Smart Technologies Sync 2009 User Guide
Advertisement
Advertisement
P L E A S E T H I N K B E F O R E Y O U P R I N T
SMART Sync™ 2009
User’s Guide
Windows® Operating Systems
Product Registration
If you register your SMART product, we’ll notify you of new features and software upgrades.
Register online at www.smarttech.com/registration .
Keep the following information available in case you need to contact SMART
Technical Support.
Product Key: ___________________________________________________
Date of Purchase: ___________________________________________________
Trademark Notice
SMART Sync, SynchronEyes, SMART Board, SMART Notebook, smarttech and the SMART logo are trademarks or registered trademarks of SMART Technologies ULC in the U.S. and/or other countries. Microsoft, Windows, Windows Vista
Windows Media, DirextX, Internet Explorer, Excel and PowerPoint are either registered trademarks or trademarks of
Microsoft Corporation in the United States and/or other countries.All other third-party product and company names are mentioned for identification purposes only and may be trademarks of their respective owners.
Copyright Notice
©2008–2010 SMART Technologies ULC. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced, transmitted, transcribed, stored in a retrieval system or translated into any language in any form by any means without the prior written consent of SMART Technologies ULC. Information in this manual is subject to change without notice and does not represent a commitment on the part of SMART.
Patents pending.
02/2010
Contents
Transferring Students to Your Class
Working with Teacher IDs and Classes
Customizing the User Interface
Observing and Controlling Students
Controlling a Student’s Desktop
Capturing an Image of a Student’s Desktop
Shutting Down, Logging Off and Restarting Students’ Computers
Broadcasting and Communicating
Starting Collaborative Assignments
Completing Collaborative Assignments
Monitoring Collaborative Assignments
Viewing and Answering Questions
Deleting a Question without Answering
i i | C O N T E N T S
Enabling and Disabling Student Chat
Receiving Files from a Student
Clearing Files from the File List
Controlling Access to Applications
Creating and Using Application Blocking Rules
Starting and Closing Applications
Controlling Access to the Internet
Creating and Using Internet Blocking Rules
Working with Other Teachers and Teacher Aides
Joining a Class as a Teacher Aide
Configuring SMART Sync Teacher
Setting the SMART School File Location
Setting the Optimization Preferences
Setting the Control Preferences
Setting the Broadcast Preferences
Setting the Digital Ink’s Appearance
Setting the File Transfer Preferences
Setting a User Authentication Password
Setting the Advanced Preferences
Setting the Logging Preferences
Online Information and Support
Chapter 1
Getting Started
Transferring Students to Your Class
Working with Teacher IDs and Classes
Customizing the User Interface
Changing Thumbnail Information
Creating, Editing and Deleting Groups
With SMART Sync™ classroom management software, you can manage your classroom and communicate with your students without leaving your computer.
SMART Sync lets you observe and control your students’ computers using the
Thumbnails view, which displays real-time images of your students’ computer desktops.
You can customize this view’s appearance. In addition to viewing the desktops, you can
2 | C H A P T E R 1
– G E T T I N G S T A R T E D capture snapshots of students’ screens, take control of students’ desktops, temporarily lock students’ computers, remotely shut down students’ computers, block Internet access and block the use of specific applications.
You can also use SMART Sync to communicate with your entire class, a group of students or an individual student. You can broadcast your desktop, conduct polls, send messages to students and receive replies, send files to your students, organize student collaboration and more.
If you’re using SMART Sync with a SMART Board™ interactive whiteboard, you can write notes using a pen tray pen and your students will see your notes on their desktops.
If you’re working at a computer, you can write notes using the tools in SMART Sync.
Starting SMART Sync
When you first start SMART Sync, you create a teacher ID and class. Students can then connect to the class (see
Every class is unique. The only similarity between two classes may be the room in which they’re taught. Everything else may be different, including the students, the seating plan and more.
Teachers and classes can be administered, which means they’re centrally defined in a
SMART School file (see
Setting the SMART School File Location
non-administered, which means they’re defined in your computer's installation of
SMART Sync.
l
If you select a non-administered class when you start SMART Sync, you can save changes to your class at any time.
l
If you select an administered class, you can’t save changes to the original file, but you can save it with a new name.
N O T E
(Administered)
appears beside administered classes in the
Welcome to SMART
Sync
dialog box.
3 | C H A P T E R 1
– G E T T I N G S T A R T E D
To create a new teacher ID
To select an existing teacher ID
1. Double-click the
SMART Sync Teacher 2009
icon on your desktop.
The SMART Sync window and the
Welcome to SMART Sync
dialog box appear.
2. Type the teacher ID in the
Teacher
box.
N O T E
The teacher ID can’t contain the following characters:
\ / : * ? < > | "
3. Click
OK
.
A message appears, asking if you want to create a new teacher ID.
4. Click
Yes
.
SMART Sync displays the Thumbnails view and the
All Computers
tab.
5. Connect to students (see
below), and then save the class
(see
Working with Teacher IDs and Classes
1. Double-click the
SMART Sync Teacher 2009
icon on your desktop.
The SMART Sync window and the
Welcome to SMART Sync
dialog box appears.
2. Select a teacher ID from the
Teacher
drop-down list.
3. Select an existing class in the
Class
list.
OR
Select
New Class
in the
Class
list to create a new class.
4. Click
OK
.
SMART Sync displays the Thumbnails view and the
All Computers
tab.
5. Connect to students (see
below) and, if you created a new
class in step 3, save it (see
Working with Teacher IDs and Classes
Connecting to Students
You or your system administrator can install SMART Sync Student on students’ computers in one of two modes:
Mode
Visible
Hidden
Description
The user interface is visible to students.
The user interface is hidden from students.
4 | C H A P T E R 1
– G E T T I N G S T A R T E D
You or your system administrator then selects a connection option depending on the chosen mode:
Connection Option Description Visible
Mode
Yes
Allow the student to select from a list of available teachers
Automatically connects with this
Teacher ID
Automatically connects with this hostname or IP address
Uses this Class List
Server hostname or IP address
Students must manually connect to the correct teacher ID.
Students automatically connect to a teacher ID.
Yes
Students automatically connect to a teacher through the host name or IP address. (Host names and IP addresses identify computers on a network.)
You connect to your students based on the information in a
SMART School file (see
Setting the SMART School File Location
For information on creating and maintaining SMART School files, see document 129773 .
Yes
Yes
Hidden
Mode
No
Yes
Yes
Yes
N O T E
l
If a student with a version of SMART Sync Student that is incompatible with your version of SMART Sync Teacher attempts to connect to your class, warning messages appear on the student’s screen and your screen.
l
In Hidden mode, students can’t ask questions, initiate chat, send files or complete other tasks requiring the SMART Sync Student user interface.
Transferring Students to Your Class
If you connect to students through SMART Sync Class List Server, you can transfer students connected to other teachers’ classes to your class.
N O T E
This feature is only available if you use SMART Sync Class List Server and if one or more other teachers currently have a class running on SMART Sync Class
List Server.
5 | C H A P T E R 1
– G E T T I N G S T A R T E D
To transfer students to your class
1. Select
Connection > Get Missing Students from Other Teachers
.
The
SMART Sync – Class List Connection
dialog box appears. This dialog box shows all students connected to other teachers through SMART Sync Class List
Server and the teachers they’re connected to.
2. Select the check boxes of the students you want to transfer to your class.
T I P
You can select all students in the list by clicking
Select All
.
3. Click
Transfer
.
SMART Sync transfers the selected students to your class.
To change the teacher ID or class
Working with Teacher IDs and Classes
You can change to a different teacher ID or select another class at any time, and the customized profile loads automatically.
If additional students join your class or you reorganize your groups, you may want to save the current class.
1. Select
File > Change Teacher or Class
.
The
Teacher and Class Selection
dialog box appears, displaying your current teacher ID.
2. Select the teacher ID you want from the list.
OR
Clear the current teacher ID and enter another one.
3. Select the class you want.
4. Click
OK
.
The SMART Sync title bar changes to reflect the teacher ID and class.
Students connected to the previous teacher ID receive a message asking them if they want to switch to the new teacher ID. They must click
Yes
to connect to the new teacher ID.
6 | C H A P T E R 1
– G E T T I N G S T A R T E D
To save a non-administered class
Select
File > Save Class
.
To save an administered class or to save a class with a new name
1. Select
File > Save Class As
.
A dialog box appears.
2. Type a new class name, and then click
Save
.
Navigating the User Interface
The SMART Sync user interface consists of views, menus and a toolbar. Each view contains a subset of SMART Sync’s features. The menus and toolbar contain links to features and change depending on which view you’re in.
N O T E
In all views, you can lock student desktops (see page 24), block Internet access
(see page 69), send an announcement (see page 34) and conduct a poll (see page
Thumbnails View
When you start SMART Sync, you see thumbnails (miniature images) of the connected students’ desktops. These thumbnails change in real time (though slightly delayed) with every instance of student input. You can customize the appearance of the Thumbnails view by editing thumbnail names, changing thumbnail sizes and rearranging the thumbnails (see
In the Thumbnails view, you can: l
Observe the class (see page 17)
l
Observe and take control of a student’s desktop (see page 19 and page 20)
l
Broadcast your desktop (see page 30)
l
Broadcast a student’s desktop (see page 31)
l
Capture an image of a student’s desktop (see page 23)
l
Share media files (see page 35)
7 | C H A P T E R 1
– G E T T I N G S T A R T E D l
Share a web page (see page 38)
l
Shut down, log off or restart a student’s computer (see page 27)
Collaboration View
Using the Collaboration view, you can organize and monitor collaborative assignments
(see
on page 41). You can separate your class into groups of
two or three, distribute an assignment for them to complete as a group and view their progress.
Questions View
Using the Questions view, you can view, respond to and save your students’ questions
(see
Chat View
Using SMART Sync, you can chat with your whole class, a specific group or selected students. The Chat view displays all the chat messages, including messages between students.
In the Chat view, you can: l
Chat with the entire class or selected groups (see page 51)
l
Control student chat (see page 54)
l
Save the current chat session as a text file (see page 53)
l
Clear the chat history (see page 53)
File Transfer View
Using the File Transfer view, you can send files to your class, a group or selected
students (see page 57) and receive files from them (see page 58). The view is divided
into
Sent Files
, which lists the files you’ve sent to students, and
Received Files
, which lists the files you’ve received from students.
In the File Transfer view, you can also: l
Cancel a file transfer (see page 57)
l
Open a sent file (see page 57)
l
Open a received file (see page 58)
l
Clear a file from the list (see page 59)
8 | C H A P T E R 1
– G E T T I N G S T A R T E D
Applications View
Using the Applications view, you can block applications on your students’ computers, giving you complete control over the applications your students can use (see
Creating and Using Application Blocking Rules
on page 61). You can also remotely start and
close applications on your students’ computers (see
Starting and Closing Applications
Internet View
Using the Internet view, you can block students from using specified websites and pages (see
Controlling Access to the Internet
Main Toolbar and Menus
Although you can access some buttons and menu options regardless of the current view, some buttons and menu options are specific to a particular view. For example, the
Shut Down
button appears only in the Thumbnails view.
When you select a view, the toolbar buttons and menu options change to the buttons and options appropriate for that view.
Group Tabs
If you want to interact with some students but not with the entire class, you can create groups. Each time you create a group, SMART Sync creates a tab for the new group
(see
Depending upon your viewing options, the main tab is named
All Computers
or
All Students
.
Students List
The students list appears on the right side of the interface when you’re in the Questions,
Chat, File Transfer, Applications or Internet view.
N O T E
The Thumbnails view and the Collaboration view don’t include the students list.
You can get the same information from the students’ thumbnails.
9 | C H A P T E R 1
– G E T T I N G S T A R T E D
The students list includes: l
All the currently connected students (if you’re viewing the
All Students
or
All
Computers
tab).
l
All the currently connected students in a group (if you’re viewing a group’s tab).
When you select one or more students in the student list, you can interact with the selected students using SMART Sync features, including locking students’ desktops, broadcasting, chatting, sending and receiving files, conducting polls and more.
