Last updated. Adobe ACROBAT XI
Anúncio
Anúncio
Forms
Show Text Field Overflow Indicator
Displays a plus sign (+) in text fields that exceed the bounds specified when the fields were created.
Always Hide Forms Document Message Bar
Hides the forms document message bar by default whenever a PDF form is opened in Adobe Reader unless the document message bar has a Submit Form button. If the message bar has a Submit
Form button, you can’t hide the message bar.
Show Field Preview When Creating Or Editing Form Fields
Displays the appearance of a form field when you create or edit forms.
Manage Barcode Parameters
Opens a dialog box with a list of barcode items (including the Parameter Set Name,
Symbology, and Built-in status for each item). Includes New, Edit, Delete, Import, and Export buttons for working with new or selected parameter sets.
Highlight Color
Show Border Hover Color For Fields
Displays a black outline around a form field when you place the pointer over it.
Fields Highlight Color
Opens a color picker for selecting the color of highlighted form fields. The highlight appears when the Highlight Existing Fields button on the document message bar is clicked.
Required Fields Highlight Color
Opens a color picker for selecting the border color of form fields that must be filled in.
The border appears for required form fields when the Highlight Existing Fields button is selected or after you attempt to submit the form.
Auto-Complete
Auto-Complete menu
Displays three options for Auto-Complete: Off, Basic, or Advanced.
Remember Numerical Data
Suggests your previously entered numerical entries when you type the same first character into a similar field. When deselected, Auto-Complete offers suggestions only for text entries. (Available only when
Basic or Advanced is selected.)
Edit Entry List
Displays current entries stored in the Auto-Complete memory. You can select and delete any entries that you don’t want to keep for filling in future forms. (This option isn’t available if no entries are in the memory.)
More Help topics
Auto-Complete forms (interactive forms only)
230
Setting action buttons in PDF forms
More Help topics
PDF forms basics
About buttons
Buttons are most commonly associated with forms, but you can add them to any document. Buttons can open a file, play a sound or movie clip, submit data to a web server, and much more. When deciding on how to initiate an action, remember that buttons offer the following capabilities that links and bookmarks do not:
• A button can activate a single action or a series of actions.
Last updated 1/14/2015
Forms
• A button can change appearance in response to mouse actions.
• A button can be easily copied across many pages.
• Mouse actions can activate different button actions. For example, Mouse Down (a click), Mouse Up (releasing after a click), Mouse Enter (moving the pointer over the button), and Mouse Exit (moving the pointer away from the button) can all start a different action for the same button.
Buttons are an easy, intuitive way to let users initiate an action in PDF documents. Buttons can have a combination of labels and icons to lead users through a series of actions or events by changing as the mouse is moved. For example, you can create buttons with “Play,” “Pause,” and “Stop” labels and appropriate icons. Then you can set actions for these buttons to play, pause, and stop a movie clip. You can select any combination of mouse behaviors for a button and specify any combination of actions for a mouse behavior.
Add a button to an Acrobat PDF form
1
Make sure you are in edit mode by selecting Tools > Forms > Edit, and then select Button from the Add New Field list. Your curser becomes a cross hair.
2
On the page, click where you want to add the button to create a button with the default size. For a custom size button, drag a rectangle to define the size of the button.
3
Double-click the button field, and then specify a name, tool tip text, and other common properties.
4
Click the Appearance tab, and then specify options to determine the button appearance on the page. Remember, if you select a background color, you are not able to see through to any images behind the button. The text options affect the label you specify in the Options tab, not the button name in the General tab.
Note: If Enable Right-To-Left Language Options is selected in the International panel of the Preferences dialog box, the
Appearance tab includes options for changing the digit style and text direction for buttons.
5
Click the Options tab, and select options to determine how labels and icons appear on the button.
6
Click the Actions tab. Specify options to determine what happens when the button is clicked, such as jumping to a different page or playing a media clip.
7
Click Close.
If you’re creating a set of buttons, you can snap the object to grid lines or guides.
231
Add a submit button
When you distribute a form, Acrobat automatically checks the form. If it doesn’t find a submit button, it adds a Submit
Form button to the document message bar. Users can click the Submit Form button to send completed forms back to you. If you don’t plan to use the Submit Form button created by Acrobat, you can add a custom submit button to your form.
1
If you are not in form editing mode, choose Tools > Forms > Edit. The Forms task pane opens.
2
Using the Button tool , drag across the area where you want the button to appear. Double-click the button and set options in the General and Options tabs.
3
In the Options tab, choose an option in the Layout menu for the button label, icon image, or both. Do one or both of the following:
• Type text in the Label box to identify the button as a submit button.
• Click Choose Icon and either type the path to an image file or click Browse and locate the image file you want to use.
Last updated 1/14/2015
Forms
4
In the Actions tab, choose Submit A Form on the Select Action menu, and then click Add.
5
In the Submit Form Selections dialog box, do one of the following:
• To collect form data on a server, type the location in the Enter a URL for this link. For example, http://www.[domain]/[folder]/[subfolder]/ for an Internet address or \\[server]\[folder]\[subfolder]\ for a location on a local network.
• To collect form data as attachments to email, type mailto: followed by the email address. For example, mailto:[email protected].
6
Select options for Export Format, Field Selection, and Date Options, and click OK.
Note: If the data returns in FDF or XFDF format, the server URL must end with the #FDF suffix—for example, http://myserver/cgi-bin/myscript#FDF.
Submit Form Selections options
The following options are available in the Submit Forms Selections dialog box:
Enter a URL for this link
Specifies the URL to collect the form data.
FDF
Returns the user input without sending back the underlying PDF file. You can select options to include Field Data,
Comments, and Incremental Changes To The PDF.
Note: Selecting the option for incremental changes is useful for receiving digital signatures in a way that is easily read and reconstructed by a server.
HTML
Returns the form in Hypertext Markup Language.
XFDF
Returns the user input as an XML file. You can include Comments with the field data or just the field data.
Returns the entire PDF file with the user input.
Field Selection
Specifies what fields are returned. To receive only some of the completed field data, select Only These, click Select Fields, and select which fields to include or exclude in the Field Selection dialog box.
For example, you might use this to exclude some calculated or duplicate fields that appear in the form for the user’s benefit but which do not add new information.
Date Options
Standardizes the format for dates that the user enters.
Making buttons change appearance
A button can have a label, an icon, or both. You can change how the button appears in each mouse state (Up, Down, and Rollover). For example, you could create a button that has a “Home” label until the pointer is moved over the button, when it might have a “Click to return to home page” label.
You can make button icons from any file format that Acrobat can display, including PDF, JPEG, GIF, and other image formats. For whichever format you select, the entire page is used, so if you want to use only a portion of a page as an icon, you need to crop the image or page before carrying out this procedure. The smallest allowable PDF page size is 1by-1 inch (2.54-by-2.54 cm). If you want the icon to appear smaller than 1-by-1 inch, scale it to fit the size of the box drawn with the button tool. Clicking Advanced in the Options tab of the Button Properties dialog box lets you determine how a button icon is scaled to fit inside a button.
232
Last updated 1/14/2015
Forms
A Label only B Icon only C Icon top, label bottom D Label top, icon bottom E Icon left, label right F Label left, icon right G Label over icon
Edit a button
1
If you are not in form editing mode, choose Tools > Forms > Edit. The Forms task pane opens.
2
Select the Button field, and then do any of the following:
• To edit the properties for the button field, double-click the button.
• To change the appearance of buttons, use the appearance options in the Appearance tab of the Button Properties dialog box.
• To align, center, or distribute the button with other form fields, or to resize or duplicate the button, right-click the button, and then choose an option from the context menu.
Specify Acrobat button display properties
1
If you are not in form editing mode, choose Tools > Forms > Edit. The Forms task pane opens.
2
Double-click an existing button, and then click the Options tab in the Button Properties dialog box.
3
For Layout, choose the type of label display you want. (For information on scaling button icons, see the next procedure.)
4
For Behavior, specify the display of the button when clicked.
5
To define the label or icon that appears on the button, do the following:
• If a label option is selected from the Layout menu, type the text in the Label box.
• If an icon option is selected from the Layout menu, click Choose Icon, click Browse, and select the file. (Click
Clear to remove the selected icon.)
Button Behavior options
None
Keeps the appearance of the button the same.
Push
Specifies appearances for the Up, Down, and Rollover states of the mouse. Select an option under State, and then specify a label or icon option:
Up
Determines what the button looks like when the mouse button isn’t clicked.
Down
Determines what the button looks like when the mouse is clicked on the button, but before it’s released.
Rollover
Determines what the button looks like when the pointer is held over the button.
Outline
Highlights the button border.
Invert
Reverses the dark and light shades of the button.
Scale and position buttons
1
If you are not in form editing mode, choose Tools > Forms > Edit.
2
Double-click an existing button to open the Button Properties dialog box.
3
Click the Options tab, select one of the icon options from the Layout menu, and then click Advanced.
Last updated 1/14/2015
233
Forms
Note: The Advanced button isn’t available if you choose Label Only from the Layout menu.
4
Select an option from the When To Scale menu:
Always
Scales the icon as defined regardless of its size in relation to the button size.
Never
Preserves the original size of the icon; the button border crops the icon if it doesn’t fit. If Never is selected, scale options aren’t available.
Icon Is Too Big
Scales the icon as defined only if it is larger than the button.
Icon Is Too Small
Scales the icon as defined only if it is smaller than the button.
5
From the Scale menu, select whether to scale the icon proportionally. If the icon is scaled nonproportionally, it may be skewed.
6
To make sure that either the top and bottom or left and right sides of the icon are flush against the button edges, select Fit To Bounds.
7
To define where the icon is placed inside the button, drag the slider arrows. Icon placement is defined according to the percentage of space preserved between the icon and the left field boundary, and between the icon and the bottom field boundary. The default setting (50, 50) places the icon in the middle of a field. You can click Reset at any time to revert to the default placement setting.
8
Click OK, and then click Close.
Hide an Acrobat button except during rollover
In some cases, you may want the button area to be invisible until the pointer moves over it. By alternately showing and hiding a button, you can create interesting visual effects in a document. For example, when you move a pointer over a city on a map, a detail map of the city could be displayed, and the detail map could disappear when the pointer moves away from the city.
234
A Pointer not over button area B Pointer enters button area C Pointer exits button area
1
If you are not in form editing mode, choose Tools > Forms > Edit. The Forms task pane opens.
5
6
3
4
2
Using the Button tool , drag across the area where you want the pop-up button to appear. For example, if the PDF file contains a map of France, drag across the area where you want a detailed map of Paris to pop up.
