Avid iNews iNews Command 3.0 Guide
Werbung
Werbung
Avid
®
iNEWS
®
Command
Administration Guide
Legal Notices
Product specifications are subject to change without notice and do not represent a commitment on the part of Avid Technology,
Inc.
The software described in this document is furnished under a license agreement. You can obtain a copy of that license by visiting Avid's Web site at www.avid.com
. The terms of that license are also available in the product in the same directory as the software. The software may not be reverse assembled and may be used or copied only in accordance with the terms of the license agreement. It is against the law to copy the software on any medium except as specifically allowed in the license agreement.
Avid products or portions thereof are protected by one or more of the following United States Patents: 4,970,663; 5,267,351;
5,309,528; 5,355,450; 5,396,594; 5,440,348; 5,467,288; 5,513,375; 5,528,310; 5,557,423; 5,577,190; 5,584,006; 5,640,601;
5,644,364; 5,654,737; 5,715,018; 5,719,570; 5,724,605; 5,726,717; 5,729,673; 5,745,637; 5,752,029; 5,754,851; 5,799,150;
5,812,216; 5,828,678; 5,842,014; 5,852,435; 5,999,406; 6,038,573; 6,061,758; 6,141,007; 6,211,869; 6,532,043; 6,546,190;
6,596,031; 6,636,869; 6,747,705; 6,763,523; 6,766,357; 6,813,622; 6,847,373; 7,081,900; RE40,107; 7,403,561; 7,433,519;
D352,278; D372,478; D373,778; D392,267; D392,268; D392,269; D395,291; D396,853; D398,912.
Other patents are pending.
This document is protected under copyright law. An authorized licensee of Avid iNEWS Command may reproduce this publication for the licensee’s own use in learning how to use the software. This document may not be reproduced or distributed, in whole or in part, for commercial purposes, such as selling copies of this document or providing support or educational services to others. This document is supplied as a guide for Avid iNEWS Command. Reasonable care has been taken in preparing the information it contains. However, this document may contain omissions, technical inaccuracies, or typographical errors. Avid Technology, Inc. does not accept responsibility of any kind for customers’ losses due to the use of this document. Product specifications are subject to change without notice.
Copyright © 2012 Avid Technology, Inc. and its licensors. All rights reserved.
The following disclaimer is required by Apple Computer, Inc.:
APPLE COMPUTER, INC. MAKES NO WARRANTIES WHATSOEVER, EITHER EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, REGARDING
THIS PRODUCT, INCLUDING WARRANTIES WITH RESPECT TO ITS MERCHANTABILITY OR ITS FITNESS FOR ANY
PARTICULAR PURPOSE. THE EXCLUSION OF IMPLIED WARRANTIES IS NOT PERMITTED BY SOME STATES. THE
ABOVE EXCLUSION MAY NOT APPLY TO YOU. THIS WARRANTY PROVIDES YOU WITH SPECIFIC LEGAL RIGHTS.
THERE MAY BE OTHER RIGHTS THAT YOU MAY HAVE WHICH VARY FROM STATE TO STATE.
The following disclaimer is required by Sam Leffler and Silicon Graphics, Inc. for the use of their TIFF library:
Copyright © 1988–1997 Sam Leffler
Copyright © 1991–1997 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
Permission to use, copy, modify, distribute, and sell this software [i.e., the TIFF library] and its documentation for any purpose is hereby granted without fee, provided that (i) the above copyright notices and this permission notice appear in all copies of the software and related documentation, and (ii) the names of Sam Leffler and Silicon Graphics may not be used in any advertising or publicity relating to the software without the specific, prior written permission of Sam Leffler and Silicon
Graphics.
THE SOFTWARE IS PROVIDED “AS-IS” AND WITHOUT WARRANTY OF ANY KIND, EXPRESS, IMPLIED OR
OTHERWISE, INCLUDING WITHOUT LIMITATION, ANY WARRANTY OF MERCHANTABILITY OR FITNESS FOR A
PARTICULAR PURPOSE.
IN NO EVENT SHALL SAM LEFFLER OR SILICON GRAPHICS BE LIABLE FOR ANY SPECIAL, INCIDENTAL, INDIRECT
OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES OF ANY KIND, OR ANY DAMAGES WHATSOEVER RESULTING FROM LOSS OF USE,
DATA OR PROFITS, WHETHER OR NOT ADVISED OF THE POSSIBILITY OF DAMAGE, AND ON ANY THEORY OF
LIABILITY, ARISING OUT OF OR IN CONNECTION WITH THE USE OR PERFORMANCE OF THIS SOFTWARE.
The following disclaimer is required by the Independent JPEG Group:
This software is based in part on the work of the Independent JPEG Group.
This Software may contain components licensed under the following conditions:
Copyright (c) 1989 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
2
Redistribution and use in source and binary forms are permitted provided that the above copyright notice and this paragraph are duplicated in all such forms and that any documentation, advertising materials, and other materials related to such distribution and use acknowledge that the software was developed by the University of California, Berkeley. The name of the
University may not be used to endorse or promote products derived from this software without specific prior written permission. THIS SOFTWARE IS PROVIDED ``AS IS'' AND WITHOUT ANY EXPRESS OR IMPLIED WARRANTIES,
INCLUDING, WITHOUT LIMITATION, THE IMPLIED WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY AND FITNESS FOR A
PARTICULAR PURPOSE.
Copyright (C) 1989, 1991 by Jef Poskanzer.
Permission to use, copy, modify, and distribute this software and its documentation for any purpose and without fee is hereby granted, provided that the above copyright notice appear in all copies and that both that copyright notice and this permission notice appear in supporting documentation. This software is provided "as is" without express or implied warranty.
Copyright 1995, Trinity College Computing Center. Written by David Chappell.
Permission to use, copy, modify, and distribute this software and its documentation for any purpose and without fee is hereby granted, provided that the above copyright notice appear in all copies and that both that copyright notice and this permission notice appear in supporting documentation. This software is provided "as is" without express or implied warranty.
Copyright 1996 Daniel Dardailler.
Permission to use, copy, modify, distribute, and sell this software for any purpose is hereby granted without fee, provided that the above copyright notice appear in all copies and that both that copyright notice and this permission notice appear in supporting documentation, and that the name of Daniel Dardailler not be used in advertising or publicity pertaining to distribution of the software without specific, written prior permission. Daniel Dardailler makes no representations about the suitability of this software for any purpose. It is provided "as is" without express or implied warranty.
Modifications Copyright 1999 Matt Koss, under the same license as above.
Copyright (c) 1991 by AT&T.
Permission to use, copy, modify, and distribute this software for any purpose without fee is hereby granted, provided that this entire notice is included in all copies of any software which is or includes a copy or modification of this software and in all copies of the supporting documentation for such software.
THIS SOFTWARE IS BEING PROVIDED "AS IS", WITHOUT ANY EXPRESS OR IMPLIED WARRANTY. IN PARTICULAR,
NEITHER THE AUTHOR NOR AT&T MAKES ANY REPRESENTATION OR WARRANTY OF ANY KIND CONCERNING THE
MERCHANTABILITY OF THIS SOFTWARE OR ITS FITNESS FOR ANY PARTICULAR PURPOSE.
This product includes software developed by the University of California, Berkeley and its contributors.
The following disclaimer is required by Nexidia Inc.:
© 2006 Nexidia. All rights reserved.
Manufactured under license from the Georgia Tech Research Corporation, U.S.A. Patent Pending.
The following disclaimer is required by Paradigm Matrix:
Portions of this software licensed from Paradigm Matrix.
The following disclaimer is required by Ray Sauers Associates, Inc.:
“Install-It” is licensed from Ray Sauers Associates, Inc. End-User is prohibited from taking any action to derive a source code equivalent of “Install-It,” including by reverse assembly or reverse compilation, Ray Sauers Associates, Inc. shall in no event be liable for any damages resulting from reseller’s failure to perform reseller’s obligation; or any damages arising from use or operation of reseller’s products or the software; or any other damages, including but not limited to, incidental, direct, indirect, special or consequential Damages including lost profits, or damages resulting from loss of use or inability to use reseller’s products or the software for any reason including copyright or patent infringement, or lost data, even if Ray Sauers Associates has been advised, knew or should have known of the possibility of such damages.
The following disclaimer is required by Videomedia, Inc.:
“Videomedia, Inc. makes no warranties whatsoever, either express or implied, regarding this product, including warranties with respect to its merchantability or its fitness for any particular purpose.”
“This software contains V-LAN ver. 3.0 Command Protocols which communicate with V-LAN ver. 3.0 products developed by
Videomedia, Inc. and V-LAN ver. 3.0 compatible products developed by third parties under license from Videomedia, Inc. Use of this software will allow “frame accurate” editing control of applicable videotape recorder decks, videodisc recorders/players and the like.”
3
The following disclaimer is required by Altura Software, Inc. for the use of its Mac2Win software and Sample
Source Code:
©1993–1998 Altura Software, Inc.
The following disclaimer is required by Ultimatte Corporation:
Certain real-time compositing capabilities are provided under a license of such technology from Ultimatte Corporation and are subject to copyright protection.
The following disclaimer is required by 3Prong.com Inc.:
Certain waveform and vector monitoring capabilities are provided under a license from 3Prong.com Inc.
The following disclaimer is required by Interplay Entertainment Corp.:
The “Interplay” name is used with the permission of Interplay Entertainment Corp., which bears no responsibility for Avid products.
This product includes portions of the Alloy Look & Feel software from Incors GmbH.
This product includes software developed by the Apache Software Foundation (http://www.apache.org/ ).
© DevelopMentor
This product may include the JCifs library, for which the following notice applies:
JCifs © Copyright 2004, The JCIFS Project, is licensed under LGPL (http://jcifs.samba.org/ ). See the LGPL.txt file in the Third
Party Software directory on the installation CD.
Avid Interplay contains components licensed from LavanTech. These components may only be used as part of and in connection with Avid Interplay.
Attn. Government User(s). Restricted Rights Legend
U.S. GOVERNMENT RESTRICTED RIGHTS. This Software and its documentation are “commercial computer software” or
“commercial computer software documentation.” In the event that such Software or documentation is acquired by or on behalf of a unit or agency of the U.S. Government, all rights with respect to this Software and documentation are subject to the terms of the License Agreement, pursuant to FAR §12.212(a) and/or DFARS §227.7202-1(a), as applicable.
