M
ICROSOFT
VIS S
OFTWARE
User Guide en
Software Version
Microscope VIS basic
Table of Contents
Microsoft VIS Software ........................................................................................................................ 1
Table of Contents .................................................................................................................................. 2
About this help ....................................................................................................................................... 5
Help menu ......................................................................................................................................... 5
Text formats and conventions ................................................................................................... 5
Microscope VIS workspace ................................................................................................................ 6
Header ................................................................................................................................................ 6
Ribbon ................................................................................................................................................ 7
File (Backstage) ......................................................................................................................... 7
Capture ........................................................................................................................................ 8
Format .......................................................................................................................................... 9
Measurements .......................................................................................................................... 9
View ........................................................................................................................................... 10
Help ........................................................................................................................................... 10
Navigation Pane ........................................................................................................................... 10
Display area ................................................................................................................................... 11
Measurement Results ................................................................................................................. 11
Command Line Parameters ...................................................................................................... 11
Operating .............................................................................................................................................. 14
Control Window ........................................................................................................................... 14
Manage Data ................................................................................................................................. 14
Open File .................................................................................................................................. 14
Save Image .............................................................................................................................. 15
Save Image Changes ........................................................................................................... 17
Close Image ............................................................................................................................ 18
Delete Image .......................................................................................................................... 18
Print Image .............................................................................................................................. 18
Export Data ............................................................................................................................. 20
Connect Camera .......................................................................................................................... 20
View Images Stream ................................................................................................................... 20
Create Snapshots ......................................................................................................................... 21
Adjust Snapshot Settings ................................................................................................... 21
Take Single Snapshot .......................................................................................................... 24
Create Time Lapse ................................................................................................................ 24
Adjust Camera Settings ............................................................................................................. 24
Common Camera Settings ................................................................................................ 25
Exposure ............................................................................................................................ 25
White Balance.................................................................................................................. 25
Color Mode ...................................................................................................................... 25
Resolution ......................................................................................................................... 25
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
2
Area of Interest ............................................................................................................... 26
Advanced Camera Settings ............................................................................................... 26
Rename Camera .................................................................................................................... 27
Process Images ............................................................................................................................. 28
Zoom in or out....................................................................................................................... 28
Quickly zoom in or out of an image (video) ........................................................ 28
Choose a particular zoom setting ............................................................................ 28
Brightness/Contrast ............................................................................................................. 29
Gamma ..................................................................................................................................... 31
Histogram ................................................................................................................................ 32
Hue, Saturation, Lightness ................................................................................................. 32
RGB ............................................................................................................................................ 34
Invert colors ............................................................................................................................ 35
Blur ............................................................................................................................................. 35
Sharpen .................................................................................................................................... 36
Edges ......................................................................................................................................... 38
Morphological Filters .......................................................................................................... 38
Rotate Image .......................................................................................................................... 38
Crop Image ............................................................................................................................. 39
Image Size ............................................................................................................................... 40
Resize Image .................................................................................................................... 41
Resample Image ............................................................................................................. 42
Perform Measurements ............................................................................................................. 42
Calibrate Camera .................................................................................................................. 42
Create New Calibration ................................................................................................ 43
Apply Calibration to an Image .................................................................................. 43
Manage Calibrations ..................................................................................................... 44
Measure Objects ................................................................................................................... 44
Modify Measurements ........................................................................................................ 47
Select Measurement Figure ....................................................................................... 47
Move and Scale Measurement Figure .................................................................... 48
Change Measurement Figure Color, Font and Size ........................................... 48
Cut / Copy / Paste Measurement Figure ............................................................... 49
Hide Measurement Figure .......................................................................................... 51
Show/Hide a Measurement Result .......................................................................... 52
Use the Format Painter ................................................................................................ 52
Count Objects ........................................................................................................................ 52
Add Text and Annotations ................................................................................................ 53
Ruler, Grid and Scale Bar .......................................................................................................... 54
Show Ruler ....................................................................................................................... 54
Show Grid ......................................................................................................................... 56
Show Scale Bar ................................................................................................................ 58
Recording Video .......................................................................................................................... 59
Adjust Recording Settings ................................................................................................. 60
Video Player ................................................................................................................................... 63
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
3
View Microscope VIS Help ....................................................................................................... 64
Shortcuts list ......................................................................................................................................... 65
Index........................................................................................................................................................ 66
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
4
About this help
This Help has been prepared to help you get started with your Microscope VIS application.
The Microscope VIS application lets you capture images and video from digital cameras connected to microscopes, process and analyze them.
Help menu
Content
Shows the content of the help file in a tree structure. Click on the book symbols to open subchapters.
Index
Contains a collections of index entries. Click on an entry in the list to open the related help topic.
Search
Enter a search word where you search help for. The search results will be shown as a list.
Simply click on a list entry to open the related help topic.
Text formats and conventions
The Microscope VIS Help uses the following documentation conventions:
1.
Bold
This is a numbered step in a process.
