Teradata SMWeb Server Management Software User Guide
Publicité
Publicité
Teradata Server Management
Web Services
User Guide
Version 10.03
B035-5350-013K
January 2013
The product or products described in this book are licensed products of Teradata Corporation or its affiliates.
Teradata, Active Enterprise Intelligence, Applications-Within, Aprimo, Aprimo Marketing Studio, Aster, BYNET, Claraview, DecisionCast, Gridscale,
MyCommerce, Raising Intelligence, Smarter. Faster. Wins., SQL-MapReduce, Teradata Decision Experts, "Teradata Labs" logo, "Teradata Raising
Intelligence" logo, Teradata ServiceConnect, Teradata Source Experts, "Teradata The Best Decision Possible" logo, The Best Decision Possible,
WebAnalyst, and Xkoto are trademarks or registered trademarks of Teradata Corporation or its affiliates in the United States and other countries.
Adaptec and SCSISelect are trademarks or registered trademarks of Adaptec, Inc.
AMD Opteron and Opteron are trademarks of Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
Apache, Apache Hadoop, Hadoop, and the yellow elephant logo are either registered trademarks or trademarks of the Apache Software Foundation in the United States and/or other countries.
Axeda is a registered trademark of Axeda Corporation. Axeda Agents, Axeda Applications, Axeda Policy Manager, Axeda Enterprise, Axeda Access,
Axeda Software Management, Axeda Service, Axeda ServiceLink, and Firewall-Friendly are trademarks and Maximum Results and Maximum
Support are servicemarks of Axeda Corporation.
Data Domain, EMC, PowerPath, SRDF, and Symmetrix are registered trademarks of EMC Corporation.
GoldenGate is a trademark of Oracle.
Hewlett-Packard and HP are registered trademarks of Hewlett-Packard Company.
Hortonworks, the Hortonworks logo and other Hortonworks trademarks are trademarks of Hortonworks Inc. in the United States and other countries.
Intel, Pentium, and XEON are registered trademarks of Intel Corporation.
IBM, CICS, RACF, Tivoli, and z/OS are registered trademarks of International Business Machines Corporation.
Linux is a registered trademark of Linus Torvalds.
LSI is a registered trademark of LSI Corporation.
Microsoft, Active Directory, Windows, Windows NT, and Windows Server are registered trademarks of Microsoft Corporation in the United States and other countries.
NetVault is a trademark or registered trademark of Quest Software, Inc. in the United States and/or other countries.
Novell and SUSE are registered trademarks of Novell, Inc., in the United States and other countries.
Oracle, Java, and Solaris are registered trademarks of Oracle and/or its affiliates.
QLogic and SANbox are trademarks or registered trademarks of QLogic Corporation.
Red Hat is a trademark of Red Hat, Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. Used under license.
SAS and SAS/C are trademarks or registered trademarks of SAS Institute Inc.
SPARC is a registered trademark of SPARC International, Inc.
Symantec, NetBackup, and VERITAS are trademarks or registered trademarks of Symantec Corporation or its affiliates in the United States and other countries.
Unicode is a registered trademark of Unicode, Inc. in the United States and other countries.
UNIX is a registered trademark of The Open Group in the United States and other countries.
Other product and company names mentioned herein may be the trademarks of their respective owners.
T
HE INFORMATION CONTAINED IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED ON AN
"
AS
-
IS
"
BASIS
,
WITHOUT WARRANTY OF ANY KIND
,
EITHER
EXPRESS OR IMPLIED
,
INCLUDING THE IMPLIED WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY
,
FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE
,
OR
NON
-
INFRINGEMENT
. S
OME JURISDICTIONS DO NOT ALLOW THE EXCLUSION OF IMPLIED WARRANTIES
,
SO THE ABOVE EXCLUSION
MAY NOT APPLY TO YOU
. I
N NO EVENT WILL
T
ERADATA
C
ORPORATION BE LIABLE FOR ANY INDIRECT
,
DIRECT
,
SPECIAL
,
INCIDENTAL
,
OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES
,
INCLUDING LOST PROFITS OR LOST SAVINGS
,
EVEN IF EXPRESSLY ADVISED OF THE POSSIBILITY OF
SUCH DAMAGES
.
The information contained in this document may contain references or cross-references to features, functions, products, or services that are not announced or available in your country. Such references do not imply that Teradata Corporation intends to announce such features, functions, products, or services in your country. Please consult your local Teradata Corporation representative for those features, functions, products, or services available in your country.
Information contained in this document may contain technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Information may be changed or updated without notice. Teradata Corporation may also make improvements or changes in the products or services described in this information at any time without notice.
To maintain the quality of our products and services, we would like your comments on the accuracy, clarity, organization, and value of this document.
Please email: [email protected].
Any comments or materials (collectively referred to as "Feedback") sent to Teradata Corporation will be deemed non-confidential. Teradata
Corporation will have no obligation of any kind with respect to Feedback and will be free to use, reproduce, disclose, exhibit, display, transform, create derivative works of, and distribute the Feedback and derivative works thereof without limitation on a royalty-free basis. Further, Teradata
Corporation will be free to use any ideas, concepts, know-how, or techniques contained in such Feedback for any purpose whatsoever, including developing, manufacturing, or marketing products or services incorporating Feedback.
Copyright © 2009-2013 by Teradata Corporation. All Rights Reserved.
Preface
Purpose
Audience
The Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide (B035-5350) provides information about using the Teradata Server Management Web Services (SMWeb) software in an MPP system.
The audience for this book includes, but is not limited to:
•
Server Management Web Services users
•
System Administrators
•
Teradata service and support personnel
Prerequisites
You should have access to, or be familiar with, the following:
•
Basic computer knowledge
•
Familiarity with Graphical User Interfaces (GUIs)
•
Familiarity with MPP systems and their use
Changes to This Book
The following table provides information about the initial release and any subsequent revisions made to this document.
Date
January 2013
September 2012
June 2012
March 2012
Description
Updated to reflect the changes in SMWeb version 10.03.
Updated to reflect the changes in SMWeb version 10.02.
Updated to reflect the changes in SMWeb version 10.01
Updated to reflect the changes in SMWeb version 10.00.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 3
4
Preface
Additional Information
Date
February 2012
September 2011
July 2011
June 2011
May 2011
March 2011
October 2010
March 2010
January 2010
November 2009
July 2009
Description
Updated to reflect the changes in SMWeb versions 9.02 and 9.03.
Updated to reflect the changes in SMWeb version 9.01.
Updated to reflect the changes in SMWeb version 9.00.06.
Updated to reflect the changes in SMWeb version 9.00.03.
Updated to reflect the changes in SMWeb version 9.00.02.
Updated to reflect the changes in SMWeb version 9.00.
Updated to reflect the changes in SMWeb version 8.00.
Updated to reflect the changes in SMWeb version 7.03.
Updated to reflect the changes in SMWeb version 7.02.
Updated to reflect the changes in SMWeb version 7.01.
Initial release.
Additional Information
Updates and supplementary information are available online.
http://www.teradata.com/t/ http://www.info.teradata.com/ http://infocentral.daytonoh.teradata.com/tsdlibrary/index.cfm
http://infocentral.daytonoh.teradata.com/tsdlibrary/isupr.cfm
http://tssprod.teradata.com:8080/TSFS/home.do
Internet site for product, service, resource, support, and other customer information
Internet site for published Teradata customer documentation
Intranet site for published Teradata service documentation
Section of the intranet site for Teradata service documentation specific to software installation and upgrade information
Intranet site linking to Teradata software server
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Table of Contents
Preface
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .3
Chapter 1:
Teradata SMWeb Overview
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 17
Navigating to the SMWeb Home Page from a Non-SOV-Enabled CMIC. . . . . . . . . . . . 20
Chapter 2:
Navigating Server Management Client
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 25
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 5
Table of Contents
Chapter 3:
Checking System Health
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .45
Chapter 4:
Managing Events
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .59
6 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Table of Contents
Chapter 5:
Managing Alerts
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 71
Chapter 6:
Managing Cabinet Windows
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 91
New Cabinet Window and Cabinet Window Dialog Boxes. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 93
Chapter 7:
Managing Component Information
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 99
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 7
Table of Contents
8
Using Predefined System Queries to Generate Measurement Graphs . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .121
Using Predefined Cabinet-Level Queries to Generate Measurement Graphs . . . . . . . . .128
Chapter 8:
Connecting to System Components
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .141
Chapter 9:
Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .179
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Table of Contents
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 9
Table of Contents
Chapter 10:
Command Line Interface Utilities
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .225
Index
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .259
10 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
List of Figures
Figure 16: Command Summary and Command Output Windows. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 42
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 11
List of Figures
12
Figure 44: New Cabinet Window Dialog Box (New > All Cabinets Command, New >
Blank Command) and Cabinet Window (Edit > Options Command) Dialog Boxes . . . . . . .93
Figure 45: Chassis Layout View: Window Series for Non-Disk Array Chassis . . . . . . . . . . . .100
Figure 59: Measurement Graph Manager (Predefined System Queries). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .121
Figure 63: Stacked Bar Graph of Most Recent UPS Power Consumption Data
Figure 65: Measurement Graph Manager (Predefined Cabinet-Level Queries) . . . . . . . . . . .128
Figure 66: xy Graph of All Temperature Readings for Selected Cabinet(s) (Example) . . . . .129
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
List of Figures
Figure 68: Measurement Graph Dialog Box (Custom Queries): General Tab . . . . . . . . . . . 132
Figure 69: Measurement Graph Dialog Box (Custom Queries): SQL Statement Tab . . . . . 136
Figure 84: Client Connections Window: Tabbed Layout, Connections Manager,
Figure 89: New Site Activity Entry Dialog Box (From Summary Alert Viewer) . . . . . . . . . . 185
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 13
List of Figures
14 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
List of Tables
Table 2: Access to SMWeb Applications Based on Membership in Users and Groups . . . . . 20
Table 20: Summary Alert Viewer Display Options in the Options Dialog Box . . . . . . . . . . . 72
Table 27: Cabinet Window Dialog Box (Edit > Options) and New Cabinet Window
Dialog Box (New > All Cabinets and New > Blank Commands) Descriptions . . . . . . . . . . . 93
Table 30: Cabinet Window: Commands for Manipulating Cabinet Icons . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 97
Table 31: Cabinet Window: Commands for Saving, Opening, and Closing Cabinet
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 15
List of Tables
16
Table 43: Measurement Graph Dialog Box: SQL Statement Tab Description . . . . . . . . . . . .136
Table 56: Options Dialog Box (Tools > Options): Client Connections Options . . . . . . . . . .168
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
CHAPTER 1
Teradata SMWeb Overview
Teradata Server Management Web Services (SMWeb) provides the ability to monitor and administer a Massively Parallel Processing (MPP) system. An MPP system is a group of nodes, associated storage, and other hardware used to host an instance of the Teradata Database.
SMWeb is designed for use by a customer’s on-site staff members, Teradata Services Analysts in the Global Support Center (GSC), and Teradata Customer Service Representatives.
Related Topics
•
•
Accessing the SMWeb Services Home Page
•
•
File Transfers and Remote Connections
•
•
•
How SMWeb Works
SMWeb consolidates the functionality for Server Management Client (SMClient), CMIC support, Command Line Interface (CLI) utilities, security, and other features on one Home page.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 17
Chapter 1: Teradata SMWeb Overview
How SMWeb Works
Figure 1: SMWeb Home Page
18
Table 1: Options on the SMWeb Home Page
Home Page Option
Server Management Client
Command Line Interface for
Windows Clients
Command Line Interface for Linux
Clients
Save and Restore
Users and Groups
Network, Devices, and CMICs
External Connections
Functionality
Monitor status, display events, and perform commands from a single operational view of the system.
SMClient is opened with Java Web Start (javaws).
Download remote command line interface utilities for
Windows clients.
Download remote command line interface utilities for Linux clients.
Download, upload, and view configuration files.
Manage user and group security levels.
Users and Groups is opened with Java Web Start (javaws).
Configure the Server Management network and device management.
Configure settings for communication between Server
Management and the service workstation (TVI) and the
Viewpoint server (for Viewpoint alerting).
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 1: Teradata SMWeb Overview
Accessing the SMWeb Services Home Page
SMWeb interfaces display the information provided by server management. Server management consists of the server management chassis (CMIC) hardware and software
(including SMWeb), and networking components that support server management operation in the MPP system.
Online help is available within each SMWeb option. Additionally, the Help option on the
Home page provides links to each online help system.
Accessing the SMWeb Services Home Page
One CMIC in a system is designated as the single operational view (SOV) CMIC. The home page hosted by the SOV CMIC has enabled links that allow for management of an MPP system. Throughout these topics, SMWeb Home page is used to denote the web page of the
SOV-enabled CMIC.
Access to the SMWeb Home page, and the web pages of non-SOV-enabled CMICs, is through the customer LAN or the server management LAN. The server management LAN is a connection between the SOV CMIC and the Service Workstation (SWS). Teradata Services uses the SWS for service operations. The level of service depends on the service agreement between Teradata and the customer.
All users can access the SMWeb Home page, but the applications and web pages require specific access privileges.
Navigating to the SMWeb Home Page
Follow the procedures below to navigate to the SMWeb Home page.
To Navigate to the SMWeb Home Page
1
Using a browser, connect to the SMWeb Home page by typing the following in the Address field of the browser:
http://<hostname or IP address of SOV-enabled CMIC>:9980/CWA/ home.asp
Note: If you enter an IPV6 address, it must be surrounded by [square brackets].
To Navigate to the SMWeb Home Page Using a Secure Protocol
1
Using a browser, connect to the SMWeb Home page using a secure protocol by typing the following in the Address field of the browser:
https://<hostname or IP address of SOV-enabled CMIC>:9981/CWA/ home.asp
Note: If you enter an IPV6 address, it must be surrounded by [square brackets].
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 19
Chapter 1: Teradata SMWeb Overview
Accessing SMWeb Applications
Navigating to the SMWeb Home Page from a Non-SOV-Enabled CMIC
To Navigate to the SMWeb Home Page from a Non-SOV-Enabled CMIC
If you access the Home page of a CMIC that is not SOV-enabled, most web applications and pages are unavailable because the CMIC is not configured to run the single operational view.
Use the following procedure to locate an SOV CMIC:
1
From the web page whose web applications and pages are unavailable, select Networks,
Devices, and CMICs.
Note: Only Service Users can access the Networks, Devices, and CMICs page.
2
In the Functionalities Hosted column, click sov. The SMWeb Home page appears.
Accessing SMWeb Applications
Although all users can access the SMWeb Home page, the applications and web pages require specific access privileges. These access privileges are based on membership in Users and
Groups. Members of each group (Users, Enhanced Users, Service Users) have a specific login and password. However, when accessing SMWeb applications from the Service Workstation
(SWS) over the server management LAN (between the SWS and the SOV CMIC), users have access to all the applications and web pages.
For more information about users and groups, see the Server Management Web Services
Configuration Guide (B035-5351), or Users and Groups online help.
Table 2: Access to SMWeb Applications Based on Membership in Users and Groups
Application or Web Page
SMClient
Command Line Interface for Windows Clients
Command Line Interface for Linux Clients
Save and Restore
Browser and Server Management Clients
(Requirements)
Users and Groups
Network, Devices, and CMICs
External Connections
User Membership(s) Required
Users, Enhanced Users, or Service Users
Users, Enhanced Users, or Service Users
Users, Enhanced Users, or Service Users
Service Users
Any user
Service Users
Service Users
Service Users
20 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 1: Teradata SMWeb Overview
File Transfers and Remote Connections
File Transfers and Remote Connections
Server Management uses industry-standard protocols and techniques to provide secure file transfers and remote connections between SMWeb and MPP system components. These protocols are described below.
Table 3: SMWeb Security Features and Protocols
Feature/Protocol
Secure Sockets
Layer (SSL)
Description/Usage
Private Networks MPP systems rely on dedicated and private primary and secondary Ethernet networks. When an MPP system is installed, access to these networks is physically restricted. To ensure security, server management components, including hubs and switches, must not be configured to route or forward messages between public networks and these private networks.
The SSL protocol used with the TCP/IP socket provides 128-bit encryption and authentication between an SSL-enabled server and an SSL-enabled client.
This protocol is used between SMClient and SMWeb CMIC.
Secure Shell (SSH) SSH provides 128-bit encryption for connections to Windows, MP-RAS, and Linux nodes and the
CMIC from SMWeb.
Note: An SSH Server must be installed and configured on the nodes. For more information about configuring SSH Server host and private key authentication, see the OpenSSH documentation. Man pages are available on MP-RAS and Linux nodes, and an OpenSSH-Help.htm file is available on
Windows nodes.
Note: If a Telnet server is enabled on the nodes, SMWeb can use Telnet to connect to MP-RAS and
Windows nodes.
Secure File
Transfer Protocol
(SFTP)
User Group
Security
SFTP provides authentication and 128-bit encryption for file transfers between nodes and SMWeb.
This protocol is used between SMWeb CMIC and the service workstation.
User access to SMWeb applications and files is based on group membership. See the Teradata SMWeb
Configuration Guide for more information.
Related Topics
•
•
Key Dependencies
SMWeb has several key dependencies.
Browser, hardware, and software requirements are available on the SMWeb Services help page.
For information about available system configurations, see the Product and Site Preparation
Guide for your platform.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 21
Chapter 1: Teradata SMWeb Overview
Migration
Hardware Requirements
To run SMClient and CLI, the following minimum hardware requirements must be met:
•
1.4 GHz CPU or greater
•
512 MB RAM (Recommended: 1 GB or greater)
•
200 MB hard drive space (for software prerequisites and caching application files)
Internet Browser Requirements
SMWeb is certified with the web browsers described below.
Windows Internet Explorer (IE)
Internet Explorer has the following requirements:
•
The IE version must be 8.0 or greater.
•
The CMIC must be added to IE’s list of trusted sites.
•
JavaScript must be enabled.
•
ActiveX Controls must be enabled to be run and scripted.
Mozilla Firefox
Mozilla Firefox has the following requirements:
•
The Firefox version must be 10.0 or greater.
•
JavaScript must be enabled.
Software Requirements
To run SMClient, and the CLI utilities, Java Runtime Environment (32-bit J2SE JRE) 6.0 or greater is required.
Note: If SMWeb Help is not displaying correctly in IE, display it in Compatibility View. In IE, select Tools > Compatibility View Settings, then select Display all websites in Compatibility View.
Migration
All SMWeb systems must be updated to the most recent version of SMWeb 7.3.x before they can be upgraded to version 8 or 9. All SMWeb systems must be updated to the most recent version of 9.x before they can be upgraded to version 10.
See the Teradata Server Management Web Services Upgrade/Downgrade Guide for additional information.
22 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 1: Teradata SMWeb Overview
What’s New in Release 10.03?
What’s New in Release 10.03?
SMWeb 10.03 changes include:
•
New plugins, including a Teradata plugin that represents Server Management’s view of the
Teradata database
•
Updated Multi-Site ID configuration tool
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 23
Chapter 1: Teradata SMWeb Overview
What’s New in Release 10.03?
24 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
CHAPTER 2
Navigating Server Management Client
Teradata SMClient allows you to monitor and manage your system.
SMClient Main Window
When you start SMClient, the Main window displays. By default, the Tree View is on the left, with the Summary Alert Viewer and Collective Management window on the right.
Figure 2: SMClient Main Window
The features of the SMClient’s main window are:
•
Tree View: Lists the system components in a hierarchical, tree-based arrangement; the text to the right of each component shows its operating status.
•
Menu Bar: Contains commands; commands are also available through pop-up menus.
•
Desktop, which, as a default, displays the Summary Alert Viewer, can also display the
Cabinet window, the Status window, and the Collective Management window.
The windows on the desktop can be hidden, minimized, tiled, or extracted.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 25
Chapter 2: Navigating Server Management Client
Tree View
Manipulating the Main Window
Use the commands on the Window menu to manipulate the features on the main window.
When you exit SMClient, the system saves your desktop settings and uses it when you reopen the system.
Table 4: Commands on the Window Menu
Window Command Description
Tree View
Displays or hides the Tree View. The Tree View always displays in the left pane of the main window.
Summary Alert
Viewer
Status Window
Displays or hides the Summary Alert Viewer on desktop. The Summary Alert
Viewer displays summaries of alerts for the entire system.
Displays or hides the Status window on the desktop. The Status window displays the status of the entire system.
Collective
Management View
Cabinet Window
Tile
Displays or hides the Collective Management window on the desktop. This window displays the status of the collectives in the system.
Displays a submenu that allow you to create new Cabinet Windows and open previously saved Cabinet Windows.
Each Cabinet Window’s title bar contains standard buttons for minimizing and maximizing on the desktop, and for closing a Cabinet Window.
Evenly distributes the open windows the desktop. If a window is minimized on the desktop, it is not tiled.
Extract
Extracts the active window and places it on the Windows desktop.
•
On an extracted window, the title bar contains the standard buttons for minimizing and maximizing on the Windows desktop
•
Click the Close button to return the extract window to the desktop.
•
An extracted Cabinet Window cannot be returned to the desktop. You must save it, then reopen it with the Window > Cabinet Window > Open command.
Tree View
The Tree View displays system components in a hierarchical directory structure for the selected Site ID. The Tree View begins at the system level and branches downward to the subcomponent level. When you start SMClient, it builds the Tree View.
26 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 2: Navigating Server Management Client
Tree View
Table 5: Description of Tree View Components and Example
Tree View, with VMS and VMs:
Tree View with a physical CMIC (no VMS):
The cabinets, chassis, chassis components, and VMs displayed in the Tree View depend on your system configuration and the Site
ID selected.
They can include:
•
System: A system is one or more collectives on the server management network, managed by a single installation of
SMClient. It is the highest level of organization in the Tree
View.
•
Collective: A collective is one or more cabinets having or sharing at least one CMIC. Each collective can contain one or more cabinets.
•
Cabinet: The cabinets that appear in the Tree View depend on your system configuration.
•
Chassis: Each cabinet contains a set of chassis related to the cabinet’s function in the system. These chassis can be physical chassis or VMs.
Note: The VMs reside on the VMS, but do not show as part of the VMS on the Tree View. To determine which VMS contains which VMs, check the VMSID property on the VM.
•
Components and Subcomponents: Chassis contain components and may contain subcomponents.
CMICs and VM CMICs--as well as nodes and VM nodes--are considered to be functionally the same, unless specifically noted in this manual.
Related Topics
•
Expanding and Collapsing the Tree View
•
•
•
System, Collective, Cabinet, and Chassis Numbering
•
•
Refreshing and Rescanning the Tree View
•
Locating Components in the Tree View
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 27
Chapter 2: Navigating Server Management Client
Tree View
Expanding and Collapsing the Tree View
Expansion indicators show there are components below the current level. The indicators to the left of components allow you to expand or collapse components in the Tree View:
To Expand a Component
✔
Select the expand (+) icon to the left of the component.
To Collapse a Component
✔
Select the collapse (-) icon to the left of the component.
To Collapse the Tree View to the Cabinet Level
✔
Select View > Collapse Tree View.
To Collapse or Expand Cabinet Subcomponents when a Cabinet Window Is Displayed
✔
Double-click a cabinet icon in the Cabinet Window to toggle between an expanded or collapsed view.
To Deselect All Components in the Tree View
✔
Select View > Deselect Tree Components.
Site IDs
SMWeb has support for multi-Site ID configurations, allowing up to three Site IDs per system.
The Site ID uniquely identifies functionally separate systems.
All shared components in a multi-Site ID system are assigned to the primary Site ID. Shared components include:
•
Collectives and cabinets
•
CMICs and VMSs
•
The SWS (both VM and TMS)
•
BYNET switches
•
Server management switches
The primary Site ID owns the shared hardware, as well as any hardware that is assigned to it.
The primary Site ID is used during Teradata ServiceConnect Gateway registration. All Site IDs in the configuration are set up to point to the same SWS.
28 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 2: Navigating Server Management Client
Tree View
Selecting a Site ID in the Tree View
In an multi-Site ID configuration, you can select which site ID to display on the tree view:
To Select a Site ID in the Tree View
✔
Select the Site ID from the drop down menu at the top of the Tree View.
Figure 3: Site ID Drop Down
When only one Site ID is configured, it displays without a drop down menu.
Figure 4: Site ID, Single Site
How SMClient Works
Discovery
During a process called discovery, SMClient discovers each CMIC. Each CMIC discovers the configuration and status information of the cabinets and chassis in its collective and sends the information to SMClient.
Discovery also occurs when the system configuration changes. For example, discovery occurs when a new cabinet or chassis is added to the MPP system.
After the discovery process completes, the information displays in SMClient. SMClient can then be used to configure, monitor, administer, service, and maintain the system. As the MPP system runs, events are also reported and displayed in SMClient. These events can include device and operating system errors, configuration and operational state changes, and system alert summaries.
Network Communication
All communication between the CMICs and the MPP system takes place through two dedicated, fully redundant server management networks: the primary Ethernet network and the secondary Ethernet network.
User Directories
In Windows, SMClient data is saved by default to Documents and Settings\<username>
\sm_client_x_0\<host>.
In Linux, the data is stored in
<username>/sm_client_x_0/<host>
.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 29
Chapter 2: Navigating Server Management Client
Tree View
User-Defined Display Settings
As you work with the SMClient application, you may want to customize some of its display options. For example, instead of using the default component names listed in the Tree View, you may want to define and use aliases for them.
Display options and other user options can be changed locally or remotely. When you set user preferences for SMClient, those settings are available the next time you log on.
Related Topics
•
System, Collective, Cabinet, and Chassis Numbering
Systems, collective, cabinets, and chassis are assigned numbers in the Tree View during the initial configuration of the system.
•
System Numbers: Systems cannot be numbered zero. Currently, only one system is supported.
•
Collective Numbers: Cabinets are in one or more collectives. The collective can be any number from 1 through 511.
•
Cabinet Numbers: Cabinet numbers can be any number from 1 through 32.
•
Chassis Numbers: Chassis numbers reflect the physical location of a chassis within a cabinet, numbered from bottom to top.
A chassis type (for example, a UPS) may have a different chassis number, depending on which cabinet type it is in. Chassis numbers cannot be changed.
VMs are assigned numbers through the CMIC Configuration file, just like any other chassis. They are typically assigned numbers in the higher range, to distinguish from physical chassis.
•
Node Cabinets with Fibre Channel Switches: Fibre Channel switches are displayed and numbered according to their physical location in the processing node cabinet.
Component Names
Each component name can be displayed in one of the following ways in the Tree View:
•
•
•
These three names are established during the initial configuration of the system. The Default names display in the Tree View.
Use Tools > Options to choose whether to display the a Default name, an Alias, or a
Component ID in the Tree View.
Related Topics
•
Changing the Component Label in the Tree View
•
30 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 2: Navigating Server Management Client
Tree View
Default Names
Default names are established during initial configuration of the system. You cannot change a
Default name. Default names are in the following format in the Tree View:
[
Component Name
] [
Component Number
]
For example, the Default name for a system is
System 1
.
shows default names for a system and collectives in the Tree View.
Figure 5: Component Names in the Tree View: Default Names
Aliases
During initial configuration of the system, a default Alias is established for each component.
An Alias is a unique, alpha-numeric representation of a component.
For example:
•
The default Alias for a system whose Default name is System 1 is
SYS.1
.
•
The default Alias for Node Power Supply 1 in System 1, Collective 200, Cabinet 5500HFC
1, Node 7 is PS.1.200.1.7.1.
Although you cannot change the default Alias of a component, you can configure a user-defined Alias for it. User-defined Aliases must be unique. A user-defined Alias can be a number, a word or combination of letters, or a combination of numbers and letters.
If a user-defined Alias exists, and Tools > Options is set to Alias, the user-defined Alias displays instead of the default Alias.
shows default and user-defined aliases in the Tree View.
Figure 6: Component Names in the Tree View: Aliases
All user-defined aliases are stored in a shared (global) aliases file.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 31
Chapter 2: Navigating Server Management Client
Tree View
Component IDs
The Component ID is a unique, alpha-numeric combination that identifies a component in the system. Depending on where a component is in the system hierarchy, its Component ID
(its CIM or object path) can include a component type, system ID, collective ID, cabinet ID, chassis ID, and subcomponent ID.
shows Component IDs for a system and collectives in the Tree View.
Figure 7: Component Names in the Tree View: Component IDs
Changing the Component Label in the Tree View
To Change the Component Label Displayed in the Tree View
1
2
3
Select Tools > Options.
At Label Names, select the display name you want to use. The options are described in
Click Ok.
Table 6: Options Dialog Box: Component Tree Label Names
Options Description
Default
Alias
Displays the default names of components in the Tree View.
Displays the default Aliases of components in the Tree View. If a user-defined Alias exists, it displays
instead of the default Alias.
Component ID Displays the Component IDs of components in the Tree View.
32 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 2: Navigating Server Management Client
Tree View
Configuring Component Names
You can configure an alias for one or more components by typing it or automatically generating it.
To Type a User-Defined Alias for a Component Name
1
2
3
Use the Tree View or Functions > Multi-Select Command to select one or more components.
Select Configuration > Set Aliases.
In the Set Aliases dialog box, in the User-Defined Alias column, double-click the field that corresponds to the component for which you want to define an alias.
Figure 8: Set Aliases Dialog Box
4
5
6
Type the alias.
Repeat
for each component in the Set Aliases dialog box.
Click Ok.
2
3
To Automatically Generate a User-Defined Alias for One or More Component Names
1
Use the Tree View or Functions > Multi-Select Command to select one or more components.
The components should be of the same type (for example, all collectives, all CMICs, all nodes, and so forth).
Note: If a user-defined alias already exists for a selected component, the new user-defined alias overwrites it.
Select Configuration > Set Aliases.
In the Set Aliases dialog box, select the components you want to generate aliases for.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 33
Chapter 2: Navigating Server Management Client
Tree View
4
Click Autogenerate to display the Generate Aliases dialog box.
Figure 9: Generate Aliases Dialog Box
34
5
Using Table 7 as a reference, use the following procedure to create a template to
automatically generate aliases for the components in the Selected Components field:
a
In the Generate Aliases dialog box, edit the Template field.
b
Click Ok. The generated aliases display in the Set Aliases dialog box.
c
On the Set Aliases dialog box, click Ok.
Table 7: Generate Aliases Dialog Box Description
Option
Selected
Components
Template
Preview
Description
Contains the CIM path (component type and ID or IDs) of the components you selected.
For example, the component type and ID for the default alias of a 5500 system is
System.ID=1; the component type and ID for a 5500 collective is
System.ID=1,ID=xx, where xx is the number of the collective.
By default, this field contains the template used to create the default alias or userdefined alias of the selected components. The template consists of text and macros.
To create a template, delete or edit the field. Text, numbers, dots, dashes, and special characters are valid in templates.
Uses the first entry in the Selected Components list to show what a generated alias would look like based on the text and macros in the Template field. As you change the text and macros, the Preview field automatically updates to show the changes.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Table 7: Generate Aliases Dialog Box Description (continued)
Option
Macro button
Description
Displays the Select Macro dialog box
Chapter 2: Navigating Server Management Client
Tree View
The Select Macro dialog box allows you to specify a macro corresponding to a specific ID and the number of units in that macro.
•
Macros: Macros you can include in the template for the user-defined alias.
•
Select Width: Select a Minimum Width for the ID selected in the Macros field. A preview of the result displays
in Preview. To add the macro for the selected ID to the Template field on the Generate Aliases dialog box, click Ok.
For example, to create a system ID macro with a minimum width of 3 for system 1:
Select SystemID, then select 3 from the Minimum Width field. The following result displays in the Preview field of the Select Macros dialog box: 001. Click
Ok. The ID macro in the Template field on the Generate Aliases dialog box is
{SystemID, 3}.
Example: Generating Aliases
In the example shown in Figure 10
below, the four nodes selected in
Generate a User-Defined Alias for One or More Component Names” display in the Selected
Components field, the default alias template is in the Template field, and the default alias is in the Preview field.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 35
Chapter 2: Navigating Server Management Client
Tree View
Figure 10: Default Aliases for Four Nodes (Example)
36
To create a template that would generate an alias in the following format:
SMPx-yyy-zzz where there is no SystemID, where x represents the default alias CollectiveID, where yyy represents a CabinetID with a minimum width of 3, and where zzz represents the ID of the node chassis, with a minimum width of 3
Edit the Template field so it looks like Figure 11
. Use the Select Macro dialog box (accessible with the Macro button) to insert the macros for CollectiveID, CabinetID, and ID, or you can type them into the Template field if you are familiar with the format.
Figure 11: Generating Aliases for Four Nodes (Template Example)
The resulting user-defined alias for all four nodes is shown in the User-Defined Alias column in
.
Figure 12: User-Defined Aliases for Four Nodes (Example)
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 2: Navigating Server Management Client
Tree View
Refreshing and Rescanning the Tree View
The Tree View is automatically updated. In rare instances, the Tree View may not reflect the current list of components or their operational states. If that happens, you can refresh or rescan the system.
The View > Refresh command updates the Tree View for the select components. If the Tree
View still seems inaccurate after a refresh, use Tools > Rescan to redo the initial component discovery and update the view.
To Refresh the Operational States of Components in the Tree View
1
2
Do one of the following:
•
To refresh the operational states of all the components under the selected Site ID in the
Tree View, select the System, or deselect all components.
•
To refresh the operational states of one or more collectives, cabinets, chassis, or chassis subcomponents in the Tree View, select the target components.
Select View > Refresh.
To Rescan the Tree View
1
2
Select the System component in the Tree View.
Select Tools > Rescan.
Locating Components in the Tree View
The Tools > Locate Component command allows you to use the Component ID, the default
Alias, or a user-defined Alias to locate a component under the selected Site ID in the Tree
View. You can obtain the Component ID from an event or alert ManagedElement or from other sources.
To Use the Component ID or Alias to Locate a Component
1
2
Obtain the Component ID, default Alias, or user-defined Alias.
Select Tools > Locate Component.
3
In the Locate Component dialog box, type the Component ID, default Alias, or user-defined Alias at Component ID/Alias.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 37
Chapter 2: Navigating Server Management Client
Commands
4
Click Locate.
•
If the name is valid, the component is highlighted in the Tree View.
•
If the name is invalid, an error message states that the component was not found.
Commands
SMClient commands are available from the menu bar, in pop-up menus, and as Command
Line Interface (CLI) utilities. Your user group membership determines which commands are available to you.
Figure 13: SMClient Menu Bar
In a multi-Site ID configuration, all commands and tools operate on the selected Site ID.
Command operations warn when they may impact more than one Site ID.
When applicable, the windows and dialog boxes contain the selected Site ID in the title bar.
Related Topics
•
•
•
•
•
•
Selecting Multiple Components for Input to Commands
Using SMClient Menus
When you select a component in the Tree View, the commands available for that component display in the menus on the menu bar and in pop-up menus. If a command does not apply to the selected component, that command is unavailable. When you select more than one component, only the commands that apply to all the selected components display.
General commands (such as exiting SMClient) and commands under the Tools menu do not require the selection of a component.
Using Pop-Up Menus
Pop-up menus contain the more frequently used commands for the selected components.
After selecting one or more components in the Tree View, one or more cabinet icons in a
Cabinet Window, or one or more rows in some viewers, such as the Event Viewer, you can right-click the mouse button to display a pop-up menu.
