option is not recommended if the length of your text entries change, since the spacing of the text will not adjust until the item playback starts from the beginning. For example, a text entry that is longer than the current entry will not display entirely, and a text entry that is shorter than the current entry will contain extra space.
1 On the Content tab in the Editor, check the Enable On Screen Update checkbox on the Content tab.
Figure 5-2: Enable Onscreen Update Option
2 Set the transition options that apply when the information is updated.
• Select a transition type from the Transition drop-down list.
• Set a transition duration in the Transition Duration field. Duration is set in hours:minutes:seconds:frames.
If you don’t want to apply a transition select Snap from the Transition list, or enter 00:00:00:00 in the Transition Duration field.
When the Enable On Screen Update option is not selected, the item is updated with new content once playback starts at the beginning.
Note:
The Enable On Screen Update option is available for both external data and text entered in the Roll or Crawl Editor.
152
Chapter 5 | External Data Sources
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 153 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Set Transition Options
Item transitions allow you use transitions to display new or updated content.
Item transition options are available for title, title table, roll, crawl, and image items.
• Title and title table items use transitions to display layers of external data.
• Roll and crawl items use transitions to display on-screen updates.
• Image items use transitions to display multiple images referenced in a folder or file.
To set the transition option, complete the following steps.
1 Open the Content Editor.
2 On the Content tab in the Editor, select the option that includes the transition effect.
• In the Title Editor and Table Editor, you must link to the external data source before the transition options are available.
External data transition options apply a transition between the display of external data layers.
• In the Roll Editor and Crawl Editor, you must check the Enable
Onscreen Update checkbox before the transition options are available.
Enable Onscreen Update transition options apply a transition when the item text is updated in the Content Editor or the external data source.
• In the Image Editor select the Play From Folder or Play From Data
Source radio button.
Image transitions display a transition when the next image plays onscreen.
3 Select a transition from the Transition drop-down list. If you do not want to apply a transition, select Snap from the list.
Figure 5-3: Transition Options
4 Set the duration of the transition in the Transition Duration item box. The duration is set in hours:minutes:seconds:frames.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 5 | External Data Sources
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
153
IconStationManual.book Page 154 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Note:
Transition options are also available to smooth the display between two output actions. For example, you can apply a show/hide transition when items show or hide on screen. Set transitions for output actions on the
Control panel and the Salvo Setup dialog.
Set Item Duration
The Item Duration sets the display duration for each layer of data. This option is available for title, title table, and image items.
On the Content tab in the Editor, set the display duration for the external data output in the Item Duration boxes. The duration is set in minutes and seconds.
Figure 5-4: Item Duration Option
154
Chapter 5 | External Data Sources
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 155 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Create Text Files
Text files are an easy way to create an external data source for your item content.
Text File Types
There are three main types of text files you can use in IconStation Offline: linear text files, database text files that contain multiple columns, and text files containing file references.
Linear Text File
Linear text files contain information that IconStation reads line-by-line.
IconStation reads the data directly from the text file, one line at a time.
If you are creating a database for text-based items, enter the text for the item in the database. IconStation reads the text and displays the text on output.
Database Text File
Text file databases contain two or more columns that IconStation reads as a database table. When IconStation reads the text file through the ODBC driver the column formatting is retained and you can apply additional settings to text data. Advanced ODBC settings are available to set the text formatting and display options.
If you are creating a database for text-based items, enter the text for the item in the database. IconStation reads the text and displays the text on output.
File References in Text Files
If you are creating a text file for image, animation, video clip, or audio items, enter the path to your file in the text file. IconStation reads the path and displays the files on output.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 5 | External Data Sources
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
155
IconStationManual.book Page 156 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Create a Linear
Text File
To create a linear text file, complete the following steps.
1 Open a text editor like Windows Notepad (Start > Programs > Accessories
> Notepad).
2 Type your first entry.
Note:
For image, animation, or video clip items you can enter a file path to your file on each line.
3 Press ENTER and add another entry.
4 Continue adding entries as needed.
Create Database
Text File
Figure 5-5: Linear Text File
5 Save the file as a .txt file.
See Also:
For information on linking to a linear text file see
”Link Data Tags to Data Sources” on page 173 .
To create a database text file, complete the following steps.
1 Open a text Editor, like Windows Notepad (Start > Programs >
Accessories > Notepad).
2 On the first line of text in the file, type the name of the first column heading.
3 Press the TAB key and enter your second column heading. You can press the TAB key twice for proper spacing, if necessary.
You do not have to use tabs as the delimiter (column separator) between your columns. You can use commas or your own custom delimiter. You will set the delimiter type when you link to the text file in the Data Source
Wizard.
4 Enter the remaining column headings, using the TAB key (or other delimiter) to move to the next column.
156
Chapter 5 | External Data Sources
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 157 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
5 Press ENTER to move to the second line. The data begins on the second line.
6 Add the first data entry, such as a word, number, phrase, or file path under the first column heading.
7 Press TAB (or other delimiter) to move to the second column, and add the column entry.
8 Add the remaining column entries, using the TAB key (or other delimiter) to move to the next column.
9 Press ENTER to move to the next line, as needed.
10 Continue adding your column entries in each new line, using the TAB key
(or other delimiter) to move to the next column.
Create a Text File of
File References
Figure 5-6: Database Text File
11 Save the file as a .txt file to a unique folder.
See Also:
For information on linking to a database text file see
Tags to Data Sources” on page 173
.
If you are creating a database for image, animation, or video clip items, enter the path to your file in the database. IconStation reads the path and displays the files on output.
1 Open a text editor like Windows Notepad (Start > Programs > Accessories
> Notepad).
2 On the first line of the text file, type the file path to your file.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 5 | External Data Sources
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
157
IconStationManual.book Page 158 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
3 If you also want to play an audio file with the file specified in step 2, press
TAB and then enter the file path to the audio file.
4 Press ENTER to move to the next line, as needed.
5 Continue adding your file references on each new line, using the TAB key to move to the next column and reference an audio file.
Figure 5-7: File References in Text File
6 Save the file as a .txt file to a unique folder.
158
Chapter 5 | External Data Sources
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 159 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Create an ODBC Data Source
The Open Database Connectivity (ODBC) protocol allows different programs, like Microsoft Access and
Microsoft Excel, to share information held in database applications. You can easily create a database and place almost any type of information in it, including weather data, TV shows, and file paths. After you create your database you can link the data to your IconStation item.
Create a Database in MS Access
You can create a database file in any ODBC-compliant software such as MS
Access. When you change the data in this file, the data in IconStation changes as well.
To create a database file in MS Access complete the following steps.
1 Open Microsoft Access and start a new Blank Access Database. Depending on the version of Access you use, the Blank Access Database option is accessed in different ways. If you’re unsure where the option is, select File
>
New.
2 In the New Database window, enter a name and select a location for your database. Click the Create button.
3 In the Database window, double-click on the Create Table in Design View option.
4 In the new table window enter ID in the first Field Name text box and select
Auto Number as your Data Type.
5 Right-click on the ID entry and select Primary Key from the menu. In
Access, every table must have a column that uniquely identifies each table row.
6 Enter the field names (or column headings) and data types for your table.
Your field names are your column headings.
7 Select File
>
Save. In the Save As dialog, enter a name for your table.
8 Select View
>
Datasheet View to view the table cells.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 5 | External Data Sources
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
159
IconStationManual.book Page 160 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
9 Enter your information in the table cells and save the table.
Create a Database in MS Excel
Figure 5-8: MS Access Database
You can create a database file in any ODBC-compliant software such as MS
Excel. When you change the data in this file, the data in IconStation changes as well.
To create a database file in MS Excel complete the following steps.
1 Open Microsoft Excel.
2 Enter your column headings in the first cell of the column. IconStation
Offline uses the heading to refer to the column text.
3 Enter your information in the table cells.
160
Chapter 5 | External Data Sources
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 161 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
4 Highlight all of the cells you want included in your table. Make sure to include the headings as well. You can highlight the cells by clicking and dragging your mouse over the cells, or by clicking on the first cell and then
SHIFT+clicking on the last cell.
Figure 5-9: Select Cells in MS Excel
5 Select Insert
>
Name
>
Define.
6 Enter a name for your table and then click the Add button. The name must be one word only, and must not contain spaces, underscores, slashes, or dashes. Click OK to close the dialog.
7 Save the Excel spreadsheet.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 5 | External Data Sources
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
161
IconStationManual.book Page 162 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Add the Database to ODBC System List
After you create your database tables, add the database to your system list. You need to add your database to the system list before IconStation Offline can read the database content.
Add to ODBC
System List
To add an MS Access or MS Excel file to an ODBC system list complete the following steps. If you are using a different application, the steps will differ slightly.
1 In Windows, open the Data Sources (ODBC) option.
• In Windows XP view: Select Start
>
Control Panel
>
Performance and
Maintenance
>
Administrative Tools
>
Data Sources (ODBC).
• In Windows Classic view: Select Start
>
Control Panel
>
Administrative
Tools
>
Data Sources (ODBC).
2 Select the User DSN tab or the System DSN tab.
• The User DSN tab registers the database for the current logged-on user. If someone else logs on to the computer, the database is not visible.
• The System DSN tab registers the database in a global location on the computer and is visible for any logged-on user.
162
Chapter 5 | External Data Sources
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
Figure 5-10: Select User DSN or System DSN Tab
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 163 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
3 Click the Add button to open the Create New Data Source dialog.
4 Select the driver from the list for your database.
• If you're connecting to an Access database select Microsoft Access
Driver (*.mdb).
• If you're connecting to an Excel spreadsheet select Microsoft Excel
Driver (*.xls).
Figure 5-11: Select the Appropriate Driver
5 Click the Finish button to add the selected driver to the system and to continue with the database set up.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 5 | External Data Sources
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
163
IconStationManual.book Page 164 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
6 In the new dialog enter a name for the data source.
Figure 5-12: Name Datasource
7 Select your external data source.
• For Access data, click the Select button. In the dialog, navigate to and select your database. Clear the Read Only checkbox if necessary.
• For Excel data, click the Select Workbook button. In the dialog, navigate to and select your spreadsheet. Clear the Read Only checkbox if necessary.
Figure 5-13: Select Database
8 Click OK in all the dialogs until you return to Windows.
164
Chapter 5 | External Data Sources
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 165 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Use the Data Source Wizard
The Data Source Wizard allows you to link your item’s data tags to the columns or entries of a data source.
You can add new text files or RSS/XML sources to the Data Source Wizard. You can also format the data tags, use SQL conditions to refine the data selection, color the text, sort the data, set rules for data retrieval, and set output behavior for when data sources become unavailable.
Data Source Wizard
Workflow
The Data Source Wizard contains multiple dialogs that you move through as you set up and link your data. The dialogs follow this workflow:
• Choose an existing data source to link to, or add a new data source to the wizard.
• Link an item’s data tags to columns or entries in the data source.
• Format, refine, and sort the data as required.
• Choose playback settings for the data source.
The rest of this chapter describes how to use the features of the Data Source
Wizard.
Open the Data
Source Wizard
You can open the Data Source Wizard from an item’s Content Editor.
• For title, roll, and crawl items select the External Data Source checkbox on the Content tab, and then click the Setup button.
• For title table items click the Setup Data Source button on the Content tab.
• For image, animation, video clip, and audio items select the Play from
Data Source option on the Content tab. In the Data Source options that display, click the Setup button.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 5 | External Data Sources
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
165
IconStationManual.book Page 166 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Set Up a Data Source
The Data Source Wizard displays a list of ODBC sources that are already defined on your system. Select an
ODBC source in the Existing ODBC Source list to view the tables associated with that source, then select a table from the Associated Tables list to see a preview of the data in the source’s table.
Set Up a New Text
File
Figure 5-14: Data Source Wizard
To add a new text file to the list of available data sources in the Data Source
Wizard, select the Create New Text File Data Source radio button and click
Next.
In the following dialog you can define one or more text files to use as data sources, and you can choose to handle the sources with the Windows ODBC driver.
166
Chapter 5 | External Data Sources
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 167 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Add a Text File with ODBC
Use the ODBC driver to manage a single text file if you want to control user access to the data. The ODBC driver also gives you control over how the data is managed.
1 Click the Browse button and select a text file. The file’s data is displayed in the Data Source Wizard’s Data Preview list.
2 Enter a data source name for the text file in the Data Source Name field.
3 Check the ODBC Handles Text Files checkbox.
4 If only the current Windows user is allowed access to this data, select the
User DSN radio button. To allow all users on the system to access the data, select the System DSN radio button.
If the layout is being sent to player systems through a Network Manager set up, this setting will also determine which users on the player system can view the data source.
5 Click the Next button. A new dialog opens with options for managing the text file.
Figure 5-15: Managing an ODBC Text File
6 The Data Delimiter radio buttons allow you to choose ways of separating each data line into multiple columns.
• Select Comma to divide each data line into multiple columns based on the commas in the line.
• Select Tab to divide each data line into multiple columns based on the tab stops in the line.
• Select Specify My Column Width to specify how many characters can fit into each column. You will set the column widths in the next dialog.
• To choose your own character delimiter, select Custom and enter a character in the Custom field. Each data line will be divided into multiple columns based on the occurrences of the custom character.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 5 | External Data Sources
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
167
IconStationManual.book Page 168 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
7 Checking the Set First Row as the Column Headers checkbox sets the first line of the text file as the column header names. You will not be able to change the names of the headers when this option is checked.
If you do not check the Set First Row as the Column Headers checkbox, you will be able to name each column header in the next dialog.
8 Choose character set standards with the Character Set radio buttons.
Select the ANSI radio button if the text file uses the ANSI character set.
Select the OEM radio button if the text file uses an OEM character set.
9 Click the Next button. A new dialog opens with options for formatting the columns. The options available will depend on the delimiter selected and whether or not the first row is set as the column header.
Figure 5-16: Set Column Parameters
10 Select a data column in the Data Preview list.
• If you unchecked the Set First Row as the Column Headers checkbox in the previous dialog, you can type a new name for the column in the
Column Header field.
• Select a data type from the Data Type drop-down list.
If you select the DateTime data type you must specify how the date and time are stored in the database file. Choose a format from the Format drop-down list.
To use a custom format for dates and times, choose the Custom option and enter date and time formats in the appropriate fields.
• If you selected the Specify My Column Width delimiter in the previous dialog, enter the width for the column in the Column Field. Any characters beyond this column width will be moved to the next column.
Otherwise, enter the column’s maximum number of characters in the
Data Maximum field. Characters beyond this limit will not be displayed.
168
Chapter 5 | External Data Sources
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 169 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
11 Click the Set button to finalize the column parameters you changed. The data preview window reflects your changes.
12 Repeat steps 10 and 11 for the rest of the columns.
13 When you finish setting the parameters for the columns, click the Next
button to start linking the columns to the data tags in the region item. See
”Link Data Tags to Data Sources” on page 173
to continue.
Add a Text File without ODBC
You do not need to use the ODBC driver to manage text files. If you choose not to use the ODBC driver, you can link multiple text files to the item but you will not have the formatting options available to ODBC text sources.
Once you have added non-ODBC text files to the Data Source Wizard, you can access them in the future by selecting the Use Existing Non-ODBC Data
Sources radio button in the Data Source Wizard’s main window.
1 Click the Browse button and select a text file. The file’s data is displayed in the Data Source Wizard’s Data Preview list.
2 Enter a data source name for the text file in the Data Source Name field.
3 Uncheck the ODBC Handles Text Files checkbox. The Add Source button and the All Text Sources list appear.
4 Click the Add Source button. The data source is added to the All Text
Sources list.
5 Repeat steps 1-4 to add additional text file data sources. Select the sources in the All Text Sources list to view their content in the Data Preview list.
6 When you are finished adding data sources, click the Next button to start linking the sources to the data tags in the region item. See
”Link Data Tags to Data Sources” on page 173 to continue.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Figure 5-17: Adding Multiple Text Sources
Chapter 5 | External Data Sources
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
169
IconStationManual.book Page 170 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Set Up a New RSS/
XML Feed
To add a new RSS/XML feed to the list of available data sources, select the
Create New RSS/XML Data Source radio button and click Next. A new dialog opens with options for browsing to the data source, giving it a name, and setting its user permissions.
