GFI EventsManager User Manual
Reklama
Reklama
GFI Product Manual
User Manual
http://www.gfi.com [email protected]
The information and content in this document is provided for informational purposes only and is provided "as is" with no warranty of any kind, either express or implied, including but not limited to the implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, and non-infringement. GFI Software is not liable for any damages, including any consequential damages, of any kind that may result from the use of this document. The information is obtained from publicly available sources. Though reasonable effort has been made to ensure the accuracy of the data provided, GFI makes no claim, promise or guarantee about the completeness, accuracy, recency or adequacy of information and is not responsible for misprints, out-of-date information, or errors. GFI makes no warranty, express or implied, and assumes no legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy or completeness of any information contained in this document.
If you believe there are any factual errors in this document, please contact us and we will review your concerns as soon as practical.
All product and company names herein may be trademarks of their respective owners.
GFI EventsManager is copyright of GFI SOFTWARE Ltd. - 1999-2011 GFI Software Ltd. All rights reserved.
Document Version: ESM-UM-EN 03.00.00
Last updated: December 5, 2011
Contents
1 Introduction 1
1.1 About this manual .................................................................. 1
1.2 Conventions used in this manual ................................................. 2
1.3 About GFI EventsManager .......................................................... 2
1.4 Key Features ......................................................................... 3
1.5 How does GFI EventsManager work?.............................................. 6
1.6 Navigating the GFI EventsManager management console ..................... 8
2 Getting Started 9
2.1 Introduction ......................................................................... 9
2.2 What is a computer log? ........................................................... 9
2.3 What are Windows Event Logs? ................................................... 9
2.4 What are W3C logs? ............................................................... 10
2.5 What are Syslogs? ................................................................. 10
2.6 What are SNMP Traps? ............................................................ 11
2.7 What are SQL Server audit logs? ................................................ 11
2.8 What are Oracle Server audit logs? ............................................. 11
3 Installation 12
3.1 Introduction ....................................................................... 12
3.2 Where can I install GFI EventsManager on my network? .................... 12
3.3 System requirements ............................................................. 15
3.4 Upgrading from a previous version ............................................. 17
3.5 Firewalls and Anti-virus software .............................................. 17
3.6 Computer identification considerations ....................................... 17
3.7 Installation procedure ............................................................ 18
3.8 Running GFI EventsManager for the first time ................................ 20
4 Event browsing 27
4.1 Introduction ....................................................................... 27
4.2 Navigating the Events Browser .................................................. 27
4.3 Creating custom Root Views / Views ........................................... 28
4.4 Event color-coding options ...................................................... 31
4.5 Event finder tool .................................................................. 32
4.6 Export to CSV tool ................................................................ 33
4.7 Rule finder tool ................................................................... 33
4.8 Reporting options ................................................................. 34
4.9 Switching database ............................................................... 35
5 Reporting 36
5.1 Introduction ....................................................................... 36
5.2 Navigating the Reports tab ...................................................... 36
5.3 Available reports .................................................................. 37
5.4 Managing reports .................................................................. 38
5.5 Generating reports ............................................................... 40
5.6 Analyzing reports ................................................................. 41
5.7 Creating custom reports ......................................................... 41
5.8 Daily Digest ........................................................................ 52
5.9 Settings report .................................................................... 53
5.10 Rules report ....................................................................... 54
5.11 Operational history ............................................................... 56
5.12 Activity overview ................................................................. 57
6 Manage event sources 61
6.1 Introduction ....................................................................... 61
6.2 Managing event sources groups ................................................. 61
6.3 Adding event sources ............................................................. 64
6.4 Configuring event source properties ........................................... 66
6.5 Microsoft SQL Server sources .................................................... 72
6.6 Oracle Server sources ............................................................ 77
6.7 GFI LanGuard event sources ..................................................... 85
6.8 GFI EndPointSecurity event sources ............................................ 86
7 Using event processing rules 89
7.1 Introduction ....................................................................... 89
7.2 Collecting Windows events ...................................................... 91
7.3 Collecting Text logs .............................................................. 93
7.4 Collecting Syslogs ................................................................. 95
7.5 Collecting SNMP Traps ........................................................... 98
7.6 Collecting custom events ....................................................... 102
7.7 Triggering a manual event source scan ....................................... 104
8 Manage rule-sets 105
8.1 Introduction ...................................................................... 105
8.2 Adding a rule-set folder ......................................................... 106
8.3 Creating new events processing rules ......................................... 106
8.4 Creating a new rule from an existing event ................................. 111
8.5 Advanced event filtering parameters ......................................... 112
9 Customizing alerts and actions 114
9.1 Introduction ...................................................................... 114
9.2 Configuring Default Classification Actions ................................... 115
9.3 Configuring Alerting Options ................................................... 116
10 Configuring users and groups 123
10.1 Introduction ...................................................................... 123
10.2 Managing user accounts ......................................................... 123
10.3 Managing groups ................................................................. 128
10.4 Managing Console Security and Audit Options ............................... 130
10.5 Managing Database and Files Backend security ............................. 134
11 Status monitoring 135
11.1 Introduction ...................................................................... 135
11.2 General status view ............................................................. 135
11.3 Job activity view ................................................................. 138
11.4 Statistics view .................................................................... 139
12 Database Operations 141
12.1 Introduction ...................................................................... 141
12.2 Why database maintenance? ................................................... 141
12.3 Creating a new database backend ............................................. 142
12.4 Configuring Database Operations .............................................. 144
12.5 Creating maintenance jobs ..................................................... 145
12.6 Editing existing maintenance jobs............................................. 155
13 Miscellaneous 158
13.1 Enabling permissions on event sources manually ........................... 158
13.2 Enabling permissions on event sources automatically ...................... 170
13.3 Disabling UAC to scan event sources .......................................... 175
13.4 Command line tools ............................................................. 175
13.5 Auto updating GFI EventsManager ............................................. 181
13.6 Product licensing ................................................................. 182
13.7 Version information ............................................................. 183
14 Troubleshooting 185
14.1 Introduction ...................................................................... 185
14.2 Common issues ................................................................... 185
14.3 Knowledge Base .................................................................. 188
14.4 Web Forum ........................................................................ 188
14.5 Request technical support ...................................................... 188
14.6 Build notifications ............................................................... 189
15 Glossary 191
Index 195
List of tables
Table 2 – GFI EventsManager engines
Table 3 – Devices supported by GFI EventsManager
Table 4 – Benefirts of installing GFI EventsManager in DMZ
Table 5 – Hardware requirements
Table 6 – Software requirements: Operating system
Table 7 – Software requirements: Other components
Table 8 – System requirements: Event source settings
Table 9 – System requirements: Ports and protocols
Table 10 – System requirements: Firewall permissions
Table 11 - Quick Launch Console options
Table 12 – Navigating the Events Browser
Table 13 – Event Browser: Create new view
Table 14 – Event Browser: Create new report
Table 15 – Navigating the Reporting tab
Table 18 – Create folder: Schedule options
Table 19 – Analyzying reports tools
Table 20 – Create Report dialog: General options
Table 21 – Create Report dialog: Chart options
Table 22 – Create Report dialog: Schedule options
Table 23 – Defining restrictions: Field Operators
Table 24 – Defining restrictions: Query Condition tools
Table 25 – Add Column Definition options
Table 26 – Settings report heading information
Table 27 – Rules report heading information
Table 28 – Operational history reports
Table 29 – Export operational history options
Table 30 – Activity overview headings
Table 31 – Export operational history options
Table 32 - Event source group options
Table 33 - Synchronization properties - General tab
Table 34 - Example of synchronizations
Table 35 – Event sources: Audit policy options
Table 37 - Microsoft SQL Database group: General tab
Table 38 - Microsoft SQL Database group: Logon Credentials
Table 39 - Microsoft SQL Database group -SQL Server Audit
Table 40 - Microsoft SQL Database group - Settings
Table 41 - Microsoft SQL Database - General tab options
Table 42 - Microsoft SQL Database - Connection Settings tab
Table 43 - Microsoft SQL Database - Settings tab options
Table 44 – Oracle Server supported audits
Table 45 – Oracle Server configuration stages
Table 46 - Oracle Database group - General tab
Table 47 - Oracle Database group - Oracle Audit
Table 48 - Oracle Database - General tab options
Table 49 - Oracle Database - General tab options
Table 50 - Oracle Database - Audit by Objects
Table 51 - Oracle Database - Audit by Statements
Table 52 – Windos Event Logs collected by GFI EventsManager
Table 53 – Configuring Windows Event Log processing
Table 54 - Configuring W3C processing
Table 55 - Configuring Syslog processing
Table 56 – Configuring SNMP Traps processing
Table 57 – Events Processing Rules
Table 58 - Rule-set folders available in GFI EventsManager
Table 59 – Configuring new events processing rules: Actions
Table 60 – Create rule from event dialog options
Table 61 - Parameters available in the Event ID field
Table 62 - Parameters available in the Source, Category and User fields
Table 63 - Parameters available in the Message and Process fields
Table 65 – Supported alering actions
Table 66 – Alerting Options dialog: Email
Table 67 – Alerting Options dialog: SMS
Table 68 – Alerting Options dialog: SNMP
Table 69 – Alerting Options dialog: General
Table 70 – Status monitoring: General view
Table 71 – Status monitoring: Job activity view
Table 72 – Status monitoring: Statistics view
Table 73 – Avalable database operations
Table 74 – Configuring database operations
Table 75 – Database operations: Schedule options
Table 76 – Database operations: Schedule options
Table 77 – Table 78 – Database operations: Export file name structure
Table 79 – Database operations: Schedule options
Table 80 – Database operations: Schedule options
Table 81 – Database operations: Schedule options
Table 82 – Database operations: Schedule options
Table 84 – CMD: ESMCmdConfig.exe functions
Table 85 – CMD: Esmdlibm.exe functions
Table 86 – Auto update options
Table 87 - Terms used in this manual
List of screenshots
Screenshot 1 - The GFI EventsManager management console
Screenshot 2 – Pre-requisite check
Screenshot 3 - Customer and License detail screen
Screenshot 4 - Logon information screen
Screenshot 5 - Quick Start Dialog
Screenshot 6 - Events processed from local machine
Screenshot 7 - Select the type of event source
Screenshot 8 - Select computers from result
Screenshot 9 - Process events from selected machines
Screenshot 10 - GFI EventsManager Quick Launch Console
Screenshot 11 - Events Browser
Screenshot 12- Custom view builder
Screenshot 13- Edit view restriction
Screenshot 14- Customize View tab
Screenshot 15 – Sample: New Root Views and Views
Screenshot 16 - Color coding configuration
Screenshot 17 - Advanced Color Filter
Screenshot 18 - Event finder tool
Screenshot 19 - Export events tool
Screenshot 21 - Report from view button
Screenshot 22 - Switch database dialog
Screenshot 23 – Navigating the Reporting UI
Screenshot 24 – Create Report Folder dialog
Screenshot 25 - Generating a report
Screenshot 27 – Preview Report: Analyzing
Screenshot 28 – Creating a new report
Screenshot 29 - Creating a report: General
Screenshot 30 – Creating a report: Layout
Screenshot 31 – Createing a report: Chart
Screenshot 32 – Createing a report: Schedule
Screenshot 33 – Createing a report: Options
Screenshot 34 - Creating a report: Adding conditions
Screenshot 35 - Creating a report: Edit Query Conditions
Screenshot 36 – Customizing the condition
Screenshot 37 – Define custom column conditions
Screenshot 38 - Daily Digest email settings
Screenshot 39 - Daily digest emai
Screenshot 40 – Generate configuration report
Screenshot 41 – Settings report sample
Screenshot 42 – Generate configuration report
Screenshot 43 – Operational history report
Screenshot 44 – Operational history dialog
Screenshot 45 – Operational history report sample
Screenshot 46 – Activity overview : Export button
Screenshot 47 – Activity overview dialog
Screenshot 48 – Activity overview report sample
Screenshot 49 - Add new event source group
Screenshot 50 - Synchronization properties - General tab
Screenshot 51 - Synchronization properties -Schedule tab
Screenshot 52 – Add new event source wizard
Screenshot 53 - Browse the network for connected computers
Screenshot 54 - Event sources properties dialog
Screenshot 55 - Configuring alternative logon credentials
Screenshot 56 - Specify operational time
Screenshot 57 – Event source properties: Audit tab
Screenshot 58 - Event-processing configuration tabs
Screenshot 59 - Database Servers Groups
Screenshot 60 - Microsoft SQL Database group - SQL Server Audit tab
Screenshot 61 - Add new Microsoft SQL server
Screenshot 62 - Microsoft SQL Database properties: General tab
Screenshot 63 - Microsoft SQL Database properties: Connection Settings tab
Screenshot 64 - Microsoft SQL Database properties: Settings tab
Screenshot 65 - Database Servers Groups
Screenshot 66 - Oracle Database group - General tab
Screenshot 67 - Oracle Database group - Oracle Audit tab
Screenshot 68 - Add new Oracle server
Screenshot 69 - Oracle Database - General tab
Screenshot 70 - Oracle Database - Connection Settings tab
Screenshot 71 - Oracle Database -Audit by objects tab
Screenshot 72 - Oracle Database -Audit by statements tab
Screenshot 73 - Event generated by GFI LanGuard
Screenshot 74 - Event generated by GFI EndPointSecurity
Screenshot 75 - Rule-sets folder and Rule-sets
Screenshot 76 - Log processing, classification and actions flowchart
Screenshot 77 - Computer group properties: Configuring Windows Event Logs parameters
Screenshot 78 - Selecting the events to be collected
Screenshot 79 - Computer group properties: Configuring W3C event processing parameters
Screenshot 80 - Computer group properties: Syslog processing parameters
Screenshot 81 - Configuring Syslog Servercommunication port
Screenshot 82- Syslog server options
Screenshot 83 - Computer group properties: SNMP processing parameters
Screenshot 84 - Configuring SNMP Traps
Screenshot 85- SNMP Traps options
Screenshot 86 - Custom event logs setup
103 Screenshot 87 - Custom event logs dialog
Screenshot 88 - Configure file storage dialog
Screenshot 89 – To create new rules, rich-click a rule-set and select Create new rule…
Screenshot 90 – Create new events processing rule: Select the logs which the rule will be applied to
Screenshot 91 - Create new events processing rule: Configure the rule conditions
Screenshot 96 - Configuring default classification actions
Screenshot 97 - Default Classification Actions dialog
Screenshot 92 - Create new events processing rule: Select the event occurance and importance 109
Screenshot 93 - Create new events processing rule: Select the action
Screenshot 94 – Creating a rule from an event
Screenshot 95 - New rule from event dialog
Screenshot 98 - Configuring Alerting Options
Screenshot 99 - Configuring Email options
Screenshot 100 - Configuring Network alerts
Screenshot 101 - Configuring Network alerts: Format message dialog
Screenshot 102 - Configuring SMS alerts
Screenshot 103 - Configuring SNMP alerts
Screenshot 104 - Configuring User settings
Screenshot 105 - EventsManager Administrator properties
Screenshot 106 - Configuring the typical working hours of an alert recipient
Screenshot 107 - Selecting alerts to be sent during and outside working hours
Screenshot 108 - Notification groups to which a user belongs
Screenshot 109 - Configuring GFI EventsManager administrator privileges
Screenshot 110 - GFI EventsManager new user privileges
Screenshot 111 - New groups setup
Screenshot 112 - Select Security Options to enable the log-in system
Screenshot 114 – Anonymization options
Screenshot 115 - Audit Options
Screenshot 116 - Auto-discovery credentials
Screenshot 117 - Dashboard View Options
Screenshot 118 - GFI EventsManager Status: General view
Screenshot 119 - GFI EventsManager Status: Job Activity view
Screenshot 120 - GFI EventsManager Status: Statistics view
Screenshot 121 – Archive Storage Folder dialog
Screenshot 122 – Database Operations Options dialog
Screenshot 123 - Creating a new Database Operation
Screenshot 124 – Import from File
Screenshot 125 - Imort from file: Decrypt
Screenshot 126 - Creating a new Database Operation
Screenshot 127 - Export to File
Screenshot 128 - Export to File: Encrypt exported data
Screenshot 129 - Creating a new Database Operation
Screenshot 130 – Import from SQL Server database
Screenshot 131 – Import from SQL Server database: Select the database to import
Screenshot 132 – Import from SQL Server database: Decrypt anonymized data
Screenshot 133 - Creating a new Database Operation
Screenshot 134 – Import from legacy files
Screenshot 135 - Creating a new Database Operation
Screenshot 136 – Import from legacy file storage
Screenshot 137 – Import from legacy file storage: Select file to import
Screenshot 138 - Viewing scheduled maintenance jobs
Screenshot 139 - Editing a maintenance job
Screenshot 140 - Example dialog to edit a scheduled job
Screenshot 141 - Maintenance job priorities
Screenshot 142 - Firewall rules on Microsoft Windows XP
Screenshot 143 - Local security policy window
Screenshot 144 - Audit object access Properties
Screenshot 145 - Audit process tracking Properties
Screenshot 146 - Audit account management properties
Screenshot 147 - Audit system events properties
Screenshot 148 - Allowed programs in Microsoft Windows Vista or later
Screenshot 149 - Local security policy window
Screenshot 150 - Audit object access Properties
Screenshot 151 - Audit process tracking Properties
Screenshot 152 - Audit account management properties
Screenshot 153 - Audit system events properties
Screenshot 154 - Enable firewall rules in Microsoft Windows Server 2003
Screenshot 155 - Firewall rules on Microsoft Windows Server 2008
Screenshot 156 - Domain Policy console in Microsoft Windows Server 2003
Screenshot 157 - Group Policy Management in Microsoft Windows Server 2008 R2
Screenshot 158 - Group Policy Management Editor
Screenshot 159 - Predefined rules
Screenshot 160 - Predefined rules
Screenshot 161 – Configure auto update
Screenshot 162 - Update license key
Screenshot 163 - Buy now! Button
1 Introduction
1.1 About this manual
This user manual is a comprehensive guide aimed at assisting you in configuring and using
GFI EventsManager. The user manual contains the following chapters:
C HAPTER D ESCRIPTION
Chapter 1
An overview of this manual and how GFI EventsManager works.
Chapter 2
Chapter 3
Describes how to install GFI EventsManager, including system requirements, pre-install actions required and how to upgrade from previous versions.
Shows how to configure GFI EventsManager for first time use, including how to configure the database backend and how to process event logs for the first time.
Chapter 4
Chapter 5
Chapter 6
Chapter 7
Chapter 8
Chapter 9
Chapter 10
Chapter 11
Explains how to use the built-in events browser to analyze events stored in the GFI
EventsManager database backend, including:
» Default event log queries and custom query builder
» Event color-coding
» Event finder tool.
Describes how to enable the GFI EventsManager ReportPack to create reports that further analyze the events stored in the GFI EventsManager database backend. In addition describes how to configure a user to receive GFI EventsManager Daily Digest email.
Shows how to add and customize event sources to be monitored.
Explains how to use event processing rules.
Describes how to create, edit and delete event processing rules.
Customizing alerts and actions
Shows how to set the alerts and actions that will be triggered on particular events.
Explains how to configure alert recipient parameters including:
» Personal details such as mobile phone number
» Normal working hours
» Type of alerts that will be sent to every recipient.
Describes how to analyze the status of GFI EventsManager as well as view statistical information and processed events.
GFI EventsManager Introduction | 1
C HAPTER
Chapter 12
Chapter 13
Chapter 14
Chapter 15
D ESCRIPTION
Explains how to centralize events collected by other remote GFI EventsManager instances and how to optimize database backend performance.
Describes miscellaneous options such as permissions, command line operations and licensing.
Explains what main sources of information are available to help administrators troubleshoot product issues.
Defines technical terms used within GFI EventsManager.
1.2 Conventions used in this manual
The following table contains a description of the common terms and conventions used in this manual:
T ERM D ESCRIPTION
Additional information and references essential for the operation of GFI EventsManager.
►
Bold text
<Italic text>
Important notifications and cautions regarding potential issues that are commonly encountered.
Step by step navigation instructions to access a function.
Indicate a control within the user interface, such as nodes, menus and buttons.
Replace text within angle brackets. Such as file paths and custom parameters.
For any technical terms and their definitions as used in this manual, refer to Glossary
chapter in this manual.
1.3 About GFI EventsManager
Figure 1 - GFI EventsManager integrates into any existing IT infrastructure
2 | Introduction GFI EventsManager
GFI EventsManager is a results oriented event log management solution which integrates into any existing IT infrastructure, automating and simplifying the tasks involved in network-wide events management.
Through the features supported by GFI EventsManager, you are able to:
» Automatically collect W3C, Syslog, SNMP Traps and Windows event logs from network devices and Windows/Linux/Unix based systems and manage them through one console.
» Archive collected events in a centralized SQL Server based database backend for future analysis and forensic studies.
» Automatically transfer events from the database to external files.
» Filter unwanted events and classify key events through the use of powerful default or custom-built event processing rules.
» Automate alerting and remedial actions such as the execution of scripts and files on key events.
» Monitor your network activity and the status of your GFI EventsManager scanning engine through a built-in graphical dashboard.
» Analyze events through a built-in events browser as well as export these events to CSV files for further processing and report customization.
» Simplify event forensics through specialized tools which include a built-in event query builder, an event finder tool and an event color-coding tool.
» Increase event processing power through a high-performance event scanning engine.
» Generate, schedule as well as email event activity and trend reports through GFI
EventsManager ReportPack - the powerful reporting companion tool which ships by default with GFI EventsManager.
» Monitor the operational health status of your SQL Servers in real-time by processing the activity logs/messages generated by day-to-day SQL Server operations.
» Monitor Oracle database servers. GFI EventsManager collects and process events generated by Oracle Relational database management systems.
» Protect data contained in event logs so that confidential information can be encrypted and viewed only by authorized personnel.
1.4 Key Features
Table 1 – Key features
F EATURE
Extended event log support
Rule-based event log management
D ESCRIPTION
GFI EventsManager is able to process various event log types including
Windows Event Logs, W3C logs, Syslog and SNMP Trap messages. This allows you to collect more data from the different hardware and software systems that are most commonly available on a typical corporate network. For a summary list of hardware and software systems that are supported by
GFI EventsManager out of-the-box refer to: http://kbase.gfi.com/showarticle.asp?id=KBID003302 .
GFI EventsManager ships with a pre-configured set of event processing rules that allow you to filter and classify events collected from a variety of event-log sources. You can run these default rules without performing any configuration or you can choose to customize these rules or create tailored ones that suite your network infrastructure. For a list of event-log sources that can be processed by GFI Events out-of-the-box refer to: http://kbase.gfi.com/showarticle.asp?id=KBID002868 .
GFI EventsManager Introduction | 3
F EATURE
Event log scanning profiles
Allow granular configuration of rules
Translates cryptic Windows events
Enhanced event scanning engine
Automatic noise reduction
Enhanced real-time actions
Advanced event filtering features
Event centralization
User access privileges
D ESCRIPTION
GFI EventsManager enables you to organize event log scanning rules into
Scanning Profiles. In a scanning profile, you can configure the set of event log monitoring rules that will be applied to a specific computer or group of computers. The benefits of these profiles include:
» The simplification product administration tasks by providing a centralized way of tuning event processing rules
» Allowing administrators to create different sets of event log rules that suit the roles of scanned event sources and the corporate network environment. For example, you can setup a set of rules which apply only to workstations in a particular department.
Administrators can create an event processing profile that is generic for all computers and a number of separate profiles which complement the generic profile by providing additional and more specialized event log rules on a computer by computer basis.
One major drawback of Windows Event Logs is that they are not user friendly - too cryptic for the user to understand. In fact this is one of the main reasons why only few administrators really peer into Windows Event
Logs. GFI EventsManager overcomes this problem by translating event descriptions into a way that is more users friendly and easier to understand.
GFI EventsManager includes an event scanning engine that has been tuned to effectively speed up event scanning for maximum performance. This engine adopts a plug-in based concept that allows the plugging-in of additional features/modules without having to perform physical changes to the existing code - hence more stability without effecting scalability.
GFI EventsManager identifies and removes unwanted event data (such as noise and background process generated events) providing you with only the relevant, usable data. Hence facilitates event forensics by reducing the amount of events to be analyzed.
GFI EventsManager can generate alerts or trigger actions such as script execution when key events are detected. You can alert one or more people in various ways including: email, network messages, and SMS notifications sent through an email-to-SMS gateway or service. Actions can be configured to trigger on event classification or by configuring specific conditions in event processing rules.
GFI EventsManager ships with a number of event filtering features including:
» Pre-configured event queries and a custom event query builder: The pre-configured event queries allow you to sift event log data and browse only the required events - without deleting any records from your database backend. The built-in event query builder allows you to create your own custom event queries.
» Event color-coding capabilities: Through this feature you can selectively color particular events in specific colors. This way during log browsing you can easily identify important events through their color.
» Event finder tool: With this tool you can quickly locate important events by providing specific search criteria such as event type.
GFI EventsManager enables you to monitor and manage events generated by
Windows\Linux\Unix systems, network devices and software applications through a single user console.
GFI EventsManager enables you to assign management console access privileges on a user-by-user basis. This means that you can allow specific users to access the GFI EventsManager console for event-browsing only and at the same time allow other more privileged users to access and change the GFI EventsManager configuration settings.
