Navicat 12 Database Administration tool User Guide
Reklam
Reklam
Table of Contents
Databases / Attached Databases Settings
1
SQL Builder (Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
Code Snippets (Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
Debug Oracle Query (Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
Chapter 8 - Model (Available only in Navicat Premium and Enterprise Edition)
2
Chapter 9 - Debugger (Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
Chapter 10 - Data Migration Tools
Choose Delimiter (Step 3) - TXT, CSV, XML
Choose Additional Options (Step 4) - TXT, CSV, XML, Excel, HTML
Adjust Field Structures and Map Fields (Step 6)
Save and Start Import (Step 8)
Choose Columns for Export (Step 3)
Choose Additional Options (Step 4)
Save and Start Export (Step 5)
3
Data Transfer (Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
Choose Connections & Advanced Options (Step 1)
Choose Objects & Start Data Transfer (Step 2)
Data Synchronization (Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
Choose Connections, Mapping & Comparing Options (Step 1)
View Data Comparison Results (Step 2)
Edit & Execute Selected Scripts (Step 3)
Structure Synchronization (Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
About Structure Synchronization
Choose Connections & Comparing Options (Step 1)
View Structure Comparison Results (Step 2)
Edit & Execute Selected Scripts (Step 3)
Chapter 11 - Automation (Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
Chapter 12 - Backup & Restore (Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
Build-in Backup & Restore Tool
About Build-in Backup & Restore Tool
About SQL Server Backup & Restore
Chapter 13 - Report (Available only in Navicat Premium and Enterprise Edition)
4
PostgreSQL User, Group & Role Management
SQL Server Login, Role & user Management
Chapter 15 - Other Advanced Tools
Server Monitor (Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
Virtual Grouping (Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
Find In Database/Schema (Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
Print Structure (Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
Favorites (Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
File Association (Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
5
Chapter 17 - Commands (Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
6
Chapter 1 - Introduction
About Navicat
Navicat is a multi-connections Database Administration tool allowing you to connect to MySQL, Oracle, PostgreSQL,
SQLite, SQL Server and/or MariaDB databases, making database administration to multiple kinds of database so easy.
It also can manage cloud databases such as Amazon Redshift, Amazon RDS. Features in Navicat are sophisticated enough to provide professional developers for all their specific needs, yet easy to learn for users who are new to database server. With its well-designed Graphical User Interface(GUI), Navicat lets you quickly and easily create, organize, access and share information in a secure and easy way.
Navicat is available on three platforms - Microsoft Windows, macOS and Linux. It can connect to local/remote servers, providing several utility tools such as Navicat Cloud Collaboration, Data Modeling, Data Transfer, Data/Structure
Synchronization, Import/Export, Backup/Restore, Report Building and Automation.
For details, visit our website: https://www.navicat.com
System Requirements
Windows
Microsoft Windows Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows 8.1, Windows 10, Server 2008, Server 2008 R2,
Server 2012, Server 2016
macOS
Mac OS X 10.10 Yosemite, Mac OS X 10.11 El Capitan, macOS 10.12 Sierra, macOS 10.13 High Sierra
Linux
Ubuntu 12.04, Ubuntu 14.04, CentOS 6.7, CentOS 7, Fedora 22, Fedora 23, Linux Mint 13, Linux Mint 17.3, openSUSE 13.2, openSUSE 42.1
Supported On-Premises Databases
MySQL 3.23 or above, Drizzle, OurDelta, Percona Server
PostgreSQL 7.3 or above
Oracle 8i or above
SQLite 2 and 3
SQL Server 2000 or above
MariaDB 5.1 or above
Supported Cloud Databases
7
Amazon AWS
Amazon Redshift
Amazon Aurora for MySQL
Amazon Aurora for PostgreSQL
Amazon RDS for MySQL
Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL
Amazon RDS for Oracle
Amazon RDS for SQL Server
Amazon RDS for MariaDB
Google Cloud
Google Cloud SQL for MySQL
Google Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL
Oracle Cloud
Oracle Database Cloud Service
Oracle MySQL Cloud Service
Microsoft Azure
Microsoft Azure SQL Database
Installation
We strongly suggest that you shut down any opened applications. This will help ensure a smooth installation.
Note: Installing Navicat does not include the server installation. You should download and install the server manually.
For user who has been trying our unregistered version, just simply key in the Registration Key (16 digit) on the pop up
Registration screen.
Installation for Download Version
1. Download Navicat Windows version.
2. Open the .exe file.
3. Click Next at the Welcome Screen.
8
4. Read the License Agreement. Accept it and click Next.
5. Accept the location of the program icons by clicking Next. If you wish to change the destination of the folder, click Browse.
6. Follow the remaining steps.
7. After installed, key in the Registration Key (16 digit) on the pop-up Registration screen and click Activate to online activate the key.
Installation for CD Version
1. Load the Navicat CD Installation disk into the CD-ROM drive.
2. Open the .exe file.
3. Click Next at the Welcome Screen.
4. Read the License Agreement. Accept it and click Next.
5. Accept the location of the program icons by clicking Next. If you wish to change the destination of the folder, click Browse.
6. Follow the remaining steps.
7. After installed, key in the Registration Key (16 digit) on the pop-up Registration screen and click Activate to online activate the key.
Migrate Navicat to new computer
1. In Navicat, choose File -> Export Connections. The exported file (.ncx) contains all your connection settings.
2. Backup the exported file (.ncx).
3. In Navicat, choose Help -> Registration and click Deactivate to online deactivate the key.
4. Uninstall Navicat from the existing computer.
5. Re-install Navicat in the new computer.
6. Open Navicat and choose File -> Import Connections in the new computer.
stored within this subfolder. To look for the path, right-click the connection and choose Edit Connection -> Advanced
-> Settings Location.
Moreover, all your saved profiles are stored under
profiles . To look for the path, choose Tools -> Options ->
Miscellaneous -> Profiles Location.
9
Upgrade Navicat
If you want to upgrade an installed copy of Navicat to the latest release, please choose Help -> Check For Updates to start the Updater. It will automatically check your installed version. If there is a new version, simply follow the steps in the Updater to upgrade your Navicat. It will replace your previous Navicat and your current settings will remain unchanged.
Or, you can submit your registered email address on the Customer Center to download the latest version installer.
End-User License Agreement
Note: For the License Agreement of Navicat Cloud service, please click here .
IMPORTANT: THIS SOFTWARE END USER LICENSE AGREEMENT ("EULA") IS A LEGAL AGREEMENT
BETWEEN YOU (EITHER AN INDIVIDUAL OR, IF PURCHASED OR OTHERWISE ACQUIRED BY OR FOR AN
ENTITY, AN ENTITY) AND PREMIUMSOFT CYBERTECH LTD..READ IT CAREFULLY BEFORE COMPLETING THE
INSTALLATION PROCESS AND USING THE SOFTWARE. IT PROVIDES A LICENSE TO USE THE SOFTWARE
AND CONTAINS WARRANTY INFORMATION AND LIABILITY DISCLAIMERS. BY INSTALLING AND USING THE
SOFTWARE, YOU ARE CONFIRMING YOUR ACCEPTANCE OF THE SOFTWARE AND AGREEING TO BECOME
BOUND BY THE TERMS OF THIS AGREEMENT. IF YOU DO NOT AGREE TO BE BOUND BY THESE TERMS,
THEN DO NOT INSTALL THE SOFTWARE AND RETURN THE SOFTWARE TO YOUR PLACE OF PURCHASE.
THIS EULA SHALL APPLY ONLY TO THE SOFTWARE SUPPLIED BY PREMIUMSOFT CYBERTECH LTD.
HEREWITH REGARDLESS OF WHETHER OTHER SOFTWARE IS REFERRED TO OR DESCRIBED HEREIN.
1. Definitions a. "Non-commercial Version" means a version of the Software, so identified, for use by i) the individual who is a natural person and not a corporation, company, partnership or association or other entity or organization (ii) the individual who is a student, faculty or staff member at an educational institution, and (iii) staff of a non-profit organization or charity organization only. For purposes of this definition, "educational institution" means a public or private school, college, university and other post secondary educational establishment. A non-profit organization is an organization whose primary objective is to support an issue or matter of private interest or public concern for non-commercial purposes. b. "Not For Resale (NFR) Version" means a version, so identified, of the Software to be used to review and evaluate the Software, only. c. "PremiumSoft" means PREMIUMSOFT CYBERTECH LTD. and its licensors, if any. d. "Software" means only the PremiumSoft software program(s) and third party software programs, in each case, supplied by PremiumSoft herewith, and corresponding documentation, associated media, printed materials, and online or electronic documentation. e. "Unregistered version", "Trial version" or "Demo version" means an unregistered copy of the SOFTWARE
("UNREGISTERED SOFTWARE") which may be used by the USER for evaluation purposes for a period of fourteen (14) days following the initial installation of the UNREGISTERED SOFTWARE. At the end of the trial
10
period ("TRIAL PERIOD"), the USER must either register the SOFTWARE or remove it from his system. The
UNREGISTERED SOFTWARE may be freely copied and distributed to other users for their evaluation. f. "Navicat Essentials" means a version of the Software, so identified, to be used for commercial purpose.
2. License Grants
The licenses granted in this Section 2 are subject to the terms and conditions set forth in this EULA: a. Subject to Section 2(b), you may install and use the Software on a single computer; OR install and store the
Software on a storage device, such as a network server, used only to install the Software on your other computers over an internal network, provided you have a license for each separate computer on which the
Software is installed and run. Except as otherwise provided in Section 2(b), a license for the Software may not be shared, installed or used concurrently on different computers. b. In addition to the single copy of the Software permitted in Section 2(a), the primary user of the computer on which the Software is installed may make a second copy of the Software and install it on either a portable computer or a computer located at his or her home for his or her exclusive use, provided that:
A. the second copy of the Software on the portable or home computer (i) is not used at the same time as the copy of the Software on the primary computer and (ii) is used by the primary user solely as allowed for such version or edition (such as for educational use only),
B. the second copy of the Software is not installed or used after the time such user is no longer the primary user of the primary computer on which the Software is installed. c. In the event the Software is distributed along with other PremiumSoft software products as part of a suite of products (collectively, the "Studio"), the license of the Studio is licensed as a single product and none of the products in the Studio, including the Software, may be separated for installation or use on more than one computer. d. You may make one copy of the Software in machine-readable form solely for backup purposes. You must reproduce on any such copy all copyright notices and any other proprietary legends on the original copy of the
Software. You may not sell or transfer any copy of the Software made for backup purposes. e. You agree that PremiumSoft may audit your use of the Software for compliance with these terms at any time, upon reasonable notice. In the event that such audit reveals any use of the Software by you other than in full compliance with the terms of this Agreement, you shall reimburse PremiumSoft for all reasonable expenses related to such audit in addition to any other liabilities you may incur as a result of such non-compliance. f. Your license rights under this EULA are non-exclusive.
3. License Restrictions a. Other than as set forth in Section 2, you may not make or distribute copies of the Software, or electronically transfer the Software from one computer to another or over a network. b. You may not alter, merge, modify, adapt or translate the Software, or decompile, reverse engineer, disassemble, or otherwise reduce the Software to a human-perceivable form. c. Unless otherwise provided herein, you may not rent, lease, or sublicense the Software. d. Other than with respect to a Trial / Demo Version, Non-commercial Lite Version or a Not For Resale Version of the Software, you may permanently transfer all of your rights under this EULA only as part of a sale or transfer, provided you retain no copies, you transfer all of the Software (including all component parts, the media and
11
printed materials, any upgrades, this EULA, the serial numbers, and, if applicable, all other software products provided together with the Software), and the recipient agrees to the terms of this EULA. If the Software is an upgrade, any transfer must include all prior versions of the Software from which you are upgrading. If the copy of the Software is licensed as part of the whole Studio (as defined above), the Software shall be transferred only with and as part of the sale or transfer of the whole Studio, and not separately. You may retain no copies of the Software. You may not sell or transfer any Trial / Demo Version, Non-commercial Lite Version or Not For
Resale Version of the Software. e. Unless otherwise provided herein, you may not modify the Software or create derivative works based upon the
Software. f. Non-commercial Versions of the Software may not be used for, or distributed to any party for, any commercial purpose. g. Unless otherwise provided herein, you shall not
A. in the aggregate, install or use more than one copy of the Trial / Demo Version and Non-commercial
Lite Version of the Software,
B. download the Trial / Demo Version and Non-commercial Lite Version of the Software under more than one username,
C. alter the contents of a hard drive or computer system to enable the use of the Trial / Demo Version of the Software for an aggregate period in excess of the trial period for one license to such Trial / Demo
Version,
D. disclose the results of software performance benchmarks obtained using the Trial / Demo Version or
Non-commercial Lite Version to any third party without PremiumSoft prior written consent, or
E. use the Trial / Demo Version of the Software for a purpose other than the sole purpose of determining whether to purchase a license to a commercial or education version of the software; provided, however, notwithstanding the foregoing, you are strictly prohibited from installing or using the Trial / Demo
Version or Non-commercial Lite Version of the Software for any commercial training purpose. h. You may only use the Not for Resale Version of the Software to review and evaluate the Software. i. You may receive the Software in more than one medium but you shall only install or use one medium.
Regardless of the number of media you receive, you may use only the medium that is appropriate for the server or computer on which the Software is to be installed. j. You may receive the Software in more than one platform but you shall only install or use one platform. k. You shall not use the Software to develop any application having the same primary function as the Software. l. In the event that you fail to comply with this EULA, PremiumSoft may terminate the license and you must destroy all copies of the Software (with all other rights of both parties and all other provisions of this EULA surviving any such termination). m. This program may include Oracle Instant Client (OCI). You agree that you shall
1. not use of the Oracle Instant Client to the business operations;
2. not assign, give, or transfer the Oracle Instant Client or an interest in them to another individual or entity; a. make the Programs available in any manner to any third party for use in the third party's business operations; and b. title to the Programs from passing to the end user or any other party;
12
3. not reverse engineer, disassemble or decompilation the Oracle Instant Client and duplicate the
Programs except for a sufficient number of copies of each Program for your licensed use and one copy of each Program media;
4. discontinue use and destroy or return to all copies of the Oracle Instant Client and documentation after termination of the Agreement;
5. not pubish any results of benchmark tests run on the Programs;
6. comply fully with all relevant export laws and regulations of the United States and other applicable export and import laws to assure that neither the Oracle Instant Client, nor any direct product thereof, are exported, directly or indirectly, in violation of applicable laws;
7. allow PremiumSoft to audit your use of the Oracle Instant Client;
4. Upgrades
If this copy of the Software is an upgrade from an earlier version of the Software, it is provided to you on a license exchange basis. You agree by your installation and use of such copy of the Software to voluntarily terminate your earlier EULA and that you will not continue to use the earlier version of the Software or transfer it to another person or entity unless such transfer is pursuant to Section 3.
5. Ownership
The foregoing license gives you limited license to use the Software. PremiumSoft and its suppliers retain all rights, title and interest, including all copyright and intellectual property rights, in and to, the Software (as an independent work and as an underlying work serving as a basis for any application you may develop), and all copies thereof. All rights not specifically granted in this EULA, including Federal and International Copyrights, are reserved by PremiumSoft and its suppliers.
6. LIMITED WARRANTY AND DISCLAIMER a. Except with respect to Trial / Demo Version, Non-commercial Lite Version and Not For Resale Version of the
Software, PremiumSoft warrants that, for a period of thirty (30) days from the date of delivery (as evidenced by a copy of your receipt): the physical media on which the Software is furnished will be free from defects in materials and workmanship under normal use. The Software is provided "as is". PremiumSoft makes no warranties, express or implied, arising from course of dealing or usage of trade, or statutory, as to any matter whatsoever. b. PremiumSoft provides no remedies or warranties, whether express or implied, for Trial / Demo version,
Non-commercial Lite version and the Not for Resale version of the Software. Trial / Demo version,
Non-commercial Lite version and the Not for Resale version of the Software are provided "as is". c. Except as set Forth in the foregoing limited warranty with respect to software other than Trial/ Demo version,
Non-commercial Lite version and Not for Resale version, PremiumSoft and its suppliers disclaim all other warranties and representations, whether express, implied, or otherwise, including the warranties of merchantability or fitness for a particular purpose. Also, there is no warranty of non-infringement and title or quiet enjoyment. PremiumSoft does not warrant that the Software is error-free or will operate without interruption. The Software is not designed, intended or licensed for use in hazardous environments requiring fail-safe controls, including without limitation, the design, construction, maintenance or operation of nuclear
13
facilities, aircraft navigation or communication systems, air traffic control, and life support or weapons systems.
PremiumSoft specifically disclaims any express or implied warranty of fitness for such purposes. d. If applicable law requires any warranties with respect to the Software, all such warranties are limited in duration to thirty (30) days from the date of delivery. e. No oral or written information or advice given by PremiumSoft, its dealers, distributors, agents or employees shall create a warranty or in any way increase the scope of ANY warranty PROVIDED HEREIN.
7. LIMITATION OF LIABILITY
(a) Neither PremiumSoft nor its suppliers shall be liable to you or any third party for any indirect, special, incidental, punitive or consequential damages (including, but not limited to, damages for the inability to use equipment or access data, loss of business, loss of profits, business interruption or the like), arising out of the use of, or inability to use, the
Software and based on any theory of liability including breach of contract, breach of warranty, tort (including negligence), product liability or otherwise, even if PremiumSoft or its representatives have been advised of the possibility of such damages.
8. Third Party Software
The Software may contain third party software which requires notices and/or additional terms and conditions. By accepting this EULA, you are also accepting the additional terms and conditions of the third party software.
9. General
No PremiumSoft dealer, agent or employee is authorized to make any amendment to this EULA.
This EULA contains the complete agreement between the parties with respect to the subject matter hereof, and supersedes all prior or contemporaneous agreements or understandings, whether oral or written. You agree that any varying or additional terms contained in any purchase order or other written notification or document issued by you in relation to the Software licensed hereunder shall be of no effect. The failure or delay of PremiumSoft to exercise any of its rights under this EULA or upon any breach of this EULA shall not be deemed a waiver of those rights or of the breach.
If any provision of this EULA shall be held by a court of competent jurisdiction to be contrary to law, that provision will be enforced to the maximum extent permissible, and the remaining provisions of this EULA will remain in full force and effect.
10. Basis of Bargain
The Limited Warranty and Disclaimer and Limited Liability set forth above are fundamental elements of the basis of the agreement between PremiumSoft and you. PremiumSoft would not be able to provide the Software on an economic basis without such limitations. Such Limited Warranty and Disclaimer and Limited Liability inure to the benefit of
PremiumSoft's licensors.
11. Term
14
By downloading and/or installing this SOFTWARE, the Licensor agrees to the terms of this EULA.
This license is effective until terminated. Licensor has the right to terminate your License immediately if you fail to comply with any term of this License.
"as is". Licensor makes no warranties, express or implied, arising from course of dealing or usage of trade, or statutory, as to any matter whatsoever. In particular, any and all warranties or merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose or non-infringement of third party rights are expressly excluded.
12. Governing Law
This License will be governed by the laws in force in Hong Kong. You hereby consent to the non-exclusive jurisdiction and venue sitting in Hong Kong to resolve any disputes arising under this EULA.
Should you have any questions concerning the validity of this License, please contact: [email protected]. If you desire to contact the Licensor for any other reason, please contact [email protected].
PremiumSoft and other trademarks contained in the Software are trademarks or registered trademarks of PremiumSoft
CyberTech Ltd. in the United States and/or other countries. Third party trademarks, trade names, product names and logos may be the trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. You may not remove or alter any trademark, trade names, product names, logo, copyright or other proprietary notices, legends, symbols or labels in the
Software. This EULA does not authorize you to use PremiumSoft or its licensors names or any of their respective trademarks.
15
Chapter 2 - User Interface
Main Window
The Main Window consists of several toolbars and panes for you to work on connections, database objects and advanced tools.
Main Toolbar
The Main Toolbar allows you to access basic objects and features, such as connections, users, tables, backup, automation and more. To use small icons or hide the captions, right-click on the toolbar and disable Use Big Icons or
Show Caption.
Navigation Pane
The Navigation Pane is the basic way to navigate with connections, databases and database objects. If the Navigation
Pane is hidden, choose View -> Navigation Pane -> Show Navigation Pane from the menu bar.
Tab Bar
The Tab Bar allows you to switch among the tabbed windows on the Object Pane. You can choose to always display pop-ups on a new tab, or to always display them in a new window. If you have multiple tabs open, you can use
CTRL+TAB to easily switch to other tabs. See also Options .
Object Toolbar
The Object Toolbar provides other controls that you can use to manipulate the objects.
Object Pane
16
The Object Pane displays a list of object such as tables, views, queries, and the tabbed window forms. Use the
List, Detail and ER Diagram buttons to change the view of the Objects tab.
Information Pane
The Information Pane shows the detailed object information, project activities, the DDL of database objects, object dependencies, membership of users/roles and preview. If the Information Pane is hidden, choose View -> Information
Pane -> Show Information Pane from the menu bar.
Status Bar
The Status Bar displays the current window's status information.
Navigation Pane
The Navigation pane employs tree structure which allows you to take action upon the database and their objects through their pop-up menus quickly and easily. If the Show objects under schema in navigation pane option is checked at the Options window, all database objects are also displayed in the pane. To connect to a database or schema, simply double-click it in the pane.
sections.
You can filter the tree by focusing the tree and type the searching string. To show the opened objects only, choose
View -> Navigation Pane -> Show Only Active Objects from the menu bar.
If you want to hide the group structure in the Navigation pane, select View -> Navigation Pane -> Flatten Connection.
If the Navigation pane is hidden, choose View -> Navigation Pane -> Show Navigation Pane.
17
Object Pane
In the Objects tab, you can use the List, Detail and ER Diagram buttons to change the object view.
If you want to hide the group structure in List view or Details view, select View -> Flatten Object List from the menu bar.
List View
By default, Navicat uses the List view. It only shows the names of objects.
Detail View
Detail view shows the name and several properties of objects in columns. To change the display columns of properties, select View -> Choose Columns from the menu bar and select display columns for different objects from the pop-up window.
ER Diagram View (Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
Note: Only tables provide ER Diagram view.
An ER diagram will be generated automatically if the selected database/schema contains tables. ER diagram files are
stored under Settings Location .
Diagram Canvas
Display table fields and relationships between tables in a database/schema graphically. You can add, edit or delete relations between tables, and also add or delete vertices on a relation line.
Add a Foreign Key
Click from the object toolbar. Drag and drop a field from the child table to the parent table.
18
Edit or Delete a Foreign Key
Right-click a relation line and select Design Foreign Key or Delete Foreign Key from the pop-up menu.
Add or Delete a Vertex
Select a relation line or a vertex. Press and hold the SHIFT key and click on the relation line or the vertex.
Note: Double-click a table in the ER Diagram view will open the Table Designer, while double-click a table in the List or
Detail view will open the Table Viewer.
Overview
To zoom in or zoom out the selected area of the diagram, adjust the slider of the Overview. Same effect can be achieved with keyboard shortcuts:
Zoom In: [CTRL++] or [CTRL+Mousewheel up]
Zoom Out: [CTRL+-] or [CTRL+Mousewheel down]
Bottom Toolbar
Refresh
Refresh the ER diagram. Choose Regenerate ER Diagram to regenerate the ER diagram with using auto layout feature.
Move Diagram
Switch to hand mode for moving the diagram. Or, you can press and hold the SPACE key, then move the diagram.
New Relation
Add a relation between two table fields. Click this button, and then drag and drop a field from the child table to the parent table.
Color
Set the color of the selected tables or relations.
Paper Size
Select a paper size from the drop-down list. The corresponding paper size will reflect in the Overview.
Information Pane
The Information Pane shows the detailed object information, project activities, the DDL of database objects, object dependencies, membership of users/roles and preview. If the Information Pane is hidden, choose View -> Information
Pane -> Show Information Pane from the menu bar.
19
You can select any connections, objects or projects, and then select the corresponding buttons on the Information
Pane.
Button Description
General - Show the general information of the object/project.
Preview - Show the SQL statements in the query.
DDL - Show the DDL statements of the object.
Using - Show the objects that the selected object depends on.
Objects - Show the objects in the tablespace.
Member Of - Show the roles that the user or the role assigned to.
Used By - Show the objects that depend on the selected object.
Members - Show the members of the role.
Code Snippet - Show all built-in and custom
(Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
Identifiers - Show all tables, views and columns in the selected database or schema.
Project - Show the project members and the project activities done by the members.
Click + to add members to the project.
20
Chapter 3 - Navicat Cloud
About Navicat Cloud
Navicat Cloud provides a cloud service for synchronizing connections, queries, model files and virtual group information from Navicat, other Navicat family members, different machines and different platforms. All the Navicat
Cloud objects are located under different projects. You can share the project to other Navicat Cloud accounts for collaboration.
Create a new account
1. In the main window, click Sign In and click Create Navicat ID.
2. Enter the required information and click the Sign Up button. A verification email will send to your email address.
3. Click the link in the email to verify the new account.
Hint: You can sign in with the same Navicat ID you use for the Navicat Customer Center.
Sign in Navicat Cloud
1. In the main window, click Sign In and enter your Navicat ID and Password.
2. Click the Sign In button.
3. If you enabled two-step verification in Navicat Cloud Portal site, a code will be sent to your phone via your mobile app. Enter the received code to sign in.
Sign out Navicat Cloud
1. In the main window, right-click Navicat Cloud and choose Close All Connections to close all connections under Navicat Cloud.
2. Click your avatar on the toolbar.
3. Click your email in the Navicat Cloud window and choose Sign Out.
Manage Navicat Cloud
View the cloud usage
1. In the main window, click your avatar on the toolbar.
2. Your cloud usage and current plan will be shown in the Navicat Cloud window.
Note: A connection, a query, a model or a virtual group counts for one unit.
21
Change your avatar
1. In the main window, click your avatar on the toolbar.
2. Click the avatar in the Navicat Cloud window.
3. Choose an image file.
Manage your Navicat Cloud account
1. In the main window, click your avatar on the toolbar.
2. Click your email in the Navicat Cloud window and choose Manage Account.
3. A browser will open with Navicat Cloud Portal site.
Upgrade the Navicat Cloud plan
1. In the main window, click your avatar on the toolbar.
2. Click Upgrade in the Navicat Cloud window.
3. A browser will open with Navicat Cloud Portal site.
Create a project
1. Select Navicat Cloud in the Navigation pane.
2. Right-click it and choose New Project.
Add members to a project
1. Select a project in the Navigation pane.
2. Right-click it and choose Collaborate with.
3. Click Add Members.
4. Enter the members' Navicat ID.
5. Select the member role.
6. Click Add.
Member Roles
Owner
Admin
Member
Guest
Privileges
Read Objects, Write Objects, Manage Members and Delete Project
Read Objects, Write Objects and Manage Members
Read Objects and Write Objects
Read Objects
22
Note: Each time can add up to 10 members. Use comma or enter to separate the members in the edit box.
Manage members in a project
1. Select a project in the Navigation pane.
2. Right-click it and choose Collaborate with.
3. Click Apply after changes.
Note: If you are the Owner or Admin, you can click the x button to remove the member.