1 In the URL/XML File Path field, enter a URL for an RSS feed or an FTP location to access an XML file over a server. You can also choose an XML file manually by clicking the Browse button and selecting an XML/RSS file.
2 Enter a data source name for the XML file in the Data Source Name field.
3 If only the current Windows user is allowed access to this data, select the
User DSN radio button. To allow all users on the system to access the data, select the System DSN radio button.
If the layout is being sent to player systems through a Network Manager configuration, this setting also determines which users on the player system can view the data source.
4 Click the Next button.
5 If the data source is being retrieved from a URL or FTP location, the next dialog allows you to enter a user ID and password.
• Select the Anonymous radio button if the data source does not require a user ID or password.
• Select the Login With the Following radio button if the data source requires a user ID and a password. Enter the login information in the
User ID and Password fields.
• If the data source is being retrieved from an FTP location, navigate to the proper directory using the FTP File Directory list.
When you’ve finished entering the login information click Next to continue.
170
Chapter 5 | External Data Sources
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 171 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
6 Use the next dialog to select the data elements you want to retrieve from the XML file:
Select an Existing
Data Source
Figure 5-18: Select RSS/XML Data Elements a In the Data File Structure list, select the data element you want to link to.
b Click the arrow button to add the element to the list of selected data sources. The element is added as a column in the Data Preview list.
c Repeat to add additional elements to the list of data sources.
7 To remove data sources that you have chosen, select the data source in the
Selected Data Source list and click the Remove button.
8 When you have finished adding data elements, click the Next button to start linking the elements to the data tags in the region item. See
”Link Data Tags to Data Sources” on page 173 to continue.
Each time you open the Data Source Wizard, all of the previously-added sources are available for selection and linked to the item’s data tags.
ODBC Data Sources
Follow these steps if you would like to use an existing ODBC database, ODBC text file, or RSS/XML data file.
1 Select the Use Existing ODBC Data Sources radio button.
2 Select a source in the Existing Source list. The tables in that source are listed in the Associated Tables list.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 5 | External Data Sources
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
171
IconStationManual.book Page 172 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
3 Select a table from the Associated Tables list. A preview of the table’s data appears in the Data Preview list.
4 Click the Next button to start linking the table to the data tags in the region item. See
”Link Data Tags to Data Sources” on page 173
to continue.
Non-ODBC Data Sources
If you want to use existing non-ODBC files:
1 Select the Use Existing Non-ODBC Data Sources radio button.
2 Click Next.
3 The next dialog displays all of the existing non-ODBC data sources. Add
or remove sources within the list as described in ”Add a Text File without
4 Click the Next button to start linking the data sources to the data tags in
the region item. See ”Link Data Tags to Data Sources” on page 173 .
172
Chapter 5 | External Data Sources
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 173 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Link Data Tags to Data Sources
Once you have chosen one or more data sources, use the Data Source Wizard to link the sources to the item’s data tags.
Choose The Data
Sources
See
”Set Up a Data Source” on page 166
for information about choosing data sources.
Link Data Tags to
Data Sources
After you have chosen one or more data sources, a new dialog opens which allows you to link the data sources to the item’s data tags. The Data Preview list shows a preview of the available data source headings.
Figure 5-19: Link Data Tags to Data Sources
1 Select one of the item’s data tags in the Field drop-down list.
2 From the Column drop-down list, select the heading that you want to link to the data tag.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 5 | External Data Sources
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
173
IconStationManual.book Page 174 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
If the heading is an external key to another table, check the This Source Is
An External Key checkbox. You will establish the other source table when you proceed to the next dialog.
3 If the item has more than one data tag, add each tag link to the Assignment list. Click the Add button to add a link to the list. To remove a link from the
Assignment list, select the link and click the Remove button.
Each column can only be linked to one field by default. If you want to link a column to multiple fields, check the Show All Columns checkbox. When this option is checked, columns remain available in the Column drop-down list even after they have been linked to a field.
4 If the link is an external key to another table, select the link in the
Assignment list and click the Modify button to establish the other source table. You can also establish any other source tables by clicking the Next button when you’re done linking your tags. See
5 When you have finished linking data tags to data sources, click any of the buttons on the bottom of the dialog to format, filter, color, or sort the data:
• Click the Data Formatting button to format the text, data, and date
fields. See ”Data Formatting” on page 176 .
• Click the Refine Range & Style button to filter or add color to the data.
See
”Refine Range & Style” on page 178 .
• Click the Data Sorting button to sort the data. See ”Data Sorting” on page 181 .
6 Click the Next button when you are ready to set up playback and expiration rules for the data. See
”Choose Playback Settings” on page 182 to
continue.
If any of the links are to an external key on another table, a dialog opens with options for establishing the other source table (see
).
174
Chapter 5 | External Data Sources
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 175 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Establish Other
Source Tables
If any of the data tags are linked to data sources which are keys to other tables, you need to establish the other source table, the column that contains the external keys, and the column that contains the data that needs to be returned.
Figure 5-20: Establishing Other Source Tables
1 From the Found In Table list, select the table that the link connects to.
2 Pick the column that contains the external keys in the External Key
References drop-down list.
3 Select the column that contains the data that needs to be returned in the
Return the Value In drop-down list.
4 Click the Commit button to finalize the settings. If you are only establishing a link to one source table, the next dialog allows you to choose playback and expiration settings for the data. See
”Choose Playback Settings” on page 182 to continue.
If you are establishing links to multiple source tables you are returned to
the Assign Source dialog (see ”Link Data Tags to Data Sources” on page 173 ).
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 5 | External Data Sources
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
175
IconStationManual.book Page 176 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Format, Refine, and Sort the Data
While you are using the Data Source Wizard to link data tags to data sources, select the buttons at the bottom of the dialog to format, refine, and sort the data.
Data Formatting
To format the data, complete the following steps.
1 Click the Data Formatting button to format text, data, and date fields. The choices you make will appear when you output the item.
Figure 5-21: Select Data Formatting
2 Select a field from the Detected Fields list. The available formatting options depend on the type of data in the field.
The data types for the fields were chosen when you added the data source to the Data Source Wizard or to the ODBC System List.
Table 5-3: Presentation Style Formatting Options
Field Type
Date / Time
Formatting Options
• Select a date format from the Format drop-down list.
• Add a prefix to the date by checking the
Prefix checkbox and entering a prefix in the text field.
• Add a suffix to the date by checking the
Suffix checkbox and entering a suffix in the text field.
176
Chapter 5 | External Data Sources
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 177 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Table 5-3: Presentation Style Formatting Options (Continued)
Field Type Formatting Options
Numerical
Text
• Select a Comma, Period, or Space for the
Numerical Separator.
• Select a Comma or Period for the Decimal.
• Select the number of decimal places from the Decimal Places drop-down
• Add a prefix to the numbers by checking the Prefix checkbox and entering a prefix in the text field.
• Add a suffix to the numbers by checking the Suffix checkbox and entering a suffix in the text field.
• Add a prefix to the text by checking the
Prefix checkbox and entering a prefix in the text field.
• Add a suffix to the text by checking the
Suffix checkbox and entering a suffix in the text field.
3 Click the Commit button when you are finished formatting the fields.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 5 | External Data Sources
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
177
IconStationManual.book Page 178 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Refine Range &
Style
To filter data using SQL statements, click the Refine Range & Style button. You can also use statements to show, hide, and add color to the data.
Figure 5-22: Refine Range & Style
The SQL statements can be entered either manually or with condition selection.
Switch between methods with the button in the bottom-left corner of the dialog. You can only switch to Manual Entry when you have no conditions in the
All Defined Parameters list.
Refine Data With Condition Selection
Use the If connector to show, hide, and add color to the data.
1 Select the If connector from the Connector drop-down list.
2 Choose the conditions for the query: a Select a data source column from the Column drop-down list.
b Select an operator from the Operator drop-down list.
c If applicable, enter a value in the Value field.
178
Chapter 5 | External Data Sources
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 179 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
3 Click on the Value field to use three special player values: Player Name,
Player Location, and Machine Name.
Figure 5-23: Refine Data with Player Values
These values allow you to create conditions that depend on the names and locations of your player system. Use player values to display different external data on different player systems, all with a single layout.
When using machine names, make sure the machine names in the external data source are in capital letters (example: “PLAYERC”).
4 Choose how to display the data that meets the conditions:
• To prevent a particular data tag from being displayed, select Hide Field from the Apply Style drop-down list, and select the tag you want to hide from the Field drop-down list.
• To hide the entire item, select Hide Item from the Apply Style drop-down list.
• To colorize the data in a particular data tag, select Change Field Color from the Apply Style drop-down list, select the tag you want to colorize from the Field drop-down list, and click on the color box beside the
Apply Style drop-down list. A color picker opens, allowing you to choose a color for the data tag.
• To display ONLY the data that meets the conditions, select None from the Apply Style drop-down list.
5 Click the Add button to add the condition to the All Defined Parameters list.
Add additional conditions to the All Defined Parameters as required. To delete a condition, select it in the list and click the Delete button.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 5 | External Data Sources
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
179
IconStationManual.book Page 180 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Filter the Data
Use the And and Or connectors to filter the data. Use multiple conditions to further refine the data range.
1 Select a connector from the Connector drop-down list:
• Choose the And connector to apply the current condition to the previous condition using “and” logic.
• Choose the Or connector to apply the current condition to the previous condition using “or” logic.
2 Select a data source column from the Column drop-down list.
3 Select an operator from the Operator drop-down list.
4 Enter a value in the Value field.
5 Click the Add button to add the condition to the All Defined Parameters list. All data that meets the condition will be displayed.
6 Create and add additional conditions to the All Defined Parameters list.
These conditions will further refine the data range.
7 To delete a condition, select it in the All Defined Parameters list and click the Remove button.
Click the Commit button when you are finished refining your data range.
Refine Data With Manual Entry
Click the Switch to Manual Entry button to manually enter conditions with SQL statements. You can only switch to Manual Entry when the All Defined
Parameters list is empty.
Type a valid SQL statement in the SQL Statements field and click the Set button to apply the statement. Its result displays in the Data Preview list.
Click the Commit button to finish refining the data range.
180
Chapter 5 | External Data Sources
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 181 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Data Sorting
To use the data sorting options, complete the following steps.
1 Click the Data Sorting button to establish a sorting priority for the data.
Figure 5-24: Data Sorting
2 Select the column with the highest sorting priority from the Reference drop-down list.
3 Select either the Ascending or the Descending radio button to sort the column in either ascending or descending order. If the column contains text, the text is sorted alphabetically.
4 Click the Add button to add the column to the Sorting Sequence list. The
Data Preview list sorts the data according to the sorting sequence.
5 Add more sorting sequences as required.
6 To delete a sorting sequence, select a sequence from the Sorting Sequence list and click the Delete button.
7 When you are finished sorting the data, click the Commit button.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 5 | External Data Sources
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
181
IconStationManual.book Page 182 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Choose Playback Settings
After you have chosen the data sources and linked them to the item’s data tags, set the rules for data playback and data expiration.
Figure 5-25: Playback Settings
When you have finished choosing the playback settings, click the Finished button. If you still have data tags that you haven’t assigned to a data source, a dialog allows you to either return to the Content Editor or to continue linking tags to data sources.
Data Playback
The Data Playback section of the dialog allows you to set when IconStation
Offline checks the data source for new information.
• Select the Every Time radio button to update items whenever the data source updates.
• Select the Retrieve Updates at the Following Interval checkbox to specify how often IconStation Offline looks for new information in the data source.
Enter a time in the Interval box. Choosing this option speeds up retrieval and playback if the connection to the data source is slow.
182
Chapter 5 | External Data Sources
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 183 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Data Expiration
Publish Data
Source Options
The Data Expiration section of the dialog allows you to set when IconStation
Offline expires data if the data source is unavailable. For example, the data source may be unavailable if it is stored on a network and the network is down.
• Select the Show Last Known Data radio button if you want to show the last available data when the data source becomes unavailable.
• Select the Don’t Show Any Data radio button if you do not want to show any data when the data source becomes unavailable.
• Select the Expire After An Interval Of radio button and enter an interval to expire unavailable data sources after a specific time. When a data source becomes unavailable it will continue to display until the interval has elapsed.
If you choose to expire data or not show data from unavailable data sources, you can display a message when the data has expired. Check the When Data Expires checkbox and type a message in the field.
The Publish Data Source options allow you to specify if the layout’s data source file is transferred with the layout. These options apply when you publish, import, or export layouts.
• Select Network Source if the layout’s data source is stored on a network and you do not want to transfer the data source with the layout. When the layout is transferred to the new machine, the items read the data source from the same network location. The new machine must have access to the same network location.
• Select Local Source to transfer a copy of the data source to the new machine when you transfer the layout. The data source can be a local or network file.
• Select Move to Layout Folder to transfer the data source to the layout’s folder on the new machine. The ODBC DSN (data source name) changes to point to the layout folder.
• Clear the Move to Layout Folder to transfer a copy of the data source to the same location on the new machine. For example, if your data source is currently in D:\weatherUpdates, the data source is placed in
D:\weatherUpdates on the new machine.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 5 | External Data Sources
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
183
IconStationManual.book Page 184 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Last Access Time
• Select Don't Publish if you do not want to transfer your data source when you transfer the layout. The data source is not transferred and the ODBC
DSN is not registered on the new machine. If you select Don’t Publish, you must manually reconnect the layout items on the new machine to the data source.
The Last Access Time button is enabled when the data source is an SQL/Oracle database. Click the button to update a separate table with the time the data was last accessed.
184
Chapter 5 | External Data Sources
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 185 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Chapter 6
Output Layouts
Playback options for your layouts.
IconStationManual.book Page 186 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Output
IconStation gives you the flexibility to control your output using three main options: output items manually, output salvos with a trigger, or output using automation commands.
• For manual control use the Control panel to select your items in the current layout and manually output your selection.
• For trigger control use the Salvo Setup dialog to assign a set of output instructions to your items that play when you trigger output. These output instructions are called salvos in IconStation Offline. Your salvo can include items, action events, and trigger information. You can trigger the salvo with a GPI, hotkey, or keypad key.
Note:
Manual and triggered output are explained in this section. For details on automation control, see the
IconStation_CIICommands.pdf or the IconStationManual_XMLAutomationProtocol.pdf. Both .pdf files are available in the Documentation folder on your product CD or USB.
Mode of Operation
You can output layout content in Editor Mode or in Operator Mode.
• In Operator Mode, all other tools are disabled. Layouts and salvo setups are locked to prevent unintentional changes.
• In Editor Mode, all editing features are available during output.
Output Indicators
IconStation uses specific indicators to signal online activity.
• ON AIR:
A red ON AIR indicator signals that a layout or item is currently playing on air.
• SETUP:
A yellow SETUP indicator signals that items are setup and ready for output, but no items are currently playing.
• BYPASS:
A blinking BYPASS indicator signals that Bypass is currently engaged.
Disable Automation
This option does not apply to IconStation Offline.
IconStation Offline
Product
If you are using the IconStation Offline application, you can only output to the desktop video window and you cannot preview your layouts. IconStation
Offline, however, includes all the functionality for setting-up your layouts, salvos, and output options.
186
Chapter 6 | Output Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 187 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Set Item Output Options
Playback features specific to the output of item content are set in the Content Editors, rather than the Control panel or Salvo Setup dialog.
Item Output
Options
The following table describes the options in the Content Editors that affect output.
Table 6-1: Output Options in Content Editors
Output Option
Item Loop
Audio Loop
3D DVE
Start Fullscreen
Description
The Play Once option sets the item to play once during playback and then stop, or to continue looping the item until playback stops.
The Play Once checkbox is available for the following items: video clip, animation, crawl, roll, title, title table, and audio items.
The Play Once option is only available for title and title table items when you link to external data.
The Play Once/Loop options set the audio to loop during playback. You can loop the audio file applied to your layout or the audio file applied to an item.
The audio options are available if you purchased the
Professional Audio option.