Double-click the button.
Click the Options tab, and choose Icon Only from the Layout menu.
Choose Push from the Behavior menu, and then choose Rollover from the State list.
Click Choose Icon, and then click Browse. Select the file type from the File Of Type, navigate to the location of the image file, and then double-click the file. In this example, you would select a map of Paris. Click OK to accept the previewed image as the button.
7
Click the Appearance tab. If needed, deselect Border Color and Fill Color, and then click Close.
8
If you are in the edit mode, click Preview. The image field you defined appears as the pointer rolls over the button area and disappears when it exits.
Last updated 1/14/2015
Forms
If you want the image to be larger than the rollover area, or if you want the image to be in a different location than the image button that pops up, use the Show/Hide A Field action. First, you specify an icon for the button that will be shown and hidden. Next, you create a second button that acts as a hot spot when the mouse rolls over it. You do not assign an icon for the appearance of the second button. Instead, you use the Actions tab to show the first button when the pointer enters the second button, and hide the first button when the pointer exits.
235
Publishing interactive PDF web forms
More Help topics
PDF forms basics
About web forms
PDF forms can be useful for submitting and collecting information over the web. This is done by providing several button actions that perform functions similar to some HTML scripting macros. You must have a Common Gateway
Interface (CGI) application on the web server to collect and route the data to a database. Any existing CGI application that collects data from forms (in HTML, FDF, or XML format) can be used.
Before you make your forms web-ready, make sure that your form-field names match those set in the CGI application.
Note: CGI scripts must be built outside Acrobat, and their creation is not covered by the Adobe Acrobat product.
Add submit functionality
Use the Submit A Form action to send form data to an email address or to a web server by specifying a URL. You can also use the submit button to send other files back to a server or database. For example, you can attach scanned images or files to a form. The files are submitted along with the rest of the form data when you click the Submit button.
If your PDF form contains an email-based submit button, you can use the Distribute workflow to facilitate distributing the form to others.
Select Tools > Forms > Edit, then select Button from the Add New Field list, and create a button.
3
4
1
2
Double-click the button to open the Button Properties dialog box.
Click the Actions tab, and select Mouse Up from the Select Trigger menu.
Select Submit A Form from the Select Action menu, and then click Add.
In the Submit Form Selections dialog box, type an entry in Enter A URL For This Link:
• To send the form data to a web server, enter the destination URL.
• To send the form data to an email address, enter mailto: followed by the email address. For example, type mailto:[email protected].
5
6
Make additional changes to the available options, and then click OK to close the dialog box.
Change settings on other tabs in the Button Properties dialog box as needed, and then click Close.
Last updated 1/14/2015
Forms
Submit Form Selections options
FDF
Exports as an FDF file. You can select one or more of the available options: user-entered data, comments, and incremental changes to the PDF file. The Incremental Changes To The PDF option is useful for exporting a digital signature in a way a server can easily read and reconstruct.
Note: If the server returns data to the user in FDF or XFDF format, the server’s URL must end with the #FDF suffix—for example, http://myserver/cgi-bin/myscript#FDF.
HTML
Exports as an HTML file.
XFDF
Exports as an XML file. You can choose to export the form fields data, comments, or both.
PDF The Complete Document
Exports the entire PDF file that is your form. Although this creates a larger file than the
FDF option, it is useful for preserving digital signatures.
Note: If the users that fill in the PDF form are using Adobe Reader, you must choose either FDF or XFDF for the Export
Format option.
All Fields
Exports all form fields even if the form fields do not contain values.
Only These
Exports only the form fields you specify by clicking Select Fields and indicating which form fields to include and whether you want to include empty fields.
Convert Date To Standard Format
Exports all form dates in a single format, regardless of how they are entered in the form.
Add a Reset Form button
A Reset Form button clears any data a user has already entered in the form. It is like the Tools > Forms > Other Tasks
> Clear Form feature, which is available to you when you create and edit Acrobat forms. However, you can set up your reset button so that it clears only specific fields.
Select Tools > Forms > Edit, then select the Button tool from the Add New Field list, and create a button.
3
4
1
2
Double-click the button to open the Button Properties dialog box.
Click the Actions tab, and select Mouse Up from the Select Trigger menu.
Select Reset A Form from the Select Action menu, and then click Add.
In the Reset A Form dialog box, do one of the following and then click OK:
• Click individual check boxes to select or deselect the fields that you want to be reset by the button.
• Select All.
The list in the Actions tab now shows Reset A Form nested under the Mouse Up action.
As needed, you can open other tabs in the Button Properties dialog box and apply other types of properties to the button.
Add an Import Data button
Use the Import Form Data action to enable users to fill out common form fields, such as name and email address, with data imported from another form. Users can also use the Import Data button to populate common form fields with their personal profile information. Only form fields that match are updated. The fields that do not match are ignored.
Before you create an Import Form Data action, set up a form with common information form fields from which to export the data.
236
Last updated 1/14/2015
Forms
Note: The Import Form Data action searches for the data file from which to import data in different locations in Windows than on Mac OS. In Windows, the Import Form Data action searches the Acrobat or Adobe Reader folder, the current folder, the System folder, the Windows folder, My Documents\Adobe\Acrobat, and the folders that are in the PATH statement. On Mac OS, the Import Form Data action searches the Acrobat or Adobe Reader folder and the System
Preferences folder.
Select Tools > Forms > Edit, then select Button from the Add New Field list, and create a button.
1
2
Double-click the button to open the Button Properties dialog box.
3
4
Click the Actions tab, and select Mouse Up from the Select Trigger menu.
Select Import Form Data from the Select Action menu, and then click Add.
5
Locate and select an FDF file, and click Open.
Click another tab in the Button Properties dialog box to continue defining properties for the button, or click Close.
CGI export values
An export value is the information sent to a CGI application to identify a user-selected form field. You need to define an export value only if both of the following are true:
• The data is collected electronically in a database over a company intranet or the web.
• The data is different from the item designated by the form field, or the form field is a radio button.
When defining export values, keep the following guidelines in mind:
• Use the default export value (Yes) to indicate that a check box or radio button has been selected.
• Enter an export value for dropdown lists boxes or list boxes only if you want the value to be different from the item listed—for example, to match the name of the form field in a database. The item selected in the dropdown list box or list box is used as the export value unless a different export value is explicitly entered in the Properties dialog box.
• Related radio buttons must have exactly the same form field name but different export values. This ensures that the radio buttons toggle and that the correct values will be collected in the database.
More Help topics
Form fields behavior
Manage form data files
Add a button to an Acrobat PDF form
237
PDF form field properties
More Help topics
PDF forms basics
Last updated 1/14/2015
Forms
About form field properties
How a form field behaves is determined by settings in the Properties dialog box for that individual field. You can set properties that apply formatting, determine how the form field information relates to other form fields, impose limitations on what the user can enter in the form field, trigger custom scripts, and so forth.
You can set a variety of properties for an Acrobat form field, depending on the form field type. The properties for each type of form field are selected on a series of tabs. When you change a property, it is applied as soon as you select another property or press Enter.
All types of form fields have a General tab and an Actions tab. Other tabs appear only in specific types of form fields.
The Options tab appears for most form field types but the options available are unique to each type of form field.
Two items are available on every tab. If you select one on any tab, a check mark will appear, and the option will be checked on all tabs. These are: LockedWhen selected, prevents any further changes to any form field properties.CloseCloses the form field Properties dialog box. If you are changing the properties of multiple fields, you can leave the Properties dialog box open. Click on each field to change its properties.
Note: If you select Locked on any tab, it locks all options for the field, not just the options on that tab.
Modify form field properties
You can access Acrobat form field properties only when you are in editing mode. You can change the properties for multiple form fields at a time.
1
If you are not in form editing mode, choose Tools > Forms > Edit.
2
Open the Properties dialog box using one of the following methods:
• To edit a single form field, double-click it or right-click it and choose Properties.
• To edit multiple form fields, select the fields that you want to edit, right-click one of the selected fields, and choose Properties.
3
Change the properties on each of the available tabs, as needed.
The property is changed as soon as you select another property or press Enter.
4
Click Close to close the Properties dialog box.
If you select form fields that have different property values, some options in the Properties dialog box are not available.
Otherwise, changes to the available options are applied to all selected form fields.
To avoid accidental changes to the form field, select Locked in the lower-left corner of the Properties dialog box before you close it. To unlock, click the option again.
General tab for form field properties
The General tab appears for all types of form fields and includes the following options:
Name
Specifies the unique name of the selected form field.
Tooltip
Displays text that the hesitant user may find helpful in filling in the form field. Tooltips appear when the pointer hovers briefly over the form field.
Form Field
Specifies whether the form field can be seen, either on screen or in print. The choices are: Visible, Hidden,
Visible But Doesn’t Print, and Hidden But Printable.
Orientation
Rotates the form field by 0, 90, 180, or 270 Degrees
Read Only
Prevents the user from changing the form field content.
Last updated 1/14/2015
238
Forms
Required
Forces the user to fill in the selected form field. If the user attempts to submit the form while a required field is blank, an error message appears and the empty required form field is highlighted.
Appearance tab for form field properties
Appearance properties determine how the form field looks on the page. The Appearance tab appears for all types of form fields except barcodes, and includes the following options:
Border Color
Opens a color picker in which you can select a color swatch for the frame surrounding the field. To leave the field without a frame, select No Color.
Line Thickness
Specifies the width of the frame surrounding the form field: Thin, Medium, or Thick.
Fill Color
Opens a color picker in which you can select a color swatch for the background behind the field. To leave the field uncolored, select No Color.
note: A Fill Color choice other than No Color will block any images on the PDF page that are behind the form field.
Line Style
Alters the appearance of the frame. Select Solid, Dashed, Beveled, Inset, or Underline.
Font Size
Sets the size of user-entered text or of the selection marker for radio buttons and check boxes. The choices include Auto, various preset values, and typing in a different value. If you select Auto for a text field, as the user types, the font size changes to fit the text in the box.
Text Color
Opens a color picker in which you can select a color swatch for the text or selection marker.
Font
Lists the fonts available on your computer. This option is not available for form fields that do not display text.
Note: The Enable Right-To-Left Language Options in the Language panel of the Preferences dialog box affects what appears in the Appearance tab of the Properties dialog box. When that preference is selected, the Appearance tab includes options for changing the digit style and text direction for text fields, drop-down list boxes, and list boxes.