4 | Introduction GFI EventsManager
F EATURE
SQL Server audit
D ESCRIPTION
GFI EventsManager enables you to automatically monitor the operational health status of your SQL Servers. This is achieved by processing in realtime the activity logs/messages generated by day-to-day SQL Server operations. SQL server activity that is monitored includes server startup, login activity, backups, server-side traces and more. Additionally, GFI
EventsManager can also alert you via email, network or SMS notifications on key events like server shutdown and consecutive failed logins.
Oracle Server audit
Database operations (WAN
Connector)
GFI EventsManager enables you to automatically monitor the activity and the operational health status of your Oracle Servers. Within GFI
EventsManager you can configure Oracle servers to log audit events. Oracle audit events are stored in a specific table on the Oracle server. GFI
EventsManager collects and process these events. GFI EventsManager can also alert you via email, network or SMS notifications when specific events occur.
The Database Operations module enables you to collect events data from
GFI EventsManager installations on multiple sites and locations across your network into a central database. This add-on integrates and centralizes events collected and processed and allows you to backup/restore events on demand. Through Database Operations you can manage the size of the database - without the need for manual intervention - not only through centralization but by also being able to export events and back them up as needed.
Management Information Base Management Information Base (MIBs) contains definitions and device information that are provided by device manufacturers. GFI EventsManager ships with MIB definitions for the following vendors: Cisco, 3Com, IBM, HP,
Check Point, Alcatel, Dell, Netgear, SonicWall, Juniper Networks, Arbor
Networks, Oracle, Symantec, Allied Telesis and others. GFI EventsManager also allows you to edit the MIB tree.
Anonymization GFI EventsManager has built-in security features that help you encrypt your data for legal compliance purposes. Anonymizing your data helps you hide personal information from the Dashboard, Events Browser and exported events. To view these events, a decryption password is required.
GFI EventsManager Introduction | 5
1.5 How does GFI EventsManager work?
Figure 2 - The GFI EventsManager operational stages
The operational functionality of GFI EventsManager is divided into two stages described below:
1.5.1 Stage 1: Event Collection
During the Event Collection stage, GFI EventsManager collects logs from specific event sources. This is achieved through the use of two event collection engines: The Event
Retrieval Engine and the Event Receiving Engine.
6 | Introduction GFI EventsManager
Table 2 – GFI EventsManager engines
E NGINE
The Event Retrieval Engine
D ESCRIPTION
The Event Retrieval Engine is used to collect Windows Event Logs and W3C logs from networked event sources. During the Event Collection process this engine will:
1. Log-on to the event source(s)
2. Collect events from the source(s)
3. Send collected events to the GFI EventsManager Server
4. Log-off from the event source(s).
The Event Retrieval Engine collects events at specific time intervals. The event collection interval is configurable from the GFI EventsManager management console
The SQL Server Listener
The Oracle Retrieval Engine
Log Receiving Engine
The listener receives trace messages from the scanned Microsoft SQL
Server in real time. On receipt, EventsManager processes the message immediately.
The Oracle Retrieval Engine connects periodically to Oracle servers and collects audits from a specific auditing table. Similar to the Microsoft
Windows Event Retrieval Engine, GFI EventsManager processes events generated by the Oracle server.
The Event Receiving Engine acts as a Syslog and an SNMP Traps server; it listens and collects Syslog and SNMP Trap events/messages sent by various sources on the network. As opposed to the Event Retrieval Engine, the
Event Receiving Engine receives messages directly from the event source; therefore it does not require to remotely log-on to the event sources for event collection. Further to this, Syslog and SNMP Trap events/messages are collected in real-time and therefore no collection time intervals need to be configured.
By default, the Event Receiving Engine listens to Syslog messages on port
514 and to SNMP Trap messages on port 162. Both port settings are however customizable via the GFI EventsManager management console.
1.5.2 Stage 2: Event Processing
During this stage, GFI EventsManager will run a set of Event Processing Rules against collected events. Event Processing rules are instructions that:
» Analyze the collected logs and classify processed events as Critical, High, Medium, Low or Noise (unwanted or repeated events)
» Filter events that match specific conditions
» Trigger email, SMS and network alerts on key events
» Trigger remediation actions such as the execution of executable files or scripts on key events
» Optionally archive collected events in the database backend.
GFI EventsManager can be configured to archive events without running Event Processing rules. In such cases, even though no rules will be applied against collected logs, archiving will still be handled by the Event Processing stage.
After processing the rules, GFI EventsManager can be configured to store the collected events in a storage folder. The administrator can configure the path of the storage folder and configure which events are stored. This function will minimize database growth, and allows the administrator to store only important events in the database.
Some of the key modules in GFI EventsManager must run under administrative privileges. For more information on these modules refer to: http://kbase.gfi.com/showarticle.asp?id=KBID001122 .
GFI EventsManager Introduction | 7
1.6 Navigating the GFI EventsManager management console
Screenshot 1 - The GFI EventsManager management console
S ECTION D ESCRIPTION
Status option
Use this option to view the status of GFI EventsManager and statistical information on processed logs.
Configuration option
Use this option to access and configure the main event processing options.
Events Browser
Use this option to browse the events stored in the GFI EventsManager database backend.
Reporting
Use this option to access GFI EventsManager reporting features, create new reports and schedule reports to be generated.
General options
Use this option to check for product updates, as well as view version and licensing details.
Tab options
Use the Tab options to access and configure GFI EventsManager operational parameters.
Group Type
Use this drop-down to switch between event log source groups (i.e. Computer and
Database Servers Groups).
Left pane
Use this pane to navigate through the additional configuration options provided in GFI
EventsManager.
Right pane
Event browsing and parameter configuration pane.
8 | Introduction GFI EventsManager
2 Getting Started
2.1 Introduction
This chapter provides information about the type of different log formats supported by GFI
EventsManager. For more information, refer to the sections below within this chapter:
»
»
»
»
»
»
What are SQL Server audit logs?
»
What are Oracle Server audit logs?
2.2 What is a computer log?
A computer log is a collection of event entries. These entries provide an audit trail of information related to the activity of a network or computer system. In fact, computer logs are recorded in a certain scope to provide information suitable for forensic analysis.
The computer log may be a binary file as in the case of Windows logs, or text-based files as in the case of Syslog or W3C logs.
Such events include various details such as the date and time the event occurred and a related description. Event entries are often stored in chronological order to facilitate event browsing and forensic analysis.
2.3 What are Windows Event Logs?
Windows Event Logs are a systematic recording of computer related events that occurred within computer systems and networks running on Windows Operating Systems. In systems running on Windows 2000/XP/2003/VISTA, events are recorded and organized in 3 default event logs:
» Application log
» Security log
» System log.
Computers with specialized network roles such as domain controllers and DNS servers allow the logging of events to additional (default) logs such as:
» Directory service log
» File Replication service log
» DNS server log.
Windows Event Logs contain the following types of events:
E VENT T YPE
Error
D ESCRIPTION
Error events indicate that a significant problem, such as loss of data or functionality has occurred. For example an Error event is recorded every time that a service or driver fails to load during startup.
Warning
Information
Warnings indicate events that are not necessarily significant, but which may possibly cause future problems. For example, a Warning event is recorded every time that disk space runs low.
Information events describe the successful operation of an application, driver, or service. For example, an Information event is recorded every time that a network driver loads successfully.
GFI EventsManager Getting Started | 9
E VENT T YPE
Success Audit
Failure Audit
D ESCRIPTION
Success audit events indicate security access attempts that were successful. For example, a Success Audit event is recorded every time that a user successfully logs on to his Windows based workstation.
Failure audit events indicate security access attempts that failed. For example, a
Failure audit event is recorded every time that a user fails to access a network drive.
2.4 What are W3C logs?
W3C logs are used mainly by web servers to log web related events including web logs.
W3C logs are recorded in text-based flat files using any one of the two W3C logging formats currently available:
» W3C Common Log file format
» W3C Extended Log File format.
The W3C common log file format was the first format to be released and to date it is still the default format used by a variety of popular web servers including Apache. There is however one downside - the information about each server transaction is fixed and does not provide for certain important fields such as referrer, agent, transfer time, domain name, or cookie information. To overcome this problem, the W3C Extended log file format was released. This newer type of log is in customizable ASCII text-based format, permitting a wider range of data to be captured. The W3C Extended log file format is the default log file format used by Microsoft Internet Information Server (IIS).
A sample of the information typically recorded in a W3C extended type log is shown below:
#Version: 1.0
#Date: 04-Sep-2009 00:00:00
#Fields: time cs-method cs-uri
00:34:23 GET /WebSRV/Pg_Snippet.html
12:21:16 GET /WebSRV/ Button_pg.html
12:45:52 GET /WebSRV/ Login_Pg.html
12:57:34 GET /WebSRV/ Error_msg.html
2.5 What are Syslogs?
Syslog is the standard for logging messages, such as system events, in an IP network. The
Syslog standard is most commonly used for the logging of events by computer systems running on UNIX and Linux as well by network devices and appliances such as Cisco routers and the Cisco PIX firewall. Syslog events are not directly recorded by applications running on the computer systems. Whenever an event is generated, the respective computer will send a small textual message (known as Syslog message) to a dedicated server commonly known as ‘Syslog server’. The Syslog server will then save the received message into a log file. Syslog messages are generally sent as clear text; however, an SSL wrapper can be used to provide for a layer of encryption.
Syslog is typically used for computer system management and security auditing. While it has a number of shortcomings, its big plus is that Syslog is supported by a wide variety of devices and receivers. Because of this, Syslog can be used to integrate log data from many different types of systems into a central repository using the Syslog server as a log aggregator.
The Syslog daemon handles the recording of Syslog messages/events in log files. The Syslog message is composed of two main parts:
10 | Getting Started GFI EventsManager
1. The ‘header’ which contains date/time information as well as the IP or computer name from where the message has originated.
2. The “message” which includes the program or subsystem name and the message itself, separated by a colon. The following is an example of a Syslog message:
Sep 4 10:10:10 10.245.2.11 foo[421]: this is a message from
WebSRV
2.6 What are SNMP Traps?
SNMP Traps are used by network management systems to monitor network devices (such as routers, firewalls or switches) for conditions that require administrative attention. This includes monitoring device uptime, inventories of operating system versions and collecting interface information. SNMP enabled devices do not record event messages locally but instead these transmit event details to an SNMP Trap server which analyzes these occurrences and alert systems administrators on key events.
GFI EventsManager includes its own SNMP Trap server that captures SNMP messages and informs systems administrators of network device failures and other critical events. GFI
EventsManager supports various versions of SNMP Traps including SNMP versions 1, 2 and 3
(the encoded version).
2.7 What are SQL Server audit logs?
Microsoft SQL Server generates event logs that allow the network administrator to monitor database activity. GFI EventsManager allows you to process the activity logs generated by day-to-day SQL Server operations such as server startup or on key events such as failed logons. Alerts can also be created when key events such as consecutive login failure is identified in Microsoft SQL Server audit logs.
2.8 What are Oracle Server audit logs?
Oracle Servers can be configured to generate event logs that enable administrators to monitor activity. GFI EventsManager can be configured to collect and process these events.
Oracle Server auditing includes data related to:
» Data manipulation actions
» User access actions
» User privileges
» Database schema
» Database structure.
GFI EventsManager Getting Started | 11
3 Installation
3.1 Introduction
This chapter provides information about the different deployment scenarios supported by
GFI EventsManager and information required to install and run the product for the first time. It contains the following sections:
»
Where can I install GFI EventsManager on my network?
»
»
Upgrading from a previous version
»
»
Running GFI EventsManager for the first time
3.2 Where can I install GFI EventsManager on my network?
GFI EventsManager can be installed on any computer which meets the minimum system requirements irrespective of the location on your network.
If you want to collect event logs from Microsoft Windows Vista or later, GFI
EventsManager must be installed on a machine running Microsoft Windows Vista,
7 or Server 2008.
Use GFI EventsManager to manage the events generated:
» By the same computer where it is installed
» By all the computers that are reachable from the computer on which it is installed.
Figure 3 - GFI EventsManager deployment scenario
GFI EventsManager can be deployed in a:
»
LAN - Monitor the activity of internal servers and workstations/end points
»
DMZ - Monitor and manage the events generated on your servers.
12 | Installation GFI EventsManager
3.2.1 Deploying GFI EventsManager - Local Area Network
GFI EventsManager can be deployed on Windows based networks as well as on mixed environments where Linux and UNIX systems are being used as well.
Figure 4 - Deployment of GFI EventsManager in LAN
When installed on a Local Area Network (LAN) GFI EventsManager can manage Windows events, W3C event logs, Syslog messages, SNMP Trap and SQL Server audit messages generated by any hardware or software that is connected to the LAN, including:
Table 3 – Devices supported by GFI EventsManager
D EVICE
Workstations and laptops
Servers
Network devices
Software
Specialized Services
PABXs, Keyless Access Systems, Intrusion detections systems and more
E XAMPLE
End-user computers and systems.
Web servers, Mail servers, DNS servers and more.
Routers, switches and any other device that generates performance logs.
Including GFI EndPointSecurity, GFI LanGuard and other applications that generate logs.
Microsoft Internet Information Server – IIS.
GFI EventsManager enables you to monitor any device that is attached to the network.
When installed on a LAN, GFI EventsManager can also be used to collect events from hardware and software systems deployed on a Demilitarized Zone (DMZ). Since a firewall or a router usually protects this zone with network traffic filtering capabilities, you must make sure that:
1. The communication ports used by GFI EventsManager are not blocked by the firewall.
For more information on the communication ports used by GFI EventsManager refer: http://kbase.gfi.com/showarticle.asp?id=KBID002770 .
2. That GFI EventsManager has administrative privileges over the computers that are running on the DMZ.
GFI EventsManager Installation | 13
3.2.2 Deployment of GFI EventsManager on a demilitarized zone
Figure 5 - The DMZ sits between the internal LAN and the Internet
GFI EventsManager can also be deployed on a Demilitarized Zone (DMZ). This is the neutral network which sits between the “internal” corporate network and the “outside world”
(Internet). The deployment of GFI EventsManager on a DMZ helps you automate the management of events generated by DMZ hardware and software systems; such as:
Table 4 – Benefirts of installing GFI EventsManager in DMZ
DMZ AUTOMATION D ESCRIPTION
Automate management of Web and Mail server events
DMZ networks are normally used for the running of hardware and software systems that have internet specific roles such as HTTP servers, FTP servers, and Mail servers.
Hence, you can deploy GFI EventsManager to automatically manage the events generated by:
» Linux/Unix based web-servers including the W3C web-logs generated by Apache web-servers on LAMP web platforms.
» Windows based web-servers including the W3C web-logs generated by Microsoft Internet Information Servers (IIS).
» Linux/Unix and Windows based mail-servers including the Syslog auditing services messages generated by Sun Solaris v. 9 or later.
Automate management of DNS server events
If you have a public DNS server, there’s a good chance that you are running a DNS server on the DMZ. Hence you can use GFI
EventsManager to automatically collect and process DNS server events including those stored in your Windows’ DNS Server logs.
14 | Installation GFI EventsManager
DMZ AUTOMATION
Automate management of network appliance events
D ESCRIPTION
Routers and firewalls are two network appliances commonly found in a
DMZ. Specialized routers and firewalls (e.g. Cisco IOS series routers) not only help protect your internal network, but provide specialized features such as Port Address Translation (PAT) that can augment the operational performance of your systems.
By deploying GFI EventsManager on your DMZ, you can collect the events generated by such network appliances. For example, you can configure GFI EventsManager to act as a Syslog Server and collect in real-time the Syslog messages generated by Cisco IOS routers.
3.3 System requirements
3.3.1 Hardware requirements
Table 5 – Hardware requirements
H ARDWARE C OMPONENT
Processor
RAM
Hard disk
S PECIFICATION
2.5 GHz dual core or higher.
3 GB.
10 GB free space.
Hard disk size depends on your environment, the size specified in the requirements is the minimum required to install and archive events.
3.3.2 Software requirements
Table 6 – Software requirements: Operating system
O PERATING S YSTEM ( X 86 OR X 64)
Windows Server 2008 - Standard or Enterprise.
Windows Server 2008 R2 – Standard or Enterprise.
Windows Server 2003 SP2 - Standard or Enterprise.
Windows 7 - Enterprise, Professional or Ultimate.
Windows Vista SP1 - Enterprise, Business or Ultimate.
Windows XP Professional SP3.
Windows SBS 2008.
Windows SBS 2003.
Table 7 – Software requirements: Other components
O THER COMPONENTS
Microsoft .NET framework 4.0.
Microsoft Data Access Components (MDAC) 2.8 or later.
A mail server (when email alerting is required).
Microsoft Data Access Components (MDAC) 2.8 can be downloaded from http://www.microsoft.com/Downloads/details.aspx?familyid=6C050FE3-C795-
4B7D-B037-185D0506396C&displaylang=en
3.3.3 Event source settings
The below table describes the configuration required for event sources:
Table 8 – System requirements: Event source settings
L OG TYPE D ESCRIPTION
Windows event log processing Enable remote registry.
W3C log processing The source folders must be accessible via Windows shares.
GFI EventsManager Installation | 15
L OG TYPE D ESCRIPTION
Syslog and SNMP Traps processing Configure sources/senders to send messages to the computer/IP where GFI EventsManager is installed.
Scanning machines with Windows
Vista or later
System auditing
Install GFI EventsManager on a computer running Windows Vista or later.
Enable auditing on event sources. For information, refer to
3.3.4 Ports and permissions
The table below specifies the Ports required by GFI EventsManager:
Table 9 – System requirements: Ports and protocols
P ORT P ROTOCOL D ESCRIPTION
135 UDP and TCP Target machines use this port to publish information regarding available dynamic ports. GFI EventsManager uses this information to be able to communicate with the target machines.
139 and 445 UDP and TCP
162
514
1433
1521
49153
UDP and TCP
UDP and TCP
UDP and TCP
UDP and TCP
UDP and TCP
Used by GFI EventsManager to retrieve the event log descriptions from target machines.
Used by GFI EventsManager to receive SNMP traps. Ensure that this port is open on the machine where GFI EventsManager is installed
Used by GFI EventsManager to receive SYSLOG messages.
Used by GFI EventsManager to communicate with the SQL
Server database backend. Ensure that this port is enabled on
Microsoft SQL Server and on the machine where GFI
EventsManager is installed.
Used to collect Oracle Server audit logs. Port 1521 is the default port for this connection. If the port is changed manually in the Oracle Listener’s configuration, adjust firewall settings accordingly.
Used by GFI EventsManager to collect events from event sources with Microsoft Windows Vista or Microsoft Windows 7.
The table below specifies the Firewall Permissions required by GFI EventsManager:
Table 10 – System requirements: Firewall permissions
F IREWALL
PERMISSIONS AND
A UDIT POLICIES
M ICROSOFT
W INDOWS
S ERVER 2008
M ICROSOFT
W INDOWS
S ERVER 2003
Remote Event Log
Management
Enable
M
W
ICROSOFT
INDOWS XP
M ICROSOFT
W INDOWS
V ISTA
Not applicable Not applicable Enable
File and Printer sharing
Enable
Network discovery Enable
Audit policy:
Object access
Enable
Audit policy:
Process tracking
Audit policy: Audit account management
Enable
Enable
Enable
Not applicable Not applicable Enable
Not applicable Not applicable Enable
Not applicable Not applicable Enable
Enable
Enable
Enable
Enable
Enable
M ICROSOFT
W INDOWS 7
Enable
Enable
Enable
Enable
Enable
Enable
Audit policy: Audit system events
Enable Enable Enable Enable Enable
For more information, refer to Enabling permissions on events sources manually
or Enabling permissions on event sources automatically.
16 | Installation GFI EventsManager
3.3.5 Monitoring event logs from Microsoft Windows Vista or later
GFI EventsManager cannot be installed on Microsoft Windows XP to monitor events of
Microsoft Windows Vista or later. Microsoft Windows Vista and Microsoft Windows 7 introduced extensive structural changes in event logging and event log management. The most important of these changes include:
» A new XML-based format for event logs. This provides a more structured approach to reporting on all system occurrences.
» Event categorization in four distinct groups: Administrative, Operational, Analytic and
Debug
» A new file format (evtx) that replaces the old evt file format.
Due to these changes, to collect and process event logs from Microsoft Windows Vista or later, GFI EventsManager must be installed on a system running:
» Microsoft Windows Vista
» Microsoft Windows 7
» Microsoft Windows Server 2008.
Windows XP events can be collected when GFI EventsManager is installed on
Microsoft Windows Vista or later machines.
When GFI EventsManager is using a non-domain account to collect events from
Microsoft Vista machines or later, target machines must have User Account
Control (UAC) disabled. For more information on how to disable UAC, refer to
Disable UAC to scan target machines section in this manual.
3.4 Upgrading from a previous version
Upgrading from older versions is not possible due to the underlying operational and processing technology subsystems.
You will still however be able to run an older version of GFI EventsManager on the same machine on which a newer version of GFI EventsManager is installed since there are no conflicts between the older and the newer versions.
You can also export events from an older version of GFI EventsManager and import the data
in the new one, using Database Operations. For more information, refer to Database
3.5 Firewalls and Anti-virus software
If firewall(s) are enabled and anti-virus software installed on the computer where GFI
EventsManager is running, make sure that:
» Traffic is not blocked on the ports in use by GFI EventsManager
» esmui.exe and esmproc.exe are allowed access through the firewall(s)
» GFI EventsManager folders are excluded from real-time anti-virus scanning.
3.6 Computer identification considerations
GFI EventsManager identifies computers via computer name or IP. If NETBIOS-compatible computer names are used, ensure that your DNS service is properly configured for name resolution. Unreliable name resolution downgrades overall system performance. If you disable NETBIOS over TCP/IP, you can still use GFI EventsManager, however you must specify computer name by IP.
GFI EventsManager Installation | 17
3.7 Installation procedure
To install GFI EventsManager:
1. Close all running applications and log on the target computer using an account which has local administrative privileges.
2. Double-click GFI EventsManager setup file.
Screenshot 2 – Pre-requisite check
3. GFI EventsManager will check your system for components that are not already installed.
Click Install to begin the installation.
4. Click Next at the wizard welcome step.
5. Read the licensing agreement carefully. Select ‘I accept the terms in the License
Agreement’. Click Next.
18 | Installation GFI EventsManager
Screenshot 3 - Customer and License detail screen
6. Key in your name and serial number. Click Next.
Screenshot 4 - Logon information screen
7. Key in a user name and password of a domain administrator account. Click Next.
8. Specify an alternative installation path or click Next to leave as default.
9. Click Install.
GFI EventsManager Installation | 19
3.8 Running GFI EventsManager for the first time
After installing GFI EventsManager, the Management Console is launched automatically. To launch GFI EventsManager manually, click Start ► All Programs ► GFI EventsManager ►
Management Console.
Follow the steps outlined below to configure GFI EventsManager for first time use:
»
Step 1: Launch events processing
»
Step 2: Analyze events and generate reports .
Figure 6: Running GFI EventsManager for the first time
3.8.1 Step 1: Launch events processing
This section contains information about:
»
Processing events from the local computer
»
Processing events from the local domain
»
Processing events from selected machines
20 | Installation GFI EventsManager
Screenshot 5 - Quick Start Dialog
From the Quick Launch Console, select one of the following options:
O PTION
Process events - local computer
D ESCRIPTION
Start collecting events from the local computer, where GFI
EventsManager is installed.
For more information refer to Processing events from the local computer .
Process events - local domain
Process events - selected machines
Customize
Launch the Automatic network discovery wizard. This wizard will automatically search your network for event sources.
For more information refer to Processing events from the local domain .
Add event sources manually without using the wizard.
For more information refer to Processing events from selected machines .
Customize settings of:
» Events sources and log types
» Event processing rules
» Database operations
» Users and groups
» Alerting options.
Processing events from the local computer
To process event logs from the local machine:
1. From Quick Launch Console , click Process events - local computer. GFI
EventsManager will start to collect events from the local machine immediately.
GFI EventsManager Installation | 21
Screenshot 6 - Events processed from local machine
On completion, the number of events that have been processed is displayed in the information bar as illustrated in the screenshot above.
Processing events from the local domain
The Network discovery wizard searches the entire network for computers and servers.
This will assist in adding network computers as GFI EventsManager event sources. To launch the Network discovery wizard:
1. From the Quick Launch Console , click Process events - Local domain.
The wizard can also be launched from Configuration ► Event Sources, right click All event sources and select Scan local domain.
If synchronization options are configured, Process events - Local Domain is
disabled. For more information refer to Edit synchronization options .
2. In the Welcome screen, click Next.
22 | Installation GFI EventsManager
Screenshot 7 - Select the type of event source
3. The wizard enables you to search the local network for specific types of event sources.
Select the type of event sources to add and click Next.
At least one event source type must be selected before proceeding to the next wizard dialog.
4. The wizard will automatically start to search for connected computers. On completion, click Next.
Screenshot 8 - Select computers from result
GFI EventsManager Installation | 23
All discovered machines are selected by default. If the wizard fails to login to a computer, it is not selected.
5. To add a computer not selected by default, click the respective computer and a dialog will enable you to key in alternative credentials.
6. Click Next and Finish.
Processing events from selected machines
To collect event logs from selected machines:
1. From the Quick Launch Console , click Process events - selected machines to launch the
Add New Event Sources… wizard.
Screenshot 9 - Process events from selected machines
2. Specify the event source name or IP and click Add. Repeat until you have specified all the event sources to add to this group.
To import the list of event sources from a text file click Import button. To select event sources from a list, click Select button.
3. Click Finish to finalize settings. GFI EventsManager will collect events from the configured sources immediately.
24 | Installation GFI EventsManager
3.8.2 Step 2: Analyze events and generate reports
After collecting the event logs, you can analyze the information and generate reports based on the gathered data.
