SMART Technologies Sync 2011 User guide
Mainos
Mainos
P L E A S E T H I N K B E F O R E Y O U P R I N T
SMART Sync™ 2011 classroom management software
Windows® operating systems
User’s Guide
Trademark Notice
SMART Sync, SMART Board, SMART Notebook, SMART Classroom Suite, smarttech, the SMART logo and all SMART taglines are trademarks or registered trademarks of SMART Technologies ULC in the U.S. and/or other countries.
Microsoft, Windows, Windows Vista, Windows Media, DirectX, Internet Explorer, Excel and PowerPoint are either registered trademarks or trademarks of Microsoft Corporation in the United States and/or other countries. Mac and
Macintosh are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. All other third-party product and company names may be trademarks of their respective owners.
Copyright Notice
© 2011 SMART Technologies ULC. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced, transmitted, transcribed, stored in a retrieval system or translated into any language in any form by any means without the prior written consent of SMART Technologies ULC. Information in this manual is subject to change without notice and does not represent a commitment on the part of SMART.
07/2011
i
Contents
Understanding multiple operating system classrooms
Transferring students to your class
Adding a student after a class has started
Working with teacher IDs and classes
Customizing the user interface
Chapter 2: Observing and guiding students
Controlling a student’s desktop
Capturing an image of a student’s desktop
Shutting down and logging off student computers
Chapter 3: Broadcasting and communicating
Chapter 4: Organizing collaboration
Starting collaborative assignments
Completing collaborative assignments
Monitoring collaborative assignments
Chapter 5: Answering questions
Viewing and answering questions
C O N T E N T S
Enabling and disabling student chat
Chapter 7: Sending and receiving files
Receiving files from a student
Clearing files from the file list
Chapter 8: Controlling access to applications
Creating and using application blocking rules
Starting and closing applications
Chapter 9: Controlling access to the Internet
Creating and using Internet blocking rules
Chapter 10: Working with other teachers and teacher aides
Joining a class as a teacher aide
Chapter 11: Configuring SMART Sync Class List Server
Changing the SMART Sync Class List Server port number
Stopping and restarting SMART Sync Class List Server
Chapter 12: Configuring SMART Sync Teacher software
Connecting to SMART Sync Class List Server
Setting the optimization preferences
Setting the control preferences
Setting the digital ink’s appearance
Setting the file transfer preferences
Setting a user authentication password
Setting the advanced preferences
Setting the logging preferences
ii
C O N T E N T S
Appendix A: Sending feedback to SMART
iii
Chapter 1:
1
Chapter 1
Getting started
Understanding multiple operating system classrooms
Transferring students to your class
Adding a student after a class has started
Working with teacher IDs and classes
Customizing the user interface
Changing thumbnail information
Creating, editing and deleting groups
With SMART Sync™ classroom management software, you can manage your classroom and communicate with your students without leaving your computer.
SMART Sync software enables you to observe and guide your students’ computer activity using the customizable Thumbnails view, which displays real-time images of your students’ computer desktops. In addition to viewing their desktops, you can capture snapshots of students’ screens, take control of students’ desktops, temporarily lock students’ computers, remotely shut down students’ computers and block access to the Internet and specific applications.
2
C H A P T E R 1
Getting started
You can also use SMART Sync software to communicate with your entire class, a group of students or an individual student. You can broadcast your desktop, conduct polls, send messages and files to students, receive replies, organize student collaboration and more.
If you’re using SMART Sync software with a SMART Board™ interactive whiteboard, you can write notes using a pen tray pen and your students will see your notes on their desktops. If you’re working at a computer, you can write notes using the tools in SMART Sync software.
Starting SMART Sync software
When you first start SMART Sync software, you create a teacher ID and a class. Students can then
connect to the class (see Connecting to students on page 5).
Every class is unique. The only similarity between two classes may be the room in which they’re taught. Everything else may be different, including the students and the seating plan.
Teachers and classes can be administered, which means they’re centrally defined in a SMART
School file (see Connecting to SMART Sync Class List Server on page 80), or
non-administered, which means they’re defined in your computer's installation of SMART Sync software.
l
If you select a non-administered class when you start SMART Sync software, you can save changes to your class at any time.
l
If you select an administered class, you can’t save changes to the original file, but you can save it with a new name.
N
N O T E
(Administered) appears beside administered classes in the Welcome to SMART Sync dialog box.
L
L I N K S
Online tutorials are available from the SMART Sync Teacher software menu (Help > Tutorial).
C H A P T E R 1
Getting started g To create a new teacher ID
1. Double-click the SMART Sync Teacher software 2011 icon on your desktop.
The SMART Sync software window and the Welcome to SMART Sync dialog box appear.
2. Type the teacher ID in the Teacher box.
N
N O T E
The teacher ID can’t contain the following characters: \ / : * ? < > | "
3. Click OK.
A message appears, asking if you want to create a new teacher ID.
4. Click Yes.
SMART Sync software displays the Thumbnails view and the All Computers tab.
5. Connect to students (see Connecting to students on page 5), and then save the class (see
Working with teacher IDs and classes on page 8).
g To select an existing teacher ID
1. Double-click the SMART Sync Teacher software 2011 icon on your desktop.
The SMART Sync software window and the Welcome to SMART Sync dialog box appear.
2. Select a teacher ID from the Teacher drop-down list.
3. Select an existing class in the Class list.
OR
Select New Class in the Class list to create a new class.
4. Click OK.
SMART Sync software displays the Thumbnails view and the All Computers tab.
5. Connect to students (see Connecting to students on page 5).
3
C H A P T E R 1
Getting started
Understanding multiple operating system classrooms
A multiple operating system classroom includes both Windows and Mac users. You can connect a
Mac student to a Windows teacher and a Windows student to a Mac teacher.
When a Mac student connects to a Windows teacher, the SMART Sync Software Compatibility
Mode dialog box appears to inform you that some features of SMART Sync software will be disabled.
You can disable this dialog box and enable it again if you change your mind.
T
T I P
If you don't want the SMART Sync Software Compatibility Mode dialog box to appear the next time you enter a multiple operating system classroom, select the Don't show this message again check box when the dialog box appears.
L
L I N K S
For a list of feature limitations within multiple operating system classrooms, click the More
information link in the SMART Sync Software Compatibility Mode dialog box or go to smarttech.com/kb/157515 to access the SMART Sync 2011 comparison document.
g To disconnect all Mac students
1. Click Thumbnails .
The Thumbnails view appears.
2. Select Connection > Disconnect All Mac Students.
A message appears asking you for confirmation.
3. Click Yes.
g To enable the SMART Sync Compatibility Mode dialog box
1. Select Options > Preferences.
2. Click the General tab.
3. Select the Warn me when entering compatibility mode check box.
4. Click OK.
4
5
C H A P T E R 1
Getting started
Connecting to students
L
L I N K S
SMART Sync 2011 software is a two-part installation. To download and install the student version of SMART Sync software to student computers, see Installing SMART Sync Student software in the SMART Sync 2011 Quick Start Guide ( smarttech.com/kb/160489 ).
You or your system administrator can install SMART Sync Student software on students’ computers in one of two modes:
Mode
Visible
Hidden
Description
The user interface is visible to students.
The user interface is hidden from students.
C H A P T E R 1
Getting started
You or your system administrator can then select a connection option depending on the chosen mode:
Connection option
Allows the student to select from a list of available teachers
Automatically connects with this Teacher ID
Automatically connects with this hostname or IP address
Uses this Class List
Server hostname or IP address
Description
Students must manually connect to the correct teacher ID.
Yes
T
T I P
Visible mode
If teacher discovery is enabled, students can view the IDs of teachers currently logged on to
SMART Sync Teacher software in a
Students automatically connect to a teacher ID.
Students automatically connect to a teacher through a host name or IP address. (Host names and
IP addresses identify computers on a network.)
Yes
Yes
You connect to your students based on the information in a SMART School file
Class List Server on page 80).
You can allow assisted teacher discovery for students or use SMART
Sync Class List Server to automatically connect students to a
teacher (see Connecting to SMART
Sync Class List Server on page 80).
For information on creating and maintaining SMART School files, see smarttech.com/kb/160490 .
Yes
Hidden mode
No
Yes
Yes
Yes
N
N O T E
In Hidden mode, students can’t ask questions, initiate chat, send files or complete other tasks requiring the SMART Sync Student software user interface.
6
C H A P T E R 1
Getting started
Transferring students to your class
If you connect to students through SMART Sync Class List Server, you can transfer students connected to other teachers’ classes to your class.
N
N O T E
This feature is only available if you use SMART Sync Class List Server and if at least one other teacher currently has a class running on SMART Sync Class List Server.
g To transfer students to your class
1. Select Connection > Get Missing Students from Other Teachers.
The SMART Sync – Class List Connection dialog box appears. This dialog box shows all students connected to other teachers through SMART Sync Class List Server and the teachers they’re connected to.
2. Select the check boxes of the students you want to transfer to your class.
T
T I P
You can select all students in the list by clicking Select All.
3. Click Transfer.
SMART Sync software transfers the selected students to your class.
Adding a student after a class has started
If you previously saved a class (see Working with teacher IDs and classes on the next page), you
can add a student to your class after the class has started.
g To add a student to your class
1. Select Connection > Add Student.
The SMART Sync dialog box appears.
2. Enter the computer host name or the ID of the student that you want to add to your class.
3. Click OK.
SMART Sync software adds the selected student to your class.
7
C H A P T E R 1
Getting started
Working with teacher IDs and classes
You can change to a different teacher ID or select another class at any time. When you change to a different teacher ID or class, the customized profile for that teacher or class loads automatically.
If additional students join your class or if you reorganize your groups, you might want to save the current class.
g To change the teacher ID or class
1. Select File > Change Teacher or Class.
The Teacher and Class Selection dialog box appears, displaying your current teacher ID.
2. Select the teacher ID you want from the list.
OR
Clear the current teacher ID and enter another one.
3. Select the class you want.
4. Click OK.
The SMART Sync software title bar changes to reflect the teacher ID and class.
Students connected to the previous teacher ID receive a message asking them if they want to switch to the new teacher ID. They must click Yes to connect to the new teacher ID.
g To save a non-administered class
Select File > Save Class.
g To save an administered class or to save a class with a new name
1. Select File > Save Class As.
A dialog box appears.
2. Type a new class name, and then click Save.
8
9
C H A P T E R 1
Getting started
Navigating the user interface
The SMART Sync software user interface consists of four components: l
Views l
Main toolbar and menu l
Group tabs l
Students list
Views
Each view contains a subset of the SMART Sync software features:
C H A P T E R 1
Getting started
View
Thumbnails
Collaboration
Questions
Chat
File Transfer
Applications
Internet
Description
When you start SMART Sync software, you see thumbnails (miniature images) of the connected students’ desktops. These thumbnails change in real time
(though slightly delayed) with every instance of student input. You can customize the appearance of the Thumbnails view by editing thumbnail names, changing thumbnail sizes and rearranging the thumbnails.
In the Thumbnails view, you can: l
Observe the class l
Observe and take control of a student’s desktop l
Broadcast your desktop l
Broadcast a student’s desktop l
Capture an image of a student’s desktop l
Share media files l
Share a web page l
Shut down, log off or restart a student’s computer
Using the Collaboration view, you can organize and monitor collaborative assignments. You can separate your class into groups of two or three, distribute an assignment for them to complete as a group and view their progress.
Using the Questions view, you can view, respond to and save your students’ questions.
Using SMART Sync software, you can chat with your whole class, group or selected students. The Chat view displays all the chat messages, including messages between students.
In the Chat view, you can also: l
Control student chat l
Save the current chat session as a text file l
Clear the chat history
Using the File Transfer view, you can send files to your class, and receive files from a group or selected students and . The view is divided into Sent Files, and
Received Files.
In the File Transfer view, you can also: l
Cancel a file transfer l
Open a sent file l
Open a received file l
Clear a file from the list
Using the Applications view, you control which applications your students can use by creating application blocking rules. You can also remotely start and close applications on your students’ computers.
Using the Internet view, you can block students from using specified websites and pages.
10
C H A P T E R 1
Getting started
N
N O T E
In all views, you can lock student desktops, block Internet access, send announcements and conduct polls.
Main toolbar and menus
The main toolbar includes buttons for common tasks in SMART Sync 2011. Although you can access some buttons and menu options in any view, some buttons and menu options are specific to a particular view. For example, the Shut Down button appears only in the Thumbnails view.
When you select a view, the toolbar buttons and menu options change to the buttons and options appropriate for that view.
Group tabs
If you want to frequently interact with a selection of students from your entire class, create a group for those students. Each time you create a group, SMART Sync software creates a tab for the new group
(see Working with groups on page 16).
