SMART Notebook software User's guide
Below you will find brief information for software Notebook. SMART Notebook software is a collaborative learning software that can be used to create lessons or presentations. Each .notebook file contains a series of pages and each page has its own objects, properties and settings. You can add freehand objects, geometric shapes, straight lines, text, pictures, tables, widgets and Adobe Flash Player compatible files to a page. You can manipulate and edit these objects at any time. You can save your files in the .notebook format, which you can open in any Windows, Mac or Linux computer running SMART Notebook software. You can also export your files to a variety of formats.
Advertisement
Advertisement
SMART Notebook™ 11
Windows® operating systems
User’s guide
Scan the following QR code to view the SMART Notebook software Help on your smart phone or other mobile device.
Trade-mark notice
SMART Notebook, SMART Response, SMART Board, SMART Document Camera, SMART Exchange, SMART Classroom Suite, SMART Ink, DViT, smarttech, the SMART logo and all SMART taglines are trade-marks or registered trade-marks of SMART Technologies ULC in the US and/or other countries. Windows,
Windows Vista, Internet Explorer and PowerPoint are either registered trade-marks or trade-marks of Microsoft Corporation in the US and/or other countries. Mac,
Mac OS and QuickTime are trade-marks of Apple Inc., registered in the US and other countries. Adobe, Flash and Reader are either registered trade-marks or trade-marks of Adobe Systems Incorporated in the US. and/or other countries. All other third-party product and company names may be trade-marks of their respective owners.
Copyright notice
© 2012 SMART Technologies ULC. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced, transmitted, transcribed, stored in a retrieval system or translated into any language in any form by any means without the prior written consent of SMART Technologies ULC. Information in this manual is subject to change without notice and does not represent a commitment on the part of SMART.
One or more of the following patents: US6320597; US6326954; US6741267; US7151533; US7757001; USD616462; and USD617332. Other patents pending.
10/2012
Contents
i
About the SMART software installed on your computer
Starting SMART Notebook software
Creating and working with content
Chapter 2: Creating and working with files
Opening files in Compatibility mode
Attaching files to email messages
Changing the default program for .notebook files
Chapter 3: Creating and working with pages
Displaying student page borders
Working with page backgrounds and themes
Chapter 4: Creating basic objects
Writing, drawing and erasing digital ink
C O N T E N T S
Chapter 5: Working with objects
Cutting, copying and pasting objects
Chapter 6: Using your own content
Using content from other programs
Adding your content to the Gallery
Sharing your content on the SMART Exchange website
Chapter 7: Using content from SMART resources
Finding and using content from the Gallery
Finding and using content from the SMART Exchange website
Chapter 8: Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom
Creating and presenting lesson activities
Enabling two people to use an interactive whiteboard
Chapter 9: Troubleshooting SMART Notebook software
Troubleshooting the SMART Notebook software window and toolbar
Appendix A: Customising the toolbar
Appendix B: Setting the language
Appendix C: Updating, activating and sending feedback
Updating and activating SMART Notebook software
ii
C O N T E N T S
iii
Chapter 1:
1
Chapter 1
Getting started
About the SMART software installed on your computer
Starting SMART Notebook software
Customising the Attachments tab
Customising the Properties tab
Creating and working with content
This chapter introduces you to SMART Notebook™ collaborative learning software and explains the basics of using your interactive product.
2
C H A P T E R 1
Getting started
About the SMART software installed on your computer
Your computer might include SMART Notebook Tools, SMART Product Drivers, SMART Ink™ and SMART Tools in addition to SMART Notebook software.
SMART Notebook software: Use SMART Notebook software to create lessons or presentations. Each .notebook file contains a series of pages and each page has its own objects, properties and settings. You can add freehand objects, geometric shapes, straight lines, text, pictures, tables, widgets and Adobe® Flash® Player compatible files to a page.
You can manipulate and edit these objects at any time.
You can save your files in the .notebook format, which you can open in any Windows®,
Mac or Linux® computer running SMART Notebook software. You can also export your files to a variety of formats.
SMART Notebook Tools: You can install SMART Notebook Tools to add special features to SMART Notebook software. These tools include the following: l
SMART Notebook Maths Tools l
SMART Notebook 3D Tools l
SMART Document Camera™and Mixed Reality Tools l
SMART Response™ assessment software
SMART Product Drivers: Your interactive product detects contact with its screen and sends each contact point, along with Pen tool information, to the connected computer.
SMART Product Drivers translates the information into mouse clicks and digital ink.
SMART Product Drivers enables you to perform normal computer operations by using your finger or a pen.
SMART Ink and SMART Tools: Using SMART Ink, you can write or draw on the screen in digital ink using a pen and then save or erase your notes.
You can also draw attention to specific parts of a page using SMART Tools, such as the
Screen Shade, Spotlight, Magnifier and Pointer.
Starting SMART Notebook software
Start SMART Notebook software by double-clicking the SMART Notebook 11 icon on the desktop.
When you start SMART Notebook software the first time, a tutorial file opens automatically. You can read the contents of this file to learn more about the software and the new features in the latest release.When you’ve finished, select File > New to create a new, blank file.
N O T E
When you start the software subsequent times, a new, blank file opens automatically.To open the tutorial file, select Help > Tutorial.
For information on working with files, see Creating and working with files on page 11.
3
C H A P T E R 1
Getting started
Navigating the user interface
The SMART Notebook software user interface consists of the following components: l
Menu l
Toolbar l
Tabs (Page Sorter, Gallery, Attachments, Properties, Add-ons and SMART Response) l
Page area
Menu
The menu contains all the commands you can use to manipulate files and objects in
SMART Notebook software.
Toolbar
The toolbar enables you to select and use a variety of commands. The buttons on the toolbar are organised in panels.
Actions panel
The Actions panel of the toolbar includes buttons that enable you to browse and make changes to .notebook files:
Plug-ins panel
If you install SMART Notebook Tools such as SMART Notebook Maths Tools and
SMART Response software, an additional panel appears to the right of the Actions panel:
Tools panel
The Tools panel includes buttons that enable you to create and work with basic objects on pages:
C H A P T E R 1
Getting started
Contextual panel
When you select one of the buttons in the Tools panel, additional buttons appear.For example, if you select Pens , the following additional buttons appear:
4
Press the Pen Types button to select a pen type and then press one of the line type buttons to write or draw digital ink in that line type.You can customise a selected line type using the options
in the Properties tab and then save your changes for future use (see Saving tool settings on page
The three property selectors beside the line type buttons enable you to set the colour, thickness, style and transparency of digital ink.
If you click any of the other buttons in the Tools panel, similar sets of additional buttons appear.
Customising the toolbar
You can add, remove and change the position of buttons on the toolbar by pressing Customise
the toolbar
(see Customising the toolbar on page 143).
By default, the toolbar appears at the top of the SMART Notebook software window.However, you can move it to the bottom of the window by pressing Move toolbar to top/bottom of
window
. This is useful in situations where you or your students can’t reach the toolbar when it’s at the top of the window.
Page Sorter
The Page Sorter displays all of the pages in the open file as thumbnails and automatically updates these thumbnails as you change the contents of the pages.
Using the Page Sorter, you can do the following: l
Display pages l
Create pages l
Clone pages l
Clear pages l
Delete pages l
Rename pages l
Rearrange pages
5
C H A P T E R 1
Getting started l
Move objects from one page to another l
Group pages
Opening the Page Sorter
To open the Page Sorter, press Page Sorter .
Customising the Page Sorter
You can move the Page Sorter from one side of the SMART Notebook software window to the other by pressing Move Sidebar .
You can resize the Page Sorter by dragging its border left or right.You can also hide the Page
Sorter when you’re not using it by selecting the Auto-hide tickbox.(To display the Page Sorter when it’s hidden, press Page Sorter .)
N O T E
If you reduce the Page Sorter to its minimum size, the auto-hide feature turns on automatically.
Gallery tab
The Gallery tab contains clip art, backgrounds, multimedia content, files and pages that you can use in your lessons, and displays preview images of this content. The Gallery tab also provides
access to other online resources.For more information, see Using content from
You can also include your own content and content from other teachers in your school in the
Gallery tab (see Adding your content to the Gallery on page 106).
Opening the Gallery tab
To open the Gallery tab, press Gallery .
Customising the Gallery tab
You can move the Gallery tab from one side of the SMART Notebook software window to the other by pressing Move Sidebar .
You can resize the Gallery tab by dragging its border left or right.You can also hide the Gallery tab when you’re not using it by selecting the Auto-hide tickbox.(To display the Gallery tab when it’s hidden, press Gallery .)
N O T E
If you reduce the Gallery tab to its minimum size, the auto-hide feature turns on automatically.
Attachments tab
The Attachments tab displays the files and webpages attached to the current file.For more
information, see Attaching files and webpages on page 104.
6
C H A P T E R 1
Getting started
Opening the Attachments tab
To open the Attachments tab, press Attachments .
Customising the Attachments tab
You can move the Attachments tab from one side of the SMART Notebook software window to the other by pressing Move Sidebar .
You can resize the Attachments tab by dragging its border left or right.You can also hide the
Attachments tab when you’re not using it by selecting the Auto-hide tickbox.(To display the
Attachments tab when it’s hidden, press Attachments .)
N O T E
If you reduce the Attachments tab to its minimum size, the auto-hide feature turns on automatically.
Properties tab
The Properties tab enables you to format objects on a page, including digital ink, shapes, lines, text and tables. Depending on the object that you select, you can change the following: l
The colour, thickness and style of lines l
The transparency and fill effects of objects l
The font type, size and style of text l
The animation of objects
The Properties tab displays only the options that are available for the object you select.For more
information on displaying and setting object properties in the Properties tab, see Changing
objects’ properties on page 73.
The Properties tab also includes a Page Recording button.You can use this feature to record
your actions on the current page (see Recording pages on page 36).
Opening the Properties tab
To open the Properties tab, press Properties .
Customising the Properties tab
You can move the Properties tab from one side of the SMART Notebook software window to the other by pressing Move Sidebar .
You can resize the Properties tab by dragging its border left or right.You can also hide the
Properties tab when you’re not using it by selecting the Auto-hide tickbox.(To display the
Properties tab when it’s hidden, press Properties .)
7
C H A P T E R 1
Getting started
N O T E
If you reduce the Properties tab to its minimum size, the auto-hide feature turns on automatically.
Add-ons tab
The Add-ons tab enables you to work with SMART Notebook software add-ons, including the
Activity Builder (see Creating matching lesson activities on page 118).
Opening the Add-ons tab
To open the Add-ons tab, press Add-ons .
Customising the Add-ons tab
You can move the Add-ons tab from one side of the SMART Notebook software window to the other by pressing Move Sidebar .
You can resize the Add-ons tab by dragging its border left or right.You can also hide the Add-ons tab when you’re not using it by selecting the Auto-hide tickbox.(To display the Add-ons tab when it’s hidden, press Properties .)
N O T E
If you reduce the Add-ons tab to its minimum size, the auto-hide feature turns on automatically.
SMART Response tab
The SMART Response tab is part of SMART Response software and is available only if you have SMART Response software installed.
Page area
The page area displays the contents of a selected page in a file.This is the area of the page where
you create and work with objects (see Creating basic objects on page 45).
Creating and working with content
A .notebook file consists of one or more pages. You can use the Page Sorter to view thumbnails of all pages in the open .notebook file and select specific pages to display. In addition, you can create new pages, clear or delete existing pages and complete other tasks.For more information,
see Creating and working with pages on page 25.
Pages contain objects. Objects are the building blocks of content in SMART Notebook software.
Basic types of objects include the following:
C H A P T E R 1
Getting started
Digital ink (freehand writing and drawing) Shapes and lines
Text Tables
In addition to these basic types of objects, you can insert pictures, Adobe Flash Player compatible files, Adobe Flash Player compatible video files, sound files, Internet content and widgets in your .notebook files.This content can come from your own resources, from the Gallery
or from the SMART Exchange™ website (see Using your own content on page 93 and Using
content from SMART resources on page 113).
You can manipulate any object in your .notebook files using a common set of tasks (see Working
After setting up content in a .notebook file, you can present that content to your students (see
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom on page 117).
Using gestures
You can interact with objects in SMART Notebook software using the following gestures (if supported by your interactive product):
8
Swipe (left to right) Swipe (right to left)
C H A P T E R 1
Getting started
Zoom in / enlarge
Flick
Group
Zoom out / reduce
Rotate
9
Chapter 2:
Chapter 2
Creating and working with files
Opening files in Compatibility mode
Attaching files to email messages
Changing the default program for .notebook files
In SMART Notebook software, you can create or open SMART Notebook software (.notebook) files. After creating or opening a .notebook file, you can save it, print it, export it to other formats and complete other common tasks. In addition, you can work with the pages within the .notebook
file.
Creating files
When you start SMART Notebook software for the first time, a tutorial file opens automatically.
When you start the software subsequent times, a new .notebook file opens automatically.
However, you can create a new file at any time.
g
To create a file
Select File > New.
If you’re working on a file with unsaved changes, a dialogue box appears and prompts you to save the current file.Press Yes to save your changes and then follow the on-screen instructions.
11
C H A P T E R 2
Creating and working with files
Opening files
With SMART Notebook 11 software, you can open the following: l
.notebook files (the default file format for SMART Notebook 9.5, 9.7, 10 and 11 software) l
.xbk files (the default file format for SMART Notebook 8, 9.0 and 9.1 software)
Once you have opened a file, you can save the file as a .notebook or .xbk file.
The method by which you open a file is the same for all versions of SMART Notebook software.
g
To open a file
1. Press Open File
.
The Open dialogue box appears.
2. Browse to and select the file.
3. Press Open.
T I P
You can open a recently opened file by selecting the File menu and then selecting the file name.
Opening files in Compatibility mode
If you open a .notebook file created with SMART Notebook Publisher Tools, text objects might not display correctly. You can open these files in Compatibility mode to display the text objects correctly.
g
To open a file in Compatibility mode
Select File > Reload File in Compatibility Mode.
Saving files
By default, SMART Notebook software saves your files in .notebook format.Anyone with
SMART Notebook 9.5 or later software for Windows operating systems, Mac OS X operating system software or Linux operating systems installed on his or her computer can open a
.notebook file.
You can also set SMART Notebook software to save your file automatically when you select a
different page or after a specified period of time (see Saving files automatically on page 14).
12
C H A P T E R 2
Creating and working with files
N O T E
The default file format for SMART Notebook 8, 9.0 and 9.1 software is .xbk. If you want to open your file in one of these versions, save your file with the .xbk extension.However, the .xbk
format doesn’t support some of the objects and properties available in this version of
SMART Notebook software.If you save your file in the .xbk format, SMART Notebook software doesn’t save the properties in your file that the .xbk format doesn’t support or else it saves them as images that you’re unable to edit when you open the file.
g
To save a new file
1. Press Save
.
The Save As dialogue box appears.
2. Browse to where you want to save the new file.
3. Type a name for the file in the File name box.
4. If you want to make sure that your file retains its formatting, select the .notebook format in the Save as type drop-down list.
OR
If you want to create a file that you can open with SMART Notebook 8, 9.0 and 9.1
software, select the .xbk format in the Save as type drop-down list.
5. Press Save.
If you’re saving your file in the .xbk format and there are objects or properties in your file that the .xbk format doesn’t support, a dialogue box appears indicating that
SMART Notebook software won’t save these objects or properties if you continue.Press
Yes.
g
To save an existing file
Press Save .
g
To save an existing file with a new name or location
1. Select File > Save As.
The Save As dialogue box appears.
2. Browse to where you want to save the new file.
3. Type a name for the file in the File name box.
13
C H A P T E R 2
Creating and working with files
4. If you want to make sure that your file retains its formatting, select the .notebook format in the Save as type drop-down list.
OR
If you want to create a file that you can open with SMART Notebook 8, 9.0 and 9.1
software, select the .xbk format in the Save as type drop-down list.
5. Press Save.
If you’re saving your file in the .xbk format and there are objects or properties in your file that the .xbk format doesn’t support, a dialogue box appears indicating that
SMART Notebook software won’t save these objects or properties if you continue.Press
Yes.
Saving files automatically
You can manually save your file at any time (see Saving files on page 12). You can also set
SMART Notebook software to save your file automatically when you display a different page or after a specified period of time.
N O T E
You can also set SMART Notebook software to export a file automatically in a variety of
formats, including HTML and PDF (see Exporting files automatically on page 18).
g
To save files automatically
1. Select File > Timed Saves.
The Timed Save Wizard appears.
2. Select Every time I move to a different page to save your file automatically every time you select a different page.
OR
Select 1 minute, 5 minutes, 15 minutes or 30 minutes to save your file automatically after a specified period of time.
3. Press Next.
4. Select Notebook Document.
5. Press Next.
The Save As dialogue box appears.
6. Browse to where you want to save the new file.
14
C H A P T E R 2
Creating and working with files
7. Type a name for the file in the File name box. SMART Notebook software automatically saves the file with the .notebook file extension.
N O T E
The default file format for SMART Notebook 8, 9.0 and 9.1 software is .xbk. If you want to open your file in one of these versions, save your file with the .xbk
extension.However, the .xbk format doesn’t support some of the objects and properties available in this version of SMART Notebook software.If you save your file in the .xbk
format, SMART Notebook software doesn’t save the properties in your file that the .xbk
format doesn’t support or else it saves them as images that you’re unable to edit when you open the file.
8. Press Save.
g
To cancel automatic file saving
1. Select File > Timed Saves.
The Timed Save Wizard appears.
2. Select Do not save the document automatically.
3. Press Next.
Exporting files
You can export your .notebook files to the following formats: l
Webpages l
Picture formats o
BMP o
GIF o
JPEG o
PNG l
PDF l
Interactive Whiteboard Common File Format (CFF) l
PowerPoint®
N O T E S
l
SMART Notebook softwaredoesn’t include attachments when you export files as picture files.To include attachments, you must export your file as either webpages or PDF
(AdobeReader® 6.0 or later).
15
C H A P T E R 2
Creating and working with files l
SMART Notebook softwaredoesn’t export files that you attach to your .notebook file as
shortcuts.If you want to include an attachment, attach a copy of the file (see Attaching
files and webpages on page 104).
l
SMART Notebook softwaredoesn’t export some gradient, pattern and image effects.
These effects might appear as a solid fill or appear incorrectly in the exported file.
You can also set SMART Notebook software to export a .notebook file automatically when you
g
To export a file as webpages
1. Select File > Export > Webpage.
The Save As dialogue box appears.
2. Browse to where you want to export the file.
3. Type a name for the file in the File name box.
4. Press Save.
g
To export a file as picture files
1. Select File > Export > Image Files.
The Export Image Files dialogue box appears.
2. Select a folder where you want to export the files.
3. Select a picture format in the Image Type drop-down list.
4. Select a picture size in the Size drop-down list.
5. Press OK.
16
C H A P T E R 2
Creating and working with files g
To export a file as a PDF file
1. Select File > Export > PDF.
The Export PDF dialogue box appears.
2. Press Thumbnails, Handouts or Full Page.
3. Optionally, type header text in the Header box, footer text in the Footer box and the current date in the Date box.
4. Optionally, select the Show page numbers tickbox to show a page number on each page.
5. If you pressed Thumbnails or Handouts in step 2, select a thumbnail size in the
Thumbnail size drop-down list and, optionally, select the Page borders tickbox to show a border around each thumbnail and the Thumbnail titles tickbox to show titles under each thumbnail.