Rename a project
1. Select a project in the Navigation pane.
2. Right-click it and choose Rename.
3. Enter the project name.
Quit a project
1. Select a project in the Navigation pane.
2. Right-click it and choose Quit Project.
Delete a project
1. Select a project in the Navigation pane.
2. Right-click it and choose Delete Project.
Move/copy a connection to a project
1. Right-click a connection under My Connections and choose Move Connection to or Copy Connection to.
2. Select an existing project or create a new project.
3. The connection will move or copy to Navicat Cloud. And, all its query files and virtual groups will store in
Navicat Cloud.
Move/copy a connection to My Connections
1. Right-click a connection under Navicat Cloud and choose Move Connection to or Copy Connection to ->
My Connections.
2. The connection will move or copy to My Connections. And, all its query files and virtual groups will store in the local machine.
Move/copy a model to Navicat Cloud
23
1. Select a model file under My Connections.
2. Drag and drop it to a project in Navicat Cloud.
Move/copy a model to My Connections
1. Select a model file in a project under Navicat Cloud.
2. Drag and drop it to My Connections.
24
Chapter 4 - Connection
About Connection
To start working with your server in Navicat, you should first establish a connection or several connections using the
Connection window. If you are new to the server or 'Net in general' and are not quite sure how things work, you may want to look at:
MySQL User Manual
Oracle Database Documentation
PostgreSQL User Manual
SQLite User Manual
SQL Server MSDN Library
MariaDB Documentation
To create a new connection, click Connection and select your server type. Then, enter the necessary information in the Connection window.
Note: Navicat authorizes you to make connection to remote servers running on different platforms (i.e. Windows, Mac,
Linux and UNIX), and supports PAM and GSSAPI authentication.
You can edit the connection properties by right-click the connection and choose Edit Connection.
Navicat Cloud
Copy Connection to or Move Connection to.
Flush MySQL/MariaDB Connection
To clear or reload various internal caches, flush tables, or acquire locks, right-click your connection in the Navigation
Manage Azure SQL Database Firewall Rules
You cannot connect to Azure SQL Database until you have granted your client IP access. To access Azure SQL
Database from your computer, ensure that your firewall allows outgoing TCP communication on TCP port 1433. You must have at least one firewall rule before you can connection to Azure SQL Database.
To manage the Firewall Rule settings, right-click your Azure SQL Database connection in the Navigation pane and select SQL Azure Firewall Rules. Add a new rule by providing an IP address range.
Testing Account
25
Navicat provides evaluated accounts for testing purpose.
MySQL
Host Name/IP Address: server1.navicat.com
Port: 4406
User Name: navicat
Password: testnavicat
PostgreSQL
Host Name/IP Address: server1.navicat.com
Port: 5432
Initial Database: HR
User Name: navicat
Password: testnavicat
General Settings
To successfully establish a new connection to local/remote server - no matter via SSL, SSH or HTTP, set the database login information in the General tab. If your Internet Service Provider (ISP) does not provide direct access to its server,
Secure Tunneling Protocol (SSH) / HTTP is another solution.
Note: The following options depend on the connection server type and sort in ascending order.
Add To
Navicat Cloud.
Authentication
SQL Server
Authentication
Windows
Authentication
Use login records to validate the connection. Users must provide their server login:
User Name and Password.
When a user connects through a Windows user account, SQL Server validates the account name and password using the Windows principal token in the operating system.
Connection Name
Enter a friendly name to best describe your connection.
26
Connection Type
Basic
TNS
In Basic mode, it connects to Oracle through the Oracle Call Interface (OCI). Enter the Host Name/IP Address and Port. Set the Service Name/SID which the user connects when making connection. Select the corresponding radio button.
In TNS mode, it connects to Oracle server using an alias entry from a tnsnames.ora file through the Oracle Call Interface (OCI). User needs to provide the Net Service
Name.
OCI is an application programming interface that allows an application developer to use a third-generation language's native procedure or function calls to access the Oracle database server and control all phases of SQL statement execution. OCI is a library of standard database access and retrieval functions in the form of a dynamic-link library. See also: OCI options
Database File
Specify the initial database file. If the HTTP Tunnel is enabled, you need to enter an absolute file path of the database file in your web server.
Endpoint
The Endpoint for connecting to the Amazon Web Services instance.
Host Name/IP Address
A host name where the database is situated or the IP address of the server.
Initial Database
Set the initial database which user connects when making connection.
Password
Password for connecting to the database server.
Port
A TCP/IP port for connecting to the database server.
Sync User Name with Navicat Cloud
When editing a connection in Navicat Cloud, you can choose to synchronize the user name.
Type
Existing Database File
New SQLite 3
New SQLite 2
Connect to an existing database in the Database File.
Create a new SQLite 3 database in the Database File.
Create a new SQLite 2 database in the Database File.
27
User Name
User name for connecting to the database server.
SSL Settings
Secure Sockets Layer(SSL) is a protocol for transmitting private documents via the Internet. To get a secure connection, the first thing you need to do is to install OpenSSL Library and download Database Source.
Note: Available only for MySQL, PostgreSQL and MariaDB. Support from PostgreSQL 8.4 or later.
MySQL and MariaDB Connections
To provide authentication details, enable Use Authentication and fill in the required information:
Client Key
The SSL key file in PEM format to use for establishing a secure connection.
Client Certificate
The SSL certificate file in PEM format to use for establishing a secure connection.
CA Certificate
The path to a file in PEM format that contains a list of trusted SSL certificate authorities.
Verify CA Certificate Name
Check the server's Common Name value in the certificate that the server sends to the client.
Specified Cipher
A list of permissible ciphers to use for SSL encryption.
PostgreSQL Connection
Choose the SSL Mode: require verify-ca verify-full
Only try an SSL connection.
Only try an SSL connection, and verify that the server certificate is issued by a trusted CA.
Only try an SSL connection, verify that the server certificate is issued by a trusted
CA and that the server hostname matches that in the certificate.
To provide authentication details, enable Use Authentication and fill in the required information:
Client Key
The path of the client private key.
28
Client Certificate
The path of the client certificate.
CA Certificate
The path of the trusted certificate authorities.
Certificate Revocation List
The file path of the SSL certificate revocation list (CRL).
SSH Settings
Secure SHell (SSH) is a program to log in into another computer over a network, execute commands on a remote server, and move files from one machine to another. It provides strong authentication and secure encrypted communications between two hosts, known as SSH Port Forwarding (Tunneling), over an insecure network.
Typically, it is employed as an encrypted version of Telnet.
In a Telnet session, all communications, including username and password, are transmitted in plain-text, allowing anyone to listen-in on your session and steal passwords and other information. Such sessions are also susceptible to session hijacking, where a malicious user takes over your session once you have authenticated. SSH serves to prevent such vulnerabilities and allows you to access a remote server's shell without compromising security.
Note: Available only for MySQL, Oracle, PostgreSQL, SQL Server and MariaDB.
Please make sure that the parameter - "AllowTcpForwarding" in the Linux server must be set to value "yes", otherwise, the SSH port forwarding will be disabled. To look for the path: /etc/ssh/sshd_config. By default, the SSH port forwarding should be enabled. Please double check the value settings.
Even the server support SSH tunnel, however, if the port forwarding being disabled, Navicat cannot connect via SSH
Port 22.
Host Name/IP Address
A host where SSH server is activated.
Note: The host name in the General tab should be set relatively to the SSH server which provided by your database hosting company.
Port
A port where SSH server is activated, by default it is 22.
User Name
A user on SSH server machine. (It is not a user of database server.)
29
Authentication Method
Password
Public Key
Provide the SSH server user Password.
Private Key
It is used together with your public key. The private key should be readable only by you.
Passphrase
A passphrase is exactly like a password, except that it applies to the keys you are generating and not an account.
Note: HTTP Tunnel and SSH Tunnel cannot be function simultaneously. The SSH Tunnel is disabled when you select the HTTP Tunnel and vice versa.
HTTP Settings
HTTP Tunneling is a method for connecting to a server that uses the same protocol (http://) and the same port (port 80) as a web server does. It is used while your ISPs do not allow direct connections, but allows establishing HTTP connections.
Note: Available only for MySQL, PostgreSQL, SQLite and MariaDB.
Uploading the Tunneling Script
To use this connection method, first thing you need to do is to upload the tunneling script to the web server where your server is located.
Note: ntunnel_mysql.php (for both MySQL and MariaDB), ntunnel_pgsql.php or ntunnel_sqlite.php is available in the Navicat installation folder.
Setting up HTTP Tunnel
The following instruction guides you through the process of configuring a HTTP connection.
1. Select the HTTP tab and enable Use HTTP Tunnel.
2. Enter URL of the tunneling script. e.g. http://www.navicat.com/ntunnel_mysql.php
3. If your server installed a Web Application Firewall, you can check the Encode outgoing query with base64 option.
4. If the tunneling script is hosted in a password protected server or you have to access internet over a proxy server, you can provide the required authentication details in the Authentication or Proxy tab.
Note: HTTP Tunnel and SSH Tunnel cannot be function simultaneously. The SSH Tunnel is disabled when you select the HTTP Tunnel and vice versa.
30
Advanced Settings
Note: The following options depend on the connection server type and sort in ascending order.
Auto Connect
Open the connection at application startup automatically.
Encoding
Choose a codepage to communicate with MySQL Server while MySQL character set not being employed.
Encrypted
Enable this option and provide Password when connecting to an encrypted SQLite database.
Keepalive Interval (sec)
Keep the connection with the server alive by pinging it. You can set the period between pings in the edit box.
Max no. of session
Specify the maximum number of concurrent connections that the server allows.
Native Client Driver
Select the SQL Server Native Client used for the connection.
OS Authentication
Use Windows user login credentials to authenticate database users.
Role
Indicate that the database user is connecting with either the Default, SYSOPER or SYSDBA system privilege.
Settings Location
When a new connection is being established, Navicat will create a subfolder under the Settings Location. Most files are stored within this subfolder:
File in Settings Location
Backup
Backup Profile
Server Type
MySQL, PostgreSQL, SQLite and
MariaDB
MySQL
PostgreSQL
SQLite
SQL Server
File Extension
.nb3
.nbakmysql
.nbakpgsql
.nbaksqlite
.nbakmssql
31
Data Pump Export Profile
ER Diagram File
Export Materialized View
Profile
Export Query Result Profile
Export Table Profile
Export View Result Profile
Import Table Profile
MySQL
Oracle
PostgreSQL
SQLite
SQL Server
MariaDB
MySQL
Oracle
PostgreSQL
SQLite
SQL Server
MariaDB
MySQL
MariaDB
Oracle
All
Oracle
PostgreSQL
MySQL
Oracle
PostgreSQL
SQLite
SQL Server
MariaDB
Oracle
PostgreSQL
SQLite
SQL Server
MariaDB
All
All
.nbakmysql
.nbakora
.ned
.nexpmora
.nexpmpgsql
.nexpqmysql
.nexpqora
.nexpqpgsql
.nexpqsqlite
.nexpqmssql
.nexpqmariadb
.nexptmysql
.nexptora
.nexptpgsql
.nexptsqlite
.nexptmssql
.nexptmariadb
.nexpvmysql
.nexpvora
.nexpvpgsql
.nexpvsqlite
.nexpvmssql
.nexpvmariadb
.nimpmysql
.nimpora
.nimppgsql
.nimpsqlite
.nimpmssql
.nimpmariadb
.sql
.rtm
Query
Report
Use Compression
Use compression protocol. It is used if both client and server support zlib compression, and the client requests compression.
Use Encryption
Use encryption for SQL Server connection.
Use Named Pipe, Socket
Use socket file for localhost connection.
32
Databases / Attached Databases Settings
MySQL, Oracle, PostgreSQL, SQL Server, MariaDB
In the Databases tab, you can set which databases will be shown in the Navigation pane when connecting to your server. It is not obligatory. To start working with custom database settings, check Use Custom Database List. Then, select the preferable databases in the Database column. If you want Navicat automatically open the databases at connection, check the Auto Connect box.
Add a hidden database to the list
1. Click the Add DB to List button.
2. Enter the database name.
3. Select the newly added database in the database list.
Remove a database from the list
1. Select the database in the database list.
2. Click the Remove DB from List button.
Note: The database will be just removed from the database list box, it will still exist in the server.
SQLite
In the Attached Databases tab, you can attach SQLite database files to the connection. Click the Attach Database button and enter the information:
Option
Database File
Database Name
Encrypted
Description
Choose the file path of a database file.
Enter the database name which displays in Navicat.
Check this option and provide the Password if the database file is encrypted.
To detach a database, select it from the list and click the Detach Database button.
33
Chapter 5 - Server Objects
About Server Objects
Navicat provides powerful tools to manage server objects, such as databases, tables, views, functions, etc.
Note: Before working with the server objects in Navicat, you should establish the connection first.
In object designers, you can preview the CREATE statement and the necessary SQL statements for creating/editing the object in the SQL Preview tab. For some database or schema objects, you can use the bottom drop-down list to show the SQL which will be run when choosing Save or Save As from the File menu.
MySQL / MariaDB
Databases
To start working with the server objects, you should create and open a connection. If the server is empty, you need to create a new database.
Create a new database
1. In the Navigation pane, right-click your connection and choose New Database.
2. Enter the database properties in the pop-up window.
Edit an existing database
1. In the Navigation pane, right-click a database and choose Edit Database.
2. Edit the database properties in the pop-up window.
Note: MySQL does not support renaming database through its interface at this moment. Access the directory in which databases being stored. By default, all databases store within a directory called data under MySQL Installation folder.
For example: C:\mysql5\data. You must stop MySQL before you can rename the database.
Tables
Tables are database objects that contain all data in a database. A table is a set of rows and columns, and their intersections are fields. In the main window, click Table to open the table object list.
There are two ways to open a table with graphical fields, right-click a table and choose:
Option
Open Table
Description
Navicat loads all your BLOB fields (images) while opening the table.
Open Table (Quick) Faster performance for opening the graphical table, as BLOB fields (images) will not be loaded until you click on the cell. (It is invisible by default until you hold down the SHIFT key when right-clicking the table.)
34
You can create a table shortcut by right-clicking a table in the Object pane and select Create Open Table Shortcut from the pop-up menu. This option is used to provide a convenient way for you to open your table for entering data directly without activating the Navicat main window.
To empty a table, right-click the selected table and choose Empty Table from the pop-up menu. This option is only applied when you wish to clear all the existing records without resetting the auto-increment value. To reset the auto-increment value while emptying your table, use Truncate Table.
Table Designer
Table Designer is the basic Navicat tool for working with tables. It allows you to create, edit and drop table's fields, indexes, foreign keys, and much more.
In the Fields tab, you can search a field name by choosing Edit -> Find or pressing CTRL+F.
Note: The tabs and options in the designer depend on the server type and version.
Table Viewer
When you open a table, Table Viewer displays data as a grid. Data can be displayed in two modes: Grid View and
Form View. See Data Viewer for details.
Note: Transaction is only available for INNODB tables.
Views
A view allows users to access a set of tables as if it is a single table. You can use views to restrict access to rows. In the main window, click View to open the view object list.
You can create a view shortcut by right-clicking a view in the Objects tab and select Create Open View Shortcut from the pop-up menu. This option is used to provide a convenient way for you to open your view directly without activating the Navicat main window.
View Designer
View Designer is the basic Navicat tool for working with views. You can edit the view definition as SQL statement
(SELECT statement it implements) in the Definition tab. To customize the view of the editor and find out more features
for SQL editing, see SQL Editor for details.
If you want to load SQL statement from a SQL file to the editor, you can choose File -> Import SQL.
Button
Preview
Explain
View Builder
Beautify SQL
Description
Preview the data of the view.
Show the Query Plan of the view.
Build the view visually. It allows you to create and edit views without knowledge
of SQL. See SQL Builder for details.
Format the codes with the Beautify SQL settings in Editor.
35
Hint: You can choose to show the preview results below the editor or in a new tab by selecting View -> Show Result
-> Below Query Editor or In a New Tab.
View Viewer
When you open a view, View Viewer displays data as a grid. Data can be displayed in two modes: Grid View and Form
View. See Data Viewer for details.
Note: Transaction is only available for updatable views.
Procedures / Functions
Procedures and functions (stored routines) are supported in MySQL 5.0. A stored routine is a set of SQL statements that can be stored in the server. In the main window, click Function to open the function object list.
Function Wizard
Click New Function from the object toolbar. Function Wizard will pop up and it allows you to create a procedure/function easily.
1. Select the type of the routine: Procedure or Function.
2. Define the parameters. Set the Mode, Name and/or Type under the corresponding columns.
3. If you create a function, select the Return Type from the list and enter the corresponding information: Length,
Decimals, Character set and/or Enum.
Hint: Once uncheck the Show wizard next time option, you can go to Options to enable it.
Function Designer
Function Designer is the basic Navicat tool for working with procedures/functions. You can enter a valid SQL statement in the Definition tab. This can be a simple statement such as SELECT or INSERT, or it can be a compound statement written using BEGIN and END. Compound statements can contain declarations, loops, and other control
details.
Results
To execute the procedure/function, click Execute on the toolbar. If the SQL statement is correct, the statement will be executed and, if the statement is supposed to return data, the Result tab opens with the data returned. If an error occurs while executing the procedure/function, execution stops, the appropriate error message is displayed. If the procedure/function requires input parameters, the Input Parameter dialog will pop up. Check the Raw Mode option to pass the inputted values to the procedure/function without quotation marks.
Note: Navicat supports to return 10 result sets.
36
Events
An event is a task that run according to a schedule. In the main window, click Event to open the event object list.
Event Designer
Event Designer is the basic Navicat tool for working with events. You can enter a valid SQL procedure statement in the Definition tab. This can be a simple statement such as SELECT or INSERT, or it can be a compound statement written using BEGIN and END. Compound statements can contain declarations, loops, and other control structure
Maintain Objects
Navicat provides a complete solution for maintaining MySQL / MariaDB objects.
1. In the main window, select objects in the Navigation pane or the Objects tab.
2. Right-click the selected objects.
3. Choose Maintain, and then choose a maintain option the from the pop-up menu.
4. Results show in a pop-up window.
Table
Option
Analyze Tables
Check Tables
Optimize Tables
Repair Tables
Get Rows Count
Oracle
Description
Analyze and store the key distribution for the table.
Check the table for errors.
Optimize the table to reduce storage space and improve I/O efficiency.
Repair the possibly corrupted table.
Count the number of rows in the table.
Schemas
To start working with the server objects, you should create and open a connection. When you create a user account, you are also implicitly creating a schema for that user. A schema is a logical container for the database objects (such as tables, views, triggers, and so on) that the user creates. The schema name is the same as the user name, and can be used to unambiguously refer to objects owned by the user.
Hint: Oracle interprets non-quoted object identifiers as uppercase. In Navicat, all object identifiers will be quoted. That is, Navicat saves exactly what you have inputted.
37
Tables
Tables are database objects that contain all data in a database. A table is a set of rows and columns, and their intersections are fields. In the main window, click Table to open the table object list.
You can create Normal / External / Index Organized tables. Click the down arrow next to New Table from the object toolbar and choose the table type.
There are two ways to open a table with graphical fields, right-click a table and choose:
Option Description
Open Table Navicat loads all your BLOB fields (images) while opening the table.
Open Table (Quick) Faster performance for opening the graphical table, as BLOB fields (images) will not be loaded until you click on the cell. (It is invisible by default until you hold down the SHIFT key when right-clicking the table.)
You can create a table shortcut by right-clicking a table in the Object pane and select Create Open Table Shortcut from the pop-up menu. This option is used to provide a convenient way for you to open your table for entering data directly without activating the Navicat main window.
To empty a table, right-click the selected table and choose Empty Table from the pop-up menu. This option is only applied when you wish to clear all the existing records without resetting the auto-increment value. To reset the auto-increment value while emptying your table, use Truncate Table.
Table Designer
Table Designer is the basic Navicat tool for working with tables. It allows you to create, edit and drop table's fields, indexes, foreign keys, and much more.
In the Fields tab, you can search a field name by choosing Edit -> Find or pressing CTRL+F. When creating a new table, you are allowed to insert fields or rearrange the order of the fields.
Note: The tabs and options in the designer depend on the server version and the table type.
Table Viewer
When you open a table, Table Viewer displays data as a grid. Data can be displayed in two modes: Grid View and
Form View. See Data Viewer for details.
Views
A view allows users to access a set of tables as if it is a single table. You can use views to restrict access to rows. In the main window, click View to open the view object list.
You can create a view shortcut by right-clicking a view in the Objects tab and select Create Open View Shortcut from the pop-up menu. This option is used to provide a convenient way for you to open your view directly without activating the Navicat main window.
38
View Designer
View Designer is the basic Navicat tool for working with views. You can edit the view definition as SQL statement
(SELECT statement it implements) in the Definition tab. To customize the view of the editor and find out more features
choose File -> Import SQL.
Button
Preview
Explain
View Builder
Description
Preview the data of the view.
Show the Query Plan of the view.
Build the view visually. It allows you to create and edit views without knowledge
of SQL. See SQL Builder for details.
Beautify SQL
Format the codes with the Beautify SQL settings in Editor.
Hint: You can choose to show the preview results below the editor or in a new tab by selecting View -> Show Result
-> Below Query Editor or In a New Tab.
View Viewer
When you open a view, View Viewer displays data as a grid. Data can be displayed in two modes: Grid View and Form
View. See Data Viewer for details.
Materialized Views
Materialized Views are schema objects that used to summarize, compute, replicate, and distribute data. In the main window, click Materialized View to open the materialized view object list.
You can create a materialized view shortcut by right-clicking a materialized view in the Objects tab and select Create
Open Materialized View Shortcut from the pop-up menu. This option is used to provide a convenient way for you to open your materialized view directly without activating the Navicat main window.
To refresh a materialized view, right-click it in the Objects tab and select Refresh Materialized View from the pop-up menu.
Materialized View Designer
Materialized View Designer is the basic Navicat tool for working with materialized views. You can edit the view definition as SQL statement (SELECT statement it implements) in the Definition tab. To customize the view of the
SQL file to the editor, you can choose File -> Import SQL.
Button
Preview
Explain
View Builder
Description
Preview the data of the materialized view.
Show the Query Plan of the materialized view.
Build the materialized view visually. It allows you to create and edit materialized
views without knowledge of SQL. See SQL Builder for details.
39
Beautify SQL
Format the codes with the Beautify SQL settings in Editor.
Hint: You can choose to show the preview results below the editor or in a new tab by selecting View -> Show Result
-> Below Query Editor or In a New Tab.
Materialized View Viewer
When you open a materialized view, Materialized View Viewer displays data as a grid. Data can be displayed in two
modes: Grid View and Form View. See Data Viewer for details.
Procedures / Functions
Procedures and functions are schema objects that consist a set of SQL statements and stored in the server. In the main window, click Function to open the function object list.
Function Wizard
Click New Function from the object toolbar. Function Wizard will pop up and it allows you to create a procedure/function easily.
1. Specify the Name of the routine and select the type of the routine: Procedure or Function.
2. Define the parameters. Set the Name, Type, Mode and Default Value under the corresponding columns.
3. If you create a function, select the Return Type from the list.
Hint: Once uncheck the Show wizard next time option, you can go to Options to enable it.
Function Designer
Function Designer is the basic Navicat tool for working with procedures/functions. You can enter a valid SQL statement in the Definition tab. To customize the view of the editor and find out more features for SQL editing, see
The Code Outline pane displays information about the procedure/function including parameters, code body, etc. If the
Code Outline pane is hidden, choose View -> Code Outline.
Note: Available only in Non-Essentials Edition.
Button Description
Refresh the code outline.
Show the detail view of the code outline.
Turn mouse over highlight on or off.
Expand the selected item.
Collapse the selected item.
Toggle sorting by position.
Results
40
To execute the procedure/function, click Execute on the toolbar. If the SQL statement is correct, the statement will be executed and, if the statement is supposed to return data, the DBMS Output tab opens with the data returned. If an error occurs while executing the procedure/function, execution stops, the appropriate error message is displayed. If the procedure/function requires input parameters, the Input Parameter dialog will pop up. Check the Raw Mode option to pass the inputted values to the procedure/function without quotation marks.
Note: Navicat supports to return 10 result sets.
Debug (Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
You can add/remove breakpoints for debugging by clicking in the grey area beside each statement.
Before debugging, click Save As Debug to save and compile the procedure/function. Then, click Debug on
the toolbar to launch the Oracle Debugger . Enter the input parameters if necessary.
Packages
Packages are encapsulated collections of related procedures, stored functions, and other program objects stored together in the database. An package consists of two parts: a specification and a body. In the main window, click
Others -> Package to open the package object list.
Package Designer & Package Body Designer
Package Designer and Package Body Designer are the basic Navicat tools for working with packages. After saving the package in Package Designer, you can edit its package body by clicking New Package Body or Design
Package Body.
Likewise, you can edit its package specification by clicking Design Package Specification in Package Body
Designer.
You can enter a valid SQL statement in the Definition tab. To customize the view of the editor and find out more
features for SQL editing, see SQL Editor for details.
The Code Outline pane displays information about the package/package body including function, procedure, parameter, code body, etc. If the Code Outline pane is hidden, choose View -> Code Outline.
Note: Available only in Non-Essentials Edition.
Button Description
Refresh the code outline.
Show the detail view of the code outline.
Turn mouse over highlight on or off.
Expand the selected item.
Collapse the selected item.
Toggle sorting by position.
Results
41
To execute the package, click Execute on the toolbar. If the SQL statement is correct, the statement will be executed and, if the statement is supposed to return data, the DBMS Output tab opens with the data returned. If an error occurs while executing the package, execution stops, the appropriate error message is displayed. If the package requires input parameters, the Input Parameter dialog will pop up.
Debug (Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
You can add/remove breakpoints for debugging by clicking in the grey area beside each statement.
Before debugging, click Save As Debug to save and compile the package. Then, click Debug on the toolbar
to launch the Oracle Debugger . Enter the input parameters if necessary.
Recycle Bin
Recycle bin contains dropped tables and any associated objects such as indexes, constraints, nested tables. In the main window, click Others -> Recycle Bin to open the recycle bin object list.
Restore a table
1. Select a table in the Objects tab.
2. Click Flashback Table.
Remove an object
1. Select an object for purging in the Objects tab.
2. Click Purge Object.
3. Confirm deleting in the dialog window.
Remove all objects
1. Right-click anywhere in the Objects tab and choose Purge Recycle Bin from the pop-up menu.
2. Confirm deleting in the dialog window.
Remove all objects of any users
1. Log in a user with SYSDBA privilege.
2. Right-click anywhere in the Objects tab and choose Purge DBA Recycle Bin from the pop-up menu.
3. Confirm deleting in the dialog window.
42
Other Objects
Navicat also allows you to manage other Oracle objects: Database Link, Index, Java, Materialized View Log, Sequence,
Synonym, Trigger, Type, XML Schema, Directory, Public Database Link, Public Synonym and Tablespace. In the main window, click Others and select an object to open the object list.
Maintain Objects
Navicat provides a complete solution for maintaining Oracle objects.
1. In the main window, select objects in the Navigation pane or the Objects tab.
2. Right-click the selected objects.
3. Choose Maintain, and then choose a maintain option the from the pop-up menu.
4. Results show in a pop-up window.
Table
Option
Enable Table Lock
Disable Table Lock
Enable Row Movement
Disable Row Movement
Shrink Space
Move
Collect Statistics
Validate Structure
View
Option
Compile
Procedure / Function
Option
Compile
Compile for Debug
Description
Allow DDL operations on the table.