Depending on your viewing options, the main tab is named either All Computers or All Students.
Students list
The students list appears on the right side of the interface when you’re in the Questions, Chat, File
Transfer or Applications view.
N
N O T E
The Thumbnails and Collaboration views don’t include the students list. You can get the same information from the students’ thumbnails.
The students list includes: l
All the currently connected students (if you’re viewing the All Students or All Computers tab).
l
All the currently connected students in a group (if you’re viewing a group’s tab).
When you select one or more students in the students list, you can interact with the selected students using SMART Sync software features, including locking students’ desktops, broadcasting, sending and receiving files, and more.
11
C H A P T E R 1
Getting started
The symbol next to each student’s name indicates the student’s status. The symbols below are organized in order of most important status (Disconnected) to least important status (Connected).
Symbol Status
Disconnected
Locked Out
Vote
Vote Yes
Vote No
Question
Chat
Application Block
Internet Block
Connected
Description
The student is disconnected.
The student is locked out.
The student has yet to respond to a vote.
The student has responded affirmatively to a vote.
The student has responded negatively to a vote.
The student has asked a question.
The student has received a new chat message.
The student is blocked from using one or more applications.
The student is blocked from using the Internet.
The student is connected.
When more than one status applies to a student, only the most important symbol appears. For example, if a student is both connected and locked out, the Locked Out symbol displays beside the student’s name.
Customizing the user interface
You can customize the SMART Sync software user interface to suit your preferences by following the instructions in this section.
Showing or hiding toolbars
You can show or hide the toolbars to customize the SMART Sync software user interface.
g To show or hide the main toolbar
Select View > Toolbars > Main.
g To show or hide the Views icons
Select View > Toolbars > View.
Setting the selection method
You can change the SMART Sync software selection method to suit your preferences. The two available methods are Standard and Sticky.
12
C H A P T E R 1
Getting started
In Standard selection: l
If you click two items, you select only the second item.
l
If you hold the CTRL key and click two items, you select both items.
l
If you hold the SHIFT key and click two items, you select both items and every item between the two.
In Sticky selection: l
If you click two items, you select both items.
l
If you click a selected item, you clear the selection.
l
Holding the CTRL or SHIFT key has no effect.
T
T I P
If you’re using a SMART Board interactive whiteboard, it’s easier to select and clear selections using the Sticky selection method.
g To set the selection method to Standard
Select Options > Selection Types > Standard Selection.
g To set the selection method to Sticky
Select Options > Selection Types > Sticky Selection.
Working with thumbnails
You can arrange, resize and change the information of the thumbnails in the Thumbnails view.
Rearranging thumbnails
By default, the student thumbnails are arranged alphabetically in the Thumbnails view. However, you can arrange the thumbnails in any way you like. For example, you can rearrange them to reflect the room’s seating plan for all students or groups.
g To arrange thumbnails in a customized order
1. Click Thumbnails .
The Thumbnails view appears.
13
C H A P T E R 1
Getting started
2. If you want to arrange the thumbnails for the class, click All Computers or All Students.
If you want to arrange the thumbnails for a group, click the group’s tab.
3. Make sure View > Thumbnail Arrangement > Align to Grid isn’t selected, and then drag the thumbnails vertically or horizontally.
N
N O T E
If a new student joins the class or group, that student’s thumbnail appears at the end of the thumbnail arrangement.
g To arrange thumbnails alphabetically
1. Click Thumbnails .
The Thumbnails view appears.
2. If you want to arrange the thumbnails for the class, click All Computers or All Students.
If you want to arrange the thumbnails for the group, click a group’s tab .
3. Select View > Thumbnail Arrangement > Alphabetical Ordering.
The thumbnails arrange in alphabetical order starting at the upper left corner.
N
N O T E
If a new student joins the class or group, that student’s thumbnail appears in alphabetical order in the thumbnail arrangement.
Resizing thumbnails
There are advantages and disadvantages to increasing the size of the thumbnails. If you make them larger, it’s easier to see details, but you have to scroll to view some of the thumbnails. If you make them smaller, you can view more of them without having to scroll, but it’s difficult to see details.
g To resize thumbnails
1. Click Thumbnails .
The Thumbnails view appears.
14
C H A P T E R 1
Getting started
2. Select View > Thumbnail Size, and then select one of the following options: o Very Large (two thumbnails wide) o Large (three thumbnails wide) o Medium (four thumbnails wide) o Small (five thumbnails wide) o Very Small (six thumbnails wide) o Best Fit (automatically adjusts the thumbnail display to the best arrangement)
Changing thumbnail information
When you monitor a class or group in the Thumbnails view, you can display the student’s logon ID, student ID or name below each thumbnail.
The Collaboration view also displays this information.
g To change thumbnail information
1. Click Thumbnails .
The Thumbnails view appears.
2. Select View > Thumbnail Name/Description.
3. Select Logon ID, Student ID or Student Name.
15
C H A P T E R 1
Getting started
Working with groups
If you want to frequently interact with a selection of students from your class, create a group for those students.
When you create a group, SMART Sync software creates a tab for that group. Depending on your viewing options, the default group tab is named All Computers or All Students.
When you select a group’s tab, you can interact with the members of that group. For example, you can lock the group’s desktops, broadcast your desktop to the group or send a file to the group.
By creating groups, you can tailor specific actions to a certain section of the class. For example, you can create a group made up of students who are easily distracted, and then monitor the computer screens of that group.
You can also add members to or remove members from existing groups and delete groups that you no longer need.
Creating, editing and deleting groups
g To create a group
1. Select Edit > Add Group.
The New Group dialog box appears.
2. Type a name for the group in the Group name box.
3. Optionally, select the Allow students to join this group on their own check box to allow students to join or leave this group.
N
N O T E
If you don’t select this check box, only you can add or remove students from the group.
4. Click OK.
The group appears as a new tab in the main SMART Sync software window.
16
C H A P T E R 1
Getting started g To edit a group
1. Select the group’s tab.
2. Select Edit > Modify Group.
The Edit New Group dialog box appears.
3. Optionally, change the name of the group in the Name box.
4. Optionally, add students to or remove them from the group: o To add a student, select the student’s name in the Students list, and then click Add.
o To remove a student, select the student’s name in the Group Members list, and then click Remove.
5. Optionally, select the Allow students to join this group on their own check box to allow students to join or leave this group.
N
N O T E
If you don’t select this check box, only you can add or remove students from the group.
6. Click OK.
g To delete a group
1. Select the group’s tab.
2. Select Edit > Remove Group.
A warning message appears.
3. Click Yes.
g To interact with a group or all students
If you want to interact with a group, click the group’s tab.
If you want to interact with all students, click the All Computers or All Students tab.
Changing the type of class
Depending on your viewing options, the default group tab is named All Computers or All Students.
The All Computers group includes every computer in your lab and names the thumbnails using the computer name. The All Students group includes every student in your class and names the thumbnails using the student ID.
17
C H A P T E R 1
Getting started g To change from a lab to a class
Select View > View Class As > Student Class List.
g To change from a class to a lab
Select View > View Class As > Computer Lab.
Exiting SMART Sync software
Before you exit SMART Sync software, consider the following: l
If you exit while a file transfer is in progress, the file transfer cancels.
l
If you want to continue to use SMART Sync software with a different teacher ID, you don’t need to exit SMART Sync software.
l
All students will be disconnected from SMART Sync software, and all application blocking rules and Internet blocking rules will be disabled.
g To exit SMART Sync software
Select File > Exit.
18
Chapter 2:
19
Chapter 2
Observing and guiding students
Controlling a student’s desktop
Capturing an image of a student’s desktop
Controlling student disconnection
Shutting down and logging off student computers
You can view a window or full screen image of a student’s desktop, take sole control of a student’s desktop or share control with the student. You can also observe and control your class's computer activity using locks, shutdowns and more.
Observing the class
You can view images of your students’ screens using the Thumbnails view and determine at a glance whether everyone is focused on the assigned task.
When you observe a class or group, you can: l
Capture images of students’ desktops (see page 25)
l
Lock students' desktops (see page 26)
l
Broadcast your desktop (see page 32)
l
Broadcast a student’s desktop (see page 33)
l
Send an announcement (see page 36)
l
l
Share media files (see page 37)
l
C H A P T E R 2
Observing and guiding students l
Shut down, log off or restart students' computers (see page 28)
l
View and answer students’ questions (see page 47)
l
Block student access to the Internet (see page 67)
g To observe the class
The Thumbnails view displays the thumbnails of the class or the selected group.
The symbol in the top left corner of each thumbnail indicates the student’s status. When more than one status applies to a student, the symbol with the greatest importance is displayed. For example, if a student is both blocked from using the Internet and locked out, the Locked Out symbol is displayed. The symbols below are organized in order of most important (Locked Out) to least important (Active Application).
Symbol Status
Locked Out
Vote
Vote Yes
Vote No
Question
Chat
Application Block
Internet Block
Active Application
Description
The student is locked out.
The student has yet to respond to a vote.
The student has responded affirmatively to a vote.
The student has responded negatively to a vote.
The student has asked a question.
The student has received a new chat message.
The student is blocked from using one or more applications.
The student is blocked from using the Internet.
If none of the situations above are true, then the icon for the student’s active application is displayed as a symbol.
For example, if the student is using Microsoft® Word, then the Word icon is displayed.
The Thumbnails view displays all thumbnails in a 4:3 ratio to make it easier for you to view and organize them. If necessary, this view also adds borders to the image to ensure the thumbnail isn’t distorted by a change in ratio.
1. Click Thumbnails .
The Thumbnails view appears.
2. If you want to monitor all students, click All Computers or All Students.
If you want to monitor only students in a group, click the group’s tab.
20
C H A P T E R 2
Observing and guiding students
Observing a student’s desktop
You can view a student’s desktop in Window mode (the student’s desktop appears in a resizable window, with the Thumbnails view open at the same time) or Full Screen mode (the student’s desktop fills your screen). Window mode enables you to switch between the live image of your student’s desktop and the other parts of the software.
When you monitor an individual student, you can also take control of the student’s desktop, broadcast the student’s desktop to the class, capture an image of the student’s desktop and write notes over the student’s desktop.
N
N O T E
If a student’s computer disconnects from your computer while you’re observing the student’s desktop, “No Response” appears over the thumbnail. When the student’s computer reconnects, the message disappears and you can resume observing the desktop.
T
T I P
If a student uses two monitors, you can view both displays. Either scroll to see an individual display or scale the displays to view them both in one window.
g To view a student’s desktop in Window mode
1. Click Thumbnails .
The Thumbnails view appears.
2. Double-click the student’s thumbnail.
The student’s desktop appears.
3. If the student’s desktop appears in Full Screen mode, select Menu > View in Window Mode.
N
N O T E
While viewing the student’s desktop in Window mode, you can: o Click Control o Click Pen
to take control of the student’s desktop (see page 22).
o Click Broadcast o
Click Capture
to broadcast the student’s desktop (see page 33).
to capture an image of the student’s desktop (see page 25).
to write on the student’s desktop (see page 24).
4. Click Stop to stop viewing the student’s desktop.
21
C H A P T E R 2
Observing and guiding students g To view a student’s desktop in Full Screen mode
1. Click Thumbnails .
The Thumbnails view appears.
2. Double-click the student’s thumbnail.
The student’s desktop appears.
3. If the student’s desktop appears in Window mode, click Full Screen .
N
N O T E
While viewing the student’s desktop in Full Screen mode, you can: o
Select Menu > Control to take control of the student’s desktop (see page 22).
o
Select Menu > Broadcast to broadcast the student’s desktop (see page 33).
o
Select Menu > Capture to capture an image of the student’s desktop (see page 25).
o
Click Pen
to write on the student’s desktop (see page 24).
4. If you want to stop viewing the student’s desktop, select Menu > Stop Observing.
If you want to continue viewing the student’s desktop but in Window mode, select Menu >
View in Window Mode.
Controlling a student’s desktop
When you observe a student's desktop, you can take sole control or share control of the student’s desktop. Any changes you make when you take sole control of the student’s desktop are visible to the student in real time.
N
N O T E
If a student’s computer disconnects from your computer while you’re controlling the student’s desktop, “No Response” appears over the thumbnail. When the student’s computer reconnects, the message disappears and you can resume controlling the desktop.
22
C H A P T E R 2
Observing and guiding students g To control a student’s desktop in Window mode
1. Click Thumbnails .
The Thumbnails view appears.
2. Select the student’s thumbnail, and then click Control .
The student’s desktop appears.
