Teradata Server Management Web Services Server Management User Guide
Below you will find brief information for Teradata Server Management Web Services. This user guide provides comprehensive details on managing Teradata server components centrally. It covers aspects such as accessing SMWeb applications, utilizing SMClient for network communication and command execution, monitoring events and alerts, and managing cabinet windows. You'll also learn about viewing component properties, connecting to system components using various methods, and performing essential servicing procedures like FRU replacement, firmware flashing, and power management. Furthermore, the document details the Command Line Interface (CLI) for advanced control.
Advertisement
Advertisement
Teradata Server Management Web Services
User Guide
Release 11.02
B035-5350-034K
March 2014
The product or products described in this book are licensed products of Teradata Corporation or its affiliates.
Teradata, Active Data Warehousing, Active Enterprise Intelligence, Applications-Within, Aprimo Marketing Studio, Aster, BYNET,
Claraview, DecisionCast, Gridscale, MyCommerce, SQL-MapReduce, Teradata Decision Experts, "Teradata Labs" logo, Teradata
ServiceConnect, Teradata Source Experts, WebAnalyst, and Xkoto are trademarks or registered trademarks of Teradata Corporation or its affiliates in the United States and other countries.
Adaptec and SCSISelect are trademarks or registered trademarks of Adaptec, Inc.
AMD Opteron and Opteron are trademarks of Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
Apache, Apache Hadoop, Hadoop, and the yellow elephant logo are either registered trademarks or trademarks of the Apache Software
Foundation in the United States and/or other countries.
Apple, Mac, and OS X all are registered trademarks of Apple Inc.
Axeda is a registered trademark of Axeda Corporation. Axeda Agents, Axeda Applications, Axeda Policy Manager, Axeda Enterprise, Axeda
Access, Axeda Software Management, Axeda Service, Axeda ServiceLink, and Firewall-Friendly are trademarks and Maximum Results and
Maximum Support are servicemarks of Axeda Corporation.
Data Domain, EMC, PowerPath, SRDF, and Symmetrix are registered trademarks of EMC Corporation.
GoldenGate is a trademark of Oracle.
Hewlett-Packard and HP are registered trademarks of Hewlett-Packard Company.
Hortonworks, the Hortonworks logo and other Hortonworks trademarks are trademarks of Hortonworks Inc. in the United States and other countries.
Intel, Pentium, and XEON are registered trademarks of Intel Corporation.
IBM, CICS, RACF, Tivoli, and z/OS are registered trademarks of International Business Machines Corporation.
Linux is a registered trademark of Linus Torvalds.
LSI is a registered trademark of LSI Corporation.
Microsoft, Active Directory, Windows, Windows NT, and Windows Server are registered trademarks of Microsoft Corporation in the United
States and other countries.
NetVault is a trademark or registered trademark of Dell Inc. in the United States and/or other countries.
Novell and SUSE are registered trademarks of Novell, Inc., in the United States and other countries.
Oracle, Java, and Solaris are registered trademarks of Oracle and/or its affiliates.
QLogic and SANbox are trademarks or registered trademarks of QLogic Corporation.
Quantum and the Quantum logo are trademarks of Quantum Corporation, registered in the U.S.A. and other countries.
Red Hat is a trademark of Red Hat, Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. Used under license.
SAS and SAS/C are trademarks or registered trademarks of SAS Institute Inc.
SPARC is a registered trademark of SPARC International, Inc.
Symantec, NetBackup, and VERITAS are trademarks or registered trademarks of Symantec Corporation or its affiliates in the United States and other countries.
Unicode is a registered trademark of Unicode, Inc. in the United States and other countries.
UNIX is a registered trademark of The Open Group in the United States and other countries.
Other product and company names mentioned herein may be the trademarks of their respective owners.
The information contained in this document is provided on an "as-is" basis, without warranty of any kind, either express or implied, including the implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, or non-infringement.
Some jurisdictions do not allow the exclusion of implied warranties, so the above exclusion may not apply to you. In no event will Teradata Corporation be liable for any indirect, direct, special, incidental, or consequential damages, including lost profits or lost savings, even if expressly advised of the possibility of such damages.
The information contained in this document may contain references or cross-references to features, functions, products, or services that are not announced or available in your country. Such references do not imply that Teradata Corporation intends to announce such features, functions, products, or services in your country. Please consult your local Teradata Corporation representative for those features, functions, products, or services available in your country.
Information contained in this document may contain technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Information may be changed or updated without notice. Teradata Corporation may also make improvements or changes in the products or services described in this information at any time without notice.
To maintain the quality of our products and services, we would like your comments on the accuracy, clarity, organization, and value of this document. Please e-mail: [email protected]
Any comments or materials (collectively referred to as "Feedback") sent to Teradata Corporation will be deemed non-confidential. Teradata
Corporation will have no obligation of any kind with respect to Feedback and will be free to use, reproduce, disclose, exhibit, display, transform, create derivative works of, and distribute the Feedback and derivative works thereof without limitation on a royalty-free basis.
Further, Teradata Corporation will be free to use any ideas, concepts, know-how, or techniques contained in such Feedback for any purpose whatsoever, including developing, manufacturing, or marketing products or services incorporating Feedback.
Copyright
©
2009 - 2014 by Teradata. All Rights Reserved.
Table of Contents
Preface
Chapter 1:
Working with SMWeb
Chapter 2:
Working with SMClient
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
3
Table of Contents
Chapter 3:
Working with Events and Alerts
...........................................................................................31
Chapter 4:
Managing Cabinet Windows
4 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Table of Contents
Chapter 5:
Managing Component Information
..............................................................................................57
Chapter 6:
Connecting to System Components
............................................................................................ 75
Chapter 7:
Servicing Procedures
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
5
Table of Contents
6 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Table of Contents
Chapter 8:
Command Line Interface
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
7
Table of Contents
8 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Table of Contents
Chapter 9:
Data Types
Appendix A:
Server Management Portlet
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
9
Table of Contents
10 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Preface
Revision History
Date
March
2014
Release Description
11.02
• Interface changes
• New Plug Ins
For information on all the changes in Release 11.02, see the release notes in the root directory of the sm_sw.xx.xx.xx.xx.zip archive. The notes file is named sm-sw.xx.xx.xx.xx.txt.
Audience
This guide is intended for use by:
• Server Management Web Services users
• System administrators
• Teradata Customer Support
Product Safety Information
This document may contain information addressing product safety practices related to data or property damage, identified by the word Notice. A notice indicates a situation which, if not avoided, could result in damage to property, such as equipment or data, but not related to personal injury.
Example
Notice:
Improper use of the Reconfiguration utility can result in data loss.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
11
Preface
Product Safety Information
12 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
CHAPTER 1
Working with SMWeb
About SMWeb
Teradata Server Management Web Services (SMWeb) provides the ability to monitor and administer components managed within a single Server Management network, that is, the
Server Management domain, as well as the individual systems within. A system is a group of nodes, associated storage, and other hardware used to host an instance of the Teradata
Database, an Aster Database cluster, or a Hadoop Distributed File system cluster.
SMWeb is designed for use by a customer’s on-site staff members, Teradata Services Analysts in the Global Support Center (GSC), and Teradata Customer Service Representatives.
SMWeb consolidates the functionality for Server Management Client (SMClient), CMIC
Web pages, Command Line Interface (CLI) utilities, security, and other features on one
Home page. SMWeb interfaces display the information provided by Server Management.
Server Management consists of the Server Management chassis (CMIC) hardware and software (including SMWeb), and networking components that support server management operation.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
13
Chapter 1 Working with SMWeb
Accessing the SMWeb Home Page
Table 1: Options on the SMWeb Home Page
Option
Server Management Client
Functionality
Monitor status, display events, and perform commands from a single operational view of the system.
Command Line Interface for
Windows Clients
Command Line Interface for
Linux Clients
Save and Restore
Users and Groups
Download remote command line interface utilities for Windows clients.
Download remote command line interface utilities for Linux clients.
Download, upload, and view configuration files.
Manage user and group security levels.
Network, Devices, and CMICs Configure the Server Management network and device management.
External Connections
Configure settings for communication between Server
Management and the service workstation (TVI) and the Viewpoint server (for Viewpoint alerting).
Online help is available within each SMWeb option. In addition, the Help option on the
Home page provides links to each online help system.
Accessing the SMWeb Home Page
One CMIC in a system is designated as the single operational view (SOV) CMIC.
The home page hosted by the SOV CMIC has enabled links that allow for management of a system. Throughout these topics, SMWeb Home page is used to denote the web page of the
SOV-enabled CMIC.
Access to the SMWeb Home page, and the web pages of non SOV-enabled CMICs, is through the customer LAN or the Server Management LAN. The Server Management LANs are a pair of redundant network connections between the CMICs and the monitored/managed chassis in the Server Management domain. The SWS workstation also has access to the Server
Management LANs, and the SMWeb can be accessed from the SWS over this connection.
Teradata Services uses the SWS for service operations. The level of service depends on the service agreement between Teradata and the customer.
All users can access the SMWeb Home page; however, the applications and web pages require specific access privileges.
Navigating to the SMWeb Home Page
1
To navigate to the SMWeb Home page, do one of the following:
14 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 1 Working with SMWeb
Navigating to the SMWeb Home Page from a Non-SOV-Enabled CMIC
Option
Non-Secure
Protocol
Secure
Protocol
Description
• From a browser, in the Address box, type the following: http://
hostname or IP address of SOV-enabled CMIC:9980/CWA/ home.asp
.
Tip: If you type an IPV6 address, it must be surrounded by brackets [ ].
• From a browser, in the Address box, type the following: https://
hostname or IP address of SOV-enabled CMIC:9981/CWA/ home.asp
.
Tip: If you type an IPV6 address, it must be surrounded by brackets [ ].
Navigating to the SMWeb Home Page from a Non-
SOV-Enabled CMIC
If you access the Home page of a CMIC that is non-SOV-enabled, most web applications and pages are unavailable because the CMIC is not configured to run the single operational view.
Use the following procedure to locate an SOV CMIC.
1
From the web page whose web applications and pages are unavailable, select Networks,
Devices, and CMICs.
Note: Only Service Users can access the Networks, Devices, and CMICs page.
2
In the Functionalities Hosted column, click SOV.
The SMWeb Home page appears.
Accessing SMWeb Applications
1
2
From the SMWeb Home page, click any of the following options:
• Server Management Client
• Command Line Interface for Windows Clients
• Command Line Interface for Linux Clients
• Save and Restore
• Users and Groups
• Network, Devices, and CMICs
• External Connections
If prompted, log on with your username and password.
SMWeb Application Permissions
Although all users can access the SMWeb Home page, the applications and web pages require specific access privileges. These access privileges are based on membership in Users and Groups. Members of each group (that is, Users, Enhanced Users, and Service Users)
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
15
Chapter 1 Working with SMWeb
Dependencies have a specific login and password; however, when accessing SMWeb applications from the
SWS over the Server Management LAN (between the SWS and the SOV CMIC), users have access to all applications and web pages.
For more information about users and groups, see the Teradata Server Management Web
Services Configuration Guide, B035-5351, or Users and Groups online help.
Application or Web Page
SMClient
Command Line Interface for Windows Clients
Command Line Interface for Linux Clients
Save and Restore
Browser and Server Management Clients –
Requirements
Users and Groups
Network, Devices, and CMICs
External Connections
User Membership(s) Required
Users, Enhanced Users, or Service Users
Users, Enhanced Users, or Service Users
Users, Enhanced Users, or Service Users
Service Users
Any user
Service Users
Service Users
Service Users
Dependencies
SMWeb has several key dependencies. Browser, hardware, and software requirements are available on the SMWeb Services help page.
For information about available system configurations, see the Product and Site Preparation
Guide for your platform.
Hardware Requirements
To run SMClient and CLI, the following minimum hardware requirements must be met:
• 1.4 MHz CPU or greater
• 1 GB RAM
• 200 MB hard drive space (for software prerequisites and caching application files)
Web Browser Requirements
SMWeb is certified with the following web browsers.
Web Browser
Windows Internet
Explorer (IE)
Mozilla Firefox
Requirements
• Version must be 8.0 or greater
• CMIC must be added to IE’s list of trusted sites
• JavaScript must be enabled
• ActiveX Controls must be enabled to be run and scripted
• Version must be 10.0 or greater
• JavaScript must be enabled
16 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 1 Working with SMWeb
Upgrade and Migration
Software Requirements
To run SMClient, and the CLI utilities, Java Runtime Environment (64-bit J2SE JRE) 7.0 or greater is required.
Note: If SMWeb Help is not displaying correctly in IE, display it in Compatibility View. In
IE, select Tools > Compatibility View Settings, then select Display all websites in
Compatibility View.
Upgrade and Migration
All SMWeb systems must be updated to the most recent version of SMWeb 9.x or 10.x before they can be upgraded to version 11.02.
See the Teradata Server Management Web Services Configuration Guide, B035-5351, for additional information.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
17
Chapter 1 Working with SMWeb
Upgrade and Migration
18 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
CHAPTER 2
Working with SMClient
Functions of SMClient
During a process called discovery, SMClient discovers each CMIC. Each CMIC discovers the configuration and status information of the cabinets and chassis in its collective and send the information to SMClient. Discovery also occurs when the system configuration changes, such as when a new cabinet or chassis is added.
After the discovery process completes, the information displays in SMClient. SMClient can then be used to configure, monitor, administer, service, and maintain the system. Events are also reported and displayed in SMClient. These events can include device and operating system errors, configuration and operational state changes, and system alert summaries.
Network Communication
All communication between the CMICs and the system takes place through two dedicated fully redundant Server Management networks: the primary and secondary Ethernet networks.
User Directories
By default, SMClient data is saved as follows:
• Windows –
\Documents and Settings\username\sm_client\host
• Linux –
username/sm_client/host
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
19
Chapter 2 Working with SMClient
Working with the SMClient Toolbar
Working with the SMClient Toolbar
The SMClient Toolbar acts as a framework for the most frequent commands that are used for a specific component that you select in the Tree View. Every command is also available from the SMClient menu bar. Your user group membership determines which commands are available to you.
Example: System Toolbar Commands
Example: CMIC Toolbar Commands
Working with SMClient Commands
SMClient commands are available from the menu bar, the toolbar, in pop-up menus, and as
Command Line Interface (CLI) utilities. Your user group membership determines which commands are available to you.
SMClient Menus
SMClient Menu
File
View
Functions
Event Mgmt
Configuration
Tools
Help
Contains Commands to
Exit the program
Work with components displayed in the Tree View
Administrator the system and perform troubleshooting, servicing, and maintenance
Monitor the system and respond to events and faults
Configure system components
Diagnose problems, connect to components, and other utilities
Find information about the application
20 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 2 Working with SMClient
Access to SMClient Commands
Pop-Up Menus
Pop-up menus contain the more frequently used commands for the selected components.
When you select one or more components from the Tree View, one or more cabinet icons in a Cabinet window, or one or more rows in some viewers, such as the Event Viewer, rightclick to display a pop-up menu.
• When you select a single component or row, the pop-up menu contains the most frequently used commands for that component or row.
• When you select multiple components or rows, the pop-up menu contains only frequently used commands that can be performed on all the selected components or rows.
Access to SMClient Commands
Access to SMClient commands is determined by your user group membership. SMClient has a default set of user groups:
• Users have read-only access to the system; users can view, but not change, information.
• Enhanced Users are the same as Users, except they are allowed to run FRU replace procedures.
• Service Users have access to all the tools and commands in SMClient as well as access to the network, devices, and CMICs.
Table 2: User Access to SMClient Commands
SMClient Menu
File
View
Functions
Event Mgmt
Configuration
Tools
Help
Commands Available to Users by Default
All commands
All commands
No commands
All commands except:
Alert Escalation Test
No commands
All commands except:
Asset Baseline
Client Connections Window
Note: By default, from the Multi Select window, users can run only the commands listed in this table.
All commands
Table 3: User Access to Commands on Other Menus
SMClient Command Commands Available to Users by Default
Event Viewer
All commands
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
21
Chapter 2 Working with SMClient
Access to SMClient Commands
SMClient Command Commands Available to Users by Default
Summary Alert Viewer All commands except:
Functions > Clear Summary Alert
All commands
Cabinet Window
Firmware Version
Checker
Asset Info
Asset History
All commands except:
Functions > Flash
All commands
All commands
Measurement Info
All commands
Measurement History All commands
Battery Date
Information
All commands except:
Functions > Select All
Functions > Set Battery Date
Help
All commands
Issuing a Command on Multiple Components
With the Multi Select feature, you can select multiple components and issue common commands for them instead of selecting individual components from the Tree View.
1
2
Do one of the following to open the Multi Select window:
• Select Tools > Multi Select.
• From the toolbar, click Multi Select.
Select from the following options:
Option Description
Filter by system Issues a command for selected components in one or more selected systems.
When you select this check box, you must select one or more systems to run the function across the selected components. When the check box is cleared, the function is run across the selected components for the entire Server
Management domain.
Select the type
Lists components that can be selected as a group. Only the components installed in the system are listed.
Tip: If you select only a Type, the command is issued on all sub types listed in
Select the sub type.
Note: Firmware on UPS adapters and UPSs cannot be flashed at the same time. Select and flash UPS adapters first, then select and flash UPSs.
Select the sub type
Lists component sub types, if applicable, that can be selected.
22 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 2 Working with SMClient
Tree View
Option
Select the
OERole
Select the collectives
Select the cabinets
Description
Lists component OE Roles, if applicable, that can be selected.
• All collectives: Issues a command for the selected components in all collectives.
• Individual collectives and/or ranges (e.g. 1,3,5-12): Issues a command for the selected components in one or more collectives. Enter one or more component numbers or a range of numbers. If you enter more than one number or range, separate them by commas, with no spaces.
• All cabinets: Issues a command for the selected components in all cabinets.
• Individual cabinets and/or ranges (e.g. 1,3,5-12): Issues a command for the selected components in one or more cabinets. Enter one or more component numbers or a range of numbers. If you enter more than one number or range, separate them by commas, with no spaces.
Lists the commands that can be executed on the selected components.
3
Select the function
Click Run.
Tree View
The SMClient Tree View displays system components in a hierarchical directory structure.
The Tree View begins at the system level and branches downward to the subcomponent level.
When you start SMClient, it builds the Tree View.
The cabinets, chassis, chassis components, and VMs displayed in the Tree View depend on your system configuration.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
23
Chapter 2 Working with SMClient
Tree View
24
System
Collective
Cabinet
Chassis
A system is one or more collectives, each containing one or more cabinets of managed chassis on the Server Management network, managed by multiple CMICs and represented by a single server active designed SOV CMIC. The collective is the highest level of organization in the Tree View.
A collective is one or more cabinets having or sharing at least one
CMIC. Each collective can contain one or more cabinets.
The cabinets that appear in the Tree View depend on your system configuration.
Each cabinet contains a set of chassis related to the cabinet's function in the system. These chassis can be physical or virtual chassis or systems, that is, system plug-ins.
Note: The VMs reside on the VMS, but do not show as part of the
VMS on the Tree View. To determine which VMS contains which
VMs, review the VMS properties on the VM.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 2 Working with SMClient
Working with the Tree View
Components and
Subcomponents
Chassis may contain components that can further be refined into subcomponents.
Note: Unless noted in this guide, CMICs and VM CMICs, as well as nodes and VM nodes, are considered to be functionally the same.
Working with the Tree View
There are several options that allow you to specify the system display in your Tree View:
Selecting Systems in the Tree View
SMWeb has support for multiple systems in one Server Management domain.
Systems can include instances of the Teradata database or Aster or Hadoop clusters.
Every system must have a unique system name. The System arrow at the top of the
Tree View allows you to specify which system, by name, to display in the Tree View.
Select All to display all components in the Server Management domain. If no systems are configured, the System arrow is not displayed.
Hiding Chassis with a Normal Status
The Hide normal chassis status check box allows you to filter the Tree View to only show components that are not in a normal state.
Refreshing and Rescanning the Tree View
The Tree View is automatically updated. In rare instances, the Tree View may not reflect the current list of components or their operational states. If this occurs, you can refresh or rescan the system.
The View > Refresh command updates the Tree View for the selected components. If the Tree View still seems to be inaccurate after a refresh, use Tools > Rescan to redo the initial component discovery and update the view.
When you have one or more systems defined and you expand each system tree to different levels, the expansion level is saved for each system view.
Locating Components in the Tree View
1
2
3
4
Obtain the Component ID, default alias or user-defined alias.
Tip: You can obtain the component ID from an event or alert ManagedElement, or from other sources.
Select Tools > Locate Components.
From the Locate Component dialog box, in the Component ID/Alias box, type the component ID, default alias, or user-defined alias.
Click Locate.
If the component can be found in the current view, it is highlighted in the Tree View.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
25
Chapter 2 Working with SMClient
Numbering in the Server Management Domain
If the component cannot be found in the current view, an informational message reports that it was not found.
If the component name is invalid, an error message states that the component was not found.
Numbering in the Server Management Domain
Systems, collectives, cabinets, chassis, are assigned numbers in the Tree View during the initial configuration of the system.
System
Collective
Cabinet
Chassis
VMs
There can only be one system number per Server Management domain.
Collective numbers must be unique within a Server Management domain.
Cabinet numbers should be unique within a Server Management domain. An override option is available for backward compatibility. See the Teradata Server Management Web Services
Configuration Guide, B035-5351.
Chassis numbers must be unique within a cabinet. they are normally numbered in a pre-determined manner per cabinet. A chassis type, for example, a UPS, might have a different chassis number, depending on which cabinet type it is in. Chassis numbers cannot be changed.
VMs are assigned numbers through the CMIC Configuration file, just like any other chassis. They are typically assigned numbers in the higher range, to distinguish from physical chassis.
Overview Tab
The Overview tab is the first tab on the SMClient Main window. It has a variety of panels, including:
Summary
Displays a summary of the components in the system and their versions.
Summary Alerts
Displays a tally of the current summary alerts with a status of warning or higher.
Notes
Provides a free-form panel for leaving text. Click Clear to erase the existing notes.
26 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 2 Working with SMClient
Setting SMClient Options
Active Maintenance Windows
Displays a list of the maintenance windows currently open. You can edit or delete the windows from this panel.
Setting SMClient Options
1
2
Select Tools > Options.
Configure any of the available options, and then click Ok.
SMClient Options
Area
Option
Label Names
Prompt for Cabinet
Window settings
Prompt for Alert
Viewer settings
Connection Names
Description
Indicates the component label that displays in the Tree
View. From the list, you can select one of the following options:
• Default: Displays the default names of components in the Tree View.
• Alias: Displays the default aliases of components in the Tree View. If a user-defined alias exists, it displays instead of the default alias.
• Component ID: Displays the Component IDs of components in the Tree View.
Default is selected by default.
Specifies whether to display the New Cabinet Window dialog box to prompt for settings for the Cabinet
Window. If the check box is not selected, the Cabinet
Window displays with the default settings.
By default, the check box is selected.
Specifies whether to display the Alert Viewer Options dialog box to prompt for settings for the Alert Viewer. If the check box is not selected, the Alert Viewer displays with the default settings.
By default, the check box is selected.
Indicates the component name or ID that displays in the
Tree View. From the list, you can select one of the following options:
• Default: Displays the default names. The path reflects the position the component occupies in the hierarchy.
• Alias: Displays the default alias names. If a userdefined alias exists, it displays instead of the default alias.
• Component ID: Displays the Component ID names.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
27
Chapter 2 Working with SMClient
Setting SMClient Options
Area
Command Output Window
Option Description
Prompt for connection settings
Terminal Services
Client Location
Default is selected by default.
Specifies whether to display the New Connection dialog box.
By default, the check box is cleared.
Before the Connect command can be used to make a remote Terminal Services Connection to an SMP node, you must specify the path to a local Terminal Services
Client or a URL to a Terminal Services Client.
Automatically scroll output
Prompt for Event
Viewer settings
Indicates how the output displays when the Command
Output Window opens. If the check box is selected, the scroll bar automatically scrolls to the most recent line of output. If the check box is cleared, the first line of output is always displayed.
By default, the check box is cleared.
Specifies whether to display the Event Viewer Options dialog box to prompt for settings for the Event Viewer. If the check box is not selected, the Event Viewer displays with the last settings used.
By default, the check box is selected.
Maximum Table Size
Sets the maximum number of events displayed in the
Event Viewer. When the maximum table size is reached, a dialog box reports that older events have been removed.
Approximately one-third of the events are removed from the table.
From the list, you can select from one of the following options:
• 2,000 events
• 5,000 events
• 10,000 events
• 20,000 events
The default, 2,000 events, is the optimum level; changing it might affect system performance.
Maximum Table Size
Sets the maximum number of rows displayed in the
Summary Alert Viewer. When the maximum table size is reached, a dialog box reports that older alert summaries have been removed.
From the list, you can select from one of the following options:
• 2,000 alerts
• 5,000 alerts
• 10,000 alerts
• 20,000 alerts
28 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Area Option
Chapter 2 Working with SMClient
Component Names
Description
The default, 5,000 alerts, is the optimum level; changing it might affect system performance.
Component Names
Naming Method
Default Names
Aliases
Component ID
Description
Default names are established during initial configuration of the system.
You cannot change a default name.
Default names are in the following format in the Tree View:
Component Name Component Number
For example:
System 1
Collective 2
Cabinet Hybrid 1
Disk Array 24
An alias is a unique, alpha-numeric representation of a component.
During initial configuration of the system, a default alias is established for each component.
For example:
SYS.1
COL1.2
CAB.1.2.1
DA.1.2.1.24
You cannot change the default alias of a component; however, you can define a different alias. User-defined aliases must be unique, and can be any combination of numbers or letters.
All user-defined aliases are stored in a global aliases file.
A Component ID is a unique, alpha-numeric combination that identifies a component in the system. Depending on where a component is located in the system hierarchy, its component ID, that is its CIM or object path, can include a component type, system ID, collective ID, cabinet ID, chassis ID, and subcomponent ID.
For example:
Disk_DD4200.SystemID=1,CollectiveID=2,CabinetID=1,ID=24
Configuring User-Defined Aliases for Components
You can configure an alias for one or more components by typing it or you can automatically generate it.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
29
Chapter 2 Working with SMClient
Configuring User-Defined Aliases for Components
Note: If a user-defined alias exists for a component, when you configure a new user-defined alias it is overwritten.
1
From the Tree View, select one or more components.
Important: If you plan to automatically generate the user-defined aliases, the components that you select should be of the same type; for example, all collectives, all
CMICs, or all nodes.
2
3
4
Select Configuration > Set Aliases.
If you want to type a user-defined alias, in the Set Aliases dialog box, do the following:
a
In the User-Defined Alias column, double-click the line where you want to define an alias.
b c
Type the alias.
Repeat for each applicable component.
f d
Click Ok.
If you want to automatically generate user-defined aliases, in the Set Aliases dialog box, do the following:
a b
Click Autogenerate.
The Generate Aliases dialog box appears.
Edit or clear the Template box.
The template consists of text, numbers, dots, dashes, and special characters.
c d e
If you are familiar with the format, you can type the content manually.
For example, to create a template that would generate an alias in the following format:
SMPx--yyy--zzz where there is no SystemID, where x represents the default alias
CollectiveID, where yyy represents a CabinetID with a minimum width of 3, and where zzz represents the ID of the node chassis, with a minimum width of 3, in the
Template box, type
SMP{CollectiveID}--{CabinetID,3}--{ID,3}
.