Indicates a control, such as window, tab, panel, text box, button, spin box, list box, etc.
<Key> Indicates a key to press in order to perform an action.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
5
Microscope VIS workspace
Main interface elements:
Header;
Ribbon;
Navigation Pane;
Display Area;
Measurement results panel;
Header
Use the Header menu to:
Save data
Undo/Redo actions
View help file
Control windows size and exit the Microscope VIS
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
6
Ribbon
Use the Ribbon to access to main application functions.
The Ribbon contains following tabs:
File;
Capture;
Format;
Measurements;
View;
Help.
File (Backstage)
Use the ribbon tab File to open the Backstage view:
Watch meta information about images or videos ( Info tab );
Open images or videos;
Save images or videos;
Export data;
Print data;
Watch information about current version of the application;
Exit the Microscope VIS application.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
7
Capture
Use the ribbon tab Capture to:
View streaming;
Create snapshots;
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
8
Setup snapshot and time lapse settings;
Setup camera settings;
Record video.
Format
Use the ribbon tab Format to process images:
Select measurements shapes;
Pan around the image;
Change image parameters;
Apply different filters to the image;
Rotate images;
Crop Image;
Resize/Resample image.
Measurements
Use the tab Measurements to:
Select measurements shapes;
Pan around the image;
Calibrate camera;
Perform measurements;
Add text and marks to the image.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
9
View
Use the ribbon tab View to:
View image in the full screen mode;
Set view image preferences;
Zoom image.
Help
Use the ribbon tab Help to view the Microscope VIS application user guide.
Navigation Pane
Use the Navigation Pane to:
View list of cameras (devices);
View list of images (snapshots);
View list of videos (recordings).
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
10
Display area
Use the Display Area to:
View camera streaming;
View images (snapshots);
Change images views;
View videos (recordings) in the video player.
Measurement Results
Use the Measurement Results panel to view measurement results.
Command Line Parameters
The application command line parameters come in two variants: a short one and a long one.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
11
In the short variant the parameter is written as a hyphen immediately followed by a single letter and optionally a value (or values) separated by a space character. Some parameters do not have the short variant.
In the long variant, the parameter is written as two hyphen immediately followed be a parameter name (two or more letters) and optionally a value (or values) separated by a space character.
No whitespace is allowed between hyphens or hyphen and parameter name.
The parameters are separated by space characters.
Short Variant Long Variant Description Examples Remarks
-u
<language_name>
--uiculture
<language_name>
Overrides the application language set in options.
<language_name> can be one of the following:
en
de
es
it
fr
-u de
--uiculture fr
-c <culture_code> --culture
<culture_code >
-i
<instance_name>
--instance
<instance_name>
Overrides the default culture used for formatting and string comparison.
If not specified, current windows culture will be used.
<culture_code> can be any valid ISO 639-1 culture code.
Instance name. Can be used to run a separate application instance.
-c fr
-c de-AT
--culture it
--culture ru-
RU
-i my_new_insta nce
--instance some_instanc e
Not recommen ded to use!
The second instance may not be able to access
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
12
-o <file_paths>
-r
--open
<file_paths>
--resetlayout
--resetsettings
Opens the specified files.
Each file path should be enclosed in quotation marks.
The paths must be separated by a whitespace.
-o
"C:\MyFile.jpg
"
-o
"C:\F1.png"
"C:\F2.jpg"
--open
“D:\File.mvisx
”
--resetlayout some cameras.
Resets the application layout.
Resets all application settings to their default values.
-r
-resetsettings
More complex example:
MicroscopeVIS.exe -u fr -o "C:\File1.jpg" "C:\File2.png" --resetlayout
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
13
Operating
See the chapters Control Window, Manage Data, Connect Camera, View Images Stream
, Create
Snapshots, Adjust Camera Settings, Process Images, Perform Measurements, Ruler, Grid and
Scale Bar, Recording Video, Video Player, View Microscope VIS Help .
Control Window
Use the header menu to control size of the Microscope VIS window.
Click the Collapse button to turn down Microscope VIS window into the taskbar.
Click the Expand button to expand Microscope VIS window.
Click the Close button to close Microscope VIS window and exit the application.
Manage Data
To manage your data use the File tab on the Ribbon.
Open File
To open an image or a video file do the following:
1.
Click File > Open .
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
14
2.
Do any of the following:
Click one of the file (image or video) names from the Recent Files list. The
Microscope VIS opens the selected file.
Click Computer tab and open one of the recent locations or click Browse . Select your file and click Open .
Save Image
To save an image do the following:
1.
Click File > Save As (alternatively – right-click the image in the Display Area and click Save as on the context menu).
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
15
2.
Select a file type and adjust file options.
Note: the Microscope VIS allows you to save images in the following types (formats):
MicroscopeVIS files ( *.mvisx
) – a custom Microscope VIS format;
JPEG files (*.jpg);
Portable Network Graphics ( *.png
);
Tagged Image File ( *.tiff
);
Windows Bitmap ( *.bmp
).
