PENTAX *ist DS2 Digital SLR Camera Operating Manual
विज्ञापन
विज्ञापन
Operating Manual
Thank you for purchasing the PENTAX Digital Camera.
This is the manual for “PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1” and “PENTAX PHOTO
Laboratory 2.1”, software for your Windows PC or Macintosh for enjoying images created with your camera. Please read the separate camera operating manual and this manual before using your camera, “PENTAX PHOTO
Browser 2.1”, or “PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1”, in order to get the most out of all the features and functions.
Keep the camera operating manual and this manual safe, as they can be valuable tools in clarifying and helping you to understand all the camera’s capabilities.
Regarding copyrights
Images taken using this camera that are for anything other than personal enjoyment cannot be used without permission according to the rights as specified in the Copyright
Act. Please take care, as there are even cases where limitations are placed on taking pictures even for personal enjoyment during demonstrations, performances or of items on display. Images taken with the purpose of obtaining copyrights also cannot be used outside the scope of use of the copyright as laid out in the Copyright Act, and care should be taken here also.
Regarding trademarks
• PENTAX and smc PENTAX are trademarks of PENTAX Corporation.
• PENTAX PHOTO Browser, PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory, PENTAX REMOTE
Assistant are trademarks of PENTAX Corporation.
• The SD logo is a trademark.
• All other brands or product names are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners.
Regarding PictBridge
PictBridge allows the user to connect the printer and digital camera directly, using the unified standard for the direct printout of images. You can print images directly from the camera through a few simple operations.
Disclaimer
• PENTAX is not responsible for any damages resulting from the direct or indirect use of this software or repercussive damages, damage to data, programs or other intangible property, loss of profit or anticipated profit, or dispute with a third party resulting from the use of this software.
• The specifications of this software are subject to change without notice.
Symbols used in this manual have the following meanings:
Gives information that is useful to know.
Gives cautions and notes about the operation.
The screen pictures shown in this manual may differ depending on the type of computer used.
Contents
Enjoying Your Digital Camera Pictures ............................. 2
What You Can Do with PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1...... 4
System Requirements..............................................................................5
Installing the Software......................................................... 7
When Using Windows ..............................................................................7
When Using Macintosh ..........................................................................11
Saving Images on Your Computer ................................... 13
Saving Images by Connecting Your Camera and PC (For Windows)....13
Saving Images by Connecting Your Camera and Macintosh (For
Other Methods for Saving Images .........................................................21
PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 ........................................... 22
Opening PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 ................................................22
About the PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 Window.................................24
Main Image Window...............................................................................33
Saving a List of Image Data ...................................................................48
Continuous Image Playback in a Slideshow ..........................................49
Changing the PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 Settings ..........................60
Managing Image Files and Folders........................................................67
PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1....................................... 76
Opening PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1 ............................................76
About the PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1 Window.............................78
Easily Modifying RAW Images ...............................................................86
Setting RAW Image Data Processing Conditions ..................................87
Saving Image File Adjustment ...............................................................93
Recalling Image File Adjustment............................................................93
Changing the PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1 Settings ......................94
Glossary.............................................................................. 98
1
2
Enjoying Your Digital Camera Pictures
You can use a computer to organize and edit the pictures captured with your digital camera.
Direct Print
Connect your camera directly to a
PictBridge-compatible printer using the
USB cable. (Not available on w .)
View and record images on
AV equipment
Connect your camera to a TV,
DVD recorder or other audiovisual equipment using an AV cable to view and/or record images.
Your computer is...
• equipped with a standard USB interface.
• using Windows Me/2000/XP or
Mac OS 9.01/9.2/X (Ver. 10.1,
10.2, or 10.3).
Connect your camera to a computer using the USB cable to copy the camera images to a computer.
Use your photo shop
You can have prints made from images recorded on your card at a photo shop.
• Set DPOF settings on your camera, and get prints from your photo shop.
• Select the images for prints.
You can transfer your images using a built-in card slot + PC card adapter or a card reader.
• Remove the card from the camera. When transferring images on the card to a computer with another device, make sure to review the user manual accompanying that device.
Use your image data
You can use your e-mail software to attach and send images by e-mail, or post the images on your website.
• See the operating manual of your e-mail software for details on how to make attachments to e-mails.
• See the operating manual of the software you are using for details on how to use images on your website.
Use your printer
PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 (p.22 - p.75)
PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1 (p.76 - p.97)
• View images • Organize and save images
• Print images • Rename all
• Save all image data
• PENTAX-specification RAW data processing
Use a commercially-available image editing software to perform resizing, trimming and other image editing operations.
You can use your printer to print images transferred to your computer.
Some printers can print directly from memory cards.
• For details, see the operating manual of the printer you are using.
Save your image data
Images transferred to the computer can be saved onto a CD-R or other media.
3
4
What You Can Do with PENTAX
PHOTO Browser 2.1
PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 is software for viewing, printing and managing images taken on your digital camera and saved on your computer.
When you select a folder containing saved images, those images compatible with PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 automatically appear as thumbnails. You can select a thumbnail image to view the image at a larger size.
Files with extensions .bmp (BMP), .jpg (JPEG), .pef (RAW), .pct (PICT),
.png (PNG) and .tif (TIFF) are supported.
This manual describes PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 and PENTAX PHOTO
Laboratory 2.1 with screen images from Windows XP.
The operation of these software applications is nearly the same on Macintosh with the exception of some keys. For information on Macintosh-specific instructions, see the sections labeled “For Macintosh” or the online help.
Software Provided
The provided CD-ROM (S-SW34) contains the following software:
• PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1
• PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1
PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1
PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 can perform the following tasks:
• Save image files under the same or a new name, change file names and file types, copy, cut, paste, rotate and delete.
• Create new folders, change folder names, copy, cut, delete and paste.
• Save image data list.
• Check image data.
• View RAW image data easily.
• Print images.
You can also start RAW image data editing software PENTAX PHOTO
Laboratory 2.1 and PENTAX REMOTE Assistant *1 from within PENTAX
PHOTO Browser 2.1.
*1: PENTAX REMOTE Assistant can only be used together with w .
PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1
Performs color separation processing and other processing on CCD RAW image data recorded in PENTAX digital camera dedicated format, thereby enabling images to be saved so as to appear on commercially-available image viewing and editing software.
PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1 can also be run as a standalone application.
5
System Requirements
We recommend the following system requirements to transfer images from your camera to a computer and to install and use PENTAX PHOTO
Browser 2.1 and PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1.
Windows System Requirements
USB Connection
• Computer with Windows Me/2000/XP (Home Edition/Professional) preinstalled.
• USB port must be standard equipment.
Application Software
<PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 and PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1>
(9 languages: English, French, German, Spanish, Italian, Russian,
Chinese [traditional and simplified], Korean, Japanese)
• OS : Windows Me/2000
• CPU
• Memory
• Monitor
Windows XP (Home Edition/Professional)
: PentiumIII or later (Pentium 4 or later recommended)
: 256MB minimum (512MB or higher recommended)
: 1024×768 (1280×1024 or better resolution recommended) in 24 bit full color (approx. 16.77 million colors)
• Free Disk Space : 250MB or more (500MB or more recommended)
• In Windows 95/98/NT, you cannot transfer files or use the included application software using the USB cable.
• We recommend using AC adapter when the camera is connected to the computer. If the batteries become depleted during image transfer, the image data or SD Memory Card may be damaged.
6
Macintosh System Requirements
USB Connection
• Macintosh with Mac OS 9.01/9.2/X (Ver. 10.1, 10.2 or 10.3) preinstalled.
• USB port must be standard equipment.
* Installation of the USB driver is not necessary.
Application Software
<PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 and PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1>
(9 languages: English, French, German, Spanish, Italian, Russian,
Chinese [traditional and simplified], Korean, Japanese)
• OS : Mac OS 9.0 or later (CarbonLib 1.5 or later)
Mac OS X 10.1.3 or later
• CPU : PowerPC G3 or later (G4 1.0 GHz or higher recommended)
• Memory
• Monitor
: 256MB minimum (512MB or higher recommended)
: 1024×768 (1280×1024 or better resolution recommended) in 24 bit full color (approx. 16.77 million colors)
• Free Disk Space : 250MB or more (500MB or more recommended)
• We recommend using AC adapter (sold separately) when the camera is connected to the computer. If the batteries become depleted during image transfer, the image data or SD Memory Card may be damaged.
• In Mac OS 8.6, you cannot transfer files using the USB cable.
Installing the Software
Here is the procedure for installing PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 and
PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1.
PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 and PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1 can be installed on top of earlier versions of this software supplied with w and J .
When multiple accounts have been setup in Windows 2000/XP or Mac OS
X, log on with an account that has administrative rights before installing the software.
When Using Windows
1
Turn your computer on.
Close any other software that is open.
2
Place the provided CD-ROM (S-SW34) into the CD-ROM drive on your computer.
The PENTAX Software Installer screen appears.
• If the PENTAX Software Installer screen does not appear
Display the PENTAX Software Installer screen following the steps below.
1) Double-click [My Computer] from the start menu.
2) Double-click the [CD-ROM drive (S-SW34)] icon.
3) Double-click [Setup.exe].
3
You can choose the languages from the displayed screen.
The software selection screen appears.
7
8
4
Click [PENTAX Digital Camera
Utility].
5
Select your applicable language in the Select
Language screen and click
[OK].
Some operating environments select the language automatically. Continue with the installation in step 6 . The installer starts.
6
The installer starts. Click
[Next].
7
Confirm the folder name in the
Destination Folder to which the program files are to be installed. Click [Next] if no need to change.