If you want to specify a macro corresponding to a specific ID and the number of units in that macro, click Macro to open the Select Macro dialog box.
For example, to create a system ID macro with a minimum width of 3 for system 1, select SystemID, and in the Minimum Width list, select 3. The result appears in the
Preview area as 001. When you click Ok, {SystemID, 3} appears in the Template box.
Click Ok.
The generated alias appears in the Set Aliases dialog box.
Click Ok.
30 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
CHAPTER 3
Working with Events and Alerts
About Server Management Events and Alerts
The CMIC in each collective collects operational events, problem events, and changes in system and component status for all of the components in the collective and stores them in a database.
An event indicates an change in condition that may require intervention. The change may be good, bad, or insignificant to the ongoing operation of the system. For example, events include changes due to operations performed on the system, such as power off, and problem events reported to node event logs by node software.
Events that are serious enough to affect the operation of the system generate alerts. An alert is a report of a condition that requires attention to protect system availability. The system consolidates alerts and stores them in the alert database. An alert’s severity reflects its impact at the system level, or how urgent it is to correct the problem condition. The system and
Teradata software include alert detection agents that report problem conditions. The alert detection agents are configured to detect problem conditions for the following:
• Teradata Database
• BYNET
• SCSI adapters
• Fibre Channel adapters
• Disk arrays
• Node operating systems
• Platform hardware
• Tape libraries
The conditions reflect known problem scenarios, such as configuration issues or potential hardware or software failures. The alert detection agents may also report indications of improving conditions. For example, if an event with an operational state of OK is available
(the component is now operating normally), the resolution status of previously reported alerts for the component can be changed to AutoSolved, indicating that the problem condition is resolved.
Summary alerts are groups of alerts known to occur together during a problem condition.
The summary identifies the root cause and gathers the related alerts into an alert bundle, which is reported to the backend. Alerts with a status of degraded or worse, which do not align with a root cause rule, are grouped as situational alerts.
Data bundles are packages of data, primarily used to diagnose problems. The data bundles are generated by software subsystems when they detect fault conditions and are also
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
31
Chapter 3 Working with Events and Alerts
Working with Viewer Displays collected from certain hardware components, such as disk array controllers and drive enclosures. Data bundles are automatically escalated to the TVI backend as soon as they are available.
Working with Viewer Displays
In the SMClient, you can customize a viewer to your specific needs. This allows you to view only the content that you want to see as well as where it displays on the viewer. Functions are also available that allow you to save viewer content to a file, pause and restart updates, display groups of events or alerts, display groups of summary alerts, and view details for the event, alert, or summary alert.
Function
Drag a column header to a different location
Change the columns that display
Select View
Description
Rearranges columns in the viewer. Any changes you make are saved, per User ID, for subsequent use.
Displays a menu of the available columns for a viewer.
Select Filter
Stop Updates
Resume Updates
File > Save Table > Text
File > Save Table > CSV
View details
Displays options for grouping events: All Events, Events by Time,
Chassis Events, and Collective Events.
Displays options for grouping alerts: All Alerts, Alerts by Time,
Subsystem Alerts, Chassis Alerts, Collective Alerts, and Alert
Types.
Displays options for grouping summary alerts: All Alerts, Severe
Alerts, Degraded Alerts, and Warning Alerts.
Pauses the updates in the viewer.
Restarts the updates in the viewer.
Saves content of the viewer in .txt format.
Saves content of the viewer in comma separated value format.
These files can be viewed in Microsoft Excel or other spreadsheet software.
Displays detailed information for the event, alert, or alert summary. Double-click the event, alert, or summary alert, or rightclick the event, alert, or summary alert and select the applicable option.
Operational State Indicators
A component's operational state is represented by text or icons in the GUI or CLI utility. A component's operational state does not reflect the operational state of the entire system.
32 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 3 Working with Events and Alerts
Viewing Events
Text Description
OK
Warning
Critical
Fatal
Unknown
Tree View / Chassis
Layout View
Primary Operational State Description
No action is required. The component is operating normally.
The condition should be monitored. The component or subsystem is reporting a condition that does not threaten system operation; however, it could worsen over time.
Immediate action should be taken. The component or subsystem cannot continue to operate in this state.
Note: Critical conditions are often handled internally by components or subsystems, causing them to shut down.
Immediate action must be taken to return the system to its normal operating state. The component or subsystem has failed.
The severity level of the component is unknown. This can occur in very rare cases where the underlying software receives a status or information from a managed device that it did not expect and therefore does not know how to handle it.
Viewing Events
The Event Viewer shows events reported by Server Management, event logs collected from the nodes, and command actions. You can view all of the events in the system, or events for components and their subcomponents. You can open more than one Event Viewer at a time.
Note: The Event Viewer Options dialog box does not display if you view Events from the
Events tab on the Main window. It also does not display if the Prompt for Event Viewer
settings check box is cleared on the Options dialog box, which is available from Tools >
Options on the SMClient Main window.
1
2
3
From the Tree View, select one or more components.
Do one of the following:
• Select Event Mgmt > Events.
• From the toolbar, click Events.
From the Event Viewer Options dialog box, select from the following options:
Option Description
Most recent Displays a specific number of events for one component selected in the Tree
View. The maximum number of events is 1,000.
When you select system or a collective, this option is not available for selection.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
33
Chapter 3 Working with Events and Alerts
Viewing Events
Option
Events for the last
Time
Selection
Severity
Event Type
Filtering
Description
Note: Most recent, Events for the last, and Time Selection operate as a toggle.
Only one option can be selected at a time.
Displays events for one or more components by time frame. Available values are
1-60. Available time increments are Second(s), Minute(s), Hour(s), or Day(s).
The maximum number is regulated by the value selected on the Options dialog box, which is available from Tools > Options on the SMClient Main window.
Note: Most recent, Events for the last, and Time Selection operate as a toggle.
Only one option can be selected at a time.
Displays events that occurred between the specified time. The maximum number is regulated by the value selected on the Options dialog box, which is available from Tools > Options on the SMClient Main window.
Note: Most recent, Events for the last, and Time Selection operate as a toggle.
Only one option can be selected at a time.
Indicates the minimum security level to display in the Event Viewer. Displays events at the level selected and higher, that is, more severe.
Specifies the event types that you want to display in the Event Viewer:
• Bynet DP
• Commands
• Configuration Changes
• SNMP Traps
• Device Log
• PSR Summary Alerts
• Status
• UNIX Log (Linux nodes)
• Windows Log (Windows nodes only)
• Alerts
• Site Log
4
Click Ok.
Event Viewer Columns
Column
Alias
Time
Severity
ManagedElement
Definition
Specifies the default alias of the component.
Indicates the date and time the event was detected.
Specifies the severity level of the event: OK, Information, Warning,
Degraded, Critical, or Fatal.
Identifies the component for which the event occurred. This is the
Component ID; also known as the unique name assigned to the component.
34 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Column
ID
SubType
Description
SystemID
CollectiveID
CabinetID
ChassisID
Sequence
MessageID
Domain
ObjectClass
ReporterType
Chapter 3 Working with Events and Alerts
Viewing Events
Definition
Specifies the unique global identifier assigned to the event.
Indicates an optional event type; depends on the ReporterType or the type of managed object.
Examples:
• MP-RAS nodes: PostError, AssetChange, SettingChange,
StreamsError, and ConsoleLog
• Linux nodes: Syslog
• Windows nodes: Application
Specifies the message that describes the event that occurred.
Indicates the ID that represents the system where the event originated.
Indicates the ID that represents the collective where the event originated.
Indicates the ID that represents the cabinet where the event originated.
Indicates the ID that represents the chassis where the event originated.
Identifies the sequence and collective in which the event was logged.
Specifies an event name or message key or number unique within the
Domain for a specific type of event. For example, a Windows Event ID or
MP-RAS E-tag.
Indicates the source from which the event originated. In conjunction with
MessageID, it uniquely identifies the type of event.
Specifies the object class name of the component. This is usually the first part of the component ID.
Identifies the category to which the event belongs:
• MPP_Alert: An event that indicates an alert condition; these events are processed by the Alert Manager.
• MPP_BynetDPEvent: An event sent by the BYNET DP.
• MPP_CommandEvent: An event that is reported for commands that users perform on the system.
• MPP_ConfigChangeEvent: An event that is reported for asset and setting changes.
• MPP_DeviceLog: An event from a log resident on a device. For example, a disk array MEL event.
• MPP_Heartbeat: An event that is reported for identifying issues or a restore of the node to the CMIC Event path.
• MPP_SiteActivity: An event from the Record Site Activity GUI.
• MPP_SnmpTrap: A trap event that is reported from the Fibre Channel switch and UPS.
• MPP_StatusEvent: An event that is reported for environmental conditions and significant state changes.
• MPP_UNIXLog: An event from the ConsoleLog and StreamsError log of MP-RAS nodes or from the Syslog of Linux nodes.
• MPP_WinLog: An event from the application and system logs of
Windows nodes.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
35
Chapter 3 Working with Events and Alerts
Viewing Events
Column
RequestID
TimeReceived
Repeat Start Time
Repeat Count
SystemName
Definition
• PSR_SummaryAlert: An event that reports on a group of alerts. A problem alert summary.
Groups a sequence of events, such as command results.
Indicates the time and date that the event was received by server management.
Specifies the time a repeat of this event was first seen within a day.
Indicates the number of times this event has repeated since the value in
Repeat Start Time.
Specifies the name of the system where the event originated.
Viewing Groups of Events
1
2
In the Event Viewer, click Select View.
Select one of the following options:
3
Option
All Events
Description
Displays all events in the system.
Events by Time
Displays all events in order of occurrence. Events are grouped into folders; for example, This Hour, Last Hour, and Earlier Today.
Chassis Events
Displays events by chassis. Events for each chassis are grouped into their respective folders.
Collective Events Displays events by collective. Events for each collective are grouped into their respective folders.
Use the Expand Tree and Collapse Tree buttons to expand and collapse a group.
Viewing Event Details
1
To view additional information for an event, from the Event Viewer, do one of the following:
• Highlight the event, and then select View > Detail.
• Double-click the event.
The Event Details window displays. Some fields are displayed for all event types; others are unique to components and event types.
Event Details
Data Field
Time Stamp
Description
Indicates the time and date that the event occurred. For a node, this is the time and date the event was detected on the node.
36 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 3 Working with Events and Alerts
Viewing Events
Data Field
Time Received
Severity
Description
Indicates the time and that the event was received by Server
Management.
Specifies the severity level of the event that is being reported for the component: OK, Information, Warning, Degraded, Critical, and Fatal.
The event severity indicates the level of impact to the component.
Sequence
GUID
System Name
Managed Element
Reporter Type
Identifies the sequence in which the event was logged.
Specifies the unique global identifier assigned to the event.
Specifies the name of the system where the event originated.
Identifies the component for which the event occurred. This is the
Component ID; also known as the unique name assigned to the component.
Managed Element Alias Identifies the default alias of the component.
Object Class
Specifies the object class name of the component. This is usually the first part of the component ID.
Sub Type
Domain
Indicates an optional event type; depends on the ReporterType or the type of managed object.
Examples:
• MP-RAS nodes: PostError, AssetChange, SettingChange,
StreamsError, and ConsoleLog
• Linux nodes: Syslog
• Windows nodes: Application
Indicates the source from which the event originated. In conjunction with MessageID, it uniquely identifies the type of event.
Message ID
Specifies an event name or message key or number unique within the
Domain for a specific type of event. For example, a Windows Event ID or
MP-RAS E-tag.
Identifies the category to which the event belongs:
• MPP_Alert: An event that indicates an alert condition; these events are processed by the Alert Manager.
• MPP_BynetDPEvent: An event sent by the BYNET DP.
• MPP_CommandEvent: An event that is reported for commands that users perform on the system.
• MPP_ConfigChangeEvent: An event that is reported for asset and setting changes.
• MPP_DeviceLog: An event from a log resident on a device. For example, a disk array MEL event.
• MPP_Heartbeat: An event that is reported for identifying issues or a restore of the node to the CMIC Event path.
• MPP_SiteActivity: An event from the Record Site Activity GUI.
• MPP_SnmpTrap: A trap event that is reported from the Fibre
Channel switch and UPS.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
37
Chapter 3 Working with Events and Alerts
Viewing Alerts
Data Field
Description
More Information
Description
• MPP_StatusEvent: An event that is reported for environmental conditions and significant state changes.
• MPP_UNIXLog: An event from the ConsoleLog and StreamsError log of MP-RAS nodes or from the Syslog of Linux nodes.
• MPP_WinLog: An event from the application and system logs of
Windows nodes.
• PSR_SummaryAlert: An event that reports on a group of alerts. A problem alert summary.
Specifies the message that describes the event that occurred.
Contains properties specific to the kind of event reported, including operating system, computer name, and log message.
Viewing Alerts
Use the Alert Viewer to review OK, Informational, and Warning alerts that are not grouped to a summary alert. Use the Alert Viewer invoked from the Summary Alert Viewer to view and track problems from services.
When you view alerts from the Summary Alert Viewer, you see only the alerts that are grouped to a scenario. When you view alerts from the Tree View, you view alerts for the selected tree component and below.
Note: The Alert Viewer Options dialog box does not display if the Prompt for Alert Viewer
settings check box is cleared on the Options dialog box, which is available from Tools >
Options on the SMClient Main window.
1
2
3
From the Tree View, select one or more components.
Tip: To view all alerts, including summary alerts reported at a system level, select the system component from the Tree View.
Do one of the following:
• Select Event Mgmt > Alerts.
• From the toolbar, click Alerts.
From the Alert Viewer Options dialog box, select from the following options:
Option
Managed Element
Alias
Domain
MessageID
Description
Displays alerts matching the alias for the component name.
Displays alerts matching the Domain property. For example, the Domain of
Disk_Array displays all disk array alerts, and the Domain for the summary alerts is PSR.
Displays alerts matching the ID. This is used with Domain to filter by alert type.
38 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 3 Working with Events and Alerts
Viewing Alerts
4
Option Description
Records to Return Indicates the number of records to display in the Alert Viewer. The default is 1000.
Show Key Alerts
Displays alerts with a PSR_SummaryAlert reporter type.
An alert group summarizes the sources and types of problems detected. It may point to the probable cause component and include informative diagnostics.
The Alert Viewer flags key alerts with a key icon. Select this option to display only key alerts.
Show by Alert
Status
Hide Repeat
Count
Most Recent
Time Selection
Displays only alerts with a specified status:
• Active: Shows alerts that are currently impacting the system. This is the default option.
• AutoSolved: Shows alerts that have been resolved by OK alert detection.
• Cleared: Shows alerts that have been cleared with the Alert Viewer
Functions > Clear Alert(s) command.
Hides alerts that are repeats of previously-reported alerts. Use this to filter out alerts that have been previously reported.
Displays the most recent alerts. This is the default option.
Displays the alerts between the starting date and time (on the top) and the ending date and time (on the bottom).
Show All
Filter TVI
Dispositions
Severity
Shows all alerts without filtering for TVI Dispositions. This is the default option.
Activates the following options for TVI Disposition filtering:
• Hide Maintenance Alerts: Filters the Alert Viewer so that alerts that occur during a maintenance window do not display.
• Show Escalated Alerts: Filters the Alert Viewer so that only TVI escalated alerts are shown.
The summary alerts marked Escalated are sent to services to create or update an incident. UpdateRepeat is not sent to the backend, so the TVI
Disposition is Abeyed.
Indicates the minimum security level to display in the Alert Viewer.
Displays alerts at the level selected and higher, that is, more severe.
Click Ok.
Alert Viewer Columns
Column
Alias
Status
Time
Definition
Specifies the default alias of the component.
Specifies the status of the alert: Active, AutoSolved, or Cleared.
Indicates the date and time the alert was detected.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
39
Chapter 3 Working with Events and Alerts
Viewing Alerts
Column
Severity
Description
GUID
Knowledge ID
Tracking ID
Subsystem
AutoSolved
Repeat Start Time
Repeat Count
TVI_Disposition
ComponentID
Sequence
SystemID
CollectiveID
CabinetID
ChassisID
ObjectClass
ReporterType
Definition
Specifies the severity level of the alert: OK, Information, Warning,
Degraded, Critical, or Fatal.
Specifies the message that describes the alert that occurred.
Specifies the unique Alert ID assigned to the alert.
Indicates the knowledge file, version, and rule name that triggered this alert.
Used for AutoSolving and repeat tracking.
Specifies the subsystem where the alert originated.
Specifies whether the alert can be AutoSolved:
• True: Indicates that the alert can be AutoSolved when an OK alert for the same source is detected.
• False: Indicates that the alert cannot be AutoSolved.
• ByTrackingID: Indicates that the alert can be AutoSolved when an OK alert with the same Tracking ID is detected.
Specifies the time a repeat of this alert was first seen within a day.
Indicates the number of times this alert has repeated since the value in
Repeat Start Time.
Specifies the TVI disposition status:
• None: No disposition determined.
• Ignore_Maintenance: The Maintenance window was open when this alert occurred. Alerts are marked Ignore_Maintenance if the components for which they are reported are in a Maintenance window.
A Summary Alert is still escalated while in a Maintenance window but the Maintenance flag is on, so no incident is created at the backend.
• Ignored: Not escalated by TVI because it has been specifically excluded by rules.
• Abeyed: Not escalated by TVI because a previous similar alert was escalated and subsequent escalation is suppressed for a period of time.
• Escalated: Indicates that this alert has been sent out to the TVI backend to be considered for incident create or update.
Indicates the component associated with the alert.
Identifies the sequence and collective in which the alert was logged.
Indicates the ID that represents the system where the alert originated.
Indicates the ID that represents the collective where the alert originated.
Indicates the ID that represents the cabinet where the alert originated.
Indicates the ID that represents the chassis where the alert originated.
Specifies the object class name of the component. This is usually the first part of the component ID.
Identifies the category to which the alert belongs:
40 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Column
SubType
Domain
Chapter 3 Working with Events and Alerts
Viewing Alerts
Definition
• MPP_Alert: Indicates an alert condition.
• PSR_SummaryAlert: Indicates a summary about a problem scenario.
Indicates an optional alert type. PSR_SummaryAlert can have the following subtypes: RootCause, SituationalCause, UpdateMore,
UpdateWorse, UpdateRepeat, UpdateExpire, or UpdateClose. Heartbeat identifies issues or a restore of the node to the CMIC Event path.
Identifies the problem area, which is typically a short name for the agent reporting the alert. Examples of possible Domains are shown below; not all domains are listed:
• Alerts reported by Server Management include: Node, CMIC,
ChassisAgent, CMICCore, BYNET, BYNETDP, ChassisMonitor,
UPS_PWDEB, FCSW_SB, FCSW_Brocade, ESW_Dell, ESW_SMC, and Disk_Array alerts.
• BYNETDriver: Alerts detected for BYNET driver events.
• CheckBatteries: Alerts reported by the CheckBatteries utility.
• Disk_Array-MEL: Alerts detected for MEL.
• FruReplace: Alerts generated while running the FRU Replace function.
• Linux domains: Alerts reported for Linux node software, including
Teradata for database related alerts.
• LSI-MEGARAID-STORAGE_MANAGER: Alerts for RAID Storage
Managers that logs disk status.
• PSR: The domain for all summary alerts.
• SM_User: User customer generated alerts.
• TAS: Alerts reported by TAS.
• Teradata: Alerts detected regarding a Teradata database.
• WinLog domains: Alerts reported for Windows node software; includes
WinLog-Teradata for database related alerts.
Specifies an alert name or message key or number unique within the
Domain for a specific type of alert.
Groups a sequence of alerts, such as command results.
Specifies the name of the system where the alert originated.
MessageID
RequestID
SystemName
Viewing Groups of Alerts
1
2
In the Alert Viewer, click Select View.
Select one of the following options:
Option
All Alerts
Alerts by Time
Description
Displays all alerts in the system.
Displays all alerts in order of occurrence. Alerts are grouped into folders; for example, Last Hour, Earlier Today, and Yesterday.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
41
Chapter 3 Working with Events and Alerts
Viewing Alerts
3
Option Description
Subsystem Alerts Displays all alerts by subsystem. Alerts are grouped into subsystem folders; for example, Database, Network, and Node.
Chassis Alerts
Displays alerts by chassis. Alerts for each chassis are grouped into their respective folders.
Collective Alerts Displays alerts by collective. Alerts for each collective are grouped into their respective folders.
Alert Types
Displays all alerts grouped by the Domain/Message ID.
Use the Expand Tree and Collapse Tree buttons to expand and collapse a group.
Locating Components
1
2
In the Alert Viewer, select an alert.
Do one of the following:
• Select Functions > Locate Component.
• Right-click the alert, and select Locate Component.
The component associated with the alert is highlighted in the Tree View.
Clearing Alerts
When you clear an alert, the status changes from Active or AutoSolved to Cleared. When alerts are resolved, they should be cleared to remove them from the list of alerts being monitored.
1
2
3
In the Alert Viewer, select one or more alerts.
Do one of the following:
• Select Functions > Clear Alert(s).
• Right-click the alert, and select Clear Alert(s).
In the Confirmation dialog box, click Yes.
Viewing Alert Details
The Alert Details window contains all available information about the alert.
1
2
In the Alert Viewer, select an alert.
Do one of the following:
• Select Functions > View Alert Detail.
• Right-click the alert, and select View Alert Detail.
• Double-click the alert.
42 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 3 Working with Events and Alerts
Viewing Alerts
Alert Details
Data Field
Time Stamp
Time Received
Description
Indicates the time and date that the alert was detected.
Severity
Indicates the time and that the alert was recorded by Server
Management.
Specifies the severity level of the alert that is being reported for the component: OK, Information, Warning, Degraded, Critical, and Fatal.
The alert severity indicates the level of impact to the component.
Sequence
GUID
Status
Identifies the sequence in which the alert was recorded.
Specifies the unique global identifier assigned to the alert.
System Name
Managed Element
Indicates the status of the alert.
Specifies the name of the system where the alert was detected.
Managed Element Alias Identifies the default alias of the component.
Sub Type
Indicates an optional alert type; depends on the ReporterType or the type of managed object.
Examples:
• MP-RAS nodes: PostError, AssetChange, SettingChange,
StreamsError, and ConsoleLog
• Linux nodes: Syslog
• Windows nodes: Application
Subsystem
Identifies the component for which the alert was detected. This is the
Component ID; also known as the unique name assigned to the component.
Domain
Identifies the subsystem where the alert originated: Client, Database,
Network, Node, OS, Power, ServerMgmt, Storage, or Other.
Indicates the source from which the alert originated. In conjunction with
MessageID, it uniquely identifies the type of alert.
Message ID
Specifies an alert name or message key or number unique within the
Domain for a specific type of alert. For example, a Windows Alert ID or
MP-RAS E-tag.
Reporter Type
Identifies the category to which the alert belongs:
• MPP_Alert: An alert that indicates an alert condition; these alerts are processed by the Alert Manager.
• MPP_BynetDPEvent: An alert sent by the BYNET DP.
• MPP_CommandEvent: An alert that is reported for commands that users perform on the system.
• MPP_ConfigChangeEvent: An alert that is reported for asset and setting changes.
• MPP_DeviceLog: An alert from a log resident on a device. For example, a disk array MEL alert.
• MPP_SiteActivity: An alert from the Record Site Activity GUI.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
43
Chapter 3 Working with Events and Alerts
Viewing Summary Alerts
Data Field
TVI Disposition
Repeat Count
Repeat Start Time
Tracking ID
Knowledge ID
Description
More Information
Description
• MPP_SnmpTrap: A trap alert that is reported from the Fibre
Channel switch and UPS.
• MPP_StatusEvent: An alert that is reported for environmental conditions and significant state changes.
• MPP_UNIXLog: An alert from the ConsoleLog and StreamsError log of MP-RAS nodes or from the Syslog of Linux nodes.
• MPP_WinLog: An alert from the application and system logs of
Windows nodes.
• PSR_SummaryAlert: An alert that reports on a group of alerts. A problem alert summary.
Specifies the TVI disposition status:
• None: No disposition determined.
• Ignore_Maintenance: The Maintenance window was open when this alert occurred. Alerts are marked Ignore_Maintenance if the components for which they are reported are in a Maintenance
Window. A Summary Alert is still escalated while in a Maintenance window but the Maintenance flag is on, so no incident is created at the backend.
• Ignored: Not escalated by TVI because it has been specifically excluded by rules.
• Abeyed: Not escalated by TVI because a previous similar alert was escalated and subsequent escalation is suppressed for a period of time.
• Escalated: Indicates that this alert has been sent out to the TVI backend to be considered for incident create or update.
Indicates the number of times this alert has repeated since the value in
Repeat Start Time.
Specifies the time a repeat of this alert was first seen within a day.
Used for AutoSolving and repeat tracking.
Indicates the knowledge file, version, and rule name that triggered this alert.
Specifies the message that describes the alert that occurred.
Contains properties specific to the kind of alert reported, including operating system, computer name, and log message.
Viewing Summary Alerts
The Summary Alert Viewer provides a summarized view of the system alerts that meet the root cause rules or situational rules.
1
To view the Summary Alert Viewer, from the SMClient Main window, click the
Summary Alerts tab.
44 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 3 Working with Events and Alerts
Viewing Summary Alerts
Tip: Alternatively, from the Overview tab, you can click Severe, Degraded, or Warning in the Summary Alerts pane to display the associated active summary alerts.
Summary Alert Viewer Columns
Column
Synopsis
Status
Severity
Type
Timestamp
Maintenance
Notify
Definition
Specifies a short summary of the problem.
Indicates the status of an alert within an alert summary: Active, Expired, or Cleared.
Specifies the severity level of an alert within an alert summary: OK,
Information, Warning, Degraded, Critical, or Fatal.
Identifies the root cause or situational cause:
• RootCause: A summary of the problem condition with identification of the key/related alerts. The rules identify the pattern of alerts know to occur together.
• SituationalCause: Degraded or higher alerts that do not match a root cause.
Within that, each summary is identified:
• UpdateMore: Sent for an active root cause scenario when more alert types or additional components are seen to contribute to the same problem scenario. Sent when additional alerts types accrue to the situational cause of same or lower severity.
• UpdateWorse: Sent for an active root cause scenario when a new alert type indicates the problem has worsened. Sent when additional situational alerts occur of higher severity.
• UpdateRepeat: Sent when there is an active root or situational cause, and additional alerts are repeats of previous alerts accrued to the problem scenario. UpdateRepeats are not sent to the backend.
• UpdateExpire: Sent when the root cause or situational cause alert summary has expired. Test fault expires in one hour, DBS Restart expires in 20 minutes, and other scenarios expire in 28 days.
• UpdateClose: Sent when the root cause or situational cause alert summary has been cleared.
Indicates the date and time the alert group was triggered.
Indicates whether a maintenance window has been opened. This is only on if all alerts in the alert summary were generated for components under the maintenance window. If any alerts occur outside of the maintenance window, then Maintenance is off and the root cause or situational cause creates an incident on the backend.
Indicates if the alert summary sent to the Auto-Incident Create backend will generate a notification. This is off when Maintenance is on.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
45
Chapter 3 Working with Events and Alerts
Viewing Summary Alerts
Column
Scope
Sequence
Impact
SystemName
Definition
Describes the number of alert and component types involved in the alert scenario. Alert type is defined as a unique alert Domain/MessageID. For example, 2 alerts from 1 reporting source means two kinds of alerts were reported for one node.
Identifies the number assigned by the PDS when the summary alert is recorded.
Specifies a short impact statement about the problem.
Specifies the name of the system where the alert summary originated.