6. Select All to include all pages.
OR
Select Pages to include select pages and then type the page numbers in the box.Separate
individual page numbers with commas and separate page ranges with a hyphen (for example, 1,2,4-7).
7. Press Save.
The Save as PDF File dialogue box appears.
8. Browse to where you want to export the file.
9. Type a name for the file in the File name box.
10. Press Save.
g
To export a file as a CFF file
1. Select File > Export > CFF.
The Save As dialogue box appears.
2. Browse to where you want to export the file.
3. Type a name for the file in the File name box.
4. Press Save.
N O T E
You can also import CFF files (see Importing files from other interactive whiteboard
17
C H A P T E R 2
Creating and working with files g
To export a file as a PowerPoint file
1. Select File > Export > PowerPoint.
The Save As dialogue box appears.
2. Browse to where you want to export the file.
3. Type a name for the file in the File name box.
4. Select PowerPoint 2007 Files (*.pptx) or PowerPoint Files (*.ppt) in the Save at type drop-down list.
5. Press Save.
N O T E
You can also import PowerPoint files (see Importing PowerPoint files on page 102).
Exporting files automatically
You can export your .notebook files to a variety of formats, including webpages and PDF (see
Exporting files on page 15). You can also set SMART Notebook software to export a file
automatically when you display a different page or after a specified period of time.
N O T E S
l
SMART Notebook softwaredoesn’t include attachments when you export files as picture files.To include attachments, you must export your file as either webpages or PDF
(AdobeReader 6.0 or later).
l
SMART Notebook softwaredoesn’t export files that you attach to your .notebook file as
shortcuts.If you want to include an attachment, attach a copy of the file (see Attaching
files and webpages on page 104).
l
SMART Notebook softwaredoesn’t export some gradient, pattern and image effects.
These effects might appear as a solid fill or appear incorrectly in the exported file.
g
To export a file automatically as webpages
1. Select File > Timed Saves.
The Timed Save Wizard appears.
2. Select Every time I move to a different page to export your file automatically when you display a different page.
OR
Select 1 minute, 5 minutes, 15 minutes or 30 minutes to export your file automatically after a specified period of time.
3. Press Next.
18
C H A P T E R 2
Creating and working with files
4. Select Webpage (HTML).
5. Press Next.
The Save As dialogue box appears.
6. Browse to where you want to export the file.
7. Type a name for the file in the File name box.
8. Press Save.
g
To export a file automatically as PDF files
1. Select File > Timed Saves.
The Timed Save Wizard appears.
2. Select Every time I move to a different page to export your file automatically when you display a different page.
OR
Select 1 minute, 5 minutes, 15 minutes or 30 minutes to export your file automatically after a specified period of time.
3. Press Next.
4. Select PDF.
OR
Select Time Stamped PDFs, if you want the exported files’ names to include the time of the export.
5. Press Next.
The Save As dialogue box appears.
6. Browse to where you want to export the file.
7. Type a name for the file or files in the File name box.
8. Press Save.
g
To export a file automatically as picture files
1. Select File > Timed Saves.
The Timed Save Wizard appears.
2. Select Every time I move to a different page to export your file automatically when you display a different page.
OR
Select 1 minute, 5 minutes, 15 minutes or 30 minutes to export your file automatically after a specified period of time.
19
C H A P T E R 2
Creating and working with files
3. Press Next.
4. Select Image Files.
5. Press Next.
6. Press Browse, browse to where you want to export the files and then press Open.
7. Select the picture format in the Image Type drop-down list.
8. Select the picture size in the Size drop-down list.
9. Press OK.
g
To export a file automatically as a PowerPoint file
1. Select File > Timed Saves.
The Timed Save Wizard appears.
2. Select Every time I move to a different page to export your file automatically when you display a different page.
OR
Select 1 minute, 5 minutes, 15 minutes or 30 minutes to export your file automatically after a specified period of time.
3. Press Next.
4. Select PowerPoint.
5. Press Next.
The Save As dialogue box appears.
6. Browse to where you want to export the file.
7. Type a name for the file in the File name box.
8. Press Save.
g
To cancel automatic file export
1. Select File > Timed Saves.
The Timed Save Wizard appears.
2. Select Do not save the document automatically.
3. Press Next.
Printing files
You can print all pages or select pages in a .notebook file. You can print the pages as thumbnails, handouts or full pages.
20
C H A P T E R 2
Creating and working with files g
To print a file
1. Select File > Print.
The Print dialogue box appears.
2. Press Thumbnails, Handouts or Full Page.
3. Optionally, type header text in the Header box, footer text in the Footer box and the current date in the Date box.
4. Optionally, select the Show page numbers tickbox to show a page number on each page.
5. If you pressed Thumbnails or Handouts in step 2, select a thumbnail size in the
Thumbnail size drop-down list and, optionally, select the Page borders tickbox to show a border around each thumbnail and the Thumbnail titles tickbox to show titles under each thumbnail.
6. Select All to include all pages.
OR
Select Pages to include select pages and then type the page numbers in the box.Separate
individual page numbers with commas and separate page ranges with a hyphen (for example, 1,2,4-7).
7. Press the Printer Setup tab.
8. Specify other print settings, including the printer name and the number of copies.
9. Press Print.
Attaching files to email messages
You can send your file to others by attaching the file, or a PDF version of the file, to an email message.
g
To attach a file to an email message
Select File > Send To > Mail Recipient.
Your default email program starts, creates a new message and attaches the current file to the message.
If you haven’t saved the file, SMART Notebook software saves it as a temporary file called
untitled.notebook and your email program attaches this temporary file to the email message.
g
To attach a file to an email message as a PDF
Select File > Send To > Mail Recipient (as PDF).
Your default email program starts, creates a new message and attaches a PDF of the current file to the message.
21
C H A P T E R 2
Creating and working with files
If you haven’t saved the file, SMART Notebook software saves the PDF file as a temporary file called untitled.pdf and your email program attaches the temporary file to the email message.
Reducing file sizes
If your .notebook files contain large pictures (pictures over 1 MB in file size), your files could open and run slowly. You can reduce the pictures’ file size without noticeably reducing their quality. As a result, your .notebook files’ overall file sizes will be smaller and the files will open and run more quickly.
g
To reduce the size of a large picture when inserting it in a file
1. Insert the picture as described in Inserting pictures on page 94.
After you press Open, the Image Optimisation dialogue box appears.
2. Press Optimise to reduce the picture’s file size.
OR
Press Keep Resolution to not reduce the picture’s file size.
N O T E
o
When you insert a BMP file, SMART Notebook software internally converts the file to PNG format. This conversion reduces the size of the file.As a result, you
might not need to export an optimised version of the .notebook file (see To export
an optimised file on the next page) even if the BMP file is over 1 MB in size.
o
SMART Notebook software automatically reduces the file size of pictures over 5
MB or 5 megapixels regardless of which option you choose.
g
To reduce the size of a large picture after inserting it in a file
1. Select the picture.
2. Press the picture’s menu arrow and then select Image Optimisation.
The Image Optimisation dialogue box appears.
3. Click Optimise.
g
To set your preference for inserting large pictures
1. Select Edit > Preferences.
The SMART Notebook Preferences dialogue box appears.
22
C H A P T E R 2
Creating and working with files
2. Select Ask every time I insert a large image to have the option of reducing or not reducing large pictures’ file sizes when you insert them.
OR
Select Never change the resolution of inserted images to never reduce large pictures’ file sizes when you insert them.
OR
Select Always change image resolution to optimised file size to always reduce large pictures’ file sizes when you insert them.
3. Press OK.
g
To export an optimised file
1. Select File > Export Optimised File.
The Export Optimised File dialogue box appears.
2. Browse to where you want to save the new file.
3. Type a name for the file in the File name box.
4. Press Save.
Undoing and redoing actions
When you make changes to a file, you can reverse the effects of your previous actions and commands.
N O T E
If two people are using your interactive product, pressing Undo and Redo affects the actions of both users.
g
To reverse the effect of the last action
Press Undo .
N O T E
You can undo an unlimited number of actions.
g
To reinstate the last action reversed with the Undo command
Press Redo .
23
C H A P T E R 2
Creating and working with files
Changing the default program for .notebook
files
If you install a SMART program other than SMART Notebook software that can open .notebook
files, you can set that program to be the default for .notebook files. If you want, you can change the default program back to SMART Notebook software later.
g
To change the default program when you open a file
1. Open a .notebook file using SMART Notebook software (see Opening files on page 12).
A message appears asking whether you want to change the default program for .notebook
files to SMART Notebook software.
2. Press Yes.
g
To change the default program using the Preferences dialogue box
1. Select Edit > Preferences.
The SMART Notebook Preferences dialogue box appears.
2. Press Make Default.
3. If you want a message to appear when you open a .notebook file and your default program isn’t SMART Notebook software, select Tell me if SMART Notebook is not the default
program for .notebook files.
4. Press OK.
24
Chapter 3:
25
Chapter 3
Creating and working with pages
Displaying pages in Full Screen view
Displaying pages in Transparent Background view
Displaying pages in Dual Page view
Displaying student page borders
Working with page backgrounds and themes
Applying page backgrounds and themes
Applying backgrounds using the Properties tab
Applying backgrounds and themes using the Gallery
A .notebook file is composed of a series of pages, each with its own objects and properties.
A thumbnail of each page appears in the Page Sorter. Using either the Page Sorter or menu commands, you can display an existing page, create a blank page, create a clone of an existing page or delete an existing page.
You can also change a page’s background, extend a page’s height, rename a page, rearrange pages within a file, group pages within a file and complete other common tasks.
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages
Displaying pages
You can display any page in the file using the Page Sorter. You can display the next or previous page in the file using buttons or gestures.
You can zoom in or out when viewing a page. You can also set the page to fit your display or set the page’s width to the same width as the display.
g
To display a page
1. If the Page Sorter isn’t visible, press Page Sorter .
2. Press the thumbnail of the page that you want to display.
g
To display the next page in a file
Press Next Page .
OR
Swipe your finger across the page from right to left.
A message appears, displaying the current page’s number.
26
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages g
To display the previous page in a file
Press Previous Page .
OR
Swipe your finger across the page from left to right.
A message appears, displaying the current page’s number.
Changing the page display
You can zoom in and out using the View Screens button or multitouch gestures (if your interactive product supports multitouch gestures).
In addition, SMART Notebook software includes the following views: l
Full Screen view expands the page area to fill the interactive screen by hiding the title bar, toolbar, taskbar and sidebar.
l
Transparent Background view enables you to see the desktop and windows behind the
SMART Notebook software window and continue to interact with the open, transparent page.
l
Dual Page view displays two pages side by side.
27
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages
Zooming in and out
You can zoom in and out using the View Screens button or multitouch gestures (if your interactive product supports multitouch gestures).
g
To zoom in or out using the View Screens button
1. Press View Screens .
2. Select a magnification level between 50% and 300%.
OR
Select Entire Page to make the entire page fit your display.
OR
Select Page Width to set the page’s width to the same width as your display.
g
To zoom in or out using multitouch gestures
Drag your fingers in opposite directions to zoom in.
OR
Drag your fingers towards each other to zoom out.
A message appears, displaying the current zoom level.
28
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages
Displaying pages in Full Screen view
In Full Screen view, SMART Notebook software expands the page to fill the screen by hiding the other user interface elements.You can access commonly used commands using the Full Screen toolbar.
T I P
Before displaying a page in Full Screen view, select View > Full Screen Page Border and then select the appropriate aspect ratio for your interactive product. A blue line appears, indicating the portion of the page that will appear in Full Screen view without scrolling.
This feature is useful when you’re creating content that you want to present in Full Screen view.
g
To display a page in Full Screen view
Press View Screens and then select Full Screen.
The page expands to fill the screen, hiding the other user interface elements, and the Full Screen toolbar appears.
Button Command
Previous Page
Next Page
Action
Display the previous page in the current file.
Display the next page in the current file.
More Options Open a menu of options.
Exit Full Screen Return to the standard view.
Toolbar Options Display additional toolbar buttons.
N O T E S
l
The toolbar displays the current page number and the total number of pages in the file.
l
If SMART Response software is installed, additional buttons appear that enable you to insert questions and administer assessments.
l
If you’re using a widescreen interactive product and grey bars appear on the sides of the page, you can change the zoom level to the page’s width to hide the grey bars by selecting More Options > Page Width.You can return to Full Page view by selecting
More Options
> Entire Page.
g
To display more toolbar buttons
Press Toolbar Options .
29
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages
The toolbar expands to include the following buttons:
Button Command
Blank Page
Undo
Select
Magic Pen
Action
Insert a new, blank page in the current file.
Reverse the effect of the last action.
Select objects on the current page.
Create objects that slowly fade, open a magnification window or
open a spotlight window (see Using the Magic Pen on page 125).
Displaying pages in Transparent Background view
Using Transparent Background view, you can see the desktop and windows behind the
SMART Notebook software window and continue to interact with the open, transparent page.
You can draw in digital ink on a transparent page and save your notes in the file. You can also display measurement tools, take screen captures and more. If an area of the screen doesn’t include any SMART Notebook software objects, you can select and interact with the desktop and applications behind the SMART Notebook software window.
g
To display a page in Transparent Background view
Press View Screens and then select Transparent Background.
The background of the SMART Notebook software window becomes transparent, enabling you to see the desktop and program behind SMART Notebook software, but any objects on the
.notebook file page remain visible.
The Transparent Background toolbar appears.
Button Command
Select
Action
Select objects on the current page or interact with desktop and application objects that aren’t covered by a SMART Notebook software object.
Write or draw digital ink on the current page.
Pens and
Highlighters
Previous Page
Next Page
Display the previous page in the current file.
Display the next page in the current file.
More Options Open a menu of options that enable you to add a screen shade, select different digital ink, select a Creative pen style, add straight lines, add shapes and more.
Return to the standard view.
Exit Transparent
Background
Toolbar Options Display additional toolbar buttons.
30
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages
N O T E S
l
The toolbar displays the current page number and the total number of pages in the file.
l
If SMART Response software is installed, additional buttons appear that enable you to insert questions and administer assessments.
g
To display more toolbar buttons
Press Toolbar Options .
The toolbar expands to include the following buttons:
Button Command
Blank Page
Undo
Delete
Action
Insert a new, blank page in the current file.
Reverse the effect of the last action.
Delete all selected objects.
Clear Page
Screen Capture
Toolbar
Insert Ruler
Erase all digital ink and delete all objects from the page.
Open the Screen Capture toolbar.
Insert a ruler on the page (see Using the ruler on page 129).
Insert Protractor
Insert a protractor on the page (see Using the protractor on page
Insert Geodreieck
Protractor
Insert a Geodreieck protractor on the page (see Using the
Geodreieck protractor on page 132).
Insert Compass
Insert a compass on the page (see Using the compass on page
Displaying pages in Dual Page view
You can display two pages side by side. You can draw, make notes, import files and add links on either page in the same way as you would on a single page.
When you’re displaying dual pages, you can pin a page to continue displaying it in the page area whilst you view other pages in the Page Sorter.
g
To display a page in Dual Page view
Press View Screens and then select Dual Page Display.
A second page appears. A red border indicates the active page.
g
To pin a page
1. If you haven’t done so already, display dual pages.
2. Select the page that you want to continue displaying.
31
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages
3. Select View > Zoom > Pin Page.
Pin icons appear in the top corners of the pinned page.
g
To unpin a page
Clear the selection of View > Zoom > Pin Page.
g
To return to standard view
Press View Screens and then clear the selection of Dual Page Display.
Creating pages
You can add a blank page to the open file using the Add Page button or the Page Sorter.
g
To insert a page using the Add Page button
Press Add Page .
The new page appears after the current page.
g
To insert a page using the Page Sorter
1. If the Page Sorter isn’t visible, press Page Sorter
.
2. Select the thumbnail of the page that you want the new page to appear after.
3. Press the thumbnail’s menu arrow and then select Insert Blank Page.
The new page appears after the selected page.
32
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages
Cloning pages
As an alternative to creating a blank page, you can create a duplicate (or “clone”) of an existing page.
N O T E
You can clone a page only if it contains content.
g
To clone a page
1. If the Page Sorter isn’t visible, press Page Sorter .
2. Select the thumbnail of the page that you want to clone.
3. Press the thumbnail’s menu arrow and then select Clone Page.
The cloned page appears immediately after the current page.
N O T E
You can repeat this process as many times as you want.
Rearranging pages
If you want, you can rearrange the order of the pages in a file.
g
To rearrange pages
1. If the Page Sorter isn’t visible, press Page Sorter
.
2. Press the thumbnail of the page that you want to move in the file.
A blue border appears around the thumbnail.
3. Drag the thumbnail to its new position in the Page Sorter.
A blue line indicates the page’s new position.
4. Release the thumbnail.
33
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages
Grouping pages
You can group pages in a file. This enables you to find a particular group quickly in the Page
Sorter and then display its pages. This is useful when there are a lot of pages in a file.
g
To create or edit a group
1. If the Page Sorter isn’t visible, press Page Sorter .
2. Press the first group’s menu arrow and then select Edit Page Groups.
All the groups and pages for the current file are displayed. Groups appear as blue bars and pages appear as thumbnails: o
If you created and edited the groups in this file, the pages appear under the blue bars you created and renamed.
o
If you haven’t edited the groups, a default group titled Group 1 appears and includes all of the pages and their thumbnails below its blue bar.
N O T E
Thumbnails below each blue bar include the same menu arrow options as thumbnails in the Page Sorter. This enables you to press a thumbnail in a group, select its menu arrow and then delete the page, clear the page, insert a new page, clone the page, rename the page, add a Screen Shade to the page or add the page to the Gallery.
3. Press the Add New Group button in the upper right-hand corner.
A new group, with a new, blank page, appears.
4. Type a new name for the group.
34
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages
5. Do the following: o
To move a page into a group, press the page’s thumbnail and then drag it below the group’s blue bar and to the right of the thumbnail that you want it to follow.
o
To rearrange the order of pages in a group, press a page’s thumbnail and then drag it to the right of the thumbnail that you want it to follow.
o
To rearrange the order of groups, press a group’s blue bar and then drag it below the blue bar of the group that you want it to follow.
N O T E S
o
You can also change the order of the groups by pressing a blue bar’s menu arrow and then selecting Move Up or Move Down.
o
SMART Notebook software numbers pages sequentially across a file. If you change the order of groups, SMART Notebook software renumbers the pages in the groups accordingly.
o
To delete a group and keep its pages, move all of its pages to different groups. When a group contains no pages, SMART Notebook software automatically deletes it.
o
To delete a group and all pages in the group, press the blue bar’s menu arrow and then select Delete Group.
6. Press .
g
To access a group in the Page Sorter
1. If the Page Sorter isn’t visible, press Page Sorter .
2. Press the first group’s menu arrow and then select the name of the group that you want to access.
The Page Sorter displays the thumbnail for the first page in the group that you want to access.
Renaming pages
When you create a page, SMART Notebook software automatically names this page with the date and time of its creation. You can change this name.
g
To rename a page
1. If the Page Sorter isn’t visible, press Page Sorter
.
2. Double-click the page’s name.
3. Type a new name for the page.
4. Press elsewhere.
35
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages
Extending pages
If you need more room at the bottom of a page, you can extend the page vertically without affecting the page’s width.
g
To extend a page
1. If you’re displaying the page in Entire Page view, select a different zoom level.
2. Press the Extend Page link at the bottom of the page.
Recording pages
The Page Recording options enable you to record your actions on the current page.