Screenshot 10 - GFI EventsManager Quick Launch Console
To analyze events:
1. Click from the top right corner of the GFI EventsManager user interface. The table below describes the options available in the Quick Launch Console.
Table 11 - Quick Launch Console options
I CON D ESCRIPTION
Browse events
Access the built-in events and forensic tools that will help you to locate, analyze and filter key
events. For more information refer to Event browsing chapter in this manual.
Generate reports
Access reporting features including instant/scheduled report generations and automated report
distribution. For more information refer to Reporting chapter in this manual.
View dashboard
Access GFI EventsManager status dashboard. This enables you to view graphical representations of the most important events collected and processed by GFI EventsManager. For more
information, refer to Status monitoring section in this manual.
Customize
Customize GFI EventsManager settings, such as enabling Syslog, SNMP Trap processing, key
events notifications, and more. For more information refer to Manage event sources chapter in
this manual.
GFI EventsManager Installation | 25
4 Event browsing
4.1 Introduction
The Event Browser enables you to access and browse processed or unprocessed event logs currently stored in the database. This chapter provides information about how to analyze events and contains the following sections:
»
Navigating through the Events Browser
»
Creating custom Root Views / Views
»
»
»
»
»
»
4.2 Navigating the Events Browser
Screenshot 11 - Events Browser
The Events Browser is made up of the following sections:
Table 12 – Navigating the Events Browser
S ECTION D ESCRIPTION
Views The Views section includes a wide range of predefined views. Use this section to view specific logs such as Windows Event Logs, W3C logs, SQL Server audits and more.
Common Tasks Common Tasks enable you to customize the look of the Events Browser and switch database to view exported and/or archived event logs.
GFI EventsManager Event browsing | 27
S ECTION
Actions
Events
D ESCRIPTION
Use the Actions section to run common functions related to analyzing event logs. This enables you create or edit custom views, export events for further analysis and more.
The Events section is used to browse through the events categorized under the selected view (from section 1).
Navigation controls
Use the navigation controls to browse through collected events.
Reporting The Report from view option enables you to generate graphical and statistical reports based on the selected view (from section 1).
Event
Description
Pane
The Events Description Pane provides an extensive breakdown of the selected event (from section 4). Use this section to analyze the event details and find out when the event was generated, what was the cause and by whom it was generated. The header color coding enables you to quickly identify the severity of the event.
The description section enables you to switch between two views:
» General - Contains event information in the legacy format that was standard for pre-Microsoft Windows Vista event logs.
» Fields – Contains a list of event information categorized by fields.
Use the Events Browser for forensic analysis of events. All events accessible through the
Events Browser are organized by log type in the Views section.
The link provided in the event description gives you access to:
» A more detailed description of the event
» Information and links that explain what causes this type of event
» Hints and tips on how to possibly solve any existing issues.
Event analysis is quite a demanding task; GFI EventsManager is equipped with specialized tools that simplify this process as well as enable the export of events. A description of these tools is provided in the following sections.
4.3 Creating custom Root Views / Views
In Events Browser, GFI EventsManager enables you to create two different types of custom views. The table below describes these views:
Table 13 – Event Browser: Create new view
V IEW TYPE D ESCRIPTION
Create root view… Enables you to create top-level views which may contain a number of sub-views.
This creates a new set of views beneath the ones that ship with the product
(Example: All Events view).
Create view… Create views within root views. Custom views can be added to the default root views and views.
To create a Root view/View:
1. From Events Browser ► Actions, click Create root view…/Create view…
Both options launch the same Create view dialog and are both configured in the same way. The difference is the positioning of the new custom view.
28 | Event browsing GFI EventsManager
Screenshot 12- Custom view builder
2. Key in a name and description for the new view.
3. Click Add to add conditions to your view. If no conditions are specified, the view will display information from every event log type.
Screenshot 13- Edit view restriction
3. Select a field from the list of available fields and specify the Field operator and Field
value. Click OK.
Repeat until all required query conditions are specified. For more information,
refer to Defining Restrictions .
GFI EventsManager Event browsing | 29
Screenshot 14- Customize View tab
4. Click Customize view tab to select the columns to show in the new custom view. You can also arrange their order of appearance using the Up and Down arrow buttons.
5. Click OK to finalize your settings.
Screenshot 15 – Sample: New Root Views and Views
30 | Event browsing GFI EventsManager
4.3.1 Deleting a view
1. From Events Browser ► Views, select the view to delete.
2. Right-click on the view and click Delete view.
4.3.2 Editing a view
1. From Events Browser ► Views, select the view to edit.
2. From Actions click Edit view…
3. From the View Properties dialog, add, edit or delete conditions according to your requirements.
4.4 Event color-coding options
Use the event color-coding tool to tint key events in a particular color. This way the required events are easier to locate during event browsing.
Screenshot 16 - Color coding configuration
4.4.1 Assigning a color-code to a specific event
To assign a color code to a specific event:
1. From Events Browser select Customize view ► Colors.
2. Specify event filtering parameters including the color to be applied to the sifted events.
3. Click Apply Color button to save changes.
Use the Clear color option to clear all color settings.
4.4.2 Assigning different color-codes to multiple events
To assign different color-codes to multiple events:
1. From Events Browser select Customize view ► Colors ► Advanced…
GFI EventsManager Event browsing | 31
Screenshot 17 - Advanced Color Filter
3. Click Add button. Specify filter name and configure event filter parameters.
4. Click OK button to save filter settings.
5. Repeat until all required event filter conditions have been configured. Click OK to finalize your settings.
4.5 Event finder tool
Use the event finder tool to search and locate specific events using simple customizable filters. To search for a particular event:
1. Click Events Browser ► Actions ► Find events.
Screenshot 18 - Event finder tool
2. Configure the event search parameters through the options provided on top of the right pane. To trigger a case sensitive search, click Options and select Match whole word.
3. Click Find button to trigger the search.
32 | Event browsing GFI EventsManager
4.6 Export to CSV tool
GFI EventsManager enables you to export event data to CSV files directly from Events
Browser. This is extremely convenient especially when further processing of event data is required. This includes:
» Distribution of key event data via email
» Running automated scripts that convert CSV exported events data to HTML for upload on web/company intranet
» Generation of graphical management reports and statistical data using native tools such as Microsoft Excel
» Generation of custom reports using third party applications
» Interfacing events data with applications and scripts built in-house.
To export events to CSV:
1. From Events Browser ► Views, right-click a view and select Export events.
Screenshot 19 - Export events tool
2. Specify or browse to where the exported events will be saved. Click OK.
4.7 Rule finder tool
GFI EventsManager enables you to find event processing rules from event logs in Events
Browser.
To identify the rule(s) used for a specific event:
1. From Events Browser, right-click an event log.
GFI EventsManager Event browsing | 33
Screenshot 20 - Find rule
2. Click Find rule.
4.8 Reporting options
GFI EventsManager enables you to build your own a custom report (with graphs and statistics) based on a selected View from Events Browser.
GFI EventsManager ships a selection of predefined reports. We recommend that you check the available reports prior to creating new ones to avoid having duplicate reports.
To report from a view:
1. From Events Browser ► Views, select a view.
Screenshot 21 - Report from view button
2. Click Report from view from the top-right corner of the Events Browser.
3. From the Create Report dialog, configure the options from the tabs described below:
34 | Event browsing GFI EventsManager
Table 14 – Event Browser: Create new report
T AB D ESCRIPTION
General Specify the new report name and add conditions.
Layout
Chart
Schedule
Select the columns that you want to be visible in the report. You can also customize the order of appearance.
Select Use graphical charts to generate a report showing information in a chart. The available chart types are:
» Pie chart
» Bar chart
» Line graph.
Select Use schedule to enable report scheduling. Configure the generation date and frequency for the new report.
For more information, refer to Creating custom reports .
4.9 Switching database
For event browsing purposes, GFI EventsManager enables you to switch between different databases. Use this feature to browse events that have been exported or archived for further analysis.
To switch database:
1. Click Events Browser ► Common Tasks ► Switch database.
Screenshot 22 - Switch database dialog
2. Select the database from the list of databases and click OK.
You can click Add… to specify a path and database name. Click Edit… to edit the specified information.
GFI EventsManager Event browsing | 35
5 Reporting
5.1 Introduction
GFI EventsManager provides a fully-fledged reporting system. It ships with a number of reports including technical and executive level reports showing graphical and statistical information based on hardware and software audited by GFI EventsManager. This chapter contains the following sections:
»
»
»
5.2 Navigating the Reports tab
Screenshot 23 – Navigating the Reporting UI
The Reporting tab consists of the sections described below:
Table 15 – Navigating the Reporting tab
S ECTION D ESCRIPTION
The Reports section contains all the predefined reports that ship with the product. Use this section to organize and generate various reports from technical to executive type.
The Common Tasks section enables you to quickly launch typical operations such as creating folder and report views to organize reports and generating reports.
From the Actions sections, you are able to create, edit or delete reports according to your needs.
36 | Reporting GFI EventsManager
S ECTION D ESCRIPTION
Use the Generated Reports section to view the history of a selected report (from Section 1).
This enables you to regenerate the report and export the report to HTML and/or PDF.
The Preview Report section provides a view of a selected, generated report. Use the control buttons to Print, Open, Export or Delete reports directly from this section.
5.3 Available reports
GFI EventsManager’s extensive report list contains reports for various requirements designed to facilitate reporting as much as possible. The following report categories are included in GFI EventsManager by default. Each category contains a number of reports that can be used out of the box or customized to fit your requirements:
Table 16 – Available reports
R EPORT C ATEGORY
Account Usage
Account Management
Policy Changes
Object Access
Application Management
Print Server
Windows Event Log System
Events Trend
All Critical
Miscellaneous, Customizable
D ESCRIPTION
Use the reports in this category to identify user logon issues. The event details shown in these reports include successful/failed user logons and locked user accounts.
Use the reports in this category to generate a graphical overview of important events that took place across your entire network. The event details shown in these reports include changes in user and computer accounts as well as changes in security group policies.
Use the reports in this category to identify policy changes effected on your network.
Use the reports in this category to identify object access issues. The event details shown in these reports include successful/failed object access and objects that have been deleted.
Use the reports in this category to identify faulty applications and application installation and removal issues. The event details shown in these reports include applications that have been installed or removed as well as applications, which are crashing and hanging.
Use the reports in this category to display details related to printing events. Details provided in these reports include documents that have been printed, the users that triggered the printing event and the date/time when the printing operation took place.
Use the reports in this category to identify audit failures and important
Windows event log issues. Details provided in these reports include the starting and stopping of event log services, clear log operations as well as errors generated during event logging.
Use the reports in this category to display statistical information related to event generation. Charts provided enumerate the 10 computers and users with most events. Other reports provide event counts on a network-wide basis as well as on a computer-by-computer basis. Reports in this category can be generated for each main time – by hour, day, week or month.
Use the reports in this category to display information related to critical Windows events, Syslog, W3C, Custom Events, SNMP Traps and
SQL Server Audit events. The charts provided enumerate the 10 most critical events.
Use the reports in this category to generate reports that offer broad customization. These can be used to generate reports based on any
Windows event log, using filtering conditions and grouping modes that are not covered by the other default reports.
Use the reports in these categories to generate legal compliance regulations reports.
PCI DSS Compliance / GCSx Code of Connection Requirements /
SOX Compliance / HIPAA
Compliance / GLBA Compliance
General and Security
Requirements
LOGbinder SP reports
Use the reports in this category to generate various reports required by several GCSx Code of Connection memos.
Use the reports in this category to generate reports related to
Microsoft SharePoint audit events.
GFI EventsManager Reporting | 37
5.4 Managing reports
Reports are organized in a tree structure enabling you to easily find and generate the required report. GFI EventsManager includes three options that allow you to maintain the report structure as the number of reports increase by time. These options include:
Table 17 – Managing reports
O PTION
Create Root Folder
Create Folder
Create Root Report
D ESCRIPTION
Create top-level folders that may contain one or more subfolders or reports.
For more information, refer to Creating a root folder .
Create a folder within a root folder. Folders may contain any number of
reports. For more information, refer to Creating a folder .
Root reports behave in the same way as root folders. These are created at the top level and may contain a number of sub reports. For more information, refer
Example: You can create a root report which is generated once every month.
Then you can create daily reports covering specific topics of the root report, generated on daily basis.
5.4.1 Creating a root folder
To create a root folder:
1. From Reporting tab ► Common Tasks, click Create Root Folder.
Screenshot 24 – Create Report Folder dialog
38 | Reporting GFI EventsManager
2. From the General tab, specify a name and a description (optional) for the new folder.
3. (Optional) Click Schedule tab and select Use schedule to configure a schedule for the reports included in this new folder. Configure the options described below:
Table 18 – Create folder: Schedule options
O PTION D ESCRIPTION
Inherit from Parent Select when the new folder is part of a root folder that already has scheduling configured.
Use schedule
Generation time
Recurrence pattern
Send report by email to
Select Use Schedule to enable scheduling of the reports contained in the new folder.
Specify the time when reports are generated.
Specify the report generation frequency. Select from Daily, Weekly or Monthly pattern and configure the respective parameters.
Select this option to enable email notifications. Click Configure to select the users from the Select users and groups… dialog.
NOTE: Configure alerting options before using this feature. For more
information, refer to Configuring Alerting Options .
4. Click OK to save your settings.
5.4.2 Creating a folder
To create a folder:
1. From Reporting tab ► Reports, right-click a root or sub folder and select Create
Folder.
2. From the General tab, specify the name and description (optional) for the new group.
3. (Optional) Click Schedule tab and configure the required parameters.
4. Click OK to save your settings.
5.4.3 Creating root reports
To create a root report:
1. From Reporting tab ► Common Tasks, click Create Root Report.
2. From General tab, specify a name and description (optional) for the new root report.
3. Click Add to add conditions to your new report. For more information, refer to Defining
Repeat this step until all required conditions have been specified.
4. Click Layout tab and add the column headings that you want to be visible in the report.
For more information, refer to Defining Column Headings .
If you have a saved report template, click Open location, to browse and load your template.
5. (Optional) Click Chart tab and select Use graphical charts to include graphs in your report.
6. From the Place chart at drop-down menu, specify the location of the chart. Select from:
» Beginning of Report
» End of Report.
7. From Properties ► X axis and Y axis, configure the X and Y Axis properties.
GFI EventsManager Reporting | 39
8. (Optional) Click Schedule tab and configure schedule settings.
9. Click OK to save settings.
5.5 Generating reports
To generate a report:
Screenshot 25 - Generating a report
1. From Reporting tab ► Reports, right-click a report and select Generate Report.
2. Wait for the report to generate and view results in Preview Report section.
Reports can also be generated by selecting a report from the list and clicking
Generate Report at the top of the reporting page.
Screenshot 26 – Report sample
40 | Reporting GFI EventsManager
5.6 Analyzing reports
Screenshot 27 – Preview Report: Analyzing
The reporting system of GFI EventsManager comes with dedicated tools to help you analyze and export reports. Once a report is generated, select it from the list of Generated
Reports and use the common controls which help you run common report analysis commands. The available tools are described below:
Table 19 – Analyzying reports tools
O PTION D ESCRIPTION
Use the Print option to view a print preview, configure printer settings and print the selected report.
Use the Open button to open the selected report in a browser. GFI EventsManager uses your default browser to view reports in HTML.
The Open File Location button enables you access the folder containing the report for backup or archiving purposes.
Use Export to PDF to export the selected report to Portable Document Format.
Click Delete to remove a generated report from the list.
5.7 Creating custom reports
Creating custom reports requires attention while setting up conditions. Conditions are set to determine what is filtered and presented in the report. Failing to configure conditions properly generates unwanted noise and inaccurate information.
To create a new custom report:
GFI EventsManager Reporting | 41
Screenshot 28 – Creating a new report
1. From Reporting tab ► Reports, right-click a root folder/folder/root report and select
Create Report.
42 | Reporting GFI EventsManager
Screenshot 29 - Creating a report: General
2. From General tab, configure the options described below:
Table 20 – Create Report dialog: General options
O PTION D ESCRIPTION
Name Enter a name for the new report.
Description
Select sort column
Ascending
Add/ Edit / Delete / Clear
Optionally, enter a report description.
Specify sorting column name.
Select Ascending to sort you report content from A to Z (as opposed to Z to A).
Use buttons to configure your report conditions. For more information,
refer to Defining Restrictions .
Copy report restrictions from existing reports from Reporting tab ► Reports.
Right-click a report and select Copy Report Restrictions.
GFI EventsManager Reporting | 43
Screenshot 30 – Creating a report: Layout
3. Click Layout to add column headings that you want to be visible in your report. Use the
Up and Down arrow buttons to arrange the order of their appearance. For more
information, refer to Defining Column Headings .
44 | Reporting GFI EventsManager
Screenshot 31 – Createing a report: Chart
4. (Optional) Click Chart tab and configure the options described below:
Table 21 – Create Report dialog: Chart options
O PTION D ESCRIPTION
Use graphical charts Include a graphical chart to present your data as well as a text-based table.
Place chart at
Chart type
Properties
Chart data
Select between Beginning of Report and End of Report to place the chart at the selected location.
Use the Chart type drop-down menu to select the type of chart to include in your report. Select from:
» Pie chart
» Bar chart
» Line chart.
Select the information to display in the X and Y axis. The available options are the column headings selected in Step 3.
This is the data used to construct the chart. It is a smaller table that contains counts and grouped data useful for charting.
GFI EventsManager Reporting | 45
Screenshot 32 – Createing a report: Schedule
5. Click Schedule tab and configure the options described below:
Table 22 – Create Report dialog: Schedule options
O PTION D ESCRIPTION
Inherit from Parent Select this option when the new folder is part of a root folder that already has scheduling configured.
Use schedule
Generation time
Recurrence pattern
Send report by email to
Select Use Schedule to enable scheduling of the reports contained in the new folder.
Specify the time when reports are generated.
Specify the frequency of when the report is generated. Select from
Daily, Weekly or Monthly pattern and configure the respective parameters.
Select this option to enable email notifications. Click Configure to select the users from the Select users and groups… dialog.
NOTE: Configure alerting options before using this feature. For more
information, refer to Configuring Alerting Options .
46 | Reporting GFI EventsManager
Screenshot 33 – Createing a report: Options
6. Click Options tab. From Target path, specify destination path where the new report is saved when it is generated.
7. From Generate options ► Range pattern, select the relevant pattern from which data is used to generate the new report.
8. Click OK to save your settings.
5.7.1 Defining Restrictions
Report restrictions are used to define what is filtered and presented in your reports. To configure conditions:
GFI EventsManager Reporting | 47
Screenshot 34 - Creating a report: Adding conditions
1. From the Create View/Create Report dialog, click Add to launch the Edit Query
Restriction dialog.
48 | Reporting GFI EventsManager
Screenshot 35 - Creating a report: Edit Query Conditions
2. From the list of available fields, select a field.
Optionally, you can key in the name in the Field Name text box to search for the required field.
3. Specify a Field Operator for the selected field. Available operators include:
Table 23 – Defining restrictions: Field Operators
F IELD OPERATOR D ESCRIPTION
Equal To When the event field is equal to the value configured.
Less than
Greater than
Occurred (Related to date/time fields)
Like
Contains
Value in List
When the event field is has a smaller value than the value configured.
When the event field is has a larger value than the value configured.
When the event field date occurred before the value date.
When the event field has similar text as the value text.
When the event field contains the value text.
When the event field is equal to one of the values in a list.
4. Specify a Field Value for the selected field and field operator. Some fields have predefined values while others require you to specify a value.
5. Click OK to save your restriction.
Copy report restrictions from existing reports from Reporting tab ► Reports.
Right-click a report and select Copy Report Restrictions.
Repeat this step until all your restrictions are defined.
GFI EventsManager Reporting | 49
Screenshot 36 – Customizing the condition
6. Once all the restrictions are defined, use the options described below to customize the condition to further suite your requirements:
Table 24 – Defining restrictions: Query Condition tools
O PTION D ESCRIPTION
AND Select the condition to configure and select AND. The selected condition AND the following condition(s) must be met for the query to be valid.
OR
AND NOT
OR NOT
+ (
+ )
- (
- )
Add
Edit
Delete
Clear
Select the condition to configure and select OR. The selected condition OR the following condition(s) must be met for the query to be valid.
Select the condition to configure and select AND NOT. This means that the selected condition has to match the restriction parameters but the following conditions must not.
Select the condition to configure and select OR NOT. This means that the selected condition has to match the restriction parameters OR the following conditions must not.
Click ‘+ (‘ to add an opening bracket to the selected condition. Conditions enclosed in brackets are processed first.
Click ‘+ )’ to add a closing bracket to the selected condition. Conditions enclosed in brackets are processed first.
Click ‘- (‘ to remove an opening bracket from the selected condition.
Click ‘- )’ to remove a closing bracket from the selected condition.
Click Add to launch the restrictions dialog and add more fields to the condition.
Click Edit to access the restrictions dialog and customize the selected condition.
Click Delete to delete a condition.
The Clear button deletes all the query conditions.
50 | Reporting GFI EventsManager
O PTION
Up arrow
Down arrow
D ESCRIPTION
Use the Up arrow key to move the selected condition up in the list.
Use the Down arrow key to move the selected condition down in the list.
7. Click OK to save your settings.
5.7.2 Defining column headings
GFI EventsManager enables you to create custom columns through the Add Custom
Columns dialog. This dialog allows you specify conditions, create a new field and add them to your report(s). Also based on conditions, this dialog enables you to further customize existing or new reports.
To add custom columns:
1. From Reporting tab ► Actions, click Create Report.
2. Click Layout tab ► Add Existing Column, to add default columns.
3. Click Add Custom Column to launch the Add Custom Columns dialog.
Screenshot 37 – Define custom column conditions
4. From the Add Custom Column dialog click Add.
5. From the Add Definition… dialog, configure the options described below:
GFI EventsManager Reporting | 51
Table 25 – Add Column Definition options
O PTION D ESCRIPTION
Field Name Specify a name for the new field.
Fixed Value
Special Column
Select Fixed Value if the value of the new field is going to be fixed. Specify a value as a field name. For example, to check that events always occur after 5pm, specify
5 as the fixed value instead of defining a time field and assign a value of 5.
Special columns are predefined columns that may be used in your condition.
Edit restrictions This section enables you to add, edit or delete field restrictions. For more
information, refer to Defining Restrictions .
6. Click OK to save your settings.
5.8 Daily Digest
GFI EventsManager can be configured to send a summary report by email on a daily basis.
The report contains a summary of the most important events collected and processed during the last 24 hours. To configure a user to receive Daily Digest emails:
1. Launch GFI EventsManager and select Configuration tab ► Options. Expand Users and
Groups and select Users.
2. Right-click a user from the right pane and select Properties.
3. Select General tab and ensure that a valid email address is configured.
4. Open Alerts tab and select Send daily report via email.
Screenshot 38 - Daily Digest email settings
5. Configure the time when the Daily Digest email is sent.
6. Click OK.
For more information, refer to Configuring users and groups .
52 | Reporting GFI EventsManager
Screenshot 39 - Daily digest emai
S ECTION D ESCRIPTION
The start and end date of the report. The report displays the most important events collected by GFI EventsManager between the start and end date.
The number of Critical and High events collected in the last 24 hours.
This graph provides statistical information about critical events collected from all event sources in the last 24 hours.
5.9 Settings report
GFI EventsManager enables you to generate settings reports on event source groups. The
provided information is described in the table below:
Table 26 – Settings report heading information
H EADING D ESCRIPTION
Group name The name of the group the report is based on.
Computer name A list of every event source in the selected group.
Scan intervals Scanning interval for every event source in the selected group; shown in Days : Hours :
Minutes : Seconds.
Rules folder Provides a list of rule categories applied to the selected group, such as:
» Noise reduction
» Security
» System health
» PCI DSS requirements.
Rule sets A granular list of rules applied on the selected group.
To generate settings report:
1. Click Configuration tab ► Event Sources.
GFI EventsManager Reporting | 53
Screenshot 40 – Generate configuration report
2. Right-click an event source group.
3. Click Report on settings and wait for report to generate.
Screenshot 41 – Settings report sample
5.10 Rules report
Rules repots provide a detailed view of applied rules on event sources. The rules report is described below:
54 | Reporting GFI EventsManager
Table 27 – Rules report heading information
H EADING D ESCRIPTION
Rule name Name of the applied rule.
Importance
Logfile monitored
Conditions
Actions
The classified importance level of the collect event log, such as:
» Critical
» High
» Medium
» Low
» Noise event.
Provides the category name of the collected event log, such as:
» Security
» System Health
» Application
» System.
The processing condition(s) for the selected rule. This includes:
» Event IDs
» Source
» Category
» User
» Type
» Advanced.
Describes the actions taken when the event is processed, including:
» Archiving settings
» Mail to settings
» Threshold settings.
To generate rules report:
1. Click Configuration tab ► Event Sources.
GFI EventsManager Reporting | 55
Screenshot 42 – Generate configuration report
2. Right-click an event source and click Report on rules.
5.11 Operational history
GFI EventsManager’s operational history can be exported for further analysis and archiving purposes. Operational history messages provide administrators with information as
Table 28 – Operational history reports
H EADING D ESCRIPTION
Date/Time Date and time when the message was generated
Machine
Source
Job ID
Log file/name
Message
Event source that generated the message
Source operation that cause the message to be generated. Amongst others these include:
» EvtCollector – message generated while collecting event logs
» SNMP TrapsServer – message generated while collecting SNMP Traps
Messages
» EnetrpriseMaintenance – message generated during database maintenance jobs.