Trademarks
003, 192 Digital I/O, 192XD I/O, 888 I/O, Adrenaline, AirPlay, AirSPACE, AirSPACE HD, AirSpeed, ALEX, Alienbrain, AniMatte,
AudioMarket, AudioPages, AudioSuite, AudioVision, AutoSync, Avid, Avid Advanced Response, Avid DNA, Avid DNxcel,
Avid DNxHD, AVIDdrive, Avid DS Assist Station, Avid EditStar, Avid Learning Excellerator, Avid Liquid,
Avid Liquid Chrome Xe, Avid MEDIArray, Avid Mojo, AvidNet, AvidNetwork, Avid NewStar, Avid Remote Response,
AVIDstripe, Avid Unity, Avid Unity ISIS, Avid VideoRAID, Avid Xpress, AVoption, AVX, Beauty Without The Bandwidth,
Blacktooth, Boom, C|24, CamCutter, CaptureManager, ChromaCurve, ChromaWheel, Command|24, Conectiv, CountDown,
DAE, Dazzle, Dazzle Digital Video Creator, Deko, DekoCast, D-Fi, D-fx, DigiDelivery, Digidesign, Digidesign Audio Engine,
Digidesign Intelligent Noise Reduction, DigiDrive, DigiLink, DigiMeter, DigiSerial, Digital Nonlinear Accelerator, DigiTranslator,
DINR, DNxchange, do more, DVD Complete, D-Verb, Eleven, Equinox, EveryPhase, ExpertRender, Fastbreak, Fast Track,
FieldPak, Film Composer, FilmScribe, Flexevent, FluidMotion, FXDeko, G7, G-Rack, HD Core, HD Process, HDPack,
Hollywood DV-Bridge, Hybrid, HyperControl, HyperSPACE, HyperSPACE HDCAM, IllusionFX, Image Independence, iNEWS, iNEWS Assign, iNEWS ControlAir, Instantwrite, Instinct, Intelli-sat Broadcasting Recording Manager, Intelli-Sat, InterFX,
Interplay, inTONE, Intraframe, iS9, iS18, iS23, iS36, ISIS, IsoSync, KeyRig, KeyStudio, LaunchPad, LeaderPlus, Lightning,
ListSync, Lo-Fi, Magic Mask, Make Anything Hollywood, make manage move | media, Marquee, M-Audio, M-Audio Micro,
Maxim, Mbox, MCXpress, Media Browse, Media Composer, MediaDock, MediaDock Shuttle, Media Fusion, Media Illusion,
MediaLog, Media Reader, Media Recorder, MEDIArray, MediaShare, MediaStream, Media Suite, Meridien, MetaFuze,
MetaSync, MicroTrack, Midiman, MissionControl, Mix Rack, MixLab, Moviebox, Moviestar, NaturalMatch, Nearchive,
NetReview, NewsCutter, Nitris, NRV-10 interFX, Octane, OMF, OMF Interchange, OMM, OnDVD, Open Media Framework,
Open Media Management, Palladium, Pinnacle, Pinnacle DistanTV, Pinnacle Geniebox, Pinnacle HomeMusic,
Pinnacle MediaSuite, Pinnacle Mobile Media, Pinnacle PCTV, Pinnacle PCTV HD Ultimate Stick, Pinnacle PCTV Nano Stick,
Pinnacle PCTV To Go, Pinnacle Scorefitter, Pinnacle Studio, Pinnacle Studio MovieBoard, Pinnacle Systems, Pinnacle
VideoSpin, ProEncode, ProServices, ProSessions, Pro Tools, QuietDrive, Recti-Fi, Reel Tape Delay, Reel Tape Flanger,
Reel Tape Saturation, RetroLoop, rS9, rS18, Salesview, Sci-Fi, Scorch, Scorefitter, ScriptSync,
SecureProductionEnvironment, Session, Show Center, Sibelius, SIDON, Soft SampleCell, Soft-Clip Limiter,
Sound Designer II, SPACE, SPACEShift, SpectraGraph, SpectraMatte, Starplay, SteadyGlide, Streamfactory, Streamgenie,
StreamRAID, Strike, Structure, Studiophile, SubCap, Sundance Digital, Sundance, Symphony, SYNC HD, SynchroScience,
4
SynchroScope, Syntax, Targa, TDM FlexCable, Thunder, Titan, Titansync, TL Aggro, TL AutoPan, TL Drum Rehab,
TL Everyphase, TL Fauxlder, TL In Tune, TL MasterMeter, TL Metro, TL Space, TL Utilities, Torq, Torq Xponent, Transfuser,
Trigger Finger, Trillium Lane Labs, TruTouch, UnityRAID, Vari-Fi, Velvet, Venom, VideoRAID, Video Slave Driver, VideoSPACE,
VideoSpin, Vortx, Xdeck, X-Form, Xmon, Xponent, X-Session, and X-Session Pro are either registered trademarks or trademarks of Avid Technology, Inc. in the United States and/or other countries.
Footage
Arri — Courtesy of Arri/Fauer — John Fauer, Inc.
Bell South “Anticipation” — Courtesy of Two Headed Monster — Tucker/Wayne Atlanta/GMS.
Canyonlands — Courtesy of the National Park Service/Department of the Interior.
Eco Challenge British Columbia — Courtesy of Eco Challenge Lifestyles, Inc., All Rights Reserved.
Eco Challenge Morocco — Courtesy of Discovery Communications, Inc.
It’s Shuttletime — Courtesy of BCP & Canadian Airlines.
Nestlé Coffee Crisp — Courtesy of MacLaren McCann Canada.
Saturn “Calvin Egg” — Courtesy of Cossette Communications.
“Tigers: Tracking a Legend” — Courtesy of www.wildlifeworlds.com
, Carol Amore, Executive Producer.
"The Big Swell" — Courtesy of Swell Pictures, Inc.
Windhorse — Courtesy of Paul Wagner Productions.
Arizona Images — KNTV Production — Courtesy of Granite Broadcasting, Inc.,
Editor/Producer Bryan Foote.
Canyonlands — Courtesy of the National Park Service/Department of the Interior.
Ice Island — Courtesy of Kurtis Productions, Ltd.
Tornados + Belle Isle footage — Courtesy of KWTV News 9.
WCAU Fire Story — Courtesy of NBC-10, Philadelphia, PA.
Women in Sports – Paragliding — Courtesy of Legendary Entertainment, Inc.
News material provided by WFTV Television Inc.
GOT FOOTAGE?
Editors — Filmmakers — Special Effects Artists — Game Developers — Animators — Educators — Broadcasters — Content creators of every genre — Just finished an incredible project and want to share it with the world?
Send us your reels and we may use your footage in our show reel or demo!*
For a copy of our release and Avid’s mailing address, go to www.avid.com/footage .
*Note: Avid cannot guarantee the use of materials submitted.
Avid iNEWS Command v3.0 Administrator’s Guide • 9329-65222-00 • Created 4/12/12 • This document is distributed by Avid in online (electronic) form only, and is not available for purchase in printed form.
5
6
Contents
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13
Command with Avid Deko Overview . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 16
Disabling a Command Workstation’s Keyboard . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 25
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 27
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 39
7
Configuring Command for MOS Redirection . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 66
Enabling Mark In Points from Avid iNEWS . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 80
Enabling Loop Count from Avid iNEWS . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 81
Mapping Events to Actions for a GPI Panel . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 82
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 95
Standard Information to Include Regardless of Issue . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 97
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 99
8
Using This Guide
Congratulations on your purchase of your Avid iNEWS Command system.
Avid iNEWS Command offers a considerable amount of functionality for the state-of-the-art newsroom, including newsroom system integration and playout control. With Command, newsroom personnel can easily create and manage playlists.
This publication provides information on how to administer the Command system.
n
The documentation describes the standard features of a basic system configuration.
Therefore, your system might contain certain features and hardware that are not covered in the documentation.
Symbols and Conventions
Avid documentation uses the following symbols and conventions:
>
Symbol or Convention Meaning or Action n c w
A note provides important related information, reminders, recommendations, and strong suggestions.
A caution means that a specific action you take could cause harm to your computer or cause you to lose data.
A warning describes an action that could cause you physical harm.
Follow the guidelines in this document or on the unit itself when handling electrical equipment.
This symbol indicates menu commands (and subcommands) in the order you select them. For example, File > Import means to open the
File menu and then select the Import command.
(Windows), (Windows only), (Macintosh), or
(Macintosh only)
This symbol indicates a single-step procedure. Multiple arrows in a list indicate that you perform one of the actions listed.
This text indicates that the information applies only to the specified operating system, either Windows or Macintosh OS X.
Symbol or Convention Meaning or Action
Bold font Bold font is primarily used in task instructions to identify user interface items and keyboard sequences.
Italic font
Courier Bold font
Italic font is used to emphasize certain words and to indicate variables.
Courier Bold font identifies text that you type.
Ctrl+key or mouse action Press and hold the first key while you press the last key or perform the mouse action. For example, Command+Option+C or Ctrl+drag.
If You Need Help
If you are having trouble using your Avid product:
1. Retry the action, carefully following the instructions given for that task in this guide. It is especially important to check each step of your workflow.
2. Check the latest information that might have become available after the documentation was published:
If the latest information for your Avid product is provided as printed release notes, they ship with your application and are also available online.
If the latest information for your Avid product is provided as a ReadMe file, it is supplied on your Avid installation CD or DVD as a PDF document
(README_ product .pdf) and is also available online.
You should always check online for the most up-to-date release notes or ReadMe because the online version is updated whenever new information becomes available.
To view these online versions, select ReadMe from the Help menu, or visit the Knowledge Base at www.avid.com/readme .
3. Check the documentation that came with your Avid application or your hardware for maintenance or hardware-related issues.
4. Visit the online Knowledge Base at www.avid.com/onlinesupport . Online services are available 24 hours per day, 7 days per week. Search this online Knowledge Base to find answers, to view error messages, to access troubleshooting tips, to download updates, and to read or join online message-board discussions.
How to Order Documentation
To order additional copies of this documentation from within the United States, call Avid
Sales at 800-949-AVID (800-949-2843). If you are placing an order from outside the United
States, contact your local Avid representative.
10
Avid Training Services
Avid Training Services
Avid makes lifelong learning, career advancement, and personal development easy and convenient. Avid understands that the knowledge you need to differentiate yourself is always changing, and Avid continually updates course content and offers new training delivery methods that accommodate your pressured and competitive work environment.
To learn about Avid's new online learning environment, Avid Learning Excellerator™
(ALEX), visit http://learn.avid.com
.
For information on courses/schedules, training centers, certifications, courseware, and books, please visit www.avid.com/training or call Avid Sales at 800-949-AVID
(800-949-2843).
11
12
1
Introduction to iNEWS Command
Avid iNEWS Command is a device automation system that integrates with any iNEWS or
MOS-enabled newsroom computer system (NRCS) and provides broadcasters precise control over a range of playout devices, including video servers, still stores, and character generators in a broadcast news environment. Backup services and mirrored playout make this system reliable while the user interface allows you to control multiple production devices. Avid iNEWS Command also works with Avid Service Framework applications and services to ensure you always have the best system performance.
This chapter contains the following main sections:
•
Overview of the System Architecture
-
-
•
Security via Administrator Password
•
Starting Command at a Workstation
•
Overview of the User Interface
1 Introduction to iNEWS Command
Overview of the System Architecture
The basic iNEWS Command system is comprised of iNEWS Command Servers, workstations that run the client software, and devices, such as Avid AirSpeed video servers,
Thunder production servers and Deko character generators. The system is designed to be an extension of your current Avid system. It allows you to receive playlists from Avid iNEWS while controlling your video and graphics devices. The iNEWS Command system supports industry standard protocols making it compatible with many other products.
For newscast control your iNEWS Command system provides automated playlists, tracks script changes, and automates control of production and playback devices including video servers, still stores, and character generators. It integrates with the iNEWS rundown—or any other MOS-enabled newsroom computer system—allowing a producer to change a show while it is on air, and reflecting those changes in their iNEWS Command system. MOS commands are supported so that journalists can use MOS plug-ins within the newsroom computer system script. Production playout devices, including Avid Deko and Avid Thunder on-air graphics solutions and AirSpeed video servers, are triggered based on the events in the rundown.
News graphic and text templates for news elements can include logos and station IDs, lower-third captions or superimposed graphics, and full-screen backgrounds with text.
Journalists, using iNEWS newsroom computer system, fill in the templates and insert them into their stories either manually, by using a macro, or by using the iNEWS Title Entry tool.
They may also include clips and stills in their script by entering the ID of the of the graphic in the story as a production cue. At air time an iNEWS Command operator triggers the graphics playlist, which is synchronized with the iNEWS rundown.
14
Overview of the System Architecture
Architecture and Workflow
Avid iNEWS Command is scalable and can adapt to work in traditional newsroom-based playlist creation to production-centric workflows where running orders are created inside the
Command Workstation. All of the components can run on a single computer, or they can be spread out across multiple computers with redundant services configured to take control if the primary services should become unavailable.
An example of a basic Command system architecture is shown in the following illustration:
In the most common news workflow, playlists are created using the iNEWS newsroom computer system and the video and graphic assets are referenced in stories using their IDs or by dragging and dropping them from an Active-X plugin.
Standalone playlists can be created and saved for later use. Multiple playlists can be embedded in a single running order. You can set assets within a playlist to playback at a specified time, or you can set groups of assets to play in follow-on mode.
15
1 Introduction to iNEWS Command
A basic workflow is shown in the following illustration:
Command with Avid Deko Overview
This section contains an overview of each component involved in a Command/Deko workflow and the main purpose each serves.
Component
DekoMOS Gateway
Avid iNEWS
Avid Deko Select
Avid iNEWS Command
Avid Deko
Description
• Defines Deko styles
• Equates channel number (1-9) with a MOS ID
• Provides inventory to the Avid Deko Select plugin in iNEWS
• SYSTEM.MOS-MAP equates the MOS ID with the channel group in
Command
• SYSTEM.MAP
associates the newsroom rundown with the channel group and assigns a style if it’s a Deko channel group
Used to choose the channel number and style for an item that is dragged into the newsroom rundown.
• Creates channel groups
• Configure styles to match those in an Avid Deko.
• Sends playout control commands to the Avid Deko device
• Inventory is copied from this device to the DekoMOS Gateway.