38 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Figure 14: Pop-Up Menu (Example)
Chapter 2: Navigating Server Management Client
Commands
•
When you select a single component or row, the pop-up menu contains the most frequently used commands for that component or row.
•
When you select multiple components or rows, the pop-up menu contains only frequently-used commands that can be performed on all selected components or rows.
SMClient Menus
SMClient offers the following menus on the Menu Bar:
Table 8: SMClient Menus
SMClient Menu
File
View
Functions
Event Mgmt
Configuration
Tools
Window
Help
Contains Commands to:
Exit the program
Work with components displayed in the Tree View
Administer the system and perform troubleshooting, servicing, and maintenance
Monitor the system and respond to events and faults
Configure system components
Diagnose problems, connect to components, and other utilities
Manipulate the windows on the desktop
Find information about the application
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 39
Chapter 2: Navigating Server Management Client
Commands
Access to SMClient Commands
Access to SMClient commands is determined by your user group membership.
SMClient has a default set of user groups:
•
Users have read-only access to the system. They can view, but not change, information.
•
Enhanced Users are the same as Users, except they are allowed to run FRU replace procedures.
•
Service Users have access to all the tools and commands on the SMClient as well as access to the network, devices, and CMICs.
Table 9: User Access to SMClient Commands
SMClient Menu Commands Available to Users by Default
Functions
Event Mgmt
Configuration
Tools
Window
Multi-Select Command
Note: By default, from the Multi-Select Command window, users can run only the commands listed in this table.
All commands except:
Alert Escalation Test
No commands
All commands except:
System Asset Baseline
Client Connection Window
All commands
40
Table 10: User Access to Commands on Other Menus
SMClient Command Commands Available to Users by Default
Custom Event Viewer
Summary Alert Viewer
All commands
All commands except the following:
Functions > Clear Summary Alert
Firmware Version Checker
Asset Information
All commands except the following:
Flash
All commands
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 2: Navigating Server Management Client
Commands
Table 10: User Access to Commands on Other Menus (continued)
SMClient Command
View Asset History
Measurement Information
View Measurement History
Battery Date Information
Commands Available to Users by Default
All commands
All commands
All commands
All commands except the following:
Functions > Select All
Functions > Set Battery Date
Viewing Command Output
Some commands display a Command Summary Window when you issue the command. The window lists the component the command was issued for in the Target column. If you issue a command for more than one component, each component displays on a separate line. As the command runs, the command progress is updated in the Status column.
Figure 15: Command Summary Dialog Box
To View Detailed Command Output for a Component
1
2
In the displayed Command Summary dialog box, double-click the row containing the component you want to see.
Review the output in the displayed Command Output Window.
The output is listed in chronological order, with the date and time the command started shown at the beginning of the entry, command progress at each step, and the time the command completed shown at the end of the entry.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 41
Chapter 2: Navigating Server Management Client
Commands
Figure 16: Command Summary and Command Output Windows
Command output entries may also contain the following information.
•
The name of the command and the date/time stamp when the command was issued
•
Text identifying the component for which the command was issued
•
Progress of the command and its functions while the command is running
•
Details about all successes and errors related to the command
•
Results of the command when the function or functions are complete
To Set the Scrolling Option for the Command Output Window
1
2
3
From the menu bar, select Tools > Options.
Enable Automatically scroll output to make the scroll bar automatically scroll to the most recent line of output. Disable the option to always display the first line of output.
Click Ok.
Selecting Multiple Components for Input to Commands
Functions > Multi-Select Command allows you to select multiple components and issue common commands for them instead of selecting individual components from the Tree View.
In multi-Site ID configurations, the command operates on components in the selected Site ID only.
The Constraints section allows you to narrow your selection, which is especially useful in large systems. For example, you can select all disk array management boards in a specific cabinet and flash their firmware, or you can select all nodes in a specific collective and view their asset information.
42 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 2: Navigating Server Management Client
Commands
To Select Multiple Components and Issue a Command
1
From SMClient, select Functions > Multi-Select Command.
Figure 17: Multi-Select Command Window
Table 11: Multi-Select Command Window Description
Item
Type
Description
Lists components that can be selected as a group. Only the components installed in this system are listed.
Note: Firmware on UPS adapters and UPSs cannot be flashed at the same time.
Select and flash UPS adapters first, then select and flash UPSs.
SubType
Function
All Systems
Lists component subtypes, if applicable, that can be selected.
Lists the commands that can be executed on the selected components.
Issues a command for the selected components in all systems.
Systems
Issues a command for the selected components in one or more systems. Enter one or more system numbers or a range of system numbers. If you enter more than one system number or range, separate them by commas, with no spaces.
All Collectives Issues a command for the selected components in all collectives in a system.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 43
Chapter 2: Navigating Server Management Client
Commands
Table 11: Multi-Select Command Window Description (continued)
Item
Collectives
All Cabinets
Cabinets
All Chassis
Chassis
Description
Issues a command for the selected components in one or more collectives. Enter one or more collective numbers or a range of collective numbers. If you enter more than one collective number or range, separate them by commas, with no spaces.
Issues a command for the selected components in all cabinets in the system.
Issues a command for the selected components in one or more cabinets. Enter one or more cabinet numbers or a range of cabinet numbers. If you enter more than one cabinet number or range, separate them by commas, with no spaces.
Issues a command for all chassis in the system.
Issues a command for one or more selected chassis. Enter one or more chassis numbers or a range of chassis numbers. If you enter more than one chassis number or range, separate them by commas, with no spaces.
2
3
4
5
Use standard Windows selection methods (Click, Ctrl + Click, Shift + Click) to select the components by Type and SubType (if applicable).
Note: If you select only a Type, the command is issued on all subtypes listed in SubType.
At Constraints, specify any constraints for the command.
From the Functions list, select a command.
Click Execute.
44 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
CHAPTER 3
Checking System Health
SMWeb provides access to commands that allow you to check system and component health.
Two main indicators of system health are:
•
The operational states of chassis
•
The severity of alerts
You can view operational states, alerts, alert severities, events, system messages, and methods for diagnosing and correcting alerts. You can also configure the system to receive alerts about conditions that require action.
Related Topics
•
•
•
Checking Collective (CMIC) Status
•
Checking the Health of the CMICs
Events and System Health
The Event Consolidator collects operational events, problem events, and changes in system and component status and stores them in a database on the CMIC as events. An event indicates a change in condition that may require intervention. The change may be good, bad, or insignificant to the ongoing operation of the system. For example, events include changes due to operations performed on the system, such as power off, and problem events reported to node event logs by node software.
Related Topics
•
•
Operational States and Their Indicators
•
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 45
Chapter 3: Checking System Health
Events and System Health
Checking Operational States
Events and commands can change the operational states of chassis and components.
Event Viewer
Events reported by server management (hardware events) or from a node’s error logs
(software events) are displayed in the Event Viewer (Event Mgmt > View Events). An event’s severity reflects its impact at the component level or how urgent it is to fix the component.
Events reported about status changes may include the operational status in the Event Viewer’s
Severity column.
Note: Events that are serious enough to affect the system’s operation generate alerts.
Tree View
In the Tree View, primary operational states are displayed to the right of each chassis or component.
One or more secondary operational states may display to the right of the primary operational state. The secondary operational state provides additional information about the component.
Operational state text is updated when an event or command changes a component’s operational state.
Chassis Layout View
The View > Chassis Layout View command displays icons for the primary operational states of components in the selected chassis. If an event or command changes a component’s operational state, the color icons are not updated until you use the command again.
Cabinet Status
The following commands display a Status window that allows you to check the operational states of cabinet chassis per selected Site ID:
•
Window > Status Window displays a Status window containing the status of all the chassis in each cabinet in the system for the selected Site ID. Only one status window can be open at a time on the desktop.
•
View > Status displays a Status window containing the status of each chassis for the selected collectives, cabinets, or cabinet component, for the selected Site ID. You can have more than one Status window open at a time.
When an event or command changes an operational state, the color icon automatically updates in the Status window.
46 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Figure 18: Single-Site ID Status Window
Chapter 3: Checking System Health
Events and System Health
Figure 19: Multi-Site ID Status Window
Each entry in the Status window is organized as follows:
•
The system and collective number are displayed on the first line of the entry.
•
Individual cabinet entries are displayed next. In each cabinet entry, icons representing the operational state of each chassis in the cabinet, including the CMIC, are displayed.
When you click on a component in the Status Window, the component is highlighted in the tree view.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 47
Chapter 3: Checking System Health
Events and System Health
To Check the Status of All Components in the System per Site ID
✔
With the correct Site ID selected, select Window > Status Window.
To Check the Status of Components in Specific Collectives and Cabinets
1
2
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select one or more cabinets, one or more collectives, or a mixture of cabinets and collectives.
Select View > Status.
To Hide or Display Components with Normal Operational States
✔
In the Status window, select or clear the Hide components that have normal operational
states option.
To Display a Pop-up Menu for a Component in the Status Window
✔
In the Status window, right-click the component. The pop-up menu contains the same set of commands as the pop-up menu for the same component in the Tree View.
To Display a Tool Tip Containing the Component Name and Operational State
✔
In the Status window, roll the cursor over the component.
ShowComponents (CLI Utility)
The ShowComponents CLI utility displays system components and their operational status.
Operational States and Their Indicators
A component’s operational state is represented by text or color icons in a GUI or CLI utility. A component’s operational state does not reflect the operational state of the entire system.
Table 12: Primary Operational States and Descriptions
Tree View
OK
Warning
Status
Window
Chassis
Layout View Primary Operational State Description
No action required; the component is operating normally.
The condition should be monitored; the component or subsystem is reporting a condition that does not threaten system operation, but could worsen over time.
48 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 3: Checking System Health
Events and System Health
Table 12: Primary Operational States and Descriptions (continued)
Tree View
Critical
Status
Window
Chassis
Layout View Primary Operational State Description
Fatal
Unknown subsystem cannot continue to operate in this state
Note: Critical conditions are often handled internally by components or subsystems, causing them to shut down.
Immediate action must be taken to return the system to its normal operating state; the component or subsystem has failed.
The component’s severity level is unknown.
Missing
Powered Off
The component is expected in the system, but is either not present (MISSING) or has not been detected.
The component is powered off.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 49
Chapter 3: Checking System Health
Events and System Health
Analyzing Events
This topic describes appropriate methods for analyzing events.
5
6
To Use the Tree View and Event Viewer to Analyze a Problem
1
2
3
4
7
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, expand the collectives and cabinets to show the rolled-up operational status of each CMIC and chassis.
Look for a CMIC or chassis with an abnormal operational state and expand it to view its components and their operational states.
Select the component with the abnormal status and display the Event Viewer (Event Mgmt
> View Events).
Review the event history for the component and find the event that caused the operational status change. Note the time of the status change.
Review other events that occurred within that timeframe.
Select the cabinet that contains the component, then display the Alert Viewer (Event Mgmt
> View Alerts).
Use the time you noted earlier to find alert reports that may be associated with the event that caused the operational status change.
To Use the ViewEvents CLI to Analyze Events
3
4
1
2
Make sure the CLI utilities are downloaded locally.
Open a command prompt or shell window on your local computer or the SWS.
Navigate to the location of the CLI utilities.
Obtain an event history for the time frame by including the time the event occurred.
Redirect the output to a text file and view the text output. For example: viewevents -start mm/dd/yy hh:mm:ss -end mm/dd/yy hh:mm:ss -detail > c:\Temp\events.txt
viewevents -start mm/dd/yy hh:mm:ss -end mm/dd/yy hh:mm:ss -detail > \tmp\events.txt
50 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 3: Checking System Health
Alerts and System Health
Alerts and System Health
Events that are serious enough to affect the operation of the system generate alerts. An alert is a report of a condition that requires attention to protect system availability. The system consolidates alerts and stores them in the alert database. An alert’s severity reflects its impact at the system level, or how urgent it is to correct the problem condition.
The system and Teradata software include alert detection agents that report problem conditions. The alert detection agents are configured to detect problem conditions for the following:
•
Teradata Database
•
BYNET
•
SCSI adapters
•
Fibre Channel adapters
•
Disk arrays
•
Node operating systems
•
Platform hardware
•
Tape libraries
The conditions reflect known problem scenarios, such as configuration issues or potential hardware or software failures. The alert detection agents may also report indications of improving conditions. For example, if an event with an operational state of OK is available
(the component is now operating normally), the resolution status of previously reported alerts for the component can be changed to Auto Solved, indicating that the problem condition is resolved.
Related Topics
•
•
Receiving an Alert Notification
•
Checking Alert Severities
Summary Alert Viewer
Problem Scenario Reporting (PSR) analyzes alerts generated by Server Management to summarize groups of alerts known to occur together during a problem condition. The goal is to generate a summary alert that identifies a root cause that is actionable by Auto-Incident
Create. Root cause rules define a known problem scenario by key alerts and those alerts related to the key alerts occurring within a certain time duration
When root cause rules cannot identify the problem, a situation PSR summary alert is generated for alerts that are degraded or higher in severity. There is a one-to-one mapping of a problem scenario to a services incident. As more alerts are detected, an update summary
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 51
Chapter 3: Checking System Health
Alerts and System Health alert is applied to the active problem scenarios. Updates are escalated by TVI and appended to the currently-open incident for the problem.
When a problem is considered resolved, the problem scenario should be cleared. If the problem re-occurs, a new root cause or situation cause summary is generated, which, when escalated via TVI, creates a new incident.
These alerts are viewed in the Summary Alert Viewer (Window > Summary Alert Viewer) per selected Site ID. By default, the Summary Alert Viewer displays in the right pane of the desktop.
Alert Viewer
System and component alerts are listed in the Alert Viewer (Event Mgmt > View Alerts), per selected Site ID. Alert properties include a comprehensive description of the problem, its probable causes, and recommended actions to take to resolve the problem. The Alert Viewer shows the severity of each alert that affects the system and provides commands to track and manage the progress of alert resolution.
The Alert Viewer displays a list of the active alerts. When the alert is cleared or autosolved, it is removed from the active list of alerts.
Cabinet Window
The color of each cabinet in the Cabinet Window reflects the highest alert severity for a component in the selected Site ID. For example, if a disk array cabinet icon is red, it signifies that the cabinet contains a component with a fatal alert severity.
When the alert is cleared and removed from the active list of alerts, the color of the icon is updated to indicate the severity of the next highest alert in the cabinet in the selected Site ID.
AlertUtil (CLI Utility)
The AlertUtil CLI provides a command line interface to view and manage alerts and alert summaries. AlertUtil offers filter options that display just the alerts meeting certain properties and many format options
Alert Severities and Their Indicators
A component’s alert severity is represented by either text or color icons. The following commands and features show alert severities:
Table 13: Alert Severity Indicators and Descriptions
Severity
Level
Unknown
OK
Cabinet
Window Icons
Gray
Green
Description
The severity level of the problem is unknown.
A component’s status has returned to normal. Alerts generated by the system with a severity level of OK can be used to Auto Solve existing alerts.
52 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 3: Checking System Health
Alerts and System Health
Table 13: Alert Severity Indicators and Descriptions (continued)
Severity
Level
Cabinet
Window Icons
Information Blue
Warning
Degraded
Critical
Fatal
Yellow
Orange
Magenta
Red
Description
An event has changed some characteristic of the subsystem but left all aspects of its operation at the same level, or a previously-diminished subsystem has been restored. No further degradation is anticipated.
A condition exists that, if not addressed, could become more serious. The subsystem is still fully functional at the same level of performance.
The subsystem is degraded; an event has left the subsystem fully functional but at a lesser performance level.
A functionality of the subsystem or component is lost; the event is a forerunner to a fatal event.
The subsystem is down; the event has caused the subsystem to stop.
Receiving an Alert Notification
After staging, the system is configured to ensure that alerts appear in the Summary Alert
Viewer in the event of device failure or Teradata software failure.
After receiving an alert notification, system administrators and Customer Service personnel use the Summary Alert Viewer to investigate and resolve alerts, and the Alert Viewer and
Event Viewer to view alerts and events that may have led up to the problem condition.
When you receive an alert notification, it indicates that an alert requires your attention. The alert message typically contains the name of the system, an Alert ID, and the time the alert occurred.
You can receive one or more of the following types of alert notifications. All are configurable.
Table 14: Alert Notification Descriptions
Alert Notification Description
Cabinet Window
Icons
TVI Notification
Custom Alert
Script
Teradata Alerts
When an event changes the alert severity level of a component, the color of the cabinet icon changes to indicate the severity of the highest-level active alert in the cabinet.
TVI alert email can be sent to a customer-specified address. Contact Teradata
Services for more information.
You can write a custom script that calls the SMWeb AlertUtil command line and performs a custom action, such as creating a log file or calling an EMS agent executable.
See the Teradata Alerts online help.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 53
Chapter 3: Checking System Health
Alerts and System Health
Responding to an Alert
This topic focuses on responding to an alert notification, although it also describes an appropriate alert resolution strategy to use when resolving alerts.
Related Topics
•
To Use the Summary Alert Viewer to Respond to and Resolve an Alert
•
To Use the Alert Viewer to Respond to and Resolve an Alert
•
To Use the AlertUtil CLI to Analyze an Alert
2
3
To Use the Summary Alert Viewer to Respond to and Resolve an Alert
1
4
5
6
7
8
9
If the Summary Alert Viewer is not open in SMClient, make sure the correct Site ID is selected, and then open it with the Window > Summary Alert Viewer command.
Expand the scenario, and select an alert summary.
Review the alert report using the Summary Alert Viewer’s Functions > View Summary Alert
Detail command.
Select a summary folder, right-click, and select View Alerts to display all the alerts detected as key or related to the problem scenario. View those alerts to determine the cause of the problem.
In the Alert Viewer, highlight a key or related alert, and select Functions > Locate
Component to locate the component in the Tree view. Then, with the component selected, select Event Mgmt > View Alerts to see all alerts reported for the component.
If a situation update occurred at the same time, review the alerts that were summarized to the situation. Select the system object, then select Event Mgmt > View Alerts to see all alerts that occurred.
If further diagnosis is needed, use the Event Viewer to look for events that occurred in the same time frame. Limit the events displayed by selecting the chassis in which the alert was reported.
Resolving an alert includes the following optional steps:
a
Performing actions given in the recommendations.
b
Writing comments with the Record Site Activity function concerning investigations and actions taken.
Use the Summary Alert Viewer’s Functions > Clear Summary Alert command to clear the alert summary when it is resolved or when it is no longer necessary to track it as an active problem. The alert status is marked Cleared, and it is removed from the active Summary
Alert View.
54 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 3: Checking System Health
Alerts and System Health
4
5
2
3
To Use the Alert Viewer to Respond to and Resolve an Alert
1
6
7
With the correct Site ID selected, select a component and select Event Mgmt > View Alerts to open the alert.
Select the alert in the Alert Viewer.
Review the alert report using the Alert Viewer’s Functions > View Alert Detail command.
Examine other alerts that occurred that may be associated with the same problem.
If further diagnosis is needed, use the Event Viewer to look for events that occurred in the same time frame. Limit the events displayed by selecting the chassis in which the alert was reported.
Resolving an alert includes the following optional steps:
a
Performing actions given in the recommendations.
b
Writing comments with the Record Site Activity function concerning investigations and actions taken.
Use the Alert Viewer’s Functions > Clear Alert command to clear the alert when it is resolved or when it is no longer necessary to track it as an active problem. The alert status is marked Cleared, and it is removed from the active Alert View.
To Use the AlertUtil CLI to Analyze an Alert
3
4
1
2
The AlertUtil CLI can be used as an alternative when analyzing alerts. If you received an Alert message containing an Alert ID, use the following procedure:
Make sure the CLI utilities are downloaded locally.
Open a command prompt or shell window.
Navigate to the location of the CLI utilities.
Use the Alert ID in the following command line to display all the alert information stored in the alert database about this occurrence:
5
alertutil -id {alertID}
Use a text editor to view the output files.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 55
Chapter 3: Checking System Health
Checking Collective (CMIC) Status
Checking Collective (CMIC) Status
The Window > Collective Management View command displays the Collective Management
window ( Figure 20 ) on the desktop. The window shows each CMIC in the system (identified
by its system, collective, cabinet, and chassis ID) and displays information about the CMIC and the collective it manages.
The Collective Management View is automatically updated when CMIC information changes.
In rare instances, if the information in the Collective Management View does not appear to be correct, select View > Refresh to update the display.
Figure 20: Collective Management Window
Table 15: Collective Management Window Description
Item
CMIC ID
Primary Network
Secondary Network
Availability
Primary Availability
Secondary Availability
Collectives Hosted
Specific Chassis Hosted
Version
Functionality
Description
The system, collective, cabinet, and chassis ID numbers of the CMIC.
The IP address of the CMIC’s primary network connection.
The IP address of the CMIC’s secondary network connection.
The overall status of the CMIC, indicating whether the CMIC is up, resetting, or unavailable.
The status of the CMIC’s primary network, indicating whether the CMIC is up, resetting, or unavailable.
The status of the CMIC’s secondary network, indicating whether the CMIC is up, resetting, or unavailable.
The collective ID numbers of all collectives managed by the CMIC.
The ID numbers of the CMICs and VMSs the CMIC is monitoring.
The CMIC Image version installed on the CMIC. To install the latest available version, see the Platform Hardware Installation and Service Guide.
Indicates the functionality of the CMIC.
56 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 3: Checking System Health
Checking the Health of the CMICs
Checking the Health of the CMICs
To Check the Health of the CMICs
1
2
From the SMWeb Home page, select Network, Devices, and CMICs. If prompted, log on.
From the CMIC Monitor, select CMICs > CMIC Health Check. When the health check is finished, the CMIC Monitor is updated.
Figure 21: CMIC Monitor
3
4
5
•
CMICs identified with a green severity icon (a check mark) have an up-to-date CMIC
Image. No action is necessary.
•
CMICs identified with a severity icon that is not green have problems that need to be resolved.
Click each severity icon that is not green.
Click each problem listed to determine the recommendations:
•
If the CMIC Image needs to be updated, select the CMIC, then select CMICs > CMIC
Image Update.
•
If the CMIC Image contains updated firmware for a device, the device type is identified. Schedule the device(s) for an update.
Until you flash the device, the CMIC has a warning (yellow) severity icon in the CMIC
Monitor. A warning severity is acceptable as long as all other problems are fixed.
Note: To flash the device during the scheduled update, use the SMClient Tools >
Firmware Version Checker command.
•
If the node software is not compatible, run CMICs > Node Software Update.
Repeat until all CMICs have an OK (green) severity icon in the CMIC Monitor, or a warning severity that pertains only to devices that need to be flashed.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 57
Chapter 3: Checking System Health
Checking the Health of the CMICs
58 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
CHAPTER 4
Managing Events
The CMIC in each collective collects events for all of the components in the collective and stores them in a database. The Event Viewer in SMClient displays the events stored in the databases.
Related Topics
•
•
•
Displaying the Event Viewer
The Event Viewer shows events reported by server management, event logs collected from the nodes, and command actions. You can view all of the events in the system, or events for components and their subcomponents. You can open more than one Event Viewer at a time.
To Display the Event Viewer
1
2
3
4
In the SMClient Tree View, select the correct Site ID, then select one or more components.
Select Event Mgmt > View Events.
The View Events dialog box displays
Note: The View Events dialog box does not display if the Prompt for Event Viewer settings setting has been cleared (Tools > Options), or if you previously selected the Keep this
setting and don’t prompt again option on this dialog box.
In the View Events dialog box, select the settings you want for the Event Viewer.
Click Ok.
Related Topics
•
•
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 59
Chapter 4: Managing Events
Displaying the Event Viewer
View Events Dialog Box
When you select Event Mgmt > View Events, the View Event dialog box appears. It allows you to specify the events you want to display in the Event Viewer.
Figure 22: View Events Dialog Box
60
Table 16: View Events Dialog Box Options
Options
Most recent
Description
Displays a specific number of events for one component selected in the Tree
View. The maximum number of events is 1,000.
When you select a collective or system, this option is grayed out.
Note: Most recent, Events for the last, and Time Selection operate as a toggle.
Only one option can be selected at a time.
Events for the last Displays events in the Event Viewer for one or more components by time frame.
Select the time frame in the list box. Values can be 1-60. Time increments can be:
Second(s), Minute(s), Hour(s), Day(s). The maximum number is regulated by the value selected on the Options dialog box.
Note: Most recent, Events for the last, and Time Selection operate as a toggle.
Only one option can be selected at a time.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 4: Managing Events
Displaying the Event Viewer
Table 16: View Events Dialog Box Options (continued)
Options
Time Selection
Severity
Event Type
Filtering
Description
Displays events in the Event Viewer that occurred between the specified time.
The maximum number is regulated by the value selected on the Options dialog box.
Note: Most recent, Events for the last, and Time Selection operate as a toggle.
Only one option can be selected at a time.
Select the minimum severity level to display in the Event Viewer. The Event
Viewer displays events at the level selected and higher (i.e., more severe).
Use the checkboxes to select event types to display in the Event Viewer:
•
Bynet DP
•
Commands
•
Configuration Changes
•
SNMP Traps
•
Device Log
•
PSR Summary Alerts
•
Status
•
UNIX Log (Linux nodes)
•
Windows Log (Windows nodes only)
•
Alerts
•
Site Log
The event types correspond to the ReporterType in the Event Details window.
Event Viewer Display Options
Select Tools > Options to display the Options dialog box. Use this to control the display of the
View Events dialog box.
Figure 23: Event Viewer Options on the Options Dialog Box
Table 17: Event Viewer Display Options in the Options Dialog Box
Option
Prompt for
Event Viewer
settings
Description
Specifies whether to display the View Events dialog box to prompt for settings for the
Event Viewer. If you suppress the View Events dialog box, the Event Viewer displays with the last settings used. The default is checked.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 61
Chapter 4: Managing Events
The Event Viewer
Table 17: Event Viewer Display Options in the Options Dialog Box (continued)
Option
Maximum
Table Size
Description
Sets the maximum number of events displayed in the Event Viewer. When the maximum table size is reached, a dialog box reports that older events have been removed. Approximately one-third of the events are removed from the table.
The options are 2,000 events (default), 5,000 events, 10,000 events, or 20,000 events.
The default is the optimum level; changing it may affect system performance.
The Event Viewer
By default, the Event Viewer displays events based on the time stamp, with the most recent first. The title bar indicates which component’s events are displayed. The display is updated as new events occur for the selected components.
Each event entry contains properties associated with the event. Each column in the Event
Viewer represents a specific event property.
The Event Viewer allows you to filter the events displayed.
62 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Figure 24: Event Viewer
Chapter 4: Managing Events
The Event Viewer
Table 18: Event Viewer: Event Properties
Column
Alias
Time
Definition
The default alias of the component.
ID
SubType
The date and time the event was detected.
Severity
Severity level of the event: OK, Information, Warning, Degraded, Critical, or Fatal.
ManagedElement The component for which the event occurred; this is the Component ID (the unique name assigned to the component).
A unique global identifier assigned to the event.
An optional event type; depends on the ReporterType or the type of managed object. Examples: PostError, AssetChange, SettingChange, StreamsError, and
ConsoleLog (MP-RAS nodes); Syslog (Linux nodes), and Application (Windows nodes)
Description
Message describing what event occurred.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 63
Chapter 4: Managing Events
The Event Viewer
Table 18: Event Viewer: Event Properties (continued)
Column
System ID
Collective ID
Definition
ID representing the system where the event originated.
ID representing the collective where the event originated.
Cabinet ID
Chassis ID
Sequence
MessageID
ID representing the cabinet where the event originated.
ID representing the chassis where the event originated.
Sequence and collective in which the event was logged.
An event name or message key or number unique within the Domain for a specific type of event, for example, a Windows Event ID or MP-RAS E-tag.
Domain
The source the event originated from. In conjunction with MessageID, it uniquely identifies the type of event.
ObjectClass
ReporterType
Object class name of the component (usually the first part of the component ID).
The category the event belongs to:
•
MPP_Alert: an event indicating an alert condition; these events are processed by the Alert Manager.
•
MPP_ApplicationEvent: an event reported to server management from an application.
•
MPP_BynetDPEvent: an event sent by the BYNET DP.
•
MPP_CommandEvent: an event reported for commands users perform on the system.
•
MPP_ConfigChangeEvent: an event reported for asset and setting changes.
•
MPP_DeviceLog: an event from a log resident on a device; for example, a disk array MEL event.
•
MPP_SiteActivity: an event from the Record Site Activity GUI.
•
MPP_SnmpTrap: a trap event reported from the Fibre Channel switch and UPS.
•
MPP_StatusEvent: an event reported for environmental conditions and significant state changes.
•
MPP_UNIXLog: an event from the ConsoleLog and StreamsError log of
MP-RAS nodes or from the Syslog of Linux nodes.
•
MPP_WinLog: an event from the application and system logs of Windows nodes.
•
PSR_SummaryAlert: an event reporting on a group of alerts. A problem alert summary.
RequestID
TimeReceived
Groups a sequence of events, such as command results
Time and date the event was received by server management.
Repeat Start Time The time a repeat of this event was first seen within a day.
Repeat Count
The number of times this event has repeated since the value in Repeat Start Time.
64 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 4: Managing Events
The Event Viewer
Related Topics
•
•
Using the Event Viewer
Changes to the columns displayed are saved, per User ID, for subsequent use.
To Rearrange Columns in the Event Viewer
✔
Drag each column header to its new location.
To Change the Columns Displayed in the Event Viewer
1
2
In the Event Viewer, right-click on any of the column headers.
Select and de-select the column headers to display them.
Note: The Alias column is always displayed. You cannot deselect it
To Search for Text Strings in the Event Viewer
1
2
In the Event Viewer, select Search > Find.
Use the Find dialog box to search for text strings.
To Locate a Component in the Tree View
1
2
In the Event Viewer, select an event.
Select Functions > Locate Component. The component associated with the event is highlighted in the Tree View.
To Save the Contents of an Event Viewer
1
2
In the Event Viewer:
•
Select File > Save Table > Text to save files in text (.txt) format, which can be viewed in
Notepad or other text editor.
•
Select File > Save Table > CSV to save files in comma separated value (.csv) format, which can be viewed in Microsoft Excel or other spreadsheet application.
In the Save dialog box, specify a name and location for the file.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 65
Chapter 4: Managing Events
The Event Viewer
To Display Groups of Events
1
In the Event Viewer, click on the View Events By button (the left-most button).
Figure 25: Event Viewer, View Events By Button and Menu
2
Select how you want to group the events.
Figure 26: Event Viewer, Grouped by Chassis
66
3
Use the Expand Tree and Collapse Tree buttons (next to the View Events By button) to expand and collapse the select group in the Event Viewer.
To Pause and Restart Updates in the Event Viewer
Occasionally, you may need to temporarily pause the updates in the Event Viewer, to focus on a specific event. Use this procedure to pause, then restart, the display.
1
To pause the updates in the Event Viewer, click on the Stop button.
Figure 27: Event Viewer, Stop and Resume Buttons
2
To restart the Event Viewer, click the Resume button.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 4: Managing Events
Event Details
Event Details
From the Event Viewer, you can view additional details about a specific event.
To View Event Details
1
2
Select the event in the Event Viewer.
Select View > Detail from the Event Viewer menu bar.
An Event Detail window displays, detailing the event. Some fields are displayed for all event types; others are unique to components and event types.
Note: You can also double-click the event to display the Detail window.
Figure 28: Event Detail Window
Table 19: Event Detail Window Description
Data Field
TimeStamp
Definition
Time and date the event occurred; for a node, the time and date the event was detected on the node.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 67
Chapter 4: Managing Events
Event Details
Table 19: Event Detail Window Description (continued)
Data Field
TimeReceived
Severity
Definition
Time and date the event was received by server management.
Severity level of the event being reported for the component. The severity levels are OK, Information, Warning, Degraded, Critical, and Fatal. The severity of event indicates the level of impact to the component.
Sequence
Domain
Sequence in which the event was logged.
GUID
SiteID
ManagedElement
A unique global identifier assigned to the event.
ID of the site where the event occurred.
ManagedElementAlias The default Alias of the component.
ObjectClass
Object class name of the component (usually the first part of the component
ID).
Sub Type
The component for which the event occurred; this is the Component ID (the unique name assigned to the component).
An optional event type; depends on the ReporterType or the type of managed object. Examples: PostError, AssetChange, SettingChange, StreamsError, and
ConsoleLog (MP-RAS nodes); Syslog (Linux nodes), and Application
(Windows nodes)
The source the event originated from. In conjunction with MessageID, it uniquely identifies the type of event.
MessageID
An event name or message key or number unique within the Domain for a specific type of event, for example, a Windows Event ID or MP-RAS E-tag.
68 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 4: Managing Events
Event Details
Table 19: Event Detail Window Description (continued)
Data Field
Reporter Type
Description
More Details
Definition
The category the event belongs to:
•
MPP_Alert: an event indicating an alert condition; these events are processed by the Alert Manager.
•
MPP_ApplicationEvent: an event reported to server management from an application.
•
MPP_BynetDPEvent: an event sent by the BYNET DP.
•
MPP_CommandEvent: an event reported for commands users perform on the system.
•
MPP_ConfigChangeEvent: an event reported for asset and setting changes.
•
MPP_DeviceLog: an event from a log resident on a device; for example, a disk array MEL event.
•
MPP_SiteActivity: an event from the Record Site Activity GUI.
•
MPP_SnmpTrap: a trap event reported from the Fibre Channel switch and UPS.
•
MPP_StatusEvent: an event reported for environmental conditions and significant state changes.
•
MPP_UNIXLog: an event from the ConsoleLog and StreamsError log of
MP-RAS nodes or from the Syslog of Linux nodes.
•
MPP_WinLog: an event from the application and system logs of Windows nodes.
•
PSR_SummaryAlert: an event reporting on a group of alerts. A problem alert summary.
Message describing the event that occurred
Contains properties specific to the kind of event reported, including operating system, computer name, and log message.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 69
Chapter 4: Managing Events
Event Details
70 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
CHAPTER 5
Managing Alerts
SMClient offers two ways to manage alerts: the Summary Alert Viewer and the Alert Viewer.
Using the Summary Alert Viewer
The Summary Alert Viewer analyzes and summarizes groups of alerts known to occur together during a problem condition. The summary identifies the root cause and gathers the related alerts into an alert bundle, per Site ID, which is reported to the backend.
Alerts with a status of degraded or worse, that do not align with a root cause rule are grouped as situational alerts.
Related Topics
•
Displaying the Summary Alert Viewer
•
•
Displaying the Summary Alert Viewer
By default, the Summary Alert Viewer displays in the right pane of the SMClient desktop. If it is not displayed, toggle it on through Window > Summary Alert Viewer. Summary alerts are displayed for the selected Site ID.
Related Topics
•
Summary Alert Viewer Display Options
•
Summary Alert Viewer Display Options
Select Tools > Options to display the Options dialog box. Use this to control the display of the
Summary Alert Viewer.
Figure 29: Summary Alert Viewer Options on the Options Dialog Box
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 71
Chapter 5: Managing Alerts
Using the Summary Alert Viewer
Table 20: Summary Alert Viewer Display Options in the Options Dialog Box
Option
Maximum
Table Size
Description
Sets the maximum number of rows displayed in the Summary Alert Viewer. When the maximum table size is reached, a dialog box reports that older alert summaries have been removed.