3. If the student’s desktop appears in Full Screen mode, select Menu > View in Window Mode.
N
N O T E
While controlling the student’s desktop in Window mode, you can: o Click Observe
to stop controlling the student’s desktop and continue viewing it o Click Broadcast o
Click Capture
to broadcast the student’s desktop (see page 33).
to capture an image of the student’s desktop (see page 25).
o Click Pen
to write on the student’s desktop (see page 24).
4. Click Stop to stop controlling the student’s desktop.
g To control a student’s desktop in Full Screen mode
1. Click Thumbnails .
The Thumbnails view appears.
2. Select the student’s thumbnail, and then click Control .
The student’s desktop appears.
3. If the student’s desktop appears in Window mode, click Full Screen .
N
N O T E
While controlling the student’s desktop in Full Screen mode, you can: o Select Menu > Observe to stop controlling the student’s desktop and continue
o
Select Menu > Broadcast to broadcast the student’s desktop (see page 33).
o
Select Menu > Capture to capture an image of the student’s desktop (see page 25).
o Click Pen
to write on the student’s desktop (see page 24).
23
C H A P T E R 2
Observing and guiding students
4. If you want to stop controlling the student’s desktop, select Menu > Stop Controlling.
If you want to continue controlling the student’s desktop in Window mode, select Menu > View
in Window Mode.
Writing over a desktop
When you observe or control a student’s desktop, you can write over that student’s desktop. Your notes are visible only on that student’s desktop.
l
If you’re working on a SMART Board interactive whiteboard, you can write notes using a pen tray pen and change the appearance of the digital ink using the options in Floating Tools.
l
If you’re working at your computer, you can write notes using the My Desktop toolbar and change the digital ink’s width, color and transparency in the SMART Sync software preferences.
The digital ink is temporary and the underlying application is unaffected by your notes. If you want to save your notes, capture the screen before you clear the digital ink.
g To write over a student’s desktop using an interactive whiteboard
1. Observe or take control of a student’s desktop (see Observing a student’s desktop on page 21
or Controlling a student’s desktop on page 22).
2. Pick up a pen tray pen and write on the interactive whiteboard.
3. Put the pen tray pen back in its slot when you’re finished.
When you next make contact with the interactive whiteboard, your notes disappear.
g To write over a student’s desktop using the My Desktop toolbar
1. Observe or take control of a student’s desktop (see Observing a student’s desktop on page 21
or Controlling a student’s desktop on page 22).
2. Click Pen .
3. Click and drag your mouse across your desktop to write in digital ink.
4. Click Select when you’re finished.
Your notes disappear.
24
C H A P T E R 2
Observing and guiding students
Capturing an image of a student’s desktop
When you observe a student, you can capture an image of the student’s desktop and save it as a graphics file for your records.
g To capture an image of a student’s desktop
1. Click Thumbnails .
The Thumbnails view appears.
2. Select the thumbnail of the student whose desktop you want to capture.
3. Click Capture .
The Save As dialog box appears.
4. Type a new name for the file in the File name box if you don’t want to use the default file name.
N
N O T E
The default file name contains the student’s name followed by the date and the time of the screen capture.
5. Select a new graphics file type in the Save as type drop-down list if you don’t want to use the default graphics file type.
N
N O T E
The default graphics file type is JPEG.
6. Browse to the folder where you want to save the file if you don’t want to save it in the default folder.
N
N O T E
The default folder is My Documents in the Windows® XP and Windows 7 operating systems or Documents in the Windows Vista® operating systems and Windows 7 operating systems.
7. Click Save.
g To view the screen capture
1. Browse to the folder where you saved the graphics file.
2. Double-click the graphics file.
25
C H A P T E R 2
Observing and guiding students
Locking student desktops
You can get the attention of your class, a group or an individual student by temporarily locking their mouse devices, keyboards and desktops and presenting them with a simple message.
The default message is “Eyes to the front, please.” However, you can customize this message (see
Setting the lock-out message on page 84).
When you lock student desktops, you don’t delete any work. When you remove the lock, the student desktop views and control are completely restored.
N
N O T E
If a student’s computer disconnects from your computer while the student’s desktop is locked, “No
Response” appears over the thumbnail. When the student’s computer reconnects, the message disappears and the student’s desktop is locked again.
g To lock student desktops
1. Click Thumbnails .
The Thumbnails view appears.
2. If you want to lock all students’ desktops, click All Computers or All Students.
If you want to lock the desktops of students in a group, click the group’s tab.
If you want to lock one student's desktop, select the student’s thumbnail.
3. Click Lock .
A lock symbol appears over the locked desktops in the Thumbnails view. Lock symbols also appear in locked students’ thumbnails.
The lock-out message appears on the selected students’ desktops.
N
N O T E
To remove the lock, click Lock .
Disconnecting students
At the end of a class, some students might leave without disconnecting from SMART Sync software.
You can remotely disconnect a student, and you can also control the student’s ability to disconnect.
For example, you can prevent students from logging out or avoiding your surveillance.
26
C H A P T E R 2
Observing and guiding students
Disconnecting students
Remotely disconnect students in the Thumbnails view.
g To disconnect a student
1. Click Thumbnails .
The Thumbnails view appears.
2. Select the thumbnail of the student you want to disconnect.
3. Select Connection > Disconnect Students.
A message appears asking you for confirmation.
4. Click Yes.
SMART Sync software disconnects the student’s computer from SMART Sync Teacher software and a No Response message appears over the student’s thumbnail.
N
N O T E S o If you connected to students using a class list, you can also disconnect a student, reconnect a student or remove the thumbnail.
o To disconnect a student, right-click his or her thumbnail, and then select
Disconnect.
o To reconnect a student, right-click his or her thumbnail, and then select
Reconnect.
o To remove a thumbnail from the Thumbnails view, right-click the thumbnail, and then select Remove. This doesn’t remove the student from a group or the class, but does help to tidy the view.
o Depending on how the class was created, you might be able to refresh the screen by either selecting View > Refresh or pressing F5.
g To disconnect all Mac students
1. Click Thumbnails .
The Thumbnails view appears.
2. Select Connection > Disconnect All Mac Students.
A message appears asking you for confirmation.
27
C H A P T E R 2
Observing and guiding students
3. Click Yes.
SMART Sync software disconnects all Mac students' computers.
Controlling student disconnection
You can control a student’s ability to disconnect. For example, you can prevent students from logging out or avoiding your surveillance.
If you disabled student disconnection and a student clicks the SMART Sync icon in the notification area, the student: l
Can’t select Exit l
Can select Connect, but can’t connect to a different teacher in the Connect to Teacher dialog box g To disable student disconnection
Select Options > Allow Students to Disconnect.
g To enable student disconnection
Select Options > Allow Students to Disconnect.
When a student disconnects from SMART Sync software, a No Response message appears over the student’s thumbnail.
N
N O T E
If you or a system administrator disabled the exit option when configuring SMART Sync Student software, students are unable to exit the program even if you enable student disconnection in
SMART Sync Teacher software.
Shutting down and logging off student computers
At the end of the day, some students might log off and shut down their computers, and others might leave applications running. You can remotely shut down, log off or restart the computers of your entire class, a group or a selected student.
C
C A U T I O N
Shutting down, logging off or restarting a computer can result in the loss of unsaved data. Advise students to save their work before you perform any of these actions.
28
C H A P T E R 2
Observing and guiding students g To shut down, log off or restart student computers
1. Click Thumbnails .
The Thumbnails view appears.
2. If you want to shut down, log off or restart all students’ computers, click All Computers or All
Students.
If you want to shut down, log off or restart the computers of students in a group, click the group’s tab.
If you want to shut down, log off or restart one student’s computer, select the student’s thumbnail.
3. Click Shut Down .
The Shut Down Students dialog box appears.
4. Select one of the following from the drop-down list: o Shut down o Log off o Restart
5. Click OK.
29
Chapter 3:
31
Chapter 3
Broadcasting and communicating
Broadcasting a student’s desktop
Giving control to a student during a broadcast
SMART Sync software makes it easy for you to interact with your students. Whether you need to communicate with the entire class, a group or an individual student, you can use a variety of methods: l
Broadcasting your desktop l
Broadcasting a student’s desktop l
Passing control of a broadcast to a student l
Writing notes over a student’s desktop l
Sending an announcement l
Conducting a poll l
Sharing media l
Sharing a web page
C H A P T E R 3
Broadcasting and communicating
Broadcasting
You can broadcast your desktop to the entire class or to a group. You can also broadcast a student’s desktop or give control of the broadcast to a student.
N
N O T E
If you want to broadcast video or media files, disable the mirror driver in the advanced preferences
(see Setting the advanced preferences on page 92) or click the Show Media button (see Sharing
Broadcasting your desktop
You can broadcast your desktop to the entire class or to selected students in either Full Screen or
Window mode. In Full Screen mode, your broadcast fills the students’ screens, and they can’t view or use other applications during the broadcast. In Window mode, your desktop appears in a window on the students’ desktops and they can switch between this window and other applications.
g To broadcast your desktop
1. Click Thumbnails .
The Thumbnails view appears.
2. If you want to broadcast to the entire class, click All Computers or All Students and ensure no students’ thumbnails are selected.
If you want to broadcast to a group, click the group’s tab and ensure no students’ thumbnails are selected.
If you want to broadcast to selected students, select students’ thumbnails.
N
N O T E
You must select more than one student’s thumbnail.
3. Click Broadcast .
A message appears asking if you want to broadcast your desktop.
32
C H A P T E R 3
Broadcasting and communicating
4. Click Yes.
Your desktop appears on the selected students’ desktops. The My Desktop toolbar appears on your computer.
N
N O T E S o Your desktop is surrounded by a blue border during the broadcast.
o If you’re broadcasting from a SMART Board interactive whiteboard, you can write using a pen tray pen and your notes appear on the students’ desktops. You can also
write over the students’ desktops using the My Desktop toolbar (see Writing over a
5. Select Menu > Stop Broadcasting when you’re finished.
Broadcasting a student’s desktop
You can broadcast a student’s desktop to the entire class or to a group. You can also take control of the student’s mouse and keyboard, share control with the student or let the student keep control.
You can broadcast in either Full Screen or Window mode. In Full Screen mode, your broadcast fills the students’ screens, and they can’t view or use other applications during the broadcast. In Window mode, the broadcast appears in a window on the students’ desktops and they can switch between this window and other applications.
g To broadcast a student’s desktop
1. Click Thumbnails .
The Thumbnails view appears.
2. Select the thumbnail of the student whose desktop you want to broadcast.
3. Click Broadcast .
A message appears asking if you want to broadcast the selected desktop.
33
C H A P T E R 3
Broadcasting and communicating
4. Click Yes.
The student’s desktop appears on your computer and the other students’ computers.
N
N O T E S o The student’s desktop is surrounded by a blue border during the broadcast.
o While broadcasting the student’s desktop, you can: o Click Observe to stop the broadcast and continue viewing the student’s
o Click Control to stop the broadcast and take control of the student’s
5. Click Stop o Click Capture o Click Pen
to capture an image of the student’s desktop (see page 25).
to write on the student’s desktop (see page 35).
when you’re finished.
Giving control to a student during a broadcast
You can give temporary control of the broadcast desktop to a student.
g To give control to a student during a broadcast
1. Broadcast your desktop or a student’s desktop (see Broadcasting your desktop on page 32 or
Broadcasting a student’s desktop on the previous page).
The desktop appears on the students’ monitors and the My Desktop toolbar appears on your desktop.
2. Select Menu > Pass the Chalk.
The Pass the Chalk to dialog box appears. The alphabetical list of students includes every student who’s receiving your broadcast.
34
C H A P T E R 3
Broadcasting and communicating
3. Select a student, type a message, and then click Pass the Chalk.
Your message appears on the student’s screen. When the student clicks OK, he or she has control of the broadcast desktop. The desktop’s border changes from blue to red.
N
N O T E S o If you give control to one of your students, you can still use your mouse and keyboard.
If both you and the student use the mouse or keyboard at the same time, your actions take precedence over the student’s.
o If you broadcast the desktop of a student whose computer uses Windows Vista operating system, the student always shares control, regardless of your broadcast preferences.
4. Select Menu > End Pass the Chalk to regain sole control of the broadcast desktop.
5. Select Menu > Stop Broadcasting when you're finished.
Writing over a broadcast
If you write over your desktop, during a broadcast and the digital ink displays on the desktops of everyone receiving your broadcast. This is a good way to direct your students’ attention and make helpful notes for them.
l
If you’re working on a SMART Board interactive whiteboard, you can write notes using a pen tray pen and change the appearance of the digital ink using the options in Floating Tools.
l
If you’re working at your computer, you can write notes using the My Desktop toolbar and change the digital ink’s width, color and transparency in the SMART Sync software preferences.
g To write over a broadcast using an interactive whiteboard
1. Broadcast your desktop or a student’s desktop (see Broadcasting your desktop on page 32 or
Broadcasting a student’s desktop on page 33).