The 3D DVE checkbox, available in the Live Video
Editor, enables the Horizontal and Vertical Rotation fields where you set the 3D rotation for output.
The option is available for live video items.
The Start Fullscreen checkbox, available in the Live
Video Editor, starts a live video DVE at fullscreen on output.
The option is available for live video items.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 6 | Output Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
187
IconStationManual.book Page 188 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Table 6-1: Output Options in Content Editors
Output Option Description
EAS
Enable Onscreen
Updates
Show All New Data at Least Once
Item Transitions
The EAS checkbox assigns the EAS text to your crawl item.
The option is available for crawl items.
The Enable Onscreen Update option sets IconStation to display updated information immediately, instead of waiting for the system to check for updates.
When the Enable On Screen Update option is not selected, the item is updated with new content once playback starts at the beginning.
The option is available for roll and crawl items.
The Show All New Data at Least Once option displays all data in the external data source before playing new updates. Disabling this option sets
IconStation to render and display new data almost immediately as the data source is updated.
The option is available for roll, crawl, title, and title table items linked to an external data source.
External data transition options apply a transition between the display of external data layers. Transition options are only available after you link to an external data file.
Available for title, title table, and image items.
Enable Onscreen Update transition options apply a transition when the information is updated on-screen.
The transition options are only available after you check the Enable Onscreen Update checkbox.
Available for roll and crawl items.
188
Chapter 6 | Output Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 189 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Set Items to Loop
Set Audio to Loop
Table 6-1: Output Options in Content Editors
Output Option Description
Item Duration
Enable GPO
The Item Duration option sets the display duration for each layer of external data.
Available for title, title table, and image items.
The Enable GPO option is available in all editors and sets the item to trigger a GPO device on output.
Motion items include a Play Once option in the Content Editor that sets the item to play once during playback and then stop, or to continue looping the item until playback stops.
The Play Once option is available for the following items: video clip, animation, crawl, roll, title, title table, and audio items. The Play Once option is only available for title and title table items when you link to external data.
1 Open the Content Editor by double-clicking the item in the Item list on the
Control panel.
2 In the Editor, select the loop option.
• Select the Play Once option to set the item to play once during playback and then stop.
• Clear the Play Once option to set the item to continue looping until playback stops.
Note:
You can add a delay to item loops. For details, see
”Add a Delay between Item Loops” on page 212 .
Use the Content Editors to set the audio to loop during playback. You can loop the audio file applied to your layout or the audio file applied to an item.
1 Open the Content Editor.
• To edit audio attached to your layout, double-click on the audio item in the Item list on the Control panel.
• To edit audio attached to an item, double-click on the layout item in the
Item list on the Control panel.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 6 | Output Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
189
IconStationManual.book Page 190 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
2 In the Content Editor, set the loop option.
• Select the Play Once radio button to play the audio once on output.
• Select the Loop option to play the audio as long as the item/layout plays.
3 Click Save.
Setup a 3D DVE
If you purchased the 3D DVE option, use the 3D DVE option to setup the
DVE.
1 Select the 3D DVE checkbox to enable the rotation options.
2 In the Horizontal Rotation field, enter a rotation in degrees. On output, the
DVE will rotate the set number of degrees on the horizontal axis.
3 In the Vertical Rotation field, enter a rotation in degrees. On output, the
DVE will rotate the set number of degrees on the vertical axis.
4 Click Save.
For details on 3D DVEs, see
.
Start Live Video
DVE Fullscreen
To start a live video DVE at fullscreen on output, select the Start Fullscreen checkbox and click Save.
A DVE allows you to resize live video items during output. You can expand the video to fullscreen or squeeze the video back to the size of the item box in your layout.
For details on creating 2D DVEs, 3D DVEs, and dual HD DVEs, see the following topics.
•
•
•
”Create a Dual DVE Layout” on page 142
Enable EAS Output
If you purchased the EAS (Emergency Alert System) option, you can enable the EAS output in the Crawl Editor.
1 Select the EAS checkbox to enable the EAS output.
2 Enter the number of time the EAS message plays in the Play Item box.
3 Click Save.
For details on creating EAS layouts, see ”Create EAS Layouts” on page 148 .
190
Chapter 6 | Output Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 191 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Enable Onscreen
Data Updates
The Enable On Screen Update option sets IconStation to display updated information immediately, instead of waiting for the system to check for updates. The option is available for roll and crawl items.
The Enable On Screen Updates option is recommended if your text contains information like temperatures or sports scores where the spacing remains constant. The option is not recommended if the length of your text entries change, since the spacing of the text will not adjust until the item playback starts from the beginning. For example, a text entry that is longer than the current entry will not display entirely, and a text entry that is shorter than the current entry will contain extra space.
1 Double-click on the item in the Item list on the Control panel to open the
Content Editor.
2 On the Content tab in the Editor, check the Enable On Screen Update checkbox.
Show All New Data
At Least Once
Figure 6-1: Enable Onscreen Updates
3 Set the transition options that apply when the information is updated.
• Select a transition type from the Transition drop-down list.
• Set a transition duration in the Transition Duration field. Duration is set in hours:minutes:seconds:frames.
If you don not want a transition, select Snap from the Transition list, or enter 00:00:00:00 in the Transition Duration field.
When the Enable On Screen Update option is not selected, the item is updated with new content once playback starts at the beginning.
Note:
The Enable On Screen Update option is available for both external data and text entered in the Roll or Crawl Editor.
The Show All New Data at Least Once option is recommended if you update your data regularly and if you want to show all data in the external data source before playing new updates. The option is available for roll, crawl, title, and title table items.
You must link to the external data source before the option is available.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 6 | Output Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
191
IconStationManual.book Page 192 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
1 Double-click on the item in the Item list on the Control panel to open the
Content Editor.
2 On the Content tab in the Editor, check the Show All New Data at Least
Once checkbox to playback all data in the text file once before it renders new data. The option is available after you link to your external data source.
Figure 6-2: Show All New Data at Least Once
3 Click the Save button to save the setting.
Disabling this option sets IconStation to render and display new data almost immediately as the data source is updated.
Set Item Transitions
Item transitions allow you to use transitions to display new or updated content. Item transition options are available for title, title table, roll, crawl, and image items.
• Title and title table items use transitions to display layers of external data.
• Roll and crawl items use transitions to display on-screen updates.
• Image items use transitions to display multiple images referenced in a folder or file.
To set the transition option, complete the following steps.
1 Open the Content Editor.
2 On the Content tab in the Editor, select the option that includes the transition effect.
• In the Title Editor and Table Editor, you must link to the external data source before the transition options are available.
External data transition options apply a transition between the display of external data layers.
• In the Roll Editor and Crawl Editor, you must check the Enable
Onscreen Update checkbox before the transition options are available.
Enable Onscreen Update transition options apply a transition when the item text is updated in the Content Editor or the external data source.
192
Chapter 6 | Output Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 193 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
• In the Image Editor select the Play From Folder or Play From Data
Source radio button.
Image transitions display a transition when the next image plays onscreen.
3 Select a transition from the Transition drop-down list. If you do not want to apply a transition, select Snap from the list.
Set Item Duration
Figure 6-3: Transition Options
4 Set the duration of the transition in the Transition Duration item box. The duration is set in hours:minutes:seconds:frames.
Note:
Transition options are also available to smooth the display between two output actions. For example, you can apply a show/hide transition when items show or hide on screen. Set transitions for output actions on the
Control panel and the Salvo Setup dialog.
The Item Duration sets the display duration for each layer of data. This option is available for title, title table, and image items.
On the Content tab in the Editor, set the display duration for the external data output in the Item Duration boxes. The duration is set in minutes and seconds.
Trigger GPO Device with Item
Figure 6-4: Item Duration Option
You can set your layout items to trigger a GPO device using the Enable GPO checkbox in the Content Editors. The GPO device is triggered when you output the item.
1 Double-click on the item in the Item list on the Control panel.
2 In the Content Editor, select the Enable GPO checkbox.
3 Use the drop-down list to select which pin receives the trigger on output.
• The GPO is raised when the item in on air.
• The GPO is lowered when the item is taken off air.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 6 | Output Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
193
IconStationManual.book Page 194 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Control Output Manually
Use the Control panel to output your items manually from the online system or to the desktop video window in IconStation Offline. The Control panel manages the items in your current layout for playback.
Set Playback
Options
Before you output your items, you can set-up the content, change the transition, or apply timer options. If you purchased the DVE option, you can also expand or shrink DVEs.
Set-Up Items
Set-up item content before output to ensure items are ready for playback. The content of some items, such as imported graphics and audio files, may need time to load before output. Motion items, such as rolls, crawls, and animations, may also need extra loading time.
• To set-up the selected item, click the Setup button.
• To set-up all items at once, click the Setup All button.
When you set-up an item, a blue dot displays in the Setup status column next to the item. Once the item is ready to play, a blue dot displays in the Play column.
Figure 6-5: Item Setup and Ready to Play
If you Kill an item, the content is no longer set-up. If you Hide an item, the content remains loaded and motion items continue playing, so you don’t need to set-up the item again.
194
Chapter 6 | Output Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 195 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Select a Transition
You can transition between show and hide states using the transition and duration options.
1 Select a transition from the Transition list. If you do not want a transition, select Snap from the Transition list.
2 Set the transition duration in the Duration box. Time is measured in hours:mintues:seconds:frames.
Figure 6-6: Transition Options
To change the default transition or duration, select Edit > Preferences. On the
General tab, choose another transition from the Default Transition list or enter a new duration in the Default Transition Duration box.
Select Live Video Source
If you selected different sources for your live video in the Live Video Editor, the
Source options allow you to select the live video output (A or B) and to set a transition that applies when you switch the live video from source A or source
B.
1 Select your live video item in the Item list.
2 In the Source section, select the live video source for output.
• A: Outputs live video from the source selected on the Content A tab in the Live Video Editor.
• B: Outputs live video from the source selected on the Content B tab in the Live Video Editor.
3 Select a transition from the Transition list. The transition applies when you switch the live video from source A or source B.
4 Set the transition duration in the Duration box
(hours:minutes:seconds:frames).
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Figure 6-7: Live Video Options
Chapter 6 | Output Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
195
IconStationManual.book Page 196 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Output Items
Manually
You can output all the items in your layout, or output the selected items in the
Control panel’s Item list.
Some Content Editors include a Play Once option that sets if the item plays once on output, or continues playing until the item is removed from the output screen. The Play Once option is available for the following items: video clip, animation, crawl, roll, title, title table, and audio items. The Play Once option is only available for title and title table items when you link to external data.
Note:
With the IconStation Offline application you can only output to desktop video and you cannot preview your layouts.
Preview Items before Output
The Preview buttons display the first item frame on your preview screen.
• To preview the selected item, select the item from the Item list and then click the Preview button.
• To preview all the items in your layout, click the Preview All button.
• To clear your preview screen, click the Clear button.
Show Selected Items
The Show button plays the selected item in the Item list.
1 Select an item in the Item list.
2 Click the Show button.
3 Repeat these steps until all the items you want are playing.
The Show status column in the Item list displays a blue dot next to the items that are on-air.
196
Chapter 6 | Output Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
Figure 6-8: Item Currently Playing
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 197 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Show All Items
Use the Show All button in the Control panel to output all your layout items at once. While IconStation is playing, you cannot adjust items in the layout or change the crawl and roll speed. If you edit item content during playback, changes apply the next time IconStation plays that item.
To output all the items in your layout at once, click the Show All button in the
Control panel.
If some items do not display immediately, they may still be loading or they may have started to play but have not come into view yet. To avoid loading delays use the Setup button to cue your items before playback.
Resize Video with DVE
If you purchased the DVE option, you can expand and shrink live video and video clips during output. The DVE options are available when you select your live video item or video clip item in the Control panel during output.
Output the DVE manually using the options in the Control panel.
Notes:
• With manual DVE output the video always starts in the squeezed position.
If you want to start at fullscreen you can use a salvo.
• You must output the DVE with the Show button before you can set the duration for the DVE squeeze.
To output the DVE manually, complete the following steps.
1 On the Control panel select the live video or video clip item from the Item list.
2 Click the Setup button to setup the 2D DVE.
3 Click the Show button to output the DVE.
4 Set how long it takes the DVE to resize during output using the Duration field (hh:mm:ss:ff).
5 Click the DVE Fullscreen button to expand the video to fullscreen.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 6 | Output Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
197
IconStationManual.book Page 198 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
6 To squeeze the video back to the size of the item box in your layout, click the DVE Squeeze button.
DVE Squeeze
DVE Fullscreen
Figure 6-9: DVE Squeeze and Fullscreen Buttons
For details on creating DVEs, see:
•
•
•
”Create a Dual DVE Layout” on page 142
Cropping Notes
• When you output a cropped live video on an Altitude Express system, the transparent area remains around the video on output. The live video does not stretch past the transparent area to fit the item box or to play at fullscreen.
• When you output a cropped live video on an XD-200 system, the cropped live video expands to fill the item box or screen.
• Cropped video clips expand to fill the screen for both Altitude Express systems and XD-200 systems.
• Cropping is not available in HD on XD-200 systems.
Output Digital Timers
The timer controls allow you to start, stop, reset, and restart the timer during output. The Timer options are available when you select your digital timer item in the Control panel during output.
1 During output, select your digital timer item in the Item list.
2 To run the timer, click the Play button.
3 To stop the timer, click the Stop button.
4 To reset the timer back to its start state and stop it, click the Reset button.
198
Chapter 6 | Output Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 199 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
5 To restart the playback of the timer from its start state, click the Restart button.
Figure 6-10: Digital Timer Options
Pause Rolls and Crawls
The Pause and Play buttons in the Control panel stop and resume the playback of rolls and crawls.
1 During output, select your roll or crawl item in the item list.
2 To pause the item, click the Pause button. The text stops on screen.
3 To resume playback again, click the Play button. The text starts moving across the screen.
Take Items Off Air
Figure 6-11: Pause/Play Scroll Buttons
To take items off air, use the hide, kill, or bypass options.
Note:
With the IconStation Offline application you can only output to desktop video and you cannot preview your layouts.
Hide Items
To take an item off air without removing the content or its settings from output memory, use the Hide button. Use this option when you want to quickly show the items again or when you want motion items, such as rolls, crawls, and animations, to continue playing while hidden. When you hide an item you don’t need to set-up or preload the hidden item before it plays again.
• To hide a single item, select the item in the Item list and then click the
Hide button. Repeat this process for all the items you want hidden.
• To hide all items currently on-screen, click on the Hide All button in the
Control panel.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 6 | Output Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
199
IconStationManual.book Page 200 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
The items go off air with the selected transition and duration.
Figure 6-12: Hide Options
If the selected item is not currently showing, the Hide button is disabled. To show the items again, use the Show or Show All buttons. The selected transition is applied.
Kill Items
To take items off air and remove the content from the output memory, use the
Kill action. Use this option when you know you won’t be showing the items any more.
• To kill only selected items, select the item in the Item list and then click the Kill button. Repeat this process for all the items you want removed from screen and output memory.
• To kill all items currently on-screen, click the Kill All button in the
Control panel.
If the selected item is not set-up or on-air, the Kill button is disabled.
Figure 6-13: Kill Options
Bypass Items
The Bypass option uses the On and Off button to turn the bypass on and off.
Use this option to take items off the air when cutting to commercial, for example.
• To turn the bypass on and remove all items from the output screen, click the Bypass On button during playback.
• To turn the bypass off and restart the playback of bypassed items, click the
Bypass Off button.
200
Chapter 6 | Output Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
Figure 6-14: Bypass Options
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 201 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Control Output with Salvos
You can use the Salvo Setup dialog to assign a set of output instructions to your items and control the output with a trigger. These output instructions are called salvos in IconStation Offline. Your salvo can include items, action events, and trigger information. Trigger the salvo with a GPI, hotkey, keypad key, or Fire Salvo button from the online system or to the desktop video window in IconStation Offline.
Open Existing
Salvos
Use the Setup arrow button at the bottom of the Control panel to open existing salvos for the current layout.
1 Select your salvo from the Salvo list at the bottom of the Control panel.
2 To edit the selected salvo, click the Setup arrow button below the list and select Edit Selected Salvo. The Salvo Setup dialog opens.