The options are 2,000 alerts (default), 5,000 alerts, 10,000 alerts, or 20,000 alerts. The default is the optimum level; changing it may affect system performance.
The Summary Alert Viewer
The Summary Alert Viewer provides a summarized view of the system alerts that meet the root cause rules or situational rules. The Alert Viewer allows you to:
•
View the history of active, expired, or cleared alert summaries
•
Filter the alert history
To view the alerts in a summary alert, see Displaying the Alert Viewer
Figure 30: Summary Alert Viewer
72 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 5: Managing Alerts
Using the Summary Alert Viewer
Table 21: Summary Alert Viewer Columns
Column
Synopsis
Status
Type
Timestamp
Maintenance
Notify
Scope
Sequence
Impact
Definition
A short summary of the problem.
The status of the alert summary: Active, Expired, or Cleared.
Identifies the root cause or situational cause.
•
RootCause: A summary of the problem condition with identification of the key/related alerts. The rules identify the pattern of alerts known to occur together.
•
SituationalCause: Degraded or higher alerts that do not match a root cause.
Within that, each summary is identified.
•
UpdateMore: Sent for an active root cause scenario when more alert types or additional components are seen to contribute to the same problem scenario.
Sent when additional alerts types accrue to the situational cause of same or lower severity.
•
UpdateWorse: Sent for an active root cause scenario when a new alert type indicates the problem has worsened. Sent when additional situational alerts occur of higher severity.
•
UpdateRepeat: Sent when there is an active root or situational cause, and additional alerts are repeats of previous alerts accrued to the problem scenario.
UpdateRepeats are not sent to the backend.
•
UpdateExpire: Sent when the root cause or situational cause alert summary has expired. Test fault expires in one hour, DBS Restart expires in 20 minutes, and other scenarios expire in 28 days.
•
UpdateClose: Sent when the root cause or situational cause alert summary has been cleared.
The date and time that the alert group was triggered.
Indicates whether a maintenance window has been opened. This is only on if all alerts in the alert summary were generated for components under the maintenance window. If any alerts occur outside of the maintenance window, then Maintenance is off and the root cause or situational cause creates an incident on the backend.
Indicates if the alert summary sent to the Auto-Incident Create backend will generate a notification. This is off when Maintenance is on.
Describes the number of alert and component types involved in the alert scenario.
Alert type is defined as a unique alert Domain/MessageID.
For example, 2 alerts from 1 reporting source means two kinds of alerts were reported for one node.
A number assigned by the PDS when the summary alert is recorded.
Short impact statement about the problem.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 73
Chapter 5: Managing Alerts
Using the Summary Alert Viewer
Using the Summary Alert Viewer
Changes to the columns displayed are saved, per User ID, for subsequent use.
To Hide or Display the Summary Alert Viewer on the Desktop
✔
From SMClient, select or clear Window > Summary Alert Viewer.
To Rearrange Columns in the Summary Alert Viewer
✔
Drag each column header to its new location.
To Change the Columns Displayed in the Summary Alert Viewer
1
2
In the Summary Alert Viewer, right-click on any of the column headers.
Select and de-select the column headers to display them.
Note: The Scenario column is always displayed. You cannot deselect it
To Filter the Summary Alert Viewer
1
In the Summary Alert Viewer, select View > Options.
The system displays the Summary Alert Viewer Options dialog box.
Figure 31: Summary Alert Viewer Options
74
2
3
Select the status of the summary alerts you want to display.
Click Ok.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 5: Managing Alerts
Using the Summary Alert Viewer
To Clear a Summary Alert
1
2
3
In the Summary Alert Viewer, select an alert summary folder.
Select Functions > Clear Summary Alert.
At the confirmation prompt, click Ok.
Clearing an alert group changes its status from Active to Cleared. When an alert scenario is resolved, it should be cleared to remove it from the list of problem scenarios being monitored.
To Save the Contents of the Summary Alert Viewer
1
2
In the Summary Alert Viewer:
•
Select File > Save Table > Text to save files in text (.txt) format, which can be viewed in
Notepad or other text editor.
•
Select File > Save Table > CSV to save files in comma separated value (.csv) format, which can be viewed in Microsoft Excel or other spreadsheet application.
In the Save dialog box, specify a name and location for the file.
To Expand or Collapse the Display in the Summary Alert Viewer
1
In the Summary Alert Viewer, click on the Expand Tree and Collapse Tree buttons to expand and collapse the alert summary folders.
Figure 32: Summary Alert Viewer, Expand and Collapse Buttons
To Pause and Restart Updates in the Summary Alert Viewer
Occasionally, you may need to temporarily pause the updates in the Summary Alert Viewer, to focus on a specific alert group. Use this procedure to pause, then restart, the display.
1
To pause the updates in the Summary Alert Viewer, click on the Stop button.
Figure 33: Summary Alert Viewer, Stop and Resume Buttons
2
To restart the Summary Alert Viewer, click the Resume button.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 75
Chapter 5: Managing Alerts
Using the Summary Alert Viewer
Summary Alert Detail
To View the Details of a Summary Alert
1
2
In the Summary Alert Viewer, select an alert summary.
Select Functions > View Summary Alert Detail.
The system displays the detail on the Summary Alert Detail dialog box.
Figure 34: Summary Alert Detail
76
3
Click Ok to close the dialog box.
shows the fields on the Summary Alert Detail dialog box.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 5: Managing Alerts
Using the Summary Alert Viewer
Table 22: Summary Alert Detail Dialog Box Description
Option
TimeStamp
Severity
Type
GUID
Status
Sequence
System
SiteID
Managed Element
Managed Element Alias
Description
Details
Maintenance
Notify
Scope
TVI_Disposition
Impact
KnowledgeID
Description
The date and time that the alert group was triggered.
Severity level of the alert group: OK, Information, Warning,
Degraded, Critical, or Fatal.
The PSR Summary type: RootCause, SituationalCause,
UpdateRepeat, UpdateImprove, UpdateMore, UpdateWorse,
UpdateExpire, or UpdateClose.
The globally unique ID identifying this alert group.
The status of the alert summary: Active, Expired, or Cleared.
A number assigned by the PDS when the alert summary is recorded.
ID representing the system where the alert summary originated.
ID of the site where the alert occurred.
ID representing the managed element where the alert summary originated.
Reporting alias of the managed element where the alert summary originated.
Message describing what occurred, including a recommendation.
Addition details about the alert summary.
Indicates whether a maintenance window has been opened.
Indicates if the alert summary sent to the Auto-Incident Create backend will generate a notification. This is off when Maintenance is on.
Describes the number of alert and component types involved in the alert scenario. Alert type is defined as a unique alert Domain/
MessageID.
For example, 2 alerts from 1 reporting source means two kinds of alerts were reported for one node.
The TVI disposition status. Options are:
•
Abeyed: Not escalated by TVI because a previous similar alert summary was escalated and subsequent escalation is suppressed for a period of time.
•
Escalated: This alert summary has been sent out to TVI backend to be considered for incident create or update.
Short impact statement about the problem.
The knowledge file, version, and rule name that triggered this alert summary.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 77
Chapter 5: Managing Alerts
Using the Alert Viewer
Table 22: Summary Alert Detail Dialog Box Description (continued)
Option
TrackingID
Subsystem
Synopsis
SourceReportingAlias
KeyAlerts
Related Alerts
OrigPSRSummary
Description
Used to identify a new cause or a kind of update summary is warranted.
TrackingID = $RuleName[,$ReportingAlias]
The reporting alias is appended when the RootCause rule is to be tracked per failing component. The chassis alias is appended if the
RootCause rule is to be tracked at a chassis level.
The RuleName is used when the RootCause is considered a Source-
Ignore, meaning any of this problem type is tracked at a system level.
The subsystem where the alert summary originated.
A short summary of the problem.
The CMIC ID that is recording the alert summary.
The GUIDs of the key alerts in this alert summary.
The GUIDs of the related alerts in this alert summary.
The GUID of the original PSR alert summary.
Using the Alert Viewer
Use the Alert Viewer in SMClient’s Event Mgmt menu to review OK, Informational, and
Warning alerts that are not grouped to a summary alert. Use the Alert viewer invoked from the
Summary Alert Viewer to view and track problems requiring action from services.
•
•
•
•
•
Displaying the Alert Viewer
Display the Alert Viewer through the a menu option, or from the Summary Alert Viewer.
When you view alerts from the Summary Alert Viewer, you see only the alerts grouped to a scenario. When you invoke View Alerts from the Tree View, you view alerts for the selected tree component and below.
78 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 5: Managing Alerts
Using the Alert Viewer
To Display the Alert Viewer from the Summary Alert Viewer
1
2
In the Summary Alert Viewer, select an alert summary folder.
Right-click and select View Alerts.
The system displays the alerts on the Alert Viewer. The alerts shown are the summary alerts and those alerts grouped to the problem scenario as key or related.
Figure 35: Alert Viewer, Opened from the Summary Alert Viewer
The Key icon distinguishes the summary alerts from the key/related alerts (the grouped alerts used to detect the problem).
3
4
To Display the Alert Viewer from the Tree View
1
2
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select the system, a collective, a cabinet, or a chassis.
To view all the alerts, including Summary Alerts reported at a system level, select the system component in the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected.
Select Event Mgmt > View Alerts.
The Alert Viewer Options dialog box displays.
Note: The Alert Viewer Options dialog box does not display if the Prompt for Alert Viewer
settings setting has been cleared (Tools > Options).
In the Alert Viewer Options dialog box, select the settings you want for the Alert Viewer.
Click Ok.
The Alert Viewer displays for the component you selected.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 79
Chapter 5: Managing Alerts
Using the Alert Viewer
Related Topics
•
Alert Viewer Options Dialog Box
•
Alert Viewer Options Dialog Box
The Alert Viewer Options dialog box displays when:
•
You select a component on the Tree view, then select Event Mgmt > View Alerts.
•
In the Alert Viewer, you select View > Options.
The Alert Viewer Options dialog box allows you to specify the alerts you want to display in the
Alert Viewer.
Figure 36: Alert Viewer Options Dialog Box
80
Table 23: Alert Viewer Options Dialog Box Description
Options
ManagedElementAlias
Domain
MessageID
Description
Displays alerts matching the alias for the component name.
Displays alerts matching the Domain property. For example, the
Domain of Disk_Array displays all disk array alerts, and the Domain for the summary alerts is PSR.
Displays alerts matching the ID. This is used with Domain to filter by alert type.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 5: Managing Alerts
Using the Alert Viewer
Table 23: Alert Viewer Options Dialog Box Description (continued)
Options
Records to Return
Show Key Alerts
Show by Alert Status
Hide Repeat Count
Most Recent
Time Selection
Show All
Filter TVI Dispositions
Hide Maintenance Alerts
Show Escalated Alerts
Description
The number of records to display in the Alert Viewer. The default is
1000.
Key alerts are alerts with a PSR_SummaryAlert reporter type.
An alert group summarizes the sources and types of problems detected. It may point to the probable cause component and include informative diagnostics.
The Alert Viewer flags key alerts with a key icon. Select this option to display only key alerts on the Alert Viewer.
Displays only alerts with a specified status. Select:
•
Active to show alerts that are currently impacting the system
(default).
•
Autosolved to show alerts that have been resolved by OK alert detection.
•
Cleared to show alerts that have been cleared with the Alert
Viewer’s Functions > Clear Alert(s) command.
Hides alerts that are repeats of previously-reported alerts. Select this to filter out alerts that have been previously reported.
Lists the most recent alerts. This is the default.
Lists the alerts between the starting date and time (on the top) and the ending date and time (on the bottom).
Shows all the alerts without filtering for TVI dispositions. This is the default.
Activates the two options to allow filtering of the Alert Viewer for
TVI Disposition.
Filters the Alert Viewer so alerts occurring during a maintenance window are not shown.
Filters the Alert Viewer so only TVI escalated alerts are shown.
The Summary Alerts marked Escalated are sent to services to create or update an incident. UpdateRepeat is not sent to the backend, so the TVI Disposition is Abeyed.
Alert Viewer Display Options
Select Tools > Options to display the Options dialog box. Use this to control the display of the
Alert Viewer Options dialog box.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 81
Chapter 5: Managing Alerts
Using the Alert Viewer
Figure 37: Alert Viewer Options on the Options Dialog Box
Table 24: Alert Viewer Display Options in the Options Dialog Box
Option
Prompt for
Alert Viewer
settings
Description
Specifies whether to display the Alert Viewer Options dialog box to prompt for settings for the Alert Viewer. If you suppress this dialog box, the Alert Viewer displays with the default settings. The default is checked.
The Alert Viewer
The Alert Viewer provides a centralized view of the alerts that have been generated in the system. The Alert Viewer allows you to:
•
View the history of active, auto-solved, or cleared alerts
•
Filter the alert history
Figure 38: Alert Viewer
82 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 5: Managing Alerts
Using the Alert Viewer
Table 25: Alert Viewer: Alert Properties
Column
Alias
Status
Time
Severity
Description
GUID
Definition
The default alias of the component.
The status of the alert: Active, AutoSolved, or Cleared.
The date and time that the alert was detected.
Severity level of the alert: OK, Information, Warning, Degraded, Critical, or Fatal.
Message describing what occurred.
A unique Alert ID assigned to the alert.
Knowledge ID
Tracking ID
The knowledge file, version, and rule name that triggered this alert.
Used for AutoSolving and repeat tracking.
Subsystem
Autosolved
The subsystem where the alert originated.
Indicates whether the alert can be AutoSolved:
•
True: Indicates the alert can be AutoSolved when an OK alert for the same source is detected.
•
False: Indicates the alert cannot be AutoSolved.
•
By TrackingID: Indicates the alert can be AutoSolved when an OK alert with the same TrackingID is detected.
Repeat Start Time The time the repeat was first seen within a day
Repeat Count
The number of times this alert has repeated since the value in Repeat Start Time.
TVI_Disposition
The TVI disposition status. Options are:
•
None: No disposition decided.
•
Ignore_Maintenance: Maintenance window was open when this alert occurred.
Alerts are marked Ignore_Maintenance if the components for which they are reported are in a Maintenance window. A Summary Alert is still escalated while in a Maintenance window but the Maintenance flag is on, so no incident is created at the backend.
•
Ignored: Not escalated by TVI because it has been specifically excluded by rules.
•
Abeyed: Not escalated by TVI because a previous similar alert was escalated and subsequent escalation is suppressed for a period of time.
•
Escalated: This alert has been sent out to TVI backend to be considered for incident create or update.
Component ID
The component associated with the alert.
Sequence
Sequence and collective in which the alert was logged.
System ID
ID representing the system where the alert originated.
Collective ID
ID representing the collective where the alert originated.
Cabinet ID
ID representing the cabinet where the alert originated.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 83
Chapter 5: Managing Alerts
Using the Alert Viewer
Table 25: Alert Viewer: Alert Properties (continued)
Column
Chassis ID
ObjectClass
Reporter Type
SubType
Domain
Message ID
Request ID
Definition
ID representing the chassis where the alert originated.
Object class name of the component (usually the first part of the component ID).
MPP_Alert indicates this is an alert condition. PSR_SummaryAlert indicates a summary about a problem scenario.
An optional alert type. PSR_SummaryAlert can have the following subtypes:
RootCause, SituationalCause, UpdateMore, UpdateWorse, UpdateRepeat,
UpdateExpire, or UpdateClose. Heartbeat identifies issues or a restore of the node to the CMIC Event path.
The problem area, which is typically a short name for the agent reporting the alert. Examples of possible Domains are listed below. Not all domains are listed.
•
Alerts reported by server management, including Node, CMIC, ChassisAgent,
CMICCore, BYNET, BYNETDP, ChassisMonitor, UPS_PWDEB, FCSW_SB,
FCSW_Brocade, ESW_Dell, ESW_SMC, and Disk_Array alerts
•
BYNETDriver: Alerts detected for BYNET driver events.
•
CheckBatteries: Alerts reported by the CheckBatteries utility.
•
Disk_Array-MEL: Alerts detected for MEL.
•
FruReplace: Alerts generated while running FRU Replace.
•
Linux domains: Alerts reported for Linux node software, including Teradata for database related alerts.
•
LSI-MEGARAID-STORAGE-MANAGER: Alerts for RAID Storage Managers that logs disk status.
•
PSR: The domain for all summary alerts.
•
SM_User: User or customer generated alerts.
•
TAS: Alerts reported by TAS.
•
Teradata: Alerts detected regarding Teradata database.
•
WinLog domains: alerts reported for Windows node software, including
WinLog-Teradata for database related alerts.
An alert name or message key or number unique within the Domain for a specific type of alert.
Groups a sequence of alerts, such as command results
84 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 5: Managing Alerts
Using the Alert Viewer
Using the Alert Viewer
Changes to the columns displayed are saved, per User ID, for subsequent use.
To Rearrange Columns in the Alert Viewer
✔
Drag each column header to its new location.
To Change the Columns Displayed in the Alert Viewer
1
2
In the Alert Viewer, right-click on any of the column headers.
Select and de-select the column headers to display them.
Note: The Alias column is always displayed. You cannot deselect it
To Search for Text Strings in the Alert Viewer
1
2
In the Alert Viewer, select Search > Find.
Use the Find dialog box to search for text strings.
To Locate a Component in the Tree View
1
2
In the Alert Viewer, select an alert.
Select Functions > Locate Component. The component associated with the alert is highlighted in the Tree View.
To Save the Contents of an Alert Viewer
1
2
In the Alert Viewer:
•
Select File > Save Table > Text to save files in text (.txt) format, which can be viewed in
Notepad or other text editor.
•
Select File > Save Table > CSV to save files in comma separated value (.csv) format, which can be viewed in Microsoft Excel or other spreadsheet application.
In the Save dialog box, specify a name and location for the file.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 85
Chapter 5: Managing Alerts
Using the Alert Viewer
To Display Groups of Alerts
1
In the Alert Viewer, click on the View Alerts By button (the left-most button).
Figure 39: Alert Viewer, View Alerts By Button and Menu
2
Select how you want to group the alerts.
Figure 40: Alert Viewer, Grouped by Subsystem Alerts
86
3
Use the Expand Tree and Collapse Tree buttons (next to the View Alerts By button) to expand and collapse the select group in the Alert Viewer.
Note: The folders on the window vary depending on the types of alerts displayed.
To Pause and Restart Updates in the Alert Viewer
Occasionally, you may need to temporarily pause the updates in the Alert Viewer, to focus on a specific alert. Use this procedure to pause, then restart, the display.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
1
To pause the updates in the Alert Viewer, click on the Stop button.
Figure 41: Alert Viewer, Stop and Resume Buttons
Chapter 5: Managing Alerts
Using the Alert Viewer
2
To restart the Alert Viewer, click the Resume button.
Alert Details
The Alert Viewer’s Functions > View Alert Detail command displays a detail window containing all available information about the alert. Select the alert from the Alert Viewer before you select the command.
Figure 42: Alert Detail Window
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 87
Chapter 5: Managing Alerts
Using the Alert Viewer
Table 26: Alert Detail Window Description
Data Field
TimeStamp
TimeReceived
Severity
Definition
Time and date the alert was detected.
Time and date the alert was recorded by server management.
Severity level of the alert being reported for the component. The severity levels are OK, Information, Warning, Degraded, Critical, and Fatal. The severity of alert indicates the level of impact to the component.
Sequence
GUID
Sequence in which the alert was recorded.
MessageID
A unique global identifier assigned to the alert.
SiteID
ManagedElement
ID of the site where the alert was detected.
The component for which the alert was detected; this is the Component ID
(the unique name assigned to the component).
ManagedElementAlias The default Alias of the component.
Sub Type
An optional alert type; depends on the ReporterType or the type of managed object. Examples: PostError, AssetChange, SettingChange, StreamsError, and
ConsoleLog (MP-RAS nodes); Syslog (Linux nodes), and Application
(Windows nodes)
Subsystem
The subsystem where the alert originated: Client, Database, Network, Node,
OS, Power, ServerMgmt, Storage, or Other.
Domain
The source the alert originated from. In conjunction with MessageID, it uniquely identifies the type of alert.
An alert name or message key or number unique within the Domain for a specific type of alert, for example, a Windows Alert ID or MP-RAS E-tag.
88 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 5: Managing Alerts
Using the Alert Viewer
Table 26: Alert Detail Window Description (continued)
Data Field
Reporter Type
TVI_Disposition
Repeat Count
Repeat Start Time
Tracking ID
Knowledge ID
Description
Definition
The category the alert belongs to:
•
MPP_Alert: an alert indicating an alert condition; these alerts are processed by the Alert Manager.
•
MPP_ApplicationEvent: an alert reported to server management from an application.
•
MPP_BynetDPEvent: an alert sent by the BYNET DP.
•
MPP_CommandEvent: an alert reported for commands users perform on the system.
•
MPP_ConfigChangeEvent: an alert reported for asset and setting changes.
•
MPP_DeviceLog: an alert from a log resident on a device; for example, a disk array MEL alert.
•
MPP_SiteActivity: an alert from the Record Site Activity GUI.
•
MPP_SnmpTrap: a trap alert reported from the Fibre Channel switch and UPS.
•
MPP_StatusEvent: an alert reported for environmental conditions and significant state changes.
•
MPP_UNIXLog: an alert from the ConsoleLog and StreamsError log of
MP-RAS nodes or from the Syslog of Linux nodes.
•
MPP_WinLog: an alert from the application and system logs of Windows nodes.
•
PSR_SummaryAlert: an alert reporting on a group of alerts. A problem alert summary.
The TVI disposition status. Options are:
•
None: No disposition decided.
•
Ignore_Maintenance: Maintenance window was open when this alert occurred. Alerts are marked Ignore_Maintenance if the components for which they are reported are in a Maintenance window. A Summary Alert is still escalated while in a Maintenance window but the Maintenance flag is on, so no incident is created at the backend.
•
Ignored: Not escalated by TVI because it has been specifically excluded by rules.
•
Abeyed: Not escalated by TVI because a previous similar alert was escalated and subsequent escalation is suppressed for a period of time.
•
Escalated: This alert has been sent out to TVI backend to be considered for incident create or update.
The number of times this alert has repeated since the value in Repeat Start
Time.
The time the repeat was first seen within a day
Used for AutoSolving and repeat tracking.
The knowledge file, version, and rule name that triggered this alert.
Message describing the alert that occurred
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 89
Chapter 5: Managing Alerts
Using the Alert Viewer
Table 26: Alert Detail Window Description (continued)
Data Field
More Information
Definition
Contains properties specific to the kind of alert reported, including operating system, computer name, and log message.
Clearing an Alert
Use Functions > Clear Alert(s) in the Alert Viewer to archive alerts. Clearing an alert changes its status from Active or AutoSolved to Cleared. When alerts are resolved, they should be cleared to remove them from the list of alerts being monitored.
To Clear Alerts
1
2
In the Alert Viewer, select one or more alerts.
Select Functions > Clear Alert(s).
3
When the system prompts for confirmation, click Yes.
90 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
CHAPTER 6
Managing Cabinet Windows
The commands in Window > Cabinet Window create separate Cabinet Windows that show different views of your SMClient system. A Cabinet Window contains icons that represent the cabinets in the Tree View.
The color of each icon matches severity of the highest alert, not summary alert, in the cabinet.
To view the alerts associated with the cabinet, right-click on the cabinet, and select View Alerts.
Figure 43: Cabinet Window
Each cabinet icon has a letter that identifies its cabinet type.
•
B: BYNET cabinet
•
D: Disk array cabinet
•
H: Hybrid cabinet
•
N: Processing node cabinet
Related Topics
•
•
•
Saving, Opening, and Closing Cabinet Windows
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 91
Chapter 6: Managing Cabinet Windows
Creating a Cabinet Window
Creating a Cabinet Window
The commands in the Window > Cabinet Window submenu create separate Cabinet Windows that show different views of your SMClient system. For example, you can create a geographic view by arranging icons to represent how your system is physically arranged, or logical views by arranging icons in cliques and collectives.
When you create a Cabinet Window, you set its display options.
You can also change a Cabinet Window’s display options after you create it.
Each new Cabinet Window displays on the SMClient desktop. You can display more than one
Cabinet Window at a time. Each Cabinet Window has a number in the title bar, representing the order in which it was created (Cabinet Window 1, for example, was created first). When you save a Cabinet Window, the file name replaces the default label in the title bar.
Each Cabinet Window contains menus for working with Cabinet Windows or creating additional Cabinet Windows.
To Create a Cabinet Window
1
2
3
Select Window > Cabinet Window > New > All Cabinets to create a Cabinet Window containing icons, or
Select Window > Cabinet Window > New > Blank to create a blank Cabinet Window.
From an existing Cabinet Window, create a new Window by selecting File > New > All
Cabinets or File > New > Blank from the Cabinet Window menu bar.
When the New Cabinet Window dialog box displays, use the information in Table 27 to set
the display options you want to use.
Note: The New Cabinet Window dialog boxes do not display if the Tools > Options command has been used to clear the Prompt for Cabinet Window settings option.
Note: You cannot specify a value of zero for any of the fields on the New Cabinet Window dialog box.
Click Ok.
92 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 6: Managing Cabinet Windows
Creating a Cabinet Window
New Cabinet Window and Cabinet Window Dialog Boxes
Figure 44: New Cabinet Window Dialog Box (New > All Cabinets Command, New > Blank Command) and
Cabinet Window (Edit > Options Command) Dialog Boxes
Table 27: Cabinet Window Dialog Box (Edit > Options) and New Cabinet Window Dialog Box (New > All Cabinets and New > Blank Commands)
Descriptions
Option
Display Name Type
Icon Size
Max Width
Description
Sets the name displayed beneath the icons in the Cabinet Window:
•
Default: Displays the word Cabinet followed by the system, collective, and cabinet numbers, separated by dashes.
•
Alias: Displays the cabinet’s default Alias. If a user-defined Alias exists, it displays instead of the default Alias.
•
Cabinet Numbers: Displays the system, collective, and cabinet numbers, separated by dashes.
•
Component ID: Displays the cabinet’s Component ID.
Sets the size of the icons in the Cabinet Window to Small, Medium, or Large.
Sets the maximum width of the Cabinet Window in pixels. If you specify a maximum width that is less than the space the icons currently occupy, a message asks whether you would like to change the maximum width to a value that would include all of the icons in the Cabinet
Window. Click Yes to include all of the icons.
Note: If you click No, another message warns you that if you continue, the icons outside of the specified width will be deleted from the Cabinet Window.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 93
Chapter 6: Managing Cabinet Windows
Creating a Cabinet Window
Table 27: Cabinet Window Dialog Box (Edit > Options) and New Cabinet Window Dialog Box (New > All Cabinets and New > Blank Commands)
Descriptions (continued)
Option
Max Height
Show Grid
Snap Cabinets to Grid
Column Width, or
Horizontal Spacing
Row Height, or
Vertical Spacing
Initial x-axis position
Initial y-axis position
Wrap icons around visible
contents of window
Description
Sets the maximum height of the Cabinet Window in pixels. If you specify a maximum height that is less than the space the icons currently occupy, a message asks whether you would like to change the maximum height to a value that would include all of the icons in the Cabinet Window. Click Yes to include all of the icons.
Note: If you click No, another message warns you that if you continue, the icons outside of the specified height will be deleted from the Cabinet Window.
Check to display the grid. The default is unchecked.
Check to make the icons snap to the column and row intersections of the grid. The default is unchecked.
Note: If two or more cabinet icons are close to an intersection, the icons may overlap.
Cabinets that overlap are marked with an “x”. You can use the Cabinet Window’s Edit >
Move command to move one of the icons.
•
Column Width sets the width between the grid columns in pixels. When the New > Blank command or the Cabinet Window’s Edit > Options command is used, Column Width displays on the New Cabinet Window or Cabinet Window # dialog box, respectively.
•
Horizontal Spacing sets the number of pixels placed between the center of an icon in one column to the center of an icon in the next column. When the New > All Cabinets command is used, Horizontal Spacing displays on the New Cabinet Window dialog box.
•
Row Height sets the height between the grid rows in pixels. When the New > Blank command or the Cabinet Window’s Edit > Options command is used, Row Height displays on the New Cabinet Window or Cabinet Window # dialog box, respectively.
•
Vertical Spacing sets the number of pixels placed between the center of an icon in one row to the center of an icon in the next row. When the New > All Cabinets command is used, Vertical Spacing displays on the New Cabinet Window dialog box.
Specifies how close the initial vertical grid line is, in pixels, from the left side of the Cabinet
Window. The value of this option must be positive. The intersection of the Initial x-axis
position and Initial y-axis position represent the location of the first icon added to the
Cabinet Window.
Specifies how close the initial horizontal grid line is, in pixels, from the top of the Cabinet
Window. The value of this option must be positive. The intersection of the Initial x-axis
position and Initial y-axis position represent the location of the first icon added to the
Cabinet Window.
This option is available when the New > All Cabinets command is used.
•
If this option is checked, the Cabinet Window is populated with icons from left to right until the next icon is unable to fit within the visible contents of the Cabinet Window.
When this occurs, a new row is started below the last row.
•
If this option is unchecked, the Cabinet Window is populated with icons from left to right until the value within the Max Width field is reached.
Note: If all the icons cannot fit within the area designated with the Max Width and Max
Height fields, an error message displays.
94 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 6: Managing Cabinet Windows
Creating a Cabinet Window
Changing Cabinet Window Display Options
To Change Display Options for the Active Cabinet Window
1
2
3
4
Select or open a Cabinet Window.
Select the Cabinet Window’s Edit > Options command. The Cabinet Window Options dialog box displays. It contains options for the active Cabinet Window.
Use the information in Table 27 on page 93 to set the options you want to use.
Note: You cannot specify a value of zero for any of the fields on the Cabinet Window
Options dialog box.
Click Ok.
To Set the SMClient Option for Cabinet Windows
1
2
You can display or hide the New Cabinet Window dialog box when you select Cabinet Window commands from the SMClient Window menu.
3
From the SMClient menu bar, select the Tools > Options command.
In the Cabinet Window section of the Options dialog box, select or clear the option
described in Table 28 on page 95 .
Click Ok.
Table 28: Options Dialog Box (Tools > Options): Cabinet Window
Option
Prompt for Cabinet
Window settings
Description
This check box allows you to specify whether you want SMClient to display a dialog box that prompts you for Cabinet Window settings when you select the Window > Cabinet Window > New > All Cabinets command or the Window > Cabinet Window > New > Blank command.
If the dialog box does not display, you must use the Prompt for Cabinet Window settings option to redisplay. After you set this option, the dialog box that prompts you for Cabinet Window settings displays the next time you use the Blank or All Cabinets commands. The default is checked.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 95
Chapter 6: Managing Cabinet Windows
Working with Cabinet Icons
Working with Cabinet Icons
The Tree View and Cabinet Windows are designed to work together. Cabinet Windows complement the Tree View and allow you to create alternate views of your system.
•
Severity levels correspond to the severity levels in the Alert Viewer.
•
Selecting a cabinet in the Tree View highlights the corresponding icon in a Cabinet
Window.
•
Selecting an icon in a Cabinet Window highlights the corresponding cabinet in the Tree
View.
•
Double-clicking a cabinet icon in a Cabinet Window expands or collapses the corresponding cabinet in the Tree View.
•
Right-clicking a cabinet icon in a Cabinet Window displays a pop-up menu containing commands relevant to cabinets.
•
Deleting an icon from a Cabinet Window deletes the cabinet from the active Cabinet
Window—it does not delete the cabinet from the Tree View. You must use Configuration >
Remove Component to delete a cabinet from the Tree View.
Related Topics
•
•
•
Erasing or Replacing the Contents of a Cabinet Window
Selecting Icons
Use the following methods to select and deselect the icons you want to move:
Table 29: Cabinet Window: Commands for Selecting Cabinet Icons
Method
Edit > Select All
(Cabinet Window)
CTRL + Click
Edit > Deselect All
(Cabinet Window)
Cursor
Description
Selects all of the icons in the Cabinet Window.
Selects and deselects one or more icons in the Cabinet Window.
Deselects all of the icons in the Cabinet Window.
Allows you to select a group of icons by dragging the cursor diagonally from one corner of the group to the other corner; the icons within the rectangle become selected.
96 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 6: Managing Cabinet Windows
Working with Cabinet Icons
Arranging Icons
When icons are first placed in a Cabinet Window, the icons are locked and cannot be moved.
You must select icons and use the Cabinet Window’s Edit > Move command to unlock the icons and arrange them in the Cabinet Window.
Note: You can drag and drop the cabinets from the Tree View into any Cabinet Window.
After you select one or more cabinets in a Cabinet Window, you can use the following commands in the Cabinet Window’s Edit menu and the keyboard to arrange the icons.
Table 30: Cabinet Window: Commands for Manipulating Cabinet Icons
Edit Menu Command or Keyboard Key
Undo
Redo
Move
Description
Removes the previous action.
Reinstates the previous action.
Unlocks icons in a Cabinet Window; you can select one or more icons and use the cursor to drag them into position or use the arrow keys to move them.
Delete
Removes selected icons from a Cabinet Window. You can also use the Delete key.
Note: Deleting an icon from a Cabinet Window does not delete it from the
Tree View. To delete a cabinet from the Tree View, use Configuration > Remove
Component.
Selects all the icons.
Select All
Deselect All
Options
Arrow Keys
Deselects all the icons.
Allows you to set options for the Cabinet Window.
•
If the Edit > Move command is active, use the arrow keys to move a selected icon in the Cabinet Window. If the Snap Cabinets to Grid check box is selected, the icon moves to the next grid intersection in the specified direction. If the Snap Cabinet to Grid check box is not selected, the icon moves one pixel at a time.
•
If the Edit > Move command is not active, use the arrow keys to select one icon and move the selection to the next icon in the specified direction.
Tab Key
Shifts the active window among the Tree View, the Results Panel, and one or more Cabinet Windows.
Delete Key
Removes selected icons from a Cabinet Window.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 97
Chapter 6: Managing Cabinet Windows
Saving, Opening, and Closing Cabinet Windows
Erasing or Replacing the Contents of a Cabinet Window
After you create a Cabinet Window, use the commands on the Cabinet Window’s menu bar to erase or replace its contents:
•
The File > New > Blank command erases the contents of the active Cabinet Window.
•
The File > New > All Cabinets command replaces the contents of the active Cabinet
Window with cabinet icons that represent all the cabinets displayed in the Tree View.
If you have made changes to a Cabinet Window, and then click File > New > Blank or File > New
> All Cabinets, you are prompted to save the current Cabinet Window.
Saving, Opening, and Closing Cabinet Windows
Use the following commands to save, open, and close Cabinet Windows on the desktop. More than one Cabinet Window can be displayed at a time on the desktop.
Table 31: Cabinet Window: Commands for Saving, Opening, and Closing Cabinet Windows
Command
Window>Cabinet Window> >Open
(Desktop menu bar)
File > Open
(Cabinet Window menu bar)
File > Save
(Cabinet Window menu bar)
File>Save As
(Cabinet Window menu bar)
File > Close
(Cabinet Window menu bar)
Description
Opens a previously saved Cabinet Window to the desktop.
Replaces the contents of the active Cabinet Window with a previously saved Cabinet Window.
Saves the active Cabinet Window and replaces the text in the title bar with the name of the file.