• Deko software provides graphics for on-air playout.
16
Overview of the System Architecture
Component (Continued)
DekoMOS Macro Server
Description (Continued)
• Gets style list from DekoMOS Gateway
• Sets style paths for replaceable, static graphics, motions, and so forth
• Sends inventory to the Inventory Manager in Command
Features
The Avid iNEWS Command system provides the features described in the following table.
Feature
Playlist Functionality
Manual and Automated
Triggering
Mirrored Playout
Advanced Playback Features
Flexible Integration
User Interface
Status Updates
Description
You can load a playlist from the newsroom computer system, or create the playlist manually within Avid iNEWS Command. This provides the flexibility to control event playout locally, at the desktop, or from a rundown. You can also embed playlists within other playlists, which allows for seamless transitions between shows or segments produced by separate editorial teams.
Items can be played back manually by the operator, via keyboard, X-keys, or
GPI. Items can also be played automatically, using the follow-on or looping playout setting. And a playlist can be set to start at a specified time of day.
This provides total integration with the facility, its systems, processes, and staff.
This allows a single Play command to initiate playback on two channels simultaneously. This functionality is essential for redundancy/failover operations.
These features include: autocue, play while record, and play while transfer.
You can configure the Avid iNEWS Command system to control any combination of supported video or graphics devices that are operating in an
Avid iNEWS, ENPS, or other MOS environment.
The intuitive user interface provides visual tools, including clocks that show time elapsed and time remaining, channel assignments for easy identification of transmission paths, and color-coded status indicators that illustrate the inventory of assets based on availability and playability on all devices. This improves operation, reduces training time, and ensures complete synchronization of devices with the playlist
Reflects playability status of inventory assets; display of playout and channel group lock status; and status-based colors and fonts for stories and items at a glance. These status updates speed up decision-making saving time, while maintaining accuracy.
17
1 Introduction to iNEWS Command
Security via Administrator Password
Modifying system settings in Avid iNEWS Command requires an administrator password (if set), which is configured through the Service Configuration application of Avid Service
Framework.
To set up or change the system administration password:
1. Click the Start button and select Programs > Avid > Service Framework > Avid Service
Configuration.
18
2. On the Hosts tab, navigate to and select the Avid System Configuration Service.
3. Select the Administrator Password tab.
4. Type in an alpha-numeric password and retype it.
5. Click Apply.
n
Should you ever need to restore the default “blank” password, click the Reset button to do so.
Starting Command at a Workstation
Starting Command at a Workstation
While some administration tasks require a password—if the administrator password is set up—the Avid iNEWS Command client application at a workstation requires no password to log in and is easy to start.
To start iNEWS Command at a workstation:
1. Do one of the following: t
Double click the iNEWS Command icon on the desktop.
t
Click the Start button and select Programs > Avid > Avid iNEWS Command.
The iNEWS Command window opens to a default configuration showing Playlists,
Alerts, Inventory, and the Playlist Viewer.
Overview of the User Interface
The Avid iNEWS Command window is the graphical user interface that contains , the
Playlist Viewer, panels, a menu bar, status bar, and a workspace area.
19
1 Introduction to iNEWS Command
Playlist Viewer
The Playlist Viewer is a customizable area of the window used to view and manage playlists for on-air playout. The window can also have different playlists open simultaneously. All are accessible through tabs located at the top of the Playlist Viewer.
For more information about the Playlist Viewer used in iNEWS Command, see the Avid iNEWS Command User’s Guide .
Panels
Panels are components that provide information in various ways.The iNEWS Command window contains panels that you can dock, undock, move, resize, or even hide from view.
Each panel is easily identified by the name appearing in its title bar.
For more information about the panels, including the Inventory panel and Playlist Explorer, used in iNEWS Command, see Avid iNEWS Command User’s Guide .
Menu Bar
The menu bar for iNEWS Command contains the following:
• File
• Edit
• View
• Playlist
• Shotbox
• Media
• Tools
• Help
20
Overview of the User Interface
Each menu, its options and descriptions are described in the following tables:
Menu Submenu Menu Option Shortcut Keys Description
File
File
New
Import
Export
Exit
Cut
Playlist
Shotbox
Playlist
Shotbox
Playlist
Shotbox
Ctrl+Shift+N
Ctrl+Alt+N
Edit Ctrl+X
Copy Ctrl+C
Paste Ctrl+V
Delete
View Playlist Explorer Ctrl+Shift+E
Ctrl+Shift+I Inventory
Shotbox
Clock
Playout
Media Viewer
Alerts
Playlist View
Playlist Select
Next
Previous
Set Focus
Close
Close All
Maximize
Next item
Ctrl+Shift+M
Ctrl+Shift+A
Ctrl+Tab
Displays or closes the Media Viewer.
Displays or closes the Alerts.
Displays next playlist
Ctrl+Shift+Tab Displays previous playlist
Ctrl+F
Ctrl+W
Ctrl+Shift+W
Ctrl+Down
Opens the Create New Playlist dialog box.
Opens the Create New Shotbox dialog box.
Imports a playlist to Command.
Imports a shotbox to Command.
Exports a playlist from Command.
Exports a shotbox from Command.
Closes the Command program.
Cut selection.
Paste selection.
Delete selection.
Displays or closes the Playlist Explorer.
Displays or closes the Inventory panel.
Displays or closes the Shotbox Viewer.
Displays or closes the Clock.
Displays or closes the Playout panel.
Sets the keyboard focus to the active view.
Closes the current playlist.
Closes all playlists.
Maximizes the Playlist Viewer.
Select next item in current playlist.
21
1 Introduction to iNEWS Command
Menu Submenu
Playlist
Playlist
Playlist
Playlist
Edit
Show
Insert
Channels
Menu Option Shortcut Keys Description (Continued)
Previous Item Ctrl+Up
Next Row Alt+Down
Select previous item in current playlist.
Select next item in current playlist.
Previous Row Alt+Up Select previous item in current playlist.
Item In
Following Story
Ctrl+Page Down Select next item after story.
Properties Opens Playlist Properties dialog box.
Edit Selection Ctrl+E
Edit Channel Ctrl+* (asterisk)
Edit current selection in playlist.
Sets focus to current playlist item’s
Channel column so the user can manually assign a channel.
Edit Trigger Ctrl+/ (slash)
Edit Media ID
Cut
Copy
Paste
Sets focus to current playlist item’s Trigger column so the user can select manual or follow-on playout.
Sets focus to the current playlist item’s ID column so the user can alter the ID.
Cut selection.
Copy selection.
Paste selection.
Delete
Inventory
New Story
New Break
New Item
Assign
Lock All
Unlock All
Add Existing...
Add New...
Ctrl+I
Ctrl+N
Ctrl+R
Ctrl+L
Alt+L
Delete selection.
Opens the Inventory panel.
Insert new story.
Insert new break.
Insert new item.
Assign channel.
Lock all channels.
Unlock all channels.
Add an existing channel group.
Add a new channel group.
22
Overview of the User Interface
Menu Submenu Menu Shortcut Keys Description (Continued)
Playlist Playout Cue . (period) Cue Selection. Additional submenu options include: Selection Cue All Channels
(Shift+hyphen), Last Played (Ctrl+hyphen), and Home, Select and Cue All
(Alt+Home). The last submenu option moves the cursor to the first available item in the playlist and cues all channels.
n
The Alt+Home keystroke combination works only when the Home key on the keyboard is used, not the
Home (7) key on the numerical keypad.
Play Enter Play media.
Shotbox View
Shotbox
Pause
Stop
Next
Previous
Set Focus
Maximize
+ (plus)
0 (zero)
Ctrl+Alt+Tab
Ctrl+Alt+F
Pause media that is playing. Submenu options include: Selection and Last Played.
Stops media from playing. Submenu options include: Selection and Last Played.
Displays next shotbox
Displays previous shotbox
Sets the keyboard focus to the active view.
Maximizes the Shotbox Viewer panel.
Close
Close All
Ctrl+Alt+W Closes the current shotbox.
Closes all shotboxes.
Edit Selection Ctrl+Alt+E
Edit Channel Ctrl+Alt+*
(asterisk on numeric keypad)
Edit current selection in shotbox.
Sets focus to current shotbox item’s
Channel list so the user can manually assign a channel. This “pins” the channel to that item.
Unpin Channel Alt+Shift+*
(asterisk on numeric keypad)
Removes pinned channel assignment from all selected items in shotbox.
Cut
Copy
Cut selection.
Copy selection.
Paste Paste selection.
23
1 Introduction to iNEWS Command
Menu Submenu
Shotbox Show
Shotbox Insert
Shotbox Playout
Media Play
Go To Mark In
Go To Mark Out
Set Mark In
Set Mark Out
Forward One Frame
Forward One
Second
Forward ten
Seconds
Backward One
Frame
Backward One
Second
Backward Ten
Seconds
Restart
Eject
Tools Options
Menu Option Shortcut Keys Description (Continued)
Delete
Inventory
Item
Cue
Play
Pause
Stop
Ctrl+Alt+I
Alt+Shift+Insert Inserts a new item in a shotbox.
Cue media. Submenu options include:
Selection, Last played, or Items 01-12.
Play media. Submenu options include:
Selection or Items 01-12.
Pause media that is playing. Submenu options include: Selection and Last Played.
Ctrl+Space
Alt+Q
Alt+W
Alt+I
Alt+O
Alt+.
Ctrl+.
Delete selection.
Opens the Inventory panel.
Stops media from playing. Submenu options include: Selection and Last Played.
Play media.
Go to the marked In point.
Go to marked Out point.
Mark the In point.
Mark the Out point.
Move forward one frame.
Move forward one second.
Ctrl+Alt+.
Alt+,
Ctrl+,
Ctrl+Alt+,
Alt+6
Alt+J
Move forward ten seconds.
Move backward one frame.
Move backward one second.
Move backward ten seconds.
Restart media.
Eject media.
Opens the Options dialog box.
24
Overview of the User Interface
Menu Submenu Menu Shortcut Keys Description (Continued)
System Settings
Help
Enable GPI playout
Command Help
Support
About
Ctrl+G
Opens the System Settings dialog box.
These options apply to the workstation only and are not system-wide settings.
If selected, it enables the use of a GPI keypad for playout control.
Displays help information for users.
Opens the Support dialog box.
Display information about iNEWS
Command.
Disabling a Command Workstation’s Keyboard
Some sites use alternative devices to control playout from Command, such as a GPI device or an X-keys USB keypad, and therefore do not want the computer keyboard at the workstation enabled.
n
X-keys is third-party hardware. Command natively supports a variety of X-keys devices, which are configured through the Command Workstation application. Native support gives users an added level of functionality that is not available through the X-keys Macro Works software. See the Avid iNEWS Command ReadMe for the specific X-keys devices that are supported.
You can also use the Macro Works software, a keyboard emulator, with any X-keys device.
For more information on X-keys USB keypads, see that manufacturer’s documentation on www.xkeys.com.
25
1 Introduction to iNEWS Command
To enable or disable the computer keyboard:
1. Select Tools > Options.
26
2. In Category, select Keyboard.
3. Do one of the following: t
Select Enable keyboard.
t
Deselect Enable keyboard.
4. Click Apply.
5. Click OK.
n
If the keyboard is disabled, the numeric keypad cannot be used to control playout from the
Command Workstation. Disabling the keyboard does not affect the use of the keyboard for software on the workstation PC unrelated to the Command client software.
2
iNEWS Command Services
The services for iNEWS Command enable it to interface with newsroom computer systems as well as providing for playlist control. Some of the services can be defined as Main services—those responsible for communicating with newsroom computer systems and for playlist control. Other services are known as Device services—those responsible for controlling other devices, such as video servers, still stores, and character generators in a broadcast news environment.
n
Avid iNEWS Command uses Avid Service Framework applications and services to monitor and manage Command services.
This chapter contains the following main sections:
•
•
•
•
•
•
Starting and Stopping Services
2 iNEWS Command Services
Main Services
The main services are vital components that enable interfacing with a newsroom system, as well as playlist control. n
It is best to dedicate a computer to be a Command Server. Avid does not recommend running
the main services on a workstation, Thunder, or Deko. See “Redundancy/Failover” on page
for more information.