An internal ID associated with the job
Type of logs collected. Amongst others:
» Application
» Security
» Logs generated by other applications such as GFI LanGuard and GFI
EndPointSecurity.
The actual message generated while performing the job.
To generate Operational history reports:
56 | Reporting GFI EventsManager
1. From GFI EventsManager Management Console, click Status ► Job Activity.
Screenshot 43 – Operational history report
2. Click Export data.
Screenshot 44 – Operational history dialog
3. Specify the options described in Table 29 below and click Export.
Table 29 – Export operational history options
O PTION D ESCRIPTION
Format Select the report output format. Available formats are HTML and CSV.
Current messages
Errors from a specific date
Save file to
Export all messages displayed in Job Activity tab.
Specify a date and export all the messages generated on that date.
Select checkbox to specify output location. If not selected, reports are saved in the default location within the GFI EventsManager directory.
Screenshot 45 – Operational history report sample
5.12 Activity overview
GFI EventsManager enables you to export Activity Overview data. Activity overview
reports provide the information described in Table 30 below:
Table 30 – Activity overview headings
GFI EventsManager Reporting | 57
H EADING
Date/Time
Machine
Source
Job ID
Log file/name
Message
D ESCRIPTION
Date and time when the message was generated
Event source that generated the message
Source operation that cause the message to be generated. Amongst others these include:
» EvtCollector – message generated while collecting event logs
» SNMP TrapsServer – message generated while collecting SNMP Traps
Messages
» EnetrpriseMaintenance – message generated during database maintenance jobs
An internal ID associated with the job
Type of logs collected. Amongst others:
» Application
» Security
» Logs generated by other applications such as GFI LanGuard and GFI
EndPointSecurity
The actual message generated while performing the job.
To export Activity Overview:
1. From GFI EventsManager Management Console, click Status ► Statistics.
Screenshot 46 – Activity overview : Export button
2. Click Export data.
Screenshot 47 – Activity overview dialog
3. Configure the options described in and click Export.
58 | Reporting GFI EventsManager
Table 31 – Export operational history options
O PTION D ESCRIPTION
Format The report output format. Available formats are HTML and CSV.
All time
From a specific date
Only computers with errors/
Export all messages displayed Activity Overview.
Specify a date to export all messages generated on that date.
Export only data of computers with scanning issues.
Include error messages Select this option to include the generated error message.
Save files to Displays the default export location.
Screenshot 48 – Activity overview report sample
GFI EventsManager Reporting | 59
6 Manage event sources
6.1 Introduction
Event sources are networked computers and devices that are accessed and processed by
GFI EventsManager. The Events Sources sub-tab (Configuration ► Event Sources), enables you to organize these event sources into specific groups. You can create new groups or use the default ones to distinctively configure and organize your event sources.
The following sections contain information about managing event sources:
»
»
Configuring event source properties
»
»
»
»
GFI EndPointSecurity event sources
6.2 Managing event sources groups
Grouping event sources into Event Source Groups improves the speed at which you configure event sources. Once an event source group is configured, every member of that particular group inherits the same settings.
To create a new event source group:
1. Click Configuration tab ► Event Sources.
2. From Group Type select Event Sources Groups.
3. Right-click All event sources and select Create group…
4. Select the license type. Choose between Workstation and Server license.
GFI EventsManager Manage event sources | 61
Screenshot 49 - Add new event source group
5. Key in a valid name and a description (optional). Select the tabs described below, and
configure the available options:
Table 32 - Event source group options
T AB NAME D ESCRIPTION
General Enable collection of events and schedule the scanning process. For more
information, refer to Configuring general event source properties .
Logon credentials Configure the username and password used to login target machines and collect
information. For more information, refer to Configure Logon Credentials .
Licensing type
Operational time
Audit
Windows Event Log
W3C Logs
Syslog
SNMP Traps
Select the type of license to use. Select between workstation and server license.
Configure the operational time that computers are normally used. For more
information, refer to Configure operational time .
Enable GFI EventsManager auditing on target computers and configure the audit
to perform. For more information, refer to Configure GFI EventsManager
Specify the logs to collect and configure archive settings for Windows event
logs. For more information, refer to Collecting Windows events .
Specify the logs to collect and configure archive settings for W3C logs. This tab is only available when creating a server group. For more information, refer to
Specify the logs to collect and configure archive settings for Syslogs. This tab is only available when creating a server group. For more information, refer to
Specify the logs to collect and configure archive settings for SNMP Traps. This tab is only available when creating a server group. For more information, refer
5. Click OK to save changes.
62 | Manage event sources GFI EventsManager
6.2.1 Edit synchronization options
GFI EventsManager enables you to synchronize domains with event sources groups. When the synchronization is configured, every new domain member is added automatically to GFI
EventsManager event sources.
To edit synchronization options:
1. From Configuration tab ► Group Type, select Event Sources Groups.
2. Select All event sources node. From Actions, click Edit synchronization options.
Screenshot 50 - Synchronization properties - General tab
3. Select General tab and configure the options described below:
Table 33 - Synchronization properties - General tab
O PTION D ESCRIPTION
Domain Select the domain name from the list or key in a valid domain name.
Group Select the GFI EventsManager group name where to add the discovered event sources.
Source type Select the type of computers discovered in the selected domain that will be added to the selected GFI EventsManager group.
4. To include the synchronization click Add.
5. Repeat steps 3 to 4 for each synchronization. The table below shows some examples of
possible synchronizations that can be configured:
Table 34 - Example of synchronizations
G ROUP S YNC WITH
Archive all Windows logs-Non DC Generic Servers
Workstations
E-mail Servers
Archive all Windows logs - DC
Workstations
Exchange Servers
Domain Controllers
GFI EventsManager Manage event sources | 63
G ROUP
Servers
S YNC WITH
ISA Servers
6. (Optional) Select Exclusions tab to configure the list of computers that will be excluded from the synchronization. Click Add and key in a computer name to exclude.
Event sources that are already part of an event source group will be automatically excluded from synchronization. For more information, refer to
7. Select Schedule tab to configure when the synchronization should be performed.
Screenshot 51 - Synchronization properties -Schedule tab
8. Key in a valid interval in hours or days.
9. (Optional) Select Send an email to the… to send an email notification when event sources are changed after synchronization.
10. (Optional) Click Synchronize now to synchronize event sources immediately.
11. Click OK.
Adding Event Sources manually to a synchronized group is not allowed in GFI
EventsManager.
6.3 Adding event sources
To add a new event sources to a computer group:
1. Click Configuration tab ► Event Sources.
2. From Group Type, select Event Sources Groups.
3. Right-click a computer group of your choice and select Add new event source…
64 | Manage event sources GFI EventsManager
Screenshot 52 – Add new event source wizard
4. Specify the name or IP of the new event source and click Add. Repeat until you have specified all the event sources to add to this group.
Since Syslog and SNMP traps use the IP address to determine the source of an event, it is recommended to use the source IP instead of the domain name when retrieving Syslog and SNMP traps from target machines.
5. (Optional) Click Select to browse the network for existing domains and computers.
Select the domain from the Domain drop down list and select the computers to add.
Screenshot 53 - Browse the network for connected computers
6. (Optional) Click Import… to import computers from a text file. Ensure that the text file contains only one computer name or IP per line.
7. Click Finish to finalize your settings. GFI EventsManager will attempt to collect logs from the configured sources immediately.
GFI EventsManager Manage event sources | 65
If synchronization is not enabled, you can use the Network Discovery Wizard to automatically search and add events sources. To launch Network Discovery
Wizard, right-click All event sources from the event sources tree and select Scan
local domain. For more information, refer to Processing events from the local domain .
6.4 Configuring event source properties
GFI EventsManager allows you to customize the event source parameters to suit the operational requirements of your infrastructure. You can configure these parameters on a:
» Computer by computer basis
» Group by group basis.
To configure event source properties:
1. From Configuration tab ► Group Type, select Event Sources Groups.
3. To configure the parameters of:
P ARAMETER
Computer group
D ESCRIPTION
Right-click on the computer group to be configured and select
Properties.
Particular computer in a group Right-click on the required computer and select Properties.
4. Click required tabs and configure the respective parameters accordingly. More information on how to configure these parameters is provided in the following sections:
»
Configuring general event source properties
» Configuring logon credentials
» Configuring operational time
» Configuring event source auditing
»
Configuring event processing parameters
66 | Manage event sources GFI EventsManager
6.4.1 Configuring general event source properties
Screenshot 54 - Event sources properties dialog
Use the General tab in the properties dialog to:
» Change the name of a computer group
» Enable/disable log collection and processing for the computers in a group
» Configure log collection and processing frequency.
6.4.2 Configuring Logon Credentials
During event processing, GFI EventsManager must remotely log-on to the target computers.
This is required in order to collect log data that is currently stored on the target computers and to pass this data on to the event processing engine(s).
To collect and process logs, GFI EventsManager must have administrative privileges over the target computers. By default, GFI EventsManager will log-on to target computers using the credentials of the account under which it is currently running; however, certain network environments are configured to use different credentials to log on to workstations and servers with administrative privileges. As an example for security purposes, network administrators can setup a dedicated account that has administrative privileges over workstations only and a different account that has administrative privileges over servers only.
GFI EventsManager Manage event sources | 67
Screenshot 55 - Configuring alternative logon credentials
GFI EventsManager, allows you to configure a dedicated set of logon credentials for individual event sources and groups. To configure a set of credentials for a particular computer group:
1. Right click on an event source and click on Properties
2. Click Logon Credentials tab
3. Specify the login name and password and click OK.
6.4.3 Configuring operational time
GFI EventsManager includes an Operational Time option through which you specify the normal working hours of your event sources. This is required so that GFI EventsManager can keep track of the events that occur both during and outside working hours.
Use the operational time information for forensic analysis; to identify unauthorized user access, illicit transactions carried outside normal working hours and other potential security breaches that might be taking place on your network.
68 | Manage event sources GFI EventsManager
Screenshot 56 - Specify operational time
Operational time is configurable on computer group basis. This is achieved by marking the normal working hours on a graphical operational time scale which is divided into one hour segments.
6.4.4 Configure event source auditing
GFI EventsManager collects additional data from the network using a checking engine. If auditing is enabled on an event source, the audit will be executed before collecting events and creates relative Windows events.
For example, when executing Check slow connection, the script performs a PING request and records the response time. If the response time is more than 500 milliseconds, the script creates a Windows event in the Application log of the target machine.
If an audit fails to execute due to network disconnection or insufficient permissions, no windows events are created.
Table 35 – Event sources: Audit policy options
C HECK LIST D ESCRIPTIONS
Check audit policy Checks the status of audit policies on target machines. If an audit policy is disabled, a Windows event is created. For more information on how to enable
audit policies, refer to Step 2: Enable additional auditing features section in
this manual.
Check disk space
Check inactive domain machines
Check inactive users
Checks the target machine disk drives’ free space. If a disk has less than 10% free space, a Windows event is created. Amongst others, the Windows event contains information on disk drive name and storage space.
Checks the domain for inactive machines. A machine can be inactive if no log in requests were sent during the previous 30 days. If inactive machines are found, a Windows event is created.
Checks domain for inactive user accounts. A user account is inactive if no log in requests were sent during the previous 30 days. If inactive accounts are found, a Windows event is created.
GFI EventsManager Manage event sources | 69
C HECK LIST
Check IPSec policies status
Check Microsoft firewall status
Check slow connection
Check volumes encrypted by Microsoft
D ESCRIPTIONS
Checks status of IPSec policies on target machines, if any. If IPSec policies exist and are inactive, a Windows event is created.
Checks status of any Microsoft Windows Firewall or ISA servers on target machines. If a Firewall exists and is off, a Windows event is created.
The script performs a PING request and records the response time. If the response time is more than 500 milliseconds, the script creates a Windows event.
Checks if there are volumes encrypted using Microsoft products (e.g. Bit
Locker), on target machines. If volume encryption is not used, a Windows event is created.
To configure GFI EventsManager auditing event processing rules, navigate to
Configuration tab ► Event Processing Rules and from the Rule Folders tree,
select Windows Events. For more information, refer to Using event processing rules .
To enable and configure GFI EventsManager auditing:
1. Right-click an event source or an event source group, and click Properties.
Screenshot 57 – Event source properties: Audit tab
2. From the Properties dialog, select Audit tab and configure the options described below:
Table 36 - Auditing options
O PTION D ESCRIPTION
Inherit configuration from parent group Select this option to use the settings configured in the parent group.
Enable GFI EventsManager auditing
Perform the following audits
Select this option to enable GFI EventsManager auditing.
Select the audits to perform on target machines.
70 | Manage event sources GFI EventsManager
O PTION
Start a new audit only if…
D ESCRIPTION
Select this option and configure the threshold time between audits. GFI EventsManager will wait for the defined interval before starting a new audit check.
Audit checks are executed before scanning windows events, if the audit check is successful a windows log event is created on the target machine. This may create a large number of events and it is recommended to configure and use the Auditing threshold. When using the Auditing threshold GFI EventsManager will wait for a pre-defined interval before starting a new audit check.
4. Click OK to save changes.
6.4.5 Configuring event processing parameters
To configure event processing parameters:
Screenshot 58 - Event-processing configuration tabs
1. Click Configuration tab ► Group Type ► Event Sources Groups.
2. From the Groups list, right-click the group to configure and select Properties.
3. Use the Windows Event Log tab, W3C Logs tab, Syslog tab and SNMP Traps to configure the required event processing parameters.
For more information, refer to Using event processing rules .
GFI EventsManager Manage event sources | 71
6.5 Microsoft SQL Server sources
6.5.1 Creating a new Microsoft SQL Server Group
To add a Microsoft SQL Server group:
1. Click Configuration tab ► Event Sources. From Group Type, select Database Servers
Groups.
Screenshot 59 - Database Servers Groups
2. From Groups, right-click Microsoft SQL Servers and select Create group.
3. Select Microsoft SQL Server as the server type and from the General tab configure the
options described in the table below:
Table 37 - Microsoft SQL Database group: General tab
O PTION D ESCRIPTION
Group Name Key in a group name to identify the Microsoft SQL server group.
Description
Collects logs from the database servers included in this group.
(Optional) Key in a description.
Enable option to collect database events from all servers in this group.
4. Select Logon Credentials tab and configure the options described below:
Table 38 - Microsoft SQL Database group: Logon Credentials
O PTION D ESCRIPTION
Use Windows authentication Connect to the Microsoft SQL Database using windows authentication.
Use SQL Server authentication Connect to Microsoft SQL Database using a Microsoft SQL Database user account. Key in a username and password.
5. Select Operational Time and configure the operational time when the database is normally used.
72 | Manage event sources GFI EventsManager
Screenshot 60 - Microsoft SQL Database group - SQL Server Audit tab
6. Select SQL Server Audit tab and configure the options described below:
Table 39 - Microsoft SQL Database group -SQL Server Audit
O PTION D ESCRIPTION
Archive all logs without further processing
Archive events in GFI EventsManager database backend without processing.
Process the logs with the rules selected below before archiving
Archive all scanned events in folder storage.
Specify the rules to perform before archiving events in GFI
EventsManager database backend.
Archives collected events into GFI EventsManager storage folder. For
more information, refer to Configure storage folder .
7. Select Settings tab and configure the options described in below:
Table 40 - Microsoft SQL Database group - Settings
O PTION D ESCRIPTION
Scan all the events for all databases
All Microsoft SQL Server events are collected and processed by GFI
EventsManager.
Scan only security events for all databases
Only security events are collected and processed by GFI
EventsManager.
8. Click OK
6.5.2 Adding a new Microsoft SQL Server event source
To add a new Microsoft SQL Server source:
1. Right-click the database group and select Add new SQL Server.
GFI EventsManager Manage event sources | 73
Screenshot 61 - Add new Microsoft SQL server
2. Key in the server name or IP and click Add.
Use Select and Import to search the network for SQL Servers or import list of SQL servers from a text file respectively. Click Finish when ready.
3. From Groups, select Microsoft SQL Servers. From the right pane, double-click the
Microsoft SQL Database instance.
74 | Manage event sources GFI EventsManager
Screenshot 62 - Microsoft SQL Database properties: General tab
4. In the General tab, configure the options described below:
Table 41 - Microsoft SQL Database - General tab options
O PTION D ESCRIPTION
Inherit SQL Server post collecting processing from parent group.
Inherits all settings from the parent group.
Archive events in database
Process using these rule sets
Archive all events in GFI EventsManager database backend without processing.
Archive all events using the specified rules. Select the rules to apply.
GFI EventsManager Manage event sources | 75
Screenshot 63 - Microsoft SQL Database properties: Connection Settings tab
5. Select Connection Settings and configure the options described below:
Table 42 - Microsoft SQL Database - Connection Settings tab
O PTION D ESCRIPTION
Inherit the logon credentials from the parent group
Select this option to inherit login settings from the parent group.
Use Windows authentication
Use SQL Server credentials
Connect to Microsoft SQL Database using windows authentication.
Connect to Microsoft SQL Database using a Microsoft SQL Database user account. Key in a username and password.
76 | Manage event sources GFI EventsManager
Screenshot 64 - Microsoft SQL Database properties: Settings tab
6. Select Settings tab and configure the options described below:
Table 43 - Microsoft SQL Database - Settings tab options
O PTION D ESCRIPTION
Inherit the settings from the parent group
Inherits settings from the parent group.
Scan all the events for all databases
Scan only the security events for all databases
Scan all the events that are related to the following databases only.
7. Click OK.
Scan all databases and collect all events from the Microsoft
SQL Server.
Scan all databases and collect only security events from the
Microsoft SQL Server.
Collect all events from the selected databases. Use Add, Edit and Remove to manage database sources.
6.6 Oracle Server sources
GFI EventsManager enables you to collect and process events generated by Oracle
Relational database management systems. The following audits are collected and processed by GFI EventsManager:
Table 44 – Oracle Server supported audits
A UDIT
Session auditing
Statements auditing
Object auditing
D ESCRIPTION
Audit user sessions and database access.
Audit SQL statements.
Audit queries and statements related to specific objects.
The following Oracle Database versions are supported:
» Oracle Database 9i
» Oracle Database 10g
» Oracle Database 11g
GFI EventsManager Manage event sources | 77
6.6.1 Pre-configuration settings for Oracle servers
Table 45 – Oracle Server configuration stages
P RE CONFIGURATION STEP D ESCRIPTION
Step 1 Before collecting events from Oracle servers ensure that the account used to connect, set audits and access the audit table has the necessary permissions.
Step 2 Enable auditing on the Oracle server by changing startup parameters. To enable auditing:
1. Startup parameters for the Oracle servers are stored in
<Oracle Home Directory>\admin\<Oracle
SID>\pfile\init.ora
.
2. Locate and open the parameters file using a text editor.
3. Locate AUDIT_TRAIL parameter and change the default value to ‘db’ or
‘db_extended’ (‘db,extended’ on latest versions of Oracle).
4. Save and restart the Oracle server.
6.6.2 Adding a new Oracle Server group
To add a new Oracle Database group:
1. Click Configuration ► Event Sources and from the Group Type, select Database Servers
Groups.
Screenshot 65 - Database Servers Groups
2. From the right panel, right-click Oracle Servers and select Create group…
Screenshot 66 - Oracle Database group - General tab
78 | Manage event sources GFI EventsManager
3. In the General tab, configure the options described in below:
Table 46 - Oracle Database group - General tab
O PTION D ESCRIPTION
Group Name Key in a group name to identify the Oracle Database group.
Description
Collects logs from the database servers included in this group
Schedule scanning
Maintenance
Optional, key in a description.
Collects events from the event sources in the Oracle group. Once this option is enabled, configure the Schedule scanning and
Maintenance options.
Specify the frequency to collect events on a pre-defined schedule.
Oracle audit events are stored in a specific audit table on the
Oracle server. To prevent excessive audit table growth, configure the options in this section to delete audit logs and old entries on a pre-defined time.
4. Select Logon Credentials tab and key in a valid username and password to connect to the Oracle server.
5. Select Operational Time tab and configure the normal operational time of the Oracle
Database servers in this group.
Screenshot 67 - Oracle Database group - Oracle Audit tab
6. Select Oracle Audit and configure the options described below:
Table 47 - Oracle Database group - Oracle Audit
O PTION D ESCRIPTION
Archive all logs without further processing
Enable to archive events in the database backend without processing.
Process the logs with the rules selected below before archiving.
7. Click OK
Select option to specify the rules to perform before archiving events in the database backend.
GFI EventsManager Manage event sources | 79
6.6.3 Adding a new Oracle Server event source
To add a new Oracle Database to a database group:
1. Right-click the database group and select Add new Oracle Server.
Screenshot 68 - Add new Oracle server
2. Key in the server name or IP and click Add. To import a server list from a text file, click
Import and locate the text file.
Click Configuration ► Event Sources and from the Group Type, select Database Servers
Groups.
80 | Manage event sources GFI EventsManager
Screenshot 69 - Oracle Database - General tab
3. From Groups, select Oracle Servers. Double-click the Oracle Database instance from the right pane and configure the options described below:
Table 48 - Oracle Database - General tab options
O PTION
Inherit Oracle Server post collecting processing from parent group.
Archive events in database
Process using these rule sets
D ESCRIPTION
Select to inherit all settings from the parent group.
Archive all events in the database backend without processing.
Archive all events using the specified rules. Select the rules to apply.
GFI EventsManager Manage event sources | 81
Screenshot 70 - Oracle Database - Connection Settings tab
5. Select Connection Settings and configure the options described in the table below
Table 49 - Oracle Database - General tab options
O PTION D ESCRIPTION
Inherit the logon credentials from the parent group
Select to inherit login settings from the parent group.
Port
SID
Service Name
Test
Key in the port to use to connect to the Oracle Database.
The SID is a unique name to identify an Oracle Database instance. Key in the SID of the database to audit.
The Service name is the alias used to identify the Oracle
Database. Key in the Service name of the database to audit.
Test the connection with the Oracle Database server.
82 | Manage event sources GFI EventsManager
Screenshot 71 - Oracle Database -Audit by objects tab
6. Select Audit by Objects and configure the options described in the table below:
Table 50 - Oracle Database - Audit by Objects
O PTION D ESCRIPTION
Object Click Browse to launch a list of available Oracle SQL objects. Select the object to audit and click OK.
NOTE: Amongst others, Oracle objects can be procedures, views, functions and tables.
Operations
Options
Audit
Stop Audit
Current audited schema objects
Operations are actions that modify or query an object. Click Browse to launch a list of available operations. Select the operations to audit and click OK.
Select the audit options:
» By Access - Creates an audit log per object operation execution.
» By Session - Creates an audit log per operation and per schema object. A session is the time between a connection and a disconnection to/from the database.
» Success - Select to process only successful audits.
» Failure - Select to process only failed audits. Oracle will create an audit log if an audit fails to complete.
» Both - Select to process all audit logs.
Choose this option to instruct the Oracle server to start auditing the server activities corresponding to the selected parameters (like users, statements, etc.)
Choose this option to instruct the Oracle server to stop auditing the server activities corresponding to the selected parameters (like users, statements, etc.)
A list that displays all current Oracle audited schema.
GFI EventsManager Manage event sources | 83
Screenshot 72 - Oracle Database -Audit by statements tab
7. Select Audit by Statements and configure the options described in Table 51 below.
Table 51 - Oracle Database - Audit by Statements
O PTION D ESCRIPTION
Statements Click browse button to launch a list of available SQL statements. Select the SQL statements to audit and click OK.
NOTE: Amongst others, Oracle statements can be ALTER, CREATE and SELECT SQL statements.
User
Options
Audit
Stop Audit
Current audited statements
Oracle enables you to audit statements for a specific user. Click browse button to launch a list of available users. Select the user and click OK.
Select audit options:
» By Access - Creates one audit log for each statement execution.
» By Session - Creates one audit log per user and per schema object. A session is the time between a connection and a disconnection to/from the database.
» Success - Processes only successful audits.
» Failure - Select option to process only failed audits. Oracle will create an audit log if an audit fails to complete.
» Both - Select option to process all audit logs.
Choose this option to instruct the Oracle server to start auditing the server activities corresponding to the selected parameters (like users, statements, etc.)
Choose this option to instruct the Oracle server to stop auditing the server activities corresponding to the selected parameters (like users, statements, etc.)
A list that displays all current Oracle audited statements.
8. Click OK.
84 | Manage event sources GFI EventsManager
6.7 GFI LanGuard event sources
GFI EventsManager enables you to monitor events generated by GFI LanGuard. GFI
LanGuard is a network vulnerability scanner that audits your network for weaknesses that can be exploited by users for malicious purposes. During network audits, GFI LanGuard creates events in the ‘Application Log’ of the machine where it is installed.
For each machine scanned by GFI LanGuard, an ‘Application log’ entry having ‘Event ID: 0’ and ‘Source’ set as GFI LanGuard will be generated. These events denote network vulnerability information extracted from scanned computers including:
D ESCRIPTION I NFORMATION GATHERED BY GFI
L AN G UARD
Threat level Gather information about the overall network threat level. This rating is generated through an extensive algorithm after GFI
LanGuard audits the network
Missing patches and service packs
Open ports
Antivirus operational and malware definition status
Applications detected on scanned targets
Find out which machines have missing updates and which updates need to be installed to strengthen the security level.
Discover any unwanted open TCP and/or UDP ports.
GFI LanGuard is able to check if your virus database definitions are up to date. If it is not, you will be alerted and GFI LanGuard will attempt to update it.