The symbol next to each student’s name indicates the student’s status. The symbols appear below in order of most important status (
Disconnected
) to the least important
(
Connected
).
Symbol Status
Disconnected
Locked Out
Vote
Vote Yes
Vote No
Question
Chat
Application Block
Internet Block
Connected
Description
The student is disconnected.
The student is locked out.
The student has yet to respond to a vote.
The student has responded affirmatively to a vote.
The student has responded negatively to a vote.
The student asked a question.
The student received a new chat message.
The student is blocked from using one or more applications.
The student is blocked from using the Internet.
The student is connected.
When more than one status applies to a student, the most important symbol appears.
For example, if a student is both connected and locked out, the
Locked Out
symbol displays beside the student’s name.
Customizing the User Interface
You can customize SMART Sync’s user interface following the instructions in this section.
Showing or Hiding Toolbars
You can show or hide the toolbars to customize the SMART Sync interface.
1 0 | C H A P T E R 1
– G E T T I N G S T A R T E D
To show or hide the main toolbar
Select
View > Toolbars > Main
.
To show or hide the
Views icons
Select
View > Toolbars > View
.
Setting the Selection Method
You can change SMART Sync’s selection method to suit your preferences. The two available methods are Standard and Sticky.
In Standard selection: l
If you click two items, you select only the second item.
l
If you hold the CTRL key and click two items, you select both items.
l
If you hold the SHIFT key and click two items, you select both items and every item between the two.
In Sticky selection: l
If you click two items, you select both items.
l
If you click a selected item, you clear the selection.
l
Holding the CTRL or SHIFT keys has no effect.
T I P
If you’re using a SMART Board interactive whiteboard, it’s easier to select and clear selections using the Sticky selection method.
To set the selection method to Standard
Select
Options > Selection Types > Standard Selection
.
To set the selection method to Sticky
Select
Options > Selection Types > Sticky Selection
.
1 1 | C H A P T E R 1
– G E T T I N G S T A R T E D
To rearrange thumbnails in a customized order
Working with Thumbnails
You can rearrange, resize and change the information of the thumbnails in the
Thumbnails view.
Rearranging Thumbnails
By default, the student thumbnails are arranged alphabetically in the Thumbnails view.
However, you can rearrange the thumbnails in any way you like. For example, you can rearrange them to reflect the room’s seating plan for all students or groups.
1. Click
Thumbnails
.
The Thumbnails view appears.
2. Click
All Computers
or
All Students
to rearrange the thumbnails for the class.
OR
Click a group’s tab to rearrange the thumbnails for the group.
3. Make sure
View > Thumbnail Arrangement > Align to Grid
isn’t selected, and then click and drag the thumbnails vertically or horizontally.
N O T E
If a new student joins the class or group, that student’s thumbnail appears at the end of the thumbnail arrangement.
To rearrange thumbnails alphabetically
1. Click
Thumbnails
.
The Thumbnails view appears.
2. Click
All Computers
or
All Students
to rearrange the thumbnails for the class.
OR
Click a group’s tab to rearrange the thumbnails for the group.
1 2 | C H A P T E R 1
– G E T T I N G S T A R T E D
3. Select
View > Thumbnail Arrangement > Alphabetical Ordering
.
The thumbnails are rearranged in alphabetical order starting at the upper left corner.
N O T E
If a new student joins the class or group, that student’s thumbnail appears in alphabetical order in the thumbnail arrangement.
To resize thumbnails
Resizing Thumbnails
There are advantages and disadvantages to increasing the size of the thumbnails. If you make them larger, it’s easier to see details, but you have to scroll to view some of the thumbnails. If you make them smaller, you can view more of them without having to scroll, but it’s difficult to see details.
1. Click
Thumbnails
.
The Thumbnails view appears.
2. Select
View > Thumbnail Size
, and then select one of the following options: o
Very Large
(two thumbnails wide) o
Large
(three thumbnails wide) o
Medium
(four thumbnails wide) o
Small
(five thumbnails wide) o
Very Small
(six thumbnails wide) o
Best Fit
(automatically adjusts the thumbnail display to the best arrangement)
To change thumbnail information
Changing Thumbnail Information
When you’re monitoring a class or group in the Thumbnails view, you can display the student’s logon ID, student ID or name below each thumbnail. The Collaboration view also displays this information.
1. Click
Thumbnails
.
The Thumbnails view appears.
1 3 | C H A P T E R 1
– G E T T I N G S T A R T E D
2. Select
View > Thumbnail Name/Description
.
3. Select
Logon ID
,
Student ID
or
Student Name
.
Working with Groups
If you want to interact with some students but not the entire class, you can create groups.
When you create a group, SMART Sync creates a tab for the group. Depending on your viewing options, the default group tab is named
All Computers
or
All Students
.
When you select a group’s tab, you can interact with the members of that group. For example, you can lock the group’s desktops, broadcast your desktop to the group, chat with the group, send a file to the group, conduct a poll of the group and more.
By creating groups, you can tailor specific actions to a certain section of the class. For example, you can create a group made up of students who are easily distracted, and then monitor the computer screens of that group.
You can also edit the members of existing groups and delete groups that you no longer need.
Changing the Type of Class
Depending on your viewing options, the default group tab is named
All Computers
or
All
Students
. The
All Computers
group includes every computer in your lab and names the thumbnails using the computer name. The
All Students
group includes every student in your class and names the thumbnails using the student ID.
To change from a lab to a class
Select
View > View Class As > Student Class List
.
To change from a class to a lab
Select
View > View Class As > Computer Lab
.
1 4 | C H A P T E R 1
– G E T T I N G S T A R T E D
To create a group
Creating, Editing and Deleting Groups
1. Select
Edit > Add Group
.
The
New Group
dialog box appears.
2. Type a name for the group in the
Group name
box.
3. Optionally, select the
Allow students to join this group on their own
check box to allow students to join or leave this group.
N O T E
If you don’t select this check box, only you can add or remove students from the group.
4. Click
OK
.
The group appears as a new tab in the main SMART Sync window.
To edit a group
1. Select the group’s tab.
2. Select
Edit > Modify Group
.
The
Edit New Group
dialog box appears.
3. Optionally, change the name of the group in the
Name
box.
4. Optionally, add students to or remove them from the group: o
To add a student, select the student’s name in the
Students
list, and then click
Add
.
o
To remove a student, select the student’s name in the
Group Members
list, and then click
Remove
.
5. Optionally, select the
Allow students to join this group on their own
check box to allow students to join or leave this group.
N O T E
If you don’t select this check box, only you can add or remove students from the group.
6. Click
OK
.
1 5 | C H A P T E R 1
– G E T T I N G S T A R T E D
To delete a group
1. Select the group’s tab.
2. Select
Edit > Remove Group
.
A warning message appears.
3. Click
Yes
.
To interact with a group or all students
Click a group’s tab to interact with the group.
OR
Click the
All Computers
or
All Students
tab to interact with all students.
Exiting SMART Sync
Before you exit SMART Sync, consider the following: l
If you exit while a file transfer is in progress, the file transfer is canceled.
l
If you want to continue to use SMART Sync but you want to change to a different teacher ID, you don’t need to exit SMART Sync.
To exit SMART Sync
Select
File > Exit
.
Chapter 2
Observing and Controlling
Students
Controlling a Student’s Desktop
Capturing an Image of a Student’s Desktop
Controlling Student Disconnection
Shutting Down, Logging Off and Restarting Students’ Computers
You can view a window or full screen image of a student’s desktop, take sole control of a student’s desktop or share control with the student. You can also observe and control your entire class using locks, shutdowns and more.
Observing the Class
You can view images of your students’ screens using the Thumbnails view, enabling you to determine at a glance whether everyone is focused on the assigned task.
When you’re observing a class or group you can: l
Lock student desktops (see page 24)
l
Block student access to the Internet (see page 69)
l
l
View and answer your students’ questions (see page 47)
l
Broadcast your desktop (see page 30)
1 8 | C H A P T E R 2
– O B S E R V I N G A N D C O N T R O L L I N G S T U D E N T S
To observe the class
l
Share media files (see page 35)
l
Shut down, log off or restart student computers (see page 27)
1. Click
Thumbnails
.
The Thumbnails view appears.
2. Click
All Computers
or
All Students
to monitor all students.
OR
Click a group’s tab to monitor only students in the group.
The Thumbnails view displays the thumbnails of the class or the selected group.
The symbol in the top left corner of each thumbnail indicates the student’s status.
When more than one status applies to a student, the symbol with the greatest importance is displayed. For example, if a student is both blocked from using the
Internet and locked out, the
Locked Out
symbol is displayed. The symbols appear below in order of most important (
Locked Out
) to least important
(
Active Application
).
Symbol Status
Locked Out
Vote
Vote Yes
Vote No
Question
Chat
Application Block
Internet Block
Active Application
Description
The student is locked out.
The student has yet to respond to a vote.
The student has responded affirmatively to a vote.
The student has responded negatively to a vote.
The student asked a question.
The student received a new chat message.
The student is blocked from using one or more applications.
The student is blocked from using the
Internet.
If none of the situations above are true, then the icon for the student’s active application is displayed as a symbol. For example, if the student is using Microsoft®
Word, then the Microsoft Word icon is displayed.
The Thumbnails view displays all thumbnails in a 4:3 ratio to make it easier for you to view and organize the thumbnails. If necessary, this view also adds borders to the image to ensure the thumbnail isn’t distorted by a change in ratio.
1 9 | C H A P T E R 2
– O B S E R V I N G A N D C O N T R O L L I N G S T U D E N T S
To view a student’s desktop in Window mode
Observing a Student’s Desktop
You can view a student’s desktop in Window mode (the student’s desktop appears in a resizable window, with the Thumbnails view open at the same time) or Full Screen mode
(the student’s desktop fills your screen). Window mode lets you switch between the live image of your student’s desktop and the other parts of SMART Sync, such as the Chat,
Quiz and File Transfer views.
When you’re monitoring an individual student, you can also take control of the student’s desktop, broadcast the student’s desktop to the class, capture an image of the student’s desktop and write notes over the student’s desktop.
T I P
If a student uses dual monitors, you can view both displays. Either scroll to see an individual display or scale the displays to view them both in one window.
1. Click
Thumbnails
.
The Thumbnails view appears.
2. Double-click the student’s thumbnail.
The student’s desktop appears in Window mode.
N O T E
While viewing the student’s desktop in Window mode, you can: o
Click
Control
o
Click
Broadcast
to take control of the student’s desktop (see page
to broadcast the student’s desktop (see page
o
Click
Capture
to capture an image of the student’s desktop (see o
Click
Pen
3. Click
Stop
to write on the student’s desktop (see page 22).
to stop viewing the student’s desktop.
2 0 | C H A P T E R 2
– O B S E R V I N G A N D C O N T R O L L I N G S T U D E N T S
To view a student’s desktop in Full Screen mode
1. Click
Thumbnails
.
The Thumbnails view appears.
2. Double-click the student’s thumbnail.
The student’s desktop appears in Window mode.
3. Click
Full Screen
.
The student’s desktop appears in Full Screen mode with a toolbar.
N O T E
While viewing the student’s desktop in Full Screen mode, you can: o
Select
Menu > Control
to take control of the student’s desktop (see
o
Select
Menu > Broadcast
to broadcast the student’s desktop (see
o
Select
Menu > Capture
to capture an image of the student’s
o
Click
Pen
to write on the student’s desktop (see page 22).
4. Select
Menu > Stop Observing
to stop viewing the student’s desktop.
OR
Select
Menu > View in Window Mode
to continue viewing the student’s desktop, but in Window mode.
Controlling a Student’s Desktop
When you’re observing a student, you can take sole control or share control of the student’s desktop. Any changes you make when you take sole control of the student’s desktop are visible to the student in real time.
2 1 | C H A P T E R 2
– O B S E R V I N G A N D C O N T R O L L I N G S T U D E N T S
To control a student’s desktop in Window mode
To control a student’s desktop in Full Screen mode
1. Click
Thumbnails
.
The Thumbnails view appears.
2. Select the student’s thumbnail, and then click
Control
.