You are able to open images in other formats in read only (it depends on installed drivers in the operation system), but to save only in the above formats.
MicroscopeVIS files (*.mvisx) is a custom Microscope VIS format. This format allows storing image, meta information and editable measurement elements in one file.
There is a chance you will not be able to open images in this format in another external image editor. To do this save the image in .jpg, .png, .tiff or .bmp format.
The following save options are available:
File Type
MicroscopeVIS files ( *.mvisx
)
File Options
Compression (use this option to control the image quality; you can set here one of the following kinds of compression: super-fast, fast, normal, maximum or uncompressed)
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
16
Color depth (use this option to save image as color image or as grayscale image)
JPEG files ( *.jpg
) Quality (use this option to control the image quality; you can set the quality of the image in percent: 1% until 100%)
Portable Network Graphics ( *.png
) Color depth (use this option to save image as color or as grayscale image)
Tagged Image File ( *.tiff
) Compression (use this option if you want to compress the image)
Color depth (use this option to save image as color image or as grayscale image)
Windows Bitmap ( *.bmp
) Color depth (use this option to save image as color image or as grayscale image)
Additional File Options
The following additional file options are available for the formats .jpg, .png, .tiff or .bmp:
Burn-in measurements and annotations (if you select this option all the measurements and annotations will be merged with the current image into one raster image and you will not be able to edit them anymore. It might be helpful if you want to open this image in another application and want to see measurements shapes on this picture);
Save measurements and annotations for a further processing (if you select this option all the measurements and annotations will be saved in a separate file with extension .mvisl. You will be able to edit them further);
Burn-in ruler (if you select this option vertical and horizontal rulers will be shown on the image).
3.
Click the Save As button, enter a file name, select a preferred location and then click the Save button in the dialog box.
Save Image Changes
To save image changes do any of the following:
Click Save on the Quick Access Toolbar or
Click File > Save, or
Right-click the image in the Display Area and click Save on the context menu.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
17
Close Image
To close an image do any of the following:
Click Close in the image tab title;
Right-click the image tab title and click Close ;
Right-click the image and click Close .
Delete Image
1.
Do any of the following:
Right-click the image preview in the Images List and click Delete ;
Right-click the image in the Display Area and click Delete ;
2.
Click Yes in the Delete File dialog box.
Print Image
1.
Open/select an image you want to print.
2.
Click File > Print . On the right, you will see your image.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
18
3.
Click the Print button.
The image can be split into several pages. To see each page, click the arrow at the bottom of the preview, and if the image is too small or too big, use the zoom slider to adjust it.
You can use the following settings:
Setting
Orientation
Description
Paper Size
Scaling
Use this setting to print your image in the Portrait or in the Landscape Orientation .
Use this setting to set the Paper Size .
Burn-in Ruler
Use this setting to print your image in the original size ( No Scaling ) or fit to one page ( Fit On Page ).
Select this option to print vertical and horizontal rulers on your image.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
19
Export Data
To export data do the following.
1.
Open/select an image you want to export.
2.
Click the File > Export .
3.
Click the Word Document tab or the Excel Document tab to export image in the
Microsoft Word or in the Microsoft Excel format.
4.
Click the Create button, enter a file name, select a preferred location and then click the Save button.
Connect Camera
Connect your camera to the computer using USB (the driver should have been installed together with the basic installation).
You will see a new item in the Devices list and the message “The camera [camera name] is connected”.
View Images Stream
To view the camera images stream in real-time, connect your camera to the computer and do any of the following:
On the Capture tab, click Start , or
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
20
In the Devices List , right-click your camera and click Start Streaming on the context menu, or
Double-click your camera in the Devices List.
To stop streaming do any of the following:
On the Capture tab, click Stop , or
In the Devices List , right-click your camera and click Stop Streaming on the context menu.
Create Snapshots
The Microscope VIS application allows you to take single snapshots and to create time
lapses. See also the chapters Adjust Snapshot Settings, Take Single Snapshot and Create
Time Lapse.
Adjust Snapshot Settings
To adjust the snapshot settings follow the steps below.
1.
On the Capture tab, click Snapshot Settings.
The Snapshot Settings dialog box appears.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
21
2.
Adjust the Snapshot Settings (see the table below).
Setting
File Type
Description
Use this setting to select the file type of snapshots.
You are able to save your snapshots in the following formats:
Microscope VIS files (*.mvisx);
JPEG files (*.jpg);
Portable Network Graphics (*.png);
Tagged Image File (*.tiff);
Windows Bitmap (*.bmp).
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
22
Compression To decrease the snapshot size you can compress it.
Use the Compression box to set compression type.
See also Save Image chapter.
Save snapshot as grayscale If you want to save your snapshots as grayscale images, select this checkbox.
Capture additional snapshot in the last second
By default snapshots are taken like in the following example: if you set the settings to take snapshots each 5 seconds during 15 seconds, only 3 snapshots will be taken: the first one in the first second, the second one in the fifth second, and the third one in the tenth second.