GFI LanGuard enumerates applications installed on scan targets.
You can create an inventory of wanted and/or unwanted applications and configure GFI LanGuard to automatically uninstall applications categorized as unwanted.
For more information about GFI LanGuard, refer to http://www.gfi.com/network-security-vulnerability-scanner .
Screenshot 73 - Event generated by GFI LanGuard
GFI EventsManager can process events generated by GFI LanGuard version 9.5 or later.
GFI EventsManager Manage event sources | 85
6.7.1 How to enable GFI LanGuard event logging?
To start monitoring ‘Application log’ entries generated by GFI LanGuard:
1. Add the machine where GFI LanGuard is installed as an event source.
For information, refer to Manage event sources .
2. Once GFI LanGuard machine is added as an event source, GFI EventsManager will remotely and automatically enable the event logging feature in GFI LanGuard by creating and setting the following registry value on the GFI LanGuard machine:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\GFI\LNSS[n]\Config\EventLog = 1
(dword)
[n] is the major version number of GFI LanGuard.
Example: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\GFI\LNSS9\Config\EventLog
= 1(dword)
To stop GFI LanGuard from generating ‘Application Log’ entries, remove the registry value described above or change the registry value to 0.
6.7.2 Monitoring GFI LanGuard Events
GFI EventsManager has built-in processing rules for GFI LanGuard events that are enabled by default. To monitor events generated by GFI LanGuard, select Status tab ► General and locate the Critical and High Importance Events section.
To configure GFI LanGuard event processing rules, click Configuration tab ►
Event Processing Rules and from the left pane select GFI Rules ► GFI LanGuard
rules. For more information, refer to Using event processing rules .
6.8 GFI EndPointSecurity event sources
GFI EndPointSecurity enables you to maintain data integrity by preventing unauthorized access and transfer of content to and from the following devices or connection ports:
D EVICE
USB Ports
E XAMPLE
Flash/Memory card readers and pen drives.
Firewire ports
Wireless devices
Floppy disk drives
Optical drives
Magneto Optical drives
Removable storage
Digital cameras and Fire-wire card readers.
Bluetooth and Infrared dongles
Internal and external (USB) floppy drives.
CD, DVD and Blu-ray discs.
Internal and external (USB) drives.
USB hard-disk drives.
Other drives such as Zip drives and tape drives
Internal or External (USB/Serial/Parallel) drives.
For more information about GFI EndPointSecurity, refer to http://www.gfi.com/endpointsecurity
6.8.1 Enable GFI EndPointSecurity logging
By default, GFI EndPointSecurity generates logs with information about:
» The GFI EndPointSecurity service
86 | Manage event sources GFI EventsManager
» Devices connected and disconnected on your network
» Access allowed or denied by GFI EndPointSecurity to users.
Screenshot 74 - Event generated by GFI EndPointSecurity
To configure the logging options in GFI EndPointSecurity:
1. From the GFI EndPointSecurity machine, launch GFI EndPointSecurity management console.
2. Click Configuration tab ► Protection Policies.
3. From the left pane, select the protection policy and click Set Logging Options.
4. Customize the settings available in Logging Option dialog.
For more information on how to configure GFI EndPointSecurity logging options, refer to the GFI EndPointSecurity documentation available from http://www.gfi.com/products/gfi-endpointsecurity/manual .
6.8.2 Monitor GFI EndPointSecurity Events
GFI EventsManager has built-in processing rules for GFI EndPointSecurity events that are enabled by default. To monitor events generated by GFI EndPointSecurity, select Status tab ► General and locate the Critical and High Importance Events section.
To configure GFI EndPointSecurity event processing rules, click Configuration tab ► Event
Processing Rules. For more information, refer to Using event processing rules .
GFI EventsManager Manage event sources | 87
7 Using event processing rules
7.1 Introduction
This chapter includes sections containing information about:
»
»
»
»
»
»
Triggering a manual event source scan
GFI EventsManager allows you to collect and process: Windows Event Logs, W3C logs,
Syslogs, SNMP Traps and Microsoft SQL Server audit logs. All supported log types record events in a different and proprietary format; therefore every log type requires different configuration settings and parameters. You can configure log collection and processing parameters:
» On a computer by computer basis
» On a computer group by computer group basis.
During event processing, GFI EventsManager runs a configurable set of rules against the collected logs in order to classify events and trigger alerts/actions accordingly. By default,
GFI EventsManager ships with a pre-configured set of event processing rules that allow you to gain network-wide control over computer logs - with negligible configuration effort.
7.1.1 Event processing rules
E VENT PROCESSING RULES ARE INSTRUCTIONS / CHECKS THAT :
Analyze the collected logs.
Classify the severity of processed events. Classification is based on the configuration settings of the processing rule.
Filter events that match specific criteria. Example: you can create and run a rule which filters out low severity events and noise (duplicate events).
Generate alerts and actions based on event severity. Example: you can configure GFI EventsManager to send both SMS and Email alerts whenever an event is classified as critical; but limit the product to send only
Optionally archive filtered events. Event archiving is based on the severity of the event and on the configuration settings of the event processing rules. Example: you can configure GFI EventsManager to archive only events that are classified as critical or high in severity and discard all the rest.
In GFI EventsManager, event processing rules are organized into ‘Rule-sets’; and every rule-set can contain one or more specialized rules which can be run against collected logs.
Screenshot 75 - Rule-sets folder and Rule-sets
GFI EventsManager Using event processing rules | 89
Rule-sets are further organized into Rule-sets Folders. This way you can group rule-sets according to the functions and actions that the respective rules perform. By default, GFI
EventsManager ships with pre-configured folders, rule-sets and event processing rules that can be further customized to suite your event processing requirements.
7.1.2 Event classification
Event classification is based on the configuration of the rules that are executed against the collected logs. Events that don’t satisfy any event classification conditions are tagged as unclassified. Unclassified events may also be used to trigger the same alerts and actions available for classified events.
GFI EventsManager classifies events in the following categories:
» Critical
» High
» Medium
» Low
» Noise (unwanted or repeated log entries).
7.1.3 How event processing works
The flowchart chart below illustrates the event processing stages performed by GFI
EventsManager.
90 | Using event processing rules GFI EventsManager
Screenshot 76 - Log processing, classification and actions flowchart
7.2 Collecting Windows events
Windows events are organized into specific log categories; by default computers running on
Windows NT or higher, record errors, warnings and information events in three logs namely
Security, Application and System logs.
Computers that have more specialized roles on the network such as Domain Controllers, and DNS Servers have additional event log categories.
As a minimum, Windows Operating Systems record events in the following logs:
Table 52 – Windos Event Logs collected by GFI EventsManager
L OG TYPE D ESCRIPTION
Security event log This log contains security related events through which you can audit successful or attempted security breaches. Typical events found in the Security Events log include valid and invalid logon attempts.
Application event log
System event log
This log contains events recorded by software applications/programs such as file errors.
This log contains events logged by operating system components such as failures to load device drivers.
GFI EventsManager Using event processing rules | 91
L OG TYPE
Directory service log
File Replication service log
DNS server log
Application and Services Logs
D ESCRIPTION
This log contains events generated by the Active Directory including successful or failed attempts to make to update the Active Directory database.
This log contains events recorded by the Windows File Replication service. These including file replication failures and events that occur while domain controllers are being updated with information about
Sysvol.
This log contains events associated with the process of resolving DNS names to IP addresses.
These logs contain events associated with Windows VISTA and the relative services/functionalities it offers.
Screenshot 77 - Computer group properties: Configuring Windows Event Logs parameters
To configure Windows Event Log collection and processing parameters:
1. From Configuration tab ► Event Sources, right-click an event source group and select
Properties.
2. Click Windows Event Log and configure the parameters described below:
Table 53 – Configuring Windows Event Log processing
O PTION D ESCRIPTION
Specify the logs to collect Click Add to select the Windows Logs and/or Applications and
Services Logs to collect. You can also add custom logs to be collected by event sources in this group.For information, refer to
Clear collected events after completion
Archive all logs without any further processing
(Optional) Select this option to clear the collected events from event sources, after they have been processed.
Select this option to archive the process W3C logs without applying further checks.
92 | Using event processing rules GFI EventsManager
O PTION
Process the logs with the rules selected below, before archiving
D ESCRIPTION
Select this option and select the events processing rules you want to run against the collected events.
Write extended tags to database Add extended fields to the database. Extended fields contain data from event descriptions and are added by a common name.
Screenshot 78 - Selecting the events to be collected
3. Click OK to finalize your settings.
Deleting event logs without archiving may lead to legal compliance issues.
7.3 Collecting Text logs
W3C is another log format supported by GFI EventsManager. W3C logs are text-based flat files containing various event details delimited by special characters.
The W3C log format is mostly commonly used by hardware systems (Example: servers and appliances) which have internet specific roles. Microsoft Internet Information Server (IIS) service and Apache web servers for example, can collect web related events such as web logs, in the form of W3C formatted text files.
In GFI EventsManager, the configuration process of W3C log parameters is identical to that performed for Windows event processing, with one exception. Unlike Windows Event Logs, there is no standard which dictates a specific or centralized folder location where W3C log files are stored on disk. Therefore, in order to collect W3C logs, you must specify the complete path to these text-based log files.
To configure W3C log collection and processing parameters:
1. From Configuration tab ► Event Sources, right-click an event source group and select
Properties.
GFI EventsManager Using event processing rules | 93
Screenshot 79 - Computer group properties: Configuring W3C event processing parameters
2. Click Text Logs and configure the options described below:
Table 54 - Configuring W3C processing
O PTION
Specify the files in W3C format to collect
Clear collected events after completion
Process subdirectories
Parsing schema
Archive all logs without further processing
Process the logs with the rules selected below, before archiving
3. Click OK to finalize your settings.
D ESCRIPTION
Click Add to specify the log file name and location.
Wildcards such as *.* are supported.
Select this option to clear events collected from event sources.
This option enables you to recursively scan the specified path that contains W3C logs.
Select the schema in which W3C logs are interpreted.
Select from:
» W3C
» CSV
» EMS Logs.
Select this option to archive the processed W3C logs without applying further checks.
Select additional checks to run against collected W3C logs.
Deleting event logs without archiving may lead to legal compliance issues.
94 | Using event processing rules GFI EventsManager
7.4 Collecting Syslogs
Syslog is a data logging service that is most commonly used by Linux and UNIX based systems. The concept behind Syslogs is that the logging of events and information is entirely handled by a dedicated server called ‘Syslog Server’.
Unlike Windows and W3C log based systems, Syslog enabled devices send events in the form of data messages (technically known as ‘Syslog Messages’) to a Syslog server that interprets and manages message and saves the data in a log file.
In order to process Syslog messages, GFI EventsManager ships with a built-in Syslog Server.
This Syslog server will automatically collect, in real-time, all Syslog messages/events sent by Syslog sources and pass them on to the event processing engine. Out-of-the-box, GFI
EventsManager supports events generated by various network devices manufactured by leading providers including Cisco and Juniper.
For more information about supported devices visit: http://kbase.gfi.com/showarticle.asp?id=KBID002868 .
A built-in buffer allows the Syslog server to collect, queue and forward up to 30
Syslog messages at a time. Buffered logs are by default passed on to the event processing engine as soon as the buffer fills up or at one minute intervals; whichever comes first.
Figure 7 - Syslog messages must be directed to the computer running GFI EventsManager
To collect Syslog Messages:
Before you start collecting Syslogs, every Syslog event source (workstations, servers and/or network devices) must be configured to send their Syslog
Messages to the computer name or IP where GFI EventsManager is installed.
1. From Configuration tab ► Event Sources, right-click an event source group and select
Properties.
GFI EventsManager Using event processing rules | 95
Screenshot 80 - Computer group properties: Syslog processing parameters
2. Click Syslog tab and configure the options described below:
Table 55 - Configuring Syslog processing
O PTION D ESCRIPTION
Accept Syslog messages from this computer group
Select this option to enable syslog message processing.
Syslog parsing schema
Advanced…
Archive all logs without any further processing
Process the logs with the rules selected below, before archiving
Select the method that GFI EventsManager Syslog Server interprets Syslog
Messages from network devices. Select from:
» Simple syslog message
» Standard Linux message
» Juniper Network Firewall
» Cisco ASA.
Click Advanced… to use custom windows code page. Specify the code and click OK.
Windows code page is used to encode international characters to ASCII strings. Since Syslog is not Unicode compliant, GFI EventsManager uses a code page to decode the events. This is only applicable if GFI
EventsManager is installed on a machine using a different language than the monitored machines.
For more information, refer to http://www.microsoft.com/globaldev/reference/wincp.mspx
Select this option to archive the processed Syslogs without applying further checks.
Select additional checks to run against collected Syslogs.
3. Click OK to finalize your settings.
96 | Using event processing rules GFI EventsManager
The GFI EventsManager Syslog server is by default configured to listen for Syslog messages on port 514. For more information on how to customize Syslog server
port settings refer to Configuring the Syslog server communications port section
in this chapter.
Deleting event logs without archiving may lead to legal compliance issues.
7.4.1 Configuring the Syslog server communications port
Screenshot 81 - Configuring Syslog Servercommunication port
To change the default Syslog ports settings:
1. Click Configuration tab ► Options.
2. Right-click Syslog Server Options and select Edit Syslog options…
GFI EventsManager Using event processing rules | 97
Screenshot 82- Syslog server options
4. Select Enable in-built Syslog server on TCP port: and specify the TCP port on which GFI
EventsManager will receive/listen for Syslog messages.
5. Select Enable in-built Syslog server on UDP port: and specify the UDP port on which
GFI EventsManager will receive/listen for Syslog messages.
5. Select OK to finalize settings.
When configuring Syslog server port settings, make sure that the configured port is not already in use by other installed applications. This may affect the delivery of Syslog messages to GFI EventsManager.
7.5 Collecting SNMP Traps
SNMP is a data logging service that enables networked devices to log events and information through data messages (technically known as SNMP Traps). SNMP messaging technology is similar in concept to Syslogs - where unlike Windows and W3C log based environments, devices that generate SNMP messages do not record events data in local logs. Instead events information is sent in the form of data messages to an SNMP Trap
Server which manages and saves SNMP message data in a local (centralized) log file.
98 | Using event processing rules GFI EventsManager
Figure 8: SNMP Trap messages must be directed to the computer running GFI EventsManager
GFI EventsManager natively supports an extensive list of SNMP devices and
Management Information Bases (MIBs).
For a full list of supported devices visit: http://kbase.gfi.com/showarticle.asp?id=KBID002868 .
GFI EventsManager includes a dedicated SNMP Trap Server through which SNMP Traps are handled. A built-in buffer allows the SNMP Trap Server to collect, queue and forward up to
30 SNMP Trap at a time. Buffered logs are by default passed on to the event processing engine as soon as the buffer fills up or at one minute intervals; whichever comes first.
To collect SNMP Traps:
Before you start collecting SNMP Traps messages, every SMP event source
(workstations, servers and/or network devices) must be configured to send their SNMP Traps Messages to the computer name or IP where GFI
EventsManager is installed.
1. From Configuration tab ► Event Sources, right-click an event source group and select
Properties.
GFI EventsManager Using event processing rules | 99
Screenshot 83 - Computer group properties: SNMP processing parameters
2. Click SNMP Traps tab and configure the options described below:
Table 56 – Configuring SNMP Traps processing
O PTION
Accept SNMP Traps messages from this computer group
Decrypt incoming SNMP Traps 3 messages
Host key
D ESCRIPTION
Select this option to enable SNMP Traps messages processing.
This option enables you to decrypt SNMP Traps 3 messages.
Archiving all logs without any further processing
Process the logs with the rules selected below, before archiving
3. Click OK to finalize your settings.
If Decrypt incoming SNMP Traps 3 messages is enabled, key in the decryption key in this field.
Select this option to archive the processed SNMP Traps messages without applying further checks.
Select additional checks to run against collected SNMP Traps messages.
The GFI EventsManager SNMP Trap Server is by default configured to listen for
SNMP Trap messages on port 162. For more information, refer to Configuring the
The built in SNMP Trap Server supports SNMP version 3 Traps with encryption.
For encrypted SNMP messages the encryption host key must be provided in the decrypt incoming SNMP Traps 3 message field
Deleting events from source logs without archiving may lead to legal compliance issues.
100 | Using event processing rules GFI EventsManager
7.5.1 Configuring the SNMP Trap server
Screenshot 84 - Configuring SNMP Traps
To change the default SNMP Trap Server settings:
1. Click Configuration tab ► Options.
2. Right-click SNMP Traps Options and select Edit SNMP Traps options…
Screenshot 85- SNMP Traps options
GFI EventsManager Using event processing rules | 101
3. Enable the required TCP/UDP SNMP server. Specify the TCP/UDP port on which GFI
EventsManager will listen for SNMP messages.
4. Click Advanced tab to add, edit or remove SNMP Trap object identifiers (OIDs).
5. Click Specific Trap Type tab to add, edit or remove trap types.
6. Click OK to finalize settings.
When configuring SNMP Trap Server port settings, make sure that the configured
TCP or UDP port is not already in use by other installed applications. This may affect the delivery of SNMP Trap messages to GFI EventsManager.
7.6 Collecting custom events
GFI EventsManager is configured to collect and process standard event logs. However, GFI
EventsManager can also be configured to manage events recorded in third party application logs such as anti-virus logs, software firewall logs and other security software.
To configure custom events:
1. Click Configuration tab and select Options.
Screenshot 86 - Custom event logs setup
2. From Configurations, right-click Custom Event Logs and select Edit custom logs…
102 | Using event processing rules GFI EventsManager
Screenshot 87 - Custom event logs dialog
3. Click Add… button and specify the name of your custom event log.
4. Click OK to finalize settings.
5. (Optional) Click Edit to rename the selected custom event, or click Remove to delete the selected custom event.
7.6.1 Configure storage folder
GFI EventsManager can be configured to archive events in a storage folder after applying processing rules. This feature allows the system to store all the events retrieved from event sources, on the local host (where GFI EventsManager is installed). To configure the storage folder:
1. Click Configuration tab ► Options.
2. From Configurations, right-click Database and Files Backend and select Configure file
storage…
GFI EventsManager Using event processing rules | 103
Screenshot 88 - Configure file storage dialog
3. Configure the options described below:
O PTION
Name
D ESCRIPTION
Key in the name of the storage folder.
Path
Encrypt data using the following password
Password / Confirm password
Specify the path or browse for a storage folder.
Select this option to securely encrypt the contents of the storage folder with a password.
Specify the encryption password and confirm the specified password.
4. Click OK to finalize your settings.
7.7 Triggering a manual event source scan
In GFI EventsManager, you can manually trigger event collection iteration on target computers. To achieve this:
1. Right-click on a computer group or event source within a group.
2. Select Scanning options ► Scan now.
104 | Using event processing rules GFI EventsManager
8 Manage rule-sets
8.1 Introduction
This chapter contains the following sections that will assist you in managing Event
Processing Rules:
»
»
Creating new events processing rules
»
Creating a new rule from an existing event
»
Advanced event filtering parameters
GFI EventsManager ships with pre-configured rule-sets that can be used to process events with minor configuration effort. You can also customize these default rules or create tailored ones for your organization’s requirements. Events processing rules are conditions which:
Table 57 – Events Processing Rules
C ONDITION
Classify processed events
Filter out noise (repeated events) or unwanted events
Trigger email, SMS and network alerts on key events
D ESCRIPTION
Configure GFI EventsManager to classify processed events. By default, events are categorized into five main categories; however, more categories may be added according to your requirements.
GFI EventsManager is able to filter out unwanted events. This helps you maintain only wanted events and ignore unwanted noise.
Configure automated actions to run when specific events are
processed. For more information, refer to Configuring Alerting
Attempt remedial actions by executing specific scripts and executable files on key events
Run executable files, commands and/or scripts upon detecting a specified event and/or number of events.
In GFI EventsManager, event processing rules are organized into rule-sets, which in turn are stored in rule-set folders. The table below lists some of the most common rule-set folders in GFI EventsManager:
Table 58 - Rule-set folders available in GFI EventsManager
R ULE SET FOLDER D ESCRIPTION
Windows Events Contains rules tailored for PCI Requirements, Security logs, System
Health logs, noise reduction and more.
SQL Server Audits
SNMP Traps
Oracle Audits
Contains rules tailored for SQL Server Audit monitoring. Amongst others, these include:
» Database changes
» Server changes
» Database access.
Contains rules tailored for SNMP Traps Messaging. Amongst others, these include:
» Cisco IOS 12.1
» Cisco IOS 12.2
» Allied Telesis.
Contains rules tailored for Oracle Server Audit monitoring. Amongst others, these include:
» Database changes
» Server changes
» Database access.
GFI EventsManager Manage rule-sets | 105
R ULE SET FOLDER
Syslog Messages
Text Logs
D ESCRIPTION
Contains rules tailored for the processing LINUX and UNIX system logs.
Amongst others, these include:
» Juniper network rules
» IBM iSeries rules
» LINUX\UNIX host rules.
Contains rules tailored for the processing of web transfer protocols.
Amongst others, these include:
» HTTP rules
» FTP rules
» SMTP rules.
8.2 Adding a rule-set folder
To create a new rule-set folder:
1. Click Configuration tab and select Event Processing Rules.
2. From Common Tasks, select Create folder.
4. Specify a unique name for the new rule-set folder.
To create sub rule-set folders, right-click on the parent folder and select Create
new folder…
8.2.1 Renaming and deleting folders
To rename or delete existing rule-set folders, right-click on the target rule-set folder and select Rename or Delete accordingly.
Deleting a rule-set folder will lead to the deletion of all the rules and rule-sets contained within the deleted folder.
8.3 Creating new events processing rules
To create a new event processing rule:
1. Click Configuration tab and select Event Processing Rules.
106 | Manage rule-sets GFI EventsManager
Screenshot 89 – To create new rules, rich-click a rule-set and select Create new rule…
2. Right-click the rule-set where the new rule will be created and click Create new rule…
3. Specify the name and a description (optional) for the new rule. Click Next.
Screenshot 90 – Create new events processing rule: Select the logs which the rule will be applied to
4. Select the event logs to which the rule applies and click Next. Optionally, click Add
custom log… to insert an event log which you preconfigured.
For SQL Audit, Oracle Audit, Syslogs, W3C logs and SNMP Traps messages, specify the full path of the object’s log folder; example: “C:\W3C\logs”.
GFI EventsManager Manage rule-sets | 107
For more information, refer to Collecting Custom Events .
Screenshot 91 - Create new events processing rule: Configure the rule conditions
5. Click Add to select a field from the list of available fields. Specify the Field Operator
and Field Value and click OK. Click Next. For more information, refer to Defining restrictions .
Repeat this step until all conditions have been configured.
To create a rule that applies to all events, do not specify conditions.
To filter events that refer to an administrator user (events having the security identifier SID that identifies a logon administrator session), ensure that if the event source is a domain member, the domain controller must also be added as
an event source. For more information, refer to Managing event sources groups .
108 | Manage rule-sets GFI EventsManager
Screenshot 92 - Create new events processing rule: Select the event occurance and importance
6. Specify the time when the rule is applicable. Example: anytime, during working hours or outside working hours.
Working and non-working hours are based on the operational time parameters
configured for your event sources. For more information, refer to Configure operational time .
7. Select the classification (critical, high, medium, low or noise) that will be assigned to events that satisfy the conditions in this rule. Click Next.
GFI EventsManager Manage rule-sets | 109
Screenshot 93 - Create new events processing rule: Select the action
8. Specify which actions are triggered by this rule and click Next. Available actions are:
Table 59 – Configuring new events processing rules: Actions
A CTION D ESCRIPTION
Ignore the event Select this option so that GFI EventsManager will ignore the event and not trigger any actions or notifications.
Use the default classification actions
Use the following actions profile
Select this option to use the preconfigured Default Classification
Actions.
For more information refer to Configuring Default Classification Actions .
Click Edit and select an action from the New actions profile…. Available actions include:
» Archive the event
» Send email alerts to
» Send network message to
» Send SMS message to
» Run file
» Send SNMP Message.
9. Click Finish to finalize your settings.
110 | Manage rule-sets GFI EventsManager
Once the new event processing rule is created, GFI EventsManager will display the new rule in the Event Processing Rules tab. To change the rule priority, right-click the rule and select Increase/Decrease priority.
8.4 Creating a new rule from an existing event
GFI EventsManager enables you to create new rules based on the information of existing events.
To create a new rule from an existing event:
1. From Events Browser, locate the event log that you want to base the rule upon.
Screenshot 94 – Creating a rule from an event
2. Right-click the event and select Create rule from event.
GFI EventsManager Manage rule-sets | 111
Screenshot 95 - New rule from event dialog
3. Configure the options from the tabs described below:
Table 60 – Create rule from event dialog options
T AB D ESCRIPTION
General Use this tab to configure the general properties of the rule including the rule name and rule classification.
Event Logs
Conditions
Actions
Threshold
This tab is available only for Windows event logs log rules. Use this tab to specify the
Windows event logs for which this rule applies.
Use this tab to configure event filtering conditions.
Use this tab to configure alerts and actions triggered by this rule.
Use this tab to configure the event threshold value i.e. the number of times that an event must be detected prior to triggering alerts and remedial actions. This helps reducing false positives triggered by noise (repeated events) in your event logs.
8.5 Advanced event filtering parameters
GFI EventsManager allows systems administrators to set up advanced event filtering parameters. These options are available only for Windows Events and Syslogs.