Position tab for form field properties
The Position tab lets you position or size the currently selected field or fields. You can move fields to the location you specify on the page. Use the Height and Width options to change only the size of fields. To move fields without resizing them, choose Do Not Change Height And Width When Changing The Position.
Options tab for form field properties
The options available on this tab change according to the type of form field selected. The Options tab appears for all form field types except digital signatures.
Barcode
The Options tab for barcode field properties contains the following:
Symbology
Includes the PDF417, QR Code, and Data Matrix barcode types.
note: If your organization processes forms by multiple methods, select the method that accommodates the lowest quality barcode images. For example, if forms will be returned by fax and mail, choose Fax Server as the decode condition to ensure high read rates on all forms.
Compress Data Before Encoding To Barcode
Specifies that data will be compressed before it is encoded. Data is compressed with the Flate compression method. Compressed data usually requires less storage space in the barcode, allowing more data to be stored. In general, select this option if you will use the Acrobat barcode forms decoder to
239
Last updated 1/14/2015
Forms
interpret the returned data. Do not select this option if you will use a handheld barcode scanner, because most of these cannot decode compressed data.
Decode Condition
The preset decode conditions represent recommended starting points that you can adjust by clicking the Custom button.
Custom
Opens a dialog box in which you can select custom processing parameters that are best for your specific scanning and faxing hardware. (The available options vary according to barcode types.)
X Dimension
Width, in mils (1 mil = 0.001 inch or 0.0254mm), of the cell.
Y/X Ratio
Height/width ratio of the cell. For example, for a data cell that is twice as high as it is wide, enter 2. (Available only for PDF417 barcodes.)
note: If you are planning to decode the barcode using a handheld laser scanner, avoid creating barcodes wider than 4 inches
(10.2 cm). Taller and narrower barcodes generally work better with handheld scanners. Barcode height and width will not be an issue if you are using an Adobe barcode decoder (available separately).
Error Correction Level
Corresponds to the level of data redundancy that is added to the barcode to correct any potential decoding errors. Higher levels provide more redundancy and a more robust barcode that will generate more successful decode results. However, higher levels will also result in a larger barcode and a reduced ability to encode user-supplied or form structure data into the barcode. A more robust barcode can reduce problems created by pen marks, poor print quality, degradation caused by fax transmission, or folds in the document. This option is available for PDF417 and QR
Code barcodes.
Manage Barcode Parameters
Enables you to save your custom barcode selections in a file. You can then export the file and make it available to other form authors in your organization.
Check boxes
Check Box Style
Specifies the shape of the marker that appears inside the check box when the user selects it: Check (the default), Circle, Cross, Diamond, Square, or Star. This property does not alter the shape of the check box itself.
note: The size of the marker inside the check box is determined by the size of the font you specify in the Appearance tab.
Export Value
Specifies a value to represent the item if the data will be exported. If left blank, the entry for Name in the
General tab is used as the export value.
Check Box Is Checked By Default
Shows the check box selected unless the user deselects it.
Drop-down and list box
For either dropdown boxes or list boxes, you use the Options tab to create a list of items from which the user selects.
Although most of the properties on this tab are common to both these types of form fields, a few are exclusive to one type or the other.
Item
Accepts the text that you type for options that you want to appear in the menu for the field.
Add
Moves the current entry in Item to the Item List.
Export Value
Where you type in a value to represent the item if the data will be exported. If left blank, the entry for
Name in the General tab is used as the export value.
Item List
Displays the choices that will be available in the list.
note: The highlighted item in the Item List box appears as the default selected item in the dropdown box or list box field.
To change the default item, highlight another item from the list.
Up and Down buttons
Change the order in which the items are listed in the drop-down list. These buttons are not available if Sort Items is selected.
Last updated 1/14/2015
240
Forms
Delete
Removes the selected item from the list.
Sort Items
Arranges the listed items numerically and alphabetically. A numerical sort (if applicable) is performed before an alphabetical sort.
Allow User To Enter Custom Text
(Dropdown only) Enables users to enter a value other than the ones in the list.
Check Spelling
(Dropdown only) Checks the spelling of user-entered text. This option is applicable only if Allow User
To Enter Custom Text is selected.
Multiple Selection
(List boxes only) Enables users to choose more than one item in the list.
Commit Selected Value Immediately
Saves the value as soon as the user selects it. If this option is not selected, the value is saved only when the user tabs out of the current field or clicks another form field. For list boxes only, this option is not available if Multiple Selection is selected.
Radio buttons
Create a group of radio buttons if you want the user to select only one choice among a set of choices. All the radio buttons in a group have the same Name, but each button has a different Button Value.
Button Style
Specifies the shape of the marker that appears inside the button when the user selects it: Check, Circle (the default), Cross, Diamond, Square, or Star. This property does not alter the shape of the radio button itself.
Radio Button Choice
Identifies the radio button and differentiates it from other radio buttons that have the same Name value.
Button Is Checked By Default
Sets the selection state of the button when the user first opens the form.
Buttons With The Same Name And Content Are Selected In Unison
Allows single-click selection of multiple related radio buttons. For example, if the user selects a radio button that has the same field name and selected content as another, both radio buttons are selected.
Text Fields
Text fields accept user input, which can be alphabetic characters, numbers, or both.
Alignment
Aligns the text left, right, or center within the field.
Default Value
Specifies the text that appears until the user overwrites it by typing in the field. Enter the default value by typing in this option.
Multi-line
Allows more than a single-line entry in the text field.
Scroll Long Text
Compensates for text that extends beyond the boundaries of the text field.
Allow Rich Text Formatting
Allows users to apply styling information to the text, such as bold or italic. This might be useful in certain text fields where such styling information is important to the meaning of the text, such as an essay.
Limit Of Characters
Allows entries of up to the number of characters you specify.
Note: If you entered a default value, that value is clipped to this limit.
Password
Displays the user-entered text as a series of asterisks (*). This option is available only if Check Spelling is deselected.
Field Is Used For File Selection
Allows the user to enter a file path as the field’s value when a file is submitted along with the form. This option is available only when Scroll Long Text is the only selected option in the Options tab.
Check Spelling
Checks the spelling of user-entered text.
241
Last updated 1/14/2015
Forms
Comb Of Characters
Spreads the user-entered text evenly across the width of the text field. If a border color is specified in the Appearance tab, each character entered in the field is separated by lines of that color. This option is available only when no other check box is selected.
242
A Four text fields with a border color, using the Comb property B Text field without the Comb property
Actions tab for form field properties
Actions properties specify any actions that you want to associate with the form field, such as jumping to a specific page or playing a media clip. The Actions tab appears for all types of form fields and includes the following options:
Select Trigger
Specifies the user action that initiates an action: Mouse Up, Mouse Down, Mouse Enter, Mouse Exit, On
Focus, or On Blur.
Select Action
Specifies the event that occurs when the user triggers the action: Execute A Menu Item, Go To A
3D/Multimedia View, Go To A Page View; Import Form Data, Multimedia Operation (Acrobat 9 and later), Open A
File, Open A Web Link, Play A Sound, Play Media (Acrobat 5 Compatible), Play Media (Acrobat 6 And Later
Compatible), Read An Article, Reset A Form, Run A JavaScript, Set Layer Visibility, Show/Hide A Field, and Submit A
Form.
Add
Opens a window for the selected action.
Actions
Displays the list of triggers and actions that you’ve defined.
Up and down buttons
Change the order in which the selected action appears listed under the trigger. (Available only when you have defined multiple actions for the same trigger.)
Edit
Opens a dialog box with specific options for the selected action.
Delete
Removes the selected action or trigger-action pair.
Calculate tab for form field properties
The Calculate tab appears in the Properties dialog boxes for only text fields and dropdown boxes. Use these options to perform mathematical operations on existing form field entries and display the result.
Value Is Not Calculated
Select this if you want the user to type.
Value Is The
Select this to make further options available:
Pop-up menu
Lists the mathematical functions to apply to the selected fields. Choose Sum to add the values entered in the selected fields, Product to multiply them, Average, Minimum, or Maximum.
Pick
Opens a dialog box with a list of the available fields in the form that you select to add or deselect to remove from the calculation.
Simplified Field Notation
Uses JavaScript with field names and simple arithmetic signs. The Edit button opens a dialog box in which you can write, edit, and add scripts.
Last updated 1/14/2015
Forms
Note: Field names are case-sensitive.
Custom Calculation Script
Displays any custom scripts you have added for calculations. The Edit button opens a dialog box in which you can write and add new JavaScripts.
Set the calculation order of form fields
When you define two or more calculations in a form, the order in which they are carried out is the order in which you defined the calculations. In some cases, you may need to modify the calculation order to obtain correct results.
For example, if you wanted to use the result obtained from calculating two form fields to calculate the value of a third form field, the first two form fields must be calculated together first to obtain the correct final results.
1
Choose Forms > Tasks > Other Tasks > Set Field Calculation Order.
The Calculate Fields dialog box displays all calculable fields in your form and the order in which the calculations are performed.
2
To change the field calculation order, select the field from the list, and then click the Up or Down button as needed.
Acrobat automatically performs all assigned field calculations when you are creating and testing your form fields. For convenience while you work, you can turn off automatic calculation in the forms preferences.
Signed tab for form field properties
The Signed tab is available only in the Digital Signature Properties dialog box. Selections made here determine what happens when the user applies a digital signature to the form.
Nothing Happens When Signed
This is the default.
Mark As Read-Only
Prevents further changes to the digitally signed form, according to the selection in the pop-up menu:
All Fields
Prevents any changes to any form field.
All Fields Except These
Allows changes only to the form fields you select by clicking the Pick button and selecting check boxes for the fields that you want the user to be able to edit after signing.
Just These Fields
Prevents changes in only the form fields you pick.
This Script Executes When Field Is Signed
Activates a custom JavaScript when the user digitally signs the form. Use the
Edit button to change or create a new JavaScript action.
Format tab for form field properties
The Format tab appears in the Properties dialog box for only text form fields or dropdown form fields. The options that are available depend on your selection in the Select Format Category pop-up menu.
The Example of Current Format field displays a live preview of the settings.
None
No additional options are available. The input in a text or dropdown box with this property does not require any specific formatting.
243
Last updated 1/14/2015
Forms
Number
Automatically imposes the selected formatting options on numeric data entries.
Decimal Places
Sets the number of digits that appear to the right of the decimal point.
Separator Style
Sets the placement of commas and periods.
Currency Symbol
Sets the type of currency, such as Euros, Dollars, or Yen.
Symbol Location
Sets the location of the currency symbol in relation to the number. This field is enabled if a currency symbol is selected.