Viewing Summary Alerts by Status
1
2
3
From the Summary Alert Viewer, select View > Options.
In the Summary Alert Viewer Options dialog box, select from the following status options:
• Active
• Cleared
• Expired
Click Ok.
The Summary Alert Viewer refreshes and displays only those alerts with the status or statuses that you selected.
Clearing Summary Alerts
Clearing an alert group changes its status from Active to Cleared. When an alert scenario is resolved, it should be cleared to remove it from the list of problem scenarios being monitored.
1
2
From the Summary Alert Viewer, select a summary alert folder.
To clear the summary alert, do one of the following:
• Select Functions > Clear Summary Alert.
• Right-click the folder and select Clear Summary Alert.
Viewing Summary Alert Details
1
To view additional information for a summary alert, from the Summary Alert Viewer, do one of the following:
• Highlight the summary alert, and then select View > Summary Alert Detail.
• Right-click the summary alert and select Summary Alert Detail.
• Double-click the summary alert.
The Summary Alert Details window displays.
46 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 3 Working with Events and Alerts
Viewing Summary Alerts
Summary Alert Details
Data Field
Time Stamp
Severity
Description
Indicates the time and date that the alert group was triggered.
Type
Specifies the severity level of the alert group: OK, Information,
Warning, Degraded, Critical, or Fatal.
Identifies the PSR Summary type: RootCause, SituationalCause,
UpdateRepeat, UpdateImprove, UpdateMore, UpdateWorse,
UpdateExpire, or UpdateClose.
GUID
Status
Sequence
Specifies the unique global identifier assigned to the alert group.
Indicates the status of the alert summary: Active, Expired, or Cleared.
System Name
Identifies the number assigned by the PDS when the alert summary was recorded.
Specifies the name of the system from which the alert summary originated.
Managed Element
Identifies the ID that represents the managed element from which the alert summary originated.
Managed Element Alias Identifies the reporting alias of the managed element from which the alert summary originated.
Description
Specifies the message that describes the alert summary that occurred, as well as a recommendation.
Maintenance
Notify
Indicates whether a maintenance window has been opened.
Scope
Indicates if the alert summary sent to the Auto-Incident Create backend will generate a notification. This is Off when Maintenance is On.
Identifies the number of alert and component types involved in the alert scenario. An alert type is defined as a unique alert Domain/Message ID.
For example, 2 alerts from 1 reporting source indicates that two kinds of alerts were reported for one node.
TVI_Disposition
Specifies the TVI disposition status:
• Abeyed: Not escalated by TVI because a previous similar alert was escalated and subsequent escalation is suppressed for a period of time.
• Escalated: Alert has been sent out to the TVI backend to be considered for incident create or update.
Impact
Mode
Specifies a short impact statement about the problem.
Specifies if the mode of the PSR (Problem Scenario Reporting) is
Normal or Degraded. A Degraded mode indicates that the PSR was running under a severe low memory condition, and that the alert summary may not contain all the alerts that you would normally expect.
KnowledgeID
Indicates the knowledge file, version, and rule name that triggered this alert summary.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
47
Chapter 3 Working with Events and Alerts
Downloading an Associated Data Bundle
Data Field
TrackingID
Description
Used to identify a new cause or a kind of update summary is warranted.
TrackingID = $RuleName[,$ReportingAlias]
The ReportingAlias is appended when the RootCause rule is to be tracked per failing component. The chassis alias is appended if the
RootCause rule is to be tracked at a chassis level.
The RuleName is used when the RootCause is considered a Source-
Ignore, meaning any of this problem type is tracked at a system level.
Subsystem
Synopsis
Identifies the subsystem where the alert originated: Client, Database,
Network, Node, OS, Power, ServerMgmt, Storage, or Other.
Specifies a short summary of the problem.
SourceReportingAlias
Identifies the CMIC ID that is recording the alert summary.
HasAnySupportBundles Indicates whether there are associated data bundles.
KeyAlerts
Related Alerts
ImpactedSystems
OrigPSRSummary
Specifies the GUIDs of the key alerts in this alert summary.
Specifies the GUIDs of the related alerts in this alert summary.
Specifies all system names that are impacted by this alert summary.
Indicates the GUID, along with a timestamp, of the original PSR alert summary.
Viewing Summary Alert History
Use the Summary Alert History feature to view the complete history of a selected summary alert, including the UpdateRepeat alerts.
1
From the Summary Alert Viewer, do one of the following:
• Highlight the summary alert, and then select View > Summary Alert History.
• Right-click the summary alert, and select Summary Alert History.
Downloading an Associated Data Bundle
If an alert or a summary alert has an associated data bundle, an icon appears next to it in the respective viewer.
1
To download an associated data bundle, do one of the following:
Option
An alert
Description
• From the Alert Viewer, double-click the alert with the associated data bundle.
A summary alert a.
From the Summary Alert Viewer, right-click the summary alert with the associated data bundle and select View > Alerts.
48 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 3 Working with Events and Alerts
Downloading an Associated Data Bundle
Option Description b.
From the Alert Viewer, double-click the alert with the associated data bundle.
2
From the Details dialog box, click the link at the bottom to download the associated data bundle.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
49
Chapter 3 Working with Events and Alerts
Downloading an Associated Data Bundle
50 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
CHAPTER 4
Managing Cabinet Windows
About Cabinet Windows
You can create separate Cabinet windows that show different views of your SMClient system.
A Cabinet window contains icons that represent the cabinets in the Tree View. For example, you can create a geographic view by arranging icons to represent how your system is physically arranged, or logical views by arranging icons in cliques and collectives.
If the Tree View is filtered, that is, in a system view, or only showing chassis that are not in a normal state, when the Cabinet window is opened, only the cabinets in that view are displayed. If the filtered view in the Tree View is changed, non-applicable cabinets are grayed, and are unavailable for selection.
The color of each icon matches the severity of the highest alert, not summary alert, in the cabinet.
Each cabinet icon has a letter that identifies its cabinet type:
• B: BYNET cabinet
• D: Disk array cabinet
• H: Hybrid cabinet
• N: Processing node cabinet
Creating a Cabinet Window
When you create a Cabinet window, you set its display options. Once created, you can modify the display options at any time. Each new Cabinet window displays on the desktop; you can display more than one Cabinet window at a time. Each Cabinet window contains a number in the title bar that represents the order in which it was created. For example,
Cabinet Window 1 indicates that it was created first. When you save a Cabinet window, the file name replaces the default label in the title bar.
The New Cabinet Window dialog box does not display if the Prompt for Cabinet Window
settings check box is cleared on the Options dialog box, which is available from Tools >
Options on the SMClient Main window.
1
Do one of the following to create a Cabinet window:
Option
Select Tools > Cabinet Window > New > Blank
Description
Creates a blank Cabinet window.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
51
Chapter 4 Managing Cabinet Windows
Creating a Cabinet Window
2
Option
Select Tools > Cabinet Window > New > All
Cabinets
From an existing Cabinet window, select File > New
> Blank
From an existing Cabinet window, select File > New
> All Cabinets
Description
Creates a Cabinet window containing icons.
Creates a new blank Cabinet window.
Creates a new Cabinet window containing icons.
From the New Cabinet Window, select from the following options:
Note: You cannot specify a value of zero for any of the options.
Option
Display Name
Type
Description
Sets the name that is displayed beneath the icons in the Cabinet window:
• Default: Displays the word Cabinet followed by the system, collective, and cabinet numbers, separated by dashes.
• Alias: Displays the default alias for the cabinet. If a user-defined alias exists it displays instead.
• Cabinet Numbers: Displays the system, collective, and cabinet numbers, separated by dashes.
• Component ID: Displays the component ID for the cabinet.
Icon Size
Max Width
Sets the size of the icons in the Cabinet window: Small, Medium, or Large.
Max Height
Sets the maximum height of the Cabinet window in pixels. If you specify a maximum height that is less than the space the icons currently occupy, a message displays asking whether you would like to change the maximum height to a value that would include all of the icons in the Cabinet window. Click Yes to include all of the icons. If you click No, a warning message displays that states that the icons located outside of the specified height will be deleted from the
Cabinet window.
Column
Width
Sets the maximum width of the Cabinet window in pixels. If you specify a maximum width that is less than the space the icons currently occupy, a message displays asking whether you would like to change the maximum width to a value that would include all of the icons in the Cabinet window. Click Yes to include all of the icons. If you click No, a warning message displays that states that the icons located outside of the specified width will be deleted from the
Cabinet window.
Sets the width between the grid columns in pixels.
This option does not display when you:
• Select Tools > Cabinet Window > New > All Cabinets to create a new cabinet
• Select File > New > All Cabinets to create a new cabinet from an existing cabinet
Once the cabinet is created, however, the option is available for editing.
Row Height
Sets the height between the grid columns in pixels.
This option does not display when you:
52 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 4 Managing Cabinet Windows
Creating a Cabinet Window
Option Description
Horizontal
Spacing
Vertical
Spacing
Initial x-axis position
Initial y-axis position
Show Grid
Snap Cabinets to Grid
• Select Tools > Cabinet Window > New > All Cabinets to create a new cabinet
• Select File > New > All Cabinets to create a new cabinet from an existing cabinet
Once the cabinet is created, however, the option is available for editing.
Sets the number of pixels placed between the center of an icon in one column to the center of an icon in the next column.
This option does not display when you:
• Select Tools > Cabinet Window > New > Blank to create a new blank cabinet
• Select File > New > Blank to create a new blank cabinet from an existing cabinet
• Edit an existing cabinet
Sets the number of pixels placed between the center of an icon in one row to the center of an icon in the next row.
This option does not display when you:
• Select Tools > Cabinet Window > New > Blank to create a new blank cabinet
• Select File > New > Blank to create a new blank cabinet from an existing cabinet
• Edit an existing cabinet
Specifies how close the initial vertical grid line is, in pixels, from the left side of the Cabinet window. The value must be positive. The intersection of the Initial
x-axis position and Initial y-axis position represent the location of the first icon added to the Cabinet window.
Specifies how close the initial horizontal grid line is, in pixels, from the top of the Cabinet window. The value must be positive. The intersection of the Initial
y-axis position and Initial x-axis position represent the location of the first icon added to the Cabinet window.
Displays the grid if the check box is selected.
Automatically aligns the icons to the grid if the check box is selected.
Note: If two or more cabinet icons are close to an intersection, the icons may overlap. Cabinets that overlap are marked with an x. Use the Edit > Move command to move one.
Wrap icons around visible contents of window
Populates the Cabinet window with icons from left to right until the next icon is unable to fit within the visible contents of the window and a new row is started below the last row if this check box is selected. If the check box is cleared, the
Cabinet window is populated with icons from left to right until the value within the Max Width option is reached.
Note: If all the icons cannot fit within the area designated with the Max Width and Max Height options, an error message displays.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
53
Chapter 4 Managing Cabinet Windows
Working with Cabinet Icons
Option Description
This option does not display when you create blank cabinets or when you edit existing cabinets.
3
Click Ok.
Working with Cabinet Icons
The Cabinet window complements the Tree View and allows you to create alternate views of your system.
• Select a cabinet in the Tree View and the corresponding icon is highlighted in a Cabinet window.
• Select an icon in a Cabinet window and the corresponding icon is highlighted in the Tree
View.
• Double-click an icon in the Cabinet window to expand or collapse the corresponding cabinet in the Tree View.
• When you delete an icon from a Cabinet window, the cabinet is deleted from the active
Cabinet window; however, the cabinet is not deleted from the Tree View.
• Severity levels correspond to the severity levels in the Alert Viewer.
• To view the alerts associated with the cabinet, right-click the cabinet and select Alerts.
Cabinet Window Menu Commands
Command
File > New > Blank
File > New > All Cabinets
File > Open
File > Save
File > Save As
File > Close
Edit > Undo
Edit > Redo
Edit > Move
Description
Erases the contents of the active Cabinet window.
Replaces the contents of the active Cabinet window with cabinet icons that represent the cabinets displayed in the Tree View.
Opens a previously saved Cabinet window. Browse to the location of the file.
Saves the active Cabinet window and replaces the text in the title bar with the name of the file.
Renames and saves the active Cabinet window and replaces the text in the title bar with the name of the file.
Closes the active Cabinet window.
Removes the previous action.
Reinstates the previous action.
Unlocks icons in a Cabinet window. You can select one or more icons and use the cursor to drag them into position or use the arrow keys to move them.
54 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Command
Edit > Delete
Edit > Select All
Edit > Deselect All
Edit > Options
Arrow keys
Tab key
Delete key
Chapter 4 Managing Cabinet Windows
Working with Cabinet Icons
Description
Removes select icons from a Cabinet window. You can also use the
Delete key.
Note: Deleting an icon from a Cabinet window does not delete it from the Tree View. To delete a cabinet from the Tree View, use
Configuration > Remove Component.
Selects all of the icons in the Cabinet window.
Deselects all of the icons in the Cabinet window.
Allows you to set options for the Cabinet window.
• If the Edit > Move command is active, use the arrow keys to move a selected icon.
• If the Snap Cabinets to Grid check box is selected, the icon moves to the next grid intersection in the specified direction.
• If the Snap Cabinets to Grid check box is cleared, the icon moves one pixel at a time.
• If the Edit > Move command is not active, use the arrow keys to select one icon and move the selection to the next icon in the specified direction.
Shifts the active window among the Tree View, the Results Panel, and one or more Cabinet windows.
Removes selected icons from a Cabinet window.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
55
Chapter 4 Managing Cabinet Windows
Working with Cabinet Icons
56 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
CHAPTER 5
Managing Component Information
Viewing Properties of Components
You can view the properties of only one system, collective, cabinet, component, or subcomponent at a time.
1
2
3
4
From the Tree View, select a component.
Do one of the following:
• Select View > Properties.
• From the toolbar, click Properties.
From the Properties dialog box, to see a description of the components, click
Description.
To suppress the properties with empty values, select the Do not display empty property
values check box.
Viewing Chassis Layout
The Chassis Layout View displays digital images of a chassis and its components, as well as the operating state of each component.
Note: This procedure is not supported for tape libraries.
1
2
3
From the Tree View, select a chassis.
Do one of the following:
• Select Functions > Chassis Layout View.
• From the toolbar, click Chassis Layout View.
From the Tree View, if you selected:
Component
• CMIC
• Node
• Fibre channel switch
• Ethernet switch
• Disk enclosure
• BYNET chassis (except 1U)
Description
• Click the applicable tab to view the components.
a.
Click a view button to view the component.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
57
Chapter 5 Managing Component Information
Asset Information
Component
• UPS
1U BYNET chassis
• Disk Cabinets
• BYNET Cabinets
Description b.
To discontinue the procedure and close the window, click
Close.
A digital image of the chassis displays.
a.
Select a component to view the components in tabular format.
b.
To discontinue the procedure and close the window, click
Close.
Asset Information
When CMIC and node data collection agents (DCAs) detect changes to the hardware, software, and firmware information of components, they store the changes as asset records in the Asset Database. Types of asset records include inventory information (such as model numbers, serial numbers, and part numbers), battery installation dates, and revision levels for components. You can track asset information for a system or one or more collectives, cabinets, or chassis. For example, you can visually verify correct firmware versions across all
UPS chassis in the system, or that a particular BYNET board part number is present in the system.
Asset History
Asset History displays a history of chassis asset change records stored in the Asset Database.
You can save the information in .txt or .csv file format for later reference. The command allow you to specify a time frame and the number of records to display. For example, if you want to see all changes to the BIOS version for a specific CMIC over the last week, select the
CMIC, specify the number of records you want to display, specify a time interval of seven days, and sort the columns by Asset Name to find the BIOS records.
Asset Baseline
Asset data consists of information about cabinet hardware, such as firmware versions, serial numbers, product IDs, and so forth. The Asset Baseline command takes a snapshot of a system's asset information. It collects, saves, and sends the asset information as follows:
• Removes and updates stale or orphaned asset information
• Gathers all available, current asset information for each chassis in the system
• Formats the asset data and saves the output
• Sends it to the TAS outbox for transmission to Teradata Customer Services
The asset information is collected into at least two files, which are sent to Customer Services for inclusion in the Customer System Information (CSI) database:
• One index file, containing the number of data files to expect, as well as a list of the CMICs providing data files.
The list allows you to make sure you receive all the component files.
58 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 5 Managing Component Information
Asset Information
• One or more data snapshot files
Use the Asset Baseline command at initial system configuration and after any changes to cabinet configurations or IP addressing assigned through Server Management.
Viewing Asset Information
Asset Info View provides a consolidated view of the current asset records stored in the Asset
Database. You can save the information in .txt or .csv file format for later reference.
1
2
3
From the Tree View, select the system or one or more collectives, cabinets, or chassis.
Do one of the following:
• Select View > Asset Info.
• From the toolbar, click Asset Info.
The Asset Info dialog box displays the components that you selected as well as any common identification fields for the selected components. If you selected more than one chassis of the same type, all available asset records are displayed for that type. If you selected multiple components of different types, only the asset records that are common to all components are displayed. If no field are selected, all are included in the output.
To display the Asset Info View window, click Ok.
Asset Information View
The Asset Info View window contains asset records for the selected chassis.
Label
Chassis
Description
Specifies the path, default alias, or Component ID of the chassis, depending on the option set for the Tree View:
• Default: The path follows the hierarchy displayed in the Tree
View.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
59
Chapter 5 Managing Component Information
Asset Information
Label
Unit
Asset Name
Property Name
Property Value
Description
• Alias: The default alias displays. If a user-defined alias exists, it displays instead.
• Component ID: The CIM path displays.
Specifies the chassis component whose asset record displays.
Identifies the name of the chassis component asset whose asset record displays.
Specifies the type of asset record displayed. Type can be hardware, software, or firmware asset information.
Indicates the asset information.
Viewing Asset History
Use this command to specify a time frame and the number records to display. For example, if you want to view all changes to the BIOS version for a specific CMIC over the last week, you select the CMIC, specify the number of records that you want to display and a time interval of seven days. In the results, you can sort the columns by Asset Name to locate the BIOS records. You can save the information in .txt or .csv file format for later reference.
1
2
3
From the Tree View, select the system or one or more collectives, cabinets, or chassis.
Tip: You can also use Tools > Multi Select to make selections.
Do one of the following:
• Select Event Mgmt > Asset History.
• From the toolbar, click Asset History.
From the Asset History dialog box, select from the following options:
4
Option Description
Number of records displayed Specifies the maximum number of records to display in the Asset
History window.
Do not limit time
Displays the most recent record first.
Records before this time
Records after this time
Records for the last
Displays records before the date and time that you specify.
Displays records after the date and time that you specify.
Records between this time
Displays records between the two dates and times that you specify.
Displays records recorded within the time frame that you specify.
Values are 1-60 seconds, minutes, hours, or days.
Click Ok to display the results in the Asset History window.
Tip: If the total number of records for your query exceeds the number of records that you selected to display, click Previous and Next to display the remaining records.
60 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 5 Managing Component Information
Asset Information
Asset History View
The Asset History window contains the asset records of each chassis that you selected with
Asset History.
Label
Records for
Previous / Next buttons
Chassis
Unit
Asset Name
Modification Date
Change Status
Description
Specifies the path, default alias, or Component ID of the chassis, depending on the option set for the Tree View.
If only one chassis is selected, this field is not displayed.
Provides the ability to display more records if the number of records exceeds the value set in the Number of records displayed option within the Asset History dialog box.
Specifies the path, default alias, or Component ID of the chassis, depending on the option set for the Tree View.
Identifies the chassis component whose asset record is displayed.
Specifies the name of the chassis component asset whose record is displayed.
Indicates the date the asset was modified. This uses the clock on the source chassis.
Specifies the type of change the CMIC detected:
• New: The CMIC has no previous knowledge of this asset.
• Missing: The CMIC expects the asset to be there, but the asset is absent.
• Replaced: The CMIC detected that the asset was missing, but the asset now exists.
• Changed: The CMIC detected a new value for an existing asset.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
61
Chapter 5 Managing Component Information
Asset Information
Label
Property Name
Property Value
Type
Model
Last Seen Date
Managed Element ID
GUID
Description
• Same: The asset monitors (CMICs and node DCAs) have not detected a change in the asset. Not all asset monitors use
Same. When Same is reported, only the LastSeenDate of the asset property is updated.
Specifies the type of asset record that is displayed; that is, type of hardware, software, or firmware asset information.
Indicates the asset information.
Identifies the chassis type. For example, node, VMS, or UPS.
Indicates the chassis model.
Specifies the date that the component was detected during the last
CMIC or node reboot. This date is usually more current than the value in the Modification Date column, and is used to track life cycle changes for the component. This use the clock on the source chassis.
Identifies the CIM path of the component whose measurement information is displayed. This is the unique name assigned to the component.
Specifies the unique global identifier for an event. When the
CMIC detects a change in the asset record for a component, it is logged as an event and assigned a GUID in the Event Viewer.
Generating an Asset Baseline
Prerequisite:
For a successful completion of an asset baseline, the Asset Baseline command must be able to communicate with all the chassis it is updating, or from which it is getting asset information.
Note: Depending on the size of the system, the command may take some time to complete.
1
2
3
4
From SMClient, do one of the following:
• Select Tools > Asset Baseline.
• From the toolbar, click Asset Baseline.
Note: This command does not log on to the customer's Teradata database.
When the Asset Baseline dialog box displays, click Ok.
Generating a baseline consists of several steps. A progress indicator displays for each step.
When the process updates the DCA Asset Info, it summarizes the progress in a separate dialog box.
When the system reports the procedure is complete, click Ok.
To view the output, from the SMWeb Home page, use the Save and Restore functionality to open the files.
62 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 5 Managing Component Information
Measurement Information
Measurement Information
CMICs record measurement information from certain managed elements and store the information in the Measurement Database. Measurement information can be viewed for chassis that report measurements. The measurement data is recorded and stored in the database at eight-hour intervals, and when a CMIC boots.
You can use the following commands to access measurement information for debugging and trend analysis.
Table 4: Commands for Measurement Information
Command
View > Measurement Info
Event Mgmt > Measurement History
Description
Displays current chassis measurement data.
Displays a history of chassis measurement data based on a time interval and number of records.
You can also generate graphs that are based on the information gathered from hardware sensors and recorded and stored in the CMIC Measurement Database.
Table 5: Commands for Generating Graphs
Command
Event Mgmt > Measurement Graph >
Predefined Queries > System Queries
Event Mgmt > Measurement Graph >
Predefined Queries > Cabinet Level Queries
Event Mgmt > Measurement Graph > Custom
Queries
Description
Predefined queries that can be used to generate:
• Temperature graphs for all nodes and CMICs
• Power consumption and output graphs for all
UPSs
Predefined queries that can be used to generate temperature graphs for components in one or more selected cabinets.
Custom queries that can be used to generate graphs for selected components based on your choice of hardware sensors. Custom queries can be saved, edited, and deleted.
Viewing Measurement Information
Measurement Info View displays current measurement information that is stored in the
CMIC Measurement Database. You can save the information in .txt or .csv file format for later reference.
1
2
From the Tree View, select the system or one or more collectives, cabinets, or chassis.
Do one of the following:
• Select View > Measurement Info.
• From the toolbar, click Measurement Info.
The Measurement Info dialog box displays the components that you selected as well as any common identification fields for the selected components. If you selected more than
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
63
Chapter 5 Managing Component Information
Measurement Information
3
one chassis of the same type, all available measurement information are displayed for that type. If you selected multiple components of different types, there are no common information fields to display.
To display the Measurement Info View window, click Ok.
Measurement Info View
The Measurement Info View window contains measurement information for the selected chassis.
Label
Chassis
Location
Property Name
Property Unit
Property Value
Description
Specifies the path, default alias, or Component ID of the chassis, depending on the option set for the Tree View:
• Default: The path follows the hierarchy displayed in the Tree
View.
• Alias: The default alias displays. If a user-defined alias exists, it displays instead.
• Component ID: The CIM path displays.
Specifies the chassis component whose measurement information displays.
Specifies the type of measurement information displayed for the chassis component.
Indicates the units the measurement information is recorded in.
Indicates the measurement.
Viewing Measurement History
Use this command to specify a time frame and the number records to display. For example, if you want to view all temperature measurements for a specific node chassis over the last week, you select the node chassis, specify the number of records that you want to display and a time interval of seven days. You can save the information in .txt or .csv file format for later reference.
1
From the Tree View, select the system or one or more collectives, cabinets, or chassis.
Tip: You can also use Tools > Multi Select to make selections.
64 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 5 Managing Component Information
Measurement Information
2
3
Do one of the following:
• Select Event Mgmt > Measurement History.
• From the toolbar, click Measurement History.
From the Measurement History dialog box, select from the following options:
4
Option
Number of records displayed
Do not limit time
Records before this time
Description
Specifies the maximum number of records to display in the
Measurement History window.
Displays the most recent record first.
Displays records before the date and time that you specify.
Records after this time
Displays records after the date and time that you specify.
Records between this time
Displays records between the two dates and times that you specify.
Records for the last
Displays records recorded within the time frame that you specify. Values are 1-60 seconds, minutes, hours, or days.
Click Ok to display the results in the Measurement History window.
Tip: If the total number of records for your query exceeds the number of records that you selected to display, click Previous and Next to display the remaining records.
Measurement History
The Measurement History window contains the measurement history of each selected chassis.
Label
Records for
Description
Specifies the path, default alias, or Component ID of the chassis, depending on the option set for the Tree View. If you select only one chassis, this field does not display.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
65
Chapter 5 Managing Component Information
Measurement Information
Label
Previous / Next buttons
Chassis
Type
Model
Time Stamp
Location
Property Name
Unit
Property Value
Managed Element ID
Description
When the number of records retrieved exceeds the Number of
records displayed option, which is set in the Measurement
History dialog box, you can use Next and Previous to display more records.
Specifies the path, default alias, or Component ID of the chassis, depending on the option set for the Tree View.
Indicates the type of chassis.
Indicates the model of chassis.
Specifies the date and time the measurement was performed.
Identifies the location of the component performing the measurement.
Specifies the chassis component whose measurement information is displayed.
Indicates the units the measurement information is recorded in.
Indicates the measurement.
Specifies the CIM path of the component whose measurement information is displayed. This is the unique name assigned to the component.
Generating Measurement Graphs
Using Predefined System Queries to Generate Measurement Graphs
You can use predefined system queries to retrieve information from the CMIC Measurement
Database and generate graphs for components in the system.
1
2
Select Event Mgmt > Measurement Graph > Predefined Queries > System Queries.
From the Measurement Graph Manager, select one of the following:
Option
Front Panel
Temperature: All
Readings
Front Panel
Temperature:
Recent
UPS Input Power:
Grouped by
Cabinet
Query Description
Retrieves all front panel and ambient temperature data for all nodes and
CMICs in the system. The query generates an xy graph that plots the temperature change, in Celsius, as measured over time.
Retrieves the most recent front panel or ambient temperature data of each node and CMIC in the system. The query generates a bar graph that shows the temperature reading of each sensor, in Celsius, for each component.
Retrieves data for all UPSs in the system, grouped by cabinet, and uses the data in the following formula to calculate UPS power consumption: average input watts = average input current (A RMS) multiplied by average input voltage (V RMS)
Note: RMS is Root Mean Square, the method used to average the volts.
66 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 5 Managing Component Information
Measurement Information
3
Option Query Description
UPS Input Power:
Recent
UPS Output Watts:
Grouped by
Cabinet
The resulting xy graph plots the power consumption (UPS Input Watts
RMS) for the UPSs in each cabinet, as measured over time.