Start a New Salvo
Figure 6-15: Select Edit Selected Salvo
In the Control panel, use the Setup arrow button to start a new salvo sequence.
1 Click on the Setup arrow button at the bottom of the Control panel.
2 Select New Salvo from the list. The Salvo Set up dialog box opens.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Figure 6-16: Select New Salvo
Chapter 6 | Output Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
201
IconStationManual.book Page 202 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Create a Salvo
A salvo is a set of output instructions that you trigger with a GPI, hotkey, keypad, or Fire Salvo button. To create a salvo, add items, actions, and set the trigger information in the Salvo Setup dialog.
Add an Item to Your Salvo
Items in your salvo are triggered when you trigger the salvo. Salvo items include an action that sets the item behavior. For example, the action might set the item to show or hide when you trigger the salvo.
1 Click the Add button in the Salvo Setup dialog. The first layout item is automatically listed in the Salvo preview.
2 To change the default item, select the item in the Salvo preview and then select a new item from the Item list. The Items list displays the current items in your layout.
202
Chapter 6 | Output Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
Select item.
Apply action to item.
Figure 6-17: Salvo Dialog
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 203 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
3 Apply an action to the item by selecting an action from the Action list. The available actions in the list change depending on the selected item type.
Table 6-2: Salvo Actions
Action Description
Show
Hide
Setup
Kill
Toggle Show/
Kill
Start, Stop,
Restart, Reset
(Digital Timer options)
Plays the item when you trigger the salvo.
Hides the item when you trigger the salvo.
Cues the item for output when you trigger the salvo.
Stops playing the item when you trigger the salvo.
Plays and stops the item output when you trigger the salvo. The first time you fire the salvo the item plays. The next time you fire the salvo the item stops, and so on.
Sets the timer to start, stop, restart, or reset the timer when you trigger the salvo.
• Start: Runs the timer.
• Stop: Stops the timer.
• Reset: Sets the timer back to its start state and stops it.
• Restart: Starts running the timer from its start state.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 6 | Output Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
203
IconStationManual.book Page 204 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Table 6-2: Salvo Actions
Action Description
DVE
(Live Video and
Video Clip option)
Resizes the video display when you trigger the salvo.
When you select the DVE action, the resize and duration options become available.
1 Select a resize option from the Resize list.
• Squeeze resizes the video display to the size and position of the item box in your layout.
• Fullscreen resizes the video display to fill the screen.
• Toggle resizes the video display to the previous state.
Note: When you output a cropped live video on an
Altitude Express system, the transparent area remains around the live video on output. The live video does not stretch past the transparent area to fit the item box or to play at fullscreen. XD-200 systems expand the live video to fill the screen or item box.
Video clips (on Altitude Express or XD-200 systems) and live video (on XD-200 systems) expand to fill the screen or item box.
Cropping is not available in HD on XD-200 systems.
2 Set the amount of time it takes the video to resize in the Duration field. Time is measured in hours:minutes:seconds:frames.
DVE is available if you purchased the DVE option.
Pause
Resume
Stops the playback of text-based items onscreen.
Note: To set a duration for the pause, use the Item list to add a Delay to the salvo.
Starts the output for text-based items again after a pause.
204
Chapter 6 | Output Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 205 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Table 6-2: Salvo Actions
Action Description
Switch Source
(Live Video option)
Switches the live video source when you trigger the salvo, if you selected different sources for your live video in the
Live Video Editor.
When you select Switch Source you can set a transition that applies during the action.
1 Select a transition from the Transition list that occurs when you trigger the salvo, and when the live video source switches.
2 Set the transition duration in the Duration box
(hours:minutes:seconds:frames).
3 Select the live video source from the Source list.
• Source A: Switches to the live video source selected on the Content A tab in the Live Video
Editor.
• Source B: Switches to the live video source selected on the Content B tab in the Live Video
Editor.
4 If you selected the Show or Hide action, apply a transition to the item by selecting a transition type from the Transition list. If you apply a transition, set the transition duration in the Duration box.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 6 | Output Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
205
IconStationManual.book Page 206 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Add an Action Event to Your Salvo
Action events affect your entire layout, rather than an individual item. You can add action events to your salvo that run when you trigger the salvo. Action events are included in the Item list.
Action events
Select action event.
Figure 6-18: Action event in salvo.
1 Click the Add button in the Salvo Setup dialog. The first layout item is automatically listed in the Salvo preview. You will change the item to an action event.
2 Select the item in the Salvo preview.
3 Select an action event from the Item list.
Table 6-3: Salvo Action Events
Action Event Description
Show All Outputs all the items in your current layout when you trigger the salvo.
Show All Setup Plays all the items currently set-up for output when you trigger the salvo.
Hide All Removes all the onscreen items from air when you trigger the salvo. The item content remains in the cue.
206
Chapter 6 | Output Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 207 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Table 6-3: Salvo Action Events
Action Event Description
Kill All
Setup All
Bypass
Delay
Pulse GPI
Output
Raise GPI
Output
Removes all items from air when you trigger the salvo.
The item content is also removed from the cue.
Preloads all the items in your current layout when you trigger the salvo. The items are cued and ready for output.
Turns the bypass on or off when you trigger the salvo.
After you select Bypass from the Item list, select On or
Off from the Action list.
• On: Turns the bypass on and removes all items from the output screen when you trigger the salvo. Use this option to remove items from the output screen when cutting to commercial, for example.
• Off: Turns the bypass off and restarts the playback of all bypassed items.
Adds a delay for the period of time set in the Duration box before proceeding to the next output instruction in the salvo. Adding a delay allows you to stagger the display of your items when you trigger the salvo.
Note: If you create a salvo that pauses rolls or crawls, use the Delay to set the duration for the pause.
Pulses the GPI output that triggers the hardware attached to your system.
Select the GPI number that corresponds to the external device in the Action list.
Raises the GPI output that triggers the hardware attached to your system.
Select the GPI number that corresponds to the external device in the Action list.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 6 | Output Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
207
IconStationManual.book Page 208 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Loop the Salvo
Table 6-3: Salvo Action Events
Action Event Description
Lower GPI
Output
Lowers the GPI output that triggers the hardware attached to your system.
Select the GPI number that corresponds to the external device in the Action list.
4 To apply a transition to an action event, select a transition type from the
Transition list and set the transition duration in the Duration box
(hours:minutes:seconds:frames).
The Show All, Show All Setup, Hide All, Kill All, or Setup All action events include transition options.
You can loop the salvo a specific number of times, or continuously until the salvo output is stopped.
Note:
You must add a delay to the salvo for the salvo to loop. If the salvo does not contain a delay action, the salvo will not loop.
1 In the Salvo Setup dialog, add a Delay action to the salvo before you set the salvo to loop.
a From the Item drop-down list, select Delay. The default items updates to the Delay action.
b Enter the length of the delay in the Duration field. Time is measured in hours:minutes:seconds:frames.
Figure 6-19: Select the Delay Action and Set Duration
2 Select the Loop Salvo checkbox.
208
Chapter 6 | Output Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 209 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
3 Set your loop option.
• To loop the salvo a specific number of times, select the Times radio button and enter number of loops.
• To loop the salvo until the salvo output is stopped, select the Forever radio button.
Figure 6-20: Salvo Loop Option
Add a Delay between Item Loops
Looping a salvo also allows you to add a delay to items that loop, like crawls and rolls. Title, title table, and image items can also loop when linked to an external file.
To add a delay between loops:
1 Open the Content Editor by double-click on the item in the IconStation workspace.
2 In the Content Editor, select the Play Once checkbox and then click Save.
3 In the Control panel, click the Setup arrow button and select New Salvo.
The Salvo Setup dialog opens.
Figure 6-21: Select New Salvo
4 Enter a name for the salvo in the Salvo Name field.
5 Click Add and select the default item added to the salvo.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 6 | Output Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
209
IconStationManual.book Page 210 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
6 From the Item drop-down list, select the item you are looping. The default item updates to the new item selected.
Figure 6-22: Select the Item You Are Looping
7 Click Add again and select the default item added to the salvo.
8 From the Item drop-down list, select Delay. The default items updates to the Delay action.
210
Chapter 6 | Output Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 211 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
9 Enter the length of the delay in the Duration field. Time is measured in hours:minutes:seconds:frames.
Figure 6-23: Select the Delay Action and Set Duration
10 To loop the item during output, select the Loop Salvo checkbox, and then set the salvo to loop a certain number of times or forever.
Figure 6-24: Set the Loop Option
11 Click Save to save the salvo.
When you output the salvo, the item plays followed by the delay. After the delay, the salvo loops and plays again.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 6 | Output Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
211
IconStationManual.book Page 212 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Edit Output
Instructions
Enable GPI
The Salvo Setup dialog allows you to easily edit the output instructions in your salvo.
Table 6-4: Edit Options
Description Option
Remove
Reorder
Change
Information
To remove an item or action event, select the step in the salvo preview and then click the Remove button.
To move the item or action event up or down, select the step in the salvo preview and then click the up or down
Source button. You can also drag the step up or down in the preview.
To change the information of the item or action event, select the step in the salvo preview. Use the Item list,
Action list, and other available options to change the information.
• Use the Item list to change the information for an item in the salvo.
• Use the Action list to change the information for an action event.
You need to enable your GPI in the Configuration Utility before you can trigger a salvo with the GPI device connected to your system. To enable
IconStation to recognize your GPI device, complete the following steps.
1 Select Start > All Programs > Harris > IconStation > Configuration
Utilities > IconStation Configuration Utility.
212
Chapter 6 | Output Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 213 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
2 In the Configuration Utility, switch to the GPI/O tab.
Set-Up the GPI
Trigger
Figure 6-25: GPI/O Tab
3 Select the U2IO (Standard Device) option.
4 Click OK.
Note:
If you do not have a hardware GPI, you can enable software GPI that can trigger your output. For details on using the software GPIs, see
If you have a GPI device connected to you system, you can trigger the salvo with a GPI trigger. You cannot apply the same GPI trigger to another salvo.
1 In the Salvo Setup dialog, check the GPI checkbox.
2 From the GPI list, select the number for the GPI that triggers salvo output.
3 From the GPI Preview list, select the number for the GPI that triggers salvo preview.
Figure 6-26: Select GPI to Trigger Output and Preview
4 Select the Kill Shown Items on GPI Lower checkbox to set this GPI state for the salvo. If you select this checkbox use the GPI to trigger the following actions:
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 6 | Output Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
213
IconStationManual.book Page 214 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Preview Salvos with Output GPI
Set a Hotkey
Trigger
• Press the GPI to execute the salvo.
• Release the GPI to kill all the items shown by the salvo.
• Release the GPI to lower any GPOs that were raised by the salvo.
You can set IconStation to preview your salvos with the GPI that is set to trigger output.
1 Open the Preferences dialog (Edit > Preferences),
2 On the General tab in the Preferences dialog check the Preview Salvos with the Same GPI checkbox.
The first time the GPI trigger is pressed, the salvo is triggered for preview.
The second time the GPI trigger is pressed, the salvo is triggered for output.
Note:
With the IconStation Offline application you can only output to desktop video and you cannot preview your layouts.
A hotkey trigger allows you to trigger the salvo with the keys on your keyboard. You cannot apply the same hotkey to another salvo.
1 In the Salvo Setup dialog, check the Hotkey checkbox.
2 Click on the Set button. The Assign Hotkey window opens.
3 Enter the hotkey and then click OK.
• To assign a single keystroke, press the key (example: F5).
• To assign a key combination, enter the keystroke (example: SHIFT+Z).
214
Chapter 6 | Output Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
Figure 6-27: Assign Hotkey
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 215 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Enable Keypad
Output
If you are using a keypad to trigger your salvos, you must enable the keypad in the IconStation Configuration Utility before you assign a salvo to the keypad.
1 From the Windows Start menu, select All Programs > Harris > IconStation
> Configuration Utilities > IconStation Configuration Utility.
2 In the IconStation Configuration Utility, switch to the External Control tab.
3 Select the Enable Keypad checkbox.
Assign Salvo to
Keypad
Figure 6-28: Enable Keypad
4 From the COM Port drop-down list, select the COM port that your keypad is connected to.
5 Click OK to save the settings and enable your keypad operations.
You can use your keypad to trigger the salvo.
1 In the Salvo Setup dialog, check the Assign Salvo to Keypad checkbox. If the current salvo is the first salvo listed in the Control panel, the salvo is assigned to the first key on your keypad.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Figure 6-29: Select Assign Salvo to Keypad
Chapter 6 | Output Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
215
IconStationManual.book Page 216 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Use Item to Trigger
Salvo
2 Assign the salvo to a specific keypad key by entering a number in the
Keypad Order field. The correct value will depend on how the key assignment is ordered on your keypad hardware.
3 To set IconStation Offline to automatically assign salvos to the keypad by default, select Edit > Preferences and then check the Assign New Salvos to
Keypad checkbox on the General tab.
Closing the layout removes the salvo assignment from the keypad.
In addition to the available triggers, you can also trigger a salvo when an item starts or stops playback. The item used to trigger the salvo should not be part of the salvo.
To trigger a salvo based on item playback, complete the following steps.
1 In the Salvo Setup dialog, create your salvo by adding items and action events to the salvo.
Figure 6-30: Create Salvo
2 After you have defined your salvo, select the “On Event When” checkbox.
This sets the salvo to trigger, based on item playback.
3 From the Item drop-down list, select the layout item that will trigger the salvo.
Note:
The selected item should not be included in the current salvo.
4 From the Event drop-down list, select one of the following options.
• Starts: Triggers the salvo when the selected item starts playing.
216
Chapter 6 | Output Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 217 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
• Ends: Triggers the salvo when the selected item stops playing.
• Is Killed: Triggers the salvo when the selected item is killed.
• Is Setup: Triggers the salvo when the selected item is setup.
• Is Hidden: Triggers the salvo when the selected item is hidden.
• Timer Starts: Triggers the salvo when the timer starts playing.
• Timer Stops: Triggers the salvo when the timer stops playing.
• Timer Ends: Triggers the salvo when the timer ends.
• Loop: Triggers the salvo when the selected item starts the next iteration of the loop. The loop option is only available for items that support looping in the Content Editor.
• Pauses: Triggers the salvo when the selected item pauses.
• Resumes: Triggers the salvo when the selected item resumes.
Note:
The available options depend on the selected item.
5 Click Add to add the condition.
Figure 6-31: Item Condition Set to Trigger Salvo
6 To set an additional item to trigger the salvo, repeat steps 3 - 5.
7 From the Conditions drop-down list, select if Any or All conditions must be present for the salvo to trigger.
• Any Conditions Are Present: Triggers the salvo when any of the set item conditions are met.
• All Conditions Are Present: Triggers the salvo only when all of the set item conditions are met.
8 Click Save to save the salvo.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 6 | Output Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
217
IconStationManual.book Page 218 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Software GPIs
Trigger Salvo with Item
To trigger the salvo, output the item(s) set to trigger the salvo.
• The salvo triggers when the item starts playback, if you selected “Starts” as the Event in the Salvo Setup dialog.
• The salvo triggers when the item stops playback, if you selected “Stops” as the Event in the Salvo Setup dialog.
• The salvo triggers when the item starts the next loop iteration, if you selected “Loops” as the Event in the Salvo Setup dialog.
You can use a software GPI to trigger events in IconStation Offline when testing output with the desktop video. Software GPI events are triggered by clicking a link on the maxisoftgpi web page.
Enable Software GPIs
1 Open the IconStation Configuration Utility (Windows Start > Programs >
Harris > IconStation Offline > Configuration Utilities > IconStation
Offline Configuration Utility).
2 Switch to the GPI/O tab.
3 Check the Software GPIs checkbox and enter the number of triggers you want to enable in the Count field.
If you have IconStation Offline open, you must restart the program before the updates to the software GPIs are enabled.
Trigger Software GPIs
Since no hardware is involved with software GPIs, they are set up in the
Configuration Utility then triggered by clicking a link on the maxisoftgpi web page.
