Notes Application. Texas Instruments Student
Oglas
Oglas
Notes Application
The Notes application lets you create and share text documents using the TI-Nspire™ handheld and computer software. Use
Notes
to:
• Create study notes to reinforce learning, demonstrate your understanding of classroom concepts, and to review for exams.
• Edit collaboratively by assigning different roles to individuals using your document so that any edits appear in a different text format.
• Create and evaluate math expressions.
• Create correctly formatted chemical formulas and equations.
Adding a Notes Page
▶
To start a new document with a blank Notes page:
From the main
File
menu, click
New Document
, and then click
Add Notes
.
Handheld: Press c
, and select
Notes
.
▶
To add a Notes page in the current problem of an existing document:
From the toolbar, click
Insert > Notes
.
Handheld: Press
~ and select
Insert > Notes
.
À Notes tools – Available anytime you are in the Notes work area.
Á
Text formatting toolbar -- Lets you change size, color, bold, and other text properties.
 Notes work area -- The area where you type and format text.
Notes Application 399
Using Templates in Notes
Use the options on the Templates menu to select a format for your Notes page.
Menu Option
2: Templates
Function
1: Q&A
2: Proof
3: Default
Creates a template to enter question and answer text.
Creates a template to enter statement and reason text.
Lets you type freeform text.
Toggles to show or hide the Answer in a Q&A format.
4:Hide Answer
(Q&A)
Selecting a Template
Complete the following steps to select and apply a template:
1. From the Notes menu, click .
2. From the menu, click the template you want to apply.
Handheld: From the Notes work area, press b
, and then press ► to display the menu options.
The Notes page is displayed in the format you selected.
Using the Q&A Template
Use the Q&A template to create questions and answers. You can show or hide the answer so you can create questions for review and hide the answers. When you use the document as a study aid, you can verify that your answers are correct.
Press
Tab
to move the text cursor between the
Question
and
Answer
areas of the template.
Using the Proof Template
The proof template provides an outline structure for statements and corresponding
400 Notes Application
reasons.
Press
Tab
to move the text cursor between the
Statements
and
Reasons
areas of the template.
Formatting Text in Notes
Text formatting lets you apply visual properties, such as bold and italic, to your text.
•
Ordinary text
. Apply most combinations of bold, italic, underline, superscript, subscript, and strikethrough formatting. Select font and font size for any character.
•
Text in a math expression box
. Apply formatting and enter math exponents and math subscripts for variable names. Select font and font size. Font size affects all text in the box.
•
Text in a chemical equation box
. Apply formatting. Select font and font size. Font size affects all text in the box. Superscript and subscript are handled automatically.
Selecting Text
▶
Drag from the starting point to the ending point to select the text.
Handheld: If you are using the Q&A or Proof template, press e to place the cursor in the area containing the text. Use the Touchpad to place the cursor at the start or end of the text to be selected. Hold down g
, and use the Touchpad to select the text.
Applying a Text Format
1. Select the text that you want to format.
2. On the formatting toolbar, click the formatting icons (such as for bold) to toggle them, or click to select a font and font size.
Handheld: Click b
, and then select
Format
>
Format Text
.
Notes Application 401
The changes are applied to the text as you make selections.
Note:
The toolbar shows only the icons that are applicable to the type of text selected. For example, superscript ( ) and subscript ( ) are shown only for ordinary text.
Using Color in Notes
When working in the Notes application on a desktop, use the (fill color) or the
(text color) options on the Documents Workspace toolbar to emphasize words, calculations, and formulas.
You can also apply color to text when working in the Notes application on the
TI-Nspire™ CX handheld.
Changing Text Colors
1. Select the text you want to change to another color. You can select a sentence, phrase, word, or a single letter. You can also select a math expression box, a chemical equation box, or individual characters in a calculation, formula, chemical equation, or math template.
2. From the Documents Workspace toolbar, click .
Handheld: Press
~
, and then click
Edit > Text Color
.