Prevent DDL operations on the table.
Allow the database to move a row, thus changing the rowid.
Prevent the database from moving a row, thus preventing a change of rowid.
Shrink space in the table.
Relocate data of the table.
Analyze the contents of the table.
Verify the integrity of the structure of the table.
Description
Recompile the view specification or body.
Description
Recompile the specification or body.
Recompile the specification or body. Instruct the PL/SQL compiler to generate and store the code for use by the debugger.
Index
Option
Rebuild
Make Unusable
Description
Re-create the index or one of its partitions or subpartitions.
Make the index unusable.
43
Coalesce
Compute Statistics
Monitoring Usage
No Monitoring Usage
Java
Option
Compile or Resolve
Set AuthID Current User
Set AuthID Definer
Materialized View
Option
Enable Row Movement
Disable Row Movement
Shrink
Compile
Force Refresh
Materialized View Log
Option
Enable Row Movement
Disable Row Movement
Merge the contents of index blocks where possible to free blocks for reuse.
Compute the statistics of the index.
Begin monitoring the index.
Terminate monitoring the index.
Description
Resolve the primary Java class schema object.
Set the invoker rights to AUTHID CURRENT_USER.
Set the invoker rights to AUTHID DEFINER.
Description
Allow the database to move a row, thus changing the rowid.
Prevent the database from moving a row, thus preventing a change of rowid.
Compact the materialized view segment.
Revalidate the materialized view.
Fresh the materialized view.
Description
Allow the database to move a row, thus changing the rowid.
Prevent the database from moving a row, thus preventing a change of rowid.
Compact the materialized view log segments. Shrink Space
Package
Option
Compile
Compile for Debug
Description
Recompile the package specification and body.
Recompile the package specification and body. Instruct the PL/SQL compiler to generate and store the code for use by the debugger.
Trigger
Option
Enable
Disable
Compile
Compile for Debug
Description
Enable the trigger.
Disable the trigger.
Recompile the trigger.
Recompile the trigger. Instruct the PL/SQL compiler to generate and store the code for use by the debugger.
44
Type
Option
Compile
Compile Debug
Description
Recompile the type specification and body.
Recompile the type specification and body. Instruct the PL/SQL compiler to generate and store the code for use by the debugger.
XML Schema
Option
Compile
Purge
Description
Recompile the already registered XML schema.
Removes the XML schema completely from Oracle XML DB.
Tablespace
Option
Read Only
Read Write
Online
Offline
Coalesce
Description
Place the tablespace in transition read-only mode.
Allow write operations on a previously read-only tablespace.
Take the tablespace online.
Take the tablespace offline.
Combine all contiguous free extents into larger contiguous extents for each datafile in the tablespace.
Reduce the amount of space the tablespace is taking. Shrink Space
PostgreSQL
Databases & Schemas
To start working with the server objects, you should create and open a connection. If the server is empty, you need to create a new database and/or a new schema.
Create a new database
1. In the Navigation pane, right-click a connection and choose New Database.
2. Enter the database properties in the pop-up window.
Edit an existing database
1. In the Navigation pane, right-click a database and choose Edit Database.
2. Edit the database properties in the pop-up window.
Create a new schema
1. In the Navigation pane, right-click a database and choose New Schema.
2. Enter the schema properties in the pop-up window.
45
Edit an existing schema
1. In the Navigation pane, right-click a schema and choose Edit Schema.
2. Edit the schema properties in the pop-up window.
Tables
Tables are database objects that contain all data in a database. A table is a set of rows and columns, and their intersections are fields. In the main window, click Table to open the table object list.
You can create Normal / Foreign tables. Click the down arrow next to New Table from the object toolbar and choose the table type.
There are two ways to open a table with graphical fields, right-click a table and choose:
Option Description
Open Table Navicat loads all your BLOB fields (images) while opening the table.
Open Table (Quick) Faster performance for opening the graphical table, as BLOB fields (images) will not be loaded until you click on the cell. (It is invisible by default until you hold down the SHIFT key when right-clicking the table.)
You can create a table shortcut by right-clicking a table in the Objects tab and select Create Open Table Shortcut from the pop-up menu. This option is used to provide a convenient way for you to open your table for entering data directly without activating the Navicat main window.
To empty a table, right-click the selected table and choose Empty Table from the pop-up menu. This option is only applied when you wish to clear all the existing records without resetting the auto-increment value. To reset the auto-increment value while emptying your table, use Truncate Table.
Table Designer
Table Designer is the basic Navicat tool for working with tables. It allows you to create, edit and drop table's fields, indexes, foreign keys, and much more.
In the Fields tab, you can search a field name by choosing Edit -> Find or pressing CTRL+F. When creating a new table, you are allowed to insert fields or rearrange the order of the fields.
Note: The tabs and options in the designer depend on the server version and the table type.
Table Viewer
When you open a table, Table Viewer displays data as a grid. Data can be displayed in two modes: Grid View and
Form View. See Data Viewer for details.
46
Views
A view allows users to access a set of tables as if it is a single table. You can use views to restrict access to rows. In the main window, click View to open the view object list.
You can create a view shortcut by right-clicking a view in the Objects tab and select Create Open View Shortcut from the pop-up menu. This option is used to provide a convenient way for you to open your view directly without activating the Navicat main window.
View Designer
View Designer is the basic Navicat tool for working with views. You can edit the view definition as SQL statement
(SELECT statement it implements) in the Definition tab. To customize the view of the editor and find out more features
choose File -> Import SQL.
Button
Preview
Explain
Description
Preview the data of the view.
Show the Query Plan of the view.
View Builder
Build the view visually. It allows you to create and edit views without knowledge of
SQL. See SQL Builder for details.
Beautify SQL
Format the codes with the Beautify SQL settings in Editor.
Hint: You can choose to show the preview results below the editor or in a new tab by selecting View -> Show Result
-> Below Query Editor or In a New Tab.
View Viewer
When you open a view, View Viewer displays data as a grid. Data can be displayed in two modes: Grid View and Form
View. See Data Viewer for details.
Materialized Views
Materialized Views are schema objects that used to summarize, compute, replicate, and distribute data. In the main window, click Materialized View to open the materialized view object list.
You can create a materialized view shortcut by right-clicking a materialized view in the Objects tab and select Create
Open Materialized View Shortcut from the pop-up menu. This option is used to provide a convenient way for you to open your materialized view directly without activating the Navicat main window.
To refresh and completely replace the contents of a materialized view, right-click it in the Objects tab and select
Refresh Materialized View With -> Data or No Data from the pop-up menu.
Materialized View Designer
Materialized View Designer is the basic Navicat tool for working with materialized views. You can edit the view definition as SQL statement (SELECT statement it implements) in the Definition tab. To customize the view of the
47
SQL file to the editor, you can choose File -> Import SQL.
Button Description
Preview
Preview the data of the materialized view.
Explain
Show the Query Plan of the materialized view.
View Builder
Build the materialized view visually. It allows you to create and edit materialized
views without knowledge of SQL. See SQL Builder for details.
Beautify SQL
Format the codes with the Beautify SQL settings in Editor.
Hint: You can choose to show the preview results below the editor or in a new tab by selecting View -> Show Result
-> Below Query Editor or In a New Tab.
Materialized View Viewer
When you open a materialized view, Materialized View Viewer displays data as a grid. Data can be displayed in two
modes: Grid View and Form View. See Data Viewer for details.
Functions
Functions are schema objects that consist a set of SQL statements and stored in the server. In the main window, click
Function to open the function object list.
Function Wizard
Click New Function from the object toolbar. Function Wizard will pop up and it allows you to create a function easily.
1. Define the parameters. Set the Mode, Type Schema, Type, Name and Default Value under the corresponding columns.
2. Select the Schema and Return Type from the list.
Hint: Once uncheck the Show wizard next time option, you can go to Options to enable it.
Function Designer
Function Designer is the basic Navicat tool for working with functions. You can enter a valid SQL statement in the
Definition tab. This can be a simple statement such as SELECT or INSERT, or it can be a compound statement written
for details.
Results
To execute the function, click Execute on the toolbar. If the SQL statement is correct, the statement will be executed and, if the statement is supposed to return data, the Result tab opens with the data returned. If an error occurs while executing the function, execution stops, the appropriate error message is displayed. If the function
48
requires input parameters, the Input Parameter dialog will pop up. Check the Raw Mode option to pass the inputted values to the function without quotation marks.
Note: Navicat supports to return 10 result sets.
Debug (Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
Before debugging PL/pgSQL functions, you need to install the pldbgapi extension. You can right-click anywhere in the function object list and select Install pldbgapi Extension.
Note: This option is only available for PostgreSQL 9.1 or above. If your server is PostgreSQL 8.3 to 9.0, you need to enable the debugger plugin manually in the server.
Then, open a PL/pgSQL function, click
Debug on the toolbar to launch the PostgreSQL Debugger .
Types
Types registers new data types for use in the current database. In the main window, click Others -> Type to open the type object list.
You can create Base / Composite / Enum / Range types. Click the down arrow next to New Type from the object toolbar and choose the type.
Type Designer
Type Designer is the basic Navicat tool for working with types. It allows you to create or edit a type.
Note: The tabs and options in the designer depend on the server version and the type you are chosen.
Foreign Servers
A foreign server typically encapsulates connection information that a foreign-data wrapper uses to access an external data resource. In the main window, click Others -> Foreign Server to open the foreign server object list.
To install the postgres_fdw extension for accessing data stored in external PostgreSQL servers, you can right-click anywhere in the foreign server object list and select Install postgres_fdw Extension.
Foreign Server Designer
Foreign Server Designer is the basic Navicat tool for working with foreign servers. It allows you to create or edit a foreign server.
Other Objects
Navicat also allows you to manage other PostgreSQL objects: Aggregate, Conversion, Domain, Index, Operator,
Operator Class, Sequence, Trigger, Tablespace, Cast and Language. In the main window, click Others and select an object to open the object list.
49
Maintain Objects
Navicat provides a complete solution for maintaining PostgreSQL objects.
1. In the main window, select objects in the Navigation pane or the Objects tab.
2. Right-click the selected objects.
3. Choose Maintain, and then choose a maintain option the from the pop-up menu.
4. Results show in a pop-up window.
Database
Option
Allow
Disallow
Analyze Database
Vacuum Database
Reindex Database
Description
Users can connect to the database.
No users can connect to the database.
Collect statistics about the database.
Garbage-collect and optionally analyze the database.
Recreate all indexes within the database.
Table / Materialized View
Option
Analyze Tables / Analyze
Materialized Views
Vacuum Tables / Vacuum
Materialized Views
Reindex Tables / Reindex
Materialized Views
SQL Server
Description
Collect statistics about the contents of the table.
Garbage-collect and optionally analyze the table.
Recreate all indexes of the table.
Databases & Schemas
To start working with the server objects, you should create and open a connection. If the server is empty, you need to create a new database and/or a new schema.
Create a new database
1. In the Navigation pane, right-click a connection and choose New Database.
2. Enter the database properties in the pop-up window.
Edit an existing database
1. In the Navigation pane, right-click a database and choose Edit Database.
50
2. Edit the database properties in the pop-up window.
Create a new schema
1. In the Navigation pane, right-click a database and choose New Schema.
2. Enter the schema properties in the pop-up window.
Edit an existing schema
1. In the Navigation pane, right-click a schema and choose Edit Schema.
2. Edit the schema properties in the pop-up window.
Tables
Tables are database objects that contain all data in a database. A table is a set of rows and columns, and their intersections are fields. In the main window, click Table to open the table object list.
There are two ways to open a table with graphical fields, right-click a table and choose:
Option Description
Open Table Navicat loads all your BLOB fields (images) while opening the table.
Open Table (Quick) Faster performance for opening the graphical table, as BLOB fields (images) will not be loaded until you click on the cell. (It is invisible by default until you hold down the SHIFT key when right-clicking the table.)
You can create a table shortcut by right-clicking a table in the Objects tab and select Create Open Table Shortcut from the pop-up menu. This option is used to provide a convenient way for you to open your table for entering data directly without activating the Navicat main window.
To empty a table, right-click the selected table and choose Empty Table from the pop-up menu.
Table Designer
Table Designer is the basic Navicat tool for working with tables. It allows you to create, edit and drop table's fields, indexes, foreign keys, and much more.
In the Fields tab, you can search a field name by choosing Edit -> Find or pressing CTRL+F. When creating a new table, you are allowed to insert fields or rearrange the order of the fields.
Note: The tabs and options in the designer depend on the server version.
Table Viewer
When you open a table, Table Viewer displays data as a grid. Data can be displayed in two modes: Grid View and
Form View. See Data Viewer for details.
51
Views
A view allows users to access a set of tables as if it is a single table. You can use views to restrict access to rows. In the main window, click View to open the view object list.
You can create a view shortcut by right-clicking a view in the Objects tab and select Create Open View Shortcut from the pop-up menu. This option is used to provide a convenient way for you to open your view directly without activating the Navicat main window.
View Designer
View Designer is the basic Navicat tool for working with views. You can edit the view definition as SQL statement
(SELECT statement it implements) in the Definition tab. To customize the view of the editor and find out more features
choose File -> Import SQL.
Button
Preview
Explain
View Builder
Description
Preview the data of the view.
Show the Query Plan of the view.
Build the view visually. It allows you to create and edit views without knowledge
of SQL. See SQL Builder for details.
Format the codes with the Beautify SQL settings in Editor.
Beautify SQL
Hint: You can choose to show the preview results below the editor or in a new tab by selecting View -> Show Result
-> Below Query Editor or In a New Tab.
View Viewer
When you open a view, View Viewer displays data as a grid. Data can be displayed in two modes: Grid View and Form
View. See Data Viewer for details.
Procedures / Functions
Procedures and functions are schema objects that consist a set of SQL statements and stored in the server. In the main window, click Function to open the function object list.
Function Wizard
Click New Function from the object toolbar. Function Wizard will pop up and it allows you to create a procedure/function easily.
1. Specify the Name of the routine and select the type of the routine: Procedure or Function.
2. Define the parameters. Set the Name, Type Schema, Type, Default Value, Output and/or Read Only under the corresponding columns.
3. If you create a function, select the Function Type from the list. Then, choose the Schema and the Return
Type if necessary.
52
4. Set the advanced options.
Hint: Once uncheck the Show wizard next time option, you can go to Options to enable it.
Function Designer
Function Designer is the basic Navicat tool for working with procedures/functions. You can enter a valid SQL statement in the Definition tab. To customize the view of the editor and find out more features for SQL editing, see
The Code Outline pane displays information about the procedure/function including parameters, code body, etc. If the
Code Outline pane is hidden, choose View -> Code Outline.
Hint: Available only in Non-Essentials Edition.
Button Description
Refresh the code outline.
Show the detail view of the code outline.
Turn mouse over highlight on or off.
Expand the selected item.
Collapse the selected item.
Toggle sorting by position.
Results
To execute the procedure/function, click Execute on the toolbar. If the SQL statement is correct, the statement will be executed and, if the statement is supposed to return data, the Result tab opens with the data returned. If an error occurs while executing the procedure/function, execution stops, the appropriate error message is displayed. If the procedure/function requires input parameters, the Input Parameter dialog will pop up. Check the Raw Mode option to pass the inputted values to the procedure/function without quotation marks.
Note: Navicat supports to return 10 result sets.
Other Objects
Navicat also allows you to manage other SQL Server objects: Index, Synonym, Trigger, Backup Device, Linked Server,
Server Trigger, Assembly, Database Trigger, Partition Function and Partition Schema. In the main window, click
Others and select an object to open the object list.
Maintain Objects
Navicat provides a complete solution for maintaining SQL Server objects.
1. In the main window, select objects in the Navigation pane or the Objects tab.
2. Right-click the selected objects.
3. Choose Maintain, and then choose a maintain option the from the pop-up menu.
53
4. Results show in a pop-up window.
Database
Option
Read Write
Read Only
Online
Offline
Emergency
Multi User
Single User
Restricted User
Assembly
Option
Visible
Invisible
Description
Set the database to Read and Write mode.
Set the database to Read Only mode.
Bring the database online.
Take the database offline.
Set the database to the Emergency state.
Set the database to Multi User mode.
Set the database to Single User mode.
Set the database to Restricted User mode.
Description
Set the assembly to visible.
Set the assembly to not visible.
Index
Option
Rebuild
Reorganize
Disable
Description
Rebuild and enable the index.
Reorganize the enabled index.
Disable the index.
Trigger / Database Trigger / Server Trigger
Option
Enable
Disable
Description
Enable the trigger.
Disable the trigger.
SQLite
Databases
To start working with the server objects, you should create and open a connection. The database file set in the General tab of the Connection window is named as the main database.
Attach a database file
1. In the Navigation pane, right-click a connection and choose Attach Database.
2. Enter the database properties in the pop-up window.
Detach a database
54
1. In the Navigation pane, right-click an attached database and choose Detach Database.
Encrypt main database
1. In the Navigation pane, right-click the main database and choose Encrypt Database.
2. Enter the password in the pop-up window.
Decrypt main database
1. In the Navigation pane, right-click the main database and choose Decrypt Database.
2. Confirm decrypting in the dialog window.
View the sqlite_master table
1. In the Navigation pane, right-click a database and choose View Master Table.
2. The sqlite_master table opens in Table Viewer.
Tables
Tables are database objects that contain all data in a database. A table is a set of rows and columns, and their intersections are fields. In the main window, click Table to open the table object list.
You can create a table shortcut by right-clicking a table in the Objects tab and select Create Open Table Shortcut from the pop-up menu. This option is used to provide a convenient way for you to open your table for entering data directly without activating the Navicat main window.
To empty a table, right-click the selected table and choose Empty Table from the pop-up menu.
Table Designer
Table Designer is the basic Navicat tool for working with tables. It allows you to create, edit and drop table's fields, indexes, foreign keys, and much more.
In the Fields tab, you can search a field name by choosing Edit -> Find or pressing CTRL+F.
Note: The tabs and options in the designer depend on the server version.
Table Viewer
When you open a table, Table Viewer displays data as a grid. Data can be displayed in two modes: Grid View and
Form View. See Data Viewer for details.
Views
A view allows users to access a set of tables as if it is a single table. You can use views to restrict access to rows. In the main window, click View to open the view object list.
55
You can create a view shortcut by right-clicking a view in the Objects tab and select Create Open View Shortcut from the pop-up menu. This option is used to provide a convenient way for you to open your view directly without activating the Navicat main window.
View Designer
View Designer is the basic Navicat tool for working with views. You can edit the view definition as SQL statement
(SELECT statement it implements) in the Definition tab. To customize the view of the editor and find out more features
choose File -> Import SQL.
Button
Preview
Explain
View Builder
Description
Preview the data of the view.
Show the Query Plan of the view.
Build the view visually. It allows you to create and edit views without
knowledge of SQL. See SQL Builder for details.
Format the codes with the Beautify SQL settings in Editor.
Beautify SQL
Hint: You can choose to show the preview results below the editor or in a new tab by selecting View -> Show Result
-> Below Query Editor or In a New Tab.
View Viewer
When you open a view, View Viewer displays data as a grid. Data can be displayed in two modes: Grid View and Form
View. See Data Viewer for details.
Other Objects
Navicat also allows you to manage other SQLite objects: Index and Trigger. In the main window, click the corresponding button from the main toolbar to open the object list.
Maintain Objects
Navicat provides a complete solution for maintaining SQLite objects.
1. In the main window, select objects in the Navigation pane or the Objects tab.
2. Right-click the selected objects.
3. Choose Maintain, and then choose a maintain option the from the pop-up menu.
4. Results show in a pop-up window.
Database
Option
Analyze Database
Vacuum Database
Description
Collect statistics about the database.
Rebuild the database file. It only works on the main database.
56
Reindex Database
Table
Option
Analyze Tables
Reindex Tables
Get Rows Count
Index
Option
Reindex
Delete and recreate all indexes within the database.
Description
Collect statistics about the contents of the table.
Delete and recreate all indexes of the table.
Count the number of rows in the table.
Description
Delete and recreate the index.
57
Chapter 6 - Data Viewer
About Data Viewer
Data Viewer displays the data as a grid or a form. It allows you to view, update, insert, or delete data. To switch the view, click or at the bottom.
Note: Form View is available only in Non-Essentials Edition.
The toolbar of Data Viewer provides the following functions for managing data:
Begin Transaction / Commit / Rollback
Click Begin Transaction to start a transaction. To make permanent all changes performed in the transaction, click Commit. Or, click Rollback to undo work done in the current transaction.
the data viewer.
Allow you to view and edit the content of TEXT, BLOB and BFile fields.
Note: Only Oracle supports BFile.
Allow you to filter records by creating and applying filter criteria for the data grid.
Sort Records by custom order.
Import data from files.
Export data to files.
Grid View & Form View
Use Navigation Bar
Data Viewer provides a convenient way to navigate among the records/pages using the Navigation Bar buttons.
58
Button Description
Add Record - enter a new record. At any point when you are working in the data viewer, click on this button to get a blank display for a record.
Delete Records - delete an existing record.
Apply Changes - apply the changes.
Discard Changes - remove all edits made to the current record.
Refresh - refresh the data.
Stop - stop when loading enormous data from server.
First Page - move to first page.
First Record - move to the first record.
Previous Page - move to previous page.
Previous Record - move one record back (if there is one) from the current record.
Next Page - move to next page.
Next Record - move one record ahead.
Last Page - move to last page.
Last Record - move to the last record.
Limit Record Setting - set number of records showing on each page.
Grid View - switch to grid view.
Form View - switch to form view.
Use the Limit Record Setting button to enter to the edit mode.
Limit Records
records per page
Check this option if you want to limit the number of records showed on each page. Otherwise, all records will be displayed in one single page. And, set the value in the edit box. The number representing the number of records showed per page.
Record a of b in page c
The Record/Page Indicator displays the numbers representing the selected record and page. a - the selected record. b - number of records in the current page. c - the current page.
59
Edit Records
The navigation bar allows you to switch the records quickly, insert, update or delete records. View data as a grid is most helpful for entering new records and editing old records in a table.
To add a record
1. Make sure that your cursor is situated in the first blank cell on the table, then enter the desired data. If you are adding the new record into an existing table, just simply click on an existing record and click from the navigation bar or press CTRL+N to get a blank display for a record.
2. Watch the graphics symbol in the record selectors box just to the left of your record. It will change from , which indicates that it is the current record, to , which indicates that you are editing this record.
3. Just simply move to another record to save the record or click from the navigation bar.
To edit a record
1. Select the record that you wish to edit by clicking in the specific field you want to change.
2. Type in the new data for that field.
3. Just simply move to another record, the new data will overwrite the previous data or click from the navigation bar.
Note: Close the table is another way to save the records.
To edit multiple cells with same data
1. Select a block of cells in the data grid.
2. Type in the new data.
Note: Changes will apply to multiple fields with compatible data type.
To delete a record
1. Select the record that you wish to delete.
2. Just simply right-click and choose Delete Record or click from the navigation bar.
Edit Records with Special Handling
To set the cell value to an empty string or NULL, right-click the selected cell and select Set to Empty String or Set to
NULL.
To view images in the grid, just simply choose View -> Display -> Show Image In Grid.
Note: Available only for MySQL, Oracle, PostgreSQL, SQL Server and MariaDB.
60
Hint: To view/edit images in an ease way, see Image Editor .
To edit a Date/Time record, just simply click or press CTRL+ENTER to open the editor for editing. Choose/enter the desired data. The editor used in cell is determined by the field type assigned to the column.
Note: Available only for MySQL, Oracle, PostgreSQL, SQL Server and MariaDB.
Date Time DateTime/Timestamp
To edit an Enum record, just simply choose the record from the drop-down list.
Note: Available only for MySQL, PostgreSQL and MariaDB.
To edit a Set record, just simply click or press CTRL+ENTER to open the editor for editing. Select the records from the list. To remove the records, uncheck them in the same way.
Note: Available only for MySQL and MariaDB.
61
To view BFile content, just simply choose View -> Display -> Preview BFile.
Note: Available only for Oracle.
To generate UUID/GUID, right-click the selected cell and choose Generate UUID.
Note: Available only for PostgreSQL and SQL Server.
Edit Records with Foreign Key (Foreign Key Data Selection - Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
Foreign Key Data Selection is a useful tool for letting you to get the available value from the reference table in an easy way. It allows you to show additional records from the reference table and search for particular records.
To include data to the record, just simply click or press CTRL+ENTER to open the editor for editing.
Just simply double-click to select the desired data.
Hint: By default, the number of records showed is 1000. To show all records, click . To refresh the records, click
or press F5.
Click to open a pane on the left for showing a list of column names. Just simply click to show the additional column.
To remove the columns, uncheck them in the same way.
62
Hint: To set column in ascending or descending mode, right-click anywhere on the column and select Sort -> Sort
Ascending / Sort Descending.
Enter a search string into the Filter edit box and press ENTER to filter for the particular records.
Hint: To remove the filter results, simply remove the search string and press ENTER.
Copy Data from Navicat
Data that being copied from Navicat goes into the windows clipboard with the fields delimited by tabs and the records delimited by carriage returns. It allows you to easily paste the clipboard contents into any application you want.
Spreadsheet applications in general will notice the tab character between the fields and will neatly separate the clipboard data into rows and columns.
To select data using keyboard shortcuts
CTRL+A
SHIFT+ARROW
Toggle the selection of all rows and columns in the data grid.
Toggle the selection of cells as you move up/down/left/right in the data grid.
To select data using mouse actions
Select the desired records by holding down the CTRL key while clicking on each row.
Select a block of cells.
Note: After you have selected the desired records, just simply press CTRL+C or right-click it and choose Copy.
63
Paste Data into Navicat
Data are copied into the clipboard will be arranged as below format:
Data are arranged into rows and column.
Rows and columns are delimited by carriage returns/tab respectively.
Columns in the clipboard have the same sequence as the columns in the data grid you have selected.
When pasting data into Navicat, you can replace the contents of current records and append the clipboard data into the table. To replace the contents of current records in a table, you must select the cells in the data grid whose contents must be replaced by the data in the clipboard. Just simply press CTRL+V or right-click and choose the Paste from the pop-up menu. Navicat will paste all the content in the clipboard into the selected cells. The paste action cannot be undone if you do not enable transaction.
Copy Records as Insert/Update Statements
To copy records as Insert/Update statement, right-click the selected records and choose Copy As -> Insert Statement or Update Statement. Then, you can paste the statements in any editors.
Copy Field Name
To copy field names as tab separated values, right-click the selected columns/data and choose Copy As -> Tab
Separated Values (Field Name only) from the menu. If you want to copy data only or both field names and data, you can choose Tab Separated Values (Data only) or Tab Separated Values (Field Name and Data) respectively.
Save Data as a File
You can save the data in the table grid to a file. Simply right-click a cell and choose Save Data As. Enter the file name and file extension in the Save As dialog.
Note: Not available when multiple selection.
Sort / Find / Replace Records
Sort Records
Server stores records in the order they were added to the table. Sorting in Navicat is used to temporarily rearrange records, so that you can view or update them in a different sequence.
Move over the column caption whose contents you want to sort by, click the right side of the column and select Sort
Ascending, Sort Descending or Remove Sort.