If you want to take an additional snapshot in the fifteenth second (in the last second) select this checkbox.
Auto save snapshot to a file If you want to save your snapshots to a preferred location, select the checkbox Auto save snapshot to a file and enter a File Path .
Open new snapshots in tabs after Snap
Select this checkbox to open new snapshots in tabs in the Display Area.
Image Size
Snapshot Naming
If you want to save your snapshots in original resolution, select the Original Size checkbox.
If you want to save your snapshots in custom resolution, clear the Original Size checkbox and enter Width and Height of the image.
Snapshot’s name has the following format:
{Prefix}_{DateTime:yyyyMMddHHmmss}_{Counter}.
For example Snapshot_20150512115307_1.
You can change the Prefix and Counter value
(Initial Counter Value).
3.
Click OK to save the Snapshot Settings.
These settings will be applied only to the current session and only for the selected camera. That means, if you reopen the Microscope VIS application, the default settings will be used for this camera.
4.
Click Set as Default if you want to save your settings as default settings. These new default settings will be used as default settings for other cameras.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
23
5.
Click Reset , if you have made some changes and want to set all the settings to default values.
6.
Click Cancel to discard all the changes.
Take Single Snapshot
To take a single snapshot do the following:
1.
Start Streaming
(View Images Stream) from your camera (see also the chapter View
Images Stream).
2.
Click the Single button.
Create Time Lapse
To create time lapse do the following.
1.
Start Streaming
(View Images Stream) from your camera (see also the chapter View
Images Stream).
2.
In the Duration box and in the Interval box, enter the duration and the interval of the snapshotting.
For example if you want to take snapshots each 5 seconds during 1 minute, enter the
Duration 1 min and the Interval 5 sec.
3.
Click Sequence .
Adjust Camera Settings
Some of the common and most usable Camera Settings are placed directly on the Ribbon , other settings are available in the dialog box Advanced Settings .
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
24
Common Camera Settings
Exposure
To set the Exposure automatically according to the environment:
On the Capture tab, click the Auto Exposure button.
White Balance
To set the White Balance automatically according to the environment:
On the Capture tab, click the White Balance button.
Color Mode
To change the Color Mode do the following:
On the Capture tab, click the Color Mode button and select a color mode.
Resolution
To change the Resolution of the Streaming do the following:
On the Capture tab, click the Resolution button and select a Resolution.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
25
Area of Interest
If you want to view only a specific area, apply the Area of Interest. To draw an Area of Interest do the following:
1.
Click the AOI/Full Frame button and draw an area of interest on your image.
2.
Click the <ENTER> to display only this area.
3.
Click the AOI/Full Frame button once again to display the image in the full frame mode.
Advanced Camera Settings
To adjust the Advanced Camera Settings do the following.
1.
Select your camera and click the Advanced Settings button on the Capture tab, or right-click your camera, and click Settings on the context menu.
You will see the Camera Settings dialog box. The content of this dialog box depends on the type of your camera. It is not described here in detail. For example:
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
26
2.
Adjust camera settings. They are applied at once.
3.
Click Close .
Rename Camera
To rename camera do the following.
1.
Right-click your camera in the Devices List and click Rename on the context menu.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
27
2.
Enter a new camera name.
3.
Press <ENTER> or lose the focus.
Process Images
To adjust the image format and apply filters to the image use the Format Ribbon tab.
Zoom in or out
You can zoom in to get a close-up view of your image (or video) or zoom out to see more of the image (or video) at a reduced size. You can also choose a particular zoom setting.
Quickly zoom in or out of an image (video)
To zoom in or out your image (or video) do the following:
1.
On the status bar, click the Zoom slider.
2.
Slide to the percentage zoom setting that you want. Click - or + to zoom in gradual increments.
Choose a particular zoom setting
You can choose how much of an image (or video) you view on the screen.
Do any of the following:
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
28
On the View tab, in the Zoom group, click Original Size . This returns the view to
100% zoom.
On the View tab, in the Zoom group, click Fit to View .
On the status bar, click Original Size . This returns the view to 100% zoom.
On the status bar, click Fit to View .
Brightness/Contrast
To adjust the brightness and contrast levels of the image do the following.
1.
On the Format tab, in the group Adjust , click the Brightness Contrast button.
The Brightness / Contrast dialog box appears.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
29
2.
Change the Brightness setting using the slider or enter a level value in the Brightness box.
3.
Change the Contrast setting using the slider or enter a level value in the Contrast box.
4.
Click OK . The settings are applied.
5.
Click Reset to set all values the default values.
6.
Click Cancel to discard all the changes and close the current window.
Zoom in or out of the image preview:
1.
Under the image preview, click the Zoom slider.
2.
Slide to the percentage zoom setting that you want. Click - or + to zoom in gradual increments.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
30
Gamma
To adjust the gamma of the image do the following:
1.
On the Format tab, in the group Adjust , click the Gamma button.
The Gamma dialog box appears.