The Text Color palette opens.
3. Click a color to apply it to the selected text.
Applying a Background Color
You can apply a background color to highlight selected characters in ordinary text, text in a math expression, or text in a chemical equation box.
1. Select the text.
402 Notes Application
2. From the Documents Workspace toolbar, click the arrow next to .
Handheld: Press
~
, and then press
Edit > Fill Color
.
The Fill Color palette opens.
3. Click a color to apply it to the selected text.
Inserting Images
When working in the Notes application on a desktop, use the Images option on the
Insert menu to add an image to a Notes page.
Note:
The option for inserting an image is not available when working on a handheld.
However, you can transfer a file containing an image from your computer to a
TI-Nspire™ CX handheld.
1. Click
Insert > Image
from the Documents Toolbar.
The Insert Image window opens.
2. Navigate to the folder where the image is located.
3. Select the image, and then click
Open
to insert the image into the Notes work area. Valid files types are .jpg, .png, or .bmp.
4. To type text around the image, place the cursor in front of the image or after the image, and then type the text.
Resizing an Image
Complete the following steps to resize an image.
1. Click the image to select it.
2. Move the pointer to the edge of the image.
The pointer changes to a left-right arrow symbol.
3. Drag the image to make it smaller or larger.
For more information, see Working with Images.
Inserting Items on a Notes Page
When working with the Notes application, open the Insert menu to insert a math expression, chemical equation, shape symbol, or a comment.
Function Menu
Name
Menu Option
3: Insert
Notes Application 403
Menu
Name
Menu Option Function
2: Shape
3:
Comment
Lets you insert a math expression.
-
1: Math Box
/
M
-
2: Chem box
/
E
Lets you insert a chemical formula or equation.
Marks the selected text as an angle, triangle, circle, line, segment, ray, or vector.
Lets you type text that is italicized and prefaced with
Teacher or Reviewer.
Inserting Comments in Notes Text
You can insert Teacher or Reviewer comments into a Notes application. Comments are easy to distinguish from the original text.
1. Define the type of comments you are inserting (Teacher or Reviewer):
• PC: From the
Insert
menu, click
Comment
, and then click
Teacher
or
Reviewer
.
• Handheld: While in the Notes work area, press b to display the Notes menu. Press
Insert > Comment
, and then select either
Teacher
or
Reviewer
.
2. Type your text.
Text that you type appears in italics.
404 Notes Application
Inserting Geometric Shape Symbols
You can use geometric shape symbols to designate selected text as geometric objects, such as an angle, circle, or line segment.
To insert a shape symbol, position the cursor where you want it, and then do the following:
• PC: From the
Insert
menu, click
Shapes
, and then select the shape to apply.
• Handheld: Press b to display the Notes menu. On the and then select the shape to apply.
Insert
menu, click
Shapes
,
Entering Math Expressions in Notes Text
You can include math expressions in Notes text, using the same tools as in other
TI-Nspire™ applications.
Math expression boxes have attributes that allow you to control how the expression is displayed.
Menu
Name
Menu
Option
5: Math Box
Options
Function
1:
Math Box
Attributes
When a math box is selected, this option opens a dialog box allowing you to customize the math box. You can hide or show input or output, turn off calculation for the box, insert symbols, change display and angle settings, and allow or disallow the wrapping of expressions and the display of warning indicator after they have been dismissed. You can change the attributes of multiple selected math boxes at the same time.
Notes Application 405
Menu
Name
Menu
Option
Function
Show
2:
Warning
Info
Displays a warning indicator after the warning has been dismissed.
Displays an error after the error has been dismissed.
Show
3:
Error
Entering an Expression
1. In the Notes work area, position the cursor where you want the expression.
2. From the
Insert
menu, select
Math Box
.
—or—
Press
Ctrl + M
(Mac®: Press “+
M
).
An empty math expression box is displayed.