64
To sort by custom order of multi fields, click Sort from the toolbar.
Find Records
The Find bar is provided for quick searching for the text in the editor window. Just simply choose Edit -> Find or press
CTRL+F. Then, choose Find Data and enter a search string.
The search starts at the cursor's current position to the end of the file. There will not have differentiates when performing a uppercase or lowercase search.
To find for the next text, just simply click Next or press F3.
65
Replace Records
To open the Replace bar, simply check the Replace box and enter the text you want to search and replace.
Click Replace or Replace All to replace the first occurrence or all occurrences automatically.
If you clicked Replace All, you can click Apply to apply the changes or Cancel to cancel the changes.
Find Columns
To search a column, just simply choose Edit -> Find or press CTRL+F. Then, choose Find Column and enter a search string.
66
Filter Records
Use either of the following methods to filter the data in the grid:
Right-click a field and select Filter -> Field xxx Value from the pop-up menu to filter records by the current value of the selected column.
The Custom Filter dialog is provided for quick building a simple filter. Just simply right-click a field and select
Filter -> Custom Filter from the pop-up menu. Use character '_' to represent any single symbol in the condition and use character '%' to represent any series of symbols in the condition.
You can also customize your filter in a more complicated way by right-clicking a field and selecting Filter ->
Filter from the pop-up menu or clicking Filter from the toolbar. The Filter Wizard becomes visible at the top of the grid, where you can see the active filtering condition and easily enable or disable it by clicking a check box at the left.
Manipulate Raw Data
Navicat normally recognize what user has input in grid as normal string, any special characters or functions would be processed as plain text (that is, its functionality would be skipped).
Editing data in Raw Mode provides an ease and direct method to apply server built-in functions. To access Raw Mode, just simply select View -> Display -> Raw Mode.
Note: Available only for MySQL, PostgreSQL, SQLite, SQL Server and MariaDB.
67
Format Data View
Use the following methods to format the table grid:
Move Columns
1. Click on the column header and hold down the left mouse button.
2. Move the pointer until a double black line appears in the desired location.
3. Release the mouse and the column will move.
Freeze Selected Column
If there are many columns in the table and you want to freeze one or more columns to identify the record, just simply right-click the column you want to freeze and select Display -> Freeze Selected Column or select from the View menu.
The frozen columns will move to the leftmost position in the table grid. This action will locks the frozen columns, preventing them from being edited.
To unfreeze the columns, just simply right-click anywhere on the table grid and select Display -> Unfreeze Columns or select from the View menu.
Set Column Width
Click right border at top of column and drag either left or right.
Double-click right border at top of column to obtain the best fit for the column.
Right-click the column you want to set the column width with and select Display -> Set Column Width or select from the View menu. Specify width in the Set Column Width dialog.
Hint: The result only applies on the selected column.
Set Row Height
68
Right-click anywhere on the table grid and select Display -> Set Row Height or select from the View menu. Specify row height in the Set Row Height dialog.
Hint: This action applies on the current table grid only.
Show/Hide Columns
If there are many columns in the table and you want to hide some of them from the table grid, just simply right-click anywhere on the table grid and select Display -> Show/Hide Columns or select from the View menu. Select the columns that you would like to hide.
The hidden columns will disappear from the table grid.
To unhide the columns, just simply right-click anywhere on the table grid and select Display -> Show/Hide Columns or select from the View menu. Select the columns that you would like to redisplay.
Show/Hide ROWID
If you want to display or hide the rowid (address) of every row, right-click anywhere on the table grid and select Display
-> Show/Hide ROWID or select from the View menu.
The ROWID column will be showed in the last column.
Note: Available only for Oracle and SQLite.
Assistant Editors
Navicat provides powerful assistant editors to view and edit TEXT, BLOB, BFile and Dynamic Column fields content.
The editor allows you to view, update, insert, or delete data in a table. Click Text, Hex, Image, Web and Dynamic Column from the toolbar to activate the appropriate viewer/editor.
Note: Oracle BFile fields cannot be edited.
The Text pane allows you to edit data as a simple text. To change the syntax highlight, simply right-click the empty space and choose Language. Use the button on the navigation bar to update the changed records to the table.
The Hex pane allows you to edit data in hexadecimal mode. Use the button on the navigation bar to update the changed records to the table.
Note: Use the INSERT key on the keyboard to switch between Insert and Overwrite modes.
69
The Image pane allows you to show data as image. Use the Load, Save to disk and Clear buttons to load/remove the image from a file, and save the image to a file.
The Web pane allows you to show data with HTML codes as in a web browser.
The Dynamic Column pane allows you to edit dynamic column data in MariaDB. Use the and buttons on the left to add and delete values.
Filter Wizard
Filter Wizard allows you to facilitate creating and applying filter criteria that you specify for the table grid. Moreover, it allows you to save filter criteria as a profile for future use. Click Filter from the toolbar to activate the filter.
1. To add a new condition to the criteria, just simply click <Add>.
2. Click on the column box (next to the checkbox) and choose a table column.
3. Click on the operator box (next to the column box) and choose a filter operator. You can choose Custom from the list to enter the condition manually.
Filter Operator
is equal to <?> is not equal to <?> is less than <?> is less than or equal to <?> is greater than <?> is greater than or equal to <?> contains <?>
Result
My_Field = 'your_value'
My_Field <> 'your_value'
My_Field < 'your_value'
My_Field <= 'your_value'
My_Field > 'your_value'
My_Field >= 'your_value'
My_Field LIKE '%your_value%'
70
contains (case insensitive) <?> My_Field ILIKE '%your_value%'
Available only for PostgreSQL. does not contain <?> My_Field NOT LIKE '%your_value%' does not contain (case insensitive) <?> begin with <?>
My_Field NOT ILIKE '%your_value%'
Available only for PostgreSQL.
My_Field LIKE 'your_value%' end with <?> is null is not null is empty is not empty is between <?> <?> is not between <?> <?> is in list <?> is not in list <?>
My_Field LIKE '%your_value'
My_Field IS NULL
My_Field IS NOT NULL
My_Field = ''
My_Field <> ''
((My_Field >= your_value1) AND (My_Field <= your_value2))
NOT ((My_Field >= your_value1) AND (My_Field <= your_value2))
My_Field IN ('aaa','bbb',...)
My_Field NOT IN ('aaa','bbb',...)
4. Click on the criteria values box (next to the operator box) to activate the appropriate editor and enter the criteria values. The editor used in criteria values box is determined by the data type assigned to the corresponding column.
5. Click on the logical operator box (next to the criteria values box) and choose and, or, and not, or not.
6. Repeat step 1-5 to add another new condition.
7. Click <Apply (Ctrl+R)> or press CTRL+R to see the result of the filtering you made.
Hint: To set compound filter, simply right-click on a selected condition and choose Indent or Outdent.
You are allowed to save filter criteria to and load them from profiles for future use. Just simply right-click on the Filter
Wizard and select Open Profile, Save Profile, Save As or Delete Profile.
71
Chapter 7 - Query
About Query
A query is used to extract data from the database in a readable format according to the user's request. Navicat provides two powerful tools for working with the SQL queries: Query Editor for editing the query text directly and Query Builder
Query to open the query object list. You also can click New Query in the main toolbar to create a new query without opening any connections.
To open a query using an external editor, right-click it and choose Open with External Editor. You can set the file path
of an external editor in Options .
Query Designer
Button
Query Builder
Beautify SQL
Run
Stop
Explain
Open an external SQL file in Navicat
Description
Open the SQL Builder for building queries visually.
Format the codes with the Beautify SQL settings in Editor.
Activate the assistant editors for viewing and editing data.
Export the result of the query.
Execute the query: Run, Run Current Statement, or Run Selected
(when highlighted SQL).
Stop the executing query.
Show the Query Plan of the query.
1. In the main window, click New Query.
2. In Query Designer, choose File -> Open External File.
3. Select the file and choose the encoding.
4. Click Open.
Save an opened external SQL file as a Navicat query
1. In Query Designer, choose File -> Save As Navicat Query.
2. Enter the query name and choose the save location.
3. Click OK.
Save a Navicat query as an external SQL file
72
1. In Query Designer, choose File -> Save As External File.
2. Choose the save path and enter the file name.
3. Click Save.
SQL Editor
SQL Editor allows you to create queries and views. It allows you to create and edit SQL text, prepare and execute selected queries. You can define multiple SQL statements in one query window. Drag-and-drop or double-click an identifier in the right Identifiers pane to add it to the editor.
Hint: SELECT statement will be automatically generated in SQL Editor while you build in SQL Builder.
Navicat provides a wide range advanced features, such as compelling code editing capabilities, smart code-completion,
SQL formatting, and more.
SQL Formatting
To change the SQL statement format, simply choose from the Format menu -
Indent
Increase/decrease indent for the selected lines of codes.
Comment
Comment/uncomment the selected lines of codes.
Convert case
Format the selected codes into upper/lower case.
Beautify SQL (Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
Format the selected codes with the Beautify SQL settings.
Beautify SQL With (Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
Change the SQL beautifier options.
Option / Button
Short brace length
Upper case keywords
Beautify
Description
Set the length of the short brace.
Format all the SQL keywords to upper case.
Save and apply the SQL beautifier options.
Minify SQL (Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
Minify the format of the SQL in the SQL Editor.
73
Code Completion (Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
Code completion feature in Navicat pops up a list of suggestions as you type your SQL statement in the editor. It assists you with statement completion and the available properties of database objects, for example databases, tables, fields, views etc with their appropriate icons and information.
You can update the code suggestions with latest database information by choosing Edit -> Code Completion -> Update Code Completion Info.
To invoke code completion, just simply press '.' for the available properties of database object currently in the scope.
When the suggestion list appears, press TAB to insert the first item. You also can select the needed item using UPPER
ARROW or DOWN ARROW and then press TAB or ENTER.
In addition, code completion can be invoked by typing a character or pressing ESC on your keyboard for SQL keywords/database objects.
If you select a snippet name from the list, the saved code will be inserted to the editor.
Hint: Resize the suggestion list by dragging the lower right corner.
You can enable or disable the code completion feature in Options .
Code Folding
Code folding feature enables you to collapse blocks of code such that only the first line of the block appears in SQL
Editor.
74
A block of code that can be folded is indicated by an icon to the left of the first line of the block. A vertical line extends from the icon to the bottom of the foldable code. In contrast, a folded block of code is indicated by an icon to left of the code block. You can fold the block by clicking or expand it by clicking .
Brace Highlight
Navicat supports to highlight the matching brace in the editor, i.e. () .
Note: The cursor must be on a brace to show the highlight.
Find and Replace
Find
The Find bar is provided for quick searching for the text in the editor. Just simply choose Edit -> Find from the menu or press CTRL+F, and then enter a search string.
75
The search starts at the cursor's current position to the end of the file.
To find the next occurrence, just simply click Next or press F3.
Replace
To open the Replace bar, simply check the Replace box. Then, enter the text you want to search and replace.
Click the Replace button to replace the first occurrence.
Click the Replace All button to replace all occurrences automatically.
There are some additional options for Find and Replace, click :
Option
Highlight All
Incremental Search
Match Case
Regular Expression
Whole Word
Description
Highlight all matches in the editor.
Find matched text for the search string as each character is typed.
Enable case sensitive search.
Search regular expressions.
Return the objects that match the entire word of the search string.
Copy with Quotes
To copy the SQL statement with quotes, just simply right-click the highlighted SQL. Then, select Copy with quotes and choose the format.
Word Wrap
In the Word Wrap mode, the horizontal scrollbar is removed. SQL statement that exceed the width of the editor window size wraps to the next line. To enable Word Wrap, choose View -> Word Wrap.
Zoom In/Zoom Out
76
Navicat has the ability to zoom in or zoom out the SQL in the editor.
The zooming options are available in View ->
Display -> Zoom. The same effect can be achieved with keyboard shortcuts.
Zoom In: [CTRL+=]
Zoom Out: [CTRL+-]
Reset: [CTRL+0]
Note: Editors that are opened in different tabs or windows will not be effected by the zoom.
SQL Builder (Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
Navicat provides SQL Builder for building queries visually. It allows you to create and edit queries without knowledge of
SQL. The database objects are displayed in left pane. Whereas in the right pane, it is divided into two portions: the upper Diagram Design pane, and the lower Syntax pane.
In Query Designer, click the Query Builder button to open the visual SQL Builder.
Note: SQL Builder supports SELECT statement only. Use SQL Editor for creating complex queries.
Drag a table/view from the left pane to the Diagram Design pane or double-click it to add it to query. To include a field in the query, check the left of the field name in the Diagram Design pane. To include all the fields, click at the left of the object caption.
To remove the object from the Diagram Design pane, click the cross button at the object caption.
To add the table/view alias, simply double-click the table/view name and enter the alias in the Diagram Design pane.
Hint: You are also allowed to set criteria by right-click any fields from the Diagram Design pane.
77
Set Field Association
To associate database objects by two fields, just drag one field from the object to another and a line will appear between the linked fields.
Hint: To delete all the links of some object, click button '-' next to the object alias.
Go to the Syntax pane to change the association between the links, click the operator and choose the properties item from the pop-up menu. You can change the association condition by choosing it from the list (=, <>, <, <=, >, >=). Click
OK to confirm the changes you made. Also you can change the type of Join.
Set Output Fields
The fields you have selected in the Diagram Design pane will be displayed in the Syntax pane which allows you to set their displaying order and modify the output fields of the query using <Distinct>, <func> and <Alias>.
<Distinct>
Enable this option if you wish the repeated records are not included into the query result.
<func>
Set the aggregate functions (SUM, MAX, MIX, AVG, COUNT) for each field.
<Alias>
Change the output query field name.
Set Criteria
To add a condition, click the <--> = <--> from the WHERE clause in the Syntax pane. Click <--> to choose the field from the list of all the table fields, available in the query. To define your own criteria, type your values directly in the Edit Tab.
Clicking = to set condition operator.
Set Grouping Criteria
You can set the conditions for grouping query records from the GROUP BY clause in the Syntax pane. They are set in the same way as setting criteria. The conditions will be included into the HAVING statement of the current query.
Set Sorting Criteria
You can set the way of sorting query records from the ORDER BY clause in the Syntax pane. To change the sorting direction, click on either ASC or DESC.
Set Limit Criteria
LIMIT clause is used to limit your query results to those that fall within a specified range. You can use it to show the first
X number of results, or to show a range X - Y results.
78
It is phrased as Limit X, Y and included at the end of your query. X is the starting point (remember the first record is 0) and Y is the duration (how many records to display).
Note: Available only for MySQL, PostgreSQL, SQLite and MariaDB.
Code Snippets (Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
Code Snippets provide a easy way for you to insert reusable code into SQL statements when working in the SQL Editor.
The Code Snippet pane is on the right side of the SQL Editor. If the editor window is docked to the Navicat main window, you can click the icon in the Information pane to open the library.
The library includes built-in and user-defined snippets. Choose a label from the drop-down list or enter a search string in the Search box to filter the list.
If you want to show the available snippets according to your database type, you can right-click anywhere on the library and dsiable Show Snippets For Other Database Type.
Built-in snippets are non-editable. A user-defined snippet can be edited by double-clicking it in the library.
If you want to hide the built-in snippets, you can right-click anywhere on the library and disable Show Preset Snippets.
Use Code Snippets
There are two ways to insert a snippet into the editor.
You can start typing the name of a snippet in the editor. Smart code completion will pop up a list of suggestions for the word completion automatically. Select a snippet name from the list, the saved code will be inserted to the editor.
79
You can simply drag and drop a snippet from the library into the editor.
After inserting the snippet with placeholders to the editor, you can easily navigate to them by clicking on one of the placeholders, and then using the TAB key and entering the information.
Create Code Snippets
You can create your own code snippets and add them to the library. To create a code snippet, select your desired code in the editor, then right-click and select Create Snippet.
Alternatively, click in the Code Snippet pane. If you use this method, you must manually enter the code in the New
Snippet window; code selected in the editor is not automatically added to the Code box.
Hint: Code snippets (.nsnippet) are stored in the snippets folder under the Profiles Location .
Option / Button
Untitled text box
Database Type
Label
Remarks
Code
Query Results
Description
Enter the name of the snippet that displays in the library and the code completion list.
Choose the database server type of the snippet.
Choose an existing label or enter a new label name for the snippet.
Enter a description for the snippet that displays in the library.
Enter the code.
Add a placeholder by highlighting any words in the code and click this button. The placeholder will be highlighted in light green.
Remove a placeholder by highlighting it in the code and click this button.
You can run the query in any servers. Select the target connection, database and/or schema from the drop-down list on the toolbar, and then click Run. If the query statement is correct, the query executes and, if the query statement is supposed to return data, the Result tab opens with the data returned by the query. If an error occurs while executing the query, execution stops, the appropriate error message is displayed.
80
The Result tab displays the result data, returned by the query, as a grid. Data can be displayed in two modes: Grid
View and Form View. See Data Viewer for details.
Note: Navicat supports to return 10 result sets.
You can choose to show query results below the editor or in a new tab by selecting View -> Show Result -> Below
Query Editor or In a New Tab.
You are allowed to run selected portion of query, just simply highlight SQL in SQL Editor and click Run Selected.
To run the current statement your cursor is on (position the cursor within the desired statement), just simply click the down arrow next to the Run button and select Run Current Statement.
Custom Tab Name
To customize the names of the result tabs, simply add -- NAME:tab_name or /*NAME:tab_name*/ before each
SELECT statement in the SQL Editor.
Show Profile and Status (Available only for MySQL and MariaDB)
To show the profile and status when running the query, simply choose View -> Show Profile and Status and click
Run on the toolbar.
The Profile tab displays the query profile: Table lock, System lock, Statistic, etc.
Note: For MySQL 5.0, supported from 5.0.37 or above. For MySQL 5.1, supported from 5.1.24 or above.
The Status tab displays the query status: Bytes received, Bytes sent, etc.
81
Query Parameters
Query supports using of parameters inside the query text. You can set query parameters to add variable values to a query each time you run it. The parameter should appear as an identifier with $ at its beginning, quote with [ ], e.g.
[$any_name].
Execute the query and the Input Parameter dialog is provided for you to enter the desired data you wish to search.
Debug Oracle Query (Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
To debug an Oracle query, click
Debug on the toolbar to launch the Oracle Debugger .
Enter the parameters if the query has input parameters.
82
Chapter 8 - Model (Available only in Navicat
Premium and Enterprise Edition)
About Model
Model is a powerful tool for creating and manipulating physical database models. In the main window, click Model to open the model object list.
Some of key features are listed here:
Create and manipulate a physical model graphically.
Reverse engineer a database/schema, tables or views to a physical model.
Forward engineer a physical model to a sql file or database/schema.
Create and edit table structures directly.
To create a model, click New Model from the object toolbar. The New Model window will pop up for you to select the Database and Version.
Open Containing Folder. If the model is synchronized to Navicat Cloud , it is stored in the Cloud.
Model Window
The Model Window consists of a toolbar, several panes and a diagram canvas for you to design your model. A model file can have more than one diagram. Each diagram is represented by a tab in the model. To create a new diagram, choose Diagram -> New Diagram from the menu bar.
83
Toolbar
The Toolbar is located near the top of the Model Window. You can use the toolbar to perform some basic tasks, such as adding tables, entities or views, applying Auto Layout feature, etc.
Explorer Pane
The Explorer pane has two tabs: Model and Diagram. The Model tab holds all tables, views or entities in the model, including those used in each individual diagram. You can simply drag an object from the Model tab and drop to the active diagram canvas. The Diagram tab holds all the objects (tables, views, foreign keys, layers, notes, images, etc) added to the active diagram. If the Explorer pane is hidden, choose View -> Show Explorer from the menu bar.
History Pane
The History pane shows all the actions that you have taken. Simply click an action to restore that state. If the History pane is hidden, choose View -> Show Explorer and Show History from the menu bar.
Properties Pane
The Properties pane includes the Model, Diagram and Object tabs for setting default properties for your model. You can edit the properties settings of the model, the active diagram and the selected objects quickly. If the Properties pane is hidden, choose View -> Show Properties from the menu bar.
Option
Begin Arrow Style
Black and White
Bold
Border Color
Cap Style
Case Sensitivity
Color
Dash Style
Database Type
Database Version
Diagram Notation
End Arrow Style
Font Bold
Font Color
Font Italic
Font Name
Font Size
Description
The style of the arrow's back.
Check this box to change the diagram color to black and white.
Check this box or press CTRL+B to bold the table, view, foreign key or shape.
The color of the shape's border.
The cap style of the line/arrow.
The case sensitivity of the table or view names. Available only for
MySQL and MariaDB models.
The color of the object.
The dash style of the line/arrow.
The database type of the model.
The database version of the model.
The notation of the diagram. The value for this can be Default, Simple,
IDEF1X, UML, IE (Crow's Foot) or Classic.
The style of the arrow's front.
Check this box to bold the note/label font.
The font color of the note, label or layer.
Check this box to apply an italic style to the note or label font.
The font name of the note, label or layer.
The font size of the note, label or layer.
84
Height
Height (pages)
Join Style
Left
Model Type
Name
Opacity
Referenced Cardinality
Referencing Cardinality
Schema Name
Show Name
Show Schema Name
Show View Relationships
Table Font Name
Table Font Size
Top
Visible
Width
Width (pages)
Overview Pane
The height of the object.
The height of the diagram (number of papers).
The join style of the line/arrow.
The number of pixels from the object to the left side of the canvas.
The type of the model.
The name of the object.
The transparency of the image/shape. The value for this can be between
0 and 100. Use 100 for opacity and 0 for transparent.
The foreign key cardinality of the referenced (parent) table.
The foreign key cardinality of the referencing (child) table.
The schema names of the table/view.
Check this box to show the name of the foreign key or shape.
Check this box to show the schema names of the tables/views in the diagram.
Check this box to show the relationship line of the view.
The font name of the tables.
The font size of the tables.
The number of pixels from the object to the top of the canvas.
Check this box to show the foreign key/relationship lines.
The width of the object.
The width of the diagram (number of papers).
The Overview pane displays the whole active diagram in the canvas. To zoom in or zoom out the selected area of the diagram, adjust the slider. If the Overview pane is hidden, choose View -> Show Properties and Show Overview from the menu bar. Same effect can be achieved with keyboard shortcuts:
Zoom In: [CTRL++] or [CTRL+Mousewheel Up]
Zoom out: [CTRL+-] or [CTRL+Mousewheel Down]
Diagram Canvas
You can design your diagram on the Diagram Canvas.
Build Diagram
Add Tables
To add a new table, click the button from the toolbar and click anywhere on the canvas. To add an existing table from the Explorer's Model tab, simply drag and drop the selected table from the Model tab to the canvas.
For Default diagram notation, the icon means the field is a primary key. The icon indicates that the field serves as an index.
85
Note: If you right-click a field, you can choose to add, insert, delete, rename the field and set the field as primary key.
The pop-up menu options of the table object in canvas include:
Option
Design Table
Add Related Objects
Add Field
Cut
Copy
Paste
Select All Tables
Delete
Rename
Color
Size to Fit
Bring to Front
Send to Back
Add Views
Description
Edit the table structure in a table designer, e.g. fields, indexes, foreign keys, etc. The tabs and options in the designer depend on the diagram database type you are chosen.
Add all related tables/views to the selected table.
Add fields to the existing table.
Remove the table from the diagram and put it on the clipboard.
Copy the table from the diagram to the clipboard.
Paste the content from the clipboard into the diagram.
Select all tables in the diagram.
Delete a table from the diagram or from both diagram and model.
Change the name of the table.
Change the color of the table.
Resize the table automatically to fit its contents.
Bring the table to the foreground.
Move the table to the background.
To add a new view, click the button from the toolbar and click anywhere on the canvas. To add an existing view from the Explorer's Model tab, simply drag and drop the selected view from the Model tab to the canvas.
Note: If you right-click the view connector, you can choose to add or delete vertices and change its color, or go to the source view or the target table.
The pop-up menu options of the view object in canvas include:
Option
Design View
Add Related Objects
Cut
Copy
Paste
Select All Views
Delete
Rename
Color
Size to Fit
Description
Edit the view structure in a view designer. The tabs and options in the designer depend on the diagram database type you are chosen.
Add all related tables/views to the selected view.
Remove the view from the diagram and put it on the clipboard.
Copy the view from the diagram to the clipboard.
Paste the content from the clipboard into the diagram.
Select all views in the diagram.
Delete a view from the diagram or from both diagram and model.
Change the name of the view.
Change the color of the view.
Resize the view automatically to fit its contents.
86
Bring to Front
Send to Back
Add Foreign Keys
Bring the view to the foreground.
Move the view to the background.
To add a foreign key, click the button from the toolbar and drag and drop a field from the child table to the parent table. To show/hide the linked name label, simply check/uncheck the Show Name option in the Properties pane.
When you move your mouse over a foreign key connecter, the border of the parent and the child tables turn to green and blue respectively. Also, the referenced fields and the referencing fields are highlighted.
The pop-up menu options of the foreign key in canvas include:
Option
Design Relation
Description
Edit the foreign key in a table designer. The options in the designer depend on the diagram database type you are chosen.
Cardinality on table_name1 Set the cardinality on table_name1: None, One and Only One, Many,
One or Many, Zero or One, Zero or Many.
Cardinality on table_name2 Set the cardinality on table_name2: None, One and Only One, Many,
One or Many, Zero or One, Zero or Many.
Add Vertex
Delete Vertex
Delete All Vertices
Go to Source
Add a vertex on a foreign key connecter.
Delete a vertex on a foreign key connecter.
Delete all vertices on a foreign key connecter.
Go to and select the source (child) table.
Go to Target
Paste
Select All Relations
Delete from Diagram and
Model
Color
Go to and select the target (parent) table.
Paste the content from the clipboard into the diagram.
Select all foreign keys in the diagram.
Delete a foreign key from both diagram and model.
Change the color of the foreign key.
Add Labels
Labels are typically used to help document the diagram design process. For example, to explain a grouping table objects. To add a new label, click the button from the toolbar and click anywhere on the canvas.
The pop-up menu options of the label object in canvas include:
Option
Edit
Cut
Copy
Paste
Select All Labels
Description
Change the content of the label.
Remove the label from the diagram and put it on the clipboard.
Copy the label from the diagram to the clipboard.
Paste the content from the clipboard into the diagram.
Select all labels in the diagram.
87
Delete
Size to Fit
Bring to Front
Send to Back
Add Notes
Delete a label from the diagram.
Resize the label automatically to fit its contents.
Bring the label to the foreground.
Move the label to the background.
Notes are typically used to help document the diagram design process. For example, to explain a grouping table objects. To add a new note, click the button from the toolbar and click anywhere on the canvas.
The pop-up menu options of the note object in canvas include:
Option
Edit
Cut
Copy
Paste
Select All Notes
Delete
Color
Size to Fit
Bring to Front
Send to Back
Add Images
Description
Change the content of the note.
Remove the note from the diagram and put it on the clipboard.
Copy the note from the diagram to the clipboard.
Paste the content from the clipboard into the diagram.
Select all notes in the diagram.
Delete a note from the diagram.
Change the color of the note.
Resize the note automatically to fit its contents.
Bring the note to the foreground.
Move the note to the background.
To add a new image, click the button from the toolbar and click anywhere on the canvas. Then, select an image file in the Open dialog box.