N O T E
SMART Recorder is a different but similar tool. Using SMART Recorder, you can record your actions in programs other than SMART Notebook software. With SMART Recorder, you can record a full screen, specified window or rectangular portion of the screen. If you connect a microphone to your computer, you can also record audio.
g
To record a page
1. If the Properties tab isn’t visible, press Properties .
2. Press Page Recording.
3. Press Start Recording.
The Start Recording button is replaced with the Stop Recording button, the Play button is disabled, and a red circle appears in the upper left-hand corner of the page.
4. Perform the actions that you want to record on the current page.
5. When you have finished performing these actions, press Stop Recording.
The Stop Recording button is replaced with the Start Recording button, the Play button is enabled, and a playback toolbar appears on the page.
g
To play a page recording
1. Display the page.
If the page includes a page recording, a playback toolbar appears on the page.
2. Press Play
.
36
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages g
To pause the playback
Press Pause .
g
To stop the playback
Press Stop .
g
To rewind the playback
Press Rewind .
g
To remove a page recording
1. Display the page.
If the page includes a page recording, a playback toolbar appears on the page.
2. To remove the recording, press Close on the toolbar.
Deleting pages
You can delete a page from the current file using the Delete Page button or the Page Sorter.
T I P
g
To delete a page using the Delete Page button
1. If you haven’t done so already, display the page that you want to delete.
2. Select Delete Page
.
g
To delete a page using the Page Sorter
1. If the Page Sorter isn’t visible, press Page Sorter
.
2. Select the thumbnail of the page that you want to delete.
3. Press the thumbnail’s menu arrow and then select Delete Page.
37
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages
Clearing pages
You can erase digital ink and delete individual objects from a page. You can also clear all objects or all digital ink objects from a page simultaneously.
N O T E
You’re unable to clear locked objects (see Locking objects on page 79) or infinitely cloned
objects (see Cloning objects on page 81).To clear all objects from a page, you must unlock all
locked objects and clear the selection of Infinite Cloner on any infinitely cloned objects.
g
To clear all objects from the page
1. If you haven’t done so already, display the page that you want to clear.
2. Select Edit > Clear Page.
N O T E S
o
This option is disabled if there are no objects on the page or if the objects are locked or infinitely cloned.
o
You can also select this option by doing one of the following: o
Right-clicking the page o
Pressing the page’s menu arrow in the Page Sorter o
Pressing the page’s menu arrow whilst editing page groups (see Grouping
o
Pressing Clear Page
if it’s included on the toolbar (see Customising the
o
You can clear all objects from multiple pages at the same time.Select the pages’ thumbnails in the Page Sorter, press the menu arrow and then select Clear Page.
38
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages g
To clear all digital ink objects from the page
1. If you haven’t done so already, display the page that you want to clear.
2. Select Edit > Clear Ink from Page.
N O T E S
o
This option is disabled if there is no digital ink on the page or if the digital ink is locked or infinitely cloned.
o
You can also select this option by doing one of the following: o
Right-clicking the page o
Pressing the page’s menu arrow in the Page Sorter o
Pressing the page’s menu arrow whilst editing page groups (see Grouping
o
Pressing Clear Ink
if it’s included on the toolbar (see Customising the
o
You can clear all digital ink objects from multiple pages at the same time.Select
the pages’ thumbnails in the Page Sorter, press the menu arrow and then select
Clear Ink from Page.
Resetting pages
If you make changes to a page (without saving those changes), you can reset the page to the state that it was in before you made the changes.
N O T E
Resetting a page doesn’t reset any Adobe Flash Player compatible files running on the page.
39
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages g
To reset a page
1. If you haven’t done so already, display the page you want to reset.
2. Select Edit > Reset Page.
A dialogue box appears, prompting you to confirm the reset.
N O T E S
o
This option is disabled if you haven’t made changes to the page since last saving the file.
o
You can also select this option by doing one of the following: o
Right-clicking the page o
Pressing the page’s menu arrow in the Page Sorter o
Pressing the page’s menu arrow whilst editing page groups (see Grouping
o
Pressing Reset Page
if it’s included on the toolbar (see Customising the
o
You can reset multiple pages at the same time.Select the pages’ thumbnails in the
Page Sorter, press the menu arrow and then select Reset Page.
3. Click Reset Page.
Displaying student page borders
If your students use SMART Notebook SE (Student Edition) software to answer questions and take assessments, you might find it helpful when you create question pages to display a student page border showing the page area that will be visible on your students’ computer screens.
N O T E
This procedure applies only if you’re using SMART Response software as part of
SMART Classroom Suite™ interactive learning software.
g
To display a student page border
1. Select View > Alignment.
The Alignment dialogue box appears.
2. Click the Student Page Border tab.
3. Select the Show a border around the area that will be visible in SMART Notebook
SE during an assessment tickbox.
40
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages
4. Select Preset value and then select a screen resolution from the drop-down list.
OR
Select Custom value and then type the width and height of your students’ screens in the boxes.
5. Click OK.
A coloured border appears on the page around the area that your students will be able to view on their computer screens.
Working with page backgrounds and themes
By default, page backgrounds are white. However, you can set page backgrounds to other colours, gradients of two colours, patterns or pictures.
Themes enable you to define a custom background for one or more pages in your .notebook file as well as custom fonts and objects.
Applying page backgrounds and themes
You can define the appearance of pages’ backgrounds using the Properties tab or the Gallery.
Applying backgrounds using the Properties tab
You can set a page’s background to a solid colour, a gradient of two colours, a pattern or a picture using the Properties tab.
g
To apply a background
1. Select Format > Background.
The Properties tab displays Fill Effects options.
41
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages
2. Select a fill style:
Fill style
None (transparent)
Solid colour
Gradient of two colours
Pattern
Picture
Procedure
o
Select No fill.
a. Select Solid fill.
b. Do one of the following: o
Select one of the 40 colours in the palette.
o o
Press More and then select a colour in the dialogue box.
Press the eyedropper and then select a colour on the screen.
a. Select Gradient fill.
b. For each colour, do one of the following: o
Select one of the 40 colours in the palette.
o o
Press More and then select a colour in the dialogue box.
Press the eyedropper and then select a colour on the screen.
c. Select an option in the Style drop-down list.
a. Select Pattern fill.
b. Select a pattern.
c. Press Foreground colour, select a colour in the dialogue box and then press OK.
d. Press Background colour, select a colour in the dialogue box and then press OK.
a. Select Image fill.
b. Press Browse.
The Insert Image File dialogue box appears.
c. Browse to and select the picture you want to use as a background and then press Open.
N O T E
If you insert a large picture, a dialogue box may appear and prompt you to either reduce the picture’s file size or retain the picture’s file size.For more information, see
Reducing file sizes on page 22.
g
To remove a background
1. Select Format > Background.
The Properties tab displays Fill Effects options.
2. Select No fill.
42
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages
Applying backgrounds and themes using the Gallery
You can set a page, all the pages in a group or all the pages in a file using a background or theme from the Gallery.
g
To apply a background or theme
1. If the Gallery isn’t visible, press Gallery
.
2. Select My Content in the Gallery’s category list to view your own backgrounds and
themes (see Creating themes below).
OR
Select Gallery Essentials to view backgrounds and themes you installed with the software.
3. Select Backgrounds and Themes.
The Gallery displays thumbnails of the available backgrounds and themes.
4. Press the thumbnail of the theme that you want to apply.
5. Press the thumbnail’s menu arrow and then select Insert in Notebook.
The Insert Theme dialogue box appears.
6. Select Insert theme on all pages to apply the background or theme to all pages in a file.
OR
Select Insert theme on all pages of current group to apply the background or theme to all pages in the current group.
OR
Select Insert theme on current page only to apply the background or theme to the current page.
7. Press OK.
g
To remove a background or theme
1. Right-click the page.
2. Select Delete Theme.
You can remove the background or theme from all the pages to which you applied it.
Creating themes
You can use themes to customise pages. You can create a theme and add it to the Gallery so that it’s available in a convenient location. You can then apply this theme to a page, all pages in a group or all pages in a file.
The Gallery also includes some themes.
43
C H A P T E R 3
Creating and working with pages g
To create a theme
1. Select Format > Themes > Create Theme.
2. Type a name for the theme in the Theme name box.
3. Set the background in the same way that you would for a page (see Applying page
backgrounds and themes on page 41).
4. Add and modify objects on the theme in the same way that you would on a page (see
Creating basic objects on page 45).
5. Press Save.
The theme appears in the My Content category of the Gallery.
g
To create a theme based on the current page
1. Select Format > Themes > Create Theme from Page.
2. Type a name for the theme in the Theme name box.
3. Press Save.
The theme appears in the My Content category of the Gallery.
44
Chapter 4:
Chapter 4
Creating basic objects
Writing, drawing and erasing digital ink
Writing or drawing digital ink
Writing or drawing fading digital ink
Creating custom Creative pen styles
Creating shapes with the Shapes tool
Creating shapes with the Regular Polygons tool
Creating shapes with the Shape Recognition Pen tool
Creating straight lines and arcs
Converting handwriting to typed text
Inserting mathematical symbols
Checking the spelling of text objects
Creating tables in SMART Notebook software
Pasting tables from other programs
Selecting tables, columns, rows or cells
Resizing tables, columns or rows
Adding or removing columns, rows or cells
Splitting or merging table cells
Adding or removing cell shades
Deleting tables and the contents of tables
Objects are the building blocks of content in your .notebook files. An object is simply an item on a page that you create or import and then work with. Basic types of objects include the following: l
Digital ink (freehand writing and drawing) l
Shapes l
Straight lines
45
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects l
Arcs l
Text l
Tables
Writing, drawing and erasing digital ink
Digital ink is freehand text or objects that you create using your interactive product’s pens or the
SMART Notebook software Pens tool. Writing or drawing digital ink enables you to quickly add content to your SMART Notebook software files, either when creating the files or when presenting the files to students.
Once you have created digital ink, you can erase it.
Writing or drawing digital ink
The easiest way to write or draw digital ink is to use your interactive product’s pen or pens.
You can also create freehand objects using the Pens tool. The Pens tool enables you to write or draw digital ink using five pen types:
Pen type
Standard
Purpose and example
Write or draw digital ink in a variety of colours and line styles.
Notes
Using the Standard pen type, you can write or draw digital ink that fades after a few seconds
(see Writing or drawing fading
Calligraphic
Crayon
Write or draw digital ink, like you do with the
Standard pen type, but with lines of varying thickness.
Write or draw crayon-like digital ink.
The Calligraphic pen type is useful for teaching students handwriting.
The Calligraphic pen type is available only if your computer is connected to a SMART interactive product.
The Crayon pen type is intended for artistic work such as painting, colouring pictures and so on rather than writing.
Highlighter
Highlight text and other objects.
46
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects
Pen type
Creative
Purpose and example
Add colourful elements to your presentations.
Notes
You can create custom
Creative pen styles (see
g
To write or draw digital ink
1. Press Pens .
The Pens tool buttons appear.
2. Press Pen Types and then select a pen type.
N O T E
In addition to the five pen types above, you can select the Magic Pen and Shape
Recognition Pen tools (see Using the Magic Pen on page 125 and Creating shapes with
the Shape Recognition Pen tool on page 53).
3. Select a line type.
4. Optionally, customise the line type using the property selectors.
N O T E
You can also customise the line type using the Properties tab (see Changing objects’
47
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects
5. Write or draw digital ink on the page.
T I P S
o
Don’t rest your elbow or the palm of your hand on your interactive product’s surface whilst you write or draw.
o
If you write or draw multiple lines, SMART Notebook software combines the lines into a single object automatically.For example, if you write the letters of a word,
SMART Notebook software combines the individual letters, enabling you to interact with the whole word. If you want to write words on the same line but don’t want them combined, leave a large gap between them, use different pens, or briefly put the pen in the pen tray before writing another word (interactive whiteboards only).
o
If you want to write diagonally, write in a straight line and then rotate it (see
o
If you want to write in small letters, write large letters and then reduce their size
(see Resizing objects on page 81).
o
You can fill areas that you’ve enclosed with digital ink (see Filling digital ink
Writing or drawing fading digital ink
You can create freehand objects that fade after a specified period of time using the Pens tool.
N O T E
You can also create freehand objects that fade after a specified period of time using the Magic
Pen tool (see Using the Magic Pen to create fading objects on page 125).
g
To write or draw fading digital ink
1. Press Pens .
The Pens tool buttons appear.
48
2. Press Pen Types and then select Pen.
3. Select a line type.
4. If the Properties tab isn’t visible, press Properties
.
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects
5. Press Fill Effects.
6. Select the Enable ink to fade after you write it tickbox, and then select the number of seconds between the time when you write or draw the digital ink and the time it fades in the
Fade time drop-down list.
7. Write or draw digital ink on the page.
Creating custom Creative pen styles
on the currently selected page.
g
To create a custom Creative pen using a picture
1. Press Pens
.
The Pens tool buttons appear.
49
2. Press Pen Types and then select Creative Pen.
3. Select a line type.
4. If the Properties tab isn’t visible, press Properties
.
5. Press Line Style.
6. Select Use a custom stamp image.
7. Click Browse.
The Insert Image File dialogue box appears.
8. Browse to and select the picture you want to use for the Creative pen style.
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects
9. Press Open.
10. Write or draw digital ink on the page.
T I P
o
To resume using the default line type, select Use the default pattern.
o
If you want to save your custom Creative pen style for future use, press Save
Tool Properties.You can later reset the Creative pen style (see Customising the
g
To create a custom Creative pen using an object
1. Press Pens
.
The Pens tool buttons appear.
2. Press Pen Types and then select Creative Pen.
3. If the Properties tab isn’t visible, press Properties .
4. Press Line Style.
5. Select Use a custom stamp image.
6. Press Select object and then select an object on the page.
7. Write or draw digital ink on the page.
T I P
o
To resume using the default line type, select Use the default pattern.
o
If you want to save your custom Creative pen style for future use, press Save
Tool Properties.You can later reset the Creative pen style (see Customising the
50
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects
Erasing digital ink
You can erase digital ink from your interactive product’s screen using the eraser or the erasing gesture. If you’re erasing digital ink from a .notebook file page, you can also erase objects using the Eraser tool.
N O T E
Although you can erase digital ink, you’re unable to erase other types of objects, including shapes, lines, text and pictures.To remove these types of objects, you must delete them (see
g
To erase digital ink
1. Press Eraser and then select an eraser type.
2. Erase the digital ink.
Creating shapes and lines
In addition to creating freehand shapes and lines by drawing digital ink, you can create shapes and lines using the tools in SMART Notebook software.
N O T E
To remove a shape or line from a page, you must delete it (see Deleting objects on page 90).
The Eraser tool doesn’t remove shapes.
Creating shapes with the Shapes tool
You can use the Shapes tool to create a variety of shapes, including perfect circles, perfect squares, perfect triangles, other geometric shapes, hearts, ticks and Xs.
You can add a shape to your page and then edit its properties. Alternatively, you can customise a shape’s outline colour, fill colour and line thickness and then add it to your page.
g
To create a shape
1. Press Shapes
.
The Shapes tool buttons appear.
51
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects
2. Select a shape on the toolbar.
OR
Press and then select a shape.
3. Optionally, customise the shape using the property selectors.
N O T E
You can also customise the shape using the Properties tab (see Changing objects’
4. Create a shape by pressing where you want to place the shape and dragging until the shape is the size that you want.
T I P
You can create perfect circles, squares, triangles and other shapes by holding down
SHIFT as you draw the shape.
Creating shapes with the Regular Polygons tool
In addition to creating shapes using the Shapes tool, you can create regular polygons with 3 to 15 sides using the Regular Polygons tool.
g
To create a shape with the Regular Polygons tool
1. Press Regular Polygons
.
The Regular Polygons tool buttons appear.
2. Select a shape on the toolbar.
OR
Press and then select a shape.
N O T E
The number in the shape indicates its number of sides.
52
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects
3. Optionally, customise the shape using the property selectors.
N O T E
You can also customise the shape using the Properties tab (see Changing objects’
4. Create a shape by pressing where you want to place the shape and dragging until the shape is the size that you want.
Creating shapes with the Shape Recognition Pen tool
You can use the Shape Recognition Pen tool to draw circles, ovals, squares, rectangles, triangles and arcs.
N O T E
You can also create shapes using the Shapes tool (see Creating shapes with the Shapes tool
g
To draw a shape
1. Press Pens .
The Pens tool buttons appear.
2. Press Pen Types and then select Shape Recognition Pen.
3. Draw a shape on the interactive screen.
If SMART Notebook software recognises your drawing as a circle, oval, square, rectangle, triangle or arc, it adds this shape to the page.
53
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects
Creating straight lines and arcs
You can use the Lines tool to draw straight lines and arcs.
You can add a line to your page and then edit its properties. Alternatively, you can customise the line, and then add it to your page.
g
To create a straight line or arc
1. Press Lines
.
The Lines tool buttons appear.
2. Select a line or arc type.
3. Optionally, customise the line or arc type using the property selectors.
N O T E
You can also customise the line or arc type using the Properties tab (see Changing
objects’ properties on page 73).
4. Create a line by pressing where you want the line to start and dragging to where you want the line to end.
Creating text
You can create text in SMART Notebook software by doing any of the following: l
Typing the text using a keyboard connected to your computer l
Typing the text using SMART Keyboard l
Writing the text (see Writing, drawing and erasing digital ink on page 46) and then
converting it to typed text using the software’s handwriting recognition feature
After creating text, you can edit it, check its spelling and change its properties, including font style, size and colour.
54
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects
Typing text
You can type new text or edit existing text.
g
To type new text
1. If a keyboard isn’t accessible, press the SMART Board icon in the notification area and then select Keyboard.
2. Press Text and then select an available font style.
3. Optionally, customise the font style (see Formatting text on the next page).
4. Press where you want the text to start.
5. Type your text.
6. When you’ve finished, press outside the text object.
g
To edit existing text
1. Double-click the text object.
2. Edit the text.
3. When you’ve finished, press outside the text object.
Converting handwriting to typed text
You can write on your interactive product’s screen using the Standard or Calligraphic pen types and convert your writing to typed text. SMART Notebook software can convert handwriting in multiple languages.
g
To convert handwriting to typed text
1. Press Pens .
The Pens tool buttons appear.
2. Press Pen Types and then select Pen or Calligraphic Pen.
55
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects
3. Write your text.
T I P
Write neat, printed characters on a horizontal line. Although SMART Notebook software can convert slanted or cursive writing, it doesn’t always do so consistently.
4. Select the text object.
The SMART Notebook software handwriting recognition feature compares your written word with its dictionary and identifies words that most resemble what you’ve written.
5. Press the text object’s menu arrow.
A menu appears and displays the list of matching words, each preceded by Recognise.
N O T E S
o
If you want SMART Notebook software to identify words in a different language, select Recognise Languages and then select another language in the list.
SMART Notebook software updates the list of matching words to include words in the selected language.
o
If you change the handwriting recognition language, you don’t change the default language of the SMART Notebook software user interface or your operating system.
6. Select a word in the list of matching words.
The selected word appears on the page.
Formatting text
If you want to format all text in a text object, select the text object.