8
Click [Next] to begin the installation.
Copying of the program files begins.
9
A message appears after installation of the software is finished. Click [Finish] to exit the installation program.
The installation is complete.
9
10
Product Registration on the Internet
Please click [Product Registration] on the software selection screen in step 4
A world map for Internet Product
Registration is displayed.
If your PC is connected to the Internet, click the displayed country or region and then follow the instructions to register your product.
Thank you very much for your cooperation.
Only customers in displayed countries and regions can register their products on the Internet Product Registration.
When Using Macintosh
1
Turn your Macintosh on.
Close any other software that is open.
2
Place the provided CD-ROM (S-SW34) into the CD-ROM drive on your Macintosh.
3
Double-click the CD-ROM (S-
SW34) icon.
The contents of the CD-ROM are displayed.
11
4
Double-click the [PENTAX
Installer] icon.
The PENTAX Software Installer screen appears.
5
You can choose the languages from the displayed screen.
The software selection screen appears.
12
6
Click the OS selection button that corresponds to your OS.
Follow the instructions on the screen and continue with the installation.
Product Registration on the Internet
Please click [Product Registration] on the software selection screen in step 6 (
.
A world map for Internet Product
Registration is displayed.
If your Macintosh is connected to the
Internet, click the displayed country or region and then follow the instructions to register your product.
Thank you very much for your cooperation.
Only customers in displayed countries and regions can register their products on the Internet Product Registration.
Saving Images on Your Computer
Here is the procedure for saving images captured with your digital camera onto your computer.
This section describes the method for saving images by connecting your camera and computer with the USB cable, as well as other methods.
Saving Images by Connecting Your Camera and PC (For Windows)
Set [Transfer Mode] on the Camera to [PC]
L is used as an example here. When using w , [Transfer Mode]
does not need to be set. Go to “Connecting Your Camera to Your PC” (p.14).
1
Press the 3 button on the camera.
The [ A Rec. Mode] menu or the [ Q Playback] menu appears.
2
Press the four-way controller ( 5 ) to display the [ H Set-up] menu.
3
Use the four-way controller ( 23 ) to select [Transfer Mode].
4
Press the four-way controller ( 5 ).
A pull-down menu appears.
5
Use the four-way controller ( 23 ) to select [PC].
[Transfer Mode] settings depend on the connected device.
When connecting to a PC:
[PC] = USB 2.0 (Hi-Speed USB compatible)
[PC-F] = USB 1.1
When printing with a printer:
[PictBridge] (only for compatible printers)
Set-up
Brightness Level
Video Out
Transfer Mode
Auto Power Off
File #
Sensor Cleaning
Cancel
0
NTSC
P C
PictBridge
P C - F
OK OK
13
14
6
Press the 4 button on the camera.
• Do not connect the camera to your computer while [PictBridge] is selected for the [Transfer Mode].
• If the USB transmission speed of the computer is slower than that of the camera, an error may occur when transferring data. If this occurs, set the
Transfer Mode to [PC-F]. This sets the transfer speed to the USB 1.1 data transfer rate, thereby reducing the possibility of an error.
Connecting Your Camera to Your PC
1
Turn your PC on.
2
Turn off your camera and use the USB cable to connect your camera and your PC.
Confirm that an SD Memory Card is inserted into your camera.
3
Turn your camera on.
The camera is recognized as a [Removable Disk] in [My Computer].
• If the [Removable Disk Drive] dialog appears in Windows XP, select [Open folder to view files using Windows Explorer] and click [OK]. The window in step 3 on p.15 appears.
• When using Windows XP, if the SD Memory Card has a volume label, the content of the volume label name appears instead of [Removable Disk]. A new unformatted SD Memory Card may show the manufacturer name or model number.
Saving Camera Images on Your PC
Windows XP is used as an example here.
1
Click [My Computer] from the start menu.
2
Double-click the [Removable
Disk] icon.
3
Double-click the [DCIM] icon.
The [XXXPENTX] (XXX is a three-digit number) folder appears.
The camera image files are in this folder.
4
Drag and drop the
[XXXPENTX] folder into any desired folder, such as the desktop or the [My
Documents] folder.
The camera images are saved on your
PC as an entire folder.
15
16
Disconnecting Your Camera from Your PC
Windows XP
1
Double-click the [Safely
Remove Hardware] icon in the task bar.
The [Safely Remove Hardware] screen appears.
2
Confirm that [USB Mass
Storage Device] is selected and then click [Stop].
The [Stop a Hardware device] screen appears.
3
Select [USB Mass Storage
Device] and click [OK].
A message appears indicating that the hardware can be safely removed.
4
Click [OK].
5
Turn off the camera and disconnect the USB cable from your camera and PC.
Windows Me/2000
1
Double-click the [Unplug or
Eject Hardware] icon in the task bar.
The [Unplug or Eject Hardware] screen appears.
2
Confirm that [USB Mass
Storage Device] is selected and then click [Stop].
The [Stop a Hardware device] screen appears.
3
Select [USB Mass Storage
Device] and click [OK].
A message appears indicating that the hardware can be safely removed.
4
Click [OK].
5
Turn off the camera and disconnect the USB cable from your camera and PC.
The USB mass storage device will not stop when the files stored on the removable disk are in use for applications.
17
18
Saving Images by Connecting Your Camera and Macintosh (For Macintosh)
Setting the USB Connection Mode to [PC]
L is used as an example here. When using w , [Transfer Mode]
does not need to be set. Go to “Connecting the Camera and Macintosh” (p.19).
1
Press the 3 button on the camera.
The [ A Rec. Mode] menu or the [ Q Playback] menu appears.
2
Press the four-way controller ( 5 ) to display the [ H Set-up] menu.
3
Use the four-way controller ( 23 ) to select [Transfer Mode].
4
Press the four-way controller ( 5 ).
A pull-down menu appears.
5
Use the four-way controller
( 23 ) to select [PC].
[Transfer Mode] settings depend on the connected device.
When connecting to a PC:
[PC] = USB 2.0 (Hi-Speed USB compatible)
[PC-F] = USB 1.1
When printing with a printer:
[PictBridge] (only for compatible printers)
Set-up
Brightness Level
Video Out
Transfer Mode
Auto Power Off
File #
Sensor Cleaning
Cancel
0
NTSC
P C
PictBridge
P C - F
OK OK
6
Press the 4 button on the camera.
• Do not connect the camera to your computer while [PictBridge] is selected for the [Transfer Mode].
• If the USB transmission speed of the computer is slower than that of the camera, an error may occur when transferring data. If this occurs, set the
Transfer Mode to [PC-F]. This sets the transfer speed to the USB 1.1 data transfer rate, thereby reducing the possibility of an error.
Connecting the Camera and Macintosh
1
Turn on your Macintosh.
2
Turn off your camera and use the USB cable to connect your camera and your Macintosh.
Confirm that an SD Memory Card is inserted into your camera.
19
3
Turn your camera on.
Your camera is recognized on the desktop as [NO_NAME (or the volume label of the SD Memory Card if one is registered)].
You can change the folder name.
When the iPHOTO screen appears, close it.
For Mac OS 9.0, it is recognized as [Untitled (or the volume label of the SD
Memory Card if one is registered)].
20
Saving Camera Images on Your Macintosh
Mac OS X (Ver. 10.2) is used as an example here.
1
Double-click the [NO_NAME] icon on the desktop.
2
Double-click the [DCIM] icon.
The [XXXPENTX] (XXX is a three-digit number) folder appears.
The camera image files are in this folder.
3
Double-click the [Macintosh
HD] icon on the desktop.
This opens the [Macintosh HD] folder.
4
Drag and drop the
[XXXPENTX] folder into any desired folder, such as the
[Macintosh HD] folder.
The camera images are saved into the
[Macintosh HD] folder as an entire folder.
Disconnecting Your Camera from Your Macintosh
1
Drag [NO_NAME (or the volume label name on the SD
Memory Card)] on the desktop to the trash can.
2
Turn off the camera and disconnect the USB cable from your camera and Macintosh.
Other Methods for Saving Images
Use a card reader or card adapter to send image files directly to your computer from a memory card with saved images without connecting your camera and your computer with a USB cable.
For details, please refer to the user’s manual for your computer or card reader.
21
22
PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1
This section describes opening and closing PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 and viewing the PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 window, and explains its functions.
Opening PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1
For Windows
1
Select the start menu on the desktop.
2
Select [PENTAX PHOTO
Browser] from [PENTAX
Digital Camera Utility] in the program menu.
PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 is opened and the PENTAX PHOTO
Browser 2.1 window appears.
Closing PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1
Select [Exit] from the [File] menu.
For Macintosh
1
Double-click the [PENTAX Digital Camera Utility] folder in
[Applications] on the hard disk.
2
Double-click the [PENTAX
PHOTO Browser] program icon.
PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 is opened and the PENTAX PHOTO
Browser 2.1 window appears.
23
Closing PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1
Select [Quit PENTAX PHOTO Browser] in [PENTAX PHOTO Browser] on the desktop menu bar.
24
About the PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 Window
This section explains the PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 window layout, names and functions.
Each pane can be resized from side to side and up and down. Drag or double-click the Address bar, Folder tree pane, Image data pane or
Preview pane to remove it from the browser window and move it to a different position. Alternatively, click on the top right of each pane to close that pane. (For Macintosh, click a pane or drag the margin to remove the pane.)
Click (Default Position) to return the pane to the default position.
Menu bar Tool bar Thumbnail pane
Folder tree pane Address bar
Preview pane Image data pane Status bar
Address bar
The address of the currently displayed folder appears here.
