Avid iNews Command 3.1 Configuration Guide
Werbung
Werbung
Avid
®
iNEWS
®
Command
Installation and Configuration Guide
2
Legal Notices
Product specifications are subject to change without notice and do not represent a commitment on the part of Avid
Technology, Inc.
This product is subject to the terms and conditions of a software license agreement provided with the software. The product may only be used in accordance with the license agreement.
This product may be protected by one or more U.S. and non-U.S patents. Details are available at www.avid.com/patents .
This document is protected under copyright law. An authorized licensee of Avid iNEWS Command may reproduce this publication for the licensee’s own use in learning how to use the software. This document may not be reproduced or distributed, in whole or in part, for commercial purposes, such as selling copies of this document or providing support or educational services to others. This document is supplied as a guide for Avid iNEWS Command. Reasonable care has been taken in preparing the information it contains. However, this document may contain omissions, technical inaccuracies, or typographical errors. Avid Technology, Inc. does not accept responsibility of any kind for customers’ losses due to the use of this document. Product specifications are subject to change without notice.
Copyright © 2013 Avid Technology, Inc. and its licensors. All rights reserved.
The following disclaimer is required by Apple Computer, Inc.:
APPLE COMPUTER, INC. MAKES NO WARRANTIES WHATSOEVER, EITHER EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, REGARDING
THIS PRODUCT, INCLUDING WARRANTIES WITH RESPECT TO ITS MERCHANTABILITY OR ITS FITNESS FOR ANY
PARTICULAR PURPOSE. THE EXCLUSION OF IMPLIED WARRANTIES IS NOT PERMITTED BY SOME STATES. THE
ABOVE EXCLUSION MAY NOT APPLY TO YOU. THIS WARRANTY PROVIDES YOU WITH SPECIFIC LEGAL RIGHTS.
THERE MAY BE OTHER RIGHTS THAT YOU MAY HAVE WHICH VARY FROM STATE TO STATE.
The following disclaimer is required by Sam Leffler and Silicon Graphics, Inc. for the use of their TIFF library:
Copyright © 1988–1997 Sam Leffler
Copyright © 1991–1997 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
Permission to use, copy, modify, distribute, and sell this software [i.e., the TIFF library] and its documentation for any purpose is hereby granted without fee, provided that (i) the above copyright notices and this permission notice appear in all copies of the software and related documentation, and (ii) the names of Sam Leffler and Silicon Graphics may not be used in any advertising or publicity relating to the software without the specific, prior written permission of Sam Leffler and Silicon
Graphics.
THE SOFTWARE IS PROVIDED “AS-IS” AND WITHOUT WARRANTY OF ANY KIND, EXPRESS, IMPLIED OR
OTHERWISE, INCLUDING WITHOUT LIMITATION, ANY WARRANTY OF MERCHANTABILITY OR FITNESS FOR A
PARTICULAR PURPOSE.
IN NO EVENT SHALL SAM LEFFLER OR SILICON GRAPHICS BE LIABLE FOR ANY SPECIAL, INCIDENTAL, INDIRECT
OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES OF ANY KIND, OR ANY DAMAGES WHATSOEVER RESULTING FROM LOSS OF USE,
DATA OR PROFITS, WHETHER OR NOT ADVISED OF THE POSSIBILITY OF DAMAGE, AND ON ANY THEORY OF
LIABILITY, ARISING OUT OF OR IN CONNECTION WITH THE USE OR PERFORMANCE OF THIS SOFTWARE.
The following disclaimer is required by the Independent JPEG Group:
This software is based in part on the work of the Independent JPEG Group.
This Software may contain components licensed under the following conditions:
Copyright (c) 1989 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
Redistribution and use in source and binary forms are permitted provided that the above copyright notice and this paragraph are duplicated in all such forms and that any documentation, advertising materials, and other materials related to such distribution and use acknowledge that the software was developed by the University of California, Berkeley. The name of the
University may not be used to endorse or promote products derived from this software without specific prior written permission. THIS SOFTWARE IS PROVIDED ``AS IS'' AND WITHOUT ANY EXPRESS OR IMPLIED WARRANTIES,
INCLUDING, WITHOUT LIMITATION, THE IMPLIED WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY AND FITNESS FOR A
PARTICULAR PURPOSE.
Copyright (C) 1989, 1991 by Jef Poskanzer.
Permission to use, copy, modify, and distribute this software and its documentation for any purpose and without fee is hereby granted, provided that the above copyright notice appear in all copies and that both that copyright notice and this permission notice appear in supporting documentation. This software is provided "as is" without express or implied warranty.
Copyright 1995, Trinity College Computing Center. Written by David Chappell.
Permission to use, copy, modify, and distribute this software and its documentation for any purpose and without fee is hereby granted, provided that the above copyright notice appear in all copies and that both that copyright notice and this permission notice appear in supporting documentation. This software is provided "as is" without express or implied warranty.
Copyright 1996 Daniel Dardailler.
Permission to use, copy, modify, distribute, and sell this software for any purpose is hereby granted without fee, provided that the above copyright notice appear in all copies and that both that copyright notice and this permission notice appear in supporting documentation, and that the name of Daniel Dardailler not be used in advertising or publicity pertaining to distribution of the software without specific, written prior permission. Daniel Dardailler makes no representations about the suitability of this software for any purpose. It is provided "as is" without express or implied warranty.
Modifications Copyright 1999 Matt Koss, under the same license as above.
Copyright (c) 1991 by AT&T.
Permission to use, copy, modify, and distribute this software for any purpose without fee is hereby granted, provided that this entire notice is included in all copies of any software which is or includes a copy or modification of this software and in all copies of the supporting documentation for such software.
THIS SOFTWARE IS BEING PROVIDED "AS IS", WITHOUT ANY EXPRESS OR IMPLIED WARRANTY. IN PARTICULAR,
NEITHER THE AUTHOR NOR AT&T MAKES ANY REPRESENTATION OR WARRANTY OF ANY KIND CONCERNING THE
MERCHANTABILITY OF THIS SOFTWARE OR ITS FITNESS FOR ANY PARTICULAR PURPOSE.
This product includes software developed by the University of California, Berkeley and its contributors.
The following disclaimer is required by Nexidia Inc.:
© 2010 Nexidia Inc. All rights reserved, worldwide. Nexidia and the Nexidia logo are trademarks of Nexidia Inc. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners. All Nexidia materials regardless of form, including without limitation, software applications, documentation and any other information relating to Nexidia Inc., and its products and services are the exclusive property of Nexidia Inc. or its licensors. The Nexidia products and services described in these materials may be covered by Nexidia's United States patents: 7,231,351; 7,263,484; 7,313,521; 7,324,939; 7,406,415, 7,475,065; 7,487,086 and/or other patents pending and may be manufactured under license from the Georgia Tech Research Corporation USA.
The following disclaimer is required by Paradigm Matrix:
Portions of this software licensed from Paradigm Matrix.
The following disclaimer is required by Ray Sauers Associates, Inc.:
“Install-It” is licensed from Ray Sauers Associates, Inc. End-User is prohibited from taking any action to derive a source code equivalent of “Install-It,” including by reverse assembly or reverse compilation, Ray Sauers Associates, Inc. shall in no event be liable for any damages resulting from reseller’s failure to perform reseller’s obligation; or any damages arising from use or operation of reseller’s products or the software; or any other damages, including but not limited to, incidental, direct, indirect, special or consequential Damages including lost profits, or damages resulting from loss of use or inability to use reseller’s products or the software for any reason including copyright or patent infringement, or lost data, even if Ray Sauers Associates has been advised, knew or should have known of the possibility of such damages.
The following disclaimer is required by Videomedia, Inc.:
“Videomedia, Inc. makes no warranties whatsoever, either express or implied, regarding this product, including warranties with respect to its merchantability or its fitness for any particular purpose.”
“This software contains V-LAN ver. 3.0 Command Protocols which communicate with V-LAN ver. 3.0 products developed by
Videomedia, Inc. and V-LAN ver. 3.0 compatible products developed by third parties under license from Videomedia, Inc. Use of this software will allow “frame accurate” editing control of applicable videotape recorder decks, videodisc recorders/players and the like.”
The following disclaimer is required by Altura Software, Inc. for the use of its Mac2Win software and Sample
Source Code:
©1993–1998 Altura Software, Inc.
The following disclaimer is required by Ultimatte Corporation:
Certain real-time compositing capabilities are provided under a license of such technology from Ultimatte Corporation and are subject to copyright protection.
3
The following disclaimer is required by 3Prong.com Inc.:
Certain waveform and vector monitoring capabilities are provided under a license from 3Prong.com Inc.
The following disclaimer is required by Interplay Entertainment Corp.:
The “Interplay” name is used with the permission of Interplay Entertainment Corp., which bears no responsibility for Avid products.
This product includes portions of the Alloy Look & Feel software from Incors GmbH.
This product includes software developed by the Apache Software Foundation (http://www.apache.org/ ).
© DevelopMentor
This product may include the JCifs library, for which the following notice applies:
JCifs © Copyright 2004, The JCIFS Project, is licensed under LGPL (http://jcifs.samba.org/ ). See the LGPL.txt file in the Third
Party Software directory on the installation CD.
Avid Interplay contains components licensed from LavanTech. These components may only be used as part of and in connection with Avid Interplay.
Attn. Government User(s). Restricted Rights Legend
U.S. GOVERNMENT RESTRICTED RIGHTS. This Software and its documentation are “commercial computer software” or
“commercial computer software documentation.” In the event that such Software or documentation is acquired by or on behalf of a unit or agency of the U.S. Government, all rights with respect to this Software and documentation are subject to the terms of the License Agreement, pursuant to FAR §12.212(a) and/or DFARS §227.7202-1(a), as applicable.
Trademarks
003, 192 Digital I/O, 192 I/O, 96 I/O, 96i I/O, Adrenaline, AirSpeed, ALEX, Alienbrain, AME, AniMatte, Archive, Archive II,
Assistant Station, AudioPages, AudioStation, AutoLoop, AutoSync, Avid, Avid Active, Avid Advanced Response, Avid DNA,
Avid DNxcel, Avid DNxHD, Avid DS Assist Station, Avid Ignite, Avid Liquid, Avid Media Engine, Avid Media Processor, Avid
MEDIArray, Avid Mojo, Avid Remote Response, Avid Unity, Avid Unity ISIS, Avid VideoRAID, AvidRAID, AvidShare, AVIDstripe,
AVX, Beat Detective, Beauty Without The Bandwidth, Beyond Reality, BF Essentials, Bomb Factory, Bruno, C|24,
CaptureManager, ChromaCurve, ChromaWheel, Cineractive Engine, Cineractive Player, Cineractive Viewer, Color Conductor,
Command|24, Command|8, Control|24, Cosmonaut Voice, CountDown, d2, d3, DAE, D-Command, D-Control, Deko,
DekoCast, D-Fi, D-fx, Digi 002, Digi 003, DigiBase, Digidesign, Digidesign Audio Engine, Digidesign Development Partners,
Digidesign Intelligent Noise Reduction, Digidesign TDM Bus, DigiLink, DigiMeter, DigiPanner, DigiProNet, DigiRack,
DigiSerial, DigiSnake, DigiSystem, Digital Choreography, Digital Nonlinear Accelerator, DigiTest, DigiTranslator, DigiWear,
DINR, DNxchange, Do More, DPP-1, D-Show, DSP Manager, DS-StorageCalc, DV Toolkit, DVD Complete, D-Verb, Eleven,
EM, Euphonix, EUCON, EveryPhase, Expander, ExpertRender, Fader Pack, Fairchild, FastBreak, Fast Track, Film Cutter,
FilmScribe, Flexevent, FluidMotion, Frame Chase, FXDeko, HD Core, HD Process, HDpack, Home-to-Hollywood, HYBRID,
HyperSPACE, HyperSPACE HDCAM, iKnowledge, Image Independence, Impact, Improv, iNEWS, iNEWS Assign, iNEWS
ControlAir, InGame, Instantwrite, Instinct, Intelligent Content Management, Intelligent Digital Actor Technology, IntelliRender,
Intelli-Sat, Intelli-sat Broadcasting Recording Manager, InterFX, Interplay, inTONE, Intraframe, iS Expander, iS9, iS18, iS23, iS36, ISIS, IsoSync, LaunchPad, LeaderPlus, LFX, Lightning, Link & Sync, ListSync, LKT-200, Lo-Fi, MachineControl, Magic
Mask, Make Anything Hollywood, make manage move | media, Marquee, MassivePack, Massive Pack Pro, Maxim, Mbox,
Media Composer, MediaFlow, MediaLog, MediaMix, Media Reader, Media Recorder, MEDIArray, MediaServer, MediaShare,
MetaFuze, MetaSync, MIDI I/O, Mix Rack, Moviestar, MultiShell, NaturalMatch, NewsCutter, NewsView, NewsVision, Nitris,
NL3D, NLP, NSDOS, NSWIN, OMF, OMF Interchange, OMM, OnDVD, Open Media Framework, Open Media Management,
Painterly Effects, Palladium, Personal Q, PET, Podcast Factory, PowerSwap, PRE, ProControl, ProEncode, Profiler, Pro Tools,
Pro Tools|HD, Pro Tools LE, Pro Tools M-Powered, Pro Transfer, QuickPunch, QuietDrive, Realtime Motion Synthesis, Recti-Fi,
Reel Tape Delay, Reel Tape Flanger, Reel Tape Saturation, Reprise, Res Rocket Surfer, Reso, RetroLoop, Reverb One,
ReVibe, Revolution, rS9, rS18, RTAS, Salesview, Sci-Fi, Scorch, ScriptSync, SecureProductionEnvironment, Serv|GT,
Serv|LT, Shape-to-Shape, ShuttleCase, Sibelius, SimulPlay, SimulRecord, Slightly Rude Compressor, Smack!, Soft
SampleCell, Soft-Clip Limiter, SoundReplacer, SPACE, SPACEShift, SpectraGraph, SpectraMatte, SteadyGlide,
Streamfactory, Streamgenie, StreamRAID, SubCap, Sundance, Sundance Digital, SurroundScope, Symphony, SYNC HD,
SYNC I/O, Synchronic, SynchroScope, Syntax, TDM FlexCable, TechFlix, Tel-Ray, Thunder, TimeLiner, Titansync, Titan, TL
Aggro, TL AutoPan, TL Drum Rehab, TL Everyphase, TL Fauxlder, TL In Tune, TL MasterMeter, TL Metro, TL Space, TL
Utilities, tools for storytellers, Transit, TransJammer, Trillium Lane Labs, TruTouch, UnityRAID, Vari-Fi, Video the Web Way,
VideoRAID, VideoSPACE, VTEM, Work-N-Play, Xdeck, X-Form, Xmon and XPAND! are either registered trademarks or trademarks of Avid Technology, Inc. in the United States and/or other countries.
4
Footage
Arri — Courtesy of Arri/Fauer — John Fauer, Inc.
Bell South “Anticipation” — Courtesy of Two Headed Monster — Tucker/Wayne Atlanta/GMS.
Canyonlands — Courtesy of the National Park Service/Department of the Interior.
Eco Challenge British Columbia — Courtesy of Eco Challenge Lifestyles, Inc., All Rights Reserved.
Eco Challenge Morocco — Courtesy of Discovery Communications, Inc.
It’s Shuttletime — Courtesy of BCP & Canadian Airlines.
Nestlé Coffee Crisp — Courtesy of MacLaren McCann Canada.
Saturn “Calvin Egg” — Courtesy of Cossette Communications.
“Tigers: Tracking a Legend” — Courtesy of www.wildlifeworlds.com
, Carol Amore, Executive Producer.
"The Big Swell" — Courtesy of Swell Pictures, Inc.
Windhorse — Courtesy of Paul Wagner Productions.
Arizona Images — KNTV Production — Courtesy of Granite Broadcasting, Inc.,
Editor/Producer Bryan Foote.
Canyonlands — Courtesy of the National Park Service/Department of the Interior.
Ice Island — Courtesy of Kurtis Productions, Ltd.
Tornados + Belle Isle footage — Courtesy of KWTV News 9.
WCAU Fire Story — Courtesy of NBC-10, Philadelphia, PA.
Women in Sports – Paragliding — Courtesy of Legendary Entertainment, Inc.
News material provided by WFTV Television Inc.
GOT FOOTAGE?
Editors — Filmmakers — Special Effects Artists — Game Developers — Animators — Educators — Broadcasters — Content
creators of every genre — Just finished an incredible project and want to share it with the world?
Send us your reels and we may use your footage in our show reel or demo!*
For a copy of our release and Avid’s mailing address, go to www.avid.com/footage .
*Note: Avid cannot guarantee the use of materials submitted.
Avid iNEWS Command v3.1 Installation and Configuration Guide • 9329-65262-00 Rev B • October 1, 2013
5
6
Contents
Installing and Configuring the Command Server. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 17
Adding the Temporary Command License . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 35
Generate an Activation File for a Full Command License . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 37
Add the Permanent Command License. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 39
Configuring Video Setup for GVG K2 Servers using AMP Protocol . . . . . . . . . 55
Wiring Serial Connections for Avid Video Device Services (for VDCP) . . . . . . 57
Configuring VDS for Slugs and Thumbnails in Non-Interplay Systems. . . . . . . 60
7
Installing and Configuring the AirSpeed Video Servers . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 74
Configuring AirSpeed Video Servers for the Low-Res Proxy Viewer . . . . . . . . . . . . 89
Configuring Command for Low-Res Proxy Viewing . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 90
Installing and Configuring Avid Motion Graphics . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 91
Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Server Installation and Configuration . . . . . . . . . . . . . 98
Configuring the Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Server . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 101
8
Installing and Configuring the Graphic Device Service . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 119
Checklist: Installing and Configuring for Third-Party Plug-ins . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 130
Configuring Graphic Device Service Macros. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 136
Configuring iNEWS Command Device Channels and Channel Groups . . . . . . . . 145
Configuring the GDS for Chyron LUCI iNEWS ActiveX Support . . . . . . . . . . . 148
Installing and Configuring the Deko . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 150
Installing the DekoMOS Gateway and Net HASP Software. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 164
Confirming the NetHASP License Manager Configuration. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 165
9
Configuring Styles on the DekoMOS Macro Server . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 177
Installing and Configuring the Thunder . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 186
Installing the Command Workstation . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 206
Installing and Configuring the Tablet Application . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 233
10
Configuring Gateway Settings from an ini File . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 275
Using the list Command to View Assigned Mailboxes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 283
Confirming Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Functionality . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 294
11
Starting the Avid Motion Graphics Preview Renderers . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 316
Testing Command Inventory, Playout, and Editing . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 317
12
Using This Guide
Congratulations on your purchase of your Avid iNEWS Command system.
Avid iNEWS Command offers a considerable amount of functionality for the state-of-the-art newsroom, including newsroom system integration and playout control. With Command, newsroom personnel can easily create and manage playlists.
This publication provides information on how to install and configure the Command system.
n
The documentation describes the standard features of a basic system configuration.
Therefore, your system might contain certain features and hardware that are not covered in the documentation.
Symbols and Conventions
Avid documentation uses the following symbols and conventions:
>
Symbol or Convention Meaning or Action n c w
A note provides important related information, reminders, recommendations, and strong suggestions.
A caution means that a specific action you take could cause harm to your computer or cause you to lose data.
A warning describes an action that could cause you physical harm.
Follow the guidelines in this document or on the unit itself when handling electrical equipment.
This symbol indicates menu commands (and subcommands) in the order you select them. For example, File > Import means to open the
File menu and then select the Import command.
(Windows), (Windows only), (Macintosh), or
(Macintosh only)
This symbol indicates a single-step procedure. Multiple arrows in a list indicate that you perform one of the actions listed.
This text indicates that the information applies only to the specified operating system, either Windows or Macintosh OS X.
Symbol or Convention Meaning or Action
Bold font Bold font is primarily used in task instructions to identify user interface items and keyboard sequences.
Italic font
Courier Bold font
Italic font is used to emphasize certain words and to indicate variables.
Courier Bold font identifies text that you type.
Ctrl+key or mouse action Press and hold the first key while you press the last key or perform the mouse action. For example, Command+Option+C or Ctrl+drag.
If You Need Help
If you are having trouble using your Avid product:
1. Retry the action, carefully following the instructions given for that task in this guide. It is especially important to check each step of your workflow.
2. Check the latest information that might have become available after the documentation was published:
If the latest information for your Avid product is provided as printed release notes, they ship with your application and are also available online.
If the latest information for your Avid product is provided as a ReadMe file, it is supplied on your Avid installation CD or DVD as a PDF document
(README_product.pdf) and is also available online.
You should always check online for the most up-to-date release notes or ReadMe because the online version is updated whenever new information becomes
available. To view these online versions, select ReadMe from the Help menu, or visit the Knowledge Base at www.avid.com/readme .
3. Check the documentation that came with your Avid application or your hardware for maintenance or hardware-related issues.
4. Visit the online Knowledge Base at www.avid.com/onlinesupport . Online services are available 24 hours per day, 7 days per week. Search this online Knowledge Base to find answers, to view error messages, to access troubleshooting tips, to download updates, and to read or join online message-board discussions.
14
Avid Training Services
Avid Training Services
Avid makes lifelong learning, career advancement, and personal development easy and convenient. Avid understands that the knowledge you need to differentiate yourself is always changing, and Avid continually updates course content and offers new training delivery methods that accommodate your pressured and competitive work environment.
To learn about Avid's new online learning environment, Avid Learning Excellerator™
(ALEX), visit http://learn.avid.com
.
For information on courses/schedules, training centers, certifications, courseware, and books, please visit www.avid.com/training or call Avid Sales at 800-949-AVID
(800-949-2843).
15
16
1
Installing and Configuring the Command
Server
Avid iNEWS Command is a device automation system that integrates with any iNEWS or
MOS-enabled newsroom computer system (NRCS) and provides broadcasters precise control over a range of playout devices, including video servers, still stores, and character generators in a broadcast news environment. Backup services and mirrored playout make this system reliable while the user interface allows you to control multiple production devices. Avid iNEWS
Command also works with Avid Service Framework applications and services to ensure you always have the best system performance.
•
•
•
Checklist: Command Server Installation
•
Copying Install CD to Local Directory
•
Installing Avid Service Framework
•
Installing the License Service
•
Installing Avid iNEWS Command on the Server
•
Configuring the iNEWS Command Server
•
Configuring a Second Command System
System Architecture
System Architecture
The basic iNEWS Command system is comprised of servers that run a variety of Command services, workstations that run the client software, and devices, such as Avid AirSpeed video servers, Thunder production servers, and Deko graphics systems.
Avid iNEWS Command is scalable and can adapt to work in traditional newsroom-based playlist creation to production-centric workflows where running orders are created inside the iNEWS
Command playback application. All of the services can run on a single computer, or they can be spread out across multiple computers with redundant services configured as backups to take control if any or all of the primary services should become unavailable.
An example of a basic Command system architecture is shown in the following illustration:
Avid recommends having all primary Command services on one designated primary server with the backup services running on other backup servers. Command determines primary and backup roles based on the length of time the service has been running. The server that has been running longer is the primary. Therefore, to get all primary services on one server, it is necessary to start the primary server first; when all services have started, start the backup servers. This is the only way to ensure all services on the primary server take on the primary role, which allows for more consistent behavior during times when redundancy is needed, and it helps simplify any necessary troubleshooting efforts.
18
Checklist: Before you Begin
Checklist: Before you Begin
Before you start to install software and configure the Command Server(s), ensure the following tasks are completed.
Tasks
Assign a static IP address to each server.
If the server has dual network cards, you must disable the unused connection.
The Avid Service Framework relies heavily on DNS name resolution to discover and communicate with Avid Service Framework and Command services.
Establish the DNS server and ensure all computers with Command services or applications are entered in the DNS table with reverse lookup enabled.
Make sure that your TCP/IP settings have the correct primary and alternate DNS addresses.
Also, ensure the Advanced TCP/IP settings (on the DNS tab) are set to the following:
• The Append these DNS suffixes option is selected and the domain is listed, preferably first.
• The Register this connection’s addresses in DNS check box is selected.
• (Optional) The Use this connection’s DNS suffix in DNS registration check box is selected.
If Command will be used to control a third-party video device via VDCP, ensure that a serial card or serial port server are used.
n
For version compatibility information, see the latest ReadMe available for your version of
Avid iNEWS Command.
Some Avid Interplay products, such as Instinct, Assist, and Access use Service Framework. Avid iNEWS Command also uses Service Framework; however, the two versions might not be compatible. Consult with Avid Customer Support to determine Service Framework compatibility when Avid Interplay products are installed in the same workgroup. It might be necessary to:
Tasks
Use a separate workgroup for the Command system.
Install Command on separate machines that run Service Framework compatible with Command.
19
Checklist: Command Server Installation
Checklist: Command Server Installation
Determine which computer or computers will serve as iNEWS Command Servers and, if installing on a redundant system, decide which one will run the primary services; you should install on the primary server first, then the backup server(s). n
If you want to copy the installation CD to a specified location on your network to alleviate or
On the Command Server, complete the following tasks in the order that they are listed. If you are viewing this checklist online, you can easily link to a topic that provides procedural details for the task. Return to this main checklist after you have completed each task.
Tasks Refer to...
Install Avid Service Framework.
Install the License service.
Configure the License service.
Add temporary license.
“Installing Avid Service Framework” on page 24
“Installing the License Service” on page 31
“Configuring the License Service” on page 35
“Adding the Temporary Command License” on page 35
Generate an activation file for a full license.
“Generate an Activation File for a Full
Add the permanent license.
“Add the Permanent Command License” on page 39
Install Avid iNEWS Command. For redundancy, repeat this procedure on the second server.
“Installing Avid iNEWS Command on the
Configure the Command Server.
“Configuring the iNEWS Command Server” on page 47
n
All settings in Command and Service Framework are case sensitive. Ensure that case matches in all configuration settings.
Set the system administrator password.
“Configuring the System Administration
(Optional) Configure the Time
Synchronization service.
“Configuring the Time Synchronization
n
Installation and configuration of the Time Synchronization service only applies to sites that do not already have a method for synchronizing PC clocks on the network.
20
Checklist: Command Server Installation
Tasks Refer to...
(Optional) Configure the Lookup tab in
Workgroup Properties.
(Optional) Configure the system name.
“Configuring the Lookup Tab” on page 69
Configure the AirSpeed device services.
“Configuring a Second Command System” on page 72
“Configuring AirSpeed Device Services” on page 70
Configure the Avid Video device services.
“Configuring VDS for Omneon” on page 50
“Configuring VDS for VDCP” on page 58
n
For information on how to configure the Avid Video device service for the Harris NEXIO plug-in, see the third-party documentation provided by the Harris Corporation.
(Optional) Configure the Interplay Agent services.
“Configuring Avid Interplay Agent Services” on page 62
(Optional) Configure the UMD device service for Under Monitor Display or In Monitor
Display devices.
“Configuring the Avid UMD Device Service” on page 65
21
Copying Install CD to Local Directory
Copying Install CD to Local Directory
The autorun feature on the Avid iNEWS Command installation CD enables you to copy all necessary files to a local directory on your network. From that location, you can then access product documentation and run the installer applications on computers across your local area network.
To copy the CD to a local directory:
1. Insert the Command installation CD. The autorun installation program starts and displays the following screen.
22
2. Click the Copy This CD To A Local Directory button.
The Browse For Folder dialog box appears.
Copying Install CD to Local Directory
3. Select a local directory. If one does not exist, you can make a new folder.
4. Click OK. A progress bar will appear as the files are copied.
n
For upgrades, some files might already exist on your computer. If so, a dialog box (like the one shown below) will notify you of this and ask for your overwrite approval of existing files with those on the CD.
5. When the Copy Complete dialog box appears indicating a successful copy, click OK.
23
Installing Avid Service Framework
Installing Avid Service Framework
Avid Service Framework consists of applications and services which provide dynamic discovery and lookup mechanisms, a scalable notification system, a centralized configuration tool, diagnostic logging for workgroup-enabled applications and services, system health monitoring, and so on. Some of the services are known collectively as Support services. The Support services are viewed, monitored, and configured using the Service Framework applications. n
Avid strongly recommends the installation of the Avid Service Framework applications, which take up almost no space or overhead on the hard drive and can prove vital in troubleshooting integration issues, etc.
Those most vital to iNEWS Command are:
Major Services Description
Avid Lookup Service This service enables communication between all
Command and Framework services running in the workgroup. Without it, there is no communication between services. Only two should be installed in a workgroup.
System Configuration This service sets the configuration settings for all configurable services. The Avid Service
Configuration application is used to enter configuration information that the System
Configuration service will carry out and set in the registry. Without it, the workgroup cannot function. Only two should be installed in a workgroup.
Server Workstation
Each computer (server and workstation) running Avid iNEWS Command software requires at least the core components of Service Framework and must be able to connect to a computer running the Avid Lookup service.
n
Avid Service Framework and Avid iNEWS Command must be installed individually on each computer; do not use drive image software as a substitute for installation. Avid does recommend making a image of the hard drive after installation, but not before.
24
Installing Avid Service Framework
To install the Avid Service Framework software:
1. Insert the Command installation CD (or access the install program from the network).
n
When installing Service Framework on Command Servers, use only the installer provided on the
Command installation CD and not any other software DVD that might be supplied with other
Avid products, such as AirSpeed Multi Stream.
The autorun installation program starts and displays the following screen.
n
The Command Documentation button will open a window displaying the contents of the Doc folder on the Command installation CD in which product documentation is provided in PDF format.
If the autorun does not begin, manually navigate to and run the ServiceFrameworkSetup.exe
install program.
25
Installing Avid Service Framework
2. Click the Avid Service Framework button. n
Other dialog boxes could appear depending on whether older versions of Service Framework, the License service, or Command are found on the server, particularly if upgrading existing software. If one appears, read it carefully and reply accordingly with regard to upgrades, etc.
A splash graphic will appear briefly as the installer prepares the InstallShield Wizard. Then the Welcome dialog box appears.
26
3. Click Next.
The Workgroup Name dialog box opens.
Installing Avid Service Framework
4. Set the location to which Avid Service Framework will be installed and click Next.
27
Installing Avid Service Framework
5. Type a new or existing workgroup name in the field.
n
Do not install iNEWS Command in an Avid Interplay workgroup.
Because iNEWS Command is mission critical, Avid recommends you make it a separate workgroup from any existing Interplay workgroups. Make a note regarding the workgroup name so that it can be entered during other Avid Service Framework installations. You must use the same workgroup name on all computers and devices that are connected in your
Command architecture. The workgroup name is case sensitive.
c
If you are updating the Service Framework software, the installer remembers the last installed value. If the workgroup name was changed after the install, the installer will not be aware of the change.
6. Click Next.
The Options dialog box opens.
28
Installing Avid Service Framework
7. Select the option: Typical Avid Server Install and click Next.
The Custom Setup dialog box opens.
On the Command Server, you must ensure the Lookup Service and System Configuration are selected. For more information about them, see the table on
.
The following table includes additional applications and services that Avid strongly recommends be installed on the server—since they do not take up any overhead and are useful in troubleshooting situations.
Applications and
Services Description
Service Configuration This application is used to configure settings and host names for Framework and Command services in the workgroup. For instance, configuring the Command system to work with a
GPI panel requires defining certain parameters through the Avid Service Configuration application. Avid recommends installing this application on the Command Server.
Health Monitor This application allows you to see the status of
Command and Framework services health statistics throughout the workgroup. Avid recommends installing this application on the
Command Server.
Server Workstation
29
Installing Avid Service Framework
Applications and
Services Description (Continued)
Diagnostics
Machine Monitor
This application is used to view Avid log files
( .alf
) when troubleshooting. Avid recommends installing this application on the Command
Server.
This service reports machine information to the
Health Monitor, including disk, memory, and network status. You can also monitor specific services on that local machine. Avid recommends installing this service on the
Command Server.
Server Workstation
The following table describes some minor services that are generally considered optional or are not recommended at sites under certain circumstances. If concerned about overhead, you should not install these services.
Minor Services Description
Email Alerter
SNMP Gateway
This service sends a notification email if one of the services in the workgroup has a warning or critical status. It is seldom installed on the
Command Server.
This service provides an interface to send health monitoring information to industry standard SNMP manager applications. It is seldom installed on the Command Server.
Time Synchronization This service should only be installed if you do not already use something to synchronize your PC clocks on the network. If you use NTP or some other method for time synchronization, do not install this service. c
Serious problems can occur if more than one service for time synchronization is installed.
Multicast Repeater This service is required only when a workgroup must span subnets or domains. It is seldom installed on the Command Server.
8. Click Next and follow the installation instructions to complete the installation.
n
You might be required to restart your system to complete the installation.
After installation, verify that the services are running on each computer where Service
Framework services were installed.
30
Installing the License Service
Installing the License Service
The Avid License service manages the site licenses for Command Workstations as well as CG and video devices that interface with the Command system.
This service must be installed on the computer running the Command Server software, but is not necessary on any other computer; however, two instances of this service can be installed for redundancy. Some configuration is required after installation.
To install the License service:
1. Insert the Command installation CD (or access the install program from the network).
The autorun installation program starts and displays the following screen.
n
The Command Documentation button will open a window displaying the contents of the Doc folder on the Command installation CD in which product documentation is provided in PDF format.
If the autorun does not begin, manually navigate to and run the Avid_License_Setup.exe
install program.
31
Installing the License Service
2. Click the Avid License Service button. If Avid Service Framework is not already installed, a warning dialog box will appear.
If it does, click OK and install Avid Service Framework before restarting this installation.
See
“Installing Avid Service Framework” on page 24 for more information.
n
Other dialog boxes could appear depending on whether older versions of Service Framework, the License service, or Command are found on the server, particularly if upgrading existing software. If one appears, read it carefully and reply accordingly with regard to upgrades, etc.
If all prerequisite installations are in order, and the installation can proceed, a splash graphic will appear briefly as the installer prepares the InstallShield Wizard.
Then the Welcome dialog box appears.
32
3. Click Next.
The Destination Folder dialog box appears.
Installing the License Service
4. Do one of the following: t Accept the default location for the destination folder by clicking Next.
t Click the Change button to select a different location, then click Next.
The Ready to Install the Program dialog box appears.