Follow these instructions to trigger the software GPIs that have already been set up:
1 Open IconStation Offline to initialize the software GPI drivers.
2 Open your web browser.
3 In the Address field, type: http://localhost:8009/
218
Chapter 6 | Output Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 219 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
A locally stored web page opens. You do not need to be connected to the internet.
Figure 6-32: Access Local Web Page
4 Click on the maxisoftgpi link.
The maxisoftgpi web page opens. This page contains as many hyperlinks as you have enabled. These links are the triggering devices for your software
GPI.
Save the Salvo
Figure 6-33: Software GPI Triggers
When you save the salvo, the salvo name, trigger, and output information is saved to the Control panel for output.
In the Salvo Setup dialog, click the Save button to save the salvo.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 6 | Output Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
219
IconStationManual.book Page 220 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Output the Salvo
To output the salvo you can use the assigned software GPI trigger or the Fire
Salvo button on the Control panel. All output instructions in the salvo display at once when you trigger output.
Note:
With the IconStation Offline application you can only output to desktop video and you cannot preview your layouts.
1 View your salvos on the Control panel. The Salvo list at the bottom of the
Control panel lists the assigned GPI.
Manage Salvos
Figure 6-34: Salvos in Control Panel
2 Output the salvo using one of the following methods.
• Use the assigned GPI software trigger.
• Select the salvo in the Salvo list and then click the Fire Salvo button.
Use the options in the Control panel to manage your salvos. You can edit, rename, copy, and delete your salvos.
1 On the Control panel, select the salvo in the Salvo list.
2 Click the Setup button to view the drop-down list.
3 Select an option from the list.
• To edit the salvo output instructions, select Edit Selected Salvo from the list and change the options in the Salvo Setup dialog.
• To rename the salvo, select Edit Selected Salvo from the list and change name in the Salvo Name field.
220
Chapter 6 | Output Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 221 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
If you assign the salvo to a keypad key, the first 10 characters in the salvo name displays on the key.
• To create a copy of the selected salvo, select Copy Selected Salvo from the list. A copy of the salvo is placed in the Salvo list.
• To delete the selected salvo, select Delete Selected Salvo from the list.
Click OK in the message box to confirm the deletion.
Figure 6-35: Salvo Drop-Down List
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 6 | Output Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
221
IconStationManual.book Page 222 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Create a Playback Log
When you log the playback of items, a new log file is created each day, so the playback of an entire day is stored in one log file.
Log Items
To log an item, select the item in the layout. Then, check the Log This Item checkbox below the workspace.
View Log File
Change Default Log
Settings
Figure 6-36: Log This Item Checkbox
About every 10 seconds, IconStation checks all items selected for logging and records changes to their show or hide states. If you added a log note in the item’s Content Editor, the note is also added to the log.
To view a log file, select Tools > Log Viewer. In the Log Viewer, select File >
Open, then select the file you want. By default, log files are saved in
C:\ProgramFiles (x86)\ Harris \ IconStation\ PlaybackLogs.
Change Default Log File Location
To change the default log file location, select Edit > Preferences. In the
Preferences dialog box, switch to the Logging tab. Click the Choose button and select a new folder as prompted.
Enable Default Logging of All Items
By default, items are not set to be logged. To set all items to be logged by default, select Edit > Preferences. In the Preferences dialog box, check the
Enable Logging checkbox on the Logging tab. To disable logging, clear the checkbox.
Set Number of Days to Store Log File
To set the number of days for keeping log files on your system, select Edit >
Preferences. In the Preferences dialog box, switch to the Logging tab. Enter a number in the Days box.
222
Chapter 6 | Output Layouts
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 221 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Chapter 7
Connectus Solution
Overview of the Connectus solution available for IconStation units.
IconStationManual.book Page 222 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
The Connectus Solution
The Connectus solution uses IconStation Offline and Connectus server/clients to distribute layouts to many different locations. IconStation Offline can publish layouts to Connectus, approve layouts for distribution, and download layouts from the Connectus file server. IconStation permissions for Connectus-related options are set in the Connectus application.
Connectus functionality is available in IconStation Offline if you purchased the Connectus solution.
Communication
Flow
Connectus
Documentation
The following points outline the basic communication-flow of a Connectus system.
• Set the file server for published layouts in the Connectus Preferences dialog (Edit > Preferences). The file server is accessed by IconStation,
Connectus, clients (if available) and the players. You must set the file server before IconStation can publish a layout to the Connectus.
• Enable IconStation in Connectus to publish, download, and/or approve layouts.
• Use IconStation to publish layouts to the file server set in the Connectus
Preferences dialog. IconStation, Connectus, clients (if available) and the players all have access to the file server.
• Enable Connectus clients in Connectus if applicable. Clients can control a subset of players and layouts.
• Connectus sets permissions and either sends the published layout to player(s) or assigns players to clients who can send the published layout to players.
• The player receives the layout sent by Connectus or client and outputs the content either manually or with automation control.
Detailed instructions on using Connectus are available in the Connectus manual (.pdf) and in the online help. See the Documentation folder on your
Connectus product CD, and the Help menu in Connectus.
222
Chapter 7 | Connectus Solution
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 223 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Set Up IconStation for Connectus
The Preferences dialog in IconStation Offline allows you to connect to Connectus systems. You must setup
IconStation for Connectus before any of the Connectus-related options are enabled in IconStation.
Note:
When you set up IconStation Offline for Connectus the connections only apply for IconStation Offline operations. If you are using TitleMotion GS with Connectus, you must define the Connectus information in the Preferences dialog of TitleMotion GS (File > Connectus > Preferences > Connectus
Locations).
The Connectus functionality is available if you purchased the Connectus solution.
Enable IconStation
Offline as a
Publisher
Step 1: Add the Connectus Location in the Preferences Dialog
Before the File > Connectus > Publish menu option becomes available in
IconStation Offline, you must first add Connectus to the Locations list in the
IconStation Preferences dialog.
1 In IconStation Offline, open the Preferences dialog (Edit > Preferences).
2 Switch to the Connectus tab.
3 Click the New button to add a new Connectus location to the list.
4 In the Name field, enter a name for the Connectus server. The name updates in the Locations list.
5 Click the Choose button beside the Connectus Location box.
6 In the Browser dialog, navigate to and select the Connectus server. Click
OK to add the system name to the Connectus Location box.
7 Enter an email address for the Connectus operator in the Email Contact box.
8 Click OK to apply the settings.
Step 2: Add the Connectus Location in the Publisher Settings
Before IconStation Offline can publish layouts to Connectus you must set the
Connectus location in the Publisher Settings dialog.
1 Select File > Connectus > Publish to open the Publish to IconStation
Connectus window. This menu option becomes available after you complete
Step 1.
2 In the Publish Content to Connectus dialog, click the Publisher Settings button.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 7 | Connectus Solution
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
223
IconStationManual.book Page 224 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
3 In the Publisher Settings dialog, click the New button to add a new
Connectus location to the list.
4 In the Name field, enter a name for the Connectus server. The name updates in the Locations list.
5 Click the Choose button beside the Connectus Location box.
6 In the Browser dialog, navigate to and select the Connectus server. Click
OK to add the system name to the Connectus Location box.
7 Enter an email address for the Connectus operator in the Email Contact box.
8 Click OK to apply the settings.
9 In the Publish Content to Connectus dialog, the Connectus server is now available from the Select Connectus Server drop-down list.
224
Chapter 7 | Connectus Solution
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 225 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Transfer Layouts
Once you have setup IconStation Offline for Connectus you can transfer layouts between IconStation Offline and Connectus. The options in IconStation allow you to publish layouts to Connectus, approve layouts for
Connectus, and download layouts from the Connectus file server.
You must step up IconStation communications in the Preferences dialog before the options are available. See
”Set Up IconStation for Connectus” on page 223
for details.
Publish Layouts
The Publish Content to Connectus dialog allows you to publish your
IconStation Offline layouts to Connectus. The first time you publish your layout, you will see an error message. This first attempt adds your IconStation to the Connectus Publishers list, however the error occurs because your
IconStation is not yet enabled as a publisher in Connectus. Once the
Connectus operator enables your IconStation as a publisher, you can successfully send layouts to Connectus.
1 Select an <empty> layout tab.
2 Select File > Open Layout to open a layout for publishing.
3 Select File > Connectus > Publish to open the Publish Content to
Connectus dialog.
4 From the first drop-down list, select the Connectus server receiving the published layout.
5 Enter any comments about the layout in the Comments box. The comments display on the Layout tab in Connectus.
6 Select the Enable Error Checking checkbox to set Connectus to check the layouts for errors that may occur during publishing.
7 Select the Send Rendered Files checkbox to send all the rendered files when you publish the layout.
8 Select the Retry Publish Until Successful checkbox to continue publishing the layout until it has successfully published to Connectus.
9 Click the Publish button to publish the layout to the selected Connectus server. The layout is published to the Layouts tab in Connectus.
When you publish a layout, an email is sent to the operator's email address entered on the Player tab in the Preferences dialog.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 7 | Connectus Solution
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
225
IconStationManual.book Page 226 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Download Layouts
Approve Layouts
Note:
If your layout does not publish properly, check that IconStation is enabled as a publisher in Connectus. Also check that the IconStation operator has full access to the Connectus Publish Content file server.
See the Connectus manual for details.
The Get Layout from Connectus Server window allows you to manually download a layout directly from the Connectus. IconStation publishers are enabled in Connectus with download permissions on the NM Publishers tab.
An IconStation publisher may have download access to all layouts on
Connectus, or to selected layouts.
1 Select File > Connectus > Download.
2 Use the Connectus Server drop-down list to select the server you want to access.
3 To search for a particular content project on the server, type a search string in the field and click the Search button. Only the content projects whose titles contain that string are displayed.
4 To view content using a filter query that you have previously saved, select the query from the Filters drop-down list.
5 The Content list displays all of the content projects on the Connectus server that meet your filter query. Select a content project to display its publisher comments, if any.
6 Click the Choose button to choose a place for storing the downloaded content.
7 Click the Download button to download the selected content to the publisher, where you can open and edit it.
The layout approval feature is an optional feature of the Connectus solution.
Connectus operators can require that published layouts are approved before they are distributed to IconStation players. You can set this option on the File
Server tab in the Connectus Preferences dialog. Once the approval feature is enabled, both Connectus and IconStation operators can approve/disapprove layouts. Connectus operators can enable IconStation publisher approval rights on the NM Publishers tab.
In IconStation, the Approve Layout for Update to Players window allows
IconStation operators to approve layouts listed on the Connectus Layouts tab.
1 Select File > Connectus > Approve to open the Approve Layout for Update to Players window.
226
Chapter 7 | Connectus Solution
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 227 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
2 From the first drop-down list, select the Connectus.
3 Select the layout you want to approve from the Select Layout to Approve list. Any comments entered during publishing display in the Comments box.
4 If the layout includes multiple versions, select the version from the Select
Layout Version to Approve list.
5 Use the Approve - Disapprove Layout Comments box to enter any comments about the approval or disapproval.
6 Approve or disapprove the layout.
• Click the Approve Layout button to approve the layout.
• Click the Disapprove Layout button to disapprove the layout.
•
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Chapter 7 | Connectus Solution
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
227
IconStationManual.book Page 228 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
228
Chapter 7 | Connectus Solution
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 243 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Appendix A
Configuration Utility
Setup options for IconStation using the Configuration Utility.
IconStationManual.book Page 244 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
IconStation Configuration Utility
The IconStation Offline Configuration Utility allows you to configure your IconStation Offline settings and the devices connected to your system. If you are using Connectus with IconStation Offline you can also configure your Connectus settings.
Note:
The IconStation Offline Configuration Utility includes options that apply to all IconStation Offline configurations, so certain settings may not apply to your system.
Open the Utility
Open the Configuration Utility from the Windows Start Menu.
From the Windows Start Menu choose Programs > Harris > IconStation Offline
> Configuration Utilities > IconStation Offline Configuration Utility.
Utility Tabs
The Configuration Utility allows you to configure your options for IconStation.
Some tabs may not apply to your IconStation system. See the following table for details.
Table A-1. Tab Functionality
Tab Description
Video/Audio
Standard
Auto-Login
Configures the input and output options for IconStation
Offline.
Sets the IconStation Offline system to automatically login after a reboot.
Preview Channel Allows you to view a static VGA preview.
Player Server
Account
Email Settings
Sets the Player Server accounts used to access
Connectus layouts.
Multicast Mode
Distribution
Configures your email settings when sending log files to technical support or when sending notification emails through Connectus.
Sets the folders IconStation Offline monitors when you are using folder mode distribution for satellite transmission.
244
Appendix A | Configuration Utility
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 245 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Table A-1. Tab Functionality
Tab Description
External Control Enables the connection to external automation, keypad, and EAS devices.
GPI/O Enables the connection to your GPI/O device.
Temperature
Probe
Proxy Server
Settings
Enables the connection to your temperature probe and sets the display preferences.
Enables the connection to the internet through your network’s proxy server.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Appendix A | Configuration Utility
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
245
IconStationManual.book Page 246 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Video/Audio Standard Tab
The Video/Audio Standard tab allows you to set your output device and audio/video options.
Select Output
Device
Figure A-1: Video/Audio Standard Tab
Choose your system’s output device from the Select Output Device drop-down list.
Table A-2: IconStation Offline Output Devices
Device Description
Altitude Express If you have an Altitude Express card installed in your system, choose this option.
You can then choose to play your graphics over live video/live DVEs on output, or live video/live DVEs over your graphics on output.
PCI-100
XD-200
If you have a PCI-100 card installed in your system, use this option to output in NTSC or PAL.
If you have an XD-200 card installed in your system, choose this option. You can then click the Control Panel button to launch the XD-200 Control Panel.
246
Appendix A | Configuration Utility
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 247 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Audio Output
Audio/Video Input
Table A-2: IconStation Offline Output Devices (Continued)
Device Description
Desktop Video The desktop video window displays output in a window on your system’s VGA monitor. This window can be repositioned within the desktop and can be minimized when not in use.
This option does not require any output hardware. It is not intended for presentation and is used for creating and monitoring new layouts.
If you have additional audio output cards on your system, you can enable the cards in the Audio/Video section of the tab.
1 Select the “Enable Third-Party Audio Output Cards” checkbox. When checked, IconStation Offline uses the default audio device currently set up in Windows.
2 Use the radio buttons to enable only broadcast quality cards, or all cards.
3 Use the Audio tab in the Sounds and Audio Devices dialog to choose the default audio device. You can access the Sounds and Audio Devices dialog through the Windows Control Panel.
If you have supported audio/video capture cards installed on your system, you can enable the cards in the Audio/Video section of the tab. IconStation Offline allows you to use input from the cards within your Live Video items if you select this option.
1 Select the “Enable Third-Party Audio/Video Input” checkbox.
2 Select the “Third-Party Card” radio button.
3 Choose the card’s video standard from the drop-down list.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Appendix A | Configuration Utility
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
247
IconStationManual.book Page 248 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Auto-Login Tab
Auto-login configures IconStation Offline systems to automatically login and restart after the system reboots.
Use the Auto-Login tab to enter your login details.
Figure A-2. Auto-Login Tab
Set Up Auto-Login
Auto-login configures IconStation Offline players to automatically restart and login when the system unexpectedly reboots.
To enable auto-login on your system:
1 Select the Use Auto-Login radio button.
2 Enter a valid username, password, and domain. Do not enter a domain if you are using a workgroup.
IconStation Offline players can run on the Administrator account, but another account is recommended so the administrator privileges are reserved for administrators.
Disable Auto-Login
To disable auto-login, select the Do Not Use Auto-Login radio button.
248
Appendix A | Configuration Utility
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 249 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Player Server Account Tab
The Player Server Account tab sets up the accounts that allow access to the Connectus layouts. You need access to the layouts located on the Connectus’s local network (LAN) or the layouts stored in a web location
(HTTP).
Player Server User
Account
Figure A-3. Player Server Account Tab
If the layouts are located on the Connectus’s local network, you can use either a user account or the Local System Account to access the file server. The file server is the shared folder or location that stores the layouts.
Local System Account
The Local System Account is a built-in default account on all Windows machines. It is designed to allow services to run, but it does not often have permission to access the network.