8.5.1 Windows events conditions
The Event IDs: field allows systems administrators to setup parameters described in the
Table 61 - Parameters available in the Event ID field
P ARAMETER TYPE E XAMPLE
Single events
List of events
112 | Manage rule-sets GFI EventsManager
P ARAMETER TYPE
Range of events
E XAMPLE
Combination of events
The Source, Category and User fields allow systems administrators to setup parameters
Table 62 - Parameters available in the Source, Category and User fields
P ARAMETER TYPE E XAMPLE
Single source name
List of sources
Wildcards (% and *)
8.5.2 Syslog categories
The Message and Process fields allow systems administrators to setup parameters
Table 63 - Parameters available in the Message and Process fields
P ARAMETER TYPE E XAMPLE
Single message
List of messages
Wildcards (% and *)
GFI EventsManager Manage rule-sets | 113
9 Customizing alerts and actions
9.1 Introduction
This chapter sections that contain information about:
»
Configuring Default Classification Actions
»
During event processing, GFI EventsManager can automatically generate various actions whenever particular events are encountered. Supported actions include email alerts and event archiving.
You can specify alerts and actions to be triggered in two ways:
Table 64 – Alerting methods
M ETHOD
Default classification actions
Creating or customizing rules and rule-sets
D ESCRIPTION
Through the configuration parameters provided in the default classification actions, you can trigger alerts and actions based only on event classification.
Example: default classification parameters can be configured to trigger email alerts for all classified events (critical, high, medium and low) but archive only critical events.
Rules allow you to configure actions on a more granular level. Rules allow you to configure and trigger actions whenever an event fits one or more specific conditions.
Example: you can create a rule which archives only events having event ID 231, regardless their classification.
GFI EventsManager supports the following actions:
Table 65 – Supported alering actions
A CTION
Archive the event
D ESCRIPTION
Archives the classified event into the GFI EventsManager database back-end.
Sends email, SMS network or SNMP alerts to specific recipients. Send e-mail, SMS, network or SNMP notifications to
Run File Runs an executable file. Files that can be executed include
VBScripts (.VBS), Batch files (.BAT) or another executable type of file (.EXE). You can also specify any command-line parameters to pass on to the executable file.
114 | Customizing alerts and actions GFI EventsManager
9.2 Configuring Default Classification Actions
Screenshot 96 - Configuring default classification actions
To configure default classification actions:
1. Click the Configuration tab and select Options.
2. From Configurations, right-click on the Default Classification Actions node and select
Edit defaults….
Screenshot 97 - Default Classification Actions dialog
GFI EventsManager Customizing alerts and actions | 115
3. From the drop-down menu, select the event classification to be configured.
4. From Action list, select actions to be triggered for the selected classification.
5. Click Configure to specify any parameters required by the selected action.
6. Click OK to finalize your settings.
Running default actions on events classified as Low events actions may cause a lot of network traffic when email, SMS, network or SNMP alerts are enabled. This may also be problematic when archiving is enabled on Low importance events.
9.3 Configuring Alerting Options
Alerting options enable you to configure what alerts are triggered when particular event(s) are captured. For example, you can configure GFI EventsManager to send an email and SMS alert to one or more recipients when a Critical event is processed.
To configure Alerting Options:
Screenshot 98 - Configuring Alerting Options
1. Click Configuration tab and select Options.
2. From Configurations, right-click on the Alerting Options node and select Edit alerting
options… option.
Select Edit alert recipients to configure the contact details of the alerting
recipients and to manage user accounts. For more information, refer to Managing user accounts .
3. Configure the alerting method of your choice. The following sections describe how alerting is configured:
»
»
»
»
»
116 | Customizing alerts and actions GFI EventsManager
9.3.1 Configuring email alerts
To configure email alerts:
Screenshot 99 - Configuring Email options
1. From the Alerting Options dialog, click Email tab.
2. Configure the options described below:
Table 66 – Alerting Options dialog: Email
O PTION
Add/Remove/Edit
Up/Down arrow buttons
Send email alerts as Unicode text
Format Email Message
D ESCRIPTION
Click Add… to specify the mail server details including the server name /IP, logon credentials and recipient email address.
Use the Remove or Edit button to remove a selected server or edit details.
Use the arrow buttons to change the position of the selected mail server. GFI EventsManager attempts to deliver email alerts via the first mail server. If unsuccessful, it recursively checks the following mail servers.
Select this option to send emails as Unicode text as opposed to
HTML or RTF format.
Optionally, from the Format Email Message drop-down menu, select the log type (Windows, W3C, Syslog) and customize the email content.
3. Click OK to finalize your settings.
GFI EventsManager Customizing alerts and actions | 117
9.3.2 Configuring network alerts
To configure network alerts:
Screenshot 100 - Configuring Network alerts
1. From the Alerting Options dialog, click Network tab.
2. From Format network message… drop-down menu, select the log type and customize the format of the message.
Screenshot 101 - Configuring Network alerts: Format message dialog
3. Click Insert tag to select from a list of tags to include in the message.
4. Click Save and OK to finalize your settings.
118 | Customizing alerts and actions GFI EventsManager
9.3.3 Configuring SMS alerts
To configure SMS alerts:
Screenshot 102 - Configuring SMS alerts
1. From the Alerting Options dialog, click SMS tab.
2. Configure the options described below:
Table 67 – Alerting Options dialog: SMS
O PTION
Select SMS
D ESCRIPTION
Select the SMS service used to send SMS alerts. Available services include:
» In-built GSM SMS Server
» FaxMaker SMS service provider template
» Clickatell Email2SMS Service
» Generic SMS service provider template.
Set properties for the selected SMS system
Configure the properties for the selected SMS service type. Amongst others, property settings include:
» Service center number
» COM Port
» Baud Rate
» SMTP Server
» SMTP Port.
Click Edit… to configure the selected property.
Format SMS message Optionally, from the Format Email Message drop-down menu, select the log type (Windows, W3C, Syslog) and customize the email content.
3. Click OK to finalize your settings.
GFI EventsManager Customizing alerts and actions | 119
9.3.4 Configuring SNMP alerts
To configure SNMP alerts:
Screenshot 103 - Configuring SNMP alerts
1. From the Alerting Options dialog, click SNMP tab.
2. Configure the options described below:
Table 68 – Alerting Options dialog: SNMP
O PTION
Specify the IP address where the
SNMP alerts will be sent
Specify the port(s) which will be used to send SNMP alerts
Format SNMP message
D ESCRIPTION
Enter the IP address of the recipient.
Specify TCP/UDP communication port. By default, the assigned port is 162.
Optionally, from the Format Email Message drop-down menu, select the log type (Windows, W3C, Syslog) and customize the email content.
3. Click OK to finalize your settings.
9.3.5 Configuring General alerts
To configure database status alerts:
1. From the Alerting Options dialog, click General tab.
2. Configure the options described below:
Table 69 – Alerting Options dialog: General
O PTION
Send email alerts on database errors
D ESCRIPTION
Email alerts are sent upon database errors such as backup failure, data corruption, size exceeds maximum size specified and other database operation errors.
120 | Customizing alerts and actions GFI EventsManager
O PTION
Send email alerts on completion of database rollover
3. Click OK to finalize settings.
D ESCRIPTION
Email alerts are sent when a database rollover is complete.
GFI EventsManager Customizing alerts and actions | 121
10 Configuring users and groups
10.1 Introduction
Use the Users and Groups node to assign different console access privileges to GFI
EventsManager users. Through this node users and groups can be configured, amended or deleted. Working hours and alerts can also be configured and assigned to groups. Refer to the following sections for more information:
»
»
»
Managing console security and audit options
»
Managing Database and Files Backend security
10.2 Managing user accounts
This section contains information about:
»
Configuring the administrator account
»
»
»
10.2.1 Configuring the administrator account
GFI EventsManager will automatically create an EventsManagerAdministrator account.
However, you must still configure details such as the email address and mobile number of the GFI EventsManager administrator.
GFI EventsManager requires a valid administrator email address in order to distribute automatic alerts when particular events are discovered.
For every user (including the administrator), you can configure the following parameters:
» Contact details including email address and phone number
» The typical working hours
» The type of alert to send during and outside working hours
» The notification group to which the user belongs.
To configure the GFI EventsManagerAdministrator account:
1. Click Configuration tab and select Options.
GFI EventsManager Configuring users and groups | 123
Screenshot 104 - Configuring User settings
2. Expand the Users and Groups node and select User sub-node.
3. From the right pane, right-click EventsManagerAdministrator and click Properties.
Screenshot 105 - EventsManager Administrator properties
4. Specify the contact details such as email address, and mobile number as required.
5. Specify the computers on which network alerts addressed to the administrator will be sent.
124 | Configuring users and groups GFI EventsManager
Screenshot 106 - Configuring the typical working hours of an alert recipient
6. Click Working Hours tab and specify the typical working hours of the administrator.
Screenshot 107 - Selecting alerts to be sent during and outside working hours
5. Click Alerts tab and select which alerts will be sent during and outside working hours.
GFI EventsManager Configuring users and groups | 125
6. (Optional) Select Send daily report via email to send a summary of the most important events collected and processed by GFI EventsManager by email.
Screenshot 108 - Notification groups to which a user belongs
7. Click Member Of tab and select the notification groups to which the user belongs. By default the administrator is a member of the EventsManagerAdministrators notification group.
126 | Configuring users and groups GFI EventsManager
Screenshot 109 - Configuring GFI EventsManager administrator privileges
8. Click Privileges to modify the user privileges. By default the
EventsManagerAdministrator account has full privileges.
9. Click OK to finalize your settings.
10.2.2 Creating a new user
GFI EventsManager allows you to create a custom list of users which you can organize into groups to speed up administrative tasks.
To create a new user:
1. Click Configuration tab and select Options.
2. Expand the Users and Groups node.
3. Right-click on the Users sub-node and select Create user…
4. Specify the parameters requested in the General, Working Hours, Alerts, and Member
of tabs.
For more information, refer to Configuring the administrator account .
GFI EventsManager Configuring users and groups | 127
Screenshot 110 - GFI EventsManager new user privileges
5. Click Privileges tab and select user privileges accordingly. Example, to assign administrative privileges to a user select the This user has full privileges option.
Users with administrative privileges can modify all GFI EventsManager configuration settings.
6. Click OK to finalize setup.
10.2.3 Changing user properties
To edit user properties:
1. From the left pane, click on the Users node.
2. Right-click on the user to edit and select Properties.
3. Make the required changes in the tabs available and click OK to finalize your settings.
10.2.4 Deleting users
To delete a user:
1. From the left pane, click on the Users node.
2. From the right viewer pane, right-click on the user to be deleted and select Delete.
10.3 Managing groups
GFI EventsManager enables you to assign users to a group. Once the group properties have been configured, every member of the group inherits the same settings. This section contains information about:
»
»
Changing user group properties
128 | Configuring users and groups GFI EventsManager
»
10.3.1 Creating a group
To create a group:
1. Click Configuration tab and select Options.
2. Expand the Users and Groups node.
3. Right-click Groups sub-node and select Create group…
Screenshot 111 - New groups setup
4. Specify the name and an optional description for the new group.
5. Click Add to start adding users to the group.
6. From the Privileges tab, select if the group has Full or Read Only permissions.
6. Click OK to finalize settings.
10.3.2 Changing user group properties
To edit the settings of a user group:
1. From Configuration tab ► Configurations, expand the Users and Groups node.
2. Right-click on the group to be configured and select Properties.
3. Perform the required changes in the tabs available and click OK to finalize settings.
10.3.3 Deleting user groups
To delete a user group:
1. From the left pane, click Groups node.
2. From the right viewer pane, right-click on the group to be deleted and select Delete.
GFI EventsManager Configuring users and groups | 129
10.4 Managing Console Security and Audit Options
This section contains information about:
»
GFI EventsManager login system
»
»
»
»
10.4.1 GFI EventsManager login system
The Security Options node enables you to configure the GFI EventsManager login system.
To enable the log-in system:
1. Click Configuration tab and select Options.
Screenshot 112 - Select Security Options to enable the log-in system
2. Expand Console Security and Audit Options node, right-click Security Options node and select Edit security options….
3. Select Enable EventsManager login system to enable login.
4. Click OK to finalize settings.
The User must have a valid email address configured in GFI EventsManager to receive the password by email. For more information on how to change user
settings including the email address, refer to Changing user properties in this
chapter.
When the login system is enabled all users will be asked to specify their credentials every time they launch the GFI EventsManager management console.
Users are granted access with administrative or user privileges according to the user privileges set up in the privileges tab within the user setup dialogs.
130 | Configuring users and groups GFI EventsManager
To configure or edit a user password, from Configuration tab ►Users and
Groups ► Users, right-click the user account and select Change Password.
10.4.2 Password recovery
When GFI EventsManager login system is enabled, all users are requested to enter a valid user name and password to access GFI EventsManager console.
Screenshot 113 - Login window
If a password is forgotten or lost:
1. Key in your username.
2. Click Forgot your password? Link
GFI EventsManager will send an email containing your login password.
10.4.3 Anonymization
In some countries privacy laws state that it is against the law not to encrypt personal information retrieved by monitoring applications for privacy protection.
GFI EventsManager enables you to encrypt personal information when exporting and/or viewing event logs.
Enable anonymization to encrypt all personal information. The Events Browser and
Dashboard can recognize such information and do not display it. Instead, they display
<encrypted> or Anonymized data messages.
To configure anonymization:
1. From Configuration tab click Options.
2. Expand Console Security and Audit Options node, right-click Anonymization and click
Edit anonymization options…
GFI EventsManager Configuring users and groups | 131
Screenshot 114 – Anonymization options
3. Select Enable Anonymization and enter the encryption password.
4. (Optional) Select Use a secondary protection key to use two passwords for event log encryption. Event logs can only be decrypted by providing two decryption passwords.
5. Click OK to finalize settings.
When anonymization is enabled, events that are stored into the central database are encrypted. For information, refer to Create new anonymization job .
10.4.4 Audit console activity
GFI EventsManager can save the console activity to external logs. To configure the console activity auditing:
1. Click Configuration tab and select Options.
2. Expand Console Security and Audit Options node, click Audit Options node and select
Edit audit options….
132 | Configuring users and groups GFI EventsManager
Screenshot 115 - Audit Options
3. Select Audit all the actions done by users option and specify the location where the output log file will be saved.
4. Click OK to finalize settings.
10.4.5 Auto-discovery credentials
The Auto-discovery credentials are used by GFI EventsManager to login target machines and collect information when performing an automatic search for event sources. To configure the auto-discovery credentials:
1. Click Configuration tab ►Options.
2. From Configurations ► Console Security and Audit Options, right-click Auto-discovery
credentials and select Edit auto-discovery credentials.
GFI EventsManager Configuring users and groups | 133
Screenshot 116 - Auto-discovery credentials
2. Key in a valid username and password. Click OK.
10.5 Managing Database and Files Backend security
GFI EventsManager enables you protect your database with an encryption key. Encrypting the database will prevent unauthorized personnel from viewing or accessing event logs.
Encrypting the database will cause the Status Monitor and Events Browser to stop viewing sensitive information.
To encrypt the backend database:
1. Click Configuration tab ► Options.
2. From Configurations, click Database and Files Backend ► Configure file storage...
3. From the Archive storage folder dialog, select Encrypt data using the following password.
4. Specify the password and click OK to save your settings.
134 | Configuring users and groups GFI EventsManager
11 Status monitoring
11.1 Introduction
The Status tab is a dashboard that shows the status of GFI EventsManager as well as statistical information related to the events collected, processed and archived. The status monitor consists of three different dashboard views: General view, Job Activity view and
Statistics view.
Screenshot 117 - Dashboard View Options
This chapter contains information about the following views:
»
»
»
11.2 General status view
Screenshot 118 - GFI EventsManager Status: General view
To access the General view, go to Status tab ► General. This view is used to:
» View the status of the GFI EventsManager event processing engine
GFI EventsManager Status monitoring | 135
» Access statistical information such as the number of logon events, critical events and service status events.
The General view of the Status tab is made up of the sections described below:
Table 70 – Status monitoring: General view
S ECTION D ESCRIPTION
Use this section to select the chart type for top events.
The Top Important Log Events section provides statistical information about:
» Top 10 successful Logon events outside working hours
» Top 10 important Logon events during working hours
» Top 10 failed Logon events.
Events in this section are filtered by:
» Machine: Select a machine or key in a machine name in the drop down list
» Period: The time period when the events occurred (Last hour, Last 24 hours, Last 7 days or a specific date).
The Critical and High Importance Events section provides statistical/graphical information about critical events collected from all event sources. This graph shows the event processing rules that collected and processed the events for a particular period.
From the drop down lists, select the type of information to display. Select from:
» Grouping: Determines how events are grouped; such as Events, Computers, Computer groups, Events/Computers or Events/Computer groups
» Event type: Select the type of data to display (Windows, W3C, Syslog, SNMP, SQL and
Oracle audit)
» Alert type: Specify the alert severity; such as All alerts, Critical or High
» Period: Specify the time period when the events occurred (Last hour, Last 24 hours, Last
7 days or a specific date).
NOTE 1: This section also displays the vulnerability results monitored by GFI LanGuard.
NOTE 2: For detailed information about the different types of important events shown in this graph, download the Microsoft Security Monitoring and Attack Detection Planning Guide from http://www.gfi.com/ms-security-mointoring-and-attack-detection-planning/ .
The Top Service Status Events displays the top 10 services that caused the selected event. A service can generate events when:
» Terminated with an error
» Failed to load
» Failed to start
» Timed out
» Stopped
» Started.
The graph shows the frequency of these events sorted by service type or\and by computer generating the event. Select a machine or service from the drop down lists or key in the required criteria to customize the graph results.
NOTE: To collect services information, event sources must have Audit system events policy
enabled. For more information, refer to Step 2: Enable additional auditing features .
136 | Status monitoring GFI EventsManager
S ECTION D ESCRIPTION
The Top Network Activity Events section displays details of the top 10 network activities
(inbound and outbound). Network activity consists of all type of traffic that is generated by various protocols including SMTP, HTTP, FTP and MSN traffic. The network activities displayed can be filtered by:
» Applications
» Source Addresses
» Destination Addresses
» Computers
» Ports
» Users.
Select parameters from the drop down lists or key in the values to filter the type of chart displayed.
NOTE 1: The network activity shown in the chart applies only to computers running Microsoft
Windows Vista or later.
NOTE 2: To collect network activities, event sources must have Object auditing and Process
tracking enabled. For more information, refer to Step 2: Enable additional auditing features .
Click the Arrange Window icon to automatically fit all graphs in the management console.
The GFI EventsManager Service Status is used to view:
» The operational status of GFI EventsManager service/event processing engine
» The operational status of the Syslog server
» The operational status of the SNMP Traps server
» The operational status of the database server currently in use by GFI EventsManager.
NOTE: Click the service name to edit the service settings.
The Events Count By Database Fill-Up displays:
» The horizontal bars represent the number of events stored in the database backend, sorted by event log type
» The date and time of the last backup
» The date and time of the next scheduled backup.
The bar color turns from green to red as the database is populated with events.
Double-click the graph to open the graph in a new window. When a 3D graph is selected, the new window allows you to rotate, zoom or resize the graph. Use the Export to image button to export the graph.
GFI EventsManager Status monitoring | 137
11.3 Job activity view
Screenshot 119 - GFI EventsManager Status: Job Activity view
To access the Job Activity view, go to Status tab ► Job Activity.
This view displays your current event collection and processing activity. This includes active event collection jobs as well as server messaging history on a machine by machine basis.
The information provided in this view is divided into the following dedicated sections:
Table 71 – Status monitoring: Job activity view
S ECTION D ESCRIPTION
The Active Jobs section provides a list of all event collection jobs currently taking place on every event source/machine. The information provided includes the job progress as well as the Log Source from which events are being collected.
The Operational History section shows an audit trail of the event collection operations performed by GFI EventsManager. The information provided includes errors and information messages generated during the event collection process as well as the name of the log file that was being processed on the event source.
NOTE: Operational history logs can be exported using the Export data button. For more
information, refer to Operational History .
The Maintenance Jobs section displays the progress of maintenance jobs that have been created through Database Operations. The information provided includes the job description, start time and state.
The Queued Jobs section provides a list of all pending event collection jobs on a machine by machine basis. The information provided includes the event source from which events will be collected as well as the queuing time and type of log to collect.
The Server Message History section displays a list of all server messages (SNMP Traps and
Syslog) that were received by GFI EventsManager. The information provided includes the total number of messages sent by every event source, message count and the date/time when the last message was received.
138 | Status monitoring GFI EventsManager
11.4 Statistics view
Screenshot 120 - GFI EventsManager Status: Statistics view
To access the Statistics view, go to Status tab ► Statistics.
The Statistics view is used to display the daily event activity trends and statistics of a particular computer or entire network. The information provided in this view is divided into the following dedicated sections:
Table 72 – Status monitoring: Statistics view
S ECTION D ESCRIPTION
Use this drop-down menu to select what information is displayed. Select between All sources or select specific sources to view their information accordingly.
The Today’s Events Count graphically represents the daily event collection trend on a machine by machine basis as well as on a network by network basis. A color scheme is used to differentiate between Windows, W3C, Syslog and SNMP Traps events.
The Events Count By Log Type represents the number of Windows, W3C, Syslog and SNMP
Traps events collected by GFI Events Manager from a particular machine or network.
The Activity Overview section provides information about:
» The total number of Windows, W3C, Syslog and SNMP Traps events processed on a machine by machine basis
» The date/time of the last event collection performed from every machine.
GFI EventsManager Status monitoring | 139
12 Database Operations
12.1 Introduction
The Database Operations module in GFI EventsManager provides advanced functionality allowing administrators to:
» Centralize events collected by other remote GFI EventsManager instances into one database backend.
» Optimize GFI EventsManager performance by actively controlling database backend growth hence keeping it in good shape.
» Import and export data to and from GFI EventsManager version 8.x installations without data inconsistencies.
» Import and export events to and from a storage folder minimizing data loads from the database.
This chapter includes sections containing information about:
»
»
Creating a new database backend
» Configuring Database Operations
»
Editing existing maintenance jobs
12.2 Why database maintenance?
Periodical database maintenance is essential in preventing excessive data growth in the database backend. A database which is large in size drastically affects the performance of
GFI EventsManager; events browsing will be slower and queries will take longer to execute.
Through GFI EventsManager, a number of database operations, referred to as maintenance jobs, can be carried out on the database backend. These include:
Table 73 – Avalable database operations
D ATABASE O PERATION
Import from file
D ESCRIPTION
The Import from file job enables you to import data as part of the data centralization process. Only files created from an Export to file job are supported for import.
Export to file
Import from SQL Server database The Import from SQL Server database job enables you to import events collected from an older version of GFI EventsManager.
Import from legacy files The Import from legacy files job enables you to import configuration files exported from an older version of GFI EventsManager.
Import from legacy file storage
The Export to file job enables you to export data into a file to import into another instance of GFI EventsManager or to archive in an external storage media for safekeeping.
The Import from legacy file storage job enables you to import data archived by a previous version of GFI EventsManager. Archive files were exported in a special file format utilized by GFI EventsManager.
GFI EventsManager Database Operations | 141
12.2.1 Consolidation of events in a WAN environment
Figure 9: Consolidation of events in a WAN environment
In the case of organizations with remote geographical sites, Database Operations can be used to consolidate all or part of the events data collected in remote sites on to one central database. This is achieved using the Export to file feature through which GFI
EventsManager compresses and encrypts the file as well as export the file to be processed to a central location. The Import to file job is executed at the central location, importing the events from the remote site into the central database.
Events for the remote site can then be viewed through the Events Browser. Reports with information relevant to the remote site can also be generated using data from the central database.
12.3 Creating a new database backend
GFI EventsManager makes use of an internal storage system which allows great scalability with its fast read/write capabilities even when processing high volumes of data. You may have as many databases as required. The Events Browser enables you to easily switch from on database to another, allowing viewing events from archived databases.
As an example, you can create a new database for every month or year depending on the volume of event logs that are processed.
You can also encrypt new databases before starting to use them. The live database can
only be encrypted though esmdlibm.exe. For more information, refer to Using esmdlibm.exe
To create a new database:
1. Click Configuration tab ► Options.
2. From Configurations, click File storage ► Configure file storage…
142 | Database Operations GFI EventsManager
Screenshot 121 – Archive Storage Folder dialog
3. Specify or browse for the path for the new database.
4. Specify the name for the new database.
5. (Optional) Select Encrypt data using the following password and specify an encryption password.
Indicates that the specified passwords do not match.
Encrypting the live database is not supported from the GFI EventsManager
Management Console. To encrypt the live database, use esmdlibm.exe. For more
information, refer to Using Esmdlibm.exe
6. Click OK to save your settings.
12.3.1 Switching databases
To switch from one database to another:
1. From Archive storage folder dialog, click Browse or specify the path to the database you want to load.
2. From Name drop-down menu, select the database.
3. (Optional) Enable/Disable encryption.
GFI EventsManager supports encryption of offline databases through the
Management Console.
4. Click OK to save your settings.
GFI EventsManager Database Operations | 143
12.4 Configuring Database Operations
To configure Database Operations:
1. Click Configuration tab ► Options.
2. From Configurations, right-click Database Operations and select Properties.
Screenshot 122 – Database Operations Options dialog
3. From the Database Operations Options dialog, configure the tabs described below:
Table 74 – Configuring database operations
T AB D ESCRIPTION
General Specify the unique identifier by which this instance of GFI EventsManager will be identified on the network. This identifier is used as part of the export file-name during Export to file operations.