33
Installing the License Service
5. Click Install.
A new dialog box will appear indicating the progress of the install.
6. When the InstallShield Wizard Completed dialog box appears, click Finish.
34
Installing the License Service
Configuring the License Service
After installing the service, some configuration is required, using the Avid Service Configuration application. This application should already be installed on a PC on the same network, but might not necessarily be installed on the same computer as the Command Server software or the
License service.
Configuring the Avid License service involves three tasks:
•
Adding the Temporary Command License
•
Generate an Activation File for a Full Command License
•
Add the Permanent Command License
Adding the Temporary Command License
To get you started with Avid iNEWS Command, Avid provides you with a Command temporary
(TEMP) license to use until your get your full Command license.
To add the temporary license:
1. Save the license file to My Documents on the Command Server.
2. Open the the Avid Service Configuration application.
3. On the Hosts tab, navigate to and select the Avid License Service.
4. Click the Add License File button.
5. In the Add Licenses dialog box, select the license file and click Add Licenses.
35
Your license file information will appear.
Installing the License Service
6. Click Apply.
n
The temporary license Avid provides gives full Command functionality for thirty (30) days.
36
Installing the License Service
Generate an Activation File for a Full Command License
On systems with redundant configurations, the activation file for a full license must be generated on the primary server.
To generate an activation file:
1. Open the Service Configuration application.
2. On the Hosts tab, navigate to and select the Avid License Service.
3. When prompted, enter the system administrator password and click OK. If you have not yet created one, leave the space blank and click OK.
4. On the Allow Unrestricted Security dialog, click Yes.
37
5. Click the Generate Activation File button.
Installing the License Service
6. Review and edit the required information, as well as contact information, if necessary. You can also add comments.
n
Do not remove any information that is already supplied in the fields.
7. Click the Generate Activation File button to create the .act
file and select where you want to save it on your PC.
8. Zip the file and then e-mail that .zip
file to your respective Avid manufacturing site. Ensure the subject line of the e-mail contains your site name and Command Activation File.
38
Installing the License Service
Add the Permanent Command License
To activate the full license:
1. When you receive your permanent .lic
file from Avid, save it to My Documents on the same Command Server where the activation file was created.
2. Open the Avid Service Configuration application.
3. On the Hosts tab, navigate to and select the Avid License Service.
4. When prompted, enter the system administrator password and click OK. If you have not yet created one, leave the space blank and click OK.
5. On the Allow Unrestricted Security dialog, click Yes.
6. Select an existing TEMP license and click Delete Selected Licenses. Repeat until all of the
TEMP licenses are gone.
7. Click the Add License File button.
The Add Licenses dialog box appears.
39
8. Select the full Command license file, and click Add Licenses.
Your licensing configuration details will appear.
Installing the License Service
9. Click Apply.
n
To verify that an installed service is running, you must use the Avid Workgroup Properties application.
40
Installing Avid iNEWS Command on the Server
Installing Avid iNEWS Command on the Server
This section contains the procedure for installing the Command Server software, along with some device services that must run on the server, if used with specific devices, such as Avid
AirSpeed video servers or third-party video devices controlled via VDCP.
n
If you are upgrading, open Avid Workgroup Properties and stop all services first and then close the application when you’re done.
To install the software on a Command Server:
1. Insert the Command installation CD (or access the install program from the network).
The autorun installation program starts and displays the following screen.
n
The Command Documentation button will open a window displaying the contents of the Doc folder on the Command installation CD in which product documentation is provided in PDF format.
41
Installing Avid iNEWS Command on the Server
2. Click the Avid iNEWS Command button. If Avid Service Framework is not already installed, a warning dialog box will appear.
If it does, click OK and install Avid Service Framework before restarting this installation.
See
“Installing Avid Service Framework” on page 24 for more information.
n
Other dialog boxes could appear depending on whether older versions of Service Framework, the License service, or Command are found on the server, particularly if upgrading the
Command Server software. If one appears, read it carefully and reply accordingly with regard to upgrades, etc.
If all prerequisite installations are in order, and the Command Server installation can proceed, a splash graphic will appear briefly as the installer prepares the InstallShield
Wizard. Then the Welcome dialog box appears.
3. Click Next. The License Agreement appears.
42
Installing Avid iNEWS Command on the Server
4. Read the License Agreement, accept the terms, and click Next.
n
You can print the terms if you want to read them later or keep a copy for your records. If you do not accept the terms, the installation program will not continue.
The Destination Folder dialog box opens.
5. Do one of the following: t Click Change to designate an install directory, and then click Next.
t Accept the default location by clicking Next.
43
The Options dialog box opens.
Installing Avid iNEWS Command on the Server
6. Select Server Installation and click Next.
44
Installing Avid iNEWS Command on the Server
7. The Custom Setup dialog box appears with the default services selected for a server installation. However, you can modify the selections to customize your installation. To learn more about a service, click any service listed and view a Feature Description provided along the right side of the dialog box. n
Avid recommends installing the Avid iNEWS Command Workstation software on the server as well, because it can be useful in some troubleshooting situations.
45
Installing Avid iNEWS Command on the Server
If installing Avid iNEWS Command to interface with a MOS-based newsroom computer system, such as ENPS, you must select Avid MOS Communication Service and deselect
Avid iNEWS Communication Service.
If your site intends to use Avid iNEWS Command tablet application on the iPad, ensure the
Avid Remote Communication Service is selected for installation. For more information, see
“Installing and Configuring the Tablet Application” on page 233
.
If your site intends to control third-party video device(s) via VDCP, ensure that the Avid
Video device service is selected for installation. Add one for each device—up to ten possible per server—by clicking the plus [+] next to that service and selecting more. By default, this device service is not installed with the Perle IOLAN TCP/serial port server. Command supports full redundancy with VDCP.
If your site intends to view thumbnails of media items, such as graphics from an Avid Deko or video from Avid AirSpeed video servers, ensure that either or both of the following services are installed:
For thumbnail integration with an Avid AirSpeed and thumbnail/metadata integration with third-party video servers, install the Avid Interplay Agent service. This service will require some configuration after installation on each Command Server. For more
information, see “Configuring Avid Interplay Agent Services” on page 62 .
For thumbnail integration with an Avid Deko, install the Avid Deko Renderer service.
By default, this service is pre-configured to automatically locate the DekoMOS
Gateway on the network. You can verify the setting via the Avid Service Configuration application. For more information, see the Avid iNEWS Command Administration
Guide.
By default, these two services are not installed.
n
The Deko Renderer service does not take up a HASP license seat.
46
8. Click Next.
Configuring the iNEWS Command Server
9. When the Ready to Install the Program dialog box appears, click Install.
10. When the installation is complete, click Finish.
To verify that installed services are running, you must use the Avid Service Framework
Workgroup Properties application.
Configuring the iNEWS Command Server
After installation, some configuration is required on each iNEWS Command Server. This section covers defining the password for system administrators, configuring the system name, and some services—such as the Time Synchronization and AirSpeed device services.
Configuring the System Administration Password
Modifying system settings in Avid iNEWS Command requires an administrator password (if set), which is configured through the Service Configuration application of Avid Service
Framework.
47
Configuring the iNEWS Command Server
To change or set up the system administration password:
1. Click the Start button, and then select All Programs > Avid > Service Framework > Avid
Service Configuration.
2. On the Hosts tab, navigate to and select the Avid System Configuration Service.
3. Select the Administrator Password tab.
4. Type in an alphanumeric password and retype it.
5. Click Apply.
n
Click the Reset button to restore to password to the default “blank” password.
48
Configuring the iNEWS Command Server
Configuring the Time Synchronization Service
This service should only be installed and configured if you do not already use something to synchronize your PC clocks.
To configure the Time Synchronization service:
1. Click the Start button, and then select All Programs > Avid > Service Framework > Avid
Service Configuration.
2. On the Hosts tab, navigate to and select the Avid Time Synchronization Service.
3. When prompted, enter the system administrator password and click OK. If you have not yet created one, leave the space blank and click OK.
4. Select the Master Mode check box.
5. Select the Get Time Sync reference from an NTP Server check box and enter the name of that server on your system.
6. Click Apply.
n
After you configure the Time Synchronization service on the primary Command Server, you will need to install the service on all other Command Servers, workstations and devices, which will be in Slave Mode by default.
49
Configuring the iNEWS Command Server
Configuring Avid Video Device Services (VDS)
The Avid iNEWS Command user interface lets you integrate with some third-party video devices via the network or via Video Disk Control Protocol (VDCP). For this integration to work, however, some configuration of the device service is required, which varies depending on the type of integration. The following sections contain information related to Command integration with Omneon or Harris devices, as well as others that use VDCP.
Because VDCP does not support metadata, all of the information (item slug, date, etc.) is stored within the iNEWS Command system.
• Command sets the Last Modified date to the date that the item first appears in Command.
• Command lets users edit the item’s slug.
• If the item’s slug is blank, Command copies the item’s ID to the Slug field.
Configuring VDS for Omneon
The Avid Video device service has a plug-in that allows for network-based control of Omneon
Spectrum and Media Deck. Selecting the Omneon plug-in also means that the Video device service is fully redundant, like other Command services.
For the plug-in to work, however, some configuration is required, using the Avid Service
Configuration application of Avid Service Framework. For more information about this application, see the Avid Service Framework User’s Guide.
To configure the Avid Video device service for Omneon network control:
1. Click the Start button, and then select All Programs > Avid > Service Framework > Avid
Service Configuration.
2. On the Hosts tab, navigate to and select the Avid Video Device Service.
3. When prompted, enter the system administrator password and click OK. If you have not yet created one, leave the space blank and click OK.
50
Configuring the iNEWS Command Server
4. On the Plug-in Chooser tab, select the Omneon plug-in and click Apply. By default this selection is set to none.
5. Click Apply. The Change Plug-in dialog box will appear.
6. Click Yes. This will restart the device service.
c
After you select a plug-in, you must click Apply and let the service restart before proceeding.
51
Configuring the iNEWS Command Server
7. On the Avid Video Device Service Settings tab, enter the name of the device, which must match the name used for the device channel in the Command system settings.
8. Set the Frame Rate accordingly, and leave the Drop Frame check box selected.
n
The Frame Rate setting is a default; it is displayed whether the Video device service (VDS) is using the default VDCP mode or using a plug-in. It will be displayed in the Omneon VDS plug-in configuration, but is not used because VDS gets the frame rate from the player to which it is connected.
9. Set timeout in seconds for cue, start (play), pause, and eject.
10. Transfer Status is a feature that only works with Interplay. It connects to the Interplay
Transfer Manager to monitor status. Select the check box only if this is the case with your system. For more information, see
“Transfer Status Icon” on page 62 .
11. Enter the machine name or IP address of the Omneon’s Media Director. This information is obtainable via the Omneon System Manager software.
12. Leave the Clip Directory field blank to accept the default or enter another pathname for the directory that will hold all of the media clips. An example of the clip directory is:
/OMN/clip.dir
.
13. Omneon usually stores clip information in MOV or MXF formats. The extension for the default format is .mov.mxf
so that either format is recognized.
52
Configuring the iNEWS Command Server
14. Edit and add channel indices accordingly:
The first channel index will appear automatically with the player information filled in, but it can be modified as needed. The channel index values must match the channel index value when you add the device channel in Command. Command is case sensitive, so the case must match exactly.
Enter the name for each player. This information is also obtainable via the Omneon
System Manager software.
Use the Add button to add more. To change a setting, click on it and select the proper index being used from the list that appears.
15. Click Apply and then click Yes when asked to restart the device service. You can then close the Avid Service Configuration application.
n
For a redundant configuration, you can apply these settings to the second device service by clicking the Apply To... button. If the Apply To... button is dimmmed, make a bogus change, such as adding a splace to a setting and deleting it, and then moving to a different field. Then click the
Apply To... button and navigate to the second device service.
16. Confirm configuration by viewing the service in Health Monitor. The service will appear connected with a green checked icon displayed when it is working properly.
n
If using the Avid Video device service to control an Omneon, and if you want to use Command’s system setting, Hold Last Frame—the default for which is five seconds—you must configure the setting, Advance-to-Cued, to zero on the Omneon device. Avid also recommends setting Last
Frame Freeze to zero because Command sets that time period.
After the Video device service has been configured, you must add device channels and channel groups in Command. This can be done from a Command Workstation.
To add device channels and channel groups for Omneon integration:
1. At a Command Workstation, click Tools > System Settings. The System Settings dialog box appears.
2. Expand Channel.
3. Select Device Channels.
53
Configuring the iNEWS Command Server
4. Click Add.
5. Enter the channel’s name.
6. Enter the device’s name. This name must match the device name that was entered during configuration of the Video device service.
7. For Device type, select Other Video.
8. Set the Channel Index to 1, 2, or 3, depending on which player you are controlling.
9. (Optional) Add notes.
10. Click OK. The Add Device Channel dialog box closes. Repeat these steps to add more device channels.
11. On the System Settings dialog box, click Apply so that you can add the new device channels to a channel group.
12. On the left side of the System Settings dialog box, select Group.
13. Click Add to create the channel group.
14. Enter the name of the channel group.
15. Click Add and select the appropriate channel. Repeat as necessary.
16. Click OK, and then OK again to save the settings.
17. Create a standalone playlist, add items, and test playout to confirm functionality.
With Omneon network control, Command users can make subclips. The subclip feature will create a new media item on the Omneon video server. It is not a master clip with specific pointers.
54
Configuring the iNEWS Command Server
To create a subclip:
1. At a Command Workstation, open an item in the Media Viewer.
2. Click the Subclip button.
3. Give the subclip a name and click OK. It should appear in the Inventory panel shortly.
n
The Subclip button will appear when controlling other devices via the Video device service, but only functions when creating subclips on an Omneon device.
Configuring Video Setup for GVG K2 Servers using AMP Protocol
Command supports the GVG AMP protocol for controlling playout of Grass Valley video servers. n
The AMP protocol does not support the Delete Protect feature. The right-click menu will reflect this in 3.1, but not in 3.0.1.
To configure video setup for GVG K2 servers using AMP protocol:
1. Open Avid Service Configuration.
2. On the left side, select the respective Video Device Service.
3. On the Plug-in Chooser tab, select the GVG AMP plug-in in the selection box, and then click Apply.
4. When the restart dialog appears, click Yes. After the service restarts, you need to configure the plug-in.
5. Select the service again, and then select the Avid Video Device Service Settings tab.
6. Enter the Device Name, which must match the device name used in the Command System
Settings.
7. Enter the host name or IP.
8. If the folder is different from the default, change the Folder to the correct path.
9. Click the Add button to add channels. The (left) Channel Index is automatically populated.
10. In the Channel column, enter the K2 channel number.
n
The value in the Channel column can only be 1-4, corresponding to the respective Player on the
K2.
n
The Channel Index and Channel columns do not need to be equal. For example, if Command is only controlling the 3rd and 4th channels of the K2, you only need to add 2 channels – and enter
3 and 4 for the Channel values, corresponding to Channel Index 1 and 2.
11. (Optional) when connecting to a transfer engine, add the machine name.
55
Configuring the iNEWS Command Server
12. The remaining settings should be left as they are
13. Click Apply, and click Yes on the restart dialog message.
14. Configure the Device Channels and Channel Groups in the Command System Settings.
n
Shutting down the K2 user interface ejects any cued or playing clips, but the items will not show correct transport status in Command. Command will not report CHANNEL DOWN. The K2 has a service called the AppService that will continue to facilitate communication between
Command and the K2, but items will need to be recued before then can be played. After the connection is down, such as when the device is restarted, Command checks for the connection every minute.
Configuring VDS for Harris
Like Omneon, there is a third-party plug-in that can be used for Command integration with a
Harris Nexio device. The Harris plug-in is distributed by the Harris Corporation; users should contact the Harris Corporation for more information.
n
As with all third-party devices, users need to purchase a 3P device channel for each channel that is going to be controlled by Command.
For the plug-in to work, some configuration is required, using the Avid Service Configuration application of Avid Service Framework. The following graphic shows sample settings for the
Avid Video device service with the Harris plug-in chosen.
n
For detailed information on how to configure the Avid Video device service for the Harris NEXIO plug-in, see the third-party documentation provided by the Harris Corporation.
56
Configuring the iNEWS Command Server
Wiring Serial Connections for Avid Video Device Services (for VDCP)
Before configuring Command for VDCP control, ensure the serial cables are correct, according to the specifications provided in this section. The external connector and cable are customer supplied. A shielded cable must be used on the connector to maintain RFI compliance. The shield of the cable should be connected to the connector’s shield or shell.
This table is for cabling with a 25-pin, female-ended connector (shown) to the Digi Acceleport
RS422 card on the Command Server via the “octopus” cable:
13 1
25 14
Pins #
1
2
3
4 - 13
14
15
16
17 - 25
Wire Color
Not used
Red
Yellow
Not used
Green
Not used
Black
Not used
Signal
—
TxD+
RxD+
—
TxD-
—
RxD-
—
This table is for cabling with a Sony-standard, 9-pin, male-ended connector (shown) to the video server:
5 1
9 6
57
Configuring the iNEWS Command Server
Pins #
1
2
3
8
9
4 - 6
7
Wire Color
Not used
Black
Red
Not used
Yellow
Green
Not used
Signal
—
RxD-
TxD+
—
RxD+
TxD-
— n
Video pinouts are manufacturer specific, but in all tested devices, they used the Sony standard wiring provided in this section.
For serial connections not specifically covered in this section, the follow table applies:
DB-25
Rx+
Rx-
Tx+
Tx-
Video Server
Tx+
Tx-
Rx+
Rx-
Configuring VDS for VDCP
For integration with third-party video devices that use VDCP, it’s important to confirm that the device is set to VDCP control.
To configure the Avid Video device services:
1. Click the Start button, and then select All Programs > Avid > Service Framework > Avid
Service Configuration.
2. On the Hosts tab, navigate to and select the Avid Video Device Service.
3. When prompted, enter the system administrator password and click OK. If you have not yet created one, leave the space blank and click OK.
58
Configuring the iNEWS Command Server
4. On the Avid Video Device Service Settings tab, enter the name of the device, which must match the name used for the device channel in the Command system settings.
5. Set the Frame rate accordingly, and leave the Drop Frame check box selected.
6. Set timeout in seconds for cue, start (play), pause, and eject.
7. Transfer Status is a feature that only works with Interplay. It connects to the Interplay
Transfer Manager to monitor status. Select the check box only if this is the case with your system. For more information, see
“Transfer Status Icon” on page 62 .
8. An inventory port is mainly used to create standalone playlists, or to view items in the
Inventory panel at a Command Workstation. Enter a COM port if you want to use one port for inventory. Leave it blank if you want to use all available channels for playback.
n
If the Avid Video device service is configured with playback channels only (no inventory port), you will not see the device’s playback inventory in the Inventory panel at a Command
Workstation. Despite this, the playlist in Command will still reflect inventory status, and an unavailable item promptly changes to available once it is transferred to the device.
9. Edit and add port connections accordingly:
The first channel index will appear automatically with the port information filled in, but it can be modified as needed. The channel index values must match the channel index value when you add the device channel in Command.
Use the Add Port Connection button to add more port connections. To change a serial port setting, click on it and select the proper port being used for serial control from the list that appears.
59
Configuring the iNEWS Command Server
For instance, if the serial cables are connected to the first three ports (P1,P2, and P3), these would correspond to COM 3, COM 4, and COM 5. The Windows operating system uses COM 1 and COM 2 by default.
To change a video port setting, click on it and type a new value. Typically, video ports are set to 1, 2, 3, and 4.
10. Click Apply. You can then close the Avid Service Configuration application.
11. Click the Start button, and then select All Programs > Avid > Service Framework > Avid
Workgroup Properties.
12. Click the Advanced button.
13. After the Avid Services dialog box opens, select the device, then stop and restart it.
14. Confirm configuration by viewing the service in Health Monitor. The service will appear connected with a green checked icon displayed when it is working properly.
Configuring VDS for Slugs and Thumbnails in Non-Interplay Systems
Command supports slug and thumbnail handling for non-Interplay systems. Command has adopted the Adobe XMP standard, which allows the editor to put the slug and thumbnail into an
.xml file. The following applies:
• The .xml file must have the same file name as the video file. For example, if the video ID is
012912TR5, the xml file needs to be 012912TR5.xml.
• Command parses the <dc:title> field as the slug.
• Although the XMP format can contain more than 1 thumbnail, Command only supports 1 embedded thumbnail. The thumbnails are contained in the <xmp:Thumbnails> element, which has an <rdf:Alt> child element, which in turn has one or more <rdf:li> child elements, which in turn has several child elements that specify the size, format, and binary data of the thumbnail. The format must be JPEG.
• Command ignores the <dc:identifier> field. Command uses the file name to determine the item ID.
n
The Command Video Device Service has a new field in the configuration that allows you to enter a UNC FTP, or drive letter path, which it will then monitor for changes.
To configure the Avid Video device services for slugs and thumbnails:
1. Click the Start button, and then select All Programs > Avid > Service Framework > Avid
Service Configuration.
2. On the Hosts tab, navigate to and select the Avid Video Device Service.
60
Configuring the iNEWS Command Server
3. In the XMP Path field, add the UNC path to the location where the .xml files are stored.
A UNC path must start with a double backslash. For FTP, use the normal syntax - ftp://username:password@hostname:port/path.
4. Click in a different field, and then click Apply.
n
The Video Device Service only needs read access to the directory.
5. When the restart dialog appears, click Yes to restart.
Once this is complete, editors should create the .xml file and save it in the specified location.
It is not necessary to create the video file first – files can be added or edited in any order.
Command will monitor the location for changes to any files, and update its slug and thumbnail as necessary.
Configuring Redundancy for VDCP
Command supports full redundancy with VDCP control via the Perle IOLAN TCP/serial port server. Avid recommends this method for VDCP redundancy. See
IOLAN Server” on page 306 for more information.
For sites still using serial cards, you can use mirrored playback to achieve redundant functionality for devices with VDCP control.
To configure VDCP devices for redundant mirrored playback:
1. Install and configure the VDS that controls the primary device channels of the primary
Command Server.
2. Install and configure the VDS that controls the mirrored device channels on the backup server.
n
The mirror VDS should use a different device name, such as device2, from the primary VDS. The mirror VDS will run as an active primary service, even though it’s running on the backup server.
3. In the event of a primary server failure, users should switch to mirror-only playback.
61
Configuring the iNEWS Command Server
Transfer Status Icon
Command can show the transfer status of items that are sent to playback from Interplay.
Command displays the transfer status icon—an orange arrow—in the Inventory panel to denote that the item is transferring.
This integration requires the following:
• Interplay Transfer Manager, using the Send to Playback feature.
• The Transfer Manager be entered in the configuration of the Avid Video device service.
To see the transfer status icon, the user needs to have the Inventory panel open and the correct channel group selected at a Command Workstation.
n
The Harris plug-in also has a Transfer Status checkbox, but it works differently. The Harris
NXOS manages transfer status without involvement from Interplay.
Configuring Avid Interplay Agent Services
The Avid Interplay Agent service is installed at sites that want to utilize thumbnail images in
Command from video on AirSpeed or third-party video servers. It connects and logs in to the
Interplay engine to retrieve thumbnail images and also collects slugs (title) and format information in the Command playlist.
After the service is installed on the Command Server, some additional configuration is required, using the Avid Service Configuration application of Avid Service Framework. For more information, see the Avid Service Framework User’s Guide.
n
On systems with multiple Command Servers, you must configure the Avid Interplay Agent service on each of them.
62
Configuring the iNEWS Command Server
To configure the Interplay Agent services:
1. Click the Start button, and then select All Programs > Avid > Service Framework > Avid
Service Configuration.
2. On the Hosts tab, navigate to and select the Avid Interplay Agent Service.
3. When prompted, enter the system administrator password and click OK. If you have not yet created one, leave the space blank and click OK.
4. If the Allow Unrestricted Security dialog box appears, click Yes.
5. On the Settings tab in the Login Credentials section, enter the following information: a.
Server Name - This is the name of the asset manager server also known as the Interplay
Server running the Interplay Administration application.
b.
Database - By default, this is AvidWG. It is the asset manager project. You can obtain the name of the project database via the Interplay Administration application on the
Interplay Server.
c.
User Name - This should be the Avid Interplay administrator’s user name, not the
Command administrator’s user name.
d.
Password - This should be the Avid Interplay administrator’s password, not the
Command administrator’s password.
63
Configuring the iNEWS Command Server
6. In the Video Devices section, click Add. The Add Video Device dialog box appears.
n
Adding a video device is not necessary when integrating with an AirSpeed video server.
7. Enter the device’s name exactly as it appears in the Avid Video device service.
8. In the Catalog field, enter the name of the folder (inside the Catalogs folder) where items are being transferred to in Interplay. This should match the playback catalog in the Avid
Transfer Engine. If the destination folder is more than one layer deep, use a forward slash (/) as the directory separator, such as omneoncat/1A. You do not need to specify the Catalogs folder itself.
n
If the playback catalog is not already configured, it must be set up correctly via the Tranfer
Engine Configuration application, which runs on the Transfer Engine Server. The procedure for this is provided next.
9. Click OK.
10. Click Apply. You can then close the Avid Service Configuration application.
To configure the playback catalog on the Transfer Engine Server:
1. Start the Transfer Engine Configuration application.
2. In the Playback section, click Add. The Playback Device dialog box appears.
64
Configuring the iNEWS Command Server
3. Select the Enable Playback Catalog Name check box and, in the text field below that, enter the same destination folder used to configure the Interplay Agent device service, such as omneoncat/1A.
n
The device name in the Playback Device dialog box is not the same as the Interplay Agent device name. This one is specific to Transfer Manager.
4. Click OK.
Configuring the Avid UMD Device Service
The Avid iNEWS Command user interface lets you control Under Monitor Display (UMD) or In
Monitor Display (IMD) devices via the TSL UMD protocol, developed by Television Systems
Limited, so that the clip’s title, the countdown timecode—the one showing the remaining duration—and the tally light for playing video can be displayed on or near the video monitor in the control room. Without the Avid UMD device service and Avid’s TSL plug-in, the timecodes for playing video appear only on the Command Workstation.
In general, the device service communicates through a third-party intermediate device, such as
TallyMan manufactured by Television Systems Limited. With the TallyMan, one cable is run to the TallyMan and other cables run from it to each UMD.
The Avid UMD device service, along with Avid’s TSL plug-in, is installed from the Command
. After installation, additional configuration of the device service is required, using the Avid Service Configuration application of Avid Service
Framework. For more information about this application, see the Avid Service Framework User’s
Guide. Configuration of the device service is covered in the following procedure.
To configure the Avid UMD device service(s):
1. Click the Start button, and then select All Programs > Avid > Service Framework > Avid
Service Configuration.
2. On the Hosts tab, navigate to and select the Avid UMD Device Service.
3. When prompted, enter the system administrator password and click OK. If you have not yet created one, leave the space blank and click OK.
n
Avid’s TSL plug-in is preselected for you on the Plug-in Chooser tab.
4. On the Avid UMD Device Service Settings tab, the Service Name should be set to a unique name that represents the current instance of the device service. By default, it first appears as
Service Name.
65
Configuring the iNEWS Command Server
5. The Show Duration check box determines if the duration of a clip is displayed when a clip is cued. For 8-character displays, if Show Duration is left unchecked, the clip’s title or ID is displayed as determined in the step 6. If Show Duration is selected, then instead of the clip’s title or ID, the total clip duration is shown in an abbreviated timecode format (hh:mm:ss with no frames) when a clip is cued.
For 16-character displays, the clip’s title or ID are always shown. So, if Show Duration is left unchecked, the full 16 characters are used to display the clip’s title or ID. If Show
Duration is selected, then an abbreviated timecode in the format mm:ss is shown (or hh:mm:ss if needed for clips longer than an hour) along with a shortened version of the clip’s title or ID. The two are separated by one space.
66
Configuring the iNEWS Command Server
6. Select the Display Name. Options are: Title or ID. If Title is chosen, and Show Duration is not selected, then the clip’s title will be displayed when a clip is cued. If ID is chosen, and
Show Duration is not selected, then the clip’s video ID will be displayed when a clip is cued.
n
When a clip title is displayed, only the rightmost eight characters show up in an 8-character display, so if the clip’s title is longer than 8 characters it will be truncated. Generally the rightmost characters will be more unique, making it easier to identify the clip. There is no indication when a clip’s title is truncated.
For 16-character displays, the number of characters is determined by whether the duration is shown and the length of that duration. For instance, you could see 10 characters of either the clip’s title or video ID followed by a space and the duration in an mm:ss format, as shown in the following example: p-politics 01:32
If the clip’s duration is longer than an hour, the duration will appear as hh:mm:ss, and the clip’s title or ID will be truncated to eight characters.
7. For every under monitor display you want to operate, click Add UMD Device to add a new row to the table from which you can then edit the information in each column. Each device is assigned its own device number; that is, the Device column is filled out automatically, starting with one (1), and is not used in the service’s configuration.
8. The Channel Index lets you associate a device with a device channel index in Command.
Options in this drop-down list include numerical values of one (1) through 16. The channel index, which corresponds to a playout channel, is set in Command’s System Setting dialog box under the Channel > Indices category. You can access that dialog box by clicking Tools
> System Settings.
n
Four columns shown in the previous graphic (Type, Hostname/IP, UMD Address, and Tally) relate to the TSL plug-in. If an alternative third-party plug-in is used, what you see might vary.
9. Set the Type according to what kind of UMD device you are using. The Type column can be set to one of three options: t Single 8 for 8-character display t Dual 8 Left for 16-character display, access leftmost 8 characters t Dual 8 Right for 16-character display, access rightmost 8 characters t Single 16 for 16-character display
10. The Hostname/IP column is most commonly set to tallyman, but can be an IP address instead of the device’s hostname. The device service uses port 8900 by default; however, if a different port needs to be specified, you can add it to the end of the hostname, such as tallyman:1001.
67
Configuring the iNEWS Command Server
11. The UMD address can be set to numerical values of zero (0) through 126. When using
TallyMan, except for Dual 8 Left and Dual 8 Right types, which share an address, each
UMD device should have a unique address.
n
If you do not know the UMD address for your device, unplug and reconnect the Ethernet connection. Watch the device’s display; it will show its UMD address as Addr plus a numerical value, such as: Addr 001.
12. The Tally column is a drop-down list that relates to tally indicator control for Command. Its options are: one (1) through two (2). UMD devices often have two tally indicator lights. If set to one, Command will use the left light. If set to two, the right tally light is used. For
TallyMan, however, you will have to choose which light to use when you set up the
TallyMan.
13. Click Apply. You can then close the Avid Service Configuration application.
n
You can reconfigure UMD devices without having to restart the device service.
Configuring UMD for Redundancy
The Avid UMD device service supports redundancy, but some configuration is required.
To configure for redundancy:
1. Configure both device services to have the same service name, such as UMD1.
2. Restart the services. After the service name is set, it should not be necessary to restart services for the remaining changes to occur; clicking Apply is all that is necessary.
3. Configure the remaining fields on the primary service and click Apply.
4. Make a bogus change, such as adding a space after the host name and then removing it.
5. Click the Apply To button and check the backup device service.
n
For Ethernet control and redundancy to work, you must upgrade the Tallyman TM1 device’s software to version 1.7.4 and then configure it for Ethernet control. Please see Tallyman documentation for more information. Avid also recommends the Tallyman device be in the same subnet as the Command Server, to minimize the possibility of lost packets.
68
Configuring the iNEWS Command Server
Configuring the Lookup Tab
If setting up redundant systems that are in different subnets, you must add both server names to the Lookup tab in Avid Workgroup Properties. The following procedure should be completed on both the primary and backup Command Servers.
To configure the Lookup tab:
1. Click the Start button, and then select All Programs > Avid > Service Framework > Avid
Workgroup Properties.
2. On the Lookup tab, click the Add button under the Workgroup section.
The Add Workgroup dialog box will open on top of the Avid Workgroup Properties window, as shown:
3. Enter the name of the workgroup and click OK. It will appear in the Workgroup section of the Avid Workgroup Properties window.
69
Configuring the iNEWS Command Server
4. Click the Add button under the Lookup services section (above the Apply button).
The Add Lookup Service dialog box will open.
5. Enter the full domain name of the current server, such as: cmdsvr1.avidbroadcast.com
.
6. Leave the port setting as is.
7. Select the Expected check box.
8. Click OK.
9. Repeat steps 4 - 8 to add any other Command Server that is running the Lookup service.
10. Click OK on the Avid Workgroup Properties window.
11. Click Yes, when prompted to restart all services.
Configuring AirSpeed Device Services
After any device service is installed for Avid AirSpeed video servers, some additional configuration is required, using the Avid Service Configuration and Avid Workgroup Properties applications of Avid Service Framework. For more information, see the Avid Service Framework
User’s Guide.
70
Configuring the iNEWS Command Server
To configure the AirSpeed device services:
1. Click the Start button, and then select All Programs > Avid > Service Framework > Avid
Service Configuration.
2. On the Hosts tab, navigate to and select the AirSpeed Device Service.
3. When prompted, enter the system administrator password and click OK. If you have not yet created one, leave the space blank and click OK.
4. On the Device Settings tab, enter the device name for the respective device.
5. Click Apply. You can then close the Avid Service Configuration application.
6. Click the Start button, and then select All Programs > Avid > Service Framework > Avid
Workgroup Properties.
7. Click the Advanced button.
8. After the Avid Services dialog box opens, select the device, then stop and restart it.
n
For Command upgrades, the AirSpeed device server hostname might revert back to the local server host name and must be reset, using the Avid Service Configuration application.
To configure the AirSpeed Control Configurations:
1. On the AirSpeed, select Setup > Channels.
2. Set Control Configurations to Local/Network Record or Play. It is the only configuration supported with Command.
n
Avid recommends that you do not use VDCP to control AirSpeed video servers.Unrestricted
VDCP is not supported for on-air broadcasting.
71
Configuring a Second Command System
Configuring a Second Command System
A second Command system is for controlling an independent system, like a second studio, in the same workgroup. It is not the same as a redundant system, in which the backup server uses the same system name as the primary server. In Command, the system name is numeric, such as 1, 2,
3, and so forth.
n
For a more meaningful name, a system alias can be configured, which appears in the status bar of the Command user interface. For more information on system aliases, see the Avid iNEWS
Command Administration Guide.