3. Type the expression in the box. You can use the Catalog, if necessary, to insert a function, command, symbol, or expression template.
4. To exit the math box, click anywhere outside it.
Evaluating and Approximating Math Expressions
You can evaluate or approximate one or more expressions and display the results. You can also convert selected text and multiple math expression boxes into a single math expression box. Notes automatically updates expressions and any variables used.
Menu
Name
Menu Option
1: Actions
Function
1: Evaluate -
·
2: Approximate
/ ·
Evaluates the expression.
Approximates the expression.
3: Evaluate and replace
Replaces the selected part of the expression with the result.
406 Notes Application
Menu
Name
Menu Option Function
4: Deactivate
5: Deactivate All
6: Activate
7: Activate All
Deactivates the current or selected item (box or boxes)
Deactivates all boxes in the current Notes application.
Activates the current or selected previously deactivated item.
Activates all boxes in the current Notes application.
Evaluating or Approximating an Expression
To evaluate or approximate an expression, place the cursor anywhere in the math expression box and then do the following:
• Windows®: On the
Actions
menu, click
Evaluate
or
Approximate
. You can also use
Enter
to evaluate or
Ctrl + Enter
to approximate.
• Mac®: Press “
+ Enter
to approximate.
• Handheld: Press b to display the Notes menu. On the
Actions
menu, select
Evaluate
.
The result replaces the expression.
Evaluating Part of an Expression
To evaluate part of an expression, select the text or part of the math expression. Then do the following:
▶
On the
Actions
menu, click
Evaluate and Replace
.
Handheld: Press b to open the Notes menu. Select
Actions
, and then select
Evaluate Selection
.
The result replaces the selected part only.
Notes Application 407
Breaking Long Calculations
Some calculations may take a long time. Notes indicates that the handheld is performing a long calculation by displaying a busy icon. If a calculation is taking more time than you want to spend, you can end the calculation.
To stop the function or program in progress, do the following:
• Windows®: Hold down the
F12
key and press
Enter
repeatedly.
• Mac®: Hold down the
F5
key and press
Enter
repeatedly.
• Handheld: Hold down the c key and press
· repeatedly.
Showing Warnings and Errors
If a calculation in Notes results in a warning or error, you can view the warning or error again even after you have dismissed the dialog box.
To display a warning or error in Notes after you have dismissed the dialog box, do one of the following:
• Windows®: Right-click and select
Show warning info
or
Show error
.
• Mac®: “ + click and select
Show warning info
or
Show error
.
Note:
You can change your settings so that warnings do not appear at all. The showing of warning indicators is controlled by the
Math Box Attributes
dialog box. See Changing
the Attributes of Math Expression Boxes.
Converting Selected Items to Math Expression Boxes
To convert items to math expression boxes:
1. Select the text, or combination of text and existing math expression box, that you want to evaluate.
2. From the
Actions
menu, click
Convert to Math Expression Box
.
Using Math Actions
Math Actions are available on Notes, Scratchpad, and Calculator pages.
When you display the context menu for a selected expression or equation, the menu may include a
Math Actions
submenu that lists the available actions. Each action might prompt you for any needed parameters.
The specific math actions listed depend on:
• The type of expression or relation.
408 Notes Application
• The operating system in use (numeric or CAS).
• Any restrictions imposed by an active Press-to-Test session.
Example of Math Actions in Notes
1. Insert a math box, and type the equation
x
2
+3
x
+1=0, but don't press
Enter
yet.
Numeric OS CAS OS
2. Display the context menu of the equation, and select
Math Actions
.
Windows®: Right-click the equation.
Mac®: Hold “, and click the equation.
Handheld: Point to the equation, and press
/ b
.
Numeric OS CAS OS
3. Select the action to perform:
-
Solve Numerically
for numeric OS.
-
Solve
for CAS OS.
You are prompted to enter parameters. For example, Numeric Solve prompts for the variable of interest, initial guess, lower bound, and upper bound.