The student’s desktop appears in Window mode.
N O T E
While controlling the student’s desktop in Window mode, you can: o
Click
Observe
to stop controlling the student’s desktop but
continue viewing it (see page 19).
o
Click
Broadcast
to broadcast the student’s desktop (see page
o
Click
Capture
to capture an image of the student’s desktop (see o
Click
Pen
3. Click
Stop
to write on the student’s desktop (see page 22).
to stop controlling the student’s desktop.
1. Click
Thumbnails
.
The Thumbnails view appears.
2. Select the student’s thumbnail, and then click
Control
.
The student’s desktop appears in Window mode.
2 2 | C H A P T E R 2
– O B S E R V I N G A N D C O N T R O L L I N G S T U D E N T S
3. Click
Full Screen
.
The student’s desktop appears in Full Screen mode with a toolbar.
N O T E
While controlling the student’s desktop in Full Screen mode, you can: o
Select
Menu > Observe
to stop controlling the student’s desktop,
but to continue viewing it (see page 19).
o
Select
Menu > Broadcast
to broadcast the student’s desktop (see
o
Select
Menu > Capture
to capture an image of the student’s
o
Click
Pen
to write on the student’s desktop (see page 22).
4. Select
Menu > Stop Controlling
to stop controlling the student’s desktop.
OR
Select
Menu > View in Window Mode
to continue controlling the student’s desktop, but in Window mode.
To write over a student’s desktop using a
SMART Board
Writing Over a Desktop
If you’re observing or controlling a student’s desktop, you can write over that student’s desktop. Your notes are visible only on that student’s desktop.
l
If you’re working on a SMART Board interactive whiteboard, you can write notes using a pen tray pen. You can change the appearance of the digital ink using the options in Floating Tools.
l
If you’re working at your computer, you can write notes using the toolbar. You can change the digital ink’s width, color and transparency in SMART Sync’s preferences.
The digital ink is temporary and the underlying application is unaffected by your notes. If you want to save your notes, capture the screen before you clear the digital ink.
1. Observe or take control of a student’s desktop (see
Controlling a Student’s Desktop
2. Pick up a pen tray pen and write on the interactive whiteboard.
2 3 | C H A P T E R 2
– O B S E R V I N G A N D C O N T R O L L I N G S T U D E N T S
To write over a student’s desktop using the toolbar
3. Put the pen tray pen back in its slot when you’re finished.
When you next make contact with the interactive whiteboard, your notes disappear.
1. Observe or take control of a student’s desktop (see
Controlling a Student’s Desktop
2. Click
Pen
.
3. Click and drag your mouse across your desktop to write in digital ink.
4. Click
Select
when you’re finished.
Your notes disappear.
To capture an image of a student’s desktop
Capturing an Image of a Student’s Desktop
When you’re observing a student, you can capture an image of the student’s desktop and save it as a graphics file for your records.
1. Click
Thumbnails
.
The Thumbnails view appears.
2. Select the thumbnail of the student whose desktop you want to capture.
3. Click
Capture
.
The
Save As
dialog box appears.
4. Type a new name for the file in the
File name
box if you don’t want to use the default file name.
N O T E
The default file name contains the student’s name, followed by the date and the time of the screen capture.
5. Select a new graphics file type in the
Save as type
drop-down list if you don’t want to use the default graphics file type.
N O T E
The default graphics file type is
Jpeg Files (.jpg, .jpeg)
.
2 4 | C H A P T E R 2
– O B S E R V I N G A N D C O N T R O L L I N G S T U D E N T S
To view the screen capture
6. Browse to the folder where you want to save the file if you don’t want to save it in the default folder.
N O T E
The default folder is
My Documents
in the Windows® XP and Windows 7 operating systems or
Documents
in the Windows Vista® operating system.
7. Click
Save
.
1. Browse to the folder where you saved the graphics file.
2. Double-click the graphics file.
To lock student desktops
Locking Student Desktops
You can get the attention of your class, a group or an individual student by temporarily locking their mouse devices, keyboards and desktops and presenting them with a simple message. The default message is “Eyes to the front, please.” However, you can customize this message. (see
When you lock students’ computers, you don’t delete any of their work. When you remove the lock, the students’ desktop views and control are completely restored.
1. Click
Thumbnails
.
The Thumbnails view appears.
2. Click
All Computers
or
All Students
to lock all students’ desktops.
OR
Click a group’s tab to lock only the desktops of students in the group.
OR
Select a student’s thumbnail to lock only the desktop of that student.
2 5 | C H A P T E R 2
– O B S E R V I N G A N D C O N T R O L L I N G S T U D E N T S
3. Click
Lock
.
A lock symbol appears over the locked desktops in the Thumbnails view. Lock symbols also appear in locked students thumbnails.
The lock-out message appears on the selected students’ desktops. If you don’t change the message, the message is “Eyes to the front, please.”
N O T E
To cancel the lock, click
Lock
.
To disconnect a student
Disconnecting Students
At the end of a class, some students may leave without disconnecting from SMART
Sync. You can remotely disconnect a student, and you can also control the student’s ability to disconnect. For example, you can prevent students from logging out or avoiding your surveillance.
Disconnecting Students
You remotely disconnect students in the Thumbnails view.
1. Click
Thumbnails
.
The Thumbnails view appears.
2. Select the thumbnail of the student you want to disconnect.
3. Select
Connection > Disconnect Students
.
A message appears asking you for confirmation.
2 6 | C H A P T E R 2
– O B S E R V I N G A N D C O N T R O L L I N G S T U D E N T S
4. Click
Yes
.
SMART Sync disconnects the student’s computer from SMART Sync Teacher and a
No Response
message appears over the student’s thumbnail.
N O T E S
o
If you connected to students using a class list, you can also disconnect a student, reconnect a student or remove the thumbnail.
o
To disconnect a student, right-click his or her thumbnail, and then select
Disconnect
.
o
To reconnect a student, right-click his or her thumbnail, and then select
Reconnect
.
o
To remove a thumbnail from the Thumbnails view, right-click the thumbnail, and then select
Remove
. This doesn’t remove the student from a group or the class, but does help to tidy the view.
o
Depending upon how the class was created, you may be able to refresh the screen by selecting
View > Refresh
, or by pressing F5.
Controlling Student Disconnection
You can control a student’s ability to disconnect. For example, you can prevent students from logging out or avoiding your surveillance.
If a student clicks the
SMART Sync
icon in the notification area and you’ve removed the ability to disconnect, the student: l
Can’t select
Exit
l
Can select
Connect
, but can’t connect to a different teacher in the
Connect to
Teacher
dialog box
To disable student disconnection
Select
Options > Allow Students to Disconnect
.
To enable student disconnection
Select
Options > Allow Students to Disconnect
.
When a student disconnects from SMART Sync, a
No Response
message appears over the student’s thumbnail.
2 7 | C H A P T E R 2
– O B S E R V I N G A N D C O N T R O L L I N G S T U D E N T S
To shut down students’ computers
Shutting Down, Logging Off and Restarting
Students’ Computers
Students may leave their computers in a variety of states at the end of the day. Some students may log off and shut down, and others may leave their applications running.
You can remotely shut down, log off or restart the computers of your entire class, a group or a selected student.
C A U T I O N
Shutting down, logging off or restarting a computer can result in the loss of unsaved data. Advise students to save their work before you perform any of these actions.
1. Click
Thumbnails
.
The Thumbnails view appears.
2. Click
All Computers
or
All Students
to shut down, log off or restart all students’ computers.
OR
Click a group’s tab to shut down, log off or restart the computers of only students in the group.
OR
Select a student’s thumbnail to shut down, log off or restart the computer of only that student.
3. Click
Shut Down
.
The
Shut Down Students
dialog box appears.
4. Select
Shut down
from the drop-down list.
5. Click
OK
.
To log off students’ computers
1. Click
Thumbnails
.
The Thumbnails view appears.
2 8 | C H A P T E R 2
– O B S E R V I N G A N D C O N T R O L L I N G S T U D E N T S
To restart students’ computers
2. Click
All Computers
or
All Students
to shut down, log off or restart all students’ computers.
OR
Click a group’s tab to shut down, log off or restart the computers of only students in the group.
OR
Select a student’s thumbnail to shut down, log off or restart the computer of only that student.
3. Click
Shut Down
.
The
Shut Down Students
dialog box appears.
4. Select
Log off
from the drop-down list.
5. Click
OK
.
1. Click
Thumbnails
.
The Thumbnails view appears.
2. Click
All Computers
or
All Students
to shut down, log off or restart all students’ computers.
OR
Click a group’s tab to shut down, log off or restart the computers of only students in the group.
OR
Select a student’s thumbnail to shut down, log off or restart the computer of only that student.
3. Click
Shut Down
.
The
Shut Down Students
dialog box appears.
4. Select
Restart
from the drop-down list.
5. Click
OK
.
Chapter 3
Broadcasting and
Communicating
Broadcasting a Student’s Desktop
Giving Control to a Student During a Broadcast
SMART Sync makes it easy for you to interact with your students. Whether you need to communicate with the entire class, a group or an individual student, you can use a variety of methods: l
Broadcast your desktop l
Broadcast a student’s desktop l
Pass control of a broadcast to a student l
Write notes over a student’s desktop l
Conduct a poll l
Share media l
Share a web page
3 0 | C H A P T E R 3
– B R O A D C A S T I N G A N D C O M M U N I C A T I N G
To broadcast your desktop
Broadcasting
You can broadcast your desktop to the entire class or to a group. You can also broadcast a student’s desktop or give control of the broadcast to a student.
N O T E
If you want to broadcast video or media files, disable the mirror driver in the advanced preferences (see
Setting the Advanced Preferences
the Show Media option (see
Broadcasting Your Desktop
You can broadcast your desktop to the entire class or select students in either Full
Screen or Window mode. In Full Screen mode, your broadcast fills the students’ screens, and they can’t view or use other applications during the broadcast. In Window mode, your desktop appears in a window on the students’ desktops and they can switch between this window and other applications.
1. Click
Thumbnails
.
The Thumbnails view appears.
2. Click
All Computers
or
All Students
to broadcast to all students.
OR
Click a group’s tab to broadcast to only students in the group.
OR
Select students’ thumbnails to broadcast to only those students.
3. Click
Broadcast
.
A message appears, asking if you want to broadcast your desktop.
3 1 | C H A P T E R 3
– B R O A D C A S T I N G A N D C O M M U N I C A T I N G
4. Click
Yes
.
Your desktop appears on the selected students’ computers. The My Desktop toolbar appears on your computer.
N O T E S
o
Your desktop is surrounded by a blue border for the duration of the broadcast.
o
If you’re broadcasting from a SMART Board interactive whiteboard, you can write using a pen tray pen and your notes appear on the students’ desktops. You can also write over the students’ desktops using the My Desktop toolbar (see
5. Select
Menu > Stop Broadcasting
when you’re finished.
To broadcast a student’s desktop
Broadcasting a Student’s Desktop
You can broadcast a student’s desktop to the entire class or to a group. You can take control of the student’s mouse and keyboard, share control with the student or let the student keep control.
You can broadcast in either Full Screen or Window mode. In Full Screen mode, your broadcast fills the students’ screens, and they can’t view or use other applications during the broadcast. In Window mode, your desktop appears in a window on the students’ desktops and they can switch between this window and other applications.
1. Click
Thumbnails
.
The Thumbnails view appears.
2. Select the thumbnail of the student whose desktop you want to broadcast.
3. Click
Broadcast
.
A message appears, asking to broadcast the selected desktop.
3 2 | C H A P T E R 3
– B R O A D C A S T I N G A N D C O M M U N I C A T I N G
4. Click
Yes
.
The student’s desktop appears on your computer and the other students’ computers.
N O T E
o
The student’s desktop is surrounded by a blue border for the duration of the broadcast.
o
While broadcasting the student’s desktop, you can: o
Click
Observe
to stop the broadcast, but continue to view
the student’s desktop (see page 19).
o
Click
Control
to stop the broadcast and take control of the
student’s desktop (see page 20).
o
Click
Capture
to capture an image of the student’s
o
Click
Pen
to write on the student’s desktop (see page 33).