2.
Change the Gamma setting using the slider or enter a value in the Gamma box..
3.
Click OK . The setting is applied.
4.
Click Reset to set all values the default values.
5.
Click Cancel to discard all the changes and close the current window.
Zoom in or out of the image preview:
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
31
1.
Under the image preview, click the Zoom slider.
2.
Slide to the percentage zoom setting that you want. Click - or + to zoom in gradual increments.
Histogram
To view the Histogram of the image do the following.
1.
On the Format tab, in the group Adjust , click the Histogram button.
The dockable Histogram panel appears.
2.
Select a channel in the Channel box (RGB, Red, Green or Blue for RGB images;
Grayscale for grayscale images).
Hue, Saturation, Lightness
To adjust the Hue, Saturation, Lightness levels on a range of color weights for the image do the following.
1.
On the Format tab, in the group Adjust , click the HSL button.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
32
The HSL dialog box appears.
2.
Change the Hue setting using the slider or enter a value in the Hue box.
3.
Change the Saturation setting using the slider or enter a value in the Saturation box.
4.
Change the Lightness setting using the slider or enter a value in the Lightness box.
5.
Click OK . The settings are applied.
6.
Click Reset to set all values the default values.
7.
Click Cancel to discard all the changes and close the current window.
Zoom in or out of the image preview:
1.
Under the image preview, click the Zoom slider.
2.
Slide to the percentage zoom setting that you want. Click - or + to zoom in gradual increments.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
33
RGB
To adjust the red, green and blue levels of the image do the following.
1.
On the Format tab, in the group Adjust , click the RGB button.
The RGB dialog box appears.
2.
Change the Red level using the slider or enter a level value in the Red box.
3.
Change the Green level using the slider or enter a level value in the Green box.
4.
Change the Blue level using the slider or enter a level value in the Blue box.
5.
Click OK . The settings are applied.
6.
Click Reset to set all values the default values.
7.
Click Cancel to discard all the changes and close the current window.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
34
Zoom in or out of the image preview:
1.
Under the image preview, click the Zoom slider.
2.
Slide to the percentage zoom setting that you want. Click - or + to zoom in gradual increments.
Invert colors
To invert colors of your image do the following:
1.
On the Format tab, in the group Adjust , click the Invert button to invert all the pixel colors and brightness values in the image.
2.
Click this button again to invert these values to the previous state.
Blur
To apply the Simple Blur filter to your image do the following:
On the Format tab, in the group Filter , click the Blur button and then click Blur . The filter is applied.
To apply the Gaussian Blur filter to your image do the following:
1.
On the Format tab, in the group Filter , click the Blur button and then click Gaussian
Blur .
The Gaussian Blur dialog box appears.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
35
2.
Change the Radius using the slider or enter a value in the Radius box.
3.
Click OK . The filter is applied.
4.
Click Reset to set all values the default values.
5.
Click Cancel to discard all the changes and close the current window.
Zoom in or out of the image preview:
1.
Under the image preview, click the Zoom slider.
2.
Slide to the percentage zoom setting that you want. Click - or + to zoom in gradual increments.
Sharpen
To apply the Simple Sharpen filter to your image do the following:
On the Format tab, in the group Filter , click the Sharpen button and then click
Sharpen . The filter is applied.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
36
To apply the Gaussian Sharpen filter to your image do the following:
1.
On the Format tab, in the group Filter , click the Sharpen button and then click
Gaussian Sharpen .
The Gaussian Sharpen dialog box appears.
2.
Change the Radius using the slider or enter a value in the Radius box.
3.
Click OK . The filter is applied.
4.
Click Reset to set all values the default values.
5.
Click Cancel to discard all the changes and close the current window.
Zoom in or out of the image preview:
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
37
1.
Under the image preview, click the Zoom slider.
2.
Slide to the percentage zoom setting that you want. Click - or + to zoom in gradual increments.
Edges
To detect contours of objects on your image:
On the Capture tab, in the group Filter , click the Edges button. The filter is applied.
Morphological Filters
To apply Morphological filters to your image do the following.
1.
On the Format tab, in the group Filter , click the Morphological button and then click one of the following filters:
Erosion;
Dilatation;
Opening;
Closing.
The filter is applied.
Rotate Image
To rotate your image do the following:
1.
On the Format tab, in the group Arrange , click the Rotation button.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
38
2.
Click one of the following kinds of rotation or flip:
Rotate Right 90°;
Rotate Left 90°;
Rotate 180°;
Flip Horizontal;
Flip Vertical.
The arrangement is applied.
Crop Image
To crop your image do the following.
1.
On the tab Format , in the Size group, click the Crop button.
The contextual tab Crop appears on the Ribbon and a rectangle appears on the image.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
39
2.
If necessary, adjust the cropping rectangle:
To move the rectangle to another position, place the pointer inside the rectangle and drag, or in the group Location and Size , enter X and Y position of the rectangle.
To scale the rectangle, drag a handle, or in the group Location and Size , enter
Width and Height of the image.