Renames and saves the active Cabinet Window and replaces the text in the title bar with the name of the file.
Closes the active Cabinet Window.
98 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
CHAPTER 7
Managing Component Information
This section discusses viewing and updating information about components.
Related Topics
•
Viewing Properties of Components
•
Displaying an Image of Chassis Components
•
•
Tracking Chassis Measurement Information
•
Viewing Properties of Components
You can view the properties of only one system, collective, cabinet, component, or subcomponent at a time.
To View Component Properties
3
4
1
2
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select a component.
Select View > Properties.
To see a description of the components, click the Description button.
Select Do not display empty property values to suppress the properties with empty values.
Displaying an Image of Chassis Components
The View > Chassis Layout View command displays a printable, digital image of a chassis and its components. A series of windows allow you to select the view containing the chassis or component. The windows also display a color icon indicating the operating state of components.
Note: This procedure is not supported for tape libraries.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 99
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Displaying an Image of Chassis Components
Figure 45: Chassis Layout View: Window Series for Non-Disk Array Chassis
100
Note: You can also access the windows through Functions > Replace FRU.
Related Topics
•
To Display an Image of a Chassis, Its Components, and Component Operational States
•
•
To Display an Image of a Chassis, Its Components, and Component Operational States
1
2
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select a chassis.
Select the View > Chassis Layout View command.
•
If you selected one of the following, a Choose a Layout View window displays.
•
CMIC
•
Node
•
BYNET chassis (except 1 U)
•
UPS
•
Fibre channel switch
•
Ethernet switch
•
Disk Enclosure
•
If you selected a 1U BYNET chassis, a digital image of the chassis displays.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Displaying an Image of Chassis Components
•
If you selected a disk array, a digital image of the disk array controller and its disks displays. Do one of the following:
•
Select a component or circle. The Choose a Layout View window displays.
•
To print the digital image, click Print.
•
To discontinue the procedure and close the window, click Close.
Choose a Layout View
The Choose a Layout View window contains a list of the components in the selected chassis.
The components are sorted into columns based on their location in the chassis (front, internal, rear). The operational state of each component displays next to the component.
The UPS chassis shown below is an example of a Choose a Layout View window.
Figure 46: Chassis Layout View: Choose a Layout View
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 101
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Displaying an Image of Chassis Components
Table 32: Chassis Layout View Dialog Box Description
Item
Front View, Internal View,
Rear View
Temperature
Description
To display a digital image of chassis components, find the component in the list, then select the button at the top of the list.
Chassis temperature sensor. The color of the rectangle corresponds to the chassis operational state displayed in the Tree View. A chassis can have one or more temperature sensors.
Chassis Layout View
When you select a View button from the Choose a Layout View window, the Chassis Layout
View window displays. It contains a digital image of the view you selected.
The UPS chassis shown below is an example of a Chassis Layout View window.
Figure 47: Chassis Layout View
102
Table 33: Chassis Layout View, Rear Dialog Box Description
Item
numbers
Key
Description
Correspond to the items listed in the Key. The color corresponds to a component’s operational state in the Tree View.
Lists the components represented in the digital image.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Tracking Asset Information
Tracking Asset Information
When CMIC and node data collection agents (DCAs) detect changes to the hardware, software, and firmware information of components, they store the changes as asset records in the Asset Database. Types of asset records include inventory information (such as model numbers, serial numbers, and part numbers), battery installation dates, and revision levels for components.
You can track asset information for a system or one or more collectives, cabinets, or chassis, per Site ID. For example, you can visually verify correct firmware versions across all UPS chassis in the system, or that a particular BYNET board part number is present in the system.
Customer Services personnel use the following commands to track asset information:
•
View > Asset Information displays current asset records.
•
Event Mgmt > View Asset History displays a history of changes to asset records.
Related Topics
•
•
•
Generating a Baseline of System Assets
Viewing Asset Information
The View > Asset Information command provides a consolidated view of the current asset records stored in the Asset Database. You can save the information in .txt or .csv file format for later reference.
Related Topics
•
•
Working with the Asset Information View Window
Displaying Asset Information
To Display Asset Information
1
2
In the Tree View, with the Site ID selected, select the system or one or more collectives, cabinets, or chassis.
Note: You can also use Functions > Multi-Select Command to make selections and run the
Asset Information command.
Select View > Asset Information.
The Asset Information dialog box displays. See
Table 34 for a description of the dialog box.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 103
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Tracking Asset Information
Figure 48: Asset Information Dialog Box
104
Table 34: Asset Information Dialog Box Description
Option Description
Selected Components
Displays the components you selected in the Tree View.
Common Identification
Fields
Displays fields common to chassis of the same type.
If you select more than one chassis of the same type (for example, all
CMICs), this displays all available asset records for that type.
If you select multiple components of different types, this field displays only the asset records that are common to all the components.
Click to select. Use CTRL+click or SHIFT+click to select multiple fields. If no fields are selected, all are included in the output
3
To display the Asset Information View window, click Ok.
Working with the Asset Information View Window
The Asset Information View window contains asset records for the chassis you selected with
View > Asset Information or Functions > Multi-Select Command.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Figure 49: Asset Information View Window
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Tracking Asset Information
Table 35: Asset Information View Window Description
Label
Chassis
Unit
Asset Name
Property Name
Description
Path, default alias, or component ID of the chassis, depending on the option set for the Tree View:
•
If the Default option is set, the path follows the hierarchy displayed in the
Tree View.
•
If the Alias option is set, the default alias displays. If a user-defined alias exists, it is displayed instead of the default alias.
•
If the Component ID option is set, the CIM path displays.
Chassis component whose asset record displays.
Name of the chassis component asset whose asset record displays.
Type of asset record displayed (type of hardware, software, or firmware asset information).
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 105
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Tracking Asset Information
To Sort Asset Records by Column
✔
The arrow indicates the sort column, and whether the information is sorted in ascending
(up arrow) or descending (down arrow) order. To change the sort column, click the appropriate column header. To toggle between ascending and descending order, click the column header.
To Save Asset Information to a File
1
2
To save the information in plain text format (.txt) that can be viewed with Notepad or a similar text editor, select File > Text.
To save the information in comma separated value format (.csv) that can be viewed with
Microsoft Excel or a similar spreadsheet application, select File > CSV.
In the Save dialog box, enter a file name and location, then click Save.
Viewing Asset History
The Event Mgmt > View Asset History command displays a history of chassis asset change records stored in the Asset Database. You can save the information in .txt or .csv file format for later reference.
The command options allow you to specify a time frame and the number of records to display.
For example, if you want to see all changes to the BIOS version for a specific CMIC over the last week, select the CMIC, specify the number of records you want to display, specify a time interval of seven days, and sort the columns by Asset Name to find the BIOS records.
Note: If one week’s worth of records exceeds the number of records displayed, use the Next button to display the remaining records.
Related Topics
•
Displaying Asset Record History
•
Working with the View Asset History Window
Displaying Asset Record History
2
3
To Display Asset Record History by Number of Records and Time Span
1
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select the system or one or more collectives, cabinets, or chassis.
Note: You can also use Functions > Multi-Select Command to make selections.
Select Event Mgmt > View Asset History.
From the View Asset History options dialog box, use the information in Table 36 to specify
what you want to see.
106 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Figure 50: View Asset History Dialog Box
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Tracking Asset Information
Table 36: View Asset History Dialog Box Description
Option Description
Number of records
to display
Time Selection
Specifies the maximum number of records to display in the View Asset
History window.
Do not limit time
Displays the most recent record first.
Records before this time
Displays records recorded before the date and time you specify in the text box.
Records after this time
Displays records recorded after the date and time you specify in the text box.
Records between this time Displays records recorded between the two dates and times you specify in the text boxes.
Records for the last
Displays records recorded within the time frame you specify in the list
(1-60 seconds, minutes, hours, or days).
4
To display the View Asset History window, click Ok.
Working with the View Asset History Window
The View Asset History window contains the asset records of each chassis you selected with
Event Mgmt > View Asset History.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 107
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Tracking Asset Information
Figure 51: View Asset History Window
108
Table 37: View Asset History Window Description
Options
Events for
Previous/Next buttons
Chassis
Unit
Asset Name
Modification Date
Change Status
Property Name
Property Value
Type
Model
Description
Contains the path, default alias, or component ID of the chassis, depending on the option set for the Tree View.
If only one chassis is selected, this field is not displayed.
If the number of records retrieved exceeds the Number of records to
display, the Next and Previous buttons allow you to display more records.
Contains the path, default alias, or component ID of the chassis, depending on the option set for the Tree View.
Chassis component whose asset record is displayed.
Name of the chassis component asset whose record is displayed.
Date the asset was modified. This uses the clock on the source chassis.
Type of change the CMIC detected:
•
New: CMIC has no previous knowledge of this asset.
•
Missing: CMIC expects the asset to be there, but the asset is absent.
•
Replaced: CMIC detected that the asset was missing, but the asset now exists.
•
Changed: CMIC detected a new value for an existing asset.
•
Same: Indicates the asset monitors (CMICs and node DCAs) have not detected a change in the asset. Not all asset monitors use Same.
When Same is reported, only the LastSeenDate of the asset property is updated.
Type of asset record displayed (type of hardware, software, or firmware asset information).
Asset information.
Chassis type (node, UPS, and so forth).
Chassis model.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Tracking Asset Information
Table 37: View Asset History Window Description (continued)
Options
Last Seen Date
Managed Element ID
GUID
Description
Date the component was detected during the last CMIC or node reboot; this date is usually more current than the Modification Date and is used to track the component’s life cycle changes. This uses the clock on the source chassis.
CIM path of the component whose measurement information is displayed; this is the unique name assigned to the component.
A unique global identifier for an event; when the CMIC detects a change in a component’s asset record, it is logged as an event and assigned a GUID in the Event Viewer.
Related Topics
•
To Sort Asset History Records by Column
•
•
To Save Asset History to a File
•
To Search Asset History Records
•
To Update the View Asset History Window
•
To Locate a Component in the Tree View
To Sort Asset History Records by Column
✔
The arrow indicates the sort column, and whether the information is sorted in ascending
(up arrow) or descending (down arrow) order. To change the sort column, click the appropriate column header. To toggle between ascending and descending order, click the column header.
To Display or Hide a Column
To display or hide one or more columns:
1
2
Right-click any column header. The pop-up menu contains the names of all the columns.
Check-marks beside column names indicate which columns are currently displayed.
Select a column header to display it, or clear a column header to hide it.
To Save Asset History to a File
1
2
To save the information in plain text format (.txt) that can be viewed with Notepad or a similar text editor, select File > Text.
To save the information in comma separated value format (.csv) that can be viewed with
Microsoft Excel or a similar spreadsheet application, select File > CSV.
In the Save dialog box, enter a file name and location, then click Save.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 109
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Tracking Asset Information
To Search Asset History Records
1
2
Select Search > Find.
Use the Find dialog box to search for text strings.
To Update the View Asset History Window
The table does not automatically update if measurement information changes.
✔
To update the window, select View > Refresh.
To Locate a Component in the Tree View
1
2
Select an asset record in the table.
Select Functions > Locate Component. The component for which the measurement was performed is highlighted in the Tree View.
Generating a Baseline of System Assets
The Tools > System Asset Baseline command takes a snapshot of a system’s asset information, per Site ID. The asset information is collected into at least two files:
•
One index file, containing the number of data files to expect, as well as a list of the CMICs providing data files. The list allows you to make sure you receive all the component files.
•
One or more data snapshot files.
These files are sent to Customer Services for inclusion in the Customer System Information
(CSI) database.
Note: In a multi-Site ID configuration, you must run a system asset baseline for each Site ID to get the entire system’s asset information.
We recommend the System Asset Baseline command be used at initial configuration and after changes to a configuration.
Note: The command does not log on to the customer’s Teradata Database or save any customer network configuration data.
110 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Tracking Asset Information
Asset Baseline Data
Asset data consists of information about cabinet hardware, such as firmware versions, serial numbers, product IDs, and so forth. The System Asset Baseline command collects, saves, and sends asset information as follows:
•
Removes and updates stale or orphaned asset information
•
Updates DCA-generated asset information
•
Gathers all available, current asset information for each chassis in the system
•
Formats the asset data and saves the output
•
Sends it to the TAS outbox for transmission to Teradata Customer Services
To Generate a Baseline of System Assets
Caution:
For a successful completion of an asset baseline, the System Asset Baseline command must be able to communicate with all the chassis it is updating, or from which it is getting asset information.
Note: Depending on the size of the system, the command may take some time to complete.
1
2
3
If this is a multi-Site ID configuration, select the site ID from the Tree View.
Select Tools > System Asset Baseline.
When the System Asset Baseline dialog box displays, click Ok.
Figure 52: System Asset Baseline Dialog Box
Generating a baseline consists of several steps. A progress indicator displays for each step.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 111
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Tracking Asset Information
Figure 53: System Asset Baseline Progress
112
4
When the process updates the DCA Asset information, it summarizes the progress in a different dialog box.
Figure 54: Update DCA Asset Information Summary
5
6
When the system reports the procedure is complete, click OK.
To view the output, open the files using SMWeb’s Save and Restore option.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Tracking Chassis Measurement Information
Tracking Chassis Measurement Information
CMICs record measurement information from chassis and store the information in the CMIC
Measurement Database, per Site ID. Measurement information is available for all chassis that contain it. The measurement data is recorded and stored in the database at eight-hour intervals, and when a CMIC boots.
Customer Services personnel use the following commands to access measurement information, per Site ID, for debugging and trend analysis.
•
View > Measurement Information displays current chassis measurement data.
•
Event Mgmt > View Measurement History displays a history of chassis measurement data based on a time interval and number of records.
Related Topics
•
Viewing Measurement Information
•
Viewing Measurement Information
The View > Measurement Information command displays current measurement information stored in the CMIC Measurement Database. You can save the information in .txt or .csv file format for later reference.
Related Topics
•
Displaying Measurement Information
•
Working with the Measurement Information View Window
Displaying Measurement Information
To Display Chassis Measurement Information
1
2
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select the system, collectives, cabinets, or chassis.
Note: You can also use the Functions > Multi-Select Command to make selections and run the Measurement Information command.
Select View > Measurement Information.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 113
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Tracking Chassis Measurement Information
The Measurement Information dialog box displays.
Figure 55: Measurement Information Dialog Box
114
Table 38: Measurement Information Dialog Box Description
Option Description
Selected Components
Displays the components you selected in the Tree View.
Common Identification
Fields
Displays fields common to chassis of the same type.
When you select more than one chassis of the same type, this displays measurement information for fields common to that chassis type. For example, if you select one or more CMIC chassis, you can display measurement information for all system baseboard fans in each CMIC chassis.
When you select multiple components of different types, there are no common information fields to display.
Click to select. Use CTRL+click or SHIFT+click to select multiple fields. If no fields are selected, all are included in the output.
3
To display the Measurement Information View window, click Ok.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Tracking Chassis Measurement Information
Working with the Measurement Information View Window
The Measurement Information View window contains measurement information for the chassis you selected with View > Measurement Information or Functions > Multi-Select Command.
Figure 56: Measurement Information View Window
Table 39: Measurement Information View Window Description
Option
Chassis
Description
Path, default alias, or component ID of the chassis, depending on the option set for the Tree View:
•
If the Default option is set, the path follows the hierarchy displayed in the
Tree View.
•
If the Alias option is set, the default alias displays. If a user-defined alias exists, it is displayed instead of the default alias.
•
If the Component ID option is set, the CIM path displays.
Location
Property Name
Chassis component whose measurement information is displayed.
Type of measurement information displayed for the chassis component.
Property Unit
Units the measurement information is recorded in.
Property Value Measurement.
Related Topics
•
To Sort Measurement Information by Column
•
To Save Measurement Information to a File
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 115
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Tracking Chassis Measurement Information
To Sort Measurement Information by Column
✔
The arrow indicates the sort column, and whether the information is sorted in ascending
(up arrow) or descending (down arrow) order. To change the sort order, click the appropriate column header. To toggle between ascending and descending order, click the column header.
To Save Measurement Information to a File
1
2
To save the information in plain text format (.txt) that can be viewed with Notepad or a similar text editor, select File > Text.
To save the information in comma separated value format (.csv) that can be viewed with
Microsoft Excel or a similar spreadsheet application, select File > CSV.
In the Save dialog box, enter a file name and location, then click Save.
Viewing Measurement History
The Event Mgmt > View Measurement History command displays a history of chassis measurement information stored in the CMIC Measurement Database. You can save the information in .txt or .csv file format for later reference.
The command options allow you to specify a time frame and the number of records to display.
For example, if you want to see all temperature measurements for a specific node chassis over the last week, select the node chassis, specify the number of records you want to display, and specify a time interval of seven days.
Note: If one week’s worth of records exceeds the number of records displayed, use the Next button in the View Measurement History window to display the remaining records.
Related Topics
•
Displaying Measurement History Records
•
Working with the View Measurement History Window
Displaying Measurement History Records
To Display Measurement History by Number of Records and Time Span
1
2
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select the system, collectives, cabinets, or chassis.
Note: You can also use the Multi-Select Command to make selections and run the View
Measurement History command.
Select Event Mgmt > View Measurement History.
116 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Tracking Chassis Measurement Information
3
From the View Measurement History options dialog box, use the information in Table 40 to
specify what you want to see.
Figure 57: View Measurement History Dialog Box
Table 40: View Measurement History Dialog Box Description
Option
Number of records
to display
Time Selection
Description
Specifies the maximum number of records to display in the View
Measurement History window.
Do not limit time
Displays the most recent record first.
Records before this time
Displays records recorded before the date and time you specify in the text box.
Records after this time
Displays records recorded after the date and time you specify in the text box.
Records between this time Displays records recorded between the two dates and times you specify in the text boxes.
Records for the last
Displays records recorded within the time frame you specify in the lists
(1-60 seconds, minutes, hours, or days).
4
To display the View Measurement History window, click Ok.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 117
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Tracking Chassis Measurement Information
Working with the View Measurement History Window
The View Measurement History window contains the measurement history of each chassis you selected with Event Mgmt > View Measurement History.
Figure 58: View Measurement History Window
118
Table 41: View Measurement History Window Description
Label
Records for
Description
Contains the path, default alias, or component ID of the chassis, depending on the option set for the Tree View.
If one chassis is selected, this field is not displayed.
Previous/Next buttons
Chassis
If the number of records retrieved exceeds the Number of records to display, the Next and Previous buttons allow you to display more records.
Contains the path, default alias, or component ID of the chassis, depending on the option set for the Tree View.
Type
Time Stamp
Location
Property Name
Type of chassis.
Date and time the measurement was performed.
Location of the component performing the measurement.
Chassis component whose measurement information is displayed.
Unit
Property Value
Units the measurement is recorded in.
Measurement.
Managed Element ID
CIM path of the component whose measurement information is displayed; this is the unique name assigned to the component.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Tracking Chassis Measurement Information
Related Topics
•
To Sort Measurement History by Column
•
•
To Save Measurement History to a File
•
To Search for Chassis Measurement History
•
To Update the View Measurement History Window
•
To Locate a Component in the Tree View
To Sort Measurement History by Column
✔
The arrow indicates the sort column, and whether the information is sorted in ascending
(up arrow) or descending (down arrow) order. To change the sort order, click the appropriate column header. To toggle between ascending and descending order, click the column header.
To Display or Hide a Column
To display or hide one or more columns:
1
2
Right-click any column header. The pop-up menu contains the names of all the columns.
Check-marks beside column names indicate which columns are currently displayed.
Select a column header to display it, or clear a column header to hide it.
To Save Measurement History to a File
1
2
To save the information in plain text format (.txt) that can be viewed with Notepad or a similar text editor, select File > Text.
To save the information in comma separated value format (.csv) that can be viewed with
Microsoft Excel or a similar spreadsheet application, select File > CSV.
In the Save dialog box, enter a file name and location, then click Save.
To Search for Chassis Measurement History
1
2
Select Search > Find.
Use the Find dialog box to search for text strings.
To Update the View Measurement History Window
The table does not automatically update if measurement information changes.
✔
To update the window, select the View > Refresh command.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 119
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Generating Measurement Graphs
To Locate a Component in the Tree View
1
2
Select a measurement in the table.
Select Functions > Locate Component. The component for which the measurement was performed is highlighted in the Tree View.
Generating Measurement Graphs
The Event Mgmt > View Measurement Graph commands allow you to display, in graph form, environmental, power, and operational information for components. The graphs are based on information gathered from hardware sensors and recorded and stored in the CMIC
Measurement Database.
Customer Service Representatives can use the following commands to generate graphs and save them in HTML format for later reference:
•
View Measurement Graph > Predefined Queries > System Queries allows you to use predefined queries to generate the following:
•
Temperature graphs for all nodes and CMICs
•
Power consumption and output graphs for all UPSs
•
View Measurement Graph > Predefined Queries > Cabinet-Level Queries allows you to use a predefined query to generate temperature graphs for components in one or more selected cabinets.
•
View Measurement Graph > Custom Queries allows you to use a dialog box to construct a custom query for selected components and generate a graph based on your choice of hardware sensor. You can save, edit, or delete a custom query.
If a predefined query does not apply to the selected Site ID, an error message displays. In that case, modify your query options for the Site ID.
Related Topics
•
Using Predefined System Queries to Generate Measurement Graphs
•
Using Predefined Cabinet-Level Queries to Generate Measurement Graphs
•
Using Custom Queries to Generate Graphs
•
120 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Generating Measurement Graphs
Using Predefined System Queries to Generate Measurement Graphs
The Event Mgmt > View Measurement Graph > Predefined Queries > System Queries command
displays a Measurement Graph Manager dialog box ( Figure 59 ).
Figure 59: Measurement Graph Manager (Predefined System Queries)
The dialog box lists predefined queries that retrieve information from the CMIC
Measurement Database and generate graphs for components in the system.
Related Topics
•
To Generate an xy Graph Showing All Temperature Readings for All Nodes and CMICs .
•
To Generate a Bar Graph Showing the Most Recent Temperature Readings for All Nodes and CMICs .
•
To Generate an xy Graph Showing All UPS Power Consumption for All Cabinets
.
•
To Generate a Stacked Bar Graph Showing the Most Recent UPS Power Consumption for
•
To Generate an xy Graph Showing UPS Power Output for All Cabinets
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 121
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Generating Measurement Graphs
2
3
To Generate an xy Graph Showing All Temperature Readings for All Nodes and CMICs
1
With the correct Site ID selected in the Tree View, select Event Mgmt > View Measurement
Graph > Predefined Queries > System Queries.
From the Measurement Graph Manager, select Front Panel Temperature: All Readings.
Click Create Graph.
The query retrieves all front panel and ambient temperature data for all nodes and CMICs in the system. The query generates an xy graph that plots the temperature change, in
Celsius, as measured over time.
Figure 60: xy Graph of All Temperature Readings (Example)
122 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Generating Measurement Graphs
2
3
To Generate a Bar Graph Showing the Most Recent Temperature Readings for All Nodes and CMICs
1
With the correct Site ID selected in the Tree View, select Event Mgmt > View Measurement
Graph > Predefined Queries > System Queries.
From the Measurement Graph Manager, select Front Panel Temperature: Recent.
Click Create Graph.
The query retrieves the most recent front panel or ambient temperature data of each node and CMIC in the system. The query generates a bar graph that shows the temperature reading of each sensor, in Celsius, for each component.
Figure 61: Bar Graph of Most Recent Temperature Readings (Example)
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 123
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Generating Measurement Graphs
2
3
To Generate an xy Graph Showing All UPS Power Consumption for All Cabinets
1
With the correct Site ID selected in the Tree View, select Event Mgmt > View Measurement
Graph > Predefined Queries > System Queries.
From the Measurement Graph Manager, select UPS Input Power: Grouped by Cabinet.
Click Create Graph.
The query retrieves data for all UPSs in the system, grouped by cabinet, and uses the data in the following formula to calculate UPS power consumption:
average input watts = average input current (A RMS) multiplied by average input voltage
(V RMS)
Note: RMS is Root Mean Square, the method used to average the volts.
The resulting xy graph plots the power consumption (UPS Input Watts RMS) for the UPSs in each cabinet, as measured over time.
Figure 62: xy Graph of All UPS Power Consumption Data (Example)
124 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Generating Measurement Graphs
2
3
To Generate a Stacked Bar Graph Showing the Most Recent UPS Power Consumption for All Cabinets
1
With the correct Site ID selected in the Tree View, select Event Mgmt > View Measurement
Graph > Predefined Queries > System Queries.
From the Measurement Graph Manager, select UPS Input Power: Recent.
Click Create Graph.
The query retrieves the most recent data for all UPSs in the system, grouped by cabinet, and uses the data in the following formula to calculate UPS power consumption:
average input watts = average input current (A RMS) multiplied by average input voltage
(V RMS)
Note: RMS is Root Mean Square, the method used to average the volts.
The resulting stacked bar graph plots the power consumption (UPS Input Watts RMS) for the UPSs in each cabinet, as measured over time:
•
Each bar represents one cabinet. The height of the bar represents the sum of the average input watts of all the UPSs in the cabinet.
•
Each band of color in the bar represents one UPS in the cabinet. To find the average input watts of each individual UPS, take the value from the top of the band and subtract the value of the bottom of the band.
For example (
): In cabinet 70, the blue band represents UPS 2. (~625 watts to
1500 watts). So, for this measurement, UPS 2 in cabinet 1 in collective 70 received 875 input watts (1500 - 625 = 875).
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 125
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Generating Measurement Graphs
Figure 63: Stacked Bar Graph of Most Recent UPS Power Consumption Data (Example)
126 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Generating Measurement Graphs
2
3
To Generate an xy Graph Showing UPS Power Output for All Cabinets
1
With the correct Site ID selected in the Tree View, select Event Mgmt > View Measurement
Graph > Predefined Queries > System Queries.
From the Measurement Graph Manager, select UPS Output Watts: Grouped by Cabinet.
Click Create Graph.
The query adds the output watts of each UPS in a cabinet and displays an xy graph of the output power of each cabinet, in watts, as measured over time.
Figure 64: xy Graph of All UPS Power Output Data (Example)
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 127
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Generating Measurement Graphs
Using Predefined Cabinet-Level Queries to Generate Measurement Graphs
When you select one or more cabinets that contain nodes and CMICs, the Event Mgmt > View
Measurement Graph > Predefined Queries > Cabinet-Level Queries command displays a
Measurement Graph Manager dialog box (
).
Figure 65: Measurement Graph Manager (Predefined Cabinet-Level Queries)
The dialog box contains a predefined query that retrieves information from the CMIC
Measurement Database and generates a temperature graph for the nodes and CMICs in one or more selected cabinets.
Related Topics
•
To Generate an xy Graph Showing All Temperature Readings for Nodes and CMICs in
•
To Save a System or Cabinet-Level Measurement Graph in HTML Format
128 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Generating Measurement Graphs
To Generate an xy Graph Showing All Temperature Readings for Nodes and CMICs in
Selected Cabinets
1
2
3
4
From the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select one or more processing node cabinets.
Select Event Mgmt > View Measurement Graph > Predefined Queries > Cabinet-Level
Queries.
From the Measurement Graph Manager, select Front Panel Temperature: Selected
Cabinet(s).
Click Create Graph.
The query retrieves all front panel and ambient temperature data for all nodes and CMICs in the selected cabinet(s). The query generates an xy graph that plots the temperature change, in Celsius, as measured over time.
Figure 66: xy Graph of All Temperature Readings for Selected Cabinet(s) (Example)
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 129
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Generating Measurement Graphs
Using Custom Queries to Generate Graphs
When you select one or more chassis of the same or similar type, Event Mgmt > View
Measurement Graph > Custom Queries displays a Measurement Graph Manager dialog box
(
). The chassis must have at least one sensor in common.
Figure 67: Measurement Graph Manager (Custom Queries)
130
The dialog box contains a set of commands that allow you to create and work with custom queries. The custom queries retrieve information from the CMIC Measurement Database for the selected components, and generate graphs based on the queries. You can also modify and delete the custom queries, and save the custom query and graph.
Related Topics
•
•
Editing the SQL Statement Generated from a Custom Query
•
Running an Existing Custom Query
•
Editing an Existing Custom Query
•
Renaming an Existing Custom Query
•
Deleting an Existing Custom Query
•
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Generating Measurement Graphs
Creating a New Custom Query
6
7
2
3
4
To Create a New Custom Query
1
5 b c
From the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select one or more chassis.
Note: If you select chassis that do not have sensors in common, a message displays.
Select Event Mgmt > View Measurement Graph > Custom Queries.
From the Measurement Graph Manager dialog box, click New.
From the Measurement Graph dialog box, choose the sensor, graph, and time criteria options you want to use.
Note: You can select only one unit of measurement from the Sensors list (Amps, for example). However, you can expand the unit of measurement and select one or more individual sensors (node or CMIC Power Supply : PS1 +12V Current, for example).
To edit the resulting SQL query and generate a graph, see
Generated from a Custom Query” on page 135 .
Click Create Graph.
Do one of the following:
a
To save the custom query or graph, see
“To Save a Custom Query or Graph” on
To close the graph without saving the custom query or the graph, click Close.
To continue creating new graphs for the same chassis or set of chassis, return to on page 131
.
d
To work with a different chassis or set of chassis, click Cancel and start with
The Measurement Graph Dialog Box (Custom Queries): General Tab
The General tab allows you to create a custom query and generate a graph based on your choice of hardware sensors. When you select more than one chassis, the General tab contains only the units of measurement and hardware sensors that the selected chassis have in common. For example, two 5500 nodes have more sensors in common than one 5500 node and one 5400 node.
Although you can select only one unit of measurement from the list in the Sensors section, you can expand each unit of measurement and select one or more hardware sensors. The units of measurement and hardware sensors are described in the following table.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 131
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Generating Measurement Graphs
Figure 68: Measurement Graph Dialog Box (Custom Queries): General Tab
132
Table 42: Measurement Graph Dialog Box: General Tab Description
Item
# Components
Selected
Sensors
Amps
Description
Lists the default Alias or CIM path for the selected exists, it is displayed instead of the default Alias. chassis
. If a user-defined Alias
Unit of measurement for the current of node or CMIC power supplies. Selecting
Amps chooses all available power supply sensors. Expanding Amps allows you to select one or more power supply sensors.
Amps RMS (Root
Mean Square)
Unit of measurement for UPS input current. Selecting Amps RMS chooses all available input current sensors. Expanding Amps RMS allows you to select one or more input current sensors.
Celsius
Unit of measurement for temperature. Selecting Celsius chooses all available temperature sensors. Expanding Celsius allows you to select one or more temperature sensors.
Count
A count of operating system processes, threads, and handles running on a CMIC.
Selecting Count chooses all operating system items. Expanding Count allows you to select one or more operating system items.
MB
A count of the megabytes of memory used on a CMIC. Selecting MB chooses all measurements. Expanding MB allows you to select one or more types of memory measurements.
Milliamps
Milliwatts
A measure of the current transmitted by a port on the BYA32S chassis.
A measure of the power used to transmit a message through a port on the
BYA32S chassis.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Generating Measurement Graphs
Table 42: Measurement Graph Dialog Box: General Tab Description (continued)
Item
Percent
RPM
Volts
Volts RMS (Root
Mean Square)
Watts
Description
•
Nodes: Percent of thermal control on processors. Selecting Percent chooses all processors. Expanding Percent allows you to select one or more processors.
•
CMICs: Percent of space available on CMIC hard drives. Selecting Percent chooses all drives. Expanding Percent allows you to select one or more drives.
Revolutions per minute of baseboard fans on nodes or CMICs. Selecting RPM chooses all available fans. Expanding RPM allows you to select one or more fans.
•
Nodes or CMICs: Unit of measurement for a variety of system baseboard and processor power sensors on nodes or CMICs. Selecting Volts chooses all available power sensors. Expanding Volts allows you to select one or more power sensors.
•
UPSs: Unit of measurement for UPS battery voltage. To select the battery, select Volts, or expand Volts and select Battery: Battery Voltage.
•
BYA32S chassis: Unit of measurement for the volts received by a port.
Unit of measurement for UPS input or output voltage. Selecting Volts RMS chooses all available voltage sensors. Expanding Volts RMS allows you to select one or more voltage sensors.
•
Nodes and CMICs: Unit of measurement for node or CMIC power supply gauges. Selecting Watts chooses both gauges. Expanding Watts allows you to select one or more gauges.
•
UPSs: UPS output watts. To select UPS output watts, select Watts, or expand
Watts and select Output: Output Watts.
Graph Options
Graph Title
Time Series
Bar Graph
The name you want to use for the graph; the title appears at the top of the generated graph.
Retrieves the data for the sensors selected in Sensors and generates an xy graph that plots the change, as measured in the relevant unit of measurement, over the time specified in Time Options.
Retrieves the data for the sensors selected in Sensors and generates a bar graph that shows the latest measurements for each of the selected sensors within the time specified in Time Options.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 133
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Generating Measurement Graphs
Table 42: Measurement Graph Dialog Box: General Tab Description (continued)
Item Description
Periodic Groups
Retrieves the data for the sensors selected in Sensors and uses the setting in
Group values into intervals of to cluster the data into groups. The query calculates the average value of each group, then plots the average value, instead of all values that made up the group, over the time specified in Time Options.
•
Overlay standard deviation lines: Selecting this option calculates the standard deviation of each group, then draws a vertical line through the point, where the bottom of the line indicates the average - the standard deviation and the top of the line indicates the average + the standard deviation.
•
Group values into intervals of: Determines the size of the group:
•
automatic: Calculates how many days of data are available in the CMIC
Measurement Database. If it is less than 30 days, the query groups the data by 3-day intervals. If it is more than 30 days, but less than 60, the query groups the data in 1-week intervals. Between 60 and 120 days groups the data into 2-week intervals, and anything more than 120 days is grouped into monthly intervals.
•
3 days: Groups the data by 3-day intervals
•
1 week: Groups the data by 1-week intervals
•
2 weeks: Groups the data by 2-week intervals
•
1 month: Groups the data by monthly intervals
Note: If the time specified in Time Options is less than the interval, the query clusters all the data into one point.
Time Options
Do not restrict time
Before this time
(inclusive)
After this time
(inclusive)
Between these times
Within the last
Retrieves all measurements stored in the CMIC Measurement Database.
Retrieves measurements stored before the time specified in Start date.
Retrieves measurements stored after the time specified in Start date.
Retrieves measurements stored between the times specified in Start date and End
date.
Retrieves measurements for one of the following intervals: Day, Week, Month, 2
Months, 3 Months, 6 Months.
134 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Generating Measurement Graphs
Editing the SQL Statement Generated from a Custom Query
Note: You cannot edit predefined system and cabinet-level queries.
If you do not specify a Site ID in a custom query, the results will be unexpected. To avoid getting results from everything, you must filter on Site ID.
To Edit the SQL Statement Generated from a Custom Query
c d a b e
5
6
3
4
1
2
The following procedure assumes you have created a custom query using
On the Measurement Graph dialog box, click the SQL Statement tab.
Select Edit SQL.
When the confirmation dialog box displays, click Yes.
Using the information in “The Measurement Graph Dialog Box (Custom Queries): SQL
Statement Tab” as a guideline, edit the SQL statement.
Click Create Graph.