5. Click
Stop
when you’re finished.
To give control to a student during a broadcast
Giving Control to a Student During a Broadcast
You can give temporary control of your desktop to a student during the broadcast.
1. Broadcast your desktop or a student’s desktop (see
Broadcasting a Student’s Desktop
The desktop appears on the students’ monitors and the
My Desktop
toolbar appears on your desktop.
2. Select
Menu > Pass the Chalk
.
The
Pass the Chalk to
dialog box appears. The alphabetical list of students includes every student who’s receiving your broadcast.
3 3 | C H A P T E R 3
– B R O A D C A S T I N G A N D C O M M U N I C A T I N G
3. Select a student, type a message, and then click
Pass the Chalk
.
Your message appears on the student’s screen. When the student clicks
OK
, he or she has control of your desktop. The desktop’s border changes from blue to red.
N O T E
If you give control to one of your students, you can still use your mouse and keyboard. If both you and the student use the mouse or keyboard at the same time, your actions take precedence over the student’s. In addition, if you broadcast a student’s computer and the student’s computer is running the Windows Vista operating system, the student whose display is being broadcasted always shares control, regardless of your broadcast preferences.
4. Select
Menu > End Pass the Chalk
.
5. Select
Menu > Stop Broadcasting
.
To write over a broadcast using a SMART Board
Writing Over a Broadcast
During a broadcast, you can write over your desktop and the digital ink is displayed on the desktops of everyone receiving your broadcast. This is a good way to direct your students’ attention and make helpful notes for them.
l
If you’re working on a SMART Board interactive whiteboard, you can write notes using a pen tray pen. You can change the appearance of the digital ink using the options in Floating Tools.
l
If you’re working at your desktop, you can write notes using the
My Desktop
toolbar. You can change the digital ink’s width, color and transparency in SMART
Sync’s preferences.
1. Broadcast your desktop or a student’s desktop (see
Broadcasting a Student’s Desktop
2. Pick up a pen tray pen and write on the interactive whiteboard.
3. Put the pen tray pen back in its slot when you’re finished.
When you next make contact with the interactive whiteboard, your notes disappear.
3 4 | C H A P T E R 3
– B R O A D C A S T I N G A N D C O M M U N I C A T I N G
To write over a broadcast using the My Desktop toolbar
1. Broadcast your desktop or a student’s desktop (see
Broadcasting a Student’s Desktop
2. Click
Pen
on the
My Desktop
toolbar.
3. Click and drag your mouse across your desktop to write in digital ink.
4. Click
Select
when you’re finished.
Your notes disappear.
Sending an Announcement
SMART Sync allows you to chat with your whole class or a specific group (see
on page 51). However, if you want to send a message to several students only, you can
send an announcement that is only visible to the selected students.
To send an announcement
1. Click
All Computers
or
All Students
to send the announcement to all students.
OR
Click a group’s tab to send the announcement to only students in the group.
OR
Select students’ names in the students list to send the announcement to only those students.
2. Click
Announce
.
The
Announce
dialog box appears.
3. Type a message in the
Announcement
box, and then click
OK
.
Your message appears on the students’ screens.
Conducting a Poll
You can send a Yes/No question to your class or a group for them to vote on. SMART
Sync tallies the responses and displays the result of the vote at the bottom of the window.
3 5 | C H A P T E R 3
– B R O A D C A S T I N G A N D C O M M U N I C A T I N G
To conduct a poll
1. Click
All Computers
or
All Students
to conduct a poll of all students.
OR
Click a group’s tab to conduct a poll of only students in the group.
2. Click
Vote
.
The
Vote
dialog box appears.
3. Type the question.
4. Click
OK
.
A
Quick Response for Vote
dialog box appears on each student’s computer.
Students select
Yes
or
No
, and then click
Submit
.
A response symbol appears over each thumbnail in the Thumbnails view of
SMART Sync Teacher. The three response symbols are as follows: o o o
Student has yet to respond
Student voted Yes
Student voted No
N O T E
The same symbols appear beside the students’ names in the students list.
The result of the poll appears at the bottom of SMART Sync Teacher.
5. Click
Vote
, and then click
Yes
to clear the votes when you’re finished.
Sharing Media
You can play media files on your computer and broadcast them to the entire class, a group, or an individual student.
I M P O R T A N T
Do not share media and send files at the same time.
3 6 | C H A P T E R 3
– B R O A D C A S T I N G A N D C O M M U N I C A T I N G
N O T E S
l
If you want to share media files, disable the mirror driver (see
l
If you want to share a Windows Media® (.wmv) file with a student, the student’s computer must have Windows Media Player 7 or later and
DirectX® 9.0 or later.
To share a media file
Sharing a Media File
1. Click
Thumbnails
.
The Thumbnails view appears.
2. Click
All Computers
or
All Students
to share media with all students.
OR
Click a group’s tab to share media with only students in the group.
3. Click
Show Media
.
The
Send Media File
dialog box appears.
4. Browse to and select the media file you want to play, and then click
Send
.
The
Sending Media
dialog box appears. This dialog box displays the estimated time it will take to send this file to the selected students. When all students have received the media file, it starts playing automatically.
N O T E
All of the media file controls, such as the
Play
and
Stop
buttons, are disabled until all the students have received the file.
T I P
If you decide you don’t want to play the media file (for example, if the estimated time is too long or you decide to play a different media file), click
Cancel
. When the message appears asking for confirmation, click
Yes
.
3 7 | C H A P T E R 3
– B R O A D C A S T I N G A N D C O M M U N I C A T I N G
5. Click
Play
.
The media file plays.
N O T E
While playing the media file, you can pause or stop as well as change the display mode (see below).
6. Select
File > Open
to leave the media window open and play a different media file.
OR
Select
File > Exit
to close the media window.
Playing the Media File
While playing the media file, you can do the following: l
Click
Pause
to pause the media file.
N O T E
If you click
Pause
and then click
Play
, the media file restarts from the point at which you paused it.
l
Click
Stop
to stop the media file.
N O T E
If you click
Stop
and then click
Play
, the media file restarts from the beginning.
l
Select
View > 50%
,
View > 100%
or
View > 200%
to change the size of the media window.
l
Click
Full Screen
to display the media file in Full Screen mode.
T I P S
o
If you want to prevent students from using other applications during the broadcast of the media file, display the media file in Full Screen mode.
o
When you play the media file in Full Screen mode, the Playing Media toolbar appears. You can use this toolbar to play , pause and stop the file as well as return to Window mode .
3 8 | C H A P T E R 3
– B R O A D C A S T I N G A N D C O M M U N I C A T I N G
When you click one of the above buttons or menu options, the action affects the display on both your computer and the students’ computers.
To share a web page
Sharing a Web Page
You can remotely start Internet Explorer® Internet browser and open a specific web page on the desktops of your whole class, a group or selected students.
You can also launch a web page on your students’ computers using the SMART Sync toolbar in Internet Explorer.
N O T E
Using this method, you automatically display the web page on the desktops of all your students. You can’t display it solely for a group or individual students.
1. Click
Thumbnails
.
The Thumbnails view appears.
2. Click
All Computers
or
All Students
to share the web page with all students.
OR
Click a group’s tab to share the web page with only students in the group.
OR
Select students’ thumbnails to share the web page with only those students.
3. Click
Send Web
.
The
Internet Share Web Address
dialog box appears.
4. Type the web page’s address in the box.
5. Click
Send WWW
.
Internet Explorer starts and opens the web page on both your desktop and the desktops of the selected students.
3 9 | C H A P T E R 3
– B R O A D C A S T I N G A N D C O M M U N I C A T I N G
To share a web page using the SMART Sync toolbar
1. Open Internet Explorer Internet browser.
2. Browse to the web page you want to display to your students.
3. If you haven’t done so already, select
View > Toolbar > SMART Sync
to display the SMART Sync toolbar.
4. Click
Send to Students
.
Chapter 4
Organizing Collaboration
Starting Collaborative Assignments
Completing Collaborative Assignments
Monitoring Collaborative Assignments
Using SMART Sync, you can separate your class into groups of two or three students, distribute an assignment for them to complete collaboratively and monitor their progress.
After they complete the task individually, the students in each group can compare their answers, agree upon their group’s collective response and then send this to you for review.
To start collaborative assignments
Starting Collaborative Assignments
You can distribute an assignment to your class for them to complete in groups of two or three.
1. Click
Collaboration
.
The Collaboration view appears.
2. Select
Two students per group
or
Three students per group
to set the size of the groups.
3. Click
Browse
.
The
Open
dialog box appears.
4. Browse to and select the collaborative assignment file, and then click
Open
.
4 2 | C H A P T E R 4
– O R G A N I Z I N G C O L L A B O R A T I O N
5. For each additional document you want to include with the assignment as a resource file, click
Add
, browse to and select the file, and then click
Open
.
N O T E
If you want to remove a previously included resource file, select the file and click
Remove
.
6. Select the
Allow students to chat
check box to allow students to chat using
SMART Sync while they’re working on the assignment.
OR
Clear the
Allow students to chat
check box to prevent student chat.
7. Click
Start
.
The Collaboration sidebar appears on the right side of each student’s desktop.
This sidebar enables the student to open the assignment, open the additional resource documents, view work completed by other group members and send the group’s final response back to you.
T I P
You can monitor the progress of each group (see
After all the groups complete the assignment, the Collaboration Complete screen appears and enables you to view the assignments (see
Completing Collaborative Assignments
After your students receive the collaborative assignment, they can complete the task individually, compare answers with other students in their group, agree upon their group’s collective response and then send this to you for review.
The Collaboration sidebar appears on the right side of each student’s desktop. This sidebar enables the student to open resource documents, view the status of their group members’ work, view work completed by other group members, and submit a final group response.
4 3 | C H A P T E R 4
– O R G A N I Z I N G C O L L A B O R A T I O N
To complete collaborative assignments
N O T E
If students have SMART Notebook™ SE 1.6 or later on their computers, all collaborative files open in new tabs in SMART Notebook SE and students' work is saved to their binders automatically.
Each group includes one student responsible for submitting the group’s final response.
SMART Sync selects this student randomly.
The following procedure must be completed by the students on their computers. It is provided here to allow you to respond to any students who are unsure of how to proceed.
1. Read the instructions in the
Collaboration Individual Work
window, and then click
OK
.
The assignment appears in the appropriate application. The Collaboration sidebar also appears on the right side of the screen.
2. Complete the assignment.
T I P
To view a resource file while completing the assignment, click its name below
Resources
in the Collaboration sidebar.
3. Click
Hand In
in the Collaboration sidebar.
4. Click
Yes
to confirm you want to hand in your assignment.
The collaboration sidebar displays the status of your group members’ work: o
If a student hasn’t completed the work, the Collaboration sidebar displays
Work not handed in
below the student’s name. If you hover your mouse over a thumbnail, a larger view of the student’s screen appears. If you double-click a thumbnail, a full screen view of the student’s screen appears.
o
If a student has completed the work, the Collaboration sidebar displays
Work handed in
below the student’s name. If all the students in the group have submitted their assignment, you can click
Work handed in
to display that student’s work.
When every student in your group has handed in their assignments, the
Collaboration Group Work
window appears with instructions on what you need to do.
5. Read the instructions, and then click
OK
.
4 4 | C H A P T E R 4
– O R G A N I Z I N G C O L L A B O R A T I O N
6. If you aren’t responsible for submitting the group’s final response, you can see the group leader’s screen. Work with your group until your group leader has completed an answer on behalf of the group. When you’re happy with his or her answer, select the
Ready to hand in
check box in the Collaboration sidebar.
OR
If you are responsible for submitting the group’s final response, the other members of your group can see your screen. Work with your group until you complete an answer. When a group member is happy with your answer,
Ready to hand in
appears below his or her name in the Collaboration sidebar. When all group members are happy with your answer, click
Hand In
in the Collaboration sidebar.
You can’t click
Hand In
until every member of your group agrees to it. Click
Yes
to confirm.
The
Collaboration Complete
window appears, confirming that you’ve submitted your assignment.
7. Click
OK
.