Double-click the address bar to remove it from the browser window and move it to a different position. (For Macintosh, click the Address bar or drag the margin to remove the Address bar.)
Folder tree pane
Internal data on your computer appears here as a folder tree. Select the folder containing saved image files here.
Also, the Folder tree pane handles operations such as creating new folders, deleting folders and moving/copying folders.
Double-click or drag the top bar to remove the Folder tree pane from the browser window and move it to a different position. (For Macintosh, click the Folder tree pane or drag the margin to remove the pane.)
Thumbnail pane
Files in the folder selected in the Folder tree pane appear here. Select from five file display methods. When a thumbnail image is selected in the
Thumbnail pane, the image appears in the Preview pane and the image data appears in the Image data pane.
Preview pane
An image selected in the Thumbnail pane appears in this pane.
Double-click the top bar to remove the Preview pane from the browser window and move it to a different position. (For Macintosh, click the
Preview pane or drag the margin to remove the pane.)
Image data pane
The image data for the image selected in the Thumbnail pane appears here.
Double-click the top bar to remove the Image data pane from the browser window and move it to a different position. (For Macintosh, click the Image data pane or drag the margin to remove the pane.)
Place the cursor over a cell dividing line at the top of the pane and drag it to resize the cell. (For Macintosh, drag at the desired position to resize the cell.)
The following items appear:
Data
Lens name
Focal length
Shutter speed
Aperture
Contents
Aperture value when shooting
Example
Shows lens type smc PENTAX-
FA 50mm F1.4
Focal length when shooting (in mm) 50mm
Shutter speed when shooting
(in seconds)
1/250sec
F8.0
25
26
Data
Capture mode
Metering mode
Contents
Capture mode when shooting
Metering mode when shooting
White balance mode
Color temperature (units: Kelvin) *1
Amber - Blue fine tune *1
Magenta - Green fine tune *1
ISO sensitivity when shooting
Number of recorded pixels
Recording quality
Exposure compensation
Example
Auto Picture
(Normal)
Multi-segment metering
Automatic White balance
Color temperature
Fine tune A-B
Fine tune M-G
Sensitivity
Recorded pixels
Quality
Exposure compensation
-----
-----
-----
200
3008×2000
Better
0.0
Autofocus mode Autofocus mode when shooting Single AF
Autofocus area mode Autofocus area mode when shooting Automatic
Color space
Photo finish
Color space mode
Photo finish settings sRGB
Bright
Saturation
Sharpness
Contrast
Drive mode
Saturation settings
Sharpness settings
Contrast settings
Drive mode settings when shooting
0
0
0
Single shooting
Flash mode
Bracket
Multi-exposure
Firmware/Software version
Flash mode settings when shooting
Bracket settings when shooting
Flash off
Off
Multi-exposure settings when shooting Off
Version of the software when images were last saved *2
Shooting date/time Date and time shot
*ist DL Ver. 1.00
2005/06/25
10:00:00
Camera model Camera model PENTAX *ist DL
*1: Processing details when using PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1 appear.
*2: Information on the camera’s firmware appears for captured images.
Status bar
The status of PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 appears.
The following items appear:
• Number of objects in the selected folder, total folder size (not including subfolders) or number of selected objects and total size
• Available disk space for selected drive
• Progress status when loading thumbnails
• Identification of local disk, removable disk and network
Menu Bar
This executes functions or sets various settings of PENTAX PHOTO
Browser 2.1.
For Macintosh, the menu bar appears at the top of the desktop.
File menu
Create New Folder
Open
Rename
Rename All
Page Setup
Properties
Exit
This creates a new folder in the location specified on the Folder tree pane. (p.73)
This opens the selected folder. For an image selected in the Thumbnail pane, it displays the image in a new main image window.
This changes the name of the selected file or folder.
This changes the names of all selected files. (p.72)
This sets printing options such as margins, headers/
footers, and number of copies. (p.57)
This prints the selected image file. (p.52)
The properties of the selected file or folder appear.
This closes PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1.
(For Macintosh, select [Quit PENTAX PHOTO
Browser].)
27
Edit menu
Undo
Cut
Copy
Paste
This undoes the previous file operation.
This prepares the selected file or folder to be moved
to a different location. (p.67)
This copies the selected file or folder. (p.67)
This copies the cut or copied file or folder into the
Delete
Check Selected Image
This deletes the selected folder or image. When a folder is deleted, all files in the folder are also deleted.
This checks the selected file.
Uncheck Selected Image This unchecks the selected file.
Uncheck All This unchecks all images.
Select All
Invert Selection
This selects all files within the currently open folder.
This unselects all selected files and selects all unselected files within the currently open folder.
28
View menu
Tool Bar
Folder Tree
Preview
Address Bar
Status Bar
Image Data
Default Position
Filter
Sort by
Thumbnail Caption
Thumbnail (Smallest)
Thumbnail (Small)
Thumbnail (Medium)
Thumbnail (Large)
Details
Move
Slideshow
This shows or hides the Tool bar.
This shows or hides the Folder tree pane.
This shows or hides the Preview pane.
This shows or hides the Address bar.
This shows or hides the Status bar.
This shows or hides the Image data pane.
This returns each pane to its default position.
This sets the type of file that appears in the
Thumbnail pane. Uncheck the items you want to hide. Select from the following four items:
PENTAX Image: Images captured with your
PENTAX camera
Other Image : Images other than those captured with your PENTAX camera (JPEG,
Folder
Other
TIFF, BMP, PNG, PICT)
: Folders
: Files not compatible with PENTAX
PHOTO Browser 2.1
This specifies the order in which objects appear in the
Thumbnail pane and specifies ascending or descending order.
You can select from File Name, File Size, File Date/
Time, File Type, Shooting Date/Time, Image Size and Lens Name.
This sets the captions of objects that appear in the
Thumbnail pane. File Name, File Date and File Time appear by default.
The smallest size thumbnail appears in the
Thumbnail pane.
A small size thumbnail appears in the Thumbnail pane.
A medium size thumbnail appears in the Thumbnail pane.
A large size thumbnail appears in the Thumbnail pane.
Image details appear in the Thumbnail pane without an image.
Select [Back] to return to the previously opened folder, [Forward] to move forward one folder, and
[Up] to move up one folder in the directory tree.
Selected or checked images appear in order. (p.49)
Tool menu
Save Image Data List
PENTAX PHOTO
Laboratory
PENTAX REMOTE
Assistant
Options
*1
Use the check boxes to save the image data from multiple folders into one CSV format file. If no images are selected or checked, all the image data in the
current folder is saved. (p.48)
This starts PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1. Specify the applicable image files within the Thumbnail pane
of PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1. (p.76)
This starts PENTAX REMOTE Assistant.
PENTAX REMOTE Assistant can be used by installing it in the same folder as PENTAX PHOTO
Browser 2.1 and using it together with w .
This sets various settings for PENTAX PHOTO
Help menu
Help Topics
Index
What’s This?
About PHOTO Browser
This shows PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 help contents.
This shows PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 help index search. (This command is not available for
Macintosh.)
This shows pop-up tips when an icon or command button is clicked.
This shows PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 version information. (For Macintosh, select [About PENTAX
PHOTO Browser] on the [PENTAX PHOTO Browser] menu.)
*1: PENTAX REMOTE Assistant is not included in the CD-ROM (S-SW34). The latest version can be downloaded from the PENTAX website.
This menu function can be used if PENTAX REMOTE Assistant is already installed.
29
30
Tool Bar
Frequently used functions are provided as Tool bar buttons. You can execute these functions easily from the Tool bar.
Double-click the Tool bar to remove it from the browser window and move it to a different position.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25
Number Icon (button)
1
Back
2
Forward
3
Up
4
Rename All
5
6
Undo
7
Cut
Content
This opens the previously opened folder.
This opens the folder which was open before using the [Back] button.
This moves up one folder in the directory tree.
This changes the names of all selected files.
This prints the selected image file. (p.52)
This undoes the previous file operation.
This prepares the selected file or folder to be
moved to a different location. (p.67)
Number Icon (button)
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
Content
This copies the selected file or folder. (p.67)
Copy
This copies the cut or copied file or folder into the
Paste
This deletes the selected file or folder. (p.70)
Delete
The selected image file appears in the main
View Image
Filter
Sort by
Click to select the type of file that appears in the
Thumbnail pane. Uncheck the items you want to hide. Select from the following four items:
PENTAX Image: Images captured with your
PENTAX camera
Other Image : Images other than those captured with your PENTAX camera (JPEG, TIFF, BMP,
Folder
Other
PNG, PICT)
: Folders
: Files not compatible with
PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1
Click to select the sort key and ascending/ descending order from the pull-down menu.
Thumbnails are sorted according to the selected order.
The smallest size thumbnail appears in the
Thumbnail
(Smallest)
A small size thumbnail appears in the Thumbnail
Thumbnail (Small)
Thumbnail (Medium)
A large size thumbnail appears in the Thumbnail
Thumbnail (Large)
A medium size thumbnail appears in the
31
32
Number Icon (button)
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
Content
Image details appear in the Thumbnail pane without an image.
Details
This returns the window layout of PENTAX
PHOTO Browser 2.1 to the default settings.
Default Position
Slideshow
This saves additional information for all specified
PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 compatible image
files into one CSV format file. (p.48)
Save Image Data
List...
PENTAX PHOTO
Laboratory
PENTAX REMOTE
Assistant
This starts PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1.
Specify the applicable image files within the
Thumbnail pane of PENTAX PHOTO Browser
This starts PENTAX REMOTE Assistant.