Do one of the following:
To save the custom query or graph, see
.
To close the graph without saving the custom query or the graph, click Close.
To continue creating new graphs for the same chassis or set of chassis, return to
To work with a different chassis or set of chassis, click Cancel and start with
.
.
To work with previously saved custom queries displayed in the Measurement Graph
Manager, see one of the following:
•
Running an Existing Custom Query
•
Editing an Existing Custom Query
•
Renaming an Existing Custom Query
•
Deleting an Existing Custom Query
The Measurement Graph Dialog Box (Custom Queries): SQL
Statement Tab
The SQL Statement tab allows you to edit the SQL statement generated from the options selected on the General tab. When you edit the SQL statement, the Sensors and Time Options on the General tab are unavailable.
To edit SQL statements, you must be familiar with SQL syntax and the components and units of measurement stored in the CMIC Measurement database. Use the following information to edit the SQL statement:
•
Do not edit or remove the following line (it shows the program where to find the database):
FROM [$IPS$\x3gsma].[3gsmm].dbo.Measurements1
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 135
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Generating Measurement Graphs
•
The custom query can only retrieve data from selected cabinets. To edit the statement so that the SQL retrieves data for all chassis in all cabinets, you must select at least one chassis in each cabinet before you select Event Mgmt > View Measurement Graph > Custom Queries.
•
After you click Create Graph, the program automatically adds an
ORDER BY
clause to the
SQL statement. This ensures that the program can create a graph from the query. If you add an
ORDER BY
clause before you click Create Graph, there are two
ORDER BY
clauses, which will return an error.
•
The program uses the selected chassis to determine where the CMIC Measurement database resides. When the database resides in more than one location (across multiple IP addresses), the program automatically changes the query to: query to ip address1 UNION ALL query to ip address 2 UNION ALL query to ip address 3
In these cases, when the program adds UNION ALL, a valid SQL statement may return an error.
Figure 69: Measurement Graph Dialog Box (Custom Queries): SQL Statement Tab
136
Table 43: Measurement Graph Dialog Box: SQL Statement Tab Description
Item
Edit SQL
Description
When selected, this checkbox allows you to edit the SQL statement on the tab.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Generating Measurement Graphs
Running an Existing Custom Query
2
3
To Run an Existing Custom Query
1
Select the chassis that you want to run an existing custom query on.
Note: You can run an existing custom query on chassis that are of the same type as the chassis used to create the query. For example, you can use CMIC 70 to create a query, then run the same query on CMIC 500.
Select Event Mgmt > View Measurement Graph > Custom Queries.
From the Measurement Graph Manager, select the query you want to run.
4
5 b c
Click Create Graph.
Do one of the following:
a
To save the graph, see Saving Queries and Graphs .
To close the graph without saving it, click Close.
To work with other previously saved custom queries displayed in the Measurement
Graph Manager, see one of the following:
•
Editing an Existing Custom Query
•
Renaming an Existing Custom Query
•
Deleting an Existing Custom Query
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 137
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Generating Measurement Graphs
Editing an Existing Custom Query
You can edit previously-created custom queries. You cannot edit predefined queries.
2
3
To Edit an Existing Custom Query
1
Select the chassis to query.
Note: You can edit the options used to create an existing custom query, but you cannot change the chassis originally used to create the query.
Select Event Mgmt > View Measurement Graph > Custom Queries.
From the Measurement Graph Manager, select the query you want to edit.
138
4
5
6
7 b c
Click Edit.
When the Measurement Graph dialog box displays, use the information in The
Measurement Graph Dialog Box (Custom Queries): General Tab
Graph Dialog Box (Custom Queries): SQL Statement Tab
to edit the query.
Click Create Graph.
Do one of the following:
a
To save the custom query or graph, see
.
To close the graph without saving the custom query or the graph, click Close.
To work with other previously saved custom queries displayed in the Measurement
Graph Manager, see one of the following:
•
Running an Existing Custom Query
•
Renaming an Existing Custom Query
•
Deleting an Existing Custom Query
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Generating Measurement Graphs
Renaming an Existing Custom Query
To Rename an Existing Custom Query
1
2
3
Select the chassis to query.
Select Event Mgmt > View Measurement Graph > Custom Queries.
From the Measurement Graph Manager, select the query you want to rename.
4
In the Rename Query dialog box, type the new name at Enter new name for query.
5
Click Save. The renamed query appears on the Measurement Graph Manager dialog box.
Deleting an Existing Custom Query
To Delete an Existing Custom Query
3
4
1
2
Select the chassis.
Select Event Mgmt > View Measurement Graph > Custom Queries.
From the Measurement Graph Manager, select the query you want to delete.
Click Delete.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 139
Chapter 7: Managing Component Information
Generating Measurement Graphs
Saving Queries and Graphs
To Save a System or Cabinet-Level Measurement Graph in HTML Format
1
2
3
After you create a graph, on the Graph window, click Save.
In the Save Graph Window dialog box, type the file name at File Name.
Note: Do not use a file extension.
Click Save. The file is saved, in HTML format, to the location indicated on the dialog box.
To Save a Custom Query or Graph
1
2
3
Create the graph.
On the Graph window, click Save.
On the Save Graph Window dialog box, the graph title is automatically entered in File
Name and Save query as, if used.
4
To change the file name or query name, do one of the following:
Note: Do not use a file extension.
•
To save only the graph, type the file name at File Name.
•
To save only the custom query, type a name for the query at Save query as.
•
To save both the graph and the custom query, type a file name at File Name, and a query name at Save query as.
Click Save.
•
If there is a file name in File Name, the graph is saved, in HTML format.
•
If there is a name in Save query as, the query is saved and appears on the Measurement
Graph Manager dialog box.
140 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
CHAPTER 8
Connecting to System Components
SMWeb provides interfaces and connection options that allow you to make LAN, console, and browser-based connections to system components.
Related Topics
•
•
Connecting to Components from the Tree View
•
Connecting to Components from the Client Connections Window
•
Setting Options for Component Connections
•
•
Connecting to Components from the Address Book
•
Connecting to a CMIC
The CMIC Summary displays information about a selected CMIC. The summary is also a gateway for field and development personnel to perform CMIC, server management, and cabinet administration functions.
You can display the CMIC summary from the SMWeb Home page, or from within SMClient.
To Access a CMIC From SMClient
1
2
3
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select the CMIC you want to access.
Select Functions > Manage CMIC.
If prompted, log on.
The system displays the CMIC Summary.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 141
Chapter 8: Connecting to System Components
Connecting to Components from the Tree View
Figure 70: CMIC Web Page
To Access a CMIC From SMWeb
1
2
3
From the SMWeb Home page, select Network, Devices, and CMICs.
If prompted, log on.
Click the Primary or Secondary address of the CMIC you want to display.
The system displays the CMIC Summary.
Connecting to Components from the Tree View
SMClient allows you to select components in the Tree View and use the Functions > Connect command to connect to the components. When the New Connection dialog box displays, use the tabs to set connection options.
•
•
•
•
•
•
To Connect to a UPS, Disk Array Controller, Ethernet Switch, BYNET Switch, or Fibre
142 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 8: Connecting to System Components
Connecting to Components from the Tree View
To Connect to a CMIC
1
2
3
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select the CMIC you want to connect to.
Select Functions > Connect.
In the Connect dialog box, select the connection type you want to use.
Figure 71: Connect Dialog Box
Table 44: Connect Dialog Box (CMIC) Description
Options
Console
Secure Shell (SSH)
Description
Displays the New Connection dialog box, which allows you to make a connection to a CMIC. This option is used to display the CMIC’s messages during the BIOS booting process or to access the BIOS setup
.
Displays the New Connection dialog box, which allows you to make a connection. Port 22 is always used for SSH connections.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 143
Chapter 8: Connecting to System Components
Connecting to Components from the Tree View
2
3
To Connect to a VM CMIC
1
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select the VM CMIC you want to connect to.
Select Functions > Connect.
In the Connect dialog box, select the SSH connection.
Figure 72: Connect Dialog Box
Table 45: Connect Dialog Box (VM CMIC) Description
Options
Secure Shell (SSH)
Description
Displays the New Connection dialog box, which allows you to make a connection. Port 22 is always used for SSH connections.
144 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 8: Connecting to System Components
Connecting to Components from the Tree View
To Connect to a VMS
1
2
3
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select the VMS you want to connect to.
Select Functions > Connect.
In the Connect dialog box, select the connection type you want to use.
Figure 73: Connect Dialog Box
Table 46: Connect Dialog Box (VMS) Description
Options
Console
Secure Shell (SSH)
Description
Displays the New Connection dialog box, which allows you to make a connection to a VMS. This option is used to display the VMS’s messages during the BIOS booting process or to access the BIOS setup.
Displays the New Connection dialog box, which allows you to make a connection. Port 22 is always used for SSH connections.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 145
Chapter 8: Connecting to System Components
Connecting to Components from the Tree View
To Connect to a Node
1
2
3
Only the types of connections compatible with the selected node are available.
Note: If the Telnet server is not enabled on the selected node, you cannot make a Telnet connection to the node.
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select the node you want to connect to.
Select Functions > Connect.
In the Connect dialog box, select the connection type you want to use.
Figure 74: Connect Dialog Box
146
Table 47: Connect Dialog Box (Node) Description
Options
Console
Secure Shell (SSH)
Telnet
Description
Displays the New Connection dialog box, which allows you to make a connection to a node’s console over the primary server management network. This option is used mainly to display a node’s messages during the BIOS booting process or to access the node’s BIOS setup.
Note: If the primary network is down, a console connection cannot be made.
Displays the New Connection dialog box, which allows you to make an
SSH connection. This option is available if an SSH server is enabled on the node. Port 22 is always used for SSH connections.
Displays the New Connection dialog box, which allows you to make a
Telnet connection to a node. This option is available if the node’s
Telnet server is enabled. Port 23 is always used for Telnet connections.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 8: Connecting to System Components
Connecting to Components from the Tree View
Table 47: Connect Dialog Box (Node) Description (continued)
Options
Terminal Services
Description
Allows you to make a Terminal Services or Remote Desktop Client connection to Windows nodes. This option is available if a path to a
Terminal Services Client is specified using the Tools > Options dialog box.
Note: If you are running SMClient on Linux, and you connect to a
Windows node, the Terminal Services connection is not available.
2
3
To Connect to a VM Node
1
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select the VM node (e.g., the SWS) you want to connect to.
Select Functions > Connect.
In the Connect dialog box, select the SSH connection type.
Figure 75: Connect Dialog Box
Table 48: Connect Dialog Box (VM Node) Description
Options
Secure Shell (SSH)
Description
Displays the New Connection dialog box, which allows you to make an
SSH connection. This option is available if an SSH server is enabled on the node. Port 22 is always used for SSH connections.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 147
Chapter 8: Connecting to System Components
Connecting to Components from the Client Connections Window
To Connect to a UPS, Disk Array Controller, Ethernet Switch, BYNET Switch, or Fibre
Channel Switch
1
2
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select the UPS, disk array controller,
Ethernet switch, BYNET switch, or Fibre Channel switch you want to connect to.
Select Functions > Connect.
Connecting to Components from the Client
Connections Window
The Client Connections Window allows you to connect to system components.
To Connect to One or More Components with the Client Connections Window
1
Select Tools > Client Connections Window.
Figure 76: Client Connections Window
2
Select Connection > New.
Setting Options for Component Connections
The tabs on the New Connection dialog box allow you to set options for connecting to components. The dialog box displays when you select the following commands:
•
SMClient’s Functions > Connect
Note: If the New Connection dialog box does not display, select Tools > Options, then select
Prompt for connection settings.
•
Client Connections Window Connection > New
148 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 8: Connecting to System Components
Setting Options for Component Connections
•
The New Entry command on the New Address Book Entry dialog box (Client Connections
Window Tools > Manage Address Book command)
The New Connection dialog box contains tabs for setting connection options.
The Window Tab, New Connection Dialog Box
The Window tab on the New Connection dialog box allows you to specify display options for the Client Connections Window. The Window tab displays only when you use the Teradata
Functions > Connect command. The default port number is used for the connection.
Figure 77: Window Tab, New Connection Dialog Box
Table 49: New Connection Dialog Box: Window Tab Description
Option Description
Display Connections Manager Displays the Connections Manager in the Client Connections
Window.
Hide terminals until requested Opens the Client Connections Window with all terminal windows hidden.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 149
Chapter 8: Connecting to System Components
Setting Options for Component Connections
Table 49: New Connection Dialog Box: Window Tab Description (continued)
Option
Open connection(s) in separate Client Connections
Window
Window Options
Description
When making multiple connections, this option displays each connection in a separate Client Connections Window. The settings in the Window tab are used for all the windows.
Displays the Client Connections Window’s Options dialog box. The options are used for the connection. For a description of the options, see
.
150 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 8: Connecting to System Components
Setting Options for Component Connections
The Connect Tab, New Connection Dialog Box
The Connect tab on the New Connection and New Address Book Entry dialog boxes allows you to specify generic connection options, such as information about the remote host you want to connect to. For example, you can provide the port number and domain name or IP address of the component to which you want to connect.
The port number and other connection information are retained for future connections.
Note: When you use the Functions > Connect command, the Window tab replaces the Connect tab, using the default port number.
Figure 78: Connect Tab, New Connection Dialog Box
Table 50: New Connection Dialog Box: Connect Tab Description
Option
Host
Protocol
Port
Description
The domain name or the IP Address of the host to connect to. This field is required.
The protocol used to establish the connection. The available options are: SFTP (Secure
File Transfer Protocol), SSH (Secure Shell), and Telnet.
The port to connect to on the remote host. This field is required. The default for Telnet is 23. The default for SSH and SFTP is 22. If this field is greater than 65,535, an error message displays.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 151
Chapter 8: Connecting to System Components
Setting Options for Component Connections
Table 50: New Connection Dialog Box: Connect Tab Description (continued)
Option
Name
Description
The name (alias) of the component or the path to the component; the path follows the hierarchy displayed in the Tree View. If no name is specified, then the host and port number (<host name> (<port number>)) are used.
This value is used as the title of the terminal frame or tab in the Client Connections
Window, and to refer to the connection in the Connection Manager.
Capture text
or data to file
This option allows you to capture data or text sent from the server and save it to a file.
•
Data saves the data interpreted by the terminal, and the text, to a file.
•
Text saves only the text to a file.
for the file where you want to save the text or data.
The default is capture.txt, located in \Documents and Settings\<username>\
sm_client_8_0\<host> in Windows and <username>/sm_client_8_0/<host> in Linux.
To change the path and file name, use the Browse button. where you specify the name and path of the file to save text or data.
152 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 8: Connecting to System Components
Setting Options for Component Connections
The Terminal Tab, New Connection Dialog Box
The Terminal tab on the New Connection and New Address Book Entry dialog boxes allows you to specify options related to the terminal type and display.
Figure 79: Terminal Tab, New Connection Dialog Box: Terminal Tab
Table 51: New Connection Dialog Box: Terminal Tab Description
Options
Terminal Type
Description
The type of terminal to emulate: ansi-bbs, pc-ansi, vt100, vt100+, vt-utf8.
In addition, a Preferred option is available through the Functions > Connect command, which obtains the selected component’s default terminal type from a
CMIC and uses the default to connect to the selected component.
Restore Defaults
Button
Encoding
Rows
Returns the values on the Terminal tab to their default settings.
The type of encoding used to display data in the terminal. The default is ASCII.
The number of rows to display in the terminal. The number of Rows in Display cannot be greater than the number of Rows in Buffer.
Columns
The number of columns to display in the terminal. The number of Columns in
Display cannot be greater than the number of Columns in Buffer.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 153
Chapter 8: Connecting to System Components
Setting Options for Component Connections
Table 51: New Connection Dialog Box: Terminal Tab Description (continued)
Options
Foreground
Color
Background
Color
Adjust the number of rows and columns to fit the display area
Font Name
Description
The font color to use in the terminal.
The background color to use in the terminal.
Allows the number of rows and columns to change dynamically as the width and the height of the terminal window changes.
Scroll Screen
Displays the name of the current font used in the terminal.
Font Size
... Button
Displays the size of the current font used in the terminal.
Displays the Select Font dialog box. To change the current font, style, and size of the text displayed in a terminal, select the options, then click Ok.
Buffer Rows
Sets the number of rows in the buffer. The number of Rows in Buffer cannot be less than the number of Rows in Display.
Buffer Columns
Sets the number of columns contained within the buffer. The number of Columns in Buffer cannot be less than the number of Columns in Display.
Cursor Size
The size of the cursor in the terminal.
•
Small: The cursor fills part of the lower half of a character cell.
•
Medium: The cursor fills the lower half of a character cell.
•
Large: The cursor fills a character cell.
Tab Size
The number of character cells that a tab character spans. The default is 4 character cells.
Line Wrap
Causes text to line wrap if the number of columns a line of text spans is greater than the number of columns in the buffer.
Causes the terminal to scroll to the active cursor position when either the server or the user enters text into the terminal.
154 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 8: Connecting to System Components
Setting Options for Component Connections
The Telnet Tab, New Connection Dialog Box
The Telnet tab on the New Connection and New Address Book Entry dialog boxes allows you to specify Telnet options. If you are connecting to an SMP node, the node’s Telnet server must be enabled before you can make a Telnet connection.
Figure 80: New Connection Dialog Box: Telnet Tab
Table 52: New Connection Dialog Box: Telnet Tab Description
Option
Local Echo
Description
When you enter text, this option causes the client, and not the server, to echo user input.
Send CR as telnet <CR>
<NULL>
Receive data in binary
mode
Causes the Enter key to send a Carriage Return/NULL (0) sequence to the server instead of the Carriage Return/Line Feed sequence.
Causes the server to send data in binary mode.
Send data in binary mode Causes data to be sent to the server in binary mode.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 155
Chapter 8: Connecting to System Components
Setting Options for Component Connections
Table 52: New Connection Dialog Box: Telnet Tab Description (continued)
Option
Escape Character
Restore Defaults
Description
Specifies the character used to escape from the current interactive session.
When you enter the escape character, a command prompt displays at the terminal. The command prompt allows you to send specific Telnet commands or enter commands that change options. For more information, type help at the command prompt. When you finish, you can use the escape character to return to the interactive session.
Resets the values in the Telnet tab to their default values.
The SSH/SFTP Tab, New Connection Dialog Box
The SSH/SFTP tab on the New Connection and New Address Book Entry dialog boxes allows you to specify options for SSH and SFTP connections. If you are connecting to a node, SSH server must be enabled on the node before you can make an SSH connection or use SFTP. The options you set on the SSH/SFTP tab depend on how the SSH server is configured on the nodes.
There are four types of client authentication that can be configured on the SSH server on the nodes:
•
Host-based authentication (by host)
•
Public key authentication (by user)
•
Password authentication (default)
•
Keyboard interactive authentication (allows for any authentication method that only requires keyboard input)
Note: For more information about configuring SSH Server host and private key authentication on Linux or Windows nodes, see the OpenSSH documentation available online at http://www.openssh.org
. Man pages are available on Linux nodes, and an OpenSSH-
Help.htm file is available on Windows nodes.
Password authentication is used as the default until you use the Set Key dialog box to specify the necessary keys for using host-based and public key authentication.
•
If a host key is specified, and the SSH server allows host-based authentication, then host-based authentication is attempted.
•
If no host key is specified, or if host-based authentication fails, and a user key is specified, and the SSH server allows public key authentication, then public key authentication is attempted.
Note: The Client Connections Window can be used to generate the host and user keys to be used with host-based and public key authentication.
•
If no user key is specified, or if public key authentication fails, and the SSH server allows password authentication, then password authentication is attempted.
•
If password authentication fails, and the SSH server allows keyboard interactive authentication, then keyboard interactive authentication is attempted.
156 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 8: Connecting to System Components
Setting Options for Component Connections
•
If keyboard interactive authentication fails, an “Authentication Failed” message displays and the connection is closed.
When connecting to an SSH Server the following occurs during host-based authentication:
1
2
3 a b
The hosts file is checked to see if the server is trusted.
If the server is not trusted a message states that the host is unknown.
The user is asked if they would like to trust the host.
If the user enters
If the user enters
No
the connection is closed.
Yes
the connection proceeds as usual.
c
If the user enters
Always
then the unknown host is added to the hosts file and the user is no longer prompted about trust on subsequent connections to the same server.
Figure 81: New Connection Dialog Box: SSH/SFTP Tab
Table 53: New Connection Dialog Box: SSH/SFTP Tab Description
Option
Default Username
Description
The name used to log on to SMClient.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 157
Chapter 8: Connecting to System Components
Setting Options for Component Connections
Table 53: New Connection Dialog Box: SSH/SFTP Tab Description (continued)
Option Description
used with host-based and public key authentication. Use the Client
Connection Window’s Tools > Generate Key command to generate host and user keys.
158
•
Host Private Key File: Contains the location and name of the host private key file; to specify a host key for host-based authentication, click Browse and select the appropriate file.
•
User Private Key File: Contains the location and name of the user private key file; to specify a user key for public key authentication, click Browse and select the appropriate file.
•
User Key Passphrase: The password/string used to decrypt the user’s private key.
user. To specify the location of the Hosts File, click Browse and use the Open dialog box. The default is .ssh in <username> in Linux or \Documents and
Settings\<username> in Windows.
For more information, see the SSH server documentation.
Local Home Directory SFTP is a protocol that uses the SSH communication protocol to transfer files securely across a network. This option applies only to SFTP.
Click Browse and use the Open dialog box to set a local directory. The default is the local working directory, which is \Documents and Settings\<username> in Windows and <username> in Linux.
Note: For a list of SFTP commands create an SFTP session and type help at the prompt. The “*” and “?” wild cards can be used in all path-related command arguments. The “*” wildcard substitutes for more than one character. The “?” wildcard substitutes for one character.
Restore Defaults
Button
Resets the values in the SSH/SFTP tab to their default values.
SSH Escape Character Specifies the character used to escape from the current interactive session.
When you enter the escape character, a command prompt displays at the terminal. The command prompt allows you to enter commands to change the terminal emulation type. For more information, type help at the command prompt. When you finish, use the escape character to return to the interactive session.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 8: Connecting to System Components
Setting Options for Component Connections
Generating SSH Keys for Use with the SSH Protocol
The Client Connection Window Tools > Generate Keys command allows you to generate keys for use with the SSH protocol’s host-based and public key authentication. After the keys are generated, you must place the public key file on the nodes. The location of the private key file is specified using the Set Keys dialog box on the SSH/SFTP tab.
Figure 82: Key Generator Dialog Box
Table 54: Key Generator Dialog Box Description
Option
Key Location
Password
Algorithm
Verify Password
Key Size
Public Key Format
Description
The location where the public and private keys are stored. For example, if you enter c:\Temp\key, the private key is stored in c:\Temp\key and the public key is stored in c:\Temp\key.pub.
Click Browse to browse to the location to store the key files.
The password that should be used to protect the private key file. If no password is specified, a message allows you to confirm that you want the private key stored in clear text.
Note: Host-based keys should not be password protected.
Specifies whether you want to use the RSA or DSA key algorithm.
Verifies that you entered the correct password in Password.
The size of the key in bits. The key size must be in the range 512 to 2048.
The format of the public key: IETF (Internet Engineering Task Force) standard or OpenSSH format.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 159
Chapter 8: Connecting to System Components
The Client Connections Window
The Client Connections Window
The Client Connections Window provides an interface for connecting to components and managing component connections. All connections are displayed in the Client Connections
Window.
Figure 83: Client Connections Window
160
To Display the Client Connections Window
✔
From SMClient, select Tools > Client Connections Window.
To Hide or Display the Connections Manager
✔
Click Window > Connections Manager to toggle the display of the Connections Manager.
To Hide or Display the Status Bar
The Status bar displays is at the bottom of the Connections Manager window. It contains the name of the active connection, its terminal type, its status, and the number of active connections in the Client Connections Window.
✔
Click Window > Status Bar to toggle the display of the Status bar.
To Close the Client Connections Window
When you close the Client Connections Window, all open connections are terminated.
✔
In the Client Connections Window, select Connection > Exit.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 8: Connecting to System Components
The Client Connections Window
Working with Terminal Windows
This section lists procedures for working with a terminal window.
Related Topics
•
•
Hiding and Displaying Terminal Windows
•
Modifying the Display of Terminal Windows and Terminal Icons
•
Working with Text in a Terminal Window or the Connections Manager
•
Viewing the Properties of Existing Connections
•
Reconnecting to a Terminal Window
•
Saving Open Connections to the Address Book
•
Closing an Existing Connection
Opening Terminal Windows
The File > Open command in the Client Connections Window allows you to open connections whose addresses are stored in the Address Book.
Hiding and Displaying Terminal Windows
The following commands on the Client Connections Window View menu hide and display terminal windows. If there are no open terminal windows, the commands are unavailable.
View Command
Hide <terminal>
Hide Selected
Hide All
Display Selected
Display All
Description
Hides the active terminal window.
•
If you used the Tree View to connect to the component, the component name set with SMClient’s Tools > Options command displays in quotation marks.
•
If you did not use the Tree View to connect to the component,
<hostname> (<port number>) displays in quotation marks.
Hides the terminal connections selected in the Connections Manager.
Hides all open terminal windows.
Displays the terminal connections selected in the Connections Manager.
Displays all terminal windows.
Modifying the Display of Terminal Windows and Terminal Icons
When you collapse a terminal window, use the following commands in the Client
Connections Window’s Window menu to modify how the window icon displays
. If there is no active terminal in the Client Connections Window, or if the Tabbed layout is used, the commands in the Window menu are unavailable.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 161
Chapter 8: Connecting to System Components
The Client Connections Window
Window Command
Arrange Icons
Cascade
Description
Arranges window icons in the lower portion of the Client Connections
Window.
Displays each terminal window below and to the right of the window behind it in the Client Connections Window; this command does not display terminal windows outside the boundary of the Client Connections
Window.
Tiles terminal frames within the Connection Desktop Pane.
Tile
Working with Text in a Terminal Window or the Connections
Manager
Use the following commands in the Edit menu to manipulate text in an active terminal or the
Connections Manager. However, the Clear Terminal command is unavailable with the
Connections Manager.
If there is no active terminal displayed in the Client Connections Window, or the Connections
Manager is not displayed, the commands on the Edit menu are unavailable.
Edit Command
Clear Terminal
Copy
Paste
Select All
Deselect All
Description
Clears the buffer of the active terminal.
Copies the selected text from an active terminal or Connections Manager to the system clipboard.
Pastes text from the system clipboard into the active terminal or
Connections Manager. You can also click the right mouse button.
Selects all the text in the active terminal or the Connections Manager.
Deselects all text in the active terminal or the Connections Manager.
162 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 8: Connecting to System Components
The Client Connections Window
Viewing the Properties of Existing Connections
The Client Connections Window’s Connection > Properties commands display the properties of a selected terminal in the Client Connections Window or a selected connection in the
Connections Manager. If there are no open terminal windows, the commands are unavailable.
Connections Command
Properties <terminal>
Properties for Selected
Description
Displays the properties of the connection.
•
If you used the Tree View to connect to the component, the component name set with SMClient’s Tools > Options command displays in quotation marks.
•
If you did not use the Tree View to connect to the component,
<hostname> (<port number>) displays in quotation marks.
Displays the properties of the connection selected in the Connections
Manager. This command displays only if the Connections Manager is open and is active when only one connection is selected.
The properties are displayed in a Properties dialog box, which contains a Connect tab, a
Terminal Tab, and either a Telnet tab or SSH/SFTP tab (depending upon the type of connection). The options on the tab match those on the New Connection dialog box, but some options are unavailable because they cannot be changed.
Related Topics
•
To Set Options for the Client Connections Window
To View the Properties of Existing Connections
1
2
Do one of the following:
•
If Tabbed layout is used, select the connection tab.
•
If Desktop layout is used, select the connection’s terminal window or icon.
•
If the Client Connections Manager displays
, select the connection row.
In the Client Connections Window, select Connection > Properties <terminal>, or
Connection > Properties for Selected.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 163
Chapter 8: Connecting to System Components
The Client Connections Window
Reconnecting to a Terminal Window
If a connection in a terminal window is lost, use one of the following Client Connections
Window Connection > Reconnect commands to re-establish the connection. If there are no open terminal windows, the commands are unavailable.
Connections Command
Reconnect <terminal>
Reconnect Selected
Description
Re-establishes the specified connection.
•
If you used the Tree View to connect to the component, the component name set with SMClient’s Tools > Options command displays in quotation marks.
•
If you did not use the Tree View to connect to the component,
<hostname> (<port number>) displays in quotation marks.
Displays only if the Connections Manager is open. It re-establishes the connections selected in the Connections Manager.
Related Topics
•
Saving Open Connections to the Address Book
•
Closing an Existing Connection
•
To Set Options for the Client Connections Window
Saving Open Connections to the Address Book
The Connection > Save commands in the Client Connections Window allows you to store one or more open connections in the Address Book.
Save Command
Save <terminal>
Save Selected
Save All
Description
Saves the connection in the active terminal window.
•
If you used the Tree View to connect to the component, the component name set with SMClient’s Tools > Options command displays in quotation marks.
•
If you did not use the Tree View to connect to the component,
<hostname> (<port number>) displays in quotation marks.
Saves the connections selected in the Connections Manager. This command displays only if the Connections Manager is open.
Saves all active connections.
164 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 8: Connecting to System Components
The Client Connections Window
Closing an Existing Connection
The Connection > Close commands in the Client Connections Window close open terminal windows. If there are no open terminal windows, the commands are unavailable.
Note: The Connection > Close commands do not close the Client Connection Window.
Connections Command
Close <terminal>
Close Selected
Close All
Description
Terminates the connection in the active terminal window and closes the terminal window.
•
If you used the Tree View to connect to the component, the component name set with SMClient’s Tools > Options command displays in quotation marks.
•
If you did not use the Tree View to connect to the component,
<hostname> (<port number>) displays in quotation marks.
Terminates the connections selected in the Connections Manager and closes its terminal window. This command displays only if the
Connections Manager is open.
Terminates all active connections and closes all open terminal windows.
Working with the Connections Manager
The Client Connections Window’s Window > Connections Manager command displays and hides the Connections Manager. The Connections Manager:
•
Lists each open connection and displays information about the connection.
•
Has an optional Send To toolbar that allows you to send commands to multiple hosts at the same time.
When working with the Connections Manager, you can:
•
Move and resize the columns in a table
•
Sort the columns
•
Select one or more rows
•
Use the commands in the Client Connections Window Edit menu
•
Choose commands from pop-up menus
Note: You can also choose commands from pop-up menus in terminal window title bars.
The active terminal window and the Connections Manager are not dependent on one another.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 165
Chapter 8: Connecting to System Components
The Client Connections Window
Figure 84: Client Connections Window: Tabbed Layout, Connections Manager, Send To Toolbar
166
Table 55: Connections Manager Description
Column
Send toolbar
Name
Description
4
5
Allows you to send commands to multiple hosts at the same time:
1
If you want input to be sent only to selected terminals, in the Client
Connections Manager, select the terminals.
2
Specify whether the command should be sent to All terminals or
Selected terminals.
3
In the Mode list, select one of the following options:
a
To send input one command at a time in the Send text box, select Command.
b
To hide the input as you type it in the Send text box, and send the input one command at a time, select Password.
c
To send input as you type it in the Send text box, select
Keyboard; the input displays in the open terminal windows, and all keyboard keys, such as function keys, can be used for input.
Type or copy and paste the text in the Send text box.
Click the Send button.
The component name or connection:
•
If you used the Tree View to connect to the component, the component name set with the Tools > Options command displays.
•
If you did not use the Tree View to connect to the component,
<hostname> (<port number>) displays.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 8: Connecting to System Components
The Client Connections Window
Table 55: Connections Manager Description (continued)
Column Description
Last Line
IP Address
Port
Protocol Type
Terminal Type
The last line displayed in the terminal window.
The IP address of the component you are connected to.
The port number for the connection.
The connection protocol (SSH, SFTP, or Telnet).
The type of terminal emulation used for the connection (ansi-bbs, pc-ansi,
vt100, vt100+, vt-utf8). The terminal type is specified on the Terminal tab of the
New Connection dialog box.
The date and time the connection was established.
The time that has passed since Time Established.
Time Established
Time Elapsed
Related Topics
•
Working with Text in a Terminal Window or the Connections Manager
•
Client Connections Window Display Options
Client Connections Window Display Options
The following commands allow you to set display options for the Client Connections
Window:
•
Tools > Options displays the Options dialog box, which contains options for:
•
Selecting the display name for the component names displayed in the Client
Connections Window
•
Displaying the New Connection dialog box when the following commands are selected:
Functions > Connect or Tools > Client Connections Window
•
Configuring the program Functions > Connect uses to make connections
•
The Client Connection Window Window > Options command displays the Options dialog box, which allows you to set display options for the Client Connections Window:
Related Topics
•
To Set Options for the Client Connections Window
•
To Set Display Options for the Client Connections Window
•
To Type a User-Defined Alias for a Component Name
•
To Connect to One or More Components with the Client Connections Window
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 167
Chapter 8: Connecting to System Components
The Client Connections Window
To Set Options for the Client Connections Window
1
2
3
From SMClient, select Tools > Options.
In the Client Connections section of the Options dialog box, select the options you want to use. The options are described in
.
Click Ok.
Table 56: Options Dialog Box (Tools > Options): Client Connections Options
Option Description
Connection Names
•
Default: Displays the default names of components in the Tree View; the path reflects the position the component occupies in the hierarchy.
•
Alias: Displays the default aliases of components in the Tree View. If a user-defined alias exists, it displays instead of the default alias.
•
Component ID: Displays the Component IDs of components in the Tree
View.
Prompt for
connection settings
Terminal Services
Client Location
Specifies whether you want to display the New Connection dialog box. The default is checked.
Before the Connect command can be used to make a remote Terminal Services
Connection to an SMP node, you must specify the path to a local Terminal
Services Client or a URL to a Terminal Services Client.
168 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 8: Connecting to System Components
The Client Connections Window
To Set Display Options for the Client Connections Window
1
2
3
From the Client Connections Window menu bar, select the Window > Options command.
When the Options dialog box displays, use the information in
to set the display options you want to use.
Click Ok.
Figure 85: Client Connections Window Options Dialog Box
Table 57: Client Connections Window Display Options
Option Description
Connections Layout
Specifies the type of layout you want to use in the Client Connections Window.
•
Desktop: Displays each connection in its own window on the desktop.
•
Extracted: Displays each connection in its own frame outside of the Client
Connections Window.
Note: When you use this option, if the Connections Manager is not already displayed, it displays, and all frames are automatically hidden. To display the terminal windows, use the Client Connection Window View > Display
Selected or View > Display All command. In addition, each extracted window contains Connection, Edit, and Help menus.
•
Tabbed: Displays each connection on a separate tab.
Tile Layout
Specifies whether you want to use a Vertical, Horizontal, or Grid layout when you use the Client Connections Window’s Window >Tile command.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 169
Chapter 8: Connecting to System Components
Connecting to Components from the Address Book
Table 57: Client Connections Window Display Options (continued)
Option
Enable Ctrl+C/Ctrl+V
for Copy/Paste
Description
Allows you to use Ctrl+C for the copy command and Ctrl+V for the paste command. If this option is unchecked, Ctrl+C and Ctrl+V are sent to the server.