Schedule Through the Schedule tab, configure: specify:
» Hours of the day during which maintenance jobs can be executed
» The interval in hours/days with which maintenance jobs will be executed
» The scheduled date/time when maintenance jobs will start being executed.
4. Click OK to save your settings.
144 | Database Operations GFI EventsManager
12.5 Creating maintenance jobs
With GFI EventsManager you can schedule maintenance jobs to be executed on a specific day, at a specific time and at specific intervals.
Database maintenance operations may require high utilization of resources. This can degrade server and GFI EventsManager performance. Schedule maintenance jobs to be executed after office hours to maximize the availability of your system resources and avoid any possible workflow disruptions to workflow.
GFI EventsManager supports five types of database operations. For more information, refer to the following sections in this chapter:
»
»
»
Import from SQL Server database
»
»
Import from legacy file storage
12.5.1 Import from file
To create an Import from file job:
1. Click Configuration tab and select Options.
Screenshot 123 - Creating a new Database Operation
2. From Configurations, right-click Database Operations and select Create new job…
GFI EventsManager Database Operations | 145
Screenshot 124 – Import from File
3. Click Next at the wizard welcome screen and select Import from file as the job type.
Click Next.
4. Specify the full path or browse for the file to import. Click Next.
Only files exported from GFI EventsManager can be imported.
Screenshot 125 - Imort from file: Decrypt
5. If the exported events are encrypted, select Decrypt the files using the following
password and specify the encryption password. Click Next.
146 | Database Operations GFI EventsManager
6. (Optional) Specify filtering conditions to filter out unwanted data. Leave it blank to import everything. Click Next.
For more information, refer to Defining Restrictions .
7. Select when the job is executed. The table below describes the available options:
Table 75 – Database operations: Schedule options
O PTION D ESCRIPTION
Schedule job The job will be saved and executed according to the database operations schedule.
Run the job now
8. Click Finish.
Job is executed immediately. Unscheduled jobs only run once.
12.5.2 Export to file
To create an export to file job:
1. Click Configuration tab and select Options.
Screenshot 126 - Creating a new Database Operation
2. From Configurations, right-click Database Operations and select Create new job…
GFI EventsManager Database Operations | 147
Screenshot 127 - Export to File
3. Click Next at the wizard welcome screen and select Export to file as the job type. Click
Next.
4. Specify or browse for the location where the exported file will be saved. Click Next.
Screenshot 128 - Export to File: Encrypt exported data
5. (Optional) Select Encrypt exported data using the following password and specify an encryption key to protect your exported data. Click Next.
6. (Optional) Specify filtering conditions to filter out unwanted data. Leave it blank to export all the data in the database. Click Next.
148 | Database Operations GFI EventsManager
7. Select when the job is executed. The table below describes the available options:
Table 76 – Database operations: Schedule options
O PTION D ESCRIPTION
Schedule job The job will be saved and executed according to the database operations schedule.
Run the job now Job is executed immediately. Unscheduled jobs only run once.
8. Click Finish.
Export filename
The convention used by GFI EventsManager to name the export file is shown and described below:
[ESM ID]_[Job ID]_[Date From]_[Date To].EXP
Table 77 – Table 78 – Database operations: Export file name structure
S ECTION D ESCRIPTION
ESM ID Refers to the unique identifier given to each GFI EventsManager instance running in the organization.
Job ID
Date From
Date To
.EXP
Refers to the unique identifier given to each maintenance job created.
Refers to the date of the earliest event exported.
Refers to the date of the latest event exported.
This is the file extension given to all export files.
12.5.3 Import from SQL Server database
To create an import from SQL Server database job:
1. Click Configuration tab and select Options.
Screenshot 129 - Creating a new Database Operation
2. From Configurations, right-click Database Operations and select Create new job…
GFI EventsManager Database Operations | 149
Screenshot 130 – Import from SQL Server database
3. Click Next at the wizard welcome screen and select Import from SQL Server database as the job type. Click Next.
Screenshot 131 – Import from SQL Server database: Select the database to import
4. Select the SQL Server and the respective database to import and specify the SQL Server login credentials. Click Next.
150 | Database Operations GFI EventsManager
Screenshot 132 – Import from SQL Server database: Decrypt anonymized data
5. If the target database to import is anonymized, select Enable decryption and specify the encryption password used to protect the database.
6. (Optional) If the database is protected by two encryption passwords, select Use
secondary decryption key and specify the second encryption password. Click Next.
7. (Optional) Specify filtering conditions to filter out unwanted data. Leave it blank to export all the data in the database. Click Next.
8. Select when the job is executed. The table below describes the available options:
Table 79 – Database operations: Schedule options
O PTION D ESCRIPTION
Schedule job The job will be saved and executed according to the database operations schedule. For more information, refer to
Configuring database operations .
Run the job now Job is executed immediately. Unscheduled jobs only run once.
9. Click Finish.
12.5.4 Import from legacy files
To create an import from legacy files job:
1. Click Configuration tab and select Options.
GFI EventsManager Database Operations | 151
Screenshot 133 - Creating a new Database Operation
2. From Configurations, right-click Database Operations and select Create new job…
Screenshot 134 – Import from legacy files
3. Click Next at the wizard welcome screen and select Import from legacy files as the job type. Click Next.
4. Specify the location or browse for the legacy file to import. Click Next.
5. (Optional) If the legacy files are encrypted, select Decrypt the files using the following
password and specify the encryption password. Click Next.
152 | Database Operations GFI EventsManager
6. (Optional) If the legacy files were anonymized, select Enable decryption and specify the decryption password.
7. (Optional) If the legacy file is protected by two anonymization passwords, select Use
secondary decryption key and specify the second password. Click Next.
8. (Optional) Specify filtering conditions to filter out unwanted data. Leave it blank to export all the data in the database. Click Next.
9. Select when the job is executed. The table below describes the available options:
Table 80 – Database operations: Schedule options
O PTION D ESCRIPTION
Schedule job The job will be saved and executed according to the database operations
schedule. For more information, refer to Configuring database operations .
Run the job now Job is executed immediately. Unscheduled jobs only run once.
10. Click Finish.
12.5.5 Import from legacy file storage
To create an import from legacy files job:
1. Click Configuration tab and select Options.
Screenshot 135 - Creating a new Database Operation
2. From Configurations, right-click Database Operations and select Create new job…
GFI EventsManager Database Operations | 153
Screenshot 136 – Import from legacy file storage
3. Click Next at the wizard welcome screen and select Import from legacy file storage as the job type. Click Next.
Screenshot 137 – Import from legacy file storage: Select file to import
4. Specify the path and the file name of the exported legacy file. Click Next.
5. (Optional) If the data is anonymized, select Enable decryption and specify the password.
6. (Optional) If the data is encrypted by two passwords, select Use secondary decryption
key and key in the secondary password. Click Next.
154 | Database Operations GFI EventsManager
7. (Optional) Specify filtering conditions to filter out unwanted data. Leave it blank to export all the data in the database. Click Next.
8. Select when the job is executed. The table below describes the available options:
Table 81 – Database operations: Schedule options
O PTION D ESCRIPTION
Schedule job Job is saved and executed according to the database operations schedule. For
more information, refer to Configuring database operations .
Run the job now The job will be executed immediately. Unscheduled jobs only run once.
9. Click Finish.
12.6 Editing existing maintenance jobs
Screenshot 138 - Viewing scheduled maintenance jobs
To view maintenance jobs created:
1. Click Configuration tab and select Options.
2. From the left pane, select the Database Operations node. Scheduled maintenance jobs will be displayed in the right pane.
12.6.1 Job activity status
To view the progress of maintenance jobs that are being processed click Status tab and select the Job Activity dashboard view. The status of all maintenance jobs will be displayed in the Maintenance Jobs section.
You can make changes to maintenance job parameters for jobs scheduled.
1. Click Configuration tab and select Options.
2. From the left pane, select the Database Operations node.
3. From the right pane, right-click maintenance job to edit and select Properties.
GFI EventsManager Database Operations | 155
Screenshot 139 - Editing a maintenance job
Screenshot 140 - Example dialog to edit a scheduled job
156 | Database Operations GFI EventsManager
4. Configure the tabs described in the table below:
Table 82 – Database operations: Schedule options
T AB D ESCRIPTION
Export/Import Folder Select the folder from where to import or where to export data.
Data
Data Protection
Configure conditions to filter event logs.
Enable/disable encryption. Specify a password to protect exported/imported data.
12.6.2 Changing maintenance job priority
Screenshot 141 - Maintenance job priorities
By default maintenance jobs are executed according to the sequence with which the jobs are created (First-in-First-out). Thus the priority of maintenance jobs is determined by the sequence in which jobs are executed.
To increase or decrease the priority of a maintenance job:
1. Click Configuration tab and select Options.
2. From the left pane, select the Database Operations node.
3. From the right pane, right-click the maintenance job and select Increase Priority or
Decrease Priority accordingly.
12.6.3 Deleting a maintenance job
Scheduled maintenance jobs awaiting execution can also be deleted.
1. Click Configuration tab and select Options.
2. From the left pane, select the Database Operations node.
3. From the right pane, right-click on the maintenance job to delete and select Delete.
Before deleting maintenance jobs ensure that before deleting data, all data is backed up.
GFI EventsManager Database Operations | 157
13 Miscellaneous
This chapter includes sections containing information about:
»
Enabling permissions on event sources manually
»
Enabling permissions on event sources automatically
» Disabling UAC to scan event sources
»
Auto updating GFI EventsManager
»
»
13.1 Enabling permissions on event sources manually
This section describes how to configure permissions and ports that are required by GFI
EventsManager manually. This process has to be done on each machine to scan. This section contains information about:
»
»
»
»
»
Microsoft Windows Server 2008 (including R2)
In a Windows 2003 or 2008 Active Directory environment, settings can be deployed automatically via Group Policy Object (GPO). For more information
refer to Enabling permissions on event sources automatically .
13.1.1 Microsoft Windows XP
To enable permissions and open the required ports on Microsoft Windows XP target machines:
1. Click Start ► Control Panel ► Windows Firewall ► Exceptions tab.
158 | Miscellaneous GFI EventsManager
Screenshot 142 - Firewall rules on Microsoft Windows XP
2. Enable File and Printer Sharing from the Programs and Services list.
3. Click OK to apply changes and close.
13.1.2 Microsoft Windows Vista
Step 1: Enable Firewall permissions
To manually enable firewall rules on Microsoft Windows Vista:
1. Click Start ► Control Panel ► Security and click Allow a program through Windows
Firewall from the left panel.
2. Select Exceptions tab and from Allowed programs and features list, enable the following rules:
» Remote Event Log Management
» File and Printer Sharing
» Network Discovery
3. Click Apply to apply changes.
Step 2: Enable additional auditing features
1. From a command prompt key in secpol.msc and press Enter.
2. From the Security Settings node, expand Local Policies ► Audit Policy.
GFI EventsManager Miscellaneous | 159
Screenshot 143 - Local security policy window
3. From the right panel, double click Audit object access.
Screenshot 144 - Audit object access Properties
4. From the Audit object access Properties, select Success and Failure and click OK.
5. From the right panel, double click Audit Process tracking.
160 | Miscellaneous GFI EventsManager
Screenshot 145 - Audit process tracking Properties
6. From the Audit process tracking Properties, select Success and Failure and click OK.
7. From the right panel, double click Audit account management.
8. From the Audit process tracking Properties, select Success and Failure and click OK.
GFI EventsManager Miscellaneous | 161
Screenshot 146 - Audit account management properties
9. From the right panel, double-click Audit system events.
10. From the Audit process tracking Properties, select Success and Failure and click OK.
162 | Miscellaneous GFI EventsManager
Screenshot 147 - Audit system events properties
11. Close the Local Security Policy window.
13.1.3 Microsoft Windows 7
Step 1: Enable Firewall permissions
To manually enable firewall rules on Microsoft Windows 7:
1. Click Start ► Control Panel ► System and Security and click Allow a program through
Windows Firewall, under Windows Firewall category.
GFI EventsManager Miscellaneous | 163
Screenshot 148 - Allowed programs in Microsoft Windows Vista or later
2. From Allowed programs and features list, enable the following rules:
» Remote Event Log Management
» File and Printer Sharing
» Network Discovery
3. Select Domain, Private and Public for each rule mentioned above.
4. Click OK to apply changes.
Step 2: Enable additional auditing features
1. From command prompt key in secpol.msc and press Enter.
2. From the Security Settings node, expand Local Policies ► Audit Policy.
164 | Miscellaneous GFI EventsManager
Screenshot 149 - Local security policy window
3. From the right panel, double click Audit object access.
4. From the Audit object access Properties, select Success and Failure and click OK.
Screenshot 150 - Audit object access Properties
5. From the right pane, double click Audit Process tracking.
6. From the Audit process tracking Properties, select Success and Failure and click OK.
GFI EventsManager Miscellaneous | 165
Screenshot 151 - Audit process tracking Properties
7. From the Audit process tracking Properties, select Success and Failure and click OK.
8. From the right panel, double click Audit account management.
9. From the Audit process tracking Properties, select Success and Failure and click OK.
166 | Miscellaneous GFI EventsManager
Screenshot 152 - Audit account management properties
10. From the right panel, double click Audit system events.
11. From the Audit process tracking Properties, select Success and Failure and click OK.
GFI EventsManager Miscellaneous | 167
Screenshot 153 - Audit system events properties
12. Close the local Security Policy window.
13.1.4 Microsoft Windows Server 2003
Enable Firewall permissions
To manually enable firewall rules on Microsoft Windows Server 2003:
1. Click Start ► Control Panel ► Windows Firewall and select Exceptions tab.
168 | Miscellaneous GFI EventsManager
Screenshot 154 - Enable firewall rules in Microsoft Windows Server 2003
2. From Programs and Services list, enable File and Printer Sharing.
3. Click OK to apply changes and close.
13.1.5 Microsoft Windows Server 2008 (including R2)
Enable firewall permissions
To manually enable firewall rules on Microsoft Windows Server 2008 (including R2):
1. Click Start ► Control Panel ► Security and Allow a program through Windows
Firewall under Windows Firewall category.
2. In the list of programs, enable the following:
» File and Printer Sharing
» Network Discovery
» Remote Event Log Management.
GFI EventsManager Miscellaneous | 169
Screenshot 155 - Firewall rules on Microsoft Windows Server 2008
3. Click OK to apply changes.
In Windows Server 2008 R2, ensure to select Domain, Private and Public for each rule mentioned above.
13.2 Enabling permissions on event sources automatically
13.2.1 Windows Server 2003
To open ports and enable permissions on all domain clients using Microsoft Windows Server
2003 domain controller:
1. Click Start ► Run, key in mmc and click OK.
2. Click File ► Add/Remove Snap-in and click Add.
3. Locate and select Group Policy Object Editor and click Add.
4. Click Browse, select Default Domain Policy and click OK.
5. Click Finish.
6. Select Group Policy Object Editor again and click Add.
170 | Miscellaneous GFI EventsManager
7. Click Browse, double click Domain Controllers folder and select Default Domain
Controllers Policy. Click OK.
8. Click Finish and Close.
9. From the Console Root, expand Default Domain Policy ► Administrative Templates ►
Network ► Network Connections ► Windows Firewall ► Domain Profile.
Screenshot 156 - Domain Policy console in Microsoft Windows Server 2003
10. From the Settings list, right click Windows Firewall: Allow file and printer sharing
exception and select Properties.
11. From the Settings tab, select Enabled and click OK.
12. Repeat steps 9 to 11 for Default Domain Controllers Policy.
13. Click File ► Save to save the management console.
The group policy will be applied the next time each client machine is started.
13.2.2 Windows Server 2008 (including R2)
Firewall permissions
To enable permissions on all domain clients:
1. Click Start ► Administrative Tools ► Group Policy Management.
2. Expand Group Policy Management ► Forest ► Domains ► <Domain name> ► Group
Policy Objects.
GFI EventsManager Miscellaneous | 171
Screenshot 157 - Group Policy Management in Microsoft Windows Server 2008 R2
3. Right click Default Domain Policy and select Edit.
4. Expand Computer Configuration ► Policies ► Windows Settings ► Security Settings ►
Windows Firewall with Advanced Security, right click Inbound Rules and select New Rule…
172 | Miscellaneous GFI EventsManager
Screenshot 158 - Group Policy Management Editor
5. In the New Inbound Rule Wizard, select Predefined and select File and Printer
Sharing.
GFI EventsManager Miscellaneous | 173
Screenshot 159 - Predefined rules
6. Click Next.
7. Select all rules and click Next.
8. Select Allow the connection and click Finish
9. Repeat steps 5 to 8 for each of the following rules:
» Remote Event Log Management
» Network discovery
10. From Group Policy Management Editor, expand Computer Configuration ► Policies ►
Windows Settings ► Security Settings ► Windows Firewall with Advanced Security, right click Outbound Rules and select New Rule…
11. Repeat Steps 5 to 9 while at step 9 enable only Network Discovery.
12. Close Group Policy Management Editor.
13. From Group Policy Management, expand Group Policy Management ► Forest ►
Domains ► <Domain name> ► Default Domain Controllers Policy.
14. Repeat steps 4 to 13.
15. Close Group Policy Management.
174 | Miscellaneous GFI EventsManager
The group policy will be applied the next time each client machine is started.
13.3 Disabling UAC to scan event sources
When GFI EventsManager is configured to collect events using a local account target machines must have User Account Control (UAC) disabled. To disable UAC on Microsoft
Windows Vista machines or later:
1. Click Start ► Run, key in secpol.msc and press Enter.
2. From the Security Settings, expand Local Policies and click Security Options.
3. Right click User Account Control: Run all administrators in Admin Approval Mode and select Properties.
Screenshot 160 - Predefined rules
4. From the Local Security Settings tab, select Enabled and click OK.
5. Close the Local Security Policy window.
13.4 Command line tools
GFI EventsManager provides you with command line tools through which you can perform various functions. These tools are located in the GFI EventsManager installation directory.
GFI EventsManager CMD tools include:
Table 83 – CMD tools
T OOL
ESMCmdConfig.exe
D ESCRIPTION
This CMD tool enables you to configure general settings for GFI EventsManager.
Such settings include:
» GFI EventsManager logon credentials
» License key
» Mail server settings
» Administrator email
» Create/Remove Group shortcuts
» Get computer names.
For more information, refer to Using ESMCmdConfig.exe
GFI EventsManager Miscellaneous | 175
T OOL
Esmdlibm.exe
Esmreport.exe
ExportHTML2PDF.exe
Importsettings.exe
ExportSettings.exe
SyncComputers.exe
Trouble.exe
Updater.exe
D ESCRIPTION
Use this CMD tool to Import or Export data. For more information, refer to Using
Generates in-product reports such as configuration and job activity reports. For
more information, refer to Using Esmreport.exe
This CMD tool is used to export generated reports (HTML) to Portable Document
Format (PDF). For more information, refer to Using ExportHTML2PDF.exe
Imports configuration from a data folder or from a configuration export file and
is used when preserving configuration. For more information, refer to Using
Exports configuration settings from GFI EventsManager installation to a
configuration file. For more information, refer to Using ExportSettings.exe
Use this tool to manually sync all event sources with GFI EventsManager.
Use this tool to launch GFI EventsManager troubleshooter module.
Use this tool to manually check for GFI EventsManager program updates.
13.4.1 Using ESMCmdConfig.exe
To use ESMCmdConfig.exe:
1. Click Start ► Run and key in CMD.
2. Click Ctrl + Shift + Enter to run CMD with elevated privileges.
3. Change the directory to the GFI EventsManager install directory.
CD <C:\Program Files\GFI\EventsManager 2012>
4. Key in ESMCmdConfig.exe followed by any of the following functions:
Table 84 – CMD: ESMCmdConfig.exe functions
F UNCTIONS D ESCRIPTION
Register Services This function registers GFI EventsManager services using an administrator account. It is made up of:
» /op:registerService – parameter name
» /user:<username> - specify username
» /pass:<password> - specify password.
Command: ESMCmdConfig.exe /op:registerService /user:Administrator
/pass:1234
Enable services
Disable services
Set license key
This function enables events log management features.
Command: ESMCmdConfig.exe /op:enable
Disables GFI EventsManager and prompts the user with a custom message. It is made up of:
» /opdisable – function name
» /message:<message> - specify the message to show.
Command: ESMCmdCOnfig.exe /op:disable /message:Feature is going to be disabled in one minute.
This function is used to specify a license key for GFI EventsManager. It is made up of:
» /op:setLicense – function name
» /licenseKey:<key> - specify the license key.
Command: ESMCmdCOnfig.exe / op:setLicense /licenseKey:XXXXXXXXX
176 | Miscellaneous GFI EventsManager
F UNCTIONS
Configure alerting
Set administrator’s email
Create program group shortcuts
Remove program group shortcuts
Get computers
D ESCRIPTION
Enable and configure alerting options. It is made up of:
» /op:configureAlerting – function name
» /Server:<server> - specify server IP
» /SenderEmail:<email> - specify senders’ email address
» /Port:<port> - specify the SMTP port (i.e. 25)
» /RequiresAuthentication<true|false> - specify a True or False value
» /User:<username> - specify a username for the email account
» /Pass:<password> - specify a password for the email account.
Command: ESMCmdCOnfig.exe /op:configureAlerting /Server:192.168.11.11
/SenderEmail:[email protected] /Port:25 /RequiresAuthentication:True
/User:Administrator /Pass:1234
Enables you to configure the Administartor’s email. It is made up of:
/op:setAdminEmail – function name
/email:<email> - specify email.
Command: ESMCmdCOnfig.exe /op:setAdminEmail
/email:[email protected]
Enables you to create group shortcuts.
Command: ESMCmdCOnfig.exe /op:CreateProgramGroupShortcuts
Enables you to remove group shortcuts.
Command: ESMCmdCOnfig.exe /op:RemoveProgramGroupShortcuts
Enables you to get computer names by specifying a filename where the data is exported.
Command: ESMCmdCOnfig.exe /op:GetComputers /filename:ExportedNames
5. Press Enter to run the command.
13.4.2 Using Esmdlibm.exe
To use Esmdlibm.exe:
1. Click Start ► Run and key in CMD.
2. Click Ctrl + Shift + Enter to run CMD with elevated privileges.
3. Change the directory to the GFI EventsManager install directory.
CD <C:\Program Files\GFI\EventsManager 2012>
4. Key in Esmdlibm.exe followed by any of the following functions:
GFI EventsManager Miscellaneous | 177
Table 85 – CMD: Esmdlibm.exe functions
F UNCTIONS D ESCRIPTION
Import from SQL The Import from SQL function is used to import data from previous versions of
GFI EventsManager backend database. It is made up of the following parameters:
» /importFromSql – function name
» /logTypes:<application, custom, directory, security, dns,
filereplication, syslog, system, snmp, oracle, sql, w3c> - specify the log typs to import
» /server:<serverName> - specify the SQL Server IP
» /database:<maindb |backupdb> - specify the database to import events from
» /dbauth:<SQL|WIN> - specify the authentication mode
» /username:<username> - specify the SQL Server username
» /password:<password> - specify the SQL Server password
» /jobId:<id> - optionally, specify a unique job ID.
Command: Esmdlibm.exe /importFromSql /logTypes:application,w3c
/server:192.168.11.11 /database:main /dbauth:SQL /username:sa
/password:1234 /jobId:987
Import from Dlib database
This function enables you to import exported data from GFI EventsManager
2012. It is made up of the following parameters:
» /importFromDlib – function name
» /path:<path> - specify the path of the import file
» /name:<name> - specify the name of the import file
» /anonpass1:<password> - optionally, specify the primary decryption password
» /anonpass2:<password> - optionally, specify the secondary encryption password
» /jobId:<id> - optionally, specify a unique job ID.
Command: Esmdlibm.exe /importFromDlib /path:C:\Events
/name:importFile.txt /anonpass1:1234 /jobId: 987
Import from Legacy File This function enables you to import data exported or archived from an older version of GFI EventsManager. It is made up of the following parameters:
» /importFromLegacyFile – function name
» /path:<path> - specify the path of the import file
» /logTypes:<application, custom, directory, security, dns,
filereplication, syslog, system, snmp, oracle, sql, w3c> - specify the log type to import
» /password:<password> - optionally, specify the password
» /anonpass1:<password> - optionally, specify the primary decryption password
» /anonpass2:<password> - optionally, specify the secondary encryption password
» /jobId:<id> - optionally, specify a unique job ID.
Command: Esmdlibm.exe /importFromLegacyFile / path:C:\Events /logTypes: dns,security,w3c /password:1234 /jobId:987
178 | Miscellaneous GFI EventsManager
F UNCTIONS
Export to file
D ESCRIPTION
This function enables you to export data to a file. It is made up of the following parameters:
» /exportToFile – function name
» /path:<path> - specify the path where the exported file is saved
» /password:<password> - specify a password to protect the exported file
» /olderThenXDays:<number of days> - specify what data is exported based on the number of days passed since the event was generated
» /olderThenXHours:<number of hours> - specify what data is exported based on the amount of hours passed since the event was generated
» /jobId:<id> - optionally, specify a unique job ID.