PENTAX REMOTE Assistant can be used by installing it in the same folder as PENTAX
PHOTO Browser 2.1 and using it together with w .
This sets various settings for PENTAX PHOTO
Options
Selected or checked images appear in order.
This shows PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 help contents.
Help
Main Image Window
Menu bar Tool bar
33
Image data pane Image view area
Menu bar
This executes functions or sets various settings of the main image window.
File menu
View Browser
Open
Save as
Page Setup
This shows the file browsing screen.
This opens the [Open] dialog to select the file to open.
If a check mark is next to “Open in new window”, a new Main image view window opens and the selected image appears when a file is selected and
This saves the image being viewed in JPEG, TIFF,
BMP, PNG or PICT format. (p.45)
This sets the page setup information for printing the
34
File menu
Properties
Close
This prints the current image. (p.52)
Image file data appears. (p.44)
This closes the main image window.
View menu
Tool Bar
Image Data
Previous Image
Next Image
Slideshow
Fit to Window
Enlarge
Reduce
Life size
Rotate View
(Counterclockwise 90°)
Rotate View
(Clockwise 90°)
Arrange Windows
This shows or hides the Tool bar.
This shows or hides the Image data pane.
The previous image appears when there are multiple images in the main image view window. This button cannot be selected if there are no images to view.
The next image appears when there are multiple images in the main image view window. This button cannot be selected if there are no images to view.
Selected or checked images appear in order. (p.49)
This fits the image to the window size. (p.42)
This doubles the view magnification of the image appearing in the image view area.
The maximum view magnification is 4 times. (p.42)
This halves the view magnification of the image appearing in the image view area.
The minimum view magnification is 1/16. (p.42)
This sets the view magnification of the image
appearing in the image view area to life size. (p.42)
This rotates the image 90° counterclockwise. This does not affect the data.
This rotates the image 90° clockwise. This does not affect the data.
This arranges multiple main image windows.
Tool menu
Auto Image Fix
Rotate Image
Options
This automatically adjusts the brightness, contrast and color tone. Select Strong or Slight.
Image data is rotated. Uncompressed images are rotated as is. When performing lossless rotation of an unprocessed JPEG image, the [Save File] dialog
opens before the image appears. (p.46)
This sets various settings for PENTAX PHOTO
Help menu
Help Topics
Index
What’s This?
About PHOTO Browser
This shows PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 help contents.
This shows PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 help index search. (This command is not available for
Macintosh.)
This shows pop-up tips when an icon or command button is clicked.
This shows PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 version information. (For Macintosh, select [About PENTAX
PHOTO Browser] on the [PENTAX PHOTO Browser] menu.)
Tool bar
Frequently used functions are provided as Tool bar buttons. You can execute these functions easily from the Tool bar.
Remove the check mark next to [Tool Bar] on the [View] menu to hide the
Tool bar.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
35
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
36
Number Icon (button)
1
View Browser
2
Open
3
Save as
4
5
Properties
6
Previous Image
7
Next Image
8
Slideshow
9
Fit to Window
10
Reduce
11
Enlarge
Content
This shows the file browsing screen.
This opens the [Open] dialog to select the file to open. If a check mark is next to “Open in new window”, a new Main image view window opens and the selected image appears when a file is selected and [Open] is clicked.
This saves the image being viewed in JPEG,
TIFF, BMP, PNG or PICT format. (p.45)
This prints the current image. (p.52)
This shows selected file properties. (p.44)
The previous image appears when there are multiple images in the main image view window.
This button cannot be selected if there are no images to view.
The next image appears when there are multiple images in the main image view window.
This button cannot be selected if there are no images to view.
Selected or checked images appear in order.
This fits the image to the window size. (p.42)
This halves the view magnification of the image appearing in the image view area.
The minimum view magnification is 1/16. (p.42)
This doubles the view magnification of the image appearing in the image view area.
The maximum view magnification is 4 times.
Number Icon (button)
12
13
14
15
Content
This sets the view magnification of the image appearing in the image view area to life size
Life size
Zoom
Rotate View
(Counterclockwise 90°)
The current view magnification appears. You can also set the view magnification by selecting it from the pull-down list, or by directly inputting
This rotates the image appearing in the image view area 90° to the left (counterclockwise).
This rotates the image appearing in the image
view area 90° to the right (clockwise). (p.41)
Rotate View
(Clockwise 90°)
16
Auto Image Fix
Click and select or to automatically adjust the brightness, contrast and color tone.
Select Strong or Slight.
17
18
Rotate Image
Options
Click and select or to rotate the image data. Uncompressed images are rotated as is.
When performing lossless rotation of an unprocessed JPEG image, the [Save as] dialog
opens before the image appears. (p.46)
The PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 setup screen appears. This sets various settings for
PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1. (p.60)
19 This shows PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 help contents.
Help
Image View Area
The image selected in the Thumbnail pane of PENTAX PHOTO Browser
2.1 appears.
Image data pane
The image data appears for the image appearing in the image view area.
Remove the check mark next to [Image Data] on the [View] menu to hide the Image data pane.
Place the cursor over a cell dividing line at the top of the pane and drag it to resize the cell. (For Macintosh, drag at the applicable position to resize the cell.)
37
38
Viewing Images
Display the images saved on your computer.
1
Open PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1.
2
In the folder tree, select the folder containing the image file to view.
Images in the selected folder appear as thumbnails in the Thumbnail pane.
39
You can change the size of the thumbnail image. In the [View] menu, select
[Thumbnail (Smallest)], [Thumbnail (Small)], [Thumbnail (Medium)], or
[Thumbnail (Large)]. Alternatively, click the , , , or icon on the Tool bar.
3
Select an image in the Thumbnail pane.
Select one of the following methods for viewing an image:
• Click the image to view. The image is framed in blue.
Hold down the Ctrl key or Shift key to select multiple images. (For
Macintosh, hold down the Command key or Shift key to select multiple images.)
• Check O the image to view.
Multiple images can be selected. Images from multiple folders can also be selected.
40
• Click the image to view and then select [Check Selected Image] -
[Invert Selection] from the [Edit] menu.
4
Select [Open] from the [File] menu or click the icon on the Tool bar.
The main image window opens and the image appears.
Double-click the image file to view in the Thumbnail pane. The main image window opens and the image appears in one step.
RAW image file display
PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 allows you to select between [Simple display] and [Auto RAW display] when displaying RAW image files in the
Simple display : Images can be viewed quickly, but image quality is inferior.
Auto RAW display: It takes time to display the actual raw data, but the image quality is superior.
Select from three levels for the processing ratio on the
[View] tab of the [Options] dialog. (p.62)
Rotating the Image View
The image in the image view area can be rotated 90°, 180°, or 270° to the right (clockwise) or left (counterclockwise).
1
Select [Rotate View (Clockwise 90°)] or [Rotate View
(Counterclockwise 90°)] from the [View] menu in the main image window.
Alternatively, click the or icon on the Tool bar.
The image appears rotated.
To save the rotated image, use [Rotate Image] on the [Tool] menu. (p.46)
41
42
Changing the View Magnification
You can change the image view magnification of the image appearing in the image view area.
1
Select [Fit to Window], [Enlarge], [Reduce] or [Life size] from the [View] menu in the main image window.
Alternatively, click the , , or icon on the Tool bar.
The image view magnification can be adjusted from 1/16 to 4 times.
Enlarged view
Reduced view
You can also enlarge or reduce the view by directly inputting the numerical value of the magnification in the View Magnification box on the Tool bar.
43
44
Hiding the Tool Bar and Image Data Pane
You can set whether to show or hide the Tool bar and image data pane in the main image window.
1
Select [Tool Bar] or [Image Data] from the [View] menu in the main image window and uncheck the item.
The Tool bar or image data pane is hidden.
To display the Tool bar or image data pane, select [Tool Bar] or [Image Data] from the [View] menu in the main image window and check the item.
Displaying Image Properties
You can display file data for the image file appearing in the main image
Saving an Image
You can save the displayed image using any of the following file formats.
RAW data can be saved with any of these formats to view the image with image processing software.
JPEG : JPEG image with image data
TIFF (8 bit) : TIFF image with image data
TIFF (16bit) : High quality TIFF image with image data
BITMAP
PNG
PICT
: BMP image without image data
: PNG image without image data
: PICT image without image data
1
Select [Save as] from the [File] menu in the main image window or click the icon on the Tool bar.
The [Save as] dialog appears.
If RAW data is viewed in Simple display or is reduced, the message
[Image is shown in simple display mode. Do you wish to return image to full size?] appears. If [No] is selected, the image is saved as it is displayed. The quality is inferior to that of an image processed to full size.
2
Specify [Save in], [File name] and [Save as type], and then click [Save].
45
The image is saved.
46
Saving a Rotated Image
Data of the displayed image is rotated 90° left or right. Rotation of the image may take time depending on the size of the image.
A warning message appears when closing the main image window without saving the image or when clicking .
1
Select [Rotate Image], [Counterclockwise 90°] or
[Clockwise 90°] from the [Tool] menu in the main image window, or click on the right of the icon and then click the or icon.
The image data appears rotated. When performing lossless rotation of an unprocessed JPEG image, the [Save File] dialog opens before the image appears.
2
Select [Save as] from the [File] menu in the main image window or click the icon on the Tool bar.
The [Rotate Image] dialog appears.
3
Specify [Save in], [File name] and [Save as type], and then click [Save].
47
The image is rotated and saved.