Enable Ctrl+Tab for
Terminal Traversal
Location
Allows you to use Ctrl+Tab to activate the next terminal in the stack. If this option is unchecked, Ctrl+Tab is sent to the server.
Specifies whether the Connections Manager is located at the Top, Bottom, Left, or Right in the Client Connections Window.
Display “Send To” toolbar
Number of connections to display per line
Displays the Send To toolbar at the top of the Connections Manager.
Connections are usually displayed in one table. Use this option to split the display into two or more tables. All open connections are distributed among the number of tables you specify. This option is useful in large systems.
Columns Displayed
Specifies which columns are displayed in the Connections Manager. The options are Name, Status, Last Line, Terminal Type, IP Address, Port, Protocol
Type, Time Established, and Time Elapsed. For a description of these, see
Connecting to Components from the Address
Book
Connections stored in the Address Book with the Client Connection Window’s Tools >
Manage Address Book command allow you use the following commands to connect to components:
•
The Client Connection Window Connection > Open command
•
The Open command on the Address Book dialog box (accessible with the Client
Connection Window Tools > Manage Address Book command)
When you add connection entries to the Address Book, the tabs for setting connection options are the same as the tabs on the New Connection dialog box.
Related Topics
•
To Use the Address Book to Open One or More Connections
•
To Open Connections from the Client Connections Window
•
170 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 8: Connecting to System Components
Working with the Address Book
4
5
To Use the Address Book to Open One or More Connections
1
2
3
From the Client Connections Window, click Tools > Manage Address Book.
In the Address Book dialog box, on the Content tab, select one or more connection entries or group entries.
To hide the terminals when you open the connection, on the Options tab, select the Hide
terminals when opening connections text box.
Select Open. The selected connections open in the Client Connections Window.
To close the Address Book dialog box, click Ok.
To Open Connections from the Client Connections Window
1
2
3
From the Client Connections Window, select Connection > Open.
On the Open dialog box, Select one or more connection entries or group entries
.
Click Open.
Working with the Address Book
The Client Connections Window’s Tools > Manage Address Book command and File > Save commands allow you to store connections to components as entries in an Address Book. You can open the connections stored in the Address Book with the File > Open command in the
Client Connections Window, and the Open command provided through the Tools > Manage
Address Book command. The Manage Address Book command also provides commands for editing, managing and organizing the entries in the Address Book.
Related Topics
•
•
•
Organizing and Managing Entries
•
•
Backing Up and Restoring the Address Book
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 171
Chapter 8: Connecting to System Components
Working with the Address Book
Displaying the Address Book
To Display the Address Book
✔
From the Client Connections Window, click Tools > Manage Address Book.
Note: When you make changes on the Address Book dialog box, you must click Ok on the
Address Book dialog box to save the changes and close the Address Book.
Figure 86: Address Book Dialog Box
172
Related Topics
•
•
Organizing and Managing Entries
•
•
Connecting to Components from the Address Book
•
Backing Up and Restoring the Address Book
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 8: Connecting to System Components
Working with the Address Book
Adding Entries
To Add a Connection to the Address Book
1
2
From the Client Connections Window, click Tools > Manage Address Book.
On the Content tab, select New Entry. The New Address Book Entry dialog box displays.
3
4
5
6
7
8
On the Connect tab, specify the host you want to connect to in the Host field.
Use the Name field to store the connection in the Address Book. If Name is empty, type a name for the connection, or provide a name after you save the connection to the Address
Book.
Use the tabs on the New Address Book Entry dialog box to set the rest of the options you want. The tabs are the same as the tabs on the New Connection dialog box.
Click Ok. The Address Book dialog box displays, containing the connection entry.
If you did not provide a name for the connection, the entry is named New Connection.
Click Rename to enter a new name.
To add additional connections, repeat step 2
through
To save the connections to the Address Book, click Ok.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 173
Chapter 8: Connecting to System Components
Working with the Address Book
To Save Open Connections from the Client Connections Window to the Address Book
The connection name used for the entry is the component’s path, alias, or component ID, depending on the option set for the Tree View.
1
2
From the Client Connections Window:
•
To save the active connection, select File > Save <connection name>.
•
To save more than one connection, but not all connections:
i
Display the Connections Manager (Window > Connections Manager).
ii
Select the connections from the list.
iii
Select File > Save Selected.
•
To save all connections, select File > Save All.
When the Save dialog box displays, do one of the following:
•
If you selected the Save <connection name> command, type a new name for the connection, or leave the default displayed, then click Save. In the Address Book, the new name, or the <connection name>, respectively, is used for the entry.
•
If you selected the Save Selected or Save All commands, do one of the following:
•
To store the selected connections in a group (the default), type the group name in the File name text box, then click Save. In the Address Book, the entries are stored under the group name. The <connection name> is used for the individual entries.
•
To save the connections as individual entries in the Address Book, verify that /
AddressBook is displayed in the File name text box, then click Save. In the Address
Book, the <connection name> is used for the entries.
Organizing and Managing Entries
Organizing and managing entries in the Address Book is similar to organizing and managing folders in a Windows directory.
Connection entries can be grouped into folders and subfolders, and a connection entry can be included in more than one folder. When you open a group with the File > Open command or the Open command in the Address Book dialog box, terminal windows for all connections in the group open in the Client Connections Window.
Related Topics
•
To Create a Group in the Address Book
•
To Copy or Move Existing Entries in the Address Book
•
•
174 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 8: Connecting to System Components
Working with the Address Book
To Create a Group in the Address Book
1
2
3
From the Client Connections Window, click Tools > Manage Address Book.
On the Content tab, select the Address Book folder or an existing group.
Click New Group. A new folder with the name New Connection Group displays
.
6
7
4
5
Click Rename.
Type a name for the group.
Add connections to groups.
To save the connection or connections to the Address Book, click Ok.
To Copy or Move Existing Entries in the Address Book
1
2
3
On the Content tab, select one or more individual entries or group entries.
Do one of the following:
•
To copy the entries to another location, click Copy, select a group folder or the Address
Book folder, then click Paste.
•
To move the entries to another location, drag the entries to the group folder or the
Address Book folder.
To save the changes to the Address Book, and close the Address Book dialog box, click Ok.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 175
Chapter 8: Connecting to System Components
Working with the Address Book
To Rename an Entry or Group
3
4
1
2
5
From the Client Connections Window, click Tools > Manage Address Book.
On the Content tab, select the entry or group you want to rename.
Click Rename.
Type the new name for the entry or group.
To save the change to the Address Book, click Ok.
To Remove an Entry or Group
3
4
1
2
From the Client Connections Window, click Tools > Manage Address Book.
On the Content tab, select the entry or group you want to remove.
Click Remove.
To save the change to the Address Book, click Ok.
Editing Entries
To Edit the Connection Options of an Entry
1
2
3
From the Client Connections Window, click Tools > Manage Address Book.
On the Content tab, select the connection whose options you want to edit.
Select Edit. The New Address Book Entry dialog box displays.
176 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 8: Connecting to System Components
Working with the Address Book
4
5
6
Use the tabs to edit the rest of the options. The tabs are the same as the New Connection dialog box.
Click Ok. The Address Book dialog box displays.
To save the changes to the Address Book, click Ok.
Related Topics
•
Setting Options for Component Connections
Backing Up and Restoring the Address Book
3
4
5
6
7
To Back Up the Address Book
1
2
From the Client Connections Window, click Tools > Manage Address Book.
On the Content tab, do one of the following:
•
To back up an individual entry, select the entry.
•
To back up the entire Address Book, select Address Book.
Click Export.
When the Save dialog box displays, it is set to the MyDocuments directory. If you want to save the backup file to a different directory, select the directory from the Save in list.
In the File name field, type a name for the backup file.
Select Save.
To close the Address Book dialog box, click Ok.
4
5
To Restore the Address Book
1
2
3
From the Client Connections Window, click Tools > Manage Address Book.
On the Content tab, click Import.
When the Open dialog box displays, it is set to the MyDocuments directory. If the backup file is stored in a different directory, select the directory from the Save in list.
Select Open.
To close the Address Book dialog box, click Ok.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 177
Chapter 8: Connecting to System Components
Working with the Address Book
178 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
CHAPTER 9
Servicing, Maintenance, and
Troubleshooting
This section describes servicing, maintenance, and troubleshooting procedures.
Related Topics
•
Opening and Closing a Maintenance Window
•
•
•
•
Replacing Hardware Components (FRUs)
•
Checking and Flashing Firmware Versions
•
Setting Battery Installation Dates
•
•
•
•
•
•
Performing the Alert Escalation Test
•
Using SMWeb During SOV Failover
•
Marking a Drive as Failed from SMClient
•
Using SMClient When a Network Is Down
•
Attaching a Device Temporarily to a Virtual Machine
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 179
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Opening and Closing a Maintenance Window
Opening and Closing a Maintenance Window
The Functions > Maintenance Window command allows you to temporarily suppress Incident
Create. You should open a maintenance window to perform system maintenance, implement a change control, or perform any other task that would generate alerts. Task examples include rebooting a node, replacing a disk drive in a disk array, installing software, or installing firmware.
You can open a maintenance window for the following, per Site ID:
•
System
•
Collectives
•
Cabinets
•
Chassis
•
Chassis components
Schedule the maintenance window ahead of time. When the start time is reached, TAS sends the maintenance window data to Teradata’s Customer Teradata Warehouse (CTW) for the historical record.
During an open maintenance window, Server Management continues to collect data, including summary alerts and reports. Alerts that are processed during the maintenance window are marked with the TVI_Disposition Ignore_Maintenance and the Summary Alert
Escalated is marked Maintenance On to suppress incident creation.
You can extend the duration of the maintenance window while it is open.
In a multi-Site ID configuration, you cannot set a maintenance window globally. Instead, you must create a maintenance window for the system component in each Site ID.
Opening a Maintenance Window
Opening a Maintenance Window
1
2
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select the system, collective, cabinet, chassis, or chassis component for which you want to open or schedule a maintenance window.
Select Functions > Maintenance Window.
180 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
The Maintenance Window appears.
Figure 87: Maintenance Window
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Opening and Closing a Maintenance Window
Table 58: Maintenance Window Description
Item
Current List
Start Time
Description
A list of the maintenance windows currently open or scheduled.
The date and time the maintenance window opens; must be entered in the format YYYY-MM-DD HH:MM:SS. The default is the current date and time, but can be changed to schedule the maintenance window in advance.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 181
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Opening and Closing a Maintenance Window
Table 58: Maintenance Window Description (continued)
Item
End Time
Component
Apply to all
Subsystem
Name
Comments
Current System Status
Description
The date and time the maintenance window closes; must be entered in the format YYYY-MM-DD HH:MM:SS. The default is four hours later than the Start Time. The limit is 672 hours (4 weeks) later than the start time.
Identifies the alias of the component in the Tree view on which the maintenance window is open.
Select this option to put all components of the same object class into maintenance. Alerts generated for components with a matching object class are ignored.
When a subsystem is selected, alerts coming from the component
(or components it contains) that match the subsystem are ignored.
Categorizing alerts by subsystem groups alerts that are related by the hardware or software subsystem of origin.
For example, if there’s a recurring OS problem on a node, select the node, open a Maintenance window for it, and select a subsystem of
OS.
A name to identify this maintenance window.
Additional information about the maintenance window.
Shows whether a maintenance window is open for the system, collective, cabinet, chassis, or component:
•
If a maintenance window is open, Maintenance Mode is ON displays.
•
If a maintenance window is closed, Maintenance Mode is OFF displays.
3
Complete the fields on the Maintenance window, and click Activate.
Editing an Open or Scheduled Maintenance Window
Use the following procedure to:
•
Provide additional information for an open maintenance window
•
Change the duration of an open or scheduled maintenance window
•
Edit the information for a scheduled (future) maintenance window
2
3
To Edit an Open or Scheduled Maintenance Window
1
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select the system, collective, cabinet, chassis, or chassis component for which you want to edit a maintenance window.
Select Functions > Maintenance Window. The Maintenance Window appears.
Select the maintenance window from the Current List.
182 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Recording Site Activity
6
7
4
5
Edit the fields as needed.
Click Update.
At the confirmation, click Yes.
Click OK to close the window.
Closing a Maintenance Window
Use the following procedure to:
•
Close an open maintenance window if you finish a task early.
•
Delete unneeded, scheduled maintenance windows that have a future date and time.
If there are no other open maintenance windows, alerts stop being marked
Ignore_Maintenance.
Note: Allowing the time to expire also closes a maintenance window.
4
5
2
3
6
To Close or Delete a Maintenance Window
1
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select the system, collective, cabinet, chassis, or chassis component for which you want to close a maintenance window.
Select Functions > Maintenance Window. The Maintenance Window appears.
Select the maintenance window from the Current List.
Click Delete.
At the confirmation, click Yes.
Click OK to close the window.
This closes an open maintenance window or deletes a scheduled maintenance window.
The information is sent to Teradata Services immediately.
Note: If you select an open maintenance window and click Delete, the time is set to the current time, and the open maintenance window closes.
Recording Site Activity
The Record Site Activity command (Functions > Record Site Activity in SMClient or the Alert
Viewer) allows you to record and save information about activities performed on a system, collective, cabinet, chassis, or component.
You can record information about activities that are related to alerts, incidents, FROs, FRUs, and change controls. You can also record notes about other site activities, such as preventive maintenance activity or a note to other site team members.
The Event Viewer allows you to view site log entries entered with the Record Site Activity command.
You can also record site activity from the Summary Alert Viewer.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 183
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Recording Site Activity
Related Topics
•
Working with the New Site Activity Entry Dialog Box
Working with the New Site Activity Entry Dialog Box
The New Site Activity Entry dialog box allows you to enter information into the site log. For example, you can record your investigation into a problem, or record an action performed to solve a problem, such as replacing a FRU.
The New Site Activity Entry dialog box accessed from the Summary Alert Viewer has fewer entries as shown below.
Related Topics
•
Recording Site Activity in the Site Log
•
Figure 88: New Site Activity Entry Dialog Box
184 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Recording Site Activity
Figure 89: New Site Activity Entry Dialog Box (From Summary Alert Viewer)
Table 59: New Site Activity Entry Dialog Box Description
Item
Date
User Name
Change Control Number
Incident Number
FRO Number
Maintenance Action
Description
Activities that start on the specified date and time, in the format YYYY-MM-DD
HH:MM:SS
. The default is the current date and time, which are automatically entered when you select the Record Site Activity command.
Allows you to type the name or user name of the person who is investigating a problem, who performed an action to resolve a problem, or who is now indicating that a problem is resolved. The name does not have to correspond to a user account login name. This field is optional.
Maintenance Action plus one of the following fields are required: User Name or Comments.
Valid change control number (1000 - 999999).
Must begin with RAZ, REC, XAZ, or XEC, followed by six alpha-numeric characters.
Must begin with 35-, followed by four numbers.
Specifies which maintenance action was performed to resolve the problem:
•
Under_Investigation: The problem is currently being investigated.
•
Maintenance_Scheduled: A maintenance action is expected at a future date to fix the problem.
•
Action_Taken: An action was performed.
•
Solved: The problem was corrected.
•
Parts_Ordered: The investigation resulted in a replacement part or parts being ordered.
•
FRU_Replaced: A component was replaced.
•
Reseated: The problem was resolved by reseating the component.
Maintenance Action plus one of the following fields are required: User Name or Comments.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 185
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Recording Site Activity
Table 59: New Site Activity Entry Dialog Box Description (continued)
Item
Comments
Description
Allows you to enter additional information about the maintenance actions performed to resolve the problem; this information appears in the Description field of the Event Viewer.
The Maintenance Action field plus one of the following fields are required: User Name or
Comments.
Recording Site Activity in the Site Log
3
4
To Record Site Activity in the Site Log from the Alert Viewer or SMClient
1
2
Do one of the following:
•
In the Alert Viewer, select one or more alerts, then select Functions > Record Site
Activity.
•
In SMClient, with the correct Site ID selected, select the system, collective, cabinet, chassis, or component in the Tree View, then select Functions > Record Site Activity.
In the New Site Activity Entry dialog box, select a Maintenance Action, then do one or both of the following:
•
Type your name in User Name.
•
Add text to Comments.
Provide additional information (optional).
Click Save.
To Record Site Activity in the Site Log from the Summary Alert Viewer
1
2
3
In the Summary Alert Viewer, select one or more scenarios, then select Functions > Record
Site Activity from the Summary Alert Viewer.
In the New Site Activity Entry dialog box:
•
Type your name in User Name.
•
Add text to Comments.
Click Save.
Viewing Site Log Entries
2
3
To Search for Site Log Entries in the Event Viewer
1
In the SMClient Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select the system, collective, cabinet, chassis, or component whose entries you want to view
Select Event Mgmt > Event Viewer. The View Events dialog box appears.
Set the Events for the last or Most recent options.
186 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Enabling the Locator LED
6
7
4
5
8
Select Enable Event Type Filtering.
Select Site Log.
Deselect all other options.
Click Ok. Site log entries, if present, are listed in the Event Viewer.
In the Event Viewer, select the site log entry you want to view, then select View > Detail. The details of the site log entry are displayed in the Event Details window.
Enabling the Locator LED
The Functions > Enable Locator LED command in SMClient illuminates the locator LED on a node, CMIC node, VMS, disk enclosure, UPS, or drive within a disk enclosure. The LED remains illuminated until you turn it off.
To Enable the Locator LED of a Node, CMIC, VMS, UPS, Disk Enclosure, or Drive in a
Disk Enclosure
1
2
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select a node, CMIC, VMS, UPS, disk enclosure, or drive within a disk enclosure.
Select Functions > Enable Locator LED. The locator LED is illuminated, and the Locator
LED Enabled dialog box appears.
Figure 90: Locator LED Enabled
3
When you have finished, click Disable to turn off its locator LED.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 187
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Setting SMClient Options
Setting SMClient Options
Set SMClient options through the Tools > Options command. This command displays the
Options dialog box.
Figure 91: Options Dialog Box
188
For Information on:
Component Tree Options
Cabinet Window Options
Alert Viewer Options
Client Connections Options
Command Output Window Options
Event Viewer Options
Summary Alert Viewer Options
See:
Changing the Component Label in the Tree View
Setting Options for Component Connections
Displaying the Summary Alert Viewer
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Replacing Hardware Components (FRUs)
Replacing Hardware Components (FRUs)
Note: Components are serviced or replaced by Teradata Service personnel.
If a Teradata Service agreement is in place, notification or prediction of a failed component is made directly to Teradata Services through TVI software, and Teradata Services responds per the agreement. If the customer does not use TVI, they must create an incident through
Teradata@YourService.
The following SMClient commands are used to replace components:
•
Functions > Replace FRU
Some Field-Replaceable Units (FRUs) can be replaced with this command, which uses an interactive script to step through the replacement process. Only one FRU Replace command can be active at one time.
•
Functions > Power Off and Functions > Power On
Some FRUs are not replaceable with Functions > Replace FRU. They are replaced by powering off the chassis with Functions > Power Off, replacing the component, and powering on the chassis with Functions > Power On. Some FRUs do not need to be powered off to replace them. For more information, see the service guide for the chassis.
The appropriate hardware replacement procedures for FRUs can be found in the chassis hardware service guide .
Related Topics
•
•
Using the FRU Replace Procedure Window
Replacing FRU Components
The Functions > Replace FRU command in SMClient steps through the FRU replacement process.
Note: This procedure is not supported for tape libraries.
Related Topics
•
•
To Replace a Chassis Component
•
Using the FRU Replace Procedure Window
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 189
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Replacing Hardware Components (FRUs)
To Replace a Chassis
1
2
3
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select the chassis to be replaced.
Select Functions > Replace FRU.
When the Replace FRU dialog box displays, select Entire chassis.
4
Click Ok.
When the FRU Replace Procedure window displays, use it to replace the chassis.
2
3
To Replace a Chassis Component
1
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select the chassis whose component is to be replaced.
Select Functions > Replace FRU.
When the Replace FRU dialog box displays, select Chassis component.
190
4
5
6
7
8
9
Click Ok.
If a FRU Replace Procedure window displays, use it to replace the component.
If you are replacing a disk array component, in the Key list, select the component you want to replace. For all other components, skip this step.
Select the button corresponding to the view that contains the component you want to replace.
In the Chassis Layout View, the components with numbered squares denote components that you can replace. Click the square associated with the component you want to replace.
When the FRU Replace Procedure window displays, use it to replace the component.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Replacing Hardware Components (FRUs)
Using the FRU Replace Procedure Window
The FRU Replace Procedure window guides you through the procedure for replacing components. Each procedure is an ordered list of steps, descriptions, and actions that are performed manually or automatically by running a command step. Steps are then run (or skipped) contingent upon user confirmation.
To Replace a FRU with the FRU Replace Procedure Window
1
2
For the step highlighted in the left panel, do one of the following:
•
Follow the process outlined in the Step Description on the right panel, then click Ok.
•
Click Skip, if appropriate.
Repeat for each step until the procedure is complete.
Figure 92: FRU Replace Procedure Window
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 191
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Checking and Flashing Firmware Versions
Table 60: FRU Replace Procedure Window Description
Item Description
Title Bar Contains the path of the component you selected, and the Session ID.
Each replacement procedure has a Session ID that prevents simultaneous, conflicting
FRU replace procedures for chassis and chassis components managed by a specific component. For example, you cannot replace two different components in the same chassis at the same time.
If you attempt simultaneous FRU replace procedures, a warning message informs you that a conflicting FRU replace session is active. The warning message displays the
Session ID of the active session:
•
Click No to the question “Do you wish to override the active session?” to continue with the session that is already in progress.
•
Click Yes to the question “Do you wish to override the active session?” aborts the session that is in progress and displays a new FRU replace window. The original
FRU replace window remains open until you either close that window, or issue a command from that window.
Aborting active FRU replace procedures is not recommended. However, if the application is closed before an active session is complete, the system assumes that the session is still active. When you restart SMClient and attempt to initiate another session that is in conflict with the previous session, click Yes to abort the previous session.
Steps panel
Lists all the steps that need to be completed to replace the selected component.
Step
Description panel
Describes the highlighted step in Steps and provides additional information you may need to run the step.
Checking and Flashing Firmware Versions
The Tools > Firmware Version Checker command in SMClient highlights out-of-date firmware and displays corresponding information for firmware that can be flashed through server management, per Site ID.
Note: Firmware Version Checker only reports on versions that can be flashed through server management. Obtain the firmware version information of chassis flashed with other applications through Asset information.
You can also use the Firmware Version Checker to flash firmware. In addition, the Functions menu in SMClient offers a Flash Firmware option.
Related Topics
•
Checking Firmware with the Firmware Version Checker
•
Flashing Firmware from the Firmware Version Checker
•
The Firmware Version Checker Window
•
Flashing Firmware from the SMClient Functions Menu
192 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Checking and Flashing Firmware Versions
Checking Firmware with the Firmware Version Checker
The Tools > Firmware Version Checker command allows you to compare the active (i.e., currently running) firmware versions against the uploaded or flashed CMIC image. The results display in the Firmware Version Checker window.
To Check Firmware Versions
1
2
3
In SMClient, with the correct Site ID selected, select Tools > Firmware Version Checker.
The system checks for an uploaded CMIC image. If it finds one, it asks if you’d like to compare it against the firmware. Click Yes.
The Firmware Version Checker window displays, with mismatches highlighted. You can only view the different versions, since the CMIC image has not yet been flashed.
Flashing Firmware from the Firmware Version Checker
3
4
To Use the Firmware Version Checker to Flash Firmware
1
2
With the correct Site ID selected, select Tools > Firmware Version Checker.
If there is no uploaded CMIC image available, the system does not prompt for comparison.
On the Firmware Version Checker window, select one or more components to flash.
Note: Firmware on UPS adapters and UPSs cannot be flashed at the same time. Flash the firmware on the UPS adapters first, then the firmware on the UPSs. The Powerware UPS has one UPS adapter (ADPCARD.x.x.x.1 in the Firmware Version Checker), the APC UPS has two UPS adapters (ADPCARD.x.x.x.x.1 and ADPCARD.x.x.x.x.2).
Select Functions > Flash.
When prompted, click Yes.
The Firmware Version Checker Window
The Firmware Version Checker contains a row for each firmware instance in the system. The arrow indicates sort order. The columns are described in
.
Note: Highlighted rows are described in the Status column.
Note: Some components have more than one firmware instance.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 193
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Checking and Flashing Firmware Versions
Figure 93: Firmware Version Checker Window
Table 61: Firmware Version Checker Window Description
Column
Component
Type
Available Version
Active Version
Definition
Path, default alias, or component ID of the component, depending on the option set in the View menu:
•
View > Alias displays the default alias. If a user-defined alias exists, it displays
instead.
•
View > Name displays the hierarchy displayed in the Tree View.
•
View > ID displays the CIM path.
Type of firmware:
•
Adapter Card Firmware (UPSs)
•
CMIC Image (CMICs)
Note: The CMIC image only displays when you are comparing against the uploaded image
•
Ethernet Switch Firmware (48-port Ethernet switches)
•
FCSW Firmware (16-port or 20-port Fibre Channel switch)
•
UPS Firmware (UPSs)
•
VMS Firmware (VMS)
Note: Firmware on UPS adapters and the UPS cannot be flashed at the same time. For an APC UPS, flash both adapters first, then the UPS. For a Powerware UPS, flash the adapter first, then the UPS.
The latest available firmware version from the uploaded CMIC image or the flashed CMIC image, depending on the display.
The firmware version currently running
194 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Checking and Flashing Firmware Versions
Table 61: Firmware Version Checker Window Description (continued)
Column
Status
Definition
Indicates the relationship between the Available Version and Active Version columns:
•
OK: The firmware version installed matches the currently-supported version.
•
Mismatch: The firmware version installed is not the currently supported version.
•
Unknown: The firmware version information is missing or unavailable.
When there is a mismatch or missing information, the following colors highlight the row:
•
Red: A more current version of the CMIC Image is available.
•
Yellow: A more current version of firmware is available (all components except the CMIC Image).
•
Gray: Firmware version information is missing.
Working with the Firmware Version Checker
To Change the Component Name Displayed in the Firmware Version Checker
✔
In the View menu of the Firmware Version Checker, select Alias, Name, or ID.
A dot to the left of the command in the View menu identifies the current setting for the
Component column.
To Rediscover the Firmware Version of Components
1
2
In the Firmware Version Checker, select the component you want to rediscover. To reload the firmware version of all components, deselect them all.
Select View > Reload to reload the selected component, or View > Reload All to reload all firmware versions.
Flashing Firmware from the SMClient Functions Menu
The Functions > Flash Firmware command downloads new firmware to these components:
•
UPS adapters and UPSs
•
Fibre channel switches (16-port and 20-port)
•
Ethernet switches (48-port)
When a new version of firmware has been released, use the CMIC Monitor to install the currently supported CMIC image on the CMICs before you use the Functions > Flash command to update UPS adapter, UPS, Fibre Channel switch, or Ethernet switch firmware.
For more information, see the appropriate Hardware Service Guide for your platform.
You can also use the Tools > Firmware Version Checker command to flash firmware.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 195
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Checking and Flashing Firmware Versions
Related Topics
•
Flashing UPS Adapter and UPS Firmware
•
Flashing Fibre Channel Switch Firmware
•
Flashing Ethernet Switch Firmware
•
Flashing UPS Adapter and UPS Firmware
Caution:
When flashing the firmware of UPS adapters and UPSs, a power check is performed. If the power check fails, a dialog box allows you to force the command to run. Do not force a
command to run until you review the warning in Forcing a Command to Run after a
To Flash the Firmware on APC UPS Adapters and an APC UPS
Caution:
Firmware on the UPS adapters and UPS cannot be flashed at the same time. Flash the firmware on the
UPS adapters first, then the firmware on the UPS. (
APC UPS firmware is extracted from APC UPS adapter 1.)
1
Download the current version of the CMIC image. The firmware for both the UPS and
UPS adapters is included with the CMIC image. For more information, see the appropriate Hardware Service Guide for your platform.
2
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select both UPS adapters of each UPS you want to flash.
Note: If you select more than one pair of UPS adapters in a cabinet, they are flashed one at a time (serially).
3
4
5
Select Functions > Flash Firmware.
At the confirmation dialog box, click Yes.
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select one or more UPSs whose adapter firmware has been flashed.
Note: If you select more than one UPS in a cabinet, they are flashed one at a time
(serially).
6
7
Select Functions > Flash Firmware.
At the confirmation dialog box, click Yes.
196 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Checking and Flashing Firmware Versions
To Flash the Firmware on a Powerware UPS and UPS Adapter
Caution:
Firmware on the UPS adapter and UPS cannot be flashed at the same time. Flash the firmware on the
UPS adapter first, then the firmware on the UPS.
1
2
3
4
5
6
Download the current version of the CMIC image. The firmware for both the UPS and
UPS adapters is included with the CMIC image. For more information, see the appropriate Hardware Service Guide for your platform.
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select the UPS adapter of each UPS you want to flash.
Note: If you select more than one UPS adapter in a cabinet, they are flashed one at a time
(serially).
Select Functions > Flash Firmware.
At the confirmation dialog box, click Yes.
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select one or more UPSs whose adapter firmware has been flashed.
Note: If you select more than one UPS in a cabinet, they are flashed one at a time
(serially).
At the confirmation dialog box, click Yes.
Caution:
When flashing the firmware on the bottom two UPSs in the cabinet (UPS1 and/or UPS2), a short-term primary or secondary network outage may occur.
Flashing Fibre Channel Switch Firmware
To Flash the Firmware on a Fibre Channel Switch
3
4
5
6
Note: If you select more than one Fibre Channel switch, the firmware of each switch is flashed one switch at a time (serially).
1
2
Download the current version of the CMIC image. The Fibre Channel switch firmware is included with the CMIC image. For more information, see the appropriate Hardware
Service Guide for your platform.
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select the Fibre Channel switch to be flashed.
Select Functions > Flash Firmware.
At the confirmation dialog box, click Yes. (The dialog box also reminds you to reset the
Fibre Channel switch after the firmware flash completes. Resetting the switch activates the firmware.)
When the firmware flash completes, click Yes.
When the command status window displays, verify that the flash completed successfully.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 197
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Checking and Flashing Firmware Versions
7
If the flash is successful, do the following to activate the firmware:
a
Select the same Fibre Channel switch.
b
Select Functions > Reset.
c
At the confirmation dialog box, click Yes. (The dialog box also informs you that the switch is temporarily out of service.)
d
When the reset completes, click Yes.
e
Verify the results of the reset by checking the output in the command status window.
Flashing Ethernet Switch Firmware
4
5
2
3
6
To Flash the Firmware on an Ethernet Switch
1
Download the current version of the CMIC image. The Ethernet switch firmware is included with the CMIC image. For more information, see the appropriate Hardware
Service Guide for your platform.
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select one or more Ethernet switches.
Select Functions > Flash Firmware.
At the confirmation dialog box, click Yes
When the firmware flash and switch reset completes, click Yes.
In the command status window, verify that the flash completed successfully and that the switch was reset.
Flashing VMS Firmware
To Flash the Firmware on a VMS
5
6
7
3
4
1
2
Download the current version of the VMSimage zip file from TSS.
Display the CMIC Monitor, by selecting Network, Devices, and CMICs from SMWeb.
Select CMICs > Firmware Upload.
Browse to the zip file, and click Upload.
Click Continue to go to the next page.
On the CMIC Selection page, select the CMICs that will get the firmware bundle.
Continue to the next screen where the firmware bundle is distributed to the selected
CMICs.
8
9
10
11
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select one or more VMS devices.
Select Functions > Flash Firmware.
At the confirmation dialog box, click Yes
When the firmware flash completes, click Yes.
198 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Setting Battery Installation Dates
12
If the flash is successful, reset the VMS devices:
a
Select the same VMS devices.
b
Select Functions > Reset.
c
At the confirmation dialog box, click Yes.
d
When the reset completes, click Yes.
13
In the command status window, verify that the flash completed successfully and that the
VMS was reset.
Setting Battery Installation Dates
The life of a UPS battery is three years. UPS batteries must be replaced before they expire. The following SMClient commands allow you to set and track battery installation and replacement dates:
•
Functions > Set Battery Date allows you to change the installation date for batteries.
•
Tools > Battery Date Information displays date information for batteries and allows you to change the installation date.
Related Topics
•
Changing Battery Installation Dates with Set Battery Date
•
Viewing and Changing Battery Installation Dates
Changing Battery Installation Dates with Set Battery Date
To Use the Set Battery Date Command to Change Battery Installation Dates
1
2
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select one or more UPS batteries.
Select Functions > Set Battery Date.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 199
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Setting Battery Installation Dates
Figure 94: Set Battery Date Dialog Box
3
4
On the Set Battery Date dialog box, enter the new battery date for the selected batteries at
Battery Installation Date. Use the format
YYYYMMDD
.
Click Ok.
Viewing and Changing Battery Installation Dates
To View and Change Battery Installation Dates
1
In SMClient, select Tools > Battery Date Information.
The Battery Date Information window displays a list of all batteries in the system, with their installation and replacement dates.
Figure 95: Battery Date Information Window
200
The icon on the left is a severity indicator:
•
Green (OK) displays if the battery installation date is newer than 2.5 years.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Managing Support Bundles
2
3
4
•
Orange (degraded) displays for a battery older than 2.5 years.
•
Magenta (critical) displays for any battery older than 3.0 years.
If there are no batteries available in the selected Site ID, an informational message displays.
Select the batteries to change. To change the installation date of all the batteries in the window, select Functions > Select All.
Select Functions > Set Battery Date.
On the Set Battery Installation Date(s) dialog box, enter the new battery date for the selected batteries at Battery Installation Date. Use the format
YYYYMMDD
.
Figure 96: Set Battery Installation Date(s) Window
5
Click Ok.
Managing Support Bundles
Support bundles are packages of device-dependent support data, which are primarily used to diagnose problems. For example, support bundles are collected from certain disk array controllers and drive enclosures.
Note: Support bundles are collected by default. You can use parameters in the CMIC
Configuration to enable or disable support bundle collection for supported devices.
The Functions > Retrieve Support Bundles command allows you to:
•
Download existing support bundles for viewing
•
Trigger the collection of new support bundles
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 201
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Managing Support Bundles
Support bundle collection is:
•
Automatically triggered by an alert; the alert is based on a set of rules in Alert Knowledge
•
Manually triggered by using the Functions > Collect New Bundle command on the Support
Bundles window.
Support bundles are automatically escalated to the TVI backend as soon as they are available.
Events in the Event Viewer track the collection of each support bundle.
Note: If the CMIC managing the component experiences a CMIC failover, support bundles are not collected for that component until the CMIC failover is resolved.
Working with Support Bundles
The Support Bundles window lists all available support bundles stored on the managing
CMIC. The selected component’s system, collective, cabinet, and chassis ID are displayed at the root of the list.
Due to size constraints, the file is archived in a compressed (zipped) format. Use your standard compression tools to view and extract the contents of the file.
While the window is open, the list is updated with newly created support bundles. The managing CMIC stores a maximum of 10 support bundles for each component. When this threshold is reached, the oldest support bundle is deleted.