To monitor collaborative assignments
Monitoring Collaborative Assignments
After your students receive the collaborative assignment, you can monitor their progress.
1. Click
Collaboration
.
The Collaboration view appears.
4 5 | C H A P T E R 4
– O R G A N I Z I N G C O L L A B O R A T I O N
2. Click
All Computers
or
All Students
to monitor the class.
OR
Click a group’s tab to monitor the group.
The Collaboration view displays the thumbnails of the class or the selected group.
This view also lists the assignment document and resource files you distributed with the collaborative assignment.
N O T E S
o
You can customize the view’s appearance by resizing the thumbnails (see
o
When a student completes the task individually and submits it to the other members of the group, a link to this file appears below that student’s thumbnail. To view this file, click the link.
o
When a group sends you their final, collaborative response, the
Group Work
status changes from
Incomplete
to the file name. You can click the file name to open and view the completed file.
o
If all students in a group disconnect from the class, SMART Sync
Teacher is unable to select a group leader, an error occurs while transferring files to the group or an unknown error occurs, an appropriate message appears in the group’s section of the
Collaboration view.
o
After all the groups complete the assignment, the
Collaboration
Complete
screen appears and enables you to view the assignments
(see
Viewing Completed Assignments
After all the groups complete the collaboration assignment, the
Collaboration Complete
screen appears. This screen displays the location of the completed assignments and provides links to these locations.
If you don't want to wait for all the groups to complete the assignment, you can click
Stop
to stop the collaborative assignment.
4 6 | C H A P T E R 4
– O R G A N I Z I N G C O L L A B O R A T I O N
To view a group’s collaborative response
Click the appropriate link below
Session deliverables are located in
.
To return to the default
Collaboration view screen
Click
Set up collaboration work details
.
Chapter 5
Answering Questions
Viewing and Answering Questions
Deleting a Question without Answering
If SMART Sync Student was installed in Visible mode, students can send questions to you and you can respond to each question.
To view and answer a student’s question
Viewing and Answering Questions
When students ask questions through SMART Sync, a
Question
symbol and the number of currently unanswered questions appear in the bottom right corner of SMART
Sync Teacher.
View and answer questions in the Questions view.
1. Click
Questions
.
The Questions view appears.
2. Select a question, and then click
Answer
.
3. Type your reply in the
Message
box.
4 8 | C H A P T E R 5
– A N S W E R I N G Q U E S T I O N S
4. Click
Send
to send your response to the student who sent you the question.
OR
Click
Send to All
to send your response to the entire class.
Your response appears in the
History
are of the Questions view.
Your response also appears on the
Teacher
tab in the students’
SMART Sync
Student Chat
dialog box.
N O T E
Students can reply to your response. Similarly, you can continue to send messages to students by typing text in the
Message
box and pressing
ENTER.
5. Click
Finished
when you’re finished.
N O T E
Students can still view your responses, but if they want to communicate with you further, they must create new questions.
To delete a specific question
To delete all questions
Deleting a Question without Answering
You can delete a student’s question without answering it.
1. Click
Questions
.
The Questions view appears.
2. Select the question, and then click
Delete
.
1. Click
Questions
.
The Questions view appears.
2. Click
Delete All Questions
.
Saving the Question History
The students’ questions and your responses appear in the
History
area of the Questions view. You can save the history as a text (.txt) file.
4 9 | C H A P T E R 5
– A N S W E R I N G Q U E S T I O N S
To save the question history
1. Click
Questions
.
The Questions view appears.
2. Click
Save
.
The
Save As
dialog box appears.
3. Browse to the folder where you want to save the file.
4. Type a name for the file in the
File name
box.
5. Click
Save
.
To clear the question history
Clearing the Question History
You can also remove previous questions and responses by clearing the history.
1. Click
Questions
.
The Questions view appears.
2. Click
Clear History
.
A message appears asking you for confirmation.
3. Click
Yes
.
Chapter 6
Chatting
Enabling and Disabling Student Chat
SMART Sync allows you to chat with your whole class or a specific group. By restricting your comments to a group, you don’t distract students with messages that don’t apply to them. You can also send a private message to selected students.
You can view all chat messages, including the ones between students, in the
History
area of the Chat view. Students can view messages sent to the entire class as well as messages sent to the groups they’re members of.
To chat with students
Chatting with Students
You can chat with students in the Chat view in SMART Sync Teacher.
N O T E
If SMART Sync Student is in Hidden mode, students can’t initiate chat even if you allow it. However, they can respond to chat if you initiate it.
T I P
Use SMART Sync’s announcement feature instead of the chat feature to send a message to selected students (see
1. Click
Chat
.
The Chat view appears.
5 2 | C H A P T E R 6
– C H A T T I N G
2. Click
All Computers
or
All Students
to chat with all students.
OR
Click a group’s tab to chat with only students in the group.
3. Type a message in the
Message
box, and then click
Send
.
Your message appears in the
History
area of the Chat view.
Your message also appears in the equivalent tab of the students’
SMART Sync
Student Chat
dialog box.
N O T E S
o
Each student’s
SMART Sync Student Chat
dialog box has a tab for every group the student is a member of.
o
Students can’t view a group’s chat history if they’re not in that group.
o
If your students haven’t opened their
SMART Sync Student Chat
dialog boxes, tell them to double-click the
SMART Sync
icon in the notification area, and then click
Chat
.
4. Enable student chat (see
Enabling and Disabling Student Chat
N O T E
If you don’t enable student chat, students can’t reply to your message.
When a student creates a new message in the
SMART Sync Student Chat
dialog box, the message appears in SMART Sync Teacher in the
History
area of the
Chat view. If the student sends a message to a specific group, the message appears in SMART Sync Teacher on the equivalent group tab.
5. Continue to add new messages and view your students’ replies.
6. Disable student chat when you’re finished (see
Enabling and Disabling Student
5 3 | C H A P T E R 6
– C H A T T I N G
To save the chat history
Saving the Chat History
During your chat, you can save the chat history as a text file.
N O T E
Only teachers can save the chat history.
T I P
You can also copy the chat history by selecting text and pressing CTRL+C.
1. Click
Chat
.
The Chat view appears.
2. Click the group’s tab with the chat history you want to view and save.
3. Click
Save
.
The
Save As
dialog box appears.
4. Browse to the folder where you want to save the file.
5. Type a name in the
File name
box.
6. Click
Save
.
To clear the chat history
Clearing the Chat History
You can clear chat history for the current group tab.
1. Click
Chat
.
The Chat view appears.
2. Click
All Computers
or
All Students
to clear the chat history for all students.
OR
Click a group’s tab to clear the chat history for only the students in that group.
5 4 | C H A P T E R 6
– C H A T T I N G
3. Click
Clear
.
A message appears asking for confirmation.
4. Click
Yes
.
To enable student chat
Enabling and Disabling Student Chat
You can allows students in either the whole class or a group to chat with each other, even when you’re not contributing to the messages.
T I P
You can enable student chat for one group and disable it for another.
N O T E
If SMART Sync Student is in Hidden mode, students can’t initiate chat even if you allow it. However, they can respond to chat if you initiate it.
1. Click
Chat
.
The Chat view appears.
2. Click
All Computers
or
All Students
to enable chat for all students.
OR
Click a group’s tab to enable chat for only students in the group.
3. Select the
Allow Students to Chat
check box.
To disable student chat
1. Click
Chat
.
The Chat view appears.
2. Click
All Computers
or
All Students
to disable chat for all students.
OR
Click a group’s tab to disable chat for only students in the group.
5 5 | C H A P T E R 6
– C H A T T I N G
3. Clear the
Allow Students to Chat
check box.
N O T E
If you disable student chat, your students can still view the chat history, but can’t add new messages. To prevent students from viewing the chat history, clear it (see
Chapter 7
Sending and Receiving Files
Receiving Files from a Student
Clearing Files from the File List
You can easily send files to your class using SMART Sync and, if SMART Sync was installed on your students’ computers in Visible mode, they can send files to you. The
File Transfer view lists all of the files you send or receive.
N O T E
If you send a file to one student, the file transfer goes very quickly. However, if you send a file to many students at once, the transfer takes longer and students won’t necessarily receive the file at the same time. Transfer speed is affected by: l
The variability of the student computers (for example, a mix of slow and fast computers) l
The amount of other network traffic l
The speed of the network
I M P O R T A N T
Do not share media and send files at the same time.
To send a file
Sending Files to Students
You can use SMART Sync to send files to students.
1. Click
File Transfer
.
The File Transfer view appears.
5 8 | C H A P T E R 7
– S E N D I N G A N D R E C E I V I N G F I L E S
To open a sent file
2. Click
All Computers
or
All Students
to send the file to all students.
OR
Click a group’s tab to send the file to only students in the group.
OR
Select students’ names in the students list to send the file to only those students.
3. Click
Send File
.
The
Send File
dialog box appears.
4. Browse to and select the file you want to send, and then click
Send
.
When the file transfer begins, the file name appears in the
Files Sent
list. When the transfer is complete, the status changes from the percentage transferred to
Complete
.
N O T E S
o
If you want to cancel a file transfer that’s in progress, select the file in the
Files Sent
list, and then click
Cancel
. No portion of the file is transferred and the file is removed from the
Files Sent
list.
o
If you or a student closes SMART Sync while a file transfer is in progress, the transfer is canceled.
1. Click
File Transfer
.
The File Transfer view appears.
2. Click
All Computers
or
All Students
if you sent the file to all students.
OR
Click a group’s tab if you sent the file to only students in the group.
3. Select the file.
4. Click
Open File
.
Receiving Files from a Student
You can use SMART Sync to receive files from students.
5 9 | C H A P T E R 7
– S E N D I N G A N D R E C E I V I N G F I L E S
To check for sent files from students
To open a file
1. Click
File Transfer
.
The File Transfer view appears.
2. Click
All Computers
or
All Students
to check for files sent by all students.
OR
Click a group’s tab to check for files sent by only students in the group.
N O T E
If you close SMART Sync while a file transfer is in progress, the transfer is canceled.
1. Click
File Transfer
.
The File Transfer view appears.
2. Select the file you want to open.
3. Click
Open File
.
To clear a file from the file list
Clearing Files from the File List
You can clear an individual file or all files from the File Transfer view.
N O T E
When you clear a file from the File Transfer view, you’re not deleting the file.
1. Click
File Transfer
.
The File Transfer view appears.
2. Select the file you want to clear.
C A U T I O N
A confirmation message does not appear. Ensure you have selected the correct file before you perform the next step.
3. Click
Clear
.
6 0 | C H A P T E R 7
– S E N D I N G A N D R E C E I V I N G F I L E S
To clear all files (both sent and received)
1. Click
File Transfer
.
The File Transfer view appears.
2. Click
All Computers
or
All Students
.
3. Ensure no files are selected in the file list.
4. Click
Clear
.
A message appears asking for confirmation.
5. Click
Yes
.
Chapter 8
Controlling Access to
Applications
Creating and Using Application Blocking Rules
Creating Application Blocking Rules
Sharing Application Blocking Rules
Activating and Deactivating Application Blocking Rules
Starting and Closing Applications
Starting an Application on Students’ Computers
Closing an Application on Students’ Computers
You can block your students’ access to specific applications using customized application blocking rules.
In addition, you can start and close applications on students’ computers from your computer.
Creating and Using Application Blocking
Rules
You can set up application blocking rules as either: l
A list of restricted applications (which blocks students from opening any application on the list) l
A list of approved applications (which blocks students from opening any application that’s not on the list)
6 2 | C H A P T E R 8
– C O N T R O L L I N G A C C E S S T O A P P L I C A T I O N S
SMART Sync comes with six application blocking rules:
Name Description
Block Internet Explorer Blocks the web browser
Block Windows Games Blocks Windows games, such as Solitaire
Blocks Window Media Player Block Windows Media
Player
Block All Except Internet
Browser
Blocks all applications except the web browser
Block All Except
Microsoft Office
Block All Except
SMART Notebook SE
Blocks all applications except the Microsoft Office applications (Word, Excel®, PowerPoint® and so on)
Blocks all applications except SMART Notebook SE
(This rule is useful if you’re using SMART Sync as part of
SMART Classroom Suite®.)