2. Pick up a pen tray pen and write on the interactive whiteboard.
3. Put the pen tray pen back in its slot when you’re finished.
When you next make contact with the interactive whiteboard, your notes disappear.
g To write over a broadcast using the My Desktop toolbar
1. Broadcast your desktop or a student’s desktop (see Broadcasting your desktop on page 32 or
Broadcasting a student’s desktop on page 33).
2. Click Pen .
35
C H A P T E R 3
Broadcasting and communicating
3. Click and drag your mouse across your desktop to write in digital ink.
4. Click Select when you’re finished.
Your notes disappear.
Sending an announcement
You can send an announcement to your whole class or a specific group.
N
N O T E
Alternatively, you can chat with your whole class or a specific group (see Chatting on page 51).
g To send an announcement
1. If you want to send the announcement to the entire class, click All Computers or All
Students.
If you want to send the announcement to students in a group, click the group’s tab.
If you want to send the announcement to selected students, select those students’ names in the students list.
2. Click Announce .
The Announce dialog box appears.
3. Type a message in the Announcement box, and then click OK.
Your message appears on the students’ screens.
Conducting a poll
You can send a yes/no question to your class or a group for them to vote on. SMART Sync software tallies the responses and displays the result of the vote at the bottom of the window.
g To conduct a poll
1. If you want to conduct a poll of all students, click All Computers or All Students .
If you want to conduct a poll of only students in a group, click the group’s tab.
2. Click Vote .
The Vote dialog box appears.
3. Type your question.
36
C H A P T E R 3
Broadcasting and communicating
4. Click OK.
A Quick Response for Vote dialog box appears on each student’s computer. Students select
Yes or No, and then click Submit.
A response symbol appears over each thumbnail in the Thumbnails view. The three response symbols are as follows: o o
Student has yet to respond
Student voted Yes o Student voted No
N
N O T E
The same symbols appear beside the students’ names in the students list.
The result of the poll appears at the bottom of SMART Sync Teacher software.
5. Click Vote , and then click Yes to clear the votes when you’re finished.
Sharing media
You can play media files on your computer and broadcast them to the entire class, a group, or an individual student.
N
N O T E S l
If you want to share media files, disable the mirror driver (see Setting the advanced
l
If you want to share a Windows Media® (.wmv) file with a student, the student’s computer must have Windows Media Player 7 or later and DirectX® technology 9.0 or later.
Sharing a media file
g To share a media file
1. Click Thumbnails .
The Thumbnails view appears.
2. If you want to share the media file with the entire class, click All Computers or All Students.
If you want to share the media file with students in a group, click the group’s tab.
3. Click Show Media .
The Send Media File dialog box appears.
37
C H A P T E R 3
Broadcasting and communicating
4. Browse to and select the media file you want to share, and then click Send.
The Sending Media dialog box appears. This dialog box displays the estimated time it will take to send the file to the selected students. When all students have received the media file, it starts playing automatically.
N
N O T E
All of the media file controls, such as the Play and Stop buttons, are disabled until all the students have received the file.
T
T I P
If you decide that you don’t want to play the media file, click Cancel. When the message appears asking for confirmation, click Yes.
5. Click Play .
The media file plays.
N
N O T E
You can pause or stop the media file as well as change the display mode while it's playing
(see below).
6. If you want to leave the media window open and play a different media file, select File > Open.
If you want to close the media window, select File > Exit.
Playing the media file
While playing the media file, you can do the following: l
Click Pause to pause the media file.
l
Click Stop to stop the media file.
N
N O T E
If you click Stop and then click Play, the media file restarts from the beginning.
l
Select View > 50%, View > 100% or View > 200% to change the size of the media window.
38
C H A P T E R 3
Broadcasting and communicating l
Click Full Screen
T
T I P S to display the media file in Full Screen mode.
o If you want to prevent students from using other applications while you broadcast the media file, display it in Full Screen mode.
o When you play the media file in Full Screen mode, the Playing Media toolbar appears.
You can use this toolbar to play , pause and stop the file as well as return to
Window mode .
When you click one of the above buttons or menu options, the action affects the display on both your computer and your students’ computers.
Sharing a web page
You can remotely start Internet Explorer® Internet browser and open a specific web page on the desktops of your whole class, a group or selected students.
You can also launch a web page on your students’ computers using the SMART Sync software toolbar in Internet Explorer.
N
N O T E
Using this method, you automatically display the web page on all your students' desktops. You can’t display it only for a group or selected students.
g To share a web page
1. Click Thumbnails .
The Thumbnails view appears.
2. If you want to share the web page with all students, click All Computers or All Students.
If you want to share the web page with only students in a group, click the group’s tab.
If you want to share the web page with selected students, select those students’ thumbnails.
3. Click Send Web .
The Internet Share Web Address dialog box appears.
4. Type the web page’s address in the box.
39
C H A P T E R 3
Broadcasting and communicating
5. Click Send WWW.
Internet Explorer starts and opens the web page on both your desktop and the desktops of the selected students.
g To share a web page using the SMART Sync software toolbar
1. Open Internet Explorer.
2. Browse to the web page you want to display to your students.
3. If you haven’t done so already, select View > Toolbar > SMART Sync to display the
SMART Sync software toolbar.
4. Click Send to Students .
40
Chapter 4:
Chapter 4
Organizing collaboration
Starting collaborative assignments
Completing collaborative assignments
Monitoring collaborative assignments
Using SMART Sync software, you can separate your class into groups of two or three students, distribute an assignment for them to complete collaboratively and monitor their progress. After they complete the task individually, the students in each group can compare their answers, agree upon their collective response and then send it to you for review.
Starting collaborative assignments
You can distribute an assignment to your class for them to complete in groups of two or three.
g To start collaborative assignments
1. Click Collaboration .
The Collaboration view appears.
2. Select Two students per group or Three students per group to set the size of the groups.
3. Click Browse.
The Open dialog box appears.
4. Browse to and select the collaborative assignment file, and then click Open.
5. For each document you want to include with the assignment as a resource file, click Add, browse to and select the file, and then click Open.
N
N O T E
If you want to remove a previously included resource file, select the file and click Remove.
41
C H A P T E R 4
Organizing collaboration
6. If you want to allow students to chat using SMART Sync while they’re working on the assignment, select the Allow students to chat check box .
If you want to prevent student chat, clear the Allow students to chat check box.
7. Click Start .
The Collaboration sidebar appears on the right side of each student’s desktop. This sidebar enables the student to open the assignment, open the additional resource documents, view work completed by other group members and send the group’s final response back to you.
T
T I P
You can monitor the progress of each group (see Monitoring collaborative assignments on page 44).
After all the groups complete the assignment, the Collaboration Complete screen appears and
enables you to view the assignments (see Viewing completed assignments on page 45).
Completing collaborative assignments
After your students receive the collaborative assignment, they can complete the task individually, compare answers with other students in their group, agree upon their collective response and then send it to you for review.
The Collaboration sidebar appears on the right side of each student’s desktop. This sidebar enables the student to open resource documents, view the status of their group members’ work, view work completed by other group members, and submit a final group response.
N
N O T E
If students have SMART Notebook™ SE (Student Edition) collaborative learning software on their computers, all collaborative files open in new tabs in SMART Notebook SE software and students' work is saved to their binders automatically.
One student per group is responsible for submitting the group’s final response. SMART Sync software selects this student randomly.
N
N O T E
The following procedure must be completed by the students on their computers. It is provided here to allow you to respond to any students who are unsure of how to proceed.
42
C H A P T E R 4
Organizing collaboration g To complete collaborative assignments
1. Read the instructions in the Collaboration Individual Work window, and then click OK.
The assignment appears in the appropriate application and the Collaboration sidebar appears on the right side of the screen.
2. Complete the assignment.
T
T I P
To view a resource file while completing the assignment, click its name below Resources in the Collaboration sidebar.
3. Click Hand In in the Collaboration sidebar.
4. Click Yes to confirm that you want to hand in your assignment.
The collaboration sidebar displays the status of your group members’ work: o If a student hasn’t completed the work, the Collaboration sidebar displays Work not
handed in below the student’s name. If you hover your mouse over a thumbnail, a larger view of the student’s screen appears. If you double-click a thumbnail, a full screen view of the student’s screen appears.
o If a student has completed the work, the Collaboration sidebar displays Work handed
in below the student’s name. If all the students in the group have submitted their assignment, you can click Work handed in to display that student’s work.
When all the students in your group have handed in their assignments, the Collaboration Group
Work window appears with instructions for how to proceed.
5. Read the instructions, and then click OK.
43
C H A P T E R 4
Organizing collaboration
6. If you aren’t responsible for submitting the group’s final response, you can see the group leader’s screen. Work with your group until your group leader has completed an answer on behalf of the group. When you’re happy with his or her answer, select the Ready to hand in check box in the Collaboration sidebar.
OR
If you are responsible for submitting the group’s final response, the other members of your group can see your screen. Work with your group until you complete an answer. When a group member is happy with your answer, Ready to hand in appears below his or her name in the
Collaboration sidebar. When all group members are happy with your answer, click Hand In in the Collaboration sidebar. You 're unable to click Hand In until every member of your group agrees to it. Click Yes to confirm.
The Collaboration Complete window appears, confirming that you’ve submitted your assignment.
7. Click OK.
Monitoring collaborative assignments
After your students receive the collaborative assignment, you can monitor their progress.
g To monitor collaborative assignments
1. Click Collaboration .
The Collaboration view appears.
44
C H A P T E R 4
Organizing collaboration
2. Click All Computers or All Students to monitor the class.
OR
Click a group’s tab to monitor the group.
The Collaboration view displays the thumbnails of the class or the selected group. This view also lists the assignment document and resource files you distributed with the collaborative assignment.
N
N O T E S o
You can customize the view’s appearance by resizing the thumbnails (see Resizing
o When a student completes the task individually and submits it to the other members of the group, a link to this file appears below that student’s thumbnail. To view this file, click the link.
o When a group sends you their final collaborative response, the Group Work status changes from Incomplete to the file name. Click the file name to open and view the completed file.
o If all students in a group disconnect from the class, SMART Sync Teacher software is unable to select a group leader, an error occurs while transferring files to the group or an unknown error occurs and an appropriate message appears in the group’s section of the Collaboration view.
o After all the groups complete the assignment, the Collaboration Complete screen
appears and enables you to view the assignments (see Viewing completed
Viewing completed assignments
After all the groups complete the collaboration assignment, the Collaboration Complete screen appears. This screen displays the location of the completed assignments and provides links to these locations.
If you don't want to wait for all the groups to complete the assignment, you can click Stop the collaborative assignment.
to stop
45
C H A P T E R 4
Organizing collaboration g To view a group’s collaborative response
Click the appropriate link below Session deliverables are located in.
g To return to the default Collaboration view screen
Click Set up collaboration work details.
46
Chapter 5:
Chapter 5
Answering questions
Viewing and answering questions
If SMART Sync Student software is installed in Visible mode, students can send questions to you and you can respond to each question.
Viewing and answering questions
When students ask questions through SMART Sync Student software, a Question symbol and the number of currently unanswered questions appear in the bottom right corner of SMART Sync
Teacher software.
View and answer questions in the Questions view.
g To view and answer a student’s question
1. Click Questions .
The Questions view appears.
2. Select a question, and then click Answer .
3. Type your reply in the Message box.
47
C H A P T E R 5
Answering questions
4. If you want to send your response to the student who sent you the question, click Send .
If you want to send your response to the entire class, click Send to All .
Your response appears in the History area of the Questions view and in the Teacher tab of the students’ SMART Sync Student software Chat dialog box.
N
N O T E
Students can reply to your response, and you can continue to send messages to students by typing text in the Message box and pressing ENTER.
5. Click Finished
N
N O T E when you’re finished.
Students can still view your responses, but if they want to communicate with you further, they must create new questions.
Deleting a question
You can delete a student’s question whether you answer it or not.
g To delete a specific question
1. Click Questions .
The Questions view appears.
2. Select the question, and then click Delete .
g To delete all questions
1. Click Questions .
The Questions view appears.
2. Click Delete All Questions .
Saving the question history
Students’ questions and your responses appear in the History area of the Questions view. You can save the history as a text file.
48
C H A P T E R 5
Answering questions g To save the question history
1. Click Questions .
The Questions view appears.
2. Click Save .
The Save As dialog box appears.
3. Browse to the folder where you want to save the file.
4. Type a name for the file in the File name box.
5. Click Save.
Clearing the question history
You can remove previous questions and responses by clearing the history.
g To clear the question history
1. Click Questions .
The Questions view appears.