The pop-up menu options of the image object in canvas include:
Option
Reset Size
Reset Aspect Ratio
Cut
Copy
Paste
Select All Images
Delete
Bring to Front
Send to Back
Description
Reset the size of the image to its original size.
Maintain the image original width to height ratio.
Remove the image the diagram and put it on the clipboard.
Copy the image from the diagram to the clipboard.
Paste the content from the clipboard into the diagram.
Select all images in the diagram.
Delete an image from the diagram.
Bring the image to the foreground.
Move the image to the background.
88
Add Shapes
To add a new shape (line, arrow, rectangle, ellipse, user, database, cloud, trigger, server, desktop or mobile), click the
button from the toolbar and choose the type of shape. Then, click anywhere on the canvas. To show/hide the linked name label, simply check/uncheck the Show Name option in the Properties pane.
The pop-up menu options of the shape object in canvas include:
Option
Reset Aspect Ratio
Cut
Copy
Paste
Select All Shapes
Delete
Color
Border Color
Begin Arrow Style
End Arrow Style
Add Vertex
Delete Vertex
Delete All Vertices
Description
Maintain the shape original width to height ratio.
Only for rectangle, ellipse, user, database, cloud, trigger, server, desktop and mobile.
Remove the shape from the diagram and put it on the clipboard.
Copy the shape from the diagram to the clipboard.
Paste the content from the clipboard into the diagram.
Select all the shapes in the diagram.
Delete a shape from the diagram.
Change the color of the shape.
Change the color of the shape's border.
Only for rectangle, ellipse, user, database, cloud, trigger, server, desktop and mobile.
Change the style of the arrow's back.
Only for arrow.
Change the style of the arrow's front.
Only for arrow.
Add a vertex on a line or arrow.
Only for line and arrow.
Delete a vertex on a line or arrow.
Only for line and arrow.
Delete all vertices on a line or arrow.
Only for line and arrow.
Bring the shape to the foreground.
Move the shape to the background.
Bring to Front
Send to Back
Add Layers
Layers are used to help organize objects (e.g. tables, notes, images, etc) on the canvas. You can add all related objects to the same layer. For example, you may choose to add all your sales related tables to one layer. To add a new layer, click the button from the toolbar and click anywhere on the canvas.
The pop-up menu options of the layer object in canvas include:
Option
Cut
Description
Remove the layer from the diagram and put it on the clipboard.
89
Copy
Paste
Select All Layers
Delete
Color
Size to Fit
Bring to Front
Send to Back
Work with Diagram Canvas
Copy the layer from the diagram to the clipboard.
Paste the content from the clipboard into the diagram.
Select all layers in the diagram.
Delete a layer from the diagram.
Change the color of the layer.
Resize the layer automatically to fit its contents.
Bring the layer to the foreground.
Move the layer to the background.
Show Grid
To turn the grid on in the diagram canvas, choose View -> Show Grid from the menu bar.
Snap to Grid
To align objects on the canvas with the grid, choose View -> Snap To Grid from the menu bar.
Change Diagram Notation
To change the notation of the diagram, choose Diagram -> Diagram Notation from the menu bar.
Note: The options depend on the diagram type you are chosen.
Option
Default
Simple
IE (Crow's Foot)
IDEF1X
UML
Classic
Black and White
Show Schema Name
Change Diagram Dimensions
Description
The default notation style used in Navicat.
A simple notation style. The table or view will only show the name.
Crow's Foot notation style.
The ICAM DEFinition language information modeling method.
Universal Modeling Language style.
A classic notation style.
Change the color of the diagram to black and white.
Show the schema names of the tables and views in the diagram.
To change the number of pages used in the diagram, choose Diagram -> Diagram Dimensions from the menu and set the Width and the Height.
Align Objects
To align objects on the canvas, select more than one object (tables, views, notes, labels, images or shapes), then right-click and choose Alignment -> Align Left, Align Center, Align Right, Align Top, Align Middle or Align
Bottom.
90
Change Objects Distribution
To distribute objects on the canvas, select more than one object (tables, views, notes, labels, images or shapes), then right-click and choose Distribute -> Horizontal or Vertical.
Change Page Setup
To change paper size, orientation and margins, choose File -> Page Setup.
Apply Auto Layout
To automatically arrange objects on the canvas, click the button. To change the Auto Layout format settings, simply choose Diagram -> Auto Layout with from the menu and set the following options:
Option
Auto Diagram Dimension
Auto Size Tables To Fit
Quality
Object Distance
Reverse Engineering
Description
Choose the suitable diagram dimension automatically.
Resize the table to fit its content automatically.
The quality of the auto layout output.
The distance between the objects in the diagram.
Reverse Engineering is one of the key features of Model. This feature allows you to load already existing database structures to create new diagrams. It supports importing databases, schema, tables or views.
Navicat provides a step-by-step wizard for you to complete the task:
1. Select File -> Import from Database.
2. Select a connection.
3. Choose databases, schemas, tables or views you want to import.
4. Click Start.
You can also simply create a new model using reverse engineering in the Navicat main window. Right-click an opened database/schema, tables or views and select Reverse Database to Model, Reverse Schema to Model, Reverse
Tables to Model or Reverse Views to Model from the pop-up menu.
Forward Engineering
Synchronize to Database
The Synchronize to Database feature allows you to compare a model with an existing database or schema, states the differences between their structures, and offers synchronizing the structures in model to the target connection.
Navicat provides a step-by-step wizard for you to complete the task:
91
1. Select File -> Synchronize to Database.
2. Select the synchronization type.
3. Select the source databases, schemas, tables or views and the target connection from existing connections.
4. Choose the compare and execution options.
5. Click Compare to generate a set of scripts that show the differences between source and target tables.
6. Select the scripts you want to run.
7. Click Run Query.
Select Synchronization Type
Sync with selected schemas
Set the synchronization to work on all objects in the selected schemas.
Sync with selected objects
Set the synchronization to work on the selected objects only.
Select Schemas/Objects and Connection
In this step, choose one or more schemas or objects in model to compare to the target schemas or objects. If objects in model are from existing schemas, you can select the existing schemas. Otherwise, enter a target schema name in
Objects without schema will synchronize to this schema for the source model objects to compare to.
Then, choose target connection and database from existing connections.
Select Compare and Advanced Options
Note: The following options depend on the diagram database type you are chosen and sort in ascending order.
Compare auto increment value
Check this option if you want to compare the auto increment values of tables.
Compare character set
Check this option if you want to compare the character sets of tables.
Compare checks
Check this option if you want to compare checks.
Compare collation
92
Check this option if you want to compare the collations of tables.
Compare definers
Check this option if you want to compare the definers of views.
Compare excludes
Check this option if you want to compare excludes.
Compare foreign keys
Check this option if you want to compare table foreign keys.
Compare identifier with case sensitive
Check this option if you want to compare table identifier with case sensitive option.
Compare indexes
Check this option if you want to compare indexes.
Compare primary keys
Check this option if you want to compare table primary keys.
Compare rules
Check this option if you want to compare rules.
Compare tables
Check this option if you want to compare tables.
Compare triggers
Check this option if you want to compare triggers.
Compare uniques
Check this option if you want to compare uniques.
Compare views
Check this option if you want to compare views.
Continue on error
Ignore errors that are encountered during the synchronization process.
SQL for objects to be changed
93
Check this option to include all related SQL statements if database objects will be changed in the target.
SQL for objects to be created
Check this option to include all related SQL statements if new database objects will be created in the target.
SQL for objects to be dropped
Check this option to include all related SQL statements if database objects will be dropped from the target.
View Comparison Result
The Source Objects and Target Objects views show the differences between model and database/schema objects after the comparison of their structures, providing with the detailed SQL statements shown in the Queries for
Modification list.
The red item represents the non-existence for the other database/schema. The blue item represents the existence for the other database/schema, but different definition detected.
All the scripts are unchecked in the Queries for Modification list by default. Check the scripts you want to apply to the target.
You can highlight multiple lines of scripts, and then right-click to show the pop-up menu. Choose Checked Scripts
Detail to view the full SQL statements you selected.
Click the Run Query button to execute the selected query.
94
Export SQL
After finishing your model, you can save table structures and relations from the model into a script file. The Export SQL feature generates a SQL file for the script. To start the Export SQL feature, select File -> Export SQL from the menu bar.
General Properties
File
Set the output file name and location.
Objects
Choose objects in the model you wish to export.
Advanced Properties
Note: The following options depend on the diagram database type you are chosen and sort in ascending order.
Default Schema
Set the schema name for the objects without schema settings.
Include auto increment
Include table auto increment values in file with this option is on.
Include character set
Include table and field character set in file with this option is on.
Include checks
Include checks in file with this option is on.
Include collation
Include table collation in file with this option is on.
Include Drop SQL
Include drop object SQL statements in file with this option in on.
Include Drop With CASCADE
Include drop object SQL statements with cascade option in file with this option in on.
Include excludes
95
Include excludes in file with this option is on.
Include foreign keys
Include foreign keys in file with this option is on.
Include indexes
Include indexes in file with this option is on.
Include primary keys
Include primary keys in file with this option is on.
Include rules
Include rules in file with this option is on.
Include schema
Include the schema name in file with this option is on. Otherwise, only object names are included in SQL statements.
Include triggers
Include triggers in file with this option is on.
Include uniques
Include uniques in file with this option is on.
Server Version
Select the server version for the SQL file.
Model Conversion
Navicat allows you to convert your models from one database type to another database type, e.g. MariaDB 10.0 physical model to PostgreSQL 9.0 physical model.
During the conversion, all data types are converted automatically. The conversion process does not change the SQL syntax of views if converting from one database type to another. If the target database version is MySQL 4.0 or below, all views will be removed.
To convert an opened model file, choose File -> Convert Model to. Then, choose the Model Type and select the target Database and Version.
96
Preview and Print Model
To preview the pages before printing, simply click the button. The model can be printed to the printer or to various file formats.
Print to a printer
Choose File -> Print to send your diagram directly to the printer. You can set the printer option in the pop-up window.
Print to a file
Choose File -> Print As and choose the file format to create a PDF, PNG or SVG file of your diagram.
Model Hints and Tips
Navicat provides some useful hints to work on the model more effectively.
Locate Object in the Diagram Canvas
Double-click an object in the Explorer's Diagram tab will jump to the corresponding object in the Diagram Canvas.
Delete Object from Model
Select an object in the Diagram Canvas and press SHIFT+DELETE.
Open Table/View Designer
Double-click a table/view in the Explorer's Model Tab or the Diagram Canvas.
Get Table/View Structure (SQL Statement)
Select and copy a table/view in the Diagram Canvas, and paste it to other text editors.
Design Field without Table Designer
Select and click a table name and press TAB/DOWN ARROW to add/edit fields. Navicat will predict field types according to field names you entered.
INTEGER/int/int4/NUMBER
suffix "id", "no" (if it is the first column, it will be predicted as a primary key)
suffix "num"
"qty", "number"
exactly "age", "count"
DECIMAL(10,2)/decimal(10,2)/NUMBER/REAL/money
97
suffix "price", "cost", "salary"
FLOAT/double/float8/NUMBER/REAL/float
"size", "height", "width", "length", "weight", "speed", "distance"
DATE/datetime/date/TEXT/datetime2
"date", "time"
VARCHAR(255)/varchar(255)/VARCHAR2(255)/TEXT
other field names
Enter * before the field name to recognize as primary key. e.g. *itemNo:int.
Enter : between field name and field type to custom field type, e.g. itemName:varchar(255).
Reorder Field
Select a table in Diagram Canvas, then press and hold the SHIFT key. Use to drag the field to a desired location.
Delete Field
Select a table in Diagram Canvas, then press and hold the SHIFT key. Use to drag the desired field out of the table.
Add Vertex to Foreign Key/Line/Arrow
Select a foreign key/line/arrow in Diagram Canvas. Press and hold the SHIFT key and click on it to add vertex.
Delete Vertex on Foreign Key/Line/Arrow
Select a foreign key/line/arrow in Diagram Canvas. Press and hold the SHIFT key and click on the vertex.
Switch to Hand Mode
Press and hold the SPACE key, then move the diagram.
Select a Page in Print Preview
Press and hold the SHIFT key, then point to a page to show the page number.
Press and hold the SHIFT key, then click a page to jump to the corresponding page in Diagram Canvas.
98
Chapter 9 - Debugger (Available only in
Non-Essentials Edition)
About Debugger
Navicat provides two code debuggers: Oracle PL/SQL Debugger and PostgreSQL PL/pgSQL Debugger. With the debuggers, you can toggle breakpoints, fetch call stacks, view variable values, trace the code, etc.
Oracle PL/SQL Debugger
Oracle PL/SQL Debugger provides step-by-step code debugging for functions, procedures, packages and queries. To launch the debugger, click the Debug button in the designer of the mentioned objects.
You can perform the most commonly used actions for debugging on the toolbar or menu:
Button
Run
Description
Start running code in debug mode. The debugger executes your code until the end of the code or the next breakpoint is reached. Keyboard shortcut: F9
Step Over
Resume the execution. The current line will be executed. If the line is a procedure or function call, it will bypass the procedure or function. The counter will then move to the next line of code. Keyboard shortcut: F10
Step In
Step Out
Resume the execution. The current line will be executed. If the line is a procedure or function call, the counter goes to the first statement in the procedure or function.
Otherwise, the counter will move to the next line of code. Keyboard shortcut: F11
Resume the execution. The remaining part of the code within the current procedure or
99
function will be executed. Keyboard shortcut: SHIFT+F11
Step End
Resume the execution. The counter will jump to the last line of the procedure or function.
Stop
Stop stepping the code. The execution will stop and cannot resume it.
The Code pane shows the code of the procedure or function. You can add/remove breakpoints for debugging by clicking in the grey area beside each statement. To add a variable to the watch list, right-click the highlighted code and choose Add to Watch List. To show the debug tips, mouse-over the code.
The Call Stack pane displays a list of procedures and functions as they are called. To jump to a procedure or function, right-click it and choose Goto Function.
The Breakpoints pane displays all the breakpoints which allowing you to delete, enable or disable breakpoints. To enable/disable a breakpoint, check/uncheck the check box. Also, you can delete a breakpoint or all breakpoints, right-click a breakpoint and choose Remove Breakpoint or Remove All Breakpoints. To jump to the line of a breakpoint, right-click it and choose Goto Function.
The Local Variables pane displays all local variables and their values. Click on a value in the Value column to edit. To add a variable to the watch list, right-click it and choose Add to Watch List.
The Parameters pane displays the inputted parameters. To add a parameter to the watch list, right-click it and choose
Add to Watch List.
The Watch List pane displays information about the variables being watched, allowing you to add, delete or edit watch variables. To add a watch variable, right-click anywhere on the pane and choose Add Variable. Then, enter the
Variable Name. Click on a value in the Value column to edit. To delete a watch variable or all watch variables, right-click a variable and choose Remove Variable or Remove All Variable.
The Log pane displays the message log when debugging the code and the results after the function or procedure has completed the execution.
PostgreSQL PL/pgSQL Debugger
PostgreSQL PL/pgSQL Debugger provides step-by-step code debugging for PL/pgSQL functions. To launch the debugger, click the Debug button in the function designer.
100
You can perform the most commonly used actions for debugging on the toolbar or menu:
Button
Run
Description
Start running code in debug mode. Enter the Input Parameters if necessary. The debugger executes your code until the end of the code or the next breakpoint is reached.
Keyboard shortcut: F9
Step Over
Resume the execution. The current line will be executed. If the line is a function call, it will bypass the function. The counter will then move to the next line of code. Keyboard shortcut: F10
Step In
Step Out
Stop
Resume the execution. The current line will be executed. If the line is a function call, the counter goes to the first statement in the function. Otherwise, the counter will move to the next line of code. Keyboard shortcut: F11
Resume the execution. The remaining part of the code within the current function will be executed. Keyboard shortcut: SHIFT+F11
Stop stepping the code. The execution will stop and cannot resume it.
The Code pane shows the code of the procedure or function. You can add/remove breakpoints for debugging by clicking in the grey area beside each statement.
The Call Stack pane displays a list of functions as they are called.
The Breakpoints pane displays all the breakpoints. You can delete a breakpoint or all breakpoints, right-click a breakpoint and choose Remove Breakpoint or Remove All Breakpoints. To jump to the line of a breakpoint, right-click it and choose Goto Function.
101
The Local Variables pane displays all local variables and their values. Click on a value in the Value column to edit.
The Parameters pane displays the inputted parameters.
The Log pane displays the message log when debugging the code and the results after the function has completed the execution.
102
Chapter 10 - Data Migration Tools
About Data Migration Tools
Navicat provides a number of powerful tools for working with data, including Import Wizard, Export Wizard, Data
Transfer, Data Synchronization, Structure Synchronization, Dump SQL File and Execute SQL File. With those tools, you can migrate your data between different servers, databases and formats easily.
Import Wizard
About Import Wizard
Import Wizard allows you to import data to tables from CSV, TXT, XML, DBF and more. You can save your settings as
a profile for future use or setting automation tasks . To open the Import Wizard window, click
Import Wizard from the object toolbar.
Note: Navicat Essentials edition only supports to import text-based files, such as TXT, CSV, XML and JSON.
Hint: You can drag a supported file to the Table's Objects tab or a database/schema in the Navigation pane. Navicat will pop up the Import Wizard window automatically. If an existing table is highlighted, Navicat will import the file to the highlighted table. Otherwise, it will import the file to a new table.
Choose File Format (Step 1)
Select one of the available import types for the source file.
Note: The Excel file format is according to the Microsoft Office version installed in your computer.
Choose Source File (Step 2)
Browse the source file name. The file extension in the Import from text box changes according to the selected import type in Step 1. Select the Encoding for the source file.
Note: For TXT and XML file, you can select more than one file to import.
Excel
Sheets will be shown in the Tables list.
Access
If there is security settings, i.e. database password and user level security in your access file, you are required to input the necessary information. Click the Security button for more settings:
System Database File
Locate the system security file of the Access file, e.g. D:\Temp\Security.mdw.
103
Database Password
Enter the password for the database if any.
Logon Name
Enter the user name set by the user level security.
Logon Password
Enter the password of that user.
Hint: If you are importing from Access, the Add Query and Modify Query buttons open the Add Query dialog where you can construct query to import only certain rows from your source tables. In other words, import only rows that satisfy the criteria set by you. Tables and queries will be shown in the Tables list. To delete a query, select it and click the Delete Query button.
ODBC
Setting up an ODBC Data Source Connection
1. In Control Panel, select Administrative Tools.
2. Select Data Sources (ODBC).
3. Click the Add button in the User DSN tab.
4. Select the appropriate ODBC driver, such as Microsoft ODBC for Oracle and click the Finish button.
5. Enter the required information.
6. Click the OK button to see your ODBC Driver in the list.
Connecting to ODBC Data Source in Navicat
1. Click in Import from.
2. In the Provider tab, select the appropriate ODBC driver, such as Microsoft OLE DB Provider for ODBC
Drivers.
3. In the Connection tab, choose the data source from the Use data source name drop-down list and provide valid username and password.
4. All available tables will be included in the Tables list if connection is success.
Hint: If you are importing ODBC, the Add Query, Delete Query and Modify Query buttons open the Add Query dialog where you can construct query to import only certain rows from your source tables. In other words, import only rows that satisfy the criteria set by you. Tables and queries will be shown in the Tables list.
104
Choose Delimiter (Step 3) - TXT, CSV, XML
TXT, CSV
Record Delimiter
Specify the record separator of the file.
Delimited
Import the text file with delimited format.
Field Delimiter, Text Qualifier
Specify the field separator and the character that encloses text values.
Fixed Width
Import the text file with fixed-width format. To delimit the source column bounds, click on the desired position to create a break line. Simply drag it to move it or double-click it to remove it.
XML
Define a tag to identify table rows.
Consider tag attributes as table field
For example:
<row age="17">
<id>1</id>
<name>sze</name>
105
</row>
With this option is on, Navicat will recognizes "age" as a table field together with "id" and "name", otherwise, only "id" and "name" will be imported as table fields.
Note: Navicat does not support multiple level of XML file.
Choose Additional Options (Step 4) - TXT, CSV, XML, Excel, HTML
The following options depend on the file format chose in Step 1.
Field Name Row
Indicate which row should Navicat recognize as column titles.
First Data Row
Indicate which row should Navicat start reading the actual data.
Last Data Row
Indicate which row should Navicat stop reading the actual data.
Note: If no column titles are defined for the file, enter 1 for First Data Row and 0 for Field Name Row.
Date Order, Date Delimiter
Specify the format for date and the date separator.
Decimal Symbol
Specify the decimal separator for decimal number.
Time Delimiter
Specify the time separator.
DateTime Order
Specify the order of date and time.
Binary Data Encoding
Set binary data are imported as Base64 encoded or no encoding in the file.
Choose Target Table (Step 5)
You are allowed to define a new table name or choose to import into an existing table from the drop-down list.
Note: If you type a new table name in Target Table, the box in New Table will be checked automatically.
106
For importing multiple tables, all tables will be shown in the list.
Adjust Field Structures and Map Fields (Step 6)
Navicat will make assumption on the field types and length in the source table. You are allowed to choose desired type from the drop-down list.
Hint: For importing multiple tables, select other tables from the Source Table drop-down list.
If you are importing data into existing tables, you might need to map the source field names manually to the destination table or right-click and choose Smart Match All, Direct Match All and Unmatch All from the pop-up menu for quick mapping.
If you are importing via ODBC, the Condition Query button opens the WHERE dialog where you can specify a
WHERE clause to import only certain rows from your source tables. In other words, import only rows that satisfy the criteria set by you.
107
Hint: Do not include the word WHERE in the clause.
Choose Import Mode (Step 7)
Select the import mode that defines how the data being imported.
Hint: To activate the remaining options, you must enable Primary Key in Step 6.
Click the Advanced button for more settings. The following options depend on the connection server type.
Run multiple queries in each execution
Check this option if you want to run multiple queries in each execution.
Use extended insert statements
Insert records using extended insert syntax.
Example:
INSERT INTO `users` VALUES ('1', 'Peter McKindsy', '23'), ('2', 'Johnson Ryne', '56'), ('0', 'Katherine', '23');
Use empty string as NULL
Import NULL value if the source data field contains empty string.
Use Foreign Key constraint
Add foreign key if there is foreign key relations between tables.
108
Continue on error
Ignore errors that are encountered during the import process.
Include Unique, Index and Foreign Key
Include uniques, indexes and foreign keys during the import process.
Note: Support only when the file type is MS Access database or ODBC.
Create Auto Increment Fields
Create auto increment fields during the import process.
Note: Support only when the file type is MS Access database, Paradox file or DBase file.
Import Deleted Records
Import the deleted records in the DBase file during the import process.
Note: Support only when the file type is DBase file.
Save and Start Import (Step 8)
Click the Start button to begin the import process. The wizard will display the import progress, execution time, and success or failure messages.
After the import process finished, you can click the Log button to open the log file.
Hint: Click the Save button to save your settings as a profile.
Export Wizard
About Export Wizard
Export Wizard allows you to export data from tables, views, or query results to any available formats. You can save
Wizard from the object toolbar.
Note: Navicat Essentials edition only supports to export text-based files, such as TXT, CSV, HTML, XML and JSON.
Choose File Format (Step 1)
Select one of the available export formats for the target file.
Note: The Excel file format is according to the Microsoft Office version installed in your computer. Navicat 64-bit version does not support exporting to .mdb file.
109
Choose Saving Path (Step 2)
You can set the exported file name and location in this step.
Check the box next to the object name that you want to export. If an existing object is highlighted in , it will be checked automatically and assigned a default file name and location. The file extension in the Export to text box changes according to the selected export type in Step 1.
Note: For exporting query results, ensure the query is saved before running Export Wizard. Otherwise, no source object displayed in here.
Select All Button
Select All / Unselect All
Description
Select / unselect all source objects.
Export selected to same file Export the selected objects into the same target file.
Export selected to same Export the selected objects into the same directory. folder
Advanced Button
Encoding
Add timestamp
Description
Select the encoding for the exported file.
Check this option if you want your file name specifies the timestamp of the export is run. Select the date/time format from the drop-down menu.
Choose Columns for Export (Step 3)
You can select what fields to export. All the fields are selected in the list by default. If you want to omit some fields to be exported, uncheck the All Fields option first and then uncheck those fields in the list.
110
Note: For exporting query result, the wizard will skip this step.
Choose Additional Options (Step 4)
The following options depend on the file format chose in Step 1.
Include column titles
Field names will be included into the exported file if this option is on.
Append
If you selected the Export selected to same file option in Step 2, check this option to append records in the exported file.
Continue on error
Ignore errors that are encountered during the export process.
Use Attributes Format in XML
Attributes Format
<RECORDS>
<RECORD OrderNo="1003" ItemNo="1" PartNo="1313" Qty="5" Discount="0"></RECORD>
<RECORD OrderNo="1004" ItemNo="1" PartNo="1313" Qty="10" Discount="50"></RECORD>
</RECORDS>
Non-Attributes Format
<RECORDS>
<RECORD>
<OrderNo>1003</OrderNo>
<ItemNo>1</ItemNo>
<PartNo>1313</PartNo>
<Qty>5</Qty>
<Discount>0</Discount>
</RECORD>
<RECORD>
<OrderNo>1004</OrderNo>
<ItemNo>1</ItemNo>
<PartNo>1313</PartNo>
<Qty>10</Qty>
<Discount>50</Discount>
</RECORD>
</RECORDS>
Record Delimiter, Field Delimiter, Text Qualifier
Specify the record separator, the field separator and the character that encloses text values.
111
Date Order, Date Delimiter
Specify the format for date and the date separator.
Zero Padding Date
Add a leading zero to pad days and months to two digits if necessary.
Time Delimiter
Specify the time separator.
Decimal Symbol
Specify the decimal separator for decimal number.
Binary Data Encoding
Set binary data are exported as Base64 encoded or no encoding in the file.
Save and Start Export (Step 5)
Click the Start button to begin the export process. The wizard will display the export progress, execution time, and success or failure messages.
After the export process finished, you can click the Open button to open the exported file or the log file.
Hint: Click the Save button to save your settings as a profile.
Data Transfer (Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
About Data Transfer
Navicat allows you to transfer database objects from one database and/or schema to another, or to a sql file. The target database and/or schema can be on the same server as the source or on another server. To open the Data Transfer window, select Tools -> Data Transfer from the menu bar.
Load Profile button and select a profile from the list.
Hint: Profiles are saved under the Profiles Location .
Hint: You can drag tables to a database/schema in the Navigation pane. If the target database/schema is within the same connection, Navicat will copy the table directly. Otherwise, Navicat will pop up the Data Transfer window.
Choose Connections & Advanced Options (Step 1)
Choose Source and Target Connections
112
In the General tab, define connections, databases and/or schemas for Source Database and Target Database. You can click to swap the source and target settings.
You can also transfer your selected database objects directly to a text file. Select the File option. Choose the target path, SQL Format and Encoding for the file.
Note: Navicat Premium supports transferring table with data across different server types, e.g. from MySQL to Oracle.
Choose Advanced Options
In the Options tab, set the advanced options. The options depend on the source and target connection server types and sort in ascending order.
Continue on error
Ignore errors that are encountered during the transfer process.