Negative Number Style
Sets how negative numbers are displayed. You can choose Show Parentheses, Use Red Text, neither, or both.
Percentage
Automatically imposes the selected formatting options on numeric data expressed as a percentage.
Decimal Places
Sets the number of digits that appear to the right of the decimal point
Separator Style
Sets the placement of commas and periods.
Date
List includes one-, two-, and four-digit variations where d stands for the day, m stands for month, and y stands for year.
Time
List includes display variations where h stands for the hour on a 12-hour clock, H stands for the hour on a 24-hour clock, MM stands for minutes, ss stands for the seconds, and tt stands for AM or PM.
Special
Zip Code
For a five-digit U.S. postal code.
Zip Code + 4
For a nine-digit U.S. postal code.
Phone Number
For a ten-digit telephone number.
Social Security Number
For a nine-digit U.S. Social Security Number. Hyphens are inserted automatically after the third and fifth digits.
Arbitrary Mask
Changes the format category to Custom and makes another text field available, in which you can type a custom format. Use this option to specify which types of characters the user can enter in any given position, and how the data displays in the field.
A
Accepts only letters (A–Z, a-z).
X
Accepts spaces and most printable characters, including all characters available on a standard keyboard and ANSI characters in the ranges of 32–126 and 128–255.
O
The letter “O” accepts alphanumeric characters (A–Z, a-z, and 0–9).
9
Accepts only numeric characters (0–9).
For example, a mask setting of AAA--p#999 accepts the input BOE--p#767. A mask setting of OOOOO@XXX accepts the input vad12@3Up.
244
Last updated 1/14/2015
Forms
Custom
Makes additional options available to form designers who want to write their own JavaScripts for formatting and keystrokes. For example, a custom script could define a new currency format or limit the user entry to specific keystroke characters.
Custom Format Script
Displays any custom scripts you have added for formats. The Edit button opens a dialog box in which you can write and add new scripts.
Custom Keystroke Script
Displays any custom scripts you have added to validate keystrokes. The Edit button opens a dialog box in which you can write and add new scripts.
To get the JavaScript for Acrobat API Reference, see the Acrobat Developer Center at www.adobe.com/go/learn_acr_javascript_en (PDF, English only).
Validation tab for form field properties
The Validation tab appears only in the Text Field Properties and Dropdown box Properties dialog boxes. Validation properties restrict entries to specified ranges, values, or characters, ensuring that users enter the appropriate data for a specified form field.
Field Value Is Not Validated
Turns off validation.
Field Value Is In Range
Sets a numeric range for form fields using values you enter in either as a number or a percentage.
Run Custom Validation Script
Validates by a JavaScript that you create or provide.
More Help topics
Adding JavaScript to forms
Value tab for form field properties
The Value tab appears for barcode form fields only.
Encode Using
Activates these options:
Last updated 1/14/2015
245
Forms
XML
Encodes the data into the barcode in standard XFDF format. JavaScript script is automatically generated.
Tab Delimited
Encodes the fields into the barcode as tab-delimited values. JavaScript script is automatically generated.
If the form is configured to output the data in individual XFDF or XDP files, the data must be in a tab-delimited format with the field names in the first line. This option is also useful if you want to fit more data into a barcode or if you intend to copy the data into database or spreadsheet tables.
Pick
Opens a dialog box in which you select which user data fields will be encoded in the barcode for you to retrieve.
Include Field Names
(Available only when Tab Delimited encoding is selected.) Encodes field names as the first line of the barcode contents. The values are encoded under them.
Custom Calculation Script
Displays the default script. Click the Edit button to open the JavaScript Editor dialog box, in which you can write custom calculation scripts for your barcode.
Reference To published Form
Shows the path to the PDF form. You can edit this by typing in the URL to the published form. Later, you can re-create a digital version of the completed form by merging the form template with an instance of user-supplied data. You can also maintain the relationship between a specific form template and its related barcode data files. When you encode a barcode using XML values, the URL reference is encoded into the barcode and is displayed on the form, below the barcode.
246
Manage custom barcode settings
You can save, reuse, and share a set of custom settings for barcode parameters, to apply them when you create new barcode form fields. You can make further adjustments to your custom parameter sets after you define them.
All of these processes begin by opening the barcode form field properties dialog box. To open the properties dialog box, double-click the barcode field.
Create a new barcode parameters set
1
In the Barcode Field Properties dialog box, click the Options tab, and then click Manage Barcode Parameters.
2
Select the existing parameter set that you want to use as the basis of the new set, and click New.
3
4
Type a name in the Name box and a description in the Description box.
Select options for Symbology, X Dimension, Y/X Ratio, and Error Correction Level, and then click OK.
The newly defined parameter set appears in the list in the Manage Barcode Parameters dialog box, and all the buttons on the right side of the dialog box become available. The new definition also appears in the Decode Condition menu in the Options tab of the Barcode Field Properties dialog box.
Edit or delete a set of custom barcode parameters
1
In the Barcode Field Properties dialog box, click the Options tab, and then click Manage Barcode Parameters.
2
Select a custom parameter set from the list.
3
Choose the appropriate action:
• Click Edit and make the changes to the settings; then click OK.
• Click Delete. Confirm the deletion in the message that appears by clicking OK.
Last updated 1/14/2015
Forms
Export or import a set of custom barcode parameters
1
In the Barcode Field Properties dialog box, click the Options tab, and then click Manage Barcode Parameters.
2
Choose the appropriate action:
• Select a barcode parameter set from the list and click Export. Select a location and file name for the file that has the file name extension .bps.
• Click Import, and navigate to and select the BPS file that you want to import.
Redefine form field property defaults
After you change properties for a specific type of form field, you can set those properties as the default set for that type.
For example, you can create a check box, change its properties, and then save the properties as the default values.
1
If necessary, choose Tools > Forms > Edit to go to form-editing mode.
2
Right-click the form field for which you have already changed properties, and choose Use Current Properties As
New Defaults.
Note: Changing the default properties does not change the settings for existing form fields of that type. The new defaults apply only to new fields that you create.
More Help topics
Adding JavaScript to forms
247
PDF form field basics
More Help topics
PDF forms basics
Create form fields
In Acrobat, you create a form field by choosing one of the form tools. For each field type, you can set various options through the form field Properties dialog box.
Open form editing mode
The form editing mode displays the Form task pane. Using the options in the Forms task pane you can add new fields, edit existing fields, and perform other form-related tasks.
• If you created a new form, it opens in form editing mode by default.
• For existing forms, choose Tools > Forms > Edit
The form now displays in the form editing mode, and the Forms task pane is opened.
Create a form field
1
After you convert your document to a PDF form, open the Forms task pane if it is not already open (Tools > Forms
> Edit).
Last updated 1/14/2015
Forms
2
Do one of the following:
• Click Add New Field, and then select the type of form field you want to add.
• Choose a form field from the Quick Access toolbar.
• Right-click the page and select a tool.
Your cursor becomes a crosshair, and displays a preview of the field.
3
On the page, click where you want to add the field to create a field with the default size. To create a field using a custom size, drag a rectangle to define the size of the field.
4
In the Field Name box, type the name of the field and specify if you want the field to be a required field. Choose a name that is relevant and descriptive to make organizing and collecting the data easier.
5
To display the Properties dialog box and modify any other field properties, click All Properties.
Note: If you have selected the Keep Tool Selected option in the forms toolbar (visible in the form editing mode), the Field
Name box doesn’t appear after adding a field. Each time you click the page, a new field is added to the form. To exit this mode, press the Esc key or click the Select Object Tool button . To modify the properties of the field, double-click the field.
6
To test your form, click the Preview button on the toolbar. Previewing a form allows you to view the form the same way the form recipients will and gives you a chance to verify the form. If you are previewing a form, you can click the Edit button to go back to the edit mode.
7
When your form is complete, click Close Form Editing.
Lay out form fields on a grid
You can use grids to help position form fields precisely on a page. You can define the grid spacing, color, and position.
You can also choose whether to have the boundaries of a form field snap to grid lines when you’re editing the form field.
Grid lines don’t print.
Choose View > Show/Hide > Rulers & Grids > Grid.
1
To make form fields snap to the nearest grid lines when you create or move them, choose View > Show/Hide > Rulers
& Grids > Snap To Grid.
Copy a form field
You can create copies of a form field on a single page of a PDF form. You can also copy a form field and paste it onto other pages. When you create duplicate form fields, replicas of the original field are added to one or more other pages.
The duplicate fields are always in the same position on each page as the original. Both copies and duplicates can be dragged to different locations on a page, but not from one page to another. Using the
Both copies and duplicates are created with the same basic name as the original form field. Copies and duplicates pasted using the Duplicate Across Pages command also have a number appended. All form fields with the same basic name share the same user data and action properties. Consequently, when a user adds or edits a response to a copy or duplicate field, the response appears in all fields with the same basic name.
If you change the properties of any one of multiple versions of a form field with the same basic name, those changes affect only that copy of the form field. The exception is when you change an Actions listing if the trigger isn’t a mouse action.
To prevent a duplicate or copied form field from reacting in unison with the original field, change the name of the new form field.
248
Last updated 1/14/2015
Forms
Create a copy of a form field
1
If you are not in the form editing mode, choose Tools > Forms > Edit.
2
Select the form field, and do one of the following:
• To copy the form field to the center of the current view, choose Edit > Copy, and then choose Edit > Paste.
• To copy the form field and move it to another location on the page, Ctrl-drag it.
Tip: To constrain the vertical or horizontal movement as you drag, press and hold Shift.
3
If you want the field to be automatically populated with the data the user types into the original field, leave the name as is. If the copied field is for unique user information, rename it.
Create multiple copies of a form field on a page
1
If you are not in the form editing mode, choose Tools > Forms > Edit.
2
Do one of the following:
• Right-click the form field and choose Create Multiple Copies.
• Select the form field and choose Tasks> Edit Fields > Create Multiple Copies.
3
In the Create Multiple Copies Of Fields dialog box, select Preview, and move the dialog box as needed so that you can see the original field and the copies on the form page.
4
Make the selections you want to apply:
• To change the number of copies being created, enter different values in the Copy Selected Fields Down and Copy
Selected Fields Across options.
• To change the dimensions of the original field and all the copies, enter different values in the Change Width and
Change Height options.
• To move the original field and all the copies, click the Up, Down, Left, and Right buttons.
5
If you want the fields to be automatically populated with the data the user types into the original field, leave the names as they are. If the copied fields are for unique user information, rename them.