The two Command services that pertain to newsroom computer system interfacing are:
• Avid iNEWS Communication Service —An iNEWS Command system uses this service as the communication portal to load and unload iNEWS rundowns from an iNEWS workstation. The service receives playlist messages from the iNEWS monitor server (a utility program), distributes them to the appropriate Command components, and reports item status and inventory messages back to iNEWS. A single iNEWS
Command system can have multiple Communication services for redundancy.
• Avid MOS Communication Service —An iNEWS Command system uses this service to load and unload rundowns from a MOS-compliant newsroom system, such as ENPS.
The service receives MOS playlist messages from the newsroom computer system, distributes them to the appropriate Command components, and reports item status and inventory messages back to newsroom computer system. A single iNEWS Command system can have multiple MOS services. This service is server specific, meaning that services on different computers act independently. In a failover scenario, if the
Command playlist becomes disconnected, users can continue playout functions. To get an updated playlist, the user must perform a MOS redirection in the MOS-based newsroom computer system to the Command Server running the now primary MOS
Communication service.
The Command services related to playout are:
• Avid Playlist Controller —The playlist controller drives playout of the media on a locked channel group from the playlist it controls. When one or more channel groups are locked, a playlist controller is allocated by the Playlist Manager. A single iNEWS
Command system can have multiple primary playlist controllers and several backups.
One playlist controller is necessary for each concurrently loaded playlist. Separate controllers are not needed to control embedded playlists.
• Avid Playlist Manager —This service assigns a playlist controller (and its backup, if any) to a playlist when the first channel group is locked. It also manages the locks on channel groups. Playlists that have locked channel groups are prevented from being deleted. An iNEWS Command system can only have one primary Playlist Manager, but might have others as backups.
28
Device Services
• Avid Playlist Store —This service is the data store or respository for all loaded
(newsroom) playlists and standalone playlists. It communicates playlist changes to other
Command components. An iNEWS Command system can only have one primary
Playlist Store, but might have others as backups.
The Command services related to inventory are:
• Avid Inventory Manager —This service maintains an inventory of media metadata for all physical devices connected to any channel group in an iNEWS Command system.
This inventory is sent to the Inventory Manager via the individual device services. An iNEWS Command system can only have one active Inventory Manager, but might have backups.
The Command services related to thumbnail images are:
• Avid Interplay Agent —This service connects and logs in to the Interplay engine to retrieve thumbnail images for video assets on AirSpeed (classic) video servers and thumbnails/metadata for third-party video servers, such as Omneon. It runs on the iNEWS Command servers.
• Avid Deko Renderer —This service connects to the DekoMOS Gateway to retrieve thumbnail images for graphics on Avid Deko character generators. To avoid playout interference, it runs on the iNEWS Command servers, not on the Deko device.
Device Services
The Device services are those services responsible for controlling other devices, such as video servers, still stores, and character generators in a broadcast news environment.
• Avid AirSpeed Multi Stream device service —This service provides control of a single
AirSpeed Multi Stream or AirSpeed 5000 video server. One is required for each device, but a site can also have multiple backups. It runs on the AirSpeed Multi Stream or
AirSpeed 5000 video server.
• Avid Video device service —This service provides control of supported third-party video devices. Control can be via TCP/API, such as for Omneon or Nexio, or via VDCP.
One is required for each device. It runs on the iNEWS Command servers.
For monitoring transfer status, the Video device service must be configured to connect to Transfer Manager and therefore can report status based on the actual progress of the transfer. The service can connect to two transfer engines.
• Avid AirSpeed device service —This service provides control of a single AirSpeed
(classic) video server. One is required for each device, but a site can also have multiple backups. It runs on the iNEWS Command servers, not on the device like other device services.
29
2 iNEWS Command Services
• Avid Deko device service —This service provides control of a single Deko device. One is required for each Deko device. It runs on the device (Deko Server).
• Avid Graphic device service —This service provides control of supported third-party graphics devices, such as Chyron, Vizrt, or Ross Xpressions.
• Avid Thunder device service —This service provides control of a single Thunder device. One is required for each Thunder device. It runs on the device (Thunder Server).
• Avid UMD device service —This service interfaces with Under Monitor Display
(UMD) or In Monitor Display (IMD) devices.
• Avid GPI device service —This service interfaces to a GPI input card on the server.
Framework Services
Avid Service Framework consists of applications and services which provide dynamic discovery and lookup mechanisms, a scalable notification system, a centralized configuration tool, diagnostic logging for workgroup-enabled applications and services, system health monitoring, and so on. Some of the services are known collectively as Support services. The Support services are viewed, monitored, and configured using the Service
Framework applications.
Those most vital to iNEWS Command are:
• Avid Lookup service —This service enables communication between all Command and other Avid services running in the workgroup. Without it, there is no communication between services. Only two should be installed in a workgroup.
• Avid System Configuration service — This service is a shared repository for data that is used across services within a workgroup. Only two should be installed in a workgroup. You can configure a list of machines for Health Monitor and change the administration password using the System Configuration service's configuration settings. Service settings are available for configuring services, such as AutoArchive,
AutoTranscode, and AutoTransfer.
• Avid License service —This service manages the site licenses for Command
Workstations as well as CG and video devices that interface with the Command system.
It must be installed on the computer running the Command Server software, but is not necessary on any other computer; however, two instances of this service can be installed for redundancy.
n
Avid Service Framework also comes with management applications: Work Group
Properties, Health Monitor, Service Configuration, and Diagnostics. Avid strongly recommends the installation of these applications.
30
Redundancy/Failover
• Workgroup Properties (installed by default)—This application is used to start and stop services and enables basic configuration.
• Health Monitor —This application shows current status of all services within the workgroup.
• Service Configuration —This application lists any services that require configuration.
• Diagnostics —This application is primarily used to gather logs for the Command workgroup, but can also be used to monitor current or past workgroup activity.
Redundancy/Failover
Avid iNEWS Command services operate on a primary/backup basis. There can be only one primary service, but there can be several backup services. It is best to have a dedicated computer be a Command Server and, for additional system integrity, use multiple Command
Servers—one running all of the primary services while the backup services run on other backup servers.
Command determines primary and backup based on the length of time the service has been running. The server that has been running longer is the primary. Therefore, to get all primary services on one server, it is necessary to start the primary server first; when all services have started, start the backup servers. This is the only way to ensure all services on the primary server take on the primary role, which allows for more consistent behavior during times when redundancy is needed, and it helps simplify any necessary troubleshooting efforts.
When a primary service goes down, Command conducts an election, and changes the backup service to primary. The new primary service will remain primary until it is stopped.
When the old primary service comes back up, it becomes the backup service. If the primary
Command Server were to go down, all of the services on the backup server would become primary.
If you were to lose network connectivity to the primary Command Server, the services do not actually go down, and so their duration remains longer than the backup. After the network connection is restored, those services become primary again.
n
If you have an on-air failover on the primary Command Server due to a loss of network connectivity, you must stop the services on the primary server. Otherwise, those services will once again become primary when the connection is restored, which will interrupt on-air playability. After the connection is restored, and at a non-crucial time, you should start those services again.
31
2 iNEWS Command Services
Non-redundant services
There are some services that are not redundant:
• Lookup service — This Avid Service Framework service acts independently. If a second one is running, it is doing the same work; they basically work as two primary services. In a failover scenario, the second lookup service is already working, and services would continue seamlessly.
• iNEWS Communicationservice — This Command service is server specific, meaning that services on different computers act independently. In a failover scenario, the
Command playlist will become disconnected, users can continue playout functions. To get an updated playlist, the user can reload the iNEWS rundown to the second
Command Server and continue.
• AMS, GDS, Deko & Thunder device services — These Command services must run on the device respectively, and do not support a primary/backup configuration.
• Service Starter service, Machine Monitor service, Time Synchronization — These
Avid Service Framework services are computer specific, so redundancy does not apply.
• Deko Renderer & Avid Interplay Agent services — These Command services should run on the Command Server. Used for thumbnail generation, the service load share, so redundancy does not apply.
32
Redundancy/Failover
The following graphic shows an example of what a redundant system might look like from the Health Monitor application. The primary Command Server is selected.
n
The small green dot over the bottom right corner of any service’s icon indicates that the service is running in primary mode. Services running in backup mode will appear with a yellow dot. If there are no backup services, the primary ones will still appear with green dots—as shown in the previous graphic.
33
2 iNEWS Command Services
Viewing Status of Services
Avid Command uses Avid Service Framework as its structure for discovering and communicating with services.
The Avid Workgroup Properties is the primary application through which you can:
• Configure the workgroup.
• Start, stop, and disable services.
• Set a workgroup login.
• Configure lookup locators, which help with workgroup connectivity.
• Sepcify the physical location of the server.
• Perform any system checks and do network diagnostics.
To start Workgroup Properties: t
Click the Start button and select > All Programs > Avid > Service Framework > Avid
Workgroup Properties.
The Avid Workgroup Properties window opens.
34
Viewing Status of Services
When you start the Workgroup Properties application, the Services tab appears by default displaying the name of the workgroup, to which this computer belongs, in the
Workgroup text box. Also shown, in the Status text box, is the status of all Avid services running on the local computer.
The Workgroup Properties application uses colored icons—in combination with text—on the Services tab to show the status (started and/or enabled) of all Avid services.
A user can click the Advanced button to see more information about individual services.
The icons displayed provide fast, easy identification of the current status of an Avid service.
Icon Description
When all of the enabled Avid components are running on the local machine a green circle with a check mark in the center is shown next to the Status text box and the sentence—All enabled services are running—is displayed.
When some of the enabled Avid components are running on the local machine a caution symbol (yellow triangle with an exclamation mark in the center) is shown next to the
Status text box and the sentence—Some services are enabled but not running—is displayed.
When none of the enabled Avid components are running on the local machine a red square is shown next to the Status text box and the sentence—No services are running—is displayed.
For more information on viewing Avid services using the Workgroup Properties application, see the Avid Service Framework User’s Guide .
35
2 iNEWS Command Services
Starting and Stopping Services
The Services tab allows you to edit the workgroup to which the computer belongs. You can also view the status of all the Avid services running on the local computer, or start, stop, and restart the local Avid services.
To simultaneously stop or start all Avid services in a workgroup: t
From the Services tab in the Avid Workgroup Properties window, click the Start or Stop button.
To stop, start, or enable specific Avid services:
1. From the Services tab in the Avid Workgroup Properties window, click the Advanced button. The Advanced button on the Services tab opens the Avid Services dialog box.
This dialog box allows you to stop, start, or enable individual or multiple Avid services running on the local computer.
36
2. Select a service to stop, start or enable.
n
Multiple rows can be selected.The Start button changes to Restart if the services are already running. The Enable button changes to Disable if the services are already enabled.
3. Do one of the following: t
Click Start to start the selected services(s).
t Click Stop to stop the selected service(s).
t
Click Enable to enable the selected service(s).
4. Click Exit to close the dialog box.
5. Click OK to close the Avid Workgroup Properties window.
Starting and Stopping Services
For more information on starting and stopping services using the Workgroup Properties application, see the Avid Service Framework User’s Guide .
To disable a service:
1. From the Services tab in the Avid Workgroup Properties window, click the Advanced button. The Avid Services dialog box opens.
2. Select the service you want to disable and click Stop first.
3. After the service stops, click the Disable button to disable the service.
4. Click Exit to close the dialog box.
5. Click OK to close the Avid Workgroup Properties window.
For more information on enabling and disabling services using the Workgroup
Properties application, see the Avid Service Framework User’s Guide .
37
2 iNEWS Command Services
38
3
System Settings
System settings can be accessed through the Command user interface at any Command
Workstation. System settings are used to configure channel groups, GPI keypads, MOS integration with third-party newsroom systems such as ENPS, and so forth.
n
Modifying system settings in Avid iNEWS Command requires an administrator password (if
set). For more information, see “Security via Administrator Password” on page 18
.
This chapter contains the following main sections:
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
Importing and Exporting System Settings
3 System Settings
Viewing System Settings
The system settings for Command can be accessed at any Command Workstation.
To view system settings:
1. Select Tools > System Settings.
The System Settings dialog box appears.
40
2. Click any category to access the settings related to that part of the Command system.
3. When finished, click the X button to close the dialog box.
Channel Settings
Channel Settings
The first category in the System Settings dialog box pertains to channels. It is used to map device channels to channel names, as well as configuring indices and channel groups.