You can usually run the Connectus Service with the Local System Account when accessing a Connectus’s LAN file server, though it is recommended that you use an Administrator account for this service instead.
To use the Local System Account:
1 Select the Local System Account checkbox.
2 Select the Allow Service to Interact with Desktop to allow the Player Server to open windows on the desktop when necessary.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Appendix A | Configuration Utility
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
249
IconStationManual.book Page 250 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Player Server HTTP
Account
This also allows the Player Server to place a monitor icon in the Windows task bar.
User Account
The User Account is a specific username and password that has access to the
Connectus’s LAN.
To use a user account:
1 Clear the Local System Account checkbox if necessary.
2 Enter the account’s username, password, and domain.
Note:
Do not enter a domain if you are using a workgroup.
If the layouts are located on the internet, you can enter the username and password that allows access to the file server. The file server is the location on the internet that stores the layouts.
To use an HTTP account:
1 Enter a valid username for the Player Server to access the internet location.
2 Enter a valid password for the Player Server to access the internet location.
250
Appendix A | Configuration Utility
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 251 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Email Settings Tab
The options in the Email Settings tab are used to send log files to technical support from the Debug Logging tab, and to send notification emails with the Connectus solution. You can choose to use Microsoft Outlook or the Inscriber Mailer, or you can prevent IconStation Offline from sending any emails.
Figure A-4. Email Settings Tab
Use Microsoft
Outlook
If you have Microsoft Outlook installed on your system, select the Microsoft
Outlook radio button to send IconStation Offline emails with Outlook.
Use Inscriber Mailer
IconStation Offline provides an Inscriber Mailer feature that allows you to send email through an existing mail server without installing a third-party email application. You may need to contact your Network Administrator to get information about your mail server.
To send IconStation Offline emails with Inscriber Mailer:
1 Select the Inscriber Mailer radio button.
2 Enter an email address that you have access to in the Sender Address field.
The email address displays as the sender when technical support or the
Connectus solution receives an email.
3 Enter the name of the mail server in the Mail Server Name field. The mail server must be connected to your system and configured to send emails using the Sender Address.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Appendix A | Configuration Utility
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
251
IconStationManual.book Page 252 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Disable Email
4 Choose your Mail Server Type.
• Select the SMTP radio button to send email using the Simple Mail
Transfer Protocol.
• Select the NNTP radio button to send email using the Network News
Transfer Protocol.
• Select the POP3 radio button to send email using Post Office Protocol version 3.
5 If the mail server requires authentication, enter a name and password in the
User Name and User Password fields. Inscriber Mailer uses this information to access the mail server.
To prevent IconStation Offline from sending any emails, select the No Email radio button.
252
Appendix A | Configuration Utility
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 253 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
MultiCast Mode Distribution Tab
When using Connectus to send layouts via satellite, third-party transmission software sends layouts to specific folders on IconStation Offline player systems. The IconStation Offline Player Server monitors these folders and copies new layouts to the IconStation Offline content folder.
Use the MultiCast Mode Distribution tab to select the folders for the Player Server to monitor.
Add a New Folder
Remove a Folder
Figure A-5. MultiCast Mode Distribution Tab
To add a new folder to the Folder To Monitor list:
1 Click the New button. The Select Multicast Mode Directory dialog opens.
2 Navigate to the folder over the network and open the folder. The full network address must display in the Path field, and the folder must be shared so IconStation Offline can access the folder.
3 Click OK. The folder displays in the Folders To Monitor list.
4 To delete layouts after they are copied from the monitored folders, select the Delete the Layouts on the Monitored Folders checkbox.
To remove a folder from the Folder To Monitor list:
1 Select the folder in the Folder To Monitor list.
2 Click the Remove button. The folder is removed and is no longer monitored by the Player Server.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Appendix A | Configuration Utility
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
253
IconStationManual.book Page 254 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
External Control Tab
IconStation Offline supports automation, keypad, and EAS devices connected through the COM ports on your system. Use the External Control tab to enable these devices.
COM Port
Configuration
Enable Automation
Device
Figure A-6: External Control Tab
When using an external automation device with IconStation, configure the device to use the following port settings.
• Baud Rate: 9600
• Data Bits: 8
• Stop Bits: 1
• Parity: None
IconStation Offline supports an XML Protocol and CII commands for greater automation flexibility. The XML Automation Protocol can communicate over a network using a TCP/IP port. The CII commands are sent through a COM port connection or over a network using TCP/IP.
Enable XML Protocol Using TCP/IP
To enable the XML Protocol with an automation device using a TCP/IP connection, complete the following steps.
1 Select the Enable Automation checkbox.
2 Select the XML Protocol option.
254
Appendix A | Configuration Utility
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 255 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
3 In the Port field, enter the port used to communicate with the automation device.
Note:
For details on using the XML Protocol see the
IconStation_XMLAutomationProtocol.pdf located in the Documentation folder on your product CD.
Enable CII Commands Using COM Port
To send CII commands with an automation device connected to a COM port on your system, complete the following steps.
1 Select the Enable Automation checkbox.
2 Select the CII option.
3 Select the Use COM Port option.
4 Select the COM port the device is connected to from the COM Port drop-down list.
5 From the ID Format drop-down list, select the encoding method for your layouts and Salvos that you will use when you enter the following CII command: Load a Layout and Fire a Salvo.
• 4 Digit Number: Select 4 Digit Number to name your layouts and salvos using two digit numbers. The combination of layout name and salvo name is four digits.
• 8 Digit Number: Select 8 Digit Number to name your layouts and salvos using a four digit number. The combination of layout name and salvo name is eight digits.
• String: Select String to name your layouts and salvos using text. Your layout and salvo names should not contain spaces.
Enable CII Commands Using TCP/IP
To send CII commands with an automation device using a TCP/IP connection, complete the following steps.
1 Select the Enable Automation checkbox.
2 Select the CII option.
3 Select the Use TCP/IP option.
4 In the Port field, enter the port used to communicate with the automation device. In most cases you will not need to change the default 9100 port.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Appendix A | Configuration Utility
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
255
IconStationManual.book Page 256 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
5 From the ID Format drop-down list, select the encoding method for your layouts and salvos that you will use when you enter the following CII command: Load a Layout and Fire a Salvo.
• 4 Digit Number: Select 4 Digit Number to name your layouts and salvos using two digit numbers. The combination of layout name and salvo name is four digits.
• 8 Digit Number: Select 8 Digit Number to name your layouts and salvos using a four digit number. The combination of layout name and salvo name is eight digits.
• String: Select String to name your layouts and salvos using text. Your layout and salvo names should not contain spaces.
Enable Keypad
IconStation Offline supports output triggered with a keypad.
To enable the keypad:
1 Select the Enable Keypad checkbox.
2 Select the COM port the device is connected to from the COM Port drop-down list.
Enable EAS Device
IconStation Offline displays text from an EAS device as the content for your crawl item.
To enable the EAS device:
1 Select the Enable EAS checkbox.
2 Select the COM port the device is connected to from the COM Port drop-down list.
3 Select the type of EAS device from the Device drop-down list.
Once the EAS device is enabled a tabbed EAS layout becomes available in
IconStation.
Set Automation
Options
Use the following settings to enforce a fixed latency on a Fire Salvo XML command and to log automation activity.
1 To compensate for display latency, enter a value in the Fire Salvo Fixed
Latency field. The value is measured in frames and allows for better synchronization of the onscreen display when the Fire Salvo XML command is sent.
256
Appendix A | Configuration Utility
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 257 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
2 To start logging XML commands, select the Enable Automation Logging option.
3 Determine what encoding standard is used for sending XML commands using the UTF-8 or UTF-16 option.
View XML Automation Logs
Magellan Diagnostic Logging allows you to store all your logs on a centralized logging server and to manage those logs from a single location. The Magellan
Diagnostic Log Viewer displays in a browser window and allows you to manage all the logs available on the Magellan Diagnostic Logging Server.
1 To access the Magellan Diagnostic Log Viewer, open a browser window.
2 Enter the URL of the Magellan Diagnostic Logging Server in the browser address bar ( example: http://LoggingServerMachineName:8002/
).
See the Magellan Diagnostic Logging Getting Started for more information.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Appendix A | Configuration Utility
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
257
IconStationManual.book Page 258 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
GPI/O Tab
The GPI/O tab enables your GPI device. The U2IO option enables the GPI connected to the GPIO connection on all current (3RU) IconStation Offline systems. The LiveLink option enables LiveLink GPIs supported with legacy IconStation Offline products.
Enable GPI for
Current Systems
Enable GPI for
Legacy Products
Figure A-7. GPI/O Tab
To enable the GPI connected to the GPIO port on current systems:
1 Select the U2IO option.
2 Click OK to apply the selection.
To enable GPIs on legacy IconStation systems with LiveLink boards:
1 Select the LiveLink option.
2 Enter the frame rate of the incoming timecode in the Frame Rate field. If the timecode is drop frame NTSC, select the Drop Frame checkbox.
3 To enable your first LiveLink board, select the Enable Board 1 checkbox.
4 Select the COM port the GPI is connected to from the COM Port drop-down list.
5 If you have an additional LiveLink board, select the Enable Board 2 checkbox.
6 Select the COM port the GPI is connected to from the COM Port drop-down list.
258
Appendix A | Configuration Utility
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 259 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Software GPIs
You can use a software GPI instead of a hardware GPI to trigger events in
IconStation Offline. Software GPI events are triggered by clicking a link on the maxisoftgpi web page.
To enable software GPIs, check the Software GPIs checkbox and enter the number of triggers you want to enable in the Count field.
If you have IconStation Offline open, you must restart the program before the updates to the software GPIs are enabled.
Note:
If you installed IconStation Offline for no output, 14 software GPIs are automatically installed to simulate the U2IO trigger.
Trigger Software GPIs
Since no hardware is involved with software GPIs, they are set up in the
Configuration Utility then triggered by clicking a link on the maxisoftgpi web page.
Follow these instructions to trigger the software GPIs that have already been set up:
1 Open IconStation Offline to initialize the software GPI drivers.
2 Open your web browser.
3 In the Address field, type: http://localhost:8009/
A locally stored web page opens. You do not need to be connected to the internet.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Figure A-8: Access Local Web Page
Appendix A | Configuration Utility
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
259
IconStationManual.book Page 260 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
4 Click on the maxisoftgpi link.
The maxisoftgpi web page opens. This page contains as many hyperlinks as you have enabled. These links are the triggering devices for your software
GPI.
Figure A-9: Software GPI Triggers
260
Appendix A | Configuration Utility
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 261 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Temperature Probe Tab
The Temperature Probe tab allows you to configure an external probe. IconStation Offline displays the temperature reading on output.
Set Default Units
Enable the
Temperature Probe
Figure A-10. Temperature Probe Tab
Set your display as either Celsius or Farenheit. This affects the temperature and unit suffix that displays.
• To display the temperature in Celsius, select the Celsius option.
• To display the temperature in Farenheit, select the Farenheit option.
To enable your temperature probe:
1 Select the Use Temperature Probe checkbox.
2 Select your temperature probe device from the drop-down list.
3 Select the COM port that the temperature probe is connected to from the
COM Port drop-down list.
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Appendix A | Configuration Utility
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
261
IconStationManual.book Page 262 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Proxy Server Settings Tab
The Proxy Server Settings tab allows you to set-up a connection to your local network’s proxy server. The settings entered on the tab are stored in the Windows Registry. IconStation systems and IconStation players read the settings in the registry during playback and connect to the proxy server.
Set-Up Proxy
Server Connection
Bypass Proxy
Server
Figure A-11: Proxy Server Settings Tab
To set-up the proxy server connection, complete the following steps.
1 On the Proxy Server Settings tab, select the Use Proxy Server to Access
Internet Resources checkbox.
2 In the Proxy Server Name/Address field enter the proxy server name or IP address.
3 In the Port field, enter the port used to communicate with the proxy server.
4 In the Username field, enter the username for the proxy server.
5 In the Password field, enter the password for the proxy server.
To bypass the proxy server and connect to specific internet sites directly, complete the following steps.