Multiple Avid iNEWS Command systems usually belong to the same workgroup. If two or more systems are in the same workgroup, each of the Command systems must have a unique, numeric name, which is assigned by Avid manufacturing.
After installing Command on a computer that will be part of a second system, you will need to change the system name by editing the commandsystemname.xml
file, which by default is installed in the following location:
C:\Program Files\Avid\iNEWS Command
To change the system name:
1. Navigate to: C:\Program Files\Avid\iNEWS Command .
2. Right click the commandsystemname.xml
file and choose Properties.
3. Deselect the Read-only check box and click OK.
4. Open the commandsystemname.xml
file in Notepad.
The text in the file will appear as shown:
5. Using numerals only, change the number (shown highlighted in the graphic) located between the tags: <NAME> </NAME> . When setting up a second system, the number must be 2 to match the license. Subsequent systems must be 3, 4, and so forth.
72
Configuring a Second Command System
6. Select File > Save.
7. Close all workstation sessions and restart all Command and Avid Service Framework services on that computer.
n
The commandsystemname.xml
Command system.
file must be changed on all computers that are part of the second
73
2
Installing and Configuring the AirSpeed
Video Servers
AirSpeed 5000 and AirSpeed Multi Stream are digital recorders or playback devices designed to work seamlessly in Interplay environments. These video servers let you capture incoming media directly into Avid shared storage or play out media to air.
Both AirSpeed video servers can join three Avid Service Framework workgroups, the Interplay workgroup and the Command workgroup. The primary workgroup must be the Interplay workgroup so ingests are transferred to Unity and media sent to playback are transferred to video server.
Both AirSpeed 5000 and AirSpeed Multi Stream use the AirSpeed Multi Stream or AMS device service, which can be configured to join multiple workgroups. The main reason for joining a second workgroup will be to join the Command workgroup. Because the video servers are communicating with multiple workgroups, they need to be added to the Lookup tab in the
Workgroup Properties application.
•
Checklist: Installing the AirSpeed Video Server
•
Installing Avid Service Framework
•
Installing AirSpeed Multi Stream Device Services
•
Checklist: Configuring the AirSpeed Video Server
•
Configuring Properties for Interplay Workgroup
•
Configuring the AirSpeed Multi Stream Device Service
•
Configuring Properties for Command Workgroup
•
Working with Play While Record
Checklist: Installing the AirSpeed Video Server
Checklist: Installing the AirSpeed Video Server
Ensuring integration with video devices, such as the AirSpeed 5000 or AirSpeed Multi Stream, requires installation of various components and services, as well as some configuration. The following is a checklist of activities an installer should verify to ensure a successful installation.
Complete the following tasks in the order that they are listed. If you are viewing this checklist online, you can easily access a linked topic that provides procedural details for the task. Return to this main checklist after you have completed each task.
Tasks Refer to...
Rack, cable, and connect the AirSpeed video server to the network.
Install the core components of Avid Service
Framework on the video server.
The documentation that came with your Avid
AirSpeed video server for more information.
“Installing Avid Service Framework” on page 76
Install the AirSpeed software.
The documentation that came with your Avid
AirSpeed Multi Stream or AirSpeed 5000 for more information.
Install the AirSpeed Multi Stream device service from the Avid iNEWS Command software installation CD. Both AirSpeed video servers, the
5000 and Multi Stream, use the AMS device service.
“Installing AirSpeed Multi Stream Device
After installation, some configuration is required. For more information, see
Configuring the AirSpeed Video Server” on page 81 .
n
Regardless of whether the AirSpeed video server is a capture and/or playback server, ensure it is in the Interplay workgroup. If it is a playback server that will be controlled by iNEWS Command, it must be configured to join a second workgroup—the same workgroup as the Command servers.
75
Installing Avid Service Framework
Installing Avid Service Framework
Each computer and device running Avid iNEWS Command software requires at least the core components of Service Framework and must be able to connect to a computer running the Avid
Lookup service. This includes the AirSpeed Multi Stream, which will be running the AirSpeed
Multi Stream device service for Command.
To install the Service Framework Software:
1. Insert the AirSpeed Multi Stream installation DVD.
n
Do not install Service Framework on the video server from the Command installation CD. Use the installer bundled with the AirSpeed software. Also, when Service Framework is upgraded, be sure to upgrade only the components for which the update is designed.
2. Navigate to the directory called Avid_Framework_Workstation.
3. Double-click the program: Setup.exe
.
The Introduction window opens.
76
4. Click Next.
The Workgroup Name dialog box opens.
Installing Avid Service Framework
5. Set the location to which Avid Service Frameworkwill be installed and click Next.
77
Installing Avid Service Framework
6. Type a new or existing workgroup name in the field.
This is the video server’s primary workgroup, which should be the Avid Interplay workgroup. You must use the same workgroup name on all Interplay clients that are connected in your Command architecture. The workgroup name is case sensitive. You can either create a new workgroup or join an existing one. If you are creating a new workgroup, make a note regarding the workgroup name so that it can be entered during other Avid
Service Framework installations. Later, you’ll configure a secondary workgroup for the
AirSpeed Multi Stream device service, which will be the Command workgroup.
c
If you are updating the Service Framework software, the installer remembers the last installed value. If the workgroup name was changed after the install, the installer will not be aware of the change.
7. Click Next.
The Custom Setup dialog box opens.
8. Click Next.
9. Click Install to complete the installation.
After installation, verify that the services are running as expected on each computer in the workgroup. For more information, see
“Viewing Status of Services” on page 313 .
78
Installing AirSpeed Multi Stream Device Services
Installing AirSpeed Multi Stream Device Services
The Command installation CD provides for installation of services associated with various production devices, such as the AirSpeed 5000 or AirSpeed Multi Stream. Both of these video servers use the AMS device service.There is no separate AirSpeed 5000 device service.
n
Unlike other device services, the AirSpeed Multi Stream device service is not part of the
Command installation program. It’s a separate install program, located on the CD.
To install the AirSpeed Multi Stream device service on the video server:
1. Insert the Command installation CD (or access the install program from the network).
2. Navigate to and double-click on AvidAirSpeedMultiStreamDeviceService.exe
.
3. After the Welcome dialog box appears, click Next. The License Agreement appears.
4. Read the License Agreement, accept the terms, and click Next.
If you do not accept the terms, the installation program will not continue.
n
You can print the terms if you want to read them later or keep a copy for your records.
79
Installing AirSpeed Multi Stream Device Services
5. When the Ready to Install the Program dialog box appears, click Install.
A progress bar is provided to show the current status of the installation.
6. When the installation is complete, click Finish.
To verify that installed services are running, you must use the Avid Workgroup Properties application.
80
Checklist: Configuring the AirSpeed Video Server
Checklist: Configuring the AirSpeed Video Server
For integration between Command and AirSpeed video servers to succeed, some configuration is required. Complete the following tasks in the order that they are listed. If you are viewing this checklist online, you can easily access a linked topic that provides procedural details for the task.
Return to this main checklist after you have completed each task.
n
With Command controlling the AirSpeed 5000, the Show first of next option must be turned off.
To turn off this option, navigate to the AirSpeed 5000 Web configuration at
http://<Airspeedhostname>, log in, select Playback/Output, and uncheck the Show first of next box for all channels.
n
All settings in Command and Framework are case sensitive. Ensure that case matches in all configuration settings.
Tasks Refer to...
Configure the properties for the Interplay workgroup in which the video server resides.
Configure the AirSpeed Multi Stream device service.
“Configuring Properties for Interplay
“Configuring the AirSpeed Multi Stream Device
Configure the properties for the Command workgroup if Command will be used to control the AirSpeed for playback.
“Configuring Properties for Command
Add the AirSpeed to the list of devices and channels in Command. Also, add the channels to a channel group in Command.
The Avid iNEWS Command Administration
Guide
Configuring Properties for Interplay Workgroup
The AirSpeed video server must be installed in an Avid Interplay workgroup. If it will be controlled by Command, then the AirSpeed Multi Stream device service should be configured to
join a second workgroup—the same workgroup as the Command Servers. See “Configuring
Properties for Command Workgroup” on page 85
for more information.
To configure the properties for the Interplay Workgroup on the video server:
1. Click the Start button, and then select All Programs > Avid > Service Framework > Avid
Workgroup Properties.
2. On the Lookup tab, select the Interplay workgroup listed in the Workgroup section.
81
Configuring Properties for Interplay Workgroup n
The Interplay workgroup is the same workgroup named during the installation process of Avid
3. On the Lookup tab, click the Add button under the Lookup services section (located above the Apply button, and not the one to the far left).
The Add Lookup Service dialog box will open on top of the Avid Workgroup Properties window, as shown:
4. Enter the fully qualified domain name of the server running the Lookup service for the workgroup.
5. Leave the port setting as is.
6. Select the Expected check box.
7. Click OK.
8. (Optional) If running multiple Lookup services, repeat steps 2 - 7 to add another server that
is running the Lookup service for the workgroup.
9. Click OK on the Avid Workgroup Properties window.
10. Click Yes, when prompted to restart all services.
82
Configuring the AirSpeed Multi Stream Device Service
Configuring the AirSpeed Multi Stream Device
Service
After any device service is installed for Avid AirSpeed video servers, some additional configuration is required, using the Avid Service Configuration and Avid Workgroup Properties applications of Avid Service Framework.
To configure the AirSpeed Multi Stream device services:
1. Click the Start button, and then select All Programs > Avid > Service Framework > Avid
Service Configuration.
2. On the Hosts tab, navigate to and select the AirSpeed Multi Stream Device Service.
3. When prompted, enter the system administrator password and click OK. If you have not yet created one, leave the space blank and click OK.
4. On the Device Settings tab, enable the second workgroup and enter the name of the
Command workgroup. If you are joining more than one Command workgroup, enter a workgroup name in the third workgroup box.
5. (Optional) If the AirSpeed video server will be controlled by two Command systems, enable the second system and enter the numerical value of that system, such as 2. Options include
1-10. The default Command system number is 1.
83
Configuring the AirSpeed Multi Stream Device Service
6. (Optional) If using CaptureManager for ingest control, enable it and enter the hostname of the CaptureManager server.
An example of these settings is shown in the following graphic.
7. Click Apply. n
Upon applying the new settings, and if the CaptureManager is enabled, the system will append a port number to the end of the hostname you entered for the CaptureManager Server.
8. You can then close the Avid Service Configuration application.
84
Configuring Properties for Command Workgroup
Configuring Properties for Command Workgroup
AirSpeed video servers must be installed in an Avid Interplay workgroup; however, if they will be controlled by Command, then the AirSpeed Multi Stream device service should be configured to join a second workgroup—the same workgroup as the Command Servers.
If the Avid AirSpeed video server device is in a different subnet than the Command Servers, you must add the server names to the Lookup tab in Avid Workgroup Properties on the video server.
n
Avid recommends, for servers and workstations joining multiple workgroups, you configure the
Lookup tab to specify the FQDN of the Lookup services in both workgroups regardless of whether the server or workstation is in the same subnet as the Lookup service.
To configure the properties for the Command Workgroup on the video server:
1. Click the Start button, and then select All Programs > Avid > Service Framework > Avid
Workgroup Properties.
2. On the Lookup tab, click the Add button under the Workgroup section—the far left button at the bottom.
The Add Workgroup dialog box will open on top of the Avid Workgroup Properties window, as shown:
85
Configuring Properties for Command Workgroup
3. Enter the name of the Command workgroup. It is case sensitive.
4. Click OK. The name you entered will appear in the Workgroup section of the Avid
Workgroup Properties window.
5. Click the Add button under the Lookup services section (located above the Apply button, and not the one to the far left).
The Add Lookup Service dialog box will open on top of the Avid Workgroup Properties window, as shown:
6. Enter the fully qualified domain name of the server running the Lookup service for the
Command workgroup.
7. Leave the port setting as is.
8. Select the Expected check box.
9. Click OK.
10. (Optional) If running multiple Lookup services, repeat steps 2 - 7 to add another server that
is running the Lookup service for the Command workgroup.
11. Click OK on the Avid Workgroup Properties window.
12. Click Yes, when prompted to restart all services.
86
Working with Play While Record n
For AMS up/down cross convert integration, autocue must be turned off when transitioning between XDCAM 720p and 1080i clips. For Auto Switch Output Format, users also need to turn off autocue if they plan to switch formats. This is because the AMS channel needs to be in an idle state—not playing for instance—for it to switch formats.
Avid recommends having dedicated channels for specific resolutions.
Working with Play While Record
This section provides additional information to help clarify the existing Play While Record feature when used with an AirSpeed video server, such as AirSpeed 5000 or AirSpeed Multi
Stream.
After an item starts recording on the video server, it appears within the Command Inventory
Panel within approximately 10 seconds. When it appears in Command, users can open the item in the Media Viewer to adjust the Mark In point, and then play the item. n
This requires an available playback channel on the video server that is recording the item. A
Mark Out point is not required, only a Mark In timecode.
To set the Mark In point for an item that is recording, it needs to be added to a Command playlist
(via ENPS, iNEWS, or a Standalone playlist). Once there and available, you can double-click the item and type the Mark In point.
If you want to open the item in the Media Viewer and use the Jog to set the Mark In point, you have to configure a Browse channel as part of the Command playlist. It can either be a Browse channel that is part of the Playback channel group—such as, Channels AB for playback and C for browse—or with Command v2.6, you can configure a Playback channel group (AB) and a separate Browse-only group (C). The Browse-only channel group also needs to be added to the playlist.
To play while record on an AirSpeed video server:
1. Configure an AirSpeed video server so that it has a record and playback channel. This means that the AMS Device Service needs to be part of the Command workgroup, and the playback channel needs to be in a Command channel group.
2. After the item starts recording, it should appear in Command's inventory within approximately 10 seconds.
3. After the item is available, it can be played at any time. The countdown clock time will be erratic, because the duration is being updated while the item is playing.
4. When the recording is stopped, the total time code gets updated one last time, Command then stops at the recording's stopping point, and then follows the Command hold last frame setting.
87
AirSpeed Multi Stream Los-Res Proxy Viewer
To play while record with Avid iNEWS:
1. Add the item’s ID to the Video ID column of the iNEWS playlist and load the show.
2. Start recording the item on the video server, using the Video ID that you entered in the iNEWS playlist.
3. After the item becomes available, you can play it, and optionally double-click the item to enter the Mark In point.
To play while record with ENPS:
1. Do an object autocreate to create a Video ID.
2. Start recording, using the autocreated Video ID.
3. After the item becomes available, you can play it, and optionally double-click the item to enter the Mark In point.
To play while record with a standalone playlist:
1. Add the item to a standalone playlist (Alt+Ins).
2. Start recording, using the Video ID that you used in the standalone playlist.
3. After the item becomes available, you can play it, and optionally double-click the item to enter the Mark In point.
AirSpeed Multi Stream Los-Res Proxy Viewer
Both the AirSpeed 5000 and AirSpeed Multi Stream video servers support a low-res proxy viewer, which lets users view video (with audio) at their Command Workstations rather than use an output channel to browse clips. However, there are certain limitations with each type of server.
For AirSpeed 5000:
• Ten viewers can be opened at once.
• The low-res proxy viewer is only supported on workstations running the Windows 7 operating system.
n
The AirSpeed 5000 supports playout for all clips.
88
AirSpeed Multi Stream Los-Res Proxy Viewer
For AirSpeed Multi Stream:
• The low-res proxy viewer is only supported for items that are recorded on the AirSpeed
Multi Stream and is not supported for items that are transferred.
• Only two viewers can be opened at once.
• An H.264 card must be installed on the Multi Stream server that runs AMS v1.7 or later software.
• An H.264 decoder is required on the Command Workstation. Workstations running
Windows 2008 or Windows 7 operating systems already have this decoder installed. n
If your workstation has an earlier operating system, Avid recommends installing the DivX H.264 codec pack from the following Web site: http://www.divx.com/en/software/divx-plus/codec-pack/h264
Setting up this feature, also requires some configuration of AirSpeed Multi Stream as well as
Avid iNEWS Command.
Configuring AirSpeed Video Servers for the Low-Res Proxy Viewer
Both the AirSpeed 5000 and Multi Stream servers must be configured to create proxies.
To configure the AirSpeed 5000 for proxy creation:
1. Open the AirSpeed 5000 Management Console.
2. In the Record Template section, select the Proxy enabled checkbox.
3. In the Inventory section, select Generate proxy on Send to Playback.
4. Click Apply.
To configure the AirSpeed Multi Stream for proxy creation:
1. In the AMS application, click File > Preferences > Generate proxy after record.
The proxies are kept on E:\madamsdb\proxies (where madamsdb is the default database).
2. Ensure the E drive is a shared drive.
n
The AirSpeed 5000 shares the E drive automatically.
For either video server, it is necessary to connect to the AirSpeed E drive before opening the proxy viewer. There are three ways to connect:
• Manually connect to the share via Windows Explorer.
• Add a user account to AirSpeed and have users log into the client with this account.
• Create a net use script that opens the connection automatically.
89
AirSpeed Multi Stream Los-Res Proxy Viewer
Configuring Command for Low-Res Proxy Viewing
The low-res proxy viewer opens as a separate application from Command; however, functionality is similar to the Media Viewer. Command users can play an item, jog or shuttle, create subclips, and set “soft” mark in or out points—“soft” meaning they only apply to the item in Command and are not set in the AMS application. So, for items opened from the Inventory panel in Command, they must be dragged into a playlist to play the item with its mark in/out points. If users open items from the Inventory panel, there will be a second Media Viewer window that only displays the headframe, which lets users drag and drop the item into the
Command playlist.
n
Command specific keystrokes, such as Alt+Right Arrow (forward 15 frames), are not functional in the low-res proxy viewer, but users can scroll with the Right or Left Arrow keys.
Configuration within Command is required for this feature to work.
To configure Command for low-res proxy viewing:
1. At a Command Workstation, select Tools > Options > Media Viewer.
2. Select the Use AMS low-resolution proxy viewer checkbox if available.
90
3
Installing and Configuring Avid Motion
Graphics
The following provides instructions for installing and configuring Avid Motion Graphics
Journalist software and related applications.
The following main topics describe:
•
What You Need to Activate the Software License
•
Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Server Installation and Configuration
•
Installing AMG Journalist Client Software
•
Installing the AMG Preview Renderer
•
Installing the AMG Advanced Device Manager
•
Installing the Avid Service Framework
•
Configuring the Avid Motion Graphics Device Service
What You Need to Activate the Software License
What You Need to Activate the Software License
This section contain general steps for using Avid License Control to license AMG, AMG
Journalist, and AMG Preview Renderer. To activate the software using the Avid License Control tool you need the items listed in the following table: c
If you change your system configuration — for instance, by replacing your hard drive, a network adapter, or by upgrading your operating system — you must first deactivate your
Avid software. n
Your network administrator might need to open a few ports that are used during the license activation. The Avid License Control tool utilizes both port 3443 and port 443 for license request and response communication. Port 3443 is the primary port, but if this port is blocked, the
Activation Service tries port 443, which is more likely to be open for Web communication.
Identification Number Type Where you can find it:
Activation ID
System ID
Device ID
The Activation ID is provided on an Activation ID and System ID card shipped with your new Avid Motion Graphics system. The
Activation ID is used to activate the software license and has been linked to your System ID.
The System ID is provided on an Activation ID and System ID card shipped with your new Avid Motion Graphics system. The System
ID is used for expediting warranty verification and customer service.
After activation, the License Profile tab of the Avid License Control tool displays information about your system. Click “Copy to
Clipboard” to copy the information to your clipboard. You can then paste from the clipboard to an e-mail or create a text file. This is helpful if you need to save this information for your records or need to send system information to Avid Customer Support.
The Device ID is only needed if you are activating your software on a system that is not connected to the Internet. This is provided through the Avid License Control tool during activation.
92
What You Need to Activate the Software License
License Activation Using an Internet Connection
To activate the software license using an Internet connection:
1. Locate your System ID and Activation ID card included with your new hardware.
2. Open the Avid License Control tool, click Start > Programs > Avid > Utilities > Avid
License Control.
The Avid License Control tool opens.
n
After your Avid software is activated, the License Profile tab displays your System ID, Activation
ID, and Device ID.
3. Click the Activate button located next to the Avid Motion Graphics software product name.
93
What You Need to Activate the Software License
4. Select “I am connected to the Internet and will use this computer” and then click Continue.
n
If you select “I am not connected to the Internet and will be using another computer that is connected to the Internet” continue with “License Activation Without an Internet Connection” on page
“License Activation Without an Internet Connection” on page 95 .
5. Enter your system identification number in the System ID text box.
94
What You Need to Activate the Software License
6. Enter your activation identification number in the Activation ID text box.
7. Click the Activate button.
The Activation tool confirms your system information. When the activation is complete, a message informs you that your software has been successfully activated and the Activate button changes to a Deactivate button.
License Activation Without an Internet Connection
License Activation Without an Internet Connection
When you do an indirect activation, you are given a “.bin” activation file. This file is only works for a single activation. If you have done an indirect activation, and deactivate your license for any reason, you may not use the same activation file to reactivate your license. You must repeat the
“License Activation Without an Internet Connection” procedure and obtain a new “.bin” activation file.
To activate the software license from a separate computer
1. Locate your System ID and Activation ID card included with your new hardware.
2. Open the Avid License Control tool, click Start > Programs > Avid > Utilities > Avid
License Control.
The Avid License Control tool opens.
3. Click the Activate button located next to the Avid product software name.
4. Select “I am not connected to the Internet and will be using another computer that is connected to the Internet,” then click the Continue button.
5. Enter your system identification number in the System ID text box.
6. Enter your activation identification number in the Activation ID text box.
7. Click the Next button.
95
What You Need to Activate the Software License
8. Follow the instructions in the Avid License Control tool, then click the Next button.
n
Your System ID, Activation ID, and Device ID are displayed on the Activation tab, write these numbers down to use later. These IDs are displayed in the License Profile tab after your Avid software is activated.
9. On a computer with an Internet connection, open a Web browser and navigate to http://avid.com/license .
10. Follow the on screen instructions on the web page.
The Website creates a license.bin file. This file contains license information needed to activate your Avid Motion Graphics software.
11. Copy the license.bin
file to the computer you want to activate.
A USB flash drive is a good method of moving the license.bin
file.
12. Close the Web browser on the computer with the Internet connection.
96
What You Need to Activate the Software License
13. Return to the computer where you left off in the Avid License Control tool and click the
Next button.
14. Click the Browse button and navigate to the license.bin file on your computer, then click
Open.
The Activation tool confirms your system information. When the activation is complete, a message informs you that your software has been successfully activated and the Activate button changes to a Deactivate button.
Deactivating the License
You must deactivate your Avid Motion Graphics software license when replacing the computer so you can use the license on your new computer. n
To be able to deactivate the software and it’s options, you must have an Internet connection.
To deactivate the software license:
1. Close any Avid Motion Graphics applications that are running.
2. Open the Avid License Control tool, click Start > Programs > Avid > Utilities > Avid
License Control.
The Avid License Control tool opens.
3. Next to the Avid Motion Graphics software, click the Deactivate button.
4. Click Yes.
5. Click Done to close the Avid License Control tool.
97
Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Server Installation and Configuration
Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Server Installation and Configuration
After setting up and configuring settings of the operating system for your Avid Motion Graphics system, you can install and configure the Avid Motion Graphics Journalist software and related applications.
For installing Avid Motion Graphics Creation, Journalist, or News Control there will be one
USB flash drive containing the software.
n
The Avid Motion Graphics software is also available on the Avid Download Center
(www.avid.com/support/downloadcenter).
To Install This Software See The Following Section
Avid Motion Graphics
Journalist Server
See “Installing Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Server” on page 99 .
Once installed, you need to license the software as described in
“Licensing Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Server” on page 100 .
Then, you must start the AMG Journalist Server software, as described in
“Starting the AMG Journalist Server Applications” on page 105
Then you must configure the software as described in “Configuring the
Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Server” on page 101
See “Installing AMG Journalist Client Software” on page 103 .
Avid Motion Graphics
Journalist Client
AMG Preview Renderer
AMG Advanced Device
Manager
Avid Service Framework
Avid Motion Graphics News
Control
See “Installing the AMG Preview Renderer” on page 104 .
See “Installing the AMG Advanced Device Manager” on page 105 . Once
installed, you must configure the AMG Advanced Device Manager, as described in
“Configuring the Advanced Device Manager” on page 106
.
Once you are installing these applications, you must start the AMG
Journalist server software as described in
Server Applications” on page 105 .
See “Installing the Avid Service Framework” on page 109 . Once
installed, you can configure the Avid Motion Graphics Device Service, as described in
“Configuring the Avid Motion Graphics Device Service” on page 117 .
See the Avid Motion Graphics Setup Guide.
98
Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Server Installation and Configuration
Installing Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Server
The following steps describe how to install the Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Server (AMG
Journalist Server) for integration with Avid iNEWS Command and Avid iNEWS newsroom computer system or ENPS. They assume that the Avid Motion Graphics servers have already been installed and licensed.
Prior to starting the Journalist installation, confirm the Win2008 R2 64 bit installation.
To confirm the Win2008 R2 64 bit installation:
1. Open a command prompt Start > Run.
2. Type cmd.
3. Press Enter.
4. Type ver
5. Press Enter.
The version of server should be 6.1.7601.
Install both the vcredist_x64 and vcredist_86 installers before continuing with the Journalist installation.
To install both veredist_x64 and vcredist_86 installers t Open the AMG Journalist Folder and locate the folder labeled VS2008, Open this folder and install both the vcredist_x64 and vcredist_86 installers before starting the
AMG_Journalist_Server_setup.exe
.
t Windows Media player must be enabled before proceeding, this is part of the Desktop
Experience feature for Windows Server 2008.
To Install the Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Server:
1. Navigate to and double-click AMG_Journalist_Server_setup.exe
.
2. Click the option to install Microsoft Visual C++ Redistributable.
3. Install Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Server.
This will share the AMGNews folder and configure the X: drive. It also installs the AMG
Drive Monitor.
4. Install Avid License Control.
5. Install PostgreSQL 8.4.4.
6. Install AMG ODBC.
99
Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Server Installation and Configuration
Licensing Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Server
The Avid Motion Graphics NRCS License is the only License required for the Avid Motion
Graphics Journalist server. The server does not have a license.
The Avid Motion Graphics Journalist System ID label, as shown in the following illustration, is used as the System ID number to Activate the Avid Motion Graphics NRCS Clients, Preview
Renderers, and Preview Renderer Clips.
The AMG Preview Renderer also requires licenses to activate it.
If you do not have an NRCS license, contact your sales representative to obtain an NRCS license.
The Avid Motion Graphics NRCS Client activation is performed on the Journalist Server.
100
Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Server Installation and Configuration
To activate the license for Avid Motion Graphics NRCS Clients:
1. Open Avid License Control tool.
2. Activate the Avid Motion Graphics NRCS license.
n
The license is most easily added with an internet connection, so that the computer can connect to the Avid license server and verify the license. For more information, see “Software Licensing” on page 73 .
Configuring the Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Server
After installing the server software, you must configure the Avid Motion Graphics Journalist
Server.
To configure the Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Server:
1. On the Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Server, navigate to:
C:\AMGNews\bins\conf\AMGConf.ini
.
2. In the General section: t Set VIDEO FRAMES to NTSC or PAL.
t Set the SLUG FORMAT to <tpl>.
101
Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Server Installation and Configuration n
All values in the AMG.ini files must be surrounded by quotes. When editing values, remember to keep the quotes in tact.
3. In the Preview Snaps section: t Set the IP to the specific address for the local AMG Journalist Server (do not use
127.0.0.1, or a host name).
n
This IP is for the AMG News Preview Server application, which runs on the AMG Journalist
Server. The IP does not point to the AMG Preview Renderer itself - that IP is set in a different .ini file, and explained in Step 11.
4. In the Gateway section: t Set the IP to the specific address for the local AMG Journalist Server (do not use
127.0.0.1, or a host name).
t For iNEWS, leave the NCS and MOS ports at their current values.
t For ENPS, change the NCS UPPER PORT to 10541, and the NCS LOWER PORT to
10540.
5. In the MOS Device section: t Confirm the NAME is set to AMGNews.
t In the CHANNELS field, enter the channels names that you intend to use in the system.
Each name must be separated by a comma and space. n
Command will need to use the same channel names, so it's a good idea to write down or remember the channel names used here.
6. In the Control section (where NAME = CTRL1): t For Command, comment out this entire section with a ; at the beginning of each line.
7. In the Control section (where NAME = COMMAND1): t Set the IP to the specific address for the Avid Motion Graphics computer.
t A new section will need to be added, with the name COMMAND2, for a second device.
8. In the Render Sections (There are two.): t For Command, comment out this entire section with a ; at the beginning of each line.
9. In the Manager section: t Set the IP to the specific address for the local AMG Server (do not use 127.0.0.1, or a host name).
t For iNEWS, confirm that IS NCS is set to YES.
t For ENPS, change IS NCS to NO.
102
Installing AMG Journalist Client Software
10. In the NCS section: t In the NAME field, enter the NRCS server name.
t For iNEWS, leave the IP as is at 127.0.0.1.
t For ENPS, enter the IP for the ENPS server. For the buddy server, add the following:
"BACKUP NAME" = "ENPS BUDDY SERVER NAME"
"BACKUP IP" = "ENPS BUDDY SERVER IP" t If you want to see more than the first 2 replaceable fields in the Command playlist, change the ABSTRACT FMT field from <2values> to the desired number.
t For ENPS, confirm that the <ch> variable has been added to the beginning of the
ABSTRACT FMT line.
For example: “ABSTRACT FORMAT” = “<ch>:<tpl>:<2values>”
11. On the AMG Journalist Server, go to C:\AMGNews\bins\conf\Previewunits.ini
.
t In both IP fields, enter the IP address for where the AMG Preview Renderer will be running.
Installing AMG Journalist Client Software
The following steps describe how to install the Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Client for integration with Command, and iNEWS or ENPS.
If you configure AMG Journalist for iNEWS, you can use it as a plug-in to Interplay Central, but you must first enable your browser to accept MOS plugins.
To install the AMG Journalist client:
1. Navigate to the Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Server (via UNC path \\servername) .
2. Open the install folder.
3. Double-click the Avid_Motion_Graphics_Journalist_setup.exe to run the executable.
4. In the AMG Journalist Applications window, click the AMG NRCS Client to install it.
5. Select Microsoft Visual C++ Redistributable to install it.
6. Select AMG Drive Monitor to install it. Make sure the IP address for the AMG Journalist server is populated. Follow the prompts (Install, Next, Finish) to complete the installation.
7. Select AMG ODBC to install it. n
A database password is not necessary, and should not be entered.
8. Select AMG NRCS to install, and click Finish to complete the installation.
103
Installing the AMG Preview Renderer
9. Select Exit to close the installer.
You can now test the AMG Journalist Client.
10. (Optional) If you are using AMG Journalist Client (a MOS plugin) with iNEWS and
Interplay Central, you need to configure your web browser to accept MOS plugins.
t If you are using Chrome as your browser, you must install the Chrome Extension for
Interplay Central MOS plug-in. For more information, see Appendix F of the Interplay
Central Services Installation and Configuration Guide.
t If you are using Internet Explorer as your browser, you must enable Interplay Central
MOS plug-ins in Internet Explorer. For more information, see Appendix G of the
Interplay Central Services Installation and Configuration Guide.
Installing the AMG Preview Renderer
The following describes installing the Avid Motion Graphics Preview Renderer on a dedicated computer.
To install the Avid Motion Graphics Preview Renderer:
1. Navigate to the Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Server (via UNC path \\servername) .
2. Open the install folder.
3. Double-click the Avid_Motion_Graphics_Journalist_setup.exe.
4. In the AMG Journalist Applications window, click Avid Motion Graphics News Preview
Renderer.
5. Click Avid Motion Graphics Drive Monitor to install. You will need to enter the IP address for the Avid Motion Graphics Journalist server Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Re-distributable to install.
6. Click the Avid Motion Graphics Drive Monitor to install. You will need to enter the IP address for the Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Server.
7. Click Avid Motion Graphics ODBC to install. You will need to enter the IP address for the
Avid Motion Graphics Journalist server. A database password is not necessary, and should not be entered.
8. Click Avid License Control to install.
9. Click Avid Motion Graphics News Preview Renderer to install.
10. Click Exit to close the installer licensing.
11. Open the Avid License Control tool.
12. Add the Preview Renderer licenses (Preview and Clips). If you do not have a Preview
Renderer license, contact your sales representative to obtain a license.
104
Installing the AMG Preview Renderer n
The license is most easily added with an internet connection, so that the computer can connect to the Avid license server and verify the license.
105
Starting the AMG Journalist Server Applications
Starting the AMG Journalist Server Applications
After the server configuration is complete, you can start the AMG Journalist Server application..
To start the AMG Journalist Server applications: t Double-click the AMG Application Monitor shortcut.
This starts the Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Server applications, AMG News Licenser,
AMG Gateway, and AMG Preview Renderer.
AMG News Licenser: gives out Avid Motion Graphics Journalist client license seats.
AMG Gateway: manages communication between NRCS, database, and Command.
AMG Preview Renderer: manages Avid Motion Graphics Preview Renderer requests
Installing the AMG Advanced Device Manager
This topic contains information on how to install and configure Avid Motion Graphics Device service on each Avid Motion Graphics playout chassis.
To install the AMG Advanced Device Manager:
1. Navigate to the Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Server (via UNC path \\servername) .
2. Open the Install folder.
3. Double-click the Avid_Motion_Graphics_Journalist_setup.exe.
4. In the AMG Journalist Applications window, click AMG Playout.
5. Click Microsoft Visual C++ Redistributable to install.
6. Click Avid Motion Graphics Drive Monitor to install. You will need to enter the IP address for the Avid Motion Graphics Journalist server
7. Click Avid Motion Graphics ODBC to install. You will need to enter the IP address for the
Avid Motion Graphics Journalist server. A database password is not necessary, and should not be entered.