Command: Esmdlibm.exe /exportToFile /path:C:\Events /password:1234
/olderThenXDays:7 /jobId:987
5. Press Enter to run the command.
13.4.3 Using Esmreport.exe
To use Esmreport.exe:
1. Click Start ► Run and key in CMD.
2. Click Ctrl + Shift + Enter to run CMD with elevated privileges.
3. Change the directory to the GFI EventsManager install directory.
CD <C:\Program Files\GFI\EventsManager 2012>
4. Key in Esmreport.exe followed by any of the following functions:
F UNCTIONS
Generate
Configuration/Status/Ev ents Report
D ESCRIPTION
Enables you to generate reports based on GFI EventsManager configuration. It is made up of the following parameters:
» /type:<CONFIGURATION|STATUS|EVENTS> - specify report type
» /target:<path> - specify destination folder
» /format:<HTML|CSV> - specify report format.
Command: Esmreport.exe /type:STATUS /target:C:\Events /format:HTML
Event source configuration report
Status report
Enables you to generate reports on event sources configuration. It is made up of the following parameters:
» /type:configuration – specify report type
» /source:<name> - specify a single event source name
Or
» /group:<name> - specify a group name to report on multiple event sources.
Command: Esmreport.exe /type:configuration /group:Servers
This function is made up of the following parameters:
» /type:status – specify report type
» /subtype:<MESSAGES|STATS> - specify the report sub type
» /period:<CURRENT|"date"> - specify the period for MESSAGES sub type
» /period:<"ALL TIME"|date> - specify the period of STATS sub type
» /options:<"ERROR MESSAGES"|"ONLY WITH ISSUES"> - specify options for
STATS sub type.
Command 1: Esmreport.exe /type:STATUS /subtype:MESSAGES
/period:CURRENT
Command 2: Esmreport.exe /type:STATUS /subtype:STATS/period:”ALLTIME”
/options:”ERROR MESSAGES”
GFI EventsManager Miscellaneous | 179
F UNCTIONS
Events report
D ESCRIPTION
This function is made up of the following parameters:
» /type:events – specify report type
» /repid:<report ID> - specify report ID
» /target:<path> - specify destination folder
» /format:<HTML|PDF> - specify report format
» /scheduled – specify report schedule. This enables schedule and uses the default settings configured in GFI EventsManager.
Command: Esmreport.exe /type:events /repid:11 /target:C:\Events
/format:PDF
5. Press Enter to run the command.
13.4.4 Using ExportHTML2PDF.exe
To use ExportHTML2PDF.exe:
1. Click Start ► Run and key in CMD.
2. Click Ctrl + Shift + Enter to run CMD with elevated privileges.
3. Change the directory to the GFI EventsManager install directory.
CD <C:\Program Files\GFI\EventsManager 2012>
4. Key in ExportHTML2PDF.exe followed by any of the following functions:
F UNCTIONS
Export HTML reports to
D ESCRIPTION
This function enables you to export pre-generated HTML reports to a Portable
Document Format file. It is made up of the following parameters:
» /source:<path to HTML files> - specify the source folder path which contains the HTML reports
» /target:<path to PDF file> - specify the PDF destination folder.
Command: ExportHTML2PDF.exe /source:C:\Program Files\EventsManager 2012
/target:C:\PDFReports\EventsManager
5. Press Enter to run the command.
13.4.5 Using ImportSettings.exe
Use this tool to import GFI EventsManager configurations previously exported. importsettings.exe <parameters list>
P ARAMETER
/operation:<operation>
M ANDATORY /O P
TIONAL
Mandatory
D ESCRIPTION
/destination:<destination path>
/sourceFile:<filename>
Optional
Optional
/sourceFolder:<folder name/path> Optional
Defines the operation to perform, either importfolder or importfile
Defines the destination folder where the configuration is imported
Defines the name of the file that contains the exported GFI EventsManager configuration.
Defines the name of the folder that contains the exported GFI EventsManager configuration.
Any parameter that contains spaces must be enclosed in double quotes (“).
180 | Miscellaneous GFI EventsManager
Example: importsettings.exe /operation:importfolder: /destination: c:\esm\data /sourcefolder: c:\esm\old
13.4.6 Using ExportSettings.exe
Use this tool to export the GFI EventsManager configuration. exportsettings.exe <parameters list>
P ARAMETER M ANDATORY /O PTIONAL
/destination:<filename> Mandatory
D ESCRIPTION
Defines the file where the configuration will be exported
/folder:<folder> Optional To export from an alternative folder.
Any parameter that contains spaces must be enclosed in double quotes (“).
Example: exportsettings.exe /destination:”c:\export”
13.5 Auto updating GFI EventsManager
GFI EventsManager enables users to configure how to automatically check for, download and install patches and updates.
To configure Auto Update options:
1. Launch GFI EventsManager from Start ►Program ►GFI EventsManager ► Management
Console.
2. Click Edit updater options…
Screenshot 161 – Configure auto update
GFI EventsManager Miscellaneous | 181
3. Configure the options described in Table 86 below and click OK:
Table 86 – Auto update options
O PTION
Check for updates automatically
Update Now
Install updates automatically
Only notify me when updates are available
Show messages in the application
Send alerts on GFI EventsManager
Administrator user
D ESCRIPTION
If selected, GFI EventsManager will check for updates automatically on a daily or weekly basis.
If Check for updates automatically checkbox is not selected, use this option to manually check for updates and install missing updates.
Installs downloaded updates automatically.
Available updates are shown in the Missing Updates section but are not installed.
Shows a message at the bottom of the application page.
Click on the displayed message to action the updates.
Sends an email alert on the configured GFI EventsManager
Administrator account.
For information on configuring GFI EventsManager
Administrator account refer to Configuring the Administrator account section in this manual.
13.6 Product licensing
GFI EventsManager is licensed by Node. All devices that generate a log are considered to be a Node. This section contains information about:
»
»
Obtaining a free 30-day trial license key
»
»
»
13.6.1 Updating license key
1. Click General tab.
2. From the left pane, right-click Licensing, select Update license key….
Screenshot 162 - Update license key
3. Specify your license key details.
4. Click OK to finalize settings.
182 | Miscellaneous GFI EventsManager
13.6.2 Obtaining a free 30-day trial license key
GFI EventsManager allows you to register your version of the product and receive a free 30day trial. Once the trial period is expired, all event log monitoring and management services are disabled and a full license key is required.
To register and receive a 30-day trial license key:
1. Click General tab.
2. Click the provided link. This will take you to GFI website where you are able to enter you details and receive the license key by email.
The email address you provide in the registration form is where your free 30-day trial key will be sent. If you have a spam filtering system, make sure the email is not blocked as spam.
13.6.3 Viewing license details
1. Click General tab.
2. From the left pane, click Licensing option. Licensing details will be displayed in the right pane of the management console.
3. To view license distribution details click on Show Details. This will show the number of event sources configured and respective license type (such as Workstation or Server).
13.6.4 Updating license type
To change the type of license allocated to a specific event source:
1. Launch the (computer/computer group) properties dialog and click the Licensing Type tab.
2. By default event sources inherit their licensing type from parent group (use the license type configured in parent group properties). To change license type select the Server
License or Workstation option accordingly.
13.6.5 Purchasing a license key
1. Click General tab.
Screenshot 163 - Buy now! Button
2. From the right pane, click Buy now!. This takes you to GFI website where you can view further information about licensing and purchase a valid key.
For more information about GFI EventsManager licensing, please visit: http://www.gfi.com/page/13789/products/gfieventsmanager/pricing/licensing/licensing
For more information about GFI EventsManager pricing, please visit: http://www.gfi.com/products/gfi-eventsmanager/pricing
13.7 Version information
To check your version information details:
1. Click General tab.
2. Click the Version Information option. The version information details will be displayed in the right pane.
GFI EventsManager Miscellaneous | 183
13.7.1 Checking for newer builds
To check for newer builds of GFI EventsManager:
1. Click General tab.
2. From the left pane, right-click Version Information and select Check for newer builds….
184 | Miscellaneous GFI EventsManager
14 Troubleshooting
14.1 Introduction
The troubleshooting chapter explains how you should go about resolving any software issues that you might encounter. The main sources of information available to users are:
» The manual - most issues can be solved by reading this manual
» GFI Knowledge Base articles
» Web forum
» Contacting the GFI Technical Support
This chapter contains information about:
»
»
»
»
»
14.2 Common issues
I SSUE
Error message: Not connected to the database or connection was lost.
Error message: Primary
Filegroup Full.
D ESCRIPTION AND SOLUTION
Description
This error is encountered when GFI EventsManager is unable to connect with the SQL Database or the database connection was interrupted.
Solution
The following links contain information on how this issue can be solved.
How do I debug ‘Failed to connect to database’? http://kbase.gfi.com/showarticle.asp?id=KBID002855
How do I configure SQL Server 2005/2008 to accept SQL Authentication? http://kbase.gfi.com/showarticle.asp?id=KBID002804
How do I configure SQL Server 2000 to accept SQL Authentication? http://kbase.gfi.com/showarticle.asp?id=KBID002805
Enabling TCP/IP on Microsoft SQL Server 2005 http://kbase.gfi.com/showarticle.asp?id=KBID002920
How to create a new database in Microsoft SQL Server http://kbase.gfi.com/showarticle.asp?id=KBID003379
Description
This error is encountered when GFI EventsManager database backend has a maximum file size limitation and is unable to store any further data.
Solution
Configure the database backend to allow larger file size. This can be done on both Microsoft SQL Server and Microsoft SQL Server Express edition. For more information on how to change the maximum file size, refer to http://kbase.gfi.com/showarticle.asp?id=KBID003670
GFI EventsManager Troubleshooting | 185
I SSUE
Error message: Could not complete cursor operation because the table schema changed after the cursor was declared’
D ESCRIPTION AND SOLUTION
Description
This error is encountered when the administrator is performing maintenance tasks on the GFI EventsManager databases while the GFI EventsManager service is running.
Solution
1. Stop GFI EventsManager service
2. Perform the maintenance tasks in Microsoft SQL server
3. Restart GFI EventsManager Service once the Microsoft SQL maintenance tasks are finished.
To avoid this, ensure that GFI EventsManager service is stopped whilst performing any maintenance tasks on the GFI EventsManager database.
For more information refer to http://kbase.gfi.com/showarticle.asp?id=KBID003011
Error message 1:
Error connecting to machine
MACHINENAME, Error 0x35,
Message: The network path was not found.
Error message 2:
Error connecting to machine
MACHINENAME, Error 0x52E,
Message: Logon failure: unknown user name or bad password.
Error message 3:
Critical error encountered: A network-related or instancespecific error occurred while establishing a connection to
SQL Server. The server was not found or was not accessible. Verify that the instance name is correct and that SQL Server is configured to allow remote connections.
(provider: Named Pipes
Provider, error: 40 - Could not open a connection to
SQL Server)
Error message 4:
Unexpected error when connecting to machine
MACHINENAME; remote W3C logs path is: PATH\*.*
No event logs are being collected by GFI
EventsManager.
Description
These errors are encountered when GFI EventsManager tries to collect events from a machine that is not accessible over the network or the credentials are invalid.
Possible solution 1
1. Check that the credentials are correct
2. Check that the machine name or IP address are correct
3. Try to collect events
Possible solution 2
When using a personal firewall, check that the required firewall ports are configured to allow traffic.
For more information refer to http://kbase.gfi.com/showarticle.asp?id=KBID002770
When using Windows firewall, check that all the required firewall permissions are enabled.
For more information refer to http://kbase.gfi.com/showarticle.asp?id=KBID003688
Possible solution 3
Ensure that GFI EventsManager is installed on a supported environment. For more information on where GFI EventsManager can be installed, refer to http://kbase.gfi.com/showarticle.asp?id=KBID002842
Description
This issue can be caused by various factors and is dependent on the environment where GFI EventsManager is installed. For a checklist on how to resolve this issue, refer to http://kbase.gfi.com/showarticle.asp?id=KBID002819
186 | Troubleshooting GFI EventsManager
I SSUE
Error message 1:
A timeout was reached
(60000 milliseconds) while waiting for the GFI
EventsManager service to connect.
Error message 2:
Error 1053: The service did not respond to the start or control request in a timely fashion.
Error message:
The maintenance job failed!
Error message:
Event Log Records could NOT be retrieved: The RPC server is unavailable
D ESCRIPTION AND SOLUTION
Description
The GFI EventsManager executables are digitally signed by default. When trying to start the service, the application must download the Certificate
Revocation List to authenticate. If the download fails due to network connectivity or security reasons the service will fail to start by timing out.
Possible solution 1
Increase the default service timeout settings as described in the following
Microsoft knowledgebase article http://support.microsoft.com/kb/941990
Possible solution 2
Disable Certificate revocation list (CRL).
1. Download Microsoft Setreg application from http://ftp.gfisoftware.com/support/setreg.zip
2. Login to the GFI EventsManager server using the GFI EventsManager service user.
3. Open command prompt
4. Change the directory to the directory storing setreg.exe
5. Run the following command: setreg.exe 3 FALSE
Note: The setting above can be reverted by running the following command: setreg.exe 3 TRUE
For more information refer to http://kbase.gfi.com/showarticle.asp?id=KBID003365
Description
GFI EventsManager uses an ASP.Net Library called GZipStream to compress and export data from the GFI EventsManager databases. GZipStream is unable to compress data larger than 4GB. GFI EventsManager will return this error when trying to export data which is larger than 4GB.
Solution
In order to export the data required, use the GFI EventsManager Advanced
Filters to reduce the number of Events exported. Therefore eventually reducing the size of the data which is being compressed. For more
information, refer to Configuring data filter conditions section in this
manual.
Description
This error may occur if:
The remote computer may be shut down.
There may be a network hardware problem.
There may be no common transports.
The remote computer does not exist.
A DNS entry does not exist for the remote computer in the DNS server (Try pinging the remote machine from another computer by using its host name and not its IP).
Investigate each possible problem and make the necessary changes. Then try to collect events from target computers.
For more information, refer to http://kbase.gfi.com/showarticle.asp?id=KBID002820
GFI EventsManager Troubleshooting | 187
I SSUE
GFI EventsManager reports an error number 1069.
When collecting and processing events the CPU consumption stays constant and higher than 70%.
D ESCRIPTION AND SOLUTION
Description
When installed, GFI EventsMananger asks for a valid username and password. This error is encountered when an invalid password is submitted in the installation wizard.
Solution
1.Click Start ► Run, key in services.msc and click Ok. This will launch
Services window.
2. Double Click GFI EventsManager service.
3. Select the Log On tab.
4. Ensure that the This account radio box is selected.
5. Key in a valid password for the specified User account.
6. Press OK to close the Properties window.
7. Close Services window.
Description
This may occur when scanning multiple domain controllers. Since domain controllers generate a large number of events and GFI EventsManager by default is configured to use a high performance level, GFI EventsManager may use a lot of CPU resources.
Solution
Configure GFI EventsManager to use a low performance level. To configure performance level:
1. Select Configuration tab.
2. From the left panel, right click Performance Options and select Edit
Performance options.
3. From the Performance Options dialog, select Enable GFI EventsManager
service performance and select the required level.
4. Click OK.
Changing the performance level reduces CPU load but affect GFI
EventsManager log events processing speed.
Low performance - GFI EventsManager will Approximately process 50 events per second for each event source.
High performance - GFI EventsManager will Approximately process from
1000 to 2000 events per second for event source.
14.3 Knowledge Base
GFI maintains a Knowledge Base, which includes answers to the most common problems. If you have a problem, please consult the Knowledge Base first. The Knowledge Base always has the most up-to-date listing of technical support questions and patches. To access the
Knowledge Base, visit http://kbase.gfi.com/ .
14.4 Web Forum
User to user technical support is available via the web forum. The forum can be found at: http://forums.gfi.com/ .
14.5 Request technical support
If you have referred to this manual and our Knowledge Base articles, and you still cannot solve issues with the software, contact the GFI Technical Support team by filling in an online support request form or by phone.
» Online: Fill out the support request form on: http://support.gfi.com/supportrequestform.asp
. Follow the instructions on this page closely to submit your support request.
188 | Troubleshooting GFI EventsManager
» Phone: To obtain the correct technical support phone number for your region please visit: http://www.gfi.com/company/contact.htm
.
Before you contact our Technical Support team, please have your Customer ID available. Your Customer ID is the online account number that is assigned to you when you first register your license keys in our Customer Area at: http://customers.gfi.com
.
We will answer your query within 24 hours or less, depending on your time zone.
14.6 Build notifications
We strongly suggest that you subscribe to our build notifications list. This way, you will be immediately notified about new product builds. To subscribe to our build notifications, visit: http://www.gfi.com/pages/productmailing.htm
.
GFI EventsManager Troubleshooting | 189
15 Glossary
Table 87 below describes all common terms used in this manual:
Table 87 - Terms used in this manual
T ERM
Audit process tracking
Actions
Alerts
D EFINITION
Generates events which track actions such as programs which are launched, closed, as well as other indirect object access information which contain important security information. For more information, refer to http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc775520(WS.10).aspx
The activity that will be carried out as a result to events matching specific conditions. For example you can trigger actions whenever an event is classified as critical. Actions supported by GFI EventsManager include Email alerts, event archiving and execution of scripts.
Notifications which inform recipients that a particular event has occurred. GFI
EventsManager can generate Email alerts, SMS alerts and Network alerts.
Archive
Audit account management
Audit system events
A collection of events stored in the SQL Server based database backed of GFI
EventsManager.
Generates events when account management operations are done such as create/delete a user account or group, enable/disable a user account and set/change a user password. For more information, refer to http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc737542(WS.10).aspx
Generates events when important system events happen such as user restarts or shuts down the target computer or when an event occurs that affects the security log. For more information, refer to http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc782518(WS.10).aspx
COM+ Network Access
Email alerts
Event classification
Event logs
Event processing rules
File and Printer sharing
Enable this firewall permission to allow client machines to access applications or services that resides on the server. This allows GFI EventsManager to access resource from all servers. For more information about this permission, refer to http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc731967.aspx
Email notifications which inform recipients that a particular event has occurred. To enable email alerts, you must have access to an active mail server.
The categorization of events as Critical, High Medium, Low or Noise.
A collection of entries which describe events that occurred on the network or on a computer system. GFI EventsManager supports different types of event logs including: Windows Event Log, W3C Logs, Syslog, SNMP Traps and SQL
Server audit events.
A set of instructions which are applied against an event log.
Enable this firewall permission to allow GFI EventsManager to access events definitions on target machines. For more information, refer to http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc779133(WS.10).aspx
Internet Protocol Security A framework of open standards used to encrypt and authenticate network packets during a communication session between computers. Using cryptography services, IPsec ensures data integrity, authentication and confidentiality.
IPsec See Internet Protocol Security
GFI EventsManager Glossary | 191
T ERM
Management Information
Base
Network alerts
Network discovery
D EFINITION
A MIB is the equivalent of a data dictionary or codebook. It associates object identifiers (OIDs) with a readable label and various other parameters related to an active network object such as a router. Its main function is to assemble and interpret SNMP messages transmitted from SNMP-enabled network devices. The information stored in MIBs is organized hierarchically and is normally accessible using a protocol such as SNMP.
Network messages (known as Netsend messages) which inform recipients that a particular event has occurred. These messages are sent through an instant messenger system/protocol and are shown as a popup in the system tray of the recipient’s desktop. To setup network alerts, you must specify the name or IP of the computers where the Netsend messages will be sent.
Enable this firewall permission to allow GFI EventsManager to gather information about connected machines on the network that can be scanned.
For more information, refer to http://technet.microsoft.com/enus/library/cc181373.aspx
Noise
Object auditing
Object auditing
Remote Event Log
Management
Rule-set folder
Rule-sets
SMS alerts
SNMP Object Identifier
(OID)
SNMP Traps
Syslog messages
Unclassified events
Repeated log entries which report the same event.
Enable this auditing feature to audit events of users accessing objects
(example, files, folder and printer).
For more information, refer to http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc976403.aspx
Enable this auditing feature to audit tracking information (example, program activation, process exit and indirect object access). For more information, refer to http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc775520(WS.10).aspx
Required to allow GFI EventsManager to access and collect events from remote machines. For more information, refer to http://technet.microsoft.com/enus/library/cc766438.aspx
The folder which contains one or more rule-sets.
A collection of event processing rules.
SMS notifications which inform recipients that a particular event has occurred.
In GFI EventsManager, SMS alerts can be sent through various sources including mobile phones with modem capabilities and email-to-SMS web-based gateways.
An SNMP object identifier is an address made up of a sequence of ‘dotted’ numbers (Example: 1.3.6.1.4.1.2682.1). These numbers uniquely identify and locate a specific device (Example: hub) within the entire network. SNMP OIDs are a key component in the assembly of SNMP messages. In fact, an SNMP server cannot interpret or assemble messages which don’t have an OID.
Individual vendors often create their own MIBs that only include the OIDs associated specifically with their device.
Notifications/alerts generated and transmitted by active network components
(Example: hubs, routers and bridges) to SNMP server(s) whenever important events such as faults or security violations occur. Data contained in SNMP Traps may contain configuration, status as well as statistical information such as number of device failures to date.
Notifications/alerts most commonly generated and transmitted to a Syslog server by UNIX and Linux-based systems whenever important events occur.
Syslog messages can be generated by workstations, servers as well as active network devices and appliances such as Cisco routers and Cisco PIX firewalls to record failures and security violations amongst other activities.
Events that did not satisfy any of the event processing conditions configured in the event processing rules.
192 | Glossary GFI EventsManager
T ERM
W3C logs
Windows Event Logs
D EFINITION
W3C is a common log format developed by the World Wide Web Consortium.
W3C logs are text-based flat files used mainly by web servers including
Microsoft Internet Information Server (IIS) to record web related events such as web logs.
A collection of entries which describe events that occurred on a computer system running Windows OS.
GFI EventsManager Glossary | 193
Index
A
Account Usage Reports 37 anti-virus 17
Archiving events 73, 79
D
Daily Digest 1, 52, 53
Database Backend 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 16, 73, 75,
79, 81, 103, 137, 141, 185
Database Operations 5, 141, 142, 145, 147,
149, 152, 153, 155, 157
Demilitarized Zone 13, 14
DNS server 9, 14, 91, 92, 187
E
Email Alerts 89, 114, 191
Event classification 4, 90, 114, 116, 191
Event color-coding 1, 3, 4, 27, 31
Event finder tool 1, 3, 4, 27, 32
Event processing rules 1, 3, 4, 7, 70, 86, 87,
89, 90, 105, 106, 136, 191, 192
Event query 3, 4
Events Browser 1, 3, 8, 28, 31, 32, 111, 142
EventsManagerAdministrator 123, 127
Export events to CSV 33
F firewall 17
G
GFI EndPointSecurity 61, 86, 87
GFI LANguard 61, 85, 86, 136
I
Installation wizard 188
L
License type 61, 182, 183
Licensing 2, 8, 18, 62, 158, 182, 183
GFI EventsManager
Logon credentials 62, 67, 68, 72, 76, 79, 82
M
Management Information Base 5, 99, 192
N
Network alerts 7, 105, 124, 191, 192
Noise Reduction 4
O
Operational time 62, 68, 69, 72, 79, 109
Oracle database 3, 61, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82,
83, 84
P
Performance Options 188
Q
Quick Start Dialog 21, 22, 24
R
Rule-set 1, 89, 90, 105, 106, 107, 192
S
SMS alerts 191, 192
SNMP traps 3, 7, 9, 11, 16, 62, 65, 71, 89, 98,
99, 100, 101, 137, 138, 139, 191, 192
SQL Server audit 5, 9, 11, 13, 73, 89, 191
Storage Folder 7, 73, 103, 141
Syslog messages 7, 10, 13, 15, 16, 95, 97, 98,
192
Syslog server 10, 15, 95, 97, 98, 192
V version information 158, 183, 184
W
W3C logs 3, 7, 9, 10, 62, 71, 89, 93, 94, 112,
186, 191, 193
WAN Connector 5
Windows 7 15, 16, 17, 158, 163
Windows Event Logs 3, 4, 7, 9, 62, 89, 92, 93,
102, 106, 193
Index | 195
Windows Vista 15, 16, 17, 28, 92, 137, 158,
159, 164, 175
196 | Index GFI EventsManager
USA, CANADA, CENTRAL AND SOUTH AMERICA
15300 Weston Parkway, Suite 104, Cary, NC 27513, USA
Telephone: +1 (888) 243-4329
Fax: +1 (919) 379-3402
Email: [email protected]
UK AND REPUBLIC OF IRELAND
Magna House, 18-32 London Road, Staines, Middlesex, TW18 4BP, UK
Telephone: +44 (0) 870 770 5370
Fax: +44 (0) 870 770 5377
Email: [email protected]
EUROPE, MIDDLE EAST AND AFRICA
GFI House, San Andrea Street, San Gwann, SGN 1612, Malta
Telephone: +356 2205 2000
Fax: +356 2138 2419
Email: [email protected]
AUSTRALIA AND NEW ZEALAND
83 King William Road, Unley 5061, South Australia
Telephone: +61 8 8273 3000
Fax: +61 8 8273 3099
Email: [email protected]
© 2011. GFI Software. All rights reserved. All product and company names herein may be trademarks of their respective owners.
The information and content in this document is provided for informational purposes only and is provided “as is” with no warranty of any kind, either express or implied, including but not limited to the implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, and non-infringement. GFI Software is not liable for any damages, including any consequential damages, of any kind that may result from the use of this document. The information is obtained from publicly available sources. Though reasonable effort has been made to ensure the accuracy of the data provided, GFI makes no claim, promise or guarantee about the completeness, accuracy, recency or adequacy of information and is not responsible for misprints, out- of-date information, or errors.
GFI makes no warranty, express or implied, and assumes no legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy or completeness of any information contained in this document.
If you believe there are any factual errors in this document, please contact us and we will review your concerns as soon as practical.
Stáhnout
Reklama