To create a rule
Creating Application Blocking Rules
You can create application blocking rules in SMART Sync Teacher. Alternatively, you can load rules created by other teachers (see
Sharing Application Blocking Rules
on page 64) or use rules created by an administrator or teacher in SMART Sync
Administrator Tool.
1. Click
Applications
.
The Applications view appears.
2. Click
Add New
.
The
New Application Blocking Rule
dialog box appears.
3. Type a name for the rule in the
Enter Block Rule Name
box.
4. Click
Block the following applications
to allow all applications except those you include in the rule.
OR
Click
Block all except the following applications
to block all applications except those you include in the rule.
6 3 | C H A P T E R 8
– C O N T R O L L I N G A C C E S S T O A P P L I C A T I O N S
To edit a rule
5. Select an application you want to add to the rule in the
List of Applications
, and then click
Add
.
T I P S
o
If you added an application to the rule by accident, you can remove it by selecting it and then clicking
Remove
.
o
An application must be installed on your computer to appear in the
List of Applications
. The exception to this rule is SMART Notebook
SE, which doesn’t need to be installed on your computer to appear in this list.
o
If you want to add an application to the rule that’s not included in the
List of Applications
, click
Browse
, browse to and select the application, and then click
Open
. Select the application from the
List of Applications
, and then click
Add
.
o
If you want to add an application to the rule that’s neither included in the list of applications nor installed on your computer, click
New
App
. Type the product name and the file name, and then click
OK
.
Select the application from the
List of Applications
, and then click
Add
.
6. Repeat step 5 for each application you want to add to the rule.
7. Click
OK
.
1. Click
Applications
.
The Applications view appears.
2. Select the rule.
3. Click
Edit
.
The
Edit Application Block Rule
dialog box appears.
4. Edit the rule’s name in the
Enter Block Rule Name
box.
5. Click
Block the following applications
to allow all applications except those you include in the rule.
OR
Click
Block all except the following applications
to block all applications except those you include in the rule.
6 4 | C H A P T E R 8
– C O N T R O L L I N G A C C E S S T O A P P L I C A T I O N S
To delete a rule
6. Select an application you want to add to the rule in the
List of Applications
, and then click
Add
.
OR
Select an application you want to remove from the rule, and then click
Remove
.
T I P S
o
An application must be installed on your computer to appear in the
List of Applications
. The exception to this rule is SMART Notebook
SE, which doesn’t need to be installed on your computer to appear in this list.
o
If you want to add an application to the rule that’s not included in the
List of Applications
, click
Browse
, browse to and select the application, and then click
Open
. Select the application from the
List of Applications
, and then click
Add
.
o
If you want to add an application to the rule that’s neither included in the list of applications nor installed on your computer, click
New
App
. Type the product name and the file name, and then click
OK
.
Select the application from the
List of Applications
, and then click
Add
.
7. Repeat step 6 for each application you want to add to or remove from the rule.
8. Click
OK
.
1. Click
Applications
.
The Applications view appears.
2. Select the rule.
3. Click
Delete
.
A message appears asking you to confirm the deletion.
4. Click
Yes
.
Sharing Application Blocking Rules
You can save application blocking rules in SYNCRULES files and share those files with other teachers. The other teachers can then load the SYNCRULES file to use your rules in their copies of SMART Sync Teacher. Similarly, you can load SYNCRULES files from other teachers to use their rules.
6 5 | C H A P T E R 8
– C O N T R O L L I N G A C C E S S T O A P P L I C A T I O N S
To save your rules as a
SYNCRULES file
To load a SYNCRULES file
1. Click
Application
.
The Application view appears.
2. Select
Actions > Save Rules
.
The
Save As
dialog box appears.
3. Browse to the location where you want to save the file.
4. Type a name for the file in the
File name
box.
5. Click
Save
.
1. Click
Application
.
The Application view appears.
2. Select
Actions > Load Rules
.
The
Open
dialog box appears.
3. Browse to and select the SYNCRULES file.
4. Click
Open
.
To activate a rule
Activating and Deactivating Application Blocking Rules
After creating or loading an application blocking rule, you can activate it to control students' access to applications.
1. Click
Applications
.
The Applications view appears.
2. Click
All Computers
or
All Students
to activate the rule for all students.
OR
Click a group’s tab to activate the rule for only students in the group.
3. Select the rule.
6 6 | C H A P T E R 8
– C O N T R O L L I N G A C C E S S T O A P P L I C A T I O N S
To deactivate a rule
4. Click
Apply
.
C A U T I O N
o
If you activate a rule that blocks specific applications and allows all others, a message appears asking for confirmation. Click
Block
Applications
. If one of the selected students is running a restricted application, the application closes automatically and any unsaved work is lost. Advise students to save their work before you complete this step. If one of the students tries to open a blocked application, a message appears, advising the student that the application is restricted.
o
If you activate a rule that allows specific applications and blocks all others, the rule activates without asking for confirmation. If one of the selected students is already running a blocked application, the application does not close. If one of the students tries to open a blocked application, a message appears, advising the student that the application is restricted.
The
Application Block
symbol appears beside the selected students in the students list.
1. Click
Applications
.
The Applications view appears.
2. Click
All Computers
or
All Students
to deactivate the rule for all students.
OR
Click a group’s tab to deactivate the rule for only students in the group.
OR
Select students’ names in the students list to deactivate the rule for only those students.
3. Select the rule.
4. Click
Apply
.
6 7 | C H A P T E R 8
– C O N T R O L L I N G A C C E S S T O A P P L I C A T I O N S
To start an application on students’ computers
Starting and Closing Applications
With SMART Sync Teacher, you can remotely start or close an application on every student’s computer with the click of a button.
Starting an Application on Students’ Computers
You can remotely start an application on every student’s computer. For example, you can start an application on every student’s computer before class starts, so everyone sits down to the same program.
1. Click
Applications
.
The Applications view appears.
2. Click
All Computers
or
All Students
to start an application for all students.
OR
Click a group’s tab to start an application for only students in the group.
3. Click
Launch
.
The
Launch Applications
dialog box appears.
4. Select an application, and then click
Launch
.
The application starts on the selected students’ computers: o
If the application starts successfully on all the selected students’ computers, a message appears indicating that the application launched successfully. Click
OK
to clear the message.
o If the application isn't installed on a selected student’s computer, a message appears indicating that the application failed to launch on that student’s computer. Click
OK
to clear the message.
5. Repeat step 4 for each application you want to start on the students’ computers.
6. Click
OK
.
6 8 | C H A P T E R 8
– C O N T R O L L I N G A C C E S S T O A P P L I C A T I O N S
To close an application on students’ computers
Closing an Application on Students’ Computers
You can remotely close an application on every student’s computer.
C A U T I O N
If you remotely close a student’s application, the application closes immediately and any unsaved work is lost. Advise students to save their work before completing the following procedure.
1. Click
Applications
.
The Applications view appears.
2. Click
All Computers
or
All Students
to close an application for all students.
OR
Click a group’s tab to close an application for only students in the group.
3. Click
Close
.
The
Close application remotely
dialog box appears.
4. Select an application, and then click
Close
.
The application closes on the selected students’ computers.
o If the application closes successfully on all the selected students’ computers, a message appears indicating that the application closed successfully. Click
OK
to clear the message.
o
If the application isn't open on a selected student’s computer, a message appears indicating that the application failed to close on that student’s computer. Click
OK
to clear the message.
5. Repeat step 4 for each application you want to close on the students’ computers.
6. Click
OK
.
Chapter 9
Controlling Access to the
Internet
Creating and Using Internet Blocking Rules
Creating Internet Blocking Rules
Sharing Internet Blocking Rules
Activating and Deactivating Internet Blocking Rules
You can control students’ access to the Internet either by blocking access to the entire
Internet or by allowing or blocking access to specific web pages through Internet blocking rules.
Blocking Internet Access
You can block your students’ access to the entire Internet.
N O T E
When a blocked student starts Internet Explorer Internet browser, a message appears indicating that access to the Internet is restricted. When a blocked student starts any other Internet browser, the pointer displays as an hourglass, and a connection timed out message may appear.
To block Internet access
1. Click
All Computers
or
All Students
to apply the block to all students.
OR
Click a group’s tab to apply the block to only students in the group.
2. Click
Internet Block
.
To remove the block
Click
Internet Block
.
7 0 | C H A P T E R 9
– C O N T R O L L I N G A C C E S S T O T H E I N T E R N E T
Creating and Using Internet Blocking Rules
If you don’t want to block your students’ access to the entire Internet, you can still block your students’ access to specific web pages using Internet blocking rules. Each Internet blocking rule consists of either: l
A list of restricted web pages (which blocks students from opening any web page on the list), or l
A list of approved web pages (which blocks students from opening any web page that’s not on the list).
N O T E
SMART Sync comes with a default Internet blocking rule that allows you to block all web pages.
To create a rule
Creating Internet Blocking Rules
You can create Internet blocking rules in SMART Sync Teacher. Alternatively, you can load rules created by other teachers (see
Sharing Internet Blocking Rules
use rules created by an administrator or teacher in SMART Sync Administrator Tool.
1. Click
Internet
.
The Internet view appears.
2. Click
Add New
.
The
Internet Blocking Rule
dialog box appears.
3. Type a name for the rule in the
Rule name
box.
4. Click
Block the following websites
to allow all websites except those you include in the rule.
OR
Click
Block everything except the following websites
to block all websites except those you include in the rule.
7 1 | C H A P T E R 9
– C O N T R O L L I N G A C C E S S T O T H E I N T E R N E T
To edit a rule
To delete a rule
5. Click
Add
, type the address of a website you want to add to the rule in the
Website
box (for example,
www.example.com
), and then click
OK
.
T I P
If you added a website to the rule by accident, you can remove it by selecting it and then clicking
Remove
.
6. Repeat step 5 for each website you want to add to the rule.
7. Click
OK
.
1. Click
Internet
.
The Internet view appears.
2. Select the rule.
3. Click
Edit
.
The
Internet Blocking Rule
dialog box appears.
4. Edit the rule’s name in the
Rule name
box.
5. Click
Block the following websites
to allow all websites except those you include in the rule.
OR
Click
Block everything except the following websites
to block all websites except those you include in the rule.
6. Click
Add
, type the address of a website you want to add to the rule in the
Website
box (for example,
www.example.com
), and then click
OK
.
OR
Select a website you want to remove from the rule, and then click
Remove
.
7. Repeat step 6 for each website you want to add to or remove from the rule.
8. Click
OK
.
1. Click
Internet
.
The Internet view appears.
2. Select the rule.
3. Click
Delete
.
7 2 | C H A P T E R 9
– C O N T R O L L I N G A C C E S S T O T H E I N T E R N E T
To save your rules as a
SYNCRULES file
Sharing Internet Blocking Rules
You can save Internet blocking rules in SYNCRULES files and share those files with other teachers. The other teachers can then load the SYNCRULES file to use your rules in their copies of SMART Sync Teacher. Similarly, you can load SYNCRULES files from other teachers to use their rules.
1. Click
Internet
.
The Internet view appears.
2. Select
Actions > Save Rules
.
The
Save As
dialog box appears.
3. Browse to the location where you want to save the file.
4. Type a name for the file in the
File name
box.
5. Click
Save
.
To load a SYNCRULES file
1. Click
Internet
.
The Internet view appears.
2. Select
Actions > Load Rules
.
The
Open
dialog box appears.
3. Browse to and select the SYNCRULES file.
4. Click
Open
.
To activate a rule
Activating and Deactivating Internet Blocking Rules
After creating or loading an Internet blocking rule, you can activate it to control students’ access to the Internet.
1. Click
Internet
.
The Internet view appears.
2. Click
All Computers
or
All Students
to activate the rule for all students.
OR
Click a group’s tab to activate the rule for only students in the group.
7 3 | C H A P T E R 9
– C O N T R O L L I N G A C C E S S T O T H E I N T E R N E T
To deactivate a rule
3. Select the rule.
4. Click
Apply
.