Duplicate a form field across multiple pages
1
If you are not in the form editing mode, choose Tools > Forms > Edit.
2
Do one of the following:
• Right-click the form field and choose Duplicate Across Pages.
• Select the form field and choose Forms > Tasks> Edit Fields > Duplicate Across Pages.
note: The Duplicate command isn’t available for forms with only one page.
3
Do one of the following:
• To duplicate the form field on every page in the form, select All, and click OK.
• To duplicate the form field on a limited range of pages, click the From button, and type the start and ending pages on which you want the form field to appear. Then click OK.note: Including or not including the page on which the
form field originally appears doesn’t affect the duplication process. Including that page won’t create a second copy on top of the original one, and not including it won’t remove the original form field.
4
If you want the fields to be automatically populated with the data the user types into the original field, leave the names as they are. If the duplicate fields are for unique user information, rename them.
249
Last updated 1/14/2015
Forms
Select multiple form fields
Selecting multiple form fields is the first step for several tasks, such as creating copies, aligning form fields, and adjusting the spacing between form fields.
1
2
If you are not in the form editing mode, choose Tools > Forms > Edit.
Do any of the following:
• To select all form fields of all types, choose Edit > Select All.
• To select a range of form fields, click the first form field in the range, and then Shift-click the last form field. All form fields between the two form fields are selected.
• To select individual form fields in different parts of the PDF page, Ctrl-click each form field.
• To select all form fields in an area of the page, use the Select Object tool to drag a selection marquee around the area.
• To deselect an individual form field, Ctrl-click that field.
The field that is highlighted in dark blue and displays the border handles is the anchor. When you select multiple form fields by clicking, the last field selected is the anchor. When you use a marquee, the form field that was created first is the anchor. If you Ctrl-click to deselect the anchor, the form field located in the upper left of the selection becomes the new anchor form field.
Resize and arrange form fields
After you create form fields, you can rearrange, resize, or move them to give the page a cleaner, more professional look.
You adjust the layout of form fields in the form editing mode (choose Tools > Forms > Edit).
Resize a form field
1
If you are not in the form editing mode, choose Tools > Forms > Edit.
2
Select the form field that you want to resize.
3
Do any of the following:
• To resize the field manually, drag a border handle. Hold Shift and drag a corner handle to maintain the current aspect ratio of the form field.
• To resize the field by one pixel, press Ctrl+Arrow key; to resize the fields by ten pixels, press Ctrl+Shift+Arrow key.
• To resize to a specific dimension, right-click the field and choose Properties. Then click the Position tab, and adjust the Width and Height values.
Resize multiple form fields to match a selected form field
1
If you are not in the form editing mode, choose Tools > Forms > Edit.
2
Select all the form fields that you want to resize.
3
Right-click the form field that you want the other selected form fields to match. Choose Set Fields To Same Size, and then select one of the following:
Height
Adjusts the heights without changing the widths.
Width
Adjusts the widths without changing the heights.
Both
Adjust all widths and heights to match.
250
Last updated 1/14/2015
Forms
Move individual form fields
You can move form fields by simply dragging them. For greater precision in less time, you can use special features that align them with each other, adjust the spacing between them, and center them on the page.
1
If you are not in the form editing mode, choose Tools > Forms > Edit.
2
3
Select one or more form fields that you want to move.
Do one of the following:
• To move to an approximate location, drag the selected form fields to the new location.
Tip: To constrain movement to a horizontal or vertical direction, begin dragging, and then press Shift while continuing to drag the selection.
• To move to a specific location, right-click the field and choose Properties. Then click the Position tab, and set the
Position values.
• To move either horizontally or vertically in small increments, press the arrow keys to nudge the selected form field into position.
• To move the form field to the exact center of a page, choose Edit > Cut, navigate to the desired page, and then choose Edit > Paste.
note: Fields are placed in the center of the page only the first time they’re pasted. Additional pasted fields are offset from the previously pasted field.
Align and center multiple form fields
1
If you are not in the form editing mode, choose Tools > Forms > Edit.
2
3
Select two or more form fields that you want to align.
Right-click the field to which you want to align the other fields. Choose Align, Distribute Or Center, and then choose a command as follows:
• To align a column of fields, choose Align Left, Right, or Vertical. They align respectively to the left edge, right edge, or vertical axis (center) of the anchor form field.
• To align a row of fields, choose Align Top, Bottom, or Horizontally. They align respectively to the top edge, bottom edge, or horizontal axis (center) of the anchor form field.
• To center the fields, choose Center Vertically, Horizontally, or Both.
Note: When you right-click one of the selected fields, it shows the border handles, indicating that it’s the anchor form field. The Align menu commands move the other selected form fields to line up with the edges of the anchor form field.
Adjust the spacing between form fields
In the context of laying out form fields on a page, distributing means to give a group of form fields uniform spacing, measured from the centers of adjacent fields. The Distribute commands take precedence over the Snap To Grid command.
1
2
If you are not in the form editing mode, choose Tools > Forms > Edit.
3
Select the form fields that you want to adjust.
Right-click any one of the selected form fields, and do one of the following:
• To distribute the fields evenly between the topmost and bottommost fields, choose Align, Distribute Or Center
>Distribute Vertically.
251
Last updated 1/14/2015
Forms
• To distribute the fields evenly between the leftmost and rightmost fields, choose Align, Distribute Or Center
>Distribute Horizontally.note: The Distribute command in Tools > Forms has a different function. Use that
command to send your form to others, who fill in the information and return the data to you.
Delete a form field
1
If you are not in the form editing mode, choose Tools > Forms > Edit.
2
In the Fields panel or the page view, select the form fields that you want to delete.
3
Press Delete, or choose Edit > Delete.
252
PDF barcode form fields
More Help topics
PDF forms basics
About barcodes
Barcode fields translate a user’s form entries into a visual pattern that can be scanned, interpreted, and incorporated into a database. Barcodes are helpful when users submit the form on paper or by fax.
The advantages of using barcodes are that they save time, eliminate the need for responses to be manually read and recorded, and bypass data-entry errors that can occur.
A typical barcode workflow includes the following phases:
• The form author makes sure that Automatically Calculate Field Values is selected in the forms preferences, and then creates the form in Acrobat, setting up all the other fields as usual.
• The form author adds the barcode field to the form, setting up the barcode so that it captures the needed data.
• The form author enables the form for Reader users (if the author wants to allow Reader users to save their own filledin copy of the form or if it contains certain barcode fields).
• The form author distributes the form to other users.
• Users fill in the form on their computers and submit it electronically or print a copy and deliver the copy to the form distributor.
• The received barcode data is interpreted in one of the following ways, and can then be reviewed, sorted, and used by the form receiver:
Forms faxed to a fax server
The form receiver can use Adobe Acrobat Capture® to collect TIFF images from the fax server and place them in an
Adobe LiveCycle Barcoded Forms Decoder watched folder, if the receiver owns those products.
Forms delivered on paper
The form receiver can scan paper forms and then use an application such as LiveCycle Barcoded Forms Decoder to decode the barcodes within those forms.
Note: Acrobat Capture and LiveCycle Barcoded Forms Decoder are stand-alone products appropriate for enterprise workflows and are sold separately from Acrobat.
Last updated 1/14/2015
Forms
Design tips for barcodes
Issues that affect how you design and place barcodes include usability and space. As an example, the barcode size can also limit the amount of data that can be encoded. For the best results, follow these guidelines.
• Position the barcode so that it’s unlikely to get folded when placed in an envelope, and position it far enough from the edges of the page so that it won’t get clipped off during printing or faxing.
• Position it so that it can be easily seen and scanned. If a handheld scanner will be used, avoid barcodes wider than
4 inches (10.3 cm). Tall, narrow barcodes generally work best in this case. Also, avoid compressing the contents of the barcode when using a handheld scanner.
• Make sure that the size of the barcode can accommodate the amount of data to encode. If the barcode area is too small, it turns a solid gray. Be sure to test a completed form before distributing it to make sure that the barcode area is large enough.
Create, test, and edit barcode fields
One of the ways in which you can improve a PDF form barcode is by creating custom scripts. Writing such scripts requires a basic competency with JavaScript and a familiarity with Acrobat-specific JavaScript. For more information, see Developing Acrobat®Applications Using JavaScript™ on www.adobe.com/go/learn_acr_javascript_en (PDF, English only). For information about basic JavaScript, see any of the many resources available on that subject.
After inserting a barcode of maximum size, changing the cell size or decode condition may cause the barcode to cross the page borders. Avoid this behavior by selecting the appropriate cell size and decode conditions for the barcode.
Add a barcode field
1
Open the form in Acrobat, open the Preferences dialog box, and select Forms on the left. Then select Automatically
Calculate Field Values.
Select Tools > Forms > Edit.
2
3
Click the Barcode tool in the quick access bar, or choose Forms > Tasks > Add New Field > Barcode.
Drag a rectangle to define the barcode area, and then double-click the barcode field to open the Properties dialog box.
4
In the Value tab, do one of the following:
• Select Encode Using, and then select a format (XML or Tab Delimited). Click the Pick button and select the fields that you want to be encoded in the barcode field. If you don’t want to include the field names in the barcode data, deselect Include Field Names.
• Select Custom Calculation Script, click Edit, and then enter your custom JavaScript code in the JavaScript Editor dialog box.
5
In the Options tab, do all of the following:
• Select a Symbology option: PDF417, QR Code, or Data Matrix.
• Select Compress Data Before Encoding To Barcode if you want to apply this compression. Do not select this option if a handheld scanner is used to capture data from returned forms.
• In Decode Condition, choose the type of hardware to process returned forms: Handheld Barcode Scanner, Fax
Server, Document Scanner, or Custom.
• If necessary, click Custom and enter values for X Dimension, Y/X Ratio, and Error Correction Level.
6
Make any other changes in the General and Actions tabs. Then close the Barcode Field Properties dialog box.
253
Last updated 1/14/2015
Forms
JavaScript code is generated automatically to encode the selected fields in the XML or Tab Delimited format. The
Barcode Field Properties dialog box closes, and the barcode for which you specified values appears on the form.
Note: If you add a new field to a form after you have created the barcode, it is not automatically included in the data for existing barcodes. However, you can manually include additional data fields in the barcode.
Test a barcode field
1
Choose Forms >Tasks >Close Form Editing, or click the Preview button in the Forms toolbar.
2
Fill in the form. Use sample data that represents the maximum amount of information for each field or that you expect users to enter.
3
If the barcode field is dimmed, follow either the procedure for resizing the barcode field or for adjusting the content data. (See the following tasks.)