3.
Do one of the following:
Click the Crop Image button to crop the current image.
Click the Create New Image button to create new from the cropping rectangle and open it in a new tab.
Image Size
To change the image size use Image Size dialog box (on the Format tab, in the group Size , click the Resize button.)
The Image Size dialog box appears.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
40
When you use the Image Size dialog box to resize your images, three aspects of your image can change:
Pixel dimensions: The width and height of the image.
Physical size: size of the image when printed, including a width and height.
Image resolution when printed: This value appears in pixels per inch or pixels per centimeter.
The Microscope VIS application calculates the physical size, resolution, and pixel dimensions of an image as follows:
Physical size = pixel dimensions / resolution
Resolution = pixel dimensions / physical size
Pixel dimensions = physical size x resolution
The Image Size dialog box allows you to resize your images in two ways. You can increase or decrease the amount of data in the image (resampling). Or, you can maintain the same amount of data in the image (resizing without resampling). When you resample, the image quality can degrade to some extent.
Resize Image
To resize your image do the following:
1.
On the Format tab, in the group Size , click the Resize button.
2.
Make sure that the Resample Image checkbox is clear. If clear, you can change the
Physical Size and Resolution without changing the total number of pixels in the image.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
41
3.
To maintain the current aspect ratio, select Constrain Aspect Ratio . This option automatically updates the width as you change the height, and vice versa.
4.
Under Pixel Dimensions , enter new values for the Height and Width , or
5.
Under Physical Size , enter new values for the Height , Width and Resolution . If desired, select a new unit of measurement.
6.
Click OK .
Resample Image
To resample your image do the following:
1.
On the Format tab, in the group Size , click the Resize button.
2.
Select Resample Image .
3.
To maintain the current aspect ratio, select Constrain Aspect Ratio . This option automatically updates the width as you change the height, and vice versa.
4.
Under Pixel Dimensions , enter new values for the Height and Width .
5.
Click OK .
Perform Measurements
To perform measurements use the Measurements Ribbon tab.
See the results of your measurements in the Measurement Results panel.
Calibrate Camera
The Microscope VIS application allows creating new calibrations, applying these calibrations
to your images and managing them. See also the chapters Create New Calibration, Apply
Calibration to an Image and Manage Calibrations.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
42
Create New Calibration
To calibrate your camera do the following:
1.
On the Measurements tab, in the group Calibration , click the New button.
2.
Draw the reference line on the image of the stage micrometer.
The New Calibration dialog box appears.
3.
Enter the name, distance, number of units and unit.
4.
Click Save .
The new calibration appears in the Apply Calibration list.
Apply Calibration to an Image
To apply a calibration to your image do the following:
1.
Open your image.
2.
On the Measurements tab, in the group Calibration , click the Apply Calibration button and then click one of calibrations. If there is no calibrations in this list, create
a new one (see also the chapter Create New Calibration).
The calibration applies to your image. You can see it in the status bar.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
43
Manage Calibrations
To manage your calibrations do the following:
1.
On the Measurements tab, in the group Calibration , click the Manage calibration button.
The Manage Calibration dialog box appears.
2.
Do any of the following:
To change a calibration, enter new Name, Factor or Unit of measurements and then click Save .
To delete a calibration, select one of the calibrations and click Delete , then click
Save .
To set a calibration as default calibration, click Set As Default . In this case, the default calibration will be used to other images, that you open.
Measure Objects
To measure objects on your images you can use a variety of geometrical figures:
Figure Description
Single Line.
Parallel Lines.
Polyline.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
44
Angle.
Linear Angle.
Circle by Radius.
Circle by Diameter.
Circle by 3 Points.
Ellipse.
Rectangle.
Polygon.
To measure objects on your image do the following:
1.
Open your image.
2.
On the Measurements tab, in the group Measurements , choose the corresponding geometrical figure (click the button (Ellipse, Rectangle and Polygon), or click the button and click the desired figure in the list (Lines, Angles and Circles)).
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
45
3.
Draw the figure on the image.
4.
If necessary, adjust the drawn figure:
To move the figure to another position, select the figure using the Select
Measurements button (on the Measurements tab, in the group Tools ) place the pointer over the figure and drag.
To scale the figure, drag a handle.
5.
Double-click to finish drawing of polyline and polygon, if you are drawing these figures.
The measurement results appear in the Measurement Results table and next to the figure in the annotation block. Then you are able to export these results to a Microsoft
Word or Microsoft Excel document (see also the chapter Export Data).
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
46
Modify Measurements
You are able to move, scale, copy/paste measurement figures, to change the color of the measurement figures and annotation text, to change font and size of the annotation text, to apply the formatting of one measurement figure to another one.
Select Measurement Figure
To select a measurement figure (figures) do the following.
1.
On the Format tab or on the Measurements tab, in the group Tools , click the Select
Measurement button. Now you are able to select measurement figures.
2.
Do any of the following:
If you want to select only one figure, place the pointer over a figure and click it.