Retrieves the most recent data for al UPSs in the system, grouped by cabinet, and use the data in the following formula to calculate UPS power consumption: average input watts = average input current (A RMS) multiplied by average input voltage (V RMS)
Note: RMS is Root Mean Square, the method used to average the volts.
The resulting stacked bar graph plots the power consumption (UPS Input
Watts RMS) for the UPSs in each cabinet, as measured over time:
• Each bar represents one cabinet. The height of the bar represents the sum of the average input watts of all the UPSs in the cabinet.
• Each band of color in the bar represents one UPS in the cabinet. To find the average input watts of each individual UPS, take the value from the top of the band and subtract the value from the bottom of the band.
Adds the output watts of each UPS in a cabinet and displays an xy graph of the output power of each cabinet, in watts, as measured over time.
Click Create Graph.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
67
Chapter 5 Managing Component Information
Measurement Information
Bar Graph of Most Recent Temperature Readings
68
Using Predefined Cabinet-Level Queries to Generate Measurement Graphs
You can use a predefined cabinet-level query to retrieve information from the CMIC
Measurement Database and generate a temperature graph for the nodes and CMICs in one or more selected cabinets.
1
From the Tree View, select one or more processing node cabinets.
2
Select Event Mgmt > Measurement Graph >
Predefined Queries > Cabinet-Level
Queries.
3
4
From the Measurement Graph Manager, select Front Panel Temperature: Selected
Cabinet(s).
Click Create Graph.
An xy graph is created that plots the temperature change, in Celsius, as measured over time.
Using Custom Queries to Generate Graphs
Use the Measurement Graph Manager to create and work with custom queries. The custom queries retrieve information from the CMIC Measurement Database for the selected components, and generate graphs based on the queries. You use the SQL Statement tab to edit the SQL statement generated from the options selected on the General tab. You can also edit, rename, and delete existing custom queries.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 5 Managing Component Information
Measurement Information
1
2
3
From the Tree View, select one or more chassis.
Note: A message appears if you select a chassis that do not have sensors in common.
Select Event Mgmt > Measurement Graph > Custom Queries.
On the Measurement Graph Manager dialog box, do one of the following options:
Option
Create a new custom query
Description a.
In the Measurement Graph dialog box, choose the sensor, graph, and time criteria options that you want to use.
Note: You can select only one unit of measurement from the Sensors list; for example, Amps. You can, however, expand the unit of measurement and select one or more individual sensors; for example, node or CMIC Power
Supply : PS1 +12V Current.
b.
If you want to edit the resulting SQL query, click the SQL tab.
c.
Click Create Graph.
d.
Do one of the following:
• Save the custom query or graph.
• Close the graph without saving the custom query or graph.
• To work with a different chassis or set of chassis, close the graph, click
Cancel on the Measurement Graph dialog box, and repeat all steps.
Edit an existing custom query a.
b.
c.
Select an existing custom query and click Edit.
In the Measurement Graph dialog box, make the applicable changes on the
General tab and, if applicable, the SQL tab.
Click Create Graph.
d.
Do one of the following:
• Save the custom query or graph.
• Close the graph without saving the custom query or graph.
• To work with a different chassis or set of chassis, close the graph, click
Cancel on the Measurement Graph dialog box, and repeat all steps.
Rename an existing custom query
Delete an existing custom query a.
a.
b.
Select an existing custom query and click Rename.
b.
From the Rename Query dialog box, in the Enter new name for query box, type the new name and click Save.
Select an existing custom query and click Delete.
From the Delete Query dialog box, click Yes.
Measurement Graph Options for Custom Queries
The General tab allows you to create a custom query and generate a graph based on your choice of hardware sensors. When you select more than one chassis, the tab contains only the units of measurement and hardware sensors that the selected chassis have in common.
For example, two 5600 nodes have more sensors in common than one 5600 node and one
5500 node.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
69
Chapter 5 Managing Component Information
Measurement Information
Area / Label
# Component(s) Selected
Sensors
Amps
Amps RMS (Root Mean
Square)
Celsius
Count
MB
Milliamps
Milliwatts
Percent
RPM
Volts
Description
Indicates the default alias or CIM path for the selected chassis. If a user-defined alias exists, it is displayed instead of the default alias.
Specifies the unit of measurement for the current of node or CMIC power supplies. When you select Amps, all available power supply sensors are selected. You can expand Amps to individually select one or more power supply sensors.
Specifies the unit of measurement for UPS input current. When you select Amps RMS, all available power supply sensors are selected. You can expand Amps RMS to individually select one or more power supply sensors.
Specifies the unit of measurement for temperature. When you select Celsius, all available temperature sensors are selected. You can expand Celsius to individually select one or more temperature sensors.
Specifies a count of operating system processes, threads, and handles running on a CMIC. When you select Count, all operating system items are selected. You can expand Count to individually select one or more operating system items.
Specifies a count of the megabytes of memory used on a CMIC.
When you select MB, all memory measurements are selected. You can expand MB to individually select one or more types of memory measurements.
Indicates a measure of the current that is transmitted by a port on the BYA32S chassis.
Indicates a measure of the power that is used to transmit a message through a port on the BYA32S chassis.
• Nodes: Specifies the percent of thermal control on processors.
When you select Percent, all processors are selected. You can expand Percent to individually select one or more processors.
• CMICs: Specifies the percent of space available on CMIC hard drives. When you select Percent, all drives are selected. You can expand Percent to individually select one or more drives.
Indicates the revolutions per minute of baseboard fans on nodes or
CMICs. When you select RPM, all available fans are selected. You can expand RPM to individually select one or more fans.
• Nodes and CMICs: Specifies the unit of measurement for a variety of system baseboard and processor power sensors on nodes or CMICs. When you select Volts, all available power sensors are selected. You can expand Volts to individually select one or more power sensors.
• UPSs: Specifies the unit of measurement for UPS battery voltage. When you select Volts, Battery: Battery Voltage is automatically selected.
70 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 5 Managing Component Information
Measurement Information
Area / Label
Graph Options
Graph Title
Description
• BYA32S chassis: Specifies the unit of measurement for the volts received by the port.
Volts RMS (Root Mean Square) Specifies the unit of measurement for UPS input or output voltage.
When you select Volts RMS, all available voltage sensors are selected. You can expand Volts RMS to individually select one or more voltage sensors.
Watts
• Nodes and CMICs: Specifies the unit of measurement for node or CMIC power supply gauges. When you select Watts, both gauges are selected. You can expand Watts to individually select one or more gauges.
• UPSs: Specifies the unit of measurement for UPS output watts.
When you select Watts, Output: Output Watts is automatically selected.
Identifies the name that you want to use for the graph. The title appears at the top of the generated graph.
Time Series
Bar Graph
Retrieves the data for the sensors that you selected in Sensors and generates an xy graph that plots the change, as measured in the relevant unit of measurement, over the time specified in Time
Options.
Retrieves the data for the sensors that you selected in Sensors and generates a bar graph that shows the latest measurements for each of the selected sensors within the time specified in Time Options.
Periodic Groups
Retrieves the data for the sensors that you selected in Sensors and uses the setting in Group values into intervals of to cluster the data into groups. The query calculates the average value of each group, then plots the average value, instead of all values that made up the group, over the time specified in Time Options.
• Overlay standard deviation lines: Calculates the standard deviation of each group, and then draws a vertical line through the point, where the bottom of the line indicates the average -
the standard deviation and the top of the line indicates the
average + the standard deviation.
• Group values into intervals of: Determines the size of the group. Options are:
• automatic: Calculates how many days of data are available in the CMIC Measurement Database. If less than 30 days, the query groups the data by 3-day intervals. If more than
30 days, but less than 60 days, the query groups the data in
1-week intervals. Between 60 and 120 days the query groups the data into 2-week intervals, and anything more than 120 days is grouped into monthly intervals.
• 3 days: Groups the data by 3-day intervals.
• 1 week: Groups the data by 1-week intervals.
• 2 weeks: Groups the data by 2-week intervals.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
71
Chapter 5 Managing Component Information
Measurement Information
Area / Label
Use delta values
Description
• 1 month: Groups the data by monthly intervals.
Note: If the time specified in Time Options is less than the interval, the query clusters all the data into one point.
Graphs differences, that is, deltas, between measurement data points. This is helpful when two sets of data differ by significant amounts.
Time Options
Do not restrict time
Before this time (inclusive)
After this time (inclusive)
Between these times
Within the last
Retrieves all measurements stored in the CMIC Measurement
Database.
Retrieves measurements stored before the time specified in Start
date.
Retrieves measurements stored after the time specified in Start
date.
Retrieves measurements stored between the times specified in
Start date and End date.
Retrieves measurements for one of the following intervals: Day,
Week, Month, 2 Months, 3 Months, or 6 Months.
Saving Queries and Graphs
1
2
3
Create a graph.
On the Graph window, click Save.
Depending on the type of graph, do one of the following options:
Option
Save a system or cabinet-level measurement graph in HTML format
Description a.
In the Save Graph Window dialog box, in the File Name box, type the file name.
Note: Do not use a file extension.
b.
Click Save.
The file is saved, in HTML format, to the location indicated in the dialog box.
Save a custom query or graph
In the Save Graph Window dialog box, the graph title is automatically entered in the File Name and Save query as boxes, if used.
a.
To change the file name or query name, do one of the following:
Note: Do not use a file extension.
• To save only the graph, in the File Name box, type the file name.
• To save only the custom query, in the Save query as box, type a name for the query.
72 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Option
Chapter 5 Managing Component Information
Measurement Information
Description
• To save both the graph and the custom query, in the File Name box, type the file name, and in the Save query as box, type a name for the query.
b.
Click Save.
If there is a file name in File Name, the graph is saved in HTML format.
If there is a query name in Save Query as, the query is saved and appears in the Measurement Graph Manager dialog box.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
73
Chapter 5 Managing Component Information
Measurement Information
74 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
CHAPTER 6
Connecting to System Components
Connecting to Components from the Tree View
You can select components in the Tree View and use the Connect command to connect to the components. You can connect to a variety of components, such as CMICs, nodes, VMSs, and switches.
1
2
3
From the Tree View, select the component to which you want to connect.
Do one of the following:
• Select Functions > Connect.
• From the toolbar, click Connect.
For components with more than one way to connect, the Connect dialog box appears.
Select the connection type that you want to use as noted in the following table.
Connection types vary, depending on the component selected.
For example, components without web interfaces do not support the Http or Https connection types. The options offered are based on what the chassis supports.
Option
Console
Secure Shell
(SSH)
Telnet
Terminal
Services
Description
Allows you to make a console connection to the component using the New
Connection dialog box. This option is used to display the component's messages during the BIOS booting process or to access the BIOS setup.
Allows you to make an SSH connection using the New Connection dialog box.
Port 22 is always used for SSH connections.
Allows you to make a Telnet connection using the New Connection dialog box.
This option is only available if the component's Telnet server is enabled. Port 23 is always used for Telnet connections.
Allows you to make a Terminal Services or Remote Desktop Client connection to
Windows components. This option is available if the path to a Terminal Services
Client is specified in the Options dialog box, which is available from Tools >
Options on the SMClient Main window.
Note: If you are running SMClient on Linux, and you connect to a Windows node, the Terminal Services connection is not available.
Http / Https Displays the web page (http) or secure web page (https) for devices that offer a web interface. Default ports are:
• http: 80
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
75
Chapter 6 Connecting to System Components
Connecting to Components from the Tree View
4
Option Description
• https: 443
If SMClient is connected through the private network, the user's default browser is opened to the chassis's private address. If SMClient is connected through the customer network, a web proxy provides access to the web interface through port
7755. Only one web proxy can be enabled at a time for each customer IP.
Click Ok.
If the Prompt for connection settings check box is selected on the Options dialog box, which is available from Tools > Options on the SMClient Main window, the New
Connection dialog box appears; otherwise, the Client Connections Window is displayed.
The Window Tab
The Window tab on the New Connection dialog box allows you to specify display options for the Client Connections Window.
Note: This tab displays only when you click Functions > Connect or select Connect from the toolbar.
Option Description
Display Connections Manager Displays the Connections Manager in the Client Connections
Window.
Hide terminals until requested Opens the Client Connections Window with all terminal windows hidden.
Open connection(s) in separate Client Connections
Window
Window Options
When making multiple connections, displays each connection in a separate Client Connections Window. The settings in the
Window tab are used for all the windows.
Displays the Options dialog box for the Client Connections
Window. The options are used for the connection. See Client
Connections Window Display Options .
The Terminal Tab
The Terminal tab on the New Connection and New Address Book Entry dialog boxes allows you to specify options related to the terminal type and display.
Option
Terminal Type
Description
Specifies the type of terminal to emulate: ansi-bbs, pc-ansi, vt100,
vt100+, or vt-utf8.
In addition, a Preferred setting is available through Functions >
Connect, which obtains the selected component’s default terminal type from a CMIC and uses the default to connect to the selected component.
76 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 6 Connecting to System Components
Connecting to Components from the Tree View
Option
Restore Defaults
Encoding
Rows
Columns
Foreground Color
Background Color
Adjust the number of rows and columns to fit the display area
Font Name
Font Size
... (button)
Buffer Rows
Buffer Columns
Cursor Size
Tab Size
Line Wrap
Scroll Screen
Description
Returns the values on the Terminal tab to their default settings.
Indicates the type of encoding used to display data in the terminal.
The default is ASCII.
Sets the number of rows to display in the terminal. The number of
Rows in the Display area cannot be greater than the number of
Rows in the Buffer area.
Sets the number of columns to display in the terminal. The number of Columns in the Display area cannot be greater than the number of Columns in the Buffer area.
Specifies the font color to use in the terminal.
Specifies the background color to use in the terminal.
Allows the number of rows and columns to change dynamically as the width and the height of the terminal window changes.
Displays the name of the current font used in the terminal.
Displays the size of the current font used in the terminal.
Opens the Select Font dialog box, which allows you to change the current font, style, and size of the text that is displayed in a terminal.
Sets the number of rows in the buffer. The number of Rows in the
Buffer area cannot be less than the number of Rows in the Display area.
Sets the number of columns to display in the terminal. The number of Columns in the Buffer area cannot be less than the number of Columns in the Display area.
Specifies the size of the cursor in the terminal.
• Small: The cursor fills part of the lower half of a character cell.
• Medium: The cursor fills the lower half of a character cell.
• Large: The cursor fills a character cell.
Indicates the number of character cells that a tab character spans.
The default is 4 character cells.
Causes text to line wrap if the number of columns a line of text spans is greater than the number of columns in the buffer.
Causes the terminal to scroll to the active cursor position when either the server or the user enters text into the terminal.
The Telnet Tab
The Telnet Tab on the New Connection and New Address Book Entry dialog boxes allows you to specify Telnet options. If you are connecting to an SMP node, the node's Telnet server must be enabled before you can make a Telnet connection.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
77
Chapter 6 Connecting to System Components
Connecting to Components from the Tree View
Option
Local Echo
Description
When you enter text, this setting causes the client, not the server, to echo user input.
Send CR as telnet
<CR><NULL>
Causes the Enter key to send a Carriage Return/NULL (0) sequence to the server instead of the Carriage Return/Line Feed sequence.
Receive data in binary mode
Causes the server to send data in binary mode.
Send data in binary mode
Escape Character
Causes data to be sent to the server in binary mode.
Specifies the character used to escape from the current interactive session. When you enter the escape character, a command prompt displays at the terminal. The command prompt allows you to send specific Telnet commands or enter commands that change options.
For more information, type help
at the command prompt. When you finish, use the escape character to return to the interactive session.
Restore Defaults
Resets the settings in the Telnet tab to their default values.
The SSH/SFTP Tab
The SSH/SFTP tab on the New Connection and New Address Book Entry dialog boxes allows you to specify options for SSH and SFTP connections. If you are connecting to a node, the SSH server must be enabled on the node before you can make an SSH connection or use
SFTP. The options you set on the SSH/SFTP tab depend on how the SSH server is configured on the nodes.
There are four types of client authentication that can be configured on the SSH server on the nodes:
• Host-based authentication (by host)
• Public key authentication (by user)
• Password authentication (default)
• Keyboard interactive authentication
Allows for any authentication method that only requires keyboard input
Note: For more information about configuring SSH Server host and private key authentication on Linux or Windows nodes, see the OpenSSH documentation available online at openssh.org
. Man pages are available on Linux nodes, and an OpenSSH-Help.htm
file is available on Windows nodes.
Password authentication is used as the default until you use the Set Keys dialog box to specify the necessary keys for using host-based and public key authentication:
• If a host key is specified, and the SSH server allows host-based authentication, then hostbased authentication is attempted.
• If no host key is specified, or if host-based authentication fails, and a user key is specified, and the SSH server allows public key authentication, then public key authentication is attempted.
Note: The Client Connections Window can be used to generate the host and user keys to be used with host-based and public key authentication.
78 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 6 Connecting to System Components
Connecting to Components from the Tree View
• If no user key is specified, or if public key authentication fails, and the SSH server allows password authentication, then password authentication is attempted.
• If password authentication fails, and the SSH server allows keyboard interactive authentication, then keyboard interactive authentication is attempted.
• If keyboard interactive authentication fails, an Authentication Failed message displays and the connection is closed.
Host-based authentication process when connecting to an SSH server
1.
The hosts file is checked to see if the server is trusted.
2.
If the server is not trusted a message states that the host is unknown.
3.
A message is displayed that asks if you would like to trust the host.
• If you enter
No
, the connection is closed.
• If you enter
Yes
, the connection proceeds as usual.
• If you enter
Always
, then the unknown host is added to the hosts file and you are no longer prompted about trust on subsequent connections to the same server.
Option
Default Username
Set Keys
Hosts File
Algorithms
Local Home Directory
Restore Defaults
SSH Escape Character
Description
Specifies the name that is used to log on to the SMClient.
Displays the Set Keys dialog box, which specifies the host and user keys to be used with the host-based and public key authentication.
• Host Private Key File: Contains the location and name of the host private key file. To specify a host key for host-based authentication, use Browse to locate the appropriate file.
• User Private Key File: Contains the location and name of the user private key file. To specify a user key for public key authentication, use Browse to locate the appropriate file.
• User Key Passphrase: Specifies the password/string used to decrypt the user's private key.
Tip: Use the Tools > Generate Key command in the Client
Connection Window to generate host and user keys.
Specifies the Name or IP address and public key of SSH servers that are trusted by the user. To specify the location of the Hosts
File, use Browse to locate the file. The default folder name is .ssh, which is located under the userhome directory.
Message Authentication and Encryption settings are for advanced users. For more information, see the SSH server documentation.
This setting applies only to SFTP. SFTP is a protocol that uses the
SSH communication protocol to transfer files securely across a network. To set a local directory, use Browse. The default is the local working directory, userhome.
Resets the settings in the SSH/SFTP tab to their default values.
Specifies the character used to escape from the current interactive session. When you enter the escape character, a command prompt displays at the terminal. The command prompt allows you to enter
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
79
Chapter 6 Connecting to System Components
Shortcuts for Connecting to a CMIC
Option Description
commands to change the terminal emulation type. For more information, type help
at the command prompt. When you finish, use the escape character to return to the interactive session.
Generating SSH Keys for Use with the SSH Protocol
You can generate keys for use with the SSH protocol's host-based and public key authentication. After the keys are generated, you must place the public key file on the nodes.
Note: The location of the private key file is specified in the Set Keys dialog box, which can be accessed from the SSH/SFTP tab.
1
2
From the Client Connections Window, select Tools > Generate Keys.
In the Key Generator dialog box, configure the following options to generate a key.
Option
Key Location
Password
Description
Specifies the location where the public and private keys are stored. For example, if you enter
C:\Temp\key
, the private key is stored in
C:\Temp
\key
and the public key is stored in
C:\Temp\key.pub
.
Use Browse to navigate to the location where you want to store the key files.
Indicates the password that should be used to protect the private key file. If no password is specified, a message asks you to confirm that you want the private key stored in clear text.
Note: Host-based keys should be password protected.
Algorithm
Specifies whether you want to use the RSA or DSA key algorithm.
Verify Password Verifies that you entered the correct password in the Password box.
Key Size
Indicates the size of the key in bits. The key size must be an integer value from
512 to 2048.
Public Key
Format
Identifies the format of the public key. Select from IETF (Internet
Engineering Task Force) or OpenSSH.
Shortcuts for Connecting to a CMIC
The CMIC Summary displays information about a selected CMIC. The summary is also a gateway for field and development personnel to perform CMIC, Server Management, and cabinet administration functions.
1
To access the CMIC, use any of the following options:
Option
SMClient Menu
Description a.
From the Tree View, select the CMIC.
b.
Select Functions > Manage CMIC.
80 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 6 Connecting to System Components
Shortcuts for Connecting to a CMIC
Option Description c.
If prompted, log on to the CMIC.
SMClient Toolbar
SMClient CMICs Tab a.
From the SMClient, in the right pane, click the CMICs tab.
b.
Click the link for the CMIC that you want to access.
c.
If prompted, log on to the CMIC.
SMWeb Home Page a.
From the Tree View, select the CMIC.
b.
From the toolbar, click Manage CMIC.
c.
If prompted, log on to the CMIC.
a.
From the SMWeb Home page, click Network, Devices, and CMICs.
b.
If prompted, log on to the CMIC.
c.
Click the link for the CMIC that you want to access.
The CMICs Tab
Use the CMICs tab on the SMClient Main window to view a summary of the CMICs in the domain. The tab shows each CMIC in the system (identified by its system, collective, cabinet, and chassis ID) and displays information about the CMIC and the collective it manages.
This view is automatically updated when the CMIC information changes. In rare instances, if the information does not appear to be correct, use Refresh to update the display.
Column
CMIC ID
Primary Network
Description
Specifies the system, collective, cabinet, and chassis ID numbers for the
CMIC.
Identifies the IP address for the CMIC's primary network connection.
Click the link to connect to the CMIC over the primary network.
Secondary Network
Availability
Identifies the IP address for the CMIC's secondary network connection.
Click the link to connect to the CMIC over the secondary network.
Specifies the overall status of the CMIC. Indicates whether the CMIC is up, resetting, or unavailable.
Primary Availability
Specifies the status of the CMIC's primary network. Indicates whether the
CMIC is up, resetting, or unavailable.
Secondary Availability Specifies the status of the CMIC's secondary network. Indicates whether the CMIC is up, resetting, or unavailable.
Collectives Hosted
Specific Chassis
Hosted
Version
Functionality
Identifies the collective ID numbers for all collectives managed by the
CMIC.
Identifies the ID numbers of the CMICs and VMSs that the CMIC is monitoring.
Indicates the CMIC Image version that is installed on the CMIC.
Identifies the functionality of the CMIC.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
81
Chapter 6 Connecting to System Components
Connecting to Components from the Client Connections Window
Connecting to Components from the Client
Connections Window
1
2
To open the Client Connections Window, from SMClient, select Tools > Client
Connections Window.
From the Client Connections Window, select Connection > New.
The New Connection dialog box displays.
Client Connections Window Display Options
You can customize the display of the Client Connections Window. For example, you can configure where you want the Connections Manager to appear on the Client Connections
Window, specify which columns you want to display in the Connections Manager, and whether to use a vertical, horizontal, or grid layout.
Option
Connections Layout
Tile Layout
Enable Ctrl+C/Ctrl+V for
Copy/Paste
Enable Ctrl+Tab for Terminal
Traversal
Location
Display Send To toolbar
Number of connections to display per line
Description
Specifies the type of layout that you want to use in the Client
Connections Window:
• Desktop: Displays each connection in its own window on the desktop.
• Extracted: Displays each connection in its own frame outside of the Client Connections Window.
Note: When you use this option, if the Connections Manager is not already displayed, it displays, and all frames are automatically hidden. To display the terminal windows, use the
Client Connection Window View > Display Selected or View
> Display All command. In addition, each extracted window contains Connection, Edit, and Help menus.
• Tabbed: Displays each connection on a separate tab.
Specifies whether to use a Vertical, Horizontal, or Grid layout when you use the Window > Tile command in the Client
Connections Window.
Allows you to use Ctrl+C for the copy command, and Ctrl+V for the paste command. If the check box is cleared, Ctrl+C and Ctrl
+V are sent to the server.
Allows you to use Ctrl+Tab to activate the next terminal in the stack. If the check box is cleared, Ctrl+Tab is sent to the server.
Specifies whether the Connections Manager is located at the Top,
Bottom, Left, or Right in the Client Connections Window.
Displays the Send To toolbar at the top of the Connections
Manager.
Specifies whether to split the connections into more than one table. All open connections are distributed among the number of tables that you specify. This setting is useful in large systems.
82 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Option
Columns Displayed
Chapter 6 Connecting to System Components
Connecting to Components from the Client Connections Window
Description
Specifies which columns are displayed in the Connections
Manager: Name, Status, Last Line, Terminal Type, IP Address,
Port, Protocol Type, Time Established, and Time Elapsed.
The Connect Tab
The Connect tab on the New Connection and New Address Book Entry dialog boxes allows you to specify generic connection options, such as information about the remote host that you want to connect to. For example, you can provide the port number and domain name or IP address of the component to which you want to connect. The port number and other connection information is retained for future connections.
Note: If the Prompt for connection settings check box is selected on the Options dialog box, which is available from Tools > Options on the SMClient Main window, the New
Connection dialog box appears; otherwise, the Client Connections Window is displayed.
Option
Host
Protocol
Port
Name
Capture text or data to file
Mode
File
Description
Specifies the domain name or the IP address of the host to which to connect. This is a required setting.
Indicates the protocol used to establish the connection. Available options are: SFTP (Secure File Transfer Protocol), SSH (Secure
Shell), and Telnet.
Indicates the port to connect to on the remote host. This is a required setting.
The default for Telnet is 23. The default for SSH and SFTP is 22. If this field is greater than 65,535, an error message appears.
Specifies the name (alias) of the component or the path to the component. The path follows the hierarchy that is displayed in the
Tree View. If no name is specified, then the host and port number
(host name (port number)) are used.
This setting is used as the title of the terminal frame or tab in the
Client Connections Window. It is also used to refer to the connection in the Connection Manager.
Allows you to capture data or text sent from the server and save it to a file.
When the Capture text or data to file check box is selected, this setting specifies the capture mode:
• Data: Saves the data interpreted by the terminal, and the text, to a file.
• Text: Saves only the text to a file.
When the Capture text or data to file check box is selected, this setting specifies the path and file name for the file where you want to save the text or data.
The default path is
userhome\smclient\host\capture.txt
.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
83
Chapter 6 Connecting to System Components
Connecting to Components from the Client Connections Window
Option
Browse
Description
When the Capture text or data to file check box is selected, click this button to display the Open dialog box, where you can specify the name and path of the file to which you want to save text or data.
Working with Terminal Windows
Opening Terminal Windows
1
From the Client Connections Window, select Connection > Open.
This opens connections whose addresses are stored in the Address Book.
Hiding and Displaying Terminal Windows
If no terminal windows are open, the commands are not available for use.
1
From the Client Connections Window View menu, use the following commands to either hide or display a terminal window:
Command Description
Hide terminal
Hides the active terminal window.
• If you use the Tree View to connect to the component, the component name set with the Tools > Options command displays in quotation marks.
• If you did not use the Tree View to connect to the component, hostname
(port number) displays in quotation marks.
Hide Selected
Hides the terminal connections that you selected in the Connections
Manager.
Hide All
Hides all open terminal windows.
Display Selected Displays the terminal connections that you selected in the Connections
Manager.
