広告
広告
Type
Option
Compile
Compile Debug
Description
Recompile the type specification and body.
Recompile the type specification and body. Instruct the PL/SQL compiler to generate and store the code for use by the debugger.
XML Schema
Option
Compile
Purge
Description
Recompile the already registered XML schema.
Removes the XML schema completely from Oracle XML DB.
Tablespace
Option
Read Only
Read Write
Online
Offline
Coalesce
Description
Place the tablespace in transition read-only mode.
Allow write operations on a previously read-only tablespace.
Take the tablespace online.
Take the tablespace offline.
Combine all contiguous free extents into larger contiguous extents for each datafile in the tablespace.
Reduce the amount of space the tablespace is taking. Shrink Space
PostgreSQL
Databases & Schemas
To start working with the server objects, you should create and open a connection. If the server is empty, you need to create a new database and/or a new schema.
Create a new database
1. In the Navigation pane, right-click a connection and choose New Database.
2. Enter the database properties in the pop-up window.
Edit an existing database
1. In the Navigation pane, right-click a database and choose Edit Database.
2. Edit the database properties in the pop-up window.
Create a new schema
1. In the Navigation pane, right-click a database and choose New Schema.
2. Enter the schema properties in the pop-up window.
45
Edit an existing schema
1. In the Navigation pane, right-click a schema and choose Edit Schema.
2. Edit the schema properties in the pop-up window.
Tables
Tables are database objects that contain all data in a database. A table is a set of rows and columns, and their intersections are fields. In the main window, click Table to open the table object list.
You can create Normal / Foreign tables. Click the down arrow next to New Table from the object toolbar and choose the table type.
There are two ways to open a table with graphical fields, right-click a table and choose:
Option Description
Open Table Navicat loads all your BLOB fields (images) while opening the table.
Open Table (Quick) Faster performance for opening the graphical table, as BLOB fields (images) will not be loaded until you click on the cell. (It is invisible by default until you hold down the SHIFT key when right-clicking the table.)
You can create a table shortcut by right-clicking a table in the Objects tab and select Create Open Table Shortcut from the pop-up menu. This option is used to provide a convenient way for you to open your table for entering data directly without activating the Navicat main window.
To empty a table, right-click the selected table and choose Empty Table from the pop-up menu. This option is only applied when you wish to clear all the existing records without resetting the auto-increment value. To reset the auto-increment value while emptying your table, use Truncate Table.
Table Designer
Table Designer is the basic Navicat tool for working with tables. It allows you to create, edit and drop table's fields, indexes, foreign keys, and much more.
In the Fields tab, you can search a field name by choosing Edit -> Find or pressing CTRL+F. When creating a new table, you are allowed to insert fields or rearrange the order of the fields.
Note: The tabs and options in the designer depend on the server version and the table type.
Table Viewer
When you open a table, Table Viewer displays data as a grid. Data can be displayed in two modes: Grid View and
Form View. See Data Viewer for details.
46
Views
A view allows users to access a set of tables as if it is a single table. You can use views to restrict access to rows. In the main window, click View to open the view object list.
You can create a view shortcut by right-clicking a view in the Objects tab and select Create Open View Shortcut from the pop-up menu. This option is used to provide a convenient way for you to open your view directly without activating the Navicat main window.
View Designer
View Designer is the basic Navicat tool for working with views. You can edit the view definition as SQL statement
(SELECT statement it implements) in the Definition tab. To customize the view of the editor and find out more features
choose File -> Import SQL.
Button
Preview
Explain
Description
Preview the data of the view.
Show the Query Plan of the view.
View Builder
Build the view visually. It allows you to create and edit views without knowledge of
SQL. See SQL Builder for details.
Beautify SQL
Format the codes with the Beautify SQL settings in Editor.
Hint: You can choose to show the preview results below the editor or in a new tab by selecting View -> Show Result
-> Below Query Editor or In a New Tab.
View Viewer
When you open a view, View Viewer displays data as a grid. Data can be displayed in two modes: Grid View and Form
View. See Data Viewer for details.