4. Type a value for each parameter. When options are available, you can click an arrow to make a selection.
Numeric OS CAS OS
5. Click
OK
to construct the completed expression and place it in the math box.
Numeric OS
6. Press
Enter
to complete the action.
CAS OS
Notes Application 409
Numeric OS CAS OS
7. As a further exploration, drag through the math box to select include the "=0" portion.
x
2
+3·
x
+1. Do not
Numeric OS CAS OS
8. Display the context menu for the selected text, select
Math Actions >
Find Roots of Polynomial
, and press
Enter
to complete the action.
The action and its result are shown in a new math box.
Numeric OS CAS OS
Tips for Using Math Actions in Notes
▶
For a previously evaluated expression, click in the expression and then display its context menu.
When you select an action, it replaces the expression.
▶
For a displayed result, click in the result and then display its context menu.
When you select an action, it appears in a new math box.
▶
For a portion of an expression or result, select the portion, and then display the context menu.
When you select an action, it appears in a new math box.
Graphing from Notes and Calculator
You can graph a function or relation directly from its context menu. This feature is available for many functions and relations on Notes, Scratchpad, and Calculator pages.
410 Notes Application
If page layout options allow, the graph appears on the same page as the function or relation. Otherwise, the graph appears on a separate Graphs page.
The type of graph created depends on:
• The type of function or relation.
• Any restrictions imposed by an active Press-to-Test session.
Example of Graphing from Notes
This example uses a Notes page to explore a quadratic function interactively.
1. Insert a math box on a new Notes page, and enter the following function definition:
Define f1(x)=x
2
-1·x-4
2. Display the context menu of the Define statement.
Windows®: Right-click the statement.
Mac®: Hold “, and click the statement.
Handheld: Point to the statement, and press
/ b
.
3. Select
Graph
from the context menu.
The graph appears. The graph and the math box are linked so that any adjustment to one affects the other.
Notes Application 411
4. Explore the relationship between the defined function and its graph:
Drag the ends or center of the graph to manipulate it, and observe the changes to the function definition.
—or—
Edit the defined function in the math box, and observe the changes to the graph.
Inserting Chemical Equations in Notes
Chemical equation boxes (chem boxes) make it easy to type chemical formulas and equations, such as .
As you type in a chem box, most of the formatting work is handled automatically:
• Correct capitalization of most element symbols, such as Ag and Cl, is automatic.
• Leading digits are treated as coefficients and are shown at full size. Numbers that follow an element or a closed parenthesis are converted to subscripts.
• The equals “=” symbol is converted to a yields “&” symbol.
Notes:
• Equations in a chem box cannot be evaluated or balanced.
• Element capitalization may not work in every situation. For example, to enter carbon dioxide, CO
2
, you must manually capitalize the O. Otherwise, typing “
co
” would result in“Co,” the symbol for cobalt.
Entering a chemical equation
1. In the Notes work area, position the cursor where you want the equation.
412 Notes Application
2. From the
Insert
menu, select
Chem Box
.
—or—
Press
Ctrl + E
(Mac®: Press “+
E
).
An empty chemical equation box is displayed.
3. Type the equation in the box. For example, to represent sulphuric acid, type
h2sO4
, capitalizing the O manually.
The chem box automatically formats the text as you type:
4. If you need superscripts for ionic equations, type a caret symbol (
^
) and then the text.
5. Use parentheses to indicate whether a compound is solid (s), liquid (l), gas (g), or aqueous (aq).
6. To exit the chem box, click anywhere outside it.
Deactivating Math Expression Boxes
Calculations are by default activated, which means that results automatically update when you evaluate or approximate an expression. If you don’t want results to automatically update, you can deactivate a math expression box, group of boxes, or the entire application.
Deactivating a Box or a Group of Boxes
To deactivate a box or a group of boxes:
1. Select the box or boxes that you want to deactivate.
2. Deactivate the selected box or boxes:
• Windows®: Click
Actions > Deactivate
(or right-click and then click
Actions >
Deactivate
).