This section covers the three sub-categories, listed below in the order they appear within the software:
• Groups
• Indices
• Device Channels
Before you assign groups, the actual device channels should be mapped to a channel name.
You must also map device channels before you set up indices. Therefore, information on device channels is provided first in this section, followed by groups and indices.
Device Channels
The Device Channels section of the System Settings dialog box lets system administrators map actual channels from a device, such as an Avid Deko or AirSpeed video server, to a name of your chosing. This name can then be used to create channel groups or assign channel-specific actions to keys on a USB keypad at the Command Workstation.
For more information on channel groups, see “Groups” on page 44
.
To map device channels to names:
1. Open the Command Workstation application.
2. Select Tools > System Settings.
41
3 System Settings
The System Settings dialog box appears.
42
3. Expand Channel.
4. Select Device Channels.
5. Click Add.
Channel Settings
6. Enter the channel’s name, which can be any alpha-numeric character(s), based on the following guidelines:
Device Type
Channel
Index
Channel
Name Description n
All channel names within a single device type must be unique.
Multi Stream 1 A AirSpeed Multi Stream video servers begin channel designations at one (1). The channel names can be
Multi Stream 2 B anything, but a typical example is alphabetic names from A through F.
Multi Stream 3 C
An AirSpeed 5000 can be configured in the same way as the Multi Stream video server.
AirSpeed
AirSpeed
2
3
A
B
Video device service
1 A
B
AirSpeed (classic) video servers begin channel designations at one (1); however, the first channel is reserved for video ingest. So the first available channel for playout or browse purposes would be channel 2.
All supported third-party video devices begin channel designations at one (1). The channel index values here must match the channel index values set for the Avid
Video device service in Avid Service Configuration.
Video device service
2
Graphic device service
0 1 All devices using the Avid Graphic device service begin channel designations at zero (0).
Graphic device service
1 2
Deko 0 1 Avid Deko devices begin channel designations at zero
(0); however, the name of the first channel can be one.
Deko 1 2 n
Both channel names for a Deko must be numeric to match the channel selection available through the Deko Select plug-in inside of the iNEWS newsroom computer system.
Thunder
Thunder
1
2 aPlay bPlay
Avid Thunder begins channel designations at one (1).
The channel names must be in the following format: aPlay, bPlay, cPlay, 1, 2...8, or pgm (for program). n
Avid recommends against using numeric names for the Thunder to avoid confusion with channel names for any Avid Deko device.
7. Select the name and type of the device from the lists. The device name is the host name for the device, such as deko3000. If it does not appear in the list, you must enter it.
43
3 System Settings n
For third-party video devices controlled via VDCP, the device name must match the device name set for the Avid Video device service in Avid Service Configuration.
8. Select the channel, using the Channel index spinbox.
9. Enter any notes you want, which can help identify the device should future alterations be necessary.
10. Click OK.
11. Repeat steps 5 through 10 for each device channel, as needed.
12. Click Apply (if you want the System Settings dialog box to remain open after settings are applied) or OK.
The system will prompt you for the administrator password.
13. Enter the administrator password and click OK.
Until this procedure is completed, device channels cannot be added to a channel group.
n
Before you can delete a device channel, you must first delete that channel from that channel from any channel groups or delete the channel group(s) that use the channel.
Groups
A channel group is a cluster configured with one or more device channels composed from compatible video servers or character generators. Many channel groups can be created from the same pool of resources, and different groups can use the same resources to serve different operational needs.
n
Each channel group must contain a single “type” of device. For instance, a channel group called AS is a grouping of channels from two or more AirSpeed video servers, while a different channel group named CG is a grouping of channels on a Deko character generator.
All channel names within a single device type must be unique.
AirSpeed channels provide one of the best examples of the way in which channel groups provide control configurations; they do not guarantee media availability, which is the role of the AirSpeed studio configuration. For example, a station has two AirSpeed video servers,
44
Channel Settings each with two channels that are numbered 2 and 3. (With AirSpeed video servers, the first channel is reserved for ingest.) Let’s call the first AirSpeed AS1 and the second one AS2.
With channel groups on Command, the station’s system administrator can set up numerous different channel groups and call them anything, such as:
Channel Group
AS-Noon
AS-5PM
AS-10PM
Channel
Names
A
B
C
D
A
B
C
B
D
A
C
Actual Device Channels
AS1 - channel 2
AS1 - channel 3
AS2 - channel 2
AS1 - channel 2
AS1 - channel 3
AS2 - channel 2
AS2 - channel 3
AS1 - channel 2
AS2 - channel 2
AS1 - channel 3
AS2 - channel 3
Purpose
Playout
Playout
Browse
Playout
Playout
Playout
Playout
Playout
Mirrored
Playout
Mirrored
The following graphic shows a more visual example of how multiple channel groups can be created from the same four AirSpeed video server channels.
The first group shows a single channel group configured to create four playback channels called A, B, C, and D. The next set shows two groups, representing control rooms, with two playback channels each. Alternatively, the groups can be created from any combination of
45
3 System Settings channels and used to support simultaneous two-channel playout from two control rooms sharing the same resources. The last set shows four channel groups, each controlling a single channel.
The following graphic shows a more visual example of how channel groups are used to mirror playout for redundancy.
The first group creates a two channel playout solution with both channels mirrored on a secondary video server for maximum reliability. Whenever a video clip is cued and played on either of the primary channels, the same clip is also cued and played on the corresponding secondary channels. The other two groups depict single channel solutions with redundancy.
All of these channel groups can exist at the same time, although they cannot necessarily all be used simultaneously.
Creating Channel Groups
Channels must be created before they can be assigned to channel groups. For more information on how to create channels, see
“Device Channels” on page 41 .
n
The first eight (8) characters of a channel group’s name must be unique to match the eight-character device name in the iNEWS newsroom computer system. For instance, a channel group name in Command that is ASNoonMirrored will appear as ASNoonMi in iNEWS.
46
Channel Settings
System administrators can create channel groups via the System Settings dialog box.
To create channel groups:
1. Select Tools > System Settings. The System Settings dialog box appears.
2. Expand Channel.
3. Select Groups.
4. Click Add.
47
3 System Settings
The Add New Channel Group to Playlist dialog box opens.
48
5. Enter the name of the new channel group and any notes you want. Names of channel groups can be upper or lowercased and contain any alpha-numeric character. Avoid using spaces before or after the name.
6. Click Add to add a channel to the group.
n
If channels have not been created, they cannot be assigned to channel groups; therefore, the
Add button will be disabled if no channels exist in the system. For more information on how to create channels, see
.
Channel Settings
7. In the Channel Detail section, select the following:
Channel Detail Description
Channel type
Primary
Mirrored
Preview
Select the appropriate channel type, based on:
Standard - This is the channel type selected for playout.
Browse - This is the channel type selected for changing In and Out points of pre-existing clips for preview or editing purposes only. This does not apply to playout operations.
Hotswap - This is the channel type selected for emergency backup channel assignment.
Select the channel designated as the primary playout channel for the device.
(Optional) If mirrored playout is necessary, select the device’s channel designated for mirrored playout.
(Optional) Select which device channel to use for displaying the headframe of the next media event in the playlist.
Ripple group (Optional) Define the ripple group by entering a numerical value or any text string in the text field. Channels that are part of the same ripple group must have the same numerical value or text string. n
Do not disable autocue if using ripple groups or looping. For more information, see
“Enabling Loop Count from Avid iNEWS” on page 81 .
8. Repeat steps 6 and 7 as needed. You can use the Up and Down buttons to rearrange the
order of channels in the group.
9. Click OK. This will close the Add New Channel Group to Playlist dialog box. The new channel group will appear in the System Settings dialog box.
10. Click Apply (if you want the System Settings dialog box to remain open after settings are applied) or OK.
The system will prompt you for the administrator password.
49
3 System Settings
11. Enter the administrator password and click OK.
c
Until the Apply or OK button is clicked and administrator password supplied, the channel group(s) are not created.
12. Close all workstation sessions and restart all Command and Avid Service Framework services throughout the environment.
Editing Channel Groups
Should it become necessary to modify a channel group, you can do so from any Command
Workstation via the System Settings dialog box.
To edit a channel group:
1. Select Tools > System Settings.
The System Settings dialog box appears.
50
2. Expand Channel.
3. Select Groups.
4. Select the channel group from the list on the right.
5. Click Edit. The Edit Channel Group dialog box appears.
Channel Settings
51
3 System Settings
6. You can rename the channel group, add notes, rearrange the order of channels by using the Up and Down buttons, add or delete channels, or alter the channel details for each channel in the group. For more information on ripple groups, see
7. (Optional) If you want to disable the autocue feature for your channel group, click the checkbox in the Autocue section.
n
Do not disable autocue if using ripple groups or looping. For more information, see
Groups” on page 54 and
“Enabling Loop Count from Avid iNEWS” on page 81 .
8. (Optional) For graphics integration, set the minimum and maximum numerical values for page ranges.
9. (Optional) If your Command system is integrated with a graphics device and the GPI device service is set up to do GPI out (also known as GPO) commands, then you can set the GPO for both playing and ejecting graphics, and if necessary, also add any delay in milliseconds.
n
For more information on setting up the GPI device service for GPO commands, see the procedure for configuring the GPI card in the Avid iNEWS Command Installation and
Configuration Guide.
10. After editing the channel group, click OK.
11. Click Apply (if you want the System Settings dialog box to remain open after settings are applied) or OK.
The system will prompt you for the administrator password.
52
12. Enter the administrator password and click OK.
Channel Settings c
Until the Apply or OK button is clicked and administrator password supplied, the changes in the system settings are not saved.
Deleting Channel Groups
Should it become necessary to delete a channel group, you can do so from any Command
Workstation via the System Settings dialog box.
To delete a channel group:
1. Open the Command Workstation application.
2. Select Tools > System Settings.
The System Settings dialog box appears.
3. Expand Channel.
4. Select Groups.
5. Select the channel group from the list on the right.
6. Click Delete.
53
3 System Settings
7. Click Apply (if you want the System Settings dialog box to remain open after settings are applied) or OK.
The system will prompt you for the administrator password.
8. Enter the administrator password and click OK.
c
Until the Apply or OK button is clicked and administrator password supplied, the channel group(s) are not deleted from the system settings.
Ripple Groups
Command assigns the channel of a playable item based on its availability on the device. So, if an item is playable only on channel C, Command will assign the item to that channel.
Ripple groups is a feature that takes this concept one step further by letting users create a subgroup for channel assignments. Ripple groups let users have more than one channel or type of device in a single channel group.
• Users can add multiple devices that have different assets to a single channel group.
• Users can separate SD from HD channels.
n
Ripple groups require that Strong channel assignment be turned on. This setting is located in the System Settings dialog box in the Playout > Autocue category. For more information, see
.
If an item is unplayable, Command will assign the default channel specifiedin iNEWS or, for standalone playlists, the first channel in the channel group. After the item becomes playable,
Command automatically assigns the channel based on its playability on the device.
Ripple groups let users add all video channels to a single channel group, rather than using a second channel group and adding a production cue with the video item. With all items in the iNEWS story form, users can see ONLINE/OFFLINE and transport status in the story form for all items.
54
Channel Settings
To use ripple groups:
1. Open the Command Workstation application.
2. Select Tools > System Settings.
The System Settings dialog box appears.
3. Expand Playout and select the Autocue sub-category.
4. Select the Strong channel assignment system setting.
5. Click OK.
6. Expand Channel and select the Groups sub-category.
7. Do one of the following: t
Click Add to create a new channel group.
t
Select a group and click Edit to edit the existing channel group.
8. Define the ripple group in the Channel Detail section of the dialog box.
You can enter a numerical value or any text string in the Ripple group text field.
Channels that are part of the same ripple group must have the same numerical value or text string.
9. Click OK.
10. Click Apply then OK in the System Settings dialog box.
After ripple groups are set up, Command users can view and sort by ripple group in the
Inventory panel.
55
3 System Settings
Indices
Channel indices are a configuration feature used to map an index integer (1-16) to a channel name, which can be alpha or numeric, to enable assignment of channel-specific actions to certain keys on a keypad.
This pre-configuration can be done before assigning the channel-specific actions to any keys on playout control keypads, such as the X-keys
®
USB keypad.
The X-keys USB keypads connect to the USB port the Command Workstation and offer up to fifty-eight user-reprogrammable keys for one-button access to playout functionality.