48
Saving a List of Image Data
Use the check boxes to save the image data from multiple folders into one
CSV format file. If no images are selected or checked, all the image data in the current folder is saved.
1
Select [Save Image Data List] from the [Tool] menu in the
PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 window or click the icon on the Tool bar.
The [Save Image Data List] dialog appears.
2
Specify the file name and save destination, and then click
[Save].
The image data is saved in CSV format.
When thumbnail images are checked, data is saved only for those images.
Image data is also saved for checked images contained in other folders. When a thumbnail image is selected, only data for the selected image is saved.
Continuous Image Playback in a Slideshow
This section explains how to set up and operate the slideshow.
1
Select an image or folder in the PENTAX PHOTO Browser
2.1 window.
2
Select [Slideshow] from the [View] menu or click the icon on the Tool bar.
The Slideshow screen and Slideshow control panel open.
Slideshow screen
49
Slideshow control panel
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
50
5
6
3
4
Number Icon (button)
1
2
7
8
First Image
Rewind
Content
Returns to the first image. When this is pressed during a slideshow, the first image appears and the slideshow pauses.
Rewinds slideshow. When this is pressed during a slideshow, the next image appears and the slideshow pauses.
Previous Image Slideshow is played in reverse order.
Pause Pauses slideshow.
Play
Fast Forward
Plays slideshow.
Fast-forwards slideshow. When fast-forwarding during a slideshow, the next image appears and the slideshow pauses.
Last Image
Stop
Shows last image. You can use this during a slideshow. The last image appears and the slideshow pauses.
Stops slideshow.
3
Press the Play button.
The slideshow starts.
Slideshow Settings
When viewing the slideshow, select between a single window and a dual window. Additionally, view the slideshow in single full screen or dual full screen mode (only if the computer is compatible with dual screen display).
Set the slideshow order from the [Slideshow] tab on the [Options] dialog.
The order for frame advance during the slideshow is determined by the
View Order setting on the [Frame Advance] tab of the [Options] dialog.
Select from one of the four display patterns below.
Single window Single full screen
Slideshow
A
A
Dual window
Primary Secondary
A B
Dual full screen
A B
Image display order for dual window
When using dual window or dual full screen, select the display pattern for images on the primary and secondary monitors.
Advance in order
Primary
(A) n n+1 n+2 n+3
Secondary
(B) n+1 n+2 n+3 n+4
Advance alternate
Primary
(A) n
Secondary
(B) n-1 n n+1 n+2 n+1 n+2 n+3
51
52
Advance two frames
Primary
(A) n-2
Secondary
(B) n-1
Set primary image
Primary
(A) n
Secondary
(B) n+1 n n+1 n+2 n+3 n+4 n+5 n n+2 n n+3 n n+4
Printing an Image
When printing image files, select between Print Index and Print Photo.
Print Index
Print photo
Prints a thumbnail and image data for an image.
Prints a high-quality print of an image. You can print multiple images on one page or print one large image on multiple pages using partition printing.
Using Print Index
1
In the Thumbnail pane of the PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 window, select the images to print.
2
Select [Print] from the [File] menu.
Alternatively, click the icon on the Tool bar.
The [Print] dialog appears.
3
Select the [Print Index] tab.
53
4
Make the layout and caption settings.
Item
Preview
Layout
Number of images per page
Caption
Position
Contents
Font
Size
Printer
Description
This displays a preview using the specified settings.
Select from three layout patterns.
From the list, specify the number of images to print on one page.
The caption settings are explained below. The contents that appear depend on the selected layout.
Select the image caption position from the list.
Specify the data that may be printed from the list.
Select a font from the list. The default setting is the standard system font.
Select a font size from the list.
The name of the printer to be used appears here.
54
• The image size is calculated automatically from the margins, number of images, and caption size.
• Click the [Page Setup] button to make the page settings. (p.57)
• Click the [Printer Settings] button to make the printer settings. (p.58)
5
Click [OK].
Printing starts.
Using Print Photo
1
In the Thumbnail pane of the PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 window, select the images to print.
2
Select [Print] from the [File] menu.
Alternatively, click the icon on the Tool bar.
The [Print] dialog appears.
3
Select the [Print photo] tab.
55
4
Make the layout and caption settings.
Item
Preview
Layout
Images per page
Multi-page printing
Allocating images
Description
This displays a preview using the specified settings.
Select from three layout patterns.
Layout 1: Normal printing
(with no margins depending on the printer)
Layout 2: Layout printing
Layout 3: Partition printing
(printing one image on multiple pages)
From the list, select the number of images to print on one page.
Select the number of partitions per page from the list.
Select processing options from the list when printing area and image size differ.
No trimming:
The image does not exceed the printing area.
Trimming: The entire printing area is used and any part exceeding the printing area is deleted.
56
Item
Position
Description
Select the position of the image in the printing area from the list.
Set the vertical and horizontal space in mm.
Space (Vertical)/Space
(Horizontal)
Fit to page
Print Shooting Date and
Time
Printer
This setting uses the printing area most effectively.
Check this to allow the image to be rotated 90° as needed to fit the printing area and then printed.
Set the Shooting data/time print settings.
Position : Selects position to print Shooting date/
Font time.
: Select a font from the list. The default setting is the standard system font.
Print Time: Select from Do Not Print (Default) or Print
(HH:MM, 24-hour format only).
Separator : Sets dividers in text.
Format : Sets date format.
Text color : Sets the font color.
Size : Select a font size from the list.
The name of the printer to be used appears here.
• The image size is calculated automatically from the margins, spacing, and number of images.
• The printing orientation of the date/time depends on the image data (for
Windows only). The printing position is in a relative position to the image data.
• Click the [Page Setup] button to make the page settings. (p.57)
• Click the [Printer Settings] button to make the printer settings. (p.58)
5
Click [OK].
Printing starts.
Using Page Setup
Use Page Setup to set printing options such as margins, headers/footers, and number of copies.
1
Select [Page Setup] from the [File] menu in the PENTAX
PHOTO Browser 2.1 window or click [Page Setup] on the
[Print] dialog.
The [Page Setup] dialog appears.
57
2
Make the settings.
Item
Margins Left, Right,
Upper, Lower
Header/
Footer
Number of copies
Header/
Footer
Text
Insert Page
Number
Insert Number of Pages
Description
The default setting is 25 mm on each side.
The default setting is 15 mm from the top and bottom edges.
Specify the number of copies to print.
Enter text to print for the header/footer.
When this is clicked, [#Page number] is inserted at the cursor location in the Text field.
When this is clicked, [#Number of pages] is inserted at the cursor location in the Text field.
58
Item
Position
Font
Size
Description
Sets header/footer position. Select from Do Not Print
(Default), Align left, Align center, and Align right.
Select a font from the list. The default setting is the standard system font.
Select a font size from the list. The default setting is
10 point.
3
Click [OK].
The page setup information is set.
Using Printer Settings
Check the printer settings and change the settings as needed.
Refer to the printer user’s manual for details on printer settings.
This section describes the printer settings for Windows. For Macintosh, the printer setting screen is dependent on the OS.
1
Click [Print Setup] on the [Print] or [Page Setup] dialog.
The [Print Setup] dialog appears.
2
Make the settings.
Item
Name
Paper Size
Source
Orientation
Description
Select the printer to use from the list.
Click [Network] to select a printer on the network.
Click [Properties] to make advanced printer settings.
Select paper size.
Select paper feeding method.
Sets printing direction. Select [Portrait] or [Landscape].
3
Click [OK].
The printer setup information is set.
59
60
Changing the PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1
Settings
Here, you can set the PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 startup settings, such as the initial image view size, thumbnail caption viewing, and RAW file view format.
1
Select [Options] from the [Tool] menu in the PENTAX
PHOTO Browser 2.1 window.
Alternatively, click the icon on the Tool bar.
The [Options] dialog appears.
[General] tab settings
Change the startup settings for PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 in the
[General] tab.
Item
Folder at Startup
Status at Startup
Show Splash Screen at
Startup
Description
From the following, select the folder to open when starting the program.
Last folder used:
This opens the folder that was last used in
PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1.
Desktop: This opens the desktop.
Always use this folder:
Click [Browse] to specify a folder.
Set PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 status at startup.
Status at last exit:
When the next session of PENTAX PHOTO
Browser 2.1 is started, the settings from the previous session are used.
Default : The default screen appears.
Sets splash screen when PENTAX PHOTO Browser
2.1 starts.
On : Splash screen is shown.
Off : Splash screen is not shown.
61
The splash screen is the title screen that appears when PENTAX PHOTO
Browser 2.1 starts.
62
[View] tab settings
Change the Main Image View window settings in the [View] tab.
Item Description
Image Data Pane Height Sets the height of the Image data pane that appears when the main image window opens.
Last size specified:
Sets Image data pane height to be the same as the previous height when the main image view window opens.
Auto : The height is automatically adjusted.
Fixed: The number of lines may be specified.
Main Image Window Size Set the window size of the main image view window.
Last size specified:
Opens the main image view window to the last window size specified.
Default : Opens the window to the default size.
Set size: Specifies the size of the main image window in pixels.
Item
Showing Multiple Images When multiple images are selected in the Thumbnail pane, select the viewing method in the main image view window.
Single window:
Images appear in one main image view window.
Click the icons on the Main image view window Tool bar to switch the image view.
Separate window:
Images appear in multiple main image view windows.
Main RAW File Image
Description
Sets view when opening a new RAW image file.
Simple display:
The compressed image data in the RAW image file appears. The image data appears more quickly, but there is quality loss due to the high compression rate. Therefore, this function is not recommended for checking image details.