Materialized Views
Materialized Views are schema objects that used to summarize, compute, replicate, and distribute data. In the main window, click Materialized View to open the materialized view object list.
You can create a materialized view shortcut by right-clicking a materialized view in the Objects tab and select Create
Open Materialized View Shortcut from the pop-up menu. This option is used to provide a convenient way for you to open your materialized view directly without activating the Navicat main window.
To refresh and completely replace the contents of a materialized view, right-click it in the Objects tab and select
Refresh Materialized View With -> Data or No Data from the pop-up menu.
Materialized View Designer
Materialized View Designer is the basic Navicat tool for working with materialized views. You can edit the view definition as SQL statement (SELECT statement it implements) in the Definition tab. To customize the view of the
47
SQL file to the editor, you can choose File -> Import SQL.
Button Description
Preview
Preview the data of the materialized view.
Explain
Show the Query Plan of the materialized view.
View Builder
Build the materialized view visually. It allows you to create and edit materialized
views without knowledge of SQL. See SQL Builder for details.
Beautify SQL
Format the codes with the Beautify SQL settings in Editor.
Hint: You can choose to show the preview results below the editor or in a new tab by selecting View -> Show Result
-> Below Query Editor or In a New Tab.
Materialized View Viewer
When you open a materialized view, Materialized View Viewer displays data as a grid. Data can be displayed in two
modes: Grid View and Form View. See Data Viewer for details.
Functions
Functions are schema objects that consist a set of SQL statements and stored in the server. In the main window, click
Function to open the function object list.
Function Wizard
Click New Function from the object toolbar. Function Wizard will pop up and it allows you to create a function easily.
1. Define the parameters. Set the Mode, Type Schema, Type, Name and Default Value under the corresponding columns.
2. Select the Schema and Return Type from the list.
Hint: Once uncheck the Show wizard next time option, you can go to Options to enable it.
Function Designer
Function Designer is the basic Navicat tool for working with functions. You can enter a valid SQL statement in the
Definition tab. This can be a simple statement such as SELECT or INSERT, or it can be a compound statement written
for details.
Results
To execute the function, click Execute on the toolbar. If the SQL statement is correct, the statement will be executed and, if the statement is supposed to return data, the Result tab opens with the data returned. If an error occurs while executing the function, execution stops, the appropriate error message is displayed. If the function
48
requires input parameters, the Input Parameter dialog will pop up. Check the Raw Mode option to pass the inputted values to the function without quotation marks.
Note: Navicat supports to return 10 result sets.
Debug (Available only in Non-Essentials Edition)
Before debugging PL/pgSQL functions, you need to install the pldbgapi extension. You can right-click anywhere in the function object list and select Install pldbgapi Extension.
Note: This option is only available for PostgreSQL 9.1 or above. If your server is PostgreSQL 8.3 to 9.0, you need to enable the debugger plugin manually in the server.
Then, open a PL/pgSQL function, click
Debug on the toolbar to launch the PostgreSQL Debugger .
Types
Types registers new data types for use in the current database. In the main window, click Others -> Type to open the type object list.
You can create Base / Composite / Enum / Range types. Click the down arrow next to New Type from the object toolbar and choose the type.
Type Designer
Type Designer is the basic Navicat tool for working with types. It allows you to create or edit a type.
Note: The tabs and options in the designer depend on the server version and the type you are chosen.
Foreign Servers
A foreign server typically encapsulates connection information that a foreign-data wrapper uses to access an external data resource. In the main window, click Others -> Foreign Server to open the foreign server object list.
To install the postgres_fdw extension for accessing data stored in external PostgreSQL servers, you can right-click anywhere in the foreign server object list and select Install postgres_fdw Extension.
Foreign Server Designer
Foreign Server Designer is the basic Navicat tool for working with foreign servers. It allows you to create or edit a foreign server.
Other Objects
Navicat also allows you to manage other PostgreSQL objects: Aggregate, Conversion, Domain, Index, Operator,
Operator Class, Sequence, Trigger, Tablespace, Cast and Language. In the main window, click Others and select an object to open the object list.
49
ダウンロード
広告