106
Installing the AMG Advanced Device Manager
8. Click the AMG Advanced Device Manager option to install the AMG Advanced Device
Manager onto the AMG Playout server.
n
Wait for all of the components to install before continuing. After each component successfully installs, a green circle, containing a white check mark, replaces all of the red circles, containing white Xs. If a component is already installed, it is detected and the green circle with the check mark appears immediately.
When all components have been installed, the Installshield Wizard for the Avid Motion
Graphics application opens.
n
Avid License Control should already be installed, and have a green check mark next to it.
9. Open the Avid License Control tool and confirm that you have the respective AMG licenses added. If not done, add the AMG ADM license. n
The license is most easily added with an internet connection, so that the computer can connect to the Avid license server and verify the license.
Configuring the Advanced Device Manager
Once you have installed the Advanced Device Manager on your AMG Playout chassis, you must configure it.
Configuring the Advanced Device Manager:
1. From the Start menu select All Programs > Avid > Advanced Device Manager
Configuration Tool. The Advanced Device Manager Configuration dialog box opens.
There are two protocol selection tabs available. The Primary Protocol Selection is used to configure AMG Channel A with Avid Command.
107
Installing the AMG Advanced Device Manager n
If the AMG Playout chassis is optioned for Dual Channel and you want to control the second channel using a different protocol, this can be accomplished by selecting the Secondary Protocol
Selection tab. Select AMG News Output Channel B.
2. /in the Protocol In field (for use with Command), select GAP (Graphics Automation
Protocol).
3. In the ADM PORT field, set the value to 5200.
4. In the AMG Config.ini Location field, make sure it points to X:\bins\cfg\AMGConf.ini.
5. In the MOS DEVICE field, type AMGNews.
6. In the Protocol out field, select AMG.
7. In the Receive PORT field, select 5555.
8. In the AUTO LOAD field, select True.
9. In the Pattern Match field, type X:\RSC\IMG. Then, in the >> field, type C:\TMP.
108
Installing the AMG Advanced Device Manager
10. In the TPL Folder field, make sure it points to X:\TPL.
11. In the METATPL Folder field, make sure it points to X:\METATPL.
12. In the TPL EXTENSION field, scn.
13. , To set up the first output channel (A), do the following: a.
In the AMG Output Channel section, select A to set up the first output channel.
b.
In the PGM-A IP or Name field, type the IP address of the local AMG chassis. You can use the local host name, as well.
c.
In the PGM-A PORT field, select 5124.
d.
In the PVW-A IP or Name field, type the IP address of the local AMG chassis. You can use the local host name, as well.
e.
In the PVW-A PORT field, select 5124.
14. (Option) If the chassis is a single channel AMG Playout chassis, do the following.
Otherwise, go to the next step: a.
Select the Save Configuration button to save your configuration.
b.
Select the Open Ini file folder, and double-click the AMG_AdvancedDM_Primary.ini file.
c.
Disable the Program B, Preview B channels by adding a semi-colon (;) in front of the following strings to prevent false errors in the ADM logs. as shown:
;"PGM-B IP"= "127.0.0.1"
;"PGM-B PORT"= "6124"
;"PVW-B IP"= "127.0.0.1"
;"PVW-B PORT"= "6124"
15. , To set up the second Output channel (B), do the following: a.
In the AMG Output Channel section, select B to set up the second output channel.
b.
In the PGM-B IP or Name field, type the IP address of the local AMG chassis. You can use the local host name, as well.
c.
In the PGM-B PORT field, select 6124.
d.
In the PVW-B IP or Name field, type the IP address of the local AMG chassis. You can use the local host name, as well.
e.
In the PVW-B PORT field, select 6124.
16. Click the Save Configuration button and close the Advanced Device Manager
Configuration Tool.
109
Installing the Avid Service Framework
Installing the Avid Service Framework
Each computer and device running Avid iNEWS Command software requires at least the core components of Service Framework and must be able to connect to a computer running the Avid
Lookup service.
To install the Avid Service Framework:
1. Insert the Command installation CD (or access the install program from the network).
The autorun installation program starts and displays the following screen.
n
The Command Documentation button will open a window displaying the contents of the Doc folder on the Command installation CD in which product documentation is provided in PDF format.
If the autorun does not begin, manually navigate to and run the ServiceFrameworkSetup.exe
install program.
110
Installing the Avid Service Framework
2. Click the Avid Service Framework button. n
Other dialog boxes could appear depending on whether older versions of Service Framework are found, particularly if upgrading existing software. If one appears, read it carefully and reply accordingly with regard to upgrades, etc.
A splash graphic will appear briefly as the installer prepares the InstallShield Wizard. Then the Welcome dialog box appears.
111
3. Click Next.
The Destination Folder dialog box opens.
Installing the Avid Service Framework
4. Set the location to which Avid Service Framework will be installed and click Next.
The Workgroup Name dialog box opens.
112
Installing the Avid Service Framework
5. Type the name of the Command workgroup in the field.
c
If you are updating the Service Framework software, the installer remembers the last installed value. If the workgroup name was changed after the install, the installer will not be aware of the change.
6. Click Next.
The Options dialog box opens.
113
Installing Avid Motion Graphics Device Service
7. Select the option: Avid Service Framework Client and click Next.
The Custom Setup dialog box opens.
By default, the Time Synchronization service is selected to be installed; however, this service should only be installed if you do not already use something to synchronize your PC clocks. If you use NTP or some other method for time synchronization, do not install this service. For more information about the services in this dialog box, see the tables in
“Installing Avid Service Framework” on page 24 .
8. Click Next and follow the installation instructions to complete the installation.
n
You might be required to restart your system to complete the installation.
After installation, verify that the services are running on each computer where Service
Framework services were installed.
Installing Avid Motion Graphics Device Service
This section provides the standard procedure for installing the device service.
To install the Avid Motion Graphics Device Service on the device:
1. Install iNEWS Command and select the AMG Device Service from the install menu.
When the autorun program starts, select the Avid iNEWS Command button. The
InstallShield Wizard starts and displays the Welcome screen.
114
2. Click Next.
The License Agreement appears.
Installing Avid Motion Graphics Device Service
115
Installing Avid Motion Graphics Device Service
3. Read the License Agreement, accept the terms, and click Next.
If you do not accept the terms, the installation program will not continue.
n
You can print the terms if you want to read them later or keep a copy for your records.
The Destination Folder dialog box opens.
116
Installing Avid Motion Graphics Device Service
4. Do one of the following: t Click Change to designate an install directory, and then click Next.
t Accept the default location by clicking Next.
The Options dialog box opens.
5. Select Avid Motion Graphics and click Next.
The Custom Setup dialog box appears with the default services selected for installation of client software. However, for CII integration, you must modify the selections to customize your installation.
117
6. Click Next to continue.
Configuring the Avid Motion Graphics Device Service
7. When the Ready to Install the Program dialog box appears, click Install.
8. When the installation is complete, click Finish.
You are now ready to install the appropriate plug-in or the Graphic Inventory Editor (GIE), if necessary.
Configuring the Avid Motion Graphics Device
Service
Once you have installed the Avid Motion Graphics Device Service on each Avid Motion
Graphics playout chassis, you must next configure it.
To configure the Avid Motion Graphics Device Service:
1. Select Start > All Programs > Avid Service Framework.
2. Open the Avid Service Configuration application.
3. Navigate to the local machine, open the drop down menu, and select the Avid Motion
Graphics Device Service.
118
Configuring the Avid Motion Graphics Device Service
4. Enter a Device name (in lowercase), such as “amg1”, and set the channel count to 1 for single-channel, or 2 for dual-channel playout chassis.
5. Click the AMG Device Service Settings tab.
6. In the ADM IP field, type the local machine’s specific IP address.
7. In the NET CONNECT AS, type the computer name\user name for the AMG Journalist
Server, so that the device service connects to the AMG Journalist Server with the right credentials. n
If the Journalist Server uses a local log in, enter the local computer name and user name, such as AMGJourn\Admin. A domain login also works here.
8. In the NET PASSWORD field, type the password for that user name (if there is one).
Otherwise, leave it blank.
9. In the NET SHARED RESOURCE field, type the AMG Journalist computer name and share name. For instance, \\AMGJourn\AMGNews.
n
Make sure the case matches.
10. Confirm that the SYSTEM MOS ID is correct. It should be the same (including the case) as was configured in the AMGConf.ini and the ADM Configuration.
n
After changing any value, select a different field before clicking Apply, so that the last change is kept. Or press Enter.
11. After the configuration is complete, click the Apply button.
The service restarts automatically.
12. Close the window.
119
4
Installing and Configuring the Graphic
Device Service
Avid iNEWS Command lets you control third-party graphics devices via the Graphic device service (GDS).
This chapter provides instructions for installing the device service as well as configuration information needed when integrating Command with third-party plug-ins or CII-based devices.
n
In almost all cases, Avid Service Framework and the device service should be installed on the graphics device, not the Command Server. The only exception is if you are controlling the graphics device via a serial connection.
•
Installing Avid Service Framework
•
Installing Avid Graphic Device Service
•
Installing Third-Party Plug-ins for the Graphic Device Service
-
Checklist: Installing and Configuring for Third-Party Plug-ins
-
Configuring the Avid Graphic Device Service
•
-
Checklist: Setting up Command for CII Integration
-
Installing the Avid Graphic Inventory Editor
-
Configuring the Avid Graphic Device Service for CII
-
Configuring the Graphic Inventory Editor
-
Configuring iNEWS Command Device Channels and Channel Groups
•
Configuring 3rd Party Software
Installing Avid Service Framework
Installing Avid Service Framework
Each computer and device running Avid iNEWS Command software requires at least the core components of Service Framework and must be able to connect to a computer running the Avid
Lookup service.
To install the Service Framework software:
1. Insert the Command installation CD (or access the install program from the network).
The autorun installation program starts and displays the following screen.
n
The Command Documentation button will open a window displaying the contents of the Doc folder on the Command installation CD in which product documentation is provided in PDF format.
If the autorun does not begin, manually navigate to and run the ServiceFrameworkSetup.exe
install program.
2. Click the Avid Service Framework button. n
Other dialog boxes could appear depending on whether older versions of Service Framework are found, particularly if upgrading existing software. If one appears, read it carefully and reply accordingly with regard to upgrades, etc.
120
Installing Avid Service Framework
A splash graphic will appear briefly as the installer prepares the InstallShield Wizard. Then the Welcome dialog box appears.
3. Click Next.
The Destination Folder dialog box opens.
121
Installing Avid Service Framework
4. Set the location to which Avid Service Framework will be installed and click Next.
The Workgroup Name dialog box opens.
5. Type the name of the Command workgroup in the field.
c
If you are updating the Service Framework software, the installer remembers the last installed value. If the workgroup name was changed after the install, the installer will not be aware of the change.
122
6. Click Next.
The Options dialog box opens.
Installing Avid Service Framework
7. Select the option: Avid Service Framework Client and click Next.
The Custom Setup dialog box opens.
123
Installing Avid Graphic Device Service
By default, the Time Synchronization service is selected to be installed; however, this service should only be installed if you do not already use something to synchronize your PC clocks. If you use NTP or some other method for time synchronization, do not install this service. For more information about the services in this dialog box, see the tables in
“Installing Avid Service Framework” on page 24 .
8. Click Next and follow the installation instructions to complete the installation.
n
You might be required to restart your system to complete the installation.
After installation, verify that the services are running on each computer where Service
Framework services were installed.
Installing Avid Graphic Device Service
This section provides the standard procedure for installing the device service.
To install the Avid Graphic device service on the device:
1. Insert the Command installation CD (or access the install program from the network).
When the autorun program starts, select the Avid iNEWS Command button. The
InstallShield Wizard starts and displays the Welcome screen.
124
2. Click Next.
The License Agreement appears.
Installing Avid Graphic Device Service
125
Installing Avid Graphic Device Service
3. Read the License Agreement, accept the terms, and click Next.
If you do not accept the terms, the installation program will not continue.
n
You can print the terms if you want to read them later or keep a copy for your records.
The Destination Folder dialog box opens.
126
Installing Avid Graphic Device Service
4. Do one of the following: t Click Change to designate an install directory, and then click Next.
t Accept the default location by clicking Next.
The Options dialog box opens.
5. Select Third-party Graphic Device and click Next.
The Custom Setup dialog box appears with the default services selected for installation of client software. However, for CII integration, you must modify the selections to customize your installation.
6. Deselect Avid iNEWS Command Workstation so that it is not installed.
127
Installing Avid Graphic Device Service
7. Expand Avid Graphic Device Service and select Avid Graphic Device Service 01.
n
The Help button opens a dialog box that provides descriptions of the various install states available for a custom installation as indicated by the icons. The Space button opens a dialog box that provides information on whether the computer’s destination drive has enough disk space available to install the current selection of features.
128
Installing Avid Graphic Device Service
8. Click Next to continue.
n
The Avid Graphic Device Service 01 should be the only service selected.
9. When the Ready to Install the Program dialog box appears, click Install.
10. When the installation is complete, click Finish.
You are now ready to install the appropriate plug-in or the Graphic Inventory Editor (GIE), if necessary.
129
Installing Third-Party Plug-ins for the Graphic Device Service
Installing Third-Party Plug-ins for the Graphic Device
Service
The Avid Graphics device service can be used with several third-party plug-ins, which provide
API-based control to graphics devices. These plug-ins must be purchased directly from the vendor; they are not part of the Command installation kit. Specific installation and configuration information is provided by those third party suppliers; however, for your convenience, this section contains general setup information for various graphics plug-ins you may use with
Command.
Checklist: Installing and Configuring for Third-Party Plug-ins
Complete the following tasks in the order that they are listed. If you are viewing this checklist online, you can easily access a linked topic that provides procedural details for the task. Return to this main checklist after you have completed each task.
n
Before installing, be sure to confirm that your plug-in is compatible with Command. See the
Compatibility Matrix for GDS plug-ins in the Avid iNEWS Command ReadMe for the latest information.
Tasks Refer to...
Install the core components of Avid Service
Framework on the device. Select the Client
Install.
“Installing Avid Service Framework” on page 120
Install the Graphic device service on the device.
“Installing Avid Graphic Device Service” on page 124
Install the plug-in.
The vendor’s installation instructions that came with your third-party plug-in. After the plug-in is installed, restart the Graphic device service.
n
All settings in Command and Framework are case sensitive. Ensure that case matches in all configuration settings.
Configure the Graphic device service.
“Configuring the Avid Graphic Device Service” on page 131
Configure the plug-in.
The vendor’s configuration instructions that came with your third-party plug-in. After the configuration is complete, restart the Graphic device service.
130
Installing Third-Party Plug-ins for the Graphic Device Service
Configuring the Avid Graphic Device Service
After the installations are complete, for the integration to succeed, some additional configuration is required, using the Avid Service Configuration application of Avid Service Framework. For more information about the ASF application, see the Avid Service Framework User’s Guide.
To configure the Graphic device service:
1. Click the Start button, and then select All Programs > Avid > Service Framework > Avid
Service Configuration.
2. On the Hosts tab, navigate to and select the Avid Graphic Device Service.
3. When prompted, enter the system administrator password and click OK. If you have not yet created one, leave the space blank and click OK.
4. On the Plug-in Chooser tab, select the plug-in you intend to use, provided by a third-party vender. By default this selection is set to none.
5. Click Apply and let the service restart before proceeding.
6. On the Device Settings tab, enter a name for the device. This name will be used later when configuring the system’s settings in Command.
7. Set the Channel count to the number of channels your device will use.
8. Click Apply and let the service restart before proceeding.
131
CII Integration
CII Integration
In addition to the Graphic device service (GDS), the Graphic Inventory Editor (GIE) application is also provided with Avid iNEWS Command and may be used to manage the inventory that
Command needs to control any third-party graphics device that uses the Chryon Intelligent
Interface (CII).
Checklist: Setting up Command for CII Integration
Complete the following tasks in the order that they are listed. If you are viewing this checklist online, you can easily access a linked topic that provides procedural details for the task. Return to this main checklist after you have completed each task.
n
Avid strongly recommends installing Avid Service Framework (ASF), the Graphic device service, and the Graphic Inventory Editor (GIE) on the device itself. If controlling more than one device, then ASF, the device service, and GIE should be installed on each device.
Tasks Refer to...
Install the core components of Avid Service
Framework on the device.
“Installing Avid Service Framework” on page 120
Install the Graphic device service on the device.
“Installing Avid Graphic Device Service” on page 124
Install the Graphic Inventory Editor on the device.
“Installing the Avid Graphic Inventory Editor” on page 133
n
All settings in Command and Framework are case sensitive. Ensure that case matches in all configuration settings.
Configure the Graphic device service.
“Configuring the Avid Graphic Device Service for CII” on page 133
Configure the Graphic Inventory Editor.
“Configuring the Graphic Inventory Editor” on page 137
Configure the system’s setting in Command and the device, using the Lyric software, for CII
Integration.
“Configuring iNEWS Command Device
Channels and Channel Groups” on page 145
132
CII Integration
Installing the Avid Graphic Inventory Editor
After installing the Avid Graphic device service on the graphics device, you need to install and configure the GIE application. n
The GIE application is not needed for Command integration with Avid Deko products or third-party graphics plug-ins. For users upgrading from ControlAir, the GIE application replaces data in the SYSTEM.RESOURCE queue in the Avid iNEWS newsroom computer system.
To install the Avid Graphic Inventory Editor:
1. Insert the Command installation CD (or access the install program from the network).
The autorun installation program starts.
n
If the autorun does not begin, manually navigate to and run the
AvidGraphicInventoryEditorSetup.exe
install program from the CD.
2. Click the Avid Graphic Inventory Editor button.
3. When the Welcome dialog box appears, click Next.
4. Read and accept the license agreement, and then click Next.
5. The default Destination folder is:
C:\Program Files\Avid\Graphic Inventory Editor\
You can change the location first or accept the default by clicking Next.
6. When the Ready to Install the Program dialog box appears, click Install.
7. When the installation is complete, click Finish. When installed, a separated icon for the GIE is made available on the desktop or in the Start menu.
Configuring the Avid Graphic Device Service for CII
After the installations are complete, for the integration to succeed, some additional configuration is required, using the Avid Service Configuration application of Avid Service Framework. For more information about the ASF application, see the Avid Service Framework User’s Guide.
To configure the Graphic device service:
1. Click the Start button, and then select All Programs > Avid > Service Framework > Avid
Service Configuration.
2. On the Hosts tab, navigate to and select the Avid Graphic Device Service.
3. When prompted, enter the system administrator password and click OK. If you have not yet created one, leave the space blank and click OK.
133
CII Integration
4. On the Device Settings tab, enter a name for the device. This name will be used later when configuring the system’s settings in Command.
5. Set the Channel count to the number of channels your device will use, which is usually 1 or
2.
134
CII Integration
6. On the Graphic Settings tab, for Device profile, select the appropriate profile.
n
Device profiles are vendor specific because some of the CII commands used for playout vary from vendor to vendor. The profiles also allow for customization of the transport commands.
7. In the Connection Settings section, do one of the following: t Select Telnet and enter the machine’s name for Host. Ensure the graphic device is also set for a telnet connection.
t Select Serial and fill in the appropriate information for port, bitrate, parity, and so forth.
135
CII Integration
8. The Graphic device service with CII protocol uses an XML file to keep inventory information. The easiest way to create it is to make a new text file and then rename it, changing the .txt
tag to an .xml
tag.
n
Avid recommends keeping your inventory XML file in a dedicated folder, such as
C:\GIE\templates.xml
.
9. Set the Inventory path to the XML file that you just created.
10. Leave the Case-sensitive check box unselected, so that inventory items are not case sensitive.
11. If you do not need to use the Graphic Inventory Editor to manage inventory or if you use an iNEWS Active-X plug-in, such as Chyron LUCI or Orad Maestro, select the check box called Add unplayable playlist items to inventory.
12. Enter the page range(s).
This needs to be a range of graphics that will be used solely for Command. Ensure that page ranges do not overlap between channel groups.
A show’s graphics will be loaded sequentially from the start of this page range when the channel group is locked. If graphics are added or updated, they will be loaded to the page at the end of the sequentially loaded pages.
c
Although the Minimum field permits zero (0), it should be set to a number greater than the largest page number used by your original graphics on the device; this is to ensure that your original graphics are not overwritten by the temporary graphics that contain fulfillment data for a show. The maximum value available is 99999998.
After a show with graphics is loaded to Command, the page numbers assigned to graphics may be viewed in the playlist so long as the Graphic Page column is displayed.
Configuring Graphic Device Service Macros
Avid iNEWS Command supports sending a macro through the Avid Graphic device service, but some additional configuration is necessary.
To configure Command for sending macros through the Avid Graphic device service:
1. Create a macro in the Chyron Lyric software.
c
Macros should not be used to change the transport status of the item in the program channel. Command relies on the transport status to be consistent when sending transport commands; having a macro change that status could severely impact playout.
136
CII Integration
2. Go to the Avid Service Configuration application, locate the Graphic device service, and define the macro on the Macros tab. Command supports up to 10 macros.
3. At a Command Workstation, select Tools > System Settings > Channel > Indices and add your graphic channel to the index.
4. To trigger the macro, it needs to be added to an X-keys or GPI device.
t For X-keys, select Tools > Options > Actions > K-keys. Click the button and in the
Choose Action dialog box, select the macros from Control > Macros.
t For GPI, select Tools > System Settings > GPI and select the appropriate GPI. Then select Control > Macros and the appropriate index.
n
Command sends the macro through its index, but unless the macro also specifies the frame buffer,
Chryon Lyric will apply the macro to the active frame buffer. So, even though Command is channel specific, the macro is not channel specific unless the frame buffer is defined in the macro.
Configuring the Graphic Inventory Editor
The configuration of the Graphic Inventory Editor (GIE) involves multiple procedures that are covered in this section in a standard workflow. Configuration is done on the device, using the
GIE application. The GIE application provides a multi-tabbed user interface for managing graphic inventory. Those tabs are: Templates and Styles. For more information about each tab in
the GIE application, see the following sections: “Working with Templates” on page 141
and
“Working with Styles” on page 143
.
The first step in the configuration process is to identify a path to your graphic inventory.
To specify the inventory path:
1. Click the Start button and select Programs > Avid > Avid Graphic Inventory Editor.
2. Click the Browse button.
3. In the Browse dialog box, navigate to the XML file specified earlier in the Avid Service
Configuration application.
137
4. Click Open.
After an inventory path is set, the New and Import buttons are enabled.
CII Integration
Importing Inventory
The following procedure only applies to sites converting from ControlAir to Command.
To import graphic inventory from SYSTEM.RESOURCE:
1. At an iNEWS Workstation, check for errors by turning on the monitor server on any iNEWS rundown and reading the messages sent back from that utility program; look for any problems with SYSTEM.RESOURCE.
2. Fix the problems before proceeding.
3. Export all stories in SYSTEM.RESOURCE as plain text files (all files). This can be done in a single operation by selecting all of them in the queue and selecting File > Export.
4. Open the Graphic Inventory Editor.
138
5. Click the Templates tab.
6. Click the Import button.
7. Select the file you just saved.
8. Click Open. An Import Templates dialog box appears.
CII Integration
9. Choose from among the devices provided; these are devices known to iNEWS. You can select multiple devices by pressing the Shift or Control keys down while making your selections. With Command, these individual devices will be converted to styles—lower thirds and stills, for example.
139
CII Integration
10. Click Import. The inventory of templates will appear on the Templates tab in the Graphic
Inventory Editor window.
n
The GIE application will allow the importation of templates that might share the same name of existing templates. If duplicates result from the importation or creation of templates, a Bad
Names dialog box will appear to warn you that this issue must be resolved before the Graphics device service will work.
140
CII Integration
Working with Templates
A template is a graphic with a pre-set look and fields (or layers) for replaceable data, such as text or video clips. Templates can be grouped together to form a style, such as a set of graphics designed for a specific show.
This section provides additional details on the Templates tab in the Graphic Inventory Editor and how to manage templates in the Command inventory. You can create a new template, copy an existing template, or delete templates from the inventory. Although you can also add or remove templates from a style, you must do that on the Styles tab.
n
You can also import a list of templates from a pre-existing inventory in an Avid iNEWS newsroom computer system. Although previous versions of Command allowed for more than one, there can be only one template name per address. For more information, see
“Importing Inventory” on page 138 .
141
CII Integration
To create a new template:
1. Click the New button at the bottom of the Templates tab. A new blank row will appear in the list of templates.
2. Type the name of the new template in the Name column.
3. Fill in the address information for the template. For CII integration, the address in Command must match the address of the template on the device.
4. Set the field count to a numerical value. This number must match the number of replaceable fields in the graphic.
5. Set the Play count to a numerical value. This number must match the number of triggers in the item—that is the number of times an operator must press Play to get through all of the effects in the template.
6. Select the check box in the Persistent column if the template is one that will remain onscreen while other graphics are played and ejected. An example of a persistent template is a LIVE graphic that remains onscreen during a live broadcast while other location or name graphics are also aired as lower-thirds.
7. (Optional) Type a meaningful description of what the template is used for, such as:
Lower-third Location with two fields.
8. Click Save.
To copy a template:
1. Select a template from the list of templates on the Templates tab.
2. Click Copy.
3. Click in the Name and Address fields to rename the copy.
4. (Optional) Modify the other fields associated with the copied template as needed.
5. Click Save.
To delete a template:
1. Select a template from the list of templates on the Templates tab.
2. Click Delete n
If deleting a template that has already been assigned to a style, a warning will appear to notify you of the assignment and confirm the deletion. If confirmed, the template is deleted from the inventory as well as the style. However, to clarify, deleting a template in the GIE application does not remove the corresponding file from the Chyron graphics device.
142
CII Integration
Working with Styles
A style sets the path to the actual graphics files on the device; therefore, all templates need to be added to a style before they can be played. The style also needs to be set in iNEWS in
SYSTEM.MAP.
This section provides additional details on the Styles tab in the Graphic Inventory
Editor—shown below—and how to manage styles in the Command inventory. You can create a new style, copy or edit an existing style, and delete styles from the inventory.
To create a style:
1. Click the New button at the bottom of the Styles tab. A new blank row appears in the list of styles.
2. Type the name of the new style in the Name column.
3. Fill in the path information for the style. The path is the location on the actual graphics device where the styles are stored.
143
CII Integration
4. From the Templates list, select the template or templates you want to add to the new style.
n
You can use Ctrl+A, Shift+click, or Ctrl+click to make your selection.
5. Click Add.
6. (Optional) To remove a template from the style, select it from the New list and click
Remove.
7. Click Save.
To copy a style:
1. Select a style from the list of styles on the Styles tab.
2. Click Copy.
3. Click in the Name field to rename the copy.
4. (Optional) Add or remove templates from the copied style as needed.
5. Click Save.
To delete a style:
1. Select a style from the list of styles on the Styles tab.
2. Click Delete.
n
Deleting a style in the GIE does not remove anything from the actual graphics device. It deletes the style from the inventory (located in the root directory on the PC) than Command uses to control the device.
After you have created all of the styles, you need to define them in Command.
To add styles to a Command Workstation:
1. Select Tools > System Settings.
2. Select Playlist.
3. In the Graphics Style section, click the Add button to add styles to the list.
n
The default style must also be defined in SYSTEM.MAP in iNEWS. For instance: video ABCD - A ; cg 1 - hyperx cg 2 - microx
144
CII Integration
To assign a style for a standalone playlist:
1. Right-click on the playlist’s channel group icon.
2. Select Edit properties for this channel group. The Playlist Channel Group Properties dialog box appears.
3. Enter the style.
4. Click OK.
The following list contains further guidelines related to playback.
• Numeric only items do not need to be added to the GIE.
• Numeric only items will show up originally as unavailable in the Command playlist, even if the item exists on the graphics device. Lock the channel group; this will make Command check for availability and correct the status.
• In Command, page numbers are written when the playlist is locked. This is by design and is different from ControlAir, where the page numbers were written when the show was loaded.
• If a new graphic is created in the GIE, the new graphic will not show up until after the monitor server for the show is turned off and back on in iNEWS.
Configuring iNEWS Command Device Channels and Channel Groups
Some additional configuration is required to enable Command via the Graphic device service—part of which is done at a Command Workstation, and part of which must be done on the device itself.
To configure device channels and channel groups in Command:
1. Start the Avid iNEWS Command Workstation application. The Choose Command
Workgroup dialog box opens.
2. Select your Command workgroup and click OK. The iNEWS Command application launches.
3. Select Tools > System Settings. The System Settings dialog box appears.
4. Expand Channel.
5. Select Device Channels.
145
6. Click Add. The Add Device Channel dialog box appears.
CII Integration
7. Do the following: a.
In the Channel name field, type a channel name. The channel name must match what was entered in the AMGconf.ini file. Avid recommends using numbers for the name of the channel.
b.
In the Device name field, type a device name. The device name must match the device name set for the Graphic device service on the Device Settings tab in the Avid Service
Configuration application.
c.
In the Device type field, set the device type to Avid Motion Graphics.
d.
Set the channel index to zero (0) for channel 1.
e.
Click OK. The Add Device Channel dialog box closes.
f.
Repeat these steps for each device channel as needed. For instance, if using two channels, add a second device channel and set the channel index to 1 for channel 2.
8. Click Apply.
9. Type a password, if necessary, and click OK.
10. In The System Settings dialog box, select Groups.
146
CII Integration
11. Click Add. The Create New Channel Group dialog box appears.
a.
In the Name field, set the name of the group to something eight characters or less with no spaces.
b.
Click Add for each channel in the group.
c.
Select the appropriate device channel from the Primary menu.
12. Select Playlist, and then the Add button in the Graphics Style section.
13. Change the newly added style from its default name of Style to Style-1.
14. Click Apply and then set it as the default style if you are no longer using Deko, or any other device.
147
CII Integration
15. Click OK to save the changes.
Configuring 3rd Party Software
Additional configuration in the 3rd party device's software is also needed. Please see below for the specific device.
Configuring the Chyron Lyric Software
This section contains information on how to configure the Chyron Lyric software.
To configure the Lyric software:
1. In the Lyric application, select Config > Intelligent Interface.
2. Select the Enable Telnet check box.
n
When switching from ControlAir to Command (from serial to telnet communications), be sure to change all macros on the device so that the Chyron Intelligent Interface configuration setting does not get altered inadvertently.
Use the Clone Canvas feature to send preview output to a VGA monitor in the control room.
See the Lyric Help system for further instructions.
Configuring the GDS for Chyron LUCI iNEWS ActiveX Support
Avid iNEWS Command supports both hand-entered items and newsroom playlist items added to an iNEWS rundown via the Chyron LUCI plug-in.
For the plug-in to work, however, some minor configuration of the Graphic device service is necessary. Sites that use the Chyron LUCI plug-in also need to change the MOS configuration on the CAMIO server. Procedures for both configurations are provided in this section.
To configure the Graphic device service to support the LUCI plug-in:
1. Click the Start button, and then select All Programs > Avid > Service Framework > Avid
Service Configuration.
2. On the Hosts tab, navigate to and select the Avid Graphic Device Service.
3. When prompted, enter the system administrator password and click OK. If you have not yet created one, leave the space blank and click OK.
148
CII Integration
4. On the Graphic Settings tab, at the bottom, select Add unplayable playlist to inventory.
n
Users need to select the Command profile in CAMIO so that Command correctly parses the plug-in data.
The following limitations apply:
Items can be numeric only, such as 10256.
Items cannot be multi-triggered. This is set in the Graphic Inventory Editor application.
Items cannot be persistent. This is set in the Graphic Inventory Editor application.
To modify MOS configuration settings on the CAMIO server:
1. Open the CAMIO Admin Tool Web page and go to MOS Configuration.
2. Click Show Advanced, and then More Advanced.
3. Change the Slug field from %s to %m.
4. Click the Submit button.
This will change the XML data so that the item slug has the message number.
149
5
Installing and Configuring the Deko
The Avid iNEWS Command user interface allows you to control multiple production devices, such as Deko character generators. For the interface to work, however, some software installation and configuration is required.
•
•
Checklist: Installing the Deko
•
Installing Avid Service Framework
•
Installing Avid Deko Device Service
•
Installing the DekoMOS Gateway
•
Installing the DekoMOS Macro Server
•
Checklist: Configuring the Deko
•
Configuring the DekoMOS Gateway
•
Configuring the DekoMOS Macro Server
•
Configuring Avid Workgroup Properties
•
Configuring the Deko Device Service
•
Configuring the Avid Deko Renderer Service
•
Creating Graphic Styles in Command
System Architecture
System Architecture
Understanding the relationship of Avid iNEWS Command to other aspects of the newsroom environment, such as Avid Deko systems, is helpful.
Your newsroom computer system such as Avid iNEWS (or ENPS) organizes the newsroom.
There is two-way communication between the iNEWS Server and other workstations running the iNEWS and iNEWS Command client software in regard to production and management of playlists. Each iNEWS Workstation can have the Deko Select plug-in, functioning as part of the user interface that enables a journalist to drag and drop any Deko graphics template into a news story and alter replaceable text or graphics in the selected template. The Deko Select plug-in communicates with the DekoMOS Gateway.
The DekoMOS Gateway is the essential interface for integration of the newsroom computer system and Command with various Deko components in regard to the creation, modification, and playout of graphic elements in newsroom playlists. The DekoMOS Gateway manages configuration information and presents logs of DekoMOS activity and connections. The
DekoMOS Macro Server, installed on all Deko devices used for playout, allows Command to communicate with the Dekos. The DekoMOS Macro Server receives and processes macro commands. It also acts as a client to the DekoMOS Gateway to retrieve a list of defined styles.
Through this integration, Command can control playback of graphics on Deko systems and drive up to nine channels of Deko across multiple systems from a single user interface.
n
In this explanation, the term Deko refers to any one of these products: Deko 3000, Deko 3000
Hybrid, Deko 3000 HD, FXDeko II, Deko 2200, Deko 1000, Deko 1000 Hybrid, Deko 1000 HD, and Deko 550.
151
System Architecture
Command with Avid Deko Overview
This section contains an overview of each component involved in a Command/Deko workflow and the main purpose each serves.