If you want to select several figures, click and hold the left mouse button somewhere on the image and drag or click one of the figures, then press <Ctrl> key and click other figures.
Click a row in the Measurement Results table to select one figure or press <Ctrl> key and click the rows you want to select.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
47
Move and Scale Measurement Figure
To move the figure to another position, do the following:
1.
Select the figure you want to move (see also the chapter Select Measurement Figure).
2.
Place the pointer over the figure and drag.
To scale the figure, do the following:
1.
Select the figure you want to scale (see also the chapter Select Measurement Figure).
2.
Drag a handle.
Change Measurement Figure Color, Font and Size
To change the color of your measurement figure do the following:
1.
Select the figure (see also the chapter Select Measurement Figure).
2.
On the Measurements tab, in the group Appearance , click the Color button and select a color you want to apply.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
48
To change font and size of the annotation text do the following:
1.
Select the figure (see also the chapter Select Measurement Figure).
2.
On the Measurements tab, in the group Appearance , click the Font box and select a new font, click the Font Size box and select a new font size.
Cut / Copy / Paste Measurement Figure
To cut a measurement figure do the following:
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
49
1.
Select the figure (see also the chapter Select Measurement Figure).
2.
Do one of the following:
On the Measurements tab, in the group Clipboard , click the Cut button.
Press <Ctrl + X>.
Right-click the figure and click Cut on the context menu.
The selected figure is removed and is put to the Clipboard, so you can paste it somewhere else on an image.
To copy a measurement figure do the following:
1.
Select the figure (see also the chapter Select Measurement Figure).
2.
Do one of the following:
On the Measurements tab, in the group Clipboard , click the Copy button.
Press <Ctrl + C>.
Right-click the figure and click Copy on the context menu.
The selected figure is put to the Clipboard, so you can paste it somewhere else on an image.
To paste a measurement figure do the following:
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
50
1.
Cut or copy the figure.
2.
Do one of the following:
Click somewhere on the image and click the Paste button in the tab Clipboard .
Click somewhere on the image and press <Ctrl + V>
Right-click somewhere on the image and then click Paste on the context menu.
Hide Measurement Figure
To hide a measurement figure do one of the following:
Right-click the figure and then click Set Hidden on the context menu.
Clear the Visible checkbox for the corresponding figure in the Measurement
Results table.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
51
Show/Hide a Measurement Result
To hide a measurement result do the following:
1.
Right-click the figure.
2.
Select Edit Annotations on the context menu and clear the corresponding checkbox, e.g. Name .
The Name is hidden now. To show the Name select the corresponding checkbox.
Use the Format Painter
Use the Format Painter on the Measurements tab to copy formatting from one measurement figure to another. Do the following:
1.
Select the figure, which formatting you like.
2.
On the Measurements tab, in the group Clipboard , click Format Painter .
3.
Click the figure you want to change to look the same.
Count Objects
To count objects on your image manually, use the Counter tool on the Measurements tab, in the group Measurements . Do the following:
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
52
1.
On the Measurements tab, in the group Measurements, click the Counters button and then click one of the kinds of counters (Rounded, Rectangular and Diamond).
2.
Click the objects on your image to count them.
Add Text and Annotations
To add text to your image do the following:
1.
On the Measurements tab, in the group Annotations , click the Text button.
2.
Click somewhere on the image or draw an area on the image and enter your text.
3.
Click somewhere else on the image.
To add arrows to your image do the following:
1.
On the Measurements tab, in the group Annotations , click the Text button.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
53
2.
Click somewhere on the image to add the arrow.
Ruler, Grid and Scale Bar
To show Rulers, Grid and Scale Bar use the Show group on the View tab. See also the
chapters Show Ruler, Show Grid and Show Scale Bar.
Show Ruler
To show rulers do one of the following:
On the View tab, in the group Show , select the Ruler checkbox.
Right-click the image and click Ruler on the context menu.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
54
The vertical and horizontal rulers appear.
To shift Ruler Zero do the following:
1.
On the View tab, in the group Show , click the Preferences button.
The Rulers and Grid dialog box appears.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
55
2.
Enter new values of the horizontal and vertical start point of the rulers and select unit of measurement.
3.
Click OK .
Show Grid
To show rulers do on of the following:
On the View tab, in the group Show , select the Grid checkbox.
Right-click the image and click Grid on the context menu.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
56
The grid appears.
To adjust grid preferences do the following:
1.
On the View tab, in the group Show , click the Preferences button.
The Rulers and Grid dialog box appears.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
57
2.
To change the style (Lines, Dashed Lines) and color of the grid lines select new the values in the Color and Style boxes.
3.
To change the distance between grid lines and the number of subdivisions enter new values in Grid line every and Subdivisions boxes.
4.
Click OK .
Show Scale Bar
To show the Scale Bar do one the following:
On the View tab, in the group Show , select the Ruler checkbox.