Related Topics
•
Collecting New Support Bundles
•
Retrieving Existing Support Bundles
•
Downloading a Support Bundle for Viewing
Figure 97: Support Bundles Window
202 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Managing Support Bundles
Collecting New Support Bundles
To Collect New Support Bundles
1
2
3
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select a component for which support bundles are collected.
Click Functions > Retrieve Support Bundles. The Support Bundles window displays the list of available support bundles.
From the Support Bundles window, click Functions > Collect New Bundle.
Note: A command output window shows the progress of the support bundle collection.
The new support bundle is displayed at the top of the list in the Support Bundles window.
Retrieving Existing Support Bundles
To Retrieve Existing Support Bundles
1
2
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select a component for which support bundles are collected.
Select Functions > Retrieve Support Bundles. The Support Bundles window displays the list of available support bundles.
Downloading a Support Bundle for Viewing
To Download a Support Bundle for Viewing
1
From the Support Bundles window (Functions > Retrieve Support Bundles), click the support bundle you want to download. Support bundles have a .gz file extension.
Note: If you are on the customer LAN, you must log in as a Service User to download support bundles.
2
On the File Download dialog box, click Save
3
Specify the directory where you want to download the support bundle zip file.
Note: The downloaded bundle is compressed. To extract and view the files, you must use a compression utility.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 203
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Dumping Memory
Dumping Memory
Select this item only when instructed to do so by Teradata technical support personnel. It is used when a node, VM node, CMIC, VM CMIC, or VMS is unresponsive.
To start the Memory Dump process, in the correct Site ID select the unresponsive component from the Tree View, then select Functions > Dump Memory.
If you perform a memory dump on the VMS, all of the associated VMs power cycle after the memory dump is complete.
If the command will impact additional Site IDs, a warning message displays.
Caution:
This operation does not perform a graceful shutdown.
Resetting Components
The Functions > Reset command lets you reset components. If the command will impact additional Site IDs, a warning message displays.
lists the components you can reset from the Tree View.
Table 62: Resettable Components
Component
System
Node Cabinet
CMIC
Node Chassis
VMS
VMs
BYNET Chassis
Result
A graceful shutdown and reboot of all the nodes in the system is attempted.
A graceful shutdown and reboot of the nodes in the cabinet is attempted.
During a reset of a CMIC, the CMIC reboots.
A graceful shutdown and reboot of the specific node is attempted.
A graceful shutdown and reboot of the VMS is attempted. This also resets the
VMs on the VMS.
A graceful shutdown and restart of the VM is attempted.
Resets the BYNET chassis.
Note: This does not reset the BYNET network. If the system contains a
BYB64G chassis in the BYNET network, it may be necessary to use the
BYNET Utility to reset the BYNET network after resetting a BYNET chassis.
After the Reset command completes, a dialog box asks if the BYNET Utility should be invoked. For information about when it is appropriate to use the
BYNET Utility, see the Service Guide appropriate for your system.
Note: This applies to BYNET v3 only. BYNET v4 does not have reset capability.
Ethernet Switch
(24-port and 48-port)
Resets the Ethernet switch; the ports on the attached devices are unavailable during the reset.
204 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Resetting Components
Table 62: Resettable Components (continued)
Component
Fibre Channel Switch
(16-port and 20-port)
UPS Adapter
Result
Resets the Fibre Channel switch; the ports on the attached devices go to “link down” and are unavailable during the reset.
You must also use the Reset command to activate Fibre Channel switch firmware after a firmware flash.
Resets the adapters in the UPS in systems that have one.
Note: When resetting adapters for an APC UPS, select both APC UPS adapters.
To Reset Components
Caution:
Before starting the reset of a system, node chassis, processing node cabinet, VMS, or VM node, shut down appropriate applications to ensure data integrity.
1
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select one or more components.
Note: If you select one or more Fibre Channel switches and any other component, the
Reset command is unavailable.
2
Select Functions > Reset.
Caution:
If a power check fails during the reset of a UPS adapter or Fibre Channel switch, a dialog box allows you to force the command to run. Do not force any command to run until you review the
warning in Forcing a Command to Run after a Power Check Failure
.
To Perform a Hard Reset on a Node, VM Node, or VMS
Caution:
A hard reset is an immediate reset of the node, VM node, or VMS. Database corruption on the nodes may occur. Perform this command only when all other attempts to reset have failed.
Performing a hard reset on the VMS also resets the associated VMs.
1
2
3
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select the VMS, or one or more nodes.
Select Functions > Hard Reset.
At the warning message, click Yes.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 205
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Managing System Power
Managing System Power
The Functions > Power Off and Functions > Power On commands power systems, cabinets, chassis, and VMs off and on.
If the command will impact additional Site IDs, a warning message displays.
Related Topics
•
Forcing a Command to Run after a Power Check Failure
•
Powering Off a System/Cabinet/Chassis
•
Powering On a System/Cabinet/Chassis
•
Recovering from a Power Failure
Forcing a Command to Run after a Power Check Failure
Warning: Forcing a command to run should only be done as a last resort, and only under the direction of a Customer Service Representative.
If a power check fails, a dialog box displays, allowing you to force the command to run. Click
Yes to run the command.
You can force a command to run during the following commands:
Command
Reset
Power On
Flash Firmware
UPS Self Test
UPS Input Selector Test
Component
•
UPS adapters
•
Fibre channel switch
•
System
•
Cabinet
•
UPS and UPS adapters
•
UPS
•
UPS adapter
•
UPS
•
UPS adapter
206 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Managing System Power
Powering Off a System/Cabinet/Chassis
Use Functions > Power Off to power off the following components.
Table 63: Effects of Power Off Command on Components
Component
System
Node Cabinet
Disk Cabinet
BYNET Cabinet
Node or VM Node
VMS Chassis
CMIC or VM CMIC
Effect of the Functions > Power Off command:
2
3
Powers off all the cabinets in the system, in the following order:
1
Processing node cabinets after an orderly shutdown of the nodes; if a node does not power off successfully, none of the subsequent cabinets are powered off.
Disk array cabinets.
BYNET cabinets, if present.
Powers off the nodes after an orderly shutdown.
Powers off the disk array chassis.
Powers off the UPSs, which powers off all remaining chassis in cabinet.
Powers off only the selected nodes and VM nodes after an orderly shutdown.
Powers off only the selected VMS chassis after an orderly shutdown. This also powers off the VMs on that VMS.
Powers off only the selected CMICs and VM CMICs after an orderly shutdown.
To Power Off a System, Cabinet, Chassis, or VM
Caution:
Before removing power from a system, cabinet, chassis, or VM, notify users and determine if any applications are running on the nodes. If applications are running, terminate them. Data integrity cannot be ensured unless you shut down all applications before starting a power off.
1
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select the component you want to power off.
2
3
Select Functions > Power Off.
When prompted to confirm, click Yes.
If your selection included a nodes, VMS chassis, or VM node, the operating system performs an orderly shutdown and the components are powered off.
To Perform a Hard Power Off on a Node, VM Node, or VMS
Caution:
A hard power off is an immediate drop of power to the node, VM node, or VMS. Database corruption on the nodes may occur. Perform this command only when all other attempts to power off have failed.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 207
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Managing System Power
2
3
Performing a hard power off on the VMS also powers off the associated VMs.
1
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select the VMS, or one or more nodes or
VM nodes.
Select Functions > Hard Power Off.
At the warning message, click Yes.
Powering On a System/Cabinet/Chassis
Use Functions > Power On to power on the following components.
Table 64: Effects of Power On Command on Components
Component
System
Node Cabinet
Disk Cabinet
BYNET Cabinet
Node or VM Node
VMS Chassis
CMIC or VM CMIC
Effect of the Functions > Power On command
Powers on all the cabinets in the system, in the following order:
1
2
3
BYNET cabinets, if present
Disk array cabinets
Processing node cabinets
Powers on all chassis except the nodes. Nodes must be powered on individually with the Power On command.
Powers on the disk array chassis
Powers on the UPSs, which powers on remaining chassis
Powers on only the selected nodes and VM modes
Powers on the selected VMS chassis and the associated VMs
Powers on only the selected CMICs and VM CMICs
To Power On a System, Cabinet, Chassis, or VM
1
2
3
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select the component you want to power on.
Select Functions > Power On.
When prompted to confirm, click Yes.
Caution:
If a power check fails when a system or cabinet is being powered on, a dialog box allows you to force the command to run. Do not force any command to run until you review the warning in
Forcing a Command to Run after a Power Check Failure
.
208 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Performing Diagnostic Tests
Recovering from a Power Failure
A power failure occurs when AC power has been lost to one or more cabinets. AC power can be lost for up to 15 seconds without harm. After 15 seconds, an orderly shutdown of the nodes, disk arrays, and BYNET cabinets occurs.
To Recover from a Power Failure to All Cabinets in the System
3
4
1
2
5
Note: To recover from an EPO activation, follow the procedure “Restoring Power After an
EPO Event” in the Hardware Service Guide for your platform.
After AC power has been restored, wait for the CMIC to boot.
Start SMWeb, and log on to SMClient.
With the correct Site ID selected, select the system in the Tree View.
Select Functions > Power On.
6
Verify that system components are operating normally. In SMClient, select the system in the tree and run View > Status. Ensure that all chassis have a green icon indicating operational status is OK. Address any issues for any chassis without a green icon.
When all nodes have booted, the system is ready to begin recovery of any application that was disrupted when power was lost.
Performing Diagnostic Tests
Related Topics
•
•
•
UPS Power Cabling Test
The Functions > Power Cable Test command verifies whether the chassis are correctly cabled to the UPSs. The command allows you to troubleshoot cabinet power failure problems. It is recommended that you run the test after system installation and when new components are added to the cabinet.
The Power Cable Test can be run against a single cabinet, a selection of cabinets, or at the system level. If you run the command at the system level, only cabinets containing a UPS are tested. If you select a number of cabinets, and one does not have a UPS, the command is grayed-out.
The Power Cable Test command first checks the status of each UPS and chassis power supply to see if there are problems. If there are no problems, the command runs. If there are problems, the UPSs and power supplies with problems display. You can continue with the test, or cancel.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 209
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Performing Diagnostic Tests
Next, the CMIC powers off and on each of the load groups on every UPS in the cabinets selected, one at a time. As each load group powers off, the CMIC detects and logs:
•
Any chassis power supply that lost power when it should not have
•
Any chassis power supply that did not lose power when it should have
To Test UPS Power Cabling for a Cabinet
1
2
3
Stop the Teradata Database.
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select one or more cabinets to test. To test all cabinets, select the system.
Select Functions > Power Cable Test. The Power Cable Test dialog box displays.
Figure 98: Power Cable Test Dialog Box
210
4
5
The confirmation dialog box contains instructions that need to be done manually. These instructions are unique to the cabinet being checked, such as verify the CMIC power supply cabling and check the network switch connections. After you perform those verification steps, click Yes to continue.
If there are no UPS or power supply problems, the power cable test continues. If errors exist, they display on the dialog box. Click Yes to continue the test or No to stop.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Figure 99: Power Cable Test with Errors
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Performing Diagnostic Tests
6
While the test runs, the status displays in Status. All tests are on the same dialog box.
Figure 100: Power Cable Test Command Summary, In Progress
7
8
Double-click on a line to see additional details, even if the test is still in progress.
Figure 101 shows a sample detailed Power Cable Test dialog box.
When all the tests are complete, the Summary dialog box displays whether it completed, or completed with errors. All results are summarized on the same dialog box.
Double-click any line in the summary for detailed information. Then click Details for additional data.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 211
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Performing Diagnostic Tests
Figure 101: Power Cable Test, Details
9
When the command completes, the Power Cable Test dialog box displays the tests completed, and any errors found. All results are summarized on the same dialog box.
212 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Figure 102: Power Cable Test, Result Summary
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Performing Diagnostic Tests
Power Cable Test Details Dialog Box
The Power Cable Test dialog box (
) displays the detailed results of the test. See
for a description of the fields and dialog box buttons.
Table 65: Power Cable Test Dialog Box Description
Item
Status
Overall Progress
Load Group
Expected
Unexpected
Description
Shows command status as each UPS load group and chassis power supply is tested; lists UPS load group and chassis power supplies that are incorrectly cabled.
Shows the progress of each UPS load group and power supply tested as the command runs.
The default Alias or CIM path for the UPS load group being tested.
If a user-defined Alias exists, it displays instead of the default Alias.
The default Alias or CIM path for the power supply the UPS load group should be cabled to. Correctly cabled power supplies are in green.
If a user-defined Alias exists, it displays instead of the default Alias.
The default Alias or CIM path for the power supply the UPS load group is incorrectly cabled to. Incorrectly cabled power supplies are in red.
If a user-defined Alias exists, it displays instead of the default Alias.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 213
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Performing Diagnostic Tests
Table 65: Power Cable Test Dialog Box Description (continued)
Item
Result
Details/No Details button
Cancel button
Description
Shows the results of the power cabling test for each UPS load group and power supply:
•
OK (green): Power supply is correctly cabled.
•
ERROR (red): Power supply is incorrectly cabled.
Toggles between hiding and displaying additional details for the UPS load groups and chassis power supplies being tested
Cancels the command
UPS Self-Test
The Functions > UPS Self Test command checks the functionality of the UPS to determine whether its internal components are working properly. The command runs only if all other power-related components in the cabinet have an operating status of OK. It should be run on only one UPS at a time in a cabinet.
To Run a UPS Self-Test
Caution:
If a power check fails during the UPS self-test, a dialog box displays that allows you to force the
command to run. Do not force any command to run until you review the warning in Forcing a
Command to Run after a Power Check Failure
.
1
2
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select a UPS.
Select Functions > UPS Self Test.
Command results, whether the test completed successfully or not, are available in the
Command Summary window. Details about test errors, if any, appear in the Event Viewer and
Alert Viewer.
UPS Input Selector Test
The Functions > UPS Input Selector Test command checks the functionality of the UPS Input
Selector to determine whether it is working properly. The UPS Input Selector Test forces a switch from the default power source to the alternate power source to verify that the switchover capability is functional. The UPS goes on battery for a short time as it transitions between the default and the alternate power source. When the test is complete, the system switches power back to the default power source.
214 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Performing the Alert Escalation Test
The system does not switch to the alternate power source if the alternate power source is not operating normally. When you run this test, all other power-related components in the cabinet should have an operating status of OK. The test should be run on only one UPS at a time in a cabinet.
Caution:
If a power check fails during UPS input selector test, a dialog box displays that allows you to force the command to run. Do not force any command to run until you review the warning in
Forcing a Command to Run after a Power Check Failure
.
To Run a UPS Input Selector Test
2
3
1
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, check the status of the UPS you want to test.
Select the UPS.
Select Functions > UPS Input Selector Test.
Command results, whether the test completed successfully or not, are available in the
Command Summary window. Details about the test, including test errors, if any, appear in the
Event Viewer and Alert Viewer.
Performing the Alert Escalation Test
Alert Escalation tests the full alert detection path on one or more nodes. This is the end-toend path that events and alerts take from managed nodes to the TVI backend. During the test:
•
TAS sends an alert test request (the TVIA DCA FaultTest) to TVIA.
•
The test is logged in the node.
•
The node’s SM3GNode agent sends the log through the event path to the CMIC managing the node.
•
The CMIC managing the node detects the log event as an alert.
•
The alert is sent to Alert Group Detector to be grouped into PSR TEST_FAULT summary alert.
•
TAS sends the summary alert via Axeda to the TVI backend.
Maintenance is ON and Notify is ON, so an incident is not generated, but notification is sent.
To Run the Alert Escalation Test
1
2
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select one or more nodes, cabinets, collectives, or the system.
Select Event Mgmt > Alert Escalation Test.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 215
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Performing the Alert Escalation Test
The system asks you to verify the components being tested.
Figure 103: Alert Escalation Test Prompt
3
If the prompt displays the correct components to test, click Yes.
The tests begin on the selected components.
Figure 104: Alert Escalation Test
4
When the test is complete, the PSR Summary Alert is generated.
Figure 105: Generating the PSR Summary Alert
5
After the PSR Summary Alert is generated and sent, click OK at the confirmation message.
Figure 106: Alert Escalation Success Message
216 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Using SMWeb During SOV Failover
Using SMWeb During SOV Failover
When a problem occurs with the SOV CMIC, the CMIC designated as the failover CMIC temporarily assumes the role of the SOV CMIC.
For CMIC failover to occur, the failover CMIC must be identified in the CMIC Configuration.
See the SMWeb Configuration Guide for instructions.
To maintain the same functionality, the failed over CMIC should have the same LAN configuration as the active CMIC. For example, if the SOV CMIC has a customer LAN connection, the failover CMIC should also have a customer LAN connection.
When failover occurs, SMWeb displays a warning message.
Figure 107: SOV Failover Warning
Click the link to continue to the failover CMIC.
The SMWeb Home page reports when a CMIC is in failover. In addition, unavailable options on the Home page are grayed out.
When you start SMClient on the failover CMIC, a warning displays.
Figure 108: SMClient Failover Warning
In addition, the SMClient title bar warns: Connected to failover SOV CMIC.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 217
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Using SMWeb During SOV Failover
When running in failover:
•
Any user-created data created does not migrate back to the original CMIC when it fails back.
•
Configuration changes cannot be made, except to change the Functionality status of the
CMIC. See Changing a Failover CMIC to the Active CMIC .
•
Changes to alert subscriptions are not allowed.
•
Maintenance windows can still be created, updated, and deleted.
•
TVI files (Alerts, Reports, Assets, and Heartbeat) continue to be sent to the TVI backend through the SWS.
•
Alerts matching customer-configured criteria continue to be sent through SNMP trap action, if the failover CMIC is on the customer LAN.
•
From the Home page, the Users and Groups, TVI Connection, and Save and Restore options are not available.
•
If you are running a CLI when failover occurs, a message prompts you to restart the command.
When the original SOV CMIC is restored, SMWeb displays a message.
Figure 109: SOV Failover Warning
218
Click the link to continue to the restored CMIC.
Changing a Failover CMIC to the Active CMIC
3
4
1
2
If a failed SOV CMIC is expected to be out of service for an extended period (for example, while waiting for a replacement part), you can change the failover CMIC to the active CMIC, which restores full use of SMWeb.
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select the failover CMIC.
Select Functions > Manage CMIC.
If prompted, log in.
From the web page of the failover CMIC, select CMIC > System > CMIC Configuration.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Marking a Drive as Failed from SMClient
6
7
5
In the CMIC configuration, change the Functionality line from:
<Functionality name="sov" type="failover"/>
To:
<Functionality name="sov" type="active"/>
Save the file locally using the down arrow button on the toolbar.
Click the Put button on the toolbar to save the configuration to the CMIC.
If the original (failed) CMIC is recovered, duplicate alerts are sent home unless a Maintenance window suppresses escalation. To correct that, change the original (failed) CMIC or the current active SOV CMIC to type “failover.”
Marking a Drive as Failed from SMClient
Occasionally you may want to mark a drive inside a disk enclosure for servicing. For example, you may mark a drive if it is reporting intermittent errors, but the drive is still functional and therefore not in a failed state.
Marking the drive as failed allows the technician to identify the drive quickly and replace it, if needed.
Marking the drive enables the Service Action Required LED on the drive. It does not affect the database, the Amps, or how the drive responds.
Follow the procedures below to mark and unmark a drive from SMClient. The procedure only works on drives in a drive enclosure.
To Mark a Drive as Failed
1
2
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select the drive.
Select Functions > Set Service Action Required.
The system checks the AMPs, then displays the Set Service Action Required dialog box.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 219
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Marking a Drive as Failed from SMClient
Figure 110: Set Service Action Required Dialog Box
220
3
Click Yes to continue.
The system reports that the action was successful.
To Clear a Marked Drive
Occasionally, you may decide that a drive no longer needs to be marked. Clearing the state turns off the Service Action Required LED.
Note: Do not clear this status unless you are sure the drive was manually marked. Otherwise you could mask a real error.
1
2
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, select the marked drive. The drive is flagged Service Action Required.
Select Functions > Clear Service Action Required.
The system displays the Clear Service Action Required dialog box.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Using SMClient When a Network Is Down
Figure 111: Clear Service Action Required Dialog Box
3
Click Yes to continue.
The system reports that the action was successful.
Using SMClient When a Network Is Down
When a problem occurs with a network connection, anyone accessing the system is notified that the connection can no longer be made. Because the server management applications do not automatically switch to a working network, you must close and then re-open them on a working network.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 221
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Attaching a Device Temporarily to a Virtual Machine
Attaching a Device Temporarily to a Virtual
Machine
The Attach Temporary Device option in SMClient allows you to temporarily attach a USB or
CD-ROM device to a VM. For example, you may want temporary access to a dump drive.
This option opens a guided procedure.
To Attach a Device Temporarily
1
2
In the Tree View, with the correct Site ID selected, expand the cabinet, and select the virtual machine to which you want to attach a device.
You can select the CMIC, the SWS, or the Viewpoint virtual machine.
Select Functions > Attach Temporary Device to display Step 1 of the guided procedure.
Figure 112: Step 1, Attach Temporary Device
222
3
As instructed, attach the device into the VMS, either by attaching the USB device, or by putting a disk into the CD-ROM drive.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
4
Click Next to display Step 2.
Figure 113: Step 2, Attach Temporary Device
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Attaching a Device Temporarily to a Virtual Machine
5
6
Once the system retrieves the devices, select the device you want to use.
At Attach Option, select Read-write or Read-only, as needed.
Read-write
Read-only
Allows the device to be accessed as a read/write device.
Selecting this option does not make read-only devices writable. It just allows writing to the device, if the device is writable.
The device may require exclusive access (i.e., it cannot be attached to other virtual machines).
Allows read-only access to the device. It allows most devices to be attached to more than one virtual machine.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 223
Chapter 9: Servicing, Maintenance, and Troubleshooting
Attaching a Device Temporarily to a Virtual Machine
7
Click Next to display Step 3.
Figure 114: Step 3, Attach Temporary Device
8
9
When the procedure reports that the device is available, use it as needed.
When you are done using the device, click Next to detach the device.
Figure 115: Step 4, Attach Temporary Device
224
10
When the Step 4 reports that the device is detached from the virtual machine, remove the device from the USB port or CD-ROM drive.
11
Click Close.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
CHAPTER 10
Command Line Interface Utilities
The SMWeb Command-Line Interface (CLI) provides many of the same commands as
SMClient. The commands can be used in scripts and programs.
Java 1.6 is required to run the CLIs. Run java -version to confirm the Java version.
Related Topics
•
•
•
CLI Setup
CLI utilities are downloaded from the SMWeb Home page. Once the utilities have been downloaded and set up, they can be run from the command line or in scripts.
Note: You must use the directories specified here if you’re downloading the utilities to the
SWS. Otherwise, these directories are recommended, but not required. If you move the utilities to a new directory, you must run setup again.
5
6
7
8
9
To Set Up the CLI in Windows
3
4
1
2
Display the SMWeb Main page.
Click Command Line Interface for Windows Clients.
When prompted, click Save to save the zip file.
Navigate to \Program Files\teradata\sm, and click Save.
Create the directory if it doesn’t exist.
In a Command window, navigate to the saved zip file.
Unzip the file to the current directory.
The Unzip program creates a new subdirectory called WinCLIs. It then extracts the files into that directory.
In the WinCLIs directory, run setup.bat.
When prompted, enter your SMClient login.
When prompted, enter your SMClient password.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 225
Chapter 10: Command Line Interface Utilities
Using the CLI
10
When prompted, enter a pass phrase to encrypt the password file.
11
The pass phrase must be at least six characters long.
When the prompt returns, enter setup.bat -test to test the connection.
To Set Up the CLI in Linux
3
4
1
2
Display the SMWeb Main page.
Click Command Line Interface for Linux Clients
When prompted, click Save to save the zip file to your local system.
Navigate to /opt/teradata/sm, and click Save.
5
6
Create the directory if it doesn’t exist.
In a shell window, navigate to the saved zip file.
Extract the zip file using the -a option: unzip -a filename.zip
The Unzip program creates a new subdirectory called linuxCLIs. It then extracts the files into that directory.
7
8
9
10
11
In the linuxCLIs directory, run chmod +x * to make the files executable.
In the linuxCLIs directory, run ./setup.
When prompted, enter your SMClient login.
When prompted, enter your SMClient password.
When prompted, enter a pass phrase to encrypt the password file.
The pass phrase must be at least six characters long.
12
When the prompt returns, open a new shell and run setup -test to test the connection.
Note: If you move the CLI utility files, run setup again from the new directory.
Using the CLI
Once set up, the CLI is accessible from a Command window (Windows) or Shell window
(Linux).
Caution:
When you run a CLI utility, the command is executed when you press return. You are not asked for confirmation.
CLI utilities generally rely on a Component ID or alias to identify the component that is being operated upon. The ShowComponents utility allows you to find Component IDs or aliases.
You can also get them through View > Properties in SMClient.
The following general rules apply to all CLI commands:
•
Command names are case-sensitive in Linux, but not in Windows.
226 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 10: Command Line Interface Utilities
Using the CLI
•
All commands, except where noted, accept more than one Component ID or alias, separated by commas or spaces. For example, you can power on two cabinets with one command.
•
All options start with either “-” or “/”. Anything else is interpreted as a Component ID or alias.
•
Partial words for options may be typed, as long as enough letters are typed to identify the option. For example,
-r
and
-rec
and
-recursive
all mean the same thing.
Access to CLI Utilities
CLI access is determined by your user group membership. Service Users have access to all CLI utilities. Users and Enhanced Users can access the CLI utilities marked with an asterisk in
.
Table 66: CLI Utilities Access
CLI Utilities
*
*
*
*
*
*
Available to Users and Enhanced Users
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 227
Chapter 10: Command Line Interface Utilities alertutil
alertutil
This command displays alerts retrieved from server management.
Related Topics
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
alertutil Syntax
alertutil -h[elp] | [components] [timeOptions] [displayOptions] [filterOptions]
[siteIDOptions]
alertutil -id {alertGUID} [-sequence sequencenumber]
alertutil -detail -timeStamp mm/dd/yyyy hh:mm:ss -sequence sequencenumber
alertutil -monitor [monitorOptions] [displayOptions] [filterOptions] [siteIDOptions]
alertutil -summary [components] [timeOptions] [displayOptions] [filterOptions]
[summaryOptions] [siteIDOptions]
alertutil -clear [siteIDOptions] -start mm/dd/yyyy hh:mm:ss -end mm/dd/yyyy hh:mm:ss
alertutil -clear [siteIDOptions] -id alertGUID [-sequence sequencenumber]
alertutil -clear [siteIDOptions] -timeStamp mm/dd/yyyy hh:mm:ss -sequence sequencenumber
alertutil -summary [siteIDOptions]-clear -id alertGUID [-sequence sequenceNumber] [addtositelog msg]
alertutil Options
Option
-h[elp]
-id
{alertGUID}
Description
Displays help for this command.
Displays details for the alert specified by {alertGUID}; using the sequence option speeds up event retrieval.
Unique ID that identifies an alert.
228 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 10: Command Line Interface Utilities alertutil
Option
components
-detail
-monitor
-summary
-clear
Description
Unique ID of the components whose alerts you want to display. The unique ID can be a
Component ID, default alias, or user-defined alias. If no Component IDs or aliases are specified, alerts for the first system display.
Displays details for the specified alert.
Monitors for new alerts coming from server management and display. Press CTRL C to quit.
Displays summary alert information.
Clears specified alerts or alerts between the specified times. Combined with -summary, also clears specified summary alerts.
alertutil Time Options
Option
-start [mm/dd/yyyy] [hh:mm:ss]
-end [mm/dd/yyyy] [hh:mm:ss]
-sec |-min |-hrs |-days x
-desc |-asc
-all
-max x
-sequence sequenceNumber
Description
Selects the start date or time. Default is current date or time 0.
Selects the end date or time. Default is current date or time 23:59:59.
Selects events x seconds, minutes, hours, or days since the start time or before the end time; if -start or -end is not specified, the default is since current time.
For example:
-start 10/02/2008 -days 2
Displays 2 days of events, starting Oct 2 00:00:00 and ending 2 days later, on Oct 3
23:59:59.
-end 10/15/2008 -days 4
Displays 4 days of events, starting on 10/11/2008 00:00:00 and ending on 10/15/2008
23:59:59.
-days 4
Display events starting 4 days earlier up to current time.
Specifies sort order.
•
Default is descending create time (newest first).
•
Use ascending to sort by create time (oldest first).
Displays all records in the system.
Caution: Operation could be lengthy depending on the size of the system.
Note: If -all or -max is not specified, the default is 1000 records.
Specifies maximum number of records to retrieve.
Note: If -all or -max is not specified, the default is 1000 records.
Adds the time sequence to speed up the alert retrieval.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 229
Chapter 10: Command Line Interface Utilities alertutil
alertutil Display Options
Option
-verbose
-nohdr
-formNameValue
-perform
-byalias
-csv
-xml
-format filename
-raw
-bycollective
Description
Displays all alert data.
Suppresses display of format header.
Displays in AttributeName=Value format.
Displays statistics such as elapsed time and number of records.
Displays output using the component alias instead of the ObjectPath. If a user-defined alias has been configured, it displays.
Saves the information in CSV (comma separated value) format to be viewed in a spreadsheet.
Displays alert information in xml format.
Displays alert information according to the format file filename.
alertutil recognizes the following macros in the format file:
{TimeStamp}, {Sequence}, {Severity}, {Status}, {ManagedElementAlias}, {Description}, {Site
ID}, {SystemID}, {CollectiveID}, {CabinetID}, {ChassisID}, {ManagedElement},
{ObjectClass}, {ID}, {TimeReceived}, {Domain}, {MessageID}, {ReporterType}, {SubType},
{Details}, {RequestID}, {Data}, {RepeatCount}, {RepeatStartTime}, {SubSystem},
{Autosolvable}, {KnowledgeID}, {TrackingID}, {TVI_Disposition}, {Synopsis},
{Maintenance}, {Notify}, {Impact}, {Scope}
Surround brackets with single quotes; represent a true single quote with two single quotes.
For example, {‘This is a sample’} is represented as ‘{‘‘‘This is a sample.’’’}’ in the format file.
Displays alert information retrieved from server management without translation to a more readable format.
Displays alert information grouped by one collective at a time. You cannot use -bycollective if you designate specific components.
alertutil Filter Options
Option
-status={Active | Autosolved | Cleared |
Expired}[,...]
-subSystem={Storage | Power | Node | OS |
Database | Network | ServerMgmt | Client |
Other}[,...]
-TVI_Disposition={ Ignore_Maintenance |
Escalate_Requested | Ignored | Abayed | Escalated |
Ignore_Heartbeat | None}[,...]
Description
Selects alerts with associated statuses.
Selects alerts with associated subsystems.
Selects alerts associated with TVI dispositions.
-subType={ProbableCause | AlertGroup | Null}[,...] Selects alerts with the specified subType names.
-domain=domainName Selects alerts with the specified domain names.
230 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 10: Command Line Interface Utilities alertutil
Option
-severity={Unknown | OK | Info | Warning |
Degraded | Critical | Fatal | x-y} [,...]
-msgID=msgID[,...]
-objectClass=objectClassName [,...]
-systemID=systemIDNumber[,...]
-collectiveID=collectiveIDNumber[,...]
-cabinetID=cabinetIDNumber[,...]
-chassisID=chassisIDNumber[,...]
alertutil SiteID Options
Option
-siteID=siteIDName[,...]
-unassignedsiteid
-yes
alertutil Monitor Options
Option
-modification
Description
Selects the first letter of one or more severity names or a range, x to y, between 0 and 6.
Selects alerts with matching MessageIDs.
Selects alerts associated with the object class names. To determine the class name, look at the first part of the component ID.
Example: If the component ID is
CMIC_5500J.SystemID=1,CollectiveID=400,CabinetID=1,ID=6, the class name is CMIC_5500J.
Selects records associated with the system ID numbers.
If you identify multiple system ID numbers, you cannot specify collective IDs, cabinet IDs, or chassis IDs.
Selects records associated with the collective ID numbers.
If you identify multiple collective ID numbers, you cannot specify cabinet IDs or chassis IDs.
Selects records associated with the cabinet ID numbers.
If you identify multiple cabinet ID numbers, you cannot specify chassis IDs.
Selects events associated with the chassis ID numbers.
Description
Selects alerts with associated Site ID. This option is not needed for server management domains that only have one Site ID.
Selects alerts that do not have an associated Site ID.
Override prompt for clearing alerts in a multi-site environment.
Description
Displays alert modifications in addition to new alerts. Use this with the -monitor option to see status and TVI disposition changes.
The following options are not supported: -start, -end, -sec, -min, -hrs, -days, -active, -desc, -asc, seq, -detail, -perform, -nohdr, -csv, and -id.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 231
Chapter 10: Command Line Interface Utilities alertutil
alertutil Summary Options
Option
-synopsis
-scope
-maintenance={ On |
Off }
-notify={ On | Off }
-impact
Description
Displays summary alerts with matching synopsis.
Displays summary alerts with matching scopes.
Displays summary alerts with specified maintenance settings.
Displays summary alerts with specified notify settings.
Displays summary alerts with matching impacts.
alertutil Examples
•
To list all alerts in a system (without
-all
, the max is 1000 alerts):
alertutil -all
•
To list the first 1,000 alerts in domain for Site ID "PROD1" and components with no assigned Site ID:
alertutil -siteID=PROD1 -unassignedsiteid
•
To list all the active alerts from the Storage subsystem:
alertutil -status=Active -subsystem=Storage
•
To clear all alerts between the start and end dates and times:
alertutil -clear -start 8/29/2008 04:32:22 -end 8/30/2008 04:32:22
•
To clear all alerts between the start and end dates for Site ID “Prod1”:
alertutil -clear -siteID=PROD1 -start 8/29/2008 04:32:22 -end 8/
30/2008 04:32:22
•
To show details of the alert with the matching time stamp and sequence:
alertutil -detail -timeStamp 2009-02-20 08:03:26 -sequence 293849
•
To clear the alert with the matching alert ID and sequence:
alertutil -clear -id {175CC646-8CC3-11d3-84FD-00E029103BC7}
-sequence 293849
•
To list all database related alerts with the TVI disposition of Escalated:
alertutil -subSystem=Database -TVI=Escalated
232 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 10: Command Line Interface Utilities alertutil
•
To list all database related alerts with the TVI disposition of Escalated and a severity between 3 and 6:
alertutil -subSystem=Database -TVI=Escalated -sev=3-6
•
To show all alert information for all alerts logged on 8/19/2009:
alertutil -start 8/29/2009 -days 1 -verbose
•
To show information about the alert with the matching alert ID:
alertutil -id {175CC646-8CC3-11d3-84FD-00E029103BC7}
•
To list any alerts for domain BYNET with a severity of Warning or Degraded:
alertutil -dom=bynet -sev=W,D
•
To list any alerts where system ID = 1, cabinet ID=300, and chassis ID=203 or ID=204:
alertutil -sys=1 -cab=300 -chas=203,204
•
To listen for new alerts where system ID = 1, cabinet ID=300, and chassis ID=203 or
ID=204:
alertutil -monitor -sys=1 -cab=300 -chas=203,204
•
To show alert summary information for the most recent 100 summary alerts:
alertutil -summary -max 100
•
To clear the specific summary alert with the matching ID, and add a message to the sitelog.