Component
DekoMOS Gateway
Avid iNEWS
Avid Deko Select
Avid iNEWS Command
Avid Deko
DekoMOS Macro Server
Description
• Defines Deko styles
• Equates channel number (1-9) with a MOS ID
• Provides inventory to the Avid Deko Select plugin in iNEWS
• SYSTEM.MOS-MAP equates the MOS ID with the channel group in
Command
• SYSTEM.MAP
associates the newsroom rundown with the channel group and assigns a style
Used to choose the channel number and style for an item that is dragged into the newsroom rundown.
• Creates channel groups
• Creates graphic environments (also known as styles in Deko) for standalone playlists
• Sends playout control commands to the Avid Deko device
• Inventory is copied from this device to the DekoMOS Gateway.
• Deko software provides graphics for on-air playout.
• Gets style list from DekoMOS Gateway
• Sets style paths for replaceable, static graphics, motions, and so forth
• Sends inventory to the Inventory Manager in Command
152
Checklist: Installing the Deko
Checklist: Installing the Deko
Ensuring integration with devices, such as the Avid Deko, requires installation of various components and services, as well as some configuration. Using the Avid Deko as the example of a device, the following is a checklist of activities an installer should verify to ensure a successful installation.
Complete the following tasks in the order that they are listed. If you are viewing this checklist online, you can easily access a linked topic that provides procedural details for the task. Return to this main checklist after you have completed each task.
Tasks Refer to...
Connect the Deko to the network.
The documentation that came with your Avid
Deko for more information..
Install the Deko software.
Install the core components of Avid Service
Framework on the Deko.
“Installing Avid Service Framework” on page 154
Install Deko device service from the Avid iNEWS
Command software installation CD.
“Installing Avid Deko Device Service” on page 158
“Installing the DekoMOS Gateway” on page 164
Install the DekoMOS Gateway. This requires a dongle.
Install DekoMOS Macro Server on the Deko.
“Installing the DekoMOS Macro Server” on page 165
After installation, some configuration is required. For more information, see
Configuring the Deko” on page 166 .
For more information on installation of the Avid Deko Select plug-in, see “Setting up the
Plug-ins in iNEWS” on page 271 .
153
Installing Avid Service Framework
Installing Avid Service Framework
Each computer and device running Avid iNEWS Command software requires at least the core components of Service Framework and must be able to connect to a computer running the Avid
Lookup service.
To install the Service Framework software:
1. Insert the Command installation CD (or access the install program from the network).
The autorun installation program starts and displays the following screen.
n
The Command Documentation button will open a window displaying the contents of the Doc folder on the Command installation CD in which product documentation is provided in PDF format.
If the autorun does not begin, manually navigate to and run the ServiceFrameworkSetup.exe
install program.
2. Click the Avid Service Framework button. n
Other dialog boxes could appear depending on whether older versions of Service Framework are found, particularly if upgrading existing software. If one appears, read it carefully and reply accordingly with regard to upgrades, etc.
154
Installing Avid Service Framework
A splash graphic will appear briefly as the installer prepares the InstallShield Wizard. Then the Welcome dialog box appears.
3. Click Next.
The Destination Folder dialog box opens.
n
If space is a concern on the C drive, install in the
You will need to create these directories.
D:\Avid\Service Framework\ directory.
155
Installing Avid Service Framework
4. Set the location to which Avid Service Frameworkwill be installed and click Next.
The Workgroup Name dialog box opens.
5. Type the name of the Command workgroup in the field.
c
If you are updating the Service Framework software, the installer remembers the last installed value. If the workgroup name was changed after the install, the installer will not be aware of the change.
6. Click Next.
The Options dialog box opens.
156
Installing Avid Service Framework
7. Select the option: Avid Service Framework Client and click Next.
The Custom Setup dialog box opens.
By default, the Time Synchronization service is selected to be installed; however, this service should only be installed if you do not already use something to synchronize your PC clocks. If you use NTP or some other method for time synchronization, do not install this
service. For more information about the services in this dialog box, see the tables in page 24 .
8. Click Next and follow the installation instructions to complete the installation.
157
Installing Avid Deko Device Service n
You might be required to restart your system to complete the installation.
After installation, verify that the services are running on each computer where Service
Framework services were installed.
Installing Avid Deko Device Service
The Command installation CD provides for installation of services associated with various production devices, such as the Avid Deko.
To install the Deko device service on the Deko:
1. Insert the Command installation CD (or access the install program from the network).
The autorun installation program starts and displays the following screen.
n
The Command Documentation button will open a window displaying the contents of the Doc folder on the Command installation CD in which product documentation is provided in PDF format.
158
Installing Avid Deko Device Service
2. Click the Avid iNEWS Command button. If Avid Service Framework is not already installed, a warning dialog box will appear.
If it does, click OK and install Avid Service Framework before restarting this installation.
See
“Installing Avid Service Framework” on page 154
for more information.
n
Other dialog boxes could appear depending on whether older versions of Service Framework, the License service, or Command are found on the server, particularly if upgrading the
Command Server software. If one appears, read it carefully and reply accordingly with regard to upgrades, etc.
If all prerequisite installations are in order, and the Command Server installation can proceed, a splash graphic will appear briefly as the installer prepares the InstallShield
Wizard. Then the Welcome dialog box appears.
3. Click Next. The License Agreement appears.
159
Installing Avid Deko Device Service
4. Read the License Agreement, accept the terms, and click Next.
If you do not accept the terms, the installation program will not continue.
n
You can print the terms if you want to read them later or keep a copy for your records.
The Destination Folder dialog box opens.
n
If space is a concern on the C drive, install in the need to create these directories.
D:\Avid\iNEWS Command\ directory. You will
5. Do one of the following: t Click Change to designate an install directory, and then click Next.
t Accept the default location by clicking Next.
160
6. When the Options dialog box opens, select Avid Deko.
Installing Avid Deko Device Service
161
The Custom Setup dialog box will appear.
Installing Avid Deko Device Service n
The Help button opens a dialog box that provides descriptions of the various install states available for a custom installation as indicated by the icons. The Space button opens a dialog box that provides information on whether the computer’s destination drive has enough disk space available to install the current selection of features.
162
7. Click Next.
Installing Avid Deko Device Service
8. When the Ready to Install the Program dialog box appears, click Install.
9. When the installation is complete, click Finish.
To verify that installed services are running, you must use the Avid Service Framework
Workgroup Properties application.
163
Installing the DekoMOS Gateway
Installing the DekoMOS Gateway
The Net HASP dongle, supplied by Avid, as well as the HASP License software and driver are part of the DekoMOS Gateway installation. Therefore, installing the DekoMOS Gateway is three-fold:
•
Connecting the Net HASP Dongle
•
Installing the DekoMOS Gateway and Net HASP Software
•
Confirming the NetHASP License Manager Configuration
n
For thumbnails of Deko graphics to appear in Command, the DekoMOS Gateway must be in the same domain as the Command Server(s).
The DekoMOS Gateway cannot be installed on the iNEWS Gateway or ENPS Server. Avid recommends installing the DekoMOS Gateway on the Command Server. However, if it’s installed on another computer, the selected computer must have a network connection to the
Deko and should be running Windows 2003 Server operating system, not Windows XP.
Otherwise, because of Windows limitations, the number of clients allowed to connect simultaneously is limited to ten.
Connecting the Net HASP Dongle
The Net HASP dongle included with your Deko system should be connected to the computer where you will install the DekoMOS Gateway software.
To connect the Net HASP Dongle: t Connect the dongle to either the parallel port or one of the USB ports on the back of the machine. The Net HASP dongle enables the Deko Select option for the newsroom workstations.
The Net HASP License Manager, the driver for the Net HASP, installs automatically with the
DekoMOS Gateway software.
Installing the DekoMOS Gateway and Net HASP Software
To install the DekoMOS Gateway on a dedicated computer:
1. Insert the Deko Select installation CD in the computer’s CD-ROM drive (or access the program from the network).
2. Navigate to and run the DekoMOSGateway.exe
install program.
3. Click OK and follow the instructions on the screen to install the software.
164
Installing the DekoMOS Macro Server n
Avid recommends selecting Service as the installation option for the Net HASP License Manager.
After installing, you should confirm that the Net HASP License Manager is running and that it is configured to use TCP/IP.
Confirming the NetHASP License Manager Configuration
You will need to confirm that the NetHASP License Manager is both running and configured properly.
To confirm activation and configuration of the NetHASP License Manager: t Right-click the NetHASP License Manager icon (circled in red below) in the system tray at the bottom of your screen and select Show.
The Net HASP License Manager window opens. You should see the words Server is listening to TCP/IP: Loaded and Net HASP License Manager is now - Active.
Installing the DekoMOS Macro Server
The DekoMOS Macro Server should be installed on each Deko used for playout to air.
To install the DekoMOS Macro Server on the Deko:
1. Insert the Deko Select installation CD in the Deko device’s CD-ROM drive.
2. Navigate to and run the DekoMOSMacroServer.exe
program.
3. Click OK or press Enter.
4. Follow the on-screen prompts to complete the installation.
165
Checklist: Configuring the Deko
Checklist: Configuring the Deko
For integration between Command and Deko to succeed, some configuration is required.
Complete the following tasks in the order that they are listed. If you are viewing this checklist online, you can easily access a linked topic that provides procedural details for the task. Return to this main checklist after you have completed each task.
n
All settings in Command and Framework are case sensitive. Ensure that case matches in all configuration settings.
Tasks Refer to...
Configure the DekoMOS Gateway.
Configure the DekoMOS Macro Server.
Configure the styles in the DekoMOS Macro
Server.
Configure Avid Workgroup Properties for the
Deko.
Configure the Deko device service.
“Configuring the DekoMOS Gateway” on page 167
“Configuring the DekoMOS Macro Server” on page 175
“Configuring Styles on the DekoMOS Macro
“Configuring Avid Workgroup Properties” on page 179
“Configuring the Deko Device Service” on page 181
“Editing the SYSTEM.MOS-MAP Story” on page 269
Add the MOS-IDs for Command channel group(s) to the SYSTEM.MOS-MAP story in Avid iNEWS.
(Optional) If you intend to use standalone playlists in Command or use the Avid Deko
Select plug-in with ENPS and Avid iNEWS
Command, create the same styles—configured in the DekoMOS Macro Server—as graphic styles in Command.
“Creating Graphic Styles in Command” on page 183
166
Configuring the DekoMOS Gateway
Configuring the DekoMOS Gateway
Templates exist on both the DekoMOS Gateway and the Deko device. The DekoMOS Gateway is then used to supply thumbnail graphics and handle file requests from plug-ins at multiple workstations, thus relieving such burden from the actual device that might be busy during playout. Duplication of assets on the gateway and device is not automatic; therefore, it must be maintained manually.
After the DekoMOS Gateway is installed, you need to configure various settings in the software.
This section covers only those settings that directly impact integration with Command. n
For more information on how to configure the DekoMOS Gateway and for further explanation of the settings available for configuration that are not covered in this book, see the Avid Deko
Select Installation and User’s Guide.
To configure the DekoMOS Gateway:
1. Determine if the DekoMOS Gateway is running.
If the DekoMOS Gateway is not running, click the Start button and select
Programs > Avid Systems > DekoMOS > DekoMOS Gateway.
If the DekoMOS Gateway is running, maximize the window by right-clicking on the icon (shown below next to the clock) in the taskbar’s system tray.
2. If you have not previously configured DekoMOS Gateway, or if it is missing any required information, the DekoMOS Gateway Configuration dialog box will automatically open when the application starts.
If it does not open, do one of the following: t Click the Configure button. t Press Alt+C.
167
3. Select the General tab.
Configuring the DekoMOS Gateway
4. In the Paths area, enter settings as follows: t In the XML Storage Folder text box, enter or browse to the pathname of the folder for storing active rundowns. If you enter a folder name that does not exist, when you click
OK, the system will prompt you with a question asking if you would like the system to create this folder. This path should be local to the DekoMOS Gateway computer and therefore begin with a drive letter, such as C: .
t In the User Settings Storage Folder text box, enter or browse to the pathname of the folder for storing individual user client settings. If you enter a folder name that does not exist, when you click OK, the system will prompt you with a question asking if you would like the system to create this folder. This path should be local to the DekoMOS
Gateway computer and therefore begin with a drive letter, such as C: .
n
In most cases, these are left at the default settings. The remaining settings on the General tab can also be left at the defaults.
168
5. Select the Connections tab.
Configuring the DekoMOS Gateway
6. In the Primary NCS area, enter localhost for the address.
7. Avid recommends leaving the port settings in the Primary NCS and Listening Ports areas set to the defaults.
8. In the Net HASP Settings area: t The IP address text box automatically defaults to the address of the current computer.
Ensure that the address is correct and belongs to the DekoMOS Gateway computer with the Net HASP License Manager software installed. If not, enter it.
t Keep the default setting of 475 in the Port field to indicate the port number where the
Net HASP checks for connections. This can be changed if you receive an error message.
9. In the MOS IDs area, enter the Gateway ID and set the NCS ID to localhost .
This setting enables every template that is dragged and dropped into a story to use the specified ID. n
The Gateway ID must match the MOS ID specified in the newsroom computer system.
SYSTEM.MOS-MAP story in the iNEWS
169
Configuring the DekoMOS Gateway
10. Select the MOS ID per Ch radio button to enable users the ability to drag and drop templates into specific channels. Once you select this radio button, the dialog box changes to reveal the
Assign Channel IDs button.
11. Click the Assign Channel IDs button. The Configure Channel IDs dialog box opens.
170
Configuring the DekoMOS Gateway
12. For each channel listed in the Ch column (that is, 1, 2, 3, 4...), in the Gateway ID column, enter a corresponding MOS ID for the channels you want to use.
With MOS ID per Ch selected and channel IDs configured, the MOS ID of the templates that are dragged and dropped into a story will vary depending on the channel with which the template was dropped. n
The channel IDs configured in the DekoMOS Gateway must be added to the SYSTEM.MOS-MAP
story in the iNEWS newsroom computer system. For more information, see “Editing the
SYSTEM.MOS-MAP Story” on page 269
.
13. Click OK to return to the DekoMOS Gateway Configuration dialog box.
14. Select the Reject items with unknown Gateway IDs check box unless you are using Avid
Deko Select with an ENPS system and MOS Redirection.
15. Click the Browser/Editor tab.
16. In the Graphic Browsers area, click the Add button.
The Add Graphic Browser dialog box opens.
17. Type <manual> in the Alias field.
18. Type <manual> in the AppID field.
171
Configuring the DekoMOS Gateway
19. Click OK.
The settings you entered will appear in the corresponding columns in the Graphic Browsers area.
n
Setting Graphic Browsers to <manual> replaceable graphic names or numbers.
enables the Deko Select plug-in for manual entry of
172
20. Click the Client Styles tab.
Configuring the DekoMOS Gateway
21. Click the Add button. The Add Style dialog box opens.
22. Enter a style name in the Style Name text box (with no spaces) and click OK.
This is the name that will appear in the Deko Select plug-in on the newsroom computer system workstations and in the Avid iNEWS Command Inventory. n
The Deko style is also referenced by the DekoMOS Macro Server and must be in the iNEWS
SYSTEM.MAP
story for each rundown using the Deko with Command. For more information, see
“Configuring Styles on the DekoMOS Macro Server” on page 177 .
23. If the style name you just added is not displayed in the Style Name text box on the Client
Styles tab, click the Down arrow beside the text box to select it from a list of style names.
173
Configuring the DekoMOS Gateway
24. In each of the four Folder text boxes, enter the path that the style should reference or press the button to the right of each text box to navigate to the appropriate folder.
All newsroom computer system workstations will locate the elements for display in these folders. n
Avid recommends that they reside on the computer where the DekoMOS Gateway is installed. All folders should be shared for Read Only access. This ensures that the graphics remain as they were created while allowing access to those graphics. For best performance, files for playout are stored on the Deko. Duplicate files stored on the DekoMOS Gateway are accessed by the Deko
Select plug-in.
The path you enter must be a UNC path and not a drive letter path. The format for a UNC path is \\server\volume\directory and is not case-sensitive. For example:
\\Shared1_svr\Shared1\WGroups
25. On the Control Room tab, enter a name for a control room.
26. Click OK.
174
Configuring the DekoMOS Macro Server
Deko and Deko Select Subfolders
Users can organize their templates into subfolders, both on the DekoMOS Gateway and the Deko device itself. Command supports the use of subfolders with the Deko for both hand-entered
(*CG) and Deko Select items.
n
The Deko and DekoMOS Gateway must have a uniform subfolder structure so, for instance, an item in the Sports\Score subfolder on the Deko must also be in the Sports\Score subfolder on the
DekoMOS Gateway.
For hand-entered items, the subfolder must be added prior to the template in the iNEWS production cue. For example, the SPORTS folder is a subfolder of the base template directory, and the SCORE folder is in the SPORTS folder. F_SCORE1 is the name of the template, which contains four fields.
*cg SPORTS\SCORE\F_SCORE1
FIELD1
FIELD2
FIELD3
FIELD4
Configuring the DekoMOS Macro Server
To configure the DekoMOS Macro Server:
1. Do one of the following: t If the DekoMOS Macro Server is not running, access the configuration window by clicking the Start button and select Programs > Avid > DekoMOS > DekoMOS Macro
Server.
t Double-click the desktop icon.
t If the DekoMOS Macro Server is running and is visible in the system tray, click the
DekoMOS symbol in the system tray to maximize the application.
175
Configuring the DekoMOS Macro Server
The DekoMOS Macro Server window appears. The top portion of the window displays a log of DekoMOS Macro Server activity. The XML commands that the DekoMOS Macro Server is executing are shown in the white text area. Blue text indicates that things are OK. Red text indicates that there is a problem. The Gateway/Style status icon appears green on connection; it does not stay green.
2. To specify that this log shows data communication in full xml view, select Details, near the bottom right of the window. Or, deselect Details to show a simple one line view. To clear the information displayed here, click the Clear button.
3. In the Gateway Address text box, type the IP address or host hame of the machine running the DekoMOS Gateway.
4. The Playback Port text box and the Local IP Port text box are 10544 and 10543, respectively, by default. Do not change these port numbers unless you receive an error message. The
Playback Port number must be the same number you typed during DekoMOS Gateway configuration as the Playback Port.
5. Click the Apply button below the Gateway Address text box.
6. Click Enable Logging if you want all logged information about DekoMOS Macro Server activity to be automatically sent to the folder Avid\DekoMOS\Logs .
176
Configuring the DekoMOS Macro Server
7. Click Start Minimized to specify that upon starting the DekoMOS Macro Server will not display this window, but will appear in the system tray.
You can verify that the DekoMOS Macro Server is communicating with the Gateway. When the
Macro Server is first started and correctly communicating with the DekoMOS Gateway, the
Gateway/Styles status icon turns green for a few seconds, then appears grayed out. If there is no communication, it will appear red, indicating that there is a problem talking to the Gateway.
You can verify that the DekoMOS Macro Server can confirm the existence of scheduled graphics, graphic assets, and clips. The status icons next to Template Graphics File Monitoring, and Replacement Graphic File Monitoring should be green. The DekoMOS Macro Server must be able to monitor these files to communicate information to Avid iNEWS Command.
Configuring Styles on the DekoMOS Macro Server
The same style names, but with local paths, must be configured on the Macro Server as they were configured on the DekoMOS Gateway. For best performance, files for playout are stored on the Deko; duplicate files, stored on the Gateway, are accessed by the Deko Select plug-in.
To configure styles and corresponding local paths:
1. Do one of the following: t If the DekoMOS Macro Server is not running, access the configuration window by clicking the Start button and select Programs > Avid > DekoMOS > DekoMOS Macro
Server.
t Double-click the desktop icon.
t If the DekoMOS Macro Server is running and is visible in the system tray, click the
DekoMOS symbol in the system tray to maximize the application.
The DekoMOS Macro Server window appears.
177
2. Click the Styles button.
The Deko Style Settings dialog box opens.
Configuring the DekoMOS Macro Server
3. To configure styles defined in the DekoMOS Gateway, select the Style Name from the list and then set the appropriate paths that this style will use.
Although you should use the same paths as set in the DekoMOS Gateway for that style, paths should be local to this computer for best performance.
4. In the Additional Macro Commands text box, type additional commands to send to Deko when the style is selected. This is useful for opening any show-specific presets or other files.
5. Click Apply to apply settings for a style.
6. Click OK when you have finished configuring styles.
To retrieve styles recently configured in DekoMOS Gateway and add them to the list of styles in the Deko Style Settings window: t Click the Refresh Styles List button in the Deko Style Settings window.
178
Configuring Avid Workgroup Properties
Configuring Avid Workgroup Properties
If the Deko device is in a different subnet than the Command Servers, you must add the server names to the Lookup tab in Avid Workgroup Properties on the Deko.
To configure Avid Workgroup Properties on the Deko:
1. Click the Start button, and then select All Programs > Avid > Service Framework > Avid
Workgroup Properties.
2. On the Lookup tab, click the Add button under the Workgroup section.
The Add Workgroup dialog box will open on top of the Avid Workgroup Properties window, as shown:
3. Enter the name of the workgroup. It is case sensitive.
4. Click OK. The name you entered will appear in the Workgroup section of the Avid
Workgroup Properties window.
179
Configuring Avid Workgroup Properties
5. Click the Add button under the Lookup services section (above the Apply button).
The Add Lookup Service dialog box will open on top of the Avid Workgroup Properties window, as shown:
6. Enter the full domain name of the server running the Lookup service for the workgroup, such as: cmdsvr1.avidbroadcast.com
.
7. Leave the port setting as is.
8. Select the Expected check box.
9. Click OK.
10. Repeat steps 5 - 9 to add another server running the Lookup service for the workgroup.
11. Click OK on the Avid Workgroup Properties window.
12. Click Yes, when prompted to restart all services.
180
Configuring the Deko Device Service
Configuring the Deko Device Service
After any device service is installed for Deko character generators, some additional configuration is required, using the Service Configuration application of Avid Service
Framework. For more information, see the Avid Service Framework User’s Guide.
To configure the device service:
1. Click the Start button, and then select All Programs > Avid > Service Framework > Avid
Service Configuration.
2. Navigate to and select the Avid Deko device service.
3. When prompted for the administrator password, enter it.
4. Enter the host name for the respective device.
5. Enter the name of the DekoMOS Gateway computer.
6. Select the appropriate device mode. n
In single channel mode, items with motions and/or clips are rendered when cued and then paused at the first frame. In dual channel mode, items are not rendered until they are played.
7. Click Apply. You can then close the Avid Service Configuration application.
8. Click the Start button, and then select All Programs > Avid > Service Framework >
Avid Workgroup Properties.
9. Click the Advanced button.
10. After the Avid Services dialog box opens, select the device, then stop and restart it.
181
Configuring the Avid Deko Renderer Service
Configuring the Avid Deko Renderer Service
The Avid Deko Renderer service is installed at sites that want to integrate with an Avid Deko and utilize thumbnail images. After the service is installed on the Command Server, additional configuration should not be necessary. By default, this service is pre-configured to automatically locate the DekoMOS Gateway on the network. However, if the service was installed and cannot locate the DekoMOS Gateway, you can manually configure it to do so via the Avid Service
Configuration application. n
The Deko Renderer service does not take up a HASP license seat.
To configure Deko Renderer services:
1. Click the Start button, and then select All Programs > Avid > Service Framework > Avid
Service Configuration.
2. On the Hosts tab, navigate to and select the Avid Deko Renderer Service.
3. When prompted, enter the system administrator password and click OK. If you have not yet created one, leave the space blank and click OK.
4. If the Allow Unrestricted Security dialog box appears, click Yes.
On the Settings tab, you’ll see the service set to Automatically.
182
Creating Graphic Styles in Command
5. Select Manually.
6. Enter the host name or IP address for the DekoMOS Gateway computer.
7. Click Apply. You can then close the Avid Service Configuration application.
n
You might need to restart the service after applying any changes. For redundant systems, ensure that all Deko Renderer services on every Command Server are set the same.
Creating Graphic Styles in Command
If you plan to create and use standalone playlists at a Command Workstation or use a Avid Deko
Select plug-in with ENPS integration, you must create graphic styles in Command that match the styles configured on the DekoMOS Macro Server.
To add a graphic style:
1. Select Tools > System Settings.
2. Select Playlist.
183
Creating Graphic Styles in Command
3. Click the Add button. A style will appear in the Styles list as shown:
4. By default, the name of any added style is Style , but that can be changed. To do so, double-click on the name in the list and retype the new name.
5. After multiple styles are added, use the Default style drop-down list to select which one the system should use as a default.
6. Click Apply (if you want the System Settings dialog box to remain open after settings are applied) or OK.
The system will prompt you for the administrator password.
184
Creating Graphic Styles in Command
7. Enter the administrator password and click OK. If you did not configure a password, leave it blank.
For more information on styles, see the Avid Deko Select User’s Guide.
n
The set of graphics styles specified in the system settings in the Playlist category will appear as options in various parts of the Command user interface, such as: the Default style list (shown in the previous graphic), the Default graphics style list in the the MOS > General category of the
System Settings dialog box (shown in the graphic in “Configuring MOS Settings in Command” on page 294 ), and in the Playlist Properties dialog box.
185
6
Installing and Configuring the Thunder
The Avid iNEWS Command user interface allows you to control multiple production devices, such as Thunder production servers. For the interface to work, however, some software installation and configuration is required.
•
Checklist: Installing and Configuring the Thunder
•
Installing Avid Service Framework
•
Installing Avid Thunder Device Service
•
Configuring Avid Workgroup Properties
•
Configuring the Thunder Device Service
•
•
Creating the ThunderMOS.cfg File
•
Creating the ThunderMOS.ini File
Checklist: Installing and Configuring the Thunder
Checklist: Installing and Configuring the Thunder
Ensuring integration with devices, such as the Avid Thunder, requires installation of various components and services, as well as some configuration. The following is a checklist of activities an installer should verify to ensure a successful installation and configuration.
Complete the following tasks in the order that they are listed. If you are viewing this checklist online, you can easily access a linked topic that provides procedural details for the task. Return to this main checklist after you have completed each task.
Tasks Refer to...
Connect the Thunder to the network.
The documentation that came with your Avid
Thunder for more information.
Install the Thunder software.
n
Thunder integration with Command and iNEWS requires an SQL server and ODBC connection. For information on SQL server and ODBC configuration, see the Avid Thunder Products User’s Guide, and the Avid On-Air Graphics Setup and Configuration Guide.
Install the core components of Avid Service
Framework on the Thunder.
Install Thunder device service from the Avid iNEWS Command software installation CD.
“Installing Avid Service Framework” on page 188
Configure Avid Workgroup Properties for the
Thunder.
“Configuring Avid Workgroup Properties” on page 198
n
All settings in Command and Framework are case sensitive. Ensure that case matches in all configuration settings.
Configure the Thunder device service.
“Installing Avid Thunder Device Service” on page 192
Configure the Thunder.
Create the ThunderMOS configuration file.
“Configuring the Thunder Device Service” on page 199
“Configuring the Thunder” on page 201
“Creating the ThunderMOS.cfg File” on page 203
Create the Thunder MOS.ini
file.
“Creating the ThunderMOS.ini File” on page 204
187
Installing Avid Service Framework
Installing Avid Service Framework
Each computer and device running Avid iNEWS Command software requires at least the core components of Service Framework and must be able to connect to a computer running the Avid
Lookup service.
To install the Service Framework software:
1. Insert the Command installation CD (or access the install program from the network).
The autorun installation program starts and displays the following screen.
n
The Command Documentation button will open a window displaying the contents of the Doc folder on the Command installation CD in which product documentation is provided in PDF format.
If the autorun does not begin, manually navigate to and run the ServiceFrameworkSetup.exe
install program.
2. Click the Avid Service Framework button. n
Other dialog boxes could appear depending on whether older versions of Service Framework are found, particularly if upgrading existing software. If one appears, read it carefully and reply accordingly with regard to upgrades, etc.
188
Installing Avid Service Framework
A splash graphic will appear briefly as the installer prepares the InstallShield Wizard. Then the Welcome dialog box appears.
3. Click Next.
The Destination Folder dialog box opens.
n
If space is a concern on the C drive, install in the
You will need to create these directories.
D:\Avid\Service Framework\ directory.
189
Installing Avid Service Framework
4. Set the location to which Avid Service Frameworkwill be installed and click Next.
The Workgroup Name dialog box opens.
5. Type the name of the Command workgroup in the field.
c
If you are updating the Service Framework software, the installer remembers the last installed value. If the workgroup name was changed after the install, the installer will not be aware of the change.
6. Click Next.
The Options dialog box opens.
190
Installing Avid Service Framework
7. Select the option: Avid Service Framework Client and click Next.
The Custom Setup dialog box opens.
By default, the Time Synchronization service is selected to be installed; however, this service should only be installed if you do not already use something to synchronize your PC clocks. If you use NTP or some other method for time synchronization, do not install this
service. For more information about the services in this dialog box, see the tables in page 24 .
8. Click Next and follow the installation instructions to complete the installation.
191
Installing Avid Thunder Device Service n
You might be required to restart your system to complete the installation.
After installation, verify that the services are running on each computer where Service
Framework services were installed.
Installing Avid Thunder Device Service
The Command installation CD provides for installation of services associated with various production devices, such as the Avid Thunder.
To install the Thunder device service on the Thunder:
1. Insert the Command installation CD (or access the install program from the network).
The autorun installation program starts and displays the following screen.
n
The Command Documentation button will open a window displaying the contents of the Doc folder on the Command installation CD in which product documentation is provided in PDF format.
192
Installing Avid Thunder Device Service
2. Click the Avid iNEWS Command button. If Avid Service Framework is not already installed, a warning dialog box will appear.
If it does, click OK and install Avid Service Framework before restarting this installation.
See
“Installing Avid Service Framework” on page 188
for more information.
n
Other dialog boxes could appear depending on whether older versions of Service Framework, the License service, or Command are found on the server, particularly if upgrading the
Command Server software. If one appears, read it carefully and reply accordingly with regard to upgrades, etc.
If all prerequisite installations are in order, and the Command Server installation can proceed, a splash graphic will appear briefly as the installer prepares the InstallShield
Wizard. Then the Welcome dialog box appears.
3. Click Next. The License Agreement appears.
193
Installing Avid Thunder Device Service
4. Read the License Agreement, accept the terms, and click Next.
If you do not accept the terms, the installation program will not continue.
n
You can print the terms if you want to read them later or keep a copy for your records.
The Destination Folder dialog box opens.
5. Do one of the following: t Click Change to designate an install directory, and then click Next.
t Accept the default location by clicking Next.
194
Installing Avid Thunder Device Service
6. When the Options dialog box opens, select Avid Thunder.
195
The Custom Setup dialog box will appear.
Installing Avid Thunder Device Service n
The Help button opens a dialog box that provides descriptions of the various install states available for a custom installation as indicated by the icons. The Space button opens a dialog box that provides information on whether the computer’s destination drive has enough disk space available to install the current selection of features.
196
7. Click Next.
Installing Avid Thunder Device Service
8. When the Ready to Install the Program dialog box appears, click Install.
9. When the installation is complete, click Finish.
To verify that installed services are running, you must use the Avid Workgroup Properties application.
197
Configuring Avid Workgroup Properties
Configuring Avid Workgroup Properties
If the Thunder device is in a different subnet than the Command Servers, you must add the server names to the Lookup tab in Avid Workgroup Properties on the Thunder.
To configure Avid Workgroup Properties:
1. Click the Start button, and then select All Programs > Avid > Service Framework > Avid
Workgroup Properties.
2. On the Lookup tab, click the Add button under the Workgroup section.
The Add Workgroup dialog box will open on top of the Avid Workgroup Properties window, as shown:
3. Enter the name of the workgroup.
4. Click OK. The name you entered will appear in the Workgroup section of the Avid
Workgroup Properties window.
5. Click the Add button under the Lookup services section (above the Apply button).
The Add Lookup Service dialog box will open on top of the Avid Workgroup Properties window, as shown:
198
Configuring the Thunder Device Service
6. Enter the full domain name of the server, such as: cmdsvr1.avidbroadcast.com
.
7. Leave the port setting as is.
8. Select the Expected check box.
9. Click OK.
10. Repeat steps 5 - 9 to add another Command Server if necessary.
11. Click OK on the Avid Workgroup Properties window.
12. Click Yes, when prompted to restart all services.
Configuring the Thunder Device Service
After any device service is installed for Thunder production servers, some additional configuration is required, using the Service Configuration of Avid Service Framework. For more information, see the Avid Service Framework User’s Guide.
To configure the device service:
1. Click the Start button, and then select All Programs > Avid > Service Framework > Avid
Service Configuration.
2. Navigate to and select the Avid Thunder device service.
199
Configuring the Thunder Device Service
3. When prompted for the administrator password, enter it.
4. On the Device Settings tab, enter the host name for the respective device.
5. Specify the number of hardware channels. Do not include the software channel when counting the number of hardware channels.
6. Select the frame rate: either 30 or 25.
7. Specify whether you want to enable drop frames: Yes or No.
8. Set ID selection to Automation.
9. Click Apply. You can then close the Avid Service Configuration application.
10. Click the Start button, and then select All Programs > Avid > Service Framework > Avid
Workgroup Properties.
11. Click the Advanced button.
12. After the Avid Services dialog box opens, select the Avid Thunder device service, then stop and restart it.
200
Configuring the Thunder
Configuring the Thunder
Configuring a MOS connection for the Thunder is accomplished at the device, using the Thunder software application.
To configure the Thunder:
1. Open the Thunder software application.
2. Select File > Preferences > Protocol Setup to configure a MOS connection.
The Protocol Setup dialog box opens.
3. In the Protocol Setup dialog box, do the following:
Select a channel (1-8) in the Channel area.
Set Protocol to ThunderNET.
If you intend to use a different database for the channel, enter it in the Database (Blank
= default DB) field.
4. Leave the rest of the settings as is.
201
Configuring the Thunder
5. Repeat step 3 for all physical channels, plus an extra channel that is used by Command to
send inventory and transport commands. Normally, there are two hardware channels and one software channel.
6. Click OK.
7. Select File > Preferences > Channel Configuration.
The Channel Configuration dialog box opens.
8. Set the Hdw Channel to correspond to the channels you set protocols for in step 3. The
physical channels should be set to Hdwr; the extra channel should be set to Soft.