Display All
Displays all terminal windows.
Modifying the Display of Terminal Windows and Terminal Icons
When you collapse a terminal window, you can choose how the window icon displays. If no active terminal exists, or if the Tabbed layout is used, these commands are not available for use.
1
From the Client Connections Window Window menu, select from any of the following commands:
Command Description
Arrange Icons Arranges window icons in the lower portion of the Client Connections
Window.
84 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 6 Connecting to System Components
Connecting to Components from the Client Connections Window
Command
Cascade
Description
Displays each terminal window below and to the right of the window behind it in the Client Connections Window. This command does not display terminal windows outside the boundary of the Client Connections Window.
Tiles terminal frames within the Connection Desktop Pane.
Tile
Working with Text in a Terminal Window or the Connections Manager
1
From the Client Connections Window Edit menu, select from any of the following commands:
Command Description
Clear Terminal Clears the buffer of the active terminal.
Note: This option is not available in the Connections Manager.
Copy
Copies the selected text from an active terminal or the Connections Manager to the system clipboard.
Paste
Pastes text from the system clipboard into the active terminal or the
Connections Manager. You can also click the right mouse button.
Select All
Selects all text in the active terminal or the Connections Manager.
Deselect All
Deselects all text in the active terminal or the Connections Manager.
Viewing the Properties of Existing Connections
If no terminal windows are open, the commands on the Connection menu are not available for use.
1
2
Do one of the following:
• If Tabbed layout is used, click the connection tab.
• If Desktop layout is used, select the connection's terminal window or icon.
• If the Client Connections Manager displays, select the connection row.
From the Client Connections Window Connection menu, select from the following commands:
Command
Properties
terminal
Properties for
Selected
Description
Displays the properties of the connection.
• If you use the Tree View to connect to the component, the component name set with the Tools > Options command displays in quotation marks.
• If you did not use the Tree View to connect to the component, hostname
(port number) displays in quotation marks.
Displays the properties of the connection that you selected in the Connections
Manager. This command is available for use only if the Connections Manager is open and is active when only one connection is selected.
The properties are displayed in the Properties dialog box, which contains a Connect tab, a
Terminal tab, and either a Telnet tab or SSH/SFTP tab, depending upon the type of
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
85
Chapter 6 Connecting to System Components
Connecting to Components from the Client Connections Window connection. The options on the tab match those on the New Connection dialog box; however, some options are not available because they cannot be modified.
Reconnecting to a Terminal Window
When a connection in a terminal window is lost, you can re-establish the connection from the Client Connections Window. If no terminal windows are open, the commands are not available for use.
1
From the Client Connections Window Connection menu, select from the following commands:
Command
Reconnect
terminal
Reconnect
Selected
Description
Re-establishes the specified connection.
• If you use the Tree View to connect to the component, the component name set with the Tools > Options command displays in quotation marks.
• If you did not use the Tree View to connect to the component, hostname
(port number) displays in quotation marks.
Re-establishes the connections that you selected in the Connections Manager.
This command is available for use only when the Connections Manager is open.
Saving Open Connections to the Address Book
You can store one or more open connections in the Address Book.
1
From the Client Connections Window Connection menu, select from the following commands:
Command Description
Save terminal Saves the connection in the active terminal window.
• If you use the Tree View to connect to the component, the component name set with the Tools > Options command displays in quotation marks.
• If you did not use the Tree View to connect to the component, hostname (port
number) displays in quotation marks.
Save Selected Saves the connections that you selected in the Connections Manager. This command is available for use only when the Connections Manager is open.
Save All
Saves all active connections.
Closing an Existing Connection
If no terminal windows are open, the commands are not available for use.
1
From the Client Connections Window Connection menu, select from the following commands:
Command Description
Close terminal Terminates the connection in the active terminal window and closes the terminal window.
86 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 6 Connecting to System Components
Connecting to Components from the Client Connections Window
Command Description
• If you use the Tree View to connect to the component, the component name set with the Tools > Options command displays in quotation marks.
• If you did not use the Tree View to connect to the component, hostname
(port number) displays in quotation marks.
Close Selected Terminates the connections that you selected in the Connections Manager and closes the applicable terminal windows. This command is available for use only when the Connections Manager is open.
Close All
Terminates all active connections and closes all open terminal windows.
Working with the Connections Manager
You access the Connections Manager from the Window > Connections Manager command in the Client Connections Window. The Connections Manager:
• Lists each open connection and displays information about the connection.
• Has an optional Send to toolbar that allows you to send commands to multiple hosts at the same time.
When working in the Connections Manager, you can:
• Move and resize columns in a table
• Sort the columns
• Select one or more rows
• Use the commands in the Client Connections Window Edit and View menus
• Choose commands from pop-up menus
Note: You can also choose commands from pop-up menus in terminal window title bars.
The active terminal window and the Connections Manager are not dependent on one another.
Sending Commands to Multiple Hosts
Use the Send command located in the Connections Manager to send commands to multiple hosts at the same time. For example, you can use it to send the login and password, or once logged on use it to list files in a directory.
1
2
3
If you want input to be sent only to select terminals, in the Connections Manager, select the terminals.
Specify where the command should be sent to All terminals or Selected terminals.
In the Mode list, select one of the following options:
• To send input one command at a time in the Send box, select Command.
• To hide the input as you type it in the Send box, and send the input one command at a time, select Password.
• To send input as you type it in the Send box, select Keyboard.
Tip: The input displays in the open terminal windows, and all keyboard keys, such as function keys, can be used for input.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
87
Chapter 6 Connecting to System Components
Connecting to Components from the Address Book
4
5
Type or copy and paste the text in the Send box.
Click Send.
Connecting to Components from the Address
Book
1
2
3
4
5
From the Client Connections Window, click Tools > Manage Address Book.
In the Address Book dialog box, on the Content tab, select one or more connection entries or group entries.
If you want to hide the terminals when you open multiple connections, on the Options tab, select the Hide terminals when opening multiple connections check box.
On the Content tab, click Open.
The selected connections open in the Client Connections Window.
Click Ok to close the Address Book.
Working with the Address Book
You can store connections to components as entries in an Address Book. The connection information that is saved in the Address Book is per user, per host. Use either of the following commands to store connections in the Address Book from the Client Connections
Window:
• Tools > Manage Address Book
• Connection > Save
You can open existing stored connections from the Client Connections Window using either of the following commands:
• Connection > Open
• Open command available through Tools > Manage Address Book
The Manage Address Book command also provides commands for managing and editing the entries in the Address Book.
Adding Connections to the Address Book
1
2
3
From the Client Connections Window, click Tools > Manage Address Book.
On the Content tab, click New Entry.
From the New Address Book Entry dialog box, on the Connect tab, do the following:
a b
In the Host box, specify the host that you want to connect to.
Use the Name box to store the connection in the Address Book. If Name is empty, type a name for the connection, or provide a name after you save the connection to the Address Book.
88 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 6 Connecting to System Components
Connecting to Components from the Address Book
f c d e g
Use the Terminal, Telnet, and SSH/SFTP tabs to set the rest of the options that you want.
Click Ok.
The Address Book dialog box displays containing the connection entry.
If you did not provide a name for the connection, the entry is named New
Connection. Click Rename to enter a new name.
To add additional connections, repeat these steps.
To save the connections to the Address Book, click Ok.
Editing Connection Options of an Entry
1
2
3
4
5
6
From the Client Connections Window, select Tools > Manage Address Book.
On the Content tab, select the connection whose options you want to edit.
Click Edit.
In the Address Book Entry dialog box, use the Terminal, Telnet, and SSH/SFTP tabs to edit the rest of the options.
Click Ok.
In the Address Book dialog box, click Ok to save the changes.
Managing Address Book Connections
Organizing and managing entries in the Address Book is similar to organizing and managing folders in a Windows directory. Connection entries can be grouped into folders and subfolders, and included in more than one folder. When you open a group in the
Address Book dialog box, terminal windows for all connections in the group open in the
Client Connections Window.
1
2
From the Client Connections Window, click Tools > Manage Address Book.
On the Content tab, do any of the following options:
Option
Create a group in the
Address Book
Description a.
Select the Address Book folder or an existing group.
b.
Click New Group.
A new folder with the name New Connection Group displays.
c.
Click Rename.
d.
Type a name for the group.
e.
Add connections to the group.
Copy the entries to another location a.
Select one or more individual entries or group entries.
b.
Click Copy, select a group folder or the Address Book folder, and then click Paste.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
89
Chapter 6 Connecting to System Components
Connecting to Components from the Address Book
Option
Move the entries to another location
Description a.
Select one or more individual entries or group entries.
b.
Drag the entries to the group folder or the Address Book folder.
Rename the entry or group a.
Select the entry or group that you want to rename.
b.
Click Rename.
c.
Type the new name for the entry or group.
Remove the entry or group a.
Select the entry or group that you want to remove.
b.
Click Remove.
3
To save the changes and close the Address Book dialog box, click Ok.
Backing Up the Address Book
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
From the Client Connections Window, select Tools > Manage Address Book.
On the Content tab, do one of the following:
• To back up an individual entry, select the entry.
• To back up the entire address book, select Address Book.
Click Export.
The Save dialog box displays and is set to the Documents directory.
If you want to save the backup file to a different directory, select the directory from the
Save In list.
In the File Name box, type a name for the backup file.
Click Save.
To close the Address Book dialog box, click Ok.
Restoring the Address Book
1
2
3
4
5
From the Client Connections Window, select Tools > Manage Address Book.
On the Content tab, click Import.
The Open dialog box displays and is set to the Documents directory.
If the backup file is stored in a different directory, select the directory from the Look In list.
Click Open.
To close the Address Book dialog box, click Ok.
90 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
CHAPTER 7
Servicing Procedures
Using Maintenance Windows
The Maintenance Window command allows you to temporarily suppress Incident Create.
You should open a maintenance window to perform system maintenance, implement a change control, or perform any other task that would generate alerts. Task examples include: rebooting a node, replacing a disk drive in a disk array, installing software, or installing firmware.
You can open a maintenance window for the following:
• System
• Collectives
• Cabinets
• Chassis
• Chassis components
You can schedule a maintenance window ahead of time. During an open maintenance window, Server Management continues to collect data, including summary alerts and reports. Alerts that are processed during the maintenance window period are marked with the TVI_Disposition Ignore_Maintenance and the Summary Alert Escalated is marked
Maintenance On to suppress incident creation. When you close the maintenance window, ensure that you check the Summary Alert Viewer for any pending service actions.
You can extend the duration of the maintenance window while it is open. If you try to extend a maintenance window in certain Server Management failure conditions, such as failover or network down, some alerts may be escalated during the update time period, due to attempts to record from the failure.
Opening a Maintenance Window
1
2
3
From the Tree View, select the system, collective, cabinet, chassis, or chassis component for which you want to open or schedule a maintenance window.
Do one of the following:
• Select Functions > Maintenance Window.
• From the toolbar, click Maintenance Window.
In the Maintenance Window dialog box, complete the following options that apply:
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
91
Chapter 7 Servicing Procedures
Using Maintenance Windows
4
5
Option
Maintenance
Window Status
Name
System
Component
Start Time
End Time
Length of
Maintenance
Comments
Advanced list
Description
Shows whether a maintenance window is open for the system, collective, cabinet, chassis, or component:
• If a maintenance window is open, ON is displayed.
• If no maintenance window is open, OFF is displayed.
Indicates the name used to identify the maintenance window.
Limits the components to within the selected system. From the list, select the specific system, or you can select All to include all components in the Server
Management domain. The default value matches the value selected in the
Tree View.
Identifies the alias of the component in the Tree View on which the maintenance window is open.
Indicates the date and time the maintenance window opens. The default value is the current date and time on the server; however, this can be changed to schedule the maintenance window in advance.
Indicates the date and time the maintenance window closes. The default value is 4 hours later than the value in Start Time and can be changed using this option or by using Length of Maintenance.
Specifies the amount of time that the maintenance window is open. You can select from Hours, Days, or Weeks. The default value is 4 hours. The maximum value is 672 hours, or 4 weeks.
Indicates any additional information about the maintenance window.
• Apply to all: Places all components of the same object class into maintenance, when the check box is selected. Alerts generated for components with a matching object class are ignored.
• Subsystem: Specifies that alerts coming from the component or components within the selected subsystem are ignored. This categorizes alerts by subsystem group alerts that are related by the hardware or software subsystem of origin. For example, if a there is a recurring OS problem on a node, select the node, open a maintenance window, and select a subsystem of OS. Subsystem values include: All, Storage, Power,
Node, OS, Database, Network, ServerMgmt, Client, and Other.
Specifies a list of the maintenance windows that are currently open or scheduled.
Active
Maintenance
Windows list
Click Activate.
In the Information dialog box, click Close.
The new maintenance window appears in the Active Maintenance Window pane on the
Overview tab.
92 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 7 Servicing Procedures
Record Site Activity
Editing a Maintenance Window
1
2
3
4
5
Click the Overview tab, and in the Active Maintenance Windows pane, locate the applicable maintenance window entry.
Click Edit.
From the Maintenance Window dialog box, edit the applicable settings.
Click Update.
From the Information dialog box, click Close.
Tip: You can also edit a maintenance window using the Functions > Maintenance
Window command or by clicking Maintenance Window on the toolbar.
Closing a Maintenance Window
You can close a maintenance window if you finish a task early, and you can delete unneeded, scheduled maintenance windows that have a future date and time. If there are no other open maintenance windows, alerts are no longer marked Ignore_Maintenance. If the time set for a maintenance window expires, it closes automatically.
1
2
3
4
5
Click the Overview tab, and in the Active Maintenance Windows pane, locate the applicable maintenance window entry.
Click the trash can icon.
In the Maintenance dialog box, click Delete.
This closes an open maintenance window or deletes a scheduled maintenance window.
Select the Summary Alerts tab, and check for any pending service actions logged while the maintenance window was open.
From the Tree View, verify that the system is operating normally.
Tip: You can also close a maintenance window using the Functions > Maintenance
Window command or by clicking Maintenance Window on the toolbar.
Record Site Activity
This feature is not available and is reserved for future use.
Enabling the Locator LED
You can illuminate the locator LED on a node, CMIC node, VMS, UPS, disk enclosure, or drive within a disk enclosure. The LED remains illuminated until you turn it off.
1
From the Tree View, select a node, CMIC, VMS, UPS, disk enclosure, or drive within a disk enclosure.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
93
Chapter 7 Servicing Procedures
Replacing Hardware Components (FRUs)
2
3
Do one of the following:
• Select Functions > Locator LED.
• From the toolbar, click Locator LED.
When you have finished, click Disable to turn off the locator LED.
Replacing Hardware Components (FRUs)
Note: Components are serviced or replaced by Teradata Service personnel.
If a Teradata Service agreement is in place, notification or prediction of a failed component is made directly to Teradata Services through TVI software, and Teradata Services responds per the agreement. If the customer does not use TVI, they must create an incident through
Teradata @ Your Service at http://tays.teradata.com
.
The following SMClient commands are used to replace components:
• Functions > Replace FRU
Some Field-Replaceable Units (FRUs) can be replaced with this command, which uses an interactive script to step through the replacement process. Only one FRU Replace command can be active at one time.
• Functions > Power Off and Functions > Power On
Some FRUs are not replaceable with Functions > Replace FRU. Instead, you power off the chassis with Functions > Power
Off, replace the component, and finally power on the chassis with Functions > Power On.
Some FRUs do not need to be powered off in order to replace them. For more information, see the service guide for the chassis.
The appropriate hardware replacement procedures for FRUs can be found in the chassis hardware service guide.
Replacing a Chassis
Note: This procedure is not supported for tape libraries.
1
2
3
4
From the Tree View, select the chassis to be replaced.
Do one of the following:
• Select Functions > Replace FRU.
• From the toolbar, click Replace FRU.
In the Replace FRU dialog box, click Entire chassis.
Click Ok.
When the FRU Replace Procedure window displays, use it to replace the chassis.
94 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 7 Servicing Procedures
Replacing Hardware Components (FRUs)
Replacing a Chassis Component
1
2
3
From the Tree View, select the chassis whose component is to be replaced.
Do one of the following:
• Select Functions > Replace FRU.
• From the toolbar, click Replace FRU.
Do one of the following:
Description Option
Replace a component on a
UPS or BYNET chassis a.
Click the button corresponding to the view that contains the component that you want to replace.
b.
Click the square associated with the component that you want to replace.
c.
In the Replace FRU dialog box, click Yes.
Replace a component on all other chassis a.
In the Replace FRU dialog box, click Chassis component, and then click Ok.
b.
If a FRU Replace Procedure window displays at this time, use it to replace the component.
c.
If you are replacing a disk array component, select the component that you want to replace. For all other components, skip this step.
d.
In the Chassis Layout View window, click the tab that contains the component that you want to replace.
e.
From the tab, click the square associated with the component that you want to replace.
f.
When the FRU Replace Procedure window displays, use it to replace the chassis component.
Replacing a FRU with the FRU Replace Procedure Window
The FRU Replace Procedure window guides you through the procedure for replacing components. Each procedure contains an ordered list of steps and actions that are performed manually or automatically by running a command step. Steps are then run, or skipped, contingent upon user confirmation. Each procedure is assigned a Session ID that prevents simultaneous, conflicting FRU replace procedures for chassis and chassis components managed by a specific component. If you attempt simultaneous FRU replace procedures, a warning message displays that informs you of a conflicting active FRU replace session.
Aborting active FRU replace procedures is not recommended; however, if the application is closed before an active session is complete, the system assumes that the session is still active.
When you restart SMClient and attempt to initiate another session that is in conflict with the previous session, you must abort the previous session.
1
From the FRU Replace Procedure window, for the step highlighted in the left panel, do one of the following:
• In the right pane, follow the process outlined in the Step Description, and then in the left pane, click Ok.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
95
Chapter 7 Servicing Procedures
Checking and Flashing Firmware Versions
2
• If applicable, in the left pane, click Skip.
Repeat each step until the procedure is complete.
Checking and Flashing Firmware Versions
Use the Tools > Firmware Version Checker command to locate out-of-date firmware, as well as flash firmware. Firmware Version Checker highlights the firmware that is out-of-date and displays corresponding information for firmware that can be flashed through Server
Management.
Note: The Firmware Version Checker feature only reports on versions that can be flashed through Server Management. You can obtain the firmware version information of chassis flashed with other applications through Asset information.
You can also flash firmware from the SMClient Functions menu.
About the Firmware Version Checker Window
The Firmware Version Checker window contains a row for each firmware instance in the system. Some components have more than one firmware instance.
The arrow in each column indicates sort order. You can change the component name that displays as well as reload the firmware version for all or selected components.
Firmware Version Checker Columns
Label
Component
Type
Description
Specifies the path, default alias, or Component ID of the component, depending on the option set in the View menu on the Firmware Version
Checker window:
• Alias: The default alias displays. If a user-defined alias exists, it displays instead.
• Name: The path follows the hierarchy displayed in the Tree View.
• ID: The CIM path displays.
Indicates the type of firmware:
• Adapter Card Firmware (UPSs)
• CMIC Image (CMICs)
Note: The CMIC image only displays when you are comparing against the uploaded image.
• Ethernet Switch Firmware (48-port Ethernet switches)
• FCSW Firmware (16-port or 20-port Fibre Channel switches)
• UPS Firmware (UPSs)
• VMS Firmware (VMS)
96 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Label
Available Version
Active Version
Status
Chapter 7 Servicing Procedures
Checking and Flashing Firmware Versions
Description
Note: Firmware on UPS adapters and the UPS cannot be flashed at the same time. For an APC UPS, flash both adapters first, then the UPS. For a
Powerware UPS, flash the adapter first, then the UPS.
Specifies the latest available firmware version from the uploaded CMIC image or the flashed CMIC image, depending on the display.
Identifies the firmware version currently running.
Indicates the relationship between the Available Version and Active
Version columns:
• OK: The firmware version installed is the currently supported version.
• Mismatch: The firmware version installed is not the currently supported version.
• Unknown: The firmware version is missing or unavailable.
When there is a mismatch or missing information, the following colors highlight the row:
• Red: A more current version of the CMIC image is available.
• Yellow: A more current version of firmware is available for all components except the CMIC image.
• Gray: The firmware version information is missing.
Checking Firmware with the Firmware Version Checker
Use the Firmware Version Checker to compare the active, that is currently running, firmware versions against the uploaded or flashed CMIC image.
1
2
3
Do one of the following to open the Firmware Version Checker window:
• Select Tools > Firmware Version Checker.
• From the toolbar, click Firmware Version Checker.
The system checks for an uploaded CMIC image.
If an uploaded CMIC image is located, you are asked if you would like to compare it against the firmware version. Click Yes.
The Firmware Version Checker window displays with mismatches highlighted. You can only view the different versions, since the CMIC image has not yet been flashed.
[Optional] To change how the component name displays in the Firmware Version
Checker window, from the View menu, click Alias, Name or ID.
4
[Optional] To reload firmware versions for one or more components, do one of the following:
Option
Reload the firmware version for the selected component
Description
• Select a single component, and then select View >
Reload.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
97
Chapter 7 Servicing Procedures
Checking and Flashing Firmware Versions
Option
Reload the firmware versions for all components
Description
• Ensure that no components are selected, and then select View > Reload All.
Flashing Firmware from the Firmware Version Checker
1
2
3
4
Do one of the following to open the Firmware Version Checker window:
• Select Tools > Firmware Version Checker.
• From the toolbar, click Firmware Version Checker.
If there is no uploaded CMIC image available, the system does not prompt for comparison.
From the Firmware Version Checker window, select one or more components to flash.
Note: Firmware on UPS adapters and UPSs cannot be flashed at the same time. Flash the firmware on the UPS adapters first, then the firmware on the UPSs. The Powerware UPS has one UPS adapter (ADPCARD.x.x.x.1), the APC UPS has two UPS adapters
(ADPCARD.x.x.x.x.1 and ADPCARD.x.x.x.x.2).
Select Functions > Flash.
When prompted, click Yes.
Flashing Firmware from SMClient Functions Menu or Toolbar
The Functions > Flash Firmware command downloads new firmware to the following components:
• UPS Adapters and UPSs
• Fibre channel switches (16-port and 20-port)
• Ethernet switches (48-port)
When a new version of firmware is released, use the CMIC Monitor to install the currently supported CMIC image on the CMICs before you use the Functions > Flash Firmware command to update UPS adapter, UPS, Fibre Channel switch, or Ethernet switch firmware.
Tip: You can also use the Tools > Firmware Version Checker command or select Firmware
Version Checker from the toolbar to flash firmware.
Flashing UPS Adapters and UPSs
Notice:
When flashing the firmware of APC and Powerware UPS adapters and UPSs, a power check is performed. If the power check fails, a dialog box displays that allows you to force the command to run. Do not force a command to run until you review the notice in
Responding to a Power Check Failure
.
Note: Firmware on UPS adapters and UPSs cannot be flashed at the same time. Flash the firmware on the UPS adapters first, then the firmware on the UPSs. The APC UPS has two
UPS adapters (ADPCARD.x.x.x.x.1 and ADPCARD.x.x.x.x.2). APC UPS firmware is
98 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 7 Servicing Procedures
Checking and Flashing Firmware Versions extracted from ADPCARD.x.x.x.x.1. The Powerware UPS has one UPS adapter
(ADPCARD.x.x.x.1).
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
Download the current version of the CMIC image.
The firmware for both the UPS and UPS adapters is included with the CMIC image. For more information, see the appropriate Hardware Service Guide for your platform.
From the Tree View, select the UPS adapters for each UPS that you want to flash.
Note: If you select more than one pair of UPS adapters in a cabinet, they are flashed one at a time, serially.
Do one of the following:
• Select Functions > Flash Firmware.
• From the toolbar, click Flash Firmware.
At the confirmation dialog box, click Yes.
From the Tree View, select one or more UPSs whose adapter firmware has been flashed.
Note: If you select one or more UPSs in a cabinet, they flash one at a time, serially.
Do one of the following:
• Select Functions > Flash Firmware.
• From the toolbar, click Flash Firmware.
At the confirmation dialog box, click Yes.
Note: When you flash the firmware on the bottom two UPSs in the cabinet (UPS1 and/or UPS2), a short-term primary or secondary network outage may occur.
Flashing Switches
Use the Flash Firmware command to flash either the Fibre Channel switch firmware or the
Ethernet switch firmware.
Note: If you select more than one Fibre Channel switch, the firmware of each switch is flashed one switch at a time, serially. Not every model of Fibre Channel switch can be flashed from SMClient.
1
2
3
4
5
Download the current version of the CMIC image.
The applicable switch firmware is included with the CMIC image. For more information, see the appropriate Hardware Service Guide for your platform.
From the Tree View, select the switch that you want to flash.
Do one of the following:
• Select Functions > Flash Firmware.
• From the toolbar, click Flash Firmware.
At the confirmation dialog box, click Yes.
Depending on the type of switch, do one of the following:
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
99
Chapter 7 Servicing Procedures
Checking and Flashing Firmware Versions
Option
Fibre
Channel
Switch
Ethernet
Switch
Description a.
When the firmware flash completes, click Yes.
b.
When the command status window displays, verify that the flash completed successfully.
c.
If the flash was successful, select the same Fibre Channel switch.
d.
Select Functions > Reset.
e.
At the confirmation dialog box, click Yes.
Note: The system informs you that the switch is temporarily out of service.
f.
When the switch reset completes, click Yes.
g.
Verify the results of the reset by checking the output in the command status window.
a.
When the firmware flash and switch reset completes, click Yes.
b.
Verify that the flash completed successfully and that the switch was reset by checking the output in the command status window.
Flashing VMSs
1
Download the current version of the VMSimage zip file from TSS.
2
3
From SMWeb, click Network, Devices, and CMICs to log on to the CMIC Monitor.
Select CMICs > Firmware Upload.
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
Click Browse to locate the zip file, and then click Upload.
Click Continue to go to the next page.
On the CMIC Selection page, select the CMICs that will get the firmware bundle.
Continue to the next screen where the firmware bundle is distributed to the selected
CMICs.
From the SMClient Tree View, select one or more VMS devices.
Do one of the following:
• Select Functions > Flash Firmware.
• From the toolbar, click Flash Firmware.
At the confirmation dialog box, click Yes.
When the firmware flash completes, click Yes.
If the flash is successful, do the following to reset the VMS devices:
13 a b
Select the same VMS devices.
Select Functions > Reset.
c
At the confirmation dialog box, click Yes.
d
When the reset completes, click Yes.
In the command status window, verify that the flash completed successfully and that the
VMS was reset.
100 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 7 Servicing Procedures
Responding to a Power Check Failure
Responding to a Power Check Failure
When a power check fails, a dialog box displays that allows you to force the applicable command to run.
Notice:
Forcing a command to run should only be done as a last resort, and only under the direction of a Customer Service Representative.
You can force a command to run during any of the following commands.
Command
Reset
Power On
Flash Firmware
UPS Self Test
UPS Input Selector
Test
Component
UPS adapters
Fibre channel switch
System
Cabinet
UPS and UPS adapters
UPS
UPS adapters
UPS
UPS adapters
Resetting Components
When most components are reset, a graceful shutdown is performed and a reboot is attempted. Before starting a reset of a system, node chassis, processing node cabinet, VMS, or VM node, you must shut down the appropriate applications to ensure data integrity.
Notice:
If a component fails the reset, as a last resort, you can perform a hard reset. A hard reset is an immediate reset of the node, VMS, or VM node. Because data corruption on the nodes can occur, you should only perform this command when all other attempts to reset have failed.