Convert object name to
Check this option if you require convert object names to Lower case or Upper case during the process.
Create Records
Check this option if you require all records to be transferred to the destination database and/or schema.
Create tables
Check this option if you want to create tables in the target database. Suppose this option is unchecked and tables already exist in the target database/schema, then all data will be appended to the destination tables.
Create target database/schema if not exist
Create a new database/schema if the database/schema specified in the target server does not exist.
Drop target objects before create
Check this option if database objects already exist in the target database and/or schema, the existing objects will be deleted once the data transfer starts.
Drop with CASCADE
Check this option if you want to drop the dependent database objects with the cascade option.
Include auto increment
Include auto increment in the table with this option is on.
Include Character Set
Include character set in the table with this option is on.
113
Include Checks
Include checks in the table with this option is on.
Include Engine/Table Type
Include table type with this option is on.
Include Excludes
Include exclusion constraints in the table with this option is on.
Include Foreign Key constraints
Include foreign keys in the table with this option is on.
Include Indexes
Include indexes in the table with this option is on.
Include other table options
Include other options in the table with this option is on.
Include Rules
Include rules in the table with this option is on.
Include Triggers
Include triggers in the table with this option is on.
Include Unique
Include uniques in the table with this option is on.
Lock target tables
Lock the tables in the target database and/or schema during the data transfer process.
Use complete insert statements
Insert records using complete insert syntax.
Example:
INSERT INTO `users` (`ID Number`, `User Name`, `User Age`) VALUES ('1', 'Peter McKindsy', '23');
INSERT INTO `users` (`ID Number`, `User Name`, `User Age`) VALUES ('2', 'Johnson Ryne', '56');
INSERT INTO `users` (`ID Number`, `User Name`, `User Age`) VALUES ('0', 'katherine', '23');
114
Use DDL from SHOW CREATE TABLE
If this option is on, DDL will be used from show create table.
Use DDL from sqlite_master
If this option is on, DDL will be used from the SQLITE_MASTER table.
Use delayed insert statements
Insert records using DELAYED insert SQL statements.
Example:
INSERT DELAYED INTO `users` VALUES ('1', 'Peter McKindsy', '23');
INSERT DELAYED INTO `users` VALUES ('2', 'Johnson Ryne', '56');
INSERT DELAYED INTO `users` VALUES ('0', 'katherine', '23');
Use extended insert statements
Insert records using extended insert syntax.
Example: INSERT INTO `users` VALUES ('1', 'Peter McKindsy', '23'), ('2', 'Johnson Ryne', '56'), ('0', 'Katherine', '23');
Use hexadecimal format for BLOB
Insert BLOB data as hexadecimal format.
Use Single Transaction
Check this option if you want to use a single transaction during the data transfer process.
Use Transaction
Check this option if you want to use transaction during the data transfer process.
Choose Objects & Start Data Transfer (Step 2)
All the database objects are selected in the Database Objects list by default. If you do not want some database objects to be transferred, uncheck them.
115
Only the checked database objects will be transferred. However, if you add any new database objects in the source database and/or schema after you create your data transfer profile, the newly added database objects will not be transferred unless you manually modify the Database Objects list.
All the database objects being transferred to the target database/schema, all newly added database objects will also be transferred without amending the data transfer profile.
Then, click the Start button to execute the data transfer process.
The Message Log tab displays the execution progress, execution time, and success or failure messages.
Data Synchronization (Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
About Data Synchronization
Navicat allows you to transfer data from one database and/or schema to another with detailed analytical process. In other words, Navicat provides the ability for data in different databases and/or schemas to be kept up-to-date so that each repository contains the same information. To open the Data Synchronization window, select Tools -> Data
Synchronization from the menu bar.
All tables must contain primary keys and all table structures must be identical between the source and target. You could apply Structure Synchronization before Data Synchronization.
Load Profile button and select a profile from the list.
Hint: Profiles are saved under the Profiles Location .
Note: SQL Server 2000 does not support this feature. For Oracle server, BLOB, CLOB, NCLOB, LONG and LONG
RAW data are skipped during the data synchronization process. TIMESTAMP primary key cannot synchronize (insert, update) with Database Link to 9i server. RAW primary key cannot synchronize (insert, update, delete) with Database
Link to any server, without error.
Hint: Navicat Premium and Navicat for MySQL support synchronizing between MySQL and MariaDB.
116
Choose Connections, Mapping & Comparing Options (Step 1)
Choose Source and Target Connections
In the General tab, define connections, databases and/or schemas for Source Database and Target Database. You can click to swap the source and target settings.
Choose Table Mapping
In the Mapping tab, only tables which contain identical table names between the source and target are mapped in the list by default. If you do not want some tables to be synchronized, disable them manually from the drop-down list.
Choose Comparing Options
In the Options tab, set the comparing options.
Use Transaction
Rollback all data when error occurs.
Show synchronization detail
Check this option if you want to list the details process in the Message Log tab during the synchronization.
Insert records, Delete records, Update records
Check these options to compare such actions.
Start Comparison
Click the Compare button to compare the source and target databases.
View Data Comparison Results (Step 2)
After comparing data, the window shows the number of records that will be inserted, updated or deleted in the target tables. Uncheck the Show Identical Table And Others option to hide the tables with identical data and the tables with different structures. All tables with different data and all actions are checked by default. Uncheck the tables or the actions you do not want to apply to the target.
117
When you selected a table in the list, the bottom pane shows the data in source and target. Select an option from the list to show the differences. Values that differ between source and target are highlighted. Uncheck the records that you do not want to apply to the target.
Option
Difference
Insert
Update
Delete
Same
All Rows
Description
Show all records that are different in source and target tables.
Only show the records that do not exist in the target table.
Only show the records that exist in both source and target tables, but they have different values.
Only show the records that do not exist in the source table.
Show the records that exist in both source and target tables and they have identical values.
Show all records in source and target tables.
Click the Deploy button to show the scripts of all selected tables and records.
Edit & Execute Selected Scripts (Step 3)
You can view all scripts that will be executed in the target database in the Deployment Script tab.
Deployment Script Button Description
118
Edit
Copy to clipboard
Open in query editor
Open the Edit deployment script window to rearrange the order of the scripts. It is the same as clicking the Deployment Script button.
Copy all scripts from the Deployment Script tab to the clipboard.
Open a new query window and display the scripts.
In the Edit deployment script window, use the arrow buttons to move the scripts.
Check the Continue on error option to ignore errors that are encountered during the execution process if necessary.
Then, click the Execute button to execute the scripts.
The Message Log tab displays the execution progress, execution time, and success or failure messages.
Structure Synchronization (Available only in Non-Essentials
Edition)
About Structure Synchronization
Navicat allows you to compare and modify the table structures and other objects with detailed analytical process. In other words, Navicat compares objects between two databases and/or schemas and states the differential in structure.
To open the Structure Synchronization window, select Tools -> Structure Synchronization from the menu bar.
You can save your settings as a profile for future use. To open a saved profile, click the Load Profile button and select a profile from the list.
Hint: Profiles are saved under the Profiles Location .
Note: Available only for MySQL, Oracle, PostgreSQL, SQL Server and MariaDB. Navicat Premium and Navicat for
MySQL support synchronizing between MySQL and MariaDB.
119
Choose Connections & Comparing Options (Step 1)
Choose Source and Target Connections
In the General tab, define connections, databases and/or schemas for Source Database and Target Database. You can click to swap the source and target settings.
Choose Comparing Options
In the Options tab, set the database/schema comparing options. The options depend on the connection server type and sort in ascending order.
Compare Auto Increment Value
Check this option if you want to compare the auto increment values of tables.
Compare Character Set
Check this option if you want to compare the character sets of tables.
Compare Checks
Check this option if you want to compare checks.
Compare Collation
Check this option if you want to compare the collations of tables.
Compare Definers
Check this option if you want to compare the definers.
Compare Events
Check this option if you want to compare events.
Compare Excludes
Check this option if you want to compare table excludes.
Compare Foreign Keys
Check this option if you want to compare table foreign keys.
Compare Functions
Check this option if you want to compare functions.
Compare Identity Last Value
120
Check this option if you want to compare the identity last values of tables.
Compare Indexes
Check this option if you want to compare indexes.
Compare Partitions
Check this option if you want to compare table partitions.
Compare Primary Keys
Check this option if you want to compare table primary keys.
Compare Rules
Check this option if you want to compare rules.
Compare Sequences
Check this option if you want to compare sequences.
Compare Storage
Check this option if you want to compare storage.
Compare Tables
Check this option if you want to compare tables.
Compare Tablespace and Physical Attributes
Check this option if you want to compare tablespace and physical attributes.
Compare Triggers
Check this option if you want to compare triggers.
Compare Uniques
Check this option if you want to compare table uniques.
Compare Views
Check this option if you want to compare views.
Drop with CASCADE
Check this option if you want to drop the dependent database objects with the cascade option.
Start Comparison
121
Click the Compare button to compare the source and target databases.
View Structure Comparison Results (Step 2)
After comparing structures, the tree view shows the differences between the source and target databases or schemas.
All objects are checked in the tree view by default. Uncheck the objects you do not want to apply to the target. You can expend the table objects to view the detailed structure.
You can choose to group the objects in the tree views by object type or operation by selecting Group by object type or
Group by operation.
Operation Description
Object exists in both source and target databases/schemas, but they have different definition. The target object will be modified based on the source object.
Object does not exist in the target database/schema. It will be created in the target.
Object does not exist in the source database/schema. The target object will be deleted.
Object exists in both source and target databases/schemas and they have identical definition. No operation will be applied.
When you selected an object in the tree view, the DDL Comparison tab shows the DDL statements of that object in the source and the target, and the Deployment Script tab shows the detailed SQL statements of that object that will be executed in the target databases.
122
Click the Deploy button to show the scripts of all selected objects.
Edit & Execute Selected Scripts (Step 3)
You can view all scripts that will be executed in the target database in the Deployment Script tab.
Deployment Script Button Description
Edit Open the Edit deployment script window to rearrange the order of the scripts. It is the same as clicking the Deployment Script button.
Copy to clipboard
Open in query editor
Copy all scripts from the Deployment Script tab to the clipboard.
Open a new query window and display the scripts.
In the Edit deployment script window, use the arrow buttons to move the scripts.
123
Check the Continue on error option to ignore errors that are encountered during the execution process if necessary.
Then, click the Execute button to execute the scripts.
The Message Log tab displays the execution progress, execution time, and success or failure messages.
Dump & Execute SQL File
The Dump SQL File and Execute SQL File features allow you to dump your database, schema or tables to a SQL file or execute SQL files in your connection, database or schema.
To dump a SQL file
1. In the main window, right-click an opened database/schema or right-click the selected tables, and choose
Dump SQL File -> Structure Only or Structure And Data.
2. Browse the save location and enter a file name.
3. Click Save.
To execute a SQL file
1. In the main window, right-click an opened connection, database or schema and choose Execute SQL File.
2. Browse your SQL file, choose the encoding of the file and enable appropriate options.
Option
Continue on error
Run multiple queries in each execution
SET
AUTOCOMMIT=0 /
No Auto Commit
Description
Ignore errors that are encountered during the execution process.
Execute multiple SQL statements at once.
Disable auto commit mode.
3. Click Start.
Hint: You can drag and drop a .sql file to an opened connection, database or schema in the Navigation pane. Navicat will pop up the Execute SQL File window automatically.
124
Chapter 11 - Automation (Available only in
Non-Essentials Edition)
About Automation
Navicat allows you to automate executing jobs at one or more regular intervals, beginning and ending at a specific date and time using Windows Task Scheduler. Automation can be created for Query, Report printing, Backup, Data
Transfer, Data Synchronization, Import and Export from databases. You can define a list of jobs to be performed within one batch job, either run it manually or at the specified time/periodically. In the main window, click Automation to open the automation object list.
Hint: Batch Job files are saved under the Profiles Location .
Create Batch Job (Step 1)
Add Jobs to Batch Job
In the bottom pane of the General tab, select the job type, and then browse the connection, database and/or schema to locate jobs if necessary.
Move jobs from the Available Jobs list to the Selected Jobs list by double-clicking or dragging them. To delete the jobs from the Selected Jobs list, remove them in the same way. You are allowed to run profiles from different servers in a single batch job.
To rearrange the sequence of the selected jobs, use the Move Up or Move Down buttons.
125
If you want to backup whole server, you can select the connection and choose Backup Server xxx.
Report can be printed to physical printer or in various formats, e.g. Excel, HTML, PDF and more. Add a report to the
Selected Jobs list will allow you to set Report Type. To edit this setting later, right-click the report and select Adjust
Parameter from the pop-up menu.
Exported files or printed reports can be added to the batch job as mail attachment. Select the job in the Selected Jobs list and click Add Attachment or Remove Attachment to add or remove the mail attachment.
Set Email Notification
Navicat allows you to generate and send personalized e-mails with results returned from a schedule. The results can be emailed to multiple recipients. Check the Send Email option in the Advanced tab and enter required information.
From
Specify e-mail address of sender. For example, [email protected].
To, CC
Specify e-mail addresses of each recipient, separating them with a comma or a semicolon (;).
Subject
Specify the email subject with customized format.
Body
Write email content.
Host (SMTP Server)
Enter your Simple Mail Transfer Protocol (SMTP) server for outgoing messages.
Port
Enter the port number you connect to your outgoing e-mail (SMTP) server.
Use Authentication
Check this option and enter User Name and Password if your SMTP server requires authorization to send email.
Secure Connection
Specify the connection to use TLS, SSL secure connection or Never.
Send test mail
Navicat will send you a test mail indicating success or failure.
126
Save / Run Batch Job
Before setting schedule, click the Save button to save the batch job.
You can run the batch job manually by clicking the Start button. The Message Log tab displays the execution progress, execution time, and success or failure messages.
Schedule Batch Job (Step 2)
You can click Set Task Schedule to set schedule for running a batch job and click Delete Task Schedule to remove the schedule.
If you choose Run whether user is logged on or not in the General tab, then you must provide your OS user password in Windows Scheduler when you save the schedule.
running your schedule.
127
128
Chapter 12 - Backup & Restore (Available only in
Non-Essentials Edition)
About Backup & Restore
A secure and reliable server is closely related to performing regular backups, as failures will probably occur sometimes
- caused by attacks, hardware failure, human error, power outages, etc.
MariaDB database objects. For Oracle or SQL Server, users can use Oracle Data Pump
Build-in Backup & Restore Tool
About Build-in Backup & Restore Tool
The build-in backup & restore tool allows you to backup/restore database objects for your database. You can save your
settings as a profile for future use or setting automation tasks . In the main window, click
Backup to open the backup object list.
Containing Folder.
or SQL Server Backup & Restore .
Backup
General Properties
In this tab, you can view the server and database information. Enter a comment for the backup file if necessary.
Object Selection
In this tab, choose database objects you wish to backup.
Only the checked database objects will be backed up. However, if you add any new database objects in the source database and/or schema after you create your backup profile, the newly added database objects will not be backed up unless you manually modify the Objects list.
All the database objects being backed up to the target database/schema, all newly added database objects will also be backed up without amending the backup profile.
129
Advanced Properties
Note: The following options depend on the connection server type and sort in ascending order.
Lock All Tables
Lock all objects while backup is being processed.
Use Single Transaction (InnoDB only)
If a table uses InnoDB storage engine, with this option is on, Navicat uses transaction before the backup process starts.
Use specify file name
Define your file name for backup. Otherwise, your backup file will be named with "YYYYMMDDhhmmss" format.
Restore
Restore feature will firstly drop the selected objects of the database, then recreate the new objects according to your backup. Finally, inserting the data.
Restore a backup to an existing database/schema
1. In the main window, open a database/schema.
2. Click Backup and select an existing backup file.
3. Click Restore Backup from the object toolbar.
4. Choose the restore options and click Start.
Restore a backup to a new database/schema
1. Create and open a new database/schema.
2. Click Backup.
3. In the Objects tab, right-click anywhere and choose Restore Backup from.
4. Browse the backup file.
5. Choose the restore options and click Start.
Hint: You can also restore Navicat Mac and Linux backups.
Note: You must have Create, Drop and Insert privileges ( MySQL/MariaDB
or PostgreSQL ) to run the restore.
General Properties
In this tab, you can view the target server and database information and the backup file information.
130
Object Selection
In this tab, choose database objects you wish to restore.
Advanced Properties
Note: The following options depend on the connection server type, the backup file version and sort in ascending order.
Continue on error
Ignore errors that are encountered during the restore process.
Create indexes
Create indexes for the restored table with this option is on.
Create tables
Create tables during the restore process with this option is on.
Create records
Restore table records with this option is on. Otherwise, only table structures will be restored.
Create triggers
Create triggers for the restored table with this option is on.
Empty Table
Delete all table records in the database/schema.
Lock tables for write
Lock the tables to prevent user to modify tables during the restore process.
Overwrite existing events
Overwrite if events already exist in the database/schema.
Overwrite existing functions
Overwrite if functions already exist in the database/schema.
Overwrite existing indexes
Overwrite if indexes already exist in the database/schema.
Overwrite existing sequences
Overwrite if sequences already exist in the database/schema.
131
Overwrite existing tables
Overwrite if tables already exist in the database/schema.
Overwrite existing triggers
Overwrite if triggers already exist in the database/schema.
Overwrite existing types
Overwrite if types already exist in the database/schema.
Overwrite existing views
Overwrite if views already exist in the database/schema.
Run multiple queries in each execution
Check this option if you want to run multiple queries in each execution, which will make the restore process faster.
Use extended insert statements
Check this option if you want to insert records using extended insert syntax.
Example: INSERT INTO `users` VALUES ('1', 'Peter McKindsy', '23'), ('2', 'Johnson Ryne', '56'), ('0', 'Katherine', '23');
Use Transaction
Check this option if you want to rollback all data when error occurs.
Extract SQL
Extract SQL allows extracting SQL into a SQL file from your backup file.
Extract a backup file that is in your database/schema
1. Open a database/schema.
2. Click Backup and select an existing backup file.
3. Click Extract SQL from the object toolbar.
4. Choose the Extract SQL options and click Start.
5. Choose a path for the SQL file.
Extract a backup file that is in any location
1. Open any one of your databases/schemas.
2. Click Backup.
132
3. In the Objects tab, right-click anywhere and choose Extract SQL from.
4. Click Extract SQL from the object toolbar.
5. Browse the backup file.
6. Choose the Extract SQL options and click Start.
7. Choose a path for the SQL file.
Oracle Data Pump
About Oracle Data Pump
Data Pump includes two utilities: Data Pump Export and Data Pump Import. Data Pump Export is for unloading data and metadata into a dump file set. Data Pump Import is for loading an export dump file set into a target system. In the main window, click Data Pump to open the data dump object list.
To change the directory of the dump file set, right-click anywhere in the Objects tab and select Change Directory.
Note: Data Pump is added in Oracle 10g or later. You require SYSDBA role to perform it. Dump file sets are stored in servers.
Oracle Data Pump Export
Before executing Data Pump Export, click the Generate SQL button to review the SQL statements. Then, you can click the Execute button to run the export process.
You can save the Data Pump Export settings to a profile for future use. Data Pump Export profiles (.nbakora) are saved
To show the hidden tabs (advanced options), check the Show Advanced Options option.
General Properties
Job Name
Specify the name of the job.
Mode
Choose the export mode: FULL, TABLESPACE, SCHEMAS, TABLE.
Content
Choose which data to export.
Export Data
133
Select which objects to export. If you select the TABLE export mode, choose a schema in the Export Schema(Table
Mode) drop-down list.
Dump Files
Add dump files to the dump file set for the export.
Metadata Filter
In this tab, you can include or exclude specific objects types.
Data Filter
Query
Specify a subquery that is added to the end of the SELECT statement for a table.
Sample
Specify a percentage for sampling the data blocks to be moved.
Remap Data
In this tab, you can specify remap functions for column data.
Encryption
Encryption Content
Choose what to encrypt in the dump file set.
Encryption Algorithm
Choose a cryptographic algorithm to perform encryption.
Encryption Mode
Choose the encryption mode: Transparent, Encryption Password, Dual.
Encryption Password
If you choose the Encryption Password or Dual encryption mode, enter a password to encrypt data written to the dump file.
Confirm Password
Re-type your password.
Advanced Properties
134
Thread Number
Enter the maximum number of worker processes that can be used for the job.
Reuse File
Check this option to overwrite a preexisting file.
Enable XMLCLOBS
Check this option to enable data options for XMLCLOBS.
Enable Cluster
Check this option to start workers on instances usable by the job.
Service Name
Specify a service name that used to constrain the job to specific instances or to a specific resource group.
Source Edition
Specify the application edition.
Version
Specify the version of database objects to be extracted.
Compression Type
Specify which data to compress before writing to the dump file set.
Transportable
If you select the TABLE export mode, choose to never or always use the transportable option.
Database Link
Choose a database link to the remote database that will be the source of data and metadata for the job.
Estimate
Choose the estimate method for the size of the tables should be performed before starting the job.
Access Method
Choose an alternative method to unload data if the default method does not work.
Log File Directory
Choose the directory for saving the log file.
135
Log File Name
Enter the name of the log file.
Flashback SCN
Enter the system change number (SCN) that used to enable the Flashback Query utility.
Flashback Time
Select a timestamp for finding a SCN.
Oracle Data Pump Import
Before executing Data Pump Import, click the Generate SQL button to review the SQL statements. Then, you can click the Execute button to run the import process.
To show the hidden tabs (advanced options), check the Show Advanced Options option.
General Properties
Job Name
Specify the name of the job.
Mode
Choose the import mode: FULL, TABLESPACE, SCHEMAS, TABLE.
Content
Choose which data to import.
Table Exists Action
Specify the action to be performed when data are loaded into a preexisting table.
Import Data
Select which objects to import. If you select the TABLE import mode, specify the schema name in the Schema text box.
Dump Files
Add dump files to the dump file set for the import.
Network
Database Link
Choose a database link to the remote database that will be the source of data and metadata for the job.
136
Estimate
Choose the estimate method for the size of the tables should be performed before starting the job.
Flashback SCN
Enter the system change number (SCN) that used to enable the Flashback Query utility.
Flashback Time
Select a timestamp for finding a SCN.
Transportable
If you select the TABLE export mode, choose to never or always use the transportable option.
DataFile Path
Specify the full file specification for a datafile in the transportable tablespace set.
Filter
Include/Exclude
Include or exclude specific objects types.
Query
Specify a subquery that is added to the end of the SELECT statement for a table.
Remap Data
Remap Data
Specify remap functions for column data.
Remap DataFiles
Specify the remapping for data files.
Remap Objects
Remap Schemas
Specify the remapping for schemas.
Remap TableSpaces
Specify the remapping for tablespaces.
Remap Tables
137
Specify remap functions for tables.
Advanced Properties
Thread Number
Enter the maximum number of worker processes that can be used for the job.
Reuse DataFile
Check this option to reuse existing data files for creating tablespace.
Skip Unusable Indexes
Check this option to skip loading tables that have indexes that were set to the Index Unusable state.
Streams Configuration
Check this option to import any general Streams metadata that may be present in the export dump file.
Skip Const Error
Check this option to skip constraint violations and continue the load.
Disable Append Hint
Check this option to prevent the append hint from being applied to the data load.
Cluster
Check this option to start workers on instances usable by the job.
Service Name
Specify a service name that used to constrain the job to specific instances or to a specific resource group.
Target Edition
Specify the database edition into which objects should be imported.
Version
Specify the version of database objects to be extracted.
Access Method
Choose an alternative method to unload data if the default method does not work.
Partition Options
Choose how to handle partitioned tables during the import operation.
138
Encryption Password
Enter the password if an encryption password was specified in Data Pump Export.
Segment Attributes, Segment Creation, Storage, OID, PCTSpace
Choose the objects that the transformations to be applied to.
Log File Directory
Choose the directory for saving the log file.
Log File Name
Enter the name of the log file.
SQL Server Backup & Restore
About SQL Server Backup & Restore
The SQL Server Backup feature provides an important safeguard for protecting your SQL Server data. In the main window, click SQL Server Backup to open the backup object list.
If you want to backup with the setting of an existing backup file, you can right-click a backup file in the Objects tab and choose Backup From This Setting.
Note: Backup files are stored in servers.
If you want to restore from a backup file that is not listed in the Objects tab, you can right-click anywhere in the Object pane and choose Restore From File.
SQL Server Backup
Before starting the backup process, click the Generate SQL button to review the SQL statements. Then, you can click the Backup button to run the backup process.
To show the hidden tabs (advanced options), check the Show Advanced Options option.
General Properties
Backup Set Name
Specify the name of the backup set.
Description
139
Specify the description of the backup set.
Backup Type
Choose the type of the backup that you want to perform: Full Backup, Differential Backup, Transaction-Log Backup.
Copy-only
Check this option to specify that the backup is a copy-only backup.
New Media Set
Create a new media set for this backup. To add backup devices or files to the list, click the Add device button.
Existing Media Set
Choose an existing media set for the backup.
Components
In this tab, you can choose to backup the whole database, the partial database, or specific files or groups.
Advanced Properties
Never Expire
Specify the backup set never expires.
Expire After
Specify the number of days that must elapse before this backup media set can be overwritten.
Expire On
Specify when the backup set expires and can be overwritten.
Password
Enter a password for the backup set.
Format media set
Check this option to specify that a new media set be created.
New Name
Enter the name of the new media set.
Description
Specify the description of the media set.
140
Overwrite all backups
Check this option to specify that all backup sets should be overwritten, but preserves the media header.
Check media name and backup set expiration
Check this option to check the expiration date and time of the backup sets on the media before overwriting them.
Media Set Name
Specify the media name for the entire backup media set.
Password
Enter a password for the media set.
Truncate the transaction log
Choose this option to truncate the transaction log.
Backup the tail log and set database to recovery state
Choose this option to back up the tail of the log and leaves the database in the RESTORING state.
Verify backup
Check this option to verify the backup.
Perform checksum
Check this option to enable the backup checksums.
Continue on error
Ignore errors (such as invalid checksums or torn pages) that are encountered during this backup.
Compression
Choose whether backup compression is performed on this backup.
SQL Server Restore
Before starting the restore process, click the Generate SQL button to review the SQL statements. Then, you can click the Restore button to run the restore process.
General Properties
Restore to database
Select a database to restore.
141
Source of backup set
If you chose Restore From File in the Objects tab, you can add backup devices or files to the list by clicking the Add
device button.
Latest possible
Choose this option if do not have the restore point.
Specific time
Choose this option to specify that the database be restored to the state it was in as of the date and time.
Marked transaction
Choose this option to recover to a specified recovery point.
Include marked transaction
Check this option to include the specified transaction in the recovery.
Include marked transaction
Check this option to include the specified transaction in the recovery.
Restore plan
If you chose Restore From File in the Objects tab, you can choose the database backup files from the list.
Advanced Properties
Restore database files to
Specify that the data or log file should be moved by restoring it to the Restore To location.
WITH REPLACE
Check this option to include the WITH REPLACE argument.
WITH RESTRICTED_USER
Check this option to include the WITH RESTRICTED_USER argument.
WITH KEEP_REPLICATION
Check this option to include the WITH KEEP_REPLICATION argument.
RECOVERY
Choose this option to roll back all uncommitted transactions.