OR
If you want to format specific text in a text object, double-click the text object and then select the text.
You can format text using the buttons in the toolbar or the options in the Properties tab or the
Format menu.
N O T E
If the Properties tab isn’t visible, press Properties and then press Text Style.
The following table presents the formatting changes that you can make using the above tools:
Change Toolbar Properties tab
Format menu
Character, paragraph or object level
56
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects
Change
Change the font face
Change the font size
T I P
To select a font size that doesn’t appear in the drop-down list (including font sizes with decimal values such as 20.5), type the font size in the
Font Size box on the toolbar.
Change the colour
Bold, italicise or underline text
Strike out text
Superscript or subscript text
Paragraph or object level
Change justification (left, right or centre)
Change indentation
Create a bulleted or numbered list
Change line spacing
T I P
To add spacing between paragraphs, select the
Add space after paragraphs tickbox in the
Properties tab or select Format > Paragraph >
Line Spacing > Add space after paragraphs.
Change language direction (left-to-right or right-toleft)
N O T E
Select Format > Paragraph > Direction > Left
to Right for languages that read left to right (for example, English and French).
OR
Select Format > Paragraph > Direction >
Right to Left for languages that read right to left
(for example, Arabic and Hebrew).
Object level
Change text direction (horizontal or vertical)
Change transparency
Toolbar
*
*
*
*
*
Properties tab
* Press More Text Options to display the buttons for these formatting changes.
Format menu
57
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects
Resizing text objects
When you resize a text object following the procedure in Resizing objects on page 81, the text in
the object changes size.
If you want to resize the text object without changing the size of the text in the object, complete the following procedure.
g
To resize a text object
1. Double-click the text object.
2. Press one of the two white circles on either side of text object, and then drag the circle to increase or reduce the text object’s size.
Inserting mathematical symbols
You can insert a variety of mathematical and scientific symbols into a page.
N O T E
The mathematical symbols are characters only. They don’t perform mathematical operations.
g
To insert a mathematical symbol
1. Type text on a page.
2. Press More Text Options and then select Insert Symbol .
The Insert Symbols dialogue box appears.
3. Press a category.
A list of symbols appears.
4. Press the symbol you want to add to the text.
5. Press Insert.
The symbol appears in the text object.
Checking the spelling of text objects
As you type text, SMART Notebook software checks the spelling. If you spell a word incorrectly,
SMART Notebook software underlines the word in red. You can then right-click the word and select the correct spelling from a list of options.
If you prefer, you can disable this feature and check the spelling using the Spelling Check dialogue box.
58
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects g
To disable automatic spell checking
1. Press Text .
2. Press More Text Options and then select Check Spelling .
g
To manually check spelling of a text object
1. Select the text object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Check Spelling.
If SMART Notebook software finds a misspelt word, the Spelling Check dialogue box appears. This dialogue box displays the misspelt word and suggests alternatives.
3. For each misspelled word, do one of the following: o
To keep the word’s current spelling for this instance, press Ignore Once.
o
To keep the word’s current spelling for all instances in the file, press Ignore All.
o
To keep the word’s current spelling for all instances in the file and add the spelling to the dictionary, press Add to Dictionary.
o
To change the word’s spelling for this instance, select the correct word in the
Suggestions list and then press Change.
o
To change the word’s spelling for all instances in the file, select the correct word in the Suggestions list and then press Change All.
N O T E
If you pressed a button by mistake, press Undo to undo the resulting change.
Once you have completed this step for each misspelled word, a dialogue box appears asking whether you want to check the spelling in the rest of the file.
4. Press Yes to check the remainder of the file.
OR
Press No to close the Spelling Check dialogue box without checking the rest of the file.
Cutting or copying text
You can cut, copy and paste text objects like any other objects (see Cutting, copying and pasting
objects on page 80). You can also cut, copy and paste selected text in text objects.
g
To cut and paste text to another location on the same page
1. Double-click the text object.
2. Select the text that you want to cut.
3. Drag the selected text to another location on the same page.
59
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects g
To copy and paste text to another page
1. If the Page Sorter tab isn’t visible, press Page Sorter .
2. Double-click the text object.
3. Select the text that you want to copy.
4. Drag the selected text to the other page’s icon in the Page Sorter tab.
Creating tables
You can create tables in SMART Notebook software or paste them from other programs. Once you have created a table, you can insert objects into the table’s cells.
If you want to customise a table, you can select a table, column, row, cell or selection of cells and then do any of the following: l
Move the table l
Change line type, fill and text properties l
Resize the table, a column or a row l
Insert or remove columns, rows or cells l
Split or merge cells l
Add or remove a cell shade l
Delete the table
Creating tables in SMART Notebook software
g
To insert a table using the Table button
1. Press Table
.
A grid appears.
2. Move the pointer over the grid to select the number of columns and rows that you want in the table.
N O T E
The cells of the grid correspond to the cells of your table.
T I P
The grid displays eight rows and eight columns by default. You can add rows by moving the pointer past the bottom row. Similarly, you can add columns by moving the pointer past the right row.
If you’re using a mouse, click and hold the left mouse button whilst moving the pointer.
60
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects
3. Press the screen or click your mouse.
The table appears on the page.
g
To insert a table using the Insert Table dialogue box
1. Select Insert > Table.
The Insert Table dialogue box appears.
2. Type the number of rows and columns in the boxes.
3. Optionally, select Make cells square to make the table cells square.
4. Optionally, select Remember dimensions for new tables to use the current table dimensions for all future tables that you create in SMART Notebook software.
5. Press OK.
The table appears on the page.
g
To draw a table
1. Press Pens
.
The Pens tool buttons appear.
61
2. Press Pen Types and then select Pen or Calligraphic Pen.
3. Select a line type.
4. Draw a table on the screen.
T I P
Make the lines of the table as straight as possible and connect the corners.
5. Press Select .
6. Select your drawing.
7. Press the menu arrow and then select Recognise Table.
If SMART Notebook software recognises your drawing as a table, it removes your drawing and adds a table to the page.
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects
Pasting tables from other programs
You can cut or copy a table from Word or PowerPoint and then paste it into a .notebook file. The table’s formatting and layout can vary when the table appears in the .notebook file.
If you want to cut or copy more than one table, you must cut or copy each table individually.
N O T E
You can also cut or copy a table from a .notebook file and then paste it into Word or
PowerPoint.However, the table’s formatting and layout can vary when the table appears in
Word or PowerPoint.
If you’re pasting a table into PowerPoint which has cells that contain non-text objects, the nontext objects appear outside of the table in PowerPoint.
Adding objects to tables
Once you have inserted a table on a page, you can insert objects into the table’s cells.
N O T E
You can add only one object to each cell. If you want to add multiple objects to a cell, do one of the following: l
Group the objects before adding them to the table (see Grouping objects on page 85).
l
Select all of the objects at once and then add them to the table as described in the following procedure. SMART Notebook software automatically groups the objects in the table cell.
g
To add an object to a table
1. Select the object.
2. Drag the object to the table cell.
N O T E
You’re unable to move an object if it’s locked in place (see Locking objects on page 79).
The object appears in the table cell.
N O T E
If you add a text object to a table, the cell resizes to fit to the text object. If you add other object types to the table, the object resizes to fit the cell.
g
To remove an object from a table
1. Select the object.
2. Drag the object out of the table.
62
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects
Selecting tables, columns, rows or cells
You can select a table, column, row, cell or selection of cells. Once you have selected a table or part of a table, you can do the following: l
Move the table l
Change the table’s or cells’ properties l
Resize the table, columns or rows l
Add or remove columns, rows or cells l
Split or merge cells l
Add or remove cell shades l
Delete the table g
To select a table
1. Press Select
.
2. Press outside, but near to, a corner of the table and then drag to the opposite corner.
N O T E
Don’t start dragging from inside the table. If you do, you select a table cell instead of the table.
g
To select a column
1. Press Select .
2. Press inside the column’s top cell and then drag to the bottom cell.
g
To select a row
1. Press Select
.
2. Press inside the row’s leftmost cell and then drag to the rightmost cell.
g
To select a cell
1. Press Select .
2. Press inside the cell.
63
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects g
To select multiple cells
1. Press Select .
2. Press inside the top and leftmost cell, and then drag to the bottom and rightmost cell.
N O T E
If you select multiple cells and drag them to a different position on the page, you create a new table consisting of the selected cells and their contents.
Moving tables
Once you have created a table, you can move it on the page.
g
To move a table
Select the table and then drag it to a different position on the page.
OR
Select all of the table’s cells and then drag the cells to a different position on the page.
Changing a table’s properties
You can use the Properties tab to change the table’s properties, including its transparency, cell colour and line colour.
g
To change a table’s fill
1. Select a table, column, row, cell or selection of cells.
2. Press the table’s, column’s, row’s or cell’s menu arrow and then select Properties.
3. Press Fill Effects.
64
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects
4. Select a fill style:
Fill style
None (transparent)
Solid colour
Gradient of two colours
Pattern
Picture
Procedure
o
Select No fill.
a. Select Solid fill.
b. Do one of the following: o
Select one of the 40 colours in the palette.
o o
Press More and then select a colour in the dialogue box.
Press the eyedropper and then select a colour on the screen.
a. Select Gradient fill.
b. For each colour, do one of the following: o
Select one of the 40 colours in the palette.
o o
Press More and then select a colour in the dialogue box.
Press the eyedropper and then select a colour on the screen.
c. Select an option in the Style drop-down list.
a. Select Pattern fill.
b. Select a pattern.
c. Press Foreground colour, select a colour in the dialogue box and then press OK.
d. Press Background colour, select a colour in the dialogue box and then press OK.
a. Select Image fill.
b. Press Browse.
c. Browse to and select the picture you want to use as a background and then press Open.
N O T E
If you insert a large picture, a dialogue box may appear and prompt you to either reduce the picture’s file size or retain the picture’s file size.For more information, see
Reducing file sizes on page 22.
d. Select Keep image size to keep the picture’s size, regardless of whether the picture is larger or smaller than the object.
OR
Select Scale image to fit to resize the picture to fit the object.
5. Optionally, drag the Object transparency slider to the right to make the table transparent.
65
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects g
To change a table’s line style
1. Select a table.
N O T E
You can only change the line style of an entire table, not individual cells, columns or rows.
2. Press the table’s, column’s, row’s or cell’s menu arrow and then select Properties.
3. Press Line Style.
4. Change the table’s line style.
g
To change a table’s text style
1. Select a table, column, row, cell or selection of cells.
2. Press the table’s, column’s, row’s or cell’s menu arrow and then select Properties.
3. Press Text Style.
4. Change the table’s text style (see Formatting text on page 56).
Resizing tables, columns or rows
If you want to customise a table, you can resize the table, a column or a row.
g
To resize a table
1. Select the table.
2. Press the table’s resize handle (the grey circle) and then drag it to increase or reduce the size of the table.
g
To resize a column
1. Press Select
.
2. Press the vertical border to the right of the column.
A resize pointer appears.
3. Drag the vertical border to resize the column.
g
To resize a row
1. Press Select .
2. Press the horizontal border below the row.
A resize pointer appears.
3. Drag the horizontal border to resize the row.
66
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects g
To resize all cells in a table
1. Select the table.
2. Press the table’s menu arrow and then select Adjust size.
3. Select one of the following options: o
Make same height to make all cells in the table the same height.
o
Make same width to make all cells in the table the same width.
o
Make same size to make all cells in the table the same height and width.
o
Make cells square to make all cells in the table square.
Adding or removing columns, rows or cells
If you want to customise a table, you can add columns or rows.
g
To add a column
1. Select a column.
2. Press the column’s menu arrow and then select Insert Column.
A new column appears to the right of the current column.
g
To remove a column
1. Select the column.
2. Press the column’s menu arrow and then select Delete Column.
g
To add a row
1. Select a row.
2. Press the row’s menu arrow and then select Insert Row.
A new row appears below the current row.
g
To remove a row
1. Select the row.
2. Press the row’s menu arrow and then select Delete Row.
67
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects g
To remove a cell
1. Select the cell.
2. Press the cell’s menu arrow and then select Delete Cells.
N O T E
o
Removing a cell deletes the contents of the cell.
o
You’re unable to remove a cell if it provides the only connection between two halves of a table.
Splitting or merging table cells
You can add tables to your page and insert objects into the table’s cells. If you want to customise a table, you can split or merge cells.
g
To split a cell
1. Select the cell.
2. Press the cell’s menu arrow and then select Split.
3. Select an option to split the cell into multiple rows and/or columns.
N O T E
If you split a cell that contains content, the content appears in the upper-left-hand cell after the split.
g
To merge cells
1. Select the cells.
2. Press the cells’ menu arrow and then select Merge Cells.
N O T E
If you merge cells that contain content, the merged cell contains the contents of the topleft cell. If the top-left cell is empty, the merged cell contains the contents of the next available non-empty cell, moving from left to right, top to bottom.
Adding or removing cell shades
You can add a cell shade to a table cell. This enables you to reveal the information in the cells during a presentation.
N O T E S
l
You must remove the cell shade if you want to change the cell’s properties; insert columns or rows; remove columns, rows or cells; or split or merge cells.
68
C H A P T E R 4
Creating basic objects l
You can also add a screen shade to cover an entire page (see Using the Screen Shade on page 124).
g
To add a cell shade
1. Select the cell.
2. Press the cell’s menu arrow and then select Add Cell Shade.
g
To show and hide the contents of a cell
1. Press the cell shade.
The cell shade disappears, showing the contents of the cell.
2. Press in the top left-hand corner of the cell.
The cell shade appears, hiding the contents of the cell.
g
To remove a cell shade
1. Select the cell.
2. Press the cell’s menu arrow and then select Remove Cell Shade.
Deleting tables and the contents of tables
You can delete the contents of a table or the table itself.
N O T E
g
To delete the contents of a table
1. Select the cells containing the content that you want to delete.
2. Press Delete .
g
To delete a table
1. Select the table.
2. Press the table’s menu arrow and then select Delete.
69
Chapter 5:
71
Chapter 5
Working with objects
Moving objects to another page
Cutting, copying and pasting objects
Grouping objects automatically
After creating an object, you can select it and work with it as described in this chapter.
N O T E
The tasks described in this chapter are for all objects, not just basic objects.
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
Selecting objects
Before you can work with an object, you must select it. You can select an individual object, multiple objects or all objects on a page. When you select an object, a selection rectangle appears around it.
The green circle above the object is a rotation handle (see Rotating objects on page 84).
The downward arrow in the object’s upper-right-hand corner is a menu arrow. Press the menu arrow to display a menu of commands.
N O T E
Pressing an object’s menu arrow gives you access to the same menu as right-clicking the object.
g
To select an object
1. Press Select
.
2. Press the object that you want to select.
A selection rectangle appears around the object.
N O T E
If you press an object and a lock symbol appears instead of the menu arrow, the object is locked.Depending on the type of lock, you might have to unlock the object before you
can manipulate it (see Locking objects on page 79).
72
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects g
To select multiple objects
1. Press Select .
2. Press the interactive screen and drag until a rectangle surrounds the objects you want to select.
OR
Hold down CTRL and then press the objects you want to select.
A selection rectangle appears around the selected objects.
N O T E
If you draw a rectangle around multiple objects and some of the objects are locked (see
Locking objects on page 79), you select only the unlocked objects.
g
To select all objects on a page
Select Edit > Select All.
A selection rectangle appears around all objects on the page.
N O T E
If some of the objects are locked (see Locking objects on page 79), you select only the
unlocked objects.
g
To select all locked objects on the page
Select Edit > Select All Locked Notes.
A selection rectangle appears around all locked objects on the page.
Changing objects’ properties
You can change an object’s properties. The properties that you can change depend on the object that you select. You can also select several objects and change their properties at the same time.
Changing the fill
You can change an object’s fill by selecting the object and then setting the fill in the Properties tab or by clicking Fill , setting the fill, and then selecting the object.
g
To change an object’s fill by first selecting the object
1. Select the object.
2. If the Properties tab isn’t visible, press Properties .
73
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
3. Press Fill Effects.
4. Select a fill style:
Fill style
None (transparent)
Solid colour
Gradient of two colours
Pattern
Picture
Procedure
o
Select No fill.
a. Select Solid fill.
b. Do one of the following: o
Select one of the 40 colours in the palette.
o o
Press More and then select a colour in the dialogue box.
Press the eyedropper and then select a colour on the screen.
a. Select Gradient fill.
b. For each colour, do one of the following: o
Select one of the 40 colours in the palette.
o o
Press More and then select a colour in the dialogue box.
Press the eyedropper and then select a colour on the screen.
c. Select an option in the Style drop-down list.
a. Select Pattern fill.
b. Select a pattern.
c. Press Foreground colour, select a colour in the dialogue box and then press OK.
d. Press Background colour, select a colour in the dialogue box and then press OK.
a. Select Image fill.
b. Press Browse.
c. Browse to and select the picture you want to use as a background and then press Open.
N O T E
If you insert a large picture, a dialogue box may appear and prompt you to either reduce the picture’s file size or retain the picture’s file size.For more information, see
Reducing file sizes on page 22.
d. Select Keep image size to keep the picture’s size, regardless of whether the picture is larger or smaller than the object.
OR
Select Scale image to fit to resize the picture to fit the object.
74
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
5. Optionally, drag the Object transparency slider to the right to make the object transparent.
T I P
You can also change an object’s properties using the property selectors on the toolbar.
g
To change an object’s fill by first pressing the Fill button
1. Press Fill and then select a colour.
2. Select the object.
3. Repeat step 2 for each object that you want to apply the fill to.
Filling digital ink drawings
In addition to filling shapes, regular polygons and irregular polygons, you can fill areas enclosed by digital ink using the Fill button.
75
N O T E S
l
To fill an area, you must enclose it with a single digital ink path.
l
l
When you fill an enclosed area, the fill becomes a separate object, which you can move away from the original enclosed area. You can fill the enclosed area and move the resulting fill object multiple times.
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
Changing other properties
In addition to fill, you can change objects’ line style and text style.
g
To change an object’s line style
1. Select the object.
2. If the Properties tab isn’t visible, press Properties .
3. Press Line Style.
4. Change the object’s line style.
g
To change an object’s text style
1. Select the object.
2. If the Properties tab isn’t visible, press Properties
.
3. Press Text Style.
4. Change the object’s text style (see Formatting text on page 56).
Saving tool settings
When you select a tool in the toolbar, you can change its default settings using the Properties tab and then save your changes by clicking Save Tool Properties.
When you save your changes to a tool’s default settings, the tool’s button displays those changes:
To restore the default settings, see Customising the toolbar on page 143.
Positioning objects
You can change the position of an object by moving it to another area of the existing page or to another page. You can also align objects and change the order of stacked objects.
Moving objects
You can move objects to another position on the page. You can also flick objects.
N O T E
You’re unable to move an object if it’s locked in place (see Locking objects on page 79).
76
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
T I P
You can manipulate multiple objects by selecting them and then creating a group (see Grouping
g
To move an object or objects
1. Select the object or objects.
2. Drag the object or objects to a new position on the page.
T I P
You can move an object in small increments by pressing the arrow keys on your keyboard.
g
To move an Adobe Flash Player compatible file
1. Press the coloured bar at the top of the Adobe Flash Player compatible file.
2. Drag the file to its new position.
g
To flick an object
1. Select the object.
2. Quickly flick your finger in any direction.
Moving objects to another page
You can move objects to another page in a file.
g
To move an object or objects to another page
1. If the Page Sorter isn’t visible, press Page Sorter .
2. If you don’t see the page that you want to move the object to, scroll in the Page Sorter until you see the page’s thumbnail.