56 n
X-keys is third-party hardware. Command natively supports a variety of X-keys devices, which are configured through the Command Workstation application. Native support gives users an added level of functionality that is not available through the X-keys Macro Works software. See the Avid iNEWS Command ReadMe for the specific X-keys devices that are supported.
You can also use the Macro Works software, a keyboard emulator, with any X-keys device.
For more information on X-keys USB keypads, see that manufacturer’s documentation on www.xkeys.com.
Ensuring the successful integration of an X-keys keypad to control playout through
Command requires the completion of the following tasks:
Tasks Refer to...
(Optional) Disable the keyboard at the Command
Workstation.
“Disabling a Command Workstation’s Keyboard” on page 25
Channel Settings
Tasks Refer to...
Verify installation of the keypad on the Command
Workstation.
See the Avid iNEWS Command Installation and
Configuration Guide .
Map Indices to Channel Names.
Program the keypad.
See procedure on page 57 .
“Programming the X-keys” on page 58
n
Another alternative keypad is one that connects to a GPI card. For more information on GPI integration, see
To map an index to a channel name:
1. Open the Command Workstation application.
2. Select Tools > System Settings.
The System Settings dialog box appears.
3. Expand Channel.
57
3 System Settings
4. Select Indices.
5. Enter the channel’s name in the Name column next to the appropriate index.
n
Avid recommends that if a channel name must be numeric, such as is the case whenever the
ActiveX plug-in Avid Deko Select is used, assign it to the same Index number to avoid confusion.
6. Click Apply (if you want the System Settings dialog box to remain open after settings are applied) or OK. The system will prompt you for the administrator password.
7. Enter the administrator password and click OK.
Programming the X-keys
The following procedure should be conducted at the Command Workstation to which the
X-keys USB keypad is installed.
To program the X-keys from the Command Workstation:
1. Select Tools > Options.
2. In Category, expand Actions and select X-keys.
58
Channel Settings
3. Select Enable X-keys.
4. Set the de-bounce period. Designed to avoid inadvertent repetition, this is the span of time (in milliseconds) during which the system should ignore duplicated signals.
n
If you find that you are having problems with “double-hits” when you press a key, increase the de-bounce period.
5. Select the tab corresponding to the type of keypad you have.
6. Click on a gray box that represents (or corresponds to) the key on the keypad.
n
Some sites might use key caps that cover 2 or 4 buttons on the keypad, turning a set of buttons into a single key. If that is the case, select the left box to set the “2-button” key. For
4-button keys, select the upper left box.
7. Assign an action to the key by selecting it from the list of those available in the Choose
Action dialog box. The most commonly used actions will appear open for your selection already.
The Playlist > Channel Group actions refer to channel group commands, such as lock, unlock, and assign channel.
The Playlist > Selection actions refer to selected items on the playlist, such as play selection, cue selection, stop selection, and move up/down.
59
3 System Settings
The Control actions refer to channel-specific actions that correspond to a particular index as configured when mapping indices to channel names. An example of this would be for a key to initiate a play command on a single channel. Assigning the channel-specific actions affects only the keypad attached to the workstation at which the assignments are programmed.
60 n
Channel 01 actually refers to Index value 01.
8. Click OK.
9. Repeat steps 5-7 as needed.
10. Click Apply.
11. Click OK.
The following graphic shows a closeup of the first row of keys after they were assigned to the four playout control options of play, cue, pause, and stop.
MOS Settings
MOS Settings
The MOS category in the System Settings dialog box allows system administrators to configure the Command system to integrate with a MOS-enabled newsroom computer system, such as ENPS. A MOS-enabled newsroom computer system can send playlists to
Command.
MOS (Media Object Server) is an industry-standard, XML-based protocol that is primarily used by a newsroom computer system (NRCS) to maintain running orders on a video server.
MOS also enables servers to update the newsroom computer system with changes to the server’s media inventory. Command’s MOS support enables communication between the newsroom computer system and AirSpeed video servers, as shown in the following illustration.
MOS does not provide a means of controlling playout from a video server. Command supplies this function.
Under the MOS category are three subcategories:
• General - used to configure MOS and graphics style settings.
• Channel Groups - used to create channel groups for integration with MOS-based newsroom computer systems.
• Advanced - used for advanced MOS feature configuration. n
Avid strongly recommends contacting Customer Support before altering any of the advanced settings.
To configure Command for a MOS-based newsroom computer system:
1. Open the Command Workstation application.
2. Select Tools > System Settings.
61
3 System Settings
The System Settings dialog box appears.
62
3. Expand the MOS category.
4. Select General.
5. Edit the MOS settings accordingly:
MOS Setting Description iNEWS Command MOS
ID
The ID that enables enables bidirectional communications between a
MOS-based newsroom computer system and Command. The ID is case sensitive and cannot contain spaces.
Newsroom NCS ID Usually, this is set to the host name of the newsroom computer system’s server. It is case sensitive.
Newsroom Host Name Host name of the newsroom computer system’s server. The name entered in this field must be resolvable via the Domain Name Service (DNS); otherwise, an IP address can be used instead.
MOS Settings
MOS Setting Description
Newsroom BuddyID Usually, this is set to host name of the newsroom computer system’s
“buddy” or backup server. The name entered in this field must be resolvable via the Domain Name Service (DNS); otherwise, an IP address can be used instead.
Newsroom Buddy Host
Name
Host name of the newsroom computer system’s “buddy” or backup server.
MOS version Determines which version of MOS protocol Command will use.
6. Set the default graphics style for playlists loaded from a MOS-based newsroom computer system, if necessary.
Graphics styles are added via the Playlist category in the System Settings dialog box. If none are added, then the list in the MOS > General category will appear blank.For more information, see
“Playlist Settings” on page 67 .
7. Select Channel Groups.
8. Click Add.
The Channel Groups dialog box appears.
9. Select a channel group. The order is important. The primary video channel group should be first, then any graphics channel groups, followed by any secondary video channel groups.
63
3 System Settings n
You can override the Command channel group by setting the MOS channel in the ENPS rundown properties.
10. Click OK.
The chosen channel group will appear in the list on the right side of the System Settings dialog box.
64 n
Unless the channel is specified in ENPS, Command will assign channels based on the channel group listed first. Specifically, Command will only assign the first channel of the first channel group by default.
11. Click Apply (if you want the System Settings dialog box to remain open after settings are applied) or OK.
The system will prompt you for the administrator password.
MOS Settings
12. Enter the administrator password and click OK.
n
After changing any MOS system settings, you must restart the MOS Communication service.
To view advanced MOS settings:
1. Open the Command Workstation application.
2. Select Tools > System Settings.
The System Settings dialog box appears.
65
3 System Settings
3. Expand the MOS category.
4. Select Advanced.
While a newsroom computer system can use non-standard ports for the incoming and outgoing sockets and the advanced settings can be customized, Avid recommends that the default settings be used.
The first four settings specify the port numbers for the sockets used to communicate with the MOS-based newsroom computer system. The defaults, as defined in the MOS protocol specifications, are: 10541 (upper) and 10540 (lower).
5. If you want to send inventory when connected, check the Send inventory on connect box.
6. If using object placeholders, check the Create object placeholders box.
7. Click Apply.
Configuring Command for MOS Redirection
Command sites that interface with the ENPS newsroom computer system can run two MOS
Communication services and set the second one to have a different MOSID so that MOS redirection can be used to send playlists to the backup server.
To configure Command for MOS redirection:
1. Click the Start button and select Programs > Avid > Service Framework > Avid Service
Configuration.
2. On the Hosts tab, navigate to and select the Avid MOS Communication Service running on the backup server.
3. Enter the MOSID for the backup server.
4. Click Apply.
When you need to direct MOS traffic to the backup server, disconnect from the primary server and connect to the backup server via MOS redirection in ENPS. For more information, see documentation that came with your third-party ENPS system.
66
Playlist Settings
Playlist Settings
Playout of items in a playlist can be set to either to manual playout or to automatically occur immediately following the completion of the previous item. This latter functionality is called follow-on playout and is indicated by an icon that looks like a bent blue arrow in the playlist at a Command Workstation.
While a user at a Command Workstation can change individual items in a playlist from one playout type to another, the system administrator can set the default condition for items added to playlists in the System Settings dialog box. This default applies to both standalone and newsroom playlists.
To set the playout default for new items:
1. Open the Command Workstation application.
2. Select Tools > System Settings.
The System Settings dialog box appears.
3. Select Playlist.
67
3 System Settings
4. In the Media section, ensure the checkbox called New items are follow-on by default is selected if you want the default for new items to be follow-on playout. If you want them to be set for manual playout, ensure this checkbox is not selected.
5. Click Apply (if you want the System Settings dialog box to remain open after settings are applied) or OK.
The system will prompt you for the administrator password.
6. Enter the administrator password and click OK.
Graphics Styles
Graphics styles are added to the system via the Playlist category in the System Settings dialog box. This category lets you specify the set of graphics styles that will appear as options in various parts of the user interface, such as: the Default style list (shown in following graphic), in the MOS category of the System Settings dialog box, and in the
Playlist Properties dialog box .
To add a style:
1. Open the Command Workstation application.
2. Select Tools > System Settings.
3. Select Playlist.
4. Click the Add button.
68
A style will appear in the list as shown:
Playlist Settings
5. By default, the name of any added style is Style , but that can be changed. To do so, double-click on the name in the Styles list and retype the new name.
6. After multiple styles are added, use the drop-down list to select which one the system should use as a default.
7. Click Apply (if you want the System Settings dialog box to remain open after settings are applied) or OK.
The system will prompt you for the administrator password.
8. Enter the administrator password and click OK.
For more information on styles, see the Avid Deko Select User’s Guide .
69
3 System Settings
Graphic Title Format
Because Command users have the ability to edit graphics at a Command Workstation, they can also set the format for the Title column at the workstation. Formatting of graphic titles for playlists and shotboxes is accomplished via system settings.
To customize graphic title formats for playlists and shotboxes:
1. Open the Command Workstation application.
2. Select Tools > System Settings.
3. Select Playlist.
4. In the Graphics title format section, fill in the format you want for playlists in the
Playlist field.
5. In the Graphics title format section, fill in the format you want for shotboxes in the
Shotbox field.
You can use the following terms to define the Title column format for both playlists and shotboxes. The corresponding XML field, if any, is shown in parenthesis.
Format
$S
$A
$B
$R
$O
$D
Description
Slug (objSlug)
Abstract (mosAbstract)
Object ID (objID)
Replacement data—You can also enter a number after the $R to represent the limit to the number of fields that are shown. For example, entering $R4 will limit the display to the first four replacement fields.
Mark out (itemEdStart and itemEdDuration)—Command will display the In and Out times in the title field. Use this when the iNEWS Active-X plug-in uses In/Out times, such as for Avid Deko Select.
Adding F after the $O, such as $OF, will show the frames.
Duration (itemEdStart) and itemEdDuration)—Command will display the In and Duration times in the title field. Use this when the iNEWS Active-X plug-in uses In/Duration times, such as plug-ins for Chyron LUCI and the
Viz VDCP Template Filler.
Adding F after the $D, such as $DF, will show the frames.
6. Click Apply (if you want the System Settings dialog box to remain open after settings are applied) or OK.
70
The system will prompt you for the administrator password.
Playout Settings
7. Enter the administrator password and click OK.
Playout Settings
The Playout category of the System Settings dialog box provides a variety of settings related to autocueing of items, channel assignment, playout behaviors, and the as-run log.
To access the playout settings:
1. Open the Command Workstation application.
2. Select Tools > System Settings.
The System Settings dialog box appears.
71
3 System Settings
3. Select Playout. The Playout category contains settings in several distinct sections:
-
As-run Log —For more information, see page 72 .
-
Behavior —For more information, see page 73
.
Exclusive playout control—When this checkbox is selected, playout control is handled solely from a GPI keypad.
-
Recue Control —For more information, see page 74
.
-
—For more information, see
.
4. Select the Autocue sub-category for additional settings related to playout. For more information, see
5. Click Apply.
As-run Log
The As-run log is used to keep records of playout data for traffic-related purposes.
72
Playout Settings
To enable the As-run log:
1. Open the Command Workstation application.
2. Select Tools > System Settings.
3. Select Playout.
4. Select the As-run log enabled checkbox.
5. Enter either a drive path local to the Command Server or a network-shared location accessible to the Command Servers running the Avid Playlist Controller services.