2. Click Clear History .
A message appears asking you for confirmation.
3. Click Yes.
49
Chapter 6:
Chapter 6
Chatting
Enabling and disabling student chat
SMART Sync software allows you to chat with your whole class or a specific group. By restricting your comments to a group, you don’t distract students with messages that don’t apply to them. You can also send a private message to selected students.
You can view all chat messages, including the ones between students, in the History area of the Chat view. Students can view messages sent to the entire class as well as messages sent to the groups they’re members of.
Chatting with students
You can chat with students in the Chat view in SMART Sync Teacher software.
N
N O T E
If SMART Sync Student software is in Hidden mode, students can’t initiate chat even if you allow it. However, they can respond to chat if you initiate it.
T
T I P
Use the SMART Sync software announcement feature instead of the chat feature to send a
message to selected students (see Sending an announcement on page 36).
g To chat with students
1. Click Chat .
The Chat view appears.
51
C H A P T E R 6
Chatting
2. If you want to chat with all students, click All Computers or All Students.
If you want to chat with only students in a group, click the group’s tab.
3. Type a message in the Message box, and then click Send.
Your message appears in the History area of the Chat view and in the equivalent tab of the students’ SMART Sync Student software Chat dialog box.
N
N O T E S o Each student’s SMART Sync Student software Chat dialog box has a tab for every group the student is a member of.
o Students can’t view the chat history of groups they're not members of.
o If your students haven’t opened their SMART Sync Student software Chat dialog boxes, tell them to double-click the SMART Sync icon in the notification area, and then click Chat.
4. Enable student chat (see Enabling and disabling student chat on page 54).
N
N O T E
If you don’t enable student chat, students can’t reply to your message.
When a student creates a new message in the SMART Sync Student software Chat dialog box, the message appears in SMART Sync Teacher software in the History area of the Chat view. If the student sends a message to a specific group, the message appears in SMART
Sync Teacher software on the equivalent group tab.
5. Continue to add new messages and view your students’ replies.
6. Disable student chat when you’re finished (see Enabling and disabling student chat on page
Saving the chat history
During your chat, you can save the chat history as a text file.
N
N O T E
Only teachers can save the chat history.
T
T I P
You can also copy the chat history by selecting text and pressing CTRL+C.
52
C H A P T E R 6
Chatting g To save the chat history
1. Click Chat .
The Chat view appears.
2. Click the tab of the group whose chat history you want to view and save.
3. Click Save .
The Save As dialog box appears.
4. Browse to the folder where you want to save the file.
5. Type a name in the File name box.
6. Click Save.
Clearing the chat history
You can clear chat history for the current group tab.
g To clear the chat history
1. Click Chat .
The Chat view appears.
2. If you want to clear the chat history for all students, click All Computers or All Students.
If you want to clear the chat history for the students in a group, click the group’s tab.
3. Click Clear .
A message appears asking for confirmation.
4. Click Yes.
53
C H A P T E R 6
Chatting
Enabling and disabling student chat
You can allow students in either the whole class or a group to chat with each other, even when you’re not contributing to the messages.
T
T I P
You can enable student chat for one group and disable it for another.
N
N O T E
If SMART Sync Student software is in Hidden mode, students can’t initiate chat even if you allow it. However, they can respond to chat if you initiate it.
g To enable student chat
1. Click Chat .
The Chat view appears.
2. If you want to enable chat for all students, click All Computers or All Students.
If you want to enable chat for students in a group, click the group’s tab.
3. Select the Allow Students to Chat check box.
g To disable student chat
1. Click Chat .
The Chat view appears.
2. If you want to disable chat for all students, click All Computers or All Students.
If you want to disable chat for students in a group, click the group’s tab.
3. Clear the Allow Students to Chat check box.
N
N O T E
If you disable student chat, your students can still view the chat history, but can’t add new
messages. To prevent students from viewing the chat history, clear it (see Clearing the chat
history on the previous page).
54
Chapter 7:
Chapter 7
Sending and receiving files
Receiving files from a student
Clearing files from the file list
You can easily send files to your class using SMART Sync software and, if SMART Sync Student software is installed on your students’ computers in Visible mode, they can send files to you. The File
Transfer view lists all of the files you send and receive.
N
N O T E l
In a multiple operating system classroom, if you're transferring files from one operating system to another, characters in file names that aren't supported by the receiving operating system will automatically be converted for compatibility.
l
If you send a file to one student, the file transfers very quickly. However, if you send a file to many students at once, the transfer takes longer and students won’t necessarily receive the file at the same time. Transfer speed is affected by: o The variability of the student computers (for example, a mix of slow and fast computers) o The amount of network traffic o The speed of the network
Sending files to students
You can use SMART Sync software to send files to students.
g To send a file
1. Click File Transfer .
The File Transfer view appears.
55
C H A P T E R 7
Sending and receiving files
2. If you want to send the file to all students, click All Computers or All Students.
If you want to send the file to students in a group, click the group’s tab.
If you want to send the file to selected students, select those students’ names in the students list.
3. Click Send File .
The Send File dialog box appears.
4. Browse to and select the file you want to send, and then click Send.
When the file transfer begins, the file name appears in the Sent Files list. When the transfer is complete, the file's status changes from the percentage transferred to Complete.
N
N O T E S o If you want to cancel a file transfer that’s in progress, select the file in the Sent Files list, and then click Cancel . No portion of the file is transferred and the file is removed from the Sent Files list.
o If a student disconnects while a file transfer is in progress, SMART Sync software sends the file to the student after he or she reconnects.
g To open a sent file
1. Click File Transfer .
The File Transfer view appears.
2. If you sent the file to all students, click All Computers or All Students.
If you sent the file to students in a group, click the group’s tab.
3. Select the file.
4. Click Open File .
Receiving files from a student
You can use SMART Sync software to receive files from students.
I
I M P O R T A N T
To allow students to send files, you or a system administrator must enable this option in SMART
Sync Student software.
56
C H A P T E R 7
Sending and receiving files g To check for sent files from students
1. Click File Transfer .
The File Transfer view appears.
2. If you want to check for files sent by all students, click All Computers or All Students.
If you want to check for files sent by students in a group, click the group’s tab.
N
N O T E
If you close SMART Sync software while a file transfer is in progress, the transfer is canceled.
g To open a file
1. Click File Transfer .
The File Transfer view appears.
2. Select the file you want to open.
3. Click Open File .
Clearing files from the file list
You can clear an individual file or all files from the File Transfer view.
N
N O T E
When you clear files from the File Transfer view, you don't delete the files.
g To clear a file from the file list
1. Click File Transfer .
The File Transfer view appears.
2. Select the file you want to clear.
C
C A U T I O N
A confirmation message does not appear. Ensure you have selected the correct file before you perform the next step.
3. Click Clear .
57
C H A P T E R 7
Sending and receiving files g To clear all files
1. Click File Transfer .
The File Transfer view appears.
2. Click All Computers or All Students.
3. Ensure no files are selected in the file list.
4. Click Clear .
A message appears asking for confirmation.
5. Click Yes.
58
Chapter 8:
59
Chapter 8
Controlling access to applications
Creating and using application blocking rules
Creating application blocking rules
Sharing application blocking rules
Activating and deactivating application blocking rules
Starting and closing applications
Starting an application on students’ computers
Closing an application on students’ computers
You can block your students’ access to specific applications using customized application blocking rules. In addition, you can start and close applications on students’ computers from your computer.
Creating and using application blocking rules
You can set up an application blocking rule as either: l
A list of restricted applications (which blocks students from opening any application on the list) l
A list of approved applications (which blocks students from opening any application that isn’t on the list)
C H A P T E R 8
Controlling access to applications
SMART Sync software comes with six application blocking rules:
Name
Block Internet Explorer
Block Windows Games
Block Windows Media
Player
Block All Except Internet
Browser
Block All Except Microsoft
Office
Block All Except
SMART Notebook SE software
Description
Blocks the Internet browser
Blocks Windows games, such as Solitaire
Blocks Windows Media Player
Blocks all applications except the Internet browser
Blocks all applications except the Microsoft Office applications
(Word, Excel®, PowerPoint® and so on)
Blocks all applications except SMART Notebook SE software
(This rule is useful if you’re using SMART Sync software as part of
SMART Classroom Suite™ interactive learning software.)
Creating application blocking rules
You can create application blocking rules in SMART Sync Teacher software. Alternatively, you can
created by an administrator or teacher in SMART Administrator Tools - Classlist Manager.
In a multiple operating system classroom, you can define applications as Windows or Mac specific.
g To create a rule
1. Click Applications .
The Applications view appears.
2. Click Add New .
The New Application Blocking Rule dialog box appears.
3. Type a name for the rule in the Enter Block Rule Name box.
4. If you want to allow all applications except those you include in the rule, select Block the
following applications.
If you want to block all applications except those you include in the rule, select Block all
except the following applications.
60
C H A P T E R 8
Controlling access to applications
5. Select an application you want to add to the rule in the List of Applications, and then click Add.
N
N O T E S o If you accidentally added an application to the rule, you can remove it by selecting it and then clicking Remove.
o An application must be installed on your computer to appear in the List of Applications.
The exception to this rule is SMART Notebook SE software, which doesn’t need to be installed on your computer to appear in this list.
o If you want to add an application to the rule that isn’t included in the List of
Applications, click Browse, browse to and select the application, and then click Open.
Select the application from the List of Applications, and then click Add.
o If you want to add an application to the rule that’s neither included in the list of applications nor installed on your computer, follow the steps below:
Click New App. Select the Windows or Mac option to define the application. Type the product name and the file name, and then click Icon Browse.... Browse to the desired icon file and click Open. Click OK. Select the application from the List of Applications, and then click Add.
6. Repeat step 5 for each application you want to add to the rule.
7. Click OK.
g To edit a rule
1. Click Applications .
The Applications view appears.
2. Select the rule.
3. Click Edit .
The Edit Application Block Rule dialog box appears.
4. Edit the rule’s name in the Enter Block Rule Name box.
5. If you want to allow all applications except those you include in the rule, select Block the
following applications.
If you want to block all applications except those you include in the rule, select Block all
except the following applications.
61
C H A P T E R 8
Controlling access to applications
6. If you want to add an application, select an application you want to add to the rule in the List of
Applications, and then click Add.
If you want to remove an application, select an application you want to remove from the rule, and then click Remove.
N
N O T E S o An application must be installed on your computer to appear in the List of Applications.
The exception to this rule is SMART Notebook SE software, which doesn’t need to be installed on your computer to appear in this list.
o An application must be installed on your computer to appear in the List of Applications.
The exception to this rule is SMART Notebook SE software, which doesn’t need to be installed on your computer to appear in this list.
o An application must be installed on your computer to appear in the List of Applications.
The exception to this rule is SMART Notebook SE software, which doesn’t need to be installed on your computer to appear in this list.
7. Repeat step 6 for each application you want to add to or remove from the rule.
8. Click OK.
g To delete a rule
1. Click Applications .
The Applications view appears.
2. Select the rule.
3. Click Delete .
A message appears asking you to confirm the deletion.
4. Click Yes.
Sharing application blocking rules
You can save application blocking rules to SMART Sync Rule files and share those files with other teachers. The other teachers can then load the SMART Sync Rule file to use your rules in their copies of SMART Sync Teacher software. You can also load SMART Sync Rule files from other teachers to use their rules.
g To save your rules as a SYNCRULES file
1. Click Applications .
The Application view appears.
62
C H A P T E R 8
Controlling access to applications
2. Select Actions > Save Rules.
The Save As dialog box appears.
3. Browse to the location where you want to save the file.
4. Type a name for the file in the File name box.
5. Click Save.
g To load a SYNCRULES file
1. Click Applications .
The Application view appears.
2. Select Actions > Load Rules.
The Open dialog box appears.
3. Browse to and select the SYNCRULES file.
4. Click Open.
Activating and deactivating application blocking rules
After you create or load an application blocking rule, you can activate it to control students’ access to applications.
g To activate a rule
C
C A U T I O N
If you activate a rule with a list of restricted applications, a message appears asking for confirmation. Click Block Applications. If one of the selected students is running a restricted application, the application closes automatically and any unsaved work is lost. Advise students to save their work before you complete this step. If one of the students tries to open a blocked application, a message appears, advising the student that the application is restricted.
I
I M P O R T A N T
If you activate a rule with a list of approved applications, the rule activates without asking for confirmation. If one of the selected students is already running a blocked application, the application does not close. If one of the students tries to open a blocked application, a message appears, advising the student that the application is restricted.
1. Click Applications .
The Applications view appears.