The following table lists the components that can be reset.
Component
System
Node Cabinet
CMIC
Node Chassis
VMS
VMs
Result
Attempts a graceful shutdown and reboot of all the nodes in the system.
Attempts a graceful shutdown and reboot of the nodes in the cabinet.
Reboots the CMIC.
Attempts a graceful shutdown and reboot of the specific node.
Attempts a graceful shutdown and reboot of the VMS. This also resets the VMs on the VMS.
Attempts a graceful shutdown and restart of the VM.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
101
Chapter 7 Servicing Procedures
Resetting Components
Component
BYNET Chassis
Ethernet Switch (24-port and
48-port)
Fibre Channel Switch (16-port and 20-port)
Dot Hill (DH) Disk Array
UPS Adapter
Result
Resets the BYNET chassis.
Note: This applies to BYNET v3 only. BYNET v4 does not have reset capability.
Resets the Ethernet switch. The ports on the attached devices are unavailable during the reset.
Resets the Fibre Channel switch. The ports on the attached devices go to "link down" and are unavailable during the reset.
You must also use the Reset command to activate Fibre Channel switch firmware after a firmware flash.
Resets the DH Disk Array. During the reset, the array is off-line and the associated storage devices are unavailable.
Resets the adapters in the UPS in systems that have one.
Note: When resetting adapters for an APC UPS, select both APC
UPS adapters.
Performing a Reset on Components
Notice:
Before starting the reset of a system, node chassis, processing node cabinet, VMS, or VM node, shut down the appropriate applications to ensure data integrity.
1
2
From the Tree View, select one or more components.
Note: If you select one or more Fibre Channel switches and any other component, the
Reset command is not available.
Select Functions > Reset.
Notice:
If a power check fails during the reset of a UPS adapter or Fibre Channel switch, a dialog box displays that allows you to force the command to run. Do not force any command to run until you review the notice in
Responding to a Power Check Failure
.
Performing a Hard Reset on a Node, VM Node, or VMS
Notice:
Data corruption may occur during a hard reset. Use this command only when all other attempts to reset have failed.
1
2
3
From the Tree View, select the VMS, or one or more nodes.
Select Functions > Hard Reset.
SMClient warns against a non-graceful shutdown.
Click Yes to continue.
If the component is a VMS, a message warns that the VMs on the VMS will also be reset.
102 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 7 Servicing Procedures
Managing DH Disk Arrays
4
Click Yes to continue.
Managing DH Disk Arrays
Performing a Shut Down on a DH Disk Array
Notice:
When you shut down a DH disk array, while it is off line all associated storage devices are unavailable.
1
2
3
From the Tree View, select the DH disk array that you want to shut down.
Do one of the following:
• Select Functions > Shut Down.
• Right click the DH disk array, and select Shut Down.
In the confirmation dialog box, click Yes.
Performing a Start Up on a DH Disk Array
1
2
3
From the Tree View, select the DH disk array that you want to start up.
Do one of the following:
• Select Functions > Start Up.
• Right click the DH disk array, and select Start Up.
In the confirmation dialog box, click Yes.
Managing System Power
Use the following commands to power systems, cabinets, chassis, and VMS off and on:
• Functions > Power Off
Notice:
Prior to powering off, you must ensure that all applications are shut down.
•
Functions > Power On
• Functions > Hard Power Off
Notice:
The Hard Power Off command should only be used when all other attempts to power off have failed.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
103
Chapter 7 Servicing Procedures
Managing System Power
Powering Off a System/Cabinet/Chassis/VM
Notice:
Before removing power from a system, cabinet, chassis, or VM, notify users and determine if any applications are running on the nodes. If applications are running, terminate them. Data integrity cannot be ensured unless you shut down all applications before starting a power off.
1
2
3
From the Tree View, select the component that you want to power off.
Select Functions > Power Off.
In the confirmation dialog box, click Yes.
If your selection included a node, VMS chassis, or VM node, the operating system performs an orderly shutdown and the components are powered off.
Powering On a System/Cabinet/Chassis/VM
1
2
3
From the Tree View, select the component that you want to power on.
Select Functions > Power On.
In the confirmation dialog box, click Yes.
Notice:
If a power check fails when a system or cabinet is being powered on, a dialog box displays that allows you to force the command to run. Do not force a command to run until you review the notice in
Responding to a Power Check Failure .
Performing a Hard Power Off on a Node, VM Node, or VMS
Notice:
A hard power off is an immediate drop of power to the node, VM node, or VMS. Database corruption on the nodes may occur. Use this command only when all other attempts to power off have failed.
Performing a hard power off on the VMS also powers off the associated VMs.
1
2
3
4
From the Tree View, select the VMS, or one or more nodes or VM nodes that you want to hard power off.
Select Functions > Hard Power Off.
SMClient warns against a non-graceful shutdown.
To continue, click Yes.
If the component is a VMS, a message warns that the VMs on the VMS will also be powered off.
To continue, click Yes.
104 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 7 Servicing Procedures
Managing Data Bundles
Recovering from a Power Failure
A power failure occurs when AC power has been lost to one or more cabinets. AC power can be lost for up to 15 seconds without harm. After 15 seconds, an orderly shutdown of the nodes, disk arrays, and BYNET cabinets occurs.
Note: To recover from an EPO activation, follow the procedure "Restoring Power After an
EPO Event" in the Hardware Service Guide for your platform.
1
2
3
4
5
After AC power has been restored, wait for the CMIC to boot.
Start SMWeb and log on to the SMClient.
From the Tree View, select the system.
Select Functions > Power On.
From the Tree View, do the following:
a b c
Verify that system components are operating normally.
Ensure that all chassis have a green icon indicating operational status is OK.
Address any issues for chassis without a green icon.
When all nodes have booted, the system is ready to begin recovery of any application that was disrupted when power was lost.
Managing Data Bundles
Data bundles are packages of data, primarily used to diagnose problems.
Diagnostic bundles are generated by software subsystems when they detect fault conditions.
Software subsystems generate alerts, which trigger the collection of diagnostic bundles, which may then be associated with a scenario in the Summary Alert Viewer.
Some device-dependent bundles, referred to as support bundles, are automatically collected from certain hardware components, such as disk array controller and drive enclosures, during fault conditions or periodically to assist in tracking hardware performance and statistics. You can set parameters in the CMIC Configuration to enable or disable support bundle collection for support devices. Support bundles that are collected during fault conditions are associated with an alert, and may be further associated with a scenario in the
Summary Alert Viewer.
Data bundles of either type are automatically escalated to the TVI backend as soon as they are available.
Some bundles may be collected on demand for supported devices.
The Support Bundles command allows you to:
• Download any existing device-specific support bundles for viewing.
• Trigger the collection of new support bundles for the device through the Functions >
Collect New Bundle command on the Support Bundles window.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
105
Chapter 7 Servicing Procedures
Dumping Memory
The Support Bundles window lists all available support bundles stored on the managing
CMIC. The system, collective, cabinet, and chassis ID for the selected component are displayed at the root of the list. The files are archived in a compressed (zipped) format. Use standard compression tools to view and extract the contents of the file.
Note: Depending on its type, the content inside a data bundle may not be human-readable.
While the window is open, the list is updated with newly-created data bundles. The CMIC stores a maximum of ten data bundles for each component. When this threshold is reached, the oldest data bundle is deleted.
Collecting New Support Bundles
1
2
3
From the Tree View, select a component for which support bundles are collected.
To open the Support Bundles window, do one of the following:
• Select Functions > Support Bundles.
• From the toolbar, click Support Bundles.
From the Support Bundles window, select Functions > Collect New Bundle.
A command output window shows the progress of the support bundle collection. The new support bundle is displayed at the top of the list.
Downloading a Support Bundle for Viewing
1
2
3
4
5
From the Tree View, select a component for which support bundles are collected.
To open the Support Bundles window, do one of the following:
• Select Functions > Support Bundles.
• From the toolbar, click Support Bundles.
From the Support Bundles window, click the support bundle that you want to download.
Support bundles have a .gz file extension.
Note: If you are on the customer LAN, you must log on as a Service User to download support bundles.
On the File Download dialog box, click Save.
Specify the directory where you want to download the support bundle zip file.
The downloaded bundle is compressed. To extract and view the files, you must use a compression utility.
Dumping Memory
The Dump Memory command is used when a node, VM node, CMIC, VM CMIC, or VMS is unresponsive. Select this command only when instructed to do so by Teradata technical
106 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 7 Servicing Procedures
Alert Escalation Tests support personnel. If you perform a memory dump on the VMS, all of the associated VMs power cycle after the memory dump is complete.
Notice:
This operation does not perform a graceful shutdown.
1
2
From the Tree View, select the unresponsive component.
Select Functions > Dump Memory.
Alert Escalation Tests
Use the Alert Escalation Test to test the full alert detection path to one or more nodes. This is the end-to-end path that events and alerts take from managed nodes to the TVI backend.
During the test, the following occurs:
1.
TAS sends an alert test, TVIA DCA FaultTest, request to TVIA.
2.
The test is logged in the node.
3.
The node's SM3GNode agent sends the log through the event path to the CMIC managing the node.
4.
The CMIC managing the node detects the log event as an alert.
5.
The alert is sent to Alert Group Detector to be grouped into the PSR TEST_FAULT summary alert.
6.
TAS sends the summary alert through Teradata ServiceConnect to the TVI backend.
Maintenance is ON and Notify is ON; therefore, an incident is not generated, but notification is sent.
You can also use this command to test the full end-to-end delivery path from events to alerts to PSR to AIC2. The Alert Escalation Testing PSR can be viewed in MyWork and an AIC2 email notification is sent.
Note: When you run the Alert Escalation on an unfiltered Tree View, it runs against every node on the system. When you run it on a filtered Tree View, it only runs for the system shown on the Tree View.
Running the Alert Escalation Test
1
2
3
From the Tree View, select the system or one or more nodes, collectives, or cabinets.
Do one of the following:
• Select Event Mgmt > Alert Escalation Test.
• From the toolbar, click Alert Escalation Test.
The system asks that you verify the components that are being tested.
If the Alert Escalation Test dialog box displays the correct components to test, click Yes.
The test begins on the selected components. When the test is complete, the PSR
Summary Alert is generated.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
107
Chapter 7 Servicing Procedures
Responding to CMIC Failover
4
After the PSR Summary Alert is generated and sent, in the Information dialog box, click
Ok.
Responding to CMIC Failover
When a problem occurs with the SOV CMIC, the CMIC configured as the failover CMIC temporarily assumes the role of the SOV CMIC. To maintain the same functionality, the failed over CMIC must have the same LAN configuration as the active CMIC. For example, if the SOV CMIC has a customer LAN connection, the failover CMIC should also have a customer LAN connection.
When failover occurs, SMWeb displays the following warning message:
The SOV CMIC has failed over. Please launch a new SM Client from the failover SOV
CMIC. Choose between http or https.
Click the link to continue to the failover
SOV CMIC.
The SMWeb Home page reports when a CMIC is in failover and options that are not available on the Home page are grayed out.
When you start SMClient on the failover CMIC, the following warning message displays:
The
SOV CMIC has failed over. Some of the features will not be available and generated data will not be restored once the failed CMIC becomes active.
In addition, the title bar reads: Connected to failover SOV CMIC.
When running in failover:
• Any user-created data does not migrate back to the original CMIC when it fails back.
• Configuration changes cannot be made, except to change the Functionality status of the
CMIC.
• Changes to alert subscriptions are not allowed.
• Maintenance windows can still be created, updated, and deleted.
• TVI files (Alerts, Reports, Assets, and Heartbeat) continue to be sent to the TVI backend through the SWS.
• From the SMWeb Home page, the Users and Groups, TVI Connection, and Save and
Restore options are not available.
• If you are running a CLI when failover occurs, a message prompts you to restart the command.
When the original SOV CMIC is restored, SMWeb displays the following warning message:
The failed SOV CMIC has been restored. Please launch a new SM Client from the original SOV CMIC. Choose between http or https.
Click the link to continue to the restored CMIC.
108 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 7 Servicing Procedures
Managing Failed Drives
Changing a Failover CMIC to the Active CMIC
If a failed SOV CMIC is expected to be out of service for an extended period of time, for example, while waiting for a replacement part, you can change the failover CMIC to the active CMIC, which restores full use of SMWeb.
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
From the Tree View, select the failover CMIC.
Do one of the following:
• Select Functions > Manage CMIC.
• From the toolbar, click Manage CMIC.
From the Server Management Web Services web page, if prompted, log on to the
CMIC.
Select CMIC > System > CMIC
Configuration.
From the CMIC Configuration Editor, modify the Functionality line from
<Functionality name="sov" type="failover"/>
to
<Functionality name="sov" type="active"/>
.
To save the file locally, from the toolbar, click the green down arrow.
From the toolbar, click P to save the configuration to the CMIC.
If the original, that is failed, CMIC is recovered, duplicate alerts are sent home unless a
Maintenance window suppresses escalation. To correct that change the original, that is failed, CMIC or the current active SOV CMIC to type "failover."
Managing Failed Drives
Periodically, you may want to mark a drive inside a disk enclosure for servicing. For example, perhaps you want to mark a drive if it is reporting intermittent errors, but the drive is still functional and therefore not in a failed state. Marking the drive as failed allows the technician to identify the drive quickly and report it, if needed.
Marking the drive enables the Service Action Required LED on the drive. It does not affect the database, the Amps, or how the drive responds.
This function is only supported on a disk enclosure chassis, not disk array or node chassis.
Marking a Drive as Failed
1
2
3
From the Tree View, select the drive.
Do one of the following to mark the drive as failed:
• Select Functions > Set Service LED.
• From the toolbar, click Set Service LED.
The system checks the AMPS, and then displays the Set Service LED dialog box.
Click Yes to continue.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
109
Chapter 7 Servicing Procedures
Using SMClient When a Network is Down
4
The system reports that the action was successful.
Click Ok.
Clearing a Marked Drive
If you determine that a drive no longer needs to be marked, that status can be cleared.
Note: Do not clear this status unless you are sure that the drive was manually marked.
Otherwise, you could mask a real error.
1
2
3
4
From the Tree View, select the marked drive.
The drive is flagged Service Action Required.
Do one of the following to clear the drive marked failed:
• Select Functions > Clear Service LED.
• From the toolbar, click Clear Service LED.
The system displays the Clear Service LED dialog box.
Click Yes to continue.
The system reports that the action was successful.
Click Ok.
Using SMClient When a Network is Down
When a problem occurs with a network connection, anyone that accesses the system is notified that the connection can no longer be made. Because the Server Management applications do not automatically switch to a working network, you must close and then reopen them on a working network.
Attaching a Device Temporarily to a Virtual
Machine
You can temporarily attach a USB or CD-ROM device to a VM, for example, if you want temporary access to a dump drive.
1
2
From the Tree View, expand the cabinet, and select the virtual machine to which you want to attach a device.
You can select the CMIC, the SWS, or the Viewpoint virtual machine.
Do one of the following to open the guided procedure.
• Select Functions > Attach Temporary Device to display Step 1.
• From the toolbar, click Attach Temporary Device to display Step 1.
110 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 7 Servicing Procedures
Performing UPS Diagnostic Tests
3
4
5
As instructed, attach the device into the hosting VMS, either by attaching the USB device, or by inserting a disk in to the CD-ROM drive.
Click Next to display Step 2.
Once the system retrieves the device, select it, and then select from one of the following options:
Option Description
Read-write Allows the device to be accessed as a read/write device. If you select this option, it allows writing to a device that is configured to be writable; however, it does not make read-only devices writable.
The device might require exclusive access; that is, it cannot be attached to other virtual machines.
Read-only Allows read-only access to the device. It allows most devices to be attached to more than one virtual machine.
6
7
8
9
10
Click Next to display Step 3.
When the procedure reports that the device is available, use it as needed.
When you are done with the device, click Next to detach the device.
When Step 4 reports that the device was successfully detached from the virtual machine, remove the device from the USB port or CD-ROM drive.
Click Close.
Performing UPS Diagnostic Tests
The following commands can be used to run diagnostic tests on UPSs.
Command
Power Cable Test
UPS Self Test
UPS Input Selector
Test
Purpose
Verifies the chassis are correctly cabled to the UPSs. It allows you to troubleshoot cabinet power failure problems. It is recommended that you run the test after system installation and when new components are added to the cabinet.
Verifies the functionality of the UPS to determine whether its internal components are working properly. It runs only if all other power-related components in the cabinet have an operating status of OK. It should be run on only one UPS at a time in a cabinet.
Verifies the functionality of the UPS Input Selector to determine whether it is working properly. It forces a switch from the default power source to the alternate power source to verify that the switch-over capability is functional. The UPS goes on battery for a short time as it transitions between the default and the alternate power source. When the test is complete, the system switches power back to the default power source.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
111
Chapter 7 Servicing Procedures
Performing UPS Diagnostic Tests
UPS Power Cabling Test
The Power Cable Test can be run against a single cabinet, a selection of cabinets, or at the system level. If you run the command at the system level, only cabinets containing a UPS are tested. If you select a number of cabinets, and one does not have a UPS, the command is grayed out.
The Power Cable Test command first checks the status of each UPS and chassis power supply to see if there are problems. If there are no problems, the command runs. If there are problems, the UPSs and power supplies with problems display. You can continue with the test, or cancel. Next, the CMIC powers off and on each of the load groups on every UPS in the cabinets selected, one at a time. As each load group powers off, the CMIC detects and logs:
• Any chassis power supply that lost power when it should not have
• The following commands can be used to run diagnostic tests on UPSs
Testing UPS Power Cabling for a Cabinet
It is recommended that you run this test after the system has been installation and any time new components are added to the cabinet.
1
2
3
Stop the Teradata Database.
From the Tree View, do one of the following:
• Select one or more cabinets to test.
• Select the system to test all cabinets.
Select Functions > Power Cable Test.
The Power Cable Test dialog box displays with instructions that need to be performed manually. The instructions are unique to the cabinet that is being verified, such as verify the CMIC power supply cabling and verify the network switch connections.
112
4
5
After you perform the verification steps, click Yes to continue.
If there are no UPS or power supply problems, the power cable test continues.
If errors exist, the errors display in the dialog box. Do one of the following:
• Click Yes to continue.
• Click No to stop the test.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 7 Servicing Procedures
Performing UPS Diagnostic Tests
6
7
While the test runs, the status displays in the Status column. All tests are on the same dialog box.
Double-click a line to see additional details, even if the test is still in progress.
When all of the tests are complete, the Summary dialog box displays whether it completed, or completed with errors. All results are summarized on the same dialog box.
Double-click any line in the summary for detailed information, and then click Details for additional data.
When the command completes, the Power Cable Test dialog box displays the completed tests, along with any errors found. All results are summarized on the same dialog box.
Power Cable Test Details Dialog Box
Item
Status
Overall Progress
Load Group
Expected
Unexpected
Result
Details/No Details button
Cancel button
Description
Shows command status as each UPS load group and chassis power supply is tested, and also lists UPS load group and chassis power supplies that are incorrectly labeled.
Shows the progress of each UPS load group and power supply tested as the command runs.
Specifies the default alias or CIM path for the UPS load group that is being tested. If a user-defined alias exists, it displays instead of the default alias.
Identifies the default alias or CIM path for the power supply that the UPS load group should be cabled to. Correctly cabled power supplies are shown in green. If a user-defined alias exists, it displays instead of the default alias.
Identifies the default alias or CIM path for the power supply that the UPS load group is incorrectly cabled to. Incorrectly cabled power supplies are shown in red. If a user-defined alias exists, it displays instead of the default alias.
Shows the results of the power cabling test for each UPS load group and power supply:
• OK (green): The power supply is correctly cabled.
• ERROR (red): The power supply is incorrectly cabled.
Toggles between displaying and hiding additional details for the UPS load groups and chassis power supplies that are being tested.
Cancels the command.
Running a UPS Self-Test
Notice:
If a power check fails during the UPS self-test, a dialog box displays that allows you to force the command to run. Do not force a command to run until you review the notice in
Responding to a Power Check Failure
.
1
From the Tree View, select a UPS.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
113
Chapter 7 Servicing Procedures
Managing Battery Installation Dates
2
Do one of the following:
• Select Functions > UPS Self Test.
• From the toolbar, click UPS Self Test.
Command results, whether the test completed successfully or not, are available in the
Command Summary window. Details about test errors, if any, appear in the Event Viewer and Alert Viewer.
Running a UPS Input Selector Test
Notice:
If a power check fails during the UPS input selector test, a dialog box displays that allows you to force the command to run. Do not force a command to run until you review the notice in
Responding to a Power Check Failure
.
1
2
3
From the Tree View, check the status of the UPS that you want to test.
Select the UPS.
Do one of the following:
• Select Functions > UPS Input Selector Test.
• From the toolbar, click UPS Input Selector Test.
Command results, whether the test completed successfully or not, are available in the
Command Summary window. Details about test errors, if any, appear in the Event Viewer and Alert Viewer.
Managing Battery Installation Dates
The life of a UPS battery is 3 years. UPS batteries must be replaced before they expire. Use the following commands to set and track battery installation and replacement dates:
• Functions > Set Battery Date
• Tools > Battery Date Information
Setting Battery Installation Dates
1
2
3
4
From the Tree View, select one or more UPS batteries.
Do one of the following to open the Set Battery Date dialog box:
• Select Functions > Set Battery Date.
• Right-click one or more batteries and select Set Battery Date.
In the Battery Installation Date (YYYYMMDD) box, enter the new battery date for the selected batteries.
Click Ok.
114 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 7 Servicing Procedures
Managing Battery Installation Dates
Viewing Battery Installation Dates
1
Select Tools > Battery Date Information.
The Battery Date Information window displays a list of all batteries in the system, along with their installation and replacement dates. The icon on the left is a severity indicator.
• Green (OK): Indicates that the battery installation date is newer than 2.5 years.
• Orange (Degraded): Indicates that the battery installation date is older than 2.5 years.
• Magenta (Critical): Indicates that the battery is older than 3.0 years.
Changing Battery Installation Dates
1
2
3
4
5
Select Tools > Battery Date Information.
In the Battery Date Information window, select one or more batteries.
Tip: To select all batteries, select Functions > Select All.
Select Functions > Set Battery Date.
In the Battery Installation Date (YYYYMMDD) box, enter the new battery date for the selected batteries.
Click Ok.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
115
Chapter 7 Servicing Procedures
Managing Battery Installation Dates
116 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
CHAPTER 8
Command Line Interface
About the Command Line Interface
The SMWeb Command Line Interface (CLI) provides many of the same commands as
SMClient. The commands can be used in scripts and programs.
Java 1.7 is required to run the CLIs. Run java -version to confirm the Java version.
CLI Setup
CLI utilities are downloaded from the SMWeb Home page. Once the utilities have been downloaded and set up, they can be run from the command line or in scripts.
Note: You must use the directories specified here if you are downloading the utilities to the
SWS. Otherwise, these directories are recommended, but not required. If you move the utilities to a new directory, you must run setup again.
Setting Up the CLI in Linux
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
Display the SMWeb Main page.
Click Command Line Interface for Linux Clients.
When prompted, click Save to save the zip file to your local system.
Navigate to
/opt/teradata/sm
, and click Save.
Create the directory if it does not exist.
In a shell window, navigate to the saved zip file.
Extract the zip file using the -a option: unzip -a filename.zip
.
The Unzip program creates a new subdirectory called linuxCLIs. It then extracts the files into that directory.
In the linuxCLIs directory, run chmod +x *
to make the files executable.
In the linuxCLIs directory, run
./setup
.
When prompted, do the following:
a
Enter your login for SMClient.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
117
Chapter 8 Command Line Interface
CLI Setup
11 b
Enter your password for SMClient.
c
Enter a pass phrase to encrypt the password file.
Tip: The pass phrase must be at least six characters in length.
When the prompt returns, open a new session and run setup -test
to test the connection.
Note: An error will occur if you do not open a new session in Linux.
Setting Up the CLI in Windows
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
Display the SMWeb Main page.
Click Command Line Interface for Windows Clients.
When prompted, click Save to save the zip file to your local system.
Navigate to
\Program Files\teradata\sm
, and click Save.
Create the directory if it does not exist.
In a Command window, navigate to the saved zip file.
Unzip the file to the current directory.
The Unzip program creates a new subdirectory called WinCLIs. It then extracts the files into that directory.
In the WinCLIs directory, run setup.bat
.
When prompted, do the following:
a b
Enter your login for SMClient.
Enter your password for SMClient.
c
Enter a pass phrase to encrypt the password file.
Tip: The pass phrase must be at least six characters in length.
When the prompt returns, run setup.bat -test
to test the connection.
Accessing the SMWeb Command Line Interface
Once set up, the SMWeb CLI can be accessed from a command window (Windows) or a shell window (Linux).
1
To access the SMWeb CLI, do one of the following:
Option
Command window
Shell window
Description
• Navigate to
\Program Files\teradata\sm
.
• Navigate to
/opt/teradata/sm
.
118 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 8 Command Line Interface
Syntax Conventions
Accessing SMWeb Command Line Interface Help
1
To view help, do one of the following:
Option
Display a list of all command names and brief descriptions
Display an overview and list of parameters for a command
Display results based on a command, and if applicable, any required parameters
Description
Run smhelp
.
Run smhelp command
.
or
Run
command -h
For example, run smhelp alertutil
.
Run smhelp -h | command
.
For example, run smhelp -h | measurementinfo system.ID=1
displays all measurement information for System 1.
Syntax Conventions
When you run a CLI utility, the command is executed when you press Enter. You are not asked for confirmation.
CLI commands generally rely on a component ID or alias to identify the component that is being operated upon. The showcomponents command allows you to find Component IDs or aliases. You can also select a component in the Tree View, and then select View >
Properties to display the properties for the component, including the component ID or alias.
The following general rules apply to all CLI commands:
• Command names are case-sensitive in Linux, but not in Windows.
• All commands, except where noted, accept more than one Component ID or alias, separated by commas or spaces. For example, you can power on two cabinets with one command.
The following table lists the conventions used in the SMWeb command line syntax.
Object
Command
Argument
Description
The first word or set of consecutive characters.
Commands are shown in bold typeface.
If applicable, the words that follow the command. When brackets ([ ]) are not used, the argument is required. Arguments are shown in
italic typeface.
Examples alertutil viewevents
components
[components]
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
119
Chapter 8 Command Line Interface
Command Summary
Object
Parameter
|
Variable
[ ]
{ }
[,...]
Description
A word or set of consecutive characters that follows the command and any arguments.
Parameters are preceded by a hyphen (-) or a forward slash (/) and are shown in bold typeface.
Partial words are acceptable, as long as enough letters are entered to identify the parameter. For example, -f and -file perform the same function.
A word or set of consecutive characters that follows a parameter. Variables are shown in italic typeface.
Examples
-clear
-all
-monitor
sequenceNumber outputFile
Brackets indicate optional arguments or a set of optional consecutive characters in a parameter.
Vertical bars separate alternative, mutually exclusive parameters.
[components]
-c[sv]
Braces indicate mutually exclusive parameters.
{alertGUID}
{eventGUID}
-on | -off
Indicates that the parameter can be repeated multiple times with different values.
-chassisID=203,204
Command Summary
CLI access is determined by user group membership. Permission access is noted in the following table for each command.
Command Name
Command Purpose
The alertutil command displays alert records retrieved from Server Management.
Permission
Access
Service Users
All Users
The assetinfo command displays, or outputs to a file, asset information for a specific chassis or for all chassis contained in a system, collective, or cabinet.