• Mac®: Click
Actions > Deactivate
(or “ + click and then click
Actions >
Deactivate
).
• Handheld: Press b to open the Notes menu. From the
Actions
menu, select
Deactivate
.
Notes Application 413
Note:
You can manually update a deactivated box or boxes by selecting the box or boxes and using the process described in Evaluating and Approximating Math
Expressions.
Deactivating All Boxes in the Notes Application
To deactivate all boxes in the Notes application:
▶
With a document open, place your cursor in the Notes application that you want to deactivate and select
Deactivate All
.
• Windows®: Click
Actions > Deactivate All
or right-click and click
Actions >
Deactivate All
.
• Mac®: Click
Actions > Deactivate
or “+ click and click
Actions > Deactivate
.
• Handheld: Press b to display the Notes menu. On the
Actions
menu, click
Deactivate
.
Note:
When you use this option in Q&A and Proof templates, Deactivate All deactivates only the math boxes in the current work area.
Changing the Attributes of Math Expression Boxes
You can change attributes in one or more math expression boxes at the same time.
Controlling the attributes in math expression boxes allows you to do the following:
• Show or hide the input or output, or prevent calculation in the box.
• Select a symbol separator using Insert Symbol.
• Choose the number of digits to display in the output of a math expression.
• Select angle settings so you can use a combination of radian, degree, and gradian angle measures in the same Notes application.
• Select whether to allow math expressions to wrap.
• Select whether to show or hide warning indicators.
To change the attributes of one or more boxes, do the following:
1. Select the box or boxes that you want to change.
2. On the
Math Box Options
menu, click
Math Box Attributes
.
3. Use the menus or selection boxes to make your selections.
4. Click
OK
to save or
Cancel
to abandon the change.
Note
: Math expression boxes recalculate automatically after you have made attribute changes and saved the changes.
Undoing Changes to Math Expression Boxes
▶
To undo changes you have made to a math expression box, press
Ctrl
+
Z
.
414 Notes Application
Using Calculations in Notes
In the Notes application, the options on the Calculations menu enable you to perform calculations. The calculations are described in the following table.
Important Information to Know
• Notes does not support editing programs. Use Program Editor instead.
• Notes does not support executing Lock or Unlock commands. Use Calculator instead.
• Notes does not display intermediate results obtained using the "Disp" command.
Use Calculator instead.
• Notes does not support user-defined dialog boxes obtained using the "Request,"
"RequestStr," or "Text" commands. Use Calculator instead.
• Notes does not support the execution of multiple statistics commands that produce stat. variables.
Function Menu
Name
Menu
Option
6: Calculations
Define a variable in a Note using the Calculator application.
1:
Define
Variables
2:
Number
3:
Algebra
4:
Calculus
3
(CAS):
Algebra
4
Use tools from the Calculator Number menu, including Convert to Decimal, Approximate to Fraction, Factor, Least Common
Multiple, Greatest Common Divisor, Remainder, Fraction
Tools, Number Tools, and Complex Number Tools.
Use tools from the Calculator Algebra menu, including
Numerical Solve, Solve System of Linear Equations, Polynomial
Tools.
Use tools from the Calculus menu including Numerical
Derivative at a Point, Numerical Definite Integral, Sum,
Product, Numerical Function Minimum, and Numerical
Function Maximum.
Use tools from the Calculator Algebra menu, including Solve,
Factor, Expand, Zeros, Numerical Solve, Solve System of
Equations, Polynomial Tools, Fraction Tools, Convert
Expressions, Trigonometry, Complex, and Extract.
Use tools from the Calculus menu including Derivative,
Derivative at a Point, Integral, Limit, Sum, Product, Function
Notes Application 415
Menu
Name
Menu
Option
(CAS):
Calculus
5:
Probability
6:
Statistics
Function
Minimum, Function Maximum, Tangent Line, Normal Line, Arc
Length, Series, Differential Equation Solver, Implicit
Differentiation, and Numerical Calculations
Use tools from the Calculator Probability menu, including
Factorial, Permutations, Combinations, Random, and
Distributions.