3. Select the object or objects that you want to move.
4. Drag the object or objects into the Page Sorter above the thumbnail of the page that you want to move the objects to.
77
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects g
To move an Adobe Flash Player compatible file to another page
1. If the Page Sorter isn’t visible, press Page Sorter .
2. If you don’t see the page that you want to move the object to, scroll in the Page Sorter until you see the page’s thumbnail.
3. Press the coloured bar at the top of the Adobe Flash Player compatible file.
4. Drag the file into the Page Sorter above the thumbnail of the page that you want to move the object to.
Aligning objects
You can move objects to another location on a page (see Moving objects on page 76). If you
want, you can display guidelines on a page to assist you in aligning objects with other objects, as well as the page’s vertical and horizontal centres. You can also set objects to align automatically with these guidelines when you move the objects on a page.
g
To display guidelines
1. Select View > Alignment.
The Alignment dialogue box appears.
2. Select tickboxes to specify which guidelines you want to display:
Tickbox
Show guides for active objects
Show vertical page centre guide
Show horizontal page centre guide
Snap objects to guides
Select this tickbox to:
Display a guideline when you move an object into alignment with another object.
Display a guideline when you move an object into alignment with the page’s vertical centre.
Display a guideline when you move an object into alignment with the page’s horizontal centre.
Automatically align objects to guidelines when you move the objects on a page.
3. If you want to change the colour of the guidelines, press the coloured bar to the left of
Guide Colour and then select a colour.
4. Press OK.
Rearranging stacked objects
If objects overlap on a page, you can rearrange the order of the stack (that is, you can control which objects appear in front of others).
g
To move an object to the front of the stack
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Order > Bring to Front.
78
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects g
To move an object to the back of the stack
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Order > Send to Back.
g
To move an object one place forward in the stack
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Order > Bring Forward.
g
To move an object one place backward in the stack
1. Select the object.
2. Select the object’s menu arrow and then select Order > Send Backward.
Locking objects
You can lock an object to prevent its modification, movement or rotation. Alternatively, you can lock an object but allow its movement or its movement and rotation.
You can remove this lock at any time.
g
To lock an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Locking > Lock in Place.
You’re unable to move, rotate or modify the object until you unlock it.
N O T E
If you press a locked object, a lock icon appears instead of a menu arrow.
g
To lock an object but allow its movement
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Locking > Allow Move.
You can move the object but you’re unable to rotate or modify it until you unlock it.
N O T E
If you press a locked object, a lock icon appears instead of a menu arrow.
79
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects g
To lock an object but allow its movement and rotation
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Locking > Allow Move and Rotate.
You can move and rotate the object but you’re unable to modify it until you unlock it.
N O T E
If you press a locked object, a lock icon appears instead of a menu arrow.
g
To unlock an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s lock icon and then select Unlock.
Cutting, copying and pasting objects
You can cut, copy and paste objects, including text, pictures, straight lines, arcs and shapes in a
.notebook file.
T I P S
l
You can paste text from other programs into SMART Notebook software and cut text
from SMART Notebook software and paste it into other programs (see Cutting, copying
and pasting content from other programs on page 100 and Cutting or copying text on page 59).
l
You can create an exact copy of an object by cloning it (see Cloning objects on the next page).
g
To cut and paste an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Cut.
3. If you want to paste the object onto a different page, display that page.
4. Press Paste
.
g
To copy and paste an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Copy.
3. If you want to paste the item onto a different page, display that page.
4. Press Paste .
80
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
Cloning objects
You can create a duplicate of an object by using the Clone command, or you can create multiple copies of an object using the Infinite Cloner command.
N O T E
You can also copy and paste objects, including text, images, straight lines, arcs and shapes
(see Cutting, copying and pasting objects on the previous page).
g
To clone an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Clone.
A duplicate object appears on the page.
g
To clone an object using the Infinite Cloner
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Infinite Cloner.
3. Select the object again.
An infinity symbol appears instead of the object’s menu arrow.
4. Drag the object to another position on the page.
5. Repeat step 4 as many times as you want.
6. When you have finished cloning the object, select the original object.
7. Press the infinity symbol and then clear the selection of Infinite Cloner.
Resizing objects
You can resize objects on a page by using the resize handle or the scaling gesture (if your interactive product supports multitouch gestures).
N O T E
You’re unable to resize an object if it’s locked in place (see Locking objects on page 79).
81
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
Using the resize handle
g
To resize an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s resize handle (the grey circle) and then drag it to increase or reduce the object’s size.
N O T E
To keep the shape’s original height-to-width ratio, hold down SHIFT whilst you drag the resize handle.
g
To resize multiple objects
1. Group the objects (see Grouping objects on page 85) and then select the group.
A selection rectangle appears around the group.
2. Press the resize handle in the lower-right-hand corner of the selection rectangle.
3. Drag the resize handle to increase or reduce the size of the objects.
Using the scaling gesture
g
To resize an object from its centre
1. Select the object.
2. Using one finger on each hand, press the screen at opposite ends of the object.
82
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
3. Drag your fingers in opposite directions to increase the object’s size.
OR
Drag your fingers toward each other to decrease the object’s size.
g
To resize an object from its corner or side
1. Select the object.
2. Using one finger on each hand, press the screen at the corner or side that you want to resize the object from.
3. Drag your fingers in opposite directions to increase the object’s size.
OR
Drag your fingers toward each other to decrease the object’s size.
g
To resize multiple objects
1. Select the objects.
2. Using one finger on each hand, press the screen at opposite ends of one of the objects.
3. Drag your fingers in opposite directions to increase the objects’ size.
OR
Drag your fingers toward each other to decrease the objects’ size.
N O T E
The objects resize from their centres regardless of where you press the screen.
83
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
Rotating objects
You can rotate objects on a page by using the rotation handle or the rotating gesture (if your interactive product supports multitouch gestures).
N O T E S
l
You’re unable to rotate an object if it’s locked in place (see Locking objects on page 79).
l
You’re unable to rotate tables.
Using the rotation handle
g
To rotate an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s rotation handle (the green circle), and then drag it in the direction you want to rotate the object.
g
To rotate multiple objects
1. Select the objects.
A selection rectangle appears around each object.
2. Press the rotation handle (the green circle) on any one of the selected objects, and then drag it in the direction you want to rotate the object. When you rotate one object, all other selected objects rotate automatically.
Using the rotating gesture
g
To rotate an object around its centre
1. Select the object.
2. Using one finger on each hand, press the screen at opposite ends of the object.
3. Move your fingers in a circle around the centre of the object to rotate it.
84
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects g
To rotate an object around a corner
1. Select the object.
2. Using one finger on each hand, press the screen in the corner that you want to rotate the object around.
3. Move your fingers in a circle around the corner to rotate the object.
g
To rotate multiple objects
1. Select the objects.
2. Using one finger on each hand, press the screen at opposite ends of one of the objects.
3. Move your fingers in a circle.
N O T E
The objects rotate around their centres regardless of where you press the screen.
Flipping objects
You can flip an object on a page.
N O T E
You’re unable to flip an object if it’s locked (see Locking objects on page 79).
g
To flip an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Flip > Up/Down or Flip > Left/Right.
g
To flip multiple objects
1. Select the objects.
2. Press the menu arrow on any one of the selected objects and then select Flip > Up/Down or Flip > Left/Right.
Grouping objects
You can create a group of objects, which lets you interact with all grouped items at the same time. Once you have created a group, you can select, move, rotate or resize the group as if it were an individual object. However, if you want to interact with an individual object in a group, you must ungroup the objects first.
85
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
Grouping objects manually
You can group and ungroup objects manually using the menu or the group gesture.
Using the menu
g
To group objects
1. Select the objects.
2. Press the menu arrow of any one of the selected objects and then select Grouping >
Group.
g
To ungroup objects
1. Select the group.
2. Press the group’s menu arrow and then select Grouping > Ungroup.
Using the group gesture
N O T E S
l
You’re unable to use the group gesture with a mouse.
l
The group gesture works only when you initially contact your interactive product’s surface.
g
To group objects
Quickly shake your finger over the objects three times.
g
To ungroup objects
Quickly shake your finger over the group three times.
86
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
Grouping objects automatically
If you write or draw multiple lines, SMART Notebook software combines the lines into a single object automatically.For example, if you write the letters of a word, SMART Notebook software combines the individual letters, enabling you to interact with the whole word. If you want to write words on the same line but don’t want them combined, leave a large gap between them, use different pens, or briefly put the pen in the pen tray before writing another word (interactive whiteboards only).
If SMART Notebook software combined lines that you want to manipulate individually, ungroup the lines as described above.
Adding links to objects
You can link any object on a page to a webpage, another page in the file, a file on your computer or an attachment. An attachment is a copy of a file, a shortcut to a file or a link to a webpage that you add to the Attachments tab.
N O T E
g
To add a link to a webpage
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Link.
The Insert Link dialogue box appears.
3. Press Webpage and then type the web address in the Address box.
4. If you want to open the link by pressing an icon, select Corner icon.
OR
If you want to open the link by pressing anywhere in the object, select Object.
5. Press OK.
If you selected Corner icon the icon appears in the lower left-hand corner of the object.
g
To add a link to another page in the file
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Link.
The Insert Link dialogue box appears.
3. Press Page in this File and then select an option in the Select a page area.
87
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
4. If you want to open the link by pressing an icon, select Corner icon.
OR
If you want to open the link by pressing anywhere in the object, select Object.
5. Press OK.
If you selected Corner icon the icon appears in the lower left-hand corner of the object.
g
To add a link to a file on your computer
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Link.
The Insert Link dialogue box appears.
3. Press File on this Computer and then type the file’s location and name in the File box.
4. If you want to attach a copy of the file, select Copy of file.
OR
If you want to insert a shortcut to the file, select Shortcut to file.
5. If you want to open the link by pressing an icon, select Corner icon.
OR
If you want to open the link by pressing anywhere in the object, select Object.
6. Press OK.
If you selected Corner icon the icon appears in the lower left-hand corner of the object.
g
To add a link to an attachment
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Link.
The Insert Link dialogue box appears.
3. Press Current Attachments and then select the attachment in the list.
4. If you want to open the link by pressing an icon, select Corner icon.
OR
If you want to open the link by pressing anywhere in the object, select Object.
5. Press OK.
If you selected Corner icon the icon appears in the lower left-hand corner of the object.
88
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects g
To remove a link
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Link.
The Insert Link dialogue box appears.
3. Press Remove Link.
Adding sounds to objects
You can add a sound to any object (except Adobe Flash Player compatible files and widgets) by attaching a sound file or recording a sound using a computer microphone. You can play the sound during the lesson by pressing an icon in the corner of the object or the object itself.
N O T E
SMART Notebook software supports the MP3 audio format.If you want SMART Notebook
software to support other file types, you can install additional encoders (see Installing encoders
for additional formats on page 98).
g
To add a sound file to an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Sound.
The Insert Sound dialogue box appears.
3. Press Browse.
The Insert File dialogue box appears.
4. Browse to and select the sound file and then press Open.
5. Select Corner Icon if you want to play the sound file when you press an icon in the object’s lower left-hand corner.
OR
Select Object if you want to play the sound file when you press anywhere on the object.
6. Press Attach Sound.
g
To add a recorded sound to an object
1. Connect a microphone to your computer and turn it on.
2. Select the object.
3. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Sound.
The Insert Sound dialogue box appears.
89
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
4. Click Start Recording.
5. Record the sound using the microphone.
I M P O R T A N T
SMART Notebook software stops recording after one minute. Therefore, ensure that the sound is no more than one minute long.
6. Click Stop Recording.
7. Type a name for the sound in the Recording name box.
8. Optionally, click Preview Recording to hear the sound before adding it to the object.
9. Select Corner Icon if you want to play the sound file when you press an icon in the object’s lower left-hand corner.
OR
Select Object if you want to play the sound file when you press anywhere on the object.
10. Press Attach Recording.
g
To remove a sound from an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Sound.
The Insert Sound dialogue box appears.
3. Press Remove Sound.
Animating objects
You can animate an object to fly onto a page from the side, spin, fade in, shrink and more. You can set the animation to start when you open a page or when you press the object.
g
To animate an object
1. Select the object.
2. If the Properties tab isn’t visible, press Properties .
3. Press Object Animation.
4. Select options in the Type, Direction, Speed, Occurs and Repeats drop-down lists.
Deleting objects
Although you can erase digital ink (see Erasing digital ink on page 51), you’re unable to erase
some types of objects, including text, shapes, straight lines, arcs and pictures. To remove these types of objects from a page, you must delete them.
90
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
N O T E
You’re unable to delete locked objects (see Locking objects on page 79). To delete a locked
object from a page, you must unlock it.
g
To delete an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Delete.
91
Chapter 6:
93
Chapter 6
Using your own content
Inserting pictures from a scanner
Inserting pictures from a SMART Document Camera
Creating transparent areas in a picture
Inserting Adobe Flash Player compatible files
Inserting Adobe Flash Player compatible video files
Installing encoders for additional formats
Using content from other programs
Cutting, copying and pasting content from other programs
Importing content using SMART Notebook Print Capture
Importing content using SMART Notebook Document Writer
Importing files from other interactive whiteboard programs
Adding your content to the Gallery
Adding your content to the Gallery
Organising your content in the Gallery
Sharing content with other teachers
Connecting to Team Content categories
Finding and using your content in the Gallery
Sharing your content on the SMART Exchange website
If you or other teachers in your school have created content outside of SMART Notebook software, you can include this content in your .notebook files. Specifically, you can do the following: l
Insert pictures, Adobe Flash Player compatible files and video files, and sound files l
Cut or copy and then paste content from other programs
C H A P T E R 6
Using your own content l
Import content from other programs l
Attach copies of files, shortcuts to files and links to webpages
In addition, you can add your content to the Gallery, where you can access and use it across multiple .notebook files or share your content on the SMART Exchange website.
Inserting pictures
You can insert pictures into pages from files, a scanner or a SMART Document Camera.
N O T E
You can also insert pictures from the Gallery tab.For more information, see Finding and using
content from the Gallery on page 113.
Once you have inserted a picture, you can define a transparent area in it.
Inserting pictures from files
You can insert a picture into a page.
SMART Notebook software supports BMP, GIF, JPEG, PNG, TIFF and WMF formats.
g
To insert a picture from a file
1. Select Insert > Picture File.
The Insert Picture File dialogue box appears.
2. Browse to and select the picture that you want to insert.
T I P
To select more than one picture, hold down CTRL and then select the pictures.
3. Press Open.
The picture appears in the upper-left-hand corner of the page.
Inserting pictures from a scanner
If a scanner is connected to your computer, you can insert pictures from the scanner into a page.
N O T E
You must install your scanner’s driver and software on your computer before inserting pictures from the scanner into SMART Notebook software.
94
C H A P T E R 6
Using your own content g
To insert a picture from a scanner
1. Select Insert > Picture From Scanner.
The Insert Scanned Picture dialogue box appears.
2. Select a scanner from the list.
3. Press Scan.
4. Follow the instructions included with your scanner to scan your picture.
Inserting pictures from a SMART Document Camera
You can insert pictures from a SMART Document Camera into a page.
g
To insert a picture from a SMART Document Camera
1. Select Insert > Picture From SMART Document Camera.
The SMART Document Camera window appears on the page.
2. Insert a picture following the instructions in the SMART Document Camera 330 user’s
guide ( smarttech.com/kb/143838 ).
Creating transparent areas in a picture
You can create transparent areas in a picture that you insert into a page. This is useful for removing the picture’s background. You can make any colour in the picture transparent.
N O T E
g
To create a transparent area in a picture
1. Select the picture.
2. Press the picture’s menu arrow and then select Set Picture Transparency.
The Picture Transparency dialogue box appears.
3. Press any areas in the picture that you want to make transparent.
N O T E
Pressing an area makes only that area transparent, even if the picture includes that same colour in other areas.
4. Press OK.
95
C H A P T E R 6
Using your own content
Working with pictures
When you insert a picture in a .notebook file, the picture becomes an object in the file. Therefore, you can move, resize, rotate and make other changes to the picture like any other object.
For information on how to work with objects, including pictures, in .notebook files, see Working
Inserting multimedia files
You can insert multimedia files, including Adobe Flash Player compatible files, video files and sound files, into pages.
N O T E
You can also insert multimedia files from the Gallery tab.For more information, see Finding and
using content from the Gallery on page 113.
Inserting Adobe Flash Player compatible files
You can insert Adobe Flash Player compatible files into a page.
Once you have inserted an Adobe Flash Player compatible file into a page, or display a page that already contains an Adobe Flash Player compatible file, the file plays immediately. You can control the playback of the file. If the file has buttons, you can press them on your interactive product. If the file doesn’t have buttons, you can use the options in the file’s menu arrow.
N O T E S
l
Adobe Flash Player compatible files on a page must be self-extracting. You’re unable to use Adobe Flash Player compatible files that load or rely on other Adobe Flash Player compatible files.
l
You’re unable to drag an Adobe Flash Player compatible file from an Internet browser into a page.
l
If Adobe Flash Player isn’t installed on your computer, SMART Notebook software notifies you when you insert an Adobe Flash Player compatible file into a page.
l
You can install Adobe Flash Player by visiting adobe.com
, but you must use
Internet Explorer® Internet browser to install it. If you use another browser, Adobe Flash
Player compatible files don’t work in SMART Notebook software.
l
To write on top of an Adobe Flash Player compatible file with a handwriting recognition component, start writing outside the file and continue to write over the file. This enables
SMART Notebook software to recognise the digital ink as a separate object from the
Adobe Flash Player compatible file.
96
C H A P T E R 6
Using your own content g
To insert an Adobe Flash Player compatible file
1. Select Insert > Flash File.
The Insert Flash File dialogue box appears.
2. Browse to and select the Adobe Flash Player compatible file that you want to insert into the page.
3. Press Open.
The Adobe Flash Player compatible file appears in the upper left-hand corner of the page.
g
To control an Adobe Flash Player compatible file
1. Select the Adobe Flash Player compatible file.
2. Control the file by doing any of the following: o
To play the file, press the file’s menu arrow and then select Flash > Play.
o
To play the file from the beginning, press the file’s menu arrow and then select Flash
> Rewind.
o
To advance the file slightly and pause playback, press the file’s menu arrow and then select Flash > Step Forward.
o
To rewind the file slightly and pause playback, press the file’s menu arrow and then select Flash > Step Back.
o
To play the file continuously, press the file’s menu arrow and then select Flash >
Loop.
o
To stop playing the file continuously, press the file’s menu arrow and then clear the selection of Flash > Loop.
Inserting Adobe Flash Player compatible video files
You can insert Adobe Flash Player compatible video files into a page.
N O T E
SMART Notebook software supports the Adobe Flash Player compatible video file (FLV) format.If you want SMART Notebook software to support other file types, you can install
additional encoders (see Installing encoders for additional formats on the next page).
g
To insert an Adobe Flash Player compatible video file
1. Press Insert > Flash Video File.
The Insert Video File dialogue box appears.
2. Browse to and select the Adobe Flash Player compatible video file that you want to insert
97
C H A P T E R 6
Using your own content into the page.