Auto RAW display:
The actual RAW data appears. (Full Auto
Processing)
Size (Ratio):
Select the processing ratio for Auto RAW display from [1:4], [1:2], or [Life size]. When emphasizing speed, select [1:4]. When emphasizing quality, select [Life size].
63
64
[Frame Advance] tab settings
Change the main image view window frame advance settings in the
[Frame Advance] tab.
Item
View Attributes to
Maintain
View Order
Description
Selects view attributes to maintain during frame advance. Multiple attributes may be selected.
Zoom : View magnification rate is maintained.
Position : Position is maintained.
Direction : Direction is maintained.
Selects ordering for frame advance.
Slideshow is played in the same order.
Select from the options below.
File name : Frames advance in file name order.
Shooting date/time:
Frames advance in shooting date/ time order.
File date/time : Frames advance in file date/time order.
[Slideshow] tab settings
Change the slideshow settings in the [Slideshow] tab. (p.49)
65
Item
Slideshow Settings
Interval
Description
Set the pattern when viewing slideshows.
Single window:
View slideshow in a single window.
Dual window:
View slideshow in two windows (primary and secondary).
Single full screen:
View slideshow full-screen on a single monitor.
Dual full screen:
View slideshow full-screen on two monitors.
Sets interval for frame advance during slideshows.
Second(s):
Sets interval (in seconds) for frame advance.
66
Item
Frame Advance During
Dual View
Loop view
Description
Set the refresh method when viewing two images
Advance in order:
Frames advance in order. The secondary window shows one image ahead of the primary window.
Advance alternate:
At each frame advance interval, images are shown alternately on the primary and secondary windows. With the first image starting at zero, even number images are shown on the primary window and odd number images are shown on the secondary window.
Advance two frames:
Frames advance in twos.
Set primary image:
The primary window shows a fixed image. The secondary window shows images, which advance in order.
Sets the repeat view setting.
No : When all of the images have been shown, the slideshow ends.
Yes : Even after a slideshow ends, the slideshow repeats until is clicked.
2
After making your selections, click [OK].
The options are set and the [Options] dialog closes.
Click [Reset] to return all options to default settings.
When [Reset] is clicked, all tab settings including the settings of the currently open tab are returned to default settings.
Managing Image Files and Folders
Moving/Copying Image Files
1
In the Thumbnail pane of the PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 window, select the thumbnail image to move or copy.
2
Select [Cut] or [Copy] from the [Edit] menu.
Alternatively, click the or icon on the Tool bar.
67
3
Specify the destination folder for moving or copying in the
Folder tree pane.
68
4
Select [Paste] from the [Edit] menu.
Alternatively, click the icon on the Tool bar.
The image file is moved or copied to the specified folder.
69
• You can also move an image by dragging and dropping a thumbnail image to the destination folder. To copy, hold down the Ctrl key while you drag and drop the file. (For Macintosh, hold down the Option key while you drag and drop the file.)
• Use the same procedure to move or copy a folder. In the Folder tree pane, specify the folder to move or copy. The specified folder is moved or copied into the destination folder.
70
Deleting Image Files/Folders
1
In the Thumbnail pane of the PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 window, select the thumbnail image to delete.
Alternatively, select the folder to delete in the Folder tree pane.
2
Select [Delete] from the [Edit] menu.
Alternatively, click the icon on the Tool bar.
A delete confirmation screen appears.
3
Click [Yes].
The image file or folder is deleted.
Changing Image File/Folder Names
1
In the Thumbnail pane of the PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 window, select the thumbnail image to be renamed.
Alternatively, select the folder to be renamed in the Folder tree pane.
2
Select [Rename] from the [File] menu.
Alternatively, directly click the file or folder name in the
Thumbnail pane or Folder tree pane.
The file or folder name is ready to be changed.
71
3
Input the file or folder name.
The image file or folder is renamed.
72
Renaming All File Names
1
In the Thumbnail pane of the PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 window, select or check the thumbnail images to be renamed.
Select [Select All] from the [Edit] menu to select all images in the
Thumbnail pane. Images from more than one folder cannot be selected.
2
Select [Rename All] from the [File] menu.
Alternatively, click the button from the tool bar.
The [Rename All] dialog appears.
3
Confirm the content, and input information as needed.
Item
Base file name
Description
Specify name to add to file names. “IMGP” is added by default.
Number of digits Specify the number of digits to add to file names. 1 to
5 digits may be specified. 4 digits are specified by default. (Example: IMGP1234.pef) When files exist in the folder with the specified base file name, the number of digits increases if the maximum number of files is exceeded.
Put base file name last When this check box is checked, the file name specified in [Base file name] is added to the end of all file names. (Example: 0123IMGP.pef) Base name file is added to the beginning by default.
Item
Start number
Description
Sets the start number. When files exist in the folder with the same specified base file name, the numbering automatically starts from the number next to the highest number of the existing file. If there is no file with the specified base file name, numbering starts at 1.
4
Click [OK].
All files are renamed to the specified name.
73
Create a New Folder
1
In the Folder tree pane of the PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 window, select the folder where to create a new folder.
Alternatively, select the Thumbnail pane.
2
Select [Create New Folder] from the [File] menu.
A new folder is created under the specified folder or in the Thumbnail pane.
74
Displaying Properties of Image Files/Folders (for Windows)
The contents of the Properties dialog depends on the version of Windows currently running. Refer to Help in Windows for details on the Properties dialog settings.
1
In the Thumbnail pane of the PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 window, select the thumbnail image for which properties are to be shown.
Alternatively, in the Folder tree pane, select the folder for which properties are to be shown.
2
Select [Properties] from the [File] menu.
The [XXX Properties] dialog appears.
3
Confirm the content.
4
Click [OK].
The Properties dialog closes.
Displaying Properties of Image Files/Folders (for Macintosh)
The standard Macintosh information dialog appears. Refer to Help in
Macintosh for details on the information dialog settings.
1
In the Thumbnail pane of the PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 window, select the thumbnail image for which properties are to be shown.
Alternatively, in the Folder tree pane, select the folder for which properties are to be shown.
2
Select [Properties] from the [File] menu.
The [XXX Info] dialog appears.
75
3
Confirm the content.
4
Click the button.
The Information dialog closes.
76
PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1
PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1 is software for color separation processing and other processing of CCD RAW image data recorded in a
PENTAX digital camera dedicated format. The processing of RAW data enables images to be viewed on commercially-available image viewing and editing software.
This section describes opening and closing PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory
2.1 and viewing the PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1 window, and explains its functions.
Opening PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1
For Windows
1
Select the start menu on the desktop.
2
Select [PENTAX PHOTO
Laboratory] from [PENTAX
Digital Camera Utility] in the program menu.
PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1 is opened, and the PENTAX PHOTO
Laboratory 2.1 window appears.
Closing PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1
Select [Exit] from the [File] menu on the PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1 window.
For Macintosh
1
Double-click the [PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory] folder in
[PENTAX Digital Camera Utility] on the hard disk.
2
Double-click the [PENTAX
PHOTO Laboratory] program icon.
PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1 is opened, and the PENTAX PHOTO
Laboratory 2.1 window appears.
77
Closing PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1
Select [Quit PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory] in [PENTAX PHOTO
Laboratory] on the desktop menu bar.
PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1 can also be started from within PENTAX
PHOTO Browser 2.1. (p.29)
78
About the PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1
Window
This section explains the PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1 window layout, names, and functions.
PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1 is made up of five panels.
The panels appear in independent windows and may be placed anywhere on the screen. Select [Arrange Windows] from the [View] menu to align the panels.
Four panels, not including the main panel, can be hidden or shown.
Preview panel Main panel
Menu bar Tool bar
Other settings panel Tone panel White balance panel
• When the processing mode is set to Full Auto Processing mode , the
White balance panel, Tone panel, and Other settings panel do not appear.
• When RAW image data is not selected, the preview image does not appear.
Main panel
This executes functions or sets various settings of PENTAX PHOTO
Laboratory 2.1.
For Macintosh, the Main panel only contains the Tool bar. The Menu bar appears at the top of the desktop.
Preview panel
View the selected RAW image in four steps, show specified areas enlarged, and preview adjustments from the other panels.
View adjustments in real time or by clicking the Refresh button.
White balance panel
Select white balance or set color temperature. Adjust the image color tone,
such as when the image appears bluish or yellowish. (p.88)
Tone panel
Displays tone curve and histogram information of displayed image. (p.89)
Adjust the image tone using the tone curve.
Other settings panel
Adjust characteristics such as sensitivity, contrast, color depth, and edges.
Menu bar
This executes functions or sets various settings of PENTAX PHOTO
Laboratory 2.1.
File menu
Open
Save
Recall Adjustment
Save Adjustment
This selects the image file for processing in PENTAX
PHOTO Laboratory 2.1. Only applies when the software is started as standalone. This cannot be used when
PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1 is started within the
PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 window. (p.84)
This performs RAW image data processing and saves it with the specified format. The available save formats are
JPEG (5 compression rates), TIFF-8, and TIFF-16. Use
[Save Mode] on the [Tool] menu to specify the save
Use this function to load previously saved settings for
Use this function to save the settings currently used in
79
80
File menu
Exit This closes PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1.
(For Macintosh, select [Exit PENTAX PHOTO
Laboratory] on the [PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory] menu.)
View menu
Full Auto Processing
Custom Processing
First Image
Previous Image
Next Image
Last Image
Refresh Preview
Display Size
Preview
White balance
Tone
Other settings
Arrange Windows
All RAW images are processed using specified settings.