4
Make sure that the barcode field area is large enough to contain all of the incoming data. Choose Forms >Clear Form to remove the sample data.
5
Select File > Save.
The barcode form field is now ready for distribution.
Include additional data fields in the barcode
1
If you are not in the form editing mode, choose Tools > Forms > Edit.
2
Double-click the barcode field.
3
In the Value tab, do one of the following:
• If Encode Using is selected, click Pick, and select additional form fields to be encoded.
• If Custom Calculation Script is selected, click Edit, and write additional JavaScript to include the additional fields.
After including new data fields in the barcode, be sure that the barcode area is large enough by testing sample data. If the barcode area is dimmed, adjust the barcode size or text field properties so that the data content fits into the barcode area.
Adjust data content to fit in a barcode field
1
If you are not in the form editing mode, choose Tools > Forms > Edit.
2
To edit the barcode properties so that it can accommodate more data, double-click the barcode field, and do any of the following:
• In the Options tab, click the Custom button and enter lower values for Error Correction Level and Y/X Ratio.
• In the Options tab, select Compress Data Before Encoding To Barcode, but only if you are using an Adobe software decoder (available separately).
• In the Value tab, select Tab Delimited rather than XML as the data-encoding format. XML requires more barcode area to encode information than Tab Delimited does.
• In the Options tab, select a different Symbology option.
• In the Value tab, click the Pick button, and deselect any fields that don’t need encoding. For example, don’t include fields with redundant information.
• In the Value tab, enter a custom script that converts user-entered text to either all lowercase or all uppercase characters during the encoding process.
254
Last updated 1/14/2015
Forms
Note: The National Association of Computerized Tax Processors (NACTP) guidelines, used by the United States
Internal Revenue Service and state tax agencies, recommend using all uppercase characters for 2D barcode data.
3
To minimize the amount of barcode area for containing the data, double-click the barcode field, and in the Value tab, write a custom script that restricts data to alphanumeric characters and to a single case. (Text that is either all uppercase or all lowercase requires less barcode area than the same text written in a mixture of uppercase and lowercase characters.)
Consider creating additional barcode fields in the form and mapping different data to each barcode field.
255
Set form field navigation
If a PDF document doesn’t have a specified tab order, the default tabbing order is based on the document structure unless the user has deselected the Tab Order option in the Accessibility preferences.
You can change the tabbing order after you create the fields. If you are in form editing mode, you can order the tabs by document structure (default), row, or column. You can also choose the order manually by dragging and dropping fields in the Fields panel. If you are not in the editing mode, you can change the page properties to order the tabs by row or column. However, you can’t customize the tab order manually.
Set tabbing order in edit mode
1
If you are not in form editing mode, choose Tools > Forms > Edit. The Forms task pane opens.
2
In the Fields panel on the right, make sure that you have selected Sort By > Tab Order.
3
4
(Optional) To view the tabbing order for the fields, choose Forms > Tasks > Edit Fields > Show Tab Numbers.
Select a Tab Order option:
Order Tabs By Structure
Tabs based on the document structure, and follows the order that is set up in the tagging.
Order Tabs By Row
Tabs from the upper-left field, moving first left to right and then down, one row at a time.
Order Tabs By Column
Tabs from the upper-left field, moving first from top to bottom and then across from left to right, one column at a time.
Order Tabs Manually
Allows you to drag and drop a field where you want it within the Fields panel. You can’t move a field to a different page, a radio button to another group, or a field to a radio button.
Order Tabs Unspecified
Specifies that no tab order is specified. The tab order is determined by the settings in the page properties.
Set tabbing order in Page Properties
1
If you are in the form editing mode, click Close Form Editing to exit the mode.
2
Click the Page Thumbnails button or choose View > Show/Hide > Navigation Panes >Page Thumbnails to open the Page Thumbnails panel.
3
Select one or more page icons, and choose Page Properties in the Options menu of the Page Thumbnails panel.
4
Select a Tab Order option:
Use Row Order
Tabs from the upper-left field, moving first left to right and then down, one row at a time.
Use Column Order
Tabs from the upper-left field, moving first from top to bottom and then across from left to right, one column at a time.
Use Document Structure
For forms with tagged fields, follows the order set up in the tagging.
Last updated 1/14/2015
Forms
Unspecified
Uses the existing sequence.
More Help topics
Create a form
Make Adobe PDF forms accessible
Creating and distributing PDF forms
More Help topics
PDF forms basics
Create a form from an existing document
You can convert an existing electronic document (for example, a Word, Excel, or PDF document) or scan a paper document to a PDF form. Acrobat automatically adds interactive form fields to the form. You can then edit the form to add specialized form fields, such as a drop-down list, list box, or buttons.
256
Last updated 1/14/2015
Forms
A Certificate-based signature field B Drop-down list box C Text fields D Automatic message bar E Check boxes F Radio buttons G List box
H Buttons
1
From the Create menu on the toolbar, choose Create Form.
2
3
Select From Existing Document, and click Next.
Select one of the following options:
Use The Current Document
Converts the currently open PDF to an interactive form.
Choose Another File
Converts an existing electronic document (for example, Word, Excel, or PDF) to an interactive
PDF form. Click Browse to locate the file.
Scan A Paper Form
Scans a paper form and converts it to an interactive PDF form.
4
Click Continue, and follow the onscreen instructions.
Acrobat creates the form and opens it in the Form Editing mode. The Forms task pane displays options for editing the form. The toolbar contains form field tools for adding additional fields.
5
Review the form fields Acrobat created. Add fields using the form field tools in the taskbar. Delete, resize, or arrange the fields as needed. You can add any of the following types of form fields:
Barcodes
Encode the input from selected fields and display it as a visual pattern that can be interpreted by decoding software or hardware (available separately).
Last updated 1/14/2015
257
Forms
Buttons
Initiate a change on the user’s computer, such as opening a file, playing a sound, or submitting data to a web server. These buttons can be customized with images, text, and visual changes triggered by mouse actions.
Check boxes
Present yes-or-no choices for individual items. If the form contains multiple check boxes, the user can typically select as many or few of these as wanted.
Digital signature field
Lets the user electronically sign a PDF document with a digital signature.
Drop-down list
Let the user either choose an item from a pop-up menu or type a value. You can set a form field property that enables the user to enter a custom value.
List boxes
Display a list of options the user can select. You can set a form field property that enables the user to Shiftclick to select multiple items on the list.
Radio buttons
Present a group of choices from which the user can select only one item. All radio buttons with the same name work together as a group.
Text fields
Let the user type text, such as name, address, or phone number.
For more information, see Form field basics .
6
When you are satisfied with the form, click Close Form Editing.
For a video tutorial on creating forms, watch How to create PDF forms from existing documents: http://tv.adobe.com/watch/acrobat-xi-tips-tricks/how-to-create-new-pdf-forms-from-existing-documents/
Create forms from scratch or templates (Acrobat Pro)
You can create new PDF forms with the Adobe FormsCentral desktop application. Easily start a form from scratch using the form editor or customize a template. Choose from a wide range of predesigned form templates. Optionally, you can move the form online and use the FormsCentral online service to distribute, collect, and analyze the data. You can distribute either PDF or web forms. Recipients need only a web browser and any Internet-connected device, including a tablet or smartphone, to fill in your forms.
1
2
From the Create menu on the toolbar, choose Create Form.
Select From Scratch Or Template, and click Launch.
The Adobe FormsCentral desktop application opens.
3
Click the Templates tab.
4
Do one of the following:
• To create a form from scratch, click New Form next to the blank form. When the blank form opens, click a field icon in the toolbar to add a field.
• To base your form on a template, click the New Form button adjacent to the template you want to use. When the template opens, edit the fields and text to meet your needs.
For more information, see Design Forms in Adobe FormsCentral help.
Additional resources
For videos about Adobe FormsCentral, see these resources:
• Create a form using FormsCentral: www.adobe.com/go/learn_acr_formscentral_create_en
• Distribute a form and manage responses using FormsCentral: www.adobe.com/go/learn_acr_formscentral_distribute_en
258
Last updated 1/14/2015
Forms
Create forms for EchoSign
You can convert an existing form into an EchoSign form or easily drag-and-drop EchoSign fields onto a PDF. You can send the form out to be filled in and signed using the EchoSign service. Not all fields convert to EchoSign fields, such as List Box, Dropdown, or Button fields. You can add additional EchoSign fields from the toolbar.
1
Open the PDF you want to convert to an EchoSign form.
2
3
Choose Tools > Forms > Edit.
4
5
If asked whether you want Acrobat to detect form fields for you, click Yes.
When alerted that you are entering the Form Editing Mode, click OK.
6
In the Forms pane that opens, choose Tasks > Convert To EchoSign Form.
When alerted that Acrobat removes form fields that EchoSign doesn't support, click Next, and then in the subsequent alert, click OK.
7
To add a field to the form, select its icon in the taskbar. Position the pointer where you want to place the field, and click to insert it.
259
8
Name the field and designate who is to fill it in or sign it. To set its properties, such as the border color, fill, font, and typeface size, double-click the field.
9
When the form is complete, click Close Form Editing on the taskbar.
10
To upload the form to EchoSign, choose Sign > Get Others To Sign > Send For Signatures.
11
When the message “The document has been uploaded to Adobe EchoSign” appears, click Proceed To Adobe
EchoSign To Continue. When the EchoSign website opens, follow the onscreen instructions.
Last updated 1/14/2015
Forms
Adding specialized EchoSign fields
You can create specialized EchoSign fields, such as dropdown lists or fields that validate or limit data to specific values.
You name the field using a special text tag. The syntax of the tag includes all the information required to create the field.
You do not see the features of the field in Acrobat. EchoSign uses the text tag to build the field after you upload the form to the EchoSign website.
You enter the text tag in the Name field when you first place the field. Optionally you can edit its name on the General tab of the Properties dialog box (double-click the field to open its properties). For a list of EchoSign text tags, see
Creating EchoSign Forms with Text Tags . When you insert a text tag in Acrobat, omit the brackets that enclose the tag:
{{tag}}.
Enable Reader users to save form data
Ordinarily, users of Reader X and earlier can’t save filled-in copies of forms that they complete. However, you can extend the rights of a PDF to allow these users to save form data. If you have Acrobat Pro, you can include additional capabilities for Reader users, such as adding text to non-interactive forms.
Note: Unlike earlier versions of Reader, Reader XI includes both the Add Text tool and the ability to save form data. Acrobat users can type in non-fillable forms, add comments, and digitally sign PDFs without extending special rights.