142
NORECOVERY
Choose this option to not roll back the uncommitted transactions.
STANDBY
Specify a Standby file that allows the recovery effects to be undone.
143
Chapter 13 - Report (Available only in Navicat
Premium and Enterprise Edition)
About Report
The Report feature helps to deliver data in your database in a presentable manner and to turn it into valuable information. Various kinds of reports can be built easily such as invoice, statistics, mailing labels and more. You can
save your reports for setting automation tasks . In the main window, click
Report to open the report object list.
Containing Folder.
To view an archive report
1. Click the Open Report Archive button from the object toolbar.
2. Browse your archive file.
To print a report to a file
1. Right-click a report and choose Print Report As.
2. Choose the file type: PDF, HTML, Excel or Archive.
Report Data
Add Data Pipelines to Report
The Data tab allows you to select and manipulate the data needed for a report. These tasks are accomplished via two visual tools: the Query Wizard and the Query Designer. These tools greatly simplify the often-difficult task of data selection by giving you the ability to select data without requiring an in-depth knowledge of databases.
144
Report Query Wizard
You can select data from your database using an SQL query. This functionality is provided via query-based dataviews, which can be visually created using the Query Wizard and visually maintained using the Query Designer. To open the
Query Wizard, select File -> New under the Data tab and double-click the Query Wizard icon.
1. Select the tables/views for the query. If you select more than one table/view, it will pop up the Join dialog for selecting the field join.
2. Select the fields for the query.
3. Add calculated fields to the query.
4. Select common fields for grouping.
5. Set searching criterias for the query.
6. Set order fields for the query.
7. Enter the query (data pipeline) name.
Report Query Designer
The Query Designer is used to modify query-based dataviews created by Query Wizard. The Query Designer presents a series of notebook tabs; each tab represents a different part of the query. To create the data pipeline using the Query
Designer, select File -> New under the Data tab and double-click the Query Designer icon. Or, you can edit the data pipeline by clicking the following buttons in the data pipeline:
To add a search criteria
In the Search tab, click on the field that has been added to the list of Criteria at the bottom. Then, select the Operator and set the Value.
145
To create a search report
In the Search tab, click on the field that has been added to the list of Criteria at the bottom. Then, select the Operator and enable the AutoSearch option.
To create a group sum
In the Calcs tab, click on the field that has been added to the list of Calculations at the bottom. Then, select the
Function and enter the Field Alias you would like to use for this calculated field.
To concatenate fields
In the Calcs tab, click on the field that has been added to the list of Calculations at the bottom. Then, select
Expression as the Function type for the calculation and enter the expression, such as CONCAT(FIRST_NAME, ' ',
LAST_NAME).
146
To edit the query SQL
There may be times when you need to utilize advanced features of SQL that cannot be accessed via the visual interface of the Query Designer. In these cases, you can edit the SQL manually in the Query Designer. Once you have edited the SQL manually, you must always use the SQL tab of the Query Designer to make future modifications and no longer use the visual design tabs to modify the query. In the SQL tab, right-click over the SQL text and choose Edit
SQL.
Report Design
Design Report Layout
The Design tab allows you to build and design reports. The design workspace is divided into two areas: the workbench and the canvas. The workbench is comprised of toolbars, component palettes, rulers, and other tools that can be used to manipulate the canvas. The canvas is the area that contains the report layout. This is where we place the bands and components that will ultimately control the content of each page of the report.
147
Report Wizard
The Report Wizard is one of the many parts of Report Building Tool that reflects a level of professionalism and attention to detail found in no other reporting product. If you or your end users have utilized standard Windows wizards in other products, then you will be able to quickly recognize and use the Report Wizard.
The Report Wizard can be accessed via the File -> New menu option of the Design tab. A series of screens are presented, each requesting information about the report. When the last page is reached, either a preview or design option can be selected. When the Finish button is clicked, it causes a report to be created and displayed as requested.
1. Select the data pipeline and fields.
2. Select common fields for grouping.
3. Select the report layout and orientation.
4. Select the style.
5. Select to preview or modify the report and click Finish.
Report Toolbars and Panes
The various toolbars accessible from the design workspace are documented in this section. The toolbars are dockable.
The toolbars are accessible from the View -> Toolbars menu option of the Design tab or by right-clicking on the docking area at the top of the Report Designer.
Standard Component Toolbar
148
This toolbar will assist in creating the most commonly used report components.
Button
Label
Memo
RichText
SystemVariable
Variable
Image
Shape
Line
Chart
BarCode
2DBarCode
Description
Use to display text. Assign the Caption property to control the text value. To resize the label automatically so it fits a changing caption, set the Auto-Size property to True.
Print multiple lines of plain text in a report. To set the value, assign a string list to the Lines property. To dynamically resize the memo during printing, set the
Stretch property to True. Use the ShiftRelativeTo property to define dynamic relationships with other stretchable objects.
Print formatted text. To set the value, assign the RichText property or use the
LoadFromFile orLoadFromRTFStream methods. Use the ShiftRelativeTo property to define dynamic relationships with other stretchable objects. At design-time you can use the ReportBuilder's built-in RTF Editor to load, modify, and save rich text data stored in files.
Use to display common report information such as page number, page count, print date and time, date, time, etc. The type of information displayed is controlled by the VarType property. The format is controlled by the
DisplayFormat property.
Navicat Report does not support this control.
Use to display bitmaps and windows metafiles in reports. Assign the Picture property of this component in order to place an image in your report. Use the
Report Designer's built-in picture dialog to load images at design-time.
Use this component to print various shapes (squares, rectangles, circles, ellipses). Set the Shape property to select a type of shape. Use the Brush and
Pen properties to control the color and border respectively.
Display single and double lines (either vertical or horizontal.) Set the Style property to control whether the line is single or double. Set the Weight property to control the line thickness in points. Set the Position property to control whether the line is vertical or horizontal.
Use to display standard (non-data-aware) Charts. This component enables you to use Chart inside the Report Designer. You can access the Chart editor via a pop-up menu.
Use to render barcodes. The string value assigned to the Data property is encoded based on the Bar-CodeType. If the data to be encoded is in a database, use DBBarCode. The following symbologies are supported:
Codabar, Code 128, Code 39, EAN-13, EAN-8, FIM A,B,C,Interleaved 2 of 5,
Post-Net, UPC-A, UPC-E.
Use to render two-dimensional barcode symbologies. Supports PDF417 and
MaxiCode barcode types.
Data Component Toolbar
149
This toolbar will assist in creating data-aware report components.
Button
DBText
DBMemo
DBRichText
DBCalc
DBImage
DBChart
DBBarCode
DB2DBarCode
Description
Use for displaying values from all types of database fields. Use the
DisplayFormat property to format the value.
Use to print plain text from a memo field of a database table. This control will automatically word-wrap the text. Set the Stretch property to True and the component will dynamically resize to print all of the text. Use the
ShiftRelativeTo property to define dynamic relationships with other stretchable objects.
Use to print formatted text from a memo or BLOB field of a database table.
This control will automatically word-wrap the text. Set the Stretch property to True and the component will dynamically resize to print all of the text.
Use the ShiftRelativeTo property to define dynamic relationships with other stretchable objects.
Use for simple database calculations (Sum, Min, Max, Count and
Average). The value can be reset when a group breaks using the
ResetGroup property.
Use to print bitmaps or windows metafiles, which are stored in a database
BLOB field.
Allow data-aware Charts to be placed within a report.
Use to render barcodes based on the BarCode-Type and the value supplied via the DataField property. The following symbologies are supported: Codabar, Code 128, Code 39, EAN-13, EAN-8, FIM A,B,C,
Interleaved 2 of 5, PostNet, UPC-A, UPC-E.
Use to render two-dimensional barcode based on the BarCode Type and the value supplied via the DataField property. The following symbologies are supported: PDF417, MaxiCode.
Advanced Component Toolbar
This toolbar will assist in creating advanced report components.
Button
Region
SubReport
CrossTab
Description
Use to logically group components together. Use the ShiftRelativeTo property to move the region in relation to another dynamically resizing component (such as Memo, RichText, or child-type Sub-Report).
Use to handle multiple master details, create sideby-side reporting effects, and hook reports together as one. If you need a report to print within the context of a band, use a child-type subreport. If you need to hook reports together, use a section type subreport. The PrintBehavior property determines the subreport type.
Use to handle multiple master details, create sideby-side reporting
150
PageBreak effects, and hook reports together as one. If you need a report to print within the context of a band, use a child-type subreport. If you need to hook reports together, use a section type subreport. The PrintBehavior property determines the subreport type.
Allow the user to force a new page during report generation. Placing a
TppPageBreak component on a report will cause all objects created after the PageBreak (Z-Order) to be moved to the next page in the report relative to the PageBreak object's top position.
Create a paintbox area for drawing.
PaintBox
Align or Space Toolbar
This toolbar will assist in positioning components relative to one another and relative to the band in which they appear.
Button
Align Left
Align Middle
Align Right
Align Top
Align Center
Align Bottom
Space Horizontally
Space Vertically
Center Horizontally in
Band
Center Vertically in
Band
Description
Align a group of components with the leftmost position of the component that was selected first.
Center a group of components based on the horizontal center of the component that was first selected.
Align a group of components with the rightmost position of the component that was selected first.
Align a group of components with the topmost position of the component that was selected first.
Align a group of components based on the vertical center of the component that was first selected.
Align a group of components with the bottommost position of the component that was selected first.
Space a set of components based on the leftmost position of the first component selected and the rightmost position of the last component selected.
Space a set of components based on the topmost position of the first component selected and the bottommost position of the last component selected.
Center a component horizontally within a band.
Center a component vertically within a band.
Size Toolbar
This toolbar will assist in setting the size of components.
Button
Shrink Width to Smallest
Description
Determine the minimum width of all the selected components, and
151
Grow Width to Largest
Shrink Height to Smallest
Grow Height to Largest then sets the width of the components to that value.
Determine the maximum width of all the selected components, and then sets the width of the components to that value.
Determine the minimum height of all the selected components, and then sets the height of the components to that value.
Determine the maximum height of all the selected components, and then sets the height of the components to that value.
Nudge Toolbar
This toolbar will assist in setting the position of components.
Button
Nudge Up
Nudge Down
Nudge Left
Nudge Right
Description
Move all selected components one pixel up.
Move all selected components one pixel down.
Move all selected components one pixel to the left.
Move all selected components one pixel to the right.
Draw Toolbar
This toolbar will assist in setting the colors and borders of components.
Button
Fill Color
Line Color
Gradient
Line Thickness
Line Style
Description
For shapes, lines, and region components only. Set the Brush.Color property. To set the color of a textual component, check the Highlight
Color action of the Format toolbar.
For shapes, lines, and region components only. Set the Pen.Color property.
For use with a Shape component only. Set the Gradient property.
For use with a Line component only. Set the Weight property.
For use with a Line component only. Set the Pen.Style property.
Edit Toolbar
This toolbar will assist in setting the most important property or properties for the currently selected component.
No component selected
Data-aware component selected
This configuration allows the data pipeline and data field for the component to be set. The drop-down list on the left shows the data pipeline. The drop-down list on the right shows the field name.
152
Label component selected
Here a label component has been selected in the Report Designer. The Edit toolbar displays an edit box from which the label's caption can be set.
Shape component selected
Here a shape component has been selected in the Report Designer. The Edit toolbar displays the different shape types.
Line component selected
This configuration allows you to move the line to the top, bottom, left, or right within the line's selection handles.
Standard Toolbar
This toolbar will assist with saving the report layout, accessing the print and print preview options, and accessing the cut and paste operations.
Button
New
Open
Description
Create a blank report layout.
Display the Open dialog, allowing you to open an existing report
153
Save
Print Preview
Cut
Copy
Paste layout.
Save a report layout to file.
Display the Print dialog before sending the report to the printer.
Display the Print Preview window.
Cut the currently selected components into the clipboard.
Copy the currently selected components into the clipboard.
Paste the components in the clipboard into the report.
Format Toolbar
This toolbar will assist with setting the font and colors. It will also assist with layering the components.
Button
Font Name
Font Size
Bold
Italic
Underline
Left Justify
Center
Right Justify
Justify
Font Color
Highlight Color
Anchors
Border
Bring Forward
Bring to Front
Send Backward
Send to Back
Description
Select the font name for textual components.
Select the font size. You can also type in this box to set the font size exactly.
Set the font to bold.
Set the font to italic.
Set the font to underline.
Justify the text in the component to left.
Center the text in the component.
Justify the text in the component to right.
Justify the text in the component to both left and right.
Set the font color.
Set the background color of the textual component.
Specify how a report component is anchored to its parent. Use Anchors to ensure that a report element maintains its current position relative to an edge of its parent control (i.e. Band/Region), even if the parent is resized.
Specify which of the outside border lines of a report component are rendered.
Bring the component one step forward.
Bring the component to the front. The components in the front print last, and the components in the back print first. Use the Report Tree to see the exact layering of components within the band.
Send the component one step backward.
Send the component to the back. The components in the front print last, and the components in the back print first. Use the Report Tree to see the exact layering of components within the band.
Report Tree Pane
This tool window is dockable on the left and right sides of the Report Designer. It can be used to organize components within each band. Components selected in the Report Tree are selected in the report layout. The upper portion of the
Report Tree shows the main report object and any subreports nested within it. This feature can be helpful for organizing your subreports.
154
Data Tree Pane
This tool window is dockable on the left and right sides of the Report Designer. It can be used to create components within any band. Simply select a set of fields and drag the selection into the band. A set of corresponding data-aware components will be created.
In the top tree view of the Data tab, it contains a list of data pipelines to which the report has access. In the bottom list view, all of the fields for the currently selected data pipeline are displayed. Fields can be selected from the bottom list view and dragged to any part of the report layout. The data-aware component that is appropriate for the given field will then be created along with a label and border.
The Layout tab allows you to control drag-and-drop behavior. A label and border are created for each data-aware component by default. You can turn the label and the border off, control the color of the label or border, and control the font of the label and data-aware component from this tab. Once you've set the drag-and-drop behavior, it will be retained for future design sessions.
155
Report Dialogs
The Print dialog is automatically displayed when the report is sent to the printer, allowing you to select the pages, number of copies, and printer for the report. When the AllowPrintToFile or AllowPrintToArchive properties of the
Report are enabled, this dialog displays additional print to file options. To open this dialog, select the File -> Print menu option from the Report Designer.
The Page Setup dialog can be accessed from the File -> Page Setup menu option of the Report Designer. You can set the printer, page size, paper source, layout and margins properties from within the Page Setup dialog.
The Groups dialog is accessible via the Report -> Groups menu option of the Report Designer. You can separate your report into different sections using groups. A number of options are available to control the behavior of each group.
For example, you may want each group to start on a new page or to reprint the group header when the group continues on additional pages. Another powerful feature is the Keep group together option, which can be used to ensure that all of the information for a group fits on a page.
156
The Print to File Setup dialog is accessible via the File -> Print to File Setup menu option of the Report Designer.
This dialog is used to specify the format and content of the ASCII file that will be created if the report is printed to file.
The Data dialog can be accessed from the Report -> Data menu option of the Report Designer. It can be used to specify the data pipeline for the report.
The Grid Options dialog is accessible via the View -> Grid Options menu of the Report Designer. Use the Grid
Options dialog to control how the workspace grid is drawn and whether layout elements automatically snap to the grid points.
157
The Outline Settings dialog is accessible via the Report -> Outline Settings menu option of the Report Designer.
Use this dialog to control the behavior of report outline generation. When enabled, an outline tree structure is dynamically generated by the report engine and rendered by the report previewer.
The Find Text Settings dialog is accessible via the Report -> Find Text Settings menu option of the Report Designer.
Use this dialog to configure the find text options used by the report previewer. When enabled, the previewer can be used to find and highlight text that appears in the pages of the report.
Report Component Options
There are many special options to set the layout. You can simply right-click the components and enable the following options:
Option
AutoDisplay
Description
Determine whether to automatically display the contents of a BLOB in a
158
AutoSize
AutoSizeFont
Child
DirectDraw
Fixed
MaintainAspectRatio
NewPrintJob
GraphicType
KeepTogether
LookAhead
ParentHeight
ParentWidth
ParentPrinterSetup
PrintHumanReadable
ReprintOnOverFlow
ReprintOnSubsequent
ResetPageNo
Section
ShiftRelativeTo
Stretch database field in a Memo or Image component.
Resize the width and length of the report component.
Set the human readable text to a standard accepted font size based on the size of the barcode component.
Print the subreport based on the dimensions and position of the subreport component.
Indicate the image will be sent directly to the printer or to an intermediate bitmap and then copied to the printer.
Use the subreport components width as the page width and stretching over several pages until printing is complete.
Maintain image original width to height ratio.
Determine whether a new print job is started when the subreport is sent to the printer.
Indicate the kind of the graphic object: Bitmap, GIF, Icon, JPEG and
Metafile.
Control the pagination of the component when the contents cannot fit on the current page.
Display summary calculations in the title band, page footer calculations in the page header band, group footer calculations in the group header band and column footer calculations in the column header.
Force the height of the component to match height of the parent component.
The parent may be either a band or a region.
Force the width of the component to match width of the parent component.
Determine whether the values for the PrinterSetup property should be copied from the parent report.
Output the human readable version of the bar code (i.e. the actual letters or numbers).
Use to print non-stretching components when stretching components are printing on additional pages.
Use in conjunction with the SuppressRepeatedValues property. When
SuppressRepeatedValues is set to True, and detail lines have overflowed onto a new page, you can force the value to reprint on the first detail line of the new page by setting ReprintOnSubsequent to True.
Enable subset page numbering. In subset page numbers, the page numbers and page count of the subreport are displayed instead of the master report page numbers.
Start a new page when it begins and finishing the last page when it ends.
The PrinterSetup property is used to determine the page size and printer settings.
Use to specify the vertical positioning that should take place between multiple stretching components in a band.
Determine whether the image is scaled to fit inside the component.
159
StretchWithParent
SuppressRepeatedValues Allow to print the value only once each time the field value changes when the value of a field (as determined by the DataField property) is the same across several records.
TraverseAllData
Allow a shape or line to expand or contract based on the change in height of the band or region in which it is contained.
Indicate that the subreport will continue to print (print on additional pages in the same exact position) until all data are traversed. By default the fixed type subreport truncates the data.
Report Preview
The Preview tab contains the rendered report. You can to control and view report output. An outline of page nodes is displayed on the left side of the form, adjacent to the page viewer. Use the Print button to send report output to the printer or to an output file, such as PDF.
If you enables the AutoSearch option in the Query Designer, you can click the Search Data icon to enter the searching criteria.
160
Chapter 14 - Server Security
About Server Security
Navicat provides a powerful tool for you to manage server user accounts and the privileges of database objects. All information of users and privileges are stored in the server. In the main window, click User or Role to open the user/role object list.
MySQL/MariaDB User Management
General Properties
User Name
Define a name for the user account.
Host
Enter a host name or an IP address where the user connected from. % means any host.
Plugin
Select the account authentication plugin for the user.
Password
Specify a login password for the user.
Confirm Password
Re-type the login password.
Expire Password Policy
Select the password expiration policy for the user account.
Advanced Properties
Max queries per hour, Max updates per hour, Max connections per hour
Specify the maximum number of queries, updates, and connections that a user can perform during any given one-hour period. 0 means no limit.
Max user connections
Specify the maximum number of simultaneous connections that a user can make.
Use OLD_PASSWORD encryption
161
Use the OLD_PASSWORD() function to generate a hash value for storing user password.
SSL Type
Specify the SSL/TLS-related options for the user account.
Any
X509
SPECIFIED
Require SSL encryption when the user connects.
Require a valid certificate when the user connects.
Require a valid certificate when the user connects. Provide Certificate Issuer, Certificate
Subject, or SSL Cipher.
Server Privileges
In the grid, check the Granted option against the server privilege listed in Privilege to assign this user to have that privilege. To grant or revoke all privileges, right-click on the grid and choose Grant All or Revoke All.
Privileges
To edit specific object privileges for the user, click Add Privilege to open the window and follow the steps below:
1. Expand the node in the tree view until reaching to the target object.
2. Check the object to show the grid on the right panel.
3. In the grid, check the State option against the privilege listed in Privilege to assign this user to have that privilege. To grant or revoke all privileges, right-click on the grid and choose Grant All or Revoke All.
Oracle User & Role Management
User Designer
General Properties
User Name
Define a name for the user.
Authentication
Select the authentication method.
PASSWORD
EXTERNAL
GLOBAL
Create a user. Specify a Password and re-type it in Confirm Password. Check the
Expire Password option to force the user to change the password on the first attempted login.
Create a user authorised by an external service. Enter the certificate distinguished name or the Kerberos principal name in External Name.
Create a user authorised by the enterprise directory service. Enter the X.509 name at the
162
enterprise directory service that identifies the user in X.500 Name.
Default Table Space
Choose the default tablespace for objects that the user creates.
Temporary Table Space
Choose the tablespace or tablespace group for the user's temporary segments.
Profile
Choose the profile that assign to the user.
Lock Account
Lock the user's account and disable access.
Member of
In the grid, check the Granted, Admin Option or As Default option against the role listed in Role Name to assign this user to be a member of the selected role.
Quotas
In the grid, specify the maximum amount of space that the user can allocate in the tablespaces. Enter the Quota and choose the Unit. Unlimited lets the user allocate space in the tablespace without bound. Multiple tablespaces can be set.
Server Privileges
In the grid, check the Granted or Admin Option option against the server privilege listed in Privilege to assign this user to have that privilege. To grant or revoke all privileges, right-click on the grid and choose Grant All, Grant All With
Grant Option or Revoke All.
Privileges
To edit specific object privileges for the user, click Add Privilege to open the window and follow the steps below:
1. Expand the node in the tree view until reaching to the target object.
2. Check the object to show the grid on the right panel.
3. In the grid, check the Granted or Grant Option option against the privilege listed in Privilege to assign this user to have that privilege. To grant or revoke all privileges, right-click on the grid and choose Grant All, Grant
All With Grant Option or Revoke All.
163
Role Designer
General Properties
Role Name
Define a name for the role.
Authentication
Select the authentication method.
PASSWORD
EXTERNAL
GLOBAL
Create a role. Specify a Password and re-type it in Confirm Password.
Create a role authorised by an external service.
Create a role authorised by the enterprise directory service.
NOT IDENTIFIED Create a role without a password.
Member of
In the grid, check the Granted or Admin Option option against the role listed in Role Name to assign this role to be a member of the selected role.
Members
In the grid, check the Granted or Admin Option option against the user listed in Member to assign the selected user to be a member of this role.
Server Privileges
In the grid, check the Granted or Admin Option option against the server privilege listed in Privilege to assign this role to have that privilege. To grant or revoke all privileges, right-click on the grid and choose Grant All, Grant All With
Grant Option or Revoke All.
Privileges
To edit specific object privileges for the role, click Add Privilege to open the window and follow the steps below:
1. Expand the node in the tree view until reaching to the target object.
2. Check the object to show the grid on the right panel.
3. In the grid, check the Granted option against the privilege listed in Privilege to assign this role to have that privilege. To grant or revoke all privileges, right-click on the grid and choose Grant All or Revoke All.
Maintain User
Navicat provides a complete solution for maintaining Oracle users.
1. In the main window, select users in the Objects tab.
164
2. Right-click the selected users.
3. Choose Maintain, and then choose a maintain option the from the pop-up menu.
Option
Expire Password
Lock Account
Unlock Account
Description
Set the password of the user account to expire.
Lock the user account and disable access.
Unlock the user account and enable access.
PostgreSQL User, Group & Role Management
User Designer
Note: Users are available for PostgreSQL 8.0 or below.
General Properties
User Name
Define a name for the user.
User ID
Specify an ID for the user.
Password
Specify a login password for the user.
Confirm Password
Re-type the login password.
Password Encryption
Choose whether the password is stored ENCRYPTED or UNENCRYPTED in the system catalogs.
Expiry Date
Set a datetime that the user's password will expire. If this option is omitted, the password will be valid for all time.
Superuser
Check this option to determine the user is a superuser.
Can create database
Check this option to allow the user to create databases.
165
Member of
In the grid, check the Granted option against the group listed in Group Name to assign this user to be a member of the selected group.
Privileges
To edit specific object privileges for the user, click Add Privilege to open the window and follow the steps below:
1. Expand the node in the tree view until reaching to the target object.
2. Check the object to show the grid on the right panel.
3. In the grid, check the Granted or Grant Option option against the privilege listed in Privilege to assign this user to have that privilege. To grant or revoke all privileges, right-click on the grid and choose Grant All, Grant
All With Grant Option or Revoke All.
Group Designer
Note: Groups are available for PostgreSQL 8.0 or below.
General Properties
Group Name
Define a name for the group.
Group ID
Specify an ID for the group.
Members
In the grid, check the Granted option against the user listed in Member to assign the selected user to be a member of this group.
Privileges
To edit specific object privileges for the group, click Add Privilege to open the window and follow the steps below:
1. Expand the node in the tree view until reaching to the target object.
2. Check the object to show the grid on the right panel.
3. In the grid, check the Granted option against the privilege listed in Privilege to assign this group to have that privilege. To grant or revoke all privileges, right-click on the grid and choose Grant All or Revoke All.
Role Designer
Note: Roles are available for PostgreSQL 8.1 or above.
166
General Properties
Role Name
Define a name for the role.
Role ID
Specify an ID for the role.
Can login
Check this option to allow the role to log in.
Password
Specify a login password for the role.
Confirm Password
Re-type the login password.
Password Encryption
Choose whether the password is stored ENCRYPTED or UNENCRYPTED in the system catalogs.
Connection Limit
Specify how many concurrent connections the role can make. -1 means no limit.
Expiry Date
Set a datetime that the role's password will expire. If this option is omitted, the password will be valid for all time.
Superuser
Check this option to determine the role is a superuser.
Can create database
Check this option to allow the role to create databases.
Can create role
Check this option to allow the role to create roles.
Inherit privileges
Check this option to determine the role inherits the privileges of roles it is a member of.
Can update system catalog
167
Check this option to allow the role to update system catalog.
Can replictae
Check this option to allow the role to initiate streaming replication or put the system in and out of backup mode.
Can bypass RLS
Check this option to allow the role to bypasses every row-level security (RLS) policy.
Member of
In the grid, check the Granted or Admin Option option against the role listed in Role Name to assign this role to be a member of the selected role.
Members
In the grid, check the Granted or Admin Option option against the role listed in Member to assign the selected role to be a member of this role.
Privileges
To edit specific object privileges for the role, click Add Privilege to open the window and follow the steps below:
1. Expand the node in the tree view until reaching to the target object.
2. Check the object to show the grid on the right panel.
3. In the grid, check the Granted or Grant Option option against the privilege listed in Privilege to assign this role to have that privilege. To grant or revoke all privileges, right-click on the grid and choose Grant All, Grant
All With Grant Option or Revoke All.
SQL Server Login, Role & user Management
Login Designer
Note: The following options and tabs depend on the server version and the authentication type.
General Properties
Login Name
Define a name for the login.
Authentication Type
Select the authentication type of the login.
Password
168
Specify a password for the login.
Confirm Password
Re-type the login password.
Specify Old Password
Check this option to enter the old password used by this account when editing the login.
Enforce Password Policy
Check this option to force password to follow password policy of SQL Server.