9. Uncheck the channels in the MiniMon column that you will not be using.
10. Click OK.
11. In the Thunder directory, right-click on the database that you intend to use and set it as the default database.
202
Creating the ThunderMOS.cfg File
Creating the ThunderMOS.cfg File
If you intend to use the Thunder Select plug-in at your newsroom workstations, you must create the ThunderMOS.cfg
file and configure it for each Thunder server. The ThunderMOS.cfg
file contains information that allows workstations with Thunder Select plug-ins to find your various
Thunder servers and browse their respective MOS databases. This information is set up in one line per Thunder server.
To configure the ThunderMOS.cfg file:
1. On the Thunder’s C drive create a folder called ThunderCFG, if one doesn’t already exist, and ensure it is shared across the network for read access.
Only one cfg file is necessary per iNEWS newsroom computer system.
n
The cfg file can reside in any shared network folder, as long as every workstation with the
Thunder Select plug-in can access that folder. However, Avid recommends that it reside on the
Thunder for easy maintenance reasons.
2. Ensure that the E drive is also shared across the network. This is because the cfg file will point the Thunder Select plug-in to the E drive for access to clips and the clip database.
3. Create a file called: ThunderMOS.cfg
in the C:\ThunderCFG folder.
4. Open it with Notepad.
5. Add a line in the ThunderMOS.cfg
with the following information:
An arbitrary name for the Thunder that the journalists will easily recognize. This part is seen in the drop-down list of the Thunder Select plug-in on the iNEWS Workstation
(shown below). It can be any name, such as: 5PM, Control Room A, Sports, and so forth.
The MOS ID, such as MOSIDTHDR_A . This must be added to the MOS-Map story in the
SYSTEM.MOS-MAP directory in iNEWS.
The full UNC path to the Thunder database specified when you set up the MOS protocol. This part appears next to the drop-down list in the plug-in (shown below).
Make sure it corresponds to the Thunder specified by the MOS ID.
Each of these values must be separated by a semi-colon and appear all on one line. For example: 5PM;MOSIDTHDR_A;\\ThxlxxA\E\5PM\5PM.pff
203
Creating the ThunderMOS.ini File
The following graphic shows the Thunder’s arbitrary name and the full UNC path to the
Thunder database as they might appear in the Thunder Select plug-in: n
Due to the nature of the MOS configuration, you can only have one database per Thunder server.
Although you can add multiple databases in the cfg file and the workstations will browse the databases correctly, the MOS metadata will not be properly transmitted between the iNEWS and
Thunder servers.
6. If you:
have a security database, type the correct path on a separate line below the
Thunder lines.
do not have a security database, delete the whole line starting with “SecurityDB=”
Your finished ThunderMOS.cfg
file might look like this:
7. Save the ThunderMOS.cfg
file.
Creating the ThunderMOS.ini File
If you intend to use the Thunder Select plug-in at your newsroom workstations, you must create the ThunderMOS.ini
file on each Thunder device. The ThunderMOS.ini
file identifies the location of the default database by pointing to the ThunderMOS.cfg
file.
To create the ThunderMOS.ini file:
1. On the Thunder’s C drive, in the Thunder directory ( C:\Thunder ), create a file called
ThunderMOS.ini
.
2. Open it with Notepad.
204
Creating the ThunderMOS.ini File
3. Add a single line with the full UNC path to the ThunderMOS.cfg
file, using the following format:
\\<machine name>\<directory>\<file name>
Your finished ThunderMOS.ini
file might look like this:
4. Save the ThunderMOS.ini
file.
205
7
Installing the Command Workstation
The Avid iNEWS Command user interface allows you to control multiple production devices from a single workstation running the client software.
•
Checklist: Installing the Command Workstation
•
Installing Avid Service Framework
•
Installing Avid iNEWS Command on the Workstation
•
Configuring Avid Workgroup Properties
•
•
Checklist: Installing the Command Workstation
Checklist: Installing the Command Workstation
Complete the following tasks in the order that they are listed. If you are viewing this checklist online, you can easily access a linked topic that provides procedural details for the task. Return to this main checklist after you have completed each task.
Tasks
Install the core components of Avid Service
Framework.
Install Avid iNEWS Command.
Refer to...
“Installing Avid Service Framework” on page 208
“Installing Avid iNEWS Command on the
Configure Avid Workgroup Properties.
“Configuring Avid Workgroup Properties” on page 218
n
All settings in Command and Framework are case sensitive. Ensure that case matches in all configuration settings.
Map the actual channels for the various production devices, such as Deko character generators or AirSpeed video servers, to names.
Create channel groups.
“Setting up Device Channels” on page 220
“Setting up Channel Groups” on page 223
207
Installing Avid Service Framework
Installing Avid Service Framework
Each computer and device running Avid iNEWS Command software requires at least the core components of Service Framework and must be able to connect to a computer running the Avid
Lookup service.
To install the Service Framework software:
1. Insert the Command installation CD (or access the install program from the network).
The autorun installation program starts and displays the following screen.
n
The Command Documentation button will open a window displaying the contents of the Doc folder on the Command installation CD in which product documentation is provided in PDF format.
If the autorun does not begin, manually navigate to and run the ServiceFrameworkSetup.exe
install program.
208
Installing Avid Service Framework
2. Click the Avid Service Framework button. n
Other dialog boxes could appear depending on whether older versions of Service Framework are found, particularly if upgrading existing software. If one appears, read it carefully and reply accordingly with regard to upgrades, etc.
A splash graphic will appear briefly as the installer prepares the InstallShield Wizard. Then the Welcome dialog box appears.
209
3. Click Next.
The Destination Folder dialog box opens.
Installing Avid Service Framework n
If space is a concern on the C drive, install in the
You will need to create these directories.
D:\Avid\Service Framework\ directory.
4. Set the location to which Avid Service Frameworkwill be installed and click Next.
The Workgroup Name dialog box opens.
210
Installing Avid Service Framework
5. Type the name of the Command workgroup in the field.
c
If you are updating the Service Framework software, the installer remembers the last installed value. If the workgroup name was changed after the install, the installer will not be aware of the change.
6. Click Next.
The Options dialog box opens.
211
Installing Avid Service Framework
7. Select the option: Avid Service Framework Client and click Next.
The Custom Setup dialog box opens.
By default, the Time Synchronization service is selected to be installed; however, this service should only be installed if you do not already use something to synchronize your PC clocks. If you use NTP or some other method for time synchronization, do not install this
service. For more information about the services in this dialog box, see the tables in page 24 .
8. Click Next and follow the installation instructions to complete the installation.
n
You might be required to restart your system to complete the installation.
After installation, verify that the services are running on each computer where Service
Framework services were installed.
212
Installing Avid iNEWS Command on the Workstation
Installing Avid iNEWS Command on the Workstation
This section provides the standard procedure for installing the Command software on a
Windows-based computer—Windows XP SP2, Windows Vista, or Windows Server
2003—designated as a Command Workstation.
To install the software on a Command Workstation:
1. Insert the Command installation CD (or access the install program from the network).
The InstallShield Wizard starts and displays the Welcome screen.
2. Click Next.
The License Agreement appears.
213
Installing Avid iNEWS Command on the Workstation
3. Read the License Agreement, accept the terms, and click Next.
If you do not accept the terms, the installation program will not continue.
n
You can print the terms if you want to read them later or keep a copy for your records.
The Destination Folder dialog box opens.
214
Installing Avid iNEWS Command on the Workstation
4. Do one of the following: t Click Change to designate an install directory, and then click Next.
t Accept the default location by clicking Next.
The Options dialog box opens.
215
Installing Avid iNEWS Command on the Workstation
5. Select Workstation Only and click Next.
The Custom Setup dialog box appears with the default services selected for installation of client software. However, you can modify the selections to customize your installation.
To learn more about a service, click any service listed and view a Feature Description provided along the right side of the dialog box.
216
Installing Avid iNEWS Command on the Workstation n
The Help button opens a dialog box that provides descriptions of the various install states available for a custom installation as indicated by the icons. The Space button opens a dialog box that provides information on whether the computer’s destination drive has enough disk space available to install the current selection of features.
6. Click Next.
7. When the Ready to Install the Program dialog box appears, click Install.
8. When the installation is complete, click Finish.
After the installation, if you need to alter the system name from the default, which is command ,
see the procedure provided in “Configuring a Second Command System” on page 72 .
217
Configuring Avid Workgroup Properties
Configuring Avid Workgroup Properties
If the Command Workstation is in a different subnet than the Command Servers, you must add the server names to the Lookup tab in Avid Workgroup Properties on the workstation.
To configure Avid Workgroup Properties:
1. Click the Start button, and then select All Programs > Avid > Service Framework > Avid
Workgroup Properties.
2. On the Lookup tab, click the Add button under the Workgroup section.
The Add Workgroup dialog box will open on top of the Avid Workgroup Properties window, as shown:
3. Enter the name of the workgroup.
4. Click OK. The name you entered will appear in the Workgroup section of the Avid
Workgroup Properties window.
218
Configuring Avid Workgroup Properties
5. Click the Add button under the Lookup services section (above the Apply button).
The Add Lookup Service dialog box will open on top of the Avid Workgroup Properties window, as shown:
6. Enter the full domain name of the server running the Lookup service, such as: cmdsvr1.avidbroadcast.com
.
7. Leave the port setting as is.
8. Select the Expected check box.
9. Click OK.
10. Repeat steps 5 - 9 to add another server running the Lookup service.
11. Click OK on the Avid Workgroup Properties window.
12. Click Yes, when prompted to restart all services.
219
Setting up Device Channels
Setting up Device Channels
Avid iNEWS Command enables system administrators to map actual channels from a device, such as an Avid Deko or AirSpeed video server to a name of your choosing. This name can then be used to create channel groups or assign channel-specific actions to keys on a USB keypad at the Command Workstation.
For more information on channel groups, see
“Setting up Channel Groups” on page 223 . Also,
see “Mapping Indices to Channel Names” on page 245 and
“Programming the X-keys” on page 246
for more information on assigning channel-specific actions to keypad keys.
To map device channels to names:
1. Open the Command Workstation application.
2. Select Tools > System Settings. The System Settings dialog box appears.
3. Expand Channel.
4. Select Device Channels.
220
Setting up Device Channels
5. Click Add.
6. Enter the channel’s name, which can be any alpha-numeric character(s), based on the following guidelines:
Device Type
Channel
Index
Channel
Name Description n
All channel names within a single device type must be unique.
Multi Stream 1 A AirSpeed Multi Stream video servers begin channel
Multi Stream 2 B designations at one (1). The channel names can be anything, but a typical example is alphabetic names from A through F.
Multi Stream 3 C
An AirSpeed 5000 can be configured in the same way as the Multi Stream video server.
AirSpeed
AirSpeed
2
3
A
B
Video device service
Video device service
1
2
Graphic device service
0
Graphic device service
1
A
B
1
2
AirSpeed (classic) video servers begin channel designations at one (1); however, the first channel is reserved for video ingest. So the first available channel for playout or browse purposes would be channel 2.
All supported third-party video devices begin channel designations at one (1). The channel index values here must match the channel index values set for the Avid
Video device service in Avid Service Configuration.
All devices using the Avid Graphic device service begin channel designations at zero (0).
221
Setting up Device Channels
Device Type
Channel
Index
Channel
Name Description
Deko 0 1 Avid Deko devices begin channel designations at zero
(0); however, the name of the first channel can be one.
Deko 1 2 n
Both channel names for a Deko must be numeric to match the channel selection available through the Deko Select plug-in inside of the iNEWS newsroom computer system.
Thunder
Thunder
1
2 aPlay bPlay
Avid Thunder begins channel designations at one (1).
The channel names must be in the following format: aPlay, bPlay, cPlay, 1, 2...8, or pgm (for program). n
Avid recommends against using numeric names for the Thunder to avoid confusion with channel names for any Avid Deko device.
7. Select the name and type of the device from the lists. The device name is the host name for the device, such as deko3000. If it does not appear in the list, you must enter it.
n
For third-party video devices controled via VDCP, the device name must match the device name set for the Avid Video device service in Avid Service Configuration.
8. Select the channel index, using the Channel index spinbox.
9. Enter any notes you want, which can help identify the device should future alterations be necessary.
10. Click OK.
11. Repeat steps 5 through 10 for each device channel, as needed.
12. Click Apply (if you want the System Settings dialog box to remain open after settings are applied) or OK.
The system will prompt you for the administrator password.
13. Enter the administrator password and click OK.
Until this procedure is completed, device channels cannot be added to a channel group.
222
Setting up Channel Groups n
Before you can delete a device channel, you must first delete that channel from that channel from any channel groups or delete the channel group(s) that use the channel.
Setting up Channel Groups
A channel group is a cluster configured with one or more device channels composed from compatible video servers or character generators. Many channel groups can be created from the same pool of resources, and different groups can use the same resources to serve different operational needs.
n
Each channel group must contain a single “type” of device. For instance, a channel group called
AS is a grouping of channels from two or more AirSpeed video servers, while a different channel group named CG is a grouping of channels on a Deko character generator.
AirSpeed channels provide one of the best examples of the way in which channel groups provide control configurations; they do not guarantee media availability, which is the role of the
AirSpeed studio configuration. For example, a station has two AirSpeed video servers, each with two channels that are numbered 2 and 3. (With AirSpeed video servers, the first channel is reserved for ingest.) Let’s call the first AirSpeed AS1 and the second AS2. With channel groups on Command, the station’s system administrator can set up numerous different channel groups and call them anything, such as:
Channel Group
AS-Noon
AS-5PM
AS-10PM
Channel
Names
A
B
C
D
A
B
C
B
D
A
C
Actual Device Channels
AS1 - channel 2
AS1 - channel 3
AS2 - channel 2
AS1 - channel 2
AS1 - channel 3
AS2 - channel 2
AS2 - channel 3
AS1 - channel 2
AS2 - channel 2
AS1 - channel 3
AS2 - channel 3
Channel Type
Playout
Playout
Browse
Playout
Playout
Playout
Playout
Playout
Mirrored
Playout
Mirrored
223
Setting up Channel Groups
The following graphic shows a more visual example of how multiple channel groups can be created from the same four AirSpeed video server channels.
The first group shows a single channel group configured to create four playback channels called
A, B, C, and D. The next set shows two groups, representing control rooms, with two playback channels each. Alternatively, the groups can be created from any combination of channels and used to support simultaneous two-channel playout from two control rooms sharing the same resources. The last set shows four channel groups, each controlling a single channel.
The following graphic shows a more visual example of how channel groups are used to mirror playout for redundancy.
The first group creates a two channel playout solution with both channels mirrored on a secondary video server for maximum reliability. Whenever a video clip is cued and played on either of the primary channels, the same clip is also cued and played on the corresponding mirror channels. The other two groups depict single channel solutions with redundancy.
224
Setting up Channel Groups
All of these channel groups can exist at the same time, although they cannot necessarily all be on air simultaneously.
Channels must be created before they can be assigned to channel groups. For more information
on how to create channels, see “Setting up Device Channels” on page 220 .
n
The first eight (8) characters of a channel group’s name must be unique to match the eight-character device name in the iNEWS newsroom computer system. For instance, a channel group name in Command that is ASNoonMirrored will appear as ASNoonMi in iNEWS.
System administrators can create channel groups via the System Settings dialog box.
To create channel groups:
1. Select Tools > System Settings. The System Settings dialog box appears.
2. Expand Channel.
3. Select Groups.
4. Click Add.
225
The Add New Channel Group to Playlist dialog box opens.
Setting up Channel Groups
5. Enter the name of the new channel group and any notes you want. Names of channel groups can be upper or lowercase and contain any alpha-numeric character. Avoid using spaces in, before, or after the name. If interfacing with the Avid iNEWS newsroom computer system, it is best to make the channel group’s name less than eight characters.
6. Click Add to add a channel to the group.
n
If channels have not been created, they cannot be assigned to channel groups; therefore, the Add button will be disabled if no channels exist in the system. For more information on how to create channels, see
“Setting up Device Channels” on page 220 .
226
Setting up Channel Groups
7. In the Channel Detail section, select the following:
Channel Detail
Channel Type
Primary
Mirrored
Preview
Description
Select the appropriate channel type, based on:
Standard - This is the channel type selected for playout.
Browse - This is the channel type selected for changing In and Out points of pre-existing clips for preview or editing purposes only. This does not apply to playout operations.
Hotswap - This is the channel type selected for emergency backup channel assignment.
Select the channel designated as the primary playout channel for the device.
(Optional) If mirrored playout is to be used, select the device’s channel designated for mirrored playout.
(Optional) Select which device channel to use for displaying the headframe of the next media event in the playlist.
8. Repeat steps 6 and 7 as needed. You can use the Up and Down buttons to rearrange the order of channels in the group.
9. Click OK. This will close the Add New Channel Group to Playlist dialog box. The new channel group will appear in the System Settings dialog box.
10. Click Apply (if you want the System Settings dialog box to remain open after settings are applied) or OK.
The system will prompt you for the administrator password.
11. Enter the administrator password and click OK.
c
Until the Apply or OK button is clicked and administrator password supplied, the channel group(s) are not created.
227
Setting up Channel Groups
To edit a channel group:
1. Select Tools > System Settings. The System Settings dialog box appears.
2. Expand Channel.
3. Select Groups.
4. Select the channel group from the list on the right.
228
5. Click Edit.
The Edit Channel Group dialog box appears.
Setting up Channel Groups
6. You can rename the channel group, add notes, rearrange the order of channels by using the
Up and Down buttons, add or delete channels, or alter the channel details for each channel in the group.
7. After editing the channel group, click OK.
229
Setting up Channel Groups
8. Click Apply (if you want the System Settings dialog box to remain open after settings are applied) or OK.
The system will prompt you for the administrator password.
9. Enter the administrator password and click OK.
c
Until the Apply or OK button is clicked and administrator password supplied, the changes in the system settings are not saved.
230
Setting up Channel Groups
To delete a channel group:
1. Select Tools > System Settings. The System Settings dialog box appears.
2. Expand Channel.
3. Select Groups.
4. Select the channel group from the list on the right.
5. Click Delete.
231
Setting up Channel Groups
6. Click Apply (if you want the System Settings dialog box to remain open after settings are applied) or OK.
The system will prompt you for the administrator password.
7. Enter the administrator password and click OK.
c
Until the Apply or OK button is clicked and administrator password supplied, the channel group(s) are not deleted from the system settings.
232
8
Installing and Configuring the Tablet
Application
Avid iNEWS Command supports playout control from an iPad
®
touch-screen device running the
Command tablet application. However, to control playout from the mobile device, some addition installation and configuration of services and applications are required.
•
Checklist: Setup Tablet Application Integration
•
Install the Avid Remote Communication Service
•
Configure the Avid Remote Communication Service
•
Download the iNEWS Command Tablet Application
•
Configure the Tablet Application Connection
Checklist: Setup Tablet Application Integration
Checklist: Setup Tablet Application Integration
To enable a connection between an iPad touch-screen device to the Command workgroup, you must complete the following tasks. If you are viewing this checklist online, you can easily link to a topic that provides procedural details for the task. Return to this main checklist after you have completed each task.
Tasks Refer to...
Install the Avid Remote Communication Service.
“Install the Avid Remote Communication Service” on page 234
Configure the Avid Remote Communication
Service.
“Configure the Avid Remote Communication
Download onto the iPad the iNEWS Command tablet application from the iTunes store.
“Download the iNEWS Command Tablet
Configure and authorize connection between the tablet device and the Command workgroup.
“Configure the Tablet Application Connection” on page 237
Install the Avid Remote Communication Service
The Command tablet application requires a WiFi connection and must be able to connect to the computer running the Avid Remote Communication Service.
Although the Avid Remote Communication Service can be installed on any computer in the
Command workgroup, Avid recommends it be installed on the Command Server. It should be selected as one of the services installed during the Command Server installation procedure. See the step about selecting services from the Custom Setup dialog box in
Command on the Server” on page 41
for more information.
If you did not install this service when originally setting up the Command Server, or if you want to install it on a different computer, such as a Command Workstation, you can still do so.
Possible scenarios for install locations are:
• Install the service on the Command Server.
• Install the service on a Command Workstation.
• Install the service on a computer in the studio and route connection between studio computer and the Command Server.
234
Install the Avid Remote Communication Service
The following procedure is based on installing the service on a computer that already has
Command software installed on it. Steps might vary if installing on a new computer without
Command software already on it.
To install the Avid Remote Communication Service:
1. Insert the Command installation CD (or access the install program from the network).
2. When the Welcome dialog box appears, click Next.
The Program Maintenance dialog box appears.
235
3. Select Modify and click Next.
The Custom Setup dialog box appears.
Install the Avid Remote Communication Service
4. Select to install the Avid Remote Communication Service.
5. Click Next.
6. When the Ready to Modify the Program dialog box appears, click Install.
7. When the installation is complete, click Finish.
236
Configure the Avid Remote Communication Service
Configure the Avid Remote Communication Service
After the service is installed, some configuration is still required.
To configure the Avid Remote Communication Service:
1. Open the Avid Service Configuration application.
2. Navigate to the Avid Remote Communication Service.
3. Set the TCP port that you would like to use for the connection.
4. Click Apply.
You can now have the user download the tablet application to the device and configure the connection.
Download the iNEWS Command Tablet Application
To use an iPad touch-screen tablet to control playout, you must download the iNEWS Command tablet application from the iTunes store to the device.
To download the tablet application:
1. Open the iTunes store.
2. Locate the iNEWS Command tablet application.
3. Tap Free, then the Install button.
Configure the Tablet Application Connection
Before a user can connect to your Command workgroup with the tablet application, some additional configuration is necessary.
After downloading the tablet application, you will need to open the Command application, configure the connection, and get authorized to connect to the system.
237
Configure the Tablet Application Connection
To configure the tablet application connection:
1. Open the Command tablet application on the device.
2. Tap Create New.
The New Connection information will appear.
3. In the Name field, enter an alias for the connection. This should be an easy-to-recognize name, such as Studio A.
4. In the Hostname field, enter the name of the computer running the Avid Remote
Communication Service.
5. Enter the correct port and tap Done.
6. Tap the Connect button.
You should see a message indicating that you are not authorized. Your site’s system administrator must now authorize your device.
To authorize a tablet to connect to the system:
1. Open the Avid Service Configuration application.
2. Select the Avid Remote Communication Service.
n
You should see in the list the name of the device that just attempted to connect.
3. In the Authorized column, select the check box next to the device you want to authorize.
238
4. Click Apply.
Configure the Tablet Application Connection
5. Have the user attempt to connect again. If successful, the user should see the main window.
n
It would be a good idea to create a shotbox at a Command Workstation before connecting so that it is easier to confirm connection to the Command workgroup.
239
9
Configuring Playout Control
Playout control through Avid iNEWS Command varies from site to site depending on workflow.
Television stations can choose to control playout from the control room via keyboards, USB keypads, touch screens, or GPI.
•
Controling Playout via the Keyboard
•
Disabling a Command Workstation’s Keyboard
•
Checklist: Setting up an X-keys USB Keypad
•
Installing an X-keys USB Keypad
•
Mapping Indices to Channel Names
•
•
Setting up the Playout Panel for Touch Screens
•
Checklist: Setting up the GPI Panel
•
•
Restarting the GPI Device Service
•
Confirming Successful Setup of a GPI Panel
•
Mapping Events to Actions for a GPI Panel
•
•
Controling Playout via the Keyboard
Controling Playout via the Keyboard
Playout control from a Command Workstation is accomplished through the use of the tabbed workspace known as the Playlist Viewer. While some functionality is described in this section, additional information such as customization options is available in Chapter 4 of the Avid iNEWS
Command User’s Guide.
241
Controling Playout via the Keyboard
Command uses various icons, as well as color, to indicate the status of machine control events
(items) in the playlist. Some of which are shown in the following closeup graphic:
Cursor location can appear solid or as an outline; varies by field.
Icon representing a
“Follow-On Playout” event.
Icon representing a
Looped event.
Playout of this event is done.
This event is playing now.
This event is cued.
This event is unavailable.
This event will loop twice.
There is no special installation or configuration needed to use the software’s graphic user interface to control playout of media from a Command Workstation with a standard keyboard and mouse.
Users can cue, play, pause or stop the playout of media from a Command Workstation, using the mouse to click control buttons on the Playlist toolbar or by using keys on the numeric keypad.
To control playout, using the numeric keypad on a keyboard:
1. Select the event in the playlist.
2. Do one of the following: t Press the Decimal key (.) to cue the media.
t Press Enter to play the media.
t Press the Plus key (+) to pause the media.
t Press zero (0) to stop playing the media.
n
Playout options are also available by right-clicking on the event and selecting the options from the Playout submenu.
Users can also set playout of an item in a playlist to automatically occur immediately following the completion of the previous item. This functionality is called follow-on playout and is indicated by an icon in the playlist that looks like a bent blue arrow. For more information, see the Avid iNEWS Command User’s Guide.
242
Disabling a Command Workstation’s Keyboard
Disabling a Command Workstation’s Keyboard
Some sites use alternative devices to control playout from Command, such as a GPI device or an
X-keys USB keypad, and therefore do not want the computer keyboard at the workstation enabled.
To enable or disable the keyboard:
1. Select Tools > Options.
2. In Category, select Keyboard.
3. Do one of the following: t Select Enable keyboard.
t Deselect Enable keyboard.
4. Click Apply.
5. Click OK.
n
If the keyboard is disabled, the numeric keypad cannot be used to control playout from the
Command Workstation. Disabling the keyboard does not affect the use of the keyboard for software on the workstation PC unrelated to the Command client software.
243
Checklist: Setting up an X-keys USB Keypad
Checklist: Setting up an X-keys USB Keypad
Avid iNEWS Command interfaces with the X-keys
®
USB keypad for playout control. The
X-keys USB keypads connect to the USB port the Command Workstation and offer up to fifty-eight user-reprogrammable keys for one-button access to playout functionality.
n
X-keys is third-party hardware. Command natively supports a variety of X-keys devices, which are configured through the Command Workstation application. Native support gives users an added level of functionality that is not available through the X-keys Macro Works software. See the Avid iNEWS Command ReadMe for the specific X-keys devices that are supported.
You can also use the Macro Works software, a keyboard emulator, with any X-keys device. For more information on X-keys USB keypads, see that manufacturer’s documentation on www.xkeys.com.
Setting up the keypad to control playout through Command requires the completion of the following tasks:
Tasks Refer to...
(Optional) Disable the keyboard at the Command
Workstation.
“Disabling a Command Workstation’s Keyboard” on page 243
Install the keypad on the Command Workstation.
“Installing an X-keys USB Keypad” on page 245
Map Indices to Channel Names.
“Mapping Indices to Channel Names” on page 245
Program the keypad.
“Programming the X-keys” on page 246
244
Installing an X-keys USB Keypad
Installing an X-keys USB Keypad
To install an X-keys USB keypad: t Plug in the keypad to a USB port on your Command Workstation.
Mapping Indices to Channel Names
Channel indices are a configuration feature used to map an index integer (1-16) to a channel name, which can be alpha or numeric, to enable assignment of channel-specific actions to certain keys on a keypad. This pre-configuration should be done before assigning the channel-specific actions to any keys.
To map an index to a channel name:
1. Log in to a Command Workstation.
2. Select Tools > System Settings. The System Settings dialog box appears.
245
Programming the X-keys
3. Expand Channel.
4. Select Indices.
5. Enter the channel’s name in the Name column next to the appropriate index.
n
Avid recommends that if a channel name must be numeric, such as is the case whenever the
ActiveX plug-in Avid Deko Select is used, assign it to the same Index number to avoid confusion.
6. Click Apply (if you want the System Settings dialog box to remain open after settings are applied) or OK. The system will prompt you for the administrator password.
7. Enter the administrator password and click OK.
Programming the X-keys
The following procedure should be conducted at the Command Workstation to which the
X-keys USB keypad is installed.
To program the X-keys from the Command Workstation:
1. Select Tools > Options.
246
2. In Category, expand Actions and select X-keys.
Programming the X-keys
3. Select Enable X-keys.
4. Set the de-bounce period. Designed to avoid inadvertent repetition, this is the span of time
(in milliseconds) during which the system should ignore duplicated signals.
n
If you find that you are having problems with “double-hits” when you press a key, increase the de-bounce period.
5. Select the tab corresponding to the type of keypad you have.
6. Click on a gray box that represents (or corresponds to) the key on the keypad.
n
Some sites might use key caps that cover 2 or 4 buttons on the keypad, turning a set of buttons into a single key. If that is the case, select the left box to set the “2-button” key. For 4-button keys, select the upper left box.
247
Programming the X-keys
7. Assign an action to the key by selecting it from the list of those available in the Choose
Action dialog box. The most commonly used actions will appear open for your selection already.
The Playlist > Channel Group actions refer to channel group commands, such as lock, unlock, and assign channel.
The Playlist > Selection actions refer to selected items on the playlist, such as play selection, cue selection, stop selection, and move up/down.
The Control actions refer to channel-specific actions that correspond to a particular index as configured when mapping indices to channel names. An example of this would be for a key to initiate a play command on a single channel. Assigning the channel-specific actions affects only the keypad attached to the workstation at which the assignments are programmed.
8. Click OK.
9. Repeat steps 5-7 as needed.
10. Click Apply.
248
Setting up the Playout Panel for Touch Screens
11. Click OK.
The following graphic shows a closeup of the first row of keys after they were assigned to the four playout control options of play, cue, pause, and stop.
Setting up the Playout Panel for Touch Screens
The Playout panel displays transport controls, thumbnails, duration information and IDs or slugs for media items.
The panel has two main uses:
• Lets users access channel specific transport commands from within the Command user interface. This is most useful for sites with touch screen monitors.
• Lets users monitor the currently playing item from a workstation that does not have the channel group locked.
The Playout panel can display either video or graphics. The following illustration shows a
Playout panel with a sample video item.
249
Setting up the Playout Panel for Touch Screens
The following illustration shows a Playout panel with a sample graphic.
To view the Playout panel: t Select View > Playout.
To configure the Playout panel:
1. Select Tools > Options. If prompted for a password, you must provide it or contact your system administrator.
he Options dialog box opens.
250
Setting up the Playout Panel for Touch Screens
2. In Category, select Playout.
3. In the Show Channel / Index section, select the channels you want displayed in the panel.
4. In the Show Button / Thumbnail section, select the icons representing which control buttons you want displayed. You can also select whether you want thumbnails and labels shown in the panel while an item is playing or cued.
5. In Category, select Playout > Appearance.
6. In the Thumbnail Label section, select whether you want the item’s slug or ID to be shown.
7. Click the Change button to set the font for thumbnail labels. A sample of your settings is provided as a preview. You can also alter the colors of text and background for the labels.
8. In the Channel Duration Clocks section, select the Display Channel Durations check box if you want to display duration clocks in the Playout panel. Command offers two duration clocks in the Playout panel—also known as count up/down clocks—and users can customize the size and color of the clocks for that panel in this section of the Options dialog box.
9. Click the Change button to set the font for the duration clocks. A sample of your settings is provided as a preview.
10. When done, click Apply, then OK.
251
Checklist: Setting up the GPI Panel n
The Playout panel does not support selection-based playout. For the Playout panel to work, indices for the channels being controlled must be set up.
Checklist: Setting up the GPI Panel
A GPI panel is alternative playback control device that can be used to control playout through
Command. GPI panels connect to a GPI card installed in the Command Server.
A GPI panel allows a user to select up to four channels, with each channel having its own set of
Control buttons for play, cue, pause, and stop functionality. Configuring the system to work with a GPI panel requires defining certain parameters through the Avid Service Configuration application, the Avid Workgroup Properties application, and the system settings in Command itself.
Before configuration can begin, you should verify installation of all necessary applications and components. To ensure a successful setup, complete the following tasks in the order that they are listed. If you are viewing this checklist online, you can easily link to a topic that provides procedural details for the task. Return to this main checklist after you have completed each task.
Tasks Refer to...
Verify installation of Avid Service Framework, which includes the Avid Service Configuration and Workgroup Properties applications.
“Installing Avid Service Framework” on page 24
Verify installation of the GPI device service on the Command Server.
“Installing Avid iNEWS Command on the
n
Installation of the device service occurs during the installation of the Command Server software.
Installing the GPI card on the Command Server.
The installation instructions that came with your
GPI card. See the latest Command ReadMe documentation for more information on which cards are supported.
Configure the GPI card.
Restart the GPI device service.
“Configuring the GPI Card” on page 253
“Restarting the GPI Device Service” on page 256
Confirm proper setup of the GPI.
Map Indices to Channel Names.
Map GPI events to actions.
“Confirming Successful Setup of a GPI Panel” on page 257
“Mapping Indices to Channel Names” on page 245
“Mapping Events to Actions for a GPI Panel” on page 258
252
Configuring the GPI Card
Tasks
Enable the GPI panel for playlist control.
Refer to...
“Enabling the GPI Panel” on page 263
Configuring the GPI Card
Configuring the GPI card is done using the Avid Service Configuration application. The procedure is covered in this section.
To define the GPI card’s board settings:
1. Start Avid Service Configuration by clicking the Start button and selecting
All Programs > Avid > Service Framework > Avid Service Configuration.
2. Navigate to and select the Avid GPI Device Service.
253
Configuring the GPI Card
3. By default the Device Name is set to the host name of the computer on which the GPI device service is installed plus a period and the numeral zero. So, for example, the default device name for the system in the previous graphic would be NRCS1.0. The default name can be changed, if necessary.
n
For redundant systems, the name of the device must match on all computers running the GPI device service. For instance, if you have two servers with the GPI device service installed, with one named NRCS1 and the second named NRCS2, by default, the device names would be
NRCS1.0 and NRCS2.0. You would have to alter the device names to match to ensure redundancy.
4. Select the Board Type—the GPI card installed on the PC running the Avid GPI Device
Service.
5. Set the Board Number to the number of GPI cards installed. Options include 0-4, with the zero (0) representing the first card and four (4) representing the fifth card, which is the maximum. Command supports only one board per server.
6. Click Apply.
7. Click Add Panel.
The Add Panel dialog box appears.
8. Click OK. The new panel will appear as a tab.
9. (Optional) Rename the panel in the Panel Name textbox.
10. Accept the default Debounce Time. This input threshold setting in milliseconds is 200 by default, which means the system will ignore any signal shorter than 200 milliseconds.