The
Internet Block
symbol appears beside the selected students in the students list.
1. Click
Internet
.
The Internet view appears.
2. Click
All Computers
or
All Students
to deactivate the rule for all students.
OR
Click a group’s tab to deactivate the rule for only students in the group.
OR
Select students’ names in the students list to deactivate the rule for only those students.
3. Select the rule.
4. Click
Apply
.
Chapter 10
Working with Other
Teachers and Teacher Aides
Responding to a Teacher Aide’s Request to Join
Joining a Class as a Teacher Aide
As the teacher, you can use SMART Sync to monitor, communicate with and control your class. You can also allow colleagues limited access to SMART Sync so that they can monitor your class. SMART Sync refers to these additional teachers as teacher aides. They can access the thumbnail view and monitor the whole class, a group or an individual student. However, teacher aides can monitor your class only if you permit it.
You have total control over who can access your class.
At any time, you can view which teacher aides have joined your class. You can also withdraw a teacher aide’s access to your class.
Controlling Teacher Aides
You can allow up to five teacher aides at a time.
Teacher aides can monitor classes, groups and students, but they can’t use the more advanced features of SMART Sync, such as taking control of a student’s desktop, locking out students, blocking applications and Internet access, and so on.
Allowing Teacher Aides
If you think you might accept a join request from a teacher aide, select
Options > Allow
Teacher Aides
. This activates the teacher aides feature, but you can still prevent specific teacher aides from joining your class by declining their request to join (see
Responding to a Teacher Aide’s Request to Join
7 6 | C H A P T E R 1 0
– W O R K I N G W I T H O T H E R T E A C H E R S A N D T E A C H E R
A I D E S
If you don’t want any teacher aides to join your class, clear
Options > Allow Teacher
Aides
. If a teacher aide tries to join your class while your settings don’t allow teacher aides, the teacher aide receives a message advising them they can’t join your class.
Responding to a Teacher Aide’s Request to Join
If a teacher aide tries to join your class and your
Allow Teacher Aides
option is selected (see
Teacher Aide Join Request
dialog box appears.
l
To allow the teacher aide to join your class, click
Allow
. The Thumbnails view for your class appears on the teacher aide’s screen.
l
To prevent the teacher aide from joining your class, click
Decline
. If you decline a teacher aide’s join request, the teacher aide receives a message advising them that the request was declined.
You can view which teacher aides have joined your class and, if you want, disconnect a teacher aide from your class (see
To disconnect a teacher aide
Disconnecting Teacher Aides
You can allow colleagues limited access to SMART Sync so they can monitor your class. SMART Sync refers to these additional teachers as teacher aides. However, teacher aides can monitor your class only if you permit it.
You can view which teacher aides have joined your class and disconnect a teacher aide.
1. Select
Connection > View Connected Teacher’s Aide
.
The
View Teacher Aides
dialog box appears.
2. Select the teacher aide and click
Disconnect
.
3. Click
OK
.
Joining a Class as a Teacher Aide
You can join another teacher’s class and monitor the desktops of all the students, of a group or of an individual student in that teacher’s class. SMART Sync refers to additional teachers as teacher aides.
7 7 | C H A P T E R 1 0
– W O R K I N G W I T H O T H E R T E A C H E R S A N D T E A C H E R
A I D E S
To join a class as a teacher aide
As a teacher aide, you can access the Thumbnails view and monitor students. However, you can’t use the more advanced features of SMART Sync, such as taking control of a student’s desktop, locking out students, blocking applications, and so on.
To join a class as a teacher aide, you must request and receive permission from the teacher. If the teacher hasn’t selected the
Allow Teacher Aides
option (see
on page 75), a message appears that advises you that you can’t join this
class.
N O T E
You must install SMART Sync on your computer to observe a class as a teacher aide. However, you don’t require an additional license for this installation.
You can leave a class at any time.
1. Select
Connection > Teacher’s Aide > Join a class
.
The
Join a Teacher’s Class
dialog box appears.
2. Select the
Teacher ID
for the class you want to join.
OR
Select
Connect via host name or IP address box
, enter the host name or IP address, and then click
Join
.
The
Teacher Aide Join Request
dialog box appears on the teacher’s desktop. This dialog box informs the teacher that you want to join their class and gives them the option to accept or decline your request.
If the teacher declines, a message appears that advises you that your request was declined.
OR
If the teacher accepts, you join the class as a teacher aide. The Thumbnails view for the class appears on your desktop.
N O T E S
o
If the teacher allows you access to his or her class, he or she can disconnect you from the class.
o
You may still not be able to view the class if the teacher has set an authentication password on the class.
7 8 | C H A P T E R 1 0
– W O R K I N G W I T H O T H E R T E A C H E R S A N D T E A C H E R
A I D E S
To leave a class
Select
Connection > Teacher’s Aide > Disconnect from class
.
Chapter 11
Configuring SMART Sync
Teacher
Setting the SMART School File Location
Setting the Optimization Preferences
Setting the Control Preferences
Setting the Broadcast Preferences
Setting the Digital Ink’s Appearance
Setting the File Transfer Preferences
Setting a User Authentication Password
Setting the Advanced Preferences
Setting the Advanced Preferences
Setting the Logging Preferences
You can customize the following features for the current teacher: l
Language l
SMART School file location l
Lock-out message l
Optimization preferences l
Control preferences l
Broadcast preferences l
Digital ink’s appearance l
File transfer preferences l
User authentication password
8 0 | C H A P T E R 1 1
– C O N F I G U R I N G S M A R T S Y N C T E A C H E R l
Advanced preferences (including thumbnail frame rate, multicast, unicast, screen capture and network adapter settings) l
Logging
Setting the Language
SMART Sync supports the following languages: l
English l
Arabic l
Chinese (Simplified) l
Czech l
Danish l
Dutch l
Finnish l
French l
German l
Greek l
Hungarian l
Italian l
Norwegian l
Portuguese (Brazil) l
Portuguese (Portugal) l
Russian l
Turkish l
Spanish (International) l
Spanish (Mexico) l
Swedish
You can change the SMART Sync Teacher user interface to any of these languages by completing the following procedure.
8 1 | C H A P T E R 1 1
– C O N F I G U R I N G S M A R T S Y N C T E A C H E R
To set the language
To download and install languages from the
Internet
To install languages from the SMART Sync CD
1. Select
Options > Language Setup
.
The
Language Setup
dialog box appears.
2. Select
All Listed Applications
to set the language for all SMART programs on your computer.
OR
Select
SMART Sync Teacher
to set the language for only SMART Sync
Teacher.
3. Select the appropriate language in the
Language
drop-down list, and then click
OK
.
1. Select
Options > Language Setup
.
The
Language Setup
dialog box appears.
2. Click
Update Languages
.
3. Select the language or languages you want to update, and then click
Check for
Updates
.
Your computer downloads the files. SMART Sync Teacher automatically installs the files, and then a message appears.
4. Click
OK
.
1. Insert the CD into your computer.
2. Double-click
Install additional languages
.
3. Select the language or languages you want, and then click
Add
.
4. Click
OK
.
SMART Sync Teacher installs the language files, and then a message appears.
5. Click
OK
.
8 2 | C H A P T E R 1 1
– C O N F I G U R I N G S M A R T S Y N C T E A C H E R
To set the SMART School file location
Setting the SMART School File Location
A SMART School file contains information about students, teachers, classes and computer labs in your school as well as rules you can apply to block student access to applications and websites. If you or your system administrator specify the location of a
SMART School file, you can use this information from the file rather than having to enter it manually in SMART Sync.
When your system administrator first installs SMART Sync Teacher, he or she can specify the location of the SMART School file (see document 129773 ). If your system administrator didn’t specify the location of the SMART School file during installation or if you need to change it afterwards, you can do so in SMART Sync Teacher.
1. Select
Options > Preferences
.
The
Preferences
dialog box appears.
2. Click the
General
tab.
3. Click
Browse
.
The
Open
dialog box appears.
4. Browse to and select the SMART School file, and then click
Open
.
The
Open
dialog box closes, and the path to the SMART School file appears in the
School File Location
box.
5. Click
OK
.
6. Close and restart SMART Sync Teacher.
The next time you start SMART Sync Teacher, the
Welcome to SMART Sync –
Teacher and Class Selection
dialog box will include teachers and classes from the
SMART School file.
N O T E
(Administered)
appears beside classes from the SMART School file in the
Welcome to SMART Sync – Teacher and Class Selection
dialog box.
8 3 | C H A P T E R 1 1
– C O N F I G U R I N G S M A R T S Y N C T E A C H E R
To set the lock-out message
Setting the Lock-Out Message
You can get your students’ attention by locking students’ desktops and presenting them with a simple message (see
message is “Eyes to the front, please”, but you can change this message.
1. Select
Options > Preferences
.
The
Preferences
dialog box appears.
2. Click the
Lock Screen
tab.
3. Type a message in the
Lock-out message
box.
4. Click the button next to
Text
, select a color, and then click
OK
to change the text color.
5. Click the button next to
Background
, select a color, and then click
OK
to change the background color.
6. Click
OK
.
To return the lock-out message to its default settings
1. Select
Options > Preferences
.
The
Preferences
dialog box appears.
2. Click the
Lock Screen
tab.
3. Click
Defaults
.
4. Click
OK
.
8 4 | C H A P T E R 1 1
– C O N F I G U R I N G S M A R T S Y N C T E A C H E R
To adjust the optimal image quality and frame rate
To use the highest possible image quality and frame rate
Setting the Optimization Preferences
When you observe, control or broadcast a student’s desktop, SMART Sync displays the student’s desktop on your screen at a specific image quality and frame rate for optimal network performance. You can adjust the image quality and frame rate for your network:
2
3
4
5
Level
1 (recommended)
Description
Decreases frame rate to 4 seconds per frame (if needed) without affecting image quality
Decreases frame rate, and then decreases image quality
Decreases frame rate and image quality evenly
Decrease image quality, and then decreases frame rate
Decreases image quality to 50% (if needed) without affecting frame rate
Alternatively, you can choose to display the student’s desktop as the highest possible image quality and frame rate.
1. Select
Options > Preferences
.
The
Preferences
dialog box appears.
2. Click the
Optimization
tab.
3. Select the
Optimize network performance during Observe, Control, and
Broadcast
check box.
4. Move the slider left to increase image quality while reducing the frame rate.
OR
Move the slider right to decrease image quality while increasing the frame rate.
5. Click
OK
.
1. Select
Options > Preferences
.
The
Preferences
dialog box appears.
2. Click the
Optimization
tab.
3. Clear the
Optimize network performance during Observe, Control, and
Broadcast
check box.
4. Click
OK
.
8 5 | C H A P T E R 1 1
– C O N F I G U R I N G S M A R T S Y N C T E A C H E R
To return the optimization preferences to their default settings
1. Select
Options > Preferences
.
The
Preferences
dialog box appears.
2. Click the
Optimization
tab.
3. Click
Defaults
.
4. Click
OK
.
To share control of a student’s desktop
To not share control of a student’s desktop
Setting the Control Preferences
By default, you have sole control of the student’s desktop. However, you can share control with the student. If you share control, both you and the student can control the student’s desktop. However, if both of you are trying to control the desktop at the same time, your actions take precedence over the student’s.
N O T E S
l
If you make a change the control preferences while you’re already controlling a student’s desktop, the change takes effect immediately. For example, if you have sole control of a student’s desktop and you change the setting to
Shared
, you immediately share control of the student’s desktop with the student.
l
If you take control of a student’s computer and it’s running the Windows
Vista operating system, the control of the computer is always shared regardless of how you set the control preferences. When both you and the student try to control the computer, the student’s actions take precedence.
1. Select
Options > Preferences
.
The
Preferences
dialog box appears.
2. Click the
Control
tab.
3. Click
Shared
.
4. Click
OK
.
1. Select
Options > Preferences
.
The
Preferences
dialog box appears.
8 6 | C H A P T E R 1 1
– C O N F I G U R I N G S M A R T S Y N C T E A C H E R
To return the control preferences to their default settings
2. Click the
Control
tab.
3. Click
Teacher-only
.