3. Press Open.
Inserting sound files
You can attach a sound file to any object (except Adobe Flash Player compatible objects) in a
.notebook file.For more information, see Adding sounds to objects on page 89.
Working with multimedia files
When you insert a multimedia file in a .notebook file, the multimedia file becomes an object in the file. Therefore, you can move, resize, rotate and make other changes to the multimedia file like any other object.
For information on how to work with objects, including multimedia files, in .notebook files, see
Working with objects on page 71.
Installing encoders for additional formats
SMART Notebook software supports the FLV and MP3 formats. If you want SMART Notebook software to support other video and audio formats, you can install the following encoder. If you install this encoder, SMART Notebook software automatically detects it and supports its video and audio formats.
Encoder
MediaCoder Full
Pack 0.3.9
Video formats
l
ASF l
AVI l
MOV l l
MPEG and
MPG
WMV
Audio formats
l
AIF and AIFF l
WAV
Link
mediacoderhq.com/dlfull.htm
N O T E
SMART Technologies ULC provides links to these programs as a courtesy and makes no representations or warranties regarding the programs or any information related thereto. Any questions, complaints or claims regarding the programs must be directed to the appropriate software vendor.
Inserting Internet browsers
You can insert an Internet browser into a .notebook page. In the Internet browser, you can browse to and display web pages. You can modify the Internet browser like any other object in
SMART Notebook software (see Working with objects on page 71).
98
C H A P T E R 6
Using your own content
Inserting an Internet browser
g
To insert an Internet browser
1. Select Insert > Internet Browser.
An Internet browser appears.
2. Double-click the address bar, type the address of the web page you want to browse to, and then press Go .
T I P
If there’s no keyboard connected to your computer, click SMART Keyboard to display an on-screen keyboard.
3. Interact with the website using the buttons in the Internet browser toolbar:
Button Command
Back
Forward
Return to
Pinned Page
Pin Page
Action
Display the previous web page.
Display the next web page.
Open the pinned web page.
Reload
Move Toolbar
Pin the current web page.
When you first open the .notebook file, the pinned web page appears in the Internet browser. You can return to the pinned page at any time by pressing Return to Pinned Page .
Reload the current web page.
Change the position of the Internet browser toolbar.
Configuring proxy servers
Internet browsers in SMART Notebook software work with any proxy server that adheres to the
RFC 2068 HTTP standard. If your system administrator installed SMART Notebook software behind a proxy server, he or she must create access policy rules for inbound and outbound traffic on that proxy server. Your system administrator can further enhance network security by enabling authentication, such as basic or NT LAN Manager (NTLM) authentication.
N O T E
Although proxy servers protect internal networks from intruders, they unavoidably introduce network latency.
99
C H A P T E R 6
Using your own content
Using content from other programs
If you have content in other programs that you want to use in your .notebook files, you can move this content to SMART Notebook software by doing one of the following: l
Cutting or copying and then pasting the content l
Importing the content
Cutting, copying and pasting content from other programs
You can cut or copy, and then paste content from other programs into SMART Notebook software.
g
To cut content from another program
1. In the other program, select the content that you want to cut and then select Edit > Cut.
2. In SMART Notebook software, press Paste
.
g
To copy content from another program
1. In the other program, select the content that you want to copy and then select Edit >
Copy.
2. In SMART Notebook software, press Paste
.
Importing content using SMART Notebook Print Capture
When you install SMART Notebook software on a computer with Windows XP operating system, you also install SMART Notebook Print Capture. SMART Notebook Print Capture works like any other printer driver, except it captures output in a .notebook file, instead of printing it on paper.
Each page of an imported file appears as an object on its own page, with its original formatting and page breaks preserved.
N O T E
If you install SMART Notebook software on a computer with Windows Vista® or Windows 7 operating system, you can import content using SMART Notebook Document Writer (see
Importing content using SMART Notebook Document Writer on the next page).
g
To use SMART Notebook Print Capture
1. In the source file that you want to export to a .notebook file, select File > Print.
The Print dialogue box appears.
2. Select SMART Notebook Print Capture in the list of printers.
3. Optionally, change the page orientation and graphics resolution (see To change the page
orientation and graphics resolution on the next page).
100
C H A P T E R 6
Using your own content
4. Specify a page range and then press OK or Print.
If an existing .notebook file isn’t open, a new .notebook file opens. Each page of the source file appears on a separate page.
OR
If an existing .notebook file is open, each page of the source file appears in the .notebook
file after the current page.
N O T E
This process can take several minutes.
g
To change the page orientation and graphics resolution
1. Press the Properties or Preferences button.
The SMART Notebook Print Capture Properties dialogue box appears.
2. Select Portrait or Landscape.
3. Select a default resolution in the Resolution drop-down list.
OR
Select CUSTOM Resolution in the Resolution drop-down list and then type numbers in the Horizontal Resolution and Vertical Resolution boxes.
T I P S
o
Use the same value in both boxes to prevent image distortion.
o
The higher the resolution, the larger the image.
o
Don’t use the Draft, Low or Medium options because they might not scale the image proportionally.
4. Press OK.
Importing content using SMART Notebook Document Writer
When you install SMART Notebook software on a computer with Windows Vista or Windows 7 operating system, you also install SMART Notebook Document Writer. SMART Notebook
Document Writer works like any other printer driver, except it captures output in a .notebook file, instead of printing it on paper.
N O T E
If you install SMART Notebook software on a computer with Windows XP operating system,
you can import content using SMART Notebook Print Capture (see Importing content using
SMART Notebook Print Capture on the previous page).
101
C H A P T E R 6
Using your own content g
To use SMART Notebook Document Writer
1. In the source file you want to export to a .notebook file, select File > Print.
The Print dialogue box appears.
2. Select SMART Notebook Document Writer in the list of printers.
3. Optionally, change the page orientation (see To change the page orientation below).
4. Specify a page range and then press OK or Print.
A dialogue box appears.
5. Select SMART Notebook pages with images to import the content of the file as pictures.
OR
Select SMART Notebook page with editable objects to import the content of the file as editable objects.
N O T E
If you choose to import the content as editable objects, some objects may not display correctly. You can import the content as pictures.
6. Press OK.
A new .notebook file opens. Each page of the source file appears on a separate page.
g
To change the page orientation
1. Press Properties or Preferences.
The Printing Preferences dialogue box appears.
2. Select Landscape or Portrait in the Orientation drop-down list.
3. Press OK.
Importing PowerPoint files
You can import content into a .notebook file from a variety of sources, including PowerPoint files.
N O T E
SMART Notebook software doesn’t import some gradient, pattern and picture effects. These effects may appear incorrectly in .notebook files as a result.
T I P
You can also export .notebook files to PowerPoint (see Exporting files on page 15).
102
C H A P T E R 6
Using your own content g
To import a PowerPoint file
1. Select File > Import.
The Open dialogue box appears.
2. Select All PowerPoint Files (*.ppt;*.pptx) in the Files of type drop-down list.
3. Browse to and select the PowerPoint file that you want to import.
4. Press Open.
SMART Notebook software adds the contents of the PowerPoint file to a .notebook file.
Importing files from other interactive whiteboard programs
You can import content into .notebook files from a variety of sources, including other whiteboard programs.
If the other whiteboard program supports the Interactive Whiteboard Common File Format (CFF), you can export a CFF file from the program and then import that CFF file into SMART Notebook software.
Otherwise, you can attempt to import the other interactive whiteboard program’s native file format.
N O T E
You can also export CFF files (see Exporting files on page 15).
g
To import CFF files
1. Select File > Import.
The Open dialogue box appears.
2. Select All Common File Format Files (*.iwb) in the Files of type list.
3. Browse to and select the file that you want to import.
4. Press Open.
The file opens.
103
C H A P T E R 6
Using your own content g
To import other files
1. Press Open File .
The Open dialogue box appears.
2. Select All Files (*.*) in the Files of type list.
3. Browse to and select the file that you want to open.
4. Press Open.
If you import a file that SMART Notebook software supports, the file opens.
OR
If you import a file that SMART Notebook software doesn’t support, SMART Notebook software adds it to the Attachments tab. You can open these attached files using thirdparty software, but you’re not able to add them to a page.
Attaching files and webpages
You can attach copies of files, shortcuts to files and links to webpages using the Attachments tab.
Attaching files or webpages enables you to find and open these items easily while presenting a
.notebook file.
N O T E S
l
You can also link a file or webpage to an object on a page (see Adding links to objects on page 87).
l
As an alternative to attaching a link to a webpage, you can also insert an Internet
browser in your .notebook file (see Inserting Internet browsers on page 98).
g
To attach a copy of a file
1. If the Attachments tab isn’t visible, press Attachments
.
2. Press Insert at the bottom of the Attachments tab and then select Insert Copy of File.
The Insert Copy of File dialogue box appears.
3. Browse to and select the file that you want to attach.
104
C H A P T E R 6
Using your own content
4. Press Open.
The file’s name and size appear in the Attachments tab.
N O T E
When you attach a file, the size of the .notebook file increases. Although
SMART Notebook software compresses files to conserve space, SMART Notebook software can compress some file types more than others.
g
To attach a shortcut to a file
1. If the Attachments tab isn’t visible, press Attachments .
2. Press Insert at the bottom of the Attachments tab, and then select Insert Shortcut to
File.
The Insert File Shortcut dialogue box appears.
3. Browse to and select the file that you want to attach.
4. Press Open.
The file name and Shortcut appear in the Attachments tab.
N O T E S
o
SMART Notebook software doesn’t export shortcuts. If you want to export file attachments, attach a copy of your file, not a file shortcut.
o
Make sure that the file is accessible on the computer that you will use during the lesson.
g
To attach a link to a webpage
1. If the Attachments tab isn’t visible, press Attachments .
2. Press Insert at the bottom of the Attachments tab and then select Insert Hyperlink.
The Insert Hyperlink dialogue box appears.
3. Type the webpage’s address in the Hyperlink box.
4. Type a name for the link in the Display name box.
5. Press OK.
The display name and URL appear in the Attachments tab.
105
C H A P T E R 6
Using your own content g
To open a file or webpage from the Attachments tab
1. If the Attachments tab isn’t visible, press Attachments .
The Attachments tab lists all attachments in the current file.
o
If an attached item is a copy of a file, the file’s size appears in the Size column.
o
If an attached item is a shortcut to a file, Shortcut appears in the Size column.
o
If an attached item is a link to a webpage, URL appears in the Size column.
2. To open a file, double-click the file name or shortcut.
OR
To open a webpage, double-click the link.
Adding your content to the Gallery
The Gallery is a tab in the SMART Notebook software user interface where you can browse or search for content and then add that content to your .notebook files. The Gallery consists of a set of categories, one of which is the My Content category.
If you find you use the same content across multiple .notebook files, you can add this content to the My Content category. You can share content from the My Content category with other teachers in your school by importing or exporting Gallery collection files. You can also connect to a Team Content category containing content that you and other teachers in your school contribute to.
Adding your content to the Gallery
You can add SMART Notebook software objects and pages as well as support files to the My
Content category in the Gallery.
g
To add an object to the Gallery
1. If the Gallery isn’t visible, press Gallery .
2. Select the object that you want to add to the Gallery.
3. Drag the object from the page to the Gallery’s My Content category or one of its subcategories.
N O T E S
o
You’re unable to drag an object if it’s locked in place (see Locking objects on page
o
If you want to change a Gallery item’s name, select the item, press its menu arrow and then select Rename.
106
C H A P T E R 6
Using your own content g
To add a page to the Gallery
1. Create and modify objects on the page until the page appears exactly as you want it to.
2. Select File > Save Page as Gallery Item.
The Save Page as Gallery Item dialogue box appears.
3. Browse to the folder in which you want to save the page.
4. Type a name for the page in the File name box.
5. Press Save.
6. If the Gallery isn’t visible, press Gallery .
7. Select My Content (or one of its subcategories) in the Gallery’s category list, press its menu arrow and then select Add to My Content.
The Add to My Content dialogue box appears.
8. Browse to and select the item that you saved in step 5.
9. Press Open.
g
To add a supported file to the Gallery
1. If the Gallery isn’t visible, press Gallery
.
2. Select My Content (or one of its subcategories) in the Gallery’s category list, press its menu arrow and then select Add to My Content.
The Add to My Content dialogue box appears.
3. Browse to and select the item that you want to add to the Gallery.
4. Press Open.
N O T E
By default, SMART Notebook software names the new Gallery item based on the original file name.If you want to change the item’s name, select the Gallery item’s thumbnail, press its menu arrow and then select Rename.
107
C H A P T E R 6
Using your own content
Organising your content in the Gallery
As you add objects, pages and supported files to the My Content category in the Gallery, you may want to reorganise the category’s structure. You can create subcategories and move Gallery items between subcategories.
g
To create a subcategory
1. If the Gallery isn’t visible, press Gallery
.
2. Select My Content (or one of its subcategories) in the Gallery’s category list, press its menu arrow and then select New Folder.
A new subcategory appears.
3. Type a name for the new subcategory and then press ENTER.
g
To rename a subcategory
1. If the Gallery isn’t visible, press Gallery
.
2. Select My Content in the Gallery’s category list and then browse to the subcategory that you want to rename.
3. Select the subcategory, press its menu arrow and then select Rename.
4. Type a new name for the subcategory and then press ENTER.
g
To move a Gallery item to a different subcategory
1. If the Gallery isn’t visible, press Gallery
.
2. Browse to the category that contains the Gallery item that you want to move.
The Gallery displays the contents of the category.
3. Drag the item to another subcategory.
108
C H A P T E R 6
Using your own content
Sharing content with other teachers
Importing and exporting collection files is an ideal way to share custom categories with other teachers and to use categories that other teachers have created. You can use collection files to add items to the My Content category in the Gallery. Once you have imported a collection file, all of its items appear in The Gallery as a new subcategory.
g
To import a collection file from another teacher
1. If the Gallery isn’t visible, press Gallery .
2. Select My Content (or one of its subcategories) in the Gallery’s category list, press its menu arrow and then select Add to My Content.
The Add to My Content dialogue box appears.
3. Browse to the folder that contains the collection file that you want to import.
N O T E
A collection file has a .gallery extension.
4. Select the collection file and then press Open.
The collection appears as a new subcategory.
g
To export a collection file to share with other teachers
1. Select the category that contains the items you want to save in a collection.
N O T E
SMART Notebook software exports the selected category but doesn’t export any of its subcategories.
2. Press the category’s menu arrow and then select Export as Collection File.
The Save As dialogue box appears.
3. Browse to the folder where you want to save the collection file.
4. Type a name for the file in the File name box.
5. Press Save.
109
C H A P T E R 6
Using your own content
Connecting to Team Content categories
The Team Content categories feature enables you to connect to Gallery content in a shared location on your school’s network. Multiple teachers can connect to the same folder.
SMART Notebook software automatically updates your changes for all other teachers.
N O T E
Your access permissions for the Team Content category are the same as your folder access permissions on your school’s network. If you have full access to a folder on the network, you can add or remove items in that folder’s Team Content category. However, if you have readonly access to the folder, you can copy items from the Team Content category, but you’re unable to add, edit or remove items.
g
To connect to a Team Content category
1. If the Gallery isn’t visible, press Gallery
.
2. Press Show additional Gallery actions and then select Connect to Team Content.
The Browse For Folder dialogue box appears.
3. Browse to and select the folder containing the Team Content category that you want to connect to and then press OK.
The Team Content category appears in the Gallery.
g
To contribute to a Team Content category
Add content to a Team Content category as you do to the My Content category (see Adding your
content to the Gallery on page 106).
Finding and using your content in the Gallery
After adding your content to the Gallery, you can find and use it as described in Finding and using
content from the Gallery on page 113.
110
C H A P T E R 6
Using your own content
Sharing your content on the SMART Exchange website
In addition to sharing your content with other teachers in your school (see Sharing content with
other teachers on page 109), you can share .notebook files with teachers from around the world
using the SMART Exchange website ( exchange.smarttech.com
).
g
To share a .notebook file on the SMART Exchange website
1. Open the .notebook file that you want to share.
2. Select File > Share on SMART Exchange.
A dialogue box appears.
3. If you’re new to the SMART Exchange website, press Not a member yet and then follow the on-screen instructions to create an account.
OR
If you have an account, type your email address in the Email Address box and your password in the Password box and then press Sign In.
T I P S
o
If you have forgotten your password, click Forgot your password and then follow the on-screen instructions to reset it.
o
If you don’t want to log on to the SMART Exchange website each time you share content, select the Keep me signed in tickbox.
4. Enter the appropriate information:
Control Instructions
Enter resource details
Type a title for the .notebook file.
Description
Type a description of the .notebook file.
Subject(s)
Year Group(s)
Search terms
Select the subjects that the .notebook file is applicable to.
Select the grades that the .notebook file is applicable to.
Type words or phrases that other SMART Exchange users will likely enter to search for the .notebook file. Separate the words or phrases with commas.
5. Read the sharing agreement.
6. If you accept the sharing agreement, press Agree and Submit.
111
Chapter 7:
Chapter 7
Using content from
SMART resources
Finding and using content from the Gallery
Finding and using content from the SMART Exchange website
SMART Notebook software includes Lesson Activity Examples, which includes Activity Builder
examples (see Creating matching lesson activities on page 118), interactive techniques and 3D
models to aid you in creating lesson activities.
When your system administrator installs SMART Notebook software, he or she can install the following additional items: l
Gallery Essentials is a collection of thousands of pictures, multimedia objects and more, organised into subject-specific categories.
l
Lesson Activity Toolkit is a collection of customisable tools and templates that you can use to create professional-looking and interactive lessons. The toolkit helps you create engaging content like word games, quizzes and sorting activities. It also offers
Adobe Flash Player compatible files like hide-and-reveal and drag-and-drop.
In addition, you can use content from the SMART Exchange website, an online resource that includes both SMART- and teacher-created content.
All of these resources are available from the Gallery, which is a tab in the SMART Notebook software user interface where you can browse or search for content and then add that content to your .notebook files.
Finding and using content from the Gallery
The Gallery is divided into two sections. The top section of the Gallery is the category list. When you select a category or subcategory in the list, its contents appear in the bottom section of the
Gallery.
T I P
You can change the size of the category list and content list by pressing the boundary between them and then dragging it up or down.
113
C H A P T E R 7
Using content from SMART resources
You can browse the category list to view the contents of each category. Thumbnails in the categories provide preview images of the content.
l
In Pictures, pictures appear as thumbnails.
l
In Interactive and Multimedia, video objects appear as a single frame from the videos, sound objects appear with a speaker icon in the lower left-hand corner, and Adobe Flash
Player compatible files appear as an Adobe Flash icon or thumbnail of the content with a small Adobe Flash icon in the upper left-hand corner.
l
In 3D Objects, 3D models appear as thumbnails.
l
In Notebook Files and Pages, files appear as binders and pages appear with a folded upper right-hand corner.
l
In Backgrounds and Themes, backgrounds appear as pages with a folded lower right-hand corner and themes appear as thumbnails.
You can search for a Gallery item using the keyword search.
After browsing or searching for a Gallery item, you can add it to your .notebook file.
g
To browse the Gallery
1. If the Gallery isn’t visible, press Gallery .
2. Press a category’s plus sign to view its subcategories.
N O T E
You can close a category by pressing the category’s minus sign.