1 Select the Bypass Proxy Server for Local Addresses checkbox.
2 In the text box, enter the site address that you are connecting to directly.
3 Click the Add button to add the site to the Sites to Bypass list.
4 To remove a site from the list, select the site address and click Remove.
262
Appendix A | Configuration Utility
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 229 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Index
Numerics
1-1 data tag ............................................... 149
1-2 data tag ............................................... 149
12 hour clock ............................................... 66
24 hour clock ............................................... 66
2D DVE ..................................................... 114
output the 2D DVE using a salvo .......... 114
setup live video item ............................. 114
A
Access database, create ........................... 159
action events (Salvos) ............................... 205
Bypass On/Off ....................................... 206
Delay ..................................................... 206
Hide All .................................................. 206
Kill All .................................................... 206
Lower GPI Output ................................. 207
Pulse GPI Output .................................. 206
Raise GPI Output .................................. 206
set transition .......................................... 207
Setup All ................................................ 206
Show All ................................................ 205
Show All Setup ...................................... 205
DVE ....................................................... 204
Hide ....................................................... 202
Kill ......................................................... 203
Reset (digital timer) ............................... 203
Restart (digital timer) .............................203
Setup .....................................................203
Show .....................................................202
Start (digital timer) .................................203
Stop (digital timer) .................................203
Toggle Show/Kill ....................................203
add
action events (Salvos) ...........................205
actions to items (Salvos) .......................202
analog clocks ...........................................74
animations ...............................................58
background ............................................113
Connectus to IconStation ......................223
crawls ......................................................50
database to system list ..........................162
digital clocks ............................................65
digital timers ............................................69
images .....................................................39
independent bugs ....................................39
layout to category ..................................141
live video .................................................90
rolls ..........................................................55
RTXport item .........................................100
temperature .............................................78
temperature manually ..............................79
text in Title Editor .....................................82
title tables ................................................85
TitleMotion GS content ..........................103
TitleMotion GS items .............................102
titles .........................................................81
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Index
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
229
IconStationManual.book Page 230 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
advance time, analog clocks .......................76
advance time, digital clocks .........................66
Alignment, text formatting ..........................107
alpha mask ................................................109
add mask to item ...................................109
invert mask ............................................110
Mask Channel .......................................109
AM/PM indicators ........................................66
AMP Logo, publish layout to ........................24
Analog Clock Builder ...................................77
Analog Clock Editor .....................................74
analog clocks ...............................................74
add log note .............................................76
adjust transparency .................................76
advance time ...........................................76
Analog Clock Builder ...............................77
create Photoshop clock ...........................75
delay time ................................................76
offset time ................................................76
open existing ...........................................75
position ....................................................76
scale size .................................................76
supported file formats ..............................29
Animation Editor ..........................................58
animation items
data tags ................................................149
output external data ...............................150
animations ...................................................58
add log note .............................................63
adjust transparency .................................63
create VIA file from frames ......................60
File option ................................................59
import series of frames ............................60
loop animation options ............................63
open single VIA file ..................................59
Play from Data Source option .................61
Play from Folder option ...........................60
preview in Animation Editor .....................59
scale size .................................................63
set thumbnail ...........................................60
supported file formats ..............................28
ANSI character set ....................................168
approve layouts for distribution ..................226
Aspect Ratio ................................................27
lock in Live Video Editor ..........................91
set VGA aspect ratio ...............................27
audio
add audio to items .................................124
add live audio ........................................126
add to layout ..........................................128
audio ducking ........................................125
audio item ..............................................128
Clip Audio Source (live) .........................111
delay ......................................................125
for live video ..........................................111
for live video items .................................132
level .......................................................125
loop ........................................................125
preview in IconStation Offline ........124, 128
set for video clips ...................................135
supported file formats ..............................29
Audio Device list
Live Video Editor .....................................91
Audio Editor ...............................................128
audio item ..................................................129
File option ..............................................129
output external data ...............................151
Play From Data Source option ..............130
Play From Folder option ........................129
set options .............................................131
audio items
data tags ................................................149
Audio Loop option ......................................187
Audio Source (live video) .............................91
automatic log item .....................................112
automation, disable ...................................186
B
B (bold), text formatting .............................107
background color (items) ...........................108
230
Index
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 231 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
backgrounds (for layouts) ......................... 113
BCD Customer Support Portal .................. 248
Bottom Position (text) ................................ 108
build, analog clocks ..................................... 77
burn layout to CD ........................................ 25
Bypass Off (manual) ................................. 198
Bypass Off (Salvo) .................................... 206
Bypass On (manual) ................................. 198
Bypass On (Salvo) .................................... 206
Bypass On/Off (Salvo) .............................. 206
C
Categories
add data field ........................................ 140
apply to layout ....................................... 141
create .................................................... 140
CD, burn layout ........................................... 25
Center Alignment (text) ............................. 107
change
crawl direction ......................................... 52
default log setting .................................. 218
item layer order ..................................... 113
roll direction ............................................. 56
channel branding overview ......................... 19
channel, alpha mask ................................. 109
character set standards ............................ 168
Clear (Control window) ............................. 194
clocks
add log note (analog clocks) ................... 76
add log note (digital clock) ...................... 68
add log note (timers) ............................... 72
Analog Clock Builder ............................... 77
analog clocks .......................................... 74
digital timers (Salvo) ............................. 203
display date without time ......................... 67
formatting text ....................................... 106
offset time (analog clocks) ...................... 76
offset time (digital clocks) ........................ 66
output timers manually .................. 196, 197
set digital clock display ............................ 66
set digital timer display ............................ 70
set timecode source ................................ 67
show leading zeros ................................. 66
show prefix .............................................. 67
show seconds ......................................... 66
show suffix .............................................. 67
show time, digital clocks .......................... 66
close layouts ................................................ 26
color
add to background items ....................... 108
data fields .............................................. 179
for text formatting .................................. 107
column
in an ODBC text file ............................... 167
Column Widths bar ...................................... 87
columns (table items)
set width for table items .......................... 87
Connectus ................................................. 222
add Connectus to IconStation ............... 223
approve layouts ..................................... 226
communication flow ............................... 222
download layouts .................................. 226
publish layouts ...................................... 225
solution overview ................................... 222
TitleMotion GS integration ..................... 227 content
add analog clocks ................................... 74
add animations ........................................ 58
add crawls ............................................... 50
add digital clock ....................................... 65
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Index
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
231
IconStationManual.book Page 232 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
add digital timers .....................................69
add images ..............................................39
add live video ..........................................90
add rolls ...................................................55
add RTXport item ..................................100
add temperature ......................................78
add title table ...........................................85
add TitleMotion GS content ...................103
add TitleMotion GS item ........................102
add titles ..................................................81
lock/unlock .............................................112
preview in workspace ............................112
Content Editors ............................................33
Analog Clock ...........................................74
Analog Clock Editor .................................35
Animation Editor ......................................35
Animations ...............................................58
Audio .....................................................128
Audio Editor .............................................38
Crawl .......................................................50
Crawl Editor .............................................34
Digital Clock ............................................65
Digital Clock Editor ..................................35
Digital Timer Editor ..................................36
Digital Timers ..........................................69
Image ......................................................39
Image Editor ............................................34
Live Audio ..............................................126
Live Video ................................................90
Live Video Editor .....................................38
open the Data Source Wizard ...............165
output options ........................................187
Roll ..........................................................55
Roll Editor ................................................34
Table .......................................................85
Temperature ............................................78
Temperature Editor .................................36
Title ..........................................................81
Title Editor ...............................................36
Title Table Editor .....................................37
TitleMotion GS .......................................102
Video Clip Editor ......................................38
control choices
GPI/hotkey/keypad output .....................200
manual output ........................................193
Salvo output (trigger) .............................200
trigger output .........................................200
control options ...........................................186
copy Salvos ...............................................216
count options for timers ...............................70
Crawl Editor .................................................50
crawl items
data tags ................................................148
Crawl Offscreen option ................................53
crawls ..........................................................50
add delay between loops .......................208
add log note .............................................52
add text in editor ......................................51
adjust speed ............................................52
create database text file ........................156
create linear text file ..............................156
data tags ................................................148
loop crawl options ....................................53
output external data ...............................150
pause/resume output (Salvos) ..............204
pause/resume playback ........................197
play options .............................................53
set direction .............................................52
set external data source options .............53
set external data transition ....................153
Show All New Data ................................151
create
analog clocks ...........................................77
background ............................................113
category for layout .................................140
database text file ...................................156
linear text file .........................................156
ODBC data source ................................159
PSD analog clock ....................................75
Salvo .....................................................201
232
Index
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 233 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
templates .............................................. 142
crop viewable area, live video ..................... 91
crop viewable area, video clips ................... 95
custom format options ............................... 106
D
data delimiter ............................................ 167
data expiration .......................................... 183
data field, create ....................................... 140
data field, delete ........................................ 141
data formatting .......................................... 176
data integration ......................................... 148
add data to system list .......................... 162
create ODBC data source ..................... 159
data tags ............................................... 148
item output ............................................ 150
Data Source Wizard
add a text file with ODBC ...................... 167
add a text file without ODBC ................. 169
add RSS/XML feed ............................... 170
add text file ............................................ 166
character set ......................................... 168
color data fields ..................................... 179
data expiration ...................................... 183
data playback settings .......................... 182
data type ............................................... 168
delimiter ................................................ 167
DSN choice ........................................... 167
external keys ......................................... 175
filter data ............................................... 178
format data source ................................ 176
last access time .................................... 184
link column to multiple tags ................... 174
link data tags to database ..................... 173
name column ........................................ 168
player database access ........................ 167
player values ......................................... 179
Publish Data Source options ................. 183
refine data range ................................... 178
select existing data source .................... 171 select RSS/XML data elements ............ 171
set first row as the column headers ...... 168
sort data ................................................ 181
SQL statements .................................... 180
update interval ....................................... 182
workflow ................................................ 165
data tags .................................................... 148
color data fields ..................................... 179
crawl items ............................................ 148
image items ........................................... 149
link to database ............................. 166, 173
database
add RSS/XML feed ............................... 170
add text file to Data Source Wizard ....... 166
add to ODBC system list ....................... 162
becomes unavailable ............................ 183
color data fields ..................................... 179
create Excel database ........................... 160
decimal point ......................................... 177
external keys ......................................... 175
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Index
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
233
IconStationManual.book Page 234 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
file references ........................................155
filter data ................................................178
format text .............................................177
last access time .....................................184
link column to multiple tags ...................174
link to data tags .............................166, 173
numerical separator ...............................177
refine data range ...................................178
sort data ................................................181
SQL statements .....................................180
use multiple data sources ......................169
database text files .............................155, 156
create ....................................................156
file references ........................................155
use TAB delimiter ..................................156
date, display (digital clock) ..........................67
decimal places ...........................................177
decimal point .............................................177
Delay (Salvo) .............................................206
delay time, analog clocks ............................76
delay time, digital clocks ..............................66
delete
data field ................................................141
data tags from title item .........................148
items ......................................................113
layout categories ...................................141
layouts .....................................................26
Salvo output instruction .........................211
Salvos ....................................................216
templates ...............................................144
text line in Title Editor ..............................82
delimiter, TAB in text files ..........................156
Details panel ..............................................111
Digital Clock Editor ......................................65
Digital Clock RTXports ..............................101
digital clocks ................................................65
add log note .............................................68
advance time ...........................................66
delay time ................................................66
display date without time .........................67
formatting text ........................................106
offset time ................................................66
separator .................................................67
set timecode source ................................67
show leading zeros ..................................66
show prefix ..............................................67
show seconds ..........................................66
show suffix ...............................................67
show time ................................................66
digital timer count options ............................70
count from now to end point ....................71
count from start point to now ...................72
set timer start/end points .........................70
setup a count-up timer .............................71
Digital Timer Editor ......................................69
digital timers ................................................69
add log note .............................................72
control with manual output ............196, 197
Format option ..........................................70
formatting text ........................................106
hours, minutes, seconds .........................70
output manually .............................196, 197
separators ...............................................70
set count options .....................................70
set display options ...................................70
set leading zeros .....................................70
trigger output .........................................203
direction for crawls .......................................52
direction for rolls ..........................................56
disable automation ....................................186
display
date .........................................................67
external data ..........................................150
set for digital clocks .................................66
set for digital timers .................................70
Don’t Publish option ...................................183
download layouts from Connectus ............226
drivers
Microsoft Access Driver .........................163
Microsoft Excel Driver ...........................163
dual channel XD-200 systems .....................19
duration (transitions)
234
Index
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 235 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
for crawl items ....................................... 152
for external data .................................... 153
for roll items .......................................... 152
duration, for referenced images ............ 44, 48
control with trigger (Salvo) .................... 204
create 2D DVEs .................................... 114
Fullscreen action (Salvo) ...................... 204
Fullscreen button (manual) ................... 195
output dual DVEs .................................. 121
Squeeze action (Salvo) ......................... 204
Squeeze button (manual) ...................... 195
E
Edge Color, text formatting ....................... 108
Edge, text formatting ................................. 108
edit
lock/unlock item .................................... 112
Salvos ........................................... 200, 216
templates .............................................. 143
Edit Selected Salvo ................................... 200
Editors
Analog Clock ........................................... 74
Animations .............................................. 58
Audio ..................................................... 128
Crawl ....................................................... 50
Digital Clock ............................................ 65
Digital Timers .......................................... 69
Image ...................................................... 39
Live Audio ............................................. 126
Live Video ............................................... 90
output options ........................................ 187
Roll .......................................................... 55
Table ....................................................... 85
Temperature ............................................ 78
Title ......................................................... 81
TitleMotion GS ...................................... 102
Enable Logging ......................................... 218
Enable On Screen Update when Content
Changes ................................................ 53, 57
Enable Onscreen Updates option ............. 188
enter
temperature manually ............................. 79
text in Title Editor .................................... 82
example workflow ........................................ 16
Excel database, create .............................. 160
expire data ................................................. 183
Expiry Date option ..................................... 145
export layout to Versio/AMP ........................ 24
export layouts .............................................. 22
export templates .......................................... 23
external data sources ................................ 148
add data to system list .......................... 162
create ODBC data source ..................... 159
data tags ............................................... 148
database (ODBC) .................................. 159
Enable Onscreen Update ...................... 152
item output ............................................ 150
ODBC database .................................... 159
set crawl transitions ............................... 153
set Item Duration ........................... 154, 192
set options for crawl items ....................... 53
set options for roll items .......................... 57
Show All New Data ............................... 151
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Index
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
235
IconStationManual.book Page 236 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
text file types .........................................155
text files .................................................155
external keys .............................................175
F
field dominance, invert for video clips ..........98
File option
animations ...............................................59
Audio .....................................................129
images .....................................................40
video clips ................................................94
file reference in external data ....................155
files supported .............................................28
filter data ....................................................178
Font, text formatting ..................................107
Format, for digital timers ..............................70
formatting text ............................................106
custom options ......................................106
G
G-3D scenes, download from Connectus ..104
G-3D scenes, import .................................103
get layout from Connectus ........................226
GPI, software GPI trigger ..........................213
graphics
H
headers (Table Editor)
set display options ...................................86
Headers tab, in Table Editor ........................86
Hide action (Salvos)
apply to Salvo item ................................202
set transition ..........................................205
Hide All (manual) .......................................197
Hide All (Salvos) ........................................206
Hide button (manual) .................................197
hide data ....................................................178
hotkey trigger
trigger Salvo output ...............................215
hours, for digital timers ................................70
HTTP/FTP File Browsing
Image Editor ......................................40, 46
I
i (italics), text formatting .............................107
IconStation interface ....................................14
IconStation Offline .....................................186
IconStation-Preview application ..................19
IconStation-Program application .................19
Image Editor ................................................39
image items
data tags ................................................149
output external data ...............................150
images .........................................................39
add log note .............................................48
adjust transparency .................................42
File option ................................................40
Play from Data Source option .................44
Play from Folder option ...........................42
scale ............................................42, 43, 48
supported file formats ..............................28
update automatically ...............................42
import animation frames ..............................60
import layouts ..............................................20
import templates ..........................................21
in point (video clip) .......................................95
independent bugs ........................................39
indicators (output) ......................................186
BYPASS ................................................186
BYPASS indicator .................................186
ON AIR ..................................................186
SETUP ..................................................186
interface .......................................................14
236
Index
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 237 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Internet File Browser dialog .................. 40, 46
invert field dominance, video clips .............. 98
invert mask ................................................ 110
item
alpha mask ............................................ 109
Item Duration .................................... 154, 192
Item Duration option .................................. 188
enable onscreen data updates .............. 190
item transitions ...................................... 191
show all data ......................................... 191
Item Transitions option .............................. 188
items
add background layer ........................... 113
add to Salvo .......................................... 201
analog clocks .......................................... 74
animations ............................................... 58
audio ..................................................... 128
automatically log output ........................ 112
change layer order ................................ 113
crawls ...................................................... 50
delete .................................................... 113
digital clocks ............................................ 65
digital timers ............................................ 69
images .................................................... 39
link to database ..................................... 166
link to RSS/XML feed ............................ 170
live audio ............................................... 126
live video ................................................. 90
lock in workspace .................................... 26
lock/unlock ............................................ 112
loop playback ........................................ 187
move item box ....................................... 112
output external data .............................. 150
preview in workspace ............................ 112
preview on preview screen .................... 194
resize item box ...................................... 111
rolls .......................................................... 55
RTXport ................................................. 100
scale item box ....................................... 111
set color background ............................. 108
temperature ............................................. 78
title tables ................................................ 85
TitleMotion GS ...................................... 102
titles ......................................................... 81
trigger salvo with item ........................... 211
K
Keep Logs ................................................. 218
keypad
trigger Salvo .......................................... 215
Kill action (Salvo item) ............................... 203
Kill All (Salvos) .......................................... 206