If, for example, you enter C:\AsRunLogs\ , then logs will be stored at that location on the Command Server that is running the Playlist Controller in a primary role. The drive path entry is not the C drive of the workstation on which you are enabling the As-run log. To store logs at the workstation, you must enter the network pathname to that location, such as \\cmd-wkstn\AsRunLogs\ , and you must also ensure that the location is shared over the network.
Behavior
The Playout category’s Behavior section supplies configuration options for integration between Command and playback devices, such as the automated graphic triggering functionality available through the Avid Deko Select plug-in that opens inside the iNEWS newsroom computer system. With the plug-in, a user can set a character-generated graphic to automatically go on-air based on the video’s elapsed time and for a specific duration during a video event. Timecode information specified in the plug-in is forwarded to the
Command Workstation and appears in the playlist so that the operator knows when this automatic event will occur.
Administrators at sites that want to take such events to air manually can turn off the automatic functionality by modifying the system setting in Avid iNEWS Command. This does not disable the ability of a user to enter an start time or duration in the Deko Select plug-in. If entered, the times would still appear as information only for the Command operator.
To turn on or off automatic graphic triggering:
1. Open the Command Workstation application.
2. Select Tools > System Settings.
73
3 System Settings
3. Select Playout.
4. Do one of the following: t
Ensure the Automatic Graphic Triggering checkbox is selected to turn it on.
t
Uncheck the Automatic Graphic Triggering checkbox to turn it off.
5. Set the time in seconds that the system should hold the last frame.
6. Set the time in seconds that the system should wait before ejecting .
7. Click Apply (if you want the System Settings dialog box to remain open after settings are applied) or OK.
The system will prompt you for the administrator password.
8. Enter the administrator password and click OK.
The other settings available in the Behavior section of the System Settings dialog box are explained in the following table:
Hold last frame time Sets a delay that determines how long the last frame of a clip is held on the channel before it is ejected. When using clips that are less than 10 seconds in duration, specify a value that is less than the duration of the events in the playlist. For example, when using clips that are five seconds in duration, specify the value to any positive integer less than five.
Eject previous items Sets the time for an item to get ejected after the next item starts playing. For example, if set to three (3) and a two-minute clip is playing on channel A, playing the next item on channel B will cause the clip on channel A to get ejected three seconds after the item on channel B starts, regardless of whether the first item has finished playing its full two-minute duration.
Recue Control
Command can send a Goto command when you recue a playing or done item, rather than ejecting the item and cueing it again. The advantage of using a Goto command is that it is faster than ejecting and cuing the same video item on the channel. It also prevents the precued item from briefly displaying on the output.
74
Playout Settings
To enable the Goto command:
1. Select Tools > System Settings > Playout.
2. Select the checkbox named Perform goto when recuing active item.
Once enabled, a recue will cause a playing item to pause at the first frame of video as shown, and the time elapsed clock will show 0:00:00.
If the item has finished playing, a recue command will cause the item to recue rather than pause.
n
This feature requires that the Avid Multi Stream Device service be upgraded to at least version 3.5.0.
3. Click Apply (if you want the System Settings dialog box to remain open after settings are applied) or OK.
Cue Fail Control
Command supports ejecting precued and autocued items that are unplayable with most devices, such as Avid Multi Stream, Omneon, and VDCP-controlled devices. n
This feature requires the system setting called Skip items that are not playable be turned off; the setting is located in the Playout > Autocue subcategory of the System Settings dialog box.
When the precue or autocue of an unplayable item fails, Command sends an Eject command to the channel. Command can also send an Eject command to a channel after the cue fails, but this feature does require a change to the Playout system settings.
To enable cue fail control:
1. Select Tools > System Settings > Playout.
2. In the Cue fail over section, select the Send eject if cue fails checkbox.
3. Click Apply (if you want the System Settings dialog box to remain open after settings are applied) or OK.
75
3 System Settings
Autocue
The Autocue settings is a sub-category of the Playout system settings.
76
Options for the Autocue feature are described as follows:
Autocue enabled When autocue is enabled, items are cued automatically whenever the playlist’s channel groups are locked and when the preceding item is played. If this checkbox is not selected, events must be cued manually.
When the Autocue enabled checkbox is selected, the other options in the Autocue section are enabled for selection as well; when it’s not, the rest appear grayed out.
Playout Settings
Independent channel cueing
Skip items that are not playable
Auto-assign channels
Applies autocue to single channels only.
For example, the first three items (1, 2, and 3) in a playlist are cued in order on channels A, B, and C, respectively when the playlist’s channel group is locked. The next four items (4, 5, 6, and 7) are assigned to A, B, C, and A. If this setting is enabled, then should a user manually play item 4 on channel A, item 7 instead of item 1 would then be cued on A, while items 2 and 3 would remain cued on
B and C.
If this setting is not enabled, then when item 4 is played on channel A, items 5, 6, and 7 would be cued on channels B, C, and A respectively, while items 1, 2, and 3 would no longer be cued for playout.
If selected, the system will skip over any items that are unavailable for playout.
If selected, channels are assigned automatically whenever the channel groups are locked.
Strong channel assignment If selected, channels are re-assigned automatically when a playlist is altered to maintain their sequence, such as
ABAB, etc. Assignment only applies to unplayed items in the playlist or below any manually cued item. This checkbox should also be selected if ripple groups are used for automatic channel assignment based on item playability on devices.
For more information, see
n
When strong channel assignment is enabled, any channel assignment made by the newsroom computer system is ignored. Also, changes to the autocue settings do not take affect for pre-existing playlists immediately upon clicking OK. Give the system about 15 seconds or so to reflect such changes.
Restart auto-assign at break If selected, channels assignment begins again as opposed to continuing the sequence from prior to the break. For example, if the sequence involves four channels: A, B, C, and D, and the first segment ends on an item assigned to channel B, the first item in the next segment after the break will be assigned to A and not C.
77
3 System Settings
Inventory Settings
Avid iNEWS Command provides a system setting that allows administrators to decide whether to allow deletion of inventory from a Command Workstation via the Inventory panel and delete protection of media items.
Avid iNEWS Command supports placeholders that can be used to associate media with a newsroom story before the media is actually available. The iNEWS newsroom computer system can request placeholders from the Command system. Placeholder creation is also a feature of MOS-based ENPS systems and is invoked as part of the AutoCreate feature.
Each placeholder must have a unique ID to avoid playback of the wrong media. In Avid iNEWS Command, the prefix for such placeholders can be configured.
Avid iNEWS Command also supports the ability to set the mark-in or loop status from an iNEWS newsroom computer system.
c
The system administrator can also decide whether to use short IDs. However, redundancy is no longer supported if this optional feature is enabled.
To configure placeholder defaults:
1. Open the Command Workstation application.
2. Select Tools > System Settings.
78
The System Settings dialog box appears.
Inventory Settings
3. Select Inventory.
4. Select whether short IDs are used. Short IDs are the prefix followed by the date in the format MMDDYY —representing the month, day, and year—followed by three randomly generated, uppercased alpha-numeric digits: <prefix>MMDDYY<3digits>
Short IDs are only unique on a single Command system. If long IDs are used, the prefix and date are followed by a hyphen (-) and 8 randomly generated, uppercased alpha-numeric digits. Long IDs are unique across multiple Command systems or if a new installation occurs.
n
Redundancy is not supported with the use of short IDs, although a unique prefix can ensure the possibility of generating about ten-thousand IDs without overlap in one day.
5. Set the prefix. By default, the format for placeholders uses the long ID, which is:
<prefix>MMDDYY-<8digits>
79
3 System Settings
The prefix can be set by a system administrator to any alpha-numeric sequence of digits, such as a station’s call letters. If set to $W , a three letter, all-cap representation of the day of the week is used based on the day when the placeholder was created, such as
MON
,
TUE , WED , THU , FRI , SAT , or SUN . If set to $w , a single digit is used to represent the day.
Prefixes are truncated to keep the ID under 31 bytes.
6. Set the number of days after which any unused placeholders are deleted from the system. To disable this feature, set the number to zero (0).
7. Click Apply (if you want the System Settings dialog box to remain open after settings are applied) or OK.
The system will prompt you for the administrator password.
8. Enter the administrator password and click OK.
To enable inventory delete and protect:
1. Open the Command Workstation application.
2. Select Tools > System Settings.
3. Select Inventory.
4. Select Enable inventory delete and protect.
5. Click OK.
6. Enter the administrator password when prompted and click OK.
This enables a right-click menu option in the Inventory panel of the Command user interface, allowing users to delete media from the inventory or protect media from deletion. Disabling this feature also prevents users from being able to rename an item’s video ID. For more information, see the Avid iNEWS Command User’s Guide .
Enabling Mark In Points from Avid iNEWS
Mark in points may be set or changed at a Command Workstation from the Media Viewer.
However, Command also supports allowing users to set mark in points from an iNEWS
Workstation.
80
Inventory Settings
If you want to let users set mark in points from an iNEWS Workstation, you must configure the system settings in Command to allow it.
To configure Command to enable setting mark in points from iNEWS:
1. Open the Command Workstation application.
2. Select Tools > System Settings.
3. Select Inventory.
4. Check the Parse mark-in separator (+) box.
5. Click OK.
To set a mark in point from iNEWS:
1. At an iNEWS Workstation, navigate to the story containing the media’s video ID.
2. Add a plus sign (+) to the end of the video ID in the story form field, followed by the numerical value for the mark in point.
The format for the mark in value is:
XX — The mark in point will be set to seconds.
XX:YY — The mark in point will be set to seconds and frames (ss:ff).
XX:YY:ZZ — The mark in point will be set to minutes, seconds, and frames
(mm:ss:ff).
n
After the mark in point is set from an iNEWS Workstation, it cannot be changed at a
Command Workstation from the Media Viewer.
Also, for HD frames, they are parsed correctly, but display in the UI is divided by 2. So, if you set a mark in point to 02:10 in iNEWS, Command displays the mark in at 2 seconds and
5 frames; although, the HD video will start at 2 seconds and 10 frames.
Enabling Loop Count from Avid iNEWS
Looping is the repeated playing of a media event for either a specified number of times or indefinitely, which is continuous until manually stopped. Avid iNEWS Command provides users with a way to loop a specific item within a playlist or an entire playlist. Loop count can be set from an Avid iNEWS or Command Workstation. If you want to let users set loop count for items in a Command playlist from an iNEWS Workstation, you must configure the system settings in Command to allow it.
n
The looping only feature requires Autocue be turned on in Command. For more information, see
81
3 System Settings
To enable loop count from iNEWS:
1. Select Tools > System Settings.
2. Select Inventory.
3. Check the Parse loop count separator (@) box.
Actual procedures for setting items in a playlist to loop are provided in the “Playout
Control” chapter of the Avid iNEWS Command User’s Guide .
GPI Settings
A GPI panel is another alternative keypad device that can be used to control playout through
Command. The GPI panel connects to a GPI card installed in the Command Server.
Command supports redundant GPI configurations, so a second computer with a GPI card can be used as a backup to control playout. The GPI panel allows a user to select up to four channels, with each channel having its own set of Control buttons for play, cue, pause, and stop functionality.
Configuring the system to work with a GPI panel requires defining certain parameters through the system settings in Command. For more information on the complete installation and configuration procedures for GPI integration, see the Avid iNEWS Command
Installation and Configuration Guide .
This section contains procedures related to the GPI settings in System Settings dialog box.
Mapping Events to Actions for a GPI Panel
Mapping events to playout actions is done at a Command Workstation in the System Settings dialog box. In most cases, GPI events are mapped directly to channel-specific actions because these actions are communicated directly to the Playlist Controller, bypassing the user interface; the procedure for this type of mapping is provided below. n
The procedure on mapping GPI events for selection-based playout is provided later in this section.
To map GPI events to channel-specific actions:
1. Log in to a Command Workstation.
2. Select Tools > System Settings. The System Settings dialog box appears.
82
GPI Settings
3. Select GPI.
4. Expand the panels to view each panel’s events.
5. Double-click on an event to map it to an action.
The Choose Action dialog box appears with the GPI > Control options expanded by default.