3. Select a category or subcategory to display its contents.
g
To search the Gallery
1. If the Gallery isn’t visible, press Gallery .
2. Type a keyword into the Type search terms here box, and then press Search
.
The Gallery displays all content containing the keyword.
g
To add a Gallery item to your .notebook file
1. If the Gallery isn’t visible, press Gallery .
2. Browse or search for the Gallery item that you want to add.
114
C H A P T E R 7
Using content from SMART resources
3. Double-click the Gallery item’s thumbnail.
o
If you add a picture, Adobe Flash Player compatible file, video file or sound file, it appears on the current page.
o
If you add a background, it replaces the page’s existing background (see Applying
page backgrounds and themes on page 41).
o
If you add a page from a .notebook file, SMART Notebook software inserts it before the current page.
o
If you add a .notebook file, SMART Notebook software inserts the file’s pages before the current page.
Finding and using content from the
SMART Exchange website
The SMART Exchange website ( exchange.smarttech.com
) includes thousands of lesson plans, question sets, widgets and other content that you can download and then open in
SMART Notebook software.
N O T E
You can also share your lesson plans with other teachers through the SMART Exchange
website.For more information, see Sharing your content on the SMART Exchange website on page 111.
g
To find and use content from the SMART Exchange website
1. Click SMART Exchange
.
The SMART Exchange website opens in your web browser.
2. If you’re new to the SMART Exchange website, click Join for free and then follow the onscreen instructions to create an account.
OR
If you have an account, click Sign In and then follow the on-screen instructions to log on to the SMART Exchange website with your account.
3. Search or browse for content and then download it to your computer.
4. Import content into the Gallery (see Sharing content with other teachers on page 109).
115
Chapter 8:
Chapter 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom
Creating and presenting lesson activities
Creating matching lesson activities
Creating hide-and-show lesson activities
Creating reveal lesson activities
Using other resources to create lesson activities
Using the Magic Pen to create fading objects
Using the Magic Pen to open a magnification window
Using the Magic Pen to open a spotlight window
Using the Geodreieck protractor
Enabling two people to use an interactive whiteboard
Enabling two people to use a SMART Board D600 series interactive whiteboard
Enabling two people to use a SMART Board 800 series interactive whiteboard
This chapter includes information on using SMART Notebook software in your classroom when presenting information to students or facilitating collaborative learning.
Presenting files to students
After creating a .notebook file using basic objects, your own content and content from SMART resources, you can present the file to students in your classroom.
117
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom
The following are tips to keep in mind when presenting files to students: l
Save your completed file on a CD, DVD or USB drive. This enables you to access and display your presentation by inserting the CD, DVD or USB drive into the computer connected to the interactive product. Alternatively, make your presentation accessible on your local area network and then browse to it on the interactive product.
l
To avoid losing your momentum and focus during the presentation, attach the files and links to webpages that you’ll use during your presentation to the Attachments tab of your
file so that you don’t have to search for them (see Attaching files and webpages on page
l
If your file contains a lot of pages, separate them into groups.This enables you to find a
particular page more easily during a presentation (see Grouping pages on page 34).
l
Display the file in Full Screen view during the presentation.This view maximises the
available workspace (see Displaying pages in Full Screen view on page 29).
Creating and presenting lesson activities
Using SMART Notebook software, you can not only present information to students but also engage them in interactive lesson activities.
You can create lesson activities by inserting objects such as shapes, pictures and tables, and using features such as the Activity Builder and scaling gesture.
This section includes three example of how you can create and then present lesson activities to your students. You can use these example lesson activities or develop your own. You can also use resources available to you in the Gallery and SMART Exchange website.
Creating matching lesson activities
N O T E
You’ll complete the following tasks when creating matching lesson activities: l
Using the Activity Builder l
Adding sounds to objects (see Adding sounds to objects on page 89)
The Activity Builder enables you to create matching activities, sorting activities, labelling activities, games and more using your own content.
Using the Activity Builder, you define one object on the page as an activity object. You then define which objects on the page will be accepted and which will be rejected when you drag the objects over the activity object.
118
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom g
To create a matching lesson activity
1. Create the object you want to use as the activity object and the objects that you want to accept or reject when dragged to the activity object.
2. Press Add-ons and then press Activity Builder.
3. Select the object you want to use as the activity object and then press Edit.
4. Drag the objects you want to accept to the Accept these objects list.
A green tick appears beside objects that you select to accept.
5. Drag the objects that you want to reject to the Reject these objects list.
A red X appears beside objects that you select to reject.
N O T E S
o
To quickly select any remaining objects on the page to accept or reject, press Add
All Remaining in the appropriate list.
o
To remove an object from a list, drag it to the trash can icon .
6. Press Done.
g
To change a matching lesson activity’s settings
1. Press Add-ons and then press Activity Builder.
2. Select the activity object and then press Edit.
T I P
If you don’t know which object on the page is the activity object, click Identify. Blue diagonal lines appear over any activity objects on the page for three seconds.
3. Press Settings.
4. Select the desired animation for accepted objects in the first Animation drop-down list.
5. Optionally, select the Also play the object’s sound tickbox to play sounds attached to
accepted objects when they’re dragged over the activity object (see Adding sounds to
6. Select the desired animation for rejected objects in the first Animation drop-down list.
7. Optionally, select the Also play the object’s sound tickbox to play sounds attached to
rejected objects when they’re dragged over the activity object (see Adding sounds to
8. Press Done.
119
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom g
To present a matching lesson activity
1. Drag the objects (or get students to drag the objects) to the activity object.
o
If the object is accepted, the accepted object animation plays (fade out by default).
o
If the object is rejected, the rejected object animation plays (bounce back by default).
2. Press Add-ons , press Activity Builder and then press Reset All when you’ve finished.
g
To remove a matching lesson activity
1. Press Add-ons and then press Activity Builder.
2. Select the activity object and then press Clear Properties.
Creating hide-and-show lesson activities
N O T E
You’ll complete the following tasks when creating hide-and-show lesson activities: l
Moving objects (see Moving objects on page 76)
l
Locking objects (see Locking objects on page 79)
l
Resizing objects using the scaling gesture (see Using the scaling gesture on page 82)
You can hide an object and then reveal it using several techniques: l
Add a Screen Shade to a page.During the presentation, gradually remove the shade to
reveal the underlying text and graphics when you’re ready to discuss them (see Using the
l
Cover the object with digital ink and then erase the digital ink (see Writing, drawing and
erasing digital ink on page 46).
l
Cover the object with another object and then change the order of the objects in the stack
(see Rearranging stacked objects on page 78).
l
Use the object animation feature (see Animating objects on page 90).
Alternatively, you can hide an object behind a locked object and then use the scaling gesture to enlarge and show the hidden object if you’re using a SMART interactive product that supports multitouch gestures.
120
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom g
To create a hide-and-show lesson activity
1. Create or insert the object that you want to hide.
2. Create or insert the object that you want to lock.
3. Move the object that you want to lock so that it covers the object that you want to hide.
121
4. Select the object that you want to lock, press its menu arrow and then select Locking >
Lock in Place.
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom
5. Use the scaling gesture to enlarge and show the hidden object while keeping the locked
object in place (see Using the scaling gesture on page 82).
Creating reveal lesson activities
N O T E
You’ll complete the following tasks when creating reveal lesson activities: l
Creating tables (see Creating tables in SMART Notebook software on page 60)
l
Resizing cells (see Resizing tables, columns or rows on page 66)
l
Filling a table’s background with a picture (see Changing a table’s properties on page 64)
l
Adding objects to cells (see Adding objects to tables on page 62)
l
Adding and removing cell shades (see Adding or removing cell shades on page 68)
You can use tables and cell shades to create a variety of reveal lesson activities. The following are two examples: l
A puzzle-style reveal lesson activity where you reveal parts of a picture until students can guess what the picture is.
122
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom l
A memory-style reveal lesson activity where you reveal the contents of the cell and then ask students to choose other cells until they find the cell with matching contents.
g
To create a puzzle-style reveal lesson activity
1. Create a table with the number of cells that you want to include in the reveal lesson activity
(see Creating tables in SMART Notebook software on page 60).
2. Resize the cells as appropriate (see Resizing tables, columns or rows on page 66).
3. Select the table, press the table’s menu arrow and then select Properties.
The Properties tab appears.
4. Press Fill Effects.
5. Select Image fill, press Browse, browse to and select the picture that you want to use in the reveal lesson activity and then press Open.
6. Select Scale image to fit.
7. Press the table’s menu arrow and then select Add Table Shade.
g
To create a memory-style reveal lesson activity
1. Insert the objects that you want to include in the lesson activity.
2. Create a table with the number of cells that you want to include in the reveal lesson activity
(see Creating tables in SMART Notebook software on page 60).
3. Resize the cells as appropriate (see Resizing tables, columns or rows on page 66).
4. Drag the objects into the cells of the table.
5. Press the table’s menu arrow and then select Add Table Shade.
g
To present a reveal lesson activity
Press a individual cell’s cell shade to reveal the contents of the cell.
To hide the cell behind the cell shade, press <> in the corner of the cell.
Using other resources to create lesson activities
The Lesson Activity Toolkit and Lesson Activity Examples in the Gallery include interactive objects you can use to create lesson activities.For more information on the Lesson Activity
123
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom
Toolkit, the Lesson Activity Examples and the Gallery in general, see Finding and using content
The SMART Exchange website includes thousands of lesson plans, question sets and other content that you can download and then open in SMART Notebook software.For more
information on the SMART Exchange website, see Finding and using content from the
SMART Exchange website on page 115.
Using presentation tools
Whilst presenting .notebook files to students, you can use the following tools: l
Screen Shade l
Magic Pen l
Measurement tools o
Ruler o
Protractor o
Geodreieck protractor o
Compass
Using the Screen Shade
If you want to cover information and reveal it slowly during a presentation, you can add a Screen
Shade to a page.
If you add a Screen Shade to a page and save the file, the Screen Shade appears over the page the next time you open the file.
g
To add a Screen Shade to a page
Press Show/Hide Screen Shade .
A Screen Shade appears over the entire page.
g
To reveal part of the page
Drag one of the Screen Shade’s resize handles (the small circles at the edges of the Screen
Shade) to reveal part of a page.
g
To remove the Screen Shade from a page
Press Show/Hide Screen Shade .
OR
Press Close in the upper right-hand corner of the Screen Shade.
124
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom
Using the Magic Pen
The Magic Pen enables you to do the following: l
Create an object that slowly fades l
Open a magnification window l
Open a spotlight window
Selecting the Magic Pen
Before you can use the Magic Pen, you must select it.
g
To select the Magic Pen
1. Press Pens .
The Pens tool buttons appear.
2. Press Pen Types and then select Magic Pen.
Using the Magic Pen to create fading objects
You can create an object that slowly fades using the Magic Pen.
N O T E
Fading objects are not saved in .notebook files.
g
To create a fading object
1. Select the Magic Pen (see Selecting the Magic Pen above).
2. Using your finger or a pen, write or draw objects on the interactive screen.
The objects slowly fade.
g
To set the number of seconds before the object fades
1. Select the Magic Pen (see Selecting the Magic Pen above).
2. If the Properties tab isn’t visible, press Properties
.
3. Press Fill Effects.
125
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom
4. Select the number of seconds before the object fades in the Fade time drop-down list.
T I P
You can save your changes to the Magic Pen tool’s default settings by clicking Save
Tool Properties (see Saving tool settings on page 76).
Using the Magic Pen to open a magnification window
You can open a magnification window using the Magic Pen.
N O T E
You can magnify the screen outside of SMART Notebook software.
g
To open a magnification window
1. Select the Magic Pen (see Selecting the Magic Pen on the previous page).
2. Using your finger or a pen, draw a square or rectangle on the interactive screen.
A magnification window appears.
126
T I P
You can draw a square but get it to fade rather than open a magnification window by
using the Standard pen type (see Writing or drawing fading digital ink on page 48).
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom
3. Do the following: o
To reduce the magnification window’s size, press in the middle of the window and then drag to the left.
o
To increase the magnification window’s size, press in the middle of the window and then drag to the right.
o
To move the magnification window, press near the edge of the window and then drag it.
4. Press Close when you’ve finished.
Using the Magic Pen to open a spotlight window
You can open a spotlight window using the Magic Pen.
N O T E
You can highlight an area of the screen outside of SMART Notebook software.
127
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom g
To open a spotlight window
1. Select the Magic Pen (see Selecting the Magic Pen on page 125).
2. Using your finger or a pen, draw a circle or ellipse on the interactive screen.
A spotlight window appears.
T I P
You can draw a circle but get it to fade rather than open a magnification window by using
the Standard pen tool (see Writing or drawing fading digital ink on page 48).
3. Do the following: o
To reduce the spotlight window’s size, press in the middle of the window and then drag to the left.
o
To increase the spotlight window’s size, press in the middle of the window and then drag to the right.
o
To move the spotlight window, press near the edge of the window and then drag it.
4. Press Close when you’ve finished.
Using the measurement tools
Using the SMART Notebook software measurement tools, you can insert a ruler, protractor,
Geodreieck protractor or compass into a page.
128
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom
Using the ruler
You can insert a ruler into a page and then manipulate its size, length, rotation and location and draw along its edges.
g
To insert a ruler
Press Measurement Tools and then select Insert Ruler .
A ruler appears.
g
To move the ruler
Press the middle of the ruler (displayed as a darker shade of blue) and then drag the ruler to a different position on the page.
g
To resize the ruler
1. Select the ruler.
2. Drag the ruler’s resize handle (the circle in the lower-right-hand corner) to increase or reduce the ruler’s size.
g
To lengthen the ruler (without changing its scale)
Press the ruler’s far edge, between the menu arrow and the resize handle and then drag away from the ruler.
g
To shorten the ruler (without changing its scale)
Press the ruler’s far edge, between the menu arrow and the resize handle and then drag towards the middle of the ruler.
g
To rotate the ruler
Press the top or bottom edge of the ruler (displayed as a lighter shade of blue) and then drag the ruler in the direction that you want to rotate it.
The ruler displays the current rotation in degrees.
g
To reverse the measurements
Press the ruler’s flip symbol .
If the metric measurements appeared on the top edge of the ruler, they now appear on the bottom edge and vice versa.
129
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom g
To draw using a pen and the ruler
1. Press Pens .
The Pens tool buttons appear.
2. Press Pen Types and then select Standard Pen or Calligraphy Pen.
3. Select a line type.
4. Draw along the edge of the ruler.
Digital ink appears in a straight line along the edge of the ruler.
g
To remove the ruler
1. Select the ruler.
2. Press the ruler’s menu arrow and then select Delete.
Using the protractor
You can insert a protractor into a page, manipulate its size, rotation and location and then draw along its edges.
g
To insert a protractor
Press Measurement Tools and then select Insert Protractor .
A protractor appears.
130
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom g
To move the protractor
Press the inner part of the protractor (displayed as a darker shade of blue) and then drag the protractor to a different position on the page.
g
To resize the protractor
Press the inner circle of numbers and then drag away from the protractor to enlarge it or toward the centre of the protractor to shrink it.
g
To rotate the protractor
Press the outer circle of numbers and then drag the protractor in the direction you want to rotate it.
The protractor displays the current rotation in degrees.
g
To display the protractor as a complete circle
1. Press the blue circle next to the 180 label on the inner circle of numbers.
131
2. Press the blue circle again to return to the semi-circle.
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom g
To draw using a pen and the protractor
1. Press Pens .
The Pens tool buttons appear.
2. Press Pen Types and then select Standard Pen or Calligraphy Pen.
3. Select a line type.
4. Draw along the edge of the protractor.
Digital ink appears in an arc along the edge of the protractor.
g
To display angles using the protractor
1. Select the protractor.
2. Drag the green circle until it shows the correct angle for the first of two intersecting lines.
3. Drag the white circle until it shows the correct angle for the second of two intersecting lines.
4. Press the green arrow in the bottom corner.
The lines and the angle between them appear as a separate object.
g
To remove the protractor
1. Select the protractor.
2. Press the protractor’s menu arrow and then select Delete.
Using the Geodreieck protractor
You can insert a Geodreieck protractor (also known as a set square or T-square) on a page and then manipulate its size, rotation and location.
g
To insert a Geodreieck protractor
Press Measurement Tools and then select Insert Geodreieck .
A Geodreieck protractor appears.
132
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom g
To move the protractor
Press the inner part of the protractor (within the semi-circle) and then drag the protractor to a different position on the page.
g
To resize the protractor
Press the semi-circle and then drag away from the centre of the protractor to make it bigger or towards the centre of the protractor to make it smaller.
g
To rotate the protractor
Press the outer part of the protractor (outside of the semi-circle) and then drag the protractor in the direction you want to rotate it.
The protractor displays the current rotation in degrees.
g
To draw using a pen and the Geodreieck protractor
1. Press Pens .
The Pens tool buttons appear.
133
2. Press Pen Types and then select Standard Pen or Calligraphy Pen.
3. Select a line type.
4. Draw along the edge of the protractor.
Digital ink appears in a straight line along the edge of the protractor.
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom g
To remove the protractor
1. Select the protractor.
2. Press the protractor’s menu arrow and then select Delete.
Using the compass
You can insert a compass into a page, manipulate its width, rotation and location and then use it to draw circles and arcs.
g
To insert a compass
Press Measurement Tools and then select Insert Compass .
A compass appears.
g
To move the compass
Press the arm of the compass that holds the spike and then drag the compass to a different position on the page.
g
To widen the compass
1. Press the arm of the compass that holds the pen.
Two blue arrows appear.
2. Drag to change the angle between the spike and the pen.
The number on the compass’s handle displays the current angle between the spike and the pen.
g
To flip the compass
Press the compass’s flip symbol .
The compass’s pen appears on the opposite side of the spike.
g
To rotate the compass (without drawing)
Press the compass’s rotation handle (the green circle) and then drag the compass in the direction that you want to rotate it.
134
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom g
To draw using the compass
1. Press the compass’s pen tip.
The cursor changes to a pen symbol.
2. Drag the compass in the direction that you want to rotate it.
g
To change the colour of the compass’s pen
1. Press Pens .
The Pens tool buttons appear.
2. Press Pen Types and then select Standard Pen.
3. Select a line type.
The colour of the compass’s pen changes to display its new colour.
g
To remove the compass
1. Select the compass.
2. Press the compass’s menu arrow and then select Delete.
Displaying links
You can attach a copy of a file, a shortcut to a file, a link to a webpage or a sound file to any
object on a page (see Adding links to objects on page 87). You can display an animated indicator
around each object that has a link.
g
To display links when a page opens
Select View > Show All Links When Page Opens.
Each time that you open a page, an animated indicator appears around each object that has a link. Depending on how you define the links, each indicator surrounds either the entire object or an icon in the object’s lower-left-hand corner. The indicators disappear automatically after several seconds.
135
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom
N O T E
Clear the selection of View > Show All Links When Page Opens to stop displaying links when you open a page.
g
To display links on the current page
Select View > Show All Links.
An animated indicator appears around each object that has a link. Depending on how you define the links, each indicator surrounds either the entire object or an icon in the object’s lower-left-hand corner. The indicators disappear automatically after several seconds.
Adjusting the volume
If you’re presenting a video or audio file and want to adjust volume, you can do so pressing the
Volume Control
button and then adjusting your operating system’s volume controls.
N O T E
Ensure your speakers are turned on.
To add this button to the toolbar, see Customising the toolbar on page 143.