11. Click Apply.
12. Set First Input Pin. Options include 0-15, with the zero (0) representing the first pin and fifteen (15) representing the sixteenth pin, which is the maximum. This numerical value is card dependent.
254
13. Click Add Event. The Add New Event dialog box appears.
Configuring the GPI Card
14. Select the type of event. Options include:
Trigger
Level
Toggle
GPI input. Used for normal, GPI button type; push the GPI button for it to trigger play, pause, cue, and so forth. The GPI signal occurs only while the button is held down, usually no more than a fraction of a second.
GPI input. Extended on/off. While on, the voltage (usually around 5 volts) will remain high. This is useful for channel-specific actions like play (active) and stop (inactive), and can also be used for tally tally restriction/reflection. The signal will stay active as long as the switch allows the voltage signal to continue.
GPI output. Quick on/off. Seldom used with Command, this is designed more for a toggle switch-type of workflow and not a button-type of workflow. It will trigger an action each time the switch changes position—up to down or down to up.
15. Enter a name for the event.
16. Click OK.
17. Repeat steps 14 through 17 to continue pin assignment.
n
For redundant systems, to ensure identical functionality, make certain that the device settings—all input pins and event names and types—are the same for every GPI device service installed.
255
18. Click Apply.
Restarting the GPI Device Service
19. After modifying the GPI device service system settings, restart the service.
Restarting the GPI Device Service
After configuring the GPI card, you must restart the device service.
To restart the Avid GPI Device Service:
1. Click Start and select All Programs > Avid > Service Framework > Avid Workgroup
Properties.
2. On the Services tab, click Advanced.
3. Select Avid GPI Device Service.
4. Click Restart.
n
Avid also recommends restarting the client software at the Command Workstation.
256
Confirming Successful Setup of a GPI Panel
Confirming Successful Setup of a GPI Panel
This section provides a way to verify that the installation and configuration of a GPI panel was successful.
To verify successful setup of a GPI panel:
1. At the Command Workstation to which a GPI panel is connected, click the Start button and select Programs > Avid > Service Framework > Avid Health Monitor.
On the Hosts tab, services are listed by computer and device. The Processes tab lists by services.
2. Navigate to the Avid GPI Device Service and select it.
257
Mapping Events to Actions for a GPI Panel
3. Expand the Information section. The Device Name shows the hostname.board number. If the
Board Status is connected, the service is installed in the right location and the board number was set correctly. The Last Input Value will typically show zero (0) if there’s no button pressed on the panel. The Last Event should be empty, and Event count should be zero (0).
4. Press any of the GPI panel buttons. Health Monitor will refresh after a short delay.
n
The time it takes Health Monitor to report a GPI event is slower than the response of Command to that GPI input.
The Information section will appear similar to the following example:
5. Press a number of buttons to make sure they all work.
n
If the switcher is wired to the GPI panel, test that, too.
Mapping Events to Actions for a GPI Panel
Mapping events to playout actions is done at a Command Workstation in the System Settings dialog box. In most cases, GPI events are mapped directly to channel-specific actions because these actions are communicated directly to the Playlist Controller, bypassing the user interface; the procedure for this type of mapping is provided below. n
For more information on mapping GPI events for selection-based playout, see page 261
.
To map GPI events to channel-specific actions:
1. Log in to a Command Workstation.
258
2. Select Tools > System Settings.
The System Settings dialog box appears.
Mapping Events to Actions for a GPI Panel
3. Select GPI.
4. Expand the panels to view each panel’s events.
259
Mapping Events to Actions for a GPI Panel
5. Double-click on an event to map it to an action.
The Choose Action dialog box appears with the GPI > Control options expanded by default.
6. Expand the action, such as Play, and select the index value that corresponds to the appropriate channel.
n
Channel 01 actually refers to Index value 01.
Here are some of the most commonly used commands for channel-specific playout:
Play a specific channel - Choose GPI > Control > Play > index value
Stop a specific channel - Choose GPI > Control > Stop > index value n
If doing level-based playback, set the Level:Active to Play a specific channel and the
Level:Inactive to stop that same channel.
Cue a specific channel - Choose GPI > Control > Cue > index value n
The Cue channel action only recues the item that is playing. Cueing a different item in the playlist must be done manually—via mouse, keyboard, or X-keys—or a GPI button must be mapped and enabled for selection-based playout.
7. Click OK.
260
Mapping Events to Actions for a GPI Panel
8. Repeat steps 5 through 7 as needed.
9. Click Apply (if you want the System Settings dialog box to remain open after settings are applied) or OK.
The system will prompt you for the administrator password.
10. Enter the administrator password and click OK. If there is no administrator password, leave the field blank and click OK.
11. Confirm functionality by playing items in a playlist.
To map GPI events for selection-based playout:
1. Log in to a Command Workstation.
2. Select Tools > System Settings.
3. Select GPI.
4. Expand the panels to view each panel’s events.
261
Mapping Events to Actions for a GPI Panel
5. Double-click on an event to map it to an action.
The Choose Action dialog box appears with the GPI > Control options expanded by default.
6. Navigate to the Playlist action and expand it.
262
Enabling the GPI Panel
Here are some of the most commonly used commands for selection-based playout:
Play selection - Choose Playlist > Control > Play > Selection
Stop selection - Choose Playlist > Control > Stop > Selection
Cue selection - Choose Playlist > Control > Cue > Selection n
If you program the GPI panel for these selection-based actions, you must enable the GPI panel at the workstation.
7. Click OK.
8. Repeat steps 5 through 7 as needed.
9. Click Apply (if you want the System Settings dialog box to remain open after settings are applied) or OK.
The system will prompt you for the administrator password.
10. Enter the administrator password and click OK. If there is no administrator password, leave the field blank and click OK.
11. Confirm functionality by playing items in a playlist.
Enabling the GPI Panel
The GPI panel must be enabled to control a playlist if used for non-channel-specific, selection-based actions that go through the Command user interface. n
This procedure does not apply to GPI panels (or Maney panels) with events mapped only to actions chosen in GPI > Control—such as Cue, Pause, Play, or Stop—because those are sent directly to the Playlist Controller and do not go through the user interface.
A user can enable a panel at any Command Workstation.
263
To enable a GPI panel to control a playlist:
1. At the Command Workstation, select Tools > Options.
2. In Category, expand Actions and select GPI.
Configuring GPI Out
3. Select a GPI panel from the list.
4. Click Apply.
5. Click OK.
System administrators must configure system settings to provide a list of GPI panels in the
Options dialog box. You can confirm mapping by playing items from the GPI panel; test all of the commands.
Configuring GPI Out
Command supports GPI Out, meaning a GPI pulse can be sent from the system. This feature does require additional configuration, but after the GPI device service is configured, GPI events can be selected in a new GPI Out column of a playlist, or the user can enter them in the story title
(slug) or an iNEWS or ENPS rundown.
264
Configuring GPI Out
To configure the GPI device service for GPI Out:
1. Click the Start button, and then select All Programs>Service Framework>Avid Service
Configuration.
2. On the Hosts tab, navigate to and select GPI Device Service.
3. Click Add Panel. The Add Panel dialog box appears.
4. Select Output Panel and click OK.
5. In the Panel Name field, enter a name for the panel.
6. On the new panel’s tab, enter the Pulse Width and Output Early values. You will need to test this with your automation system to determine the Output Early value that will ensure a smooth transition. Lab testing revealed a maximum two-frame variation between when the pulse was sent and the Done status received from an AirSpeed (classic) device.
7. Set the first output pin.
8. Click Add Event. The Add Event dialog box appears.
9. Enter the event’s name and click OK. This is the name that will appear in the Command playlist (and needs to be entered by iNEWS or ENPS users), so it should be something that is easy to understand and type.
10. After you finish modifying the configuration, click Apply.
265
10
Integrating with Avid iNEWS
To ensure proper integration between Avid iNEWS Command and the iNEWS newsroom computer system, some configuration must be done at the iNEWS Workstation. Those configuring iNEWS must have system administrator access and a working knowledge of the newsroom computer system’s administrative features.
•
•
Editing the SYSTEM.MOS-MAP Story
•
Setting up the Plug-ins in iNEWS
•
•
Editing the SYSTEM.MAP Story
Editing the SYSTEM.MAP Story
In Avid iNEWS the Map story, which is the first one in the SYSTEM.MAP
queue, contains monitor server settings for each newsroom rundown. For more information on monitor servers, see
.
Here is an example of settings for Command as they might appear in the Map story:
;NRCS.SHOWS.RUNDOWN USES MONITOR 292 nrcs.shows.rundown nrcs.shows - monitor D200 wnasvr cmdsvr1 cmdsvr2 ca-composite
CG Deko1 - 1 6pm;Deko Device Channels
video AB - A;AirSpeed Device Channels
The first line is a comment—as indicated by the semicolon—that helps system administrators locate the appropriate settings within the Map story.
The second line contains the following rundown information:
• Name of the rundown, such as nrcs.shows.rundown
• Directory that contains the rundown queue where event lists are created, such as nrcs.shows
.
• Name of the Composite List queue. In none are configured, a hyphen is used, as shown.
• Name of the user group with access to monitor the rundown, such as monitors . Superusers are also permitted to start monitor servers.
• Monitor duration or quit time. A duration will automatically switch off the monitor server after the allotted time is achieved. For instance, D200 signifies the duration set to two hours, and no minutes. (This setting is not case sensitive.) A quit time, such as 2100 , will automatically switch off the monitor server at the specified time, ensuring the integrity of the system. The quit time can be three to four digits, specifying an exact time on the 24-hour clock. When configured, this information appears in the iNEWS user interface at the bottom of the Monitor dialog box. See “iNEWS Integration” in the Avid iNEWS Command User’s
Guide.
n
Because monitor servers use large amounts of system resources, Avid recommends this setting be configured but, for best results, manually turn off monitor servers at the end of each show.
The third line contains the following server information:
• Server type - wnasvr specifies a Command Server.
267
Editing the SYSTEM.MAP Story
• Primary server’s name, such as nrcs1 , which is the computer running the Avid iNEWS
Communication service.
• Backup server’s name, such as nrcs2 .
• Form name for the monitor server, such as ca-composite . A hyphen can be used as a placeholder.
Below the third line are device settings for channel groups in iNEWS Command.
Each line associated with a device begins with:
• Type of device, such as CG or video .
• Name of device’s channel group, such as Deko1 or AB . Channel group names are case sensitive.
• Alias for channel group. If none are used, hyphens can act as placeholders.
• For character generators, the next information in the line is the default channel, such as 1 , which is assigned to an event when the user does not enter a channel in the story, followed by the style, such as 6pm . For Deko devices, this style must match the one configured on the
Deko.
• For video devices, the next information in the line is the default channel, such as A , which is assigned to a clip when a user does not enter a channel in the story.
Any comments can be added to the end of the lines following a semicolon.
The Map story can be edited like any other story in the newsroom computer system; however, access to it is typically limited to system administrators who already have access to SYSTEM.MAP directory in iNEWS.
To edit the Map story in iNEWS:
1. Log in to an iNEWS Workstation as a system administrator.
2. Navigate to the SYSTEM.MAP
queue.
3. Double-click on the first story in the queue.
4. Modify the story as needed.
5. Click Save.
268
Editing the SYSTEM.MOS-MAP Story
iNEWS Style Validation
Command users can turn off style validation in iNEWS. This is most useful for graphics systems that create new items and need to have them sent to Command, even though they do not exist in the Command inventory. For this feature to work, modification to the SYSTEM.MAP
story is required in iNEWS.
To turn off style validation:
1. From an iNEWS Workstation, open the first story in the SYSTEM.MAP
queue.
2. Add a sixth column to the story with the word NO in it.
For example: wnasvr cmdsvr1 cmdsvr2 -
CG Deko1 - 1 6pm NO;style validation turned off
3. Click Save.
Editing the SYSTEM.MOS-MAP Story
The MOS-Map story, which is the first story in the SYSTEM.MOS-MAP queue, contains information vital to the integration of the plug-ins. Here is an example of settings for Command as they might appear in the Map story:
TABLE-START DeviceTable
;MOSID AMCPDeviceName
;==============================
DEKO1
MOSIDTHDR_A
CG1
Thunder
The first line is the header. The second and third lines are comments—as indicated by the semicolons—that provides additional information or structure to the file to help system administrators.
The fourth line contains the following device information, which is case sensitive:
• The MOS ID of a Deko character generator, such as DEKO1 . The channel names in this channel group must match the Gateway ID configured on the DekoMOS Gateway. See
“Configuring the DekoMOS Gateway” on page 167
.
• The channel group for the Deko, such as CG1 . This, too, must match the channels IDs assigned and configured on the DekoMOS Gateway.
269
Editing the SYSTEM.MOS-MAP Story n
You must enter a new line with MOS ID and channel group for each Deko channel group you configured in Avid iNEWS Command.
The fifth line contains the following device information:
• The MOS ID of an Avid Thunder production server, such as MOSIDTHDR_A . This must match the MOS ID configured in the ThunderMOS.cfg
file. See
.
• The channel group for the Thunder, such as Thunder .
To ensure that the Avid Deko Select and Avid Thunder Select plug-ins use the correct device designation, you must set the MOS ID and channel groups in the MOS-Map story.
The MOS-Map story can be edited like any other story in the newsroom computer system; however, access to it is typically limited to system administrators who already have access to
SYSTEM.MOS-MAP directory in iNEWS.
To edit the SYSTEM.MOS-MAP story:
1. Log in to an iNEWS Workstation as a system administrator.
2. Navigate to the SYSTEM.MOS-MAP queue.
3. Double-click on the first story in the queue.
4. Modify the story as needed.
5. Click Save.
270
Setting up the Plug-ins in iNEWS
Setting up the Plug-ins in iNEWS
Using plug-ins, such as AMG Journalist Client, Deko Select or Thunder Select, with Avid iNEWS and iNEWS Command is optional. The plug-ins are installed on iNEWS Workstations and are accessed through the iNEWS client software. The appearance of the plug-in(s) in Avid iNEWS depends on whether one or more were installed. For instance, when both Deko Select and Thunder Select are installed, the title of the workspace—shown on the title bar—is Avid
Graphics Select, and the plug-in workspace will appear in the iNEWS window with each plug-in on its own tab, as shown:
If only one plug-in is installed, the Tools menu option will be the name of that plug-in: Avid
Deko Select or Avid Thunder Select. Also, only one tab will appear in the plug-in workspace.
n
If both Thunder and Deko plug-ins are being installed on an iNEWS Workstation, Avid recommends the Thunder service be installed first.
AMG Journalist Client Installation
This section contains the following topics:
•
“Installing AMG Journalist Client Software” on page 272
•
“Testing the AMG Journalist Client” on page 272
271
Setting up the Plug-ins in iNEWS
Installing AMG Journalist Client Software
The following steps describe how to install the Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Client for integration with Command, and iNEWS or ENPS.
To install the AMG Journalist client:
1. Navigate to the Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Server (via UNC path \\servername) .
2. Open the install folder.
3. Double-click the Avid_Motion_Graphics_Journalist_setup.exe to run the executable.
4. In the AMG Journalist Applications window, click the AMG NRCS Client to install it.
5. Select Microsoft Visual C++ Redistributable to install it.
6. Select AMG Drive Monitor to install it. Make sure the IP address for the AMG Journalist server is populated. Follow the prompts (Install, Next, Finish) to complete the installation.
7. Select AMG ODBC to install it. n
A database password is not necessary, and should not be entered.
8. Select AMG NRCS to install, and click Finish to complete the installation.
9. Select Exit to close the installer.
You can now test the AMG Journalist Client.
Testing the AMG Journalist Client
After starting the AMG Journalist Client, you can test the functionality of it.
To test the AMG Journalist Client:
1. Open the AMG Journalist Client.
2. Double-click an item to open it in the template editor.
3. Add replacement data and click Save.
The new item should appear in the Graphic Database area list with a unique ID for the item.
4. Open the new item and edit the first replaceable field.
5. Click Save and confirm that the data has updated.
6. Open the created item and click the Preview button.
7. Confirm that the correct replacement data appears.
8. Open the created item and click the Movie button.
9. Confirm that the item appears with motions and correct replacement data.
272
Setting up the Plug-ins in iNEWS
10. Create several more items and drag them into the rundown.
11. Create a hand-entered item.
12. Designate one of the items as a library graphic and drag into a playlist.
13. MON Load the show, and confirm that all graphics appear in the Command playlist.
Installing and Configuring Avid Deko Select
The Deko Select plug-in allows iNEWS users to create CG items directly at the iNEWS
Workstation, including changing background graphics, editing replaceable text, and setting In and Out points.
To install and configure Avid Deko Select:
1. Ensure that the iNEWS client software is not running.
2. At the iNEWS Workstation, run the Deko Select installation program called
DekoSelectClient.exe
.
3. Log in to iNEWS.
4. Select Tools > Plugins > Avid Deko Select.
If Thunder Select is also installed on the workstation, the menu option will be Tools >
Plugins > Avid Graphics Select.
The first time you open Avid Deko Select, an error message appears stating that Deko Select is not configured.
273
5. Click OK.
The Configuration dialog box opens.
Setting up the Plug-ins in iNEWS
6. In the Configuration dialog box, on the Gateway Configuration tab, enter the host name or IP address for the computer that is running the DekoMOS Gateway software.
7. Click OK. The initial Configuration dialog box will close.
8. Click the Configure button on the toolbar of Deko Select.
The Configuration dialog box opens with three tabs.
9. Click the User Preferences tab, if it’s not already selected.
10. Select options to indicate what you want Deko Select to display.
11. Select the Preview Style you want to use as your default, then click the Set As Default button.
12. Click OK.
274
Setting up the Plug-ins in iNEWS
Configuring Gateway Settings from an ini File
After you have configured the Gateway Settings on the first workstation, you can install them on additional workstations from an ini file.
Gateway settings, as configured via the plug-in’s Configuration dialog box, are stored in a file called DekoMOS.ini
in C:\WinNT\System32 or C\WINDOWS\system32 . After installing and configuring Gateway settings on one workstation, you can copy this DekoMos.ini
file onto other computers rather than actually repeating the configuration procedure.
Installing and Configuring Avid Thunder Select
The Thunder Select plug-in allows iNEWS users to view thumbnails of video items on the
Thunder and to drag-and-drop those items directly into an iNEWS story.
To install and configure Avid Thunder Select:
1. Ensure that the iNEWS client software is not running.
2. At the iNEWS Workstation, run the Avid Thunder Select installation program called
ThunderSelectClient.exe
.
3. Copy the ThunderMOS.ini
file from the C:\Thunder directory on your Thunder device to your local C:\Thunder directory.
If you do not have a ThunderMOS.ini
file, create it in the C:\Thunder directory, open it, and enter the full UNC path to the the ThunderMOS.cfg
file. For more information, see
“Creating the ThunderMOS.ini File” on page 204 .
4. Log in to iNEWS.
5. Select Tools > Plugins > Avid Thunder Select.
If Avid Deko Select is also installed on the workstation, the menu option will be Tools >
Plugins > Avid Graphics Select.
The first time you open Avid Thunder Select, three errors will appear.
275
6. Click OK.
The Setup Menu dialog box opens.
Setting up the Plug-ins in iNEWS
7. If it doesn’t, click the Options button in the top right corner of the plug-in.
8. In the Setup Menu dialog box, select the interface, either iNEWS or ENPS, depending upon the newsroom computer system with which you are interfacing.
If you are integrating with an iNEWS system, the fields will be grayed out and populated according to the information you supplied in the ThunderMOS.cfg
file.
If you are installing into an ENPS system, you must do the following:
Type the Thunder name in the Avid Clip Server Computer Name (MosID) field, or browse to the Thunder by clicking on the ellipsis (“…”) button.
Select File > Preferences > Protocol Setup, and browse to or enter the database that was set up on the Thunder.
276
Setting up the Plug-ins in iNEWS
9. Enter the Dongle ID and Dongle Password. If your Thunder system is a:
ThunderXL or LT system, use the dongle ID and password of the dongle on the Thunder server.
ThunderMX, HD, or HY system, use the dongle ID and password that was printed on the options letter which shipped with your ThunderMX/HD/HY software CD. n
The number of Thunder Select client licenses is controlled by the dongle on the server, and is determined by the number of client licenses that you purchased.
10. Click OK.
The plug-in connects to the Thunder database, and you will see thumbnails of clips and stills. You can now drag and drop this media into an iNEWS or ENPS story or preview them by double-clicking.
n
Once this setup information has been entered, it should not need to be reconfigured. However, if the dongle is removed, or for any other reason the data has changed, a warning dialog appears and the setup information will need to be reconfigured. Enter the network path to the Thunder database and the Thunder license key.
11. Click the Options button again.
The Options dialog box opens.
277
Setting up the Plug-ins in iNEWS
12. Set the options, including View Type, Event Properties, and Channel.
The channel value selected here must match the channel name entered when the device channels were set up for the Thunder. For more information, see
13. Click Apply.
For more information on Avid Thunder Select, see the Avid Thunder Select Installation and
Configuration Guide.
Configuring a MOS Alias in iNEWS
Command and iNEWS support the ability to use multiple Command channel groups with a single MOS ID. This configuration allows a site to use a single graphics system (with a single
MOS ID), and create graphics that can be used in multiple studios. iNEWS ActiveX users (e.g.
AMG Journalist, Viz Template Filler, Chyron LUCI, etc.) will be able to view all of the graphics in the system in their respective iNEWS ActiveX control, and configure the items to be assigned to the desired devices on a per rundown basis. This is accomplished using iNEWS MOS alias.
n
There can be only one Command channel group per rundown.
To configure a MOS Alias in iNEWS:
1. In the SYSTEM.MOS-MAP, enter the MOS ID and alias (rather than a specific Command channel group).
For example, MOSID MOSalias.
2. In the system.map, configure the rundown to use the desired Command channel group, and add the alias to the 3rd position.
For example: cg AMG12 MOSalias 1 Style-1
When you drop an item from the ActiveX control, it will get the MOS Alias as the device designation (*MOSalias in the example above). n
This item can be moved to any rundown, and the channel group will be assigned as it is configured in the system.map (i.e. per rundown). Items can be moved be from story to story, and can be used in different rundowns as needed.
278
Monitor Servers
Configuring Command with iNEWS
Command device channels, channel groups, and iNEWS rundowns must also be configured.
To configure Command iNEWS rundowns:
1. In the SYSTEM.MOS-MAP, add an entry for the new MOS ID, AMGNews, and then add the channel group name, as defined in the iNEWS Command configuration.
2. In the SYSTEM.MAP, add a new line for the AMG channel group. For instance, the device designation <cg>, channel group name <AMG6>, dash <->, default channel <mg1>, and style <Style-1>.
Monitor Servers
Monitor server is a utility program—running on the iNEWS newsroom computer system—that checks a show’s event requests for errors, creates composite and event lists, and sends newsroom playlists to Avid iNEWS Command.
A monitor server must be assigned device and mailbox numbers—typically, these numbers are the same, which makes the configuration easier to remember. A device number is chosen for monitor server so iNEWS recognizes the server (utility) program as a valid device. The device number must be entered in the newsroom computer system’s configuration file. The mailbox number must be assigned to both the show’s monitor server and its rundown queue.
n
A mailbox is an activation mechanism for a server (utility) program, so if a queue has a mailbox number matching a server program, then that server is the one activated whenever something happens to the queue.
The mailbox enables iNEWS to notify the monitor server of changes made to a rundown queue—the one sharing the same mailbox number—while that show is monitored.When on, monitor server checks its assigned rundown for machine control events, and builds playlists. The monitor server then sends updates to that rundown’s newsroom playlist in Command, and will continue to do so as long as the monitor is running and the newsroom computer system retains the lock on the playlist. It also updates composite and event lists, if necessary.The monitor server is turned on when a user at an iNEWS Workstation turns it on. The monitor server loads data to the iNEWS Command system or the MOS Gateway system when a user instructs it to do so from an iNEWS Workstation.
279
Monitor Servers
Creating a Monitor Server for Each Show
The procedures in this section assumes the user has a working knowledge of administration tasks associated with an Avid iNEWS system and that rundown queues for the shows being monitored already exist in iNEWS. If not, create them before continuing. For more information on how to create queues or further details regarding steps in this section, see the administration documentation that accompanied your iNEWS system.
To create and configure a monitor server:
1. Check the configuration file ( /site/config ) and choose the next available device number for the monitor server, from the range of 3-digit numbers reserved for use by your system’s server programs, such as 201 to 300.
Valid standard mailbox numbers are 1 through 4096.
2. Choose an available mailbox number. For simplicity, this should be the same 3-digit device number. Do the following: a.
Use the list console command to ensure no other device is using the mailbox number you have chosen. For instance, to check mailbox 266, type: list mailbox=266 c
Information similar to the following appears:
DEV DEVICE_TYPE COMPUTER CCU PRINTER SPEED OPTIONS DEVNAME n
For other list command options for determining mailbox assignments of queues and servers, see
“Using the list Command to View Assigned Mailboxes” on page 283
.
b.
If you see the device configuration header (as shown in step 2a) with no information
below it, then no device has that mailbox and you can use that number.
However, if configuration information for a device appears below the header, that device has the same mailbox as the one you chose. Therefore, choose another mailbox number
n
If the mailbox number is already being used, and you must choose another, you may want to try another device number for the monitor server as well. Typically, mailbox numbers match server program device numbers, although this is not required. However, the mailbox number you select must be assigned to the queue monitored by the server program. Multiple queues can share the same mailbox number, but care must be take to avoid conflicts. For more information, see
“Using the list Command to View Assigned Mailboxes” on page 283
.
280
Monitor Servers
3. Changing the configuration file requires the use of ed , the line editor.
Add the monitor server to the /site/config file on each iNEWS Server—such as server A and server B in a dual server system— by doing the following: c
Always back up the /site/config file before making any changes. a.
At the console, select all iNEWS Servers.
b.
Use the ed command to open and edit the configuration file, by typing: ed /site/config
1259
After you press Enter, the editor responds by displaying a number, as shown, indicating the file size expressed as the number of characters, including spaces and returns. For more information on the line editor and Avid iNEWS configuration files, see the Avid iNEWS Setup and Configuration Manual.
c.
Add the monitor server’s device number to the servers line in the host definition for the iNEWS Server that will run the monitor server program. For instance: servers 261 263 265 267
The device number 267 is added to the servers line in this example.
n
Divide your server programs evenly among your iNEWS Servers to distribute the load they put on your system. For instance, put odd numbered programs on server A and even numbered ones on server B. Additionally, ensure that you also add the configuration line for the monitor server to alternate host definitions for your iNEWS Servers. This ensures it can run on the surviving computer should one of your iNEWS Servers stop functioning.
Do not confuse the configuration line, which starts with server, and the servers line mentioned in
, which lists device numbers.
281
Monitor Servers d.
Add a configuration line for the monitor server in the host definition belonging to the iNEWS Server that will run the server program. This line begins with the word server and contains the mailbox number assigned to the monitor server.
The format for server programs’ configuration lines are: server <device#> <type> <mailbox> <device name>
Parameter device # type mailbox device name
Description
The device number assigned to the server program. This 3-digit number must also be listed in the servers line in a host definition.
The type of server program is monitor.
The mailbox the server program uses. Valid standard mailbox numbers are 1 through 4096. This number typically matches the server program’s device number.
Monitor servers do not use a device name; enter a hyphen (-).
server server server server
Comments appearing after the semicolons (;) are optional.
The following are sample configuration lines for monitor server programs:
264
265
266
267 monitor monitor monitor monitor
264
265
266
267
- ;monitor server
- ;monitor server
- ;monitor server
- ;monitor server e.
When you finish making changes to the configuration file, save your changes by typing: w c
Do not use an uppercase (W) in step 3e.
f.
When you press enter, a number will appear, such as 1279 , indicating the file size. You can then exit the line editor by typing: q
4. (Optional) Test your configuration changes. After editing the configuration file
( /site/config ), it should be backed up.
282
Monitor Servers
5. Reconfigure the system.
When adding monitor server programs, you do not need to stop anything to reconfigure the system.
n
Unlike other utility programs, it is not necessary to start a monitor server when you add it to the configuration file. It starts when someone uses the monitor on or monitor load command for the rundown queue to which you have assigned the monitor server. See the Command User’s Guide for more information on using monitor servers.
Mailboxes are assigned to queues in the same way other database traits are—using the Queue
Properties dialog box. For more information, see “Queue Properties” on page 284
.
6. After you choose the monitor server’s mailbox number and verify that it is not used by another device, you must also assign it to the show’s rundown queue, being monitored by the monitor server.
For instance, if the monitor server’s mailbox number is 267 and it will monitor the
SHOWS.6PM.RUNDOWN queue, then that number must be assigned to that queue.
For more information on assigning mailboxes to queues, see the Avid iNEWS Setup and
Configuration Manual.
Using the list Command to View Assigned Mailboxes
Variations of the list command can be used at the console to determine mailbox assignments for specific devices, queues, and so forth.
Since multiple queues can share the same mailbox, you can list all queues and directories in the database that are using a certain mailbox, such as 267, by typing: list mailbox=267 d
To find out which monitor server mailboxes are assigned: t Type: list c monitor
The system displays configuration information for your system’s monitor servers, similar to the following:
DEV DEVICE_TYPE COMPUTER CCU PRINTER SPEED OPTIONS DEVNAME
S264 monitor A N264
S265 monitor B N265
S266 monitor A N266
S267 monitor B N267
NRCS-A $
283
Queue Properties
The mailbox number assigned to each monitor server appears in the PRINTER column and begins with the letter, N.
To see if any servers are assigned a certain mailbox number: t Use the following format: list mailbox=<mailbox number> c
To check whether mailbox 267 is assigned to a server program: t Type: list mailbox=267 c
Two rundowns queues can share the same mailbox, but they should never be monitored simultaneously. c
If two rundowns share the same mailbox number, ensure that both their monitor servers do not run simultaneously; otherwise, results could be unpredictable.
Queue Properties
To ensure seamless interaction between Avid iNEWS and iNEWS Command, the queue properties for newsroom rundowns must be configured properly. This section provides a few things to verify in the Queue Properties dialog box of Avid iNEWS. For more information on the
Queue Properties dialog box, see Chapter 5 in the Avid iNEWS Setup and Configuration Manual.
To view the Queue Properties dialog box:
1. Log in to an iNEWS Workstation.
2. Navigate to a rundown associated with iNEWS Command.
3. Right-click on that rundown in Directory panel.
284
Queue Properties
4. Select Properties.
The Queue Properties dialog box has multiple tabs; however, the ones of greater importance in regard to interaction with Command are: Forms, Maintain, and User Interface.
On the Forms tab, ensure that the appropriate story form is chosen. The selected form must contain fields for all necessary media events. The queue form determines the look of the queue.
The story form chosen must contain an item-channel field. The story form determines how an event request is displayed when you double-click it. The forms will only appear in the drop-down lists if they exist in the database. For information about how to create your own forms or modify existing forms, and about database traits, see Chapters 5 and 8 of the Avid iNEWS
Setup and Configuration Manual. Users should log off and sign back on to view the new queue/story form settings.
285
Queue Properties
On the Maintain tab, ensure the standard mailbox number is set correctly. Rundowns that load playlists to Command through monitor servers must be set to use a standard mailbox number.
The Mailbox section does not apply to the e-mail feature of the iNEWS newsroom computer system. These mailboxes are “signal carriers” by which utility programs, called servers, are notified to perform a pre-defined task. The mailbox number assigned to the queue must match the device number of the server monitoring it, as defined in the iNEWS Configuration file
( /site/config ). Valid mailbox numbers are one through 4096.
286
Queue Properties
On the User Interface tab, ensure that the Refresh option is selected to enable automatic updates from Command.
287
11
Integrating with ENPS
To ensure proper integration between Avid iNEWS Command and the ENPS newsroom computer system, certain configuration must be completed within ENPS. Those configuring
ENPS must have system administrator access and a working knowledge of the newsroom computer system’s administrative features.
n
ENPS is third-party software. Refer to the manufacturer’s documentation for more detailed information regarding the newsroom computer system.
•
•
Configuring ENPS to Host AMG Journalist Client
•
Configuring MOS Settings in Command
•
Creating Multiple Channel Groups with a Single MOS ID
•
•
Configuring Command for MOS Redirection
•
•
Configuring ENPS for Deko Select
Configuring ENPS
Configuring ENPS
You must configure the ENPS MOS settings on an ENPS newsroom computer system to enable integration with Avid iNEWS Command.
To configure the ENPS MOS settings:
1. Open the ENPS client interface.
2. Click the green Rover button on the Corporate folder at the bottom of your screen.
This folder—fourth from the left—is typically labeled with your station call letters or corporate name. By default, it is labeled ENPS.
289
3. Select System Maintenance > Groups.
A dialog box with a list of configured groups opens.
Configuring ENPS
4. Click the New button.
The ENPS dialog box opens.
5. Enter the name of the group and click OK. A new row appears in the list.
6. On that row, do the following: a.
Enter a description.
b.
Select the server. This should be the primary ENPS server.
7. Click Save.
290
8. Click the green Rover button on the Corporate folder again.
9. Select System Maintenance > MOS Configuration.
A dialog box with a list of configured MOS plug-ins opens.
Configuring ENPS
10. Click the New button.
The ENPS dialog box opens.
11. Enter the MOS ID. The information you enter here must match the iNEWS Command MOS
12. Click OK. A new row appears in the list.
291
Configuring ENPS to Host AMG Journalist Client
13. On that row, fill in the fields as shown in the following table:
Text Box Name
Description
IP
Program
MOS Version
Description
Enter the name that identifies this plug-in for users.
Enter the IP address of the Command Server running the MOS
Communication service.
Select the group you created in step 5.
Enter the version used by your Avid iNEWS Command system. Although both versions 2.6 and 2.8 are supported, Avid strongly recommends using
MOS 2.8.
Ensure the auto create field is enabled.
Set the object type to VIDEO.
Auto Create
Object Type n
You might need to scroll to the right to view all fields that require modification.
14. Repeat the previous steps to create a second MOS ID for the backup Command Server.
15. Click Save.
16. Restart all ENPS client applications so that the new MOS ID information will appear as an option.
17. Restart the ENPS News Object Manager (NOM) to allow the new MOS ID to take effect and appear throughout the ENPS newsroom computer system.