63
C H A P T E R 8
Controlling access to applications
2. If you want to activate the rule for all students, click All Computers or All Students.
If you want to activate the rule for students in a group, click the group’s tab.
3. Select the rule’s check box.
The Application Block symbol appears beside the selected students in the students list.
g To deactivate a rule
1. Click Applications .
The Applications view appears.
2. If you want to deactivate the rule for all students, click All Computers or All Students.
If you want to deactivate the rule for students in a group, click the group’s tab.
3. Clear the rule’s check box.
Starting and closing applications
With SMART Sync software, you can remotely start or close applications on your students' computers.
Starting an application on students’ computers
You can remotely start an application on every student’s computer. For example, you can start an application on every student’s computer before class starts, so everyone sits down to that application.
T
T I P
If SMART Classroom Suite™ interactive learning software is installed on your students’ computers, you can start SMART Notebook SE software even if it isn’t installed on your computer.
g To start an application on students’ computers
1. Click Applications .
The Applications view appears.
2. If you want to start an application for all students, click All Computers or All Students.
If you want to start an application for students in a group, click the group’s tab.
3. Click Launch .
The Launch Applications dialog box appears.
64
C H A P T E R 8
Controlling access to applications
4. Select an application, and then click Launch.
I
I M P O R T A N T
With the exception of SMART Notebook SE software, an application must be installed on your computer to appear in the Launch Applications dialog box.
The application starts on the selected students’ computers.
o If the application starts successfully on all the selected students’ computers, a message appears indicating that the application launched successfully.
o If the application isn’t installed on a selected student’s computer, a message appears indicating that the application failed to launch on that student’s computer.
T
T I P
To select multiple applications, press the CTRL key and then select the application.
5. Repeat step 4 for each application you want to start on the students’ computers.
6. Click OK.
Closing an application on students’ computers
You can remotely close applications on your students' computers.
C
C A U T I O N
If you remotely close a student’s application, the application closes immediately and any unsaved work is lost. Advise students to save their work before you complete the following procedure.
T
T I P
If SMART Classroom Suite software is installed on your students’ computers, you can close
SMART Notebook SE software even if it isn’t installed on your computer.
g To close an application on students’ computers
1. Click Applications .
The Applications view appears.
2. If you want to close an application for all students, click All Computers or All Students.
If you want to close an application for students in a group, click the group’s tab.
3. Click Close .
The Close application remotely dialog box appears.
65
C H A P T E R 8
Controlling access to applications
4. Select an application, and then click Close.
I
I M P O R T A N T
With the exception of SMART Notebook SE software, an application must be installed on your computer to appear in the Close application remotely dialog box.
The application closes on the selected students’ computers.
o If the application closes successfully on all the selected students’ computers, a message appears indicating that the application closed successfully.
o If the application isn’t open on a selected student’s computer, a message appears indicating that the application failed to close on that student’s computer.
T
T I P
To select multiple applications, press the CTRL key and then select the application.
5. Repeat step 4 for each application you want to close on the students’ computers.
6. Click OK.
66
Chapter 9:
Chapter 9
Controlling access to the Internet
Creating and using Internet blocking rules
Creating Internet blocking rules
Sharing Internet blocking rules
Activating and deactivating Internet blocking rules
You can control students’ access to the Internet either by blocking access to the entire Internet or by allowing or blocking access to specific web pages through Internet blocking rules.
Blocking Internet access
You can block your students’ access to the entire Internet.
g To block Internet access
1. If you want to apply the block to all students, click All Computers or All Students.
If you want to apply the block to students in a group, click the group’s tab.
2. Click Internet Block .
g To remove the block
Click Internet Block .
Creating and using Internet blocking rules
If you don’t want to block your students’ access to the entire Internet, you can still block their access to specific web pages using Internet blocking rules. Each Internet blocking rule consists of either: l
A list of restricted web pages (which blocks students from opening any web page on the list)
OR
67
C H A P T E R 9
Controlling access to the Internet l
A list of approved web pages (which blocks students from opening any web page that’s not on the list).
N
N O T E
In a multiple operating system classroom, you can only block a Mac student's access to the entire
Internet. You can't set rules to block specific web pages.
Creating Internet blocking rules
You can create Internet blocking rules in SMART Sync Teacher software. Alternatively, you can load
rules created by other teachers (see Sharing Internet blocking rules on the next page) or use rules
created by an administrator or teacher in SMART Administrator Tools - Classlist Manager.
g To create a rule
1. Click Internet .
The Internet view appears.
2. Click Add New .
The Internet Blocking Rule dialog box appears.
3. Type a name for the rule in the Rule name box.
4. If you want to allow all websites except those you include in the rule, select Block the
following websites.
If you want to block all websites except those you include in the rule, select Block everything
except the following websites.
5. Click Add, type the address of a website you want to add to the rule in the Website box, and then click OK.
T
T I P
If you accidentally added a website to the rule, you can remove it by selecting it and then clicking Remove.
6. Repeat step 5 for each website you want to add to the rule.
7. Click OK.
g To edit a rule
1. Click Internet .
The Internet view appears.
68
C H A P T E R 9
Controlling access to the Internet
2. Select the rule.
3. Click Edit .
The Internet Blocking Rule dialog box appears.
4. Edit the rule’s name in the Rule name box.
5. If you want to allow all websites except those you include in the rule, select Block the
following websites.
If you want to block all websites except those you include in the rule, select Block everything
except the following websites.
6. If you want to add a website, click Add, type the address of a website you want to add to the rule in the Website box, and then click OK.
If you want to remove a website, select a website you want to remove from the rule, and then click Remove.
7. Repeat step 6 for each website you want to add to or remove from the rule.
8. Click OK.
g To delete a rule
1. Click Internet .
The Internet view appears.
2. Select the rule.
3. Click Delete .
Sharing Internet blocking rules
You can save Internet blocking rules to SMART Sync Rule files and share those files with other teachers. The other teachers can then load the SMART Sync Rule file to use your rules in their copies of SMART Sync Teacher software. Similarly, you can load SMART Sync Rule files from other teachers to use their rules.
g To save your rules as a SYNCRULES file
1. Click Internet .
The Internet view appears.
2. Select Actions > Save Rules.
The Save As dialog box appears.
69
C H A P T E R 9
Controlling access to the Internet
3. Browse to the location where you want to save the file.
4. Type a name for the file in the File name box.
5. Click Save.
g To load a SYNCRULES file
1. Click Internet .
The Internet view appears.
2. Select Actions > Load Rules.
The Open dialog box appears.
3. Browse to and select the SYNCRULES file.
4. Click Open.
Activating and deactivating Internet blocking rules
After creating or loading an Internet blocking rule, you can activate it to control students’ access to the Internet.
g To activate a rule
1. Click Internet .
The Internet view appears.
2. If you want to activate the rule for all students, click All Computers or All Students.
If you want to activate the rule for students in a group, click the group’s tab.
3. Select the rule’s check box.
The Internet Block symbol appears beside the selected students in the students list.
g To deactivate a rule
1. Click Internet .
The Internet view appears.
2. If you want to deactivate the rule for all students, click All Computers or All Students .
If you want to deactivate the rule for students in a group, click the group’s tab.
3. Clear the rule’s check box.
70
Chapter 10:
71
Chapter 10
Working with other teachers and teacher aides
Responding to a teacher aide’s request to join
Joining a class as a teacher aide
As the teacher, you can use SMART Sync software to monitor, communicate with and control your class. You can also allow colleagues limited access to SMART Sync software so that they can monitor your class. SMART Sync software refers to these additional teachers as teacher aides. They can access the thumbnail view and monitor the whole class, a group or an individual student.
However, teacher aides can monitor your class only if you permit it. You have total control over who can access your class.
At any time, you can view which teacher aides have joined your class. You can also disconnect a teacher aide from your class.
Controlling teacher aides
You can allow up to five teacher aides at a time.
Teacher aides can monitor classes, groups and students, but they can’t use the more advanced features of SMART Sync software, such as taking control of a student’s desktop, locking out students, blocking applications and Internet access, and so on.
Allowing teacher aides
If you think you might accept a join request from a teacher aide, select Options > Allow Teacher
Aides. This activates the teacher aides feature, but you can still prevent specific teacher aides from joining your class by declining their requests to join.
C H A P T E R 1 0
Working with other teachers and teacher aides
If you don’t want any teacher aides to join your class, clear Options > Allow Teacher Aides. If teacher aides try to join your class while your settings don’t allow teacher aides, they receive a message advising them they can’t join your class.
Responding to a teacher aide’s request to join
If a teacher aide tries to join your class and your Allow Teacher Aides option is selected, the
Teacher Aide Join Request dialog box appears.
l
To allow the teacher aide to join your class, click Allow. The Thumbnails view for your class appears on the teacher aide’s screen.
l
To prevent the teacher aide from joining your class, click Decline. If you decline a teacher aide’s join request, he or she receives a message advising that the request was declined.
You can view which teacher aides have joined your class and, if you want, disconnect a teacher aide
from your class (see Disconnecting teacher aides below).
Disconnecting teacher aides
You can view which teacher aides have joined your class and disconnect a teacher aide.
g To disconnect a teacher aide
1. Select Connection > View Connected Teacher’s Aide.
The View Teacher Aides dialog box appears.
2. Select the teacher aide and click Disconnect.
3. Click OK.
Joining a class as a teacher aide
You can join another teacher’s class as a teacher aide and monitor the desktops of all the students, of a group or of an individual student in that teacher’s class.
As a teacher aide, you can access the Thumbnails view and monitor students. However, you can’t use the more advanced features of SMART Sync software, such as taking control of a student’s desktop, locking out students, blocking applications, and so on.
To join a class as a teacher aide, you must request and receive permission from the teacher. If the
72
C H A P T E R 1 0
Working with other teachers and teacher aides
N
N O T E
You must install SMART Sync software on your computer to observe a class as a teacher aide.
However, you don’t require an additional license for this installation.
You can leave a class at any time.
g To join a class as a teacher aide
1. Select Connection > Teacher’s Aide > Join a class.
The Join a Teacher’s Class dialog box appears.
2. Select one of the following: o Select the Teacher ID for the class you want to join.
o Select the Connect via host name or IP address box, type the host name or IP address, and then click Join.
The Teacher Aide Join Request dialog box appears on the teacher’s desktop. This dialog box informs the teacher that you want to join his or her class and gives the teacher the option to accept or decline your request.
If the teacher declines, a message appears that advises you that your request was declined.
If the teacher accepts, you join the class as a teacher aide. The Thumbnails view for the class appears on your desktop.
N
N O T E S o If the teacher allows you access to his or her class, he or she can disconnect you from the class.
o You might not be able to view the class if the teacher has set an authentication password for the class.
g To leave a class
Select Connection > Teacher’s Aide > Disconnect from class.
73
Chapter 11:
75
Chapter 11
Configuring SMART Sync Class
List Server
Changing the SMART Sync Class List Server port number
Stopping and restarting SMART Sync Class List Server
Stopping SMART Sync Class List Server
Restarting SMART Sync Class List Server
SMART Sync Class List Server is a Windows service that connects SMART Sync Teacher software and SMART Sync Student software installations in your school.
I
I M P O R T A N T
SMART Sync Class List Server is not supported in a multiple operating system classroom.
In most situations, you don’t need to make any changes to SMART Sync Class List Server after installation. However, in some situations, you might need to do the following: l
Stop and restart SMART Sync Class List Server.
l
Change the SMART Sync Class List Server port number.
N
N O T E
These procedures might vary depending on your version of Windows operating system and your system preferences.
Changing the SMART Sync Class List Server port number
The default port number of SMART Sync Class List Server is 46200. You can change the port number if necessary.
C H A P T E R 1 1
Configuring SMART Sync Class List Server g To change the port number
1. Stop SMART Sync Class List Server (see Stopping SMART Sync Class List Server below).
2. Open a Command Prompt window.
3. Navigate to the folder containing the SMART Sync Class List Server executable file.
N
N O T E
In most installations, this folder is %PROGRAMFILES%\SMART Technologies\SMART
Sync 2011.
4. Type the following command:
SMARTSyncClassListServer.exe -u
5. Press ENTER.
The SMART Sync Class List Server service uninstalls.
6. Type the following command:
SMARTSyncClassListServer.exe -i [Port number]
7. Press ENTER.
The SMART Sync Class List Server service reinstalls with the new port number.
Stopping and restarting SMART Sync Class List
Server
SMART Sync Class List Server starts automatically after you install it and each time you turn on the computer. You can manually stop and then restart SMART Sync Class List Server if necessary.
Stopping SMART Sync Class List Server
You can stop SMART Sync Class List Server from either a command prompt of the services window.