Service Users
The dumpmemory command invokes a memory dump on one or more nodes, VM nodes, CMICs, VM
CMICs, or VMS chassis. Command progress displays on the screen.
All Users
The measurementinfo command displays, or outputs to a file, measurement information for specific chassis or for all chassis contained in a system, collective, or cabinet.
The reset command resets one or more components.
Service Users
120 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Command Name
Chapter 8 Command Line Interface
Command Summary
Command Purpose Permission
Access
Service Users
The setbatterydate command sets the battery installation date for all batteries in the system, or for one or more batteries specified by the components parameter.
The setfw command downloads firmware for managed components that support this function (for example, CMIC and management boards).
Service Users
The setpower command powers one or more components on or off, for managed components that support this command. The default setting is on.
Service Users
The showbatteries command displays battery installation and battery replacement dates or outputs them to a file.
All Users
The showcomponents command displays the managed components and their operational status.
All Users
The showfirmwareversion command displays or outputs all firmware instances in the system. It includes the installed firmware version for each component, the supported firmware version for each component, and reports whether there is a mismatch between them.
All Users
The showproperties command displays component properties.
The smdomaininfo command displays information about the Server Management domain.
All Users
The showsiteids command displays the Site IDs in the
Server Management domain. This command should not be used. Use the smdomaininfo command instead. This command will be removed completely in a future release.
All Users
All Users
All Users
The smhelp command displays a list of the available
SMWeb CLI commands and a brief description of them.
Service Users
The upstest command tests the functionality of either the UPS’s internal components or the UPS Input
Selector.
All Users
The viewassethistory command displays asset information for chassis that have asset history to the screen or outputs to a file. Invoking this command
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
121
Chapter 8 Command Line Interface alertutil
Command Name
Command Purpose Permission
Access
with a system, collective, or cabinet component retrieves asset history for all chassis contained in that system, collective, or cabinet that have asset history.
The viewevents command captures a particular time frame of events, retrieves them from the Consolidated
Event Log, and displays them to the screen or outputs them to a file.
All Users
All Users
The viewmeasurementhistory command displays measurement information for chassis that have measurement history to the screen or outputs to a file.
alertutil
Purpose
The alertutil command displays alert records retrieved from Server Management.
Syntax
alertutil [components] [TimeParameters] [DisplayParameters]
[FilterParameters]
alertutil -id {alertGUID} [-sequence sequenceNumber]
alertutil -detail -timeStamp mm/dd/yyyy hh:mm:ss -sequence
sequenceNumber
alertutil -monitor [MonitorParameters] [DisplayParameters]
[FilterParameters]
alertutil -summary [components] [TimeParameters] [DisplayParameters]
[FilterParameters] [SummaryParameters]
alertutil -clear -start mm/dd/yyyy hh:mm:ss -end mm/dd/yyyy hh:mm:ss
alertutil -clear -id {alertGUID} [-sequence sequenceNumber]
alertutil -clear -timeStamp mm/dd/yyyy hh:mm:ss -sequence
sequenceNumber
alertutil -summary -clear -id {alertGUID} [-sequence sequenceNumber]
[-addtositelog msg]
122 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 8 Command Line Interface alertutil
Parameters
{alertGUID}
Unique ID that identifies an alert.
-clear
Clears all alert and summary alert records between the specified times. When combined with -summary and -id {alertGUID}, clears the summary alert for the specified {alertGUID} and all alerts associated with the summary.
Example:
alertutil -clear -start 8/19/2013 04:32:22 -end 8/20/2013
04:32:22
clears all alerts and summary alerts between the start and end times.
Example:
alertutil -clear -id {175CC646-8CC3-11d3-84FD-00E029103BC7}
-sequence 293849
clears the alert with the matching alert ID and sequence.
Example:
alertutil -clear -id {eb7d1252-60a1-4c8c-aea4-1ee284d9ecfe}
-summary -addtositelog "User specified message."
clears the specific summary alert with the matching ID, and adds a message to the sitelog. If the specified
ID corresponds to a Root Cause or Situational Cause summary alert, then this parameter also clears all associated UpdateXXX alerts.
components
Unique ID of the components whose alerts you want to display. The unique ID can be a
Component ID, default alias, or user-defined alias. If no Component IDs or aliases are specified, alerts for the first system display.
-detail
Displays details for the specified alert.
-id
Displays details for the alert specified by {alertGUID}; use -sequence to speed up alert retrieval.
Example:
alertutil -id {175CC646-8CC3-11d3-84FD-00E029103BC7}
shows information about the alert with the matching alert ID.
-monitor
Monitors and displays new alert records coming from Server Management.
Tip: Press CTRL + C to quit.
Example:
alertutil -monitor -sys=1 -cab=300 -chas=203,204
listens for new alerts where systemID=1, cabinetID=300, and chassisID=203 or chassisID=204.
-summary
Displays summary alert information.
Example:
alertutil -summary -max 100
displays alert summary information for the most recent 100 summary alerts.
Time Parameters
-all
Displays all alerts in system. If -all or -max is not specified, the default is 1000 records.
Notice:
Operation could be lengthy depending on the size of the system.
Example:
alertutil -all
lists all alerts in a system.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
123
Chapter 8 Command Line Interface alertutil
-desc | asc
Specifies sort order based on create time.
• Descending displays newest record first (default)
• Ascending displays oldest record first
-end [mm/dd/yyyy] [hh:mm:ss]
Selects the end date or time. Default is current date or time 23:59:59.
-max x
Specifies the maximum number of alerts to retrieve. If -all or -max is not specified, the default is 1000 records.
-sec | -min | -hrs | -days x
Selects alerts by the specified seconds, minutes, hours, or days since the start time or before the end time; if -start or -end is not specified, the default is since current time.
Example:
alertutil -start 10/02/2013 -days 2
displays 2 days of alerts, starting October 2, 2013 00:00:00 and ending 2 days later, on October 3, 2013 23:59:59.
Example:
alertutil -end 10/15/2013 -days 4
displays 4 days of alerts, starting on October 11, 2013 00:00:00 and ending on October 15, 2013 23:59:59.
Example:
alertutil -days 4
displays alerts starting 4 days earlier up to current time.
-sequence sequenceNumber
Adds the time sequence to speed up alert retrieval.
Example:
alertutil -detail -timeStamp 2013-02-20 08:03:26 -sequence
293849
show details of the alert with the matching time stamp and sequence.
-start [mm/dd/yyyy] [hh:mm:ss]
Selects the start date and time. Default is current date and time 0.
Display Parameters
-byalias
Displays output using the component alias instead of the ObjectPath. If a user-defined alias has been configured, it displays.
-bycollective
Displays alert information grouped by one collective at a time. You cannot use -
bycollective if you designate specific components.
Example:
alertutil -all -bycollective
lists all alerts in the system, one collective at a time.
Example:
alertutil -all -sys=1 -coll=3-5 -bycollective
lists all alerts from system 1, collectives 3 through 5, one collective at a time.
-csv
Displays the information in CSV (comma-separated value) format on the screen. To redirect the command output to a .csv or .txt file, type one of the following:
•
-csv > myfilename.csv
•
-csv > myfilename.txt
-format filename
Displays alert information according to the format file filename. alertutil recognizes the following macros in the format file:
124 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 8 Command Line Interface alertutil
{TimeStamp}, {Sequence}, {Severity}, {Status}, {ManagedElementAlias}, {Description},
{SystemName}, {SystemID}, {CollectiveID}, {CabinetID}, {ChassisID},
{ManagedElement}, {ObjectClass}, {ID}, {TimeReceived}, {Domain}, {MessageID},
{ReporterType}, {SubType}, {Details}, {RequestID}, {Data}, {RepeatCount},
{RepeatStartTime}, {SubSystem}, {Autosolvable}, {KnowledgeID}, {TrackingID},
{TVI_Disposition}, {Synopsis}, {Maintenance}, {Notify}, {Impact}, {Scope}
Surround brackets with single quotes; represent a true single quote with two single quotes.
Example: {‘This is a sample’} is represented as ‘{‘‘‘This is a sample.’’’}’ in the format file.
-formNameValue
Displays in AttributeName=Value format.
-nohdr
Suppresses display of format header.
-perform
-raw
Displays statistics such as elapsed time and number of records.
Displays alert information retrieved from Server Management without translation to a more readable format.
-verbose
Displays all alert data.
Example:
alertutil -start 8/29/2013 -days 1 -verbose
shows all alert information for all alerts logged on 8/29/2013.
-xml
Displays alert information in xml format.
Filter Parameters
-cabinetID=cabinetIDNumber[,...]
Selects alerts associated with the cabinet ID numbers. If you identify multiple cabinet
ID numbers, you cannot specify chassis IDs.
-chassisID=chassisIDNumber[,...]
Selects alerts associated with the chassis ID numbers.
-collectiveID=collectiveIDNumber[,...]
Selects alerts associated with the collective ID numbers. If you identify multiple collective ID numbers, you cannot specify cabinet IDs or chassis IDs.
-domain=domainName[,...]
Selects alerts with the specified domain names.
Example:
alertutil -dom=bynet -sev=W,D
lists any alerts for domain BYNET with a severity of Warning or Degraded.
-msgID=msgID[,...]
Selects alerts with matching MessageIDs.
-objectClass=objectClassName[,...]
Selects alerts associated with object class names. To determine the class name, see the first part of the component ID.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
125
Chapter 8 Command Line Interface alertutil
Example: If the component ID is
CMIC_5500J.SystemID=1,CollectiveID=400,CabinetID=1,ID=6
, the class name is
CMIC_5500J
.
-severity=severity[,...]
Selects the first letter of one or more severity names or a range x-y, between 0 and 6.
•
Unknown or 0
•
OK or 1
•
Info or 2
•
Warning or 3
•
Degraded or 4
•
Critical or 5
•
Fatal or 6
-sName=systemName[,...]
Selects alerts associated with system names.
-status=Status[,...]
Selects alerts with associated statuses.
•
Active
•
Autosolved
•
Cleared
•
Expired
Example:
alertutil -status=Active -subsystem=Storage
lists all the active alerts from the Storage subsystem.
-subSystem=subSystem[,...]
Selects alerts with associated subsystems.
•
Storage
•
Power
•
Node
•
OS
•
Database
•
Network
•
ServerMgmt
•
Client
•
Other
Example:
alertutil -subSystem=Database -TVI=Escalated -sev=3-6
lists all database related alerts with the TVI disposition of Escalated and a severity between 3 and 6.
-subType=subTypeName[,...]
Selects alerts with the specified subType names.
•
ProbableCause
•
AlertGroup
•
Null
•
UNASSIGNED
-systemID=systemIDNumber[,...]
Selects alerts associated with the system ID numbers. If you identify multiple system ID numbers, you cannot specify collective IDs, cabinet IDs, or chassis IDs.
126 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 8 Command Line Interface alertutil
Example:
alertutil -sys=1 -cab=300 -chas=203,204
lists alerts where systemID=1, cabinetID=300, and chassisID=203 or chassisID=204.
-TVI_Disposition=disposition[,...]
Selects alerts associated with TVI dispositions.
•
Abeyed
•
Escalate_Requested
•
Escalated
•
Ignore_Maintenance
•
Ignore_Heartbeat
•
Ignored
•
None
Example:
alertutil -subSystem=Database -TVI=Escalated
lists all database related alerts with the TVI disposition of Escalated.
Monitor Parameters
-modification
Displays alert modifications in addition to new alerts. Use this with -monitor parameter to view status and TVI disposition changes.
The following parameters are not supported: -start, -end, -sec, -min, -hrs, -days, -
active, -desc, -asc, -seq, -detail, -perform, -nohdr, -csv, and -id.
Summary Parameters
-impact=impact[,...]
Displays summary alerts with matching impacts.
-maintenance=settingType
Displays summary alerts with specified maintenance settings.
•
On
•
Off
-notify=settingType
Displays summary alerts with specified notify settings.
•
On
•
Off
-scope=scope[,...]
Displays summary alerts with matching scopes.
-synopsis=synopsis[,...]
Displays summary alerts with matching synopsis.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
127
Chapter 8 Command Line Interface assetinfo
assetinfo
Purpose
The assetinfo command displays, or outputs to a file, asset information for a specific chassis or for all chassis contained in a system, collective, or cabinet.
Syntax
assetinfo [-sn=systemname] [-f[ile] outputFile -c[sv]] components
Parameters
components
Unique ID of the system, collective, cabinet, or chassis whose asset information you want to see or save to a file. The unique ID can be a Component ID, default alias, or user-defined alias.
-c[sv]
When used with -f[ile], saves the information in CSV (comma-separated value) format to the specified output file name. If -c[sv] is not used, the information is automatically saved to a .txt file.
-f[ile] outputFile
Specifies the name of the file to which the chassis asset information will be output.
If the full path is not specified, the file is stored as follows:
• Windows –
\Documents and Settings\username\sm_client\host
\userdata
• Linux –
username/sm_client/host/userdata
If this parameter is not used, the information is output to the screen.
-sn=systemname
Selects assets from components with the specified system name.
dumpmemory
Purpose
The dumpmemory command invokes a memory dump on one or more nodes, VM nodes,
CMICs, VM CMICs, or VMS chassis. Command progress displays on the screen.
Notice:
Perform this action only when instructed to do so by Teradata technical support personnel. A dump partition must be set up before performing this action. This operation does not perform a graceful shutdown. There is a potential for data loss or corruption when performing this action.
128 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 8 Command Line Interface measurementinfo
Syntax
dumpmemory components
Parameters
components
Unique Component ID, default alias, or user-defined alias of one or more nodes or
SMPs.
measurementinfo
Purpose
The measurementinfo command displays, or outputs to a file, measurement information for specific chassis or for all chassis contained in a system, collective, or cabinet.
Syntax
measurementinfo [-f[ile] outputFile -c[sv]] components
Parameters
components
Unique ID of the system, collective, cabinet, or chassis whose measurement information you want to see or save to a file. The unique ID can be a Component ID, default alias, or user-defined alias.
-c[sv]
When used with -f[ile], saves the information in CSV (comma-separated value) format to the specified output file name. If -c[sv] is not used, the information is automatically saved to a .txt file.
-f[ile] outputFile
Specifies the name of the file to which the chassis measurement information will be output.
If the full path is not specified, the file is stored as follows:
• Windows –
\Documents and Settings\username\sm_client\host
\userdata
• Linux –
username/sm_client/host/userdata
If this parameter is not used, the information is output to the screen.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
129
Chapter 8 Command Line Interface reset
reset
Purpose
The reset command resets one or more components.
Syntax
reset components
Parameters
components
Unique ID of the component or components you want to reset. The unique ID can be a
Component ID, default alias, or user-defined alias.
setbatterydate
Purpose
The setbatterydate command sets the battery installation date for all batteries in the system, or for one or more batteries specified by the components parameter.
Syntax
setbatterydate -d[ate] installDate components
setbatterydate -d[ate] installDate -all
Parameters
-all
Sets battery dates for all components in the system.
components
Unique ID of the applicable components. The unique ID can be a Component ID, default alias, or user-defined alias.
-d[ate] MM/DD/YYYY
Sets the battery date. When you enter one or more components after the installation date, the date is applied to the specified components.
130 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 8 Command Line Interface setfw
setfw
Purpose
The setfw command downloads firmware for managed components that support this function (for example, CMIC and management boards).
Syntax
setfw -b[ypass] components
Parameters
-b[ypass]
When flashing a UPS management board or adapter, the cabinet's power subsystem is checked. If a problem is found, a warning message displays. To bypass the power check and flash the UPS management board or adapter, run setfw again using the -b[ypass] parameter.
components
Unique ID of the component or components you want to flash. The unique ID can be a
Component ID, default alias, or user-defined alias.
Note: Before flashing the firmware of an APC UPS, you must first flash the firmware of the APC UPS adapter.
setpower
Purpose
The setpower command powers one or more components on or off, for managed components that support this command. The default setting is on.
Syntax
setpower -on | -off | -1 | -0 [-b[ypass]] components
Parameters
-b[ypass]
When powering on a cabinet or a system, the cabinet's power subsystem is checked. If a problem is found, a warning message displays. To bypass the power check and power on the cabinet or system, run setpower again using the -b[ypass] parameter.
components
Unique ID of the component or components you want to power on or off. The unique
ID can be a Component ID, default alias, or user-defined alias.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
131
Chapter 8 Command Line Interface showbatteries
-off or -0
Powers off the managed component.
-on or -1
Powers on the managed component.
showbatteries
Purpose
The showbatteries command displays battery installation and battery replacement dates or outputs them to a file.
Syntax
showbatteries [-f[ile] outputFile -c[sv]]
Parameters
-c[sv]
When used with -f[ile], saves the information in CSV (comma-separated value) format to the specified output file name. If -c[sv] is not used, the information is automatically saved to a .txt file.
-f[ile] outputFile
Specifies the name of the file to which the battery information will be output.
If the full path is not specified, the file is stored as follows:
• Windows –
\Documents and Settings\username\sm_client\host
\userdata
• Linux –
username/sm_client/host/userdata
If this parameter is not used, the information is output to the screen.
showcomponents
Purpose
The showcomponents command displays the managed components and their operational status.
Syntax
showcomponents -r[ecursive] -c[hildren] -n[ame] -i[d] -a[lias] [-
sn[ame] systemname] [-f[ile] outputFile] [components]
132 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 8 Command Line Interface showfirmwareversion
Parameters
-a[lias]
Displays or saves output using the component alias.
If a user-defined alias exists, it displays instead of the default alias.
-c[hildren]
Displays the operational status of the component and only its immediate subcomponents.
components
Unique ID of the component or components. The unique ID can be a Component ID, default alias, or user-defined alias. If no Component IDs or aliases are specified, the system components are the default.
-f[ile] outputFile
Specifies the name of the file to which the component information will be output.
If the full path is not specified, the file is stored as follows:
• Windows –
\Documents and Settings\username\sm_client\host
\userdata
• Linux –
username/sm_client/host/userdata
If this parameter is not used, the information is output to the screen.
-i[d]
Displays the components by their Component IDs; this is the default display option if neither -n, -i, or -a is specified.
-n[ame]
Displays the components by the default name displayed in the Tree View.
-r[ecursive]
Displays the operational status of all components contained under the component.
-sn[ame] systemname
Selects components with the specified system name.
showfirmwareversion
Purpose
The showfirmwareversion command displays or outputs all firmware instances in the system. It includes the installed firmware version for each component, the supported firmware version for each component, and reports whether there is a mismatch between them.
Syntax
showfirmwareversion [-a[lias]] [-f[ile] outputFile -c[sv]]
This command returns the following messages:
•
OK
: The firmware version installed is the currently supported version.
•
Mismatch
: The firmware version installed is not the currently supported version.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
133
Chapter 8 Command Line Interface showproperties
•
Unknown
: The firmware version information is missing or unavailable.
Parameters
-a[lias]
Displays or saves output using the component alias.
-c[sv]
When used with -f[ile], saves the information in CSV (comma-separated value) format to the specified output file name. If -c[sv] is not used, the information is automatically saved to a .txt file.
-f[ile] outputFile
Specifies the name of the file to which the firmware version will be output.
If the full path is not specified, the file is stored as follows:
•
Windows –
\Documents and Settings\username\sm_client\host
\userdata
• Linux –
username/sm_client/host/userdata
If this parameter is not used, the information is output to the screen.
showproperties
Purpose
The showproperties command displays component properties.
Syntax
showproperties [-f[ile] outputFile] components
Parameters
components
The unique component IDs, default aliases, or user-defined aliases of the components.
-f[ile] outputFile
Specifies the name of the file to which the property information will be output.
If the full path is not specified, the file is stored as follows:
• Windows –
\Documents and Settings\username\sm_client\host
\userdata
• Linux –
username/sm_client/host/userdata
If this parameter is not used, the information is output to the screen.
134 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
showsiteids
Purpose
The showsiteids command displays the Site IDs in the Server Management domain. This command should not be used. Use the smdomaininfo command instead. This command will be removed completely in a future release.
Syntax
Chapter 8 Command Line Interface showsiteids
showsiteids [-sc[ript]]
Parameters
-sc[ript]
Displays output in a script-friendly format.
smdomaininfo
Purpose
The smdomaininfo command displays information about the Server Management domain.
Syntax
smdomaininfo [-show [siteid,systemnames]] [-sc[ript]]
Parameters
-sc[ript]
Displays output in a script-friendly format.
-show infoitem
Displays information about the particular item, such as site IDs or system names.
upstest
Purpose
The upstest command tests the functionality of either the UPS’s internal components or the
UPS Input Selector.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
135
Chapter 8 Command Line Interface viewassethistory
Syntax
upstest -se[lf] | -i[nput] components
Parameters
components
Unique ID of the UPS you want to test. The unique ID can be a Component ID, default alias, or user-defined alias.
-i[nput]
Runs the UPS Input Selector Test and outputs the results to the screen. The test forces a switch from the default power source to the alternate power source to verify that the switch-over capability is functional. When the test is complete, the system switches power back to the default power source.
The system does not switch to the alternate power source if it is not operating normally.
The command runs only if all other power related components in the cabinet appear normal.
-se[lf]
Runs the UPS Self Test and outputs the results to the screen. If no option is specified, the
UPS Self Test is run.
viewassethistory
Purpose
The viewassethistory command displays asset information for chassis that have asset history to the screen or outputs to a file. Invoking this command with a system, collective, or cabinet component retrieves asset history for all chassis contained in that system, collective, or cabinet that have asset history.
Syntax
viewassethistory [components] [TimeParameters] [DisplayParameters]
[FilterParameters]
Parameters
components
Unique ID of the component or components whose records you want to display. The unique ID can be a Component ID, default alias, or user-defined alias. If no Component
IDs or aliases are specified, records for the first system display.
Components can only be at the system, collective, cabinet, or chassis level.
136 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 8 Command Line Interface viewassethistory
Time Parameters
-all
Displays all records in the system. If -all or -max is not specified, the default is 1000 records.
Notice:
Operation could be lengthy depending on the size of the system.
Example:
viewassethistory -all
lists all asset records in the system.
-desc | asc
Specifies sort order based on create time.
• Descending displays newest record first (default)
• Ascending displays oldest record first
-end [mm/dd/yyyy] [hh:mm:ss]
Selects the end date or time. Default is current date or time 23:59:59.
-max x
Specifies the maximum number of records to retrieve. If -all or -max is not specified, the default is 1000 records.
-sec | -min | -hrs | -days x
Selects records by the specified seconds, minutes, hours, or days since the start time or before the end time; if -start or -end is not specified, the default is since current time.
Example:
viewassethistory -start 10/02/2013 -days 2
displays 2 days of asset records, starting October 2, 2013 00:00:00 and ending 2 days later, on October 3,
2013 23:59:59.
Example:
viewassethistory -end 10/15/2013 -days 4
displays 4 days of asset records, starting on October 11, 2013 00:00:00 and ending on October 15, 2013
23:59:59.
Example:
viewassethistory -days 4
displays asset records 4 days earlier up to current time.
Example:
viewassethistory -start 8/19/2013 -days 1
displays asset records for all records logged on August 19, 2013.
-start [mm/dd/yyyy] [hh:mm:ss]
Selects the start date and time. Default is current date and time 0.
Display Parameters
-byalias
Displays output using the component alias instead of the ObjectPath. If a user-defined alias has been configured, it displays.
-bycollective
Displays asset information one collective at a time. You cannot use -bycollective if you designate specific components.
Example:
viewassethistory -all -bycollective
lists all assets records in the system, one collective at a time.
Example:
viewassethistory -all -sys=1 -coll=3-5 -bycollective
lists all assets records from system 1, collectives 3 through 5, one collective at a time.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
137
Chapter 8 Command Line Interface viewassethistory
-csv
Displays the information in CSV (comma-separated value) format on the screen. To redirect the command output to a .csv or .txt file, type one of the following:
•
-csv > myfilename.csv
•
-csv > myfilename.txt
-formNameValue
Displays in AttributeName=Value format.
-nohdr
Suppresses display of format header.
-perform
Displays statistics such as elapsed time and number of records.
Filter Parameters
-assetnames=assetName[,...]
Selects records with the specified chassis types.
-cabinetID=cabinetIDNumber[,...]
Selects records associated with the cabinet ID numbers. If you identify multiple cabinet
ID numbers, you cannot specify chassis IDs.
-chassisID=chassisIDNumber[,...]
Selects records associated with the chassis ID numbers.
-collectiveID=collectiveIDNumber[,...]
Selects records associated with the collective ID numbers. If you identify multiple collective ID numbers, you cannot specify cabinet IDs or chassis IDs.
-model=modelName[,...]
Selects records with the specified model names.
-objectClass=objectClassName[,...]
Selects records associated with object class names. To determine the class name, see the first part of the component ID.
Example: If the component ID is
CMIC_5500J.SystemID=1,CollectiveID=400,CabinetID=1,ID=6
, the class name is
CMIC_5500J
.
-propname=propertyName[,...]
Selects records with matching property names.
-propunit=propertyUnit[,...]
Selects records with matching property units.
-propvalue=propertyValue[,...]
Selects records with matching property values.
-sName=systemName[,...]
Selects records associated with system names.
-systemID=systemIDNumber[,...]
Selects records associated with the system ID numbers. If you identify multiple system
ID numbers, you cannot specify collective IDs, cabinet IDs, or chassis IDs.
138 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 8 Command Line Interface viewevents
Example:
viewassethistory -sys=1 -cab=300 -chas=203,204
lists asset records where systemID=1, cabinetID=300, and chassisID=203 or chassisID=204.
-type=chassisType[,...]
Selects records with the specified chassis types.
viewevents
Purpose
The viewevents command captures a particular time frame of events, retrieves them from the Consolidated Event Log, and displays them to the screen or outputs them to a file.
System problem events can be captured and then forwarded to Customer Services for further analysis.
Syntax
viewevents [components] [TimeParameters] [DisplayParameters]
[FilterParameters]
viewevents -monitor [components] [MonitorParameters]
[FilterParameters]
viewevents -id {eventGUID} [-sequence sequenceNumber]
Parameters
components
Unique ID of the component or components whose events you want to display. The unique ID can be a Component ID, default alias, or user-defined alias. If no
Component IDs or aliases are specified, events for the first system display.
{eventGUID}
Unique ID that identifies an event.
-id
Displays details for the event specified by {eventGUID}; use -sequence to speed up event retrieval.
Example:
viewevents -id {175CC646-8CC3-11d3-84FD-00E029103BC7}
displays event details for a specific event ID.
Time Parameters
-all
Displays all events in the system. If -all or -max is not specified, the default is 1000 records.
Notice:
Operation could be lengthy depending on the size of the system.
Example:
viewevents -all
displays all events in a system.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
139
Chapter 8 Command Line Interface viewevents
-desc | asc
Specifies sort order based on create time.
• Descending displays newest record first (default)
• Ascending displays oldest record first
-end [mm/dd/yyyy] [hh:mm:ss]
Selects the end date or time. Default is current date or time 23:59:59.
-max x
Specifies the maximum number of events to retrieve. If -all or -max is not specified, the default is 1000 records.
-sec | -min | -hrs | -days x
Selects events by the specified seconds, minutes, hours, or days since the start time or before the end time; if -start or -end is not specified, the default is since current time.
Example:
viewevents -start 10/02/2013 -days 2
displays 2 days of events, starting October 2, 2013 00:00:00 and ending 2 days later, on October 3, 2013 23:59:59.