1
Open a single PDF, or preview a component PDF in a PDF Portfolio.
2
3
If you are editing the form, click Close Form Editing in Forms task pane.
Choose File > Save As Other > Reader Extended PDF, and choose one of the following options:
Enable Adding Text In PDFs (that are not PDF forms)
(Acrobat Pro) Lets users add text to PDFs or flat, non-fillable forms (for earlier versions of Reader).
Commenting & Measuring
(Acrobat Pro) Allows users to add comments or access the Object Data, Measuring, and
Geospatial tools.
Enable More Tools (includes form fill-in & save)
Lets users save data they’ve entered in interactive or fillable forms.
Limitations on saving filled-in forms locally
Acrobat Standard and Acrobat Pro, each allow Adobe Reader 8 or later users to fill in and save PDF forms locally. The use of the Reader Extensions capability for local saving of PDF forms (called extended documents) is limited in two ways:
Number of deployed extended documents
An Acrobat Standard or Acrobat Pro customer can send an extended document to an unlimited number of recipients for them to fill in. For example, an Acrobat customer can post an empty form template on a web page that allows users to fill in and save PDF forms locally. An unlimited number of people can access the template. However, the Acrobat customer can collect only 500 responses from the filled-in form. This limitation includes both hardcopy (paper form submission) and electronic representations of the filled-in form.
Number of recipients of the extended document
An Acrobat Standard or Acrobat Pro customer can send an extended document to no more than 500 unique recipients. For example, an Acrobat customer belongs to an organization with
500 people or less. The Acrobat customer can send an unlimited number of copies of the extended document to those
500 recipients and collect unlimited responses from the filled-in form.
Both limitations apply per entity/company, and multiple users in an entity cannot abuse this feature. Obtaining additional licenses to use Acrobat does not increase the above restrictions. For example, five Acrobat Standard 9 users in a company cannot send out the same extended document to receive and extract data collectively more than 500 times.
260
Last updated 1/14/2015
Forms
Acrobat Standard and Acrobat Pro include technology that can enable PDF documents with certain features by using a digital credential. This credential is located within the Software (“Key”). You agree not to access, attempt to access, control, disable, remove, distribute the Key for any purpose.
Adding JavaScript to forms
The JavaScript language lets you create interactive web pages. Adobe has enhanced JavaScript so that you can easily integrate interactivity into PDF forms. The most common uses for JavaScript in Acrobat forms are formatting, calculating, validating data, and assigning an action. In Windows, you can also configure Adobe PDF forms to connect directly to databases using Open Database Connection (ODBC).
Note: If you’re creating dynamic forms, keep in mind that Reader doesn’t support some custom JavaScripts. The form may not function properly when viewed in Reader unless additional usage rights are added to the PDF.
Additional resources
For more information on Acrobat JavaScript, see these resources:
• JavaScript™ for Acrobat® API Reference to add interactivity to PDF forms: www.adobe.com/go/learn_acr_javascript_en (PDF, English only)
• Acrobat Software Development Kit (SDK) to customize Acrobat: www.adobe.com/go/learn_acr_devcenter_en
(English only)
• File paths in Acrobat JavaScript: www.acrobatusers.com/tutorials/file-paths-acrobat-javascript
Distribute (send) forms to recipients
261
Distribute PDF or web forms
After you create a form, you choose a method for sending it to recipients.
1
2
Choose Tools > Forms > Distribute.
A series of messages might appear, depending on the conditions Acrobat detects in your form. Respond to the onscreen instructions as needed, and save the form.
3
Choose a distribution and collection method:
Adobe FormsCentral
Automatically distribute, collect, and analyze data using FormsCentral online subscription service.
Collect responses in your email inbox.
Internal Server
Distribute and collect responses on an internal server such as SharePoint or Network Folder. For more information, see Specify a server .
4
5
Click Continue and follow the onscreen instructions for distributing the form.
If you choose to collect responses in your email inbox, do one of the following:
Note: If you don’t know the email addresses of your recipients, enter your own email address. The system sends you a link to the form, which you can email to recipients as desired.
Last updated 1/14/2015
Forms
Distribute EchoSign forms
After you create an EchoSign form, you can use the EchoSign service for sending it to recipients for filling in and signing.
1
If the form is in the Form Editing mode, click Close Form Editing on the taskbar.
2
3
Save the form if you haven't already.
4
To upload the form to EchoSign, choose Sign > Get Others To Sign > Send For Signatures.
When the message “The document has been uploaded to Adobe EchoSign” appears, click Proceed To Adobe
EchoSign To Continue.
5
When the EchoSign website opens, follow the onscreen instructions.
262
About Forms Tracker
Use Tracker to manage the forms that you have distributed or received. Tracker allows you to view and edit the location of the response file, track which recipients have responded, add more recipients, email all recipients, and view the responses for a form.
Track forms
1
2
Choose Tools > Forms > Track.
3
In the left navigation panel, expand Forms.
Select a form and do one of the following:
• To view all responses for a form, click View Responses.
• To modify the location of the response file, in Responses File Location, click Edit File Location.
• To view the original form, click Open Original Form.
• To send the form to more recipients, click Add Recipients.
More Help topics
Tracker overview
Distribute (send) forms to recipients
Last updated 1/14/2015
Chapter 6: Combining files
Combine files into single PDF
Arrange multiple documents and pages before merging them into a single PDF.
Combine files into single PDF
How to manipulate pages in Acrobat
Learn how to insert, delete, and rearrange pages in Acrobat XI.
How to manipulate pages in Acrobat
Add headers, footers, and Bates numbering to PDFs
Headers, footers, and Bates numbering
Acrobat lets you add a header and footer throughout a PDF. Headers and footers can include a date, automatic page numbering, Bates numbers for legal documents, or the title and author. You can add headers and footers to one or more
PDFs, including component PDFs in a PDF Portfolio.
You can vary the headers and footers within a PDF. For example, you can add a header that displays the page number on the right side of odd-numbered pages, and another header that displays the page number on the left side of evennumbered pages. When adding Bates numbering, you can set the number of digits, the starting number, and the prefix or suffix to be appended to each Bates number.
You can define and save your headers and footers to reuse them later, or you can simply apply a header and footer and forget it. After applying a header and footer, you can edit, replace, or delete it in the PDF. You can also preview headers and footers before applying them and adjust the header and footer margins so that they don’t overlap other page content.
Add headers and footers, with an open document
1
Choose Tools > Pages > Header & Footer > Add Header & Footer.
2
As needed, specify the Font and Margin values.
The text properties apply to all header and footer entries that are part of this setting definition. You cannot apply different settings to individual header or footer text boxes within the same session in the Add Header And Footer dialog box.
Last updated 1/14/2015
263
Combining files
To prevent overlapping, click the Appearance Options button and select Shrink Document To Avoid Overwriting The
Document’s Text And Graphics. To prevent resizing or repositioning when printing the PDF in large format, select
Keep Position And Size Of Header/Footer Text Constant When Printing On Different Page Sizes.
3
Type the text in any of the header and footer text boxes. To insert page numbers or the current date, click in a box and then click the corresponding buttons. To select formatting for automatic entries, click Page Number And Date
Format.
Note: You can combine text with dates and page numbers. You can also add several lines of text to an entry.
4
To specify the pages on which the header and footer appear, click Page Range Options. Then specify a page range and choose a Subset option, as needed.
5
Examine the results in the Preview area, using the Preview Page option to see different pages of the PDF.
6
7
(Optional) To save these header and footer settings for future use, click Save Settings at the top of the dialog box.
(Optional) To apply the same settings to additional PDFs, click Apply To Multiple. Click Add Files, choose Add Files or Add Open Files, and select the files. Then in the Output Options dialog box, specify your folder and filename preferences, and click OK.
Add headers and footers, with no document open (Windows only)
1
Choose Tools > Pages > Header & Footer > Add Header & Footer.
2
In the dialog box, click Add Files, choose Add Files, then select the files.
You can also add files or folders by dragging them into the dialog box.
3
Follow steps 2 through 6 in the procedure for adding headers and footers with an open document. When you have finished setting up your headers and footers, click OK.
4
In the Output Options dialog box, specify your folder and filename preferences and click OK.
Add headers and footers to component PDFs in a PDF Portfolio
1
Select one or more component PDFs in a PDF Portfolio.
2
Follow the steps in the procedure for adding headers and footers with an open document.
Update the headers and footers
Updating applies to the most recently added header and footer set.
1
Open a single PDF.
2
3
Choose Tools > Pages > Header & Footer > Update.
Change the settings as needed.
Add another header and footer
1
Open a single PDF, or select one component PDF in a PDF Portfolio.
2
Choose Tools > Pages > Header & Footer > Add Header & Footer, and then click Add New in the message that appears.
The preview shows any existing headers and footers.
264
Last updated 1/14/2015
Combining files
3
Type text in the header and footer text boxes to add more headers and footers. As you type, the preview updates the appearance of the complete headers and footers on the page.
4
Select new formatting options, as preferred, again noticing the updating in the preview.
Replace all headers and footers
1
Open a single PDF.
2
Choose Tools > Pages > Header & Footer > Add Header & Footer, and then click Replace Existing in the message that appears.
3
Specify the settings, as needed.
Note: This process applies only to headers and footers added in Acrobat 7.0 or later.
Remove all headers and footers
❖
Do one of the following:
• Open a single PDF, or select one component PDF in a PDF Portfolio. Then choose Tools > Pages > Header &
Footer > Remove.
• To remove headers and footers from multiple PDFs, close any open documents and choose Tools > Pages >
Header & Footer > Remove. In the dialog box, click Add Files, choose Add Files, and select the files. Click OK, and then in the Output Options dialog box, specify your folder and filename preferences.
Note: This process applies only to headers and footers added in Acrobat 7.0 or later.
Add a Bates numbering header or footer (Acrobat Pro)
Bates numbering is a method of indexing legal documents for easy identification and retrieval. Each page of each document is assigned a unique Bates number that also indicates its relationship to other Bates-numbered documents.
Bates numbers appear as headers or footers on the pages of each PDF in the batch.
The Bates identifier is referred to as a number, but it can include an alphanumeric prefix and suffix. The prefix and suffix can make it easier to recognize the central subject matter of the files.
Note: Bates numbering is unavailable for protected or encrypted files and some forms.
For a video on using Bates numbering in a PDF Portfolio, see blogs.adobe.com/acrolaw .