76
C H A P T E R 1 1
Configuring SMART Sync Class List Server g To stop the service from a command prompt
1. Open a Command Prompt window.
2. Navigate to the folder containing the SMART Sync Class List Server executable file.
N
N O T E
In most installations, this folder is %PROGRAMFILES%\SMART Technologies\SMART
Sync 2011.
3. Type the following command:
SMARTSyncClassListServer.exe -stop
4. Press ENTER.
SMART Sync Class List Server stops.
g To stop the service from the Services window
1. Open Control Panel.
2. Double-click Administrative Tools.
3. Double-click Services.
The Services window appears.
4. Scroll to and select SMART Sync Class List Server.
5. Click Stop.
SMART Sync Class List Server stops.
Restarting SMART Sync Class List Server
You can restart SMART Sync Class List Server from either a command prompt or the services window.
77
C H A P T E R 1 1
Configuring SMART Sync Class List Server g To restart the service from a command prompt
1. Open a Command Prompt window.
2. Navigate to the folder containing the SMART Sync Class List Server executable file.
N
N O T E
In most installations, this folder is %PROGRAMFILES%\SMART Technologies\SMART
Sync 2011.
3. Type the following command:
SMARTSyncClassListServer.exe -start
4. Press ENTER.
SMART Sync Class List Server starts.
g To restart the service from the Services window
1. Open Control Panel.
2. Switch to Classic view if necessary, and then double-click Administrative Tools.
3. Double-click Services.
The Services window appears.
4. Scroll to and select SMART Sync Class List Server.
5. Click Start.
SMART Sync Class List Server starts.
78
Chapter 12:
79
Chapter 12
Configuring SMART Sync
Teacher software
Connecting to SMART Sync Class List Server
Setting the optimization preferences
Setting the control preferences
Setting the digital ink’s appearance
Setting the file transfer preferences
Setting a user authentication password
Setting the advanced preferences
Setting the advanced preferences
Setting the logging preferences
You can customize the following features for the current teacher: l
Language l
SMART Sync Class List Server connection l
Lock-out message l
Optimization preferences l
Control preferences l
Broadcast preferences l
Digital ink appearance l
File transfer preferences l
User authentication password
C H A P T E R 1 2
Configuring SMART Sync Teacher software l
Advanced preferences (including thumbnail frame rate, multicast, unicast, screen capture and network adapter settings) l
Logging
Connecting to SMART Sync Class List Server
If you or your system administrator installed SMART Sync Class List Server as documented in the
SMART Sync 2011 System Administrator’s Guide ( smarttech.com/kb/160490 ), you can connect
SMART Sync Teacher software to it to do one of the following: l
Maintain information about your school’s students, teachers, classes and computer labs, as well as rules you can apply to block student access to applications and websites, in a central location that’s accessible to multiple teachers in your school.
l
Allow students to connect to you by selecting your ID from a drop-down list in SMART Sync
Student software when you’re logged on to SMART Sync Teacher software. (This feature is referred to as “teacher discovery.”)
N
N O T E S l
If you use SMART Sync Class List Server for the first option, you or your system administrator must install SMART Administrator Tools - Classlist Manager and create a
SMART School file. If you use SMART Sync Class List Server for the second option, you don’t need to complete these additional steps.
l
If multicasting is enabled on your school’s network, teacher discovery is available by default.
You don’t need to use SMART Sync Class List Server to allow teacher discovery in this situation.
g To use SMART Sync Class List Server for assisted teacher discovery
1. Select Options > Preferences.
The Preferences dialog box appears.
2. Click the General tab.
3. Select the Use a Class List Server to connect to students check box.
80
C H A P T E R 1 2
Configuring SMART Sync Teacher software
4. Type the SMART Sync Class List Server host name or IP address (including the port number) in the text box.
N
N O T E
Your system administrator can provide you with the host name or IP address. The default port number for SMART Sync Class List Server is 46200. However, your system
administrator can change it (see Changing the SMART Sync Class List Server port number on page 75).
5. Click OK.
g To use SMART Sync Class List Server for administered class lists
1. Select Options > Preferences.
The Preferences dialog box appears.
2. Click the General tab.
3. Select the Use a SMART School file to administer class lists check box.
4. Click Browse.
The Open dialog box appears.
5. Browse to and select the SMART School file.
N
N O T E
Your system administrator can provide you with the path to the SMART School file.
6. Click Open.
The dialog box closes, and the path to the SMART School file appears in the School File
Location box.
7. Click OK.
8. Close and restart SMART Sync Teacher software.
The next time you start SMART Sync Teacher software, the Welcome to SMART Sync –
Teacher and Class Selection dialog box includes teachers and classes from the SMART
School file.
N
N O T E
(Administered) appears beside classes from the SMART School file in the Welcome to
SMART Sync – Teacher and Class Selection dialog box.
81
C H A P T E R 1 2
Configuring SMART Sync Teacher software g To use SMART Sync Class List Server to automatically connect students to a teacher
1. Select Options > Preferences.
The Preferences dialog box appears.
2. Click the General tab.
3. Select the Use a Class List Server to connect to students check box.
4. Type the SMART Sync Class List Server host name or IP address (including the port number) in the text box.
N
N O T E
Your system administrator can provide you with the host name or IP address. The default port number for SMART Sync Class List Server is 46200. However, your system
administrator can change it (see Changing the SMART Sync Class List Server port number on page 75).
5. Select the Use a SMART School file to administer class lists check box.
6. Click Browse.
The dialog box appears.
7. Browse to and select the SMART School file.
N
N O T E
Your system administer can provide you with the path to the SMART School file.
8. Click Open.
The Open dialog box closes, and the path to the SMART School file appears in the School File
Location box.
9. Click OK.
10. Close and restart SMART Sync Teacher software.
The next time you start SMART Sync Teacher software, the Welcome to SMART Sync -
Teacher and Class Selection dialog box includes teachers and classes from the SMART
School file.
N
N O T E
(Administered) appears beside classes from the SMART School file in the Welcome to
SMART Sync - Teacher and Class Selection dialog box.
82
C H A P T E R 1 2
Configuring SMART Sync Teacher software
Setting the language
The SMART Language Setup utility enables you to set the language for a specific SMART program or all SMART programs installed on your computer.
g To set the language
Select Options > Language Setup.
The Language Setup dialog box appears.
3. Select All Listed Applications in the first drop-down list to set the language for all programs.
OR
Select a program in the first drop-down list to set the language for only that program.
4. Select the appropriate language in the second drop-down list.
N
N O T E S o If appears beside your selected language, the language is installed on your computer.
o If appears beside your selected language, the SMART Language Setup utility downloads the language from the website after you click OK in step 6.
o By default, the SMART Language Setup utility uses Internet Explorer Internet browser’s settings to connect to the Internet. However, you can use different settings
by completing the steps under To set the connection options on the next page.
T
T I P
To display the languages in their native names (for example, Deutsch for German), select the
Show native names check box.
5. If you want to use different languages for handwriting recognition and spell checking, select languages in the Handwriting and Spell check drop-down lists.
N
N O T E
If AUTO appears in the drop-down list, the SMART Language Setup selects your chosen language if available or a similar language if otherwise. If neither option is available, SMART
Language Setup select the current language.
83
C H A P T E R 1 2
Configuring SMART Sync Teacher software
6. If you want to use a different keyboard layout, select a layout in the Keyboard drop-down list.
I
I M P O R T A N T
The keyboard layout you select in the Keyboard drop-down list applies to both the on-screen keyboard and the keyboard connected to your computer when you use SMART Notebook software.
In some situations, you might want to select a layout that is different from the layout of the keyboard connected to your computer (for example, to teach a second language). In these situations, the on-screen keyboard works correctly, but the keyboard connected to your computer might not.
For best results, ensure the layout you select is identical to the layout of the keyboard connected to your computer. For example, if an English (U.S.) keyboard is connected to your computer, select English (United States) in this drop-down list.
For information on keyboard layouts, see http://msdn.microsoft.com/enus/goglobal/bb964651 .
7. Click OK.
g To set the connection options
Select Options > Language Setup.
The Language Setup dialog box appears.
3. Click Connection Options.
The Connection Options dialog box appears.
4. Select Use Internet Explorer settings.
OR
Select Use other proxy, and then type the host, user name and password in the appropriate boxes.
4. Click OK.
Setting the lock-out message
You can get your students’ attention by locking students’ desktops and presenting them with a simple
message (see Locking student desktops on page 26). The default message is “Eyes to the front,
please”, but you can change this message.
84
C H A P T E R 1 2
Configuring SMART Sync Teacher software g To set the lock-out message
1. Select Options > Preferences.
The Preferences dialog box appears.
2. Click the Lock Screen tab.
3. Type a message in the Lock-out message box.
4. Click the button next to Text, select a color, and then click OK to change the text color.
5. Click the button next to Background, select a color, and then click OK to change the background color.
6. Click OK.
g To restore the default lock-out message
1. Select Options > Preferences.
The Preferences dialog box appears.
2. Click the Lock Screen tab.
3. Click Defaults.
4. Click OK.
Setting the optimization preferences
When you observe, control or broadcast a student’s desktop, SMART Sync software displays the student’s desktop on your screen at a specific image quality and frame rate for optimal network performance. You can adjust the image quality and frame rate for your network:
Level Description
Far left (recommended) Decreases frame rate to 4 seconds per frame (if needed) without affecting image quality
Left
Center
Decreases frame rate, and then decreases image quality
Decreases frame rate and image quality evenly
Right
Far right
Decreases image quality, and then decreases frame rate
Decreases image quality to 50% (if needed) without affecting frame rate
Alternatively, you can choose to display the student’s desktop as the highest possible image quality and frame rate.
85
C H A P T E R 1 2
Configuring SMART Sync Teacher software g To adjust the optimal image quality and frame rate
1. Select Options > Preferences.
The Preferences dialog box appears.
2. Click the Optimization tab.
3. Select the Optimize network performance during Observe, Control, and Broadcast check box.
4. If you want to increase image quality while reducing the frame rate, move the slider left.
If you want to decrease image quality while increasing the frame rate, move the slider right.
5. Click OK.
g To use the highest possible image quality and frame rate
1. Select Options > Preferences.
The Preferences dialog box appears.
2. Click the Optimization tab.
3. Clear the Optimize network performance during Observe, Control, and Broadcast check box.
4. Click OK.
g To restore the default optimization preferences
1. Select Options > Preferences.
The Preferences dialog box appears.
2. Click the Optimization tab.
3. Click Defaults.
4. Click OK.
Setting the control preferences
By default, you have sole control of the student’s desktop, but you can choose to share control with the student. If you share control, both you and the student can control the student’s desktop.
However, if both of you are trying to control the desktop at the same time, your actions take precedence over the student’s.
86
C H A P T E R 1 2
Configuring SMART Sync Teacher software
N
N O T E S l
If you change the control preferences while you’re controlling a student’s desktop, the change takes effect immediately. For example, if you have sole control of a student’s desktop and you change the setting to Shared, you immediately share control of the student’s desktop with the student.
l
If you take control of a student’s computer and it’s running Windows Vista operating system, the student always shares controls regardless of how you set the control preferences. When both you and the student try to control the computer, the student’s actions take precedence.
g To share control of a student’s desktop
1. Select Options > Preferences.
The Preferences dialog box appears.
2. Click the Control tab.
3. Select Shared.
4. Click OK.
g To have sole control of a student’s desktop
1. Select Options > Preferences.
The Preferences dialog box appears.
2. Click the Control tab.
3. Select Teacher-only.
4. Click OK.
g To restore the default control preferences
1. Select Options > Preferences.
The Preferences dialog box appears.
2. Click the Control tab.
3. Click Defaults.
4. Click OK.
87
C H A P T E R 1 2
Configuring SMART Sync Teacher software
Setting broadcast preferences
You can determine how your desktop appears on students’ screens and who controls the mouse and keyboard of a student’s desktop during a broadcast.
g To set broadcast preferences
1. Select Options > Preferences.
The Preferences dialog box appears.
2. Click the Broadcast tab.
3. If you want to broadcast your desktop in Full Screen mode by default, select Full Screen.
If you want to broadcast your desktop in Window mode by default, select Window.
T
T I P
Full screen mode is best if you don’t want students to view other applications while you broadcast your desktop.
4. Select the Zoom the window to best fit check box to resize the broadcast desktop to best fit students’ screens.
5. Click OK.
g To set broadcast preferences
1. Select Options > Preferences.
The Preferences dialog box appears.
2. Click the Broadcast tab.
88
C H A P T E R 1 2
Configuring SMART Sync Teacher software
3. If you want exclusive control of the mouse or keyboard during the broadcast, select Teacher-
only.