Example:
viewevents -end 10/15/2013 -days 4
displays 4 days of events, starting on October 11, 2013 00:00:00 and ending on October 15, 2013 23:59:59.
Example:
viewevents -days 4
display events starting 4 days earlier up to current time.
-sequence sequenceNumber
Adds the time sequence to speed up event retrieval.
-start [mm/dd/yyyy] [hh:mm:ss]
Selects the start date and time. Default is current date and time 0.
Display Parameters
-byalias
Displays output using the component alias instead of the ObjectPath. If a user-defined alias has been configured, it displays.
-bycollective
Displays event information one collective at a time. You cannot use -bycollective if you designate specific components.
Example:
viewevents -all -bycollective
lists all events in the system, one collective at a time.
Example:
viewevents -all -sys=1 -coll=3-5 -bycollective
lists all events from system 1, collectives 3 through 5, one collective at a time.
-csv
Displays the information in CSV (comma-separated value) format on the screen. To redirect the command output to a .csv or .txt file, type one of the following:
•
-csv > myfilename.csv
•
-csv > myfilename.txt
-detail
Displays detailed event data.
Example:
viewevents -start 8/19/2013 -days 1 -detail
displays event details for all events logged on 8/19/2013.
140 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 8 Command Line Interface viewevents
-format filename
Displays event information according to the format file filename.
viewevents recognizes the following macros in the format file:
{eventGUID}, {TimeStamp}, {TimeReceived}, {Sequence}, {ObjectPath}, {Severity},
{ReporterType}, {SubType}, {Source}, {MessageId}, {Description}, {Details},
{BinaryData}, {Domain}, {ManagedElementAlias}, {SystemName}, {SystemID},
{CollectiveID}, {CabinetID}, {ChassisID}
Surround brackets with single quotes; represent a true single quote with two single quotes.
{‘This is a sample’} is represented as ‘{‘‘‘This is a sample.’’’}’ in the format file.
-formNameValue
Displays in AttributeName=Value format.
-nohdr
Suppresses display of format header.
-perform
-xml
Displays statistics such as elapsed time and number of records.
Displays alert information in xml format.
Filter Parameters
-cabinetID=cabinetIDNumber[,...]
Selects events associated with the cabinet ID numbers. If you identify multiple cabinet
ID numbers, you cannot specify chassis IDs.
Note: If a system, collective, cabinet, or chassis has more than one component, you cannot specify any further granularity.
Example:
viewevents -sys=1 -coll=200 -cab=1,2,3
and viewevents -sys=1
-coll=200,300
are valid; however,
-sys=1 -coll=200,300 -cab=1
is not valid.
-chassisID=chassisIDNumber[,...]
Selects events associated with the chassis ID numbers.
Note: If a system, collective, cabinet, or chassis has more than one component, you cannot specify any further granularity.
-collectiveID=collectiveIDNumber[,...]
Selects events associated with the collective ID numbers. If you identify multiple collective ID numbers, you cannot specify cabinet IDs or chassis IDs.
Note: If a system, collective, cabinet, or chassis has more than one component, you cannot specify any further granularity.
-domain=domainName[,...]
Selects events with the specified domain names.
-msgID=msgID[,...]
Selects one or more events with matching MessageIDs.
-objectClass=objectClassName[,...]
Selects one or more events associated with object class names. To determine the class name, see the first part of the component ID.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
141
Chapter 8 Command Line Interface viewevents
Example: If the component ID is
CMIC_5500J.SystemID=1,CollectiveID=400,CabinetID=1,ID=6
, the class name is
CMIC_5500J
.
-reporterType=reporterType[,...]
Selects event reporter types.
•
MPP_StatusEvent
•
MPP_ConfigChangeEvent
•
MPP_CommandEvent
•
MPP_SnmpTrap
•
MPP_BynetDPEvent
•
MPP_UNIXLog
•
MPP_WinLog
•
MPP_SiteActivity
•
MPP_Alert
•
MPP_DeviceLog
•
PSR_SummaryAlert
Example:
viewevents -rep=MPP_WinLog -dom=node -sev=W,D
lists events with a report type of MPP_WinLog, a severity of Warning or Degraded, and domain of Node.
-severity=severity[,...]
Selects the first letter of one or more severity names or a range x-y, between 0 and 6.
•
Unknown or 0
•
OK or 1
•
Info or 2
•
Warning or 3
•
Degraded or 4
•
Critical or 5
•
Fatal or 6
-sName=systemName[,...]
Selects events associated with system names.
Example:
viewevents -sname=ABC
list events where the system name is "ABC."
-systemID=systemIDNumber[,...]
Selects events associated with the system ID numbers. If you identify multiple system
ID numbers, you cannot specify collective IDs, cabinet IDs, or chassis IDs.
Note: If a system, collective, cabinet, or chassis has more than one component, you cannot specify any further granularity.
Example:
viewevents -sys=1 -cab=300 -chas=203,204
lists events where systemID=1, cabinetID=300, and chassisID=203 or chassisID=204.
-subType=subTypeName[,...]
Selects events with the specified subType names.
Note: For unassigned or empty string subTypes use the UNASSIGNED keyword.
142 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 8 Command Line Interface viewmeasurementhistory
Monitor Parameters
-monitor
Monitors the database for new events and displays them. The following parameters are not supported: -start, -end, -sec, -min, -hrs, -days, -active, -desc, -asc, -seq, -detail, -
perform, and -id.
Tip: Press CTRL + C to quit.
Example:
viewevents -monitor
listens for new events.
viewmeasurementhistory
Purpose
The viewmeasurementhistory command displays measurement information for chassis that have measurement history to the screen or outputs to a file.
Invoking this command with a system, collective, or cabinet component retrieves measurement history for all chassis contained in that system, collective, or cabinet that have measurement history.
Syntax
viewmeasurementhistory [components] [TimeParameters]
[DisplayParameters] [FilterParameters]
Parameters
components
Unique ID of the component or components whose history records you want to display.
The unique ID can be a Component ID, default alias, or user-defined alias. If no
Component IDs or aliases are specified, records for the first system display.
Components can only be at the level of system, collective, cabinet, or chassis.
Time Parameters
-all
Displays all records in the system. If -all or -max is not specified, the default is 1000 records.
Notice:
Operation could be lengthy depending on the size of the system.
Example:
viewmeasurementhistory -all
displays all measurement records in the system.
-desc | asc
Specifies sort order based on create time.
• Descending displays newest record first (default)
• Ascending displays oldest record first
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
143
Chapter 8 Command Line Interface viewmeasurementhistory
-end [mm/dd/yyyy] [hh:mm:ss]
Selects the end date or time. Default is current date or time 23:59:59.
-max x
Specifies the maximum number of records to retrieve. If -all or -max is not specified, the default is 1000 records.
-sec | -min | -hrs | -days x
Selects records by the specified seconds, minutes, hours, or days since the start time or before the end time; if -start or -end is not specified, the default is since current time.
Example:
viewmeasurementhistory -start 10/02/2013 -days 2
displays 2 days of measurement records, starting October 2, 2013 00:00:00 and ending 2 days later, on October 3, 2013 23:59:59.
Example:
viewmeasurementhistory -end 10/15/2013 -days 4
displays 4 days of measurement records, starting on October 11, 2013 00:00:00 and ending on October
15, 2013 23:59:59.
Example:
viewmeasurementhistory -days 4
displays measurement records starting 4 days earlier up to current time.
Example:
viewmeasurementhistory -start 8/19/2013 -days 1
displays measurement records for all records logged on August 19, 2013.
-start [mm/dd/yyyy] [hh:mm:ss]
Selects the start date and time. Default is current date and time 0.
Display Parameters
-byalias
Displays output using the component alias instead of the ObjectPath. If a user-defined alias has been configured, it displays.
-bycollective
Displays measurement information one collective at a time. You cannot use -
bycollective if you designate specific components.
Example:
viewmeasurementhistory -all -bycollective
lists all measurement records in the system, one collective at a time.
Example:
viewmeasurementhistory -all -sys=1 -coll=3-5 -bycollective lists all measurement records from system 1, collectives 3 through 5, one collective at a time.
-csv
Displays the information in CSV (comma-separated value) format on the screen. To redirect the command output to a .csv or .txt file, type one of the following:
•
-csv > myfilename.csv
•
-csv > myfilename.txt
-formNameValue
Displays in AttributeName=Value format.
-nohdr
Suppresses display of format header.
-perform
Displays statistics such as elapsed time and number of records.
144 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Chapter 8 Command Line Interface viewmeasurementhistory
Filter Parameters
-cabinetID=cabinetIDNumber[,...]
Selects records associated with the cabinet ID numbers. If you identify multiple cabinet
ID numbers, you cannot specify chassis IDs.
-chassisID=chassisIDNumber[,...]
Selects records associated with the chassis ID numbers.
-collectiveID=collectiveIDNumber[,...]
Selects records associated with the collective ID numbers. If you identify multiple collective ID numbers, you cannot specify cabinet IDs or chassis IDs.
-model=modelName[,...]
Selects records with the specified model names.
-objectClass=objectClassName[,...]
Selects records associated with object class names. To determine the class name, see the first part of the component ID.
Example: If the component ID is
CMIC_5500J.SystemID=1,CollectiveID=400,CabinetID=1,ID=6
, the class name is
CMIC_5500J
.
-propname=propertyName[,...]
Selects records with matching property names.
-propunit=propertyUnit[,...]
Selects records with matching property units.
-propvalue=propertyValue[,...]
Selects records with matching property values.
-systemID=systemIDNumber[,...]
Selects records associated with the system ID numbers. If you identify multiple system
ID numbers, you cannot specify collective IDs, cabinet IDs, or chassis IDs.
Example:
viewmeasurementhistory -sys=1 -cab=300 -chas=203,204
lists measurement records where systemID=1, cabinetID=300, and chassisID=203 or chassisID=204.
-type=chassisType[,...]
Selects records with the specified chassis types.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
145
Chapter 8 Command Line Interface viewmeasurementhistory
146 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
CHAPTER 9
Data Types
About Files Sent Through TVI
TVI allows a customer's system to place data files that report configuration and event information in TVI Portals. The following data files are periodically sent to or collected by
Teradata from the TVI Portals and processed to record their contents:
• TVI Data Formats
• Dump Files
• Elastic Performance Files
Server Management Data Files
The following types of TVI data files are used in the data file exchange with Teradata, all are in XML format.
Examples are located in sm-sw-tvi-examples-11.02.01.00.D.RD.smweb11.02.zip in the sm-sw release bundle. A tvi-examples-readme.XX.XX.XX.XX.txt file is also available.
Registration File
The Registration file is sent to Teradata when a new system is configured. It contains CMIC version information, heartbeat frequency, and the last contact, next contact, and registration times.
Heartbeat File
The Heartbeat file is a message file that is sent to Teradata every hour, communicating that
TVI is still running at the site. It contains the same information as the Registration file.
Alerts
Alerts from Server Management represent existing or potential problems within the
Teradata system. Server Management analyzes and summarizes groups of alert conditions that occur during problem conditions and creates summary alerts that identify the cause.
The resulting alert summaries are sent to Teradata so that a service incident can automatically be generated.
Asset Baseline and Snapshot Files
The System Asset Baseline (ABL) process gathers information on the system’s chassis to query their asset information. Asset information for the hardware and software components of the system are recorded in simple data bundle formatted files and sent to Teradata.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
147
Chapter 9 Data Types
About Files Sent Through TVI
The Asset Snapshot automates the updating of asset data to Customer Services Infrastructure
(CSI). Rather than requiring manual ABL be run after simple change controls such as upgrades or parts replacement, asset changes are automatically detected at periodic intervals and are reported as an asset snapshot that uses the simple data bundle schema.
The Asset Snapshot logic does not run while an ABL is in process or if the system is in failover.
Reports
Reports are scheduled or periodically-collected files containing information for the Support
Analyst. The following requests are types of reports generated by the customer’s TVI software:
• Pre-determined jobs such as reports produced at node boot time
• PUT upgrades, which sends reports to TVI
• Configuration files when changes are detected
Data Bundles
Some hardware components require support data to be gathered, either when triggered by a component or on-demand. The support data and an associated .xml file, which contains information about the support data, are zipped together into one file and sent to Teradata to help the Support Analyst diagnose problems. The support data may be binary or humanreadable and can be excluded by the Policy Server, as needed.
Dump Files
Dump files are application or operating system dumps, collected as binary files, that are manually sent to Teradata where they are interpreted by the Support Analysts. Dump files can include customer information and therefore can be included or excluded by the Policy
Server, as needed.
EPoD Files
Elastic Performance files contain information about Teradata Database’s CPU usage and are used to determine how much Elastic CPU on an hour-by-hour basis a customer has used for billing purposes. These files are required to be transmitted for customers who have purchased
Elastic Performance on Demand (EPOD). Teradata Viewpoint is the source of the Elastic
Performance files.
EPOD is a capability that gives Teradata customers the ability to increase the performance of their Teradata Database systems. The performance increase is achieved by increasing the percentage of CPU available to customer workloads. When the percentage of available CPU is increased, any CPU usage above the customer's purchased baseline incurs pay-per-use charges. The collection and display of Elastic Performance data is provided by the features built into Teradata Viewpoint.
148 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
APPENDIX A
Server Management Portlet
External Connections to Teradata Viewpoint
The SMWeb Main page has an External Connections link to the available connection options. One of the available external connections is Teradata Viewpoint, which allows you to send alerts and select actions for the alerts in the Server Management portlet.
Server Management
The Server Management portlet allows you to select actions for Server Management summary alerts.
You can monitor several Server Management instances with Teradata Viewpoint and add alerts for specific site IDs or all site IDs. You create and select alert action sets from the Alert
Setup portlet.
About Alerts in Server Management
In the Server Management portlet, you can define actions to occur in response to certain
Server Management alerts.
After you add alert action sets in the Alert Setup portlet, they appear in the Server
Management portlet.
The types of alert actions you can choose are:
Send an Email
Choose a defined email address and text message. Event information, such as date, time, event name, threshold, and actual value, is automatically added to the body of the email message.
Run a Program
Choose a program to execute (
.exe
).
Run a BTEQ Script
Choose a BTEQ script.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
149
Appendix A Server Management Portlet
Server Management
Run a SQL Query
Choose a SQL query.
Notify SNMP System
Choose an SNMP trap.
Alert Properties
These metrics are available for Teradata Server Management alerts. The associated property names allow you to customize alert actions in the Alert Setup portlet or customize the message in the Server Management portlet.
Metric
CMIC Version
Impact
Severity
Subsystem
Synopsis
System
Description
The version of the CMIC that forwarded the alert.
A short impact statement about the problem.
Severity level of the alert.
Values:
• Unknown
• OK
• Information
• Warning
• Degraded
• Critical
• Fatal
Subsystem origin of the alert.
Values:
• Client
• Database
• Network
• Node
• OS
• Power
• ServerMgmt
• Storage
• Other
A short summary of the problem. This includes the message ID, a short synopsis, and a recommendation.
The system name from the Summary Alert, if applicable.
Property Name
cmicversion impact severity subsystem synopsis systemname
The following metrics are not available in the dialog box, but can be entered in the message included with the alert by using the property name with the syntax ${alertProperty}. These properties can also be used to customize alert actions in the Alert Setup portlet.
150 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Metric
Description
Domain
ID
MessageID
Scope
Appendix A Server Management Portlet
Server Management
Description
A message describing what occurred, including a recommendation.
The source where the alert originated. In conjunction with MessageID, it uniquely identifies the type of alert.
Property Name
description domain id
The GUID, a unique global identifier assigned to the alert.
An ID that identifies the rule that processed this alert.
This ID is meant to describe the category of this alert.
Describes the number of alert and component types involved in the alert scenario. Alert type is defined as a unique alert Domain/MessageID.
The Teradata system that generated this alert.
messageid scope
The status of the alert.
The time and date the alert was detected.
The summary or alert type.
siteid status time type
SiteID
Status
Time
Type
Adding Site IDs
A site ID represents a Server Management instance and Teradata Viewpoint can monitor several site IDs. Each site ID can represent a different purpose, such as production, development, and so on.
1
2
3
Click next to SiteIDs.
Enter a name up to 15 characters.
Click Apply.
Adding and Copying Alerts
You can create alerts for a single site ID or all site IDs and select alert actions from the configured action sets in the Alert Setup portlet. You can create different alerts to monitor different conditions for each site ID depending on the purpose of the site ID, such as production, development, and so on. If you want alerts to monitor the same conditions on any of the site IDs, you can create alerts for all sites.
1
2
From the Site IDs list, do one of the following:
• Click All for alerts on all sites.
• Click a site ID for alerts on a single site.
From the Alerts list, do one of the following:
• Click to add an alert.
• Click in the row of the alert you want to copy.
• Click the name of the alert you want to edit.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
151
Appendix A Server Management Portlet
Server Management
3
4
5
6
7
Enter a name for the alert.
[Optional] Select the Enabled check box to enable the alert.
Under Alert Rules, do the following:
a b
Select the scope of the alert rule using the Match list.
• All requires all criteria match to trigger the alert.
• Any requires any one criterion match to trigger the alert.
Select a metric from the list and enter a threshold value.
You can add or remove rules.
c
[Optional] Select the Notify again if alert updates check box to be notified if the alert is updated.
Under Alert Action, do the following:
a
Select an alert action from the list.
b
Enter a limit for Do not run twice in a number of minutes.
The alert action does not run more than once during the time span you entered.
[Optional] Under Message, enter a message that appears when the alert action executes.
Message can use the following parameters to provide specific details about the alert that would otherwise not be seen directly with an SNMP trap:
Metric Description
CMIC Version The version of the CMIC that forwarded the alert.
Description A message describing what occurred, including a recommendation.
Domain
ID
Impact
MessageID
Scope
Severity
SiteID
Property Name
${cmicversion}
${description}
The source where the alert originated. In conjunction with MessageID, it uniquely identifies the type of alert.
The GUID, a unique global identifier assigned to the alert.
${domain}
${id}
A brief description of the alert cause.
An ID that identifies the rule that processed this alert. This ID is meant to describe the category of this alert.
${impact}
${messageid}
Describes the number of alert and component types involved in the alert scenario. Alert type is defined as a unique alert Domain/
MessageID.
${scope}
Severity level of the alert group.
${severity}
The Teradata system that generated this alert.
${siteid}
152 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Appendix A Server Management Portlet
Server Management
8
Metric
Subsystem
Status
Synopsis
System
Time
Type
Description
The subsystem where the alert originated.
The status of the alert.
A brief description of the failure. This can include the meaning and recommendation.
The system name from the Summary Alert, if applicable.
The time and date the alert was detected.
The summary or alert type.
Property Name
${subsystem}
${status}
${synopsis}
${systemname}
${time}
${type}
Click Apply.
The appears if the operation is successful. The appears if the operation fails; verify that the settings are correct, and try again.
Disabling Alerts
Disabling an alert makes it temporarily unavailable, while maintaining the configured settings. You can enable the alert as needed.
1
2
3
4
From the Site IDs list, do one of the following:
• Click All for alerts on all sites.
• Click a site ID for alerts on a single site.
From the Alerts list, select the alert name.
Clear the Enabled check box.
Click Apply.
The appears if the operation is successful. The appears if the operation fails; verify that the settings are correct, and try again.
Deleting Alerts
1
2
3
4
From the Site IDs list, do one of the following:
• Click All for alerts on all sites.
• Click a site ID for alerts on a single site.
From the Alerts list, select the alert name.
Click in the row of the alert you want to delete.
A confirmation message appears.
Click OK.
The alert row disappears.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
153
Appendix A Server Management Portlet
Server Management
Customizing Email Alerts for Server Management Example
Use the Alert Setup and Server Management portlets to send a customized email when alerts with certain criteria are triggered.
The following is an overview of the process:
1.
In SMWeb, configure the system to forward alerts to the Viewpoint server.
2.
Configure the delivery settings in the Alert Setup portlet.
3.
Create an action set in the Alert Setup portlet.
4.
Define alert rules in the Server Management portlet.
5.
Monitor the messages that arrive in the email inbox.
Example: Creating an Email Message for Critical Server Management Alerts
Suppose you want to send an email message to [email protected] whenever a critical or fatal
Server Management alert is triggered.
1
2 i j f
In SMWeb, configure the system to monitor the Server Management portlet.
a
On the SMWeb Home page, select External Connections.
b
If prompted, log in.
c d
Under Viewpoint Settings, at IP Address, type the IP address of the Viewpoint server.
[Optional] Select the Enable Advanced
Configuration check box to filter the alerts that are sent to the Teradata Alerts system based on System Names.
See the Teradata Server Management Web Services Configuration Guide (B035-5351) for more information.
e
Click Save.
In the Alert Setup portlet, configure delivery settings.
a b c d e g h
From the Setup Options list, click Delivery Settings.
From the Delivery Types list, click Email.
At SMTP Host, enter smtp.example.com
.
Select the Enable email check box.
From the Port list, select Use default port to use the default port 25.
Enter a default Server Timeout, in seconds.
At Reply-To, enter a reply address.
For example,
.
Leave Advanced blank.
At Test Recipient, type [email protected]
.
Click Test to verify that the SMTP server delivers the email to the address you specified.
154 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Appendix A Server Management Portlet
Server Management
3
4
5 f k
Click Apply.
In the Alert Setup portlet, create an Action Set.
a b
From the Setup Options list, click Alert Presets.
From the Preset Options list, click Action Sets.
c d e
Click next to Action Sets.
Enter the Action Set Name
CustomEmailAlert
.
Ensure that the Include in Alert Viewer check box is selected under Actions.
This option is selected by default so that you can view alerts for this action set in the
Alert Viewer portlet.
From the Actions list, select Email recipients.
g
At Email, enter [email protected]
.
h
Click Apply.
In the Server Management portlet, configure TEST1.
l i j f a
Click next to SiteIDs.
b
At Site ID, enter
TEST1
.
c
Click Apply.
In the Server Management portlet, define the alert rules for TEST1.
a b c d
Under SiteIDs, click TEST1.
Click next to Alerts.
If you just created TEST1, skip this step. The alert configuration fields are ready for input.
At Alert Name, type
Test Alert
.
Click the Enabled checkbox.
e g h k
For Match, keep the default of All.
From the first list, select Severity.
From the second list, select is greater than or equal to.
From the third list, select Critical.
Leave the Notify again if alert updates check box selected.
Under Alert Action, select
CustomEmailAlert
.
In the Message field, type
Severity is critical or fatal
.
Click Apply.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
155
Appendix A Server Management Portlet
Server Management
6
In the email inbox for [email protected]
, monitor the messages from
.
Enabling SNMP Traps in Server Management Example
Use the Alert Setup and Server Management portlets to send an SNMP trap notification when alerts with certain criteria are triggered.
The following is an overview of the process:
1.
In SMWeb, configure the system to forward alerts to the Teradata Viewpoint server.
2.
Configure the delivery settings in the Alert Setup portlet.
3.
Create an action set in the Alert Setup portlet.
4.
Define alert rules in the Server Management portlet.
5.
Monitor the notifications that arrive at the SNMP management servers.
Example: Configuring SNMP Traps in Server Management
Suppose you want to send a trap to an SNMP management server when a database alerts with a warning severity.
For this example, the SNMP management package is running on a system named prodMgr1
.
To configure and send an SNMP trap as an alert action, perform the following steps:
1
2 f
In SMWeb, configure the system to forward alerts to the Viewpoint server.
a
On the SMWeb Home page, select External Connections.
b
If prompted, log in.
c d
Under Viewpoint Settings, at IP Address, type the IP address of the Viewpoint server.
[Optional] Select the Enable Advanced
Configuration check box to filter the alerts that are sent to the Teradata Alerts system based on System Names.
See the Teradata Server Management Web Services Configuration Guide (B035-5351) for more information.
e
Click Save.
In the Alert Setup portlet, create an SNMP configuration.
a b
From the Setup Options list, click Delivery Settings.
From the Delivery Types list, click SNMP.
c d e g
Next to SNMP, click .
In
Configuration Name, type snmpConfig
.
Click the Enable SNMP checkbox.
In Destination, type prodMgr1
as the hostname for the trap.
In Community, leave the default value, public.
156 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Appendix A Server Management Portlet
Server Management
3
4 i j f i h
Select the Alert message check box.
If the Alert Conditions check box is not already selected, select it.
j
Click Apply.
In the Alert Setup portlet, create an Action Set.
a
From the Setup Options list, click Alert Presets.
b c d e
From the Preset Options list, click Core Hours.
From the Days lists, select Monday and Sunday.
For Time, select 24 hours.
From the Preset Options list, click Action Sets.
i j f g h
Click next to Action Sets.
In Action Set Name, type snmpTrap
.
From the Times check boxes, select Core, Evening, and Weekend.
Ensure that the Include in Alert Viewer check box is selected under Actions.
This option is selected by default so that you can view alerts for this action set in the
Alert Viewer portlet.
From the Actions list, select the SNMP check box.
k
From the list of SNMP configurations, select snmpConfig.
l
Click Apply.
In the Server Management portlet, configure the alert.
a b c d e g h
Click next to SiteIDs.
In SiteID, type
Gamma1
.
Click Apply.
From the SiteIDs list, select Gamma1.
Click next to ALERTS.
In Alert Name, type
SM_snmpTrap
.
Click the Enabled checkbox.
From the Alert Rules list, select All.
From the Alert Rules metric list, select: Subsystem, is equal to, and Database.
Click to the right of the metric list.
A second metric list will appear.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
157
Appendix A Server Management Portlet
Server Management
l k o p
From the second metric list, select: Severity, is greater than or equal to, and
Degraded.
Check the Notify again if alert updates check box.
m
From the Alert Action list, select snmpTrap
n
Accept the default in Do not run twice in...minutes.
In Message, type the following properties:
SiteID : ${siteid}
${description}
MessageID : ${messageid}
Severity : ${severity}
Note: Include alert properties in the Message field by enclosing the property name in curly brackets ({}) and preceding the expression with a dollar sign ($) as shown. See
for details.
Click Apply.
5
In the Alert Viewer portlet, review triggered actions.
SNMP Notification Message Example
Note: The description contains the Synopsis and Recommendation.
SiteID : SAMPLEID
Synopsis : TD Manual Database Restart detected PSRType : RootCause
Recommendations : Look for other scheduled activities on the SiteID and contact the Site Team to remind them to open a Maintenance Window while providing Service Actions to keep this type of Alert from being uploaded.
MessageID : TD_RESTART
Severity : Degraded
158 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide, Release 11.02
Download
Advertisement
Key features
Centralized management of Teradata server components via SMWeb and SMClient.
Comprehensive event and alert viewing capabilities with detailed information.
Tools for managing component properties, asset information, and measurement data.
Multiple connection options to components including Terminal, Telnet, SSH/SFTP.
Guided servicing procedures for hardware replacement, firmware updates, and power control.
Robust Command Line Interface (CLI) for advanced system management tasks.
Support for managing UPS devices, including diagnostic tests and battery date settings.
Functionality for collecting and downloading support bundles for troubleshooting.
Frequently asked questions
SMWeb is a web-based application designed for managing Teradata server components, offering access to various management functions and applications.
You can view alerts in SMClient through the Alert Viewer, which displays detected issues with component statuses, along with details like severity, component, and time.
SMClient supports various servicing procedures including replacing hardware components (FRUs), checking and flashing firmware, resetting components, managing system power, and performing UPS diagnostic tests.
The SMWeb CLI can be accessed by setting up the environment in Linux or Windows, then running the 'smwebcli' command from your terminal or command prompt.