Add Bates numbering
When designating documents for Bates numbering, you can add PDFs, PDF Portfolios, and any non-PDF files that can be converted to PDF. The process converts non-PDF file types to PDF, and then adds Bates numbers to the resulting
PDF. If you add Bates numbering to a PDF Portfolio, any non-PDF files in the PDF Portfolio are replaced with the converted and numbered PDFs.
1
Choose Tools > Pages > Bates Numbering > Add Bates Numbering.
2
In the Bates Numbering dialog box, click Add Files, and choose Add Files, Add Folders, or Add Open Files. Then select the files or folder.
Note: If you select a folder containing files that Acrobat does not support for PDF conversion, those files are not added.
If any files are password-protected, one or more messages appear, in which you must enter the correct password.
265
Last updated 1/14/2015
Combining files
3
As needed, do any of the following in the list of files:
• To change the order in which Bates numbers are assigned, select a file, then drag it or click Move Up or Move
Down.
• To sort the list, click a column name. Click again to sort in reverse order.
4
To specify a target folder for output files and filename preferences, click Output Options. Specify the options as needed, and then click OK.
5
Once you have added and arranged the files as needed, click OK. Then, in the Add Header And Footer dialog box, click to place the insertion point in the appropriate box.
6
Click Insert Bates Number. Then enter the following:
• In Number Of Digits, specify how many digits make up the Bates number, entering any number from 6 through
15. The default number is 6, which produces Bates numbers such as 000001, 000002, and so on.
• In Start Number, enter the number to assign to the first PDF on the list. The default is 1.
• In Prefix, type any text to appear before the Bates number.
• In Suffix, type any text to appear after the Bates number.
Note: For court cases involving large numbers of pages, enter a higher value in Number Of Digits. Do not use the # character in the Prefix or Suffix text.
7
Click OK and then make any other changes to the settings, as you would for any other header and footer.
Add more documents to a Bates numbering series
Before you begin, be sure that you know the last applied Bates number in the series.
1
Follow the procedure described in the previous topic to start the Bates numbering process, selecting the files to add to the series.
2
After you click Insert Bates Number, enter the next number in the series in Start Number. Enter the Suffix and Prefix text that matches the rest of the series.
3
Finish changing the settings, and then click OK.
Search for Bates-numbered PDFs
1
Choose Edit > Advanced Search.
2
As the search word or phrase, enter all or part of the Bates number.
For example, to find a specific document when you know its Bates number, type in the complete number as the search text. To find any documents in a Bates number series, type in a distinctive portion of the Bates series, such as the prefix or suffix.
3
4
Under Where Would You Like To Search, select All PDF Documents In.
5
Click Browse For Location and specify the location.
Click Search.
Note: To search for Bates-numbered PDFs in a PDF Portfolio, open the PDF Portfolio and enter all or part of the Bates number in the Search box on the PDF Portfolio toolbar.
Remove Bates numbering
1
In Acrobat, choose Tools > Pages > Bates Numbering > Remove.
2
In the dialog box, click Add Files, and choose Add Files or Add Open Files. Then select the files.
Last updated 1/14/2015
266
Combining files
3
Click OK.
Rotate, move, delete, and renumber PDF pages
To manipulate pages in a PDF, make sure that you have permissions to edit the PDF. To check, choose File > Properties, and then click the Security tab. Permissions appear in the Document Restrictions Summary.
This document provides instructions for Acrobat XI. If you're using Adobe Reader, see What can I do with Adobe
Reader . If you're using Acrobat X, see Acrobat X Help . And, if you're using Acrobat 7, 8 , or 9, see previous versions of
Acrobat Help.
Rotate pages
You can rotate all or selected pages in a document. Rotation is based on 90° increments. You can rotate pages using the rotate tools in the Page Thumbnails pane or using the Rotate option (described below).
1
Choose Tools > Pages > Rotate.
267
2
For Direction, select the amount and direction of the rotations: Counterclockwise 90 Degrees, Clockwise 90
Degrees, or 180 Degrees.
3
For Pages, specify whether all pages, a selection of pages, or a range of pages are to be rotated.
4
From the Rotate menu, specify Even Pages, Odd Pages, or both, and select the orientation of pages to be rotated.
To temporarily change your view of the page, choose View > Rotate View > Clockwise or Counterclockwise. The original page orientation is restored the next time you open the PDF.
Extract pages
Extraction is the process of reusing selected pages of one PDF in a different PDF. Extracted pages contain not only the content but also all form fields, comments, and links associated with the original page content.
You can leave the extracted pages in the original document or remove them during the extraction process—comparable to the familiar processes of cutting-and-pasting or copying-and-pasting, but on the page level.
Last updated 1/14/2015
Combining files
Note: Any bookmarks or article threading associated with pages are not extracted.
1
Open the PDF in Acrobat and choose Tools > Pages > Extract.
268
2
3
Specify the range of pages to extract.
In the Extract Pages dialog box, do one or more of the following before you click OK:
• To remove the extracted pages from the original document, select Delete Pages After Extracting.
• To create a single-page PDF for each extracted page, select Extract Pages As Separate Files.
• To leave the original pages in the document and create a single PDF that includes all of the extracted pages, leave both check boxes deselected.
The extracted pages are placed in a new document.
Note: The creator of a PDF document can set the security to prevent the extraction of pages. To view the security settings for a document, choose File > Properties, and select Security.
Split PDFs into multiple documents
You can split one or more documents into multiple smaller documents. When splitting a document, you can specify the split by maximum number of pages, maximum file size, or top-level bookmarks.
Split one or more PDFs, with an open document
1
Open the PDF and choose Tools > Pages > Split Document.
Last updated 1/14/2015
Combining files
2
In the Split Document dialog box, specify the criteria for dividing the document:
Number Of Pages
Specify the maximum number of pages for each document in the split.
File Size
Specify the maximum file size for each document in the split.
Top-level Bookmarks
If the document includes bookmarks, creates one document for every top-level bookmark.
3
To specify a target folder for the split files and filename preferences, click Output Options. Specify the options as needed, and then click OK.
4
(Optional) To apply the same split to multiple documents, click Apply To Multiple. Click Add Files, and choose Add
Files, Add Folders, or Add Open Files. Select the files or folder, and then click OK.
Split one or more PDFs, with no document open (Windows only)
1
Choose Tools > Pages > Split Document.
2
Click Add Files, and choose Add Files, Add Folders. Select the files or folder, and then click OK.
3
Follow steps 2 and 3 in the procedure for splitting documents with a document open.
Move or copy pages
You can use page thumbnails in the Navigation pane to copy or move pages within a document, and copy pages between documents.
Last updated 1/14/2015
269
Combining files
Move or copy a page within a PDF, using page thumbnails
1
Click the Page Thumbnails button in the Navigation pane to open the Page Thumbnails panel, and select one or more page thumbnails.
270
2
Do one of the following:
• To move a page, drag the page number box of the corresponding page thumbnail or the page thumbnail itself to the new location. A bar appears to show the new position of the page thumbnail. The pages are renumbered.
• To copy a page, Ctrl-drag the page thumbnail to a second location.
Copy a page between two PDFs, using page thumbnails
1
Open both PDFs, and display them side by side.
2
3
Open the Page Thumbnails panels for both PDFs.
Drag the page thumbnail into the Page Thumbnails panel of the target PDF. The page is copied into the document, and the pages are renumbered.
Delete or replace pages
You can replace an entire PDF page with another PDF page. Only the text and images on the original page are replaced.
Any interactive elements associated with the original page, such as links and bookmarks, are not affected. Likewise, bookmarks and links that may have been previously associated with the replacement page do not carry over.
Comments, however, are carried over and are combined with any existing comments in the document.
After you delete or replace pages, it’s a good idea to use the Reduce File Size command to rename and save the restructured document to the smallest possible file size.
Last updated 1/14/2015
Combining files
Delete pages, using the Delete command
Note: You cannot undo the Delete command.
1
Choose Tools > Pages > Delete.
2
Enter the page range to be deleted, and click OK.
You cannot delete all pages; at least one page must remain in the document.
If you select Use Logical Page Numbers in the Page Display panel of the Preferences dialog box, you can enter a page number in parentheses to delete the logical equivalent of the page number. For example, if the first page in the document is numbered i, you can enter (1) in the Delete Pages dialog box, and the page is deleted.
Delete pages, using page thumbnails
1
In the Page Thumbnails panel, select the page or group of pages you want to delete.
2
Click the Delete tool at the top of the Page Thumbnails panel.
Last updated 1/14/2015
271
Combining files
Replace the contents of a page
1
Open the PDF that contains the pages you want to replace.
2
Choose Tools > Pages > Replace.
3
4
Select the document containing the replacement pages, and click Select.
5
Under Original, enter the pages to be replaced in the original document.
Under Replacement, enter the first page of the replacement page range. The last page is calculated based on the number of pages to be replaced in the original document.
Replace pages using a page thumbnail
1
Open the PDF that contains the pages you want to replace, and then open the PDF that contains the replacement pages.
2
In the Page Thumbnails panel of the PDF that contains the replacement pages, select a page or group of pages:
• Select the page number boxes of the page thumbnails that you want to use as replacement pages.
• Shift-click to select multiple page thumbnails. Ctrl-click to add to the selection.
• Drag a rectangle around a group of page thumbnails.
3
Ctrl+Alt+drag the selected page thumbnails onto the Pages panel of the target document. Release the mouse button when the pointer is directly over the page number box of the first page thumbnail you want to replace so that these pages become highlighted.
Last updated 1/14/2015
272
Combining files
The pages you selected in the first document replace the same number of pages in the second document, starting at the page number you selected to drop the new pages on.
Renumber pages
The page numbers on the document pages do not always match the page numbers that appear below the page thumbnails and in the Page Navigation toolbar. Pages are numbered with integers, starting with page 1 for the first page of the document. Because some PDFs may contain front matter, such as a copyright page and table of contents, their body pages may not follow the numbering shown in the Page Navigation toolbar.
273
You can number the pages in your document in a variety of ways. You can specify a different numbering style for groups of pages, such as 1, 2, 3, or i, ii, iii, or a, b, c. You can also customize the numbering system by adding a prefix. For example, the numbering for chapter 1 could be 1-1, 1-2, 1-3, and so on, and for chapter 2, it could be 2-1, 2-2, 2-3, and so on.
Using the Number Pages command affects only the page thumbnails on the Pages panel. You can physically add new page numbers to a PDF using the headers and footers feature.
1
2
Click the Page Thumbnails button to open the Page Thumbnails panel.
Choose Number Pages from the Options menu.
3
Specify a page range. (Selected refers to pages selected in the Page Thumbnails panel.)
Last updated 1/14/2015
Download
Anúncio