If you want the student to have exclusive control of the mouse or keyboard during the broadcast, select Student-only.
If you want to share control of the mouse and keyboard during the broadcast, select Shared.
(Your actions take precedence over the student’s.)
N
N O T E
If you broadcast a student’s computer and it’s running Windows Vista operating system, the student always shares control regardless of how you set the broadcast preferences. When both you and the student try to control the computer, the student’s actions take precedence.
4. Click OK.
g To restore the default broadcast preferences
1. Select Options > Preferences.
The Preferences dialog box appears.
2. Click the Broadcast tab.
3. Click Defaults.
4. Click OK.
Setting the digital ink’s appearance
You can change the width, color and transparency of the digital ink.
N
N O T E
If you’re working on a SMART Board interactive whiteboard, you can write notes using a pen tray pen and change the appearance of the digital ink using the options in SMART Notebook software.
g To set the digital ink’s appearance
1. Select Options > Preferences.
The Preferences dialog box appears.
2. Click the Annotation Pen tab.
3. Type a width value between 1 and 32 pixels in the Width box.
4. Click the Color box, select a color, and then click OK.
89
C H A P T E R 1 2
Configuring SMART Sync Teacher software
5. Select the Highlighter check box to make the digital ink more transparent.
6. Click OK.
g To restore the default digital ink preferences
1. Select Options > Preferences.
The Preferences dialog box appears.
2. Click the Annotation Pen tab.
3. Click Defaults.
4. Click OK.
Setting the file transfer preferences
You can set preferences to customize the behavior of sent and received files. You can use preferences to: l
Open sent files automatically l
Change the file location of received files l
Change the organization of received files g To set the file transfer preferences
1. Select Options > Preferences.
The Preferences dialog box appears.
2. Click the File Transfer tab.
3. If you want the files that you send to open automatically, select the Automatically open files
on students' computers check box. Otherwise, clear this check box.
4. If you want to change the default file location of received files, select Custom folder. Click
Browse, navigate to and select the folder you want, and then click OK.
5. If you want to organize received files by date, select the Organize the stored files by their
submission date check box.
6. Click OK.
g To restore the default file transfer preferences
1. Select Options > Preferences.
The Preferences dialog box appears.
90
C H A P T E R 1 2
Configuring SMART Sync Teacher software
2. Click the File Transfer tab.
3. Click Defaults.
4. Click OK.
Setting a user authentication password
You can enable password protection on the connections between the teacher and the students. To enable password protection: l
On the teacher’s computer, set the password using the SMART Sync Teacher software preferences.
l
On the student’s computer, set the password using the SMART Sync Student Configuration
Tool (see smarttech.com/kb/160490 ).
If you set a password on a student’s computer, the student can connect only to a teacher who has the same password.
N
N O T E
If a student has no password, the student can connect to any teacher.
g To create a user authentication password on the teacher’s computer
1. Select Options > Preferences.
The Preferences dialog box appears.
2. Click the Security tab.
3. Select the Use password check box.
The Create Password dialog box appears.
4. Type the password.
5. Type the password again to confirm it.
6. Click OK.
g To change a user authentication password on the teacher’s computer
1. Select Options > Preferences.
The Preferences dialog box appears.
2. Click the Security tab.
91
C H A P T E R 1 2
Configuring SMART Sync Teacher software
3. Select the Use password check box.
The Change Password dialog box appears.
4. Type the old password.
5. Type the new password.
6. Type the new password again to confirm it.
7. Click OK.
g To remove a user authentication password on the teacher’s computer
1. Select Options > Preferences.
The Preferences dialog box appears.
2. Click the Security tab.
3. Clear the Use password check box.
The Change Password dialog box appears.
4. Type the old password.
5. Click OK.
Setting the advanced preferences
In the Advanced tab of the Preference dialog box, you can set advanced preferences and select network adapters.
Setting the advanced preferences
You can set advanced preferences such as the thumbnail frame rate, multicast, unicast and screen capture settings.
I
I M P O R T A N T
Do not change the advanced preferences unless you are instructed to by SMART Support or you are familiar with these settings.
g To set the thumbnail frame rate
1. Select Options > Preferences.
The Preferences dialog box appears.
2. Click the Advanced tab.
92
C H A P T E R 1 2
Configuring SMART Sync Teacher software
3. Type your preferred thumbnail frame rate in the Thumbnail frame rate box.
N
N O T E S o The default thumbnail frame rate is 5,000 milliseconds per frame.
o Increasing this value improves performance but results in a slower thumbnail frame rate.
g To set network preferences
By default, SMART Sync software multicast packets are sent with a TTL value of 1, which prevents them from being forwarded beyond a single subnetwork. Multicast datagrams with a TTL of greater than 1 can deliver to more than one subnetwork (if there's at least one multicast router attached to the first-hop subnetwork).
Typical TTL thresholds are:
TTL Threshold
1
15
63
127
191
255
Scope
Restricted to the same subnetwork
Restricted to the same site
Restricted to the same region
Worldwide
Worldwide; limited bandwidth
Unrestricted scope
1. Select Options > Preferences.
The Preferences dialog box appears.
2. Click the Advanced tab.
93
C H A P T E R 1 2
Configuring SMART Sync Teacher software
3. Select one of the following values from the Transport mode drop-down list: o Automatic to allow SMART Sync software to select the best transport mode for your network o Unicast to use unicasting as the transport mode o Multicast to use IP multicasting as the transport mode
N
N O T E
SMART recommends the Automatic option.
T
T I P
To view the currently used transport mode, select Help > About SMART Sync software and open the Description tab.
4. Optionally, type a TTL value for IP multicasting in the Multicast TTL box.
5. Optionally, type the millisecond-per-chunk for TCP traffic in the TCP delay box.
6. Optionally, type the size of chunks in kilobytes for TCP traffic in the TCP chunk size box.
I
I M P O R T A N T
Increasing the chunk size while reducing the milliseconds per chunk increases the rate that
SMART Sync software attempts to send TCP traffic. If you are having trouble with
Collaboration file transfer or the Observe function, consider increasing the milliseconds per chunk to improve reliability (at the cost of performance). However, the default values in the
TCP delay and TCP chunk size boxes are sufficient for most network conditions and you should only change them with the guidance of SMART Support.
g To set screen capture preferences
1. Select Options > Preferences.
The Preferences dialog box appears.
2. Click the Advanced tab.
3. Optionally, select the Use Redraw Hooks DLL check box. This option improves
SMART Sync software screen capture performance.
4. Optionally, select the User Mirror Driver check box if you're running SMART Sync Teacher software on a Windows XP operating system. This option improves SMART Sync software screen capture performance.
94
C H A P T E R 1 2
Configuring SMART Sync Teacher software
I
I M P O R T A N T
If you experience capture problems, clear the Use Mirror Driver check box, as it is not suitable for all systems. If you continue to experience capture problems, clear the Use
Redraw Hooks DLL check box, as this option does not work well with some special applications. Disabling these options increases the time required to capture screen images but does not affect any other aspect of SMART Sync software.
5. Optionally, select the Use Graphics Processing Unit (GPU) Capture check box if you're running SMART Sync Teacher software on Windows Vista or Windows 7 operating system.
This option improves SMART Sync software screen capture performance and supports 3D applications.
6. Optionally, select the Hide desktop background check box. If you select this option, the desktop background isn’t included when you observe, control or broadcast a student’s desktop.
7. Optionally, select the Hide window content while dragging and resizing check box.
8. Click OK.
g To restore the default advanced preferences
1. Select Options > Preferences.
The Preferences dialog box appears.
2. Click the Advanced tab.
3. Click Defaults.
4. Click OK.
Selecting network adapters
If your computer has multiple network adapters, SMART Sync software uses the network adapter selected by the operating system. However, you can specify the order in which the operating system tries using the network adapters. If your computer has more than one network adapter, the Choose
Network Adapter button appears in the Advanced tab of the Preferences dialog box.
g To allow the operating system to select the network adapter
1. Select Options > Preferences.
The Preferences dialog box appears.
2. Click the Advanced tab.
95
C H A P T E R 1 2
Configuring SMART Sync Teacher software
3. Click Choose Network Adapter.
The Preferences: Network Adapter Selection dialog box appears.
4. Select Use the default order of network adapters, and then click OK.
g To specify the selection order of the available network adapters
1. Select Options > Preferences.
The Preferences dialog box appears.
2. Click the Advanced tab.
3. Click Choose Network Adapter.
The Preferences: Network Adapter Selection dialog box appears.
4. Select Use the network adapters in the order specified below.
5. Select a network adapter, and then click the up and down arrows to change its position in the list.
6. Repeat step 5 for the other network adapters until they're listed in the order in which you would like your computer to try them, with your preferred choice listed first.
7. Click OK.
N
N O T E
You can also specify a selection order for a student computer’s network adapters, either when you install SMART Sync software on the student’s computer or if you reconfigure the installation options.
8. Click OK.
Setting the logging preferences
You can control the generation of system logs. SMART Support uses these logs to review software processes. These logs are helpful in tracking unexpected behavior. By default, logging is turned off so that it doesn’t affect the speed and efficiency of your computer.
I
I M P O R T A N T
Activate logging only if you are advised to by SMART Support as it might affect the performance of your computer.
96
Appendix A:
Appendix A
Sending feedback to SMART
When you start SMART Sync 2011 software for the first time, a dialog box could appear asking whether you want to join the SMART Customer Experience Program. If you choose to join the program, SMART Sync 2011 software sends information to SMART that helps us improve the software for future releases. After starting SMART Sync 2011 software for the first time, you can enable or disable this feature through the Help menu.
You can also send feature request e-mails to SMART.
g To enable the Customer Experience Program tracking feature
Select Help > Customer Experience Program > Feedback tracking ON.
g To disable the Customer Experience Program tracking feature
Select Help > Customer Experience Program > Feedback tracking OFF.
g To send a feature request e-mail
1. Select Help > Customer Experience Program > Submit feature request.
A new e-mail message appears in your default e-mail program.
2. Type you request in the new e-mail message, and then click Send.
97
Index
A
administered classes annotations announcements application blocking rules about activating creating deactivating deleting editing sharing applications closing on student computers launching on student computers rules for blocking
Applications view aspect ratios
B
Bitmap graphics blocking rules
application See application blocking rules
See Internet blocking rules Internet broadcasting about setting preferences for student desktops your desktop
C
chalk
99 chat about enabling and disabling history
Chat view classes about changing observing opening saving
Collaboration view collaborative assignments about completing monitoring starting viewing completed computer labs configuring
Class List Server connecting to students
D
digital ink
DirectX disconnecting
E
exit
F
File Transfer view files clearing
I N D E X receiving from students sending to students setting transfer preferences
Full Screen mode
G
graphics
graphics processing unit capture, GPU
groups about creating deleting editing in collaborative assignments observing
H
highlighter host names
I
IDs student teacher
Internet blocking access to controlling access to
Internet blocking rules about activating creating deactivating deleting editing sharing
Internet Explorer
Internet view
IP addresses
See student IDs
See teacher IDs
J
JPEG graphics
L
labs lock-out message about setting logging logoff logon IDs
M
main toolbar media menus messages multicasting
N
network adapters
No votes notes
P
pass the chalk passwords
PNG graphics polls ports preferences advanced broadcast control digital ink file transfer lock-out message logging
See computer labs
See student IDs
100
I N D E X
SMART School file location
teacher discovery user authentication password programs
See applications
Q
questions answering clearing deleting saving viewing
Questions view quit
R
ratios redraw hooks DLL restart rules application blocking
Internet blocking
See application blocking rules
See Internet blocking rules
S
screen captures sharing control of a student’s desktop media rules student desktops web pages shutdown
SMART Board interactive whiteboards
SMART Notebook SE creating rules for
SMART Notebook SE software closing creating rules for
101 starting
Standard versus Sticky student desktops
SMART School file location
SMART School files software
See applications
broadcasting controlling hiding backgrounds of locking out observing student IDs student statuses students list subnetworks
SYNCRULES files system logging
T
tabs
TCP traffic teacher aides about allowing disconnecting joining a class as responding to a request to join teacher discovery teacher IDs
Technical Support thumbnails changing the size of editing names of rearranging setting the frame rate for
Thumbnails view toolbars transparency
TTL thresholds
TXT files
I N D E X
U
unicasting user authentication passwords user interface about customizing
V
video views
Applications
Chat
Collaboration
File Transfer
Internet
Questions
Thumbnails votes
W
web pages
Window mode
Windows Bitmap graphics
Windows Media Player
Windows Vista operating system
WMV files
Y
Yes votes
102
Toll Free 1.866.518.6791 (U.S./Canada) or +1.403.228.5940
www.smarttech.com
Lataa
Mainos