Right-click the image and click Scale Bar on the context menu.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
58
The Scale Bar appears on the image and the Scale Bar contextual tab appears on the
Ribbon.
To adjust the Scale Bar preferences use the Scale Bar tab.
Recording Video
To record a video from your camera do the following:
1.
Start the streaming from your camera (see the chapter View Images Stream).
2.
On the Capture tab, in the group Recording , click the Start button.
The Recording starts. In the tab of camera stream, you will see the duration of the recorded video.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
59
3.
Click the Pause button to pause the recording.
4.
Click the Stop button to finish the recording.
The new video appears in the Video list.
Adjust Recording Settings
To adjust the recording settings do the following:
1.
On the Capture tab, in the group Recording , click the Settings button.
The Recording Setting dialog box appears.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
60
2.
Adjust the Recording Settings (see the table below).
Setting
File Type
Description
Use this setting to select the file type of the video.
You are able to save your recordings in the following formats:
Audio Video Interleave (.avi);
HD Video (.mov);
HD Video (.mp4);
HD Video (.mpg);
Ms MPEG 4v2;
Ms MPEG 4v3;
RAW.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
61
Codec
Bitrate
Frame Rate
Use this setting to select the codec that will be used to compress your recording.
Use this setting to set the number of bits that are processed per unit of time.
Use this setting to set the frame frequency (FPS – frame per second). Select the value Based on
Source , to get this frequency from your camera.
Warn when hard drive space is less than
To be warned when hard drive space is less than a certain value enter a value in Mb or Gb in this box.
Stop recording if free space less than
Use this setting to set the value of free hard drive space when the recording stops .
Pause preview while recording to improve perfomance
If your computer is “slow”, use this setting to increase the performance when recording a video.
Select this checkbox to pause the stream of images from your camera.
Recording time
Limit recording time
If you want to limit the duration of your video, select
Limit recording time checkbox and use Recording time boxes to enter the certain time.
Select this checkbox to limit the duration of your video. Clear this checkbox to record the video without any time limits.
File Path If you want to save your snapshots to a preferred location, enter a correct existing File Path .
Video Naming Video name has the following format:
{Prefix}_{DateTime:yyyyMMddHHmmss}_{Counter}.
For example Video_20150512115307_1.
You can change the Prefix and Counter value
(Initial Counter Value).
3.
Click OK .
These settings will be applied only to the current session and only for the selected camera. That means, if you reopen the Microscope VIS application, the default settings will be used for this camera.
4.
Click Set as Default if you want to save your settings as default settings. These new default settings will be used as default settings for other cameras.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
62
5.
Click Reset , if you have made some changes and want to set all the settings to default values.
6.
Click Cancel to discard all the changes.
Video Player
To play a video do one of the following:
Open a video file (see the chapter Open File ) and click the
Play button in the Video
Player .
In the Video list, double-click the item to begin playing it.
In the Video list, right-click the item and click Play on the context menu.
To move to a specific point in a video file move the Seek slider.
To stop your video file click Stop button.
To view a video file per frame use the Frame Back and Frame Forward buttons.
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
63
To increase or decrease the speed of the playback, select new speed in the Speed Ratio box.
If necessary, adjust the view of the video:
To set the zoom level so the video fits the visible area of the tab, click the Fit to View button.
To set the zoom level to the original size of the video, click the Original Size button.
To scale the image of the video use the zoom slider.
To play the video in the full screen mode, click the Full Screen button.
View Microscope VIS Help
To view the Microscope VIS Help do one the following:
On the Help tab, click the Show Help button.
Click the button in the Header .
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
64
Shortcuts list
Shortcut
<Ctrl> + <Z>
<Ctrl> + <Y>
<Ctrl> + <A>
<Ctrl> + <C>
<Ctrl> + <V>
Action
Undo - to discard an edit action to the image
Redo - to reapply an edit action to the image
Select all - to select all marked measurements/aanotations
Copy – to copy measurements/annotations onto the clipboard.
Paste – to measurements/annotations on the Clipboard to the image
Select multiple measurements <Ctrl> + mouse clicks on measurements
<Shift> + select area with measurements
Select multiple measurements
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
65
Index
Add text, 49
Calibration, 39, 40
Camera settings, 8, 9, 21, 22, 23
Cameras, 16, 19, 58
Capture, 6, 7, 17, 56
Color, 28
Devices, 16, 17
Display Area, 5, 10, 12, 14, 36, 37, 38
Export, 6, 16, 42
File, 6, 11, 12, 14, 16, 18
Format, 6, 8
Header, 5
Help, 5, 6, 9
Interface, 5
Measurement results panel, 5
Measurements, 6, 8, 38, 42
Navigation panel, 5
Open, 6, 11
Print, 6, 14, 15
Ribbon, 6
Save, 6, 12, 13, 14, 19
Scale bar, 26, 27, 29, 30, 32, 33
Snapshot Settings, 17
View, 6, 7, 9, 10, 16, 20, 55, 60
Copyright © 2016 KERN & SOHN GmbH
66