Configuring ENPS to Host AMG Journalist Client
If you are using AMG Journalist with ENPS, then you must configure ENPS to host the AMG
Journalist client. n
This can be done from any ENPS client machine.
Once configured, the AMG Journalist client will need to be installed (from the X: drive) on all
ENPS client machines that need access to it.
To configure ENPS to host AMG Journalist client:
1. Open the ENPS client.
2. Select the green 'rover' on the 4th folder in the client, point to System Maintenance, and then
MOS Configuration.
292
Configuring ENPS to Host AMG Journalist Client
3. If you already have a MOS ID configured for the Command system, add the following information to the respective fields: a.
In the Description field, if a description is already entered, it should be changed to
AMG Journalist, so users can easily identify it.
b.
In the IP field, type the IP address of the Command server, if not already done.
c.
In the ActiveX field, type RCGPLUGIN.RCGpluginCtrl.1, which identifies the AMG
Journalist client plugin.
d.
In the Program field, select the group that was created specifically for Command.
e.
In the MOS Version field, 2.8 is the recommended version.
n
Make sure that the AMGConf.ini is also set to use MOS 2.8.
f.
In the Local DragDrop field, make sure it is set to Off.
g.
In the Story Send field, make sure this option is selected.
n
Using the same MOS ID as the Command system allows the journalist to open graphics that have already been created.
n
If you are using more than one ActiveX plugin (such as AMG Journalist and Deko Select), only one ActiveX plugin can be configured to use the same MOS ID as Command. The second ActiveX plugin will need to be set up with a separate MOS ID.
Installing Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Client
The following steps describe how to install the Avid Motion Graphics Journalist client for integration with Avid Motion Graphics Journalist. They assume that the Avid Motion Graphics servers have already been installed and licensed.
To install the Avid Motion Graphics Journalist client:
1. Navigate to the Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Server (via UNC path \\servername) .
2. Open the install folder.
3. Click AMGDriveMonitor to install. This configures the x: Drive and configures the system tray icon.
4. Click AMGODBC to install. This configures the database connection.
5. Click the AMGNRCS to install. This configures the AMG Journalist Client.
293
Configuring MOS Settings in Command
Confirming Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Functionality
After installing and configuring the Journalist and Command components, confirm the functionality.
To confirm Journalist functionality:
1. Open the AMG Journalist client.
2. Double-click an item to open it in the template editor.
3. Add replacement data, and click Save.
4. Open the new item and edit the first replaceable field.
5. Click Save and confirm that the data has updated.
6. Open the created item, and click the Preview button.
7. Confirm that the correct replacement data appears.
8. Open the created item, and click the Movie button.
9. Confirm that the item appears with motions and correct replacement data.
10. Create several more items and drag them into a rundown.
11. Create a hand-entered item. Confirm that it appears in Command.
12. Designate one of the items as a library graphic and drag into a playlist.
13. MON Load the show, and confirm that all graphics appear in the Avid Motion Graphics
Command Workstation.
Configuring MOS Settings in Command
The MOS category in the System Settings dialog box allows system administrators to configure the Command system to integrate with a MOS-enabled newsroom computer system, such as
ENPS. A MOS-enabled newsroom computer system can send playlists to Command.
MOS (Media Object Server) is an industry-standard, XML-based protocol that is primarily used by a newsroom computer system (NRCS) to maintain running orders on a video server. MOS also enables servers to update the newsroom computer system with changes to the server’s media inventory. Command’s MOS support enables communication between the newsroom computer system and AirSpeed video servers, as shown in the following illustration.
294
Configuring MOS Settings in Command
MOS does not provide a means of controlling playout from a video server. Command supplies this function.
Under the MOS category are three subcategories:
• General - used to configure MOS and graphics style settings.
• Channel Groups - used to identify channel groups for integration with MOS-based newsroom computer systems.
• Advanced - used for advanced MOS feature configuration.
To configure Command’s system settings to work with a MOS-based newsroom computer system:
1. At a Command Workstation, select Tools > System Settings.
2. Expand the MOS category.
3. Select General.
295
Configuring MOS Settings in Command
4. Edit the MOS settings accordingly:
MOS Setting Description iNEWS Command MOS
ID
The ID that enables enables bidirectional communications between a
MOS-based newsroom computer system and Command. For instance: avid.command1.mos
or avid.command2.mos
Newsroom NCS ID Usually, this is set to the host name of the newsroom computer system’s server.
Newsroom Host Name Host name of the newsroom computer system’s server. The name entered in this field must be resolvable via the Domain Name Service (DNS); otherwise, an IP address can be used instead.
Buddy NCS ID
Buddy Host Name
MOS version
Usually, this is set to host name of the newsroom computer system’s
“buddy” or backup server. The name entered in this field must be resolvable via the Domain Name Service (DNS); otherwise, an IP address can be used instead.
Host name of the newsroom computer system’s “buddy” or backup server.
Determines which version of MOS protocol Command will use.
5. Set the default graphics style for playlists loaded from a MOS-based newsroom computer system, if necessary.
Graphics styles are added at the Command Workstation via the Playlist category in the
System Settings dialog box. If none are added, then the list in the MOS > General category will appear blank.
6. Select Channel Groups.
296
7. Click Add.
The Channel Groups dialog box appears.
Configuring MOS Settings in Command
8. Select a channel group.
297
Configuring MOS Settings in Command
9. Click OK.
The chosen channel group will appear in the list on the right side of the System Settings dialog box.
n
If entering multiple channel groups, the device channels in those groups must not conflict. When entering multiple channel groups of the same type, such as AirSpeed, Command will auto-assign
MOS items to the first channel of the first channel group listed. For more information, see
“Creating Multiple Channel Groups with a Single MOS ID” on page 301 .
298
Configuring MOS Settings in Command
10. Click Apply (if you want the System Settings dialog box to remain open after settings are applied) or OK. The system will prompt you for the administrator password.
11. Enter the administrator password and click OK.
While a newsroom computer system can use non-standard ports for the incoming and outgoing sockets and the advanced settings can be customized, Avid recommends that the default settings be used.
n
Avid strongly recommends contacting Customer Support before altering any of the advanced settings.
The first four settings specify the port numbers for the sockets used to communicate with the
MOS-based newsroom computer system. The defaults, as defined in the MOS protocol specifications, are: 10541 (upper) and 10540 (lower).
299
To view advanced MOS settings:
1. Select Tools > System Settings.
2. Expand the MOS category.
3. Select Advanced.
Configuring MOS Settings in Command
While a newsroom computer system can use non-standard ports for the incoming and outgoing sockets and the advanced settings can be customized, Avid recommends that the default settings be used.
The first four settings specify the port numbers for the sockets used to communicate with the
MOS-based newsroom computer system. The defaults, as defined in the MOS protocol specifications, are: 10541 (upper) and 10540 (lower).
4. Send Inventory on connect should be selected.
5. If you intend to use Object Placeholders, select Create object placeholders.
6. For graphics systems, such as AMG Journalist, you should select Parse channel from MOS
Abstract.
7. Select the desired MOS field for graphic name. This setting affects how the graphic items appear in the Title column of the Command playlist
300
Creating Multiple Channel Groups with a Single MOS ID
Creating Multiple Channel Groups with a Single MOS
ID
Command support the ability to create multiple channel groups with a single MOS ID for the graphics system. This requires that the ActiveX plugin supports the ability to populate the MOS
Abstract with the specific item channel for the device.
For ENPS or other MOS based systems, the single MOS ID problem is resolved by placing the item channel in the MOS Abstract. Command parses the item channel, and assigns the respective channel group accordingly.
For example, an item created and assigned to channel "1", should have
1:<itemID>:<replaceabledata> in the MOS Abstract. Command will parse the 1 and colon, and assign the item to the channel group that contains channel 1.
ENPS roChannel Guidelines
For ENPS systems, Command supports roChannel with roCreate and roMetadataReplace in the
MOS Communication service.
Here are guidelines for using roChannel:
• Users can set the MOS Channel in the ENPS properties, and when the rundown is loaded, video items will be assigned to that channel group. Only one entry is allowed, and users should not set the MOS Channel to a graphic channel group; it is not necessary.
• Users should add all channel groups that might be used to the system settings in Command.
Those settings are located in the System Settings dialog box under the MOS category in the
Channel Groups sub-category.
• The channel group assigned in the MOS Channel will be the first one displayed in the
Command playlist. Other channel groups will be to the right of it.
In this example, omAB is defined in the ENPS MOS Channel, and therefore displayed first.
Both omAB and omC are defined in the system settings in Command.
301
Configuring Command for MOS Redirection
• If there are graphic channel groups, they will be displayed after the channel group set in the
MOS Channel.
In this example, the channel group omAB is set in the ENPS MOS Channel, Dekohyb is a graphic channel group. All three are defined in the system settings in Command.
• Users can assign an individual item to a different channel group by changing the MOS
Channel in the rundown rather than the rundown properties.
If the rundown MOS Channel is set when the rundown is MOS activated, the item will keep its channel designation. The rundown MOS Channel will not override the rundown’s MOS
Channel.
• Users can easily switch to a different channel group for a MOS Active/Ready to Air rundown by opening the rundown properties and entering the new MOS Channel. Before the change is made in ENPS, the operator must unlock the current channel group in Command, and then lock the updated channel group after the change is made.
n
If you plan to use MOS Channel to change the channel group for any MOS Active rundown, you need to define channel group in the MOS Channel field for all rundowns. If the MOS Channel is not defined when the rundown is MOS activated, the MOS Channel needs to be set twice to make the change happen.
Configuring Command for MOS Redirection
Command sites that interface with the ENPS newsroom computer system can run two MOS
Communication services and set the second one to have a different MOSID so that MOS redirection can be used to send playlists to the backup server. The purpose of MOS redirection to allow users to load the ENPS rundown to the backup Command Server in the event of a primary server failure. It is the equivalent of loading an iNEWS rundown to the backup server, but this workflow requires a little more configuration.
To configure Command for MOS redirection:
1. In ENPS, configure the primary and backup Command MOS IDs.
2. Click the Start button and select Programs > Avid > Service Framework > Avid Service
Configuration.
3. On the Hosts tab, navigate to and select the Avid MOS Communication Service running on the backup server.
4. Enter the MOSID for the backup server.
302
Configuring Command for MOS Redirection
5. Click Apply.
6. Restart the service by going to the backup Command Server.
a.
Click the Start button and select Programs > Avid > Service Framework > Avid
Workgroup Properties.
b.
Click the Advanced button and select the MOS Communication service.
c.
Click Restart.
After your configuration is complete, you can confirm MOS redirection functionality.
n
You can test MOS redirection at any time; it does not require the primary server to be down.
To confirm MOS redirection functionality:
1. Make a rundown MOS Active and Ready to Air, confirming that it appears in the Command
Workstation.
2. Open the rundown’s Properties dialog box.
3. Deselect the MOS Control Active checkbox.
4. Click Apply.
5. In the MOS Redirection text box, enter the group name followed by an equal sign (=) and the MOS ID for the backup server. The syntax is: <group name>=<backup MOS ID>
6. Select the MOS Control Active checkbox.
7. Click Apply and then Go.
8. Confirm that the rundown appears in the Command Workstation.
When you need to direct MOS traffic to the backup server, disconnect from the primary server and connect to the backup server via MOS redirection in ENPS.
For instance, enter avid=enps.command2.mos
in the MOS Redirection field, then check
MOS Control Active, and click Go. The sample equation tells ENPS that any device in the rundown starting with “avid” should get redirected to the MOS backup system with the
MOS ID of “enps.command2.mos”.
n
Avid recommends the MOS Redirection steps be posted in the control room so that users can reference them quickly. It’s also recommended you do a MOS redirection periodically to practice the steps.
For more information, see documentation that came with your third-party ENPS system.
303
Enabling Object Placeholders
Enabling Object Placeholders
Avid iNEWS Command supports the ENPS object placeholder workflow, which lets users enter video IDs for placeholders rather than have them automatically generated.
To enable object placeholder creation for ENPS:
1. In Command, click Tools > System Settings.
2. Expand the MOS category.
3. Select Advanced.
4. Select the Create object placeholders check box.
To add an object placeholder in ENPS:
1. Select the correct object placeholder story cell in the ENPS rundown.
2. In the placeholder menu, select the correct MOS ID.
3. Enter the name you would like to use for the placeholder.
4. Click OK.
You should see the placeholder in the ENPS rundown, and also in Command when the rundown is MOS Active and Ready to Air.
Configuring ENPS for Deko Select
When using the Avid Deko Select plug-in with Command and ENPS, some configuration is needed.
To configure integration for Deko Select with ENPS:
1. In ENPS, configure the Deko Select plug-in based on the following table.
Text Box Name
Description
IP
ActiveX
Program
Description
Enter the name that identifies this plug-in for users, such as DekoMOS.
Enter the IP address of the Command Server running the DekoMOS
Gateway.
Enter the ActiveX Application ID. This is usually DekoMOS.Browser
.
(Don’t forget the period between DekoMOS and Browser.)
Select the group you created in step 5.
304
Configuring ENPS for Deko Select
Text Box Name
MOS Version
Local DragDrop
Modal UI ActiveX
Auto Create
Object Type
Use Detached
Description
Enter the version used by DekoMOS. Although both versions 2.6 and 2.8 are supported, Avid strongly recommends using MOS 2.8.
Set to Off.
Enter the ActiveX Application ID. This is usually DekoMOS.Browser
.
(Don’t forget the period between DekoMOS and Browser.)
Confirm that this box is not checked.
Set the object type to STILL.
If users want the Deko Select plug-in to be detached from the ENPS client, check this box.
An example of this configuration is shown as the bottom row of the following graphic. The
IP address is the DekoMOS Gateway. The first two rows are the primary and backup
Command Servers.
n
For more information, see documentation provided by ENPS.
2. Configure the Deko channel group in Command.
3. In the DekoMOS Gateway, add the primary ENPS Server’s MOS ID field, shown here with
MOS ID per channel:
305
12
Configuring the Perle IOLAN Server
Avid iNEWS Command supports 422 serial connection via the Perle IOLAN TCP/Serial port server, which must be purchased separately from Command. n
This is the only supported means of 422 communication with Windows 2008 and Windows 7. See the Avid iNEWS Command ReadMe for latest supported versions of IOLAN software.
Additionally, the IOLAN server supports full VDCP redundancy. In earlier versions of
Command, mirrored channel configuration was required as a means for achieving VDCP redundancy.
Like the setup for the AirSpeed (classic) device service, the Video device service is installed on the primary and backup Command Servers, and when the primary server fails, the VDS on the backup server assumes control of the VDCP channels as part of the Command failover process.
•
•
Configuring the TruePort Clients
•
Wiring for IOLAN to Video Server
Configuring the IOLAN Server
Configuring the IOLAN Server
To configure the IOLAN server:
1. Turn on the IOLAN server and connect it to the network. Make sure it is in the same subnet as the Command Server.
2. On the Command Server, install the Perle TruePort software, which includes the Perle
Device Manager and the TruePort Management Tool.
3. Start the Perle Device Manager.
It will enable the Assign IP button when it automatically detect the IOLAN server.
4. Click the Assign ID button and configure for a static IP.
5. After the IP is configured, click OK to open the configuration utility.
6. If prompted for a password, enter superuser.
7. Click Tools > Import Configuration from a File.
8. Navigate to the Avid Command IOLAN configuration file (IOLAN.dme) and click OK.
n
The configuration file (IOLAN.dme) is in the Command install directory.
9. Confirm the following settings in the Configuration section: a.
Network, IP Settings, IPv4 Settings: Confirm that the IP address, subnet mask, and default gateway are correct.
b.
Serial, Serial Ports: Confirm that the serial ports are all enabled and that the listening ports are 10001 through 10008. Click the Edit button to continue.
c.
In the Serial Port 1 Settings dialog box, confirm that Listen for connection is selected and that the TCP port is 10001.
d.
On the Advanced tab, confirm that the Enable TCP Keep Alive box is selected.
e.
On the Hardware tab, confirm that Enable line termination is selected.
f.
On the Packet Forwarding tab, confirm that Prevent Message Fragmentation is selected, and the delay is set to 10 milliseconds.
g.
Serial, Advanced: Confirm that the Monitor Connections section has the following set:
Status Interval: 5
Retry Interval: 2
Retry: 3
307
Configuring the TruePort Clients h.
If any changes were needed, click OK and then click Copy to set all of the other ports to the same settings.
10. If any changes were needed, click Download All Changes.
11. If any changes were needed, click Tools > Reset > Reboot IOLAN.
Configuring the TruePort Clients
After you complete configuration on the IOLAN server, you need to configure the TruePort clients.
To configure TruePort clients:
1. Run the TruePort Management Tool.
2. Click the Add button.
3. In the Add TruePort Adapter Wizard dialog box, enter the IP address for the IOLAN server and click Next.
4. Add the number of serial ports corresponding to your server (such as 2, 4, 8, or 16), and choose a starting COM port.
n
Avid recommends you choose 50 as the starting COM port, so that it is clear that you are using the serial-to-IP ports.
5. Click Next and then Finish to save changes.
6. From the TruePort Management Tool’s main window, click Properties to configure the ports.
7. On the Configuration tab, click Settings.
8. In the Perle TruePort Adapter Setting dialog box, confirm that the listening ports match the ones configured on the server: 10001 - 10008.
9. On the Connection tab, set Connection Mode to Full Mode.
10. Select Initiate connection to device server, and then confirm that the TCP port is 10001.
11. Click the Settings button to change the Client-Initiated Connection settings accordingly: a.
Confirm that Connect at system startup is not selected.
b.
Select Close TCP connection when COM port is closed.
c.
Select Delay close of TCP connection, and set it to two (2) seconds.
d.
In the Connection Options section, select Number of retries and set it to one (1).
e.
Set the Time between connection retries to three (3) seconds.
f.
Deselect Restore a dropped connection.
308
Wiring for IOLAN to Video Server g.
Click OK.
12. Click the Advanced tab and confirm the following options are set accordingly:
Return when connection is fully establish should be selected.
The maximum wait time should be set to five (5) seconds.
Send keep alive packets should not be selected.
13. Click the Packet Forwarding tab, select Enable Packet Forwarding, and set the Idle Time to
10 milliseconds.
14. Click the Copy Settings To button and copy the settings to the remaining COM ports.
15. Click OK to save and exit. You might be asked to restart the computer.
After you have completed these steps, you can proceed with wiring serial cables between the video device and the IOLAN server, and configure the Avid Video device service for serial connection.
Wiring for IOLAN to Video Server
The following illustration shows the wiring diagram for the RJ45 cable.
309
Wiring for IOLAN to Video Server
The following illustration is the wiring diagram for the IOLAN server to video device.
The lines in the diagram are colored only to show the connections; they do not correspond to any wire colors on an RJ45 cable. If you are using DB9 connectors, the inside of the RJ45 side of the connector’s wires are counted from 8 to 1, with the connecting tab on top. The connector’s wire colors are never consistent either, so Avid strongly recommends that you use a volt meter to confirm the correct color wire for the 2, 4, 5, and 7 pins of the RJ45 cable, and then plug them into their appropriate place on the DB9 connector.
If you are diagnosing connection problems using Avid Diagnostics, and the Command Video device service shows the warning message, “Unable to create a VDCP channel on port COM58”, and the details show that the port is in use, it means that the wire is not correct.
310
13
Confirming Functionality
After software installation and system configuration is complete, you should verify proper functionality of components and ensure the success of the installation and integration.
•
•
•
•
Confirming Functionality with Avid Motion Graphics
•
Monitoring System Status
Monitoring System Status
After installation and configuration of the Command system is complete, you can check the status by using the Avid Health Monitor
To check the current status of the system:
1. Click the Start button and select Programs > Avid > Service Framework > Avid Health
Monitor.
On the Hosts tab, services are listed by computer and device. The Processes tab lists by services.
2. Confirm that no problems are reported. Any problems on the system will appear with a red
X.
312
Viewing Status of Services
Viewing Status of Services
Avid Command uses Avid Service Framework as its structure for discovering and communicating with services.
To start Workgroup Properties: t Click the Start button and select > All Programs > Avid > Service Framework > Avid
Workgroup Properties.
The Avid Workgroup Properties window opens.
When you start the Workgroup Properties application, the Services tab appears by default displaying the name of the workgroup, to which this computer belongs, in the Workgroup text box. Also shown, in the Status text box, is the status of all Avid services running on the local computer.
313
Confirming Command Inventory
The Workgroup Properties application uses colored icons—in combination with text—on the Services tab to show the status (started and/or enabled) of all Avid services. A user can click the Advanced button to see more information about individual services. The icons displayed provide fast, easy identification of the current status of an Avid service.
Icon Description
When all of the enabled Avid components are running on the local machine a green circle with a check mark in the center is shown next to the Status text box and the sentence—All enabled services are running—is displayed.
When some of the enabled Avid components are running on the local machine a caution symbol (yellow triangle with an exclamation mark in the center) is shown next to the
Status text box and the sentence—Some services are enabled but not running—is displayed.
When none of the enabled Avid components are running on the local machine a red square is shown next to the Status text box and the sentence—No services are running—is displayed.
For more information on viewing Avid services using the Workgroup Properties application, see the Avid Service Framework User’s Guide.
Confirming Command Inventory
You should confirm that the inventory of media available to Command is appearing properly at a
Command Workstation.
To confirm that the Avid iNEWS Command system is seeing inventory correctly:
1. Start the Command client application.
2. If the Inventory panel is not already open, select View > Inventory.
3. Click the down arrow (indicated in the graphic) and select a channel group from the list.
The Inventory panel shows the inventory (media) for a selected channel group in a table or spreadsheet-style format. You can see the media’s availability, clip ID, name (slug), duration, and the time when it was last modified. A user can select a different channel group using the drop-down arrow in the top right corner of the panel. When a user selects an item in the inventory, further details become available for viewing at the bottom of the panel. The size of the list and details area can be adjusted with the Resize bar that separates the two areas.
For more information on the Inventory panel, see the Avid iNEWS Command User’s Guide.
314
Confirming Functionality with Avid Motion Graphics c
If you are using VDCP and do not have an inventory port configured, you cannot confirm inventory via the Inventory panel in Command.
n
There can be a delay of approximately 2 minutes for the inventory to appear after creating a channel group. Also, ensure that you check both video and graphic (character generator) assets.
Confirming Functionality with Avid Motion Graphics
Once you have created a project to test with, you can confirm functionality by doing the following:
•
Starting the Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Server
•
•
Starting the Avid Motion Graphics Preview Renderers
•
315
Confirming Functionality with Avid Motion Graphics
•
Testing Command Inventory, Playout, and Editing
Starting the Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Server
Starting the Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Server is the second task in confirming functionality.
To start the Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Server:
1. Turn on the Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Server.
2. Click the Avid Motion Graphics Monitor shortcut to start the server applications.
Starting Avid Motion Graphics
Starting the Avid Motion Graphics server is the first task in confirming functionality.
To start Avid Motion Graphics:
1. Turn on the Avid Motion Graphics computer.
2. Start the Avid Motion Graphics application.
3. Click File, > Project > Open and navigate to the X:\TPL folder to open the project.
4. Click the Playout button. This step is required for any playout operation.
5. Open the Advanced Device Manager. This initiates the Open All command. You are now ready to play items in Command.If you have to close and open the UI for any reason, do the following:
Open the Avid Motion Graphics application from your shortcut.
In the Avid Motion Graphics user interface, switch to Playout mode.
In the open Advanced Device Manager, click the Connect button, which initiates the
Open All.
Starting the Avid Motion Graphics Preview Renderers
After starting Avid Motion Graphics and the Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Server, you must start the Avid Motion Graphics Preview Renderers.
To start the Avid Motion Graphics Preview Renderers A & B”
1. On the Avid Motion Graphics preview Renderer computer, click Start > AMGNews Preview
Renderer A.
2. Select File > Project > Open All, and navigate to the X:\TPL folder to open the project.
3. On the Avid Motion Graphics preview Renderer computer, click Start > AMGNews Preview
Renderer B.
316
Confirming Functionality with Avid Motion Graphics
4. Select File > Project > Open All, and navigate to the X:\TPL folder to open the project.
Testing the Journalist Client
After starting the Avid Motion Graphics Preview Renderers, you can test the functionality of the
Avid Motion Graphics client.
To test the Journalist client:
1. Open the AMG Journalist client.
2. Double-click an item to open it in the template editor.
3. Add replacement data and click Save.
The new item should appear in the Graphic Database area list with a unique ID for the item.
4. Open the new item and edit the first replaceable field.
5. Click Save and confirm that the data has updated.
6. Open the created item and click the Preview button.
7. Confirm that the correct replacement data appears.
8. Open the created item and click the Movie button.
9. Confirm that the item appears with motions and correct replacement data.
10. Create several more items and drag them into the rundown.
11. Create a hand-entered item.
12. Designate one of the items as a library graphic and drag into a playlist.
13. MON Load the show, and confirm that all graphics appear in the Command playlist.
Testing Command Inventory, Playout, and Editing
After confirming functionality of the Avid Motion Graphics Journalist Client, you must test the
Command inventory, playout, and editing functionality.
To test Command inventory, playout, and editing:
1. In the Inventory Panel, confirm that you can see the templates from the your project, and the library graphic you created.
2. Confirm that thumbnails appear in the playlist.
3. Lock channel group: t Confirm that the replacement fields update (if not already updated).
t Cue and play items – confirm on output.
317
Testing Workflow
4. Open item in media viewer and change replacement data: t Confirm that data is updated in the playlist.
t Confirm that the thumbnail updates.
t Open the item in the Avid Motion Graphics Journalist client, and confirm that the replacement data has also changed here.
5. Play the cued item. Confirm that it appears on the output, and that the next item cues as expected. Eject the item from the program channel.
Testing Workflow
The person testing the system’s workflow should have a basic working knowledge of the various systems that interact with Command, such as the newsroom computer system as well as the
Command client application.
n
For basic user information on Avid iNEWS, iNEWS Command, or other integrated Avid products, see the User’s Guides and help systems that accompany each product.
To test workflow:
1. Create an iNEWS rundown with stories that contain graphic and video events. a.
If you use hand-entered machine control events, test that by entering some into new and existing stories.
b.
If you are using a plug-in, such as Avid Deko Select or Avid Thunder Select, open the plug-in and test it as well by using it to insert events into stories.
2. Load the rundown. (For Avid iNEWS, this means to turn on and load the monitor server.)
3. At a Command Workstation, start the Command client application.
4. Confirm that the newsroom playlist associated with that rundown appears in the Playlist
Explorer.
318
Testing Workflow
5. Open the playlist.
6. Lock all channel groups.
7. Play video and graphic events. Ensure that they appear as expected on the video monitors, and check to make certain that available and unavailable items are correctly reported.
8. Rearrange stories in the newsroom rundown and ensure that the items in the newsroom playlist at the Command Workstation adjust accordingly.
319
Index
Index
Symbols
A
Add Lookup Service dialog box
Add New Event dialog box
Add Panel dialog box
Add Workgroup dialog box
AirSpeed channel groups
configuring device services
configuring services for thumbnails 62
AirSpeed Multi Stream
configuring Command workgroup
configuring Interplay workgroup
configuring the device service 83
device integration checklist
install Service Framework
installing the device service
Apply Studio Settings dialog box
Avid
Avid Deko
configure the device service 181
device integration checklist
installing device services 158
Avid Deko Renderer service
Avid Graphics Select
,
Avid iNEWS
320 configuring
mailboxes
plug-ins
queue properties
Avid iNEWS Communication Service
Avid Interplay Agent Service
Avid MOS Communication Service 46
Avid Service Configuration application
Avid Service Framework
Diagnostic Log Viewer
Email Alerter
Lookup Service
Multicast Repeater
,
SNMP Gateway
Time Synchronization
Workgroup Properties
Avid Thunder
configure the device service 199
device integration checklist
installing device services 192
Avid Workgroup Properties
Avid_License_Setup.exe
B
Backup server
C
Channel groups creating
defined
editing
redundancy
Channel-specific actions
Checklists
Command client installation
Command Server installation 20
Multi Stream installation
setting up the GPI panel
setting up X-keys USB keypad
Thunder integration
,
Chyron configuring
configuring LUCI plug-in for ActiveX 148 configuring Lyric 148
installing the Graphic device service 113 ,
installing the Graphic Inventory Editor
Command configuring second system
import graphic inventory from iNEWS
monitoring system status
pre-installation checklist
system architecture
Command Server installation checklist
installing software
Command workgroup, configure for Multi Stream 85
Command Workstation alternative keypad device
disabling keyboard
installation checklist
installing software
using X-keys
configuration lines, example of 282
Console commands iNEWS
321
Index
variations of list
D
Deko
configuration checklist
configuring device services
installation checklist
integration checklist
MOS ID
user settings
Deko Renderer, configuring the service
Deko Select
DekoMOS Gateway configuring
Net HASP dongle
DekoMOS Gateway Configuration dialog box 167
DekoMOS Macro Server configuring
configuring styles
Destination Folder dialog box 115 ,
Device numbers
Device services
Avid Video
configuring
configuring Deko Renderer service
configuring Interplay Agent service
Diagnostic log viewer
Dialog boxes
Add Lookup Service
Add New Event
Add Panel
Add Workgroup
Apply Studio Settings
DekoMOS Gateway Configuration
Destination Folder
Queue Properties
System Settings
Digital recorder
Documentation for Command
dongle
Duration
E
Email Alerter service
ENPS configure Deko Select
configure MOS redirection
integration
Event types
F
Functionality, confirming 233 ,
G
Gateway settings
GIE configuring
importing from iNEWS
working with styles
working with templates
GPI card
GPI device enabling the panel
restart the device service 256
GPI events
GPI Out
GPI panel checklist
322
Graphic device service
Chyron integration
configuring
configuring for LUCI plug-in 148
,
Graphic Inventory Editor configuring
working with templates
Graphic styles
Graphic templates
H
Harris Nexio
Health Monitor
I
Icons
DekoMOS Gateway
Macro Server
transfer status
iNEWS
configuring
ed command line editor
mailboxes
play while record
SYSTEM.MAP for styles
iNEWS Command
MOS ID
iNEWS Servers
Index
configuration file
host definition
Installation
Avid Deko Select
Command on a server
,
determining disk space
Service Framework software on Multi Stream
Interplay Agent service
Interplay workgroup, configuring for Multi Stream 81
Inventory panel
confirming media availability
K
Keyboard alternative keypad device
L
Level
License manager
configuring
Licenses activation file
temporary
list command, variations of
Lookup tab, configuring
LUCI plug-in
M
Machine Monitor service
Macro server
assigning to rundown queue 283
defined
Mapping GPI events to actions 258
323
MiniMon column
Mirrored playout
channel groups
listing assigned mailboxes 283
MOS protocol
described
MOS settings
editing
MOS-based newsroom configuration
MOS-Map story
Multi Stream
installation checklist
play while record
Multicast Repeater service
N
Net HASP Connection Settings 169
Net HASP dongle
O
Omneon
configuring the video device service 50
Online support
P
Paths
Playlist Viewer
Index
configuring
Plug-ins
Procedures
add the permanent license
assign a style to standalone playlist
checking system status
configure a second Command system
configure Avid Video device service (Omneon)
configure Avid Video device service (VDCP)
configure Chyron integration 145
configure Command for MOS-based NRCS 295
configure Command workgroup properties 85
configure Deko Renderer service
configure Deko Select for ENPS 304
configure DekoMOS Macro Server
configure for VDCP redundancy
configure Interplay workgroup properties 81
configure Lookup tab
configure MOS redirection for ENPS
configure the Avid Thunder device service
configure the Deko device service
configure the DekoMOS Gateway 167
configure the ENPS MOS settings
configure the GPI card’s board settings
configure the Graphic device service
configure the License service 35
configure the Multi Stream device service 83
configure the Thunder
configure workgroup properties for Thunder 198
configuring LUCI plug-in 148 configuring Lyric 148
configuring the Graphic Inventory Editor
confirm GPI panel setup
confirm running of NetHASP License Manager
confirming inventory
connect the New HASP Dongle 164
control playout with numeric keypad
copy install CD to local directory
create & configure monitor server
324
Index
create the ThunderMOS.cfg file 203
create the ThunderMOS.ini file
delete a channel group
edit a channel group
edit the Map story in iNEWS
edit the SYSTEM.MOS-MAP story 270
enable a GPI panel to control a playlist
enable or disable the keyboard
generate an activation file
import graphic inventory from iNEWS
install an X-keys USB keypad 245
install Avid Deko Select
install Avid Service Framework on a workstation
install Avid Thunder Select
install Service Framework on a server 24
install Service Framework on a workstation
install Service Framework on Multi Stream 76
install software on a Command Server
install software on a Command Workstation
,
install the Deko device software
install the DekoMOS Gateway 164
install the DekoMOS Macro Server
install the Graphic device service
install the Graphic Inventory Editor 133
install the License service
install the Multi Stream device service
install the Thunder device software
map an index to a channel name
map GPI events to actions
play while record with ENPS 88 play while record with iNEWS 88
play while record with standalone playlist
restart the GPI device service
specify inventory path in GIE 137
start Workgroup Properties 313
test workflow
view advanced MOS settings
view the Queue Properties dialog box
Q
Queue form, explained
Queue Properties dialog box
R
Redundancy channel groups
configuring the Lookup tab
Rover button
S
Secondary Command systems
Serial connections
Services
,
Site licenses
SNMP Gateway
Starting
System settings
indices
System Settings dialog box
SYSTEM.MAP
T
Thumbnails, installing services for
Thunder
325 configuring device services
integration checklist
MOS ID
Time Synchronization service
Transfer status icon
Trigger
Troubleshooting
U
V
VDCP
configuring for mirrored playback 61
configuring the device service 58
installing the device service
Video server
channel groups
W
Workgroup Properties
restarting GPI device service
X
X-keys
checklist
XML-based protocol
Index
Avid
75 Network Drive
Burlington, MA 01803-2756 USA
Technical Support (USA)
Visit the Online Support Center at www.avid.com/support
Product Information
For company and product information, visit us on the web at www.avid.com
Herunterladen
Werbung