83
3 System Settings
84
6. Expand the action, such as Play, and select the index value that corresponds to the appropriate channel.
Here are some of the most commonly used commands for channel-specific playout:
Play a specific channel - Choose GPI > Control > Play > index value
Stop a specific channel - Choose GPI > Control > Stop > index value n
If doing level-based playback, set the Level:Active to Play a specific channel and the
Level:Inactive to stop that same channel.
Cue a specific channel - Choose GPI > Control > Cue > index value n
The Cue channel action only recues the item that is playing. Cueing a different item in the playlist must be done manually—via mouse, keyboard, or X-keys—or a GPI button must be mapped and enabled for selection-based playout.
7. Click OK.
8. Repeat steps 5 through 7 as needed.
9. Click Apply (if you want the System Settings dialog box to remain open after settings are applied) or OK.
The system will prompt you for the administrator password.
GPI Settings
10. Enter the administrator password and click OK. If there is no administrator password, leave the field blank and click OK.
11. Confirm functionality by playing items in a playlist.
To map GPI events for selection-based playout:
1. Log in to a Command Workstation.
2. Select Tools > System Settings.
3. Select GPI.
4. Expand the panels to view each panel’s events.
5. Double-click on an event to map it to an action.
The Choose Action dialog box appears with the GPI > Control options expanded by default.
85
3 System Settings
6. Navigate to the Playlist action and expand it.
86
Here are some of the most commonly used commands for selection-based playout:
Play selection - Choose Playlist > Control > Play > Selection
Stop selection - Choose Playlist > Control > Stop > Selection
Cue selection - Choose Playlist > Control > Cue > Selection n
If you program the GPI panel for these selection-based actions, you must enable the GPI panel at the workstation.
7. Click OK.
8. Repeat steps 5 through 7 as needed.
9. Click Apply (if you want the System Settings dialog box to remain open after settings are applied) or OK.
The system will prompt you for the administrator password.
Enabling the GPI Panel
10. Enter the administrator password and click OK. If there is no administrator password, leave the field blank and click OK.
11. Confirm functionality by playing items in a playlist.
Enabling the GPI Panel
The GPI panel must be enabled to control a playlist if used for non-channel-specific, selection-based actions that go through the Command user interface. n
This procedure does not apply to GPI panels (or Maney panels) with events mapped only to actions chosen in GPI > Control—such as Cue, Pause, Play, or Stop—because those are sent directly to the Playlist Controller and do not go through the user interface.
A user can enable a panel at any Command Workstation.
To enable a GPI panel to control a playlist:
1. At the Command Workstation, select Tools > Options.
2. In Category, expand Actions and select GPI.
87
3 System Settings
3. Select a GPI panel from the list.
4. Click Apply.
5. Click OK.
System administrators must configure system settings to provide a list of GPI panels in the
Options dialog box. You can confirm mapping by playing items from the GPI panel; test all of the commands.
Tally Settings
The Tally setting is one the system administrator can use to enable tally reflection and restriction.
Tally restriction, when enabled, is used for on-air protection of a playing clip. When tally is active (or high), users can pause a playing clip or continue playing a paused clip, but they cannot recue or eject the clip.
Tally reflection is a feature that allows users to alter the appearance of the Channel bar when tally is active on a certain channel.
88
To enable tally reflection and restriction:
1. Open the Command Workstation application.
2. Select Tools > System Settings.
The System Settings dialog box opens.
Tally Settings
3. Select Tally.
4. Do the following: t
Select Enable tally reflection to enable this feature.
t
Select Enable tally restriction to enable this feature.
5. Click OK.
89
3 System Settings
Privileges
The Privileges setting is one the system administrator can use to limit access to the Options dialog box at a Command Workstation.
To configure privileges:
1. Open the Command Workstation application.
2. Select Tools > System Settings.
The System Settings dialog box opens.
90
3. Select Privileges.
4. Select Setting Workstation options requires administrator password to limit access to the
Options dialog box to users who know the system administrator password.
5. Click OK.
System Alias
System Alias
The default system alias is the numeral one ( 1 ). However, the system administrator can configure the alias to be something more meaningful. The alias will appear in the status bar of the Command user interface at a Command Workstation. If you have multiple command systems, name them so that it is easy for users to distinguish between the systems.
To configure the system alias:
1. Open the Command Workstation application.
2. Select Tools > System Settings.
3. Select System Aliases.
4. Double click on the alias and rename it.
5. Click Apply.
6. Click OK.
91
3 System Settings
Importing and Exporting System Settings
Should it become necessary to change computers, Command offers a way to export system settings from one PC to another. It’s located on the System Settings dialog box in Command.
To import or export system settings:
1. Open the Command Workstation application.
2. Select Tools > System Settings.
The System Settings dialog box appears.
92
3. Do one of the following: t
Click Export to export the current system settings as an XML file. Go to step 4.
t
Click Import to import system settings. Go to step 4.
4. When the Export Studio Settings dialog box appears (as shown below), type a name for the XML file and select a directory where you want the file to be saved. Then click Save.
You can disregard the rest of this procedure, which applies to importing settings.
Importing and Exporting System Settings
The system will prompt you for the administrator password.
5. Enter the administrator password and click OK.
6. Navigate to and select the XML file you want to import. Then click OK.
93
3 System Settings
94
4
Troubleshooting
Avid iNEWS Command is a system that offers redundancy in case of failover and a method for system administrators or users to keep track of issues for troubleshooting purposes.
When attempting to troubleshoot any problem, it is best to have the latest version of release notes available, which are available as free downloads on Avid’s Knowledge Base at: http://support.avid.com
n
For the latest information pertaining to failover and hotswap functionality, including failover scenarios, symptoms, and recommended recovery procedures, see the Avid iNEWS
Command Best Practices document, which is also available as a free download in PDF format on Avid’s Knowledge Base.
This chapter contains the following main sections:
•
-
Standard Information to Include Regardless of Issue
•
Configuring the Avid Deko Renderer Service
4 Troubleshooting
Support Dialog Box
The Support dialog box is provided for Command users to log information about any issues encountered that might require contacting Avid.
To log support information at a Command Workstation:
1. Select Help > Support.
2. Enter a description of the issue in the Support dialog box.
For instance, the following example shows a sentence regarding a GPI device:
96
3. Click Save.
4. Select the location where you want the zipped file to be saved.
5. Click OK.
The system saves your comments inside a zipped file that also contains other vital information, such as system settings and event logs, which enable support personnel to troubleshoot the issue. This file can then be sent to Avid. For more information, see
.
Configuring the Avid Deko Renderer Service
Standard Information to Include Regardless of Issue
The following is a list of information you should have when contacting Avid, regardless of the type of issue your system is experiencing:
• The version of Avid iNEWS Command
• The version of Avid Service Framework
• The Command system name
• How many and what type of devices are being controlled by Command
• Detailed summary of the problem.
Configuring the Avid Deko Renderer Service
The Avid Deko Renderer service is installed at sites that want to integrate with an Avid Deko and utilize thumbnail images. After the service is installed on the Command Server, additional configuration should not be necessary. By default, this service is pre-configured to automatically locate the DekoMOS Gateway on the network.
However, if the service was installed and cannot locate the DekoMOS Gateway, you can manually configure it to do so via the Avid Service Configuration application—the process for which is provided in this section. n
The Deko Renderer service does not take up a HASP license seat.
To configure Deko Renderer services:
1. Click the Start button, and then select All Programs > Avid > Service Framework > Avid
Service Configuration.
2. On the Hosts tab, navigate to and select the Avid Deko Renderer Service.
3. When prompted, enter the system administrator password and click OK. If you have not yet created one, leave the space blank and click OK.
4. If the Allow Unrestricted Security dialog box appears, click Yes.
On the Settings tab, you’ll see the service set to Automatically.
97
4 Troubleshooting
98
5. Select Manually.
6. Enter the host name or IP address for the DekoMOS Gateway computer.
7. Click Apply. You can then close the Avid Service Configuration application.
n
You might need to restart the service after applying any changes. For redundant systems, ensure that all Deko Renderer services on every Command Server are set the same.
A
Administrator password
AirSpeed
channel groups
device service, defined
service for thumbnail generation
AirSpeed Multi Stream channel designations
device service, defined
Apply Studio Settings dialog box
As-run log
Auto-assign channels
Autocue
Automated graphic triggering
Avid how to order documentation
online support
training services
Avid Deko channel designations
device service, defined
Avid Deko Renderer
Avid GPI device service
Avid iNEWS Command administrator password
features of
introduction
overview of user interface
system architecture
Avid iNEWS Communication service
Avid Interplay Agent
Avid Inventory Manager
Avid MOS Communication service
Avid Playlist Controller
Avid Playlist Manager
Avid Playlist Store
Avid Service Framework
nonredundant services
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Index
Index
System Configuration
Workgroup Properties
Avid services
Avid Thunder device service
B
Backup server
Behavior, configuring
C
Channel groups creating
defined
deleting
examples of
redundancy
Channel settings
Channel-specific actions
assigning
Choose Action dialog box
Command configuring MOS redirection
features of
introduction
overview of user interface
security
system architecture
with Avid Deko
workflow illustration
Command Server
GPI card
services for
Command Workstation alternative keypad device
disabling keyboard
menus explained
starting application
99
Index
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
using X-keys
Customer Support logging support issues
H
Hold last frame time
D
Deko
Command overview
device service, defined
service for thumbnail generation
Deko Renderer
configuring the service
Deko Select, tagged events
Delete protection
Device services configuring Deko Renderer service
types of
Dialog boxes
Apply Studio Settings
Avid Services
Choose Action
System Settings
E
Eject previous items
ENPS
MOS settings
placeholders
Exclusive playout control
I
Icons iNEWS Command
iNEWS Command administrator password
defined
features of
MOS ID
MOS support
overview of system
overview of user interface
services
starting software
system architecture illustrated
workflow
workflow illustration
iNEWS Communication service
Interplay Agent service
Inventory Manager
Inventory, protect from deletion or renaming
K
Keyboard alternative
disabling
Keypad, GPI device
F
Failover
L
License service, defined
Lookup service
Lookup service, defined
G
GPI card
GPI device enabling the panel
GPI device service
GPI events, mapping
GPI panel, enabling
GPI settings
Graphics styles
setting default
M
Machine Monitor service
Maney panel service
Mapping GPI events to actions
Menu bar
Mirrored playout
channel groups
100
N
O
Online support
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
MOS Communication service
MOS protocol described
version
MOS redirection
MOS settings
editing
MOS version
MOS, defined
Multi Stream channel designations
device service, defined
Newsroom buddy host name
Newsroom buddyID
Newsroom host name
Newsroom NCS ID
Non-redundant services
R
Redundancy
caution regarding short IDs
channel groups
Index enable inventory delete and protect
enable or disable Avid services
enable or disable the keyboard
enable the as-run log
import or export system settings
log support information
map an index to a channel name
map GPI events to actions
programming X-keys
set or change administrator password
set the playout default for new items
start iNEWS Command at a workstation
start Workgroup Properties
stop or start Avid services
turn on or off automatic graphic triggering
view advanced MOS settings
view system settings
P
Panels, defined
Password security
Placeholders
Playlist Controller
Playlist Manager
Playlist settings
Playlist Store
Playlist Viewer, defined
Playout settings
Procedures access the playout settings
add a graphics style
configure Deko Renderer service
configure placeholder defaults
configuring Command for MOS-based NRCS
configuring MOS redirection
create channel groups
delete a channel group
edit a channel group
enable a GPI panel to control a playlist
S
Service Framework
Service Starter service
Services defined
license service
lookup service
Service Framework
starting and stopping
types of
viewing status
Short IDs, caution regarding redundancy
Shortcut keys
Starting services
Workgroup Properties
Strong channel assignment
System Configuration service, defined
System settings
device channels
GPI
import and export
101
Index
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
System Settings dialog box
T
Thumbnails
Deko Renderer service
Interplay Agent service
Thunder
device service, defined
Time Synchronization service
Training services
Troubleshooting
information to send Avid
logging support issues
U
USB keypad
User interface, overview
V
Video server channel designations
channel groups
W
Workflow, illustration
Workgroup Properties
X
X-keys
channel-specific actions
integration checklist
XML-based protocol
102
Avid
75 Network Drive
Burlington, MA 01803-2756 USA
Technical Support (USA)
Visit the Online Support Center at www.avid.com/support
Product Information
For company and product information, visit us on the web at www.avid.com
Herunterladen
Werbung