If the specified ID corresponds to a Root Cause or Situational Cause summary alert, then this option also clears all associated UpdateXXX alerts:
alertutil -clear -id {eb7d1252-60a1-4c8c-aea4-1ee284d9ecfe} summary -addtositelog "User specified message."
•
To list all alerts in the system, one collective at a time:
alertutil -all -bycollective
•
To list all alerts from system 1, collectives 3 through 5, one collective at a time:
alertutil -all -sys=1 -coll=3-5 -bycollective
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 233
Chapter 10: Command Line Interface Utilities assetinfo
assetinfo
This command displays, or outputs to a file, asset information for a specific chassis or for all chassis contained in a system, collective, or cabinet.
Related Topics
•
•
assetinfo Syntax
assetinfo -h[elp] | [-s[iteid] siteid | -un[assignedsiteid]] | [-f [ile] outputFile -c[sv]]
components
assetinfo Options
Option
-h [elp]
-s [siteid]
-un [assignedsiteid]
-f [ile] outputFile
-c[sv]
components
Description
Displays help for this command.
Selects assets from the components with the specified Site ID.
Selects assets from components with no assigned Site ID.
Specifies the name of the file to which the chassis asset information will be output.
If the full path is not specified, the file is stored in \Document and Settings\<username>
\sm_client_8_0\<host>\userdata in Windows. In Linux, the file is stored in <username>/
sm_client_8_0/<host>/userdata.
If this option is not used, the information is output to the screen.
Saves the information in CSV (comma-separated value) format to the specified outputFile. The information can then be viewed in a spreadsheet. If this option is not used, the information is saved to a text file.
Unique ID of the system, collective, cabinet, or chassis whose asset information you want to see or save to a file. The unique ID can be a Component ID, default alias, or user-defined alias. To view all the valid components, use the showcomponents command.
234 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 10: Command Line Interface Utilities dumpmemory
dumpmemory
This command invokes a memory dump on one or more nodes, VM nodes, CMICs, VM
CMICs, or VMS chassis. Perform this action only when instructed to do so by Teradata technical support personnel. A dump partition must be set up before performing this action.
Command progress displays on the screen.
Caution:
This operation does not perform a graceful shutdown. There is a potential for data loss or corruption when performing this action.
Related Topics
•
•
dumpmemory Syntax
dumpmemory -h[elp] | [-s[iteid] siteid | -un[assignedsiteid]] | components
dumpmemory Options
The following table lists the options available for this command:
Option
-h [elp]
-s [siteid]
-un [assignedsiteid]
components
Description
Displays help for this command.
Dumps memory from the components with the specified Site ID.
Dumps memory from components with no assigned Site ID.
Unique Component ID, default alias, or user-defined alias of one or more nodes or SMPs.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 235
Chapter 10: Command Line Interface Utilities measurementinfo
measurementinfo
This command displays, or outputs to a file, measurement information for specific chassis or for all chassis contained in a system, collective, or cabinet.
Related Topics
•
•
measurementinfo Syntax
measurementinfo [-h[elp]] | [-s[iteid] siteid | -un[assignedsiteid]] | [-f[ile] outputFile -c[sv]]
components
measurementinfo Options
Option
-h [elp]
-s [siteid]
-un [assignedsiteid]
-f [ile] outputFile
-c[sv]
components
Description
Displays help for this command.
Displays measurement information for the components with the specified Site ID.
Displays measurement information for the components with no assigned Site ID.
Specifies the name of the file to output the chassis measurement information.
If the full path is not specified, the file is stored in \Document and Settings\<username>
\sm_client_8_0\<host>\userdata in Windows. In Linux, the file is stored in <username>/
sm_client_8_0/<host>/userdata.
If this option is not used, the information is output to the screen.
Saves the information in CSV (comma separated value) format to the specified outputFile. The information can then be viewed in a spreadsheet. If this option is not used, the information is saved to a text file.
Unique ID of the system, collective, cabinet, or chassis whose measurement information you want to see or save to a file. The unique ID can be a Component ID, default alias, or userdefined alias.
236 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 10: Command Line Interface Utilities reset
reset reset Syntax
reset -h[elp] | [-s[iteid] siteid | -un[assignedsiteid]] | <components>
reset Options
This command resets one or more components.
Related Topics
•
•
Option
-h [elp]
-s [siteid]
-un [assignedsiteid]
components
Description
Displays help for this command.
Resets only the components with the specified Site ID.
Resets only the components with no assigned Site ID.
Unique ID of the component or components you want to reset. The unique ID can be a
Component ID, default alias, or user-defined alias.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 237
Chapter 10: Command Line Interface Utilities setbatterydate
setbatterydate
This command sets the battery installation date for all batteries in the system, or for one or more batteries specified by the components option.
Related Topics
•
•
•
setbatterydate Syntax
setbatterydate -h[elp]
setbatterydate -d[ate] <installDate> [-s[iteid] siteid | -un[assignedsiteid]] <components>
setbatterydate -d[ate] <installDate> [-s[iteid] siteid | -un[assignedsiteid]] -a[ll]
setbatterydate Options
Option
-h [elp]
Description
Displays help for this command.
-d [ate] <MM/dd/yyyy> The date the battery was installed.
•
Entering one or more components after the installation date applies the date to the specified
components. The components option specifies the unique ID of the battery. The unique ID can be a Component ID, default alias, or user-defined alias.
•
Entering -all after the installation date applies the date to all batteries in the system.
-s [siteid]
-un [assignedsiteid]
Sets battery dates for the components with the specified Site ID.
Sets battery dates for the components with no assigned Site ID.
238 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 10: Command Line Interface Utilities setfw
setfw setfw Syntax
setfw -h[elp] | [-s[iteid] siteid | -un[assignedsiteid]] -b[ypass]] <components>
setfw Options
This command downloads firmware for managed components that support this function (for example, CMIC and management boards).
Related Topics
•
•
Option
-h [elp]
-s [siteid]
-un [assignedsiteid]
-b[ypass]
components
Description
Displays help for this command.
Sets firmware for the components with the specified Site ID.
Sets firmware for the components with no assigned Site ID.
When flashing a UPS management board or adapter, the cabinet’s power subsystem is checked. If a problem is found, a warning message displays. To bypass the power check and flash the UPS management board or adapter anyway, run setfw again using the -b option.
Note: Teradata recommends you correct the condition before flashing the UPS management board or adapter.
Unique ID of the component or components you want to flash. The unique ID can be a
Component ID, default alias, or user-defined alias.
Note: Before flashing the firmware of an APC UPS, you must first flash the firmware of both APC
UPS adapter.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 239
Chapter 10: Command Line Interface Utilities setpower
setpower
This command powers one or more components on (the default) or off, for managed components that support this.
Related Topics
•
•
setpower Syntax
setpower [-h[elp]] | -on | -off | -1 | -0 [-b[ypass]] [-s[iteid] siteid | -un[assignedsiteid]]
<components>
setpower Options
Option
-h [elp]
-on or -1
-off or-0
-b[ypass]
-s [siteid]
-un [assignedsiteid]
components
Description
Displays help for this command.
Powers on the managed component.
Powers off the managed component.
When powering on a cabinet or a system, the cabinet’s power subsystem is checked. If a problem is found, a warning message displays. To bypass the power check and power on the cabinet or system, you must run the SetPower command again using the -b option.
Powers on or off components with the specified Site ID.
Powers on or off components with no assigned Site ID.
Unique ID of the component or components you want to power on or off. The unique ID can be a Component ID, default alias, or user-defined alias.
240 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 10: Command Line Interface Utilities showbatteries
showbatteries
This command displays battery installation and battery replacement dates or outputs them to a file.
Related Topics
•
•
showbatteries Syntax
showbatteries [-h[elp]] | [-s[iteid] siteid | -un[assignedsiteid]] [-f [ile] outputFile [-c[sv]]]
showbatteries Options
Option
-h [elp]
-s [siteid]
-un [assignedsiteid]
-f [ile] outputFile
-c[sv]
Description
Displays help for this command.
Displays battery information for the components with the specified Site ID.
Displays battery information for the components with no assigned Site ID.
Specifies the name of the file to which the battery information will be output.
If the full path is not specified, the file is stored in \Document and Settings\<username>
\sm_client_8_0\<host>\userdata in Windows. In Linux, the file is stored in <username>/
sm_client_8_0/<host>/userdata.
If this option is not used, the information is output to the screen.
Saves the information in CSV (comma separated value) format to the specified outputFile. The information can then be viewed in a spreadsheet. If this option is not used, the information is saved to a text file.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 241
Chapter 10: Command Line Interface Utilities showcomponents
showcomponents
This command displays the managed components and their operational status. This command is entered in the following format:
Related Topics
•
•
showcomponents Syntax
showcomponents [-h[elp]] | -r[ecursive] -c[hildren] -n[ame] -i[d] -a[lias] [-s[iteid] siteid | un[assignedsiteid]] [-f[ile] outputFile] [components]
showcomponents Options
Option
-h [elp]
-r[ecursive]
-c[hildren]
-n[ame]
-i[d]
-a[alias]
Description
Displays help for this command.
Shows the operational status of all components contained under the component.
Shows the operational status of the component and only its immediate subcomponents.
Displays the components by the default name displayed in the Tree View.
Displays the components by their Component IDs; this is the default display option if neither -n, -i, or -a is specified.
Displays the components by their aliases; if a user-defined alias exists, it displays instead of the default alias.
-s [siteid] Displays only the components with the specified Site ID.
-un [assignedsiteid] Displays only the components with no assigned Site ID.
-f[ile] outputfile
components
Specifies the name of the file to which the component information will be output.
If the full path is not specified, the file is stored in \Document and Settings\<username>
\sm_client_8_0\<host>\userdata in Windows. In Linux, the file is stored in <username>/
sm_client_8_0/<host>/userdata.
If this option is not used, the information is output to the screen.
Unique ID of the component or components. The unique ID can be a Component ID, default alias, or user-defined alias. If no Component IDs or aliases are specified, the system components are the default.
242 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 10: Command Line Interface Utilities showfirmwareversion
showfirmwareversion
This command displays or outputs all firmware instances in the system. It includes the installed firmware version for each component, the supported firmware version for each component, and reports whether there is a mismatch between them:
•
OK: The firmware version installed is the currently supported version.
•
Mismatch: The firmware version installed is not the currently supported version.
•
Unknown: The firmware version information is missing or unavailable.
Related Topics
•
•
showfirmwareversion Syntax
showfirmwareversion [-h[elp]] | [-a[lias]] [-s[iteid] siteid | -un[assignedsiteid]] [-f[ile]
<outputFile> [-c[sv]]
showfirmwareversion Options
Option
-h[elp]
-a [lias]
-s [siteid]
-un [assignedsiteid]
-f[ile] outputFile
-c[sv]
Output
Displays detailed help for this command.
Displays or saves output using the component alias instead of the Component ID.
Displays firmware information for the components with the specified Site ID.
Displays firmware information for the components with no assigned Site ID.
Specifies the name of the file to which the firmware version information will be output.
If the full path is not specified, the file is stored in \Document and Settings\<username>
\sm_client_8_0\<host>\userdata in Windows. In Linux, the file is stored in <username>/
sm_client_8_0/<host>/userdata.
If this option is not used, the information is output to the screen.
Saves the information in CSV (comma separated value) format to the specified outputFile. The information can then be viewed in a spreadsheet. If this option is not used, the information is saved to a text file.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 243
Chapter 10: Command Line Interface Utilities showproperties
showproperties
This command displays component properties.
Related Topics
•
•
showproperties Syntax
showproperties [-h[elp]] | [-s[iteid] siteid | -un[assignedsiteid]] [-f [ile] outputfile]
<components>
showproperties Options
Option
-h [elp]
-s [siteid] Displays properties for the components with the specified Site ID.
-un [assignedsiteid] Displays properties for the components with no assigned Site ID.
-f[ile] outputfile
Description
Displays help for this command.
components
Specifies the name of the file to which the property information will be output.
If the full path is not specified, the file is stored in \Document and Settings\<username>
\sm_client_8_0\<host>\userdata in Windows. In Linux, the file is stored in <username>/
sm_client_8_0/<host>/userdata.
If this option is not used, the information is output to the screen.
The unique Component IDs, default aliases, or user-defined aliases of the components.
244 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 10: Command Line Interface Utilities showsiteids
showsiteids
This command displays the Site IDs in the server management domain. The command alerts if there are chassis with unassigned Site IDs.
Related Topics
•
•
showsiteids Syntax
showsiteids [sc[ript] | [-h[elp]]
showsiteids Options
Option
-sc[ript]
-h [elp]
smhelp
Description
Output is displays in a script-friendly format.
Displays help for this command.
This command displays a list of the available CLI commands and a brief description of them.
You can display more information about each command, including command format, usage, and options, by typing smhelp command name.
Detailed help for each command can be displayed by typing the command name and the h[elp] argument. Any CLI command name can be used as input to the command.
smhelp Syntax
smhelp
smhelp [-h[elp]] | <command>
smhelp <command>
<command> -h[elp]
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 245
Chapter 10: Command Line Interface Utilities upstest
upstest
This command tests the functionality of either the UPS’s internal components or the UPS
Input Selector.
Related Topics
•
•
upstest Syntax
upstest [-h[elp]] | -s[elf] | -i[nput] [-s[iteid] siteid | -un[assignedsiteid]] <components>
upstest Options
The following table lists the options available for this command. Only one option can be used at a time.
Option
-h [elp]
-s [elf]
-i [nput]
Description
Displays help for this command.
Runs the UPS Self-Test and outputs results to the screen. If no option is specified, the UPS Self-Test is run.
Runs the UPS Input Selector Test and outputs the results to the screen; the test forces a switch from the default power source to the alternate power source to verify that the switch-over capability is functional. When the test is complete, the system switches power back to the default power source.
The system does not switch to the alternate power source if it is not operating normally. The command runs only if all other power related components in the cabinet appear normal.
-s [siteid] Tests only components with the specified Site ID.
-un [assignedsiteid] Tests only components with no assigned Site ID.
components
Unique ID of the UPS you want to test. The unique ID can be a Component ID, default alias, or userdefined alias.
246 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 10: Command Line Interface Utilities viewassethistory
viewassethistory
This command displays asset records retrieved from Server Management. It displays (or outputs to a file) asset information for chassis that have asset history. Invoking this command with a system, collective, or cabinet component retrieves asset history for all chassis contained in that system, collective, or cabinet that have asset history.
Related Topics
•
•
•
•
viewmeasurementhistory Display Options
•
viewassethistory Filter Options
•
viewassethistory Syntax
viewassethistory -h[elp] | [components] [timeOptions] [displayOptions] [filterOptions]
viewassethistory Options
Option
-h[elp]
components
Description
Displays help for this command.
Unique ID of the component or components whose records you want to display. The unique ID can be a Component ID, default alias, or user-defined alias. If no Component IDs or aliases are specified, records for the system display.
Components can be at the system, collective, cabinet, or chassis level.
viewassethistory Time Options
Option
-start [mm/dd/yyyy] [hh:mm:ss]
-end [mm/dd/yyyy] [hh:mm:ss]
Description
Selects the start date or time. Default is current date or time 0.
Selects the end date or time. Default is current date or time 23:59:59.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 247
Chapter 10: Command Line Interface Utilities viewassethistory
Option
-sec |-min |-hrs |-days x
-desc |-asc
-all
-max x
Description
Selects events x seconds, minutes, hours, or days since the start time or before the end time; if -start or -end is not specified, the default is since current time.
For example:
-start 10/02/2008 -days 2
Displays 2 days of events, starting Oct 2 00:00:00 and ending 2 days later, on Oct 3
23:59:59.
-end 10/15/2008 -days 4
Displays 4 days of events, starting on 10/11/2008 00:00:00 and ending on 10/15/2008
23:59:59.
-days 4
Display events starting 4 days earlier up to current time.
Specifies sort order.
•
Default is descending create time (newest first).
•
Use ascending to sort by create time (oldest first).
Displays all records in the system.
Caution: Operation could be lengthy depending on the size of the system.
Note: If -all or -max is not specified, the default is 1000 records.
Specifies maximum number of records to retrieve.
Note: If -all or -max is not specified, the default is 1000 records.
viewassethistory Display Options
Option
-nohdr
-formNameValue
-perform
-byalias
-csv
-bycollective
Description
Suppresses display of format header.
Displays in AttributeName=Value format.
Displays statistics such as elapsed time and number of records.
Displays output using the component alias instead of the ObjectPath. If a user-defined alias has been configured, it displays.
Saves the information in CSV (comma separated value) format to be viewed in a spreadsheet.
Displays alert information grouped by one collective at a time. You cannot use -bycollective if you designate specific components.
248 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 10: Command Line Interface Utilities viewassethistory
viewassethistory Filter Options
Option
-type=chassisType[,...]
-model=modelName[,...]
-assetnames=assetName[,...]
-propunit=propertyUnit[,...]
-propname=propertyName[,...]
-propvalue=propertyValue[,...]
-objectClass=objectClassName[,...]
-systemID=systemIDNumber[,...]
-collectiveID=collectiveIDNumber[,...]
-cabinetID=cabinetIDNumber[,...]
-chassisID=chassisIDNumber[,...]
-siteID=siteIDName[,...]
Description
Selects records with the specified chassis types.
Selects records with the specified model names.
Selects records with the specified asset names.
Selects records with matching property units.
Selects records with matching property names.
Selects records with matching property values.
Selects records associated with the object class names. To determine the class name, look at the first part of the component ID.
Example: If the component ID is
CMIC_5500J.SystemID=1,CollectiveID=400,CabinetID=1,ID=6, the class name is CMIC_5500J.
Selects records associated with the system ID numbers.
If you identify multiple system ID numbers, you cannot specify collective IDs, cabinet IDs, or chassis IDs.
Selects records associated with the collective ID numbers.
If you identify multiple collective ID numbers, you cannot specify cabinet IDs or chassis IDs.
Selects records associated with the cabinet ID numbers.
If you identify multiple cabinet ID numbers, you cannot specify chassis IDs.
Selects events associated with the chassis ID numbers.
Selects events associated with a Site ID. This option is not needed for domains with only one Site ID.
Selects events that do not have an associated Site ID.
-unassignedsiteID
viewassethistory Examples
•
To list all asset records in the system:
viewassethistory -all
•
To list asset records for all records logged on 8/19/2009:
viewassethistory -start 8/19/2009 -days 1
•
To list asset records where property unit value is volts and chassis type is cmic:
viewassethistory -propUnit=volts -type=cmic
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 249
Chapter 10: Command Line Interface Utilities viewassethistory
•
To list asset records where system ID is 1, cabinet ID is 300, and chassis ID type is either
203 or 204:
viewassethistory -sys=1 -cab=300 -chas=203,204
•
To list all asset records in the system, one collective at a time:
viewassethistory -all -bycollective
•
To list all asset records from system 1, collectives 3 through 5, one collective at a time:
viewassethistory -all -sys=1 -coll=3-5 -bycollective
•
To list all asset records where the Site ID is “PROD1” or is unassigned:
viewassethistory -siteid=PROD1 -unassignedsiteid
250 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 10: Command Line Interface Utilities viewevents
viewevents
This command captures a particular time frame of events, retrieves them from the
Consolidated Event Log, and displays them to the screen. To redirect the command output to a text file, type the following after the command: “> myout.txt”. The output file can then be viewed, searched, or printed using a text editor. System problem events can be captured and then forwarded to Customer Services for further analysis.
Related Topics
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
viewevents Syntax
viewevents -h[elp] | [components] [timeOptions] [displayOptions] [filterOptions]
viewevents -monitor [components] [monitorOptions] [filterOptions]
viewevents -id {eventGUID} [-sequence sequencenumber]
viewevents Options
Option
-h[elp]
-id
{eventGUID} components
Description
Displays help for this command.
Displays event details for the event specified by {eventGUID}; using the timesequence option speeds up event retrieval.
Unique ID that identifies an event.
Unique ID of the component or components whose events you want to display. The unique ID can be a Component ID, default alias, or user-defined alias. If no Component IDs or aliases are specified, events for the system display.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 251
Chapter 10: Command Line Interface Utilities viewevents
viewevents Time Options
Option Description
-start [mm/dd/yyyy] [hh:mm:ss] Selects start date or time. Default is current date or time 0.
-end [mm/dd/yyyy] [hh:mm:ss]
-sec|-min|-hrs|-days x
-desc|-asc
Selects end date or time. Default is current date or time 23:59:59.
Selects events x seconds, minutes, hours, or days since the start time or before the end time; if -start or -end is not specified, the default is since current time.
For example:
-start 10/02/2008 -days 2
Displays 2 days of events, starting Oct 2 00:00:00 and ending 2 days later, on Oct 3
23:59:59.
-end 10/15/2008 -days 4
Displays 4 days of events, starting on 10/11/2008 00:00:00 and ending on 10/15/2008
23:59:59.
-days 4
Displays events starting 4 days earlier up to current time.
Specifies sort order.
•
Default is descending time (newest first).
•
Ascending time is oldest first.
-all
-max x
-sequence <sequencenumber>
Displays all events in the system.
Caution: Operation could be lengthy depending on the size of the system.
Note: If -all or -max is not specified, the default is 1000 events.
Specifies maximum number of events to retrieve.
Note: If -all or -max is not specified, the default is 1000 events.
Adding the time sequence number speeds up event retrieval
viewevents Display Options
Option
-detail
-nohdr
-formNameValue
-perform
-byalias
-csv
-xml
Description
Displays detailed event data.
Suppresses display of format header.
Displays in AttributeName=Value format.
Displays statistics such as elapsed time and number of records.
Displays output using the component alias instead of the ObjectPath. If a user-defined alias has been configured, it displays.
Saves the information in CSV (comma separated value) format to be viewed in a spreadsheet.
Displays alert information in xml format.
252 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 10: Command Line Interface Utilities viewevents
Option
-format filename
-bycollective
Description
Displays event information according to the format file filename.
viewevents recognizes the following macros in the format file:
{eventGUID}, {TimeStamp}, {TimeReceived}, {Sequence}, {ObjectPath}, {Severity},
{ReporterType}, {SubType}, {Source}, {MessageId}, {Description}, {Details}, {BinaryData},
{Domain}, {ManagedElementAlias}, {SystemID}, {CollectiveID}, {CabinetID}, {ChassisID}
Surround brackets with single quotes; represent a true single quote with two single quotes.
For example, {‘This is a sample’} is represented as ‘{‘‘‘This is a sample.’’’}’ in the format file.
Displays event information grouped by one collective at a time. You cannot use -bycollective if you designate specific components.
viewevents Filter Options
Option Description
-reporterType={MPP_StatusEvent |
MPP_ConfigChangeEvent | MPP_CommandEvent |
MPP_SnmpTrap | MPP_BynetDPEvent |
MPP_ApplicationEvent | MPP_Alert |
MPP_WinLog | MPP_UNIXLog | MPP_DeviceLog |
MPP_SiteActivity} [,.]
-subType=subTypeName[,...]
-domain=domainName
-severity={Unknown | OK | Info | Warning |
Degraded | Critical | Fatal | x-y} [,.]
Selects event reporter types.
Selects events with the specified subType names.
Selects events associated with domain names.
Selects the first letter of one or more severity names or a range, x to y, between 0 and 6.
Selects one or more events with matching MessageIDs.
-msgID=msgID[,.]
-objectClass=objectClassName [,.]
-systemID=systemIDName [,.]
-collectiveID=collectiveIDName [,.]
-cabinetID=cabinetIDName [,.]
-chassisID=chassisIDName
Selects one or more events associated with objectClassNames.
The classname is determined by looking at the first part of the component ID.
Selects one or more events associated with systemIDNames. *
Selects one or more events associated with collectiveIDs. *
Selects one or more events associated with cabinetIDNames. *
Selects events associated with chassisIDNames. *
-siteID=siteIDName[,...] Selects events associated with a Site ID. This option is not needed for domains with only one Site ID.
Selects events without an associated Site ID.
-unassignedsiteID
* Note: If a system, collective, cabinet, or chassis has more than one component, you cannot specify any further granularity.
For example, ViewEvents -sys=1 -coll=200 -cab=1,2,3 is valid, ViewEvents -sys=1 -coll=200, 300 is valid, but ViewEvents -
sys=1 -coll=200,300 -cab=1 is not valid.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 253
Chapter 10: Command Line Interface Utilities viewevents
viewevents Monitor Options
Option
-monitor
Description
Monitors the database for new events and displays them. The following options are not supported: -start, -end, -sec, -min, -hrs, -days, -active, -desc, -asc, -seq, -detail, -perform, and -id.
To exit the command, enter ctrl+C.
Refresh rate in seconds; use with -monitor. The default is 10 seconds; the minimum is 5 seconds.
-refreshRate x
viewevents Examples
•
To list all events in a system:
viewevents
•
To show event details for all events logged on 8/19/2009:
viewevents -start 8/19/2009 -days 1 -detail
•
To show event details for a specific event with a matching event ID:
viewevents -id {175CC646-8CC3-11d3-84FD-00E029103BC7}
•
To list events with a reporter type of MPP_WinLog, a severity of Warning or Degraded, and domain of Node:
viewevents -rep=MPP_WinLog -dom=node -sev=W,D
•
To list events where systetmID=1 or systemID=2, cabinetID=300, and chassisID=203 or chassisID=204:
viewevents -sys=1 -cab=300 -chas=203,204
•
To listen for new events:
viewevents -monitor
•
To list all events in the system, one collective at a time:
viewevents -all -bycollective
•
To list all events from system 1, collectives 3 through 5, one collective at a time:
viewevents -all -sys=1 -coll=3-5 -bycollective
•
To list all events where the Site ID is “PROD1” or is unassigned:
viewevents -siteid=PROD1 -unassignedsiteid
254 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 10: Command Line Interface Utilities viewmeasurementhistory
viewmeasurementhistory
This command displays measurement records retrieved from server management. It displays
(or outputs to a file) measurement information for chassis that have measurement history.
Invoking this command with a system, collective, or cabinet component retrieves measurement history for all chassis contained in that system, collective, or cabinet that have measurement history.
Related Topics
•
•
viewmeasurementhistory Options
•
viewmeasurementhistory Time Options
•
viewmeasurementhistory Display Options
•
viewmeasurementhistory Filter Options
•
viewmeasurementhistory Examples
viewmeasurementhistory Syntax
viewmeasurementhistory -h[elp] | [components] [timeOptions] [displayOptions]
[filterOptions]
viewmeasurementhistory Options
Option
-h[elp]
components
Description
Displays help for this command.
Unique ID of the component or components whose history records you want to display. The unique ID can be a Component ID, default alias, or user-defined alias. If no Component IDs or aliases are specified, records for the system display.
Components can be at the system, collective, cabinet, or chassis level.
viewmeasurementhistory Time Options
Option
-start [mm/dd/yyyy] [hh:mm:ss]
-end [mm/dd/yyyy] [hh:mm:ss]
Description
Selects start date or time. Default is current date or time 0.
Selects end date or time. Default is current date or time 23:59:59.
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 255
Chapter 10: Command Line Interface Utilities viewmeasurementhistory
Option
-sec |-min |-hrs |-days x
-desc |-asc
-all
-max x
Description
Selects events x seconds, minutes, hours, or days since the start time or before the end time; if -start or -end is not specified, the default is since current time.
For example:
-start 10/02/2008 -days 2
Displays 2 days of events, starting Oct 2 00:00:00 and ending 2 days later, on Oct 3
23:59:59.
-end 10/15/2008 -days 4
Displays 4 days of events, starting on 10/11/2008 00:00:00 and ending on 10/15/
2008 23:59:59.
-days 4
Displays events starting 4 days earlier up to current time.
Specifies sort order.
•
Default is descending create time (newest first).
•
Use ascending to sort by create time (oldest first).
Displays all events in the system.
Caution: Operation could be lengthy depending on the size of the system.
Note: If -all or -max is not specified, the default is 1000 records.
Specifies maximum number of events to retrieve.
Note: If -all or -max is not specified, the default is 1000 records.
viewmeasurementhistory Display Options
Option
-nohdr
-formNameValue
-perform
-byalias
-csv
-bycollective
Description
Suppresses display of format header.
Displays in AttributeName=Value format.
Displays statistics such as elapsed time and number of records.
Displays output using the component alias instead of the ObjectPath. If a user-defined alias has been configured, it displays.
Saves the information in CSV (comma separated value) format to be viewed in a spreadsheet.
Displays measurement information grouped by one collective at a time. You cannot use bycollective if you designate specific components.
viewmeasurementhistory Filter Options
Option
-type=chassisType[,...]
Description
Selects records with the specified chassis types.
256 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Chapter 10: Command Line Interface Utilities viewmeasurementhistory
Option
-model=modelName[,...]
-propunit=propertyUnit[,...]
-propname=propertyName[,...]
-propvalue=propertyValue[,...]
-objectClass=objectClassName[,...]
-systemID=systemIDNumber[,...]
-collectiveID=collectiveIDNumber[,...]
-cabinetID=cabinetIDNumber[,...]
-chassisID=chassisIDNumber[,...]
-siteID=siteIDName[,...]
Description
Selects records with the specified model names.
Selects records with matching property units.
Selects records with matching property names.
Selects records with matching property values.
Selects records associated with the object class names. To determine the class name, look at the first part of the component ID.
Example: If the component ID is
CMIC_5500J.SystemID=1,CollectiveID=400,CabinetID=1,ID=6, the class name is CMIC_5500J.
Selects records associated with the system ID numbers.
If you identify multiple system ID numbers, you cannot specify collective
IDs, cabinet IDs, or chassis IDs.
Selects records associated with the collective ID numbers.
If you identify multiple collective ID numbers, you cannot specify cabinet
IDs or chassis IDs.
Selects records associated with the cabinet ID numbers.
If you identify multiple cabinet ID numbers, you cannot specify chassis IDs.
Selects events associated with the chassis ID numbers.
Selects events associated with a Site ID. This option is not needed for domains with only one Site ID.
Selects events that do not have an associated Site ID.
-unassignedsiteID
viewmeasurementhistory Examples
•
To list all measurement records in the system:
viewmeasurementhistory -all
•
To list measurement records for all records logged on 8/19/2009:
viewmeasurementhistory -start 8/19/2009 -days 1
•
To list measurement records where property unit value is volts and chassis type is cmic:
viewmeasurementhistory -propUnit=volts -type=cmic
•
To list measurement records where system ID is 1, cabinet ID is 300, and chassis ID type is either 203 or 204:
viewmeasurementhistory -sys=1 -cab=300 -chas=203,204
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide 257
Chapter 10: Command Line Interface Utilities viewmeasurementhistory
•
To list all measurement records in the system, one collective at a time:
viewmeasurementhistory -all -bycollective
•
To list all measurement records from system 1, collectives 3 through 5, one collective at a time:
viewmeasurementhistory -all -sys=1 -coll=3-5 -bycollective
•
To list all measurement records where the Site ID is “PROD1” or is unassigned:
viewassethistory -siteid=PROD1 -unassignedsiteid
258 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Index
A
accessing
adding
address book
organizing and managing entries 174 saving connections 174
alert escalation test
Alert Viewer
rearranging columns 85 saving contents 85
alert viewer
Alert Viewer Options dialog box 80
alerts
clearing summary alert bundle 75
displaying on Summary Viewer 71
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
setting summary viewer display options 71
viewing details from Summary Alert Viewer 76
aliases
autogenerating 33 configuring 33
asset history
asset information
Asset Information View window 104
Asset Information View window 104
assets
attaching a device to a VM 222
authentication
AWS
B
backing up
baselines
batteries
changing installation dates 199
259
Index
browsers
C
cabinet
Cabinet Windows
setting display options 93, 95
chassis
Chassis Layout View command 99
checking
clearing
Client Connections Window 148, 160
saving connections to address book 174
closing
260
terminal window connections 165
CMIC
CMIC Measurement Database 113, 120
collapsing
Collective Management View command 26
Collective Management window 56
collectives
columns
Command Line Interface
commands
forcing after Power Check failure 206
selecting multiple components 42, 43
components
connecting from address book 170
FRU Replace Procedure window 191
powering on and off in CLI 240
tracking asset information 103
tracking measurement information 113
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Index
Connect command
connecting
to components from address book 170
to components in Tree View 142
to Disk Array Controller 148 to Ethernet switch 148 to Fibre Channel switch 148
connecting to components
connections
Connections Manager
sending commands to multiple hosts 166
D
databases
deselecting
device
diagnostic tests
directories
display options
on Client Connections Window 169
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
displaying
drive
marking failed from SMClient 219
E
editing
Ethernet switches
Event Viewer
changing columns 65 commands 65
rearranging columns 65 saving contents 65
searching for site log entries 186
events
expanding
F
failover
features
Fibre Channel switches
Find command
261
Index
firmware
displaying versions in CLI 243
flashing Ethernet Switches 198
flashing Fibre Channel Switches 197
flashing from Firmware Version Checker 192
Firmware Version Checker
Firmware Version Checker window 193
FRU Replace Procedure window 191
G
generating
graphs
groups
access to Command Line Interface 227
H
hardware
health
help
Home page
I
icons
arranging in Cabinet Windows 97
Cabinet Windows 96 selecting in Cabinet Windows 96
image
262
K
key alerts
L
LED
M
main window
Maintenance window
managing
measurement graphs
measurement history
measurement information
Measurement Information View window 115
Measurement Information command 113
Measurement Information View window 115
measurements
memory
menu bar
menus
migrating
multiple components
Multi-Select Command description 42
N
network
using SMClient when network is done 221
new features
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
New Site Activity Entry dialog box 184
node memory
nodes
numbering
O
opening
options
on Client Connections Window 168
Options command
organizing
P
pausing
Power Check
forcing commands after failure 206
power consumption graphs
power failure
powering off
cabinet 207 chassis 207 system 207
powering on
cabinet 208 chassis 208 system 208
Predefined Queries commands
properties
Q
queries
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
R
recording
recovering
release
replacing
resetting
responding
restarting
restoring
S
saving
connections to address book 174
selecting
sending
commands to multiple hosts 166
setting
Client Connections window display options 169
Client Connections window options 168
setting display options
setting up
settings
severity
Index
263
Index
ShowFirmwareVersion command 243
site activity
recording in site log 186 searching in Event Viewer 186
site IDs
SMClient
SMWeb
Home page access from non-SOV-Enabled CMIC 20
software
SOV failover
SQL statement
SSH keys
SSH/SFTP
states
status
Summary Alert Viewer
264
display options 71 displaying 71
filtering 74 hiding or displaying 74
Summary Alert Viewer command 26
support bundles
collecting 203 downloading 203
switches
system
System Asset Baseline command
systems
T
Telnet
temperature graphs
terminal windows
hiding/displaying 161 modifying display 161 opening 161
reconnecting to 164 saving open connections 164
testing
tracking
Tree View
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Index
changing component display name 32
component names 30 component numbering 30
deselecting components 28 expanding and collapsing 28
locating components from Alert Viewer 85
locating components from Event Viewer 65
U
upgrading
UPS
flashing Powerware firmware 197
UPS Input Selector Test command 214
UPS Power Cable Test command 209
V
View Measurement Graph commands 120
View Measurement History command 116
View Measurement History window 118
viewing
viewing connection properties 163
ViewMeasurementHistory command 255
VM
VMS
Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
X
265
Index
266 Teradata Server Management Web Services User Guide
Télécharger
Publicité