All panels, except the Preview panel, are hidden. (p.86)
This performs processing using the processing condition settings specified by the user. The processing conditions are set using the White balance panel, Tone
panel, and Other settings panel. (p.87)
When multiple images are selected, the preview of the first image in order of registration appears.
When multiple images are selected, the preview of one image ahead in order of registration appears.
When multiple images are selected, the preview of one image back in order of registration appears.
When multiple images are selected, the preview of the last image in order of registration appears.
When real-time preview is not enabled, the preview is refreshed using the current settings.
This specifies the size of the image data in the preview.
This shows or hides the Preview panel.
This shows or hides the White balance panel.
This shows or hides the Tone panel.
This shows or hides the Other settings panel.
This arranges the displayed panels.
Tool menu
Undo
Redo
When in Custom Processing mode, use this function to cancel the previous operation. You can undo up to five operations.
When in Custom Processing mode, use this function to redo an operation that was cancelled with the [Undo] button.
Tool menu
Image Mode
Save Mode
Save Size
Options
Select types of image modifications. When Full Auto
Processing is set, images are processed using individual file settings. When in Custom Processing mode, all images are processed using the selected processing mode. Some modes may not be able to be set depending on the RAW file type.
This sets the quality when saving processed images.
Save images in JPEG format with one of five different compression rates or in TIFF format with one of two bit types. The default setting is JPEG (Highest Quality).
This sets the size in pixels when saving processed
This sets various settings for PENTAX PHOTO
Help menu
Help Topics
Index
What’s This?
About PHOTO
Laboratory
This shows PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1 help contents.
This shows PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1 help index search. (This command is not available for Macintosh.)
This shows pop-up tips.
This shows PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1 version information. (For Macintosh, select [About PENTAX
PHOTO Laboratory] on the [PENTAX PHOTO
Laboratory] menu.)
Tool Bar
This executes functions or sets various settings of PENTAX PHOTO
Laboratory 2.1.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
81
Number Icon (button)
1
Open
Content
This selects the image file for processing in PENTAX
PHOTO Laboratory 2.1. Only applies when the software is started as standalone. This cannot be used when PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1 is started within
the PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 window. (p.84)
82
Number Icon (button)
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
Save
Full Auto
Processing
Custom
Processing
Recall
Adjustment
Save Adjustment
This saves the processing conditions set in Custom
Processing mode as an adjustment file. (p.93)
Undo
Redo
Image Mode
Save Mode
When in Custom Processing mode, use this function to cancel the previous operation. You can undo up to five operations.
When in Custom Processing mode, use this function to redo an operation that was cancelled with the
[Undo] button.
This displays the current Image mode. When Full
Auto Processing is set, images are processed using individual file settings. When in Custom Processing mode, click to select the Image mode. All images are processed using the selected processing mode.
Some modes may not be able to be set depending on
This displays the current Save mode. Click to select the save format for the processed image file.
This displays the current Image mode. Click to
select the size of the processed image file. (p.91)
Image Size
Content
This performs RAW image data processing and saves it with the specified save mode and image size.
This appears when Full Auto Processing is set.
Performs processing using the processing conditions set in the RAW file.
Click to select or from the pull-down menu.
This is displayed when Custom Processing is set.
This performs processing using the processing condition settings specified by the user. The processing conditions are set using the White balance panel, Tone panel, and Other settings panel.
When in Custom Processing mode, this recalls a
Number Icon (button)
11
Options
12
Help
Content
This is used to change the PENTAX PHOTO
Laboratory 2.1 settings. (p.94)
This shows PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1 help contents.
83
Preview Panel
This shows a preview of the RAW file.
1
2
3
4
Number Icon (button)
1
Display Size
2
Enlarge Area
3
Refresh
5 6 7 8
Content
Click to select the size of the image data in the preview from the pull-down menu.
from Small, Medium, Large,
Full Size.
When this is turned on, a red frame appears in the preview area. The Enlarge area window appears and the magnification can be selected.
Click this to refresh the preview using the current settings when [Refresh Preview] becomes the
[Refresh] button on the Options settings of
PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1.
84
Number Icon (button)
4
5
First Image
6
Previous Image
7
Next Image
8
Last Image
Content
When multiple images are selected, select the image to display from the list.
When multiple images are selected, the preview of the first image in order of registration appears.
When multiple images are selected, the preview of one image ahead in order of registration appears.
When multiple images are selected, the preview of one image back in order of registration appears.
When multiple images are selected, the preview of the last image in order of registration appears.
Viewing Images
1
Click the button in the PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1 window.
The [Open] dialog appears.
2
Specify the file name of a RAW image file to display and click the [Open] button.
A RAW image appears in the Preview panel of the PENTAX PHOTO
Laboratory 2.1 window.
85
Select multiple image files to open multiple images at the same time.
Click the , , , or button on the Tool bar to preview the desired image.
• When starting PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1 from PENTAX PHOTO
Browser 2.1, use the following methods for viewing image files. Select RAW image files in PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1, then start PENTAX PHOTO
Laboratory 2.1. RAW image files can also be selected in PENTAX Photo
Browser 2.1 after PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1 has been started.
• To select multiple image files in PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1, check the thumbnail images or press and hold the Ctrl key as you left click on thumbnail images you want to select. (For Macintosh, hold down the Command key and click thumbnail images to select multiple images.) Files can be selected using the check boxes if there are no files checked and selected (indicated by a blue frame) when PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1 is started.
Opening PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1
1
Select a RAW image in the PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 window.
2
Select [PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory] on the [Tool] menu of
PENTAX PHOTO Browser 2.1 or click the icon.
A RAW image appears in the Preview panel of the PENTAX PHOTO
Laboratory 2.1 window.
86
Easily Modifying RAW Images
Select an Image mode to easily process RAW images according to shooting conditions.
When in Full Auto Processing mode, RAW images are processed using the Image mode selected at the time of capture. This setting cannot be changed in PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1.
When in Custom Processing mode, the Image mode can be selected. All frames are processed using the same selected Image mode.
Select from the following seven Image modes when using L :
Natural Elaborates images with natural colors.
Bright Elaborates sharp, bright images.
Picture (Portrait) Elaborates images with beautiful skin tones.
Picture (Landscape) Enhances the contour and saturation of images with greenery, blue sky, etc., to create images with bright colors.
Picture (Macro) Elaborates images with vivid close ups of flowers and other objects.
Picture (Moving
Object)
Elaborates sharp images of fast-moving objects.
Picture (Night Scene
Portrait)
For capturing people against the background of sunsets or night scenes.
Setting RAW Image Data Processing
Conditions
Set individual processing conditions to create unique image modifications.
1
Select [Custom Processing] from the [View] menu, or click
on the icon on the Tool bar and then click
(Custom Processing) on the drop-down list.
The Main panel, Preview panel, White balance panel, Tone panel, and
Other settings panel appear.
87
To close the White balance panel, Tone panel, or Other settings panel, select
[Full Auto Processing] from the [View] menu, or click on the icon on the
Tool bar and then click (Full Auto Processing) on the drop-down list. The image is processed using the Image mode set at the time of shooting, and the settings cannot be changed in PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1.
88
2
Enter settings in each setting panel.
The settings are reflected in the Preview panel. There are two ways to
• Reflect the settings immediately in real time.
• Reflect the settings when clicking the icon on the Preview panel.
Setting the White balance
Item Content
White Balance Settings Select from the following:
Camera setting:
Apply the white balance setting used on your camera.
Override: Use [White Balance Setting] to select the white balance to apply. Select from
[Daylight], [Shade], [Cloudy], [Daylight fluorescent light], [Neutral white fluorescent light], [White fluorescent light], [Tungsten light], [Flash], or [Color temperature setting].
Grey point setting:
Select the point in the preview image to turn gray. Specify using the pointer for the most appropriate white balance setting. Select from 1 point, 3 points, or 5 points. When shooting with the gray panel with Grey point setting, a more accurate white balance may be achieved. Click [Reset] to delete the selected gray points.
Item
Color temperature
Content
This can be set when selecting [Color temperature setting] with [Override] from [White Balance Settings].
Color temperature:
Slide the bar to set the color temperature or select the setting from the list. Select from between 2500K to 10000K (in Kelvin).
Fine tune: Use Fine tune to correct errors in color during shooting using the Amber, Blue,
Magenta, and Green slide panels. The fine tuned areas are not reflected in the color temperature display.
Setting the Tone curve/Histogram
89
Item
Tone curve
Histogram
[Show White Portions]/
[Show Black Portions]
[Reset]
Content
Adjust the tone curve to make precise adjustments to the density and contrast. Change the tone curve using the pointer. Move the curve up to brighten and move the curve down to darken the image.
Click a point on the tone curve to fix the curve at that point. A black dot appears. Drag the black dot to move the fixed location. Right-click to erase the black dot.
(For Macintosh, hold down the Ctrl key while you drag the black dot.)
Brightness shows the distribution of luminosity when combining RGB, R (Red), G (Green) and B (Blue).
Click [Show White Portions] to show white portions of the image on the Preview panel in black.
Click [Show Black Portions] to show black portions of the image on the Preview panel in white.
Deletes the tone curve settings, and returns to a straight line.
90
Setting the Sensitivity/Contrast/Saturation/Sharpness
Set these using the Other settings panel.
Item
Sensitivity
Contrast
Saturation
Sharpness
Content
Changes the sensitivity of processing.
+ : The image becomes brighter.
– : The image becomes darker.
Adjusts the contrast between light and shadow.
+ : Increases contrast between light and shadow.
– : Decreases contrast between light and shadow.
Adjusts the strength of the colors after RAW data development.