Enabling two people to use an interactive whiteboard
If you have a SMART Board® D600 or 800 series interactive whiteboard, two people can create and manipulate objects in SMART Notebook software at the same time. How the two people do this depends on whether you have a SMART Board D600 series interactive whiteboard or a
SMART Board 800 series interactive whiteboard.
Allowing two people to use an interactive whiteboard is useful in scenarios such as the following: l
Two students work on an assignment on the interactive whiteboard at the same time.
l
A teacher and student work on an assignment on the interactive whiteboard at the same time l
A teacher or student poses questions or problems on the interactive whiteboard and another student responds to these questions or problems
136
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom
Enabling two people to use a SMART Board D600 series interactive whiteboard
If you’re using a SMART Board D600 series interactive whiteboard, two users can use the interactive whiteboard simultaneously when SMART Notebook software is in Dual-User mode.
In Dual-User mode, the screen is divided in half. Each user can press his or her half of the screen with a finger to left-click or drag objects, write using a pen tray pen and erase digital ink using the eraser. Each user can also access frequently used tools using his or her own Floating Tools toolbar.
You can press a toolbar button to switch between Single-User mode and Dual-User mode.
g
To display a file in Dual-User mode
Press View Screens and then select Dual Write Mode .
g
To return to Single-User mode
Press Exit .
Enabling two people to use a SMART Board 800 series interactive whiteboard
If you’re using a SMART Board 800 series interactive whiteboard, two people can create and manipulate objects in SMART Notebook software at the same time. Both people can create and manipulate objects in any area of the SMART Notebook software page. Neither user is restricted to a particular section of the page.
Dual-user collaboration mode is enabled when you pick up a pen from the pen tray. One user creates or manipulates objects with his or her finger (“the touch user”). The other user creates or manipulates objects with the pen (“the pen user”).
N O T E
In addition to enabling one touch user and one pen user to use the interactive whiteboard at the same time, you can enable two pen users or two touch users to use the interactive whiteboard at the same time. However, the two users must use the same tool.
137
C H A P T E R 8
Using SMART Notebook software in your classroom
Selecting tools
To change tools or to set properties for touch, the touch user must press the appropriate button on the toolbar or control in the Properties tab with his or finger. The following is an example:
To change tools or to set properties for the pen, the pen user must press the appropriate button on the toolbar or control in the Properties tab with the pen. The following is an example:
N O T E S
l
If the pen user presses a button on the toolbar or sets a property with his or finger instead of the pen, SMART Notebook software changes the selected tool or property for the touch user rather than the pen user.
l
When both the touch user and the pen user select multiple objects on the screen, the dashed border of the objects selected by the touch user will be a different colour than the dashed border of the object selected by the pen user.
138
Chapter 9:
Chapter 9
Troubleshooting
SMART Notebook software
Troubleshooting the SMART Notebook software window and toolbar
This chapter explains how to troubleshoot issues with SMART Notebook software.
Troubleshooting files
Issue
Your file contains large pictures and runs slowly when you open it in SMART Notebook software.
Recommendation
Export an optimised version of the file (see
Reducing file sizes on page 22).
Troubleshooting the SMART Notebook software window and toolbar
Issue
When using SMART Notebook software on an interactive whiteboard or display, you or your students can’t reach the toolbar.
Recommendation
Press Move toolbar to top/bottom of
window
to move the toolbar from the top of the window to the bottom.
T I P
If you have a height-adjustable wall mount, you can also adjust the height of your interactive whiteboard or display so that students can reach it.
139
C H A P T E R 9
Troubleshooting SMART Notebook software
Issue
Toolbar buttons described in this documentation don’t appear on the toolbar.
Recommendation
If a down arrow appears on the right side of the toolbar, press it to display additional toolbar buttons.
If your desired button doesn’t appear when you click the down arrow , you or another user might have removed the button (see
Customising the toolbar on page 143).
Don’t span more than a few buttons across rows to prevent the toolbar from being wider than the SMART Notebook software window.
There isn’t enough room on your interactive whiteboard or display to display the contents of a page.
Press View Screens and then select Full
Screen to display the page in Full Screen mode.
OR
Select the Auto-hide tickbox to hide the tabs when not in use.
Press one of the tab’s icons to display it and then clear the Auto-hide tickbox.
The Page Sorter, Gallery, Attachments,
Properties and other tabs disappear whenever you press outside of the tabs.
Two users are creating or manipulating objects in SMART Notebook software on a
SMART Board 800 series interactive whiteboard. One user is using his or her finger.
The other user is using a pen from the pen tray.
When the user using the pen presses a button in the toolbar, the selected tool or option changes for the user using his or her finger instead.
The user using the pen must press buttons in the toolbar with the pen, not with his or her finger.
For more information, see Enabling two people
to use a SMART Board 800 series
interactive whiteboard on page 137.
Troubleshooting digital ink
Issue
SMART Notebook software doesn’t recognise handwriting in your language.
You want your handwriting to appear more smooth and natural in SMART Notebook software.
Recommendation
Install the appropriate language pack (see
Setting the language on page 145).
Use the Calligraphic pen type rather than the
Standard pen type (see Writing or drawing
You’re having trouble writing smoothly in
SMART Notebook software on Windows 7 operating system.
N O T E
The Calligraphic pen type is available only if your computer is connected to a SMART interactive product.
The Single Finger Panning feature is turned on.Turn it off (see smarttech.com/kb/147470 ).
140
C H A P T E R 9
Troubleshooting SMART Notebook software
Issue
When you write with a pen, SMART Notebook software on Windows 7 operating system interprets your actions as mouse clicks.
Recommendation
The Flicks feature is turned on.Turn it off (see smarttech.com/kb/144274 ).
Troubleshooting objects
Issue
When you create a .notebook file on one computer and then open it on another computer, the objects in the file appear differently.
You want to move, resize or otherwise change an object, but when you do so, you also move, resize or otherwise change other objects.
You want to move, resize or otherwise change an object but can’t.A lock icon appears instead of a menu arrow when you select the object.
Recommendation
There are several possible causes. The following are the most common: l
You used a font that’s installed on one computer but not on the other.
l
The two computers have different operating systems.
l
The two computers have different versions of SMART Notebook software.
For more information on these causes and solutions, see smarttech.com/kb/125681 .
The objects are grouped. Any changes you make to one object affect the other objects.
Select the objects and then select Format >
Grouping > Ungroup to ungroup them. You can then move, resize or otherwise change the individual objects.
For more information, see Grouping objects on page 85.
The object is locked, which prevents you from making changes to it.To unlock the object, select it, press its lock icon and then select
Unlock.
For more information, see Locking objects on page 79.
141
C H A P T E R 9
Troubleshooting SMART Notebook software
Issue
One object on a page covers another:
Recommendation
As you create objects, newer objects cover older objects automatically if the objects are in the same position on the page.
You can change the order of objects.For more
information, see Rearranging stacked objects on page 78.
You want to change this so that the second object covers the first:
When you fill an object with a picture that is larger than the object, the picture is cut off:
When filling an object with a picture, select
Scale image to fit to resize the picture to fit the object:
Conversely, when you fill an object with a picture that is smaller than the object, the picture is tiled:
For more information, see Changing objects’
Troubleshooting gestures
Issue
The multitouch gestures described in this guide aren’t working in SMART Notebook software.
Recommendation
Ensure that your interactive product supports multitouch gestures and that multitouch gestures are enabled.
142
Appendix A:
Appendix A
Customising the toolbar
The SMART Notebook software toolbar enables you to select and use a variety of commands and tools. You can customise the toolbar so that it includes the tools that you use most frequently.
After adding or removing toolbar buttons, you can restore the default set of toolbar buttons.You
can also restore the tools’ default settings if you customised and saved the settings using the
Properties tab (see Saving tool settings on page 76).
g
To add or remove toolbar buttons
1. Click Customise the toolbar
.
OR
Right-click the toolbar.
The Customise Toolbar dialogue box appears.
2. Press Actions or Tools.
143
A P P E N D I X A
Customising the toolbar
3. Do the following: o
To add a button to the toolbar, press its icon in the dialogue box and then drag it to the toolbar.
o
To remove a button from the toolbar, press its icon in the toolbar and then drag it away from the toolbar.
o
To rearrange the buttons, press an icon in the toolbar and then drag it to a new position in the toolbar.
N O T E S
o
You can only add, remove and rearrange buttons in the panel of the toolbar that you selected in step 2.For example, if you pressed Actions in step 2, you can only add, remove and rearrange buttons in the Actions panel.
o
To span a button across rows, drag and hold it between two columns of buttons.
If you’re using a smaller screen resolution, only span one or two buttons across rows to prevent issues when the toolbar is wider than the SMART Notebook software window.
4. Press Done.
g
To restore the default set of toolbar buttons
1. Click Customise the toolbar .
OR
Right-click the toolbar.
The Customise Toolbar dialogue box appears.
2. Press Restore Default Toolbar.
g
To restore the tools’ default settings
1. Click Customise the toolbar .
OR
Right-click the toolbar.
The Customise Toolbar dialogue box appears.
2. Press Restore Default Tool Properties.
144
Appendix B:
Appendix B
Setting the language
The SMART Language Setup utility enables you to set the language for a specific SMART program or all SMART programs installed on your computer.
g
To set the language
1. Select View > Language Setup.
The Language Setup dialogue box appears.
2. Select All Listed Applications in the first drop-down list to set the language for all programs.
OR
Select a program in the first drop-down list to set the language for that program only.
3. Select the appropriate language in the second drop-down list.
N O T E S
o
If appears beside your selected language, the language is installed on your computer.
o
If appears beside your selected language, the SMART Language Setup utility downloads the language from the website once you have clicked OK in step 6.
o
By default, the SMART Language Setup utility uses Internet Explorer Internet browser’s settings to connect to the Internet.However, you can use different
settings by completing the steps under To set the connection options on the next page.
T I P
To display the languages in their native names (for example, Deutsch for German), select the Show native names tickbox.
4. If you want to use different languages for handwriting recognition and spell checking, select languages in the Handwriting recognition and Spell check drop-down lists.
N O T E
If AUTO appears in the drop-down list, the SMART Language Setup selects your chosen language if available or a similar language if otherwise. If neither option is available, SMART Language Setup selects the current language.
145
A P P E N D I X B
Setting the language
5. If you want to use a different keyboard layout, select a layout in the Keyboard input
language drop-down list.
I M P O R T A N T
The Keyboard input language drop-down list is available only if there’s more than one keyboard layout installed on your computer.
The keyboard layout that you select in the Keyboard input language drop-down list applies to both the on-screen keyboard and the keyboard connected to your computer when you use [Enter Product Name Here (excluding OS and version)] software.
In some situations, you might want to select a layout that is different from the layout of the keyboard connected to your computer (for example, to teach a second language). In these situations, the on-screen keyboard works correctly, but the keyboard connected to your computer might not.
For best results, ensure that the layout you select is identical to the layout of the keyboard connected to your computer.For example, if an English (US) keyboard is connected to your computer, select English (United States) in this drop-down list.
For information on keyboard layouts, see http://msdn.microsoft.com/enus/goglobal/bb964651 .
6. Click OK.
g
To set the connection options
1. Select View > Language Setup.
The Language Setup dialogue box appears.
2. Click Connection Options.
The Connection Options dialogue box appears.
3. Select Use Internet Explorer settings.
OR
Select Use other proxy and then type the host, user name and password in the appropriate boxes.
4. Click OK.
146
Appendix C:
Appendix C
Updating, activating and sending feedback
Updating and activating SMART Notebook software
Updating SMART Notebook software
Activating SMART Notebook software
Activating SMART Notebook software with a product key
Updating and activating SMART Notebook software
After you install SMART Notebook software, you need to activate it. After you activate the software, you need to install updates from SMART.
I M P O R T A N T
To update and activate SMART Notebook software, you need to be connected to the Internet.
Updating SMART Notebook software
SMART periodically releases updates to its software and firmware products. (Firmware is software installed in hardware products like the SMART Board interactive whiteboard.) You can use SMART Product Update (SPU) to check for and install these updates.
Your system administrator can install SPU in Full mode or Dashboard mode. In Full mode, you can view installed versions and download and install updates as documented in this section. In
Dashboard mode, you can only view installed versions.
g
To check for updates automatically
1. Select Help > Check for Updates and Activation.
OR
Select Start > All Programs > SMART Technologies > SMART Tools > SMART
Product Update.
The SMART Product Update window appears.
147
A P P E N D I X C
Updating, activating and sending feedback
2. Select the Check for updates automatically check box, and then type the number of days (up to 60) between SPU checks.
3. Close the SMART Product Update window.
If an update is available the next time SPU checks, the SMART Product Update window appears automatically and the Update button of the affected product is enabled.
g
To check for updates manually
1. Select Help > Check for Updates and Activation.
OR
Select Start > All Programs > SMART Technologies > SMART Tools > SMART
Product Update.
The SMART Product Update window appears.
2. Press Check Now.
If an update is available for a product, its Update button is enabled.
3. If an update is available, install it by following the next procedure.
g
To install an update
1. Open the SMART Product Update window as described in the previous procedures.
2. Press the product’s row.
Product details appear. These product details include the installed version’s number and the update’s number, date and download size (if an update is available).
T I P
Press View release notes to view a summary of the changes in the update and the computer requirements for the update.
3. Press Update.
4. Follow the on-screen instructions to download and install the update.
I M P O R T A N T
To install updates, you must have full administrator access.
g
To disable automatic checking for updates
1. Select Help > Check for Updates and Activation.
OR
148
A P P E N D I X C
Updating, activating and sending feedback
Select Start > All Programs > SMART Technologies > SMART Tools > SMART
Product Update.
The SMART Product Update window appears.
2. Clear the Check for updates automatically check box.
I M P O R T A N T
SMART recommends that you do not clear this check box.
Activating SMART Notebook software
Typically, you activate SMART Notebook software after installing it. However, in some situations, you activate the software later. For example, you could be evaluating the software before deciding to purchase it.
Obtaining a product key
Register your SMART hardware product to obtain a product key for SMART Notebook software.
OR
Purchase a product key from your authorized SMART reseller ( smarttech.com/wheretobuy ).
T I P S
l
After obtaining a product key, record it in a safe place for future reference.
l
If you lose your product key, see smarttech.com/findproductkey .
g
To register your SMART hardware product
1. Locate your SMART hardware product’s serial number.
N O T E
See smarttech.com/serialnumber for information on locating your SMART hardware product’s serial number.
2. Go to smarttech.com/registration .
3. Follow the on-screen instructions to register your SMART hardware product.
Activating SMART Notebook software with a product key
After obtaining a product key, you can activate SMART Notebook software.
g
To activate SMART Notebook software
1. In SMART Notebook software, select Help > Activate Software.
The SMART Software Activation window appears.
149
A P P E N D I X C
Updating, activating and sending feedback
N O T E S
o
Alternatively, you can open the SMART Software Activation window from
SMART Product Update (SPU) by pressing Activate in the SMART Notebook row.
o
The value in the Status column indicates the status for each product:
Installed
The software is installed.
Activated
The software is installed and activated with a perpetual license.
Expiring
The software is installed but not yet activated. The number in parentheses indicates the days remaining in the evaluation period.
Expired
The software is installed but not yet activated. The evaluation period is over. You’re unable to use the software until you activate it.
Unknown
The software’s status is unknown.
2. Press Add.
3. Follow the on-screen instructions to activate SMART Notebook software using the product key.
g
To view product keys
1. Select Help > Check for Updates and Activation.
OR
Select Start > All Programs > SMART Technologies > SMART Tools > SMART
Product Update.
The SMART Product Update window appears.
2. Select Tools > View Product Keys.
The Product Keys dialog box appears.
3. Press OK when you’re done viewing the product keys.
N O T E
Alternatively, you can view the product keys for a single product by pressing the product’s name in the SMART Product Update window, and then pressing View
product key.
Sending feedback to SMART
When you start SMART Notebook software for the first time, a dialogue box may appear asking whether you want to join the SMART Customer Experience Programme. If you choose to join the programme, SMART Notebook software sends information to SMART that helps us improve the software for future releases.After starting SMART Notebook software for the first time, you can enable or disable this feature through the Help menu.
150
A P P E N D I X C
Updating, activating and sending feedback
You can also send feature request emails to SMART.
g
To enable the Customer Experience Programme tracking feature
Select Help > Customer Experience Programme > Feedback tracking ON.
g
To disable the Customer Experience Programme tracking feature
Select Help > Customer Experience Programme > Feedback tracking OFF.
g
To send a feature request email
1. Select Help > Customer Experience Programme > Submit feature request.
A new email message appears in your default email program.
2. Type your request in the new email message and then click Send.
151
Index
A
Adobe Flash Player compatible files 96
audio files See sound files automatic tasks
B
backgrounds
C
cloning
content
sharing with other teachers 109
153
D
digital ink
E
Essentials for Educators See Gallery
Essentials
F
files
attaching to .notebook files 104
attaching to email messages 21
cutting, copying, and pasting content
displaying in Dual-User mode 137
displaying in Dual Page view 31
displaying in Full Screen view 29
displaying in Transparent Background
I N D E X
Flash files See Adobe Flash files
Flash video files See Adobe Flash video files
freehand objects See digital ink
G
Gallery
applying backgrounds and themes from 43
finding and using content from 113
organising your content in 108
Gallery Sampler See Lesson Activity
Examples
gestures
graphics See pictures groups
H
154
I
handwriting (converting to text) 55
highlight See spotlight
images See pictures
Interactive Whiteboard Common File
invisible areas See transparent areas
J
L
languages
for handwriting recognition 55
links
M
Mac OS X operating system software 12
measurement tools
I N D E X
MP3 files See sound files
music files See sound files
N
names
O
objects
cutting, copying and pasting 80
setting fill and line style for 73
P
155 pages
displaying in Dual-User mode 137
displaying in Dual Page view 31
displaying in Full Screen view 29
displaying in Transparent Background
PDF files
attaching to email messages 21
pens
pictures
creating transparent areas in 95
inserting from a SMART Document
I N D E X
Q
R
S
set squares See Geodreieck protractors shapes
creating with the Regular Polygons tools 52
creating with the Shape Recognition Pen
creating with the Shapes tool 51
SMART Notebook Document Writer 101
SMART Notebook Print Capture 100
SWF files See Adobe Flash files
T
T-squares See Geodreieck protractors tables
adding columns, rows or cells to 67
removing columns, rows or cells from 67
splitting or merging cells in 68
text
including mathematical symbols in 58
themes
thumbnails
Transparent Background mode 30
U
156
I N D E X
V
W
web browsers See Internet browsers
Z
157
SMART Technologies smarttech.com/support smarttech.com/contactsupport
Download
Advertisement
Key features
Create lessons or presentations
Work with objects, properties and settings
Export files to various formats
Save files in .notebook format
Open files in any Windows, Mac or Linux computer
Manipulate and edit objects
Add various objects, shapes, lines, text, pictures and files
Use gestures for object manipulation
Frequently asked questions
You can add freehand objects, geometric shapes, straight lines, text, pictures, tables, widgets and Adobe Flash Player compatible files to a page.
You can export your files to the following formats: webpages, picture formats (BMP, GIF, JPEG, PNG), PDF, Interactive Whiteboard Common File Format (CFF), and PowerPoint.
Yes, you can interact with objects in SMART Notebook software using gestures such as swiping, zooming, flicking, rotating and grouping.