4. Click
OK
.
1. Select
Options > Preferences
.
The
Preferences
dialog box appears.
2. Click the
Control
tab.
3. Click
Defaults
.
4. Click
OK
.
To set preferences for when you broadcast your desktop
Setting the Broadcast Preferences
You can determine how your desktop appears on students’ screens and who controls the mouse and keyboard of a student’s desktop during broadcasting.
1. Select
Options > Preferences
.
The
Preferences
dialog box appears.
2. Click the
Broadcast
tab.
3. Click
Full Screen
to broadcast your desktop in Full Screen mode by default.
OR
Click
Window
to broadcast your desktop in Window mode by default.
T I P
Full screen mode is best if you don’t want students to view other applications while you broadcast your desktop.
4. Select the
Zoom the window to best fit
check box to resize the broadcasted desktop to best fit students’ screens.
5. Click
OK
.
To set preferences for when you broadcast a student’s desktop
1. Select
Options > Preferences
.
The
Preferences
dialog box appears.
2. Click the
Broadcast
tab.
8 7 | C H A P T E R 1 1
– C O N F I G U R I N G S M A R T S Y N C T E A C H E R
To return the broadcast preferences to their default settings
3. Click
Teacher-only
if you want exclusive control of the mouse or keyboard during the broadcast.
OR
Click
Student-only
if you want the student to have exclusive control of the mouse or keyboard during the broadcast.
OR
Click
Shared
to share control of the mouse and keyboard during the broadcast.
(Your actions take precedence over the student’s.)
N O T E
If you broacast a student’s computer and it’s running the Windows Vista operating system, the control of the computer is always shared regardless of how you set the broadcast preferences. When both you and the student try to control the computer, the student’s actions take precedence.
4. Click
OK
.
1. Select
Options > Preferences
.
The
Preferences
dialog box appears.
2. Click the
Broadcast
tab.
3. Click
Defaults
.
4. Click
OK
.
To set the digital ink’s appearance
Setting the Digital Ink’s Appearance
You can change the width, color and transparency of the digital ink.
N O T E
If you’re working on a SMART Board interactive whiteboard, you can write notes using a pen tray pen. You can change the appearance of the digital ink using the options in SMART Notebook software.
1. Select
Options > Preferences
.
The
Preferences
dialog box appears.
8 8 | C H A P T E R 1 1
– C O N F I G U R I N G S M A R T S Y N C T E A C H E R
To return the digital ink to its default settings
2. Click the
Annotation Pen
tab.
3. Type a width value between 1 and 32 pixels in the
Width
box.
4. Click the
Color
box, select a color, and then click
OK
.
5. Select the
Highlighter
check box to make the digital ink more transparent.
6. Click
OK
.
1. Select
Options > Preferences
.
The
Preferences
dialog box appears.
2. Click the
Annotation Pen
tab.
3. Click
Defaults
.
4. Click
OK
.
To set the file transfer preferences
Setting the File Transfer Preferences
You can set preferences to customize the behavior of sent and received files. You can use preferences to: l
Open sent files automatically l
Change the file location of received files l
Change the organization of received files
1. Select
Options > Preferences
.
The
Preferences
dialog box appears.
2. Click the
File Transfer
tab.
3. If you want the files that you send to open automatically, select the
Automatically open files on student’s computers
check box. Otherwise, clear this check box.
4. If you want to change the default file location of received files, click
Custom folder
. Click
Browse
, navigate to and select the folder you want, and then click
OK
.
5. If you want to organize received files by date, select the
Organize the stored files by their submission date
check box.
6. Click
OK
.
8 9 | C H A P T E R 1 1
– C O N F I G U R I N G S M A R T S Y N C T E A C H E R
To return the file transfer preferences to their default settings
1. Select
Options > Preferences
.
The
Preferences
dialog box appears.
2. Click the
File Transfer
tab.
3. Click
Defaults
.
4. Click
OK
.
To create a user authentication password on the teacher’s computer
To change a user authentication password on the teacher’s computer
Setting a User Authentication Password
You can enable password protection on the connections between the teacher and the students. To enable password protection: l
On the teacher’s computer, set the password using the SMART Sync Teacher preferences.
l
On the student’s computer, set the password using the SMART Sync Student
Configuration Tool (see document 129773 ).
If you set a password on a student’s computer, the student can connect only to a teacher who has the same password.
N O T E
If a student has no password, the student can connect to any teacher.
1. Select
Options > Preferences
.
The
Preferences
dialog box appears.
2. Click the
Security
tab.
3. Select the
Use password
check box.
The
Create Password
dialog box appears.
4. Type the password.
5. Type the password again to confirm it.
6. Click
OK
.
1. Select
Options > Preferences
.
The
Preferences
dialog box appears.
9 0 | C H A P T E R 1 1
– C O N F I G U R I N G S M A R T S Y N C T E A C H E R
To remove a user authentication password on the teacher’s computer
2. Click the
Security
tab.
3. Select the
Use password
check box.
The
Change Password
dialog box appears.
4. Type the old password.
5. Type the new password.
6. Type the new password again to confirm it.
7. Click
OK
.
1. Select
Options > Preferences
.
The
Preferences
dialog box appears.
2. Click the
Security
tab.
3. Clear the
Use password
check box.
The
Change Password
dialog box appears.
4. Type the old password.
5. Click
OK
.
To set the thumbnail frame rate
Setting the Advanced Preferences
In the
Advanced
tab of the
Preference
dialog box, you can set advanced preferences and select network adapters.
Setting the Advanced Preferences
You can set advanced preferences such as the thumbnails frame rate, multicast, unicast and screen capture settings.
I M P O R T A N T
Do not change the advanced preferences unless you are instructed to by SMART
Support or if you’re familiar with these settings.
1. Select
Options > Preferences
.
The
Preferences
dialog box appears.
2. Click the
Advanced
tab.
9 1 | C H A P T E R 1 1
– C O N F I G U R I N G S M A R T S Y N C T E A C H E R
To set network preferences
3. Type your preferred thumbnail frame rate in the
Thumbnail frame rate
box.
N O T E S
o
The default thumbnail frame rate is 5,000 milliseconds per frame.
o
Increasing this value improves performance but results in a slower thumbnail frame rate.
1. Select
Options > Preferences
.
The
Preferences
dialog box appears.
2. Click the
Advanced
tab.
3. Select one of the following values from the
Transport mode
drop-down list: o
Automatic
to allow SMART Sync to select the best transport mode for your network o
Unicast
to use unicasting as the transport mode o
Multicast
to use IP multicasting as the transport mode
N O T E
SMART recommends the
Automatic
option.
4. Optionally, type a TTL value for IP multicasting in the
Multicast TTL
box.
By default, SMART Sync multicast packets are sent with a TTL value of 1, which prevents them from being forwarded beyond a single subnetwork. Multicast datagrams with a TTL of greater than 1 can deliver to more than one subnetwork (if there are one or more multicast routers attached to the first-hop subnetwork).
Typical TTL thresholds are:
TTL Threshold
1
15
63
127
191
255
Scope
Restricted to the same subnetwork
Restricted to the same site
Restricted to the same region
Worldwide
Worldwide; limited bandwidth
Unrestricted scope
5. Optionally, type the millisecond-per-chunk for TCP traffic in the
TCP delay
box.
9 2 | C H A P T E R 1 1
– C O N F I G U R I N G S M A R T S Y N C T E A C H E R
To set screen capture preferences
6. Optionally, type the size of chunks in kilobytes for TCP traffic in the
TCP chunk size
box.
I M P O R T A N T
Increasing the chunk size while reducing the milliseconds per chunk increases the rate that SMART Sync attempts to send TCP traffic. If you are having trouble with Collaboration file transfer or the Observe function, consider increasing the milliseconds per chunk to improve reliability (at the cost of performance). The default values in the TCP delay and TCP chunk size boxes are sufficient for most network conditions and you should only change them with the guidance of SMART Technical Support.
1. Select
Options > Preferences
.
The
Preferences
dialog box appears.
2. Click the
Advanced
tab.
3. Optionally, select the
Use Redraw Hooks DLL
check box. This option improves
SMART Sync’s screen capture performance.
4. Optionally, select the
Use Mirror Driver
check box. This option improves
SMART Sync’s screen capture performance.
I M P O R T A N T
If you experience capture problems, clear the
Use Mirror Driver
check box, as it is not suitable for all systems. If you continue to experience capture problems, clear the
Use Redraw Hooks DLL
check box, as this option does not work well with some special applications. Disabling these options increases the time required to capture screen images but does not affect any other aspect of SMART Sync.
5. Optionally, select the
Hide desktop background
check box. If you select this option, the desktop background isn’t included when you observe, control or broadcast a student’s desktop.
6. Optionally, select the
Hide window content while dragging and resizing
check box.
7. Click
OK
.
9 3 | C H A P T E R 1 1
– C O N F I G U R I N G S M A R T S Y N C T E A C H E R
To return the advanced preferences to their default settings
1. Select
Options > Preferences
.
The
Preferences
dialog box appears.
2. Click the
Advanced
tab.
3. Click
Defaults
.
4. Click
OK
.
To allow the operating system to select the network adapter
To specify the selection order of the available network adapters
Selecting Network Adapters
If your computer has multiple network adapters, SMART Sync uses the network adapter selected by the operating system. However, you can specify the order in which the operating system will try using the network adapters. If your computer has more than one network adapter, the
Choose Network Adapter
button appears in the
Advanced
tab of the
Preferences
dialog box.
1. Select
Options > Preferences
.
The
Preferences
dialog box appears.
2. Click the
Advanced
tab.
3. Click
Choose Network Adapter
.
The
Preferences: Network Adapter Selection
dialog box appears.
4. Click
Use the default order of network adapters
, and then click
OK
.
1. Select
Options > Preferences
.
The
Preferences
dialog box appears.
2. Click the
Advanced
tab.
3. Click
Choose Network Adapter
.
The
Preferences: Network Adapter Selection
dialog box appears.
4. Click
Use the network adapters in the order specified below
.
5. Select a network adapter, and then click the up and down arrows to change its position in the list.
9 4 | C H A P T E R 1 1
– C O N F I G U R I N G S M A R T S Y N C T E A C H E R
6. Move the other network adapters in this way until the network adapters are listed in the order in which you would like your computer to try them, with your preferred choice listed first.
7. Click
OK
.
N O T E
You can also specify a selection order for a student computer’s network adapters, either when you install SMART Sync on the student’s computer or if you reconfigure the installation options.
8. Click
OK
.
Setting the Logging Preferences
You can control the generation of system logs. SMART Technical Support uses these logs to review software processes. These logs are helpful in tracking unexpected behavior. By default, logging is turned off so that it doesn’t affect the speed and efficiency of your computer.
I M P O R T A N T
Activate logging
only
if you’re advised to by SMART Support.
Appendix A
Customer Support
Online Information and Support
Visit www.smarttech.com/support to view and download user’s guides, how-to and troubleshooting articles, software and more.
Training
Visit www.smarttech.com/trainingcenter for training materials and information about our training services.
Technical Support
If you experience difficulty with your SMART product, please contact your local reseller before contacting SMART Technical Support. Your local reseller can resolve most issues without delay.
N O T E
To locate your local reseller, visit www.smarttech.com/where .
All SMART products include online, telephone, fax and e-mail support:
Online
Telephone
Fax
E-mail www.smarttech.com/contactsupport
+1.403.228.5940 or
Toll Free 1.866.518.6791 (U.S./Canada)
(Monday to Friday, 5 a.m. – 6 p.m. Mountain Time)
+1.403.806.1256
9 6 | A P P E N D I X A
– C U S T O M E R S U P P O R T
General Inquires
Address SMART Technologies
3636 Research Road NW
Calgary, AB T2L 1Y1
CANADA
Switchboard
Fax
+1.403.228.5940 or
Toll Free 1.866.518.6791 (U.S./Canada)
+1.403.228.2500
Registration
To help us serve you, register online at www.smarttech.com/registration .
Toll Free 1.866.518.6791 (U.S./Canada) or +1.403.228.5940
www.smarttech.com
Download
Advertisement