+ : The colors become stronger.
– : The colors become weaker.
Adjusts the sharpness of the edges.
+ : Image contour is enhanced.
– : Image contour is softened.
Saving Image Files
You can save the image files which have been Full Auto processed or
Custom processed. Specify the save format and image size when saving image files. Save images in JPEG format with one of five different compression rates, or in TIFF-8 or TIFF-16 format.
As the compression rate increases, the file size decreases, but the quality also deteriorates.
Select from S, M, or L for the image size.
Size Pixels
3008×2008
2400×1600
1536×1024
91
1
Select [Save Mode] from the [Tool] menu, or click on the right of the icon to select the save format.
Select the quality and file format when saving RAW images.
For JPEG files, image data is compressed and saved. Select from
Highest Compression, High Compression, Medium Quality, High Quality, and Highest Quality. Select High or Highest Compression to make the file size smaller by lowering quality. Select High or Highest Quality to maintain high quality by keeping the file size large.
Select TIFF-8 or TIFF-16 to avoid quality loss due to compression.
Although selecting TIFF-16 leads to a larger file size, quality loss is minimized when modifying the file with other image editing software.
92
2
Select [Save Size] from the [Tool] menu, or click on the right of the icon to select the save size.
3
Select [Save] from the [Tool] menu or click the icon on the Tool bar.
The [Save as] dialog appears.
4
Specify the file name and save destination, and then click
[Save].
The image file is saved.
When [Use queue list] is set in [Options], the image file is added to a queue list.
93
Saving Image File Adjustment
All current adjustment combination can be saved as a parameter file. Saved adjustment can then be applied to other RAW images for processing.
1
Click [Save Adjustments] from the [Tool] menu on the
Main panel or click the icon.
The [Save Adjustments] dialog appears.
2
Specify the file name and save destination, and then click
[Save].
The current settings are saved as an adjustment setting file (*.INI).
Recalling Image File Adjustment
1
Display a RAW image file in the Preview panel.
2
Click [Recall Adjustment] from the [Tool] menu on the
Main panel or click the icon.
The [Open Adjustment File] dialog appears.
94
3
Select a folder and parameter file name, and then click
[Open].
The current RAW image is processed by the recalled adjustment.
Changing the PENTAX PHOTO Laboratory 2.1
Settings
1
Select [Options] from the [Tool] menu on the Main panel or click the icon on the Tool bar.
The [Options] dialog appears.
2
Click the [General] tab.
Change the settings as needed.
Item
Folder to Use
Status at Startup
Show Splash Screen at
Startup
Arrange Panels
Put in Secondary Monitor
Except Preview
Content
Select from one of two folders to use.
Folder with original file:
The folder with RAW data is used.
Always use this folder:
Click [Browse] to display the [Browse for
Folder] dialog, and then select the folder to use.
Select the status at startup.
Status at last exit:
Maintains the settings last used when the application was closed.This switches to
[Arrange All] when, for example, the settings last used cannot be restored due to a difference in the number or type of monitors.
Arrange All:
All panels to be used are arranged. Display size is set to Small (default setting), and other settings are displayed with the status at last exit.
Default: The status for each panel is returned to the default status.
Sets splash screen when PENTAX PHOTO
Laboratory 2.1 starts.
ON : Splash screen is shown.
OFF : Splash screen is not shown.
Sets whether panels are aligned to the right or left when automatically arranging the panels.
Set this to [ON] to arrange the White balance panel,
Tone panel, and Other settings panel on the secondary monitor. In this case, the Arrange Panels option is ignored.
95
The splash screen is the title screen that appears when PENTAX PHOTO
Laboratory 2.1 starts.
96
3
Click the [Advanced] tab.
Change the settings as needed.
Item
Color Space
Content
Select from [sRGB] or [AdobeRGB] for the color space that sets the color range.
sRGB:
This is currently the most common color space setting and is compatible with most monitors and image processing software.
AdobeRGB:
This offers a wider range of color than [sRGB].
Use this setting for tasks such as making detailed adjustments on images or commercial printing.
When viewing images processed with AdobeRGB in an sRGB environment, the saturation may appear lower than when processed with sRGB.
Processing Select from starting processing jobs immediately or creating a queue list and starting jobs later.
Start immediately:
Jobs are started immediately. Other operations cannot be performed until processing is completed.
Use queue list:
Jobs are added to a queue list. Jobs may be added or deleted before processing or during processing.
Item
Refresh Preview
Saving Multiple Files
Content
Real time:
Set this to apply processing conditions to the preview image upon each change made to
[Custom Processing] settings.
Refresh button:
Set this to apply processing conditions to the preview image after all changes are made to
[Custom Processing] settings, upon clicking the
[Refresh] button.
Select the saving method when processing multiple images, from the following choices: [Original file name
+ new extension], [Numbered files] and [Save one at a time].
Select Numbered files to specify the base file name and the number of following digits.
4
After setting each item, click [OK].
The options are set, and the dialog closes.
Click [Reset] to return all options to default settings.
When [Reset] is clicked, all tab settings including the settings of the currently open tab are returned to default settings.
97
98
Glossary
AdobeRGB
This color space is recommended for commercial printing and document creation by Adobe Systems (US). Its color reproduction range is larger than sRGB and adequately covers the color reproduction range for printing. Therefore, color data only reproducible on a printer are not lost when editing on a computer. Note that using AdobeRGB with unsupported software causes colors to appear faint.
CCD RAW data
CCD stands for Charge Coupled Device, a semiconductor device that converts optical information into electrical signals. RAW image data is raw data recorded from CCD output. This data can be transferred to a computer, and manipulated into image data with unique settings such as
JPEG and TIFF using supplied software.
CSV format
This data format lists recording fields and separates them with a comma
(,). Generally, character strings are indicated with double quotation marks in CSV format. Some software include data input and output functions in
CSV format as part of a multipurpose format.
Exif-JPEG format
Exif stands for Exchangeable Image File Format. This image file format is based on the JPEG image data format, and allows thumbnail images and image properties to be embedded into the data. Software that does not support this format processes the image as a regular JPEG image.
Exif-TIFF format
Exif stands for Exchangeable Image File Format. This image file format is based on the TIFF image data format, and allows thumbnail images and image properties to be embedded into the data. Software that does not support this format processes the image as a regular TIFF image.
JPEG
An image compression format. Although the image quality deteriorates a little, images can be compressed to a smaller file size than with TIFF and other formats.
Lossless rotation
Because JPEG uses irreversible compression (data is lost during compression), the quality of JPEG images deteriorates when uncompressed, rotated and then saved. Lossless rotation, however, can be used to rotate JPEG images without recompressing the data. Exif and other data are maintained. Images for which lossless rotation is performed are processed as separate files; the rotated image appears after the image file is saved.
99
PNG format
Images saved using this format can be compressed to a small file size, but the reversible compression of this format makes the file size larger than
JPEG. This format is for use with full-color images and prevents quality loss even when re-edited. PNG files, however, cannot be viewed on older browsers (Internet Explorer 3.0 or earlier or Internet Explorer 4.5 on
Macintosh). In addition, thumbnail images and image properties cannot be embedded in the data.
sRGB (standard RGB)
An international color space standard defined by IEC (International
Electrotechnical Commission). This is defined from color space for computer monitors and is also used as the standard color space for Exif.
TIFF-8
A file format for saving image data. Each image is recorded with 8-bit RGB data for each color. The image is not compressed making the file size large, but no deterioration of image quality occurs.
TIFF-16
Although TIFF images are usually 8-bit, this is a 16-bit TIFF. More computations are required when image processing as the dynamic range is larger.
Memo
Memo
PENTAX Corporation
PENTAX Europe GmbH
(European Headquarters)
PENTAX U.K. Limited
PENTAX France S.A.S.
PENTAX Canada Inc.
2-36-9, Maeno-cho, Itabashi-ku, Tokyo 174-8639, JAPAN
(http://www.pentax.co.jp/)
Julius-Vosseler-Strasse, 104, 22527 Hamburg,
GERMANY
(HQ - http://www.pentaxeurope.com)
(Germany - http://www.pentax.de)
PENTAX House, Heron Drive, Langley, Slough, Berks
SL3 8PN, U.K.
(http://www.pentax.co.uk)
12/14, rue Jean Poulmarch, 95106 Argenteuil Cedex,
FRANCE
PENTAX Benelux B.V.
PENTAX (Schweiz) AG
(for Netherlands)
Spinveld 25, 4815 HR Breda, NETHERLANDS
(http://www.pentax.nl)
(for Belgium & Luxembourg)
Weiveldlaan 3-5, 1930 Zaventem, BELGIUM
(http://www.pentax.be)
Widenholzstrasse 1 Postfach 367 8305 Dietlikon,
SWITZERLAND
(http://www.pentax.ch)
PENTAX Scandinavia AB P.O. Box 650, 75127 Uppsala, SWEDEN
(http://www.pentax.se)
PENTAX Imaging Company
A Division of PENTAX of America, Inc.
(Headquarters)
600 12th Street, Suite 300 Golden, Colorado 80401, U.S.A.
(Distribution & Service Center)
16163 West 45th Drive, Unit H Golden, Colorado 80403,
U.S.A. (http://www.pentaximaging.com)
1770 Argentia Road Mississauga, Ontario L5N 3S7,
CANADA
(http://www.pentax.ca) http://www.pentax.co.jp/english
• Specifications and external dimensions are subject to change without notice.
57530 Copyright © PENTAX Corporation 2005
01-200506 Printed in Philippines
डाउनलोड
विज्ञापन