Kill All button (manual) .............................. 198
Kill button (manual) ................................... 198
L
last access time ......................................... 184
Layout Category dialog ............................. 140
Layout Expiry Date dialog ......................... 145
layouts ......................................................... 32
add background .................................... 113
approve for distribution .......................... 226
categories .............................................. 140
change default saved location ................. 24
download from Connectus .................... 226
expire .................................................... 145
lock editing (mode) .................................. 19
loop item playback ................................ 187
open ........................................................ 20
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Index
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
237
IconStationManual.book Page 238 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
preview item content .............................112
publish to Connectus .............................225
remove category ....................................141
rename ....................................................25
start new layout .......................................32
transfer to Connectus ............................225
use categories .......................................140
use templates ........................................142
LCD Control
output the Salvo ....................................215
leading zeros (digital clocks) .......................66
leading zeros (digital timers) ........................70
Leading, text formatting .............................108
Left Alignment (text) ..................................107
Left Position, text .......................................108
linear text files ...........................................155
create ....................................................156
link data tags to database .................166, 173
live audio ...................................................126
Live Audio Editor .......................................126
live video .....................................................90
add log note .............................................92
audio options .........................................132
crop viewable area ..................................91
DVE (manual output) .............................195
DVE (Salvos) .........................................204
select audio source .................................91
select video source ..................................91
set live video options ...............................91
Start Fullscreen option ............................91
Live Video Editor .........................................90
Load last layout on startup ..........................21
Local File Browsing (images) ................40, 46
Local Source option ...................................183
lock
item content ...........................................112
item position ..........................................112
layout editing (mode) ...............................19
live video aspect ratio ..............................91
lock items in workspace ...............................26
log note
for analog clocks .....................................76
for animations ..........................................63
for crawls .................................................52
for digital clocks .......................................68
for digital timers .......................................72
for images ................................................48
for live video ............................................92
for rolls .....................................................56
for temperature ........................................79
for title ................................................82, 87
for video clips ..........................................98
log output ...................................................218
automatically log item ............................112
change default settings .........................218
log layout items .....................................218
view log file ............................................218
Log This Item .............................................112
logos
loop
add delay between loops .......................208
animations ...............................................63
audio ......................................................125
crawls ......................................................53
rolls ..........................................................57
Salvos ....................................................207
title item ...................................................82
trigger salvo when item loops ................213
video clips ................................................99
Lower GPI Output (Salvos) ........................207
M
machine name ...........................................179
manage layouts .........................................140
manage Salvos ..........................................216
manual output ............................................193
branding bypass ....................................198
bypass on/off .........................................198
Hide action ............................................197
238
Index
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 239 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Hide All action ....................................... 197
Kill output .............................................. 198
play digital timers .......................... 196, 197
select transitions ................................... 194
set-up items .......................................... 193
stop output (Kill buttons) ....................... 198
take items off air .................................... 197
video bypass ......................................... 198
manually enter temperature ........................ 79
master control branding .............................. 19
Middle Position (text) ................................ 108
minutes, for digital timers ............................ 70
mode of operation ....................................... 19
move
image in item box .................................... 42
item box ................................................ 112
Move to Layout option ............................... 183
MS Access database, create .................... 159
MS Excel database, create ....................... 160
multiple data sources ................................ 169
multiple lines of text (titles) .......................... 82
N
name
item ....................................................... 111
Salvos ................................................... 216
Network Manager
data access ........................................... 167
Network Source option .............................. 183
new layout ................................................... 32
numerical separator .................................. 177
O
ODBC data source .................................... 159
add data to system list .......................... 162
create Excel database ........................... 160
ODBC system list ...................................... 162
OEM character set .................................... 168
offline, IconStation product ........................ 186
offset temperature display ........................... 79
Offset Time, analog clocks .......................... 76
Offset Time, digital clocks ........................... 66
On Event When checkbox ......................... 213
opacity
adjust for analog clocks ........................... 76
adjust for animations ............................... 63
adjust for images ..................................... 42
alpha mask ............................................ 109
text backgrounds ................................... 108
text formatting ....................................... 107
open
Data Source Wizard .............................. 165
IconStation .............................................. 19
import layout option ................................. 20
Salvos ................................................... 200
templates ............................................... 142
operator mode ............................................. 19
out point (video clip) .................................... 95
output ........................................................ 186
action events (Salvos) ........................... 205
actions (Salvos) ..................................... 202
and mode of operation .......................... 186
assign salvo to item ............................... 211
automatically log item ............................ 112
branding bypass (manual) ..................... 198
branding bypass (Salvo) ....................... 206
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Index
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
239
IconStationManual.book Page 240 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
BRANDNET indicator ............................186
BYPASS indicator .................................186
bypass items (manual) ..........................198
bypass items (Salvo) .............................206
create Salvo ..........................................201
Delay action event (Salvo) ....................206
digital timers (Salvo) ..............................203
digital timers manually ...................196, 197
display all data once ..............................151
DVE (Salvos) .........................................204
GPI/hotkey/keypad ................................200
Hide action (Salvos) ..............................202
Hide All (Salvos) ....................................206
Hide buttons (manual) ...........................197
indicators ...............................................186
item output options ................................187
items (manual) .......................................194
items (Salvos) ........................................201
items output external data .....................150
Kill action (GPI) .....................................203
Kill All (Salvos) ......................................206
Kill buttons (manual) ..............................198
log output ...............................................218
loop playback ........................................187
loop title item ...........................................82
Lower GPI .............................................207
Manual ...................................................193
manually pause/resume playback .........197
ON AIR indicator ...................................186
open Salvos ...........................................200
pause/resume crawls (Salvos) ..............204
pause/resume rolls (Salvos) ..................204
preview on preview screen ....................194
Pulse GPI ..............................................206
Raise GPI ..............................................206
roll characters on separate lines .............56
Salvos with trigger .................................200
select transitions (manual) ....................194
set transitions (Salvo) ....................205, 207
Setup action (Salvos) ............................203
Setup All (Salvos) ..................................206
Setup buttons (manual) .........................193
set-up items manually ...........................193
Show action (Salvos) .............................202
Show All (Salvos) ..................................205
Show All Setup (Salvos) ........................205
Show buttons (manual) .........................194
squeeze DVE (manual) .........................195
squeeze DVE (Salvo) ............................204
start new Salvo ......................................200
stop (Kill button) ....................................198
take items off air (manual) .....................197
the Salvo ...............................................215
Toggle Show/Kill action (Salvos) ...........203
trigger salvo with item ............................211
video bypass (manual) ..........................198
video bypass (Salvo) .............................206
overlay logos
P
Padding, Table Editor ..................................87
page layouts
password, Editor mode ................................19
password, internet images .....................40, 46
Pause button (rolls/crawls) ........................197
PC Clock as timecode .................................67
Photoshop analog clock ..............................75
Photoshop, analog clock .............................75
Play button (manual timer) ........................196
Play button (rolls/crawls) ...........................197
Play from Data Source option
animations ...............................................61
images .....................................................44
video clips ................................................97
Play from Folder option
animations ...............................................60
images .....................................................42
video clips ................................................96
240
Index
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 241 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Play Once checkbox ........... 53, 57, 63, 82, 99
playback
player
data access ........................................... 167
Pos X, Y (item box) ................................... 112
position
analog clocks .......................................... 76
image in item box .................................... 42
item box ................................................ 112
Position Left (images) ................................. 42
Position Top (images) ................................. 42
Position, text formatting ............................ 108
prefix, date/time ........................................ 176
prefix, for digital clocks ................................ 67
presentation style ...................................... 176
preview
animation in Editor .................................. 59
items on preview screen ....................... 194
video clips ............................................... 94
Preview (Control window) ......................... 194
Preview All (Control window) .................... 194
probe
project (see layouts) .................................... 32
PSD, analog clock ....................................... 75
Publish Data Source options ..................... 183
publish layout to Connectus ...................... 225
publish layout to Versio/AMP ...................... 24
Pulse GPI Output (Salvos) ........................ 206
R
Raise GPI Output (Salvos) ........................ 206
refine range & style ................................... 178
color data fields ..................................... 179
remove
category from layout .............................. 141
data tags from title item ......................... 148
expiry date from layout .......................... 145
items ...................................................... 113
Salvo instruction .................................... 211
text line in Title Editor .............................. 82
rename
item ....................................................... 111
Salvos ................................................... 216
rename layouts ............................................ 25
render VIA file .............................................. 60
reorder
Salvo instructions .................................. 211
repeat item playback ................................. 187
Reset action (Salvo timer) ......................... 203
Reset button (manual timer) ...................... 196
resize
analog clocks .......................................... 76
animations ............................................... 63
images ......................................... 42, 43, 48
item box ................................................. 111
Restart action (Salvo timer) ....................... 203
Restart button (manual timer) .................... 196
Right Alignment (text) ................................ 107
Roll Editor .................................................... 55
roll items
data tags ............................................... 148
Roll Offscreen option ................................... 57
rolls .............................................................. 55
add delay between loops ...................... 208
create database text file ........................ 156
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Index
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
241
IconStationManual.book Page 242 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
create linear text file ..............................156
data tags ................................................148
formatting text ........................................106
loop roll options .......................................57
output external data ...............................150
pause/resume output (Salvos) ..............204
pause/resume playback ........................197
set external data source options .............57
set external data transition ....................153
Show All New Data ................................151
show each character on a separate line ..56
Row Formatting tab .....................................87
rows, set display options .............................87
RSS ...........................................................170
select data elements .............................171
user ID and password ...........................170
RTX, link to RTXport .................................100
RTXports ...................................................100
add to layout ..........................................100
Digital Clock RTXports ..........................101
S
safe title area ...............................................26
Salvos ........................................................200
add action events ..................................205
add item .................................................201
apply action to items ..............................202
copy .......................................................216
create ....................................................201
delete .....................................................216
edit .........................................................216
loop ........................................................207
manage .................................................216
open ......................................................200
output ....................................................215
remove instruction .................................211
rename ..................................................216
reorder instructions ................................211
save .......................................................215
start new Salvo ......................................200
trigger with item .....................................211
update instructions ................................211
save
change default save location ...................24
copy of layout ..........................................22
layout as template ...................................22
layout to CD .......................................23, 25
layout to new folder .................................22
Salvos ....................................................215
scale
analog clock size .....................................76
images .........................................42, 43, 48
item box .................................................111
Scale checkbox
in Analog Clock Editor .............................76
in Animation Editor ..................................63
select
hardware (live video) ...............................91
mode of operation ...................................19
transitions (manual) ...............................194
transitions (Salvo) ..................................205
separator
for digital clocks .......................................67
separators
set (digital timers) ....................................70
set
clock display options ...............................66
crawl direction .........................................52
crawl speed .............................................52
layout properties ......................................32
roll direction .............................................56
roll speed .................................................56
timecode source ......................................67
VGA aspect ratio .....................................27
set first row as the column headers ...........168
Setup action (Salvo) ..................................203
Setup All (Salvos) ......................................206
SETUP indicator ........................................186
Shadow, text formatting .............................108
show
242
Index
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 243 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
Show action (Salvo) .................................. 202
Show action, transition .............................. 205
Show All (Salvos) ...................................... 205
Show All button ......................................... 194
Show All New Data ................................... 151
Show All New Data At Least Once ....... 53, 57
Show All New Data at Least Once option . 188
Show All Setup (Salvos) ........................... 205
Show button (manual) ............................... 194
show data .................................................. 178
show last known data ................................ 183
Show Leading Zeros ................................... 66
Show One Character Per Line (rolls) .......... 56
Show Prefix, digital clocks .......................... 67
Show Seconds, digital clocks ...................... 66
Show Selected Columns ........................... 174
Show Suffix, digital clocks ........................... 67
Show Time, digital clocks ............................ 66
size
analog clock ............................................ 76
animations ............................................... 63
item box ................................................ 111
text formatting ....................................... 107
Size Text to Fit, text formatting ................. 107
software GPIs
trigger .................................................... 213
sort data .................................................... 181
Source list, Live Video Editor ...................... 91
Space Below Header option ....................... 86
speed
adjust for crawls ...................................... 52
adjust for rolls .......................................... 56
SQL
external keys ......................................... 175
filter data ............................................... 178
last access time .................................... 184
manually enter conditions ..................... 180
control with trigger (Salvo) .................... 204
start
IconStation .............................................. 19
new Salvo .............................................. 200
playback (manual) ................................. 194
playback (Salvos) .................................. 202
Start action (Salvo timer) ........................... 203
Start Fullscreen option .............................. 187
live video ................................................. 91
Start On Screen option ................................ 53
Startup Setting tab ....................................... 21
Stop action (Salvo timer) ........................... 203
Stop button (manual timer) ........................ 196
stop output (Kill action) .............................. 203
stop output (Kill buttons) ............................ 198
suffix (Data Source Wizard) ...................... 176
suffix, for digital clocks ................................ 67
support ...................................................... 248
supported file formats .................................. 28
system DSN .............................................. 167
System DSN tab ........................................ 162
T
TAB delimiter in text files ........................... 156
Table Editor ................................................. 85
Headers tab ............................................. 86
Row Formatting tab ................................. 87
table items
formatting text ....................................... 106
set header display options ...................... 86
set row display options ............................ 87
technical support ....................................... 248
temperature ................................................. 78
formatting text ....................................... 106
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Index
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
243
IconStationManual.book Page 244 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
use probe reading ...................................79
Temperature Editor .....................................78
templates ...................................................142
create ....................................................142
delete .....................................................144
edit .........................................................143
export ......................................................23
import ......................................................21
open ......................................................142
save layout as template ...........................22
text
as external data .....................................155
custom formatting ..................................106
delete line in Title Editor ..........................82
enter in Title Editor ..................................82
enter lines in Title Editor ..........................82
text file
separating into columns ........................167
text files .....................................................155
add to Data Source Wizard ...................166
create ....................................................156
create database text file ........................156
create linear text file ..............................156
database text files .................................155
handle with ODBC driver .......................167
handle without ODBC driver ..................169
linear text files .......................................155
multiple data sources ............................169
use as data source ................................155
use TAB delimiter ..................................156
text formatting ............................................106
formatting options ..................................106
thumbnail, set for animation ........................60
time
analog clocks ...........................................74
digital clocks ............................................66
show prefix ..............................................67
show suffix ...............................................67
Timecode option ..........................................67
timecode source, set ...................................67
timers
control with manual output ....................196
Format options ........................................70
formatting text ........................................106
hours, minutes, seconds .........................70
output manually .............................196, 197
separators ...............................................70
set count options .....................................70
set display options ...................................70
set leading zeros .....................................70
trigger output .........................................203
Title Editor ...................................................81
title table items
Show All New Data ................................151
title tables ....................................................85
add content ..............................................86
add delay between loops .......................208
add log note .............................................87
create database text file ........................156
create linear text file ..............................156
data tags ........................................148, 149
external data source options ...................88
formatting text ........................................106
Item Duration option ......................154, 192
output external data ...............................150
set column width ......................................87
set external data transitions ..................153
set header display options .......................86
set row display options ............................87
TitleMotion GS ...........................................102
add content ............................................103
Connectus integration ...........................227
import G3D files .....................................103
titles .............................................................81
add delay between loops .......................208
add log note .............................................82
add text ....................................................82
create database text file ........................156
create linear text file ..............................156
data tags ................................................148
244
Index
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 245 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
enter text in editor ................................... 82
external data source options ................... 83
format text ............................................. 106
Item Duration option ...................... 154, 192
loop ......................................................... 82
output external data .............................. 150
remove text lines ..................................... 82
set external data transitions .................. 153
Show All New Data ............................... 151
Toggle Show/Kill action ............................. 203
Top Position (text) ..................................... 108
Top Position, text formatting ..................... 108
Tracking, text formatting ........................... 107
transitions
crawls .................................................... 152
for action events in Salvo ...................... 207
for external crawl data ............................. 53
for external roll data ................................ 57
for manual output .................................. 194
for referenced images ....................... 44, 48
for Salvo item action ............................. 205
options in Editors .................................. 191
rolls ....................................................... 152
transparency
adjust for analog clock ............................ 76
adjust for animations ............................... 63
adjust for images ..................................... 42
item background ................................... 108
trigger
Salvo output .......................................... 215
trigger hardware (GPI) .............................. 206
trigger output ............................................. 200
add action event to Salvo ...................... 205
add actions to Salvo items .................... 202
add items to Salvo ................................ 201
control digital timers .............................. 203
create Salvo .......................................... 201
transition for action event ...................... 207
trigger Salvo .......................................... 215
update output instruction ....................... 211
video bypass ......................................... 206
trim video clip .............................................. 95
troubleshooting .......................................... 248
U
U (underline), text formatting ..................... 107
unlock
update database ........................................ 182
update, image automatically ........................ 42
Use Device, temperature ............................. 79
user DSN ................................................... 167
User DSN tab ............................................ 162
V
Versio, publish layout to .............................. 24
VGA Aspect Ratio ....................................... 27
VIA animations ............................................ 60
video (live) ................................................... 90
audio options ......................................... 132
crop viewable area .................................. 91
DVE (manual output) ............................. 195
DVE (Salvos) ......................................... 204
Start Fullscreen option ............................ 91
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Index
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
245
IconStationManual.book Page 246 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
video clips ....................................................93
add log note .............................................98
crop viewable area ..................................95
data tags ................................................149
DVE (manual output) .............................195
DVE (Salvos) .........................................204
File option ................................................94
invert field dominance .............................98
loop video clips ........................................99
output external data ...............................151
Play from Data Source option .................97
Play from Folder option ...........................96
preview clip ..............................................94
set audio ................................................135
supported file formats ..............................29
trim clip ....................................................95
Video Device (live video) .............................91
view
Item attributes ........................................111
item in workspace ..................................112
item size and position ............................111
log file ....................................................218
W
Width, Edge (text) ......................................108
Width, text formatting .................................107
workspace
lock/unlock items ...................................112
move item box .......................................112
preview item content .............................112
size item box .........................................111
Wrap Text, text formatting .........................107
X
XML ...........................................................170
select data elements .............................171
user ID and password ...........................170
XML/RSS data feed
data tags ................................................148
246
Index
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
© 2014 Imagine Communications
IconStationManual.book Page 247 Wednesday, July 23, 2014 11:09 AM
© 2014 Imagine Communications
Index
I c o n Sta t i o n O f f l i n e 2 . 4 U s e r G u i d e
247
Herunterladen
Werbung