Use tools from the Calculator Statistics menu, including Stat
Calculations, Stat Results, List Math, List Operations, and others.
Use tools from the Calculator Matrix & Vector menu, including
Create, Transpose, Determinant, Row-Echelon Form, Reduced
Row-Echelon Form, Simultaneous, and others.
7:
Matrix &
Vector
8:
Finance
Use tools from the Calculator Finance menu, including Finance
Solver, TVM Functions, Amortization, Cash Flows, Interest
Conversions, and Days between Dates.
Note: For more information, see the Calculator chapter.
Exploring Notes with Examples
This section shows you how the Notes application works with other applications to automatically update results.
Example #1: Using Notes to Explore Roots of a Quadratic Function
1. Open a new document and select the Notes application.
2. Define a function in a math box, evaluate, and hide the output using the Math Box attributes.
416 Notes Application
3. Type some more text; for example:
Real Roots of f1(x) are:
4. In a new math box, type:
polyRoots(f1(x),x)
.
5. Press
Enter
and hide the input of this math box by using the Math Box attributes dialog box.
6. Use the Page Layout toolbar icon to select the split layout.
7. Add the Graph application and plot
f1(x)
.
See how the roots of
f1
change when the function is modified in Graph.
Notes Application 417
Example #2: Using Notes to Explore Data Sampling
This example shows how to create a sampling distribution of sample means drawn from a given population. We will be able to watch the sampling distribution take shape for a given sample size and describe its characteristics. You can change the population and the sample size.
1. Set up the population and the sample size.
a) Type
Create sample data:
b) Insert a math expression box and define the population. For example, type
population:=seq(n,n,1,50)
.
c) Press
Enter
and hide the output using the Math Expression Box Attributes dialog box.
d) Insert a math expression box and define the sample size. For example, type
size:=5
.
e) Press
Enter
and hide the output using the Math Expression Box Attributes dialog box.
2. Set up the initialization.
a) Type
Start taking samples:
b) Insert a math expression box and set the initial values for the number of samples (
num
) and the list of sample means (
sampmeans
). Type:
num:=0:sampmeans:={}
c) Press
Enter
and hide the output using the Math Expression Box Attributes dialog box.
418 Notes Application
d) Deactivate the math expression box using
Actions > Deactivate
. The deactivation will prevent the content of that math box from being overwritten when the values for num and sampmeans change. The deactivated math box will be shown with the light color background.
3. Set up Data & Statistics for the sampling.
a) Change the page layout and insert Data & Statistics.
b) Click on the horizontal axis and add sampmeans list.
c) Change the window setting: XMins=1 and XMax = 50.
d) You can also set up the plot of the mean of sample means using
Analyze > Plot
Value
.
4. Enter the instructions to add data.
a) Type
Create new samples:
b) Insert a math expression to define the sample (sample) and update the number of samples and the list of sample means. Type:
num:=num+1:sample:=randsamp(population,size): sampmeans:=augment(sampmeans,{mean(sample)})
c) Press
Enter
, hide the output, and turn off the expression wrapping using the
Math Expression Box Attributes dialog box.
Notes Application 419
d) Deactivate the math expression box using
Actions > Deactivate
to prevent the contents of the math box from changing when
num
and
sampmeans
values are reinitialized.
e) Create math expression boxes that display the current number of experiments
(
num
), sample (
sample
), and the list of sample means (
sampmeans
).
5. Now you are ready to explore. Add more samples by simply pressing
Enter
when you are in the math expression box in the "Create new samples" section.
Note:
You can also automate the sampling process by using a
For ... EndFor
loop.
420 Notes Application
You can also change the sample size and restart the sampling.
Notes Application 421
422
Prenesi
Oglas