Enforce Password Expiration
Check this option to force password to have expiry date.
User Must Change Password at Next Login
Check this option to force user to change password every time when login.
Default Database
Select the default database when login.
Default Language
Select the default display language when login.
Certificate Name
Select the certificate to be used for the login.
Asymmetric Key Name
Select the asymmetric key to be used for the login.
Enabled
Check this option to enable the login.
Credential
Select the credentials to be mapped to the login.
Roles
In the list, assign this server login to be a member of the selected server role.
User Mapping
169
In the grid, check the Database and enter the User and Default Schema to create user for login the database and specify the first schema will be searched by the server.
Server Permissions
In the grid, check the Grant, With Grant Option or Deny option against the server permissions listed in Permission to assign this login to have that permission. To grant, deny or revoke all permissions, right-click on the grid and choose
Grant All, Grant All With Grant Option, Deny All or Revoke All.
Endpoint Permissions
In the grid, check the permissions against the endpoint listed in Endpoint to assign this login to have that endpoint permission. Click the checkbox twice to grant the permission with Grant Option. Click the checkbox three times to deny the permission.
Login Permissions
In the grid, check the permissions against the endpoint listed in Login to assign this login to have that login permission.
Click the checkbox twice to grant the permission with Grant Option. Click the checkbox three times to deny the permission.
Server Role Designer
Note: Azure SQL Database does not support Server Role.
In the Members tab, assign the selected login to be a member of this server role.
Database User Designer
Note: The following options and tabs depend on the server version and the user type.
General Properties
User Name
Define a name for the database user.
Authentication
Select the security type for database user.
Login Name
Assign a SQL Server login that the database user uses.
User Type
Select the security type for database user.
170
Default Schema
Select the default schema that will own objects created by the database user.
Certificate Name
Select the certificate to be used for the database user.
Asymmetric Key Name
Select the asymmetric key to be used for the database user.
Roles
In the list, assign this database user to be a member of the selected database role.
Owned Schemas
In the list, check the schemas that are owned by the database user.
Database Permissions
In the grid, check the Grant, With Grant Option or Deny option against the database permissions listed in Permission to assign this database user to have that permission. To grant, deny or revoke all permissions, right-click on the grid and choose Grant All, Grant All With Grant Option, Deny All or Revoke All.
Object Permissions
To edit specific object permissions for the database user, click Add Permission to open the window and follow the steps below:
1. Expand the node in the tree view until reaching to the target object.
2. Check the object to show the grid on the right panel.
3. In the grid, check the Grant, With Grant Option or Deny option against the permission listed in Privilege to assign this database user to have that permission. To grant, deny or revoke all permissions, right-click on the grid and choose Grant All, Grant All With Grant Option, Deny All or Revoke All.
Database Role Designer
Note: The following options and tabs depend on the server version.
General Properties
Role Name
Define a name for the database role.
Owner
171
Assign the owner for the database role.
Member of
Assign this database role to be a member of the selected database roles.
Members
Assign the selected database users and roles to be a member of this database role.
Owned Schemas
In the list, check the schemas that are owned by the database role.
Database Permissions
In the grid, check the Grant, With Grant Option or Deny option against the database permissions listed in Permission to assign this database role to have that permission. To grant, deny or revoke all permissions, right-click on the grid and choose Grant All, Grant All With Grant Option, Deny All or Revoke All.
Object Permissions
To edit specific object permissions for the database role, click Add Permission to open the window and follow the steps below:
1. Expand the node in the tree view until reaching to the target object.
2. Check the object to show the grid on the right panel.
3. In the grid, check the Grant, With Grant Option or Deny option against the permission listed in Privilege to assign this database role to have that permission. To grant, deny or revoke all permissions, right-click on the grid and choose Grant All, Grant All With Grant Option, Deny All or Revoke All.
Application Role Designer
Note: Azure SQL Database does not support Application Role. The following options and tabs depend on the server version.
General Properties
Role Name
Define a name for the application role.
Default Schema
Select the default schema that will own objects created by the application role.
Password
172
Specify a password for the application role.
Confirm Password
Re-type the password.
Owned Schemas
In the list, check the schemas that are owned by the application role.
Database Permissions
In the grid, check the Grant, With Grant Option or Deny option against the database permissions listed in Permission to assign this application role to have that permission. To grant, deny or revoke all permissions, right-click on the grid and choose Grant All, Grant All With Grant Option, Deny All or Revoke All.
Object Permissions
To edit specific object permissions for the application role, click Add Permission to open the window and follow the steps below:
1. Expand the node in the tree view until reaching to the target object.
2. Check the object to show the grid on the right panel.
3. In the grid, check the Grant, With Grant Option or Deny option against the permission listed in Privilege to assign this application role to have that permission. To grant, deny or revoke all permissions, right-click on the grid and choose Grant All, Grant All With Grant Option, Deny All or Revoke All.
SQLite User Management
Note: By default, a SQLite database does not require user authentication (no-authentication-required database). After you created a user, the database will be marked as requiring authentication (authentication- required database). Then, user need to provide username and password when connecting to the database file.
General Properties
User Name
Define a name for the user account.
Password
Specify a login password for the user.
Confirm Password
Re-type the login password.
173
Administrator
Check this option to give the admin privilege to the user.
Privilege Manager
Besides setting privileges in each user, Privilege Manager provides another view on privileges in a connection and its database objects.
Note: Available only for MySQL, Oracle, PostgreSQL, SQL Server and MariaDB.
To add privileges, click Privilege Manager from the user object toolbar and follow the steps below:
1. Expand the node in the tree view until reaching to the target object.
2. Choose the object and click Add Privilege to open the window.
3. Check the user on the right panel.
4. In the grid, check the relevant options against the privileges listed in Privilege to assign the selected user to have that object privilege.
174
Chapter 15 - Other Advanced Tools
Server Monitor (Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
Navicat provides Server Monitor to view properties of selected servers. Select Tools -> Server Monitor and select the preferred server type from the menu bar.
Note: Available only for MySQL, Oracle, PostgreSQL, SQL Server and MariaDB. Azure SQL Database does not support this feature.
Process List
This tab displays a list of processes from all selected servers. The process list provides the following detailed information. It depends on the database type you are chosen.
Server name that is given while setting the connection.
Process ID on the server.
Serial number of the process.
Current user who log in to the server.
Host from which the user is connected.
Database that the user is currently used.
Last command that was issued by the user.
Time, state and info of the process.
CPU time and state of the process.
If you want to take action on auto-refreshing the process list in assigned seconds, choose View -> Set Auto Refresh
Time and enter a refresh time value. To enable or disable the Auto Refresh feature, choose View -> Auto Refresh.
Note: Effect will take once you assign the value.
To set a selected process always show on the top of the grid, choose View -> On Top. To cancel this setting, select the process and choose View -> Cancel On Top.
To stop a selected process, click the End Process button.
Variables
Note: Available only for MySQL, Oracle, PostgreSQL and MariaDB.
This tab displays a list of all server variables and their values.
175
You can edit MySQL, MariaDB and Oracle variable values here. Click or press CTRL+ENTER to open an editor for editing.
Status
Note: Available only for MySQL, Oracle, PostgreSQL and MariaDB.
This tab displays a list of all server status and their values.
Virtual Grouping (Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
Virtual Group aims to provide a platform for logical grouping objects by categories, so that all objects are effectively preserved. It can be applied on Connection, Table, View, Function, Query, Report, Backup, Automation and Model.
Hint: The vgroup.json file is saved under the Profiles Location .
If you want to hide the group structure, select View -> Navigation Pane -> Flatten Connection and select View ->
Flatten Object List.
Create a new group
1. In the main window, right-click on the Navigation pane or the Objects tab and select New Group or Manage
Group -> New Group.
2. Enter a name for the new group.
Move an object to a group
1. In the main window, right-click an object and select Manage Group -> Move To.
2. Select an existing group.
Move an object to the top-level
1. In the main window, right-click an object and select Manage Group -> Exclude From Group.
Hint: You can also use the drag and drop method to move objects.
Connection Colorings
Navicat provides highlighting connections by colors for identifying connections and their database objects. It lets you immediately know which connection you're connected to when you working on database objects. The highlighted color displays in the Navigation pane and the menu bar or the tab of its object window.
To highlight a connection, right-click a connection in the Navigation pane and select Color.
176
Find In Database/Schema (Available only in Non-Essentials
Edition)
Navicat provides a Find In Database/Schema feature offers searching table and view records or object structures within a database and/or schema. To open the Find In Database window, select Tools -> Find In Database/Schema from the menu bar.
1. Select a target Connection, Database and/or Schema.
2. Enter the search string in Find what.
3. Choose to find Data or Structure in the Look in drop-down list.
4. Choose the Search Mode: Contains, Whole Word, Prefix or Regular Expression.
5. Check the Case Insensitive box to disable case sensitive search if necessary.
6. When finding Structure, you can choose to search different objects: Tables, Views, Functions, Queries,
Indexes, Triggers, Events and/or Materialized Views.
7. Click the Find button and then double-click an object in the Find Results list to view the record or the structure.
Print Structure (Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
Navicat allows you to view and print database, schema and table structures, including table names, field names, field types and other field properties. In the main window, right-click a database, a schema or tables and select Print
Database or Print Schema or Print Tables. A structure report window will pop up. You can send the structures to printer or print it to other file formats, such as PDF, HTML.
177
Console
Console allows you to use a command-line interface to work with your server. In other words, it provides interactive text-based screen for you to query input and result output from databases. To open the Console window, open a connection and select Tools -> Console from the menu bar or press F6.
Hint: You are allowed to open multiple console windows which each represents a different connection.
For Oracle servers, you must have SQL*Plus executable in order to get this works. By default, Navicat will look for
SQL*Plus under client folder (e.g. ORACLE_HOME\bin). However, if Navicat cannot locate SQL*Plus under the
SQL*Plus default path , you are prompted to locate the executable.
Note: SQL*Plus does not support Unicode.
Favorites (Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
Favorites are links to database objects that you visit frequently. By adding a path to your favorites list, you can go to that database objects with a single click, instead of having to navigate the connection, database and/or schema in the
Navigation pane.
Add a link to Favorites
1. Open an object, e.g. table.
2. Select File / Favorites -> Add to Favorites or press SHIFT+CTRL+#. If the object is opened in tabbed window, you can right-click the tab and select Add to Favorites.
3. Enter Favorite Name and select Favorite ID if the Add to Favorites window pops up.
Open an object from Favorites
1. Select Favorites -> favorite_name or press CTRL+#.
Remove links from Favorites
Select Favorites -> Clear Favorites -> favorite_name to remove a link.
Select Favorites -> Clear Favorites -> Clear All to remove all links from the favorites list.
Note: # represents 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 or 9.
Search Filter
Navicat provides search filters for searching your objects in the Navigation pane, the Objects tab, the Model Designer window and other tree structures.
178
In the Navigation pane or other tree structures, click on the tree to focus and enter a search string directly. If connections have opened in the Navigation pane, the filter will also apply to their database objects.
In the Objects tab, click in the Navicat main window and enter a search string in the Search text box.
In the Model Designer window, simply enter a search string in the Search text box.
You can remove the filter by deleting the search string.
179
Chapter 16 - Configurations
Options Settings
Navicat provides a complete user interface customization with various options for all tools.
To open the Options window, choose Tools -> Options from the menu bar.
General
General
Allow Multiple Navicat Instances
Check this option to allow opening multiple instances of Navicat. Uncheck this item means that clicking on the Navicat shortcut will re-activate the running instance of Navicat and not launch a new copy.
Allow multiple forms for same object
Check this option to allow opening multiple instances of an object.
Show objects in Navigation Pane
Display database objects using the tree structure in the Navigation pane. To expand a node, simply double-click it.
Hint: Reopen the database/schema to take effect.
Show toolbar caption
Show text on toolbar buttons in sub-windows. Otherwise, only buttons will be presented.
Hint: Restart Navicat to take effect.
Show function wizard
Display the function wizard (MySQL/MariaDB, Oracle, PostgreSQL or SQL Server) when you create a new function/procedure.
Check for updates on startup
Check this option to allow Navicat checks for new version when it starts.
Query
Ask to save new queries/profiles before closing
180
With this option is on, Navicat will prompt you to save new queries or profiles every time when you quit the relevant sub-window.
Use Auto Save
Save automatically after modifications in SQL Editor by defining the Auto Save Interval (s) (e.g. 30).
Database Items
Hint: Reopen the database/schema to take effect.
Show system items (PostgreSQL, SQL Server)
Check this option to show all the system objects such as information_schema and pg_catalog schemas.
Show auto index (SQLite)
Check this option to show auto index generated for SQLite table in the Index's Objects tab.
Tabs
Open new tabs in
Set new pop-up windows to open as:
Option
Main Window
Last Tab Window
New Window
Description
Open a new tab in the main window.
Open a new tab in the last opened window, or a new window if there isn't any opened windows.
Open a new window.
On Startup
Control what tabs appear when you launch Navicat:
Option
Open objects tab only
Description
Open the Objects tab only, and no other tabs.
Continue where you left off Open the Objects tab, and reopen the same tabs you were opened when you last quit Navicat.
Open a specific tab or set Open the Objects tab, and open the tabs you choose in Set Tabs. of tabs
Hint: Restart Navicat to take effect.
181
Editor
General
Use Code Completion (Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
When you type the . (dot) symbol between the object names, SQL Editor will offer you a pop-up list that showing some variants for the code completion. When you type the first character of words, SQL Editor will offer you a pop-up list that showing some variants for the word completion.
Show Line Number
Display line numbers at the left side of the editor for easily reference.
Use Code Folding
Use Brace Highlighting
Use Syntax Highlighting
Syntax highlight helps viewing codes clearly. Codes are highlighted in SQL Editor with different colors and fonts according to the categories they belong to. This feature can be limited by setting the maximum file size (e.g. 10) in
Disable if file size is larger than (MB) to increase performance.
Use Word Wrap
Enable the word wrap mode in the editor.
Tab Width
Enter the number of characters that a tab occupies, e.g. 5.
Font and Colors
Editor Font
Define the font and its size used by editors.
Colors
Format your SQL queries in SQL Editor with colored syntax highlighting for your SQL statements to improve readability.
Set font colors to mark out different text fragments: Common, Keyword, String, Number, Comment and Background.
Click on the color boxes and choose your desired color from the Color-Selection dialog window.
182
Records
Records
Limit Records
records per page
Check this option if you want to limit the number of records showed on each page in the table grid/foreign key data selection globally. Otherwise, all records will be displayed in one single page.
Note: To adjust the settings for particular table, see Data Viewer .
Auto Begin Transaction
Check this option to start a new transaction automatically when changing records in the table grid. Otherwise, auto commit is on and you need click the Begin Transaction button in Data Viewer to start a transaction manually.
When starting a transaction in Data Viewer, you can use the Commit or Rollback buttons to commit or
rollback the changes. See Data Viewer .
Grid
Grid Font
Define the font and its size used by grid in Data Viewer.
Display Format
Data of types date, time and datetime can be formatted when displayed on data grids. Type the format here to change the format. If the formats are left blank, default format will be used. For date, time and datetime fields, default formats will be the system datetime formats.
Formats are defined by constructing a string using these format specifiers:
Date Time fields
Specifier
c
Represent
The date using the format given by the ShortDateFormat global variable, followed by the time using the format given by the LongTimeFormat global variable. The time is not displayed if the fractional part of the DateTime value is zero.
183
yy yyyy h hh n nn s ss t tt am/pm d dd ddd dddd ddddd dddddd m mm mmm mmmm a/p ampm
/
:
'xx'/"xx"
The day as a number without a leading zero (1-31).
The day as a number with a leading zero (01-31).
The day as an abbreviation (Sun-Sat) using the strings given by the ShortDayNames global variable.
The day as a full name (Sunday-Saturday) using the strings given by the
LongDayNames global variable.
The date using the format given by the ShortDateFormat global variable.
The date using the format given by the LongDateFormat global variable.
The month as a number without a leading zero (1-12). If the m specifier immediately follows an h or hh specifier, the minute rather than the month is displayed.
The month as a number with a leading zero (01-12). If the mm specifier immediately follows an h or hh specifier, the minute rather than the month is displayed.
The month as an abbreviation (Jan-Dec) using the strings given by the
ShortMonthNames global variable.
The month as a full name (January-December) using the strings given by the
LongMonthNames global variable.
The year as a two-digit number (00-99).
The year as a four-digit number (0000-9999).
The hour without a leading zero (0-23).
The hour with a leading zero (00-23).
The minute without a leading zero (0-59).
The minute with a leading zero (00-59).
The second without a leading zero (0-59).
The second with a leading zero (00-59).
The time using the format given by the ShortTimeFormat global variable.
The time using the format given by the LongTimeFormat global variable.
The time using the 12-hour clock for the preceding h or hh specifier, followed by "am" for any hour before noon, or "pm" for any hour after noon. The am/pm specifier can use lower, upper, or mixed case, and the result is displayed accordingly.
The time using the 12-hour clock for the preceding h or hh specifier, followed by "a" for any hour before noon, or "p" for any hour after noon. The a/p specifier can use lower, upper, or mixed case, and the result is displayed accordingly.
The time using the 12-hour clock for the preceding h or hh specifier, followed by the contents of the TimeAMString global variable for any hour before noon, or the contents of the TimePMString global variable for any hour after noon.
The date separator character given by the DateSeparator global variable.
The time separator character given by the TimeSeparator global variable.
Characters enclosed in single or double quotes are displayed as-is, with no formatting changes.
Format specifiers may be written in uppercase or lowercase letters; both produce the same result.
184
File Locations
Location path.
File in Profiles Location
Automation
Code Snippet
Data Synchronization
Data Transfer
Model
Structure Synchronization
Virtual Grouping
Server Type
MySQL
Oracle
PostgreSQL
SQLite
SQL Server
MariaDB
Premium (Cross Server)
All
MySQL
Oracle
PostgreSQL
SQLite
SQL Server
MariaDB
MySQL
Oracle
PostgreSQL
SQLite
SQL Server
MariaDB
Premium (Cross Server)
All
MySQL
Oracle
PostgreSQL
SQL Server
MariaDB
All
File Extension
.nbatmysql
.nbatora
.nbatpgsql
.nbatsqlite
.nbatmssql
.nbatmariadb
.nbatpremium
.nsnippet
.ndsymysql
.ndsyora
.ndsypgsql
.ndsysqlite
.ndsymssql
.ndsymariadb
.ndtfmysql
.ndtfora
.ndtfpgsql
.ndtfsqlite
.ndtfmssql
.ndtfmariadb
.ndtfpremium
.ndm
.nssymysql
.nssyora
.nssypgsql
.nssymssql
.nssymariadb vgroup.json - stores how the objects are categorized.
File Association (Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
File associations are what the Navicat uses to open its saved files with Navicat. For example, a .ndtfmysql file (MySQL
Data Transfer profile) will open with a Data Transfer window, and a .nimpmysql file (MySQL Import Wizard profile) will open by default with Import Wizard.
185
Note: In Vista or above, you need to click the File Association button to open the list. In XP or below, file association is listed in here.
Proxy
Use Proxy
Check this option to use proxy for the activation process. Choose the Proxy Type and enter Host, Port, User Name and Password.
Environment
Executables
SQL*Plus (Available only for Oracle)
Oracle Instant Client.
External Editor
Choose the file path of an external editor for opening queries.
OCI Environment (Available only for Oracle)
OCI library (oci.dll)
Specify the location for the OCI library (oci.dll) for Oracle connection. By default, it is set to the bundled one in Navicat installation folder.
Hint: Restart Navicat to take effect.
Oracle Instant Client is the simplest way to deploy a full Oracle Client application built with OCI, OCCI, JDBC-OCI, or
ODBC drivers. It provides the necessary Oracle Client libraries in a small set of files. You can also download Oracle
Client / Oracle Instant Client through -
Oracle Client
Oracle Instant Client
Download the appropriate Instant Client packages for your platform and the CPU. All installations REQUIRE the Basic or Basic Lite package. Unzip the packages and set the path points to it.
186
Chapter 17 - Commands (Available only in
Non-Essentials Edition)
Navicat Commands
Navicat has some very useful command line processing options for those who want to execute certain database tasks in Windows Command Prompt.
Navicat Object
Automation
Backup
(MySQL,
PostgreSQL, SQLite and MariaDB)
Command Line
navicat.exe -batchjob BatchJobName navicat.exe -backup [ProfileName] -u NavicatID -p ProjectName -t ConnectionType -c
ConnectionName -d DatabaseName -s SchemaName
Data Synchronization navicat.exe -datasync ProfileName -t ConnectionType
Data Transfer navicat.exe -datatransfer ProfileName -t ProfileType
Export Materialized
View Result
(Oracle and
PostgreSQL) navicat.exe -exportmview ProfileName -u NavicatID -p ProjectName -t ConnectionType
-c ConnectionName -d DatabaseName -s SchemaName
Export Query Result navicat.exe -exportquery ProfileName -u NavicatID -p ProjectName -t ConnectionType
-c ConnectionName -d DatabaseName -s SchemaName
Export Table navicat.exe -export ProfileName -u NavicatID -p ProjectName -t ConnectionType -c
ConnectionName -d DatabaseName -s SchemaName
Export View Result
Query Execution
Import navicat.exe -exportview ProfileName -u NavicatID -p ProjectName -t ConnectionType -c
ConnectionName -d DatabaseName -s SchemaName navicat.exe -query QueryName -u NavicatID -p ProjectName -t ConnectionType -c
ConnectionName -d DatabaseName -s SchemaName navicat.exe -import ProfileName -u NavicatID -p ProjectName -t ConnectionType -c
ConnectionName -d DatabaseName -s SchemaName
Print Report navicat.exe -report ReportName -u NavicatID -p ProjectName -t ConnectionType -c
ConnectionName -d DatabaseName -s SchemaName FileType PathName [-sc
DataPipelineName Value [Value ...] ...]
NavicatID - if the connection stores in Navicat Cloud, Navicat ID is required, e.g. [email protected]
ProjectName - if the connection stores in Navicat Cloud, project name is required
ConnectionType - type of the connection: MySQL, Oracle, PostgreSQL, SQLite, MSSQL or MariaDB
ProfileType - type of the data transfer profile: MySQL, Oracle, PostgreSQL, SQLite, MSSQL, MariaDB or Premium
FileType - output report file type: -pdf, -html, -excel or -printer
187
PathName - printer name or target file path, e.g. C:\Users\Guest\Desktop\report_sample.pdf
DataPipelineName - name of the data pipeline under the Data tab
Data tab
Example: navicat.exe -report MyReport -u [email protected] -p Project1 -t MSSQL -c "SQL Server 2012" -d AdventureWorks -s dbo -pdf "C:\Users\Guest\Desktop\report_sample.pdf" -sc table1 value1 value2 -sc table2 value1
188
Chapter 18 - Hot Keys
Navicat Hot Keys
Navicat Main Window
Keys
CTRL+G
CTRL+# (# represents 0 to 9)
F6
CTRL+H
CTRL+Q
F12
CTRL+N
ER Diagram View
Keys
F5
ESC
H
R
SHIFT+DELETE
CTRL+= or CTRL+Mousewheel Up
CTRL+- or CTRL+Mousewheel Down
CTRL+0
Common
Keys
SHIFT+CTRL+# (# represents 0 to 9)
F8
CTRL+TAB or SHIFT+CTRL+TAB
CTRL+Q
F1
Table Designer
Keys
CTRL+O
CTRL+F
F3
SHIFT+F3
Data Viewer
189
Action
Open Settings Location Folder
Open Favorites Link
Console
History Log
New Query
Show Only Active Objects
New Object
Action
Refresh
Select
Move Diagram
New Foreign Key
Delete Selected Foreign Key
Zoom In
Zoom Out
Reset Zoom
Action
Add to Favorites
Navicat Main Window / Objects Tab
Next Window / Tab
New Query
Help
Action
Open Table
Find Field
Find Next Field
Find Previous Field
Keys
CTRL+D
CTRL+Q
CTRL+F
F3
CTRL+G
CTRL+LEFT ARROW
CTRL+RIGHT ARROW
CTRL+HOME
CTRL+END
CTRL+PAGE UP or CTRL+UP ARROW
CTRL+PAGE DOWN or CTRL+DOWN ARROW
CTRL+R
SHIFT+ARROW
CTRL+ENTER
INSERT or CTRL+N
CTRL+DELETE
CTRL+S
ESC
CTRL+T
View / Materialized View Designer
Keys
CTRL+O
CTRL+E
CTRL+R
Query Designer
Keys
CTRL+O
CTRL+E
CTRL+R
SHIFT+CTRL+R
CTRL+T
SQL Editor
Keys
CTRL+/
CTRL+F
F3
CTRL+=
190
Action
Design Object (Table, View, Materialized View)
Query Object (Table, View, Materialized View)
Find Text
Find Next Text
Go to Row
Move to First Column of Current Record
Move to Last Column of Current Record
Move to First Row of Current Column
Move to Last Row of Current Column
Move to First Row of Current Screen
Move to Last Row of Current Screen
Apply Filter / Apply Sort
Select Cells
Edit Data with Opening Editor
Add Record
Delete Records
Apply Record Changes
Discard Record Changes
Stop Loading Data
Action
Import SQL
Switch to Definition
Preview
Action
Open External SQL File
Switch to Query Editor
Run
Run Selected
Stop
Action
Comment / Uncomment Line
Find Text
Find Next Text
Zoom In
CTRL+-
CTRL+0
Debugger
Keys
F9
F10
F11
SHIFT+F11
Report Designer
Keys
CTRL+O
CTRL+P
CTRL+G
CTRL+PAGE DOWN
CTRL+PAGE UP
CTRL+END
CTRL+HOME
Model
V
R
A
N
Keys
CTRL+D
CTRL+P
ESC
H
T
I
L
CTRL+B
CTRL+= or CTRL+Mousewheel Up
CTRL+- or CTRL+Mousewheel Down
CTRL+0
191
Zoom Out
Reset Zoom
Action
Run
Step Over
Step In
Step Out
Action
Open Report
Print Report
Open Group Dialog
Next Page
Previous Page
Last Page
First Page
Action
New Diagram in Model
Print Diagram
Select
Move Diagram
New Table
New View
New Foreign Key
New Label
New Note
New Image
New Layer
Bold Selected Table, View, Foreign Key or Shape
Zoom In
Zoom Out
Reset Zoom
Chapter 19 - Trace Logs
Log Files
Navicat provides number of log files to keep track on the actions have been performed in Navicat and they are located in the logs directory, e.g. C:\Users\Guest\Documents\Navicat\Premium\logs\. You are allowed to change the log files
File
history.log cmdline.log
Description
Store all SQL statements of all the operations executed over databases and database objects in Navicat. To open the LogHistory.txt file in the History Log Viewer, select
Tools -> History Log or press CTRL+H.
Note: This log will be overwritten while Navicat is being restarted.
Store information for Navicat command line process and all operations while running batch jobs.
History Log Viewer
History Log Viewer shows the SQL statements that are executed or executing in Navicat. If you just want to display error messages, click Show Error Only. You can also change the information shown by choosing from the View menu -
Show Date
Show Time
Show Server Name
Show Session ID
Show Connection Type
Show Execute Time
Note: When you Pause history, any actions that you do while history is paused will show after resuming.
192
193
İndir
Reklam